(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Wichita and Sedgwick County, Kansas, past and present, including an account of the cities, towns and villages of the county"



HBRm 
JBKt 




HP 



* 












11 



ISP 

w 

>■•'''■'■'"• ■' 

MM 






gc /vr, i 

978.101 
Se28b 
v. 2 
1390091 

GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 00828 6855 



HISTORY OF WICHITA 



AND 



SEDGWICK COUNTY 



KANSAS 



PAST AND PRESENT 

INCLUDING AN ACCOUNT OF THE CITIES, TOWNS 
AND VILLAGES OF THE COUNTY 



EDITOR-IN-CHIEF 

HON. O. H. BENTLEY 



Vol. II 



Illustrated 



1910 
C. F. COOPER & CO. 

CHICAGO 



SCRAPS OF LOCAL HISTOEY 455 
THE STAGE COACH PERIOD OF WICHITA. 

By ±390091 

FRED A. SOWERS. 

The public carrier system that peopled this valley so marvel- 
ously in the early seventies was crude and simple, consisting of 
vehicles of every kind and class, drawn by animals of high and 
low degree ; mules, oxen, horses, and even burrows, a motely and 
heterogeneous mixture of all kinds and classes of people came 
with them, and they mingled together without distinction. The 
prairie schooner comers and the ox-cart people as well as the old- 
fashioned barouche occupants went into camp together on the 
outskirts or crowded the dimly outlined lane through the prairie 
and sunflowers, irregularly dotted at intervals with one-story 
houses, and dignified by the name of Main street, Wichita. News 
was transmitted by newcomers and each new arrival brought his 
budget, which started a scurrying to and fro among the inhabi- 
tants, like a prairie dog town, chasing back and forth to get and 
tell the latest news, as there were no newspapers here then; so 
came in one day a newspaper printed at Lawrence, Kan., convey- 
ing the intelligence, as read out loud by Uncle Reuben Riggs, a 
newly arrived country lawyer from faraway Illinois, that one 
Henry Tisdale, of Lawrence, Kan., had determined to erect a stage 
station at the new town, just started, called Wichita, way down 
on the Arkansas river. This station was to be a relay station and 
was to maintain several teams and stage outfits. The stages then 
hung about Humboldt, Emporia, Fort Scott, with several that had 
ventured as far as Eldorado and Augusta. 

This news was received in much the same way the announce- 
ment of a new railroad coming to our city would be today if it 
included terminals, shops, etc. So, true to the item, along in the 
spring came Bi Terrill, superintendent of the Tisdale overland, 
with the material and a couple of carpenters. Together they 
staked out and located a stage barn on a few lots near where 
the Second ward school house now stands, then the property of 
Uncle Waterman. This location for a time became the Sabbath 
and idle-hour mecca for citizens and newcomers to visit while 
in process of construction, and when the occupation and stage 
coach equipment was being added, it then was as absorbing and 



456 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

looked upon with much the same interest that our citizens of 
today visit and view the construction of the Beacon Building, 
the Schweiter Building, or the Forum; the effect on real estate 
inflation was also the same, only in a minor degree, for owners of 
lots in the vicinity of the stage stables stiffened the prices, and 
every one was, as today, a unit in predictions as to the future 
growth and greatness of Wichita. But to go back to our subject 
— the kind and character of the earlier vehicles used to bring 
emigrants. First came, with the establishment of the public car- 
rier system, the old-fashioned two-mule "jerkie," a thing about 
as comfortable to ride in as a tobacco hogshead for a toboggan, 
rolled down a rough hill ; this kind of vehicle seemed constructed 
to teach difficult acrobatic feats, and it was soon discovered that 
the strong-ribbed roof was of a necessity to keep the passengers 
from being shot up and out over the sides, thus entailing upon 
the stage company numerous suits for damages to life and limb. 
A Frank Todd was the driver of one of these "jerkies," and in 
his boyish, devil-may-care spirit seemed to take delight in making 
the passengers he carried as uncomfortable as possible. He 
would husband the resources of the mules, so to speak, until he 
came to an unusually rough, rock-ribbed or wallowed road ; then 
he would put the "bud" to them, and the way the "jerkie" 
would flounder, grate, raise up and dip and side toss, turn upside 
down and churn the passengers was simply awe-inspiring ; a yell 
and protest from passengers inside, some in deep bass oaths, 
others in the hysterical screams of women and children, were 
lost in the whirl, smash and resonant whack of the whip, and the 
loud-mouthed pretended "whoas" of the driver, who in reality 
was making no effort to restrain them, for that was no part of 
the program. There were two of these hell-conceived convey- 
ances called "jerkies." They were routed from Emporia and 
later from Cottonwood Falls, as the Santa Fe Railroad kept build- 
ing west toward Newton. The driver of No. 2 "jerkie" was a 
round-faced, star-booted, uproarious "little periwinkle," who 
was afterward killed in some kind of a fracas at Sedgwick City; 
he was usually accompanied in his drive in from the outskirts, 
seated alongside of him, by a dirty-faced little claim-holder who 
was also the possessor of the only clarinet within a hundred miles 
around, which he kept assiduously blowing on minor keys with 
a flat sameness that emitted a fa-la-lal-fa-lou from the sonorous 
department of the clarinet, which, besides heralding the approach 



SCRAPS OF LOCAL HISTOEY 457 

of the stage from several miles away, brought the sparsely settled 
community into the solitary street to watch the incoming stage, 
to note the arrivals and learn the news, and to cluster about the 
three stopping places — the Hunger House, Martin's restaurant 
or the Allen boarding-house, located near the corner of Third 
and Main streets. 

After the "jerkies" were pushed west, the old-fashioned over- 
land coaches came into use, having been displaced by the build- 
ing far west of the Union Pacific Railroad. Some of those coaches 
were peeled with bullets and gouged with arrows, reminiscences 
of Indian fights, flights and narrow escapes. Their drivers were 
heroes of such escapades and were gentlemen of cloth, arrayed 
in shining top boots, big pearl buttons and broad-brimmed som- 
breros, a belt and two revolvers. Dan Parks, our oldest police- 
man, was a driver of one of those Pullman coaches — Pullman com- 
pared to the "jerkie." Dan made the drive from Augusta, while 
Bill Brooks, one of the historical drivers, who had rustled with 
Indians and drawbacks from a boy, drove from Emporia, Cot- 
tonwood Falls and Eldorado. His pride was to deliver the mail, 
Indians or no Indians, high water or floods ; so on several occa- 
sions arriving at the east bank of Chisholm creek, at Central 
avenue now, where the crossing was — Chisholm was then quite 
a river here ; on several occasions the water was out of its banks, 
and Chisholm creek reached to where the high school now stands. 
Bill, on such occasions, would dump his passengers with Dan 
Hoover, whose claim house was on the east side of Chisholm, near 
the hills ; he would then unhitch the lead horses, fasten the mail 
on one horse, mount the other and swim the mail into the hamlet. 
Bill was a desperado as well as a stage driver. He was killed 
afterward in a pistol duel near Eldorado or Cottonwood Falls. 
In the meantime, by stage, prairie schooner, freight wagon, be- 
sides divers and sundry conveyances, Wichita grew to be quite a 
smart village. "With the rapid changes came the railroad, built 
from Newton down to Wichita by the A., T. & S. F. R. R., in May, 
1872; thus was displayed the old stage coach mode of travel, 
while civilization began to crowd out many of the endeared 
objects of pioneer life, leaving for a time a heart-burdened sense 
akin to pain. Such feeling was generated in the pioneer bosom 
in the sad day and the hour the old-time stage drivers threw 
their long whiplash over the leaders for a final departure, with a 
regal smile and a toss of their sombreros voicing back a long fare- 



458 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

well, they disappeared over the prairie swell, seeking their new 
stations farther west. — Fred A. Sowers. 

THEATERS IN WICHITA. 

The New Auditorium. 157 St. Francis avenue ; seating capac- 
ity, 1,800 ; J. A. Wolfe, manager. 

Crawford Theater. 201-205 South Topeka avenue ; E. L. Mart- 
ling, manager. 

Elite Theater. 409 East Douglas; seating capacity, 400; 
F. A. Beal, manager. 

Marple Theater. 421. East Douglas avenue ; seating capacity, 
650 ; W. H. Marple, manager. 

The Novelty Theater. 408 East Douglas avenue ; Frank Gar- 
rety, proprietor. 

Orpheum Theater (vaudeville). 119-123 North Topeka ave- 
nue ; Mrs. Mary Waterbury, proprietor ; E. G. Olson, manager. 

The Princess Theater (vaudeville). 115 South Lawrence ave- 
nue ; seating capacity, 1,000 ; L. M. Miller, manager. 

Yale Theater. 504 East Douglas avenue ; vaudeville and mov- 
ing pictures ; seating capacity, 350 ; Fells & Hamilton, managers. 

"IDA MAY" A VICTIM OF COWBOY SPORT. 

Murray Myers, election commissioner, tells a story about the 
time when a lot of cowboys "shot up" the house of "Ida May," 
a character of the early days in Wichita. Although "Ida May" 
was not by any means as modest and moral as her name might 
lead one to judge, she was quite a figure at the time, and she 
occupied the largest building on Main street. This building was 
at the corner of Eighth and Main, and had been built by Morgan 
Cox and a man named Green, who sold it to the woman. "At sup- 
per one night some of us heard that a bunch of cowboys were 
going to have a little fun at 'Ida May's,' so we slipped out 
around toward the river and sneaked up as near to the house 
as we thought was safe," said Mr. Myers. "Presently we saw 
the cowboys coming on horseback. There were about forty of 
them and they were riding like mad up Main street, which in 
places was not much more than a cowpath. They surrounded the 
house and then the fun commenced. The boys were careful to 
shoot high at first, so no one would be hurt. Every volley was 
followed by a series of screams that could be heard distinctly by 



SCEAPS OF LOCAL HISTORY 459 

those of us who were lying hidden far enough away to be safe. 
Those fellows circled about that house and fired into it nearly 
an hour, and when they quit and rode away there was not a whole 
window or door in the building. It was said that at the first vol- 
ley all the inmates of the place lay down on the floor and in this 
manner escaped injury from the flying bullets." 

THE FUEL PROBLEM PERPLEXED PIONEERS. 

"The problem of fuel to supply the needs of the settlers in 
this county was one of the most perplexing that they had 
to face." declares E. A. Dorsey, city treasurer. "This was 
especially true of those who settled in the western portion of 
the county. There being no timber and no coal on sale west of 
Wichita, the settlers were often forced to adopt dire expedients 
to prevent suffering in their families. Much of the corn raised in 
1871 and 1872 was burned, settlers having demonstrated to their 
satisfaction that the corn on the market, after hauling, would 
not purchase coal enough to make equal heat. Cornstalks and 
sunflowers were common fuel for summer use, but the great 
stand-by for winter was buffalo chips, called by the Irish settlers 
'Kansas peats.' When dry, these made an intense heat, and for 
use in the open campfire were superior to wood. There was one 
drawback to their use in stoves, however. The odor from the 
smoke permeated every part of the house. This peculiarity of 
the fuel occasioned one custom altogether unique. In the event 
that a member of the family was away from home at night, 
instead of placing a light in the window for his guidance home, 
a fire was started in the stove and the smoke gave the wanderer 
unfailing guidance from any point of the compass. One friend 
of mine, with particularly acute sense of smell, used to declare 
that he could smell the smoke from his chimney a mile against 
the strongest Kansas wind." 

FARMERS BROUGHT WHEAT MANY MILES TO WICHITA. 

J. T. Holmes, now in the restaurant business on North Main, 
was one of the real pioneers of Wichita. He came here in 1870, 
and remembers the days when Wichita, though a small town, was 
the center of trade for the farmers to a distance of sixty miles or 
more. These farmers, with their ox teams generally, but with 
an occasional horse or mule team, hauled all their wheat to Wich- 



460 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

ita, and Mr. Holmes says he has seen hundreds of these loads of 
wheat standing in line waiting to be weighed. There were at that 
time five sets of wheat scales in the vicinity of the Santa Fe r 
which was the only railroad, and it took three policemen 
during the wheat hauling season to keep the men in line 
and prevent them from fighting to get ahead of one an- 
other. Mr. Holmes says he has also seen dozens of wagon loads 
of buffalo and cattle bones waiting to be weighed in much 
the same manner as the wheat wagons, many farmers who had no 
wheat to sell being driven to the necessity of gathering up the 
bones that were scattered over the prairies and hauling them to 
town to sell. 



SEDGWICK HOME LUMBER HAULED FROM EMPORIA. 

"I remember very well the day when the teams started from 
Wichita to Emporia after the lumber that was used in the build- 
ing of what is now the 'Sedgwick Home,' " said Cyrus Sullivan, 
a pioneer, now engaged in the real estate business here. "It was 
one day in April, about the 20th, 1870, 1 think, when 'Billy' Greif- 
fenstein started the teams off after the lumber for what was to 
be the finest dwelling in Wichita for several years. Up to that 
time most of the lumber that had been used in Wichita was Cot- 
tonwood, sawed at some of the mills along the creeks or rivers 
near town, and this action of Mr. Greiffenstein's in sending away 
for pine lumber to build a house was regarded as an evidence of 
his wealth and importance in the community." Greiffenstein, 
who was afterward mayor of the town three or four terms, lived 
in the house several years, and it was finally bought by the city. 
About a year and a half ago it was given to the Associate Chari- 
ties of the town to be used as a home for indigent persons. 



THE TREND OF BUSINESS. 

By 

LINDLEY BOYD. 

I have been a real estate dealer for many years in this and 
other states. For several years past I have carefully watched 
the trend of business in Wichita. For many years Main street 



SCEAPS OF LOCAL HISTORY 461 

seemed to be the principal north and south street; the building 
of the Missouri Pacific depot near Second street and the building 
of the court house in its present location seemed to fix business 
in this way; later on came the building of the Missouri Pacific 
depot on West Douglas avenue, the city hall, the government 
postoffice, the Beacon Building, the Eagle Building, all south of 
Douglas avenue, has materially changed business in "Wichita. In 
addition to this, Market street is rapidly building up in the blocks 
on each side of Douglas avenue ; such also is the case with Law- 
rence, Emporia, St. Francis and other streets each side of the 
avenue on the north and south, but the building of the Smyth 
Block, occupied by the large dry goods firm of George Inness & 
Co., marked a distinct movement to the eastward in the business 
life of Wichita. 

It must be recalled also that all of the railway depots except 
the Missouri Pacific are on the east part of Douglas avenue and 
on the south side of said street. In addition to this, four theaters 
and a new one just building are on the south side of Douglas 
avenue or south of the avenue. All of these things have given 
a strong trend of business to the eastward, and have entirely 
changed the character of the south side of Douglas avenue. The 
time was when the north side of Douglas avenue had the most 
travel and the most business. All that is changed, and the princi- 
pal travel at this time is upon the south side of Douglas avenue. 
The old-timers of the town have abandoned the idea that the town 
should revolve for all time to come around the corner of Main 
and Douglas avenue. 

SEDGWICK COUNTY PAYS ITS FULL SHARE OF TAXES. 

There are 105 counties in the State of Kansas, and they are 
worth, at a very conservative estimate, $2,750,000,000; of that 
amount, Sedgwick county furnishes $108,000,000, which is about 
one-twenty-fifth of the valuation of the state. 

Sedgwick county certainly stands for its full share of state 
taxes. The valuation of the entire state for taxable purposes is 
about $2,750,000. The rate is one mill, which makes the state tax 
$2,750,000, of which Sedgwick county pays $108,000. Thus this 
county pays one-twenty-fifth of the entire state tax. It possesses 
one-twenty-fifth of the taxable wealth of the state. 

There are 105 counties in the state. Wyandotte is the only 



462 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

one which pays more than Sedgwick, and its valuation exceeds 
ours by less than $2,000,000. The vast wealth centered there in 
the packing houses, stock yards and railway terminals just a little 
more than offsets our lead in real estate values. 

The farm lands of Sedgwick county which represent individ- 
ual wealth are worth double those of Wyandotte, and city lots 
are quite as valuable here as there. In individual property upon 
which taxes are paid, Sedgwick leads the state. 

Wichita, which, next to Kansas City, Kan., pays the most to 
the state treasury, and meets one-twenty-fifth of the entire ex- 
pense of state government, has not a single state institution. The 
metropolis of Kansas has developed without the aid of state 
money, even in driblets. Kansas City gets back, in the school for 
the blind, part, if not all, it pays the state. Topeka realizes in 
state money paid out for local purposes several times as much as 
it pays in. It has the insane asylum, the reform school for boys, 
and all the state officers, nearly, live there and expend their 
salaries there. 

Atchison has the Soldiers' Orphans' Home; Leavenworth is 
close enough to Lansing to get back from the penitentiary spend- 
ings as much as it pays the state ; Lawrence is the seat of the uni- 
versity, where ten times its tax is spent. Emporia has an expen- 
sive normal school, and other cities like Manhattan, Hutchinson, 
Parsons, Dodge City, Winfield, Osawatomie and Beloit get back 
more than they pay in, but not one cent comes back to Wichita. 
Our senator and representatives leave more than their salaries in 
Topeka, so we may say truthfully that we do not get back a penny 
of the $108,000 paid to the state. 

In this connection it may be objected that the district judge 
and the court stenographer receive their pay checks from Topeka. 
It is true all over the state that judges are paid from Topeka, 
because it frequently happens that one judge presides in several 
counties, and it would be embarrassing both to the judges and 
the counties to have to figure out the proper ratio each should pay. 

It is true that the legislature has appropriated $500 to several 
Wichita hospitals and charities, but this is because those institu- 
tions are open to all. Residents of other counties, stranded here, 
taken ill here, find refuge in these aided institutions, and every 
year they give service to more state wards, or persons that the 
state usually cares for, than the amount appropriated. 

Until the new census is published, it will be impossible to get 



SCRAPS OF LOCAL HISTOEY 463 

a direct ratio between the population of this county and city and 
the state, but it is probable that the ratio will be not less than 
one-twenty-fifth, and it may be one-twenty-third. But from any 
standpoint it is clear that Sedgwick county and Wichita deserve 
consideration at the hands of the state, when it is considered that 
for years this community has contained nearly 5 per cent of the 
population and has paid 4 per cent of the state taxes and never 
received back hardly a penny of it. 

THE WICHITA HORSE MARKET. , 

All of the old-timers of the county will recall the old-time 
horse market of Wichita on West Douglas avenue. This market 
extends from Water street to the bridge across the Arkansas 
river. It was here that we heard that old resonant Howler, ' ' Old 
Four Eyes," plying his daily avocation and selling horses and 
mules at auction. Here also was Bill Bilderback and Joe Fisher, 
Fatty Lawson, Barney Levi, and many others. Here also at a 
later date came Uncle Jimmy Benner, whose stentorian tones still 
wake the echoes of the street. Harry Hill, afterwards known 
as Oklahoma Harry Hill, and the Morgan brothers, kept feed and 
sales stables on West Douglas avenue, and from the earliest his- 
tory of this locality the west end of Douglas avenue has been a 
market devoted to the sale of horses, mules and other live stock. 
Here also in an early day was the favorite stamping ground of 
Doc Black, a frontier character in Wichita. Most of these men 
have passed over. They have gone and the new-comers of a later 
day know them not ; but the old-timers recall them as the web and 
woof of a frontier period fast passing away in Wichita. — Editor. 



CHAPTER XXXVI. 

AN EARLY INCIDENT OF WICHITA— JUDGE S. M. TUCKER 
SUBDUES HURRICANE BILL. 

"Tell you a story of the early days of Wichita? Well, that 
is a hard job. Not hard to tell a story, but mighty hard to select 
any certain one," answered a pioneer citizen of this city to the 
query of an "Eagle" reporter. "The early history of the city 
is replete with stirring incidents, any one of which would make 
good reading for the citizens of today. To the old-timers it 
would recall bygone days. To the boys, girls and strangers it 
would prove an eye-opener. Let me see — do you see that elderly 
man going along there, wearing a cap?" suddenly asked the pio- 
neer. "You know him, don't you?" On being answered in the 
negative, he continued: "That's Tucker — S. M. Tucker — Judge, 
as everybody knows him. There is one of the bravest men that 
ever lived. During the summer of '72 a gang of roughs came 
here from Texas. They were called the ' Texas gang, ' and a more 
desperate bunch than these rangers never existed. Under the 
leadership of 'Hurricane Bill' — Bill Martin was his name — they 
used to ride around shooting up the town and committing all 
kinds of depredations, until the people were well nigh frenzied. 

"The citizens decided that it was about time to get rid of 
this gang, and as the local police force seemed unable to handle 
them, a sort of vigilance committee was formed. Why, these 
toughs always stood off the police in a fight. Shooting scrapes 
were common in those days, and saloons and hotels lined the 
streets. The city court and jail was then in the basement of the 
old court house at the corner of First and Main streets. We had 
a huge triangle of iron bars hung up outside and when the citi- 
zens' committee was wanted, an alarm would be sounded on the 
triangle. 

"Several times the alarm was sounded, and we went after 
the Texans, but always without avail. One afternoon, however, 
it did ring, and about fifty citizens responded, every one of them 
armed with shotguns, rifles and revolvers. When the alarm 

464 



AN EARLY INCIDENT OF WICHITA 465 

sounded, Tucker was sitting in his office with 'Bill,' afterward 
Judge, Campbell. Every business house and office in those days 
had some kind of a gun, ready for action, lying around handy, 
and in Tucker's office was a shotgun and a rifle. Tucker grabbed 
the shotgun and ran out into the street, closely followed by Camp- 
bell with the rifle. By this time the citizens had collected on the 
southwest corner of what is now Water and Douglas, and the 
cowboys were on the opposite corner, or, as it was known then, 
'horse-thief corner.' There were enough revolvers, rifles and 
shotguns in sight to equip an army. Bill Smith, who was marshal 
at the time, tried to persuade the citizens to disperse, declaring 
that if we tried to make any arrests trouble would be plentiful 
and that some of us would be killed. Tucker came up about this 
time, and hearing Smith's caution, said : 'This is the third time I've 
been out on this kind of a call, and we have never made an arrest. 
I don't care for trouble*; I am used to it. Point out the man you 
want arrested, and I'll arrest him, kill or get killed. 'All right,' 
said Smith. 'Arrest "Hurricane Bill." ' A great silence fell 
over the mob, and as Tucker cocked one barrel of his gun the 
sound could be distinctly heard by every one. Tucker imme- 
diately stepped into the street, while the eyes of the citizens were 
turned on him and the Texans, tightly gripping their guns, 
watched their leader with breathless interest. Quickly leveling 
his gun at Hurricane, Tucker said, quietly but firmly: 'William, 
I want you; you are under arrest.' As the desperado attempted 
to lift his revolvers, Tucker cried : ' Lay down those guns. ' ' You 
can have me,' said the bad man, as he dropped his two revolvers, 
one cocked and ready for business, the other a self-action pattern. 
'Walk over to the police station,' commanded Tucker, and the 
fallen leader faced about and obeyed the command of the man 
that had subdued him. When the gang saw that their leader had 
given up, they became panic-stricken and all dropped their guns, 
and for a week after searchers reaped a harvest picking up 
revolvers in the weed patch on 'Horse Thief Corner.' We were 
all taken off our feet with surprise, the thing happened so quickly, 
but we soon recovered, and before that gang had a chance to 
make up their minds what to do we were over there and lined 
them up and marched them over to the police station, where they 
were fined over $600. 

"That Hurricane Bill was the worst scared man I ever saw. 
After the trial he said that he felt, when looking down the bar- 



466 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

rels of that shotgun, that it was the biggest thing that he had 
ever seen in his life. He declared that each barrel was as big 
around as a stovepipe. He declared that as he looked down the 
barrels of the shotgun he counted eighteen buckshot in each bar- 
rel, and all of Tucker's argument could not convince him that the 
eighteen shot was in both barrels and not in one. Well, that 
ended the depredations of the Texas gang in Wichita. At that 
time the town extended as far west as the river. Crossing to 
what is now the west side was a toll bridge. Everybody wanting 
to come into town from that direction was required to deposit all 
arms at the toll house. This was done because there were a 
couple of dance halls on the west side which were congregating 
places for desperate characters. Shooting affrays and murders 
were common there. You bet there was always something doing 
in the good old early days, ' ' concluded the narrator, as he stepped 
into his automobile. 



MATHEWSON'S PASTURE. 

One of the historic spots in Wichita is Mathewson's pasture. 
This contains five city blocks, and is today as it was sixty years 
ago. The same buffalo grass that fed the buffalo years before 
he ever sniffed the approaching prairie train coming across the 
Arkansas river still grows. The tract has never been built upon, 
and offers now one of the best building tracts in the city. The 
pasture has always been and is now the playground of the chil- 
dren in the east end. Ever since the game of baseball struck the 
West, a well-worn diamond has been one of the ornaments of the 
pasture. Until a few years ago there was a large fruit orchard 
on the tract. Those who lived near the pasture then will plead 
guilty to having made secret trips after night to the orchard. 
Uncle Billy Mathewson, who lived on the place at that time, was 
always on guard to see that no one entered his fruit domain. 
He and his two dogs were often too much for the boys. In case 
he did catch some luckless youngster a-straddle a bough of a well- 
filled apple tree, something happened right then that the boy 
remembered. Uncle Billy had a habit of shooting fruit swipers — 
with bacon rind and salt. That old musket he carried could shoot 
like a "son of a gun," and maybe that bacon didn't show an 
affinity for the seat of a boy's trousers. 

Mathewson's pasture for ages, by habit, custom and worth, has 



AN EAELY INCIDENT OF WICHITA 467 

been logically the only circus ground of which "Wichita can boast. 
In the earlier days, for the citizens of Wichita to journey out to 
the pasture on circus day seemed like a trip in the country. When 
the street car track ran along Third street as far as Hydraulic ave- 
nue, the spot was ideal for a circus. The pasture has served in other 
capacities. What was probably the only juvenile golf links ever 
made in the state was laid out in this pasture by some enterprising 
youngsters who attended the Washington school. A course of 
eight holes was made and there being no bunkers or cuppy lies, 
it was not much trouble for the followers of the canny game to 
green the course in good style. At that time there was a hedge 
row along the north side of the pasture, where the very finest 
"shinny" clubs could be found. One club did the work of seven 
with those boys, and all they knew about the game was to hit the 
ball as hard as they could. It was always contrary to Uncle Billy 
Mathewson's moral code to permit any teams to practice in the 
pasture, but they did it. Uncle Billy was always on hand in 
time to break up the football game or base game at an interest- 
ing point. But there was no playing when he started. The boys 
would get frightened, and, not stopping to gather up coats or 
hats, would climb over the fence out of the danger zone as quickly 
as possible. Uncle Billy would then have a great deal of fun 
out of the boys by telling them that he would not give them back 
their coats and hats. He always did give them back, however. 
The pasture was part of the original tract deeded to Mr. Mathew- 
son by the government, in the sixties. It has been the scene of 
many adventures, and to the boys — men now — who have partici- 
pated in them, it will always remain a pleasing memory — long 
after it is filled with residences, as it will soon be. 



CHAPTER XXXVII 

THE PRESS. 

THE FOUNDING OF THE BEACON. 

By 
D. G. MILLISON. 

In July, 1872, D. G. Millison advertised to exchange a suburban 
home in the city of Topeka, for a newspaper plant in a county- 
seat town in the state of Kansas. The first response to the adver- 
tisement came from the Rev. Mr. Perkins, editor and proprietor 
of the "Wichita Vidette," which brought Mr. Millison to Wichita. 

Not succeeding in making terms with Mr. Perkins, Mr. Mil- 
lison hunted up Mr. F. A. Sowers, founder of the "Vidette," and 
at that time the most popular editor in Southwest Kansas, and 
laid before him a proposition to establish a simon pure Demo- 
cratic paper in Wichita. 

Mr. Sowers had extensive acquaintance in Southwestern Kan- 
sas and was popular with the leading spirits of Wichita. To- 
gether they interviewed many of the more prominent business 
men and met with substantial encouragement. 

The field was occupied by the "Vidette," but Mr. Sowers felt 
confident that, with the assistance of his friends he could clear 
the field by the first of October, which feat was successfully 
accomplished before the first of September, the "Vidette" moving 
on farther West. 

On the 6th of September Mr. Millison, with his family and his 
foreman, Mr. Frank B. Smith, afterwards sole proprietor of the 
"Beacon," landed in Wichita with a complete newspaper plant. 

Many of the business men were desirous that the "Beacon" 
should start out as a daily during the cattle shipping season 
of that year, promising extra liberal support, but Mr. Sowers 
was afraid to venture so bold a scheme. Mr. Millison was in 
favor of a daily publication and proposed to finance the enter- 
prise for one month as an experiment, Mr. Sowers agreeing to 

468 



THE PRESS 469 

do the editorial work on salary, and on the 18th day of October. 
1872, the first number of the "Daily Beacon" was issued — the 
first daily paper published in the Arkansas valley, in Kansas. 

At the end of one month Mr. Sowers added his share to the 
capital stock. The "Daily Beacon" ceased and the "Beacon" 
was issued weekly until July, 1873, when it was again issued 
daily and weekly for three months — during the cattle shipping 
season of that year, when the co-partnership of Millison & 
Sowers was dissolved, Mr. Sowers becoming sole owner of the 
"Beacon" and Mr. Millison taking the job department, all in 
the same office, but run separately. 

Much depends on first impressions as to how we remember 
a circumstance. Sometimes a cool or unpleasant reception 
prejudices one against an individual or community, causing a 
feeling of antipathy that fades slowly from memory. However, 
I bear no malice, but the memory lingers. My love for the 
Peerless Princess has never waned, notwithstanding my pecu- 
liar introduction by one of her most prominent representatives 
in 1872. The princely maiden was young then, and her facili- 
ties for entertaining and administering creature comforts were 
not what they are today. In July of that year I advertised to 
purchase a well established country newspaper in a live county 
seat town in the state of Kansas. The first response to the 
advertisement came from the Eev. Mr. Perkins, editor and pro- 
prietor of the Wichita "Vidette," by personal application at my 
home in Topeka. 

The editor was a very affable gentleman, and very modestly 
exhaled an air of good breeding and refinement — so much so 
that he was cordially invited to be the guest until host and guest 
might arrive at an understanding. 

The host and hostess had longings to become permanent resi- 
dents of the town of Wichita (for Wichita, even then, was con- 
spicuous in the limelight) and hoped their guest might prove 
their good angel — disguised or otherwise — to fill the long felt 
want. Consequently the hostess felt much concern in regard 
to the culinary part of his entertainment. The worthy man had 
his peculiarities; he abhorred "condiments," yet, strange to say, 
seemed to relish and assimilate fried chicken, broiled steak, ham 
and eggs, all fully seasoned; but his delicate stomach absolutely 
revolted at white bread. Happily, with the aid of utensils pur- 
chased for the occasion, the hostess succeeded in making graham 



470 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

bread to his entire satisfaction. At the end of the fourth day 
negotiations were suspended and the host and hostess flattered 
into the belief that the guest fully appreciated their hospitable 
efforts. They were also persuaded to believe that overburdened 
opportunities were awaiting the young man who might become 
the fortunate possessor of that magic wand — "The Wichita 
Vidette." Arrangements were speedily made to go and be 
convinced. The editor esteemed it a great favor as well as a 
pleasure to become host and bear his guest, free of expense — 
including the best accommodations the young city could afford — 
if the guest would but accompany him and inspect his plant. 
His pockets were full of railroad passes, so free transportation 
was assured. 

The next morning found us at the railroad station a little in 
advance of train time. The editor proceeded to go through his 
numerous pockets in search of the requisite pass. The first time 
through without results, he said, "Huh!" A second and third 
reconnoisance brought down a shower of self-reproaches. He 
could not even recall the incident that caused the neglect of so 
important a privilege as the securing of a few passes over that 
particular road. He had one pass, but was not quite sure both 
could ride on the same pass — had never tried it. Being now 
thoroughly enthused with the spirit of the venture, and not 
desiring to take advantage of a helpless railroad corporation, I 
decided to pay my own transportation. We were now happily 
on our journey and would soon arrive at a dining station, my 
host kindly explaining where and how to secure a cheap lunch 
if I felt the need of refreshment. As for himself he still felt 
sufficiently nourished from the hearty breakfast so recently 
enjoyed at the Topeka home, and preferred to await a good 
meal at the end of his journey. Reflecting that there might be 
pleasure in anticipation — also desiring to be agreeable, I decided 
to fast with my host. At 10 p. m. we landed at the Douglas 
avenue depot; where our cars were greeted with the inspiring 
tune: "The Conquering Hero Comes," by a full brass band. 

Presuming they were welcoming my host, I threw out my 
chest and marched boldly by his side, falling in at the rear of 
the procession and feeling that the young city knew how to 
receive and honor her worthies, when my host veered to the 
right, motioning me into a path or trail through tall weeds lead- 
ing in a northwesterly direction, while that fool band went 



THE PEESS 471 

straight ahead, following a wagon track in the direction of the 
Douglas Avenue Hotel, while we emerged from a jungle of weeds 
about midway of the third block on North Main street, in front 
of the "Vidette" office. Somewhere along that trail in the 
weeds we lost that "good meal" so fondly anticipated on the 
train, and my considerate host forebore to mention it ever after 
in my presence. 

On approaching Wichita he had urbanely explained that he 
and his son lodged in the office, having a bed in an inner room, 
and as he did not expect his son to be at home, would his guest 
object to sharing the bed with him. No objection being made, 
that incident was closed until arriving at the office, when, to the 
utter amazement of mine host, the son was there. This fact was 
revealed on entering the outer office by the son opening the bed- 
room door, flooding the room with a glare of light. Nonplussed, 
but being a man of unlimited resources, a few minutes only were 
necessary to solve the difficulty. Turning until his eyes rested 
thoughtfully in the northwest corner of the room, the editor's 
face lighted with benignant smiles, which assured me my com- 
fort was abundantly provided for — that nothing of importance 
occupied that corner of the room, except a few newspaper 
exchanges, and even they might be utilized in making me more 
comfortable; and as the night was well advanced the accommo- 
dation would probably be equal to anything the hotel could 
afford at that hour of the night. So saying, he bid me a cheery 
good night and retired to his bedroom, politely closing the door 
that I might not be disturbed by the light. 

Being a resident of Kansas years before she became a state, 
I was used to roughing it and had acquired the habit of carrying 
a blanket when going on uncertain excursions; and had, from a 
force of habit, exercised the same precaution on this occasion, 
which my host seemed to have noticed, as he observingly 
remarked: "The exchanges, if properly distributed, would 
afford a clean field on which to spread a blanket." I had pre- 
viously had considerable experience with newspaper exchanges, 
but cannot recall an instance of as much difficulty in selecting a 
sufficient quantity of soft ones as in that dark and lonesome 
office room ; and, as I remember it now, that night was not restful, 
nor needed I a rude awakening when "the dawn whitened and 
the dusk grew clear." 

Promptly at 9 o'clock the editor entered his sanctum — face 



472 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

beaming with smiles of welcome and a small package under his 
left arm, and from his mouth issued the glad tidings: "Now, 
Mr. Millison, we will have some breakfast— just draw up that 
box you are sitting on!" Seating myself in his easy chair, in 
front of his editorial desk, he untied the package, drew from his 
trouser's pocket a three-bladed pocket knife and proceeded to 
slice a delicious loaf of bakery graham bread into two artistic 
piles — one for me and one for you — and, after sufficient pause 
for silent, solemn thought, the feast began. Exercising his pre- 
rogative as host, the editor challenged to a discussion on the 
waste and extravagance of the American nation, winding up his 
introduction to the interesting subject by saying there were 
millions suffering the pangs of hunger in consequence of the 
extravagance of the very rich ; and that it would be his greatest 
pleasure to divide with any one of them his humble breakfast, 
which, he felt, he had honestly earned by the sweat of his brow. 

Coinciding with all his views, and not wishing to be out- 
done in generosity, I declared my willingness to donate my 
entire share of the sumptuous spread to the unfortunate down- 
trodden, but as. there seemed to be no probability of an imme- 
diate transfer, I ventured to suggest that a cup of some mild 
beverage would greatly assist in its mastication. "So it would, 
Mr. Millison ; so it would ! Why didn 't I think of that ? Say ! 
there's a pump just outside that front door, across the walk. 
And, say! Mr. Millison, bring in a cupful with you!" And — 
just then nothing more was said. 

After breakfast and until the noon hour the printing plant 
was thoroughly inspected. Every part seemed a distinct remi- 
niscence of better days, and my mind was soon flooded with that 
apt quotation: "Distance lends enchantment," until the poetic 
thought came to me that I would willingly sacrifice all my 
chances of a bargain in the purchase for one good square meal. 
At 2 o'clock we partook of a substantial lunch at my host's pri- 
vate boarding house, which was approached by a private path, 
through horse weeds and sunflowers higher than our heads. The 
common boarders had dined and departed, leaving us a limited 
quantity of boiled bacon and string beans. It was here that the 
editor put me wise how to obtain these free lunches — editor's 
perquisites, he called them — by simply giving the proprietor com- 
plimentary notices in his paper. 

The afternoon was pleasantly passed in listening to the edi- 



THE PEESS 473 

tor's plaints of bodily ailments and physical incapacities that 
necessitated his parting with a bonanza so easily extracted from 
his valuable plant by any one able to endure the arduous duties 
of editor and manager. Not feeling equal to the arduous duties 
imposed, there seemed no prospect for a coalition of interests, 
and as evening was approaching, I announced my intention of 
relieving my host of further obligations. This was grievous news 
to him. But if I must go he must insist we enjoy another good 
meal together. As we sauntered leisurely down the east side of 
North Main street, in search of — as I supposed — a first class res- 
taurant, the odor of broiled steak and fried ham assailed our 
nostrils from the precincts of several restaurants, and I thought 
I could hardly wait until we came to the favored one; but ere 
we reached the coveted goal the editor stopped suddenly in 
front of a stack of watermelons on the sidewalk and crooking his 
index finger to a clerk commanded him to select the most luscious 
5-cent melon in the pile. The haughty behest was instantly 
obeyed and the package delivered with a formal bow. Beckon- 
ing me we stealthily entered an ice cream parlor and quietly slid 
into a private booth. Again the three-bladed .jack knife was 
pressed into service and made to perform another artistic stunt 
carving that melon into a tempting feast ; which was enlivened 
by my host's generous remarks that when it came to purchasing 
the products of the farm he did not regard expense, as he con- 
sidered it every man's duty to encourage agriculture. And thus 
we parted. 

Now all this preface may seem unnecessary and irrelevant 
to the starting of "The Beacon," but it is simply the naked 
truth — shabbily dressed — and had it not transpired the "Daily 
Beacon" had ne'er been born. Feeling at liberty now to follow 
my own inclinations, I decided to take a look at the town. 
Counting the business houses and the saloons, the business houses 
showed a majority. But the saloons made the more prosperous 
business showing. On the northwest corner of Main and Second 
streets — where the Northern now stands — flourished a billiard 
parlor and saloon, presided over by Madam Sage. Prom there 
to Douglas avenue, and west on Douglas to the river, all lines of 
business were represented — sandwiched in with saloons. The 
chief place of amusement was at the corner of Main street and 
Douglas avenue, now occupied by the Kansas National Bank, 
where poker, faro, roulette and keno, with many brands of beer 



474 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

and whisky, were constantly on tap. From a raised platform 
fronting on Main street a brass band regaled the denizens morn- 
ing, noon and eve, luring customers to the gambling den. Be- 
spurred cowboys innumerable, with gun-laden hips filled the 
saloons. Red and Rowdy Joe, of dance house fame, flaunted their 
banners in the streets. 

Underneath it all was an unmistakable throb of honest busi- 
ness that promised better things in the near future. The business 
men were sociable. The glad hand was extended with a cordial 
grasp. Every one advised the new arrival to tarry and become 
a citizen. Every new enterprise was welcomed cordially and 
encouraged substantially. In fact, the newcomer was made to 
feel at home with a desire to remain. Seeking the acquaintance 
of Mr. F. A. Sowers, founder of the Wichita "Vidette," and at 
that time the most versatile writer as well as most popular news- 
paper editor in the Southwest, I laid before him a proposition to 
jointly establish a simon pure Democratic newspaper in Wichita. 

Mr. Sowers had extensive acquaintance in southwestern Kan- 
sas and was popular with the leading spirits of Wichita, and was 
also enthusiastic for the venture. Together we interviewed the 
more prominent business men of the young city and met with 
substantial encouragement. The field was occupied by the 
"Vidette," but Mr. Sowers felt confident that, with the assist- 
ance of his friends he could clear the field by the first of October, 
which feat was easily accomplished before the first of September 
— the "Vidette" seeking pastures new in fields farther west. 

The 6th day of October, 1872, my family and foreman, Mr. 
Frank B. Smith — afterwards sole proprietor of "The Beacon" — 
landed in Wichita with a complete newspaper plant. Many of the 
business men were desirous that the new paper should start as an 
evening daily, promising additional support. Mr. Sowers did 
not feel inclined to so bold a venture. I favored a daily pub- 
lication, and proposed to finance the enterprise for one month 
as an experiment, Mr. Sowers agreeing to do the editorial work 
on salary. On the 18th day of October, 1872, the first number 
of the "Wichita Daily Beacon" was issued — the first daily paper 
published in the Arkansas valley, in the state of Kansas. At the 
end of the first month Mr. Sowers added his share of the capital 
stock; the daily suspended and "The Beacon" was issued weekly 
until July, 1873, when it was issued daily and weekly for three 



THE PEESS 475 

months — during the cattle shipping season of that year. Frank 
B. Smith, who was the new paper's foreman, became its owner 
later. After his death, Mr. H. J. Hagny became its owner. "The 
Beacon" was purchased from Mr. Hagny by Henry J. Allen, who 
organized the present Beacon Publishing Company. 

"THE BEACON" IS THIRTY-EIGHT. 

"The Beacon" is thirty-eight years old as it moves into its 
new home in "The Beacon" building — Wichita's first skyscraper. 
In its thirty-eight years of constant growth and progress, this 
newspaper has occupied six different buildings — the new Beacon 
block on South Main street being the seventh. Two of the past 
homes of "The Beacon" were small frame buildings one story 
tall. One of them was a one-story brick building. Two of them 
were two-story brick buildings. The other is the three-story 
brick building which has just been abandoned by "The Beacon," 
at 121 North Market street. "The Beacon" occupied this build- 
ing twenty-five years. "The Wichita Beacon" was born October 
1, 1872. "The Beacon's" infancy was spent in a little frame 
building, 24x60 feet in size. It stood on the ground now occu- 
pied by a two-story brick building at 241 North Main street, and 
used by Frank T. Culp's meat market. Surrounding "The 
Beacon's" first tiny office were other buildings of the same char- 
acter. On the south was a carpenter shop ; on the north was a 
harness and saddlery repair shop. In the same block were 
grocery stores, meat markets and saloons, all occupying one-story 
wooden buildings. At that time there was not a brick building 
in the city. Only a few of the frame buildings were above one 
story in height. 

"The Beacon" was established by Fred A. Sowers and D. C. 
Millison. Mr. Sowers had charge of the business and editorial 
end of the paper, while Mr. Millison looked out for the mechan- 
ical portion of the work. Both men are still residents of the city. 
Mr. Sowers is engaged in the real estate business in the firm of 
Sowers and Fisher, at 223 East Douglas avenue. Mr. Millison 
lives at 1900 South Lawrence avenue. He is the father of Ralph 
Millison, of the Millison Office Supply Company. While the 
experience of these two gentlemen in establishing and operating 
a small newspaper was similar to that of many others, and while 



476 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

there were times that were trying incidents that were annoying, 
both these gentlemen regard with pleasure the beginnings of 
the paper and love still to relate incidents that happened in its 
infancy. Both of them have contributed articles to this number 
of the new "Beacon." "The Beacon" was started as a daily, 
but Wichita was too small to support six issues a week, so it was 
soon changed to a weekly publication. During the first few 
weeks as a daily "The Beacon" flourished. The Texas cattle 
drive was on and thousands of long-horned steers were driven 
along a trail which is now Douglas avenue. At night hundreds 
of cowboys swarmed into the little frontier town and supplied 
plenty of news for "The Beacon." There were frequent shoot- 
ing scrapes, many killings, and numberless trials. But the cattle 
drive was finished by early winter and news became scarce. So 
"The Daily Beacon" became the "Weekly Beacon" and con- 
tinued a weekly for twelve years. 



HOW THE BEACON WAS NAMED. 

The naming of "The Beacon" was decided by the flipping of 
a penny. The two owners of the publication were divided as 
to a name. Mr. Sowers was determined that the paper should 
be called "The Beacon." Mr. Millison wanted it to be called "The 
Tribune." It was left to a penny. Mr. Sowers won the flip. 
A year following the establishment of the paper the plant was 
moved into another frame building on the southwest corner of 
Second and Main streets, where the Tapp Brothers and Han- 
shaw grocery is now located. This new home of "The Beacon" 
was a story and a half high and was one of the pretentious build- 
ings of the city at that day. 

In 1874, two years after "The Beacon" was established, there 
was a change in management. Frank B. Smith and Frank 
Fisher, who had worked for "The Beacon" company as printers, 
bought the paper, paying for it on the partial payment plan out 
of the wages due them. In 1874 the printing plant was again 
moved, this time into a new brick building at the southwest cor- 
ner of Main and Second streets. This two-story brick structure, 
which is now occupied by the Sturgeon grocery, was then one of 
the finest buildings in the city. Shortly after the removal into 
this new home Mr. Smith bought Mr. Fisher's interest in the 
paper. 



THE PEESS 477 

For a year Mr. Smith was sole owner of "The Beacon." In 
1875 he gave a one-third interest in the paper to W. S. White, 
familiarly known as "Cap" White, of Kingman county. Wichita 
was growing rapidly and the new owners of "The Beacon" 
sought a location closer to the heart of the city. They chose the 
second floor of the building at 112 East Douglas avenue, lately 
occupied by the Jackson-Walker Coal Company. Into this build- 
ing "The Beacon" was moved in 1876. It remained there for 
eight years, when it was moved into the building which it has so 
long occupied at 121 North Market street. The old "Beacon" 
building being vacated for the new was erected during the boom 
days by Frank B. Smith and W. S. White. It was completed in 
1884 and occupied immediately by the paper. Prior to this time 
"The Beacon" had remained a weekly, with the exception of 
the first few months, as a daily publication. A new and larger 
press was installed in the new home, however, and "The Beacon" 
again came out as a daily paper. 

"The Beacon's" first residence in "The Beacon" block was 
of short duration. Mr. Smith and Mr. White, who had owned 
the paper for ten years, sold it to a new firm called Hotchkiss & 
Eaton. The new owners took the paper into a small one-story 
brick building at 119 West Douglas, which is now occupied by 
the Puckett & Bagby feed store. While "The Beacon" was 
being issued from this building there was another change in the 
management. The firm of Hotchkiss & Eaton sold to another 
firm known as Richardson & Peck. Mr. Richardson and Mr. 
Peck continued to edit and manage the paper until 1890. In 
1890 Frank B. Smith repurchased a half interest in "The Beacon" 
from Mr. Peck. The paper was then moved back into "The 
Beacon" block on North Market street, where it was until this 
month. Three years after this last move of "The Beacon" plant, 
Frank B. Smith died. In the following year Mrs. Smith, his 
widow, purchased the half interest owned by Mr. Richardson, 
thus becoming the sole owner of the paper. A few years later 
H. J. Hagny and Mrs. Smith were married and Mr. Hagny 
became the editor as well as manager. In March, 1907, Henry 
J. Allen organized The Beacon Publishing Company and bought 
the paper from Mr. Hagny. — From New Home Edition of "Daily 
Beacon." 



478 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

HISTORY OF THE "WICHITA EAGLE," 
By Charles E. Bigelow, Wichita, Kan. 

Adequately to portray the career of the "Wichita Eagle," to 
review its time-honored course, to tell its graphic story amid 
stirring scenes of primeval days on a rugged and storm-tossed 
frontier, it ought to be woven with the story of the life of its 
able founder, the late Col. Marshall M. Murdock. To diassociate 
one from the other would be as empty and futile as to emblazon 
the immortal drama of "Hamlet" without Hamlet, to sing the 
enduring hymn of "Heloise" without Abelard, to recite the story 
of the War of the Rebellion without the picturesque character 
of Abraham Lincoln. The concurrent lives and activities of 
the "Eagle" and its virile founder and editor for over a third 
of a century are so interwoven, and so much identical one with 
the other that no historic resume of the one is complete without 
the tale of the other. Marsh Murdock, as he is yet and will 
always remain, familiarly known, directed the destinies of the 
publication from its inception up to a few hours of his untimely 
demise. Its tone, its policy, editorial position, he alone chose, 
and with fearless and unswerving hand drove straight through 
to an unflinching adherence of that established policy and 
standard of high tone. 

But, since in another chapter is told the life story of Colonel 
Murdock, it becomes the function of this article to adhere as 
closely as possible to the real story, historical and anecdotal of 
the "Eagle" and its allied publications, cleaving away for the 
moment the more personal and living element of its distinguished 
editor. 

The Wichita "Eagle" is entering its thirty-ninth year. It 
was born on April 12, 1872 — fathered and founded by the late 
M. M. Murdock, and files of this paper carefully preserved now 
in the "Eagle's" library show that first copy, sear and yellow 
with time, bearing the caption "The Wichita City Eagle." There 
was no railroad into Wichita then and the printing material had 
to be hauled to this point from Newton in wagons. Mr. Syl 
Dunkin, the teamster of the late James R. Mead, now of Tacoma, 
Wash., had charge of the freighting, which occupied a day. The 
entire office was a trifle more than could be hauled by twa 
teams, owing to the condition of the road. 



THE PEESS 479 

When the material arrived here it was housed in a wooden 
shanty on North Main street. One of the men who helped to 
take the material into the shanty from the wagons was the noted 
Dave Payne, who afterwards became the originator of the boom 
to open the then wild country of Oklahoma for settlement, and 
who became the leader of the famous organization of boomers 
who caused the country to be opened finally, five years after his 
sudden death. Payne county in Oklahoma and Payne township 
in Sedgwick county are named after this man, who was, by the 
way, the Democratic candidate for state senator against the 
editor of the "Eagle," who, for such a long time, filled that 
position when his district comprehended an area equal to about 
forty counties. 

There were two names originally proposed for the new 
paper, — one "The Eagle," proposed by Colonel Murdock him- 
self, the other "The "Wichita Victor," in honor of the editor's 
wife, Victoria Mayberry Murdock. A silver dollar was flipped to 
determine the choice and the side emblazoned with the American 
Eagle turned up and settled the matter according to agreement. 
It is not stated in the original sketch of this episode where the 
editor in those days borrowed that dollar. It was the third 
"Eagle" in the United States at that time, since, a name that is 
very common in the realms of newspaper nomenclature. The 
other two were the "Brooklyn Eagle" and a paper published 
somewhere in Michigan. 

The whole town was "very anxious to know what name the 
editor would give to the new paper, but no one had a hint of it 
save only Mrs. Victoria Murdock, wife of the editor, and the 
present owner and proprietor. Colonel Murdock aimed to have 
a joke with five or six friends, and that number of the first issue 
were called "The Wichita Galoot." These were sent to the 
friends referred to ; then the head was removed and the remain- 
der of the issue came out as "The Wichita City Eagle." Pretty 
soon those half-dozen friends who had "The Galoot" delivered 
to them came rushing down to the office to protest against such 
an undignified name, and it was only then that Colonel Murdock 
revealed to them the real name of the paper, which pleased them 
greatly, though not a few still insisted the name of "The Victor" 
should have been given. Among these friends was the late 
James E. Mead, the distinguished pioneer of this part of Kansas, 



480 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

and who for a long and active lifetime lived in Wichita, the city 
he helped to found and to give its name. 

There is some doubt as to the identity of the first subscriber, 
but the claim of Mr. Dickey, of Newton, at present a leading 
druggist and jeweler of the Harvey county capital, practically 
settles the controversy. When Colonel Murdock was coming to 
Wichita to start the "Eagle" Mr. Dickey met him at Newton 
and learning of his intentions at once subscribed for the yet 
dreamed of paper on the spot, even before it was born. 

The inside pages of the first copy of the paper being missing, 
we do not know what the salutatory of Colonel Murdock con- 
tained, but the business announcement on the first page laid 
down the rule that no type of a display character be used that 
was larger than pica, which is two sizes larger than the type 
used on this page, which is nonpareil. This rule referred to 
advertisements as well as to headlines. Cuts and "unseemly 
illustrations" were also barred, and due notice was given to 
humbugs that their advertisements would not be received, and 
the editor fought untiringly almost to the very day of his death 
for the newspaper ideals of his younger days. The "flaring 
headlines" he never had any use for, but times changed and 
when these became the fashion, while he yielded, he never liked 
them. 

Among the very first advertisers in the "Eagle" only a few 
now remain in Wichita. Dr. Pabrique, who was then in part- 
nership with Dr. E. B. Allen, had a professional card in the first 
column. William C. Little, who was then a practicing attorney, 
now president of the Wichita Loan & Trust Company, also had a 
small card. John C. Martin, now a member of the Board of 
Education, had a card advertising his restaurant. "Doc" 
Holmes advertised books and stationery. Lee Hays also adver- 
tised in this first issue. Mr. A. Hess advertised the business 
from which has evolved the present Wichita Wholesale Grocery 
Company. Among the other advertisers were the late Senator 
P. B. Plumb, who was then a young lawyer at Emporia, with a 
large practice down this way. 

The Church Directory reveals only two houses of worship — 
the Episcopal, presided over by Rev. J. P. Hilton, who alter- 
nated with J. F. Nessley, of the Methodist Church, every other 
Sunday, and the Presbyterian Church, which latter edifice was 



THE PEESS 481 

then located about where Ike West's stone yard now is, with 
J. P. Harson presiding. 

Only two city officers are now here, John M. Martin, who 
was a councilman, and Dr. Fabrique, who was a member of the 
School Board. 

The "Eagle" was the product of the editor's faith in Wichita. 
With the clairvoyant power of his wonderful faculty for reason- 
ing he foresaw that there must be a town of some size at the 
junction of the two rivers. He had examined the country before, 
counted its streams, examined their valleys and measured the 
capacity of the country to produce the things that were demanded 
by a growing country and a people ambitious to have a foreign 
commerce. 

Having satisfied himself that there was a future he pro- 
ceeded to develop it, and from the day he landed in Sedgwick 
county until the day of his death he never lost faith in Wichita. 
Some of the most remarkable arguments ever made for any 
country were made by him during the first seventeen years of 
his residence here, and the most delightful and entertaining trip 
anyone can make is through the back files of the "Eagle" from 
1872 to 1890. 

The "Eagle" started in with a definite and well defined 
policy, and has never varied from it to any great length. Its 
fundamental idea was that the man who tilled the ground created 
the real wealth of nations. The first thought of the "Eagle," 
therefore, has ever been the farmers. After agriculture it has 
always regarded Commerce as the most likely thing to flourish 
in Wichita. Next to Commerce is Industry. These constitute 
the things in the ambition of the "Eagle" to make for funda- 
mental prosperity. 

In other lines its policy has been from the start to be broad 
and liberal ; to be clean, decent and conservative ; to stand loyally 
for constituted authority ; to favor no class or clan or caste ; to 
elevate the standard of civilization along broad lines ; to stand 
firmly for wide education ; to avoid connections that would ham- 
per its independence and its usefulness ; to keep out of specu- 
lation and to confine itself altogether to legitimate newspaper 
work. This last policy was so strong with the editor of the 
"Eagle" that for ten years during the highest progress of the 
city — including the fateful years of the boom — he did not buy a 
foot of property in Wichita for speculation or for any other 



482 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

purpose. He was repeatedly offered choice lots in about every 
addition in Wichita, and in very new towns laid out in southern 
Kansas, yet he never touched any of them. He was proffered 
splendid opportunities by managers of railroads and others to 
acquire valuable property in townsites, but never accepted or 
embraced a single one. He did not believe in anything as a 
fortune maker but a good newspaper. He was content for others 
to make fortunes through his efforts and the work of his great 
brain, but he wanted none of it that way himself. He declined 
tempting offers to be elected to the directories of great corpora- 
tions having large enterprises on hand, but he accepted only one, 
and when that did not suit him he promptly resigned. 

The "Eagle" prospered from the start along these lines of 
policy and it eventually accumulated a little money and a whole 
lot of good will from year to year. After a short time in the 
Main street office the paper was removed to the old Eagle Hall 
building, where the Boston Store now is. Later it built its own 
building next door and moved into it. When this became too 
crowded a third floor was added and this was its home until 
1906, when temporary quarters were built for it on the site of 
the present new building, corner of Williams and South Market 
streets. 

It was the intention to build around this shack, but architects 
said this could not be done without a great deal of expense, and 
the paper was removed to 119 North Water street, where it was 
published for nearly a year while the new building was going up. 

From the postoffice Colonel Murdock wistfully watched the 
progress of the new building every day, but he never entered it, 
for the old adage verified itself — "When the new home is ready 
the hearse is at the door." 

He never saw the handsomely appointed new room designed 
for his private sanctum, but his picture hangs there, crowned 
and draped and hallowed by evergreen immortelles, the wreath 
arc of which is changed and renewed three times each year ; 
and for long it was the only picture that adorned its walls, as 
he was the only editor who directed the destinies of the paper 
for a span of thirty-five years, or since its founding. 

In 1884 the paper became a daily with the old Missouri and 
Kansas Telegraph service — what was known as the pony report 
of the Associated Press. It soon became the daily paper for the 
whole great Southwest and wielded a powerful and salutary 



THE PEESS 483 

influence from the start. It attained a marvelous circulation 
during the boom, so that it had more subscribers than there 
were people in the town where it was published. 

Early in the nineties — actually during the very worst time the 
country has ever seen in fifty years — it installed typesetting 
machinery, subscribed to the full report of the Associated Press, 
and with a courage that was desperate faced the tide of adversity. 
It mastered that tide after being stared in the face by Despair 
several times and came out on solid ground again without missing 
a single pay day. It did more than that. It kept up the wages 
of its men to scale and kept every one of its old employes when 
there was little profitable work for them to do. This was out 
of sentiment entirely, for it has always been the policy of the 
paper to stand by its loyal workers. In consequence of this the 
"Eagle" has more old employes today probably than any other 
paper in the world in proportion to its payroll. It has the sons 
of old employes and expects to have their grandsons and great- 
grandsons on its pay list. This sentiment of rotation of genera- 
tions is one of the marked features of the "Eagle" policy. 

Today the "Eagle" is the third highest employer of labor in 
the city of Wichita. It can make this claim also that it has a 
greater circulation than any paper in the world published in a 
town of the size of Wichita, and that it goes into a greater. pro- 
portion of the homes in the town in which it is published than 
any other daily paper in the world. These two latter claims are 
conceded by expert newspaper men everywhere. 

Another thing it can claim — although with such certainty — 
that it goes to more different places in the world than any other 
paper published in any town the size of Wichita. 

It has been computed that if the pages of the entire year's 
issue of the "Eagle" were joined together, end to end, the strip 
would go twice around the world and have enough left to extend 
from the Gulf of Mexico into Canada. To deliver it by carrier 
service alone 5,559 miles are traveled daily. This does not include 
the railway mail service. Its immensity can best be understood 
when it is said that about six tons of paper were used for the 
last special edition issued in the summer of 1910. The paper is 
now entirely owned by Mrs. Victoria Murdock, the consort of the 
late editor for nearly forty-five years. In any review of the 
career of the "Eagle" there must be mentioned the able and 
conservative business management of the late Poland P. Mur- 



484 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

dock, brother of the "Eagle's" editor, who was associated with 
him during the lifetime of both, both dying about the same time. 
Colonel Murdock established a severe and inviolable dead line 
between the functions of the two segregated departments, the 
editorial and strictly literary division and the business manage- 
ment. The writer well recalls the innumerable instances when 
the revered editor, respected and admired by everyone closely 
in touch with him, from the managing editor to the latest cub 
reporter, would remark, "We fellows up here on the third floor 
have no business whatever downstairs in the business office, save 
only on Mondays of each week when we draw our pay check. 
Neither has that crowd downstairs any business up here. So 
you fellows keep out of there, and I will see to it that they keep 
out of up here." This was a tradition and time-honored office 
rule. But through dreary and discouraging periods following 
the boom and the '93 and '94 panic it was the patient and saga- 
cious R. P. Murdock, never quite discouraged, who guided the 
frail craft over stormy financial seas, and lived to see it weather 
the tempestuous elements and come safely at last into port and 
anchor solidly in a haven of sure solidarity and permanent 
prosperity. 

The "Daily Eagle" now has a circulation of over 35,000, 
widely spread throughout the Southwest, with an especially heavy 
subscription list in the city of Wichita, all of Kansas, Oklahoma 
and northern Texas. It is significant that scarcely a Wichita 
resident who moves away permanently to reside elsewhere but 
keeps up his subscription as the one final tie that binds to home 
memories and refreshing chronicles of the city he still loves. 
The mechanical division has a battery of six Mergenthaler lino- 
type machines of the latest improved designs and type. During 
the summer of 1910 a perfected Goss improved Sextuple press, 
with a capacity of 80,000 completely printed and folded papers 
an hour was installed. The stereotyping department has been all 
rehabilitated and overhauled with a complete new equipment, 
and the job division also fitted out all new. 

Other publications issued from the ' ' Eagle ' ' plant are : The 
"Wichita Weekly Eagle," established in 1872, which is a metro- 
politan weekly newspaper, covering in its circulation one of the 
richest mail order fields in the Southwest. The guaranteed cir- 
culation is 30,000. 

"The Arkansas Valley Farmer," established in 1909. An 



THE PEESS 485 

agricultural paper published every Friday. A high class farm 
journal publication, edited by experts on all matters pertaining 
to ranch, farm and agricultural pursuits. Guaranteed circula- 
tion 30,000. ' ' The Wichita Daily Eagle, ' ' with 35,000 circulation, 
means 140,000 readers. 



COL. MARSHALL M. MURDOCH. 

By 
D. D. LEAHY. 

In the first rank of citizenship no man in the history of Sedg- 
wick county has held a higher place than Colonel Marshall M. 
Murdoch, founder of the Wichita Eagle. From the day he came 
to Sedgwick county in 1872 until the day of his death, January 
2, 1908, he enjoyed unsurpassed public confidence and exercised 
an influence in the Southwest that gave direction not only to the 
thought of the public but to the development of the country. 
He was among the last of those great Western journalists who 
placed the impress of their character upon the civilization of 
their times. The age of his activity spanned the great events in 
American history between Buchanan and Taft and none of them 
escaped his observation and comment. He saw the birth of prac- 
tically every invention that made America the greatest nation in 
the world. 

Colonel Murdoch was born on October the 10th, 1837 — the 
year Victoria ascended the throne of England — in the Pierpont 
settlement in what is now the state of West Virginia. His 
remote ancestry were Scotch but his more immediate ancestry 
dwelt in the north of Ireland, where one of them — his grand- 
father — was in rebellion against the government of England and 
had to flee to Virginia about the time of the Revolutionary War. 
This red blooded Irishman was a worker in metals and engaged 
in the iron molding business in his new home. This man's son 
Thomas, who became a minister of the gospel, married Catherine 
Pierpont, a relative of Governor Pierpont and also a relative of 
that Morgan family that produced the noted American financier. 
The first issue of that marriage was Colonel Murdoch, the subject 
of this sketch. This Thomas Murdoch had a quick conscience. 
He abhorred the institution of slavery and while still a young 



486 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

man set out for the West — settling at Irontown, in Ohio, where 
he engaged unsuccessfully in business. It was at Irontown that 
young Murdock secured a rudimentary education and first en- 
gaged in the printing business as an apprentice. 

The fight for freedom had begun in Kansas. Pioneers were 
striving to establish a state without slavery. The entire nation 
was interested in the outcome of the super-heated agitation. 
Thomas Murdock put his family and worldly possessions into two 
covered wagons and pulled out for Kansas. He drove one of the 
teams and the boy Marshall, or "Marsh," as he was usually called, 
drove the other. For weeks they travelled overland and finally 
settled in Topeka, where a farm was taken. Through that farm 
John Brown often passed with slaves taken from their Southern 
masters. 

As the spirit of the fathers was restless so was the spirit of the 
son and when the "Pike's Peak fever" broke out young Mar- 
shall hied himself off to the hills of golden promise. He set- 
tled at the place now called Leadville and there is little doubt 
of the fact that he was the first to discover silver in that camp. 
But they were hunting for gold and not for silver in those days 
and the white metal had no facination for them. Soon after- 
wards the Civil War broke out and as the father and two brothers 
had taken up arms and gone to the front Marshall returned to 
Kansas to take care of the mother and younger children. He 
did not go to the war himself until his state was threatened and 
he went out from Burlingame as a lieutenant colonel of Osage 
and Lyon county militia to resist invasion. Previous to this he 
had been working in a printing office at Lawrence and barely 
escaped massacre at the hands of the Quantrell gang by drop- 
ping into a well while the ruffians were sacking and burning the 
town. A few bullets were shot into the well after him but he 
was not injured. 

In 1863, Colonel Murdock was married to Miss Victoria May- 
berry, of Douglas county, and they went to live in Burlingame 
where Mr. Murdock had established the "Chronicle." Nine years 
later when the Santa Fe railway announced that it would extend 
its line he loaded his print shop into two wagons and came to 
Wichita where he established the "Eagle." 

Colonel Murdock had been a state senator for Osage and 
Lyon county and shortly after coming to Sedgwick county he 
was elected state senator for all that territory extending West- 



THE PRESS 487 

ward from Butler county to the Colorado state line, defeating 
David L. Payne, afterwards famous for the agitations and inva- 
sions that led to the opening of the present state of Oklahoma 
to settlement. Besides holding the office of state senator he 
became postmaster of Wichita and kept that position until 
Orover Cleveland became president in 1885. He was reappointed 
postmaster when McKinley became president and held the office 
until the time of his death. 

As he was by far a bigger man than the offices he held, 
his place in the world must be measured in other ways. He 
reached his highest stature in his profession. He was by all odds 
the best all-around editor in the state. In brilliancy he had no 
superior and in public usefulness it is doubtful if he ever had an 
equal. He was the greatest town boomer and town builder the 
Middle West has ever known. And he was honest in both. He 
saw as through a vision the future glory of the hamlet with which 
he had cast his fortune. He believed sincerely that it was des- 
tined to become the commercial center of the plains. He advo- 
cated every public enterprise that could contribute in any way 
to make it such. He encouraged every private enterprise that 
energy or capital ventured upon. He had a clear perception of 
the results of the development of the surrounding territory and 
saw with the eye of a prophet the coming of those thousands that 
have made the valley of the Arkansas blossom like the rose. He 
made the "Eagle" the oracle of the people, and to those inquir- 
ing for the land of promise it was never dumb. Wichita was to 
him as his own child and he watched its growth and development 
with equal care and love. 

As an editor, his style of writing was unique. He made the 
English language obedient to his every wish. From his com- 
prehensive vocabulary he could draw the lightning that could 
destroy and crush with as much facility as he could compose 
those prose poems that expressed the softness of his great heart 
in time of sorrow among his neighbors. None could soothe the 
grief of a parent for a dead child better than he, and his great- 
est pieces were those that expressed his sympathy for the 
distressed. 

Personally Colonel Murdock was a man of the most lovable 
character. He lived far above the petty things of his times. He 
was scrupulously honest in his dealings with men as well as in 
his personal convictions in matters relating to his office as an 



488 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

editor, and hence the guide and counsellor of his readers. Muck- 
raking, that conspicuous feature of modern magazinism and 
journalism, was intolerable to him. He denounced wrong-doing 
in the way of the old-fashioned editor. One of his broadsides 
was always sufficient to stop an abuse, and the lightning which 
he hurled was given with such nice aim that it struck only the 
guilty parties. His thunderbolts were tempered finely, and when 
they struck the whole town blinked and ran to cover without 
swearing at the man who hurled them. In only rare necessary 
occasions did he indulge in personalities himself and he never 
allowed his staff subordinates to assail the reputation of either 
men or women. While dignified he was a most charming com- 
panion and his wonderful stock of general knowledge made him a 
fascinating conversationalist. He was poetic in his temperament, 
and the few efforts he made at the production of verse proved 
that the Muses were exceptionally friendly to him. 

Colonel Murdock is survived by a widow and three children 
and his love for his family was beautiful and wholesome. He 
left two sons who are making a fine public and private reputa- 
tion, Victor in congress, and Marcellus in the management of the 
great journalistic enterprise founded by the father. 

The remains of Colonel Murdock are buried on the hill which 
overlooks the great city which has been builded by the great 
inspiration which he radiated among his fellow citizens. And 
that city will always remain the most eloquent monument of his 
great patriotism as a citizen and his great influence in the public 
life of his time. 

Note. — The above from the pen of the gifted writer, David 
Leahy, is a fine tribute to Colonel Murdock, whose life work 
was in Sedgwick county. No history of the great county would 
be complete without Colonel Murdock in it. — Editor. 

THE EARLY CONTRIBUTORS. 

By 
THE EDITOR. 

Among the early contributors to the weekly press of Sedg- 
wick county were many who have gone "over the Divide," and 
some of them still live among us. First of all was J. R. Meade, 
a constant and fluent writer, who wrote of the frontier days. 



THE PRESS 489 

Many of his tales of the border are now greatly treasured in 
the archives of the State Historical society in Topeka. Kos 
Harris of the Wichita bar for many years has been a voluminous 
contributor to the pages of the weekly and daily press. Kos 
writes for the pure enjoyment of writing, and his writings are 
pervaded by a vein of rich humor. Pat McDonald, "one of the 
Macs, ' ' out on the Cowskin, was in his day a frequent contributor 
to the "Eagle" and "Beacon." His writings were both poetry 
and prose. Mrs. King, long since gathered to her fathers, was a 
frequent writer; she lived upon a farm on the Cowskin creek, 
on the road to the ten-mile post. Hon. Frank Dofflemyer, of 
Park township, often wrote over his own signature, on matters 
of public importance. In years gone by, William H. Ranson, 
over the nom de plume of "Farmer K, " was a frequent con- 
tributor to the "Eagle." Geo. Litzenberg in an early day set- 
tled in Rockford township ; his articles first appeared over the 
name of "Farmer Dolittle." He adopted this name and later 
on gave his entire time to newspaper work; and he is employed 
in this capacity at this time. For years he has been an editorial 
writer upon the "Eagle." He is a vigorous writer with a quaint 
and original style. 

All of these people have in their way preserved in part the 
history of the greatest county in Kansas. * ^^^^ 

1390091 

WICHITA NEWSPAPERS. 

"Agricultural Southwest." (Weekly.) 410-414 E. William. 
Editor, C. I. Reed. Issued Fridays. $1.00 per annum. 

"Catholic Advance." (Weekly.) 150 N. Market. Pubs., The 
Advance Publishing Co. $2.00 per annum. 

"Daily Livestock Journal." 410 E. William. Pubs., The Jour- 
nal Pub. Co. Subscription price, $4.00 per annum. 

"The Democrat." (Weekly.) 414 E. Douglas avenue, Pubs., 
The Democrat Pub. Co. Issued every Saturday. $1.00 per annum. 

"Kansas Commoner." (Weekly.) (Democratic.) 157-159 N. 
Emporia avenue. Pubs., The Commoner Publishing Co. Issued 
every Thursday. $1.00 per annum. 

"Kansas Farmer Star." (Weekly.) 150 N. Market. Issued 
every Friday. Pubs., Star Publishing Co. Subscription $1.00 
per year. 

"Kansas Magazine." 123-125 S. Lawrence avenue. Pubs.. 



490 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

The Kansas Magazine Co. Issued every month. Pres., Tom 
Blodgett; Vice pres., Wm. Allen White; Sec. and Gen. Mngr., 
E. M. Cole; Adv. Mngr., C. W. Myers; Editorial Mngr., R. J. 
Kirk; Art Editor, C. M. Seward; Music Director, Theodore 
Linberg. 

"Missionary Messenger." 1145 N. Topeka avenue. Pub., G. 
A. Acken. Issued monthly. 25c per year. 

"Price Current." (Weekly.) 410-414 E. William. Editor, 
C. I. Reed; Business Mngr., R. T. Reed. Issued Saturdays. $1.00 
per annum. 

"Primitive Christianity." (Weekly.) 705 N. Main. Prop., 
Western Publishing Co. Editor, W. F. Parmiter. $1.00 per 
annum. 

"Southwestern Grain & Flour Journal." (Monthly.) 410- 
414 E. William. Mngr., W. H. Hastings. $1.00 per annum. 

"Wichita Daily Beacon." (Daily except Sunday.) Beacon 
Building. Pub. and Editor, Henry J. Allen. By carrier, 10c per 
week. Subscription, $4.00 per year. 

"Wichita Daily Pointer." (Daily except Saturday.) 209 
N. Main. Pub. and Editor, J. D. Carpenter. Free distribution. 

"Wichita Eagle." (Daily and Weekly.) (Republican.) 
Eagle Block. Prop., Mrs. Victoria Murdock; Business Mngr., 
M. M. Murdock; Editor-in-Chief, D. D. Leahy. Subscription 
rates (Daily except Monday) by carrier, 10c per week; $4.00 
per year. Weekly issued every Friday. 25c per year. 

"Wichita Herald." (Weekly.) 117 N. Market. Issued every 
Thursday. Pub., John Hoenscheidt. Subscription price, $2.00 
per year. 

"Wichita Searchlight." (c)— (Weekly.) 634 N. Water. Pub., 
W. N. Miller. $1.00 per annum. 



CHAPTER XXXVIII. 
SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

By 

THE EDITOR. 

Sedgwick county is one of the great counties of Kansas. It 
is at once the wonder and the envy of the other counties of the 
state. Including the city of Wichita, Sedgwick county has about 
75,000 people. It is probably now the second county in Kansas 
in wealth and property. For twenty-five years it has been the 
third county in the state in the payment of the state taxes, and 
all of this in the face of the fact that it has no state institution, and 
has no state patronage; Sedgwick county was organized in 1870 
with 1,008 square miles, in 1909 it stood third in rank, with an 
assessed valuation of $85,688,297. The population of Wichita 
at this time is 60,000 people. 

At the confluence of the two Arkansas rivers, now within the 
city limits of Wichita, was the early camping grounds of the 
Osages. Here for a long time in those early frontier days was 
stationed Gen. Philip H. Sheridan in command of the frontier 
troops. Here also William Griffenstein, afterward mayor of 
Wichita, was the post trader, and here — then began an epoch of 
song and story, the legends of the wood and plain, the fables 
of the river and the woodland, the story of the chase, the low 
thunder of the moving buffalo, the shriek of the panther, the 
whirr of the wild bird's wing, and the wolf's sharp, hungry cry; 
all of which has intertwined and clustered about this spot — 
the mystery and pathos of the frontier, the hardships and strug- 
gles of the pioneer, the history of the early fathers, and the 
feverish, pulsing of rushing development of the present, so preg- 
nant with the hopes and aspirations of our people. The past 
history of Sedgwick county reads like a romance or the tale of 
Aladdin's Lamp. The early explorers of Sedgwick county, rid- 
ing from Newton to the Arkansas river on horseback, saw the 
rich prairie grass sweeping their saddle-horns, and the country 

491 



492 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

West of Wichita to the Ninnesean valley black with countless 
buffalo. 

After the soldiers and Indians came the settlers. It was the 
day of the prairie schooner and the dug-out. The sod house was 
in evidence. The wintry wind blowing from the Panhandle of 
Texas and No Man's land, and the summer's sun, were alike 
pitiless. On the early settler no shadow ever fell, save that of 
the passing cloud. Away from the slight fringe of timber along 
the smaller streams the landscape was a treeless plain. West 
of Wichita and the Arkansas river was the favorite hunting 
ground of William Mathewson, J. R. Mead and G. W. C. Jones. 
At this time buffalo, mountain lion along the streams, deer, and 
antelope abounded. Fish abounded in the waters of the various 
streams; prairie chickens, wild turkey and quail were abundant 
on the prairies. Sedgwick county, has run the gamut of the hot 
winds, the drouth, the floods, the grasshoppers, the boom, the 
wild, unreasoning era of speculation, the land grafters, the oil 
grafters, the sellers of bogus stocks, speculation, overcapitali- 
zation, and all of their attendant and kindred evils, and from 
all of this series of scourges she has emerged into the clear noon- 
day of reason, out of a fool's paradise into business sense. No 
land is more productive than the lands of Sedgwick county 
when carefully and properly farmed; deep plowing and careful 
tilling does the business, and Sedgwick county is in the very 
heart of the alfalfa belt. 

"Deeper grows the soil and truer, 

More and more the prairie teems, 
With a fruitage as of dreams, 
Clearer, deeper flow the streams. 

Blander grows the sky and bluer." 

In April, 1870, Sedgwick county elected its first set of county 
officers. The county was named after Gen. John Sedgwick. The 
first trading-post in this vicinity was established by J. R. Mead 
in 1863, on the present site of Wichita; William Griffenstein 
located on the present city site of Wichita in 1865. The Wich- 
ita "Eagle" was established in Wichita as a weekly paper on 
April 22, 1872; its editor was M. M. Murdock. Prior to that 
time and on August 15, 1870, was issued the first number of the 
"Vidette" by Fred A. Sowers; W. B. Hutchinson joined him in 



SEDGWICK COUNTY , 493 

November following. Colonel Murdock has passed away, but 
his works live after him. W. B. Hutchinson was an erratic, keen, 
and loyal man, profane to a scientic degree. He died several 
years ago. Fred A. Sowers still resides here as an honored citi- 
zen of Wichita, much respected by all, and an optimist pure and 
simple. He predicts a great future for Wichita. 

On May 15, 1872, the Santa Fe railroad was completed to 
Wichita. September 4, 1879, William Griffenstein was elected 
mayor of Wichita. Sedgwick county has twenty-seven townships. 
It is governed by a board of county commissioners of three mem- 
bers and each township has a compliment of township officers 
headed by a township trustee, who is also the assessor of the 
township. 

Eleven railway lines radiate out of Wichita like the spokes of 
an enormous wheel. Comparatively all of the territory of the 
county is well served by railway lines. 

For Sedgwick county, with her superb location, her enter- 
prising city of Wichita within her borders, her splendid soil, 
her rich valleys, and her intelligent people, the future is full of 
hope. 

"The rudiments of Empire here, 

Are plastic yet and warm; 
The chaos of a mighty world 
Is rounding into form." 

SEDGWICK COUNTY, ITS ORGANIZATION. 

By 
R. KENNETH EVANS. 

Sedgwick, one of the oldest and largest counties in the state 
of Kansas, was named in honor of Major Gen. John Sedgwick, 
of the United States army, who was killed in the battle of Spot- 
sylvania, Va., May 9, 1864. Sedgwick county was attached to 
Butler county for judicial and other purposes by an act of the 
legislature of 1868. It was organized into a township for elec- 
tion purposes early the same summer. D. S. Munger was ap- 
pointed the first justice of the peace. 

In November of 1868 the first election was held and at that 
time there were only thirty-five voters in the county. The election 
was held principally for school purposes with the result that M. 



494 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

A. Sales was elected trustee, H. W. Vigus, clerk , and S. B. Floyd, 
treasurer. Mrs. Sales, mother of M. A. Sales, was elected county- 
superintendent of public instruction. 

The organization of the county was attempted in October of 
1869. A convention was called, tickets prepared and the elec- 
tion held. A part of the history of this election has been lost. 
Col. D. M. V. Stuart, of Park City, was elected to the legislature ; 
Minnard Hall, sheriff; H. W. Vigus and T. E. Dunlap, two of the 
commissioners. Owing to the informalities and irregularities of 
the election the governor sent word to the county that the elec- 
tion would not hold good and as a consequence it was declared 
void. 

A census of the new municipality was taken and the result 
forwarded to the governor at Topeka. It was then discovered 
that the county had the required population and in the winter of 
1869-70 the governor appointed S. C. Johnson, William Lockard 
and Henry Stein commissioners with the power to complete the 
organization of the county. They appointed John Ward county 
clerk and divided the county into three districts. In April, 1870, 
they called an election for the purpose of electing the county 
officers and to choose a permanent location for the county seat. 
Wichita at that time had been temporarily chosen. The election 
and. canvass of the votes was the most exciting ever held in 
Sedgwick county, the fight being principally between Wichita 
and Park City for the location of the county seat, Wichita win- 
ning over Park City. 

During the following year, 1871, pursuant to a call for an 
election a convention was held in the county, regardless of party 
politics, and a ticket chosen and placed in the field. Several 
candidates came out for election independently and the follow- 
ing officers were elected : 

N. A. English, T. S. Floyd and Alex Williams, county com- 
missioners; J. M. Steele, county clerk; T. J. Fulton, county 
attorney; L. F. Buttles, register of deeds; D. A. Bright, clerk 
of the district court ; Reuben Riggs, probate judge ; W. N. Walker, 
sheriff; S. C. Johnson, treasurer; John P. Hilton, superintendent 
of public instruction; William Finn, surveyor and E. B. Allen, 
coroner. At this election there was a total of 260 votes cast 
which shows that the county had started to boom even in one 
year. The commissioners then appointed J. M. Steele and H. E. 
Vantrees justices of the peace. 



SEDGWICK COUNTY 495 

The first term of the district court was held in the upper 
story of a livery barn in "Wichita. Hon. W. R. Brown was the 
presiding judge. The resident members of the bar at that time 
and the only attorneys in Wichita were H. C. Sluss, Reuben 
Riggs and P. T. Weeks. The only attorney in the county out- 
side of the city of Wichita was W. P. Campbell, who until a 
short time ago was judge pro tern of the city court. 

The building first used for a court house in Sedgwick county 
was a structure which must have been built after Solomon's own 
heart. The plans were devised by the same architect that drew 
the plans for the old Buckhorn hotel. The vestibule of the 
building was occupied by a harness and saddlery manufactory, 
operated by Jack Payton. The rotunda of the building was oc- 
cupied by Dutch Tobe, who had a boot and shoe shop. The ante 
chamber joining the rotunda was occupied by the probate court. 
The county attorney also had an informal office there, keeping 
his library in the office of the probate judge. The east wing of 
the building was used for the offices of the several county officers. 
It also contained the vaults where were kept the records of the 
county. In this part of the building was a club room equipped 
with a cook stove and a frying pan. Lawyers, real estate men, 
surveyors and notaries public of the city all had their offices in 
this building, whose walls are now laid waste by the hands of 
time. 

The first meeting of the county commissioners was held April 
27, 1870. The following is the copy of the proceedings of that 
meeting: 

"Pursuant to a special call, S. S. Floyd, N. A. English and 
Alex Williams, at the office of the county clerk at Wichita, Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, after being duly sworn and qualified accord- 
ing to law organized by electing N. A. English chairman. 

"The board approved the bonds of J. M. Steele, county clerk, 
and F. S. Floyd, justice of the peace, also the bond of M. B. Kel- 
logg, for assessor. 

"A petition was presented by F. S. Floyd, of Wauculla town- 
ship, asking for a night herd law and signed by a majority of 
the citizens of said township; ordered that notice immediately 
be issued that all stock be confined at night time after thirty 
days notice hereof. Also a petition of the citizens of Wichita 
township having a majority of the electors there asking for the 



496 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

confinement of stock during the night time. Ordered that after 
thirty days notice hereof all stock should be confined during the 
night time within the limits of said township. Notice issued this 
date. 

"On motion it was ordered that the chairman be authorized 
to furnish at the cost of the county and on such credit as he may 
be able to get, all books, blanks, seals and the stationery to 
supply the different offices of the county. 

"Ordered that the judge of the ninth judicial district be 
requested to hold a term of court in this county in the month of 
August or at his convenience. 

"George E. Clark presented a petition asking for a license to 
sell liquors at retail. 

"Also a petition against granting license to retail dealers of 
Rquor; last petition overruled and it was ordered that George 
E. Clark be granted a license and be required to pay $500 there- 
for, and to give good and sufficient security to fill the require- 
ments of the law. 

"On motion the board adjourned. 

"(Signed.) J. M. Steele, Clerk. 

"This is to certify that notices of the order requiring stock 
to be confined during the night time were duly posted by me in 
three different places in the township of "Wichita, Kansas. 

"(Signed.) J. M. Steele, Clerk." 

The following paragraph appears in the minutes of the com- 
missioner's meeting held on October 3, 1870: 

"Ordered that the question of issuing $10,000 bonds be sub- 
mitted to the people of Sedgwick county at their next general 
election for the purpose of meeting the current expenses of the 
county, and that the county commissioners be authorized to nego- 
tiate said bonds for cash to the best advantage and that notice be 
given of the same according to law." 



THE TAX ROLLS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY FOR 1909. 

The following is the recapitulation of the tax roll situation 
for the year 1909, with the several funds and the amounts with 
which the county treasurer is charged: 

Total valuation, including railroads, $87,914,002. State tax, 



SEDGWICK COUNTY 497 

$109,892.22 ; county tax, $221,615 ; township tax, $41,314.10 ; city 
tax, $478,783.42 j school tax, $302,991.19. Under the general fund 
of county tax, the six subdivisions are as follows : County gen- 
eral fund, $108,948.41; county interest, $8,786.14; sinking fund, 
$57,988.66; bridge fund, $30,751.55; Douglas avenue bridge, $4,- 
393.02 ; high school, $10,807.22 ; total, $221,675. 

The specialties are as follow: Surveyors' fees, $140.05; side- 
walks, $7,075.92; sewer, $13,566.82; curbing and guttering, $1,- 
270.05 ; paving, $68,599.02 ; drainage canal, $7,904.38 ; street open- 
ing, $8,640.71; Riverside ditch, $817.83. Total, cities in the 
county, with railroads : Goddard, $619.34 ; Garden Plain, $771.88 ; 
Mt. Hope, $1,596.88 ; Cheney, $2,456.49 ; Clearwater, $1,415.43 ; 
Mulvane, $770.46; Derby, $613.07; Andale, $739.29; Colwich, 
$506.40 ; Valley Center, $373.75 ; Wichita City, $469,020.43. 



TAXABLE PROPERTY SHOWS LARGE INCREASE. 

The final reports of the office of county assessor for 1910 show 
that the total taxable property of Sedgwick county, both real 
and personal, in both the city and the country districts, has in- 
creased the past year a total of nearly $12,000,000 or about 14 
per cent. Following is the comparative statement for the two 
years just past : Total real estate valuation in the city of Wich- 
ita for 1910, $48,310,060 ; for the year 1909, $30,801,545. Increase 
over last year, $17,508,515. Total personal property valuation 
inside city of Wichita, $12,717,600; for the previous year, $10.- 
846,740. Increase, $1,870,860. Total taxable property in Wichita. 
$61,027,660; for previous year, $44,476,739. Increase, $16,550,921. 
Real estate valuation of country districts outside Wichita, $31,- 
883,036; for previous year, $27,067,389. Increase, $4,815,647. 
Personal property outside of Wichita, $6,700,955 : for previous 
year, $6,100,000. Increase, $600,950. Grand total of all taxable 
property in whole county, both city and country districts, $99,- 
611,655; for the year 1909, $87,697,04. Increase,' $11,914,451. It 
was the prediction of Maj. Geo. W. Bristow, county assessor, that 
the county would show a grand total of close to $100,000,000, and 
his very accurate guess was within less than $400,000 of it. It 
is a creditable showing of increase in every item, both city and 
county, and the steady growth of the values of the rich county 
of Sedgwick. 



498 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

THE INVESTMENT OF SEDGWICK COUNTY CAPITAL. 

By 
THE EDITOR. 

During the past five years many hundreds of thousands of 
dollars have gone out of Sedgwick county into various foreign 
enterprises which promised large returns. The first craze was 
the oil business and the people fell over each other in their efforts 
to invest in the Eastern Kansas oil fields. The Wichita bankers 
said that the money would never came back ; the people said that 
the bankers were anxious to keep the money in the banks. This 
was so to a certain extent, but the bankers were right ; the oil 
money never came back. This fund was like Jeffries in the big 
fight; it could not come back. The Standard was the customer 
and it controlled the market and later on controlled the field. 
Farmers, merchants, judges and conservative business men all 
took a shot at the oil business and their money is like the flag, 
"still there." Later on came other enterprises of most attractive 
form and men and the money flowed out again. Conservative 
monied men said: "Keep your money at home," but they said 
in vain. They were at once dubbed as old fogies and knockers, 
and no attention was paid to their plaints. Time will tell the 
story, as the finger of time points the moral. The fact remains 
that the same amount of capital and the same energy and the 
same care will yield larger returns, at home. 

THE POPULATION OF A GREAT COUNTY. 

Wichita's population, inside the corporate limits, is 54,131, 
according to the official returns of the deputy county assessors. 
It is probable that there are from 2,000 to 3,000 just outside the 
city limits, who practically live in the city, enjoy the same privi- 
leges and really belong to its population, who are not included 
in this enumeration because the corporation lines are run so as 
to shut them out. That is the opinion of County Assessor Bristow. 
Sedgwick county's total population, according to the same 
authority is 73,779. These figures are low, rather than high, for 
. the deputy county assessors, while they make an earnest effort 
to enumerate every one in their respective sections, have little 
time to return to houses where they have found no one at home 




''/-^7~~ A/*'"" 7 *^ 



? 



SEDGWICK COUNTY 499 

or where they may have gotten an incomplete enumeration. The 
enumeration in 1909 showed "Wichita's population to be 52,000. 
That the city has grown more than 2,000 during the past year 
there is little doubt, and that the assessors may have missed a 
thousand or more is altogether probable and reflects no discredit 
upon them. 

Clearwater is the largest town in the county outside of Wich- 
iet, with a population of 560. The complete figures for the vari- 
ous townships are as follows : Afton, 370 ; Attica and Goddard 
City, 694; Delano, 840; Eagle, 668; Erie, 294; Garden Plain and 
Graden Plain city, 795 ; Grand River, 352 ; Grant, 660 ; Greeley 
and Mt. Hope city, 1,584; Gypsum, 848; Illinois, 431; Kechi, 894; 
Lincoln,- 605 ; Mineha, 513 ; Morton and Cheny city, 1,109 ; Nin- 
nescah and Clearwater city, 957 ; Ohio, 462 ; Park, 759 ; Payne, 
465; Rockford and Derby city and part of Mulvane city, 847; 
Salem, 653; Sherman and Andale city, 933; Union and Colwich 
city, 704 ; Viola, 459 ; Valley Center and Valley Center city, 976 ; 
Waco, 1,140; Wichita, 636. 

ROSTER OF COUNTY OFFICERS, SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

Clerk — J. L. Leland. 

Auditor — J. M. Naylor. 

Treasurer — J. W. Jones. 

Sheriff— Richard Cogdell. 

Probate Judge— O. D. Kirk. 

Register of Deeds — Joseph Bowman. 

Supt. of Schools — J. W. Swaney. 

Surveyor. — R. H. Brown. 

Physician— W. I. Mitchell. 

Clerk of District Court— R. L. Taylor. 

Attorney — W. A. Ayers. 

Coroner— M. M. McCollister. 

Poor Commissioner — A. G. Forney. 

Road Engineer — C. A. Messer. 

Assessor — G. W. Bristow. 

County Commissioners. 

Meets every Monday and Saturday of each week. 
Chairman — Charles V. Bradberry. 
Members — S. B. Kernan, Garrison Scott. 



500 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Board of Equalization. 

Meets the first Monday in June. 
Chairman — C. V. Bradberry. 
Members— Garrison Scott, S. B. Kernan. 

COURTS. 

District Court. 

Meets second Monday in January, first Monday in April and 
October. 

Judge — Thomas C. Wilson. 
Clerk— R. L. Taylor. 

Attorney — W. A. Ayers. 
Sheriff— Richard Cogdell. 

PROBATE COURT. 

Terms begin on first Monday of each month. 
Judge— 0. D. Kirk. 
Deputy — D. A. McCandless. 

Juvenile Court. 

Judge— 0. D. Kirk. 

Probation Officer — A. E. Jacques. 

City Court. 

Court House — Sessions daily except Sunday. 
% Judge — J. L. Dyer. 
Clerk— S. L. Barrett. 
Marshall— C. W. Root. 

SEDGWICK COUNTY. 
By 

ORSEMUS H. BENTLEY AND JOHN FERRITER. 

A history of Kansas, or of Southern Kansas, would be incom- 
plete without a history of the great county of Sedgwick, which in- 
cludes the splendid city of Wichita. Sedgwick county, the greatest 
county in the Southwest, and Wichita its growing, thriving, 



SEDGWICK COUNTY 501 

pulsing- metropolis. The early fathers saw the blue stem grass 
sweep their saddle horns as they explored the rolling prairie 
which now makes up the happy homes, the schools and churches, 
the busy marts of trade, the cultivated and prosperous farms, 
the thriving towns, the fearless press, and the magnificent build- 
ings of Sedgwick county and its shire town of Wichita. 

Sedgwick county was organized in 1870. It has an area of 
1,008 square miles, a population at this time of nearly 80,000 
people, it ranks second in population among the counties of the 
state, and second in wealth. It has about 260 miles of railway; 
Wichita its county seat town, ranks second in population and 
wealth in the state of Kansas. The agricultural possibilities of 
Sedgwick county are practically unlimited, and the future of 
Wichita as a sane and safe town are assured. 

Twenty-eight congressional townships make up Sedgwick 
county, and it can be truthfully said that no man ever lived in 
Sedgwick county and went away but was anxious to return. 
Other skies are just as fair, other fruits are just as sweet, but 
here there is an indefinable something that woos the wanderer 
to return. 

"A wildered and unearthly flame, 

A something, that's without a name." 

In the early 80 's Sedgwick county began to grow; in the early 
70 's it was the favorite feeding ground of the buffalo. Here 
at the confluence of the two rivers was the favorite council 
ground of the Osages, and here was Sheridan and Custer, and 
William Griff enstein known to the Indians as "Dutch Bill," after- 
wards the mayor of Wichita, and Bill Mathewson, the real Buff- 
alo Bill of the plains and Jim Mead, author, scout, Indian trader 
and hunter. Jim Steele, the pioneer real estate man, Dave Payne 
the noted pioneer and Oklahoma boomer, and many others whose 
names will live long in song and story. Among others who in 
an early day made Wichita their headquarters was Maj. Leon 
Lewis, of the regular army, afterwards the noted story writer 
upon the New York "Ledger." 

All these things, the location, the early associations, the camp, 
the tepee, and the abundance of game, combined to make Sedg- 
wick county and Wichita historic ground. The early fathers 
found the spot at the confluence of the two rivers, where the In- 
dian warrior wooed his dusky mate, and here in the fringe of 



502 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

timber growing along the Big and Little Arkansas rivers they 
laid the foundation of a great city. Today many of the ancient 
cottonwoods, elms, box-elder, and sycamore have given place 
to symmetrical shade trees of a later growth, and a survey of 
Wichita from Fairmount or College Hill, or from the top of 
The "Beacon" building, presents the appearance of a splendid 
forest. In the lap of this forest reposes the city of Wichita 
with its homes, its culture and refinement and all that goes to 
make life worth the living in the interior West. 

"Round about it orchards sweep, apple and peach tree fruited 
deep; 

Fair as the garden of the Lord." 

In the last three decades, Sedgwick county has made a won- 
drous growth. It has made its place in the history of the state 
and nation. Its clergy have always been able and respected, its 
bench and bar have been models of candor and integrity. Some 
of the most eminent lawyers of the state have adorned its bench 
and graced its forum. Men eminent and even pre-eminent in their 
chosen walks of life, have sprung from this county. Statesmen, 
judges, governors, doctors, lawyers, merchants of great push 
and energy, business men of tried ability, promoters of great en- 
terprises, Indian fighters and renowned scouts, philanthropists, 
publicists, authors, and editors, are now numbered among the 
honored citizens of Sedgwick county. 

It is an old and trite saying that "Man made the town and 
God made the country." Of a truth the men of Wichita have 
made the town, and the careful, painstaking, and intelligent 
farmers of Sedgwick county, under a kind Providence, have 
made a portion of the great American desert, to blossom like the 
rose. 

In an early day came the railroads, those great harbingers of 
civilization, following close upon the heels of the receding buff- 
alo, and then came the evolution which has made of Sedgwick 
county the very highest type of civilization. No county in the 
great state of Kansas has finer railway facilities, and the growth 
of Wichita will place a market at her very door. As time goes 
by diversified farming is becoming the rule. The time was 
when the farmers of Sedgwick county, all produced one crop, 
and if the crop failed a shortage followed. Later on they began 
to raise two crops, both wheat and corn, wheat being the earliest 
crop. As farming become more reduced to an applied science, 



SEDGWICK COUNTY 



503 



more diversified farming was done and this is the safety and 
science of farming in Sedgwick county. 

The following figures will show the remarkable growth, and 
standing of the great county of Sedgwick. Population of Sedg- 
wick county in 1900 was 42,717 and in 1910 is 73,338. In 1900 
there was growing in the county 451 acres of alfalfa, at this time 
there is approximately 30,000 acres growing. In 1909 the value 
of farms in Sedgwick county including improvements was $30,- 
624,925 and in 1910 the valuation is $31,816,505, with improve- 
ments of $2,749,480. 

TOTAL PROPERTY VALUES. 



Cultivated Lands 

1900 422,059 

1901 422,059 

1902 432,496 

1903 432,496 

1904 444,956 

1905 444,956 

1906 456,796 

1907 456,771 

1908 457,735 

1909 457,736 

1910 451,793 



Uncultivated 


Personal 




Lands 


Property 


Total Value 


197,809 


$ 1,284,690 


$ 10,114,447 


197,809 


1,433,859 


10,337,996 


182,288 


1,606,010 


11,040,780 


182,288 


1,844,651 


11,601,483 


175,751 


2,419,675 


13,037,867 


175,751 


2,120,725 


13,005,967 


163,423 


2,530,870 


14,077,497 


163,398 


2,481,863 


14,526,224 


161,788 


16,654,720 


85,688,297 


161,787 


16,947,835 


87,697,204 


163,461 


19,418,555 


108,150,775 



Cultivated acres in 1910 in Sedgwick county : Corn, 167,432 ; 
wheat, 110,973 ; oats, 62,311 ; rye, 726 ; barley, 112 ; Irish potatoes, 
1,816 ; sweet potatoes, 1,126 ; sugar beets, 44 ; alfalfa, 29,089 ; blue 
grass, 1,169. Value of milk products, $93,719 ; $53,031 not sold 
factories. Honey, 6,130 pounds. 

Value of animals slaughtered and sold for slaughter, $1,539,012. 

Live Stock on Hand. Horses, 20,839 ; mules, 3,604 ; milch cows, 
12,220; cattle, 22,493; sheep, 3,242; hogs, 39,885. All of these 
great products go to swell the trade and prosperity of Wichita, 
the metropolis of a great country. 

Within a radius of one hundred miles of the city there is 
already being produced annually 50,000,000 bushels of wheat, 
twice that many bushels of corn, and other cereals in proportion, 



504 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

together with a live stock production not exceeded in any section 
of the country of the same area. 

In addition to Wichita and her magnificent farms embowered 
in stately groves, and embellished with commodious farm homes 
and ample barns, the county is dotted over with growing ancr 
thrifty towns. The railways radiating out of Wichita like the 
spokes of a gigantic wheel, supply convenient railway facilities 
for all these towns. Among them we find Mulvane, Maize, David- 
son, Bayneville, Colwich, Oatsville, Mt. Hope, Cheney, Garden 
Plain, Peck, Furley, Wichita Heights, Jamesburg, Derby, Valley 
Center, Viola, Goddard, Schulte, St. Mark, Bentley, Andale, 
Amies, Clearwater, Greenwich, Waco and Kechi. As these towns 
grow so Wichita will grow, and thrive and wax more powerful. 

If the groves of Sedgwick county are a perpetual delight to 
its people, the streams of the county, never tire the beholder. The 
Big Arkansas river, rising in the eternal snows of the Rocky 
mountains and pursuing its course, through canon and plain for 
2,100 miles, flows in a southeasterly direction across Sedgwick 
county. At Wichita, it is joined by the Little Arkansas, a beau- 
tiful steam, well adapted to boating and fishing in its entire flow 
through the city limits. Within its curves are located a number 
of our most beautiful parks and resident sections. 

To the north and east Jester creek, the Wildcat, Chisholm 
creek and its branches, farther south the tributaries of Four 
Mile and Eight Mile creeks. West of the Big river the Cowskin 
whose valley is as fertile as the valley of the Nile, and farther 
west Clear creek and Spring creek, and still farther westward 
the two Ninnescahs, whose waters mingle, on section 36 in Mor- 
ton township. The Ninnescah is a famous stock stream; its 
waters, flowing over a bed of white sand, are as pure as the 
distillations of the dew. If anyone doubts that Sedgwick county 
is a fruit country, let him make inquiry at the Hoover or Thomas 
orchards, or of Frank Yaw and others of the well known and 
experienced horticulturists of Sedgwick county. 

In addition to all this Wichita and Sedgwick county are abso- 
lutely safe places for permanent investment of capital. This is 
evidenced by the confidence of the great life insurance and 
investment companies that are placing their money in Wichita 
and Sedgwick county. And so to summarize the situation, the 
man who owns a farm in Sedgwick county is a lucky man, the 



SEDGWICK COUNTY 505 

man who owns a home in Wichita is a happy man. Their lines 
are cast in pleasant places. 



LAST INDIAN SCARE IN SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

By 

S. M. TUCKER. 

I think a short account of the last great Indian scare in 
Sedgwick county and other portions of southwestern Kansas, and 
the last organized military company that left "Wichita to look for 
Indians, might be of interest to some of the later settlers. Some 
time about the last of June or the first of July, 1874, the people 
in the western part of this county, Sumner, Kingman and Har- 
vey counties became frightened by a report that a large body 
of Indians was approaching from the south and west. The scare 
appeared to be general all over the country. The people stam- 
peded and rushed to the towns. They kept coming into Wichita 
all night, and by morning there were more than a thousand 
people from the country west in town and camped along the 
river. They were so badly frightened that some of them said 
they could hear the Indians yelling behind them. 

On the morning after the stampede T. McMillan and I started 
out west to see what occasioned the scare. We went west 
through Kingman county. We found the homes deserted and 
stock staked out where they could get no water and little feed. 
We turned them loose wherever we found them. As we got out 
to the Ninnescah we saw a man running from the north. When 
he got to us we found him to be a little Irishman. He wanted to 
know what became of the people. We told him they were scared 
away by Indians. He was about as badly scared as I ever saw. 
He lived off the road and had not known of the stampede until 
we told him. He then said: "They knew I was a good loyal 
man, and they went off and left me here all alone." He then 
started in the direction of Wichita as fast as his legs could carry 
him. We stopped at cattle camps while out, and were out three 
or four days, returning by way of Harper county. When we 
got back the scare was pretty well over and the people had 
returned to their homes. 

Shortly after this it was reported that the Commanches and 
Apaches were about to make a raid upon southern Kansas. On 



506 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the morning of July 10, 1874, at 10 o'clock, I received a telegram 
from Gov. Thomas A. Osborn, instructing me to raise a company 
of fifty men for service against the Indians, and that the adju- 
tant general would be here on the 4 o'clock train with arms, 
ammunition and equipment. 

At 4 o 'clock I met Adjutant General Morris at the train, took 
him to the old Eagle Hall, where I had my men ready. "We were 
mustered into the service of the state. I received my commission 
as captain. The company elected Cash Henderson first lieuten- 
ant and Mike Meagher second lieutenant. We were armed with 
Sharp's carbines. I camped that night on the Cowskin, about 
seven miles southwest of town, with thirty-five of my men. The 
rest joined me in the morning. We then proceeded as fast as 
we could to Caldwell, on the border. At Caldwell we met a bat- 
talion of the Fourth United States Cavalry under command of 
Major Upham. We took from here a four-mule team hauling our 
supplies. When we arrived at Caldwell I reported to Major 
Upham for service. He had with him about 200 men, who 
together with my company made quite an army. We left our 
wagon at Caldwell and packed our supplies upon the mules and 
proceeded south into the Indian country. We went as far south 
as the Salt Fork and Pond creek, and scouted the surrounding 
country thoroughly, but found no Indians except eight Osages, 
who were hunting buffalo in that neighborhood. They were 
friendly and we gave them some sugar and coffee and they went 
on their way. 

W. H. Rossington, who was then a correspondent for one of 
the Topeka papers, came down with the adjutant general, and 
went with him in a carriage to Caldwell, and then with us south. 
He rode a horse belonging to one of the troopers, who was sick 
and left in camp. He was not used to horseback riding or 
exposure to sunshine. When we got back to Caldwell I think 
he was the worst sunburned and generally used up newspaper 
correspondent I ever saw. Some of my men were but little better 
off than he was. He left us there and returned home. When 
we got back to Caldwell I found an order from the governor to 
proceed with my company along the border to Arkansas City. 
We proceeded along the border and found some of the people 
at home, but badly scared. Many of them had left and gone 
farther north from the border. We assured the people that there 



SEDGWICK COUNTY 507 

was no danger; that the Indians had gone south and would not 
return. We camped at Arkansas City two or three days and then 
returned to Wichita. We arrived here on the evening of July 21, 
and on the next day the company was disbanded. I had as fine 
a body of men as I ever wish to command. But where are they 
now? I can think of but three of us now living in or near 
Wichita, but I shall always remember them as good and true 
soldiers. This was the last Indian scare that we ever had in 
this part of the country. 



THE KINGMAN TRAIL. 

By 

THE EDITOR. 

From Wichita to Kingman is a good forty-five miles of pleas- 
ant road. This trail was there long before the railroad was 
built from Wichita to Kingman, and from Kingman to Pratt and 
beyond as the Kingman, Pratt & Western Railway. There was 
a time when the Kingman road and all of the country contiguous 
thereto, west of the Arkansas river, was the feeding ground of 
countless buffalo. At one time it was thought by the early 
settlers that all of that vast stretch of country in Sedgwick 
county and westward to Kingman and Pratt and into what is 
now known as the short grass country, was adapted only to the 
ranging of cattle. This region was the favorite hunting ground 
of Hank Heiserman, Dr. G. W. C. Jones, William Mathewson, 
J. R. Mead and many others. From Kingman the trail diverged 
southwest to Bross and Medicine Lodge. Later on the city of 
Kingman was established. Later on Judge Samuel R. Peters, 
then judge of the Ninth judicial district, held court in Kingman. 
To this court aeross the prairie went the lawyers of Wichita, 
usually by team, sometimes on horseback, and it was a weary 
and dusty ride. The country was even then, in the early '80s, 
developing fast. Settlers were coming in, the land office was 
at Wichita, and this was the Mecca of the settler; and coming in 
to make their final proof before the receiver, James L. Dyer 
and Dick Walker, the register, they lined the Kingman road, 
and the prairie schooner and its inmates along the Kingman 
road was a familiar sight. Soon the railroad was built and King- 



508 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

man was only an hour away. Since the early '80s the whole face 
of the country has changed. Trees have grown. "Where before 
there was only a stretch of prairie, prosperous farms are now 
the rule. Goddard, Garden Plain, Cheney and New Murdock 
are prosperous towns and marts of trade along the highway 
where speeds the iron horse, and upon the roadway proper, where 
once the jaded livery team held sway the speedy automobile now 
takes the road, with Kingman a very close neighbor of Wichita. 



CHAPTER XXXIX. 
BENCH AND BAR. 

By 
0. H. BENTLEY. 

THE SEDGWICK COUNTY BAR IN THE EARLY '80S. 

The lawyers of Sedgwick county had not risen to the dignity 
of a bar in 1880, nor had they ever contemplated a bar asso- 
ciation in those days ; still at the same time the bar was unusually 
strong. Sedgwick was a leading county, the seat of the United 
States Land Office, and the seat of justice of the Eighteenth 
judicial district. Among the lawyers practicing at the Wichita 
bar in 1880 can be recalled T. B. Wall, W. E. Stanley, Henry 
C. Sluss, Charles Hatton, Edwin Hill, Moses S. Adams, Amos 
Harris, Kos Harris, David M. Dale, 0. H. Bentley, S. M. Tucker, 
Judge B. H. Fisher, W. F. Walker, J. F. Lauck, 0. D. Kirk, John 
Clark, W. W. Thomas and H. Clay Higinbottom. There were 
several others who were admitted to the bar but not then in 
active practice. W. P. Campbell was judge of the district and 
at first lived in Eldorado, afterwards moving to Wichita; E. B. 
Jewett was the probate judge and H. R. Watt was sheriff of 
the county; D. A. Mitchell and W. F. Hobbs were the justices of 
the peace. The practice was not confined to the county, as the 
leading lawyers of that day had cases in all of the adjoining 
counties. Judge Campbell was succeeded by E. S. Torrance, of 
Winfield, and he served in this capacity until the creation of a 
new district, which left him and his county outside of the dis- 
trict. Amos Harris was appointed as judge of this district and 
gave excellent satisfaction. He was succeeded by Henry C. 
Sluss, who after serving a portion of his term was succeeded by 
T. B. Wall. Judge Wall was succeeded by C. Reed, who came 
here from Marion county. Judge David M. Dale next took the 
bench and was in, turn succeeded by Judge Thomas C. Wilson, 
the present incumbent of the bench. The Sedgwick county bar 

509 



510 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

has been peculiarly fortunate in the courts who have presided 
over this judicial district. The administration of justice in this 
district has been characterized by integrity, fairness and ability, 
and since the early eighties there has been an entire change in 
the bar of Sedgwick county. At this writing there is a larger 
bar, but no better. 

AN EARLY INCIDENT OF THE BENCH OF SEDGWICK 
COUNTY. 

I first came to Sedgwick county on a visit in March, 1880. 
Having studied law in Buffalo and in the state of Ohio, I was 
naturally a young man deeply impressed with the dignity of 
the various courts. T looked upon them as the personification 
of dignity and positively infallible. Imagine my surprise on my 
arrival in Wichita upon making inquiry as to the courts to find 
the judge of the district court cast for a leading part in the 
"Union Spy," then upon the boards at the Turners' Opera 
House in Wichita. Struck with horror as I fully realized this 
drop in judicial dignity, I attended the show and saw Judge 
Campbell in the leading role; Judge Campbell, who was after- 
wards known in this community as Tiger Bill, was the presiding 
judge of the Thirteenth judicial district of Kansas. I will say 
for him that he played the part well, and assisted by an array of 
local talent consisting of John Fisher, Jesse Ask, Mrs. Kramer, 
Judge Walker and Colonel Woodcock, also others whose names 
I do not now recall, the "Union Spy" was a great success. Soon 
after this, this play was exploited upon the Kerocene circuit 
and was played in Newton, Emporia and in many of the sur- 
rounding towns. The local courts at that time consisted of Jus- 
tice Mitchell and Justice Hobbs, and they tried many lawsuits 
and settled many abstruse law questions. Upon my return to 
Ohio I told to my legal friends and to some of the judges about 
this play of the "Union Spy" and that the judge of the court 
was cast for the leading part, and it took me a long time to 
recover from the reputation I then established as a most cheerful 
liar. 

THE DISTRICT JUDGES OF SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

The district court is an important tribunal in Kansas and has 
almost unlimited power. It is the nisi prius court of the state, 



BENCH AND BAE 511 

the great jury tribunal, having an equity side, and its incum- 
bent is a chancellor as well as a presiding judge. Here are 
threshed out a great diversity of interests, and its scope reaches 
from the cradle to the grave. In its district judges Sedgwick 
county has always been most fortunate. Its judges have alaways 
been good lawyers and men eminent in the profession. First 
came Judge "W. R. Brown, afterwards a member of congress and 
now the past grand master of Masons in Oklahoma, a wise and 
careful man, who presided over the first courts of Sedgwick 
county in the old Ninth judicial district. Next came a new 
district, known then as the Thirteenth judicial district, and its 
first judge was "W. P. Campbell, then of Butler county, who 
soon afterwards moved to Wichita. This city was his home 
during his incumbency of the bench and after he entered upon 
the practice. Later on he moved to Missouri, but has recently 
returned to Wichita and is now in the practice. Judge Camp- 
bell was peculiarly fitted to deal with the times and the elements 
he then encountered, and his incumbency was popular and he 
has always stood in the front rank of the lawyers in this state. 
After Judge Campbell came Judge E. S. Torrence, of Cowley 
county, who remained as judge of Sedgwick county until the 
legislature changed the district. Then came Judge Amos Harris, 
the father of our esteemed fellow citizen and eminent lawyer, 
Kos Harris. Judge Harris was a lawyer of the old school, kind- 
hearted to a fault, and a lawyer of wide and varied experience. 
Judge Harris served about one year and he was succeeded by 
Henry C. Sluss, one of the veteran lawyers of the Wichita bar. 
Judge Sluss was never at home upon the district bench and so 
declared to his fellow lawyers. Judge Sluss was afterwards 
appointed to the bench of Spanish land claims, which court set- 
tled a vast amount of title litigation in the western territories. 
The headquarters of this court was at Santa Fe, N. M. As a 
member of this court Judge Sluss served with great distinction 
and when the court expired by limitation of law, returned to the 
practice in Wichita, where he still holds an enviable position as 
a lawyer and jurist. When Judge Sluss resigned, Thomas B. 
Wall was appointed judge and was a great favorite with the 
bench and bar. Judge Wall was among the younger members 
of the bar, but was a lawyer of fine culture and considerable 
experience. His incumbency was marked by a busy epoch among 
the profession, and his administration gave great satisfaction to 



512 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the bar and litigants. Then came his former law partner, Judge 
David M. Dale. Dale was a model judge and his decisions were 
characterized by the utmost fairness and the application of a 
large amount of practical common sense. Judge Dale upon his 
retirement from the bench re-entered the practice in Wichita. 
Just prior to Judge Dale, C. Reed was the judge of the district 
which then as now was composed of Sedgwick county. Judge 
Reed was the court during some of the most trying times in 
Sedgwick county. He was kind-hearted, though thoroughly an 
impractical man, entirely unfitted to cope with the stress and 
strenuous times surrounding him. Upon his retirement he 
removed to Kansas City, then to St. Louis, finally drifting west- 
ward to Salt Lake City, where he died a few years ago. His last 
years were said to be embittered by poverty and disappoint- 
ments in his profession and otherwise. 

After Judge Dale came Judge Thomas C. Wilson, the present 
incumbent. Judge Wilson came to the bench after a wide experi- 
ence at the bar and in the office of city attorney, and also after 
considerable service as probate judge of Sedgwick county. No 
district judge since the formation of the county has given better 
satisfaction to the bar, litigants and people than Judge Wilson. 
To his experience as a lawyer he adds a fine line of legal scholar- 
ship and a desire to be absolutely fair and just under all cir- 
cumstances. His uniform courtesy and kindness to the members 
of the bar, to litigants, jurors and all who have business in his 
court have made the present incumbent a most popular judge. 
He never forgets that he was at one time a lawyer, and he is 
especially painstaking to accommodate the members of the bar. 

His administration of this now difficult position has been 
marked by great fairness and striking ability. If he has any 
faults it is that he inclines to clemency, and if he errs it is 
always on the side of mercy. 



SESSIONS OF THE U. S. COURT ARE CONVENED IN 
WICHITA. 

The entire third floor of the massive federal building in 
Wichita is equipped for the use of the United States district 
court and the United States circuit court. The large room where 
the sessions of the courts are held is one of the finest of its 
kind in the state of Kansas, and offices for the court officials are 



BENCH AND BAE 513 

provided on the same floor of the building. These federal courts 
are important institutions for this part of the state. The dis- 
trict in which Wichita is located includes the entire state of 
Kansas, but the docket presented to the court at its sittings 
here is made up of cases arising in the southern and western 
parts of Kansas, which are organized into what is termed the 
second division of the Kansas district. The federal courts for 
the other two Kansas divisions are held at Kansas City and Ft. 
Scott, but the second division is much the largest of the three. 
Both the district and circuit courts here are presided over 
by Judge John C. Pollock, who has acquired great prominence in 
the federal judiciary. The clerk of the district for the Kansas 
division is Morton Albaugh, and John F. Sharritt is clerk of the 
circuit court. The deputy clerk of both these courts for the 
second division is J. F. Shearman, who is in charge of the clerk's 
office in Wichita. W. H. Mackey, Jr., is marshal for both the 
United States courts in this district and his deputy for the 
second division is C. F. Biddle. The regular sessions of both the 
district and circuit courts in the Wichita division begin on the 
second Monday of March and September of each year. 



THE COURTS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS. 

District Court. 

Meets second Monday in January, first Monday in April and 
October. 

Judge — Thomas C. Wilson. 
Clerk— R. L. Taylor. 
Attorney — W. A. Ayres. 
Sheriff— Richard Cogdell. 

Probate Court. 

Terms begin on first Monday of each month. 
Judge— 0. D. Kirk. 
Deputy — D. A. McCanless. 

Juvenile Court. 

Judge— 0. D. Kirk. 

Probation Officer — A. E. Jacques. 



514 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

City Court. 

Court House — Sessions daily except Sunday. 
Judge — J. L. Dyer. 
Clerk— S. L. Barrett. 
Marshal— C. W. Root. 

United States District and Circuit Courts. 

Federal Building — Sessions for 1909, second Monday in March 
and September. 

Judge — J. C. Pollock, Topeka. 

Referee in Bankruptcy — C. V. Ferguson. 

Attorney — H. J. Bone, Topeka. 

Marshal — W. H. Mackey, Jr., Junction City. 

Deputy Marshal— C. F. Biddle, Wichita. 

Clerk District Court — Morton Albaugh, Topeka. 

Clerk Circuit Court— G. F. Sharritt, Topeka. 

Deputy Clerk and U. S. Commissioner — J. F. Shearman, 
Wichita. 

THE SEDGWICK COUNTY COURT HOUSE. 

No county in Kansas has a more imposing court house than 
Sedgwick county. It is located in a fine square bounded on the 
north by Elm street, on the south by Central avenue, on the 
east by Market street, and on the west by Main street. This is 
the old Court House square as originally laid out by the early 
fathers of the town. The court house with its furniture cost the 
sum of $220,000. Instead of paying for this court house in cash 
or by levying a tax and creating a sinking fund and then build- 
ing the court house, Wichita apparently could not wait, but 
rushed in and built this court house and issued bonds to pay 
for the same. At the end of twenty years, when the last of the 
court house debt was wiped out, it was discovered that the county 
had paid as much interest as the principal amounted to. This 
was figured out by some conservative men, good business men 
of Sedgwick county, who never were accused of running their 
own business in this way. It was also pointed out by these same 
business men that Harvey, Kingman, Butler, Reno and others 
of the surrounding counties built their court houses and paid for 
them and in no instance issued bonds to pay interest upon. 



BENCH AND BAE 515 

Thereupon the conservative business men aforesaid were denomi- 
nated as "knockers" and were at once silenced by the boomers, 
who said that Sedgwick county was not to be mentioned in the 
same day with the counties named. This may be so. However, 
Sedgwick county is justly proud of its court house, and while 
its district court room, on the south, and its court room on the 
north, now occupied by the city court, a court having the juris- 
diction of a justice of the peace, would make four court rooms 
each for the city of Chicago, we still shut our eyes and say that 
we are proud of the Sedgwick county court house. The first 
courts were held on Main street, in an old wooden building, 
later on in Eagle Hall, later in the Artificial Stone building on 
North Main street, then at the corner of Main and First streets, 
and now in the imposing court house of Sedgwick county. 



THE COURT HOUSE. 

By 
ROY BUCKINGHAM. 

The affairs of Sedgwick county, the most prosperous county 
in the state, are taken care of by three men, S. B. Kernan, C. V. 
Bradberry, chairman, and Garrison Scott. This board is known 
as the board of county commissioners and its office in the county 
court house is always a busy one. When one of the board was 
asked the duties of the board he smiled and said that it trans- 
acted the business of Sedgwick county from A to izzard. That 
fitly expresses the duties of these men. All road work, bridges, 
county bonding, tax levying, district lines, county charges and 
county buildings are under the supervision of these men. 

The oldest record of a meeting of the commission board of 
Sedgwick county is found in a large red book in the county 
clerk's office. The first entry deals with a meeting in 1870. The 
members of the board were N. A. English, T. S. Floyd and Alex 
McWilliams. The board met in the old county building at First 
and Main streets. 

If the present board would handle the same conditions that 
the first board did, the county would seem pretty funny. One 
of the entries of 1870 speaks of a petition of Sedgwick county 
farmers for the passing of a herd law. This was evidently before 



516 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the era of fences and the cattle were allowed to wander about 
at will. This was detrimental to growing crops, so that farmers 
asked that the herds be kept in one place. 

Another queer transaction was the apportioning of ferry boat 
rates. Shades of Charon — a ferry boat? Yes, Mr. Twentieth 
Century Reader, there was a ferry boat doing much traffic across 
the Arkansas river. But the river at that time was a very wide 
stream. The board decided that it was worth 20 cents to haul 
a man across and $5 to carry across a freighter's outfit. With 
these exorbitant ( ?) rates there were several fords doing duty. 

There wasn't any such a thing as a saloon in those days. In 
the good old New England style it was termed a dram shop, and 
it is recorded that a certain man was given a license to run one 
provided he planked down $500. Wow! 

The first jury was empanelled in 1871. Most of the names in 
the list have been forgotten or can be found graven in granite 
or marble in some city of the departed. The first board of com- 
missioners were great scribes, for almost the first appropriation 
made was $750 for books and stationery. The first county clerk 
was J. M. Steele. The second was Fred Sowers. 

The first tax levy was made in 1871. It was 2% per cent. 
J. L. Leland, present county clerk, said that he supposed it meant 
that every man had to pay 2% cents of every dollar he owned. 
This was necessary, for the valuation was almost nil. It seemed 
as though the railroad came in for special notice then, because 
there was a special assessor known as the railroad assessor. The 
commissioners evidently were afraid that the railroads would 
slip one over on them and they took unusual precaution. 

Prisoners broke leash the same then as Nestor does quite 
occasionally, although there is no record that three was one in 
durance vile who could hold a candlestick to this son of the wind. 
The only record there is of any prisoners giving the sleuths of 
the plains the slip is the sum of eight dollars which was paid to 
Mr. Harris for "catching prisoners," as the record has it. 

The first board didn't have anything to do with motor car 
roads, but it was kept busy opening freighter roads and keeping 
the farm lines straight. From the number of times surveying is 
mentioned, Sedgwick county must have been the paradise of 
civil engineers. 

The busiest place in the court house is the basement, where, 



BENCH AND BAB 517 

strange to say, the abstractors hold forth — but without any 
abstraction from business. 

These offices are going at full tilt all of the time. The copying 
bench in the register of deed's room is filled every day with 
abstractor's assistants making copies of deeds, mortgages, etc. 
The number of abstracts which are turned out every year by 
these offices indicate that there is nothing slow about the real 
estate business of Wichita. The five abstract firms in Wichita 
are said to be the busiest in the state. 

If you are looking for large figures it isn't necessary for you 
to go to the county treasurer's office. Stroll into the office and 
ask "Major" Bristow, county assessor, for the assessment rolls. 
He will hand out numerous bulky records that will teach you 
many interesting things about Sedgwick county. 

You will learn that the 1910 valuation of real estate in the 
county was $80,193,096. If you are a resident of Wichita you 
will be glad to know that city real estate valuations footed up 
to $48,310,060. It says also that there are 27,061 improved lots 
in Wichita. 

Statistics concerning that much abused animal of the field, 
the horse, are at hand in large numbers. The county contains, 
according to assessors, 21,128 horses, valued at $1,876,870. Now 
advocates of the passing of the horse sit up and take notice. 
There were 498 motor cars assessed in Sedgwick county and their 
value was placed at $342,050. 

Another interesting fact disclosed by the rolls was the num- 
ber of goats living in Wichita. There are eighteen of these 
head-strong animals in Wichita. In the county there are 275. 

The 1910 returns showed also that there are 2,809 pianos in 
Wichita, while the county total is 3,371. No wonder Wichita is a 
musical center. 

The wheat assessed by the men amounted to 192,039 bushels. 
The number of typewriters in Wichita is 683. 

The county assessor has a busy job, like all of the other 
county officers. Mr. Bristow said that it keeps him and his 
helpers on the jump to get the assessment report ready to send 
to the board between May 10, when the assessment is supposed 
to close, and June 7, when the state board meets. The county 
assessment was taken care of this year by twelve men. Part 
of this number was active assessors, while the others acted as 
members of board of review. 



518 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

The assessing was unusually difficult this year, as all the real 
estate in the county had to be taken care of. The real estate 
values are assessed every even year. 

The assessors have many trips to make and most of the travel- 
ing is done with horse and buggy. Two of this year's assessors 
were fortunate enough to possess motor cars. They were Erna 
Huff, of Salem township, and H. I. Smyser, of Delano. 

Douglas V. Donnelly, who runs the cigar and pop emporium 
in the court house, may appear, to the average observer, rather 
listless, but mention baseball and you will see a remarkable 
change. He is an old-time ball player and was a member of one 
of the first baseball teams ever organized in the United States. 
True to the thinkers of the old school of baseball, he thinks that 
the present game is about 100 per cent poorer than the game 
he used to play. He was in a talkative mood the other day and 
had the following to say about baseball : 

"In those days we had men that hit the ball. They didn't 
fan. And gloves to catch the ball — why, we didn't know what 
it was to wear one. Unless a fellow could show some knotty fingers 
which had been knocked out of shape by the ball he wasn't con- 
sidered any ball player. It was a gentleman's game then and 
you never heard improper language on the diamond. There were 
no salaries and the men played to win. Baseball was a real 
game in those days and umpires were treated like gentlemen. 
An umpire today has a mighty hard time to even keep the 
respect of his relatives. The baseball today is filled with too 
many gim cracks and more attention is paid to the check, by 
the players, that is issued at the end of each month than to the 
scores." 

If anyone thinks that the county clerk has a sinecure . let 
him step up some fall afternoon and see the work that is being 
done in this office. Besides the clerk, five other persons make 
their pens scratch and splutter every day. The treasury depart- 
ment keeps the clerk and force busy. 

Of course the clerk and his office make a specialty of keep- 
ing all of the records clear, of the moneys expended and of the 
real estate plats, etc. They do this well, for they certainly have 
practice in Sedgwick county which does enough business to keep 
forty clerks busy. 

But the hunters' license business. There's where the clerk 
and his retinue make a big hit. Ever since the state officials 



BENCH AND BAK 519 

said that every nimrod should pay the state officer $1 for the 
opportunity of spending his week's wages for shells and car- 
tridges, the county clerk has been the big gun around "these 
diggin's." 

This law went into effect five years ago. Since then 5,000 
licenses have been taken out — and yet the game hasn't disap- 
peared. The first license was issued July 1, 1905, and L. M. Cox, 
of Wichita, was the man to plank down his one dollar Willie. So 
far this year 276 have secured licenses and the big rush is yet to 
come. J. L. Leland, county clerk, says that 1907 the run on 
licenses was the greatest, more than 1,200 being given out. He 
expects the total this year to foot up close to that mark. 

Besides being a hive of business the clerk's rooms serve as 
a repository for the minutes of the former boards of commis- 
sioners and other ancient history. If you want to find who owns 
a certain piece of property you can do so by investigating through 
the canvas and board bound records which lie in state in the 
north end of the county clerk's office. 

It's a busy place and a pile of work is done. No information 
would be given out as to the gallons of ink and numbers of pens 
which had been used since the office has existed. 

I'd think that the treasurer's office would be a dry, uninter- 
esting, smelling of old books place, but it isn't. Not a bit of it. 
It is one of the most pleasing offices in the county building, for it 
is a cheerful place, because those piles and piles of books establish 
the truth of Sedgwick county being one of the richest and best 
counties in the state of Kansas. During tax paying time it is 
unsually busy and the dollars make merry music. 

The county treasurer and his assistants form an office per- 
sonnel that is never idle. If it isn't busy collecting taxes, the 
books require its attention. The members of this office are: 
O. W. Jones, treasurer; E. Webb, deputy treasurer; Carl E. 
Heller, assistant deputy, and Mary Z. Wallon, bookkeeper. 

The tax rolls in the treasurer's office go back to the year 1887. 
A complete account of all the taxes levied since that time are on 
hand in the treasurer's office and the county's progress can be 
better estimated by the increase of the levy than anything else. 

The amount of the 1909 tax collected amounts to $1,289,- 
193.77. About $30,000 is yet to be collected. Prior to 1907 the 
county held the redemption and assignment taxes in trust and 
prorated the interests accruing from these to the different funds 



520 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

of the county. In 1907 the board of county commissioners 
selected a new plan of taking care of the redemption and assign- 
ment taxes. Instead of holding the sales in trust for the county, 
the commissioners decided it would be better for the county to 
buy them up. This has been done since 1907 and is working out 
nicely. Besides doing away with extra work it is much more 
remunerative. This plan is followed in another county, Reno, 
and is working out as successfully there as it is in Sedgwick 
county. 

Out of the 185 "school marms" and "masters" in Sedgwick 
county, outside of "Wichita, how many do you suppose put a 
"Mr." before their names? Twenty-four. Sedgwick county, 
with a school population outside of Wichita of more than 6,000 
boys and girls, has so turned the business of educating its rising 
generation over to the women that two dozen stand round and 
look sheepish when school teacher is mentioned. 

J. W. Swaney is county superintendent and his efforts and 
labors are greater than those of a bachelor left at home with 
his sister's rising family. He has to keep in mind the ten thou- 
sand and one things which are continually going to happen in 
the schools of his county. He makes all sorts of trips and must 
examine carefully every school and see that the right course is 
being taught and that suitable progress is being made. 

In his office in the county court house there hangs a large wall 
map showing Sedgwick county and the number of schools in it. 
Call out a number on that map and he can tell you in a moment 
the name of its teacher. That's the sort of a man the school work 
of Sedgwick county takes. In itself it is so broad and compre- 
hensive that it requires a man of similar caliber to run it. 

All the school buildings in the county are up-to-date. The 
most common type is the one-room frame one-story building which 
you see whenever you go for a motor car ride or a trip on the 
railway. The towns outside of Wichita have nice school build- 
ings. Clearwater has just finished a $12,000 two-story brick 
structure. On August 30 Maize voted bonds to the value of 
$6,000 for the erection of a new school building. Sedgwick, Mt. 
Hope, Cheney, Peck, Goddard, Valley Center and Derby have 
handsome school buildings. 

The Barnes high school law, according to Mr. Swaney, is 
responsible to a large degree for the excellence of the schools. 
After a school has shown that it can maintain itself for one year 



BENCH AND BAK 521 

it becomes a high school under the Barnes law and is supported 
by state money. The schools working under this law and their 
principals and number of teachers are as follows: Clearwater, 
three teachers, Prof. B. M. Crum; Cheney, four teachers, Prof. 
Bailey ; Valley Center, three teachers, J. S. Carson ; Mount Hope, 
three teachers, W. L. Baker; Derby, two teachers, Kay Braden; 
Garden Plain, two teachers, Byron Wilson. The joint Barnes 
high schools are in Sedgwick City and Rose Hill. The above high 
schools have a complete four-year course and are fully accredited 
by the Kansas State University. Viola and Goddard have dem- 
onstrated that they can take care of two years of the high school 
so well that they are taking up the third year. Their principals 
are, respectively, Prof. Kaufman and C. M. Fifer. If it is a suc- 
cess the fourth year will be added in 1911. 

The length of the school terms vary from six months to nine. 
Complete courses are taught and the scholars are gradually be- 
coming higher grade and the scholarship is becoming much better. 
The school entrance age is placed at any place between five and 
twenty-one years, but a majority of the teachers say that seven 
years is the average entrance age. 

Every year the eighth grade graduate from the country 
schools who has the highest average is given free tuition to some 
educational institution in the county. This year it was given to 
Clyde Basore, of Bentley, who made an average of 96.9 per cent 
in the county examinations. He has selected Friends university 
as his alma mater. 

It takes a mint of money to run the schools of Sedgwick 
county, but so many wise people are being turned out through 
the educational mills situated in it that taxpayers think they 
are getting more than value received from the money invested in 
the proposition. 

The names of the school teachers in Sedgwick county, outside 
of Wichita, who claim to be the sons of Adam, are : R. M. Crum, 
Ray Braden, Thomas Kaufman, Ralph Stinson, J. S. Carson, W. 
L. Baker, C. M. Fifer, Byron Wilson, R. 0. Caldwell, Minor 
Hickman, James Guisendorf, A. B. Callaway, Charles Gibson, 
Fred Jacques, J. R. Fitzgerald, Prof. Morrison, Stanley Riggs, 
Delbert Means, R. E. Sechrist, C. V. Fellerrolf, Will Ransome, 
Girhard Harmes. 



CHAPTER XL. 
A DYING RIVER. 

By 

JAMES R. MEAD. 

The Arkansas is the largest river in the state of Kansas and 
was considered a navigable river to the mouth of the Little 
Arkansas by the United States Government. When the county 
was surveyed its banks were meandered, leaving a river bed of 
800 or 1,200 feet in width as the property of the general govern- 
ment, and to some extent the river was used in Kansas as a 
highway of travel and traffic until the coming of the white man, 
who robbed it of its water and exterminated the millions of 
bison and other forms of animal life which once grazed on the 
bordering luxuriant meadows and quenched their thirst in its 
rippling waters. The writer's observation of the rivers of Kan- 
sas only extends back to 1859. At that time, and until some years 
after the settlement of the country, the Arkansas was a river in 
fact as well as in name, usually flowing from bank to bank. 
From Mr. William Mathewson, a noted plainsman, I learn that 
as early as 1852 boats were built at Pueblo, Colo., in which 
mountain traders and trappers, sometimes in parties of fifteen or 
twenty in one boat, with their effects, floated down the swift 
current of the river to Arkansas, and from 1870 to 1880 boats 
were built at Wichita to descend the river, some propelled by 
steam. In one instance two young men built a boat at Wichita 
and navigated river and gulf to Florida. 

At that time the river had apparently pursued its accustomed 
way unchanged for centuries. It had well defined banks, with 
a width of 800 to 1,200 feet, the river very seldom overflowing 
the valleys, but a few feet higher than its level. From the 
state line up to the present county of Reno heavy timber fringed 
its banks. Occasionally the river was a dry bed of sand above 
the mouth of the overflowing Little Arkansas for a couple of 
months in the fall. The country adjacent to the Arkansas on 

522 



A DYING RIVEE 523 

either side for many miles is underlaid by a bed of sand in 
which the waters of the river disappear in a season of drouth, 
except in deep holes which were below the level of the under- 
flow. Fish gathered in these holes in great numbers, and herds 
of buffalo traveled up and down the sandy bed hunting for 
water. Suddenly the sandy bed would again become a river, the 
rushing water coming down with a front of foam two or three feet 
deep. The river was dry in the falls of 1863 and 1865. In 1867 
came a great flood ; the river was bank full all the season and 
overflowing the adjoining low valleys. Indians crossed their 
families in tubs made of a single buffalo hide, and swam their 
horses, and the writer saw a four-mule team and heavy freight 
wagon swept away by the swift current. But little sediment was 
deposited on the overflowed lands, but the boiling, rushing water 
was constantly moving the sandy river bed towards the Gulf. 
There was no opportunity for the formation of islands; the sand 
bars were constantly changing and moving down stream. 

Before the settlement of the country the bordering plains 
were tramped hard and beaten bare by innumerable buffalo, 
allowing the rainfall to speedily flow into the ravines and creeks, 
thence to the river as from a roof. The breaking up of the soil 
consequent upon the settlement of the country allowed the rain- 
fall to soak into the ground, and the river soon ceased to carry 
its usual volume of water, not noticeable until about 1880. In 
addition to this, numerous irrigating ditches were dug in west- 
ern Kansas and in Colorado, sufficient at the present time to 
divert the entire water of the river to the thirsty plains. Thus 
for the past ten or fifteen years we have observed the evolution 
of a great river into a sandy waste or insignificant stream. 
Nature has undertaken to accommodate itself to the changed 
conditions. The once moving sandbars become fixed, and are 
speedily covered with young cottonwoods and willows from seed 
sown by the wind. They grow rapidly, binding the soil with 
their roots. "When a freshet occurs, it is not of sufficient dura- 
tion to undermine and wash away the embryo island, but de- 
posits several inches of mud and sand among the young trees. 
These thrive and grow rapidly. The wind blowing the sand from 
the dry river bed aids in building up the island. By the time 
another freshet comes down the islands are firmly established, 
soon become groves of timber, gaining in elevation and solidity 
each year. In time the upper end of the islands become con- 



524 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

nected with the shore, forming a lagoon, which soon fills with a 
slimy, slippery, blue paste, deposited from the exceedingly muddy 
water coming down the river in late years in time of flood. In 
drying, this mud becomes a tough, sticky clay, known locally as 
hardpan or gumbo. This process explains the spots and streaks 
of this substance found in the Arkansas valley. An illustration 
of this formation can be seen at the mouth of the Little Arkansas 
river, where formerly was a long, narrow lake of considerable 
depth and of pure, clear water, the wintering place for huge 
cat, buffalo and other fish. By the diversion of the water of the 
little river into Chisholm creek, for milling purposes, this lake 
became a stagnant pool, into which the muddy water of the big 
river backed each time it came down in a flood, where the sedi- 
ment, settling to the bottom, formed a mass of so little consist- 
ency that an oar or a boat would pass through it almost as easily 
as through water; but after the flood had subsided, leaving it to 
solidify and dry, it became almost as firm as a rock and as tough 
as leather, not "adobe" soil, but "gumbo." Thus was destroyed 
the wealth of molluscan life for which our river was noted. The 
beautiful unios, anodontas and margaritinas have disappeared 
from their favorite home. 

During most of the year 1893 the Arkansas river above the 
junction of the little river has been entirely dry; below that point 
it is an insignificant stream which a school boy can roll up his 
pants and wade across. In a comparatively short time, in south- 
ern Kansas, timber will occupy the former site of the Arkansas 
river, through which will flow a stream a few rods wide. 

This woderful change has been brought about by our so-called 
civilization within the last fifteen years. Fortunate indeed are 
those who were permitted to behold the beauties of this valley 
and river when it was the home of the Indian and buffalo — just 
as God made it. 



CHAPTER XLI. 
THE INDIANS IN KANSAS. 

By 

J. R. MEAD. 

Struggles of Various Tribes on the Plains — The Story of War 
and Peace Among Indians First, and Later Between the 
Indians and the Whites. 

American history has no topic comparable for its enduring 
interest to that of the Indian tribes. And of such history Kansas 
can furnish a generous share. A true record of the battles 
fought and tragedies enacted on Kansas soil, and the deeds of 
valor, endurance, daring and hardship of her sons, both white 
and red, would make a volume of entrancing interest. 

Until recent years our brethren, the Indians, have occupied 
Kansas since the glacial era and perhaps for a longer time, as 
his remains have been found under the glacial drift by myself 
and others. 

The first Europeans to penetrate this region found him here 
in thousands along the Kansas and other rivers. Within the 
memory of men now living, they owned, or occupied as hunting 
grounds, the entire state. 

There were three indigenous tribes in eastern Kansas, per- 
haps others. The Osage, Pawnees, and the Kansas, or "Kaws," 
as they were nicknamed by the French. To the west were the 
roving nomads of the plains, who had no particular abiding place, 
who I believe constituted the legendary lost "Paducas" spoken 
of by De Bourgamont and other early explorers. 

THE OSAGES. 

In 1859, when I went upon the plains, I found the Osages and 
other frontier Indians, who hunted buffalo to the west, constantly 
speaking of the "Paducas," and on inquiry they described them 
as a fierce, savage, war-like tribe of roving horsemen ranging the 
western plains, of whom they were in constant dread, and de- 

525 



526 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

scribed them as being as numerous as the blades of grass on the 
prairie and indifferent to cold or danger. 

I believe the Paducas visited by M. Du Fissinet in 1719 and 
M. De Bourgamont in 1724, on the head of the Smoky Hill river, 
to have been the Comanches. Am confirmed in this belief by 
information I obtained from the aged chief of the Acomas in 
New Mexico many years ago. 

INCREASE OF TRIBES. 

Commencing about 1832, the Indian population of Kansas was 
increased by seventeen tribes, who were located on reservations 
in the eastern fourth of the state, occupying about all that 
region. A greater number of tribes than had ever assembled on 
the same amount of territory in the history of the government. 
Evidently the Indian knew a good country and all wanted to 
get here. 

These were the remnants of once powerful nations of the 
eastern and middle states, who fought long and bravely to beat 
back the host of invaders from across the sea until decimated, 
impoverished, the bones of their great chieftains and warriors 
whitening many a battlefield, the remnant submitted to the 
inevitable and finally were removed to Kansas. 

AT 7 CENTS PER ACRE. 

It may be of interest here to mention that in 1847 these Kan- 
sas reservations were valued by the government at 7 cents an 
acre. 

All of Kansas west of these reservations, comprising about 
three-fourths of the state, was the best hunting ground on the 
continent; contained no permanent villages or settlements; was 
the common hunting ground of all the Kansas Indians and the 
roving tribes of the plains, who outnumbered the reservation 
Indians, and were usually at war with them. 

THE SANTA FE TRAIL. 

When the Santa Fe trail was established, and there was no 
Santa Fe trail until the white man made it, passing through the 
center of the state, and on across the plains, with its constant 
stream of travel, it became the objective point of all the preda- 
tory hosts from Dakota to the Rio Grande. 



THE INDIANS IN KANSAS 527 

To protect this route of traffic, and later the settlements, the 
government has at various times constructed and maintained in 
Kansas twelve forts and numbers of military posts at vast 
expense, to keep in check our red brothers and hold this fair 
land of ours for those who were yet to come. 

THE RESERVATION INDIANS. 

Our reservation Indians were promised by ancient treaties 
tfheir lands "So long as grass grew or water ran," but here 
the tide of immigration again overtook them, and it was found 
necessary for them to move on, and with them went the heredi- 
tary owners of the land — and the red-handed rovers of the 
plains ; they are gone. 

About 1867 began the exodus to the Indian Territory ; crowded 
out by the advance of a stronger race. Departing, they have 
left behind abundant reminders of their former occupancy in the 
names of our state, rivers, cities and counties, towns and 
townships. 

Our three greatest rivers bear Indian names. The Missouri 
(means muddy) is the name of an Indian tribe. The Kansas, 
from the tribe who lived along the valleys since prehistoric times 
(means smoky water). The Arkansas river is the Indian word 
"Kansas" with the French prefix of "Ark," a bow. Neosho is 
Osage (Dacotah), "Ne" water; "Osho," clear; clear water, or 
water you can see into. 

INDIAN NAMES. 

We are indebted to the Indians for the names of our three 
most populous cities. And the founders of our second largest 
city in our neighboring state to the east came over into Kansas 
to find and appropriate one of the choicest Indian names. Pour- 
teen counties of Kansas are named from Indian tribes ; two others 
have Indian names ; and but one is a reminder of the noble 
animals upon which they subsisted. 

THE WICHITAS. 

And now I come to a tribe — the last to arrive — and the first 
to depart — the Wichitas, and affiliated bands. They were tran- 
sients, fugitives from their distant homes, driven out by the 



528 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

exigencies of cruel war. To- them Kansas was a haven of refuge. 
They ask no permission or assistance from the government or 
anyone else in their coming nor in their going. They built their 
town of grass houses at the junction of the two rivers St. Peter 
and St. Paul of Coronado, or "Neshutsa" and "Neshutsa 
Shinka" of the Osages, in whose territory it was located, which 
became known all over the plains as "The Wichita Town," and 
on their village site has arisen the third largest city in the state, 
Wichita. 

FORMATION OF TRIBE. 

The Indians comprised in the general term of Wichitas were 
remnants of tribes affiliated together when first known to history 
more than a century ago. They were the Wichitas, Wacoes, 
Towacanies and Kechies, who speak the Wichita language, and 
the Caddoes, Ionies and Nadarkoes, who spoke the Caddo lan- 
guage. The Nadarkoes are practically extinct. 

Each of these bands lived in separate villages, and preserved 
their tribal identity. They had their villages of grass houses on 
the Brazos river in Texas, and on the Washita river and its 
tributaries, and other streams in the Indian territory, and ranged 
in former times from Arkansas to the Wichita mountains and 
from the Cimarron river to central Texas. One tradition nar- 
rated to me many years ago by Chief Towacanie Jim, was that 
the Wichitas originally came from the far Northwest, using dogs 
for pack animals, as all western Indians did before the arrival 
of the Spaniards, and tarried on the Arkansas river near the 
southern border of the state several years, cultivating gardens 
and hunting for subsistence, using implements of stone or bone. 
While the traditions of the Caddoes are that they originally 
came from Hot Springs, Ark. 

REAL BARBARIANS. 

The Wichitas proper were typical barbarians, coming down 
from the stone age unchanged in customs, habits or apparel. 
Their language and tone of voice were utterly unlike any Indians 
east of the Rocky mountains, but had a marked resemblance in 
inflection, tone and construction to that of the Indians along the 
Columbia river in Oregon. When I first saw them in 1863, many 
of the older women were artistically tattooed in pink and blue 



THE INDIANS IN AEKANSAS 529 

zigzag circles and lines, as was their ancient custom. The Cad- 
does were a much milder mannered people and of pleasant speech. 

A PROSPEROUS YEAR. 

The summer of 1864 found the Wichitas in Kansas prosper- 
ous. Buffalo were abundant — close at hand; they had obtained 
horses. The women, with great industry, cleared ground and 
planted fine gardens along the Little Arkansas, and were the first 
to demonstrate that the Arkansas valley was the garden spot of 
the state. 

THE GRASS HOUSES. 

All took a hand in building their very comfortable, peculiar 
grass houses. They were usually made of forked posts about 
five feet high, set in the ground at intervals in a circle, and 
twenty or twenty-five feet in diameter. Horizontal poles were 
then securely fastened to the posts ; then, at the top, smooth poles, 
twenty or more feet long, were set upright in the ground outside 
the posts, converging, cone-shaped, to a common center at the 
top; very small poles are bound with withes crosswise, thus 
holding the whole structure securely together. The squaws 
weave the long, tough, reddish bunch grass in and out in such 
an ingenious manner that each bunch of grass overlaps the 
bunch immediately below. When complete, it is a substantial 
structure ; does not leak ; is warm. A low door opens to east 
and west, made of grass or skins. Arranged around the inside 
are raised bunks for sleeping, and underneath storage room. In 
the center a fire, with opening at top for smoke. The inside and 
floors are sometimes plastered with gypsum, and for fifty feet 
on the outside the ground is kept smooth, hard and clean. These 
houses are unique, comfortable and unlike all others in America. 
I have seen those built twenty years and still in good condition. 
They are covered with sod, as stated this summer in a prominent 
eastern magazine. 

Not far from these houses were their gardens, surrounded by 
fences made of small poles set upright in the ground. There 
grew abundance of their native corn, pumpkins, melons and 
Mexican beans. These grass houses were built in groups along 
the Little River for a mile on the east bank; the water of the 
river was sweet, clear and pure, full of fish ; plenty of timber 
and game abundant. 



530 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

THE BIG CHIEFS. 

"Owahe," chief of the Wichitas, was an ideal pre-historic 
man of 5,000 years ago. A cartoonist could hardly exaggerate 
his general makeup. Yet he was not a bad fellow by any means. 
He would have been a howling success to illustrate Chancellor 
Snow's lecture on the evolution of man. 

"Shaddowa," chief of the Caddoes, was his opposite. Fine 
looking, quiet, intelligent, gentlemanly. 

THE HEAD TRADING POST. 

I established a trading post among them and part of the time 
had an Indian alone in charge. Along in the summer of 1864 
the government sent an old gentleman, Major Mile Gookins, of 
Indiana, to look after these Indians, with instructions to make 
his headquarters at my home place, known as "Mead Ranch," 
at Towanda, twenty miles east of the Little Arkansas, at that 
time consisting of a big spring and my several buildings. Major 
Gookin knew nothing about Indians and had at first nothing to 
aid him and the Indians nearly worried him to death. I helped 
him out considerably, as I had abundant supplies and much 
needed experience. Later on the government furnished a small 
amount of food and clothing. 

VISITED BY WILD TRIBES. 

The Shawnees, Delawares and Kickapoos settled themselves 
along the White Water and Walnut rivers. Some of the wild 
tribes of the plains visited us occasionally. Here in time of war 
came "Satanta, " the great warrior chief of the Kiowas, with 
"Heap of Bears;" great medicine man of the Arapahoes, to talk 
about peace, which resulted in the treaty of the Little Arkansas ; 
and by coming to a good understanding with the wild Indians, 
and the influence of our Wichita friends, our corner of the fron- 
tier escaped the horrors of border war, and we came and went 
over the plains at all times in safety. 

LEFT THEIR NAMES 

The Wichita Indians are remarkable in leaving their names 
attached to the localities where they have lived. In Kansas we 
have the city of Wichita, the county of Wichita, and Wichita and 



THE INDIANS IN ARKANSAS 531 

Waco streets, the towns of Waco and Kechi. In the territory 
we have the Wichita mountains, old Fort Wichita, the Washita 
river, the Little and the Big Ouchita rivers, a way of spelling 
the same name. The Wichita tribe may become extinct, but the 
name will remain with us for all time. 

IN WAR TIMES. 

At the outbreak of the Civil War the Indians of the Wichita 
agency were living quietly and peaceably on the Washita river 
and other streams near old Fort Cobb, I. T. The Indians of the 
plains and the civilized tribes of the territory were their friends. 
They were an agricultural people, had fields and gardens and 
an abundance of horses, and lived in a paradise of game — buf- 
falo, elk, deer, antelope and wilk turkeys constituting their 
bill of fare, with corn, beans, melons, pumpkins and wild fruits 
as side dishes. Each year at the time of roasting ears, water 
melons and garden truck, the Comanches came in from the 
plains and spent a season feasting, visiting and having a good 
time generally, an agreeable change from their usual bill of fare — 
buffalo meat straight. 

LOYAL TO THE UNION. 

When the Civil War came on they were loyal to the Union. 
In the East were the powerful civilized tribes who were slave- 
holders; on the south, Texas. The Wichitas were driven out 
together with many Shawnees, Delawares, Kickapoos and other 
loyal Indians, leaving all behind, except such articles as could 
be gathered for hasty flight. With the wives and little ones they 
fled north, across the pathless wilderness, to Kansas and safety. 
They were pursued and some of them were killed on the Salt 
Fork ; a few had wagons, which were mostly broken or abandoned 
on the way. There were no roads or trails to follow. After 
many hardships the scattered bands collected in southeast Kan- 
sas on the border, destitute, hungry, among strangers. The gov- 
ernment afforded them a scant relief. The first winter all of 
their horses starved to death and many of their people died from 
want and sickness. In their distress they sought aid from the 
Osage Indians, who at that time owned nearly all of southern 
Kansas, including millions of buffalo, and secured their permis- 
sion to move to the mouth of the Little Arkansas (Ne Shutsa 



532 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Shinka) and subsist on the buffalo. So in the summer of 1863 
they set out for their new home, afoot, hungry, almost naked, 
and established their temporary camp in the dense timber at the 
mouth of the little river just across from the present Murdoch 
avenue bridge, Wichita. 

HARD HUNTING. 

They managed to kill enough buffalo without horses or guns 
to subsist and lay up a scant supply for winter, when the men 
went south to their old homes and gathered up what horses they 
could find. Others visited the Comanches, who gave them pres- 
ents of many horses, a custom among the Indians to their less 
fortunate brothers. By spring they were mostly mounted and 
able to take care of themselves. They could make their saddles 
and equipments, arms and clothing, while the women were indus- 
triously at work planting gardens, which in time yielded 
abundantly. 

THE TROUBLE OF '67. 

Here along the little river they lived and prospered until 
the summer of 1867 brought fresh woes. Inexperience involved 
the wild tribes of the plains in war. Troops from St. Louis were 
scattered along the old Santa Fe trail in small detachments. 
With them came the cholera, which spread over the plains of 
Kansas and the Indian Territory. White men and Indians alike 
died. A small company of soldiers were sent to the mouth of 
the Little Arkansas — an uncalled for and useless move. Soon 
the cholera commenced its deadly work among the Wiehitas. 
Scattered over the northern part of Wichita are the graves of 
probably a hundred Indians, including Owahe, hereditary war 
chief; Sam Houston, a noted Indian, and many others. In the 
latter part of the summer orders came from Washington to 
remove the Indians to their old homes on the Washita, but no pro- 
vision was made for their removal. They refused to go until 
their crops were gathered and a supply of food prepared for the 
winter. Along in the fall they started down the old Chisholm 
trail. Their first camp was on the Ninnescah, where misfortune 
again overtook them. They hobbled their horses one evening 
in the tall' grass in a bend of the river on the north side. During 
the night a norther set in, driving down upon them a furious 
prairie fire, burning eighty-five head of their best horses. This 



THE INDIANS IN KANSAS 533 

left a large number afoot, as many of their horses had been 
stolen and driven off by white outlaws who had begun to infest 
the country that summer. The Indians were compelled to cache 
a large part of their provisions, which were afterwards stolen by 
white men, and proceeded on their journey, many of them afoot. 



RAVAGES OF CHOLERA. 

The cholera was still with them. They died all along the 
trail. Some were buried on the Ninnescah. At Skeleton creek 
so many died they laid on the ground unburied and their bleach- 
ing skeletons gave a name to the stream. Whole families died in the 
lodges after their arrival on the Washita, and the lodges were 
burned with the bodies and all their belongings. From Skeleton 
creek they scattered out in every direction, some parties who 
had no horses stopping on the Red Fork, subsisting on the black 
jack acorns and wild turkeys, of which there were thousands. 
Towaccanie Jim, now chief of the Wichitas, with a band mostly 
women and children, afoot, camped at the mouth of Turkey 
creek. Their food was what nature provided. From acorns they 
made palatable bread by a process of their own. Nearly every 
evening some of them could be seen coming down the creek from 
the timber laden with acorns, Jim usually bringing home four or 
five big turkeys he killed with bow and arrow. 



THEN IT SNOWED. 

A blizzard with severe cold and deep snow came along about 
that time. It was so cold a loaded team could be driven across 
the stream on the ice (I do not speak from hearsay). Big gray 
wolves and panthers came howling about their camps. Late one 
evening "Jim" came down the creek loaded with turkeys and 
straggling along were women and children with what acorns they 
could carry, "Jim's" young wife among the number. She was 
weak from lack of proper food. Darkness coming on she became 
separated from her companions among the sandhills and about a 
half mile from camp fell exhausted. She hung her little shawl 
on a bush to aid her friends to find her, drew her thin blanket 
about her and laid down to die, with wild beasts howling all 
around. Jim and others hunted for her all night and at daylight 
found her apparently dead. Tenderly they carried her to camp 



534 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

and by careful attention revived the faint spark of life and she 
recovered. 

AGAIN SCATTERED. 

Later many of the Wichitas congregated up the North fork of 
the Canadian, where Jesse Chisholm had called in the Kiowas 
and Comanches, and here they remained until the 4th day of 
March, 1868, when he suddenly died. The Indians then scattered 
like a flock of quail. He was their friend, counselor, law-giver 
and father. Each band went its own way. In the spring, the 
Wichitas, what was left of them, finally assembled at their old 
homes on the Washita where the government had sent Col. J. H. 
Leavenworth with some provisions for their needs and there they 
have resided to the present time. 



JAMES R. MEAD. 

By 
Mrs. J. R. Mead. 

James R. Mead was born in New Haven, Vt., in 1836, and 
removed with his parents in 1839 to Davenport, la., where he 
lived until he reached maturity. He was a son of Enoch and 
Mary Mead. His father was a graduate of Yale University and 
a Presbyterian minister, and the founder of that* denomination 
in Davenport. He was a direct descendant of Maj.-Gen. Ebene- 
zer Mead, of the Revolutionary War, and was possessor of many 
heirlooms inherited from that distinguished ancestor, among 
them a life-size oil painting of the general, which now hangs in 
the library of his home. 

Even when a boy his love for nature and outdoor life was 
apparent. He made many adventurous trips, after game birds 
and animals, in the country where he lived, and his mother's 
table was often laden with the rich trophies that evidenced his 
skill as a hunter. 

When but a small boy attending school, he became greatly 
interested in the country southwest of the Missouri river, as 
shown by the geographies of that day to be a network of rivers 
and streams, and beyond that a country marked "Great Ameri- 
can Desert," full of buffalo and wild horses. He did not then 



THE INDIANS IN KANSAS 535 

know that most of his life would be spent in that country which 
was even then arousing his curiosity and enthusiasm. 

He was one of the very earliest settlers of Kansas, coming 
to that territory in 1859, when but twenty-three years of age. 
For four years he traded with the various Indian tribes in that 
portion of the country. In the fall of 1859, at Burlingame, Kan., 
he organized a party of several persons for a great buffalo hunt. 
They proceeded to the Big Bend of the Smoky Hill river, where 
they found buffalo in abundance, and there they hunted for sev- 
eral weeks. 

While hunting over that portion of the country, Mr. Mead 
became so enraptured with it that he, with two other hunters, 
established a trading post twenty miles above the mouth of the 
Saline river, and there for several years they enjoyed an exten- 
sive trade with the various Indian tribes then located in that 
portion of the territory. While here, he gave Beaver, Spillman, 
Twelve Mile, Wolf and Paradise creeks their respective names, 
and they retain them to this day. These streams are all tribu- 
taries of the Saline river. 

In December, 1861, he and Miss Agnes Barcome, of Burlin- 
game, Kan., were united in marriage. He then, with his wife, 
immediately returned to his trading post, where they resided 
until 1862, when, on account of Indian depredations, they re- 
moved to Salina, Kan., a small village at that time, where they 
resided until 1863. To this union were born four children, James 
L., Elizabeth, Mary E. and William, the last named dying in 
infancy. In 1863 he went farther west and established a trading 
post at a place called Towanda, on the White Water river, near 
a large spring, where the Indians were wont to congregate from 
time immemorial. 

In the summer of that year, with some of his neighbors, he 
went on another buffalo hunt down near the mouth of the Little 
Arkansas river, in the vicinity of which the city of Wichita, 
Kan., is now located. In three weeks the party returned to 
Towanda with 330 buffalo hides and 3,500 pounds of tallow, to- 
gether with a few elk and antelope skins, worth even in those 
days several hundred dollars. 

Mr. Mead soon established a branch trading post just above 
the mouth of the Little Arkansas river, and his teams and men 
soon extended his trade far into the Indian Territory. Very 
little money was used in those early days, the circulating me- 



536 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

dium being for the most part skins and furs, for which the 
traders exchanged their various commodities. 

During the Civil War the Wichita Indians, then living near 
the Wichita mountains, to the southwest, were intensely loyal, 
and their persecution by the Confederates drove many of them 
into the vicinity of the Little Arkansas river. In a treaty that 
was made with the various Indian tribes of that portion of the 
country, Mr. Mead represented the Wichita Indians in the treaty 
of the Little Arkansas, and there for the first time he met the 
famous scout and hunter, Kit Carson. It was because of his 
work on the plains and his influence with the Indians that he 
did not enlist in the Civil War, as the governor of the state told 
him his services were of more value to the government in the 
work he was then doing than it would be in the army. 

In 1864, Mr. Mead was elected to the legislature from Butler 
county by a handsome majority, and in 1868 he was elected to 
the state senate, his district comprising the four counties of Mor- 
ris, Chase, Marion and Butler, together with all the unorganized 
territory west of the state line, comprising what is now about 
thirty-five counties. 

In 1868 the town of Wichita was incorporated by Mr. Mead, 
Governor Crawford and others. The town was named by Mr. 
Mead, or rather he insisted that the place was already named 
after the Wichita Indians who had occupied the ground for sev- 
eral years prior to its incorporation. 

In 1869, after the death of his wife, he sold his trading post 
at Towanda and removed to a claim he had previously taken 
adjoining Wichita, and which is now a valuable portion of that 
city. The land lies north of Douglas avenue and between Law- 
rence and Washington avenues. 

In the upbuilding of that city he took a most active part. In 
1871 he organized a company to construct the Wichita and 
Southwestern railroad, and he was honored with the presidency. 
The road was completed within six months from the time of the 
organization of the company. This prompt action on the part 
of Mr. Mead and the men associated with him in thus securing 
a railroad for Wichita, at that particular time, made it possible 
for Wichita to become what it is today, the metropolis of the 
southwestern portion of the state. 

In the panic of 1873, Mr. Mead was much embarrassed by 
the failure of the First National Bank of Wichita, to which he 



THE INDIANS IN KANSAS 537 

had extended credit, but he turned over to its depositors sub- 
stantially all his property, which is now worth many thousands 
of dollars. 

For several years after locating in Wichita, he kept up an 
extensive trade with the Indians at his trading post, then located 
between the Little and Big Arkansas rivers and a short distance 
above the mouth of the former. 

In Mr. Mead's later years he was an ardent student of biology 
and ethnology, and for thirty years he was an active member 
of the Kansas Academy of Science. After twenty-five years' 
service in this organization, he was honored with life member- 
ship. He was also an active and influential^ member of the Kan- 
sas State Historical Society and was its president for the year 
1909. Before his election to the presidency he was also honored 
with a life membership in the society. His picture now hangs 
in the rooms of the State Historical Society. By birthright he 
was entitled to membership in the Society of the Cincinnati. 

During his whole life he contributed liberally to all public 
enterprises and several churches and school houses were erected 
on lots donated by him for that purpose. He was a member of 
the First Presbyterian Church of Wichita, Kan., being deeply 
impressed with the same faith that brought his father to Iowa 
as a missionary. 

He has been a frequent contributor to the periodicals of the 
day and his many articles written for the Kansas State Historical 
Society and the Kansas Academy of Sciences are models of their 
kind and well worth a permanent place in the annals of the state. 

His later years were spent in study and research and for a 
long time before his death he was considered one of the very best 
authorities on the early history of the state. 

In 1873 he contracted a second marriage with Miss Lucy A. 
Inman of Wichita, who died in 1894. 

In 1895 the Mead Cyle Company of Chicago, Illinois, was 
organized, his son being chosen as president, and he as vice-presi- 
dent, and he remained in such a capacity until the time of his 
death. In this year also, he gave a biography of his life to his 
friend, Mr. Charles Payne, of Wichita, Kansas. 

In 1896 he was united in marriage with Miss Fern F. Hoover 
of Perry, Oklahoma, and to this union two children were born, 
Ignace Fern Mead, aged eight years, and Loreta Hoover Mead, 
aged six years. 



538 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Mr. Mead contracted a severe cold in the early part of the 
spring of 1910, which rapidly developed into pneumonia, and on 
the 31st day of March, 1910, he died, surrounded by his family, 
who were called to his bedside shortly before his death. 

Five children survive him : James L. Mead, born in 1863, and 
who now lives in Chicago and who is owner of the Mead Cycle 
Company of that city ; Lizzie Agnes, now Mrs. J. A. Caldwell of 
Los Angeles, California ; Mary E., now Mrs. I. B. Lee of Iowa 
City, Iowa; Ignace Fern, born in 1902, and Loreta Hoover, born 
in 1904. He is also survived by his wife, Mrs. Fern Hoover Mead, 
who with the two younger children lives at the Mead residence 
at 433 Wabash avenue, Wichita, Kansas. 

Mr. Mead belonged to a class of men who are rapidly dis- 
appearing from our midst. Our civilization will never again 
produce this type of citizenship. Kind and true, yet stern and 
forceful, Mr. Mead lived a long and active life, and made the 
world better for his having lived in it. He belonged to that class 
of men who had foresight for planning and doing things on an 
extensive and grand scale. As his early life was not circum- 
scribed by the narrow limitations of our close civilization, so 
his vision of things reached far beyond the ordinary views of men. 



CHAPTER XLII. 
THE G. A. R. IN KANSAS. 

The Grand Army of the Republic of this state was organized 
into a provisional department in the year 1866, with John A. 
Martin, of Atchison, who afterward became governor, as the 
first commander. He served honorably and faithfully two terms. 
In 1879 the provisional department was organized into a regular 
department, as it is now constituted, with J. C. Walkinshaw, of 
Leavenworth, as the first regular department commander. Wich- 
ita has been honored by the election of three department com- 
manders, Col. Milton Stewart, now of Chicago, in 1885; Judge 
W. P. Campbell in 1894, and Rev. Nathan E. Harmon in 1910, 
and their administration was creditable and honorable to the 
department. 

The officers for this year are : Nathan E. Harmon, Wichita, 
department commander ; A. M. Fuller, Topeka, senior vice-com- 
mander; D. E. Reid Hutchinson, junior vice-commander; Rev. 
W. C. Porter, D. D., Fort Scott, chaplain; A. A. Raub, Fort 
Dodge, medical director ; J. M. Miller, Topeka, assistant adjutant 
general; W. L. Appling, Wichita, assistant quartermaster gen- 
eral; T. P. Anderson, Kansas City, judge advocate; C. A. Week, 
Wichita, department inspector. The membership as reported at 
the last department encampment in May last was a little less than 
10,000. We are at this time on account of the age of the veterans 
losing heavily by death, but are gaining by muster and reinstate- 
ment about as many as our losses, so that we are about holding 
our own. 

During the present summer and fall a great many reunions 
have been held in different parts of the state which have been 
very helpful and well attended, but it has been noticeable that 
there was a falling off in the attendance of the comrades as com- 
pared with former years on account of age and death. The 
Sons of Veterans are beginning to take more interest than in 
former years and in many places new camps have been instituted. 
The department commander is taking great interest in the Sons, 

539 



540 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

which is telling for good in that organization. The W. R. C. 
and Ladies of the G. A. R. throughout the state are both in fine 
condition and doing good work in their line, which is greatly 
appreciated by the department commander and the comrades 
generally. Peace, harmony and good will prevails throughout 
the department, for which I am devoutly thankful. 

N. E. Harmon, Commander G. A. R., Department of Kansas. 

THE VETERANS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

The soldiers of 1861 to 1865 on being mustered out of service 
found it necessary to "get a start in life." 

Kansas offered them a fine field for beginning the new phase 
of life's struggle. 

Many of the early settlers of Sedgwick county were of this 
bold and enterprising class. In 1881 for the mutual assistance 
and for friendship the Garfield Post of G. A. R. was organized 
and has proved a great boon to its members. It now enrolls 412 
old boys whose average age is about 70 years. In 1883 the 
Woman's Relief Corps, No. 40, was organized as assistant to the 
Garfield Post. Many needy soldiers and their families have been 
helped in the hour of suffering and death by this band of mis- 
sionary angels. Many helpless children have been cared for and 
placed in comfortable homes by these noble women, who always 
respond promptly to any call for relief. They freely join with 
the G. A. R. in literally exemplifying the G. A. R. motto, "Fra- 
ternity, Charity and Loyalty." 

As bees "swarm," so Garfield Post sent out Eggleston 
Post in 1893, which now numbers 244 members. The Relief Corps 
at the same time furnished members for the organization of the 
Caroline Harrison Circle Auxiliary to Eggleston Post. The names 
of these two are known throughout the city and many do and 
will continue to rise up and call them blessed. As the years 
rolled by the old soldiers and their wives gradually became bur- 
dened with disease and feeble powers. To perpetuate the history 
of their declining years and to strew their graves with flowers, 
in 1892 the Anson Skinner Camp of Sons of Veterans and the 
Ladies' Auxiliary of the Sons of Veterans were organized. These 
flourishing camps are active in their efforts, growing in numbers 
and will be a power in perpetuating the memories of their fathers 
and mothers. Many old soldiers live in Wichita and its vicinity 



THE G.A.E. IN KANSAS 641 

who have never united with either of these G. A. R. Posts. These 
persons are making a mistake, as in the hour of need, sickness 
or death they have not the administering care of post or corps. 
The present official roster is as follows : — C. A. Meek, commander ; 
J. M. Naylor, adjutant; W. T. Buckner, quartermaster; J. E. 
Conklin, chaplain ; W. H. Payer, senior vice-commander ; S. M. 
Barnes, junior vice-commander ; L. Laverty, surgeon ; James 
Blain, officer of the day; J. B. Fishback, patriotic instructor. 
Regular post meetings are held in the court house at 2 o'clock 
p. m., on the first and third Wednesdays of each month. 

WOMAN'S RELIEF CORPS, NO. 40. 

Mrs. Betty Rogers, senior vice-president; Mrs. Eugenia Love- 
land, junior vice-president ; Miss Alice Huffman, secretary ; Mrs. 
Lizzie Brown, treasurer ; Miss Mary Parker, chaplain ; Miss Eva 
Gard, conductor; Mrs. Mary R. Buckner, patriotic instructor. 

Corps meetings are held in the basement of the court house, 
the first and third Tuesdays of each month. 

EGGLESTON POST, NO. 244. 

W. L. Appling, commander; John McCray, senior vice-com- 
mander; E. Dye, junior vice-commander; J. H. Alexander, sur- 
geon; W. A. Bosworth, chaplain; J. A. McElhaney, quartermas- 
ter ; D. E. DeRoss, officer of the day ; J. E. Miller, adjutant. Post 
meets second and fourth Tuesdays at 2 p. m., at the A. 0. 
U. W. hall. 

Mrs. Maggie Merrill, president; Miss Salathie Appling, senior 
vice-president ; Mrs. Barbara Grubb, junior vice-president ; Miss 
Anna Bennett, secretary; Miss Minnie Dell, treasurer; Mrs. Mary 
Snyder, conductor; Mrs. Mary Thatcher, chaplain. Meets first 
and third Tuesdays in the Odd Fellow hall, at 3 :30 p. m. 

ANSON SKINNER CAMP, NO. 49, SONS OF VETERANS. 

H. C. Carnahan, commander ; Louis Bulkley, senior vice- 
commander; James H. Smith, junior vice-commander; W. W. 
Brown, secretary ; M. J. Sweet, treasurer. Meets every second 
and fourth Tuesdays in basement of court house. M. J. Sweet, 
of this camp, is now serving his second term as division com- 
mander of the state of Kansas. 



542 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

LADIES' AUXILIARY OF THE SONS OF VETERANS. 

Mrs. C. S. Pratt, president. The old soldiers are rapidly an- 
swering the final roll call. They have finished life's battles and 
the G. A. R. 's as an active organization will soon cease to exist. 
But the Sons of Veterans will take up the battles of loyal citizen- 
ship and carry on the existence of our nation to its full fruition 
among the nations of the earth. 

J. M. Naylor, Adjutant Garfield Post. 



CHAPTER XLIII. 

THE COLORED SOLDIER OF SEDGWICK COUNTY IN THE 
SPANISH AMERICAN WAR. 

By 
CAPTAIN SAMUEL W. JONES. 

The days that marked the opening or beginning of the Spanish 
American War in 1898 were anxious ones indeed to many a 
patriotic Afro-American then residing in Wichita, for as has al- 
ways been the case when our country is thrown into war her 
negro citizens, ever patriotic, are among the first to volunteer 
their services. The first colored American to offer his services in 
this city was Harry Holmes, the second was James Gage. These 
two men, bosom friends, applied to the enlisting officer the second 
day after the office or recruiting station was opened here. They 
were refused, were told by the recruiting officer that he had no 
authority to enlist other than white men. Holmes and Gage 
were quite disappointed indeed, and came to me asking that I 
write an article to be published in the daily papers asking why 
it was that as war had been declared they, as colored men, should 
be denied the privilege of serving their country. I suggested to 
these two men that they wait a while, and I was satisfied that 
before the war was over they would have a chance. Such we now 
know proved to be the case, for it was not many days as we might 
say, there came the second call for volunteers, and under that call, 
the appointment to Kansas was eight hundred and seventy-five 
men. 

At that time I was associated with W. A. Bettis in the pub- 
lishing of a weekly newspaper known as the "National Reflector." 
We had but two months previous bought a newspaper and job 
office from that old pioneer, Judge S. M. Tucker. We had 
moved the office or outfit to rooms over 403 East Douglas avenue, 
had just become established and were doing a good business when 
the war cloud cast itself over the country. By reason of the 

543 



544 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

fact that the paper had always taken an independent stand in 
politics, Bettis, my partner, who was associate editor, had allied 
himself somewhat with the Populist movement and had man- 
aged in this way to get in touch with John W. Leedy, the Pop- 
ulist Governor. The very day it was known Kansas was to 
furnish her second quota of men, Bettis began writing the gov- 
ernor urging upon him to make the new organization a colored 
regiment. Other colored men began doing the same, and finally 
on July 2, 1898, Bettis received a letter from Governor Leedy 
authorizing him to begin the enlisting of colored volunteers. 
When Bettis had read the letter over he handed it to me with 
the remark that he wanted me for captain because of my former 
experience as a captain of an independent militia company here. 
I tried to urge upon him to take that place, declaring to him 
at the same time I would be satisfied with the honor of being 
the first man to sign the enlistment roll. This honor he granted 
me. Together we rented the storeroom directly across the street 
from our office, and while I remained in the office to carry on 
the business Bettis went out and began the enrolling of volun- 
teers. By reason of the fact it seems that Gage and Holmes had 
been refused enlistment the colored boys were a little loath to 
sign their names. Bettis came back to the office rather dis- 
couraged, had but three or four names on the roll among whom 
was Charles R. Stewart, known at that time to nearly every 
man as "Pappy Stewart." We called "pappy" into the office, 
and after a conference it was agreed that he was to be made 
first sergeant of the company if he would lend his efforts toward 
enlisting of a company. "Pappy" went to work with a will. 
The next evening he and Bettis came into the office declaring 
that they were meeting with little success, as any number of the 
boys whom they had approached were members of the inde- 
pendent militia company would not enroll unless they knew 1 
was going to be captain. Bettis declared he knew his unfitness 
for the place and insisted that I allow the boys to know I would 
accept the place. The result of this conference was we closed 
the printing office, hired some drums and drummers and set to 
work with a will. As soon as we had twelve men enrolled I be- 
gan the work of drilling them in army tactics. July 4th and 5th 
we worked hard indeed, with the result that on the morning of 
the 6th when the recruiting officer arrived we had thirty-nine 
men to be examined by the examining physician, Dr. E. Harrison, 



THE COLOEED SOLDIER 545 

who lent his services in securing more men. The next morning 
while I continued the work here, Bettis went to Winfield and 
Arkansas City. About noon on the ninth of July our little band 
of forty-nine soldiers to be marched from the city hall to the 
Santa Fe depot where amid the tears and good-byes of mothers, 
wives, sisters, sweethearts and friends boarded the train for 
Topeka. 

The law at that time was that each company should be com- 
posed of 106 enlisted men and three commissioned officers. We 
had forty-nine, were of course sixty men short of the requisite 
number, and then came the struggle of my life time it seemed to 
get those sixty men. There were seven other companies foraging 
about, we might say, to get men to fill out their number so they 
might be mustered into service ; some nights I would lay down to 
sleep with nearly enough men to make out my company only 
to awaken in the morning to find that all perhaps but the faith- 
ful forty-nine had gone into other camps or partial companies. 
I wrote an appeal to Dr. Harrison to enlist some more men here 
in Wichita and send them to me, he responded by sending up nine 
more, thus swelling our number to fifty-eight faithful ones. This 
band of fifty-eight remained true to me, as firm as the rock of 
Gibraltar. On July 12, the old war horse of Wyandotte county, 
Corvine Patterson, came marching into camp at the head of 162 
men from Kansas City, and out of this number I secured enough 
men to fill out my company and win the place I had set out to 
win for them and myself, the first place in the Second battalion. 

July 14, 1898, is a day I shall never forget, for it was on 
that day my company was mustered into the service of the 
United States volunteer army. The men sworn in on that 
day as Company E, 23rd Kansas volunteer infantry, were as 
follows: Samuel W. Jones, Captain; William A. Bettis, First 
Lieutenant; William Green, Second Lieutenant; Charles R. 
Stewart, First Sergeant; Thomas A. Dupart, Quartermaster 
Sergeant; Giles Anderson, Second Sergeant; Henry Sheairills, 
Third Sergeant; Harry Holmes, Fourth Sergeant; Thomas H. 
White, Fifth Sergeant; Napoleon Starnes, Artificer; Henry W. 
Gilbert, Wagoner; Corporals, William H. Stell; John McBride, 
Edgar Franklin, Charles Staten, James Gage, James W. Turner, 
Isaac McAfee, Frank E. Green, James W. Thompson, Lee Toms, 
George R. Cowen and Leonard C. Martin; Musicians, Wallace 
Bernal and Bert Burns; Privates, John B. Anderson, Mack An- 



546 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

derson, William Allen, William K. Arnold, Benjamin Barnes, 
James Barnes, Frank Barber, Lewis Bass, John Bell, James H. 
Bransen, Henry Brayden, James B. Brown, William A. Brown, 
Alfred Buford, Henry Bynum, Thomas W. Campbell, William 
Carter, Charles Childs, David Chinneth, Anderson Crump, Peter 
C. Danforth, Henry C. Dixon, James Dozier, Edward Drain, Ora 
Earle, Clarence Estes, Samuel Farmer, Richard Fintch, Ollie Fin- 
ley, Leroy Franklin, George W. Gardner, George Garr, Ceabron 
Greenwood, Samuel Hall, Thomas Harris, Charles Herring, Duff 
Herrington, Ben Hickey, Clifford Hill, John Hoard, Elliott 
Holmes, John T. Howard, Walter H. Howard, John Hudson, Al- 
len Jackson, James C. Jackson, Joseph Johnson, McDonald 
Johnson, Stanton James, Frank K. Jones, William M. Love, John 
E. Majors, William Masir, John R. Martin, Abraham McAfee, 
Fred Martin, Walter Marshall, Henry I. Meredith, John Midina, 
Joseph Millford, George Murphy, William Weely, William Over- 
street, Nelson S. Patterson, James Porter, Bevley M. Perry, Frank 
H. Ray, Henry Roeark, Eugene Reed, Ky Richards, Andy Simms, 
Henry Robinson, Lewis Robinson, John A. Rodgers, Samuel 
Sheairills, Dallas Thurman, Jones Vaughn, David Washington, 
James Warren, Frank West, Horace G. Wilder, Eugene R. 
Whitted, Charles Williams and Joseph Williams. 

Company E was at first called by the men in the other com- 
panies "raggety company E," by reason of the fact that every 
man in the company had been advised by me to dispose of all 
his clothing except his most worn suit for army regulations for- 
bade a soldier having citizen's clothing in his possession and 
when their uniforms should be issued what clothing they had 
must at once be disposed of. The quartermaster's department 
at Leavenworth was so slow in issuing uniforms I must admit 
that ere long the majority of the men were wearing clothing but 
little better than rags, hence the name "raggety company E." 
It wasn't long, however, until I had by hard and patient work, 
drilling my men, carefully explaining every move in drill, tak- 
ing them off to themselves during drill hours and there instruct- 
ing them, until I had the acknowledged best drilled company in 
the regiment. Whenever any honors were to be won it was 
Company E that could be depended upon to carry off the laurels. 

Just a little incident to bear out this statement. August 3 
it was announced through orders that General Monnehan would 
arrive in Topeka to pay the regiment. Something of a secret 



THE COLOEED SOLDIER 547 

order so far as I was concerned went the rounds of the camp, 
that the best drilled company, the one making the best showing 
should have the honor of escorting the first paymaster from the 
city to the camp ground. Company A was made up entirely of 
colored men who resided within the city limits of Topeka. The 
camp was two and a half miles from town, and Captain Reynolds, 
of Company A, was quite anxious of course to go up town and 
"show off" his company at this the first opportunity. Well, he 
didn't go. Only three days before my men had received their 
now uniforms and rifles, and that morning they seemed to be 
in perfect trim. When drill hour had come and passed Colonel 
Beck, commanding the regiment, prompted by Captain Allison, 
U. S. army (retired) who was instructor to the officers of the 
regiment, issued the order for E company, the Wichita company 
to go at once to quarters, get dinner and be ready to march 
promptly at twelve to the city and escort the paymaster. This 
was a gala day for my company, for myself, for when I reached 
the paved part of Kansas avenue I began putting my company 
through almost every movement possible for a company to make 
in drill, receiving the plaudits of the thousands who watched us 
from the sidewalks. 

August 20, 1898, came the welcome news that we had been 
ordered to New York, there to take a transport for Santiago de 
Cuba. With the coming of daylight, Monday, August 22, we 
began breaking camp, and by seven o'clock were in light march- 
ing order ready to march to the city. A few minutes after 
seven we were on the march to the capitol where Governor Leedy 
delivered a very touching address, and then the march was taken 
up to the Santa Fe depot. That was a day I shall never forget; 
on the platform were mothers, fathers, wives, children, sisters, 
brothers and friends weeping, handshaking and saying good- 
bye. At last there came the call all aboard, and the journey 
toward Cuba had begun. Wednesday, August 24, we reached 
New York, were ferried over to pier 22 Brooklyn, where the 
transport Eigilancia was moored awaiting our coming. By 8 
o'clock men and baggage were aboard, the lines were cast off 
and we dropped down the bay to anchor ground. With the com- 
ing of daylight the anchor was raised and we started on our 
journey of more than 3,100 miles to Cuba. After seven days 
steaming, during which time the men on account of cramped 
quarters and seasickness suffered a great deal and during which 



548 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

time too our vessel was storm tossed by one of those terrible 
hurricanes peculiar to the West Indies we, in spite of the fact 
that we had been reported lost in the terrible storm, steamed 
by the Moro castle, the wreck of the Rena Mercedes and Captain 
Hobson's sunken Merrimac on up the bay to the city of Santiago. 

On the morning of September 1, we began disembarking, and 
by 4 o'clock men and baggage were on Cuban soil. About 6 
o'clock we went aboard the train made up of four very crude 
passenger cars and a number of cattle cars, and by 9 o'clock 
the journey of twenty-seven miles had been completed and we 
were in the city of San Luis. 

Arrived at San Luis each company was assigned to quarters. 
These quarters were nothing more than the stone sidewalks 
surrounding the old Spanish barracks, covered by a wooden 
awning which by the way was so narrow when lying down my 
feet were left out in the rain which came down almost the entire 
night through. The next morning we marched out to the new 
camp grounds, pitched our tents, took up our garrison duty in 
Cuba. 

During our first three weeks on Cuban soil, we were at times 
sorely pressed for food, on account of the limited number of 
vessels then at the disposal of the commissary department. Many 
were the times our meals consisted solely of very rancid bacon, 
rice badly damaged by contact with coal oil. After a while, 
however, we began getting fair rations. In the month of De- 
cember we began getting our first fresh meat, beef that had been 
put in cold storage aboard the refrigerator ships as early as the 
latter part of the previous June. We lived through this however 
as well as through the disagreeable rainy season when it actually 
rained every day. 

For six months to a day we were in service in Cuba, when 
at last the welcome news came for us to break camp and set 
out for home. February 28, 1899, the regiment took the train to 
Santiago; arrived there, went aboard the transport Minnewaska, 
bound for Newport News, Virginia, at which place it arrived 
March 5. Here the regiment took the train which brought it 
to Fort Leavenworth, arriving there on the morning of March 9. 

January 1, 1899, Maj. George W. Ford commanding the sec- 
one battalion was granted leave of absence to come to the United 
States; at the same time Lieutenant Bettis was granted sick 
leave, accompanying the major to the states. This placed me 




W C! J 

W £ < 

H « H 

£ pS ^ 

1-1 " IV1 



cfl tn 



a s a 



w 2 J 

H U § 
^ H ~ 
« p w 

E M w 

£ a * 
H IS 



THE COLORED SOLDIER 549 

in command of my battalion with the rank and pay of major. 
A short time afterward I was stricken ill, and on January 21, 
was granted sick leave, in fact much against my wishes was 
ordered to the government hospital at Hot Springs, Ark., to 
undergo treatment for gravel and diabetes. I left Santiago on 
the morning of January 27, 1899. At 3 o'clock the evening be- 
fore the thermometer on General Wood's palace registered 82 
in the shade. I arrived at New York January 31, where the 
thermometer registered 3 below zero. This sudden change in 
climate came near costing me my life. I was not able to con- 
tine the journey to Hot Springs, remained here at home where 
I was confined to my bed for weeks. Finally rejoined my com- 
pany at Fort Leavenworth on the morning of March 9, 1899. 
During the absence of myself and Lieutenant Bettis from the 
company, the command fell upon my Second Lieutenant, William 
Green, who saw them through and turned the company over to 
me again with the loss of but one man, private George Gaar, who 
died in Cuba. 

We remained at Fort Leavenworth from March 9 until April 
1, expecting daily orders to again take the train and steamship 
for the Phillipine Islands. At last, however, orders came for 
us to be mustered out and this was done April 10, 1899. 

As stated above, with the exception of one man, Company E, 
23rd Kansas volunteer infantry, the Wichita company, made the 
long journey to Cuba and return. Since that time the members 
of the company have become scattered to the four winds of the 
earth so to speak. The grim reaper, death, has gathered unto 
the fold many of the members, while some of us are yet to be 
found on the old camp ground, Wichita, where first our hearts 
were thrilled with the news of war and our patriotism prompted 
us to serve faithfully and well our flag, our country. 

Capt. Samuel W. Jones. 

Commanding Co. E. 
Late 23rd Kans. Vol. Inf. 



CHAPTER XLIV. 

CLAIMED THAT KANSAS MAN IS ORIGINAL 
"BUFFALO BILL." 

By 

J. R. MEAD. 

Friends of Reticent Resident of Wichita Say He Was Known by 
Appellation Years Before William F. Cody Succeeded to 
Title — Fed Starving Plainsmen with Spoils of the Chase — 
Was Indian Fighter of Renown, Saving a Train of Immi- 
grants Who Were Attacked on the Santa Fe Trail. 

Wichita, Kan., June 23. — Marking of the old Santa Fe trail 
through Kansas by the Daughters of the American Revolution 
has revived public interest in the history of the state. It has 
also caused the people to wonder where the hardy pioneers of 
the early days have drifted. There are but few of them alive. 

Probably the least known, yet greatest of them all, is living 
a quiet and retired life in his old homestead within the city of 
Wichita. This man is William Mathewson, the original "Buffalo 
Bill." Closely associated with him is his one-time associate, 
James R. Mead, scout, pioneer, Indian trader, historian and 
hunter. 

It matters not to Mr. Mathewson that another bears the name 
he rightfully achieved, or that few know that the deeds of such 
men as "Wild Bill," "Pawnee Bill" and William F. Cody would 
sink into obscurity beside his achievements in a time when Kan- 
sas was a wilderness of all that was dangerous. He tends his 
garden and orchard with the same tenacity that led him to suc- 
cessfully pass through the strenuous times of border warfare. 

With Mr. Mead it is different. He first became known in 
Kansas as a commercial man. He is now living a quiet life and 
as vice-president of the Kansas Historical Society is of great 
assistance in collecting historical data for that society. 

Of the life of the original "Buffalo Bill" little is known. 
At times he will talk of the past, but only to his intimate friends. 

550 



KANSAS MAX OKIGINAL "BUFFALO BILL 551 

He was born in Broome county, New York, on New Year's day, 
1830. Thirteen years later he was in the then unknown West, 
and wound up one of the greatest trips over North America with 
Kit Carson near the present site of Denver, Colo. 

TRADING POST ON THE ARKANSAS. 

It was near the site of old Fort Zaro that "Buffalo Bill" first 
struck the Santa Fe trail. There he built a trading post on the 
bank of the Arkansas river, near where the city of Great Bend 
is now located. It was from the timbers of the building he con- 
structed that the government post was built. Here he met and 
entertained such men as Kit Carson, General Custer and General 
Sheridan. 

At Cow Creek ranch he encountered Satanta, the blood- 
thirsty Kiowa chief, and gave him a severe beating. After the 
encounter he became known among the Indians as Sinpah Zill- 
pah, the "Long-Bearded Dangerous Man." It was here in the 
big bend of the Kansas Nile that he made the famous ride which 
Sheridan declared to be the bravest act in the history of the 
West. To an intimate friend, the old warrior, whose eyes have 
lost none of their luster, Mr. Mathewson described the ride : 

"During July of '64," he said, "a band of about 700 Indians 
made a raid on my ranch. We drove them away and killed a 
lot of them. There was a big government supply train of 135 
wagons and 155 men camped out in the bottom east of the ranch 
on the Santa Fe trail. The Indians went after that train and 
came near massacreing the whole outfit. In that train were about 
twenty wagons loaded with Sharpe rifles and a lot of ammuni- 
tion. I knew it, but the men with the train didn't. You see, 
being the owner of one of the regular posts along the trail, I 
was kept posted as to what was being taken over the road to 
the West, 

ARMED HELPLESS FIGHTERS. 

"Those Indians had just about scared the teamsters out of 
their wits. With their old guns they hadn't killed enough In- 
dians to attract the buzzards. I got on my horse, and I had a 
fine one, and rode to the help of the wagon train. Keeping in 
a slough, I got within a half mile of the train before an Indian 
saw me. Then the shooting started. I gave the Indians close 
to me as good as they sent, but I thought that my hair would be 



552 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

lifted at any minute. I got through and armed the men with the 
Sharpe rifles, and we scattered those Indians like sheep. Talk 
about Sheridan's ride," and he left his chair and walked to a 
favorite bench near the old pine tree in his yard to hide the fire 
of battle that had leaped to his eyes. 

His title of " Buffalo Bill" was gained by supplying the starv- 
ing settlers of the plains with buffalo meat during the bitter cold 
winter of 1860 and 1861. William F. Cody, the present "Buffalo 
Bill," gained the title a few years later almost in the same way. 
Mathewson does not care. He lives contented on his old home- 
stead and excludes reporters and camera men from his premises. 

One of the most interesting incidents in the last few years of 
his life was when he was called upon to kill a cross buffalo bull 
that had been kept at the Union Stock Yards for several years. 
The once famous hunter fired one shot at the huge beast and 
then walked away, leaving the animal standing in the same posi- 
tion as before he fired. The spectators jeered him, but he gave 
no heed. Thousands who had gathered to see the original "Buf- 
falo Bill" show his skill denounced him as an imposter. 



CONFIDENT OF THE SHOT'S EFFECT. 

In answer, he simply said, "AVait and see." Five minutes 
after the buffalo pitched to the ground dead, and the eyes of 
the old frontiersman were flashing with the glint of victory. 

In a spacious residence near the homestead of William Math- 
ewson lives another man, who gave years of the best part of his 
life helping to develop the plains. This man is James R. Mead. 
He, too, is growing old, but does not live altogether in the mem- 
ories of the past. Coming to Kansas from Iowa in 1859, he early 
saw the great profit that would result from hunting, trapping 
and trading trinkets to the Indians for robes and furs. At this 
time Mead was but 23 years old, but wise beyond his years in 
the ways of the West. He was born in Vermont and made the 
trip to Iowa in a wagon with his parents when a child. The 
names of 25 per cent of the small creeks of Kansas were given 
following his explorations. Along the course of the Smoky Hill 
river, in northern Kansas, Mead killed his first buffalo. In his 
life on the plains he probably shot more buffalo than any other 
man of his time. 

"The warm blood of youth warms for adventure," he said. 



KANSAS MAN OBIGINAL "BUFFALO BILL 553 

"Here was an opportunity to satisfy my longing to make my way. 
My impatient rifies longed to show their mettle. Later they had 
their fill, for to my shame be it recorded that they laid low 2,000 
buffalo and other of God's creatures in proportion during many 
years of service." 

KILLED BUFFALO FOR GAME. 

It was Mead who first planned to kill buffalo for their hides 
and tallow in the southwestern part of Kansas. It was Mead's 
wagon train that took the first large consignment of buffalo hides 
to Fort Leavenworth from the valley of the Little Arkansas 
river, where the city of Wichita is located. He camped on the 
Santa Fe trail with Kit Carson. 

Like William Mathewson, he was a friend of the wild Indian, 
and had as many friends among the red men as among the whites. 
Unlike Mathewson, he never played an important part in the 
struggles between the soldiers and the Indians. He has said 
that the years of bloodshed and strife between the government 
and the Indians were the result of ignorant diplomats and worse 
statesmen. [j ; 

His old homestead in what is now the heart of Wichita was 
taken by Mr. Mead when Wichita was the headquarters of the 
Wichita Indians. On the exact spot where he built his cabin 
there is now being erected a Catholic cathedral that is to cost 
not less than $100,000. 

The lives of these two men and the many thrilling scenes 
through which they passed will never be known. It is seldom 
that they will talk of the past. Mead is yet actively engaged in 
managing his properties. Mathewson was a frontiersman, and 
as such is a typical specimen of J. Fenimore Cooper's ''Leather 
Stocking. ' ' 

Note: Since the above article was written, James R. Mead 
has passed to the Great Beyond. 



CHAPTER XLV. 
PAYNE'S DREAM CAME TRUE. 

By 
FARMER DOOLITTLE. 

Every time I look at the picture of the brave, generous Cap- 
tain Payne I am reminded of a speech made at a banquet given 
by the "Wichita Union Livestock Exchange at the Commercial 
Club rooms about a year ago. It was said that many of the great 
achievements accomplished by men were at first but dreams in 
the mind of somebody, and adding that the Wichita of today is 
the realization of the dream of Marsh Murdoch. I remember 
when my friend, Captain Payne, gave me the picture and in- 
scribed his name thereon. What was said about Col. M. M. Mur- 
dock and Wichita would apply with equal truthfulness to Capt. 
David L. Payne and Oklahoma City. The Oklahoma City of today 
is a realization of the dream of Captain Payne. 

Payne was not a salesman or a builder of a state. He was a 
bold pioneer who suffered hardships and risked his life to secure 
homes for the people and I feel sad when thinking of the rough 
treatment this generous pioneer received at the hands of the 
cattle men and the federal army — but this is not telling about 
the dream of Captain Payne. I think it must have been in the 
fall of 1877, two years before the opening of old Oklahoma to 
settlement, that Payne told me of his dream of a city. We were 
walking around one pleasant moonlight night and it was well 
along towards midnight when we sat down on the edge of the old 
Santa Fe depot and continued our conversation. I said: "Cap, 
is this Oklahoma business all a fake, and why are you collecting 
money from these prospective settlers with the promise that they 
will secure some rights in the founding of a city?" Then Payne 
explained that this part of the Indian Territory called Oklahoma 
was really a good land and some day it would be the home of 

554 



PAYNE'S DEEAM CAME TKUE 555 

thousands of happy, prosperous people. He said these people who 
were paying small amounts of money for memberships in the 
colony would not receive any rights. He said the money would 
be used to finance raids into Oklahoma and keep up the agitation 
until the country was opened up to settlement. By standing 
together he thought the colony of "Oklahoma Boomers" would 
be able to control "Oklahoma City." It was only a name then. 
Just a dream in the mind of Captain Payne. My old friend 
became enthusiastic, or, rather, more sanguine as he talked. He 
said the spot which they had selected on which to found the city 
was just the right distance from Wichita. The streams and 
valleys were like the location in Wichita. Oklahoma City, he said, 
would be a second Wichita and the line of great cities would be 
Chicago, Kansas City, Wichita, Oklahoma City, Fort Worth and 
Galveston. That was the dream of Captain Payne and no man 
ever believed more firmly in a prohecy than did Payne believe 
that his dream would be fulfilled to the letter. I wish he could 
have lived until now to see how correctly he reasoned and 
dreamed. 

The above, from the pen of the well known writer, "Farmer 
Doolittle," is gladly given a place in these columns; Farmer 
Doolittle, whose real name is George Litzenberg, is a prolific and 
accomplished writer of many years' experience on the local press. 
Captain Payne was his intimate friend. He writes from a close 
personal friendship and experience. — Editor. 



THE NEW COUNTRY SOUTH OF US. 

It was a fondly cherished dream of Capt. D. L. Payne, Colonel 
Cole, and his associates, that the opening of the new country 
south of Kansas would greatly enhance the agricultural pros- 
pects of Sedgwick county and all of southern Kansas as well. 
Payne organized his Oklahoma boomers in Wichita. This was the 
seat of the Oklahoma Colony; here was the seat of the rallies 
that culminated in the various raids made upon the promised 
lands and headed by the redoubtable Captain Payne himself. 
Just east of Wichita was the home of Captain Couch, who was 
Payne's chief of staff. Here lived Nugent and Oklahoma Harry 
Hill and many others whose names are associated with Payne in 
the opening of Oklahoma. 

It was contended that the plowing of the prarie south of us 



556 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

and the tilling of the soil, and the planting of trees, and the 
consequent evaporation would temper the hot winds and cool 
the air blowing from the south; all this has been accomplished; 
Payne is dead, many of his followers and companions have 
passed to the great beyond, but their efforts live after them in 
the memory of countless men and women who have found happy 
homes in Oklahoma, that fair land to the south of us whose crops 
seldom fail and whose acres now teem with a most abundant 
harvest. Oklahoma has one great advantage over Kansas — it 
raises all that Kansas can raise, and in addition that queen of 
the South, "cotton"; but the whole country owes a lasting debt 
to the man of Sedgwick county and the press of Sedgwick county, 
who, early and late, in season and out of season, worked for the 
opening of Oklahoma. — Editor. 



THE CHEROKEE STRIP. 

The opening of the Cherokee strip in Oklahoma on September 
16, 1896, was an epoch in "Wichita. The Cherokee strip is a strip 
of land two counties wide along the south line of Kansas in the 
new state of Oklahoma ; many people in Wichita and southern 
Kansas had gazed at the strip with longing eyes ; some of the 
great cattle pastures owned by Kansas people were in the Chero- 
kee strip. One Wichita man had a pasture in the strip south of 
Caldwell, Kan., twenty miles square. The efforts of Capt. David 
L. Payne and his associates had forced the opening of Oklahoma, 
the Cherokee strip only remained as a barrier between Kansas 
and what afterwards became the great state of Oklahoma. The 
pressure on Congress to open this magnificent stretch of virgin 
soii was intense ; this pressure was resisted by the wealthy cattle 
barons, whose herds had cropped the rich grasses and thrived 
upon the strip for many years. At last the strip was opened and 
on the day of its opening there was a rush for homes and claims ; 
new towns sprung up like magic, and new farms opened out. 
Wichita had been the head center of this agitation; for many 
years all of this surrounding country had been lined up by the 
lectures of Captain Payne, General Weaver and the powerful 
press of Wichita and southern Kansas. A few short years has 
produced a wonderful change in the Cherokee strip ; busy marts 
of trade, flourishing towns and fertile fields take the place of the 



PAYNE'S DREAM CAME TRUE 557 

big steer and his sister; and what is the result? The hot winds 
tempered by the cultivated soil on the south of us, a new field 
and a growing population, immense productions of corn, wheat, 
oats, Kaffir corn, cane and alfalfa, hogs and cattle, and all trib- 
utary to Wichita. Captain Payne, General Weaver, Billy Couch 
and all of the Oklahoma boomers builded better than they 
know. — Editor. 



CHAPTER XLVI. 

RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

BOOSTERS BROUGHT IN THE RAILROADS. 

By 
0. H. BENTLEY. 

Wichita has always made a strenuous struggle for railways. 
It should have been on the main line of the Santa Fe, but fate 
decreed otherwise. When the Santa Fe was built to Emporia, 
Wichita, a mere hamlet in those days, tried to get it, but failed. 
Newton, then a lively frontier town, got the road, and from that 
point it gradually extended to the westward. 

Later on, however, as Wichita grew, the Santa Fe, ever jeal- 
ous of its territory, projected the Wichita & Southwestern to this 
point. This line was hastily constructed from Newton to Wich- 
ita. The people here would have given half the town to the rail- 
road company to get them in. The building of the pioneer rail- 
road into Wichita made it almost in a day the greatest primary 
wheat market in the world, drawing the wheat wagons for a 
hundred miles to the south and southwest, and later the renowned 
cattle shipping point, the end of the Texas cattle trail. 

The early fathers of Sedgwick county saw the blue stem 
grass sweeping their saddle horns as they rode the trail from 
Newton and Emporia into Wichita, and they realized then, as 
the present generation now realizes, that there is only one crop 
of land. Later on the Santa Fe extended its line to Mulvane, 
and then diverged, building one line to Wellington and the other 
to Winfield. This extension of the Santa Fe was supposed by the 
early fathers to be the ruination of Wichita, but a few patient 
men pulled themselves together and reached out for the St. Louis, 
Wichita & Western, now the Frisco, which was built into this 
city in the early part of 1880. Wichita had great hopes of this 
line from competition in freights and so on, but when the line 

558 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 559 

staggered into town and laid its rails to the Santa Fe depot on 
Oak street, the bubble bursted, and all Wichita pronounced the 
road a fake. 

Later on the building of the Kansas Midland from this city to 
Ellsworth divorced the Santa Fe and Frisco lines, the Frisco 
acquiring the Midland under a lease of ninety-nine years, since 
which time the Frisco has maintained its own terminals and 
depot in this city. In 1884 and 1885 Francis Tiernan, of Fort 
Scott, projected the Missouri Pacific into this town from the 
eastern border of Kansas, and later on came the building of the 
Wichita, Anthony & Salt Plains Railway and the line to the 
Northwest, known as the Wichita & Colorado, projected by Wich- 
ita men. These lines were all consolidated into the Missouri 
Pacific Railway, as now operated into and out of this city. About 
this time A. A. Robinson, then at the head of the Santa Fe, came 
to Wichita and said that his company was about to build direct 
from Sedgwick to Kingman. Then there was some very lively 
hustling among Wichita people. It was finally proposed that if 
this line should be built out of Wichita that Wichita would pro- 
cure the right of way to the west line of Sedgwick county. This 
was done and the Wichita & Western Railway, so long owned 
jointly by the Santa Fe and Frisco, became a fixed fact. 

In 1886 a few Wichita men, Senator Bentley, Governor Stan- 
ley, J. 0. Davidson, C. R. Miller, Robert E. Lawrence and others, 
projected and promoted the Kansas Midland Railway from Wich- 
ita to Ellsworth. This line was built largely by Hartford and 
Boston capital, aided by the municipalities along the line. It is 
now a part of the Frisco system. In the meantime the Santa Fe 
had not been idle. It built from Eldorado to Augusta and from 
there to Mulvane, thence westward to Englewood in Clark 
county, Kansas, under the charter name of the Leroy & Western 
Railway Company. Where they got the name is a mystery to 
the oldest inhabitant. At this time they operate this line by a 
division superintendent located at Wellington, and they handle 
the Wichita & Western in the same manner. The early plan of 
the Santa Fe was to occupy this portion of Kansas with a net- 
work of railways which should tap every county seat. They 
aimed to build a large number of towns, and no large ones, for 
the reason that as soon as a town attained any size it became 
ambitious, and at once reached out for other railroads. 

Wichita and Sedgwick counties were ambitious for railroads 



560 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

from the very start. No railroad ever knocked at the doors of 
Wichita or Sedgwick county in vain. We voted liberal aid to the 
Rock Island, and without a murmur saw our stock given in 
exchange for Sedgwick county bonds worth par, in the Chicago, 
Kansas & Nebraska Railway, the name under which that line was 
constructed in Kansas, wiped out, and the property absorbed by 
the present parent company. In fact, in the natural order of 
railway building in the West, we rather expected this, regarding 
the getting of the road as a fine investment. And so from its 
earliest history Wichita and Sedgwick counties have been in the 
very forefront of the struggle for railroads. It has been one long 
history of voting bonds and railway aid and getting right of way 
and promoting these great enterprises, which in the aggregate go 
to the making of great marts of trade and great and populous 
cities. 

When a new railway or great enterprise was exploited in 
Wichita, the patient property owners were told that the building 
of the great artery of commerce, or the completion of the pro- 
posed great enterprise, would double the value of their prop- 
erty. So with the greatest patience these property owners dug 
up the coin and subsidized themselves and their neighbors for 
the betterment of a great cause. Now, as they think back and 
recall all of these things, they scratch their heads in perplexity 
and wonder how much worse off than nothing they were when 
they started and before the coming and completion of the great 
enterprise. But with all of these great lines completed and in 
operation, the Orient in full swing and rapidly opening up to 
this city a new great territory, with the Rock Island, Santa Fe, 
Frisco and Missouri Pacific systems here, with Orient shops and 
the Union Pacific in the very near future, it seems to the conserv- 
ative and loyal citizen of Wichita that in the railway situation 
Wichita has reached the fruition of her hopes. Ten great trans- 
portation lines radiate out of Wichita, like the spokes of a great 
wheel, and the next year will probably see three more added to 
the list. It has been a struggle, but it has paid. The game was 
worth the candle. The energetic citizen has made good. The 
city is building fast and its basis is a permanent one. 

Two possessions are necessary for a western town : First and 
foremost it must have the county seat, and, second, it must have 
ample railway facilities. Both of these qualifications are pro- 
duced by the rustling men who make and build the town. In a 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 561 

store window in Denver the other day I saw this legend: "Live 
fish swim up stream, the dead ones float downward with the cur- 
rent." The struggle has been a long one. Work has been un- 
ceasing, strenuous, week in and week out. To no particular men 
or set of men belongs the credit of the work accomplished, but 
the credit is due to the great masses who have patiently worked 
and waited and paid taxes, and theirs be the victory. 

"And everybody praised the duke, 

Who this great fight did win. 
'But what good came of it at last,' 

Quoth little Peterkin. 
'Why that I cannot tell,' said he, 

'But 'twas a famous victory.' " 



MAKING RAILROADS IN THE EARLY DAYS. 

During the years of 1886 and 1887, Kansas saw a wonderful 
period of railroad building. New roads, actual, imaginary and 
paper, were projected. The Rock Island was building great 
transportation lines across Kansas, the Santa Fe was building- 
branch lines to protect its territory. Promoters of new lines were 
in the field. Each town of any prominence conceived the idea 
that it was a future railway center. It was in the air. It was 
a microbe which was contagious. It affected the most conserva- 
tive men of the state. In common with its neighbors, Wichita 
also got the fever and a bunch of men in Wichita projected the 
Omaha, Abilene & Wichita Railway. The idea was to get around 
the Kansas City pool, to get away from the basing line of the 
Missouri river at Kansas City, to reach Omaha instead of Kansas 
City. The utility of the plan was often doubted, but that made 
no difference. 

Later on, when William G. Dacey was brought here from 
Boston to finance the Omaha, Abilene & Wichita Railway, and a 
meeting of the various people along the line was held in Topeka, 
the meeting was informed by M. A. Low, of the Rock Island, that 
the Rock Island would occupy much of that proposed line. Mr. 
Dacey then called the entire project off. 0. H. Bentley was in 
the meeting and appeared as counsel for William G. Dacey. Mr. 
Dacey was about to take the train for his home in Boston when 
he was induced by Mr. Bentley to come to Wichita. The Wichita 



562 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

people wanted to build a railroad. They wanted it to be a Wich- 
ita affair, and they wanted to build it out of Wichita. Mr. Dacey 
consented to visit Wichita and a meeting was called at the Man- 
hattan Hotel. In this meeting the following named gentlemen 
participated : Governor Stanley, Senator Bentley, J. Oak David- 
son, Robert E. Lawrence, Charles R. Miller and H. G. Lee, all of 
Wichita, and Wm. G. Dacey, of Boston. A preliminary organiza- 
tion was effected and the Kansas Midland Railway Company was 
formed. C. R. Miller was made president, H. G. Lee vice-presi- 
dent, J. Oak Davidson treasurer and 0. H. Bentley secretary and 
general attorney. This organization was continued and the rail- 
way built, and the entire enterprise carried to a successful ter- 
mination. A distance of 104 miles of main line was built and 
suitable depots and water service constructed. 

The building of this line spans the gap from Wichita to Ells- 
worth, where the main line of the Union Pacific is reached. It 
called into being the towns of Bentley, Patterson, Buhler, Medora, 
Wherry, Saxman, Pollard, Frederick, Lorraine and Phipps. All 
of these towns are tributary to Wichita. Excepting a short belt 
of sand hills north of Burrton, the line bisects a veritable garden 
spot of Kansas. The building of this line and its acquisition by 
the Frisco under a ninety-nine-year lease effectually divorced the 
Frisco from the Santa Fe and gave the Frisco some 
very valuable terminals in the city of Wichita. The 
Midland was built by the Kansas Construction & Improvemeat 
Company, a corporation organized under the laws of New Jersey, 
aided and fostered by the local railway company, formed and 
chartered as above stated. For three years 0. H. Bentley put 
in his entire time in the building of the Kansas Midland Railway. 

The Kansas Construction & Improvement Company, which 
built the Kansas Midland Railway, had its principal office in 
Jersey City and William G. Dacey was its president. A. A. 
Phipps, of Boston, was its secretary, and 0. H. Bentley was its 
counsel. The stock of this company was held in Hartford, New 
York and Boston, with the Farmers' Loan & Trust Company of 
New York as its fiscal agent. This company successfully under- 
wrote its bonds and furnished the capital to build the railway. 
In common with the other lines radiating out of Wichita, the 
Kansas Midland Railway has been a potent factor in the up- 
building of the city. 



EAILEOADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 563 

FIRST TRAIN ON THE SANTA FE. 

When Wichita was yet a spraddling village scattered over 
the virgin prairie near the conflux of the Big and Little Arkansas 
rivers, the first railway came into the city. There was great re- 
joicing among the residents of all Sedgwick county on that 
memorable occasion when the first train steamed into the town. 
That was away back in 1873, nearly forty years ago. The train 
came in on rails laid by the Wichita and Southwestern Eailway 
Company. This company built a line from Newton to Wichita 
and finally disposed of it to the Santa Fe Company. The Wich- 
ita and Southwestern Eailway Company was organized in 1871. 
The charter was secured June 22, 1871, and the capital was 
$500,000. Wichita men who are well known to the present gen- 
eration, organized the company and built the road. J. E. Mead 
was president; C. F. Gilbert, vice-president; H. C. Sluss was 
secretary, and William Griffenstein was treasurer. The con- 
tract for the construction of the twenty-eight miles of track 
from Newton to Wichita was let September 9, 1871. T. J. Peters 
secured the contract, which called for the completion of the 
line into Wichita, July 1 of 1872. It was nearly a year later 
when the line was completed and trains were in operation. 

The Santa Fe south of Wichita was built umier the charter 
name of Cowley, Sumner and Ft. Smith railway. The company 
incorporated to build this extention was capitalized at $1,500,000. 
It was organized in October of 1878, and a few years later suc- 
ceeded in reaching Caldwell, fifty miles south of Wichita. The 
officers of the Cowley, Sumner and Ft. Smith railway, were: 
Thomas Nickerson, president ; W. B. Strong, vice-president, and 
Edwin Wilder, secretary and treasurer. When the railway 
reached Wichita from Newton, it was placed in operation by 
the Santa Fe. The first agent at Wichita was E. J. Waterhouse, 
whose headquarters were at Newton while the line was build- 
ing. Mr. Waterhouse 's title was terminal agent. On May 16, 
1872, Mr. Waterhouse sent W. J. Kennedy to Wichita to take 
charge of the station. Mr. Kennedy's title was freight cashier. 
He made his reports back to Waterhouse, who was still term- 
inal agent. A short time later Asa P. Baldwin was ap- 
pointed agent at Wichita, but after a few months he was 
sent to the southern terminus of the road. He was suc- 
ceeded by Charles Marsh, who is still a resident of the city. 



564 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

The succeeding agents of the road in Wichita up to 1886 were 
as follows : C. E. Warriner, H. L. Pierce, John C. Lyth and 
H. B. Keeler. 

The oldest Santa Fe time card for Wichita in existence was 
issued in 1882. This showed one passenger and one freight train 
each way daily. Now the Santa Fe operates eighteen passenger 
trains and fourteen freight trains into and through Wichita 
every day. The first shipment of freight made out of Wichita 
was thirteen carloads of cattle. 

When .the Santa Fe began operating trains into Wichita, the 
engines in use had 12 and 14-inch cylinders, weighed 70,000 
pounds and had a tractive force of 10,000 pounds. The engines 
now in use on this line weigh 215,000 pounds and have a tractive 
force of 35,000 pounds. Thirty years ago, ten or twelve cars 
constituted a load for any engine. Now seventy-five to ninety 
loaded cars are hauled. The early passenger trains carried three 
and four coaches. Now the average is eight to fourteen coaches 
of much larger size. The original depot of the Santa Fe stood 
just north of Douglas avenue, opposite the present passenger 
station. This early day station was about like that maintained 
by the company at Valley Center. Some time after 1882 a new 
station was built near the Santa Fe tracks at Oak street. This 
was the city's first union station, it being occupied jointly by 
the Santa Fe and Frisco. This Oak street station was abandoned 
about 1890 when the present stone passenger depot was built. 
It was used as a freight depot for a time till the old freight 
house, abandoned last month, was built. At one time, imme- 
diately following the arrival of the Santa Fe in Wichita, this 
was the greatest cattle and grain shipping point in the United 
States. There were no railways into the vast territory to the 
south and west of Wichita. Hence cattlemen and farmers 
brought their products overland to the nearest shipping point. 
Wheat farmers hauled their grain for 50 to 100 miles to load it 
onto cars in Wichita. Cattle were driven from deep into Texas 
by the thousands to the railway terminus in this city. Later 
all this business was transferred to Caldwell. 

The Santa Fe men in Wichita are: O. A. Brown, division 
freight agent; H. A. King, city passenger agent: R. O. Miner, 
local freight agent; E. S. Gunn, traveling freight agent; C. R. 
Gilfellen. traveling live stock agent, and O. L. Cope, soliciting 
freight agent. 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 565 

The Santa Fe Railroad, was the pioneer railway line into Wich- 
ita; it was built from Newton to "Wichita under the name of the 
Wichita and Southwestern Railway Company and large aid was 
voted to this line by Sedgwick county. It was then the cus- 
tom of that railroad to have local directors in various com- 
panies and William Griffenstein was one of them for Sedgwick 
county, also J. R. Mead. This line was built in considerable 
haste from Newton to Wichita, many of the ties were laid upon 
the prairie sod and the rails spiked to them; the line was ex- 
tended southward as the Cowley, Sumner and Ft. Smith railroad 
and the building of this line to Wichita created the greatest 
primary wheat market in the world. The extension of this line 
to Winfield and Wellington, as was then supposed ruined Wich- 
ita ; the number of times that Wichita has been ruined is mar- 
vellous but, like the fabled Phoenix, it always arose from its 
ashes. The pronounced policy of the Santa Fe was to build in 
Kansas a number of towns and to discourage the building of 
any large ones, presumably upon the theory that large towns 
become ambitious ; as Wichita grew and waxed in size the Santa 
Fe gradually surrounded it with lines, notably the line from 
Augusta to Mulvane and the building of the Mulvane extension ; 
and they even threatened to construct the Wichita and West- 
ern from Sedgwick to Kingman. Our people early recognized 
that the Santa Fe was against Wichita becoming a large town, 
but in later years this policy was in part abandoned. The rela- 
tions of the town and the railroad became somewhat reciprocal ; 
Wichita was recognized as one of the leading stations along the 
entire system and time will develop a greater friendship for 
Wichita, under a liberal management, and a greater tonnage. 



EARLY RAILROADS HAD TO STRUGGLE FOR AN 
EXISTENCE. 

The railways of a city are its chief asset. The more railways 
a city possesses the greater are its possibilities. Each additional 
railway secured by any city opens a new channel of commerce. 
And commerce rules the world. Hence it is not strange that 
the little frontier town of Wichita, springing up on the prairies 
scarcely vacated by the Indians, should in its infancy seek to 
become the railway center of Kansas. One railway came to 
Wichita in 1872. The second line came 11 years later. This 



566 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

second road was the St. Louis, Fort Scott & Wichita railway, 
now owned and operated by the Missouri Pacific system. It was 
at the beginning of the boom days when this line built into 
Wichita. A surprising change had been wrought in the topo- 
graphy of the county at the conflux of the Big and Little 
Arkansas rivers. A city of some 15,000 souls had sprung up in 
the 11 years following the arrival of the first railway. 

Then on July 4, 1883, the first train on the St. Louis, Fort 
Scott & Wichita steamed into the city. At that time through 
service was inaugurated between Wichita and Fort Scott, a dis- 
tance of 150 miles. With the arrival of the first train on July 
4 there was a great celebration. Wichita men had assisted 
materially in the construction of the line and their achievement 
was heralded as the beginning of Wichita's supremacy on the 
plains. The St. Louis, Fort Scott & Wichita railway was built 
by the Mallory Construction Company. J. W. Miller was gen- 
eral manager of the road, and the general offices of the com- 
pany were located in this city. These were the first general 
railway offices the city ever possessed. The opening of the new 
road placed Wichita 52 miles nearer St. Louis. Not only that 
but it opened for development a vast, rich territory which was 
and is tributary to the commercial interests of this city. Fine 
grazing and farming lands were opened and Wichita reaped the 
benefit of their development. 

Just as the St. Louis, Fort Scott & Wichita railway was be- 
ginning to prosper with the wonderful development of Southern 
Kansas there was a sudden pause of activities. The collapse of 
the boom came swifty. With the crash the St. Louis, Fort Scott 
& Wichita railway went into the hands of the receiver. It could 
no longer pay running expenses and interest on indebtedness. 
Shortly afterward new capital was secured and the railway 
company was reorganized. Operation of trains was resumed 
but the name of the line was changed to Fort Scott, Wichita & 
Western. That name still survives, although the public generally 
knows the road as a part of the Missouri Pacific. Finally Jay 
Gould purchased the road and it was incorporated in the Mis- 
souri Pacific system. Mr. Gould realized the vast possibilities of 
Southern Kansas and extended the line southwesterly from Wich- 
ita to Kiowa, 86 miles. This branch was completed in 1886. 

During the same year local capitalists, farmers and stock- 
men organized a company for the construction of a railway north- 



EAILEOADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 567 

west toward Hutchinson. The road was first completed and 
operated to Colwich, 14 miles northwest. Later the line was 
finished into Hutchinson. It was originally intended to build 
this line to Colorado as indicated by the name, Wichita & Colo- 
rado railway. While the Wichita & Colorado railway was under 
construction another company was building the Salina, Hutchin- 
son & El Paso railway southwesterly from Salina. This line 
met the Wichita & Colorado road at Hutchinson and both roads 
were purchased by the Gould system. The Goulds were at that 
time building a Colorado line and the Salina, Hutchinson & El 
Paso line became a part of it. This ended the building of any 
lines by the Missouri Pacific system that were directly connected 
with Wichita. Since the completion of the Hutchinson branch 
only one stretch of new line has been added. This is the Hardtner 
extension of 10 miles completed this summer and now in opera- 
tion with through service to Wichita. 



THE SANTA FE IN WICHITA. 

Two thousand passengers are handled in and out of Wichita 
every day by the eighteen passenger trains operated into and 
through this city. That means that this road brings in and takes 
out something like 750,000 people per year. And that is a nifty 
little business for any railway in any city. Of the eighteen trains 
operated through Wichita by the Santa Fe eight are on the 
main line, four on the Panhandle branch, two on the Englewood 
branch and four on the Wichita and Western line. Seven years 
ago there were but four main line trains, two Panhadle trains 
and two on the Wichita and Western, or ten altogether. A bet- 
ter comparison to show the rapid growth and development of 
the territory southwest of Wichita is this : Seven years ago the 
Panhandle line had one three-car passenger train and one mixed 
train. These two handled all the business. Now there is one 
nine-coach passenger train operated to Amarillo and another 
train of equal size operated through to Carlsbad, N. M. Both 
of these are big shopper trains for Wichita. 

A few years ago one accommodation train did all the freight 
and passenger business on the Englewood branch. In the past 
five years the big ranches in that section of the state have been 
cut up into farms. This shows up in the additional passenger 
business on the Englewood branch, which required a passenger 



568 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

train each way daily. The freight business is handled separately 
by two local trains. It is a rare occasion when every seat in 
the Englewood train is not taken. The express business on this 
branch is especially heavy. For its length the Wichita & West- 
ern is the prize branch of the Santa Fe. Three hundred people 
are handled on each of the two trains operated on this line 
every day. The mixed train also does a good passenger busi- 
ness. The main line passenger business of the Santa Fe has 
grown enormously in the past ten years. In 1900 there were 
but two trains each way daily. Now there are four each way. 
Not only that but every train carries larger and heavier equip- 
ment and more of it than did the trains of a decade ago. 

SANTA FE TONNAGE. 

From the standpoint of tonnage handled and money received 
the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe railway is the greatest indi- 
vidual concern in Wichita. How great a concern the Santa Fe 
is one can hardly realize even when considering that the com- 
pany's business in Wichita totals two and one-quarter millions 
of dollars annually. Briefly the Santa Fe is Wichita's greatest 
railway asset. Not that this road turns more money into the 
city than any other line, for it does not. It is only greatest 
from the amount of tonnage handled and from the amount 
of money collected for the service rendered. Some idea of 
the vast amount of business transacted by a great railway 
like the Santa Fe may be gained from actual record figures. 
For instance the in and out tonnage handled by the Santa Fe 
for the first seven months of this year totaled 408,000,000 pounds 
of freight. The total for the twelve months of 1909 was 536,- 
000,000 pounds. The increase of tonnage for the first seven 
months of this year over the same period of last year was 62,- 
000,000 pounds. 

The remarkable increase in the business done by the Santa 
Fe in this city is the talk of the entire system. For the past few 
years the annual gain in tonnage and receipts has been from 
50 to 75 per cent. For instance in the first seven months of this 
year the company hauled into Wichita 5,639 cars of freight and 
took out 2,622 cars. During the corresponding period of 1909 
the road received 3,432 cars of freight and forwarded 1,754 cars. 
The above figures are exclusive of live stock. Of this latter 



BAILBOADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 569 

item the Santa Fe brought in and forwarded 7,447 cars of hogs 
and cattle for seven months of this year. For the corresponding 
time of last year the road received and forwarded 7,279 cars 
of live stock. The transfer freight business of the Santa Fe in 
Wichita is also heavy. So far this year 22,000,000 pounds of 
through freight has been transferred by the local freight hand- 
ling force. Indications are that the total transfer business of the 
year will be in the neighborhood of 45,000,000 pounds. This is 
a healthy growth over the transfer business of last year. It 
requires ten regular and half a dozen extra freight trains daily to 
handle this enormous amount of business. These trains con- 
sist of from 75 to 90 cars or an average tonnage of 2,000 tons 
per train. 

A MILLION AND A HALF IN TERMINALS. 

Eleven years ago the Missouri Pacific had practically no 
buildings of any consequence in Wichita. The passenger depot, 
located at Second street in Wichita, was a low, rambling struc- 
ture of wood built in the early 80 's when the road reached here 
from the East. The freight depot was of the same nature in the 
same vicinity. 

Today the Missouri Pacific has the finest passenger station in 
the city, the largest and best equipped round house and shops, 
and one of the best and largest freight handling warehouses any- 
where in the Southwest. All of these were built within the past 
eleven years. It was just a dozen years ago that Wichita began 
to recuperate from the terrible shock of the boom. Building 
operations recommenced, the population began to increase, and 
there was evidence of returning prosperity on every side. At this 
juncture the Gould system began its rebuilding in Wichita. 

The first to go was the old frame passenger station. This was 
replaced by a handsome, three-story brick structure fronting on 
Douglas avenue. The station cost $55,000, which was an enor- 
mous sum to spend on one building in Wichita at that time. 
Trains were dispatched from the new depot following its dedi- 
cation by Miss Helen Gould in 1899. In this depot offices were 
provided for the division superintendent and his force, for the 
train dispatcher and his operators, for the division engineer, for 
the trainmaster, for the passenger agent and baggage master. 
The station is still large enough for the business of the road in 



570 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

this city, but at the present rate of increase it will soon be tuo 
small. In the year following the dedication of the new passenger 
station the finest and largest freight warehouse in Kansas was 
built. This fronts on First street and extends northward almost 
to Second street. This building was built of brick and equipped 
with all modern warehouse appliances. The cost was $20,000. 
All local freight "business is handled through the offices in this 
building. 

About six years ago the down town freight yards of the Mis- 
souri Pacific became too small for the tonnage the road was han- 
dling. The switching of trains through twelve blocks of business 
and residence districts where the old yards were located, was a 
constant source of inconvenience to the company and a nuisance 
to the public. In consequence a large tract of ground was secured 
at Twenty-fifth street for the building of a new freight yard, 
roundhouse and shops. More than $100,000 was expended by the 
company to improve this property. Today it is the finest and 
most compact freight yard in the city. Twelve miles of switch 
tracks were built in the new yards, where all trains are now made 
up and broken up. An eighteen-stall roundhouse shelters the 
motive power maintained there for service on the Wichita divi- 
sion. One hundred men are constantly employed at the shops 
operated in connection with the Twenty-fifth street yards. 

These improvements, along with the rebuilding of tracks, bal- 
lasting and other things, represented a direct expenditure of over 
$200,000. The thirty-seven miles of trackage maintained by the 
Missouri Pacific within the city has a value of $25,000 per mile. 
This brings the total valuation of the company's Wichita prop- 
erty close to the $1,500,000 mark. One of the more recent depart- 
ures of the company is the location of the bridge department 
for the Wichita division at Wichita. The materials for bridge 
building occupy several acres of ground in West Wichita. Bridge 
gangs and wrecking crews are maintained here and swift relief 
can be given in the event of an accident. 

The Missouri Pacific reached Wichita in 1883 from the East, 
was extended to Kiowa in 1886, was extended to Geneseo in 1887, 
has division headquarters in Wichita, employes 500 men in the 
city, pays them $55,000 monthly, owns Wichita property valued 
at $1,500,000, operates sixteen passenger trains in and out of 
Wichita daily and twenty-two freight trains every day; has 
twelve miles of double track in the city, has a total trackage of 



EAILEOADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 571 

thirty-seven miles, handled 420,000 tons of freight in and out of 
Wichita in 1909 ; business increase over 1905 was 200 per cent. 



THE MISSOURI PACIFIC BEGINS REBUILDING OF ALL 
ITS LINES. 

There was a time when the Missouri Pacific Railway was the 
laughing stock of all Kansas. No one thought of riding on the 
line if it was possible to avoid it. The roughness of the roadbed 
and the uncertainty of the trains were to blame for this unpopu- 
larity. But all has changed now. Last year the company spent 
more than a million dollars bettering its lines in Kansas. The 
improvement of roadbeds is still going on and will continue till 
every branch is entirely rebuilt with heavier rails and ballasted 
with something heavier than dirt. This summer and fall the 
Missouri Pacific is spending several hundred thousand dollars 
for heavier rails and ballast. At the present time eighty-five- 
pound rails are being laid between Wichita and Fort Scott. This 
will be completed this fall and the Missouri Pacific will then have 
a first-class line from this city to Kansas City and St. Louis. 

Of peculiar interest to Wichita is the rebuilding of the Kiowa 
and Hutchinson branches. Eight gravel trains are now hauling 
ballast from Colorado to rebuild the Hutchinson line from Wich- 
ita to Geneseo, a distance of eighty-six miles. The Kiowa branch 
is scheduled to have new seventy-five-pound rails and a new coat 
of ballast just as soon as the company can get around to it. One 
of the biggest and most important improvements now under way 
by the company is the rebuilding of the Colorado line across 
Kansas. This is in preparation for the heavy transcontinental 
freight and passenger business that the company expects to 
handle over its recently completed Western Pacific Railway. 
Wichita will profit by this improvement in that through Pullman 
service to Salt Lake and San Francisco will be established late 
this fall. Old wooden bridges of the Missouri Pacific are now 
being replaced with steel and concrete structures. This is with 
the view of using heavier and faster motive power as soon as 
the new rails are laid and the roadbeds have settled. 

From these facts it is evident that the Missouri Pacific is 
building its Kansas lines for the future development of the 
country. The road is no longer the laughing stock of the state. 
It runs trains on time, has few wrecks and serves a vast terri- 



572 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

tory not reached by other lines. As Col. E. E. Bleckley puts it: 
' ' Like the mighty oak which from a little acorn grew, so has the 
Missouri Pacific grown from a little branch road to a mighty 
trunk line, but in a much shorter period than required by the 
oak." The officials of the Missouri Pacific in Wichita are A. H. 
Webb, division superintendent ; S. H. Kilgore, commercial freight 
agent; Col. E. E. Bleckley, passenger and ticket agent; W. R. 
Davidson, division train master ; E. A. Sites, train dispatcher ; W. 
K. Walker, division engineer ; C. P. Hale, local freight agent. 

Thirty-eight passenger and freight trains enter and depart 
from Wichita over Missouri Pacific lines every day of the year. 
Of this number sixteen are passenger trains and twenty-two 
are freight trains. The loading and unloading of these thirty- 
eight trains, with passengers and merchandise, represents the 
day's work for the Missouri Pacific's force in this city. Being 
at the junction of three important lines of the system Wichita is 
an important passenger terminal for the Missouri Pacific. Pas- 
sengers from St. Louis, Kansas City and eastern Kansas bound 
for points on the Geneseo or Kiowa branches must necessarily 
stop over in Wichita, as the bulk of the trains on these two 
branches are made up in this city. Of the eight passenger trains 
that depart from Wichita every day five are made up here. Kan- 
sas City and St. Louis trains all run through to Geneseo. Con- 
nections for Colorado, southeastern Kansas and McPherson are 
all originated in Wichita. The Kiowa branch has three trains 
each way daily; the Hutchinson branch has two trains each way 
daily; the McPherson branch has one train each way daily; the 
main line east has two trains each way daily. 

The Missouri Pacific lays claim to the most direct route and 
the shortest mileage to St. Louis. The mileage to Kansas City 
is practically the same as that of other lines. When the rebuild- 
ing of the Colorado line is completed the Missouri Pacific will 
have one of the very best services to the Rocky mountains. By 
1911 through Pullman service will be established from St. Louis 
to San Francisco and it is likely that service out of Wichita will 
be arranged so that passengers from this city may make connec- 
tions with the through train at Geneseo. 

From a local standpoint the Missouri Pacific is one of the 
greatest roads entering the city. It has three lines, each reaching 
into a rich agricultural section that is tributary to the Wichita 
jobbing interests. To serve this territory 420,000 tons of freight 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 573 

are hauled into and out of Wichita every year. It requires the 
handling of 26,000 cars every month in the Wichita freight yards 
to care for this enormous business. It requires 1,650 cars per 
month to haul the merchandise used in Wichita alone; that 
is, from territory reached by the Missouri Pacific lines. In the 
past five years the business of the company in and through 
Wichita has doubled twice. The average annual increase since 
1905 has been 40 per cent. 

The Wichita & Colorado Railway. The building of the Wich- 
ita & Colorado Railroad from Wichita northwest marked a new 
era for the northwestern portion of Sedgwick county. For many 
years this project was agitated by various companies; and vari- 
ous bodies of men in Wichita and Hutchinson had projected the 
line, along the old diagonal road, running from South Hutchin- 
son toward Wichita, but all efforts had proved futile, until the 
matter was taken in hand by the Big Four, which consisted of 
M. M. Murdock, N. F. Neiderlander, A. W. Oliver and M. W. 
Levy, who formed a company for the purpose of building this 
line. In this enterprise these men were aided by many men 
holding interests along the line, notably Kos Harris, Robert E. 
Lawrence, Tom Randall, Dan E. Boone, George Steenrod, C. F. 
Hyde, Wick Anderson, George Anderson, Leroy W. Scott, Walter 
S. Pratt, James P. McCormick, and many others who owned farms 
and other property along the proposed line. This line made Maize, 
Andale, Colwich, Mt. Hope, Haven and the other towns along 
this line from Wichita to Hutchinson; its projectors originally 
designed to run the line directly west from Elmer, in Reno 
county, bisecting the rich territory in Stafford county and south 
of the Great Bend of the Arkansas river, but the Hutchinson 
people, headed by Sam Campbell, L. A. Bigger, John Puterbaugh 
and others went into New York and saw Jay Gould in person, 
and as the line was being built under the fostering care of the 
Missouri Pacific Mr. Gould had the call and the line was deflected 
northward from Elmer and was built into Hutchinson, much to 
the disgust of the projectors, and was at that point hitched onto 
the line from Geneseo, Rice county, Kan., which line was built 
through Lyons and Sterling under the name of the Salina, Ster- 
ling & El Paso Railway, making thereby a continuous line from 
Wichita to the Colorado line of the Missouri Pacific Railway, 
creating thereby a most advantageous line for Wichita and on to 
the mountain regions. This new line of the Wichita & Colorado 



574 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Railway opened out a new and most prosperous country and a 
fine lot of towns in Sedgwick and Reno counties, that are natur- 
ally tributary to Wichita ; it was also an important factor in the 
development of the farms and agricultural resources of a mag- 
nificent territory. This was in line with the spirit of Wichita at 
that time; the Wichita Board of Trade and its enterprising 
business men were reaching out to control the territory contigu- 
ous to the town; this they accomplished and the Wichita & Colo- 
rado was only one of the numerous railway lines radiating out 
of Wichita like the spokes of a wagon wheel; to this railway 
spirit and forethought of those men, of the big four who built this 
line, and their associates who so largely contributed to its final 
success, and to those other business men who from time to time 
put their strong shoulders to the wheel of progress and gave of 
their time, and money and energy, Wichita, the progressive and 
beautiful city of today, owes its supremacy as a business center. 
The St. Louis, Fort Scott & Wichita Railroad. In line with 
the rapid development of Sedgwick county and its shire town of 
Wichita, railroads often knocked at its doors. The St. Louis, Fort 
Scott & Wichita Railroad began construction at Fort Scott, Kan., 
in 1881 ; Francis Tiernan was its moving spirit and president of 
the line; it reached Toronto, Kan., in April, 1882, and Eldorado, 
Kan., early in 1883. At this point Mr. Tiernan had great induce- 
ments offered to build direct from Eldorado to Newton ; he was a 
shrewd and far-seeing man, and early saw the possibilities of 
Sedgwick county and its adjoining territory; the Arkansas val- 
ley looked good to him and he was not to be deflected from his 
original plan and purpose. He came to Wichita and here he met 
with the encouragement of our people ; generous aid, right of 
way and other concessions were granted to him and his asso- 
ciates. It is a fact not generally known that L. M. Bates, a 
merchant prince of New York City, loaned to Francis Tiernan 
the first $40,000 on which he pushed this road out of Fort Scott 
westward ; this road reached Wichita July 4, 1883, and at that 
time and on that day all of its men were paid off in the city of 
Wichita. Its first depot was near the corner of Second and 
Wichita streets; Ad N. Jones was the agent in charge and so 
continued for several years. Under his management the road at 
once obtained a big business and became immensely popular with 
the business men of Wichita. Later on Mr. Tiernan severed his 
connection with this line and engaged in other enterprises, but 



EAILKOADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 575 

Wichita will always have a warm place for Francis Tiernan. 
Later on the road came under the management of J. W. Miller, 
who extended the line to Kiowa under the name of the Wichita, 
Anthony & Salt Plains Railroad. The entire line then, as is 
usual, went into the hands of a receiver, but, righting itself, 
became a part of the Missouri Pacific system, and for many years 
it has been under the management of that very popular railway 
superintendent, A. H. Webb. 

The Wichita, Anthony & Salt Plains Railroad. Where the 
projectors who were the auxiliary people of the Missouri Pacific 
Railway ever got this name is a mystery, but they found it and 
built the line from Wichita to Kiowa under that name. The Mis- 
souri Pacific was built into Wichita from the east; the line was 
built to Hutchinson, and J. W. Miller was the superintendent of 
the new line. He was a hustling man, ambitious to construct 
more line, and he had a side partner named Jones, who was a 
caution to old people in Kansas; Jones laid out several lines of 
business along the Missouri Pacific, notably the Bandera Stone 
Quarry, just out of Fort Scott ; Jones also inflicted the name 
Annelly upon a town on the Newton branch of this road, up in 
Harvey county: the name Annelly is a compound of the names 
Ann and Nelly, the wife and daughter of Mr. Jones. Jones had 
been a mate of Miller's upon salt water and his influence over 
"Jack," as he called him, was unbounded; and so Miller started 
in to build from Wichita to Anthony and Kiowa; he surveyed 
the line, he got the right of way, he called to his aid Judge 
Bayne, of Anthony, and he named a town after him ; he called to 
his aid James P. Royal and Newton H. Robinson, and they laid 
out the town of Oatville. It has always been a wonder why the 
railroad runs directly north and south at Oatville and through 
the farm of James P. Royal ; it is easy to answer when you know 
that Royal was one of the original town company; and after 
Baynesville came Clearwater, and what a flurry the real estate 
people of Wichita, headed by H. G. Lee, got up over Clearwater, 
and Ed Magill and Herman Bliss at once opened a big general 
store at Clearwater ; and after that came Millerton, a town named 
in honor of the superintendent of the road ; and then came Con- 
way Springs, abounding in fine soft water, and a good town just 
west of Slate creek. Here Nick Neiderlander and some other 
real estate men made a pot of money as the road went to the 
southwest ; and then came the other towns, and Anthony and 



576 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Corwin and Hazelton and Kiowa, the Queen of the Border ; all of 
which made a fine feeder for the parent road and new territory 
for Wichita. 

The Wichita & Western Railway. In the early eighties it 
was impressed more and more upon the business men of Wichita, 
that it was of the very highest importance to have connection 
with the fertile country to the west of the city; hence the news 
that the Santa Fe Company designed building such a line was 
hailed with much joy by our people. This joy, however, was of 
short duration when it was learned that the Santa Fe had placed 
a band of surveyors in the field and was running a line from 
Sedgwick southwest to Kingman. A. A. Robinson, who was then 
the general manager of the Santa Fe, was seen and at his instance 
a hurried meeting was held in this city, to which came A. A. 
Robinson and other officials of the Santa Fe Railroad. It was 
then developed that the Santa Fe was about to pursue its well 
defined policy of building around Wichita, and it was further 
impressed upon our people that the railroad policy in Kansas was 
still in vogue ; that policy was to build up a number of small 
towns along the various lines, for the reason that as soon as a 
town became large it became ambitious and began to reach out 
for more lines of railway. Something had to be done and done 
quickly; it was then proposed that Wichita should secure the 
right of way from Wichita to the west line of Sedgwick county, 
and in that case the road would start at Wichita, instead of 
Sedgwick City. To that end the business men of this city then 
bent their energies and the Wichita & Western was an accom- 
plished fact ; it was built under that name to Kingman, and from 
that point westward to Cullison it was built under the name of 
the Kingman, Pratt & Western Railway. It has been an impor- 
tant factor in the upbuilding of Wichita. It ran the usual gamut 
of a receivership, during which time a federal judge, much to the 
disappointment of the people along its line, permitted a portion 
of the line from Cullison to Pratt eastward, to be taken up and 
sold and the proceeds applied to the payment of costs, receiver's 
fees and attorney's fees. However, this line of railway has been 
since its building a very active and important line to Wichita ; 
the building of the line brought into being the towns of Goddard, 
Garden Plain and Cheney, all active and prosperous towns, the 
town of Cheney being at this time the second town in size and 
importance in Sedgwick county. 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 577 

Prior to 1880 it was thought that the country in western 
Sedgwick county, west of the Arkansas river, was simply adapted 
to grazing, and not good for diversified farming ; this idea was 
long since dispelled, as western Sedgwick is the most fertile and 
reliable crop portion of Sedgwick county. Its farmers are espe- 
cially prosperous and its soil is well tilled and productive ; wheat, 
corn, oats, rye and alfalfa are raised in abundance, and the Wich- 
ita & Western Railway, by reason of the prosperous country con- 
tiguous thereto, is a wonderful feeder to the prosperity of 
Wichita. 

St. Louis & San Francisco. The passenger service of the 
Frisco out of Wichita is first-class to points east and southeast. 
Superior train service is maintained to St. Louis and other eastern 
and southern points. This road has the only solid through train 
out of Wichita to St. Louis. All through trains carry elegant 
dining cars under Fred Harvey management. 

For eastern points the following fast time is made by the 
Frisco passenger service : To St. Louis, 18 hours and 19 minutes : 
to Cincinnati, 28 hours and 40 minutes ; to Detroit, 31 hours and 
20 minutes ; to New York, 43 hours and 25 minutes ; to Boston, 
45 hours and 30 minutes. Since the opening of vast tracts of 
land in Florida for settlement the Frisco has enjoyed a heavy 
passenger traffic in that direction out of Wichita. Accordingly 
fast trains are operated by the system to the principal cities of 
the Southwest, as follows : To Memphis, 19 hours and 5 minutes ; 
to Birmingham, 26 hours and 45 minutes; to New Orleans, 30 
hours and 55 minutes; to Atlanta, 33 hours and 25 minutes; to 
Jacksonville, 41 hours and 45 minutes. On the Frisco in Wichita 
are : Division passenger agent and 1 assistant, 2 ; city passenger 
agent, 1; division freight agent and 3 assistants, 4; traveling 
freight agent, 1 ; soliciting freight agent, 1 ; local freight agent 
and 28 assistants, 29 ; division road master and 1 assistant, 2 ; 
engineers and firemen, 12 ; division foreman mechanical depart- 
ment and assistants, 60; conductors and brakemen, 20; section 
men, 30 ; crossing watchmen, 4 ; total employes in city, 166 ; total 
payroll monthly $15,000. 

Personnel of the Frisco in Wichita is : F. E. Clark, division 
passenger agent ; E. E. Carter, division freight agent ; H. F. Bas- 
come, city passenger agent; R. H. Phinney, local freight agent; 
E. M. Riley, city freight solicitor. — Beacon. 



578 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

The St. Louis, Wichita and Western Railway. Wichita was 
a one railroad town until the building in of the present line of 
the Frisco in the year 1879. This railroad was built under the 
name of the St. Louis, Wichita and Western Railway from 
Oswego, Kan., to Wichita and was designed to run one line North- 
west and one Southwest from Wichita when first proposed ; 
Hobart and Congdon, of Oswego, Kan., were the main contractors 
of the line. Later on a disagreement arose between the con- 
struction Company and the county commissioners and Wichita 
became the western terminus of the line. Had the line been 
built out of Wichita as at first contemplated, it might have 
changed the whole railroad map of Kansas. Great things were 
expected by our people from the building of this line, but when 
late in 1879 it staggered into town and run its siding up to the 
Santa Fe depot, then North of Oak street now called Murdock 
avenue, great was the disappointment of the people of Wichita ; 
it was said that instead of being a competing line (and that in 
Kansas is simply a figure of speech), it simply became an adjunct 
and feeder of the Santa Fe. Capt. C. W. Rogers, a hale and 
hearty but somewhat profane man, was the general manager 
of the Frisco at that time, but he was handicapped because many 
of the interests and stockholders of the Santa Fe and Frisco were 
identical; later on the Frisco St. Louis trains were run over the 
Santa Fe to Sedgwick and from that point to Halstead over a 
cut off built for that purpose, all of which confirmed the pre- 
vailing opinion, that the Frisco was simply a feeder for the 
Santa Fe. Later on after the usual receivership course, the 
Frisco built its own depot in Wichita, and now seems to be 
independent of that line, having spent a short interim as an 
adjunct of the Rock Island. However, at this time the Frisco 
is a good line for Wichita having a commodious depot, yards 
and round houses in this city, and being a fine connection for 
this city and its territory to St. Louis, the East and Southeast. 

The Orient Railway Company. It was a lucky day for Wich- 
ita, when A. E. Stillwell, of Kansas City, projected and built 
the Kansas City, Mexico and Orient Railway southwest from 
Wichita. At this time our people fondly hope that Wichita 
will remain its Eastern terminus for many years. This line 
which is built entirely independent from any of the great rail- 
way systems entering Wichita, at this time forms a continuous 
line from Wichita to San Angelo, Texas. It places a new field 



EAILEOADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 579 

at the door of this city, a new field for our wholesale merchants 
who are not slow to see the advantages of the new line ; Wichita 
is also anxious and will without doubt secure the main shops 
of this line. Mr. Stillwell, the projector and builder of the new 
line, is a well meaning and earnest man, a thorough believer in 
himself and his own energy and resources, and is said to be an 
ardent follower of Christian Science. Be that as it may he is 
a very popular man in Wichita, and it matters little to this city 
weather his religous tenets are Christian or Moslem so long as 
he succeeds in this great interprise. 

So interested has Wichita been in a close range view of the 
Orient railroad, such, for instance, as exactly when the big 
shops will be completed in this city, that the larger view, such 
as the relation of this trans-continential line among other great 
railway systems of the country, has received little local attention. 

William E. Curtis, special correspondent of the Chicago 
"Kecord-Herald," recently wrote for his paper a long descrip- 
tive story of the Orient's possibilities, of which the following 
is part : ' ' The Orient, as it is familiarly known, runs through 
an entirely new country for a distance of 1,650 miles, and in- 
stead of paralleling established roads, it will cross several im- 
portant lines with which its management can doubtless make 
traffic arrangements of mutual value. At Emporia is crosses 
the Missouri Pacific ; at Wichita and Anthony it crosses the 
Santa Fe, the Fort Worth and Denver at Chillicothe; the Texas 
and Pacific at Sweetwater; a branch of the Santa Fe at San 
Angelo, and the Southern Pacific at Pisano Summit. In Mexico 
it crosses the Mexican Central at Chihuahua; at San Bias the 
new Harriman road which runs south from Arizona, parallel with 
the Pacific, and the Chihuahua and Pacific at Minlaca. 

"More than thirty new towns with populations of 1,000 to 
2,500 have sprung up along the tracks in Oklahoma. All of 
them are agricultural settlements, and the population are practi- 
cal farmers. In Texas as many more new towns have started up 
on the virgin soil. Where a few years ago was open prairie, of 
doubtful agricultural possibilities, with here and there a ranch- 
house and a herd of cattle, are now fields of wheat, corn and 
cotton, inclosed by fences, with farm houses, barns and shade 
trees on every quarter section. No part of the country has ever 
been settled so rapidly or by a better class of homesteaders than 
have taken up farms along the line of the Orient road in Okla- 



580 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

homa. They brought money with them. Very little human 
driftwood lodged along the right of way. This fact will be 
demonstrated when the census enumerators report upon the 
development of a section of about 800,000 acres between Wich- 
ita, Kan., and Sweetwater, Texas, which is already under plow 
and is supporting thirty-two enterprising towns. San Angelo in 
Texas is the headquarters of the largest wool industry in the 
country, which has been increasing rapidly, both in the number 
of sheep and in the quality of the wool. The cattle industry is 
also very important in Texas, and is still more important across 
the borders of Mexico, where the road runs through the 
two largest and most famous ranches in the world, one 
of them has several million acres in pasturage and brands 
between 75,000 and 100,000 calves every spring. It is no 
uncommon thing for him to ship 50,000 head of cattle to 
market at one time. He is not only the largest individual 
land owner in the world and the largest cattle owner in 
the world, but the richest man in Mexico and one of the richest 
men in America. The daughter of Don Louis Terrazas is the 
wife of Don Enrique C. Creel, recently ambassador to the United 
States, and now governor of Chihuahua. Mr. Creel also has 
very large land, cattle and mining interests along the right-of- 
way of the Orient road, of which he is vice-president and one 
of the largest stockholders. 

"The Zooluaga ranch, which is second only in area to the 
Terrazas, lies west of Chihuahua, with headquarters at a place 
called Bustillos. No railroad in existence has a larger variety of 
agricultural, forestry, pastoral, horticultural and mineral re- 
sources scattered along its right-of-way, from the cornfields of 
Kansas to the fisheries of the Gulf of California, which, by the 
way, are unsurpassed, but have never been worked on account 
of lack of a market. Topolobampo may never be a great ship- 
ping port for Asia and Central and South America, as some of 
the people interested in this new road have predicted. The com- 
merce of San Francisco, Portland and Seattle is not likely to 
be transferred to that port, but the Orient railway will open up 
more different sources of wealth than any road that has been 
constructed since the first track was laid across the continent. 
It will be unique for another reason. It has been built without 
the aid of a dollar from Wall street. Thus far it has cost about 
$20,000,000, which has been raised by the sale of stock and sub- 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 581 

sidies from the federal government of Mexico, and the states, 
counties and towns through which it passes." 



ORIENT BRINGS IN TRAINS OF STOCK. 

The growth of the Orient railway and the development of the 
country it serves makes a wonderful story of achievement. Seven 
years ago there was no Orient so far as Wichita was concerned. 
Then the company's steel rails came creeping up from the South 
and finally landed well laden passenger and freight trains within 
the city. From nothing to an important factor in the commerce 
of the Southwest is the history of the Orient for the past decade. 
No fertile farms and ranches awaited the coming of the Orient 
in western Oklahoma. The railway went into those lands and 
carved out farms and cities from the virgin soil. In 1904 the 
Orient began hauling freight into Wichita. In that year the 
road hauled just 27 carloads of live stock to the Wichita market. 
In about that proportion other farm products were hauled to 
this city. In the following year 384 cars of live stock were hauled 
to the Wichita stock yards. That was a monster increase and 
all other commodities were handled in increasing amounts. The 
gain in 1906 over 1905 was slight, yet there was a gain. Then 
in 1907 live stock shipments increased more than 100 per cent, 
969 cars having been handled that year. In 1908, 1,672 cars 
of cattle and hogs arrived and last year 2,462 cars arrived. 

These figures on live stock demonstrate the rapidity with 
which the Orient territory developed into an asset for the com- 
mercial interests of this city. Thriving towns sprang up along 
the line all through Oklahoma and Texas as the road was built 
south. Practically everything used by these towns for 800 miles 
along the Orient is purchased through the Wichita wholesale 
houses. For instance, last year the Orient hauled out of Wichita 
merchandise to the amount of 30,000,000 pounds. That with 
the inbound business of the road almost equals the tonnage of 
some older railways operating through territory settled years 
ago. The freight service offered the Wichita jobbers by the 
Orient is first-class. Today's shipments of goods will be in 
Altus, 300 miles distant, before store closing time tomorrow. On 
the second day they will be on the counters in towns at the 
southern terminus of the line. Passenger service on the Orient 
consists of one train each way every day. These trains are 



582 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

operated through to San Angelo, Texas, which is now the south- 
ern terminus of the line. The company contemplates the re- 
establishment of another passenger train, which was discontinued 
a year ago for lack of equipment. The traffic on the one pas- 
senger train is becoming so heavy that the second train will have 
to be established soon. 

In one instance, where five years ago, or before the advent 
of "The Orient, " the town consisted of a small settlement, today 
stands a little city sending 1,000 school children to its public 
schools and is spending $100,000 on its court house and twice 
that amount for a water works system, piping water a distance 
of over eight miles. Where Wichita used to send them an occa- 
sional shipment, the Peerless Princess now sends them over a 
carload of provisions daily. These are not exceptional cases ; 
dozens of towns have sprung up, growing vigorously and mak- 
ing daily requisition on the merchants of Wichita for the neces- 
sities of life. As the Orient pushes its rails farther into the 
Southwest, so follow the goods of our merchants. The Orient 
has carried the products of our mercantile establishments into 
a section of country whose door heretofore was closed to us. Peo- 
ple are now drawing supplies from the Peerless Princess who, 
before the coming of this road, had hardly heard of our city. 
They have found a market in Wichita for long trains of cattle 
and grain which formerly went elsewhere. 



ARTHUR E. STILWELL. 

President Kansas City, Mexico & Orient Railway Company. 

(The following message to Wichita was written by President 
Arthur E. Stillwell, of the Orient, especially for the New Home 
number of the "Beacon." It is evidence that Mr. Stillwell places 
a high estimate upon Wichita as the commercial metropolis of 
the great Southwest and that in the plans made by the Orient 
officials, Wichita will always be considered.) 

The Orient road, when completed, will have a mileage from 
Kansas City, through Wichita, to Topolobampo of 1,659 miles, 
being approximately 500 miles nearer the middle West to Pacific 
coast tidewater than any other line. 

Nearly 900 miles, or more than one-half of this mileage is 
completed and in operation, the longest stretch being from Wich- 
ita to San Angelo, Texas. The line is being rapidly constructed 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 583 

from this point to Del Rio on the Rio Grande river, from which 
point it will make connection with the National lines of Mexico 
and will be very much the shortest line from Wichita to the city 
of Mexico, the capital of our sister republic. 

Work is being pushed from San Angelo to El Ora, which is 
also on the Rio Grande river, and on the direct or main line to. 
the Pacific coast through Chihuahua, Mexico. The Orient road, 
on the Pacific Coast division, passes through boundless fields of 
oranges, bananas, lemons, grapes, and the strawberry season, 
which is at its height in that country during the months of No- 
vember, December and January, can be transported with other 
tropical fruits and vegetables, in a very short time, enabling the 
people of Wichita to enjoy all the good things of the tropics 
during the mid-winter. 

The Orient road will have connections with not only the 
ports of the Gulf of Mexico, but also an adequate steamship 
service to and from the Orient, including the Hawaiian Islands 
and Australia, thereby placing Wichita in direct communication 
with commerce equaling any inland city on the continent. 

The Orient is proud of Wichita, and hopes that Wichita 
reciprocates. The rich deposit of precious minerals in the Re- 
public of Mexico, together with other resources, will attract a 
large volume of business to that country, to say nothing of the 
pleasure and tourist business from the middle and Eastern states, 
all of which will pass through Wichita. 

It is the hope of myself and of Vice-President and General 
Manager Dickinson that the Orient road will be completed entire 
within two years. 



ARMY OF MECHANICS BUILDING THE SHOPS. 

There is no longer any doubt in the minds of Wichita people 
in regard to the Orient railway's intentions toward this city. 
Everyone is perfectly satisfied that the Orient shops are going 
to be built, that Wichita will be the northern terminus of the 
line for some years and that the railway is strictly a Wichita 
proposition. When the Orient officials came into the city about 
eight years ago, secured bond issues for terminals, bought ground 
for these terminals and announced that the main shops of the 
railway would be located here, there was general rejoicing. The 
terminal bonds were passed without protest. But this slipped 



584 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

by and there was no evidence that the shops, for which bonds 
were voted, would be built. The time limit on the bonds was up 
and still no shops appeared. Then the bonds were voted a sec- 
ond time but with more difficulty. A second time the company 
began to wane. Finally the people were asked for a third time 
to vote Orient shop bonds. That was in the early part of this 
year. The officials of the road declared positively that the first 
unit of the shops, costing $300,000, would be built this year. 
Despite these announcements there was much skepticism in "Wich- 
ita and it was feared that the shop bonds could not be carried 
a third time. 

But they were and the contract for the erection of the finest 
and largest railway shops in Kansas was let to Westinghouse, 
Church Kerr & Company, of New York City. The actual build- 
ing of the shops was commenced early this summer and several 
hundred artisans have constantly been employed by the con- 
tractors. The first building of the shops is now ready for the 
roof. It is built of steel and concrete and is over 200 feet long 
by 160 feet in width. This is the locomotive shop. Other build- 
ings of the shops system are the power house, car shops, turn- 
table, machine shop, foundry and a dozen smaller buildings. 
Every building of the system is being built on the unit plan. 
That is, space is allowed each building so that it may be enlarged 
to twice its original size. Temporary ends of wood are being 
built in each of the buildings, whose general construction is of 
steel and concrete. When the shops are completed, as they 
probably will be within the next six years, they will represent 
an investment of $1,000,000. 

The Rock Island Railway. The Rock Island Railway was 
built into Wichita in 1887. The line was built under the name 
of the Chicago, Kansas & Nebraska Railway Company. As such 
it issued its stock in exchange for the good municipal bonds, of 
which several millions were voted in Kansas ; then went into the 
hands of a receiver. The stock was cut out in the suit and the 
road went to the parent company, where it was originally in- 
tended to land, and everything was lovely. Here was a lesson 
in high finance furnished the entire state, but the turn was so 
much antitcpated and the various cities and municipalities were 
so pleased to get the road that very little was said about the 
stock deal. Wichita and Sedgwick county were indeed fortu- 
nate to get on the main line of this system from Chicago to the 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 585 

Gulf. The Rock Island is a great highway of traffic. It runs 
through Sedgwick county; it is an up-to-date railway and we 
condone the stock deal from the fact that it has been a most 
important factor in the development of Sedgwick county. 

The Kansas Midland Railway. The years 1886 and 1887 were 
lively years in railway projection in the city of Wichita, and our 
people early saw the importance of controlling the territory adja- 
cent to Wichita; a number of business men projected the Omaha, 
Abilene & Wichita Railway. The late Dr. Furley was the presi- 
dent and leading projector of this line. The present Texas line of 
the Rock Island covers the old route of the Omaha, Abilene & 
Wichita Railway. 

A prominent Boston capitalist came here to contract to build 
this line, and at a meeting in Topeka, at which there were pres- 
ent various representatives from the towns along the proposed 
line, it was learned that the Rock Island proposed to cover at 
least sixty miles of the proposed line ; this being the case the 
Boston man withdrew his proposition and at the solicitation of 
O. H. Bentley and others came to Wichita, where the Kansas 
Midland Railway Company was formed, a meeting being held for 
this purpose at the Manhattan Hotel in Wichita. The incorpora- 
tors of the new line were J. 0. Davidson, William E. Stanley, 
C. R. Miller, H. G. Lee, 0. H. Bentley and Robert E. Lawrence. 
An organization was at once perfected by the election of C. R. 
Miller as president and 0. H. Bentley as secretary. Later on 
H. L. Jackson was appointed as chief engineer and 0. H. Bentley 
as counsel for the Kansas Construction & Improvement Company. 
The latter named company at once contracted with the railway 
company to build its line from Wichita northward through the* 
counties of Sedwgwick, Harvey, Reno, Rice, Ellsworth, Lincoln, 
Mitchell, and Jewell, to Superior, Nebraska, to a connection with 
the B. & M. line of railway in Nebraska. It was always a dream 
of the Wichita business men to have a great north and south line 
from the Dakotas to the Gulf, running through Wichita; it was 
thought that by the building of the Kansas Midland Railway to 
the north of Wichita that this dream was about to be realized. 
Construction contracts were made and certain Wichita men gave 
their whole time to the project. Surveys were run; aid was voted 
and the municipalities along the line responded nobly. A solid 
line of subsidies to the extent of almost $4,000 per mile were 
voted, from Wichita to Superior, Nebraska, and so strong was 



586 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the aid voted, that it exceeded the statutory limitations and five 
enabling acts were passed by the Kansas Legislature to enable 
the municipalities to deliver the aid voted beyond the limitations 
of the law, and the matter rapidly assumed shape. New, railroads 
were projected everywhere over the state; the Rock Island was 
building its great transportation lines to the south and west of 
Wichita; the C. Wood Davis project, known as the Chicago, St. 
Joseph & Fort Worth Railway, was in the field voting subsidies ; 
the Fort Smith, Wellington & Northwestern, a line from Welling- 
ton through Garden Plain and on to Hutchinson, was also in the 
field. The Salina, Sterling & Southwestern was also on deck, and 
other proposed lines, too numerous to mention, were in the saddle 
and a wild era of railway building and paper railroads was on 
the state. Indeed, some people doubted that there would be any 
land left for farming after the railroad and townsites were taken 
out; but the Santa Fe was busy and jealous of its territory. It 
built from Strong City to Superior, heading the Midland to that 
point. The Rock Island built its lines and the Midland was con- 
structed by the New Jersey Construction Company, headed by 
William G. Dacey, for a distance of 104 miles to Ellsworth, Kas., 
and to a connection with the Union Pacific at that point. Subse- 
quently it was leased to the Frisco and remains to this day a part 
of that system under a ninety-nine-year lease. It was a potent 
factor in the development of the northwestern part of Sedgwick 
county. Bentley, named after the secretary of the line ; Patterson, 
Medora, Buhler, Wherry, named after and in compliment of 
Frank P. Wherry, of St. Louis, for years private secretary of 
Captain Rogers, general manager of the Frisco Railway ; Pollard 
and Lorraine, named after a daughter of Governor W. E. Stanley,, 
came into being and are all prosperous towns, naturally tributary 
to the city of Wichita. To this enterprise the people along the 
line gave the most loyal support. Such men as John T. Carpenter, 
James Beard, J. E. Howard, W. O. Vanarsdale, Dr. Hunt, John 
Shive, A. B. Buhler, Fred Cooper, C. W. Silver, Ira E. Lloyd, 
Charles J. Evans, and many others along its line and in the towns, 
gave their money, their time and their influence to complete this 
line. The Kansas Midland was and is another spoke in the wheel 
which brings commerce to a great city, and its projectors and 
builders are indeed entitled to their share in the glory of Wichita 
as a great commercial and growing metropolis. 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 587 

A CRYING NEED. 

By 

J. J. BARRETT. 

I have lived in several states and have seen localities de- 
velop and grow, and for several years past I have lived in the 
Indian Territory part of Oklahoma. For several years I have 
been attracted to Wichita, and for months past have made this 
city my home. I therefore speak as an observer and also actuated 
by self interest. "What Wichita needs at this time is cheap fuel. 
It is true we have natural gas, but the lasting quality of natural 
gas is limited ; this is the history of natural gas in all of the 
American fields ; it is also suspected that the natural gas of Wich- 
ita and other adjoining towns is furnished from what is known 
as the Iola Quadrangle, and upon this Quadrangle have been 
located some of the greatest gas consumers in Kansas ; they are 
still making a constant drain upon this supply, to such an extent 
that an effort is now being made to tap a field further south in 
what is known as the Hog Shooter District. At any rate, Wichita 
needs as a growing town connection with the rich coal fields to 
the southeast of Kansas. These fields are found in the old Indian 
Territory along the line of the Midland Valley Railroad. This 
line reaches now from Fort Smith to Arkansas City, Kan., and 
should be built to Wichita. This would give Wichita a direct line 
to the coal fields ; these coal fields are located in Haskell and Le- 
Flore counties, in Oklahoma, and these counties are traversed 
by the Midland Valley Line; these fields are the most extensive 
in the new state. In addition to tapping these rich mineral 
fields, the Midland Valley reaches fine timber belts, all of which 
is needed by this city as a growing and expanding town. The 
Midland Valley Line also taps the Osage country, and a number 
of growing towns like Tulsa and Muskogee ; Tulsa is in the 
Arkansas valley and Muskogee at the junction of the Verdigris 
and Grand rivers, where they join the Arkansas. Both towns are 
also in the rich oil fields of the Indian portion of Oklahoma; 
therefore, the building of that short gap of railroad from Arkan- 
sas City to this city would place all of these commodities at our 
very door. The importance of the extension of the Midland Val- 
ley Railway from Arkansas city to this city cannot be over- 
estimated. 



588 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

SURVEYING A NEW ROUTE TO WICHITA. 

By 

CHARLES H. BROOKS. 

The ambition of the city of Wichita has for twenty years been 
to obtain direct connections with the coal and lumber regions 
lying to the southeast and also to link itself more closely by direct 
railway connections with western and northwestern Kansas. 
From time to time attempts have been made looking to a fulfill- 
ment of these ambitions, but nothing has ever come of it. It is 
apparent to every thoughtful man that Wichita, in order to main- 
tain its commercial supremacy, must extend its railway connec- 
tions into that portion of Kansas which is naturally tributary to 
it. At one time the lines extending into Oklahoma gave Wichita 
practically the command of the trade in that territory. Of late 
years the competition along those lines has become stronger and 
our business men and manufacturers are confronted with the 
necessity of reaching out into new fields and tapping new terri- 
tory which has hitherto been neglected. People are beginning 
to see that Wichita, in order to enjoy all the advantages to which 
its location entitles it, must become more of a Kansas town. 

The extension of the Midland Valley Railroad from Arkansas 
City on the south to a connection with the Union Pacific Railroad 
on the north would be an important step toward the realization 
of these ambitions. The Midland Valley Company now owns and 
operates a line of railroad between Arkansas City, Kan., and 
Fort Smith, Ark. It passes through the Osage Nation, where 
countless herds of cattle roam and fatten, and taps along its route 
the richest coal fields in the West. Its connections pierce the 
great lumber districts of Arkansas and Louisiana. By the con- 
struction of a railroad across a gap of about 250 miles in a south- 
erly direction from Fort Smith the company will have a direct 
line to New Orleans. The region traversed by the road in Okla- 
homa is not only rich in agriculture, but embraces the greatest 
oil, coal and gas fields in the United States. By establishing 
direct connections with the Union Pacific on the north all of 
northwestern Kansas now closed to Wichita merchants and 
traders will become tributary territory. 

The city of SaliDa is eighty-six miles north of Wichita and 186 
miles from Kansas City. From Salina branches of the Union 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 589 

Pacific cover northwestern Kansas. This connection would place 
all of that productive district 100 miles nearer Wichita than 
Kansas City. The immense advantage of this to Wichita is appar- 
ent. Not only would an immense area be added to Wichita's 
jobbing territory, but Wichita would become the principal mar- 
ket for the vast quantities of grain and live stock produced in 
that part of the state. This connection would also give Wichita 
a direct line to Omaha and the shortest line to Denver. While 
the mileage to be constructed is comparatively short, no railroad 
project could be proposed which would contribute so much to the 
upbuilding of the trade and commercial supremacy of this city. 
The plan of the owners of the Midland Valley contemplates not 
only the extension of their line to a connection with the Union 
Pacific on the north, but also to fill in the gaps on the south, 
which when completed will give them a direct short line from the 
wheat fields of southern, northern and western Kansas through 
Wichita, through the great coal, gas, oil and timber regions, to 
the great market of New Orleans. 

The hearty co-operation of the people along the line of this 
proposed extension will insure its speedy construction. The peo- 
ple of Wichita should awake to the importance of this enterprise 
and see that nothing is left undone to make it a certainty. The 
company which proposes to build this line from Arkansas City to 
McPherson is composed largely of Wichita business men. Early 
in August the Wichita, McPherson & Gulf Railway Company was 
chartered and organized. The capital of the company is 
$2,500,000. A subsidiary company was organized at the same 
time. This corporation is the Midland Construction Company, 
and its purpose is to build the proposed Wichita, McPherson & 
Gulf Railway. The officers of these two companies are: C. E. 
Ingersoll, of Philadelphia, president ; Frank C. Wood, of Wichita, 
vice-president; A. W. Lefeber, of Muskogee, treasurer. For the 
construction company the officers are : C. E. Ingersoll of Phila- 
delphia, president; J. W. McCloud, of Muskogee, vice-president; 
A. W. Lefeber, of Muskogee, treasurer ; W. C. Edwards, of 
Wichita, secretary. Charles H. Brooks, of this city, will be 
general counsel for both companies. Already the company is at 
work with the preliminary surveys for the road. A corps of 
fifteen engineers has been at work between Wichita and McPher- 
son for the past month. Right-of-way men will be sent out 



590 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

shortly, as it is the intention of the company to build the line 
as quickly as possible. 

Proposed Railway Lines. Four lines of railway are now pro- 
jected in and out of Wichita. The Wichita, Kinsley & Denver 
Air line, the Orient from this city Northeasterly to Kansas City, 
the Kansas Northwestern from here to Great Bend, thence to 
Benkelman, Neb., and the Yankton, Wichita & Gulf Railway. 
The latter project is known as the Fremont Hill line, and Mr. 
Hill has been across the water for some time in the interest of his 
project. The latter line would be a most wonderful line for Wich- 
ita, Sedgwick county and the belt of country traversed. It would 
be a rate breaker and would move the basing line from Kansas 
City westward. The Orient line eastward is regarded as a cer- 
tainty — as it completes the links in the chain of a great trans- 
continental line, 1,600 miles long. The Kinsley project if it fell 
into the hands of one of the existing trunk lines, like the Union 
Pacific or B. & M., would make a short line to the Northwest 
and the intermountain region. The Kansas Northwestern would 
serve the same purpose and occupy a most important territory 
for Wichita, and the Yankton line would create a great north 
and south line from the Dakotas to the Gulf of Mexico. An- 
thracite, lignite and grain to the south, and lumber and cotton 
to the north. 

With her present railways and the proposed lines completed 
Wichita's position in the great interior West would be a magical 
one, and a most commanding one. She would easily fulfill the 
predictions of Colonel Murdock, the great editor of the Wichita 
"Eagle," when he named her "The Magical Mascot of the 
Meridian." 



WICHITA IS FIRST AS RAILWAY CENTER. 

As to transportation facilities, the city of Wichita, so far as 
steam railroad transportation is concerned, has few if any equals 
among the western cities. It will no doubt surprise many people 
in Wichita to learn that there is no city in the state that has as 
many steam railroads and electric lines entering it, and from all 
points of the compass. And these railroads are so arranged 
that it is possible to reach every city of any importance in the 
state of Kansas without any trouble. And also directly every 
city west of the Mississippi, and extending to the Pacific ocean. 



EAILEOADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 591 

There are at the present time five railroad systems radiating 
from Wichita, three more are proposed and being pushed along 
rapidly, and there are two interurban electirc lines in prospect 
with one interurban in course of construction. These railroads 
offer facilities better than any other city in the state of Kansas 
or any adjoining state. The new lines in course of construction, 
the many improvements that are being made in the way of 
shops, freight yards, stations, etc., together with the several 
railroads that are now proposed, will add largely to the freight 
and passenger traffic into Wichita, and when completed to the 
extent planned will not be excelled by any city in adjoining 
states. It will materially change, alter and reduce many of the 
inconveniences of the outbound and inbound shipments to and 
from the city of Wichita, and not only that, but will add largely 
to the appearance of the city. 

The Kansas City, Mexico & Orient Railroad is now making 
an extremely large expenditure on its shops and roundhouse now 
in course of construction. When completed the Orient shops 
will be among the best shops this side of St. Louis and as a 
result a colony will be formed in that part of the city of the 
many men who will be employed there. All the railroads will 
be at an enormous expense in building the proposed elevated 
tracks and union station. When the union station is completed 
it will be one of the most commodious, convenient and safe pas- 
senger stations in the state and the railroads can with a greater 
degree of safety handle a greater number of passengers in the 
same length of time. Another thing to be considered is that 
Wichita is situated in a locality where it will control the greater 
portion of the trade traffic to the Southwest. Bounded on all 
sides by fertile farms, in the center of the wheat belt, command- 
ing the trade from all parts of the state for the reason that its 
railroad facilities reach to all parts of the state, there is no city 
in the Southwest that offers so great advantages to the manu- 
facturing and other shipping interests as does the city of Wichita. 

It can be truthfully said that the authorities operating vari- 
ous railroads in the city of Wichita have never been unreasonably 
arbitrary, but have always been ready to receive and consult 
with their patrons. The higher authorities of each road have 
also been very considerate of the welfare of the citizens of 
Wichita and its patrons, feeling that fairness and justice are 
the best paying investments that could be made by any public 



592 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

utility and therefore the most humble patron or shipper has 
always had access to the officer or officers of these various com- 
panies, has had a hearing and, as a rule, just treatment. With 
the Kansas City, Mexico & Orient, the Fort Scott, Wichita & 
Western, and the Frisco to the east; the Chicago, Rock Island 
& Pacific and the Orient to the south ; the proposed Wichita, 
McPherson & Gulf, proposed Yankton, Wichita & Gulf, Atchison, 
Topeka & Santa Fe and the proposed Arkansas City Interurban 
to the southeast; Fort Scott, Wichita and Western and the Santa 
Fe to the southwest ; the Missouri Pacific and the proposed Wich- 
ita, Kinsley, Scott City & Denver, also many connections with 
other railroads to the west; and the Frisco, Santa Fe and Rock 
Island, together with the proposed Yankton, Wichita & Gulf, 
proposed Wichita, McPherson & Gulf, and the interurban now in 
course of construction to Hutchinson, Wichita can touch any part 
of the state and demand a greater traffic than any other city in 
the state or than most western cities of other states. 



CENTRAL POINT FOR RAILROADS. 

The railway center of Kansas is Wichita. More trains, both 
passenger and freight, run in and out of this than any other 
city in the state. The volume of business handled by all of these 
lines exceeds the business handled by all lines of any other city 
in the state. These are broad statements, but railway officials 
who are acquainted with conditions in every surrounding city 
declare them to be true. As the railway metropolis of Kansas, 
Wichita has an average of 110 freight and passenger trains in 
and out of the city every day. 

Although but two of the five companies maintain divisions 
here the total number of railway men in the city is upwards of 
1,500. These men draw salaries totaling nearly $100,000 per 
month. A large number of them live in their own homes. 
Within the limits of the city there are seventy-five miles of 
trackage, including main lines, sidings and switches. Several 
miles more are to be constructed during the present year. The 
switch tracks of the stock yards terminal association are now 
being entirely rebuilt. The biggest item on the railway calen- 
dar for the coming year is the elevation of tracks over Douglas 
avenue and the building of a union station. The railways have 
been considering this matter for six months and are now making 



RAILROADS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 593 

plans and estimates for the improvement. A board of appraisers 
has been at work in the city for several weeks securing valu- 
ations of all railway property and adjacent ground that will be 
necessary for a large union station. 

There are four roads in the proposed joint elevation of tracks, 
the Santa Fe, Rock Island, Frisco and Orient. The Missouri 
Pacific, having a suitable location of its own, has not yet decided 
to join in the union station proposition. The entire improvement 
of elevated tracks and union depot will cost between three and 
four millions of dollars. Second in interest is the Orient shops 
proposition. "Within the past week actual work on the con- 
struction of these large repair shops was commenced. It will 
require at least six months to finish the first unit of these shops, 
which will represent an outlay of $1,000,000 when finished. 
The unit to be finished this year will cost $300,000. A third 
notable improvement for this year will be the removal of the 
Rock Island yards from their present location south of the 
freight house to a new location north of the packing houses. 
Ground has already been purchased for this change and the work 
of transferring the present yard facilities will begin shortly. 
This road expects to spend $200,000 improving its freight han- 
dling facilities during the next six months. Another improve- 
ment which this road is making is the ballasting of its line from 
Caldwell to Herrington by the way of Wichita. This will mean 
a much smoother roadbed and faster service. 

The Missouri Pacific also is ballasting its southern Kansas 
lines. Before summer closes the entire Wichita division will 
have been reballasted. Three work trains are now ballasting 
the Kiowa branch from Conway Springs to Wichita. A large 
portion of the Wichita division is now being rebuilt with 85- 
pound rails. The Santa Fe is just completing its new freight 
house, which cost the company, ground and building, $150,000. 
It is one of the largest and best equipped freight houses in the 
Southwest. With the removal of the freight offices to the new 
home the old freight house is to be torn down. It will be 
replaced either by the new union station or with switch tracks 
if some other location is chosen for the union depot. The Rock 
Island is badly in need of a new freight house and plans are 
now being prepared for a modern railway warehouse. Con- 
struction will be delayed, however, till the union depot matter is 
definitely settled. 



CHAPTER XL VII. 
THE UNITED STATES WEATHER BUREAU. 

By 
RICHARD H. SULLIVAN, 

Local Forecaster, Weather Bureau, Wichita, Kan. 

Institution and Expansion of the Service — Establishment of a 
First- Class Observing Station at Wichita, in the Heart of 
Sedgwick County — Climate of Wichita and Sedgwick County 
— Accepted Scientific Views Regarding Change of Climate. 

INTRODUCTION. 

As a matter of historical interest to the people of Sedgwick 
county and to prospective residents of the future, it has been 
deemed best to confine the discussion of the meteorological serv- 
ice of the United States to three parts, under the following 
headings : 

Part I. Scope of the National Weather Service. The rea- 
sons for its establishment and its subsequent expansion as a 
working force in the interests of the public. 

Part II. The Climatology of Wichita and Sedgwick County. 
Establishment, equipment and work of the station at Wichita, 
together with climatological data collected during the period 
July 1, 1888, to May 1, 1910. Aside from incidental changes 
from time to time, the averages will be standard for a long time 
to come. 

Part III. So-called Change of Climate. The subject is 
treated wholly upon the basis of scientific research and observa- 
tion, and the conclusions are the consensus of opinions of 
authorities of international reputation. 

The above arrangement was made for the convenience of 
parties desiring information regarding the general work of the 
Weather Bureau, and each division is relatively complete in 
itself. 

594 



UNITED STATES WEATHEK BUREAU 595 

SCOPE OF THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE. 

The meteorological service of the United States, now known 
as the Weather Bureau, was established in 1870, congress appro- 
priating $20,000 for the maintenance of a few observing stations 
scattered throughout the country. In the early days there were 
stations at Fort Leavenworth and Dodge City. Public demands 
have since resulted in an organization that now operates upwards 
of 200 stations, with 1,500 employes, costing an annual sum of 
$1,600,000. At the present time there are stations at Concordia, 
Dodge City, Iola, Topeka and "Wichita, Kan., and the station at 
Fort Leavenworth was transferred to Kansas City, Mo., during 
the late eighties. The work was originally inaugurated for the 
benefit of navigation alone, but its scope was soon increased to 
include all agricultural and commercial interests. The congres- 
sional act transferring the meterorological service from the War 
Department to the Agricultural Department in 1891 specifies in 
detail the field to be occupied by the Weather Bureau, the chief 
duties of which are to forecast weather changes, issue warnings 
of severe storms, floods in the rivers, cold waves in winter and 
frosts in spring, and to collect climatic data for public dissemi- 
nation, and also to make extended research for the advancement 
of meteorological science. 

Bi-daily observations taken throughout the country are 
assembled at designated centers for the preparation of the fore- 
casts and publications of the service, and by international inter- 
change similar reports are received from Canada, the Azores, 
Iceland, the Faroe Islands, Great Britain, Germany, France, Por- 
tugal, European and Asiatic Russia, the Philippines, Hawaii and 
Alaska, so that each morning the observations present a rela- 
tively complete panoramic weather picture of the whole of the 
northern hemisphere. In addition to these observations, records 
are made in season of temperature and precipitation throughout 
the corn, wheat, fruit, tobacco, cranberry, sugar, rice and mar- 
ket gardening belts of the country, and the collected informa- 
tion is published daily for the benefit of all concerned. 

The climatological branch of the service is divided into 
forty-four local sections, each section generally covering a single 
state, with a regular observing station as a center. At the cen- 
tral stations are collected various kinds of data from over 3,600 
co-operative stations located at intermediate points between the 



596 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNT Y 

regular stations. These data then become available to the public 
in the "Monthly Weather Review," the "National Weather Bul- 
letin," the "Snow and Ice Bulletin," and other publications 
issued by the central office at Washington. 



FORECASTS. 

There is not an individual or possession in the cities or in the 
country that is not affected directly or indirectly by weather 
changes, the forecasts of which are available for the asking to 
nearly 4,000,000 addresses daily; these are reached by mail, the 
telephone and the telegraph, wholly at the expense of the gov- 
ernment and separate and distinct from the vast numbers 
reached daily by the great newspapers and press associations. 

When the public service begins to noticeably affect the pub- 
lic purse, then all lines of industry thus affected make it their 
business to become more conversant with the methods pursued 
by that service. From the time the agriculturalist begins his late 
summer and autumn plowing until he turns the products of his 
labors into necessities obtained of the city merchants and de- 
posits his profits in the bank for future needs, weather changes 
affect every crop his efforts produce, as well as the market price. 
Meantime, the same weather changes are affecting the distri- 
bution of his products through the various avenues of trade. 
This being the case in a country where every drop of moisture 
is of prime importance, it follows that foreknowledge of moisture 
conditions for crops and temperature changes which affect the 
evaporation of that moisture are also of the first importance in 
the cities as well as in the daily routine on the farms. 

The forecasts of this service are the best that science can 
devise. It has been found that prognostications beyond a period 
of forty-eight hours are impracticable, except under special 
phases of storm movements, when the periods can be extended 
several days or a week. Upon the basis of specified time limits, 
the verifications of forecasts range between 85 per cent and 
88 per cent, and sometimes as high as 92 per cent. Occasional 
failures are unavoidable, due to deflection in storm movement 
that cannot be foreseen. No other known system can equal this 
record. Physicians have the advantage of technical examina- 
tion, while the forecasters are forced to deal with the unseen 
elements of an atmosphere that is in constant motion and is 100 



UNITED STATES WEATHER BUREAU 597 

miles or more in depth; yet, sad to relate, the doctors' failures 
exceed 12 per cent or 15 per cent. Stock raisers, wheat growers 
and the various brokers are absolutely unable to foresee market 
fluctuations from day to day, notwithstanding the fact that 
statistics furnish tangible evidence of supply and demand ; hence, 
so many failures on 'change. 

As the matter now stands, all ifs, ands, buts, isms and super- 
stition have been eliminated, so that the weather service of the 
United States has come to be recognized as the model of the 
world, and students of its methods are sent to the central office 
at Washington from every progressive civilized nation. 



SPURIOUS FORECASTS. 

Planting crops in the signs of the zodiac or under certain 
phases of the moon are astrological relics of medieval super- 
stition. The bases of almanac and all other so-called long range 
forecasts are myths. Herchell's moon-phase and weather tables 
were repudiated by himself when it was found that there was no 
definite scientific connection between weather on the earth and 
the several phases of the moon. Flammarion, the French astrono- 
mer and versatile writer on scientific subjects, could find no con- 
nection between the earth and the moon sufficient to make prac- 
tical forecasts possible. Planetary meteorology and the anti- 
quated idea of so-called equinoxial storms have no scientific bases. 
No astronomer of reputation has ever observed the mystic planet, 
Vulcan, although the most powerful telescopes of the nineteenth 
and twentieth centuries have been used to search the heavens 
during favorable periods. While the astronomers have been able 
to predict the return of Halley's comet to the nicety of an hour, 
and have been able to detect it while yet hundreds of millions 
of miles distant, these same observers are unable to find a planet 
that was at one time thought to be about 13,000,000 miles from 
the sun and about 3,500 miles in diameter. The existence of this 
so-called planet is absolutely necessary in the development of a 
sufficient number of equinoxes or assumed attractive influences 
of the various bodies composing the universe, so that the plane- 
tary influences may increase the storm periods on the earth. 
Yet, so far, the planet Vulcan remains undiscovered. 

After reviewing the opinions of many accepted scientific- 



598 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY" 

authorities, Prof. E.B. Garriott, chief of the forecast division of 
the U. S. Weather Bureau, concludes his remarks as follows : 

"The application of past and present astronomical and me- 
teorological knowledge to the theory and practice of long range 
forecasting leads to the following conclusions : 

"1. That systems of long range weather forecasting that 
depend upon planetary meteorology, moon phases, cycles, posi- 
tions or movements, stellar influences or star divinations ; indica- 
tions afforded by observations of animals, birds and plants, and 
estimates based upon days, months, seasons and years, have no 
legitimate bases. 

"2. That meteorologists have made exhaustive examinations 
and comparisons for the purpose of associating the weather with 
the various phases and positions of the moon in an earnest 
endeavor to make advance in the science along the line of prac- 
tical forecasting and have found that, while the moon, and 
perhaps the planets, exert some influence upon atmospheric tides, 
the influence is too slight and obscure to justify a consideration 
of lunar and planetary effects in the actual work of weather 
forecasting. 

"3. That the stars have no appreciable influence upon the 
weather. 

"4. That animals, birds and plants show by their condition 
the character of past weather and, by their actions, the influence 
of present weather and the character of weather changes that 
may occur within a few hours. 

"5. That the weather of days, months, seasons and years 
affords no indications of future weather further than showing 
present abnormal conditions that the future may adjust. 

"6. That six and seven day weather periods are too ill- 
defined and irregular to be applicable to the actual work of 
forecasting. 

"7. That advances in the period and accuracy of weather 
forecasts depend upon a more exact study and understanding of 
atmospheric pressure over great areas and a determination of 
the influences, probably solar, that are responsible for normal 
and abnormal distribution of atmospheric pressure over -the 
earth's surface. . 

"8. That meteorologists are not antagonistic to honest, well 
directed efforts to solve the problem of long range forecasting; 
that, on the contrary, they encourage all work in this field and 



UNITED STATES WEATHEE BUREAU 599 

condemn only those who, for notoriety or profit, or through mis- 
directed zeal and unwarranted assumptions, bring the science of 
meteorology into disrepute. 

"9. That meteorologists appreciate the importance to the 
world at large of advances in the period of forecasting and are 
inclined to believe that the twentieth century will mark the 
beginning of another period in meteorological science." 



PRACTICAL USES OF THE FORECASTS. 

Forecasts of cold waves result in protection of many millions 
of dollars in property on the farms, in the warehouse and in 
transfer by the transportation companies. Greenhouse boilers 
are heated. The general service plants prepare for increased 
demands. Fuel dealers prepare their commodity for quick deliv- 
ery. The ice factories reduce their output. Commission firms 
and -shippers of perishable goods stop consignments, and retail 
merchants prepare goods most suitable for the season. All 
cement and concrete work is stopped. Charity organizations 
prepare to minimize the sufferings of the poor. Live stock con- 
cerns advance or delay shipments in transit and provide shelter 
for stock in the yards. "Warning of a single cold wave some 
years since resulted in saving over $3,500,000 in property that 
would otherwise have been damaged or destroyed. 

The general forecasts are used by multitudes of farmers in 
hog-killing time, by sheepmen for transfer to pasturage and in 
lambing and shearing time, and by cattlemen raising stock over 
widely scattered areas. Broomcorn deteriorates under rainfall 
in open fields. It is common practice for alfalfa growers to 
consult the forecasts for probable rains. Lime, cement, brick, 
tile and sewer piping must be protected from rain during manu- 
facture. Physicians are guided by the forecasts in connection 
with many maladies, and many invalids become familiar with 
their use. Stress of weather during the heat of summer is espe- 
cially enervating to infants and the aged, and their friends and 
professional advisers are in constant touch with the work of this 
service. 

Much of the success of the fruit and market gardening indus- 
tries are dependent upon the frost warnings during critical sea- 
sons. In California, Colorado, Florida and in portions of the 
fruit districts of Kansas large sums of money have been expended 



600 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

for tents, screens and heating, smudging or irrigating apparatus 
for the protection of tree fruits and gardens, and these are put 
into use during the period for which frost is announced. The 
value of orange bloom, vegetables and berries protected and 
saved during a single night in a limited area in Florida, as a 
result of freezing temperature warnings of the Weather Bureau, 
was reported as exceeding $100,000. 

We are pleased to relate that artificial methods of preven- 
tion of damage by frost are being very generally considered by 
the horticulturalists of Sedgwick county and elsewhere, especially 
since the disastrous spring frosts of 1907 and 1909, and in some 
localities in 1910. Late experiments in the Thomas and Kunkel 
orchards show that temperatures can be controlled 4 to 5 degrees 
with a distribution of fifty smudge pots to the acre, and 8 to 12 
degrees with a distribution of seventy-five pots to the acre, thus 
allowing for a freezing temperature as low as 22 degrees outside 
the heated area. 

Many millions of dollars are involved during the floods in 
the rivers of this country, and one set of flood warnings is known 
to have saved $15,000,000 worth of property. During one of the 
greatest floods in the Mississippi watershed, lasting from March 
to June, warnings were issued from four days to three weeks in 
advance, and in no case did the predicted stage vary more than 
four-tenths of a foot from the actual height of the water recorded, 
notwithstanding the vast volumes of water with which the fore- 
casters had to deal. The flood forecasts are based upon reports 
received from about 500 special river and rainfall stations. 

The marine underwriters have estimated that ocean shipping 
saves $20,000,000 annually as a result of the forecasts and storm 
and hurricane warnings, a sum, indeed, sufficient to maintain 
this service at the present expense for fourteen years. 

The miscellaneous climatological data are used in scientific 
studies of the relation of weather to health, life and human 
endeavor, by railroads in adjustment of claims, by contractors 
in settlement of accounts, in settlement of cases in and out of 
court, in dry farming and soil culture investigations, in prac- 
tical agriculture, in the preparation of historical records, in 
studies of life histories of noxious insects, by investment com- 
panies in determining loan values of farm lands and other inter- 
ests that space forbids enumerating. 



UNITED STATES WEATHER BUREAU 601 

RESEARCH OBSERVATORY. 

At Mount Weather, Va., a research observatory has been 
established for the investigation of atmospheric problems, includ- 
ing solar radiation, solar physics, magnetism, etc., as well as 
studies of the phenomena of the upper air by means of kites and 
balloons carrying recording instruments. One of the kites has 
reached an altitude of 23,000 feet, and the balloons have reached 
ten miles or more in height. It is expected that this work of 
investigation will result in a marked increase in our knowledge 
of atmospheric conditions and a decided improvement in the 
accuracy of the weather forecasts. In this respect the United 
States again leads the world, as this observatory is the only one 
of the kind in existence. 



CLIMATOLOGY OF WICHITA AND SEGWICK COUNTY. 

Location and Equipment of Station. 

The climate of a place is the aggregate of weather conditions, 
or the combination of all the weather elements and atmospheric 
constituents into a general working factor or volume. The cli- 
mate of Wichita and vicinity is relatively the climate of Sedg- 
wick county, and for purposes of reference and comparison dur- 
ing the coming years the records of the local office may be used 
in this connection. 

Wichita is situated in the Arkansas valley at the junction of 
the Arkansas and Little Arkansas rivers, near the center of the 
eastern half of Sedgwick county, latitude 37° 41' north; longi- 
tude 97° 20' west; mean solar time at this point is 29 minutes 
slower than at the nineteenth meridian, or central standard time. 
The altitude of the city proper is 1,300 feet, as measured from 
the bench mark at the Santa Fe railway tracks crossing Douglas 
avenue; the needle of the barometer in the local weather office 
is 1,377 feet above sea level, or 77 feet above the ground. 

The Arkansas valley trends the county from northwest to 
southeast, and in the vicinity of Wichita is flanked on either side 
by ridges or gently sloping hills about 10 feet above the river. 
The Little Arkansas river, draining portions of Harvey, Reno, 
Rice and McPherson counties, flows into the county from the 
north. The station is 832 miles above the mouth of the Arkansas 



602 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

river, and 502 miles below Pueblo, Colo. The drainage area 
above Wichita is 40,551 square miles. 

The weather observatory was established on July 1, 1888, 
by the U. S. Signal Service, with offices on the fifth floor of the 
Sedgwick Block, corner of First and Market streets, where the 
station remained until its removal to the seventh floor of the 
Murdock-Caudwell Building on March 31, 1908. Since July 1, 
1891, the meteorological work has been under the supervision of 
the chief of the U. S. Weather Bureau. The instrumental equip- 
ment is that of a station of the first class station and consists of 
standard barometers, barograph, thermometers, thermograph, 
instrument shelter, anemometers, anemoscope, electric sunshine 
recorders, self-registering rain gauge and quadruple register, and 
the station is fitted throughout with all the necessary appliances 
of a first-class meteorological office. Daily readings of the height 
of the Arkansas river have been recorded since July 1, 1897, and 
a standard river gauge is now attached to the north end of the 
east pier of the new concrete bridge at Douglas avenue. This 
office is now the center of the Wichita river district and has 
supervision over the river stations at Dodge City, Great Bend 
and Hutchinson, and the special rainfall stations at McPherson 
and Medora, which report heavy rains or high water, as the case 
may be, during the period between April 1 and August 31 each 
year and on special occasions in the interim. 



CLIMATIC DATA. 

The meteorological record covering the period from July 1, 
1888, to May 1, 1910, shows the following climatological features : 

The mean annual temperature is 56.1°. 

The warmest summer was that of 1901, with a mean tem- 
perature of 81.6° ; the coolest, that of 1891, with a mean of 74.2°. 

The coldest winter was that of 1904-5, with a mean of 26.7° ; 
during the winter of 1898-9, one of the coldest on record, the 
average was 27.8°. The mildest winter was that of 1907-8, with 
a mean of 38.3°. Other notably mild winters were as follows: 
1889-90, with a mean of 37.2°; 1895-6, with a mean of 37.1°; 
1896-7, with a mean of 36.4°, and 1905-6, with a mean of 36.1°. 

The warmest month was July, 1901, its mean temperature 
being 6.4° above the normal. During the same month the maxi- 
mum temperatures ranged between 99° and 104° daily from the 



UNITED STATES WEATHER BUREAU 603 

7th to the 17th and from the 21st to the 24th, and there were 
thirteen dates on which the thermometer registered 100° or 
above. 

February, 1899, was the coldest month, having a mean tem- 
perature of 21.2°, or 11.8° below the normal. It was during this 
month that the longest period of extremely cold weather was 
recorded, the daily minimum temperatures being near or below 
zero from the 1st to the 6th and from the 11th to the 15th. 
March, 1906, is the coldest month of the name since the record 
began, the mean temperature of 34.2° being 9.9° below the nor- 
mal and 3.6° below the previous lowest record in 1891 ; March, 
1907, averaged 20.4° higher than in 1907, with a maximum tem- 
perature of 92° on the 22d, the highest March maximum on rec- 
ord. This was followed by the coldest April on record, with an 
average temperature of 50.0°, or 6.6° below normal, and also the 
coldest May on record, with a mean of 59.1°, or 6.8° below 
normal. 

The highest maximum temperature for the station was 106.4°, 
on August 17, 1909. The maximum temperatures have risen to 
90° or above on an average of 47 days per year, and to 100° or 
above on an average of four days per year. 

The lowest minimum temperature ever recorded was 22° below 
zero, on February 12, 1899. The temperatures have fallen to 32° 
or lower on an average of 99 days annually, and to zero or lower 
on an average of three days annually. Since the record began 
there have been but ten dates on which the temperatures have 
fallen to 10° below zero or lower. 

Mean annual precipitation, 31.04 inches. 

Seasonal precipitation: Winter, 2.88 inches; spring, 9.58 
inches; summer, 11.83 inches; autumn, 6.75 inches. Total average 
during the crop season, March 1 to September 30, inclusive, 24.24 
inches. 

Greatest annual precipitation, 39.46 inches, in 1898; least, 
18.19, in 1893. Greatest monthly, 10.33 inches, in May, 1902; 
least monthly, several traces too small to measure, in March, 
1910; in November, 1894, the amount was but 0.01. Greatest 
during any 24 consecutive hours, 4.74 inches, on November 12-13, 
1909; other heavy rains fell as follows: 4.32 inches, on August 
26-27, 1908; 3.98 inches, on May 31, 1908. Greatest excessive 
rainfall at a rate of 1 inch per hour and over, 2.87 inches, on 
August 22-23, 1889. 



604 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Mean annual snowfall, 14.3 inches. Greatest annual, 25.6 
inches, in 1892 ■ least annual, 0.8 inch, in 1908. Greatest monthly 
amount, 13.9 inches, in December, 1892. The heaviest snowstorm 
that ever occurred in this vicinity since the record began pre- 
vailed on March 8-9, 1909, when 12.0 inches of snow fell; at 12 
noon there was still a depth of 10 inches of snow on the ground. 
Latest date in spring that snow was recorded, May 5, 1905, the 
only time in May that snow was recorded ; earliest in autumn, 
October 12, 1893. 

Average number of days annually with 0.01 or more of pre- 
cipitation, 87 ; with 0.04 inch or more, 66 ; 0.25 inch or more, 27 ; 
1.00 inch or more, 6. Average number of thunderstorms 
annually, 51. 

Mean annual relative humidity, 69 per cent. 

Average number of clear days annually, 168 ; partly cloudy, 
115; cloudy, 82. Normal sunshine, 63 per cent; greatest, 75 per 
cent, during September; least, 54 per cent, during November; 
average during the winter, 60 per cent; average during the 
summer, 69 per cent. 

The latest killing frost in spring on record occurred on May 
15, 1907, with a minimum temperature of 33° in the city; earliest 
date on which the first killing frost in autumn occurred, Sep- 
tember 23, 1895. Average date of last killing frost in spring, 
April 8 ; first in autumn, October 19. Number of days between 
average spring and autumn killing frosts, 194. 

During the period December to March, inclusive, the prevail- 
ing winds are from the north ; during the remainder of the year, 
generally from the south. 

Mean annual wind movement, 80,812 miles, or an average 
hourly velocity of 9.2 miles. Greatest wind movement during 
any one month, 10,957 miles, during April, 1909, or 15.2 miles 
per hour ; least, 4,009 miles, during August, 1894, or 5.4 miles per 
hours. Greatest wind movement during any one year, 99,560 
miles, in 1909 ; least, 74,347 miles, in 1905. The highest maximum 
velocity for a five-minute period ever recorded was 62 miles per 
hour, from the northwest, on January 29, 1909. 

Miscellaneous phenomena : Total number of days with dense 
fog since 1888, 197; hail, 74; solar halos, 71; lunar halos, 82. 
The only aurora ever observed was a light reddish glow in the 
northeast between 8 and 9 p. m., February 13, 1892. 

The annual rise in the Arkansas river, due to the melting 



UNITED STATES WEATHEE BUREAU 605 

snows in the Rocky mountains, usually begins during the last 
week in May or the first week in June, and the waters seldom, 
if ever, cause much damage. During the past five years the 
highest stage was 6.0 feet, in June, 1905, and there has been 
practically no water in the river during the summers of the past 
few years. On account of the unusually heavy rains over the 
drainage area of the lower Arkansas and Little Arkansas rivers 
during the early part of July, 1904, a large portion of Wichita 
was under water from the 6th to the 14th of that month. The 
highest gauge readings were 10.1 and 10.2 feet, on the 8th and 
9th, respectively, and water flowed across Douglas avenue at 
Topeka avenue, and across Main at Second street between the 
7th and 13th. Aside from interruption of mercantile pursuits 
and the inconveniences due to lack of aquatic facilities, no serious 
damage was done. Early reports state that Wichita was under 
water during May 18, 19 and 20, 1877, when the stage is reported 
as 11 feet. 

Wichita has never been visited by a tornado. What is known 
as the Goddard tornado was observed in the southwest from the 
buildings of the city during the late afternoon of May 26, 1903. 
The funnel cloud first touched the ground when in a position 
some three miles west of Goddard, about twelve miles west, in 
this county, and moved in a north-northeasterly direction, dis- 
appearing in the north near Valley Center. There was no loss 
of life. 

SO-CALLED CHANGE OF CLIMATE. 

Relative Stability of Climate. 

The atmosphere, in constant motion over land and water sur- 
faces, expanding and contracting with heat and cold, absorbing 
moisture in one region to precipitate it in another, and swirling 
into the valleys and over the mountain ranges of the earth, 
resolves the peculiarities of its lower levels into a general average 
that we call climate. It gives marine climates to oceans and 
contiguous territory, and continental climates to the great 
interiors. 

Climates originated in the adjustment of the primitive atmos- 
phere to the ancient geological surfaces during the early period 
of world making, and climatic changes have been as numerous as 
the epochs in geological history. But these changes occurred in 



606 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

such multiples of ages ago that the lapse of time must be meas- 
ured in thousands or in millions of years. If the ancient ances- 
tors of the mound builders could be aroused from their slumbers 
their medicine men would relate a hoary legend to the effect 
that the waters of the southern seas once tossed over the western 
plains and the great Southwest and washed the feet of the 
Rockies. It is said that Greenland, in the process of construc- 
tion of the earth's crust, is rising at the rate of one foot per 
century. No climatologist, however, has had the hardihood to 
assert that any appreciable change in the climate there could be 
detected at the end of the longest lifetime, or even at the close 
of a millenium. In all the years since the time of Aristotle, the 
sage and scientific observer who flourished about 2,300 years 
ago, there has been no record of a permanent change of climate 
in any part of the known world. 



SUPERIORITY OF SCIENTIFIC RECORDS OVER MEMORY 
IN MATTERS OF CLIMATE. 

Notwithstanding these and the vast volumes of other evidences 
that have been published from time to time, nearly every com- 
munity contains a few individuals that are repeatedly affirming 
that changes have taken place for better or worse during the 
past twenty, thirty or forty years. How can they know when 
they are compelled to rely upon recollection? But the man with 
$1,000 to invest in farm land and the bank that assists him to 
carry a larger proposition are unwilling to accept recollection as 
collateral and come to the "Weather Bureau for proof. In such 
a case, the Weather Bureau, after carefully investigating the 
records, makes a statement that climates do not perceptibly 
change, warning the prospective investor and his financial backer 
that they should have complete knowledge of the climatic con- 
ditions that will likely surround the locality in question. We 
know that the meteorological records of the world, covering sev- 
eral hundreds of years, show recurring periods of dry and wet 
weather, ranging from periods of ten or eleven years to still 
greater stretches of thirty-five or thirty-seven years, followed by 
periods of contrary conditions. 

When such a statement is made, however, there arises a host 
in protest, without record, relying upon memory, uppermost 
in which is the abnormal of bygone times, and reaffirming that the 



UNITED STATES WEATHER BUEEAU 607 

climate has changed permanently. Here and there will be found 
a man that declares that a correct statement by government 
officials hurts his business. We answer, "How about the man 
with $1,000 to invest and the banker behind him?" Everybody 
knows that memory is defective. 

A casual comparison of the values in the rainfall diagram 
under the heading "Climatology of W 7 ichita and Sedgwick 
County," and the tables that have been prepared giving vari- 
ations in precipitation, wind velocity and relative humidity, will 
plainly show that it is wholly beyond the capacity of the brain 
to retain details of weather without record. 



INSIGNIFICANCE OF MAN'S INFLUENCE UPON CLIMATE. 

Western Asia, northern Africa and portions of North America 
were called deserts in remote ages, and we still believe they will 
continue deserts during the vast periods of time to come. The 
Chaldeans, ancient Persians, Ninevites and Egyptians exerted 
untold effort in producing verdure that succeeding peoples have 
allowed to disappear before the blistering desolation. Geological 
evidence shows that extensive forests once flourished in these 
regions, and remains of highly creditable irrigating works have 
lately been discovered in the Arizona desert. But man's efforts 
did not change the climate in these regions ; when his efforts 
ceased, the desert reoccupied the territory which had for a time 
yielded to his needs. 

The earth's atmosphere is pressed down by gravity so that 
about one-half of its mass is confined below an elevationn of 
18,000 or 19,000 feet above sea level, although its total depth is 
100 miles or more. Practically all life is propagated in this 
lower strata of the atmosphere, and, while the upper half moves 
constantly from west to east, the lower half flows in great eddies 
or whirls, called anti-cyclones, having wind directions with the 
hands of a watch, and cyclones having wind directions contrary 
to the hands of a watch. The former are attended by cold or 
colder weather and the latter by warm or warmer weather, the 
thermal changes bringing about hot and cold waves, with storms 
of rain, hail, sleet or snow, according to the season and the 
intensity of the changes. These eddies of the lower atmosphere 
carry the dust from the lands to the upper regions, whence it is 
sometimes wafted vast distances. South American dust has been 



608 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

found in Africa. The volcanic dusts from the crater of Kra- 
katoa, Sumatra, in 1883, were distributed through the atmos- 
phere of the earth by the winds, resulting in the great sunset 
glows noted in all countries in 1883, 1884 and 1885. 

If we can imagine a great cyclone affecting the country from 
the Atlantic to the Pacific, over an area of 3,000,000 square miles, 
such as the great storm of 1889, originated by intermingling of 
masses of warm air from the equator and cold air from the 
north, and which cover a greater extent of the earth's surface 
than the territory of the United States, and then imagine the 
influence of any plains state lying in the pathway of such a dis- 
turbance, we can then understand that a whole series of states, 
much less the man with his plow, is unable to control climate. 
The great semi-arid West is contending against stupendous forces 
in the form of great air currents that are charged with billions 
of tons of moisture and dust before they come within a thousand 
miles of the middle West. Each state contributes its proportion 
of dust and moisture to the geenral air mass as it proceeds east- 
ward, and these are carried away with the speed of the winds 
blowing at the time. It is evident, then, that the cultivation and 
forestation of the dry regions of the West, even though they 
had proceeded much farther than they have, could not change 
the climate. 

It is hardly necessary to more than mention such authorities 
as Prof. F. M. Ball, of the University of Minnesota, Prof. W. M. 
Davis, of Harvard, Dr. Julius Hann, professor of cosmical physics, 
University of Vienna, editor of the "Austrian Meteorological 
Journal" and author of "Handbook of Climatology," and Prof. 
Willis L. Moore, who has been chief of the U. S. Weather Bureau 
during the past sixteen years. Prof. Moore says: "Our people 
want the truth, so that they may not be misled by those who 
honestly, but nevertheless ignorantly, claim that hot winds and 
drouths will never come again; or by those who, when periods 
of deficient rainfall come, as they have in the past and as they 
certainly will in the future, preach discouragement and the aban- 
donment of lands which, on the average of a long period of 
years, it would be profitable to cultivate." Dr. Hann says: 
"The United States seem to offer the most favorable conditions 
for answering the question as to the extent to which increasing 
cultivation of large districts of country may result in change of 
climate. In the East there has been an extraordinary decrease 



UNITED STATES WEATHEE BUKEAU 609 

* * * in territory formerly covered by forests ; while, on 
the other hand, a good deal of planting has been done in the 
western prairies and plateaus. No corresponding change in 
temperature or in precipitation has, however, thus far been 
demonstrable." 

QUANTITY OF MOISTURE. 

The eastward drift of all storms and the increasing elevations 
eastward from the Mississippi river have made it possible for 
extensive forests to flourish in that region. But the vast area 
under the lee of the Rocky mountains receives its moisture from 
the far western storms after they have precipitated much of 
their water content on the higher elevations before they can be 
replenished by the moisture laden winds from the Gulf of 
Mexico. 

The buffalo grass, eking out its living on an inch or two of 
parched plain, was too dry to produce dew, except well toward 
morning, and then only under the most favorable conditions. The 
imported species of grasses, planted in deep-plowed soil, go down 
and bring up conserved moisture for their sustenance, throwing 
their whole bodies to the air and presenting cool surfaces for the 
deposition of dew while the flattened bodies of their cousin are 
stunted from lack of moisture. 

So the grass has spread, and orchard and shade trees have 
outstripped their suffering brethren on the dry run. The shack 
of the pioneer gave way to a comfortable home as he made head- 
way against his difficulties. The receptive surface of the newly 
cultivated farm allowed the moisture to percolate into what was 
once a sun-baked desert. At the spot upon which each leaf fell 
from the trees the evaporation ceased in proportion as it had gone 
on untrammeled before. The rigors of climate have been over- 
come by man, and the last twenty-five years have inclosed numer- 
ous plains cities in copses of trees surrounded by some of the 
most valuable farm lands in the world. 

It is the man that has changed, not the climate, and the face 
of nature has changed with efforts far exceeding those of the 
early eastern pioneers. The western man that has observed the 
wilderness blossom as the rose -decries his own power when he 
charges to the account of change of climate the blessings result- 
ing from his own initiative. It required more than the buzzing 
of the drones while the climate was changing to make orchards, 



610 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

meadows, grain fields and vineyards in Kansas, Oklahoma, Colo- 
rado, Nebraska and the Dakotas. Perseverance placed the city 
of Denver on the site of the Indian tepee in the valley of the 
upper Platte, and "change of climate" did not plant Salt Lake 
City in the deserts of Utah. 

The present-day western cornfield is not like its grandfather 
of thirty years ago and not like the present-day cornfields of the 
Ohio valley states. The difference is due simply to the fact that 
the latter region receives ten to fifteen inches more rainfall 
annually than in the semi-arid West, where the agriculturalist 
has learned to govern his cultivation according to this deficiency. 
Thirty years ago there was no system of dry farming. As the 
old sod plow and the wood-tooth rake have given way to modern 
farming implements, so have the vast majority of farmers dis- 
carded antiquated methods for those best suited to the climatic 
surroundings. 

Therefore, we do not say that the western country will revert 
to its former condition as a buffalo range, and that the hardships 
and -isolation of the pioneers will come again. Perish the 
thought ! But we are forced to say that dry seasons will inevi- 
tably recur in the semi-arid states, just as they have occurred 
even in the East, where abundant rainfall may reasonably be 
expected. 

Drouths, hot winds and high temperatures are not impossible 
in any section at any time. Francis Parkman says that during 
the summer and fall of 1764, at the time of Pontiac's War, a 
great drouth prevailed over the region north of the Ohio river, 
and British soldiers suffered great hardships in navigating the 
streams. Yet the settler had not then had much chance with 
his ax, and the lands were covered with an interminable forest. 

Prof. Alfred J. Henry, in ' ' Climatology of the United States, ' ' 
says: 

"The greatest drouth this country has experienced in the 
last 100 years, both as to intensity and extent of territory cov- 
ered, culminated in the middle Mississippi and Missouri valleys 
in 1894, and in the lake region and Atlantic coast districts in 
1895. The drouth of 1894 was the culmination of a period of 
deficient precipitation and high temperatures that began during 
the early summer of 1893. The subsoil from which the surface 
soil, by capillarity, draws a portion of its moisture, had become 



UNITED STATES WEATHEE BUBEAU 611 

appreciably desiccated, and the way was open to a disastrous 
drouth should the spring and summer rains fail." 

In September, 1908, the Susquehanna river was lower than it 
had been in more than 100 years, and instances were published 
of boys playing ball in the bed of the upper Ohio. A list pub- 
lished in connection with this great dry period enumerates twenty- 
three drouths, ranging from 23 to 123 days, that were experienced 
in some parts of the eastern states between 1621 and 1876. 

In the middle states, as well as the entire region between the 
Bocky mountains and the Mississippi river north of Texas, the 
great hot wave of July, 1901, broke all records in many sections, 
the temperatures ranging from 109° to 116° in the shade. These 
figures were published by the Weather Bureau at the time and 
clearly show that abnormally high temperatures or hot winds 
are not confined to any particular locality. 

In looking over the published reports we find that heavy rains 
and floods occurred in some portion of the plains states in 1785, 
1811, 1826, 1844, 1845, 1851, 1877, 1903, 1904, 1907, 1908 and 1909. 
At Fort Leavenworth, Kan., during the three months of June, July 
and August, 1844, nearly 29 inches of rain fell, while the normal 
is only 31 inches. In June, 1845, over 15 inches fell at the same 
station, and in May, June, July and August, 1851, nearly 27 
inches were measured. The great floods of 1903, 3904, 1907 and 
1908 from the Missouri river watershed and adjacent slopes were 
undoubtedly more disastrous than former inundations on account 
of the vast quantity of valuable property involved. The old 
settlers state, and the records show, that the early pioneers 
suffered nearly as much from floods as they did from drouth, 
and that a very large proportion of the heavy rains rushed over 
the hard surfaces into the runways, inundating what little culti- 
vated ground there was in the bottoms. While floods still occur, 
a very much greater percentage of the heavy rains is conserved 
in the largely increased acreage of cultivated lands, not only in 
the valleys, but also on the open prairies. 



TEMPERATURE. 

French records dating into the fourteenth century show noth- 
ing more than periodic variations in temperature. During the 
100 years, 1775-1875, the average vintage date at Aubonne was 
ten days earlier than during the preceding two centuries, and 



612 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

now it is the same as in the sixteenth century. Similar data at 
Dijon show a range in the vintage date of not over five days, 
October 25-30. The mean temperatures of stations scattered over 
the entire world show warm periods during the past century as 
follows: 1791-1805, 1821-1835 and 1851-1870, with cool periods 
between the series. The variations in climatic temperatures for 
the whole world do not range more than 1° on either side of the 
true mean, and the same relative values will apply to the United 
States, with a somewhat more pronounced change in the plains 
states. In Kansas, the range from the 21-year normal is — 1° to 
+2° ; Oklahoma, 15-year normal, — 1° to +2° ; Nebraska, 32-year 
normal, — 2° to +3° ; South Dakota, 18-year normal. — 3° to -f 4° ; 
North Dakota, —2° to +3°. 

With few exceptions, March, 1906, was the coldest March in 
the middle plains states for forty years ; and March, 1907, the 
warmest, followed in April and May by the most disastrous series 
of killing frosts ever experienced by orchardists. January, 1907, 
was the coldest January in Montana and the Dakotas in fourteen 
to seventeen years. Records for the past 122 years at Boston 
show but five Februarys colder than February, 1907. Several 
well-known citizens of Wichita traveled 1,700 miles from snow in 
Kansas to witness the first snowstorm in fifty years in the City 
of Mexico during the winter of 1907. Records at Fort Leaven- 
worth since 1832 show a minimum of — 30°, and minima of — 10° 
to — 29°, according to latitude, have not been at all uncommon 
in the plains states within the last forty years. The great North 
American cold waves over the eastern slopes of the Rocky moun- 
tains still maintain their old-time vigor in season. As a particu- 
lar instance, on March 2, 1904, the temperature at Wichita fell 
from 80° at 5 p. m. to 12° above zero the following morning. 
The dwellers on the steppes of Russia still experience similar 
rapid and widespread changes in temperature in season. 



CONCLUSION. 

We are led to the conclusion that the so-called changes in 
climate have been nothing more than irregular oscillations ; that 
a succession of dry years has given way to recurring wet years; 
that there are alternating series of warm and cool years ; that 
thus far there are imperfect seasons of maximum winds attending 
low-latitude storm movements, with turns to minimum winds 



UNITED STATES WEATHER BUREAU 613 

attending high-latitude storm movements; that drouths and floods 
are possible in any part of the country at any time, winter or 
summer, and that it is beyond the power of memory even to 
chronicle the abnormal in weather, without considering its appli- 
cation to climate. 

Wichita, Kan., May 1, 1910. 



THE WEATHER BUREAU. 

Wichita likes things that are right up to the minute. In this 
respect nothing is excepted, not even the weather. Kansas 
weather is a rather unstable creature with many curious turns 
and rapid changes. Hence it is not at all easy to keep right up to 
the times as regards clouds, sunshine, precipitation, dews, frost* 
and humidity. 

Yet W 7 ichita manages to keep well alongside of Kansas 
weather. Indeed, Wichita very frequently runs ahead of old 
Dame Nature and makes ready for whatever sort of temperature 
and conditions the old lady brings along when she visits this 
section. 

In keeping even with or just a little ahead of Kansas weather, 
Wichita is very ably assisted by Richard H. Sullivan, govern- 
ment weather forecaster for Wichita and vicinity. Mr. Sullivan 
knows all the tricks of the wind currents, the clouds, storms and 
calms. He views them with the eye of an expert from the top of 
the Murdock-Caldwell building every morning and then sends 
out bulletins announcing his findings to the people of the city. 

It is hard to say what Wichita would do without her weather 
man. Should the government decide to take him away the 
washer-woman never would know when to hang the clothes on 
the line; young folks never could be sure of a clear day for a 
picnic ; hunters would have difficulty in picking the right sort of 
mornings for ducks to be flying; and father could never be sure 
whether to carry his overcoat, his rain-stick or his fan to the 
office in the morning. 

But seriously, the Wichita weather office is one of the most 
valuable assets of Sedgwick county. Few people realize the 
scope and importance of the work carried on by Richard H. Sulli- 
van. All through the spring and summer the farmers and truck 
gardeners turn to the weather man for advance information on 
the next day's temperature and its dryness or wetness. If it 



614 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

is a cold spring the gardeners want to know if it is likely to frost ; 
if it is dry, they want to know when it is likely to rain; if wet, 
they are sure to be anxious as to when it will be dry enough for 
them to cultivate their fields. 

In the winter everyone is interested more or less in the 
weather. The average householder watches the weather forecast 
as closely as Mr. Sullivan watches the barometer. Everyone is 
eager for advance "dope" on blizzards. It gives them oppor- 
tunity to fill the coal bin, lay a supply of kindling in the dry and 
make things generally shipshape about the place. 

In the winter season the produce men are keenly alive to 
weather conditions. They never make important or large ship- 
ments of perishable goods without first learning the forecast for 
the weather that probably will maintain until the shipments are 
delivered. In addition to his regular reports Mr. Sullivan gives 
hundreds of special forecasts to the produce men during the 
winter. 

During the budding season last spring Mr. Sullivan rendered 
invaluable service to the orchardists of this vicinity. He pre- 
dicted every killing frost that arrived and thus enabled the 
orchard men to save thousands of dollars' worth of fruit by 
raising temperatures in their orchards with smudge fires. 

There are some who still look upon the United States Weather 
Bureau as a joke. These are few, however, and becoming fewer. 
The fact that 90 per cent of the predictions made by the bureau 
come true is sufficient argument to prove the usefulness and 
indispensability of weather forecasts. — "Beacon." 



CHAPTER XLVIII. 
TOWNS AND VILLAGES OF SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

By 

0. H. BENTLEY. 

The Ninnescah Valley. 

"There is not in the wide world a valley so sweet 
As the vale in whose bosom the bright waters meet ; 
0! the last ray of feeling and hope shall depart 
Ere the bloom of that valley shall fade from my heart." 

Sedgwick county is indeed fortunate in its valley land, fertile 
and productive, responding readily to the hand of the tiller and 
the toil of the intelligent husbandman. The Arkansas flows 
southeasterly through the county. The great river starts in the 
Rockies and brings down the cool waters of the mountains. It 
blesses the country through which it runs. In the western part 
of Sedgwick county the north fork of the Ninnescah enters the 
northwest corner of Grand River township and flows in a south- 
erly direction through Morton township, where it meets the 
waters of the south fork of the Ninnescah river, thence pursuing 
its way southeasterly just south of Clearwater, leaving the county 
at the corner of Ninnescah township, in its meandering forming 
a large expanse of rich valley land as good as there is in the 
entire state of Kansas. The waters of the Ninnescah are espe- 
cially pure and clear. In an early day it was famed among stock- 
men as a specially fine stock stream. It runs over a white sandy 
bottom and with cultivation and improvement its rich bottom 
lands will equal in fertility those of the Cowskin and Little 
Arkansas rivers. 

At this time some of the very best farms in this portion of 
Kansas are located in the valleys of the Ninnescahs, and in these 
later years the waters of the Ninnescahs have been carefully 

615 



616 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

stocked with fish, and black bass, crappie, channel and mudcat 
are abundant in these streams. 



THE BIG FOUR. 

There are four big townships in Sedgwick county, made up 
largely of German farmers. They are Attica, Garden Plain, Sher- 
man and Union. They are located in square and compact form 
and are twelve miles each way. The parish Catholic church at 
St. Mark is centrally located to serve all of this territory. The 
railway stations of these townships are Goddard and Garden, 
on the Santa Fe line, and Andale and Colwich, on the Missouri 
Pacific Railway. The territory embraced is principally employed 
in wheat and corn farming, though diversified farming and the 
raising of alfalfa is most successfully carried on. The old-time 
German farmers of the Big Four have grown rich and prosperous. 
Their sons have grown to manhood and by the aid of their parents 
have oftentimes gone out into new fields to locate and improve 
new farms, and each instance they have carried to the new homes 
the thrift and energy of their ancestors. The German farmers 
of the Big Four are among the most energetic, reliable and thrifty 
farmers of Sedgwick county, and for that matter their superiors 
cannot be found in the entire state of Kansas. 



THE TOWNSHIP OF AFTON. 

Afton township, in Sedgwick county, is the only township in 
the county not touched by a railroad. Some of the townships are 
bisected with the iron rails, others are touched on the corners, 
but Afton has no railroad, nor has it a postoffice within its bor- 
ders. Its postoffices are Goddard and Garden Plain, in the town- 
ships on the north. The township is finely watered by Clear 
creek and its branches, and along this stream are raised many 
fine fields of alfalfa. A number of Wichita people, notably 
C. W. Southward, Coler L. Sim and C. L. Davidson, have arranged 
a pleasant fishing preserve on Clear creek and have set trees and 
built summer homes on the banks of an artificial lake, where they 
dam the waters of Clear creek. To this resort they often go with 
their families and their intimate friends. To this resort is a 
most pleasant ride by automobile. Chas. A. Windsor, S. L. Nolan, 
W. B. Throckmorton, J. R. E. Payne, Taylor and Crawford, W. H. 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 617 

McCluer, A. Leichart and John Keifner are familiar names in 
this locality. Some of them are dead, but the good farms they 
tilled and the improvements they made survive them, blessing 
the landscape and charming those who come after them. 

AND ALE. 

In an early day in the history of Sedgwick county two impor- 
tant families occupied lands in the neighborhood of the Fifth 
Parallel school house in Sherman township. These families were 
the Andersons and the Dales, and when the Wichita & Colorado 
Railway was built from Wichita to Hutchinson these families 
were recognized in the name of An-Dale, which is a compound 
of the two names. Andale is located upon the northeast of sec- 
tion 15, in Sherman township. This township is largely settled 
by German farmers, who have by constant attention to business 
and by thrift and careful farming grown prosperous and fore- 
handed. Upon the opening of the new country to the south the 
Andersons and Dales went southward. Their good farms have 
passed into the hands of strangers, but the good lands are there 
and no history of Sherman township can be written without the 
mention of the Andersons and the Dales, who were among the 
early pre-emptors of that section. Andale is a prosperous trading 
point and a grain center. It has a most prosperous Catholic 
church and a good, strong parish. It is in the midst of a wheat 
farming district and there is no better farming community in the 
state of Kansas. M. Lill, A. M. Richenberger, Ellis Shaner and 

M. B. Hein are familiar names in this township. 
i 

ANNESS. 

Anness is in the southwest corner of Sedgwick county. Some 
years since, when the Santa Fe built the Mulvane extension, then 
called the Leroy & Western, and pursuing its policy of building 
around Wichita, instead of into it, or out of it, this company ran 
a line from Augusta to Mulvane and from Mulvane west to Engle- 
wood, in Clark county, Kansas. This line of railway from Mul- 
vane west cut the south tier of townships in Sedgwick county. 
Out in Erie township a man named W. H. Wilson, a nervy land 
man living in Arcade, N. Y.. had purchased through the old land 
firm of Jocelyn & Thomas 5,000 acres of land and was rapidly 
putting it in cultivation. The new line cut his land in Erie 



618 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

township, all of which caused him much disgust. As the writer 
of this article had encouraged Mr. Wilson to purchase this land 
in the first instance, he came into the writer's office to do a good 
bit of rag chewing and was bewailing the fact that the line of 
railway cut his land. After giving the matter some thought, 
and, in the language of Sam Kernan, "mature reflection," the 
writer suggested that Mr. Wilson go with him that night to 
Topeka and make the Santa Fe people a townsite proposition. 
This was done, the trip was made and the usual deal was per- 
fected with the Arkansas Valley Town Company, which is the 
land company of the Santa Fe Railway. This deal was made 
upon the usual terms, to wit, that the railroad company at once 
acquired the big end and the control of the town. Then came 
the inquiry as to what the name of the new town should be. As 
Mr. Wilson had furnished the land and had given the railway 
people 51 per cent of it to establish a depot on the same, by 
Mr. Edward Wilder, then the treasurer of the railway company, 
he was accorded the privilege of naming the town. He said that 
he would like to name the town after his wife. He was asked 
by Mr. Wilder what was the name of his wife. He replied, Ann 
S. Wilson. Call the town Anness, said Mr. Wilder, to which 
suggestion all parties present at once agreed, and so the town 
was named and will be so called to the end of the chapter. 
Anness is located in the wheat belt of Kansas. It is surrounded 
by fertile farms and its citizenship is of the best. U. E. Baird, 
A. Small, H. D. Compton, William Gawthrop, Russ Baird, B. F. 
Forrest and M. L. Coates are prominent farmers in the vicinity of 
Anness. 

BAYNEVILLE 

The early settlers of Sedgwick county, and the early buffalo 
hunters purusing the noble game on the divide between the 
Cowskin and the Ninnescah away to the southwest of Wichita, 
saw a level plain with an imperceptible slope to the southward 
where flows the Ninnescah river. Originally this divide was 
regarded as poor and undesirable land; the settlers were sparse 
and few, and a large area was used for pasturage for large herds 
of cattle which were grazed there. 

Franklin Fay was one of the early settlers in this region, 
and so was W. H. Baughman, the late Judge Wall who early 
had a good nose for land and was a natural land man by reason 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 619 

of his early training in Cumberland county, Illinois, became an 
investor in the lands near Bayneville. This town came into 
existence upon the building of the Missouri Pacific railway 
from Wichita to Conway Springs and southward to Kiowa and 
the station of Baynesville was laid out and a town established 
upon the southeast quarter of section 5 in Ohio township. 

Judge Wall at one time owned some land directly west and 
north of the depot at Baynesville. The town was named for 
Judge Bayne, of Anthony, who procured a large portion of the 
right of way for the railroad company. Cultivation has changed 
the entire face of the landscape and good crops are now the 
rule around Baynesville, which was once the favorite feeding 
ground of the American bison. 



THE TOWN OF BENTLEY. 

Bentley is a town and trading point in Eagie township in 
the northwest portion of Sedgwick county. In 1887, the Kansas 
Midland Railway was built from Wichita to Ellsworth, a distance 
of 107 miles, and the building of this line bisected Eagle town- 
ship and established a depot and town on section 11, Eagle 
township. The town was named in honor of 0. H. Bentley, of 
Wichita. The local railway company was composed of Wichita 
men; the directors were ex-Governor W. E. Stanley, J. Oat 
Davidson, Robert E. Lawrence, Charles R. Miller, Orsemus H. 
Bentley and H. G. Lee. When organized this railway company was 
officered by C. R. Miller, president; J. Oak Davidson, treasurer, 
and 0. H. Bentley, secretary. It was constructed by the Kansas 
Construction and Improvement Company, an aggregation of Hart- 
ford and eastern capital. The line is now operated as a part of 
the Frisco system under a 99-year lease. The building of this 
line called the town of Bentley into existence and it is located 
in what is known as a very fertile portion of Sedgwick county. 
Its surrounding farms are finely adapted to the raising of corn, 
hogs and cattle, and the farmers of Eagle township are a pros- 
perous and contented people. Not only do the farmers of that 
region raise hogs, cattle and corn, but many of them own auto- 
mobiles and they are often seen upon the streets of Wichita. 
From Bentley to Wichita is eighteen miles by rail and by wagon 
road a little over twenty miles. A short hour's run by automobile 
from Bentley to Wichita via Valley Center, carries the tourist 



620 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

over a fine road, past some beautiful, well kept farms, with just 
enough grit and sand in the road to make the tires take hold and 
keep the machine from skidding. 



CHENEY. 

A Good Town in a Good Locality, With Fine Homes and 
Good Farms. 

Cheney is perhaps the largest town in the county outside of 
"Wichita. Its population is approximately 750 and everyone of 
them is a booster. The thriving little city is located on the 
Santa Fe, Wichita & Western branch, twenty-seven miles west 
of Wichita, and is the last town on that road in that part of the 
county. The progressiveness of the county is demonstrated in 
the fact that a short time ago the Milling Company organized 
and formulated plans for an electric light plant that has become 
a success in every way. The plant has been in existence for about 
seven weeks and since its beginning nine arc lights have been 
placed on the streets in different parts of the city, besides the 
company has over 600 smaller lights scattered throughout the 
city in residences and stores. The plant is equipped with a 100- 
horse power Monarch Corliss engine and a 50-kilowat dynamo. 
The lighting of Cheney is operated on the same scale as it is 
in other small towns throughout the United States, that of a 
moonlight schedule. The city council will probably have several 
more arc lights of 500 candlepower placed around on other 
streets in the near future. The location of Cheney is ideal and 
the land lying around it for several miles is all owned by pros- 
perous farmers who raise everything that can be raised in the 
temperate zone. Wheat is the principal product however, and 
this year's crop was far better than for the past three seasons. 
A great quantity of fruit is also raised in the vicinity of Cheney 
and although the late frosts of last spring hurt the fruit crop, yet 
it did not so affect it that it was utterly ruined. Many fine apple 
orchards are seen throughout that section of the county. A great 
deal of corn is also raised and will yield a far better per cent in 
bushels per acre this year than last despite that fact that rains 
were scarce during the hot months. Cheney has stores of every 
description, all of them substantial buildings. 

Cheney has two banks, four general stores, two large hard- 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 621 

ware stores, two livery barns, one drug store, two hotels, two 
blacksmith shops, one weekly paper, one grocery store, two ele- 
vators, four churches and one large school with an enrollment of 
nearly 275, two restaurants, one grain and feed store, several 
doctors and one dentist, one large mill and electric power plant, 
three real estate agents who do a large business, one exclusive 
furniture store, two photographers, two lumber yards, one gents' 
furnishing store, one shoe store, two barber shops, one harness 
shop, one coal yard, one undertaker and several miles of cement 
sidewalks. The combined deposits of both banks are placed at 
a little over $250,000 and the wealth of the officers, directors 
and stockholders will greatly exceed $1,500,000. Both banks 
show a decided increase in deposits on their last statements over 
the ones previous. The most influential business men and farm- 
ers in that vicinity are the stockholders. They are men who have 
spent the greater part of their lives in Sedgwick county and 
have been instrumental in making this county what it is today 
— the greatest county in the state. And it is without one 
exception. 

Cheney's greatest need is more people. Although there are 
not over three vacant houses in the city today, yet the business 
men of the city would be glad to see new houses going up. An- 
other thing that the city needs and which would be of great 
advantage to it, is more store rooms. While some, and in fact 
most of the business concerns are located in substantial build- 
ings, there are a few that are not. It would be necessary for 
them to move into some hastily erected building during the 
erection of a new business block, were they to have one built. 
Several new residences have been built in the city during the past 
year — and all of them were rented or sold before the foundation 
was laid, so therefore it is absolutely essential that new build- 
ings be built soon. The freight receipts have more than doubled 
during the past six months, which is a good indication of a city's 
growth. There has been at least a 20 per cent increase in the 
postal receipts too during the last quarter. Another illustration 
that Cheney is growing and forging to the front. It is expected 
by the older residents and some of the newer ones that the popu- 
lation will be 1,500 within the next year. 

One thing that the business men and residents of the city 
would like to see is an interurban road from Wichita to their city. 
The Santa Fe only operates one passenger train a day over their 



622 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

road, leaving Wichita in the evening and returning the follow- 
ing morning. It is necessary for the people of that section of 
the county to remain in Wichita thirty-one hours if they go there 
with the intention of visiting any of the theaters. The train 
reaches Wichita at 10 :30 in the morning and leaves for Cheney 
and other points along the line at 5 :20 in the evening, which is 
rather an inconvenience. An interurban road would operate 
cars at least once every three hours over the road and while 
the fare would not be any less than it is at present, it would be 
a great help to shoppers and theater goers of the towns along its 
line. It has been hinted by people who know that if an inter- 
urban is projected the business men and farmers of Cheney and 
vicinity would help further it to the entire satisfaction of the 
promoters. Their one cry continually is better train service and 
more of it. If the Santa Fe would operate two trains each way 
every day it would satisfy them to some extent, for there is plenty 
of travel along the lines, in fact, too much for the present serv- 
ice, for about three days out of every week the train from Pratt 
for Wichita is packed by the time it reaches Cheney and people 
coming to Wichita would be compelled to stand up all the way 
during their trip. Something should and must be done shortly to 
satisfy them, for not only the residents of Cheney but of all the 
towns along the line have the same complaint. Cheney is one 
of the best towns in central west Kansas and is the best town in 
Sedgwick, outside of Wichita, of course, which is saying a great 
deal for Cheney. Tom Grace, Nate Hern, D. M. Main, Joe 
Goode, Ode Northcutt and Wm. O'Brien are familiar names in 
Morton township, where Cheney is located upon section No. 8 
of that township. 

"Bound about it orchards sweep, 
Apple and peach tree fruited deep." 



AN EARLY INCIDENT OF CHENEY. 

The old-timers of Sedgwick county and especially those in 
the western portion of the county will recall John Coffey, one of 
the early justices of the peace in Morton township. M. L. Gar- 
ver never tires of relating the early incidents connected with the 
courts of Judge Coffey. Judge Coffey then lived in the western 
part of Sedgwick county at the confluence of the two Ninne- 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 623 

scahs rivers ; in the early days of Cheney he was the justice who 
presided in that town and before him was settled many of the 
disputes and contentions of that region. He was a man of won- 
derful common sense, and sterling integrity. He used to say after 
the lawyers had argued the case and presented the law, "Boys 
let us apply a little common sense and some prairie law to this 
case." The first lawsuit ever tried in the town of Cheney was 
tried before Judge Coffey. Harry Strahm, of Kingman, and 
0. H. Bentley, of Wichita, were the opposing counsel; upon 
Bentley complaining of the ruling of the justice, he was very 
gravely informed by the court that the last ruling was for him 
and added the court, "I will rule for Harry this time," and this 
was final. He divided his rulings and the lawyers could not get 
him to swerve from this rule. At one period of the trial Judge 
Coffey became impatient and said, "Hurry up boys, you know 
that every time I take up my pen it means costs." This case was 
tried in a lumber office and the jury retired to deliberate upon 
their verdict to a convenient lumber pile, but since that time there 
has been many changes in Cheney. Lafe Jones was there then, 
so was Ed. Gobin. Many of the old-timers still remain. Those who 
stayed have reaped their reward in this world's goods, and it 
has been measured to them again in the fulness of the seasons 
and the ample return of the husbandman, but Judge Coffey 
has gone to his reward. The old time Coffey farm at the confluence 
of the two rivers, where the bright waters meet and mingle, 
those waters as pure as the distillations of the dew, has passed 
to strangers, but it will be many years before the eccentricity 
and sturdy honesty of Judge Coffey will be forgotten. 

CLEARWATER. 

Clearwater, seventeen miles southeast of Wichita, with a popu- 
lation of 600 inhabitants is one of the principal towns in the 
county. It has all the advantages of the larger towns, inasmuch 
as it has natural gas and electric lights, two banks, four general 
stores and a host of smaller places. It has three churches and 
a fine school building with an enrollment of ever 300. Clear- 
water is the best town in the southern and southwestern part of 
the county. The town is located on two railroads. The Santa 
Fe and the Missouri Pacific passing through Clearwater do a 
large freight and passenger business. The Santa Fe enters the 



624 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

town from the east, going to Clearwater from Wichita via Mul- 
vane, while the Missouri Pacific goes there direct. The latter 
is the most direct route and carries the most passengers. The 
country around Clearwater is well adapted for the raising of 
corn, oats, wheat, barley, and fruits of all kinds. A great deal 
of garden stuff is also raised. All the farmers living in the 
vicinity of the city are prosperous and nearly all own their own 
farms. The city has two large elevators well filled with grain, 
which finds a ready market in Wichita and other cities east of it. 

The bank deposits in the two banks will exceed $150,000. 
They are both state banks and have been in existence for many 
years. Never once during the career of either bank have the 
deposits ever decreased — that is, on statement days. They always 
show a marked increase, which is the best indication that Clear- 
water is prosperous and growing. There are two very large hard- 
ware stores, in fact larger than any other town in the county 
can boast of — Kirk, Mathews and Company and the Smith-Mc- 
Laughlin stores. The latter, however, is the largest, carries 
the most stock and has been in existence for several years. It 
is located on North Main street. Among the general stores those 
of Ross and Company and the Racket are the largest, while in 
the harness line, the store of A. H. Wood is a credit to any city 
twice or three times the size of Clearwater. The city also has 
a large and up-to-date livery barn which does a tremendous 
business at all times of the year. 

The postal receipts of the city have made a twenty per cent 
increase during the past quarter. The rural routes are in exist- 
ence and have an average of eighty families each. They cover 
a distance of over thirty miles and the mail is always heavy. 
There are two lumber yards in Clearwater, the Farmers and the 
Hill-Engstrom Company. Both carry large stocks and do a 
lucrative business. The city has one large and well stocked drug 
store, besides the above mentioned business houses, two hotels, 
one millinery store, two restaurants, one weekly newspaper with 
a large circulation, one real estate firm, one opera house and lodge 
hall and a score of smaller places. 

Most of the business men of the thriving little city are pio- 
neers and have lived there for the greater part of their lives. 
Among them are some of the founders of Sedgwick county. Clear- 
water wants more people. It has the room and there is lots of 
valuable ground around it for the city to spread. There are very 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 625 

few empty houses in the town, but as the business men say, there 
is lots of lumber there to build new ones with and they want to 
see the new ones going up. More people is the constant cry of 
the residents. Among the active business people of the town 
in the past and present may be mentioned F. Herroion, Magill 
and Bliss, Hammers Bros., A. Bauter, Jesse Elliott, T. McCready 
and the Howard Milling Company, while H. R. "Watt and the 
Chambers Brothers are prominent farmers in its vicinity. John 
R. Stanley is the very accommodating postmaster of the town. 

COLWICH. 

By 

DAN E. BOONE. 

In the early eighties there was a bunch in Wichita called the 
"Big Four." This Big Four was made up of Col. M. M. Murdock, 
N. F. Neiderlander, M. W. Levy and A. W. Oliver. Of this aggre- 
gation of men who did things, M. W. Levy is living in New 
York and A. W. Oliver and N. F. Neiderlander are living in St. 
Louis. Colonel Murdock, the able editor of the Wichita "Eagle" 
for many years, has passed to the great beyond. The Big Four 
exploited and promoted the Wichita and Colorado railway from 
Wichita to the northwest. It was originally designed to go west- 
ward leaving Hutchinson six miles to the northward. When the 
line reached Elmer, six miles south of Hutchinson, L. A. Bigger 
and some of the business men of Hutchinson got busy. They 
went to New York and personally saw Jay Gould, the wizard 
of Wall street at that time ; Gould was then, as his heirs are now, 
the moving force behind the Missouri Pacific railway. The "Big 
Four" had a deal on hand with the Missouri Pacific people to 
lease the Wichita and Colorado railway to them, and this was 
subsequently done ; suffice it to say that the Hutchinson influence 
turned the line into that town. 

Early in the building of that line and the second station out 
of Wichita, was established the town of Colwich. This name was 
made of compounding the two names Wichita and Colorado ; 
only the founders turned the name around. The town was 
established on sections 15 and 16 in Union township. The land 
was purchased of Lewis Rhodes; the first town company was 
made of the following named well known citizens of Union town- 
ship and Wichita: C. F. Hyde, Geo. W. Steenrod, Henry Haskins, 



626 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Dan E. Boone, Kos Harris, M. W. Levy, L. D. Skinner, N. F. 
Neiderlander, and M. M. Murdock. The railway company put in 
the railway and the town company put in the land. Henry 
Haskins was the first postmaster. N. A. Sterns is now the post- 
master of Colwich. The town is the center of a very fine farming 
country. 

DAVIDSON. 

Once upon a time when the Kansas Midland railway built 
from "Wichita to the northwest, just north of Wichita, it passed 
what was then known as the Burton Car Works. The Car Works 
had been promoted by J. 0. Davidson, who was also the treasurer 
of the Kansas Midland Railway Company. The Construction 
Company then building the Kansas Midland railway, and John 
B. Dacey its manager, thought it would be a nice compliment 
to Mr. Davidson to name the station at the car works "David- 
son." This was done and a nobby depot was erected at that 
point. 

The hard times came on and the car works faded away; the 
houses began to take wings, the works closed down, many of 
the houses were moved to farms, some went to Oklahoma on 
wagons and some were torn down and thus moved away. It 
began to dawn upon the people of Wichita that the manufacture 
and repair of cars miles away from fuel and material was an 
abnormal condition of affairs. With sorrow they saw what 
promised to be a successful manufacturing plant gradually fade 
from the landscape. The Burton Car Works are no more, and 
having no further use for the depot at Davidson, the railway 
company moved it to another point, and now the Frisco trains go 
by Davidson without even whistling. The siding has gone and 
nothing remains of Davidson except a very fine patch of alfalfa 
which probably pays better returns than the station. 

DERBY. 

By 

J. FITCH HOUCK. 

The history of Sedgwick county would certainly not be com- 
plete without some mention being made of the town of El Paso, 
now Derby, situated ten miles south of Wichita on section 12, 
township 29, range 2 east. 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 627 

The first settlers on the land were John H. Huffbauer and 
J. Hout Winnich. They laid out the town and had it platted in 
the spring of 1871. The first store to locate in the place was a 
general merchandise one, established by Schlicter and Smith, 
who immediately proceeded to fail in business when they sold 
out to Neely and Vance. About this time a ferry-boat was put 
in operation so that the people from the west side of the river 
could get into town, but in 1873 the two townships, Rockford and 
Salem, with the help of the county commissioners built a fine 
bridge. This, of course, put the ferry boat out of commission, 
but during the flood of 1877 the bridge went out and for two 
years El Paso was without communication from the west side. 
At this time another bridge was put in which answered all purposes 
until the present fine steel bridge was built. The first train to enter 
was the A. T. & S. F. July 18, 1879. The next improvement being 
a depot building built the following November. On the first 
of March, 1879, the town saw its first fire, which nearly destroyed 
every building in the place, but the citizens being men of the 
get up and push variety, the town was soon rebuilt and a new 
town company organized. From this time on the place seemed 
to jump and some of its inhabitants fondly hoped and actually 
believed it would beat Wichita. When the town was reorgan- 
ized, George Litzenberg (afterward known throughout the state 
as Farmer Doolittle), started a general merchandise store, and 
after running it successfully for several years sold out in order 
to take up his new occupation, that of writing for the press. 
His first endeavor in that line being on the Wichita "Eagle." 
E. F. Osborn, now residing in Mulvane, built the first hotel but 
did not run it long until he sold out. Joseph Mock built the 
first blacksmith shop and did all the plow sharpening for miles 
around. 

As was the custom in those days every town, no matter how 
small, had to have a place where wet goods were disposed of and 
so as to be in the push L. E. Vance opened up a saloon and it is 
needless to say did what in those days was called a landoffice 
business. In 1880, the Santa Fe railway changed the name of 
the town from El Paso to Derby, and from that day to this, Derby 
has always kept in the lime-light so to speak. John Brunton 
built and operated the first grain elevator which afterward 
burnt down but was rebuilt by other parties. In 1872 Judge 
McCoy settled in that town and being the only student of Black- 



628 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

stone soon had all the legal business of the community to attend 
to. The judge had one son, eight years of age, who attended our 
public school and in a short time he became our fourth of July 
orator. In after years he studied law and was admitted to the 
bar, but the practice of law did not seem to agree with him so 
he gave it up in order to accept a clerkship in the Wichita 
postoffice, and by strict attention to business he has steadily 
advanced to assistant postmaster, which position he holds at the 
present time. 

Among the early settlers of the place were Osborn, Eaton, 
Me Williams, Snyder Bros., Woodard, Pittman and Garrett. Anna 
Mary Garrett having the distinction of being the first white child 
born in the county. 

The first timber used in the place was hauled from Salina, 
118 miles, but at the present time we have a large lumber yard 
of our own, run by Davidson and Case Lumber Company. In 
the early seventies the Tucker Bros, came from Ohio and located 
here, H. C. being a doctor started a drug store and until the 
time of his death had all the practice in the southern part of 
the county. John and Wayne went to farming. John in after 
years held the offices of county clerk and treasurer. 

The Independent Order of Odd Fellows was instituted in 
1874, and at the present time is in a flourishing condition, own- 
ing their own property, a fine two-story building. The Methodist, 
Presbyterian, Baptist, German Lutheran and Catholic all have 
churches of their own, which would be a credit to any town of 
twice the size of Derby. 

FURLEY. 

Furley is a hamlet on the Rock Island railway, in Lincoln 
township. It was named in honor of Dr. C. C. Furley, since 
deceased, and at one time an eminent physician of Wichita. In 
an early day the medical firm of Furley & Russell was widely 
known in this locality. Dr. Furley was identified with a pros- 
pective railway company, known as the Omaha, Abilene and 
Wichita RailM-ay Company. It proposed to unite the towns named. 
When the Rock Island came into Kansas it covered a large por- 
tion of the new company's proposed line. In the adjustment 
of routes the naming of Furley fell to Dr. Furley and his asso- 
ciates, and so the town was named Furley, and it perpetuates 
the name of an eminent surgeon and an early settler. The town is 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 629 

located upon the northeast quarter of section 16, in Lincoln 
township, and it is fortunate in being upon one of the great 
trunk lines of railway. There are railways and railways, and 
branch lines and feeders and all that, but it is not every town so 
fortunate in its location as to be upon a great trunk line, and it 
means something. The building of this line of the Rock Island 
developed the country fast. It gave the farmers a new market ; 
it gave them easy access to Wichita, the shire town of the great 
county of Sedgwick. Around Furley are fine farms. Uncle 
Philo Griffin is one of the old settlers. D. R. Bump is a 
prosperous farmer on the southwest. The Harrison estate owns 
extensive land holdings near Furley; Jasper Howrey lives east 
of the town ; Obediah Jordan, Chris Shepard, William Hiser, 
H. I. Merrell, Owen Yazel, James McGrew, Oren Smith, and 
Oscar Matson are familiar names in Lincolr. township. 



GARDEN PLAIN. 

Garden Plain sprang into being upon the building of the 
Wickita & Western railroad from Wichita to Kingman. 

Its citizenship is made up largely of a thrifty German popu- 
lation, who own fine farms in its vicinity. Garden Plain, situated 
midway between Cheney and Goddard, on the Santa Fe, Wichita 
& Western branch, twenty-one miles west of Wichita, is an ideal 
place to live. The environments are delightful and the climate 
agreeable. The little city has a population of about 350, and has 
some of the finest store buildings in the county. It is an old 
town, having been in existence for over a quarter of a century. 
The little town has three large and well stocked general mer- 
chandise stores, one exceptionally large hardware store, one large 
drug store, one livery stable, one hotel, one bank, one lumber 
yard, two elevators, one millinery store, two meat markets, one 
restaurant, three churches and large and commodious school 
house, which is practically new. The bank has the largest de- 
posits of any town its size in the state, and is constantly increas- 
ing them. The stockholders are all influential farmers and busi- 
ness men of the community and men who have lived there the 
greater part of their lives. It is located in a handsome one-story 
brick building, erected a few years ago, and its officers and 
directors have been connected with it ever since its organization. 
The country immediately surrounding Garden Plain is well adapted 



630 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

to the raising of corn, oats, wheat and garden stuff. Wheat being 
the principal product, it finds a ready market in Wichita, for 
the elevator is never allowed to fill up. Before that is accom- 
plished the grain is shipped to Eastern markets or to nearby 
towns. Corn also finds a ready market, and a great quantity of 
the grain is shipped annually. 

Reaching Garden Plain upon the railroad the traveller always 
sees the familiar figure of Billy Taylor, who is the postmaster 
and who carries the mail to and from the trains. Among the 
active business men of Garden Plain may be named, Wulf Bros., 
Hahn Bros, and Martin Oebel. 

GODDARD. 

Goddard is located on section 31 in Attica township. It was 
laid out and a railway station established upon the building of 
the Wichita & Western Railway. It became a good trading 
point from the first, and the tourist upon the trains running 
through that town always expects to see Henry Williams and 
Smith, the landlord, at the depot. They meet all trains and the 
town would be lonesome without them. Chris Shepard used to 
be there and buy hogs and cattle, but growing easy financially 
he bought some land at Furley and now enjoys the results of his 
strenuous labors. In an early day Orrin Herron run a livery 
stable in the town; Orrin used to drive the various candidates 
about that portion of the county and in those days he could 
pitch bundles, load hay or feed a threshing machine. Al Lyman 
used to live there and William Black used to live north of the 
town; he was a county lawyer and was in all of the early law 
suits of that section. Goddard is fourteen miles west of Wichita ; 
the country around is essentially a wheat raising country. 
Ferdinand Holm, Charles M. Miles, Martin Holm, John Roeder, 
O. M. Pittinger, M. L. Henshaw, Samuel Eberly, Sam Nolan, and 
C. P. Schafer are familiar names in this township. 

GREENWICH. 

Greenwich is a hamlet in Sedgwick county, and it has a popu- 
lation of about 100 souls. It contains schools and churches and 
several good stores. The building of the St. Louis, Fort Scott & 
Wichita railroad called Greenwich into being, it is about twelve 
miles east of Wichita. The railroad is now operated by the Mis- 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES . 631 

souri Pacific Railway Company. Greenwich is located upon the 
southwest quarter of section 15 in Payne township; this town- 
ship was named in honor of Capt. David L. Payne, the original 
Oklahoma boomer. Payne's ranch, one of the old time ranches 
run by Captain Payne, was located in this township a little south 
and west of Greenwich. Payne township is a fine body of land, 
and is in a high state of cultivation. Mess Phillips and son 
carried on a general store in Greenwich for many years. The 
Phillips family, Devores, Herman Herr, H. W. Ruble, and Hjadens 
are very familiar names in and about Greenwich. Payne town- 
ship is a full congressional township and is six miles east and 
west and six miles north and south. The township raises hogs 
and cattle, small grains of all kinds grown in this part of Kan- 
sas and Greenwich afford a most excellent grain market. 

THE TOWN OF HATFIELD. 

It was back in 1883 that a small, but determined bunch of 
men in Wichita headed by the redoubtable Col. J. W. Hartzell, 
projected a line of railway from Wichita to McPherson, to a 
connection with the Union Pacific at that point, and in an ex- 
uberant moment they drove Colonel Hartzell 's black team to 
Mt. Hope, where a railroad meeting was held, attended by Bill 
Daily, Tom Randall and Jim McCormick, and the farmers for 
miles around; Uncle Cooney McCormick was there and so was 
Uncle Vincent from over the line in Haven township. This 
meeting was most enthusiastic, and it was resolved to build this 
line at once. Then began an era of rustle and hot haste along 
the proposed line, and aid was voted by the townships of Delano, 
Park, Union and Haven joined, and under the stress of the time 
and of the prospects, Bill Williams and Henry Haskins put their 
farms into a town site and the town of Hatfield was placed upon 
the map of Sedgwick county. The first store was placed in a corn 
field, streets were laid out and some Wichita men showed their 
faith in the town to the extent of building several buildings in 
Hatfield. Grant and Luckel put in a general store and a post- 
office was applied for and everything looked favorable for a 
town; but Colonel Hartzell was a financier only on paper, the 
railroad was not built on the line proposed, Colwich overshadowed 
Hatfield, Andale and Maize were actual towns on a sure enough 
railroad. The Grant and Luckel store was moved to Maize, the 



632 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

town site relapsed into a corn field, it seems that providence 
never intended it for anything but a corn field. It could not 
escape its manifest destiny, a corn field it was, and is, and always 
will be, to the end of time. Exit Hatfield. 



HUCKLE. 

Huckle is now numbered among the extinct towns of Sedg- 
wick county. It was located in Ohio township. This station was 
located through the efforts of Hon. R. J. Huckle, of Sumner 
county, who owned a fine farm to the south of the station; it 
was at the time of the building of the Leroy & Western Railway, 
a subsidiary line of the Santa Fe system. At one time the Santa 
Fe Company projected a numerous lot of lines, so many that it 
was thought there would not remain sufficient farm land after 
the proposed lines were constructed. Suffice is to say that the 
Leroy & Western was projected westward from Mulvane. This 
line was built to Englewood, Kan., on the southern border of 
Kansas; illy advised people at that time claimed that this line 
should have been built out of Wichita, but the Santa Fe pursuing 
its policy of building up a large number of towns and no large 
ones, thought proper to build this line westward from Mulvane 
and operate their trains from Wichita southward to Mulvane, and 
then turning a square corner and running westward from that 
point. The ways of railway projectors are past finding out, and 
in this way the Leroy & Western was operated at this time. But 
we were speaking of Huckle, which was laid out at this time and 
flourished for a season, but the Rock Island came along and 
crossed the Santa Fe at Peck, this was too near to Huckle, and 
after a vain and inglorious struggle, Huckle gave up the ghost 
and faded from the map, it is now only a memory. A weary and 
unsightly pile of cinders now marks the spot where once was 
a station at Huckle ; the railway company made some kind of a 
right-of-way deal with Mr. Huckle and they still hang onto 
that. The Leroy & Western Railway Company has been absorbed 
by the Santa Fe, and they usually do as they please in Kansas, 
at least that is what Bob Huckle thinks. Some months since 
Huckle began a suit against the Santa Fe in the district court, 
but after one or two hitches at it, the case petered out and like 
its namesake had faded from the map, this case faded from the 
records. Today not a single building exists upon the town site 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 633 

oL' Huekle, but the railway company still hangs onto the 200 
feet right-of-way through the town. 

JAMESBURG. 

The early settlers of Sedgwick county will recall the town of 
Jamesburg; the main distinguishing feature of this town was 
that it was situated near the Cowskin creek and not far from 
the farm of Aaron Seiver. All around it was some of the very 
best land in Sedgwick county and the fine bottom lands of the 
Cowskin. North and northwest it was settled by a very thrifty 
German class of farmers and west of it Esquire McCallister, in 
an early day, held court in his front yard. In this court it was 
the habit of Frank Dale, Dave Dale, T. B. Wall, 0. H. Bentley, 
W. E. Stanley and others of the early day lawyers of Sedgwick 
county to appear and try law suits of various kinds and en route 
to Esquire McCallisters they always crossed the Cowskin creek, 
just west of the town of Jamesburg. 

There was in those days an angling road leading eastward 
from Jamesburg towards Wichita. This was the main artery 
of travel, and after a case was tried in Esquire McCallister 's 
front yard, the jury usually retired to a convenient straw stack 
to deliberate upon their verdict. In those days there was no 
convenient jury room, properly warmed and lighted, but only 
the sighing of the summer wind as it whistled around the cor- 
ner of the stack in Esquire McCallister 's field. The personnel 
of this court was never complete without the presence of Will- 
iam Black, of Garden Plain township, who could scent a lawsuit 
for miles away, and who always in some way took a hand in 
any lawsuit from his locality, which embraced the four Town- 
ships of Attica, Afton, Union and Garden Plain, and he some- 
times deadened over the line. Later on the fifth parallel neigh- 
borhood passed away, the railway was built and the towns of 
Colwich, Andale, Goddard, Bentley and Mt. Hope were built, and 
Esquire McCallister court faded away with Jamesburg. The old 
Justice and William Black were gathered to their fathers, the 
old-timers went to the territory and Jamesburg today is but a 
memory in the minds of the old-timers. 

KECHI. 

The hamlet of Kechi, is located upon sections 12 and 13, in 
Kechi township in Sedgwick county, and it is a station upon the 



634 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Rock Island Railway; fortunate indeed is any hamlet in Kansas 
located upon a great trunk line of railway; Kechi is located in 
one of the best townships in the state of Kansas, it is in the 
alfalfa belt; the Santa Fe, Frisco & Rock Island railways cross 
the township and the Missouri Pacific cuts its southeast corner. 
Because of its nearness to Wichita, Kechi will never hope to 
make a large town, but it has a good market, good agricultural 
surroundings and is a pleasant place to live, send the children to 
school and raise a family. It is a Christian community, and all 
of the surroundings are strictly moral. The following named 
are well known and well-to-do farmers of that locality : Garrison 
Scott, Henry Tjaden, Jacob Rockey, and C. E. Mull. 



MAIZE. 

By 

J. C. MAJOR. 

Maize, became a station upon the Wichita & Colorado rail- 
way, now the Missouri Pacific, when that line reached its present 
site and a town company was formed, depot grounds laid out 
and a railway station built. Wm. Williams was the first post- 
master, a nucleus for a small hamlet was formed, a general store 
was started and soon after its location, Maize Academy was 
erected and flourished for a season, however, the location of 
the town was only nine miles from Wichita; everything seemed 
to centralize in the larger town and Maize never became a large 
hamlet. Henry Loudenslager, his brother, Sam Loudenslager, 
Lewis Rhodes, Leroy Scott, L. B. Dotson and Cornelius Oldfather 
resided in or near the town and the hamlet felt the influence of 
their thrift and energy. Later on R. B. Warren, H. B. Marshall, 
uncle Joe Norris and others took hold of the town, but it still 
remained a hamlet and will likely do so until the end of the 
chapter. It is a prosperous farming community around Maize, 
and a pleasant place to live, however the men like Frank Doffle- 
meyer and Cal Major upon retiring from their farms moved to 
Wichita. Maize is the Indian name for corn and Maize, Kan., 
is truly in the corn belt and this fact gave it its name, which 
was suggested by the promoters of the Wichita & Colorado Rail- 
way. Maize is located on section 19, in Park township. For a 
long time J. C. Major was postmaster. The original town com- 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 635 

pany consisted of N. F. Neiderlander, president; Cornelius Old- 
father, vice-president; M. W. Levy, treasurer, and Kos Harris, 
secretary. J. C. Major started the first store in the town and 
sold out to Tapp Bros. ; the first church was a Congregational. 



THE TOWN OF MARSHALL. 

The old residents of Sedgwick county will recall the location 
of and the town of Old Marshall, on the Ninnescah river, in the 
western portion of the county. It was on the banks of the north 
Ninnescah river hard by the flouring mill, of Bill Hays. Lafe 
Jones was one of the moving spirits of the town, so was John 
Gader and Fritz Kuhl. Marshall had great hopes of the future, 
its founders expected to make the large town, between Wichita 
and Kingman, but the Santa Fe Railway system, then under 
the management of A. A. Robinson, kept a careful eye upon the 
tributary territory of the system; that railway company early 
saw the possibilities of the Ninnescah valleys, the Wichita & 
Western railway was projected from Wichita to Kingman and 
westward. The road was originally projected from Sedgwick 
to Kingman, but the Wichita hustlers took the matter up and 
were instrumental in securing the right of way from Wichita to 
the west line of Sedgwick county, this fixed the line and old 
Marshall a town for great possibilities for the future was left 
about two and one-half miles to the north east. The railroad was 
its death knell. Cheney sprang into being, a good location, the 
railroad, and a fine territory tributary to Cheney lias made it the 
second town in size in Sedgwick county; Marshall has dwindled 
away; its mill moved away and only a fine grove of cottonwood 
trees marks the spot of a once flourishing village. It was the evo- 
lution of the town, from the prairie sod the favorite feeding ground 
of the buffalo, then a town with its streets and mill, its business 
houses and its hopes of the future, now back to the buffalo sod. 
When Marshall was in its prime, the patriotic citizens projected 
a fourth of July celebration, the morning opened with the usual 
firing of anvils and fire crackers and all the incidentals of such 
a celebration in the country. A young lawyer from Wichita was 
the orator of the day and stood upon a wagon in a grove of 
cottonwood trees and made his speech, the trees were so small 
that the bald head of the orator of the day, stuck out above the 
tree tops. Today some of those trees are more than one hundred 



636 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

feet high. Marshall has gone, it is only a memory but the grove- 
is there as a land-mark ; a few scattered cellars and small excava- 
tions mark the spot of the early village, the village of Marshall 
beside the softly flowing river. 



MOUNT HOPE. 

Mount Hope, located on the Missouri Pacific Railway, Wich- 
ita-Geneseo branch, is twenty-five miles from Wichita and is one 
of the most prosperous towns in the county. It is a thriving little 
city of about 700 wide-awake and progressive souls. It is per- 
haps the only city in the United States that has the four main 
corners of the town on that many different sections of land. Years 
ago when Mount Hope was laid out by the founders they bought 
up four sections of land and began to build houses of every de- 
scription on them. Later on the First National Bank Building 
was erected. The plot of ground on which the bank now stands 
was then the northeastern point or corner of one of the sections 
of land. A little while later the building now occupied by the 
Race Mercantile Company was erected on the southwestern 
corner of another section. Following that the buildings now 
owned and occupied by the Kennedy General Merchandise Com- 
pany on the northwestern corner and the restaurant of W. C. 
Fauss on the southeastern part of another section were built, 
thus making the four principal corners of the city occupying 
four different parts of different sections. As the city grew and 
spread out these sections were sold out gradually until today 
the former owners of those sections of land have no interest in 
them whatever. 

Mount Hope is prosperous in every way. It has up-to-date 
business concerns, fine churches and an excellent school building. 
The enrollment this year exceeds 300, which is remarkably well 
for a town of its size. In one part of the business section three 
different business concerns are located in the same building. They 
are the office and printing establishment of The Clarion, the store 
rooms of C. A. Marshall and E. E. Tyler. The town itself lies 
some distance back from the railroad, and the street up which 
one passes on his way to the business part, is lined with beau- 
tiful shade trees of every description. Mount Hope is really, in 
a botanical sense of the word, the greenest town in Sedgwick 
county. It has the prettiest shade trees of any town in the- 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 637 

county for its size. Tall stately cottonwoods and maples line 
both sides of Main street from the depot all the way up town and 
far beyond the main corners, which are really beautiful to behold 
when they are covered with their foliage during the summer 
months. 

Two banks, one of them a national bank and the only one 
in the county outside of Wichita; three restaurants, one weekly 
newspaper, general merchandise stores, one drug store, an in- 
dependent telephone system, two first class hardware stores, two 
barber shops, one men's furnishing goods store, one jeweler, one 
meat market, two livery barns, one elegant opera house with a 
seating capacity of 600, one lumber yard, two blacksmith shops, 
one photograph gallery, one millinery store, two elevators and 
several doctors. Mount Hope's opera house is one of the finest 
in the state. It is fitted up with opera chairs, seats which are 
seldom found in theater buildings in much larger places, and a 
stage 40x30. Three elegant sets of scenery and all the property 
and furniture necessary to produce some heavy attractions are 
to be found within the building. It has two floors and a fine 
lighting system. The building which is also used for the city 
hall as well as the opera house, was erected at a cost of over 
$8,000. 

No history of Mount Hope would be complete without a men- 
tion of Thos. H. Randall, its founder, long since gathered to his 
fathers, full of years and with the earnest respect of his friends 
whose name was legion. William A. Daily, Jas. P. McCormick 
and C. C. Thomas were always at the front in anything concern- 
ing the welfare of Mount Hope. This town is the natural half- 
way station between Wichita and Hutchinson. 

MULVANE, KANSAS. 
By 
J. A. WHITTY, in Kansas 



Mulvane, Kansas, is located on the county line between Sum- 
ner and Sedgwick counties, five miles west of the corner of Sum- 
ner, Sedgwick, Cowley and Butler counties. The city was laid 
out by the Mulvane Town Company in August, 1879, and was 
named in honor of Joab Mulvane, a prominent Santa Fe official 
who was instrumental in locating both AVichita and Mulvane on 



638 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the line. Mulvane was incorporated as a city of the third class 
by the Sumner County District Court under Judge E. S. Torrence 
on the 27th day of September, 1883. The first city election was 
held on the 6th of November, 1883, at which time A. D. Doyle 
was elected mayor. There is no better farming country in the 
United States than that which surrounds Mulvane. 

The Santa Fe Railroad has recognized Mulvane as one of the 
important points on her system. This is evinced by the fact that 
nearly $100,000 have been spent there during the past year on 
the yards, new brick depot and electric switch plant. The Mul- 
vane Mutual Telephone Company is owned and successfully op- 
erated by local people and with local capital. The Mulvane Ice 
Company is noted for the purity of its product. The Petrie 
Poultry Packing Company, packers of eggs and poultry, does an 
immense business. 

The Mulvane State Bank, established in 1886, is one of the 
soundest banking institutions in Sumner county. It has a capital 
of $25,000.00 and a surplus of $12,500. W. C. Eobinson is its 
president and C. F. Hough is cashier. C. F. Hough, cashier of 
the Mulvane State Bank, is also treasurer of the Mulvane Ice and 
Cold Storage Company and secretary of the Mulvane Mutual 
Telephone Company. The town has no bonded debt. Chas. 
Hodgson has served the people of Mulvane as postmaster for 
twelve years. Mulvane citizens boast of the fact that their town 
was the former home of Governor W. R. Stubbs. S. F. Fields, the 
present mayor, came to Mulvane in 1880. He is a thorough- 
going business man with modern ideas. He is greatly admired 
by his fellow citizens, which enables him to render valuable serv- 
ice to the town. 

Mulvane is indeed to be congratulated upon locating the Hel- 
vetia Milk Condensing Company. There is ample assurance that 
Mulvane will be located upon an interurban railway between 
Wichita and Winfield within a year from the present time. It 
is understood that the Interurban Construction Company of Wich- 
ita and the Siggins Company, of Arkansas City and Winfield, 
are securing right of ways that will pass through Mulvane. Both 
companies are road builders. The Wichita concern is now build- 
ing a line from Wichita to Newton. The Siggins Company is well 
backed financially and has several elegantly equipped roads al- 
ready in operation and upon a paying basis. Mulvane has most 
excellent public schools. ' 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 639 

FARMER DOOLITTLE IS INSPIRED OVER MULVANE. 

By Farmer Doolittle. 

Wichita people know that this city is growing and they are 
firm in the belief that the Peerless Princess is now and will con- 
tinue to be the gateway to the great Southwest. There is, how- 
ever, one pleasing feature of the growth of Wichita that a good 
many people overlook, and that is the growth of surrounding 
towns. A great city is always surrounded by large towns. This 
fact was presented to me in a rather forcible manner when I 
attended the old settlers' meeting at Mulvane last Thursday. I 
carried one end of the surveyor's chain through the tall prairie 
grass about a quarter of a century ago that set the bounds of 
the main business street of Mulvane. The town today has a popu- 
lation of a little less than 2,000, but on every hand there are evi- 
dences that this town which Mrs. Clay Hilbert elected should be 
named for J. R. Mulvane, of Topeka, is going in the near future 
to become a considerable city. 

Mulvane is modest and hides its fine residence section on the 
higher land east of the railroad behind the finest trees. Back of 
these forest trees the town has the appearance of the newer 
parts of Wichita. There are fine cottages, cement walks and 
nicely kept lawns. Here one can see what nice things a railroad 
can do for a town. The Santa Fe has raised the grounds about 
the fine new passenger depot. In some places the fill is about 
thirteen feet and the wide switch yards are the prettiest I have 
ever seen. This company has five roads running out of Mulvane. 
There are a great many trains passing through the town every 
day. Elmer Emery, who opened the first Santa Fe office in an 
old box car, has charge of all the railroad business of the town. 
If all the railroad men were as reliable and accommodating as 
Emery it would be an easy matter to account for the popularity 
of this great railroad. The milk condensing factory recently es- 
tablished there is an immense affair, but it will soon be enlarged 
to about double its present capacity. There are numerous fine 
residences just completed and others are being erected. I will 
refer to two men who illustrate the wisdom of Horace Greeley's 
advice: ''Young man, go west and grow up with the country." 
Mr. Robinson, who opened the first dry goods store and sold 
prints, overalls and picket ropes to the first settlers, is now the 



640 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

merchant prince, doing business in his own brick block. And Dr. 
Shelly, who used to ride a pony out to see the people when they 
caught the malaria from the mosquitos, now rides in a fine auto- 
mobile and owns a big dairy farm east of the city. They did 
not get ahead of the growth of the country, but they kept neck 
and neck with it. 

Mulvane is on the border of Sedgwick county. The town has 
recently made a fine forward movement. Its people are very 
energetic and prosperous. Farmer Doolittle is one of the best 
writers in Kansas, and an editorial writer of great experience on 
the Wichita Eagle, the leading daily of the Southwest. — Editor. 

OATVILLE. 

A history of Sedgwick county would be incomplete without 
a write-up of Oatville. When J. W. Miller first laid out his plans 
to build the Wichita, Anthony and Salt Plains Railroad (what a 
name for a railroad), the first station out of Wichita to the south- 
west was named Oatville. This station was upon the land of James 
P. Royal. The weary traveler through this vale of tears, embark- 
ing at Wichita upon a Missouri Pacific train, with his life in his 
hands, as he nears the town of Oatville always wonders why the 
railway there runs upon a direct north and south line. He is 
riding upon what was once the Wichita, Anthony and Salt Plains 
Railroad, now the Missouri Pacific Railway. The influence of 
James P. Royal and his old-time partner, Newton H. Robinson, 
put the iron rails upon a half section line through the land of 
Mr. Royal and upon his half section line. These men named the 
town and platted it upon the section line running east and west 
between Sections 11 and 14 in Waco township. James P. Royal 
still lives upon his fine farm just west of the town. Newton H. 
Robinson, one of the brightest men in Sedgwick county, has passed 
to his reward. Bernell Bigelow is the postmaster at Oatville ; 
he has held this place for many years. Oatville without Bernell 
Bigelow would be like the play of Hamlet with Hamlet left out. 
The coming generation around Oatville, and the boys now wear- 
ing kilts, twenty-five years hence will probably get their mail 
at Oatville from Bernell Bigelow, postmaster. By reason of its 
contiguity to this city, Oatville will probably never make a 
metropolis, but it is a pleasant place to live, in sight of the lights 
upon the Boston Store, and most any day James P. Royal and 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 641 

his family can hum into town in his automobile. The Bigelows, 
Carrs and Turleys are familiar names about Oatville. 

PECK. 

Peck is one of the few towns in Sedgwick county that has 
the distinction of being on two railroads and in two counties. 
It is located fifteen miles south of Wichita on the Rock Island 
and is twenty-one miles from the same place via the Santa Fe 
by way of Mulvane. The fare, however, is the same over both 
roads from the county seat. The postofnce, one general store, 
blacksmith shop and a lumber yard are in Sumner county, while 
the rest of the business houses are in Sedgwick county. Peck 
really belongs to Sedgwick, despite the fact that the postoffice 
is in the other county, for most of the people live on this side of 
the line. 

The little city has a population of approximately 300 and was 
incorporated several years ago. It has a mayor and city council 
and takes on all the airs of a city several times its size, and well 
it might, for it has boosters living in it. Every resident of that 
thriving little city is a booster and has been ever since he has 
lived there. Within the Sedgwick county side of the town are 
located one large elevator, two general stores, one restaurant, 
one hardware store, a livery barn, one drug store, one pool hall, 
one hotel, and the bank. The city has a large and handsome 
school building and two churches with large congregations. The 
depot is situated some little distance from the main part of the 
town, but that is owing to the fact that the Santa Fe and Rock 
Island cross several hundred yards from that part of the city. 
Both roads use the same depot. The fine farm holdings of Henry 
Stunkel are near Peck ; the Kerley brothers are prosperous stock 
dealers and farmers in and near Peck ; the Roll brothers reside 
to the northward of the town, while William Roll is an active 
business man in Peck. Everybody knows Hiram Hitchcock, the 
most genial man in Sumner county. His fine farm is just south 
of the town. There is no finer farming land in Kansas than the 
valley of the Ninnescah, adjacent to this town. 

SCHULTE. 

Schulte sprang into existence upon the building of the Orient 
Railway from Wichita southwest. It is a hamlet located in a 



642 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

fine portion of Waco township, on the section line directly west 
of Oatville. The town is named for Peter Schulte, a well known 
German farmer of that locality. The location is upon section 7 
of Waco township. Here is located a fine Catholic church and 
a strong German parish of this church; also several stores, an 
elevator and blacksmith shop. Fine farms abound and the people 
are prosperous. John Springbob, Henry Gadeke, Charles Zim 
and D. W. Wilson are prominent farmers in this township and 
in the vicinity of Schulte. 

SEDGWICK. 

That part of Sedgwick which is in Sedgwick county is located 
on the northwest quarter of section 3 in Valley Center township. 
Most of the town is in Harvey county, which bounds Sedgwick 
county upon the north. Sedgwick as a village contains about 
700 people. It is a delightful village, peopled by a prosperous 
community, and borders on the Little Arkansas river, one of the 
most beautiful streams in Kansas. It contains banks, schools 
and churches and also some live merchants and very pleasant 
homes. Valley Center township is one of the most fertile bodies 
of land in Sedgwick county and its fine farms are unsurpassed 
in the entire state. 

Quite a large grain business is done in Sedgwick, which has 
very fine grain shipping and elevator service. An interurban 
line of railway is already completed from Wichita to Sedgwick 
and this line is also projected to Newton and Hutchinson. Its 
natural diverging point is at Sedgwick, whose people are hoping 
for great things upon its completion. The Sedgwick nurseries 
are famous over the state. The Little river valley affords fine 
water, shade, and excels in the raising of alfalfa. Ordinarily it 
produces fine crops of corn. Sedgwick is located midway 
between Newton and Wichita and seventeen miles north of the 
latter place upon the main Texas line of the great Santa Fe 
system. The town was laid out when the latter line was built 
from Newton to Wichita. 

ST. MARK. 

There are four German townships in Sedgwick county. They 
are Union, Sherman, Garden Plain and Attica township. The 
Germans who farm in these townships, and they are among the 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 643 

best farmers of the state of Kansas, are largely Catholics. Near 
the center of the territory embraced in these townships is located 
the town or hamlet of St. Mark. This point is the seat of a 
magnificent Catholic church and school. The parish is a large 
one and a most prosperous one. Some of the wealthy German 
farmers of this section reside here. They are the great wheat 
raisers and their farms are in a fine state of cultivation. This 
town has no railway, but that does not matter, for there are fine 
railway facilities all around them and they are growing richer 
and more prosperous each year. J. Smarsh, John B. Simon, John 
Betzen, Peter Betzen, Moses Jay and Peter Strunk are familiar 
names in this locality. 

SUNNYDALE. 

Sunnydale is a postoffice in Grant township. It is located 
upon the southeast quarter of section 15, in this township, and 
adjoins the well known McCracken fruit farm. The business 
consists of a general store and a cluster of houses. Grant town- 
ship has no railroad and the Hamlet of Sunnydale lacks railway 
facilities. The farming country surrounding the town is first 
class and in a high state of cultivation. S. H. Harts, Isaac T. 
Ault, William McCracken and J. 0. Mead are familiar names in 
Grant township. Many of the old settlers have become well off, 
still own their farms, which are rented, but their owners reside 
in Wichita. 

VALLEY CENTER. 

Valley Center, as its name implies, is situated in the valley of 
the little Arkansas river, ten miles north of Wichita. When the 
Santa Fe line of railway was built from Newton to Wichita, E. P. 
Thompson was a member of the legislature from Sedgwick county. 
Mr. Thompson, owning a large body of land in Kechi township, was 
importuned to go into a townsite deal with the railway company 
for a townsite several miles south of the present location. Being 
of a highly sensitive nature and fearing that his motives would 
be misconstrued, Mr. Thompson refused. His refusal located the 
present town of Valley Center on section No. 36, in Valley Center 
township, and this town has both the Santa Fe and Frisco lines. 
For many years the Carpenters and the Dewings and the Beaches 
were the leading families of Valley Center. Henry C. Boyle was 



644 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

a leading spirit of the town, so were "Willis Davis and Orville 
Boyle, the present head of the Chamber of Commerce. The town 
has a staunch friend in the person of Mr. Boyle, who is at this 
time promoting and building the Interurban line from Wichita 
to Newton and Hutchinson via Valley Center. The grade is 
almost completed at this time from Valley Center to Wichita 
and the project is being pushed as fast as possible. The early 
settlers are all away, some of them are dead. Al Johnson, one 
of the old landmarks and business men of the town, is in Wichita. 
But still the town goes on, fully illustrating the old theory that 
"No man is a necessity." Around the town are expansive fields 
of alfalfa and this industry is in a most flourishing condition in 
Valley Center, Grant and Kechi townships. Fine farms are the 
rule and the soil is a perfect garden spot, while the Little 
Arkansas river meanders to the west of the town. 0. G. Jacobs, 
S. I. Perrin, H. W. Eeynolds and George R. Davis are business 
men and land owners in Valley Center and its neighborhood. 

VIOLA. 

Years ago upon the building of the Englewood branch of the 
Santa Fe Railway in Viola township, on section 33 it established 
a depot and called it Viola. The town slumbered for years, eon- 
tent with a small trading point where Nighswonger & Robinson 
sold most of the things in a mercantile way and one or two stores 
transacted the business of the town. But there came a change in 
matters; the Orient Railway headed out of Wichita, it crossed 
the fertile Ninnescah valley and crossed the Santa Fe at Viola. 
The town woke with a start, new people came in, new buildings 
were built, new blood was infused, and Viola became a thriving 
village. It found itself upon a great trunk line of railway from 
Wichita to Old Mexico, and in direct communication with the 
metropolis of southern Kansas. Viola township is a fine body of 
land; it excels in the raising of wheat and corn. The Nighs- 
wongers, Robert Little, C. Wood Davis, M. R. Davis, Miller 
Dobbin, James Grimsley, Manford Miller, W. H. Ware and W. L. 
Porter are familiar names in Viola township. 

WACO. 

Waco is located in Salem township and there is no better 
farming country in the state of Kansas. It is the fertile valley 



TOWNS AND VILLAGES 645 

of the Cowskin. Waco at present has no postoffice. It is sup- 
plied by rural delivery from Peck. John Deihl, whom most 
everybody in that locality knows, carries on a general store at 
Waco. There is also a blacksmith shop here. The hamlet is 
located at the junction point of sections 20-21, 16 and 17, in 
Salem township. Here is also located a commodious town hall 
and a roomy school house, where the kindergarten politicians 
of Sedgwick county often hold meetings and inflict their small 
oratory upon the farmers and practice upon the people. The 
town is also noted for good yellow-leg chicken dinners, served in 
the town hall by the good housewives of Salem township. To 
these feeds are always invited the ambitious young lawyers of 
the county capital, who after the feed and when full of chicken, 
berry pie and frosted cake make the welkin ring, greatly to the 
delectation of Wilbur Huff, Tom Green and Uncle John Copner. 
Waco is now fondly hoping for a railroad and an interurban line 
from Wichita would be most acceptable to the people of Waco 
and Salem township. 



WICHITA HEIGHTS. 

Six miles north of Wichita, on a section line which in Wichita 
is Lawrence avenue, where the Frisco line of railway crosses the 
highway on its way to Valley Center, is now a flag station known 
as Wichita Heights. During the building of this railway in 
1887, on the land now owned by Isaiah Smyser, was located the 
future great city of Wichita Heights. The entire 160 acres of 
land, then the old William McCollock farm, was purchased by 
some Boston men, who laid out the entire quarter section. They 
had Ransom Brown survey it, lay out the corners and take out 
the lots. This enterprising surveyor drove pegs all over that 
hill and a town company was formed which was capitalized at 
$150,000. A rather pretentious depot building was built, the 
building being a rustic affair, and considerable good steel rails 
were wasted in locating and laying out extensive yards at this 
point. A general store was put in operation and a postoffice 
was established. It was a town of great expectations, but there 
was really no call for Wichita Heights. With the waning of the 
boom the town waned. It is an old and very trite saying that 
the stream cannot rise higher than the fountain, and today 
Wichita Heights is but a memory. The company, however, left 



646 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

one desirable thing on the townsite. It planted a fine grove of 
trees near the crossing, and this grove with its maples and 
cottonwoods alternating is now a refreshing thing to the weary 
traveler upon a hot day. The greatest returns ever made to 
the company from this townsite was on one occasion when 
Charley Simmons paid them $17 for hay cut on their land. 
Wichita Heights has faded away; gone like a hard trotting 
nightmare of finance, down the back alley of time. Adios, Wichita 
Heights. 

WESTERN SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

There is no denying the fact that the western portion of Sedg- 
wick county is the most fertile portion of the county and now 
produces the best crops of the county. The time was in the early 
history of the county when the old settlers at that time declared 
that the western portion of Sedgwick county was only fit for 
the ranging of cattle. This was at a period of time when G. W. 
C. Jones, Judge Tucker, Hank Heiserman and others used to 
hunt buffalo down on the Ninnescah river, in' the locality where 
Clearwater now is. But notwithstanding this avowal of the 
old settlers, the tide of immigration flowed in it, flowed westward 
and crossed the Arkansas. The buffalo were pushed westward, 
the settlers pushed out into range 4, later on into Kingman 
county, and finally the loan companies began to loan money on 
farms as far west as range 8 west. In the meantime the western 
part of Sedgwick county was put under the plow. The sod was 
turned, sod corn was planted and in the fall following all of this 
land was put into fall wheat. A good yield followed and western 
Sedgwick county took its place as a fertile agricultural country 
and has since remained so. Corn, oats, wheat and alfalfa abound, 
Kaffir corn and cane is grown in abundance, the buffalo sod gave 
place to crops, the buffalo was driven from his ancient pasture 
field, his place was taken by the big steer and his sister, towns 
and villages sprang up, postoffices were established, and later on 
mail routes reached nearly every farm house. At this time in 
western Sedgwick are good farms, good farm houses, and big 
red barns 7 Shorthorn and Hereford cattle, and fat hogs galore. 



CHAPTER XLIX. 
AGRICULTURE IN SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

By 
THE EDITOR. 

In this age when everybody works extremely hard to keep 
from working, it is very refreshing to turn to agriculture as a 
theme, not as an avocation. Sedgwick county with its thriving 
city of Wichita making a vast market place for the products of 
the farm, with its perfect network of railways bisecting every 
portion of Kansas, and a fast increasing population, makes of 
this county and agricultural empire. 

The early fathers realized the possibilities of the soil of 
Sedgwick county; the early settler was a wheat raiser, but the 
later settler and occupier of the land does diversified farming. 
His first inclination was to raise wheat and corn, later on he 
began to raise oats and rye, and later on the average farmer 
raises all of the crops grown in this latitude and moves most of 
his grain to market on the hoof. East of the Arkansas river, 
upon the upland east of Wichita, very little wheat is raised; 
corn, Kaffir corn, oats and alfaTfa are the rule ; west of the Big 
Arkansas River more wheat is raised. This section also runs 
largely to alfalfa. Ordinarily the wheat fields are excellent pas- 
ture; stock thrives unusually well upon wheat pasture, where 
are also located some good old straw stacks. Sedgwick county 
at this time is well fenced and well cultivated. The farmers of 
late have fallen into the habit, and it is a good one, of cutting 
their corn and shocking it up. They find that it makes most 
excellent feed. As the times goes by the average farmer in Sedg- 
wick county will more and more preserve and save his feed. 
Some day the old-fashioned silo will be introduced into this 
county. For many years past the green wheat pasture has taken 
the place of the silo, but the silo will come. With it will come 
the cow pea and the soy bean and more alfalfa, and the more 

647 



648 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

alfalfa the more profit and the more success in agriculture in 
Sedgwick county. 



THE EVOLUTION OF THE FARM. 

In Sedgwick county and in all of Kansas there has been a 
very distinct and striking evolution of the farm. First came 
the sod house and the dugout, and this lasted through the first 
decade. The first frame house, usually in a school district, was 
the school house. This was necessarily a frame structure. It 
was usually built upon some prairie swell. It was utilized for 
schools, church services, Sunday School gatherings and picnics, 
and here the young campaign orator was wont to fly his lin- 
guistic kite and practice upon the dear people. Soon the sod 
houses and dugouts gave way to more commodious frame struc- 
tures and soon the railroad came along, and as under the Kansas 
law the taxes paid by the railroad goes to the various school 
districts through which the railway runs, the frame school house 
rapidly gave way to one of brick, and the school house in Kan- 
sas in its betterment and evolution led the farm house. But the 
farm house came, with its windmill and barn and outbuildings 
and all that goes to make a home and make that home enjoyable. 
The early fathers were great on planting trees. First they 
wanted shade, and the old-time reliable cottonwood was the 
tree planted. Later on came the box alder, the elm and catalpa, 
and the locust in its various varieties, for shade and posts, and 
later on for fuel. So that today the entire landscape has 
changed. "Where once was an almost boundless prairie stretching 
away to the horizon's rim are now comfortable homes, cultivated 
fields and shady groves, which are a continual delight to the eye. 
Surely the man who owns a good home in Sedgwick county and 
has his stock around him has his lines cast in very pleasant places. 



KAFFIR CORN. 

Of late years Kaffir corn has been one of the very best crops 
raised in Sedgwick county, and in fact, in this portion of Kansas. 
A few years ago the farmers in the arid belt of Kansas began 
casting about for a dry weather crop. It was then discovered 
that Kaffir corn, or, as it was then called, rice corn, was such a 
crop. It was soon discovered that Kaffir corn made good flour 



AGEICULTUEE IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 649 

and that its flour made excellent pancakes. Dr. Workman, of 
Ashland, Clark county, Kansas, claims to have introduced this 
crop into Kansas. The doctor, who now resides in Morraine 
Park, Colo., still makes this claim, and raises this crop exten- 
sively on his ranch in Clark county, Kansas. Since its introduc- 
tion it has been extended to all parts of Kansas and is raised 
very successfully in Sedgwick county. It can be sown from the 
first of April to the first of August, and is often sown after the 
wheat is taken off the field. One fine characteristic of this 
crop is that it will curl up and wait for a rain. During dry 
weather Kaffir corn stands still and when the rain comes it goes 
on. Each head of cultivated Kaffir corn equals an ear of corn. 
Drilled with a wheat drill this crop makes the very nicest kind 
of hay; as a forage crop it is unsurpassed, does not sour with 
rain and damp weather after being harvested, like cane, and is 
eaten with great relish by all kinds of stock. Ground into meal, 
it makes fine calf and hog feed, and is especially relished by 
young stock. It also makes good horse feed. Kaffir corn is 
now almost a necessity and it is growing in favor with the 
farmer as the years go by. 



ALFALFA. 

The introduction of alfalfa into Kansas made agricultural 
history in the state. Sedgwick county as one of the leading 
agricultural counties of Kansas early took an active part in the 
planting and culture of this truly great forage plant. No plant 
in the interior West excels alfalfa as an all-around forage and 
feeding plant. Wichita and Sedgwick county are located in the 
very heart of the alfalfa belt. Alfalfa is best raised upon a soil 
with a porous subsoil; in fact, this porous subsoil is an absolute 
necessity for a continuous growth, and while upon other soils 
the plant may make a partial success, upon a rich soil with a 
porous subsoil it js a lasting and perpetual crop. The writer 
was shown a field of alfalfa which was being cut for the first 
time on the 28th day of March that it was claimed had been in 
this crop and successfully so for 300 years. This field is located 
just north of the City of Mexico. Alfalfa makes its best growth 
as a forage plant in a medium season with a medium rainfall. 
In dry weather it makes a seed crop, which is even more val- 
uable than the forage crop. Sam Forsha once told me that in 



650 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

digging a well upon the Forsha ranch in Reno county, this well 
being located in an old alfalfa field, that he found the roots had 
gone down thirty feet. In this belt, wherein is located Sedgwick 
county, four crops per season is the usual yield. In an unusually 
wet year five crops can be cut. There are few animals upon the 
farm that will not eat alfalfa. Poultry of all kinds will eat it. 
Hogs will live upon alfalfa hay and it is medicine to a sick cow. 
Horses and mules thrive upon it and are maintained in prime 
condition upon alfalfa without grain. The Kansas farmer who 
can raise alfalfa is always thrifty. The returns of the crop 
exceed his wildest dreams of avarice. In addition to this, this 
crop has proven a most excellent fertilizer; it renews the soil 
and brings it back to its former fertility; it renews the humus 
in the soil. 

In many parts of Colorado, where it is most successfully 
grown by irrigation, and in the old world, alfalfa is called 
Luzerne. It matters little what it is called. Under proper con- 
ditions it is a perpetual crop, and is probably the surest and best 
crop that the Kansas farmer can raise. Its friends become its 
earnest advocates and their praise is so unstinted that they are 
often termed alfalfa cranks. So be it, but observation teaches 
us this lesson, that all of the Kansas farmers who have stuck to 
this crop have attained a competence and are beyond want. 
Fortunate indeed is that farmer who can successfully raise 
alfalfa, and fortunate indeed is that county which, like Sedg- 
wick county, is in the very heart of the great alfalfa belt. 

THE RAISING OF ALFALFA. 

By 

CHARLES CHANCE. 

For the past ten years Sedgwick county has rapidly forged 
to the front in the raising of alfalfa. Its soil is peculiarly 
adapted to the raising of this wonderful plant. The raiser of 
alfalfa becomes so enamored with the crop and its product that 
his friends look upon him as a crank. No man can long culti- 
vate this plant without becoming an enthusiast. More good 
money is taken off from a field containing a good stand of alfalfa 
than any crop that can be raised in Kansas. Sedgwick county 
is in the very heart of the great alfalfa belt. It other places it 



AGRICULTURE IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 651 

can be raised, possibly with success, moderate success, but in this 
great natural belt of country it can be most successfully grown 
without any artificial means. In many portions of eastern Colo- 
rado and New Mexico this plant is raised by irrigation. Not so 
in Sedgwick county, where, carefully planted and grown, it turns 
off usually four good- forage crops and becomes a perennial 
plant. Its product is used for manifold purposes upon the farm, 
being feed for all kinds of stock, and no grain is needed for 
horse feeding, as it is known as a balanced ration by the state 
agricultural college of this state. Alfalfa hay is the equal of 
good bran and is so denominated. Alfalfa can be sown at any 
time during the growing season when you have the ground 
ready, but experienced alfalfa raisers usually sow in April in 
spring sowing and in August for fall seeding. The latter month 
is preferable. Alfalfa raising is excellent for restoring worn 
out ground and its cultivation for a number of years upon barren 
and worn out soil restores the humus, and the plowing up of 
this crop followed by a crop of wheat or corn brings most abun- 
dant crops. I can safely say that all the crops raised by the 
Kansas farmer, and especially the skilled farmer, in Sedgwick 
county, alfalfa is the favorite. 



ALFALFA AN IMPERIAL FORAGE PLANT. 

Alfalfa, though a comparatively new product in the United 
States, is as old as the civilization of man. It has been cultivated 
since the dawn of ancient history. It was familiar to the Egyp- 
tians, Medes and Persians. It followed Xerxe's invasion into 
Greecil, 470 B. C. Prom Greece the Romans procured it and 
Caesar planted it as forage for his cavalry in his military cam- 
paigns. It is known in parts of Europe as Luzerne or Lucerne, 
which name is said to be taken from a river valley in northern 
Italy. The Spanish name alfalfa is the one adopted in this coun- 
try. It followed the Spanish invasion of South America into 
Mexico, Peru and Chili, from whence it found its way into 
Southern California about 1854, and from whence it has grad- 
ually traveled eastward until it is now grown in almost every 
state in the Union. But in no state do all conditions conspire for 
the successful growth of this plant so completely as in Kansas. 

Alfalfa is not a tame grass, but belongs to the family of 
Leguminosae. Leguminous plants differ from the tame grasses 



652 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

in two essential points. First, they bear their fruit or seed in a 
pod, like the pea or bean, and, second, they obtain nitrogen from 
the air through the roots, by the aid of small microscopical 
insects that burrow in the roots of the plant. The anatomical 
construction of these little insects is such that in breathing the 
air they separate the nitrogen and feed it to the plant, while the 
plant in turn supports the insect, they living in symbiosis, depen- 
dent one upon the other, hence soil that is porous or well aired 
is necessary for the successful growth of the plant. Alfalfa is 
the deepest rooting plant of any with which the farmer has to 
do. Where the earth is free from stones the roots will penetrate 
twelve feet or more to water. I have a photograph of roots of a 
four-year-old plant showing them to be twelve feet and six 
inches long. Hence the plant's great resisting powers against 
drouth. Under favorable conditions the life of the plant seems 
unlimited. There are fields in Kansas thirty years old and in 
Mexico some reported seventy-five years old, which produce on 
an average four or more crops a year, yielding one or more tons 
an acre each crop. Little attention was given in this country to 
the growing of this most profitable crop until within the last 
ten years, as is shown by the assessor's returns for this state. 
The returns show for the state in 1891, 31,384 acres, in 1899 the 
acreage had increased to 278,477 acres, and in 1910 more than 
1,000,000 acres. During this time agricultural and scientifie 
institutions have done wonders in showing the value and possi- 
bilities of agricultural products and especially of alfalfa. They 
tell us that 95 per cent of the land in Kansas will grow alfalfa 
with varying degrees of success; that one ton of prime alfalfa 
hay is equal in feeding properties to thirty-five bushels of corn; 
that alfalfa hay, fed with corn to fattening hogs is worth $35 a 
ton with pork at 5 cents a pound; that nitrogen is the most val- 
uable fertilizer known and the most difficult to obtain, and that 
by the operation of these little bacterial insects, spoken of above, 
the nitrogen is separated from the oxygen of the air, given to 
the plant for its nourishment and returned by the plant to the 
soil, thereby increasing rather than diminishing its fertility from 
year to year. We are told that alfalfa contains a greater per- 
centage of protein, the element in feed that produces blood, 
bone and muscle, than any other known food; that fed with 
corn, as a balanced ration, it has no equal in the production of 
meats, and this is equally true in the production of eggs, milk 



AGKICULTUKE IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 65<i 

and poultry; that for young, growing animals, where healthy 
and rapid growth are desired, with good bone, blood and muscle, 
there is no feed so valuable as alfalfa, owing to its large digestive 
and protein content ; that of all the forage plants known, alfalfa 
loses least of its feeding value in curing from the green to the 
dry state; that no hay is so succulent and palatable in winter as 
alfalfa and so much relished by stock. So much for the history 
and habits of this plant. Now for the practical application. 

Alfalfa is a voracious feeder on the salts of the soil, such as 
lime, phosphorus, potash, magnesium, etc., found in the soils of 
Kansas in such great abundance, and more especially in the river 
and creek bottoms of the state, where the soil is known as 
"gumbo." 

I desire to speak more particularly of this Arkansas valley 
and of that part of it in and around Wichita. It is admitted by 
all who are competent to judge that this Arkansas valley in and 
around Wichita is the most desirable and productive alfalfa 
land, all things considered, in the state. The soil is deep, black 
and rich, very open, often in dry weather cracking to a depth of 
three or four feet, thus affording air plentifully to the little insect 
spoken of that lives on the root of the alfalfa plant. Inex- 
haustible sheet water is found ten to fifteen feet from the sur- 
face of the ground, with no rock underneath the soil, thus allow- 
ing the roots of the plant to penetrate to perpetual moisture. 
In my residence of twenty-five years I have never seen an alfalfa 
plant wither in hot or dry weather. During last July the mer- 
cury rose six consecutive days to an average of 104 degrees, but 
the alfalfa plants showed no signs of wilting. In dry times I 
have seen the sunflower and ragweed wilt, but the alfalfa, never. 
In the growing season I have seen the alfalfa in this valley grow 
from a half an inch to an inch a day. Alfalfa seed is a very val- 
uable crop, worth $10 to $12 a bushel, when it can be raised, but 
it has not proven a profitable crop in this valley for the reason 
that the growth of the plant is so vigorous that it makes too 
much straw and not enough grain. Seed growing is more profit- 
able on the higher lands that are not so fertile and have less 
moisture. Four crops a year can be easily grown here, averaging 
a ton an acre for each crop. I have seen grown in one season, 
with four cuttings, six and one-fifth tons on an acre. Hay is 
selling now for from $8 to $12 per ton. However, the prudent 
farmer is the one who carefully pastures his alfalfa fields eight 



654 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

months in summer and winters his stock the other four months 
on the cured hay. Wichita, in the production for market of 
alfalfa, is the leading city on this continent. The success of this 
enterprise is due more to the sagacity and clear-headed business 
management of our fellow townsman, Mr. Otto Weiss, president 
of the Otto Weiss Alfalfa Stock Food Company, than to any 
other man. A few years ago Mr. Weiss began, in a small way, 
the grinding of alfalfa hay and compounding it with grain, 
making a poultry food. To this he soon added food for stock. 
His business grew so that about three years ago he organized the 
company named above, with $50,000 capital, since which time 
he has shipped his stock food to most of the eastern and southern 
states in car lots. Recently he has doubled his capacity and 
capital to meet the steady and rapid demands for his feeds. 

This company grinds the alfalfa and compounds with it corn, 
oats and other grain, making a balanced ration, as by the 
approved feeding tables of the day. This milling of alfalfa hay 
promises to grow into one of the most important branches of 
trade at an early day, making Wichita as famous for her alfalfa 
milling as Minneapolis is for flour milling. The American Ware- 
house Company has a large mill for the grinding of alfalfa in 
Wichita and it finds ready sale for its products. There are at 
least half a dozen smaller mills running to their full capacity. 
It was always a question for debate with the Greeks as to which 
was the greater gift to man, "the olive or the horse." If I 
were asked to name the most valuable food for stock, all things 
considered, I would name alfalfa, for with no other single food 
can the farmer and stock raiser accomplish so much. Horses 
and mules can be grown to perfection on it, without grain; so 
can hogs, cattle and sheep be grown ready for the feeding yards 
without the use of other food, and the same is true of poultry. 
So important a part does alfalfa play in the production of poul- 
try and meats for the market that no intelligent farmer or stock 
man nowadays thinks of leaving alfalfa out of his feed rations, 
if it is possible to procure it. Hence it is hardly in the mind of 
man to conceive the future wealth and prosperity of this Arkan- 
sas valley, when 25 per cent of our lands are planted to alfalfa 
and the products used for the support and comfort of man. 
Wichita can safely calculate on alfalfa as one of her most 
valuable assets for future growth. — Robert M. Piatt. 



AGRICULTURE IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 655 

IS THIS A FRUIT COUNTRY? 

This is a query often propounded. The soil seems right, the 
climate seems right, the moisture is sufficient, but the late frosts 
sometimes get the fruit in bloom, and sometimes after it is set. 

A Wichita man who visited the Alaska-Yukon-Pacific fair at 
Seattle was greatly attracted by the fruit exhibit there made 
and asked the cause and the whys of the situation. He was told 
by those in charge that the fruit raisers of Washington and 
Oregon has as much late frost as we have in Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, but by the use of the frost meter they were warned of 
an approaching frost and fall of the temperature. The plan 
is this, set your frost meter at 40 degrees and when the mercury 
falls to that point the meter rings a bell at the head of the 
owner's bed. Thereupon the owner jumps out, gets into his 
clothes, rouses his family, and with his wife and children at once 
lights all of the smudge pots in his orchard. This tempers the 
air and wards off the frost. Mr. Sullivan, the government 
weather observer at Wichita, has a very reasonable and scientific 
theory on this subject. He has made a careful study of this 
situation. He says that the best fruit is raised inside of the 
frost line; common observation teaches this. Mr. Sullivan is 
an ardent advocate of the use of the smudge pot in the orchard, 
and so for the past few months this theory of warding off the 
frost by the use of smudge pots has been followed by the 
orchardists and fruit growers of Sedgwick county. Those who 
have adopted this method speak highly in its praise, and those 
who have used it think that Sedgwick county is a fruit country. 
By the above means are produced nearly every year fine fruit 
and especially apples, in the valley of the Grand river in Colo- 
rado, at North Yakima, in the state of Washington, and in the 
far-famed Hood River valley, in the state of Oregon. Why not 
in Sedgwick county? 



CHAPTER L. 
FRUIT RAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

By 

FRANK YAW. 

I came to Wichita as a tramp. I had no home and no place 
to go to; no one to care for me and no money to speak of. I 
tramped into Wichita and tramped ont again, as I had no other 
way of going. I could have taken a claim close to Wichita, but 
I had no use for one, although I could see great possibilities in 
the Arkansas valley. After leaving Wichita I tramped to Colo- 
rado and New Mexico and went to work on a cow range for 
Stephen Jones, of Las Animas, Colo., now of Strong City, Kan. 
Later I worked on a cow range for Judge R. W. Moore, of Las 
Animas, now deceased. In all the years in which I was a reckless 
cowboy I had a love for Wichita. I used to look at the wild 
flowers, such as people grow around their homes, and say to 
myself: "Well, if I had a home I would have just such flowers." 

Reason told me that I had no excuse whatever for not having 
a home, so I finally left the cow range in Colorado and came 
back to Wichita with the determination to have a home. At 
first I went to work on the Santa Fe Railroad under old Mr. 
Streeter as foreman, with the words ringing in my ears con- 
tinually, "Get a home!" But it takes money to get a home and 
I had none. Still reason and common sense stayed with me and 
told me that where there is a will there is a way. So what little 
money I got from the railroad company after my board and lodg- 
ing was paid I invested in two lots on North Water street, a little 
north of Oak street, in Wichita, on the installment plan. In due 
time I had the lots paid for, and then the next question was how 
to get a house. I had no money to build a house with, but was 
not discouraged. My reason told me that "where there's a will 
there's a way." 

I next went to work on a farm for Dr. Minturn, sixteen miles 
northwest of Wichita. Dr. Minturn advanced me $500 to build 
a house on my two lots, and I was to work on his farm at $20 a 

656 



FKUIT RAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 657 

month until the $500 was paid back. E. B. Jewett, probate judge, 
drew up the contract. Then Dr. Minturn's hired girl, Miss Mary- 
Alice Adamson, and I were married, the ceremony being per- 
formed June 23, 1883. We went to housekeeping in our own 
home, which was paid for then. During the Wichita real estate 
boom we traded our little home for twenty acres of land five 
miles south of the city. This was in the spring of 1889. The 
owners of the land valued it at $150 per acre. AA 7 e valued our 
little home at $3,000, and they gave us $200 bonus. That money 
built us a little house that kept us dry and warm. We bought 
a plug horse, had a good cow, and bought what few tools we 
could not get along without. We plowed and planted our land. 
Everything grew that we planted and everything looked prom- 
ising until May 7, 1889. Then came one of the worst sand storms 
that Kansas has ever seen. We did not know how to guard 
against this or how to keep the sand from drifting, and all our 
growing crops were destroyed. It looked discouraging and my 
wife was discouraged, but as St. Paul the Apostle said, so did I : 

"Come, let us reason together. We have no hired hands to 
pay; we have no interest to pay; we will manage to live." We 
planted again and raised a whole lot of good things to eat, plenty 
of feed for our cow and horse and pigs and chickens, and our 
twenty acres stocked itself with fruit trees. One of our neigh- 
bors told us that we were cheated out of our little home in the 
city, as our land would not grow corn. My reply was: "If it 
will not grow corn it will grow something else," and the finest 
cherries that were ever placed on the Wichita market were grown 
on the ground that the neighbor said would not grow corn. We 
can show a good growth of trees and as good and profitable a crop 
of fruit as anyone else in the United States. To be sure, we have 
freezes and floods, and sand storms and hail storms, but they 
have them elsewhere just the same. In 1904 we had a freeze in 
April, two hail storms in May and June, and a flood in July. 
All these killed 200 cherry trees twelve years old, and yet we 
sold enough fruit from our twenty acres that year to pay our 
honest debts and take our two daughters to the World's Fair at 
St. Louis. To be sure, there are injurious insects and fungus 
diseases, but they have the same elsewhere, but these can be 
controlled if one goes about it in the right manner. 

Now, with Wichita expanding, with her packing houses, manu- 
facturing, her railroads, with machine shops and roundhouses, 



658 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

and her big wholesale center, it will be but a few years until the 
city is built out to our twenty acres, which is known far and 
wide as "Yaw's Fruit Farm," because of a big sign we have on 
our barn next to the Rock Island Railroad. 

Here are some of the varieties of fruit which I have suc- 
cessfully grown on my place in Sedgwick county : 

Cherries — Dyhouse, Black, Tataran, Royal Dukes. 

Apples — Ben Davis, Jonathan, Missouri Pippin, Maiden Blush, 
Yellow Transparent, Lowell, York Imperial, Rambo, Missing 
Link, and others. 

Peaches — Salway, Early Amsden, Alberta, "Wonderful, Early 
June, Chinese Red Cling and ordinary Clingstone. 

Plums — Burbank, Wild Goose, Damson, and the ordinary wild 
plum. 

IRRIGATING SMALL FRUITS WILL PAY. 

Although my experience has been principally with blackber- 
ries and strawberries, I am convinced that what will do for 
blackberries will do equally well for other bush fruits. Straw- 
berries, however, are in a class by themselves ; so, too, are vege- 
tables. With vegetables we can irrigate and get results in a few 
days, but not so with fruit; for that you must begin the year 
before. We must first learn the nature of the plant that we have 
to deal with. My first trial on blackberries was last fall. Owing 
to the delay in putting in a pump we did not get the water on 
until October. For best results it should have been done in 
August; as it was, it tided the plant along with vitality, but it 
was too late to make cane growth. One must have cane growth 
to get fruit. Let us stop and learn the nature of the blackberry. 
The cane never fruits but once, then dies after the fruit is off. 
A new cane starts early in the spring to take the place of the old 
one, to bear fruit the following year. This year I turned the 
water on in July to keep that cane growing that it may be fully 
developed for the next crop that is to come next year. I am well 
satisfied with results, as the canes started a new growth in a few 
days after the irrigation was commenced and they were kept 
growing until the rain came. Another time when they must have 
water is when the fruit is ripening. This is the most critical time 
of all. The plant must have an abundance of moisture during 
the fruiting season or the berries will be undeveloped, and near 
the last will dry up and become worthless. One may have a 



FRUIT RAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 659 

good crop in a year of severe drouth, but the following year is 
when he will fall short, no matter how much rain he gets during 
the season. "We hear men ask: "What is wrong with my black- 
berries this year? There is no fruit to speak of. Did I prune 
them at the wrong time? Did I work them out at the wrong 
time?" The pruning and working had nothing to do with the 
failure this year. These persons are looking for the cause this 
year when they should look back to last year for the cause. We 
have had two years of severe drouth in succession. The canes 
are in a very weak condition. They showed that when the new 
canes came out in the spring. They will be worse next year. 
Many of the plants will die outright. It will take them two years 
to recover, no matter what the conditions may be during the next 
two years. You may expect only light crops. I mean on all old 
plantings. The handwriting is on the wall, so don't ask questions 
next season as to the cause of the failure. Of the new plantings 
set last spring and this, they are simply fine. They have made a 
good growth, and are in good condition. I don't see how they 
done as well as they have. 

With strawberries we have a somewhat different proposition 
to face. It makes its fruit buds the fall before, unlike the bush 
fruit which makes buds in the spring. It puts forth its fruit 
stems with its first leaves. It is but a few days later when we 
have the luscious red strawberry, the first fruit of the season, 
and oh how anxious we all are to see them. It is with the grower 
himself to say, to a great extent, what that fruit stem shall be. 
He must see to it that the plant is making a strong, vigorous 
growth in August and September, the year before fruiting. It 
is then you can make strong fruit stems and many of them. It 
is too late to do it in October and November when it is getting 
cold. If the natural conditions are not right one must make 
them right by preparing to irrigate in time so the plants may 
have an abundance of water at ripening time. It is then when 
you can eliminate the small berries and make them all large. 
We all know what a change it makes in small fruit when we get 
a good deal of rain during the picking season. Nothing is more 
sensitive to even a light rain than the strawberry. It is at that 
time we must see to it that they get water in liberal supplies, 
as the berry is nearly all water. You can see what a strain it is 
on the plant to make large berries of all its fruit when the 
ground is dry. The reason we have so many small berries on 



660 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the market is that there is a lack of water in the fruiting season. 
I irrigated my strawberries in July this year. Now I am getting 
strong, vigorous plants. I may have to irrigate again later to 
keep them going. In irrigation there should be no "off years" 
in small fruit culture. Unless it is a large crop and that followed 
by a light one, there should be no light crops. It is not every 
year that irrigation is required here to grow the plants or even 
in the fruiting season, but that one should be prepared to do so 
if need be goes without saying. I quit the strawberry business 
last year for good, but since putting in a pump I am planting 
again. 

Mr. Frank Robbins has been irrigating strawberries three or 
four years and he has made a success of it from the start. As 
far as I know he is the pioneer in the irrigation of strawberries 
in this section. I commenced with no knowledge of how it should 
be done; only a theory. Can I win? Well, that remains to be 
seen. It is often the case that when small fruit is ripening we 
have a dry, warm time. It is not only true of central Kansas, 
but it is true of all the central West, and it becomes a trying time 
for the grower. In the strawberry belt of Missouri the writer 
has often heard men say: "If we don't have rain in three or 
four days I'm ruined." That was when all they had depended 
on a strawberry crop. It is only too true that the dealers and 
consumers know but little about the trials of the grower, but I 
know of no locality between here and the Atlantic where one 
can overcome this lack so well as in this valley. Do the people 
in the Arkansas valley know the possibilities in store for them 
in the silent underflow? The writer believes that the cheapest 
water to be found in the West for irrigating purposes is in this 
valley. With the continual advance in land values it is a ques- 
tion of time, and but a short time only, when the small fruit 
grower must go out of business or turn his attention to irriga- 
tion. — Thomas McNallie. in "The Beacon." 

HOW TO IMPROVE APPLE ORCHARDS. 
By 

E. G. HOOVER. 

Judging from the subject assigned me the editor of "The 
Beacon" must have been spending his spare time riding through 
the farming districts of this vicinity. If so, it requires no great 



FEUIT RAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 661 

mental effort to ascertain the why and wherefore of the assign- 
ment. If any section that can grow fine fruit, combining both 
quality and quantity, stands in need of improvement in its orchard 
methods this section is the one. It requires no great knowledge 
of the science of orcharding to understand why this county does 
not take its proper rank in fruit growing, especially in the grow- 
ing of apples. Here are several of the causes of the failure : 
Lack of study, application, cultivation, pruning, spraying, poor 
location as to soils, poor nursery stock and too many varieties. 
These causes all may be laid to one great lack or necessity of 
practical fruit growers. By lack of study is meant a lack of 
knowledge of the tree, its insect and fungus enemies, soil con- 
ditions, etc. By lack of application is meant that those who 
make a specialty of growing fruit are too few. The majority 
do not confine themselves to fruit growing, but are in fact better 
termed general farmers, who grow all kinds of crops, and if 
greater neglect is given one thing over another the apple orchard 
is usually the one that receives it. Pruning is the bath of the 
tree. Neglect of this important essential to apple culture bears 
the same relative value to the tree as neglect of the bath to the 
human body. A jaunt through the country will readily convince 
the skeptical as to the truth of this assertion. You will see 
many, and in fact, nearly all, orchards overloaded with brush 
and water sprout so thick as to exclude the sun's rays and even 
the free circulation of the air — prime necessities to the growing 
of fruit, the quality of which is to go on the table of the modern 
epicure. Cultivation follows hand in hand with pruning and 
it is the crash towel that produces the glow and exhilaration of 
the properly grown apple. Cultivation is absolutely necessary, 
and it should commence early in the spring and be followed up 
consistently until July 10. Later cultivation than this is not 
good, as it causes too late a growth of the trees and an uneven 
coloring of the fruit. Also, bare ground causes a reflection from 
the sun that is antagonistic to high color — therefore injurious to 
the quality. 

Spraying is the family physician. A call from him at the 
right time and a use of the right "dope" is the insurance of 
the apple crop. Modern management of an apple orchard con- 
siders the spraying machine a most desirable aid to high class 
fruit culture. The use of the spraying machine and materials 
requires a knowledge of the insects and fungi that prey upon the 



662 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

tree and fruit. A small gasoline spraying plant is not costly and 
it is the most economical in the end, as only by constant, steady 
pressure can the proper distribution of the solution be made and 
a thorough job be done. About the greatest mistake that has 
been made in fruit growing in this section is the large number of 
varieties that are to be found in almost every orchard. Varieties 
that are not suitable for this climate are most prevalent. About 
nine out of ten varieties that were planted here in the past did 
well in the East, where most of the settlers came from and the 
varieties that they were familiar with back there were the ones 
planted here in addition to new beauties of the illustrated cata- 
logue of the canvasser. In my judgment there are three varieties 
of summer apples that pay, two varieties of fall apples, and three 
or four varieties of winter apples. I doubt if there are any two 
men in this section who would agree with me as to the varieties 
I have in mind for a very successful commercial orchard. As to 
what, in my judgment, would be the proper course to pursue in 
the improvement of the orchards of this section, I would say 
that a tree puller and the grubbing hoe would be very proper 
instruments in the improvement of a great many orchards. Prac- 
tical fruit growers who understand the business is the prime 
requisite — men who love trees and all that pertains to them. 
These men and the right varieties and right soils for the varieties, 
with pruning, cultivation, spraying and the unsparing use of 
common sense. 



FRUIT AND TRUCK FARMING WILL PAY. 
By 

MARCELLUS PIATT. 

The vast areas of government land once accessible to the man 
wanting a farm has now been exhausted. The result is that 
smaller tracts of land must be made to yield a living to young 
men building new families. The large centers of population that 
are engaged in mining, manufacturing, merchandising, etc., must 
be fed. The great increase in population by immigration and by 
birth into this country makes it imperative that intensive farm- 
ing be resorted to, that all may be fed and clothed and housed. 
Fruit farming, truck farming, or these combined with dairying, 
poultry, bees, etc., goes largely to solve the great problem of 



FBUIT BAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 663 

furnishing employment and good homes to the millions of our 
people. Mr. Arthur J. Bill reports to the Illinois Farmers' Insti- 
tute the success of a woman, Mrs. Leona Hucldleston, near Spring- 
field, in the matter of intensive farming. This woman has shrewd 
business tact. Great, strong men with a little business gumption 
ought to do equally as well. 

Mrs. Huddleston bought forty acres of rough, hilly land four 
years ago for $7,000, with only $2,500 to pay down. She has since 
sold the coal right for $1,000 and has refused $10,500 for the 
place. She began on this land without experience and without 
help. She began work in the fields and developed a dairy, fruit, 
vegetable and poultry business. She drives the delivery wagon 
herself to private customers in Springfield. She keeps a hired 
man during the rush of the season and extra help in berry pick- 
ing and harvest times. Two hundred apple trees, many peach 
and cherry trees, five acres of blackberries and small fruits, 
including strawberries, were set. She milks eight cows. One of 
these has made as high as seventeen pounds of butter per week, 
and has raised twin calves three years in succession. She has 
refused $165 for the cow. The morning milk is sold in the town, 
most of it bottled, at 7^/2 cents per quart. The night's milk is 
separated and made into butter. About fifty pounds a week is 
sold at 35 cents a pound, the year around. The fruit and truck 
business combines well with the milk delivery. Orders are taken 
for truck while delivering milk and these delivered next morning. 
Five hundred chickens were raised this year, many sold before 
July, the first at 50 cents each. Less than one-sixth of an acre 
of asparagus yielded $57. Less than one-tenth of an acre of 
ground returned $100 worth of cucumbers last year. Fruit vari- 
eties of special value are bought or developed and bees are to be 
added. Clover, oats, corn and such field crops are also raised. 
No waste, all is utilized. She says "the road to success is to 
work for yourself and not for somebody else. There is an open- 
ing here for a large number of people to engage in the fruit 
business or fruit, truck, etc., combined. There is no better place 
for it than the Arkansas valley, and right here at Wichita. The 
worst trouble is the undertaking of too much. Ten to twenty 
acres of an apple orchard is enough for one man. Cultivating, 
pruning, spraying, harvesting and marketing his products will 
require every moment of his time, but he can have the satisfaction 
of knowing that he has done it well and that is worth a great 



664 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

deal. I like specialties. Raise onion sets. Our Mr. Wilson out 
on the Arkansas river raises onion sets and disposes of all he can 
raise readily at a good figure. His income from a few acres is 
$1,500 to $2,000 per annum; enough to support a large family. 
Onions alone is a good truck crop. This crop will net the raiser 
about $500 an acre. Tomatoes are always in demand at good 
figures. Potatoes is another good crop. Among the fruit crops, 
apples are important, and many men in this vicinity are mak- 
ing a success of apple growing. It is true that difficulties 
are in the way, but men no longer grope in the dark, for the 
past few years has brought us over the experimental era to that 
of the scientific. There is not enough suitable orchard land in 
the United States to produce apples for the whole country, and 
there is only a small per cent of the apple land utilized, so that 
we need never fear an overproduction of apples for this country. 
Walter Wellhouse, secretary of the Kansas State Horticultural 
Society, says that the world's supply falls several million bushels 
short each year, and that there never was a better time to engage 
in commercial apple growing. Peaches, pears and all the berry 
fruits thrive well in this valley and yield good returns with 
intelligent culture. — From "New Home Edition." 



GRAPE CULTURE IN SOUTHERN KANSAS. 

By 

G. W. COLLINGS. 

Among all the fruits the grape is one of the most important. 
Indeed it is the most important with the solitary exception of the 
apple, and it has probably had more to do in shaping the world's 
history than all other fruits combined. It is the one fruit that 
seems to have been cultivated and in use long before any other. 
"Long before research folded back the curtains of time; long 
before the breath of history crystallized incidents and events, 
the 'amethyst clusters' of the grape ripened under sunny skies. 
Veiled in myth, clothed in the shades of the past, gleaming from 
legend and fable, it comes to us breathing suggestions of sylvan 
deities. Greek festivals and Egyptian rites." The cultivation 
of the grape must have long preceded the knowledge of wine 
making, and it will be recalled that the making of wine antedates 
the time of Noah. The cultivation of the grape must have reached 



FEUIT RAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 665 

a high degree of perfection at the time the children of Israel 
were wandering in the wilderness, since it required two of the 
spies that Moses sent to search the land of Canaan to bear back 
a single bunch of grapes that they found growing in that country. 
In the fact that this particular variety has not been preserved 
horticulture has sustained an incalculable loss. In the time of 
Christ grape culture was practiced to such an extent that at least 
some of the people seem to consider it "bad form" to have a 
wedding without wine. You will recall the embarrassment that 
was caused by the want of wine at the marriage in Cana of Gali- 
lee, when Jesus and his disciples wanted wine and there was 
none, and how Jesus relieved the embarrassment by making six 
flagons of wine on the spot. 

"The water saw its Lord, 

And blushing turned to wine." 

And now the ease with which grapes can be grown, the excel- 
lence of the fruit, and its many uses, would indicate that every- 
one who has a few square yards of ground, and who does not 
grow a supply of grapes for home use, is failing to embrace one 
of his best opportunities. The grape will succeed over a larger 
extent of territory than any other fruit, unless it may be the 
strawberry. All varieties of grapes do not succeed in any one 
locality, but there are so many varieties that among them may 
be found a few that will succeed almost anywhere. The growing 
of grapes does not require more skill than the growing of corn 
or potatoes, and does not require more work. The right varieties 
succeed admirably in Kansas and particularly in this valley. 
Grapes, like other fruits, are not grown from the seed, except for 
the purpose of originating new varieties. The plants are pro- 
duced in three ways : By layers, by cutting and by single eyes. 
The latter method is not often used. If only a few plants are 
required they can best be made by layers. This is clone by cover- 
ing a cane with earth without detaching it from the parent plant. 
In the spring before the growth starts make a little trench three 
or four inches deep and in the bottom of this lay a cane and 
secure it with two or three stalks with hooks attached. After 
the shoots that will spring up at each joint of this cane are 
grown six or eight inches cover the cane with earth and the job 
is done. Roots will be formed at each joint and in the fall the 



666 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

plants can be taken up and cut apart, each shoot making a sepa- 
rate plant. "Where plants are wanted in quantities they are 
usually made from cuttings. This is a simple operation. Make 
the cutting in the winter, or at least while the vines are dormant. 
They are to be made from the growth of the preceding year. 
Cut them with three or four joints to the cutting, usually fifteen 
or sixteen inches in length. Cut the best end off square and 
within about a half inch of the joint. They may be buried out 
of doors or in a box of damp sand in the cellar. When vegetation 
begins to grow nicely in the spring, say about corn planting time, 
they should be planted out. Before planting the ground should 
be put in good tilth. Then plow a deep furrow, and in this place 
the cuttings. Lean them at an angle against one side of the 
furrow and set them deep enough so that one joint will be near 
but just about the top of the ground when it is leveled down. 
The matter of having the one joint above ground is important, 
as if it is all covered the plant will not start. Pack the dirt firmly 
around the cutting and particularly at the bottom of them, and 
keep them well cultivated during the summer. If all the details 
of this process are carefully attended to a very large per cent 
of the cuttings ought to grow and make plants. 

Most people who want grape vines will want to buy the plants 
already started. In this case it is advisable to get two-year-old 
plants. The difference in cost is trifling, and one year is gained 
in the time for their coming into bearing. The bad feature 
about buying the plants is that labels of a great many nursery- 
men mean nothing. Use your best endeavor to buy from a reli- 
able nurseryman. If a judicious choice of varieties is made, one 
can have ripe grapes every day from about the first of August 
until the foliage is killed by frost. If a number of plants are to 
be set, the best way is to plow a deep furrow to set them in. 
Make the rows eight feet apart and a good average distance for 
the plants in the row is eight feet, although some of the rank 
growing varieties would do better to have more room and some 
of the weaker growing varieties do not require so much. After 
the plants are set, rub off all the buds but one, and during the 
first year tie this shoot to a temporary stake. Before the growth 
starts the following spring the permanent trellis should be put 
up. The common way of making the trellis is to set posts in 
the line of the plants; and if the plants are set eight feet apart 
then the posts should be sixteen feet apart, thus allowing two 



FRUIT RAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 667 

plants between each two posts. Great care should be, taken to 
have every plant exactly in line, as well as to have every post 
in line with the plants. This will avoid trouble in cultivating 
the vineyard. 

To the posts two vines should be attached, some vineyardists 
use only one wire, but two is very much better. A good wire 
to use is a No. 12 galvanized. These wires may be fastened to 
the posts with staples, but a better way is to make a hole 
through the post and pass the wire through, as staples will often 
come out and let the wire down when it is loaded with the foliage 
and fruit of the vine and when it is exceedingly hard to get it 
back to its place. "With the wire through the post this cannot 
happen. The grape will respond to good cultivation and fer- 
tilizing as well as corn or any other crop. In cultivating a vine- 
yard, the cultivator should not go very deep, as many of the 
roots of the plant are near the surface. 

Most of the enemies of the grape, both insect pests and vari- 
ous diseases, may be quite successfully controlled by spraying. 
As to varieties. Among the black grapes Moore's Early and 
Campbell's Early will be the first to ripen. Early Ohio and 
Champion will ripen equally as early, but the quality is so poor 
that they cannot be recommended. Then will come the Worden 
and the Concord. The Concord is probably the most general 
purpose grape of them all. Then will come Cynthiana, once very 
popular on this market, but now not so popular as formerly. 
Among the red grapes there is the Brighton, ripening soon after 
Moore's Early — a good yielder if fertilized with some other 
variety, and a grape of excellent quality. The Salem is a large 
red grape with a peculiar aromatic flavor that is very pleasant, 
but with me it has not been healthy either in plant or fruit. 
The Goethe is a light pink colored grape, very large and very 
late, and to my taste the best of all the grapes, but it is subject 
to so many diseases that it is not a profitable grape to grow 
commercially. Among the white grapes Moore's Diamond and 
the Niagara are the best for this locality. The Green Mountain 
is a better flavored grape, but the berries are small, and as most 
buyers are governed by the size more than quality it is a poor 
seller. It should always be included in a collection intended for 
home use. The pruning of the grape vine is the most difficult 
thing to learn about grape culture, but the limit of this article 
does not permit me to discuss it. 



668 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

SEDGWICK HAS AN ENTOMOLOGY STATION. 

One of the newest and most important state institutions 
located in Wichita is a branch of the state department of ento- 
mology. The office was opened here about the first of last June 
and has been remarkably busy during the entire summer and fall 
assisting the farmers of the county in getting rid of their orchard 
pests. Prof. S. J. Hunter, of Kansas University, is at the head 
of the state department, and the Wichita branch, which is the 
most important branch in the state, is in charge of Mr. C. B. 
Twigg, who is giving his entire time and energy to the work in 
this part of the state. Mr. Twigg is a man of extensive training 
and experience in the field of entomology and his work is being 
recognized as a work of vast importance to the farmers and fruit 
raisers in Sedgwick and adjoining counties. One of the prin- 
cipal duties of this department is to advise and assist farmers in 
ridding their orchards and fields of the troublesome pests. There 
have been times when the farmers and fruit raisers in Kansas 
have suffered heavy losses because of plant destroyers which have 
flourished in the fields where crops were being produced. Scien- 
tific investigations have demonstrated that these pests can be 
eliminated and that the crops they destroy from year to year 
can be saved to the farmers of the state if the proper methods 
are used. Those methods are the things that the department of 
entomology are prepared to teach. Farmers and fruit raisers 
are coming to see the importance of this kind of protection and 
an increasing number of them are adopting the methods which 
the state department of entomology describes to them. Professor 
Twigg occupies five days each week in actual field work, and each 
Saturday he keeps an open office in the rooms of the horticul- 
tural society in the Sedgwick county court house to consult with 
the farmers and fruit raisers who seek his advice and assistance. 



URGES GROWING OF ONIONS HERE. 

The following interesting paper was read at the last meeting 
of the Sedgwick county horticultural society by Richard Wilson : 
"This paper is especially prepared for onion growers, and I 
would say that there should be a dozen or more onion growers 
in the county than there are now, and each one should harvest 
each year from 1,000 to 1,200 bushels of onions. I had a talk 



FEUIT RAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 669 

with the produce commission men of Wichita, and I found that 
they can take care of about nine carloads each season. If our 
members could find in their hearts to start and grow this quantity, 
this would mean for Wichita $19,000 a year increase in produc- 
tion. I see no reason why people will not take this important 
plant life into consideration, any more than many other crops. Any 
normal crop of onions will clear any man $400 per acre. 

"I would advise the people to get their seed ready, for the 
season for sowing will soon be upon us. I find that the best 
time for sowing onion seeds is the first of April. Plow the soil 
evenly, then harrow it well, then go over it with a leveling board. 
Sow the seed with a drill in rows about twelve inches apart, 
and sow from seventy-five to eighty pounds per acre. Now 
comes the important part of weeding. Run the hoe through 
the patches three or four times during the season, and then 
hand-weed them all twice. Personally, I perfer boys to do my 
weeding I can get as good service out of boys during onion weed- 
ing as I can out of a man. I prefer feeding boys five times a 
day, as six hours is too long for any boy to work in the sun and 
drink cold water. If you want to see a pleasant smile on the 
face of mother's boy, take him a piece of pie and a drink of 
tea about 10 o'clock in the forenoon, and repeat the same about 
3 :30 in the afternoon. 

"You can save lots of time and money by always keeping 
ahead of the weeds. Pull the onion sets as soon as they are 
large enough and before the tops die down too much. The rea- 
son why I mention onion sets only is because in this country 
they bring twice as much money as large onions. Any man who 
has any gumption can afford to buy ten acres of land and pay 
$200 per acre for it, and own the same in two years by putting 
three acres into onion sets and the other seven acres in other 
vegetables, as the onions sets will easily net him $1,000 per year. 
One onion set grower is getting the price of $1.75 per bushel. 
I have given you what I consider a fair setting forth of onion 
growing. Onions are something we can not do without, because 
they are good for the physicial system. They can make the 
hardest hearted people in Sedgwick county shed tears ; they have 
a strong taste and a strong odor, and above all these, a strong 
money flavor. Much of the soil of Sedgwick county is adapted 
to the raising of onions." 



670 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

THE FROST METER IN SEDGWICK COUNTY. 

Many people and among them many of our old settlers have 
grown sceptical about Sedgwick county being a successful fruit 
raising district. We have the trees and they are mature enough 
to bear, but the bloom comes so early that the trees are subject 
to the late frosts. This has been repeated so often that our 
people have largely lost faith in fruit prospects, but those who 
travel abroad have discovered that the successful fruit raisers 
of the Hood river country in Oregon, and the best fruit regions 
of Colorado and Washington, raise fruit each year and they do 
so by the simple device known as a frost meter. Each orchardist 
has a meter which is simply a thermometer, and it is usually 
set at 40 degrees ; when the mercury falls to this point, the little 
machine rings a bell, usually stationed at the head of the owner's 
bed, and thereupon the orchardist calls up his wife and children 
and with handy torches all prepared, the smudge pots scattered 
about the orchard are lighted and as a result the temperature is 
so regulated in the orchard that the fruit buds escape the frost 
and hence it follows that the fruit is saved. The smudge pots 
are loaded with crude oil, which is an inexpensive fuel for this 
purpose; the expenditure of a few dollars at the proper time 
has saved hundreds and thousands of dollars' worth of fruit in 
Sedgwick county. Enterprising orchardists like Frank Yaw, 
J. F. Fager, Albert Kuncle, Ed. Hoover, Ed. Cooley, Steve Balch 
and other well known fruit raisers in Sedgwick county, have 
this past spring adopted the smudge pot system and the result 
has been most satisfactory to them. This system has been in 
use for years in the Grand Junction (Colorado) orchards, and 
those people raise fruit each year. It is also a well known 
fact that the temperature in an orchard is the lowest about 4 
a. m. Any system that will make the moisture into dew 
instead of frost saves the fruit. It has also been discovered by 
careful scientific tests that the velocity of the wind may be ten 
miles an hour outside of the orchard and only two miles per hour 
in the orchard; as the currents of air are being controlled, and 
as the weather is being foretold, and the rainfall predicted, 
so the coming of the frost and the fall of the temperature can 
be predicted to a nicety. Careful research, and the application 
of good judgment to the growing of fruit in Sedgwick county,, 
will in my judgment make it an abundant success. 



FEUIT EAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 671 

KANSAS CROP FIGURES. 

Sedgwick county, rich as it is in agriculture and all the other 
essentials of an independent and prosperous community, is but 
a small portion of the great commonwealth of Kansas, much of 
which is equally fertile and productive. In a large measure the 
prosperity of Wichita and Sedgwick county is due to this same 
thrifty and fortunate condition of the state as a whole, for into 
this city as a gateway to the markets of the world, pour the 
products of the farms and ranches in half a hundred counties, 
adding to the volume of business here and helping to enrich all 
concerned. 

Some idea of the enormous crops of Kansas may be obtained 
from a report recently issued by F. D. Coburn, secretary of the 
state board of agriculture, regarding the products of Kansas 
farms during the past twenty years. This report shows that the 
farms of Kansas last year produced nearly one-third of a billion 
dollars' worth of crops and live stock. Counting the population 
of the state at two million, this gives each man, woman and child 
in the state $154 to add to their bank account for the year, just 
from the farms alone. Although in point of quantities pro- 
duced last year, the crop was not the greatest in the history of 
the state, the money value of it exceeded that of any other year's 
crop by thirty million dollars. The following table shows what 
Kansas did in the way of crop and stock raising last year : 

Products. Quantities. Values. 

"Winter wheat, bushels 80,226,704 $ 75,338,255 

Spring wheat, bushels 732,036 602,935 

Oats, bushels 23,588,220 10,254,230 

Corn, bushels 147,005,120 83,066.905 

Eye, bushels 355,807 256,491 

Barley, bushels 3,786,455 1,724,530 

Emmer ("speltz.") bushels 1,448,601 581,185 

Buckwheat, bushels 4,187 4,148 

Irish potatoes 7,026,896 5,008,739 

Sweet potatoes, bushels 553,228 461,219 

Castor beans, bushels 90 90 

Cotton, pounds 18,750 815 

Flax, bushels ' 354,647 383,550 

Hemp, pounds 



672 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Tobacco, pounds 4,245 '424 

Broom corn, pounds . . ; 17,094,535 1,181,868 

Millet and Hungarian, tons 424,943 1,966,914 

Sugar beets, tons 102,462 512,310 

Sorghum 3,766,195 

Milo maize, tons 202,328 959,259 

Kafir corn, tons 1,776,155 7,150,081 

Jerusalem corn, tons 8,775 36,169 

Tame hay, tons 2,052,927 14,343,933 

Prairie hay 1,497,793 7,456,781 

Livestock products 88,624,467 

Horticultural products, etc 3,856,672 



Totals $307,538,165 



This table gives the aggregate values for the past twenty years. 

Winter wheat $ 759,708,739 

Spring wheat 11,011,802 

Corn 974,633,144 

Oats 141,355,959 

Rye 17,383,520 

Barley 20,241,415 

Emmer ("speltz") 1,018,792 

Buckwheat 216,336 

Irish potatoes 63,440,953 

Sweet potatoes 5,457,298 

Castor beans 932,623 

Cotton 170,881 

Flax 21,224,970 

Hemp 35,359 

Tobacco 166,980 

Broom corn 12,118,736 

Millet and Hungarian 40,072,206 

Sugar beets 1,213,440 

Sorghum 57,934,754 

Milo maize 2,987,087 

Kafir corn 84,142,755 

Jerusalem corn 1,128,430 



FRUIT RAISING IN SEDGWICK COUNTY 673 

Tame hay 123,476,100 

Prairie hay 117,558,915 

Livestock products 1,261,780,555 

Horticultural products, etc 43,858,574 

Grand total $3,763,270,323 

Annual average 188,163,516 



YIELDS, IN BUSHELS FOR TWENTY YEARS. 

Wheat. 

Years Win. and Spr. Corn. 

1890 28,801,214 51,090,229 

1891 58,550,653 139,363,991 

1892 74,538,906 138,658,621 

1893 24,827,523 118,624,369 

1894 28,205,700 66,952,833 

1895 16,001,060 201,457,396 

1896 27,754,888 221,419,414 

1897 51,026,604 152,140,993 

1898 60,790,661 126,999,132 

1899 43,687,013 225,183,432 

1900 77,339,091 134,523,677 

1901 90,333,095 42,605,672 

1902 54,649,236 201,367,102 

1903 94,041,902 169,359,769 

1904 65,141,629 132,021,774 

1905 77,178,177 190,519,593 

1906 93,292,980 187,021,214 

1907 74,155,695 145,288,326 

1908 76,808,922 150,640,516 

1909 80,958,740 147,005,120 

Totals 1,198,083,689 2,942,234,173 

Yearly averages 59,904,184 147,112,158 

Years. Rye. Oats. 

1890 2,274,879 29,175,582 

1891 5,443,030 39,904,443 

1892 4,042,613 43,722,484 

1893 1,063,019 28,194.717 



674 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

1894 978,658 18,385,469 

1895 1,655,713 31,664,748 

1896 998,897 19,314,772 

1897 1,661,662 23,431,273 

1898 2,153,050 21,702,537 

1899 1,754,406 26,046,773 

1900 1,945,026 31,169,982 

1901 2,955,065 20,806,329 

1902 3,728,296 32,966,114 

1903 2,962,392 28,025,729 

1904 1,110,378 21,819,257 

1905 1,114,390 29,962,987 

1906 711,118 25,560,919 

1907 353,417 14,104,194 

1908 361,476 16,707,979 

1909 355,807 25,588,220 

Totals 37,623,292 529,254,508 

Yearly averages 1,881,164 26,462,725 



CHAPTER LI. 
NATIVE FOREST TREES OF THE STATE OF KANSAS. 

By 

G. W. COLLINGS, PRESIDENT OF THE SEDGWICK COUNTY 
HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

(Paper read before society.) 

Mrs. Partington said that her husband knew all about hogs, 
because he had been brought up among them. By the same kind 
of reasoning I ought to know all about forest trees, because I 
was born and brought up in a country that was covered with 
forest trees. A great part of my early life was devoted to de- 
stroying forest trees and clearing the land of the trees so that 
it could be utilized for the growing of crops. We had too many 
trees. Trees were everywhere. Indeed I never saw an acre of 
prairie land until I was grown. When I was a boy I knew at 
sight all the trees that grew in the vicinity, and could give the 
names (the local names) of all of them. I could not do that now. 
But these were not the native trees of Kansas. About the Kansas 
native trees I do not know much. During the time that I have 
lived in Kansas my attention has not been especially directed 
to the trees. I have not been engaged in any business that called 
for any knowledge of the native trees. My travels over the state 
have been limited and so have had very little opportunity of 
observing the native trees even if my attention had been directed 
to them. From 1867 to 1870 I lived in the northeastern part of 
the state, in Brown and Nemaha counties. I know that native 
forest trees were at that time much more plentiful in that part 
of the state than they have ever been in this vicinity. I had a 
sister who came with her family to Brown county in 1858. I ar- 
rived there on the fifth day of July, 1867, and worked on the farm 
for my brother-in-law until time to begin the district school which 
I taught that fall and winter. A part of the work that I helped 

675 



676 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

to do was to build a fence around a large pasture. The wire 
fence had not come into general use at that time and we built 
the fence of rails — not the old fashioned rail worm fence that 
I had been used to in Indiana, but we put in posts and nailed 
the rails to them. The rails used were oak rails which my brother- 
in-law bought of the Kickapoo Indians, his farm being near 
the Kickapoo reserve. At that time the Kickapoos were making 
a considerable quantity of rails to sell to the farmers. The rails 
were fairly good ones but of what variety of oak they were made 
I do not now know. A nephew of mine helped to make that fence. 
He is still living in that vicinity. He has been a farmer and 
land owner and has had a good deal to do with "The Native For- 
est Trees" Thinking that he would be able to give me some in- 
formation on the subject I wrote to him. In answer he says, in 
part: "First, I will say that forty-five years ago the residents 
of this part of the country did a good deal of work to protect 
the timber from prairie fires, thinking that as the country settled 
up the timber would become very valuable, but the expectations 
did not materialize; largely on account of the introduction of 
barbed wire. Now in the last twenty years the people have been 
getting rid of their timber. As land advanced in value they do 
not consider the timber a paying proposition. The more valuable 
kinds, such as black walnut, burr oak and white oak, have become 
very scarce, except in occasional groves of small young trees, that 
are not large enough to be of any value, except where poles 
can be used. 

"As to the varieties : We have the white or water elm, red elm, 
black oak, some ash, a few sycamore, linn or basswood, cotton 
wood, box elder, honey locust, hackberry, white and shell bark 
hickory. I have two small groves of iron wood. I would say that 
not many cottonwoods or elms that are good enough to make 
lumber of are left, so that nearly all the timber that is left is only 
fit for fuel or some temporary work. As to the value of timber 
I do not know what to say. I do not think that any good culti- 
vating land with timber on it adds anything to the value of the 
land." I will add that during my residence in that part of the 
state I saw growing on the hills along one of the streams a large 
number of some kind of an evergreen. What particular variety 
I do not know. They were mostly small, many of them very 
small. I also saw growing there in the creek bottom quite a 
number of pawpaws, and in the forests two or three varieties 



NATIVE FOEEST TEEES 677 

of haws and some wild plums — not the sand plum of this part 
of the state, but a very handsome tree bearing a very excellent 
red plum. A grandson of the sister that I speak of and who was 
born and raised in that part of the state has been for some years 
in the lumber business in Leavenworth. I also wrote him for 
information about Kansas - forest trees. Here is a part of his 
answer : 

"In the part of the state in which I was raised the following 
constitute the principal native trees, and are given, the most 
plentiful first and so on down to those which are scarcer: 
oak, black and white ; hickory, at least two kinds, one commonly 
called pig-nut, growing a small smooth surface, bitter meated 
nut, not good for anything that I know of; the other shell-bark, 
so called because of the shelly bark to distinguish it from the 
smooth barked pig-nut species, and is the one which bears the 
small hickory nuts which are so good to eat, but so small and 
hard to get out of the shells. Black walnut and elm, red and 
white, come next in quantity. Then you would find more or 
less scattered in various parts of the state a few sycamores, hack- 
berry, mulberry, wild cherry, cottonwood, box elder; and in this 
vicinity where I am now living there are occasionally a persimmon 
tree and a very few pecans. There is also another variety of oak 
known as the burr oak. This is the kind that has the big acorns 
and is such excellent post timber. Of coure, none of these appear 
in commercial quantities or sizes, although locally there is cut 
into lumber a little of the oak, elm, sycamore and walnut for 
farm building of sheds, etc. The walnut is the most valuable 
of them all and sells readily if found of any size, and in any 
quantity. 

"The catalpa is being grown somewhat in some parts of the 
state commercially for ties and posts but so far as I know it does 
not appear as a natural forest tree, all that I have seen being put 
out by the hand of man. 

"The matter of forest trees getting distributed over a treeless 
country presents a study in itself. There are many curious and 
strange, wonderful and interesting facts about it, In considering 
the matter we must premise that every tree that starts into life 
must start from a seed. But where do the seeds come from? 
I have seen an old cottonwood standing on a high point on the 
brink of a canon in Comanche county, standing alone, old and 
gnarled and knotty as if it was one of the old guard standing 



678 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

as a sentinel on the outpost of civilization. How did the seed get 
there from which it grew? It is true that nature has provided 
a means for the distribution of forest tree seeds, as well as other 
seeds, in the arrangement of the seed itself making it easily 
carried by the wind. We can thus see how seeds are distributed 
for short distances around the parent tree, but when the distance 
becomes hundreds of miles we are puzzled." 

In 1884 I took up a pre-emption claim in Comanche county. 
There was a company of about a dozen of us that went together. 
My claim was located forty-five miles due south of Kinsley. 
Kinsley was our nearest railroad point and from there we pro- 
cured our supplies. At first we followed a trail around by Greens- 
burg, but this took us six or eight miles too far east, so we 
conceived the idea of making a trail of our own straight across 
the prairie to Kinsley. In the company was a young man who 
was a civil engineer. He procured a transit and one morning 
early a number of us met by previous agreement and proceeded 
to make the trail. The engineer got on a section line and with the 
assistance of the necessary flagmen started to run a line due 
north ; I followed him with a plow and we ran a furrow out across 
the prairie about twenty miles. Another man came along with 
a wagon to carry the lunch and other supplies and to furnish 
a way for us all to ride back when the work was done. All 
day, along that entire distance, was not a settler in sight. Now 
I am coming to the point. You all know that on an unsettled and 
an uncultivated prairie, the kinds of weeds that grow on culti- 
vated land are not found. I passed along this trail the next 
summer after it was made and found growing on the soil that had 
been turned out by the plow the entire length of the trail the 
same kind of weeds that grow on cultivated land, but you would 
seek in vain for one of them anywhere else on the prairie. Where 
did the seed come from? And how did they get there? When 
I went to my brother-in-law's place, as already stated, in 1867, 
there was a bit of ground — probably two acres — that sloped down 
towards the creek, and that was covered over about as thick 
as they could grow with hickory sprouts from six inches to five or 
six feet high. There were no hickory trees of a nut bearing size 
in the vicinity. I did not think anything about it then, but when 
I think of it now I wonder where the seed came from and how 
they got there, that started those sprouts. And when I wrote to 
my nephew, a part of whose letter I have given you, among other 



NATIVE FOBEST TEEES 679 

things I asked him was in regard to these sprouts, and here is his 
answer : 

"In reply to your last question, I will say that I do not know 
how the little trees that you speak of got started. They probably 
started a good many years prior to the time you speak of. They 
were burned off most every year by prairie fires until settlers 
provided fire guards to protect the young timber. The ground 
where they grew was full of large roots making it very difficult 
to grub and get in shape to plow. Those same bushes you speak 
of, where they have been let alone, are now thirty to forty feet 
high, and from six to ten inches in diameter." 

"We have recently been reading and hearing a good deal about 
forestry. Forestry has to do with the matter of growing and 
caring for forests — growing timber. Of late years the United 
States government has had a department of forestry and much 
attention has been given to the subject. Many of the states have 
departments of forestry. Kansas has two forestry stations, one 
at Dodge City and one at Ogallah. I know very little what they 
are doing, but from the little that I know I have formed the 
idea that they are inefficient and are doing very little. A few 
years ago a few of the people of the United States were awakened 
to the fact that our timber supply was being rapidly exhausted 
and that at present rates it would be but a few years until we 
would have no timber. I recently read a statement in some gov- 
ernment publication to the effect that the timber of the United 
States was being used twice as fast as it was being produced, 
and that the supply ahead would not last at the present rate 
more than twenty-five or thirty years. If any of you have been 
building you doubtless are painfully aware of the fact that the 
price of lumber has been soaring skyward. The great part that 
timber plays in our civilization, its use for building, for rail- 
road ties, for telegraph and telephone poles and for making of 
paper, and for the hundred and one other things for which it 
seems indispensable gives to the subject of forestry the greatest 
importance. It is something in which every citizen has a vital 
interest, and an interest that will grow as the years go by. We 
must either devise a plan to get along without timber, or we 
must devise a plan by which the increase of timber will keep 
pace with the amount used. We who have been brought up in 
the forest have a real veneration for forest trees. 

A long time ago I went to see the play of "Rip Van Winkle," 



680 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

and have ever since gone to see it whenever it comes around. 
You all know Eip Van "Winkle as the drunken vagabond of the 
Katskills. After forbearance had ceased to be a virtue, his wife 
drives him out into a storm one night and he staggers off in his 
drunken way and is next seen in a splendid forest up in the 
mountains. The stage scenery shows the forest trees that sur- 
round him magnificently. He is sobered now. He looks around 
and recognizes the trees. He takes off his old and torn hat and 
bows to them, saying: "Here are my old friends. They do not 
drive me away! How are ye, old fellers!" And seeing his ven- 
eration for the trees you forget that he is a worthless, drunken 
vagabond. 



CHAPTER LII. 
THE LIVE STOCK INTERESTS OF THE INTERIOR WEST. 

By 

THE EDITOR. 

The herding of that now almost extinct animal, the American 
buffalo, in countless thousands upon the great plains of the "West, 
and the growth of the most nourishing and nutritious grasses, 
led the first ventursome cattlemen to range their herds over 
portions of Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Colorado, Texas and 
the Indian Territory. 

The valleys of the Platte, the Blue, the Republican, the Kaw, 
the Saline, the Smoky Hill, the Arkansas, the Cimaron, the 
Canadians and the Red rivers, with their tributary streams in 
Nebraska, Kansas and the Indian Territory, furnish as fine 
natural feeding ground for cattle as exist in the West. 

The Indian warrior of the past, standing upon the banks of the 
softly flowing river, noted its countless herds of fat buffalo and 
saw no discontent for himself or his tribe. He was the original 
cattleman. His herd was a little wild, but it supplied his needs, 
and the market never worried him. He had never heard of the 
Big Four, or of any beef combine. When he wanted meat an 
arrow drawn to the very notch did the work, and his stock fed 
and watered itself. The fact that certain prairies of the great 
West were for years the favorite feeding ground of the buffalo, 
made them the favorite pasture field for the American steer. 

The buffalo passed away, the Texas steer came with his slab- 
sides and his broad horns ; later came his half brother, a rounder, 
smoother, better favored animal. Closely following the intro- 
duction of the steer upon the prairies of the Great West, came 
the hog. ill favored at first, with a razor-back and a long snout, 
now a round, favored animal, a cross of the Berkshire, Poland 
China, and Chester White varieties and an animal which fattens 
rapidly. The western hog and the western steer go to market 
side by side, and often in the same car. 

681 



682 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

As the western country was settled and opened out to culti- 
vation, at first grain growing was the fashion. It soon dawned, 
however, upon the western farmer, that the proper way to market 
his grain was upon the hoof. The successful farmer in the West 
is the man who feeds his grain to his own hogs and cattle, 
and thus takes it to market in the shape of fat hogs and cattle. 
Only such farming succeeds in the West. The farmer who has 
closely followed this rule has no mortgage on his farm. 

From a small beginning this interest has finally grown to 
immense proportions. It is now a cause of wonder to the average 
Eastern man where all of the cattle and hogs come from. Take 
up any of the great daily newspapers and scan the market reports 
concerning the movement of live stock! One is astonished. 

The development of this great industry called for markets. 
For a long time Cincinnati was the great hog market of this 
country, but time demonstrated that the seat of the manufacture 
should be near to the source of supply. Soon Chicago began to 
grow as a live stock market. Chicago is always great in all that 
she undertakes. The first great necessity of a live stock market 
is the supply of hogs and cattle, next comes the railway facilities. 
It has been demonstrated beyond any question that it is an im- 
possibility to build a great live stock market, save upon a com- 
peting point of great lines of railway. Hence, other things being 
favorable, the great live stock interests of the West have centered 
at Chicago, and later on, at Omaha, Kansas City and Wichita. 
We hear frequent complaints, in these times of great injustice 
and wrongs, perpetrated by the various stockyards' companies. 
It is probable that the injuries are mostly imaginary, for the 
stock yards of the West are a great blessing to the western 
farmer. They furnish a sure and ready market for all of his 
cattle and hogs. Wipe them out and he would be at sea, as to 
his chief and most important products. 

A careful reading of the daily press will furnish him at all 
times reliable reports as to the exact state of the market. Twelve 
hour's time over one of the great lines of railway will put him 
with his product into the market. 

A glance at the growth of the great live stock markets of the 
West may be of interest. As everybody knows, Chicago leads 
in every thing. As to her continuing this supremacy will depend 
on many things. She has the competing lines of railways, one 
of the great factors of this trade. She taps the surrounding 



THE LIVE STOCK INTERESTS 683 

country with her railways, all converging to her and draining 
the surrounding territory for many, nay for hundreds of miles. 

For the last few years, Omaha has made wonderful progress 
in building up a live stock market. 

Her growth in this direction has been a surprise to her com- 
petitors, and a source of gratification to her friends. 

Her location is favorable, she drains a large corn producing 
territory. Early in 1884 a number of capitalists associated them- 
selves together with a view to the development of these natural 
facilities. The outcome was the organization of two separate 
companies, composed chiefly of the same parties, and including 
in their number some of the most enterprising capitalists of 
Omaha, Chicago, Cheyenne, Boston and St. Louis. It was in- 
tended that these two companies, known as the Union Stock 
Yards Company and the South Omaha Land syndicate should 
work in harmony with each other, and they purchased a large 
tract of land comprising 260 acres, lying immediately south of 
the city limits of Omaha. The stock yards company commenced 
the building of yards, while the land syndicate laid out a town 
site, giving it the name of South Omaha. The original capital 
of the stock yards company was $700,000, but with the rapid 
development of the industry, the capital has been increased to 
$2,000,000, and new stockholders have been added to the list. 

The Omaha yards opened for business in August, 1884. Their 
receipts and business was flattering from the very start. The fol- 
lowing is their present capacity for live stock : 10,000 cattle, 20,- 
000 hogs, 5,000 sheep, 500 horses and mules per day. The follow- 
ing figures of receipts and shipments at the Omaha yards are 
almost incredible. 

It was the Hon. Jerry Simpson, of Kansas, who said quoting 
the old adage, "That figures never lie but that liars make figures." 
However I believe that the figures below are authentic. 

LARGEST RECEIPTS OF STOCK IN ONE YEAR. 

Cattle, 1890 606,699 

Hogs, 1890 1.673,314 

Sheep, 1889 159,053 

Horses and Mules, 1889 7,595 

Cars, 1890 54,283 



684 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

TOTAL RECEIPTS OF STOCK FOR SEVEN YEARS. 

Years Cattle Hogs Sheep H&M 

1884, Aug., Sept., Oct., Nov. 36,898 1,863 4,188 466 

1885 114,163 130,867 18,985 1,959 

1886 144,457 390,487 40,195 3,028 

1887 235,723 1,011,706 76,014 3,202 

1888 340,469 1,283,600 158,503 5,035 

1889 467,340 1,206,605 159,053 7,595 

1890 606,699 1,673,314 156,186 5,318 

Total 1,995,749 5,698,442 613,124 26,603 



TOTAL SHIPMENTS OF STOCK FOR SEVEN YEARS. 

Years. Cattle Hogs Sheep H&M 

1884, Aug., Sept., Oct., Nov. 81,955 500 1,273 417 

1885 83,233 71,919 8,408 1,415 

1886 73,120 187,369 17,728 1,857 

1887 151,419 140,726 56,444 1,856 

1888 206,064 333,228 118,208 3,799 

1889 227,921 179,916 103,250 6,744 

1890 283,880 275,638 94,464 4,935 

Total 1,107,592 1,189,296 399,775 21,023 

With the stock yards always goes its twin industry, the pack- 
ing house. Four great meat packing establishments are now in 
operation at South Omaha. The aggregate cost of the buildings 
and equipments exceeds $2,000,000, independent of the value of 
the ground occupied by the plants. About 3,000 men are em- 
ployed in the stock yards and packing houses of Omaha. If the 
hog and cattle market of Omaha is a surprising one, what shall 
I say of that of Kansas City, known all over the land as the sec- 
ond largest great live stock market of the Union? In twenty 
years the growth of the live stock market of Kansas City has 
been enormous. Beginning in 1871 with 120,827 cattle, 41,036 
hogs, 4,527 sheep, 809 horses and mules and 6,623 cars, the year 

1890 showed 1,472,229 cattle, 76,568 calves, 2,865,171 hogs, 535,- 
869 sheep, 37,118 horses and mules, with 108,160 cars handled. 
The total receipts for the year 1890 have simply been enormous 



THE LIVE STOCK INTERESTS 685 

and there has been a steady increase each year since. The ques- 
tion arises, Where does all of this stock come from? 



VALUATION OF STOCK HANDLED AT THESE YARDS IN 
TWENTY YEARS. 

1871 $ 4,210,605.00 

1872 9,175,071.00 

1873 9,133,399.00 

1874 8,692,337.00 

1875 6,574,473.00 

1876 7,210,033.00 

1877 9,129,047.00 

1878 7,721,999.00 

1879 10,635,231.00 

1880 14,277,215.00 

1881 23,595,276.00 

1882 32,660,445.00 

1883 35,824,499.00 

1884 41,145,551.00 

1885 39,181,940.00 

1886 35,340,150.00 

1887 43,514,050.00 

1888 55,949,004.00 

1889 59,554,276.00 

1890 75,503,119.00 

And the number has increased each year since. For years 
the rich and prosperous valleys of the Missouri, the Platte, Re- 
publican, Kaw, Arkansas, Canadians and Red rivers, the rich 
pastures of the Cherokee outlet and the plains of the Texas have 
poured their trainloads of hogs and cattle into the yards of this 
great city. Can it be wondered at that she has flourished and 
waxed strong and opulent, draining all of this magnificent area 
of territory? Immense packing houses have sprung into exist- 
ence, and we see here today all that is needed to continue to en- 
large the present tremendous business and market at this point. 
Born of the needs of the traffic and the product of that rule 
which regulates supply and demand and which naturally, all other 
things being equal, will place the manufactory close to the source 
of supply, a new Richmond has lately entered the field. 



686 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

The "Wichita Union Stock Yards is the largest candidate for 
public favor as a live stock market. Located in the heart of the 
corn belt and starting in a small way, the success of the Wichita 
yards has been a surprise to their founders. Following closely 
upon the location of the yards at Wichita came the immense 
packing plants of Jacob Dold & Sons and the Cudahys, with an 
invested capital in the plants and machinery of many thousands 
of dollars. The Dold and Cudahy packing companies at Wichita 
have been very important factors in building a live stock market. 
They have at all times been liberal buyers. With few favors 
from the great railway lines centering at Wichita they have built 
up an extensive trade. Their meats seek all of the southern and 
western ports, and their hams have a reputation as broad as the 
continent. Time has shown that those points which are natural 
grain centers can easily maintain themselves as live stock mar- 
kets. For instance, look at Chicago, Omaha, Kansas City, and 
later at Wichita. Wichita is a wheat and corn center. Wheat 
produces bread, but corn makes both pork and beef. That coun- 
try which will raise corn will make a live stock market. 

So that we can reasonably say that the territory tributary to' 
the four points named will continue the present great live stock 
interests there. If consumption and markets increase production, 
and we know that this is so, no man can measure the growth of 
the live stock markets of the great West. There is, however, one 
great question that must be handled — that is the question of 
railway transportation. Its importance in connection with the 
movement of live stock cannot be underestimated. 



CHAPTER LIIL 
HISTORY OF THE WICHITA UNION STOCK YARDS. 

While Wichita, the gateway of the Southwest, has many large 
wholesale houses which supply the trade for hundreds of miles 
around, no one class of business is so great or has so far-reaching 
an effect in building the city as has the Wichita stock yards. 

This is essentially a stock-raising and grain-growing territory, 
and the elevators and grain men are doing much in bringing 
trade to Wichita, yet it will be conceded that no one of them is 
doing as much as the Wichita Stock Yards Company, nor any 
combination of any single business doing as much as are the stock 
men and packing houses of the North End. For they have prac- 
tically made a market for all kinds of live stock and to the push 
and enterprise of the stock yards management is largely due the 
upbuilding of a gigantic industry second to none in this territory. 

It means the bringing to Wichita of thousands of dollars; of 
bringing to the city, and finding employment for them, of hun- 
dreds of men, and the bringing to the city of countless people 
who, were it not for the stock yards, would go elsewhere to spend 
their money. The men of southern Kansas and Oklahoma ship 
their products here, and in return Oklahoma and southern Kan- 
sas are encouraged to purchase their supplies of all kinds from 
other firms throughout the city. The stock yards are far reaching 
in their effects, not only to the advantage of a few men directly 
engaged in the stock business, but to the city in general. And it 
means a good market close at home for all southern Kansas, Okla- 
homa and northern Texas. This is one advantage which is felt 
by all cattle raisers, for long hauls and risks of selling on a falling 
market are things of the past. Better rates proportionately are 
given here than in Kansas City. In some instances so fierce is 
the rivalry between buyers that even Kansas City prices are 
equaled and never is the market more than a fraction below that 
city. The shipper who passes Wichita and sells to Kansas City 
does it at a loss and is beginning to realize the fact. 

687 



688 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

The stock yards were established in "Wichita in 1887 upon 
twenty-eight acres of land north of Eighteenth street and on both 
sides of Emporia avenue. Here hog pens and cattle sheds were 
erected and a three-story brick exchange put up. But disaster 
met the infant enterprise almost at its completion, for the day 
after the yards were opened the whole caught fire and burned 
down. Not in the least dismayed, the company immediately be- 
gan rebuilding and by January 1, 1888, three months later, were 
ready to receive stock. In 1900 the yards were removed to their 
present location on Twenty-first street, where ten acres of land 
were covered with sheds for all kinds of live stock. In this same 
year the exchange building was erected. Four years later, June 
2, 1904, the yards burned a second time, but were immediately 
rebuilt. 

William R. Dulaney was the first superintendent and retained 
the management of the yards until four years ago. He assumed 
his duties in 1888 and remained until April, 1906, a period of 
eighteen years. The organization was effected in the first instance 
with J. 0. Davidson, president; Robert McQuitty, secretary; 
Taltom Embry, general manager ; W. R. Dulaney, superintendent, 
with the following additional directors : W. R. Dulaney, G. L. 
Pratt and George Hutchinson. The yards were located on ground 
belonging to George Hutchinson. In 1889 forty more acres were 
added and seven years ago several more were purchased, making 
in all seventy-five acres belonging to the company. The same 
year the stock yards opened up Jacob Dold built his packing 
house, which provided a local market for hogs and butchers ' stuff. 
In the fall of 1889 Whittaker established his packing house, but 
closed it in 1893, when he was succeeded by John Cudahy, who 
continued the business until November, 1906, when the business 
was turned over to the Cudahy Packing Company, which is plan- 
ning many extensive improvements. The capacity of the Wichita 
stock yards at present are sufficient for 2,000 cattle, 2,000 sheep 
and 5,000 hogs daily. The yards and pens are well built and care- 
fully kept, so that stock received here are well cared for. The 
hog sheds are all covered and the cattle pens have all been given 
a solid floor of brick. 

In 1890, for the convenience of the great business being done 
in the stock yards and packing houses, the railroads entering the 
city pooled together and established the joint railway station on 
Twenty-first, operated by the joint railways, and handling the 



THE LIVE STOCK INTEEESTS 689 

business of all the roads. The value of this method is now begin- 
ning to be fully appreciated. For years the company seemed con- 
tent merely to take what came and give the gods thanks. True, it 
was a vast scheme, and one worthy of commendation — the work 
done in early days by the infant industry, but it was with the 
advent of the new company that plans were made for branching 
out and inducing business to come here which had been going 
elsewhere. A most enterprising system has been inaugurated, 
and instead of allowing other cities to hold the lead in stock, 
Wichita began a strenuous effort to show to shippers that they 
could not only save money but also make money by shipping here 
instead of to other points. 

In the furtherance of this scheme agents have been sent out 
to post the people with regard to the facts in the case, and the 
result is already apparent. 

The Wichita market, with its short haul, small freight rates, 
which means to you less shrink, less expense, less time and more 
money, is being recognized as one of the best markets in the West. 
The Wichita market is located in the heart of a great corn and 
alfalfa raising country, also close to the greatest grazing lands in 
the United States. Wichita has two large packing houses, viz. : 
the Cudahy Packing Company and the Jacob Dold Packing Com- 
pany, which have a capacity of 700 cattle and 5,000 hogs daily. 
Located as it is, and with the packing capacity it has, there can 
be no question but what you can find a ready market for any 
class of stock you may have. Also it is the best market to buy or 
sell your stock ers and feeders. Why? The rate to market is 
less; the rate to the feeding and grazing country is less; conse- 
quently the seller can well afford to take as cheap a price for his 
stockers and feeders on this market as any other market, as his 
expenses and shrinkage are less in getting them to market. The 
buyers can afford to pay better prices for them here, for the rea- 
son that they are close to his pastures and feed lot. He not only 
saves in expenses, but he can deliver his cattle at home in better 
condition on account of short haul and less handling. Wichita 
also has this advantage : You can ship your stock with the privi- 
lege of the Missouri river markets. With the present shipping 
rules, the greater per cent of the cattle passing through our mar- 
ket have to be unloaded and fed en route, and if billed with 
Wichita privilege you do not lose any time or incur any addi- 
tional expense by showing your cattle on our market, thereby get- 



690 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

ting the benefit of two markets. The Wichita market now has a 
magnificent live stock exchange building, just completed, in which 
is located a national bank which will make a specialty of handling 
cattle paper. This will give the shipper the benefit of any accom- 
modation that can be extended to him in any market. — From the 
"Arkansas Valley Farmer." 

LARGEST RECEIPTS IN ONE DAY. 

Cattle— November 8, 1909 4,041 

Hogs— January 20, 1909 7,186 

Sheep— March 1, 1900 ;. . . 3,124 

Horses and mules — November 24, 1909 158 

Cars— November 8, 1909 193 

LARGEST RECEIPTS IN ONE WEEK. 

Cattle— Ending October 23, 1909 7,566 

Hogs— Ending January 23, 1909 22,735 

Sheep— Ending March 6, 1909 3,662 

Horses and mules — Ending November 27, 1909 321 

Cars— Ending November 13, 1909 422 

LARGEST RECEIPTS IN ONE MONTH. 

Cattle— October, 1909 27,319 

Hogs— January, 1909 80,952 

Sheep— October, 1909 5,657 

Horses and mules — November, 1909 669 

Cars— November, 1909 1,599 

LARGEST RECEIPTS IN ONE YEAR. 

Cattle— 1909 184,659 

Hogs— 1909 751,560 

Sheep— 1899 22,796 

Horses and mules— 1909 3,645 

Cars— 1909 14,083 



RECORD GROWTH IN LIVE STOCK BUSINESS. 

The accompanying tables of figures tell more quickly and 
more clearly than words the wonderful growth of the Wichita 



WICHITA UNION STOCK YARDS 691 

live stock market during the past sixteen years. These figures 
are taken from the records of the Union Stock Yards Company 
and are authentic. They show that the total amount of business 
handled by the yards has increased 700 per cent in the sixteen 
years from 1893 to 1909. No other market in the United States 
can show such a large percentage of business increase in a like 
period. The most remarkable growth appears in the hog trade. 
In 1893 the average yearly crop of hogs at the Wichita market 
was 80,000. Last year over 750,000 hogs were yarded and mostly 
sold in Wichita. The increase in the sixteen years is just 925 per 
cent. The cattle growth has not been so marked during the same 
period. A decade and a half ago the average yearly receipts of 
cattle were 30,000 head. In 1909 the receipts were 184,000, show- 
ing the increase to be something over 600 per cent for the period. 
Half of the stupendous growth made by the Wichita live stock 
market in the past sixteen years has come in the last three years 
of the period. In three years, from 1906 to 1909, cattle receipts 
made a gain of 400 per cent. In the same time the hog business 
made a gain of 150 per cent. These are remarkable figures and 
they become more remarkable from the fact that the greater por- 
tion of the increased supply of hogs and cattle was consumed by 
the Wichita packing houses. In fact, the growth of the live 
stock market is merely a reflection of the increased activities of 
the Wichita packers. For instance, in 1893 nearjy half of the 
hogs received were shipped on to other markets for want of buy- 
ers here. Last year less than one-seventh of the total receipts 
went past this market. Sixteen years ago hardly one-fifth of the 
total receipts were consumed here. Last year one-third of the 
supply was used by the Wichita packers. 

These facts are but an index to the coming greatness of the 
Wichita live stock market. It is only in the past three years 
that the live stock industry has really begun to grow in Wichita. 
Although Wichita has but two packing plants, both are growing 
in size and capacity at a remarkable rate. In the past two years 
these two plants have increased their capacities for the slaughter 
of cattle and hogs fully 50 per cent. To secure this additional 
capacity they have expended considerably more than a million 
dollars. In order to keep pace with the enormous growth of its 
business the Union Stock Yards Company has been compelled to 
build acres of new pens and sheds every year. The average an- 
nual budget of new improvements at the stock yards is $50,000, 



692 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

most of which goes for additional yardage. At the present time 
Wichita has one of the best equipped stock yards to be found in 
the United States. Ninety per cent of the yardage has been built 
in the last four years after the most modern methods of drainage 
and sanitation. The entire twenty acres of pens are paved with 
brick. Each pen is furnished with individual watering and feed- 
ing troughs. Within the past year many southern cattle have 
been marketed here. This has called for the expenditure of 
many thousands of dollars for the improvement and enlargement 
of the quarantine division of the yards. A thousand head of 
southern cattle can be easily cared for now and additional pens 
are being built this fall. Less than a year ago the stock yards 
company finished one of the finest exchange buildings of the coun- 
try. In this building are located the offices of fifteen commission 
firms, a national bank, stock yards company offices, the Wichita 
Terminal Railway Company and branch offices of the packing 
houses. 



YEARLY SHIPMENTS BY THE RAILROADS. 

Year. Cattle. Hogs. Cars. 

1893 41,013 37,561 2,453 

1894 27,689 14,645 1,343 

1895 25,078 15,315 1,034 

1896 9,947 12,924 495 

1897 17,741 19,994 779 

1898 13,088 91,143 1,291 

1899 20,637 84,025 1,496 

1900 19,604 119,767 2,270 

1901 19,278 113,211 2,196 

1902 28,749 61,884 1,923 

1903 27,439 45,025 1,510 

1904 22,271 41,037 1,313 

1905 26,460 67,797 1,862 

1906 29,432 34,246 1,476 

1907 71,394 28,849 2,625 

1908 80,880 142,026 4,202 

1909 125,685 93,290 3,976 



Totals 606,385 1,023,239 33,244 



WICHITA UNION STOCK YAEDS 693 

WICHITA'S PROMINENCE AS A STOCK AND FEEDER 
MARKET. 

As a stocker and feeder market "Wichita has sprung into 
prominence with unusual rapidity during the past five years. 
Even three years ago the stocker and feeder business transacted 
at the Wichita yards was almost a negligible quantity. Now a 
very respectable portion of the annual business is in the stocker 
and feeder division. Adverse freight rates and discriminatory 
interpretation of tariffs has hindered the growth of the market 
not a little. However, recent adjustments have been made along 
this line and the effect is already showing in the greater activities 
of the stock cattle market. Recently the Wichita transportation 
bureau secured a favorable ruling for the manner of handling out 
shipments of stocker and feeder cattle. The tariff rates on this 
class of business are 75 per cent of the fat cattle rate into the 
market. Owing to a rigid interpretation of the provisions of this 
rate Wichita cattle men were not able to take advantage of it. 
This obstacle has been removed, however, and now stock cattle 
may be shipped anywhere from the Wichita market at 75 per cent 
of the rate charged for bringing them into the market. 

Another sweeping change in the manner of handling stock 
hogs is being made at the Wichita yards. In fact, Wichita is in 
a fair way to become an open market for the sale of stock hogs. 
Quarantine laws have prevented any such thing in the past, but 
the discovery of cholera preventatives promises to revolutionize 
the stock hog business. At the present time Wichita has a market 
for stock hogs in a restricted sense. The state live stock sanitary 
inspector recently appointed Charles Fay as local inspector for 
stock hogs. Under the supervision of Mr. Fay stock hogs may 
be removed from the Wichita yards into certain territory for 
feeding purposes. This gives Wichita a much freer market for 
stock hogs than has ever existed prior to this year. It is believed 
that in time the new cholera preventative will make it possible to 
handle hogs just as native cattle are handled. Stock hogs will 
be shipped to market subjected to a test of one week or ten days 
during which time they will be innoculated with cholera preven- 
tative and then taken anywhere for feeding. Perhaps the great- 
est opportunity of the Wichita market lies in the building up of a 
great stocker and feeder market. The country to the south and 
west of Wichita is rapidly developing along the line of intensive 



694 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

farming. In the past five years thousands of great ranches have 
been cut into small farms. With the changing of cattle ranges 
into corn and wheat-producing sections there comes a change in 
the class of live stock handled. The rough western steer is giving 
place to the highly bred meat producing animal. Corn and alfalfa 
are rapidly becoming the chief products of Arkansas valley soil. 
From them comes the 1,500-pound steer and the 300-pound hog. 

The officers of the Wichita Union Stock Yards : C. H. Brooks, 
Wichita, Kan., president ; J. A. McNaughton, South Omaha, Neb., 
vice-president; Wallace P. Bache, Wichita, Kan., secretary-treas- 
urer ; G. B. Albright, Wichita, Kan., general manager ; H. E. New- 
lin, Wichita, Kan., traffic manager. 



STOCK MARKET THAT SATISFIES. 

Wichita has passed the preparatory stage and has become one 
of the great packing centers and live stock markets of the West. 
It spent a good many years in the preparatory struggle, but the 
Wichita packers are now reaching out to new territory for cattle 
and hogs to supply the demand for their products. When an 
army invades a country it first secures a base; rations are col- 
lected, new regiments, brigades and divisions are added to the 
fighting strength of the army before it makes a final movement 
toward the interior of the country. These are important things 
for the army, just as it is important for the packing centers and 
live stock market from which it can get its daily supply of cattle 
and hogs. A packing house without a regular live stock market 
is bound to be a failure. It cannot keep a large force of work- 
men and depend on buying its live stock in the country. It can- 
not go out after the stock, but the stock must come to it. When 
the Cudahy and Dold Packing companies enlarged their plants 
and the word went out that they were going to buy all the stock 
that came to this market "that was a notice that the army had 
completed its preparations and was ready to move into the in- 
terior and capture the country." The Wichita packers have ad- 
vanced and they are everywhere winning victories. In the past 
eighteen months they have spent nearly a million dollars enlarg- 
ing their plants. The stock yards company has spent a quarter 
of a million dollars building new cattle and hog pens and a mag- 
nificent new exchange building, wherein will be housed commis- 
sion firms and all the adjuncts of a great live stock market, in- 



WICHITA UNION STOCK YAEDS 695 

eluding a national bank. The Wichita stock yards are among the 
best equipped institutions of the kind in the West. The pens are 
all paved with cement and brick and the stock is furnished with 
clear, pure water. The Wichita packers for a year past have been 
pushing out into new territory and nearly every day one sees 
new shippers on the yards who have never been here before. One 
very promising feature is that about all of these new shippers go 
away pleased with their experience until the Wichita market has 
come to be spoken of among stockmen as "the market that satis- 
fies." 

The Wichita packers have pushed their lines far into the 
Southwest ; they have moved north into what was formerly Kan- 
sas City's territory and on the west into Colorado; they have gone 
into the fine grazing and feeding section east of the Flint hills 
and are getting export steers that two or three years ago the 
owners of which did not know that they had a market this side 
of Chicago. The increase of cattle for the year 1909 over 1908 
was 75,245 and 10,219 more hogs were received in 1909 over 
1908. There are a few reasons why this market has a favorable 
location, but they are important. It is located one hundred miles 
north of the famous cotton belt of the South, so that a packing 
house here is getting near the southern section where good hogs 
are successfully raised, and again Wichita is in the very center 
of the great corn and alfalfa belt, which includes southern Kan- 
sas and the north half of Oklahoma. The same effort put forth 
here that is being used at other packing centers is bound to make 
the great packing center of the Southwest. G. B. Albright, gen- 
eral manager of the Wichita Union Stock Yards, has grasped the 
situation and he is spending the money of the company lavishly 
to put the yards in shape to take care of the stock that he knows 
will seek this market in the years to come. He knows that his 
yards are located in the very center of a great live stock section 
and that shippers will take advantage of the profits to be derived 
from the short haul. He is even now calling attention of shippers 
to this advantage and his words fall upon willing ears, because 
the shippers have learned from experience what the long haul 
costs in shrinkage and freight charges. When the Wichita market 
will furnish 700 cattle and 5,000 hogs six days of each week the 
capacity of the Cudahy and Dold plants will have been supplied, 
but before that time arrives the big packing houses will be en- 
larged to meet the increased demand. These wideawake packers 



696 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

intend to keep in advance of the development of this section, 
which has already become a factor in supplying the world's food 
products. When southern Kansas and northern Oklahoma have 
been fully developed there will be the cattle and hogs to make 
Wichita the greatest packing center in the world. — From the 
"Daily Beacon." 



DEVELOPMENT OF PACKING INDUSTRY. 

Without a doubt Wichita's greatest industry lies in her two 
great packing houses. Together these two plants employ more 
men, pay them more wages, handle more business for a greater 
amount of money than any other industry of the city or the state 
of Kansas. Figures tell something of Wichita's greatest indus- 
try, but they cannot tell all. For instance, an army of 1,200 men 
earn their daily bread in the two packing plants. How many 
others are supported by these packing houses is hard to say. Con- 
servatively, however, 4,000 persons get their living from wages 
and salaries paid by the Wichita packers. These 4,000 persons 
have $25,000 weekly to spend with the Wichita merchants. An- 
nually they spend a million and a quarter dollars. Running at 
capacity the two houses can easily slaughter 5,000 hogs and 1,000 
cattle every working day of the year. The average daily slaughter 
runs between 3,000 and 4,000 hogs and about 600 cattle. Before 
snow flies the daily average of cattle will be boosted to 1,000 
head. Last year the two plants slaughtered 600.000 hogs, con- 
verting them into 80,000,000 pounds of bacon, hams, sausage, lard 
and other products. For these 600,000 hogs they paid to the 
farmers of southern Kansas and Oklahoma an average of $15 per 
head, or a total of nearly $10,000,000. The output of two such 
plants as are located in Wichita is stupendous. An average of 
thirty cars of finished products are shipped every day. Each car 
contains an average of 25,000 pounds of meat, worth not less 
than $2,000. This brings the total annual business of the Wichita 
packing houses well over twenty millions of dollars. This is for 
hog products alone. Beef products will bring the total up to 
$25,000,000. 

These figures show a little bit of what the packing industry 
means to Wichita. The stock yards form one of the auxiliary in- 
dustries, which employs 500 men and handles upwards of 1,500,- 
000 head of live stock every year. The stock yards bring a vast 



WICHITA UNION STOCK YAEDS 697 

amount of trade to Wichita merchants other than live stock. A 
large portion of the money received by farmers for stock is spent 
with Wichita business houses. The rapid growth of the North 
End is due largely to the activity and prosperity of the packing 
industry. Hundreds of homes have been built and paid for in . 
this part of the city by the men who handle the knife, the meat 
hook and the loading truck at the packing houses. 

To the late Jacob Dold belongs the credit for Wichita's pack- 
ing industry. It was he who read the signs some thirty years ago 
and conceived the Wichita live stock market as it is today. Not 
only did Jacob Dold believe that Wichita was destined to become 
the greatest live stock and packing center of the Southwest but 
he gave up hard cash and hard work to make it so. Every person 
who has lived in the city of Wichita for five years knows the story 
of Jacob Dold, the pioneer packer. Time and again has it been 
told how he peddled sausage of his own making on the streets of 
Buffalo; how he gradually built up one of the largest packing 
industries in New York and then branched out with plants at 
Kansas City and Wichita. The Jacob Dold packing plant was 
the first big manufacturing industry to locate in this city. In 
the early eighties Jacob Dold, then a rich man from his large 
interests at Buffalo, came into Kansas to locate a plant in a new 
country with a future. From the first Wichita looked good to 
him. When his plant was built he believed that Wichita was 
destined to become another Chicago. From year to year Jacob 
Dold returned to Wichita to look over his growing property. 
What he saw increased his faith in the future of the city. Finally 
he came to see the ashes of the great packing house he had erected. 
Still he was undaunted. He reiterated his faith in the city and 
her people. The burned plant was rebuilt on a much larger scale 
and the ideals of Jacob Dold began to come true. Few realized 
the battle Jacob Dold made for the establishment of a creditable 
live stock market in this city. For years and years he was the 
only buyer of hogs and cattle on this market and no matter what 
price his buyers might offer the bulk of the live stock passed* 
through Wichita to larger markets, where there was competitive 
buying. These were years of trial for the veteran packer. One 
packing house, built after the Dold company was established, 
closed its doors at the collapse of the boom. It was ten or more 
years before they were opened again. During this time Jacob 
Dold held faith. He looked ahead and saw the time when the rich 



698 HISTORY OF* SEDGWICK COUNTY 

lands of the Arkansas valley would blossom with corn and be 
dotted with feed lots. In these feed lots he saw thousands of 
sleek fat cattle and thousands of fattening porkers. Sustained 
by this vision he kept the Wichita plant running. At times there 
were not enough hogs and cattle offered on the Wichita market to 
keep the house running full time one day in the week. Then came 
the fire in 1900, which destroyed practically the entire plant. This 
left the Wichita market entirely without a buyer. Two years 
after the disastrous fire Jacob Dold and his sons had rebuilt the 
Wichita house with twice the capacity of the old plant. This was 
one of the signal proofs of his belief in Wichita and the ultimate 
greatness of the live stock industry in this immediate vicinity. A 
year ago this month Jacob Dold, Sr., died. He was an old man 
who had long since removed the burden of his wealth and its man- 
agement to the shoulders of his stalwart sons. His death was 
universally regretted throughout the packing world of America, 
for Jacob Dold was one of the pioneers of America's packing in- 
dustry as well as the pioneer for that business in southern Kan- 
sas. Into the shoes of Jacob Dold, Sr., stepped Jacob Dold, Jr. 
Young Jake, as he is familiarly known, had been acting head of 
the great Dold packing industries for several years prior to his 
father's death. In the reorganization he was made president of 
the company, being the eldest of the five sons. 

The policy of the Dold Packing Company remains the same, 
although the man who formed the policy is dead. Toward Wichita 
this policy is to grow with the live stock market, whose growth, 
by the way, has been keeping things rather lively in packing 
town these past three years. To say that the original Dold pack- 
ing plant has grown and spread out till it is four times larger 
than at the beginning would be telling only part of the truth. 
The actual growth to the city and to the live stock industry of 
the Southwest is the true index. For five years the Dold company 
has been constantly building to the Wichita plant. Every depart- 
ment of the hog slaughtering portion has doubled its capacity in 
that time. Two thousand hogs can be killed daily where a few 
years ago 1,000 head formed a big day's work. This fall beef 
cooler capacity is being tripled so that three times as many cattle 
may be slaughtered. In five years the Dold company has estab- 
lished nearly thirty branch houses in various parts of the United 
States. These extend from the Atlantic to the Pacific and from 
Denver to the Gulf. A large portion of the product from the 



WICHITA UNION STOCK YAEDS 699 

Wichita plant is disposed of through these branch houses. Three 
years ago this fall the Wichita live stock market was given a tre- 
mendous impetus. It was that that sent the receipts at the Wichita 
Union Stock Yards soaring to a figure double that of four years 
ago. It was an impetus that is still working wonders in the live 
stock industry of the Southwest. And that impetus was the ad- 
vent of the Cudahy Packing Company into Wichita. It was just 
three years ago this fall that the Cudahy company bought the old 
and dilapidated John Cudahy packing plant. Immediately things 
began to liven up in packing town. Where John Cudahy had 
carried on a desultory beef and pork business in a ramshackle set 
of buildings the Cudahy company started in to make improve- 
ments. The first thing the Cudahy company did was to enlarge 
the hog capacity. This was done simply by the installation of 
modern machinery and the rearrangement of the hog killing floor. 
Then the Cudahy company began buying hogs and converting 
them into hams, bacon and lard. 

Originally the plant operated by the Cudahy company was a 
small affair. It was built in the eighties by the Whittaker Bros. 
Packing Company. For a few years the plant did a monster 
business. Then came the hard times at the end of the boom days 
and the plant was closed. It remained in disuse a number of 
years and was finally purchased by John Cudahy, of Chicago. 
After a thorough renovation the plant was reopened for busi- 
ness. Few changes were made in the original arrangement of 
things and little modern machinery was added. In this fashion 
the plant worried along six or eight years, slaughtering a few 
hundred head of hogs per day and perhaps a score of cattle. In 
1907 came the Cudahy company to take possession. 

During the first year's occupancy of the plant the Cudahy 
company ran it at capacity all the time. New machinery was 
added in every department and improvements to the old build- 
ings and equipment were under way -constantly. When the old 
plant had been thoroughly renovated plans were commenced for 
more buildings. 

What the arrival of the Cudahy Packing Company did for the 
Wichita market three years ago the increased capacity of the 
Wichita plant is going to do over again in the near future. For 
the new portion of the plant, built these last two years and just 
now going into operation, is more than twice the size of the old 
portion built years ago by the Whittaker Brothers. Briefly, the 



700 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Cudahy Packing Company has built in the past two years the fol- 
lowing factories : Beef house, with a capacity of 500 cattle a day ; 
monster lard refinery; glue house; fertilizer; box house; cooper- 
age shop ; a huge cold storage warehouse ; a large office and 
numerous other smaller buildings. These improvements with the 
machinery necessary for their equipment have cost the Cudahy 
Packing Company approximately one million dollars. And they 
are not all. More buildings are already planned for construction 
within the coming year. These will include a large modern ice 
plant and a stable for the Cudahy herd of horses. One must visit 
the Cudahy packing plant in order to thoroughly understand its 
bigness. One must see the four cleanly dressed hogs that leave 
the killing floor for the coolers every minute if he would appreci- 
ate the vast amount of labor required for the work accomplished 
and the dispatch with which this work is carried out. One must 
visit the beef house and see one beef per minute sent fully dressed 
into the great coolers that will hold several thousand carcasses. 
Results accomplished prove the worth and greatness of anything. 
Hence it is the finished products of the Cudahy Packing Company 
which truly show the greatness of the plant. From the loading 
docks of the company in this city an average of seventeen loaded 
refrigerator cars are sent into all parts of the United States every 
day. On occasion the loading force can get out thirty or forty 
cars a day. On one Saturday less than a year ago sixty-three cars 
were loaded and shipped. At the present time the Cudahy com- 
pany employs 600 men. The weekly pay roll averages $15,000. 
At one time when plenty of hogs were coming 785 men were em- 
ployed. Just now neither the hog nor beef houses are running 
at capacity, the former because not enough hogs are coming and 
the latter because the cooling capacity is too small. But the 
Cudahy Packing Company is the biggest individual corporation 
in the city. And it is growing bigger every day. In one year 
this firm pays to the farmers of the Southwest something like 
$5,000,000 for hogs and half as much for cattle. It ships out 
5,000 carloads of products annually, which are worth in the neigh- 
borhood of $10,000,000. 

While Wichita has been a packing town for two decades, it 
was not a packing center till the advent of the Cudahy Packing 
Company proper, in the fall of 1906. Then, and not until then, 
was there any assurance that there was to be a great packing 
center and live stock market built up here for the Southwest. 



WICHITA UNION STOCK YAKDS 701 

The trials and tribulations of the embryo packers and commission 
men reads like a page in the histories of many western towns 
that had- visions of becoming a Chicago or a Cincinnati. How- 
ever, Wichita has been one of the very few cities to realize the 
dream of large abbatoirs, expansive hog and cattle pens and a 
beautiful exchange building. "When the plant now owned by the 
Cudahy interests was built it was with assistance from the city. 
Inflated prosperity and the boom spelled doom to the first ven- 
ture. After a few years John Cudahy acquired the plant, but 
as he was a market speculator instead of a packer he did not push 
either trade or operations. Following a market reverse he closed 
the plant. During this time the Dold Packing Company was al- 
ways in the market and a consistent buyer, but owing to the lim- 
ited purchases by the other house Wichita was known as a "one 
man market," with the result that shippers would not stop their 
stuff here in spite of the fact that the Dold buyers always bought 
in line with the river markets. A stir was created by the 
"Beacon" in the fall of 1906 when it came out with the story that 
Cudahy officials were here from Omaha for the purpose of taking 
over the old plant, but the people had received so many false 
promises that little exaltation was felt. Then came the work of 
overhauling the old plant. After a few weeks killing was begun 
and a new era in the local packing industry had commenced. 
Shippers soon began to note the increased demand here for hogs 
and within a short while 2,000 to 3,000 head were being sold here 
daily and at prices close up to those being paid at Missouri river 
points. After a while both the Dold and Cudahy concerns began 
to see that receipts up to 7,000 head per day could be brought 
here when shipments were running heavy. They at once began 
to make plans for the enlargement of their plants. A few months 
passed and work was started on improvements that would in- 
crease the hog killing capacity, and now it is nearly 4,000 head at 
each plant. Until lately enough hogs have been received here 
to supply the demand, but the dearth in the hog crop all over the 
country is being severely felt. Then came the attempt to make 
Wichita a cattle market. Cudahy and Dold had been doing a 
good business on a limited capacity. It was found that new beef 
business could be secured and that unless enlargements were made 
they must pass it up. Cudahy interests were the first to act. An 
envoy was sent to Chicago to lay the already prepared plans be- 
fore Mike Cudahy, the rex of the large Cudahy packing concerns. 



702 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

He was told that if he spent a half million of his many millions 
here he would develop a great market in the Southwest. Three 
weeks were consumed in demonstrating the feasibility of the 
project. His consent was given, and as usual the "Beacon" was 
again the first with the story that meant that Wichita was to be 
the packing town of the Southwest. 

On Saturday, August 28, 1909, the Cudahy company invited 
the people of Wichita and the shippers of the Southwest to be 
their guests at the opening of the big new plant which had cost 
over a half million in improvements and was then easily worth 
a million dollars. Ten thousand persons attended. They saw in 
Wichita a packing plant that cannot be excelled in the West. 
In the building of the plant the slogan was "bigger and better 
than Kansas City." The new buildings gave a hog killing ca- 
pacity of 3,500 to 4,000 against a former capacity of 2,000 ; a cat- 
tle killing capacity of 600 against a former capacity of twenty-five 
to fifty, and a capacity of 1,000 head of sheep and calves against 
a former capacity of nearly nothing. The important new build- 
ings, numbering eight, included two new coolers and chill rooms, 
a new beef abbatoir, a new glue factory, a new fertilizer and bone 
house, a new power plant, a new smoke house, a new office build- 
ing, besides a hog killing house built over the old walls and is 
practically new. No better equipped plant is to be found in the 
world. Two hundred yards to the south is located the Dold plant, 
that is now in every way the equal of the Cudahy plant. The suc- 
cess of the Cudahy beef extension and the increased receipts in 
butcher cattle caused Jacob Dold to make an appropriation for 
more cattle capacity here. He died before his plans could be car- 
ried out, but last spring his sons took up the improvement. To- 
day the new beef beds are rapidly nearing completion and in ca- 
pacity will be equal to the Cudahy institution. The increased cat- 
tle killing capacity of the packing plants was soon felt at the 
stock yards. Receipts since the new demand was created have 
been several times what they formerly were. Shippers from cen- 
tral Oklahoma, west to New Mexico, and from the Arkansas river 
in Kansas south to the middle of Texas were awaiting the big 
event. The continued shipping by these cattle raisers to here is 
ample evidence that they found "The Market That Satisfies." 
Now with the opening of the new Dold cattle house there will be 
an increased demand and likewise a better bidding spirit, yet in 
the past no shipper has had cause to complain. At times during 



WICHITA UNION STOCK YAEDS 703 

the past year competition was so keen that prices were above 
those that the same grade of stuff brought on the river markets, 
and in several cases cattle have been purchased there for local 
packers for less than desirable stuff was bringing here. Wichita 
is the gateway to the East and the natural trend of all live stock 
is in that direction. No shipper ever ships out of line to try a 
market, and for this reason Wichita is fortunate. Shipments 
can best be stopped here for feeding and water, and at the same 
time try the Wichita market without risk. The market here is 
making friends at a rapid rate, satisfied shippers returning to 
their ranches every day. The opening of the new beef houses, 
together with the increased hog killing capacity, means a great 
deal to Wichita. This power of absorption is making the city a 
packing point of the first magnitude. They will pull all of the 
direct line stuff out of Oklahoma, the Texas Panhandle and, of 
course, western Kansas. Wichita cannot be hurt by the new 
plants that are jumping up in the Southwest. A market is not 
built in a day but in years. Again, shippers are slow to ship to a 
new plant, as a one-man market means unsatisfaction. A one-man 
market is often the case where two plants are located if they 
happen to belong to the packing combination known as the "Big 
Four." Wichita is blessed that its plants are not in this notori- 
ous collection. — "Beacon." 



CHAPTER LIV. 
BIOGRAPHY. 

A. J. Adams, attorney at law, of Wichita, Kan., with offices at 
No. 410 Barnes building, is a native of Illinois, where he was 
born at Mason City, Mason county, on December 6, 1870. His 
parents were Ambrose and Margaret J. (Hilbourne) Adams, 
natives of Massachusetts and Ohio, respectively, who moved to 
Illinois shortly after their marriage, and who came to Kansas 
in 18^80 and settled on a farm in Cowley county. The elder 
Adams died in 1881 at the age of forty-nine. His widow is still 
living. A. J. Adams was educated in the public schools and in 
the Southwestern (Kansas) College, from which he was graduated 
in the class of 1896. He afterward took a course at the "Wichita 
Commercial College, read law, and was admitted to practice in the 
Sedgwick county bar in 1901. Since then he has continued the 
practice of law in the city of Wichita. He is a strong worker 
politically in the Republican ranks. Fraternally he is a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows (Betton Lodge, No. 
583) and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is 
also a member of the Wichita Chamber of Commerce. 

Robert T. Adams, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of St. Joseph, 
Mo., where he was born on May 20, 1867. His parents were 
William and Sarah (Bailey) Adams, natives of Kentucky and 
West Virginia, respectively, who moved in the '60s to Buchanan 
county, Missouri, where the father was engaged in farming until 
1872, when the family removed to Burden, Cowley county, Kansas, 
and remaining until 1881, when he removed to Sedgwick county, 
where Mr. Adams, Sr., has been a gardener. Robert T. Adams 
was educated in the public schools of Kansas and early took to 
farming, first locating in Wichita township, where he engaged 
in farming until 1893, when he became interested in the manu- 
facture of hominy, which he has conducted successfully with a 
plant costing $1,000. He has an output during the season of 200 
gallons per day, which is all marketed in Wichita and vicinity. 

704 



BIOGRAPHY 705 

This plant has the distinction of being the only one in the state 
of Kansas. Fraternally Mr. Adams is a member of the Modern 
Brotherhood of America. He was married on August 10, 1893, 
to Miss Ola Childs, daughter of Worthington and Johana (John- 
son) Childs. One child has been born of this union, William 
Worthington. 

Phil P. Aherne, Jr., druggist, of Wichita, Kan., was born at 
Leavenworth, Kan., on July 13, 1878. His parents were Phil P. 
and Helen (Carpenter) Aherne, natives of Ireland and Brooklyn, 
N. Y., respectively. They moved to Kansas in 1870, afterward 
to Kansas City, Mo., and to Wichita in June, 1890. The father 
of the family was a druggist. Phil P. Aherne received his educa- 
tion in the public schools, the Wichita High School and Lewis 
Academy, and completed a course in the University of Kansas 
School of Pharmacy, from which he was graduated in the class of 
1900. His first employment was in George R. Parham's drug 
store, which was purchased by the elder Aherne, with whom the 
son continued for a time. He left this to go as drug clerk in 
the store of Archie McVicker, with whom he remained for two 
years, when he accepted a position as city salesman with the 
Southwestern Drug Company. Two years later he entered the 
employ of the Cookson & Vincent Pharmacy as salesman, and 
after one year with this concern went to Colorado Springs, Colo., 
where he continued in the same line of business for a short time, 
returning to Wichita and again entering the employ of Archie 
McVicker, with whom he continued until June, 1909. On July 
29, 1909, Mr. Aherne purchased his present store at No. 1147 
South Lawrence avenue. This store was opened originally by 
W. S. Henion, run as the Brown Drug Company, later as the Wil- ' 
son Drug Company, and later as the Fox Drug Company, the 
latter conducting the business until purchased by Mr. Aherne. 
Fraternally Mr. Aherne is a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, Lodge No. 99, A. F. and A. M. On Jan- 
uary 7, 1908, Mr. Aherne was married to Miss Mildred Moffat, 
daughter of the late J. W. Moffat, of Wichita. They have one 
child, Phil P. III. 

Augustus D. Allen, who for some years has been actively 
engaged in the real estate business in Wichita, has two fads. 
One is that of owning and driving good horses, and the other is 
that of selling Kansas farms. This latter, however, is a business, 
and selling Kansas farms nowadays puts a man in the class of the 



706 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

diamond broker or corn king. Mr. Allen is a native of Illinois, 
he having been born in Hancock county, that state, on March 21, 
1865. The lad's parents died when he was small, and he had 
to make his own way in the world. His education was acquired 
in the public schools of Carthage, 111., and in the Gem City Busi- 
ness College, of Quincy, 111. After leaving school Mr. Allen 
obtained a position as clerk in a store at Tioga, 111., and he 
remained there for seven years, leaving to engage in the mer- 
cantile business at Keokuk, la., where he remained seven years. 
He then engaged in the wholesale egg business, in which he 
remained three years, and then entered the real estate field, sell- 
ing land in Bureau county, Illinois, until 1900, when he came to 
"Wichita, where for a time he was connected with the Kansas 
Bureau of Immigration and later with the B. D. Allen Realty 
Company. About three years ago Mr. Allen started in the real 
estate business for himself and has since conducted a large busi- 
ness. Mr. Allen is methodical in his affairs and keeps book rec- 
ords of all his business. In nine years of business he brought 
into Kansas from other states 3,700 people, over 50 per cent of 
whom remained permanently. Since he was fifteen years old 
Mr. Allen has owned every minute of that time some sort of a 
horse. One of his horses, Midnight Denmark, has been shown 
in the model class nine times and brought home seven blue rib- 
bons and two reds. Mr. Allen was married in 1905 to Miss Emma 
Shindler, of Wichita. 

Bennett D. Allen, president of the B. D. Allen Realty Com- 
pany, has been a resident of Wichita, Kan., for thirty-four years, 
possesses the unique distinction not only of never having sought 
public office, but of actually having declined it after it was 
offered him on a silver platter, so to speak. Mr. Allen was born 
in Hardin county, Kentucky, February 8, 1842. His parents 
were Noah and Abagil (DeWitt) Allen, and his early education 
was obtained in northwest Missouri. He served in the Civil 
War in the Union army, having enlisted in the Missouri state 
service two years and in the Eleventh Volunteer Cavalry, and 
after four years' service, partly bushwhacking in Missouri, partly 
in Arkansas, was mustered out at New Orleans in 1865. He 
landed in Allen county, Kansas, in 1868, but it was not until 1876 
that he made the acquaintance of Wichita, and there was not 
much of the city then to make acquaintance with. It looked 
good to him, however, and he at once began to operate in real 



BIOGEAPHY 707 

estate. In 1883 he, with Cal Graham, formed the Allen & Graham 
Company, dealers in real estate, in a shack where the Manhattan 
Hotel now stands. Mr. Allen is the oldest real estate dealer in the 
city in point of service, save only Mr. Healy. For a while he was 
in the implement business, but the rest of the time loans, insurance 
and farm lands have been his specialty. With Oscar Smith 
he formed the concern of Smith & Allen, and eleven years 
ago the present firm of the B. D. Allen Realty Company. 
He has seen the city go up, go down and go up again, but whatever 
the vicissitudes through which it has passed he never lost his faith 
in its ultimate future. Mr. Allen was married in May, 1867, to 
Miss Cliffie A. Howard, of Oxford, Ohio. Of this union there have 
been no children, but they have one adopted daughter, Mrs. 
C. A. Truex. 

James Allison was born in Columbiana county, Ohio. He lived 
on the farm from the age of six to twenty-one, in Morrow county, 
Ohio. Received his education in the Ohio Wesleyan University 
at Delaware. For four years after leaving college he superin- 
tended the public schools in Fredericktown, Ohio. Then on 
account of failing health he was compelled to give up his chosen 
profession. A few years later he engaged in the wholesale and 
retail lumber business at Mansfield, Ohio, and continued in this 
business twenty years. He located in Wichita March, 1886, 
twenty-four years ago. All these years he has been actively 
engaged in the real estate and loan business. He has always 
stood for "greater Wichita." An earnest worker in the Board 
of Trade and Chamber of Commerce. 

He has represented the Fifth ward in the City Council and 
in the Board of Education. He has always been a Republican. 
For many years he was a leader of his party in the Fifth ward. 
He was the United States commissioner from the State of Kansas 
to the World's Exposition held in Paris in 1900. He was dis- 
tinctly a champion of the West Side. He led the forces to pave 
West Douglas avenue, Seneca street and University avenue, the 
latter two being the first residence streets paved in Wichita. 
He helped in many ways to locate Friends University in what 
was formerly known as the Garfield University property. 

He has been an active leader in building Trinity M. E. church, 
one of the finest and largest churches in the city, now having a 
membership of about 800 and over one thousand enrolled in 



708 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

her Sunday School. The best thought and energy of his life 
has been given to superintending Sunday Schools thirty-six years. 

Samuel L. Anderson, physician and surgeon, of Wichita, Kan., 
is a native of Fairton, N. J., where he was born February 11, 
1876. His parents were Rev. S. R. and Elinor (Sawyer) Ander- 
son, natives of Kingston, Canada, and Tuckerton, N. J., respec- 
tively. Samuel M. was educated at the public schools of Kansas, 
Emporia College, Kansas, where he received the degree of A. B. 
in the class of 1900, and received his medical education at the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons, University of Illinois, from 
which he was graduated in the class of 1903. After graduating 
he was an interne at the West Side Hospital in Chicago for one 
year, and in 1904 went to Wichita, where he has since success- 
fully continued his practice. Dr. Anderson is a member of the 
American, Kansas State and Wichita Medical Associations. 
Fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and the Modern Woodmen. In 1903 Dr. Anderson was 
married to Miss Maud B. McCully, daughter of Joseph E. 
McCully, of Eldorado, Kan. Of this union three children have 
been born, Eleanor O., Ernest S. and Esther M. Rev. S. R. 
Anderson and family came to Kansas in 1882, where he filled a 
pastorate at Caldwell for eight years, and was killed by a train 
in Wichita in 1902, at the age of sixty-one. His widow survives 
and lives in Wichita. 

Henry Anthony, who is associated with J. F. Warren in the 
ownership of the Western Iron & Foundry Company, of Wichita, 
Kan., is a native of the Hawkeye state, having been born at 
Davenport, la., on October 2, 1873. His parents were John and 
Anna (Martin) Anthony, both natives of Germany, from which 
country they came to the United States in the latter part of the 
'50s, locating in Iowa, where they still reside. Henry Anthony 
received his education in the public schools of Davenport, and 
after leaving school learned the carpenter's trade with his father 
and later developed into a mastery of the pattern-making trade, 
working for the Eagle Manufacturing Company, of Davenport, 
la., and Williams, White & Co., of Moline, 111. In 1893 he moved 
to Moline, 111., where he continued to work as patternmaker and 
foreman until 1901. In the spring of that year he came to 
Wichita and with his present partner purchased the Globe Iron 
Works. They organized the Wichita Manufacturing Company, 
having as associate C. L. Grimes. Three months later Mr. 



BIOGRAPHY 709 

Grimes withdrew, and the business was continued with Messrs. 
Anthony and Warren as proprietors. In September, 1902, the 
firm was again reorganized, with George H. Bradford as presi- 
dent, Ted Miles as secretary and Mr. Warren as vice-president. 
This firm continued business until 1904, when G. C. Christopher 
joined the firm, Messrs. Bradford and Miles withdrawing, the 
firm then being made up of Messrs. Christopher, Anthony and 
Warren. This arrangement continued until 1908, when the firm 
was again dissolved and Messrs. Anthony and Warren became 
sole owners and proprietors of the business, which is now known 
as the Western Iron & Foundry Company, one of the prosperous 
manufacturing plants of Wichita. The firm manufactures struc- 
tural and architectural iron, and the output of its establishment 
is distributed through many states. Among the fraternal orders 
Mr. Anthony is a member of the Red Men, the Independent Order 
of Foresters, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
the Sons of Herrmann. He is also a member of the National Asso- 
ciation of Engineers and the Fraternal Aid. Mr. Anthony was 
married October 26, 1898, to Miss Tinnie Lage, daughter of Her- 
man Lage, of Moline, 111. From this union one child has been 
born, viz., Augusta C. 

J. A. Armour, of Bentley, Kan., is a native of the Hoosier 
state, where he was born in Vermillion county on January 13, 
1868. His parents were James and Jane (Stewart) Armour, the 
father being a native of Scotland, born in Girvan, July 11, 1830, 
and his mother, a native of Ireland, being born in Grayabby, 
November 12, 1830. 

The mother's father, John Stewart, was the first white man 
to die in Ninnescah township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, who 
died in 1872, and her mother dying in the same township in 
1901 at the age of 97 years. The father and mother of J. A. 
Armour are both living, at the age of eighty years., They had 
a family of eight children, all of whom are living: John, Jane, 
Susan, Joseph, Robert, Samuel, James A. and Margaret. John 
is living in Harvey county, Kan., and has two children, J. C. 
Armour and Mrs. Mable Murdoch, both of Wichita, Kan. Jane 
is married to Samuel Irons, and has one adopted daughter. 
Susan ^s married to A. Sautter, of Wichita, and has a family of 
two children : L. J. Sautter, of Clearwater, Kan., and Mrs. Dr. 
L. P. Warren, of Wichita. Joseph lives in Clearwater, Kan., and 
has a family of three daughters. Robert lives at Galena, Okla.. 



710 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

and has a family of one son and four daughters. Robert is 
county commissioner of Woods county, Oklahoma. Samuel lives 
at Sedgwick, Kan., having a family of eight children. Margaret 
is married to F. E. Cutting, of Clearwater, Kan., and has a family 
of three sons and one daughter. 

J. A. Armour's early education was obtained in the district 
schools of Harvey county, Kan., and later at the Commercial 
College of Wichita. He remained under the paternal roof until 
twenty-nine years old, when he crossed the line into Sedgwick 
county, locating on a farm in Section 5, Eagle township, where 
he remained until January 29, 1908, when he moved to Bentley, 
Kan. He engaged in the grain business in January, 1903, in 
Bentley, Kan., and operates one of the largest elevators in that 
part of the country at the present time. Mr. Armour is a mem- 
• ber of the Masonic Order, the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, the Rebeccas and the Modern Woodmen of America. He 
was married on June 19, 1895, at Sedgwick, Kan., to Miss Sophia 
K. Redinger, a daughter of John and Margaret Redinger, of Hal- 
stead, Kan. Of this union have been born four children, viz. : 
Alexander R.. born September 10, 1897. Mildred Esther, born 
February 16, 1904. Gernaine Margaret, born January 5, 1907, 
and Alline Josephine, born April 8, 1910. 

Mrs. Armour was educated in the district schools of Harvey 
county, Kansas. Mr. Armour has held minor offices as follows : 
Trustee of Eagle township, four years, holding that office at the 
present time, 1910; served a term as clerk of the township and 
on the school board of Sedgwick county for two years. In poli- 
tics Mr. Armour is a Republican and is active in the interests of 
his party. 

J. A. Armour is one of the old settlers of Kansas, having 
moved with his parents from Indiana in 1872, arriving in Harvey 
county March 13, 1872. He comes of a long-lived family, as all 
of his relatives on both father and mother's side lived to an old 
age. His father and mother are both over eighty years old. 
They have eight children, twenty-eight grandchildren and four 
great-grandchildren, and have never had a death in the family. 

Dr. Byron E. Artman, physician and surgeon, of Cheney, 
Kan., was born September 19, 1853, in Indianapolis, Ind. His 
parents were A. and Mary Artman, of Kansas. On the paternal 
side the ancestry of the family is traced back to the Puritan 
stock, the paternal great-grandmother of the doctor having' come 



BIOGEAPHY 711 

to this country from Holland with William Penn. The maternal 
ancestry is traced to Scotland. The parents of the doctor located 
in Westport, Mo., in 1851, but later moved to Olathe, Kan., where 
the elder Artman is now living, a successful carpenter and con- 
tractor, at the age of eighty. Byron E. Artman 's education was 
acquired in the district schools of Kansas. He entered the 
Eclectic Medical College in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1880, and grad- 
uated in the class of 1888 with the degree of M. D. He began 
practice first in Henry county, Missouri, where he remained one 
year, and then removed to the state of Oregon, where he remained 
six years and built up a successful practice. He then returned 
to Kansas and located in Garden Plain, Sedgwick county, in 1894, 
and practiced his profession there nearly ten years, and in 
December, 1904, located in Cheney, where he enjoys a large and 
lucrative practice, built up by the successful treatment of his 
patients. In Cheney he maintains a hospital where he has from 
one to five patients all the time, and since the hospital was estab- 
lished he has never lost a patient. Fraternally the doctor is a 
member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is 
a member of the Eclectic Medical Association of Kansas and 
Oregon and the National Eclectic Association of the United 
States. He is entitled to practice in four different states by 
virtue of his diploma, viz., Kansas, Oregon, Missouri and Ohio. 
John S. Ayers, retired farmer, of Cheney, Kan., is a native of 
Kentucky, where he was born on December 9, 1836, in Bourbon 
county. His parents were Samuel Hales Ayers and Lucinda 
(Bondurant) Ayers. Both were natives of Virginia, the father 
having been born and reared in Buckingham county. The parents 
at an early day removed from Virginia to Jackson county, Mis- 
souri, John S. Ayers at the time being twelve years old. From 
Jackson county the family removed to Shelby county, Missouri, 
where the father died in 1848. His widow died in 1868 in Illinois. 
John S. Ayers was one of a family of fifteen children, all of whom 
are dead except himself. John S. Ayers was educated in the 
subscription schools of Kentucky and Missouri, and at the age of 
nineteen left home and worked on a farm for a year, receiving 
from 25 cents up to $10 a month for his labor. He then went to 
Green county, Kentucky, to a friend of his father's, who paid his 
way to Missouri, and in 1848 he landed at Palmyra. An uncle 
knew of his coming and met him there. It was the intention of 
John S. Ayers to explore the "West and visit Pike's Peak, but his 



712 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

uncle persuaded him not to go and to stay with him, which he 
did, working on a farm and cleaning it up in Scotland county, 
Missouri, to which place he accompanied his uncle. As compen- 
sation for his labor John S. was to get one-fourth of the proceeds 
of the farm, which amounted to $35 the first year, $25 and board 
and clothes the second year and $40 the third year. In 1860 he 
was married to Miss Margaret Piper, of Scotland, Mo. Of this 
union there were born three children, two of whom are now living 
viz. : Lewis Samuel Ayers and Mary E., now Mrs. Hogarth. Mrs. 
Ayers died early in 1865, and in the same year Mr. Ayers married 
Miss Lucinda Rogers, a cousin of his first wife, in Schuyler county, 
Missouri. Of this union there were born thirteen children, four 
of whom are living, viz. : George, Thomas, John and Margaret. 
George is living in Oklahoma and has a family of two children; 
Thomas is living in the state of Washington and has two children ; 
John lives in Portland, Ore., and has one child. After marrying 
his second wife, who was living in Illinois at the time, Mr. Ayers 
went back to Missouri, but returned to Illinois and located in 
Tazewell county, where he remained one year and then came to 
Kansas and located in Woodson county in 1868, where he home- 
steaded and lived nine years up to 1877. He then sold out his 
farm and moved to Reno county, Kan., where he built a comfort- 
able home and lived there up to 1906, when he removed to Cheney 
and built a fine residence, where he lives retired, enjoying the 
sunset of an upright career. Mr. Ayers owns other valuable 
property in Cheney. He is a member of the Masonic Order, and 
a dyed-in-the-wool Democrat. When the Civil War broke out he 
acknowledged allegiance to the Confederacy and in 1863 enlisted 
in a Missouri regiment and served for two years under General 
Price, Army of the Missouri. Mr. Ayers was taken prisoner at 
Little Rock, Ark., and sent to Fort Riley, Kan., where he took the 
oath of allegiance to the Union and returned again to his home 
in Missouri. Mr. Ayers' second wife died several years ago, and 
he is residing alone in Cheney. 

C. L. Baird,* cashier of the State Bank of Bentley, Sedgwick 
county, Kan., was born July 5, 1861, in Perry county, Ohio. His 
parents were Robert H. and Isabella (Lyons) Baird, both natives 
of Ohio. On the maternal side the family traces its ancestors to 
Scotland. Robert H. Baird, the father, moved from Ohio to Kan- 
sas in 1884 and resided a short time in Wichita, and then in 
Sunnyside, Kan., until 1901. He had the advantage of a common- 



BIOGRAPHY 713 

school and academic education, and taught school several years 
of his life. He was a consistent member of the Presbyterian 
church for sixty years, and during nearly all that time officiated 
as elder. Mr. Baird was an upright citizen, who aspired to give 
his children all the advantages he could. For the greater part 
of his life he was engaged in farming in a small way. He was 
born October 28, 1825, and died April 15, 1906. His wife was 
born April 15, 1831, and now resides in Pawnee, Okla. Mr. Baird 
and his wife were the parents of three children, viz. : Calvin L., 
Sidney E. and Mary H., all of whom are now living. Calvin L. 
Baird obtained his education in the common schools of Perry 
county, Ohio, the Madison Academy at Mt. Perry, Ohio, and a 
business education in a college at Wichita. He began his career 
as a school teacher and followed that occupation for twenty years, 
teaching three years in Ohio and seventeen in Kansas. He con- 
tinued as a teacher until 1902, when he bought the interest of 
Mr. Jorgenson, now cashier of the First National Bank of Mt. 
Hope, Kan., and accepted the position of cashier in the State 
Bank of Bentley, which position he now holds. Mr. Baird is a 
member of two banking associations. Fraternally he is a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen 
of America, and the Fraternal Mystic Circle at Wichita. He 
owns a valuable farm near Bentley. Mr. Baird was married on 
May 24, 1903, to Miss Avis Smith, a daughter of Thomas J. 
Smith, of Bentley. One child has been born of this union : Amzie, 
born March 11, 1904, and now attending school. Mrs. Baird is a 
highly educated woman, taught school for several years, and is 
prominent in the Rebekah Lodge and Maccabees. She and her 
husband are members of the United Brethren church in Bentley. 
Sidney E. Baird, superintendent of Highland Cemetery, 
Wichita, Kan., is a native of Ohio, having been born at Perry, that 
state, on October 1, 1865. His parents were Robert H. and Isabelle 
(Lyons) Baird, natives of Ohio, who moved to Kansas in 1885, 
locating in Grant township, Sedgwick county, and there resided 
until 1887, when they moved to Wichita. Robert H. Baird died 
September 15, 1907, at the age of eighty-one. His widow survives 
and is now living at Pawnee, Okla., with her daughter, Mary H., 
who has been a teacher in the Indian school at that place for ten 
years. Sidney E. Baird was then second child of a family of three, 
the others being Calvin L. Baird, of Bentley, Sedgwick county, 
and Mary H. Baird, of Oklahoma. Mr. Baird was educated in the 



714 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

public schools and at Madison Academy, Mount Perry, Ohio, and 
afterward taught in the schools of Sedgwick county from 1884 
to 1896. His first year at teaching was in Ohio. In 1896 Mr. Baird 
took up cemetery work under Willis L. Taylor, now superinten- 
dent of Maple Grove Cemetery. When the division of the ceme- 
tery was made and the Wichita Cemetery was reorganized and 
changed to Highland Cemetery, Mr. Baird was chosen as its super- 
intendent. This was in 1908. The first organization of the 
Wichita Cemetery was in 1870, and the two now known as High- 
land and Maple Grove Cemeteries were under one corporation or 
management from 1899 to 1908, when the division was made. Mr. 
Baird was married in 1889 to Miss Lorah E. Wright, daughter of 
Samuel and Permelia Wright, of Indiana. Of this union five 
children have been born, viz. : Elsworth E., Amzie P., Lorain E., 
Russell M. and Katherine E. 

Charles A. Baker, proprietor of the plumbing, steam, hot 
water and gas fitting business which bears his name in Wichita, 
Kan., is a native of Wisconsin, where he was born in Rio, Columbia 
county. His parents were Thomas and Jennie Baker, who left 
Wisconsin when Charles A. was only three months old, and came 
to Kansas, locating at Arkansas City, September, 1870, and the 
early education of young Baker was obtained in the grade schools 
of Wichita. The first business venture of Charles A. Baker on 
his own resources was at Hutchinson, Kan., in 1900, where for two 
years he did a big business in the plumbing line under the firm 
name of Wilson & Baker. Eight years ago he formed the co-part- 
nership in Wichita of Baker & Isbell, and for the past four years 
has been alone as Charles A. Baker. He has swung some of the 
largest of the very big jobs in Wichita during that time, among 
them being the Eagle plant, plumbing and heating apparatus ; the 
Innes Block, Boston Store, new Michigan Building, Riverside 
Club, Daisy Block, and in residences the Fred Stanley home, C. 
M. Beachy, Y. L. Branch, C. W. Carey and many others. Mr. 
Baker has two fads — baseball and the National Guard. He has 
seen service in the state militia for seventeen years, having entered 
the service in 1893. He has remained in continuous service ever 
since, and is regimental quartermaster of the Second Regiment, 
Kansas National Guard. He rose to the office of first lieutenant 
of Company A, the Wichita company, and would have been cap- 
tain soon had he not been elevated to the higher regimental office 



BIOGRAPHY 715 

he now holds with conspicuous credit to himself and the honor of 
the service. 

He married Lillie E. Bennett, December 5, 1895, daughter of 
George W. Bennett, a pioneer plumber of Wichita. To this union 
one child, a daughter, Marcia Helen, born June 21, 1901. Mr. 
Baker is a member of Albert Pike Masonic Lodge, Wichita Con- 
sistory, No. 2 ; Midian Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. S. ; Wichita Lodge, 
No. 427, B. P. 0. E. ; Knights of Pythias ; Knights of the Macca- 
bees ; Riverside Club. 

David Walker Basham, is a prominent physician and surgeon 
at Wichita, Kan. A native of Breckenridge county, Kentucky, he 
was born in 1854, and is a son of Nathan Claybourne and Helen 
Josephine (Haddock) Basham. His maternal grandfather was a 
physician, and his father a business man and farmer. He had good 
educational advantages and after finishing his preliminary studies, 
was graduated from the Kansas City Medical College in 1884. 
Going to Rich Hill, Mo., Dr. Bashan practiced his profession there 
one year, after which he pursued a course of study in the Univer- 
sity of New York, where he was graduated in 1890. He then spent 
some time in Philadelphia in practice and research and later con- 
tinued his studies in surgery in Paris, France. Dr. Basham 
returned hither in 1895 and made his home at Neal, Kan., till 1902, 
when he settled at Wichita, spending much of the interval in 
Philadelphia and New York. Dr. Basham is widely known as a 
learned and skillful surgeon and maintains a suite of offices at 
Nos. 205, 207 and 209 East Douglas avenue, Wichita, and is on£ 
of the surgeons practicing in St. Francis Hospital. He is also 
active in fraternal and social organizations, being a Mason of 
high degree, and holding membership in the Country, the River- 
side and the Commercial Clubs, and belonging to the Chamber of 
Commerce of Wichita. 

In 1902 Dr. Basham married Miss Katherine Genevieve, a 
daughter of Francis and Honora Dailey, formerly of Eureka, Kan., 
but at that time residents of Helena, Mont., and they have two 
children named, respectively, David Walker, Jr., aged four and 
one-half years, and Francis Claybourne, aged one year. 

H. C. Baughman, of Cheney, Kan., a veteran of the Civil War, 
was born December 4, 1837, in Stoverton, Muskingum county, 
Ohio. His parents were John Baughman and Sarah (Stover) 
Baughman. His father was a native of Pennsylvania and his 
mother of Virginia, her family belonging to the F. F. V.'s The 



716 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

elder Baughman died in 1879 and his widow in 1899. H. C. Baugh- 
man obtained his early education in the public schools of Ohio. 
In 1860 he removed to Illinois, where he taught school for four 
months. He then enlisted in Company F, Fifty-ninth Illinois 
Infantry, as a private, at Hazel Dell, and went to the St. Louis 
arsenal, where the regiment remained three weeks for equipment. 
It was then sent to Booneville, Mo., and was in the Fremont cam- 
paign to Springfield, Mo. The regiment was then transferred 
from the Department of Missouri to the Cumberland, and partici- 
pated in the battles of Perryville, Ky. ; Stone River, the Tullahoma 
campaign, the battle of Chickamauga, Lookout Mountain and 
Mission Ridge. It was then sent on a forced march to the relief 
of the siege of Knoxville, and after this was sent back to Chatta- 
nooga to join the Atlanta campaign under Sherman. When the- 
latter started on his March to the Sea the Fourth Corps and 
Twenty-third Corps were started back to Nashville, Tenn., under 
General Thomas. The Fifty-ninth Regiment was in the Fourth 
Army Corps, in which Mr. Baughman was enlisted and partici- 
pated in the last battle of the war on December 15 and 16, 1864, 
at Nashville, Tenn. In the following June the whole corps was 
sent to Texas under General Stanley and mustered out of th& 
service at New Braunfels, Tex., December 8, 1865. The regiment 
kept together from June 24, 1861, to January, 1866, when it was 
paid off in full at Springfield, 111. Mr. Baughman entered the 
service as a private, became second sergeant August 6, 1861 ; 
orderly sergeant January 1, 1862; second lieutenant October 15, 
1862, and captain February 15, 1864. After his term had expired 
Mr. Baughman returned to Casey, 111. On March 20, 1866, he was 
married to Miss Rosannah Frazier, of Zanesville, Ohio, a daughter 
of William Frazier, of that city. He then returned to Illinois and 
located in Jasper county, where he was engaged in the milling 
business three years and in farming three years. He then went 
to Piper City, 111., where he conducted a general store up to 1878. 
In that year he removed to Kansas and located in Reno county, 
where he engaged in farming on a 160-acre farm which he owned. 
He was postmaster in Mona for twenty-three years. In 1901 he 
moved to Cheney and retired from active business. Mr. Baugh- 
man built himself a handsome residence in Cheney which is kept 
up in first-class style, and still owns a farm in Reno county. He 
and his wife are prominent in church circles, both being members 
of long standing in the Methodist Episcopal Church. John W., 



BIOGEAPHY 717 

one of his three living children, is a large land owner in Kansas, 
Colorado, Nebraska and Wyoming, with offices at Liberal, Kan., 
and Plains, Kan. Harry S. lives on a farm in Grant county, Okla- 
homa, and Jesse G. lives at Plains, Kan., and is engaged in the 
automobile business. 

Charles W. Beatty, of Wichita, Kan., head of the Beatty Realty 
Company, is a native of the Keystone state, having been born at 
Huntingdon, Pa., in 1868. His parents were Elliot D. and Susanna 
(Lefferd) Beatty. His education was obtained in the public 
schools and the Southwestern Business College, of Wichita. He 
came to Kansas with his parents in 1879, when only eleven years 
old, and has ever since been a resident of Wichita. After com- 
pleting his education he entered the service of the Crystal Ice 
Company, with which concern he was connected sixteen years. 
After leaving the ice company he was with the Badger Lumber 
and Coal Company for a time, having charge of the plant. With 
Rodolph Hatfield he had charge of the ice output of the Dold 
Packing Company from 1896 to 1902. In the years following he 
was for a time connected with the Wichita Ice and Cold Storage 
Company, and in the flour agency business at the corner of Santa 
Fe and Louis streets. In 1908 Mr. Beatty established the Beatty 
Realty Company, the firm members being Charles W. and his 
brother, J. A. Beatty. The offices of the firm are at No. 122 South 
Market street, Wichita. Mr. Beatty is a member of the Chamber 
of Commerce. 

W. E. Bennett, photographer, of Cheney, Kan., was born April 
1, 1864, in Watertown, N. Y. His parents were A. J. and Mary 
(Greneson) Bennett. The father was a native of New York and 
the mother a native of Switzerland. On the paternal side the 
family traces its descent back to Scotch, English and Irish ances- 
tors. The education of W. E. Bennett was acquired in the common 
schools of Michigan. In 1866, when W. E. Bennett was two years 
old, his parents left New York and moved to Neenah, Wis., and 
afterwards moved to Newaygo county, Michigan, in 1868, where 
the father homesteaded eighty a,cres and resided on his farm from 
1870 to 1882. He then bought land in Erie township, Sedgwick 
county, and January 2, 1884, came to Kansas, his family coming in 
1885, where he lived up to the time of his death in 1904. Mrs. 
Bennett died in Michigan in February, 1881. They had a family 
of ten children, viz. : A. J., Jr., W. E., Mrs. Lillian M. Gawthrop, 
Mrs. Bertha R. Sellon, Inez R. (deceased), Mrs. Jennie G. Prown, 



718 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Mrs. Adelia Pierson, John N., Mrs. Vira Althoff and Mrs. Myrtle 
Hart. A. J. Bennett was a prominent citizen wherever he resided. 
He acted as Justice of the Peace in Erie township for six years, and 
he filled the same position when he lived in Michigan. He was a 
public-spirited citizen, and a member of the official board of the 
Wichita State Fair, in which he always took much interest. He 
was a close student of history and well posted on current topics. 
Fraternally he was a member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and in politics he was a Republican. He was a devout 
member of the Methodist Church in his youth, but on coming to 
Kansas joined the Christian Church. In early life he learned the 
trade of a blacksmith, and while in Neenah, Wis., conducted a shop 
of his own. Afterwards he took up the carpenter's trade, in which 
he became proficient, and helped to build the roundhouse and 
bridges on the line of the Grand Rapids & Indiana railroad and 
also on the Chicago, West Michigan & Lake Shore railroad. W. E. 
Bennett came to Kansas in 1885, and took up a claim in Grant 
county, which he afterwards disposed of and came to Sedgwick 
county, where he took up his old business as a photographer, 
which he had learned in Michigan. In 1888 he entered the gallery 
of his brother-in-law in Cheney, and in 1904 bought the gallery 
and still conducts the same, turning out work equal to that which 
can be obtained in any of the large cities of the country. Mr. 
Bennett is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Subordinate Lodge, No. 254, and of the Twenty-ninth Encamp- 
ment at Wichita. He is a Republican in politics. He was married 
to Miss Edna S. Herrington, of Oklahoma, on November 9, 1904, 
in Wichita, Kan., at the residence of Judge Enoch. Of this union 
two children have been born, viz. : Myrtle Edna, four years old, 
and Walter Francis, one year old. 

Josiah M. Bird, of Wichita, was born in Muskingum county, 
Ohio, on July 27, 1846. He is a sonof Jonathan andNancyH. (Down- 
ing) Bird, his father being a native of Pennsylvania and his 
mother of the state of Delaware. The great-great-grandfather of 
Josiah M. was a soldier in the Revolutionary War and fought 
under Washington. The father of Josiah M. in his early life was 
a Whig and afterwards became a Republican, to which political 
faith he adhered the remainder of his life. He was known as an 
upright man in the community and lived an honored and useful 
citizen until his death in 1870. His wife died on February 7, 1866. 
Josiah M. Bird came from Ohio to Sedgwick county, Kansas, in the 



BIOGRAPHY 719 

fall of 1884, and located in Minneha township, where he bought 
110 acres of land in Section 26 and moved on the same in 1885. 
He was married on January 15, 1873, in Muskingum county, Ohio, 
to Miss Elizabeth A. Downs, a daughter of Isaac and Rebecca 
Downs, of the same county. Three children have been born of this 
union, two of whom are now living, Harry S., born October 26, 
1873, now a clerk in the postoffice at Wichita, Kan., and Chalmer 
Downs, born August 8, 1876, who now lives on his farm (joining his 
father 's) . Mr. Bird is a successful farmer, and he and his wife are 
faithful and consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. They have both taken a deep interest in the Sunday- 
school and both have been teachers in it for years. In politics Mr. 
Bird is a Republican. 

Jacob Bissantz is known as one of the public-spirited citizens 
of Wichita, Kan., and one who has taken an active interest in all 
that pertains to the upbuilding of the city. He was born March 
19, 1846, in Germany, his father being Adolph Bissantz. It was 
not until 1868 that Mr. Bissantz came to the United States. While 
in Germany he had learned the trade of a tinsmith, and this he 
followed for a time after arriving here. His first location in 
America was at Long Island, but he only remained there a short 
time when he concluded that the West was the field for his ener- 
gies and he migrated to St. Louis, Mo. After a short stay in the 
Missouri metropolis Mr. Bissantz moved to Sedgwick county, Kan- 
sas, where he homesteaded 160 acres of land and proved the same 
up to the completion of his title. In the meantime he became 
interested in various business enterprises in Wichita. He con- 
ducted for himself a restaurant for two years and afterwards 
formed a partnership in the tire and hardware business with J. R. 
Butler under the firm name of Bissantz & Butler. The partnership 
was dissolved and Mr.. Bissantz continued the business for himself 
until he again formed a partnership with George Mathias under 
the name of Bissantz & Mathias. This firm continued in business 
for seven years, when its dissolution took place, Mr. Bissantz con- 
tinuing the business alone for four years and then retiring. Mr. 
Bissantz has always been much interested in the growth of Wichita 
and has taken a keen pride in the same. In all matters pertaining 
to the government of the city he has also taken a great interest, 
and has been a member of the school board for four years. Politi- 
cally he is a Republican and has been active in the affairs of his 
party. He belongs to a number of fraternal orders, among which 



720 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

may be mentioned the Knights of Pythias, the Knights and Ladies 
of Security, Knights of Honor, Sons of Herrmann, and Woodmen 
of the World. Mr. Bissantz was married August 1, 1869, to 
Albertina Kammerer, who died February 11, 1905. Of this union 
four children were born, of whom two are living : Lena Albertina 
and Oscar Rudolph. 

Earl Blake, of the firm of Blake & Ayers, lawyers, of Wichita, 
Kan., with offices at No. 451 Bitting Block, is a native of Iowa, 
having been born at Bedford, that state, on September 11, 1866. 
His parents were Daniel and Eliza A. (Akers) Blake, who moved 
from Indiana to Iowa in the '40s, and from the Hawkeye state to 
Nodaway county, Missouri, in 1880, and to Kansas in 1884, where 
they located at Kingman. Both are now deceased. Earl Blake 
came to Kansas with his parents, entering Garfield University in 
1889. His parents came to Wichita in 1892, and he has ever since 
resided in the city. He was educated at the public and high 
schools of Hopkins, Mo., and Kingman, Kan., and at Garfield 
University Law School, from which he was graduated in the class 
of 1891. Mr. Blake was admitted to practice at the Sedgwick 
county bar in 1891, and entered the employ of the law firm of 
O 'Bryan & Gordon, and continued with them during the years 
1891 to 1894, inclusive. He was Assistant County Attorney dur- 
ing the years 1895 and 1896, and a partner of John D. Davis from 
1895 to 1898. He then formed a partnership with William A. 
Ayers under the firm name of Blake & Ayers, which partnership 
still continues, and in which he is now also associated with his 
brother, Walter A. Blake. During the years 1903 and 1904 Mr. 
Blake was City Attorney of Wichita. Mr. Blake is a thirty- 
second degree Mason. He has also filled all the offices in War- 
wick Lodge, No. 44, Knights of Pythias, and has been a trustee 
of the same for fifteen years. He is also a member of the Ancient 
Order of United Workmen and of the Fraternal Aid Association. 
Mr. Blake was married in 1894 to Miss Minnie M. McKibben, the 
City Librarian of Wichita. Of this union four children have been 
born, viz. : Harold L., Marjorie L., Ralph B. and Louise M. Blake. 

Charles A. Blakely, a native of Galena, 111., was born in 1862, 
and is the third child of a family of eight children born to John 
M. and Susan B. Blakely, who settled in Wichita with their 
family in 1880. Here the father engaged in business as a con- 
tractor, with Mr. W. Smith, under the firm name of Blakely & 
Smith, but withdrew from active business in 1890 and now lives a 



BIOGEAPHY 721 

retired life at the age of eighty-three years. Our subject acquired 
his education in the public schools and after finishing his school- 
ing learned the carpenter's trade, working with his father. Begin- 
ning in 1893 he was for fourteen years in the employ of the West- 
ern Planing Mill, and left that concern in 1908, to become a 
member of the firm of Burley & Blakely. This firm is located at 
No. 209 West First street, and its business, that of general con- 
tracting, comprises among other things the manufacture of high- 
class cabinet work and interior finishings and fixtures. 

Mr. Blakely devotes himself closely to his business and is 
known as a reliable, conscientious and straightforward man. 

In 1888 he married Miss Emma C. Webber, of Red Wing, 
Minn., and they have one child, Mildred E. by name. Mr. Blakely 
is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. 

Gillman L. Blood, of Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born in 
Maine, May 31, 1832. His parents were Leonard and Elizabeth 
(Gove) Blood. Leonard Blood was born in Massachusetts Decem- 
ber 17, 1789, and died March 7, 1847. His wife was born in 
Maine on August 15, 1809, and died August 20, 1856. They 
moved to Peoria county, Illinois, in 1836, and lived there the 
balance of their lives. Gillman L. Blood remained in Peoria 
county, Illinois, until 1871, when he came to Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, and pre-empted 160 acres in Section 28, Waco township, 
where he still lives. On December 9, 1856, he married Ellen L. 
Almarood, who was born in Quebec, Canada, on May 1, 1837. She 
was a daughter of George L. and Priscilla (Kyle) Almarood, her 
father being an American and her mother English. Her father 
died in 1842 and her mother in 1846. Mr. Blood and his wife have 
six children, four of whom are living. The children are: Mrs. 
Lizzie Thurston, of McPherson county, Kansas; George L., of 
Waco township; Edward H., of Waco township; Everett E., of 
Waco township; Mrs. Carrie Perham, deceased. Mr. Blood for 
many years did diversified farming and stock raising, but of late 
years has devoted much time to horticulture, having forty-five 
acres in fruit — apples, peaches, pears, plums — and has about five 
acres in asparagus. Mr. Blood has practically retired, while 
Edward, his son, has leased the place. Mr. Blood is a Republican, 
but never sought or held office. 

John W. Blood, of the legal firm of Blood & McCormick, 
Wichita, Kan., is a native of the Sunflower state, in which he was 
born, near Toronto, in 1877. Mr. Blood's education was acquired 



722 HISTOEY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

in the public schools of Woodson county, at the Emporia State 
Normal School and the State University. He received his legal 
education at the latter institution and was admitted to the bar 
in 1906. In the same year he moved to Wichita and formed a 
partnership with Ross McCormick under the firm name of Blood 
& McCormick, which still continues. Mr. Blood had charge of 
J. H. Graham's campaign in the spring of 1907. He was secretary 
of the Republican County Committee and had charge of the cam- 
paign in Sedgwick county in 1909. In the latter year Mr. Blood 
was appoinnted election commissioner. Fraternally Mr. Blood 
is a member of the Masonic Order, the Knights of Pythias, the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen 
of America. Mr. Blood was supervisor of the 1910 census of 
Wichita. 

George M. Boll, vice-president and manager of the Kansas 
Metal Granary Company, was born in Worth county, Mo., on 
May 3, 1881. His parents were G. W. and Susan (Sharp) Boll, 
the father being a native of Pennsylvania and the mother of 
Indiana. George M. Boll's education was acquired in the public 
schools of Kansas, his parents having moved to the state in 1884. 
They first located in Clark county, but in 1887 moved to Sedg- 
wick county and in 1907 to Wichita, where George M. Boll became 
one of the organizers of his present business, which he has man- 
aged successfully. The office and plant of the Kansas Metal 
Granary Company is located at the corner of William and Wichita 
streets, Wichita. The company was established in 1908 as G. M. 
Boll & Co., but was reorganized April 8, 1909, under the name 
of the Kansas Metal Granary Company, with G. W. Boll as presi- 
dent; George M. Boll, vice-presiderjt and manager; J. D. Peck- 
ham, secretary and treasurer; George A. Hinkle and Charles 
Waltercheid, directors. The company manufactures grain storage 
bins, known as the Equity grain bin, made of metal, which admits 
of nothing like rust or insects of any kind. The bins are light- 
ning and damp proof, and are also a dryer to damp grain, etc. 
They are sold throughout southern Kansas. The establishment 
also manufactures metal tanks of all kinds. Steel bins were 
originated in Sedgwick county in 1907. G. W. Boll was the 
patentee of the Equity grain bin first in 1908, and other patents 
were obtained in 1909 and 1910. 

George L. Blood,* a prosperous farmer and stock raiser of 
Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born in Peoria county, Illinois," on 



BIOGRAPHY 723 

January 17, 1858. His parents were Gillman and Ellen (Alma- 
road) Blood. The father of Gillman Blood was Leonard Blood, 
who was born December 17, 1789, and died March 7, 1847. His 
mother was born August 15, 1809, and died August 20, 1856. 
George L. Blood came to Kansas with his father in 1871 and 
remained at home until about twenty-eight years old. In 1883 
he bought eighty acres of land in section 33, Waco township. He 
has added to the original purchase until he now owns 280 acres 
in Waco and Salem townships. On January 25, 1887, Mr. Blood 
was married to Miss Emma J. Dunkin, who was born in Cass 
county, Indiana, on January 7, 1865. Mrs. Blood was a daughter 
of Benjamin and Jane (Rhine) Dunkin. Her father was born 
in Virginia and her mother in Ohio. They were married in 
Indiana, where Mr. Dunkin had pre-empted a homestead, on 
which he died on August 12, 1895. His widow died July 16, 1906. 
Mr. and Mrs. Blood have four children, viz. : Bessie B., born May 
22, 1888; Ethel M., born November 14, 1890; Harold D., born 
January 26, 1894, and Frank E., born December 26, 1903. Mr. 
Blood has farmed and fed stock for the market, averaging from 
seventy-five to 150 head each year. He has a fine orchard of 
about eight acres. Fraternally he is a member of the Ancient 
Order of United Workmen. 

Frank S. Boone, who is a worthy representative of one of the 
pioneer families of Sedgwick county, Kansas, is a prosperous, 
energetic farmer of Union township, and is highly esteemed 
throughout the community. He has been a typical representative 
of the United States soldier, and during his service in the Spanish- 
American War displayed such conspicuous bravery while under 
fire and in battle that he received the highest praise from his 
superior officers. He was born October 29, 1876, and is a son of 
Daniel E. Boone. 

Elroy Boone, grandfather of Frank S., was a native of Ken- 
tucky and a direct descendant of the same family of which Daniel 
Boone, the famous frontiersman and hunter, was a member. 
When a young man, Elroy went to New York State, and while in 
Oneida county married Catherine De Long. In 1858 they moved 
to Knox county, Illinois, where they spent many years carrying 
on farming operations. He sold out in 1872 and moved to Union 
township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, where he was one of the early 
settlers. He purchased a half section of land, upon which he 
made extensive improvements, and his fellow citizens recognized 



724 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

in him one of the leading farmers of Sedgwick county. His 
latter years were spent in quiet retirement, and his death, which 
occurred in 1899, was deeply deplored by his many friends, who 
knew him as an honest and upright man and a good neighbor. 
His wife passed from this life in 1879. Mr. Boone had been twice 
married and by his former wife had two children, while the fol- 
lowing were the issue of his last marriage : Marietta, Daniel E., 
Emery G., James H, Maggie and Alice. 

Daniel E. Boone was born in Cortland county, New York, 
November 12, 1852, but when he was a lad of six years his 
parents moved to Knox county, Illinois, where he received his 
early schooling. He also took a course in the business college at 
Galesburg, and during his vacations assisted his father in operat- 
ing the farm. He accompanied his parents to Kansas in 1872 
and has continued to reside in Sedgwick county ever since. He 
pre-empted the northwest quarter of section 25, upon which he 
lives at present, and as a result of many prosperous years of toil 
he is uoav the owner of 640 acres of fine farming land. He raises 
considerable grain and live stock, and is one of the most progres- 
sive farmers in Sedgwick county. Mr. Boone was joined in wed- 
lock, December 25, 1873, to Katie Carpenter, a native of Cali- 
fornia, who is a daughter of Horace and Mary (Emery) Car- 
penter — the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of 
Vermont. Mrs. Boone was born September 1, 1853, and of her 
children Frank S. is the oldest. The others were Mabel and 
Daniel, and two who died in infancy. Mr. Boone is an influential 
citizen of the community and in political affairs is one of its 
leading Republicans. His fellow citizens have honored him by 
election to many minor offices and has served as county treasurer. 
In religious matters he is liberal in his views. 

Frank S. Boone has spent the greater part of his years work- 
ing on his father's farm, and during his early youth entered 
Maize Academy, from which he was graduated two years later. 
He then took a business course at Wichita University, and later 
spent a year at Garfield University. He enlisted March 21, 1896, 
as a private in Company E, 16th Regiment, U. S. A. After two 
years in the service he was promoted to be a corporal, May 25, 
1898, at Tampa, Fla. ; while at Huntsville, Ala., he was advanced 
to a sergeancy — the latter promotion taking place October 11, 
1898. He was active in the assault on San Juan Hill, on July 1, 
and on July 2, 3, 10 and 11 he was in the front at Santiago. In 



BIOGEAPHY 725 

these two engagements he distinguished himself as a gallant non- 
commissioned officer. His valor won much praise both from his 
comrades and his superior officers, and his daring deeds are still 
fresh in the minds of many who were there engaged. Upon his 
discharge from service he was presented with several testimonials 
(with recommendations) as to his gallant conduct while in battle. 
From two of his superior officers he received the following : 

"Camp Shipp, Anniston, Alabama, 

December 29, 1898. 
To Whom It May Concern : 

I take great pleasure in testifying to the gallant conduct of 
Sergeant Frank S. Boone, Company E, 16th Beg. Infantry, while 
acting corporal of that company, in the attacks on the San Juan 
fortifications on July 1, 1898. He, with one other soldier, was at 
the head of the charge which resulted in the capture of the San 
Juan Block House and too much credit cannot be given him for 
his bravery on that day and throughout the entire operations 
before Santiago. I have been in constant observation of Sergeant 
Boone for over two years and believe him eminently fitted for the 
position of Second Lieutenant of the Regular Army, which his 
gallant conduct certainly merits during the operations before 
Santiago. I served as Lieutenant in Co. E, 16th Inf. 

(Signed) E. C. Carey, 
Captain and Assistant Adjutant General United States 
Volunteers." 

"Huntsville, Ala., October 25, 1898. 
"Sergeant Boone has been a member of my company for the 
past three years. I know him to be a young man of good moral 
character and intelligent and thoroughly reliable. After the 
battle of Santiago I recommended him for conspicuous and gallant 
conduct in the assault upon San Juan fort July 1, 1898. Upon 
this occasion he was one of the first men to ascend the hills and 
was far ahead of the main line. I saw him on the crest of the 
hill, coolly firing with effect upon the Spanish soldiers in their 
trenches not thirty yards away. In whatever capacity the Gov- 
ernment may employ him, I am satisfied that he will perform his 
duty conscientiously with courage and intelligence. 

(Signed) W. C. McFarland, 
Captain 16th Inf., commanding Co. E." 



726 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

The following article in the Wichita papers was copied from 
^e Lexington (Ky.) "Herald" and was told by a Kentucky 
officer : 

"Sergeant Boone, of Wichita, Kan., seemed to bear a charmed 
life. He was in the thickest of the fight and one of the first to 
reach the trenches. He helped dress his captain's wounds and 
carried his comrade Fleming to the rear. After the death of 
Lieutenant Ord, Sergeant Boone showed great bravery." 

These articles are only a small part of the many kind expres- 
sions made concerning Mr. Boone, as he is in possession of many 
other writings which relate his daring deeds on the battlefields 
and commend him for his intrepid action as a soldier. 

October 3, 1900, Mr. Boone was joined in marriage with Mollie 
Lawson, a daughter of Peter and Mollie (Christopher) Lawson. 
Mrs. Boone is a native of Sedgwick county, Kansas. Socially 
Mr. Boone is a member of the Knights of Pythias, Maize Lodge, 
No. 217, of Maize, Kan. 

Winfield M. Booth,* farmer, of Salem township, Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, was born in Sullivan county, Indiana, on Decem- 
ber 28, 1857. His parents were John G. and Susanna (Nelson) 
Booth, both natives of Indiana. John G. Booth brought his fam- 
ily from Indiana to Salem township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, in 
a wagon in 1872, and bought a claim of 160 acres of land in 
section 16. His wife died in 1879 and her husband survived her 
until 1906. The elder Booth's last five years were spent in Wil- 
son county, Kansas. Winfield M. Booth was about fourteen years 
old when he came with his parents to Kansas, and he lived at 
home until about twenty-five years old. On February 6, 1884, Mr. 
Booth married Miss Laura B. Parker, who was born in Butler 
county, Ohio, on November 12, 1863, a daughter of William and 
Eliza (Myers) Parker. Mrs. Booth's father was born in New 
York and her mother was born in Butler county, Ohio, on January 
15, 1834. The Parker family moved from Illinois to Kansas in 
1878, where the father died on December 26, 1899. Mr. and Mrs. 
Booth have nine children, viz. : Villa M., William P., Bertha M., 
Hallie M., Elida S., Nellie E., Marie G., Leroy M. and Archi N. 
After leaving home Mr. Booth was for about two years in the 
mercantile business in Zyba, Sumner county, Kansas, after which 
he returned to his farm, on which he has since continued to live. 
This farm he bought in 1888. Mr. Booth was township trustee for 
about ten years. In politics he is a Democrat. 



BIOGRAPHY 727 

Joseph Bowman, of Wichita, Kan., register of deeds of Sedg- 
wick county, has been described as "one of the most amiable 
fellows in Wichita." Mr. Bowman was born in Lancaster, Pa., 
his parents being Joseph and Elizabeth (Parker) Bowman. His 
early education was obtained at Lancaster and in Licking county. 
Ohio, and his first occupation was at farming. He swept silently 
into Wichita in 1886 and without unnecessary noise about it has 
managed to keep staying here ever since. By profession he is an 
expert accountant, and his first activities in that line in the city 
were at the Wichita National Bank before the boom. When the 
old Bank of Wichita was nationalized and called the Fourth 
National Bank, Mr. Bowman went over to it as head bookkeper 
and clearing house manager. With the reorganization of the 
Fourth from top to bottom following the resignation of all the 
officers, Mr. Bowman went out, too, and was at once called into 
the Citizens' Bank, now the Kansas National Bank. A few 
months later he was asked to return to the Wichita National, 
where he remained until it closed its doors. Then Mr. Bowman 
went to the Wichita Wholesale Grocery Company, where he 
remained for fifteen years, resigning after his election in Novem- 
ber, 1908, to the office of register of deeds. Mr. Bowman served 
all through the War of the Rebellion, having enlisted in Com- 
pany E. 184th Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and taken part in the 
campaigns of the close of the war. For many years he has been 
a member of Garfield Post, No. 25. He is also a member of Betton 
Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., Republican in politics, a member of the Con- 
gregational Church, and a member of the Chamber of Commerce. 
In 1886 he married Miss Jennie Lemmon. They have three 
daughters — Ethlyn, Lillian, Marguerite. 

George H. Bradford, of Wichita, Kan., is one of the powers 
in the political life of Wichita and Sedgwick county, where he 
has been a resident for fourteen years. Combining ability of a 
high order with a thorough knowledge of political affairs, gained 
from years of experience ; agressive and loyal to the Republican 
party, Mr. Bradford possesses all the qualifications which go to 
make up a party leader. Mr. Bradford was by no means a tyro 
in politics when he came to Wichita. He had rendered signal 
service to his party in St. Joseph, Mo., where he formerly resided, 
and was a delegate from that district to the state convention in 
1896 ; also delegate in 1902 to the state convention at Springfield, 
Mo.; also, 1888, at Chillicothe, Mo. He has been honored by 



728 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

election to two terms in the city council of Wichita, in the years 
1906 and 1908. His record while in office was clean and highly 
creditable. Mr. Bradford was born at Monroe, Mich., on Feb- 
ruary 21, 1866. His parents were George W. Bradford and 
Adelia (Kimball) Bradford, and his early education was obtained 
in Monroe, Mich. After finishing his education he engaged in 
civil engineering; assistant engineer W. S. S. & A. Ry. under 
John F. Stevens, who was afterward chief engineer, Panama 
Canal. Mr. Bradford is an eminently successful business man. 
He is president of the Wichita Construction Company, which 
does a large business in municipal contracting. He followed the 
same business for ten years in St. Joseph prior to his removal to 
Wichita. He was married in 1896 to Miss Linnie M. Speece, of 
Wichita, and of this union two children have been born, viz. : 
Edwin P. and Marguerite. 

Fraternally Mr. Bradford is a member of Wichita Lodge, 
No. 99, A. F. & A. M.; Wichita Consistory, No. 12, Potentate 
Midion Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. S. ; Mt. Olivet Commandery, No. 
12 ; trustee Wichita Lodge, No. 427, B. P. 0. E. ; Betton Lodge, 
I. 0. 0. F. ; Lodge No. 22, A. 0. U. W. ; Lodge No. 44, K. of P. ; 
second vice-president of National Order of Travelers' Associ- 
ation; national director American Society of Bridge Contractors. 

Charles H. Brooks, a member of the legal firm of Houston & 
Brooks, of Wichita. The firm to which he belongs is one of the 
most talented and best known law firms in Sedgwick county, 
which includes Wichita. Mr. Brooks is a native of California, 
having been born at Auburn, in that state, in November, 1859. 
He comes of sturdy New England stock and he can trace his 
ancestry back to the Revolutionary War, in which a number of 
his forebears were participants. His father was Julius P. Brooks, 
who was born in Windsor county, Vermont. After his marriage 
Julius P. Brooks went to California, which was then in the 
height of its gold excitement, and there the elder Brooks fol- 
lowed mining until his death in 1861. He left a widow and two 
sons, and the widow immediately returned to her home in Ver- 
mont. It was there that Charles H. Brooks was educated. He 
attended Montpelier Seminary, and while yet a young man 
moved to Marion, la., where he entered upon the study of law 
with J. C. Davis, and was admitted to the bar in 1883. He then 
began the practice of law with his preceptor and continued with 
the latter until 1886, when he moved to Wichita, Kan., during its 



BIOGEAPHY 729 

early boom days. He at once formed a partnership with David 
Smythe, under the firm name of Smythe & Brooks, which was 
afterward changed to Smythe, Brooks & Coffin. The last named, 
C. F. Coffin, afterwards removed to Indianapolis. Later Mr. 
Brooks and Judge T. B. Wall formed the firm of Wall & Brooks, 
and in 1898 the present firm of Houston & Brooks was organized, 
Mr. Brooks' partner being Joseph D. Houston, which firm still 
continues and enjoys a leading practice. Corporation law is Mr. 
Brooks' specialty, and his firm is now a very important cog in 
that vast legal machine, the counsel end of the Santa Fe Railroad. 
The firm is also connected in both a business, commercial and 
legal relation with many other powerful corporations whose 
influence ramifies throughout the nation. Mr. Brooks' executive 
capacity is well displayed in his responsible position as president 
of the Wichita Union Stock Yards Company, where his keen 
insight into difficult problems of transportation, freight rates, 
etc., has been invaluable. Mr. Brooks has been a director in the 
Kansas National Bank, is now president of the newly organized 
Stock Yards National Bank, and is a director in several local 
organizations. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and a 
Knight Templar. He is married, his wife having been Miss Jane 
Lillie, daughter of W. L. Lillie, of Marion, la. From this union 
four children have been born: Willard L., Helen, Catharine and 
Josephine. 

Charles W. Brown, vice-president of the Fourth National Bank 
of Wichita, Kan., is a native of Jefferson county, New York, 
where he was born on, May 29, 1836. His parents were Cyrus 
and Tamer (Bent) Brown, natives of Pennsylvania and Lewis 
county, New York, respectively, and who moved to Illinois in 
1856. Young Brown was educated in the public schools of 
Jefferson county, New York, and spent the early years of his life 
on a farm. He remained on the farm until 1868, when he 
engaged in the banking business with his brother, George W. 
Brown, at Clarence, la., under the firm name of Brown Bros. 
He remained at Clarence until 1871, when he removed to Kansas, 
locating in Butler county and starting a bank at Augusta, which 
was continued under the management of Brown Bros, until 1874, 
when Charles W. Brown withdrew from the firm. He again 
became a partner in the bank in 1883 and continued in it until 
1890, when he removed to Wichita. Here he became interested 
in a number of large enterprises. For one thing, he engaged in 



730 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

sheep raising on a large scale, at one time having as high as 
15,000 head on his ranch. He also engaged in the banking busi- 
ness, and for a time was vice-president of the old Kansas National 
Bank, later becoming president of the National Bank of Wichita, 
and since 1909 has been vice-president of the Fourth National 
Bank of Wichita. Mr. Brown was married in 1872 to Miss Anna 
McKibbin, daughter of Alexander McKibbin, of Clarence, la. 
Mrs. Brown is a native of New York state. From this union 
there have been three children: Margaret, who married Walter 
Lines, of Wichita; Anna, wife of D. P. Woods, of Wichita, and 
George M. Brown, manager of the Crystal Ice & Fuel Company, 
of Wichita, a position he has filled since 1908. 

James K. Brown, one of the well-known citizens of Wichita, 
Kan., where he has resided for many years, is a native of Illinois, 
where he was born in Montgomery county, April 4, 1846. His 
parents were James and Mahala (Harper) Brown. Both his 
parents were natives of Tennessee, while his remote ancestors on 
the paternal side were Scotch, while his great-great-grandfather 
on the maternal line was English. James K. Brown is the young- 
est of a family of eleven children born to his parents. He acquired 
a limited education in the public schools of Illinois up to his 
twentieth year, and remained under the paternal roof until he was 
twenty-two years old. In 1874 he decided to go to Kansas and 
located first in Payne township, Sedgwick county, where he 
bought half a section in Section 19 of that township. Here he 
resided for twenty-seven years. He took a conspicuous part in 
the affairs of the township, having been a member of the school 
board for several years, and having served three terms as a 
member of the board of township trustees. In Masonic matters 
Mr. Brown has attained high rank, being a thirty-second degree 
Mason, and also a member of the Consistory, No. 2, of Wichita. 
In politics Mr. Brown is a Democrat. He resides now in his 
beautiful home at 427 North Lawrence avenue, Wichita. 

James R. Brown, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of the Green Isle, 
where he was born on May 13, 1844. His parents were William 
and Nancy Brown, natives of Ireland. Mr. Brown came with his 
parents from Ireland to the United States in 1848, when he was 
only four years old, and settled in Lycoming county, Pennsyl- 
vania. The father of James R. died April 3, 1854, and the mother 
on August 5, 1865, both in Lycoming county. James R. Brown, 
after the death of his parents, with nine other friends, sought a 



BIOGRAPHY 731 

home in the West, and the point selected was Sedgwick county, 
Kansas. Previous to coming west he enlisted in the army when 
the Civil War broke out in 1861, in Company D, Eleventh Penn- 
sylvania Volunteer Infantry. The regiment was equipped in 
Harrisburg, Pa., and afterwards it was ordered to Annapolis, 
Md., where it spent its first months in the service doing patrol 
duty. The regiment then was placed in McDowell's division, 
First Army Corps, in Virginia. Mr. Brown participated in sev- 
eral severe engagements, among others Cedar Mountain, Va. ; 
and the second battle of Bull Run. Oh August 30, 1862, at 
Cedar Mountain, he received a severe wound in his right side 
and was removed to the hospital at Alexandria, Va., where he 
remained four months. He fought at the battle of Gettysburg 
from the beginning to the end of that severe struggle. His regi- 
ment was then placed under General Reynolds, in General Wads- 
worth's division in the First Army Corps. The regiment then 
made a raid in North Carolina, and on August 1, following the 
battle of Gettysburg, Mr. Brown was made second sergeant, and 
afterward he was detailed to the pioneer corps of General War- 
ren, of the Fifth Army Corps headquarters. He participated in 
the battle of Appomattox and after this engagement he veteran- 
ized in the same regiment for three years. He lost his arm at 
Petersburg June 18, 1864. Altogether he spent in the service 
of the government three years and eleven months. He was dis- 
charged on August 7, 1865, and returned to his home in Jersey 
Shore, Pa. Then he went to Philadelphia and took a course in 
a business college in stenography and telegraphy, after which he 
went to Torus, Me., organized the Soldiers' Home and was 
superintendent until 1870. He then, with the friends above men- 
tioned, came to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and located first in 
what is now known as Eagle township, where he homesteaded 160 
acres of land in Section 28, where he dwelt until 1887 with his 
family. Mr. Brown was married on December 21, 1874, at 
Wichita, Kan., to Miss Ada Winters. Miss Winters was a native 
of Ohio, and ten children were born of this union, eight of whom 
are living, viz.: Carrie, W. W., Elta, Maud, Edith, Lulu, Erma 
and Hazel. Mr. Brown politically is a solid and substantial 
Democrat. In 1887 he was elected register of deeds in Sedgwick 
county and served two terms. After the expiration of his term 
of office he returned to his home at Colwich, Kan., where he owned 
a large body of land, and lived there until 1909. During that 



732 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

year he took up his permanent residence in Wichita and lives at 
No. 1751 North Lawrence avenue. Mr. Brown is a member of 
the G. A. R. 

John W. Brown (deceased), father of Howard Brown, of Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, was born in August, 1830, in Clinton county, 
New York. The father of John W. Brown moved to Michigan 
when it was still a territory in 1836, and located at Kalamazoo, 
then known as Brtmson, where he bought government land at 
$1.25 an acre, and lived on the same up to the time of his death, 
which occurred in 1878. J. W*. Brown was twenty-one years old 
when he left the paternal roof. He learned the trade of a car- 
penter in Michigan and followed this occupation while living 
there and in Illinois. He received a limited education in his 
native state and may be called a self-educated man, for he was 
literary in his tastes and a great reader, studying history and 
keeping in close touch with the current events of the day through 
the newspapers and magazines. He was married in 1857 to Miss 
Electa Wellman, of New York, at Vicksburg, Kalamazoo county, 
Michigan, Miss Wellman 's parents being from New England. 
Two children were born of this union, of whom one is now living; 
G. W., deceased, was the editor and proprietor of the first news- 
paper ever printed in Cheney, Kan., and was an able, educated 
man, public-spirited, and took a delight in every enterprise that 
would benefit his town and county. L. W. Brown is now living 
and a resident of Kingman county, Kansas. The wife of J. W. 
Brown died in 1864 and in 1865 he was again married to Miss 
Martha Hopkins, of St. Joseph county, Michigan. 

Three children were born of this union, all of whom are living, 
viz. : Howard, Robert and Mary. In the fall of 1867 he moved 
to Lawrence, Douglas county, Kansas, for a short time, but after- 
wards returned to St. Joseph county, Michigan, and lived there 
until the fall of 1878, at which time he moved to Erie township^ 
Sedgwick county, Kansas. There he successfully farmed a tract 
of land that was purchased by Mr. Jewett and is now called the 
" Jewett Estate" land. When it was purchased Mr. Brown moved 
to Morton township, working at his trade as a carpenter all the 
time as well as farming. He bore the reputation of being a good 
carpenter, his services were sought for and his trade was profit- 
able. Mr. Brown bought a half section in Morton township, where 
he resided till his death, which occurred in 1893. He held several 
important offices during his life. He was a justice of the peace 



BIOGEAPHY 733 

and assessor while he lived in Michigan, and trustee in Morton 
township three times. In early life he was a Whig, but after- 
wards became a Republican, which he was at the time of his death. 
Howard Brown is a Democrat in politics when that party has 
good candidates. Robert lives on a farm close to Howard and 
both are successful farmers of Sedgwick county. 

Will W. Brown, cashier of the Stock Yards Bank, of Wichita, 
Kan., is a native Kansan, having been born in Sedgwick county 
on March 8, 1878. He is a son of James R. and Ada (Winter) 
Brown, who came to Kansas from Illinois in 1871, locating in 
Eagle township, Sedgwick county. Mr. Brown, Sr., served as 
register of deeds for Sedgwick county two terms, and made his 
permanent residence in Wichita in 1889. Will W. Brown was 
educated in the public schools of Sedgwick county, and after his 
graduation taught in the country schools of the county for a 
period of four years, after which he took up a business course, 
and was bookkeeper in several banks in the counties of Sedgwick 
and Reno. He came to Wichita in 1889, and was first in the 
employ of the Hockaday Hardware Company, and then for seven 
years filled the responsible position of cashier at the Morton- 
Simmons hardware establishment. In 1907 Mr. Brown organized 
the Stock Yards State Bank, and has since acted as its cashier. 
The other officers of the bank are : Garrison Scott, president, 
and George T. Cubbon, vice-president. Mr. Brown is a member 
of the Chamber of Commerce of Wichita, the Riverside Club, the 
Young Men's Christian Association and the Knights of Pythias. 
He was married September 12, 1907, to Miss Marie G. Kenargy, 
daughter of L. H. Kenargy, of Wichita. Of this union there has 
been issue one child, Raymond K. Brown. 

Albert A. Buck, painter and decorator, No. 209 St. Francis 
avenue, Wichita, Kansas, is a native of Georgia, in which state he 
was born in Union county on September 18, 1875. His parents 
were Azro A. and Fannie (Bur gin) Buck, natives of Vermont and 
North Carolina, respectively. The father was Captain of Com- 
pany F, One Hundred and Forty-seventh Regiment, Illinois Vol- 
unteer Infantry. He died at Winfield, Kan., January 2, 1880. 
His widow is still living and made a successful run at the opening 
of the Cherokee Strip on September 16, 1893. Albert A. Buck 
was educated in the public schools and came to Kansas in 1879, 
remaining a short time at Winfield, then to Arkansas City, then 
to Newton, and located in Wichita soon afterward. He learned 



734 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the painter's and decorator's trade in 1896, which he has since fol- 
lowed successfully. Mr. Buck established business for himself at 
No. 209 St. Francis avenue in 1904 and has gained a fine patronage 
in the general line of decorating and painting. He has been a 
member of the Masonic Order since 1909, and also belongs to the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Mr. Buck enlisted as a 
private for the Spanish-American War on June 18, 1898, was 
mustered in December 10 of the same year. He was married on 
January 10, 1899, to Miss Bertha Duncan, of Halstead, Kan. 

Fred Buckley, proprietor of the American Cornice Works, 
114-116 West Second street, Wichita, Kan., is a native of Windsor, 
Ontario, Dominion of Canada, where he was born on May 15, 1861. 
His parents were Reuben and Anna Buckley. He spent his boy- 
hood days in Windsor and was educated at the public schools of 
the city. In 1882 he came to the United States and located first 
at Kansas City, Mo., where he learned the tinner's trade with 
A. K. Sweet. In 1883 he came to Wichita and first obtained em- 
ployment with the Bissantz Hardware Company, continuing at the 
cornice business until 1885, when he began for himself, and has 
since continued the management of one of the largest and most 
successful businesses of its kind in Wichita. Mr. Buckley has 
been a member of the Knights of Pythias for a quarter of a cen- 
tury. He is also a member of the Masonic Order and of the 
Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. On September 13, 1888, 
he was married to Miss Mary Travis, a native of Illinois. Of this 
union two children have been born, Roy B., assistant city attorney 
of Wichita, and Mert T. Buckley. 

Mr. Buckley moved into his present quarters in August, 1910, 
where he occupies the entire building, upstairs and downstairs, 
covering 6,500 square feet with a storeroom of 2,500 square feet. 

William T. Buckner, attorney at law, of Wichita, Kansas, with 
offices in the Anchor Trust Building, is a native of Ohio, having 
been born at Washington Court House, Fayette county, on Janu- 
ary 2, 1846. His parents were William M. and Jane E. (Morri- 
son) Buckner, natives of Virginia. They went to Ohio in the 
early forties. The elder Buckner was a lawyer and a leading^ 
land attorney, devoting his time to perfecting titles to numerous 
large tracts of land in the states of Ohio, Virginia, Kentucky 
and Tennessee. William T. Buckner was educated at Greenfield, 
Highland county, Ohio. When the civil war broke out he enlisted 
in 1861 in Company I, Seventy-third Ohio Regiment. Being dis- 



BIOGRAPHY 735 

abled in the service, he was discharged before his term of enlist- 
ment had expired. He re-enlisted in Company F, One Hundred 
and Seventy-fifth Ohio, and served as a private until the close 
of the war. He was in many of the hard-fought battles of the 
war, besides several skirmishes. After his discharge from the 
army he returned to the home farm in Ohio, which was being 
conducted by his mother, his father being dead. He assisted his 
mother in conducting the farm and took up the study of law 
under the direction of Hon. Robert M. Briggs, of Washington 
Court House. He followed this by a course at the Cleveland Law 
School, from which he graduated in 1871, when he was admitted 
to practice in the United States courts and all courts in Ohio. 
He began his legal practice in the city of Cleveland, where he 
remained from 1872 to 1884, when he came to Kansas and located 
at "Wichita, and conducted a general practice until after the 
boom. Mr. Buckner was elected probate judge of Sedgwick 
county and served two terms of 1889 to 1893, since which time 
he has devoted his time to the real estate and law business. Mr. 
Buckner is a member of Garfield Post, No. 25, Department of 
Kansas, G. A. R. He was married on June 6, 1883, to Miss Mary 
J. Wadsworth, a native of Morrow county, Ohio. Two children 
have been born to this union, Dora A. and Susan E. Buckner. 

Frank S. Burt is a well known and enterprising citizen of 
Wichita, Kansas. He was born at Urbana, Illinois, June 23, 
1862, and is a son of Jesse and Alma C. (Hall) Burt. He had 
good educational advantages and supplemented his preparatory 
studies by a course at the University of Illinois, where he was 
graduated with the class of 1884. In March, 1885, Mr. Burt 
settled at Wichita in the real estate and insurance business, with 
offices at 416 East Douglas street. In 1896 he was appointed by 
the state commissioners, chief of police of Wichita and served 
till 1898. Resuming his insurance business, he continued it till 
1901, when, under the administration of Mayor McClain, he was 
again made chief of police, serving four years. After that till 
1909 he gave his attention to his real estate and insurance mat- 
ters, and then for the third time was appointed chief of police by 
Mayor Davidson and served till September 1, 1910, when he 
resigned the office. 

After the opening of the Spanish-American War, in 1898, Mr. 
Burt served some nine months as commissary clerk under Capt. 
S. N. Bridgeman, first at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, where twenty- 



736 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

two thousand men were cared for, and afterwards at Atlanta, 
Georgia. 

In 1886 Mr. Burt married Miss Catherine E., daughter of 
Mrs. Rebecca Bolick, of Wichita. They have had four children, 
of whom two died in infancy. The surviving children are named 
respectively, Ora D. and Jesse F. 

Mr. Burt is an active member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks and is connected with the local lodge, No. 427. 

Antonio S. Buzzi, a member of the Sedgwick county bar, was 
born in Arkansas City, Kansas, in the year 1876, and is the 
son of Antonio and Adeladia Buzzi. His parents, originally from 
Switzerland, came from Algiers, Africa, to the United States in 
1864, and settled at Meriden, Conn., from whence they moved to 
St. Charles, Mo., but later returned to their former home in Con- 
necticut. In 1871 they moved to Chicago, coming to Arkansas 
City, Kan., in 1872, among the early settlers of that community. 

Our subject received the common and high school education 
at Arkansas City, after which he spent six years in the state uni- 
versity at Lawrence, Kan., graduating from the law school in 
1902, at which time he was admitted to the bar. After traveling 
two years through the Western, and Central states, in 1904 he 
settled in Wichita and opened an office at 401 East Douglas 
avenue, for the practice of his profession. In 1906 Mr. Buzzi was' 
elected city attorney of the city of Wichita, and in 1909 appointed 
to the same office by the commission, and is at the present time 
serving his second term. 

Mr. Buzzi is somewhat active in fraternal organizations, being 
a member of the Masonic order, the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and several 
other secret organizations. 

Albert M. Campbell, of Bentley, Sedgwick county, Kansas, is 
a native of Indiana. He was born at Bluffton, Wells county, that 
state, on October 3, 1869. His parents were John M. and Mary 
(Falk) Campbell. The father was a native of Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, and the mother a native of Ohio. The 
ancestry of the family is traced to Scotland and Ireland on the 
paternal side, and on the maternal side to Germany. The father 
of Albert M. Campbell left Indiana and moved to Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, on March 17, 1871, with his wife and one child, 
and there homesteaded a quarter section in Section 2, Eagle town- 
ship, and there lived up to the time of his death, on April 21, 1894. 



BIOGEAPHY 737 

During his life he worked at his trade, that of a carpenter, of 
which he was master in every particular. He followed his occu- 
pation up to the time of his entering the army. He enlisted as a 
private in Company B, One Hundred and First Indiana Volunteer 
Militia, and after his discharge from the service returned to his 
home in Wells county, Indiana. The mother of Albert M. died 
in 1906. After the death of his father Albert M. Campbell con- 
tinued to manage the estate, and up to recently he has rented the 
home farm. He and his brother have formed a partnership under 
the firm name of Campbell Bros., and are now devoting their 
entire time to the manufacture of concrete tiles and blocks. They 
have been kept constantly busy in supplying the demand for their 
productions. The quality of their work is of the highest class, 
and they have a big patronage in this vicinity and adjoining 
counties. Mr. Campbell is a past grand member of the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, Bentley Lodge, No. 446, and is a 
Republican in polities. 

William S. Campbell is younger than Albert M., having been 
born September 17, 1873, in Sedgwick county, Kansas. He is also 
a son of John M. and Mary (Falk) Campbell. William S. enlisted 
for the Spanish-American War in the Forty-fourth United States 
Volunteers and left San Francisco on the transport Howard on 
December 31. On arriving at Manila his regiment com- 
menced active operations, and during the year 1900 he was 
engaged in numerous battles. He was discharged from the serv- 
ice on June 30, 1901. Mr. Campbell is a Republican in politics. 

John William Campbell,* Civil War veteran, of Kechi, Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, is a native of Illinois, where he was born 
on October 14, 1842, in Adams county. His parents were I. F. 
and Pauley (Brittan) Campbell, both natives of South Carolina. 
The father was reared in the state of Tennessee and moved to 
Illinois in 1849, locating in Adams county, where he lived until 
his death on April 17, 1882. He was a farmer during his life and 
both he and his wife traced their ancestry to Scotland. John W. 
Campbell received a limited education in the old log school house 
in Adams county, which he attended up to his eighteenth year, 
.when he enlisted in Company D, Fiftieth Illinois Volunteer In- 
fantry, which was equipped at Quincy, 111. The regiment made 
many moves until it reached Pittsburg Landing, where it was in 
the heat of the battle, and also took part in the battle at Corinth, 
Tenn. It was then sent into east Tennessee, where it went into 



738 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

winter quarters at Glenview, afterward participating in the battle 
of Lookout Mountain, where its colonel and lieutenant colonel 
were shot. The regiment then went with Sherman on his march 
to the sea, and after going through some hard campaigning was 
sent to Washington, D. C, where Mr. .Campbell was discharged. 
The Fiftieth was known as the crack regiment of Illinois volun- 
teers and went through the most severe fighting of any of the 
regiments equipped in that state. At Louisville, Ky., where it 
competed in drill with several other regiments from Illinois, it 
obtained valuable prizes on account of its splendid discipline. 
After his discharge, Mr. Campbell returned home to Adams 
county and on March 9, 1866, at Quincy, 111., was married to Miss 
Mary M. Lyons, a daughter of John W. Lyons, of Adams county. 
After his marriage, Mr. Campbell moved from Illinois to Missouri, 
where he lived for fourteen years as a farmer, and then moved to 
Denver, Colorado, where he lived for four years. On February 
17, 1884, he moved to Wichita, Kans., and afterwards to Kechi 
township, and three years afterward moved to Kechi, where he 
now lives in his comfortable home. Mr. Campbell and his wife 
are members of the Church of Christ. Fraternally he is a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the G. A. R., and 
in politics is a Republican. 

Merrit D. Canaday,* one of the substantial ' and prosperous 
business men of Mulvane, Kan., was born in Davis county, Mis- 
souri, on April 16, 1841. He is a son of John J. and Sophia 
(Smith) Canaday, the father being a native of North Carolina 
and the mother of Pennsylvania. They were the parents of four 
children, viz. : Francis M., deceased ; Merrit D., of Mulvane ; Mrs. 
C. N. Bartlett, of St. Louis, Mo., and Andrew J., who died in 
California. Mrs. Canaday died in 1853 and Mr. Canaday in 
1855. Merrit D. Canaday was a child of twelve years when his 
mother died, and he was thrown on his own resources when a 
small child. His father had moved to Bloomington, 111., where he 
died, and there Merrit remained until the winter of 1858-59, when 
he returned to Missouri with an uncle, and in the summer of 1860 
went to Fort Scott, Kansas. From there he went to northern 
Missouri, and on October 4, 1861, enlisted in Company H, Fifth 
Kansas Cavalry, for three years. He served his time and then 
went to Illinois and raised a new company, but before it could be 
mustered in the war came to an end. After the war, Mr. Canaday 
settled at Clinton, 111., where he remained until 1871. He then 



BIOGEAPHY 739 

came to Kansas and preempted 160 acres of land in Section 26, 
Salem township. This was in the fall of 1871. On November 4, 
1868, Mr. Canaday was married to Miss America J. Bowles, who 
was born in DeWitt county, Illinois. She was a daughter 
of Jesse P. and Maria (Bivins) Bowles, both natives of 
Kentucky. Mr. and Mrs. Bowles came to Kansas in the 
spring of 1873 and settled on Section 35, Salem town- 
ship, and are now residents of Mulvane. Mr. and Mrs. Can- 
aday have three children, viz. : Mrs. J. F. Hufbauer, of Newkirk, 
Okla. ; Charles D., of Mulvane, and Mrs. S. C. Massingale, of 
Cordell, Okla. Mr. Canaday lived on his farm until 1881, when 
he moved to Mulvane and engaged in the grain and live stock 
business. In 1886, in partnership with B. H. Ward, he bought out 
the Chicago Lumber Company, of Mulvane, but after a short time, 
Mr. Canaday 's health failing, he sold his interests to Mr. Ward. 
In 1891 he bought the entire lumber interest and has since con- 
ducted the business under the name of M. D. Canaday. Mr. Can- 
aday has built two residences since living in Mulvane. He is a 
stockholder and director in the Mulvane State Bank, and also 
owns a lumber yard at Gotebo, Okla. Mr. Canaday sold his farm 
in Salem township and now owns a farm of 160 acres in Harper 
county, Kansas, and a summer residence at Manitou, Col. In 
politics Mr. Canaday is a Democrat and he is a member of the 
Church of Christ, of Mulvane. 

Sherman 0. Carpenter* is one of the successful farmers and 
business men of Ninnescah township, Sedgwick county, Kansas. 
Mr. Carpenter was born in Chautauqua county, New York, on 
July 28, 1852. His parents were Joseph S. and Malinda (Lenox) 
Carpenter, both natives of New York. Mr. Carpenter, Sr., was 
born May 18, 1828. They were married in New York and in 1877 
came to Kansas and settled in Edwards county. Mrs. Carpenter 
died June 20, 1893, and Mr. Carpenter died on September 20, 
1901. Sherman O. Carpenter was raised on a farm, and when a 
young man learned the carpenter's trade. He came to Kansas 
with his father in 1877, and resided in Edwards county until Sep- 
tember 21, 1880, when he returned to New York and remained 
there until 1884. He then entered the building department of 
the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad on bridge work, and 
remained with the company part of one year, when he came to 
Sedgwick county, and in July, 1884, bought a threshing machine 
and commenced operating it. In the fall of the same year he 



740 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

came to Clearwater and built a feed mill. For eighteen years 
Mr. Carpenter operated his threshing outfit in Ninnescah and Ohio 
townships, in partnership with M. B. Smith. In 1897 he bought 
160 acres in Section 16, Ninnescah township. After three years 
he sold this place and on November 30, 1901, bought the 150 acres 
where he now resides in Section 13, Ninnescah township. Mr. Car- 
penter was married on January 10, 1885, to Miss Juliette Warren, 
who was born in New York. She died on September 12 of the 
same year, and on September 9, 1888, Mr. Carpenter married Miss 
Edna Wright, who was born in Indiana. Mrs. Carpenter is a 
daughter of Edward A. Wright, who came to Kansas in 1876, 
where he first settled in Pawnee county, and later came to Sedg- 
wick county. Mr. and Mrs. Carpenter have one son, Myron W. 
Carpenter, who was born on June 19, 1889. He is now attending 
the Lawrence University. Mr. Carpenter has been a director in 
the Clearwater State Bank since its organization in 1899, and 
secretary of the Clearwater Lumber Company and a director in 
the Clearwater Telephone Company. He has served three terms 
as justice of the peace. Mr. Carpenter is a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows and is a liberal in politics. 

Claud N. Cartwright, an enterprising citizen of Wichita, Kan., 
is a great-grandson of the celebrated preacher Peter Cartwright, 
and the second child of a family of five children born to Thomas 
B. and Mary E. (Cloud) Cartwright, the other children being 
Maude C, who was born August 25, 1868, and died September 
26, 1898 ; Madge E., born April 21, 1877 ; Oliver V., born March 
20, 1880, and Arthur T., born August 25, 1882. 

Thomas B. Cartwright settled in Salem township, Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, with his family in 1872. He lived there still 1882, 
when he sold his farm and bought a quarter section of land in 
Waco township, which he improved and cultivated, and where 
he made his home till 1903. He then sold the farm but still lives 
in Waco township. He is a man of influence in the community 
and in 1888 was elected county treasurer on the Democratic 
ticket and re-elected in 1890. The mother died March 24, 1905. 

After leaving school Claud N., in 1889, entered the office of the 
county treasurer as a clerk, and continued there till 1896, after 
which he served three years as a clerk in the office of the county 
clerk. In 1899 he turned his attention to business, dealing in 
pumps and windmills, and continued in that line five years, with 
good success. In 1904 Mr. Cartwright was nominated and elected 



BIOGRAPHY 741 

county clerk of Sedgwick county, on the Democratic ticket, 
and re-elected in 1906. At the close of his second term, in 1908, 
he opened offices in the Anchor Trust building, and turned his 
attention to the real estate and insurance business, which he has 
conducted with much success to the present time. In political 
opinion and action Mr. Cartwright has always been a Democrat 
and is active in the local councils of his party, being at the 
present time — 1910 — chairman of. the County Central Committee. 

The subject of this sketch was united in marriage on the 
15th of May, 1901, to Miss Harriet, daughter of Aaron Bales, of 
Bourbon county, Kansas. 

Howard E. Case, president of the Davidson-Case Lumber Com- 
pany, of "Wichita, Kan., is a native of the Empire State, having 
been born at Fulton, Oswego county, New York, on June 10, 1862. 
His parents were Charles and Susan (Hart) Case. The elder 
Case died when his son was but five years old, and his mother 
died when he was fourteen. The guardian of Mr. Case gave him 
a public school education, which was followed by training at the 
Cazenovia (N. Y.) Seminary, the Richfield Springs (N. Y.) Semi- 
nary, and Cornell University, from which he graduated in the 
class of 1884. Mr. Case came to Wichita in the same year, and 
was first employed by the Oliver Bros. Lumber Company. On 
March 1, 1887, he began business for himself, when, with William 
Davidson, he embarked in the lumber business, the first plant 
being started in Wichita. In 1889 yards were opened in Okla- 
homa City and Guthrie, and after the opening of the Cherokee 
strip more yards were added. The business was incorporated 
in 1900 as the Davidson-Case Lumber Company, and is now 
operating sixteen yards in Oklahoma and five in Kansas, with 
Wichita as the base of operations, or central plant. Mr. Case is 
a firm believer in the future of Wichita. He is a member of all 
the Masonic bodies and a thirty-second degree Mason. He is 
also vice-president of the Wichita Commercial Club and presi- 
dent of the Southwestern Lumber Association. He was married 
in 1887 to Miss Sarah Blair, of Huntingdon, Pa. Mrs. Case's 
father, Alexander Blair, was the originator of the well known 
Blair mill of that locality. Four children have been issue of 
this union, viz.: Margaret B., now a sophomore at Smith Col- 
lege ; Helen D., Howard, Jr., and Leslie S. Case. 

Anthony E. Chambers, farmer and raiser of standard bred 
horses, and veteran of the Civil War, of Clearwater, Sedgwick 



742 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

county, Kansas, was born in Jefferson county, Indiana, on No- 
vember 15, 1846. His parents were Ahimaaz and Jane (Patton) 
Chambers, both natives of Indiana, where they passed their 
lives. The grandfather, Anthony Chambers, was a native of 
Kentucky, and married Nancy Blue, a native of Virginia. The 
grandfather on the maternal side was Hezekiah E. Patton, a 
native of North Carolina, who married a Miss Wilson. Ahimaaz 
Chambers and his wife were the parents of seven children, viz. : 
Mrs. Nannie B. Craig, of Clearwater, Kan.; Mrs. Mary E. Dyer, 
of Ohio township, Sedgwick county; Anthony E., of Sedgwick 
county; A. Worth, of Sedgwick county; Mrs. Annie Hamlin, of 
Newkirk, Okla. ; Catharine C, deceased ; Jessie F., deceased. 
The mother of this family died in 1857, and the father in 1890. 
Anthony E. Chambers remained at home until the summer of 
1863, when he enlisted in Company H, Tenth Indiana Cavalry, 
and served during the war. He was wounded at a battle of South 
Tunnel, four miles from Gallatin, Tenn., and was mustered out in 
July, 1865. After the war Mr. Chambers returned to his home 
in Indiana and remained there until 1867, when he went to Illi- 
nois, and remained until the fall of 1873. At that time he moved 
to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and preempted 160 acres of land, 
where he now lives. On January 1, 1878, Mr. Chambers was 
married to Miss Releaf E. Phillips, who was born in Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1855, and came with her parents to Kansas in 1874. 
One son has been born of this union, Joseph C, born February 4, 
1881, and married, on September 28, 1902, Miss Belva L. Cook, 
who was born in Greenwood county, Kansas, on February 28, 
1884. Miss Cook was a daughter of Thomas B. and Mattie E. 
(Scott) Cook, both natives of Vermilion county, Illinois. Her 
father was born September 11, 1857, and her mother April 4, 
1861. They were married June 7, 1877, moved to Kansas in 
1880, and now live in Ninnescah township, where Mr. Cook lives 
on a farm. There were five children in the Cook family, viz. : 
Larkin A., deceased ; Estella F., deceased ; Mrs. Belva Chambers ; 
Claude E., who lives at home, and one who died in infancy. Mr. 
and Mrs. Joseph Chambers have one son, Lloyd W., born May 19, 
1906. Mrs. Anthony E. Chambers died December 29, 1888. 
Anthony E. Chambers in the early days served as constable, 
until he refused the office, and was trustee of the township for 
three terms. Fraternally he is a member of the Masonic order, 



BIOGEAPHY 743 

the Odd Fellows, Modern Woodmen, and of the G. A. K. In 
politics he is a Republican. 

C. E. Chrismore,* of Bentley, Kan., Sedgwick county, is a son 
of Virginia. He was born in that state on June 1, 1864, at Win- 
chester, afterwards immortalized by Sheridan's ride. His parents 
were James and Mary (Fleet) Chrismore. The father was a 
native of Virginia, whose ancestors originally came from Ger- 
many, while on the mother's side the ancestry was Scotch. The 
elder Chrismore died in 1871 near Winchester, Va., and the 
mother died the same year. C. E. Chrismore was left an orphan 
at the age of seven, and acquired his education in the subscription 
schools of Virginia, which he attended up to his tenth year. In 
1874 he came west with his employer, J. M. Wise, in the attempt 
to better his fortunes, and located at Pawnee, Kan., where he 
worked as a farm hand and at herding cattle until 1883. Mr. 
Chrismore was married on March 2, 1883, to Miss Carrie M. 
Marshall, daughter of C. P. Marshall, of Wilmington, Del., at 
Larned, Kan. Of this union seven children were born, all of 
whom are now living, viz. : Emily, Mabel, Calvin, Charles E., 
Marana, Lloyd, Elizabeth, Emily, who is married to L. R. Beal, 
of Bentley, Kan., a farmer, and has one child. Mabel is married 
to Henry Foglestone, of the same place, a farmer, and has no 
children. The two youngest children of Mr. Chrismore are at- 
tending school in Bentley. After his marriage, Mr. Chrismore 
removed to Sedgwick county, Kansas, on March 4, 1883, locating 
east of Wichita seven miles. He farmed as a renter one year, 
then moved to Eagle township, where he bought a farm on Sec- 
tion 4. His specialty on the farm was raising and breeding 
trotters and road horses. He now (1910) is the owner of a fine 
bred stallion which he values at $1,500. After selling his farm 
in 1900, he moved to Bentley and engaged with the Kansas Lum- 
ber Company as yard manager, and has been in the employment 
of this company for twenty-seven years. Mr. Chrismore is a pub 1 
lie spirited citizen, enjoying the confidence of the entire commu- 
nity, and is active in the Republican party in placing good men 
in office. 

Ludovic R. Cole, real estate broker, of Wichita, Kan., is a 
native of the Wolverine State, having been born in Michigan in 
November, 1847. His parents were William M. and Mary (Simp- 
son) Cole, natives of New York state, which they left in 1842 
and took up their residence in Oakland county, Michigan, where 



744 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

they spent the balance of their days. Young Cole obtained his 
education in the public schools of Michigan, and his early life 
was spent on a farm, which he left early, going to Pontiac, Mich., 
where he was a clerk in a store for eleven years. Following this 
experience he was a traveling salesman for two years, after 
which he left the road and returned to the retail business in 
the mercantile trade. During the years from 1876 to 1880 Mr. 
Cole served as deputy register of deeds of Oakland county, Michi- 
gan, and the years from 1880 to 1884 he served as register of 
deeds of the same county. In 1885 he came to Kansas, and after 
a trip through the Indian Territory returned to Michigan ; but 
in the spring of 1886 he again came to Kansas, locating at 
Wichita and engaging in the real estate business, under the firm 
name of E. C. & L. R. Cole, which continued in business for a 
year. He was one of the original board of directors of the First 
National Bank. In 1896 he again entered the real estate busi- 
ness and continued with the ups and downs until November, 
1900, when he became manager of the Bell Telephone Company, 
which position he held until 1909, when he resigned and organ- 
ized the Midland Investment Company, and has since been its 
manager. During his career in the real estate business some of 
the large transactions that Mr. Cole swung were the purchase 
of the Tremont house, at the corner of Douglas and Emporia 
avenues, and the organization of the Carey Park Land Company 
and the platting of Cole's addition to Carey Park. Fraternally 
Mr. Cole is an enthusiastic Mason and is a member of all the 
Masonic bodies. He was married in 1885 to Miss Helen Bigelow, 
of Pontiac, Mich., and of this union there has been issued two 
children, viz. : Ion C. and Wade B. Cole. 

Mark S. Colver,* a successful farmer and stock raiser of Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, is a native of Illinois, where he was born at 
Little York, Warren county, on September 9, 1855. His parents 
were Dr. Charles S. and Hadessa T. (Hamilton) Colver. Mark 
S. Colver remained at home until March 27, 1877, when he went 
to Page county, Iowa, and engaged in farming, remaining there 
two years. He then went to Colorado and worked in the mills 
three years and in the silver mines for the same length of time. 
He abandoned mining to take charge of the plant that manufac- 
tured gas for the lighting of Georgetown, Col., and this he con- 
ducted for about five years. Mr. Colver then moved to Denver 
and worked in the shops and for the gas company for about two 



BIOGRAPHY 745 

years. Then he embarked in business for himself, opening a 
plumbing and gas fitting establishment, which he conducted suc- 
cessfully until 1895. In this latter year he sold out his interests 
and came to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and commenced farming, 
where he remained until 1900, when he moved on to his present 
place of 240 acres, which he bought in 1899. Mr. Colver prac- 
tices diversified farming and raises stock, and for about five years 
has made a specialty of Shorthorn cattle. On June 26, 1880, Mr. 
Colver was married to Miss Hannah Jane Brownlee, who was 
born in Warren county, Illinois, on June 26, 1857, being a daugh- 
ter of Thomas R. and Mary R. (Smiley) Brownlee. Mr. Brown- 
lee was born in Pennsylvania on October 16, 1827, and Mrs. 
Brownlee was born in Butler county, Ohio, on December 5, 1829. 
They were married in Henderson, 111., in October, 1852. There 
were ten children in the Brownlee family, eight of whom lived to 
maturity, viz. : Mrs. Anna M. Moore, deceased ; Mrs. Hannah J. 
Colver, of Sedgwick county, Kansas; Mrs. Alice L. Oliver, de- 
ceased ; "William L., of San Francisco, Cal. ; Carl T., of Lincoln, 
Neb. ; Mrs. Bessie Shaffer, deceased ; John, deceased, and Chester 
R., of Oskaloosa, la. The mother of this family died on January 
30, 1897, and the father on April 5 of the same year. Mr. and 
Mrs. Colver have been the parents of seven children, four of 
whom are living. They are Mrs. Alice Pearl Broadus, born De- 
cember 12, 1882, and married June 1, 1904; Charles T., born De- 
cember 27, 1885; Guy Lewis, born November 5, 1890, and died 
April 17, 1892 ; Ralph B. D., born July 18, 1892 ; Elizabeth Gert- 
rude, born January 22, 1899, and two who died in infancy. Mr. 
Colver served as township committeeman for several years, and 
in 1910 was United States census enumerator for Ohio and Nin- 
nescah townships. He is a Republican in politics and a member of 
the Presbyterian church. 

Robert O. Colver, of Ninnescah township, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, is a native of Ohio, where he was born in Union county, 
on February 13, 1851. His parents were Dr. Charles S. and 
Addessa (Hamilton) Colver. Dr. Colver was born in Union 
county, Ohio, on May 19, 1825, and his wife was born in Green 
county, Ohio, on March 11, 1825. They were married in Ohio, 
on March 14, 1848, and were the parents of eight children, two 
of whom died in infancy. The children were : Robert O. ; Olive 
II., deceased; Mark S. ; Charles; B. D. ; Abi H., deceased, and 
Merle D. The mother of this family died January 28, 1891, and 



746 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the father is living with his son, Robert 0. Colver. Prior to the 
Revolutionary "War there were eight brothers of the Colver 
family who came to America. Of this number, Nathaniel Colver, 
the great-great-grandfather of Robert 0. Colver, was one. 
Nathaniel Colver served in the war against the French and 
Indians, and also served the Colonies during the Revolutionary 
War. After the war he married and settled in Spencer, N. Y., 
where his son Charles was born. Charles Colver married Olive 
Callander, and moved to Union county, Ohio, where he died. The 
next in direct line of descent was Standish Colver, grandfather of 
Robert 0., who was born in Union county, Ohio, and married 
Elizabeth Lockwood. Dr. Charles S. Colver, their son, graduated 
at the Starling Medical College, Columbus, 0., in 1853, and prac- 
ticed medicine both in Ohio and Illinois for fifty years. He 
served two years as surgeon at Vicksburg, Miss., in the United 
States Army. After a long and useful life Dr. Charles S. Colver 
died, September 20, 1910. Robert 0. Colver, his son, received 
his education in Monmouth College, at Monmouth, 111. After 
leaving school he devoted his time to farming, which he has 
followed ever since, with the exception of two years, which he 
spent in mining and prospecting in Colorado. In 1878 he located 
a claim in Rush county, Kansas, which he sold in 1885. In the 
fall of 1882 Mr. Colver moved to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and 
in 1883 bought 160 acres of land in Section 10, Ninnescah town- 
ship. He has added to his original purchase until he now has 
590 acres, all in Ninnescah township. He has improved the 
land and erected buildings until he now has as fine a farm as 
there is in Sedgwick county. On January 10, 1884, Mr. Colver 
married Miss Bessie Watt, who was born in Mifflin county, Penn- 
sylvania, July 25, 1854. Mrs. Colver is a daughter of Andrew and 
Sarah (Rudy) Watt, both natives of Huntingdon county, Penn- 
sylvania. The father of Mrs. Colver was born September 4, 
1804, and her mother September 17, 1817. They were married in 
Huntingdon county, on October 30, 1844. After marriage their 
lives were spent in Mifflin county. The mother died September 
28, 1860, and the father March 30, 1864. They were the parents 
of eight children, three of whom died in infancy. The others 
were : Andrew C, deceased ; Mrs. William T. Likely, of Ninnes- 
cah township, Sedgwick county; Hugh R., of Ninnescah 
township; Mrs. R. 0. Colver, of Ninnescah township, and John 
R., of Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Colver have had three children, 



BIOGRAPHY 747 

viz. : Oken Watt, born December 1, 1886, died February 20, 
1896 ; Charles V., born October 1, 1888, died April 9, 1905 ; Merle 
E., born June 18, 1891. On December 29, 1909, Merle married 
Miss Bertha M. Harding, who was born in Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, on April 22, 1887, a daughter of Charles A. and Mary L. 
.(Julien) Harding, both natives of Indiana. Mr. Harding was 
born August 30, 1848, and his wife was born September 16, 1854. 
Merle R. Colver attended the Southwestern Academy at Win- 
field, Kan., for three years, devoting one year of this time to the 
business course. His wife had taught school one year before 
their marriage. They have one daughter, Bessie May. Robert 
O. Colver does general farming and raises cattle, horses and hogs. 
Fraternally he is a member of the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen. He is a Republican in politics and a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. 

Rufus Cone, president of the Kansas Steam Laundry Com- 
pany, the plant of which is located at No. 124 South Market 
street, Wichita, Kansas, is a native of Illinois, where he was 
born at Farmington on September 11, 1853. His parents were 
Lucius and Amanda (Woolsley) Cone, natives of Ohio and Ken- 
tucky, respectively, who came to Kansas in 1890, locating at 
Wichita. The elder Cone was a mechanic and died at the age 
of seventy-two ; his widow is still living. Rufus Cone was edu- 
cated in the public school, the primitive log school house of his 
native town in Illinois. After leaving school he came to Wichita 
in 1878 with the sum of $1.40 in his pocket, and obtained employ- 
ment in the grocery store of Ezra Scheetz, receiving $1 per day 
for his services. This store was located on the spot where the 
store of Hermon & Hess is now located, and the building was 
afterward removed to the corner of Main and Third streets, 
where it now stands. John A. Ratliff, who came with Mr. Cone 
from Illinois and was employed by John A. Wallace Implement 
Company as a salesman in the spring of 1881, with Mr. Cone 
bought the business of Mr. Scheetz, which was conducted under 
the firm name of Ratliff & Cone, they making a payment of $500, 
which they had saved out of their earnings while clerking. In 
those days they delivered all goods to customers by hand, as 
they could not at the time afford a delivery wagon. The firm 
was continued until the fall of 1885, when they sold out to Fur- 
man Allen, of Danville, Illinois. Mr. Cone was elected city 
constable the same year, 1885, for a term of two years, and was 



748 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

re-elected for two successive terms. While serving his third 
term he was put in nomination for sheriff of Sedgwick county, 
and elected on the Democratic ticket, although the county had a 
majority of some 3,000 Republican voters. His term of service 
was 1890-91. At the expiration of his term he entered the real 
estate business and located his office in the rear of the Fourth 
National Bank, and continued in this business until the fall of 
1893, when he was appointed chief of police, and held this office 
during the years 1893 and 1894. In the spring of 1895 Mr. Cone 
bought the Palace Livery business, and conducted it until the fall 
of 1896, when he was again elected sheriff of Sedgwick county, 
serving the term of 1896 and 1897. In 1897 he bought a half 
interest in the Kansas Steam Laundry, which business he has 
since continued. At the time of purchase the business amounted 
to $185 per week, but has since grown to $1,600 per week, being 
one of the greatest industries of its kind in the state of Kansas. 
It was at first located in small quarters and continued there 
until 1901, when the company built the Cone-Cornell building, 
which it now occupies, the dimensions of the building being 
120x124. The company has also built the Cone-Cornell hall since 
that time. In 1905 the business was incorporated with a capital 
stock of $75,000, of which $45,000 was paid up. The officers of 
the company are as follows: Rufus Cone, president; G. W. 
Cornell, vice-president and general manager ; A. W. Stoner, sec- 
retary and treasurer. Mr. Cone has been a city commissioner 
since April, 1909, and is a member of the committee on finance 
and revenue. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, a member of 
the Shrine, a charter member of lodge No. 22, Ancient Order 
United Workmen, and a charter member of the' local lodge of 
Elks. Mr. Cone was married on August 26, 1878, to Miss Ella 
Center, of Chantlerville, Illinois. Of this union three children 
have been born, viz. : Sylvia, wife of Frank Garrety, of Wichita ; 
Edwin and Walter Otis Cone. In 1909 Mr. Cone, with his family, 
made a trip around the world. 

P. J. Conklin, of Wichita, Kansas, is one of the men who have 
helped to build up Kansas by loaning its citizens money. Mr. 
Conklin was born at Dayton, Ohio, January 2, 1854. His parents 
were Joseph O. Conklin and Julia (Hunt) Conklin. The early 
education of the boy was obtained at Champaign, Illinois. After 
leaving school he obtained employment with the "Gazette" at 
Champaign. Mr. Conklin came to Wichita in 1893, and it was 




RODOLPH HATFIELD. 



BIOGRAPHY 749 

one of the leanest of the lean years in Wichita and the West. 
He has been here ever since. In 1907 he organized the P. J. 
Conklin Loan Company, and while this is in no way connected 
with the old Jarvis-Conklin Mortgage Company, it is a sort of 
aftermath. The P. J. Conklin Company is capitalized at $50,000, 
with P. J. Conklin as president, R. L. Holmes vice-president and 
A. O. Conklin secretary and treasurer. It does an annual busi- 
ness of from $800,000 to $1,000,000, and now has outstanding on 
its books over $3,000,000 on long-time farm loans principally. 
The company does no chattel business, and it is a trust repository 
for large sums of local money and pays especial attention to this 
feature. The operations of the company cover scores of thickly 
settled and prosperous Kansas counties, and while local deposits 
are only a minor part of their resources, it desires in a large 
measure to make local idle funds remunerative by placing them 
conservatively on long-time loans with the very best of security. 
Fraternally, Mr. Conklin is a thirty-second degree Mason, and 
belongs to the Wichita consistory. Mr. Conklin was married in 
Mt. Pulaski, Illinois, in 1876 to Miss Laura Capps, of Mt. Pulaski. 
From this union seven children have been born — Alfred O., Ed- 
ward J., Bessie Amy (now Mrs. Jay Chappie), Julia Hunt (now 
Mrs. Carl Guizel), Minnie Gertrude, Dorothy G. and Stanley 
Jarvis Conklin. 

Warner F. Copner,* retired farmer, of Salem township, Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, was born in Warren county, Ohio, on Feb- 
ruary 27, 1850. His parents were John and Nancy J. (Andrews) 
Copner. The father of Warner F. was born in Warren county, 
Ohio, on February 3, 1824. The mother was born in Indiana on 
May 16, 1824. They were married at Waynesville, Ohio, in 1858. 
John Copner moved from Ohio to Illinois and remained there 
until 1871, when he moved to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and pre- 
empted 160 acres of land in Section 19, Salem township. There 
were six children in his family, three of whom died in infancy. 
The three living are Warner F., of Salem township ; Henry C, of 
Oklahoma, and Cassius L., of Salem township. The mother of 
this family died April 17, 1907, and the father is living in Salem 
township. Warner F. Copner remained at home until he was 
twenty-one. In the spring of 1871 he moved to Sedgwick county, 
and May 9 of the same year preempted 160 acres of land in Sec- 
tion 21, Salem township. In 1874 Warner traded his quarter- 
section for the one his father had preempted, and remained on his 



750 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

claim and worked at various things. The second winter he 
worked in a sawmill and for a time operated the ferry at Derby. 
In 1874 he went to work for Albert Minnick, in the latter 's store 
at Derby, and remained with Mr. Minnick for three years and 
seven months. On February 18, 1880, Mr. Copner was married 
to Miss Hulda Parker, who was born in Butler county, Ohio, on 
March 26, 1858. Her parents were William and Eliza (Myers) 
Parker. The father was born in Erie county, New York, on April 
4, 1833, and her mother was born in Butler county, Ohio, on Jan- 
uary 15, 1835. Their marriage took place February 14, 1856. 
Mr. Parker came to Sedgwick county, Kansas, in 1877. Mr. Cop- 
ner has devoted his life to farm work. He is now practically 
retired and living on his home place. 

J. C. Crawford,* farmer, of Valley Center, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, is a native of Illinois, where he was born in Lee county 
on March 25, 1853. He is a son of Samuel Crawford, a native of 
Ireland. Samuel Crawford, when he came to the United States, 
settled for a short time at Philadelphia, Pa. Afterwards, in 1848, 
he moved to Lee county, Illinois, and after a residence there of sev- 
eral years, in 1871 he moved to Kansas, locating in Sedgwick coun- 
ty, where he bought a timber claim in Section 6, Eagle township. 
He lived on this claim until his death in July, 1906. Mr. Craw- 
ford was eighty-six years old at the time of his death, having been 
born on August 6, 1820. He was the father of nine children, four 
of whom are now living, viz. : Lewis C, James C, Asa Dennison 
and John Wesley. The early education of J. C. Crawford was 
acquired in the public schools of Illinois and Kansas, which he 
attended up to his twenty-third year. After that time he bought 
land in Section 7 of Valley Center township — about 1875 — and has 
lived on the farm up to the present time. Mr. Crawford has held 
several minor township offices. He was township clerk, constable, 
justice of the peace, and trustee and member of the school board 
for several years. In politics Mr. Crawford is a Democrat, and 
an influential and respected citizen. He was married on March 
25, 1880, in Sedgwick county, to Miss Sarah E. Fry, of the same 
county. Of this union eight children have been born, as follows : 
Anna, Ray, Mary, Bolindo, Lucy, Burgess, Nellie and Mabel. 

George W. Corn, farmer, of Valley Center, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was born September 8, 1856, in Mercer county, Kentucky. 
His parents were Timothy and Rachel (Yates) Corn, both natives 
of Kentucky. The parents of George W. after the war moved 



BIOGRAPHY 751 

to Clark county, Indiana, where they remained six years, and 
then came to Kansas the year after the "grasshopper" scourge. 
The parents came to Kansas with a family of nine children, of 
which George "W. was the second born. The father afterwards 
moved to Butler county, Kansas, and remained there until his 
death, on February 22, 1891. He was a farmer, an upright citi- 
zen, and a faithful member of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
George W. Corn was deprived of an early education and training, 
but notwithstanding this deprivation, he is a well-to-do and 
practical farmer. By industry and economy he bought a farm 
in Section 28, Valley Center township, on which he now resides. 
Mr. Corn was married on July 10, 1880, to Miss Mary Murphy, a 
daughter of John Murphy, of Illinois. Five children have been 
born of this union, viz. : Bertha, Nellie, Clarence, Minnie and 
Alva. Fraternally, Mr. Corn is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, Sedgwick Lodge, No. 177, the Modern 
Woodmen of America, and the Rebeccas. Politically, he is a 
Democrat. 

John H. Covault, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of Indiana, 
where he was born, in Blackford county, on March 4, 1870. His 
parents were Nathaniel and Barbara Covault. The elder Covault 
was a native of Pennsylvania, of Welsh descent, and his wife 
a native of Ohio, of German ancestry. In 1878 the family 
moved to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and there the parents lived 
until their death, leaving behind them an honorable record for 
industry and honesty. They were the parents of three chil- 
dren. John N. Covault was eight years old when he accompa- 
nied his parents to Kansas, where he grew to a strong and 
healthy manhood. His education was obtained in the public 
schools of the county. In 1893 he was married to Mrs. Ella 
(Davis) Wright, daughter of Oliver P. and Martha Davis, who 
are now living near Dacoma, Okla. Mrs. Covault was born in 
Illinois, April 29, 1867. After marriage Mr. Covault continued to 
engage in agricultural pursuits near the city of Colwich, until 
1900, when he came to Wichita, and in 1904 entered the employ- 
ment of the International Harvester Company of America. His 
work with this company has taken him to nearly all parts of 
the civilized world. In his travels he has visited England, 
France, Spain, Portugal, Africa, Brazil, Uruguay, and the Argen- 
tine Republic. Mr. Covault has gathered a fine collection of 
souvenirs from the different places of interest that he has visited. 



752 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

In 1909 he resigned from the service of the Harvester company. 
Mr. Covault has taken an active part in making AYichita a greater 
Wichita. He lives at No. 326 South Osage street, where he owns 
a fine residence. At present he has a garage located on the 
west side. 

Louis K. Cowley, agent of the Cadillac automobile, with sales- 
rooms at No. 114-116 North Topeka avenue, Wichita, Kan., is a 
native of the Wolverine State, having been born at Lansing, 
Mich., on April 26, 1878. He is a son of J. H. and Edith (Meade) 
Cowley, who removed to Lansing from Detroit, and who are 
both still living in Lansing, the elder Cowley being a pioneer 
merchant of the latter city. Louis K. • Cowley was educated in 
the public schools of Lansing and at the Michigan Agricultural 
College, graduating from the latter institution in the class of 
1898. He first entered the employ of Peet Bros., of Kansas City, 
as a traveling salesman throughout the Southwest. He took 
up the real estate business next, and made a specialty of ranches 
in Butler and Cowley counties, Kansas, from 1901 to 1908. In 
1907 he began in the automobile business at Winfield as a side 
line, and in 1908 found that the business had grown to such 
proportions that he dropped the real estate business entirely 
and moved to Wichita, where he opened a salesroom, and has 
since conducted business on a larger scale, making a specialty of 
the Cadillac machine, and pushing sales in thirteen counties adja- 
cent to and in the locality of Wichita. Mr. Cowley is a member 
of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He was married 
in 1902 to Miss Grace Dunnebacke, of Lansing, Mich., and of 
this union one child has been born, Christine Louise Cowley. 

Joseph A. Crider, farmer, of Kechi township, Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, was born August 31, 1839, in Preble county, Ohio. 
He is the son of Samuel C. and Catherine (Aringes) Crider. The 
father died in Ohio in 1855 and the mother in 1882. They were 
the parents of eight children, of whom Joseph W. was the 
youngest. The Crider ancestry is traced to Germany. Joseph A. 
Crider acquired his education in the public schools of Ohio, which 
he attended until twenty years old, and lived under the paternal 
roof until he was twenty-three. He was married on March 29, 
1863, in Preble county, to Miss Anna Frantz. Ten children 
have been born of this union, of whom nine are now living. 
They are: Cassius E., born January 2, 1864; Thaddeus R.. single, 
born January 28, 1866 ; Charles A., single, born February 9, 1868 ; 



BIOGRAPHY 753 

Walter T., single, born June 22, 1870; Clarence H., single, born 
November 30, 1872 ; Samuel E., single, born April 21, 1875 ; Mrs. 
Alpha Knebler, born October 17, 1877 ; Jesse F., single, born Sep- 
tember 28, 1882 ; Joseph J., single, born July 29, 1884. Ralph, de- 
ceased, was born June 10, 1888. Mr. Crider, on March 29, 1877, left 
Ohio and came to Kansas, locating first in Kechi township, where 
he lived six years. In 1883 he bought eighty acres of land in 
Section 36, Grant township, which he afterwards sold. He then 
bought 100 acres of land in Section 2, Kechi township, where 
he now resides. He is a Republican in politics and active in the 
interests of his party when it puts good men in nomination for 
office. 

Elwood E. Crossley, a retired farmer of Cheney, Kan., was 
born on June 2, 1859, in Danville, Pa., of English-French ances- 
try. His father came from England to the United States when 
about eight years old and located in Danville, where he lived and 
died. Elwood E. remained under the parental roof until he was 
twenty-one. His first occupation was that of attendant in a hos- 
pital. After this he was a clerk for a short time in the mercan- 
tile business, and in the spring of 1880 he came to Kansas to 
take up his permanent residence. He located at Cheney, which 
at that time was but a small village containing only a few houses 
and before the railroad was built, and worked at painting for a 
living. A short time after his arrival he purchased a farm of 
160 acres and on it made his bachelor quarters for about four 
years. He then returned to Pennsylvania on a visit and while 
there was married to Miss Hester Parsel, an accomplished lady 
born at Waterford, Canada. The marriage took place at the 
village of Buck Horn, on January 12, 1888. No children have 
been born of this union. Mr. Crossley returned to Cheney with 
his wife in 1889 and acquired more land, making in all 320 
acres that he owns. After a residence of over eleven years on 
the farm he engaged in other pursuits. For one year he was in 
the livery business, which he sold out, and then made another 
visit to his old home in Pennsylvania, and to Canada, where his 
wife's relatives resided, coming back to Kansas in 1899. Mr. 
Crossley then engaged in the hardware and implement business, 
purchasing a half interest from D. M. Main. The firm after- 
wards became Northcutt & Crossley, and then Main & Crossley, 
until its dissolution. Mr. Crossley ever since he has resided in 
Cheney has been known as a public spirited citizen who has had 



754 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

much to do with the building up of the town. He has held 
nearly all of the township and some other offices in a satisfac- 
tory manner. He was treasurer of Grand River township for 
one year before he resided in the village of Cheney. He was 
also treasurer of Morton township for four years, and built the 
town hall, and was councilman of Cheney for five years at 
different times. Fraternally Mr. Crossley is a Mason, being a 
member of Morton Lodge, No. 258, A. F. and A. M., and of 
Wichita Consistory, No. 2. He is a member of the Scottish Rite 
bodies and has filled nearly all the chairs in his lodge. Mr. 
Crossley has been successful in all his business undertakings. He 
helped organize, in 1900, a creamery in Cheney which proved to 
be a profitable enterprise. He has taken a great interest in the 
raising of stock and dealt in Norman bred horses and Shorthorn 
Hereford cattle. He has been known to realize from his stock 
in a single year as much as $2,800. He is a large land owner 
at the present time, but likes to recall the vicissitudes that beset 
him for awhile in the attempts to raise stock. He says : ''It just 
appeared at one time that my calves, cattle and chickens would 
take sick and die, and I was almost discouraged." But he 
stuck to his work during times of panic until his luck changed 
and everything he has touched in the way of raising stock since 
has paid him handsomely and made him prosperous. Mr. Crossley 
is a man who has proved his efficiency in everything he has 
undertaken. In politics he is a Democrat of the Grover Cleveland 
type. 

Frank T. Culp, proprietor of the market at No. 239 North 
Main street, Wichita, Kan., was born in Westphalia, Kan., on 
July 17, 1884. His parents were John S. and Margaret (Watts) 
Culp, natives of Pennsylvania and Illinois, respectively, who 
moved to Kansas in 1878. The father was a carpenter by trade, 
and he and his wife are both living. Frank T. Culp was the 
fourth child of a family of six. They are: Blanche, wife of 
Melvin C. Jones, of Wichita; Garnette, wife of G. B. Carrothers, 
of Wichita; William W., in business at the market with his 
brother ; Frank T. ; Linnie, wife of C. C. Haberson, of Wichita, 
and Lucile Culp, of Wichita. Frank T. Culp was educated at 
the public schools of Wichita and variously employed until he 
entered the employ of "Uncle" Joe Stewart in the meat business 
at No. 241 North Main street. Becoming familiar with all the 
details of the business, he purchased the plant, in 1905, at 123 



BIOGRAPHY 755 

South Main street, and continued at the same stand until July, 
1909, when he combined with the one now operated by him and 
which he purchased in February, 1909. The first cold storage 
room in connection with any market, and also the only one in 
"Wichita prior to June, 1910, was with the Gulp market, noAv con- 
ducted by Frank T. Gulp, which enjoys a liberal trade worthy 
of this, one of the leading markets of the city of "Wichita. Mr. 
Culp is a member of the "Wichita Commercial Club. He was 
married in December, 1904, to Miss Josephine Hoover, daughter 
of J. Q. Hoover, of W r ichita. Mr. and Mrs. Culp have one 
child, John, born April 20, 1908. 

Hon. Charles L. Davidson, the first mayor to serve under 
"Wichita's commission form of government, was born in Cuba, 
Allegheny county, New York, November 22, 1859. He is a son of 
S. L. and Susan R. (Hampton) Davidson. The first twelve years 
of his life were spent in his native state. The father, desiring 
to locate in the West, went on a tour of inspection and decided 
on "Wichita as the place to make his future home, the family 
arriving on October 22, 1872. Charles L. attended the "Wichita 
and Lawrence, Kan., schools, and after completing his education, 
entered into business with his father in the S. L. Davidson Mort- 
gage Company. This was the only company in that line of 
business in Wichita which remained intact and weathered the 
storm after the boom. This company is still in existence, the 
pioneer in its line. 

Mr. Davidson has served in many official capacities in city 
and state. For five years he was president of the park board and 
three years president of the Chamber of Commerce. It was while 
serving in this capacity in 1904 that he called a meeting in 
"Wichita and the "Square Deal" movement was inaugurated, 
which has spread until the entire nation feels its influence. 

Mr. Davidson was councilman during the time that both Ross 
and McClain filled the office of mayor. In 1906 he was elected 
to the state legislature. One of the bills which he introduced 
and which became a law was the new tax law, which called for a 
revaluation of all property throughout the state, in this way 
readjusting and equalizing the tax levy under the new valuation. 
He was the author of this bill, and it is known as the "Davidson 
law." 

In 1909, when Wichita adopted the commission form of govern- 
ment, he was selected to fill the position of mayor. The wisdom 



756 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

of the people in selecting a business man for this position is shown 
in the results attained. When Mr. Davidson took his place as 
mayor he found the treasury empty and a deficiency of over 
$300,000. These debts have all been paid, and on January 1, 
1911, there will be a balance in the treasury. The public improve- 
ments have been on a scale scarcely dreamed of by the residents 
of Wichita. The New Forum is being built at a cost of $200,000, 
with a seating capacity of 6,000. The dam on Little river has 
been built at a cost of $30,000. Forty-six miles of streets have 
been paved. More than 100 miles of sewers are being built, and 
thirty miles of water mains have been laid. The city has voted 
bonds and the land has been bought on which to build the new 
city workhouse and jail. 

Mr. Davidson has arranged a uniform city plan under which 
all future improvements will be promoted. He has arranged 
with the different railroads entering the city for the elevating 
of their tracks and the building of a union depot for the accom- 
motion of the public. 

While Mr. Davidson has spent a very busy life so far as busi- 
ness is concerned, he has not neglected the social part. He is a 
thirty-second degree Mason and is active in the co-ordinate 
bodies of the Scottish Rite. He is also a member of the Chamber 
of Commerce and the Commercial Club. He is an ardent autoist, 
a good fisherman and has spent weeks at a time hunting big 
game in the mountains of Colorado. In addition to this, he is 
one of the leading members of St. Paul's Methodist church, a 
liberal contributor to the same, and for twenty-five years the 
superintendent of its Sunday school. Organized League of 
Kansas Municipalities, of which he is serving his second term as 
president. Vice-president of League of American Municipalities. 

John A. Davidson, Civil War veteran, of Valley Center, Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, was born December 10, 1843, in Logan 
county, Illinois. His parents were John B. and Anna (Simpson) 
Davidson, both natives of Scotland. John B. Davidson, the 
father of John A., was one of a family of twenty-one children, 
and came to the United States and located at Newburyport, R. I., 
where he remained up to the time of his removal to Logan county, 
Illinois, in 1840. He was a farmer, and this trade he followed 
up to the time of his death, on January 18, 1881, in Logan 
county, Illinois. His widow died in 1901. John A. Davidson 
received his education in the public schools of Illinois, and sub- 



BIOGRAPHY 757 

sequently attended an academy at Wheeling, Va., for four years. 
He enlisted as a private in Company F, One Hundred and Sixth 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry. After the regiment was equipped 
at Lincoln, 111., it was sent South and placed in the Army of the 
Mississippi, and in West Tennessee was engaged in several im- 
portant battles. It fought at Jackson, Tenn., Porters Cross 
Roads, and then was sent to Vicksburg, Miss., where it was kept 
busy digging rifle pits and throwing up earthworks to protect 
itself from the enemy's shot, being in close quarters. The regi- 
ment was then assigned to the Sixteenth Army Corps and General 
Grant sent it up the Yazoo river. Afterwards the regiment 
operated in the Mississippi campaign, and also at Little Rock, 
Hot Springs and Benton, Ark. Often it was engaged in chasing 
General Shelby's Confederate troops. After this the regiment 
was under Gen. Powell Clayton up to July, 1865, when it was 
discharged at Springfield, 111. Mr. Davidson has held many hon- 
orary positions in the G. A. R. He was appointed assistant dep- 
uty commander in January, 1910. He is now past commander 
of E. E. Warner Post, No. 335, Valley Center, Kan. Mr. Davidr 
son located in Sedgwick county in 1882, and has filled various 
business positions up to the present time. His residence has been 
in Valley Center since 1885. He was elected mayor in 1898 and 
1899. He was also a justice of the peace one term and has been 
the police judge of Valley Center for seven years. Fraternally, 
Mr. Davidson is a member of the Masonic order, Valley Center 
Lodge, No. 364; of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Valley Center Lodge, No. 223, of which he is now past grand, 
and also of the Rebeccas and Eastern Star. In politics he is a 
Democrat with independent inclinations. 

J. Oak Davidson, one of the most prominent citizens, of 
Wichita, Kan., was born in Cuba, N. Y., on March 4, 1850. His 
parents were S. L. and Susan (Roda) Davidson. The father of 
J. Oak Davidson was a man of some wealth and was able to give 
his son the advantage of a good education. In 1872 the parents 
moved from New York to Wichita, Kan., where the father em- 
barked in the real estate and loan business. In 1880 the firm of 
S. L. Davidson & Co. was organized, the son, J. Oak Davidson, 
being the company. In 1883 J. Oak Davidson organized the 
Davidson Loan Company, with a paid up capital stock of $100,000. 
About this time Mr. Davidson bought the northwest corner of 
Main street and Douglas avenue and organized the Citizens State 



758 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Bank, of which he was elected president. The bank erected 
the building now occupied by the Kansas National Bank. The 
Citizens bank occupied the building until 1896, when the institu- 
tion was liquidated and Mr. Davidson bought a controlling 
interest in the Kansas National Bank, moving it into its present 
quarters. At the same time Mr. Davidson became president and 
a director of the latter-named bank. In 1902 Mr. Davidson sold 
his holdings in the bank and retired from its directorate. While 
in the Citizens bank, in 1886, Mr. Davidson conceived the idea 
of opening an addition on the west side of the river, and bought 
about 500 acres. To reach this property he built a bridge across 
the river at Oak street. Mr. Davidson has always been a lover 
of horses, and on this property he built a half-mile track. The 
balance he subdivided into lots and many of the best residences 
in the city have been built on this property. In 1887 Mr. David- 
son built the residence now occupied by Tipton Cox. In 1885 
Mr. Davidson and others organized the Riverside & Suburban 
Street Railway Company, building the first standard guage in 
Wichita. This road ran from Douglas avenue north on Market 
street to Pine, and west to the race track and Riverside. It was 
later extended two and a half miles north to the Alamo addition. 
During this same year (1886) Mr. Davidson negotiated with an 
electrical company in St. Louis to electrify the road, but the 
work was so crude that it resulted in failure. In January, 1887, 
Mr. Davidson went to New York and engaged the Thompson- 
Houston Company to equip two and a half miles of the road. 
This was the first successfully operated electric street railway in 
the United States. In 1887 Mr. Davidson added to his street rail- 
way holdings by purchasing the road running to Fairmount and 
also to the Burton Car Works, making fifteen miles of electric 
street railroad he owned. In 1890 he effected the consolidation of 
the three systems in operation in Wichita, rebuilding the narrow 
guage, making it standard, and operating the entire system by 
electricity. These holdings were taken over by the Wichita 
Electric Railway Company, of which Mr. Davidson was president. 
He held this position until 1893, when he retired from the com- 
pany. The same year he went to Coffeyville, Kan., and purchased 
oil and gas leases, accumulating 33,000 acres. The next five 
years of Mr. Davidson's life were spent in Chicago, where he 
organized a company to handle his gas leases in Kansas and 
induced the Wichita Natural Gas Company to lay its pipes to 



BIOGRAPHY 759 

the field at a cost of $4,000,000, in this way supplying Wichita 
with plenty of cheap gas. The company also piped to Newton 
and Hutchison. Mr. Davidson bought the holdings of the Arti- 
ficial Gas and Electric Company of Wichita and relaid all the 
mains and rebuilt the electric plant, Mr. Davidson being the presi- 
dent of this company. In 1909 the company sold its gas and 
electric holdings in Wichita to an eastern syndicate. When the 
Burton Stock Car Company was ^coking for a location to build 
its shops Mr. Davidson induced it to locate on land about four 
miles north of Wichita by giving the company seventy acres of 
land and agreeing to be responsible for a bonus of $200,000. The 
Board of Trade and people of Wichita assumed $50,000 of this 
and substantially paid that amount. The balance was paid by 
Mr. Davidson. At one time the car company employed between 
500 and 600 workmen, and had a little city of 250 homes. On 
account of the inconvenience of returning cars for repair, the 
company moved its shops to Chicago. Mr. Davidson was a stock- 
holder and director in the car company. He is also president 
of the Hutchinson Gas and Fuel Company, which supplies Newton 
and Hutchinson with gas. Mr. Davidson was married in 1876 
to Miss Ida F. Fitch, a daughter of Joseph P. Fitch and Frances 
E. (Guyer) Fitch, of Eldora, Kan. Of this union one son, Frank 
O. Davidson, was born in 1877. The latter was married to Miss 
Elsie Bell, of Chicago, and lives in Wichita, where he is engaged 
in the insurance business. Mr. Davidson's wife died in 1883, and 
in 1887 he was married to Miss Bessie Carver, of Jacksonville, 111., 
by whom he has had two children — Oakley, attending a young 
ladies' school in the East, and a son, James Ogden, attending the 
public schools in Wichita. Fraternally, Mr. Davidson is a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order, being a member of the Wichita lodge 
and the Wichita consistory. He lives in a beautiful home at No. 
935 North Lawrence street. 

David Davis,* one of the early settlers of Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, is a native of Indiana, where he was born in Jackson 
county on July 14, 1848. His parents were James and Nancy C. 
(Cummings), both natives of Indiana. The elder Davis was a 
farmer and spent his life in Jackson county. He and his wife 
were the parents of five children, viz. : Mrs. Margaret Ball, of 
Oklahoma ; Drury, who died while in the army during the Civil 
War ; David, of Ninneseah township, Kansas ; James H., of Jackson 
county, Indiana, and Mrs. Sarah C. Nolte, of Oklahoma. The 



760 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

father of David Davis died when the latter was about ten years 
old, and the latter at that tender age commenced work for his 
living. He remained in Indiana until January, 1876, when he 
came to Sedgwick county, and preempted 160 acres of land in 
Section 32, Ninnescah township. He has since added to this until 
he now owns 240 acres. In December, 1871, Mr. Davis, was 
married to Miss Hannah Finley, who was born in Indiana. They 
have seven children, viz. : E% Mrs. Eva Chapter, of Missouri ; 
William, of Ninnescah township ; Lawrence, of Montana ; James 
Andrew, of Sumner county, Kansas; Otto, of Kansas City, and 
Jesse, of Milan, Kan. Mrs. Davis is deceased. Mr. Davis has 
conducted general farming and stock raising on his place. Fra- 
ternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
Politically, he votes for the best man in local affairs, but is a 
Democrat in national affairs. He is a member of the Baptist 
church. 

John D. Davis, attorney at law, with offices at No. 209 North 
Main street, Wichita, Kan., is a native of Pennsylvania. He was 
born at Minersville on July 25, 1857, and was reared at Ashland, 
Pa. His father was David Davis, a coal miner, who was killed 
in a mine accident in the anthracite coal fields in 1869. His 
mother was Ann Williams, both the parents being natives of 
Wales. Mr. Davis' mother is also dead. He entered the State 
Normal School at Bloomburg, Pa., and took a course at the Lock 
Haven (Pa.) State Normal, from which he was graduated in the 
class of 1880. He then took a two years' course at Hopkins Pre- 
paratory, New Haven, Conn. He studied law and was admitted 
to practice in the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania in April, 1885, 
and in May of the same year came to Wichita and began practice, 
and has since been a strong and worthy member of the Sedgwick 
county bar. Mr. Davis has practiced alone with the exception 
of seven years, when he was associated with Judge Dyer. He 
served as county attorney during the years 1895 and 1897. Mr. 
Davis is a member of the Sedgwick County Bar Association; of 
the Masonic order, and has been loyal and done faithfully his 
part in the promoting of all matters pertaining to the welfare of 
Wichita. He was married in 1885 to Miss M. Alice Hain, of 
Reading, Pa. From this union two children have been born — 
Winnifred, a graduate of Fairmount College, and now a teacher 
in the city schools of Wichita, and Grace. 



BIOGBAPHY 761 

William E. Davis, general merchant, of "Wichita, Kan., is a 
native of Edgar county, Illinois, where he was born on December 
6, 1864. He is a son of William and Lydia (Gossett) Davis, 
natives of southern Ohio, who, after their marriage, removed, 
in 1864, to Edgar county, Illinois, and engaged in farming. In 
1865 the parents removed to Champaign county, Illinois, and 
remained there until February, 1877, when they moved to Kansas, 
locating on a farm in Valley Center township, Sedgwick county, 
where they resided until January, 1893, when they removed 
to Montreal, Mo. In 1898 they moved to Wichita, where they 
have since resided. Mr. Davis, Sr., is retired. He has been 
active in politics. William E. Davis is the fourth child of a 
family of six, four of whom are living. He was educated in 
the public schools of Sedgwick county, remaining on the home 
farm until he was twenty-one. He taught six terms in the pub- 
lic schools of Sedgwick county, and engaged in farming in 
Valley Center and Waco townships, Sedgwick county. In De- 
cember, 1891, he moved to Wichita, where he has since resided. 
He first attended the Southwestern Business College and after- 
ward began clerking "in a general store, August 1, 1893, and 
continued until August 7, 1907, when he organized his present 
store, general merchandise, on the west side, which he has since 
conducted successfully at No. 1005 West Douglas avenue. Mr. 
Davis is a member of the West Side Commercial League. Fra- 
ternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Encampment Modern Woodmen of America, and the Rebekas. 
March 20, 1889, Mr. Davis was married to Miss Mary C. Sweney, 
daughter of Samuel and Margaret (Garrison) Sweney, of Sedg- 
wick county. Four children have been born of this union, viz. : 
Lawrence L., Ethel N., Warren M. and Glenn H. 

John A. Davison, president of the Commercial Bank of 
Wichita (Kan.), is a native of Iowa, where he was born, at 
Wappelo, on September 18, 1850. He is a son of Mark and 
Eliza (Linton) Davison, his father being a native of England 
and his mother of Pennsylvania. His parents went to Iowa in 
the '40s, where the elder Davison was engaged in the mer- 
chandising and banking business for nearly half a century. 
John A. Davison was educated in the public schools of his native 
town, after leaving which he attended the Wesleyan University, 
of Mt. Pleasant, la., graduating in the class of 1873. He first 
began commercial life in the retail lumber business and later 



762 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

went to Texas, where he engaged in railroad contracting. It was 
in 1887 that he came to "Wichita and became interested in the 
old West Side National Bank, continuing with the bank until 
the change came in 1890, when he secured the fixtures and 
opened the West Side Bank in the same room. This he con- 
tinued as a private bank until 1895, when he removed the bank 
to No. 145 North Main street, and renamed the institution the 
Commercial Bank, under which name it has since continued 
business successfully, with Mr. Davison as president. He pur- 
chased the building occupied by the bank in 1895. This is one 
of the six private banks doing business in the state of Kansas. 
Mr. Davison was married in 1875 to Miss Blanche L. Myers, 
daughter of S. D. Myers, of Burlington, la. Of this union two 
children have been born, E. L. and G. M. Davison. 

Alvin A. Dewey, general merchant, of Cheney, Kan., is a na- 
tive of Illinois, where he was born, in Adams county, on May 6, 
1856. His parents were L. D. and Amanda (Fletcher) Dewey, 
natives of New York and of Ohio, respectively. The remote 
ancestors on the paternal side were French and on the maternal 
side German. The father of Alvin A. moved from New York to 
Clermont county, Ohio. He was a miller boy by occupation and 
this industry he followed for a number of years. He was the 
father of seven children, four of whom are living, viz. : William 
F., Jesse B., Alvin A. and James Arthur. Alvin A. was the 
third child born. The elder Dewey moved with his family from 
Ohio to Adams county, Illinois, where he engaged in farming 
and milling. After a residence of several years there, in 1884 
the family moved to Cheney, Kan., where the father engaged 
in the mercantile business, under the firm name of L. D. Dewey & 
Son. Mr. Dewey, Sr., died in 1892; his widow is still living, in 
good health. Alvin A. Dewey obtained his early education in 
the public and high schools of his native state, and then took a 
business course in the Gem City Business College, of Quincy, 111., 
graduating from that institution when he was just twenty-one 
years old. He had learned the milling business in Illinois, which 
he followed until the firm of L. D. Dewey & Son began the mer- 
cantile business. Before the death of his father he bought the 
latter 's interest in the store and continued the business alone 
for about three years, when he sold out and purchased the flour 
mill in Cheney in partnership with J. B. Miller, which partner- 
ship continued for five years, when Mr. Miller bought the interest 



BIOGRAPHY 763 

of Mr. Dewey. In 1899 Mr. Dewey entered the mercantile busi- 
ness again under his own name, and in 1907 his store and con- 
tents were destroyed by fire with a net loss of $9,000. Mr. Dewey 
rebuilt and took in as a partner C. J. Hessel, and the firm is now 
Dewey & Hessel, which is doing an extensive merchandise busi- 
ness, having the largest general store in Cheney. Mr. Dewey is 
a Mason, being a member of Morton Lodge, No. 258, A. F. and 
A. M., and is also a member of Wichita Consistory, No. 2. He has 
filled all the chairs of the Blue Lodge. He is also a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modern Wood- 
men of America. Mr. Dewey and his wife are also members 
of the Christian church of Cheney. Mr. Dewey was a member of 
the city council of Cheney for one year and a member of the 
school board for three years. He is a public spirited citizen and 
intensely proud of his town and county. He was married on 
February 21, 1882, to Miss Eva C. Bagly, daughter of George 
Bagly, at Kirkville, Mo. One child, a daughter, Alta N., has 
been born of this union, who is married to C. J. Hessel, Mr. 
Dewey's partner. They have two children, a boy and a girl. 
Politically Mr. Dewey is known as a Jeffersonian Democrat. 

Jeremiah W. Dice is one of the enterprising business men of 
Wichita, Kan. He is a native of Franklin county, Pennsylvania, 
and was born in 1877, to Benjamin F. and Susan (Wineman) 
Dice, the latter of whom died in 1883. The father moved to 
Dickinson county, Kansas, in 1884, and engaged in farming two 
years, after which he entered the ministry of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, and at the present time — 1910 — has charge of a 
church at Alma, Kan. Our subject acquired a good prelimi- 
nary education, attending various schools, and in 1898 was gradu- 
ated from Baker University, at Baldwin, Kan. After leaving 
school he entered the employ of the Fourth National Bank of 
Wichita as a bookkeeper. He occupied various positions in the 
bank ten years, and in 1908 resigned as discount clerk to accept 
his present office as cashier of the Merchants' State Bank, located 
at the corner of Douglas and Emporia avenues, Wichita. Mr. 
Dice is recognized as a man of high business and social standing 
and is an active member and steward of St. Paul's Methodist 
Episcopal church. In 1904 he married Miss Maybelle P. Hall, 
daughter of R. W. Hall, one of the early bankers at Sedgwick, 
Kan. Mr. and Mrs. Dice have two children, named, respectively, 



764 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Robert and Marsden, and have a beautiful home at No. 1035 
North Emporia avenue, Wichita. 

John E. Diehl, of Waco, Sedgwick county, Kansas, is not only 
its leading merchant but has taken a prominent part in the 
affairs of the town. Mr. Diehl was born in Oakland county, 
Michigan, on July 21, 1864. His parents were Adam and Char- 
lotte (Openo) Diehl. His father was born in Germany, August 
5, 1827, while his mother was born under the British flag, on 
the ocean, while her parents were coming to this country, in 
1829. The elder Diehl came to America when seventeen years 
old and settled in Ohio. The Openo family went to Illinois and 
settled at Fort Dearborn, where Chicago is now located. They 
remained at Fort Dearborn but a short time, going from there 
to Detroit, Mich., and from there to Sandusky, 0. The family 
remained at Sandusky until 1849, when they moved to Oakland 
county, Michigan, where Joseph E. Openo, the head of the 
family, was the first bona fide settler to negotiate for the pur- 
chase of his land from the Indians. Settlers were few and far 
between in those days, and it was necessary for the family to 
pack all its supplies from Detroit, thirty-six miles away. Mr. 
Openo lived there the remainder of his life, as did his wife. 
In Sandusky, 0., in 1849, Adam Diehl married Charlotte Openo, 
moving with her parents to Oakland county. While living in 
Sandusky Mrs. Diehl taught school for two years, and after 
going to Oakland county taught for a number of years. Mr. 
Diehl bought 240 acres of land in Oakland county, where his 
family of eight children were born and raised. These children 
are Mrs. Frank Chase; Mrs. J. G. Hurlbutt, wife of a Methodist 
Episcopal minister ; Mrs. William Lott, of Eaton Rapids, Mich. ; 
Charles P., of Milford, Mich. ; John E., of Salem township, Kan- 
sas; Rev. W. W. Diehl, a Methodist Episcopal minister, now 
located at Sterling, 111. ; Mrs. S. L. Holmes, of Grand Rapids, 
Mich., and Miss C. M. Diehl, of Chicago, 111. The mother of this 
family died May 7, 1891, the father April 26, 1907. John E. 
Diehl remained at home until twenty-one years old, when he 
moved to Finney county, Kansas, and preempted 160 acres of 
land, and where he lived three years. During this time he served 
one year as county surveyor, and in that capacity surveyed Gar- 
field county and took the vote which established the county 
seat. In 1888 he sold his claim and came to Waco, Salem town- 
ship, Kansas. After moving to Waco, Mr. Diehl worked on the 



BIOGRAPHY 765 

farm one summer and then was employed in the flouring mill 
in the town for a year. He was then engaged by the Union Co- 
operative Association to manage the general store at Waco, which 
he did for four years, after which he bought the business, and 
still conducts it. He was postmaster at Waco for sixteen years 
and has been justice of the peace for six years. Mr. Diehl has 
been twice married, the first time in 1892, to Miss Cora E. 
Kriebel, of Waterloo, la., a daughter of George D. and Susan 
Kriebel, who came to Sedgwick county when their daughter was 
about two years old. Three children were born of this union : 
Paul A., Oscar J. and Clifford K. Mrs. Diehl died May 7, 1899, 
and August 26, 1901, Mr. Diehl married Miss Emma Kriebel, a 
sister of his first wife. Mr. Diehl is a member of the Presby- 
terian Church, and the only fraternal order to which he belongs 
is that of the Modern Woodmen. In politics he has always 
been a Republican. 

Dr. William E. Dixon, one of the well-known physicians of 
Sedgwick county, Kansas, is a native of the Empire state, where he 
was born at Hemlock Lake on June 23, 1860. His parents were 
Adam and Ann (Lightfoot) Dixon, both natives of the north of 
England. The father of William E. was born in 1822 and his 
mother in 1826. They were married in England and then came 
to the United States and settled in New York, where the mother 
died in 1866. There were six children born of this marriage, 
three of whom are Irving, viz.: J. K., John L., and Dr. William 
E. By a second marriage, there was one son, Robert V. William 
E. Dixon received his medical education in the Omaha Medical 
college, graduating in the class of 1892. He practiced at Mead, 
Saunders county, Nebraska, until 1894, when he came to Derby, 
Sedgwick county, where he is still in practice. On December 5, 
1888, Mr. Dixon was married to Miss Catherine Morton, who was 
born in Michigan on August 21, 1869, a daughter of Max and 
Fannie (Sprague) Morton. Dr. and Mrs. Dixon have three 
daughters, viz.: Maud M., born April 10, 1893; Mary M., born 
March 26, 1895, and Madge, born January 23, 1898. Dr. Dixon 
is a member of the Nebraska State Medical Society. Fraternally 
he is a member of Mulvane Lodge, No. 201, A. F. and A. M., and 
Consistory, No. 2. He is a Republican in politics and a member 
of the Presbyterian church. 

Fred W. Dold, manager of the Jacob Dold Packing Company, 
of Wichita, Kan., is a native of the Empire State, having been 



766 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

born at Buffalo, N. Y., on December 14, 1872. He is a son of the 
late Jacob Dold. Fred W. Dold is the manager of one of 
Wichita's largest business interests. He received his educational 
training in the Buffalo public schools, and, under his father's 
supervision, began early in life to devote himself to business 
pursuits. Entering his father's concern, the Jacob Dold Packing 
Company, he served in every department, from the lowest up. 
At the age of twenty-one he became a stockholder, and October 
1, 1899, was elected manager of the Wichita branch of the 
Buffalo house. This extensive business enterprise was conceived 
and carried into execution by Jacob Dold, the elder. Beginning 
when a poor boy, trading in cattle, selling both beef and hides, 
in 1888 he founded the stock company which bears his name. 
In the same year a branch was established at Kansas City, and 
the Wichita house was also founded, being now among the most 
substantial in the country. In 1900 the last frame building was 
replaced by more substantial structures of brick and stone. A 
more extended mention of the plant is given in the historical 
portion of this work. Fred W. Dold, the manager, has a high 
reputation for business ability, and is an important factor in the 
business life of Wichita. The officers of the company are as 
follows : Jacob C. Dold, president ; Fred W. Dold, vice-president ; 
Edward F. Dold, second vice-president and treasurer; Charles H. 
Dold, third vice-president; Philip B. Dold, secretary — Fred W. 
Dold being manager of the Wichita branch. Jacob Dold died 
in October, 1909. After the death of George P. Dold, Fred W. 
came to Wichita and took charge of the plant. Mr. Dold is a 
thirty-second degree Mason and a Knight Templar. He is also 
a member of the Commercial Club, the Riverside Club, and tho 
Country Club. He was married in 1901 to Miss Lena Cox, daugh- 
ter of Hon. L. M. Cox, who was mayor of Wichita. Of this 
union two children have been born, Frederick L. and Richard C. 
Dold. 

Richard N. Dorr, proprietor of the Baseball Headquarters, 
Wichita, Kan., is a native of Kentucky, having been born at 
Marion, in the Blue Grass State, on June 29, 1874. His parents 
were R. B. and Sallie K. (Stewart) Dorr, natives of Kentucky, 
who moved to Kansas in 1898 and later removed to California. 
The elder Dorr died December 29, 1909, at the age of sixty-four. 
Richard N. Dorr was educated at the public schools of Marion 
and first began work in the service of the Ohio Valley Railway 



BIOGRAPHY 767 

Company in the passenger department. He moved to Kansas and 
entered the traffic department of the Missouri Pacific railway, 
and in an accident, March 8, 1904, lost both legs. Mr. Dorr was 
elected city clerk of Wichita in 1905, a position which he filled 
with credit for four years. He purchased his present business, 
known as the Baseball Headquarters, at No. 127 South Main 
street, of Holland & Isbell, in January, 1910. Fraternally Mr. 
Dorr is a member of the Masonic order, in which he is a member 
of the Consistory and Shrine, of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and was made a life member of Lodge No. 427, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, in August, 1906. Mr. Dorr 
was married on November 18, 1895, to Miss Jessie Degraffenreid, 
a native of Kentucky. Of this union six children have been 
born, viz. : Fayellena R., Wilson E., Elizabeth, Mary Ann, Richard 
N., Jr., and Rodgers B. 

Shelby P. Duncan, attorney, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of 
Kentucky, where he was born in Fayette county on March 2, 
1856. His parents were Harvey and Mary (Bowden) Duncan, 
natives of Kentucky, where they resided until the Civil War 
broke out, when they removed to Evansville, Ind., where the 
father died. Mrs. Duncan died at Evansville, Ind. She was a 
sister of the late Judge Bowden, of the Supreme Court of 
Kentucky. Shelby P. Duncan was educated at the Canton (111.) 
High School and at the Peru (Neb.) Normal School. He taught 
in the public schools of Illinois, Iowa and Missouri, and read 
law while teaching and afterwards in the office of his uncle, 
the late Judge James H. Bowden, of Kentucky. He was later 
law clerk to George Gillhan, in Memphis, Tenn., having been 
admitted to the Russell ville (Ky.) bar in 1875 and in Tennessee 
in 1876. Mr. Duncan opened an office at Fairview, Fulton county, 
Illinois, in connection with Charles H. Robinson, and there 
practiced law until 1884, when he moved to Kansas, locating in 
the village of Nescatunga, Comanche county, which was at that 
time a rival county seat. In 1888 Mr. Duncan removed to Cold- 
water in the same county, where he was prominent, holding sev- 
eral public offices. He was honored with the office of United 
States commissioner, police judge, justice of the peace, probate 
judge and county attorney. He was also a member of the 
Republican Congressional Committee. May 31, 1898, Mr. Duncan 
moved to Wichita, and after a time again took up the practice 
of law, which he has since continued. He was married in 1881 



768 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

to Miss Kunegunda Kuehn, of Fulton county, Illinois. Two 
children have been born of this union, Nellie B. and Flora K. 
Fraternally Mr. Duncan is a member of the Knights of Pythias. 

Henry I. Ellis, president of the Ellis Construction Company, 
of Wichita, claims the Empire State as his native domain, having 
been born at Buffalo, N. Y., on May 13, 1875. His parents were 
Gottlieb and Mary (Burger) Ellis, the father being a native of 
France and the mother claiming Germany as the land of her 
birth. Young Ellis was educated at the public schools of Buffalo, 
and at the age of fifteen began to learn the carpenter's trade, 
for which he had displayed an early aptitude. After having 
served his apprenticeship he followed the trade for seven years, 
but in 1905 the call of the West appealed to him and he came to 
Wichita. Here he entered the employ of the Wurster Construc- 
tion Company, and was superintendent of this company until 
July, 1909, when he organized the H. I. Ellis Construction Com- 
pany. Since that time, among other notable works that the 
company has undertaken, has been the erection of the Michigan 
building, the Huber building, the Giwosky building, the Grace 
Presbyterian church and other buildings. Mr. Ellis also had 
charge of the construction and erection of the Boston Store 
building, the Murdoch building, the Young Men's Christian 
Association building and the Western Biscuit building. In the 
fraternal orders Mr. Ellis belongs to the Knights of Columbus. 
He was married in 1904 to Miss Kate Reilly, of St. Louis, Mo., and 
from this union there has been issue one child, Mary U. 

Elmer F. Emery, railroad man, of Mulvane, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was born in Sangamon county, Illinois, on July 3, 1855. 
He was a son of Thomas F. and Mary (Plymell) Emery, both 
natives of Ohio, where the father was born July 10, 1814, and the 
mother May 13, 1817. Mr. Emery's parents were married in 
Illinois in 1839 and resided there until 1871, when they traveled 
overland by wagon from Decatur, 111., to Wichita, Kan., arriving 
at the latter place in February, 1871. (The elder Emery pre- 
empted 160 acres of land in Rockford township, Section 28, where 
he lived until 1882, when he sold his farm and moved to Mulvane 
to live with his son Elmer F., his wife having died on January 18, 
1889. Mr. Emery, Sr., died March 9, 1893.) Elmer F. Emery 
came with his father to Kansas in 1871 and worked on the farm 
until 1874, when his railroad career began. He went to Colorado 
with the Denver & Rio Grande railroad as station agent at Wal- 



BIOGRAPHY 769 

senburg, and remained there until 1878, when he was transferred 
to Mulvane, where he opened a station September 15, 1879. His 
first office was in a box car, and in this the business of the road 
was handled for a short time until its first station was completed, 
a structure which is now used as a freight station. Mr. Emery's 
office was in that building until 1909, when the railroad built its 
present station. Mr. Emery has held his position in Mulvane 
thirty-one years. He was married August 14, 1881, to Miss 
Fannie G. Parker, who was born in Chicago February 11, 1858, a 
daughter of Cale H. and Mary Parker. Mr. and Mrs. Emery 
have two children — Elizabeth M., born May 29, 1882, and Norma 
H., born June 8, 1889. The eldest daughter is a teacher in the 
Mulvane High School. Mr. Emery served as the first clerk of 
Mulvane when it was incorporated. Fraternally he is a member 
of the Masonic order, Mulvane Lodge, No. 201, A. F. and A. M., 
of which he is past master ; Wichita Chapter, No. 33, R. A. M. ; 
Mount Olivet Commandery, No. 12, and Wichita Council, No. 12. 
He is also a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. 
Emery is a Republican in politics. 

Josiah D. Emerick, of Wichita, Kan., was born in Fulton 
county, Ohio, on September 16, 1846. His parents were James P. 
and Mary A. (Humphrey) Emerick, both natives of New York 
state. One the paternal side the ancestry of the family is traced 
to Germany. On the maternal side one of the ancestors came 
over in the Mayflower, while the mother's grandfather's father 
served in the Revolutionary War. Josiah D. Emerick served as a 
soldier in the Civil War. He enlisted in 1863 in Company K, 
Thirty-eighth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and received a wound 
in the battle of Entory Creek from which he has never entirely 
recovered. After his discharge he returned to his home in Fulton 
county, Ohio, and in 1870 he came to Kansas and located in 
Wichita. After a short residence there he homesteaded 160 acres 
of land in what is now Section 10, Kechi township, which he 
afterward sold and bought 160 acres in Section 5 of the same 
township, which he now owns and has added forty acres to, all in 
Section 5. Mr. Emerick was married on March 14, 1878, to Miss 
Elizabeth E. Johnson, in Sedgwick county, Kansas. Four children 
have been born of this union, viz. : J. Horner, born September 
17, 1880 ; Robert G., born November 27, 1884 ; Eliza M., born July 
14, 1888, and Edson H., born June 27, 1894. Mr. Emerick is a 
member of the G. A. R., of the Masonic order, Valley Center 



770 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Lodge, No. 364, and Consistory No. 2, Wichita. In politics he is 
a Republican and active in the interests of his party. He has 
served three years as a trustee of Kechi township and has held 
other minor township offices. 

Elmer Ellsworth Enoch, a leading member of the bar of 
Wichita, Kan., is a native of the Buckeye State, he having been 
born at Morristown, Belmont county, Ohio, on February 10, 1864. 
His early education was obtained in the public schools of the 
state, and at Franklin College, Ohio, from which he was gradu- 
ated in the class of 1885 with the degree of bachelor of arts. 
After leaving college Mr. Enoch began the study of law at St. 
Clairsville, Ohio, and was admitted to the bar of the state in 
1888. In the same year he removed to Wichita, Kan., with whose 
interests he has ever since been prominently identified, and began 
the practice of his profession. His abilities won early recogni- 
tion, and he soon built up a lucrative practice. His first political 
office was as clerk in the probate court of Wichita, in which 
capacity he served during the years 1895-97-1901-04. He was 
elected to the office of justice of the peace and served in that 
position during the years 1897-99, inclusive. In 1903 Mr. Enoch 
was elected probate judge of Sedgwick county, of which Wichita 
is the county seat, and served on the bench during the years 
1904-07, inclusive. After retiring from the bench Mr. Enoch 
again resumed the practice of law, which he has continued to the 
present time. Mr. Enoch was married in 1888 to Miss Ella 
Douglas West, a daughter of the late State Senator Henry West, 
of Ohio. From this union five children have been born. They 
are: Edith, who married J. L. Fox, of Joplin, Mo., where she 
now lives ; Mary, Henry S., Alfred W. and Elmer Ellsworth, Jr. 
George W. Ernest, superintendent and manager of the Wichita 
Hydraulic Stone and Brick Company, was born at Whiting, Kan., 
on December 21, 1881. His parents were John J. and Alice M. 
(Smith) Ernest, natives of Altoona, Pa., who came to Kansas 
in 1879, locating in Jackson county, where the elder Ernest was 
engaged in contracting and building. Mr. Ernest died in 1906 
at the age of forty-nine. George W. Ernest acquired his educa- 
tion in the public schools of Whiting and the Atchison Business 
College. His first employment was as telegraph operator and 
agent for the Rock Island railroad at Hoyt, Kan., and afterwards 
as baggageman for the same road at McFarland. This was 
followed by five years in the position of yardmaster, when he 



BIOGRAPHY 771 

became assistant yardmaster at Topeka, later going to the Santa 
Fe in the capacity of passenger rate clerk in the general offices 
of the company. Mr. Ernest came to Wichita in 1909, and in 
December of that year became interested in the Wichita Hydrau- 
lic Stone and Brick Company as a stockholder, succeeding to the 
business management of the concern, which is incorporated with 
a capital stock of $10,000. The officers of the company are as 
follows : President, F. C. Dymock ; secretary, W. L. Brown ; 
treasurer, J. W. Craig; superintendent and manager, George W. 
Ernest. The yearly output of the company amounts to $75,000 
and it gives employment to twenty hands. The output of the 
company is about equally divided between the city and shipping 
trade. The plant was first organized in 1905. Mr. Ernest is a 
member of the Masonic order, the Knights of Pythias and the 
Fraternal Aid. He was married in 1904 to Miss Bess Deck, 
daughter of John and Mary Deck, of Cricksville, Kan. 

Josiah F. Fager, farmer, of Waco township, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was born in Ogle county, Illinois, on April 26, 1849. His 
parents were Conrad and Mary (Myers) Fager. The father was 
born in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, and the mother 
in Washington county, Maryland. The parents were married in 
Ogle county, Illinois, where they both spent the balance of their 
lives. Josiah F. Fager remained in Ogle county until 1871, when 
he moved to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and pre-empted 160 acres 
of land in Ohio township. He lived for two years in Wichita, 
when he sold his claim in Ohio township, and in 1875, in partner- 
ship with W. W. Hays, built a flour mill, the second built in the 
county, at what is now Haysville. The first postoffice at Hays- 
ville was established in 1876 and was kept in the mill. Mr. Hays 
was postmaster and Mr. Fager was deputy. Mr. Fager was 
interested in and worked in the mill until 1883. when he sold his 
interest and moved on his present farm, having bought 160 acres 
in 1880. He now has 220 acres. On this place he has an orchard 
of 100 acres in apple and pear trees. Aside from the Hoover 
orchard Mr. Fager has one of the largest in the county. On 
December 25, 1877, Mr. Fager married Miss Antonia Shaw, who 
was born in Shelby county, Illinois. Mrs. Fager is a daughter 
of Caleb and Mary A. Shaw. Her father came to Sedgwick 
county in 1876. Mr. and Mrs. Fager have one son, Clinton C, 
born January 6, 1879, who lives on the home place. Fraternally, 
Mr. Fager is a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen. 



772 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

He is a Republican in national politics and a liberal in local 
affairs. Mr. and Mrs. Fager are members of the Christian church. 
Edward Forward, a well-known resident of Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was born in Cayuaga county, New York, on July 19, 1839. 
His parents were George and Sarah (Cager) Forward, both 
natives of England, where the father was born in Sussex, on 
October 30, 1806, and the mother on October 30, 1809. 
They were married on June 22, 1828, and came to the United 
States in 1833, settling in Cayuaga county, New York. They 
sailed on the Duke of Brunswick on May 4, 1833, and were on the 
water seven weeks. They were the parents of twelve children, 
nine of whom are living, viz. : George, born in England Septem- 
ber 9, 1829, and now living in Illinois, at the age of eighty-two ; 
Charlotte, born June 22, 1832, deceased ; William, of Illinois, born 
September 5, 1834 ; Franklin, of Clinton county, Michigan, born 
August 11, 1838 ; Edward, of Ninnescah township, Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, born July 19, 1839 ; Mrs. Fannie Bunker, of Delano 
township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, born August 1, 1840 ; Charles 
N., of Goddard, Kan., born January 30, 1843 ; Mrs. Mary Beard, of 
Delano township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, born August 8, 1845 ; 
Lewis, of Mt. Hope, Kan., born November 13, 1852; Adelbert, of 
Grand Rapids, Mich., born July 16, 1855; Sarah, deceased, born 
August 7, 1847 ; one child died in infancy. The father of this fam- 
ily died in Michigan on September 15, 1881. The mother is living 
in Delano township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, at the age of 102 
years. Edward Forward remained at home until 1858, when he 
went to Yorktown, Bureau county, Illinois, where he remained till 
1861, when he enlisted in Company B, First Battalion, Yates 
Sharpshooters, which in 1864 was veteranized and called the Sixty- 
fourth Illinois. Mr. Forward was in thirty-three different engage- 
ments. At the battle of Corinth a minie ball seared his right 
cheek. The same day three balls passed through his blouse and 
one tore the heel off his shoe. The sharpshooters were in groups 
of four, and Mr. Forward was the only one left out of his group, 
the other three being killed. He was with Sherman on his march 
to the sea, and was discharged with a commission as second lieu- 
tenant on July 18, 1865. After the war Mr. Forward returned 
to Illinois and resumed work at his trade of mason and brick- 
layer, where he remained until 1877, when he came to Kansas 
and located in Mitchell county, but returned to Illinois. In 1878 
he returned to Kansas and located three miles west of Wichita, 



BIOGRAPHY 773 

in Delano township, where he bought a farm and lived eighteen 
years. He then sold his farm and bought a farm in Waco town- 
ship near Bayneville, where he lived until 1909, when he sold it 
and bought 220 acres in Section 21, Ninnescah township. On 
March 1, 1873, Mr. Forward was married to Miss Margaret A. 
Gramphin, who was born in Niles, Mich., on November 10, 1852, 
a daughter of Watkins and Elizabeth (Granger) Cramphin, both 
natives of Cayuaga county, New York; Mrs. Forward's father 
was born June 6, 1817, and her mother May 23, 1819. Her father 
died June 21, 1890, and her mother September 3, 1897. Mr. and 
Mrs. Forward have five children, viz. : Mrs. Alma Parsons, born 
July 26, 1876; Edward W., born March 12, 1878; Mrs. Walter 
Brazill, born May 22, 1880 ; Mrs. Frank Coulson, born August 21, 
1883, and Mrs. Raymond Lucas, born September 14, 1885. All 
the children live in Sedgwick county, Kansas. Mr. Forward has 
devoted his entire attention to farming since coming to Kansas. 
He has held no political positions except trustee of his school 
district, which he held for a number of years. Fraternally, he 
is a member of Yorktown Lodge, No. 655, of Tampico, 111. He is 
a liberal in politics, always voting for the best men in local 
affairs, but is a Republican in national affairs. 

Harvey J. Freeman is a native of Butler county, Kansas, and 
was born in 1870 to Henry and Emma (Hart) Freeman, the 
former a native of England and the latter of Canada, who settled 
in Butler county in 1869, where the father died in 1907. Our 
subject is the seventh child of a family of twelve children. He 
acquired his preliminary education in the district schools, then 
pursued a course of study at Lewis Academy and later was grad- 
uated from the Southwestern Business College of Wichita. After 
his graduation, in 1893, in connection with the institution last 
named, and under Mr. E. H. Fritch, he organized a school at 
Guthrie, Okla., where he remained two years. Then associating 
himself with the Wichita Commercial College, he established a 
school at Oklahoma City and continued with it two years. Re- 
turning to Wichita in 1897, he held a position as instructor in the 
institution there till the spring of 1905, when he and Mr. T. W. 
DeHaven purchased the school. In the fall of that year, Mr. H, 
S. Miller also became financially interested in the school. Under 
this proprietorship, the school was carried on till 1909, when Mr. 
Miller sold his interest to his partners, who have conducted the 
school since that time. The school, in its various departments, 



774 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

occupies the entire third floor at Nos. 508-16 East Douglas street, 
and has an enrollment of from 200 to 225, with a yearly attend- 
ance of 500 pupils. He was a member of the city council on the 
Republican ticket for a period of two terms, and was president 
of that body for the term ending April 1, 1906. He has been a 
member of the board of the Kansas state poultry board for the 
past five years, and on January 1 last, was elected president of 
the state board, which position he still holds. Mr. Freeman is 
a prominent member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and is a past grand of the order. He also belongs to the 
Woodmen of the World. In religious faith, he is affiliated with 
the Methodist Episcopal church. In 1896 Mr. Freeman married 
Miss Evelyn Peoples, a daughter of Dr. D. A. Peoples, of Guthrie, 
Okla., who removed thither from Philadelphia in 1889. They 
have one child, Louise, who was born in 1897. 

Farley A. Gackenbach is a wideawake and progressive citizen 
of Wichita, Kan. He is a native of Allentown, Pa., and was 
born in 1866, to Charles W. and Jane (Schenck) Gackenbach. 
The father was a carriage manufacturer and the son learned 
that trade, though he never followed it. He started out for 
himself in 1884, going to Atchison, Kan., and spending two years 
as traveling salesman for Messrs. Sterner & Co., cigar dealers. 
He then, in 1886, went to Arkansas City, Kan., and spent one 
year in the real estate business. Here our subject traded some 
real estate he had acquired for a stock of groceries located at 
No. 933 South Emporia street, Wichita, Kan. He carried on the 
grocery trade till 1889, when he sold the business and engaged 
in the cigar business, first at No. 119 South Main street and after- 
wards at No. 227 East Douglas street. He conducted this 
business till 1907, when he sold out his interest and accepted 
the position of deputy grand master of the Ancient Order of 
United Workmen, having been, for nine years previous to this 
time, financial agent of the local lodge, No. 22. Mr. Gackenbach 
stands high in fraternal circles, being a member of the Mystic 
Shrine, a thirty-second degree Mason and a member of the 
Wichita Consistory. He also belongs to Wichita Lodge, No. 93, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and many others. 

In 1906 Mr. Gackenbach was elected a member of the Wichita 
Board of Education, and re-elected in 1908, and served as its 
president till 1909, when he resigned. He has the credit of es- 
tablishing separate schools in Wichita, but the case being re- 



BIOGRAPHY 775 

versed by the Supreme Court the matter was dropped until such 
time as the law was amended. 

William H. Gaiser, carriage maker, of Wichita, Kan., is a 
native of Illinois, having been born in the city of Alton, that state, 
in 1862. He is a son of John and Celia (Hanna) Gaiser, the 
father being a native of Germany, who came to the United 
States when young and settled in Illinois. William H. Gaiser 
received his education in the public schools of Alton, and began 
to learn the trade of carriage making when a boy. He came 
to Wichita in 1887, where he was first employed by J. M. Mc- 
Kenzie and later by J. M. Washburn. Mr. Gaiser was in the 
employ of the latter for seventeen years, when he was taken 
into partnership, the style of the firm being Washburn & Gaiser. 
This arrangement continued until the death of Mr. Washburn, 
when Mr. Gaiser succeeded to the business. The business plant 
was formerly located at Nos. 114 and 116 St. Francis avenue, but 
the constantly increasing business made larger and more modern 
quarters imperative, and in 1910 Mr. Gaiser built the present 
up-to-date plant at Nos. 217 and 219 St. Francis avenue, the 
most modern to be found in the Southwest. The structure is a 
two-story brick, covering a ground area of 42x125 feet, and is 
complete in every detail. The shops are filled with all the equip- 
ment required in the carriage business. Facilities are here to be 
found for the building and repair of all kinds of vehicles, from 
a wheelbarrow to an automobile. The floors are of concrete, 
there is an elevator for the transport of vehicles from one floor 
to another, while the paint and varnish rooms, carriage top and 
repairing department, and a modern forge, all go to make up 
a new and twentieth century equipment. The works are an 
illustration of what can be accomplished with enterprise and 
push. Mr. Gaiser was married in 1887, to Miss Julia Doyle, of 
Missouri. Three children have been born of this union, viz. : 
George, Harry M., and Paul. 

James B. Gardiner, cashier of the Valley Center State Bank, 
Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born March 30, 1878, at Garden 
Plain, Kan. His father, who is now deceased, was George H. 
Gardiner, and his mother's maiden name was Laura V. Pope. 
Both parents were natives of Illinois. Mr. Gardiner obtained 
his education in the public schols of Wichita, Kan., afterward 
taking a business course at the Southwestern Business College, 
St. Louis, Mo. He began his business career in the private bank 



776 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

of S. F. Greene & Co., of Kane, 111., and afterward holding 
a position for a few years with the Continental & Com- 
mercial National Bank of Chicago, 111. Upon his return 
to Kansas he was made cashier of the State Bank of Peck, Peck, 
Kan., and in 1908 accepted his present position. Besides being 
cashier of the Valley Center State Bank he is director in five 
other banks in Sedgwick county. Fraternally Mr. Gardiner is a 
member of the Masonic order — King Solomon's Lodge, No. 197, 
Kane, 111., A. F. & A. M.; La Fayette Chapter No. 2, R. A. 
M., Chicago, 111.; Palestine Council, No. 66, R. and S. M., 
Chicago, 111. ; Wichita Consistory, No. 2 ; thirty-second degree and 
Midian Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. S. He is also a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Valley Center Lodge, No. 164. 
In politics Mr. Gardiner affiliates with the Democratic party. 

James K. Gardner, of Cheney, Kan., where he is actively en- 
gaged in the real estate and loan business, was born May 2, 1849, 
at Cadiz, 0. He is a son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Leard) 
Gardner. His father was a native of Virginia, and on the mater- 
nal line his remote ancestry is traced to Scotland. The parents 
came from Virginia to Ohio and afterwards removed to McLean 
county, Illinois, where the father was engaged in farming up 
to the time of his death, which occurred in 1885. He lived an 
exemplary life, being strong and well grounded in Methodism. 
He was a Republican, and took a decided interest in the affairs 
of his party. James K. Gardner left his home in Illinois and 
removed to Morton township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, in 1882, 
and the same year he married Miss Emma L. Rankin, a daughter 
of W. H. and Elizabeth Rankin, of Bloomington, 111. Four 
children have been born of this union, two boys and two girls, 
only one of whom is now living, Caroline L., now attending the 
Illinois Wesleyan University, at Bloomington, 111. When Mr. 
Gardner first located in Morton township he had barely enough 
money to buy a team of horses. He worked at painting for 
two years. He purchased 160 acres of land and for three years, 
while working on the farm, he also worked at the trade of 
painter. He then moved into Cheney and opened up the real 
estate, insurance and loan business, and was successful from the 
start. In 1909 the firm of Gardner & McCue, real estate and 
loans, was organized, and the firm is now transacting a large 
and lucrative business in these lines. Fraternally Mr. Gardner is 
a Mason, belonging to Morton Lodge, No. 254, A. F. and A. M., 



BIOGKAPHY 777 

in which he has filled all the chairs. He is also a member of 
"Wichita Consistory, No. 2, and of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He is a director in the Citizens' Bank of Cheney, 
has been a member of the city school board for fifteen years, 
city councilman for three years, city treasurer for three years, 
and police judge for two years, which latter position he now 
holds. Mr. Gardner is a Republican in politics. He has several 
times been a representative to the Masonic Grand Lodge. He 
is known as a public spirited, enterprising man, and successful in 
all his undertakings. He is a faithful member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, a strong worker in the denomination, and has 
contributed liberally to its support. He has been a superin- 
tendent in the Sunday school of his church for fifteen years. 

Alexander Garrett, farmer, of Rockford township, Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, was born in Monroe county, Ohio, on March 4, 
1845. His parents were J. E. and Mary J. (Gilmore) Garrett, 
both natives of Ohio, where they lived until 1869, when they 
moved to Ottawa county, Kansas, where they lived until their 
death. The elder Garrett died in 1873, and his widow in 1874. 
In September, 1869, Alexander Garrett went to Rockford town- 
ship, Sedgwick county, and filed on 160 acres of land in 
Section 12, on which claim he still lives, being the only man in 
Rockford township in 1910 living on his original claim. Mr. 
Garrett's first house was built of logs hewn by himself. He 
made the shingles himself and hauled cottonwood logs to Wichita, 
where he gave half to have them sawed into boards to make 
windows, doors and floors. On September 26, 1866, Mr. Garrett 
was married to Miss Margaret Dixon, who was born in Monroe 
county, Ohio. They have two children, Anna Mary, born in 
March, 1870, the first white child born in Rockford township, and 
Herman, born in January, 1876, who lives on a farm adjoining 
his father. Mr. Garrett has spent his life in agricultural pur- 
suits, has had a strenuous career, and is today one of the 
respected and representative citizens of Sedgwick county. He 
is a Republican in politics, but has never sought nor held office. 
He owns 1,040 acres in Sedgwick county and 200 acres in King- 
man county, and markets from 75 to 150 fat cattle each year. 

Ichabod P. Garriss, of Mulvane, Kan., a retired farmer and 
pioneer, is a native of North Carolina, where he was born in 
Wayne county, on March 14, 1842. His parents were Wiley and 
Elizabeth (Pearson) Garriss, both natives of North Carolina. 



778 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Joshua Garriss, the father of Wiley, came from England at an 
early date and settled in North Carolina, where he lived and 
died, Wiley also spending all his life in the .same state. The 
mother also died at the same place. Ichabod P. Garriss lived 
in his native state until March 12, 1868, when he moved to Willow 
Springs, Kan., where he remained until 1871. Before coming to 
Kansas and while living in North Carolina he was conscripted in 
the Confederate Army, Company K, North Carolina Infantry, and 
served until May, 1865. In 1871 Mr. Garriss came to Rockford 
township, Sedgwick county, and laid the foundation of a house 
on Section 13. In the fall of 1872 he preempted this 160 acres 
and moved on the place. He paid 25 cents per tree and hauled 
the logs twelve miles and built his home. He lived on this 
farm until 1901, when he retired from farming and moved into 
Mulvane, where he has a pleasant home and enjoys the rest he 
has earned. On October 18, 1861, Mr. Garriss married Miss 
Elizabeth Bradbury, who was born in North Carolina. Mr. and 
Mrs. Garriss had one daughter, Mrs. Cora McCullough, born on 
March 18. 1866, and who now lives in Rockford township. 
On August 2, 1902, Mrs. Garriss died, and on December 7, 1903, 
Mr. Garriss married Mrs. Annie M. Greene, who was born in 
England, a daughter of James 0. and Thirza (Meade) Pearce, 
both of whom were natives of England, and came to Holden, 
Mass., in 1849. They lived at different times in Rhode Island and 
Connecticut, and then came to Douglas, Kan., where they died. 
Mrs. Garriss was married first March 8, 1864, to Albert A. Greene, 
and came to Kansas in 1872 to Rose Hill, Butler county. Mr. 
Greene died March 14, 1898. Albert A. Greene was a soldier 
in the Union Army in the First Rhode Island Cavalry, Company 
D, and served till the close of the war, when he received his 
honorable discharge. Mr. Garriss passed through all the trials 
and hardships of frontier life and has earned the rest he is now 
taking. He is a Liberal in politics and both he and his wife are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Martin L. Garver was born at Scotland, Pa., May 16, 1844, and 
passed his early life on the home farm. After a short military 
service he was discharged, in the latter part of 1863, and soon 
thereafter entered the freshman class in Whittenburg College, 
Springfield, O., graduating with the class of 1866. Mr. Garver 
became a Master Mason, having passed the degrees in Chambers- 
burg, Pa. On April 11, 1871, he married Miss Kate B. Emminger, 



BIOGRAPHY 779 

of Mansfield, 0., and came to Topeka on their trip from there. 
M. L., in company with Judge T. F. Garver, still of Topeka, and 
his brother, made a trip to Wichita by mule team, and camped 
just south of where the Second street bridge is now located, 
and bought Buffalo steak at 25 cents a basket. In October, 1874, 
he moved from Pennsylvania to Mansfield, 0., and in April, 1879, 
he again turned his face westward, locating at Columbus, Kan., 
in the real estate and loan business, as local representative of 
Wilson & Toms, loan brokers, of St. Louis, Mo., but soon there- 
after, in 1879, they transferred him to Wichita as their local 
manager for southern Kansas. Wilson & Toms later on organized 
as the Wilson & Toms Investment Company, and' still later as 
the Central Trust Company of St. Louis. Mr. Garver repre- 
sented these people out of Wichita until they went out of busi- 
ness, in the early '90s, when he engaged in the same line of 
business in Wichita, on his own account. In March, 1896, he 
signed a contract with the Deering Harvester Company, of 
Chicago, to look after their Oklahoma collections. July, 1898, 
he entered the employ of the Deming Investment Company, lo- 
cated at Oklahoma City, as business manager. July 1, 1901, 
he returned to Wichita, accepting a position with the Monarch 
Trust Company, since reorganized as the Monarch Loan Com- 
pany, as examiner of farm securities, which position he still holds, 
serving as its vice-president. There were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Garver four children : Mary L., married to Chas. J. McKenzie, of 
Wichita ; George J., secretary and treasurer of the Monarch Loan 
Company, single, and lives in the family home ; James L., single, 
engaged in the chicken and pigeon business at the family home, 
900 Mathewson avenue, Wichita, Kan., and Charles L., married, 
and living at Barstow, Cal., and is in charge of the Santa Fe 
Refrigerator Dispatch Company's business at that place. 

Fred W. George, one of the enterprising business men of 
Wichita, Kan., was born in New Hampshire, in 1876, and is a son 
of Fred and Ella (Holman) George, natives of England and 
Massachusetts, respectively. They moved to Kansas in 1876 and 
settled on a farm in Sedgwick township, Sedgwick county, but 
four years later left the farm and moved into the village of 
Sedgwick, where the father became connected with the hard- 
ware business of S. W. Shattuck, in which line of trade he has 
since continued, being now — 1910 — proprietor of the Wichita 
Iron Store. 



780 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Our subject acquired his education in the village schools and 
began his business career as a clerk in the store of Mr. Shattuck. 
Later he was traveling salesman for the Robinson Heary Hard- 
ware Company, of St. Joseph, Mo., and after that, till 1904, 
represented the Massey Iron Company, of Kansas City, Mo. In 
July, 1904, Mr. George, with his former employer, Mr. Shattuck, 
organized the Shattuck-George Iron Company, whose business is 
located at Nos. 138 and 140 North "Wichita street, Wichita, 
occupying a three-story building and carrying a full and com- 
plete stock of heavy hardware and blacksmith's supplies, and, in 
fact, everything found in an up-to-date business of its character. 
The officers of the company are : F. W. George, president ; S. W. 
Shattuck, vice-president; S. W. Shattuck, Jr., secretary, and 
W. R. George, treasurer. 

Our subject stands high in business circles and is active in 
social and fraternal organizations. He is a thirty-second degree 
Mason, a member of the Wichita Consistory, and of the Albert 
Pike Blue Lodge. He is also a member of the Commercial 
Club of Wichita, president of the Wichita Association of Credit 
Men, and treasurer of the Wichita Transportation Bureau. 

In 1898 Mr. George married Miss Sadie Damon, a daughter of 
L. E. Damon, of Wichita, and they have two children, named, 
respectively, Ralph Damon and Edith Frances, and occupy a 
beautiful home at No. 1355 North Water street. 

Christopher Gerhards,* farmer, of Union township, Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, is a native of Germany, where he was born March 
31, 1869. He is a son of Valentine Gerhards, also a native of 
Germany. Christopher Gerhards came to the United States on 
May 26, 1886, and first located at Lake Linden, Michigan, where 
he worked for a time in the copper mines. He left the copper 
mines to enter the employ of Armour & Co., of Chicago, and in 
1901 came to Russell county, Kansas, where he bought land and 
farmed for a time. This land he afterwards sold and bought 240 
acres in Section 4, Union township, and has since lived on the 
same. Mr. Gerhards was married in August, 1891, to Miss Susan 
Schaass, a native of Michigan. Seven children have been born 
of this union, of whom five are now living. The children are : 
Mary, born November 10, 1892 ; Matthew, born January 13, 1894 ; 
John, born August 11, 1895 ; Benjamin, born May 20, 1897; Ma- 
hannah, born March 18, 1900; Henry, deceased, born June 6, 1906. 



BIOGRAPHY 781 

Mr. Gerhards is the present trustee of Union township. He is a 
member of the Catholic church and is a Democrat in politics. 

John S. Giwosky, proprietor of the People's Cleaning and 
Dye Works, of Wichita, is a native of Russia, where he was born 
in 1873. His parents were S. and Frederika Giwosky. They came 
to America in 1885, and to Barber county, Kansas. Mr. 
Giwosky 's education was acquired in Russia and Kansas. He 
came to Wichita in 1887, and went to school and helped his 
father in his store. Mr. Giwosky embarked in business for him- 
self as a tailor in 1897, and for eight years conducted this busi- 
ness successfully. In 1905 he broke out of the tailoring business 
and plunged into the cleaning and dyeing industry, in a tiny 
room at 129 North Lawrence avenue, and with less than $300 in 
capital. Today the business occupies an imposing new home on 
South Lawrence avenue. This is a fireproof three-story concrete 
block which has been erected at a cost, including land value, with 
its equipment, the plant is valued at $40,000. All this has been 
accomplished in a little over five years, the new building being 
completed in June, 1910. The business gives employment to an 
average of fifty persons. The out-of-town business of the con- 
cern has assumed large proportions. Mr. Giwosky, while closely 
applying himself to his business, is never unmindful of his public 
duty, nor of the joys of a whim or a hobby. His are automobiling 
and fine horses, in both of which he has time and ability to indulge 
himself. His five city delivery wagons are hauled by the best 
horse flesh he can buy. He was married in 1900 to Miss Viola 
Rockfouer, of Wichita, and they have two children — Marguerite 
and Harry. He is a member of the Odd Fellows and the Chamber 
of Commerce. 

Edgar A. Goodin is a native of Van Buren county, Iowa, and 
was born March 25, 1858, to Asa and Caroline (McBlhaney) 
Goodin. The father died in Iowa and the mother died in Wichita 
in 1899. On attaining his majority our subject rented a farm 
and carried on farming in Iowa till he was twenty-seven years 
old. He moved to Kansas in 1885 and the next year settled in 
Wichita, and with two teams of horses which he owned, and 
others which he purchased, engaged in the work of grading 
streets. The business was financially successful ; but Mr. Goodin 
invested his profits in Wichita property, and when the financial 
panic came he was caught in the crash and his entire holdings 
were swept away. He, however, found work as engineer for 



782 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the Eagle Publishing Company, and in 1891, having saved a 
small sum of money, rented eighty acres that had been subdivided 
into town lots and for two years gave his entire attention to 
raising hogs. This venture was followed by another year at 
farming, and in 1884 he joined the rush to Oklahoma. Failing 
to get a claim, he returned to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and with 
$1,500 he had saved purchased a quarter section of land, paying 
one-half cash and mortgaging it for the other $1,500, which he 
paid off in three years from his profits through feeding stock. 
In 1897 he bought eighty acres, to which he added 240 acres in 
1898. In 1901 he further increased his holdings with the pur- 
chase of eighty acres, and in 1909 by another purchase of 320 
acres, making his total holdings of land 720 acres, being 
480 acres in Section 33, 160 acres in Section 34 and 
80 acres in Section 32, all in Gypson township, in Sedgwick 
county, and all purchased with the profits of his farming, in 
which he has given his chief attention to raising and feeding 
cattle and hogs. In 1909 his sales of cattle, hogs and wheat 
amounted to $13,000. In 1905 Mr. Goodin erected a beauti- 
ful and commodious farmhouse, where he made his home five 
years. The place is also improved with fine barns, outbuild- 
ings and sheds and thoroughly equipped with all that pertains to 
a modern farm. Mr. Goodin still has the general supervision of 
his farm, though his sons have charge of the farming operations, 
and during 1910 he moved into his beautiful and spacious bunga- 
low, which he built on the township road on the south line of 
his property in Section 33. This home is thoroughly modern in 
all its appointments, and is equipped with every appliance looking 
to comfort, utility and convenience. A cistern with a capacity of 
700 barrels supplies water for a complete water system through- 
out the premises; a hot-air furnace supplies the heat, and the 
the place is lighted with gas. Among other conveniences is a 
handsome garage for housing his new automobile, which is the 
third machine Mr. Goodin has possessed. 

In 1879 Mr. Goodin married Miss Mary, daughter of Mr. 
William L. Foster, who settled in Lee county, Iowa, in 1854, 
and who died in 1891. His widow still lives in Iowa. Of seven 
children born to Mr. and Mrs. Goodin, Delia, born in 1880, died 
in 1888, and Dewitt, born in 1894, died in 1896. Of the surviving 
children, Maggie, born in 1882, is married to Mr. Charles Lane, 
of Wichita. They have one child, Ruth by name. Roy R. was 



BIOGRAPHY 783 

born in 1885 ; he married Miss Mabel Russell, and they have one 
child, Clark. They live on the homestead; Collier, who was 
born in 1888, married Miss Luella Urban, and also lives on the 
home farm. Lee, who was born in 1899, and Grace, born in 1901, 
both live with their parents and are attending school. 

Mr. Goodin stands high in the Masonic order, and is a member 
of the Wichita Consistory. In politics he is a Democrat, inde- 
pendent in his actions and opinion. 

Cutler W. Goodrich, M.D., of the medical firm of Goodrich & 
Wilhoite, No. 123 South Main street, Wichita, Kan., is a native of 
Ohio, where he was born in Athens county on September 11, 1841. 
His parents were Bingham and Elizabeth (Griffith) Goodrich, 
natives of Ohio and Maryland, respectively, the latter being of 
Scotch descent. The mother came when a child with her parents 
to Ohio, and went to Missouri in the early seventies. After her 
marriage to Bingham Goodrich and some time spent in Missouri, 
the couple moved to Kansas in 1880, locating on a farm in Harper 
county. Mr. Goodrich died at the age of eighty-seven and his 
widow died at the age of seventy-six. Cutler W. Goodrich was 
educated at the Ohio public schools and also received an academic 
course. He enlisted July 31, 1862, in Company A, Ninety-second 
Ohio Regiment. He was first sergeant for two years, and in his 
last year of service was promoted to first lieutenant. He was 
discharged from the army June 10, 1865, at Washington, D. C. 
During his service Dr. Goodrich was at the battles of Hoovers 
Gap, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, Marietta, Ga., and wound 
up at Bentonville, when Johnson surrendered to General Sher- 
man. He received slight wounds, but braved it through every 
campaign, his hardest being with Sherman, Thomas and Grant. 
The medical education of Dr. Goodrich was received at the Physio- 
Medical Institute, Cincinnati, Ohio, from which he graduated 
in the class of 1874. He began practice in Athens county, Ohio, 
moved to Missouri in 1875, and for seven years practiced at 
Houstonia, and then removed to Harper county, Kansas, where 
he continued practice until 1894. The doctor then moved to 
Grant county, Oklahoma, where he followed his profession until 
1903, when he moved to Wichita and formed a partnership with 
Willis F. Wilhoite under the firm name of Goodrich & Wilhoite, 
and has since continued in practice. Dr. Goodrich is a member 
of the G. A. R., the Knights of Pythias and the Ancient Order of 
United Workmen. He was married to Miss Nancy J. Clark, 



784 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

of Athens, 0., who died in 1874. Two children were born 
of this marriage — Iola C, wife of J. H. Martin, of Oklahoma, 
and Abbie E., wife of F. H. Brubaker, of Hobart, Okla. In June, 
1876, the doctor was married to Miss Hattie B. Martin, of Ohio. 
Of this union the following children have been born: Bingham 
G. Goodrich, conductor in the Pullman car service for the Wabash 
railroad; Lottie B., Wichita; Ethel E., wife of G. B. Erwin, of 
Oklahoma City ; Elizabeth, wife of M. L. Marley, Coldwater, Kan., 
and Elvaretta, of Wichita. 

Timothy Goodrich, grandfather of the doctor, was a soldier 
in the War of 1812, and participated in the Indian wars. He 
was a native of Litchfield county, Massachusetts, and was reared 
in Vermont. He was one of five brothers who came from England 
and landed at Cape Cod. Three of the brothers went north and 
two south. He moved to Ohio shortly after it became a state, 
going to Athens, Ohio, where he passed the rest of his life, dying 
at the v age of eighty-five years, December, 1865. 

Walstein D. Goodrich,* of Wichita, Kan., is a native of New 
York state, where he was born in September, 1844. His parents 
were H. B. and Rachel (Valentine) Goodrich. The remote an- 
cestors of both parents were Germans. The father of Walstein 
D. Goodrich moved from New York to Wisconsin with a family 
of three children and located in Dodge county in 1846. He was a 
farmer there until his death in 1856, when he was killed in a mill 
accident. Walstein D. Goodrich remained at home after the 
death of his father until his enlistment in the army on August 
11, 1862, in the First Wisconsin Cavalry. This regiment was 
equipped at St. Louis and at Cape Girardeau, Mo., where it 
remained one year, and was transferred in June, 1863, to the 
Army of the Cumberland. Mr. Goodrich was with Sherman in 
the campaign at Atlanta, Ga., and then was sent back to Nash- 
ville, Tenn., to intercept General Hood of the Confederate army, 
and remained there until the battle of Nashville, and then fol- 
lowed Hood to the Tennessee river. After this he was with 
General Wilson in the wind-up of the war at Macon, Ga., and 
served some time after he was entitled to his discharge, not know- 
ing the war was over. The regiment was busy protecting govern- 
ment property and was fighting almost every day while in the 
Army of the Cumberland. The regiment was finally discharged 
at Nashville, Tenn., in 1865, and Mr. Goodrich returned to his old 
home in Wisconsin. After a residence there of four years, he 



BIOGRAPHY 785 

moved to Neosha, Kan., in 1869, and afterwards to Sedgwick 
county, where he homesteaded 160 acres in Keehi township, Sec- 
tion 6. Mr. Goodrich, since becoming a resident of the township, 
has held many minor offices. He is a member of the G. A. R., 
Valley Center post, and in politics is a Republican. He is now 
president of the bank at Valley Center and is a prominent citizen. 
Mr. Goodrich was married in March, 1865, at Beaver Dam, Wis., 
to Miss Sophia A. Kirkham, of Oak Grove, "Wis. Of this union 
seven children have been born, of whom six are now living, viz. : 
Thaddeus, Wallace, Myrtle, Eugenie, Willard and Clyde. 

Thomas J. Grace, stock raiser and farmer, of Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was born August 14, 1867, in Zanesville, Ohio. His 
parents were Thomas J. and Hannah (Males) Grace. The father 
was a native of Pennsylvania and the mother a native of Ohio. 
The remote ancestry of the family on the maternal side is traced 
to England. The parents in an early day came from Pennsyl- 
vania to Ohio, and settled in Muskingum county, where the father 
lived until his death, on August 1, 1876. His widow died Septem- 
ber 1, 1910, on the old home farm in Muskingum county. The 
elder Grace was a wealthy contractor, farmer and stock raiser. 
The early education of Thomas J. Grace was obtained in the 
public schools of his native state. He remained at the old home- 
stead for three years after he was married on March 5, 1891, to 
Miss Margaret Butler, a daughter of F. C. Butler, of Zanesville. 
Two children have been born of this union, a daughter, now 
sixteen years old, and a son, now three years old. The daughter 
is attending high school in Cheney, Kan. Mrs. Grace is an edu- 
cated and cultured woman, being a graduate of the Zaneszille 
College for Young Ladies. Fraternally, Mr. Grace is a Mason, 
thirty-two degrees, and has occupied all the chairs of the Blue 
Lodge. He is a member of Wichita Consistory No. 2, of the Royal 
Arcanum and of the Woodmen of America. Politically he is a 
lifelong Republican. He is known extensively throughout Sedg- 
wick county as a successful stock raiser and dealer and a prac- 
tical farmer. Mrs. Grace is a member of the Reformed church 
of Cheney. 

Aaron T. Green,* farmer, of Salem township, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was bom in Belmont county, Ohio, on April 5, 1847. His 
parents were John and Isabella (Fuller) Green. Mr. Green left 
Ohio in 1865 and went to Illinois, and from there to Iowa, but 
soon returned to Illinois. In these two states he worked until 



786 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

1871, when, with another young man, he bought a team and drove 
overland from Illinois to Wichita. In the fall of 1871, he pre- 
empted 160 acres of land in the northwest quarter of Section 21, 
Salem township. He broke about five acres of land and raised a 
crop of corn and hay, but a fire that was started on the prairie 
burned his stable, hay and corn. Mr. Green then went to work 
for Mr. Copeland, with whom he remained that winter, and in 
the spring he sold eighty acres of his land and later sold the re- 
maining eighty acres and bought eighty acres in Section 25, which 
he farmed one year. That happened to be the "grasshopper" 
year, and Mr. Green sold his eighty acres to Edgar W. Phillips 
and returned to Ohio. He only remained in Ohio until spring, 
when he returned to Kansas and has remained ever since. On 
February 5, 1885, Mr. Green was married to Mrs. Nettie Culver 
Winslow, who was born in Pennsylvania. Mrs. Winslow was the 
widow of Lewis Winslow, a soldier in the Civil War. By her 
marriage to Mr. Winslow, she was the mother of five children, 
viz. : Charles, of Oklahoma City ; Leon, of Shawnee, Okla. ; Mrs^ 
Gilmore Price, of Alva, Okla.; Grace, at home, and Albert, of 
Oklahoma. Mr. and Mrs. Green have no children. Since his 
marriage, Mr. Green has lived on his present place in Section 23 
and eighty acres in Section 29. In politics he is a Republican. 

Andrew F. Grimsley, farmer, of Sedgwick county, Kansas, 
was born in Ash county, North Carolina, on January 20, 1852. 
His parents were Lowry and Catherine (Koons) Grimsley, both 
natives of North Carolina. Both the father and mother were 
born in 1810. They lived in North Carolina until 1866, when they 
moved to Missouri. In 1868 the family moved to Johnson county, 
Kansas, where the mother died in 1882. The rest of the family 
lived in Johnson county until the fall of 1890, in which year 
Andrew F. Grimsley moved to Sumner county and lived until 
1900. In that year he bought 120 acres of land in Section 13, 
Ninnescah township, and has since bought eighty acres more in 
Section 32. On March 15, 1879, Mr. Grimsley was married to 
Miss Ludema Paisley, who was born in Missouri. Five children 
have been born of this union, viz. : Mrs. F. C. Hare, of Sedgwick 
county; Mrs. Ethel Dobbin, of Viola township; Charles R., at 
home; Mrs. Bonnie Hetrick, of Ninnescah township, and Lefa 
Fern, at home. Mr. Grimsley does general farming and stock 
raising. Fraternally he is a member of the Modern Woodmen 



BIOGRAPHY 787 

of America. He is a Democrat in politics and a member of the 
Baptist church. 

Elvin Spencer Hadley, attorney, of Wichita, Kan., is a native 
of the Hawkeye State, having been born at Eichland, Keokuk 
county, Iowa, on November 11, 1868. His parents were Spencer 
I. and Louisa W. (Ecroyd) Hadley, Mr. Hadley, Sr., being a native 
of North Carolina and Mrs. Hadley of Pennsylvania. They came 
to Kansas in 1879, and in the fall of that year took up a section of 
government land in Kingman county, but later moved to Reno 
county, where they now reside. Elvin S. Hadley obtained his 
early education in the public schools of Iowa and Kansas, and 
in the high school of Sterling, Kan. He came to Wichita in 1903, 
and for a short time was employed in the mercantile business, 
but abandoned this for the field of real estate, in the meantime 
pursuing .the study of law in the office of Stanley & Stanley, 
and was admitted to the bar in June, 1909. His career furnishes 
a good illustration of what a young man, with energy and brains 
and a determination to succeed, can attain to. Mr. Hadley was 
married in 1891 to Miss Madge Eastman, of Lawrence county, 
Indiana. From this union four children have been born, viz.: 
Mabel, Irdle, Vern and Wayne. 

W. S. Hadley, president of the Citizens' State Bank, of 
Wichita, Kan., was born in Richland, la., on January 18, 1866. 
His parents were Noah A. Hadley and Louisna (Hadley). The 
elder Hadley was a native of North Carolina, who came to Kansas 
in 1876, settling at Beloit. He died in 1905, at the age of seventy- 
two years. W. S. Hadley acquired his education in the public 
schools of his county and at Grelette Academy, Glen Elder, Kan. 
After graduating from the latter he taught school in Mitchell 
county; as principal of Glen Elder High School for five years 
and public schools for a period of five years. He was appointed 
county treasurer of Mitchell county and served during the years 
1892 to 1896, in the latter year being elected register of deeds, 
in which office he served until 1900. At the expiration of his 
term he engaged in the drug business in Beloit, Kan., which he 
conducted for a year. In 1901 he came to Wichita and organ- 
ized the Citizens' State Bank, with a capital of $10,000, which 
opened its doors for business on the west side in 1902. This was 
in the days when there was no street paving in that locality and 
the bank building was surrounded by sunflowers. The officers 
of the bank at the time of its organization were as follows: 



788 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

President, W. S. Hadley; vice-president, J. H. Turner; cashier, 
A. H. Stout. In 1908 the cash capital was increased to $25,000, 
and W. C. Kemp succeeded Mr. Stout as cashier. The year 
1910 finds this banking house a prosperous institution with a 
surplus of $10,000 and deposits amounting to $290,000. Mr. 
Hadley is one of the progressive men of the west side. He has 
been president of the West Side Commercial League since its 
organization in 1908, and takes a lively interest in all that 
pertains to a greater Wichita. He is a member of the Kansas 
Bankers' Association, the State Bankers' Association, and secre- 
tary and director of the Friends University; also vice-president 
of the Y. M. C. A. and chairman of the Religious Work Commit- 
tee. Mr. Hadley was married August 29, 1888, to Miss Lillian E. 
Outland, daughter of Thomas and Mahalia Outland. From this 
union one child has been born, Beulah M. Hadley. 

Earl Hahn, plumbing, steam and gas fitting, with an estab- 
lishment at No. 151 North Emporia avenue, Wichita, Kan., is a 
native of Kentucky, where he was born, in Washington county, 
on November 27, 1869. His parents were William and Mary A. 
(Dinsmore) Hahn, natives of Kentucky. The Hahns are of 
German descent and the Dinsmores English. The elder Hahn 
was a chair maker by trade and died at the age of eighty-four. 
His widow died at the age of eighty-six. Earl Hahn was the 
youngest of a family of eleven children, six girls and five boys, of 
whom five are still living. He was educated at the public 
schools of his native town and in 1887 came to Wichita. A year 
later he began to learn the plumbing business, entering the 
employ of the Wichita Plumbing Company. At the end of four 
years the business was purchased by Glaze & Buckridge, and 
Mr. Hahn continued in the employ of this firm for five years, 
when the business again changed hands and was purchased by 
the firm of Bertram & Bertram. Mr. Hahn continued with this 
firm for another period of five years, when he embarked in 
business for himself, and organized the firm of Bosworth, Hahn & 
Co., their place of business being at No. 127 North Market street. 
At the end of two years they removed the business to No. 152 
North Market street, where the firm continued for seven years. 
Mr. Hahn then sold his interest and continued in business for 
himself, locating his establishment at No. 151 North Emporia 
avenue, where he has conducted a successful business since 1907. 
Mr. Hahn is a member of the Masonic order and the Benevolent 



BIOGEAPHY 789 

Protective Order of Elks. He was maried in 1881, to Miss 
Anna Buellow, a native of Berlin, Germany, then a resident of 
Ellis county, Kansas. Of this union four children have been 
born, viz. : Cecil, Lucille, Frances and Arthur Earl Hahn. 

James A. Hampson, a prosperous farmer of Grant town- 
ship, Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born February 29, 1856, in 
Tazewell county, Illinois, and is one of a family of ten children 
born to Henry J. and Nancy (Haines) Hampson. Our subject's 
paternal grandparents were James and Christiana (Peppers) 
Hampson, natives of Pennsylvania and Maryland, respectively. 
The grandfather was a farmer in Ohio till 1837, when he settled 
in Tazewell county, Illinois, and there carried on farming, being 
prominently identified with the pioneer history of the state. He 
died there March 8, 1874, at the age of sixty-five years. His 
widow survived till February 28, 1887, and died at the age of 
seventy-five years. They had a family of eleven children, of 
whom Henry J., our subject's father, was the second. He was 
born in Ross county, Ohio, April 8, 1829, and grew up on the 
family homestead in Tazewell county, Illinois. On October 14, 
1850, he married Nancy Haines, who was born in Licking county, 
Ohio, February 13, 1833, the youngest of a family of three chil- 
dren born to John and Nancy (Larramore) Haines, who were 
both natives of Virginia. Henry J. and his wife settled on a 
farm in Tazewell county, Illinois, and lived there till 1876, when 
they removed with their family to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and 
settled on a tract of 240 acres of unimproved railroad land in 
Grant township. Here they established their family home and 
reared their children. He was a man of influence in the com- 
munity and a thrifty, sucessful farmer, having his farm well 
stocked with Norman and Percheron horses, Durham cattle and 
Poland-China swine, improved with fine buildings and thoroughly 
equipped with every needed convenience and appliance. He was 
a Democrat in political opinion and filled various local town- 
ship offices. His death occurred March 31, 1909. His wife died 
March 14, 1907. She was a devoted Christian woman and a 
member of the Baptist denomination. 

James A. lived at home till he was thirty years old, acquiring 
his education in the district schools in Illinois and Sedgwick 
county, after the family removed thither. At his father's death, 
in 1909, he was appointed administrator of the estate, and car- 
ries on general farming and stock raising. Mr. Hampson is 



790 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

a Democrat in political sentiment and is somewhat active in the 
local council and affairs of his party. He has filled various local 
offices, having served twelve years as clerk of the school board 
and serving now his fourth year as township trustee. 

On May 25, 1886, Mr. Hampson married Miss Anna Ryder, 
daughter of Jonathan and Lucy (Rice) Ryder, of Harvey county, 
Kansas. The mother was a descendant in direct line of Revolu- 
tionary ancestors. Both Mr. and Mrs. Hampson are affiliated in 
religious faith with the United Presbyterian church at Sunnydale. 

William H. Harper, farmer, of Sedgwick county, Kansas, was 
born February 27, 1858, in Harvard county, Indiana. His parents 
were Theodore and Ruth (Yeakly) Harper, the father being a 
native of Ohio and the mother of Indiana. The remote ancestors 
on the paternal side are Scotch-Irish and on the maternal side 
German. The parents of William H. settled in Lyons county, 
Kansas, in 1858, and afterwards removed to Chase county, Kansas, 
after his father had sold his real estate in Kansas William H. 
Harper came to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and took up his resi- 
dence. He bought 160 acres of land two miles south and one 
mile west of Mt. Hope, on which he has erected a modern house 
of eight rooms, which is one of the most attractive houses in the 
township. Mr. Harper is an enterprising farmer and by hard 
work and industry has bought and paid for one of the best farms 
in the county. Mr. Harper was married on February 27, 1895, 
to Miss Nancy J. Barnett, a daughter of Josiah Barnett, an 
honored citizen of Missouri and a Civil War veteran. Mr. Barnett 
served faithfully five years in the army. He was a member of 
Company F, Twelfth Missouri Volunteer Infantry, and partici- 
pated in many severe battles. Ten children have been born to 
Mr. Harper and his wife, viz. : Fannie, Grace, Nellie, Mary, Jesse, 
William, Ray, Earl, Mabel and Ermon. Mr. and Mrs. Harper 
are members of the Christian church of Mt. Hope, of which he 
has been a member thirty-seven years. He is an independent in 
politics. 

Thomas C. Harrington, stock raiser and farmer, of Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, was born in Alexander county, North Carolina, 
on April 9, 1859. His parents were E. R. and Mary (Jones) 
Harrington, both natives of the Tar Heel State. The father of 
Thomas C. was born on October 26, 1826, and his mother was 
born on March 4, 1837. They were married in North Carolina 
in 1857, and in 1869 moved to Missouri. In April, 1870, they 



BIOGRAPHY 791 

settled in Cherokee, Kan., where the mother died on October 13, 
1871. In August, 1873, Mr. Harrington was married a second 
time to Miss Sallie Boyd. By the first marriage he had six chil- 
dren, viz.: Thomas C. ; Mrs. M. G. Kitchel, of Clearwater; 
Columbus C, of Ninnescah township ; James W., Henry M., both 
of Ninnescah township, and Mrs. Ida L. Swinehart, of Norwich, 
Kan. By his second marriage Mr. Harrington was the father of 
four children, viz. : Charles A., of Oklahoma ; Mrs. Laura B. 
Yearsin, deceased; Robert B., of Beaver county, Oklahoma, and 
William R., of Anthony, Kan. Mr. Harrington, Sr., came to Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, in the fall of 1873, and preempted 160 acres 
in Section 30, Ninnescah township. He added to this until at 
the time of his death, in June, 1903, he owned an entire section. 
Thomas C. Harrington remained at his home on the farm until 
his marriage, which occurred on December 22, 1881. His bride 
was Miss Maggie E. Parker, who was born in Iowa, on April 19, 
1862. One child was born of this union, Claude E., who was born 
on December 8, 1882. Mrs. Harrington died on February 5, 
1886, and in January, 1891, Mr. Harrington married Miss Nettie 
King, who was born in North Carolina, in June, 1859. One child 
was born of this union, Charles R., born June 26, 1893. The 
mother died in January, 1895, and December 12, 1896, Mr. 
Harrington was married to Miss Nela Meadows, who was born 
in North Carolina, on April 28, 1878. Of this marriage there 
was issued four children, viz.: Henry P., born December 1, 
1897; Walter C, born February 17, 1900; Zulu May, born July 
31, 1908, and Arthur F., born June 8, 1902. Thomas C. Harring- 
ton bought his first farm in 1882, in Section 28, Ninnescah town- 
ship, 160 acres, and he has added to it until he now owns 1,000 
acres. He does general farming, with about fifty acres of alfalfa. 
He also raises stock, making a specialty of the Shorthorn variety 
of cattle, with Royal Butterfly at the head of his herd. He has 
a herd of seventy-five Shorthorns, and also raises feed steers 
for market. He also raises thoroughbred Percheron horses, hav- 
ing Hectolitre, an imported stallion, for a sire. Mr. Harrington 
is a Democrat in politics and a member of the Baptist Church. 

George E. Harris is probably one of the best known men in 
the city of Wichita, Kan., which he has served officially in some 
of its most important offices. He is an Englishman by birth, 
having been born in the parish of Woking, near the city of 
London, England, on February 16, 1832. He came to America 



792 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

in 1864 and located first at Aurora, 111. In October, 1865, he en- 
listed in Company I, Seventy-seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry, 
and was placed in charge of the general wards of the hospital. 
He became managing commissary, in which capacity he served 
until he was finally discharged. Mr. Harris is a man of liberal 
education and well posted on all the current events of the day. 
He was engaged in the mercantile business in Pana, 111., until he 
moved to Kansas, in 1869, when he located at Chetopa. In 1871 
he moved to Wichita. Here he took up the manufacture of 
soda water and was very successful in this business, selling both 
wholesale and retail, together with the ice business, in which he 
was engaged at the same time, being the only one in the business 
until 1886. Mr. Harris has erected two residences and a row of 
English flat buildings in Wichita, and has taken great pride in 
the growth and improvement of the city and county ever since 
he has been a resident. In his official life Mr. Harris has served 
as deputy sheriff of Sedgwick county, superintendent of city 
parks for six years, appointed as city treasurer of Wichita and 
served from 1901 to 1909, councilman for five terms, and the 
third mayor of Wichita, in 1875. His business administration 
has given the people satisfaction, and he has built up a host of 
friends who have known him for many years. Despite his ad- 
vanced age, Mr. Harris is a well preserved man, looking not to 
exceed sixty years. He was married in England, June 10, 1860, 
to Emma Elizabeth Lee, a daughter of John Lee. Four children 
have been born to them, of whom only two are now living, Ernest 
E. and Cecil H. Harris. Fraternally Mr. Harris is a member of 
the Eagles and is a thirty-second degree Mason and member of 
Wichita Consistory, No. 2. He is a Republican in politics and 
active in the interests of his party. 

Sylvester Harsh, retired, of Mt. Hope, Sedgwick county, Kan- 
sas, was born August 7, 1828, in Litchfield, Bradford county, 
Pennsylvania. His parents were Cornelius and Jerusha Harsh, 
both natives of the state of New Jersey. Sylvester Harsh ac- 
quired a limited education in the common schools of Bradford 
county, and at his majority learned the trade of a mason, at 
which he worked up to the time he entered the army during the 
Civil War. He enlisted, in 1863, in Company I, One Hundred and 
Eighty-seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, and remained in the 
service until the close of the war. The regiment was placed 
under the command of General Grant and was in the battle of 



BIOGRAPHY 793 

City Point (Va.), in which severe engagement the ranks were 
decimated. After this battle the regiment participated in skir- 
mish engagements until the close of the war. In the ranks, while 
on parade, Mr. Harsh received a severe injury to his hip, which 
compelled him to go to the hospital, where he remained in a 
critical condition for months. The injury necessitated a surgical 
operation, in 1909, which has greatly reduced his strength and 
has left him in a disabled condition. In 1878 Mr. Harsh removed 
from Pennsylvania to Russell county, Kansas, where he worked 
at his trade and engaged in the mercantile business. In 1905 he 
moved to Sedgwick county, bought property in Mt. Hope and 
now lives in his comfortable home with his wife. Mr. Harsh 
has been married twice. His first wife was Miss Mariah Prince, 
to whom he was married in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, on 
March 6, 1852. Five children were born of this union, of whom 
two are now living, viz. : Charles, who lives in Reno county, Kan- 
sas, and Flora, who is married to a Mr. Crawford and lives next 
door to her father. She has two children. Mr. Harsh was again 
married, to Mrs. Mary B. Stacy, a widow, whose maiden name 
was Sergeant, and whose parents were natives of England. No 
children have been born of this second marriage. Mr. Harsh 
is a devoted and useful member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. For over thirty-five years he was superintendent of the 
Sunday school and for over twenty-five years a class leader. He 
has been strongly identified with the temperance party and is 
looked upon in the community as an upright and exemplary 
citizen. 

Hon. Rodolph Hatfield, attorney at law, of Wichita, Kan., is 
a native of the Buckeye state, having been born at London, Mad- 
ison county, Ohio, October 6, 1854. He is a son of Renssalaer R. 
and Eliza Ann (Coultas) Hatfield, and the eldest of the family 
of six living sons and two living daughters. His father was a 
native of Indiana and his mother a native of Ohio. 

The parents were married in Ohio in 1852, and in 1859 set 
their faces westward for life's betterment, and settled in Logan 
county, Illinois, where they purchased a farm and engaged in 
Agriculture, remaining there till 1877, when they again took the 
pioneer fever and removed to a farm which they purchased in 
Grant township, Sedgwick county, Kansas. They resided upon 
said farm till about 1893, when they sold out and moved to 
"Wichita and there continued to reside till the death of the father, 



794 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

April 13, 1903. The mother still survives (1910) and enjoys a 
reasonably healthy and happy time in her declining years. The 
subject of this sketch received his education in the common 
schools of Logan county, Illinois, completing same in Lincoln 
University, from which he graduated with degree of Ph. B. in 
June, 1876. 

The circumstances of his entering college are interesting. 
When a lad of fourteen, he was called as a witness to testify in a 
case of assault and battery against his teacher for whipping a 
grown-up pupil. The court proceedings greatly interested young 
Hatfield and he then and there determined to become a lawyer, 
and on his way home from the trial so announced to his father, 
who had already planned that he should be a farmer. However, 
when the father saw with what avidity his son acquired knowl- 
edge from the meager stores and sources of a farm home, making 
the most of every opportunity to fit himself for his chosen calling, 
he promised to send him to college, if he accomplished an assigned 
task of farm work in raising crops and mastered his teacher in 
mathematics the ensuing winter. By studying hard during the 
summer, when the farm help was asleep, on rainy days and at 
every spare moment in a busy time of the work on the farm, he 
succeeded, as foreman of the farm, in raising the crops, and by 
dint of closely applied study, soon had a statement from his 
teacher that he had led him in arithmetic as far as he could. 
He has often declared the time he received his longed-for and 
hard-earned permission to attend college, when his tasks were 
performed on the farm and in the country school, the proudest 
achievement of his life. 

Soon after entering college, he became aggressive and au- 
dacious in debate, quickly discerning the weak places in his op- 
ponent's arguments, studying public questions with enthusiasm, 
and recognized by his associates as a fit representative of his 
college in the literary contests of his school, in which he came off 
victor and bearing the honors always, with one exception. His 
eloquence and force of expression were then, and are now, di- 
rected to men's understanding, rather than their imagination or 
passions, though he possesses much imaginative power and vividly 
portrays, divining the thoughts and purposes of his hearers. 

Mr. Hatfield's characteristic strenuous efforts to enter college 
and acquire an education have marked his entire life, so that 
whatever is undertaken by him is given vigorous and intelligent 



BIOGRAPHY 795 

attention. In appearance, he is prepossessing, with an unusually 
musical and vibrant voice which attracts and holds the attention 
of an audience. In conversation, he is brilliant and versatile, 
his range of reading being very wide and comprehensive, and his 
mind concerns itself with an almost infinite variety of topics, as 
he possesses one of the best selected private libraries in the South- 
west and is never more at home than when consulting it. In dis- 
position, Mr. Hatfield is noble and generous, with an exuberance 
of vitality. His presence is distinguished, his manners winning 
and affable, impressing those with whom he comes in contact as 
possessing a kindly individual interest and sympathy, which in- 
sure him a general welcome and render him, recognizedly in 
Wichita, as the most ready and available emergency speaker for 
all classes of occasions, calling for discussion of political issues, 
educational addresses, convention welcoming addresses, or ban- 
quet responses and toasts. 

Mr. Hatfield began the study of the law first in the Wesleyan 
University, of Bloomington, 111., law department, completing same 
in the law offices of Hoblit and Foley, of Lincoln, 111., and receiv- 
ing admission to the bar before the Supreme Court of Illinois in 
June, 1878. 

In July, 1878, Mr. Hatfield went to Trinidad, Col., where he 
first swung his law sign to the breeze and began the practice of 
his chosen profession. Having been reared in an agricultural 
country, and in the midst of Republican associates, he was not 
pleased with the barrenness and Democratic majorities of south- 
ern Colorado, and removed from there to Wichita in September, 
1879, opening his law offices in Wichita January 20, 1880, where 
he has since resided. While Mr. Hatfield has engaged in the gen- 
eral practice of the law, he has specialized in corporation practice, 
in which he is considered an accepted authority. 

Mr. Hatfield's first law co-partnership in Wichita was with 
Noah Allen, now United States attorney for Southern District of 
Texas, but did not continue the said partnership for more than a 
few months, dissolving same and remaining alone till November 
20, 1884, when he formed a co-partnership with Hon. 0. H. Bent- 
ley, which still continues, and is said to be the oldest continuous 
law co-partnership now in the state of Kansas. 

Mr. Hatfield has always been a student of public questions 
and has held many positions of honor and trust in Kansas, being 
returned to some of them many times, showing popular confi- 



796 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

dence in his ability and integrity. In November, 1884, he was 
elected to the Kansas house of representatives, and re-elected to 
same position in 1886. In the session of 1887, he lacked only five 
or six votes of being elected to the speakership of the house, and 
failed only because he steadfastly refused to yield to the political 
demands of the railroad companies, then dominant in Kansas 
politics. In 1889 he was appointed by Governor Humphrey a 
regent to the Kansas State Normal School, at Emporia, serving 
as the president of the regency for his full term of four years. 
Though not an avowed candidate, nor making any personal effort, 
the press of Kansas, in 1892-93, very generally mentioned and ad- 
vocated the election of Mr. Hatfield to the United States senate. 
In 1898, he was elected a member of the board of education of 
the city of Wichita, serving thereon for five consecutive terms 
of two years each, being elected by said board as its president for 
five consecutive terms of one year each, and until his retirement 
therefrom. 

On June 17, 1878, Mr. Hatfield was united in marriage with 
Hattie E. Harts, who was an associate graduate with him in the 
university, born near Reading, Pa., March 23, 1855, a daughter of 
John and Rachael (Minsker) Harts, both natives of Pennsyl- 
vania. By this marriage six children were born : Rodolph H., of 
Chicago ; Merle E., of Denver ; Herbert H., of Wichita ; Paul C, 
of Chicago ; Rachel N., of Wichita, and Kenneth E., of Wichita. 
Mrs. Hatfield, the mother of said children, departed this life Jan- 
uary 19, 1906. 

January 4, 1910, Mr. Hatfield was united in marriage to Mrs. 
Allie M. Morehead, who was born at Marion, Linn county, Iowa, 
September 29, 1867, a daughter and eldest child of John and 
Charlotte (Miller) Fitch, the former a native of Pennsylvania and 
the latter a native of Iowa. Both are living, and in health, 
though the father served his country in the War of the Rebellion 
as a member of an Iowa regiment. 

Mrs. Hatfield has been a respected resident and efficient edu- 
cator of the city of Wichita since 1887 ; is the mother of an only 
child and son, Howard L. Morehead, residing at Wichita, by her 
first marriage. Mrs. Hatfield is very well and favorably known 
in Wichita, having been principal of one of the public schools of 
the city for several years prior to her marriage to Mr. Hatfield. 

Fraternally Mr. Hatfield is a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows and has filled all the chairs of the subordinate 



BIOGRAPHY 797 

lodge of that order. Also of the Modern Woodmen of America, 
having likewise filled all the chairs of the local camp of that 
order. Also of the Ancient Order of United Workmen and of 
the Knights and Ladies of Security. He is a member of the First 
Presbyterian church of Wichita, is an elder of said denomination, 
has served some thirty years as superintendent of Sabbath schools 
in said denomination, and was a commissioner to the general as- 
sembly of the church at Saratoga, N. Y., in 1896. In politics Mr. 
Hatfield is and always has been a Republican. By reason of his 
active participation in the state campaigns and in delivering 
many educational lectures, he has a very wide acquaintance in 
Kansas. 

Clarence A. Hattan, secretary of the Wichita Supply Company, 
and one of its organizers, is a native of Indiana, where he was 
born in the town of Charleston in 1868. His parents were D. H. 
and Margaret J. (Walker) Hattan, natives of Indiana, who left 
that state and came to Kansas in 1870, locating at first in Butler 
county, from whence they removed in 1880 to Sedgwick county. 
Both are now deceased. Clarence A. Hattan was educated in the 
public schools and early learned the printers' trade, which he fol- 
lowed in Wichita for fifteen years. He then engaged in the hard- 
ware and implement business in Mt. Hope, Kansas, which he 
continued until 1900, when he returned to Wichita and engaged 
in the harness and hardware business until 1907, when he became 
interested in the organization of the Wichita Supply Company, 
which handles machinery supplies, gasoline engines, etc. The offi- 
cers of the company are as follows : Charles Waltercheid, presi- 
dent ; Daniel Martin, vice president ; C. A. Hattan, secretary ; E. 
R. DeYoe, treasurer. Mr. Hattan was married on December 30, 
1908, to Miss Cora A. West, of Wichita. Fraternally Mr. Hattan 
is a member of the Masonic lodge. 

Edward J. Healy, head of the firm of E. J. Healy & Co., live- 
stock commission merchants at the Wichita stock yards, bears 
the distinction of being the pioneer stockdealer of Wichita and of 
Sedgwick county. Mr. Healy is a native of the state of Daniel 
Boone, having been born in Woodford county, Kentucky, on July 
6, 1851. His parents were J. P. and Elizabeth (Drew) Healy, who 
were natives of Ireland, and who came to Kentucky in 1848. Here 
the elder Healy engaged in business as a contractor, but removed 
to Illinois in 1855, and later to Kansas, where he settled in Brown 
county. Both the parents of Mr. Healy are now dead. Edward 



798 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

J. Healy acquired his education in the public schools of Mt. 
Sterling, 111., and after leaving school became engaged in farming 
and stock raising, which he prosecuted successfully until 1886, 
when he decided that Kansas offered a larger field for his efforts. 
On leaving Illinois he chose Wichita as his location, and at first 
engaged in the real estate business, which he conducted with 
success for the next three years. In 1889 Mr. Healy decided that 
the livestock commission business offered a larger field for his 
activities. Wichita was growing and the cattle business was an 
important factor in the city's trade. He was one of the pioneer 
dealers of the Wichita stock yards, and became successful from 
the very start. He has now the largest business of the kind in 
the city of Wichita. In addition to his livestock business Mr. 
Healy is treasurer of the Wichita Livestock Exchange, a position 
which he has held since 1889, and is also a large stockholder in 
the Union National Stock Yards Bank, of Wichita. Mr. Healy 
was married in June, 1881, to Miss Alicia Fitzsimon, of Mt. Ster- 
ling, 111. From this union there have been seven children, viz. r 
Mary E., wife of Albert Ford ; Ida, John P., Edward J., Jr., Alicia, 
Emmet T. and George Healy. 

David Heenan, of Wichita, Kan., is a good type of the resource- 
ful class of Irishmen who come to America and achieve inde- 
pendence with no capital but their brains and industry. Mr. 
Heenan was born August 15, 1868, in Belfast, Ireland, his father 
being David Heenan, a native of the green isle. After acquiring 
a rudimentary education in the old country Mr. Heenan came to 
America in 1889. He stopped at Kansas City, Mo., for a short 
time, but left that city and came to Wichita the same year, where 
he has ever since resided. The essential characteristics of Mr. 
Heenan are energy, pluck and perseverance. He has taken a full 
hand in connecting himself with and organizing some of the lead- 
ing enterprises of the city of Wichita, and while possessing some 
of the peculiar traits of the Irishman, has shown good judgment 
and a high degree of business efficiency in all of his endeavors. 
He began his business career in Wichita as correspondent for 
J. W. Hawn, and in 1892 formed a partnership with E. K. Nevling 
under the style of the Nevling Grain Company. He afterwards, 
in 1899, took a prominent part in the organization of the Nevling 
Elevator Company, and became secretary and treasurer of the 
company. Later on he formed a partnership with J. Sidney Smith 
under the name of David Heenan & Co., and this firm is now 



BIOGKAPHY 799 

doing business in Wichita. Mr. Heenan has been secretary and 
president of the board of trade and is now a director in the same. 
He was the organizer of the clearing house and a director of the 
Clearing House Association. Mr. Heenan is a member of the 
Masonic fraternity and of Albert Pike Lodge of "Wichita. In 
politics he has not identified himself with either of the two great 
parties, preferring to remain an independent and vote as judg- 
ment dictates. 

Louis Helmken, proprietor of the Model Grocery and Market, 
No. 1043 St. Lawrence avenue, Wichita, Kan., is a native of Ger- 
many, having been born near Bremen on March 18, 1869. His 
parents were George and Meta (Murhen) Helmken, natives of 
Germany, where the elder Helmken was a farmer, and the family 
had resided on the same farm, located near Bremen, for about 
three centuries. The elder Helmken died in 1870 when but thirty- 
eight years old, at which time Louis Helmken was only one year 
of age. His widow is still living. Louis Helmken was one of a 
family of six boys, all of whom are living. He was educated in 
the country schools of his native country and left home in 1885 
and came to the United States, locating in the city of New York, 
where he served an apprenticeship in the grocery business. Five 
years later he moved to Chicago and for a couple of years clerked 
in grocery stores. In 1892 he opened up in the grocery business 
for himself, and in 1896 found himself without a penny. He again 
began as a clerk, and in 1900 began again for himself with a small 
capital, and in four years ' time had a chain of stores on the south 
side of Chicago, all paying well and employing a large number 
of salesmen and delivery employes. In 1905 he sold all his mer- 
cantile interests in Chicago and removed to Oklahoma. There 
he organized a company to build a large cement mill with $150,000 
capital, of which he was president and manager for three years. 
Then he sold his interest and came to Wichita and bought the 
Cottage Grocery on South Topeka avenue, and after two years 
bought the store at his present location of W. H. Shoemaker, re- 
moved the old building, and by August, 1909, had completed his 
present building, the only one in Wichita built expressly for the 
business, and which represents an investment of $25,000. The 
store is a model of its kind, and is equipped with every modern 
appliance and sanitary device and convenience known to the 
retail grocery business. Mr. Helmken does a strictly cash busi- 
ness and has a force of ten employes in the carefully-kept, 



800 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

hygienically clean and finely-managed food emporium. Neatness, 
cleanliness, pure, fresh stocks of goods, courteous, obliging man- 
ners of proprietors and employes, all have united to make this 
store a model one, a credit to the genius of the owner and to the 
advantage of the large patronage he enjoys. Mr. Helmken is a 
thirty-second degree Mason, a member of the Shrine and of the 
Woodmen of the World. He is the president of the Wichita 
Grocers' Association and a member of St. Paul's Evangelical 
Church. He was married on September 23, 1900, to Miss Emelie 
Golk, of Chicago. Of this union five children have been born, viz. : 
Meta, Elnora, Martha, Louisa and Louis, Jr., the latter being 
deceased. 

Richard Heinig, of Goddard, Kan., is a native of Germany, 
where he was born on February 26, 1868. His father was Gottlieb 
Heinig, a native of Germany. His parents immigrated from Ger- 
many to the United States in 1870 and located in Orange, N. J., 
where they remained four years. In 1874 they came west and 
located permanently in Sedgwick county, Kansas, where the 
father bought a quarter-section of land in Attica township, and 
before his death added two other quarter-sections. He died Janu- 
ary 16, 1905. In religious belief he was a Lutheran, and in political 
belief a life-long Republican. His wife died June 10, 1889. Mr. 
Heinig, Sr., served in the German army eight years. He had a 
family of nine children, seven of whom are now living, viz. 
Richard, the oldest child; Rosa M., born February 21, 1870 
William T., born October 1, 1871 ; Anna, born August 17, 1874 
Mary, deceased; Charles, deceased; George O., born September 
14, 1881 ; G. Arthur, born October 26, 1883 ; Alfred T., born May 
1, 1886. Richard was seven years old when he came west with 
his parents to Kansas. He received a common school education 
in Sedgwick county and remained with his parents on the home 
farm until he was twenty-seven years old. At that time he rented 
land of his father up to the time of the latter 's death. After that 
he bought the interests of the heirs to the home place of 160 acres 
in Section 27, Attica township, and is now residing there. He 
is a bachelor, a public-spirited citizen, and fraternally is a mem- 
ber of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows' Lodge No. 266, the 
Knights of Pythias and Rebecca Lodge No. 78 of Goddard, Kan., 
and the Warrick Lodge No. 44 at Wichita, Kan. In politics Mr. 
Heinig is a Republican, and a director in the Goddard State 
Bank. 



BIOGEAPHY 801 

Harry S. Henderson,* veteran of the Spanish- American "War 
and farmer by occupation, of Valley Center, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was born March 20, 1882, in Sumner county, Kansas. His 
parents were Harry H. Henderson and Clara (Fassett) Hender- 
son, both of genuine Yankee stock. The elder Henderson died in 
Rogers, Ark., to which state he had gone for his health when his 
son was nine years old. After a residence of four years in Ar- 
kansas with his father, Harry S. Henderson came back to Kansas 
and made his home with his grandfather, Lewis Fassett, who 
owned 160 acres in Section 10, Grant township, and afterward 
moved to Texas. On January 8, 1901, Mr. Henderson enlisted for 
the Philippine War in B Troop, Fifteenth Cavalry Regiment, or- 
ganized about February 15, under the command of Colonel 
Wallace, as a private for three years. Mr. Henderson left 
Wichita when he enlisted and was sent to San Francisco, and on 
March 18, 1901, sailed for the Philippine Islands, arriving at 
Manila bay on April 17. His regiment was placed in General 
Wood's expedition on Jolo Island from August 27, 1901, to Au- 
gust 31, 1903. Mr. Henderson served three months as a special 
prison guard. The regiment being divided up into battalions, he 
was placed in the First Battalion, where he served up to the time 
of his discharge on October 15, 1903. Mr. Henderson was mar- 
ried on February 14, 1906, in Sedgwick county, to Miss Mabel 
W. Bingham. Two children have been born of this union, 
Florence Lavina, born April 9, 1907, and Ceres Irene, born No- 
vember 9, 1909. Fraternally Mr. Henderson is a member of the 
Ancient Order of United Workmen and the Sons of Veterans. 
He is the owner of a well-improved farm in Section 10, Grant 
township, and is a well respected man in the community in which 
he lives. 

Nathan B. Hern, real estate operator of Cheney, Kan., was 
born January 7, 1866, in west Tennessee. He is a son of George 
W. and Mary C. Hern, and traces his remote ancestry back to 
England. His parents removed from Tennessee to Reno county, 
Kansas, when he was a small child, and there he was reared with 
the benefit of a common school education. At the age of fifteen 
he left home and spent several years on a cattle range in western 
Kansas. In 1885 he took up his residence in Cheney and obtained 
employment as a clerk in a hardware and implement store con- 
ducted by D. M. Main, for one year, when he engaged as salesman 
for the McCormick Harvesting Machine company, and remained 



802 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

in that capacity up to 1907, when he engaged in real estate, 
which business he is engaged in at the present time. The firm 
of Hern & Northcutt, of which he is a member, transacts a large 
business, selling and buying ranches running into thousands of 
acres. Mr. Hern holds large real estate interests in Kingman 
and Sedgwick counties, Kansas. He is modest in recalling his 
successful career in real estate, yet no man in the state is better 
posted on realty values than he, and through careful operations 
he has accumulated a large fortune. Fraternally Mr. Hern is a 
Mason, a member of Morton Lodge No. 258, A. F. & A. M., in 
which lodge he has occupied all the chairs, and is a member of 
Wichita Consistory No. 2. On February 3, 1893, Mr. Hern was 
married to Miss Nellie M. Marble, of Cheney, daughter of A. S. 
Marble. Mrs. Hern was born at La Cygne, Linn county, Kansas, 
on April 20, 1875. On her father's side her ancestry is Scotch, 
and on her mother's German. No children have been born of 
this union. Mr. Hern is a Democrat of the Jefferson school. 

Severen E. High, a prosperous and substantial farmer of Rock- 
ford township, in Sedgwick county, Kansas, is a native of Van 
Wert county, Ohio, and was born in 1853 to Lewis and Erga 
(Mattox) High. The father was a native of Pennsylvania and a 
plasterer by trade. In 1877 he settled with his family on a quar- 
ter-section of land in Rockford township, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, and lived there till his decease in 1889. He enlisted as a 
private and served four years in the Civil War and was mustered 
out as second lieutenant of Company K, Sixty-fourth Regiment 
Ohio Volunteers. He belonged to Wichita Post, Grand Army of 
the Republic. The mother died in Ohio in 1859. 

Our subject lived in Ohio and Illinois during his early life and 
first came to Sedgwick county in 1876. He then returned to 
Illinois and went thence to West Virginia in 1878, and there mar- 
ried Miss Mary Powell, a daughter of Mr. John Powell. Return- 
ing to Illinois he lived on a rented farm till March, 1880, whence 
he came again to Sedgwick county and settled on his father's 
farm in Section 9, in Rockford township. Four years later he 
bought a quarter-section in Gypsum township and lived there 
till his father's death in 1889, when he sold it and returned to 
the family homestead, where he has since continued to live. He 
afterwards bought 160 acres in Section 4, 80 acres in Section 
5, and 80 acres in Section 9, making a total of 480 acres, which 
he now owns in Rockford township. Mr. High carries on general 



BIOGRAPHY 803 

farming and stock raising, and has made his money by the sale 
of cattle and hogs. He has made a financial success of his farm- 
ing operations and lives in the enjoyment of a beautiful home, 
surrounded with all the comforts and conveniences of the modern 
prosperous farmer. In politics he has always been a Democrat 
and has served as trustee of Gypsum township and treasurer of 
Rockford township. 

Of four children born to Mr. and Mrs. High, Charles P., born 
in 1879, married Miss Izah, a daughter of Mr. George Rickerds. 
They have one child, Helen, and live on the father's farm in Sec- 
tion 4. Glenn, who was born in 1881, married Miss Nellie, a 
daughter of Mr. Elias Mitchell. They live on the father's farm 
in Section 9, and have two children, Ruth and Severen. Carl 
C, who was born in 1888, died in 1906, and Lemuel, born in 1884, 
passed away when three years of age. 

A. H. Hill, president of the Hill-Engstrom Lumber Company, 
of Wichita, Kan., is a native of Illinois, having been born in that 
state on March 29, 1864. His parents were Asa L. and Charlotte 
(Pratt) Hill, of Pittsfield, 111. His early education was obtained 
in Pittsfield, 111. After leaving school he was engaged during 
1890-1891 as cashier of the Winona bank, Winona, 111. In 1892 
he went into the lumber business, and in 1907 he came to Wichita. 

Mr. Hill organized the corporation which bought out the old- 
time lumber interests of ex-Mayor Ben McLean, added to the 
capital and yards under control and started a career of consolida- 
tion that places him now in a class all his own — that of having 
handled and transformed, united, expanded and consolidated 
probably more interests in large figures than any other man in 
the city in his line, or perhaps in any line. Since coming to 
Wichita he has acquired interests in or consolidated nineteen 
line yards. His own company has a string of sixteen yards and 
is adding to or rearranging the system all the time. Mr. Hill 
has been for nineteen years in the lumber business. His first busi- 
ness venture, a small yard at Winona, 111., he clung to until 1908, 
when he sold it. He operated many yards in Illinois, and then 
acquired control of the Chihuahua Lumber and Manufacturing 
Company, of Old Mexico, which operated a string of sawmills, 
sash and door factories, and owned 20,000 acres of fine standing 
timber. Mr. Hill has now closed out all his Mexican holdings, 
his yards in Illinois and Missouri, and has centered and con- 
solidated all his interests in Wichita, where he has built a beauti- 



804 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

ful home. He is president and general manager of the syndicate 
whose headquarters are in this city, where supplies and purchases 
are all made for the yards scattered throughout Kansas and Okla- 
homa. Mr. Hill, besides his lumber interests, has large land hold- 
ings in Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas, and is a stockholder in 
several plants and companies, including the Portland cement in- 
dustry, and is a member of the chamber of commerce. He was 
married in 1891 to Miss Alice Vaughn, of Winona, 111. They have 
two children, Ruth and Roland. 

I. N. Hockaday, of Wichita, Kan., president of the Hockaday 
Paint Company, of that city, is the head of a concern of which 
the city is proud, and so also are the stockholders. The concern 
is only five years old, but already its trade extends all over the 
Southwest, and into the far Northwest and the Pacific slope. Mr. 
Hockaday was born in 1868 at Plattsburg, Mo. His parents were 
I. N. and Fanny (Lincoln) Hockaday, and his early education 
was obtained at Plattsburg College, Plattsburg, Mo. After fin- 
ishing his education Mr. Hockaday located at Kingfisher, Okla., 
in 1889, where he went into the hardware business and had the 
first store of that kind in the territory. In 1899 he came to 
Wichita, and the first wholesale hardware store in this section of 
the Southwest was organized through his efforts and was known 
as the Hockaday Wholesale Hardware Company. The company 
at once entered upon a remarkable period of growth and dividend 
paying business. Five years ago the hardware house was bought 
out by a syndicate, but Mr. Hockaday would not leave the 
city, and saw then, as now, incalculable possibilities in its future. 
So the Hockaday Paint Company was organized, and has been 
even a greater success in its brief career. It is the only concern 
in the city, probably, except the packing houses, whose products 
reach such a wide extent of territory. Large branch houses are 
maintained in Denver and Kansas City. Mr. Hockaday is a thirty- 
second degree Mason. 

He was married in 1901 to Miss Birdie Bohart, of Plattsburg, 
Mo. They have three children. 

Ferdinand Holm, a successful farmer of Sedgwick county, 
Kan., was born June 17, 1846, near Meldorf, Germany. His parents 
were Hans and Margaret (Jurgan) Holm. He is in line of direct 
descent from the house of Piel, who were court officials under 
Adolphus of Sweden. Mr. Holm received his education in Ger- 
many, after which he entered the wholesale and retail grocery 



BTOGEAPHY 805 

business in Meldorf, Germany. Because of ill health he left this 
work and spent the next seven years on the ocean, stopping at 
all ports of the commercial world. He came to the United States 
in 1869 and located first at Pittsburg, Pa., where he spent three 
years mining. On February 4, 1872, Mr. Holm was married to 
Miss W. Elizabeth Lorenz von Frederickshof, Eddelac, Germany. 
This was the culmination of a romance which had begun in their 
school days. Miss W. Elizabeth had come to New York in 1871 
with school friends. 

In July, 1872, Mr. and Mrs. Holm came to Sedgwick county, 
Kan., and preempted 160 acres of land in what is now Section 23, 
Attica township. Seven children were born to this union, of 
whom five are now living, viz. : Lily, Emma, Ida, Florence and 
Elizabeth. Two boys are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Holm together 
braved the pioneers ' struggles and won the land from the prairie 
to make it their own. Fraternally Mr. Holm is a member of the 
Masonic order, being a member of Florence Lodge No. 86 of 
"Wichita, and of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of God- 
dard, Kan. 

E. F. Holmes, of Wichita, Kan., is the head of one of Wichita's 
best known and most successful retail clothing stores. "There 
is no place like Holmes," has become a household word in 
Wichita and Sedgwick county. Mr. Holmes was born in Michigan, 
His parents, Robert and Elizabeth (Fisher) Holmes, being resi- 
dents of Livingston county, coming from England. The early edu- 
cation of young Holmes was acquired in the public schools of his 
native town. About 1881 he decided that a better career was 
open to him in the West and came to Kansas. Here he remained 
for four years, during which time he had a mixed career as a 
farmer, school teacher and stock raiser. In the fall of 1885 he 
returned to Michigan and took up mercantile training, with the 
result that again he migrated to Kansas in the spring of 1886 
with Charles M. Gregory, and the two started the firm of Holmes 
& Gregory at Cottonwood Falls, this partnership continuing for 
seventeen years. In 1891 Mr. Holmes again went into stock rais- 
ing on a large and valuable ranch in Chase county with great 
success, and there he remained for ten years. In 1902 Mr. Holmes 
withdrew from the firm of Holmes & Gregory and came to 
Wichita. Here he formed the firm of Holmes & Jones. Three 
years later Mr. Jones retired and Mr. Holmes became the sole 
owner of the Holmes company. From the start the highest pos- 



806 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

sible standard of merchandising was adopted and the utmost 
liberality of treatment was extended to customers. In the eight 
years in which the company has been in existence the volume of 
its business was trebled. Mr. Holmes has always taken a deep 
and generous interest in boys and young men. At Cottonwood 
Falls he organized the "Holmes Boys' Band," which won the 
first prize of $100 in its class in a tournament at Topeka. Mr. 
Holmes is a life member of the Young Men's Christian Association 
of Wichita, and a strong believer in its ideals. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Commercial Club and the Country Club, K. of P. and 
K. N. L. of S. He was married in 1886 to Miss Alberta McMillen, 
of Livingston county, Michigan. 

Alonzo B. Hope, farmer, of Sedgwick county, Kansas, is a 
native of the Dominion of Canada, having been born at Toronto 
on December 24, 1861. His parents were Joseph and Elizabeth 
A. (Young) Hope, natives of England. The father was born 
February 22, 1825, and the mother February 11, 1823. They were 
married in England on May 15, 1847, and immigrated to Canada 
in 1850. After living in Canada fifteen years they moved to 
Ohio in April, 1865, and to Kansas in 1872. In Kansas the elder 
Hope preempted 160 acres of land in the southwest quarter of 
Section 21, Ohio township, where he lived the rest of his life. 
He died July 28, 1886, and his widow died October 13, 1906. 
They Avere the parents of nine children, five of whom are living. 
The children were : Mrs. Jane Mackey, of Gray county, Kansas ; 
Herman, deceased; Walter, of Michigan; Stewart A., of Labett 
county, Kansas ; Leonard, deceased ; Augusta J., deceased ; Alonzo 
B., of Ohio township ; Mrs. Anna Walter, deceased ; Bert, of Gray 
county, Kansas. Alonzo B. Hope bought the old homestead in 
1891, where he now lives and owns 320 acres. On May 3, 1898, 
Mr. Hope married Miss Alice Robinson, who was born in Illinois 
December 12, 1871, a daughter of Samuel and Sybel (Burke) 
Robinson. Mrs. Hope 's father came to Sedgwick county, Kansas, 
in 1886, and settled near Oatville, where he worked at his trade 
as a blacksmith. He died October 31, 1898. His widow still lives 
and resides with Mr. and Mrs. Hope. The latter have had six 
children, viz. : Rachel A., born February 13, 1899 ; Ruth E., born 
July 19, 1900 ; Clifford J., born April 1, 1902 ; Stewart A., born 
August 19, 1903 ; Leonard J., born October 31, 1906, and Nancy 
J., born August 26, 1909. 

Claude F. Hough, cashier of the Mulvane State Bank, Mulvane, 



BIOGRAPHY 807 

Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born at "Woodland, Barry county, 
Michigan, on March 24, 1873. He is a son of Christopher A. and 
Minerva J. (Rowlader) Hough. Christopher A. Hough, the father, 
was born in Ohio on January 25, 1846. The mother was born in 
Woodland, Mich., on May 18, 1854. They were married at 
Woodland on July 3, 1871. Joseph Hough, grandfather of Claude 
F., was born in Pennsylvania on April 21, 1821, and married Miss 
Ann N. Monasmith and moved to Woodland, Mich., where he 
died on April 15, 1886. His widow died on April 9, 1901. 
Christopher A. Hough, father of Claude F., learned the trade 
of carriage and wagon maker, at which he worked in Woodland. 
He served four years as county treasurer of Barry county, and was 
a member of Co. "C," One Hundred and Ninety-eighth 0. V. 
Infantry. In 1889 he was elected cashier of the Farmers' and 
Merchants' Bank at Nashville, Barry county, Michigan, which 
position he still holds. Claude F. Hough attended school at 
Hastings, Mich., and in 1890 began work in a bank as bookkeeper, 
which position he held until December 1, 1899, when he moved 
to Mulvane, Kan., and accepted the position of cashier of the 
Mulvane State Bank, which position he still holds. On March 
4, 1896, Mr. Hough was married to Miss Mildred C. Rowlader, 
who was born in Woodland, Mich., on October 31, 1876, a daughter 
of Washington and Catherine (Miller) Rowlader. Mrs. Hough's 
father was born in Herkimer county, New York, on December 
8, 1830, and her mother was born in Ionia, Mich. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hough have two children, Helen L., born October 2, 1900, and 
Claude F., Jr., born September 22, 1909. Mr. Hough is a director 
and treasurer of the Mulvane Ice and Cold Storage Company and 
secretary and a director of the Mulvane Mutual Telephone Com- 
pany. Fraternally he is a member of Mulvane Lodge, No. 201, 
A. F. & A. M., of which he is past master. He is a Republican 
in politics and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Joseph D. Houston, of Wichita, Kan., is the senior partner in 
one of the most prominent legal firms practicing in the South- 
west, that of Houston & Brooks, organized in 1898, with offices 
in the First National Bank building. The firm engages in a gen- 
eral practice, but its specialty is corporation law, and acts as 
counsel for many of the large corporations of Wichita and other 
parts of the state of Kansas. Mr. Houston is a native of Ken- 
tucky, having been born in Bourbon county, that state, on March 
17, 1858. His parents were F. W. and Fannie L. (Simpson) 



808 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Houston. Mr. Houston obtained his education in .the public 
schools of his native state and at Kentucky University. After 
his graduation from the latter in 1879 he began the study of law 
at Shelbyville, Ky., with the firm of Caldwell & Howard, a noted 
legal firm in the state, and afterward supplemented this by a 
course in the Cincinnati (Ohio) Law School. He was admitted 
to the bar in 1879 and has since continuously practiced his pro- 
fession. Finding the field in Kentucky rather restricted, Mr. 
Houston looked about for a larger one, and in 1880 removed to 
Kansas. He located at Wichita and at once opened an office 
for the practice of his profession and has been successfully 
engaged in general practice since that time. Mr. Houston was 
married on April 8, 1885, to Miss Fanny Eddy, of Hillsdale, 
Michigan, and from this union there has been issue two children : 
Aleen and Gwendolyn Houston. Mr. Houston has taken an 
active interest in the Masonic Order, being a thirty-second degree 
Mason and a Shriner. 

J. E. Howard, of Wichita, Kan., is one of the millers of 
Wichita, commencing business about fifteen years ago, when mill- 
ing Kansas hard turkey wheat was drawing the attention of the 
world to Kansas as a great wheat producing state. 

The first export bill of lading out of Wichita on a car of 
Kansas flour was put through one of the Wichita banks by the 
Howard Mills Company in 1895, or soon thereafter, when their 
mill was located on East Murdock avenue. Their business has 
expanded by virtue of the high grade of flour produced by them 
until in 1900 the present plant of 300 barrels capacity was 
erected on West Douglas avenue. There the company's brands 
have grown in favor and are sold at nearly all points within fifty 
miles of Wichita. 

Mr. Howard is a native of the state of Ohio, where he was born 
the 3d of March, 1848, and is a son of Jeremiah E. Howard, Jr. 
Mr. Howard's education was acquired in a common school in 
Ohio. He moved to Burrton, Kan., the fall of 1874, and resided 
there until 1901, when he moved to Wichita, Kan., and has resided 
there since that date. 

Mr. Howard married Ellen Hicks, of Ashtabula county, Ohio, 
in 1869. They have three children, C. R. Howard, an officer and 
one of the active managers of The Howard Mills Company ; Fannie 
A. Howard, who resides at home with her parents, and Florence 
Howard, who is married and lives in the city. 



BIOGRAPHY 809 

Mr. Howard is a member of the Modern Woodmen and the 
A. 0. U. W. He has been president of the Chamber of Com- 
merce, also of the Wichita & Southwestern Fair Association, 
county commissioner, and has been president of the Associated 
Charities since its organization ten years ago, excepting about 
eighteen months. 

He was one of the first to stir up public interest in the com- 
mission form of government. His great hobby has been freight 
rates and the removal of discrimination against the transporta- 
tion interests in southwestern Kansas, and until the final consum- 
mation of what is known as the Hepburn Law was enacted he 
was a member of the executive committee of the National Inter- 
state Commerce Law Convention and at its dissolution at the 
enactment of the above law Mr. Howard was vice-chairman of the 
organization. 

This organization had 400 and over commercial organizations 
throughout the United States, all working under the direction of 
this committee. This organization was the only one in active 
operation and did so much to bring pressure on congress to 
enact favorable legislation for the shipping interests. 

Daniel S. Howe, who is counted among the successful business 
men of Wichita, Kan., is a native of St. Lawrence county, New 
York. He was born in 1848 and is the eldest of a family of three 
children born to William S. and Eliza (Stratton) Howe. The 
father was a native of the Green Mountain state and settled in 
St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1842. He was a carpenter 
and contractor and a successful business man. He was descended 
in direct line from John Howe, who settled in Plymouth in 1623. 
Daniel S. acquired his early education in the schools of St. Law- 
rence county and later was graduated from the Eastman Com- 
mercial College at Poughkeepsie, N. Y., and in 1866 went to St. 
Joseph, Mo., where, for three years, he was engaged in the fire 
insurance business. Returning to St. Lawrence county, New 
York, in 1869, he lived there three years, engaged in the dairy 
business, and then, in 1872, went to Boston, where he dealt in 
horses, cattle and hogs. From 1885 till 1896 Mr. Howe was 
employed traveling through the central western states as buyer 
for the Erie Preserving Company, of Buffalo, N. Y., and then 
took up his residence in Wichita, his present home. Here he has 
devoted himself to loaning money on city property, exclusively, 



810 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

with eminent success. He is an active member of the local lodge 
of Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

In 1869 Mr. Howe married Miss Abbie Brown, a daughter of 
Mr. Tyler Brown, of St. Lawrence county, New York. Of four 
children born to them, William T. lives in Spokane, Wash. ; Le- 
land M. resides in Chicago ; Mabel is married to Mr. Leon Courser, 
and Bernice is the wife of Mr. Louis Stark, and both live in St. 
Lawrence county, New York. 

In 1901 Mr. Howe married Mrs. Jennie Myers, of Kansas City, 
and they have a beautiful home at No. 1218 Bitting avenue, 
Wichita. 

Charles C. Hoyt,* merchant, of Kechi, Sedgwick county, Kan- 
sas, was born July 21, 1867, in Indiana. His parents were Benja- 
min F. and Mary (Flint) Hoyt, the father being a native of In- 
diana and the mother of Michigan. The ancestry on the paternal 
side is traced to England, and on the maternal, to Holland. 
Charles C. Hoyt was the eldest of three children. His parents 
moved to Kansas and located in Grant township, Sedg- 
wick county, and afterwards moved to Wichita, where the father 
died in 1908. His widow died August 5 of the same year. 
Charles C. Hoyt attended the public schools of Indiana up to his 
seventeenth year and afterwards worked as a laborer for some 
time. He was married February 5, 1895, in Wichita, to Miss 
Elizabeth Widder. Two children have been born of this union, 
Reece and Irene. Mr. Hoyt engaged in the mercantile business in 
Wichita in 1896 for himself, and continued in a general store 
there for ten years. He then disposed of his business and went 
to New Mexico, where he engaged in the real estate business. 
Coming back to Sedgwick county, he bought out the general store 
of G. S. Warner at Kechi, and has been conducting it ever since. 
He and his wife are members of the Baptist church. Mr. Hoyt is 
an independent in politics. 

Myron L. Hull is the director of the Metropolitan School of 
Music of Wichita, Kan., which was established by Mr. Hull 
March 1, 1905. In its first year the school had an enrollment of 
100, which was increased to 300 in 1910. The school specializes 
on the piano, brass and stringed instruments. Mr. Hull was 
born in Butler county, Kansas, on August 24, 1874. His parents 
were Lewis and Eliza (St. Clair) Hull, natives of Ohio, who came 
to Kansas in 1873 and located in Butler county, where they resided 
until the death of Mr. Hull in 1902, at the age of sixty-one. 



BIOGRAPHY 811 

Myron L. Hull was the fourth child of a family of seven, all of 
whom are living. He was educated in the public schools of 
Butler county, the Augusta High School and the Great Bend 
• (Kansas) Normal School, and also received a commercial train- 
ing. His musical education was begun at the College of Music 
in St. Joseph, Mo., and while there he studied violin and voice 
culture. In 1903 Mr. Hull went to Chicago, where he studied 
with Prof. F. W. Root, Signor Tomaso and Joseph Kneer, the 
latter being for years associated with the Thomas Orchestra. He 
then went to Philadelphia, Pa., where he had charge of the 
Osborne Conservatory of Music for the term of 1904. While in 
Philadelphia Mr. Hull also studied with Mr. F. W. Wurtele, of 
that city, and afterward supplemented this with a course of 
instruction under W. A. Fritschy and Samuel Siegel, of New 
York City. After this Mr. Hull returned to Kansas and opened 
a chain of schools, including Wichita and Oklahoma City. The 
Wichita school grew to such proportions that Prof. Hull was 
obliged to devote his whole attention to it, and from this begin- 
ning the Metropolitan School of Music developed and has become 
one of the leading institutions of its kind in the Southwest. 
Prof. Hull is well known in musical circles and has sung with 
the Apollo Club in recital and also in the church choirs of 
Wichita. He was for three years with the Masonic Quartet and 
is frequently a singer at Jewish services. Prof. Hull has also 
devoted considerable time to composing. Two of his compo- 
sitions for mandolin, an instrument which he has adopted as his 
especial favorite, "Lullaby, A Token," and "Barcarolle, The 
Gondolier's Dream," have been especially well received. 

Alvin C. Hunter, proprietor of the Cash Meat Market, fancy 
groceries and delicatessen, No. 217 East Douglas avenue, Wichita, 
Kan., is a native Kansan. He was born on a farm in Delano town- 
ship, Sedgwick county, on August 7, 1873. His parents were 
Bazil W. and Thursey (Richcreek) Hunter, natives of Ohio and 
Indiana, respectively, who came to Kansas in the '60s and took 
up a claim in Delano township. They sold their farm in 1874 
and moved to Wichita, where the elder Hunter died soon after 
at the age of thirty-nine. His widow survived him until April 8, 
1906, when she died at the age of sixty-six. Alvin C. Hunter 
was the youngest of a family of three children, two boys and one 
girl, all of whom are living. Mr. Hunter was educated in the 
public schools of Wichita and began work when still young in 



812 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

the slaughter house of J. L. Moore & Son, where, after learning 
the butcher business, he began for himself in company with his 
brother, V. J. Hunter, and opened a shop on the West Side four 
years later. After conducting this market for two years they 
sold it out. Alvin C. Hunter then went to Oklahoma and his 
brother to Colorado. In Oklahoma Alvin C. took up a claim and 
proved it up, when he sold it out and returned to Wichita, where 
he again embarked in the butcher business, adding groceries, 
etc. On October 10, 1904, he located at his present stand, and 
has since that time more than doubled his stock to meet the 
increasing demands of his trade, and he now has one of the lead- 
ing places of its kind in the city. Mr. Hunter is a member of 
the fraternal order of the Modern Woodmen of America and is 
also a member of the Christian Church. He was married in 1894 
to Miss Minta A. Anderson, of Mt. Hope, Kan. Of this union one 
child has been born, Thursey Lenora Hunter. 

Prank Isbell, proprietor and sole owner of the Wichita base- 
ball team, with headquarters at 127 South Main street, Wichita, 
Kan., is one of her citizens in whom Wichita takes a justifiable 
pride. "Izzy, " as he is familiarly known, has won his fame in 
the baseball world, in which he takes high rank as an important 
figure. He is a native of the Empire state, having been born at 
Delevan, N. Y., on August 21, 1875. His parents were John N. 
and Julia B. (Lawton) Isbell, who were natives of New York. 
They removed to Minnesota in 1880 and after a residence there 
of ten years decided to locate in Kansas. Young Isbell 's edu- 
cation was acquired in the public schools of North Branch, Minn., 
and McAlister College, St. Paul, Minn. As a boy he was always 
devoted to athletic sports. He began his baseball career as a 
pitcher at Virginia City, Minn., in 1896, with the Iron Range 
team, where he won thirteen out of fourteen games in which he 
played. His brilliant work attracted the attention of Charles 
Comiskey, who was then manager of the St. Paul club in the 
Western Association, and the latter signed young Isbell in the 
fall of 1896, playing him in the outfield. In 1898 Comiskey sold 
Isbell to the Chicago National League, where he was utilized as 
pitcher and utility man. In August of the same year Isbell was 
sold back to the St. Paul team and remained with the club until 
the end of the season of 1899. In the spring of 1900 the American 
League was organized and Comiskey took his team to Chicago. 



BIOGRAPHY 813 

Isbell remained with this club during the years 1900 to 1909, 
inclusive, and in the latter year came to Wichita. 

In the spring of 1905 Dr. Shively, president of the "Western 
Association, endeavored to raise capital for the purchase of the 
Pittsburg, Kan., franchise, on condition that Isbell would take 
charge of the club. Several prominent citizens were interested 
and the necessary capital was quickly subscribed and the fran- 
chise turned over to Isbell, but it was impossible for the latter to 
leave Chicago. So he called W. J. Kimmell, of Enid, Okla., who 
came to Wichita and assisted by the business men organized a 
stock company and took over the franchise. In the fall of 1907 
Mr. Isbell and John Holland paid $7,100 for the club and Mr. 
Holland took charge. Kansas was placed in the Western Asso- 
ciation territory in 1905. Holland and Isbell got busy, put a 
deal through and got into the Western League in the spring of 
1909. In the spring of 1908 Isbell remained with the club until 
June 25, when he went to Chicago and played with the White 
Sox during the seasons of 1908 and 1909. In the spring of 1910 
Comiskey, through friendship, granted Isbell an unconditional 
release, and he returned to Wichita and bought Holland's inter- 
ests. Thus he was able to hold the fort at Wichita and is now 
sole owner and proprietor of the club. "Izzy" made a record 
in the world series of 1906, making four successive two-base hits 
in one game, which has never been equaled. In selecting a site 
for a home for himself he was able to secure and build on the 
spot occupied by the diamond in the early eighties. Mr. Isbell 
is a member of the Masonic fraternity, having attained the thirty- 
second degree, and is a Shriner. He is also a member of the 
Young Men's Christian Association, the Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks, the Knights of Maccabees, and the Chamber 
of Commerce of Wichita. He was married in 1898 to Miss Addie 
A. Baker, of Wichita, and is the father of one child, James 
LaFloyd Isbell. 

E. W. Jewell, furniture dealer, of Mount Hope, Sedgwick 
county, Kan., was born June 25, 1860, in Princeton, Mo. He 
is a son of D. W. Jewell, a native of New Jersey. The mother 
was a native of Ohio. The remote ancestors of the family in 
the paternal line were English. D. W. Jewell was born on the 
Monmouth battlefield in 1813. He moved from New Jersey to 
Ohio with his parents in 1817, where they settled for a time at 
Middletown. The father of E. W. Jewell was married twice, the 



814 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

first time to a Miss Shaffer, of Middletown, Ohio. Of this union 
eight children were born, four of whom are now living. In 1835 
the elder Jewell moved to Cass county, Michigan, and engaged 
in farming. In 1852 he again moved to Council Bluffs, Iowa, 
where his first wife died in 1850. Mr. Jewell's second wife was 
Miss Sarah Clapp, a daughter of Newton Clapp, of South Whit- 
ley, Ind. Four children were born of this union, A. W., E. W., 
Mary and D. I. In 1852 the elder Jewell started for Oregon, 
but on account of sickness and the Border Ruffian war he was 
unable to proceed further than Princeton, Mo., where he lived 
twenty-three years. In June, 1878, he moved to Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, near Mount Hope, and lived there up to the time of his 
death in 1884. He was a successful farmer and held the office of 
County Clerk at Princeton, Mo., for two years. His second wife 
died in 1901. E. W. Jewell obtained his education in the common 
schools of Missouri and Kansas, which he attended up to the age 
of twenty-one. He was then for two years clerk in a store at Mount 
Hope and then was clerk in a furniture store with Mr. Bardshar 
nine months, and in 1884 purchased the latter 's interest in the 
business. He is now the sole proprietor of one of the largest 
retail furniture stores in southern Kansas, having a big trade 
in Kansas and Oklahoma. Mr. Jewell is a member of the Masonic 
Order, Blue Lodge, No. 238, in which he has been Junior Deacon 
and Senior Deacon. He is a Republican in politics and active 
in the interests of his party. Mr. Jewell was married to Miss 
Elma Kennedy, of Ravenna, Mo., on September 8, 1886. Mrs. 
Jewell was educated in the common schools of that place and in 
a musical college at Des Moines, Iowa, and Leavenworth, Kan. 
For several years she has taught instrumental music in Mount 
Hope and is known as an accomplished musician. Six children 
have been born of the union, all of whom are living. They are : 
Nellie, Carrie, Gladys, Mary, Edwin A. and Gertrude. The 
oldest, Nellie, is now (1910) attending the Mount Carmel Insti- 
tute at Wichita. The other children are attending the city 
schools of Mount Hope. 

Frederick M. Johnson, wholesale and retail dealer in coal, 
hay, feed and building material, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of 
Illinois, having been born at Peoria, that state, on August 3, 
1858. He is a son of John M. and Lucinda 0. (Ayers) Johnson, 
his father being a native of Norway, while his mother was a 
native of Vermont. The elder Johnson was born and reared in 



BIOGRAPHY 815 

southern Norway, about fourteen miles from Christiania. He 
was born in 1830 and at the age of twenty came to the United 
States, first locating at Lawrence, Mass., where he met and 
married Miss Ayers. The elder Johnson was a building con- 
tractor and a man well versed in business affairs. After their 
marriage the couple removed to Peoria, 111., where the balance 
of Mr. Johnson's business life was spent. He died January 18, 
1898, and his widow later came to "Wichita, where she died 
April 3, 1902, at the age of seventy years. Frederick M. Johnson 
was the eldest of two children, and his brother, Charles F. John- 
son, is now a resident of Freeport, 111. Frederick M. Johnson 
acquired his education at the public schools of Marseilles, 111., 
and the Dixon (111.) Business College. He began at the age of 
seventeen to learn the contracting and building business with 
his father, and after a period of ten years with him 
became superintendent for large firms, which he followed 
successfully for another ten years, in the meantime acquir- 
ing several interests on his own account. Failing health 
brought him to Kansas in 1900, and becoming infatuated 
with the country and the possibilities which he saw in 
Wichita, he returned to his Illinois home, where he arranged 
to close up his business affairs and in 1902 came to Wichita, 
where he has since resided. On his arrival in Wichita he at once 
began operations in the contracting business, which he continued 
until he established his present business in 1906. His offices are 
at No. 812 West Douglas avenue and his yards are located at 
No. 120 North Handley street. Mr. Johnson was elected the 
first alderman from his ward when Marseilles, 111., was made a 
city. He is a member of the West Side Commercial League, of 
Wichita. On his mother's side his family dates back to the old 
line families of both England and the New England states, the 
famous jurist, Salmon P. Chase, being in the same line. 

Wallace W. Johnson,* retired farmer and Civil War veteran 
of Derby, Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born in Jefferson county, 
Ohio, on December 16, 1831. His parents were William and 
Nancy (Pomfert) Johnson. In March, 1871, Mr. Johnson came 
with his father to Sedgwick county, Kansas, where both pre- 
empted 160 acres of land. The father's land was in Rockford 
township, Sedgwick county, while that of Wallace W. was in 
Gypsum township. The latter did not stay in Gypsum township 
long, as he sold his land and moved to Rockford township, where 



816 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

he lived till he moved to Derby. Mr. Johnson enlisted in the 
spring of 1863 in Company I, Forty-first Ohio Infantry, and served 
until the war closed. He was wounded while in action at Reseca 
and New Hope Church. After the war, Mr. Johnson returned to 
his Ohio home, where he remained until he came to Kansas, and 
has spent his life in farming until a few years ago, but is now 
living retired in Derby. Mr. Johnson has never married. He is 
a member of the G. 4- R« P ost at Derby, a Republican in politics 
and a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Charles W. Jones, proprietor of the Jones Bicycle and Sport- 
ing Goods House, of "Wichita, Kan., is a native of the city, having 
been born in 1880. He is the son of G. W. C. and Minnie (York)- 
Jones, natives of New Zealand and England, respectively, who 
came to Wichita in the early 70s. The elder Jones was for a 
time prosecuting attorney of Sedgwick county. Charles W. 
Jones was educated in the public schools of Wichita, and while 
gaining an education acted for five years as a carrier boy for 
one of the newspapers of the city. While so employed the 
paper started a voting contest, offering as a prize a scholarship 
in a correspondence school. Young Jones had every one of his 
long line of customers campaigning for him and he easily won 
by a large majority, and selected electrical engineering. Mr. 
Jones' first employment was with the firm of Musselman Bros., 
then the only bicycle and sporting goods concern of any size 
in Wichita. He remained with this firm for some years, leaving 
it to go with the Wichita Auto Company in the repair depart- 
ment, and became thoroughly skilled in all the intricate details 
of any sort of motor mechanism. In the fall of 1909 he left the 
automobile company and organized his present business at No. 
209 North Main street. From the start he was more than suc- 
cessful. The first morning he opened up and before his fixtifres 
or half the stock had arrived he sold three bicycles and a lot of 
supplies that made him gasp at the rosy inauguration. Mr. 
Jones is an eager sportsman, a hunter, rod and fly expert, base- 
ball enthusiast, bicyclist, and lover of every athletic diversion 
where one can absorb pure fresh air. He is a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce and an enthusiastic member of the 
Masonic fraternity. He was married in 1908 to Miss Edith 
Fegtly. 

James M. Jones, one of the pioneers of Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, is a native of North Carolina, having been born in 



BIOGRAPHY 817 

Alexander county, that state, on May 28, 1843. His parents 
were Calvin and Miriam (Watts) Jones, both natives of the 
Tar Heel state. The elder Jones was born June 7, 1811, and 
his wife on May 27, 1814. The father of Calvin Jones, John 
Morley Jones, came from Wales in Colonial times, he and his 
father, Thomas Jones, settling near Baltimore, Md., coming to 
North Carolina after the close of the War of the Revolution. 
John Morley Jones' wife's maiden name was Ruth Basket. 
Calvin Jones resided in his native state until after the close of 
the Civil War, in 1866, when he moved to Missouri, leaving 
Missouri in 1870 and settling in Crawford county, Kansas, in 
which county both he and his wife died, the latter in 1873 and 
the former in 1897. James M. Jones came to Kansas with his 
parents, and came to Sedgwick county in 1875 and pre-empted 
the 160 acres on which he is now living. To his original quarter 
section he added another, and is now the owner of 320 acres. 

On December 20, 1868, Mr. Jones was married to Miss Rox- 
anna Russell, who was born in Missouri. Four sons have been 
born to them, viz. : Joseph C, of Viola township ; M. Hall, of 
Jones City, Okla. ; T. Elmer, who is now taking a seminary course 
in the Baptist Theological Seminary, Kansas City, Kan., and R. 
Lee, who is now in the Ottawa University, Ottawa, Kan. Mr. 
Jones has served as Justice of the Peace for several years, and 
is now (1910) serving his third term as trustee of Viola town- 
ship, having recently been re-elected for the fourth term. While 
farming he devoted his time to grain and stock raising, but is 
now practically retired, his son Joseph attending to the farm. 
Fraternally Mr. Jones is a member of Viola Lodge, No. 518, 
Independent Order of Odd Fllows, in which he has passed the 
chairs and is now Past Grand of the order and a member of the 
Grand Lodge. In politics he is a Democrat. He is a member of 
the Baptist Church. 

Oliver Winslow Jones, County Treasurer of Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, and member of the Board of Education, Wichita, Kan., 
is a native of New York state, he having been born at White 
Plains, Westchester county, April 10, 1862. His parents were 
Oliver Jones and Miriam (Austin) Jones. The education of Mr. 
Jones was obtained in what is now the borough of Brooklyn, a 
part of Greater New York City, where he attended the public 
schools, and at Sterling, Kan. In 1875 the family decided to move 
to Kansas and located at Sterling, where Mr. Jones was engaged 



818 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

in school work. In 1886 he was appointed principal of the 
Hutchinson schools, where he served for five years with the 
utmost satisfaction to the community. He resigned this position 
to go to Mulvane, Kan., to occupy a similar position with the 
schools of that city at a higher rate of compensation, and where 
he remained five years, leaving Mulvane to come to Wichita in 
1896. In that year M. J. Loyd appointed Mr. Jones his assistant 
as County Treasurer, and for eleven years he served faithfully 
and ably in this capacity, being retained in the position through 
the administrations of two years with D. E. Boone and all of 
Euodias Webb's administration. He was nominated on the 
Republican ticket in 1908 for County Treasurer and elected, and 
re-elected November, 1910. Term expires October, 1913. 

He was married in 1888 to Minnie W. Bush. Four children 
have been born to this union, Kenneth K., Donald F., Miriam and 
Dorothy. Fraternally Mr. Jones is a thirty-second degree Mason, 
a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is also a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce and the Riverside Club. 

Winfield Scott Jones, deceased, was born at North Village, 
Lincoln county, Maine, on July 9, 1848, and died at his home near 
Mt. Hope, Kan., on July 12, 1909, at the age of sixty-one years. 
Mr. Jones was married to Mrs. Minnie Dorch on February 12, 
1871, at Preston Lake, Minn. Seven children were born to this 
union, three boys and four girls, six of whom are now living: 
Warren S., Lucy, Alta, Edward, Iva and Lillie. Warren S. mar- 
ried Miss Jennie Hart and lives in Oklahoma. They have two 
children. Lucy married W. H. White and they have three chil- 
dren. Alta married R. W. Peavey and they have no children. 
Edward married Mrs. Edythe Dunlavy and they have no children. 
Iva lives with her sister, Lucy, on the home place. Lillie married 
J. F. Mighario and lives at Wellington, Kan., and has one child. 
Winfield Scott Jones was a member of the G. A. R. He enlisted 
in the Fifteenth Regiment, Maine Volunteer Infantry, on Febru- 
ary 22, 1864. After a residence of ten years, he, with his family, 
came to Sedgwick county, Kansas, where he bought 160 acres 
of land, and at the time of his death owned 240 acres two and a 
half miles east of Mt. Hope. His wife died October 31, 1900. 

Henry Jorgensen,* cashier of the First National Bank of Mt. 
Hope, Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born February 15, 1848, in 
Germany, and came to the United States in May, 1870. He had 



BIOGRAPHY 819 

learned the trade of machinist in the old country and, locating 
in New York, worked at his trade until 1875. In that year he 
moved to Mercer county, Illinois, and farmed as a renter until 
1878. On August 14, 1878, Mr. Jorgensen moved to Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, and bought 160 acres of railroad land near Mt. 
Hope. He remained on this land until 1900, and after retiring 
from agriculture was the owner of about 1,100 acres of improved 
land in Sedgwick county and elsewhere. He was a successful 
general farmer. After retiring from farming, Mr. Jorgensen 
became interested in the State Bank of Mt. Hope as a stockholder, 
which bank afterwards became the First National Bank of Mt. 
Hope, and in 1899 he became its cashier. The bank has a capital 
of $25,000 and a surplus of $10,000. Mr. Jorgensen is one of a 
family of four children, three of whom are living. Sophia Dora 
is deceased ; Antonia lives in Germany. Mr. Jorgensen was con- 
scripted in the military service in Germany and on examination 
proved his right to a discharge, his father paying for his educa- 
tion while in the military service. The family can trace its rec- 
ord back three hundred years. Mr. Jorgensen was married to 
Miss Mary Ball, a daughter of Peter Dall, of Germany, in New 
York city, September 2, 1871. Mrs. Jorgensen is also a native of 
Germany. Eight children have been born of this union, five of 
whom are now living. Those living are : Henry J., born July 20, 
1872, a farmer, married and father of one child ; Charles S., born 
August 20, 1874, a farmer, married, with one child ; Fritz C, born 
November 21, 1876, married, with one child; John F., born Decem- 
ber 12, 1883, married, with one child, and Mary, now Mrs. Porter, 
of Greeley township, and mother of one child. Fritz C. and John 
F. are assistant cashiers in the bank with their father. Mr. Jor- 
gensen was a trustee of Greeley township for three years and on 
the school board ten years. He is a member of the Congregational 
church and a Democrat in politics. 

Worth Kautz, of "Wichita, Kan., is known to all devotees of 
the automobile in the city, where he operates an extensive garage 
and automobile business. Mr. Kautz is a native of the Hoosier 
state, having been born at Rising Sun, Ind., on March 28, 1851. 
His parents were Jacob and Mary Ann (Walker) Kautz, the 
father born in Ohio. The family originally came from Switzer- 
land, and his mother tracing her origin to Scotland. The senior 
Kautz moved to Illinois from Indiana in 1853, and in 1859 the 
family moved to Missouri, where the father remained until his 



820 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

death, which occurred in Caldwell county, Missouri, in 1890. The 
elder Kautz was a cooper by trade, and was the father of nine 
children, seven of whom are still living. Worth Kautz was the 
eighth child born to his parents, and his early education was 
obtained in the public schools of Jacksonville, 111. After the 
family moved to Missouri Mr. Kautz remained with his parents 
for some years, but finally decided to strike out for himself, and 
moved to Kansas. He located in Sedgwick county, where he 
bought eighty acres of school land in Greeley township. He 
afterwards homesteaded a quarter section in Oklahoma, and 
after proving up his claim sold the property and took up a resi- 
dence in Mount Hope, Kan., where he was engaged in the hard- 
ware and implement business for three years. He then moved 
to Kechi township and bought 210 acres in Sections 34 and 35, 
on which he remained until 1908, when he came to Wichita and 
engaged in the garage business. Mr. Kautz and his step-son are 
the sole owners of the Southwestern Auto Company, with offices 
at 427 North Main street. Mr. Kautz has been married twice. 
His first wife was Miss Annie Little, of Mount Hope, to whom he 
was married on October 3, 1881. After the death of his first 
wife Mr. Kautz was again married in May, 1898, to Mrs. Mattie 
Clements, of Mount Hope, Kan. Two children have been born of 
this latter union. Politically, Mr. Kautz may be called an Inde- 
pendent, but his affiliations are generally with the Populists. He 
is a member of the Christian Church. 

John W. Keene, general contractor and cabinetmaker, of 
Wichita, Kan., was born in Madison county, Kentucky, on April 
8, 1878. His parents were Robert and Polly (Pinkston) Keene, 
natives of Kentucky, who moved to Champaign county, Illinois, 
in 1894 and there engaged in farming. John W. Keene was 
educated in the public schools of Champaign county and began 
to learn the carpenter's trade in 1897. He worked for various 
firms until 1905, when he branched out for himself and has since 
conducted a prosperous business. In 1908 he moved to Wichita, 
where his shop is located at No. 307 West Douglas avenue. He 
makes a specialty of general contracting, cabinet and interior 
work for first-class buildings. Fraternally Mr. Keene is a mem- 
ber of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Woodmen of 
the World. On June 25, 1904, Mr. Keene was married to Miss 
Marie L. Carroll, daughter of Daniel Carroll, of Normal, 111. 
One child has been born of this union, Lawrence C. Keene. 



BIOGRAPHY 821 

William H. Kelchner, owner and proprietor of Kelchner 's 
Meat Market, of "Wichita, Kan., is a native of Pennsylvania, hav- 
ing been born at Harrisburg, the capital of the Keystone state, 
on June 24, 1864. He is a son of John and Christina Kelchner, 
natives of Pennsylvania, and is the eldest of a family of ten chil- 
dren. Only three of the brothers came to Wichita, viz. : David L., 
J. 6. Ross and John. The elder Kelchner died in Pennsylvania in 
1904 at the age of sixty-eight. William E. Kelchner was educated 
in the public schools of his native city and began in the meal, 
business at the age of fourteen. He was first employed in the city 
market in the city of Harrisburg. He came to Wichita in 1887 
and opened a market at No. 607 North Market street, and a 
year later changed his location to No. 448 North Main street, 
where he conducted business for seven years. He then moved 
to No. 131 North Main street, and seven years thereafter to No. 
406 East Douglas avenue, and here continued until June 1, 1910, 
when he removed to his present spacious quarters in the Daisy 
Building, Nos. 115 and 117 South Topeka avenue, where he now 
conducts one of the largest and most modern plants of the kind 
to be found in the United States, the fixtures and equipment 
having been installed at a cost of $25,000. The market occupies 
the entire first floor of the Daisy Building, the dimensions of the 
room being 50 by 130 feet. Through the center runs a partition. 
In the front part is the display room, and in the back room the 
cooler, cutting room and refrigerator plant. The floor is tiled, 
the pillars are marble, and the beams, wainscoting and all fur- 
niture and cases are quarter-sawed oak. The plant is equipped 
with Brecht's refrigerating machine. All the equipment is of 
the latest make and design. It comprises a sixteen-ton refriger- 
ator, a cold storage room 20 feet wide and 40 feet long, which is 
kept at a uniform temperature of 2 degrees above freezing, a 
freezer 16 feet by 16, a modern fish department, the temperature 
of which is 20 degrees below freezing, and a cooler 12 feet by 12 
for cheese. Carcasses of beef and all heavy pieces of meat are 
transported to the cooler and cutting-rooms on an automatic 
overhead track. The refrigeration is sanitary, no ice being used. 
All meats are cut in the back room. The refrigerator counter is 
40 feet in length, and the display case 40 feet long, 12 feet angle 
and 5 feet clear, with beaded glass plate doors, and all electric 
lighted. The plant is sanitary throughout and complies with 
the most rigid requirements of the pure food laws. Mr. Kelchner 



822 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

is a Mason, a member of the Consistory, of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, of the Red Men, the Maccabees, the 
Sons of Hermon and the Fraternal Aid. He is also a member 
of the Young Men's Christian Association, the Wichita Commer- 
cial Club and the Chamber of Commerce. He is a member of the 
Reformed Church and a member of the School Board of Wichita. 
Mr. Kelchner was married on December 25, 1889, to Miss Jennie 
Hinkle, daughter of Mrs. Elizabeth Hinkle, formerly of New 
Orleans. Mrs. Kelchner was born in Illinois. 

W. C. Kemp, one of the prosperous young business men of 
Wichita, Kan., is a native of Park county, Indiana. He was born 
in 1883, and is a son of A. K. and S. J. Kemp, both of whom were 
natives of Indiana. They settled on a farm in Kiowa county, 
Kansas, in 1884, where the father also opened and conducted a 
general store, and served as postmaster, and also ran a line of 
stages between Kiowa and Wichita before the railroad was built. 
In 1902 he helped to organize and incorporate the Citizens' State 
Bank of Wichita, of which he was made vice-president, and in 
1903, removed to Wichita with his family and became president of 
the bank, and filled that office till his decease in 1907. His widow 
now lives there with her son. Our subject acquired his early 
education in the schools at Kiowa and supplemented this with two 
years' study at the Friends' University at Wichita. On leaving 
the University he entered the bank as assistant cashier, and in 
1908 was promoted to the office of cashier, which he now fills. 
This bank is reckoned among the substantial financial institutions 
of Wichita, its present officers being W. S. Hadley, president; 
G. E. Outland, vice-president, W. C. Kemp, cashier, and H. C. Out- 
land, assistant cashier. In religious faith Mr. Kemp is affiliated 
with the Friends' Church of Wichita. In 1906 he married Miss 
Blanche, a daughter of Mr. C. W. Jones, of Wichita, and they 
enjoy the comforts and pleasures of a happy home, with a choice 
circle of friends. 

Patrick Kennedy, Civil War veteran, of Valley Center, Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, was born in Ireland on December 26, 1843. 
jHe is a son of Patrick W. Kennedy, who immigrated to the 
United States when his son was three years old. The elder Ken- 
nedy located first in New York, where he remained ten years, and 
then removed to Marysville, Union county, Ohio, where he lived 
until his death in 1873. He was the father of six children, three 
of whom came with him to this country. Patrick Kennedy had 



BIOGRAPHY 823 

but a limited education, and worked as a laborer until he 
enlisted in the army in 1863. He entered the service as a private 
in the First New York Light Artillery, which after being 
equipped for duty was sent to Washington. There it was attached 
to the Army of Virginia, and took part in the Battle of the 
Wilderness, where General Wadsworth fell mortally wounded. 
The regiment was also in the engagements of Coal Harbor, Mine 
Run, Hotchkiss Junction and Weldon railroad, and took part in 
all the battles and skirmishes in the rear of Petersburg. It was 
very close to the mine called "Fort Hill" when it was blown up, 
in describing which Mr. Kennedy says: "I thought the earth 
was sinking away from my feet. ' ' Mr. Kennedy received a severe 
wound while in the service, from the effects of which he has never 
fully recovered. After serving his time of three years in the 
army Mr. Kennedy returned to his former home, where he 
remained until 1871. During this year he located on a quarter 
section of land in Grant township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, 
and while here he worked as a laborer on the railroad. In 1874 
he purchased 160 acres in Section 30, Grant township, where he 
now resides. Mr. Kennedy is a member of the G. A. R. and 
present Post Commander in Valley Center. He is also a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. On April 29, 1875, Mr. Ken- 
nedy was married to Miss Eliza L. Allen, of Sedgwick county. 
Ten children have been born of this union, of whom eight are 
living. The children are : Charles, Rosa, Edgar, David, Grace, 
Willie, Jessa and Virgil. Rosa is now Mrs. Will Lemin ; Grace is 
now Mrs. Clark, and has two children. Mr. Kennedy is a Repub- 
lican in politics with an inclination to be Independent of late 
years. 

Samuel B. Kernan, who has filled a prominent place in the 
affairs of Wichita and Sedgwick county, is a native of the Key- 
stone state, having been born in Monongahela City, Pa., on May 
26, 1851. He is the son of F. F. and Margaret J. (Pattern) Ker- 
nan, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. Samuel B. Ker- 
nan was educated in the public schools of Monongahela City, and 
after leaving school was engaged in farming in Pennsylvania 
until the spring of 1883, when he came to Kansas and located in 
Wichita. His first business venture was to engage in the real 
estate business, but after a short time he abandoned this to 
embark in the mercantile line, and continued in this line for 
twenty years in the city of Wichita. At the end of this time 



824 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

he again entered the real estate business, in which he has since 
continued. Mr. Kernan has always taken an active interest in 
the political affairs of his city and county, and in 1905 was elected 
a county commissioner, and in 1907 was again renominated and 
elected. During his term of office he had much to do with the 
construction of the concrete bridge over the Arkansas river to 
the West Side, and proved himself to be an important factor in 
many other improvements for the betterment of the city of 
Wichita and the county of Sedgwick. Other political offices held 
by Mr. Kernan have been those of treasurer of the city of Wichita 
and president of the School Board. Mr. Kernan has also taken a 
keen interest in fraternal orders, and is a prominent Mason, 
besides being a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and the Knights of Pythias. Mr. Kernan was married in 1874 
to Miss Emma J. Warne, of Monongahela, Pa., and from this 
marriage there has been issue one son, Dr. J. F. Kernan, of 
Wichita. 

Ellwood D. Kimball, who has achieved a prominent place in 
the mortgage loan world of Wichita, Kan., is a scion of the 
Granite state. He was born at Nashua, N. H., on September 29, 
1859. The family is an old and historic one, tracing their ancestry, 
back to the Puritan days of 1640. The parents of Mr. Kimball 
were John G. and Betsy Chandler (Spalding) Kimball, both of 
whom spent their entire life in New England. Young Kimball ac- 
quired his early education in Nashua, where he went through the 
grammar grades, the Nashua High School, after graduation from 
which he went to historic Dartmouth College, from which he 
received the degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1861 and Master of 
Arts in 1884. His first occupation was that of a teacher of Latin, 
in which capacity he served the Ray en (funded) High School at 
Youngstown, Ohio, during the years 1882-83-84. Mr. Kimball 
came to Wichita in December, 1884, and at once engaged in the 
loan business as a clerk in the office of Judge W. C. Little. 
During the years 1885-86 he was engaged as a clerk, but in 1887 
he was admitted to a partnership, the style of the firm being 
Little & Kimball. This partnership continued until 1890, when 
the firm organized the Wichita Loan and Trust Company, with 
Mr. Little as president and Mr. Kimball as treasurer. The com- 
pany continues in business until the present time, but in 1891 
Mr. Kimball withdrew and engaged in the mortgage loan busi- 
ness, in which he has been successfully engaged ever since. Mr. 



BIOGRAPHY 825 

Kimball has been actively identified with affairs in the city and 
county and is a member of the Commercial Club, the Country 
Club, the Chamber of Commerce and the Masonic fraternity, 
including the commandery and consistory. He is also a Shriner. 
Mr. Kimball is also a life member of the New England Historical- 
Genealogical Society, of Boston, Mass., and the Kansas State 
Historical Society. Mr. Kimball was married on September 12, 
1888, to Miss Luella A. Johnson, daughter of Levi L. Johnson, of 
Burton, Ohio. Mrs. Kimball is president of the Colonial Dames 
of the State of Kansas. 

Harvey 0. Kimel,* farmer and thoroughbred horse breeder, of 
Ninnescah township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born in Illi- 
nois on January 22, 1867. His parents were Thomas K. and Re- 
becca (Mounts) Kimel. Thomas Kimel, the father of Harvey 0., 
moved from Illinois to Kansas in 1873 and preempted 160 acres 
of land in Section 8, Ninnescah township. Harvey 0. Kimel came 
to Kansas with his father and remained at home on the farm until 
1892. On February 17, 1892, Mr. Kimel married Miss Dora T. 
Grimsley, who was born in Missouri on January 22, 1871, a daugh- 
ter of James and Tinsey C. (Ross) Grimsley, who came to Sedg- 
wick county from North Carolina in 1877. Mr. and Mrs. Kimel 
have three sons, viz. : Chester L., born January 2, 1893 ; Herschel 
R., born May 16, 1895 ; Donald T., born August 5, 1900. In the 
spring of 1891, Mr. Kimel bought 320 acres of land in Section 4 
and later bought 160 acres in Section 9. For a number of years 
Mr. Kimel has made a specialty of Aberdeen Angus cattle, but is 
now interested in the breeding of Percheron horses, Charmant, 
Jr., being at the head of his stud. He also has a fine thorough- 
bred two-year-old, besides several registered mares. Aside from 
his interests in horses, Mr. Kimel does general farming. Fra- 
ternally Mr. Kimel is a member of the Modern Woodmen of 
America. He is a Republican in politics and a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

O. D. Kirk, the present incumbent of the Probate Court at 
"Wichita, Kan., is a native of Monticello, White county, Indiana, 
and was born March 29, 1849, to Henry C. and Mary A. Kirk. 
He acquired his early education at Battle Ground, Ind., and then 
took up the study of law at Lafayette, where he was admitted to 
the bar April 18, 1875. Mr. Kirk began the practice of his pro- 
fession at Lafayette, but in 1877 removed to Wichita and opened 
an office at No. 103 West Douglas street. In 1899 he was elected 



826 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

judge of the City Court. At the close of his term, in 1901, he 
resumed his practice and continued it till 1906. He was then 
elected judge of the Probate Court for two years, and at the close 
of his term, in 1908, was re-elected for a second term. In politics 
Judge Kirk has always been a Democrat. On August 18, 1878, he 
married Miss Mary E. Viele, of Schuylerville, N. Y. Their only 
child, Viele, born in June, 1883, married Miss Edith Seamans, of 
Wichita, and is now employed with the Long-Bell Lumber Com- 
pany. Judge Kirk is a Mason, Knights of Pythias, Odd Fellows, 
Grand Army of the Republic, and also belongs to the Wichita 
Chamber of Commerce. 

R. F. Kirkpatrick, head of the Cement Stone Manufacturing 
Company, No. 505 West Douglas avenue, Wichita, Kan., is a 
native of Ohio, having been born at Decatur, Ohio, on January 
24, 1861. His parents were Newton and Sallie (Sutton) Kirk- 
patrick, both natives of Ohio, and who were both lifelong resi- 
dents of Brown county, in that state. R. F. Kirkpatrick was 
reared on a farm, where he was engaged in the cultivation of 
tobacco until the age of thirty-two. Much of his education was 
obtained at night by private study after the day's work was 
ended. In the spring of 1893 he came to Kansas and for a short 
time resided at Mount Hope, in Sedgwick county, but in the fall 
of the same year he removed to Johnson county, Nebraska, where 
he farmed for one year. At the opening, in 1893, of the Cherokee 
Strip in Oklahoma in 1894 he took a chance on the new country, 
and bought a quarter section in the northeast corner of Garfield 
county. He built a sod house, removed his family thereto, and 
began life in a primitive fashion, improving the land until it 
became one of the best farms of the locality. In the spring of 
1897 the sod house was supplanted by a modern frame house and 
other improvements, in keeping with the demands that labor and 
energy had brought about. Mr. Kirkpatrick still owns this farm. 
December 19, 1903, Mr. Kirkpatrick came to Wichita and began 
his concrete plant in the spring of 1904, manufacturing the first 
cement stone on March 6, 1904, and has since manufactured 
everything needed as to size or style in the cement line for 
Wichita and the nearby towns. After getting the plant in opera- 
tion he had a working capital of only $40. The business of the 
first year amounted to $12,000, and it has continued to progress 
until it has now reached $100,000 annually. Mr. Kirkpatrick is 
a member of the Central Christian Church. He was married in 



BIOGEAPHY 827 

1882 to Miss Mary J. McEfresh, of Dayton, Ohio. Of this union 
two children have been born, Myrel, wife of William Williams, of 
Saratoga, Okla., and Bessie P. Kirkpatrick, of Wichita, who was 
married November 6, 1910, to Leroy Solander, of Wichita. 

Samuel Kockel, Civil War veteran, of Mount Hope, Sedgwick 
county, Kan., was born July 14, 1843, in Stark county, Ohio. His 
father was Isaac Kockel, a native of Pennsylvania. The ancestry 
on both sides of the family is traced to Holland. A great-great- 
grandfather of Mr. Kockel fought in the Revolutionary War and 
was at the battle of Brandywine. The father of Mr. Kockel 
moved from Pennsylvania to Ohio in an early day and first 
located in Massillon. After a residence there of ten years he 
moved to Defiance county, Ohio, and lived there up to the time 
of his death in 1884, his wife having died in 1847. Samuel Kockel 
obtained a limited education in the public schools of Ohio, and 
began his career as a farm laborer in Ohio, which pursuit he 
followed until 1860. In that year he moved from Defiance county 
to Allen county, Indiana, and remained there one year, when he 
returned to Defiance county, Ohio. In the spring of 1861 Mr. 
Kockel enlisted in Company F, Forty-eighth Ohio Volunteer 
Infantry, and was sent to Camp Dennison, where the regiment 
remained two months, thence to Cincinnati, Ohio, where the regi- 
ment took a steamer for Paducah, Ky., where it was equipped 
for service. The regiment was then ordered to Pittsburg Land- 
ing, and was one of the advance regiments that arrived on that 
famous battlefield, where it fought for two days and nights with- 
out intermission, and followed up the rebel retreat clear to 
Corinth, fighting every inch of the way. From Corinth the regi- 
ment was sent to Memphis, Tenn. ; thence to Holly Springs, Miss. ; 
thence up the Yazoo river to Arkansas Post ; thence up the Mis- 
sissippi river to Miliken's Bend; thence back to Vicksburg, Miss.; 
fought in the engagements of Magnolia Hills, Champion Hills and 
Black River Bridge, and back to Vicksburg. After some expedi- 
tions from Vicksburg the regiment was ordered to New Orleans 
and was in the fight on Red river at Mansfield, La. Mr. Kockel 
was taken prisoner there and was sent to Fort Tyler, Tex., and 
was exchanged in 1865. He went back to New Orleans and 
received a thirty days' furlough to return home. After the expi- 
ration of his furlough he reported at New Orleans and was sent to 
Galveston, Tex. ; from there to Pensacola, Fla. ; then to Houston, 
Tex.; then to Galveston, from which point the regiment was 



828 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

sent to Columbus, Ohio, and was discharged. In the battle of 
Shiloh Mr. Kockel received two severe wounds. He was a brave 
soldier and remained in the service until the close of the war. 
After his discharge he returned to Defiance county, Ohio, and on 
March 29, 1868, was married to Miss Eliza Hanna, of that county. 
Of this union two children were born, both of whom are now 
deceased. After his marriage Mr. Kockel removed to Ford 
county, Illinois, where he farmed two years and then moved back 
to Ohio and farmed there for eight years. He then sold his prop- 
erty and in 1878 moved to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and bought 
160 acres of railroad land, which he has occupied ever since and 
brought to a high degree of cultivation. Mr. Kockel has been a 
successful farmer. In 1895 he removed to Mount Hope, where he 
now lives in his own beautiful residence. 

Frederick Otis Ladd, of Cheney, Kan., manager of one of the 
largest grain elevators in Sedgwick county, was born February 
4, 1850, in Dearborn, Mich. His parents were Daniel and Mar- 
garet (James) Ladd. His father was a native of Vermont, while 
on the maternal side the ancestry is traced back to England. 
The elder Ladd went to Canada West, now the province of 
Ontario, and then moved to Dearborn, Wayne county, Mich., 
where he followed his trade of a millwright. He later removed 
to Pratt county, Kansas, where he now resides. Frederick 0. 
Ladd obtained a common school education, and then, following 
in the footsteps of his father, learned the millwright's trade 
under John Webster, of Detroit, Mich. In 1873 he went to Min- 
neapolis, where he worked on the large flour mills of that city 
for five years. He then returned to Kansas and located in 
Wichita, where he was engaged in mill building for some time. 
In 1885 he went to Lyons, Rice county, Kan., where he operated 
a mill for five years for Corning & Done. He left Lyons in 1890 
and went to Pratt county, Kansas, where he operated and man- 
aged a mill for John McGruder for four years, and then settled 
on a farm owned by him, on which he worked for one year. He 
then came to Cheney and became manager of the Cheney Grain 
and Elevator Company, which was organized in 1900 and built 
by Mr. Ladd. This he has managed ever since. The concern 
does an extensive business and is one of the largest in Sedgwick 
county. Fraternally Mr. Ladd is a Mason, having for twenty-one 
years been a member of Dearborn Lodge, No. 172, of Dearborn, 
Mich. Politically he is a Republican. Mr. Ladd was married on 



BIOGRAPHY 829 

March 11, 1893, to Miss Etta McGruber, daughter of John 
McGruber, of Cairo, Kan. His wife is a native of Missouri. One 
son, Fred D., has been born of this union and is now fifteen years 
old. The father of Mrs. Ladd is proprietor of the flour mills at 
Cairo, Pratt county, Kan. 

John Laurie,* farmer and stock raiser, of Salem township, 
Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born in Scotland, February 4, 1841. 
His parents were William and Mary (Martin) Laurie, both natives 
of Scotland, where they spent their entire lives. John Laurie re- 
mained in Scotland until March 25, 1870, when he came to the 
United States. He first settled in Knox county, Illinois, where 
he remained only a short time, and in June of the same year went 
to Abilene, Kan., where he bought a pony and rode to Sedgwick 
county, and preempted 160 acres of land in Wichita township. 
He remained on this land until 1878, when he went south of Clear- 
water, in Sumner county, and bought a quarter-section of grass 
land for his stock, where he lived seven years. He then returned 
to his farm in Wichita township, where he lived until 1888, when 
he sold his original claim and bought 320 acres in Section 26, 
Salem township, where he still lives. On June 22, 1866, Mr. 
Laurie married Miss Isabella McCracken, who was born in Scot- 
land in 1838. Of this union four children have been born, viz. : 
William, of Douglas county, Missouri ; Robert, who died in Scot- 
land ; Mrs. Mary Mason, in Washington, and Thomas M., who lives 
on the home place. Mrs. Laurie died February 17, 1906. Mr. 
Laurie spent many years in the stock business and of late years 
feeds about one carload of cattle and two carloads of hogs. Be- 
sides this, he does diversified farming. For a number of years he 
raised Shorthorn cattle and is now raising pure Berkshire hogs. 
Mr. Laurie has never aspired to office. He was elected justice of 
the peace, but declined to serve. He has been on the school board 
for several years, and was treasurer of the Farmer's Alliance for 
some years. He is a member of the Presbyterian church. 

Ezra D. Leasure, general manager of the Rock Island Lumber 
& Coal Company, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of Pennsylvania, 
where he was born on January 3, 1857. His parents were Daniel 
and Rebecca (Jamison) Leasure, natives of Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, and Scotland, respectively. Abram Leas- 
ure, Ezra D.'s grandfather, was a native of France, and came 
from Switzerland to Pennsylvania nearly a century ago. Ezra 
D. Leasure was educated in the public schools of Iowa, to which 



830 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

state he had removed with his parents in early childhood, the 
family locating at Des Moines. Mr. Leasure grew to manhood 
in Jefferson, Green county, Iowa, where he remained for eighteen 
years. In 1877 he went to the Black Hills and soon after to San 
Francisco, where he was employed by the Wells-Fargo Express 
Company, returning to his home in Iowa two years later. In 
1879 Mr. Leasure moved to Kansas and was engaged for two 
years with S. A. Brown & Co., at Fredonia, in the lumber busi- 
ness, in the capacity of treasurer and auditor. He was next 
employed by G. B. Shaw & Co., a Chicago firm operating in 
Kansas City, Mo., as traveling auditor. Later he became local 
manager for this firm in offices at Burlington, Coffeyville, Chanute 
and Elk City, Kan. October 23, 1886, Mr. Leasure became man- 
ager of the Rock Island Lumber & Coal Company, and has been 
continuously in the employ of that company since, either as local 
manager or traveling auditor. In May, 1909, he came to the 
"Wichita office as general manager of the business in Kansas and 
Oklahoma. The lumber business was established in Wichita in 
April, 1886, succeeding John B. Carey. Mr. Leasure is a member 
of the Masonic Order and the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. He was married in 1883 to Miss Orlena M. Campbell, of 
Fredonia, Kansas. They have one son, Charles A. Leasure, trav- 
eling auditor for the Rock Island Lumber & Coal Company. 

Lea A. Garrett, local manager of the Rock Island Lumber & 
Coal Company, is a native of Missouri, where he was born Feb- 
ruary 3, 1872. He moved to Wichita in the spring of 1903, began 
as yard man with the company, later bookkeeper and superin- 
tendent of yards, and local manager since June, 1909. 

Fred J. Cossitt, cashier of the Rock Island Lumber & Coal 
Company, was originally in the employ of Mr. Carey as early as 
1882, and is the only one of Mr. Carey's employes to continue 
with the new company. 

William T. Logsdon, M. D., of No. 116 East Douglas avenue, 
Wichita, Kan., is a native of Indiana, having been born at Eureka, 
that state, on August 9, 1858. His parents were Samuel and 
Cyrene (Osborn) Logsdon, natives of Kentucky and Indiana, 
respectively. The father was a land owner and merchant and 
died in 1877, at the age of fifty-five. His widow died in 1907 
at the age of eighty-six. The doctor's early education was 
acquired at the public and high schools of his native town, after 
leaving which he obtained employment as a drug clerk and was 



BIOGRAPHY 831 

engaged in mercantile pursuits for the next ten years, when he 
decided upon a professional career and took up the study of 
medicine. He received his medical education at the University 
of Louisville, Ky., from which he was graduated in the class of 
1889. Later on he took a four years' course at the Chicago 
Homeopathic College, from which he graduated in the class of 
1902. His medical practice began at Eureka, Ind., continuing 
for thirteen years and up to the time that he began his addi- 
tional course of training at Chicago. In 1902 the doctor decided 
to move to Wichita, but after a stay of two and a half months 
he returned to Indiana and located for a time at Rockport, where 
he built up a large practice. The fascination of the Southwest 
and its possibilities was ever with him, however, and in 1905 he 
again became a resident of Wichita and a partner of Dr. 0. J. 
Taylor, under the firm name of Taylor & Logsdon, which part- 
nership continued until 1908, when each established separate 
offices. Dr. Logsdon is a member of the Kansas State Medical 
Society, the American Medical Association and the Sedgwick 
County Medical Society. Fraternally he is a thirty-second degree 
Mason and a member of the Knights of Pythias. He is also a 
member of St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1879 the 
doctor was married to Miss Ora E. Ireland, daughter of Dr. J. M. 
Ireland, of Francisco, Ind. Of this union three children have 
been born, viz.: Ora, wife of W. J. Weiss, of Wichita; Dr. 
Ronald O., practicing physician at Bentley, Kan., and Glenn T. 
Logsdon. 

Nathaniel W. Longenecker, veterinary surgeon, of Wichita, 
Kan., was born in Lancaster, Pa., in 1850. His parents were 
Emerald and Martha (Hershey) Longenecker, natives of Penn- 
sylvania, and on the maternal side the ancestry of the family can 
be traced back for 250 years, some of the ancestors holding 
claims to land which were signed by William Penn. The Longe- 
neckers were of Swiss origin, and the ancestors on that side are 
traced back for several centuries. Emerald Longenecker, father 
of Nathaniel W., moved to Kansas in 1873. Nathaniel W. Longe- 
necker is also numbered among the pioneers of the state, to which 
he moved in 1868, locating first in Wilson county, when the 
county seat contained but two houses. In 1873 Mr. Longenecker 
made a trip to Texas, and in November of the same he returned 
to Kansas, then back to Pennsylvania, where he remained till 
1887, when he returned, locating in Wichita, where he has since 



832 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

resided, taking up the profession of a veterinarian and running 
large stables and a feed barn in connection. His present building 
at No. 500 West Douglas avenue was remodeled and enlarged to 
a brick structure in 1904. Mr. Longenecker has followed his 
chosen profession since 1869. 

Henry H. Loudenslager, farmer, of Maize, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, is a native of the Keystone state, having been born in 
Juniata county, Pennsylvania, on November 7, 1841. His parents 
were Samuel S. and Hetty (Rowe) Loudenslager, the ancestry 
on the paternal side being traced to Switzerland and on the 
maternal to Germany. Mr. Loudenslager, with a family of three 
children, came from Pennsylvania in 1871 and located on Section 
18, Park township, Sedgwick county, where he homesteaded 160 
acres of land. He still lives on the original homestead, but has 
added to it other land in Section 19, so that he now owns 230 
acres of as valuable land as is found in Sedgwick county. Since 
he has been a resident of the township Mr. Loudenslager has 
held several minor offices. For a long time he has been a mem- 
ber of the school board, has always favored good schools and has 
done all in his power to promote them. He was the founder 
and builder of the Maize Academy, and Was second to none to 
furnishing the capital to build it. Mr. Loudenslager was mar- 
ried January 7, 1864, in Juniata county, Pennsylvania, to Miss 
Susan B. Smith, a daughter of Jacob and Catherine Smith. Of 
this union seven children have been born, all of whom are living. 
They are : Emma B., Adda M., Cora E., Hetty C, Cline S., Louis 
H. and Murray O. Mr. Loudenslager is a member of the Knights 
of Pythias, the Fraternal Aid Society and the A. H. T. A. He is 
a member of the Lutheran Evangelical Church, and in politics a 
strong Republican and active in the party. He became a mem- 
ber of the Pennsylvania militia in 1862 and took part in the Civil 
War, his regiment being commanded by Colonel Lee. The regi- 
ment was attached to the Army of the Potomac and was at 
Antietam. After that battle it did patrol duty for one year, 
when Mr. Loudenslager was discharged. He then re-enlisted for 
three months, was at the battle of Gettysburg, and after that the 
regiment did patrol and guard duty up to the time of its dis- 
charge at Reading, Pa., in 1863. Mr. H. H. Loudenslager also 
founded and located the town of Maize in the year of 1886. 

Charles A. Magill, secretary and treasurer of the Johnson & 
Larimer Drygoods Company, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of Illi- 



BIOGRAPHY 833 

nois, having been born at Chicago on December 29, 1861. His 
parents were Charles and Esther (Chalker) Magill, natives of 
the Bermuda Islands. The elder Magill was a sea captain, who 
located at Buffalo, N. Y., in 1856, and in Chicago soon afterward. 
Both he and his wife are now dead. The education of Charles A. 
Magill was obtained in the public schools of Chicago. He came 
to Wichita in 1878, at the age of sixteen, and clerked for John 
Dunscomb until the latter went out of business, and then for 
A. Hess, in the wholesale and retail grocery business, until 1882, 
when he went to Kingman, Kan., and entered into business for 
himself. At Kingman he started in the mercantile business under 
the firm name of Magill & Smyth, but Mr. Magill later purchased 
the interest of his partner and the business is now conducted 
under the name of the C. A. Magill Mercantile Company. "While 
still conducting this business Mr. Magill has been secretary and 
treasurer of the Johnson & Larimer Drygoods House, the largest 
in the Southwest, and which is described in the historical chap- 
ters of this work. Mr. Magill has been associated with this 
house in the capacity of secretary and treasurer since January 1, 
1902. He was one of the original partners to purchase the John- 
son interests. The present officers of the company are as follows : 
John L. Powell, president; W. E. Jett, vice-president; C. A. 
Magill, secretary and treasurer. Mr. Magill is a member of all 
the Masonic bodies and is a thirty-second degree Mason. He is 
also a member of the Commercial and Country Clubs, a director 
of the Young Men's Christian Association, and junior warden of 
St. John's Episcopal Church. Mr. Magill is a firm believer in 
the future of a Greater Wichita. He was married in the Ber- 
muda Islands on January 25, 1888, to Miss Evangeline Ward, of 
Hamilton, Bermuda. Of this union there has been issue four 
children, viz. : Edmund C, R. Ward, Gladys E. and Mary Esther 
Magill. He has just finished a beautiful home of ten rooms, 
colonial style, of stucco material, located at 1208 North Emporia. 
Dr. Francis Milton Mahin, of Cheney, Kan., is a practitioner 
of the regular school. He was born August 4, 1869, in White 
county, Indiana. His remote ancestors on the maternal side are 
traced to Germany and on the paternal side to Scotland. His 
parents emigrated from Indiana to Elk county, Kansas, in 1880, 
and resided there twelve years, when the father went to Arkansas 
City, Kan., and resided until 1908, and from there to Chicago, 111., 
where he now lives and is engaged in the commission business. 



834 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

The early education of Dr. Mahin was acquired in the schools of 
Elk county and at the Baker University, at Baldwin, Kan. He 
graduated in the State Normal School at Emporia in the class of 
1898, and while there represented the State Normal School in the 
Interstate Oratorical contest. He then entered the University 
of Louisville, Ky., from which he was graduated in the class of 
1904, with the degree of M. D. After the doctor acquired his 
education he began practice in Baldwin, Kan., where he remained 
one year ; then in Arkansas City one year, and came to Cheney in 
1906. Dr. Mahin is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
of Cheney, a member of the board of trustees, and the choral 
leader of the Sunday School. He is a Republican in politics but 
not a hide-bound one, as if he thinks there are better men' nomi- 
nated on the opposing tickets he will vote for them. Dr. Mahin 
was married on June 13, 1905, to Miss Margaret Tangeman, 
daughter of William and Margaret Tangeman, both natives of 
Germany. Mrs. Mahin is a cultured and literary lady. Her 
education was acquired in the public schools of Newton county, 
Kansas, and at the State Normal School at Emporia. Dr. and 
Mrs. Mahin have two children — Margaret and Jane. 

The doctor is specially fitted to treat chronic diseases, having 
all the latest equipment, such as is found in the larger cities. 
He keeps his reading up to date through his large library and 
the leading scientific and medical journals of the day. He now 
controls a large general practice. 

Fraternally the doctor is a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen of America. He is 
the medical examiner for the following life insurance companies : 
Union Central, Hartford Life, Bankers' Life of Iowa, Mutual of 
New York and the Modern Woodmen. 

D. M. Main, of Cheney, Kan., was born November 20, 1850, in 
Calhoun county, Mich. His parents were Joseph A. and Emma C. 
Main, the former a native of Connecticut and the latter of New 
York. On the paternal side Mr. Main traces his ancestry to 
Scotland. The father of Mr. Main removed from Adrian to Cal- 
houn county, Michigan, and died there at the age of ninety-two. 
D. M. Main was one of a family of eight children. His early edu- 
cation was obtained in the public schools of Michigan and in the 
high school at Battle Creek. In his early career he worked as a 
laborer and after accumulating $1,000 he concluded to try his 
fortune in the West. In 1879 he came to Kansas and located at 



BIOGRAPHY 835 

Mulvane, where he engaged in the hardware business, and with 
David Badger formed a partnership under the firm name of 
Badger & Main, which lasted for three years. In 1883 Mr. Main 
removed to Cheney and engaged in the hardware business, which 
he conducted for twenty years. The business afterwards became 
Main & Northcutt, later being changed to Main & Crossley. Mr. 
Main retired from the business eventually and took up farming 
in a general way, living on his farm, a short distance from 
Cheney. He now owns 290 acres of valuable real estate, which 
he rents and derives a handsome revenue from. Mr. Main was 
married on August 22, 1882, to Miss Eva McCart, of Mulvane, a 
daughter of Robert McCart. Mrs. Main traces her ancestry on 
the maternal side to one of the descendants of the Mayflower. 
Mrs. Main is a lady of culture and refinement, having been 
educated in the State University of Fayetteville, Arkansas, where 
she graduated in the class of 1875. For several years previous 
to her marriage she was a successful teacher. In politics Mr. 
Main is independent. Fraternally he is a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen of 
America. 

A. S. Marble, of Cheney, Kan., a veteran of the Civil War, is 
a native of the Empire state, having been born in Steuben county, 
New York, on January 25, 1842. His parents were -Sidney and 
Phobe (Bullock) Marble. Sidney Marble was one of three 
brothers who came to the United States from Scotland at an 
early day. He left New York in 1844 and located in Michigan, 
where he died in 1861, his wife surviving him until 1898. The 
early education of A. S. Marble was obtained in the public 
schools of Michigan, which he left at the age of nineteen, and 
went to Champaign county, Illinois, where he was engaged in 
teaching school. He then enlisted in the Tenth Illinois Cavalry, 
Company I, and was sent with his regiment to Camp Butler and 
Quincy, 111. From there the regiment was sent to St. Louis, Mo. y 
and thence to the Army of the Southwest. Mr. Marble partici- 
pated in the following engagements : The battle of Pea Ridge,. 
Little Rock and Perry Grove. Under his enlistment he served 
three years and in 1864 he re-enlisted and was commissioned sec- 
ond lieutenant of Company I, Tenth Illinois Cavalry, the same 
regiment he was in before. During his first term of service he 
enlisted as a private and rose to the rank of corporal, then sear- 
geant and then orderly sergeant. During Mr. Marble's second 



836 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

term of service his regiment performed scouting duty. It was at 
Little Rock, Ark., from there it was sent to Louisville, Ky., thence 
to Nashville, Tenn., then back to northern Tennessee, then to New 
Orleans and Baton Rouge, La., then back to New Orleans again 
and then up the Red river to San Antonio, Tex. Mr. Marble was 
mustered out of the service January 6, 1866, and went back to 
Michigan. He was married in 1864 to Miss Mary E. Duncan, of 
Fawn River, Mich. Of this union two children were born, 
Thomas S. being the only one living. Mrs. Marble died July 4, 
1869, and in 1885 Mr. Marble was again married to Miss Alice J. 
Gott, daughter of John R. Gott, of Farlinville, Kan. One daugh- 
ter has been born of this union, who is now the wife of Nathan B. 
Hern of Cheney. After his marriage to his first wife Mr. Marble 
lived in Linn county, Kansas, where he was in the mercantile 
business for eight years; he then removed to Wyandotte, Kan., 
for four years and in 1885 moved to Cheney. He there for two 
years engaged in the lumber business for the Arkansas Lumber 
Company, who sold out to W. M. Pond & Co., with whom Mr, 
Marble remained twelve years, and has since that time been 
practically retired. He has built himself a handsome residence 
in Cheney, where he now resides, and devotes most of his time 
to the interest of lodge work. Mr. Marble is a member of Mor- 
ton Lodge, No. 258, A. F. & A. M., of the Eastern Star, the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows and the Daughters of Rebecca. 
Of the latter his wife is also a member. Politically Mr. Marble 
is a Republican. 

Fred W. Martin, manager of the Martin Metal Manufacturing 
Company, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of Kansas, in which state 
he was born on October 19, 1874. His parents were W. J. and 
C. C. (Martin) Martin. His education was acquired in Leon 
High School and he came to Wichita in 1899. When the Hocka- 
day Hardware Company was organized in Wichita eleven years 
ago Mr. Martin was the assistant manager and made good. 
When the Hockaday Company sold out to the Morton-Simmons 
Hardware Company Mr. Martin went along as an indispensable 
factor in the upbuilding of the new organization. Mr. Martin 
was secretary of that concern for one and a half years, and then 
resigned to become treasurer and manager of his present con- 
cern, which he was a prime factor in organizing. The Martin 
Metal Manufacturing Company has a capital of $75,000, and in 
the first year of business outgrew its big plant at 130 North 



BIOGRAPHY 837 

Mosley avenue, and in the spring of 1909 began the erection of 
its immense factory and warehouse at Nos. 300 to 310 Mosley 
avenue, which is 140 by 160 feet and two stories and basement. 
The company is organized as follows : Ed. Hockaday, King- 
fisher, Okla., president ; E. T. Battin, vice-president ; I. N. Hocka- 
day, secretary; Fred W. Martin, treasurer and manager. The 
company employs at all times at least thirty men, with three 
travelers on the road. It converts from raw material into fin- 
ished products from 250 to 300 of metal of various shapes per 
month. Its principal lines are roofing of all sorts, galvanized 
tanks, corrugated culverts, metal roofing and siding. Mr. Martin 
is a member of the Wichita Commercial Club and Chamber of 
Commerce, Masonic Arch Consistory and Shriners. Mr. Martin 
was married in 1894 to Miss Irene May Sullivan, of Salina, Kan. 
Three children were born to them : Lillian May, Hazel Carroll and 
Fred W, Jr. 

Ola Martinson, of Wichita, Kan., is one of those American 
citizens of Scandianavian birth whose labors have done so much 
for the upbuilding and development of the great West. Mr. 
Martinson was born September 20, 1844, in Gustav Adolph's 
parish, Kristianstad, Sweden, being a son of Hokan Martin 
Hakanson and Kjirsti Olson. He came to America in 1866 and 
for a short time lived in Chicago, 111., where he obtained a busi- 
ness education. While in Chicago he obtained work in the estab- 
lishment of S. B. Chase & Co. In June, 1869, Mr. Martinson 
moved to Emporia, Kan., and the following year came to Wichita, 
where he embarked in the bakery and confectionery business, 
which business he conducted for three years. In 1871 he pre- 
empted a government claim of 160 acres in section 29 of Delano 
township, Sedgwick county, and after living as a bachelor on 
the same for three years was married April 4, 1876, to Miss 
Sarah Kroffloch, daughter of John Kroffloch. Three children 
were born of this union : Ola E., William C. and Charles G. 
Mr. Martinson remained on his claim for seven years after his 
marriage, when he and his family moved to Wichita. His farm, 
to which he moved then was contiguous to the city, being only 
one mile from Main and Douglas streets. For the past six years 
Mr. Martinson has been actively engaged in the real estate busi- 
ness, operating for himself and for others on a commission basis. 
He has recently laid out a beautiful subdivision in West Wichita 
in valuable town lots, and is rapidly disposing of the same. Mr. 



838 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Martinson is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, 
the Fraternal Aid Society and the West Wichita League. He 
is a public-spirited citizen, an independent in politics and was 
brought up in the Lutheran faith. 

William E. Matteson, assistant cashier of the Farmers' Bank, 
Mt. Hope, Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born September 28, 
1869, in Germany, of which his parents were both natives. His 
parents came to the United States in 1872 and located at Moline, 
111., where the father farmed for eight years. In 1880 the family 
removed from Illinois to Sedgwick county, Kansas, where the 
father bought an eighty-acre tract, which he farmed up to the 
time of his death, which occurred on December 5, 1904. His 
widow is now living with her son, William E. At the time of 
the father's death he was the owner of 240 acres of improved 
land in Sedgwick county. William E. Matteson is one of a 
family of seven children, of whom six are now living. Their 
names are : John P., deceased ; William E. ; Tenna, now Mrs. 
D. C. Howe; Emma, now Mrs. Elmer Howe; George, living in 
Holy, Colo. ; Sophia, at home, and Henry, also at home. During 
the life of the father he was a Democrat. The early education 
of William E. Matteson was acquired in the common schools of 
Kansas (fall 1890 and 1891) . After leaving school he took a course 
in the Southwestern Business College, of Wichita, Kan., after 
which he attended the opening of the Cherokee Strip and resided 
there from September 16, 1893, until June, 1898, when he proved 
up, after which he came back to Mt. Hope, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, and farmed until in 1899 he went with the McCormick 
Harvesting Machine Company as traveling salesman and after- 
wards became connected with the Champion Harvester Com- 
pany. He afterwards returned to the old home place in Sedg- 
wick county and looked after the interests of his folks. In 
1909 he sold all of his personal effects in the farm and organized 
the Farmers' State Bank, of Mt. Hope, Kan., with a capital of 
$12,000, and was afterwards appointed its assistant cashier, which 
position he now holds. Mr. Matteson is a bachelor. He is a 
member of the Masonic Order, Mt. Hope Lodge, No. 238, of Mt. 
Hope, and its present secretary, and of Wichita Consistory No. 2. 
Politically he is a Democrat and takes an active part in the 
affairs of his party. He is now the county committeeman of 
Greeley township. He was turnkey at the jail for three years 



BIOGBAPHY 839 

under Cogswell's official time, and has been a delegate often in 
county and state conventions. 

Le Roy Matson, president of the Bank of Kechi, Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, was born August 14, 1859, in Princeton, 111. He 
is a son of Enos and Helen (Westbroke) Matson, his father being 
a native of Ohio and his mother of Pennsylvania. Mr. Matson 
received a limited education in the public schools of Illinois, and 
lived with his father, who was a prominent stock dealer in Illi- 
nois, until he was twenty-one. After leaving the home, he 
worked on a farm as renter up to the time he left his native state 
to finally make Kansas his home. He came to Kansas in 1896 and 
bought land in Payne township, then in Section 7. After a time 
spent in Wichita, he concluded to make Kansas his permanent 
home and went back to Illinois, where he married Miss Etta 
Schroeder, of Bureau county. Three children have been born of 
this union, viz. : Marie H., Enos and Paul. Fraternally Mr. Mat- 
son is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. He is 
president and director of the Bank of Kechi. For ten years he 
has been a member of the school board of his township and is 
greatly interested in good schools. Mr. Matson is the owner of 
640 acres of choice farm land in Payne township, Sedgwick 
county, Kansas. He was elected president of the Henderson Oil 
and Gas Company, but the market price of petroleum being so 
low it was thought best to suspend operations until it advanced 
in price. Mr. Matson for a long time was successful in raising 
hogs and cattle on the farm, but conceived the idea of breeding 
fast horses and is devoting much of his time to this business, find- 
ing it profitable. He commenced breeding from a single mare, 
which produced a colt afterwards known as Rushville, which sold 
for $1,000. Another colt of his breeding he sold for $500, and 
had offers of $1,000 for Sercher M. Some of the horses Mr. Mat- 
son has bred have made records of 2 :20y± and 2 :25. Sercher Boy, 
which he disposed of to George Pulis, of Wichita, Kan., made the 
time of 2:17 1 / 4. Previous to his marriage to Miss Schroeder, Mr. 
Matson was married to her sister, who died January 30, 1896. 
To this union one child was born, Harry L. 

Charles McCallum, president and manager of the Wichita 
Electric Construction Company, No. 119 North Market street, 
Wichita, Kan., is a native of Kansas, having been born in Cloud 
county in 1878. His parents were G. L. and Mary E. (McMickel) 
McCallum. The education of Mr. McCallum was obtained in the 



840 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

public schools of Kansas City, after which he was employed in the 
in the electrical business, Kansas City. It was not until 1905 
that he came to Wichita, and the same year he organized the 
Wichita Electric Construction Company, of which he has been 
president and manager since May, 1909. The business of the 
concern is electrical engineering, and it operates one of the 
largest plants of its kind in Wichita. Fraternally Mr. McCallum 
is a member of the Masonic Order and of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. He is also a member of the Chamber 
of Commerce and of the Christian Church. He was married in 
1906 to Miss Anna Morris, daughter of Clark Morris, of 
Sheldon, Mo. 

Charles C. McCollister, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of Kansas, 
having been born in the city of Wichita on July 20, 1879. His 
parents were Madison M. and Helen (Lester) McCollister, of 
Wichita. Mr. McCollister was educated in the public schools of 
Wichita and began his business life in the restaurant trade. He 
then took up the undertaking business, and enlisted in the Second 
Kansas Volunteer Infantry, Battery F, serving for three years 
and receiving his discharge February 19, 1903. After this Mr. 
McCollister entered the employ of the Wells-Fargo Express Com- 
pany, leaving this company to go with the Domestic Laundry, 
and for the past seven years he has been with the Peerless Laun- 
dry. He is also interested in the sale of electric pianos. Mr. 
McCollister was married on March 5, 1903, to Miss Neva Maude 
Raymor, daughter of John Raymor, of Junction City, Kan. Of 
this union two children have been born, Raymond C. and Helen 
M. McCollister. 

Madison M. McCollister, Coroner of Sedgwick county, Kansas, 
and a resident of Wichita, is now (1910) serving his twelfth year 
as Coroner. He was first elected in 1891, and served two years, 
again elected in 1899 and then served five years successively, 
again elected in 1903 and again in 1909. During the time he has 
been in office Mr. McCollister has empaneled over 200 juries. He 
was a deputy sheriff under Judge Reed. Mr. McCollister was 
born in Jamestown, Ohio, on October 27, 1846. His parents were 
Rev. John and Mary (Shook) McCollister, natives of Ohio and 
Kentucky, respectively. The parents spent their early married 
life in Ohio and Iowa, and then moved to Wichita, where the 
father was killed by an accident at the age of seventy-eight. His 
widow survived for six years and died at about the same age. 



BIOGRAPHY 841 

Mr. McCollister was educated at the public schools of his native 
town and in Iowa. In 1873 he went to the range, and four years 
later moved to "Wichita, locating on a farm in Waco township. 
Seven years later he received an injury which laid him up. In 
1861 Mr. McCollister enlisted in Company A, Eighth Ohio Regi- 
ment, for three months' service. He re-enlisted with his father 
in the following June in Company K, Ninety-fourth Ohio Regi- 
ment, and served in the battles of Perryville and Stone River. 
He was injured at States Ferry, having his collarbone broken, 
and was taken prisoner by Morgan's Cavalry. This injury 
resulted in complications from which he has never recovered. 
The father was wounded at the battle of Stone River, the injury 
resulting in permanent deafness, which brought about his fatal 
accident. Mr. McCollister is a member of Garfield Post, G. A. R., 
No. 25. He was married in 1877 to Miss Helen Leiter, a daughter 
of Andy and Sarah Leiter. Of this union the following children 
have been born, viz. : Charles C, Grace M., Mary M., Nellie M., 
Eveline L., John A., Georgia M., Ralph W. and Sarah, the latter 
being deceased. 

Fred G. McCune, of Wichita, did not begin his business life 
as an architect, but it must have been foreordained that he 
should become one. He is one of the high art architects of the 
city, whose tastes, training and temperament peculiarly fit him 
for his profession. Mr. McCune was born at Corydon, Wayne 
county, Iowa, his parents being W. E. and Mary Jane (Kirk) 
McCune. His early education was obtained in Corydon, Iowa, 
and he later graduated from Architecture College. After leav- 
ing school he was engaged in carpenter and steel construction 
work. Twenty-six years ago, in 1884, he came to Wichita, and 
for several years was employed in an executive capacity with the 
Rock Island and Santa Fe railroads, in the department of main- 
tenance and construction. Nine years later, in 1893, he took up 
his permanent residence in the city, having left the employ of 
corporations and entered the field of contracting and architecture 
on his own account. It was then a field of meager pickings, most 
of the buildings that men were putting up in those days being 
constructed with a jack knife, a hammer and a handsaw. Archi- 
tecture was then exceedingly primitive. But Mr. McCune stuck 
to it, and today some of the largest jobs in the city of Wichita 
and beyond its gates have been planned and the work of con- 
struction carried to successful culmination by him. Aside from 



842 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

architecture Mr. McCune's only hobby may be said to be fine 
horses, which he loves and usually owns. He is a member of the 
Order of Elks and the Knights of Pythias among the fraternal 
orders, and is also a member of the Chamber of Commerce. Mr. 
McCune was married in 1893 to Miss May Walter, of Kingman, 
Kan. From this union six children have been born, viz. : Nellie, 
Guy, Howard, James, Fred, Jr., and Dorothy May. 

He has under construction the Grow Street School. He built 
the College of Music, also dormitory for girls for same building, 
Whitlock Block, South Emporia ; the Ratcliffe Block, at Cunning- 
ham, Kan. ; Thomas Kirse Block, Medford, Okla. ; furnished plans 
for schoolhouses at Spivey, Kan. ; Sawyer, Kan. ; Hazelton, Kan., 
and Mays, Kan., and residences innumerable. He built the fine 
$25,000 residence of W. F. Kuhn, on University avenue, one of 
the finest in the state. He also built the Bolte Block, on South 
Lawrence, also the apartment house of A. W. Stoner, on Ninth 
and Market streets. 

George F. McCurley, contractor and builder, of Wichita, Kan., 
is a native of Missouri, having been born in Benton county, that 
state, in 1872. His parents were Thomas J. and Priscilla L. 
(Boyett) McCurley, natives of Tennessee, where they lived until 
the time of the Civil War, when they moved to Missouri and there 
spent the remainder of their days. Young McCurley was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Missouri, and after leaving school 
learned the trade of a carpenter. At the age of twenty-two he 
moved to Springfield, Mo., where for the next five years he was 
employed on contract work, building railroad bridges, depots, etc. 
He next took up the building of elevators with P. H. Pelky, at 
Winfield, Kan., and continued at this for the next five years in 
Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska and Texas. In January, 1904, Mr. 
McCurley came to Wichita, continuing in the employment of Mr. 
Pelky until February, 1907, when he branched out in business 
for himself in the contracting and building line. Since that time 
he has erected several fine churches and schoolhouses, besides 
doing a large quantity of general work. August 1, 1909, Mr. 
McCurley took charge of the Peerless Construction Company 
offices, located at No. 509 Winne Building, East Douglas avenue, 
the officers of which are: G. F. McCurley, president and man- 
ager, and Charles H. Reed, secretary and treasurer. Mr. McCur- 
ley is a firm believer in a greater Wichita. In fraternal orders 
he is a Past Grand of Wichita Lodge, No. 93, Independent Order 



BIOGRAPHY 843 

of Odd Fellows, a member of the Rebekahs, etc. He was married 
in November, 1904, to Miss Myrtle McBride, of Oklahoma, and is 
the father of two children, Alva Ray and Ruth Helen. 

Archibald E. McVicker, one of the well-known druggists of 
Wichita, Kan., is a native of the Dominion of Canada, having 
been born in Carleton county, Province of Ontario, on September 

15, 1867. His parents were Archibald E. and Caroline (Sullivan) 
McVicker, natives of Carleton county, Ontario, who came to 
Kansas May 12, 1870, locating in Kechi township, Sedgwick 
county, where they resided for a period of seventeen years. Mr. 
McVicker, Sr., died July 4, 1877, at the age of forty-three. His 
widow died March 9, 1909, at Cripple Creek, Colo., at the age of 
seventy-three. Archibald E. McVicker was the fifth child of a 
family of nine, four of whom are living, the others being Robert 
A., in Wichita, and Allen M. and John R. McVicker, at Cripple 
Creek, Colo. Mr. McVicker was educated in the public schools of 
Sedgwick county, studied while engaged in drug store and 
received his diploma from State Board, began in the drug busi- 
ness in Wichita June 26, 1884, with the firm of Swentzell & 
Douglas. He remained with this firm for three years, leaving 
them to enter the employment of George Van Werden, with whom 
he remained for the next nine years. In 1898 he embarked in 
business for himself with a stock of goods at No. 314 North Main 
street, continuing at this location until 1904, when he removed to 
No. 500 East Douglas avenue with a greatly enlarged stock, and 
has since continued as one of the most successful druggists of 
the city of Wichita. Fraternally Mr. McVicker is affiliated with 
the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He was married on 
December 25, 1895, to Miss Estella Cobb, daughter of Dr. Joseph 
Cobb, of Wichita. From this union there has been issue two 
children, Russell A., born June 9, 1897, and Kenneth, born March 

16, 1903. 

Hildreth C. Meeker, hardware merchant of Wichita, Kan., 
whose establishment is located at No. 822 West Douglas avenue, 
is a native of Iowa, where he was born at Eddyville on August 5, 
1859. His parents were Isaac and Amelia C. (Jennings) Meeker, 
natives of Zanesville, Ohio, and Baltimore, Md., respectively. 
They reared a family of nine children, all of whom were born in 
Ohio, Hildreth C. Meeker being the sixth child. It was in the 
early '60s that the family removed to Iowa, and it was some ten 
years later that they came to Kansas, locating at Atchison, 



844 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

where the father of the family continued work at his trade of a 
carpenter. Both of Mr. Meeker's parents are now dead. Hil- 
dreth C. was educated in the public schools of Atchison, and in 
1876, after leaving school, he came to Wichita in search of his 
fortune. He was first employed in a grocery store conducted by 
W. S. Corbitt. Seven years later he went to Pueblo, Colo., but 
after remaining there three years he returned to Wichita and 
entered the employ of D. J. Chatfield, who was engaged in the 
hardware business. Mr. Meeker was placed in charge of a branch 
store conducted by Mr. Chatfield in Cheney, Kan., as its man- 
ager, and this arrangement continued from 1882 to 1885. At the 
end of this time Mr. Meeker returned to Wichita and accepted a 
position as clerk in the postoffice mail service, a position which 
he held for eleven years consecutively. In 1905 he established 
himself in the hardware business on the West Side, a business 
which he has since conducted successfully. Mr. Meeker is a 
member of Sunflower Lodge, No. 86, A. F. and A. M., and also 
is a member of the Consistory, Fraternal Aid and the West Side 
Commercial League. He was married on December 25, 1883, to 
Miss Mattie A. Walker, only daughter of Judge W. F. Walker. 
John F. W. Meyer, familiarly known in Wichita, his home 
city, as "Billy" Meyer, is a native of Bassum, Germany, and was 
born in 1862, the son of A. R. Meyer and Sophia Meyer. He 
attended school in his native place, and when nineteen years old, 
in 1881, came to the United States and settled at Wichita, Kan. 
He first found employment as a clerk in the dry goods store of 
Thomas Lynch and later with Messrs. Innes & Ross. From 1890 
until 1896 he was employed as bookkeeper by Messrs. Mahan 
Bros., and re'signed that position to accept the office of deputy 
sheriff. After one year's service he returned to the employ of 
Mahan Bros. In 1898 he was the candidate on the Democratic 
ticket for City Clerk, but failed of an election. When in 1902 
the business of his former employers was incorporated as the 
Mahan Supply Company, Mr. Meyer became its vice-president 
and manager, and so continued until the company transferred 
its business to Kansas City in the spring of 1907, when he dis- 
continued connection with the company. In the fall of that year 
Mr. Meyer associated himself with and was made secretary of the 
Cox Bottling Company, located at No. 115 South Rock Island 
avenue, and still retains that relation. He is also financially 
interested in and treasurer of the Wichita Vinegar Works Com- 



BIOGRAPHY 845 

pany, and besides has interests in several other commercial enter- 
prises of Wichita. 

Mr. Meyer is active in fraternal organizations, being a mem- 
ber of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Knights of 
Pythias, Eagles and Sons of Herman societies of the city and 
state. He also holds membership in the Commercial Club. He 
is one of the most prominent German- Americans of Wichita and 
widely known all over Kansas. In 1896 he was elected Grand 
President of the Sons of Herman (a strictly German lodge) for 
the state of Kansas and from 1901 to 1909 he was Grand Repre- 
sentative of the State Grand Lodge to the National Grand Lodge, 
in which body he held an office for four years. In 1893 he visited 
his early home in the Fatherland and in 1894 he married Miss 
Nellie Murphy, of Fulton, N. Y., and enjoys the comforts and 
pleasures of a happy home. Again in 1909, accompanied by his 
wife, he visited his old home and parents and at the same time 
made an extensive trip through Germany, Switzerland, France 
and Italy. Mr. Meyer, although proud of his native country and, 
a lover and defender of the German customs, is a true German- 
American, always ready to boost the country of his choice, and 
above all his home city, Wichita. 

Charles M. Miles, of Goddard, Sedgwick county, Kan., was 
born March 8, 1835, at Goshen, Conn. His parents were William 
and Harriet (Collins) Miles, both natives of Connecticut. The 
grandfather of Charles M. on the paternal side was a soldier in 
the War of 1812. On the maternal side the ancestors were Scotch- 
Irish. The father of Charles M. died in 1849 and the mother in 
1864. Charles M. Miles possesses an academic education and 
began his business career as a clerk in DeWitt, Iowa. In 1857 he 
went to Pike's Peak and spent two years prospecting for gold. 
After this he returned to Connecticut, where he was married on 
March 8, 1864, to Miss Mary A. Lyman, a daughter of William 
and Mary A. Lyman, of Goshen, Conn. Nine children were born 
of this union, of whom six are now living. The names of the 
children are : Mary L., deceased, born February 15, 1865 ; Nelson, 
who married Laura Shores, born November 23, 1866 ; John C, 
deceased, born February 11, 1868; Lucy S., deceased, born 
November 18, 1870 ; Charles W., born February 29, 1872, married 
Winnie Duncan; Edgar M., born June 1, 1874; Helen C, born 
November 23, 1876 ; Lucy S., born November 3, 1879 ; Frances A., 
born September 13, 1882 ; Helen C, married to Howard C. Shafer, 



846 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

mother of one child. After his marriage Mr. Miles came West 
again, settling at El Paso, 111., where he was engaged in the 
milling business for seven years. In 1872 he came to Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, with a family of two children, and pre-empted 
160 acres of land in what is now Attica township, Section 33. 
By hard work and frugality he has added to this farm fourteen 
other quarter sections and an eighty-acre tract, the land being in 
different townships but all in Sedgwick county. Mrs. Miles also 
owns two quarter sections in Illinois township and two in Garden 
Plain township. Her father was also an early settler in Sedgwick 
county, coming to Kansas in 1873. He owned land in Section 
24, Afton township, and was a highly respected citizen. In his 
early days he was a Whig, but afterwards became a Republican. 
He cast his first vote for William Henry Harrison for President 
and his last for Benjamin Harrison. Mrs. Miles' father died on 
August 7, 1890, and her mother on April 10, 1907, at the age of 
ninety-four. At the time Mr. Miles came to Attica township there 
were three other men here, viz.: Ferd Holm, W. M. Shafer and 
Charles Setzer. All took up farms in the same section, where 
they all raised families, their children all being highly educated 
and some of them being efficient teachers and musicians. Mr. 
Miles is a Republican in politics. He was a trustee of Attica 
township for four terms, and a member of the School Board for 
fifteen years. 

Frank M. Mitchell, a prosperous farmer of Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was born October 4, 1856, to Martin and Honorah 
(Gagin) Mitchell, who immigrated from Ireland at an early day 
and settled at Ottawa, 111., and thence went to Dubuque, Iowa. 
In 1861 the family moved to Nebraska and from there to Missouri, 
where the father died in 1867. Six years later, in 1873, the 
mother moved with her family to Kansas, and pre-empted the 
southwest quarter of Section 14, in Illinois township, Sedgwick 
county, and there established the family home, where she passed 
the remainder of her life, her death occurring on January 12, 
1883. Our subject grew up on the farm and in 1876 pre-empted 
a quarter section of land in Morton township, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, and lived there till 1878, when he sold it and returned to 
the family homestead, where he has since made his home. He 
later bought the northwest quarter of Section 26, Illinois town- 
ship, and now owns 320 acres there, the quarter section last 
named being farmed by his son. 



BIOGEAPHY 847 

Mr. Mitchell is a thoroughly up-to-date farmer, and his farm 
is finely improved with a commodious farmhouse, substantial barn 
and other buildings and supplied with every needed equipment 
and appliance, and well stocked. He is a man of influence in his 
community and for more than twenty years has served on the 
local School Board. He has always been a Democrat in political 
belief, and is identified with the Roman Catholic Church. 

On October 1, 1882, Mr. Mitchell married Miss Julia A., 
daughter of Thomas and Mary (Conroy) Manning, who came 
from Ireland, their native land, in 1840, to Manchester, N. H. ; 
moved to Iowa in 1860, whence they moved to Illinois township, 
Sedgwick county, Kansas, in 1874. 

Of nine children born to Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell, Mary, born in 
1883, is married to Mr. Louis Scheier, of Kingman county, has 
one daughter, Julia, born in 1909 ; Martin A., born in 1885, mar- 
ried Miss Lizzie Polard and has one child, Alice, born in 1909; 
Lizzie, born in 1888, is married to Mr. Adolph Scheier, has two 
children, William, born in 1909, and Bernard, born in 1910; and 
Maggie, born in 1890 ; Irene, born in 1893 ; Catherin, born in 
1897 ; Louis, born in 1899 ; Edna, born in 1902, and William, born 
in 1906, all live at home with their parents. 

George A. Morey, manager of the Long-Bell Lumber Company, 
of Wichita, Kan., claims Iowa as the state of his nativity, having 
been born at Waverly, that state, in 1874. His parents were 
D. A. and Malissa (Loomer) Morey. Mr. Morey 's education was 
obtained in the public schools of Waverly, and after leaving 
school he obtained employment in the lumber business at Wav- 
erly. He remained at Waverly until 1898, when he went to Min- 
neapolis, Minn., to take a position with the Citizens' Lumber 
Company, of that city. In 1900 Mr. Morey left the employ of 
the Citizens' Lumber Company to enter the employment of the 
Long-Bell Lumber Company, he first being stationed at Muskogee, 
Okla. Here he remained until 1905, when he was transferred to 
Wichita as manager of the plant in this city and has remained 
here ever since. The Long-Bell plant is a branch of the one in 
Kansas City, Mo. He was married in 1895 to Miss Ida Wole. 
To this union was born one son, who died in infancy. 

George O. Morgan, of Wichita, Kan., is known as the pioneer 
horse and mule dealer of Sedgwick county. He is a native of the 
Badger state, having been born in Wisconsin in 1856. His parents 
were Henry and Winifred C. (Jones) Morgan, both natives of 



848 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

"Wales, who immigrated to Wisconsin, where the elder Morgan 
engaged in farming, he and his wife later moving to Iowa, where 
both died. George 0. Morgan was one of a family of eight 
children, four of whom are still living. He was educated at the 
public schools of Iowa, and in 1875, almost as soon as he had 
finished his schooling, he engaged in the horse and mule business, 
which he has ever since continued. His first experience was in 
Cass county, Iowa, where he succeeded in building up a fine trade, 
and in 1884 he came to Wichita, being among the pioneers in the 
horse and mule industry of this section. With unflinching cour- 
age Mr. Morgan withstood the trying times incident to the boom 
days. He had faith in the future of Wichita and Sedgwick 
county, and in company with many others through his own efforts 
won success. Mr. Morgan now conducts the largest business of 
its kind in Sedgwick county. In 1903 he suffered a heavy loss by 
fire, when his stable was consumed with a large number of valu- 
able animals. He now occupies his third location since coming to 
Wichita, at No. 414 West Douglas street. Mr. Morgan is a promi- 
nent member of the Masonic Order and is a member of all the 
Masonic bodies. He was married in Lewis, Iowa, to Miss Eliza- 
beth Black, daughter of Milton Black, of Cass county, Iowa. Of 
this union there has been issue: Benjamin F., of Chickasaw, 
Okla. (merchant) ; Leo and Theo, twins, and Wichita merchants; 
and Dr. Walter A. Morgan, dentist, Wichita. 

Alfred G. Mueller, undertaker and embalmer, of Wichita, 
Kan., is a native of the Empire state, having been born at Buffalo, 
N. Y., on September 27, 1865. He is a son of Paul J. and Mary 
(Chappurs) Mueller, natives of France and Switzerland, respec- 
tively, who are now numbered among the pioneers of Wichita. 
They first came to Kansas in 1867, returning to New York state, 
and again came to Kansas, locating at Wichita in 1889, where 
they have since resided. Alfred G. Mueller was educated in the 
public schools of Williamsville, N. Y. After leaving school, which 
is now over a quarter of a century ago, he began to learn the 
undertaking business with D. W. Wherle, of his native state, and 
continued with him for five years. He then went to New Haven, 
Conn., where he followed the same busines for a period of three 
years. In 1888 he came to Wichita, and in the fall of that year 
opened an establishment of his own in the undertaking business, 
which he has since conducted until he has one of the leading 
establishments of its kind to be found in the Southwest. The 



BIOGRAPHY 849 

building now occupied by Mr. Mueller at No. 142-4 North Market 
street, was built exclusively for the purposes of his business, and 
is complete in every detail, having all the latest paraphernalia 
and equipment, such as chapel, morgue, casket display rooms, 
. office, etc., a total of twenty-two rooms being occupied by the 
business. Mr. Mueller is a member of all the Masonic bodies, 
vice-president of the Kansas Funeral Directors' Association, and 
a representative of the Kansas Funeral Directors' Association to 
the National Association. He was for many years president of 
the State Board of Embalmers, and is a member of the various 
commercial bodies of the city of Wichita. 

Charles P. Mueller, florist, of Wichita, Kan., is sometimes 
called the Burbank of Wichita, because of his expert knowledge 
of horticulture. Mr. Mueller is a native of Erie county, New 
York, where he was born on June 13, 1862. His parents were 
P. J. and Mary P. Mueller. Charles P. Mueller's early education 
was acquired in Erie county. After leaving school Mr. Mueller 
engaged as a florist in 1875. He left Buffalo and came to Wichita 
in 1883. There have been times since then when it was difficult 
for the citizens to buy potatoes and cabbage, and cut flowers and 
hot house luxuries were read about, but not known. But Mr. 
Mueller was never discouraged. Out in a cornfield near Alamo 
he built a tiny greenhouse. Now, out on Ninth street, is a green- 
house and botanical garden plant, under 50,000 square feet of 
glass, with every modern device known for propagating rare 
flowers. In Mr. Mueller's downtown display rooms has been 
perfected an exhibit of all that the painter's art, the sculptor's 
skill and the decorator's imagination can conceive. Mr. Mueller 
is the only life member in Kansas of the Society of American 
Florists and Ornamental Horticulturists, and his model plant is 
the largest and finest equipped in the state. Forty per cent of his 
large and expanding business is mail orders. Fraternally Mr. 
Mueller is a thirty-second degree Mason, a member of the Knights 
of Pythias, Fraternal Aid, A. 0. U. W. and Fraternal Union. He 
is also a member of the Commercial Club and the Chamber of 
Commerce. 

George Muller, farmer and stock raiser, of Mulvane, Kan., was 
barn in Bavaria, Germany, on November 15, 1845. His parents 
were Peter and Barbara (Phillips) Mailer, both natives of Ger- 
many. Peter Muller came to the United States in 1847 and set- 
tled on a farm near Springfield, 111., where he remained until 



850 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

1865. He then went to Lincoln, 111., where he remained until 
July, 1878, when he came to Sedgwick county, Kansas. In Sedg- 
wick county he and his son George bought 440 acres of land in 
Sections 31 and 32. Mrs. Muller died on March 13, 1861, while 
the family was living in Illinois, and Peter Muller died April 3, 
1888. Peter Muller and his wife were the parents of five children, 
all of whom are dead except George, who remained with his 
father and with him bought the farm in Sedgwick county, and 
who now owns this farm, besides 400 acres additional he has since 
bought, making 840 acres which he now owns. Mr. Muller raises 
Shorthorn cattle, horses and Jersey Red hogs, and does diversified 
farming. He has an orchard of about 200 apple trees, 150 peach, 
with a variety of other fruits on his place. On August 22, 1867, 
Mr. Muller was married to Miss Catharine Seyfer, who was born 
in "Wurtemberg, Germany, on January 5, 1847. Mr. and Mrs. 
Muller have had eight children, seven of whom are living, viz.: 
Peter, deceased; George F., of Rockford township; John W., of 
Denver, Colo.; Mrs. Emma B. Ott, of "Wichita; Flora K., William 
F., Frank J., and Charles P., all of Rockford township. Mr. 
Muller is president of the Mulvane Farmers ' State Bank. He is a 
liberal in politics, voting for the best man. 

Hans M. Nelson, farmer, of Ninnescah township, Sedgwick 
county, -Kansas, was born in Denmark on April 4, 1849. Mr. Nel- 
son immigrated to the United States in 1873, going first to Warren 
county, Illinois, where he only remained a short time, and arrived 
in Wichita, Kan., on January 2, 1874. On April 4 of the same 
year, he preempted 160 acres of land in Section 6, Ninnescah 
township. He followed his trade of a shoemaker in Wichita un- 
til 1877, at the same time working his claim. On account of his 
health, he was obliged to abandon work at his trade and went on 
his claim, working his own claim and that of a brother. On 
October 21, 1881, Mr. Nelson was married to Miss Sina Nelson, 
who was born in Denmark and came to the United States the 
same year she was married. Of this union eight children have 
been born, viz. : John, William, Harry, Otis, Mary, deceased ; Oney, 
Angie and Orie. Mr. Nelson has added to his original tract of 
land until he now has 1,200 acres, on which he does general farm- 
ing. He is a member of the Lutheran church. 

William Riley Nessly, superintendent of the Peerless Lumber 
Company, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of the Buckeye state, 
having been born at Fairview, Gurnsey county, Ohio, on May 24, 



BIOGRAPHY 851 

1864. He was the son of the Rev. J. F. and Elizabeth (Wade) 
Nessly, his father being a native of Ohio and his mother claiming 
Pennsylvania as her native state. The Rev. Mr. Nessly was a 
pioneer Methodist minister of Wichita, having made his first trip 
to the city by stage, and later he came with his household goods 
on the first train to enter the city over the Santa Fe Railroad. 
His previous ministerial charges were at Ottawa, Kan., and 
Olathe, Kan. He died at Tekao, Wash., at the age of eighty 
years. His widow still survives and resides there. William Riley 
Nessly was but eight years old when his parents came to Wichita. 
His education was obtained in the public schools of the city, 
and he has since made his home in Sedgwick county. It was 
in 1872 that the Rev. Mr. Nessly pre-empted a claim in Illinois 
township, Sedgwick county, it being the south half of Section 1 
of the township. The Rev. Mr. Nessly, after one year in the 
ministry in Wichita, found himself broken in health, and this 
led to his resignation and the plan of taking up the claim. Soon 
after this he was elected city clerk of the city of Wichita, and 
his son, William R., took charge of the affairs of the new farm 
and continued doing so until he was twenty-one years old, when 
he entered the employ of S. D. Pallett, a lumberman of Wichita, 
and continued in his employ in various capacities for the next 
ten years. This lumber business was purchased by B. F. McLean, 
and Mr. Nessly continued as foreman until 1901, when he became 
foreman of the Davidson & Case yards for a period of five years, 
in the meantime purchasing a farm of 160 acres in Ohio town- 
ship. In 1901 he again returned to the McLean yard as fore- 
man, a position he held until the business was purchased by the 
Peerless Lumber Company. He has since been the manager of 
the yard and plant, which is located at No. 802 West Douglas 
avenue. This plant was originally established in 1902 by S. S. 
Kensler and Frank Bradshaw, and was known as the West Side 
Lumber Company. Mr. Nessly is a member of the school board 
of Wichita. He was married on April 21, 1887, to Miss Isola 
Helen Lane, daughter of J. M. and Sylvia (Champlin) Lane, 
natives of Illinois. Of this marriage there has been issue four 
children, viz.: Mayme E., Blanche and Bernice (twins), and 
Howard E. 

Benjamin F. Nichols, of Wichita, Kan., can lay claim to being 
one of the pioneers of Kansas. He was born May 20, 1845, in 
Lowell, Lake county, Indiana. His parents were Abraham and 



852 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

S. J. (Fuller) Nichols. On the paternal side he can trace his 
ancestry to France, while on the maternal side he traces it to 
Germany. During the Civil War Mr. Nichols enlisted in the 
Union Army, joining Company H, One Hundred and Twenty- 
Eighth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, in 1863, and serving until the 
close of the war, when he was honorably discharged. Mr. Nichols 
was in the battles of Buzzard Roost, Dutton Snake Creek Gap, 
Rinca, Cossville, Dallas, New Hope Church, Lost Mountain, Kene- 
saw and its numerous battles, Crossing the Chattahootchee River, 
Decatur, Atlanta with its half-dozen battles, Jonesborough and 
Love joys, on what is termed the celebrated Atlanta Campaign. 
He was also in the chase after Hood and Hood after him, result- 
ing in the battles of Columbia, Spring Hill, Franklin and Nash- 
ville, where he hoped to annihilate Hood's army. His company 
was transferred to the Department of North Carolina, huddled in 
box cars like hogs and cold as Greenland. They were shipped 
from Washington to North Carolina by ship, and from Newbern 
they were sent without transportation to meet the enemy at 
Wisesforks and then on to Goldsboro, where they met their old 
commanding general, and then on to Raleigh and made Johnson 
surrender. Mr. Nichols was always found at the front and his 
captain, John T. Powell, says, "I am proud of your record. You 
did your full share in making my name one of the best skirmish- 
ing captains in the army." His memoirs, which form a part of 
this sketch, give his army record in greater detail. After the 
war Mr. Nichols moved to Woodson county, Kansas, where he 
remained five years. Leaving Woodson county, he took up his 
residence in Elk county, where he also spent five years, and 
from thence he came to Sedgwick county, where he permanently 
located in 1885 at Garden Plain. He remained at Garden Plain 
six years, and since that time has been a resident of Wichita. 
Mr. Nichols is the owner of a valuable stock farm and at the 
present time is practically retired from business and living with 
his family at 410 South Market street, Wichita. He is a thirty- 
second degree Mason and in politics is a Socialist. He has been 
twice married, his first wife being Miss Nancy McCormick, six 
children being born of this union, of whom four are now living. 
His second wife, to whom he was married September 25, 1898. 
was Mrs. May Smith, and no children have been born of this 
union. 



BIOGRAPHY 853 

J. M. Nicholson,* of Maize, Sedgwick county, Kansas, is a na- 
tive of the Blue Grass state, having been born in Lancaster, Ky., 
on October 1, 1846. He is a son of J. J. Nicholson, a native of 
Kentucky. His parents removed from Kentucky to Illinois in 
1859, locating in Macon county, and lived there until their death. 
James M. Nicholson acquired a limited education in the common 
schools of Kentucky and Illinois, and in 1870 removed to Kansas. 
He first located in Butler county, where he lived four years, and 
afterwards moved to Park township, Sedgwick county, where in 
1875 he bought land in Section 15. In 1864, while still a resident 
of Illinois, he enlisted in Company I, One Hundred and Fiftieth 
Illinois Volunteers, and served until his discharge at the close of 
the war. Mr. Nicholson was married on June 3, 1882, to Miss 
Emma A. Dotson, in Decatur, 111. Mrs. Nicholson traces her 
ancestry to Scotland. Nine children have been born of this union, 
of whom six are now living. The names of the children are : 
Josephus, Lewis J., Nora, James Clarence, Harry, Bessie, Viola, 
Hattie E. and William E. Mr. Nicholson is a member of the G. 
A. R. and attended the encampments at Salt Lake City and at 
Denver, Col. He has been a member of the school board of Park 
township for fourteen years. Mr. Nicholson is a Republican and 
active in the interests of his party. 

Samuel L. Nolan, president of the Goddard State Bank of 
Goddard, Kansas, is a native of Indiana, where he was born on 
March 7, 1863, in Lafayette. His parents were John and Sarah 
(Murdoch) Nolan. The father was a native of Ireland and his 
mother's family, the Murdochs, were respectable people of Tippe- 
canoe county, Indiana. Samuel L. came west with his parents to 
Sedgwick county, Kansas, in 1877, and soon after, the father, 
whose occupation was plastering and farming, died. His widow 
died in Sedgwick county in 1903. The father of Samuel L. Nolan 
had a family of thirteen children, of whom Samuel L. was the 
eighth. The latter attended the public schools until his fifteenth 
year and lived under the paternal roof until he was twenty-one. 
He started out in the beginning of his career as a clerk in a 
grocery. story in "Wichita and also in a general store in Caldwell, 
Kan. He then engaged in business for himself in general mer- 
chandising at Goddard, Kan. He was married November 24, 
1886, to Miss Daisy B. White, of Kentucky, and of this union 
there has been born one son, who is now twenty-three years old 
and is married to Mesa Rice. They have one child and reside at 



854 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Goddard. Mr. Nolan is a public spirited citizen who has long 
been a resident of Sedgwick county, and at the present time 
(1910) is the Democratic candidate for the office of county treas- 
urer. After leaving "Wichita, he moved to Goddard in 1884, and 
has since been a resident of that village and has served as mayor 
two terms. He has also held various minor township offices. He 
has been a member of the city council. Mr. Nolan is the owner 
of a large tract of land, over 480 acres, in Afton township. He is 
a grain buyer and conducts a large elevator at Goddard under 
the firm name of Nolan Bros. He was the organizer and is now 
president of the Goddard State Bank, which has a capital stock 
of $10,000 and a surplus of $5,000. He is known as a man of good 
ability and has settled up a large number of decedent estates, 
and has acted in a fiduciary capacity in handling large sums of 
money in trust and otherwise, and his honesty and integrity have 
never been questioned. Mr. Nolan is a Democrat in politics. 
Fraternally he is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. 
He also conducts a large general store in Goddard. He is also a 
director and stockholder in the Goddard Telephone Company. 

Odon Northcutt, a prominent real estate dealer of Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, was born June 15, 1855, in Booneville, Mo. His 
parents were T. D. and Mary E. (Gatewood) Northcutt, the father 
being a native of Kentucky and the mother of Virginia. They 
located in Newton county, Missouri, in 1857, where Mr. North- 
cutt followed farming and stock raising and continued this up 
to the time of his conscription in the Confederate army. He was 
severely wounded in the battle of Wilson Creek and was sent 
back to his family in Newton county, Missouri, and from there he 
moved to Parker county, Texas, where he resided for a time, 
afterward returning to Missouri, where he is now living at the 
age of eighty-three years. His wife is also living at the age of 
seventy-five years. The early education of Odon Northcutt was 
obtained in the public schools of Texas, which state he left in 
1873 to return to Missouri. In 1878 he came to Kansas and 
located in Kingman county, where he pre-empted a farm and 
engaged in farming and stock raising, living there until 1898. 
In the latter year he removed to Cheney, Kan., and engaged in 
the hardware business with D. M. Main, the style of the firm 
being Main & Northcutt, which afterwards became Northcutt 
& Crossley, but later Mr. Northcutt disposed of his interest to 
Mr. Main and took up farming again, which he followed until 



BIOGRAPHY 855 

1907. He then engaged in the real estate business in Cheney. 
When on the farm Mr. Northcutt speculated extensively in mules 
and horses and made considerable money by being a shrewd 
trader. He is now a member of the real estate firm of Hern & 
Northcutt, which does a large business in selling tracts of land 
and ranches, devoting all his time now to this business. Mr. 
Northcutt is a member of Morton Lodge, No. 258, A. F. & A. M., 
and of Wichita Consistory, No. 2. Politically he affiliated with 
the Democratic party until the Populist movement sprang up, 
when he supported that party. Mr. Northcutt was married on 
February 25, 1880, to Miss Arizona Sooter, daughter of W. M. 
Sooter, of Missouri. Of this union seven children were born, 
three of whom are now living, viz. : Nellie, Thomas and Esther. 
Nellie is married to Virgil Davis and resides in Fowler, Colo. 
The other children are attending the city schools. 

Edward J. Ohmer, proprietor of the Manhattan Hotel, of 
Wichita, Kan., who is accounted a pastmaster in the hotel busi- 
ness by the traveling public and his associates, is a native of 
Dayton, Ohio, where he was born January 30, 1849. His parents 
were Nicholas and Susannah (Spratt) Ohmer, his father being 
a native of France and his mother of Washington, D. C. His 
parents began their married life in Montgomery county, Ohio, 
and are both deceased. When a boy of thirteen young Ohmer 
entered the United States navy and served for nine months 
during the Civil War, receiving his discharge on August 20, 
1865. His service in the navy during the war was mainly on 
the Mississippi, and he served on the historic gunboat Groesbeck 
VIII under Commander Cornwall and Capt. Jack Adkins. The 
father and uncle of Mr. Ohmer owned the old Union Depot 
eating house at Indianapolis, and after the war young Ohmer was 
set to work there. One of his associates at that time was Thomas 
Taggart, who has since acquired fame as a Democratic politician 
and hotel proprietor. Mr. Ohmer finally became superintendent 
of the concern, and when he finally resigned to go to Minnesota 
and engage in farming, Mr. Taggart succeded him as superin- 
tendent. The life of a farmer not proving congenial to Mr. 
Ohmer, he finally abandoned it and went to Hannibal, Mo., where 
he engaged in the hotel business. Later he and his brother oper- 
ated ten eating houses on the Rock Island Railroad, one of them 
being the dining room in the depot at Wichita. When the rail- 
road bought them out, Mr. Ohmer returned to Indianapolis, where 



856 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

he bought a third interest in the Grand Hotel, Mr. Taggart own- 
ing the other two-thirds. After a couple of years in Indianapolis. 
Mr. Ohmer sold out his interest to his brother and Mr. Taggart, 
and bought the Manhattan, which was then in a somewhat mori- 
bund state, but which under his management has since become 
one of the most popular hostelries in the Southwest. Mr. Ohmer 
has now been located in Wichita eight years, having gone there 
in 1903. Mr. Ohmer is a member of the Masonic fraternity, in 
which he takes a deep interest. He was married in 1870 to Miss 
Emma Shafer, now deceased. In 1901 he was again married to a 
Miss Emma Shafer, a namesake of his first wife. From this union 
there has been offspring one child, Euth C. Ohmer. 

Thomas J. Owens, farmer, of Sedgwick county, Kansas, is a 
native of the Hoosier state, having been born in Clay county, 
Indiana, on February 26, 1859. His father was Johnson Owens, 
a native of Kentucky, who lived in Clay county, Indiana, until 
the time of his death, which occurred in 1900. His widow died 
in 1908. Johnson Owens during his life was a successful farmer 
and during his life had bought up and improved a dozen or more 
farms in the Hoosier state. He was a successful contractor as 
well. His services were in demand by the railroad companies 
for supplies for ties, cordwood, etc. His son, Thomas J. Owens, 
only obtained a meager education in the public schools of his 
native place. He remained under the parental roof until he 
was twenty-one years old. In December, 1881, he came to Kan- 
sas. A year later, in July, 1882, he was married to Miss Mary C. 
Kauffman, a daughter of Samuel Kauffman, at Wichita, Kan. 
Of this union have been born eight children, of whom seven are 
living. The names of the children are : Maggie M., born De- 
cember 18, 1883 ; S. C, deceased ; Mimmie O., born July 17, 1887 ; 
Jessa M., born July 9, 1889 ; Nora S., born August 20, 1893 ; John 
T.. born April 20, 1896; Everett J., born September 6, 1899; 
Elsie M., born January 9, 1902. Mr. Owens homesteaded a farm 
in Section 8, Eagle township, on which he now resides. He has 
held several minor offices in the township organization. He was 
road boss for over six years, township clerk, member of the school 
board ten years, and under his able management the schools have 
been prosperous, with comfortable school rooms and efficient 
teachers. Mr. Owens is a Democrat in his political belief and is 
an active worker in the interests of his party. He and his wife 



BIOGRAPHY 857 

are members of the Christian Church, of which they have been 
members for over fourteen years. 

Branson William Parker, manager of the Harvard Mills Com- 
pany, of Mt. Hope, Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born in 1875 
in the Sunflower state. His father, Joshua M., was born in 
Indiana and was one of the early homesteaders in the state of 
Kansas, where he now resides. He was the father of ten chil- 
dren, nine of whom are living. Branson William is the oldest 
boy. His education was acquired in the common schools of 
Kansas, after which he attended the State Normal School at 
Emporia for two years, after which he taught four years. He 
then farmed on land he owned in Ellsworth county, Kansas, for 
two years and then moved to Harvey county, where -he bought 
eighty acres. Mr. Parker sold both pieces and went to Okla- 
homa, where he bought land. He was there three years and then 
moved back to Kansas and operated the Clearwater, Kan., mills 
for J. E. Howard, of Wichita, for fourteen months, and was trans- 
ferred by Mr. Howard to conduct the same business in Mt. Hope, 
where he is now engaged. While in Oklahoma Mr. Parker served 
as justice of the peace for three years. Mr. Parker is a Democrat 
in politics and a public-spirited citizen. He is active in church 
work, a member of the Baptist faith, in which he was a deacon 
for seven years and superintendent of the Sunday School for 
eight years. He was married in April, 1900, to Miss Cynthia 
Row, a daughter of Rev. D. P. Row, of Missouri. Four 
children have been born of this union, three of whom are living, 
viz. : Otto, Austin and Harry. Otto is attending school at Mt. 
Hope. 

Frederick Parker, of Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born in 
Brown county, Illinois, on September 5, 1871. He is a son of 
William B. and Margaret (Haley) Parker. Frederick Parker 
went with his father to Missouri in 1875, and from there to Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, in 1885, and being the youngest son, 
remained with his father on the farm. On June 26, 1895, Mr. 
Parker married Miss Addie B. Carson, who was born in Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, on August 1, 1877, a daughter of Jonathan 
S. and Mary (Tomlin) Carson. Jonathan Carson came to Sedg- 
wick county in 1872 and pre-empted 160 acres of land in Salem 
township. He was born in Ohio on April 2, 1849, and his wife 
was born in Illinois on December 17, 1858. They were married 
in Sedgwick county, Kansas, on August 31, 1875. Of this union 



858 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

eleven children were born, ten of whom are now living. The 
children were: Addie B. Parker, of Ohio township; Mrs. Carrie 
L. Filson, of Scott county, Kansas ; Mrs. Anna Roddis, of Denver, 
Colo.; Miss Eva Pearl, of Salida, Colo.; Mrs. Hattie M. Means, 
of Sargent, Colo. ; Howard J., of Salida, Colo. ; Miss Frankie F., 
Miss Inez, Miss Jeannette and Robert, all of Salida, Colo. Clar- 
ence B. died when sixteen years old. The father and mother are 
now living at Salida, Colo. Mr. and Mrs. Parker have three 
children, viz. : William E., born February 12, 1897 ; Ray C, born 
March 21, 1898 ; Edith May, born August 13, 1902. Mr. Parker 
has devoted his entire time to farming. In 1900 he bought 240 
acres in Section 16, Ohio township, and here he built his present 
home in the fall of 1909. He has a well improved farm, with 
horses, cattle and hogs. He is a stockholder in the Clearwater 
Telephone Company and a liberal in politics. 

William B. Parker, of Sedgwick county, Kansas, was born in 
Kentucky on February 7, 1830. His parents were Alexander and 
Eliza (Parker) Parker. Alexander Parker was born in Virginia 
in 1796 and his future wife was born in Kentucky about the same 
time. They moved to Illinois in the spring of 1835. Both of 
them died in Brown county, Illinois, the mother in 1861 and the 
father in 1873. William B. Parker went to Missouri in 1875, 
where he remained until 1885, when he came to Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, and bought 240 acres in Section 17, Ohio township. It 
was partially improved. Mr. Parker erected buildings and lived 
on this place until the fall of 1909, when he sold it, and now 
resides with his son Fred. On February 20, 1851, Mr. Parker was 
married to Miss Margaret Haley, who was a native of Kentucky. 
Fourteen children were born of this marriage, four of whom are 
living, viz. : Alexander, of Oklahoma ; Mrs. Belle Frakes, of Ohio 
township ; Frederick, of Ohio township, and Mrs. Maggie Wright, 
of Oklahoma. The mother of this family died on September 27, 
1879, and February 22, 1880, Mr. Parker married Mrs. Mary 
Thomas, who was born in Indiana. Two children were born of 
this second marriage, both of whom are deceased. The mother 
of these children died on January 18, 1909. Mr. Parker has 
followed farming all his life. The last fifteen years he has been 
in poor health. In politics he is a liberal in local affairs, but in 
national affairs he is a Republican. He is a member of the 
Baptist Church. 



BIOGRAPHY 859 

Edgar Willard Phillips, of Mulvane, Kan., was born in Addi- 
son county, Vermont, on March 28, 1847, and with his parents 
moved to and settled in Knox county, Illinois, in 1855. Here he 
was brought up on a farm and attended school until March 28, 
1864, when he enlisted in Company B, Eleventh Illinois Cavalry, 
serving until the close of the war and being honorably discharged 
on September 30, 1865. Returning to his home he resumed his 
occupation as a farmer until the fall of 1870, when he emigrated 
to southern Kansas, driving the entire distance with a team. Mr. 
Phillips settled in Sedgwick county, where he was instrumental 
in organizing Salem township. He always took a prominent 
part in political affairs, being a staunch Republican and serving 
many times as a delegate to state, congressional and county 
conventions, also being chairman of the township central com- 
mittee several times. In 1885 Mr. Phillips was elected trustee of 
Salem township and served in that capacity two years with sat- 
isfaction to all concerned and credit to himself. He was elected 
and served eleven years as school officer in District No. 40. In 
the fall of 1888 he was elected representative to the state legis- 
lature from the Eighty-third district, which then comprised all 
the territory west of the Arkansas river in Sedgwick county 
except the Fifth ward of Wichita. In 1890 he was unanimously 
renominated by his party in the same district. That being the 
year in which the Populist party figured so extensively in politics, 
he was defeated with the rest of his ticket. The next year Mr. 
Phillips purchased the Warren property and removed to Mulvane, 
where he still resides. In 1908 he was nominated without oppo- 
sition by the Republican party as representative of the Seventy- 
fourth district in Sumner county and was elected by a large 
majority. He served with credit to himself and satisfaction of 
his constituents and refused the renomination in 1910. On March 
24, 1868, Mr. Phillips was married to Miss Jennie E. Adams, who 
was born in Harrison county, Ohio, on April 7, 1850. Mrs. Phil- 
lips was a daughter of William L. and Nancy (Simmons) Adams, 
who were natives of the Buckeye state. They moved to Knox 
county, Illinois, where Mrs. Adams died in 1861, and Mr. Adams 
about 1900. Mr. and Mrs. Phillips have been the parents of 
seven children, five of whom are living. They are : Mrs. W. H. 
Duncan, born January 3, 1869, of Allamoosa, Colo. ; Mrs. Lewis B. 
Price, born September 25, 1870, of Wichita, Kan. ; Arthur L., 
born April 7, 1874, of Washington, Pa.. The latter was a mem- 



860 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

ber of Company H. Tenth Pennsylvania Infantry, in the Philip- 
pine Islands, and was in the battle of Malate on July 31 and Au- 
gust 1, 1898, and at the bombardment and capture of Manila on 
August 13 of the same year. He remained with his company until 
mustered out on August 22, 1899 ; Willard R., born August 20, 
1880, lives at Alpine, Tex., where he is a prominent ranchman; 
Edgar W., born June 30, 1885, and died in January, 1910 ; Joseph, 
born August 16, 1891, lives in Wichita; their third child, Leslie 
L., born February 24, 1873, died in infancy. Mr. Phillips, on 
January 7, 1871, laid claim to 160 acres of Osage Indian trust 
lands in Section 25, Salem township. He bought this land at 
$1.25 per acre and lived on it until 1881, when he bought eighty 
acres in Section 35, on which he lived until 1891, when he moved 
into Mulvane. When on the farm he made a specialty of stock 
raising and wheat. In 1888 he raised forty bushels to the acre. 
After coming to Mulvane Mr. Phillips was interested in real 
estate and in 1900 operated a grocery and meat market for about 
two years, when he retired from business. Fraternally Mr. Phil- 
lips is a member of Mulvane Lodge, No. 221, A. F. & A. M., the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, No. 174, of which he has 
passed the chairs and has the Veteran Jewel; of Mulvane Camp, 
No. 74, Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; of Mulvane Post, No. 
203, Gr. A. R., of which he has been twice commander. In politics 
Mr. Phillips has always been a Republican. He is a member of 
the Presbyterian Church, of which he is one of the elders. 

Frank L. Porter is a native Kansan, having been born at 
Burlingame on December 30, 1876. His parents are E. J. and 
Martha (Ely) Porter, natives of Harrisburg, Pa., and Lexington, 
Ky., respectively. They made the trip to Kansas early in the 
history of the state and with difficulties besetting them on every 
side. It was the time when the Civil War strife had begun to 
subside and feuds were on every hand. They both came to Kan- 
sas before their marriage and now reside at Lawrence, Kan. 
Frank L. Porter was educated at the Emporia High School and 
began his business career in the employ of D. W. Morris, of 
Emporia. He afterward took charge of the drug store at the 
Osawatomie Insane Asylum, and then went to Paola, Kan., where 
he was engaged in the retail drug trade until 1904, when he 
came to Wichita. He was with Henry Ozanne as drug clerk for 
two years and a half, afterward taking charge of the store, which 
was owned by the Lavander Drug Company. In the fall of 1905 



BIOGRAPHY 861 

lie entered the employ of Gehring & Higginson, and continued 
with the change to the Higginson Drug Company, and up to the 
time he became one of the proprietors in May, 1910. He is a 
member of the Knights of Pythias. Mr. Porter was married on 
June 27, 1905, to Miss Frances Parker, daughter of John and 
Mary A. Parker, of Wichita. 

George L. Pratt, president of the Pratt Lumber Company, of 
Wichita, Kan., was born in New York state. He came to Wichita 
in 1876 and established the Chicago Lumber Company, Mr. Pratt 
being the president and managing partner. The business con- 
tinued under this title until 1896, when it was sold to the Pratt 
Lumber Company, which was headed by Mr. Pratt as president 
and treasurer and T. J. House as secretary. The yards of the 
company are located at No. 158 North Lawrence avenue. Mr. 
Pratt is a thirty-third degree Mason. He was the first master 
of Albert Pike Lodge, No. 303, A. F. & A. M., and is a pastmaster 
of Wichita Lodge, No. 99, A. F. & A. M. 

Will G. Price, president of the Wichita Business College, is a 
native of Ohio, having been born at Cleveland in 1878. 
His parents were Edwin F. and Sophia L. (Carnegie) Price. The 
early education of Mr. Price was obtained at Wichita, Kan., his 
people moving here in 1879 and settling in Wichita. 

The house into which they moved was on the old Indian trail 
now called Washington avenue, and there were but two habita- 
tions east of it, Buffalo Bill's and one on Chisholm creek. 

After finishing his education Mr. Price taught for a number 
of years in the county, graded and high schools of Kansas. In 
1901 he, with F. A. Hibarger, acquired an interest in the Wichita 
Business College, then conducted by Fazel & Adams. In a few 
years Mr. Fazel 's interest was purchased. A little later Mr. 
Adams sold his one-third, and January 5, 1909, Mr. Price became 
sole owner. Under his management it has become known as the 
most thorough, practical business training school in the West, 
and its enrollment has increased until it is now the largest busi- 
ness college in Kansas and Oklahoma. 

This great institution differs widely from the ordinary busi- 
ness college, as its complete diploma courses are arranged so as 
to graduate better prepared business assistants than any other 
school in the West. During the year of 1909-10 students from 
the following states were enrolled : Oklahoma, Texas, Arkansas, 
New Mexico, Colorado, California, Nebraska, Missouri, Indiana, 



862 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Illinois, Kentucky, Idaho, Washington, Wisconsin, Michigan and 
Kansas. Many of these young people held diplomas from other 
commercial colleges, but desired to benefit by the higher instruc- 
tion offered in the advanced departments of the Wichita institu- 
tion. Mr. Price's policy in looking after the interests of his 
students may be inferred when it is known that all time lost 
on account of sickness and work is extended; that all tuition is 
promptly and pleasantly refunded at the end of the first month 
if the student finds he is not fitted for the work or that the 
standards of scholarship or deportment are too high for him; 
and that owing to the splendid reputation enjoyed by the school 
no difficulty is experienced in finding good positions for its 
graduates. 

Mr. Price's activities have not been confined to his school, 
as he has devoted considerable time to educational and fraternal 
organizations in the city. After having been elected as an inde- 
pendent candidate to the board of education, he was compelled to 
resign before the expiration of his term, when he became sole 
owner of the Wichita Business College, as the management of 
the school demanded all of his attention. 

In Masonic circles he takes an active part, being the youngest 
past master of Wichita Lodge, No. 99, A. F. & A. M. He is also 
a member of the Scottish Rite Consistory, the Eastern Star, 
Knights of Pythias, and the Chamber of Commerce. 

In November, 1910, he was married to Miss Eva M. Price, 
daughter of S. R. Price, of Belle Plaine, Kan. While the family 
name of bride and groom is the same, each belongs to a different 
branch, the bride being a descendant of the southern Prices of 
Colonial days, while the groom had three ancestors from the 
New England states who fought in the Revolutionary War. 

Charles E. Rankin, carpenter and contractor, of Cheney, Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, was born February 3, 1855, in Bloomington, 
111. He is a son of W. H. and Elizabeth (Goodheart) Rankin. 
The elder Rankin was a native of Tennessee and his wife a native 
of Ohio. On the paternal side the ancestry of the family is traced 
to Scotland and on the maternal to Scotland and Germany. The 
father of Mrs. Rankin was a soldier under the first Napoleon and 
participated in the battle of Waterloo. At an early day the father 
of Charles E. emigrated from Indiana to Illinois and became a 
prominent citizen of McLean county. He was a butcher by trade, 
and when the Civil War broke out he enlisted in the commissary 



BIOGRAPHY 8G3 

department as a butcher, whose business it was to supply meat 
to the government, which he did for some time. He then enlisted 
in the Ninty-fourth Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E, and 
was detailed as a special wagonmaster, serving about two years. 
He recruited two companies for the service, in one of which, 
Company E, he served. He was relieved on account of disability. 
He then recruited another company and started to the front and 
remained with this company until 1865, when he was honorably 
discharged. He then returned to McLean county, where he 
farmed for about seven years. He then removed to Kansas, 
locating in Morton township, Sedgwick county, in 1880, and 
there died in 1883. Charles E. Eankin acquired his education in 
the public schools of McLean county, Illinois. After leaving 
school he worked on a farm until the age of twenty-two. Then 
he was married to Miss S. A. Barnett, of Seabroke, 111., on Decem- 
ber 25, 1877. Four children were born of this union, viz. : William 
H., Myrtle Elizabeth, John A. and Burniee E. After his mar- 
riage Mr. Rankin took up a short residence in Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, and afterwards was for one and one-half years engaged 
in farming in Cowley county. He returned to Bloomington, 111., 
in 1880, where he was a stationary engineer for three years. He 
then returned with his family to Kansas, locating at Cheney, 
where he followed his trade as a carpenter and contractor, after- 
wards engaging in the furniture business and conducting a store 
in Cheney for fourteen years. He then farmed for a short time 
on a farm near Cheney, which he cleared and improved, moving 
back to Cheney in 1907. Owing to poor health, Mr. Rankin is 
not engaged in any other but that of looking after his farming 
interests in Sedgwick county. Politically, he is a lifelong 
Republican. 

Frank T. Ransom, cashier of the Union Stock Yards National 
Bank, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of Missouri, having been born 
at St. Joseph, that state, on June 25, 1874. His parents were 
A. Z. and Mary (Brenneman) Ransom, natives of Ohio and Penn- 
sylvania, respectively. A. Z. Ransom was the son of W. Z. Ran- 
som, who was an active figure in the upbuilding of St. Joseph, and 
had much to do with the building of the first bridge across the 
Missouri river at that point. He was also one of the first direc- 
tors of the St. Joseph & Grand Island railroad. The parents of 
Frank T. Ransom now reside in Denver, Colo. The latter was 
educated in the public schools of St. Joseph, and was first 



864 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

employed in 1893 by the firm of Tootle, Lemon & Co., bankers, 
of that city, as a messenger boy. Having prior to that time made 
a study of geology, he was a short time afterwards appointed 
assistant state geologist of Missouri, a position he retained for 
two and a half years, when he entered the banking house of 
the Union Trust Company, of St. Louis, as passbook clerk. One 
year later he accepted a position with the Mississippi Valley Trust 
Company, of St. Louis, where he remained three years. He then 
went to the National Stock Yards Bank, of East St. Louis, 111., 
where he remained for five years, and up to the time he took 
charge of the Union Stock Yards National Bank in Wichita, as 
cashier, in the spring of 1910. Mr. Ransom is well qualified for 
his position, having had, as vice-president of the National Stock 
Yards Bank, charge of the country banking division. There were 
no accounts from banks when he began his work, but at the time 
he left the bank he had brought the accounts from country banks 
up to $2,000,000. His experience in stock yards business has 
brought him in touch with methods of bringing together the buy- 
ing and selling elements, an important feature he brings to th$, 
Wichita yards. Mr. Ransom is a member of the Wichita Com- 
mercial Club. He was married on December 30, 1902, to Miss 
Rose Stephenson, of Linneus, Mo. One child has been born from 
this union, Mary Margaret Ransom. 

Virgil A. Reece,* cashier of the Goddard State Bank, of Sedg- 
wick county, Kansas, is a native of the Sunflower state, having 
been born in Sedgwick county on June 24, 1884. His parents 
were Sylvester C. and Alice L. (Holcomb) Reece, both natives of 
the state of North Carolina. Sylvester C. Reece now resides in 
Attica township, Sedgwick county, where he is a large land owner 
and a pioneer resident of the county. The education of Virgil A. 
Reece was acquired in the public schools of Sedgwick county, in 
the Sevic Academy of Wichita, and in the Wichita Business Col- 
lege, where he took a business course. He then became book- 
keeper for a large mercantile establishment in Wichita, and in 
1907 he was appointed by the board of directors cashier in the 
Goddard State Bank, the position he now holds. Mr. Reece was 
married on September 7, 1909, in Clearwater, Kan., to Miss Lila 
P. Yergler, a daughter of John C. Yergler, deceased. Fraternally 
he is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and a Repub- 
lican in politics. 



BIOGRAPHY 865 

Arthur B. Reed,* of Wichita, Kan., is manager of the James 
C. Smith Hide Company. The Smith company is incorporated, 
with headquarters in Chicago, 111. Its officers are: W. H. Rich- 
ards, president, St. Joseph, Mo. ; James C. Smith, vice-president ; 
H. L. Page, treasurer, Topeka, Kan. ; George J. Barton, manager, 
Grand Island, Neb.; H. C. Lyons, manager, Wichita, Kan.; A. B. 
Reed, manager for wool, tallow, hides, furs and pelts. Mr. Reed 
became manager of the Wichita office September 1, 1909. The 
Wichita branch was established on June 1, 1904, and, starting with 
a weekly business of 500 pounds of hides, now has a business of 
three carloads per week. Mr. Reed was born in Bates county, 
Missouri, April 15, 1884. He was educated in the public schools 
of Missouri and Kansas, and began his business career with the 
Smith company in 1902 at St. Joseph, Mo., and in 1904 was trans- 
ferred to Wichita and employed as traveling salesman for the 
company, covering Kansas and Oklahoma until September, 1909, 
when he became local manager of the Wichita office. The Wichita 
branch is one of the best paying branches of the company. Mr. 
Reed was married on June 4, 1906, to Miss Elizabeth C. Fleming, 
of St. Joseph, Mo. 

Harry Reeder, a prosperous farmer of Sedgwick county, Kan- 
sas, is a native of Quincy, 111. He was born March 28, 1867, and 
is a son of Addison L. and Lucetta (Frazier) Reeder, who settled 
on a quarter section of land in Sedgwick county in 1885, but who 
returned to Missouri in 1890. Harry began his successful career 
by buying a flock of sheep and renting a section of land in 
Gypsum township, where he herded and cared for them. In 
1904 he bought the southwest quarter of Section 23, in Gypsum 
township, and has been eminently successful, carrying on general 
farming and raising and feeding for the market cattle, hogs and 
horses. He is a Democrat in political belief and is a member of 
the Derby Lodge, No. 112, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
In 1890 he married Miss Edith Sealock, a native of Indiana, and 
a daughter of Mr. D. T. Sealock, who settled in Sedgwick county 
in 1879. 

Of two children born to Mr. and Mrs. Reeder the elder, Lee, 
died in 1906, and Ray is now (1910) fourteen years of age. 

Perry G. Rickard, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of New York 
state, where he was born on February 3, 1848. His parents were 
Lorenzo and Lucy (Parker) Rickard, the former a native of New 
York and the latter of Ireland. The elder Rickard was a black- 



866 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

smith by trade and moved to Wisconsin in 1850 with a family of 
three children, and died in that state in 1883. Perry G. Rickard 
attended the public schools of Wisconsin until his sixteenth year, 
and then worked as a laborer on the farm until 1870. He was 
then living in Neosha county, Kansas, and in the same year he 
came to Sedgwick county and homesteaded a farm in Section 4 
of Kechi township. Mr. Rickard is a member of the G. A. R. He 
enlisted in the army in 1864 for 100 days' service in Company K, 
Thirty-ninth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry. The regiment was 
equipped at Madison, Wis., and did guard duty for its length of 
service. After Mr. Rickard 's discharge he returned home to 
Wisconsin and re-enlisted in Company H, Fifty-first Wisconsin 
Volunteer Infantry. This regiment did guard duty and pro- 
tected Government property. In 1865 the regiment was dis- 
charged at Madison. In 1873 Mr. Rickard was married to Miss 
Carrie L. Rhodes in Sedgwick county, Kansas. Mrs. Rickard 
came West with her parents to Sedgwick county in 1873. Four 
children have been born of this union, all of whom are now living. 
They are : Ralph L., born September 14, 1875 ; Charles W., born 
October 9, 1877 ; Bessie E., born September 19, 1885, and Ethel A., 
born June 29, 1888. Since the residence of Mr. Rickard in Sedg- 
wick county he has held all the minor official positions of his 
township. He is a Republican in politics and active in the inter- 
ests of his party. 

True B. Richardson, superintendent of the Red Star Mill and 
Elevator Company, of Wichita, Kan., is a pioneer miller of 
Wichita and southern Kansas. Mr. Richardson is a native of 
Peoria, 111., where he was born December 27, 1856. His parents 
were William and Mary (Dwyer) Richardson, natives of Hamil- 
ton, Ohio. Both moved to Illinois with their parents when young. 
William Richardson died at the close of the Civil War at the age 
of fifty-eight, and his widow died in 1900 at the age of seventy- 
four. True B. Richardson was the third child of a family of 
four, three of whom are living. Mr. Richardson was educated in 
the public schools of Peoria, 111., and the Canton (111.) High 
School. He left school while in the senior class of 1875. During 
school vacations he obtained employment in the old Phoenix flour 
mill at Canton, and in this way began to learn the milling busi- 
ness. In 1877 he went to St. Louis, Mo., for the purpose of gain- 
ing a knowledge of milling machinery, and there learned to build 
the new process mill. Being fully versed in this line of the mill- 



BIOGEAPHY 867 

ing process, together with the newer methods, he started on a 
trip installing the new process mills in the state of Kansas. The 
first mill of the new process to be installed in the state was at 
Racine, where the old process was discarded for the new in the 
existing mill. Other mills followed this one, all of which were 
installed by Mr. Richardson, among them being the mills at 
Great Bend and Walnut Creek. In 1879 Mr. Richardson first 
came to Wichita and went with the Shelleberger mill, now known 
as the Imboden Mills, located on Douglas avenue where the 
Mahon Block now stands. In 1882 Mr. Richardson built the 
Canal Roller Mills at Belle Plaine, Kan., and conducted this 
establishment as proprietor for thirteen years. In 1894 Mr. 
Richardson disposed of his interest in the Belle Plaine mill and 
moved to Wichita, and the following year started the first mill 
for the Howard Milling Company and was its superintendent 
four years. He then built the plant now occupied by this com- 
pany on West Douglas avenue and was its superintendent for 
three and a half years, when failing health compelled him to 
take a much needed rest for recuperation. In 1905 J. E. Howard 
organized the Red Mill and Elevator Company, one of the 
gigantic enterprises of Wichita, and Mr. Richardson was chosen 
for its superintendent, which position he still holds. Mr. Rich- 
ardson is a member of the Wichita Chamber of Commerce. Fra- 
ternally, he is a member of the Masonic order and the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, and is a member of St. John's Epis- 
copal Church. Mr. Richardson was married on April 8, 1882, 
to Miss Essie E. Farmer, daughter of Richard and Ann Farmer, 
pioneers of Wichita. 

George T. Riley, druggist, No. 1101 West Douglas avenue, 
Wichita, Kan., was born in Illinois November 13, 1857. His 
parents were Larkin M. and Elizabeth (Gardom) Riley, the 
father being a native of Indiana and the mother of Pennsylvania. 
The parents came to Illinois in 1846 and spent the balance of their 
lives there. Both are now deceased. George T. Riley was edu- 
cated in the public schools of his native town, Rileyville, the 
Elgin Academy and the Eldorado (111.) High School. He began 
his business career by clerking in a drug store at Gallatin, 111., in 
1877, and later took a course in pharmacy at the St. Louis Col- 
lege of Pharmacy, graduating in the class of 1881. In 1882 he 
came to Kansas, where he was employed in the drug business with 
his uncle, Samuel Gardom, at Council Grove, for a period of two 



868 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

years, when he returned to his native state of Illinois, continuing 
in the drug business until 1885, when he again came to Kansas. 
Here he was in the drug business at Wellsville for a year, and 
after a few months at Ravanna he located in Marion, where he 
remained for nine years. At Marion he first entered the employ 
of Taylor Riddell, and afterward became the partner of Mr. 
Riddell, under the firm name of Riddell & Riley. This partner- 
ship continued until 1895, when Mr. Riley withdrew from the 
firm and took a course in the Kansas Medical College. In the 
summer of 1896 Mr. Riley came to "Wichita and purchased the 
"West Side drug store of A. F. Rowe, and has since continued 
the same, enlarging as the trade of the growing city demanded. 
A postal station of the postoffice was established at his store in 
1901. Mr. Riley is keenly alive to the interests of Wichita and 
all that tends to its onward development. He is treasurer of the 
West Side Commercial League, a member of the Presbyterian 
church, and fraternally is a member of the Masonic order, the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias and 
the Ancient Order of United Workmen. He was married on 
September 5, 1883, to Miss Mary A. Deans, daughter of David 
and Louisa Deans. From this union there has heen issue three 
children, viz. : Roy M., Harry L. and Helen D. Riley. 

William C. Robinson, one of the leading citizens of Mulvane, 
Kan., is a native of the dominion of Canada, where he was born 
in the province of Quebec on December 16, 1854. His parents 
were John H. and Jane (McDonald) Robinson, both natives of 
Quebec, where the elder Robinson died about 1865. His widow 
came to the United States and settled in St. Lawrence county, 
New York, where she died in 1870. William C. Robinson grew 
to manhood in St. Lawrence county, where his education was com- 
pleted, after which he was engaged in the mercantile business 
with his elder brother, J. H. Robinson. He remained there until 
the spring of 1880, when he came to Kansas, where he entered 
the mercantile business in Mulvane in partnership with his 
younger brother, Thomas. The affairs of the firm prospered, and 
in 1887 the firm built the brick block in which Mr. Robinson's 
business is now conducted. Thomas Robinson died in the spring 
of 1889, and since that time William C. Robinson has been alone 
in the business. On January 9, 1900, Mr. Robinson was elected 
vice-president of the Mulvane State Bank, and on January 8, 1901, 
was elected its president, which position he still holds. Mr. Rob- 



BIOGEAPHY 869 

inson is also vice-president of the Mulvane Ice and Cold Storage 
Plant, which is incorporated with a capital of $15,000, and is 
treasurer of the Mulvane Mutual Telephone Company. Mr. Rob- 
inson is also interested in farming land, having 385 acres in 
Sumner county and 160 acres in Butler county. On July 1, 1880, 
he was married to Miss Margaret Shillinglaw, who was born in 
Scotland. Her father came to the United States when Mrs. Rob- 
inson was a child, and lived in Washington, D. C, and New York. 
Mr. and Mrs. Robinson have two children, William C, born 
in 1881, and Jane M., born in 1891. Mr. Robinson has served as 
mayor of Mulvane two terms. He is a Republican in politics. 

Adolphus D. Russell, retired farmer and stock raiser and real 
estate dealer, of Mulvane, Kan., was born in Tuscorawas county, 
Ohio, on June 2, 1838. His parents were William R. and Char- 
lotte (Waller) Russell. Mr. Russell, Sr., was born in Westmore- 
land county, Maryland, on March 9, 1812, and his wife was born 
in Sumerset county, Pennsylvania, on November 29, 1811. They 
were married in Cadiz, Harrison county, Ohio, on March 10, 1833, 
and their entire life was passed in Ohio, where Mrs. Russell died 
on January 5, 1847, and Mr. Russell, Sr., on December 18, 1851. 
Adolphus D. Russell remained in Ohio until January, 1863, when 
he enlisted in Company K, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Ohio 
Volunteer Infantry, and served until his discharge, in June, 1865. 
After the war he returned to his home in Ohio, and in 1865 went 
to Illinois, where he farmed nineteen years. In 1884 he came to 
Kansas, locating in Sumner county, where he bought a farm in 
Sections 1 and 2, Gore township, where he lived until 1901, when 
he retired from farming and moved to Mulvane, where he engaged 
in the raising of Duroc Jersey hogs. He continued this until 
1910. In February and March, 1910, he platted an addition to 
Mulvane of nine acres. On November 7, 1860, Mr. Russell was 
married to Miss Rachel Poulson, who was born in Cadiz, Ohio, 
August 14, 1840. She was a daughter of James and Maria 
(Brown) Poulson. Her father was born in Maryland and her 
mother was born in Donpanaha, Ireland, on February 22, 1808, 
being of Scotch and Irish descent. Mr. and Mrs. Russell have 
had six children, four of whom are living. Those living are : 
William, of Clarence, Mo. ; Mrs. Alice Axtell, of Davidson, Okla. ; 
Mrs. Anna Smith, of Corvallis, Ore., and Mrs. Nellie Dickinson, of 
Mulvane, Kan. In Tazewell county, Illinois, Mr. Russell served 
as township supervisor for seven years and on the board of trus- 



870 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

tees as ditch commissioner; in Sumner county, Kansas, hs was 
township trustee, and in 1907-08 in Mulvane one of the council- 
men. He is one of the stockholders of the Farmers' State Bank 
of Mulvane. Mr. Russell is a member of Mulvane Lodge, No. 201, 
A. F. and A. M. He was a charter member of Hopedale Lodge, 
No. 203, A. F. and A. M., of Tazewell county, Illinois. In Iroquois 
county, Illinois, he was master of Sheldon Lodge seven years. 
Mr. Russell is a liberal in politics and a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. 

Thornton W. Sargent, a prominent member of the bar of 
Wichita, Kan., was born at Piketon, Pike county, Ohio, in 1859, 
and is a son of James and Lydia Sargent. After finishing his 
studies in the schools of his native town he entered the University 
of Michigan, where he was graduated with the degree of bachelor 
of arts in 1882. He then entered the law department of Columbia 
University, Washington, D. C. (now known as the George Wash- 
ington University), and there received the degree of bachelor of 
laws in 1884. The following year he took a post graduate course 
and was admitted to the bar at Washington. 

In 1886 Mr. Sargent settled at Wichita and began the practice 
of his profession, with an office at No. 124 North Main street, and 
soon built up a lucrative practice, becoming known as a safe and 
reliable counselor and successful advocate. His present office is 
at No. 412 Barnes building, and besides conducting a general 
practice, he is general counsel for the Farmers and Bankers Life 
Insurance Company. In 1889 Mr. Sargent was selected to give a 
course of lectures before the law classes of Garfield University. 
In 1893 Mr. Sargent married Miss Emily W., daughter of Dr. R. 
Wirth, of Columbus, Ohio. They have two sons, viz. : James 
Wirth and Thornton W. Sargent, Jr. 

August J. Saur, druggist, of Wichita, Kan., better known as 
"Gus" Saur, has been longer in the business of dispensing drugs 
than any other druggist in Wichita. The District of Columbia 
is the place of his nativity, he having been born in the city of 
Washington on December 19, 1856. He is a son of the late Dr. L. 
Saur, well known in Wichita in the early days, and Mary Krauft. 
Dr. Saur came to Wichita in April, 1879, and soon afterward 
began the practice of medicine. August J. Saur followed his 
father to Wichita in September, 1879, and first started in the 
drug business between Topeka and Lawrence avenues on the 
north side of Douglas avenue, and there continued until April 1, 



BIOGRAPHY 871 

1880, when he removed to his present location, at No. 524 East 
Douglas avenue, and has since continued business successfully. 
Dr. Saur died in January, 1889, at the age of seventy. The 
history of the Saur family can be traced back for a period of 385 
years, and while now distinctly German, was at an early date 
interwoven with the French. August J. Saur has one brother, 
George C. Saur, who was associated in business with him as clerk 
for a period of eleven years, but is now a resident of Hennesy, 
Okla., where he located in 1897. August J. Saur was educated 
in the public schools of Lansing, Mich., and early in life went to 
Chicago, where he began in business as a drug clerk with C. 
Herman Plautz, and continued with him until October, 1874, 
when he entered the employ of P. L. Milleman, and continued 
with him until he came to Wichita. Mr. Saur is a member of the 
Consistory, is a thirty-second degree Mason, a member of the 
Shrine, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Sons of Herrmann and the East- 
ern Star. He was married in 1889 to Miss Ida Redmond, of Minne- 
sota, a native of Germany. Of this union two children have been 
born, Edith Beatrice and Hazel M. Saur. 

Edward J. Schwartz, manufacturer of cement stone, whose 
plant is located at No. 559 West Douglas avenue, Wichita Kan., 
is a native of Missouri, in which state he was born at Palmyra on 
February 28, 1859. He acquired his education in the Missouri 
public schools and St. Paul College. He was engaged in the 
wagon, lumber and implement business, and in 1885 moved to 
Harper, Kan., where he had charge of the Badger Lumber Com- 
pany. He continued with this company until the spring of 1887, 
when he was transferred to Wichita, and worked in a lumber 
yard for the same company. In 1895 Mr. Schwartz joined the 
firm of Schwartz Bros., the members of the firm being F. J., E. J. 
and C. A. Schwartz, in the lumber and coal business. He later 
went to Iola, Kan., where he was in the lumber business till July, 
1908, when he returned to Wichita in March, 1909. He began 
the manufacture of concrete building stone and now conducts 
one of the largest plants in the city, which he has managed suc- 
cessfully, employing an average of ten hands. The product of 
the plant is used in the city and also shipped to local points. 
Fraternally, Mr. Schwartz is a member of the Masonic order 
and of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He was 



872 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

married in 1882 to Miss Ida Yancey, of Palmyra, Mo. Two chil- 
dren have been born of this union, Harold E. and Myrl Schwartz. 

Levi G. Scheetz, of "Wichita, Kan., is not only one of the oldest 
real estate dealers in the city in point of service, but can fairly 
lay claim to being among the pioneers of the state. He is a 
native of the Keystone State, having been born at Doylestown, 
Pa., in 1844. He is a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (George) 
Scheetz, who belonged to the thrifty Pennsylvania Dutch resi- 
dents of Pennsylvania. Young Scheetz was educated at the 
public schools of his native town, but the call of the West was 
too strong to allow him to stay there, and in 1869 he decided to 
change his location. He came to Kansas in 1869, in the days 
when the state was just beginning to develop. He settled first 
at Topeka, but one year later removed to Emporia, and after 
remaining there a year, removed to Eldorado. Here he remained 
for three years, and in 1874, attracted by the possibilities that 
Wichita held out, he came to this city and engaged in the mer- 
cantile business. In 1883 he embarked in the real estate business, 
in which he has ever since been engaged. Besides dealing exten- 
sively in Kansas and Wichita property, Mr. Scheetz has made a 
specialty of handling timber lands and ranches in different states, 
and has been the means of bringing many thousands of settlers 
to the West. 

Peter Schulte is one of the prosperous farmers of Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, who has attained success by dint of hard work 
and perseverance in the face of many difficulties. A native of 
Germany, he was born March 18, 1851, and is a son of Peter and 
Marina (Drixelves) Schulte. At the urgent persuasion of his 
father, and against his own wishes, our subject, with barely 
enough money to pay his passage, sailed from Bremen to 
New York, with the purpose of joining a sister, Mrs. John Spin- 
gob, who was then living in Sedgwick county, Kansas. Arriving 
at New York, he found himself out of money and unable to get 
work, and was obliged to write his sister for money to pay his 
railway fare to Wichita, where he landed at eleven o'clock at 
night, carrying all his possessions in a hand grip. He at once 
found work and the first year earned $180, and the next, bought a 
yoke of oxen. In 1875 he preempted a quarter-section in Illinois 
township and built a dugout and lived there. He afterwards 
built a stone house and lived there till 1891. Not meeting with 
the success he desired, Mr. Schulte sold this place and bought a 



BIOGKAPHY 873 

quarter-section on time, making five annual payments. From 
that time on he was greatly prospered and from time to time 
added to his holdings until at the present time (1910) his posses- 
sions in Illinois township amount to 1,040 acres, a part of this 
being a one-third interest in forty acres at the village of Schulte, 
which was named in honor of him. He also owns the elevator and 
a fine large frame building at this place, all accumulated since 
1891. Mr. Schulte has served on the local school board a number 
of years. He is independent in political matters. In religious 
belief he is a Catholic, and is identified with the Catholic church 
of Schulte, located upon five acres of land which he and two other 
men donated to the church. 

In 1876, Mr. Schulte married Miss Catherine, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Conroy) Manning, who came from Iowa in 
1874 and settled in Sedgwick county. Of ten children born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Schulte, William M., born March 1, 1878, married 
Miss Nellie Lane, and they have five children, viz. : Lewis, Alvina, 
Harold, Earl and Pauline ; Joseph P., born October 2, 1879, mar- 
ried Miss Celia Faker, two children : Augusta C, born November 
28, 1906, died December 7, 1909, and Alberta C. Schulte. John 
P. was born March 26, 1882; Mary A. was born September 16, 
1883, and is married to Mr. George Patry and four children have 
been born, viz. : Leonard, Catharine and Cecelia ; Joseph P., born 
February 19, 1908, died February 14, 1909. Charles M., born 
January 15, 1886 ; Frances T., born January 12, 1888 ; Thomas A., 
born August 9, 1890; Celia E., born March 16, 1893, and James 
B., born August 20, 1897, all alive, at home with their parents. 
Anthony, who was born January 17, 1896, died November 11, 1909. 

Garrison Scott, county commissioner of Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, is a native of the Buckeye State, having been born in 
Ohio September 12, 1851. His parents were David and Sarah 
(Fuhrman) Scott. His mother traced her remote ancestry to 
Germany. The father of the family had three children, of whom 
Garrison Scott was the first born. The mother of the latter died 
on July 4, 1909. Garrison Scott was educated in the public 
schools of Illinois up to his sixteenth year. The years previous 
to his marriage he worked as a laborer in Illinois. He was mar- 
ried on March 31, 1874, in Bloomington, 111., to Miss Alice C. 
Keefer, a daughter of H. C. M. Keefer, of Logan county, Illinois. 
Two children were born of this union. Mr. Scott, after his mar- 
riage, emigrated to Sedgwick county, Kansas, where he bought 



874 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

a farm of 160 acres in Section 28, Kechi township, which he 
afterwards traded for another farm in Section 22 of the same 
township, which he now owns, and has added to this other farms, 
so that he has acquired up to date 720 acres of fine land, which 
he has improved with his own industry. He has been very suc- 
cessful in raising hogs and cattle, and has made a specialty of 
buying and selling heavy draft horses which have commanded 
large prices. Mr. Scott is a Democrat in his political belief. He 
has served as county commissioner, since 1906, of Sedgwick 
county. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and he and his wife worship in the Christian church in 
an adjoining township. Mr. Scott is a hale and hearty man, 
and takes an interest in all things that benefit his home and 
county. 

J. Ira Sellers, of Wichita, Kan., is the proprietor of the Cement 
Block Works, located on the West Side. Mr. Sellers is a native 
of the "show me" state, having been born in Harrison county, 
Missouri, on February 16, 1872. His parents were Levin and 
Elizabeth (Milligan) Sellers, natives of east Tennessee, who later 
removed to Missouri. J. Ira Sellers acquired his education in 
the public schools of Missouri, and later taught for a period of 
seven years in the schools of his native state. He came to 
Wichita in 1898 and was variously in the employ of J. H. Turner 
and others prior to opening up his present industry. It is now a 
quarter of a century since the first cement building blocks were 
manufactured by Martin Heller in Wichita, and since that time 
rapid strides have been made in this line of manufacturing, until 
now Wichita has such plants as the one conducted by Mr. Sellers 
and others on the West Side. The Sellers plant was organized 
and began business March 1, 1909, and during its first season 
manufactured 100,000 blocks, while the outlook for the second 
season points to a greatly increased production. Fraternally, 
Mr. Sellers is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
He was married at Cunningham, Kan., in 1898, to Miss Estella 
Watkins, daughter of E. T. Watkins. From this union there has 
been issue three children, viz. : Neva W., Lela Belle and Ray 
Victor. 

Le Roy W. Scott, trustee of Park township, Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was born in La Salle county, Illinois, on August 25, 1859. 
His parents were Josiah and Catherine Scott, the father being a 
native of Pennsylvania and the mother of Ohio. His parents are 



BIOGRAPHY 875 

both dead. The elder Scott left Illinois in 1870 and located in 
Park township, Sedgwick county, Kansas, homesteading 160 acres 
of land in Section 21. He sold and bought up land in the same 
township and lived there until he died in 1902. Le Roy W. Scott 
acquired his education in the public schools of Illinois and at the 
Morris, 111., academy, which he attended two years. Mr. Scott 
has served his township as trustee for three terms. He is a Re- 
publican and active in party affairs. Fraternally Mr. Scott is a 
member of the Masonic order, of Wichita Consistory, No. 2, and 
of the Shrine. Mr. Scott was married December 16, 1885, in 
Fremont, Neb., to Miss Carrie Taylor. Six children have been 
born of this union, viz. : L. B., Vera, Ray, Earl, Pauline and Helen. 

William Sence, city clerk of Wichita, Kan., is a native of 
Indiana, having been born in Cass county, that state, on Novem- 
ber 16, 1863. His parents were Isaac and Amanda (Rotroff) 
Sence, natives of Maryland, who moved to Indiana in 1850, and 
are still residing on the same farm they acquired at that time. 
Mr. Sence was educated at the public schools of his native town 
and at the Northern Indiana Normal school at Valparaiso, Ind., 
and his work as a teacher in his native state continuing for three 
years. In 1886 he moved to Kansas and continued teaching for 
fourteen years in Sedgwick and Cowley counties. Mr. Sence 
was superintendent of schools of Sedgwick county in 1901-03, 
deputy county clerk 1905-09, and was appointed clerk of the city 
of Wichita for the term of 1909-11. He has been superintendent 
of the South Lawrence Christian Church Sunday school for six 
years. Fraternally, Mr. Sence is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and a trustee of Wichita Lodge, No. 93, 
and is also a member of the Knights of Pythias, Wichita Lodge, 
No. 44. In 1893 he was married to Miss Lizzie Hotsepillar, of 
Ohio. Two children have been born of this union, Basil L. and 
Virgil Sence. 

William W. Shafer, a successful farmer of Sedgwick county, 
Kansas, was born December 6, 1844, in Delaware county, Indiana. 
His parents were William P and Harriet Shafer, both natives of 
Pennsylvania. William W. Shafer went with his parents from 
Indiana to Illinois when he was only twelve years old. His father 
died in Illinois in 1849 and his mother died in 1897. Mr. Shafer 
came to Sedgwick county from Illinois in 1872 and pre-empted 
160 acres of land in Section 33, Attica township. He was married 
April 25, 1872, in Jerseyville, 111., to Miss Keturah Magee. Two 



876 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

children have been born of this union, both of whom are living. 
Pearl is now Mrs. Holmes Henshaw, and lives in Kings county, 
California ; Leota, her sister, is single. She possesses a good 
common school education and is highly accomplished in music. 
She was forced to abandon teaching music on acount of poor 
health and is at present the organist of the Methodist Episcopal 
church at Goddard, Kan. Mr. Shafer is a Eepublican in politics. 
Thomas H. Shannon, physician and surgeon, of Cheney, Kan., 
was born October 24, 1835, in Tuscorara county, Ohio. His 
parents were Enos and Malinda (Johnson) Shannon. On the 
paternal side the doctor remotely traces his ancestry to Ireland, 
although his father and mother were both natives of Ohio. His 
father was born in 1804 and his mother in 1809. In 1850 the 
doctor's parents moved from Ohio to Illinois and located at 
Astoria, Fulton county, where the father bought a farm on which 
he lived until his death, at the age of sixty-five. Dr. Shannon 
obtained his early education in the public schools of Illinois and 
studied medicine with Toler & Steel, physicians in Astoria, for 
three years. He then attended the State Medical University at 
Keokuk, Iowa, graduating in 1859 with the degree of M.D. The 
same year he began practice and occupied the same office in 
Astoria which his first preceptors had, and established a large 
and lucrative practice. The doctor is a member of the Allopathic 
school and on examination the Eclectic Medical College of Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio, gave him a diploma to practice in that school. In 
September of 1866 the doctor removed to Le Roy, Kan., where he 
practiced his profession successfully for ten years, and then 
removed in Wichita in 1876 and practiced there for one year, 
and then located on a government claim, where he remained until 
1884, engaged in his profession and farming also. He then 
located in Cheney, and is the oldest physician in the place, but 
one other man, Dr. Ingleman, having preceded him when the 
town was first organized. On April 30, 1857, Dr. Shannon was 
married to Miss Sarah M. Gallaher, of Astoria, 111. Five children 
have been born of this union, of whom only one, Gertrude, is 
living. She married Mr. E. D. Lieurance, an attorney of Wichita, 
but later moved to Denver, Colo., and they have two children, 
Leonidas, a deceased son of the doctor, left four .children. Dr. 
Shannon is a Catholic in religious belief. In politics he was a 
Democrat, supporting Stephen A. Douglas, but afterwards became 



BIOGEAPHY 877 

a strong admirer of Abraham Lincoln, and has since affiliated 
with the Republican party. 

S. D. Shaw, head of the S. D. Shaw Barber Supply Company, 
of Wichita, Kan., is an excellent type of the men who have made 
Wichita the city that it is from a commercial standpoint. With 
little capital but plenty of grit, Mr. Shaw has built up one of 
the largest businesses in his special line that there is in the 
Southwest. Mr. Shaw is a native of Ohio, having been born at 1 
Columbus, the capital of the state, on January 9, 1856. His 
parents were Samuel and Virginia (Lane) Shaw, natives of Ohio 
and West Virginia, respectively. His early education was ac- 
quired in district schools. He came to Kansas in 1871, when a 
young man, and engaged in herding cattle on the plains in 
Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas, being in the employ of Perry 
Wilson. After following this occupation for some years he 
returned to Ohio and to Columbus in 1877, where he took up the 
barber's trade. In 1889 he came back to Wichita and engaged 
in the barber business and later in the grocery business. He 
then took up the barber and barbers' supply business, which he 
has since continued with success. His first location was at No. 
317 East Douglas avenue, Wichita, in 1898, and he started with 
a capital of $200. The business continued to thrive and grow, 
until in 1907 the need of more spacious quarters became impera- 
tive, and in that year the business was removed to the quar- 
ters it now occupies, at No. 333 North Main street. It is now 
the largest of its kind to be found in southern Kansas, employing 
traveling salesmen throughout the Southwest and doing an 
annual business of nearly $60,000. Mr. Shaw was married on 
April 3, 1881, to Miss Racy Ingalls, of Morrisonville, 111. From 
this union two children have been born, Zura and Lottie, the 
former being the secretary of the Barber Supply Company and 
active in the operations of the store. 

Dr. S. T. Shelly, of Mulvane, Kan., is a native of Missouri, 
having been born at Memphis, in that state, on May 4, 1856. He 
is a son of Addison and Lucinda (Hoover) Shelly, both his parents 
being natives of Virginia. The father was born in October, 1826, 
and the mother was born in October, 1828. They were married 
in Virginia, and went to Missouri in the pioneer days, and still 
reside there. They were the parents of eight children, the five 
still living being Marcellus, of Montana; Mrs. Susan Leach, of 
Missouri; Mrs. Lottie Fullen, of Memphis, Mo.; Mrs. Alice Mc- 



878 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Lain, of Des Moines, la,, and Dr. S. T. Shelly, of Mulvane. The 
latter received his education at the State Normal School at Kirks- 
ville, Mo., and the Missouri Medical College, at St. Louis, from 
which he was graduated in the class of 1883. He came to Kansas 
on January 22, 1880, and located at Mulvane, where he has been 
engaged in the practice of his profession ever since. On Septem- 
ber 4, 1879, the doctor was married to Miss Callie C. Stone, who 
was born in Sacramento Valley on January 23, 1856, a daughter 
of Lewis and Catharine Stone. Dr. and Mrs. Shelly have been the 
parents of seven children, viz. : Gertrude, born August 16, 1880, 
died February 16, 1881 ; Gerald H., born November 18, 1881, and 
now a practicing physician in Mulvane ; Mrs. Jennie Nessly, born 
February 16, 1884 ; Christine, born March 25, 1888, and died May 
12, 1893 ; Paul, born March 28, 1890, and died October 29, 1891 j 
Carroll S., born December 26, 1894, and Dorris M., born May 11, 
1897. Dr. Shelly, in addition to his practice, owns a ranch of 320 
acres in Rockford township, one-half mile east of Mulvane, which 
is devoted to alfalfa and stock. His cattle are of the Holstein 
strain. The doctor is also interested in the alfalfa mill, the ice 
and cold storage plant and the Mulvane Mutual Telephone Com- 
pany. Fraternally he is a member of Mulvane Lodge, No. 201, 
A. F. and A. M. ; the ancient Order of United "Workmen, the Fra- 
ternal Aid, and he has been the local surgeon of the Atchison, 
Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad for a quarter of a century. The 
doctor is also a member of the American Medical Association, the 
Kansas state society, is ex-president of the South Kansas Medical 
Society and ex-president of the Sumner County Medical Society. 
He is also medical examiner for a number of the old line life in- 
surance companies. In politics the doctor is a Democrat and a 
Presbyterian in religious faith. 

Aaron L. Shew, of Cheney, Kan., veteran of the Civil War, 
was born September 27, 1837, in Susquehanna county, Pennsyl- 
vania. His parents were Cornelius L. and Sarah (Benedict) 
Shew. The father was a native of New York and the mother of 
Pennsylvania. Mr. Shew; traces his ancestry on the paternal side 
to Holland. Gen. Israel Putnam was a distant relative on the 
paternal side. On the mother's side his ancestors also partici- 
pated in the Revolutionary War. The father of Mr. Shew, with 
his family, moved from Pennsylvania to Muscatine county, Iowa, 
in 1862, his wife having died in 1865 at Wilton Junction, Iowa. 
The elder Shew died in Harvey county, Kansas, in 1883. The 



BIOGRAPHY 879 

education of A. L. Shew was limited to the public schools of Penn- 
sylvania. In early life he learned the trade of a millwright, 
which he followed off and on for several years. After engaging 
in farming at the age of twenty-two he abandoned this to go to 
the defense of his country, and on June 19, 1863, he enlisted for 
three months in Company F, Twenty-ninth Volunteer Infantry, 
of Pennsylvania. The regiment was on patrol duty nearly all 
the time he was in the service. Mr. Shew was discharged on 
August 1, 1863, and in September of the same year re-enlisted 
as a private in Company H, First New York Veteran Cavalry, 
and went to Camp Stoneman, near Alexandria, Va., where they 
remained until February, when they went to Halltown and re- 
mained until April, 1864. When the regiment was stationed at 
Martinsburgh, W. Va., where General Sigel took charge, they 
did picket duty near Harpers Ferry, Va. Mr. Shew was detached 
from his regiment at Waterloo early in May to do special recon- 
noitering work. After the engagement at Mount Jackson, May 
16 and 17, 1864, the army retreated to Martinsburgh and General 
Hunter took charge. Mr. Shew participated in the battle of 
Piedmont, W. Va., where 1,700 prisoners were taken, and his 
regiment took charge of the prisoners, taking them across the 
Allegheny mountains, being four days without retions, and deliv- 
ered the prisoners at Beverly. So varied were the movements 
of Mr. Shew while in line of duty that it would be impossible to 
do more than generalize upon them. He participated in Sheri- 
dan's raid in the Shenandoah valley, and went into winter quar- 
ters at Camp Piatte on the Big Kanawa run. Mr. Shew was dis- 
charged at Rochester, N. Y., July 20, 1865. After the close of 
the war he returned to Wilton Junction, Iowa, on a visit to his 
parents, and afterwards went to Galva, 111., and managed a large 
stock farm for his brother-in-law until 1869. He then returned 
to Wilton Junction, where he engaged in bridge building on the 
Rock Island railroad. He resided with his family at several 
different places in Iowa and Kansas. In 1872, with headquarters 
at Topeka, Kan., was assistant foreman of the bridge and building 
department of the eastern division. In 1875 he took charge of 
the bridge and building department of the Santa Fe railroad 
from Newton to Pueblo, with headquarters at Newton. In 1879 
he resigned his position on the Santa Fe and engaged in the 
produce and commission business in Newton. After a short time 
he traded his Newton business for a farm in Harvey, where he 



880 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

remained until 1884, when he moved to Cheney, where he has 
practically retired from a busy life. Mr. Shew and wife are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal church. He has been a class 
leader and steward for twenty-two years. In politics Mr. Shew 
is independent. He was married on December 27, 1870, at Sus- 
quehanna, Pa., to Miss Lizzie McLoughlin, of Iowa City, Iowa. 
One child has been born of this union, Lenora L., married to H. G. 
Warwick, of Cincinnati, Ohio, and she has a daughter eighteen 
years old. 

Charles E. Shreve, proprietor of the Cash Meat Market, No. 
825 West Douglas avenue, Wichita, Kan., is a native of Ohio, in 
which state he was born in Mahoning county on October 16, 1868. 
His parents were Ezra D. and Celia (Petett) Shreve, who moved 
to Kansas over a quarter of a century ago, first locating in Sedg- 
wick county and a short time thereafter moving to Sumner 
county. In 1896 the family moved to Wichita, where the father 
started in the meat business under the firm name of Shreve & 
Son, Charles E. being the partner. After five years the firm 
changed to the cattle business, and for seven years carried on an 
extensive trade in buying, trading and selling cattle. In 1903 
Charles E. Shreve opened his present place of business on the 
West Side, and has since enjoyed a prosperous trade. Charles E. 
Shreve had only a limited opportunity for schooling, and has 
obtained his education in the practical business life which he has 
followed. He is a member of the Wichita Chamber of Commerce, 
the West Side Commercial League and the Fraternal Aid. On 
September 27, 1891, Mr. Shreve was married to Miss Lucy 
Spencer, daughter of Calvin and Julia Spencer, of Eldorado, 
Kan. Two children have been born of this union, Blanche H. 
and Homer Shreve. 

Frank W. Shuler, of the firm of Shuler Bros., contractors and 
builders, No. 118 East Third street, Wichita, Kan., is a native of 
Hamilton, Butler county, Ohio, where he was born on August 13, 
1863. His parents were Mandes and Mariana (Dubbs) Shuler, 
natives of Pennsylvania and Ohio, respectively. The parents 
moved to Kansas in 1879, locating at Topeka, where the father 
was engaged in general contracting work. The mother died in 
1882 and the father in 1902. Frank W. Shuler is the third child 
of a family of five. He was educated in the public schools of 
Hamilton, Ohio, and began work as an apprentice at the car- 
penter's trade at the age of thirteen, which occupation he has 



BIOGRAPHY 881 

since followed in the general contracting and building line. The 
first firm organized was with his brothers, and was made up as 
follows: B. M. Shuler, H. E. Shuler and F. W. Shuler, under 
the firm name of Shuler Bros. This was later changed to F. "W. 
& H. E. Shuler, and is now composed of B. M. & F. W. Shuler. 
These brothers have operated in various towns in Kansas, coming 
first to Sedgwick county in the fall of 1884, later to Clark county, 
then to Topeka, and locating in Wichita in the fall of 1890, 
where they have since conducted a good business. The firm has 
been established at Fairmount since 1896. It has built all classes 
of structures, from farm residences to churches, Fairmount Col- 
lege dormitory and city residences. Mr. Shuler was married in 
November, 1889, to Miss Jessie B. Williams, of Columbus, Kan. 
Four children have been born of this union, viz. : Harry E. and 
Elgie M., twins, and Alston W. and Algerine. 

Hiram W. Silknitter is a prosperous farmer of Sedgwick 
county, Kansas. A native of Indiana, he was born in 1849, and 
is a son of Soloman and Catharine (Carter) Silknitter, the former 
a native of Pennsylvania and of Hollandish ancestry. They moved 
to Iowa in 1849 and settled on a farm and died there, the father 
in 1865 and the mother in 1899. Our subject passed his youth 
and early manhood in Iowa, but in 1872 removed to Sedgwick 
county, Kansas, and pre-empted and settled on a quarter section 
of land in Gypsum township, which he has improved and con- 
verted into a model farm, carrying on general farming. 

In 1883 Mr. Silknitter married Miss Anna McNeal, a daughter 
of Mr. Worthington McNeal, of Iowa, who died in 1885, leaving 
one child, Myrtle, who was born in 1884. She is now married 
and lives in Wichita, and has one child named Montana Lillian 
Kussell. 

In political opinion, Mr. Silknitter is a Democrat. 

Charles W. Simmons, of Wichita, Kan., ex-sheriff of Sedgwick 
county, is a native of Wisconsin, having been born in Monroe, 
Green county, on December 17, 1847. He is a son of C. J. and 
Mary (Allison) Simmons, natives of North Carolina and Illinois, 
respectively. The parents of Mr. Simmons removed to Wisconsin 
from Illinois in the spring of 1847, where the father purchased 
land and followed the occupation of farming. Here he reared a 
family of fourteen children, thirteen of whom are living. Charles 
W. Simmons was their third child. The education of the lad was 
obtained in the public schools of his native town, and after finish- 



882 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

ing school he remained on the home farm until he attained his 
majority, when he left the parental roof and began for himself 
in Buchanan county, Iowa, where he engaged in farming. It was 
in October, 1870, that he came to Sedgwick county, Kansas, and 
camped on land which he now owns in Kechi township. He made 
the trip from Iowa to Kansas in a wagon, first going to Linn 
county, Kansas, and then continuing to Sedgwick county, where 
he proved up a claim in Minneha township, which he afterward 
sold. He then went to Caldwell for a short time, but soon after- 
ward returned to his first choice, Kechi township, where he 
secured a homestead which he improved. The period known as 
the "grasshopper year" came as a discouragement, and he re- 
turned to his native state on a visit. After the plague had 
ceased he made the return trip to Kansas by wagon, and found 
that his farm then gave every indication of fertility. He began 
once more with renewed vigor to surmount all obstacles, believing 
that Sedgwick county had a future for the -farmer. Mr. Simmons 
later bought a farm in Valley Center township, and first became 
a resident of Wichita in 1880, where he bought and sold hay for 
a time, when he again returned after two years to Kechi town- 
ship, and farming, as the boom period had made conditions rather 
uncertain. He engaged in farming for a period of four years, 
when he was made undersheriff of Sedgwick county under B. R. 
Royce, resigning after having held the position fourteen months. 
He then purchased the Mammoth Livery business in Wichita, 
which he conducted until November, 1902, when he sold it to fill 
the office of sheriff of Sedgwick county, to which he was elected 
by a large majority that year on the Republican ticket. Mr. 
Simmons served in the office for five years. Since his retirement 
from office he has been engaged in the hay and real estate busi- 
ness. One of the important things during his term of office as 
sheriff was his efficiency in the celebrated Jester case. The only 
other political office held by Mr. Simmons was that of township 
clerk in Kechi township. Mr. Simmons is a member of Valley 
Center Lodge, No. 364, A. F. and A. M., of the Consistory, Knights 
of Pythias and Ancient Order of United Workmen and the Fra- 
ternal Aid. He was married in 1873 to Miss Parilee Dadisman, 
of Sedgwick county. Of this union there has been issue Daisy E., 
Lilly P., Durward C, Georgia and Charles D., the latter dying at 
the age of two years. 



BIOGRAPHY 883 

James M. Simmons, head of the J. M. Simmons Plumbing 
Company, of Wichita, Kan., is a native of West Virginia, having 
been born in Roane county, that state, on April 14, 1884. His 
parents were M. F. and Nellie (Daniels) Simmons, natives of 
West Virginia and England, respectively. The elder Simmons 
was a timberman, but has now retired from business and is still 
living in West Virginia. His wife and the mother of James M. 
died in 1895. James M. Simmons was the second child of a family 
of four children, all of whom are living. He was educated in 
the public schools of West Virginia, the Spencer High school and 
the Mountain State Business College, Parkersburg, W. Va. He 
began his business career in the wholesale and retail grocery 
business, in which he continued for two years. He early learned 
the plumber's trade, and came West in 1902, locating first in 
Independence, Kan., and moving next to Winfield, where for 
eighteen months he was engaged in plumbing work, at the end 
of which time he came to Wichita. Here he obtained employ- 
ment with the R. R. Moore Plumbing Company and remained 
with it until 1905, when he established the J. M. Simmons Plumb- 
ing Company, which he has conducted with more than average 
success. The establishment of the company is located at No. 428 
North Main street. Fraternally, Mr. Simmons is a member of 
Sunflower Lodge, No. 86, A. F. and A. M., and of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. He was married on December 25, 1905, 
to Miss Bessie Sigler, daughter of William Sigler, of Floral, Kan. 
From this union one child has been born, Millard William 
Simmons. 

Henry H. Snyder, * of Mulvane, Kan., a prosperous retired 
farmer, and a prominent citizen of Sedgwick county, was born in 
Whitley county, Kentucky, on February 15, 1845. His parents 
were William and Jane (Martin) Snyder, both natives of Ken- 
tucky. The elder Snyder was born in 1808, and his wife in 1816. 
They were married at Cumberland Gap and in 1851 moved to 
Missouri, near the Iowa line, where they remained until 1863, 
when they came to Salina, Kan. Mr. Snyder, Sr., was a farmer 
and only lived about one year after coming to Kansas, his death 
occurring in 1864. His widow lived until 1879. They were the 
parents of eleven children, ten of whom lived to maturity. The 
children were : Mrs. Nancy Gierschand, deceased ; John, who died 
when young ; Sidney, who married Perry Eaton, and is deceased ; 
Sarah Morrison, deceased ; Mrs. Amanda Giersch, deceased ; Mrs. 



884 HISTORY OF SEDGWICK COUNTY 

Lucinda Beard, deceased; Henry H, of Mulvane; George, of 
Salina ; Mrs. Mary Osmond, deceased ; Quince, of Udahl, Kan. ; 
Mrs. Julia Parsons, deceased; Mrs. Susan Pitman, of Rockford 
township. Henry H. Snyder came to Kansas in 1862 and stopped 
at Salina. In 1869 he came to Sedgwick county, but returned to 
Salina. In August, 1870, he removed to Sedgwick county and 
preempted 160 acres in Section 8, Rockford township. He 
brought about 300 head of catle with him, but they all died of 
Texas fever except eleven. Mr. Snyder improved his claim and 
held it until 1882, when he sold it and bought 160 acres in Section 
27, Rockford township, which he still owns and has added to until 
he now owns 300 acres, all in Rockford township. August 1, 
1867, Mr. Snyder married Miss Elizabeth Farris, who was born 
in Kentucky on January 6, 1852, a daughter of Lindsey and Nancy 
Farris. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder have been the parents of five chil- 
dren. They are : William, who owns a farm adjoining his fa- 
ther's; Charles, deceased; Amy, deceased; Fred, who is living on 
the old home place, and Mrs. Ray Shafer, of Sumner county. Mr. 
Snyder for many years bought and sold cattle and did diversified 
farming. He served as township treasurer, but was averse to 
holding office. In 1909 he built him a pleasant home in Mulvane 
and retired from active life. He and his wife are members of the 
Christian church at Mulvane. 

Edwin I. Spencer is recognized as one of the successful men 
of Wichita, Kan. He is a native of Wisconsin and was born in 
1856 to B. and Philena Spencer. He passed his early life 
in his native state, but in 1879 went to Colorado and for 
two years was employed sawmilling, mining and freighting 
with a six-mule team, jerk-line and tail-wagon. Returning 
to Wisconsin, he turned his attention to farming some three 
years, and in 1884 went to Russell, Kan., and began his career 
as a real estate dealer, handling Union Pacific railway lands. 
While thus employed he was several times called 'to Wichita, 
and finally, in 1887, settled here, opening his office at No. 144 
North Main street. Mr. Spencer, during the twenty-three years 
of his residence in Wichita, has had varied experience and his 
full share of ups and downs in business ; but always hopeful, he 
kept steadily at it, with the result that he has been able to meet 
and overcome difficulties and achieve, on the whole, most gratify- 
ing success. Among the enterprises with which he has been 
connected is the Wichita Land and Abstract Company, which 



BIOGRAPHY 885 

he helped to organize and with which he was for a time identified. 
At the present time — 1910 — he is identified with the Tampatal 
Land Company, of which the officers are : E. I. Spencer, presi- 
dent ; R. H. Hutchinson, vice-president ; W. A. Rankins, secretary, 
and M. D. Hatch, assistant secretary and treasurer, and which is 
engaged in colonizing a tract if 23,000 acres of land it owns, 
located some seventy-five miles west of Tampico, Mexico. 

Mr. Spencer is the inventor and patentee of the Wichita Auto 
Jack, which he expects soon to place on the market. He has his 
office at No. 312 Barnes building. 

In December, 1880, Mr. Spencer married Miss Eva M. Felch, 
of Wisconsin. Of seven children born to them, three died in 
early childhood. Those surviving are De La Mater, who is 
employed in his father's office; Lucile, now in her third year in 
the high school, and Maxine and Kenneth, who are pupils in the 
grammar school. 

Mr. Spencer is somewhat active in fraternal orders, being a 
Mason and a member of the Wichita Consistory, and belonging 
to the Mystic Shrine at Mexico City, Mexico. He also belongs 
to the Wichita Chamber of Commerce. 

John E. Stanley, concrete block manufacturer of Cheney, Kan., 
was born February 29, 1848, at Benington, Wyoming county, New 
York. His parents were Edwin and Eliza Stanley, both natives 
of Connecticut. On the paternal side the ancestry of the family 
is traced to Wales and on the maternal to Germany. The early 
education of John E. Stanley was acquired in the public schools 
of Wyoming county, and he attended for two years the Wyoming 
Academy at Wyoming. At the age of nineteen he learned the 
trade of a painter. He came West after he had finished his edu- 
cation and worked at his trade in Vinton, Iowa, one year. He 
then moved to Manhattan, Kan., in 1869, and the following year 
to Wichita, which he made his headquarters for a number of 
years while he herded cattle in Kansas. Mr. Stanley made 
several moves before he managed to find the exact spot that was 
to his liking. For a time he conducted a livery business in 
McPherson county, Kansas. He was married on May 27, 1877, to 
Miss Amanda Pinkerton, of McPherson county. The parents of 
the bride came from Missouri. Three children have been born of 
this union, Thomas, Carrie and Mary. Thomas married Miss 
Jeannette Wing and has three children. Carrie was married to 
W. H. McCue of Cheney and has three children.