Skip to main content

Full text of "Hoopeston Centennial : souvenir booklet $1.00"

See other formats


V 



n, 



* 



1l 



11^ 



fe 



^g 



^ 



n 



1977.365 




Souvenir booklet $1.°'* 



I?^B OIP HIOOI^ESTO 3Sr. 



13. Lukens Bros. 

14. ]_Mie J. C. Davis's Hotel. 
16. 1-ale Union Depot. 

16. P. G. Johnson. 

17. G. H. White, l_and Agent. 

18. J. 1„ Mozier. 



19. Morey & Bros., Elevator. 

20. Hibberd Hotel, J. C. Davis, Proprlel or. 

21. Goldstein, Brick Store. 

22. M. D. Calkins, Lumber Yard. 

23. Seam Noggle. 

24. a. R. Weacott. 



25. Powell 's Drug Stora. 

26. Hay Press, G. C. Davi*. 

27. Stock Yard. 

28. Livery Stable. 

29. C. L. Calkua. 



ILLINOIS HISTORICAL SURVEY 



Souvenir Centennial Booklet: 



Dedicated to an Awareness of our Heritage, 






and a Sincere Interest in our Future! 

Without the complete cooperation of supporting Hoopeston businessmen, industries and 
organizations, our task of compiling the following booklet would not have been possible. Area friends 
and out-of-state businesses also played a part in financing the publication. 

References for information have been numerous. History of Vermilion County by Lottie Jones and 
Hiram Beckwith, "History Under our Feet", other volumes at Hoopeston Public Library and in- 
dividual research by members of the committee have been our chief sources. 





Calendar of Events 



,^2iU.. Um>^' 



Sunday July 18th 



Religious Heritage Day 



7:00 A.M. Noon-Church Services-All Churches 

10:00 A.M. 4:00 P.M. -Hospitality Center Opens 

Noon McFerren Park "Reunion" 

•(J. G. Williams Family) 
•(Leaver Family) 
2:00 P.M. Midway Opens 

8:00 P.M. Glen Brasel Field - High School 

"Gospel Singing with the LeFevers 
and Speer Family" 
$2.00 advance, $2.50 at gate 
Monday July 19th Senior Citizen's Day 

10:00 A.M. Midway Opens (Merchant discount 

rides until 5:00 P.M. all ages) 

10:00 A.M. Hospitality Center Opens 

(219 West Main Street) 
2:00 P.M. Anierican Legion "Bingo 

(Senior Citizens)" 

Free tor all persons over 50 yrs. of age 
$2.00 for persons under 50 yrs. of age 
8:00 P.M. Civic Center "Dance" (Senior Citizens) 

Music by Pat Musk and Group 
Free for all persons over 50 years of age 
$2.50 for all persons under 50 yrs. ^f age 

Tuesday July 20th Open Air Market Day 

9:00 A.M. Downtown Area - Open Air Market Opens 

10:00 A.M. Midway Opens (Discount rides until 

5:00 P.M.) 
10:00 A.M. Hospitality Center Opens 

11 :30 A.M. 1 :00 P.M. -Free corn on the cob 

(Main Street - downtown) 
3:00 P.M. 3:45 P.M. -"Entertainment" 

(Main Street - downtown) 
7:00 P.M. 8:00 P.M. -"Entertainment" (Downtown) 

By the Ripchords IV 
7:30 P.M. "Preliminary Beard Judging Contest" 

(Downtown) Mam Street 
8:00 P.M. Glen Brasel Field - High School 

"Pre-Spectacular Entertainment" by 
"Hoopeston Sweet Corners" 
9:00P.M. "SPECTACULAR" 

Glen Brasel Field 

Fireworks immediately following Spectacular 
Wednesday July 21st Youth Day 

10:00 A.M. Youth Parade (Downtown) 

(Pet, Bike and Costume Categories) 
10:00 A.M. Hospitality Center Opens 

10:00 A.M. Midway Opens (Discount rides until 

5:00 P.M.) 
1 :00 P.M. "Movie & Cartoons" (Lorraine Theatre) 

Admission—for all persons 15 and under, 

2 wooden nickles 

For all persons over 1 5 years of age, $1 .00 
2:00 P.M. 6:00 P. M -McFerren Park 

"Games & Contests" (8 through 15 age) 
3:30 P.M. 5:00 P.M.-McFerren Park 

"Games & Contests" (3 through 7 age) 
8:00 P.M. Civic Center "Teen Hop" 

Music by: AMBOY DUKES 



Admission: $2.50 Advance, $3.50 Door 
Glen Brasel Field ■ High School 
"Pre-Spectacular Entertainment" 
by the Antioch Teen Choir 
"SPECTACULAR" 
Glen Brasel F leld 
Thursday July 22nd Industry Day 



8:00 P.M. 



900 P.M. 



10 00 A.M. Hospitality Center Opens 

10:00 AM. Midway Opens (Discount rides 

until 5:00 P.M.) 
2:00 P.M. 4:00 P.M. -Open House Plant Tours 

(Tour information at Centennial Headquarters) 

FMC Corporation 
Joan of Arc 
American Can 
Stokely-Van Camp 
7:30 P.M. Glen Brasel Field 

"Pre-Spectacular Entertainment" 
"Finals Beard Judging Contest" 
9:00P.M. "SPECTACULAR" 

Glen Brasel Field 
FrirJay July 23rd Agriculture Day 



10:00 A.M. 
10:00 A.M. 

10:00 A.M. 
11:00 A.M. 



1:00 P.M. 
2:00 P.M. 



'6:30 P.M. 
7:30 P.M. 



9:00 P.M. 



Hospitality Center Opens 

Midway Opens (Discount rides 

until 5:00 P.M.) 

5:00 P.M. -Civic Center 
(1 1 :00 A.M.-1 :00 P.M. -Luncheon) 

by Helen Farrell (Civic Center) 

Displays-Art Show-Style Show - 

Band Concert & other entertainment 

Program starts 

Pioneer Events recognition presentations 

Agriculture Day recognition presentations 
(100 year farm placques) 
•V.F.W. "Reunion" (Class of '46) 

Glen Brasel Field 

"Pre-Spectacular Entertainment" 

"Competitive Style Show" 

"SPECTACULAR" 
Glen Brasel F leld 



Saturday July 24th 



Variety Day 



9 


00 A.M. 


10 


00 A.M. 


10 


00 A.M. 


11 


00 A.M 


11 


00 A. M 



11:30 A.M. 



Noon 


2:00 P.M. 


6:00 P.M. 


7:00 P.M. 


8:00 P.M. 


9:00 P.M. 



5:00 P.M. -Bank Street "Flea Market" 

Hospitality Center Opens 

Midway Opens 

Auction of Centennial Silver Coins 

No's. 1 thru 10 and No. 100 

Corner of Bank & Main Streets 

7:00 P.M. -Hoopeston Community 
•Hospital Auxiliary Chicken Bar-B-Que 

All Day (Downtown) 

Centennial Manor 

"Dedication Ceremonies" 

Governor Ogilvie, Senator Tom Merntt 

2:00 P.M. -Lunch 

"Parade" 

Grand Marshall-Governor Ogilvie 
"American Legion "Reunion" 

(Class of '51) 

Glen Brasel Field - High School 

Pre-Spectacular Activities 

1 1 :00 P.M. -Civic Center "Square Dance" 

Refreshments & door prize $3.00 per couple 

"SPECTACULAR" 
Glen Brasel Field 



In The Beginning: 



The Naming of Grant Township 



(from: "History of Vermilion County by H. W. Beckwith. 
H. H. Hills & Co., Chicago, 1879) 

Grant Township was. until 1862, a portion of Ross, and as now 
constituted, occupies the northeastern corner of the county, 
having Indiana for its eastern boundary, Iroquois county for its 
aarihern. Butler township for its western, and Ross for its 
southern. It is rectangular in shape: is twelve and one-half miles 
long by seven and one-half wide, containing 58,880 acres and is 
the largest township in the county. In 1862 it was almost entirely 
prairie, having but a few acres of timber near the center of its 
southern line, known as Bicknell's Point, (2 miles north of where 
Rossville is today) and formed the great treeless ''divide" 
between the head waters of the Vermilion and of the Iroquois. As 
late as 1860, very little of its land had been brought into 
cultivation, although the great highway of travel from the 
south to Chicago (Hubbard Trail) ran directly across its center 
twenty-five years before that time. When, in 1872, the railroad 
was built through it, few farms were intersected. The great 
prairie from Bicknell's Point stretching north was the dread of 
the early settler when he became benighted on his return from 
Chicago after a ten days' trip to that, their only market. The 
dark, stormy, wintry nights carried terror to many a household 
when it was feared that the father or husband or son was trying 
to find his way home over the treeless waste of the great divide. 




GEN. U. S. GRANT 

A PRAIRIE TRAGEDY 
A single incident of such tragic nature as to be told over and 
over again at every fireside in the 1830's will serve to show the 
terrors which in those days were consequent upon winter travel. 
In December, 1836, on a mild warm day in which rain and snow 
mingled until the ground was covered with slush, and every- 
thing which travelers wore was wet through, the thermometer 
ranging above forty degrees, two travelers. Frame and Hild- 
reth, were making'their way back toward the settlements on the 
Vermilion, and, just after night overtook them when not far 
from where Hoopeston now stands, the "sudden change" so 
often alluded to by old settlers struck them. The weather, from 
ranging above freezing, suddenly dropped to twenty degrees 
below zero, accompanied by a wind which was severe enough to 




The Bicknell House built on North Fork, 1835: rebuilt as Bicknell 
Inn in 1845. Located about 2 miles north of Rossville (called 
Liggett's Grove and Henpeck). George and William Bicknell set 
up a homestead and as traffic increased on Hubbard's Trail, 
they erected the inn in 1845. Abraham Lincoln w/as said to be a 
patron years later. 

freeze every article of wet clothing in an instant. The ground full 
of water, became frozen in a very few minutes, and no man 
could stand it for even a short time on horseback. The men 
walked for a while, until they became numb and lost. To be lost 
on this great prairie at anytime, and under any circumstances 
of weather, was a most painful condition, mentally, one 
could be placed in; but lost in a storm, conscious that one was 
gradually and surely becoming less and less able every moment 
to care for himself, was as near like enduring the torments of the 
damned as one can well imagine. On, on they went, vainly 
hoping to reach some place where they might at least be 
protected from th? fearful blasts. They had given up hope of 
getting what King James asked in somewhat similar circum- 
stances — "rest and a guide, and food and fire"; but they still 
hoped to find the friendly shelter of Bicknell's Point. But finally 
that hope also abandoned them, and, with almost the certainty 
of death, they decided to kill their horses and disembowel them, 
hoping that the friendly shelter of the stiffening carcass and 
warmth of the animal heat might save them from certain death. 
Unreasonable as their hope seems, they actually carried their 
plan into partial execution, by killing one of the horses, and 
pushing him over as he fell so that the back would lie toward the 
west, and protect them in a measure from the terrible blast. The 
other horse for some reason was not killed, and the two half- 
frozen men made themselves as comfortable as possible in the 
shelter which they had thus prepared. In the morning. Frame 
was dead, and Mr. Hildreth was so badly frozen that he suffered 
partial amputation. He died in Carroll township in 1876, living to 
see almost forty anniversaries of that dreadful night. 
GIVEN NAME "LYON" 
When the old township of Ross was divided the name of Lyon 
was given to this. When the name was sent to Springfield, the 
auditor notified the supervisors that there was already a 
township named Lyons in Cook county, and it would be 
necessary to find another name. A western captain who had 
been for some years carrying on a limited tanning business at 
Galena, smoking his pipe very regularly, and talking very little 
about politics or anything else, had, a year before this, offered 
his services to the governor of the state in any position that he 
should deem him worthy to fill, in aid of organizing regiments 



for sending for to put down armed treason in the south. He was 
sent to the adjutant-general's office with a request to put him to 
work. In less than 24 hours the adjutant-general found out that 
this quiet, almost speechless man knew more than the whole 
office. A regiment was then quartered at Camp Butler almost in 
a state of mutiny, and Governor Yates found that it would be 
necessary to displace the colonel and give the command to some 
one who could manage it. He appealed to Capt. Grant, who at 
once replied that he thought he would have no trouble with as 
good a regiment as that. He took command, marched the men 
across the country to Quincy, and went to the front. He had, at 
the time a new name was to be selected for this township, just 
electrified the country by his reply to the rebel commandant at 
Fort Donelson, that no terms but "unconditional surrender" 
would be accepted. It was the first great victory of the war. and 
it was believed that a great future awaited the new general. 
Ulysses Grant. About the first great honor paid him was the 
naming of this magnificent township after him. 

The first town meeting held in Grant township after it was cut 
off from Ross, was held in the Owen school-house. April. 1862. 
The following are the officers who were elected at that time: J. 
R. STEWART. SUPERVISOR: A. M. DAVIS. CLERK: A.M. 
DAVIS, ASSESSOR: W.W. SMITH, COLLECTOR. 

Justices of the peace have been: James Holmes, E. B. 
Jenkins. W. D. Foulke, A. M. Davis. William Moore, and L. 
Armstrong. 



Weather in the 1800's. . . . 

Vermilion County is not subject to extremes of weather as is 
found in some sections. There are some instances on record, 
however, of extremes which bear notice. One of these is the deep 
snow of the winter of 1830-1, which gave this season the 
reputation of being one of great severity, and occasioned much 
suffering. This snow, however, did not fall all at once but was the 
accumulation of many falling on top of the preceding one. These 
were repeated over and over again without any melting of snow 
until the ground was so completely hidden that there was great 
suffering in consequence. The cattle could not receive the care 
needed and hundreds died in consequence. This was the winter 
in which the elder Partlow died and his sons became so 
discouraged that they went back to Kentucky. The deer were 
driven away to seek food or were starved in such great numbers 
that they were never so plentiful again in this region. Another 
extreme of weather is recorded in the "cold Tuesday" of 
December 16. 1836. Enoch Kingsbury wrote a letter, sometime 
in the fifties, telling his remembrance of that day which has 
been preserved and is hereby given entire. 

"The weather on Monday, December 16, 1836. was quite warm 
and fast softening the heavy snow. On Tuesday it began to rain 
before day and continued until four in the afternoon, at which 
time the ground was covered with water and melting snow. All 
the small streams were very full and the large ones rapidly 
rising. 

"At this crisis there arose a large and tumultuous cloud in the 
west, with a rumbling noise. On its approach everything 
congealed. In less than five minutes it changed a warm at- 
mosphere to one of intense cold, and flowing water to ice. One 
says that he started his horse into a gallop in the mud and water 
and on going a quarter of a mile, he was bounding over ice and 
frozen ground. Another says that in an hour after the change he 
passed over a stream of two feet deep on ice. which actually 
froze solid to the bottom and remained so until Spring. The 
North Fork where it was rapid and so full of water as to overflow 
its bottoms, froze over so solid that night that horses crossed the 
next morning, and it was thus with all the streams. 

"Mr. Alvan Gilbert, with his men, was crossing the prairie 
from Bicknells (about where Rossville is located now) to Sugar 
Creek, with a large drove of hogs. Before the cloud came over 
them the hogs and horses showed the greatest alarm and an 
apprehension of danger. As it actually came upon them, the 
hogs refusing to go any further, began to pile themselves in one 
vast heap as their best defense on the open prairie. During the 



night half a dozen of them perished, and those on the outside 
were so frozen they had to be cut loose. About twelve others died 
on their way to Chicago in consequence of their being badly 
frozen, while many others lost large pieces of their flesh. 

"Mr. Gilbert and his men rode five or six miles distant, all of 
them having fingers, toes or ears frozen, and the harness so 
frozen that it could not be unhitched from the wagon, and 
scarcely from the horses. 

"Two men riding across the same prairie a little further to the 
west, came to a stream so wide and deep they could not cross it. 
The dreary night came on and after exercising in vain, they 
killed one horse, rolled his back to the wind and toofe out his 
entrails, and thrust in their hands and feet, while they lay upon 
them." 

Village 
Presidents-Mayors 

The village of Hoopeston was organized in January, 1874 with 
the following presidents serving from that time: 

1874. T. J. Carr: 1874-75, N. L. Thompson; 1875-76. S. P. 
Thompson: 1876-77, Samuel Noggle. 

In April. 1877. the City of Hoopeston was organized. Mayors 
and the year of their election have been: 

1877 thru 1879. J. S. McFerren: 1879. Alba Honeywell: 1881- 
1844, J. S. McFerren: S. P. Thompson; 1885-88. H. L. Bushnell; 
1888. A. H. Trego; 1889-1891. W. P. Pierce: 1891-1893. W. R. 
Wilson: 1893-1895. J. H. Dyer; 1895-97, J. S. McFerren: 1897-1901. 
John L. Hamilton: 1901. J. S. McFerren; 1902-1905. James A. 
Cunningham: 1905-1907. Fred Ayers: 1907-1909. C. S. Crary; 
1909-1913. H. C. Finley: 1913-1917. I. E. Merritt: 1917-1919. 
William Moore: 1919-1925. John A. Heaton: 1925-1929. D. J. 
McFerren: 1929-1931. Fred E. Earel: 1931-1933. E. H. Rich- 
creek: 1933-1935. Walter Trego: 1935-1937, Franklin Johnson; 
1937-1941. William Beggs: 1941-1947. Gilbert C. Trego: 1947-1949, 
Frank Newman; 1949-1953. Dr. G. R. Browne: 1953-1957. D. J. 
McFerren: 1957-1961, John A. Crumley: 1961-1965, Joseph C. 
Moore II: 1965-1969. Martin Young; 1969 to present. Earl F. 
Smock. 

History of Banking in Hoopeston 

Banhing first came to Hoopeston in August 1, 1872 and was 
established by J. S. McFerren and Wright Chamberlan using the 
name of McFerren and Chamberlan. Mr. McFerren was a 
pioneer resident and the first mayor of Hoopeston. Mr. 
Chamberlan retired from the bank due to ill health in 1874, at 
which time McFerren's brother, James, came into the business 
and the bank was hnown as J. S. McFerren and Brother. James 
McFerren passed away and J. S. McFerren organized the First 
National Bank of Hoopeston in 1882. The bank was organized 
with a capitalization of $25,000.00. J. S. McFerren continued as 
President until his death in I92I. at this time his son William 
McFerren took over the position of President. 

In 1889 Burwell. Hamilton and Morgan founded a banking 
house, which was later taken over by Haniilton and Lateer. J. A. 
Cunningham and J. L. Hamilton later went together and 
organized the Hamilton & Cunningham Bank in 1894. I. E. 
Merritt and Mark R. Koplin came to Hoopeston from Buckley. 
Illinois and in June of 1909 established the Hoopeston National 
Bank. 

From 1909 until 1931 Hoopeston enjoyed two banks. The First 
National Bank and The Hoopeston National Bank. In 1931 these 
two banks merged and was then known as the First National 
Bank of Hoopeston. 

During the moratorium in 1933 the First National Bank closed 
its doors, but all depositors were paid in full. Later that same 
year the City National Bank of Hoopeston was organized and 
their doors were opened August 7. 1933. City National had a 
capitol of $50,000.00 and surplus of $10,000.00. The first President 
was E. H. Trego and the Board of Directors consisted of C. V. 
McClenathan, E. H. Gustine, E. J. Boorde, George Petry, G. H. 
Couchman, E. F. Trego, H. C. Crays, and Mac Wallace. E. F. 



The "Embryo City of the Plains 

In Hoopeston's Beginning, 3 separate areas of the new-born town were bent on gaining the bulk of the 
town's business . . . thus, the nickname "Embryo City" was given it (Embryo meaning: "Any living 
thing in the earliest stages of its development). It was also called the 3-headed city. 



J J 




Let us suppose ourselves standing at the cross roads of the two 
railroads about noon on the 24th of July. 1871 just as the track 
was being laid on the Chicago, Danville and Vincennes road, 
across the grade of the Lafayette, Bloomington and Mississippi 
railroad. As we look over a mile distant to the nearest house, at 
which perchance there might be a hope of obtaining a good 
square meal, or behold on the opposite side the large plain of 
land, covered with the luxuriant growth of prairie grasses and a 
forest of rosin weeds, but a few months before deer had been 
seen grazing on the prairie, although aware of the importance of 
the location and of the wealth of the country, would our 
prophetic eye have dilated to such an extent as to predict that 5 
months would not pass ere there would be scattered around this 
crossing over 70 buildings, occupied by more than 245 persons, 
and that throngs of loaded wagons would be coming here to 
unload their freight of corn, and obtain the necessities of 
domestic life in return? 

We had supposed that the work of vigorous city making was 
confined to the frontier, but now we are convinced that Illinois 
still has places where the opening of a new railroad causes 
towns to spring into existence, "full armed" like Venus from the 
head of Jupiter. 




LOCATION OF TOWN 

On the 28th day of July. 1871, the first chain was stretched 
which was destined to mark off the present sight of what is 
fenown as Hoopeston proper, comprising about 18 acres situated 
in the southeast corner of the crossing upon land owned by 
Messrs. Davis and Satterthwaite. bought from Hiram Hatch in 
1870. at $22.50 per acre. On the 28th day of August the surveyors' 
chain was again employed to designate the location of north 
Hoopeston, upon the land owned by Thompson Bros.: also Davis 
and Satterthwaite's addition, occupying the northeast corner of 
the crossing. The switch of the north and south road is 1,700 feet 
long and is located upon Thompson Bros, tract. 

LEEDS 

Thus far the west side remained neglected, occupied by the 
land of Messrs. Snell, Taylor and Co.. and Mr. Mix. But on the 
6th day of November the county surveyor was employed to 
approve the previous survey made by the surveyor of Kankakee 
Co., the last of September. Stones were placed in the center of 
each street at the end, to prevent any controversy arising in 
regard to the location of lots. This part, which had previously 
received the name of Leeds, in common with the other parts 
which were designated as Hoopeston. comprises 160 acres lying 
either side of the east and west road, upon which the switch of 
the road is located, being 100 feet west of the crossing and 
running 1,400 feet. A private switch is also being built from the 
north and south road. 

Not yet satisfied with the extent of territory occupied by the 
town plat. Messrs. Moore and Brown purchased 50 acres Mc- 
Cracken 10 acres, of Thompson Bros., adjoining north 
Hoopeston and on the 16th day of December, converted them 
into additions to the town. 

Thus the four corners of the crossing, comprising nearly 500 
acres are divided off into appropriate portions for the building of 
a large and beautiful city. Of these there have already been sold 
for business and residence purposes over 750 lots many of which 
are already occupied by buildings, and many more to be built 
upon as soon as Spring opens. Some of the buildings are well 
worthy the prospects of our new town, and indeed would be an 
honor to many of our cities. This must soon become a place of 
considerable importance. The two construction companies 
which were building the roads. Snell, Taylor & Co. and Young & 
Co.. looked with covetous eyes upon this railroad crossing, both 
inwardly vowing that they would possess the prize. Both com- 



panies were in the height of their prosperity (this was in 1871, 
before the panic of 73 had knocked the bottom out of every 
railroad enterprise and construction company in the country), 
both being managed by shrewd, determined, positive men, who 
were not in the habit of being thwarted in their plans. Both, at 
that time, "knew no such word as fail." "When Greek meets 
Greek then comes the tug of war," and this struggle between the 
two contestants for this prize was about the only "war record" 
this young city ever knew. Young & Co., through their agent. 
Alba Honeywell, made acceptable terms with the land owners 
on the east of the Chicago, Danville. Vincennes road, and sup- 
posed they had made terms with Thomas Hoopes. but while they 
were like the servant of the prophet, "here and there." Col. Snell 
closed a bargain with Mr. Hoopes for one thousand acres of his 
land lying west of the junction, and forestalled Young & Co. 
READY TO SELL 
Mr. Hoopes knew enough to manage a good farm, but he 
doubted his ability to go into a scramble for selling city lots; for 
this reason he would have nothing to do with the business, but 
was ready to sell out to either party. 

When Young & Co. found that they were defeated in their plan 
of getting control of all the land which would come into the town 
plat, they bent their efforts to make the most of what they had, 
while the other firm, intent on a like operation, hurried up the 
platting of their part, and making such improvements as should 
offer strong inducements to business men. In the rage for 
speculation three separate towns were laid out and recorded. 
Davis and Satterthwaite laid out eighteen acres, on the 28th of 
July, where Main street is, and called it Hoopeston. Snell. 
Taylor & Co. (consisting of Col. Thomas Snell. of Clinton: Abner 
Taylor. Esq.. of Chicago, and James Aiken, who had died in 
Chicago, with Mr. Mix of Kankakee, as a special partner) laid 
out in November 160 acres where the Hibbard House stood, and 
called it Leeds. Thompson Brothers laid out east and north of the 
railroads, and called it North Hoopeston: and Davis and Sat- 
terthwaite an addition to Hoopeston. making, with some other 
additions, about 500 acres in all. 

The track of the C. D. & V. road was laid through town on the 
24th of July. 1871, and not a house nearer than a mile. The next 
day a few people collected to see the surveyors drive the first 
stake of the future metropolis of the prairie. Charlie Wyman was 
the first to commence laying off and selling lots. Messrs. Lukens 
Brothers were the first to purchase. On the 28th of July, Mr. 



Wyman's office, the first building. \vas built by J. C. Davis, who 
was the pioneer carpenter and did a prosperous business until he 
was repeatedly burned out. Jonathan Bedell started the first 
grocery store. The strife between the different land proprietors 
grew warm. The proprietors of Leeds built a large hotel three 
stories high and had it ready for occupancy that fall, and soon 
after that built the fine brick block, two stories high, and the five 
franie one-story stores and the large livery barn, all of which 
bui/dings stood there practically unused. They put in wide 
sidewalks, set out shade trees, graded up the streets and ran the 
grade out a mile for their center. They made very liberal offers 
to such as wanted to rent buildings of them, but the lots lying 
between their improvements and the lands of the other 
proprietors they would not sell at any price. Their plan looks 
reckless now. in the light of eight years, but after the contest 
they had for the possession of the town, there did not seem to 
have been any other course for them to pursue. Had they per- 
mitted the lots joining the tracts of the others to be put on the 
market first, they could hardly have expected to retain the 
business on their lands. The proprietors of the original town 
were pushing their lots into notice and every person who pur- 
chased there became an attorney in fact to work up a sale of the 
remaining lots as fast as possible. 



MARKET STREET POPULAR 
During the first season the lots along Market street of North 
Hoopeston, were the popular ones, and nearly every business 
was located on that street, which became the thoroughfare of 
trade and commerce. Way out north of the railroad, for four 
blocks, buildings went up in quick succession, nearly all the 
stores, the post office, the printing office, and in fact nearly 
everything called business was in North Hoopeston. B. F. Sites 
was pretty nearly in the center of trade. 

In October the post office was established and J. M. R. 
Spinning was appointed postmaster, a position he continued to 
hold until 1878. when Judge Dale Wallace was appointed, but the 
first mail did not arrive here, for some unexplained cause, until 
the 9th of December, when it was brought from Rossville in an 
open buggy which had to be provided for the occasion free of 
expense to the post office department. It was not until the 1st of 
January. 1872. that mail came by the trains. 

In October of that year religious services commenced to be 
held in the store of Mr. McCracken: this was for some months 
headquarters for religious instruction and heavenly in- 
telligence. The people were not so particular what a man's 
denomination credentials were; if he could preach, and was not 
above occupying "McCracken's pulpit." they heard him gladly. 
Seavy & Wallace commenced the publication of the first 
newspaper ever published in Hoopeston. issuing the first 
number on the 11th of January. 1872, of "The North Vermilion 
Chronicle." The first number gave a very full account of the 
"Early days of Hoopeston" — the town was less than six months 
old. and was full of interest to every resident. The first number 
which came from the press was put up at auction and sold for 
$32.50: the few succeeding copies were also sold in the same 
way. commanding sums which made the young proprietors feel 
an assurance of certain success. It was a seven-column folio and 
contained about six columns of advertisements. The following 
persons and firms made known their desire to do business with 
the citizens of Hoopeston and the surrounding prairie, in the first 
number. Whipple & Brown. S. K. White. G. C. Davis. Dean\ude 
& Lefever (of Rossville). Ed. Stemp. J. W. Elliott. G. H. White. 
Moffett & Kirkpatrick. J. Bedell. E. D. North. F. G. Hoffman. 
Miller & Brother. A. B. Perkins, R. Morey, Given & Knox, R. 
McCracken, Roof & Rae. Mrs. Robb, Dr. Anderson. Dr. Mc- 
Caughey. J. C. Askern. Esq.. J. H. Phillips. Snell. Taylor & Co.. 
C. L. Wyman and B. Sanders. The paper continued to be 
published under that name for a year and a half, and then the 
name was changed to the "Hoopeston Chronicle." After about 
four years Seavey & Wallace sold it. but a year later Mr. 
Wallace purchased it and continued to publish it. The 
"Chronicle" has always been a first-class local paper, and has 
received liberal patronage from the enterprising, stirring 
citizens of this lively young city. It is republican in politics. 



HOTELS 

Among the first objects of interest to a traveler is a com- 
fortable place which he may call his home. A good square meal 
often favorably disposes a man. and we are happy to state the 
proprietersofthe West side have recognized this fact in building 
a commodious and beautiful hotel at an expense of $7,700. which 
we understand is soon to be opened. The building is 30 x 50 feet, 
with a culinary departntent of 16 x 24 feet: the main building is 3 
stories high, covered with a "Mansard" roof, with blinds, and a 
veranda on two sides. It is furnished completely /rom cellar to 
garret, and contains 21 sleeping rooms, each with ac- 
commodations for stove and furniture. The building is at present 
occupied by Mr. G. H. White, who has furnished (temporarily) 
several rooms. Aside from this, Mr. Nathan Williams has built 
and furnished a reasonable sized boarding house 20 x 40 feet, two 
stories high. 



HARD V/ A R E 

||l||i|Pil||||c<c-r- -■ ' -" ' " ■■ ■' ■ ' Jl TTn ? 








Clark's Block, erected in 1877 

BUSINESS HOUSES 
Nearly every branch of business is being represented. 
Already there are a good number of business buildings either in 
operation or being completed. Lukens Bros, are just opening a 
stockof Dry Goods, in a building 20 x 80 feet, which is finished in 
the best of style, situated near the crossing in Hoopeston proper. 
Dr. Roof's Drug Store. 18 x 40 feet: R. McCracken's Dry Goods 
and Grocery Store 20 X 60 feet: Miller and Bros. Grocery Store 20 
X 50 feet: and Thompson block. 48 x 60 feet, to be occupied by 
hardware and dry goods, all two stories high and well finished: 
J. W. Elliott Variety Store. M. Bedell Grocery Store. F. G. 
Hoffman, E. D. North Drugs and Medicines, comprises the 
principal business houses already erected and in operation. Mr. 
Charles Wyman and R. McCracken are building a hardware and 
agriculture implement store. 24 x 60 feet, two stories, near the 
crossing on the west side 

LIVERY STABLE 

A large and elegant stable has been built by the proprietors of 
Leeds: 35 x 80 feet, with half pitch roof and cupola, capable of 
accommodating 25 head of horses, and will hold 50 tons of hay, 
and 2,000 bushels of grain. At present it is occupied by Mr. 
Stewart White. There are several smaller business houses and 
shops. 

PUBLIC IMPROVEMENTS 

The character of a people is generally known by their public 
spirit, manifested in their improvements. Elegant public 
buildings are a sure index of energy and thrift. Our people have 
been too much engaged with their private cares to manifest very 
much public spirit: from one. judge all. The proprietors have 
made ample provisions on either side for public squares and 
parks, which they propose to ornatnent with walks and trees. We 
are also informed that 5,000 maple and elm trees are already 
engaged to be set out on the west side on every street, which will 
add very much to the beauty of the place. Most of the streets also 
in that part of town have been graded, and an effort has been 
made in that direction on the east side. There are also four 
public wells in different parts of town. 



SCHOOLS AND CHURCHES 

The general opinion now is, that a school house, and one or 
more churches, will be built next summer. Appropriate lots 
have already been ojfered by the proprietors for this purpose. 
POST OFFICE 

To the gratification of the people of our town and vicinity, the 
mail is now received daily. The post office at Hoopeston was 
established October 25. 1871 : the first regular mail was received 
December 9 from Rossville. and for the first time on the train 
January 1. 1872. 

IMPORTANCE OF THE STATION 

The importance of the station may be seen from the amount of 
business done since the opening of the railroad. For the first 
month, August 1871. the receipts were $11,808.91. and the total 
receipts for the remainder of last year, were $22,569.15: the total 
shipments were $6,644.87. making the business of the station 
amount to $29,214.00. in four months. 

DONATIONS TO RAILROAD 

The township of Grant voted a donation to the Chicago. 
Danville and Vincennes Railroad, of $18,500, to be paid in ten 
years. Thompson Bros, also gave it a half interest in 200 acres, 
to locate the switch and freight buildings upon the same. And 
Mr. Hoopes, Messrs. Davis and Satterthwaite, have bound 
themselves by contract, to give them 15 acres provided the 
passenger depot be located in the northeast corner of the 
crossing, upon the land of the latter. The township also sub- 
scribed $25,000 for the Lafayette, Bloomington and Mississippi 
Railroad, as stock in said road. 

RESIDENCES 

As yet fine residences are rare, not having had time to build 
them Among the best is that of G. C. Davis, which is built in the 
form of a 'T". two stories high, the cost being $1,800. R. Morey 
has also built a good house in Leeds, which cost about $1 .500. The 
residence of Wm. A. Brillhart. in North Hoopeston. is now in the 
hands of the builders, and will be completed at an expense of 
about $2,000. 

POPULATION 

On the 1st of January, 1872, five months after the surveyor's 
stakes had been driven in the wild prairie, 70 buildings had been 
erected and the population was 245, and by the first of January, 
1873, less than one year and a half, 180 buildings were up, the 
population had increased to 800, 17 miles of streets had been 
graded, three hotels built, a bank started, the principal streets 
provided with sidewalks, an elevator built, and over 40 business 
houses in full operation. The history of Illinois may be searched 
in vain for a parallel to the sudden growth and development of 
the wild prairie. Only in the wild speculations of mining camps 
can the like be found. Chicago was many years in making a 
similar growth. Neither has this growth proved fitful and un- 
certain. The men who first pinned their faith to Hoopeston 
remain to realize, in great measure, the full fruition of that 
hope. The failure of the speculative enterprises of Snell, Taylor 
& Co., after investing about $25,000 in buildings and im- 
provements, is the only exception to the general success. 



-fe^_: 



n 



s* 




INCORPORATION 

On the I2th of January, 1874. a petition was presented to the 
county court of Vermilion County by W. R. Clark and 56 others, 
praying for incorporation as a village under the Act of 1872, with 
the following corporate limits: the east half of Section 11, the 
west three-fourths of Section 12 (23-11), and the south half of the 
southwest quarter and the southwest quarter of Section 2 (23- 
12). The court entertained the prayer of the petitioners, and 
appointed an election to be held at the store of William Brillhart, 
January 31, to vote for or against such organization, and ap- 
pointed W. R. Clark. T. J. Corr end J. S. Dellose judges of such 
election. At such election. 1 74 votes were cast, 98 being for and 76 
being against such incorporation. The court ordered an election 
to be held Saturday. February 28. for six trustees for the 
government of said village, and appointed the same judges to 
conduct the election. At that election, 172 votes were cast, and 
the following trustees were elected: T. J. Corr, J. Bedell, N. 
Dauner. W. R. Clark, S. P. Thompson, L. North. 

The board of trustees proceeded to organize by electing T. J. 
Corr president and J. M. R. Spinning, clerk. A vote of thanks 
was unanimously returned to L. Armstrong. Esq., for swearing 
the trustees into office. J. W. Hawkins was appointed street 
commissioner, G. W. Scavy, police constable, and J. S. Mc- 
Ferren, treasurer. At the regular annual election, April 21, W. 
R. Clark, S. P. Thompson, N. L. Thompson, Thomas Watkins, W. 
A. Brillhart and L. Armstrong were elected trustees; A. H. 
Young, police magistrate, and J. S. Powell, clerk. The salary of 
the clerk was fixed at $100. Just how this flourishing village got 
into the order of cities seems to be a mystery. Certain it is that 
there is no record of any action taken, by vote or otherwise, to 
get into city organization. Indeed it is said that at the time of this 
metamorphosis there was no law on the statute books per- 
mitting the change from village to city, and that the entire 
proceeding was illegal. The only reasonable explanation is that 
Hoopeston, like the parliament of Great Britain, could do 
anything, and just naturally moved out from its outgrown 
position of village, and took orders in the city line, with a kind of 
"who's afraid: bring on your almanac" air. The question of its 
right to do so is yet unsolved. The present officers (1879) are: A. 
Honeywell, mayor; W. M. Young, clerk; Mr. Bedell, treasurer: 
H. H. Dyer, attorney; J. Miller, A. M. Fleming and Joseph 
Crouch, aldermen. 

At first Hoopeston was three-headed, as has been heretofore 
explained. The effort of those who had her best interests at heart 
was to combine these three and condense the business as much 
as possible on Main street, so that now her finest structures are 
found on that street. The buildings which were put up by Snell, 
Taylor & Co. have gone into disuse. The Hibbard House, at the 
time of its building, was the finest hotel in the county, and the 
stores are almost all unoccupied. The line of Market street has 
been pretty nearly abandoned by the mercantile gentlemen, 
although some good stores remain there. The fine bank building 
built by Mr. McFerren in 1876 is 24 x 60, brick, two stories and 
basement. It is a very neat building, nicely trimmed, and is 
occupied by Mr. McFerren as a bank, and with his partner, as a 
real estate office, and by H. H. Dyer as a law office, on the main 
floor. The entire basement is occupied by the "Chronicle" office 
editorial and press rooms. Above, the Masonic fraternity have 
an elegant lodge room. The building cost $5,000, and is the finest 
building in town. In 1877. W. R. Clark and Dr. T. J. Roof built the 
two-story brick double store across the street, west from the 
bank. It is 50x100, occupied by the proprietors below, and by the 
Odd Fellows over Dr. Roof's, and as a public hall over Mr. 
Clark's. The building cost $7,500. Thomas Hoopes, the same 
year, built the double brick store north of the bank. It is 45 x 80, 
and occupied for stores below and offices above. It cost $7,000. 
The little city contains a number of other substantial business 
houses and residences that would appear respectable in any 
town in the west. 



Hoopeston - at the Turn of the Century.... 



BY FERN ANDERSON 

In the early 1900's. Hoopeston had three newspapers; THE 
HOOPESTON NEWS. HOOPESTON CHRONICLE, and the 
HOOPESTON HERALD. 

Hoopeston, always proud of its churches records. The Church 
of Christ was built in 1872 at the corner of Honeywell and Sixth 
Street. The First Baptist was organized March 6. 1873. with six 
constituent members.. D. H. Chapman was elected deacon and 
church clerk. The First Methodist Church was one of the earliest 
churches and held the largest membership. The Universalist 
Church was organized in August. 1882. by the Rev. T. S. Guthrie. 
The congregation worshiped in the opera hall until 1866. The 
First Presbyterian Church was organized on May 3. 1872. The 
Free Methodist organized in 1893. Other places of worship were 
the Roman Catholic church, the United Presbyterian, the Little 
Quaker, the United Brethern. with the Christian Science the last 
to organize in 1898 with 14 original members. 

Many secret societies, clubs and associations were organized 
with cultural clubs ranking high, including literary and musical 





MAIN STREET LOOKING EAST 

the firm: C. E. Russell. Hon. Charles A. Allen: M. G. Woolver- 
ton. under the name of Allen and Woolverton. 

J. S. McFerren had much to do with the founding of 
Hoopeston. McFerren Park stands as a memorial to the family. 
J. S., fondly known as "Jake." his two sons, the late Donald and 
William, each gave so much of their time, money and efforts to 
the city. 

The Illinois Canning Company was established in 1875, by S. S. 
McCall. Two years later it passed into the hands of the Illinois 
Canning Company, consisting of William Moore and James A. 
Cunningham. The favorite "Joan of Arc" brand had since been 
outstanding and known throughout the world. 

Businesses were built by Ezra Briggs: Thomas H. Smith, a 
saddlery and harness business: and the burglar alarm, invented 
by T. O. Saine. Roy Lyons was familiar for his livery barn and 
turned out single or double rigs. With a shop opposite the Cun- 
ningham Hotel. George Schussler was known as a good shoe 



MAIN STREET LOOKING WEST 



clubs, such as Oratorio, and the Ministerial Union. The Owl 
Club, one of the oldest, will soon celebrate their 75th year, and 
are still active. At this early date there were 1 7 secret societies. 
The Hoopeston Baseball Club and the Hoopeston Gun Club 
furnished sports for the local marksmen. 

The Hoopeston Public Library had its origin in the Mary 
Hartwell Catherwood Tea Club, and by it was fostered until the 
city assumed legal control. The library was built in 1905. 

Among professional men in the late 1800's were Doctors J. A. 
Ingle. L. B. Russell. J. S. Adsit. F. P. Johnson. T. C. McCaughey, 
Leroy Jones, W. P. Peirce. W. R. Wilson, D. D. Weber, and J. D. 
Hazel. Also Doctors John Heaton, George M. Hanley and J. H. 
Hutton. all of whom were dentists. 

Successful attornies were C. M. Briggs: Dyer and Wallbridge, 
with James H. Dyer, father of Charles Dyer, as senior partner of 




:tiJ6#-W.^ 





MARKET STREET LOOKING NORTH 



MARKET STREET LOOKING SOUTH 

maker. 

H. W. Philps was the general manager of the Union Can 
Company, now the American Can Company, and the Sprague, 
now known as FMC Corporation, was organized by Daniel G. 
Trench, and B. P. Crane. Chicago, and P. H. Green of Farnham, 
N. v.. in 1897. 

The oldest blacksmith shop was owned and operated by Otto 
Johnson. W. A. Flint was a real estate dealer. James A. Hanna 
owned and operated a flouring mill, and Mrs. F. W. Wells 
operated a picture gallery, including many penny pictures, 
buttons and pictures of her own work to frame. Mrs. Joseph 
Dallstream sold the finest millinery in the latest colors and 
styles and John A. Fickle operated a furniture and undertaking 
establishment. 

Others operating businesses during the early years were the 
Hoopeston Grain and Coal Company: C. Glover, a man's taylor; 



D. M. Hooker and Son. music store: C. Homrighous. jewelry; 
and Benjamin Rice, also proprietor of a blacksmith shop. Mrs. 
M. Franks was a noted teacher of piano, and Cora VanPherson 
was local agent for a sewing machine. 

In the year 1881, Professor August Geiger, graduated from the 
Royal Seminary of Wurttenburg, Germany, and came here that 
year to teach music in the Greer College. 

M. V. Brickey operated a hardware store opposite the post 
office and Bock and Son. John Bock and Fred, were painters and 
paperhangers. T. J. Sappington did cement work: Ben 
McElhaney. blacksmithing: L. C. Norris, carpenter and con- 
tractor: Park and Logan, city steam laundry: and the Palm Ice 
Cream Parlor was operated by Paul H. Hussey. Fred Murphy's 
barn, opposite Brilhart House, a famous eating place, sheltered 
horses when farmers came to town. Other familiar names of 
men in business were O. P. Chamberlin: Levi Rice: Mrs. M. A. 
Stites, a successful undertaker and furniture dealer: R. M. 
Knox, real estate: B. Oppenheim, grocery and department 
store: Mrs. A. E. Cook, dressmaker: and Charles T. Putman, 
lumber businessman: Parnell Brothers. Albert, Frank, and 
George, in dry goods and ladies wear: J. S. Dunscomb. 
grocery: W. C. Rose, meat market: and A. B. Burtnett. also a 
grocerier. 

In the year 1882. A. H. Trego. J. S. McFerren. and A. T. 
Catherwood organized and incorporated the Hoopeston Canning 
Company, now known as Stokely Van Camp. 

The Ingle Manufacturing Company was organized by Scott 
Ingle and E. C. Bird in 1899. manufacturing elevator separators, 
milling separators, etc. 

John Karr, Jr., a noted grocery operator on the north side, and 
the Haupe and Karr, builders and repairers of bicycles, were 
located just south of the LE&W railroad on North Market Street. 
The Dyer Lumber Company was managed by J. H. Potter. Mrs. 
G. M. Hanley's dairy located on the south side of town, was 
noted for being "Kitchen clean" and the fresh bottles of milk 
were delivered fresh and cool to families in the city. Thomas 
Woolverton operated a machine shop, built in 1881. The J. T. 
Sharp feed shop, opposite the city hall, supplied feeds of all 
kinds. The Thomas Baxter restaurant was east of the Cun- 
ningham Hotel and the Walter Johnson Photo Studio operated 
here more than 60 years, until Mr. Johnson retired due to ill 
health. E. S. Hall also operated a photography gallery, while 
John Steffenson sold kerosene and gasoline from a wagon and 
was known as "the oil man." Mrs. Minnie H. Seavey's millinery 
establishment was a landmark in Hoopeston and ladies in need 
of fine millinery could always be found there. Final touches 
were put on by Mrs. Seavey. C. F. Davis owned and operated a 
furniture store near the post office and Frank Nelson had a com- 
plete stock of wagons and buggies. Later Mr. Nelson owned and 
operated one of the most modern hardware stores, which is now 
operated by his son, William, and daughter, Marcella. P. F. 
Levin was noted for his groceries and bakery products. A good 
place to eat was the restaurant operated by L. Street. He also 
sold the finest in smoking materials. Tlie firm of Erickson and 
Swanson sold first class clothing, and J. W. "Jim" Sherrill 
devoted his time to delivering express. J. B. Brown manufac- 
tured many brands of cigars to be sold locally and also for 
shipments. Mrs. Thomas Lee sold millinery in the Dyer-Fuller 
Building. The firm of Mahoney and Dazey were real estate 
brokers and another hardware store was operated by Newson 
and Leemon. C. W. Snively was long noted for his skill in but- 
chering. New and second hand furniture was sold by Louis Fried 
on West Main Street. The "Red Light" Restaurant was a 
popular eating place. It was operated by Sam J. Brown. W. C. 
Cook was a grocerier of long experience and required a large 
force of men to operate his business. Among the early days, the 
millinery shop of J. S. Pees and Company, on Bank Street op- 
posite the Brillhart House, was noted for "prices always right." 
The Music House of Marion Clements was a place where a piano 
or organ could be purchased, Karn and look did a first class 
delivery business in their mammoth brick barn on West Main 
Street, and the ladies favored Myers' Cash and Carry Store with 
D. T. Myer as proprietor. Another grocery store with a 
flourishing business was operated by Hartley Hobson with 
berries, fruit, vegetables, and a complete line of staples ready 



Photos from the Early 1900's: 





CITY HALL 




UNIVERSALIST CHURCH 



-C"^, 




MASONIC HALL 



.l,l^^*i?«-i^r^*.^'^a\ 




THORNTON BUGGY CO. 



for sale. George Miller operated the "Blue Front" grocery, and 
the Globe Restaurant was operated by the Alkires. The Flagg 
brothers were druggists and John O. Lyons managed the poultry 
house for the E. Bogan and Company. Conrad Schade gave to 
the people of Hoopeston excellent bread, cakes, and pies, and it 
is said "He never sleeps, he always has a supply, even wedding 
cakes, on hand." C. E. Lester pharmacist, operated Lesters 
Drugs until his death, at which time Wib Carlson continued, 
later purchasing the business which is still know as Lester's 
Drugs, on East Main Street. Joseph Dallstream operated his 
boot shop and William Silver after coming here in 1879 was a 
reliable contractor. The Brillhart House, later known as Far- 
mers Cafe, was known far and wide for its excellent ac- 
commodations and was in the charge of J. T. Liber. 

Through the years, businesses have come and gone, many 
changes have taken place, but the forefathers of the town will 
always be remembered and it is with sadness when residents 
here talk of the McFerren Opera House in the early 1900's. when 
such features as "The Squaw Man." "The Lion and the Mouse," 
"Flaming Arrow." and other wholesome comedy as well as 
drama and concerts were featured. The Opera House was 
destroyed by fire on February 20. 1937, at which time a bank. 
Lester's Drug Store. Elliotts Drug Store. Klingam's Clothing 
Store and Dollie Ann's Beauty Shop burned. The second town 
clock building was destroyed by fire in early 1925 and was 
rebuilt. It was destroyed again by fire in 1947. when the town 
clock building, the Arcade building. Central Illinois Public 
Service Offices, the office of Doctors R. G. Kline and Hannell. 
and the ballroom on the third floor of the building as well as 
several apartments of the second floor The first town clock 
building was erected in 1895 and burned down in 1905. 

Fire has taken its toll, burning the local newspaper. 
CHRONICLE HERALD, about 15 years ago. the old Maple 
School, which five years later was rebuilt with the new modern 
school, the Universalist Church, dedicated June 18. 1905. burned 
February 20. 1950. The tower of the church contained the famous 
chimes with the organ highly important in its past history and so 
intimately entwined with the past. The chimes were recovered 
later and installed in the First Christian Church which was 
dedicated January 28. 1900. but were completely destroyed when 
that church burned December 7. 1953. 

The next big fire was February 7, 1956, when the east end of 
the 300 block of East Main street burned. The fire started in the 
J. B. Sim's garage, spreading into the Wood and Stacker Fur- 
niture Store, and completely destroyed '/i block. Keek's Fur- 
niture went in the new building formerly occupied by Wood and 
Stacker. 

The Cragg Hotel, a beauty shop, and coffee shop burned 
March 17, 1964. 

The Cunningham and Trego families have also played an 
important part in the progress of Hoopeston. Major Trego was 
recognized as "one of the old guard." who helped make 
Hoopeston the enterprising city it has become. He was 
associated with J. S. McFerren and later with Jake Cuykendall 



and his sons. Ed. Walter, and Gilbert in the old Hoopeston 
Canning company. 

The old Honeywell School, erected in 1872-74 was later torn 
down and the new school built. 

The first water tower stood in the center of the intersection at 
East Main and Fourth Streets, and was truly a landmark. 
Before the trees attained their present lofty heights, it could be 
seen for miles. 

The first garage was constructed in 1906-07 by Jess Kellogg, 
for Harry Knorr. Frank Troxel and Ed LaBounty. It was 
situated just north of the Nickle Plate railroad. 

Hoopeston was listed as a "new town" in the county. It is not 
as old by any means as Rossville. Danville. Marysville. now 
named Potomac. Catun, Georgetown, Vermilion Grove, Ridge- 
farm, and other communities which date from the 1830's and 
1840's. Hoopeston was slower in getting started, but it overtook 
every village and city in the county with the exception of Dan- 
ville in population, industry, education and personnel. 

Hoopeston. despite the many fires, has through the years 
rebuilt whenever possible. We are noted as a Canning com- 
munity, listed as the "Sweet Corn Capitol of the World." Can- 
ning continues throughout the year at Joan of Arc Company and 
Stokely's canneries. 




DR. GEORGE M. HANLEY'S SUBDIVISION 



'.«^« A «»«#> 




"-V!$ 



MULES WORKING IN THE FIELDS 




THE ILLINOIS CANNING CO. 



'■K 





BIRDSEYE VIEW LOOKING EAST FROM BETWEEN MAIN AND PENN STREETS 




i 'i ^^M^M^m^m^T^^ 






f^ 'i S 



HOOPESTON PLANING MILL 




i^ OV ^ , 



HOOPESTON CANNING CO. 



SPRAGUE CANNING 
MACHINERY CO. 




■^ 




^^ AMERICAN CAN 
COMPANY 



Hoopeston might have been ''Honeywell".... 



ALBA HONEYWELL. Hoopeston. farmer, was born in 
Cayuga county. New York, on the ISth of December. 1821. and is 
the son of Enoch and Eliza (Dye) Honeywell. When a youth his 
parents settled in Stenben(now Schuyler) county. He was 
brought up to the pursuits of the farm. At age sixteen he 
began his education, attended Groton Academy two years, and 
after teaching a year, continued his studies two years more at 
the Oneida Institute. He next taught eight or ten years. About 
1843 he went to Seneca Falls and while engaged in teaching, read 
law in the office of Ansil Bascom. The next year he went to 
Rochester, and studied in the office of Gilbert & Osborne. He 
resided there a year and was a delegate to the Buffalo Con- 
vention, which nominated James G. Birney. the abolition 
candidate, for President in 1844. Until 1847 he was engaged in the 
temperance and anti-slavery lecture field, wrote several plays 
in the interest of the tenxperance cause, and contributed a num- 
ber of poems to the Philadelphia ''Dollar Newspaper." wrote 
stories and stray communications bearing more or less directly 
on the reform questions of the day for other papers. In July. 
1847. he went to New York city, and worked for a newspaper and 
published one for a short time. In April. 1853. he emigrated to 
Iroquois county to a farm of 800 acres, which he and his father 
had entered the year before. He lived there three years, in- 
creasing the farm to 1.400 acres. In 1856. he went to Minnestoa 
and Iowa in quest of a better location, and in the fall went to 
Chicago and worked on the staff of Chicago 'Daily News." In 
the spring of 1857 he went to Logansport. Indiana, and became 
connected with H. H. Evarts in his celebrated patent shingle 
machine, in which venture he lost $4,000.00. He next formed a 
lumber manufacturing firm which lasted two years and a plow- 
handle and bending establishment, but at the end of two years 
sold out his interest to his partner. In 1862 he returned to his 
farm in Iroquois county, and in 1864 was elected supervisor of 
Stockland township, and re-elected every year until 1869. when 
he was elected county clerk on the Republican ticket. In 1872 and 
1873 he bought 1.000 acres of land adjoining Hoopeston. a part of 
that city being laid out on it. In 1874. he removed there, and has 
been engaged in improving his estate. Altogether, he owned 
two thousand acres of land, valued at $80,000. 

Culture came and so did 




ALBA HONEYWELL 

Honeywell was mayor 1879 and 1880. was widely known for 
lecturing on temperance and anti-slavery. He assisted in laying 
out Hoopeston and helped secure the location of the Chicago 
Railroad. It was largely through his aid that Hoopeston grew 
and became prosperous. He made two sub-divisions while a 
resident here. H'hen the railroad offered to name its station 
"Honeywell", he declined and it was named Hoopeston. 



banking.... 




J. S. McFERREN 



JACOB S. McFERREN. Hoopeston. banker and real estate 
broker, was born in Warren County, Ohio, on the 1st of October, 
1845. His parents were William and Eliza (Snyder) McFerren. 
He received a business education at Bartlett's 
Commercial College. Cincinnati. His father having always 
followed the mercantile business, he was reared to the same 
pursuit. At age fifteen he quit school to take a half interest 
with his uncle in a store at Level, Ohio, and two years later his 
uncle formed another partnership, and commenced operating in 
grain: but a heavy decline and other bad speculations caused 
the firm to suspend with heavy liablilities. In his short, in- 
dependent business career McFerren had made a clear profit of 
$3,000. but by the unfortunate speculations of his partner he lost 
all but $800, which so reduced his capital that he was obliged to 
begin on a salary. In August, 1865. he started west, and located 
at Paxton where he took charge of the books of J. W. Scott and 
was later employed with R. Clark, one of the oldest merchants of 
Paxton. as bookkeeper. At the end of a year Clark's health 
failing, he offered to turn over his stock of goods to his nephew. 
A. L. Clark, and McFe rren, and loan them all needed capital. 
This partnership and enterprise proved highly fortunate. Mc- 
Ferren at length determined to embark in banfeing arid real 
estate brokerage, and. accordingly, associated with himself T. 
W. Chamberlin. They opened a bank in Hoopeston on August 1. 
1873, keeping their doors open throughout that trying period. 
Early in 1874. owing to ill-health, Chamberlin retired from 
partnership. Maintaining his working capital at a uniform 
figure, he had invested the profits in first-class farming lands in 
Vermilion. Iroquois, and Ford counties, which were valued at 
$60,000. The spring of 1877, McFerren was elected the first 
mayor of Hoopeston on the temperance ticket. 



The young city needed education 



WILLIAM MOORE. Hoopeston, real estate broker, was born 
in Coshocten county. Ohio, on November 30, 1841. and is the son 
of Silas and Mary (McCoy) Moore. He was reared a farmer; 
educated at Spring Mountain Seminary. Ohio; was taking a 
preparatory course at the breaking out of the Civil war. with a 
view to fitting himself for the law; volunteered on the 23rd of 
April. 1861. for three months, in Co. D. 16th Ohio Vols., and 
promoted to orderly sergeant; mustered out the next August. He 
was commissioned 1st Lieutenant by Governor Dennison. on 
October 3. 1861. with authority to raise a company, which he 
enlisted mostly among the students of Spring Mountain 
Seminary. He fought at Phillipi, Perryville. Chickamauga, 
Lookout Mountain. Mission Ridge, and Ringgold. In January, 
1863. he was commissioned captain of his company. In the battle 
of Chickamauga he lost nearly every man in his command. One 
half were killed and wounded, and a large number captured. All 
the regimental officers of the 51st having been taken prisoners. 
Capt. Moore, as ranking line officer, assumed command, and 
with a handful of men. bearing the colors of the regiment, and a 
stand of rebel colors captured from a South Carolina regiment in 
the last charge, cut through the rebel lines and safely reached 
Chattanooga the next day. On two particular occasions he was 
selected for special service of a difficult and hazardous kind. He 
was mustered out of the military service in April. 1864. In 
March. 1865. he settled in Grant township, having bought a farm 
of 320 acres. From 1866 to 1874. he was justice of the peace; from 
1867 to 1870. collector of Grant township; from 1866 to 1872 school 
treasurer. He bought 50 acres of land at Hoopeston and had it 
laid out in the town plat as Moore and Brown's addition. In April. 
1872, he moved into the village, and engaged in buying and 
selling lands and town property. In the year from March. 1874 to 
March, 1875. the sales of the firm of Moore. McFerron & Seavey 
reached $330,000; he was a member of the firm of Moore and 
McFerron in the real estate and loan business. Moore was one of 
the first directors of the Hoopeston public school several years. 
It was through his energy and enterprise that the imposing 
edifice belonging to the city, and used for that purpose, was 
erected in the face of much opposition. It cost $25,000, and is a 





MARY HARTWELL CATHERWOOD 



WILLIAM MOORE 

noble monument to his good understanding and his able 
management of the entire scheme from its inception. He has 
three children: Winfield S.. Claude H., Cora M. and was a 
greenback republican. He owned 600 acres of land, worth $18,000 
in 1911. 

Moore was a senior member of the City Council in 1904 and 
was one of the most vigorous of Hoopeston' s citizens, having 
helped in every progressive movenient since the early seven- 
ties. He was one of the commissioners for appraising and con- 
demning the right of way for the I. E. & W. railroad. In con- 
nection with J. S. McFerren, he bought and laid out the Mc- 
Ferren addition. He was interested also in many other additions 
to the original town. 

In conjunction with G. C. Davis. Moore sent the first saloon 
keeper to jail for nine months for selling intoxicating liquors in 
1873. He was author of the bill for making the salary of the 
Mayor of Hoopeston 50 cents a year and of the aldermen 25 cents 
a year. In conjunction with J. A. Cunningham and W. R. Clark 
he established the Illinois Canning Company, and with others 
helped to establish the Union Can Company and was president of 
the same. This afterward became the American Can Company. 
In conjuction with John L. Hamilton, C. S. Crary and A. H. 
Trego. Moore helped to establish the Hoopeston Horse Nail 
Company. 

In many respects William Moore, of Hoopeston, was the most 
striking personality in his home city. 

MARY HARTWELL CATHERWOOD 

In 1882. James Steele Catherwood and his wife, Mary Hartwell 
Catherwood, came to Hoopeston. She had had several of her 
writings published in Lippincott's Magazine and other 
periodicals of the day, but branched out to write novels after 
arriving here. 

During her 20 years in Hoopeston, she published well-known 
novels of "Lazarre", "The Spirit of an Illinois Town", and 
"Rocky Fork." 

The club bearing her name was formed in 1895 and still exists 
as a culturally-oriented society. The public library was begun by 
the club which was responsible for obtaining land from Alba 
Honeywell(who donated it) as well as for raising funds to con- 
struct the building which cost $12,000. 

Mrs. Catherwood was a leading factor in Hoopeston's cultural 
background. 



Legacy of a man named Tom.... 



THOMAS HOOPES. for whom Hoopeston was named, is a 
good sample of the better class of those fortunate people who 
have greatness thrust on them without ever praying for it or 
entertaining any strong faith in its coming. He grew up to 
stalwart manhood in Chester county. Pennsylvania, and 
emigrated to Harrison county, Ohio. He lived in Marion awhile, 
and in 1853 came here and bought the farm of Wm. Allen. He 
moved to the farm in 1855. This land lay northwest of the present 
site of Hoopeston. crowning a hill on the old Chicago road. As 
time passed Mr. Hoopes added to his land until he had seven or 
eight thousand acres. He became the most extensive stock 
raiser in this part of the country sending his product to the 
eastern markets, and spending his profits for more land. He 
bought some land of D. C. Andrews and C. J. Hungerford, and 
undertook to get it into shape to get a living from it. He brought 
800 sheep with him. and by taking in a herd of cattle to tend each 
year, he managed to keep inside of his expenses. There was no 
place for stopping on the Chicago road from Bicknell's Point to 
the "red pump." near Milford. when he made his home on the 
big prairie. The first year he had to go over to Jordan to buy 
corn, and pay seventy-five cents a bushel for it; since that time 
he managed, by careful economizing, such as he is master of. to 
raise enough for his own use. He did not go into wheat very 
extensively, as many others did about that time, but raised corn 
and oats. Within three years he got about 300 acres into good 
cultivation, having over 1.000 acres in prairie grass to keep the 
herd on. The vast range was suitable for the health of his sheep, 
the absence of neighborly dogs was favorable, and, by keeping 
up in a close pen at night, they were safe from the attack of 
wolves. Wolves, though apparently bold when they have a free 
field for escape, are cowards when hemmed in by a high fence. 
They would not climb into an enclosure where the sheep were in 
a crowd: they seemed to fear being penned in. He did not raise 
ifnany hogs, but kept his flock of sheep and herd of cattle in- 
creasing. He never drove cattle to the markets, being satisfied 
that he knew enough to raise cattle, but was not sharp enough to 
try any risks of a speculative nature. In 1859 he sold a thousand 
sheep, and during the war. sold off the remainder, thinking that 
if the war kept on there would not be young men enough left in 

Agriculture and 

Industry thrived.... 

JAMES A. CUNNINGHAM, Hoopeston. farmer and stock- 
dealer, was born in Vermilion county, Illinois, on the 22nd of 
June. 1843. He was the youngest son of James and Mary Ann 
(Andrews) Cunningham. He was reared a farmer, and obtained 
his schooling at Evans Union College. State Line City, Indiana. 
In the winter of 1864-5 he pursued studies in bookkeeping at the 
Commercial College at LaFayette. In August, 1862, he enlisted 
in the 125th Illinois, but was rejected by the examining surgeon. 
He was married on the 4th of April, 1865, to Miss Mary R. Scott, 
adopted daughter of Thomas Hoopes, an old and highly 
esteemed citizen of Vermilion county. Mrs. Cunningham was 
born on the 9th of April. 1844. In the summer of 1865, he settled in 
State Line City, and opened a grocery store; he soon after added 
a stock of drugs, and after a year of business sold out to George 
Dunn. He then engaged in stock dealing a short time, and early 
in 1867 moved into Grant township. He was named president of 
the Hoopeston Distric Agriculture Society in 1874. This society 
held a number of distinguished fairs, and has acquired a 
reputation unsurpassed by any of equal age, and by few older 
ones, in the state. This success is traced to the ability, energy 
and enterprise of its thorough-going and practical officers. Mr. 
C. has always been a heavy farmer and stock-dealer, and was 
one of the presidents of Hamilton and Cunningham bank; and 
was one of the most liberal, substantial and honored citizens of 
Grant township, having served as an early mayor. In 1879 he 
owned 1 ,000 acres of land, worth $30,000. His political views were 
republican. 




THOMAS HOOPES 

the country to take care of what he had, and if it did not con- 
tinue, his sheep would fall in price. His nearest neighbors, for 
some years, were Col. Woolverton and Churchill Boardman to 
the south. He had no more idea of seeing a city grow up on his 
farm here than of seeing a volcano: and when the road was built, 
and Snell. Taylor and Co. wanted to buy him out, he had no 
desire to go into any speculation in city lots, and sold them a 
thousand acres for just what he believed it was worth. At the age 
of 73, he had a quiet home in the little city which the railroads 
forced on him. He died in 1893 at the age of 93. 




JAMES CUNNINGHAM 



4 



Congratulations to Hoopeston 
on 100 years of Progress! 



i 




RUWNSTEIN, COTY 
AND REVLON COSMETICS 

FREE DELfVERY 



Registered Pharmacist 
on duty at al times. 



Don 




Pharmacy 

Walgreen Agency 



222 E MAIN TB_ 283-5126 





Serving 
/ this 
- Community 
Sin ce 
1912 



WORTHEN'S 









SINCE 1917 

Sanitary Cleaners has 
served the Hoopeston Area. 



^ 




CENTENNIAL WEEK SPECIAL 
ALL J J 



CLEANING 

SANITARY 

DRY CLEANERS 

2'! S Wtsrtet 



00 NOTHING OVER 
NOTHING UNDER 



'' 
'> 

'. 



25i-775? 



Congrafulafions 

to the Sweet Corn 

Capitol of the 

World I 




We toast our community 

on 100 years of grouth 

and uelcome visitors. 

HOOPESTON 
JAYCEES 






■'^^^■^^■^y 




as it would be very dark and every prospect of a liw>»lfiii iii 
they surely would not leave the protection of the ne oiest set- 
tlement to venture on the prairie that night. The littie girl baaed 
herself with Ae supper with grave misgivings about her people, 
whom she earnestly hoped would venture to cofne hofne. but for 
whom she feared would be injured. She ctfuld not eat and going 
to the window she pressed her face to the giass and took up her 
silent watch. Soon taking his candle, the hired man went to his 
bed. leaving the giri to keep her watch atone. A^er a little, she 
imagined she heard a faint sound: she ran to the door and threw 
it open. As the door was flung open their faithful shepherd dog 
bounded in. He was closely followed by a number of wolves whc 
were chasing him and almost caught him. They stopped when 



we-- "" 
see- 



A PRARIE VIGIL. . . 

Condxtixins in this part of tiie county at this tim« is puctured by ^- lis^ . 

an adopted daughter of Thomas Boopes. Mrs. Cunningham, then 
a child, whose playmates were "sky and prairie flowers in the 
summertime, with the bleak cold in the winter. " A description of tn^ 

her experience on a night in late autumn in this lonely place. tz •- 

reads: "The shadows of declining day were creeping over the ' "? -r 

prairie landscape, when this child young m years but older ir. - - - - 

experience, as were the p\oneers. stood listening for a familiar 
sound. The cold wind carne sweeping from far over tracdess ^ . - 

wilds, and with almost resistless force nearly drove her to the 
protection of the house, yet she stood and listened for a familiar 
sound, straining her ear to catch the rumble of a wagon which 
told of the return of her foster parents, who had the day before. 
gone to an inland town for provisions to lost them through the 
coming days of winter. They had gone on this errand some dcvs 
before and were due to come back every hour This young girl 
had learned to love even this solitude, c- ie listened for 

the sound of human life she noted the h^- erce wind, the 

whirring of a flock of prairie chickens, jrigmened from the 
accustonred haunts fleeing by instinct to the protection of man. 
Suddenly a wolf gave a sharp bark on a distant hillside, then 
another, and another and yet another answering each other 
from the echoing vastness. With a shudder, not so much from 
fear as frorn the utter lonesomeness of the time and place, she 
turned and entered the house, but she could not leave these 
sounds outside, she heard the mournful wxziL It is impossible to 
describe those sounds. So weird, so lonely were they that the 
early settler remembered them, always. The lack of courage of 
these animals was made up in the increased num.bers they 
called together, whether it was to attack Ae tim.id prairie hen or 
the larger game of the open. Surely these wolves were fit 
companions for the Indians. 

The interior of this little house was much better furnished then 
were those of the early settlers of Vermilion County who came 
into other portions twenty-five years before this time. It was 
easier to transport furniture and the homes of this period were 
less primitive in every way. When the girl went into the house 
she found the "hired num" had milked and was ready for his 
supper. He seated himself at the kitchen stove and remarked 
that he did not think the folks ' would come home that rdght. 



'The aniiaa 

et 




the center of the room with droapatg 
wftxi Ae dropped to sieep /rom . 

MerdreBDm as ho" sitonher was iMufcen iStraa^t 'fiw wj»>t i 
the ever recarrmg gi owls of ISk do^ at her feet i 
the scent of his pursuers. As the hoao-s pesaei the giri i 
herself and went to the -aotdoar. The sbarmi damds hod partjeMy 
cleared, and the yoamg maat hod pemped oat t^h a. ftamt Sgte. 
Casting her eyes dowm. ihe looked mba Ihe p t etUm^ otits of two 
wolves who were sfufCwg m Ihe giareafthe ImmpSgkt. The giri 
turned to the do^ and, droppaig beside hum., hwrrtei h^ face at 
his vooQy coot (Dwi inu&llRg' zrcto tears '' ^^^ Oi^ 'Tajiim . wita£ 
iknil we do?' With, a growl and a giooce li^wud the l yjiii i fi. 
iridck said as plain as words. "IH do mS I con to p i vbetX yam. ~ he 
Uty with his nose to the crack in the door. The hamrs wore away 

and the girl and the dog watadted iitiiii or the --r Toward 

dawn, the dog sprang to her side with a low be ■ stL He 

had heard and recagmsed the mices of his j~-.e--5 --z • _.- 

teffing his compadaa Ifttf Ihoae fiir w h u ii i. they were :;, 

«ig3 were very ne a r. Soam they were hammed oi safety. A -eu 
day was theirs wMbr aU the terrors of the might had been 
vaaqaished. The sum camee op. the deer were dashnig frr ~ 
snoiv haah to amaiher. the wofves had shadt wway. Ihe az 
the msgfd was passed away. Sf% were fre^memt occmre- 
the sectian oi the comttry in 
Tliofnas Hioopes fumly. 



Jwtee. :srr ------ _-- 

V. RR and y 
day. 

June 13. 1872: The 1st ft 
club ofHoopeston will play . 

The Passenger :■ 
of horses and seve-._, - 
that he will sur\ivc. 



zssengy ■ on the C. D. 

:-.d return on the sen 



team 



Ris 



He came to Hoopeston... 

DALE WALLACE, (grandfather of Dale(Rusty) Wallace U) 
in a talk before a Hoopeston audience, some years ago. 
describes that village when he first saw it. He came to this new 
village on the Illinois prairie a young man full of hope and 
promise. He entered the town on the freight train of the C. D. & 
V. R. R. (commonly called the "Dolly Varden") which consisted 
of six gravel cars and a caboose. The conductor stopped his train 
at about where the stock yards were afterward located, and told 
the only passenger, this same young man. "This is where you 
get off. Kid." With the wisdom of his years he said: "I guess you 
are mistaken: I want to go to Hoopeston." said the "Kid." 

"Well, this is Hoopeston." 

"Where," asked the Kid. 

"Over there in the brush." was the rejoinder. 

The Kid meandered around through a forest of resin weeds 
and finally halted at a little shack on the road running east and 
west, which afterwards proved to be the main street. The shack 
proved to be a department store: the front being the depart- 
ment, ten by twenty, it was filled with a few dollar's worth of 
everything, while the rear department was the residence of the 
proprietor, who housed his wife and three children. The 
establishment was that of Jonathan Bedell, the first merchant of 
Hoopeston. He was rotund and hospitable and the following 
conversation was had between him and the "Kid:" 

"Are you lost?" 

"No. I am not, but I think this town is." 

"What did you come here to do?" 

"Start a newspaper." 

" — you are crazy." 

"Shake. I have been thinking that myself for the last ten 
minutes, and I am glad to have it confirmed." 




"Are you lost?" 

"No, but I think this town is!" 




DALE WALLACE 

A few rods on further to the next mud hole, was a grocery 
store run by J. W. Elliott, who later went to Danville. Adjoining 
this was a drug store, by E. D. North. On west, across the street, 
was Charley Wyman's real estate office. A way up north op- 
posite the northwest corner of the park was a clothing store, 
operated by J. Fleshman. Adjoining was a grocery store, by 
Miller Bros. Along the railroad track was Robert Casement's 
Lumber yard. This was in the fall of 1871. On the first Thursday 
of January. Mr. Wallace together with G. W. Steavey, launched 
the Chronicle, then called the North Vermilion Chronicle. In that 



first issue every businessman, every carpenter, painter, etc.. in 
Hoopeston. had an advertisement in the newspaper, very en- 
couraging to the young men who had started it. Roof & Roe. E. 
D. North, and Frank G. Hoffman, were druggists. R. Mc- 
Cracken was a general merchant. Bedell and Elliott and Miller 
Bros, were grocers. Ed. Stamp was the Butcher. S. K. White had 
the livery stable. G. H. White was the real estate and insurance 
agent. A. B. Perkins sold lumber and coal. Given & Knox were 
grain merchants. G. C. Davis and Moffet & Kirkpatrick were 
contractors. T. C. McCaughey. M. D..and L. W. Anderson, M. 
D.. were the physicians. J. C. Askerman was the lawyer and B. 
Saunders was the shoemaker. This was four months after the 
Hoopes' farm was platted into town lots. Every week brought 
new business men to town. P. F. Levin came early in 1872. also 
B. W. Clark. W. W. Duly was the township tax collector. Before 
the year expired there were a half dozen grain buyers, and it 
was not an uncommon sight in the fall of 1872, to see 50 to 100 
loads of corn waiting a chance to unload with buyers paying the 
enormous price of twenty-three cents per bushel. The real- 
estate business was very active both in city lots and country 
property. Land now worth $250 per acre then sold for $15 to $25 
per acre. Business lots then bought for $125 some time ago. were 
worth $5,000. 

Hoopeston grew rapidly and business enterprises kept pace 
with it. About 1872. J. S. McFerren and Wright Chamberlin 
established a bank. J. M. R. Spinning was the first postmaster. 
A spirit of enterprise pervaded every nook and corner of the 
little hustling village. About every thirty days the enterprising 
citizens would hold meetings and build factories and railroads 
on paper. The first year of existence Hoopeston had a circus and 
menagerie. This gave the newspaper a chance to give news. 
Business houses multiplied rapidly, all branches being well 
represented by January. 1873. The Chronicle gave a resume for 
the year, showing the erection of 180 buildings, 27 of which were 
business houses altogether. The grain men brought 450,000 
bushels during the year. The freight business of the "Dolly 
Varden" road amounted to 40.000. Hoopeston has had a 
phenomenal growth and is a small city of beautiful homes. 



Centennial Car 

to be awarded 

through the Centennial Benefit Awards Program. 



igtmngpfssy^-^^-^^^ 



'aii 



ii 



;• 



!! Hi iH 
ii tri IH 



fJSUJ 



iilli'iir 



:5 



SPECIAL DELIVERY — Mayor Earl Smock is shown receiving the keys fo the Cen+ennlal Car from Hoopeston 
Motors, Inc. (dealer Jay Harti). The Ford LTD with full power, air, vinyl roof, hardtop, will be given away 
during the official Centennial "Closing Ceremonies" in downtown Hoopeston. Project Is being planned by 
the Centennial Benefit Awards Program committee. 

TICKETS AVAILABLE AT CENTENNIAL HEADQUARTERS 

To commemorate our lOOTH BIRTHDAY, we're going to award this 
new LTD to one Lucky person. It might be YOURS! 



Sponsored by: 

HOOPESTON AREA CENTENNIAL CORP. 
AND HOOPESTON MOTORS, INC. 



t ^ M^ y ti^w ) pn # ■ ^i^ii 



£AGL£ TRIPLEX' 



TRIPLE-WALLED 
BURIAL VAULTS 
PROVIDE 
THE ULTIMATE 



WFLEX 

lurlal Vawlti 
T. M. REG. 



IN BURIAL PROTECTION 

The outside and inside walls are concrete, reinforced 
with steel. The middle wall is of the highest quality 
asphalt, the ideal material for water resistance. The 
cover has tongue-in-groove with asphalt seal. 

• Available through Leading Funeral Directors • 



MANUFACTURED AND DISTRIBUTED BY 

Hoopeeton Burial VauU Co. 

102 East Lincoln St. 

Hoopeston, Illinois 

Herschel Houmcs 




SINCE 1875 



For 96/IOO+hs of the century, lumber has been 
sold at this location. 



First here was M. D. Calkins Lumber Yard, succeeded 
by J. H. Dyer Lumber Company in 1887. Then the 
Dyer company merged with Finley & Lewis^ grain mer- 
chants, to start the present corporation on Feb. I, 
1905. Thus we have helped build Hoopeston. 



Congratulations On The 100th 



m^ 



Congratulations 

On Hoopeston's "lOOTH" 



DKPOSli'ED ■WITH 

4l'i''i''''''^'" \^ ^fliaiiiberlin, 



Grandfather Duley 

was doing business in -_ 

Hoopeston m 1873. when ^_,,„.„,,^^,,^;;r 

he made this deposit 

in the McFerren- 

Chamberlain Bank. 



jroo.-eitoii. />• j^iC/tSc-yJf' IKT J 



'.JUii--:xt:u, 



ttTrrtrz, 






'' 
'> 
'• 






We're happy to be doing business with 
Hoopeston in 1971. 

Best Wishes for a Happy Centennial 

W. TATE DULEY 

INSURANCE 
1 10 E. MAIN ST. TEL. 283-7522 



OUR HISTORY IS NOT TOO LONG . 
... BUT IT HAS BEEN 




U> staned on the upP«T floors 
of \\\r Wtldon RulldiDc niakinc 
one tiiti*' rtrord plajpn.. When «p 
had flni^hed thp lot. we hed made 
2l>.(HM) of them. 

Rill that ua>i 20 years aeo and 
<>ince that time our business has 
eni«n ai>aee and «e ha\e eronn 
to a full-fli'dced factnr> unit turn- 
In c out the most sophist ir at ed 
elrctronic desiens in .^meriea. 

Dur (iroducts knoi\n for their 
hii:h quality are distriliuled all 
o\er the I nited ^tati-s and a)>r<iail. 
Many o( the CHmiMitients are of 
our ou n desicn and manufacture. 
and have found ready arreptanre 
In the electronic trade. 

With tlir<. cntu Ih \\f have im- 
pli-mi-nted and learned n)an> sliurt- 
CUts, \1 here «e Used to print 
circuits by hand "e now use a 
machine. Where Uf used to drill 
each circuit l>«ard for connec- 
tions, HP nitw stamp them out on 
hiice presses. Not onl> du «e now 
do a faster joh. Iiul It is also a 
helter job. 

The uiirld has beaten a path to 
our dmir » ilh orders from all 
o*er. We believe our tpslr<l qual- 
ity will assure a rontinuanci- o' 
this prort-dure. .\n>lliim; bull! o! 
electronics «e can do. and dn 
exceed ini:ly Mrll. Think of us In 
this connection. 




A hifihl.v sophisticaled romputcr 
t\-pc lioard manufactured hy Scran- 
Ion Used in swiichinB phonograph 
records I«»r a juke i»<i\ If it had 
been possible to have made such 
a unit twenty years ago, it would 
probably have weiehed moi-e than 
50 pounds and taken up a thou- 
sand times more spacf. It uses 
32 transistors and hundreds oC 
capacitors and resistors. 



R. A. SCRANTON 

INDUSTRIES, INC. hoopeston, Illinois 



Best Wishes to the 
Hoopeston Centennial 





Main Street in Wellington looking East. Photo taken in 1913. 

We're now in our 58+h year — serving 
the needs of the area. 

WELLINGTON 
STATE BANK 

Member F.D.I.C. Tel. 984-3130 



'I 

'I 
'I 



For the BEST 

in home enferfainmenf: 



Radios — TV's 
featuring 

Motorola Quasar 



(Sales & Service) 




Music Supplies 
pop music books, tapes, 
records, instruments. 



Our best wishes to a growing community 
for a happy Centennial. 



FERDINAND TV 
AND MUSIC 



305 E. MAIN 



283-7707 



We've Changed, Too! 

Everything, in fact, 
except our name.... 



W^^^^^k 


^^^fl^V.,v^ 


wL^^s \} f^nm^. 


I^^^^llljjg 



A 1904 PHOTO OF OUR BUSINESS 

We're proud to have served 
our friends since 1897. 

PARKWAY Laundry 
and Dry Cleaners 



FLETA EVANS, OWNER 
201 N. MARKET 



Styles Come. ..and Styles Go. 

But 

IT 



LARSON'S 




'' 



is Always' here 
in Hoopeston 
with the LATEST . . . 
the NEWEST! 

Hoopeston's Clothing 

Center for 

Men and Boys. 

Featuring ttiese GREAT BRANDS: 

Kuppenheimer — Greif — Curlee Suits 

Arrow — Enro — Shapely — Kaynee Shirts 

Munsingwear Knits — Jarman Shoes 
Farah, Gulfstream Slacks — Rainfair Coats 



LARSON'S 



Est. in 1903 
Hoopeston, 



283-5331 



Nye 4 Jane Reeti 



COMPLETE 

LINE OF NEW AND 

RECONDITIONED 

PARTS FOR 

M^ • AUTOS 

INAPA^ • TRACTORS 

irmi^r • trucks 

i^ompteta 

MACHINE SHOP 
SERVICE 

CALL 



283-7741 



HOOPESTON 

STANDARD PARTS CO., INC 

109 N. MARKET 
HOOPESTON 

Your NAPA Jobber is the 
RIGHT PLACE to go! 

Have a 

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY* 

Neighbors ! 




See Our Dealer in Hoopes+on 

ILLIANA SEED & FARM 
SUPPLY 

W. THOMPSON AVE. 



We are here to serve 
the populace of this 
still growing city. 




We offer FULL CIRCLE SERVICE 
By PEKIN INSURANCE CO. 

Auto - Home - Life 
Real Estate Brokerage 
Notary Service 

LONGFELLOW AGENCY 

Wilbur Longfellow, Jr., Agent 

724 S. 6th Ave. Hoopeston 

TeL 217-283-6828 



BAERS MOTEL 

Intersection of Routes I & 9 
ORA J. BAER OWNER 



217-283-7701 



Hoopeston, Illinois 



REAL ESTATE BROKER 

National Home Builder 
Appliances 

Intersection Of Routes I & 9 

ORA J. BAER CO. 



217-283-6639 



Hoopeston, Illinois 



100 Years of Schools 

In no respect does the public spirit of the people of Hoopeston 
show a better development than in the n\atter of schools. No 
sooner had the village got under way than a live board of 
directors was elected — G.C. Davis. Mr. Armstrong, and Wm. 
Moore — who preached at once to put the school in running order. 
The first need was a suitable house. It became a question 
whether the district should build a good substantial well- 
proportioned, large school house — one within whose walls all 
could be accommodated, and whose spacious proportions, 
beautiful surroundings and pleasant appointments would in- 
spire the pupil. and awaken taste. love of school 
and culture — or whether cheap, scattered buildings should be 
erected, in which a strict grade could not be instituted. The 
former was wisely chosen, and it was through this decision that 
the Hoopeston public schools were known far and wide as among 
the best in the country. This action necessitated a heavy debt, 
but it was soon nearly wiped out. 



1872 



In May 1872 Mrs. B. F. Stites started classes above her 
husband's undertaking establishment on North Market. She had 
sixty-three pupils. 

In the summer of 1872 Miss Fannie Demaree opened up a 
room in Baxter's Blacksmith Shop on East Main. 

Both these schools were Subscription Schools. 



1892 



Lincoln School, a four room brick building, located on the 
corner of First A venue and Lincoln Streets opened its doors. 

1897 

The second high school was opened for classes. It \.'as located 
where the Maple School now stands. Children in the grades who 
live in this area were shifted from Honeywell and Lincoln to the 
High School. 

1914 

The high school moved out to John Greer College on West 
Main where John Greer Grade School now stands. The old high 
school became the Maple Grade School. 

1927-28 

A new Honeywell School was built on the present site. 

A new section was also added to John Greer High. 

1944 

A fire destroyed Maple School, May 30. 1944. Because of the 
War. they were delayed in the rebuilding. It was December of 
1949 before they were in their new building. 





HIGH SCHOOL 



LINCOLN SCHOOL 



HONEYWELL 



GREER COLLEGE 



1873 

In January 1873 the first public school was opened in the 
Christian Church which was in the 600 block of East Honeywell, 
where the old John Petry residence still stands. 

George Dove was the teacher. 

1873-74 

In the winter of 1873-74 Honeywell School opened. It was 
located where the Honeywell Apartments are now. It was also 
the first High School. 



1955-56 

A new high school was erected on East Orange near the 
Hoopeston Community Memorial Hospital. 

The old John Greer High School became John Greer Junior 
High. 

1968 
An addition was built on to Maple — four rooms. 
Also plans for a new Junior High were underway. 

1969 



1879 

The first class was graduated from high school and included 
Emma Jones Spence, Mary Finley Honeywell and Harry Aiken. 

1891 

John Greer College was founded. 



Junior High is now in their new building on East Orange ad- 
joining the high school. 

Lincoln Grade School is also in a new John Greer Grade 
School. 

The old John Greer College building has been razed. Only 
memories remain. 



100 Years Later 



PRESENT SCHOOL BOARD: WiUiam Samaras, president: 
Charles Peterson, secretary: Ed Layden. Jr.: Arthur "Cotton" 
Longfellow; Sharon Houmes: Edson Eells, Winston Bash. 




LIST OF THE 
SUPERINTENDENTS 

FIRST TO PRESENT 



1897 


1905 


S. A. D. Harry 


1905 


1909 


Arthur Verner 


1909 


1915 


S. K. McDowell 


1915 


1916 


T. M. Birney 


1916 


1942 


W. R. Lowery 


1942 


1947 


Nelson Stork 


1947 


1960 


Jared Lyons 


1960 


1965 


Paul Seitsinger 


1965 


1971 


Leo Huffman 



JUNIOR - SENIOR HIGH 

100 YEARS LATER 

Hoopeston has maintained its high level of education and 
within the past two years, has completed a $1 million building 
and remodeling program which voters approved a year earlier. 

Included in the program was the razing of the old John Greer 
College which was used as a high school and junior high before it 
was found unsafe. In its place, a new elementary school was 
constructed and now houses John Greer Elementary students. 



- 4:- 




t^mi 



.J%. 



HONEYWELL 




who formerly attended Lincoln School at Lincoln and South 
First avenue. 

Lincoln School was also condemned as "unsafe". 

Other improvements included construction of a large junior 
high complex attached to the west end of the high school and 
several new rooms were added to the senior high itself. 

An addition was built at Maple School (Maple and South 
Fourth streets) and remodeling was done on Honeywell Grade 
School at the same time. 




teiSimSi ^iliij ' g^i Wigy-" 



JOHN GREER 

1970-71 



MAPLE 



Honeywell School — Principal Kenneth Hughes: Teaching 
Staff — J6 regular teachers, i band teacher, ] music teacher I'/i 
days, 2 remedial teachers. Enrollment — 350: 

John Greer School — Principal Ralph Keller: Teaching Staff 

— 14 regular teachers. 2 special education teachers. I remedial 
teacher. 1 music teacher. Enrollment — 369: 

Maple School — Principal Ruth Keran: Teaching Staff — 13 
regular teachers, 1 band instructor. 1 music teacher iJ4 days. 
Enrollment — 367: 

Junior High — Principal Ralph Huffman: Teaching Staff — 23 
regular teachers. 7 that teach in both junior and senior high. 
Enrollment — 430. 

Senior High School — Principal John Griffin: Teaching Staff 

— 23 regular teachers. 1 guidance counselor, 1 librarian. 
Enrollment — 368: 

Present-day Schools — 3 Elementary, 1 Junior High. 1 Senior 
High. 1 Junior College in Danville. 1 Christian High School near 
Potomac. 



Greer College 



Greer college was founded and endowed by the late John 
Greer in 1891. who gave his fortune as a heritage to all young 
people who are ambitious to rise in the world. Like most men. 
Mr, Greer's life had been one of toil and trial. When young, his 
opportunities for an education were meager enough, and this he 
believed caused his life to be more irksome than it otherwise 
might have been. Business and normal colleges, such as Greer 
College, were unknown when he was a boy. and the common 
schools were then poor at best. He desired to make conditions 
better, and so resolved to found a college where young people of 
any age would be received and educated with care and patience, 
no matter how poor their early means for schooling had been. 
The beautiful buildings of Greer College stand today as a 
monument to the memory of a true philanthropist and lover of 
young people. 

The buildings of Greer College cost nearly $50,000 and were 
provided with all modern conveniences. Several hundred dollars 
were expended during the early 1 900' s for libraries, laboratory 
apparatus, tables, cases, commercial offices and desks, 
cabinets, microscopes, air pumps, electrical machines and 
appliances, good water supply in laboratory, biological and 
geological specimen, skeleton, charts physiological models and 
typewriters. 

The college buildings occupy a commanding site in the 
western part of the city. The campus had a beautiful sloping 
lawn, ornamented with trees and shrubbery. The grounds were 
high, affording perfect drainage and a pleasant view of the city 
and surrounding country. 

The main building was a magnificent specimen of modern 
architecture. It was built of St. Louis pressed brick laid in black 
mortar. The arched entrances and large landscape windows 
were set in cut stone. The trimntings were of rough stone, terra 
cotta and ornamental iron. It was heated throughout with steam 
lighted with electricity and gas. and supplied with an abundance 
of pure artesian water. 

The inner appointments of this building were all that could be 
desired — comfortable, convenient and elegant. The college 
auditorium or assembly room had a seating capacity of about 
700 persons. A commodious gallery in the type of an am- 
phitheatre extended around three sides. The lighting and ven- 
tilation of the rooms was perfect. 

Greer hall was a fine brick structure containing comfortable 
apartments for gentlemen students and teachers. The rooms 
were arranged in suites and the interior finished similarly to 
that of the main building-natural wood oiled. 

The president's home was a large modern home fitted with 
electric lights, steam heat bath. etc.. where young women had 
elegant rooms with all the comforts and conveniences of a home 
life while attending college. 

The library and reading room was a commodious apartment, 
well lighted, warmed and ventilated. Among the reference 
books were encyclopedias of history and literature, atlases and 
the standard dictionaries. There were valuable scientific and 
historical works, books of biography and travel, standard fic- 
tion, polite literature, poetry, etc. The leading magazines and 
teacher's journals and the local and Chicago papers were kept 
on file. 

The courses of study consisted of two-year courses in com- 
mercial work, stenography, civil service, elocution and pen- 
manship: four-year courses in preparatory, normal and music, 
and four-year college courses that entitle students who finish 
them to the usual degrees given for the various courses, such as 



Bachelor of Arts, (A. B.), Bachelor of Literature (B. 
Bachelor of Science (B.S.). etc. 



Lit), 



The school was non-sectarian, but a thorough Christian spirit 
was maintained. Daily devotional exercises were conducted, 
and students were advised to attend at least once on Sunday the 
church of their choice. The different denominations were 
represented on the faculty and almost every denominations sent 
its students. The teachers were workers in the respective 
churches, and the usual young people's societies were encour- 
aged. 

Two student literary organizations were maintained-the 
Olympian Literary Society was organized by the young men and 
many prominent young men of this state and others could trace 
their success in public life to the training received while 
members of the Olympian Literary Society. 




What has been said of the Olympian Society is also true of the 
Vesperian Literary Society, which was the young ladies' 
Literary Society of the school. 

The Y.M.&Y.W.C.A. have a great influence upon the student 
life of the school, and most of the students are members of these. 

The Alumni Association in 1911 consisted of 439 members and 
many of them were occupying important positions in public and 
private life throughout this country and also in some foreign 
countries. 

In 1891 when the college was founded the rates were as 
follows: 

One term-(10 weeks). $10.00: 2 terms. 19.20: 3 terms. 26.00: 4 
terms. 28.00: 5 terms. 30.00: 

Presidents of John Greer College were: 1. President McClure; 
2. President Clary; 3. President E. L. Bailey. 



In January of 1969, demolition of the building was begun. It 
had been ruled a safety hazard a few months earlier and was 
beyond feasible repair. A new elementary school was built to the 
west and south of the building and completed in late 1968. 

March. 1969: Broken glass, scattered piles of brick and 
shattered shingles were all that remained of old John Greer. 



FOR MORE THAN 76 YEARS 

AMERICAN CAN COMPANY 

Has Been an Integral Part of the Hoopeston Community 



Three score and sixteen years ago our pre- 
decessor, the Union Can Company came to this 
community. In the ensuing three-quarters of a 
century we have grown and prospered away be- 
yond the anticipations and belief of our early 
forebearers. 

And we have changed mightily. Starting 
in a primative atmosphere we have now become 
a highly sophisticated plant. 

Our growth has not been easy, nor has it 
come naturally. It has rather, come about 
through energetic planning and execution of 
high ideals. So it is our quality today is unsur- 
passed with the "tin can" becoming an integral 
part of our society. 

Without tin cans our civilization would grind 
to a halt. They provide the means of pure and 
wholesome food, indefinite storage time and an 
ease to the housewife never enjoyed before our 
advent. 

Our grandmothers never had it so good. 
Home canning of foods for the winter season has 
largely passed out of the picture. For today's 
housewife can pick her choice from thousands of 
items right off the super-market shelves. 

No longer does she have to wonder if the seal 
has remained unbroken and the contents palat- 
able for her family. 

And through the years the percentage of 
family income devoted to food has dropped con- 
sistently because of the tremendously high effi- 
ciency of our customers, the canners who use 
our cans and process food for your table. 

And so we say to you today, good living and 
good food! And all because it comes in a tin can 
made right here in Hoopeston. 







BALK IN 190U r - J Ji 

century We re sorry we don 1 have a 
Grandpa or some 0l your relations 



.an Can LLmpanj dt i 

idmes but rnaybe yoi 




THE WAY WE DO IT TODAY— James Aftartin, Larry Powley and Wilbur Carter 
tn a scene (rom our modern plant The latest technology and machines now lorm 
a perfect can every time, insuring our customers the ability lo can wholesome, 
healthy foods 



^ AMERICAN 

^^ CAN COMPANY 



A Hospital Grows... 

Hoopeston Community Memorial Hospital had its inception in 
1956 when Harry J. Silver, then president of Hoopeston Chamber 
of Commerce, appointed a committee to make a feasibility 
study and survey of needs of the community for hospital ser- 
vices. 

As a result of this study, a corporation was formed to further 
the aim of establishing a public hospital in Hoopeston. The 
original Board of Directors for the purposes of incorporation 
was comprised of Frank R. Mills. Vernon B. Western, John A. 
Cruntley. J. Ed. Holt, and Harry J. Silver. Incorporation papers 
were filed with the Secretary of State of Illinois April 3, 1956. 
During the incorporation period. Attorney Charles F. Dyer gave 
invaluable service to the project in serving as legal advisor 
without charge. 



To pursue the project, additional board members were 
recruited, and the original board which then served during the 
study and fund-raising phase was composed of John A. Crumley, 
president: Frank R. Mills, vice-president; Martin Young, 
finance chairman: W. Tate Duley, secretary; Larry J. Oyler, 
treasurer: Ralph C. Anderson. Curtis L. Boardman. Laverne D. 
Frazier. Harry Holtkamp. Harold L. Link. Harry J. Silver, 
Roberts E. Snively, Dalph Stipp. Vernon B. Western. J. Ed. 
Holt. Donald J. McFerren. Gary H. Finch. Attorney Joseph C. 
Moore //. served as legal advisor during the fund-raising and 
planning stages. Dr. Werner Fliesser served as an advisor to the 
Building Committee. 

The entire community joined in the fund-raising effort, and in 
addition to a professional fund-raising organization, local people 
conducted many activities for the benefit of the fund including 




Charter Board Members 



I960 



PRESIDENT 

FIRSTVICE 

SECONDVICE 

REC. SECRETARY 

CORRS. SECRETARY 

TREASURER 

PARLIMENTARIAN 



EDNA SAMARAS 

SELMA YOUNG 

HILDA ROBINSON 

IRMAZOOK 

ELINOR MARTIN 

ARLENE HATFIELD 

RUBYKLINE 



SEWING 

MEMBERSHIP 

PURCHASING 

VOLUNTEER SERVICE 

WAYS&MEANS 

PUBLIC RELATIONS 

FINANCE 



RUTH LAYDEN 

FRANCES BURTON 

DOROTHY CRUMLEY 

CLARA HOTT 

JOAN RUSSELL 

LEAH KAZMARK 

LORETTABELL 



Hospital 



bazaars, auction sales, raffles, and solicitations. After the 
professional fund-raising effort had ended, new life was given 
the drive by the addition of Ernest Mclntyre to co-chairmanship 
with Martin Young of the fund-raising committee. When it was 
felt that local efforts had progressed as far as possible, contact 
was made through the good offices of Donald J. McFerren and 
his son-in-law. E. H. Shoemaker. Jr. of North Platte, Nebraska, 
with Lutheran Hospitals and Homes Society of Fargo, North 
Dakota. Fred Knautz, Executive Director, and Harry Malm., 
Assistant Director, of that organization visited Hoopeston to 
survey the situation and ultimately agreed to join in the effort 
and to operate the hospital when completed. Government funds 
were also applied for and granted under the Hill-Burton 
program, and at long last the funds were available to commence 
the project. 

Ground-breaking ceremony was held on Sunday, October 30, 
I960, with John A. Crumley, president of the Advisory Board, 
arid Mrs. Edna Samaras first president of the Hospital 
Auxiliary, turning the first spade of earth. 

During the construction period while the building was being 
erected by Francis X. Ready Construction Company of Dan- 
ville. Illinois, further organization plans were prepared and 
membership drives in the auxiliary conducted. 

Dedication of the hospital was conducted July 15. 1962, with 
ribbon-cutting ceremonies presided over by President Crumley. 
Mr. Knautz. the late Dr. J. C. Moore, first chief of staff of the 
medical staff. Mayor Joseph C. Moore U, Michael H. Weiss. Jr., 
first administrator of the hospital, Harry Malm, and Mrs. Nettie 
Lewis, first head nurse at the hospital. Also present were 
members of the board and auxiliary, and Dr. Werner Fliesser. 
vice-chief of staff , Dr. J. W. Hardy was first secretary-treasurer 
of the medical staff. 

In addition to Dr. Moore and Dr. Fliesser, other local 
physicians who were on the niedical staff when the hospital 
opened its doors were Dr. K. H. Kammond. Dr. T. S. Str- 
zembnsz. the late Dr. J. S. Bell. Dr. E. T. Yap. and dentists Dr. 
L. P. Dunn and Dr. J. W. Hardy. Other local physicians and 
surgeons now on the staff include Dr. E. P. Kosyak and Dr. K. Z. 
Abusief. Other physicians and surgeons from surrounding 
communities are also on the courtesy staff of the hospital. 

The hospital opened its doors to patients on July 19, 1962, and 
the growth of its service to the community has been steady since 
that date. Others of the community who have served on the 
Advisory Board in past years in addition to the original board 
are: Claude Swartz, Thomas N. Martin. Dale L. Singleton, 
Archie Campbell, Elmer Vnger. Russell Cloud. Robert A. Welty, 
Ronald A. Scranton. and Dr. E. P. Kosyak. 

In addition to John A. Crumley, past presidents of the board 
include Frank R. Mills. V. B. Western, and Lewis Hott. 



In 1967 the need for nursing home facilities was recognized, 
committees formed, and a second fund-raising drive conducted 
under the chairmanship of John A. Crumley and Martin Young, 
assisted by Ted Stump of Lutheran Hospitals and Homes 
Society. Funds raised, together with funds from Hill-Burton 
program and from Lutheran Hospitals and Homes Society, were 
sufficient to permit construction of a nursing home addition to 
the hospital which is expected to open soon providing fifty beds 
for skilled nursing care. 

In 1964 Hoopeston Professional Building Corporation was 
formed to construct an office building to accommodate two 
offices suited for occupancy by physicians or surgeons just east 
of the hospital, and this, in addition to privately constructed 
physicians' offices in the same area, has formed a medical 
complex of which the entire community is exceedingly proud. 

Area ministers have contributed to the services offered by the 
hospital by serving as chaplains in ministering to the patients' 
spiritual needs. 

The hospital and the new nursing home give Hoopeston 
medical facilities not often equalled in communities of its size, 
and the credit must go to the community itself and its forward- 
looking citizens who carried the project to successful fruition 
from beginnings which were not always promising. 

History of the Hospital Auxiliary 

The response of the women of Hoopeston and surrounding 
areas of Hoopeston was most gratifying in August 1960 when an 
organizational meeting was held in the auditorium of the 
Hoopeston high school. 

The group represented a goodly cross section of town and 
rural potentials, with 129 homemakers. business and 
professional women all showing in their interested manner and 
response, their determination and pleasure in actually being at 
the point of forming an auxiliary to the project, so close to their 
hearts, the Hoopeston Community Memorial Hospital. 

Later in the month the representatives of the Lutheran Home 
Society met with the hospital board and expressed their 
pleasure and full approval of the plans of the organization of a 
hospital auxiliary. 

In September of 1960 Mrs. Edna Samaras was elected as the 
first president of the newly organized Hoopeston Community 
Memorial Hospital Auxiliary. Other officers nominated and 
elected included Mrs. Martin Young, first vice-president: Mrs. 
Wesley Robinson, second vice-president: Mrs. Paul look, 
recording secretary: Mrs. Leland Martin, corresponding 
secretary: Miss Arlene Hatfield, treasurer; Mrs. R. G. Cline, 
parliamentarian. 



Harry J. Silver currently serves as president of the board, and 
other officers are W. Tate Duley. vice-president; Harlan Hat- 
field, secretary; and Leland Martin, treasurer. Also currently 
serving on the board are Lewis Hott. V. B. Western, Thomas E. 
Mills. Myron G. Harris. Floyd Worden, Thomas A. Thome. 
Andrew Melin, Byron Hedgecock, Wade Swartz, and Robert 
Totheroh. 

The hospital has had five administrators serving from time to 
time: Michael H. Weiss, Jr., Gary Speas, Jack Brewer, Charles 
Eide, and the present administrator, Alvin A. Riffel. After 
serving as the original administrator, Weiss returned for a 
second tour of duty following the administration of Mr. Eide. 

The hospital was fully accredited seventeen months after its 
opening by the Joint Committee on Accreditation and has 
remained fully accredited since. 



FACTS 

December 1960 — charter members, 572; life members. 32. 

February 1961 — The governing board of the Lutheran 
Hospital and Aid Society ratified the Hoopeston auxiliary by- 
laws with full approval and a copy was placed in the hospital. 

Amount of money given for equipment for the hospital. 
$-t'i,122.43, with a book in the hospital lobby itemizing the 
equipment bought. 

Auxiliary pledge to Nursing home. $15,000. with last in- 
stallment paid May 1970. 

Membership in 1970 — 97. life members; 1200. regular 
members. 



{1B71) Hoopeston Post Office (T97T) 



The first post office was established in October 1871. and 
J. M. R. Spinning was appointed postmaster, a position he con- 
tinued to hold until 1878. Old documents In the possession of 
post office officials at the present day set the salary of the first 
postmaster. Mr. Spinning, at $12 per year. In addition to this 



salary, $8 per year was allowed for transportation of mails from 
Rossville to Hoopeston, It being necessary to bring mails from 
that city in a buggy. The first mall arrived on the 9th of December 
1871. It was not until January 1872. that mail came by trains into 
Hoopeston. 



A building grows.... 




This photograph taken September 5, 1917, 
shows the excavation where the Hoopeston 
Post Office was to be constructed. 



On January I, 1918. the construction had By April I of 1918. this view taken from 

progressed to the point shown here and the the southwest, shows the work nearing its 

building was taking shape. completion on the exterior. 



The present building was completed in 1918 at a cost of $10,000. 
The appropriation was first passed by Congress in 1910, but 
various delays prevented the money for Its construction becoming 
available until 1917, when construction started. It was completed 
and ready for occupancy on October 5, 1918, when the postmaster 
and his employees took over. 



The building Is a handsome structure of red face brick and stone, 
fireproof throughout. A spacious lobby forms the main entrance 
to the building, where hundreds of Hoopeston people came each 
day to transact business. Money order, stamp windows, parcel 
post and each special class of business handled by the post office 
were carried out separately. At one end of the spacious lobby 
is the office of the postmaster. 



Salaries of postmasters were based upon the 
amount of business done by their offices. The 
salary of Postmaster Kelly Cardiff, from 1922-29 
was In excess of $2,000, which will give some idea 
of the rate of growth in the fifty odd years since 
founding of the city. 

The securing of a federal building for Hoopeston 
was an achievement to which Hoopeston owes a 
debt of gratitude to ex-postmasters William Fin- 
ley and Charles Warner. "Uncle Joe" Cannon, 
representing the eighteenth district in Congress. 
finally secured the Hoopeston appropriation. 

To Postmaster Kelly A. Cardiff and his corps 
of assistants much of the credit for the excellent 
financial condition of the post office business 
here is due. Courtesy on the part of all em- 
ployees, and a thorough knowledge of the vast 
business of which Hoopeston's post office is an 
integral part, has been rewarded by an Increase 
In business each year at the post office. 

Today (1971) more than 5 million pieces of 
mall are handled annually. 




July 



I, 1918, the Post Office building is completed outside 
It stands today. July. 1971. 



nearly 



Postmasters and dates of appointment: 



James M. R. 


Spinning 


Oct. 


25, 


1871 


D 


ale Wallace 




Nov 


20, 


1877 


J. 


S. Catherwood 




Apr. 


13, 


1885 






* 


Earl F. Smocic 



Charles W. Warner 
William FInley 
Kelley A. Cardiff 

Mar. 31, 1962 



Jun. 25, 1889 
Jan. 20, 1914 
Jan. I, 1922 

Harold Morrison 



*C. A. (Ed) Sheefs 
Wilbur C. Wel+y 
♦John Retry 

Apr. 23. 1965 













' 






' 


Mar. 


17, 


1929 ' 


Oct. 


10, 


1929 ' 


Sep. 


18, 


1934 



(* ACTING POSTMASTERS) 
fSponsored by Warren & Van Praag, Consulting Engineers, Decatur, Illinois) 



First Settler, William Allen 

William I. Allen, one of the prominent men of Vermilion 
County, in the latter half of the 19th century, came from Ohio in 
1844, and entered land in what is now the northwestern part of 
Hoopeston. It. at that time, however, was a tract of uncultivated 
land over which deer, wolves, prairie chickens and other wild 
creatures, had up to this time wandered undisturbed by man. 
There was not a tree or brush in sight, and the pioneer after 
building his cabin, frequently stood in his doorway and counted 
numbers of deer, sometimes as high as sixty in a herd. Mr. Allen 
was not married when he came here, but in 1848 he became the 
husband of Miss Emily Newell, the daughter of William Newell. 
He broke his land and improved his farm, working during the 
summer months and teaching school in the winter. Mr. Allen 
was a man of fine classical education. When he graduated from 
his eastern college he wrote a letter home in Latin, which 
the family yet have in their possession. Finally Mr. Allen 
sold out his land in 1855 to Mr. Hoopes and himself settled six 
milts west, where East Lynn now stands. By entry and purchase 
he acquired 3.200 acres of land which was mostly devoted to 
grazing. He built three houses and made other improvements, 
remaining there until after the breaking out of the Civil War. He 
enlisted in the 12th Illinois Infantry, which regiment was first 
ordered to Cairo and then to Paducah. Kentucky. After a little he 
was promoted to captain of the company, but became disabled 
for service and was returned home. He went back to his farm. 
but in a few months bought 500 acres in the vicinity of Rossville. 
A few years after he sold out again and returned to the northern 
part of East Lynn. This town was located on a part of the old 
farm when the railroad came through later. 

In 1884, Allen moved to Cherry County, Nebraska, but he lived 
here only four years, when he returned to Hoopeston, where he 
spent the remainder of his days. Allen was the father of six 
children. One of them. Mr. Charles Allen, was a prominent 
citizen of Vermilion County, where he was born in 1851. Charles 
Allen represented Vermilion County in the state legislature for 
many terms and was a conspicuous member of each session. His 
home was always in Hoopeston. Mrs. William Allen was the 
daughter of James Newell and was born in Kentucky in 1824. 
coming to Vermilion county with her parents when she was but a 
small child. Her father was a prominent early settler, the 
township of Newell being named for him. The father of William 
Allen did not come to Illinois to settle but remained in Indiana as 
long as he lived. 

William Allen bears the distinction of being the first settler of 
the northern part of the county. Allen was county assessor while 
living out here, and after selling out went back to Danville, 
thence to Perrysville. and. in 1858. back to East Lynn, where he 
again pioneered, being the first settler in the northern part of 
Butler township. One son was engaged in law at Rossville and 
one daughter at East Lynn; the others were with their parents in 
Hoopeston. Mr. Allen saw this part of the country blossom into 
fruitful farms. When he first struck plow on his farm here, for 
miles in all directions, nothing met the eye but prairie-grass: 
even the great herds of cattle, which afterward were seen in 
these parts, were absent then. 



Abel Woolverton 



and wolves with the same bravery he had the Indians. There 
was no market for anything but at Chicago, and there he had to 
go, over bleak prairies, through rain and mud. which later was 
often one of the worst hardships the early settler had to endure. 
Points of trading at this time were Danville and Attica. He soon 
bought 160 acres more and then increased this amount to 400 
acres. The following year his family came and occupied the 
land. In the family was a son of fifteen, who was to be a strong 
factor in the development of the northern part of the county. 
Charles Woolverton learned the carpenter's trade before and 
during the war. He enlisted in Company H. 70th Illinois 
Volunteers. This regiment did duty most of the time of their 
enlistment at Camp Butler. Springfield, and at Alton. They did 
garrison duty at Alton and furnished numerous details for 
guarding prisoners. Mr. Woolverton rose to the rank of colonel. 
Since the war Mr. Woolverton has been conspicuous in business 
and politics. He is a Republican. 



The Bicknells 

As early as 1835. George and William Bicknell took up land at 
Bicknell's Point which was the last piece of timber on the route 
to Chicago until the valley of the Iroquois was reached. Mr. 
Lockhar. who came from Kentucky with William Newell, was 
the man who first entered land north of Bicknell's Point. Asel 
Gilbert entered a section of land south of Bicknell's Point in 1838. 
Albert Cumstock. B.C. Green, and James R. Stewart, early 
settled near this. Col. Abel Woolverton settled on section 18 in 
1840. two miles northeast of the Point. He was probably the first 
settler in that neighborhood. He came from Perrysville. In- 
diana. He had been in the Blackhawk war and was as brave in 
fighting the hardships of the new home in the prairie as he was 
in fighting the Indians. Col. Woolverton was a competent sur- 
veyor and his new home provided much work of this kind. 
William Allen was the pioneer in the northern part of the 
township. He came to Ohio in 1844. Thomas Hoopes. for whom 
Hoopeston was named, came in i855 and bought Mr. Allen's 
farm. 



Floral Hill Cemetery 

Record of early burials in Floral Hill Cemetery 
ANN WOOLVERTON April 3, 1857 

ANNA M.HAMILTON Sept. 21, 1859 

THOMAS HAMILTON Aug. 6. 1862 

LT. JAMES K. WEIR. Co B. 25 III. Inf. June 21. 1864 

First Veteran buried here 
JESSIE L.HOLMES Aug. 5. 1864 

ABEL WOOLVERTON Nov. 22, 1865 

JAMES A. HOLMES Jan. 6, 1867 

JOHN C. HOLMES Feb. 4. 1867 

Infant of A.HOLMES Nov. 20. 1869 

These burials were prior to 1870 

Those buried here who lived to be 100 or more years of age 
are: GEORGE RANSOM, died at age 100. on May II. 1958: 
CATHERINE M. TIMM. died at age 101. on Feb. 3. 1953; 
JENNIE GUNN. died at age 102. on Jan. 19. 1955; THOMAS L. 
PARRISH. died at age 103, on Oct. 20, 1964. 

There were more than 8,500 burials in Floral Hill Cemetery as 
of March 1, 1971. 



Col. Abel Woolverton. one of the best known of the early set- 
tlers in this township, settled in 1840 on section 18, two miles 
northeast of Bicknell Point. His was probably the first set- 
tlement out on the prairie, and as others came in his name was 
given to the neighborhood, and is so called yet. He came from 
Perrysville. Indiana, and had been in the Blackhawk war. He 
received the title of Colonel from his foster brother. Gov. 
Whitcomb. of Indiana. He was only able to enter a quarter- 
section at first, but afterward took land in sections 1 7 and 8. He 
engaged in farming, enduring the hardships consequent on early 
settlement on the prairie, raising cattle, fighting rattlesnakes 



Thornton Buggy Company — 1904 

The Thornton Buggy Company. H. L. Thornton and Earle C. 
Thornton, proprietors, manufactures all kinds of carriages. The 
plant consists of carriage repository, paint rooms, varnish and 
trimming rooms, blacksmithing and woodworking depart- 
ments. It was established in 1900 and has a reputation for 
thoroughness and skill in all the different branches of custom 
vehicle building and repairing, with a steady growth in output. 



When you're downtown . . . 



Visit the 
Uptown Lounge 



And help us 

celebrate 

Hoopeston's 

Centennial 

Year! 




Happy 100th Birthday 
I HOOPESTON 

We plan To Continue 

Serving you with The Best 

T.V. Reception possible 

For The Next 

100 Years. 



Stock up for the celebration 
from our selection of carry-outs. 

UPTOWN LOUNGE 



HOOPESTON 
CABLE T. V. 



FRED & JUNE SMITH I 310 E. PENN ST. 

225 E. MAIN TEL. 283-5630 



In the Future 
as in the Past. 




BEST OF LUCK: 

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY 

%1 



YOUR NEEDS are 
our only concern! 

We provide the 
QUALITY you demand — 

in the STYLES 
you want — 

at PRICES you 
can afford! 




HOOPESTON'S 
TRENDSEHER 



American Legion has been a pari- of this com- 
munity for over half of its 100 years. We look 
forward to many more! 

RA OWEN KREAGER 
POST 384 

American Legion 
and Auxiliary 






Early Pioneers.... 



LYFORD MARSTON, Hoopeston farmer, was born m 
Plymouth. New Hampshire, on the 2nd of May. 1817. son of 
Oliver L. and Lavinia Magusta (Ryan) Marston. The Marstons 
were descended from English stock. They were a numerous and 
prominent family, the greater number of whom led sea-faring 
lives. In 1835 he emigrated to Burbon county. Ky. There he 
taught school a year and a half, devoting his spare time to 
reading law under Thomas Elliott, of Paris. He was admitted to 
the bar in November. 1838. at Carlisle, county seat of Nicholas 
county, where he located for practice. He was prosecuting at- 
torney for Nicholas county a number of years. In the fall of 1843. 
he took a position on the editorial staff of the ''Lexington 
Enquirer," a Henry Clay organ. He maintained his connection 
with this until the spring of 1845. when the proprietor failed and 
the paper went down. He at once succeeded to the management 
of his father-in-law's firm, the latter having deceased. The 
beginning of the Kansas troubles inspired his pen to active use. 
and he advocated the anti-slavery cause in the columns of the 
"New York Tribune." In 1856. while visiting his native home in 
New Hampshire, he made numerous campaign speeches for 
Fremont. In 1860 he was a delegate to the Chicago convention 
which nominated Mr. Lincoln, and an elector on the Republican 
ticket for Kentucky. At the opening of the war he opposed, in the 
"Tribune", Mr. Greeley's cliche that the "erring sisters 
should be permitted to depart in peace." In the fall of 1863 he 
moved to Grant township in this county, and bought a farm of 
one hundred and sixty acres. In the fall of 1878 he was elected by 
the Republicans to the general assembly. 



JAMES W. CROUCH, Hoopeston farmer and stock raiser, was 
born in Warren county. Indiana, on the 10th of October, 1842. His 
parents were Joseph and Nancy (Watkins) Crouch. He lived in 
his native county until 1864, excepting two years (1857-8) that he 
was in Prairie Green township. In 1864 he came to Grant 
township. He herded cattle the first year for a Mr. Hunter, who 
subsequently became his father-in-law. For five or six years 
after this the same gentleman gave him the use of eighty acres 
of land. He made successive purchases, till he owned 440 acres 
of choice farming land, valued at $13,500. The rearing of Nor- 
man horses is a branch of stock industry to which he devoted 
much attention. His fine farm was situated midway between 
Hoopeston and Ambia, on the L.B. & M. railroad. 



EDMUND HEATON, Hoopeston farmer and school teacher, 
was born in Coshocton county. Ohio, on the 7th of September, 
1853. He is a sonofHughand Levia (McCoy) Heaton. His mother 
died on the 21st of April. 1861, in Holmes county. Ohio. In the 
spring of 1863 he came to St. Joseph county, Indiana, and the 
next spring to Vermifion county, Illinois, settling in Grant 
township. In 1877 he went to Marion county, Iowa, and from 
thence, in 1878, traveled in Missouri, Kansas, Colorado and New 
Mexico, spending the season in those places, sightseeing, for 
pleasure and profit, returning in the fall to Vermilion county. III. 



OLIVER H. CRANE, Hoopeston farmer, was born in Fountain 
county. Indiana, on the 4th of March, 1841, son of Joel and 
Elizabeth (Jenkins) Crane. His grandfather. Jonathan Crane 
and Absalom Jenkins, both served as soldiers in Virginia in the 
war of 1812. He was reared a farmer. In 1858 he moved to this 
county, and located in Grant township, on the S. V2 S.W.y^ 
section 20, town 23, range 12. 



JOSEPH SOUTHWICK. Hoopeston farmer, was born at 
Hoosac Falls. Rensselaer county. New 'York, on the 1st of 
August. 1833. He obtained his education at the high school at 
Union Village, Washington county. New York, ending his studies 
there in 1854. He spent the year 1855 in Maine, surveying and 
platting the counties of Kennebec and Androscoggin for county 
maps, published by Chase & Barker, of New York. In 1856. he 
was engaged in the same work in Pennsylvania, for Chase and 
Barker, and surveyed the counties of Lebanon and Dauphin. In 
1857 he emigrated to Woodford county. Illinois, and bought a 
farm of 80 acres five miles north of El Paso. In 1875 he removed 
to Vermilion county, having bought the W .V2 of section 6. town 
23. range 12, four and one-half miles west of Hoopeston. on the 
L.B. & M. railroad, valued at $9,600. 



RUDOLPHUS R. TAYLOR. Hoopeston. hardware merchant 
and implement dealer, was born in Peoria. Illinois on the 5th of 
April. 1842. His parents were James and Sarah (Miller) Taylor. 
At the age of fourteen he was apprenticed to the tinner's trade, 
which he learned. In 1859 he went to California, by the way of 
Panama; lived there two years; worked some at mining, but 
most of the time at his trade. He enlisted on the 18th of Sep- 
tember. 1861. in Co. A, Cal. Cav.. Col. A. J. Smith. He passed his 
term of service doing duty at Fort Churchill. Nevada, and at 
Camp Douglas, Salt Lake City, and in scouting after Indians. He 
was mustered out on the 4th of October, 1864, at Camp Douglas 
and disbanded on the 16th. He at once started for home across 
the plains, and arrived in Peoria early in December where he 
entered the hardware trade. In 1874. he formed a co-partnership 
with James Hulsizer. style of Hulsizer & Taylor, and resumed 
the hardware business in Princeville. In February, 1875, they 
removed to Hoopeston and in March, 1877. Mr. Hulsizer sold his 
interest to Taylor and retired from the firm. 



WILLIAM R. CLARK, Hoopeston, hardware merchant, was 
born in Watertown. New York on the 25th of October, 1832. and is 
the son of Raymond and Lucy (Gill) Clark. When quite young his 
parents emigrated to Washington. Wayne county. Indiana, and 
in 1840 to Adams county, Illinois, settling on a farm near Quincy. 
He was in Missouri a year, returning to Franklin county. In- 
diana, in the spring of 1846. From this time till the spring of 1853 
he was steamboating on the Ohio and Mississippi rivers, most of 
the time in the capacity of steward. In September, 1857, he 
returned to Illinois, living nine years in Winona, engaged in the 
grocery trade. In 1866 he moved to Oilman, Iroquois county, and 
started a hardware store; in 1870 removed his business to Loda, 
and in the spring of 1872 to Hoopeston, then an enterprising town 
just starting. 



SUBDIVISIONS 1904 

The first addition to the original plat of the city of Hoopeston 
as known was subdivided by Joseph Satterthwaite. This addition 
is from the Lake Erie and Western tracks to Honeywell avenue 
and east to 4th street. 

To the north of Honeywell avenue is what is fenown as North 
Hoopeston. 

East of North Hoopeston is Moore and Brown's addition. 

East of 4th street to 7th street is Honeywell's first addition. 

East of 7th street is the Wallace and Catherwood first ad- 
dition. 

South ofPenn street to Lincoln and east to 4th street is Robert 
Casement's addition. 

One of the largest additions is the original town of Leeds, west 
of the Chicago and Eastern Illinois Railroad tracks. 

Other important additions are Snell and Taylor's addition, J. 
S. McFerren's addition. Lukens' addition. Dale Wallace's ad- 
dition, G. W. Smith's addition, Hamilton and Smith's addition, 
Adams and Davison's addition, the Dice addition, Nathan 
Williams' addition, the Chase addition, the Hanly addition, the 
W. P. Pierce addition and Claire Smith's addition. 



REGAN'S ARCO 



1 953 HOOPESTON HOBBY CLUB 1 97 1 



Hails Hoopeston's 
Centennial Year! 

Goodyear Tires 
FREE PICK-UP & DELIVERY 

Wheel Balancing 

Minor Tune-ups — Washings 

Mufflers & Tail Pipes 

REGAN'S ARCO 

Paul Regan, owner 
516 W. Main Tel.283-7914 



Organized October, 1953, at the home of Mr. and 
Mrs. Hugh Roark with eight signing the charter. 

Mrs. Roark, club historian, and Glenn Brasel, floor plan 
chairman, are the only remaining charter members. 

Shows sponsored by the club presented treasures of 
yesterday, today and tomorrow for the pleasure of the 
public. 

The club has contributed to many local organizations. 

Other members include: Miss Lillie Southwick, Mr. and 
Mrs. James A. Anderson (Anderson, treasurer); Mr. and 
Mrs. John P. Cadle (Mrs. Cadle, vice president); Mrs. 
Helen Hasselbring, Mr. and Mrs. Harold Crouch, Mr. and 
Mrs. Burton Livingston, the Rev. and Mrs. Walter Evans 
(Mrs. Evans, secretary), Mr. and Mrs. Don Bury, Mr. and 
Mrs. Fremont Crouch, Mr. and Mrs. Myron Norton (Mrs. 
Norton, president), and Mr. and Mrs. David Cleveland. 

The Club's aim is to present programs for pleasure and 
information. 



GOODRUM BROS, 

General Contracting 

513 East Young Avenue 
Hoopeston, III. 60942 



Phones 283-6507 



Masonry and Concrete 

Work of All Kinds 

Brick and Stonework Our 

Specialty 

(Residential and Commercial] 



283-6997 



' i 



t 



HENNING'S 




Drive In 

An Island of refreshment 



Where the good old-fashioned taste of root beer 
can be found day in - day out. 

HOOPESTON. ILL. 

Dixie Highway 
Tel. 283-5782 



Early Pioneers... 



GEORGE STEELY of Hoopeston. farmer, was born in 
Fountain county, Indiana, on the 6th of September. 1830. He is 
the son of George and Elizabeth (Emerson) Steely. He lived on a 
farm in Fountain county until age 24 and was educated at 
Asbury University, attending from September. 1852. to June, 
1854. taking the scientific courses, and nearly completing it. In 
the fall of the latter year he came here, bought out Thomas 
McKibben, and settled one and a half miles south of Hoopeston. 



JOSEPH M. SATTERTHWAIT was born in Berks county. 
Pennsylvania, on the 9th of May. 1808, the son of Joshua W. and 
Ann Satterthwait. He came to Illinois in the fall of 1854, and 
settled on a farm near Rossville. He was the third postmaster in 
that place. In the spring of 1862 he removed to Pendelton, In- 
diana, near Indianapolis, and lived there ten years, when he 
returned to Illinois and settled at Hoopeston, and resided there 
until his death on the 21st of September, 1877. 



LAFAYETTE GOODWINE. Hoopeston farmer and stock 
raiser, was born in Warren county. Indiana, on the 27th of 
February. 1846. His parents were Harrison and Isabel 
(Charlton) Goodwine. In 1863 he enlisted in Co. K, Uth Ind. Cav. 
He fought in the decisive battle of Nashville, on the 15th and 16th 
of December. 1864. In the fall of 1866 he bought 160 acres of his 
father, who also gave him an equal tract, and he settled on the 
east half of section 17, town 23, range 11. The value of the farm 
was $10,000. 



MILES ODLE. Hoopeston farmer, was born in Warren 
county, Indiana, on the 26th of December, 1841. His parents were 
Nathan B. and Frances (Watkins) Odle. He was reared on a 
farm. He volunteered on the 3rd of June, 1861, in Co. A. 15th Ind. 
Vols.. Col. G. D. Wagner, and was mustered into the United 
States service on the Nth at Lafayette. He was engaged at Cheat 
Mountains on the 12th of September, and at Greenbriar. 
Virginia, on the 3rd of October, 1861. both of which were federal 
successes. He subsequently fought at Shilo. Perryville. Stone 
River, Chickamauga and Mission Ridge, besides having a share 
in a large number of smaller actions. In 1871 he moved to Ver- 
milion county, Illinois, and settled in Grant township, four miles 
east of Hoopeston, on a farm of 120 acres in section 3, which he 
bought at that time. 



JOHN S. POWELL, Hoopeston druggist, was born in New 
York city on the 23rd of February. 1840, the son of Edward and 
Harriet (Everett) Powell. At the age of twelve he was in- 
dentured to Dr. Widiam G. Wood, of Harlem, in the drug 
business, and placed under the supervision of the doctor's 
brother, James Wood, a thorough pharmacist. He served an 
apprenticeship of five years during which time he was required 
daily to learn a prescribed task and undergo examination fay the 
doctor. He became by this means a good Latin scholar. When 
seventeen he went into some of the leading drug stores in the 
city, where he finished his professional education. In 1860 he 
immigrated to Illinois, and on the Nth of April. 1861, volun- 
teered in Co. A, Uth III. Inf., Col. McArther. for three months. At 
the battle of Champion Hills, on the 16th of May. 1863. he fell into 
the hands of the enemy, but was released on parole and reported 
in person to Gen. Grant, and requested to remain with the army 
till the fall of the city. The general acceded to his request, and 
put him on duty as hospital steward in Gen. Logan's division 
hospital. After the capture of Vicksburg he was ordered to 
report to Jefferson Barracks. St. Louis, as a paroled prisoner of 
war, where he remained until exchanged; then returning to that 
city he was placed on detached service in the office of the 
medical director of the 17th Army Corps. Availing himself of the 
department library at command, he resumed and diligently 
pursued his studies. He appeared before the board of medical 
examiners, consisting of surgeons Patterson, Wilson and 
Bouschee. and passed a successful examination, and in 
January, 1865, was commissioned assistant surgeon of the 52nd 
U.S. Col. Vols. He was given charge of a ward in U.S. hospital 
No. 3. at Vicksburg. and also a smallpox hospital. He remained 
there on duty till he was mustered out of the service, in May, 
1866. He returned to Illinois and engaged in traveling in the 
wholesale drug business. On the 2nd of August. 1871. he stopped 
in Hoopeston. and in the following winter purchased the store 
and stock of drugs belonging to Frank Hoffman. 



ENOCH ROSS, Hoopeston farmer, was born in Stark county. 
Ohio, on the 27th of December. 1840. son of Isaac N. and Nancy 
(Hewitt) Ross. His parents were native Pennsylvanians, and his 
ancestors on his mother's side were Irish. His father was the 
owner of a large grist mill in Waynesburg, and he raised his son 
a miller. He followed this trade until his removal to Illinois. On 
the 17th of July. 1863. he joined the "Ohio National Guard" for 
five years, and reniained a member of that body until the 1st of 
May. 1866. when he was honorably discharged. In the spring of 
1868 he removed with his family to Illinois, and located in 
Fountain Creek township, on land belonging to his father. He 
lived there four years, and then bought 160 acres in Grant 
township of H. W. Beckwith. of Danville. 



JOHN WILLIAMS, Hoopeston farmer, was born in Harrison 
county, Ohio, on the 29th of September, 1832, the son of NATHAN 
AND SARAH (HOOPES) WILLIAMS. In the spring of 1854 he 
came to the county, broke prairie and farmed, and the third 
year entered three hundred and twenty acres in section 12. in the 
present limits of Prairie Green township, Iroquois county. He 
lived there seventeen years. He was assessor of Prairie Green 
four or five years in succession. On the 1st of January, 1864, he 
froze his right foot while feeding stock, and all the toes had to be 
amputated. In April, 1873, he moved one and a half miles south 
of Hoopeston. 



THOMAS WILLIAMS, Hoopeston farmer and stock raiser, 
was born in Harrison county, Ohio, on the 29th of November. 
1828. the son of NATHAN AND SARAH (HOOPES) WILLIAMS. 
In 1847 he went to Sandusky Plains. Marion county. Ohio, where 
he lived six or seven years, working by the month for his uncle, 
THOMAS HOOPES, tending sheep. In the fall of 1853 he came to 
this county, wintered four hundred sheep, and the next spring 
added four hundred more; rented a farm of his uncle Hoopes, 
giving him a share of all his profit. He held the offices of high- 
way commissioner and trustee of schools in Grant township. 



JOSEPH DALLSTREAM, Hoopeston merchant, was born in 
Wenersborg, Sweden, on the 2nd of April, 1852, son of John and 
Elizabeth (Anderson) Dallstream. He received a fair education 
in the public schools of the country, and spent one term in Upp- 
sala College. At sixteen he was apprenticed to the shoemaker's 
trade. In 1871 he came to America, and settled in Champaign. 
He lived there one year, and afterward a few months in Rantoul, 
finally settling in Hoopeston in the fall of 1872. In 1876 he opened 
a general boot and shoe store in connection with his manufac- 
turing. 



WATTS FINLEY. Hoopeston farmer, was born in Dearborn 
county, Indiana, on the 4th of November, 1833. He is the son of 
David and Nancy (Miller) Finley. His parents removed the 
same year to this county and settled near Catlin. In the spring of 
1855, he. in company with his brother Miller and his sister Nancy 
(nowMrs. Samuel Frazier. of Danville), settled on a farm of 200 
acres, in sections 24 and 25. town 23, range 12. He made stock- 
raising his principal business. He was one of the "substantial 
and sterling citizens of Grant township, and was held in 
universal esteem." Finley owned 740 acres of land, worth 
$26,000. 



HENRY H. DYER. Hoopeston attorney, was born in Rutland 
county. Vermont, on April 9. 1831. son of Daniel and Phila B. 
(Beverstock) Dyer. When seven years old, his parents removed 
to Richland county. Ohio. He was educated at Mount Hesper 
Seminary. Morrow county, and taught school a number of 
terms. In 1853 he obtained a position in the Bank of Mansfield, a 
bank of issue, as teller and bookkeeper. In 1855. he settled in 
Calloway county. Missouri where, in company with his father, 
he bought a farm of 320 acres, whereon he built a combined 
steam saw. grist and woolen mill. In 1858 this was fired and 
burned at the instigation of the slaveholding community, to 
punish Mr. D. for his anti-slavery views. In I860 he removed to 
Denver City and engaged in the commission business: in 1861 he 
went to Nevada City, and for two years was mining and running 
a quartz mill. In 1863 he moved to Canon City and bought three 
ranches: followed farming and trading: was elected justice of 
the peace and held the office one year. In the fall of 1864 he went 
to Denver and embarked in the auction and commission 
business, taking a partner, under the firm name of Clark and 
Dyer. In the spring of 1867 he went to Chicago, engaging in the 
hardware trade and the manufacture of tinware: in 1870 moved 
to Greenup. Cumberland county. Illinois, and went into the real 
estate and contract business. In January. 1875 he settled in 
Hoopeston and began the study of the law privately. He began 
to practice in July of 1875. In January. 1877. he was admitted to 
the bar at Springfield. He was a nephew of Hon. Charles V. 
Dyer, of Chicago, a noted anti-slavery lecturer, who was for- 
merly judge under treaty with Great Britain for the suppression 
of the African slave-trade, by appointment of President Lincoln. 



engaged to manage it. which he did three months. Dictation not 
proving agreeable tohim. he ga\'e up his position and came to 
Hoopeston. and in company with G. W. Seavey. establi^ed the 
"Chronicle", on the 1st of January, 1872. 



JONA THAN BEDELL, first Hoopeston merchant, was born in 
Cazenovia. Madison county. New York, on the 29th of October. 
1827. At the age of fifteen he was apprenticed to the tanner and 
currier's trade. In 1851 he emigrated to Twin Rivers. Manitowoc 
county. Wisconsin and learned the carpenter's trade. He was 
employed by the Wisconsin Leather Company four years in 
tanning leather. In April. 1855. he moved to Illinois and entered 
the last piece of land in Vermilion (now Ford) county, which was 
entered while the register's office was at Danville. He lived on 
his farm four or five years: moved into Loda and lived there 
until 1871. when he settled in Hoopeston and opened the first 
store in the place. He was first assistant postmaster in the new 
town, opened the first mail that was received, and mailed the 
first matter that was sent away. He also made the first payment 
of cash on lots which were sold (lots 16 and 69) which he oc- 
cupied on Main street. He was the first master of Star Lodge No. 
709. AF & AM, of Hoopeston. On January 1. 1875. he sold his store 
to his son and the business has since been continued under the 
firm name of David Bedell & Co. 



DALE WALLACE. Hoopeston publisher, was born in LaPorte. 
Indiana on November 5, 1849. Hisparents were John Porter and 
Lydia Ann (Winchell) Wallace. In 1855 his parents moved to 
West Union. Fayette county, Iowa, and the subject of this sketch 
was reared and educated there. He began the printer's trade in 
1863 in the office of the "Fayette County Pioneer." a violent 
copperhead sheet which was published at West Union. This was 
mobbed the same year by a lot of returned soldiers, while he was 
yet working in the office. He next went to Marion. Linn county, 
and obtained a place in the office of the "Marion Register", 
remaining there one year. In 1865 he entered Batlies' Com- 
mercial College and learned telegraphy, graduating in four 
months. He next went to work on the Cedar Falls 'Gazette", and 
was foreman in that office two years: then went to Eldora, 
Hardin county, and was foreman of the "Ledger" one or two 
years. From thence he went to California and Oregon and 
remained two years working at his trade in San Francisco. 
Sacramento. Portland. Salt Lake and Virginia Cifies. When a 
poor boy he conceived a passion for travel, and saved his money 
carefully during the long years of close application to his trade 
to gratify it. He visited every state in the Union, except Maine 
and Texas, and traveled in Montana. Idaho. Utah. Washington 
and Wyomir\g. In 1871 he returned from the Pacific coast to 
Eldora. A large eight-column newspaper. owned by 
stockholders, was being published in that place, and he was 



JOSEPH M. SATTERTHWAIT was another of the newcomers 
cf 1854. He settled on a farm near Rossville in Vermilion County. 
He was the third postmaster of Rossvilic. 

In 1862 he moved into Indiana and settled near Indianapolis, 
where he remained for ten years when he returned to Illinois 
and settled at Hoopeston. where he lived up to the time of his 
death on September 21. 1877. Satterthwait left four daughters, 
all of whom were settled in homes of their own. He lived a strict 
member of the Society of F riends. 



JOHN LEEMON came to this county in 1857. locating on a 444 
acre farm of unimproved land near Mr. Hoopes in the northern 
part of Vermilion County. He lived here alone, improving his 
farm and boarding with Mr. Hoopes. 



GURDON S. HUBBARD was agent for the American Fur 
Company, succeeding Antonin Des Champs in this te rritory in 
1824. AntoninDes Champs had had charge of the interests of the 
company in the trade of the company for about forty years in the 
territory between the Illinois and Wabash rivers. This takes the 
record of trade in this section back to about 1785. or 35 years 
before the coming of the white settler to the location of Ver- 
miion County. Des Champs was in charge of the territory until 
five years after small settlements had been made at the salt 
works, at Brook's Point, at Butler's Point and along the Little 
Vermilion. 

When Hubbard took charge of this territory, he abandoned the 
posts on the Illinois, and no longer carried the trade by water, 
but introduced pack-horses. The trail from Chicago to the salt 
works which he established was called Hubbard "Trace", and 
was followed for many years as the most direct road from 
Chicago to Vincennes. Indiana This Hubbard Trace was the 
foundations of one of the most direct railroads in the state 
connecting Chicago and the Ohio River. 

In 1827 Gurdon S. Hubbard abandoned the posts on the Em- 
harass and Little Wabash, and put up the first frame building 
ever constructed in Vermilion county for a storehouse, which 
became the headquarters for the Indian trade in this part of the 
country and later became Danville. 



ABNER WARNER came to Vermilion County in 1850 and 
herded cattle on the prairies. These he drove across the country 
to Philadelphia markets. Later he located in Vermilion County 
and he died in Rossville in 1888. The two children of this family 
were well known, particularly the elder brother. Charles W. 
Warner. Charles Warner went with his parents from his birth- 
place to near Crawfordsville. Indiana, and went to school 
there. He then went into a prir^ting office in Rossville, after 
which he taught school for a while. When he had /inished his last 
school he went into the office of the Hoopeston Chronicle, which 
at that time was owned by Dale Wallace. There he remained for 
three years. Warner bought the Hoopeston Chronicle in 1882, 
since which time he has been editor and owner of the paper. He 
was appointed, or rather elected, because of the number of 
candidates, postmaster of Hoof>eston in 1889. 



CHARLES WOOLVERTON. Hoopeston farmer and car- 
penter, was bom near Perrysville, Vermifion county. Indiana, 
en the nth of August. 1837. and is a son of Abel and Anna 
(English) Woolverton. one of Grant Township's first pioneer 
settlers. In 1850. his father entered 160 acres of land in Vermilion 
county, Illinois, being the N.E. ]4 section 18. town 23. range 11. 
He soon after bought 160 acres more, and finally augmented the 
area to 400. His family came and occupied the land in 1851. The 
subject of this sketch learned the carpenter's trade before and 
during the war. He enlisted at Bloomington on the 18th of June, 
1862, forthree months. inCo. H. 70th III. Vols.. Col. O.H. Reeves. 



Scrap Metal Dealer and His Legend! 

Soon after the turn of the century (1905), Ruby Yonltelowiti, 20 years old, arrived in Hoopeston from a small 
Lithuanian village to work for his uncle, David Yonkelowiti. 

After his uncle returned to Chicago, Yonkelowiti continued to operate and develop the small scrap metal business 
which they had started. 

For the next 51 years, Ruby contributed much to Hoopeston and it was written that he always "held Hoopeston 
dear to his heart". 

In 1928, his feeling toward his hometown was shown when he donated the second town clock to the city as a symbol 
of his gratitude and affection for Hoopeston. 

Ruby and his wife, Ida, were honored at a dinner given by the city. 
Mrs. Yonkelowiti, who still resides here in 1971, their daughter, Annette, and 
son Martin Young, who has followed his father by operating the business, 
remember the bouquet of roses which was presented to them on that eve- 
ning in 1928. 

Mr. Yonkelowiti was active in the Chamber of Commerce, Lions Club 
as a charter member, Star Lodge 709, AF and AM, Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite Valley of Danville, Ansar Temple of Shrine at Springfield; the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and he served as a board member of 
the City National Bank for 20 years and as a director of Citiien's Savings 
and Loan Assn. for a number of years. 





This view looking northeast from the 100 block of East Main Street shows the original 
town clock building which was destroyed by fire in 1905. It was rebuilt, but burned 
again In 1905, rebuilt a second time and burned a third time in 1947, never to be re- 
built again. 



Hoopeston's first town clock was destroyel by fire in 
1905, the same year Mr. Yonkelowiti arrived in town. It 
was rebuilt, but burned again in 1925 (January 20). 

Ruby had the building rebuilt in 1928 and donated 
a new town clock to the city at a cost of $5,000. 

That clock remained as an attention-getter from that 
time until 1947 (Easter Sunday Morning) when it was des- 
troyed again and never rebuilt. 

A motel and a department store now occupy the 
area where Hoopeston's residents for 42 years synchro- 
nized their watches. 

Perhaps one of the finest compliments ever was pub- 
lished in the Hoopeston Chronicle-Herald during the scrap 
drives of World War II when a person, in a letter to the 
editor, wrote: "For the past week or so we have been haul- 
ing scrap to the scrapyard in Hoopeston. We have sat 
in line with our truck and watched boys with coaster 
wagons loaded with iron get the same courtesy and con- 
sideration as a man with a five-ton load." 



Ruby Yonkelowiti, shown here in the center atop 
the town clock building he rebuilt in 1928 and a 
few days prior to the time he donated the new 
town clock to the City of Hoopeston. The men 
with him are unidentified, but were apparently 
members of the construction crew which installed 
the clock. 




MR. AND MRS. RUBY YONKELOWITZ 

Mr. Yonkelowiti was described as "having a deep un- 
derstanding of human nature, and his motto for life was 
just as he lived, "Always Make Good With a Promise." 



still grov/ing!. 



We Salute 



The years have seen Hoopeston grow and thrive, 
from a prairie town to a cify of 
industrial importance. We're 
happy to have been 
a part of it. 







Compliments of: 

LAWRENCE PARR BIRCH 



HOOPESTON 




Trust the men who know 
/our car inside-out to 
handle gas-ups, check- 
ups in a jiffy, to help 
speed you on your way. 
You'll like our style! 



Visitors Welcome! 

HERMAN'S STANDARD 
SERVICE STATION 

Owned & Operated by Cliff Baldwin 



CITY ENGINEER I "Where Routes I & 9 meet 



Congratulations 1 

You've come 
a long way, 
Hoopeston. 



f 




Compliments of: 

RANKIN STATE BANK 




Rankin, Illinois 



The way it used to be 

IS NOT LIKE IT IS NOW ! ! ! 

When O. P. Chamberlln first opened "Chamberlin's Telephone Exchange on the second floor of 
the Montgomery-Ward Building, a total of 28 subscribers were listed. That was 1895. Two years 
later, 108 subscribers were listed, 40 miles of wire served the community and residents could call 
anytime day or night. That was considered as a most important convenience for a growing Hoopeston. 



I 




The early photo of the "Hello Girls" was taken soon 
after the turn of the century and no doubt brings 
back nnany pleasant memories. On the left is Mrs. 
E. J. Boorde, Mabel Boorde Harris and E. J. Boorde. 
In the wagon are Olive Newburn Boughton, Belle 
Hussey Boburn, Francis Bradley, Rosslyn Boorde, Alice 
Potter Scott, Lucy Potter Yates, Mary Fickle and the 
boy Is a cousin of Rosslyn Boorde. Lineman Albert 
Sims is at right. 

But things are different now. The old switchboards 
are gone and everything is automatic dialing. In a 
few seconds, a subscriber may dial any number in 
the United States of America. 




Little thought Is given to the vast new technical 
knowledge employed in today's communications. This 
fact is accepted as a manner of course. 

As efficient and economical as is today's dialing, 
it is only representative of the things to come. In 
the future, subscribers may expect even greater 
changes and improvements in telephone service. 

Telephoning has come a long way from the days 
of the "Number, pleasel" Our pledge is to continue 
serving Hoopeston with the latest and the best. We're 
here to serve you . . . always. 




EASTERN ILLINOIS TELEPHONE CORP. 
HOOPESTON, ILLINOIS 



Happy 100th Anniversary 

to a Growing HOOPESTON 

Banking has been a part of Hoopeston for 99 great years. We'll strive to merit con- 
fidence for an even brighter future. 




Officers 



McFerren-Chamberlain 

FIRST NATIONAL BANK 

8-1-1872 to 1931 

Hoopeston National Bank 
6-1-1909 to 1931 

City National Bank 

8-1-1933 

And STILL GROWING 



7^e 







Cin NATIONAL BANK 

MEMBER OF FDf^ FEDERAL DEPOSIT 'NSURANCE CORPORATION 



A FULLN 
SERVICE 

VBANK/' 



Roy Boughton 

CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD 

CM. Haworth 

PRESIDENT AND TRUST OFFICER 

Byron Hedgecock 

SR. VICE PRESIDENT AND CASHIER 
ASSISTANT TRUST OFFICER 

Larry D. Oyler 

VICE PRESIDENT 
MGR. INSTALLMENT LOAN DEPT. 

C. Carolyn Evans 

ASSISTANT CASHIER 

Anna L. Stokes 

ASSISTANT CASHIER 

Barbara Fraley 

BOOKKEEPING SUPERVISOR 

Directors 
Roy Boughton 

CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD 

C. M. Haworth 

PRESIDENT AND TRUST OFFICER 

Byron Hedgecock 

SR. VICE PRESIDENT AND CASHIER 
ASSISTANT TRUST OFFICER 

Larry D. Oyler 

VICE PRESIDENT 
MGR. INSTALLMENT LOAN DEPT. 

Lewis Hott 

HOTT LUMBER AND COAL CO. 

Thomas N. Martin 

MGR. CMD-E, FMC CORP. 

Joseph C. Moore H 

ATTORNEY 
DYER, RICHMOND. MOORE AND NELSON 

George N. Petry 

FARMING AND LAM) DEVELOPMENT 

Roberts E. Snively 

PRESIDENT - JOAN OF ARC CO. 

Dale Wallace 

INSURANCE - WALLACE AGENCY 

Martin Young 

SCRAP METAL DEALER 



"BUILDERS" 



OF HOOPESTON 



Grandpa William Silver was the early stone nnason con+racfor of Hoopeston 
before the turn of the century. Hardly a building was erected in which he did nof 
play a part. An early history of Hoopeston, printed in 1897, by William Arter, 
describes Grandpa Silver's activities as follows: 

"Mr. Silver's special line of work is in brick and stone masonry, and the money 
value of his contracts in Hoopeston probably exceeds that of any other contractor in 
the city. There is no contract too small or too large for Mr. Silver. 

"In addition to the many fine brick blocks and residences in this city erected under 
his contracts, he has also done much masonry for the bridges of the north end of the 
county. 

"Against several competitors coming from Chicago, Danville and Lafayette, Mr. 
Silver secured the contract on his own plan, for the new city building now in process 
of erection on the corner of Market and Davis (Seminary) streets in this city." 

Today we carry on Grandpa's traditions of honest work faithfully performed in 
the best workman-like manner. Grandpa would have been amaied indeed, were he 
alive today to see how our work is carried on. Our trucks, cranes, bulldozers, mixing 
plant, and other related equipment were undreamed of before the turn of the century. 
All this modern machinery, however, would be worthless without a dedicated crew of 
men and women who work hard to please our many customers. 

Four generations of Silvers have actually "built" Hoopeston and the fifth genera- 
tion is on the way. 

We are most proud of the fact that we not only have built many buildings in 
Hoopeston, but have contributed of our time and money to the civic and religious 
grovirth of our town. All of our people are interested in Hoopeston because not only 
do we make our living here, but this is our home and we try to do everything to make 
it a better place to enjoy life. 

One of Grandpa's early advertisements concluded "Correspondence and interview 
concerning work is solicited." We don't know how to state it any better. 



SILVER BROS. INQ 




WILLIAM SILVER 




HARRY C. SILVER 




WILLIAM R. SILVER 




HARRY J. SILVER 



IN THE WONDERFUL TOWN OF HOOPESTON 



The Gay Nineties 

Little is known of the Hoopeston Fire Department before 1903. 
Horse drawn equipment was used and anyone with a good team 
of horses automatically was a member of the fire departn^ent. 
Mr. Earl Tyler, the present Fire Chief, states that his father was 
on the department. Mr. Tyler owned a fine team of black horses 
and if the steam fire siren blew while he was hauling coal or the 
'ike. he had to have a good grip on the reins because the team 
n'ou/d take off for the station. Records from 1903 indicate that 
Hoopeston has always been blessed with the best in men 
and equipment. The first motorized equipment appeared about 
1906. Some of the early volunteers were E. N. Dyer. John Bell. 
Archie Munn. Cliff Merritt. Frank Kimberlin. Stark Musson. 
Frank Cook. C. E. Smith, E. Norton. Ralph Park. John Mann. 
Jr., Frank Strayer. The present day Fire Department is housed 
in two stations and the fifteen man force have for their use three 
pumper trucks and one rescue truck. The force is headed by 
Earl Tyler. 

Amusements in the 90's were limited to picnics, fourth of July 
outings and band concerts and horse races at the fairgrounds. 
Entertainment was planned for the children such as sack races, 
pony rides, jumping contests, tug of war. The Hoopeston 
Fairgrounds had many horse races on its splendid half-mile 
track. With the passing of the Hoopeston Fair Association J. S. 
McFerren gave the thirty acres which comprised the Hoopeston 
Fairgrounds to the city of Hoopeston to be used as a city park, 
the only proviso being that it was not to be used for purposes of 
profit. 

In 1904 the Hoopeston Chautauqua built the pavilion in Mc- 
Ferren Park. This huge building could seat more than 2.000 
persons. The Hoopeston Chautauqua Association held a ten-day 
tenting in McFerren Park, usually in the latter part of July and 
into the first part of August. Tents were rented including floors 
and lights by visitors to the affair. The programs featured big 
name speakers and stage shows. 

In 1895 John D. Miller formed a musical group known as 
"Miller's Concert Band." For over eleven years until his death 
in 190S. Miller's Concert Band performed on the Tuesday night 
band concerts held in the downtown section of Hoopeston and 
whenever a musical group was needed. Miller also directed the 
Presbyterian Church Choir for over five years. 

Labor Conditions, 1904 

Labor conditiions in Hoopeston have been made almost 
perfect by the decree forbidding saloons so that this ordinance 
operates not only in allaying strikes but in attaining the 
GREATEST POSSIBLE AMOUNT OF WORK OUT OF A 
GIVEN NUMBER OF EMPLOYES. 

To wit: Hoopeston holds two world's records as regards the 
output of its products: The American Can Company's plant 
turns out more cans than any instutition of its kind in the world- 
in one day reaching the maximum of 600.000. The average is a 
half a million daily. 

It is not necessary to prove that this record could not have 
been attained in another city. Not to go too deeply into the 
sociological question of Hoopeston' s environment, it is enough to 
say that Hoopeston DID IT. did it again and is to-day in 
conquence the tin can champion of the world. 

Again the Sprague Canning Machinery Manufacturing 
Company can and does make more machinery used for canning 
corn than any factory in the world. It is safe to say that 75 per 
cent of the argument which influenced the location of these two 
industries, of all the others, was drawn from the invincible logic 
of "no liquor sold on the premises." 



Feb. 22, 1872: Buffalo Bill was in town coming from Prairie 
Green and he was given a new shirt by one of the local mer- 
chants. The Lafayette & Bloomington Railroad is only 3 miles 
west of town on this date. 

May 30. 1872. work commences on Floral Hill Cemetery with 
the setting of stakes for bounderies. Also a note in the paper that 
the July 4, 1872 celebration was to commence at daybreak. 



Great Opportunities 

Hoopeston was incorporated as a city only 27 years ago. 
Business lots then sold at $125 and $150. Business lots are today 
worth $4000 and upwards. Lately building has been going 
forward at the rate of two hundred residences each year. Men 
have come here with little or no capital, purchased acre 
property, and are now making small fortunes from their sub- 
divisions. And there are still ground floor propositions of this 
kind to be had for the far-seeing ones who are willing to come 
and investigate. 

Hoopeston's geographical situation, both as regards its 
proximity to Chicago and the surrounding argiculture country, 
is all important. It has two trunk lines that put one another at 
right angles, thus giving four outlets, north and south and east 
and west. The Chicago and Eastern Illinois Railroad touches 
Hoopeston exactly ninety-nine miles south of Chicago, and 
seventy miles north of Terre Haute. Ind. The longitudinal line is 
the Lake Erie and Western, which gives an outlet to the east and 
west. The C. & E. I. was built in 1871 and the L. E. & W. the 
following year. Hoopeston is the center of a rich agriculture 
country: it lies well within the corn belt, and the main industries 
are of a nature that require a good agriculture country to 
promote them. Hoopeston is famous the world over for its sugar 
corn. Several thousand acres in the immediate vicinity of 
Hoopeston are corn producing "feeders" for the two canning 
factories. The Illinois Canning Company and the Hoopeston 
Canning Company own some four thousand acres. The presence 
of these two factories is a direct benefit to every farmer ad- 
jacent to Hoopeston. 

Largest Industries (1904) 

Hoopeston's largest industries are the American Can Com- 
pany and the Sprague Canning Machinery Manufacturing 
Company, mentioned before as holding the world's records in 
their respective lines. In addition there are the Hoopeston Horse 
Nail Company, two immense elevators and several mills and 
smaller industries. Altogether Hoopeston's tin bucket brigade 
is fully twelve hundred and fifty strong. 

Hoopeston's wage bill foots up the comfortable sum of $550,000 
annually, an average of $46.u00 per month. $10,500 per week, or 
$1,700 per day. The value of Hoopeston's manufactured products 
is four million dollars annually. In other words each laboring 
man working in Hoopeston is able to produce nearly eight times 
the value of his own wages. 

The destination of Hoopeston's manufactured products is 
limited only by the naiural boundaries of the world. Wherever 
American civilization is Hoopeston's corn goes, wherever 
American civilization is Hoopeston's canning machinery goes: 
wherever American civilization is there are housewives opening 
tin cans of Hoopeston make and preparing dishes of sugar corn 
of Hoopeston manufacture. 

The above is a roughly outlined sketch of the city of Hoopeston 
as it may be viewed any day in the year by any stranger who 
takes the trouble to come to Hoopeston to investigate. It is 
enough, however, to arouse the curiosity of the investor and 
manufacturer. 

First Large Business 

The first business enterprise of any magnitude to be 
established in Hoopeston was the Canning Plant by S. S. McCall 
in the year 1875 two years before Hoopeston was incorporated. 
Stephen S. McCall was a New York man and came west on a 
prospecting trip for a site on which to (ocate a canning factory. 
Arriving in Hoopeston he became very enthused over the 
prospect for the establishment of such a factory in this city. An 
old building that had been used as headquarters for the Snell. 
Taylor, and Mix Construction Company was taken over and 
converted into a factory. In 1878 this business venture was in- 
corporated under the name of the Illinois Canning Company. 



Industry Comes to the Prairie City 



It 'V.1S 93 years ago that Stephen S. McCall of Oneida County, 
New York, came to Vermilion County, Illinois with his dream of 
establishing a sweet corn canning empire in the Mid-West. 

McCall had come West with the thought in mind of finding a 
place where the sweet corn would grow in sufficient quantities to 
warrant establishment of a sweet corn factory. 

McCall was attracted to Grant Township and Hoopeston, 
where just seven years earlier, the town of Hoopeston had 
sprung from the prairie. 

He was so impressed with its possibilities that he started his 
first sweet corn factory here in 1878. This marked the beginning 
of the company that was later to be known as The Illinois 
Canning Co. and now, the Joan of Arc Co. 

Twelve years later, William Moore and James Cunningham 
acquired the canning firm (1890) and operated it until 1910 when 
Cunningham was killed in an auto accident in Montana. At that 
time, it was re-organized as a publicly-held corporation and 
Moore served as president until he died in 1921. 

In 1882, J. S. McFerren, A. T. Catherwood and A. H. Trego, 
other early comers to the growing community, joined to form 
the Hoopeston Canning Co. as a corporation and the young city 
had two sweet corn canning industries. Buildings were erected 
for that firm in 1886. 

Several years later that firm was to be known as Stokely-Van 
Camp Co., Inc., with headquarters in Indianapolis. 

FMC Corp. as we know it today, was established in 1885 by 
Daniel Trench, a backer of promising inventions, who provided 
the support for a corn cutter invented by Welcome Sprague. 
Purpose of the business here was to handle canning machinery 
and supplies. Sprague and Trench got together in 1892 and 
changed the firm to the Sprague Manufacturing Co. and in 1904 
was named the Sprague Canning Machinery Company. 

The company was later known as Sprague-Sells after William 
H. Sells invented a field corn husker using iron rollers in New 
York. 

It has since been known as Food Machinery Corp. and FMC 
Corp. 

Union Can Company opened at 324 W. Main on March 23, 1894 
and became a part of American Can Co. to manufacture cans 
and supply canners. 

American Can has continued to be a key industry in Hoopeston 
through its 77 year history. 

Other industries in 1971 include R. A. Scranton Industires 
which makes component parts for organs and is preparing 
space in which to build complete organ units, including consoles. 

Woodward-Schumacher Electric Corp., formerly Crest 
Transformer Corp. is in the electronics field, making trans- 
formers, battery chargers and other electric products. 



John Deere Vermilion Malleable Iron Works, which is num- 
bered among "key" industries, is in the business of making 
parts for Deere and Co. in its foundry in northwest Hoopeston. 
The Hoopeston Malleable was founded in 1907, but went out of 
business in 1908 and lay idle until 1912 when it was re-opened by 
its present owners. 

Joseph A. Park, who participated in the first corn pack ever in 
Hoopeston, described that packing operation in 1878. Here is his 
description: 




AMERICAN CAN COMPANY 





HOOPESTON CANNING CO. 




JOHN DEERE MALLEABLE IRON WORKS 



"At harvest time, the sweet corn was gathered in bushel 
baskets, dumped very carefully in to the wagons and hauled 
from field to factory. At the cannery, the ears were husked by 
hand and the company issued tokens for each bushel handled by 
workers. Tokens were redeemed weekly, but at the same time. 
Were accepted by the town's merchants for food and other 
merchandise in lieu of cash. 

After hand-husking, hand-cutting and pre-heating operations, 
the corn was poured into pans and the handmade cans were 
filled by hand-spooning, then weighed, carefully wiped clean 
and the lids applied. Men with soldering irons completed the 
sealing operations and the cans were hoisted into the cooker. 
After removal from the cooker, the cans were dumped on a 
cooling floor and left overnight. Next morning, each can was 
tested by striking one end on the floor. If the can did not bulge, 
it went to the labeling department, otherwise thrown out." 

Most of the hand operations Park described are now done by 
automatic canning machinery, not only making the work at 
factories more pleasant, but prices lower at the stores. Canning 
has come a long way and has been greatly responsible for 
Hoopeston's growth. 




■ ■ '»^ 

-J- ^■- >.*' -"^^ ■^. "' 



Corn pickers harvesting sweet corn near Hoopeston, 1967. 



«#«• 










■'•* 



*««i* 




SPRAGUE CANNING MACHINERY CO. 






t>« 



9 



'■■****^.. ^ 



ILLINOIS CANNING CO. 




May we say: 

Best Wishes from | Happy Centennial ! 

The Merry Circle Club^ '" Hoopeston 



Organized July, 1910 in Ihe Plainview neighborhood 
southwest of Hoopeston. 

Mrs. James (Fannie) Tllton, realizing the need of 
social life for farm women, held the first meeting in 
her home with 8 ladies present. OBJECT: To promote 
talent and sociability. 

Mrs. Date (Mary Tilton) Houmes was first secretary 
and is the only living charter member. Merry Circle 
Club is still active in its 61st year. 

PRESENT OFFICERS ARE: Susie Morts, president; 
Elva Peterson, vice president; Helen Bennett, secretary; 
Ann Clouse, treasurer; Mildred Cadle, reporter. 

Meetings held every third 
Thursday of each month. 




24-HOUR AMBULANCE SERVICE 

CHRISMAN 

FUNERAL HOME 



508 N. CHICAGO 



ROSSVILLE, ILL. 



TEL. 748-6555 



Happy Centennial to 



•^ 99 



The "Holy City 

These ARE happy 

times. . .a time 
to join in glad 

celebrating. . . . 
a SPECIAL time 
for WORSHIP. 

Growth Is HIS reward from mankind. Since 
we were organized in 1873, we've worked for a 
Spiritual City. 

FIRST CHRISTIAN CHURCH 

502 E. MAIN 
HOOPESTON, ILL. 



There have been many, but now. 

Another Milestone! 




Hoopeston's Fighting 
men have served her 
well through many 
international conflicts. 

On this, our 1 00th year, 
let us "re-group" and 
strive for better things 
as a pledge to those 
who died. 




Buddy Egnew 
Post 4826 

VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS 
AND AUXILIARY 

HOOPESTON. ILLINOIS 



Centennial Sponsors 



GASLITE RESTAURANT 

Route 1 Dixie Highway 
Hoopeston, 111. 
Ph. 283-7411 



LYLE ATCHINSON 

646 E. Honeywell 
Hoopeston, 111. 
Phone 283-7325 



INSURANCE CULBERT THE FLORIST 

702 W. Main 

283-5578 

"Flowers by Molly" 



GLENN JUDY BARBER SHOP 

204 S. Mafket St. 
Hoopeston, 111. 



ESTATE CLEANERS 

Superior Cleaning & Repairs 
113 E. Main 



FLO'S CHILDREN'S WEAR 

111 E. Main 
Hoopeston, 111. 



COAST TO COAST HARDWARE 

Don Tableman, owner 
218 E. Main 
283-5912 



BURTON MOTOR SALES 

701 W. Main 
Tel. 283-5131 
"Dodge, Plymouth, Chrysler" 



ARLYN DAIN — WESTERN & 
SOUTHERN INS. AGENT 

421 W. Maple 

Hoopeston 

283-6222 



LANIE'S BARBER SHOP 
220 S. Bank 
Hoopeston, 111. 



BLOYD'S SUPERMARKET 

Home of Miracle Prices 
Open 7 Days A Week 



MARY HARTWELL 
CATHERWOOD CLUB 
Our 75th Year 



ARNOLD OFFICE SUPPLIES 

107 E. Main 
Hoopeston, 111. 



PRAIRIE GREEN CHURCH OF CHRIST 
R. R. 3, 
Hoopeston, 111. 



MONTGOMERY WARD 

Langley's Catalog Agency 
105 E. Main St. 



HOOPESTON MONUMENT WORKS 
Ken Parkinson, Owner 
916 West Main St. 
Hoopeston, 111. 
Telephone: 283-7116 



VERNON F. TERRY REALTY E. B. COLLINS CO. 

213 S. Market 712 W. Main St. 

Tel. 283-5174 Wholesale, Garage Equip., Auto 

"Our success is built on referrals and Supplies, Parts, Machine Shop 
action." Tel. 283-5171 



AMERICAN PLAYGROUND DEVICE 
CO. 

Nahma, Michigan 

(Service Center, Anderson, Ind.) 



DALE & JERRY'S BARBER SHOP 

Dixie Highway 
Hoopeston, 111. 
Phone 283-6216 



GALLOWAY MACHINE COMPANY 
Richard Norton, Owner 
Machine Shop - Welding - 
Flame Cutting 



RANDY'S BODY SHOP 
Dice Addition 
24-Hour Wrecker Service 
Tel. 283-5988 or 5614 



GRITTON'S MARATHON SERVICE 

Car, Truck & Tractor 

Electrical Repairing 

2nd Ave. & Main St. 

Phone 283-7620 

Hoopeston, Illinois 60942 



HALL'S SHELL SERVICE 
"Service Is Our Business" 
Tires - Batteries - Accessories 
Phone 283-7087 
109 W. Main St. 



FIRST CHURCH OF GOD 

E. Orange Street 
Hoopeston, Illinois 



GOODWIN'S APPLIANCE 
Admiral, Frigidaire 
Rte. 9 at 3rd Ave. 
Phone 283-6421 



OUNKIN INN 

Don & Judy Staley, Owners 

114 E. Main 



BUSINESS & PROFESSIONAL 
WOMEN'S CLUB 
Hoopeston, Illinois 



DALE KAUFMANN 

Country Companys Insurance 
704 South 5th Street 
Hoopeston, 111. 
Ph. 283-6011 



DR. CARL S. 

Optometrist 
109 E. Main 



PARTAIN 



Centennial Sponsors 



A.J. NELSON'S 
LORRAINE THEATER 
Air Conditioned 
324 E. Main 
Tel. 283-5311 



BARBARA STANDISH CHAPTER 

Daughters of the American 
Revolution, Hoopeston 



MANHATTAN COCKTAIL LOUNGE 

George & Katherine Bobis 
104 N. Market 
283-6131 
"Package Goods" 



YERGLER'S JEWELRY 
KEEPSAKE 

Registered Diamond Rings 

314 E. Main 

283-6712 



JOE HAGGERTY CHEVROLET-OLDS 

Carter Urich, Salesman 
Sam Barton, Sales & Service 
208 N. Market 
283-6648 



HARRY L. JOHNSON & SON, 
CONTRACTORS, 

911 E. Main 
Hoopeston 
Phone 283-7324 



MODEL FINANCE CO. 
209 S. Market 
Tel. 283-6221 



SWEET CORN CAPITAL 
COLOR SHOOTERS 

Hoopeston, 111. 



WOMEN OF THE MOOSE 

Chapter No. 49 
Hoopeston, 111. 



HAROLD E. COX — DBA 
HOOPESTON INSURANCE AGENCY 

104 N. Market 
283-5176 



THRASHER'S SHOE STORE 

Dan Thrasher, owner 
211 E. Main 
283-5666 



HERB WOLTER'S 

215 S. 1st Ave. 
Phone 283-5444 
Hoopeston, Illinois 



HATCHERY 



BILL DeWITT, 

901 E. Main 
Tel. 283-6747 



AUCTIONEER 



CULLIGAN DANVILLE WATER 
CONDITIONING, INC. 
(William A. Anaya, President) 



DODSON SEED STORE 

204 W. Main 
Danville, 111. 



CYANAMID FARM SUPPLY 
Wellington, Illinois 



McCONNELL GROCERY 
East Lynn, El. 



SINGLETON GRAIN CO. 

East Lynn, 111. 



CENTRAL STEEL & WIRE CO. 

3000 West 51st St. 
Chicago, Illinois 60632 



OLDE TOWNE HALL ANTIQUES 

(The Lockharts) 
Wellington, Illinois 



ELECTRIC MOTOR SHOP 

3633 N. Vermilion St. 
Danville, 111. 



BAKER'S APPAREL 

208 E. Main 
Tel. 283-6148 



McMAHON DISTRIBUTORS, LTD. 

1304 N. McKinley 
Champaign, Illinois 



VOYLES CONSTRUCTION CO. 

Conservation & Excavation 
WeUington, 111. 



NAVY BRAND 
MANUFACTURING CO. 
1555 Salzman 
St. Louis, Mo. 



HOWARD THOMAS GRAVEL CO. 
Washed Sand and Gravel — 
Excavating 
Paxton, 111. 



FRONVILLE JEWELERS 

O.E. Fronville, owner 
209 E. Main 
283-6813 



WORLEY BARBER AND BEAUTY SHOP 

Sherm and Pauline Worley 
421 E. Seminary, Hoopeston 
Tel. 283-6017 



G & S SIGN CO. 

115y2 E. Jones St. 

Milford, Illinois 

"Custom Made Plexiglass Signs" 



GOSS' HOME BAKERY 

308 E. Main 

Phone 283-5621 

"Home of Fine Pastry" 



HOOPESTON ROTARY CLUB 



KELLY JANE McGEE 



MIDWEST SUPPLY COMPANY 



The Hoopeston Area Centennial Corporation, Inc. 
of Hoopeston, Illinois 

PROUDLY PRESENTS 

"HOOPESTON'S lOOTH YEAR" 

(187M971) 

DIRECTOR — Kevin McCarthy; a John B. Rogers Co. Production. 

GLENN BRASEL FIELD, HOOPESTON HIGH SCHOOL 

Pre-Show, 8 p.m. Performance, 9 p.m. 

July 20-24, 1971 



CASTING by Diane Summers. 

PROPERTIES by Karyl Gammon and the Sigma Alpha 

Sorority. 

SET CONSTRUCTION by Harry Silver and Kenny Dazey. 

WARDROBE SUPERVISION, Anita Clements and Jani 

Clements 

HISTORICAL DATA by Jack Fisher. 

Hoopeston's 100th Year is based on historical outline. 
Chronology of incidents, costuming and characters may have 
been changed to meet staging requirements. Dialogue situations 
and characters have been created to augment historical data 
and to increase dramatic effect of the production. 

All rights are reserved and no portion of this script may be used 
without the consent of the vi/riter, producer, director and the 
John B. Rogers Co. 

THE PROLOGUE: "Happy Birthday" (Presentation of Queen 
and Court) 

OVERTURE: "Space Odessey 2001" 

EPISODE ONE: Reflections of the Indian! 
Scene One: Indian Speaks 
Scene Two: Ceremonial War Dance 

EPISODE TWO: "Hoopeston Heritage" 
Scene One: Thomas Hoopes Speaks 
Scene Two: Barn-Raising 
Scene Three: Surveying 
Scene Four: Racing at Park 

EPISODE THREE: "Heritage of Our Faith" 
Scene One: The Holy City 
Scene Two: The First Service 
Scene Three: The Human Cross 



EPISODE FOUR: "Early School Days" 
Scene One: First School 
School Two: Modern Schools 

EPISODE FIVE: "Antebellum Years" 
Scene One: Hoopeston Hospitality 
Scene Two: Strife Over the "Word" 
Scene Three: Civil War 
Scene Four: Gettysburg Address 

EPISODE SIX: "The Good Old Days" 
Scene One: The Gay Nineties 
Scene Two: Barbershop Quartet 
Scene Three: July 4th Celebration 
Scene Four: Beauty Contest of '91 
Scene Five: The Chase 

EPISODE SEVEN: "The 20th Century, Flicks, Flappers and 
Flivvers" 

Scene One: Going to War 

Scene Two: World War I Battle 

Scene Three: Armistice Day 

Scene Four: Roaring 20's 

Scene Five: The Charleston 

EPISODE EIGHT: "The Depression" 
Scene One: The WPA 
Scene Two: Pearl Harbor 
Scene Three: Hitler and World War II 

EPISODE NINE: "Post Rock to Moon Rock" 
Scene One: The Future 

EPILOGUE: "A Salute to Hoopeston" 
Scene One: Presentation of Cast 
Scene Two: I Am an American 
Scene Three: "Star Spangled Banner" 



"Hoopeston's 100th Year" Cast Members 



PROLOGUE 

GIRL SCOUTS AND BROWNIES: Le Ann Peterson, Barbara 
Fouse, Becky Carter, Kim Blalock, Kristine Knuth, Maralee 
Siville, Kathy Ritter, Darlene Knapp, Roxanna Harviston, Kim 
Baker, Cathy Baum, Carolgene Baum, Teri Cox, Kim Snively, 
Cindy Aleshire, Debbie Cain. 

BOY SCOUTS AND CUB SCOUTS: Mark Holt, Scott Holt, Brent 
Clements, Bob Witty, Curtis Page, Bryan Clements, Herbie 
Shoufler, Brian Ritter, Jerry Matthews, Craige Page. 

MAJORETTES: Tammy Clements, Trudy Thompson, 
Stephanie Whiteman, Diane Horridge, Lisa Bitto, Lynn Fer- 
dinand, Jo Ellen Ferdinand, Barbara Bretts, Cheryl Wallace, 
Stephanie Matthews, Kim Shore, Angela Hodge, Sandy Crab- 
tree, Cheryl Horridge. 

HORSEBACK RIDERS: Ray Eells, Ralph Bertram, Jack 
Smock, Don Roy, Roger Knapp, Layden girls. Bob Lust, K.L. 
Cain. 

COLOR GUARDS: Legion - Ron Schwartz, Earl "Dusty" 
Cowan, Glenn Thompson, Rick Tovey, Don Miles, Ron Lewis, 
Keith Snively, Chuck Whiteman. VFW - Jerry Eells, Jerry 
Morgeson, Ernie Trent, Jim Goodrum, Ron Goodrum, Butch 
Moore, Les Roberts, Lloyd Brown, Mike Lawson. 



EPISODE NO. 2 — HOOPESTON'S HERITAGE 

PIONEER PEOPLE: George Blalock, Judy Blalock, Sandra 
Dee Blalock, Laura Lee Blalock, Kim Blalock, Raymond Steele, 
Bernice Steele, Jim Richards, Jeanne Richards, Chris 
Richards, Kelly Richards, Byron Yanders, Carol Yanders, 
Rusty Yanders, Dale-lee Yanders, Roy Allison, Blanche Allison, 
Odell Crabtree, Delores Crabtree, Tim Crabtree, Delia Crab- 
tree, Cliffy Crabtree, Bus Reed, John Reed, Charles Johnson, 
Jeanne Johnson, Jack Johnson, Doris Silver, Kathie Silver, Joe 
Coon, Cheri Coon, Robyn Coon, Phyllis Coon, Karen Carpenter, 
Alvin Riffel, Norma Riffel, Betty Summers, Judy Summers, 
Dianne Summers, Marjorie Siville, Maralee Siville, Steve 
Unger, Sue Unger, Marilyn Owen, Sharon Owen, Steve Owen, 
Wilma Ritter, Kathy Ritter, Vickie Dunavan, Marta Dunavan, 
Phiama Morgan, Quanee Morgan, Elmer Hix, Mabel Hix, 
Beverly Jerome, Jack Silver, Mona Silver, Barb Shuler, Evelyn 
Cauble, Sarge York, Leona York, Mary Hoaks, Elsie Forshier, 
Frances Boose, Karen Weger, Rosa Potts, Ada Gooden, Ann 
Weber, Marita Webb, Marge Carter, Venetia Lane, Roberta 
Wood, Betty Stone, Naomi Alkire, Linda Weaks, Larry 
Longfellow, George Lopez, Ed Watson, Walter Evans, Lillie 
McBride, Charlotte Peterson, Marie German. 



EPISODE NO. 3 — HERITAGE OF OUR FAITH — 
CHURCH PEOPLE 



EPISODE NO. 1 



INDIANS 



INDIAN DANCERS: Shelly Ault, Cathy Bird, Connie Bird, 
Nancy Brougher, Julie Irvin, Leigh Johnson, Linda Johnson, 
Sandy Garrison, Princess, Sandi Garner, Jeannie Law, Becky 
Milton, April Meador, Linda Pocialik, Mary Kay Pocialik, 
Kathy Rigsby, Caria Peterson, Kathy Sheehan, Toni Sinclair, 
Julie York, Teri York, Scott Peterson. 

INDIAN BRAVES: Scott Peterson, Jeff Kriebs, Vaughn Cox, 
Kenneth Burt, Dennis Kriebs, Don Underwood, Paul Peterson, 
Jim Gummere, Keith Burt, Mike Forshier. 

INDIAN SQUAWS: Judy Davis, Mary Mclntyre, Marianne 
Boyer. 

INDIAN CHILDREN: Mike Boyer, Lori Blackwell, David 
Thorn, Becky Clayburn. 



CHURCH PEOPLE: Rev. Walter Evans, Wilma Ritter, Kathy 
Ritter, Jack Silver, Mona Silver, Mark Silver, Marlin Silver, 
Marty Silver, Monte Silver, Norma Riffel, Doris Silver, Kathie 
Silver, Mickie Brooks, CarIa Peterson, Mickie Brooks, Vickie 
Dunavan, Roberta Wood, Venetia Lane, Marita Webb, Odell 
Crabtree, Delores Crabtree, Delia Crabtree, Tim Crabtree, 
Cliffy Crabtree, Phronie Harris, Esther Brewington, Marjorie 
Siville, Maralee Siville, Karen Weger, Juanita Peterson, 
Raymond Steele, Bernice Steele, Lillie McBride, Cheri Coon, 
Joe Coon, Jim Richards, Jeannie Richards, Chris Richards, 
George Blalock, Judy Blalock, Kim Blalock, Steve Anderson, 
Roy Allison, Blanche Allison, Raymond Steele, Bernice Steele, 
Bus Reed, John Reed, Hilda Reed, Dale-lee Yanders, Marilyn 
Owen, Sharon Owen, Steve Owen, Cindy Owen, Betty Summers, 
Judy Summers, Dianne Summers, Mabel Hix, Beverly Jerome, 
Phiama Morgan, Quanee Morgan, Rosa Potts, Ann Weber, 
Marie German, Naomi Alkire, Linda Weaks, Grace Riley, Ada 
Gooden, Mae Smock, Hazel Simpson, Sarge York, Leona York, 
Frances Boose, Karen Carpenter, Betty Stone, Charlotte 
Peterson, Beverly Wallace, Marg Shoufler, Marsha Shoufler, 
Herbie Shoufler. 



i i 



Hoopeston's 100th Year" Cast Members 



EPISODE NO. 4 — EARLY SCHOOL DAYS 

SCHOOL CHILDREN: Kathy RItter, Becky Carter, Quanee 
Morgan, Karen Weger, Judy Summers, Joanne Harris, Ann 
Singleton, Cathy Baum, Carolgene Baum, Brian Ritter, Scott 
Holt, Mark Holt, Tammy Huber, Kim Blalock, Candy Huber, 
Susan Holt, Mark Crawford, Steve Long, Brent Clements, Le 
Ann Peterson, Misty Morgeson, Kim Nelson, Cassie Nelson, 
Gina Clements, Kelly Reagan, Tony Reagan, Roger Conrad, 
Cattiy Roark, Wllma Ritter, Teactier. 

PERFECT YOUNG LADIES: Sandy Eells, Teri York, Renee 
Benjamin, Stielly Ault, Cindy Ault, Susie Ford, Barb Shuler, Sue 
Unger, Paula Peterson, Juanita Peterson, Teacher. 



LIFEGUARDS: Bruce Hoagland, Larry Kincade and Sarge 
York. 



GAY 90'S PEOPLE: Hazel Simpson, Chris Richards, Vickie 
Dunavan, Marg Shoufler, Herbie Shoufler, Marsha Shoufler and 
Mike Good. 



EPISODE N0.7- FLICKS, FLAPPERS AND FLIVVERS 

GANGSTERS: Larry Vance, Jerry Robertson, Bruce Hoagland, 
Bill Warner, Keith Roark, Rick Boyden and Dennis Jerome. 



EPISODE NO.S- ANTEBELLUM YEARS 

OLD FASHIONED PEOPLE: Rick Burtis, Beverly Jerome, 
Leon Poison, Dela Crabtree, Tim Crabtree, Cliffy Crabtree, 
Odell Crabtree, Delores Crabtree, Debbie Siefert, Judy Blalock, 
Kim Blalock, George Blalock, Sandra Dee Blalock, Laura Lee 
Blalock, Jim Richards, Jeanne Richards, Leona York, Jack 
Silver, Mona Silver, Doris Silver, Kathy Silver, Raymond 
Steele, Bernlce Steele, Bus Reed, Hilda Reed, Glen Brasel, Judy 
Summers, Betty Summers, Hazel Simpson, Betty Stone, 
Elizabeth Romine, Chris Romine, Anne Romine, Bob Romlne, 
Linda Weaks, Naomi Alkire, Karen Carpenter, Norene Hannie, 
Evelyn Cauble, Elsie Forshier, Mary Haoks, Lucy Theobald, 
Mike Good, Betty Good, Doris Good, Byron Yanders, Dale-lee 
Yanders, Rusty Yanders, Dianne Summers, Bobby Forshier, 
Timmy Carter, Alvin Riffel, Norma Riffel, Marg Shoufler, 
Marsha Shoufler, Herbie Shoufler, Chris Richards, Kelly 
Richards, Randy Underwood, Robert G. Brown and Mike 
Brown. 



CHARLESTON DANCERS: Larry Kincade, Sharon Kincade, 
Ina Mae Mayer, Harry Mayer, Earl Lackey, Jean Lackey, Art 
Warner, Jeanne Warner, Mary Hale, Tom Holt, Marianne 
Boyer, Linda Gaffney, Mickie Brooks, Vickie Ounavan, Jim 
Richards, Dianne Summers, Barbara Shuler, Sue Unger, John 
Block, Randy Garner, Marilyn Owen, Steve Unger and Debbie 
McBride. 

RUDY VALENTINO: Sarge York. 

THEOA BARRA: Barb Forshier. 

IRATE HUSBAND: Robert Weaks. 



PROPS — THETA EPSILON SORORITY 
Mrs. Karyl Gammon, Mrs. Sarah Ault, Mrs. Linda Barber, 
Mrs. Carol Barber, Mrs. Sharon Blackwell, Mrs. Anne Coffman; 
Mrs. Charlotte Goldsbery; Mrs. Joyce Harden, Mrs. Sherill 
Hinkle, Mrs. Diane Jones, Mrs. Barbara Lewis and Mrs. Sandy 
Schuler. 



EPISODE NO. 6 - GAY 90'S 

BATHING BEAUTIES: Linda Pocialik, Nancy 
Jeanne Richards, Jeannie Law and April Meador. 



Brougher, 



OTHERS HELPING 
Mrs. Virginia Sheppard, Mrs. Mary Kay Swim, Mr. Bort 
Livingston, Ron Carter and W.A. Read. 



Queen Candidates 



MARY ATCHISON 
KATHY BARKER 
PHYLIS BENJAMIN 
RENEE BENJAMIN 
MICKEY BROOKS 
KATHY BUTTERWORTH 
SALLIE BUTZOW 
NANCY CARVER 
MARY CRAVEN 
ELLEN DOBKINS 
KATHY ERICKSON 
VICKIE GADDIS 
LINDA GAFFNEY 



SARA GROVE 
DEBBIE HALL 
ANN HALLSTROM 
PAULINE HARTMAN 
DEBORA JOHNSON 
SHIRLEY NEAL 
LINDA NOSLER 
VIRGINIA POWELL 
JULIE PRATT 
JEANNE RICHARDS 
KAY ROSBORG 
MARY LOU SNIVELY 
PEGGY VAILES 



RHONDA VOGEL 
SANDRA VOGEL 
LINDA WARF 
SHIELA WISE 
STARNA WISE 
CATHY ZIEGLER 
CAROLINE FLEENOR 
LULU WEAKS 
JILL MITCHELL 
JUDY BROCKWAY 
VICKIE KIETZMANN 
CINDY FORSHIER 




EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 
Bill Burtis, Slim Collier, Charlotte Russell, Bill McGee, Dale Brown, "Pepper 
Jim Miller, Paul Tolch, Marge Wallace, Sarah Ault, Larry Coon, Earl 
Mills, Dale Preston, Lee Martin, Tate Duley. 



Martin, Clyde Watson, 
Snnock. Not present: Tom 





Honorary President 
CHARLES F. DYER 



ADVISORY BOARD 

Joe Moore, Charlotte Russell, Earl Smock 

Not present: Tom Mills and Byron Hedgecock 




Mayor and General Chairman 
EARL F. SMOCK 



Centennial Patrons 



TUESDAY NIGHT — JULY 20TH 

Tom and Martha Merrift 

Floyd Sfine 

Iris and Jack Murphy 

Vickie J. Kietzmann 

Robert W. Murphy 

Father R.J. Boyle 

Ralph Lytle 

James H. Murphy 

Jay E. Hartz 

Bud Oyer 

Mr. J.W. Mosser 

Don B. Pharmacy, Inc. 

Mr. and Mrs. Arnold Schuff 

Bob Leverenz 

Clifford Bury 

Iroquois County Title and Trust Co. 

Ernest Segal 

George R. Haupt 

Mrs. Zelda Gustine 

Mr. and Mrs. Harold Forshier 

Mr. and Mrs. Frank Willis 

The Whitehall 

Mr. and Mrs. Frank M. Holmes 

Dick Schroer 

Joe Jollief 

Eugene E. Casey 

WEDNESDAY — JULY 21ST 

Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Stipp 

Dr. and Mrs. James McCann 

Mrs. June Hoopes 

Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Hartman 

Brian Meador 

Jim Spence 

Lee D. Featherstone 

Dean Burns 

Ditech Inc. 

Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Martin 

Mr. L.M. Goodyear 

Doug and David Hartman 

Bob Molley 

E.E. Braun 

Mr. and Mrs. Ron DeVore 

Mr. and Mrs. Jack Petersen and Family 

Mr. and Mrs. Donald R. Bury 

Charles O'Neal 

Bill Peters 

Ed Bury 

Gerald Vrshek 

Bill Eversole 



Don R. Mammett 

John Carter 

John Babeck 

L.E. Gibson 

Davis City Drug Store 

Dix Mutual County Fire Insurance Co. 

Marty K 

Mr. John Norman 

James Gooden 

Mrs. Clark Blankinship 

Conlin's Dress Shop 

James Miller 



THURSDAY — JULY 22ND 

Mr. and Mrs. Edgar Potts 

Mr. and Mrs. John H. Cowan 

Mr. and Mrs. John R. Benjamin 

Robert J. Clark 

Mrs. Donald A. Johnson 

Roger Toohey 

Mr. and Mrs. Herman W. Cox 

James W. Brandt 

Glen Brock 

The Wellington State Bank 

Illinois Lumber, Grain and Coal Co. 

Charles M. Haworth 

Martin Bates 

John E. Pound 

Earl Prusa 

Alexander Lumber Co. 

R & H Hardware 

Dr. and Mrs. J.L. Knight 

American Can Co. 

Mr. and Mrs. Roberts E. Snively 

Watseka Building and Loan Assn. 

E.P. Barrick, Jr. i 

Mr. and Mrs. Ora J. Baer 

Peoples Loan Co. 

Bauer Clothing 

Steiner Furniture Co. 

Harris Insurance Co. 

Knapp and Steiner TruValue Hardware 

Cynthia Kietzmann 

Mr. and Mrs. George Kietzmann 

Mr. and Mrs. William Regan 

Zetta Boren 

Mr. Earl Goodwine 

Mrs. Harriett Burger 



Centennial Patrons 



FRIDAY — JULY 23RD 

Mrs. H.F. Jones 

Mrs. Robert Shuler 

Rev. Raymond J. Boyle 

Jack Ray 

Glen T. Smith, Jr. 

Tom Mills 

William E. Nelson 

Mr. and Mrs. Harold Hodge 

Hoopeston Plumbing & Heating, Inc. 

Aruestinig Plumbing & Heating 

Elizabeth Thomas — Downtown Motel 

Iroquois County Daily Times 

C.L. Johnson Fertilizer 

Willia S. Hari 

MR. Hallstrom 

Charles Freimann 

Gladys M. Evans 

Mrs. W.E. Stuebe 

Betty McConnel 

Citizen's State Bank 

Loretta's 

Keith Smith 

Mrs. Paul Keene 

Robert L. Wallace 

Mr. and Mrs. Carl Collier 

John E. Glenn 

The First National Bank of Rossville 

Castle's Business Equip. Co. 

Fathar Larry Ansley 

Frances & James K. Bell II 

Wallace Gress 

Mr. and Mrs. Dale Wallace II 

Miss Charlotte Ann Russell 

Mrs. Josephine B. Russell 

Mrs. Eva Odie 

Mr. Paul T. Manion 

Mr. and Mrs. John Glenn 

Berry Bearing Co. 

Robert E. Thornburg 

R.J. Mathews 

Martin Due 

Gene Vielinski 

Dane Goodman 

Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Malady 

SATURDAY — JULY 24TH 
Gene Breitharth 
Mike Heath 
John McCullough 
Martin D. Johnson 
Richard E. June 



Mr. and Mrs. Herb Shoufler 

Elston Klocke 

Troy, Vera, Sherri and Debbi Bloyd 

Schumacher Hardware 

MiHord Skelgas Service & Furniture 

David's 

Mr. and Mrs. James Forshier 

Harry Scharlach 

Charles Aire 

Scott W. Payne 

Richard A. Martin 

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Shanks 

Deutsch Brothers 

Richard S. Forshier 

James H. Ellis 

Roy N. Vailes 

Kent Weber 

Ed Jones 

W.E. Fitch 

Howard Dayton 

Burns A. Robertson 

John Malady 

Bob Meiers 

Zola McCord 

Alice Herman 

Dennis Neal 

Lavera's Dress Shop 

Reeves Bros. Construction Co. 

Zack Taylor 

George Kalhust 

Depke Welding Supp. Inc. 

Harry Smith 

Joe Lamy 

Debbie Vailes 

Faulstitch Printing 

Ben Sykes 

CIssna Park State Bank 

Charles Lee 

Howard Dayton 

Mr. and Mrs. A.C. Kurtz 

Sheila Eberly 

Harold Chenillet 

Curt Pedden 

A'Neat Beauty Salon 

Ray Smith's Office Products, Inc. 

M.W. Ward 

Mayor Earl F. and Mae Smock 

Sheridan's 

Bill Read Pontiac 

Joe Haggerty Chevrolet 

Dr. G.R. Callahan 

Dale Preston Jr. 

Harold Umbanhowar 



Queens' Committee Prize Awards Donors 



A8.W Root Beer Stand 

Adier's 

American Can Co. 

American Legion Auxiliary 

American Legion Post 384 

American Playground Equip Co. 

Arnold's Office Supplies 

O.J. Baer Co. 

Baker's Apparel 

Beaty's Gulf 

Bell Auto Supply 

Bob's Place 

Cade Oil Co. 

Carley Advertising Spec. 

Carolynn's Beauty Shop 

Charlene's Beauty Shop 

Christian Church Women's Assn. 

City National Bank 

C.J.'s Pump 

Coast to Coast Hardware 

Compton's Garage 

Corner Dress Shop 

Cox Brothers Equip. Co. 

Cox Insurance Agency 

Crescent Paper Co. 

H.W. Cultra, Nursery 

Citizen's Savings and Loan Assn. 

The Darb 

Davis Heating and Sheet Metal 

Don B Pharmacy 

W.T. Duley Insurance 

E.B. Collins Co. 

E & H Truck Brokers 

Elliott Jewelers 

FMC Corp. 

Pat Farrell Beauty Shop 

Ferdinand Radio & TV 

Forshier Realty 

Franklin Fibre Lamtex Corp. 

Frey Tire Co. 

Fronville Jewelers 

Gaddis Gulf 

Gary's Men's and Boys Wear 

Gaslite Restaurant 

Golden Life Insurance Co. 

GrabltHere Store 

Goss' Bakery 

Gritton Marathon 

Grant-Ross Credit Union 

The "Guys" Denim Flare Jeans 

Helen Griner Beauty Salon 

Haggerty Chevrolet-Olds 

Hinkle Barber Shop 

Hoopeston Chamber of Commerce 

Hoopeston Fertilizer Co. 

Hoopeston IGA Foodliner 

Hoopeston Monument Co. 

Hoopeston Plumbing and Heating 

Hott Lumber and Coal Co. 



Iroquois Federal Savings and Loan 

John Deere Vermilion Works 

Javis Supply Co. 

Judy Barber Shop 

Kankakee Distributing Co. 

Harry Karstens (Reynolds Aluminum) 

Dale Kaufmann Insurance 

Keek's Trend House 

Charles Knapp, Auctioneer 

Mr. L's 

Shirley Lawson Beauty Shop 

Venetia Lane Beauty Shop 

Larson's Men's Wear 

Lions Club 

Longfellow Agency 

Nell Longfellow Beauty Shop 

Loyal Order of Moose 

Main Street Inn 

Ann Martin Beauty Shop 

Merle Norman Cosmetics by Fleta 

Tom Merritt and Co. 

Mills Publications, Inc. 

Navy Brand Manufacturing Co. 

Paper House 

Pla-Mor Lanes 

W.A. Read Pontiac-Buick 

Regan Sinclair Service 

Rossville Packing Co. 

Pat Regan Beauty Shop 

Sanitary Dry Cleaners 

Schultz Bros. 

Sears, Roebuck and Co. 

Sheridan's 

Silver Bros., Inc. 

Ray Smith Office Supplies 

S.A. Snively Co. 

Stone's Phillips 66 

StokelyVan Camp, Inc. 

Spurgeon's 

Swing Elevator 

Ted's Home Beverage 

Thrasher Shoe Store 

Town and Country Steak House 

Uptown Lounge 

Phyllis Vandenburg Beauty Shop 

Wallace Agency 

Weber Drug 

Wellington State Bank 

Western Auto Sto^e 

Woodward-Schumacher 

Woody's 

Worthen's 

Yergler Jewelry 

R. Yonkelowitz and Son 

Methodist Women's Assn. 

Church of God Women 

Don Earle, Wyler Watch 

Scranton Industries 

Mary Ann Sorenson 



Snapshots, Notes and Autographs 



Centennial Sponsors 



PRAIRIE FARMS DAIRY INC. 



TRAF-O-TERIA SYSTEM, INC. 
El Dorado, Kansas 



UNIVERSAL TANK & 

IRON WORKS, INC. AND 

UNIVERSAL CONSTRUCTION CO., INC. 

11221 W. RockviUe Road 
Indianapolis, Indiana 46231 



THE CORNER DRESS SHOP 

For the Added Flair 
in Women's Wear 
301 E. Main 
Tel. 283-6422 
Pat Acton, owner 



BENNYS GROCERY 

(Formerly Matthews Grocery) 
327 E. McCracken Avenue 
Phone 283-7211 
Hoopeston, 111. 



BELL AUTO SUPPLY 

227 E. Main 
283-6213 



CONTINENTAL RESEARCH CORP. 

P.O. Box 8428 

St. Louis, Mo. 63132 



BRULIN & CO., INC. 
Ralph C. Sauder 



REID BOILER WORKS, INC. 
"Boiler Makers & 
Steel Fabricators" 
Bellingham, Washington 



BURY BEAUTY SALON 

Wanda Bury 
417 S. Market 
283-6110 



BETTY'S BEAUTY SHOP 

Betty Musk 
721 E. Chestnut 
283-6031 



JOVIS SUPPLY CO., INC. 



RAY SMITH'S OFFICE PRODUCTS, INC. REV. RAYMOND J. BOYLE 



ERVINS DECORATING CO. 

Dice Addition Hoopeston, 111. 
217-283-7323 



ST. ANTHONY'S 

423 S. 3rd St. 
Hoopeston 



CATHOLIC CHURCH 



ELLIOTT JEWELERS 

307 E. Main 
Since 1895 



ARMSTRONG PLUMBING AND 
HEATING SERVICE 

216 S. 8th Street 
Watseka, Illinois 60970 
815-432-4463 



SHERIDAN'S 

Tom & Mary Sheridan 

224 E. Main 

283-5107 



THE PAPER HOUSE 

The Area's Largest Selection 
of Greetings Cards 
214 E. Main 
283-7008 



H & H IMPLEMENT CO., 
John Deere Dealer 
Milford, Illinois 



INC. 



PAT'S POWDER PUFF 
211 S. Market 
283-7020 



SPURGEON'S 

204 E. Main 
283-5041 



LESTER'S DRUG STORE 
"Wib" & Gene Carlson 
220 E. Main 
283-5815 



REEVES BROS. CONSTRUCTION 

Road and Bridge Contractors 
P.O. Box 284, Milford, Illinois 
8894411 



CO. ADLER'S 

"Fine Ladies' Wear" 
201 E. Main 
283-7344 



LAWRENCE WELLS 
ELECTRICAL SERVICE 

511 E. McNeil 
Tel. 283-6013 



L & M LUNCH 
Mick and Larry Farrell 
307 E. Main 
Tel. 283-6416 



HOOPESTON FOOD LOCKER 

210 E. Penn 
Tel. 283-6126 
Hoopeston, Illinois 



GAS FOR LESS! 




WHY PAY 
MORE? 



WE'RE PROUD 

that we've been helping to 
build Hoopeston for many years. 

Happy 100TH YEAR! 



Our ONLY difference Is our price! 



We wish Hoopeston the BEST 
on its 1 00th Anniversary. 




COX' OWENS 

Ray Cox, dealer W. Penn & S. Second 

Across from Marty-K 
Telephone 283-9933 



Hardware • Paint • Glass • Custom Cabinets 

Brown's woodworks 

O. E. Brown and R. W. Brown 

801 E. Thompson Hoopeston 

Tel. 283-7739 



%^v^^i,^»^>>^^,i^v,^^>^'<^^yi^->>^nt^v,^^,,^>>,&^it0^lia^t^»^^t^m^^^^ 



'i 



Kohler Fixtures 

and 
Annerican Standard 



(^^X^M^^t^^<^^«^M^^K.< 




ALKIRE'S 

Plumbing & Heating 

"the home-owner's friend" 



525 E. Main Street 
Hoopeston, Illinois 

Phone 283-5589 



'I 



To mark our 100th Year.... 

We're going to award 2 ''unforgettable'' mementoes 

JPARTICIPATE — And Win a New Carli 

Yes, we're going all-out to celebrate 
the Hoopeston Area Centennial 
(established for the educational value) 







Joe Haggerty and Carter Urich of Haggerty Chevrolet-Olds dealership, stand beside the new 
Chevrolet which will be given away as one of two grand prizes offered during the Hoopeston Area 
Centennial Celebration. 

(For more details. ...souvenirs. ...a walk 
into the past - visit Centennial Headquarters, 

219 W. Main St. 



If you've enjoyed this souvenir booklet, 
tell those merchants listed inside it, 
THANKS! Without them, it would not have been. 






Happy 
Birthday 

To 

Our 

Home Town 




It is with great pride we call Hoopeston "our home town". 
Although the Mills Family has lived in Hoopeston for only 23 years, we 
share the enthusiasm and pleasure of living here just as the founding 
families do. 

The long colorful history of the CHRONICLE-HERALD is our 
heritage. As an integral part of Mills Publications, Inc. it points the 
way to our future. 

We pledge to continue our efforts in producing the best possible 
small town newspaper .... so that the continuing history of Hoopeston 
will be written, read and placed on file for the future Hoopestonites 
who will enjoy the good life of living in our home town. 

Frank, Tom, Tim, Mark and Joe Mills 




MILLS publications, inc. 




^fM>*^ 



FIRST AVENUE AT MAIN STREET HOOPESTON. ILLINOIS 60942 PHONE 217 283-5111 

NEWSPAPERS AND PERIODICALS PRINTERS LITHOGRAPHERS BINDERS 




Daughters of the American Revolution 



When Barbara Standish Chapter. Daughters of the American 
Revolution, was organized September 8. 1905 with eighteen 
members it was the only chapter in Eastern Illinois outside of 
Chicago or Bloomington, except Alliance Chapter, Urbana- 
Champaign, which was organized the year before. Though only 
twelve rrxembers were needed for organization there was un- 
certainty of reaching that goal in so small a place as Hoopeston. 
Mary Hall Hamilton(Mrs. John L.) was a member of DAR when 
she moved to Hoopeston. Isadore McCaughey and Charlotte 
McFerren(Mrs. J. S.) had completed their papers for mem- 
bership, but had laid them away, for they did not want to be 
members at large. When Mrs. Hamilton found there were two 
women with established lines she determined to organize a 
chapter in Hoopeston. She did nothing definite until Eunice 
Sater, a cousin of Miss McCaughey's came to Hoopeston as 
a teacher in the school system. She, too, was a member 
elsewhere, but promised that if a chapter were organized here 
she would transfer her membership. She did. and by September 
8. 1905 there were more than enough to organize a chapter, and 
Charter Number 677 dated October 4, 1905 was granted them by 
the National Society, DAR, Washington, D. C. 

Today Barbara Standish Chapter has a membership of 
seventy two, with nearly half being non-resident members. 

PAST REGENTS; 1905-1908. Mary Hall Hamilton: 1908-1910, 
Eliza Lukens Williams; 1910-1912, Charlotte Lee McFerren; 
1912-1914, Mary Finley Honeywell; 1914-1916, Isadore Mc- 
Caughey: 1916-1917, Lillian Clark Warner: 1918-1920. Anna 



Hoopeston Garden Club 

The Hoopeston Garden Club was organized on July 12, 1966, at 
the home of Mrs. Mary Jones, East Penn St- 

We have a closed membership of 20 members. We meet the 
fourth Friday of each month at 1:30 p.m. September thru June. 
Two menibers serve each month, one being hostess and the 
other giving the program. Dues are $2.00 payable each June. 

The first officers in 1966 were: Pres-Mrs. Marguerite Crouch; 
Vice-pres-Mrs. Katheryn Dunn, who resigned. Mrs. Mary 
Matthews was elected to take her place.; Sec. -Mrs. Esther 
Anderson; Treas.-Mrs. Geraldine Baier; Publicity-Mrs. Ger- 
trude Knox. 

The meeting was called to order by the president. She asked 
for suggestions for a name for the new club. After some 
discussion it was moved by Mrs. Clara Hott, that the club should 
be known as the "Hoopeston Garden Club". The motion was 
seconded, then voted and accepted. New by-laws were drawn 
up. 

We have very instructive garden programs and we are a very 
well attended and active club. 

Officers for 1970-71 are: Pres.-Lillie E. Southwick; Vice-pres.- 
Mrs. Susie Lithgow; Sec. -Treas.-Mrs. Viola Mitchell; Publicity- 
Mrs. Hazel Cragg. 

Women of the Moose 

In 1914. the Women of the Moose organization was called 
Women of the Mooseheart Legion. In 1930, Women of the 
Mooseheart Legion was officially designated as the Women of 
the Moose, an auxiliary of the Loyal Order of Moose. 

On January 25, 1939 Women of the Moose Hoopeston Chapter 
49 was organized. Thirteen women were enrolled by Cham- 
paign. Illinois Women of the Moose officers. Officers for 
Hoopeston Chapter were: Ethel Lucas. Jr. Graduate Regent: 
Katherine Hite. Senior Regent; Mamie Guthrie, Jr. Regent: 
Ada Jackson. Chaplain; Ruth Richardson. Recorder; Agnes 
Wood. Treasurer; Katy Wise, Sentinel; Alta Lane, Argus. The 
only living charter member is Mrs. Alta Lane, 642 East Mc- 
Cracken Avenue, Hoopeston, who was 84 years old March 7, 
1971. 



Thompson Boorde: 1920-1921, Katherine B. Greene: 1921-1922, 
Lucy Potter Yates; 1922-1923, Mary L. ReVeal; 1923-1924. Addie 
Reece Finley; 1924-1925, Lutie Woolverton Rice; 1925-1926, 
Hallie Bell Erickson Smith; 1927-1929, Anna Thompson Boorde; 
1929-1931, Hattie Marston Sibbitt: 1931-1933, Carrie Harlan 
Pruitt; 1933-1935, Mary Finley Honeywell: 1935-1937, Sara 
Honeywell Earl: 1937-1938. Maude Gay Parnell; 1939-1941, Mary 
Shafer Frame: 1941-1943, Iva Reece Gustine; 1943-1945. Marie 
Honeywell Hay: 1945-1947, Gladys Evans; 1947-1949, Vera Grain 
Murray: 1949-1951, Etta McFarland Landers: 1951-1953, Nellie 
Jane McFerren Littick; 1953-1955, Lanie Carter Young: 1955- 
1957, Forrest Murray Browne: 1957-1961, Mary Ethel Perkins: 
1961-1965, Grace Muir Bailey; 1965-1967, Helen Yates Kauf- 
mann; 1967-1968, Jane Ditton Yeoman; and 1968-1971, Irene 
Crouch. 

Ira Owen Kr eager Aux 

Soon after the men who fought in World War I returned to 
Hoopeston. an American Legion Post was organized. Since the 
women of Hoopeston rallied to the war cause, it was only natural 
they wanted to continue those efforts, so an Auxiliary to the 
Legion began. 

Little has been found concerning those first years, but Mrs. E. 
J. Boorde wes diligent in rounding up prospective members 
early in the Spring of 1922. 

The first endorsement was signed by the then Post Com- 
mander, Floyd Sargent and the adjutant, M. S. Cash in May. The 
second endorsement was signed by the Department President, 
Mrs. W. E. Hartman on June 16. 1922. with the third on June 22, 
1922. by the National Secretary, Pauline Curmick, and the 
fourth and final one on June 26, 1922, and Mrs. Boorde became 
the organizing president, later was elected the president for the 
coming year. 

There were 22 charter members, according to material 
available, with 17 of them now deceased. They were: Mesdames 
E. J. Boorde, J. N. Fraley, C. F. Dyer, Wm. McFerren, Mabel 
Boorde, Coy Burton, F. E. Miller. M. S. Cash. M. M. Clements, 
E. H. Gustine, W. L. Berkey, J. B. Kerr. D. J. McFerren, Rose 

E. Foster, J. H. Dyer. Ella Retry, J. S. McFerren. A. E. Raasch, 

F. R. Johnson, Harris Beck, George Raasch and W. J. Sharon. 



RN Club 



On November 17, 1960, when a hospital in Hoopeston had gone 
from the dream stage to reality, a group of registered nurses in 
the community met in the home of Mr. John Haughee. The 
meeting was set up to determine the number of nurses available 
in the area who could staff the hospital, and to set up a registry 
of private duty nurses to work locally and in Danville hospitals. 

It was decided to form, an organization with a membership of 
the nurses in the city and surrounding area. The group would 
operate under a consitution and a set of by-faws, meet 
regularly for both social and professional purposes and 
sponsor needed projects in the community. The object was to 
"reacquaint nurses with nursing purposes and to help elevate 
standards of nursing in the community". Dr. Werner Fliesser 
agreed to sponsor the organization. 

The charter members of the group are as follows: Alta Allen, 
Pat Anderson, Dorothy Barry, Janet Blankinship, Norma Bitto, 
Carol Clements, Mable Cottingham, Wanda Crusinberry. 
Emma Eckersly, Jean Gonzalez, Mary Hanson, Juanita 
Haughee, Phyllis Hosfield, Marvelene Hushaw, Lorraine Hott, 
Helen Kaufmann, Adeline Kinder, Lillie Ingle, Kathy Layden, 
JMarty Leigh. Shirley Lusk, Carol Newman, Mary Ann Sinclair, 
and Charlotte Whittle. 

The first slate of officers was: President, Juanita Haughee, 
Vice president, Phyllis Hosfield, Secretary, Lorraine Hott, 
Treasurer, Carol Clements. Parliamentarian, Charlotte 
Whittle. The slate was adopted at a meeting in January 1961. 
The regular meeting date was set for the fourth Tuesday night 
each month except July and August. 



Order of theEastern Star 

This story has its beginning like the history of so many fine 
enterprises with "A woman and her dream." Her dream was to 
establish a chapter of the Order of the Eastern Star of Illinois in 
the young and growing city of Hoopeston. Illinois. She had the 
desire to interest people in this organization in which female 
relatives of Master Masons could share some of the benefits 
from this great fraternal order. She was a young lady by the 
rtime of Lyda Hickman, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles 
Hidiman. who lived on a farm near Claytonville, Illinois. Lyda 
Hidiman had joined Jessamine Chapter No. 194 O.E.S. of 
Illinois held at Rankin. Illinois on September 16, 1897. She moved 
with her parents from the farm near Claytonville on November 
30. 1897 to the residence at 508 West Penn Street. Hoopeston. 
Illinois. 

Shortly after moving to Hoopeston. Lyda Hickman set about 
the task of organizing the Hoopeston chapter of the Order of the 
Eastern Star of Illinois. 

On November 21. 1899. eleven ladies and twelve men met in 
the Masonic Hall, which was then located above the Burton's 
Dry Goods Store on the north side in the 200 block of East Main 
Street near Bank Street. The meeting was called to order hy 
Robert Smith. Lyda Hickman was chosen as chairman and 
Susie Seekatz as secretary for the evening. A petition for 
dispensation was circulated and twenty-three people signed it. 
This petition for dispensation, having the required number of 
signatures, was to be sent to Chicago to the Worthy Grand 
Matron of the O.E.S. of Illinois. The required fee of $25.00 was 
collected to be sent with this petition for dispensation. 

The charter was received Oct. 3, 1900 with 20 charter mem- 
bers. 



B &PW Club 



On February 21. 1952. a meeting was held at the Maple School 
for the purpose of organizing a Business & Professional 
Women's club in Hoopeston. Several women from Hoopeston 
and vicinity were present and mentbers from various clubs in 
Kankakee. Urbana. Watseka. and Danville were present to 
explain activities, advantages, etc. of such a club. Miss Miriam 
Taylor acted as chairman and appointed a by-laws and 
nominating committees. 

The second organization meeting was held in the Library on 
Tuesday. March 11. at which time the officers were elected. 

The club was sponsored by the Danville Club and received its 
charter May 28. 1952 with 46 charter members. 

Membership consists of Women in Business or the 
Professionals, also retired women who were members at the 
time of their retirement. 

Programs are planned to be of interest to men^bers par- 
ticipating in all different fields of employment, some of them 
are: Color Dynamics. Club Affairs. Defense of United Nations. 
Fifms on Heart Disease & Cancer. Attorney on laws and Wills. 
AFS Students, Pictures & Program. Welcome Wagon. Christ- 
mas Decorations. Antiques. Facts about Nursing Home. Women 
Voters. Hair & Wig styles. Charm & Grooming for Business 
Women. First Aid. and at present several programs on drugs. 

We have helped in many civic projects, such as: City 
Beautification, Local Migrant Council, Getting out the Vote, 
United Fund, Cancer Drive, Red Cross Drive, donate to the 
Hoopeston Hospital and Nursing Home, gave baskets to needy 
families, also to County Home, Polio Drive, and local school for 
retarded children. 

The club presents a scholarship each year to an outstanding 
student. 

In 1960-61. Miss Miriam Taylor was District Vice-Chair man. 
and 1961-62. was District Chairman. In 1970-71. May Lily Wells is 
the Secretay and Treasurer of the District. 

At the present there are 66 members, of which 13 charter 
members. 



Literary Club 

One cold Fall evening in October, 1913, the male persuasion of 
certain families of this city were being banqueted by the 
Brotherhood Union at the Rusk Garage. Now the idea of mere 
male men having a banquet and not saying beans to us, their 
better halves, well this was enough for us but too much for our 
sister, Mrs. Flagg, who began immediately to devise ways and 
means of getting even with these banqueters. She first called up 
Mrs. Southwick, and we all know what Mrs. Flagg couldn't think 
of, Mrs. Southwick could. 

These two ladies put their heads together and their phones in 
action and the consequences were, one by one of us wended our 
way to the home of Mrs. Flagg and when a roll was called the 
following ladies responded: Mrs. Flagg. Miss Elder, Mrs. 
Southwich. Mrs. Dunscomb, and Mrs. Robinson, and Mrs. 
Abbott. 

A very pleasant and profitable evening was spent, in-as-much 
as it was the birth of the T. E. CLUB(Now the Tuesday afternoon 
Club.) 

At the second meeting the constitution and by-laws were 
presented, approved and adopted. And the Tuesday Evening 
Club was a reality. 

It was decided to limit the membership to fifteen, hence in- 
vitations were issued to and accepted by Mrs. J. Patterson, Mrs. 
E. Knox, Mrs. M. A. Boardman, Mrs. Jessie Jones, Mrs. W. 
Finley, Mrs. R. Zook. forming the original club. 

It was decided to meet every Tuesday evening and to pur- 
chase and read before the club, the latest and most popular 
literature. 

Woman 's Relief Corps 

No history, however brief, would be complete without a 
mention of a "vanished" Army, those valiant soldiers who 
comprised the Union Army during the Civil War of 1861-1865, 
their Comn\ander-in-Chief, Abraham Lincoln. I6th president of 
the United States, their cause to preserve our union. 

The Grand Army of the Republic, a veteran organization, was 
the result of the planning and efforts of Dr. B. F. Stephenson, 
Springfield. Illinois, who had served his country as a physician- 
surgeon through this bloody war, resuming his practice at the 
close of the conflict. 

The Woman's Relief Corps, composed of Loyal-Women, no 
blood affiliation being considered necessary, were chosen by 
vote of the convention to be the true Auxiliary. They were duly 
instituted as such in the yr. 1883, making them the oldest group 
of patriotic women in America. 

As an organization we have since participated in a successful 
drive to purchase several ambulances to be sent to France 
during World War One: successfully raised thousands of dollars 
to aide in the Blood Bank and in the donation of blood. 

Following the death of the final G.A.R. veteran, Albt. 
Woolson, Minn., at the age of 109, in 1956. . assistance to veterans 
of all wars of the United States of America have been included in 
our services. 

In 1941-42 a permanent National Headquarters of our 
organization was established in Springfield, Illinois, this was 
replaced with a beautiful new building which was formally 
dedicated in 1963. The structure houses our office and supply 
center, also a museum containing authentic Civil War souvenirs 
and relics furnished by our members and their families. It is 
open to the public, three days weekly, without charge and is 
located at 7th and Cook Sts.. a proud memorial to the Grand 
Army of the Republic. 

One of these units, or Corps, the last to be organized, was the 
Albert Woolson Corps, located here in Hoopeston. named for the 
last survivor of the Grand Army of the Republic, it was institu- 
ted March 28th. 1955. Members have engaged in all the 
aforementioned activities, giving their first attention to the 
VAVS Hospital. Danville. III. 

Mrs. Hazel Galyen is presently serving as president of this 
group. 



Ira Owen Kreager Post No. 384 



On the first anniversary of Armistice Day. November U, 1919, 
31 veterans of this community under the leadership of Charles 
F. Dyer, as temporary chairman, and Clarence S. Miller, as 
temporary secretary submitted an application for a charter as a 
post of the American Legion. 

Charter members were: Charles F. Dyer, Lloyd P. Petry, 
Donald J. McFerren. Clarence S. Miller. Louis G. Willett. 
Charles D. Hinkle. William McFerren. Bert A. Knoll. Russell C. 
Finley. Frank B. Morgan. Earl W. Harkness. Thomas P. Smith. 
Glen O. Johnson. Everett Van Dorn. Ivan L. Reveal. Orlla 
Kreager. Sylvester J. Murray. John Ross Boorde. Thomas 
Regalley. Christ V. George. Peter Cherekos. Fred E. Earel. 
Irby Downey. Carl A. Dodson. Maurice R. Foster. Frank S. 
Martin. 

A temporary charter was granted by the National Executive 
Committee of the American Legion on December 31. 1919. On 
August 10. 1920 a permanent charter was received by the Post. 

These ex-servicemen chose to memorialize the name of the 
first Hoopeston native to die in World War I and the Post was 
named in honor of Ira Owen Kreager. Cpl. Kreager was killed in 
action in France on October 28. 1918 with less than a month 
before World War I ended. 

With the return of Company "B". bringing with it the greater 
number of the local soldiers, the menibership of the Post began 
to enlarge. At the first annual meeting. Captain "Jack" Steward 
was elected Commander to guide the destinies of the 
organization through the year 1920. It was a year filled with 
eventful things in the life of the young Post. Club rooms were 
secured and appropriately furnished and the Post established 
itself as a going concern. 

During the first few years of existence, the post conducted its 
meetings on the second floor of downtown store buildings. 
Records are incon^plete. but it is known that meetings were in 
the old Commercial club building and at 114'/2 East Main Street 
above the R & C Cafe. 

However, these early members realized that the possession of 
a home is one of the best guarantees of permanence and 

Beta Sigma Phi Sorority 

Zeta Omicron chapter of Beta Sigma Phi was formed 
November 4. 1947. 

The first officers were: president, Mrs. Russell Hickman: 
vice-president, Mrs. Robert Pittman: secretary, Mrs. Robert 
Thomas: treasurer. Mrs. Richard Enters. 

Charter members were: MESDAMES A. J. Nelson. Robert 
Pittman. Russell Hickman. Robert Thomas, Richard Enters, 
William Da2ey, Jim Cleveland, Tom. Andes, Howard Mat- 
thews, Lyle Mitchell, Jim Forshier and Dr. Maxine Seablom. Of 
the charter members Mrs. Pittman. Mrs. Thomas, Mrs. 
Cleveland and Mrs. Forshier are still active. 

Xi Beta Rho chapter was formed May 22, 1951. 

The present officers of this chapter are: president. Mrs. 
Warren Sanger; vice-president, Mrs. George Patterson: 
secretary. Mrs. George Petry: treasurer, Mrs. Jim Forshier. 

The present officers of Zeta Omicron chapter are: president. 
Mrs. Clyde Runge: vice-president, Mrs. Paul Tolch: secretary, 
Mrs. Ray Mendenhall. and treasurer. Mrs. Robert Braden. 

Civic activities through the year have included: Heart Fund: 
Sweet Corn Festival, entertained queens: drive to aid Fire 
Station building: Cancer Drive: made cancer dressings: gifts to 
handicapped school: pledged to hospital: given Christmas 
baskets: March of Dimes: planted trees in McFerren Park: 
purchased wheel chairs for use of local residents: in 1952 started 
petition which resulted in kindergarten being added to our 
school system: given toward Foreign Exchange Fund: given to 
High School Band Uniforms: In 1969 started the Beta Sigma Phi 
award. This award is given to a deserving girl to further her 
education. 



progress that an organization can have and on November 10. 
1928 moved into their new post home at 205 East Penn Street. 

This home was one of the finest in the state of Illinois for a post 
whose annual membership was approximately 170 members 
from 1930 until 1943. 

By 1944, returning veterans of World War II began su-eKing 
the ranks of the American Legion until by 1948, the Post had a 
membership of 605. 

The Legion was very definitely suffering from growing pains 
and in need of larger quarters. On August 10. 1948 the mem- 
bership voted to purchase the Willian\ McFerren home at 502 
East Penn Street and moved into their new home during 
December 1948. In August of 1957, a new addition was com- 
pleted. 

Woman's Club 

Previous to the formation of the Hoopeston Woman's Club in 
1928. a County Federation was in existence and two local Clubs, 
the Tuesday Evening and the Mary Hartwell. were affiliated 
with it. At an Eighteenth District meeting in Danville Mrs. 
Stella Cromer and Mrs. Maud Parnell represented the Mary 
Hartwell Catherwood Club, but the Tuesday Evening Club was 
unable to send delegates. This meeting so impressed the 
Hoopeston women that they invited the group to hold the District 
Meeting in Hoopestopn the following year, being certain that the 
members of the Tuesday Evening Club would assist in the 
venture. That District Meeting was one of friendship and in- 
spiration, showing what women, when united in fellowship, 
could accomplish. Moreover, such club work fitted into the 
current thinking of the local women who, during World War I, 
had been associated in Red Cross activities. At those times the 
wish had often been expressed that women from all churches 
might join together in some worth while projects for the com- 
munity. 

The idea of a Woman's Club seemed to answer this need. 
Therefore, when Mrs. O. E. Herman of Momence. district 
county president, to start a local Club, work was begun at once. 
Miss Ethel Perkiris and Mrs. Frank Parnell were members of 
the county board at that time and were interested in what such 
an organization could do. Notices were sent by Mrs. Parnell to 
local organizations asking each to send two representatives to a 
meeting to discuss forming such a Club. 

Twelve organizations responded and the meeting was held on 
April 19. 1928. in the Masonic Temple, now known as the City 
Bui/ding. Mrs. Herman and Mrs. Maud Kelly, the latter 
member of the state board, were present to explain the workings 
of a Federated Club. The result was a unanimous vote to 
establish such a group in this city and the following women were 
elected as officers: President. Mrs. Margaret Marshall: vice- 
president. Mrs. Constance Soufhwich; secretary. Mrs. Maud 
Parnell, treasurer. Mrs. Ella Zook. 

Hoopeston Hobby Club 

Organized October 1953, at the hon\e of Mr. and Mrs. Hugh 
Roark. Eight signed the charter. Mrs. Roark. club historian. 
Glenn Brasel. floor plan Chairman for the 16th Annual Antique 
and Hobby Shows, are remaining charter members. The shows 
sponsored by the club presented treasures of yesterday today 
and tomorrow for the pleasure of the public. 

The club has contributed to many local organizations. 

Other members include: Miss Lillic Southwich. Mr. and Mrs. 
James A. Anderson(Mr. A.nderson treas.): Mr. and Mrs. John 
P. Cadle (Mrs. Cadle vicepres.) : Mrs. Helen Hasselhring: Mr. 
and Mrs. Harold Crouch: Mr. and Mrs. Burton Livingston : Rev. 
and Mrs. Walter F.vans(Mrs. Evans sec): Mr. and Mrs. Don 
Bury: Mr. and Mrs. Myron Norton (Mrs. Norton, prcs.): Mr. 
and Mrs. Fremont Crouch. Mr. and Mrs. David E. Cleveland. 



Chamber of Commerce Jr. Woman's Club 



Early leaders of the community took a most active part in the 
organization of Hoopeston's first Chamber of Commerce, just as 
community leaders do today. 

The first roster includes A.M. Keller, president. R.C. Davison, 
secretary. George Evans, treasurer. Directors were Walter 
Trego. Otto Ogdon. Charles W. Warner, Mark Koplin. I.N. 
Heaton, F.C. Moore. E.J. Boorde, W.C. Welty. Geroge Evans, 
Ore M. Ross, Ellsworth Ilif. I.E. Merritt, William Moore. John 
F. Ost. and Mac C. Wallace. 

The organization was effected on July 16th. 1919, and the 
roster of membership was impressive, running to a total of 
about 400. It seems that nearly everyone was included, even 
doctors, dentists, lawyers, and all small business men. 

At a subsequent meeting committees were appointed to carry 
on the work of the chamber. Mac Wallace headed up the Civic 
Division. E. J. Boorde. transportation, Ellsworth Ilif, industrial, 
I. N. Heaton. production, George Evans, commercial. 

The following year W.A. Miskimen was elected president, and 
Charles Finley. Ed Trego. Ray Ulery. C.H. Rimes, and Dexter 
Crandall were committee chairmen. 

The chamber in those days was extremely active. They had a 
luncheon every week, often changed to a night meeting once in a 
while. A steady procession of speakers held the rostrum. 

Activities were much the same as now. They promoted in- 
dustry and retail trade, started a housing corporation with 
$50,000 capital to supply the housing shortage. They considered 
a hospital, but nothing in the records show what happened to the 
project. 

Along in 1944. C.A.E. Sheets became a power in the Chamber 
of Commerce, and headed up the War Bond Drive. Ed succeeded 
Gary Finch as secretary. 

Under Ed Sheets direction the bond drive assumed high 
proportions. Publicized daily in the Chronicle-Herald, and 
promoted by a "Sweetheart Contest", the drive reached the 
total of $410,000. 

This was the year when considerable discussion centered 
around establishment of a youth center, but records show no 
accomplishment. 

Since those days the history of the Chamber of Commerce is 
well nigh current. The Chamber fostered the Industrial Cor- 
poration, and financed it getting off the ground. The Chamber 
also spearheaded early efforts to build the hospital here, and 
paid for the first papers of incorporation. 

The record shows that The Chamber of Commerce has been in 
the forefront of activity on all matters for more than fifty years. 
It has taken its part of community leadership seriously and has 
performed very well. 

Today its membership shows a strong cross-section of 
community leaders just as it did fifty years ago. The leaders 
today are young men, just as they were young men in former 
days, although we are today inclined to view them as ancients, 
for as time passed over the years that's what they became, as 
will today's leaders. 

More current history of the Chamber of Commerce reveals a 
long list of projects more or less familiar with today's 
populations. They include: 

Creation of United Fund project, Christmas decorations. 
School Teacher's project. Fire Code protection policies. Ex- 
pansion of the Armory, signs at approaches to the city. 1960 aid 
in bringing Crest Transformer to Hoopeston, helped Industrial 
Corporation raise funds for land purchase, secured new traffic 
lights, established separate retail budget, 1964 helped remodel 
Civic Center. 1964 helped finance new doctor's qiiarters. 1965 
new waste containers downtown and eliminated trash burning. 
1 966 downtown flower pots, 1 968 established better relations with 
Illinois State Department of Economic Development. 

More recently the Chamber was named creator of Hoopeston 
Public Library Trust Fund and assisted in financing by con- 
tributing $1,000. 



During the early part of 1936, many active young women in 
Hoopeston belonging to the Senior Woman's Club became in- 
terested informing a Junior Woman's Club in Hoopeston. After 
discussion it was decided to form such a club and under the 
direction of such women as Isabelle Long, Carol Smith. Bee 
Pope. Helen Lytle. Margaret Stark, and Kate Trego the 
Hoopeston Jr. Woman's Club was soon on its way to being a very 
important and civic minded organization in the community. 

Although this new club enjoyed knitting and playing bridge at 
their meetings, they wasted no time in giving of themselves to 
the community. They started by giving clothes to needy high 
school girls, giving to Cancer control and gave donations to the 
Park Ridge school for girls. 

Today finds the club still donating to all the diseases and 
charities and needy organizations. We sponsored a con- 
servation student the past two years along with setting up an 
Arts and Crafts program during the summer. We purchased a 
record player and gave to the Public Library and undertook the 
task of planting the flower pots in the business part of town. In 
the 1970 fall festival float contest the club completely built and 
designed their own float and received first place in their 
division. Presently the club consists of twenty-three members. 



Art Association 

The Hoopeston Art Association is an organization of artists 
and anyone interested in art and crafts. 

The object of this organization, is to encourage the community 
interest in and to create a greater appreciation of art through 
lectures, gallery talks, demonstrations and exhibits, and to 
further individual study in the Arts. 

It was founded in 1955. with 17 paid members, as follows, 
Mesdames, Helen Andis, Louis Braden, Gladys Finch, Freeda 
Franklin. Bonnie Hixon, Jean Johnson. Betty King. Margaret 
Mclntyre, Reta Neal, Margaret Preston. Ruth Sills, Amelia 
Virgin, Janice Wood, and Irma Zook, Miss Helen Keister, Miss 
Hazel Timmons, and James Forshier. 

The first meeting of persons interested in forming an Art 
group was held Nov. 3. 1955, at the Hoopeston Public Library 
with Bonnie Hixon presiding. 



Hoopeston Jaycees 

Hoopeston's Jaycees were organized following World War II 
as the Junior Chamber of Commerce and have since been active 
in promoting projects for community betterment, un- 
derprivileged families, promotion of the community and a long 
list of others. 

The Junior Chamber assumed responsibilities in 1948 of the 
National Sweet Corn Festival, an annual event which marks the 
end of the sweet corn canning season and are now preparing for 
the 27th festival Labor Day Weekend. 

Highlight of the years was in 1962. when the local chapter was 
named the top club in the state and nation in its population 
division for several areas of work. 

Presidents of the chapter since 1948 include: 1948. Lyle Mit- 
chell: 1949. Elmer Unger: 1950. Harry Silver; 1951. Marvin 
Custer: 1952. Robert Chesnut: 1953. Dean Hixon: 1954. Robert 
Langdoc: 1955. Roy Carlson: 1956. Elwin Barber: 1957. Tom 
Mills: 1958. Charles France: 1959. Dale Preston. Jr.: 1960, 
William Johnson: 1961. John Leigh: 1962. Larry Oyler: 1963. 
Tom Gallo'way: 1964. Odell Crabtree: 1965. Dale Rush: 1966, 
Gene Hanshew: 1967, Charles Davis: 1968, William Matthews: 
1969. Marty Parsons: 1970. Mike Blankinship: 1971, Fred 
Zemke. 

Young men of age 21-35 are eligible for membership. 



Sweet Corn Capital Color Shooters 



The club was formed in May of 1958 with the first business 
meeting being held June 2. 1958 in the basement of the 
Universalist church. Officers selected for the first year were, 
President: Bill Zeigler; Vice-Pres: Bob Pitman: Sec- 
Treasurer: Jim Sedgewick. The purpose of such an organization 
was to promote interest in color slides and to learn more about 
photography. The club has belonged to the '■Central Illinois 
Camera Club Association" since being formed. This group now 
numbers 28 clubs in Illinois and Iowa. As a club the Sweet Corn 
Capital Color Shooters have had an annual salon each year. 
Categories are chosen each year and members are encouraged 
to enter his or her quota of slides. These are judged by a panel of 
three outside judges. Trophies and ribbons are presented to the 
winners. 

Our club is very active in the Central Illinois Camera Club 
Association, attending weekend conferences where the best of 
teachers show how to shoot better pictures. Our members also 
enter this annual salon and we have had many ribbons won by 
our members. We are one of the smaller clubs so we feel quite 
honored in having one of our members serve on the official 
board. Dick Carrell has served four years and is currently ac- 
ting as Treasurer. He was also given an Associate membership 
in the Central Illinois Camera Club Association this past year 
because of his work within his own club and also his devotion to 
the C. I. C. C. A. 

Several of our members belong to the "Photographic Society 
of America". We also enter the Illinois State Fair slide contest 
each year and have received many ribbons there. 

A club project is seeing that the foreign exchange student 
takes home with them a set of slides depicting life in and around 

Girl Scouting 

Girl Scouting was introduced to Hoopeston by Mrs. Walter 
Trego in 1935. She was assisted as commissioner by Mrs. Faye 
Crandall. vice-commissioner. Mrs. R.W.J. Narris, treasurer 
and Mrs. E. H. Gustine, secretary. There were 40 girls in 2 
troops that year. 

In 1940 a fund and plans were started for the dream of a Girl 
Scout "Little House". $100 was set aside for it and invested in 
bonds. Bit by bit the fund grew and with it the movement grew 
too. 

During the 1950's there were 12 troops. By 1958 there were 284 
registered girls in 13 troops, aided by 71 adults as leaders, 
council members and committee members. 

In 1958 a movement began to organize all local councils into 
larger groups with national ties. To the Hoopeston Scouts this 
meant merging with the Green Meadows Council, with 
headquarters in Champaign serving Champaign, Ford, 
Iroquois, Piatt, and Vermilion counties. It was also the year to 
see a dream become a reality. Under the direction of Mrs. 
Willard Nelson, president: Mrs. Leland Martin, vice-president; 
Mrs. H. J. Jones, treasurer, and Mrs. E. H. Gustine. secretary. 
Silver Bros, was contracted to erect the building in McFerren 
Park known as "The Little House." 

This building has been the home of scouting since, serving as a 
meeting place for troop meetings, cook-outs, overnight parties, 
and Day Camp, as well as training sessions and leader 
meetings. 

In 1969 a new fund was started to make our home more ser- 
vicable year round. Under the direction of Mrs. B.J. Sears, 
neighborhood chairman and Mrs. Charles Peterson, district 
chairman the improvements completed in 1970 include a new 
floor funace, insulated ceiling and improved lighting with the 
Hoopeston Jaycees supplying the manpower. 

Hoopeston has supplied three past board members of Green 
Meadows Council; Mrs. Lucy Carlson. Herbert Shoufler, and 
Mr. Ross Childers, Mrs. Bobby Joe Sears, delegate to the 1969 
National Convention and Bobby Joe Sears-District Cookie Sale 
Chairman. 



Hoopeston. with some also showing interesting '•'nces in the U 
S. A. These slides have been taken by our memu^ . ^, ' 
members go on several field trips a year to places of inters,., 
and also conduct work-shops within our club to learn more about 
photography. 

We now have 24 active members with our current officers 
being: president, Kenneth Parkinson; vice-president, Mrs. Ray 
(Helen) Marshall: secretary-treasurer. Murrell Strickler. The 
club meets the second and fourth Wednesday in the basement of 
the Presbyterian church. We do not meet in July and August. 
Visitors are always more than welcome. 

A new project this year is entering the Charleston. Illinois 
camera clubs's annual salon which is by invitation only. Four 
other clubs will be competing with us and the subject is "Oc- 
cupations Or People At Work". 



Merry Circle Club 

Just a few miles southwest of Hoopeston there was a neigh- 
borhood(still existing) known as THE PLAINVIEW NEIGH- 
BORHOOD. This took in the Bristle Ridge School Dist. 22. the 
Franks School on No. 9 and the Libery School. In the heart of this 
neighborhood in the year (1910) there stood a small white 
Country Methodist Church, called "PLAINVIEW". Folks in that 
area attended church services and the few social gatherings 
that it provided, but it was not enough. 

For several months in the early part of the year 1910. Mrs. 
Jc(mes Tilton(Aunt Fannie) as she worked around her country 
home, thought how nice it would be for the ladies in the neigh- 
borhood to get together occasionally for a social time. She 
voiced her ideas to other ladies and on July 21st, 1910 thirteen 
ladies came in their buggies with prancing horses to attend this 
afternoon party. It was held at the home of Mrs. Charles 
Hughes. They discussed the possibility of a Club and everyone 
present thought it an excellent idea. 

Officers were then selected with Mrs. James Tilton, president. 
Mrs. Charles Hughes, vice-president. Miss Mary Tilton(now 
Mrs. Date Houmes and only Charter Member living) as 
secretary, and Mrs. Perry Dawson treasurer. Dues were 25 
cents per year. Constitution and by-laws were drawn and the 
club was to meet every third Thursday in the month and 
refreshments were to be served. 

The first official meeting of the new club was held at the home 
of Mrs. Othel Insley(Mina Wood;, and the name of "THE 
MERRY CIRCLE CLUB" was selected, for the newly organized 
Club's name. 

The club is till active 61 years later. 



Conservation Club 

Several interested persons met at the Dennis Rhodes home in 
October of 1961 and a club was organized for the Hoopeston area. 

Arrangements were made to affiliate with the Illinois 
Federation of Sportsmen's Clubs and the name was chosen. 
From its beginning, the club has grown to a membership of over 
200 and meets the third Thursday of each month. 

A new clubhouse was built in 1971 at the club's fishing lake 
east of town. 

The Illinois Wildlife Federation named the local club as its 
"Outstanding Club in the State of Illinois" in 1970 for its record 
of conservation activities. 

Presidents since the club was formed have included: 1961, 
Guy Sinclair; 1962, Bill Harrington: 1963, Tom Mills; 1964. Fred 
Smith; 1965, John Sprague: 1966, Harold Morrison; 1967. Jack 
Cleveland; 1968. Tom Sheridan; 1969-1970. Jim Glover; and 1971. 
John Clayton. 



Veterans of Foreign Wars and Auxiliary 



j^ ,^ ■ ». 1S45. the local post of Veterans of Foreign 

ff^he United States was instituted and officially 
Wa'"' 
, ecognized in Hoopeston. 

Early organizational meetings were held in the old Town 
Clock building then on the northeast corner of Main and Bank 
streets. This building was destroyed by fire many years ago. 

A charter was issued under the name Hoopeston Post No. 4826 
with 49 charter members. Wilfred C. Griner was the charter 
commander and served until March 1946. 

The post name was officially changed to Buddy Egnew Post 
Ho. 4826 effective October 1. 1952. as a memorial to the first 
Hoopeston lad to give his life for his country in World War 11. 
Robert Ross Egnew, son of Mr. and Mrs. Ross Egnew. was 
serving aboard the battleship Arizona at Pearl Harbor. Oahu. 
T.H., on that fateful Sunday morning of December 7. 1941. He 
and many of his shipmates are still manning the never 
decommissioned Arizona. 

Chartered on January?. 1953. the Ladies Auxiliary unit of Post 
No. 4826 began its untiring work for the Post. The ladies in this 
unit have contributed immeasurably to the progress and growth 
of the parent post. They carry on much of the work at the 
Veterans Administration hospital and are charged with the 
responsiblity of Buddy Poppy sales on or near Veterans Day of 
each year. 

In 1958 a Junior Auxiliary was organized and nationally 
chartered. This unit consists of girls too young to be members of 
the regular auxiliary but who are otherwise qualified by being in 
the immediate family of a VFW member. The Junior Auxiliary 
received its charter at ceremonies during the first installation 
meeting on March 1, 1958. 

Also in 1954 several members organized into a drill team for 
the purpose of participating in local and nearby parades. 
Vernon Terry. 1957 commander of the post, was the first com- 
mander of the drill squad and helped lead the unit to State 
Championship at the Peoria convention in 1955. 

Winning team members were Vernon Terry, leader, 
Lawrence Bury, Mike Scullin, Dick Boltz and Donald Rhodes. 
Wayne Gossett, Maurice Leigh Jr.. Jerry Eells. Donald 
Christensen and Dennis Rhodes along with Earl O. Carter, Ray 
Sivi!!e and Don Cawthon completed the roster. 

The stellar team again surpassed its opponents at the Chicago 
convention in 1957. carrying home the top trophy for the second 
time. These comrades must be congratulated for placing the 
name "Buddy Egnew" and Hoopeston to the forefront in V.F.W. 

records. 

Auxiliary Presidents 
Charter President — Jan. 7, 1953, Dorothy Carter. 1954, 
Eunice Rhodes: 1955, Anna Rhodes: 1956, Virginia Rhodes: 1957, 
Marie Crouch: 1958, Harriett Snively: 1959. Gloria Young: 1960, 
Rosemary Reed: 1961, Margaret Sinclair : 1962. Lois Bury: 1963, 
Irene Whiteman; 1964, Naomi Cox: 1965, Norma Sollars: 1966, 



Community Concerts 

Hoopeston Community Concert Association, a non-profit 
organization, was chartered in 1965 for the purpose of providing 
its members an opportunity to hear and see acknowledged 
artists performing in the hometown and thus developing an 
interest and appreciation of good music. 

Following some preliminary work an organizational meeting 
was held on June 22. 1965 where the officers were elected. 

The membership drive for 1965-66 season produced a mem- 
bership of 551 persons with a total revenue of $4,531.50. Four 
concerts were offered in the first concert season, all of which 
were received with warm appreciation. 

Since then the following public-spirited citizens have served 
with Hoopeston Community Concert Association as presidents: 
Mrs. Eugene Kosyak, 1966-67: Mrs. Joseph Moore 11. 1967-68: 
Mr. Herbert Shoufler, 1968-69: and Mrs. Martha Samples. 1969- 
70. 



Shirley Ziebart: 1967. Shirley Mclntyre: 1968, Kay Gustine: 
1969, Ruth Matthews: 1970, Anna Whiteman, 
COMMANDERS 
Charter Commander, Dec. 1945 - March 1946. Wilfred C. 
Griner. 1946-47, Dale C. Ellis: 1947-48. Floyd Taflinger: 1948-49. 
Franklin Harris: 1949-50. Lester Kincade: 1950-51. Robert D. 
Pittman: 1951-52. Earl O. Carter: 1952-53, Werner Fliesser: 1953- 
54. Harold E. Cox; J954-55, Lawrence Bury: 1955-56. Maurice C. 
Leigh Jr.: 1956-57. Louis E. Schuen: 1957-58. Vernon F. Terry: 
1958-59. Richard Boltz: 1959-60. Edwin Gustine; 1960-61, Jerry 
Eells: 1961-62, Wifiiam Ziegler: 1962-63, William Ziegler: 1963- 
64, Charles L. Roberts: 1964-65, Charles L. Roberts: 1965-66, 
Donald J. Rhodes: 1966-67. Willard Mclntyre: 1967-68, James O. 
Goodrum: 1968-69, Raymond Sinclair: 1969-70. Virgil T. Warf: 
1970-71, Lloyd W. McFann. 

Job's Daughters Bethel 

Job's Daughters is an organization which seeks to bring 
together young women who believe in God and the teachings of 
the Holy Bible. Job's Daughters was founded by Mrs. Ethel T. 
Wead Micfe in Omaha, Neb., in Oct. of 1920. 

It is an international organization with members in some 
foreign countries, as well as nearly every state in the United 
States. 

The Hoopeston Bethel was instituted on July 20. 1957. by the 
Grand Guardian, Mrs. Helen Harvey, of Paris. Illinois. On the 
same day the Guardian Council was installed, the members of 
the Bethel were initiated, and the Bethel Officers were installed. 

The Hoopeston Bethel meets on the second and fourth Wed- 
nesday of each month at 7:30 PM. The word "Bethel" means 
Holy Place and is the name for the local unit, corresponding to 
Lodge or Chapter in other Masonic Orders. 

Membership in Job's Daughters is open to girls 12 to 20 who 
are daughters, adopted daughters, stepdaughters, grand- 
daughters, great-granddaughters, sisters, half sisters, step- 
sisters, sisters-in-law. nieces, grand nieces, or first or second 
cousins of Master Masons. 

The Charter Members of the Bethel were as follows:Donna 
Jessup, Suzanne Umbanhower, Karen Waschick, Ruth Ann Bell, 
Mary Lynn ONeal, Mary Jane Silver, Barbara Catron, Terry 
Jean Leverenz, Linda Lou Berglund, Karen Emory, Dawn Park, 
Jean Carlson, Jane Brockway, Sharon Nussear, Linda Sue Hunt, 
Janice Kay Bone, Sharol Mitchell, Ann Olson, Pamela Bell, 
Susan Smith, Susan Cleveland, Kristie Kell, Joyce Jordan, 
Linda Lou Silver, Marjorie Bone, Paulette Kay Cutler, Marjorie 
Kay Stark, Marcia Elaine Lund, Donna Gay Mitchell, Karen 
Ann Merritt, Nancy Grunwoldt, and Harriett Ludwig. 



TBH Club 



Fifty-nine years ago, the TBH Club was organized. The good 
friends that met that night selected Clara Gardner as their 
president protem and Lyda Adsit as temporary secretary. Lida 
Watson hadthe honor of naming it "The Two Busy Hours Club." 

Later, we became known simply as the TBH Club. As most 
people know, from these initials, the devoted husband of one of 
the members gave the club a nickname that has remained a 
jolly reminder of early days. I. E. Merritt claimed "TBH" stood 
for "Twenty Bad Hens." 

Actually the sincere friendships that created the club date 
farther back than 59 years. As long ago as February 1912, a 
group of prominent local matrons would get together once in a 
while afternoons to enjoy each other's company, discuss their 
families, homes, fancy work and the happenings of those times. 

One evening, by invitation, these women met at the home of 
Clara Gardner. Six or seven were present. The evening proved 
so pleasant that they decided to meet again, each bringing 
another friend. The second meeting drew ten or twelve ladies. 
The organizational meeting was held Sept. 16, 1912. 



Hoopeston Lions Club 

The history of the Hoopeston Lions Club is. indeed, a history of 
civic dedication . . . chartered January 7. 1942 and in continuous 
operation since that time. 

Dan Thrasher is the sole Charter Monarch . . . having been a 
member for the past 29 years. 

25 year members include Harold MacMurray. George 
Arnholt. and Eldon Yarbrough. 

20 year members include Earl Smock. Bill Nelson. 

15 year members include Art Pearson. 

10 year members include Dale Brown. Robert W. Brown, 
William Burtis. Harold Cox. Ed Eells. Carl Franklin. Ralph 
Lloyd. Tom Mills. BillSchuler. Ray Stipp and Vern Terry. 

The Hoopeston club has had four officers of Multiple District 
IE. They were D. B. Hawthorne. Deputy District Governor: Art 
Pearson. Deputy District Governor; Earl Smock. District 
Governor and William Burtis. Deputy District Governor. 

Past presidents of the Hoopeston Lions Club include J. 
Cleveland. Roberts Snively. Art Richoz. Art Murray. Lyman 
Heavenridge. W. H. Perleberg. Abe Brockway. Werner 
Fliesser. Donald B. Hawthorne. Evar Olson. Jared Lyons. 
Harold MacMurray. Eldon Yarbrough. Art Pearson. Jim 
Frazier. Bill Nelson. J. Ed Holt. Earl Smock. Herb French. Don 
King. Robert Pittman. Tom Mills. Harlan Hatfield. Bob Shuler. 
Harold Cox. Ed Eells. Troy Bloyd. Ray Stipp. Vern Terry. 
William Burtis. C. E. Franklin. Robert W. Brown. 

Longest perfect attendance record belongs to Harold Mac- 
Murray ... 25 years. 

CIVIC RESPONSIBILITY — During the past ten years the 
Lions have been most active in their physical and financial 
support of many civic projects. They have . . . constructed a new 
$4,000 concession stand for McFerren Park: instituted, with the 
cooperation of other civic clubs, the Hoopeston Beautification 
Program which included the placing of flower pots on Main 
Street and the selling at cost of maple shade trees: sponsored 
the Glaucoma Screening Unit in cooperation with the Illinois 
Society for the Prevention of Blindness: contributed financial 
aid to the erection of the •Welcome to Hoopeston" signs: later 
these signs were lighted by the Lions Club: donated a 3.000 watt 
generator to the Hoopeston Rescue Squad: AND the Lions were 
most proud to be the first civic club to purchase stock in the 
Hoopeston Centennial Corporation. 

HOOPESTON COMMUNITY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL — One 
of the leading promoters of the Hoopeston Hospital, the Lions . . . 
held a street auction which showed a profit of $1,940.00 for the 
hospital fund: further donated $1,500.00 from their general fund 
as a pledge for the construction of the hospital: bought two 
wheel chairs for the use of patients: expended over $4,000.00 
during the past 8 years for nurses scholarships so that the young 
graduates can be helped in furthering their education to become 
registered nurses. 

YOUTH ACTIVITIES — The Lions Club feels very strongly 
that the youth of Hoopeston must be encouraged, praised and 
helped in every manner possible . . . and in following this 
program, the Lions have . . . purchased and installed a $1,500.00 
scoreboard at the Glenn Brasel Field: built a baseball backstop 
at North Side Park: purchased playground equipment for all 
city parks: purchased 4-H calf raised by a Hoopeston area 
youngster at annual 4-H auction: sponsored a Little League 
team each year: donated $1,254.00 to the Hoopeston high school 
band for new uniforms: held each year an athletic banquet 
honoring all Hoopeston high school athletes and cheerleaders: 
contributed money to the American Field Service program for 
exchange students: donated to the Children's Milk Fund: 
donated to the Hoopeston Athletic Boosters Club for the in- 
stallation of practice basketball courts. 

SIGHT CONSERVATION — Sight conservation being the 
prime goal of Lions International, the Hoopeston Lions Club, 
through the generous support of Hoopeston citizens during 
Candy Days, have donated several thousand dollars to . . . 
Leader Dogs for the Blind, who raise and train dogs for visually 
handicapped at no cost to the recipient: Hadley School for the 



Blind, an educational institution providing blind instruction 
books and other educational material so that the blind person 
may be more self-sufficient: Camp Lions, a summer camp for 
visually handicapped children especially designed and 
managed for this youngster. 



Lights and Gas 



Central Illinois Public Service Co. has been providing electric 
and natural gas service to Hoopeston residents since 1919. when 
it acquired the properties of the Hoopeston Gas and Electric Co. 

The first electric lights in Hoopeston were installed in 1890 at 
the Hoopeston Canning Co. plant. Lines were extended from the 
plant to serve nearby residences from the canning company's 
generator. In 1891 the Hoopeston Electric Light Co. was 
organized to serve the town. 

The Hoopeston Gas and Electric Co. was incorporated in 1906 
and began supplying electricity in that year. In 1910. the utility 
began supplying manufactured gas to residents. 

in 1919 CIPS purchased the Hoopeston Gas and Electric Co. 
and operated the property until 1924. when an electric trans- 
mission line from Paxton was placed in service. In 1933 a 
natural gas transmission main was extended to Hoopeston and 
the local gas plant was taken out of service. 

When CIPS acquired the Hoopeston Gas and Electric Co.. the 
annual usage per residential customer was about 200 kilowatt- 
hours and the average rate was 11 cents per kilowatt-hour. 



NIGHTTIME USE ONLY 

This was in the era when electricity was still new to the 
average citizen and was used only for lights in the home at night. 
For this reason, most communities in those early days had 
electricity available to them only during the early evening 
hours. 

There was no need for 24-hour service because there were no 
electric appliances in use — or for that matter — none was being 
manufactured for the public. 

After the electric iron was invented, generating units began 
operating during daylight hours on Tuesdays, since most 
housewives washed clothes on Mondays and ironed them on 
Tuesdays. 



ELECTRIC SERVANTS MULTIPLY 

As the years passed, more and more electrically operated 
work-saving devices were invented for use in homes, farms, 
businesses and industry. Electricity quickly became a servant 
depended upon by all of the people, 24 hours a day. 

Beta Beta Chapter 

The first blossom in Epsilon Sigma Alpha's now-majestic 
garden burst into full bloom on September 13, 1929, at 
Jacksonville, Texas. Estelle Simpson was one of the or- 
ganization's founders and it was at her home that the first 
meeting was held four decades ago. Like E.S.A. chapters today, 
the first members included successful business women and 
young matrons. 

Beta Beta Chapter No. 947 was chartered on May 7. 1947 with 
nine members. The Charter members were Margaret Ellen 
Ford. Ruth Crow. Lonnette Griffin. Betti McNeil. Sue Leigh. 
Faye JMott. Elizabeth Chortiey. Virginia Wood, and Fontella 
Fraley. 

No other information could be found about the early years 
until 1956. 



CONGRATULATIONS TO 
HOOPESTON ON ITS 

CENTENNIAL 



«. 











1971-145 hp 7020 



top 
of 

the 

line 



In 1923, farmers wanted to drive 
tractors into the agricultural 
future. Jotin Deere produced the 
Model D and few, if any, tractors 
have ever been as popular. 
Today, there's need for 
over-lOO-horsepower tractors . . . 
and John Deere offers three. One 
is the 7020—145 horsepower and 
sized for farming of the 70s. 
It's all a matter of growth. The 
farmer today is in step with the 
ever-advancing agricultural arts 
... and John Deere is in step with 
the farmer. Realizing his needs, 
conscious of his view of future 
food production, and offering the 
tools and equipment he uses are 
just three reasons the John Deere 
franchise is the most valued in 
the industry: 
Growing, with John Deere. 




JOHN DEERE VERMILION WORKS 
OF DEERE & COMPANY 



Lovejoy Township 

From History of Iroquois County Compiled by John Dowling 

Lovejoy Township was first settled in the northern part of the 
township. The first building erected in the township was the 
"Red Pump." located on the Hubbard Trail or Chicago Road at 
the north edge of the township. A well was dug at this location, 
and a log pump inserted which was painted red. The well never 
failing to provide water, was much in demand whenever it was 
possible to drive teams and herds of cattle to Chicago. A tavern 
called "The Red Pump" was operated there in the early days, 
getting its nante from the well punxp. The township was sparsely 
settled in these early days. 

Lovejoy Township was formerly a part of Milford Township 
lying directly to the south of that township and was bounded on 
the south by the county line of Iroquois and Vermilion counties. 
Lovejoy Township was established by a vote of its people at the 
first election held in April 1868. The petition for separation was 
signed by fhirty voters and presented to the 1868 February term 
of the Board of Supervisors and was granted by that body. 

At the first town meeting the people passed a resolution 
providing for a survey of all the lands in the township. The ex- 
penses of the survey were defrayed by a tax of so much per acre. 
On July 3. 1868 an election was held for the purpose of deciding 
whether financial aid would be given to the Chicago, Danville 
and Vincennes Railroad in the amount of $3,000.00. The vote was 
23 for and 3 against. Lovejoy Township, in addition to this 
amount, had assumed $60,007.12 of the railroad indebtedness of 
Milford Township, which had been voted before the division of 
Milford Township. The people at first were quite enthusiastic 
about giving aid to the railroad company, but as time passed, 
their interest waned and there was considerable effort made to 
avoid payment of this indebtedness. However, good trans- 
portation was desperately needed for the movement of farm 
products to market, and the building of the railroad in 1871 had 
much to do with the settlement and growth of the area. 

Prior to 1872. there was a small settlement of the town of 
Wellington approximately one-quarter mile east of the present 
downtown area of the village. After the railroad was constructed 
in 1871. Wellington, the only town in Lovejoy Township, was laid 
out in 1872 near the center of Section 14 with the business area 
being built adjacent to the railroad. In order to secure switches 
and a depot for the new town. J. L. Hamilton and R. T. Race 
each donated 40 acres of land to the Railroad Company. As a 
result of the location of the railroad and the laying out of the 
town, many businesses began to operate in order to supply the 
needs of the village area. A mong them, in the early days, were 
grain elevators, a livestock yard, general merchandise stores, a 
drug store, hardware and implements business, lumber yard, 
harness shop, blacksmith shop, undertaker, livery stable, hotel, 
draying and many other businesses and services. Streets were 
laid out. houses built, local governmental units established and 
the village and township were well on the way to becoming a 
flourishing community. 

For example, the principal business in Wellington in 1878-79 
was the buying and shipping of grain. It was estimated that in 
1879 21.000 bushels of flax seed was shipped as well as 375.000 
bushels of corn. 

In 1878 a church building was erected by the Methodists in 
what was then known as the southeast part of town, and cost 
$1500. First services conducted in this building occurred after 
Christmas in the year 1878. In 1904 the Methodists constructed 
their present church building on East Main Street. Prior to 1900, 
the Presbyterians had a large church on East Main Street, 
located on the land which is now a part of the village park. Both 
churches thrived in the early part of this century, but eventually 
the congregation of the Presbyterian Church declined to such an 
extent that it was disbanded in approximately 1928. 

John Greer, a prominent land owner in Prairie Green and 
Lovejoy Townships, upon his death on January 2, I89I, provided 
through his will that a bequest be made to Lovejoy Township. He 
directed that a town hall be erected for the sum of $2,000 and that 
an additional sum of $2,000 be given to the township with the 
income from this amount to be used for the maintenance of the 



building. In 1894 the town hall was bui/t, a brick building 66 ft. x 
22 ft. containing an auditorium and stage. For many years of- 
ficials of the village and township have used it as their 
headquarters and as a polling place. It was used extensively for 
the first twenty-five or thirty years for many events such as 
school plays, social activities, for the community, and for 
traveling shows of various hinds. But as newer, modern school 
buildings were constructed, many of the community's activities 
were transferred to the larger building. A Fire Protection 
District, composed of Lovejoy and Prairie Green Townships 
was organized in 1954, and a new Fire Department Building was 
constructed in 1955. Since then, the polling place for Lovejoy 
Township has been located in this new building and meetings of 
the township and village have been transferred from the old 
Town Hall to the newer building. The cash bequest left for the 
maintenance of the town hall is still intact and invested, but the 
town hall has long ceased to be the center of the community 
activities. 

After the first settlers of the land arrived in this area, it 
became necessary to provide schools for the children. Usually, 
every four sections of land comprised a school district which 



ji r^jy!«PTS»**«w^sf. 




Post Office and General Store on ttie north side of Main Street In 
Wellington. Illinois taken in 1919. 

supported a one-room school house. 

In the village of Wellington a large, square, frame school 
building was erected, probably around the year 1881, which 
served until 1930. The old building had two school rooms on each 
of two floors, and at the time seemed more than adequate. There 
are many in the community who attended school in this building, 
and no doubt, remember it as being a larger building than it 
actually was. In 1930 the School Board, composed of Alta 
Lockhart, Van Benbow, and Perry Parrish, supervised the 
construction of a new brick building with gymnasium which still 
serves as headquarters for the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth 
grades. 

A high school building was erected in 1915 with a basement 
gymnasium and served the community well for many years. 
Interest in basketball was high during the 20's and 30's, and 
some very fine teams represented Wellington in area com- 
petition. In 1941 a very large and modern gymnasium was built 
as an addition to the original building. 

In the late 30's and early 40's much discussion was held in 
regard to the discontinuance of the one-room school buildings. 
This consolidation was accomplished, and bus transportation of 
pupils to a central point became necessary. In 1947, con- 
solidation of schools became popular and the territory of Prairie 
Green and Lovejoy Townships banded together into a one-unit 
school district. The one-room school houses soon disappeared, 
and a new grade school building was erected at Greer in Prairie 
Green Township. This building now accommodates the first and 
second grades for the entire school district. 

Prior to 1920. the township roads were taken care of through 
the help of farmers who worked in their spare time with teams. 
wagons, and scoops. The township itself also used graders with 



Lovejoy Township 



steam engines to pull these machines. In the 20's rock was 
shipped in by railroad car, and those persons owning teams and 
gravel wagons were paid to unload the cars and transport the 
material to various roads. In 1936 a sizeable bond issue was 
passed, and for the first time every farmer had access to an 
improved gravel road to market. 

In 1919 the Dixie Highway was constructed and a hard road 
was built to connect Wellington with the new highway. This road 
to town embraced the full length of Main Street to the east edge 
of town. In constructing this road, a cement mixer, propelled by 
steam power, was used. In order to provide water for this steani 
operation and for the cement mixing, a pipe was laid along side 
of the road to a nearby creek. A narrow gauge railroad track 
was built from the town to the road building site, and material 
was hauled for road building by small freight cars. 

About 1881 a railroad spur from the main line was constructed 
from a point about one and three-fourths miles north of town in a 
westerly direction to serve the towns of Alonzo. Hickman. 
Goodwine. Claytonville. and Cissna Park. A train ac- 
commodating both passengers and freight made two round trips 
a day from Cissna Park. This train did a considerable amount of 
switching at all points along the way and served a useful pur- 
pose for many years. Many high school students living along this 
new line rode the train to attend high school at Wellington. 

A large hotel in Wellington operated until 1920. It had twenty- 
five rooms and catered to salesmen and others who came to 
town on business. These early-day salesmen, in order to cover 
territory not served by railroads, hired teams and buggies from 
the livery stable to make their selling trips to nearby towns. 

The village had street lights in the early days, using first 
kerosene lamps; later gas lights were used, and finally in 1920 
electricity became available to everyone. 

Lovejoy Township as a township was eligible to observe its 
100th Anniversary in April of 1968. 

Fountain Creek 
Township 

From History of Iroquois County 
Compiled by John Dowling 

Fountain Creek Township is the center of the southern tier of 
townships in Iroquois County and is bordered on the south by 
Vermilion County. Lovejoy is on the east, Ash Grove township 
on the north and Pigeon Grove on the west. 

The town of Fountain Creek was created following a petition 
signed by twenty or niore legal voters of the town of Ash Grove. 
The County board of Supervisors heard the petition. After legal 
posting of notice including legal description of the area to be 
included, all preambles, the resolution was Qdopted by the board 
on Tuesday. September 15, 1868. 





General store in Claytonville, 
destroyed by fire in 1920. 



Illinois. This building was 



Depot and grain elevator in Goodwine, Illinois in 1900. This is the 
oldest Farmer's Elevator in Illinois that has been in continuous 
use and still is in 1971. 



These pioneers used every effort to establish schools, chur- 
ches, government, and improved roads. One by one churches 
were established, moved, and united. The present United 
Brethren Church of Claytonville, was dedicated December 21, 
1912: the new Apostolic Christian Church was dedicated October 
23, 1949; Goodwine Methodist Church, the oldest one in the area, 
was dedicated in 1872 and has been added to and improved over 
the years. 

Earliest history mentioned numerous one-room schools — 
Burden School, Judy School, Carey School, Leemon School, 
Rudd, Fountain Creek, and Goodwine School which was 
established in 1884 and continued in use until 1960 when its 
closing made Iroquois County one of the first in Illinois to 
abandon all one-roon\ schools. The school districts have all been 
absorbed into consolidated districts outside the township. 

The first post office, established by the United States Postal 
Department on November 23. 1874, in the home of Jehu Judy, 
was given the name Seemly. The mail was brought by post rider 
from Wellington. The old post office records kept by Mr. Judy 
show it was closed at the end of the first quarter, March 31, 1883, 
following completion of the railroad branch. Post offices were 
established in Goodwine and Claytonville with mail coming in 
by train. 

The building of the Wellington to Cissna Park branch of the C 
& E I railroad opened transportation in 1882 and was a great 
asset for shipment of agricultural products to market. Then in 
1903 when the Woodland to St. Louis line was opened from north 
to south, additional transportation facilities were provided. 

The greatest resources of this township are agricultural 
products. There is excellent farmland, fine dairy and beef 
herds, hogs and sheep. Grain farming has developed over the 
years, and with it the establishn^ent of elevators and grain 
companies to meet the needs of grain farming. 

At present there are three elevators in operation — Fountain 
Creek. Claytonville, and Goodwine. This last named grain 
company is the oldest Farmers' Elevator in the state of Illinois 
that has been in continuous operation since it was organized and 
incorporated in 1889. 

The once-swamp prairie land has been tiled by the owners and 
drainage districts established. The general slope of the land is 
toward the north, with very little timber except a small belt 
along the streams. The stream from which the township derived 
its name was once called Bussing Creek, but one of the earliest 
settlers not liking the name changed it to Fountain Creek, and 
since it has ren\ained. 

Wilfiani Goodwine. for whom the village of Goodwine was 
named, owned at one time around one thousand acres of land in 
the area. He was active in organizing the township government 
and served in some offices in it. 

William Clayton, for whom the village of Claytonville was 
named, owned many acres of land as well as an elevator in 
Claytonville. 




Best Wishes to 
The Hoopeston 

Centennial Celebration 

100 Years Of Progress 
1871-1971 

W. A. READ PONTIAC-BUICK extends to 
the visitors a Welcome to stop by and in- 
spect our facilities while attending the 
Centennial Celebration. 

Hoopeston 

Centennial Celebration 

July 18-24, 1971 

W. A. READ 
PONTIAC-BUICK 

SALES & SERVICE 
424 N. Dixie Highway Hoopes+on, Illinois 

Phone 217-283-6688 



Complete 

Vending Service 



COFFEE - CANDY 
CIGARETTES - DRINKS 



fDISTRIBUTORS OF PLUMBING • HEATING • AIR CONDITIONING/ 1610 North Gilbert Street 

Danville, Illinois • Telephone 442-6060 



i^.lD.M^kWV, a^Ccr. 




Prairie Green Township 

From History of Iroquois County Compiled by John Dowling 



Prairie Green Township is located in the southeast corner of 
Iroquois County. No creeks or rivers transverse this township; 
the north fork of the Verniilion River cuts off the southeast 
corner, and just north of this fork is a ridge. The water on the 
south flows south toward the Wabash River. 

The early settlers chose this high ground to take up residence, 
the first settlers coming in the early I850's. Robert Finch canie 
and settled in the southeast part of the township in 1853. Also at 
about the same time, Abner Mitchell, Kendall Shankland. R. 
Adsit, and Mr. Pixley settled. 

Prairie Green was at first a part of Crab Apple Township, now 
Stockland. The legal division took place in the winter of 1858. 
Kendall Shankland. Robert Finch. H. C. Smith, and a few others 
were the leading men in obtaining the independence of Crab 
Apple and forming Prairie Green. 

The very first settlers in the county settled near the streams 
and timbers. Few pioneers were brave enough to squat out on 
the prairies because many thought then that the prairies would 
never be completely settled. The few that came found that deer 
were so plentiful that they were never without venison. The 
settlers that lived here would mount a horse bareback and in- 
dulge in the invigorating sports of chasing wolves or running 
down a deer. 

In 1857 John Greer began to break sod in the southwest corner, 
although he did not live there until some years afterward. 
Breaking sod in those days was a good business for the favored 
few who owned a ''breaking" plow. Designed for five or six 
oxen, the breaker was a large plow cutting a furrow from twenty 
inches to two feet. The depth was regulated by a lever, and 
considerable skill was needed when starting the first furrow, 
often a half mile or more in length. 

As soon as the first grass began to appear in the spring, the 
season for plowing began and did not end until July. Such large 
farmers as Finch and Shankland had one or more of these 
breaking plows running. After doing their own work, they would 
break for their neighbors, charging three to four dollars per 
acre. 

The teams were allowed to feed on the grasses they were 
plowing under, usually being "coralled" after dark to prevent 
straying. No one had the idea that the prairie sod could be 
plowed with horses. This was the reason that the prairies were 
not settled more rapidly at first. As soon as it was discovered 
that two or three horses with a ten or twelve-inch plow could 
turn nearly as niuch as an ox team, the prairies were soon 
dotted with little shanties and neat cottages and the era of real 
iniprovement began. 

The first road was the old Attica road, running in a northwest 
direction toward Milford. This road had to go around ponds, 
sloughs, and marshes: therefore, the road ran along the higher 
ground. 

John Greer owned about 1000 acres in this township. When he 
died, in honor of his son. he willed the money for the erection of 
Greer college in Hoopeston as well as an endowment of land to 
maintain it. In addition, he left money for the erection of Greer 
Hall at the cross road of the township. A sum of money was left, 
the interest of which was to maintain the building. Greer Hall 
was erected in 1893. This was the voting precinct until a few 
years ago when it was torn down and replaced by a consolidated 
grade school. A fire station, erected across the road from it, is 
used as the township building. 

There have never been any stores or post off ice in the limits of 
Prairie Green. A railroad transversing the township north and 
south in the center of the township, was built in the early 1900's. 
Formerly the Wabash Railroad, it is now known as the 
Milwaukee Road. 

Among the early settlers were J. Crawford Pugh, a 
blacksmith, and a miller whose mill was located in the east part 
of the township near the Finch Place. Horse power was used to 
grind corn. He conceived the idea of making a huge wheel to be 



turned by the wind. He gathered all the men available to raise it. 
It was successful for a while, but, because of the uncertainty of 
the wind, it was a failure. He also kept a small stock of 
groceries. The place acquired the quaint name of Goose Nibble. 

Much flax was raised in the early days. In 1870 Samuel Hazel, 
who owned a lot of land in the southwest corner of the township, 
raised 1000 bushels of flax seed. Upon delivery of the flax to 
Danville, he received two dollars a bushel. Agriculture and 
stock raising have always been the chief industries in the 
township. 

While speaking of industries in this area, mention must be 
made of a broom factory of Robert Finch in the southeast part of 
the township. His son. Fremont, was superintendent of the 
working force. The low price of broom corn induced Mr. Finch to 
try manufacturing. Out of his crop in 1879 he made about 350 
dozen broonis. An expert broom maker, he made his own 
machine. 

Prairie Green township in the early days was in the front rank 
among educational interests of the county. In 1858 the township 
was organized into four districts. Prairie Green and Lamont 
School buildings were built soon afterward. Round Top a few 
years later. Round Top became more famous than all the others 
as here so many organizations were organized. Also the First 
Church of Christ and the Methodist Churches had their first 
meetings. Round Top stood where the Wiiiiam Gurley home now 
stands. It got its name because at a distance the roof had a round 
appearance. The building was octagonal in shape as was the 
roof. 

The Prairie Green Quadrille Band, organized in 1879. con- 
sisted of 12 instruments; three first violins, two second violins, 
three German flutes, two flageolets, and two violcellos. The 
leader was R. G. Cowan; treasurer. H. W. Cowan; and 
secretary. R. N. Benholm. 

Later in the I870's, there were seven school districts. Round 
Top was replaced with Mapie Grove about a mile northeast. 
There were also Victor. Prairie Green. ViKow Brook. College 
Center, (nicknamed Frog Pond) Lamont, and Pleasant Hill. Old 
records which were found in these schoolhouses reveal that 
school convened in September and closed during the month of 
November, December. January, and February, the winter 
term, enabled older pupils to attend. Some were twenty-one 
years old. Often there were as many as sixty attending. The 
spring term of April. May, and June was attended mostly by the 
younger ones. Only one school house now replaces the old ones 
built in 1950. The new school house now stands where the old 
John Greer Hall stood and is used for the two first grades of 
Prairie Green and Lovejoy Townships. All other grades, in- 
cluding high school, go to Wellington. 

The religious history of Prairie Green is perhaps similar to all 
other communities of the area. A Methodist class was formed at 
Abner Mitchell's home early in 1858. There was preaching 
around at the homes, but after the school houses were built, 
meetings were held in them. Every winter revivals of great 
interest would take place in these school houses. A Sunday 
School was organized in 1878 at the Maple Grove School. J. W. 
Dijcon was superintendent for a number of years. M. Garrison, 
secretary. In the early 1880's the Pleasant Hill Methodist Church 
was constructed. A small society of United Brethren met in the 
Willow Brook school. The Prairie Green Church of Christ, 
organized about 1858. met at first in homes, at Round Top. and in 
1875 a building, costing approximately one thousand dollars, 
was erected on section 12. It was fenown at that time as the Hope 
Church of Christ but later was changed to the Prairie Green 
Church of Christ. The old school houses are gone and the 
Pleasant Hill Church closed in 1964. Instead of the old Hope 
Church of Christ, a new Prairie Green Church of Christ was 
erected near the crossroads at Greer. This building, costing 
$103,000, was dedicated July 6. 1958. 



Our most sincere wish 
for HOOPESTON: 

Have a Gr-r-r-reat 
100th Birthday! 



Times Change.... 

but integrity endures / 




We were just CUBS In 1942 but we've 
had the pleasure of growing alongside a 
wonderful town. 

Hoopeston 
Lions Club 




We pride ourselves In pro- 
viding the most modern 
service to the area. 



Established 

1916 by 

the late 

Paul E. Weber 



OUR BEST WISHES TO 
HOOPESTON ON ITS CENTENNIAL 

WEBER'S DRUG STORE 



221 E. MAIN TEL. 283-5137 



FARM EQUIPMENT 
TRACTORS TRUCKS 




Dedicated Sales & Service 

The Farmer's Growth 

Is 
Our First Concern 

HOOPESTON 
IMPLEMENT CO. 



Let's Celebrate 

our 100th Birthday! 



DRAUGHT 
BEER 

10« 



Old Fashion 

Bargain Day — 

Tuesday, 

July 20 




Coleman & Marvel Norton, owners 



We welcome Centennial visitors. 

MAIN STREET INN 



Since 1947 



306 E. Main 



Tel. 283-5610 



Pigeon Grove Township 



From History of Iroquois County 
Compiled by John Dowling 

Pigeon Grove Township is bounded on the north by Ash Grove 
and on the south by Ford and Vermilion counties. Pigeon Grove 
was the last township in Iroquois County to be organized, in the 
year 1876. 

It has always been a guess as to why this area was so long 
overlooked. It was not unknown because many different cattle 
raisers grazed their herds on the rich prairie grass and then 
drove them to Chicago or sent them by train to other places. The 
area lay between Fountain Creek Township and Loda Township. 
An Indian trail which was a much traveled route ran through it 
from Blue Grove to Spring Creek at Buckley, a distance of 25 
miles. The Illinois Central Railroad, which was finished through 
Illinois in September 1856. becanie interested in this area and 
helped to develop this township at this time. 

Because of the keen business interests of the railroad, a plan 
was evolved which brought cattle raisers into a mutual 
agreement by which large herds of cattle were brought to Loda 
and Buckley, unloaded and allowed to graze on the railroad 
right of way until they were ready for market, then reloaded and 
sent into Chicago by I. C. Railroad. This plan worked for some 
time, and if the cattle invaded other property, there was no 
special fuss made about it. These cattle came from Texas and 
Oklahoma, or Indian Territory, as it was then called. This plan 
worked until a disease called Spanish Fever broke out among 
the Texas cattle. Many died and it spread to the cattle belonging 
to the farmers around this area. This loss of cattle greatly 
concerned the farmers, and legal help was employed. They were 
successful in stopping the shipment of cattle to this area by 
interstate legal intervention. Soon things settled down and local 
farniers pastured their cattle wherever it seemed most con- 
venient. 

Then a firm named Milk. Burchard and Taylor, from Indiana 
bought 1700 head of cattle in Louisiana'. This state had not been 
excluded in the interstate legal battle which was supposed to be 
settled. The cattle were unloaded at Loda and grazed on the 
Illinois Central right of way as well as in the Pigeon Grove area. 
This time a disease called Milk Fever again attacked the cattle, 
and the local cattle began to die. There was consternation 
followed by fights and battles and legal proceedings. The local 
people hired Addison Goodell of Loda and John A. Koplin of 
Buckley to represent them. Mr. Milk came with Attorney T. P. 
Bonfield of Kankakee to represent him. There were many 
ciaims and Mr. Milk tried to pay them all. There were even 
claims where cattle never were owned. The "Cattle War" was a 
long tradition in that area and ended the importation of foreign 
cattle and also ended a certain discontent and disagreement 
locally. 

All this time Wiiiiam Cissna, who came to this area in 1866 and 
who with his brother Stephen had bought 1200 acres of land in the 
Pigeon Grove area, was feeding about 700 cattle a year besides 
about 500 hogs. He was interested in the area and helped to 
organize this territory into a township. He gave his support but 
he never wanted any part of politics. In 1875 a petition was 
signed by 100 persons to organize a new township between Loda 
and Fountain Creek Townships. Supervisor Carey presented the 
petition but it was turned down. 

Another petition was filed asking that the new township be 
named Grange, but it too was turned down. Finally another 
petition with 130 names and one from Fountain Creek Township 
signed by 62 members requested the new township be named 
Pigeon Grove. William Flemming and Moses Stroup worked 
hard to get the petition granted and it was finally granted in 
1876. 

The first election was held in Zion school. Wi//iam Flemming 
was the first supervisor; Clark Martin, clerk: J. W. Gosslee, 
assessor: Myron Cunningham, collector: J. W. Gosslee and 
Moses Stroup. justices of the peace. 

The name of Pigeon Grove was given because of the many 
pigeons that inhabited the grove. There were hundreds of them 



and branches could be heard breaking with loads of them. The 
township was soon divided into farms, and in 1881 William 
Cissna who had been working to bring a branch railroad to this 
area tried the Illinois Central. They refused to consider his 
proposal. Then he with two businessmen and cattle raisers, 
Wiiiiam Clayton and Wiiiiam Goodwine went to the Chicago and 
Eastern Illinois Railroad. They must have pleaded their case 
very effectively, for their request was granted. The branch was 
built in the northeast corner of the township, and on January 1, 
1881, the silver spike was driven in. 

The next day activities began, and William "Uncle Bill" 
Cissna proceeded to build his town. The plat was made — a lot 
allowed for a park right in the center of town. The hotel with 
thirty rooms was started on the east corner of Second Street and 
Garfield Avenue. This was to be his home and he called it the 
Park House. He lived there until his death in 1897. Before this he 
had lived in the first house built in the grove. The lumber for the 
house was brought from Chicago by his brother. Stephen, who 
lived there. It is still standing in the small grove east of Route 49. 
south of the town and belongs to the Farney family. 

The first building to be completed was a restaurant on the 
corner of Koplin Avenue and Third Street. Koplin Avenue was 
named for John A. Koplin of Buckley who was Mr. Cissna's 
banker. 




Park House Hotel which was located north of the Cissna Park 
State Bank in Cissna Park. 

The next building to be finished was the store building on the 
corner of Second and Garfield streets. This building was erected 
by Isaac Miller Hamilton and Tunis Young, both coming from 
Ash Grove Township. They ran a successful general store and 
after a few years decided to start a bank. With the help of Uncle 
Bill Cissna and his patronage the business became a big suc- 
cess. Other businesses started: Sylvester Rose erected a hard- 
ware store that still stands and is the Masonic Hall now: an 
elevator was built across from the depot. It was the first one and 
was built by James Busey. Business was on the way. 

In the meantime the to,vnship was being settled. Owing to the 
proximity of the Lake Erie and Western Railroad that ran from 
Peoria to Tipton, Indiana, travel was convenient and brought 
from the Peoria area, Morton, and Gridley a clan of immigrants 
from Germany, France, Switzerland and Ireland. Many of them 
were Mennonites and brought their customs with them. Land 
was cheap and the new comers were frugal and knew how to 
work. Their limited European way of life had trained them to be 
frugal. The ponds were drained. A tile factory built in 1884 by 
George Sanger made tile from a clay pit on the west end of the 
village. It was a big business: twenty men were employed, 
rolling the mud into tiles and then burning them in kilns for 48 
hours. There was a great demand for them, and often wagons 
woufd be lined up a half mile to get their turn at a load. Even- 
tually the clay was exhausted and another pit was dug south of 



the tile plant. This was exhausted and after the factory burned 
down. Mr. Sanger who had been the first mayor and a very 
respected citizen, moved to Hoopeston with his family. Later 
they went to Texas and made tile there. 

Cattle raising still continued, and flax. oats, and corn were the 
principal crops. Flax was soon discontinued because it took too 
much strength from the soil. Schools were built. Cissna Park 
built a two-room school, followed later by a brick school, and in 
1940 by a Community high school. 

The Young and Hamilton Bank remained in business. Mr. 
Hamilton studied Law under Attorney Free P. Morris of Wat- 
seka and became an attorney. Later he was State Represen- 
tative. When Mr. Cissna died. Isaac Miller Hamilton was ap- 
pointed his executor with his bond set at $500,000. Since there 
were no bonding companies then, he went through the district to 
get all the signatures he could on his bond, and thirty-seven 
farmers signed it. 

In 1904 the Young and Hamilton bank sold to the Amsler 
Brothers. Clyde and Art. of Broadlands. They were here only a 
short time when (hey sold the bank to E. L. Weise of Broadlands. 
He brought with him Sam O. Brown as cashier. Mr. Brown. 
Supervisor of the township for a number of years, was in- 
fluential in bringing State Highway 49 through the village. The 
bank closed during the depression but was brought back into 
business by the Fredericks, a family of Paxton. Other super- 
visors were Joe Burt, Dr. W. R. Roberts, Albert Zbinden, and 
Aaron Bauer since 1945. 

The township has many rich farms. The buildings are well 
kept, the land is well taken care of, and although it was the last 
to be organized, its resources are tops in the county. Land that 
was bought from the government for $2 an acre now sells up to 
$700 per acre. The revenue gained from sales tax always rates 
above any other town of the same size anywhere. 

The railroad still carries out much of the grain as well as 
trucks. Livestock is being raised to a greater extent than it was 
twenty-five years ago, and many of the smaller farms are being 
merged into larger ones. 

Churches play an important part in the community's welfare. 
The Apostolic Christian Church, which is the largest located in 
Fountain Creek township, holds a membership of over 400 
members, and the majority of rural people have built this 
church. The Union Church has stood on the corner of Church and 
Third Streets since lil91 and is inter-denominational. Other 
churches include the Methodist Church on the corner of Fourth 
and Koplin. the Lutheran Church on Fourth Street, and the 
Christian Apostolic on Garfield. 




Main Street in Cissna Parl<, Illinois m lavv. 
buggy is the late Dr. W. R. Roberts. 



the man in the 



Ross Township 
and Rossville 



from "History Under Our Feet" 

Most accounts of the founding of Rossville speak of how the 
pioneers moved north into the area attracted by the good timber 
and prairie lands. The crossroads of the Chicago road with one 
from Attica to Paxton seemed an ideal place to establish a 
village. The North Fork of the Vermilion River ran just west of 
the chosen spot. 

In 1829. John Liggett came to the vicinity and built a place 
where travelers often stopped, but he did not call the building a 
hotel. The area was first named Liggett's Grove, in his honor. 
Nine years later Alvan Gilbert, who had moved into the 
northern limits of what became the town of Rossville. purchased 
the Liggett farm. The next year a post office called North Fork 
was established, and Gilbert became postmaster. Once the mail 
which was brought by stagecoach from Danville was delayed for 
six weeks because of high water. Mr. Gilbert called in some men 
to help him sort and distribute the mail — which proved to be one 
letter. 

The township, and later the town, got its name from Jacob 
Ross, who once owned a water mill on East Fork. For a while 
Ross Mill was the only store in the vicinity and became a 
meeting place of the scattered residents for visitation and 
matters of public interest. There was a niove to name the new 
township North Fork, as that was the name of the first post 
office, but the majority voted for the name of Ross. The name 
might have been Rio; from 1838 to 1842 mail for the area was 
distributed from Rio. a place just south of Hoopeston. 

Although the only official names of the village were Liggett's 
Grove and later Rossville, for a time the very descriptive name 
of Henpeck was used. No one seems to know why. 

About two miles north of Liggett's Grove on the North Fork 
Stream. George and William Bicknell established a homestead, 
and then, as traffic increased along Hubbard's Trail, they 
erected Bicknell Inn in 1845. Tradition says that Abraham 
Lincoln was a patron of Bicknell House. 

The Trail was a way to get the hogs, turkeys, and other 
livestock of the community to market in Chicago. Hogs were 
kept until they were fat enough not to run away but not fat 
enough to butcher because if they were too fat they could not 
stand the trip to Chicago. Turkeys were driven to market. Each 
night they would go to roost in the trees while the men camped 
on the ground and waited until morning. 

The coming of the railroad brought many more settlers into 
the region, and Ross Township was divided in 1862 into two 
parts. There was a move to call the north part Lyon, but the 
secretary of state reported there was already a Lyon township 
in Cook County, so the citizens selected the name of Grant. This 
is supposed to be the first honor to the then little-known U.S. 
Grant. The southern part became Ross. Much later, in 1925. 
because of bickering between neighboring villages, another 
division was made so that today a new township. South Ross, is 
separated from the area about the city o/Ross\'ille. 



Other Towns in Grant 

Near Burr Oak Grove, just north of Cheneyvillc. stands a 
stone marker which was on the trail from Williamsport to 
Chicago. This is the only land mark left of the time when Indian.'i 
and pioneers roved the vast prairie land. 

Five miles east of Hoopeston. Cheneyville was founded in 
1871 and laid out in lots in 1880. It was named for Mr. J. H. 
Cheney, vice president of the Lake Eric and Western Railroad. 

In the history of other towns we read how some land owner 
gave land so that a railroad would pass through the town in 
which he lived. In Cheneyville the men also gave work. Tade 
Layden donated two days' worl^. James Swaner helped haul 



Other Towns in Grant 

ties. Thus began the village of Cheneyville. 

Telephones canie to Cheneyville in 1888, and soon the system 
had to be enlarged. Everyone wanted a telephone. The new 
instrument replaced the old telegraphs which had been placed in 
the bank for use during the day and at the newspaper office for 
the night. Townspeople had placed them there to make it easier 
to call a doctor. The school was built in 1885 but is closed now, as 
children attend school in Hoopeston. 

One former resident of the village will be remembered for 
words she penned. Ina Duley Ogdon, writer of many hymns, 
advised countless Sunday school students to "brighten the 
corner where you are." 

An old scrap book contains this about one of the early citizens 
of Cheneyville: 

"There's Zachariah Fetters, 
A man of great renown. 

Who runs a little blacksmith shop 
In the northern part of town. 

He also keeps a boarding house. 
And his meals are all in style; 

And while he has his troubles. 
He greets you with a smile." 

Prospect City once existed east of Hoopeston. It was laid out 
by a Chicago surveyor for Janet Taft. a relative of President 
William Howard Taft, in 1857. Ransome Murdock, William 
Pells, and Leander Britt were the first settlers, and the first 
industry was the distilling of whiskey. The town died a slow 
death in 1880. 

Weaver City was platted for George Weaver on his farm east 
of Cheneyville in 1872, but that is about all there is to the history 
of the village. 



Rankin 




Alvan Gilbert, founder of Alvin, born 1810. 



Prospect City 

Prospect City was laid out by Ransom R. Murdock, William H. 
Pells, Leander Britt, Benjamin Sites and Dryden Donelly. This 
village was located on the south half of the southwest quarter of 
section 8, the northeast quarter of section 18, N., 20 acres of the 
west one half of the northwest quarter of section 17, and the 
southeast quarter of section 7, and the west half (less twenty 
acres of north end) of the northwest quarter of section 17, lying 
in township 23, N. of R, 10 E. of the 3rd Principal Meridian. The 
plat of this village was recorded July 31, 1857. (Near the Indiana 
State line where route 9 is located today) 



Weaver City 



A city which came into being and disappeared without a 
history, was laid out by George Weaver where the L. B. & M. 
railroad crosses the Indiana line. The town plat was recorded 
and afterward vacated, and consisted of four blocks on the north 
half of section 6 (23-10). 



If the outcome of a quarrel had been different when the town 
was founded, Rankin probably would have been located west of 
its present site. The dispute which began in 1872 between W. H. 
Pells and W. A. Rankin concerned the location of a Lake Erie 
and Western Railroad station. Pells was a member of the board 
of directors, and Rankin was a wealthy landowner. The solution 
was that two stations were built, one at Rankin and one at 
Pellsville about one and a half miles west. The citizens of 
Pellsville raised $3,500 to get their depot, but when the narrow 
gauge railroad went into the hands of a receiver, Rankin won the 
long battle. It was Pells who laid out the town in 1888. 

Under Rankin's leadership his town grew and won the contest 
for the post office location. Pellsville declined and gradually 
became a ghost town. 

For many years Rankin was a railroad (own. The L E & W 
(later the Nickel Plate) located shops there. However, in 1932 
the shops moved to Frankfort. Indiana, and some of the town's 
citizens went also. 




W. A. Rankin 



Gilbert 

It was in 1872 that a station was made on the Chicago & 
Danville Railroad a mile south of the present site of Alvin. This 
was named for the progressive citizen of that part of the country 
called Gilbert. L. T. Dixon laid out the town of Gilbert on section 
8 (21-11) and Bruce Peters and D. McKibben started a store. 
Peters was made postmaster. John Davison afterwards bought 
it and put in a stock of dry goods. Dr. G. W. Akers started the 
drug business in 1875 and remained there a year, when the 
narrow gauge road made a crossing a mile to the north and the 
post office, station, stores and all moved to this point. Gilbert 
became an abandoned town, but the new town built in its place 
must be named. So great was the appreciation of his neighbors 
for Mr. Gilbert that his name was kept for the other town, and it 
was called Alvin. Now Mr. Gilbert always persisted in the 
spelling of his given name with an ."a" and the devotion of those 
who named the new town went to the extent of spelling it in the 
same way. The post office department knew how to spell and 
refused to accept this spelling, but spelled the town "Alvin". So 
it is that this town in Vermilion County has the spelling of Alvan 
as a railroad station and of Alvin as a post office. Anyone can 
give either spelling as he may choose and be correct. Alvan 
Gilbert had lived in this neighborhood for ten years and had 
large land interests there, and if he demoralized the or- 
thography of the community, it is too late a day to make any 
change. Mr. Gilbert was the man who made a settlement at the 
site of Rossville. possibly in 1862. That was the date of his 
coming to this place, which was then called Henpeck, the reason 
for which is unknown. This included the settlement made first 
by Mr. Bicknell in the earlier history of the country. There was a 
point of timber running into the prairie at this place where Mr. 
Bicknell had settled. 



East Lynn 



Lost City Names 



"East Lynn Tonight" was a sign that drew theater-goers for 
years. The play was based on a novel written by Mrs. Anna 
Stephens. The name of the novel — and play — is perpetuated in 
Vermilion County by a small village, founded in 1872. 

In East Lynn. Henry Ludden was the first station agetU. the 
first postniaster. the first to operate a store. The first business 
was a hotel which burned in 1911. 

The grain business became the backbone of the economy of 
the village, and the East Lynn Methodist Church became the 
center of religious and social life. 

The church was founded in 1869. Three years after the village 
was incorporated the people built the first church building. In 
1914 they moved into their present building. 




East Lynn Public School, built In 1915 

Butler Township 

Butler Township was separated from the rest of Middlefork 
Township in 1840 and named for "Old" General Benjamin F. 
Butler, "cock-eyed hero of the Civil War.' 

THE FIRST HOTEL 

The first Hotel was built in Leed's addition (Hoopeston's West 
Side) at a cost of $7,700.00. The hotel has 21 sleeping rooms, each 
with stove and furniture, the name was The Hibbard House. 

Feb. I. 1872: A Wolf was chased thru the streets by R. Mc- 
Cracken. He cornered the wolf or visa versa and before long 
there were 6 mounted men giving chase. One man was on a 
donkey and he was armed with a pitch-fork. The howling wolf 
was finally driven away by the shouts and shots of the men. 



July 4, 1872: There is a private dancing party tonite on the 
North Side. Fire works this evening. The Soda fountain is going 
full blast at the Union Depot and a great quantity of cakes were 
baked by Spoor & Tucker. Hoopeston's baseball team was 
beaten by Danville's team on July 4. 1872. 

May 15. 1873: Mr. Spinning will spare no pains to make the 
post office commodious and creditable, and we feel sure it will 
compare favorably with others of higher rank. 
NOTE: The Chronicle building was on the corner of Main and 
Bank Streets. The Chronicle was on the second floor over the 
Union Bakery. Apparently the post office moved into some 
location on the first floor. 

It is evident that the postmaster, Mr. Spinning was involved in 
other activities and used the post office as his personal office. 
Advertisements were carried in the newspaper stating that he 
sold books of all kinds, notions, toys, pictures, and frames, 
stationary, initial paper, envelopes, writing desks, etc. One such 
advertisement was published in the April 1 7th issue of the North 
Vermilion Chronicle-1873. 



It was in 1871 that Hoopeston was laid out. The fight over the 
possession of the site by the two companies who were building 
the two railroads was a bitter one and ended in the platting of 
three towns: Hoopeston laid out in July where Main street is 
now: Leeds laid out where later the Hibbard House was built, 
and North Hoopeston comprised all the land north and west of 
the railroad. The first town was platted in the spring of 1871, the 
next was platted in November of that year, and the third was 
platted in the same year. A great factor in the growth of 
Hoopeston was the organization of the Hoopeston Agricultural 
Society. This was formed in 1873 and the stock was fixed at 
$5,000. and afterward raised to $10,000. 

The Hoopeston Library and Lecture Association was 
organized in December 30. 1872. and Hon. Lyford Marston 
elected president. After the car shops of the Eastern Illinois 
Railroad were built near the junction, the demand for an in- 
corporated village of the territory lying to the northeast of that 
locality. A petition was filed in the county court June 25. 1874, 
asking the court to direct the holding of an election to vote for or 
against village incorporation, setting forth that there were over 
400 people living within said limits. The petition contained the 
names of sixty voters who lived within said limits. The petition 
was granted and an election was called for July 6. 1874. At this 
election there were thirty-one votes cast, thirty for and one 
against the incorporation. An election was held on July 31 for six 
trustees to perfect the organization. At this election there were 
thirty-four votes cast. In 1875 there were sixty-one votes cast. 
When the village was incorporated the people living there were 
largely Germans, but that did not last long, since the working 
men who have come into the shops are by no means all Ger- 
mans, and other nationalities find their way to this village. 
While the entployment of its citizens were men who had little 
farms and truck patches, there were conditions which attracted 
the German settler who remained the German all his life. Thus 
"Hoopeston won out and "Leeds" and "North Hoopeston" lost 
their titles. 

Streets! 1904) 

"Great pressure is being Drought to bear upon the local board 
to order the paving of Lincoln street from Euclid avenue west to 
Fifth avenue. While the board had not yet reached a decision on 
its street, it is likely to be ordered. This string of pavement will 
be a little more than a mile long." 

"Work is already in progress on Market street from Mc- 
Cracken avenue north to the city limits, and on Seminary 
avenue from Market street east to the city limits. These two 
pavements are just a fraction short of one mile in length. 

"Counting the pavement already laid, which is fully six and 
three-quarters miles long: the pavement already decided upon, 
and the pavememt which is likely to be laid, we will have an 
aggregate of eleven miles, as follows: 

Pavement already laid 6% miles 

Pavement being laid, short 1 miles 

Pavement decided upon 2^4 niiles 

Pavement in prospect, long 1 

Total 11 miles 

"It is safe to say that not another town of five thousand 

inhabitants in the State of Illinois, possibly not in the world, has 

eleven miles of street pavement. And possibly no other town in 

the world needed it so badly. However that may be, if is also 

certain that in no other town is the pavement ta.x paid so 

willingly, for it has been demonstrated time and again that the 

money paid for street paving is the most profitable real estate 

investnient possible to make, yeilding a larger and more certain 

profit than any other investment. Possibly the cost of the 

pavement seems a little bit heavy just at the time, but the 

system of dividing it into ten equal annual payments makes it 

come easy. People who were not fixed well financially, and who 

have paid out on pavements already laid, unite in saying that. 

while they were opposed to the pavement when it was first 

suggested, and did all in their power to prevent it, they are now 

glad it was put in, and would not have taken up for twice its cost 

laid down all in one lump in cold cash. " 



k^>^m^m^m^<»^i»^m^m^m^m^m^m^»^>,^m,^m^m^*>^<>^'m^t>^m^^,^'<>.fmi^,^*,,^>..0^,,^^>^^..^^ 



Our Ancestors first broke this soil. 

Want to St-r-r-etch Yours? 

Remember when cattle provided 

most of the product and 

the farmer relied 

on horses to spread it? 



Not So TODAY! 

Modern materials »««V 

provide the 

"stretch" 




r 



As sure as there's a tomorrow, 
SEARS can help you today! 

"We're goin' down to SEARS to pick up 
our telephone order!" 




and our 
up-to-date 
equipment 
will insure 




For as long as most of us can remember, there's always 
been a SEARS-ROEBUCK & Co. 

Order Now from our "WISHBOOK." 



that the job 
HOOPESTON isdoneto 

FERTILIZER CO. "''^"""' 




SEARS- 
ROEBUCK 
AND CO. 



Ron Gehrig, mgr. 

207 E. Main 

283-5561 




W. THOMPSON AVE. 
(Since 1946) 
Dalph - Earl - Ray Stipp, owners / RICHARD W. SEARS ALVAH C. ROEBUCK 

Hoopeston's Men in Uniform 



100 Years Old. 



We're Proud to have Served Such 



_i .'11 • f ? vve ru rruuu lu iid 

...and stdl growing! ^ p^^^^^^^.^^ ^ity! 



Since 1917 




We're happy to have 
been a part of Hoopeston's 
growth as general 
contractor for the 
recent school Im- 
provements and hospital 
nursing home addition. 




B. D. Hardy 

GENERAL CONTRACTOR 
381/2 N. Vermilion Danville, 




When Co. B was first organized In 1917, 
Hoopeston's men responded .... and have 
continued to serve for 54 years! 

TROOP B 

1st Sqdn., 194th Cavalry 
inols National Guard 
Danville, 



« 



Would you believe... 

1929 Tires at 1929 Prices? 








'I 



Yep! — 5.00/5.25/21 or 5.00/5.25/19 

Whitewalls:ni5,L,. 

(Slight Blemish) 
Centennial Week — July 18-24 Only 

FREY TIRE CO. 



WOOD 

FUNERAL HOME 

AIR CONDITIONED 
CALL 283-5128 

24-HOUR AMBULANCE SERVICE 
OXYGEN EQUIPPED 






2I4E. Penn 283-5571 «> 309 E. WASHINGTON 



We pay tribute 

to a great city! 



Sincere Wishes for 

a floppy celebrotioni 




For all your 

trucking and 

transfer needs, 

ship it by 

RAYLS 



RAYLS BROS. 
TRANSFER, Inc. 

North Dixie Hiway 283-6603 

Lloyd and "Boots" Rayls 



^^ 


Flowers for 5 
all occasions l 


^r 


Wholesale | 
and Retail 




< 
E N H O U S E 

1 


Established 


1913 


(Sandy and Bill Schuler) | 


S. Second Ave. 


TeL 283-6681 4 




Pioneer Names Appeared On The First 
Roster Of Citizen's Stockholders 

Following is a list of stockholders in the Citizen's Savings and Loan back in 
1894. You'll recognize many of them as former prominent citizens. 



James A. Cunningham 
W.J. Lateer A.S. Vancleave 

John L. Hamilton, Jr. 
Carrie Lahr Sadie Finley 

Nathan Bond V.C. Preston 

Charles 0. Williams 
J.O. Dixon Charles W. Warner 
H.B. Harper W.C. Cook 

Geo. W. Prutsman H.T. Hobson 
George A. Collings John York 
Charles A. Allen J.W. Heaton 
George R. Deatrich W.H. Lewis 
D.D. Gilman A.B. Burtnett 

Harry Cunningham W.P. Pierce 
R.A. Bayne Simon Rohren 

W.H. Elliott J.S. Decloss 

C.T. Putnam Thomas Kight 

N.E. Beaver Lillie E. Lewis 

George M. Dunlap Georgie Finley 
A.M. Sorey Lester Kight 

C.C. Bradford Charles R. Finley 
Ray Alexander E.R. Knox 



Further information on these 
pioneer citizens is not too readily 
available, but we do know a few 
things about some of them. 

On the original board of 
directors was Charles A. Allen, 
Charles C. Williams, Nathan 
Bond (secretary), H.B. Harper, 
W.J. Lateer, Joseph W. Heaton 
and George Prutsman. 

Charles Williams operated a 
shoe store. W.C. Cook a grocery. 
H.T. Hobson also a grocery. 
George W. Prutsman had a 
lumber yard. Nathan Bond, our 
first secretary was in the in- 
surance business, just as our 
present secretary, Tate Duley. 
A.S. Van Cleave was a clerk in 
Heaton & Evans Dry Goods. 

George Duley (Tate's dad) was 
a shareholder. Also Dr. L.W. 



Anderson. David Bodell was a 
merchant and also assistant post 
master. W.P. Pierce, mayor of 
Hoopestom from 1889 to 1893 is 
listed. John Heaton, mayor from 
1919 to 1925 was a stockholder. 

M.H. Lewis, a retired farmer, 
built part of the original Route 9. 
He was an uncle of Don Petry's. 
James Cunningham, Irma Dyer's 
grandfather was represented. 
John Hamilton was cashier of the 
First National Bank and W.J. 
Lateer was vice-president of the 
bank. 

Charles R. Finley, first 
president of the Vermilion 
County Farm Bureau, was in- 
cluded. From the same family 
was Addie Reece Finley, Marion 
Reece Finley, Margaret Alice 
Finley and Watts Finley. 



Dr. J.W. Heaton, father of Drs. 
Dick and Herb was on the roster, 
as was Charles Warner, father of 
Gladys Finch. John York was 
included and his wife, Mrs. Nora 
York, and his son Shirley York 
now lives at 848 E. Honeywell 
Ave. 

Charles T. Putnam was on the 
original list. The greater part of 
his career was spent in 
Hoopeston in the lumber, coal 
and planing mill business, 
which he sold in 1908. 

This is only a sketchy and 
partial list. The other old timers 
have passed from our ken, but 
are well remembered by 
relatives and friends. 

The current board at Citizens 
pays high tribute to these early 
pioneers. Without their far- 
sighted views, we would not be 
where we are today. 



And we're looking forward to many more good years.... 
HAPPY BIRTHDAY, HOOPESTON! 

Savings and Loan Association 



Phone 283-5548 



103 West Penn 



Hoopeston, Illinois 60942 



\St. Anthony's Roman Catholic Churchl 



St. Anthony's Roman Catholic Church was founded in Hoopeston in the year 1877. The parish was then a mission of Silman, with the 
spiritual needs of the Catholics in the community being taken care of by a visiting priest from a neighboring city. In this year, the growth 
of Catholics in numbers was sufficient to warrant the erection of a church. 



A MISSION OF PAPINEAU 

According to the Catholic directory, in 1895. Hoopeston was a mission of Papineau. The pastor of Papineau, 
the Reverend M. A. Mainville, became the first resident pastor of Hoopeston in 1897. Another church and 
rectory were built by Father Mainville after the first church was destroyed by a storm. 

Following Father Mainville, the pastors were: Reverend William Sellc in the years 1898-1902; Reverend 
Michael A. Welter 1902-1903; Rt. Reverend Monsignor Frederich Gahlman 1903-1929. 

Monsignor Gahlman was born in Clyman, Wisconsin on March 28, 1872, and was ordained a priest by the 
late Bishop O'Riley on June 26, 1901. His first assignment was the post of assistant pastor at Gilman, Illinois. 




FATHER MAINVILLE 




He was scarcely acquainted with the members cf his 
parish when he received the call from the Bishop again, 
sending him to Hoopeston. He arrived here in July 
1903. When he assumed the pastorate here, there 
was a little wooden church at the corner of South 
Third and Lincoln Streets. Four years later the first 
of his ambitions was realized when he completed a 
new brick church in 1907. The next great improve- 
ment was the parsonage, a brick residence next to 
the church on Third Street. The rectory was com- 
pleted In 1928. 



THE NEW RECTORY. 1928. 



1^^^ FIRST CHURCH, BUILT IN 1877. 



THE NEW CHURCH, BUILT IN 1907. 






Father Gahlman established the Ladles Altar and Rosary Society with Its 
main purpose being, to look after the altars and see that they were properly 
decorated on church holidays, also to take care of the linens and the cleaning 
of the church Itself. However the functions do not stop there as the ladies 
also organize the social functions and meetings around the diocese and in the 
parish. 

After Monsignor Gahlman, the Reverend Dennis Walsh was pastor, fol- 
lowed by Reverend F. X. Janssen In 1937. Reverend E. W. Flynn came to St. 
Anthony's In 1938. Father Flynn had served In several churches In central lllinals 
prior to his appointment In Hoopeston. While rummaging through old church 
records, (written mostly In French), Father Flynn discovered that the first bap- 
tismal services were held at St. Anthony's on April 20. 1888. and the first con- 
firmation was that of Matthew Jennett on September 13, 1895. 

Succeeding Father Flynn was Reverend John Kozel who stayed at St. 
Anthony's until Reverend Raymond J. Boyle assumed the parochial work. Under 
the direction of Father Boyle, the Interior of the church was redecorated to coin- 
cide with the modern era. The grounds of the church were redone to make St. 
Anthony's one of the most beautiful churchs In the city of Hoopeston. 



Lutheran Church 



Rev. Berthald of Danville called first meeting in summer of 
1943 because of a concern for the community the size of 
Hoopeston being without a Lutheran church since a large 
number of people of Scandanavian descent and Lutheran 
backgrounds were migrating to the area. 

The first meeting was held at the home of George Arnholdt at 
840 E. Maple that summer with ten people attending. Those 
present were Mr. and Mrs. John Lah, Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Lah, 
Mr. and Mrs. Joe Roberts, Mrs. Leona Murray, and Mrs. 
Chrisman and Mr. and Mrs. George Arnholdt. 

They made plans to canvass the town to determine the 
probability of establishing a congregation and in the following 
year, 1944 the charter was issued. 

The first services were held in the Lions Club meeting hall 
which at the time was over the Darb Cigar Store which occupied 
its present location. 

Shortly arrangements were made to rent, by the week, the 
church building located at the corner of Honeywell and Market 
which belonged to the United Presbyterians. This building had 
been destroyed by fire in 1925 and by 1928 was completely 
rebuilt. 

In 1946 arrangements were made to purchase the building 
from the Presbyterians, at the time of the purchasing 
agreement, a clause was included to allow any individuals or 
groups of the United Presbyterian Church to use the church 
facilities at no charge. This agreement was made to express 
appreciation to the selling church body for their fairness in the 
transaction and remains in effect today. 

In 1950 the purchase of the parsonage directly to the east of the 
church was completed. This parsonage was in use until 1964, at 
which time it was sold. 

The first services were conducted by Pastor Norman E. Klatt. 
Since that time the church has been served by several pastors. 
Following Pastor Klatt was Pastor Wheele, then Pastor Ballash. 
Hoopeston then shared a pastor with the Loda congregation, 
Pastor Lutz. After his departure Hoopeston entered into an 
agreement with the Our Savior Lutheran Church of Milf or d for a 
joint parsonage, the first pastor being Rev. Knauft, then Pastor 
Howard Jording and presently by Pastor John Hobratschk who 
graduated from Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, Mo. Nov. 25, 
1970 and was ordained January 10, 1971. He assumed his duties 
as pastor immediately following and now resides in the par- 
sonage at Milford, III. 

The Christian Church 

The Christian Church in Hoopeston had its beginning almost 
with the city itself at a time when most of its members came 
from other communities to attend services. 

During the first year, 1873, a church house was built jointly 
with the New Light Brethren and the Disciples of Christ on East 
Honeywell, site of the present home of Donald Petry. 

The building was bought a few years later from the New Light 
Brethren and became the sole property of the Disciples. 

First members included J. M. R. Spinning, Hoopeston's first 
postmaster, and his wife; Dr. F. J. Roof, his wife and niece; 
Miss Amy Jane Given; J. W. Hawkins and his wife; Dr. S. 
Frankenberger; Mrs. Mark Johnson; Noah Brown and three or 
four others whose names were not noted in history. 

Spinning was chosen elder and Hawkins, deacon. Elder 
Martin preached for the small congregation at intervals for a 
year or more and traveling ministers visited the pulpit oc- 
casionally. 

In 1885, the congregation voted to move the church to a more 
central location and a larger building was necessary by then. A 
lot on the northwest corner of Main and Fourth was purchased. 
On August 2, 1886, the new church was dedicated. 

In 1890, J. N. Lester came to Hoopeston from Milford and was 
engaged to preach. Under his guidance, the church began to 



grow and soon numbered 475. 

In May of 1899, members voted to change the name to First 
Church of Christ. Soon after that the congregation bought a lot 
across the street on the northeast corner of the intersection and 
J. M. Strote of Watseka was awarded the contract to build a new 
church for $8,100. 

The n^ortgage on that building was burned in 1912 during the 
pastorate of Andrew Scott. 

In 1948 the church was extensively remodeled and the 
following year found the auditorium being remodeled into a 
more modern sanctuary and youth chapel. Also, new 
classrooms were built as well as a pastor's study, choir room, 
baptismal room and rest rooms were reniodeled. Cost of the 
remodeling was estimated at $53,000. 

On December 17, 1953, the entire structure was destroyed by 
fire with estimates of damage set at $250,000. 

Cornerstone for the new building of brick was laid during 
ceremonies on October 31, 1954. 

Ministers of the church through the years have included: R.H. 
Robertson, 1898-1901; G.W. Thomas, 1902-03; L./. Mercer, 1904- 
06; L.R. Hoteling, 1907-08; H. F. Keltch, 1909-10; Andrew Scott, 
1911-14; John P. Givens, 1915-18; Eugene Smith, 1919-23; E.F. 
Winkler, 1924-25; E.S. DeMiller, 1925-27; Charles Brooks, 1927- 
33; Harold G. Elsamm 1933-39; Kent M. Dale, 1940-42; Eugene 
Fairman, 1942-47; C. Ernest Grace, 1948-49; H. C. Roberts. 1949- 
57; William Taylor, 1957; Leroy Roland, 1958-59; Joe Aspley, 
1959-63; W. T. Harden, 1963-68; and Harry Elwood. 1968 to date.. 

Ministers who served during the early years were Elder Rolla 
Martin who was responsible for organizing the first 
congregation, Arnett Owen, William Rowe, Austin Stipp, Wesley 
Miller, J.W. Lester, Simon Rohrer, J.S. Clements and Arthur 
Cheesman. 



Universalist Church 



The Hoopeston Universalist Church was organized August 18, 
1882. A constitution was first formed in September 1882. The 
meetings that led up to the organization of the church were held 
in the Presbyterian Church. The Rev. T. S. Guthrie of 
Springfield, Ohio delivered the first sermon and received the 
first members. A Sunday School was soon organized and met in 
the room over Sniveley's Market and the church meetings were 
held in the McFerren Opera House. 

In March 1884 it was decided to purchase lots on the southwest 
corner of Penn and Market and a church was to be built at a cost 
of less than $3,500. This was the first church or wooden church 
built in 1885, the year that Rev. L. W. Brigham assumed half 
time work as pastor. Rev. Jacob Strub of Marselles, Illinois was 
the first full time pastor. This building was dedicated October 2, 
1887. The Rev. Cantwell and the Rev. Conklin preached the 
sermons. 

In 1892 they started to acquire a parsonage but no action was 
taken until 1895 when a frame house was built on East 
Washington Street. On January 23. 1918 this parsonage burned, 
destroying most of the personal property of Rev. Harvey H. 
Hoyt and in February 1918 it was voted to build a new parsonage 
as the old one was beyond repair and a $6,000.00 parsonage was 
built. 

1904 was the year the plans were made for a new church at the 
site of the wooden church which was to be torn down and a new 
stone church built. On June 18, 1905 this church was finished and 
dedicated. For this service the Methodist, Christian and Baptist 
churches closed their services and their ministers took part in 
the dedication of the new church. At this service eighty two 
hundred dollars was raised in less than one hour and the 
building was dedicated free of all indebtedness. 

The church was built of Indiana Limestone, of English Gothic 
design, with two porch entrance. The tower on the north east 
corner was sixteen feet square by seventy two feet high with a 
minaret twenty feet higher. The carved heads on the tower are 
symbolic of the four gospels. The building was built at a total 
cost of $26,760. 



Methodist Episcopal 

The first service was held by President Elder Wood of the 
Danville District in a blacksn\ith's shop, using the anvil for a 
pulpit, in 1871. Reverend Hyde, of the Rossville Circuit, then 
formed the Methodists into a class, and attached it to the 
Rossville Circuit. Next Presiding Elder Wood asked the Illinois 
Conference for a missionary for the area north of Rossville to 
the Iroquois County line, east to the Indiana line and west to the 
Blue Grass appointment. The request was granted and 
Reverend D. D. Alkire was secured. He gave his first sermon on 
October 29. 1871. The first regular pastor of the church and area 
to be assigned was Reverend A. H. Alfeire. in 1872, who suc- 
ceeded his missionary brother. D. D. Alkire. These two men held 
services in McCracken's Store. In 1873, Reverend Walter Lange 
organized the Hoopeston Methodists into a separate class of 
their own. composed of eleven charter members. Services were 
now held in Taylor's Hall, located on the southeast corner of 
West Penn and South Second Avenue. It was not until 1875, under 
the ministry of Reverend James Muirhead. that an actual 
church building was erected in Hoopeston, at a cost of $3,000.00. 

The church nearly was closed twice in those early years. One 
businessman, who had a bill of $30.00 against the church, got out 
an injunction to close the church on a Sunday. The church was 
kept open by Mrs. W. R. Wilson, Reverend Muirhead's adopted 
daughter, who provided the $30.00 from money she had saved by 
giving music lessons. At another time, the church was to be sold 
for a mechanic's lien. The church was saved this time by Cyrus 
Hartwell and W. R. Clark signing a note: though neither of these 
men were Methodists. The lot on which the original and present 
church building stands was acquired for the sum of $450.00 from 
Robert McCracken of Paxton. 

The Hoopeston Methodists were on a circuit of churches until 
1885, when they became a station charge under Reverend J. P. 
Mclntyre. Under Reverend Mclntyre's leadership, the first 
parsonage was built at a cost of $1,500.00, located in the 300 block 
on the north side of East Main Street. 

The first Young People's Society was organized under 
Reverend C. R. Morrison, who came in 1887. In 1888, Reverend 
Walmsley came and under his leadership the first Woman's 
Foreign Missionary Society was organized, Mrs. Walmsley 
being the first president. 

Another important era was begun in September 1895, when 
Reverend Parker Shields came as pastor. His pastorate was so 
successful that there were 240 additions to the church, raising its 
membership to 745. Also, the present sanctuary was built and 
then dedicated in 1896. 

Another item of importance was that the 77th session of the 
Illinois Annual Conference was held in the Hoopeston Methodist 
Episcopal Church, September 18-24, 1900. 

A list of ministers from beginning to present follows: 



Antioch Church 

The Antioch church, which was built on section 34, about two 
miles from the southern and two from the eastern line of the 
township, was the outgrowth of a union effort for securing the 
necessary house of worship for that part of the township. Elder 
Sites at an early day had preached there at the house of James 
Holmes, who was a member of that — the Christian-denomina- 
tion, and others of that connection followed. Father Connor 
preached there in 1870, and Elders Hubbard and Stipp, later. 

The Methodist class, that worships in the same place, 
belonged to the Rossville circuit, and was served by the same 
pastors who had labored at Hoopeston. The church was a neat 
and commodious building, and by the terms of its building is to 
be free to be occupied by all Christian denominations. Noah 
Brown and Mr. Brillhart were trustees, and were largely in- 
strumental in collecting the means to build, which was sub- 
scribed liberally by all the neighborhood. 



D. D. Alkire, 1871: A. H. Alkire, 1872: Walter Lange. 1873 
James Muirhead, 1874-76: H. M. Haff. 1877-78: S. Goldsmith 
1879-81: A. Clarke. 1882-83: J. P. Mclntyre, 1884-85: J. Long 
1886: C. R. Morrison. 1887: E. S. Walmsley. 1888-92; J. G. Orr 
1892-94: Parker Shields, 1895-99: S. N. Thornton, 1900: T, N 
Ewing. 1901-03: A. L. T. Ewert. 1904-05: W. A. Smith. 1906-07: S 
L. Boyer, 1908, M. G. Coleman, 1909-11: W. L. Ewing, 1912-14: J 
M. Miller. 1915-16: A. S. Chapman, 1917-18: A. S. Flannagan 
1919-20: H. G. Becfe. 1921-23: E. F. Young, 1924-28. 

The name of the pastor in 1929 is unknown: H. F. Powell, 1930- 
34: H. Leach. 1935-37: J. E. Evans. 1938-43: B. L. Rudd, 1944-45 
Ralph C. Close. 1955: Clyde B. Friend, 1955-58: N. Felton 
Whittle. i959-61. Ernest H. Duling. 1962-64: H. Leland Walls. 
1965-69: Benjamin F. Anderson, 1970 to the present. 



United Presbyterian 



The United Presbyterian Church was organized in May 1872 
by Rev. J. D. Whitham. Services were first held in McCracken's 
Store. 

Honeywell Avenue was named Davis Street in 1873 when the 
First United Presbyterian Church was erected on Third and 
Davis Street, just north of the present Baptist Church. 

The Rev. John T. Meloy served in the United Presbyterian 
Church from 1904 to 1922. Three of his children became well 
known missionaries overseas. Sarah Meloy was president of an 
active well known Girl's College in Cairo, Egypt for many years. 
She is now living in Muncie, Indiana with two of her sisters. 
Lucille Meloy Addy and John Meloy also served the church 
overseas. 

The Rev. E. E. Grice served in this church one year, 1922-23. 
He has held high positions in the General Assembly of the United 
Presbyterian Church and also served overseas in Egypt. 

A frame building was erected, then a brick church on the 
corner of Market and Honeywell. This later was burned to the 
ground one very cold day in 1928. The fire hydrants were frozen 
so help could not be obtained. The present church was erected 
shortly after that with a small congregation. The United Pres- 
byterian Church was dissolved in 1940 because of the very small 
congregation and that there were very few ministers available 
because of the war. The present building was rented for one 
year, then sold to the Lutheran Church in 1942 where services 
are still held. 

The First Presbyterian 

The First Presbyterian Church was organized May 3. 1872 by 
Rev. A. L. Brooks and Rev. W. A. Steele. A union Sunday School 
was held in 1872 with Dr. T. S. McCaughey as teacher for these 
first religious services. 

The first eight years services were held in various halls: 

1. Hibbard House-tavern and hotel on Second Avenue and 
Penn Street 

2. Snell and Taylor's Hall 

3. Givens and Knox Hall on Market and Honeywell 
Seventeen charter members were in the first congregation. 
In 1880 a wood-frame church with a bell tower was erected 

under the pastorate of Rev. A. L. Knox. The son of Rev. Knox 
was a prominent printer here, as was the grandson, also A. L. 
Knox. After twenty years service this building proved to be too 
small with the increasing congregation. It was sold to John 
Mann Sr. who tore it down immediately, but saved the stained 
glass windows which were stored carefully, then destroyed in a 
fire. 

Union services were held in summer evenings in the North 
Side Park during the 1920's with several denominations. 

The present brick church still in use. was erected in 1900 at the 
cost of $15,000.00 under the pastorate of Rev. E. J. Regennes. 

There have been sixteen ministers serving in The First 
Presbyterian Church from 1872 to 1971. 



Best Wishes to Our Neighbors 

On 100 Years of Progress! 

Apostolic 
Christian 
Church 




of 
Cissna Park 



Located SYa Miles Southeast of Cissna Parle 

HISTORY 
A few members of the Apostolic Christian faith immigrated to the East Lynn community from 
Europe prior to 1 880. Services were held in homes until 1 88 1 when a church building was pur- 
chased near Fountain Creek. As the membership increased the people gradually located nearer 
to Cissna Park, in the year 1890 the old building was moved to the present area, it was enlarged 
and remodeled as needed until this new building was dedicated October 23, 1949. 

SERVICES: Sunday - 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Thursday, 7:30 p.m. 

DOCTRINE 

All are welcome to attend our services. We endeavor to follow the teachings and words of 
our Lord Jesus Christ and the doctrine which is according to Godliness. Repentance, Conver- 
sion, Confession, Rebirth through baptism, walking in newness of life — embracing a hope of eter- 
nal life through the shed blood of Christ the son of God. 

(All honor and glory to God in the highest.) 

The present ministers are Ezra J. Feller serving as Elder. Also Phil Sauder and Ed Alt, 

(More complete history of doctrine and nature available upon request.) 




\Congratulations On Hoopeston's 
100th Anniversary Of Progress 



Hoopesfon can look back on Hs first cenfury with 
pride in its acconnplishments. "From a swathe in 
the raw prairie" came a prosperous community 
which exemplifies those ideals which have made 
America great. 

The Louisville and Nashville Railroad extends con- 
gratulations to all of Hoopeston's citizens . . . 
past and present . . . whose vision and efforts have 
given profound meaning to this centennial cele- 
bration. 

But a new century is dawning for Hoopeston. The 
second hundred years will bring new challenges, 
new promises. This milestone presents the oppor- 



tunity to rededtcate ourselves to the noble princi- 
ples of Hoopeston's earliest citizens. 

L&N is proud to be part of Hoopeston, and a 
partner in its future growth and progress. 



fS^ 

1^^ 



& 




THE LOUISVILLE & NASHVILLE RAILROAD 




German 

POTATO 

SALAD 




Happy 100th, 
HOOPESTON 



from one of your oldest companies 





JOAN OF ARC COMPANY 

Canners of Fine Foods Since 1878 




To my hometown,.... a wonderful 
community. 

BEST WISHES 

for a successful Centennial 





■fo serve you in the Illinois State ^ 
Senate .... -^^i 

^ Sen. Tom Merritt 



As a local businessman, I'm proud of our 
33 years and hope we have made some con- 
tribution in protecting the properties of the 
people of hloopeston. 

TOM MERRITT & CO. 

INSURANCE — REAL ESTATE — FARM LOANS 
(SINCE 1937) 

202 S. Market Tel. 283-7722 



5/4/0 Semi Annually Paid on Savings 
PLUS — Life Insurance on 
First $2,000 of Savings. 

JOIN 

"Illinois' Largest Community 
Credit Union " 

GRANT & ROSS TWP. COMMUNITY 
CREDIT UNION 

228 E. MAIN 

HOOPESTON, ILLINOIS 

PHONE 283-6656 



'' 



Celebrating 



KECI 




• FURNITURE 

• CARPETING 

• BEDDING 

• ACCESSORIES 

• DECORATING 

• GIFTS 



71st Anniversary 

Congratulations 

To 

Hoopeston 

100 Years Old 

We want to help you be bigger and better 

in the next 1 00. 

THANK YOU FOR YOUR 

LOYAL SUPPORT 



Happy Anniversary 

from your partner in progress 




Since the first Methodist service was held in 
Hoopeston in 1871, we have thrived to -fill the 
spiritual needs of the "HOLY CITY". 

And we dedicate ourselves to continued growth, 
spiritually and in reality. 

THE UNITED 
METHODIST CHURCH 

OF HOOPESTON 



315 E. MAIN 



HOOPESTON 



The Rev. Ben Anderson, minister 



^^jSw^v^BnnT**^ 




CONGRATULATIONS 
HOOPESTON.Ill. 



On your 100th AnniTersary Celebration 
We are proud to have been part of the 
history and g'rowth of the community. May 
the progress and success of the next 
100 years be as fruitful. 





Sprague Canning Machinery Company 1S9S 








m'i nm 



FMC Corporation 1971 



" SERVING THE FOOD INDUSTRY SINCE 1885 



t/'i fmc 



Fl^C COR.PORi\.TIOZ^ 



CANNING MACHINERY DIVISION 

BAL sales offices WESTERN-SAN JOSK, CALIF EASTERN - HOOPESTON, ILL 




Happy Birthday, 
Hoopeston ! 

On Your 100th 
Anniversary. 



H 



AMILTON FUNERAL 

OME 

OOPESTON, ILLINOIS 

Eugene Orr — Owner 
Phone 283-6696 






Good Luck on 
your Centennial 

horn the 

"PEPSI"— GENERATION 




PEPSI-COLA 




' 1 






DANVILLE PEPSI-COLA 
BOTTLING CO., INC. 



211 S. BOWMAN 



DANVILLE, ILL. 



YOUR FARM-TO-MARKET SERVICE 



INTER and 

INTRA STATE 

HAULING 




E & H TRUCK BROKERS 
AND 
FEDERATED COOP 
TRANSPORT 

WE MAKE ALL POINTS EAST 

AND 

MANY POINTS WEST OF THE MISSISSIPPI 

ALL PHONES 



283-6684 



BOX 365, HOOPESTON. ILL. 
DIXIE HIGHWAY 



$ 



§ 



GADDIS SERVICE 




QUICK - PROMPT 

EMERGENCY SERVICE 

DAY OR NIGHT 

OPEN 6 A.M. TO 
10 P.M. 



COMPLETl ■ONl-STOP' SCftVICl 

• BRAKE SERVICE • LUBRICATION 

• TIRES • MUFFLERS • TAIL PIPES 




283-7214 



COMPieTE MOTOR REPAIR 

108 W. MAIN HOOPESTON, ILL 



HOWARD GADDIS (operator) 



> 



© 



'# 






i 








Electronic Devices of Distinction for the Electronic Industry 
by Woodward - Schumacher Electric Corp. Manufacturers 
of QUALITY Radio, Television, Ballast and special iron core 
transformers: Battery chargers and Fencers 



IN HOOPESTON SINCE SEPTEMBER, 1963 at: 



405 W. ORANGE ST. 



TEL. 283-5551 




Hats off to Hoopeston! 

We're happy to be a part of the 100th BIRTHDAY 
of our community 



Since the days of the pio- 
neers and "BULL DURHAM", 
we've catered to the needs 
of the men in our town! 




ALL POOL & SNOOKER 




per 
cue 



per 
game 



5' 

(CENTENNIAL WEEK ONLY) 
"Bring your friends" 



Sandwiches & Short Orders 

try our specialty 

TENDERLOIN SANDWICH ....so* 



FOR THOSE CARRY-OUTS. PHONE 283-5850 

COFFEE 5'.... DURING THE WEEK, JULY 18 - 24 

LADIES WELCOME 




THE DARB CIGAR STORE 

AND 

''BROWNIE'S" LUNCH COUNTER 



(Earl and Mae Smock) 



(Roy and Gwennle Brown) 



Best Wishes.... 

to Hoopeston on its 100th Birthday . 

J XL I Congratulations on your 

Although we ve changed our name thru / 



the years, we're still in business. 



s Mi f 



iOi 



il 



and we're happy to have been a part of 
Hoopeston's growth ourselves since 1924. 

HOTT'S LUMBER 
and COAL CO. 



'I 



lOOTH BIRTHDAY 

AUTOTRON, Inc. 

Industrial 
Electronic 
Equipment 



Danville, Illinois 



105 E. Penn 



283-5729 



Happy Birthday 

to Hoopeston! 

See Greene 

for your 

Grain Handling, 

Drying & Storage Needs. 

GREENE'S WELDING 
AND HARDWARE 



9 99 



' 'Mr. L s 
Steakhouse 




En|oy yourself and relax 
at Mr. L's Steakhouse, 
during our Centennial — 
A Snack — Dinner — 
or just a friendly Cool 
Cocktail in Mr. L's room. 
Come anytime and feel 
at home among Friends. 




For Milady! 




• Cutting 

• Styling 

• Permanents 

• Personalized fast 
machine coloring 

• Wigs and 
Hair Pieces 



Carolynn s 

Hair Stylists 
Lillian Lee: Owner 

Carolynn Curry: Mgr.-Operator 




Start 
urith 

Adequate 
Wiring! 



R.R. I, Hoopeston, 

East Lynn Phone 
217-375-3813 



'I 



(Corner R+e. 9 & 6th Ave.) 
Telephone 283-6713 



Happy 100th 

Anniversary 

from 



Congrafulofions, — 
Hoopesfon 



DANVILLE 

BEER 

WHOLESALERS 







We thank you for the oppor- 
tunity to be a part of your 
thriving and progressive com- 
munity! 

CROW'S HYBRID 
CORN COMPANY 

MILFORD, ILL 
LOCAL CROW'S DEALERS 

Tom Field, Wellington Jim Brammer, Wellington 

Bill Putnam, Hoopeston Clifford Hinkie, Cissna Park 

Lester Landsdown, Rossville 



ROSSVIILE 





a^Cy^ 





/^ud< 





WPS 



Congratulates you, Neighbors on your Centennial! 




Antiques and Uncommon 
Accessories for the Home. 







Weber's 
Coachman 

iana's Finest Supper Club 




ROSSVILLE 

Decorative and Useful Gifts 
For The Home and All Occasions 

ANTIQUES — OIL PAINTINGS 

LA PETITE 
GIFT SHOPPE 

THE HOUSE OF GLASS 
748-6191 



Featuring 
l>^^Efe<g"^^'~--0 Wright's Old-Fashion 
Bulk Ice Cream 

Wedding and 
Party Punch 

Full Fountain Service — Grill Service 
PHONE 748-6221 




FIRST 
NATIONAL BANK 

10! N. Chicago 




JEWEL CASE 



Gifts, Imports, 

Jewels, 

Watch Repairing 






ROSSVILLE, ILLINOIS 



WHISTLER'S 
^J^!^ ANTIQUES 

Hand Decorated Furniture 



1 1 5 South Chicago 





Treof Your Centennial 
Guests to the Finest: 

"Good for wtiaf ails you . . . hangnail, whooping cough, 
or that run-down feeling."' Remember those days? 



Wines, Liquors 

and cordials 

from around the World. 

Glassware 

Misc. Gift Items 

Bar Supplies 

• BEER • 
(Domestic & Imported) 



WELCOME VISITORS — Come in and brouse — 
I Block East of Centennial Headquarters near the 
L&N R.R. 

Ted's Home Beverage 

TED MORRIS, owner 
101 W. MAIN TEL. 283-7213 



Best of Luck on 
your Centennial. 

Compliments of: 

S. A. SNIVELY 
COMPANY, INC. 

ROY A. CARLSON, proprietor 

SHEET METAL WORK — ROOFING 
VENTILATION — AIR CONDITIONING 

HOOPESTON, ILL 

112 W. MAIN ST. TEL 283-5628 



Happy Birthday, 
Hoopeston! 

(May you double in size and age) 

Present this ad to us for 

10% off on carpet cleaning 

or 

10% off on new carpet 

DEEP STEAM EXTRACTION 
RETHELFORD CARPETING 

615 N. Vermilion, Danville 

Hoopestonite partners: 
Perry Rethelford & Chuck Baker 




HOOPESTON MASONIC LODGE 

Chartered Oct. 8, 1873 
CHARTER MEMBERS: 



Johnathon Bedell 
George Steeley 
Samuel E. Douglas 
William Moore 
William Brillhart 
Edwin D. North 
James M. R. Spinning 
Landa M. Purriance 
Patrick Coleman 
George White 
Samuel Malo 



Cyrus Hartwell 

James A. Cunningham 

John S. Crane 

Thomas Williams 

Amos Perkins 

J. P. Lindeaf 

Randolph Morey 

Abrahamb Levi 

John W. Hughes 

Richard H. Austin 

Martin L. Miller 



FRIENDSHIP • MORALITY • BROTHERLY LOVE 
Meetings Conducted 2nd & 4th Mondays 

STAR LODGE 709 AF & AM 



i 



206 W. Orange St. 



Tel. 283-5373 



'I 



Compliments of: 

W. A. READ 

PONTIAC • BUICK 



^ ^= — - ■ Wouldn't you 
: really rather 
have a 
BUICK? 

BUY YOURS IN HOOPESTON 

W. A. READ 
PONTIAC - BUICK 

Authorized Sales & Service 

424 N. DIXIE HIWAY PH., 283-6688 
HOOPESTON, ILL. 




^ 



HAPPY ANNIVERSARY 



from: 



"The total 



communications 



agency 



HARRY L. BAUER ASSOCIATES 

ADVERTISING 

2 NORTH RIVERSIDE PLAZA 
CHICAGO ILL. 60606 
TEL. 312-236-0097 



Congratulations from 

STANDARD OIL 

Serving Hoopeston and 
area since 1906. 



PETROLEUM PRODUCTS 
INDUSTRIAL LUBRICANTS 
AGRICULTURAL CHEMICALS 




DAVE McGEE - Agent 

HOOPESTON. ILL. 



Congratulations on your highly-successful 
100-year journey! 




ADSIT QUALITY FARM 
EQUIPMENT CO. 



RFD3. 
MILFORD, ILL 



HOOPESTON AREA CENTENNIEAL CORPORATION 



Bob Ault 

Ethel May Martin 

Ttiomas N. Martin 



DIRECTORS 

Tom Merntt 
Marguerite Wallace 
James A. Miller 
Joseph C. Moore 



Larry Oyler 
Charlotte Russell 
Thomas E Mills 



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 



GENERAL CHAIRMAN 
Earl Smock 



WOMEN'S PARTICIPATION 
Marge Wallace 



SPECTACLE 
Sara Ault 



SECRETARY 
Charlotte Russell 



MEN'S PARTICIPATION 
Clyde Watson 



INSURANCE 
Tate Duley 



TREASURER 
Byron Hedgecock 



DECORATIONS 
Dale Preston 



PUBLICITY 
"Slim" Collier 



HEADQUARTERS 

Tom Mills 



SPECTACLE TICKETS 
Bill Burtis 



SPECIAL EVENTS 
James A. Miller and Paul Tolch 



REVENUE 
Dale Brown 



OPERATING CAPITAL 
Lee Martin 



SPECIAL DAYS 
Ethel "Pepper" Martin 



COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN 



COMMEMORATIVE BOOKLET 
Leon Gosseft 



TRANSPORTATION 
Earl Drollinger 



PIONEER EVENTS 
Dorothy Shuler 



NOVELTIES 
Bill Scharlach 



SCENARIO AND TITLE 
Jack Fisher 



HISTORICAL WINDOWS 
Charles Miller 



CELEBRATION BALL 
Rich Tosi 

CONCESSIONS 
Bob Rosborg 



PROPERTIES 
Carol Barber 

CAST 
Dianne Summers 



MUSIC 

Pat Musk 

Larry Voorhees 

Jim French 



BROTHERS OF THE BRUSH 
George Blalock 

MEN'S HATS AND TIES 
Herb Shoufler 

KANGAROO COURT 
William Nelson 

CENTENNIAL BELLES 
Fran Griswold 

LADIES' BONNETS AND DRESSES 
Dianne Singleton 

PROMENADE AND CARAVAN 
Don Buck and Sue Regan 

TICKETS 
Ken Crouch 

PATRONS' TICKETS 
Esther Haworlh 

ADVANCE SALE 
Charles Johnson 



CONSTRUCTION 
Harry Silver and Ken Dazey 

COSTUMES 
Anita Clements 

PRESS RELEASES 
Byron Yanders 

DISTRIBUTIVE 
Harlan Hatfield 

RADIO AND TV 
Dave Hodge 

SPEAKERS 
Ray Mendenhall 

SPECIAL PROJECTS 
Bill DeWitt 

MERCHANTS 
Paul Tolch and Woody Evans 

PARADE 
Mike Blankinship and Larry Coon 



AUDIENCE AREA AND GROUNDS 
Ron DeVore 

HOSPITALITY CENTER 
Louise Braden 

RELIGIOUS HERITAGE DAY 

Rev. Ben Anderson and 

Fr. Raymond Boyle 

OPEN AIR MARKET DAY 
Paul Tolch and Woody Evans 

INDUSTRY DAY 
Dr. Winston Bash 

YOUTH DAY 

Selma Young 

Ralph Huffman 

Steve Baldwin 

Mrs. Bobbie Sears 

AGRICULTURAL DAY 

Ed Layden 

Mildred Cadle 



USHERS AND GATES 
James Hopkins 



TRAFFIC AND SAFETY 
Police and CD Police 



VARIETY DAY 
Mr. and Mrs. Ed Trego, Jr. 



Centennial Shareholders 



C. F. Dyer 

C. E. Fenckcn 

Bill McGee 

Jane McGee 

Kelly Jane McGee 

Chuck & Connie Fenwick 

Teanna Lynn Knoll 

Lindy or Richard Knoll 

Mrs. Eva Odie 

Miss Ethel Mae Martin 

Mrs. B. B. Russell 

Charlotte Ann Russell 

Miss Lillian Geyer 

Georgia Prather 

Jerry & Carolyn Kincheloe 

Paul Fischer 

Ed Beck 

Harry Merritt 

John A. Chanian 

Mildred M. Shumway 

Paul H. Morrison 

Miss Emily Geyer 

Lloyd & Mary May 

John Lavoie 

Ralph Floyd 

Don Anderson 

Alvin & Bessie Earls 

Jason Wade Martin 

Jeffrey Lee Martin 

Hoopeston Chamber of Commerce 

Hoopeston Lions Club 

The City of Hoopeston 

Linda's Beauty Shop 

Griners Beauty Shop 

Charlene's Corner Salon 

Tom Layden 

Bury's Beauty Salon 

Betty's Beauty Shoppe 

Pat Regan's Beauty Shop 

Carolynn's Beauty Shop 

Pat's Powder Puff 

First Methodist Church 

Women's Society of Christian Service 
Donald Henning 
Citizens Savings and Loan 
R. Yonkelowitz & Son 
Cade Oil Company 
Woody's Dept. Store 
Douglas B. Hatfield 
S. A. Snively Co. 
Wallace Agency 
Webers Drug Store 
Timmons Insurance 
Hoopeston Standard Parts 
Sheridans 
Yergler's Jewelry 
Ted Morris 

Lowell or Arlene Miller 
Miss Carol Sims 
Miss Paula Sims 
Hoopeston Plumbing & Heating 
Mills Publications, Inc. 
Howard Gaddis 
Gary's Men & Boys Store 
Tate W. Duley 
Danny Thrasher 
Paul Layden 
Fronville Jewelers 
Carl Petersen (Worthens) 
Silver Bros., Inc. 
Arnold's Office Supplies 
Miss Jane Carroll Browne 
Miss Frosty Browne 
Cassenora Lee Simpson 
Mr. Ted Gordon 
Mrs. Abby Gordon 
Mrs. Carol Zook 
Mr. J. M. Zook 
Mrs. Paul J. Zook 
LeRoy Baker 
Gwen Baker 
Michelle Zook 
David Zook 
Chris Allen Zeigler 
Western Auto Supply 
The Wellington State Bank 
The Hoopeston United Methodist Men 
Glennie Browne 
Jim Nielsen & Family 
XI Beta Rho Chapter 
United Methodist Church 
FH&C Circle 



Robert Raymond Gatrell 

Billie Francis Gatrell 

Bette Gatrell Knapp 

George Raymond Gatrell 

Harriet Redman Gatrell 

Ira Owen Kreager • Auxiliary 

Beta Beta 747 ESA Sorority 

John Evar Olson 

Margaret Cox 

Jacque Fenwick 

Frances Fenwick 

Ralph Lloyd 

Simpson's Garage 

Illinois Lumber, Grain & Coal Co. 

Hott's Lumber & Coal Co. 

Hoopeston Motors, Inc. 

Keek's Trend House 

Alpha Chi Sorority 

VFW Auxiliary 

Billy DeWitt 

Lisa DeWitt 

Cox Bros. Equipment Co. 

Harold &-or Naomi Cox 

Jay P. Buck 

Jeffrey D. Buck 

Jeanne Marie Buck 

Jonathan A. Buck 

The Darb Cigar Store 

Robin Denise Smock 

Douglas Earl Smock 

Mark Allan Smock 

Roy Scott Brown 

Lee David Curry 

Roy L. Brown 

Dairy Queen Brazier 

Donald Dobkins 

Loyal Order of Moose No. 1227 

Scott Michael Preston 

Julie Ann Preston 

Thomas Rhett Kee 

Merry Circle Club 

Robert & Charlotte Marko 

Ben and Esther Milton 

Walter & Iris Scott 

Jerry and Pat Scott 

Sharon Sauder 

Shelley Galloway 

The Corner Dress Shop 

Miss Lori Ann Smith 

Downtown Motel 

Elliott Jewelers 

Ferdinand Radio & T.V. 

Mark Summers 

Hilda Smith 

Hoopeston Fertilizer Co. 

Ray Stipp 

Dalph Stipp 

A. C. Lind 

Knapp Mobil Feed Service 

George Bobis 

Larry & Michael Farrell 

Hoopeston Implement Co. 

Robert D. Vandenberg 

Wm. Arthur Vandenberg 

Barbara Schwartz 

Walter Leslie Vandenberg 

Pamela S. Vandenberg 

Gregory Paul Vandenberg 

Edwin Robert Vandenberg 

Sara Pauline Vandenberg 

Robert Eugene Vandenberg 

Kim Lockwood Nelson 

Beta Sigma Phi 

Paula Lloyd 

Ralph Michael Lloyd 

Glenn Earl Lloyd 

Steven Petersen 

Randall Petersen 

Julia Petersen 

Mary Jo Petersen 

Jack Petersen 

Jack Johnson 

Linda J. Johnson 

Leigh Ann Johnson 

Jeanne V. Johnson 

Charles R. Johnson 

Patricia A. Fraley 

Norman L. Fraley 

Florence E. Smith 

Esther Brewington 

Robert D. Vandenberg 

Phronie Harris 



Jack Goodwine 

Coleman Norton 

Lois Cramer 

Dave Magee 

Shuler's Greenhouse 

Spurgeon's 

Paperhouse 

Pla Mor Lanes 

Sanitary Cleaners 

The City National Bank 

Tommy Buel 

C. "Slim" Collier 

Hazel Collier 

Jerry Collier 

Ronald Collier 

Janice Williams 

United Propane Company 

Orvale Kaag 

John T. Bitto 

Charles B. Pierce 

Ted N. Thomas 

Thomas F. Mannin 

Ray Osborn 

Earl Drollinger 

Ruthanna Bell 

Linda Cramer 

Viola Warner 

Earlene Longfellow 

Jeanne Field 

Brian E. Field 

Barry A. Field 

Mr. & Mrs. Donald Field 

Walter A. Vandenberg 

Wilbur A. Vandenberg 

Ronald Schwartz, Jr. 

Earl Cunningham 

Mrs. Mae Clements 

Richard Cox 

Robert Shore 

Earl Burton 

Harlie Huckleby 

Tommy Creamer 

Vernon Hoaglund 

Phil Alcozer 
Morris Hunt 
Vernon Hoaglund 

Frank Crawford, Sr. 

Ernest Froedge 

Robert Irvin 

Samuel M. Witty 

Lori Ann Dain 

Kevin Dain 

Sue Stoner 

Edith Gooch 

Glen Brasel 

Ned Brasel 

George S. Blalock 

Judy A. Blalock 

Kimberly Ann Blalock 

Sandra Dee Blalock 

Laura Lee Blalock 

Willaim L. McNeely 

William L. McNeely, Jr. 

Sandra Jo McNeely 

Lori Lynn McNeely 

Teri Jo McNeely 

Burton Motor Sales 

Hoopeston Hardware 

Paul Hamilton 

Hamilton Funeral Home 

Hall's Shell Service 

Gritton's Marathon 

Herman's Standard 

Hoopeston Food Locker 

Hoopeston Cable TV Company 

Galloway Machine Company 

Forshier Realty 

Flowers by Molly Colbert 

Frey Tire Company 

Eastern Illinois Telephone Corp. 

Model Finance Corp. 

Vernon F. Terry 

First Baptist Womens 
Missionary Fellowship 

Ira Owen Kreager Post 384 

Mrs. Floy H. Petry 

Clair J. or Margaret E. Oyler 

Lawrence W. Petry 

Beverly A. Petry 

Lois W. Petry 

Hoopeston Grain & Coal Co. 

John McGinlev IV 



Mark McGinely 

McGinley's Radio & TV 

Tom Merritt & Company 

Mildred Hall Cadle 

Charles L. Miller 

Mary V. Allison 

Hoopeston Garden Club 

Thomas or Ruby Meredith 

Nancy Eells 

Susan Eells 

Kevin Eells 

Scott Eells 

Don B. Pharmacy 

Billy Pickett 

Crocket Scott 

Sam Long 

Ralph Keller 

Ruth Stapleton 

Marvine Clem 

Margaret Stark 

Larry & Carol Oyler 

Tim Oyler 

Jane Oyler 

Cindy Oyler 

Lawrence Parr Birch 

Larry 0. Coon 

Phyllis I. Coon 

Joseph M. Coon 

Cheryl L. Coon 

Robin L. Coon 

Rayls Bros. 

Marjorie Hayes 

John Haughee 

Juanita Haughee 

Terry Haughee 

Stuart Haughee 

Dan Haughee 

Eric Haughee 

Abby Haughee 

Norman Vonderheid 

Charles W. Webb 

Marita Webb 

Florence Goodrum 

Wayne Shepherd 

Esther Judy 

Hoopeston Rotary Club No. S4S0 

Eldon McGinnis 

S. W. Nelson 

Martie R. Nelson 

Art & Jan McKinney & Kitty 

Margie & Morrie Weiner 

Maxine & Larry Sonkin 

Dennis Jerome 

Martha Lottinville 

Larry Powley 

Patricia Powley 

Debra Powley 

Lisa Powley 
George A. Maney 
Mrs. George A. Maney 

Rev. Herman Dam 

Mrs. Herman Dam 

Polly Gail Dam 

Mrs. Clara McGraw 

Hoopeston Jaycees 

Hoopeston Community Am. Theatre 

Waukesha Foundry Co. 

North Fork Conservation Club 

Thomas D. Holt 

Hoopeston Junior Woman's Club 

Hoopeston Hobby Club 

Central Steel & Wire Co. 

Mary McBride 

Herb & Bette Smith 

North Vermilion Loan and Savings Assn. 

Home Bakery 

Hoopeston Woodworks 

Dale Wallace II 

Walter Daniel Miller 

Woods Funeral Home 

Larson's Clothes Shop, Inc. 

Gerald & Louise Hamilton 

Leiand Martin 

Hoopeston Athletic Booster Club 

Dice Goodwine 

Kimberly Clayton 

Rep. Leslie C. Arends 

Gene Barrick, County Auditor 

Caroline Baxter 

Feme Starr 

Everett Laury, States Attorney 

Diane Lynn Byers 



Centennial Shareholders 



Randall Curtis Metz 

Sheryl Metz Denison 

James K. Bell II 

Dorp Duntap 

Michelle Miller 

Debbie Miller 

Elaine Miller 

Robert Miller 

George Dunlap 

Earl Navarre 

Jacqueline Lackey 

Chris Cornell 

Dale Odie 

Richard W. Dobkins 

John Boyer 

Mr. & Mrs, E. W. Parrish 

Clyde Watson 

Pat Watson 

David Watson 

Margaret Watson 

A.M. Castle & Co. 

Mr. Fred Deibler 

Myron Harris 

Debbie Glenn 

John E. Glenn 

L. W. Bergstrom 

Roy Boughton 

Leo Huffman 

Robert G. or Mary F. Thomas 

Vern Western 

Lewis Haines 

G.A. Baker, Inc. 

Bradley E. Glover 

Vicki Glover 

Joe & Linda Roberts 

Al Jon & Nancy Longfellow 

Glenn & Jeanette Potts 

Joe Roberts III 

Laura Roberts 

Edgar & Maxine Potts 

Mr. & Mrs. Ronald Oevore 

Mr. Randall Devore 

Mrs. Ruth Devore 

Miss Angela Rene Devore 

Mr. & Mrs. Ronald E. Devore 

Mrs. Ruth Lockwood 

Epsilon Theta No. 2742 E.S.A. 

Business & Professional Women's Club 

Mr. William D. Cox (Rep.) 

John R. & Betty J. McClaflin 

James W. & Mary E. McClaflin 

First Christian Church 

Kings Daughters Class 
Mrs. Karen M. Laubstier 
Kent Joseph Hoskins 
Brian Keith Hoskins 
Carol Jo Hoskins 
Joe Hoskins 
Kate Hoskins 
Harold M. Glessner Co. 
Berry Bearing Co. 
Russell Reed 
Hilda Reed 
Monty Reed 
John R. Reed 
Ronald J. Reed 
Joseph C. Moore 
Polar Warg Co. 
H. Kramer ft Co. 
Mrs. lone Clements 
Renee Marie Wilson 
Robert Ray Wilson 
Stanley Clouse 
Margo Clouse 
Robert Rosborg 
Hoopeston Fire Dept. 
Randall Tyler 
Larry Tyler 
Joyce Garrison 
Scott Tyler 
Earl Tyler 
John G. Laubscher 
Mike Shaw 

Donnie Allen Schroeder 
Pauline Kelley 
Christopher Wagoner 
Betty Summers 



Timothy Summers 

Tom Thurman 

Susan Jane Morrison 

Rodney Allen 

Michael Allen 

Harol Dice 

Kathy Harden 

Rex Harden Jr. 

Jeff Harden 

Rex Harden 

Junior Jones 

Mrs. Ed Gustine 

Kipp Barber 

Carol Barber 

Debra Longfellow 

Tony Barber 

Angela Barber 

Bob Goldsbery 

Charlotte Goldsbery 

Christy Goldsbery 

Cmdy Goldsbery 

Mary Ann Goldsbery 

Esther Moore 

Wilbur Longfellow 

Tammy Fortier 

Cassy Carter 

Wayne Carter 

Amy Lee Cox 

Stuart T. Cox 

C. M. or Esther Haworth 

Helen Keister 

Reba Goin 

Larry Ward 

Donald Michael McFarland 

Mrs. Doris Silver 

Leola Witty 

Kelly Jane McGee 

Paul D. Eckert Jr. 

Paula Diane Eckert 

Allen Irwin 

Charles H. Voyles 

William Earl Lloyd 

Bryan John Lloyd 

Bradley Joe Lloyd 

Mrs. Noble Adams 

Bob Teegarden 

Haiel Shupe 

Regina Woodrum 

Jayme Staton 

Vernon Gholson 

Milton Pettice 

Kerri Bilbrey 

Lori Blackwell 

Robyn Blackwell 

Ed Bury 

Cecil Bury 

Delores Cox 

Peggy Leemon 

Eddie Wallace 

John Cleveland 

Mrs. Virgil Smith 

Greg Baughman 

Mr. & Mrs. Arthur J. Chrlstensen 

Derek Clouse 

Leigh Ann Clouse 

Jan Marte Longfellow 

Kim Weaks 

Floyd Thomas 

Paul Tutwiler 

Thurman Moore 

Madeline Moore 

Rick Johnson 

Chelle Johnson 

Jeff Johnson 

Clay Sneed 

Linda Sneed 

Mrs. Ida Westberry 

Miss Helen Mclntyre 

Beulah Galloway 

Mary Hatfield 

Wilma Ritter 

Faye Whitman 

Bill Graves 

Mrs. Shirley Cartwright 

Mark S. Cartwright 

Paul Griner 

Miss Cheryl R. Arnholt 



Philip J. Arnholt 

James E. Arnholt 

Robert E. Arnholt 

George R. Arnholt 

Mr. George R. Arnholt 

Mrs. Josephine Arnholt 

S. W. Nelson 

J. Kenneth Todd Keith 

Mr. C. A. Peterson 

Mrs. Juanita P. Peterson 

Honeywell P.T.O. 

Robert L. Knecht 

Troy Bloyd 

Hoopeston Freight Co. 

Lee ft Tweedy 

William Schoolman 

Lawrence Gorney 

Parkway Laundry & Dry Cleaners 

Alice L. Mann 

Willard H. Bruens 

Marvin L. Buhrmester 

Betty J. Buhrmester 

Jane B. Reetz 

Martha H. Snively 

Jones & Laughlln Steel Corp. 

Raymond V. Sears 

Raymond R. Long 

Cecelia A. Collier 

Mary Jane Longfellow 

The Commercial News 

Orollinger & Jameson Elec. 

Hoopeston Jr. High School Library 

Tools & Abrasives Inc. 

Fred Pruitt 

Ron Knuth 

Margaret E. Crothers 

Charles Hollen 

Betty I. Hollen 

Howard L. Debord 

Larry Schmink 

R. Lavin & Sons Inc. 

Harold R. Wood 

Roberta C. Wood 

Bonnie Kay Wood 

Betty Lynn Wood 

Kenneth Hughes 

Brad Burton 

Tim Taflinger 

Mr. & Mrs. William McClenan 

Mary Dalrympte 

Mrs. Anna Finley 

Hubert Morrison 

Adrian Houmes 

Mary Menagh 

Frank S. Menagh 

Harry A. Mayer 

Ina Mae Mayer 

Richard Mayer 

Nancy Mayer 

Bruce Mayer 

Andy Braden 

Max Page 

Velma Wells 

Joan Tovey 

Burt Petersen 

Mrs. Harry Trent 

John W. Rossey 

Joe McBride 

Mrs. Ida McFann 

Mrs. Mary F. Merckle 

Mrs. May Brooks 

Mrs. John Lee 

Herman Schmidt 

Carthiel Burge 

Ivan McNeely 

Phillip Petry 

Diane Petry 

Ruth Ann Petry 

Dennis Petry 

Carioll Crozier 

Harold L. Smock 

Verna Neitzey 

Noble Adams 

Lillian Stokes 

Bertha Smally 

O. A. Smally 

Nina Olson 



Kathryn Johnson 

Stanley Johnson 

La Von Kimberlin 

Centennial Trego 

Ann Elizabeth Armstrong 

Bruce W. Armstrong 

Stephen A. Unger 

VFW Buddy Egnew Post 4826 

Jim Nichols 

Rick Hoke 

Joyce Hoke 

Little League Moms 

Janna S. Griffin 

Bruce Hedgecock 

Ray Cox - Owens Service 

Mr. Jack Clark Sheriff 

North Fork Conservation Club 

A R. Marshall 

Helen C Marshall 

Elmer Unger 

Ralph Mann Jr. 

Racheline Arnholt 

Schultz Bros. Co. 

Katherine F. Trego 

Sue Unger 

Prairie Rebekah Lodge No. 622 

Mrs. Russ Lightbody 

Mrs. Frank Graham 

Mrs. Elizabeth Russell Bell 

Hoopeston Junior-Senior P.T.O. 

Ellen M. Martin 

Sara A. Martin 

Mary M. Martin 

Winifred A. Martin 

Thomas N. Martin 

Samuel Harris & Co. 

W. James Schaefer Jr. 

George T. Kalhust 

Evelyn Brunson 

James Brunson 

Terry Beauvois 

J.T. Ryerson ft Son Inc. 

Republican Central Committee 

Carp's Inc. 

James H. Ellis 

Oliver & Rebecca Williams 

Bob & Marlene Moses 

Larry & Tina Dellarocco 

Joe & Ines Odrobinal 

Marg Shoufler 

Marsha Shoufler 

Herbie Shoufler 

Herb Shoufler 

Robert ft Charlotte Marko 

Angela Dee Hollen 

Linda Lee Hollen 

Sandra Kay Garner 

Randall Kent Garner 

Stokely Van Camp Inc. 

American Can Co. 

FMC Corporation 

John Richard Lane 

Belinda Sue Lane 

Timothy James Lane 

James & Louise Lane 

Christy Garrison 

Debbie Garrison 

Lisa Garrison 

Calvin Tyler 

Dale Singleton 

Mark Singleton 

Ann Singleton 

Albert Wootson Corps No. M3 

Danville Industrial Supply Co. 

Lillian Sever 

John A. & Dorothy V. Crumley 

Nora Joan Sheffield 

Nancy Lee Sheffield Anderson 

Lucy Williams McLaughlin 

Lenora V Sheffield 

Floyd Sheffield 

Richard Eugene McCullough 

Mr ft Mrs. Leon Gossett 

Harold Morrison 

Dora Fair 

Women of the Moose 

J. Harold & Mary F. Dalton 

Paige Glenn 

Sandra Woodrum 



'^1 VN,. 

/ p. 
27 



Official Centennial Seal 




Harold L. Morrison, Hoopeston postmaster since 1965, a 33- 
year veteran employe of postal service in Hoopeston, was 
designer of the seal. His entry was selected from several 
submitted by residents and is displayed on all official 
celebration material. It symbolizes Hoopeston's overnight 
growth from a raw prairie in what was once a remote area in 
extreme northern Vermilion County. 



Morrison is a life-resident of Hoopeston, born 1917, and he 
and his wife (Nella Seals) have three married children — 
Sharol Gossett of Hoopeston; Joe of Alvin; and Jay of 
Hoopeston. 



LET'S ROLL UP OUR SLEEVES AND GET TO WORK! 




The Comprehensive Plan for Hoopeston lists many changes 
and improvements in store in the years to come. Some of them 
are: 

To provide and encourage new industrial site development. 

To provide year-round public recreational facilities. 

To create a park district with full time personnel and to provide 
for the acquisition of open land for future parks. 

To study the feasibility of constructing a YMCA or similar 
recreational facility. 

To develop a Junior College program and a vocational school 
program. 

To conduct a study for the installation of a local airport facility. 

To re-establish public bus service throughout the community. 

To provide new and improved lighting on all city streets and 
alleys. 

In 1872 the population of Hoopeston was 245. In 1873 it was 800. 
inl874 itwas 1.000 and in 1878 it was 2.000 In 1966 it was 7.229. In 
1980 it is projected to be 9.100. in the year 2000 it will be 12,000 
and in the year 2020 it is projected as 15.500. 

The next 100 years will no doubt see as many changes, if not 
more, in our home town as it has witnessed in its first 100 years. 

As we mark this anniversary, may we endeavor to achieve our 
goals and continue serving the community in its growth. 



There's a big job ahead of us 
in the coming years . . . keep- 
ing this town great! The 
only way to get the job 
done is to have every- 
one pitch in with 
energy and determ- 
ination in the home, 
in the factory, in 
the office and in 
the classroom. 
Let's a II work 
together! 



firi n 




POP uL^m^Mm^,:m^5 



1. Christian Church. 2. Public School. 

3. Girven & Knox, Brick Store. 

■4. A. Randolph, Lumber Merchant. 

B. Dr. Anderson. 

6. Miller Bros,, Grocers. 7. Holaizer <& Taylor. 

8. W. R. Clark, Hardware Store. 



KZEY TO THIS IPIC^ 



9. P. F. Levan, Bakery, Confectionery A Restaurant. 

10. Dove, Groceries. Bank. 

11. 1-ukens <Sc Mullins. 

j T. F. Swinford, Bookstore. 

12. -i I M. R. Spinney, Notary Public. 

IG. H. King, Jeweller.