Skip to main content

Full text of "Illustrations, historical and genealogical, of King James's Irish army list, 1689"

See other formats


This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on Hbrary shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 

to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 

to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 

are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other maiginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 

publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we liave taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 
We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain fivm automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attributionTht GoogXt "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liabili^ can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 

at |http : //books . google . com/| 


r i 

or\!a W^n 


V. 0. 




ing ^mts's |ris| |i^rmg ^xsi 




JOHN p' ALTON, Esq., Babbisteb, 

C0BBS8P. MS1CB. 8.A.8. 



* ANNALS or BOILS.' (ISW>, Be. &c Be. 









^ OF 


The Cavahy, Horse and Dragoons fifteen Regiments, that, during 
the war of the Bevolntion in Ireland, would have maintained the 
Stoart dynasty, haye been fully displayed in the preceding volume; 
their doings detailed, and the social position of all their Offtcers 
has been faithfully ascertained and disclosed. A more noble host 
has seldom been submitted to review. Six of the Colonels were 
Peers, as were five of the Captains. The other officers were sons 
of Peers, Baronets, or heirs of the oldest families, as long as they 
had anything to inherit. Yet this array the late talented and 
justly regretted Lord Macaulay has, in his so universally read 
EQstory, broadly challenged. Many that commanded for King 
James, says his lordship, were ' cobleis, tailors, butchers, or foot- 
men,' and he denounced them as such on some authorities (if any) 
only known to himself. The compiler of this work felt sensitivdy 
called upon to vindicate this Amnr List, but not having heard of 
Lord Macaulay's ' onslaught^ until the dose of last year his first 
advance was only made on the 24th December, 1859, when, as he 
too soon afterwards learned, the illustrious nobleman was on his 
death-bed. Had his lordship lived he would doubtless have 
admitted that his conclusion was induced by misrepresentation. 
The vast scopes of territory, which these officers forfeited for their 
faith and their loyalty, are sad but sure evidences of aristocratic 
station. How magnificent was the eulogy pronounced by the Earl 
of Derby, when he last opened the Imperial Parliament. ' No man,' 
said the Premier, ^ however he may warmly admire the character 
and conduct of William the Third, but, while admiring the heroism 
of the Dutchman, must also sympathise with the misfortunes of the 
fallen monarch, • * * and with those who, with the most 
heroic resignation and unbroken loyalty, had followed in the foot- 
steps of that fallen monarch and saorificed themselves to their stem 
love of liberty; these men who had offered the most precious 
sacrifices that could be demanded of them, rather than violate their 
honest principles.' 

The Inpahtbt, who are here now ready for review, will support 
what has been urged for the Cavalry. 

VOL. 11. B 




Regiments of Infantry. 




The Eing'6 

John Hamilton's 

Henbt Fitz-James's, Lokd 

Grand Prior . 
Mountgashel's . 
Earl of Antrim's 
Earl of Tyrone's 
Nugent's (Richard) 
Dillon's (Henry) 
Lord Galway's 
Lord Bellew's 
Lord Eenmare's 
Lord Slane's 
O'Neill's (Cormtjck) 
Cavenagh's (Charles) 
Butler's (Thomas) 
Fitz-Gerald's (John) 
Lord Louth's 
Lord Eilmallook's 
Sir Maurice Eustace's 



































































23. Eabi. of Westmbath's 

24. Majob-Genebal Boisseleau's 

25. LoBD Bophik's 

26. O'Gaba's (Oliveb) 

27. Gbace's (John) . 

28. Butleb's (Edwabd) 

29. McMahon's (Abt) 

30. MooBE^s (Chables) 

31. Bagkall's (Dxtdlet) 

32. O'Neill's (Gobdon) 

33. Bbowke's (Nicholas) 

34. Sib Michael Cbeagh's 

35. Sib Hewabd Oxbttbgh's 

36. Bbowne's (Domikick) 

37. MacCabtie's (Owen) . 

38. Babbett's (John) 

39. O'Bbtan's (Chables) . 

40. O'Donovan's (Daniel) 

41. LoBD Iveagh's 

42. McEllicott's (Bogeb) 

43. O'Bbillt's (Edmund) . 

44. MacGuibe's (Cuconaught) 

45. Boubke's (Waltbb) . 

46. O'Neill's (Felix) 

47. McMahon's (Hugh) . 

48. McGillicuddt's (Denis) 

49. Pubcell's (James) 

50. LoBD Hunsdon's . 











































KING James's ibish asmt list. 


THE Kmo'd. 

The Kiiig*8 Company, Michael 
Both, Captain. 

William Donington, CdUm/^ 

William Mannsell Barker, 

Thomas Arthur, Major. 

Qeoxge Talbot 

Biehaxd Fagao. 

Sir Lake DowdalL 

SiJf Gi^goiy Bytne. 
Patrick Dowdall. 
Bartholomeir BnaeeL 

Thomas Hackett. 

Thomas Warren. 

Bichard Fitzgerald. 

{Bobert BnsselL 
Owen Bonrke. 

Thomas Wafer. 

{John Connell, 
Walter Hmiket 



William Fitzwilliaml 
Barnwell, V 

John Edwards. J 



{Edmund Fahy, 
John Clancy. 

{Christopher Wddon, \ 
Edmund Brennan. 

{Charles McDonnell, 
Peter PurcelL 

Bichard Bourke. 

{James Eussell, 
James Carney. 

f David KlhilL 
\ Christopher Taaffid. 

{Bobert Dillon, 
Walter D*Alton. 

Walter Kangle, and Geo. Nangle, / Edward Nangle, 
his Son. I J<*n Gn^ 

Edward DowdalL 
George Aylmer. 

{Peter Bathe. 
Bryan LyncL 

{Edward Tipper, 
Thomas Skelton. 



Edward Arthur. 

Talbot Salter. 
James Touchett. 

John Arthur. 

l^chdlas Tyrwhitt. 

Piers Meade. 

Bobert BamewalL 

Edward Hanlon. 
Christopher Archbold. 

Edward Toole. 

Michael Warren. 

John Dillon* 

John Plunket. 



John Seagmya. 

Sir Anthony Mqllfidy. 


Thomafl Anmdell, GrenaUm^ I 

John lyrreli 
John Arthor. 

• Mahoney, 

• Lynch, 

• Boberts. 
. Dongan, 

Lattin, Qrenad, 


James Molloy. 

Francis White, 
Edmond Kelly, 

Charles Povey, 
John Moigan. 


Andrew Doyle. 

. Lally. 


-i^— Madden. 

■. Ware. 

— -Hia 

— - Burke and -^ 
Two (not named.) 

\ Matthew Taafib. 
> AdamCnsack. 


Qeofge BuflseB. 
Hemy DriscolL 
Thomas Poynts. 
«^i— Eenealey. 

•-«r^ Kiempstone. 

-• — Meade. 


Kma jaheb's ibish abht list. 


This fine Begiment is reported in the Establishment of 
1687 — 8 as tiien consisting of only twelve companies (1080 
men) ; its charge being stated as £17,827 12s. On the 
Beyiew of August, 1689, it appeared as counting twenty 
companies or 1,200 men; when further strengthened, it com- 
prised twenty-two of 90 soldiers each, or 1,980 men, exclusive 
of Officers. The muster given above seems yet more numer- 
ous, while it is to be remarked that the six last Companies 
are given in deference to the British Museum Army List, 
but do not appear on that preserved in Trinity College. 
The celebrated Doctor Alexius Stafford (a secular priest of 
Wexford County) Dean of Christ Church, Master in 
Chancery, and Member for Bannow in King James's 
Parliament, was Chaplain to the Begiment; and he, having 
in his zeal passed into the ranks at the battle of Aughrim, 
fell on that disastrous day. 

The Clarendon Correspondence (vol. 1. p. 434,) ^ves an 
interesting account of a review of this Begiment in 1686. 
" This morning (8th June, 1686) the Boyal Begiment drew 
up in St. Stephen's Green, when my Lord Tyrconnel viewed 
them and saw them exercise ; Lieutenant Colonel Dorrington 
was in his post; I was not in the field. His lordship told 
the Officers that the King was so satisfied in the long services 
of Sir Charles Fielding, that he had removed him to prefer 
him to a better post, and that he did the like for Master 
BiUingsley, who was then in the field. Major Barker not 
being yet come. His Lordship likewise said, as I am 


infomiedy His Majesty did not remove any of the other 
Officers out of any dislike, for he was well satisfied with their 
services, but to make room for other men of great merit. 
Then presented Captain Harman to the Company he was 
to command, on the head of which was Captain Margetson, 
who said be bought his employment to show his readiness 
to venture his life and fortune in the King's ^rvioe; that 
whilst he had been in it he behaved himself with loyalty and 
honour, and did now most readily submit to his Majesty's 
pleasure." This Begiment of In&ntry, together with Fitz- 
James's, Lord Galway's, Sir Maurice Eustace's, and Colonel 
Bamsay's, Lord Gralmoy's, Lord Abercom's, and Colonel 
Dominick Shddon's Horse, constituted the besieging force 
at Derry; and at the Boyne and on the last fatal field of 
Aughrim, the valour and steadiness of this truly Boyal 
Begiment were preeminent. 

{Of the Kin^B Own Company,) 

So early as in the beginning of t];ie fourteenth ceoituiy 
this surname is recognised on Irish records. In 1382 
Adam, son of Philip Both, was one of the influential 
proprietors of Cork appointed to organize a hosting in that 
county. In seven years after William Both was Mayor of 
Drogheda; and merchants of the name appear about that 
time in Kilkenpy and New Boss. 

In 1606 Bpbert Both had a gnmt of divers rectories 
and tithes in Kilkenny and Tipperary, paced of the estate 
of the late Priory of Kenlis. In 1616 Alderman Edwacd 


Both died, sdsed of Talbot's Castle and other premises in 
Ejikenny, leaving Kichard his son and heir. In four years 
after died John, son of Peter Both, also an Alderman of 
Kilkenny, seised of Sheepstown and other estates in the 
County; his son and heir, Peter, was then 30 years of age 
and married to Leiitia, daughter of Walter Lawless of said 
city. In 1628 Bichard, son of Edward Both, was an 
Alderman there, and he died in 1637, seised of CooleshQl, 
the weir, fishery and mill at Puroells-Inch, and PuiceUs-Hays, 
Talbot's Castle, and certain mountain and pasture land at 
Dromleigh, all in the County of EHkenny; three daughters 
»were his co-heiresses. At the time of the breaJdng out of 
the Civil War of 1641, Sir Bobert Both, Enight, was seised 
of Tullemaine in this County. 

In the commencement of the ensuing troubles, the Pro- 
testant Bishop of Ossory, Doctor Griffith Williams, having 
fled firom his charge, Doctor David Both, son of Geoffi*ey, 
then the Boman Catholic Prelate thereof, entered into pos- 
session of the See, under the authority and protection of the 
Supreme Council of Confederate Catholics, which then sat 
at Kilkenny; and he continued in this office during that 
troubled interval for the remainder of his life. Messingham, 
Archbishop Ussher, Ware and Harris, bear testimony to his 
learning, accusing him, however, of what they considered 
demonstrations of bigotry, but what in truth his devotedness 
to the Catiiolic reli^on at that crisis necessitated; and it is 
ever to be remembered that he zealously advocated the 
acceptance of those terms of peace which the Marquis of 
Ormonde offered. He was the author of several works, his 
principal production being the * Analecta Sacra Nova et Mira 
de Rebua Catholicomm.^ He died about the year 1651, it is 
believed, in the Diocese of Ferns, where he was interred; 


and a splendid oenotapb, of black marble, eommemorateB him 
within the IrLsh Cathedral, oyer which he once presided. 

The aboye Captain Michael was bom in 1665 ; he entered 
the Irish Foot Gkiards under the Duke of Ormonde in 1686, 
and in 1688 was appointed to the Captaincy in which he 
continued throughout the succeeding war. After the capi- 
tulation of Limerick he passed oyer to France, and seryed, 
in 1692, witii the army on the coast of Normandy, designed 
for the Inyasion of England. He was at Huy, at Landen, 
at Charleroys with tiie army of Grermany in 1694, and that 
of the Mosdle in 1695, became a Lieutenant-Colonel in 
1696, and was attached to tiie army of Flanders in 1697. 
When, in the following year, Eing James's fiegiment of 
Foot Guards was formed into the Segment of Dorrington, 
M. de Soth was constituted its Lieutenant-ColoneL His 
subsequent seryices are ftdly detailed in O'CaUagharCa Bri- 
gadeSf yol. 1, p. 173, Ac. He died in 1741, leaying a son, 
Charles Edward, whose distinguished life as Colonel of his 
fikther's B^iment, is exhibited in the same work, p. 175, &c. 
This latter died in 1766, when his Regiment became that 
of Roscommon, the Colonel, in this succession, being Robert, 
son of Patrick Dillon. 


DoBKiNaTOir was a natiye of England,* and belonged to 
this Regiment of Guards from its first formation. In the 
Establishment of 1687-^ ; he is entered on the Pension List 

* C^CaBaghan^s Maearia Exddkanj p. 419. 


for £200 per annwn^ subseqiji^iit to wldch date he was 
appointed Colonel of this Corps by King James, instead of 
the second Duke of Ormonde, and was made a Privy Coun- 
cillor of Ireland, together with the Dukes of Powis and 
Berwick, the Earls of Clanricarde, Abercom, Carlingford, and 
Melfort, the Lords Kllmallock, Clare, Merrion, and Kenmare ; 
the English Lord Chief Justice, Sir Edward Herbert (who 
followed the Eang's fortune, and subsequently became Ids 
Chancellor at St. Germains), Colonel Patrick Sarsfield, 
afterwards created by him Earl of Lucan, and Sir Ignatius 
White of Limerick, Baronet.* 

Colonel Dorrington was afterwards commissioned by the 
King, immediately before the meeting of the Parliament in 
Dublin, to serve at the siege of Deny, and there was he 
wounded, but not so badly as long to supersede his active 
duty. In the September of that year, when King James was 
in the advance to arrest the progress of his enemy in Louth, 
having marched within a short distance of Dundalk, he 
directed Colonel Dorrington with the Brigade of Guards to 
come on as fiir as Mapletown-bridge, and resolved himself to 
encamp near that of AfPane.t Dorrington subsequentiy dis- 
tinguished himself at the Boyne, and was Governor of 
Limerick in the latter portion of that year (1690). When 
Tyrconnel passed over to France, leaving the Duke of 
Berwick his Deputy in the Vice-Boyalty of Ireland, Brigadier 
Dorrington was one of those deputed to represent to his 
Grrace that the power so attempted to be conferred upon him 
was illegal, but that the Great Council in Limerick, consisting 
of tixe Prelates, Nobles, and Officers, were willing tiiat he 

^ (TCaUaghan's Brigades, t. 1, p. 168. 
t Clarke's James IL, tqL 2, p. 379. 


should have ihe civil and military authority, provided he 
would admit a sdect coundl of officers to direct his militaiy 
operatiims, and allow two able persons from each of the 
provinoes to advise him in relation to the dvil.* On Tyr- 
conneFs return from France, Dorrington was made Major- 
Geneial of the Army.f 

Immediately before the last siege of Limerick, he was 
taken prisoner at the battle of Aughrun,^ and was thereupon 
sent up to Dublin, from thence to Chester, and at last to the 
Tower of London ; but was so soon released or exchanged by 
the' Sevolutionists, as to be able to resume in France his 
active adherence to the Jacobite cause. There he retained 
his Colonelcy of the Boyal Irish Foot Guards ; of which, in 
the remodelling, Oliver O'Oara, who had been a fall Colonel 
in Ireland, was constituted Lieutenant-Colonel, and John 
Roth, Major. [To the time of his decease at Paris in 1718, 
Dorrington was Colonel of this Regiment; styled King 
James's, until after the peace of Rysvdck, when it was re- 
modelled as Dorrington's. In 1704 he attained the grade of 
Lieutenant-Greneral in France, and served in Flanders and 
Germany till 1710, when he made his last campaign. His 
Regiment subsequently took name from its successive 
Colonels, as Roth's, Roscommon's, and Walsh's.] 

The ParU Qttotidienne of March, 1841, had an interesting 
notice of this Colonel's descendants: ''Died at Abbeville, 
within a few days of each other, the Comte and the Chevalier 
Macclesfield Dorrington, aged the one 85, the other 74, and 
descended frt>m 'Lord' William Dorrington, who was 
Colonel of an 'English' Regiment which bore his name. 

* (yConar^s MiUt Mem.^ p. 126. f Stary^s Impartial HisL, pt. H, p. 55. 

% Siory*8 Impartial Hiatary, pt IT, p. 137. 


He emigrated with James the Second, and was created 
during his exile a Peer of England, by the monarch he had 
80 fidthfullj followed. With these two brothers the branch 
of the Dorringtons, so established in France, became extinct, 
but the name continues in England.'' 

Another Dorrington (Andrew) was Captain in the Earl of 
Clancarthy's Regiment of Infimtry, but William is the only 
one on the BoU of Attainders, where he is described as 
* of Dublin; 


This surname does not seem to have been known in Ireland, 
until the days of the Tudor dynasty, ndither does it appear 
on the Attainders of 1642 or 1691. In 1616 the Commis- 
sioners of Wards recommended William Barker, Esquire, to 
the office of King's feodary, within all the Province of 
Ldnster and the English Pale ; which office was granted to 
him accordingly. King Charles, on His Bestoration, con- 
firmed the Order of Elnighthood of the Boyal Oak on three 
individuals of this surname, William Barker, then styled of 
London, another William of Suffolk, and Abel Barker of 
Butlandshire. By the Act of Explanation (1665) a William 
Barker was restored to lus estates in the County of Limerick, 
and he further assured his title by a patent of 1667, which 
conveyed to him not only 3,344 acres in Limerick, but 1,339 
in Tipperary, 856 in the King's County, 1,752 in Cork, and 
6,827 in Down. This patentee became an Alderman, and. 


being so seified in fee of the Limerick lands, as also of a 
manor in Essex, he settled same, on his marriage in 1676, to 
fiunilj nses ; and the eldest son of that marriage was Sir 
William Barker,* afterwards established at Kilcoolj in 

There can be little doubt that the Officer here under con* 
sideration was of this Limerick fiunily. He was Major when 
King James entered Dublin on Palm Sunday (1689), was 
immediately after made Lieutenant-Colonel, on Dorrington 
being appointed Colonel, and was at the blockade of Derry. 
After the return of the Duke of Tyrconnel from France, he 
was created a Brigadier-General of Li&ntry, and fell at the 
battle of Aughrim. 

A Charles Barker had, as hereinafter mentioned, on the 
Bestoration, a confirmatory grant of 396 acres part of Croboy 
in Meath, theretofore the estate of the Lynches or the 
Leynses of the Ejiock; while Captain Phillip Barker was one 
of those mentioned in the adjudications to the ^ 1649' Officers. 


This name appears of Lish record from the time of Edward 
the Second, and Ortelius's Map locates the family in the 

Barony of Clanwilliam, County of Limerick. In the year 

1210, Robert Arthur was a benefiu^r to the great Abbey of 
St. Thomas in Dublin. In 1309 Matilda, the widow of 
Richard Arthur, who died seised of lands held under the 

Crown, had an assignment of dower thereoff. In 1314 John 

— - — .. -^ — .- . — 

* Appeal Ca$e$. 


Arthur was one of the High Bailiffs of lamerick, and the 
name appears subsequently filling that office on forty-seven 
occasions, and the Mayoralty, on forty-two. In 1392 John 
Arthur, a citizen of Limerick, obtained an exemption from 
being called* upon assize Juries. In 1403 Robert Arthur 
died seised of estate^ in Sldne and other parts of Meath, 
leaving Peter, his son and he^, who, in 1431, had a Commis- 
sion of Inquiry within the Pide intrusted to him. In 1486, 
Dr. Thomas Arthur, by birth of Limerick City, died there 
Bishop of the See. In the first Parliament of Elizabeth, 
Edward Arthur was one of the Members elected to represent 
that City ; as was Alderman Nicholas Arthur in 1613. 
After the Restoration, a patent of lands in the County of 
Limerick to Captain John Winckworth, a Cromwellian, con- 
tained a saving of the right of Dr. Thomas Arthur to certain 
lands tiierdn named, as a nominee after reprisals ; and he had 
a similar saving in a patent of premises in the City of 
Limerick, to Wentworth, Earl of Roscommon; while, under 
the Acts of Settlement and Explanation, he was restored to 
hiB principal seat and 2,000 acres of land ; as was, by the 
same legislative arrangement of property, John Arthur to the 
estates of his father, Alderman Arthur, with some exceptions ; 
and a Patrick Arthur was likewise thereby similarly restored. 
In 1678 Pierce Arthur had a confirmatory grant of upwards 
of 400 acres in Clare, as had Dymphna and Thomas Arthur 
of 1,400 in Galway. In King Jameses Charter to Limerick, 
Nicholas Arthur was named one of the Aldermen, (and he 
Represented that City in the Parliament of 1689) ; while James 
and Thomas Arthur were 6f its Burgesses. This Thomas it 
may be concluded was the above Major. At the Parliament 
of Dublin in 1689, he sat as one of the Representatives for 
the Borough of Newcastle, in the County of Dublin. 


An early notice of thb Thomas appeare in the Carreepond- 
ence of the Earl of Clarendon (6th May, 1686), when writing 
to the Earl of Sonderland, he recommends ''that Captain 
Thomas Arthnr, a Roman Catholic, who lately bought the 
employment, be advanced to the Lieutenant-Colonelcy of 
the Guards.''* Early in the September of that year he was 
sent to Connaught by Tyrconnel to raise recruits, but, not 
having the Earl of Clarendon's order, he was recalled, and 
this the rather '' as the Captun could command no serviceable 
interest in Connaught." f Lord Clarendon, having been 
afterwards accused of thus recalling Arthur, defended himself 
as that the raising of men is a matter of great consequence, 
and ought to be done by no authority but that of the Chief 
€rovemor.$ Beddes Major Thomas, there were of the 
fiunily in this Begiment John Arthur a Captain, Edward 
and John Arthur Ensigns; and Patrick Arthur was a 
Captain in Major-Greneral Boisseleau's Li&ntry. Oqe of 
these Captains was wounded at Deny, while the above 
Major fell at the Boyne;§ and Dean Story records the 
death of a Colonel Arthur at the battle of Aughrim || who, 
it would seem from Lodge,^ was married to a niece of 
Bichard Earl of Tyrconnel. This Colonel was Robert 
Arthur, in trust for whom the aboye Captain Thomas held 
the Clerkship of the Crown and Hanaper, in 1689. The 
outlawries of 1691 include this ThomaSf described as of 
Colganstown, County of Dublin, with three others in said 
Coimty, and one in each of those of Limerick, Clare, and 

* Singer's Correspondence^ voL 2, p. 372. 

f Singer's Correspondence of Lord Clarendon^ yoL 2, pp. 57&-9. 

t Singef's Correspondence, t. 2, p. 872. { darkens James //., t. 2, p. S99. 

n Ipqfoniol EiMtory, pi 11., p. 138. If Peerage, ▼. 4, p. ISO. 

16 kutg James's ibish abict list. 

Kilkenny. Various claims were made on their estates at 
Chichester House. 

In later years this femily was represented in the County of 
Dublin at Seafield. 


This &mily is by some considered of English descent, while 
others prefix to it the Milesian * O.' One of the most 
ancient rolls of Irish record, almost synchronizing with the 
English invasion, recognises William ^ Fakun^s' possession of 
a plot of ground, several houses as well of stone as of wood, 
with a tower outside Werburgh's-quay in the City of 
Dublin. In the thirteenth century the name was established 
in Meath, and in its branches became early connected with 
the De Lacys, Plunketts, and Bamewalls. In 1358 John 
Fagan was High Sheriff of the Liberties of Meath ; and in 
1373 was appointed Governor of the important Castle of the 
Pale at Trim; while in 1401 Nicholas Fagan was one of 
the Commissioners selected for assessing the Barony of 
Moyallen therein with a com subsidy. 

Christopher Fagan, the representative of the Meath line, 
and inheritor of their estates, was induced to lend his 
influence in maintaining Perkin Warbeck's cbum to the 
Crown. He (as it is said in an old &mily pedigree, verified 
by wiUs and funeral entries in the Ofiice of Arms, and lately 
in the possession of Mr. William Fagan of Cork), was slain 
with four of his sons at the siege of Carlow, when a great 
portion of their Meath estates was, as confiscated, granted 


to the Aylmers, Bamewalls, and other gentry of the Pale. 
John, the youngest son of Christopher, was also at Carlow, 
being then but eighteen years of age ; he, however, escaped 
the slaughter, and fled to Cork, a city that held out 
strenuously for Ferkin. He there married Phillis, daughter 
of William Skiddy of Skiddy's Castle in that city, by whom 
he had two sons, and a daughter Phillis, who married Thomas 
Gould. Bichard, the eldest son of Christopher, left a son 
Thomas Fagan, who acquired that estate of Feltrim in the 
County of Dublin, from which the head of the family has 
rinoe derived a territorial designation. His eldest son, 
another Christopher, was High Sheriff of the City of Dublin 
in 1565 and 1573; and it was during his possession of 
Feltrim that the unfortunate Earl of Desmond, being a 
prisoner of state in the Castle of Dublin, and his health 
fidling so as to need the air of the coimtry, this Christopher 
Fagan was selected to take charge of his person at his 
residence. But when it was intimated to Fagan that it 
would be his duty to watch the captive, he magnanimously 
replied, that the Earl would be welcome to diet and lodging 
at his house, yet would he never consent to be his keeper. 
Desmond, it may be added, in such liberal guardianship was 
allowed to walk abroad on his parole; but, abusing the 
privil^e, he escaped into Munster, where, entering soon after 
into open rebellion, he was treacherously murdered.* In 
1611 John Fagan had a grant of the Castle of Bullock in 
the County of Dublin, with the Fishery and haven and the 
Castle of Bochestown, &c.; and in 1669 Patrick O'Fagan 
passed patent for 301 acres in Louth. 

The relative and namesake of the above Christopher was 

"^D'AUmU History of the Co. DubUn^ pp. 211-12. 

VOL. n. c 


declared a forfeiting proprietor during the Civil War of 1641 , 
but a Decree of Innocence, obtained on the Bestoration, 
restored his estate of Feltrim to him and his heirs male. 
His death, in 1682, is recorded in a funeral entry in the 
Office of Arms, wherein he is described as ^Christopher, 
son of Richard, son of John, son of Bichard ;* that he died 
12th February, 1682--3, and was buried in St. Audoen's 
Church, Dublin; having married . Anne, daughter of Sir 
Nicholafi White of Leizlip, by whom he had several children, 
of whom (says the record) Richard and Peter are now living, 
and one daughter, Elizabeth, married to Lord Strabane (and 
who became mother by him of Claud, fourth Earl of Aber- 
com, Colonel of a Regiment of Horse in this Army, as 
before noticed). The Richard here mentioned was the above 
Captain, and he married Ellen, daughter of Thomas Aylmer 
of Lyons, by whom he had one daughter, Anna-Maria; but 
neither he nor his brother Peter having left male issue, and 
the title to the inheritance having thereby vested in the 
Crown, Charles the Second, by privy seal, granted it to 
Claud, Lord Abercom, the said son of their sister, Elizabeth. 
Richard's unde, John Fagan, became the founder of that 
Munster line in which the representation is now preserved; 
and his son, Christopher, was, as hereafter noticed, a Captain 
in Lord Kenmare's Li&ntry; while in Sir Michael Creagh's, 
Patrick 'F&gan* was also a Captain, and another of the 
name Chaplain therdn. The Attainders of 1691 exhibit the 
names of Thomas Fagan of Kinsale (who appears to have 
been a Lieutenant in Lord Kilmallock's Lifantry), Bryan 
'OTegan' of Drumgagh, County of Down, clerk; Manus 
' OTegan' of Clonallon, County of Down ; with Richard 
Fagan, described as of Drakestown, County of Meath, and 
Feltrim, County of Dublin. The value of the latter's estate 


alone was so oomddemble) that an inquiry into its eircam- 
stanoed was directed in 169(X-1) with the object of presenting 
it as a royal boon to Sir Bobei^ Southwell.* The sale of All 
his estates ultimately brought in not less than £100,000, out 
of which only his wife*s jointure and his daughter's portions 
(fot he cBed without male issue) were allowed to be paid, yiz, ; 
£1,000 for his eldest daughter Anne, and £400 fbr each of 
his other daughters, ElLsabeth and Helen. They were all 
minors at the time of the claims made. Helen afterwards 
manned John Taylor of Swords, (arUe vol. 1. p. 437.) 

A James Fagan passed after the Revolution into the 
Spanish service, where he was promoted to the rank of 
Lieutenant-Colonel of HameFs Regiment. He marriad th6 
heiress of the house of Turges in LorrainCi and was living in 
1 722.t See further of tiiis fiunily at the notice of Christoi^ier 
Fagan, a Captain in Lord Kenmare's Li&ntry. 


This name is of record in Ireland from the time of 
Ejng Edward the Third. In that reign John ' Dowedale,' 
was Sheriff of Louth; he was a Justice in egre in 1384; 
and died early in the reign of Henry tiie Fourth. Peter 
* Dowedale,* his son and heir, had livery of his estates in 
1418. In 1422 the custody of the lunds and estates of John 

■_!■ ■■! - — ■ --"■ ---r ..- ■ — ^ . ^ _ 

* Tharpe^s CataL Southwell MS8.y p. 213. f Foffon MSSi 


Walfihy chaplain, in the city and suburbs of Dublin, was 
committed to Robert Dowedall, who by the style of Robert 
Dowdall of Newtown-Termonfeckin, County of Louth, was, 
in 1446, appointed Chief Justice of the Common Pleas in 
Ireland. His son Sir Thomas was Master of the Rolls in 
1478, and James Dowdall was appointed in 1583 Chief 
Justice of the Queen's Bench. An unprinted Act of Re- 
sumption of 1468 contains a saving of the rights of the 
aforesaid Robert Dowdall. In 1543 George Dowdall was 
appointed Primate of Armagh, but retired firom his See on 
King Henry's efforts to introduce the Relfbrmation ; he was, 
however, restored thereto on the accession of Queen Mary. 
Edward Dowdall of Glaspistol was one of the Representatives 
of the County of Louth in Queen Elizabeth's first Parliament ; 
and in 1600, on the petition of Peter Dowdall of Drogheda, 
a commission was issued for establishing his right in certain 
lands in Termonfeddn and elsewhere in Louth; while, in 
1608, Sir John Dowdall of Piltowne, in Waterford, had a 
grant of license to hold markets and fidrs in Rathkeale, with 
divers castles and lands in Limerick.X Laurence Dowdall of 
Athlumney and Nicholas Dowdall of ^rownstown attended 
the celebrated meeting on the hill of Crofby ; and the Attain- 
ders of 1642 present their names with that of Walter of 
Athboy. Laurence was nevertheless one of the Confederate 
Catholics, who adhered to the King at the meeting in 
Ealkenny, and he was accordingly excepted from pardon for 
life or estate in Cromwell's Act of 1652. In a grant of 
Athlumney as forfeited property to William Ridges in 1666, 
a saving was inserted '' of such right and no other as should 
be adjudged due to Sir Luke Dowdall, Knight, as a 
nominee, in the town and lands of Athlumney.'' This Sir 
Luke, who was the son of the aforesaid Laurence Dowdall, 


liad a confinnatory grant in 1677 of 4,265 acres in BoBOommony 
and in the foUopvnng year of 3,239 aores in Meaih, including 

Besides "uiese Captains, there appear upon this service 

Dowdall, chapkdn in Lord Abercom's Horse ; another 

Edward Dowdall, a Quarter-Master, and Joseph Dowdall, an 
Ensign in Lord Louth's Regiment of Li&ntry ; two Dowdalls 
in Commission on Colonel Richard Kugent's; while a John 
Dowdall was subsequently promoted to a Majority in Lord 
* Bellew's.' The list of names for the Shrievalties in Ireland, 
sent over to Lord Clarendon the Viceroy, contained, for the 
County of Meath, the name of Launcelot Dowdall, with the 
observation, ' a factious caballing whig ;' to which Clarendon 
replied in comment, ^ This gentleman is of an ancient English 
fiunily in that county, where he behaves himself with great 
sobriety, and is so far from being a fitvourite of the whigs or 
caballing with them, that they are dissatisfied with his being 
Sheriff, concluding him a friend to the old natives of the 
County.* * 

John Dowdall was one of the Representatives of the 
Borough of Dundalk in the Parliament of 1689, as was 
Henry Dowdall, Recorder of Drogheda, for that ancient 
town. This latter it was who, in duty of his office, delivered 
that address of its Corporation to King James, when entering 
the town on the 7th of April, 1689, which is preserved in 
the ArUhologia Hibemica (vol. 1, p. 42). The Attainders 
of 1691 comprise the names of the above Sir Luke, described 
as LucaB Dowdall of Old Connaught, County of Dublin, and 
4f Dublin City ; with fifteen others of the name. 
NSir Lucas forfeited in Meath extensive estates, off which 

♦ Singer's CcTretpondence of Lord Clarendon^ v. 1, p. 286. 


his widow. Dame Elaiherine, claimed dower, but was dismist, 
as were alike the claims of their children Anne, Thomasine, 
and Mary Dowdall for portions, and that of Daniel Dowdall, 

his son and heir, by his guardian, for a fee therein. 

Margaret Dowdall claimed in her own right and was allowed 
the benefit of sundry debts due to her, but ^ put out' in the 
name of Patrick Dowdall, who was attainted ; while she also 
claimed, as one of the executors of Lady Jane Dowdall, a 
mortgage debt affecting the County of Longford estate of 
sfud Patrick Dowdall. Lady Alice Dowdall, otherwise 
Nugent, one of the daughters of Bichard, late Earl of West- 
meath, claimed a jointure of £180 off the Meath estates of 
Henry Dowdall — dismist. Joseph DowdaU sought and was 
allowed an estate tail in Westmeath lands forfeited by 
Matthew Dowdall ; and Redmond Dowdall, and Mary his 
wife, cUimed an estate tail in County of Limerick lands 
forfeited by Tobias and John Dowdall, as did said Mary her 
dower off these estates as the widow of Tobias and under his 

will of 25th August, 1688. The estates of Sir Lucas were 

subsequently sold in lots to John Preston of Ardsallagh, 
Robert Bochfort, her Majesty's Attomey-Greneral, Michael 
Shields of Wainstown, John Drury of Dublin, and Richard 
Gorges, Esq., the patentee of Kilbrue. 

Li the engagement at Lau^eld village in 1747 Lieutenant 
Dowdall, then ranking in Berwick's Brigade, whs wounded. 


The O'Bymes were the formidable Chieftains of that last 
subjugated district of Ireland, now the County of Wicklow ; 


the preeeat Barony of BaUinacor and the fiainilogh were 
poseeaeed exdusively by them, and they, with the OToolea, 
the temtoiial Lords of the remainder of this County, main- 
tained for nearly fonr centuries an unceasing war against 
Dublin and the English P^li^ So early after the introduction 
of surnames as 1119 the Four Masters record the death of 
Aodh O'Brin (BymeX Lord of East Leinster, and when 
afterwards Dermot McMurrough incited the English inya- 
flion, the O'Byme, who was, in the adjustment of Lish 
goyemment, his tributary, although Dermot confided in him 
as his last hope, renounced his allegiance, and unhesitatingly 
opposed the invaders; when, being brought before ' Strong- 
bow,* he was condemned to death. Jn 1176 Malachy 
OByme died Bishop of Kildare. Murrough ' Mac Bym ' 
of Bainilough, and Connor ' O'Brin ' were of the Lish Chiefs, 
to whom Henry the Third directed a special requisition for 
repairing to his standard, and assisting him with their forces 
against the Ejng of Scotland.* In 1398 Boger Mortimer, 
Earl of March and Ulster, and Lord of Dunamase, was 
kiUed when endeayouring to reduce this mountain Sept; 
a catastrophe which induced the second visit of the unfortu- 
nate Kchard the Second to Lreland, when the O'Byme was 
fiun to yield him homage, t Li 1442 * the English of Dublin 
and Meath made an incursion into O'Bymes' country, where 
they committed great depredations; but were overtaken by 
the O'Tooles and O'Bymes, who defeated them, slaying four 
score and taking immense spoils.' 

Ln 1535 Lord Leonard Grey received intimation that one 
of the Fitageralds, uniting with Lord Battinglas and a 

* Timer's Foedera. t DaviiU HitL ReL, p, S2. 


Clueftain of the O'Symes, had taken their station in the 
Tallejs of Glendalough, that their numbers were daily 
increasing, and ^ their exoursions were pestilent and auda- 
cious.' In two years after, however, the O'Byme made his 
submission to that Deputy. In the time of Queen Elizabeth 
the celebrated Feagh Mac Hugh was the Captain of the 
0*Bymes ; he it was whom Spencer commemorates, ^^ so fiur 
embold^ied as to threaten peril even to Dublin, over whose 
neck he continually hung." His capture and escape are 
graphically narrated by the Four Masters. 

Two cruel Inquisitions were held at Newcastle, in the 
County of Dublin in 1604, by operation of which the estates 
of upwards of eighty of the O'Bjnmes of Wicklow were 
declared forfeited to the Crown ; many of them, as appears by 
the finding, having been kiUed or taken prisoners and hanged 
by martial law during the rebellion, which broke out 2nd of 
September, 36th Elizabeth. In two years after, eighty-five 
others of this devoted m>imtain Septet it necessary in 
prudence to pay fines and^^^duffgeTror patents of pardon. 
Another Inqmsition, taken early in the reign of James the 
First, thus alludes to the moving cause of these and ensuing 
fearful confiscations. Henry the Second (it recites) had, in 
right of his crown^ been seised in fee of all the territory of 
Cosha in the County of Wicklow ; when many mere Irish 
had, from time to time, entered thereupon, but never obtained 
dominion in that country; and in particular John, son of 
Redmond Byrne, a mere Irishman, had, in the time of Henry 
the Eighth, entered thereupon, and died seised thereof, upon 
which Hugh his son entered and died seised; when Feagh- 
Mac-Hugh, his son, of Ballinveer, entered, and, having rebelled 
against Queen Elizabeth, was slain by the Queen's army; 
whereupon Felim, his son, entered, and was seised at the lime 


of that inquisition of James, bat without haying obtained any 
grant or ooncession thereof. In 1605, he was fain to take out 
a patent for his ancient inheritance, to hold to himself in capite^ 
with remainders to his sons, Brian, Hugh, Gerald, James, 
Turlougfa, Feagh, and Cahir, and their respective heirs male ; 
with, on their default, remainder to his own heirs male; 
remainder to Bedmond his brother, remainder to Ownej and 
Feagh, son of Cahir Byrne, his imdes ; remainder to his uncle 
Donell, and the respective heirs male of each in succession. 
Redmond, the aforesaid brother of Felim, took out a patent, 
in 1606, for other lands, stated to have been theretofore *• the 
estate of his &ther slain in rebellion,' and which were granted 
to him to hold for ever, ' in consideration of his good services 
to Queen Elizabeth.' In 1611, the Eling's letter issued to 
receive surrenders from the gentlemen and freeholders of the 
Byrnes' country, of thdr respective estates, with the object 
of thdr receiving new grants thereof at English rents and 

The attainders of 1642 fell upon one hundred and fiftynsix 
O'Bymes within their old territory, including five of the sons 
of Felim, to whom remainders in his patentee estates were so 
limited, viz.: Hugh, G^ndd, James, Turlough, and Cahir; 
with three others of his sons, not named in the patent, viz. : 
Art, Dennot, and Bedmond; while, beyond thdr aboriginal 
country, were attainted four in Dublin, three in the County 
of Kildaret and one in Carlow. The Kilkenny Assembly of 
Confederate Catholics was attended by Hugh ^ Brin' of 
Corinnon, Bryan * Bume' of Ballinacor, Bryan of Bodine, 
James of Ballyaude, and John of Ballyglann. Cromwell's 
Denunciation Act of 1652 excepts two of these Confederates, 
there described as Hugh Mac Phelim and Bryan Mac Phelim 
Byrne, both of the County of Widdow, from pardon for life 

26 KING James's ibish arbit ust. 

and estate. In the Beoord Tower of Dublin Castle is a 
petition of PheUm Byrne, soon after the Bestoration, to 
recover his ancient inheritance in Wicklow; but it does not 
seem to have been effectiye. 

The above Captain Sir Gregory Byrne was resident at 
Tymogue, in 'the Queen's County; in 1669, he married 
Margaret Copley, sister and co-hdress of Sir Christopher 
Copley, and grand-daughter of the first Viscount Banelagh; 
in two years after he was created a Baronet, and in 1685 his 
Lady died, leaving issue by him an only son Daniel. Sir 
Gregory was attainted in 1691 ; nevertheless, at the Court of 
Chichester House he claimed estates in fee in divets lands in 
the Queen's County, and in plots and houses in Dublin; but 
the daim was dismist as cautionary; while some other 
interests in the City and County of Dublin were allowed to 
him. He married to his second wife Alice Fleming, only 
daughter of Sandal Lord Slane^ by the Lady Penelope Moore^ 
daughter of Henry, Earl of Drogheda; (tiie gnrnd-daughter 
of this union, having married into the family of Bryan of 
Jenkinstown, her son sought to establish title to the dormant 
title of Slane as heir general of Christopher Lord Shme, and 
on the extinction of all intennediate issue).—- — Besides this 
Captain, there are on the {vesent ' List' Gttrret and John 
Byrne, Captains in the Earl of Westmeath's In&ntry. The 
former was afterwards adjudged within tiie Articles of 
Limerick; another of this sept was Quaxter-Master in Sir 
Neill O'Ndll's Dragoons. Li the Parliament of Dublin, 
Hugh Byrne sat as one of the B^resentatives of the Borough 
of Carysfcnrt, and Thomas Byrne as one of Wicklow. Sir 
Gregory was outlawed on four Liquisitions in Dublin, Meath, 
and the Queen's County; while the scattered quantity of 
these political attainders in 1698, in relation to the OBymeB, 

THS kino's B£0nCENT OF INFAKTBT. 27 

powerfully evinces the disperdon from thw native mountain 
^istnesses, to which this devoted race were within a few years 
after its reduotiim subjected. Nineteen of these Inquisitions 
were held in the County of Wicklow, dlght in Carlow, seven 
in Westmeath, three in Meath, Dublin, and Wexford xespeo- 
tively, two in the Queen's County, and one in Louth; while 
even in such remote settlements as Derry and Gralway, two 
occur in the former and one in the latter. At the Court of 
Claims, besides those so made by Sir Gr^ory Byrne, Gairet 
Byrne claimed the tithes of Bectories in Wicklow forfeited by 
Hugh Byrne — dismist for non-prosecution. Off the forfeitures 
of Walter Byrne in the City of Dublin, his widow claimed 
and was allowed an estate for life under settlement of 1682 ; 
aod Edmund Byrne claimed and was allowed the fee of some 
estates of Thady Byrne in the Barony of Arklow, County of 

In 1707 Dr. Edmund Byrne was the Boman Catholic 
Archbishop of Dublin, and a proclamation issued in 1718 
for his api«diension, as well as of others ^^ who attempted 
to exercise ecclesiastical jurisdiction contrary to the kws 
of the kingdom." * 


This name b of Irish record from the earliest period after 
the Invasion, while the Four Masters rehte the death of 
Actin Bussell in a battie between the Burkes and O'Conors 

in 1263. In 1309 Beginald Bussd was summoned to a 

■ " ''■'■ I 11 1 III —■ ■ I I ■ ■. II I , 1 1 ■ 

* HardimaKCs Gaboojf^ pp. 275-7. 


Grand Council, and, in the following year, Robert Bnssel of 
Boss had license to acquire the fee of certain premises within 
the manor of Old Boss, which had been the estate of Boger 
le Bygod, formerly Earl of Norfolk, and Marshal of England. 
In 1317 the above Beginald had, with his wife Margaret, the 
grant of an interest in the serjeantcy of Olethan and Imokellj, 
to hold in the form theretofore granted, by Edward the First 
to Thomas Fitz-Manrice and said Margaret. Their son, 
Dayid Bussell, sued out livery of his estates in 1355. Wil- 
liam Bussell was one of the influential gentry of the County 
of Waterford, who, according to the law and usage of the 
period, elected its Sheriff. Walter Bussell was at this time 
Constable of the important Castle of Tallagh on the marches 
of the Pale. In 1384 Bichard BusseU was a Justice in eyre^ 
and he, for his services, obtained a license to marry Margaret 
the widow of Milo Maundeville, a native Irishwoman. 

In 1594 Sir William Bussell was appointed Lord Justice 
of Ireland, when his earliest movement was directed against 
the O'Bymes, at their stronghold of Ballinacor. In two 
years after died Greorge Bussell of Sheephouse, in Meath, 
Nicholas his son and heir being then of full age and married. 
Patrick was the son and heir of this Nicholas. About the 
year 1605 died James Bussell of Quoniamstown, George his 
son and heir being then of ftdl age, but unmarried. This 
George died in 1645. In 1619 died Christopher Bussell 
of BallygaUaghan, in the County Down, Bichard his son and 
h^ being then of full age and married. The Attainders of 
1642 comprise the names of Thomas Bussell {nuigh) of Bush, 
Christopher Bussell of Seatown, Andrew Bussell of Swords, 
Patrick of Brownstown, Nicholas of CoUinstown, Thomas of 
Drynam, and Frauds of Eilrush, all in the County of Dublin ; 
with Patrick Bussell of Bodanstown, County of Meath. In 


1646 Geoige Ruasell of Bathmolin n^as one of the Confederate 
Catholics assembled at Kilkenny, and in 1667 William 
Russell had a confirmatory grant of 154 acres in Wexford. 

A short time before the accession of King James the 
Second, Dr. Patrick Bossell (of the &mily that, as shown 
by the above attainders, was congregated about the ancient 
town of Swords,) was appointed the Catholic Archbishop of 
Dublin, in which dignity he continued during that monarch's 
rrign. In 1685 he held the first Provindal Council at 
Dublin that had been known for many years; and Lord 
Clarendon, then Viceroy, writing at that time to the Earl 
of Rochester one of his state letters, says of this prelate, 
*^He has been with me, seems to be a good man, but no 
politician; he is a secular.'** In the peaceftd course of his 
life he continued, by synods and councils and viedtations, to 
incdoate hmnmty and attention in hifl dergy, and virtue and 
loyalty in their flocks." t During the Bang's residence in 
Dublin, he performed the service and rites of his church 
constantiy in the Royal presence ; the last permitted occasion 
of these solemnities haying been for the consecration of a 
Benedictine nunnery in Dublin. On the downfidl of the 
Stuart dynasty, he fled to Paris, whence however he returned 
to close his life in the land of his birth and ministry. At the 
termination of the year 1692 he died, and was buried in the 
venerable church of Lusk, near Swords. While he was 
Primate, his prindpal residence was in the old chapel-house 
at Frands-street, by the Fraternity of which establishment an 
andent censer is preserved exhibiting the inscription, " Orate 
pro Patricio Russell^ Arehiepiscopo Dvblinia^ Primate Htber* 

— ■-■-■ - - 

* Smgei^B Correspondence^ y. 1, p. 387. 
t ly Alton's Ard^hopi ofDubUn^ p. 464. 

30 KING jameb's ibish abmt list. 

nicg 4t pro qus fratre Jaeobo Rtuaellj Deeano Duhlinim et 
Prothonotario Apostolieo^ qui me fieri fecit.^ * During King 
Jameses reign he enjoyed a pension of £200 per annum 
charged on the Irish Exchequer. 

The above Captain Bartholomew Bussell was the proprietor 
of Seatown, County of Dublin, by which description he was 
attainted in 1691; while there appear on this Army List 
Grarret and Thomas Bussell, Ensigns in the Earl of Tyrone's 
In&ntry (the latter described on his attainder as of Ballymac- 
scanlon. County of Louth), Valentine Bussell a Captain in 
Lord Bellew's, and Christopher Bussell (described also as of 
Seatown) a Colonel Cormuck O'Neill's Infimtry. 
The Attainders of 1691, besides the above officers, include 
the names of Valentine Bussell of Quoniamstown, who had 
been Sheriff of Down in 1687 ; Charles of Lumfin in said 
County ; James of Busselstown, County of Westmeath ; 
Bobert of Drynam (who had been one of the Bepresentatives 
of Swords in the Parliament of 1689), William Bussell of 
Ballymacscanlon, and Andrew of Ardee, in Louth ; James of 
Glendarson, Patrick of Walshestown, and David of Clonfiriest 
in Cork, and Vincent of Aglis in Waterford. Captain Bar- 
tholomew forfeited much about Swords and in the Barony of 
Nethercross. Thomas's confiscations were of portions of the 
Bectorial tithes of Julianstown, Platten, and Dunany. Val- 
enline's comprised extensive estates in the County of Down, 
in which his son Patrick Bussell, then a minor, claimed an 
estate tail as did his mother Mary Bussell, alias Hanlon, by 
Hugh ELanlon her Trustee, a rent charge in Ueu of dower 
under marriage articles of February, 1683. Their petitions, 
do not, however, appear to have been allowed ; while Anne, 

* iyAUorC$ Archbiihops ofDMm^ p. 466. 

THB king's regiment OF INFJLNTBY. 81 

widow of Sir Bobert Hamilton, Sjiigkt, and othen, as ezecu* 
tors of James Hamilton, deceased, claimed and were allowed 
a judgment debt, charged on said Valentine's estates; a 
portion of wiuch, including Quoniamstown, was sold by the 
Commissioners of the Forfeitures in 1703 to Robert Ecfalin 
of Rush, Esq. Bridget, the only child and heiress of Bobert 
Bussell of Drynam, married Andrew Cruise of the Naul 
fiunily. See post^ at Captain Francis Cruise, in the Earl of 
Tyrone's Infimtry. 


This name ^ Hecket' occurs on the Boll of Battle Abbey, as 
of one of the Knights who attended the Conqueror fix>m 
Normandy. His race early extended over Worcestershire 
and Yorkshire. One of his descendants, Paganus Hacket, 
came oyer to Ireland with the English Invasion. He wit- 
nessed an endowment from Hugh Tyrrell to the priory of 
Kilmainham about 1180, and acquired a grant of lands in the 
district of Wicklow still known by the name of Hacketstown,* 
which remained in his line until their adhesion to the Earl of 
Desmond caused its confiscation in the time of Queen Elizar 
both. In 1200, Bowland Hacket was seised of lands near 
Ejnsaly, County of Dublin ;t and in 1250, William Hacket 

founded the Franciscan Friary, in Cashel. In 1302 John, 

Henry, and Bobert ^ Hacket' were of the ^ Fideles' of Ireland, 
whose services were sought by special Boyal mandate for the 

* LifndCs Feudal DigniiieM, ip. 255. f ArchdaWs Monasdoon, p. 152. 


Mrar in Scotland.* About the same time, Robert and Walter 
Haket received similar recognitions of the King*s confidence,! 
the latter being entrusted Ti^th the custody of Newcastle Mac 
Kinegan near Delgany, while Henry was Sheriff of the 
County of Tipperary. In 1356 Andrew Hakett, styled Lord 
Andrew Hakett, was Sheriff and Escheator of the County of 
CroBS-Tipperary, and in 1375 Edmund Haket was Sheriff of 
the County of Waterford. At the battle of Agincourt, 
Richard Hakett was one of the Ejiights in the Duke of 
Gloucester's retinue, as was another Richard in Sir Henry 
Hussey's, and a Walter Haket in Sir William Bourchier's4 
In 1460 Dayid Haket was Bishop of Ossory; and in 1484 
Peter Haket was Archbbhop of Cashel. In the sixteenth 
century, and it would seem anterior to it, a branch of this 
fSEunUy was established in the County of Gralway, and erected 
a castle on a townland of that district which still bears the 
name of Castle-Hacket. By Inquisition of 1584, it was found 
that Ulick Mac Redmond Mac Meyler died in 1571, seised of 
the castles of Castle-Hacket and Cahir-Morris ; but that Mac 
Hacket, the chief of his name, and others of the Sept of the 
Hackets, claimed the aforesaid castle of Castle-Hacket, with 
the two quarters of land adjoining § 

The Attunders of 1642 comprise but one individual in the 
old Coimty, described as George Hackett of Ballinahensy, 
County of Wicklow; about which time Thomas Hackett 
was transplanted to Connaught, and others of the name 
settled in the County of Mayo, where they seem now extinct. 
In 1670 died John Hackett, Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry, 
whom his epitaph in Lichfield Cathedral commemorates as a 

* ParUamaUary Writs, f ^^ vi Irish Chancery, 

X NiooUttU AgmoourL § Hatdiman^s CkikDay^ p. 21. 

THE king's bjbgihekt of infantby. 33^ 

strenuous opponent of the Jesuits, against whom he is said 
to have written a Latin comedy (entitled Loyola^ firom the 
name of the foimderof their order) which was twice acted 
before King James the First, and printed in London in 1648. 
It is related that this piece was composed during a summer 
at Newstead Ahbey^ whither the doctor had retired with his 
pupil, afterwards created Lord Byron, ancestor of the poet* 
In 1672 Thomas Hacket succeeded to the Sees of Down and 
Connor. In 1678 Thomas Hacket, described as of Dublin, 
merchant, an especial friend of the Duke of Tyrconnel, had a 
grant of upwards of 1,000 statutable acres in the Barony of 
Clare, County of Gralway, with certain savings. He was 
afterwards knighted, and was Lord Mayor of Dublin in 1687. 
In the Parliament of 1689, the aforesaid Thomas Hackett, 
the Bishop of Down and Connor, was one of the spiritual 
Peers; while in the Commons, Sir Thomas Hacket repre- 
sented Portarlington, as did Alderman James the City of 
CasheL Another Hackett (James) appears on this Army 
List a Lieutenant in Colonel Thomas Butler^s Infimtry; as 

does Hacket, a Captain in Lord Gormanston's. When 

King James, after the Bojme, fled from Dublin through the 
hills of Wicklow, he stopped for a few hours with some 
followers at the house of a Mr. Hackett near Arklow, whence 
he proceeded to Duncanno9, arriving there about sunrise; 
and according to Archbishop King, a Captain Robert Hacket 
was one of those who followed the fbrtimes of James to 

In 1691 was attainted Thomas Hackett, described as of 
Cloncullen, with Thomas Hackett, junior, of Dublin, James 
of Cashel, John of Ballymacmaigh, Francis of Gaily in Bos- 
common, and James of Priestown in Meath. The last was 
also seised of estates in the County of Dublin, and of Fyan's 

VOL. u. D 


castle in the City. Lieasehold interests in his Meath lands 
were claimed and allowed to another James Hackett, and sub- 
ject thereto, they were sold to John Carter of HoUybrook, 
in the County of Dublin; while his Dublin property was 
sold to Robert Echlin of Bush and the Hollow Swords 
Blades' Company, and * Fyan's old house ' to John Bonninge. 
It does not appear how far the estates of Captain Thomas 
Hackett were affected by attainder, but by a Private Act of 
the Irish Parliament in 1706, explained by another of 1708, 
those of Sir Thomas Hacket were vested in Trustees for the 
payment of his debts. 


This 'name is' of record in Ireland early in the rdgn of 
Edward ike Second, from which time it extended its branches 
over all the Counties of the Pale. In 1609 Andrew, son and 
heir of Jolm ' Warrine' of Churchtown, in Meath, had livery 
of his estates, and he died in 1638, leaving John, his son and 
heir, then aged 35, and married. The Attainders of 1642 
present the names of six Warrens, viz. : Edward of Swords, 
Alexander of Ballybine, John of Castieknock, and 7%oma«, 
described as of Sillogue, all in the County of Dublin ; with 
John and Patrick Warren of Churchtown aforesaid. A very 
interesting account of tixe descendants of the above Edward 
of Swords has been transmitted in aid of this work. First 
deducing his ovm lineage from William, the first of the name 
who came into England with the Conqueror, and whose son, 
another William, died in the Holy Land in 1 148. Edward, 


the gnmdvpn of the latter, pegged over to Ireland in Strong- 
bow^s time. His great-great-grandson, Bichard Warren, 
aoqinred the nuuior of Swo^da, in addition to Courtduff, in 
the County of Dublin; and the^e estates the above Edward 
of Swoids inherited in the sixth generation. His son and 
namesake, Edward Warren, was bom in 1666, served in the 
Stuart cause in Ireland, had th^ command of the citadel of 
Bel&st, but, having been taken prisoner at the battle of Cavan, 
he was sent to the Tower of London, whence he was exchanged 
in 1690, by the influence of a young lady, Miss Anne Spaight, 
who had seen him in his captivity, and whom he married on 
his release. In the strength of his loyalty, however, he, 
returning to Ireland, again joined King Jameses adherents, 
was at the Bpyi^e, and came to France in 1692, after the 
capitulation of Limerick. In 1698, on the invitation of his 
friend Lord CarUngford, he established himself at Nancy, the 
capital of ]Li(»ra4ne, bringing over his wife, whom he had 
previously left in Jiondon. He was naturalized in 1701, by 
letteni patent of the Duke of Lorraine, who appointed him 
Ck>mmander of the Artillery and Fortifications there, and he 
dying in 1733, his son and namesake, Edward Warren, 
succeeded to his post; but Lorraine having been exchaiiged 
against Tuscany, pn the marriage of Francis the First of 
Lorraine with Maria Theresa, Empress of Germany, this 
Warren followed his fortunes and obtained a similar prefer- 
ment in Tuscany. He died at Florence in 1739, leaving 
four sons, three pf whom died withoijit issup in the Austrian 
service; the fourth, Ileiuy-Hyacinth, bpm in 1732, became 
a Major \n the Tuscan a^ny, and died in ].781, leaving two 
sons — 1, Patrick-Leopold-Ledud, bom in 1767, died at 
Jamaica in 1796 s.p. ; 3, John Batiste-Joseph, b. 1769, was 
a Captain in Dillon'b I^h Brigade until its di49olution, when 


he took the same rank of Captain succeasiyely in the 33rd 
and 56th Regiments of British In&ntry. He married Anne- 
Laurence MareiUj at Pondicheny, by whom he had two 
sons and two daughters. The eldest son, Edmund, married 
and is residing at Nanc j, in Lorraine ; the second son, Henry- 
Hyacinth, b. 1818, died in 1851 «./>. 

Of the Confederate Catholics at Kilkenny in 1646, were 
Alexander Warren, then styled of Churchtown; Edward 
Warren, * late of Dublin,' and William Warren of Casheltown. 
About the year 1667 William and John Warren of Corduff 
joined in conveying a parcel of Castleknock (of which William 
had obtained a confirmatory grant in the previous year) to 
the Crown, for the purpose of enlarging the Phoenix Park. 
This William Warren, as appears by Inquisition of 1687, 
was seised of upwards of 283 a6res in Upper Castleknock, 51 
in Carpenterstown, and 58 in Lacken, which he had settled 
in tail-mail on his nephew, the above Captain Thomas, by 
deed of 22nd March, 1669. In 1666 William * Waring' 
passed patent for 2,555 acres in Down, as did Richard 
Waring in the following year for 1,532 in Waterford ; 
Edward, soil and heir of Major Abel Warren for 380 in 
Kilkenny ; John Warren for 6,196 acres in Wexford ; 
William Warren and Anne his wife for 858 in the last 
county, and Comet Thomas Warren for 408 in Meath. 

It is of legal record that Lord Dongan, whom James the 
Second afterwards created Earl of Limerick, leased in 1688 
lands in the County of Kildare to a Maurice Warren for his 
life, and the lives of his nephews Edward and William 
Warren, with covenant for perpetual renewal. William died 
in the camp of Dimdalk, while the lessor was in the 
Irish Army, and Maurice, himself (the lessee) died in 
1691, when Gilbert, the eldest son of Maurice, entered on 

THE king's BE6IMBNT OF IHFAimtT. 37 

the lands, but was uiutble to obtain a reneyral, by reason that 
the Earl of Athlone, the patentee of the estates of the 
attainted Earl of limeriok, was absent from Ireland. On 
the establishment of 1687-8, a Mrs. Mary Warren appears 
for a pension of £8(X Thomas Warren was then Sheriff of 
Dublin, as he was again in the year of King James's sojourn 
there. He was attainted in 1691, by the description of 
Thomas Warren of Corduff, County of Publin, and of 
Warrenstown, County of Meath, 

Bendes this officer, the name ranks commissioned on the 
Infimtiy Begiments of Sir Maurice Eustace, Kchard Nugent, 
liOrds Bophin and Gormianston, Sir Midiael Creagh, and in 
Colonel Simon Luttrell's Dragoonsy^ One of those here 
alluded to, Captain John of Sir Maurice Eustace's Infimtry, 
was Sheriff of Dublin in 1686 ; in 1689 he was a Deputy- 
lieutenant of the Coimty^ and in the Parliament of that year 
represeMed the Borough of Carlow. He was attainted as of 
^ Warrenstown, County of Me^th,' and also of Carlow, but 
his forfeitures lay chiefly ip the Queen's County, and in the 
County and Town of Carlowy" At the Court of Claims 
Maurice Warren daimed sodfe judgment debta aa affecting 
the Carlow estate of John, some of which were allowed ; while 
Henry Warren claimed and was allowed a mortgage in fee 
on said property; and subject to these charges his lands were 
sold in 1703 to Colonel Wentworth Hardman, and to Walter 
Weldon of !Bahin, as were the town plots to Charles Bpuleey. 
There were also attainted in 1692 Patrick, Jam^, and 

ichael Warren, described as of Warrenstown aforesaioV and 
Richard Warren of Carlow. Monumental records of this 
name are yet above ground, fix>m 1679, at Mullaghidart; and 
firom 1722, in the Churchyard of St. Margarets, near Finglas, 
County Dublin. 





'' Tms,"* says Sir Bernard Burke, in his Landed Gentry ^ ^^is 
one of the most ancient Anglo-Nbrman families in Iieland.** 
Amongst the Knights who accompanied Richard de Clare» 
Eail of Pembroke (Strongbow), to that country in 1169 were 
Gilbert de Angulo and his two sons, Jocdyn and Hostilio. 
From the ktter descends the fiimily of de Costello called Mac 
Hostilio or Mac Costello. Gilbert de Angulo obtained the 
territory of Maherigallen and other lands in Meath; whilst hi* 
eldest son Jocelyn acquired Navan and the lands of Ardbraocan^ 
whence ms lineal successors, the Nangles, were subs^u^itly 
styled Barons of Naran. About the year 1190 this Joodiyn 
founded an Augustinian Abbey at Navan. 

In 1803 Gilbert, his descendant, was summoned to join the 
inyading army of Scotland. In 1325 Matthew, son of Walter 
de Angulo, sued out a customary writ of pardon and protec- 
tion, as did William and Ralph de Naungle, as well as 
Gilbert, Edmund, Raymond, and Richard de Naungle. In 
1346 Walter Naungle was appointed one of the Commisdoners 
of Array within the Liberty of Trim. In twenty-six years 
after, King Edward the Third directed his Escheator to 
surrender the possession of the estates of this Walter, which 
were held under Edmund de Mortimer Earl <^ Mardb, 
and which, on the death of said Walter had been taken 
into the £jiig*s hands, by reason of the minority of his 
son and heir, William Naungle, styled Baron of Navan, who 
also died in 1377, leaving his heir imder age. In 1382 Nigel 
Naungle was a Commissioner of Array in Meath, and John 
Naungle a guardian of the peace. This John was Baron of 


Navan, and was, by that style, one of the sureties to the 
Crown for John I^Arcy, when the Castle ibid lordship of 
Baihwyre, and other estates of the Earl of March, then 
deceased, were cononitted to his custody, during the minority 
of Boger de Mortimer, son and heir of Edmund, the late Earl. 
During the reign of Henry the Fourth this Baron John had 
various liigh and confidential appointments. His son and 
har, Walter Naungle, had liyery of his fathei^s estates in 
1408, but, dying within four years after, he left Barnabas, 
his son and heir, a minor. In 1425 the Chief Serjeantcy of 
the Counfy of Kildare was granted to Philip Naungle, at 
which time a branch of the fiunily was established in 
Idmerick. John Nangle, Baron of Navan, took the oath of 
allegance, in 1488, before Sir Bicfaard Edgecombe, as neces- 
atated by the insurrection in favour of Lambert Simnel. 
Subsequently, Sir Thomas Nangle, Baron of Navan (the 
rixteenth in lineal descent from Gilbert de Angulo) married 
Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Jenico, third Viscount Gor- 
manston, by Catherine, eldest daughter of Gerald, ninth 
Earl of Kildare; and had issue by her eight sons, the 
youngest of whom, Walter Nangle of Kildalkey in the 
Coimty of Meath, was great-grand&ther of the above Captain 
Walter, who was himself &ther of Captain George, his eldest 
son, as well as of Edward a Lieutenant herein, and of Garret 
or Gerald, a Lieutenant in Sir Michael Creagh's Lifantry. 
Captain Walter had been Sheriff of Meath in 1687, was one 
of the Bepresentatives of the Borough of Trim in the Par- 
liament of 1689, and died in 1693. 

In 1605 and 1611 Bobert Nangle obtained grants or 
oonfirmations from King James of the Manor and Castle 
of Ballysax, with divers lands and tithes in the Counties 
of Kildare, Tipperary, Waterford, and Longford, ' m duo 


acknowledgment,' as was redted in the patent, of his wounds 
and losses sustained in his several services of extraordinarj 
merit to the Crown. He was, however, attainted in 1642, 
together with Matthew Nangle, his son ; Boknd of Ardiass, 
Peter of Naas, clerk ; Thomas Nangle, otherwise Baron of 
Navan, and Jocelyn Nangle of Kildalkey (father of the above 
Captain Walter). In 1646 Roger Nangle, styled of Glyn- 
more, was of the Confederate Catholics in the Supreme 
Council* In 1667 Robert Nangle, an infant (son and heir 
of Edmund Nangle) and Mable his mother, had a grant of 

Barronstown, Eolbixy, &c., 1,336 acres in Westmeath. 

On this Army List, besides the Nangles in this Be^ment, 
Bobert Nangle is mentioned by O'Callaghan as having been 
a Major in TyrconneFs Begiment, and drowned in the pursuit 
of a routed Williamite force towards Derry . The Inquisition 
of Attainder on said Bobert Nangle bears date in September, 
1694, and finds him sdsed of various estates in the County 
of Westmeath. In King Jameses New Charters John 
Nangle was appointed Portrieve in that to Navan, while 
Walter was one of its Burgesses. In another to Trim, 
Walter, George, and Edward Nangle were Burgesses, as was 
Walter in a third to Athboy. 

The Attainders of 1691 comprise the above Walter and 
George, together with Edward Nangle of Kildalkqr, Francis 
of Harberston, John of Navan, Gerald of Mayne, Piers of 
Kilmihill, and Bobert Nangle, all of the County of West- 
meath. At the Court of Chichester House, Walter Nangle 
claimed and was allowed an estate tail in Meath lands forfeited 
by the above Captain Walter, as did Margery Nangle (jieS 
Dromgoole) her jointure off said estate, and also off Walter's 
Westmeath estates ; while Penelope Nangle claimed a jointurei 
and her son Bobert (a min6r) an estate tail in the Westmeath 

THE kind's BSanCENT OF INFAlTrBT. 41 

knds of Bobert Nangle. A great portion of Captain Walter 
NangloV estate in Meaih was afterwards sold to John A^ill 
of Dublin, as were Robert Nangle's estates in Westmeath to 
the Hollow Swords Blades' Company. 


See of this name poat^ at Captain Fifancus Segrave, in Sir 
Maurice Eustace's Infantry. In a confirmatory grant of 
1668, of lands and prenuses in various oounties to Charles 
Viscount Fitz-Harding, the rights of John Segraye to certain 
houses and plots within the Manor of Bathmore were espe- 
cially saved, and he may possibly be the above Captain, 
afterwards attainted as of Cabra, Coutity of Dublin, and 
Burtonstown, Coimty of Meath. He was, however, adjudged 
within the Articles of Limerick. 

m ■» 



The O'Mulledy's were an ancient Sept of the King's County 
and Westmeath, located near Garry-Casde. In 1447 Come* 
lius O'Mulledy succeeded to the See of Clonfert, whence in 
the following year he was translated to that of Emly. The 
only individual of the name attainted in 1642 was styled 
Patrick O'Mulledy, Baronet, of Ballinv^, County of Meath. 
A letter is extant of the 10th of August, 1690, from the 
Williamite Colonel Wolsdey to Secretary Southwell, '£nom 
the camp near Mullingar;' in which he says^ '^We had 


adyices from Colonel Babington that 2,000 of the enemy 
were got together at Tjrrelspass, . . . the;f adyanoed 
with about 120 Hdrse, * who' onr men charged and broke ; 
. . . the night came npon us or else we had done great 
execution; as it was, we killed between 80 and 100, and have 
taken prisoners three of the greatest rogues amongst them, 
Tiz. Andrew Tuite, J&mes Ledwich, and Sedmund MuUedj, 
late Sheriff for King James. They are no soldiers nor have 
any commission for what they do, and therefore I have a great 
mind to hang them, if his Majesty will either gire orders for 
it or say nothing about it, but leave me to myself; for I am 
well assured that an Irishman is to be taught his duty only 
by the rod. Tuite*s &ther holds out a garrison now in an 
island within two miles of this place. I concdve the whole 
number of this party were about 1,000 ; one Nugtot, the 
present Sheriff for King James, headed them.*'* Dean Story 
reports the transaction as that ''one Mulledy, late High 
Sheriff of Longford, got at least 3,000 of rabble or such like 
near Mullingar, where they hectored and swaggered for some 
days," adding, that Colonel ^Wolseley feU in with the party 
and killed about thirty of them, '' High Sheriff Mulledy being 
wounded and never since able to raise such a ^poase eomitattu.' " 
Those of this name attainted in 1691 were the above 
Anthony Mulledy, described as of Bobertstown, Knight; 
Bedmund Mulledy of Grangemore, and Hugh Mulledy of 
Bathwyre, in the County of Westmeath ; John Mulledy of 
Dublin, and John Mulledy of Ballintobber, County of Mayo. 
One of these, most probably the hat, was an Ensign in Claor* 
licarde's In&ntry, while another was Captain in Colonel 
Richard Nugent's. The estates of Bedmund and Hugh 

* Clarke's MSS. Correspondence, Trin. Goll. LiV. Lett LbudiL 


Mulledj, compriang the Loidsldp of Bathwyre and various 
other landa, &c., in the County of Westmeath, were sold bj 
the CbmmLssionerB of Forfeited Estates to Chichester PhiUips 
of Dnmcondra, County of Dublin, and a hwger proportion to 
Robert Pakenham of Bracklyn. Those of the abore Captain 
Sir Anthony hty in the Baronies of Dunboyne and Batoath, 
County of Meath. 


This name is of Irish record from the time of Edward the 
Second, when Reginald 'Broun/ late Shexiff of Kerry, 
appointed Hugh de * Aroundell'* his attorney, to render an 
account for him in the Exchequer: Several links in the 
pedigree of Amndells of Mam, in the County of Limerick, 
in the 17th centuiy, are given in a genealogical manuscript in 
Trimly College, Dublin (F 3, 27). In the Munster war of 
1600, Paul Arundel was a Captain in Lord Audley*s Regi- 
ment of Infismtry. The Attiunders of 1643 present the names 
of Garret Arundel and Ghirret oge Arundel, both described as 

of Aghdullane, County of Cork. Arundel of Stoke in 

Northamptonshire, was one of the Royalists whom Ejng 
Charles, on his Restoration, honoured with Knighthood of 
the order of the Royal Oak. Lord Henry, the third Baron 
Arundell of Wardour, who was one of the persons committed 
to prison in 1678 on the information of the in&mous Titus 
Gates, after suffering five years* incarceration, was released, 
and on King James*s aocesrion to the throne was sworn of 
the Privy Council. In the following year he was constituted 
Lord Keeper of the Privy Seal, and honoured with the order 


of ibA Bath. In the wiU which King J^unes ezecated at 
Whitehall, on the ere of his abdication, 17th Noyember, 
1688, he appointed tUb nobleman the adviser of his Qneen, 
and he is one of the witnesses to the instnunent. On that 
Ejng's deportare, Liord Arondell, retiring from public hfe, 
sednded himself at Breamore in Wilts, where he died 28th 
December, 1694.* The above Captain Anmdel fell at the 
battle of the Boyncf 


A BRANCH of this Welch fiimily had been early planted in 
Waterford County, and John Roberts was Mayor of the 
City in 1411. That the above officer was of that County is 
strongly suggested by an Inquisition, taken theire at Corkam 
in 1696, on John Robe^, described as of Ballyborogh in 
Waterford, attainted. 


This officer, so commissioned in the King^s Own Infiuitry, 
appears to have been a relative of the John Tynte of Chelvey, 
Member of Parliament for Bridgewater, in the first Parliar 
ment held after the Restoration; and whom Sir Bernard 
Burice in his Landed Gentry describes as 'having been a 
devoted adherent of Royalty during the Civil Wars, an^ 

* Burke^i Peerage^ p. 8S. f CkoMs James 11^ v. 2, p. S99. 


named in the lidt of gentlemen of large estates, intended to 

have been created Knights of the Boyai Oak.* Sir Henry 

Tynte was one of the Representatives of Cork in the first 
Irish Parliament held after the Restoration; while Captain 
William Tynte was one of the ' 1649* Officers, who obtained 
in 1666 adjudications for their past services. 


This surname appears on Irish record in 1886 in William 
* Latoim.' It soon after is discovered (^ the above spelling 
in Ejldare, where John, the son of William Lattin, was a 
merchant in Naas at the dose of the sixteenth century, and a 
confidential trustee of the Wolfe fiunily. In the last year of 
the reign of James the First an Inquimtion was taken there 
concerning the estates of Stephen Lattin. In 1626 William, 
son and heir of the above John, the merchant, executed a 
settlement of the family estates, and, he dying without issue 
male, another John, son of the aforesaid Stephen, succeeded 
thereto. This individual became deranged, or, as it was 
alleged, affected to be so, to save his estates. Inquisitions 
were, however, taken thereof in 1642, he being in the out- 
lawry described as of Morristown in Kildare. William, the 
son and heir of this John, had a grant of a portion of his 
fiither^s estates after the Restoration. 

In 1773 George Lattin, of this House, died at Morristown. 
His son Patrick was one of the Aides-de-Camp of the unfor- 
tunate Colonel Theobald Dillon who was, as hereinafter 
mentioned, assassinated by his own soldiery at Lille ; aftier 
which awfid event Lattin retired to his patrimonial estate of 


MomBtown, where he ^ied in 1836 leaving no male i^auet 
but hiB daughter Panline having married Alexander Mansfield 
of Ballynamultinagh in Waterford, Morrigto^ni paaeed with 
her to him, and their eldest son has taken the name of Lattin 
in fiddition to his own eumafne. 


Th£ Attdnders of 1642 name, amongst the forfeiting 
proprietors, Francis Wafer of Gyanstown, County of Meath; 
and those of 1691 have the same name as of Castletown, 
in that County. In a ' Note of divers young gentlemen, &c., 
gone beyond the seas in the time of Queen Elizabeth,* (Trtn. 
Coll. MSS.) * a son of the widow Wafer of Dublin ' is set 
down as then in Salamanca. 


This surname appears in Irish RoUs since the time of the 
Tudors, and an appointment is of record of John * Edward * 
in 1422, to a Commissionership of assessment and array, over 
the Barony of Lime in Meath. In 1666 Richard Edwards 
and Eliza his wife, who was daughter and heiress of Colonel 
John Kynaston, had a confirmatory grant of Oldcoqrt, &c.^ 
1,06Q acres in Wicklow; while Osbume Edwards in the 
following year passed patent for 1,374 in Wexford, as did 
Thomas Edwards for 546 in Westmeath. 



This name seemB of record on Irish Bolls &om the time of 
EdwBid the Second ; when Richard ' de Weleton ' was seised 
of smidry messuages and lands in the City and County of 

Dublin. In the Parliament of 1613 Walter Weldon was 

one of the Bepresentatiyes for Athy. He died seised of 
Boscomroe and other lands in the Song's and Queen's 
Counties in 1634, leaving Thomas his son and heir then 
aged 26 and married. James Weldon, described as of Newry, 
was of the Confederate Catholics, assembled at Kilkenny 
in 1646, while in 1682 Patrick, son and heir of William 
Weldon, deceased, had a grant of 538 acres in Boscommon. 
^One of this name was a Captain in Lord Slane*8 In&ntry. 


Besides this officer, a Peter 'Nihill* was Lieutenant in 
Lord Kilmallock's In&ntry. On the Attainders pf 1691 
are the names of James Nihill of Limerick and Dublin, and 
the above David Nihill, styled of the Barony of TuUa, County 
of Clare. In the lands of the latter, Laurence Nihill claimed 
an estate tail, but was dismist, while Elinor Nihill, aliaa 
Hackett, as his widow and executrix, sought and was allowed 
a third part of his Clare estates, as in pursuance of his will 
of 1683; and Bobert WouHe made a claim thereon for the 
portion of his wife Anstace, a daughter of said David. At 
the battle of Lauffield in 1746 Lieutenant Nihill, of Dillon's 
Begiment, was kiUed. 

4d KING James's ntiSH armt list. 



This Cambrian name is of record in Ireland from the time 
of the English invasion. In 1288 died Sir Nicholas Taaffe, 
whose son John Taaffe was by the Pope^s provision conse- 
crated Archbishop of Armagh, Reginald Taaffe being his 
Vicar-General. The Primate died at Rome in 1306, after 
taking the mitre) but never saw his Province.* In 1295 
Richard Taaffe, the grandscMi of Sir Nicholas, was Sheriff 
of Dublin, in 1310 a member of the Parliament of Kilkenny, 
and in 1315 Sheriff of the County of Louth. He was foimder 
of the several lines of Taaffes afterwards distinguished as of 
Ballybragan, Athclare, Bolies, StormanstoWn, Cookstown, 
Stephenstown, Ranitty Dromin, and Harlestown, from the 
last of which the present Viscount Taaffe deduces his 

In 1326 the King granted to Anne de Cogan and Henry 
de Maundeville the * maritagiuin' of Richard, son and heir 
of Nicholas ' Taf ' deceased, who had held of the King in 
capita; and in 1344 Edward the Third committed to Nicholas 
' Taaff ' the custody of the Castle of Rath. In 1373 and 
1375 Richard, son of the last named Nicholas, by the style 
of Richard Taaffd of Bdlybragan, and John Taaffe were 
summoned to Great Councils ; and in 1376 John Taaffe 
of Castle-Lumnagh was Sheriff of Louth. In 1386 Nicholas 
Taaffe was a Justice in etfre^ and, in 1401, the King, on the 
petition of this Nicholas, granted to him the Chief Seijeantcy 

* Ware's J^shopsy ^. 71. 


of Meaih, daring the minority of Edmund, Earl of March, 
with liberty to appoint his Deputy. In nine years after the 
messuages and lands of John Taaffe, derk, situated in Meath, 
were committed to the custody of Thomas Walleys, Esq., at 
which time the aforesaid Nicholas Taaffe was appointed, with 
three others, on a most important commission over Louth, 
and with unusually extensive powers. He was Sheriff of that 
County in 1428. In 1479 Sir Laurence Taaffe, the descend- 
ant of the above Sir Nidiolas, was one of the honourable 
firatemity of St. George in Ireland, on its first institution; 
and, in 1560, Nicholas Taaffe of Ballybragan, the great 
grandson of Sir Laurence, was Sheriff of Louth. 

John Taaffe of Ballybragan, who became by survivorship 
the heir male of the aforesaid Nicholas, left three sons ; 1st, 
Christopher, whose grandson and namesake forfeited Bally- 
bragan in the confiscations of 1641, and was obliged to 
migrate to Ballynaglogh, in Sligo, where his elder line fiuled 
in 1789; while through other sons the name has been 
continued to the present day in the Counties of Boscommon 
and Mayo. 2nd, Captain William, who had fix>m James the 
First grants of the Castle, lands, &c. of Smermore in Louth, 
and of various other lands and premises in the Counties of 
Mayo, Sligo, Boscommon, (jalway, Clare, Cork, Kerry, 
Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford, Cavan, Westmeath, Long- 
ford, Meath, Kilkenny, Ealdare, Queen's County, and Dublin 
County and City, to hold in fee-fiurm. His son and heir 
male, John Taaffe, was created in 1628 Baron of Ballymote 
and Viscount Taaffe of Corran, and he took his seat accord- 
ingly with his Peers in the Parliament of 1634. 3rd, Peter, 
the third son of John of Ballybragan, had settled at Dromin, 
in Louth, and his male issue are still extant at Ardmulchan 
and Smermore. 


50 KING James's ibish abmt list. 

John, the first Viscount Taaffe, left issue Theobald his 
eldest son, who was created Earl of Carlingford on the 
Bestoration, but that dignity became extinct by the failure 
of heirs male. Lucas Taaffe, the second son of Viscount 
John was a Major-General in the Irish Army during the 
Usurpation, and, by reason of his opposition to Cromwell, 
he and his brother the Earl of Carlingford were denounced 
by name in the Protector's Ordinance of 1652; whereupon 
Major Lucas took reAige in Spain, in which coimtry he 
became a Colonel. On the Bestoration he returned to 
Lreland, and in 1655, through the operation of the Act of 
Settlement, he, by the style of Colonel Lucas Taaffe, and 
Elizabeth his wife, were restored to the jointure, portions, 
lands, &c., which she or any for her use had held and enjoyed 
on the 23rd of October, 1641, or since. The Elizabeth, so 
alluded to, was the daughter of Richard Stephenson of 
Dunmoylin, in Limerick (one of Queen Elizabeth's Munster 
patentees) ; by her he had no issue male. He married to his 
second wife, a daughter of Captain Springe of Kerry {Lodge) 
but neither had he issue by her, and, dying at Ballymote, 
he was there interred in the family vault with his figither. 
Frauds Taaffe, a third son of Viscount John was a Colonel 
in the Lrish Army during the Civil War of 1641, and after^ 
wards died at Naples without issue ; whereupon William 
Taaffe, the fourth son of Viscount John, became the channel 
through which the Viscounty should descend, and so has it 
been accordingly enjoyed by his grandson Nicholas, who, 
dying in 1769, was succeeded by his grandson Budolphus, 
bom in London in 1762, from whom it was transmitted to 
his sons Francis and Lewis successively. Seven other junior 
sons of the first Viscount died without issue. 

The aforesaid first Earl of Carlingford had in 1668 a grant 


of 9,516 acrea in Loutk, with a reservation of 5,776 more in 
expectancy^ He had likewise a pension of £800 per annum 
on the establishment, with other substantial marks of Boyal 
fiivour, and died in December, 1677. His son and successor 
in the Peerage) Nicholas, was a Colonel in this campaign, but 
not on the present Army List. He passed patent in 1683 
for 6,200 acres in Sligo, as did John Taaffe five years 
previously, for 223 in the barony of Ballintobber, County 
Koscommon. In King James's Charters of 1687, John 
Taaffe was one of the Burgesses in that to Sligo ; as were 
John 'Taafe,' merchant, George, Peter, Nicholas, and 
another John in one to the Borough of Ardee. 

Besides those of the name in this Regiment, Nicholas 
Taa£fo was a Comet in Tyrconnel's Horse (m which the 

Kev. Taaffe was Chaplain), and Thomas Taaffe was a 

Quarter-Master in Sarsfield's, — — Taaffe was a Captain 

in Lord Louth's Lifkntry, Taaffe an Ensign in Lord 

Grormanston's, one of the name was Surgeon in Lord 
Galway's, as was another in Lord Bellew's. At the siege of 
Deny, a Major John Taaffe, alleged to have been a brother 
to the Peer of Carlingford, was killed at Pennybum MiU. In 
King James's Parliament of Dublin sat in the House of Peers 
Nicholas, son of the aforesaid Viscount Theobald, as Earl of 
Carlingford, soon afterwards he was despatched as a confiden- 
tial envoy to the Emperor Leopold; from which embassy 
returning, he in the following year commanded a !Begiment 
of Ldfantry at the Boyne, where he fell heading a charge. 
He had married, but left no issue ;* whereupon his honours 
devolved upon his brother Francis Taaffe, the celebrated 
Count Taaffe of the Germanic Empire. He ranked there a 

* ArchdaJTs Lodge^ y. 5, p. 296. 


Marshal, and, when he succeeded to his honours in his native 
land, was, by the construction of a special clause in the acts 
of William and Mary (as hereinafter more particularly 
mentioned), saved from the consequences of outlawry and 
attainder. He was Colonel of the Royal Cuirassiers under 
the Emperor Ferdinand the Third, and Lieutenant-General 
of the Horse (see of him fuUy in O'CallagharCs Irish BrigadeSy 
vol. 1, p. 370, &c.) AfW the disastrous day at the Boyne, 
Mr. Taaffe, *the Duke of Tyrconnel's chaplain,' "a very 
honest and discreet clergyman,"* was one of those who 
strongly laboured to persuade his discomfitted sovereign to 
fly &om Dublin. The Attainders of 1691 contain the names 
of the above Christopher Taaffe, styled of Stephenstown; 
five others in the County of Louth ; and one, Francis Taaffe 
of Ballymote, County of Sligo. At Chichester House a 
Theobald Taaffe claimed and was allowed the benefit of 
sundry mortgages affecting the Louth and Sligo estates of 
Lord Carlingford. An Act of William and Mary, passed 
to prevent further reversals of attainders and outlawries, 
contained an express exception of Nicholas, late Earl of 
Carlingford, or his brother John Taaffe, in regard to their 
estates; reservations attributable to the high esteem in which 
the name was held at the Imperial and other Continental 
Courts in alliance with King William. He died in August, 
1704, when his honours devolved upon his nephew, son of his 
aforesaid brother John, and he died at Lisle in 1738. In the 
previous year his title was recognised, on the occasion of his 
forwarding from Liege, where he was then residing, a petition 
against an act which was at that time being passed through 
the Irish House of Commons, and his right to be heard by 

♦ darkens James ILy v. 2, p. 402. 


counsel against it was admitted. As he died without issue, 
the Earldom of Carlingford became extinct, but the titles of 
Baron and Viscount devolved on his next heir male, Nicholas 
Taaffe, descended from Captain William, who was, as before- 
mentioned, the fourth son of the first Viscount Corran, and 
who distinguished himself in the wars against the Turks. It 
may be added that this Viscount Nicholas was the author of 
a clever and dispassionate work, entitled Observations on 
affairs in Ireland from the Settlement in 1691 to 1766. 


This fiuooil j name is of record in Ireland from the time of 
Edward the Second, having come from Devonshire, where 
Bathe House, near Taunton, was long the designation of the 
locality of its settlement. Henry de Bathe, a native of that 
County, was, in 1238, appointed a Justice of the Conmion 
Pleas in England, and he died Chief Justice of the King's 

Bench there in 1261. In Ireland Simon Bathe is recorded 

to have been a proprietor of lands in the County of Limerick 
at the dose of the thirteenth century. In 1327 Bichard de 
Burgo, Earl of Ulster, having recentiy died indebted to the 
King, Matthew de Bathe was commanded on his allegiance 
and under heavy penalties, to take into his custody and care 
all money and jewels, silver vessels, and all other the goods 
and chattels of the said Earl, and them safely to keep until 
he received the Boyal commands. This Matthew continued 
a confidential subject of King Edward, and of his successor 
Edward the Third, the latter having, in 1333, granted to him 
the manor of Bathfay in the County of Meath, with the 
advowson, and in 1336 the custody of the Royal manor of 


Leixlip. In 1350 John Bathe was Provost of Dublin, as its 
Chief Magistrate was then and long after styled. In 1358 
Nicholas Bathe was Constable of the New-Castle-Mao- 
Kinnegan, in the County of Wlcklow. In 1381 Thomas 
Bathe, clerk, was appointed Chief Baron of the Irish Ex- 
chequer, in which year he had an allowance of £6 for his 
expenses as a Conmiissioner, in levying the forfeited two- 
thirds off lands of absentees. In four years after he had a 
Treasury order for remuneration on passing over to England 
to acquaint the King with the state of Ireland ; and in 1393 
was one of the Lords Justices ; he died about the year 1420. 

In 1441 another Thomas Bathe was the Eing^s Escheator, 
in reference to whom it was enacted by an unprinted statute 
of the Parliament of Drogheda (1460) that Thomas Bathe, 
Knight, who pretends to be Lord of Louth, shall appear in 
court on a certain day or be out of the Eling's protection; and 
it was further thereby ordered that said Thomas Bathe shall 
never have place in the Parliament of this land, nor shall 
enjoy any office therein under the King's grant. His lands in 
Louth were thereupon seised as forfeited ; but a subsequent act 
of the same session (c. 21) restored John Bathe of Ardee, who 
seems to have been his son or relative, to certain messuages, 
lands, and tenements in Dromisken, Dtmdalk, and other 
places in the Coimty of Louth, which were kept from him 
under order of forfeitures. In 1533 William Bathe of 
Dollardstown was Vice-Treasurer of Ireland; but was soon 
afterwards attainted. In 1535 James Bathe of Drumconrath 
was appointed Chief Baron of the Irish Exchequer; when he 
fixed his residence in the fine old Castle of Drynmagh, near 
Dublin, whose ruins are still interesting.* In 1554 John 

* See D'AUofCs County ofDMin, p. 700, &c. 


Bathe of Drumconiath and Athcame was appointed Chief 
Justice of the Common Pleas in Ireland. In 1564 his son 
and namesake was Attorney-General for Ireland, and after 
wards Chancellor of the Exchequer; he married Ellen, 
youngest daughter of the third Viscount Gormanston, and 
their daughter, Eleanor, was married to Nicholas Nettenrille, 
who in 1622 was created the first Viscount Netterville of 
Dowth. In 1581 William Bathe was constituted a Justice 
of the Common Pleas; he resided at the old Castle of 
Athcame, in Meath, and died about the year 1630, leaving 
John Bathe, his cousin and heir-at-law, who died soon after 
without issue male, leaving eight daughters ; whereupon 
Athcame reverted, under fiunily settlement, to John Bathe 
of Drumconrath herein aft«r mentioned. In the Parliament 
convened by Sir John Perrot in 1585, Thomas Bathe was 
one of the Bepresentaiives for Dundalk. ' A note (of about 
this period) of persons bom in Ireland but residing beyond 
the seas** has the names of Luke Bath a Capuchin friar in 
Cologne; William Bathe, a Jesuit in Salamanca; and John 
Bath, a Knight of Malta (^as is reputed^ at the Court of 

In 1611 King James granted to John Bathe of Balgriffen, 
County of Dublin, the manor, &c., of Balgriffen, to hold by the 
service of a rose on St. John's day, with various other lands 
and premises in the Cotmties of Kildare, Meath, Westmeaih, 
and the City of Dublin. The Act of 16 12, for the attainder of 
the Earl of Tyrone and his adherents, included John Bathe 
of Dunalong, County of Tyrone, and John Bath, late of 
Drogheda, merchant. In 1617, however, a John Bathe had 
a grant of certain premises in Crumlin, County Dublin, with 

• MSS, m TVw. OoH Dub. (K. 3, 8, f. 4«.) 


rectories and tithes in Corlow, Meath, and Kildare; the Castle 
of Blackrath, in the latter County, and certain plots in the 
City of Dublin. In 1621 died Robert Bathe of Tanoardstown, 
leaving Luke his son and heir, then but eight months old. 
In 1634 died Christopher, son of Thomas Bathe of Drogheda, 
leaving Peter his son and heir, aged 17 and married; as did 
John Bathe of Drumconrath in the same year, leaving James 
his son and heir, then aged 40 and married. 

In 1641 James Bathe of Athcame was one of the gentry 
of the County of Meath, who assembled at the Hill of Crofty 
to parley with Boger Moore and his adherents of Ulster. 
He was consequently attainted in the following year, with 
Bobert Bath of Ejillussy, County of Eildare; William and 
Bobert Bathe of Clonturk, County of Dublin, and Patrick 
Bathe of the ancient inheritance of Bathfity , County of Meath. 
In the Commons of the Supreme Council at Kilkenny sat 
Peter Bathe Fitz-Bobert, late of Dublin, Peter Bathe of 
Kilkenny, Bobert Bath of Clonturk, and Bobert Bath, late 
of Dublin. This Peter Fitz-Bobert forfeited Athcame 
Castle, which was thereupon granted to Colonel Grace in 
1673. Before the Act of Explanation in 1665, Sbr Luke 
Bathe was ordered to be restored to his estate, and to those 
which his deceased father, James Bathe, had held on the 22nd 
of October, 1641, with certain exceptions. The Attainders 
of 1691 included Christopher Bathe of EInightstown, Michael 
and James Bathe of Lady-Bath, Peter Bathe of Ashbourne 
(where he seems to have lived after the previous loss of 
Athcame) Andrew Bathe of Drogheda, merchant, and Edward 
Bathe of Painstown, County of Louth; one of these out- 
laws was a Lieutenant in Lord Slane's Infimtry. At 

Chichester House, James Bathe, a minor, by Stephen Bath, 
his guardian, claimed under a settieinent of November, 1694, 

THB king's BEQIMEirr OF INFAiniKT. 57 

an estate for life to himself with remainders in tail to his sons 
(after the death of Peter Bathe and Mary his ivife), in the 
County of Meath lands theretofore forfeited by Christopher 
Bathe ; while Elizabeth Bathe, the wife of said Christopher, 
claimed also an estate for her life therein, after the death of 
said Peter. On the subsequent sale of Athcame Castle and 
its lands by the Trustees of the forfeited estates, it appeared 
that, haying been forfeited as before mentioned by Peter 
Bathe, it Tested on mesne assignment in King James, when 
Duke of York, and was then sold by the Trustees as his 
priyate estate, to Thomas Somerville of Dublin, subject to 
a lease (allowed by the Commissioners) to Greorge Aylmer, 
Launcelot Dowdall, Esqs., and Dame Cicely Bath for 99 
years, from January, 1668, at a pepper-corn rent. 

James Bathe, the minor claimant at Chichester House, died 
in 1758, and his grandson, James Michael Bathe, assumed 
the more legitimate, as it was liie original, surname of * de 
Bathe.' He was created a Baronet in 1801, in seven years 
after which he died, leaving two sons, the eldest of whom 
having died in 1828 unmairied, the title devolved upon his 
brother, Lieutenant-Colonel Sir William Plunkett de Bathe, 
the present Baronet. 


This officer is described in his attainder as of a locality in 
the County of Kildare, that took its name of Tipperstown 
from the fiGunily. Francis Tipper was also a Lieutenant in 
Sir Maurice Eustace's Infimtry , and a William Tipper appears 
to have been at the same time attainted in this County, on 
whose estates there, another William claimed an interest for 
life with remainders in tail to his sons. 



A Chasles Skelton also ranks on this List a Lieutenant 
in Colonel John Parker's Horse, yet nether of these names 
appears on the Attainders of 1691^ which oomprise only 
John of Dublin, Beyil Skelton of Dublin, and Maiia Skelton, 
cUioB O'Brien his wife. In 1689, July the 1st, a Lieutenant- 
Colonel Skelton is recorded as having been joined in com- 
mission with Colonel Dominiok Sheldon, to conclude a treaty 
with the garrison of Derry on that day. In a genealogical 
manuscript in Trinity College, Dublin, are links of a pedigree 
of the Skeltons of the County of Limerick for five generations ; 
while it may be added that this surname was at a yery early 
age established in Cumberland; of which stock Richard 
Skelton fought at Agincourt, imder Henry the Fifth, and he 
filled the office of High Sheriff of that County. 


John Davis of Bathenny was one of those attainted in 
1642. No Davis appears on the BoUs of 1691 outlawries. 
The most eminent individual of the name, who has been 
distingoished in Ireland, was Sir John Davis, the Attorney- 
Greneral of Queen Elizabeth and James the First, and yet 
more, the author qf those Historical JRelations which afford 
the most graphic and able summary of the vicissitudes of 
Ireland that has ever been published. The name was about 
his time estabUshed in Fermanagh, Tyrone, and Roscommon 

THE king's regiment OF INFANTBT. 59 

In 1661 Paul Davis, Enight, was one of the Conunissioners 
appointed to put the restored King's Declaration into exe- 
cution ; and he was about the same time entrusted with the 
duty of assessing and collecting a state subsidy over Ireland. 
In 1684 Henry ^Davys' was Sheriff of Antrim, as was 
John ' Davies' in 1705. 


None of this name appear on the Attainders. In 1673 
John Povey, Knight, and theretofore Baron of the Exchequer 
in Ireland, was appointed Chief Justice of the Ejng^s Bench; 
and in 1702 Richard Povey was appointed principal Serjeant- 
at-Arms. The connections of this Lieutenant are, however, 
wholly unknown. 


This surname does not appear on the Boll of Attainders, 
nor has any certain information of this officer or of his fiunily 
been learned. 


Ths only individual of this surname attainted in 1642 was 
John Ware of Castletown-Moylagh, in Meath. The most 


eminent individual, however, of the name, who figured in 
Ireland, was Sir James Ware, whose grandfather, Christopher 
Ware, descended from an andent fiunilj in Yorkshire, became 
after the Beformation a Conformist, and his line having 
become extinct iherey was destined to be introduced to 
Ireland through his second son, James, who came over to this 
country in 1588 as Secretary to Sir William Fitz Williams, then 
Lord Deputy. He was Knighted by King James in 1622, 
and having married Mary, sister of Sir Ambrose Briden of 
Maidstone in Kent, he had by her Sir James, his eldest son 
(whom Bishop Nicholson deservedly styles the ' Camden of 
Ireland') with four other sons and five daughters. During 
the time of the Commonwealth Sir James fled to, and sojourned 
in, France, whence returning on the Bestoration, he was 
appointed one of the Commissioners for putting the King's 
Declaration of 1661 in execution in Ireland; in five years 
after which he died. He had married Mary, daughter of 
Jacob Newman, who brought him ten children ; but whether 
the above officer was of this line has not been ascertained, the 
difficulty of inquiry being much increased by the absence of 
the Christian name firom the British Museum List. A branch 
of the Wares, claiming descent from Secretary Sir James 
Ware, is still flourishing in the County of Cork. 

NOTHIKG known of him or his fiunily . 



The family of Touchett came into England with the Con- 
queror, as recorded on the Roll of Battle Abbey, and in the 
Chronicles of Normandy. In 1405 John Tonchett was sum- 
moned to Parliament in England as Lord Audley ; his great 
grandson, James Audley, was attainted in the time of Henry 
the Seventh, but his son was restored to his rank in 1513, and 
his great grandson, Greoige Lord Audley, took up his resid- 
ence in Ireland, where, in 1605, he had a grant of the manor 
of Feons, parcel of the estate of the then late Duke of Nor- 
folk, and of Lord Berkley, with simdry dissolved priories and 
their possessions, in the Counties of Kildare, Tipperary, 
Carlow, and Cork. In the year 1610, in consideration of 
an annuity or rent-charge of £500 English secured to him for 
his life, he assigned *' to Sir Mervyn ' Tuchett,' EInight, his 
son and heir-apparent, his whole estate in Ireland, to hold to 
him thenceforth in fee, together with all his stock of cattle 
and com, and all other goods and chattels in Ireland, reserving 
to his Lordship some chattels and household stuffs, and he, 
said Sir Mervyn, payiag to Sir Ferdinando Tuchett, Knight, 
second son of Lord Audley, an annuity of one hundred marks 
in the Middle Temple Hall, London; and being bound after 
his Lordship*s death, to convey over to the said Ferdinando 
the fee of lands in England or Ireland, to the clear yearly 
value of £100 sterling.* 

This Lord George and his Lady had a grant, in 1612, of 
various lands in the County of Armagh, as had the said 

• EoL PaL Jac 1, Cane Hib. 


Sir Mervyn of yet more in Tyrone, to hold sabjeet to the 
conditions of the Plantation of Ulster. In five years after 
the former -was advanced in the Irish Peerage to the dignities 
of Baron Oriel and Earl of Castlehaven. His grandson, 
James Tonchet, Earl of Castlehaven, during the civil wars of 
Ireland commanded under the Duke of Ormonde, and in 1649 
W9B chosen GrenenJ of the Irish forces. He and his brother 
were, therefore, in Cromwell's Ordinance of 1652, excepted 
fix)m pardcm for life and estate. His son Mervyn, Earl of 
Castlehaven, was of the Peers in King James's Parliament of 
1689, and had a pension of £500 per annumf charged on the 
establishment of 1687-8. Mervyn's son James, afterwards 
the Earl, is possibly identical with the above Ensign James, 
in this the Boyal In&ntry. 

NoTHiNa known of him or his fiunily. 


Ahonost those attainted in 1642 were John Chamberlain of 
Oldtown-Clonmethan, and Robert Chamberlain of Eolresk, 
both in the Coimty of Dublin; while in 1691 Thomas Cham- 
berlain of Eilresk was subjected to the penalty of inveterate 
loyalty, and outlawed with Richard and Peter Chamberlain 
of Killenebojy, and Rowland of Mullingar. 

The name, of Anglo-Norman origin, was introduced to 

THS king's BEOlMElfT OF INVAITrRT. 63 

Ireknd on the Engliah invasion, and Adam Chamberlain 
was one of those who over-ran Ulster under John De Courcey. 
Chamberlains were subsequently located in this country, 
along its eastern coast firom Down to Wicklow, and some 
few years since, on a genealogical inquiry, no less than fifteen 
parchment deeds and conveyances, connected with a succession 
of 'Chamberlaynes,' firom 1306 to 1509, were submitted to 
the compiler of this work, many of them had their seals 
appended perfect, and all were drawn up with such singular 
and pithy brevity, that the whole were contained in the 
vacated slide-box of a dissection miqp. The proud antiquity 
of a name, now so little known in this country, and its 
dear alliance with the Montmorency branch of the Boyal 
House of France, are shewn in Sir Bernard Burke'$ Landed 


Vebt full particulars of this ancient Sept are given in 
D' Alton's Annals of BoyU (v. 2, p. 218, &c.) The O'Tooles 
were independent Princes of Imaile and Cuokn, in the wild 
mountain district forming a moiety of what had been in the 
time of James the First reduced to English government, and 
erected into the County of WicUow. They constituted one 
of the septs that were eligible to the dignity of EJugs of 
Leinster, and their territory formed the Diocese of Glenda- 
lough, whose bishops and abbots they exercised the prerogative 
of appointing, down to 1497, when it was united to the 
Archiepiscopal See of Dublin. A few years before the 
English Invasion, Laurence O'Toole, afterwards canonized, 

64 Knro james's ibish a^mt ust. 

was advanced from the Abbacy of Glendalough to the Arch- 
bishopric of Dublin* The death of his &ther is recorded 
by the Masters at 1164, as is that of Felim O'Toole, Lord of 

HjMuiredhaugh (Imaile), in 1259. In 1308 the in &moiis 

Piers Gaveston diverted the interval of his official exile to 
Ireland, in penetrating the country of the 0*Tooles, whose 
stronghold at Castle-Kevin he is reported to have stormed, 
afterwards kying his offerings, as of atonement, at the shrine 
of St. Kevin in Glendalough. In 1327 David OToole, 
then Captain of the Sept, was taken prisoner by Sir John 
de Wellesley, ancestor of ^ the Duke.' In 1333 John D'Arcy, 
the justiciary, made a foray into the country of the O'Bymes 
and O'Tooles, on which occaaon it is recorded that the new 
Castle-Mac-Kinnegan was plentifully supplied with wine, 
and John de Fjmchdene appointed its Constable. In 1344 
the Seneschal of the Liberty of Kildare was ordered to pro- 
claim, Hhat no one should supply provisions, arms, or horses, 
to the O'Tooles, O'Bymes, Mao Murroghs, or O'Nokns, 
who had risen in arms ; and that there should be one peace 
or one war through the land ; so that, if there should be 
war in one county, the neighbours should join to suppress it.' 
In 1366 the Lord Deputy made a treaty with Hugh 
O'Toole, then the Captain, whereby he agreed to allow that 
chieftain a stipend in the nature of black mail, to secure the 
Pale from the predatory incursions of his foUowers.f This 
policy of bounty was, in the history of the Pale, so frequently 
necessitated for its security, that an Act of the Irish legis- 
lature (28 Hen. 8, c. 11) was passed ^' for restraining tributes 

♦ See of this illustrious Prelate, fully, D^AUarCs Archbishops of Dublin^ 
p. 51, &ۥ 

t MaswCs Irish ParUaments^ p. 22. 


^T^i to Irishmen." In 1367 Thomas de Burie79 then 
Chancellor of Ireland, had an order for £43 6s. 8d. ^on 
account of labours and disbursements incnrred by him in 
supplying men at arms, &c., to reost the OTooles, at a time 
when the Treasury was empty, and many parleys and forays, 
with or agaiiut them^ were necessitated.' In 1396, say the 
Four Masters, ''the English of Leinster were defeated by 
O'Toole with great slaughter." It was on the occasion of 
this continued foray, that Boger Mortimer, then Earl of 
Marcli, King Bichard's Vic^erent in Ireland, and the heir 
presumptiye to the English Crown, was surprised, defeated, 
and slain; and therefore it was, and with the object of 
chastising *the insolence of the Irish,' and avenging the 
death of Mortimer, that the English Monarch undertook his 

second j oumey to Ireland only to raise another patriot hero 

in Art Mac Murrough, for the veneration of that country, 
and to consummate his own dethronement. Subsequently 
the Counties of Kildare and Dublin were charged to supply 
men at arms and archers against the O'Tooles. 

In 1425 the Earl of Qrmond, Lieutenant of Ireland, eflfected 
a peace, by indenture, with Dermot O'Toole, Chief of his 
nation, he swearing allegiance and giving his son as a hostage. 
In 1497 Sir William Wellesley of Dangan, the lineal de- 
scendant of the aforesaid Sir John, who had done such active 
service against the O'Tooles, was fidn to espouse one of this 
denounced sept, Matilda O'Toole, having first, as was neces- 
sary, obtained aBoyal letter of license, dated the 30th of May 
in this year, whereby she and their hdrs were admitted to 
the benefit of English laws and English liberties, and thus 
exempted £ix>m the many penal statutes thai in force against 
alliances with the native Irish. It is singular that pedigree 
compilations omit to mention this marriage ; but, while the 


68 Kora JAMB8*s nasH abut libt. 

lioeiise k of recotd in Chancery^ the fiM^t k yet more asionid 
by a patent o£ 1506, whereby King Henry ihe Sevenlih 
pardoDjed Patiiok HuBsey and ^Maw' O'Toote, hi* wife, 
lately the mfe of Sir WUliam WdUsly of Dangmij for their 
intermairying withont having first obtained the Boyal lioense. 

In tike time of Henry the Eighth^ as appears by Inqmsition 
of Jamea the Firsts Tnrlogh O'Toole and his brother Art 
prefened a petition to that King, deaixing 'to have a certain 
territory in Wioklour called Fercnllen, whioh their ancestors 
had, till tiiey were expulsed by the Earls of Kildare ; that 
said country comprised in length &ve nules and four in 
breadth, being, the more part, mountiains^ woods, and rochs^ 
and the other part good fertile knds ; and praying thai said 
Toriogh.may haye the premoes divided between him and his 
sept, as shall be idionght meet by ^oae whom the King may 
appoint. The petition of his brother, said Art, was to have 
tibe manor of Clustle-KeTin, wiih the lands in the Fertyr 
(Yartrey). After which, says the Inquisiiion^ the King 
directed that the letters patent should pass, giving the lands 
sought by Art, to him in tail male, with revernon to the 
CroWn ; in which sdsin Art died, leaving Luke his son and 
.heir, who became seised thereof and died, leaving Bamaby 
his son and heir, who entered on the premises ; but rebelling 
against Queen Elizabeth, died in 1596, when Feogh, oUob 
Luke O'TooIe, was his son and heir. 

Spencer, in his View oflrelandf characterizes tibie O'Tooles 
and O'Bymes, as ^the two mischievous dans, that inhabited 
the giyns of WhMow.' The Four Masters areiFery full in 
detailing the O'TooW redstance to subjugatidn, especially 
in 1580. In the time of James the First, however, ^ tiie 
lord of Imail' fnmidied to military muster 24 horsemen and 
80 kerns, yet were many of the sept th^i attainted ; while a 

THE king's BEanCENT OF H^ANTBT. 67 

kige txact, theretofore the eetatea of Bryan and Php lim 
O'Toole, indnduig the manor of Ppwersconrt, the tenitoiy 
of Fercnllen^ &0.9 was granted, in 1605, to Sir BJohard Wing- 
field, whoae descendants took the title of Y iscount fixnn that 
nwnor. In 1622 died Cahir O'Toole, edsedof Ballyhubbock 
and oih^ hinds ifi Wicklow* Dermptt his son and heir was 
then aged 40 and married H^ died in four years after, 
leaving Cahir his son f^id heir, aged thirteen. In 1642 
twenty-fimr O^Tooles appear on the BoUs of Ontlawxies, 
grert propiJeU»» in WkUow. An infonnation filed in 1661 
sets forth also that the lands of Fairtree (Vartrey), which had 
been th^ inh^tonce of Lnke O'Toole, were seized by the 
Ciaow9 wd granted to SeoretoiT Coke, about the year 1636 ; 
that the kaid cp9sisted of 15,441 acres of all scats, En^ish. 
measiare, was aitPated twelve miles ^m Dublin^ had a Castle 
i9<m it called * Kevin,' and a fini^ xiyer full oi eahnon and 

In the Irish Parliament of 1689, Frauds Toole sat as 
Bepresentatiye of the Borough of Wicklow, and on the Lost 
of Colonels, prefixed to the present Army List, the name of 
this Francis appears* Colcmd of an Indepaident Company of 
Fusiliers; but as he is omitted in the subsequent details, the 
memofir of the name ehofdd be attoched to Ens^ EdwiQEd. 
One of this name was a Lieut^mut in Lord Slane's Ke^ment 
of In&ntiy. The forfeitures of 1691 exhibit but six OTooles 
as of WicUow, and one in each of three other Counties, 
Carlow, Kildace, and Weatord. Som^ l^storians of the 
batde of the Boyne affirm that the death of Marshal Schon- 
bcqg, whBe moasiog that nver, was oaused by a ahot firom an 
exempt of the Boyal Guavd, atyled Snr Chaxks OTod^ 

Several of this name were afterwards distinguished officers 
in the Irish Brigsd^s serriog in France and Spain; (see 


G*CaUaghafCB Brigades^ T. i., p. 346,) and in 1719, Captain 
O'Toole, witli Colonel Wogan of the Bathco% line, (who 
was a nephew of the Dnke of Tyrconnel,) and two others of 
the Lriah Brigade in the service of the latter power, sncceeded 
in carrying off Maria-Clementina Sobieski, (grand-daughter 
of the celebrated John Sobieski, King of Poland, who 
defeated the Tnrks before yienna,) then betrothed to James 
ihe Third, as the son of James the Second was slyled bj 
them. They eflfected her liberation from the Castie of In- 
spmck in the Tyrol, where she had been detained for some 
previous months by command of the Emperor Charles VI., 
at the instance of George the First. From hence tiiey 
brought her in disguise to Monte Fiascone within tiie Pope's 
dominions, where James himself met her, and tiidr marriage 
was celebrated. The Pope, on tiidr repairing to Borne, 
recdyed the gallant officers most cordially, and created them 
of the Holy Boman order.* 

NOTHINO has been ascertained of him or his connections. 


This surname is not to be found on the attainders of this 
period, nor on any contemporaneous records. 

* De Burgct'i Bib. Dam. p. 266. 

hahilion's imvantbt. 







Anthony- Ck>leman. 

James Nugent, 

John Talbot, 

[JameB Gibbei, 2od Major] 

Daniel O'Haim. 


Jobn Stanlqr. 

Andrew Dnffe. 

Nicbdas Hamad. 

Bartholomew Hanold. 

Edmnnd Mmpli^. 

Lawrence Dnffe. 



Maurice Fftsgenld. 
James Gibbons. 

Anthony Geoghegan. 

Sienr da Pratt, 

/Walter Plmikett 
\ ^Doyle. 

Ber. Kelly, Chaplam, 



Coimnck (yHaia. 

Francis Warren. 
Charles Sanders. 



This Officeri says Colond O^elly's narratiye,* was one of 
these deputed by Tyrcoimely during his absence from the 
goyemment on attendance at St. Grermaan's, to guide and 
advise the young Duke of Berwick. He was the brother as 
well of General Bichard Hamilton who was taken prisoner at 
the Boyne, as of the accomplished Colonel Anthony Hamiltouy 
and ranked as a Major-General and a Brigadier at Anghrim, 
where he was, according to O'Callaghan, mortally wounded* 
O'Conor, in his Military Memoirs^ (p. 143), says that he had 
been with a force detached to the aid of beneged Limerick, 
but too late for its last struggle; the enemy were in possession 
of the ramparts, and drove back the designed relief to their 


Of the noble Sept of O'Hara the Chief was Lord of Luigne, 
in the County of Sligo, a territory which comprised the pre- 
sent Barony of Leney with parts of those of Costello and 
Gallan. At so early a period as 1023, the death of Donagh 
O'Hara, Lord of Luigne, is noted by the Four Masters; as is 
the death of Duncan O'Hara, *Lord of the Three Tribes of 
Luigne,* in 1059. From which period, to a comparatively 
recent date, the succession of their Tanists or Captains is set 
down with singular exactness in a venerable Irish manuscript 

* CCaUaghan^s Macaria Exddiumy p. 83. 

extitled the ^ Book of the O^Hara^.' When King John made 
bis Boyal YisitatioB of Ireland in 1210, Boderic O'Conor, 
having waited upon biip ftt Bathwyre in Westmeath, to do 
fealt^t that monardi deovkuded hU son as a hostage ; O'Conqr 
boweyi^,.saj7 the Four Masters, * would not give his son, but 
g^YA four of his chiefe insteadi WMnely Connor O'Hara, Lord 
ofJjomjf Dennot son of Connoi^ O'Mukooney (founder of the 
MacDermotts), Lord of Moylurg, Fion O'Carmaoain, and 
.^ireaehtadi MAoDonQg^ a young prince of O'Conor's friends. 
The King retonie^ .to England, and hn>ught the hostages 
with him*' In 1225, yrhen a destnictiye plague and fever 
devastated Coonaughtt ^X>mcan O'Hara, Teigue O'Hara, a^d 
£dadn»^ dftugbter of P^rmod, «Qn of DonM Q^Bfoa, died 
JUaoBBoff' Sy Qne 9f th^ Chie£|, KJoane O'Sara, Templehouse 
was ereeted early ip the fqmp^^^&fxfix centaury, within t^heir 
principality, mi on the sitie of an anoi^ foundation of the 
Knights Templaaqs. The Abhey of Oourt, whose n^ axe 
etill disceroibley waB aeon ^St&r fom^ded by another of the 

The above O0icer9 Captain Daniel waf, it will be seei^, of 
an Antrim branoh of the %nily, of whom in 1608, in awe 
fit ijie Plantation c^st^, Cahill O'Hara, John oge O'Qar^, 
John gram 0'^an^ and Ppnnel O'Hara sought and obtained 
Jesters of pacdon and protection. Of these Cahill had a grant 
in 1606 of anndry landa in Lower Clandeboy, and, in six ye^ 
fifi/ex^ passed patent for holding a weekly market at Crebilly, 
with right of pie-poiif/dre and the usual tojls** In 1 607 Teigue 
O'Hara had granted to him various castles, towns, $uid lands 
jn th§ County of 31igo. In 1627 Cormao 0'^9ra was Sheri^ 
of Antrim ; of his pedigree, a manuscript Book of Obits in the 

• I * ft • • 

*R0^Pat. 9,/ac. 1, m Cane, Hib. 

72 KiKa jaheb's ibish asmt list. 

collection at Trinity College, Dublin, supplies some links for 
five generations. In 1639 died the aforesaid Cahill, seised of 
the manor, castle, and lands of Crebilly, &c., in Antrim. 
Teigue 0*Hara, his great grandson and heir, was then of full 
age and married ; and he, together vriik Charles O'Hara, and 
Mary his wife, had a confirmatory giant in 1667 of 765 acres 
in Antrim, while in 1670 a Charles O'Hara passed patent for 
978 in Wexford. 

On the Down Survey thirteen O'Haras are noted as for* 
feiting proprietors in Sligo. In 1661 Margaret, daughter of 
Thady O'Hara of Crebilly, by Catherine sister of Danid 
O^Nall, (who was page of honour to Charles the Second) was 
married to the third Viscount Netterville.* Besides the above 
Captain Daniel, Keane, his lieutenant, and Cormick O'Hara 
his Enogn, who in their attainders are described as of Logh- 
dale, County of Antrim, there are upon this Army List, 
another Cormuck O'Hara, Captain in Colonel Cormuck 
O'Ndll's Infimtry, in which Ardiur O'Hara of Farris in said 
County was a Lieutenant, and Manus O'Hara an Ensign; 
while in Colonel Dominick Browne's, John O'Hara, son of 
Thadeus O'Hara of Crebilly, was a Lieutenant. All these 
were consequently attainted in 1691, with Roger O'Hara 
described as of Montagh, in the County of Sligo. The 
estates of John O'Hara in Down, and those of Keane O'Hara 
in Antrim were sold to the Hollow Swords Blades' Company. 

In 1692 Sir Charles ' Hara' and others obtained a patent 
grant from Eing TVllliam and Queen Mary for lighting 
Dublin with convex lamps.! A Charles Hara was afterwards 
wounded at the battle of Landon4 The name of O'Hara was 

♦ Lodgers Peerage. t Harm^s MSS. Dub, Soc ▼. 10, pp. 9, &c 

t Baxodon Papers^ p. 879. 


flubsequeniiy ennobled in the person of James O'Hara, created 
Baron of Tyrawley in 1706-7, and in 1721 Baron of Eilmaine * 

^In 1744 Captain O'Hara, of an Irish Brigade in Prince 

Charles-Edward's service, was, with Captain O'Brien, taken 
prisoner at Harwich by an order from Lord Carteret. They 
had arrived there with the intention of crossing to Holland, 
but were carried back in custody to London. Brigadier- 
General O'Hara was distinguished in the American war of 
1781, and was wounded in an engagement near Deep Biver, 
where the Americans were commanded by General Greene. 
He was, however, ultimately obliged, with Earl ComwalHs, 
to surrender at Yorktown. Li 1793 a General O'Hara was 
taken prisoner in the attack on Toulon.t 


This name is of record in Ireland from l&e earliest introduction 
of the English Gt>vemment. In the thirteenth century 
Thomas Stanley was Constable of the Castle of Drogheda. 
In 1309 Henry de Stanleye sued out a possessory writ. In 
1371 John de Stanley was summoned from Louth to a Great 
Council, and when Bobert de Yere Marquess of Dublin, 
obtained the extraordinary grant of Ireland from Bichard 
the Second, and the assignment of Boyal prerogatives to him, 
this John de Stanley acted as his Deputy in 1385, as he did 
subsequently on four other several occasions. He it was who, 
on the forfeiture of Henry Percy, Earl of Northumberland, 
obtained a grant in fee from the Crown of the Isle of Man, 

♦ Croegfy^s Peerage^ p. 260. f Oent, Mag,, ad. aim. 


Mrith all its legalities and fianchisias, to hcid by homage and 
the servioe of two Mcons, to be rendered to the Sjog, h]9 
heirs and soooea^prSi on the days of their coronatkm. He ma 
afterwards constituted Constable of Windsor Cattle, made a 
Knight of the Garter by Henry V., and died in 1413, Lord 
Lieutenant of Ireland for the last time. Sir William Stanley, 
Sir John's brother, was Lord Deputy in 1401 ; and in 1433 
•gir Thomas, grandson of Sir John Stapleyi was appwited 
Lord Lieutenant of Ireland &7 si^ years* About the year 
1530 Sir James^ Stanley, of the same Derby stock as iJie 
before-mentioned Stapleys, was Marshal of Xrelaud. 

In 1593 Patrick Stanley rsndejs^ militaiy service with an 
archer on horseback, fully equippedi at the hostiog of Tacas 
aifd, in five years after, Richard Stanley, of his fiuooily, styled 
of Fennor, in Meath, died, leaving Walter his son and heir, 
then aged twelve; a Funeral Entry in the office of Arms 
records the death, in 1636, of Thomas his spn and hdbr, 
adding that he had married Mary, daughter of Patrick 
Gemon of Gemonstown, County of Louth, by whom he bsjd 
daughters. In 1666 Sir Thomas Stanley, Knight, had 9> 
confirmatory giant of 9,155 acres in Munster, and 39S in 
Leinster; he died in August, 1694, and was buried in St 
Michan's Church) Dublin. 

The abpve Captain, though not ci Walter's issue, appeaxp 
to have been of the Fennor fiimily, the son of Edward, the 

third son of Stanley of Fennor, by Anne, daughter of 

— ^ Sterne of Great Ecdeston in Kent* He had been 
Sheriff of the County of Dublin in 1688, and a rendent of 
Swords, of whidi ancient Borough he was constituted one of 
the Burgesses in King James's Charter of 1689. In hi^ 

* (kiMolofkal MSS. CoOectian m Trm. Coll DtA. (F. S, 27.) 

sawltok's nnrurtEY. 75 

attainder of 1691, he ie described as of that place; while 
another Stanley (ThomaB) ib located, on the 
of Martinetown, County of Louth. 


This ftmily name, introdnoed into Ireland on the Danish 
invaaon, iqypears eubeeqnently of fireqnent oecuirenoe in the 
records of this conntry. In 1234 John ^ Harald' was Sheriff 
of Wateiford, and in 1802 John ' Haiald' and G^ofl&ey 
* Harold' were of the Magnates of Ireland, whom King 
Edward invited to assist him in the invasion of Scotland. In 
1355 John Harold was one of the influential gentry of the 
County of Limerick^ who elected Thomas de Daundon, 
Knight, to its Shrievalty; and in 1374 Thomas Harold was 
Constable of the imp<»tant Castle-Mac-Einn^an, on the 
marches of the O'Bymes' country. In the seventeenth 
century the Harolds were established in the Counlies of 
ddare, Widdow, Dublin, and Limeridc; accordingly the 
Attainders of 1642 |»esent the names of Qerald Harcddof 
EUdrought (Celbridge), County of Ejldare; Bichard Harold 
of Sjlhele, Do. ; Thomas Harold of Coolnehamon, County of 
Widdow; and William of Kilmaceogue, County of Dublin. 
John Harold was one of five tried by court martial in St: 
Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin, on the 18th May, 1652.* In 
1676 Thomas Harold, * a native of Irdand,' solicited the 
interference of King Charles in his behalf; he having been 
confined in Brussek ten years * for reosting the Pope's claim 

* Mmutes afOourts Martial during the CommonweaUh^ MS. 


as to his aU^ianoe, and for his having been one of the 
subscribers to the Bemonstranoe of 1661.** 

Besides the above Captain, there stands on this Army 
List William Harold, a Lieutenant in Major-Greneral Boisse- 
lean's Lifiuitry. In the Parliament of Dublin, Alderman 
Thomas Harold was one of the Bepresentatives of the City 
of Limerick; he was consequently attainted with Walter 
Harold of Limerick, merchant, and the above Nicholas 
Harold, styled of Ealmaceogue, County of Dublin, a lineal 
descendant of William Harold who was attainted in 1642. 
A John Harold, described as of the same locality, Irish 
papist^ then also forfeited estates there. 


The Murphys, or OTtfurphys, were a Sept very widely 
extended over Ireland, as even the few records here noted 
will evince. This Officer was of Kilkenny, in whose 
Cathedral are monuments to his family from 1640 to 1741. 
So early after the introduction of surnames in Ireland as 
1031, the death of Flaherty O'Murroghoe (Murphy), Chief 
of Cinel-Breaghain, in the County of Donegal, is recorded by 
the Masters, as is that of O'Murroghoe, Chief Sage of Lein- 
ster in 1127. In 1451 John * Morphy' was fined for not 
attending the Parliament of Drogheda, to which he had been 
summoned as proctor for a Beligious House. The Attain- 
ders of 1642 name Michael Murphy of Balruddery, and 
Laughlin Murphy of Dunganstown; George of St. Michan's 

* Cold. Southwell MSS.^ p. 60. 


Parish, Dublin, idth Donogh and Connor Murphy of Blameyt 
Coonty of Cork. In 1654 a Colonel of this name, at the 
head of 800 Irishmen, distinguished himself in the campaign 

in Spain. ^Besides the above Captain there appear on this 

Army list, in Lord Kenmare's Infantry, Murphy, a 

Major ; in the Earl of Tyrone's, Nicholas and Michael Murphy, 

Lieutenants; — ^in Colonel John Grace's, Murphy, a 

Lieutenant; — in Lord Bellew's, Owen and Bryan Captains, 
Phelim and Denis Lieutenants, and John Murphy, an Ensign ; 
— in Colonel Nicholas Browne's, William Murphy was a 
Captain, Maurice Murphy his Lieutenant, and John Murphy, 

Ensign. In Lord Kilmallock's, Murphy was an Ensign. 

Those attainted in 1692 were the above Captain Edmund, 
styled of Kilkenny, with two others of the name there, seven 
in Wexford, six in Louth, four in Cork, three in Down, two 
in Armagh, and one in Waterford, Clare, and Queen's 
Coontiee respectivdy. 

In the Brigades commiseioned in the French service, of 
that styled the 'Begiment of Charlemont,' commanded by 
Grordon O'NdU on its first formation, the above Captain 
Edmund Murphy was constituted Major, while a Cornelius 
Murphy was Major of the ]^giment of Clancarfy.* At the 
Court of Claims in 1700, Maria de Margarita ' de Murphy ' 
daimed the benefit of a judgment debt afiecting the estates 
of Donogh, Earl of Clancarfy, but her petition was dismist. 
The Archives of Bruges record a Darby ^Morphy,' Captain- 
Lieutenant in Lord Hunsdon's In&ntry as hereafter noticed; 
and in St. Donat's Cathedral of that City is a monument to 
the Beverend and Venerable John Albert ^de Morphy,' <of 

* CtConoi's MSUU, Mem, p. 199. For addevemeats of thifl name in the 
Brigadea, see idem, p. 73. 


tbe Boyal Sept of O'Morrongh, whieh had pyen Kings to 
Lemster/ while hioiaelf had been imprisoned in London, 
driven into exile, found an asylum at Bruges, wheie he was 
constituted 'Penitentiaty' of the Piocese, and died ISth 
November, 1745 * 


Kettheb this surname nor that of Tnu^, for^wlueh it seems 
to have been intended, is to be found on the Bolls of Attain- 
ders of 1691. 


A Gibbons was also a Captain in Sir John Fitzgerald's 

Infimtry, and another of the name was Lieutenant in Colonel 
Owen MaoCartie's, while a fourth ^-^-^ Gibbons was a Captain 
in Colonel Clifford's Dragoons. On the Bolls of Attainders, 
those of 1642 have two of the name, and those of 1691 three. 
In 1667, a Cf^tain Franois Gibbons passed patent for 1,428 
acres in Westmeath, in pursuance of a Cromwellian oertificate. 


Thx natire Axmaiiste of Ireland iiotice at a very enrly age 
tbe Sept of O'Colemam aad sometimes of Mao Ci^Jmaa, the 
latter as in the County of Louth, where the name is still of 

* Nicholas's Top^. and Oen\ 1853, p. 4M, 

HAMtLToir'i^ nrpAKniT. 79 

leqpeetafaility. In 1206, say the Four Masters, died ^Maol- 
peddsr O^Golemaai, suooessor of Camoe (Abbot of Ejlkenny), 
4ie plkr of {»ety and irisdom of the North of Ijeland.' The 
BoUs of the Irish records present the name from the time of 
Edirstfd the Second. In 1642 were attainted John Coleman 
of Artoine and Patrick Coleman of Eoll, County of Dublin, 
-with Anne }^ "wife. On the minates of courts mariM hdd 
m St Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin, it is stated that an Enogn 
Coleman T^as one of those tried there on the 9th of March, 
1651. The name does not appear at all on the Attainders of 
1691, ftc. 



The ODu£& were Chiefs of Hy Cruinthain, a district 
extending round Dunamase in the Queen's County ; and the 
name is of record on the Irish Rolls of Chancery from the 
days of Edward the Third. 

In 1600 died Alderman Thomas DuBe of Drogheda, 
seised of premises at Termonfeckin and in other parts of 
Louth ; Greozge Duffe was his son and heir, then of full age 
and married. This Alderman had three other sons, Peter, 
Henry, and Stephen. Said George dying in 1611 $, je>., his 
brother Peter succeeded to his estates, of which he had livery 
in 1615; being then aged 30 and unmarried; and he, dying in 
1618^ left Thomas his son and heir, aged 10 months, who died 
in 1631, when said Henry, his uncle, became his heir; but he 
also dying 9^p*^ Stqphea the youngest son of Aldecmaa 

Thomas inherited the fiunily propesrty. ^In 1611 Sr Adam^ 

Loftus had the wardship of Jasper, son and heir of James 


Duff, ihen late of Bobs, in Wexford, deceased. On the 

Attainders of 1642 appear Patrick Duffe of Westpalstown, 
Henry of the Ward, Kichard and Cahill of Lnsk and Thomas 
of Bush, all in the County of Dublin; John Duffe of Leixlip, 
Donogh of Naas, clerk, and James of Clare in EUdare, idth 
Bichard Duffe of Oristown, in Meath. At the Supreme 
Coundl of Kilkenny, in 1647, Patrick Duff, there described 
as of Bospatrick, but probably identical idth the attainted 
Patrick' of Westpalstown, was of the Commons.* Besides 

these Lieutenants, Duffe was a Lieutenant in Colonel 

Boger Mac Elligott*s Li&ntry. The Attainders of 1691 
name only Thady *Duff' of Piltown, County of Meaih; 
Thadeus Duff of Athlone, merchant; Thadeus Duff, junior, 
of Dublin ; and Thomas Duff of Kilkenny, merchant. 


This name was introduced to Ireland on the Plantation of 

Ulster. John Magee of Bathenny, in the County of 

Dublin, was a forfeiting proprietor in 1642 ; as were Cormuck 
Magee of Tullycool, in Down, and Patrick Magee of Moy- 
dreston, in Cavan, in 1691. Alexander Magee was a pro- 
prietor in Antrim before the former dvil war. He died in 
1637, when his son Daniel succeeded to his estate. 

* The compiler of these lUuslnxtions sinoerely regrets the oocnrrence 
of assertioiis on probability; but the difficulty^ he has experienced in 
obtaining oodientie family information^ predndes that certainty, which 
oould be otherwise obtained, only from his own manascripts, at a laboor 
impracticable gratoitooBly for so many somames. 



This surname originated in Devonshire, and was early 
established in Ireland. In 1333 Edmund de la Forde was 
Coroner of Meath. In 1357 William de la Forde was pre- 
sented to a living in that County, and in 1402 John Forde 
was entrusted with the custody of certain lands therein. In 
the subsequent century the name extended over the eastern 
coast of Ireland, through Louth, Down, Wexford, Antrim, 
and Dublin. In the time of Charles the Second Sir Henry 
Ford was on two occasions Secretary for Ireland, and in that 
xeign the Shrievalty of Drogheda was twice filled by a Ford. 
In King James's Charters of 1687, John Ford was an 
Alderman in that to Limerick, as was Edward Ford in 
another to Navan. Five of the name were, however, attainted 
in the Parliament held by that monarch in Dublin. There 
was of this name outlawed in 1641 Edward ' Foord' of Leixlip 
only, and none appear on the Inquisitions of 1691. 


His connections are unknown. Comet Thomas Sanders 
was one of the * 1649' officers whose claims were decreed. 



KING James's ibish abmit list. 




Edward Nnaenty 



Walter *TineIL' 

Jolm Sutton. j 

Christopher Sherlock.) 
John Wogan. / 

Alezander Knightley. 

John Panton. \ 
WiUiam Moore. / 

Le Siemr Goiridore. 

Thorn. Jiuti^ 

Patrick Kenddan. 

George Coiridons, 

lieat-Golonel Clonahlnge. 

IgnatioB Usher. 


■ ■■ ■ Ronrite. 


— Bfac Swyny . 

— MacGowran. 



— Dempsey. 


James ^BamwelL* 
John Stepheoa. 


Gairett Plnnkett 
Christopher Bellew. 

Chaika Degnent 
Barthdlomeifr White. 


{John Heme. 
CUadins Beauregard. 

Walter Grace. 

Walter Utfier. 


-— . Konrke. 


Mac Swyny. 


Pfam Mownson. 
BartholonMW Biad. 

Daniel 0*Daniel. 


.— ^Moigone. 

Matthew Wak. 
F^taocia Botie^ 
— Wdventon. 

Beaghan Kenddan. 

Edward Rigney. 
Oliver Grace. 
— — Moschy. 
— — Bonrke. 
— ^ Conway. 
.— ^ Doher^. 



.— ^Donn. 

Rev. Neale, Chtq>lian. 

Kennedy, Surffeon, 

fitz-^amsb's infanxbt. 83 



TfiOB officer was another bob of King James by his mistress 
Arabella Chondiill, sister of the great Duke of Marlborough ; 
he was the youngest of fiye children of that connection; was 
bom in August, 1673; accompanied his &ther in his flight 
from England, and after, in his expedition to Ireland; where, 
at the age of sixteen, he was appointed Colonel of this 
R^^iment, thenceforward known by his name. In the year 
of the appointment of Tyrconnel to the Vice-Royalty of 
Ireland, Thomas Thynne (afterwards Viscount Weymouth) 
wrote to Robert Southwell, 'Aiter all we heard of Mr. 
Pitz-James*s being made Duke of Dublin, it seems he came 
not out of France till this week, so that we are to expect 
what laurels he will be crowned with, and from whose head 

He, after distinguishing himself at Derry, headed this 
Regiment at the battle of the Boyne, but retired with his 
&ther, immediately after, to France. This his Raiment, 
which was consigned to the command of Nicholas Fitzgerald,^ 
signalized itself throughout the first nege of Limerick, and 
especially along with that of Major-General Boisseleau, the 
French-General, at the successful resistance of the assault of 
the 6th of September, 1690, which led to the raising of the 
fliege by Sling William. The Grand Prior was in 1696, 
in France placed oyer the Toulon fleet designed to invader 
England, at yrhkh time O'Callaghan conjectures he was 

84 Kura James's ibish abmt list. 

created Duke of Albemarle. In December, 1702, lie was 
appointed Lieutenant-General of the Marine, and in the same 
month died at Bagnols in Langaedoc, aged only between 29 
and 30. Louis the Fourteenth placed the Court of France in 
mourning on his decease.* 

He had married the only daughter of the Comte de Lussan 
(first gentleman of the bed-chamber to the Prince of Cond^), 
a lady whose fortune was the largest in France, but by her he 
left no children. Having been originally designed for the 
British Navy, he had entered that of France on his father's 
dethronement, and actually distinguished himself at sea under 
TourviUe in the engagement at St. Vincent against the Eng- 
lish Admiral Sir George Booke in 1693.t His Regiment, 
after his decease, changed its name from Albermarle's to that 
of Fitzgerald, its previous Colonel. 


See of him ante p. 196-7, where he is noticed as he then 
ranked in the earlier muster, a Major in the Earl of 
Abercom^s Horse. 


The name of Porter is of record on the Irish Rolls firom the 
time of Edward the Third. In the forty-eighth year of that 
reign John Porter, who had received a grant of the custody of 

* (/Cattaghan*$ Irish Brigades^ voL 1 p. 876. f /(fern, p. 210. 


the maoor of Dysert in Meath, made complaint of opposition 
to his enjoyment and duties from the Bishop of that Diocese, 
who was thereupon ordered to answer his charges. This John 
was at the same time commissioned to purvey provirions for 
the establishment of the Deputy's household. In 1382 Bobert 
Porter was a Justice in eyre; and, in 1408, William Porter 
was seised of the townland in the County of Dublin called 
from him Porterstown, while Nicholas Porter gave the same 
name to another in the Barony of Satoath in Meath. The 
attainders of 1642 present of this name only Bichard Porter of 
Oldbridge in the latter County. John Porter had in 1677 a 
confirmatory grant of 971 acres in Mayo. He was probably 
the Quarter-Master John Porter, who had an adjudication in 
li^t of a '1649' Officer. In 1686 Sir Charles Porter was 
appointed Lord Chancellor of Ireland ; he was afterwards 
removed for Sir Alexander Fitton, but was restored at the 
close of 1690, on the Revolution. In the Parliament of 1689 
Sobert Porter was one of the Bepresentatives of the County 
of Ejldare, as was John Porter of the City of Waterford, and 
Colonel James Porter of the Borough of Fethard, County of 

The above Major, whose Christian name does not appear on 
this roll, was, it may be presumed, the Colonel James, Member 
for Fethard in 1689, as he was early promoted to the rank of 
second Lieutenant-Colonel in this B^ment, Dodsley having 
been substituted in the Majority. He was in France at the 
time of the battle of the Bojme, on the day previous to which 
he wrote from St. Grermains to Father Warner, ' confessor to 
the King in Dublin,' a letter* in which he says, " the dreadful 
fleet of France has got into the ChanneL We may daily 

* Sou&weU MSS. CbtoLp. 179. 


expect strange changes, and with reason; we may expect to 
see our Boyal Master in Whitehall before Michaelmas. We 
are sending a fleet of thirty frigates for Ireland: after such 

preparations, what may we not expect?" ^When that Boyal 

Master had fled to France, this Colonel Porter was made Vioe- 
Chamberlain in his titular Court * The Attainders of 1691 
include his name as of Feathard, with Patrick Porter of 
EjuQgstown and William of ' Jon^unstown,' County of Meath ; 
Bobert Porter of Kildare, and Nicholas Porter of Waterford, 
merchant, who was Mayor of that city in 1689 ; his forfi^tures 
eonsbted of premises in that city, all which were purchased 

from the Trustees by Alderman Lapp in 1703. Some links 

of the descent of the Porters of Waterford are preserved in a 
manuscript book of Obits in Trinity College, (F. 3. 27), 
denying them from Gloucestershire. 


This fiunily was established in Ireland at a yery remote 
period. In 1302, Gilbert de Sutton was one of the Magnates 
of tins country whom Edward the First inyited to aid him in 
the Scottish war. In 1324 Herbert ' de Suttoun' was Sheriff 
of Meath, and afterwards Constable of Athlone. Early in the 
rrign of Edward the Third, the estates of Thomas de Sutton, 
in Kildare, were, upon his decease, committed to the custody 
of John de Wellesleye, to hold during the minority of John, 
son and heir of said Thomas. In 1357 Gerald de Sutton was 
one of those, appointed by the Crown, to assess and apportion 

* darkens Jame$ IL^ yoL 2, p. 411. 


» hosting in that County. In 1384 Sobert Sntton was a 
Justice in eyrty in 1401 he was Chief Baron of the Exchequer, 
and in seyen years after was keeper of the Great Seal. Henry 
the Fifth, in the first year of his reign, conunitted to William 
Sutton, derk, the custody of the estate of Philip D*Arcy, 
knight, to hold during the minority of John, son and heir of 
said Philip. In 1428 John Sutton, knight, was Justiciary of 
Ireland, at which time he led an army against the O'Bymes. 
In 1431 WiHiam Sutton, juni(Hr, had a grant of the Chief 
Seijeantcy of Meath. A genealogical manuscript in Trinity 
CoU^e, Dublin (F. iii. 27), traces links of Suttons^ pedigree 
for five generations, in the 16th and 17th centuries. 

In 1605 John Lye, gentleman, servant to Queen Elizabeth, 
had a grant from her Boyal successor of the towns, lands, &c., 
of Bathlnide, Morristown-Biller, Belickstown, &c., parcel of 
the estate of David Sutton in the County of Kildare, the pa- 
tentee being bound to keep upon Bathbrlde one able horseman, 
archer, or ^ hargabusher,' of the English nation, su£Bdentiy 
furnished for the defence of Ireland. The aboye Gerald, son 
and heir of Grilbert, who was in 1631 aged but eight years, was 
in 1642 attainted, with Laurence and Nicholas Sutton of 
Tipper in the same County, who were a branch of the stock. 
Of this estate of Tipper, Barbyestown, <&c., County of Kildare, 
and other lands in Wexford, a William Sutton died s^sed in 
1592, leaving John his son and hdr, who succeeded to same, 
bat they were forfeited in 1642 by the attainder of his son 
William Sutton, junior. This William was one of the Con- 
federate Catholics at the Supreme Council of Kilkenny in 
1646, and he would seem to have been fiither to the above 
Captain John, in whose fiwour a saving was reserved in a pa- 
UsDit of lands in the County of Galway to William Clynch. 
He was, in 1691, attainted by the description of John Sutton 


of Halyerston, County of Kildare, together with five other 
Suttons in the County of Wexford, and one in the Citj of 
Dublin. At the Court of Chichester House, Bridget Sutton, 
in 1700, claimed and was allowed her jointure off the Kildare 
estate of this Captain Sutton, which was sold by the Com^ 
missioners of the Forfeitures in 1703 to the Hollow Swords 
Blades* Company. 


This &mily name is of record in Ireland from the time of the 
Tudors. They were located in the Barony of Coshmore^ 
County of Waterford, as also in the Counties of Tipperary, 
Limerick, Dublin, and Kildare. In 1422 the King appointed 
Walter * Sherloke' to be Chief Sergeant of the County of 
Kildare, an office which he held for several years af^r. In 
1431 he had an order on the Irish Exchequer for remune- 
rating his great labours in the County of Kilkenny and its 
marches. In 1499 James ' Sherloke' was Justice in eyre. In 
1586 an inquisition post mortem was held of the estates of 
John Sherlock of Ballyclerihan, in the County of Cross-Tip- 
perary, when it was found that, at the time of his death, he 
was sdsed of a castle and sundiy lands and premises there, 
and that Patrick Sherlock, his son and heir, was then aged 
three years. In 1609 King James granted to James Sher- 
lock, of Grace Dieu, in Waterford, that he and his heirs 
should hold the demesne lands of Templeicarrick, Ballydavid, 
and Bathmoylan, in said County, discharged of all assessments. 
In the following year, John, son and executor of Patrick 
Sherlock of St Catherine's, near Waterford, made a lease for 


jear&y to Piers son of William Aylward, of the Preceptory 
of Edlvir, with all its possessions. 

In 1616 Thomas Sherlock of ' the Naas' was one of the 
Comity of Kildare gentry impannelled to hold a post mortem 
inquiiy y as to the estates of Walter Wellesley of the Norragh, 
then lately deceased. This Thomas was attainted in 1642, as 
were Edward Sherlock of Blackhall in the same Comiiy , derk, 
and George Sherlock of Wicklow, merchant. In the confir- 
matory patents of King Charles the Second to the adventurers 
in Waterford were savings of the rights of Paul, heir of Sir ' 
Thomas Sherlock; which Paul had in 1614 the grant of a 
wardship from the Crown; while, in the following year, John, 
son of James Sherlock of Waterford, had a grant of the 
wardship of John Sherlock, son and heir of George Sherlock, 
knight, deceased. In 1670 William Sherlocke had a confir- 
matory grant of 239 acres in Tipperary, as had Paul Sherlock 
in 1679 of 2,940 acres in Waterford. 

In 1684, 18th May, died Philip Sherlock of Littlerath, son 
of Christopher of that place ; he was buried on the 20th at 
Bowdingstown in the same Coimty, leaving issue by his wife 
Elizabeth (daughter of William Eustace*) the above Captain 
Christopher his eldest son, Eustace, Bobert, John, William, 
and Edward, his younger sons, and Hester and Mary his 
two daughters. The estate, having descended to Christopher, 
was forfeited on his attainder, subject to the charges which 
the will of his &ther created for the younger children. The 
testator^s widow intermarried with Nicholas Adams, while 
t>f her children by Sherlock, Bober£ and Maiy died under 
age, and Edward the youngest was long resident in Corfu.f 
He was a claimant for his portion on the fiunily estate, as 

* FkmmU Entry, Berm, Tower. \ MSS. in MarshU lAbrary, DMin. 


were his brothers, John and Wmiam, and their rights 
were allowed. Besides Captain Christopher, there are on 

this list Sherlock, a Captain in Charles Moore's 

InjGmtry, with Thomas Sheriock of Blackhall, a Cs^tain 
and Robert Sherlock, an Ensign in Sir Maurice Eustace's. 
Edward fflieriock of Blackball, possibly the same individual 
who was attainted in 1642, was one of the Bepresentatives 
of the Borough of Cloughmine in Ejng James's Pariia^ 
ment of 1689. He was consequentiiy attainted in 1691 
with said Thomas, John Sherlock of Lady's Castle, Laurence 
and Eustace Sherlock of Littlerath, all in said County 
of Kildare; Robert Sherlock of Carlow (the Enfilgn in 
Sir Maurice Eustace's) and James, Pierce, and Balthazzar 
^erlock of Ballykenny and Ballyleigh, County of Watford. 
In 1694 Thomas Sherlodc, a merchant of Lish birth, thereto- 
fore trading in Dublin, but then a merchant at Bouen in 
France, obtained, under circumstances of expatriation, detailed 
in his petition, full pardon and liberty to return to his native 


NOTHiNa worthy of note has been ascertained of either of 
these officers or their fiunilies, in connexion with this periods 
A Ludovick ' Ponton,' described as of Newtown in the County 
Widdow, was however attainted in 1642. 



Thb 0*Caendelain were Tanlsts of Leogaire in Meath, of 
which Donell O'Caendelaine, died lord in 1017, as did Angus 
O'Caendebdn in 1085. After the English invanon this sur- 
name is recorded bereft of its Irish prefix, as in Kerry, where 
Thomas, son of Henry *Candelan', was one of the influential 
proprietors appointed to assess a state subsidy in 1358. About 
the same time David Candelan was seised of estates in Kil- 
kenny. In 1635 died Edward < Kindelan' of BaUynakin in 
Meath, leaving Vaughan Kindelan, his son and heir, aged 
thirty-five and inarried, tAo died in the following year, leaving 
Edwacrd Klndelan, junior, his son and heir, then aged eleven 

The o£Bcer here commissioned was of Ballynakill, by which 
description lie was attainted, with tiiree others of his kindred 
there, Edward, Vaughan, and John Kendelan. 


Ik Lord Slane% Segiment of Infimtry , Walter Usher was an 
Ensign, bnt nothing of note touching this period has been 
discovered of either of these officers. It may however be men- 
tioned that a John Usher died in 1600, seised of a castle and 
lands at Tr^hns in Meath, leaving Walter his son and heir 
tbesL twelve years old. Bichaxd Usher of Tathxath in that 
Coimty waa attainted in 1642 ; while in 1667 Beverly Usher 
had a grant of 1,295 acres in Cork, as had Sir William Usher 


of 251 in Wicklow. This Beverly Usher, by the style of a 
Lieutenant-Colonel, appears on the ' 1649 ' officers' adjudica^ 
lions, as does Lieutenant Henry Usher. 


Of this name it can only be said that Captain John and 
Lieutenant William Stephens appear on the Boll of the 
* 1649 ' Officers, and that in 1690 Sir Bichard Stephens was 
appointed a Justice of the King's Bench in L^land, while a 
Thomas Stephens, described as of Ballyvaughan, County of 
Limerick, was the only one of the name then attainted. 


This officer, whose name should have been spelt Hemy, was 
one of tiie six clerks in King Jameses Chancery. 


RiCHAED and Henry Mortimer of Drogheda, the latter 
described as merchant, were the only individuals of this once 
illustrious name, who forfeited in 1691. The available historic 
notices for its illustration cannot be here introduced; it may 
only be noted that a Captain William and Lieutenants David 
and John Mortimer, appear on the Roll of the ^ 1649 ^ officers. 

nrz-JAHBS's mvAJsmr. 93 


No notice of either of these officers, worthy of insertion, has 
been obtained. 


The name of Read is of record in Ireland from the time of 
the English invasion. In 1308 David le Rede sued out a 
possessory writ, as did John le Rede in the ensuing year, and 
Nicholas le Rede in 1325. Robert le Rede was collector of a 
state subddy from the county of Limerick in 1357. In 1371 
the Sheriff of the Crosses of Meath was directed to summon to 
a Grreat Council in Dublin, from amongst otiiers of his baili- 
wick, Richard Rede, who was in 1394 a Justice in eyre^ 
afterwards Chief Baron of the Exchequer and Chief Justice 
of the Common Pleas in succession. In 1399, on the security 
of Thomas Rede of Dublin, and others, the King committed 
to Philip Rede the custody of certain premises in TuUaghcopp, 
Leracorre, and the moor of Dengyn. In 1422 Richard Rede 
had a grant of the custody of various lands in the Counties of 
Meath and Louth; while Thomas Rede and Alicia his 
wife then held lands in the former County, as did John Rede 
in the Barony of Ratoath. 

In 1631 Richard Reade died seised of lands in Meath, 
leaving Martin Reade his couon and next heir, then aged 
fifteen. In 1642 Martin Reade of Scurlockstown in that 


Counlyy wae attainted ; and in 1666 Major John Bead had 
a confirmatorj grant of 6,069 acres in Cork. 
Beade was one of the * 1649 ^ officers. 


The O^Dunns were an anient Sept of the Queen^s County, 
where in 1427 died Boderic O'Dunn, Chief of Hy Biagain. 
The Christian name of this officer is untold on the British 
Museum List, but an inquisition, taken at Maryborough on 
Terence Dunn, suggests that to have been the Ensign's name; 
while Sir Bernard Burke, in a sketch of the Brittas fiunily in 
his Landed Gentry ^ says that Charles Dunn^ of that line, was 
killed at the Battle of Aughiim. 









Dominick Terry. 

James Fitzgerald. 



— Cheren. 



Garrat nt^flfald. 

Anliflh CallAghaa. 

PUlip Bainy c(p«. 

Johm Hanivaa. 

Edward Fitsgerald. 

<— Ivone. 


Patiiek Layallm. 

Thomas Power. 

Lewis Moore. 

Redmond Condon. 

Ulick Brown*. 

Thomas Hogan. 

Teigoe H^Cartj. 

ChulflB FitzgmUd. 

Robert Fltsgerald. 

WilHam White. 


i Walter Bxyan. 
iDonogh MtCarty, 

Richard Condon. 

Hanrioe Fieri. 

Patrick • Pairs.' 

Kennedy 0*Biyan. 

John Ryan. 

John Ryan. 

Tfaady (VConnor. 


Philip Connor. 


«— — Hacarty. 

— — » M esgber. 

—- Cnsaek. 

— — Comyn. 

^^B^v " e ^^^^^^^^^* ^h^ vBmwv^^v ^^v^hmb^^mi^^^pwp 

— — Owen. Ameon. 



The native Ammls record that in the third century Oilioll 
Ollamh, King of Munster, directed that the govemment of 
this Province should, on his decease, be divided between his 
sons Edgar Mor and Cormac Cas : that to the former should 
belong Desmond or Southern Munster, to the latter Thomond 
or Northern Munster. Cormac Cas became thereupon the 
founder of the Dalcassian or O'Brien race, of whom see ante p. 
352, &c., while Eogan (i,e. Owen) was progenitor of the Mac 
Carthy dynasty. The aforesaid Annals, especially those of 
Innisfallen, abound with records of the patriotism and perse- 
verance, with which this noble Sept of the Macartys laboured 
to resist the early invasion of the Danes, until they were at 
length induced to tolerate their settling for commercial pur- 
poses in the province of which they were so constituted rulers. 
When Henry the Second landed at Waterford, Mac Carty, 
King of Desmond, delivered to him the keys of Cork and did 
homage. This great family was popularly distinguished into 
two branches, the Mac Carty Beagh and the Mac Carty More, 
of which latter fiunily was Donald Mac Carty, created Earl of 
Glancare by Queen Elizabeth. Besides bang Earls of Glan- 
care, the Mac Cartys were subsequently at various times en- 
nobled as Barons of Valentia, Barons and Viscounts Muskeny, 
Earls of Clancarty, and in this reign Lord Mountcashd. In 
1261 ^ the Geraldines,' say the Four Masters, ' marched with 
a great force into Desmond, to attack Mac Carthy (Fingin), 
who encountered and defeated them m an engagement, in 
which dght Barons, five Knights, and several others of the 
English gentry were slain, together with John Mac Thomas 


and Barry More ; an innumerable host of their common soldiers 
also fell in that battle. Fingin Mac Carthy was afterwards 
slain by the English^ and his brother Aithdeiraoh Mao Carthy 
assumed the lordship of Desmond/ In 1314 Edward the 
Second directed his especial letter missive to Dermot Mao 
Arthy, ^ Dud Hibemioorum ds Desaemandy for his aid in the 
Scottbh war. He is styled 'Princeps' in other patent records. 
In 1375 Anne, wife of David de la Boche, knight, had license 
to take to nurse Cormac, the son of Dermot Mac Carthy, and 
to restore him to his parents, when required. In Sir John' 
Ferret's Farliament (1584) the Earl of Glancare sat as chief 
representative of this Sept. In a few years after, the Desmond 
war having wasted Munster, Florence Mao Carty and Dermot, 
son of Donagh Mac Carty, passed out of that Province to Spain. 
Another Florence Mac Carthy had married the only daughter 
of the Earl of Glancare; his achievements in the Munsterwar 
are fully set forth in the P<zoata Sibemia. On the EarFs 
death he assumed the title of the Mao Carthy More, but having 
been taken prisoner he, during his confinement, in the enthu*" 
siasm of national feeling, wrote an 'Epistle on the Antiquities 
of the Irish Nation," which is preserved in the MSS. of 
Trinity College, Dublin, (D. 3. 16). After a confinement of 
nearly forty years he died in the Tower of London. In 1605 
David Lord Barrie, Viscount Buttevant, had a grant from 
King James of various castles, manors, customs, &c., in the 
County of Cork, ' the estate of Fineen Mac Owen Mac Cartie 
late of Inniskeen, slain in rebellion. 

In 1607 the wardship of Cormack, son and heir of Donough 
Mac Carthy of Clough-Phillip, in Cork, was granted to 
Thomas Fitz Gerald of ^ Sathstellane,' therein ; and in the 
same year the King granted to ^ Ellen Carthie, daughter 
and sole heiress of the Earl of Clancarthy, part pf the lands 


98 KING James's ibish abbct list. 

of the said Earl not yet in charge, to hold for her life, mih 
remainder to Teigue M'Carthej, her son and heir apparent 
in tail male, and like remainders to her other three sons, 
DonneU, Cormack, and Fynnin, the reversion to enure to 
the Crown. That E[ing-s letter of 1611 is of record to 
receive from Dermod, son of Owen Mac Carthey, a surrender 
of the Castles of Eanturk, Lohorte, and aU his other estates 
in Cork to be regranted, subject to English rents and ser- 
vices; while in 1612 the same monarch confirmed to Donald 
*' M'Cartie,' the Castle of Castlelough, with lands, weirs, &c., 
in Desmond ; to hold to himself for life, remainder to Donald 
M^Cartie, his reputed son, in tail male; remainder to the 
heirs male of his own body, reversion to the Crown. An 
inquiry was at this time directed, on the petition of Cormock 
Cartie, son and heir of Donogh Mac Cartie, late of Kanturk, 
which allied that ' said Donogh had theretofore enjoyed 
Dowhally, until he was taken prisoner and dam by the traitor, 
Tyrone, at which time the petitioner was an in&nt; where* 
upon the above Dermod, son of Owen Mac Cartie, took 
forcible possession of the lands which he still keeps;' the 
petitioner also prayed, that, when his title was found, means 
might be taken for settling the possesedon of the country, 
to accept surrenders, and to make regnints of same to him, 
so that he shall have a legal titie. Dermod, however, despite 
this compiiunt, had a subsequent confirmatory patent of Kan* 
turk, Lohorte, &c., according to the tenor of his aforesaid 
patent of 1611. The Attainders of 16i2 pres^it the names 
of Dexmot Mc Carthy, and DoneU son of Teigue Mc Carthy, 
both of Ballyea, County of Cork ; with the large proportion 
of one hundred and ten several Inquisitions, confiscating the 
estates of other proprietors of the name in that County. 
At the Supreme Council held in Kilkenny in 1646, Donogh 

IiOBt> mottktoashbl's ikfantry. 99 

Mo C$rty, Yisoount Mnskerry, was of its Temporal Peers; 
while Charles Mc Carty Reagh, Dermot Mc Carty of Eanturk, 
and Thady Me Carty of Killfailaway were of the Commons. 
The Viscottnt was consequently especially excepted from pajr- 
don for life and estate in Cromwell's Ordinance of 1653* On 
the Irish Establishment of 1687-8, this Colonel Justin Macarty 
was placed as a Major-General of the Army for the annual pay 
of £680, with an addition of £500 on the Pension List ; while, 
on the latter fund, Daniel Mc Carty Beagh was placed for 
£100 j>^ annum. In 1688 *a Mr. Mao Carty an Irish officer 
(says Clarke) aided the flight of James the Second from 
London to Peterfield,* and at the close of that year before 
the Boyal exile landed in Ireland, the Colonel here under 
consideration wrote from Cork to a Captain Mills of Mallow, 
who was then arming for the Protestant cause, 'I must 
confess of all mankind I least thought you would have 
' lead ' this dance, which perhaps we all may have cause to 
repent; but, let the feult lie at whose door it might, for as 
to my part I absolutely renounce any share in it. You are 
now upon the brink of a very great precipice, which I wish 
you well out of/* 

This mane appears on commission in seven other Begiments 
of the present muster, while frirther, on the present list, a 
Colonel Owen Mac Cartie is set down as commanding a 
distinct Regiment of Infantry, the strength of which and the 
names of the officers are given post from the British Museum 
MS. In 1689 a Captain Mac Cartie was killed, according 
to Walker, or taken prisoner, as Mac Kenzie has it, in 
attempting to scale the walls of Derry ; while in S^tember 
of the foUowii^ year another Captain Mac Carty was taken 

^ Tkorp^t Catalogue SwihmaU MSS:, p. 174. 


prisoner at the siege of Cork bj Colonel ChnrdiiU, afterwards 
Duke of Marlborough.* 

O'Callaghan, writing of this Lord Mount Cashel's B^- 
ment, sajs * it was formed in 1683 out of serend independent 
companies, which King Charles withdrew firom Tangier, when 
he caused that fortress to be demolished* Its first Colonel 
was James Butler, afterwards second Duke of Ormond, who, 
being made Colonel of a Segment of Horse, resigned the 
command of this to the Honourable Justin Mac Carty.* 
Colonel O^Kellj, in his Exeidium MaearicB^ styles him First 
Lieutenant-Crenend of the Irish Army, and says he was 'a 
man of parts and courage, wanting no quality fit for a com- 
plete captain, if he were not somewhat short-sighted.' As 
the best qualified oflScer for inspecting *' arms, ordnance, and 
engineering tools,* he was early appointed Muster-Master 
General of Artillery in Ireland, in reference to which selec- 
tion D'Ayauz wrote on the 12th of May to M. de Louvois : 
^ Sa Maiest^ Britannique a donn^ k M. de Makarty, la charge 
de (jrand Maistre de V Artillerie d' Irlande que possedat 
Mylord Monjoye, h la reserve que cette charge ne dependra 
plus du Grand Maistre de Y Artillerie d* Angleterre, comme 
elle fiusoit aussaravant, il m*a V obligation de cette change, 
mais je dois vous dire qu'avant qu'il V aoceptant il m'est venu 
demander si cela ne rempescheroit point de pouroir aller en 
France, pane que si celu estoit il n*y songeroit pas. Comme 
cela ne rendia pas sa presence plus necessaire en ce pays cy, 
je luy ay responder que les marques d'esteme et de distinction 
que luy donneroit le Boi son maistre, n'empescheroient pas les 
veues que vous pouvez avoir pour luy.*t He was also con- 
stituted Lord lieutenant of the County of Cork; where, 

* Slory*$ Imparikd EMory^ part L, p. 181. f NegodiOiom^ frc^ p. US. 


preyiouflly to King Jamee's coming over, he took Castle- 
Martyr and Bandon fix>m tlie possession of the Ptotestant 
party, and ivas considered to have thereby suppressed their 
moyements in two of the other provinoes.* 

King James, on his landing at Kinsale, sought his infor- 
mation as to the state of the country more especially '* firom 
Justin Macarty and from Sir Thomas Nugent, (afterwards 
created Lord Biverston,) the Lord Chief Justice. He then 
applied himself to the affidrs of the Army, and gave orders 
to tlus Justin to form seven Regiments of Foot of the forces 
raised in those quarters, as also to arm the Regiment of 
Dragoons of Sir James Cotter,** (Colonel Francis Carroll's 
on this List.)t In June, 1689, he brought up from the 
Commons Qn which he was one of the Representatives of the 
County of Cork), the Bill for repealing the Act of Settlement, 
which had passed through that House, and he was thereupon 
created Lord Viscount Mountcashel and Baron of Castleinchy, 
by which title he was introduced on the second day of the 
meeting of this Parliament to the House of Peers; and 
immediately aftter was constituted Conunander of the forces 
designed to reduce Enniskillen.t Amongst the Peers on 
that occasion sat also Donogh Mac Carty (although a minor) 
by Boyal dispensation ; while, in the Commons, Charles and 
Daniel Mac Carty Beagh sat for the Borough of Bandon, 
Lieutenant-Colonel Owen Mac Carty and Daniel Fyneen 
Mac Carty for that of Cloughnakilty , and Florence Mac Carty 
was one of the Representatives of the Borough of Ennis. 

Lord Mountcashel proceeded under his aforesaid commission 
into Ulster, attended by three whole Regiments of Li&ntry, 

* Clarhe*$ James IL, vol 2, p. 327. t IdeoL 

t (/CallagharCi Brigades^ voL 1, p. 26. 



two of Dragoons, and some Horse ; b^ng sU the troops the 
King could draw together at that time. His Lordship'i efforts 
in that Provinoe were, however, firom the want of ammunition 
and the freshness of his levies, ineffective. On the 28th of 
July, 1689, M. d'Avaux enclosed in a letter to M. de Louvois* 
the following report of the state of the ^ musquets * which are 
useless, and of those which are wanting to the troops before 
Deny, and the swords, belts, and bandeliers, which thej also 
require, via. : — 













Oreagh, • « 














Bamfle7, . 







Edwaxd Batler, 







4 Companies of) 
Grace's Begt,/ 














Nugent, . 














Gonnanston^ • 







Loncht (Loath), 














BagnaD, « 







Fitzgerald, « 







Chevalier Ufson, 





















Richard Butler, 












* Negotiatiom^ ^., p. 385«.6. 


la an engagement near Enniskillen, this Colonel was sererelj 
wonnded, and, being carried into that town a prisoner, '* he 
there lay long under cure; but, before he was Ailly recovered 
of his wounds, he made his escape after a strange and wonder- 
ful manner, to the universal joy of all the Irish*^ *' The town 
of Enniskillen,'' writes Story {Impartial JERatory^ part I, p. 51) 
**• stands upon a lough, and the water came to the door of the 
house where he was confined, or very near it. He fbimd 
means to corrupt a servant, and to get two small boats called 
' cots' to carry him and his best moveables off by night/' This 
act having been represented as a breach of parol. Lord Moimt* 
eashel, previous to resmning militaiy duties in France, the new 
scene of his achievements, thought it necessary to submit him- 
self to be tried before a Court of Honour, in that countiy^ 
when he was fully acquitted by this tribunal.t 

The reader must be here reminded that, when James tha 
Second was induced to attempt a landing in Ireland, Louis 
the Fourteenth agreed to send over thither for his service mx 
thousand of his veterans, under the command of De Lausun, 

* NegctiatUm^ ffc^ p. 36u 
t When the Duke of Schonbei^ landed at Bangor in the County of 
Down, in August, 1689, his first moTement was against Carrickfergus ; to 
invest which he sent five Regiments of Foot and some Horse, following on 
the next day himself with the remainder of the Army. The town was go- 
verned by a Gotond styled Charles Macarty More, whose ganiMm consisted 
of his own Begbnoit (not enroUed on this muster), and nine companies of 
Colwiel Cormiii^ O'Neill's. He defended the place for ten days against 
Schonberg's operations by land and sea ; nor was it until reduced to the last 
extremity, having but one barrel of powder left, and without any hope of 
relief^ that he quitted the town, upon very honourable terms. ^* The gar- 
rison," says Story, in the first part of his Impartial HistoTy (p. 10), *^ were 
lusty strcmg fellows, but ill-dad^ and, to give them their due, they did not 
behave ill in that siege." 


104 KiNa JAMss's misH abht list. 

in exchange for as man j young soldiers from Ireland. Lord 
Mountcashel was appointed to head the latter. On the arriyal 
of these Irish forces in France in May, 1690, they were 
received with the most flattering and generous treatment by 
the Song. Mountcashers Regiment, haying suffered almost 
annihilation in the engagement near Enniflkillen, was strength- 
ened with fresh recruits before it could be brought out. The 
second Regiment sent out, Clare's, was commanded by the 
Honourable Daniel O'Brien, son of Lord Clare ; the third, 
Dillon's, was tmder the Honourable Arthur Dillon, second 
son of the Lord Viscount of that name. There were two other 
Re^ments sent over with these, viz., Colonel Richard Butler's 
and Colonel Robert Fielding's, which were at once incorpo- 
rated in the three first Soon after Mountcashel's arrival, he 
received a conmiission fit>m Louis, entitling him to command 
all the Irish troops taken into the French service, viz., his 
own, O'Brien's, and Dillon's ; and in a few days after was em- 
powered to. act as a Lieutenant-Genend of France, as he 
already vras of England and Ireland.* 

^^ In order at once to engage his military services, he was 
ordered to Savoy, where the French corps cCarmie was then 
too feeble for active operations. After a march of five hundred 
miles under a burning sun, to which the men were unaccus- 
tomed, it joined the French army near the capital of Savoy, 
towards the latter end of Jtdy. Lieutenant-General the Mar- 
quis of St. Ruth (destined afterwards to fiJl at Aughrim) on 
the arrival of the Irish, recognised their value, and fearlessly 
approached Chantilly. Calculating on their courage and agility 
as mountaineers, he promptly ordered their forces to join him, 
with the object of driving the Piedmontese beyond the high 

^ aCaUaghan*$ Brigades^ toI. 1, p. 60. 


Alps that separated Savoy from Piedmont. Nor did Mount- 
caahel disappoint his expectations; at the head of bis Regi- 
ment he gained the defiles, burst through the abattis, carried 
the entrenchments, and forced the Piedmontese to fly to the 
summits of the mountains. M. de Salles, their commander, 
was taken prisoner, the next in command was kiUed, and seve- 
nd others were, in the pursuit, killed or taken. Mountcashel 
received wounds on this occasion, which, though he was un» 
willing they should withdraw him from service, yet ultimately 
preyed upon him to death. During the campaign of 1691, St^ 
Buth^s corps was embodied in the French armies of Piedmont 
and Catalonia, and shared with them the honor of the capture 
of Montmelian, the strongest fortress in the south of Europe, 
and of Urgel in Catalonia, defended by a large garrison, the 
HUe of the Spanish army. Clare's mounted the trenches at 
Montmelian, and Mountcashel's and Dillon's at Urgel.* 

In 1692 MountcasheFs Brigade accomplished brilliant 
services with Catinat on the Piedmontese frontier, at Guil- 
lestre, and Embrun. Nine battalions of his were engaged in 
this service, with three of Clare's, two of the King's and 
Queen's Dismounted Dragoons, and two of the Queen's 

Infantry, t In 1694, when the French anny in Germany 

was commanded by Marshal Boufflers, Mountcashel served as 
a Lieutenant-General in the corps of the Grand Army, having 
under him his own Regiment, connsting of three Battalions, 
the Dublin, the Charlemont, and the Marines. Their nine 
Battalions, in all about 6,000 men, effected the reduction of 
Beringheim on the Necker, the only achievement of the 


* (yConoi'a MHiL Mem. p. 100, &&— See filso (yCaUaghofCi Brigades^ 
ToL 1, p. 69. &C. 

t (/Conor^a Military Memoirs, p. 215-16. 

106 Kziira jasibs's ibxsh AJtMT list. 

French in G^ennany during thifl year* In the oampaign on 
the Rhine, Mountcashel acted as Lieutenant-Crenend under 
Marshal Lorges, but the effects of his wounds obliged him to 
seek benefit from the waters of Barege, where he died in July, 
1694. He had married the Lady Arabella Wentworth, 
second daughter of Thomas, the ill-fated Earl of Stra£K>rd, by 
whom he left no issue. In 1691 he was attainted, and, again 
in 1 696, two years after hb death. In the former year seventyr 
eight other inquisitions (^ outlawries were held on this devoted 
Sept. Amongst these was one on Phelim Mac Carthy, who, 
previous to King James's arrival in Ireland, took Killowen 
House in Kerry, from a party of Williandtes, that, in the 
expectatiaaofi^tance fto^land. IumI fortified then>selve. 
there. The death of Lord Mount Cashel made room for the 
advancement of Colonel Andrew Lee, an officer of distinguished 
reputation, who afterwards obtained the rank of Lieutenant- 
Greneral, and by whose name Mountcashers Begiment was 
thenceforward known^t He died in 1734, aged 84. 

In 1770 died in England Charles Mac Carthy more^ a 
Captain in the First Foot Guards, who claimed descent £rom 
Dermot Mac Carthy, King of Cork, in the time of Henry the 
Second, as the lineal male descendant of the before-mentioned 
Florence McCarthy, by the Lady Ellen Mc Carthy, only 
daughter of the Earl of Glancajre« 


Obtelius's Map locates the ' O'Hogains * as an ancient Sept 
in Tipperary, in the vicinity of Nenagh. Of this family the 

* aCwor'M MUtarg Memoin, p. S24. f Idem, p. 228-9. 


Annals of the Diocese of Killaloe record Matthew O'Hogain 
its Bishop in 1267, Maurice 0*Hogain in 1281, Thomas 
O^Hogaan in 1343, and Richard Hogan in 1525 ; this last was 
afterwards translated to the See of Clonmacnoise, a short lime 
previous to its union with Meath. 

la 1678 Honora Hogan, grand-4aughter of Patrick Hogan, 
had a confirmatory grant of 358 acres in Clare; ashadMurtogh 

Hogan in the same year of 257 in Galway while Ensign 

Darby 'Hoggane* was one of the '1649' officers. The 
officer here on commission Was of Terraleague, County of 
Cork; while there are also on this Army List, besides him 

and Thomas Hogan, a Lieutenant in this Begiment, 

Hogan an Ensign in the Eang's Own In&ntry; Murtough 
and Hugh Hogan, Comets in Lord Clare's Dragoons; (the 
latter was of Camshan, County q£ Claire) ; and in Colonel 
Dudley Bagnall's Infantry, Daniel Hogan was a Captain, and 
William Hogan an Ensign, while yet another of the name was 
an Ensign in Colonel John Grace'Si Of these, John and Hugh 
only appear on the Boll of Attainders in 1691. Story relates* 
that '* Grace and Hogan, two Bapparee Captains, with eighty 
men surprised a castle called Camgart, within six miles of 
Birr.*' [The Hogan here named by the Williamite historian, 
appears identical with another leader, whom other narratiTes 
style ' galloping Hogan.' On the Continent, during the war 
of the Spanish Succession, the principal Lish officer in the 
service of Portugal, was Major-General Hogan, sometimes 
misspelt Bogan.] 

^ Slory^s In^xaHal HUL pt. H, p. S. 



A Caftaik William Irorie was the patentee of lands in 
Kilkenny and Wexford after the Sestoiation, and he may 
possibly have been the above officer. 


The Condons were anciently settled in the County of Cork; 
but their chief territory was, on the plantation of Munsteri 
granted to Arthur Hyde, a& forfeited by Patridc Condon, an 
adherent of the Eaxi of Desmond* The Chief, however, 
Patrick Condon, being pardoned, alleged title and impleaded 
Hyde; but, both parties having died during the suit, David, 
the son and heir of Patrick, renewed the claim against Arthur 
Hyde the younger, which, says the King*s letter in 1614, 
was at length secretly reconciled, so that Hyde acknowledged 
Condon's right to the seignory, and a surrender and re-grant 
passed in his favour, not only of those lands so theretofore 
granted to Hyde, but also of other castles and lands, with a 
reservation only of a small rent, * in consideration of the ser« 
vices performed by David's fitther, Patrick, who was cruelly 
bound and had his tlugh broken in an expedition against the 
rebeb, of which he afterwards died.' That grant, such were 
the subterfuges of the times, Condon was induced to assign 
to Hyde, with the object of better assuring his title. In 
the subsequent Attainders of 1642 no less than twenty-one 



Inqoiffltions were held on this name. Besides the above 
Captain Bichard, and Bedmond Condon an Ensign in this 

Begiment, Condon was a Captain in Colonel Purceirs 

Horse, Edmund Condon a Lieutenant in Colonel John 
Barrett's, and another Condon a Lieutenant in Lord Clan* 
carty's Infantry. The Attainders of 1691 have the names 
of John Condon of Carrioknavoura, David of Ballymacpatrick 
and John his son, Grarrett of KiUecar and Bedmond of Bally-* 
william, all in the County of Cork. Captain Bichard appears 
to have fallen in battle. His widow, Juljanne* was an un- 
successful claimant at Chichester House for a life estate in 
his Cork lands. 


This surname, though by some stated to have been intro- 
duced into Munster, only on the plantation, consequent upon 
the Desmond war, is of record in Ireland from the time of 
the Tudors. In 1432 Philip • Tirry' was, by Boyal authority, 
constituted one of the Coroners of the City of Cork. Henry 
the Seventh, in the laist year of his reign, entrusted William 
Tiny, Edmund, son of Dame Tirry, and two other citizens 
of Cork, to be receivers and collectors, as well of all customs in 
the port thereof as of the fiurm of said City, and of all the 
Sing's profits within same and its franchises, and to oversee 
and govern Cork. In 1536 Dominick Terry consented to 
be appointed Bishop of Cork and Boss, by mandate of Henry 
VIIL, and held the See in opposition to the Pope's nominee; 
while in 1616 William 'Thyrry,' on the latter authority, 
became titular Bishop thereof. In 1611 Patrick ' Tenye' 


had a grant of lands in Kenywheny, with the ismes of 
Donagall and Cullaragfaagh in the Coonty of Cork. The 
Attainders of 1642 hare only the names of Edmund Tyrry 
of Clontnric, and William, son of Dominiok Tyrry, of Bally- 
macperry, County of Cork. Those of 1691 inolnde William 
and Robert Terry of BaUingourry, George and John of 
Bathnagaide, Fnmois of Galway, and James, Patrick, and 
Stephen Thyrry of limmok. One of these sufferers was a 
Lieutenant in Lord Kilmallod^'s Infimtry, as was another in 
Colonel Owen Mac Cartie's. 


The most influential bianofa of this fkmily, O'Mally or 
OMaley, has been long established in the County of Mayo, 
in that district usually called the Owles. They are descended 
from Conall CMrbsean, one of the twenty-four sons of Brian 
(the broths of Niall of the Nine Hostages), the common 
ancestor of the families of O'Flahertie, O'Ronrke and other 
chieftains of Connaught. 

In 1250 died Thomas O'Malley, Kshop of Enagfadune 
(in Galway) ; as did his namesake also Bishop thereof in 
1328, at Rome. In 1413 Tuathal O'Maliey, having gcme 
for refuge from locsd feuds into the province of Ulstw, re- 
mained there for a year, at the end of which time he ^ set out 
for home with seven ships, about the festival of St. Columb- 
kille, but a storm overtook them off the northern coast, and 
drove them to the south of Scotland, where six of the ships 
with their crews were lost. Amongst the drowned were the 
two sons of Tuathal O'Malley; Donogh» son of Owen Con^ 


nachtach Mao Sweeney; Donai eaUaehy (bulwark) the son of 
Mac Sweeney ffirr^ together with two hundred and forty 
others; and Tuathai, with much difficulty landed in Scotland.' 
The sept was, as before suggested, more espedally located 
on the sea*coast of Mayo, whence, in 1460, Donal, son of 
Dennod O'Malley, with William and John O'MaUey, having 
gone witib their shipping al(mg with the sons of O'Brien to 
Corka-boskin (in Clare), in an ezpeditbn against Mac Mahon, 
the three O'Malleys were slain before they cotdd reach their 
ships; Dooal O'Brien was taken prisoner and Mahon O'Brien 
was drowned. About the year 1360 Sir Edmund Buike, 
albanaeh (Scottish), ancestor of the Earl of Mayo, intermarried 
with Sabina, daughter of Dermot O'Malley of the Owles.* 

In 1513 ' Owen O'Malley, with the crews of three ships, 
sailed into the harbour of Killybegs by night, at which 
time the chiefs of that country were on an esu^ursion with 
O'Donnell. The invaders plundered and bnmed the town 
and took many prisoners in it; they were, however, overtaken 
by a storm, and being compelled to remain on the borders of 
the country, they lighted fires convenient to their ships. An 
intrepid young man of the Mac Sweeneys, namely Bryan, 
accompanied by the son of Bryan Mac Anaspie O'Grallagher, 
with a number of farmers and peasants, came down upon and 
courageously attacked them. They slew Owen O'Malley, 
together with five or six score of his men, took two ships 
firom them and liberated the prisoners theif had made.^ In 
the reign of Elizabeth, Grace, daughter of Owen O'Malley, 
called by the natives Grana Uile, made her name so widely 
known, that in 1576 the Lcnrd Deputy Sidney wrote of her 
to the Council in England, as one * powerful in gallies and 

* Lodge^9 Petrage^ ▼• S^ p- ^1^* t Annak of the Fow MoMt&i^ 


seamen/ The renown of her Sept in maritime aflbirs and 
naval exploits is indicated in their heraldic motto, ^ Terra 
inarique potens' Her visit to the Court of Elizabeth and 
her canyiBgoff the infeat eon of the Lord of Howth from 
his father*s residence, have been commemorated in prose and 
poetry. Her nephew, Edmund O'Malley, bom in 1579, 
adhered to the cause of Charles the First, and died in Breda 
an Exile, leaving a son who was present when very young at 
the battle of Worcester, and accompaiiied his &ther to Breda; 
on the Bestoration he recovered a portion of his ancient, 
inheritance. He (continues Sir Bernard Burke) attended 
James the Second through all bis Irish campugns, and died 
with him in exile at St. Germains in 1692. He married at 
the Court of Spain the daughter of Sir Christopher Garvey, 
a maid of honor to the Queen, by whom he had a son Teigue 
or Thady O'Malley, who held a commission as Captain of 
Irish Dragoons during this campaign.* 

This &mily was so formidable in the estimation of the 
Lord President of Munster during the war in that Province, 
that in 1601 when *' intelligence having reached him, and 
letters being intercepted, whereby it probably appeared that 

the O'Mayleys and O'Flahertys had a purpose 

with six hundred men to invade Kerry, • . . principally 
to disturb his Government, be despatched a strong body of 
men to do good service on the rebels at thdr passage over 
the Shannon, which, of necessity, they must hazard before 
they could come into Munster ;t a service which was effec- 
tively rendered After the defeat of the Spaniards at Kinsale, 
when Sir Charles Wilmot was despatched to watdb over the 
inhabitants of Kerry, Owen O^Malley was one of the native 

* Burke^s Landed Gentry^ p. 964. f Pacata Hibemia, pp. 822*9. 


chiefe who, at the head of *' 500 foot and a few horse, vainlj 
sought at Lixnaw to stay his passage."* 

In 1611 Hugh ' O'Malie,* brother and heir of Cormac 
O'Malie, who was the son and heir of Bryan, son of Cormac 
O'Malie, had livery of his inheritance in Mayo; and, in six 
years after, Edmund O'Maly had a confirmatory grant of 
the Castle, lawn, and barbican of Cahimamart, with the 
Castle and town of Carrowmore, and sundry other lands in 
Mayo. In Lord Galway^s Regiment of Infantry, a Daniel 
Mally, described in his Attainder as of Tyrehugh, County 
of Donegal was an Ensign. With him were attainted in 
1690 Nicholas Mally of Dublin, Thady of Drogheda, mer- 
chant; Neil O'MaUey also of Tyrehugh, and Patrick, Owen, 
and Darby O'MaUey of Owles, County of Mayo. In the 
latter part of the eighteenth century, Patrick O'MaUey, of 
the Mayo Sq[>t, was killed in the Austrian service. 


Nothing has been ascertained worthy of notice concerning 
this Officer. O'Mulvany was the name of an Irish Sept, 
and Gille O'Mulvany is recorded in a RoU of James the 
Second's time, as a landed proprietor in the County of 

^ Pcuxcta Htbemidi p. 683. 



Koia JAJtsa's vusa abmt list. 




f— r-Condqu. 


Philip BfC9Mtt, 

-— Talliot. 



Alexander ICaguire. 


Walter Batler. 

Gendd Fitaegerald. 


->— Power. 


Lord Upper OMOiy. 

Garret 'TlrreO.* 

Edmond PmcelL 

Garret Deaaeb 



Edmimd Fitsgerald. 



Dottogfa M'Carty. 

Andrew Dorrinfftoo. 



-Hcgartiei C kaplmm. 

^^s^ Q^ ciJuscAwrr'a xmAs^ifrf. 11$ 


DoKQGH Mao Carty, the grandfather of thia nobleman, was 
YiflOQunt Muskerty and firsts Earl of Clancf^. He was 
Greneral of the Lish Forces of Munstei? for C^xles the First 
and Charles the Second i^gainst the Parliamentarian Bevolu- 
ticmists. When resistance wfis no longer available at home, 
he bionght off a laig^ \^j pf Ids eountrymen to the 
Continent; i)Ad, suryiving the Bestoration, died in London 
in August^ 1665. He had by his wife, the Lady Butler, 
eldest ^ter of Jame^ the first Dnke of Onnond, Charles, 
Callaghan, and Justi^ Mac Cfuiy; the eldest fell in ba.ttle 
about two months pr^Tions to his &ther*s decease, in the 
memorable sea-fight at South-hold Bay, where James, then 
Duke of York, ^t the head of ninety-eight ships of the line 
^d four fife-ships^ gained the most glorious victory that had 
eyer been obtained by t^he English marine over the naval 
power of S[ollaad- This son of Earl Ponogh was interred 
in Westoiiiister Abbey, ai^d, kU only son having died a 
minor, unmarried* the titles and estates devolved upon his 
next brother CaUaghan, who had entered upon an ecclesiastical 
life in France with the intention of becoming a driest; but, 
on the extinction of his elder brother's line, he became a 
Protestant, married Elizabeth, daughter of the sixteenth Earl 
of Kildi^, and dying in November, 1676, left issue by her 
one son, the abqye Colonel, horn about the year 1670. 

He was educated a Protestant by the Archbishop of 
Canterbury, and bred up at Oxford. At the early age of 
seven years a patent issued in his favour, confirming to him 


80,895 acres of land in Cork, to be held by him in tail male, 
remainder to the heirs male of the late Earl of Clancarthj, 
remainder in fee to the right heirs of the said late EarL 
His micle, Justin McCartj, without the knowledge of his 
mother * married him, at nxteen years old, to Maiy, daughter 
of the Earl of Sunderland, who was then a Court favourite, 
and immediately sent him to Ireland/ Smith, in his History 
of Cork (vol. 1, p. 175, n.) details some curious particulars 
respecting this nobleman*s marriage. He became a Catholic, 
and, with his unde, warmly espoused the cause of King 
James. Early in March, 1689, the townspeople of Bandon 
fell upon its small Jacobite garrison under Captain Donell 
O'Neill, seised their arms, dothes, &c., and shut the gates 
against this Earl Donogh, who was advancing with a rein- 
forcement of six companies to relieve the place. His said 
unde, however, after taking precautions against any hostile 
rising in the City of Cork and its vieinily, compelled the 
Williamites of Bandon to seek pardon, open their gates, pay 
£1,000 fine, and level their walls, which have never since 
been rebuilt; this achievement put an end to any oppoeition 
to James in Munster. On that Monarch's subsequently 
UnHing at Kinsale, the Earl of Clancarty with Tyrconnel 
recdved him; the former entertaining His Majesty, who 
''made him a Lord of the Bed-Chamber, appointed him 
Clerk of the Crown and Peace for the Province by Letters 
Patent, and created his Lifantry Be^ment a Boyal Begiment 
of Guards."* 

Li the Parliament of Dublin, May, 1689, this Earl, though 
under age, sat as a Peer by Boyal dispensation. Li 1690, 
being in the City of Cork when it was bedeged by the Earl 

* Mgmoin of Ireland^ p. 2i. 


afterwards Duke, of Marlborough, he was taken prisoner and 
sent off to the Tower of London, where he was held until 
the autumn of 1694, when he succeeded in making his escape 
to France, and there he commanded a troop of King James's 
Gruards, untal the peace of Ryswick in 1697. In the following 
year he ventured to visit England and his wife, but was 
instantly arrested, and was only pardoned on condition of 
abjuring the Kingdom; whereupon he retired to Hamburg, 
and, purchasing an Island in the Elbe near Altona, made it 
his rendence till his death.* He was attainted in 1691 and 
1696, when his forfeitures gave an immense tract of country 
to the Crown. A letter of Bartholomew Van Homrigh, 
dated 11th December, 1697, in the Southwell MSS. CoUec- 
tions, says, ^' the grant of the late Earl of Clancarty's estates 
to Lord Woodstock is this night past the Great Seal of 
Ireland, so that all the said estate is now by law in my Lord 
Woodstock (better known as Earl of Portland) and his hdrs 
for ever." t The extent of the old Irish assessments which 
his ancestors levied may be judged from a previous patent of 
King James (1608) granting to Sir Hem^y Power, Knight, 
Privy Councillor, all and singular the seigniories, chief 
rents, silver rents, customs of beeves, swine, butter, oats, 
beer, bran, honey, and all other services which belonged to 
Donald late Eari of Clancartie, and were forfeited to the 
Crown in Kerry and Desmond Counties. 

At the Court of Chichester House, the Countess of Clan- 
carty claimed off all the estate of this nobleman ' a competent 
maintenance,' and preferred other charges attaching to the 
same, but with no success. On this occasion Teigue, son of 

* aCdOaghanU Briffades, t. 1, p. 140. 
t Thorpt^M CataL SmOwOl MSS.^ p. 26. 

118 IfctKd JAMBSlS tBISH ii^HT LIST. 

Owen Mac Corty, an admrniatiratot of OWeb, son of Daniel 
Mac Carty, claimed and Was allowed a leasehold iiiteiesl 
in some of this Ea^Vs C<^k lands, as ims Charles, son of 
Donough M'Caarty, a life estate for himsdf find t^mainder in 
tail male for his issue on die same estates. Margaret Mac 
Carty was allowed a leasehold for years in oth^ pa^xsels, as 
were Maafgbret and Elizabeth Mac Carty portions of £2,000 
each thereoff^ Charles Mac Carty was allowed a r^naindei^ 
for years in other bnds of tile Earl, as was JohaaAa Mai) 
Carty^ relict and administratrix of Doaongh, son of Cormiek^ 
son of Dermod Mac Cfeuiy, fei fidmiklf remainder. Anoth^ 
Dertood Mao Carty imd Ellen his wife clakned a like interest 
off other portions — ^&aUowed; as Were didms f<»r residues of 
terms sought, on behiedf of Hden Mac Carty, by Catherine 
Mac Carty her mother and guardian; finr Denis Mac Carty, 
another minor, by his guardian; and for Teigue, Charles, 
Donogh, CallAgfaan, Daniel, And Cathenne, minots, by Thady 
0*Cal1aghan, theor guardian. Various other claims wars 
adtanoed, as attaching to this immense territory, and some few 
wers allowed.-^— The chief purchasers of these seveial estates 
from the Commissioners of the Forfeitures were Alderman 
James SVsndi, Sir Bichard Pyne, Knight, Lord Chief Justice 
of the Common Pleas; Frands Bernard, John Morison of 
Cork, John Braithwaite, M.D., Heniy Baldwin, WiUiam 
Dunscomb, William Nodder, Thomas Ware, Alderman 
Edward Hosre, Gteoige Rogers, Thomas Brockksby, William 
Spread, Danid Connor, Thomas Wallis, Catherine Harris^ 
Thomas Putland, John Aj^iU, Stephen Ludlow, and, yet 
more, the HdUow Swords Bbdes' Company. 

Li June, 1704, this EarVs Countess died at the place of his 
exile, leaving issue by him two sons, Bobert and Justin. His 
attainder was rerersed and his holionrs restored in 1721, but 

EABii or CLAKOAirrrli iKVAimr. 119 

hd nerer rettinied, and died at his island retreat in October, 
1734, aged 64. Hia aon and heir Bobert resided many years 
at BottlognMnir-mer, where he lived an Irish hospitable life— 
(see Walker'^ Bibemian Magazine for 1796, p. 12, &c.) — ^not 
however without efforts to recover some portion of his forfeited 
estates, as is disclosed hj a petition to the Irish House of 
Commons in 1739, from certain inhabitants of the Connly of 
Cork, complaining that near four score distinct and separate 
suits at law were bdng carried on against the petitioners, and 
others, proprietars of estates in said County, to their great 
vexation and expense, and the lessening of the Protestant 
interest; and praying to be released therefrom by Parliament. 
He died in 1770, aged 84, he also leaving two sons* The 
Brigade Begiment known as Clancarty*s was commanded by 
Bogar Mo ElHcott (who had been Governor of Cork when it 
was taken by the Earl of Marlborou^); Edward Scott was 
its Lieutenant-Colonel, and John Murphy its Major. [The 
head of the Mac Carthy Beagh settled in France, where he 
died at Argenton in 1761. His son Justin Mac Carthy 
established himself at Toulouse, and was in 1776 created a 
Comte.] He collected a library, second in its extent only to 
that of the King of France, comprising a very great number 
of printed and manuscript books on vellum; and on his death 
in 1812, this magnificent collection, like the estates of the 
fiimily a century previous, was scattered amongst strangers.* 
[Comte Justin, by his wife Mary-'Wmifred Tuite, daughter 
of Nidu^ Tuite, of Tuitestown, County Westmeaih, had 
issue Bobert, who succeeded him as Comte Mac Carthy Beaghu 
He was bom in 1770, left France on the Bevolution, but, at 
the Bestoration of the Bourbons in 1814, he received the grade 

* CtCMaghmCi Green Boek, p. ^81. 


of Mar^chal de Camp de Cavalerie, and was invested with 
general military orders. He died at Lyons in 1827, leaving, 
by his wife, Emelie-Marie de Bressay, a son, Justin-Marie- 
Laurent-BobertComteMacCarthyfieagh.] ^e/^O'CaUagharis 
Brigades f v. 1, pp. 325-6, where are noted other Mac Carthys 
distinguished in France, Austria, America, &c. 


Hb came over with King James firom France a Lieutenant- 
Colonel, whereby it must be presumed he had seen service 
abroad. Nothing however has been ascertained of his con- 
nexions. On the Attainders of 1691 appear the names of John 
Skelton, of Dublin, Esq., and of Maria Skelton, aliaa O'Brien, 
wife of Bevil Skelton. 


The Mac GiUa Phadruig (Fitz-Patrick), deducing his lineage 
from Heremon, was in the early period of Irish history Buler 
of Ossory, a territory extending over the whole country between 
the rivers Nore and Suir ; and the native annals are full of 
that Sept's lineage, charitable foundations, and achievements, 
the castles they erected, and the abbeys they founded and 
endowed. In 1314 Edward the Second directed his official 
letter missive to Donogh Mac Oille-Patrick, as Chief of his 
Nation, for service and aid in the war to Scotland. In two 
centuries afterwards the Chief of his Sept having some cause 


to complain to Henry the Eighth of the Earl of Ormond, hia 
Deputy in the GK)yemment, and received no redress, solemnly 
despatched a herald to the English Court, who by his order 
publicly announced to Henry that if he did not chastise the 
Ormond the Mac Gilla Phadruig would wage war against him. 
In 1541 Brian Mac Gilla Phadruig was created Baron of Upper 
Ossory, and as such sat in Parliament. He married the 
eldest daughter of tiie Earl of Ormond, and had by her 
Bamaby the Second Baron, who was the companion and 
&Yourite of Edward the Sixth. Four letters of his to that 
young King, relating interesting drcumstances connected 
with the war in France and Flanders, are preserved in the 
British Museum, as are two others from him to the Earl of 
Leicester, dated in 1578 and 1579 fix)m Dublin Castle, where, 
having incurred Queen Elizabeth's displeasure, he was confined 
a state prisoner. In the last letter he sought to obtain the 
EarVs interposition with the Queen, accompanying his petition 
with a present of ' a very fidr hawk of a tried agrea* In the 
State Papers of this reign, Florence and Greoffirey are mentioned 
as younger sons of the Earl of Ossory. The former became 
the third Baron and, having married Catherine O'More of 
Leix, he had by her five sons — 1, Thady, his successor; 2, 
John of Castletown, progenitor of the Earls of Upper Ossory ; 
3, GreofBrey of Ballyraghen ; 4, Bamaby, aliaa Brian of Water 
Castle ; and 5, Edmund. When Sir John Perrot convened 
the Conciliation Parliament of 1585, " thither went Mc Gill 
Phadruig of Ossory, namely Fingin, the son of Bryan, son of 
Fingin.* In 1608 Teigue, son of John, Mac Gilpatrick pre- 
ferred a daim for the castle town and lands of Ballygihon, with 
other lands in the Queen's County, from Florence Fitz Patrick 

* Arwtab of the Few Masters^ ad ann. 


then Baron of Upper Ofisory, by whom he alleged he had been 
deprived thereof. His daim however was dismist in Chancery, 
on the ground of bastardy, and he was left to his remedy at 
common law. In four years after, ESng James granted to 
that Baron the sites of the religious houses of Aghmacart and 
Aghaboe, with other eodiesiastioal properties in the Queen*s 
County and County Ejlkenny. In 1628 died Edmund, son 
of John Fitz Patriok, seised of sundry lands in the Queen's 
County, leaving John his hdr, then of fiill age and married; 
he died in 1680, Teigue his hdr being only five years of age. 

In 1631 Daniel iltz Patriok died seised of Gortnadea 

and other hmdsin the Queen's County,in tail male, remainder 
to Thady, late Baron of Upper Ossory and his heirs male, and, 
in defiiult of such heirs, to the right hms of said Florence. 
On the death of this Daniel, Bryan succeeded as his son and 
heir, bdng then of age and unmarried. At the Supreme 
Council of Kilkenny Bryan Fits^Patrick, Bacon of Upper 
Ossory, wis of the Temporal Peers ; while Florence Fita^ 
Patrick of Ldsdunveamey was of the Commons. Cromwell's 
Ordinance of 1652 excepted the above Florence Fit^Patrick 
and Colonel John his son from pardon for life and estate. In 
nine years after, Bryan Fitz-Patrick, the sixth Lord of Upper 
Ossory, who in the dvil war of 1641 had taken the port of 
Boyalty, and been consequently indicted by the usurping 
powers, claimed his seat, and was allowed same when by a 
a vote of the House of Commons it was resolved that their 
whole body should accompany him to the Peers, which was 
done accordingly. He afterwards petitioned to be restored 
to 8,000 acres of his estates, as did Ccdonel John of Castle^ 
town, for better security to his property; and subsequent 
patents of Charles the Second reserved special rights of the 
Earl of Ossory therein.— -As the honours of this fiimily are 

in abejBtiee, attd thid desoeat of many of itd linee obficore, it 
may be here menlaoaed that in 1674, 28th January, 'was buried 
in the old graveyaid of the Cath^^oaristoeAoy at St. Jamee's, 
Dublin, Dr. ^nukdy Fitz-Patrick, eon to TeigUe C%e Fitz- 
patriok of AUpe, ton to Dermot of Ballyrellin, son to Teigue 
Oge Mao Teigoe o£ Munnidrohid. This Dr. Thady married 
Julian, daughter of Pierce Martin of Galimy, m^^chant, son 
of Walter Martin; and had issue by h^ divers children, of 
whom ^ survive ' three sons, Beitriok, John^ and James, and 
two daughters, Christian and Axme, as is testified, in a Funeral 
Entry in Bermingham Tower, by Julian Martin, the widow 

widow had agrant of 411 acres in Clare foit her life, remainder 
to her aon Dermot Gidlopatridk for evor. 

The Captain on this Begiment was Bryan Fitscpatrick, the 
seveutii Banm of Uppcar Ossory> whose exploits at Mens are 
Mfy detailed in Harris's Life of WiUiam the TTUrcL* Hehad 
a pension of £100 per annum firom Charles the Second, which 
was on the Ist of January, 1687, continued to him by Eling 
James. He sat in the Parliament of Dublin, was attainted in 
1691, and died in 1698. He had been married three times, 
but left no issue by any of his wives. In the Act '* to hinder 
the reversal of several Outlawries and Attainders,'* passed in 
the sixth year of WiUiam the Third, it was provided that the 
same should not extend to confirm the outlawries of the late 
Earl of Upper Ossory, but the same might be capable of bdng 
reversed, in such manner as iFthat Act had never been made. 
On his decease his nephew assumed the title, but it wasdetued 
to him at law, and this ancient Barony has been considered 
thence extinct. At Chicdiester House, the Lady Dorothy, 

* See its Index, TMn 'Oisovy ' and ^Mons.' 


the Earrs third wife, claimed, as Baroness Dowager of Upper 
Ossory, a long term for years in the Queen^s County estates, 

forfeited by her lord's attainder. ^Of the name there appear 

also on this ' Army List/ Fitz Patrick, the Surgeon on 

Lord Abercom's Horse ; another Fitz Patrick, Captain in Sir 
Maurice Eustace's Be^ment of Infantry ; a third, Captwi in 
Colonel Edmund O'Reilly's ; also John Fitzpatrick a Captain, 
and Darby Fitzpatrick a Lieutenant, in Colonel Edward But- 
ler's; this Captwi John afterwards became a Major, and was 
taken prisoner in the service. He was described in his 
attwider as ' of Kilkenny,' while Lieutenant Darby was styled 
of Clooneen, Queen's County. A Thady Fitzpatrick, probably 
a relative of the above Dr. Thady, was in 1689 Deputy 
Lieutenant of the Queen's County, and one of the Represen- 
tatives for Maryborough in the Parliament of Dublin. He 
too was attainted in 1691, but afterwards obtained a pardon 
under the Great Seal. 

Besides those before mentioned, there were also attainted in 
1691 Terence Fitzpatrick of Kilbredelegg, Bryan of Money- 
driluch and Killdeley, Redmond of Ealmanbought, Charles of 
Bamyballeragh, and Florence of Clonaghill, all in their native 
County (the Queen's) ; while Dermott Fitzpatrick was a for- 
feiting proprietor in the County of Clare. At the siege of 
Deny a Lieutenant Fitzpatrick was killed '^in the orchard on 
the other ode of the walls."* On the first of May, 1691, 
*' Major Wood, having notice that the rapparees were in great 
force about Brittas in the Queen's County, went out with 300 
of my Lord Greorge Hamilton's and Colonel Lloyd's Foot and 
fifty of Colonel Byerly's Horse, with which he first killed nigh 
seventy Bapparees, and, leaving part of his men to secure 

* Walker's l^ege of Derry, ^, 61. 


passes, he went three miles further beyond a place called the 
Togher of Malahone, having with him 110 Foot and 30 Horse ; 
but, instead of the rapparees whom only he expected, he espied 
two bodies of the Irish army said to be near eight hundred in 
number. These he encountered, and after several charges at 
different places put them to the rout, killing one hundred and 
fifty on the place, amongst whom was one Captain Sheales ; 
and he took Major John Fitzpatrick (before alluded to) pri- 
soner, who conunanded the party, and seventeen officers more, 
with fflx sergeants, sixteen corporals, two drummers, and also 
eighty privates.*** In 1693, at the battle of Landon, a Colonel 
Fitzpatrick was wounded ;t and in 1696, Brigadier-General 
Edward Fitzpatrick was drowned in the Holyhead packet 
with several other officers. The vessel was cast away by a 
violent storm near Sutton, on the Dublin coast. He was the 
eld^r brother of Richard first Lord Gowran, the son of which 
latter nobleman was afterwards, in 1751, created Earl of Upper 


This, the first earl, marrying Lady Evelyn Leveson Gower, 
had issue by her two sons, John, the eldest, was bom in 1745, 
succeeded his fiither in the title in 1750, and died in 1818. 
He is said to have much regretted his own and his immediate 
ancestors* absentedsm, and, as in his own words, lamenting 
that ' he had not done much for Ireland;* he determined to 
settle his property there in a manner that would benefit a re- 
sident proprietary. As an effective movement towards this 
object, when last in this country, he projected the erection at 
Castietown, near the site of the old baronial residence, of a 
noble mansion, corresponding with the lordly attitude of those 

* Story*8 ImparUal History^ part 11., p. 78. f Rctwdon Papers^ p. 379. 

t Lodges Peerage^ edited by Ardbdall, voL 2, p. 846. 

126 Kim James's ibish abut U6t. 

who had for oenturiea ruled over the surrpiuidiiig ooimtry; 
but his death occorring soon after defeated thia meritorious 
design. By his will his younger children were left under the 
guardianship of Lord Holland, while his bobs the present 
!^ight Honourable John Wilson Fitzpatrick, and the late 
JUchard Fitzpatrick) held commissions, the former i^i the 85th 
Light Infantry and the latter in the Orenadier Guards. John 
Wilsqn Fitzpatrick may thus now be considered the represen- 
tative o{ this yezy aneie^^ and historic aept, and hi^ character 
thrpugh life evinces him worthy of that distinction. He is a 
Pr^vy Councillor and Lord Lieutenant of that County, which 
^jvas the impiemorial heritage of his name; he had also repre- 
sented it in Parliament for fourteen yeafs, and has devoted 
his latter life and his resouroes, as the late Earl wiahed, 
to ih€| improvement of his estates and the a4vanceinent ^^d 
comfort of his tenantry. To promote these (]tl:{jeot8 he has, 
through the experience of his able agent| John Bobinson 
Price, Esq., appropriated the most liberal disbursements annu- 
aUy for the last twenty yean on their holdings, their bouses, 
an4 ^^^ fam-buildings. Miles of roads, drains, fenc^, and 
pl|uatations have entirely changed the character of that portion 
odoA estates, in the Queen's County bordering on Tipperary, 
in which vicinity, Li^duff, the prqjected future family residence, 
(Grantstown manor being their present), abready evinces, by 
its commanding aspect, extent, high cultivation, judicious and 
ifaried groupings of timber, the m^mifieence and taste of the 

Of the vast patrimonial possessions of the Fitzpatricks, after 
all the spoliation and vicissitudes to which property in Ireland 
has been subjected, some 21,000 acres of the best parts of 
Qssory yet remain to their existing representative. His noble 
&ther was much relied upon by the great whig party in Eng- 

£Aiil< OF QLAyqA^rr'fii p^faktst. 1?7 

bpd for itiA d$pth, xpgden^tiop, «n4 smpijIfieaB of bis ^iewss 
wliUe hia mcki9 Qwerpl Siohai4 Fitzpatriolc, whp wiib Chief 
Secretary of Ireland iinmediately before the memorable Pe^la- 
ration of Ireland^s Independence in 1782, hj his judgment, 
patriotism, and identity of views with his friend and kinsman, 
the illustrious James Charles Fox, contributed very essentially 
to the &vourable issue of tiie political ev^its of that period in 

Mr. Fitzpatrick*s own opinions and public principles have 
been modelled by those of the purest and most distinguished 
statesmen of the day, and in his public life he has been much 
guided by the conduct and example of the Marquess of Lans- 
downe, whose &ther, the first Marquess, had mfuried, in 177p, 
the Lady Louisa Fitzpatrick, sister of John the last Earl of 
Upper Ossory. Lady Mary her sister }ifui previously become 
the wife of the second Lord Holland, thus linking the fiunily 
under consideration witii Holland House and its long revered 
celebrities. The only surviving sister of Mr. John Wilson 
Fitzpatrick, Emma Mary, became the wife of Mr. Vernon 
Sinitii, late Freddent of the India Board, and who, during 
the ministry of Lord Palmerston, was raised to tiie Peerage 
by the titie of Lord Lyveden. Mr. Fitzpatrick himself married 
Augusta, daughter of the Bey. Archibald Douglas of the 
Queensberry fiunily, who, by her mother, Lady Susan Murray, 
is grand-daughter of John, fourth Earl of Dunmore ; a fiunily 
that by its own lineage, as well as by affinity with those of 
Athol and Gralloway , blends the noblest blood of England and 
Scotiand, descending not only firom their Koyal Houses, but 
also from the Kings of France. By this lady Mr. Fitzpatrick 
has ^^ acgomplidied fiunily of ^^ughtefs, with only one sop 
surviving, g( very tender yeqrs bi|t most aqsp^cious promise. 
This S^TQSurd Fitfgpf^trick, ^r of the house, lu^ styled in |us 

128 Kma jahes*8 ibish abict list. 

fiunily * Mac GrioUa Phadniig oge^ even in hia boyhood ex- 
hibits, with rare fidelity, his Other's devotion to his ooimtiy, 
and to all the kind relations of his home. 


In 1628 died James Dease of Turbotstown, in the County 
Westmeath, leaving Richard his son and heir, then aged 
twenty-five and married; hs had issue four daughters. Ensign 
Grarret was of this house, where the fiunily still exists. He 
was attainted in 1691, as were Thomas, son of Laurence 
Dease of Morterstown, with Richard and Edward Dease of 
Glanidan, in the same County, who were officers in the 
infimtry regiment of Colonel Richard Nugent. 


This surname is of record in Ireland from the time of the 
Tudors ; and a Quarter-master, Robert Hall, appears in the 
Adjudications on the clidms of the officers, who had sought to 
uphold the cause of Royalty there until the execution of Eling 
Charles. No * Hall,' however, appears on the Attainders of 
1642 or 1691. 


Thbbe individuals of this name, Colonel John, Captain Isaac, 
and Sampson Daniel are recorded on the aforesaid Adjudica- 
tions on claims of the ' 1649 ' officers. Anthony and Dudley 


Daniel, with James, son of Walter Daniel, all described as of 
the County Wicklow, were attainted in 1642 ; while those 
outlawed in 1691 were James Daniel of Kells and David 
Daniel of the Qneen^s County. The name is of record in Ire- 
land from the time of Bichard the Second, 


John Quigley, described as of Carlow, appears to have been 
the officer here in commission; he was outlawed at Leighlin 
in April, 1691. 


This surname is absent &om the Attainders of 1691, as well 
as from those of 1642 ; but a Lieutenant John Charleton ob- 
tained remimeration in 1666, as one of the officers who had 
sought to maintain the cause of Royalty against the Usurping 
Powers, and the name is otherwise known on Irish record firom 
the time of Edward the Second. 



KINO James's ibish abut list. 






Paul Daly. 

Jtmes Bonrk, 

Bdward Haddan, 

Biohard de Bvgo, 

David Dowde. 


/Andrew Lynch. 
\Michael Madden. 


Charles Daly. 

Teigne (^KeUy. 

Biyan KeOy. 

John Bonrke. 

* Lnk' Talbot 

Wiltiam Kelly. 

Sir Ulick Bonrkt. 


Patrick Bermingham. 

Jamet Talbot 

John FfrendL 

Edward Bonrke. 

Hugh Daly. 

William Kelly. 

Henry Crofton. 

Thady Daly, 

John Bourck. 

John Stophenaon. 

Michael Kadden. 

CUck <Bouik.' 

John Bermingham. 

John Bonik. 

AnguBtin Bodkin. 

William Bermingham. 

John TftlhAtt. 

Biyan *Maghan.* 

TTIipk Rmn^'A. 

Edmund D'An^. 


vfUvK Dv%»xmn» 

Fitz Maurice. 






— Dowde. 

Rer. Burke, Cht^Mn, 

Nowlan, iSuvyeofi. 

<f^'f/fjCf7f»citi / £3/, . 

rf {^rt f t 1 < r^ mi * r- 



i * 

*, • 

/ ^ J • 



The first of thia i&oble ffMnUy, who GWie to Ireland, wgs 
William Fitfs Adelm de Burgo, who married Isabella, 
daughter of JUchard the Second, King of Englapdi an4 
widow of the celebrated Llewellyn, Prince of Wales. He 
was sent by Henry the Second with Hugh de liacie into 
Ireland to recdve the submission of Jloderic O'Conor, King 
of Connaught, and of O^Melpighlin, King of Meath, at which 
time he was made Governor of Wexford, and * ^itrusted, after 
King Henry> visit to the country, lirith the management of 
affiiks in Ireland/ * He founded with pious policy the great 
monastery of St. Thomas k BeoJcet in Dublin* obtained in 
1179a grant of a great portion of Connaugfat, and died in 1204, 
His son, Bichaxd de Burgh, the giie^t Lord of Connaught, 
Viceroy of Ireland in 1227, built a Castle at Galtray in 1232 
and at Loughrea in 1236, and died in 1243, wh^i on bis 
passage to France, 'attended by bis Barons and Knights,* 
to meet the King of England at Bourdeaux. He had two 
sons, Walter, Lord of Connaught, who manying Maud, 
daughter and heiress of Hugh De Lftcie the younger, became 
in her right Earl ot Ulster on the deftth of his &ther-in-law, 
mid who left by his said wife, Bichard, the second Earl of 
Ulster, commonly known aa the Bed Earl. His great 
grand*daaghter, the Lady Elizabeth De Burgh, only child 
and heiress of William, third Earl of Ulster, married lionel, 
Duke of Clarence, son of Edward the Third ; from which union 

* Sir Bvnopd Bwkit Pseroffe^ * CUmrkaarie*^ 



most of the Crowned Heads of Europe have descended ; those 
of England, Scotland, Denmark, France, Bohemia, Sardinia, 
Spain, Prussia, Saxony, Bavaria, Hungary, &c., as all laid 
down on authorities and in tables by Doctor Burke Byan of 
London, with a kind hope that it might suit the present 
work; but the record was not found adequately to interest 
the present generation of the Burkes. The leading members 
of the fionily and name, Peers and Baronets, received early 
intimation of the scope of these Ulustratiansj and of their 
national objects; yet none submitted their manuscript aid or 
contributed to that indemnity Fund, which could alone justify 
the compiler in giving the limited edition of such ' monster* 
volumes at a price far under first cost. The present Marquess 
of Clanricarde (whose lineal progenitor commanded the 
Regiment here under consideration, and whose collateral 
ancestry crowded the army of James, holding conunissions 
in thirty of his Irish Regiments), when, in 1854, this then 
projected work was first announced to his Lordship, was 
pleased briefly to reply, *• I confess I do not see any especial 
utility in a republication of the Lish Army List of 1689-90, 
and I must, therefore, decline to subscribe to the production 
of such a work.' Other Peers, Baronets, and Chiefs of the 
name were equally reluctant to advance the undertaking, 
with the single exception of Sir Bernard Burke, the present 
Ulster King of Arms, whose name, however, amongst the 
supporters was a host. The introduction of Dr. Burke 
Ryan's valuable Tables was therefore then and since with 
regret abandoned; while the circulation of the first edition 
and the character it has received, have rather verified the 
author's hopes than the Marquess's misgivings. 

William, the second son of Richard the Lord of Connaught, 
derived large estates (beyond those in Connaught and Ulster) 


in Tipperary, where according to his namesake de Burgo, 
the historian of the Dominican order, the name was then still 
widely extended ; although, a few years previous to the time 
of that laborious writer, a large portion of the estates of the 
Tipperary Bourkes was granted to Sir Oliver Lambert, 
£jiight and Privy Councillor. 

An Annal of the Four Masters, in 1440, seems to suggest 
an adoption of the custom of Tamstry by this &mily; 'Mac 
William Burke, namely, Walter, the son of Thomas, son of 
Sir Edmund, cUbanach^ lord of the English of Connaught and 
of many of the Irish, died of the plague, a week before the 
festival of the cross in harvest, when Edmund Burke, his 
brother, was nominated the Mac William in succession/ In 
1543 Ulick de Burgh was created by Henry the Eighth 
Baron of Dunkellin and Earl of Clanricarde, and he dying 
was succeeded by Richard, the second Earl, who, when Lord 
Lieutenant of Ireland in 1553, overthrew the Scots on the 
banks of the Moy. He married Margaret, daughter of 
Murrough, Earl of Thomond, and died in 1582. * Of him, 
though somewhat varying in their deduction of his lineage, 
the Four Masters have an interesting commemoration at that 
year. ' Bickard Sassanach, the son of Ulick of the Heads,' 
son of Bickard, son of Ulick of Knocktoe, son of Ulick 
Meadhanachf son of Ulick ' of the wine,* who had been taken 
prisoner, by the Lord Justice, Sii* Henry Sydney, in the year 
1576, and had been confined, for a year after his capture, 
in Dublin and subsequently in London, was seized in the 
summer of this year with a lingering consumptive disease ; 
and his physicians informed him that he was more likely to 
die than to recover from the sickness, and, if he had any 

* Burked Peerage^ * Ckmrkarde,* 

Wk!J9L..J -79^R^^iBHinH^MaB9H^^MVVr ''^ 


chance of recovering his health, it would be by visiting his 
native place and living in the air of his own country; the 
Earl was therefore allowed to return to Ireland by the 
Sovereign and Coundl, and a pardon was gnuited to him 
for his sons, and foigiveness for all the depredations they had 
hitherto committed. He first landed in Dnblin» then pro- 
ceeded to Athlone, and thence to the town of Galway, where 
he was welcomed with great gladness; he remained there to 
recover himself; and his friends and relations firom among 
the English and Irish, came to visit him. When, however, 
he wished to go to vimt his people, his territory, and his sons, 
his malady and sickness increased, of which he finally died 
in August. His oluiche caainteath (Irish cry, &c.) was 
performed by his merchant fHends in that town, and his 
corpse was conveyed with due solemnity to be interred in the 
town of Loughrea/ 

When King James issued his mandate in 1613 for sum* 
moning certain individuals to the Irish House of Peers, His 
Majesty's letter forbade that any writ should issue for the 
Lord Burk, of Castle Coimell, until the determination of a 
claim to that dignity made by his elder brother's son, then a 
minor* Richard, the grandson of the second Earl, and who 
himself became the fourth, was sumamed ^of Kinmle^ from 
the valour he displayed at that memorable place. He was, 
in 1624, created an English Baron and Viscount, and, in 
1628, advanced to the Earldom of St. Alban's. He married 
a lady who had been the widow of Sir Philip Sydney, and 
subsequently of Queen Elizabeth's unfortunate favourite, the 
Earl of Essex, and he died in 1635, leaving Ulick, his only 
son, afterwards advanced to the Marquisate of Clanricarde, 
whose published Memoirs and Letters sadly illustrate the pro- 
gress of Cromwell's usurpation in Ireland. 


The Attainden of 1642 give but one of this name, John 
Bonrke, described as ' of Dublin/ At the Supreme Council 
of 1646, John ' Burke/ Bishop of Clonfert, was of the Spiritual 
Peers ; William Burke, Baron of Castleconnell, of the Tem- 
poral ; and of the Conunons were John Burke of Castlecaroe, 
Richard of Drumrusk, William of Pollardstown, Bichard of 
Shellewly, Theobald of Buolyburk, and Ulick Burke of Glinsk. 
CromwelTs Act ' for settling Ireland ' excepted from pardon 
for life and estate Miles * Bourk,' Viscount Mayo, Sir Theo- 
bald Bourk his son; Edmund of Cloghan, County of Mayo: 
Thomas of Anbally, and Redmond of Kiloomin, both in the 
County of GUway. The Royal declaration of thanks, as for 
servioes beyond the seas, includes the names of the Earl of 
Clanrioarde ; David Bourk of Bamaolahie, County of Tip- 
perary; Sir Ulick Bourk, Knight and Baronet, of Glinsk; 
Lieutenant William Bourice of Turlough, County of Mayo ; 
and Captain William Mac Redmond Bourke. 

In 1667 liientenant John Bourke had a confirmatory grant 
of 2,338 acres in Sligo, as had Nicholas Bourke of 4,039 in 
Limerick; Sir Ulick Burke, in 1678, for 4,222 in Galway; 
Robert ^ Burgh ' for 2,447 in Monaghan ; Ulysses Burgh for 
187 in limerick and 176 in the Eang's County; and John 
Burke for 4,325 in Galway. In 1679 Thomas Burke passed 
patent for 795 acres in the last-named County, with 22 in 
Clare ; as did Miles, Lord Viscount Burke, brother and heir 
to Theobald, late Lord Viscount Mayo, in 1680 for 54,047 
acres, all in IVhyo; and Richard Burke in the same year for 
DerrymacUaghney and other lands, 1,943 acres, in Gralway; 
while Ulick Bourke had in 1681 a grant of 861 acres in the 

same County. ^In King James's Charters John Burke was 

one of the burgesses in that to Kilmallock, as was William 
Burke in that to Tuam, Francis Burke in one to Cavan, Sir 


Ulick in another to Athlone ; William Bonrke and Thomas, 
son of Redmond Bourke, were burgesses in one to Atheniy, 
as were Walter, Thomas, Edmund, Myles, and David Bourke 
in that to Castlebar. Sir Oliver Bourke, Baronet, was of the 
Aldermen in that of Limerick, and John Bourke was Provost 
in the Charter to Roscommon. 

In the Parliament of 1689 sat among the Peers this Earl of 
Clanricarde, the Viscount Mayo, the Lord Castleconnell, Lord 
Bophin, and Lord Brittas. The father of this latter nobleman, 
the Honourable William Bourke, served in the Royalist cause 
during the civil war of 1641, and by Cromwell's order was 
executed at Cork in 1653. His son, the Lord here spoken of 
served as above, a Colonel in King James's army. He married 
the Lady Honora, daughter of Morrough, the first Eari of 
Lichiquin, by whom he left a son, disinherited by his attainder. 
This son, who resided at St. Germains, not acknowledging a 
revolutionary atUdnder, retained the title of Lord Brittas, and 
died in France, leaving issue by his wife, Catherine, daughter 
of Colonel Gordon O'Neill, two sons; John, styled Lord 
Brittas, a Captain in the French service ; and Thomas, a 

Lieutenant-General in the Sardinian.* In the Commons 

sat Sir Ulick Bourke, one of the Representatives for Gralway ; 
John of Carricknihill, one for Askeaton ; Walter, one for the 
County of Mayo; Thomas for Castlebar; William Bourke of 
Carrowford for the Borough of Tuam; and John Bourke for 
the County of Roscommon. Besides this, the Earl of Clan- 
ricarde's Regiment, Walter Bourke was Colonel of a second 
Re^ment of Lifantry, Patrick of a third, and Michael of a 
fourth ; while the name appears commissioned in twenty-nine 
other Regiments on this List. 

* Burke's Extinct Peerage. 



At the siege of Derry in 1689, a Lieutenant Burke was 
killed on the occasion of the attack, by the windmill.* In the 
following year, William Bourke of the Mayo line, who had 
been appointed Governor of the Castle of Change in the 
County of Sligo, was ordered by King James to defend it ; 
when, being vigorously besieged and disappointed of promised 
succours, at the moment that the besiegers were about to enter 
the breach he blew up the Castle, and with many of his enemies 
was buried in the ruins. On the 7th of June, 1691, Baron de 
Ginkell appeared b^ore Ballymore on the line to Athlone, and 
summoned the Irish Governor, Sir Ulick Burke, to surrender. 
" The garrison consisted of 800 men, the ^ite of the Irish, 
being picked men from all the Regiments. In the space of 
twenty-four hours, six batteries crumbled all the works to the 
south, and the appearance of a flotilla on the lake induced a 
surrender. Burke, the Governor,'' adds O'Conor, ^' is charged 
with treachery and cowardice in King James's Memoir; it 
would appear rather that vanity induced the defence, and 
incapacity the surrender.^t but it appears that the Governor 
had no greater artillery in the place than ' two small Turkish 
pieces mounted upon old cart wheels;} and the Irish En- 
gineer, Lieutenant-Colonel Burton, had been slain. 

Colonel David Burke was killed at Aughrim with another 
Ulick Burke, who had been for a time Governor of Galway ;§ 
while a Colonel Neill Burke, his Lieutenant, with Colonel 
Walter Burke and Lord Bophin, were taken prisoners. On 
the 2nd of September, 1691, writes Story, ^'Brigadier Levison, 
learning where Lord Merrion's and Lord Brittas's Begiments 
lay, marched as privately as he could that way ; and about one 

♦ Walker'9 Siege of Derry, p. 61. f (yGonnoT'e MUa. Mem., p. 185. 

t Story's Impartkil HisL pt. IL, p. 87. § Clarke's James II., v. 2, p. 459. 


o'clock in the morning he fell in with them, killing seretal and 
dispersing the rest, Lord Merrion himself (Th<«uaB Fitz- 
William) escaping nanrowly. Then he divided his party to 
pursue their broken troops, but they knowing that country, 
made, most of them, a shift to escape/** 

The Colonel of this Begiment was a Privy Councillor, 
and was appointed Governor of Gralway by King James; 
which, having been besieged by Be Ginkell fourteen days 
after the battle of Aughrim, he was compelled to surrender, f 
O'Conor, in his Military Memoirs (voL 1, p. 161) denounces 
this surrender as a treacherous compromise^ "Lord Clan- 
ricarde,"* writes that historian, '* inherited neither the courage 
nor the loyalty of his ancestor, the great Earl of St. Albans; 
he compounded his honour for personal security, and, quitting 
the service of James, remained at Oalway, though by the 
capitulation he was at liberty to march to Limerick." The 
Outlawries of 1591 include this Earl by two Inquisitions 
with William, Baron of Castleconnell, and Ulick, Lord 
"Yiscount Gralway, Lord Brittas, and John his son; eighteen 
Burkes or Bourkes in Mayo; "John Burke of Ower, and 
fifteen others in Galway ; six in Limerick, five in Boscommon, 
two in Dublin and Wexford respectively, and one in each of 
the Counties of Sligo, Cavan, and the Queen's. Jn 1696 
the name of the Lady Honora Burke, alicu Sarsfield, and then 
Duchess of Berwick bef(»:e alluded to was entered in the 
Outlawries. Sir Ulick the Baronet was also attainted, but 
adjudged within the benefit of the Articles of Limerick. 

Although flourishing in an age subsequent to the events of 
this war, the name of The Bight Bev. Dr. Thomas Burke, 
better known as De Burgo, Bishop of Ossory, must not be 
^^-^"~^~"^"^^^^^"^*~-"^"~"""^~"^^— ^^■^■""^^■^■~^^^"^— ^'-■^^^■^^~"~"^~"— ^— ^— ^^i— i—^i^—i— ^^^^-^— ^^^-^>ii»— i^*— 

* Impartial History^ pt 11., p. 204. f ClarkeU James //., voL 2, p. 459. 


overlooked in this illastmtion of the name. He was bom in 
1705, and earlj deroted to the monastic life as a Dominican; 
he was a learned and excellent divine, and author of several 
valuable works connected with his country and with the order 
in which he was affiliated. His Hibemia Dominicana is in- 
deed a standard work showing great research and accurate 
chronology. He was in habits of fiiendly intercourse with 
Pope Benedict the XIII. ; was promoted to the above See by 
Cleinent the XIII., and assisted at the coronation of ((janga- 
nelli) Clement the XIV., by whom he was appointed to 
manage a negotiation at the Court of Lisbon between His 
Holiness and the King of Portugal, touching some difference 
in regard to the Jesuits t Dr. Burke succeeded in the object 
of his mission, and returning to Lneland, he died at Kilkenny 
in 1776. In the Hibemia Dominicana^ as before noted, he 
speaks of many Burkes as existing in his time in the neigh- 
bouring County of Tipperary, and amongst these, within foi6r 
miles of the Bishop's reradence, was his friend John Burke of 
Idsnalea, whose gpreat^gnmdson, William Burke Ryan, MJ)., 
of Bayswater, London, was above alluded to as having com- 
piled from his researches, the beforementioned valuable but 
unprinted Table of Royal Descents from the Lady Elizabeth 
de Burgo. Dr. Burke Byan is frtrther connected with this 
illustrious surname by his great^grandmother, Johanna, 
daughter of Walter Bourke of Clomanty, and represents, 
through his mother, a bmnch of the fiunily in which the dis^ 
tinotive christian name of Bickaid has been transmitted to the 
present period; his mother's imcle having been tiie B«v. 
Bickard Burke, so long the venexated pastor of Upperwood, 
Queen's County ; while his brother, a Bickard, died in infancy, 
and her first cousin, son of William Burke of Callan, was also 
named Bickard. 


Another branch of this noble &mily, springing from the 
Burkes of Meelick is traced in the Landed Gentry to its pre- 
sent talented representatives, 1, Peter Burke, an eminent 
member of the EngUsh Bar, author of the Life of Edmund 
Burke, <&c., and 2, Sir John Bernard Burke, Ulster King 
of Arms, distinguished not less by his official ability and 
courtesy, than by his many able compilations of Genealogies of 
Peers, Baronets, and Commoners ; his work of General Ar* 
mari/y his beautifully iUustrated volumes of Family SeatSj his 
striking revelations of Romances of History ^ <&c., &c. 


Th£ Sept of the O'Maddens were chiefs of what is now 
styled the Barony of Longford in the County of Gralway, 
with a portion of the parish of Lusmagh in the King's 
County, on the opposite side of the Shannon; this whole 
territory being in the Chronicles of the country called 
' Silanchia.' The Annals of Ulster record the death of 
Matodhan, Lord of Silanchia, in the year 1008, who seems 
to have given their distinctive name to his descendants. Li 
1059 Melaghlin O'Madden was the leader of a military 
expedition recorded by the Four Masters. The same 
Chronicle mentions the death of Matodhan O'Madden, chief 
of Silanchia, in 1096 ; and subsequently ^ves various other 
annals of this family. 

So early as in 1308 Aulaffe ' 0*Madathan' appears on Lish 
record, a landed proprietor. In ten years after, at the instance 
of Bichard de Burgo, Earl of Ulster, the King granted the 
liberty of using English law to Eugene (Owen) O'Madedan, 


to Alan and Malachy liis brothers, and to John O'Madedan 
his nephew, they being * Irish of the said Earl.' In 1371 
Murrogh, son of Owen O'Madden, was slain at the rere of a 
foraging party in Ormond by the cast of a javelin. In 1434 
by reason that Thomas Oge ' O'Madyane' and his ancestors 
from the conquest of Ireland were governed by the English 
laws and dwelt in the City and County of Waterford, amongst 
the King's lieges, therefore the King confirmed that freedom 
to them and their heirs thenceforth. In 1479 the monastery 
of Meelick, in the County of Gralway, was founded by the 
O'Madden on the banks of the Shannon for Franciscan Friars ; 
and this was appointed to be the &mily burial place. 

In 1540 the Lord Deputy was instructed to confirm 
treaties between the Eang and Melaghlin O'Madden and Hugh 
O'Madden, Chiefe of their country.* In 1567, on the submis- 
sion of Donald O'Madden, who prayed ^^ to be recognised in 
the Captaincy of his Sept, (with the county of Longford and 
' Silankey' commonly called O'Madden's country, whereof 
Hugh Mac Melaghlin ballagh O'Madden, deceased, was the 
late Captain) his petition was granted, on the condition of said 
Donald paying to the Lord Deputy at MuUingar, for a fine, 
eighty &t heifer8.'t When, in eighteen years after, Sir John 
Perrot assembled the Condliation Parliament in Dublin, 
"thither went O'Madden, Lord of Siol-Amcha, namely 
Donald, the son of John, son of Breasal," i,e. the same Donald 
of 1567. The O'Maddens were, however, soon after impli* 
cated in such resistance to the government, as led to deaths and 
confiscations of many of the name ; and in 1606 John King 
of Dublin, had a grant of the estates of various O'Maddens 

♦ State Papers^ temp. Henry VIII., pt IIL contiiiaed, p. 171. 

t BoU Elk. in Chancery, 


in the County of Galway and the King's County, * slain 
in rebellion;' as had also Sir John Davis, the Attorney- 
General of the day, of others described as the estate of Bresail 
O'Madden of the County of Clare, ^ slain in rebellion.' In 
that year, however, Andrew O'Madden had livery of certain 
estates in the old Barony of Longford, as son of said Donald. 
In 1612 Donald O'Madden, then the Captun, settled on trus- 
tees his Manor and Castle of Longfort, and all his other 
estates in that part of the County of Oalway, to hold to the 
use of Ambrose O'Madden his son and heir in tail male ; with 
remainder to his other sons Malachy and Donell, and their 
respective heirs male ; remainder to Brssil O'Madden, son 
of Hugh, one of the sons of Donell, in tail male; remainder to 
the heirs of Ambrose O'Madden in fee.* A Manuscript Book 
of Obits in Trinity CoU^e, Dublin (F, IV., 18), contains 
links of the pedigree of the O'Maddens of Baggotrath, near 
Dublin, through six generations of the 16th and 17th centuries, 
also some links of those of Donore, County of Dublin ; and 
the graveyard of the old firiary of Meelick, in their andent 
barony, yet exhibits many monuments of their ancestry 
during those centuries ; while Dr. O'Donovan, in his Tribes 
of Hy-MavM (p. 129, &c.), affords very full particulars of the 
O'Madden lineage. 

In 1662 John Eyre, a member of the Irish Parliament, 
complained to the House against Fergus Madden, who, by his 
servants,' Laughlin reajgh Madden, and Rory Madden, with 
others, came to the bam and haggard on the lands of Bally- 
hugh, where tiie petitioner's servants were threshing his com, 
and turned them out and took possession ; and he also oom- 
phdned against others who had seized his cattle on the lands 

* PotoA RoR Janm L 



of Ejllalinagh and Ejlneshane, tn iJie Barony ofLangford^ and 
still detained same ; the Sheriff of Galway was thereupon 
ordered to quiet Eyre's possession, end the offenders were 
summoned to attend the House. In 1677, however, this 
Fergns Madden had a confirmatory grant of 1783 acres in the 
aforesaid Barony of Longford, ^ the andent inheritance of his 
fiunily;' as had John Madden, great-grandson of Daniel 
O'Madden, of 448 acres in the same district; while Dr. 
iUchard Maddea passed patent for about 200 in Clare and 

Beside the above Lieutenant^Colonely Michael Madden was 
an Ensign in this Br^imant, John. Madden a Lieutenant in 
the Earl of Tyrone's; another an Ensign in Colonel Owen 
Macartie's; John an Ensign in Lord Bophin's; in Colonel 
Ueward Oxburgh's, Hugh Madden was a Captain, and John 
a Lieutenant ; and in the King's Own In£Emtry Begiment, 

Madden was a Lieutenant, This Lieutenant-Colonel 

Edward was taken prisoner at the battle of Aughrim ; but, 
having afterwards obtained his liberty, he repaired to France, 
where he was commissioned as Major in the Brigade of Fitz- 
James, the Grand Prior, Five of this name were attainted 
in 1691. 



This &mily claims descent from Nial of the Nine Hostages, 
one of the most illustrious of Lrish Kin^v the Sept extended 
itself at a very remote period over Munster and Connaught, 
as well as in the Barony of Clonlonan, County of WestmeawK 
and, through the long li^se of yearsTnave they been eminently 
distinguished as poets and annalists, and are so commemorated 

144 KINO James's ibish armt list. 

by the Four Masters. Hardiman, in his Irish MinBtreUy^ 
observes that thirty individuals, Dalys, were distinguished at 
writers, from 1139 to 1680, adding that, in his own manuscript 
collections, he possessed poems by sixteen bards of the name. 

In 1185 'MaoUsa O'Dalaigh, Chief Sage of Erin and of 
Albain, a noble man distinguished for learning, poetry, and 
hospitality, died at Clonard while on a pilgrimage there.** In 
1337 died Lewis O'Daly, Bishop of Clonmacnoise, while 
that interesting locality was yet a Bishop's See. About the 

same time O'Daly of Munster had a grant of Moynter- 

barry, on a customary tenure at that time, of being Rythmour 
or Chronicler of the Chief Lord and his achievements.t In 
1375 Donald O'Daly was appointed one of the collectors of 
a state subsidy over the County of Cork. In 1410 John 
O'Daly had liberty from the Crown to make a pilgrimage to 
Bome, the penalties against absenteeism making such a 
sanction necessary; while the prevalent sympathy for the 
bardic profession is demonstrated in the fiu^t, that, amongst 
the charges preferred against the celebrated John Talbot, 
Lord Fumival, about the last date, was one, that he 
plundered the lands of the poets, Dermod 0*Daly of 
Corcumroe, and of Maurice O'Daly. In 1436 Nicholas 
O'Daly was by the Pope's Bull appointed Bishop of Achonry. 

It is alleged that in the middle of the succeeding century, 
in consequence of a wish expressed by the King of Denmark 
to Queen Elizabeth, to have Irish manuscripts then in his pos- 
session translated, one Donald Daly was selected for the work * 
but that the project was abandoned, being opposed in Council 
' lest it might be prejudicial to the English interest.' In 1582 
Robert Daly died Bishop of Kildare. In 1606 John King, 

* AiwdU Four Ma$Urt, f Pacata Hibemia^ p. 529. 


of Dublin, had a grant of parcel of the estate of Morrogh 
O'Daly of Ballinakill, in the King's County, *• slain in rebel- 
lion.' By a remarkable deed of 1612, Donough, son of Laugh* 
lin roe O'Daly of Finvara, in the County of Clare, '^ in con- 
sideration of siz pounds of pure crowned stamped money of 
England, (as pure, as refined and as valuable as that coin now 
is in England, and as it was when first it was made current, 
consisting of four ounces to every pound,)" then stated to have 
been received by said Donough from Anthony, son of James, 
son of Ambrose Lynch of Gralway, merchant, conveyed to him 
certain premises in Finvara, with royalties 'over and under 
ground,' as his proportion of the estate of Finvara held by the 
Daly fiitmily fi:om the Earl of Thomond.* la 1616 Humphrey 
Beynolds, of the County Leitrim, had a grant of the ward- 
ship of Annabella, Anne, and Mary O'Daly, daughters and 
heiresses of Teigue roe O'Daly, of the County of Ghdway. 
In 1619 died Bryan O'Daly, seised of the Castle of Killileagh /^J'^(^^ 
and other premises in Westmeath, leaving Thomas his son 
and heir, then aged fourteen years. Early in the Civil war of 
1641, the Marquis of Clanricarde committed the custody and ^ 
safe-keeping of the Castle of Clare-Gralway to Jiieutenant 

Dermot O'Daly ' who did very good service there.' He was ^ 

the grandson of Dermot O'Daly, who in 1^78 obtained a grant /j ) ^ 
of the Manor of Lerha with all its appurtenances. The ^ > ^ .. 
Attainders of 1641 comprise the names of Loughlin Daly of 
Little Clonshaugh, County of Dublin ; Donogh Hugh buy 
Daly of Neeston, County of Kildare ; and Eneas O'Daly of 
Ballyrowne, County of Cork. 

In 1662 died Daniel O'Daly, a native of Kerry, who had 
founded the Dominican convent at Lisbon; he afterwards 

* Hardunan^a Andent De^ds^ pp. 91-2. 
VOL. II. , ^ -. ^ (- y ^V . ^y.irJCihL^**^^^^^^^'' 

n '- 


became an especial &Yoarite and confidential ambassador of 
the Duke of Braganza, when that nobleman succeeded to the 
throne of Portugal, and died Bishop Elect of Coimbra. O'Dalj 
wrote a work giving full historical particulars of the family of 
Desmond, long rare, but now reprinted in translation. He 
was himself buried in the convent he had so establbhed. In 
1665 Colonel Gary Dillon, having complained of b^g dis- 
turbed in his rights and possessions of KilHmor and Carrow- 
iBagh in GKdwaj, by Donogh O'Daly, Donogh oge 0*Daly, 
and by Hugh and Dermot O'Daly , the Sheriff of that County 
was ordered by the House of Commons to remove the causes of 
injury so complained of. In 1677 Charles Daly had a con- 
firmatory grant of 763 acres in Mayo, as had Dermot Daly 
in the same year of 341 in Gtalway, James Daly of 801 in the 
latter County, and John Daly of 153 in same in 1678. 

In this Regiment, besides Captain Charles, Paul, Hugh, 
and Thady Daly were Lieutenants, and the name was likewise 
commisuoned in the In&ntry Regiments of Henry Dillouy 
Edmund O'Bdilly, Lords Mountcashel, Clancarty, and Gralway^ 
Major-Greneral Boisseleau, Colonel Heward Oxburgh, Colonel 
Walter Bourke, and in Simon Luttrell's and Clifford*s Diar 

The Charles here Captain was of the Dunsandle fiunily, and 
in King James's Parliament of 1689 was one of the Represen- 
tatives for the Borough of Athenry ; as was Richard Daly of 
Ejlcorky for that of Newborough, County of Wexford. 
Charles was brother of the Right Honorable Denis Daly, who 
was appointed one of the Justices of Common Pleas in Ireland 
at the commencement of the reign of James the Second. 
Colonel O^Kelly, in the Eacidium MacarioBy while he admits 
his * great knowledge of the law,* says he was one of Tyrcon- 
nel's confidants, and imprisoned in Gralway by the young Duke 

<^ Berwi<3c, as on smfncion of keiepiiig prirate ccnri'espo&d^nce 
nrkk the cdtHmbn enemy ; bttt, add6 O^Kelly, ^' his deliverer 
yraB iieaf ae haad, for, witbhi a few days lifter hb oottfiMaitet, 
he had the good fortune to hear of TyrconneFs laaji^^ig at 
Xiimerick ; and no sooner was he arriyed there, than he made 
use of his prenTgadve to eidarge the Judge, and restore him, 
without further trial, to his former station and dignity."* He 
was included in the Attainders of 1691, but in l%98 obtained 
a pardon from the Crown as in pursuance of the Capitulation 
of Qalway, and the Bpedal promise of tiMS J!arl of Athlone. 
The private cotrespondenee above alluded to, the WilUaniites 
admit, existed between their pafl^ and the Judge. He wa6 
tke^reot fineal adoeetor of thi$ Dtttunndle family. 

*ke Dalys Attainted in 1691 w^re Peter and Terence of . . y / 
ildgh. County of Westmeath^^homaa Daly was then the Kc ' 'J 
head of the Olile^ line, but Ivw a nnnor) ; Eugene of Cork, r ir 
merchant; John, also of Cork; Johnof Cloghrevanny^ County 
of Galway ; Edward of Kilmeny, do. ; with the above Judge 
Denis and Captain Charles. At the sale of 1703 by the Com- 
missioners of the Forfeited Estates, Colonel John Eyre of 
Eyrecourt pnrehlksed the lands of Ballyhouse and Ejllevany, 
in the Barony of Longford and County of Gralway, the estate 
of Teigtie or Hn^ Daly, attunted. This Hu^h was the 
fiither of Teigne, which latter had died in 1691, lesving four 
MjA, the three elder of whom Were in King Jaitos's army; 
and after the surrender of Lfanerick went into France. Loughs 
lin Daly, the fourth son, sabeequ«itly in 1711 sought ie 
recotei^ these estates from the Eyres by proceedings in 
Chancery, aDe^ng that the conveyance from the Trustees 
was for his benefit; but his elaim was defeated. 

* &Calh§kin^$ ExeUL Mae^ pp. lOdi ilO::!!. 

<f » 


The Mayors of Ghilwaj from 1761 to some few years cdnoe 
were in almost unbroken snocession Dalys, while the Parlia- 
mentary representation of the town was likewise long held by 
the fiunily. 


This individual was the proprietor of Templeogue in the 
County of Dublin, and represented the borough of Athenry 
in King Jameses Parliament. At the battle of Aughiim he 
had the command of a Regiment, and was there killed.* He 
forfmted largely in the County of Galway, and in the County 
and Ci^jT of Dublin. His estates in the latter county were 
sold by the Commissioners of the Forfeitures to Sir Compton 


This officer is described in the Inquisition on his outlawry as 
of Ballyvaughan, County of Limerick ; but his confiscations 
were of estates in that of Clare. John Stephenson was an 
attesting witness to the articles of Galway. In the reign of 
James the First, "William and Richard * Stevenson,' Scotch- 
m^ had patents of naturalization, and the name was yet 
earlier introduced to Munster in the time of Elizabeth. In 
1600, the custody of the castle of Corkroge on the Shannon 

* StanfM Inypartkd Hutarp^ pt XL, p. 18& 


was entrusted to Oliver Stephenson* wlio became a Colonel 
in the Austrian service, but in 1648 petitioned Ferdinand the 
Third to permit him to resign his commission and fight against 
the Puritan rebels and invaders of Ireland-f His prayer was 
granted, and he fell at the battle of Liscarrol. He was mar- 
ried to a sbter of Sir Valentine Brown, and she, after his 

decease, became the wife of O'SuUivan More. Captain 

James Stephenson was one of the * 1649 ' ofScers, who obtained 
an adjudication for his services, while on this Army List a 
second Oliver Stephenson was Captain in Colonel Roger 
Mc EUicott's Infantiy, where Nicholas Stephenson was his 
Lieutenant ; and another Stephenson was a Captain in the 
Lifimtiy Regiment of Sir John Fitz Gerald. 



This historic name has been early projected on the Irish 
chronicles. In 1248 the Royal Manor of Esker, in the County 
of Dublin, with 30 librates of land was granted to Peter de 
Bermingham, to hold until 40 librates of land should be avail- 
able for him in some waste dbtrict. In 1301 Richard de Ber- 
mingham, Sheriff of the * County of Connaught,* was em- 
powered to release felons from prisons therein, upon receiving a 
fine and adequate bail. In the same year the King granted the 
manor of Outrath (Oughterard) County Kildare, to Robert de 
Bermingham, and Simon his son in tail male, as having been 
theretofore acquired by Peter, son of Meiler de Bermingham. 

^ Piuata Hibenm^ p. 128. f CfCown^M HigL Addrea^ pt H, p. 468. 


In 1302 Hexuy de Berminghaia, also aftenmdi Sheriff of 
Connaught,* ivaa one of the ' Magnates * of Ireland, who 
attended the Earl of Ulater on the Boyal summons to the 
Scottish war. In 1312 Dr. William Benninghaifi died Arch- 
bishop (dl Toam, soon after which Sir John Bermingham was 
created Baron pf Athepry and Earl of Louth, by reason of his 
g^^lant and successful resistance to Bruce*s inyaaon. He sat 
in fhe Paidi^iEnent of Dublin in 1323, in which year William, 
son of Geoffbey de ' ^rmingham,' was Constable of die Castle 
of Boscommon. In 1327 the Commonalty of the County of 
Tipper^ry assessed Aen^lves in an aid to be iq^lied to the 
use of fhis Earl; but in the following year, as the Four 
Masters relate, ''this n^ost yaliant, powerful, and hospitable 
Baron of the English of Ireland, was treacherously shun by 
his own people, and many of the English and Irish were slain 
along with him ; among whom was ' blind O'Carroll,' who was 
the chief minstrel of Ireland and Scotland at the time." This 
nobleman dying without male issue, the Earldom became 

In 1333 King Edward granted to Edmund, son of Bichard 
de Burgo, Earl of Ulster, two-thirds of the lands and lordships 
of this murdered Earl, to hold during the minority of his heir. 
In 1345 Thomas de Bermingham of Anery (Athenry) was 
appdnted Chief Serjeant of Connaught; and in the following 
ye^ the King committed to Walter de Bermingham, the office 
of Justidary of Xs^eland, with the custody of the land of 
Ireland, its castles, and appurtenances during pleasure, with a 
yearly salary of £500 therefor. He had the power also of 
nemoving such sheriflb, constables, bailiiSb, and other ministera 
of the King, as he might deem unfit, and of r^laciifg them 

* Morrises Hib^rmcOf pt H, p. 35, 



iiith others. At this time William, son of Andrew de Ber- 
Tningham, was constable of the Castle of Athlone. 

It is recorded that, on the d^h of the above Lord Walter 
in 1354, indebted to the King, his estates, with bis armour, 
were taken by the Royal Escheator; but his Majesty at once 
rjBstored the armour ' pieoe by piece,' as in a schedule, to Sir 
fiohert de Preston, who was guairdian of Lprd Walter's in&nt 
son, in trust to deUver same to him on his arriving at age.* 
In the following year Bicbard, son of Henry de Burgo, had a 
grant of the wardship of the estates and heir of William de 
Bermingham, then late Locd of Dunmore, deceased* In 1377 
Walter de Berpiin^bam of Athauy was fine^ 100«. for not 
attending Parliament; he was agaip summoned to a Ps^^lia- 
ment in Dublin in 1881, and a third time in 1382. Thi^ 
Walter, Lord of Athenry, having preferred a complaint 
against certain Irish of the lower parts of Connaught, who had 
come up to fish without right in the waters of Galway, the 
King directed that the Sheriff of that town and the Proyost 
BaiUffs and Commons, should prevent their t^Jdng sabnpn ii^ 
same. Henry the Fourth, pn his accecision, constituted this 
Walter Sheriff of Connaught. In 1402 Jphn Bermingham 
was appointed a Justice of the King's Benph in Ireland ; and, 
in 1451 Sedmond, spn of William Bermipgham, died on his 
journey firom Borne, after having been appointed Archbishop 
Qf Tuam. 

In 1464 Philip Bennipgham was constituted Chief Justice 
of the Common Pleas, and he, in 1488, did l^omage to Sir 
Richard Edgecombe. In 1489 William Bermingham died 
Chief Justice of the King's Bench, to which high judicial 
office Patrick Bermingham was appointed in 1521. At the 

^ Lynch on FeuiM D^priiHes^ p. 18. 


meetiiig of the Irish Parliament in 1541, considerable surprise 
is said to have been caused by the unexpected attendance of 
Lord Bermingham of Atheniy, Lord Barry, Lord Iloche, and 
Lord Fitz-Morris ;* ' which Lords had not been here for many 
years before/ These noblemen, together with the Earls of 
Ormond and Desmond, and the Baron of Upper Ossory, 
previous to opemng Parliament, as Saint Leger the Lord 
Deputy in his zeal announced to Henry the Eighth, ^* attended 
the solemn mass of the Holy Ghost, the most part of them 
in thdr robes, and rode on in procession, in such sort as the 
Uke thereof has not been dben here of many years. 't 

Lord Athenry sat in the Parliament of 1560; and, in seven 
years after, having avowed himself to the Queen under recog- 
nizance, a fiuthful subject to ihe Crown, and offered to 
surrender his estates for himself and his Sept, and to receive 
back from her Majesty the same according to her pleasure, 
she,^ consideration thereof, directed a patent to pass to him 
accordingly in tiul male ;t and he sat as a Peer in the 
Parliament of 1585. A survey of Connaught, taken in 1586, 
describes this nobleman's estate, in Galway, by the name of 
' Downmore, having a Castle thereon.' In 1609 William 
Bermingham had livery, as son and hdr of Patrick Berm- 
ingham of Corballies, deceased ; and, in six years after the 
wardship of Patrick, the son and heir of this William, was 
committed to the Archbishop of Dublin and the Lord 
Chancellor. In 1617 Meyler buoy Bermingham, of Con* 
nogher, had a grant of the townlands, &c., of Dalgan and 

* Of this noble Anglo-Norman family see more fullj O'CaUaghanU 
Bngadet^ vol. 1, p. 286, &c. 

t State Papers^ temp, Henry VIII.^ pt. IIL contmned, p. 804. 
X Lynchj on Feudal DignUies^ p. 216. 


other landfl in Gralwajy with markets and fiiirs at Connogher. 
In the following year died James Bermingham of BallyvoUan, 
County Westmeath, leaving Edmund, his son and heir, then 
aged fifty and married. This Edmimd had a grant in 1621 
of a market at Miltown in said ooimty, and, dying in 1636, 
was succeeded by John his son and heir, then aged thirty-five, 
and unmarried. 

The attainders of 1642 present the names of William 
Bermingham of Ballynamallough, John of Baheen and 
Muckland, Piers and Gerald of Ballynakill, Luke of Parsons- 
town, Gerald of Dunfert, clerk, all in Kildare; Peter of 
Dromin in Wicklow, clerk ; Edward of Culmine, and James 
of Bullogh, in Dublin ; and the above Patrick Bermingham, 
junior, of Corballies, County Meath. At the Supreme 
Council of Elilkenny, Francis Bermingham, then Lord 
Athenry, sat as a Temporal Peer, while four Berminghams 
were of tlv9 Commons. This Lord was, consequently, in 
1652, excepted, by Cromwell's ordinance, from pardon for 
life and estate. In 1677 an Edmund Bermingham had a 
confirmatory patent for 170 acres in Roscommon, as had 
Bemigius Bermingham in 1681 for 5,262 in Mayo. 

Besides the above Captains, the name appears on this List 
commissioned in three other Begiments. In Eling James's 
Parliament of 1689 Lord Athenry sat as one of the Peers, 
while the above Captain John Bermingham, who was Port- 
rieve of Castlebar in its new Charter, sat as one of its 
Bepresentatives. Near the close of this bampaign, on the 
19th of August, 1691, by the Articles for the surrender of 
the island and garrison of Bophin, '^Lord Athenry and 
Colonel John Kelly, with all the inhabitants of said island, 
ware permitted to possess and enjoy their estates therein, as 
they held them under the Acts of Settlement and Expla- 

154 KINO jamss'b TBian abmy list. 

xj^on.''^ The Attiondecs of 1691 included the names of the 
above Lofd Atibtemy; of said Oaptam, described as John 
Benmngham of Castlebar, County of Mayo; George of 
Corballls, and Maurice of Ballymullane, in Meath; Walter 
and John of Grarveene, in the Queen*s County; Piers of 
Ponadea, Andrew of Carrisborough, and Garret of Carricky 
in Kildare; with Gilbert and Walter age of Tullyyaiighaii 
in Galway; while a Captain Nicholas BemniTigharo was 
adjudged within the benefit of the Articles of limerid^. 

On the establishment of 1710 the nwie of Franqis Bea?- 
mingham is noted for an eimual pension of £200. 


Thb figmily of DArcy, writes Burke.f ** ranks with the 
most emiijent established in England by tihu9 Npnnan con- 
quest, and amongst the peerages of past times. There are 
two Baxonies in abej/ancej one forfeited Barony, and three 
satinet Baronios, all o£ which had been cpufi^red upon the 
House of D'Arcy, besides the extinct Earldom of Holder- 
ness." The D' Ascys of Hyd^ Park are the chief and eldest 
existing line of this ancient race in Ireland, and to Sis' 
Bernard Burke's memoir of that House the genealogical 
inquirer is best referred. Of this &mily, John D'Arcy, 
Eni^t, had been Chief Justiciary and Grovemor of Ireland 
in 1817, yApa a treasury grant of £100 was made to him 
towards his expenses in men and arms, on his journey into 
Connaught and Louth, to parley inth O'Connor and Mae 
Geoghegan; and into O^ey and Leinster for a aunilar 

* Stones hnpartial Bufory^ pt. IL, p. 201. t XamM QaOry^ p. 306. 


vith the O^Connora, O'Dempoeys, OTooles, and 
O'Bjrnes. In 1324 he was again Vioeioj, and in 1326 
had a gmat of all the estates of Sichaid, son 4>f Thomas, 
late £ad of Kildare, deceased, to enjoy same dining the 
minmty of his heir, iqppropriating a certain portion of the 
rents for xqpfiiring the Castles of Kildaie, Cromyth, Esgrene, 
and ether buildings and houses. In 1327 he ivas again 
Jiisti4v7,as also in 13il; on Ae latter occasion, the appoint* 
Bxent was made to hin^ for hfe. He had large gra^its tP him 
and his hdxa male of manors and lands in the Coontjr of 
Westmeath, with Knight's fees and adyowsons of ehnrches; 
and, marrying twice, had hy his first wife a son, who was 
ancestor of the D'Arcys, Barons D'Arcy and Moynell, and 
of the Earis of Holdemess. His second wife was Jane, 
daught^ of Bichard de Bm^h, Earl of Ulster, and widow 
of Thomas FitanJohn, Earl of Eildare; upon which marriage 
he settled in Ireland, and became the founder of the fiuuily 
of Flatten, from which the D* Aicys of Meath have descended. 
When Lambert Simnel shook the allegiance of Ireland, and 
was crowned Song at Christ Church Cathedral in 1487, it is 
related tiiat Sir William D' Arey of Flatten borp him out on 
his shoulders, after the ceremony, to the deluded multitude. 
Sir William was however pardoned in the following year, on 
doipg homage to Sir Bichard Edgecome. This pardon was 
very peculiarly nfoxded as to * William D'Arcy, late of 
Flatten; otherwise William D'Arcy, late Sheriff of Meath, 
htt^ Beceiver-General of the revenues in Meath, Louth, 
Dublin, Eildare, and Drogheda, (then the extent of the Fale) ; 
otherwise William D'Arcy, Enight, Deputy-Treasurer for 
Gerald, son and heir of the Earl of Eildare, Treasurer of 
Ireland; otherwise William D'Arcy of Flatten, Enight, 
otherwise William D' Arpy of Bathwyr^, ^juglft' 


Roger D'Arcy wba an earlier Bojral iavourite in the time of 
Edward the Third, when he had grants of sundry Boyal 
Manors ; and, in 1346, the custody of the Great Seal of Ireland 
was comnutted to him in the absence of the Chancellor; 
he was also for a year the King's Escheator. In 1389 King 
Richard committed to John D'Arcy the custody of the Castle 
of Rathwyre, with that of the lands of Rathwyre, Lynne, and 
Frewyn in Meath; Henry the Fourth yet more fitvoured 
this John D'Arcy by grants, in 1403, of the Manors of 
Mansfieldtown and Stantoun in Louth, forfeited by Bar- 
tholomew Verdon; the Manor of Philipstown in same 
County, with burgages and lands in Dundalk, forfeited by 
Christopher White; and the lands of Bahregan and Rath- 
hopkyn, forfeited by James White. This John D'Arcy 
having died within some few years after these grants, the 
Kiing committed to John Keppock and John Bemwall the 
custody of all the manors, lands, &c., of which he had died 
seised, to hold during the minority of his son and heir. In 
1415 William D' Arcy had livery of the manors of Martry and 
Flatten in Meath ; in ten years after which Henry the Sixth 
committed to the custody of John D' Arcy, two-thirds of the 
manors of Belgard and Fore, the estates of Edward late 
Earl of March, to hold during the minority of Edward, 
Duke of York, said Earrs heir; and in 1431 he had a 
grant of two-thirde of the said manor of Rathwyre, to hold 
on the same tenure. 

In the time of Queen Elizabeth, Edmund D'Arcy died 
seised in tail male of Clonedaly and other lands in Westmeath, 
leaving Thomas his son and heir of full age and married. In 
1614 Nicholas D'Arcy had a grant of the dissolved monastery 
of Killmakough, with sundry its possessions in lands, tithes, 
&C.J in the County of Galway ; also of water-nulls on the river 


of Gralway and certain rights in the salmon fishery there, with 
parcels of the estates of the Abbeys of St. Augustin, St. 
Francis, and St. Domipick, in Galway ; and of the Friaries 
of Beagh, Coulyemoge, Killmurry, and Bossyillie, in said 
\ county, certain premises in Athlone, the Castles of Clondoan 

' and Kilkeedy, with a rectory, lands, and tithes in Clare. In 

1636 died Edward D'Arcy, seised in fee of a castle at 
Redmondstown, ^th sundry lands there and in other parts 
of Westmeath, lUchard D'Arcy, his son and heir, was then 
aged sixty and married. In three years after died John 
D'Arcy, seised in fee tidl expectant, of the manor, castle, 
and lands of Dunmore, &c., in Meath, leaying Thomas, his 
son and heir, then twenty-eight years of age and married. 

The Attainders of 1642 present the names of Nicholas 
D'Arcy of Flatten, County Meath (who had attended the 
great meeting at the hill of Crofty), Frauds D'Arcy of Bally- 
mount, County of Kildare; and Christopher of Athlumney, 
Coimty of Meath. Nicholas of Flatten had, however, a 
decree of Innocence in 1666, and was further restored to his 
estates by patent of 1670. Patrick D'Arcy of the Gralway line 
was one of the Confederate Catholics who sat at Kilkenny in 
1646, and he was accordingly excepted from pardon for life 
and estates in Cromwell's Act of 1652.* In 1667 Nicholas 
D'Arcy had a confirmatory, grant of 555 acres in the Queen's 
County, as had John D'Arcy, in ten years after, of 1691 in 
Mayo and Gralway, and Feter D'Arcy of 81 in Mayo. In 
the Establishment of 1685, Sir William D'Arcy was set 
down for a pension of £400 per annumj while, in the New 

* Dr. O^DonoYan, in hb notes on the '* Tribe of Hy-Fiachra,** in the 
Thztuactums of the Irish Archceological Society maintains that the 
D'Arc^s of Cralwa/, were properi^r of Milesian lineage, O'Dorseys, and 
should not be confounded with the D'Arcys of Meath. 

i5S KfKG ;rA]iBd'8 mi&H ABirf list. 

Cliarteir of 1687 to thd BoroHgh of Grfllway, nx D'Ait^js 
W^re appointed Burgesses. 

Besides the above lieatenasvt, tlia:^ appear on this Army 
List, Nicholas D^ Arcj^ a Comet in Lord Dongaa's Dragoons 
(afterwards wounded at Deny), and Thomas lyAtoj, m 
Quarter-l&laater in Sir NeiU 0*Neill'd ; while in Lewd Gor^ 
tdanston's Lifantry --: — D'Arcy trae A Captain ; aswas Jameb 
D'ArCj in Colonel Dominick Browne^s. A short time pre- 
vious to the batde of the Bbjme, EiUeBhandraj which was 
garrisoned by one hundred imd sixty Ir^ ntidei^ the oommaM 
of a Captain D'Arey, was obMged to surrender to Cokmd 
Wolsetey.* Of those attainted m 1691 were Nicholas D'Arcy 
described as of Flatten (who had been nominate an Alder- 
man in King James's Charter to Dtogheda), George D*Arcy, 
his son, and Thomas D'Arcy of Corbetstown and Port^rstewn, 
County of ' Westmeath. Various claims -w^^ preferred at 
Chichester House in 1700, as afl^ting the confiscations of 
Nicholas tyAroj in Westmeath ; as by Christopher D'Arcy 
for a term of years of Balleighter, in Westmeafch, allowed : of 
Nich<^ D'Arcy, as soa and heir of Francis, and as adminid^ 
trator of Ms own brother, Dudley D'Arcy, for a portion of 
£400, alleged to be charged on Lynn, iik the same county, — 
dismist : of George D* Arcy foi^ the fee of certain other lands, 
also dismist: of Thomas D'Arcy .late husband of Katherine 
D'Arcy, alias Hussey, for the amount of a mortgage and 
arrears of interest due to her off certain estates of said Nicholas 
of Flatten; while George, Thomas, I^lizabeth, and Bridget 
D'Arcy, children of Christopher and Catii^riile D'Arcy, 
claimed by their proehein ami, two thirds of the profits of said 
Estates, and all those latter demands w^re allowed. 

* lUtOfdon ficqmf, p. 822. 


-■r* ---- 


K > 

>i<^^ :'x £A]^ Of ' CfiJkimiCABBE'S IKFAKTBY. 159 

- \ 


.\ , ^, \^ -UEUTENANT BRYAN MAHON. ^% 

> , A^ Nt^^Tnis officer was of a mamy tliat, as appears from thgj^atent x 
f . N ^"^ { BoUg-efJattesrsettlecl gfaot^tiiat>tiine in the C^nnty of Gal- [ 
t ».^ i * ^ way, and, as well from the date of its migcation being contem- 
I * Nl ^^ ^ poraneous with the planting of Ulster, as fix>m the adoption of 
^ V ^ ^yv the same christian names in its succession, appears to have 
^^ S \^ ^ branjdi^frtm^ the mustnotts-heuse^ of Mac Mahon, tha d^Basi ^ 
^V ^2 otuoS^Ml^ The father of this officer, Bryan Mahm the ^ 
z ^^Ider, of Loughrea, was in 1665 possessed of considerable ^ , 


^ •, 



\ "l]^ ^ yl J property in that neighbourhood, the leasehold portion of whidi, - *' *-^ 
\ .^\^ having been held under Lord Bophin, waa, on the attainder of ,^; ; 
^ ^ ^ that nobleman, the subject of daim before the Commissioner^' 
"^ s;, at Chichester House, on the part of his widow, Mnggiw ' 

.-. V >v Mahon, alias Power, who was afterwards interred with her V • 
"^ ^ nusband in the fiuxuly vault at the old Abbey of Loughrea. ^ ^ ^ 
V^js^^ They left two sons; the elder James, became the ancestor of ^ 
A'v^ the IVfahonfl of Beech-hill, County of Chdway ; the seoond, this 
I ^Bryan, who was advanced to a Captaincy before his death, ' ^ -' 
^ V (^^^^ occurred in 1719), became a conformist, and was aia^ 
^ cestor of the Baronets of Castlegar. His will bears date 8th > 
\ w^ of June in that year, and directs his interment ^ with his *^ \ 
' . ^ ancestors in the abbey of Loughrea;' while he thereby devised ^ 
''-^j;,-^ his estates to his son and heir Boss Mahon, and his issue, in 
/ ^ ^^ tail male; with similar remainders to his second son, James, \ 

^ \ and his third son Peter, in succession ; and on fidlure of all 
^ ^ ^ such issue, remainder to Bryan and Thomas, sons of the above ' ^ 

^ ^ James Mahon of Beecb-hiU, in tail male successively. / 

- * .. %^ / " 




. ' ^.:.- : N" 



> / • ■ • ■ 



■1 * 

w ' <r^ y-^ 

/ ,^ f 

/ . ' . . 

/ - " ■ 

r^ ■ ■ '■ ■ -'.. ' 

' y » 


' &* \\x r ; » 

. ' 

I • € 








The ColoneL 

Aidklbald Ma>onneIL 

Randall Ma>onneIL 

ICark Talbot, 

Denia Callagbaa. 



Junes Wogan, 

Con. O'Booike. 


Lord InSeUIlen 

/Eneas M^DonnelL 
t John O^Neale. 


Hngh O'Neia 

Bryan O'Neale. 

Angostin H^DonnelL 

Ednraiid Beillj. 



Hanoe 0*001111611 

Biyan O'NeUL 

John O'Cahan. 

Ulick Bonike. 

Terence M'Sweeny. 

Eneas M'DonnelL 

Daniel M'DonnelL 

John O'Neal. 

Toriogh O'NeOL 

Biyan M^Oennia. 

John M'Donald. 

John M'Manoa. 

ArUmr ICagflL 



Ter. O'Neffl. 



«— Tangban. 


— -Vangfaan. 

Alexander M(Donn«D, Capi 





In 1469 ' Con, son of Hugh buighe 0*Neill, gave the English 
of Lecale (County Down) a great overthrow at Beinn-Uamhaf 
in which Murtogh roe 0*Neill, Lord of Claneboy, was taken 
prisoner, and Angus, son of Alexander Mac Donnell, Robert 
Savage, Lord of Lecale, and many of the English and Irish 
were slain; and Patrick White assumed the Lordship of 
Lecale, by the aid of O'Neill.* It was about this time that 
the McDonnels or McConnells, Lords of the Western Isles of 
Scotland, established a branch of their originally Irish family 
in Antrim, by the marriage of John McConnell with Sarah, 
daughter of Phelim O'Neill of Claneboy. He thereupon 
principally resided in Ireland, and the alliance seems to have 
given rise to a claim set up by the McConnells to Claneboy. 
John Mc Connell, junior, his heir, was knighted by Eang 
James the Fourth of Scotland ; but afterwards, about 1494, 
rebelled against him, for which he and three of his sons were 
taken and executed at Edinburgh. The two eldest, Alexander 
and Angus, on the deaths of their kindred, fled to Ireland, 
where Mac Cahane gave his daughter, Catherine, in marriage 
to Alexander. James, the heir of that marriage, passed ove9r 
to Scotland, leaving his brother * Sorieyboy ' to hold possession 
of the Glyns in Antrim. He, however, having been t£t&t* 
wards, about 1565, hardly pressed by the O'Neill, solicited 
and obtained his brother's assistance. O'Neill at once gELve 
them battle with signal success, James was killed, and Sorley* 

* Annals of the Four Magten. 
VOL. U. M 


boy taken prisoner ;* they had a brother, Angas the jounger, 
also killed on this occasion. Sorlejboy afterwards married 
Mary, daughter of Con boocagh 0*Neill, by whom he had issue 
James, who was knighted by James the Sixth on visiting 
Edinburgh. Sorleyboy remained in Ireland, having been 
established on his estates by Queen Elizabeth, but his brothers 
returned to Scotland; and one of their descendants, CoU 
Eattach, the son of Archibald, was father to Alister Mac Coll, 
who, as hereafter mentioned, was sent by the first Marquess of 
Antrim to join Montrose at Tippermuir. Coll Kittach him- 
self, being left in charge of the Castle of Dunyveg in Isla, was 
entrapped into a surrender by Leslie imd was haqded over to 
the Campbells, by whom he was executed. He was hanged 
from the mast of his own galley, placed over the deft of a rock, 
near the Castle of DuDstafihage.f 

An old fiunily Manuscript of the Mac QuiUanes, purporting 
to give a catalogue of the Orgillian Princes, descended from 
CoUa Uais, mentions Mngdon^e as the 38th on this suocesdon, 
in whose time it says, *' in 1580 Coll Mao Donnell came to 
Ireland, being the fifth lineal descendant from Donald, Eang 
or Lord of the Hebrides and of Cantyre. His clandestine 
marriage with a daughter of. Mac Quillan, Lord of Bathmor* 
Mac-Quillan, now Dunluoe, was t^e cause of a war between 
these two fiunilies; which was not terminated till 1610, when 
James the First of England unjustly deprived Mac Quillan of 
his lands, and divided them amongst his patentees, which lands 
are now some of the best improved in Lreland. To McDonnell, 
the son-in-law or brother-in-law of Mao Quillan, he gave the 
four great Baronies of Dunluce, Carie, Ballyoastle, and Glen- 
arm, with the island of Baghery ; to Sir John Chichester he 

* MSS, qfihe late Donald Gregory, f Gregorys Etghlands^ irc,^ p. SU. 


gave the Barony of Belfast and town of Carrickfergus ; to the 
Seymours and Conways part of Massareene ; to the Skeffing* 
tons another portion of Massareene ; and several other persons 
he ennobled at that time or soon after, some of whom were not 
the most loyal subjects to his son Charles the First.'' Pre- 
vious to this period, Hugh O'Donnell, chief of his nation, 
married a daughter of James McDonnell, Lord of the Isles, 
by whom he had the celebrated hero, Bed ' Hugh O'Donnellj* 
in whose ensuing wars with the Queen, the McDonnels afforded 
him great assistance. James Mao Sorleyboy, before alluded 
to, was one of those who supported O'Neill at the battle of the 
Blackwater. The Four Masters contain many annals of this 
fisunily, that cannot be brought forward here. 

In 1613 King James, who had, in the first and second 
years of his reign, granted large possessions in Londonderry 
and Antrim to Sir Randal Mac Sorley Mac Donnell, including 
the|Boute, the Glynnes, the Castle of Olderfleet, and the 
island of Baghlins (the latter island was assured to the 
patentee yet more explicitly by a subsequent patent) directed 
his mandatory letter for an Act of Parliament to secure to him 
all his said lands, <6c., in Ulster, to hold to him and his heirs 
male by his wife EUy ny Neale, remainder to the heirs male 
of his body and to those of Alexander McDonnel, his cousin, 
and of Con McDonnel his late cousin successively, remainder 
to the right heirs of Sir Bandal for ever. In 1615 the same 
monarch granted to said Sir Bandal in more especial terms the 
Castle of Dunluce, to hold in tail male, remainder to his 
cousin Alexander McDonnell in tul male, remainder to his 
relation Coll McDonnell in tail male, with ultimate remainder 
to his (said Bandal's) own right heirs. This grant was how* 
ever on the express condition that the King and his heirs, or 
the Chief Governor of Ireland for the time being, in time of 

164 KINO James's ibish abut list. 

any general war or rebellion, if they thought it fit or neces- 
sary, should resume and retain said Castle and make a garrison 
thereof, and, on peace being restored, should deliver back the 
possession again to the &mily. In 1618 this patentee, who 
was grand&ther of the nobleman at present imder considera- 
tion, was created Viscount Dunluce in the Peerage of Ireland, 
and in two years after advanced to the Earldom of Antrim. 
On the Attainders of 1642 appear of this name Bandal, then 
Earl, and his brother the above Alexander, (but they were, by 
a clause in the Act of Settlement, restored to their estates, 
excepting tithes), while there were also then attunted Maurice 
Mac Donnell of BathconsiUagh in Kildare, Edmund of Knock- 
erisk, David of Ballyshaneduff ; Dudley, Daniel, and James 
M* Walter Mao Donnell of Toole&rroges in Wicklow, Richard 
* Donnell * of Palmerstown and Clement ' Donnell * of Swords 
in Dublin County, with Murtogh MoDaniel of Bynd« and 
Owen and Donough of Anaghally in Cork* 

In 1644 the gallant Montrose, desiroua to raise forces in 
Ireland to uphold the Royal cause in Scotland, commissioned 
Earl Randal, as an Irishman by birth and a Scot by descent^ 
to effectuate the important object; and, for fiu^tating these 
levies, he directed the Marquis of Ormonde, then Lord 
Lieutenant of Ireland, to procure a cessation of arms there 
between the Catholics and the Protestants, both parties being 
then considered alike fiivourable to the enlistment. Accord- 
ingly, when Montrose himself entered Scotland with but two 
companies, he was joined by 1,200 Irish recruits, commanded 
by Alexander McDonnell, whom Earl Randal (then advanced 
to a Marquisate) sent over to the cause. This Alexander or 
AHster Mac Coll, son of Coll IButtach as before mentioned, 
was in the ninth degree of lineal male descent ficom John, 
Lord of the Isles and his wife Margaret, daughter of Robert 


the Second, Eang of Scotland. He was killed about the 
year 1647, at the battle of KnockinnoBS, near Kanturk, and 
yrss interred in Clonmeen Church-jard, the adjacent burial 
place of the O'Callaghans. He left two dons, Coll and 
Archibald; the latter was the Lieutenant in this Regiment, 
died a Captain in 1720, at the age of 73, and was buried in 
the secluded mountain Church-yard of Layde, on the coast of 
Antrim; as were his son Coll, who died in 1737; and Colics 
son, Alexander, who died in 1793, s.p. Coll, the eldest son 
of Alister Mac Coll, had a son Coll, who was father of 
Alexander, who had three sons — 1, Coll, whose issue all 
emigrated to America ; 2, Michael, who was father of Bandall, 
James, and Alexander; James, his second son, was an indiyi- 
dual, whose national, literary, and scientific acquirements 
were for many years a paramount attraction in BeUast, and 
he was father of the Right Honorable Alexander Mac Donnell 
(resident Commissioner of the Board of National Education 
in Ireland) and of John Mac Donnell, Esq., M.D., a Com-* 
missioner of the Poor Laws ; 3, John, the third son of the 
aforesaid Alexander, son of Coll, remained on the ancient 
family estate of Olenariff, in Antrim, and he had a son 
Randle, &ther of the present Alexander M'Donnell of 
Temple-street, Dublin, and of his brother John, a Captain 
in the Cape Mounted Rifles. All of Coil's line that haye 

died are likewise buried in Layde. The adjudications in 

favour of the ' 1649' Officers include the names of Lieutenants 
Alexander and Eneas Mac Donnell. 

To return to Earl Randal: he died in 1682, when the 
Marquisate became extinct; but the other honors continued 
to his son, the above Colonel, who also had taken an active 
part in the Civil War of 1641, and was attainted therefor, 
but restored by the Act of Settiement In 1646, being then 

166 KIKO jambs'b ibish abmt ust. 

Earl of Antrim in his fisUlier^s life-time, he sat as one of the 
Temporal Peers at the Supreme Comidl in Kilkenny; while 
James McDonnel of Mnff (who was also buried at Lame) 
and Allen McDonnell of Mnnta^ were of the Commons. 
The DedaiBtion of Bojal Thanks in the Act of 1662, ''for 
services beyond the seas,^ includes Lieutenant Charles and 
Ensign Alexander Mc DonnelL Li 1668 Alexander Mac 
Donnell had a confirmatory grant of various lands in the 
barony of Gleiiacm, County Antrim, 33,545 acres; ¥rhile, in 
ten years after, Sr James Mac Donnell, Baronet, passed 
patent for 1,620 in Mayo. Li 1686 Eail Bandal was 
appointed of King James's Privy Council, in which year 
another Alexander Mc Donnell was Sheriff of Ldtrim. Li 
1688 a Colonel Mc Donnell garrisoned Boyle, and *'pre- 
rented the tranrit of Protestants with goods and provisions 
towards the garrison of Sligo; which, on being requested to 
permit, he aflfected so to do, but afterwards declined to 
perform, though we (writes Mackenzie) looked upon him as 
one of the fiiirest reputation among the Irish in these parts. 
On the approach, however, of our party he drew all his Horse, 
Foot, and Dragoons within the walls of Lord Kingston's 
house and garden."* 

On the 18th of December, in this year, Tyrconnel directed 
a letter firom the Castle of Dublin to the aforesaid Earl 
Bandal in the words following : — 

'Mt Lord, — ^Finding the people of Londonderry continue 
obstinate in their rebellion, and that there appears no likeli- 
hood of redudng them by fidr means, I desire your lordship 
to give orders presently to all the companies of your Regiment 
to be in readiness to march at an hour*8 warning; it being my 

ie^$Deny^]^ 16. 

-' CRS^ — wm^mwmmmn^ 


reeolution, in case I do not hear by Friday's post, that the 
City of Deny has submitted, to order them, with several 
other Segments of Horse, Foot, and Dragoons, to march 

against it, and will soon follow them myself. Three 

'pacquets* came in this morning, but bronght very little 
news; the Eong at l^?mdsor 'in* the head of his army, which 
lies all along the Thames; the Prince of Orange is about 
Newbury. — ^The Queen and the Prince are at Whitehall. 

I am, Ac., 

Pray see that youi' Begim^nt be, out of hand, put into 

The original of this despatch is in the possession of Mr. 
Samuel Wright Knox of Coleralne. 

Besides Colonel Alexander there Were six other Mc 
Donnells holding commissions in this Re^ment. In Lord 
Clare's Dragoon's Thomas 'Donell' was a Comet; as was 

Mc Donnell in Simon Luttrell's, and another -^ 

Mac Donnell was a Quarter Master in Maxwell's. The name 
was abo commissioned in Lord Kenmare's In&ntry; and a 
Mc Donnell was the Major of Colonel Cormuck O'Neill's; 
Charles Mc DonneU was a Lieutenant in the King's own. 
Li Colonel Owen Mac Cartie's another was Lieutenant; 
as was Bryan in the Earl of Westmeath's and Francis in 

Colonel John Grace's ; while the Rev. Mc Donnell was 

Chaplain to Henry Luttrell's Regiment of Horse. The 
Parliament of Dublin in 1689 was attended by this £ar( 
amongst the Peero; and amongst the Commons a Randal 
Mc Donnell (who held office in the King's Bench, as Clerk 
of the Crown and Prothonotary), sat as one of the representa- 
tives of the Coimty of Antrim, as did Alexander Mc Donnell 
for the Borough of Jamestown, County of Leitrim. 


During the eubsequent siege of Derry, a Cq)taiii McDonnell 
was taken prisoner,* while a letter of the Doke of Berwick, 
dated 5th July, 1689, mentioning his haying had a skirmish 
with the enemy near Trellick, adds that Captain Bellew and 
Major Mc Donnell commanded his yanguard on the occasion ; 
and about this time an Alexander McDonnell was appointed 
by Lord Tjrrconnel Governor of Galway; he, in the progress 
of the war, became a Brigadier-GeneraL Colonel O'Kelly, in 
his Eaeidium Macarice^ says he was a ''soldier of fortune, 
raised by merit from the ranks;** and Croker, in his brief 
notes on that little work, adds that he was otherwise called 
'McGregor,* and was of Drumsna, County of Leitrim. He 
married in 1685 the Lady Jane Nugent, a sister of Thomas 
Nugent, afterwards created Lord Biyerston. In December, 
1690, he was removed from the Government of Galway .f It 
is remarkable that in the Outlawries of 1691 he is styled 
Alexander McDoimeU, cUiaa Gregor, aHae Boyde, of Clonin, 
County of Westmeath. At the same time were attainted in 
Antrim, Daniel Mc Donnell of Dunluce, Alexander and John 
of Glenarm^ Archibald of Bed Bay, with Bandal styled of 
Dublin, and James of Ballybantray, Baronet; Augustine of 
Ballynamore in Leitrim, Charles of Ballyban in Boscommon, 
Walter of Ballycaskill and CoU of Cigie, the two hat in 
Mayo. This Earl of Antrim was outlawed on three Inquisi- 
tions taken in Dublin, Derry, and Antrim; but, being 
included in the savings of the Articles of Limerick, he waa 
restored to his estates, and died in 1699. At the Jacobite 
Court of St Germains, Captain 'McDonald* was one of the 
Grooms of the Bedchamber ;t while, from the Despatches of 

• Walker's Derry, p. 61. t Clarte^e James 11., v. 2, p. 428. 

Oarie's James //., v. 2, p. 41L 


Sir Paul Bycaut, it appeara that in 1693 a large body of Irish 
exiles was sent from France, under the command of a Colonel 
McDonnel, for the service of the Emperor in Hungary.* 

At Chichester House, in 1700, sundry claims were pre- 
ferred as charges on Mc Doimell estates, some of which were 
allowed, as that in behalf of Bandal then Earl of Antrim, who 
claimed, by descent firom his unde, certain lands which were 
forfeited by Sir James and Daniel Mc Donnell ; while James 
Mc Doxmell*s daim, on behalf of five Mc Donnells, minors, 
for remainders in tail, to which they were successively entitled 
in various lands forfeited by Bandall McDonnell, was also 
allowed. In 1721 an Act of the Irish Parliament was passed, 
further to secure the jointure of Bachel, Countess Dowager 
of Antrim, relict of Bandal, late Earl of Antrim, deceased, 
and to provide a portion for the Lady Helena McDonnell, 
the only daughter of said Earl. 

All that has been written above of the Mac Donnells in 
deference to the Colonel, regards an offshoot from the parent 
stock in Ireland, which had at a very early period settled in 
Scotland, and sent back thence, in the sixteenth century, the 
gaUant and noble ancestors of the McDonnells that thence- 
forth flourished in Ulster, and of him who ranked Colonel 
of this Begiment. It is therefore due to those of the sept 
who pre-existed, and still are known in other parts of 
Ireland, and espedally in the north-western part of Con- 
naught, to trace the origin of the fiunily. By the testimony 
of the native annals and geneal(>gies its lineage is derived 
frcMB Donell, who was himself descended from Heremon, 
the youngest son of Milesius, through a direct succession 
of ancestry, upon which are exhibited names that History 

t See Thfurjpe^ CataL SouOwell MSS^ p. 69. 

170 KiNa James's ibish abicy list. 

is proud to record. Of these may be partioulacked Conn, 
styled 'of the hundred battles' in the language of the 
bards, bj reason of his haying reduced thd provincial and 
petty provinces of Ireland, afber many conflicts, to an 
acknowledgment of his supremacy* He died about A.D.- 
177. His grandson Cormac was early in life driven fixnn his 
kingdom of Ulster and obliged to take refuge in Scotland. 
After a short sqoum there he returned with auxiliaries from 
that country, and fought successftd battles against his old 
opponents at Faughart and Crimuu He was nevertheless ill' 
disposed to resume dominion under such disastrous auspices, 
and retiring to an humble dwelling near the ancient town of 
Kells in Meath, he there devoted the remainder of his life to 
the study of philosophy and religion. The pagan priesthood 
gathered round him, and in his conferences with them he 
induced such a foreshadowing of Christian theism, that St. 
Columba, in font centuries after his deaths caused a chapel to 
be erected over his grave^ as commemorative of the earliest 
Irish convert from paganism; and certainly from his time 
the influence of heathenism declined amongst that people. 
Cormac's grandsons, known as the three CoUas, espousing 
their ancestor's resentment, invaded Ulster at the conmience- 
ment of the fourth century, levelled the local palace of 
Eamania, withdrew all government from its site, and estab- 
lished their own on the more fertile district of Uriel (Louth 
and Armagh). 

From CoUa Uais, the eldest of these brothers, have come 
down, as the venerable Camden records, the noble fiunilies 
of the McDonnells or McConnells, both of Ireland and 
Scotland. The Annals of the Four Masters make frequent 
mention of those of Northern Connaught, and of the inter- 
course which existed between the McPonnells of the two 


countries. In 1258 Mac Sorlej McDonnell sailed round 
Connaught, with a fleet from the Hebrides, until he came 
to Connemara, where he captured a merchant veeeel and seised 
on the cargo, which consisted of triney clothe broBSj and iron. 
Jordan Dexeter, the Sheriff of Connaught, pursued Mac 
Sorlej to the island at which he stopped, and near which 
Ids ships were anchored^ and a conflict ensued, in which 
Jordan was slain with many others^ Mac Sorlej and his 
people returned to thdr own country joyfully and enriched. 
In the following year a daughter of Dugald, the son of Mac 
Sorley, was married to Hugh, son of Felim O'Connor. In 
1397 Dugald McDonneU and Cathal ogs O'Connor, having 
prevailed upon the chief of Tirconnel (O'Donnell) with his 
adherents, to aid them agunst their enemies, a battle was 
fought between the parties near Sligo, in which Marcus Mac 
Donnell and his son Donell with many other chiefs were slain. 
The site of this battle establishes the &ot, that this Mac 
Donnell was of Mayo, and the OConnor, of Sligo< In 1467 
occurred a severe engagement between the Burkes (aided 
by the O'Briens) and the O'Kellys, in which ' Hugh &uy, 
son of Turlough Mac Donnell, constable of the galloglasses, 
ten of the chiefs of Clan Donnell, and eight score of the 
Gralloglasses, with many others beside, were slain.' In 1501, 
say the Four Masters, Gilla-oia-Naemh^ son of Cormac, son 
of Art McDonnell of Cloonkelly (a district on the confines 
of Mayo) was slidn, and the same annalists record the death 
of Colla Mac Donnell, also of Cloonkelly, within fifteen years 
after. In 1593 Eneas McDonnell, who was the last head of the 
noble Abbey of Cong, in Mayo, surrendered its possessions to 
the Crown ; about which time contests having arisen amongst 
the Burkes for the title of ' McWilliam,' the Mac Donnells of 
Mayo supported the daim of William Burke of Shrule. 


In the lamentable absence of parodnal registries in Ireland^ 
and particularij in Connaugfat, 1%b1 evidenoes of fiunily gene* 
alogies are hardly to be expected, nor would it be required 
for the object of these memoin ; but scattered links can be 
discovered in a class of records which the paramount vicis- 
dtudes of that country neoesatated, as, inquisitions p<>$t 
mortem^ outlawries, attainders and confiscations, giants of 
pardons and protections, <£c., and when these are diligentlj 
tested by fiunily traditi(ms and ancient trust- worthy documentSi 
a oonsidenible adyanoe to belief may be attained. In 1610 
such inquisitions were held on Eneas and Maohnurry McDon- 
nell of Mayo, while licenses of pardon were about the same 
tibme, OD King Jameses Plantation scheme, most numerously 
taken out ; amongst which were those to Maohnurry McDon- 
nell of Boselee (Hollymount), to Donnell McDonnell^ Ejught, 
and to James McDonnell, Knight, both of the same locality ; 
to James dufe McDonnell, to Owen and Boiy McDonnell, 
to Conell offe and to Hugh buy McDonnell of Batlynaboe, 
to C<xineU, son of Manus, to Turlc^h roe McDonnell ; and 
to Maohnurry, son of Alexander McDonnell of Ballynama- 
rogue, all in Mayo; while the (dantation grants, in 1604 and 
immediately succeeding years, show what tracts of lands the 
Sept forfeited in this County, even before the great National 
attainders of 1642 and 1691. Grants thus alluded to passed 
as o£ parcels of the estates of *' Banell' McDonnell, Myles, 
son of PheUm, Hugh buy and Geoffirey dufe McDonnell 
of Ballyallenan, slain in reheUion^ to John Eang, ancestor 

of the Viscounts Lorton; ^parcels of the estate of John, 

son of Ulick McDonnell of Ballyvenin, attainiedj to Michael 
Cormuck of Innismoyne, a quarter of Ower, part of the estate 
of Maohnurry McDonnell, alain in rebellion^ to Alderman 
Nicholas Weston of Dublin; ^parcel of the estate of 


Turloiigh roe 'Mac Connell aliaa McDonnell/ attainted^ to 

John Baxter ; of Allen McConnell to Sir John Everard ; 

of Alexander, son of Hugh buy McConnell of Balackan, 

attainted, to Sir John King; while Strafford's Survey of the 
County in 1635 shows McDonnells to have been theretofore 
further seised of Clogher, Comeireigh, Drombraddan, Car- 
ronkillin, Kinlevy, Lisbragane, CarrowBrro, with yarious 
other townlands. Some few and small grants had been made 
in 1612 et eeq, to native residents, as to James, son of Lysagh 
McDonnell; to Farragh oge McDonnell, to Coll duffe; to 
Allen, son of GiUaspeg and to Randle McDonnell, all these 
being described as of the before-mentioned locality of Bosslee 
(HoUymount), Qxk the vicinity of which Mr. Christopher 
Chevers McDonnell, hereafter named, has inherited landed 
property). As the above numerous forfeitures antidpated 
those which overwhelmed this cotmtry in 1641, not a single 
McDonnell of Mayo appears upon the Boll of^ outlawries of 
that period. 

In that year Jamee McDonnell Vas one of the Committee 
appointed by the Confederate Catholics at Kilkenny to draw 
up a form of government for Ireland. On the Boll of 
Adjudications decreed after the Bestoration, in fiivour of the 
Officers who fought in this country for Boyalty, to the time 
of King Charles's decapitation, appear the names of Lieu- 
tenants Alexander and Eneas McDonnell; and, on the 
enrolments of Connaught Certificates in 1667 stand Cahir, 
James, Charles, and Sir James McDonnell. This last was 
a Baronet, and got from the Crown, in ten years after, a 
very extensive grant of lands in the Barony of Grallen, in 
Mayo, subject to the payment of £400 to John Bingham 
of Bellanalabe. 

One of those genealogical certificates, which, in the times 

174 KiNa James's irish arbtt list. 

of Catholio persecution in Ireland, was neoessitated to intro- 
duce cadets from that coimtry to foreign service, was obtained 
in December, 1732, on behalf of James McDonnell, who had 
been born in Mayo in 1693. It was, in the usual manner, 
avouched hj the bands and seals of the Archbishop of the 
Province and the Bishops of the Sees wheiw the applicant 
resided, or was known; in this case bj the Archbishop of 
Tuam and the Bishops of Killalla and Ardagh; and from 
this document it appears that an ancestor of said James, 
having marned a daughter of Q'Buarc, styled Prince of 
Bre&ey, had a son Coll Handle McDonnell, who, as shown 
by andent pedigrees and correspondence, and by the will of 
the above Jaines, became the husband of a daughter of 
0*Connor-Sligoe, an illustrious Sept hereafter noticed, and 
he seems identical with the Coll described as of Cigie, and 
attainted in 1691, as above. His son, Miles, married 
Honoria O^Malley, of another not less ancient Sept within 
Mayo, and he had by her five sons and one daughter: 1, 
Charles; 2, Bandle (of "whom hereinafter); 3, Eneas, a 
traveller, who wrote a history of Jamaica; 4, the above 
James, who, having obtained the aforesaid certificate, entered 
the military service of the Emperor of Germany, in which 
he early so distinguished himself, that Charles the Sixth 
constituted him a Grand Chamberhun, and conferred upon 
him in 1738, when he had risen to the rank of Lieutenant- 
Colonel, the title of Count, transmissible to his hsm male 
and female. His patent recites the capture of the celebrated 
Marshal Villeroi at Cremona by another member of this 
fiunUy, also a gallant officer in the Imperial service. 5, The 
fifth son of Miles was Bonaventure, a Catholic Bishop in 
Ireland, while the only daughter was married to ■ ■ ■ 
Grarvey, ancestor of the &mily of Murrisk- Abbey. 


Handle, styled of Bosbeg, the second son of Myles, bom 
in 1686, married Jane Lynch of Partry, and died in 1766, 
leaving issue by her three sons and six daughters ; 1, Joseph, 
of Carranaoon, of whom presently; 2, Charles, who married 
Jane Miller, and had by her five sons and one daughter; 3, 
Eneas, who married Harriet O'Donnell. Of the daughters 
the eldest became the wife of a James McDonnell, on whose 
death she married Thomas Tyrrel to her second husband, 
and by him bad a daughter, Catherine, whose name is 
immortalized in the fine old Irish melody of * Kathleen 

Tryall.'- The above Joseph of Carranacon married Mary 

Lynch of Castle-Cana, in Mayo, by whom he had--rl, John, 
hereafter noticed ; 2, Miles, of Doo Castle, who married Mary 
Amie Hughes, and had issue — (i, Joseph Myles, late a 
member of ParliameQt for Mayo, who married Eleanor 
Lynch of Cartron, County Galway, and had issue by her; 

ii. Myles, who married Catherine Lynch of Ballycurrane 

Castle; with two other sons and two daughters); 3, James- 
Joseph, who, having been unfortunately implicated in the 
rebellion of 1798, died an exile in America. Joseph of 
Carranacon had likewise four daughters. John, the eldest son 
of said Joseph, married Celia, daughter of John Dolphin of 
Turoe, and had issue by her two daughters, Eleanor and Cecilia 
(the latter married Boderic O'Connor of Miltown, County 
KoscommoQ, Barrister, of whom see ante^ vol. 1, p. 143), with 
a son, Joseph, who died unmarried in 1835. Eleanor, who 
became the wife of John Chevers of Killian, in the County 
of Galway, lately deceasedi has issue by him as mentioned post 
in the Mount-Leinster memoir. Christopher, her second son, 
now (as tliere noticed) bears the additional surname of 
, It may be added in reference to the Mayo McDonnells,' 


that in the year of the great earthquake at Lisbon (1755), 
Anthony, Dominiok, and Terence McDonnell, of Urkre, in 
Mayo, were students at the Catholic CoUege in that city, 
and the former perished in the awful Tisitation. In the 
following year Francis McDonnell was Prior, and Anthony 
McDonnell Sub-Prior of the Abbey of Burrishoole. 

This memoir of the McDonnells of Mayo has been intro- 
duced here as, although many of that surname i^pear 
commissioned in this list, and especially in the Earl of 
Antrim's Segment, none could be traoed with any genea- 
logical certainty to Mayo. On Colonel Oliver 0'Gam*s 
Regiment lliey should have held, and possibly did hold rank, 
but the return of its strength is defective on the College * List,* 
and is whoUy" vacant in the British Museum copy. The 
circnmstance of Coll, the ancestor of Mr. Chevers McDonnell, 
having been one of those attainted in 1691, and having been 
on such his outlawry described as of Cigie, in Mayo, suggests 
his having done service for King James. 

The name of McDonnell is also distinguished as settled in 
Clare, in the Queen's County, and in liVlcklow. See Dr. 
O'Donovan's notes on the Four Masters, ad ann. 1570. 


(bogeb mac guibe.) 

The Irish county, now known as Fermanagh, of which 
Ennisldllen is the chief town, was anciently the principality 
of the Sept of Mao Guire, who held it for centuries after 
the Invasion, independent of English government; and were, 
according to tbe Irish form, solemnly inaugurated at Lis- 

naekent. In the time of James the Fbrst, hotrever, Ulster, 
mduding their territory, fell into the potrer of the Crown 
by the AttftinderB of O'Neill, O^Donnel, Mac Guire, &c., 
and was subjected to the allocations and disposition of the 
Plantation. Nerertheless, Connor Boe Mae Guire, then the 
acknowledged Captain of his name, obtained from Eang 
James a re-grant of 12,000 acres of the confiscations of his 
ancestors, and was created Baron of Ennishillen, a title 
which passed in his descendants to the nobleman here in* 

Of the earlier notices of this Sept it may be tnentioned 
that when, in 1314, King Edward was about to prosecute 
the war in Scotland, he directed an especial letter missire 
to ^ Laveragh Mac Wyr, dnd Blbemorum,' seeking his aid 
on the expedition. In 1338, say the Masters ' died Boderio 
Mac Guire the hospitable, Lord of Fermanagh^ a man who, 
in making prescmits of money, of clothing, of steeds, and other 
goods to the learned men and professors of Ireland, was the 
most liberal of the clan to his time.' When Edmund Mor* 
timer, who had married the grand-daughter of Edward the 
Third, come over to Ireland as Lord Lieutenant in 1379, 
varioi» native chiefe waited upon him, and amongst these 
the Mac Gmre. In 1428 '' Hugh, son of Philip Mac Guire, 
died at Elnsate, on his landing from Spain, where he had 
been perfornung the pilgrimage of St. James of Compostella. 
Thomas Oge Mac Guire, who had accompanied him, con- 
Teyed his body to Cork, where it was buried.'* In 1450 
Piers (Peter) Maguire, Bishop of Clogher, died at Cleenish, 
and was interred at Lisgoole ; and, in 1471, the aforesaid 
^Thomas offe resigned hie lordship, after Ixmng spent tl^ 
greater portion of his life-tame in performing acts of charity,- 
hosfntality, and noble deeds. He conferred the lordship on 



Iu8 son Edmund, appointed his second son tanist, and left 
Ids third son Rossa, in the Bishopric of Clogher.* His death 
is thus conunemorated by the Masters : ' In 1480 died Thomas 
oge^ son of Thomas more^ son of Philip, son of Hugh roe 
Mac Guire, the most dis^guished of his time for alms-doing, 
piety, and hospitality, a man who defended his territory 
against invading foes, a founder of monasteries and churches^ 
a donor of chalices, a man who was at IU>me, and twice 
Tisited the City of St James (of Compostella). He was 
interred in the monastery of Cavan, having selected that as 
his burial place.* 

In 1503 ' the Mao Guire, t. e, John, son of Philip, son of 
Thomas more^ namely the Giolla duv^ one of the most worthy 
of the chieftains of Ireland in his time, the most meiciftil 
and humane Irishman, and who l)est protected his territory 
and estate, the most valiant in war against opposing tribes 
and distant enemies, th^ most distinguished for good govern* 
ments, laws, and regulations, both in church and oountry, 
died in lus own fortress of Ennisldllen, and was buried in 
the monastery of the friars at Donegal, he having selected it 
for that purpose; while in 1518 'Felim, son of Bryan, son 
of Conor age Maguire, died? having returned firom the City 
of St. James of Compostella, after a year's pilgrimage, and 
he was interred in the monastery of Monaghan.* 

The influence of the Mac Guire in a later century is thus 
spoken of by Sir John Davis, in a report to the King's 
Council: — '^Concerning Fermanagh, otherwise Mac Guire's 
country, that territory was never reduced to the Crown from 
the conquest of Ireland, either by surrender, attainder, or 
other resumption whatever, until Sir John Perrot's govern*- 
ment; who caused Lord Conogher, &ther of Hugh Mao 
Gmre, who was a prinapal actor in the late rebellion, and 


slain in Munster, to surrender all the County of Fermanagh 
in general words unto the late Queen, and to take new pa- 
tents back again of all the County in like general words 
to him and his heirs, whereupon was reserved a rent, &c/' 
On the Plantation of Ulster, which was much influenced by 
this representation of the then Attomey-Greneral, Bryan Mao 
Gruire had a grant of various lands in the old district, created 
the manor of Inseyloughagease, with license for fidrs and 
markets, to hold same for ever, as of the Castle of Dublin 
in common soceage, subject to the conditions of the Plan* 
tation. In 1610 Sir Conor roe Maguire had a pension 
granted to him of £333 Os. 8d« for bis gallant services against 
the rebels at Tyrone, where he had eight horses killed imder 
him. The entry adding that Queen Elizabeth had given to 
him the whole County of Fermanagh, which he surrendered 
on getting two Baronies assured to him by Royal grant, but 
afterwards gave up one to the crown to fiioilitate the Plan* 
tation. Of this pension £100 was made payable on his 
decease to his son for Aw life. Others of this Sept were fidn 
then to take out patents from the Crown, while Dame Mar- 
garet Mac Gwyre, on the grant of a yearly pension of £100, 
surrendered all her right of dower off Fermanagh. 

The Act for the attainders of the Ulster septs and Icurds 
(1612), makes express mention of Sir Hugh Mac Guire, as 
having then lately fitUen in the field in rebellion. In 1616, 
however, the King's letter issued to accept a surrender from 
Connor roe Mac Guire, of an annual pension of £200 granted 
to him for his life, and of £50 after his death for one of his 
sons, which had been granted to him in consideration of tiie 
surrender of his right to Fermanagh, excepting the Barony 
of MagherarStephanagh, and to grant him thenceforth an 
annual pension of £250 English during his life, and others 

18Q kutg James's vbosb abmt list. 

of £50 each for any two of his sons, and also all fines and 
forfeitures in said barony. In 1618 died Brian Ever Mac 
Gwyre, seised of estates in Fermanagh, Cuohonagh Mac 
Gwyer was his son and heir, then aged 18 years. In 1626 
this Cuchonagh*s brother, Cormac Magwyre died in full age 
and married. In the preyious year the aforesaid Conor Roe 
Magwyer of Maghentr Stephana died, leaying Bryan roe 
his son and heir, then aged 36 and married. In 1629 died 
John gurtoffh Magwyre, Redmond his son and heir being 
then aged 15. The deaths of various other members of this 
sept are of subsequent reoord, in inquisitions, which ^ve 
their names with those of 4iheir heirs, and the ages of the 
latter, but however importani such details may be in many 
other eases, iheir partial omission in tiiis is deemed excusable. 
The Sept, it may be concluded, suffered yet more severely 
in the confiscations of 1642, by reason of the part they had 
taken with Lord Mac Guire ; while, beyond their ancient 
district, were attainted Murrough and Thomas Mac Guire of 
Angestown, County of Meath, and Donogh Mac Guire of 
Gastlemartin, County of Kildajre. Cromwell's Act of 1652 
excepted from pardon for life and estate ^ Connor Mac Guire, 
Baron of Enniskillen;* while, on the other hand, the declara* 
tion of Royal gratitude, for services beyond the seas, recognises 
those of Ensign Connor Mao Guire, and of Patrick Mac 
Guire of BaUykUcunny, * County of Enniskillen.' O'Cal- 
kgfaan says {Brigades, v. 1, p. 279,) that one of this Sept, 
on being compelled to leave Ulster, retired to the Parish 
of Mac Elligott near Tralee, whence his grandson passed to 
Yieima, and there, through the interest of a Trinamftn^ he 
procured a commisaon for his son in the Imperial army. 
That son defended Dresden in 1760 against Fiederick the 
Ghreat, and ranked Colonel of a Regiment of four Battalions, 


a Count of the Holy Boman Empire, and a Lieutenant- 
General of their Imperial Majesties' armies. 

In 1661, on information that one James 'Mac Wyer, 
then Sub-Sheriff of the County of Westmeath and an Ensign 
in his Majesty's army, had nevertheless theretofore been a 
commissioned officer with the Irish rd^eh in 1647, and then 
commanded, under the said rebels, the castle of Castle-Sickard, 
and that his wife was a Papist, the Irish House of Commons 
prayed the Lords Justices forthwith to remove said James 
from all employment, civil and military; while in 1662 another 
vote of that House, ' on behalf of Cudionagh Mac Gwyre, 
grandson of Bryan Mac Gwyre, who had in a very high and 
ample manner, testified his loyalty to the King and aflfeetion 
to the Protestant religion, not only by discovering the horrid 
rebellion begun in 1641, but in performing many other 
acceptable and memorable services and continuing all along, 
to his death, fidthful to the Protestant cause in tiiis kingdom, 
ordered that the estate of his said grand-&ther, having never 
been <]Uspo6ed of or set out to adventurers, should be settled 
and confirmed upon him and his heirs, audi that a Bill be 
prepared for that purpose.* 

In 1685-6 the Earl of Sunderland wrote by the Ringed 
order firom WhitdiAll to the Earl of Clareiidon, ih^n the 
Irish Viceroy, recommending to his Excellency Dr. Dominick 
Maguire, then Roman Catholic Archbishop of Armagh, and 
the other prelates of that communion in Ireland, *' for patron* 
age and protectitm upon all occasions;^ and desiring his 
Excellency to recommend to the Prelates of the established 
church, and to the Sheiiffi) and Justices of the Peace there, 
not to molest the Roman Catholic clergy, in the exercise of 
their AAAlAaiaflH/HLl functions amongst those of their own 
communion. The King further directed the payment of 

182 KING James's ibish abmt list. 

certain sums out of the Irish Exchequer to the said Catholic 
Primate to be partly for himself, and other parts in trust 
annuities for certain other Roman Catholic Bishops.* The 
total sum so allocated for this hierarchy was £2,190 per 
annum, to be pud to the Primate, 'without any account 
impressed or other charges to be set upon him»' 

Lord Enniskillen, though here tanked as but a Captain, 
was Lord Lieutenant of the County of Fermanagh, after- 
wards sat as a Peer in the Parliament of 1689, and ultimately 
commanded in this war a Regiment which he had himself 
raised. He fought at Aughrim, where fell Colonel Art Mac 
Guire of Tempo, ' one of the chief noblemen of Ulster, and a 
•tout warrior.' Another Lifimtxy Regiment, alluded to here- 
after, was led by Colonel Cudionagh Mac Guire, the Deputy 
Lieutenant of Fennanagh^ as he was its Sheriff in 1686 ; 
while in the Earl of Clancarty's Lifimtry Alezand^ Mac 
Guire was a Captain. 

The attainders of 1691 present the nlunes of Lord Ennis- 
killen^ Cuchonagh of Lisnaskea, County of Fermanagh (of 
whom hereaftei^ Alexander, also of Lisnaskea, Thomas of 
MuUintoose, County Antrim, James of Ballinecurvin, County 
Cork) and Domiidck Mac Guire, ' commonly called Primate 
of Leland.* After the capitulation of Limerick, Lord Ennis- 
killen accompanied the Lish Refugee Army to France ; but, 
having no Regiment assigned to him there, he retired to St. 
Germains, where he died in October^ 1708, aged 67. He 
was succeeded by his brother Phillip, as the sixth Lord 
Enniskillen, who, by his wife, the daughter of Sir Phelim 
O'Neill of Kinard, and sister to Brigadier Gordon O'Neill, 
had a son Theophilusi the seventh Lord Enniskillen ; the son 

■ ■ I ■ 1 ■ . I I Ml ■ I 

* CFCJaXUsghmU Maoarw Exddium^ p. 30& ^ 


of which latter nobleman, bj his lady, Margaret O'Donnell, 
of the Tyrconnel line, was named Alexander, and accounted 
eighth Lord Enniskillen. He was an Officer of the Irish 
Brigades, and, about the middle of the last centuij, a Captain 
in Bulkelej's Begiment.* 

A Maguire appears, commissioned as a Lieutenant, in 
Colonel Owen Mac Cartie*s Infantxy. 

The above Colonel Cuchonagh Mac Guire was cut down 
at the pass of Au^irim, leatdng by his wife (a Magennis of 
Castlewellan) three sons, of whom the two youngest died 
unmarried; the eldest^ Bryan, was restored to a part of his 
estate and died in 1700. His son, Robert, succeeded him, 
but, dying without issue^ his younger brother, Hugh, a 
Colonel in the Austrian service, became the representative 
of this ancient &niily, for but a short interval; he also died 
in 1763, without issue; and according to Sir Bernard Burke 
Edward Maguire of Gortoral House in Fermanagh, D.L., is 
the direct lineal descendant of the Chie£ 


The researches of O'Callaghan, as set forth in his recently* 
published History of the Irish Brigades, Vol. 1, pp. 212, 231, 
376, 405, and those of Dr. O'Donovan in the Appendix to 
the Four Masters, vol. 3, are so fully illustrative of this noble 
Sept as to make it preferable to restrict their memoir here to 

* (TCaUaghaiCs Irish Brigades, rol. I, p. 276, where much is written 
of oilier Mac Gkdfes, diBtingoishfid in fbrdga sertioe, and espedaUy of 
John jSgismuiid Maguire. 

184 EJKa 9AMm^9 1BI8H A«MT LIST. 

the more prominent features of th^ lineaget which, aocording 
to the native AniuJiste, waa derived from Niall of the nine 
hostages, whose glorious achievements have made him the 
^veted progenitor of the oldest Septs. ConaU Golban, say 
they, was his fifth son, and endowed With that district in 
Ulster called from him TirConnell. In the eleventh 
century, when surnames were first adopted ixx Ireland, the 
ruler of this country took that of 0*D(mndl, and his lineal 
descendants,' down to the time of James the first, were 

inaugurated its chiefs on the rock of Doon4 ^In 1244 the 

O'Dopnell was specially requested by King Heniy the Thirds 
who styled him King of TyrconneU^ to j(»n the Irish arma^ 
ment then convened for service in Scotland. In 1257, say 
the Four Masters, " a brilliant battle was fought by Qeoffi?ey 
O'Donnell Lord of Tircsonnelli against the Lord Justiee of 
Ireland, Maurice Fitzgerald, and the English of Connaught, 
^t Credrain Ciller in Boscede, in the territory of Carbury, 
north of Sligo, in defence of his principality. A fierce ami 
terrible conflict it was, in which bodies were hewed^ horses 
disabled, and the strength of both sides exhausted ; the men 
of Tirconnell maintained thar ground, and completely over- 
threw the English forces in the engagement, and defeated 
them with great slaughter, but Oeofirey himself was severely 
wounded, having encountered in the fight Maurice Fitacgerald 
in single combat, in which they desperately wounded each 
pther. By this fortunate victory the English and the 
Geraldines were driven from North Connaught. . . . • 
Donogh, the son of Cormac O'Dcmnell, was slain in the thick 
of the fight; the people of Tirconnell then returned home, 
in consequence of the dangerous wounds of O'Donnell, for 
otherwise he would have pursued the defeated English to the 
Moy. On Geoffirey^s return home he demolished the Castle 

%AJELh ov aktbim's ikfantbt. 185 

of Caoluifloe, which had been erected by the English to keep 
the people of Tiroonnell in subjection.'' GeoflBrey O'Donnell 
" w«a Unfilled by his wounds at Lough Beatagh for the space 
of a year after the battle of Credndn. When O'Neill 
(Bryan) received intelligence of this, he collected his forces 
for the purpose of marching into Tiroonnell, and sent 
messengers to O'Donnell demanding sureties, hostages, and 
submission trom the Tiiconellians, as they had no lord 
capable to govern them after Geoffirey. The messengers 
having delivered their commands to O'Donnell, returned 
bade with all possible speed. O'Donnell summoned the 
ConeUians 6com all quarters to wait on him, and th^ having 
assembled at their lord's call, he^ ordered them, as he was 
not able to lead them, to prepare for him the coffin in which 
fats remains should finally be conveyed, to place him therein, 
and to cany him in the very midst of his people; he told 
them to fight bravely as he was amongst them, and not to 
submit to the power of their enemies. They then proceeded 
in battle array, at the Command of thdor lord, to meet 
O'Neill's force, until both armies confronted each other at 
the river called Suileach (Swilly); at length the Tyroniana 
were defeated and driven back, leaving behind them many 
of thdr men, horses, and much property. On the return of 
the Conellian force from their victory, the coffin in which 
O'Donnell was borne was laid down on the place where 
the battle was fought, where his spirit departed from the 
mortification of the wounds he had received in the battie of 
Credrain; and his death was not dishonourable, for in all 
his expeditions he was victorious over his enemies. When 
O'Neill received intelligence of the death of O'Donnell, he* 
again sent messengers to the ConneTlians, demanding hostages 
and submission from them; upon which the ConneBans held 

186 KINO James's ibish abmt list. 

a consultation to determine what they should do, and to 
decide to what chief they should yield obedience and sub- 
mission, for they had no acknowl^ed lord to command them 
after the death of Oeoi&ey. While thuid deliberating they 
beheld Donald oge^ the son of Donald mare O'Donnell, who 
had arrived fixmi Scotland, a noble and intelligent youth in 
his eighteenth year, on whom the Connellians conferred the 
chieftainship. This was a proper election, foi* he was by 
right their own lawful lord.* (He was, according to native 
heraldry, the 20th in lineal descent firom Niall.) The 
Conellians informed him of their choice^ and at the same 
time communicated to him the message they had received 
from O^Neill, at which he expressed his indignation and 
contempt; and on that ocdosion he made use of that ezcieUent 
old sa]ring in the Albanan-Gaelic whicb they used in con- 
ferring with the messengers, viz., that every man should have 
his own country I Similar to the return of Tuathal Teachmar 
over the seas fixmi Albain (Scotland), where the chieftains 
of Ireland were expell^ by the Aithech-Tuatha (Attacota), 
was the return of Donal oge O'Donnell from Albain, in sup- 
porting the rights of Princes, in reconciling chiefs, and in 
defending his own territory from foreigners, from the day he 
was inaugurated in his lordship to the day of lus deatL" 

In 1262 this Donal oge ^marched with a force first into 
Fermanagh, from thence to the rough district of Connaught 
(t. 0., Leitrim), and as &r as Ghnnard of Teffia (in Longford); 
and in all the places through which he passed the people paid 
him tribute and yielded him submission, aftier which he returned 
home victoriously.' The Four Masters indeed are elaborate 
on his achievements in this and subsequent years. In 1313 
his son Hugh had a sinular Boyal summons to the war in 
Scotland; he died in 1333, as the Four Masters relate, ' Lord 


of Tyiconnelly Kinell Moam, Inisowen, Fermanagh, North 
Connaugkt, and Brefnej, and heir to the Crown of Ulster; 
the most dreaded and formidable to his enemies of any of the 
Irish in his time, a man hj whom most of the English fell| 
and also of the Irish who were opposed to him; one, whose 
government, laws, and regulations, were superior to any of his 
neighbouring chiefd. i . * He died in a monastic habit, and 
was buried with great honour and sdiemnitj in the monastery 
of Easroa (near Ballyshannon). The Chief of this sept in 
1394 was one of the Dynasts of Ulster^ that rendered homage 
to Richard the Second in the Dominican Friary of Drogheda; 
but Nial garbh 0*Donnell, who was the Chief in 1422, and 
some succeeding years, maintained constant hostilities against 
the English, until having been taken prisoner in 1434, he was 
delivered to Sir Thomas Stanley^ the Ldrd Justice^ who sent 
him, in 1439, a captive to the Isle of Man; in order that he 
might be redeemed from the English, and a hundred marks 
were offered fot his ransom ; but he died while in captivity. 
Naghtan 0*Donnell, his brother, was appointed his successor/* 
In 1474, says the same annalists, ' the monastery of Donegal 
was founded by Hugh roe^ i.e*j the O'Donnell, son of Nial 
ffarbh and his wife Fionnuala, the daughter of Conor-na^sron 
O'Brien of Thomond. It was dedicated by them to God for 
the benefit of their souls, and for the purpose of forming a 
burial place for themselves and their posterity. 

In 1483 ' a great alliance was formed between Hugh roe 
O'Donnell and O'Neill, the former collected all the force of 
Tyrconnell and of North Connaught, and ONeill with aU his 
joining, they proceeded in battle array to Traghbally of 
Dundalk, which they plundered as well as the surrounding 

* Armak Four AHagteri. 


ooimtxy. The Earl of Ealdare, Lord Jostioef went in pnnuit 
with a great army of the English and overtook them, but 
thej were defeated vriih great loss ; on O'Donnell'a side, Mao 
Qoilkn and the son of Torlogh Cairach O'Conor were killed. 
O'Donnell afterwards maidied to Louth, where he received 
presents and payments from the inhabitants fi»r protecting and 
sparing their town« Thence, returning through Tyrone, he 
spoiled and burned the country, in every direction, through 
which he passed, until he arrived at the great river {sembU 
the BladkWater)i Hia forces cut and cleared their way 
through very dense and impassable woods, which were along 
the banks of that river, so as to make an easy pass for his 
forces;. he then (Commanded his men to oonstroct strong 
wooden bridges serosa the river, by which the whole of his 
forces, both horse and foot, crossed the stream, without dither 
a man or horse being drowned ; after which they let the 
bridge down the stream, and their enemies could do nothing 
but behold them from the opposite side« 0*Donnell then 
returned home with triumph and victory.* Jn twelve years 
after. Con, son of the above mentioned ' Hugh roe O'Donnell 
laid siege to Sligo, which Owen O'Conor with the dans of 
M'Dermott and M'Donough sought to relieve, but O'Donnell, 
aided by Owen O'Buarc, Tanist of Brefiiey, confronted him 
at Ballysadare, when at the very commencement c^ the action, 
the O'Donnell (Hugh roe), who had just returned from 
Scotland, remaining but a night at his fortress of Donegal, 
proceeded to ud his son, and his presence secured the victory.* 
In 1494 Hugh O'Donnell, the recognised Prince of 
Tyrconnel, was recdved with great honour by James the 
Fourth of Scotland, at Glasgow;* and Pinkerton, in his 

* Can^. Thes. Sootue* 



Scotland^ mentions a correspondence between those indivi- 
duala as extant. In 1499 this Hugh 'went on amicable 
terms towards the English, to paj a visit to the King of 
Engknd*8 representaliye,' after which he led a hostile expedi- 
tion into Mojlnrg, and compelled the M'Dermott to restore 
to his custody the celebrated cathaUf containing the psalter of 
Columbldlle, with much prej, property, and tribute. Soon 
afterwards he joined the Lord Justice in that attack on Clan- 
ricard which led to the battle and their victory at Knocktow. 
He died in 1505 at the advanced age of 78, and was buried in 
the Monastery of Donegal. In the early part of that year he 
had gone on a pilgrimage to Rome, going and returning 
through London, where he was on both occasions entertained 
with great honour by King Henry the Seventh. 

At the justs, with Eling. Henry the Eighth, held in 1511 
at Westminster, in honour of the birth of a Prince, Hugh 
dubh, the son of. Hugh roe O'Donnell received the honour of 
Knighthood; yet this monarch is shown soon after to have 
taken tUnbrage at the friendly intercourse which was main- 
tained between the 0*Donnells and the Kings of Scotland.^ 
Nor would such jealousy seem wholly groundless, as, accord- 
ing to the Masters, this Hugh dtibhj also on the invitation of 
the King of Scotland, ' sailed for that country with some 
attendants, and, having arrived there, received great honours 
and presents from the King. Having remained there with 
him, he advised the King not to come to Ireland, as he 
Intended^ and O'Donnell returned home, aftier having en* 
countered great perils at sea.* In 1516 the Castle oi Sligo wafir 
taken by him, under interesting circumstances, detailed by the 
Masters, who commemorate with glowing eulogy his death 

* EW9 Letters^ ^d ser., vol 1, p. 224. 


in the monasteiy of Donegal, * having previously taken upon 
him the habit of St. Francis, repented his transgressions and 
faults, and done penance for his sins and the fnulties of his life ; 
and he was buried in the same monastery with great honour 
and solemnity, which were his due. A man to whom rents 
and tributes had been paid by other territories, over which he 
had jurisdiction and power, such as Moylurg, Maghera- 
Connaught, Clan-Conway (in Gralway), Costello-Gallen, 
Tyrawley and Conmaicne-Cuile (in Mayo), as well as in East 
O'Cahane's County (Derry), the Boutes and Claneboy/ 

In 1529 Boderic O'Donnel was Bishop of Derry. In 
three years after, O^Donnel covenanted with Sir William 
Skeffington that, if the King wished to reform Ireland, of 
which it would seem the Irish chief entertained some doubt, 
he and his people would gladly be governed by the laws of 
England.* In 1537 Manw, son of the above Hugh dubh 
O'Donnell, succeeded to the Chiefiy, Dr, O'Donovan, in his 
memoir before alluded to, says that this Manns married four 
times, and had by two of these wives a numerous issue. In 
1567 Hugh O'Donnell was knighted by Sir Henry Sydney; 
in the following year he became chief of his Sept, and was 
£either of Hugh roe 0*Donnel, who was treacherously carried 
off from Donegal in the time of Sir John Perrot's goyem- 
ment, and, to the discredit and injury of the English interest, 
was confined in the Castle of Dublin, whence he twice made 
his escape. On the last occasion, he kindled a war in his 
native territory, which expelled the English from the Castle 
of Denial, and regained his whole country from them, with 
such acts of implacable hostility as the recollection of his 
own suffering stimulated. He was in truth an extraordinaiy 

• J)aini^9 Hia BeL, p. 52. 


xDan, of talents, courage, literary acquirements, and personal 
attractions that projected him to the admiration of his age. 
Betham, in the first part of his Antiquarian Researches^ 
furnishes very fully, from an Irish manuscript, his history 
and achievements. In 1601, with the flower and strength of 
Ulster, he flew to co-operate with the Spaniards in the siege 
of Eansale, but was obliged to give up the cause by the 
precipitancy of the Spanish commander. The result is 
touchingly narrated by the Four Masters : 

'' After the Irish and the small party of the Spaniards, who 
were along with them at that time, of the King of Spain's 
people, had been defeated by the English at Kinsale, 0*Don- 
nell, Le,^ Hugh roe, was seized with great anger and anguish 
of mind, and could not repose for the space of three days and 
three nights afterwards, so that he despaired of relief: and 
the resolution he came to at the end of that time, tiirough the 
recommendation of O'Neill, though he advised it with reluc- 
tance, was to depart from Ireland and go to Spain, to King 
Philip the Third, to request more forces and succour firom 
him; for he was of opinion that the King of Spain was the 
most likely person to relieve him, and likewise the most 
disposed to aid all those who fought on behalf of the Boman 
Catholie religion; and moreover, on account of his alliance 
with the Irish, from their having origixiaUy come fi*om Spain 
to invade Ireland, as recorded in the book called ' the Booh of 
Invasions' Having determined on that resolution, the persons 
he selected to accompany him were Bedmond, the son of John 
Burke, Captain Hugh Mostyn son of Bobert; Flahery son 
of Fithil O'Maolconry, a worthy Father of the Order of St- 
Francis, and some others of his own faithful friends. When 
that resolution was made known to all in general, most 
mournful and melancholy were tine clapping of hands, the 

«••■*■■■■*•■*•«■«■■■■ aaaMMMWaMv M^VM^' 


ezoessive sorrowful weejnng and the load lamentotioiis and 
vailings, which preyailed throughout 0'Donnell*8 oamp ; and 
they had cause, for they did not ever again behold their leader 
and Lord of their country, to rule over themas Prince in the 
island of Eire. He took shipping at Casilehaven, and, after 
a voyage of eight days, debarked at Comnna, where was the 
Tower of Breogan, whence the sons of Milesius had made 
their expedition against Ireland. O'Donnell conridered his 
being landed there a &yoarable omen, and made a sol^am 
Tisit to the Tower, after which he proceeded to the King, 
who was then at Zamora in Casljle. His mission was not 
however successful. He died in 1602, and was bnried with 
great magnificence at Valkdolid. The mdependence, which 
the Irish chieftains so long upheld in Ulster was closed in 
1606, when a vessel, entering Lough SwiSy, carried off 
thence the Eari O'Neill with his Countess, namely Catherine, 
daughter of Magennis, her three sons Hugh the Baron, John 
and Bryan; Art oge^ son of Cormac, son of the Baron; 
Ferdorcha, son of Con, son of O'Neill ; Hugh oge^ son of 
Bryan, son of Art 0*N^ ; the Eari O'Donnell, U., Bory 
the son of Hugh roej deceased, with Cathbar his brother, his 
sister Nuala, and his son Hugh, who wanted three weeks of 
being a year old; also Cathbar's wife, Bose, daughter of the 
O'Doherty, and their son Hugh, aged two years and a quarter, 
tc^ether with a great number of his faithful friends. . . . 
It was on the festival of the Cross that they embarked, a 
distinguished company; for it is most certain that the sea has 
not borne n(x the wind wafted from Ireland in the latter 
times, & party in any one ^p, more ennnent, illustrious, and 
BoUe than they were in point of genealogy, or more dis- 
tinguished for great deeds and valorous adiievements, and 
would that Qod had granted them to remain in thdlr patri-^ 


monies, imtil their youths should arriye at the age of manhood. 
Woe to the heart that meditated, woe to the mind that 
planned, woe to the council that determined on the project, 
which caused the party, who went on that voyage, to depart, 
while they had no prospect to the end of their lives of 
returning safe to their hereditary estates/* Leland says that 
Hugh roe, on his retirement to Spain, was in that country 
every where received ' with all that pomp and magnificence, 
which is paid to blood Royal only.' The expatriation of 
those once powerful dynasts of Northern Ireland left the 
most valuable part of Ulster, upwards of 800,000 English 
acres, at the disposal of the Crown, which exercised its power 
in the memorable Plantation of that Province. 

King James, early in his reign, granted to Boderic 0*Don- 
nell, * brother to the arch-traitor Hugh O'Donnell, lately 
deceased in Spain,' the title and dignity of Earl of Tyrconnel, 
with remainder to his heirs male ; and, in defect thereof, to his 
brother Gralfred or Cafiry O'Donnell and his heirs male, with 
the title of Baron of Donegal to his heir apparent; making, 
at the same time, a more substantial grant to him, on like 
entails, of the territories or countries in the precinct of 
Tyrconnel, in as large and ample manner as his brother 
Hugh math O'Donnell, attainted, and dead in Spain, or his 
father Hugh Mc Manus O'Donnell, or his grandfather Manus 
Mc Donnell, or any other of his ancestors had enjoyed or 
possessed the same; reserving to the Crown all churches, 
abbeys, tithes, and certain castles ; also excepting all manors, 
lands, and estates which the Earl or any of his ancestors at 
any time possessed within O'Doghertie's country, and reserving 
also to the Crown the power of erecting forts on the premises 
80 granted.* 

*Rot. PaL 1, Jae, 1, in Cane. Hib. 
VOL. 11. O 


The Act of 1612, for the attainder of the Earl of Tyrone 
and his * accomplices,' included in its desolating penalties the 
above Cafiiy O'Donel, brother to the then late Earl of 
Tyrconnell, of Caffersoonse, County of Donegal; Cafiiy oge 
O'Donel of Strafollis, and Donell oge 0*Donel, late of Donegal 
in said County. It is however recorded that, in 1628, Cafiiy, 
son of Hugh, son of Gilladuff O'Donnell, died seised of part 
of Outerglyny in Donegal, Turlough, his son and heir, being 
then of full age and married. Some few years previously a 
pension of £400 per annum had been assigned to the Countess, 
wife of the late Earl of Tyrconnel, on which is retained, 
in AyeeougKa Catalogue^ the comment, 'This amiuity was 
granted in lieu of her jointure, which was of much more 
value. By her patent she should have been paid out of the 
customs ; she hath got no payment for some time, but hath 
often petitioned for it. This pension is all her maintenance.' 
The Kilkenny Assembly of the Confederate Catholics in 
1646 was attended by Hugh O'Donnell of Ramelton. In 
1655 died John O'Donnell, an officer in foreign service, 
considered the head of the family in his time ; he was father 
of Hugh the celebrated Balldearg hereafter alluded to. 

Of this Sept was Daniel O'Donnell, who, in December, 
1688, was appointed Captidn of a Company in the Boyal 
service, and in 1689 was authorised to rank and act as a 
Colonel. After the capitulation of Limerick, he passed over 
to France, where he succeeded Colonel Nicholas Fitz-Gerald 
in the command of his Ke^ment. He served with this corps 
in France, Germany, Italy, and Flanders, and, having attained 
the rank of Brigadier, retired to St. 6ermains-en>Laye, where 
he died in 1735, in the seventieth year of his age.* 

* CCaOaghanU IrUik Brigades^ toL 1, p. 221. 



The achieyements of Brigadier Balldearg ruadh O'Donnell 
in this war are of peculiar interest. The Irish, pladng fiuth 
in an ancient prophecy, were willing to believe that he would 
deliver their country firom the English yoke. "He was/' 
(writes Colonel O'Kelly in the Exddiwn Macaruxy pp. 125-6, 
&c.) " heir presumptive to the second Prince of Ulster, that 
O'Donnell who, at the dose of Queen Elizabeth's reign, 
retired into Spain, where he died without issue. His brother 
also died there, but leaving one son, who was carried off 
by nckness in the flower of his age ; whereupon Balldearg, 
being next of kin, went into Spain, where he was received 
with honour by the King, and established in the dignity and 
employment theretofore filled by his kinsman. It was at this 
time that he made his will, full particulars of which have 
been kindly communicated by Dr^O'Donovan, in translation, t 
It was executed at Madrid, on the 9th April, 1674; and he 
thereby appointed his broths Connell, heir to his House and 
property, with' remainder to Ins issue male, remainders to 
Dominick, Hugh, John, Neill, Michael, and Daniel O'Donell 
successively in tail mail; and, in fiulure of all their such issue, 
to Manus O'Donell and the hdrs male of his body ; failing r^ 
which, to whoever can prove himself to be the next heir male 
to the testator, and in definilt of all these, he desired that his 
fortune should be applied to found a Jesxdt Convent in Spain 

for Irish students. ^Of this testament Balldearg appointed 

the then Catholic Primate, Dr. Oliver Plunket, the Earl of 

Tyrone, his own brother (said Connell), and two others, j^/ .^{^ ;>4^ 

Executors. In this instrument the Testator styled himself 

'Hugh O'Ponnel, Earl of Tyrconnel, (bom in Donegal in 

Ireland, and lawful son respectively of the late John QlP onnel 1 

and Catherine O'Bourke his lawfiil wife), now being in this 

capital (Madrid) and about, as Captain of Cavahy in the 

service of His Majesty, to set out for Catalonia,' &c., &c. ^ ^ 


After serving several years in the Spanish wars against 
France, when he heard of the Prince of Orange's invasion of 
England, and James's return to Ireland, he solicited fiom the 
Spanish court permission to quit service there, in order to 
serve his own King and country ; but, being unable to obtain 
his discharge, by reason that the Irish and thdr Ejng were 
then strictly leagued with Louis the Fourteenth, he left Spain 
without any license, and arrived at Kinsale after the engage- 
ment on the Boyne. The King recommending him to 
Tyrconnel, he gave him the command of the new levies 
raised by the inhabitants of Ulster, who were then 
retired into Connaught; but afforded him ndther arms nor 
maintenance ; and, observing soon after that O'Donnel grew 
popular among the old Irish, and especially with the natives 
of Ulster, who superstitiously believed him to be the pro- 
phesied deliverer of Ireland, he took from him some of the 
new legions, whom he incorporated in the standing army, 
leaving him and the rest without any manner of subsistence, 
but what they were forced to extort firom the country. He 
also encouraged the nobles of Ulster, and even the officers 
of his own Brigade to oppose him, in order to suppress his 
aspiring mind, and render him contemptible to the people; 
but his chiefest aim was to breed jealousies between him and 
Brigadier Gh)rdon O'N^, who was descended firom the first 
Prince of Ulster; for he apprehended (and perhaps he had 
reason) that if the forces of Ulster, all composed of old Irish, 
were united together, they might easily obstruct his dedgn 
to reduce Ireland under the jurisdiction of William the 
Thirds in order to preserve there the English interest, which 
is held so sacred by those of England, and even by some 
natives of Ireland deriving their extraction thence (whereof 
Tyrconnel was himself one). O'Donnel was at that time 

I \i3 Ll. iLiBiiiljUl LI l"^JWIJ_-i' ' ■ilii'.wwiiiwiiwiMillMllll ^11 .1 W, I.I im.ll I !± L'JLli ._ IJ' Ulll"Wf J" I "f 


EABL OF Antrim's enpantet. 197 

posted at Jamestown, to defend the Shannon on that side ; 
and, when De Grinkell forced over a passage at Athlone, 
he had orders sent to him in all haste to march straight to 
Gralwaj ; but, to satisfy Tyrconnel and those of his party, 
who loudly declared that to entrust a person, of his credit 
among the andent Irish, with a place of that consequence, 
was in effect to abrogate the Boyal authority in Ireland; the 
first orders were coimtermanded, and he was bid to dispose 
of his men into several posts for the defence of the western 
parts of Connaught." 

After the &tal day of Aughrim, Balldearg was ordered 
to gather in his scattered force with the object of stiiengthen- 
ing Gfalway. The enemy, however, had taken measures to 
prevent his throwing succour into that town. Its surrender 
dedded BaDdearg's course, and in August, 1691, he, accord- 
ing to Story,* negotiated with De Ginkell's agent to go over 
to the cause of King William, provided he might have the 
men, he brought over with him, admitted to pay, in order 
to serve his Majesty in Flanders or dsewhere, and that him- 
self should be created Earl of Tyrconnel, a title to which 
he claimed an ancestral right; he likewise required that 
£2,000 should be given to him. '* The Greneial," adds Story, 
'* thought it politic to consent to some of O'DonneFs pro- 
positions, and firom the following Christmas he and Colonel 
Henry Luttrel received each a yearly pension of £500. Of 
his doings in September, 1691, in the country between Sligo 
and Boyle, see the Annals of Boyle, vol. 1. Ultimately, 
" with about 1200 of his own men, he joined 800 of the 
WUliamite Ulster forces, and then joined Lieutenant-General 
Arthur Forbes, Earl of Granard, with 5,000 more Williamite 

* Story's ImparL Hut pt XL, p. 182. 


militia and a tndn of artillery from Leinster, that were com- 
missioned to reduce Sir Teague O'Begaa in Sligo/'* The 
Memoirs of James the Second speak very dispara^gly of 
Balldearg, as that '^ he had set up for a sort of independent 
commander; and, having got together no less than eight 
Begiments newly raised, with a crowd of loose men over 
and above, he lived in a manner at discretion, so that those 
troops were in effect but a rabble, that destroyed the country, 
ruined the inhabitants, and prevented the regular forces from 
drawing that subsistence, they might othemise have had 
from the people.'^ A very intelligent antiquarian, who has 
devoted much attention to such manuscript evidences relating 
to Ireland, as he could discover on the Continent, considers 
/X that the conduct of Balldearg in this war has been much 
misrepresented. He writes that sometime after the capitula- 
tion of Limerick, Balldearg retired to Spain, and joining 
the Spanish army in Piedmont in 1692, served three years 
therein ; when returning to Madrid he was appointed a 
, Spanish Major-General in 1695. He was living in 1703, 
about which time he died without issue. Connell, the 
aforesaid brother of Balldearg, was ancestor of the O'Donnells 
of Larkfidd and Greyfield. 

At the battle of Aughrim, a Major O'Donnell was killed. 
The Attainders of 1691 present the names of Andrew and 
Thomas O'Donnell of Maheraneawley, and James Donnell 
of Ballynehinny in Armagh ; the above Manus, described 
as of Boylagh in Donegal, Esq. ; Cafl^, Hugh, Turlough, 
and Eugene of the same locality; Daniel oge of Castlelaven, 
with Cormack and Bryan O'Donnell of Forhugh, all ixk 

^ C^CkJhghmCs Bhcddkan Macark^ p. 14, &c. 
t Clark^s James IL^ voL 2, p. 434. ^ 


Don^al. The Captain Manus here under consideration was 
the grandson of another Manus, who was a Colonel in the 
army of the Confederate Catholics under Owen Boe O'Neill. 
Thia Captain married a daughter of Maguire of Tempo, by 
whom he had issue three sons, Charles, Manus, and Hugh. 
His will was proved in the diocese of Tuam in 1737, but it 
cannot now be found. Charles O'Connor in his ^ IHe8ertation8 
on the Arudent HUtory of Ireland^ published in 1753, says, 
these three sons of Manus were all then living and *• worthy of 
such a parent and of such ancestors.' Charles the eldest of 
this issue died in 1770, leaving three sons. Hu eldest son, 
Manus, bom in 1713, entered the Austrian service at an 
early age, as Dr. O'Donovan relates, and was created a Count 
by the Empress Maria Theresa. He died in 1793 at the age 
of 80, as appears by the family tomb at Straid Abbey in 
Mayo, leaving by his wife only one daughter. Con, the 
second son of the above Charles, died unmarried. Le¥nis, the 
third son, also engaged in the Austrian service, but having 
married in the County of Mayo, he died there, leaving three 
sons, the youngest of whom, Lewis, according to Dr. ODono- 
van, succeeded to his father's property on the deaths of the 
two elder without issue. He died and was buried at Ostend 
in 1841, leaving issue one son, Charles,*and three daughters. 
Manus the second son of the officer whose name heads this 
notice died in 1797, without male issue. Hugh, his third 
and youngest son, styled of Newport, having married Miss 
Browne of Brownestown, had issue by her five sons and 
three daughters. Of those sons four died unmarried. Neal, 
who was the third son, was created a Baronet in 1780; and, 
dying in 1811, left Sir Neal, his eldest surviving son, third 
Baronet, from whom the honour has descended to the present ; 
Sir Richard Annesley O'Donnell. 


Dr. O'Donovan has, in an appendix to his Edition of the 
Four Masters, drawn up forty-four pages exclusively illus- 
trating, by most valuable details, the special branchy of this 
noble house, as well in Ireland as in Spain and Austria; and 
£rom its authority much of this O'Donnell memoir has been 
derived. MATimilian Count O'Donnell, of Vienna, is con- 
sidered the present head of the Austrian O'Donnells. 


This seems to have been one of the fiunilies introduced into 
Ulster by the Plantation. In 1642 was attainted John 
Magill, described in his outlawry as of Naptown, County of 
Dublin ; he was, however, a conaideiable landed proprietor in 
Down, and, on the holding of the Commisdon respecting the 
confiscations of that period, was adjudged an * innocent Pro- 
testant.* In 1660 he was Sheri£P of that County, and, as 
relied upon in his petition to tiie Irish House of Conmions in 
1665, he had' relieved several of his Majesty's Officers and 
good subjects, while he alleged that he was of English extrac- 
tion, a Protestant from his youtii, and always opposed to the 
* rebels' in Ireland. His innocence was tiiereupon fully 
recognised by the House; and, in tiie following year, he 
obtained a confirmatory grant of various lands in Down, 
subject to certain existing leases and mortgages; and soon 
after a more foil and disencumbered titie to 7,113 acres in 
that county (which, having descended to his grandson John 
Ma^ll, were created the Manor of Gill-ford) ; he was attainted 
in King James's Parliament of 1689, but, as that denunciation 
was ineffective, his descendants continued to inherit his estate 


to the time of Queen Anne, and the name is yet on the Roll 
of Magistrates in three or four Ulster Counties. In 1667 
Captains Hugh and James MacGill had confirmatory patents 
of lands in Wicklow and Longford, as trustees for the (1649) 
officers. On the attainders of 1691, this Arthur Magill is 
styled of the City of Dublin, Esq., and also of Cameidlanagh 

in Antrim. In Colonel Cormuck O'Neill's In&ntry, 

Magill was an Ensign. 


Of this surname, three, John, Cormuck, and Connor Yaughan, 
described as of Callebeg, County Cork, were attainted in 
1643 ; while in 1696 Charles Yaughan of Moneyvansheare, 
in said county, was outlawed, together with Edward Yaughan 
of Gralway, and Thomas of the same place, merchant. On the 
roll of those who had adjudications as of the * 1649' Officers, 
appear the names of Captains Henry, James, and Thomas 


PiEBCE Sexton of Ballynedogh and Bobert Sexton of Bally- 
golleroe, in Kildare, were attainted in 1642, as was Patrick 
Sexton, styled of Kilbride, in Wexford, in 1691, most 
probably the above officer. The name is of record in Ireland 
from the fourteenth century. At a later period it was chiefly 
located in Limerick; where, in 1640, Christopher Sexton 
had livery of premises, as brother and heir of Nicholas Sexton 

(see also ante vol. 1, p. 166). Captain Bandolph ' Sexton* 

was one of the ' 1649 ' Officers. 

uw*— — e—p»i— gat—ihMfcMi* i -f .1— i^Ma 

202 KING James's ibish abmt list. 


The earliest Irish Annalists record the high antiquity of this 
Sept, giving them the title of Elings of West Brefnej, a terri- 
tory which, in modem parlance, comprised the whole County 
of Leitrim, with the Barony of Tullaghagh, County of Cavan, 
and a portion of that of Carbury, County of Sligo; the same 
authority sets down some of the race as Kings of Connaught 
on the first use of the surname. Tieman O'Bourke was King 
of Brefhey and Conmacne at the time of the English invasion, 
an event which is popularly attributed to the seduction of his 
wife by Dermot Mac Murrough. His death is thus recorded 
by the Pour Masters at 1172, * Tieman O'Rourke, Lord of 
Brefney and Conmacne, for a long time a very powerful 
chieftain, was treacherously slain at Tlachgoe (near Athboy), 
by Hugh de Lacy and Donal, son of Annadh O'Bourke, one 
of his own tribe. He was beheaded and ignominiously carried 
to Dublin; his head was placed over the town gate, and his 
body was gibbeted, with his feet upwards, on the north side 
of the city, a woeful spectacle to the Irish.' His wife, the 
unfortunate Dervorgilla, died in 1193, at the Monastery of 
Mellefont. In 1376, say the Masters, died Tdigue O'Bourke, 
Lord of Bre&ey, when Tieman, his son, assumed the 

In 1580, according to the same authority, ' The O^Bourke, 
t. e. Bryan, the son of Bryan, son of Owen, having resisted 
the English in the harvest of this year, Sir Nicholas Malby 
marched to attack him; 0*Bourke thereupon sent all his 
women and people over Slieve-an-Erin, and demolished the 
Castle of Leitrim, before the coming of Sir Nidiolas. He 


afterwards burned and plundered the woody district between 
the rivers Suck and Shannon. Nevertheless, on the occasion 
of Sir John Perrot's Conciliation Parliament, *' thither went 
the chief of Gbdrbhthrian (t. e. the rough districts) of Con- 
naught, namely O'Bourke, Captain of West Breihey , t. e. the 
aforesaid Bryan ; " but this imfortunate chief, having hospitably 
received the crew of some of the Armada vessels, which were 
cast on his shores, incurred the jealousy of Queen Elizabeth, 
and was by the Lord President driven into Scotland, where 
he was seized by the government there, delivered to Elizabeth, 
and afterwards executed in London as a traitor* 

Li 1604 Ejng James granted to Thadeus or Teigue 
CBourke, '* only legitimate son of Sir Bryan O'Bourke,*" 
various Lordships and Manors in '^ 0*Rourke*s territory. 
County of Leitrim,'* which had preyiously belonged to Sir 
Bryan O'Bourke, and which had been by him, according to 
the policy of the day, surrendered by Sir John Perrot, with 
the object of obtaining a re-grant thereof in tail male. King 
James's grant is stated to comprise 166 quarters of land, 
with castles, manors, advowsons, &c., the patentee to hold 
same thenceforth at knight's service when required, and 
presenting to the Lord Deputy yearly at Easter, "a fair 
chief horse, and a piece of gold with the words ' serviendo 
gvhemcf engraved thereon.'* f At the supreme Council of 
Kilkenny in 1646, Hugh O'Bourke of Cooncrena was one 
of the Commons. The Act of Explanation (1665) sai^ 
the rights of this Ensign Con O'Bourke to his estates in the 
County of Leitrim; and in 1680 Brian O'Bourke had a 
confirmatoiy grant of 405 acres in Mayo. 

Besides the Officer here noticed Bourke was a 

* LdamSt Ireland^ toL 2, p. 322. f Pat. RoU in Chancery^ temp. Jas 1. 


Captain in Fitz-James's Regiment of Infantry, and Midiael 
Rourke an Ensign in Colonel Henry Dillon's. The Attain- 
ders of 1696 comprise the names of Brian, son of Frands 
O'Rourke of Ghdovrea, Brian oge O'Bourke of Camegreve, 

Terence, son of Brian O'Boorke of Lallagh, Bonrke, 

son of Con O'Bourke, and Thady and John O'Bourke of 
Dungebb, all in the County of Leitrim. 

The name appears frequently distinguished in the service 
of foreign Potentates of Europe; as in Count Owen O'Bourke 
of the Austrian army in the time of Maria Theresa; Count 
John,* a commander in the armies of Russia, Poland, and 
France, between the years 1760 and 1780; and another 
Count Owen, who was married to a neice of Field-Marshal 

* See of him, TTafiberV EHbemim Mag, fir 1782, p. 144, 4kc. 






The ColoneL 

Thomaa Nugent, 

Bichard Keagle, 

James Magrath. 
Edward Butler. 

Joseph Comerford. 
Valentiiie Walsh. 

James Power. 

Francis Cndoe. 

Lord CastleoosmeL 

John Byrne. 


Piers WaUh. 

Donumck Feniter. 

Andrew Bice. 


Edmimd Fitzgerald. 

Nicfa<das Stafford. 

Joseph *Neagle.* 

{John Power. 
Bichard Fitzgerald. 

John Power. 

> David Power. 
Garrett BosselL 

> James Bryan. Denis Bryan. 

Lewis Bryan. Peter Aylward. 

{ISSwtoSSr^ }jobn Power. 

J«i<»P»rton. {5S«^S?"^ 


John Madden. Thomas Power. 

Kicholas Mmphy. Piers Dohbins. 

Edmnnd Fitcgerald. William CanolL 


Michael Mmphy. 

Thomas Power. Frands Garvan. 

Bobert Walsh. Bobert Barry. 

William Walsh, CA^pfain. 
—^ Comerford, SurgwiL 



On the inyasion of Lreland the Earl, commonly styled 
'Strongbow/ conferred upon Robert le Poer the territory 
of Waterford, excepting therefirom the City and the 
cantred of the Ostmen, or Danes,* whom the inyaders 
found settled there, and in good policy encouraged as 
merchants. At the dose of the thirteenth centuiy, when the 
Earl of Desmond refused to attend a parliamentary summons, 
the Lord Deputy raising the King*s standard, marched into 
Munster, seized his possessions and executed Eustace le Poer, 
one of his chief adherents.f Amongst the Irish Magnates 
and Captains who, in 1314, accompanied Edward the Second 
from Ireknd in his expedition against Scotland, were John 
le Poer, Arnold le Poer, and Peter le Poer, Knight. Li 1320 
Meyler le Poer was Bishop of Leighlin, as was Robert Poer, 
of Waterford and Lismore in 1446. Li 1375 Nicholas le 
Poer was summoned to Parliament as Baron le Poer, as he 
was on three subsequent occasions; Richard his son was 
created Baron of Curraghmore. Sir Henry Sydney in 
reporting his inspection of the Province of Munster in 1575, 
writes of this locality and its Lord: 'The day I departed 
from Waterford, I lodged that night at Curraghmore, the 
house that Lord Power is baron of; where I was so used and 
with such plenty and good order entertained as (adding to it 
the quiet of all the country adjoining, by the people called 
Power*s country, for that surname has been, since the begin- 
ning of the Englishmens' planting inhabitants there), it may 

* Sir John DoMs BisL ReL, p. 60. f l<lein, p. 89. 


be well compared with the best inhabitants of the English 
Pale. And the lord of the country, though he be of scope 
of ground, a far less territory than his neighbour is, yet he 
lives in show &r more honorably and plentifully than he or 
any other, whatsoever he be, of his calling, that lives in this 
Province.' This nobleman had a subsequent grant of license 
to hold fairs and markets at Kilmacthomas ; and at the time 
of his death, in 1607, his eldest son being a minor, his 
wardship was committed to his mother Helen, Countess of 
Ormond. In 1609 John, son and heir of William Power of 
Tramore, deceased, had livery of his estate ; as had William, 
son and heir of Peter Power, late of Elilballykilto. In 1614 
King James granted to Sir William Power, otherwise le Peer 
of Ejlbolan, and to the Lady Ellen his wife, the manor of 
EHbolan, with markets, fairs, courts, leet and baron, with 
large tracts in Cork, Kerry, and Limerick Counties ; and in 
1617 Walter, son and heir of Ed. Poer of Ballimelally, 
County Waterford, had similar livery of his estate. The 
attainders of 1641 include David, the son of John Power 
described as ^of Prowhus, Edmond edicts Naghton Power of 
Dromenyne, and Robert Power of Castletown, all in the 
County of Cork. The Supreme Council of Kilkenny in 
1646 had David 'Poer' of Clonmore and John Power of 
Kilmacdan amongst its members. Colonel Milo and Major 
Soger Power appear amongst the '1649' recorded OflScers, 
while the declaration of Boyal gratitude in the Act of Settle- 
ment particularly notices Mr. David 'Powre' of Eilbolan, 
and Captain Edmund Power of Inch, County of Cork. 

In 1673 Richard, the above Colonel, and lineal male 
representative of the Lords of Curraghmore, was created 
Viscount of Dedes and Earl of Tyrone. At the close of the 
year 1681 however he incurred the fearful suspicion of the 


English Parliament, as one connected vdth the 'horrid Popish 
Plot,* and a motion was made in the Commons that he be 
impeached of High Treason ;* he however was placed in 1687 
on the establishment for a pension of £300 per anvum^ 
sat in the Parliament of 1689, and in September 1690 
was one of the Irish parties, who negotiated the terms for 
surrendering Cork to Colonel Churchhill,t subsequentlj 
Duke of Marlborongh. He died soon after, as did John the 
second Earl, in 1693 unmarried, when the honours devolved 
upon his brother James, who, having married, died in 1703, 
leaving the Lady Catherine Poer his heiress; but the Earl- 
dom expired with him. In 1711 Anne, Countess of Tyrone, 
widow of Earl James, in behalf of herself and daughter (said 
Lady Catherine, then a minor), obtained the authority of an 
Act of Parliament to enable her, during her life, or such as 
may on her decease be the guardian of said Lady Catherine, 
to make leases for 31 years of the estates devised by the late 
Earl James to her and her daughter. This Lady Catherine, 
having in 1717 married Sir Marcus Beresford (the descendant 
of Tristram Beresford, who came over on the Plantation of 
Ulster, as manager for the Corporation of Londoners, com- 
monly styled the Irish Sodety), he was raised to the Peerage 
in 1720, as Baron Beresford of Cavan and Viscount Tyrone, 
and, in 26 years after, was cheated Earl of Tyrone. His 
descendant was further advanced in 1789 to the Marquisate 
of Waterford. 

Besides this Colonel, John Power was Lieutenant-Colonel 
in Lord Ealmallock's In&ntry; as was James Power in Sir 
Michael Creagh^s. The name was also commissioned on 

* Memoirs oflrekend^ 1716, p. 34. 
t iSitof^'f /n^Kir^ iKMOf^, pt L, p. 143. 


Tjrroonners Horse, on Sir Francis Carroll's Dragoons, and 
on Lords Kenmare's, Clancartj's and Gralway's, Edward 
Butleir's and Dudley Bagnall's respectiye Regiments of 
In&ntry. In the Parliament of 1689, while the above Earl 
sat amongst the Peers, John Power was in the Commons, 
one of the representatives of the County of Waterford; as 
was John Power of Ealbolan for the Borough of Charleville. 
The Attainders of 1691 include this Earl of Tyrone with the 
aforesaid John Power of Elilbolan, three others in Cork, four 
in Carlow, three in Gralway, one in Clare, and thirty^one in 
Waterford. On tiie formation in France of the Brigade 
Regiment styled <of Dublin,* this John Power was appointed 
Colonel, while another John Power, the Lieutenant-Colonel 
it would seem of Sir Michael Creagh's, had the same rank 
under him. 

In 1703 John Power, ^commonly called Lord Power/ 
petitioned Queen Anne, setting forth that '^during the late 
calamitous limes he was kind and serviceable to divers 
Protestants, especially in Limerick during the siege, he being 
then Mayor of the dty; that he had gone to France and was 
in the army there, when encouragement having been given to 
him by the late King William, he quitted that country, 
though offered a Major-Generalship if he remained ; that the 
sudden death of that King retarded his interest, but her 
Majesty having given him license to return, he gave up his 
son to be educated a Protestant, the Queen allowing a yearly 
nuuntenance for his education ; and that she gave himself an 
appointment to go and serve the 'King of Portugal, her ally. 
That, during his absence from the kingdom, he was outlawed 
as for treason, though, as he relied, he had neither real nor 
personal property that could accrue to the Crown by his 
outlawry. That however, by a recent Act of Parliament such 
voii. n. P 


attunder could not be cleared awaj, bat only by another 
Act, the benefit of which he therefore prajed. In the 
Civil Establishment of 1727 the name of Henry Power, 
commonly called Lord Power, appears for a grant of £550 
per aiMium^ althoogh a fieport of the Irish Commons' Com* 
mittee in 1715 said, that this pension was granted to a person 
of suspected principles in London. This Henry, as appears 
by another petition in 1717, of Sir Marcos Beresford (the 
husband of Lady Catherine) claimed her estates as next Kevr 
male of her &ther. The attempt was however denounced as 
' bold and dangerous.' The claimant died in 1742, and was 
buried in the vault of St Matthew's, Biiigsend, County 


Obtelitjs'b Map locates this family in the Barony of Shel- 
bume in Wexford, it was established also in the adjoining 
Counties of Waterford and Kilkenny. In 1358 John ' Que- 
merfoid' was one of those whom the King appointed to 
assess and collect a subsidy over the latter county in idd of 
the war against Art Kavanagh. In that century Patrick 
Freny (French) died seised of premises in Kilkenny, to a 
portion of which Ellen Freny succeeded as one of his 
oo-heireases ; she afterwards married Richard Comerford 
senior, who was &ther of Richard the younger, whose son 
and heir Thomas Comerford died in 1558, seised of the manor, 
castle, and town of Ballyburr, leaving Richard his s<m and 
heir, then aged 24 and married. It was by a daughter of 
this Kohard that John, brother of the last Earl of Desmond, 

^HPj^lj^jjUP^^gijUqUmipi^ggp^jUB^^^^p^^^^^^^'^'^^'^HI^pi— ai p III I iiw 


had an only son Gkrald, who retired with his &ther to Spain^ 
where, after the death of Earl James, they bore the title of 
Counts of Desmond in sncoession, until Gerald's death in 
Germany, s* p. 

In the Corporate History of Waterford this name appears 
frequently on the roll of Mayors from 1432 to the Be^olution. 
In the reign of Queen Elizabeth Grarret Comerford was one of 
the CounsellOTS appointed by the Lord Deputy, 1^ Charles 
Blount, to be assistant to the Lord President of Munster in 
the discharge of his arduous duties; his aetangs in which trust 
are repeatedly noticed in the Pacata Hibemia, He ranked 
as second Justice of Munster, and was in 1603 advanoed to 
be the second Baron of the Irish Exchequer. In the following 
year, he died sdsed in fee of the manor of Inchol^an, with 
the advowson thereto belonging, in the County of Ejlkenny ; 
leaving Fulke Comerford his son and heir, then of full age 
but not married. This Fulke died in 1622, Gerald, his son 
and heir being then only eleven years of age. In 1607 
Thomas Comerford, of Callan, had a grant of sundry mes- 
suages and gardens in that town or within its liberties; and 
in 1617 Thomas Comerford had Uvery, ^B son and heir of 
James Comerford of Ballymacka in Kilkenny; he was 
subsequently seised of Garryricken, and died in 1635, 
leaving James junior, his son and heir, then aged 21, In 
1624 Richard Comerford of Denginmore in the County 
Kilkenny died, seised of the manor of Blackcastle in Meaih, 
with sundiy other castles and lands, Ac., Edmund kia son 
and heir died in five years after, Thomas, his son and heir, 
being then of full age and married. Pierce Comerford, 
described as of Man^, County of Wicklow^ is the only 
individual of the name who appears on the Boll of the 1642 
attainders. At the Supreme Council of the Confederate 

212 KDra james's iBigH abkt list. 

Catholics (1646, &c.), Dr. Patrick Comerford, then Bonuui 
Catholic Bishop of Waterford, sat as one of the spiritoal Peers, 
while Edward Comerford of Callan was of the Commons. 

On this Army List, besides the above Captein Joseph, 
there are commissioned, in Colonel Thomas Butler's Foot, 
Michaek Comerford a Lieutenant, and James and Garret 
Ensigns; and in Colonel Dudley Bagnall's, John Comerford 
was an Ensign. On the Attsdnders of 1691 are four, of 
proprietors within the County of Kilkenny, vdth Thomas 
Comerford of Ennisoorthy, During the wars of the Spanish 
Succesnon, John Comerford was distinguished as Colonel of 
an Lish Begiment of In&ntry in the Army of Philip the 
Fifth; and there were several gallant officers of the name, 
bdonging to the Lnsh Brigades in the service of Ftanoe. 


* The earliest representatives of this name in Ireland were/ 
writes O'Callaghan,* * two noble men in the time of Henry 
the Second, viz., Philip Walsh distinguished for his gallantry 
in 1174, in a naval engagement against the Danes at Cork, 
by boarding the ship of their Admiral, Turgesius, and slaying 
his son Gilbert; and David Walsh, who signalized himself in 
the following year at the crossing of the Shannon, when 
Baymond le Gros attacked Limerick. From this Philip and 
David sprang the Walshes of Castiehowel in the County 
of Kilkenny, (where a range of mountams is stiU known by 
their name) ; of Ballykileavan in the Queen's County; of 

* Brigadet^ voL 1, pp. iSO-I. 



Ballyrickmore in Waterford ; of GraugUabeg in Tipperary ; 
of Oldcourt and Old Connaught in Wicklow, and of Camck«> 
mines in Dublin Counties. 

In the reign of Edward the Third, John, son of Bartholo- 
mew ' the Walsh,* had letters of pardon and protection dated 
at Kilmallock ; as had John, son of Bichard, son of William 
Walsh at Clomnel. Gregory Walsh of Anath was in 1356 
the assessor of a subsidy off the County of Cork, about which 
time William Walsh, dying seised of Killmorin in that 
County, David his son and heir succeeded thereto. Thomas 
Walsh was then appointed to assess a hosting on Tipperary. 
A remarkable appeal of John Walshe ' of the island,' in 1376, 
from the Conmstory of Cork to the Prerogative of Cashel, is 
of record in the Bolls of Chancery. In nine years after 
King Bichard ' granted * to Nicholas, son of John Walsh, 
and to Philip lesagh Walsh, that they ' might chastise ' the 
malefactors of their sept, and parley with the Bong's enemies 
in the County of E^ilkenny. In 1401 Peter ' Walsche ' was 
a Justice in eyre<, as was Nicholas Walsche in 1409. Another 
Nicholas was Sheriff of the County of Waterford in 1414 ; 
at which time Boger Walsh was one of three commissioners 
appointed 'to enquire concerning the underground obstruc- 
tions, that affected the course of the Poddle river, and caused 
the Cathedral of St. Patrick's to be flooded and wasted.' In 
1431 Henry, son and heir of William Walsh deceased, 
petitioned the King, setting forth that his &ther, said Wil- 
liam, had, some years previously, a grant of the lands of 
BaUyhawIey, &c., in tail male, and he prayed a confirmation 
of such his inheritance. In 1441 Henry Walsh, styled of 
Carrickmayne (probably the Henry of tiie last notice) had a 
Treasury ' liberate ' for his services and great expenses, in 
refflsting the enemy on the marches of the County Dublin 

214 KING jajieb's ibish abmy ubt. 

In 1587 the Queen, by letters under the Ptitj Seal, 
commanded that NicholaB Wabh, who had been Chief Justioe 
of Munster, and was then Second Justice of the Bench in 
Dublin, should be sworn of Her Majesty's PriTy CoundL 
He was subsequently, in 1603, promoted by E^g James 
to be Chief Justioe of the Common Pleas. A little genea- 
logical manuscript in Trinity College, Dublin (F. iii. 27),* 
gives some links of the pedigree of the Walshes of Killen- 
cargy, County of Wicklow, and of Kilgobbin, Canickmines, 
and Shanganagh, County of Dublin, for many generations. 
Amongst the 'Englished Irish,* reported in the time of 
James the First to be sojourning, after the dege of Kinsale, 
in the King of Spain's dominions, were "William Walsh, 
Nicholas ' Wise,' Captain Thomas Preston, James Gremon, 
Walter De la Hqyde (who served the ancient Irish in the 
last war), George De h, Hoyde» Captain Bathe, Thomas 
Stanyhurst, John Bathe, &c.'' In 1593 died Theobald 
Walsh of Carrickmayne, and Bichaxd, then his son and heir, 
died in 1619, leaving Theobald, junior, his son, aged 16 years. 
In 1599 Sir Nicholas ' Welch' was one of the Councillors 
appcnnted by the Lord Deputy to be assistant on the Presi* 
dent of Munster, and his services there are detailed in the 
Paeata Hibernian Early in the reign of James the First, Sir 
Oliver Lambert^ Knight, Privy CoundUor, had a grant of 
{inter alia) estates of Richard and Oliver ' Walshe,' in the 
King's County, both of whom, as the patent alleges, were 
' slain in rebellion against Queen Elizabeth.' 

In 1603 James, son and heir of Bobert Walsh, late of 
Waterford, had livery of his estates ; as had Walter, son and 

heir of Bobert Walsh, late of Castlehowdl, in Kilkenny, in 

I ■ 

* Damd Mofyneuafs CoUecliong, 

• i L '» • 


1605. In 1605 the above Chief Justice, Sir Nicholas Walsh, 
obtained by patent various estates in Kilkenny and Water- 
ford, same being thereby limited to himself and his wife in 
tail male, remainder to Nicholas Walsh, junior, the ' natural 
or reputed ' son of Bsid Sir Nicholas, in tail male ; remainders 
to James, son of Edward; and to Bichard, son of James 
Walshe respectiyely, with other remainders over. In 1608 
Bichard, son and heir of Theobald Wabh of Carrickmines, 
deceased, had livery of his estates ; while James Walsh had a 
grant, in three years after, of the Castles of Shanganagh and 
Connagh, with lands there as well as in Corkagh and Little 
Brea. An Inquisition taken at Ejikenny in 1639, found that 
Walter Walsh, then late of Castie-hoyle in that County, had 
in 1613, together with his wife, settled his estates to the 
respective uses of James Walsh and Edmund Walsh, both 
of whom had died before holding the Inquisition, and that 
after the death of said Edmund, Piers Walsh succeeded to 
the inheritance, as his son and heir, and that he died in 1637, 
leaving Edmund his son and heir, then aged nine years. In 
the reign of James the First Thomas Walsh was promoted 
by the Pope to the See of Waterford, where, as reported to 
the government, he was ' relieved by his fnends and by a 
stipend he received for ministering sacraments and preaching.' 
Dr. James Walsh, appointed to Ferns at the same time and 
by the same authority, 'lives by private tithes and by the 
help of Us friends.' 

The Walshes attainted in 1642 were WiHiam of Anges- 
town in Meath ; Oliver, Christopher, and Laurence of Moor- 
town, Nicholas of Kildrought (Celbridge), John of Castle- 
dermot, clerk, and Bichard of Kilcullen-bridge, all in the 
County of Kildare. Piers of Loyglass, Edward, Edmund, 
and Henry of Clonmannin, Michael and TVllliam of Park, 


and John of Killincarrig (these last all in Widdow Conniy:) 
with Theobald and John of Carrickmines, Patrick of Tyrrels- 
town, and John of Newtown -Coolock in Dablin. At the 
Kilkenny Assembly in 1646, Thomas Walsh, the Roman 
Catholic Archbishop of Dublin, was of the Spiritual Peers, 
while Michael and WilUam of Park, County of Wicklow, 
with John of Ballybechaine, and John of Wallford, were of 
the Commons. An Inquisition, taken in 1687, finds that 
John Walsh, of the old stock at Shanganagh, died in 1671, 
seised in tail-male of Ejlturk^ ' Connagh,* Cork, and Little 
Bray; that he held same directly under the King by military 
service, and that Edward Walsh is his son and heir. On the 
subsequent death of this Edward without issue, these estates 
passed to his brother, John, in whose time by a private Act 
of the Irish Parliament (11th Anne, chap. 4) the Shanganagh 
and Cork or Corkagh parcels were sold for the payment of 
debts. In 1668 Walter Walsh had a confirmatory giant of 
829 acres in the Queen's County, 370 in Dublin, 687 in 
Cork, and of the Castle, manor and lands (200 acres) of 
Kilbegge in Wexford; while in 1679 John Walsh passed 
patent for 1,793 acres in Tipperary, to hold to him, his heirs 
and assigns, and to the heirs of Patrick Walsh, who was 
grandson of David Walsh the proprietor in 1641. Ensigns 
Greorge and Robert Walsh were of the ' 1649* (Mcers. 

Beddes the above two Captains in this Regiment, with 
Robert Walsh a Lieutenant, and John Walsh an Ensign 
thereon ; in Lord Galmoy's Horse, Levns and Oliver Walsh 
were Comets ; in Tyrconners Michael Walsh was a Quarter- 
Master; in Colonel Cormuck O'Neill's Infantry, James was 

an Ensign ; in Colonel Charles Cavenagh's, Walsh was 

also a Captain, as was another Walsh in the Earl of West- 
meath*6 ; and in Colonel John Grace's, Robert Walsh was a 


Captain and Adam Walsh an Ensign. This Robert, described 
as 'of Cloneshj/ wito one of the Bepresentatives of the 
County of Kilkenny in the Parliament of 1689 at Dublin. 

Both the above Captains, Valentine and Peirs, were 

of the aforesaid Sept, distinguished as * Walsh of the Moun- 
tains.' The former ttbs attainted in 1691, described as of 
Piltown, Coimty of Waterford, as was Piers, of Guning, 
County of Kilkenny, With ten others in the latter County, 
five in Wexford, two of Wicklow, and tWo of Dublin. The 
only Walsh estate, on which a claim was made at Chichester 
House, was that of Robert Walsh in the County of Kilkenny, 
whereon Mary his widow claimed the fee of tithes and glebes 
found to be forfeited by him, but which she alleged were hers, 
under the will of Piers Walsh, her father. 



Of this Anglo-Norman family, which had, on the conquest of 
England, settled in Cornwall^ a branch came to Ireland with 
the invaders of Henry the Second's tdme^ and obtained giants, 
from the successful ' Strongbow' and Prince John, of various 
estates in the Counties of Dublin and Meath; those in the 
former included the glen of the Naul, on the boundary of 
each. At its head a member of this family erected that castle 
whose ruins faintly testify its former importance, and in 
which his descendants resided down to the time of Charles the 
First. In 1225, when the ^ssensions of the O'Conor family 
distracted Connaught, Hugh 0*Conor seeking the aid of the 
English *• was not disappointed, they promptly and cheerfully 
responded to the call, and their expedition proved profitable 


to them, for great was their booty and small their loss. They 
were on this occasion commanded by William Cnice* and the 
the sons of Griffin.'* Stephen ' de Craes' was the indiyidiial 
sdused of the Naul in the time of Richard the First and King 
John. His lineal descendant, Hugh * de Crues* married the 
heiress of Sir Henry Tyrrell, to whom the Chief Serjeantcy of 
Leinster was granted by Prince John; and by this marriage, 
according to the constmction of the law at that period, 
Tyrrel's estates, with the seijeantcy, passed to this Hugh, 
and his filling such office at the time is proved by a roll in the 
Tower of London. His grandson, Nicholas * de Cruys,' had 
license to enfeoff his son Robert in the estates and serjeantcy ; 
soon after which, Robert dying, King Edward the Second, in 
1320, committed to the Royal Escheator the custody of his 
estates, &c., to hold during the minority of his son Richard. 
In 1346 Thomas, son of a Peter de Cruys, was commissioned 
with the Baron of Slane and others, to parley with the dis- 
affected Irish of Meath, and induce them to allegiance. 
Walter de Cruys was about the same time confirmed by 
Edward the Third in his seisin of the manor of Balrothery, 
which his father had held before him; while another branch 
of the family was then seised of the manor of Stillorgan, at 
the south side of the Liffey . 

By an inquisition taken in 1356, it was found that the 
King*s Escheator, acting on the aforesaid authority of 1320, 
had seised upon sundry lands which were held by military 
service of De Cruys's manor of the Naul; that Richard, then 
a minor, having subsequently attained age, acquired same, 
and died seised thereof in 1338, leaving John de Cruys his 
heir, who died in 1359, dmilarly seised of the manor of the 

* AtmaU of the Four MasUn, 


Naol, as vreVL as of other lands in Cruisetown and Altemaah, 
whicli last he held of the Lady Elkabeth de Bui^o, as of her 
manor of Kells. Margaret, the only ohild and hdress of lUs 
John, had preyiously married Simon Cruise, and thus kept 
the estates, &c. in the same name and fiunily. That Simon 
acquired the serjeantcy also, and acted in discharge of its 
duties, is proved by a record of 1376 in the office of the Chief 
Remembrancer, Dublin. In that year a John Cruys, who 
appears to have been a son of this Simon, was elected a 
confidential envoy to England, to communicate with the 
government there on the state of Ireland, and he received 
£20 as remuneration for his expenses of travel and sojourn. 
In 1380 he was summoned to a Parliament convened to meet 
at Baltinglas; in two years after was appointed one of the 
guardians of the Peace for the Counties of Dublin and Meath; 
in 1385, fiUed the office of Justice in eyrey and in the same 
year had a treasury liberate for his expenses and services in a 
military expedition against the O'TooIes and other *• Irish 
enemies,* on whidi occasion he was badly wounded. In 1386 
the King^s Escheator was ordered to give possession of the 
manors of Clonmore and Mansfieldstown in the County of 
Louth to (as it would seem) this John and Matilda his wife. 
In tiie following year, he and John D*Arcy, then Sheriff of 
Meath, had nmilar commission with that which was given to 
Thomas de Cruys in 1346. 

In 1394 John Cruys was summoned to a great council; in 
the following year he had an order on the treasuiy for twenty 
marks, on account of his services at divers councils, and for 
his expenses in furnishing men-at-arms and archers, during 
the wars in Widdow, Westmeath, and other places; and in 
1399, by a writ reciting that, whereas John Cruys, 'chevaler,* 
held 160 acres at Thomcastle (Booteratown near Dublin), the 

220 KING James's ibish abht list. 

rent of which to the Crown he was unable to di69harge, by 
reason of the premises being subject to be burned and laid 
waste by adjoining Irish enemies of the mountains; it was 
thereupon directed that he should be exempted from any such 
payments during his life< In 1404 he, being then styled 
Knight, was empowered, jointly with five other Commis- 
doners, to assemble the magnates, ' proceres,' and commons of 
die County of Dublin, when their services might be required ; 
and, in two years after, he had committed to his custody the 
manor of Bathwyre, with the advowson of the church there. 
An inquisition of 1408 finds that this John had died seised, 
in his own right and in right of his wife, of the manors of 
Merrion, Thomcastle, Killsallaghan, Bathmore, Donagh- 
patrick, and Ballgyhen, with portions of those of Duleek, 
Dundalk, and Kenlis, of which Thomas, who was their son 
and heir, became afterwards possessed } while a James Cruys, 
who married Catherine Plunket, had livery from the Crown 
of the inheritance of the Naul, toith the office of Chief Serjeant^ 
It is of record that, on some untrue suggestions to the Crown, 
this office was afterwards conferred on a Walter Goulding, 
who, and his descendants for four generations, usurped the 
office, until in the time of Edward the Sixth (1552) Walter, 
described as the descendant and heir of the above James 
Cruys, proceeded to recover the office before the Lord Deputy 
and Privy Council, when, " after the production and examina- 
tion of divers and several ancient and authentic writings, 
deeds, licenses, and inquisitions; and, after allowing a long 
time to the counsel for the Crown, to show any title in the 
King, when passing the patent to Goulding, it was decreed 
and adjudged that the said Walter Cruys' ancestors were all, 

* LyncJCe Feudal Dignities^ p. 104, drc 


under the giant from Eling John, lineally seised and possessed 

of said office, and that said Walter should be inunediately 

restored to the possession thereof, and enjoy same according 

to said grant of Eang John. Accordingly it was found on 

inquisition of 1610, that Christopher, son and heir of Walter 

de Cruys, had been seised of the manors of Naul, Grallagh, 

and Cmisetown in the Counties of Dublin and Meath, and 

also in his demesne as in fee of the Chief Serjeantcy of the 

County of Dublin^ '^ which office was granted to his ancestor by 

the most serene Prince John, formerly Eang of England, to 

be held from him and his successors by military service ; that 

said Christopher died in that year (1610), and was succeeded 

by his grandson and heir, Christopher, son of (reotge Cruise, 

who continued seised thereof to the time of the civil war, 

when he forfeited on attainder the manor of the Naul and 

other lands in the County of Dublin, with the Castle and 500 

acres, which were granted to Charles, Viscount Fitz-Harding* 

With him were then attainted Walter Cruise of Cruise* 

town. County of Meath, and Peter Cruise of the Naul. 

The latter was transplanted on a Connaught debenture, into 

that Province, and from him are the western Cruises prind- 

paUy descended. Their previous existence, however, in 

Clare is shown by an annal of the Four Masters at 1584, 

where is stated that, when Sir John Perrot was on his 

memorable circuit, to persuade or compel the gentry of that 

devoted Province to compound for titles to their estates, " he 

was waited upon at Quin Abbey (in Clare), where he stopped, 

by Cruise, then Sheriff of the County.*' In five years 

after the same annalists record an engagement between the 
Burkes and the people of Inchiquin, in which Thomas, the 

* UAU09C9 HuU CourUy ofJDMin, pp. 487 & 494. 


son of Christopher Cruise was slain/* In 1646 Walter 
Cruise of Arlonan was one of the Supreme Council at 
Kilkenny. In 1668 a confirmatory grant of lands in the 
County of Louth to Mary and John Fowke contained a 
saving of the right of a Christopher Cruise to a mortgage 
thereon; while, in 1679, Gairett Cruioe had a confirmatory ^< 

grant of 121 acres in Roscommon. In Lord Slane's ^^ 

Segment of Infitntry ^ Cruise was a Captain. . .^^ 

The Attainders of 1691 broke the fortunes of many of 
the name, and in particular of Patrick Cruise of Taberath, .^ 

County of Meath, and Patrick Cruise of Dublin, M.D. ; firom , -^ 

whom, as well as firom the above mentioned Walter of Cruise- . 

town, are descended the Cruises of Bahood, Belgart, Drynam, ^^ 

iSbc., in short all the Cruises of Leinster, as well as some in 
Munster. Drynham had been the estate of the Bussells, but, 
by the marriage of Andrew Cruise of the old Naxd line with 
Bridget, the daughter and heiress of Bartholomew Bussell, > 

in 1771, ants p. 81, it passed to that fiunily. Bobert Russell 
Cruise, the great grandson of that marriage^ now represents 
those two lines. 


This fionily is of Irish record firom the time of Edward the 
Third. " It was," writes the Reverend Mr. Rowan to the 
compiler of these papers, '^ a family established at Dingle in 
the County of Kerry, and conspicuous in the troubles of 
1641, <&c., when a member, Piers Ferriter, was taken prisoner 
and executed by Cromwell^s commander. Brigadier Neilson, 
at Eallamey." Besides this officer, Edmund Ferriter stands 
upon the Army List a Captain in Colonel Niohohis Browne's 

« • 


i ' 


£ABL OF tybohe's ikfantbt. 228 

In&ntry ; ndither name, however, appears on the subsequent 
Attidnders, but only those of Maurioe Ferriter of Ballynalugy 
and Peter Ferriter of Ballyoaghter in the County of Kerry. 


This name is of record in Ireland from the earliest period 
after the English Invasion. In 1408 Maurice Stafford, 
who had served the King in Munster, where he was taken 
prisoner by Turlogh Mac Brene, and kept in captivity until 
he paid largely for his ransom, had a grant from the Crown 
of certain lands in Kilkenny; he was afterwards commissioned 
as a Justice in eyre. In 1411 Philip Stafford was one of the 
influential gentry of the County of Wexford elected, to raise 
a gratuity for the prior of Kilmainham, by reason of his 
services within said County* In 1599 Francis Stafford was 
on the Council appointed to be assistant to the Lord Pre* 
sident of Munster in conducting the government of that 
disturbed Province ; while a Captain William Stafford, with 
one hundred Infantry, and a Lieutenant Thomas, were 
distinguished there in that service a^ shown in the Pacata 
Hihemia. In 1600 Dr. Nicholas Stafford was appointed by 
the Queen, Bishop of Ferns, in the enjoyment of which See 
he died in 1604. In 1606 Eling James the First granted 
to William Barker the wardship and marriage of Nicholas 
Stafford, son and heir of Richard Stafford of Ballinakaheme, 
County of Wexford, deceased; for a fine of £17 16s. 8d., and 
an annual rent to the same amount, with the usual allowance 
for his maintenance and education in Trinity College ;* and 

* Pnaent RoU^ 3 James /., m Cane. Eib. 


in 1612 John Stafford had livery of his estates, as son of 
Nicholaa Stafford the younger, who was son and heir of 
Nicholas, the elder, hite of Ballinakaheme, in Wexford, 
deceased. In 1624 died Kichard Stafford, seised of the manor 
of Bahayle and sundry other lands in Wexford, James, his 
son and heir, being then but 16 years old. In six years after 
Hamond Stafibrd of Ballyconnor, in the same County, died 
leaving Hamond junior, the son of his son Denis, his heir, 
then of full age. In lCi32 the above John Stafford of Bally- 
nakaheme, being seised of the manor, castle, and lands there, 
settled same on the marriage of his son and heir Nicholas, 
with Mary daughter of Peter Cornwall of Drymnagh, to 
which estates said Nicholas succeeded in 1638 on the death 
of his father. 

A manuscript book of obits in Trinity College supplies 
links of the pedigree and descendants of the Staffords of 
Wexford for four generations, At the Supreme Council of 
Ejlkenny in 1646, Bichard, son of Bichard Stafford (evidently 
of the Ballinakaheme line) was one of the attending confederate 
Catholics. In 1677 William Stafford, of Lisneroe in Mayo 
had a confirmatory patent for 1,017 acres in that County, as 
had Patrick Stafford for 258 in Clare. In the following year 
died, at a very advanced age, ' Martha, daughter of Mr. Francis 
Stafford (of an ancient English family) and wife of Sir 
Henry O'Neill of Claneboys. She was buried at Carrick- 
fergus.* Of Dean Alexius Stafford, a secular priest of this 
County, who celebrated mass in Christ Church daily during 
King James's sojourn in Dublin, mention has been made 
before {ante p. 6). He was one of the Bepresentatives of 
the Borough of Bannow in the Parliament of 1689, as was 
the above Captain Nicholas Stafford of that of Fethard in 
Wexford. After James's flight to France, Stafford, 

EARL OP tyeone's intantby. 225 

Esq., was one of his Court at St. Germalns. The Attainders 
of 1691 include this Nicholas, described as of Fethaid and 
Eilcoran, County of Wexford, with' Marcus Stafford of 
Gowran, Peter of Fassetown, and John of Boscam in the 
same County. The aforesaid William Stafford appears also 
to have forfeited estates in Mayo, on which sundry mortgage 
claims were preferred at Chichester House. 


He is described, in the inquisition on his attainder, as ' of 
Ballycashin, County of Waterford,' and in the patents con- 
sequent upon the Acts of Settlement, one passed in 1669 for 
a small allotment in Waterford, to Elizabeth Winston and 
William her son. The name appears to be a corruption firom 
Wynchedon or de Wynchedown. Kichard de Wyncedoun 
is on Irish records of the time of Edward the Second. In 
1345 John Wynchedon was one of three leading men 
assigned to treat on peace with Mc Dermot and his men, 
and to reclaim them to friendship ;* the name was then also 
established in Cork. In 1377 Richard Wynchedon was 
farmer of the Royal lands in that County, t He was after- 
wards one of the Justices in eyre in Munster, while John 
Wynchedon was appointed to several offices of trust in the 
same province, and he was also one of the Justices in eyre 
there in 1407. 

* Bot, Pat 19 ^ 20, Edio. 8, m Cane Hib. 
t RoL Clous, 51, Edw, 3, m Cane, Hib, 




The O'Bonans or Bonaynes were a Sept long settled in 
Munster and parts of Leinster. At the time of the English 
Invasion, two of the name presided over Irish Bishoprics; 
Kinad O^Bonan over Glendaloch, and Mel-Brendan 0*Bonan 
over Kerry (t.«., Ardfert). The Attainders of 1642 present 
only the name of Owen O'Bonayne of Ballybeg, County of 
Elildare; while in 1646, Francis O'Bonayne of Kilkenny was 
one of the Confederate Catholics there assembled. The 
Attainders of 1691 include the above Lieuteni(nt, described 
as of Hilltown, County of Waterford, with William Bonayne 
of EoUhadnett, Philip of Carganassy, James of BonayneV 
Court, William his 6on» and John of Youghal, all in the 
County Cork; Thomas of Dungarvan, with James, Stephen, 
and Nicholas of Limerick. At the Court of Claims in 1700 
William Bonayne sought and was allowed the fee of oertidn 
Youghal and County of Cork estates, which had been for- 
feited by James Bonayne of Bonayne^s-Court; and at same 
time were allowed claims of Hamilton Montgomery and 
Grace, otherwise Bonayne, his wife, and those of Anstace, 
Elizabeth, and Margaret Bonayne, minors, by their guardians, 
as charged on said estates. James Bonayne abo forfeited 
plots and tenements in Kinsale. In certain forfeitures of 
Nicholas of Youghal, Amos Strettell and Edward Webb, on 
behalf of themselves and all the Quakers of Ireland, claimed 
a remainder for years. 

EARL OP TTEONB'8 inpantby. 227 


This fiuuilj name is recorded on the Irish Bolls from the 
time of Edward the Second ; and is located, on Ortelius'a 
Map, in the Barony of Upper-third, County of Waterford. 

In 1356 John ' Eilleward * was one of the influential gentry 
of this County, who elected Peter, son of Boger le Poer to 
its shrievalty, and he was subsequently intrusted with some 
state commissions. On his death, in 1355, Andrew 'Eyl- 
ward,' his son and heir, had livery of his estates, as also of 
certain other lands which he held of John, son of Peter 
Eylward, as of his manor of * Faileyge.' In 1357 William 
Eylward was epipowered to collect a subsidy off the barony 
of Dunlost in the County of Kildare. In 1388 Bichard 
Eylward died seised of Falyk (Faithlegg), when Bichard his 
son became entitled thereto. In 1566 and 1577, Peter 
Aylward was Mayor of Waterford, as was Nicholas Aylward 
in 1592, Sir Peter Aylward in 1627, and John Aylward in 
1650. In 1602, the Lord Deputy, on his return from 
Munster, after the successful termination of the war in that 
Province, calUng at Waterford, knighted there Bichard 
Aylward and Edward Gough, ** two ancient and well deserving 
citizens.'** A confirmatory patent of 1666 to Francis Jones 
affected to convey to him certain lands in Wexford, the 
estate of Bichard Aylward ; but for which he, Aylward, had 
three years previously obtained a decree of innocence. The 
patent therefore saved his right, but left him to his remedy 

* Pacata Htbemia, p. 503. 


in kw. In 1677 Peter, son of John Aylwmrd, had a oon- 
finnatoiy gisnt of 2,483 acres in Cralway, as had Nicholas 
for 911 in the same county. The Attainder of the Oflfeer 
nnder present consideration, desciibes him as * I^ene ' Ayl- 
ward of Aylwardstown Coonfy Kilkenny (of which pkMse 
Leonard Aylward was proprietor in 1626), and of Faithl^^, 
County of Waterford. John Aylward of Bobinstown in the 
former County, is the onlyindiTidual of the name on the Boll 
of Attainders in 1642. 

Another of this somame was Captain in Colonel Edward 
Butler's Infimtry. 


A LnsxrnsKANT John Grarvan was one of those '1649* 
Officers who obtained an adjudication for his seryices, soon 
after the Bestoration. 








Richard Niig«nt| 




i*— Nugent, 




Tho. Nugent. 




^— -Dalton. 





Ma. Nugent. 

Patrick Musett 

— ^DowdalL 


Robert Nugent. 



— — Deaae. 


Feigaa FaxrelL 
Qeoifge DowdaU. 



ICatthew Nugent 



This suniame was estabfished in Ireiaiid in the time of 
Henry the Second^ when de Lacy created its chie£^ Baron of 
Lnne, within his Palatinate of Meath, with landed possesfflons, 
which passed by the marriage of three co-hdresses to the 
families of Vemaill, Lonndres, and Talbot. William de 
Miseett was one of the witnesses to a grant of lands and 
churches by Archbishop Laurence O^Toole to the Priory of 
the Holy Trinity in DubEn. At the close of the fourteenth 
century Walter * Meset ' was one of the influential gentry, 
selected to assess his barony to a state subsidy. The Attain- 
ders of 1691 describe the above Captain as of Pluckstown in 
Meath, with his relative James Missett of the same locality; 
they also name Bartholomew of Naas and Bobert of Boberts- 
town, County of Ejldare, the former a Lieutenant, and the 
latter an Ensi^ in Sir Maurice Eustace's Li&ntry, while 
another of this name was a Lieutaaant in Lord Slane's. Of 
the Ejldare Missetts the Attainders of 1642 record three, 
viz., James and Laurence Missett of Casilemartin, and Gecarge 
of Ealcullen Bridge in that County. 


This surname does not appear on the BoUs of Attainder, 
nor has it been found on any Lish records. 

mv ui ' 

nugbnt's inpantey. 231 


Soon after the English Inyodon Hugh de Lacy, the great 
Palatine of Meath, granted to William Petit a most 
extensive territory round Mullingar, of which he and his 
successors ranked as Palatine Barons. This William had 
also a patent exempting him from being sued any where but 
before the King. In 1191 he was Lord Justice of Ireland. 
In 1227 Balph le Petit succeeded to the See of Meath. In 

1301 le Petit was summoned by the King to do service 

against the Scots, and in 1319 Kobert Petit was advanced to 
the Bishopric of Clonfert. In 1373 Meyler and Laurence 
Petit were smnmoned to a great Council, held in Dublin. In 
1400 Alexander Petit, Bishop of Meath, was interred at 
Trim. In Queen Elizabeth's Parliament of 1585, Redmond 
Petit was one of the Representatives of MuUingar. The 
forfeiting Petits in 1642 were Garret, Thomas, William, and 
Adam, and their confiscations then comprised 3,000 Planta- 
tion acres. Those outlawed in 1691 were Edward Petit of 
Baltrasney, Lucas of Irishtown, and Thomas of Taghmon, 
all in Westmeath. 





liOid GonuofCoOf 

Bidurd EufCaee, 

Ofhrv Fitufwld, 

Hngfa GMrUan. 


UsttlMfr BamewBlL 


Gcnld FEtigenld. 


D' Arey. 



TbcMntt Gaitlatt. 




2^ t 

LOBD gorbianston's infantbt. 233 



This name is found on Irish record from the time of Edward 
the Second, when the name of Richard Preston appears on 
a commission. In 1317 that monarch granted to William 
de Prestoun, burgess of Drogheda, certain premises in the 
County of Louth, which had come to the Crown, by the 
forfeiture of Hugh de Lacy, Ejiight, who had abetted the 
Scottish invasion. Roger de Preston was a Justice of the 
Common Pleas in Ireland in 1326, and was, in 1358, ad- 
vanced to be Chief thereof. In the previous year, it was 
*' agreed and granted by the Lord Justice, Chancellor, and 
Privy Council at Dublin, that Robert de Preston, son of 
the Judge, and then (1357) the King's Sergeant, should, 
for the Eling's benefit and profit, accompany the Lord Justice 
towards the parts of Leinster and Munster, to plead and 
defend the pleas of the Crown, and should receive four 
shillings per day wages, for himself and a man and horse 
at arms." This individual was knighted in 1361 by Lionel, 
Duke of Clarence, and obtained a grant in fee of the manor 
of Gormanston. He was likewise Lord of Preston in 
Lancashire, fiUed the office of High Chancellor of Ireland, 
and was summoned to the parliaments of 1374, 1377, and 
1381, and to a Great Council in 1382. In 1385 the King 
granted to John Breeden, clerk, the custody of two-thirds 
of the estates in Louth and Meath, of which Richard de 
Preston had died seised, to hold during the minority of his 
son and heir, Thomas, with the reversion of the remaining 


third held by Margaret, the widow of said Richard, and then 
the wife of eaid John Breeden. About this time William 
Prestonn was a Justice in eyre. On the death of Christopher 
de Prestonn, chivaler, in 1405, the King committed the 
custody of his estates to Janico Dartas, Eiiight. In the 
last year of the reign of Henry the Fifth, Christopher de 
Preston, with eight other proprietors of the County Meath, 
was appointed to assess said County, in twentieths, hundreds, 
and thousands, for a hosting of marches, to be set * to repel 
the Irish enemies or English rebels, wherever they presume 
to enter.' A writ, of 1434, redting, that the town of Nobber, 
which is the key of the county of Meath, had been then 
lately burnt by Irish enemies, empowered Christopher Preston 
to summon, for three days in each quarter of the year, during 
three years, all the domestics and labourers witiiin said town 
and within the barony of Moygallion, to labour on the repairs 
and re-construction of the fosses and fortress there. In 1478, 
Sir Robert Preston, great-gisndson of the former Sir Robert 
of 1361, was constituted Lord Deputy, and, in the same year, 
was elevated to the Peerage by the title of Viscount Gor- 
manston. In 1494 he held a Parliament in Drogheda, and 
his son, Sir William Preston, the second Viscount, was Lord 
Justice of Ireland in 1515. 

In 1611, Jenico, Viscotmt Oormanston, had a grant of 
sundry premises in the Counties of Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, 
and Wicklow, theretofore possesions of religious, houses. 
His son, Viscount Nicholas, on the breaking out of the dvil 
war of 1641, caused the resident Noblemen and Gentry of 
the County of Meath to assemble at the Hill of Crofty, near 
Gormanston: the Lords Fingal, Slane, Louth, Dunsany, 
Trimleston and Netterville, with upwards of 1,000 of the 
leading gentry, responded to his invitation. See ante 

LORD gobmakston's infaktbt. 235 

vol. 1, p. 121. He was accordingly in the following 
year attainted, with Robert Preston, also described as 

of Gormanston, Preston of Rogerstown, County of 

Meath, James of Grangemore, and l^chard of Kilkekn, 
Coonty of Ejldare. The Assembly of the Confederate 
Cactholics at Kilkenny in 1646 was attended by three members 
of this House, Thomas, James, and Robert Preston of Gor- 
manston. The former, styled Colonel Thomas, had been 
General in the army of the Confederate Catholics of Ireland, 
and was created Viscount Tara in 1642, he was therefore, 
by Cromwell's Act of 1652, excepted from pardon for life 
and estate, together with Nicholas Viscount Gormanston. 

In 165S-4 Alderman John, son of Hugh Preston of 
Bolton, in Lancashire, was Mayor of Dublin ; he had married 
Mary, daughter of John Morres, of Bolton, by whom he had 
seven sons and three daughters; five of his sons and two 
of his daughters died infants. Phineas, the eldest, survived 
and married Letitia Hamond of Chertsey, by whom he had 
issue. Samuel, the Mayor's second son, married Margaret, 
daughter of Theophilus Sandford of Moyglare, in Meath, 
while Mary, the eldest and .only surviving daughter of the 
Mayor, became the wife of Nehemiah Donnellan, by whom 
she had issue, James and John. The Mayor married a 

second wife, Katherine, daughter of Ashbumham, and 

relict of Sir John Sheriock, knight, by whom he had no issue. 

His third wife was Anne, daughter of Richard Tighe of 

Dublin, by whom he had John and Nathaniel Preston. The 
Mayor himself died at Ardsallagh in 1686, and was buried 
in Christ Church, Dublin.* 

In 1662 Sir Francis Hamilton and Sir James Cuffis 

♦ Funer€d Entry, R 21 


petitioned the Irish Commons, stating that they had been 
forcibly ejected from the town and hinds of Gormanston by 
Jenico Preston, commonly called Lord of Gormanston; and 
the Speaker was thereupon authorized to direct the Sheriff 
of Meath to repair to the house of Gormanston, and deliver 
to the petitioners the possession thereof, as well as of the 
lands so detained. In 1669, however, this Jenico had a 
confirmatory patent for the Castle, town, and lands of 
Gormanston, with 5,425 acres in Meath, 1,244 in Dublin, 
865 in Leitrim, and 65 in Ejldare; as had the aforesaid 
Alderman John for 12,677 acres in Meath and Queen's 
County; while in 1677 Sir George Preston had an eztenmve 
confirmatory grant of fisheries throughout the course of the 
Shannon. In 1674 was interred in St. James's Churchyard 
(once the chief burial ground of the Catholic aristocracy of 
Ireland) ' Thomas Preston, Viscount Tara, son of Anthony 
Preston, Viscount Tara, who was son of Thomas Lord Tara, 
who was a son of Viscount Gormanston.' The aforesaid 
Viscount Thomas had been killed three days previous to his 
interment, by Sir Francis Blundell, of the King's County, 
knight, and his brothers; whereby this title became extinct. 
The Blundells were however acquitted, and received his 
Majesty's pardon,* but Sir Francis was, on political grounds, 
attainted in King James's Parliament of 1689. 

In February, 1685-6, Lords Gormanston and Ikerrin, on 
behalf of themselves and several other Lords and Gentlemen, 
petitioned for reversals of their &thers' outlawries imposed 
on account of the late civil war. " Several of the petitioners," 
wrote the Earl of Clarendon to the Earl of Sutherland, '^ have 
served the Ejng very well since, and, by the late King's 

* Lodgers Peerage^ vdL 3, p. 89. 

LOBD oobmanston's inpaktrt. 237 

fayour, have been advanced to hope titleB and be restored 
to their estates ; and certainly they (as many as are alive at 
least) ought to be restored in blood as well as to their estates. 
The children of many of them are in his Majesty^s service, 
and therefore may deserve to partake so much farther of 
his Majesty's favour; but the best way of doing it will be 
the question, for it is a case of greater consequence than 
may at first appear."* The King subsequently assented 
to Lords Gormanston and Ikerrin bringing writs of error 
to reverse their fathers* outlawries, and directed that the 
cases of others should be considered at Council,t while Lord 
Grormanston was himself at the same time made a Privy 
Coundllor. When, however, the intentions of making such 
applications transpired, caveats were immediately entered 
against granting any such writs of reversal; the opposition 
naturally arising from the persons who, under the Acts of 
Settiement, were in actual and for some time recognised 
possession of lands, the ancient property of those Lords, &c.X 
In November, 1688, previous to King James's abdication, 
a Lord Preston was his Secretary of State; and in the 
January following, after that Monarch's flight, that Nobleman 
received a letter from him, which led to subsequent suspicions 
of his being engaged with Lord Clarendon and others in 
a conspiracy for a counter-revolution in favour of James, 
for which he was afterwards arraigned, tried, and condemned.§ 
The noble Colonel of this Regiment sat in the Parliament 
of Dublin, while another Jenico Preston was a Lieutenant 
in the Earl of Tyrone's Li&ntry. When King James 
meditated advancing towards Dundalk, soon aft:er his arrival 

* Singer's Correspondence of Lord Clarendon^ vol. I, p. 267. 
t Idem, p. 399. t Idem, p. 487. § Idem, v. 2, pp. 21 1,251, 319, n. and 331. 

238 KINO James's ibish askt ust. 

in Dublin, " a brigade of Guards, consisting of two battalions, 
together with Gonnanston's and Creagh's S^pments, each 
of which made a good battalion, came to the camp, about the 
Bridge of Affime, by eleven o'clock at night, and the rest 
next morning, before noon* This Regiment afterwards 
fought at the battle of Cavan^ at the Boyne, at Limerick, 
and at Aughrim. In 1691 Lord Gonnanston was attainted 
on five Liquisitions. At the Court of Clidms in 1700 
Anthony Preston, 'called Lord Viscount Gormanston,' and 
Mary his wife, claimed and were allowed the benefit of a 
trust term for 500 years, created to secure a charge of £3,000 
for said Mary, and a remainder in tail for Anthony, off 
Lord Gt>rmanston's forfeited estates. A Nidiolas Preston 
also claimed and was allowed a remiunder for his life, as was 
Captain Bobert Preston a remiunder in tail, expectant upon 
several other remainders in being, as attaching to said 
estates: while James Butler, Esq., and Margaret, Lady 
Viscountess Gonnanston, his wife, claimed in her right an 
annuity of £500 per annum^ with an anrear of £3,400 as 
due thereoff. The aforesaid Bobert Preston had a preyioua 
grant, in 1696, of the office of one of the Pursuiyants of State. 


This officer does not appear on the present Army List, 
ihe appointment having been made subsequent to its issue. 
The name is here inserted from Dr. King^s Appendix. He 
was of Barretstown, in the County of Dublin; while on the 
British Museum Copy of the Army List, Peter Bamewall 
is set down as Lieutenant-Colonel of this Regiment. 

* darkens Mtm. of James 11,^ v. 2, p. 379. 




This name does not appear on either of the great National 


Neitheb is this surname recorded in the Attainders. Lieu- 
tenants Alexander and Ensigns James and William Holmes 
are named on the Bolls of Adjudications for the ' 1649 ' 


Of thii surname were attainted in 1642 John Dunn, senior, 
of Athy, and Andrew Dunn of Bathmore, in Ejldare, with 
James Dunn of Trim. The outlaws of 1691 were Terence 
Dunne of Ballyiiakeel, Daniel and Francis Dupne of Tenna- 
hinch, both in the Queen^s County ; Arthur of Ballyferbole, 
and John of Strambo in the same County, with Patrick of 
TuUyfiuis in Wicklow, and Thomas of Cork ; one of those, 
most probably the last, was a Lieutenant in Lord Kilmallock's 
Infantry, while two others of the name were Captains in 
Colonel Charles Moore's. 

In 1614 Barnard Dunn died seised of Brittas, one Castle, 
with various townlands in the Queen's County ; Barnard 
Dunn, junior, was his son and heir, then aged 24 years and 
unmarried. Some years after a Barnabas Dunn, of Ballynar 

240 KING James's ibish abmt list. 

kill, having died seised of sundiy other lands with rectorial 
tithes and glebes in sidd County, Charles Dunn of Brittas 
succeeded thereto. The 0*Dunnes were in truth an ancient 
Sept of Hy Riagain, a territory comprising in area the 
present Barony of Tinnahinch (as stated anUj p. 94), where 
the Four Masters make frequent mention of their Chiefs. 
This ancient Irish surname has been however latterly not 
unfrequently anglicised into Doyne. 


This surname does not appear upon the Boll of Attainders 
of the period; while another Stokes was a Lieutenant in Lord 
Slane^s In&ntry. Nicholas 'Stockes' of Balheary, in the 
County Dublin, was a forfeiting proprietor in 1642. Sir 
Bernard Burke in his Landed Gentry has a memoir of the 
fiunily of Stokes of Tndee, in which he speaks of its founder 
in Ireland as an officer, who came from Devonshire to 
Limerick in the reign of Queen Elizabeth. ^ BGlb son,* writes 
Sir Bernard, ' married in 1622 a daughter of O'Connell of 
Iveragh, by whom he had a son, Edward Stokes, who married 

a daughter of Lacy of Ballingarry;* and as those 

Limerick Lacys are herein shown to have been devoted 
adherents of the Stuarts, it seems reasonable to infer that 
dther of the officers who so appear on this List was a son 
of said Edward, from whom has lineally descended a numerous 
existing line, of which Greoi^e Day Stokes of Mount-Hawk, 
County Kerry, is the eldest son. One of his brothers, John 
Day Stokes, has served twenty-eight years in India in various 
military, dvil, and political offices, including the command 

LOBD oobmanston's infantbt. 241 

of a division of the Madras army, was Military Secretaiy 
to the Governor-General, Commissioner in the Nizam's 
territories, and during several years was British Representa- 
tive at the Court of Mysore. His brother, Oliver Day Stokes, 
is a Captain on the half pay of her Majesty's Madras army, 
and another brother, Patrick Day, is a Major and Staff 
Officer in the Queen's service. Fifteen nephews of these 
gallant officers hold commissions in the British Army and 
Navy — ^a thoroughly military &mily. 

Nothing worthy of note has been ascertained of his &mily. 


Ak Edward Harris, described as of Clonligea, in Wexford, 
was attainted in 1691, as was William Harris of Ballybola, 
in the same County. 

Before this era Sir Edward Harris, knight, theretofore 
Chief Justice of Mimster, was in 1625 appointed one of the 
Judges of the King's Bench in Ireland ; subsequent to whom 
flourished Walter Harris, the able editor and continuer of 
Sir James Ware's valuable contributions to the civil and 

ecclesiastical history of this coimtry. A Lieutenant 

Edward Harris, one of the * 1649 ' Officers, was probably the 
Edward of Clonligea attainted as above. 






The Colonel 
Walter Burke, 

John Morgan, 

Luke Dillon. 
Theobald Dillon. 
Thomaa Daly. 
Edward Fitzgerald. 
Hugh O'DonnelL 
Edmund Reynolds. 
William Bourke. 
Lucas PowelL 
Thomas Dillon. 


James Lally 
Patrick M'Gawley. 
Bobert Dillon. 
Christopher Dillon. 
George Browne. 
Walter Blake. 
William Brabazon. 
Hugh M'Dermott 
John D*Alton. 
Terence M'Donough. 
John Dillon. 
Bobert Fitzgerald. 
John D^Alton. 
Walter PhilUps. 
Gerald Dillon. 

Hubert Dillon. 
Paul Rutledge. 


Francis Martin. 
Bryan O^Connor. 
Peter Daly. 
Murrough Melaghlin. 
Terence Sweeny. 
Morgan Reynolds. 
Patrick Bonrke. 
Alexander Plunkett. 
Thomas Dillon. 
— Rorke. 
Gerald Lally. 
Edmnnd TyrrelL 
Christopher Dillon. 
Bartholomew Dillon. 
Thady Naughton. 
Valentine Blake. 
Gilbert Talbot. 
Richard Fitzgerald. 
Luke SheilL 
Thady M*Donough. 
Miles Bourke. 
Robert Fox. 
Richard D'Alton. 
James Lynam. 

Edmund DOlon. 
Thomas Dolphin. 


Bryan M'Dermott. 
Thomas Dillon 
John MoUoy. 
Redmond Fitzgerald. 
Michael Ronrke. 
Ferdinando Reynolds. 
Edmond Daly. 
Edmund DowelL 
Christopher Dilkm. 


Thomas Costello. 
Philip M'Gawl^. 
Hubert Farrell. 
Rowland *Bourk.* 
Nicholas Lynch. 
Miles LaughluL 
Michael M'Dermott. 
Andrew D'Alton. 
Cornelius M'Donough. 
Richard Dillon. 
Philip Fox. 
John D'Alton. 
Myles Swyny. 
Charles Costello. 

The Colonel, Lieut-Colonel, and Major as above, with 

D'Alton, Adjutant; Dolphin, 'Maai des LogU: 

DUlon, G&apXmn; Deignan, Ckkrwrgwn, 

Qficen a Ja 8uiUe 
DiUon, -^— Lynch, Maguize, and -^— Flaherty. 

dillon'8 dtfantby. 243 


This name is of record in Lreland from the time of the 
Invasion, and a portion of Western Meath and Annalj, 
afterwards styled ' the Dillons' country/ was, together with 
the manor of Kilkenny West (theretofore forfeited by Hugh 
de Lacy), and the fishery and weirs of Athlone, assured by 
patent from the Crown to Henry ' Dilloun' during pleasure: 
he was at the same time constituted Constable of Athlone, 
and, in two years after, was empowered to treat with and 
reform the Irish felons within the liberty of Trim. His 
descendants were Palatine Barons of Kilkenny- West, and 
subsequently ennobled in the Irish Peerage as Earls of 
Boscommon, Viscounts Dillon and Barons of Clonbrock, 

In the sixteenth century the name is frequentiy projected 
on the Boll of judidal officers in Ireland. In 1532 Sir 
Bartholomew Dillon was appointed Chief Justice of the 
King's Bench. In 1554 Bobert Dillon, of Newtown, near 
Trim, was named a Justice of the Queen's Bench, and 
advanced, in 1559, to the Chief Justiceship of the Common 
Pleas. In 1560 Bichard Dillon of Proutestown, County of 
Meath, became a Justice of the Queen's Bench; and in 1570 
Sir Lucas Dillon was Chief Baron of the Exchequer. In 
1581 Bobert Dillon of Biverston, in Westmeath, was second 
Justice of the Common Pleas. He died in 1597, leaving 
Bartholomew his son and heir, then aged twenty-four and 
married ; who died in 1633, leaving Andrew Dillon, his son 
and heir, then aged twenty-six years. In 1590 Gerald 
Dillon was a Justice of the Queen's Bench; and, in two 


years after, Thomas I>ilIon» theretofore Chief Justice of 
Connaught, was appointed a Justice of the Common Pleas. 
In 1628 died Edmund Dillon, seised of Ardsghill and other 
lands in Longford, leaving Bichard, his son and heir, then 
aged thirty and married ; and in 1638 Bobert, Lord Dillon, 
was one of the Keepers of the Great Seal. 

From the above Henry ' Dilloun* of Elilkenny- West sprang 
Sir Theobald, the founder of the noble house of Costello- 
Gallen, who, in 1608, had a grant from the Crown of the 
manor, castles, and lands of Killeniaghny; the castle and 
lands of Ballynekilly ; the manor, castle, and lands of Port- 
leek ; the castle, town, and lands of Ballyyolan in Westmeath ; 
the manor, castle, and lands of GhJly; the manor, castle, and 
lands of Castlemore; the castles, towns, and lands of Elilcole- 
man, Bunfadda, BaUindooe, Monyn, BaUaghlahane, Bathal- 
vine, &c., in the Counties of Boscommon and Mayo. About 
the same time Bobert Dillon of Cannarstown passed patent 
for half of * Lissoy,' the castles of Annagh and Lisdossan, 
Drumrany, Ejlcoman, &c., all with extensive landed appur- 
tenances, situate in the County of Westmeath, to hold in 
capite. This Bobert died previous to 1611, when it was 
found by Liquisition that he had died seised of the castle of 
Fowlerstown, half the townland of * Lissoy,* a ruined castle 
at Waterston, the adjacent island of Lichony in Loughree ; 
a castle at Annagh; another at Carrick, near Annagh; 
castles at Lisdossan, Killenedreagh and Ardnegreagh; at 
Killenquin and lower Baskin, with a most extenidve tract of 
country, much of which he held under said Theobald Dillon. 
In 1618 died Peter Dillon of Gorimore, leaving Maurice his 
son and heir, then aged twenty-four and married* 

In 1619 died Bichard Dillon of Proudston, seised of 
various premises in the barony of Serine, leaving Gerald his 


son and heir then aged twenty-seven and married. In the 
same year died another Gerald, styled of Balgelth, leaving 
James his son and heir, then aged twenty-two and married. 
At the dose of that year Geoi^e Dillon died, seised of yarious 
premises at Stameen, also in Meath; leaving Luke his son 
and heir, then aged forty-seven and unmarried. In 1623 
died Christopher Dillon of Ballylaughan, Ejiight, Luke his 
son and heir being then aged thirteen years; and in 1621-2 
the above Sir Theobald was ennobled by the title of Viscount 
of Costello-Grallen, within three years after which he died ' at 
an advanced age, and leaving," says Sir Bernard Burke, ' so 
numerous a progeny that he assembled at one time in his 
house at KiUne&ghney above a hundred of his descendants.' 
Of this offspring it may be mentioned tiiat [James, his eighth 
8(m, was Lieutenant-General and Governor of Connaught and 
Athlone for the Boyal cause; he was therefore proscribed 
under the Usurpation, whereupon he took refuge on the 
Continent, and is recorded to have served as a Major-General 
in the French Army as well as in that of Spain. Upon the 
Bestoration a pension of ^00 per annmn was assigned to 
him.] Sir Theobald was succeeded in his title by his grand- 
son and heir, Lucas, the second Viscount, who died in 1629 ; 
when, as a manuscript in T. C. D. records, his remains were 
conveyed in a coach from Kilne&ghny, where he died, to 
Athlone, in whose Abbey he was interred. His only son, 
Theobald, the third Viscount, died an infant, whereupon 
the titie reverted to his Uncle, Thomas, the fourth Viscount. 
In 1626 Peter Dillon, of Bellaneloughduff, died, leaving 
Henry, his son and heir, then aged twenty-two and unmarried. 
In two years after Edmund Dillon of Ardnegreagh died, 
leaving Bichard his son and heir, then aged thirty and married ; 
as did Bedmond Dillon of Ardbarra in 1629, leaving Peter 


his son and heir, then aged forty and married. This Peter 
died in the following year, leaving Bobert his son and heir, 
then aged fifteen. Bobert Dillon, of Hilton, in Meath, died 
in 1634, leaving John, his son and heir, then aged sixteen 
and unmarried; and in the following year William Dillon, 
of Lissenoide, died, leaving Henry his son, then aged thirty 
and married, who died in 1636, leaving WiUiam Dillon his 
son and heir, then aged eleven years. In 1638 died another 
William Dillon, of Boroesse, leaving Edmund his son and 
heir, then aged twenty-one and unmarried, as did Bedmond 
Dillon, also styled of Boroesse, leaving Edward his son and 
heir, then aged thirty-eight and married; and in September, 
1640, Hobert Dillon died seised of the Castles of Eillen- 
eninyn, Crevagh, &c., John, his son and heir, being then 
aged 43 years. This enumeration of obits has been given 
in deference to honours of this name yet in abeyance. 

To return to Thomas, the fourth Viscount Dillon, he was 
attainted in 1642, and driven, with his four sons, into exile on 
the Continent, where Charles, his eldest son and then heir 
apparent (but who died before his, father), is related to have 
been a Greneral Officer in the service of France as well as of 
Spain, and to have been Governor of Toumay, in Flanders. 
On the Bestoration, Viscount Thomas returned to his native 
country, when he was himself restored to his extensive estates 
in the Counties of Mayo, Boscommon, and Westmeath. In 
March, 1641, died James, the first Earl of Boscommon, 
leaving seven sons — ^Bobert, Lucas, Thomas, Christopher, 
George, John, and Patrick ; amongst whom, and their issue 
male, the Earldom has since descended until the death of the 
last Earl, whence proofs of succession have hitherto failed to 
be established. The Attainders of 1642 include, with the 
aforesaid Viscount Thomas, eighteen others of this name, viz., 


Andrew Dillon of Biverston, William of Flintstown, Henry 
of Betaghstown, Thomas and Michael of Bathoath, in Meath ; 
Dermot Dillon of Longtown, in Kildare ; Luke of Kilhugh, 
in Dublin County; and Francis of Balljmorris, in Wicklow. 
Of the Confederate Catholics assembled at Kilkenny in 1646, 
&c,y were Edmund and John Dillon of Streamstown, James 
of Clonegassel, and Lucas of Lough Glyn. Those excepted 
from pardon for life and estate, by Cromwell's Act of denun- 
ciation, were James Dillon of Boscommon, and James Dillon, 
brother of the Viscount of Costello-Grallen. 

The grants to members of this noble family after the 
restoratian were: — ^In 1666, to Captain Greorge DiUon, of 
3,414 acres in Kerry ; to Captain Arthur Dillon, granting 
Lismullen and other lands in Meath and Louth. In 1669 
Colonel Cary Dillon passed patents, partly in trust for the 
1649 officers and yet more for himself, for extensive estates in 
Clare, Galway, Boscommon, Kilkenny, Tipperary, Meath, 
and Eling's County. In 1677 Bichard Dillon had a grant of 
460 acres in Galway and Boscommon, as had Gerald Dillon 
of 3,008 in Mayo, Boscommon, and Gralway. In 1679 
Francis Dillon acquired 421 acres in Boscommon ; John 
Dillon, in 1680, passed patent for Lisheane (Lissian), 204 
acres, in Mayo. In this latter year, Theobald Dillon, of 
Lough Glyn, William Brabazon, and Ellis Dillon, otherwise 
Brabazon, had a grant of 4,723 acres in Boscommon and Mayo, 
to hold to the use of sidd Theobald and Ellis for their lives ; 
remainder to their first son in tail male, with similar remainders 
in tail to their other sons, down to their tenth ; remainder then 
to Theobald Dillon, of Kilmore, for life ; reminder to his 
eldest son, Bobert, in tail male ; similar remainders in tail to 
this Theobald's other sons down to the tenth ; remainder to his 
right heirs. In 1683 James Dillon, heir of Luke Dillon, had 


a grant of Dangan-o'Beme, with 1,168 acres in Boscommon. 
The Theobald, here styled of Kilmore, was the seventh 
Viscount Dillon, having succeeded to the title in 1682, and 
he appears on this Army List (as before) the Lieutenant- 
Colonel of Lord Clanricarde's Infimtry. He raised two 
fiegiments for King James's service ; one, — ^that under 
present consideration, — commanded by the above Colonel 
Henry Dillon, his eldest son and successor in the title, one of 
the Representatives of the County of Westmeath in tiie 
Parliament of 1689, and afterwards Grovemor of Galway. 
The second Regiment so raised by Viscount Theobald was 
put under the command of his second son, the Honourable 
Arthur Dillon, and was that afterwards assigned to form pert 
of Mountcashel's Brigade. 

Li 1686 Dillon, Lord Roscommon, togetiier with Tyr- 
connel, the Lords Limerick and Grormanston, Justin Mac 
Cartie, Richard Hamilton, Nicholas Furcel, and others, signed 
a proclamation of amnesty, as emanating ftom the Council 
Chamber ; whereby it was declared ^' that none of his Majesty's 
subjects of this Kingdom shall at any time hereafter be sued, 
vexed, or disquieted, either by indictment, information or 
otherwise, in his Majesty^s name or at his suit, for or by 
reason of any treasonable, seditious, or other words whatsoever 
spoken, or that may be pretended to have been spoken by any 
of them, before the decease of his late Majesty and his now 
Majesty's accession to the crown.* (This Lord Roscommon, 
however, it is to be remarked, was, at his own request, 
presented in December, 1688, by the Earl of Clarendon to 
the Prince of Orange at the Prince of Denmark's,! and he 
was accordingly attainted in King James's Parliament of the 

* Singer'* Carr€sp,j toL 1, p. 519. f Idem, r. 2, p. 287. 


folIonHng jear, with Isabella, Countess Dowager of Boscom* 
mon, and Sir John Dillon of Lismullen.) 

In December, 1686, Lord Clarendon wrote to the Earl of 
Sunderland, in reference to filling a vacancy on the Irish 
Bench, and those competent to fill it: — ''There are Mr. 
Ghurret Dillon, Mr. Nangle (Nagle), and Mr. Browne; these 
three are Boman Catholics. Mr. Nangle I know has no 
mind to be a Judge, nor I believe will Mr. Dillon, he being 
in very great practice; he is a very honest gentleman, and it 
is not fit for me to omit the best men."* This latter was 
raised to a Serjeantcj at the close of the ensuing year. In 
the Parliament of 1689, Theobald, Viscount Dillon, of 
Costello-Gallen, sat amongst the Peers, whilst of the Com- 
mons were John Dillon, one of the Bepresentatives of the 
Borough of Boscommon ; this Honorable Colonel Henry, one 
of those for Westmeath; and the aforesaid Prime-Serjeant 
Greiald for the Borough of MuUingar. It may be here 
mentioned that the above Theobald, Viscount Dillon, married 
Mary, a daughter of Sir Henry Talbot of Templeogue, 
County of Dublin, and was afterwards attainted; but the 
outlawry was reversed in &vour of his son and successor, 
Henry, the eighth Viscount, the Officer under present con- 
sideration. Theobald's second son, Arthur, entered the 

military service in France, as hereinafter noticed. rThe 

above named Prime-Serjeant Dillon was seised in fee of divers 
estates in the Coimties of Mayo and Boscommon, which he 
devised in 1690 to Theobald, his then only son, in tail-male, 
with remainders ; but he was himself attainted. He followed 
£ing James to France, where he had two other sons, James 
and Claude, who both died there, intestate and unmarried 

* Smger^s Ckirresp.^ v. 2, p. 122. 


250 KING James's fRiSH abmt list. 

Theobald, the aforesaid eldest son, however, survived his 
father, continuing to be a Catholic until his death. In 1720 
he married Mary, eldest daughter of Bichard Malone, hj 
whom he had Nicholas, his only son, and three daughters. 
Theobald lived to 1763, his son Nicholas being then with him 
in France, but he, on his father's death, which occurred in 
that year, came over and conformed ; in four years after which 
he died intestate, unmarried, and without issue.* 

Besides the sixteen Dillons in this Regiment, Gerald Dillon 

was a Captain in Lord Abercom's Horse; Dillon a 

Comet in Sir NdU O'Neill's; in Lord Gormanston's Lifantry 

Dillon was a Lieutenant; another a Captain in Lord 

Gtdway's ; in Colonel Oliver O'Grara's, Charles Dillon was an 
Ensign; while Lord Dillon was Lieutenant-Colonel in the 
Earl of Clanricarde's Infantry. In July, 1691, after the 
battle of Aughrim, the latter was Governor of Galway. On 
the 26th of that month he capitulated, ^^ marching out," says 
Story, " with the Irish garrison, having not above 2,300 men, 
and those but indifferently armed and worse clothed.'' It 
may be added that a Major Dillon was one of the hostages 
given by that Governor for the due performance of the 
Articles on the Irish side.f On the 9th of September 
following, Lough-Glyn Castle, commanded by Colonel 
Theobald Dillon, surrendered to the summons of King 
William's party ; and in the memorable month of October 
following. Colonel Garret Dillon, the Prime-Serjeant, was 
one of the executing parties to the civil Articles of Limerick. 

The Attainders of 1691 record the names of Arthur, 
Henry, Lucas, and Christopher Dillon of Killen&ghney; 
Gerald and Theobald Dillon of Portlick; John Dillon of 

* Pleadings m Chancery. f SardimarCs GiUway^ p. 162. 


Boscommon; Arthur, Christopher, and James Dillon of 
Lough-Glyn; James Dillon of Lissian; Tobias of Ballydrum- 
nej; Robert of Flintstown; Edward of TuUaghanageeragh ; 
Peter and Thomas of BaUy-CloghdufFe ; Hubert and Kedmond 
of Walterstown; Robert of Tully; Richard and John of 
Leccaskin ; Peter of KiUininny ; Henry (but/) of Ardbuck- 
ney ; Bartholomew of CalUaghtown ; Peter of Hybaskin ; 
Richard, son of Thomas, of Athlone ; Martin of Huntstown 
in the County Dublin ; Edward Dillon of Mullins ; Edward 
Dillon, Junior, of Drumrany; Walter of Killoman; Richard 
and William of Lissenode ; Honor, relict of John Dillon, 
with many others. At the Court of Claims in 1700, Red- 
mund Dillon, a minor, claimed and was allowed a remidnder 
in tail, after the decease of Margery Dillon, in various lands 
in the Baronies of Ealkenny West and Rathconrath, forfeited 
by Pierce Dillon; while said Margery claimed her jointure 

thereoff. ^Edmund DiUon was allowed a reversion in fee 

in Mayo lands, forfdted by Christopher Dillon ; off which 
Margaret Dillon, his widow, sought and was allowed her 
dower; while Richard Bourk and Mary Bourk, alias Dillon, 
also obtained a certain amount of jointure off the same 

property. Gfarret Dillon was allowed a mortgage on 

Peter Dillon's forfeited lands of Granaghan, &c. ^Mary, 

Catherine, and Elizabeth Dillon, minors, claimed by their 
guardian and were allowed portions of £150 each, off lands 
in the Counties of Dublin and Meath, forfeited by Martin 
Dillon. Robert Dillon, also a minor, was allowed a remainder 
in special tail therein; while Matthew Dillon, in full age, 

sought and obtained a similar remainder. Gerald Dillon 

was allowed a fee in Portlick, &c.. County of Westmeath. 

Henry Lord Dillon claimed the fee of lands in the 

County of Roscommon, as purchased for his benefit by John 

252 KING James's ibish army list. 

Dillon, the forfeiting proprietor, his trostee; he also daimed 
an annuity, a chie&y, a term for years, and an estate tail in 
several estates in Mayo, Gralway, and Westmeath, forfeited 
by Gerald Dillon, all which claims were allowed; as was 
the claim of a Thomas Dillon to a trust estate in fee, held 
by said attainted Gerald for his benefit. 

Arthur Dillon, before mentioned as the second son of 
Theobald, the seventh Viscount Dillon, passed into France 
with a Segment raised by that nobleman, and consisting 
of two battalions of 1,600 men and two companies; and as 
most interesting particulars of him and of his Regiment, with 
notices of several otiier distinguished officers of that name on 
the Continent, are recorded in O^CaUagharCs Irish Brigades^ 
it shall here only be stated that in 1703, when serving 
in the Tyrol, Dillon and his Irish forces were ordered to 
clear the mountains on tixe northern nde of the lake of Gbrda. 
*^ The passages were closed with entrenchments constructed 
by Austrian Engineers, and guarded by the peasants and 
regular militia. On viewing them, they were found impreg- 
nable in front, while in the rere steep predpices lifted their 
summits to the clouds, accessible only to the wild animals 
of the Alps. There the eagle built his nest, the chamois 
bounded from cliff to cliff, and the bouquelin gambolled in 
the wantonness of his freedom; but man had never been 
seen on these summits. The Irish scaled them, and, appear- 
ing in the rere of the entrenchments, so terrified the armed 
peasantry and the few regular troops who were with them, 
that after a few discharges they abandoned their position 
with the utmost precipitation. Dillon caused several fires 
to blaze on the summit of the mountain, in order to magnify 
his detachment into a lai^e body in the eyes of the garrison 
and inhabitants of Biva; whereupon the citizens, apprehen-- 


siye of the horrors of the city being taken hj storm, shut 
thdr gates and sent a deputation to Dillon with the keys. 
He entered in triumph, and his detachment was regaled 
-mth refreshments, and possessed themselves of several pieces 
of cannon and considerable ammunition."* Dillon's was not 
less distinguished in 1704 in Piedmont and Savoy. In the 
following year he was made a Field-Marshal, was appointed 
Grovemor of Toulon, signalized himself in Lombardy, was 
constituted Ejiight of the Holy Ghost, and raised to the rank 
of Lieutenant-Greneral. In the early part of 1707, he served 
in Dauphin^; subsequently in the campaigns of 1710, 1711, 
and 1712, under the Marshal Duke of Brunswick, and last 
in 1714. He lived, however, imtil 1733, when his death 
took place at ScGermains en Laye, at the age of 63, he 
having three years previously resigned his Begiment to his 
eldest son, Comte Charles de Dillon. He had married a niece 
of Lieutenant-Colonel Dominick Sheldon (of whom see anUy 
vol. 1, p. 68), and by her had, besides daughters, five sons; 
the two eldest of whom were successive Viscounts Dillon. 
To pursue the achievements of this ^nom celebre dans lea 
troupes IrlandaiseSj \ would be here irrelevant. 

The Muster Boll of Dillon's Begiment, as composed in 
1791, is a speaking record of expatriated Irishmen. 

The CoUmelj Theobald Dillon. 

Lieutenant-CokmelSf O'More and O'Toole. 

Captains^ Barry, Mac Dermott, Mac Dermot, Greenlaw, 
Coghlan, Dillon, O'Keeffe, FenneU, Walsh, Hussey, OTer- 
lall, Shee, Sheldon, Fagan, Fitz Maurice, Pindan. 

LieiUenanta^ Mac Closkey, O'Mara, John O'Neill, Doran, 

* O'Qmnor's MUU. Mem. v. I, p. 278, && 
t VoUair^s Siede, Lorn XIV., y. 4, p. 102. 


Francis M'Dermott, Bedmond, , Kean Mahonj, Joseph 
O'Neill, Warren, Langton, Clifford, Conway, Jordan, 
Cokeran, John Walsh, Christopher Fagan, Mac Namara, 
Barnewall, Patt Fitzsimon, John Mahony, O' Sullivan, 
Tarleton, Theobald Walsh, Charles Walsh, Michael Bellew, 
and O'Dunne. 

In the following year the Colonel led out this force, 
described as a superb brigade of Cavalry and Cuirassiers, 
from Lisle, under orders to invest Toumay; but the privates, 
infected with a republican jealousy to their Colonel, as an 
Aristocrat and a Royalist, rose up in mutiny and shot him 
dead. By a decree of the Convention, however, says Mr. 
O'Beilly, in his ReminUcenees of an Irish Emigrant, vol. 1, p. 
175, ' the children of this Colonel Theobald were adopted 
by the country; and, twenty years later, one of his sons 
served as an officer in the Irish Legion. After the disband- 
ing of Dillon's Brigade there remained in France of this 
Begiment, at Arras, the following officers of Irish descent: — 
O'Moran, OTerrall, FitzGerald, Pindan, Warren, Hart, 
Plunkett, Tarleton, Michael Bellew, Doyle, Nagle, Delany, 
Christopher Fagan, Andrew Elliott, Mac Cormick, Beed, 
Morris, Mac Dermott, Hussey, Shee, Barnewall, Corkeran, 
O'Neill, and Waters. In 1794 was guillotined another of 
this family, a victim to Bepublican Equalization — Arthur, 
second son of Henry, the eleventh Viscount Dillon, who 
had ranked as a General in the French service, and had 
succeeded his murdered brother in the hereditary command 
of the Begiment rsused by their grandfather. 

An obituary of 1782 states the death at that time of John- 
Talbot Dillon, Eaiight and Baron of the Holy Boman 
Empire, bom in London, the son of Francb Dillon, whose 
father, William Dillon, lived to the age of 102, and died then 


only in consequence of a &11 from his horse. This veteran 
had) at the advanced age of 70, married a young lady, aged 
but seventeen, of the family of Plunkett, by whom he had 
several children. He was of the Dillons of Proudston, a 
brandi of the Earls of Roscommon. His son Thomas sold 
the paternal estate about the year 1730, passed over to 
England, and settling in London married Mary Wingfield, 
only daughter and heiress of Mervyn Wingfield of Godwins, 
in Suffolk, descended from Sir Anthony Wingfield of Henry 
the Eighth's time. Their son, the above John Talbot Dillon, 
married a lady from Liege with a prospect of a fortune, but 
she, dying without issue, the expectation of the fortune was 
defeated. About that time the Emperor Joseph conferred 
upon his father, said Francis, who had been previously 
knighted by the Emperor Francis, the title of a free Baron 
of the Holy Roman Empire, with all privileges and inuuuni- 
ties; remainder to the heirs male and female of said Francis 
and Mary. The children named in the patent were this John- 
Talbot Dillon the eldest son. Frauds, a Captain of Cuirassiers 
in the Lnperial army, and William Mervyn Dillon. John 
Talbot, having survived his wife, resided for some years in 
Vienna; after which he removed to England. By his 
mother, says the Obituary, he was allied to the houses of 
Norfolk, Northumberland, Carlisle, the late Earls of Castle- 
haven, the present Lord Audley, the Earls of Louth, and 
Viscount Powerscourt. He published Travels in Spain, 
chiefly confined to its natural history. Sir William Henry 
Dillon, knight, the son of Sir John Talbot Dillon, entered 
the navy at an early age, in 1839 received the good service 
pension, and died in September, 1857. 



This sumajne is of record in Ireland in the person of Re^nald 
Morgan in 1320. In 1612 George Sexton had a grant of the 
imurdship of Patt Morgan the Younger, heir of Patt Morgan 
the Elder, of Grarrynadine in Roscommon; while in 1616 
Robert Morgan had a grant of various rectories and ecclesias* 
tical dues in Wexford. Three of the name were attainted in 
1642, and at the battle of Newberry, fought in the following 
year, a Colonel Morgan was killed on the Royalist side. 
Lieutenant Charles and Quarter-Master Henry Morgan 
appear on the Roll of adjudications for the *1649' 
Officers. In 1666 another Robert Morgan, a captain, had 
confirmatory grants of 4,980 acres in Munster, and 5,410 
in Connaught, as had John Morgan in the following year for 
1,587 acres in Galway, 234 in Mayo, and 634 in Clare; and 
in 1669 Sarah, relict of James Morgan, and Catherine, their 
daughter, had a grant of 187 in Down. 

In King James's Parliament of 1689 Sir John Morgan, 
Baronet, was attainted. Besides the above Major there were 
commisdoned in the present Army List, John Morgan a 
Lieutenant in the King's own In&ntry, and another of the 
name was an Enogn in Fitz Jameses, while at Aughrim fell 
a Lieutenant-Colonel Morgan. Those of the name attainted 
in 1692 were Joseph of Cookstown and Edward of Drogheda, 



Thb family of !He7nolds is anglicised from Mac Baoall, a 
Sept who held the territory of Monter-Iolis, comprising the 
southern part of the County of Leitrim, with the northern 
part of Longford, including within its ambit the Castles of 
Rinn, Lough*Scur, and Leitrim, and the religious houses of 
Fenagh, Lough-Scur, and Leitrim. The native annals record 
their too frequent feuds with the O^Ruarcs, the rival tanists 
of Brefney; yet, in 1419, Geoffirey Mac Ranall assisted, as 
Chief of his Sept, at the inauguration of Art, son of Teigue 
O'Ruarc, as king of that Territory* In 1535 Mac Ranall, 
Archdeacon of Kells, was deputed by the unfortunate Lord 
Thomas Fitzgerald (the Silken Lord), to solicit aid in his 
insurrection, from the Pope and the Emperor Charles the 
Fifth.* In the seventeenth century, Anne Ware, a younger 
fflster of Sir James Ware, the justly venerated antiquarian^ 
was married to Humphrey Reynolds of Lough- Sour, who, in 
1610, had license for markets at Clone in Leitrim and at 
Downamona in Mayo. In 1642 — .-« Reynolds of New- 
castle, County of Dublin, was attainted; and in 1646 
Charles Reynolds, described as of ^Jamestown,* sat amongst 
the Confedeiate Catholics in Kilkenny. In the latter year 
CRuarc, "Chief of Brefiiey, with his Sept, Bernard Mac 
•Ranall, C^>taan of his Sept, Conrad Mac Ranall and Cornelius 
Mac Ranall, with their adherents, repudiated the political 
settlement then proposed, commonly called ^the Peace of 
Ormonde.*'^ The Act of Explanation (1665) contained a 

• darkens James ILj v. I, p. 176. f ^ Bwrgoy Hib. Dom.^ p. 879. 
VOL. II. 8 

S58 KiNa JAMEs'a ibish abmt list. 

proviso for restoring James Reynolds of Lough-Scur to all 
his lands, for which he had in 1666 a confirmatory patent, 
comprising Lough-Scur Castle, manor, &c,, with 6,661 acres 
in Leitrim, and upwards of 1,000 in Roscommon Counties; 
while, in aeyeral other patents of the day, were contained 
savings of his rights in the County of Roscommon, ss also of 
those of Humphrey Reynolds. Major John Reynolds was 
one of the '1649* officers, whose claims for pi^t services were 
recognised on the Restoration. 

The above Captain Edmund Reynolds was one of the 
Representatives of the County of Leitrim in the Parliament 
of 1689 ; and, besides him, there appear in comioission upon 
the present Army List in this Regim^it, Morgan Reynolds a 
Lieutenant, and Ferdinando an Enogo; while in Colonel 
Oliver O'Grara's Infimtry, Turlough Reynolds waa an Ensign. 
Those attainted of the name in 1691 were, with the above 
Edward (styled of Leitrim), John Reynolds of Blundektown, 
County of Dublin, Charles of Dublin, Fardagh of Castlefore, 
Loughlin and Bruin of Lisnagann, with Connor and Thady 
of Ballinaboy (all in the County of Leitrim). On Edmund's 
attainder, a portion of the ancient estate of Rathmore was 
considered confiscated aa his, but at Chichester House the fee 
^thereof was claimed by and allowed to Bridget Reynolds, 
alias Long, ' his widow,' she deriving title by descent from 
her fitther, Patrick, and through her brother, Christopher 

The late Geoige Nugent Reynolds, a popular poet of some 
few years past, was considered the last male representative of 
this Sept in Leitrim. 



The Powells are of Welsh extraction the most respectable, 
descended from Howell ap Bhys of Pinkelly in Caermarthen- 
shire. On the plantation of Ulster, William Powell, described 
as then of Castlepark, within the manor of Tutbury, in 
Staffordshire, had a grant of upwards of 2,000 acres in 
Armagh, which were erected into the manor of Ballyworran. 
James Powell, of the Carmarthenshire line, was Clerk of the 
Conndl in the reign of Charles the First, and Historiographer 
Boyal in that of Charles the Second, while it must not be 
omitted that a Mary Powell was the wife of the immortal 
Milton. In 1641 a William Powell claimed title to the 
Vicarage of Laraghbryap, against Lady Talbot ; it was, 
however, adjudged to her by an order of the Irish House of 
Commons. Amongst the Boyaliste who were in 1652 tried 
by court-martial in St. Patrick's Church, was a Thomas 
Powell. In 1666 Gyles Powell had a confiimatory grant of 
3,410 acres in Limerick ; while Captain Edward Powell was 
one of the * 1649' Officers, In 1688 Sir John Powell waa a 
puisne Judge of the Irish King's Benoh, who, in the 
following year, was transferred to the Common Pleas.* At 
the battle of the Boyne, a Lieutenant Powell, 'of the 
Guards,' was killed.t The Attainders of 1691 have of this 
name only Edward PoweU, described as of Bathcormac, 
County of Cork. 

• Smger^s Corresp, vol. 2, p. 273^ 
t Clarke^s Mem, James //., yoL 2, p. 399. 

260 KINO James's ibish abmt list. 


Another of this surname was a Lieutenant in the King's 

Own Begiment of Infantry.-^ An interesting old manuscript 

has been forwarded in aid of thia work by Mr. Browne of 
Mojne; it is entitled, " Extracts from the Genealogy of the 
most illustrious House of O'Mullally or O'Lally of Ireland,, 
collected from the old Irish MS. Books of Pedigrees, as well 
as from the records preserved in the offices of the Exchequer, 
the BoUb, and the Auditor-General in said kingdom, by 
William Hawkins, Esq., King of Arms, &c., tmder the seal 
of his office " This compilation deduces the family firom 
Amlavus O'Maollalla, said to be Chief of Tulk«hy-MaolaIla, 
and descended in the thirteenth generation from Maolalla, 
who, at the close of the tenth century, was ruler of 
Moen-nioge, now Clanricarde ; from which period the annals 
recorded are sad evidences of the feuds that existed between 
the tanists of this house and the De Burgos. They do, 
however, more peaceAiUy relate the death of an O^Mullally in 
1487, ' the most eminent man for wisdom in Hy-Maine,' and 
in 1523 Dr. Thomas O'Mullally or Lally is noticed presiding 
as Archbishop of Tuam, at a synod there held. 

In 1541 Melaghlin Mao Dermot 0*MullaUy submitted 
himself, his vassals, and land, by indented articles of agree- 
ment, to Sir Anthony St. Leger, Lord Deputy; and 
delivered his eldest son John, then twenty-five years old, as 
a hostage for performance on his part. Melaghlin had 
married Margaret, the daughter of Cormac, son of Roger 
Mac Dermot, Chief of Moylurg; and their son, said John, 
distinguished himself with his galloglasses at the siege of 


dillok's infai^tbt. 261 

Boulogne in 1544. He married a daughter of Hugh 
O'Madden, Chief of Silanchia, and his brother, William 
O'Mullally, was Archbishop of Tuam in 1573, by the Queen's 
appointment. In 1585 this Prelate was nominated on a 
commission for the pacification of Connaught, and died in 
1595. In 1604 ' Isacke* Lally of Tullenedaly sued out a 
license of pardon and protection ; in Cromwell's time, how- 
ever, James O'MullaUy, the great grandson of John, forfeited 
a considerable part of the family estate; he had married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Gerald Dillon of Feamore in the 
County of Mayo (brother of the first Viscount Dillon of 
Costello-Grallen), and died on the old soil of Tullindally. 
His brothers Donald and William, following the fortunes of 
Charles the Second, were outlawed, and the i^mainder of the 
Lally estates in the Baronies of Dunmore and Kilconnell, 
County of Gralway, were thereupon confiscated. The grand- 
son of the last-named James O'Mullalley, was another James 
a Captain (the officer under present consideration) afterwards 
Colonel, who was killed at Montmelian. Thus far, almost 
in the words of the aforessdd Manuscript Pedigree, the 
authenticity of which is vouched by " Lally Marquis ToUen- 
dal. Peer of Fjrance, Minister of State, in Paris, 29th October, 
1817." Its authority is, however, impugned [by Dr. 

The Captain James Lally, here under consideration, sat 
as Representative of Tuam in the Parliament of 1689, in 
the roll of which he was expressly styled of Tullindally. 
When Theobald, the second Viscount Dillon (writes O'Cal- 
laghan*), raised in 1690 and sent over to France the 
Regiment subsequently known as Dillon's Regiment to form 

* History of the Brigades^ p. 121. 


part of Monntcashers Brigade, haying iqypcmited his son 
Colonel thereof, though then not twenty years of age, he 
conferred the rank of Colonel, as commandant of the second 
Battalion, on his cousin James Lally de ToUendal; who, 
with his brothers, Gerald, William, and Mark Lally, mainly 
contributed to form that second Battalion from several 
independent companies. In the blockade and siege of Mont- 
melian, in November, 1691, this James was killed. Besides 
him in Colonel Henry DiUon's In&ntry, Edmund Lally was 
a Captain, and another James Lally was an Ensign in Lord 
G^alway's. The Attainders of 1691 have but the names 
of James and Gerald The ToUindally so confiscated was 
sold in 1703 to Edward Crew, styled of Carrowkeel, County 
of Gralway, it being described as *^ the castle, town, and lands 
of 'tullynadaly, &c., in the Barony of Dunmore, County of 
Ghdway;'* subject, however, to a legacy to Michael Lally, 
and portions to Bridget Lally and to Mary Jordan, alias 

Gerald Lally, the attainted brother of James and his 
companion in exile, married in France Marie- Anne de 
Bressae, a lady connected with some of the noblest houses 
in that kingdom, and they were the parents of Thomas 
Arthur Lally, the Count Lally, styled from a devotion to the 
natale solum^ ^ de ToUendal.' He was bom in Dauphin^ 
in 1702, and was, according to the custom then in France, 
entered a soldier on his birth. He obtained a company in 
Dillon's Lieh Brigade at the age of nineteen, and at twenty* 
five was, on Cardinal Fleury's selection, sent to negotiate 
some important state affidrs with the Court of Russia; a 
nusBion in which he acquitted himself so well, that he gained 
the confidence of his master and a recommendation from the 
Czarina. In 1743 he fought at Dettingen. Li 1744 a 


Beg^ent was drafted from an Irish Briigade for his com- 
Biandy hence styled ' Lally's Beglment,' down to its reduction 
in 1763. At the battle of Ypres, in May of the following 
year, this body of men was signally distinguished: Colonel 
LaUy and several of his ofBcers were wounded. He, how* 
ever, as Voltaire relates,* ^' took with his own hand" many 
English ofBcers, whereupon the King caused him to be 
appointed a Brigadieir-Generali In the succeeding July 
(1745), when, by the aid of Walsh, a merchant in Nantes, 
who was an Irish refiigee. Prince Charles Edward embarked 
in the last effort to recover the crown of his ancestors, Colonel 
LaUy attended him, shared aU the dangers and hardships of 
that campaign, and was, as Voltaire also expresses it, the soul 
of. the. enterprise. The Duke of Cumberland caused him to 
be seized as a spy, but by influential interporition he was 
diaoharg^i on the terms of quitting EnglanHthin twenty- 
four hours. ^' His hatred of the English and his courage,'' 
says Voltaire, '* led to his having been selected some years 
after to command the expedition required to uphold the 
Erenoh Company established for traffic in India.'' 

The details of this appointment and the circumstances 
connected with it are given fully by that historian ; enough 
here to say that, when he was appointed to this command 
in 1755, it was avowed that he should have forthwith 
a force of 3,000 men and £250,000 in money, with three 
ships of war; to which the French India Company might 
add such vessels as they could arm. The equipment was 
not, however, sent out until two years aft;er, and then 
so curtailed in every particular, that Lally declined taking 
charge of it until peremptorily ordered so to do.^^ The 

* Siide de Lom XIV^ vol 4, p. 181. 



capture hj the English in 1761 of Pondicherry, of which he 
was GoTemor, closed his career and that war in India. He 
was taken prisoner by the English, removed to Madras, and 
thence transported to England $ where, having learned the 
weighty accusations and charges that were raised against him 
in his own country, he sought and obtained leave to return 
thither to meet and confiite them. Bepairing to Fontain- 
bleau, he wrote to the Duke de Choiseul, ' I have brought 
hither my head and my innocence, and shall await your 
orders.' These orders were of unexampled severity. His 
property was seized, and himself incarcerated in the Bastille 
for fifteen months before he was brought to trial. '^Is this 
the reward of forty years' service 7" he cried, as he passed 
at the age of 64 to the Conciergerie — to judgment. He 
was sentenced to die, and having been guarded to the place 
of execution and gagged, was beheaded in 1766, some hours 
previous to that which was .fixed by his judges. His remains 
were buried in an obscure church of Paris. Thus died the 
Count Lally de ToUendal the Elder, the victim of court 
intrigues to screen the fitults of others.-*— He left by his 
wife. Felicity Crofton, a son, Gerard de Lally, bom at Paris 
in 1751, and who ranked ^Comte et Marquis de Lally 
Tolendal, Peer of France.' In the generous reverence of 
his &ther's reputation, he was successfully labouring in 1789 
to obtain, from the Parliament of Rouen, a reversal of his 
condemnation and an acknowledgement of his innocence, 
when, the Revolution breaking out, paralyzed his efibrts, 
and obliged him to seek an asylum in Switzerland. But 
Gerard was a zealous Royalist, and he it was who, on the 
memorable 20th of July in that year, presenting the un» 
fortunate King to his people, delivered the eloquent and 
pathetic address which is extant in the journals and histoiy 

billon's infantbt. 265 

of the time. Hia loyalty driving him again into exile, he 
retired into Switzerland ; from which place, neverthelefis, 
he returned to Paris in 1792, with the yain hope of saidng 
the King's life, but he was promptly arrested and imprisoned 
in the Abbaye; whence making his escape to England, he 
resided for some years at Bichmond, until, on the Restoration 
of the Bourbons in 1814, he was made a Privy Coundllor 
by Louis XVIII., with whom he retreated to Ghent on 
the return of the exiled Emperor in the following year. 
On the second Restoration he was created a Peer, and soon 
after died» 


The Mao Crawley's, or more correctly Mac Awleys, were 
Chiefs of Calrigui, a territory on the borders of Westmeath 
and King^s County, comprising the present parish of Bally- 
loughloe in the Barony of Clonronan; while, according to 
Mac Geoghegan, the Sept also possessed part of the Barony 
of Kilcoursy in the King's Coimty. They trace their lineage 
£rom Manie, the fourth son of Niall of the Nine Hostages ; 
and a venerable pedigree, long preserved in the family, veri- 
fied in 1702 by William Hawkins, Ulster King of Arms, 
and printed in eatenso at Prague in 1736, details the succes- 
sion from him to Awley of the 13th century, and thence to 
the present representative. In this pedigree the respective 
matches of each tanist with the septs of O'Rourke, Mac 
Geoghegan, Fite Patrick, O'Byme, O'KeUy, O'CarroD, 
OTerrall, O'Brien, ©'Kennedy, O'Mulloy, O'Connor-Faly, 
O'More, O'Melaghlin, &c., through centuries, are confidently 

266 KING James's ibish asmt list. 

given. The Four Masters commemorate the death of Aire^ 
achtach Mac Awley, then Chief of Cahigia, in 1187. In 
1460 Manus Mc Awley, its chiefs married Una O'Mulloj, 
daughter of the Lord of Feaical. In 1527, say the same 
annalists with undisguised candour, Aulaff Oge Dhu Mac 
Awley, the Chief of Calrigia, was slain hj the Clan Cohnan ; 
but previous to his death he had his revenge, for he slew 
at the same place Fiochadh Mac Geoghegan. In 1615 
James Magawley had liveiy, as son and heir of Christopher 
Magawlejf of Don^;ane in Westmeath^ In 1632 died 
Murtagh Magawley, seised of two castles and sundry lands 
in said county. Awley Magawley, his son and heir, was 
then aged forty and married. In two years after died James 
Magawley, seised in fee of the Castle of Ballyloughtoo, &c., 
leaving Henry ^ his eldest son, then aged fourteen^ with six 
other sons, Bichard, Hugh, Gerald, Thomas, Edward, and 
Christopher, all living at the time of their said father's 
decease. This Henry appears to have married Maria^ daugh- 
ter of John Brown of the Neal; and a very detuled pedigree 
in the ascending line of this Henry, through twenty-four 
generations, to Byrne, son of Maurice, whom it mentions as 
having been baptised by St. Patrick, is incorporated in » 
Funeral Entry in Birtningham Tower. Henry had by this 
lady five sons; the above Captain Patrick, Henry, Johui 
Philip, and Gerald. Frauds, third son of said Patrick by 
Johanna, daughter of John Leicester of Ejlcormack, married 
Bridget Delamer, by whom he had Awley Mac Awley, who, 
in the early part of his life, was in the service of Maria 
Theresa. His son was the late Count Francis Philip Mac 
Awley, who married in 1808 Clara, daughter and sole heiress 
of the Count Cerati, and was in 1815 the chosen Prime 
Minister of the Ex-Empress Maria Louisa. He died in 1835, 

Dillon's infaktbt. 267 

when his son Valerio, Count Magawley (CeratI), succeeded 
to the representation of this ancient Sept. 

Francis had, by s^d Bridget Delamer, three other sons, 
Henry, attainted in 1691, but who afterwards became a 
Franciscan fiiar, and died in 1711; John, who also became 
a fiiar, in Bohemia, and died in 1720; and Philip, bom in 
1675, and who, notwithstanding his tender years, was, for a 
short time, engaged in this war, an Ensign in this Colonel 
Henry's Begiment, but he left Ireland in 1690 for France, 
with that which his young relative, Colonel Arthur Dillon, 
brought over to the Continent. Philip signalized himself in 
the seryioe, and died in 1735. The Mac Gawleys attainted 
in 1691 were the above Patrick, styled of Tullavoad in 
Westmeath; Grarret, George, James, and Peter Mac Gawley 
of Came ; Dominick of Noughwell, Hubert of Aughvillas,. 
with James and Henry of Dungan, all in said County; 
Bichard of Kildine in Meath; Thomas of Lisnaskea in 
Fermanagh, and Thomas 'Mac Gaulie* of Bathi&iland in 
Down (the last two appear to have been of Scotch descent 
and Plantation introduction). Christopher Mac Gawley, of 
Williamstown in Westmeath, was also attainted, but obtained, 
on claim, the benefit of the Articles of Limerick, as did 
likewise Captain Patrick, who had attained the rank of 
Lieutenant-Colonel in the war. At the Court of Claims in 
1700 Christopher Mac Gawley and Jane his wife claimed 
an estate tail in Westmeath lands forfeited by James Mac 
Gawley, but th^ prayer was disallowed; while a Patrick 
Mac Gawley sought and obtained a long leasehold term, and 
a mortgage affecting Westmeath lands, as well those of said 
James as of Henry Mac Gawley« 



The founder of this fiunily in Ldand, aaja Sir Bernard 
Burke in his Baronetage^ was Bidiard Blake, aliaa Caddellt 
who aocompanied Prince John in 1185 into this Kingdom^ 
and subsequently obtained huge grants in Connaught. His 
descendant and namesake was commanded in 1303, as Sheriff 
of Connaught, to levy a debt due to the Crown by David 
de Buigo. In 1309 John le Blake and Gilbert le Blake 
sued out writs of right connected with lands, as did Bichaid 
le Blake in the following year. In 1355 Walter Poer Blake 
was one of the influential proprietors of Waterford, who, 
according to the law of the day, elected Peter, son of Boger 
le Poer, into its Shrievalty^ In 1387 when Robert de Yere, 
Marquess of Dublin, ruled Ireland under the extraordinary 
grant from King Richard, that fiivourite, having committed 
the salmon fishery of the town and river of Gbdway, as then 
in the possession of the Crown, by reason of the minority 
of Roger, son and heir of Edmund Mortimer, late Earl of 
March, to Richard Panys of Bristol, especially prohibited 
Richard de Burgo and Henry Blake, bux^esses of that town, 
from opposing the exercise of this right. A branch of the 
fiunily was then settled in the County of Ejldaie (where it 
gave name to the locality of Blakestown) as was another in 
Meath. In 1487 Robert Blake was Bishop of Clonmacnoise, 
by the Pope's provision. 

In the time of Queen Elizabeth died Luke Blake of New 
Ross, leaving Mark his son and heir, who died in 1604, 
when Luke, junior, his son and heir, was aged only five years; 
the latter died in 1623, leaving John Blake his brother and 

> ^Aimm mammmmmmBssaBm 



hear, of ftdl age. In 1612 Robert Blake of Gralway, had a 
grant of the Castle, mill, and lands of Ballynacourt, the Castle 
and site of Castlemoyle, the Castle, town, and lands of Caitra, 
the Castle or fort of Ardfiy, with sundry lands and chief 
rents in Ghalway, a Castle, town, and sundry townlands in 
Mayo ; while, in 1616, Valentine Blake had a patent for 
markets and fhirs at Clonyn in the last County. In 1618 
died Bichard Blake of Wardstown, in Meath, seised of a 
Castle and other premises there; he left no male issue, 
whereupon Alison, daughter of Peter Blake, his brother, then 
aged fourteen, succeeded to the estates. In 1640 John 
Blake, alias Caddell, presented a petition to the Commis- 
sioners of the Transplantation of Connaught, wherein, after 
stating that ^' he and his ancestors, whose heir he is by lineal 
descent of eleven generations, as proveable by many andent 
and authentic documents, ' is and have been seised of their 
inheritance of the Castie and two water mills of Kiltorragh, 
and a moiety of the lands thereto belon^g, and of two 
quarters and a-half in Slew-Clare, parcel of Kiltorragh, and 
of the moiety of the Castle and four quarters of land in 
Eolltullagh, and of divers messuages and lands, within the 
Liberties of Galway and Athenry; and that the petitioner 
and his ancestors did plant thereabout, being an ancient 
English &mily, and there continued without change of 
language, manners, or habit, and without once matching with 
any Irish family, since the ninth year of Edward the Second,* 
and that said premises have been ever English land, exempt 
from Irish jurisdiction or exactions, as free as any within 
the Pale, same having been then purchased from Thomas 
'Hobridge' by the petitioner's ancestor, Richard Caddell^ 
called * the hlach^ To this memorial was annexed a proof of 
the respective links of the petitioner's pedigree, whereupon 

.—— «. .—jj^gj— <—i-»^i ■ mm •m^m^'-'-m. ~ . « .^^- ^■MiMa«»-^««^pm^v'«^i^^"-^«^^r^^^i 


the said Commissioners reported, * upon all which we concdve 
that the estate of inheritance, now held by the said John Blake, 
of the premises, was in his said ancestors, whose heir male 
he is, before his Majesty's title accrued to the said County 
of Gralway."* Francis Blake, of this old Galway iamily, 
was one of the Confederates at the Supreme Council of 
Kilkenny, of which Assembly Sir Bichard Blake^ the founder 
of the &mily of Ardfiy, was Speaker. In 1668 Walter 
Blake had a confirmatory grant of 3,748 acres in Mayo, 
and 2,803 in Galway, and in 1677 had an increased grant 
of 2,523 acres in these Counties ; while in the latter year 
Martin Bkke had a similar grant of 1,895 acres in Galway; 
Andrew Blake of 2,532 in the same County ; and Andrew, 
son and heir of Walter, of 3,376 acres in Gralway and Mayo. 
In 1679 Peter Blake passed patent for a moiety of the 
castle, town, and six quarters of Aughrim, 535 acres, and 
upwards of 1,000 more in Galway. In 1681 Robert, son 
and heir of Bichard Blake, had like grants of 12,000 acres 
in Galway, Mayo, and Meath; as had Marcus Blake of 
1,189 acres in Mayo. 

Besides the above Captain Walter, there appeared com- 
missioned on this List — in liord Bophin*s Infantry, Bichard 
Blake a Captain with John Blake his Ensign; Peter a 
Captain and another Peter his Ensign; and Richard a 
Lieutenant with Nicholas Blake bis Ensign; while, in 
Colonel Dominick Browne's Infantry, Valentine ^Blacke' 
was a Lieutenant. In King James's New Charter to Galway 
in 1687, fourteen of this name were set down upon the Roll 
of Burgesses. Eight of the name were attainted in 1691, 
and amongst them the above Walter, described as of Galway. 

* HardmuffCs lar-'Cowaught^ pp. 104-5. 

billon's infantbt. 271 

He was in truth Sir Walter Blake of Menlough; and, 
though he was one of the Kepresentatives of the County of 
Gralway in the Parliament of 1689, he was yet, says Sir 
Bernard Burke,* * the first Catholic gentleman that joined 
the standard of the Prince of Orange, and obtained a com- 
mission from his Highness to raise a Begiment which he 
maintained and clothed at his own expense.' He was, 
however, f(»rmally attainted in 1691, as was also John Blake 
of Ardfry ; but Sir Walter was adjudged within the articles 
of 1698 and 1699, as were Lieutenant Blake of Drum, and 
Bichard Blake of Ardfry. The latter was one of the 
burgesses named in the New Charter to Galway, but not 
haying taken up arms for dther party, his own burned 
Ardfry and destroyed his property, in consequence of which 
De Grinkell promised him relief that he afterwards obtained; 
but, being a papist, much difficulty was interposed to his 
getting possession of his lands.f Francis and Martin Blake, 
who were also of King James's party, obtained pardons under 
the Great Seal. At Chichester House Sir Walter Blake 
claimed and was allowed a fee in estates in the County of 
Clare, forfeited by John Blake of Ardfry; while on other 
estates of said John, Isidore and Patrick Blake, minors, by 
their uncle and guardian Thon^as Lynch, sought respective 
remainders ; as did Mary Lynch, otherwise Blake, his widow, 
her jointure. In 1697 Geoffirey Blake, of Drum in Galway, 
petitioned the Irish Parliament for relief by Bill against his 
&ther, Walter Blake a papist, who threatened to disinherit 
him as he (Geoffirey) had become a Protestant.-* — Joseph 
Henry Blake, the representative of the Ardfry line, was in 
1800 ennobled by tiie titie of Lord Barpn Wallscourt. 

* Pm^e^ p. 90. t Tharpe'a Catal SouOwM MSS^ p. 88. 

272 KING James's irish abut list. 


Sir Bernard Burke remarks in his Peerage^ that Jacques 
le Brabazon appears ia the Boll of Battle- Abbey, as one of 
the Knights who aocompanied the Conqaeror to England; 
from which time members of this &mily are distinguished on 
English reoord, as Knights, Justices, and Bepresentatiyes in 
Parliament, In 1534 Sir William Brabazon was Vice* 
Treasurer and Receiver-Greneral of Ireland ; at which time 
the Lord Chief Justice Aylmer wrote of him to Lord 
Cromwell, King Henry's prime minister, as ^the man that 
prevented the total ruin and desdation of the country, and 
who is extolled by all, as the saviour of the Idngdom.' He 
was thrice at the head of the Irish Govermnent as Lord 
Justice. His eldest son Edward was one of the Bepre* 
sentatives for the County of Wicklow in Perrot's Parliament 
of 1585, and he, in 1609, had a grant of the onoe splendid 
religious house of St. Thomas ii Becket, with the oourt, 
wood, mill, buildings, orchards and gardens ajq)ertaining, 
situate within the liberties of DuUin, which his desoendantB, 
the Earls of Meath, still ei^oy^ 

In 1636 Anthony Brabazon died, seised of Kildogher^ 
Calliaghtown, Ac., in Louth, leaving Edward lus son and 
h^, aged ten years. The name does not appear on the BoU 
of Attainders of 1641, hut, in 1652, Anthony Brabazon^ 
described as of Ballinasloe, a younger branch oS the aforesaid 
Sir William, and anoestor of the Baronets of the County 
Mayo, was excepted from pard<m for lift and estate by 
CromweU*s Ordinance. In 1679 a confirmatory patent for 
891 acres in Boaoommon, passed to William Brabazon, who 


seems to have been the son of Anthony, the patentee of 
1652, and identical with the above Captain. 

The IJarl of Meath of that day was so identified with 
King Williain's cause, as to have been attainted in King 
James's Parliament. He had a command in the service of 
the former at the battle of the Boji^e; and, in the subsequent 
first siege of Limerick, led a Regiment, on which occasion 
several of his men were shot,* and himself wounded; he was 
sworn of King William's Privy Council, and afterwards of 
Queen Anise's, and d;ed in Feb., 1708, s.p. 

'^. — TT^ 


The early annals of this once powerful &mily are fully 
detailed in the JSook of Lecauj avowedly from the more 
ancient Psalter of Cashel. The Book of Kilronan^ compiled 
by their chief ^ Seanachiesy the O'Duigenans, has, as might 
be expected, most interesting particulars of their lii^eage. 
Maolruana, King of Moylurg at the time of the battle of 
Clontarf in 1014) is ranked as propositus of this noble Sept; 
he, however, having been, as the Annalists relate, too old to 
be there present, one of his sons led his adherents, the Clan- 
Maobnana, on that memorable day. His lineal descendant 
in the seventh generation was Dermot, who died in 1159, 
*' Supreme Councillor, Sage, and excellent Mediator of one- 
fifth of Connaught." In him the surname originated, while 
their territory was called Moylurg. Conor, the son of this 
Dermot, Tanist of Moylurg in the twelfth century, after 

* Bawdon Papers^ p. 334, 


enjoying the sovereigntj of the little prindpality for ten 
years, took upon him the Cisterdan habit, and became a 
monk in the Abbey of Boyle, within whose still noble and 
picturesque walls he was interred in 1198; whereupon the 
govemment hereof devolved upon Tumultagh (Timothy) 
Mao Dermot, his son, who erected in 1204 the original castle 
on an Island of Lough Ee, within the now beautiful demesne 
of Viscount Lorton. Thon^, (the son of Ferral Mao Dermot> 
theretofore Abbot of Boyle), was in 1262 pronioted to the 
Bishopric of Elphin. In this interval branched off the 
founders of the Mac Dermots-na-Grall aad the Mc Dermotts 
ruagh (Roe). Early in the fourteenth century Dermot 
McDermot of Moylurg was one of the Irish Magnates who, 
firom a hatred of the English government, invited the invasion 
of Edward, the brother of King Bobert Bruce, On his 
arrival in Ulster, this Dermot was of the first who joined his 
standard, and fell, his unsuccessAd ally, in the last struggle 
for the invader, at the battle of Athenry, with many other 
Mo Dermots, his adherents. From Conor Mc Dermot of this 
period sprung the Mc Dermots 'of the Bock;' a branch was 
also at this time established in Cork. 

In 1331 Maolruana Mc Dermot, Lord of Moylurg, having 
abdicated his govermnent, assumed the monastic habit in the 
Abbey of Boyle, and Tomaltaoh his son succeeded to the 
lordship. In 1478 Mao William Burke aided, as would seem 
by Connor Mao Dermot, dien the Chief, 'entered upon that 
portion of Moylurg, which belonged to Boderic Mac Dennot, 
who thereupon proceeded to besiege Hhe Bode' in Lough Ke, 
the seat of the Mac Dermot, having with him a mechanical 
war engine^ which was sent to him from Fermanagh; and, 
by a cast fix>m it, the only son of the Mc Dermot was slain, 
the Bock was taken, and Boderic assumed the lordship of 

i}TLL0W8 iKfAlftBr. 275 

Moylurg and exiled Coimo]'.* *In 1540,' as Al86 re^rded 
by the Four Masters, 'a generitl invitation to one entertain- 
ment was given bj Boderic, the son of Teigue Mac Dermot, 
and his wife, the daughter of Mto William of Olantiokard, to 
the Schools Of Ireland and t6 all those who were in the habit 
of receiving presents, to coine to them ^ the Bock, and they 
Were all plentiftdly supplied by that couple/ To Ibe Parlia- 
ment, convened by Sir John Perrot in 1585, Teigue, the sdn 
of Hugh ' Og^,' being tanist of Moylurg and very old^ sent 
his relative *of the Bock,' vi2. Bryan, son of Bory, son of 
Teigue, son of Bory ogey who was the great grandson of 
Connor, the founded of that line (as aforesaid), to represent 
the Sept at this first national Assembly. Teigue's line after- 
wards became extinct, and the Captainship passed to the 
femily 'of the Book.' A survey of Connaught, made in ldS6, 
names MoDermot's territory in Boscommon «^ Moniurter- 

In 1602, when the Lord Deputy Mountjoy ptumA the 
Christmas at Qalway, the Mc Dermot (styled ^of die 
Curlews') made his submission to him. Brystt He Dermot 
was then the Chief; in 1608, however, his estates were held 
to be confiscated, and seven leading members of the Sept 
were obliged to sue out their pardons. In 1604 King James 
granted the reversion of the office of Seijeant^t^Arms in 
Connaught and Thomond to Cormack Mao Dermot and 
Henry his son, and the survivoi^. A B^port made during 
this reign states that this Cormadc Ma^ Dermot bitd a son 
and a nephew in the College of Bourdeaux, prints ; while the 
document emphatically adds— »* There are hufidr^d^ in the 
College, whose names I saw the last lent, fh>m Waterford, 
Limerick, Clonmel, Cork, Ghdway, Kilkenny, and Drogheda, 
and from the counties abeoad throughout the ^^ealm; and I 


am sore that there is no worthy gent: in all the reahn, nor 
merchant, but gave their sons and their nearest kinsmen; but 
what in particular is sent to them, is the portion their &thers 
do leave them, and some coIlectionB that yearly ' is' taken up 
for them; and with this they live, together with certain yearly 
pensions that is allowed unto the Colleges by the Kings and 
Princes in whose dominion they liye. But as for the Bishops 
Jesuits, Friars, they receive not one penny out of this land, 
but are relieved by the bounty of the Priests throughout 
Christendom where they dwell, and by the Prelates of the 
Cloisters, wher^ they receive their orders.'* In the same 
year (1604) Sir Theobald Dillon, Enight (afterwards created 
Visoount DiUon, and ancestor of the Colonel of this 
Segment), had a grant of the wardship of Bryan oge 
McDermot, son and heir of the aforesaid Bryan *of the 
Bock,' for the consideration of a fine of £4, and an annual 
rent of £3 68. 8d., the patentee retuning thereout certain 
allowances for the maintenance and educatioa of the minor. 
In 1607 Connor MacDermott Boe passed patent for 
Cammock and other lands in Boscommon, with license for 
fairs and markets in Eilmactrany ; and in the same year Sir 
William Taaffe, Ejiight, had a grant of the wardship of 
Owen, son and heir of Cornelius MacDennot of Carrick 
MacDermot, deceased ; which Owen attained age in 1617, as 
did Bryan, Lord Dillon's ward, in the following year; when 
he passed patent for such a territory that the enumeration of 
the townlands covers sixteen skins of parchment; the first 
richly illuminated; yet was it but a portion of their former 
princely inheritance* The patent is still preserved by the 
lineal male representative of the Sept, Charles MacDermot 

^MS.m Trm. ColL LSbrmy, DMm^ E. iiL 7. 


of Coolayin. This Bryan, the Chief, died in 1636, and was 
buried in a church founded by one of his ancestors, within the 
holy ambit of ClonmacnoiBe. His second son, Charles, on the 
death of an elder brother Terence without issue, became 
seised of Moylurg — its last Chief He had married Eleanor, 
daughter * of the great O'Mulloy of Croghan/ in the County 
of Roscommon. In 1681 Hugh, son of Teigue, son of Bory, 
son of Owen Grana MacDermott, passed patent for 194 acres 
in Gralwayi 

Hugh Mc Dermot^ the Captain in this notice, was the 
eldest son of said Charles and Eleanor; he was taken prisoner 
at Aughrim, but, on the interference and by the interest of 
Sir Robert King, the ancestor of Viscount Lorton (then 
residing at Rockingham, part of the ancient property of the 
McDermots), he was released, avowedly by reason of the 
humanity and kindness evinced by him towards the Pro- 
testant Clergy and Laity. The origmal letter of Sir Robert 
King to John Davies, in &vour of Captain Hugh on this 
occasion, is in the possession of the aforesaid representative of 
the Sept ; as is also a memorial from Hugh to Sarsfield, 
seeking military outfit for his troop, with the order thereupon 
signed by Henry Dillon, as Lord Lieutenant of the County. 
Captain Hugh intermarried with Eliza, daughter of O'Kelly 
of Aughiim, and by her had issue Charles and Terence. Li 
January, 1688, Ballymote was garrisoned by the latter, who 
represented the Borough of Boyle in King James's Parlia- 
ment of Dublin, and was consequently attainted in King 
"William's ; whereupon all his interest in the family estates 
(the greater portion of which had been conveyed in 1669 to 
him by his fitther) was confiscated; and his brother Charles 
succeeded only to Coolavin on the death of their fistther, 
Ci^tain Hugh, in 1707. Before that event, in September, 


1690, this Charts was, in yirtue of King James's Com- 
misaion, directed and ^npowered to receive for his Migesty 
the Caatlfi of Carrick Mac Dermot, i.e. the Castle of the 
Sock, in Lough Ke, and the Castle or strong house of 
Canbo, and all other the Castl^ and strong houses upon die 
said Charles's estate and ancient inheritance. He died in 
1758| at the advanced age of 98i leaving issue by his lady, 
(Catherine Dillon of the House of Clonbrock), Myles his eldest 
son, who married a daughter of Charles O'Conor, the eld^ 
historian, and died at Coolavin in 1793, leaving issue Hugh 
and other children. Hugh married his cousin Elizabeth, 
daughter of Denis O'Conor of Ballinagar, and by her had 
Charles and several other children. Charles intermarried 
with Arabella O'Kourke of the andent Sept of Bre&ey, by 
whom he has a numerous issue, and he now ranks as the 
lineal representative of th? elder line of the MacDermots. 
Besides the above Captain Hugh, there are in commisaion, 
in different Begiments of this Army list, eight other 
McDermots or McDermotts — four in Colonel Oliver O'Grara's, 
one in Colonel Nicholas Browne's, and three in Sir Michael 
Creagh's Infimtry. In the Parliament of 1689 Terence 
Dermott, who, aa Lord Mayor of Dublin, solemnly presented 
its keys to King James on his previous arrival there, and who 
was a Captain in Sir Michael Creagh's In^ntry^ represented, 
with his Colonel, that City; Terence MacDennot of 
Coolavin, with Captain John King, represented the Borough 
of Boyle; while Bobert Dermot was one of the Members for 
Dundalk, and Bryan Dermot for Carlingford. The Attainders 
of 1691 exhibit the names of Terence Dermot, senior and 
junior, of Dublin; Bryan McDermott of Carlingford; Bobert 
and John of Drogheda, merchants ; Edward of Newry ; 
Dermid of Kilbeny, in Louth ; William of Ballymartin^ in 


Kilkanny ; Myles of C«rricksu\lagh ; aod Bryan of £ilronan» 
in Boscommon. 


The McDonoughs w^e a powerful Sept in the County of 
SligOy having an extensive tetritory in the Barony of Conan ; 
they were also at a very early date established in the County 
of Cork, where they held the noble castle of Kanturk. In 
the former County they are considered to have branched from 
the MacDermotSy in the latter from the McCartys, This 
Sept is ezpreosly stated by the Four Maeters to have taken 
their patronymic in Sligo, from a Donough, who flourished 
there in 1278. The same Annalists record, with much 
importance of ]angnage< the progress of MacDonough of 
Tyrrerill in 1397 to the plain of Connaught (about Boyle), 
with his whole force, property, and cattle^ in order to aid the 
O'Conor. In 1446 ^^ihe McDonoughs, Turlough Carraeh 
O'Connor and O'Conor Don having joined Mao WiUiam of 
Claniicarde, for the purpose of appointing a McDonough in 
Tyrrerill, they finally agreed on electing two MacDonoughs, 
giving half of the country to each, namely to John, the son of 
Conor McDonough, and to Teigue, the son of Tomaltach 
More McDonough;" and, accordingly, the sept sent two re- 
presentatives to Perrot's memorable Parliament of 1585. In 
1597 " Ballymote (in Sligo), which had been in possession of 
the Queen's people for thirteen years till this time, was taken 
by its own original inheritors, namely, by the McDonoughs 
of Corran." By a patent of 1617 various manors, castles, 
towns, and lands of their ancient territory in the County of 
Sligo were, according to the policy of the day, re-gxanted on 


new and more forfeitable tenures to different members of this 
Sept, as also to those of O'Hara, O'Higgins, and O'Connor; 
while the same patent includes other re-grants to the 
O'Dowdes and O'Graras in that county and in Mayo ; and 
in 1677 Daniel McDonough had a grant of 366 acres in 
Clare ; as had Turlough M'Donough of 116 in Mayo. 

The Attainders of 1642 present thfe names of Cormack 
McDodagh of Knockecrawley ; Melaghlin of Lismalronyne ; 
Daniel of Ardkill, in Kildare; Hugh buy of Coolkenny, in 
Wicklow; and Connor 'Donnagh' of Baldungan, in Dublin; 
while the outlawries of 1691 comprise Terence M'Donough 
of Sligo; William of Drumburgy ; John, Andrew, Thaddeus, 
and Michael of Ballindoe ; Laughlin of Ballyraghboe ; 
Dominick of Dungillagh ; Morgan of Carrowlack ; and 
Mulrooney of BaQymote, all in Sligo ^ with Cornelius of 
Camaghy, in Cork ; and James ^ Donogh' of Arklow. On 
the present Army List, besides Captun Terence, there 
appear Henry M'Donough, a Lieutenant in Sir Charles 
O'BrienV Infantry ; Morgan McDonough, an Ensign in 
Colonel Oliver O'Gara's ; and in Sir John iltzgerald's 

Lifantry Regiment, McDonough was Surgeon. In the 

Parliament of 1689, the above Terence McDonough sat 
as one of the B>epresentatives of the Borough of Sligo. 
Hamilton, in his Enniskillenersy says that In May, 1689, 
BaUyshannon Was relieved by them, and the Irish were 
obliged to evacuate. ^All their foot,' he addd, 'fled away 
towards Sligo, or got off safe, e:tcept some few that were 
taken in the Fish Island, neat the toWn, with their Captun, 
one MacDonough, a Counsellor-at-law, commonly known by 
the name of * blind MacDonough.' In 1690 one of the Cork 
McDonoughs was appointed by King James a Governor of 
that County. 



The Phillipses of Irelaiid are, with, perhups, the only excep- 
tion of those in Ulster, deduct, in their family pedigrees, 
from Wales. A spedtaen of those genealogical records in 
manuscript drawn up in the last century, and vouched, as 
on their best belief and local knowledge, by the attestation of 
all the Bomaii Catholic Ptelates of Connaught, referring as 
it does to Captain Walter's Mayo line, is in this compiler's 
possession ; that peculiar test of credence here mentioned, 
having been necessitated, where, after the Reformation, 
members of Catholic Houses in Ireland sought preferment in 
France, Spain, ot Austria. 

It commences with Cadifer ap Colhoyii) Lord of Dyfed, 
who was of the same tribe with Vortigem, King of Britun, 
and paternally descended from Maximus, Ejng of Britain 
and Emperor of Rome. This Cadifer Was the founder of the 
ennobled line of Picton Castle, and from him and his lady 
Helen, only daughter and heiress of Lleoch Llawen Vawr, a 
Prince of Wales, the tree springs out through his lineal heir 
male, Sir Aar6n ap Rhys, who attended Richard the First 
into the Holy Land, where he behaved so gallantly that he 
received the ordei" of Ejiighthood of the Holy Sepulchre, and 
a grant of armorials, a lion rampant sable in a field argent. 
His descendant, Philip ap Evan, left a son Meredith, who 
was the first that took the name of Phillips, styling himself 
Meredith Philips, instead of ap Phillip, the usual character of 

Meredith was bom in 1242, and while his eldest son, 
Philip Philips of Kylsant, was the ancestor of the family of 


Picton Castle, his youngest son, John Phillips, in the time of 
Edward the First, crossed over in that monarch's service to 
subdue the Irish 'rebeb' in Connaught, where, the enterprise 
having succeeded, he acquired the patrimony of Clonmore, 
with the townlands annexed in the County of Mayo, in 
reward of his services. (It is of tradition that other o&hoots 
of this Welsh stock came over at the same time or soon after, 
and established the name in different Irish localities. In the 
time of Queen Elizabeth they are recorded as of the gentry of 
the King's County, and Waterford; William Phillips was 
Sheriff of Waterford in 1616. They soon afierwards t^ppear 
settied in various parts of Tipperary, Coric^ Kilkenny, 
Limerick, and Wexford. Those of Munster appear to have 
become Protestants, and two of themj Captain Christopher 
Phillips of Limerick and Edward Phillips of Cork, were 
attainted in King James's Parliament of 1689; the former 
was one of the representatives of the borough of Askeaton in 
King William's Parliament of 1696.) 

The above-mentioned John was bom in 1271, as was, in 
the eighth generation from him, Gilbert Phillips of Clonmore, 
who married Mary Jordan, daughter of Walter Jordan, a 
Chief of the adjacent Barony of Gallen. (Their son, Walter 
Phillips, was one of the chiefs who in 1585 was required to 
testify a surrender of the County to the Lord Deputy, Sir 
John Perrot, on the composition; he did not however execute 
tiie degrading transfer). Another son of Gilbert and Mary 

was Philip Phillips, bom in 1557, married a daughter of 

O'GKira, Chief of the Barony of Coolavin, in the County of 
Sligo, and their son Myles, bom in 1590, married Mable, 

daughter of O'Donnelan of Rossedonelan, County of 

Boscommon. (Various inquisitions were taken in the time of 
James the First in Mayo, on Phillipses, or, as they were 


there slykd, Mao Fhillibe^, sons of Pbillip ; while Dr. 
O'Dcmovaa suggests that the Mac Phillibeen in the Barony 
of Burrishoole in that County were a braneh of the Burkes.) 
Walter, the eldest bom c^ Myles and Mable, became a Major 
in the army, and he is expressly named in the declaration of 
King Charles's gradtude, ^for services beyond the seas,' being 
styled Captain Walter Phillips of Clonmore, in Mayo. He 
married Wini&ed, daughter of Dudley Costello of the Barony 
of Costello. They had issue Philip and John ; the latter 
married Eleanor daughter of Captain William TaaSe, fifth 
son of the first Viscount Corran> and who was himself lineal 
ancestor of the present Viscount Taaffe* A third son Charles 
was, with his eldest brother Philip* adjudged entitled to the 
benefit of the Articles of Limerick* the latter, commonly 
called Captain Phillips, Was bom in Austrian Belgium in 
1653, where his fiither then sojourned with the Royal Family, 
whence on the Bestoration these exiles returned to Clonmore ; 
and Philip, in 1682, married Bridget O'Mulloy, daughter of 
Edward O'Mulloy, Chief of Oughtertyry, County of Ros- 
common. Their eldest son Myles, bom in 1684, married in 
1712 Juliana, daughter of Edward Browne of TuUimore, 
County of Mayo, by whom he had issue Edward his eldest 
son, Phillip Phillips his second son, Archbishop of Tuam, 
('lately deceased,' says the Manuscript aboye cited), and John 
who died unmarried* Edward, in October, 1739, married 
Helena, daughter of John O'Kelly of Castle Kelly, County 
of Gralway, by whom he had one son, Thomas, bom in 
January, 1749, who in 1767 manied Catherine, daughter of 
Philip and Anne O'Byme of Killoughter, County of Wicklow. 
Their issue 'are' Edward, bom 24th May, 1768 ; Philip, bom 

1770; and Myles, bom 1774. Here this ancient Pedigree 

concludes. Edward, the eldest son, married in 1794, Anne, 


daughter of Doctor Terence Mac Dermot^ of the house of 
Coolayin, and had issue Thomas, (and two other sons who 
died unmarried), with three daughters. Thomas, the eldest 
son of Edward, married in 1828 Alicia, the only surviving 
daughter of Doctor OTenall, of the old Sept of Annaly, and 
he has by her three sons and four daughters. This family, 
of such ancient origin and old respectability in Mayo, has, 
in the bloodless revolution of the Incumbered Estates^ Com- 
mission, been uprooted from the Boil« They are there no 

It may be here mentioned that Major Dudley Phillips, 
Lieutenants Richard and Edward, and Ensign Greoige 
Phillips appear on the Boll of the '1649* Officers, in con- 
nexion with adjudications decreed after the Sestoration. 


Ik 1676 a Thomas Butledge had a confirmatory grant of 
139 acres in Tipperary, while this officer is described, in 
the Inquisition taken on his Attainder, as ' of Clontikilty, 
County Mayo.' A James Butledge, on the same roll of 
outiawries, was possessed of property in the town of Galway, 
off which Catherine Butledge, otherwise Blake, claimed and 
was allowed jointure. A Lieutenant Edward ' Butledge ' 
was one of the ' 1649 ' officers* 



The 0*Melaghlin was one of the five Septs eligible to 
the Bovereignty of Leinster, and the power of the fiunily 
and extent of the territory over which it lorded as a 
Royal appropriation, are evinced in the grant firom Henry 
the Second to Hugh de Lacy, making over to him the 
whole Province of Meath, including Westmeath (of modem 
partition); *to hold same in as ftdl and ample a manner 
as Murrough O'Melaghlin had tl^eretofore held the same;' 
yet, in the lapse of centuries, this great name has become 
extinct, or is only sought to be traced in existing asami- 
lations, as M^Loughlin, O'L^ughlin, &c. 

According to the native chronicles, a daughter of O'Me- 
laghlin, King of Meath ip the ninth century, was the agent 
of killing Turgesius the Danish tyrant, by a stratagem 
like that related by Plutarph iq, his Life of Pelopidas. 
At the commencement of the eleventh century, Malachy 
O'Melaghlin, theretofore the acknowledged King of Ireland, 
was deposed by Brien Boroimhe, In 1105 the territory 
of Meath was divided between the sons of Donald O'Me- 
laghlin. * In the progress of the same century, Murrough 
O'Melaghlin, the acknowledged King of Meath, was one 
of the chief leaders in the feudal conflicts that opened 
Ireland to the English adventurers; while the abduction 
of his daughter, then wife of O'Rourke, is effectively nar- 
rated by the Annalists as leading in that invasion. His 
Kingdom passed from him, and even his great mensal 
patrimony, the Province of Meath,* was given, as before 
mentioned, — a Palatinate to Hugh de Lacy. 


In 1264 *Art O'Melaghlin burned all the oastles and 
to¥ms in Delvin, in Calraigh, and in Breaghmaine, and 
expelled all the Engliflh therefrom; he aftervmids took 
hostages from their ohiefs.* This family thereupon became 
of such importance as to be one of the native Septs, who 
were held entitled to the priyilege of using English law. 
In 1310 the King gave the Boyal assent to an election 
made in the Convent of Clonard, by the Prioress and 
Sisteihood, of Mora, daugfatCT of the O'Melaghlin, to be 
Abbatess thermn. In 1314, when Edward the Second 
sought the aid of the Irish magnates, he directed an especial 
letter missive to * CfMelan-HelyUj Duel JBtbemarum MiduB^ 

In 1462, when Ibe remaining estates of this fiimilj were 
invaded by the Palesmen, aided by the Lord Deputy^ the 
native dans espoused their cause, and took the Viceroy 
prisoner. In the foUowing year, Connor O'Melaghlin 
died, Bishop of Elphin, in a few years after which ^the 
O'Melagfalin/ writes Dr. Stuart in his Armaghy ^was one 
of the Irish chiefs, who renounced the papal authority, 
and swore allegianoe to Henry the Eigfatli, In 1562 
Murrough Olifelaghlin was recognised Chief of the Sept, 
soon after which Sir Henry Sidney constituted his territory, 
by the description of ^ Clan-Colman,* otherwise ^O'Me- 
laghlin*s country,* parcel of the County of Westmeath. In 
1580 Callagfa, son of Turiough, son of Lysagh O'Melaghlin 
of the Coolins in Westmeath, sold all his right to certain 
lands therein to Thomas L'Estrange of Ballymore^Lough 
Suidy. In the time of James the first, this Sept was 
stripped of a very oonidderable portion of their old territory, 

a large tract of which, described as ' O'Melaghlin's Countay,* 


situated about Clonmacnoise, and oomprising advowsons, 
rectories, ohurohes, chief rents, lands, £o.,^was granted to 

DILLOH'g DTPAirrBY. 287 

Biebard, Earl of Clanrioarde; while abont the same time 
FifMicifl Blundel, ^ Clerk of the Conmuasion for Defective 
Titles/ had a grant of other O'Melagfalin estates in the 
Countjr of Westmeath. When Clare was first planted 
into a county, Fynnyn AfcLanghlin was seised of castles 
therein, at Boecoe ai^d Legivarrow. On the attainders 
of 1642 only two of this name appear, William dhu Mac 
Melagfalin and Edward Mac Melaghlin of BallyshanduiF, 
Comity of Wicklow, while Manriee O'Melaghlin, chief of 
his S^, is recorded as having in 1646 repudiated ^the 
peace of Ormonde* and leagued himself with the Ecclesi* 
astie& The outlawries of 1691 name but one, Maolseachlin 
O'Melaghlin, describing him as of Lough-Mask, County of 
Mayo; so completely had the &mily been expelled from their 
ancient province^ 



This surname is of Irish record from the time of Edward 
the Third, principally in connection with Meath. Early 
in the reign of his successor, William Lynam was appointed 
a Guardian of the Peace for the barony of Lune, in that 
county; soon after which he died, when the King committed 
to the Sheriff of Meath, in consideration of his heavy ex- 
penee and losses in treating with O'Neill of Ulster, the 
custody, of all the hinds of said William to hold, witii the 
knights' fees, wardships, and marriages theieunto belonging, 
during the minority of Hugh, his son and heir. John 
Lynham had, at the same time, the custody of other posses- 
flions theretofore belonging to said William, la 1399 Bichaid 
Lynham was guardian of the peace in the Barony of Moyfen* 

288 Kora james'b ibish abmt list. 

rath and ooBtodee of oertain lands in Meatk He was the son 
of a Nicholas Lynam, and fiither of Peter and Bichard junior. 
The Utter was in 1412 a joint costodee of the temponJities 
of the See of Meath dnriog its Tacancy. In 1425 he was 
constituted Banger of the Boyal Park of Trim, with the 
serjeantoy of the manor. In seven years after, Nicholas Lynam 
was seised of two parts of the manors of Adamstown and Bel- 
lewstown, with two parts of a water-mill at the latter locality, 
and certain other rights in weirs, mills, Ac At Adamstown 
the fiuoily continued down to the dyH war of 1641, when 
Bichard Lynam, styled of that locality, was attainted on 
three inquisitions, with Bartholomew Lynham of Swords, and 
James Lynham of Dublin, merchant. The abore lieutenant 
* was probably grandson of the latter* but his name does not 
appear on the Boll of Outlawries of 1691, and only those of 
Christopher and Adam Lynam, of Great Treffims in Meath. 


This Bumame appears upon the native annals from tiie time 
of Henry the Third, being chiefly located in Ghdway. 


This officer does not appear on the Attamders of 1691; 
the only persons named there are Hugo and Patrick O'DoweU 
of Tulljrard, County of Down; and Dionysius * Dowell* of 
Moneytagh (Mantua), County of Boscommon, while it may 
be mentioned that in 1678, Allan, son and heir of James 
Dowellf passed patent for 74 acres in tiie County of Bos- 

piliiOn's jnfantbt. 289 



Ths CostelloB, oty as the fiunilj were iQore usually styled 
on the Irish records, Mc Costellos, deriye their origin from 
Hostilio, the second son of Gilbert de Angulo. In 1192 
his &ther (said Gilbert) led what the AnnaUsta call an army 
to Easroa near Ballysbannon, and there erected a castle. 
Myles Mo Costello inyaded the country of Mac Bonnall in 
1247, bat was repulsed. In 1487, say the Four Masters, 
John dhu Mc Costello, Lord of Slieve Lugha (m Mayo) 
died, and two of the Sept were nominated to succeed him; 
and in 1565, nrhen recounting the militairy expedition of Sir 
Bichaxd Bingham through that county, they mark Castle- 
more, near Ballaghadereen, as the chief seat of the Mac 
Costello, while a survey of Connaught, drawn up in 1586, 
names Ballyhaunes, in Mayo, as the territory of Mac Cos- 
tellow, alias ' Baron Nangle.* 

In 1666, say the Bawdon Papers^ ^ the great tory Colonel 
Costello was killed.' ' The name does not appear on the 
attainders of 1641, and only that of William Costello, of 
Boss, County of Wexford, on those of 1691 ; but, by the 
proceedings before the Court of Claims in 1700, it is shown 
that a Thomas * Costello* there claimed a remainder in Mayo 
lands, forfeited by Miles ^Costelloe;' his petition was, how- 
ever, ^dismist/ Edmund Costello appears soon after on 
Irish record, settled in that County; and his son John 
having married Clotilda, a daughter of David Bourke, of 
Partry, had by her two sons, Edmund and Jordan. From 
the former this ancient fiumly has been continued at Ed- 
mundstown, in Mayo, to the present day*. 

VOL. 11. u 



The muaie of Hart or ' Hert ' is of Irish record from the 
time of Edward the First, while O^Dugan says that the 
O'Harts were an ancient Sept, settled in the immediate 
vidnity of Tara. On the Attainders of 1642 are two 
O'Hartes in Cork and one * Hart * in Dublin County. The 
Adjudications in favour of the * 1649 * Officers exhibit the 
names of Captains Gheorge and Bichard Hart, as well as of 
another Richard, styled 'Corporal of the field.* The Harts 
attainted in 1691 were Mejler Ebrt of Shannon and Henry 
Hart of CasUelough-dergan in Sligo, with Phelim H^rt, 
described as of Donore in said County, and of Bamanagh in 
Mayo. At the sales of 1703, the estate of a John Hart, 
described as ' of Blunddstown, County of Dublin,* was sold 
as forfeited property by the Commissioners. Besides this 
Ensign, a Simon Hart held the same rank in the In&ntry 
Be^ment Qf Sir Maurice Eustace^ 




The ColoneL 

Mofrogb YlthiBtty, 

Terence ICagnth. 
Miles BovriEe. 
Thomas Bomke. 
John Power. 
M'Laaghlin Donnelan. 
John M'Goghlan. 
Thomas Bomke. 
John Canol}. 
James Powei. 
Coraeliiis HoraU} 
James Lynch, 




]Bdward Tolly. 
James Lynd^ 

Terence Magrath. 
Bedmond Archdeacon, 
Ulick Bonrke. 
David Stapleton. 
McLaughlin Daly. 
Gomeilxas CoghlaiL 
Richard Bonrke. 
William Kelly. 
Wmiam Carroll. 
Bichard Bonike. 

Dominick M^rtui. 


%! ■ -■ Flahertier 

Bichard WolfiacBton. 
Daniel Mally. 

James Egan. 
Caibery lEgaa. 
Hubert Bonrke. 
William Synon. 
Gerald Bonrke. 
Morgan ^ Cnolaghan.' 
James Bonrke. 
James LaD^. 
Daniel CanoUf 
Thomas LyncI^ 
Lawrence CanoD. 

«-» Lynch. 

Dillon, Chqplam. 



The fomily of Bourke and Burke has been noticed bb ftdly 
as here allowable, at the Earl of Clanricarde's Begiment of 
Lifimtrj, ante^ p. 131, &c. This Ulick waa the eldest son of 
William, Earl of Clonricardey by his second wife. He was 
created Baron Tyaquin and Viscount Galway. Lodge 
characterizes him as a nobleman of tnie courage, and endued 
wiA laany good quaUties. He fought in ihis amy when 
only twenty'^two years of age, and feU at Aughrim. " Some 
say," admits Story, '^ that my Lord Galway had hard 
measures from some of our troops, who Ulled him after he 
had surrendered himself a prisoner, ^ot to themselves but to 
some others;" while Dr. Leslie more ej^licitly writes, 
^ several, who had quarters given to them, were afler killed in 
cold blood ; in which number were the Lord Galway and 
Colonel Charles Moore/ 



Seb of this Sept very fully, D^ Alton's AnnaU of Boyle^ 
vol. 2, p. 192, <&c. It was ori^bally settled in the Barony of 
Clare, County of Ghdway ; whence in the thirteenth century 
they were driven to the western side of Lough Corrib, and 
were there styled Lords of Lur, «.«. 'Western' Connaught. 
On the islands of that water they had many castles, traces of 


some of whieh still remain. *' In 1132/' writes Hardiman,* 
'' the King of Munster despatched a body of men by sea to 
take the Castle of Gaiway, which his Greneral Cormac Mac 
Carthy having e£fected, put the garrison to the sword^ 
levelled and destroyed the Castle and Town, and soon after 
defeated and slew Connor OTlabertie, Lord of lar- 
Connaught." In 1204 died Moriertagh O'Flaherty, Lord of / 
West Connaught ; as did Mahon QTlaherty, Chief of Clan- ^ ^/ ^^ ^ 
Donal, in 1216 ; and Hugh OTlaherty, Lord of West 
Connaught, in 1236 j\ while in 1248, say the Four Masters, 
^ Connemara was, throughout its whole extent, plundered by 
the English ; whence they marched their forces against 
OTlaherty, who defeated and slew many of them/ In 
1243 King Henry summoned the OTlaherty to do militaiy 
service against the King of Sooiland4 ' Donogh OTlaherty, 
Bishop of Killalla, the most eminent of the Irish in piety, 
died in 1306 at Dunboyne, on his way to Dublin, and was 
honourably interred in the house of the Virgin Mary, at 
Mullingar.* At the dose of that century, William ' O'Flardy,' 
Chaplain, having petitioned the King for leave to hold a 
benefice in the Diocese of Clojme, nan obstante the acts 
excluding natives from filling such, received permission 

To Perrot's Parliament in 1585, ** no one of note went 
from the Western Province of Connaught* except Morrogh 
(' na dnagh^' ' of the battle-axes,") the son of Teigue, son of 
Morrogh, son of Boderic OTlaherty .§ Before this time the 
O'Briens were expelled from the Isles of Arran by the 
OTlahertiefl of lar-Connaught, when a Commission issued 

* Bxslory ofGahoay^ p. 40. t Annals Four Masters. 

% Lynch on Feudal Digmtia^ p. 191. § Four Masters^ ad ann. 

294 Kma JAMS8*S ntisH abmt list. . 

which found them to be the right of the Queen, and she 
thereupon granted them to John Bawson of Athlone.* It is 
not, therefoi^, to be wondered at, that this ousted Sept 
sought to revenge themselves on Elizabeth's Government; 
dnd that, having first passed in their gallies from Arran and 
Ghdway, to aid the Spaniards when they landed at Smerwick; 
they made such further show of remstance in 1601, as is 
aUuded to ante p. 112. In 1606 John King, of Dublin, 
had a grant from the Crown of castles and lands, estates of 
the O'Flaheiiies in the County of Galway , ' slain in rebellion ;* 
while in 1610 Morrough-ne-Moyer O'Ffiahertie of Benowen 
had a grant of the castles or forts of Benowen and Ballyna- 
hinch, with various lands, fisheries, and chief-rents, described 
as having come to the Crown by the attainder of Teigue, son 
of Sir Morrogh-ne-<loe O'Flahertie, ^ lately dain in rebellion.* 
In two years after. Sir Bobert Newcomen, Knight, had a 
grant of other Gbdway lands, part of the estate of said 
Teigue ; and in 1615 Hugh O'Flaherty of Moycullen, in 
Qalway, had livery of his estates, as son and heir of Boger 
O'Flaherty, deceased. 

MorrOgh Flaherty of Culviu, County of Westmeath, is the 
only one of this name on the Outlawries of 1642. In Crom- 
well's Act of 1652, said Morrough-ne-Moyer OTlaherty, 
described as ef the County of Gralway, and Teigue 0*Flaherty 
were excepted from pardon for life and estate. The former 
passed out of Ireland to serve King Charles the Second 
'beyond the seas,' and received that Monarch's thanks 
therefor in the clause of Royal graiUude embodied in the Act 
of Settlement Boderic O'Flahertie, the well-'known author 
of the * Ogygvai was bom in 1630, within the old fiunily 

I ■■.*■* I ■ 11 . I ■ !■ It ■■«■ 

* HatdmmCt Gokoay^ p. 319* 

LORD galwat's uteaktbt. 295 

territory at Moycullen, his interest in which wae lost on the 
confiscations of 1641. His treatise, the Ogygia^ he divided 
into three parts. In the first, he gives an account of the 
different colonies^ that from time to time successivelj settled 
in Ireland, the names by which the island was then known, 
its dimensions, and situation, the divisions and bounds of its 
provinces, with the maimer of electing and inaugurating the 
several kings. In the second he endeavours to synchronize 
the history of his country with that of other known nations, 
firom the Deluge to the year of Christ, 428, the time when 
the last Heathen King of Ireland,- Dathy^ died. In the third 
he prosecutes more fully the history of the Irish Kings 
during the same period, and the manners of the people. This 
work he dedicated to James, then Duke of York;* and he 
was living on the old soil in 1709, when Mr« Molineuz, the 
antiquary, made him a visits which is very interestingly 
spoken of in a Manuscript in Trinity College^ Dublin, 
(I. 4, 12.) Nine years after he died, in the 89th year of his 
age, of want, as is alleged in a tract recentiy published by 
the Irish Arclueological Sodety. 

In 1641 Morrough dhu O'Fflahertie was chosen one of the 
Captains of the forces raised by the Assembly then held at 
Loughrea, and his able renstance to the Marquis of Clan- 
ricarde, is often alluded to in the Memoirs of that nobleman. 
Amongst the nobles and chiefs who went out of Ireland to 
Charles the Second in his exile, and who were afterwards 
specially mentioned in his Letter firom Breda, was this 
Captain Morrough, then the O'Fflahortie, and who had 

married the daughter of Viscoimt Mayo. Besides this 

officer, whose Lieutenanf^Colonelcy was soon after given to 

• Ware's WrUerSy p. 271. 

296 KINa JAH£8*8 1BI6H ABMT LIST. 

John PoWer, — ^- Flahertie Was a Lieutenant in Clan- 
ricarde's In&ntry, as was Hagh Flaherty in Colonel Hewaid 
Oxburgh's ; and three of the name were commissioned in 
Lord Bophin's. The Roll of the ensuing Outlawries names 
Teigue, son of Morgan Flaherty of Ballynahinch, and Hugo 
and Patrick Flaherty of Park, in the County of Gkdway, but 
has no mention of this Morrough; while at the Court of 
1700, Bryan Flaherty claimed and was allowed a term for 
years in Coimty of Gridway lands * forfeited by Morrogh 

Amongst the Manuscripta of MaraVs Library j (V. 3. 1. 
25, No. 25), is a Petition of Comet Bobert Flaherty, in 
which he states ''that, h&ng bred a Protestant, he had 
ever sought to advance the cause of King William and that 
religion, that he had long been and still was suflfering for his 
principles, &c., and prayed Boyal relief." In the alarm 
which existed in 1745, on the assertion of the Pretender's 
title in Scotland, the representative of this family proffered 
to the Viceroy (the Earl of Chesterfield) at Dublin Castle, 
the most solemn assurances of his fidelity and of that of 
his fiunily and people to the King's person and government. 
His grandson, John, inherited the remaining fiimily estates, 
and, accepting a commission in his Majesty's army, was 
styled therein Sir John O'Fflahertie, his ancestors having 
been always held to be hereditary Knights of West Con- 
naught. Sir John's son and heir, says Lynch,* is the 
present Thomas Henry O'Fflahertie of Lemonfield, County 
of Qalway, who still inherits a portion of the fiunily estates. 
In 1747 Captain Francis Flaherty, in Lally's Begiment, 
was severely woimded in the battle at Lauffield. In 1768 

^ Feudal DigmHes^ ^ 163. 


died at Nice Count O^Flaherty, who had been long in th& 
Imperial service; and in two years after died Greneral 
O'Flahertj, for many years in the service of Spaini 



Ths Sept of the O'Donelans, fix>m which this Captain 
descended, were Chiefs of Clan-Breasail in the Barony of 
Leitrim, County of Ghdway t and are so located by O'Dugan 
in his Topographical Poem on Ireland* They also ruled 
over Hy Tuirtre, a territory lying along the northern shores 
of Lough Neagh, comprising the Baronies of Toome and 
Antrim, in the County of Antrim. They derive their 
Hneage £rom Murrough Mullethan^ a King of Connaught 
in the seventh century^ from whose time frequent annals 
of their obits in the Irish Chronicles commemorate them 
as ^ Chief Poets ' of that Province^ Artgal, the grandson 
of Murrough, was, according to tradition, crowned King of 
Connaught, on a lofty hiU, mxth of where the house of 
'Ballydonnelan now stands; and a parcel of the estate was 
hence called Dun-na-ree, {.«., the King's Mount< Eighteen 
of the Sept fell at the battle of Turlogh-vohan, near 
Tuam, fought in the eleventh century between O'Conor 
and O'Bourke.* In that century, at 1090, the Annals of 
Tigemach have the interesting entry, ^The reliquaries of 
Columb-kill ue. the Bell of the Kings and the Cuille-baigh 
came from Tlroonell with 120 ounces of ulver, and Angus 
O'Donellan, then coarb of Kella, was the one who brought 

* C^IhtmaCs Ry Mame^ p. 170 

298 Koio jameb'b uasa army ubt. 

diem tliitlier tarn the NortL* In 1334 Wmkyn ODoiiiiebii 
is miaxtiooedf as having been taken prisoner in the <^«»fl^<^*" 
of the Pale; and in 1412 Tnlly ODondan, thm Chie^ 
binlt the Castle of BaUydonekn on the site, it is related, 
of a moie ancient stroo^idd of his fiunily. He also boilt 
a diapel and fiunilj cemeteiy at the abbey of KilconneU 
hence called * Chapd-ToUy; 

Mekgfalin OT>onelan, the great gnndson of l^nflj, died 
at BaUydcHidan in 1648; he was fiUher of Dr. Ndiemiah, 
who was educated at Cambridge, and ocmsecrated Aichlnshop 
of Toam by Qneen Elizabeth's patent in 1595. He married 
Elizabeth O'Donndl^ dai^ter of the thm Earl of Tyr- 
oonnell, and died in 1609, tearing by her« John, his eldest 
son, and James, who beeame Lord Chief Justice of the 
Common Pleas in Ireland. An Edmund Donelan, most 
probably a relatiTe of the Archbishop, was in 1609 pre- 
sented by the King to the Bectory of Clonemore and the 
YicaiBge of Cloghran, in the Diocese of Ossoiy, vacant 
by the death of Di*. Nehemiah Domielan, who had held 
same in commendam; while another Edmund Donelan had 
a grant in 1669 of Clogher and other denominations, 667 
acres in Boscommon^ 205 in Westmeath, and 64 in Sligo. 
An Ensign William Donelan was one of the ' 1649' Officers 
whose claim for serriees to the Boyal cause in Ireknd, 
was recognised on the Restoration. The aforesaid John 
was the great-grand&ther of the above officer, who rose 
to the rank of Colonel and was wounded at Aughrim, but 
afterwards was comprehended in the Articles of Limerick. 
He had married Mary, daughter of Bobert Dillon, (ancestor 
of the Lords Clonbrock,) and died at his house in Dublin 
in 1726| leaving iasuei through which this fiunily has been 
rince represented, and is now by another Malachy. James 


Dondan, the brothei^ of the above officer, wbb a Cuptain 
and afterwards a Major in Lord Louth's Regiment of 
Li&ntry. At the close of the campaign he passed into 
France, where he obtained a Commission and rank from 
Louis the Fourteenth, but was killed in Piedmont in 1693« 
By King James's Parliament of Dublin a 'Lady' Donnellan 
was outlawed, while the more effective attainders of 1691 
included Edward Donnelan of £illenane, Coimty Galway, 
with James Donelan of Ballydonelan, either of whom 
appears to have been the Gaptaon, hereafter noted on Lord 
Louth's Regiment. 

In 1696 Nehemiah Donellan, a collateral of this House, 
being then a Baron of the Irish Exchequer^ was appointed 
one of the Commissioners of the Great Seal, and had at 
the same time a grant of lands in the Coutities of Galway 
and Roscommon. In 1703 he was appointed Chief Baron. 
This Nehemiah was the Surviving son o£ the aforesaid 
Sir James Donellan, Chief Justice of the Common Pleas. 
He had married Mary^ daughter of Alderman John Preston 
of Dublin, and had issue by her James, John^ and William 
Donellan. She died in September, 1684, and was buried 
in Christ's Church.* — <^The petitions preferred against 
the forfeited estates by Donelans in 1700, were' for claims 
attaching to the confiscations of Lord Bophin, Lord Galway, 
Hugh Kelly, Sir Edward TyrreU, and the Earl of Clan- 
ricarde. In 1742 Peter O'Donelan was the Roman Catholic 
Bishop of Clonfert; and in the obits of 1787 that of 
Nehemiah Donelan is noticed, as having occurred in London, 
at the age of 82* He had been, says the conmiemoration, 
Governor of Carrickfergus and afterwards distinguished 

— Ill 

* Funeral Entry ^ Berm* Tar. 


himself in two oontiiieittd wan. *He was at Fonteooy 
the onlj oflker of his diyiston who escaped with his life, 
and though Wounded in ten parts of his body, he gallantij 
brought off the colonn of his corps, which Were ahnost 
shot to lags.^ For ^Donekn of Sylane' see pai at 
' aCiHinor-Sligo/ 




¥h£ oocoitence of these names in Lord Ghdway^s Segiment 
of In&ntry, drafted as it was itom the County which gaTe 
title to the Ccdonel^ establishes beyond a question that 
these officers Were of the Tollynadaly stock; and trost- 
worthy traditions, transnutted through their singularly long- 
lived descendants, maintjiin that, whilst they were refaictant 
to desert their native country after the capitulation of 
Limerick, they yet would not accept service under the 
Song who succeeded; but passed over into the parish of 
Cloneen near Mullinahone in Tipperaiy, where maternal 
relatives of theirs, named Bermingham, Were located, and 
where a monument still exists commemorating-^' Bicardus 
Bermingham nobills, qui obiit 9 Jun: An. Dom. 1672.' 
The brothers, for such they wette, on this their new settie- 
ment were more correctiy called Mullalley, and indeed 
Hardiman, in his Qalwayj styles the Sept indifferently 
LaUy or Mnllally. William the grandson of Ensign James, 
was styled of Ballycullen, and he drew up what he calls 
''a sketch, handed down by tradition from the fidthful 
records of old and respectable sages, who received a correct 

MBD oalwat's inpantet. 301 

account firom the narrative lips of their grandsires, some of 
whom witnessed the different Reyolutions of Ireland from 
the usurpation of Cromwell to the final overthrow of King 

James's adherents/' The writer of this paper, which is 

still preserved, lived to the age of seventy-four, dying in 
1799. He married his second cousin, the grand-daughter 
of Captain Edmund, and by her had two sons, James and 
Michael; the first became parish priest of Loughmore and 
Temple-ree, and died in 1832 aged seventy-five; his brother, 
Michael of Cappaghmore and Ballyeullen, died in 1849, 
leaving several sons and daughters. The third son Michael, 
the eldest and second having become priests, be^same the 
Bepresentatiye of this fiunily in the County of Tipperary. 

Sir Bernard Burke, in his Lineage of the Brownee of 
Moyne^ states that, at the close of the fifteenth century, 
JSenry son of Thomas Browne of Athenry, * acquired large 
tracts of land, by his wife Sheela, daughter of Donald 
Mullally, while it may be added that a * Brian Madally ' 
was a Comet in Maxwell's Dragoons. 


Thb O'Horans were a clan in the Coimty of Galway, 
where, in 1617 Edmund O'Horan was found seised in fee 
of sundry townlands; while in 1678 Boger 'Horane' had 
a confirmatory grant of a small allotment, as had John 
Horan of 380 acres therein, in the following year. This 
Captiun does not appear on the Boll of Attainders, but 
his Lieutenant, Boger Horan, does, and is there described 
as of Abbey Grormigan, Coimty of Gralway. 



Hb ^ns ako of a Gdhrmr frmflj; sDd thocdk ke dmi 
mofL appor «b the A ltiiu detB of l^^*^!, tiboe ae tiboe 
Tladdem TuDt of AtUoM, Hmmbm of Galvvr, aal 
Mitdiev of Chvflfe m tkat Coonrr. CIbbm am Ae 
of the ktter voe pRftocd ia 1700 br A^mi Toltr, 
. fiv hs jtntne, M vcn M OB bdtolf of 

IbttkM, fiv iiMiMliiii. ad «■ beUf of 
May aid Agaw, Iv Aor iwrtinn^ Tkea 

tlieiUI|MM SOifi DT tte COBHBaBOBEn OT tte 

FodcstnreB to Frederick Tiom^ Eeii^ of GsDmIIt, nDertor 
of tlM Enl of CkncxitT. ^A Tnlhr ^m MneoB m Ae 

Eui of Wcstmesdis In&iliT, » ^s Lake Tollr m CoIomI 
EdHuml OBciIhr*& 


of dns oifiBerdneribtt kn asof 
Comj of Coifk; wtiile a ftmam attnAder of lS4i 
WHSni Sk7»BAAe of Csnietown in Ae wumt tandjz tke 

scms ooRvptod non O oAAAAhAft- 
Dr. Me DcBwitt. m Us .Y^te *r Ik Fimr Mi 

LORD GAIiWAT'S infaktbt. 808 

(Geraghty^s edition, p. 199), ** descended from Loroan, 
of Munster, grand&ther of Brian Bora, and hence a branch 
of the Dalcassians. They were in ancient times powerftil 
Chiefs, and at the great battle of Moimnor in Desmond, 
fought in 11(^1, it is stated by the Four Masters that, 
amongst others, seven chiefb of the O'Shanahans were slain. 
Their ancient territory was called Feadha By BoDgaile, or 
^ the Woods of Hy Bongaile,' comprising the country about 
Eibhlone, near Cashel. In modern times they possessed 
the lands of BaihnioyQe, between Cashel m^ Templemore," 








Me Kama. 

Bfyaa *lUrpli3rc^' 

W- B— til. 

WQliam Pippwl 




Twlf Cimwkj . 

ThoBUs lUo CvtaQ. Jolm 

Jobn Lej. Thomaa SontlL 

JijfMfoai; DmTid Kamiadf . 



The fiunilj of Bellew, originally of Norman descent, came 
with the Conqueror to England, and into Lreland in the 
ensuing century. Li both countries it has been so dis- 
tinguished as to exhibit no less than dghteen Knights of 
the pre-eminently chivalrous Order of the Banner; while 
Peers and distinguished Commoners of the same lineage 
occur most numerous on the Bolls of Parliament, but whose 
honours, by failure of issue, or yet more by attainders, have 
become extinct. Richard Bellew was one of the Representa- 
tives of Dundalk in Perrot's Parliament of 1585 ; and Sir 
John Bellew of Willystown in Louth represented that 
County in the Parliament of 1639. He was afterwards one 
of the members of the Supreme Council of Kilkenny in 
1646; and as such was excepted firom pardon for life and 
estate by Cromwell^s Act of 1652. Having married Mary, 
daughter of Robert Dillon of Clonbrock (ancestor of the 
Lords Clonbrock), he was himself the founder of the lines 
that are now represented by Lord Bellew and the Reverend 
Sir Christopher Bellew respectively. 

John Bellew of BeUewstown, who had by the Act of 
Settlement been restored to his previously usurped estates, 
was the Colonel above commissioned. On the accession of 
James the Second, he was appointed one of that Monarch's 
earliest Councillors, and soon after created an Irish Peer by 
the title of Baron Bellew of Duleek, and was also constituted 
Lord Lieutenant and Governor of the County of Louth. 
In the command of this Regiment he was taken prisoner 
VOL. n. X 

306 KINO James's ibish asmt list. 

at Anghrim, and was so severely wounded that he died in 
the following Januaiy, as commemorated on his tomb, still 
standing in tiie middle of the aisle of Doleek church. It 
states that he was shot in the belly at Aughrim, and that, 
*' as soon as he foimd himself able to undertake a journey, 
he went with his lady to London, where he died 12th 
January, 1692. He was kid in a vault at Westminster 
till the April following, when his corpse was brought hither.** 
His lady, Dame Mary Bellew, €Uia8 Bermingham, of Dunfert, 
County of Kildare, who erected the monimient, died in 1694. 
Lord Bellew was outlawed in 1691, and his estates were 
actually granted to Lords Bomney and Trevor; but, he 
having been comprehended within the Articles of Limerick, 
these estates were restored to his second son, Bichard> who 
had obtained a pardoUt as hereader noted. The Honourable 
Walter, the eldest son of Lord Bellew, succeeded to the 
title, and was by court influence permitted to enjoy it, 
though he too was wounded at Aughrim in King Jameses 
service. He died without issue male in 1696, when the 
aforesaid Bichard became the third Lord Bellew. His son 
John was the fourth, but he also died without issue male 
at Lisle, whereby the Bellewstown line became extinct. 
The Attaiiiders of 1642 comprise the names of Nichoks 
Bellew of Balruddery, surgeon; and of Patrick Bellew 
of Aihboy. The Declaration of Boyal Gratitude from 
Charles the Second as * for services beyond the seas,* includes 

Lawrence Bellew of , County of Louth. 

Of the condition of this Regiment and of others, de 
PuHJgnan wrote to D*Avaux from Dungannon, 6th April, 
1689, ^ I have seen the Be^ments of Bellew, of ' Gormeston,* 
and of 'Louth*, who have not a sword and very few muskets. 
The companies are stronger in pikes than in muskets, and 


of those veiy few are in a state to fire. In jfine I cannot 
ezaggexate what they want in this country/ * 

Besides the three Bellews, officers in the present B^g^ent, 
there were twelve others commissioned on this Army liist ; 
in TyrconneFs and Lord Abercom's Horse, in Lord Dongan's 
and Simon Luttrell's Dnigoons, in the Boyal Regiment of 
Infantry, as well as in that of Lord Louth, Oliver O'Glaia, 
Sir Michael Creagh and Fitz-James. In Bang James's 
Parliament of 1689 Lord Bellew sat as one of the Peers, 
while in the CommcHis Thomas Bellew was one of the 
Bepresentatives for the County of Louth. On the 3rd of 
July in that year the Duke of Berwick wrote to Greneral 
Hamilton, than besieging Deny, " I marched yesterday 
morning from Newton-Stewart, and joining Sunderland at 

* Om^,' I marched hither (Trelick). . . . My advance 
guard cut off several of their sentries, and pushed a great 
many of the Bebels' party with auch vigour as they beat, 
with tiiirty dragoons, three troops of hoise of theirs, which 
were drawn up at a distance from us* Captain Patrick 

* Belue' (i.e. Bellew of this Regiment) and Major ^ Magdonne^* 
commanded the van-guard. There was eight or nine of the 
enemy killed but none of ouxs.'*t Schonberg, soon after 
he landed in Ulster, garrisoned Lord Bellew's Castle near 
Dundalk. *' At our coming to Dundalk," Qn September, 
1689), writes Story, '' we got about 2,000 of Lord BeUew's 
sheep, which came in very good time to the army, for it 
had gone hard wii^ us before for want of proviMons."t 
During this scgoum of Sohonbeiig, three of his Cc^nels, 

t MSS. in Trinily C(dlege, Dublin, F a, 19. 
X Stonft Infwtial ffutor^y pt. L, p. 19. 


dying of distemper, were interred in Lord Bellew^e vault at 
Dundalk, bat thej were taken up on the Irifih regaining 
possession of the place, and interred at the church door* 

In 1690 Thomas Bellew was one of the Deputy Lieuten- 
ants of the County of Meath, as was Boger Bellew of that 
of Louth. The Inquiations of 1691 indnde Richard Lord 
Bellew. Thomas Bellew of Grafney, Francis and Walter 
of Bellewstown and Matthew of Bogerstown in Meaih, 
Patrick of Barmeath, Baronet, with his sons John, Bichard, and 
Christopher ; James of Drogheda, Walter, son and heir of the 
Lord Baron of Duleek, and l^chard, his second son, Boger 
of Thomastown, Nicholas of Dunleer, and Patrick of Stra- 
bane. In 1696 Lord Bellew preferred his petition for pardon, 
grounded on allegations and proofs which were admitted, 
(and he afterwards sat in the House of Peers in 1707). To 
secure the b^iefit of this Parliamentary pardon, he was 
ordered by the House to pay certain fees for the proviso of 
exemption; as were at the same time (August, 1697) Charles, 
Lord Baltimore; Bobert Fielding, Earl of Carlingfbrd; John 
Taaffe, Esq. ; Nicholas French of Abart, County of Ghdway ; 
Esq.; Edward, Baron of Athenry; Lieutenant-Colonel John 
Kelly; John Kelly, Esq., his son; the Earl of Tyrone; 
Viscount Netterville; and Edward Geogh^an of Castle- 
town Kindelan, in Westmeath, Esq. Lord Bichard*s sister 
was the wife of Denis Kelly of Aughrim, who was long a 
state prisoner in the Tower of London. 

John, the eldest son of Sir Patrick Bellew of Barmeaih, 
had also at this time a pardon under the Great Seal At 
the Court of Chidiester House, in 1700, various churns were 
preferred as affecting the Meath estates of Thomas Bellew 

* Story's Impartial HtOortfj pt L, p. 36. 


of Gki&ej and Dundalk: as on behalf of Margaret Bellew 
otherwiBe Pippard, his widow, for her jointure thereoff— 
allowed: but the claims of their sons, John, Matthew, 
Christopher, and James, for estates tail by successive 

remainders, were disnust. A committee of the Irish 

House of Commons in 1715 reported Lord Bellew and his 
sbter, pensioners on the Civil Establishment for £300 per 



This officer does not appear on the present Army List, but 
his appointment is mentioned in Crrahanis Dema/na (p. 36). 
Of the fiunily name, see post^ ** Sjr John Fitzgerald's In- 
fiuitry." This officer appears on the Boll of Adjudications 
for the ' 16^9' Officers, he being there styled Lieutenant 


Neither is his name on the Trinity College Army List, 
but is in the British Museum Copy. Of the fiunily, see 
ante^ at the Boyal Infimtry. 



The 0*HanIcma trane Tanists of a large territory within ihe 
present County of Armagk, and up to the time of James the 
First enjoyed the honour and offioe ot Hereditary Standard- 
bearer of Ulster — a priyilege which Sir "William Bossell, 
when Lord Deputy, with due polioy reoognised; as, maiehing 
against O'Neill and the Northern insurgents, he committed 
the royal standard, (which the O'Mulloy had carried through 
the Pale,) to Hugh O'Hanlon, who had theretofore submitted 
to Eng!iwh goyenunent. In 1314 King Edward directed 
an especial letter missiye to Neill OHanlon, Duct Hiber- 
norum de Ertker^ for his aid in the Scottish war. In 1337, 
on the violation of a peace existing between the Crown and 
Donald 0*Hanlon, a Commission was directed to inquire 
into the <»rcumstanees of sudi disrupti<m, and in 1846 it 
was provided, that he and three others of the Sept, Ardulph, 
Mela^ilin, and Peter O' ' Hanlan,' should be taken undw 
the King's protection, as were Manus * O'Hanelan,' his sept, 
and their goods, together with Patrick O'Hanelan, in 1388. 
In three years after, Nelan and Magnell O'Hanlon, having 
conformed to peace, had similar letters of protection; and, 
in 1451, William OHanlon, chaplain, paid 6s. 8d. for a 
charter of Engli^ liberty. 

In the reign of James the First, encroachments having 
beat made, in the woridng out of the Plantation of Ulster, 
on the estates of Patrick O'Hanlon, who was at the time 
a penmoner of the King, he petitioned the Privy Council 
of England, who, in 1605, thereupon ordered that he should 
be restored to his lands in the County of Tyrone ; and 


that an equiyalent in lands Bhould be given to him, in lieu 
of any injury he may have reoeiyed by the erection of Fort 
Norrifl on his land; and that the pension granted to him 
by the late Queen should be continued. In the same year 
Sir Oghy O'Hanlon was one of the Ulster forfmters ; and, 
as his lands adjoined the fort and castle of Moyry, County 
of Armagh, a certain portion was allotted towards the main- 
tenance of its garrison ; but a subsequent patent provided 
that it ''might be lawful for O'Hanlon and his heirs to 
possess it and the lands thereto assigned, so long as it should 
continue without a ward. In 1612 Torlogh groome O'Han- 
lon and others of his Sept had grants of premises in their 
old County of Armagh, to hold for eter, subject to the 
conditions of the Plantation of Ulster, Redmund O'Hanlon 
bad about the same time license to surrender his lands, 
with the object of receiving a re-grant thereof from King 
James. The memorable Act by which Ulster was declared 
confiscated, and its leading chiefs were attainted, included 
'' Oghy oge O'Hanlon, eldest son of the said Sir Oghy 
O'Hanlon, Knight, late of Tovergy , County of Armagh." 

In 1620 died Bory, son of Ferdoragh O'Hanlon, seised 
of Corlost, <&c,, in Armagh; Patrick oge^ his son and heir, 
being then of full age axid married. 

The Attainders of 1642 piesent but the name of Fyrmyn 
' O'Hanlyn' of Castlemore, County of Cork. Those of 1691 
comprise Shane bane O'Hanlon, Oghy O'Hanlon, Phelim 
Mc Edmund Teigue O'Hanlon, Bryan Mac Oghy O'Hanlon, 
all of Tyrone's-ditch, County of Armagh, Phelimy Mc 
Patrick oge O'Hanlon of Clara, Redmond of Phecos, and 
Soger of Tonragee, all in said County; with John Hanlon, 
clerk, and Patrick Hanlon, both of Carlingford, County of 

312 KiKO James's ibish abmt ubt. 


Of this name was attainted in 1643 Thomas Clinton^ de- 
scribed as of Fieldstown, Coimty Dublin; the ontlawiies of 
1691 present Nicholas Clinton of Moynalty in Meath; and 
Thomas of Clintonstown in Loath, who forfeited largely and 
was most probably the above oflSoer. His estates in Clin- 
tonstown and Dmmcashell were sold by the Trustees of the 
Forfeited F^itates to John Asgill of Dublin ; his manor and 
lands of Port to Sir William Bobinaon; his estate at 6or- 
manstown to Thomas Bellingham, and a chief rent out of 
the lands of Moyne (all bdng in the Connty of Louth), to 
Jeremiah Smith. This fimuly came originally into Ulster 
in the train of John de Courcy, and settled in Louth; of 
which county Hugh de Clinton was sheriff in 1301, and 
various inquisitions, past mortem^ preserved in the BoUs* 
Office, disclose their several estates therein. 


No5E of this surname appears on the Boll of Attainders 
either in 1642 or 1691. The M'Kemias were a sept of 
Lower Truagh in Monaghan, where thdlr achievements are 
celebrated in many of the native Annals. In 1557 William 
' Mackeney' had a Boyal letter of protection, &c., as one of 
the train of Prince Edward, then announced as about to 
depart beyond sea ; and where, in the September following, 
that Prince won the memorable battle of Poictiers. The 


Act of 1569, for the attainder of O'Neill and confuscation 
of Ulster, expressly named amongst the confiscations, * the 
country oiP the Troo, called Mac Kynau's/ * The Tmagh,' 
writes Sir John Davis, the Irish Attorney General, in 1606, 
to Robert Earl of Salisbury, * contains fifteen baUybetaghs 
of land, (each ballybetagh containing about 960 acres,) and 
of these. Sir John says, Patrick Mac Kenna has yet three 
ballybetaghs at a stated rent, and he relies that the pro- 
prietor was thus fairly provided for. In 1611 Sir Edward 
Blaney, Seneschal of Monaghan, passed patent for various 
lands in that county, in trust and to be allotted amongst 
forty-eight of the old proprietors. In Cromwell's denouncing 
ordinance *for the settlement of Ireland,' Neill M^Kenna 
of the Truagh, in Monaghan, was one of the many chiefs 
excepted from pardon for life and estate. Another of this 
Christian name, it appears from an inquiation past mortenij 
died in 1629, leaving James, his son and heir, then aged 
only seven, posdbly the above Captain. In O'BeiUy'a Irish 
Writers it is said that about the year 1700 lived a Neill 
Mc Kenna, a poet and musician, who, he relies, was the 
author of the songs ' Celia Conellan' and of ' Old Trugha,* 
which latter composition seems to indicate his Monaghan 


This ancient Anglo-Norman family, which early settled in 
Devonshire, appears to have sent its representatives to the 
invasion of Ireland; and the first Castle of Trim is, by some, 
said to have been erected by WilHam Pippard, about the 


year 1220.* This William also founded a Castle and a Priory 
at Ardee. His son, Roger, was one of the Fideles of Ireland 
who was ordered to be fidthfol and obedient to the Lord 
Deputy. His son, Balph, founded a Carmelite Friary, in 
Ardee, which was soon after burnt by the Scots and Irish 
under Edward Bruce. In 1295 John de Pipard, one of the 
Irish Fideles, was invited to London to receive and eflfectuate 
the Ejng's Cqinmands, concerning military service to be 
performed beyond tiie seas. The aforesaid Balph Pipard, in 
1302, enfeoffed King Edward and his heirs of all his (Ralph's) 
castles, towns, and manors in Ireland. 

In James the Second's Charter of 1689 to Drogheda, 
Ignatius Pippard was Mayor, two of the name were Alder- 
men, and tibjree others, including ijxis William, were Bur- 
gesses, all of whom were consequently attunted. 


The O'Crowleys were a Sept of Cork, who, in Smith's 
History of that County, are said to have branched from the 
Mc Dermots of Moylurg. In the Munster war of Elizabeth's 
time, the Crowleys, then styled of Carberry, sought and 
obtained the protection of the Lord President, and continued 
loyal until the landing of the Spaniards-f The Attainders of 
1641 include twenty-six members of the family, all of this 
County. In 1662 John Read, a member of the Irish Par- 
liament, complained to that House of a forcible entry and 
distress made upon his lands of Castro- Venter, &c., by Shane 

• Dean BuOer's Notices of Trim, f Pwsata Hibemia^ p. 1S8. 


oge O'Crowley, and he prajed an order on the Sheriff of Cork 
to restore and quiet his possession therdn« 

The Outlawries of 1691 comprise the above Lieutenant 
Thady Crowley, described as of Temple-brien, County of 
Cork; Humphrey Crowley of Boss, John of Aghafore, Kosse 
of Leap, all in Cork ; James ' Croly * of Armagh, Thady of 
Dundalk, and Patrick of Newry. The seyeial branches of 
the &mily had, previous to this period, concurred in resigning 
the denounced ^ O*, although it was then their only conceded 
inheritance. One of them was an Ensign in Colonel Cormuck 
O'Neill's Lifiuitry. 


This name does not appear on the Attainders of 1691, while 
on those of 1641 are Cornelius Halfpenny of Angestown, and 
Terence Halfpenny of Boestown, County of Meath, with 
John Halfpenny oge of Lusk. It is not improbable that ikis 
John Halfpenny, then young {oge)y may, with hereditary 
fidelity to the Stuart, have been the above Lieutenant. 


The OBrannigans were an ancient Sept of Louth. Bobert 
'Brennegan' is of record, a landed proprietor at Ardee, in 
1619, and of his stock this Ensign may be presiuned, com- 
missioned as he was in Lord Bellew's Infimtry. The name 

was introduced in tne fifteenth century in Galway, of which 
town Sir Henry Branegan was Warden in 1497 ; it was there 
however changed into ' OBrangan.' 









Sir Patrick Tnnt, 






William Beeires. 

Thomas Carter. 


— Mac AnliffB. 

Daniel O*0onoiva&. 






^— 0*Connor. 

Mac Donell. 

Christopher Fagan. 

Garrett Neagle. 

Le Chevalier Hnrif, 

John Powei: 




.Mac Anliffe. 

Mac Donell. 




Tece name of Le Bmn (Browne) stands eleventh on the Boll 
of Battle Abbey, and having been introduced into Lreland on 
Strongbow*8 Livaedon, appears in earlj records and annals of 
this country. In 1230 and 1259 Fromund Le Brun was 
Chancellor. In 1302 Nigel Le Brun was one of the Irish 
Magnates summoned to proceed under Richard De Burgo to 
the Scottish War; he was afterwards constituted Escheator 
of Ireland, and in 1309 was summoned to a Parliament in 
Kilkenny. In 1288 and 1290 Reginald Browne was Sheriff 
of Kerry ^ afterwards knighted. In 1335 Richard Browne 
was one of the Justices of the Ejng's Bench; and in 1345 
Gilbert Brown appears as Guardian of the Peace in the 
County of Kerry ^ with power to array and assess the popula- 
tion for military service. Thomas ' Brown' of Boly, was one 
of the influential proprietors of the County Carlow, who, in 
1355, elected its Sheriff; while in the same year, Nicholas 
' Broun' was chosen Sheriff of Wexford, and was constituted 
by the Crown Escheator of his County. Robert Broun was 
Constable of the Castle of Carlow in 1374 ; and Laurence 
* Bron' was one of the Representatives of the Borough of 
Wexford, in King Edward's Parliament, held at Westminster 
in 1376. In ten years after Patrick Broun was appointed 
one of the Guardians of the Peace for that County. In 1409 
Nicholas Broun was Treasurer of the Cathedral of Ferns, and 
an influential landed proprietor thereabout. In the following 
year Reginald Broun held the Chief Serjeantcy of the Crosses 
of Wexford. In the first year of the reign of Henry the 


Sixth, Nicholas Browne of Miilrankin (possibly the aforesaid 
Nicholas), was Joint Escheator of said County of Wexford, 
then Sheriff, and in two years after constituted Seneschal of 
its Liberty. In 1467, John Broun of Trim, was appointed 
Constable of the Castle in that important town of the Pale. 

In 1555 Sir Valfintine Browne of Crofts in lincolnshire 
was Auditor-General of Ireland, and, dying in 1567, left Sir 
Valentine his son and h^, who in 1583 received instructiona, 
jointly with Sir Henry Wallop, from the Queen, relative to 
the escheated lands of Munster, on the Plantation of which 
Province he wrote a ' Discourse.* He was subsequently sworn 
of the Privy Coundl in Ireland, and represented the Counly 
of Sligo, in the Parliament of 1585. 

In 1688 he repaired to Ireland with his aon Nicholas, and 
proposmg to sojourn there, he in the same year obtained from 
Donald, Earl of Clancarre, a grant of various castles, towns, 
lands, &c., in the County of Desmond ; of which, in 1612, he 
had a confirmation from the Crown,as the territory of Cosmaage, 
in Desmond; the manor, castle, and town of MoUahiffib, the 
castle of Molan, the country of Onagh O^Donogho-MorCi in 
Desmond; the manor and dte of the CasUe called Bosse- 
O'Donoho, the church and town of Killamie, with the lough 
of Lough-lean, and the islands of InnipfaHen and Muckmsh, 
with several other islands therein; all late in tibe tenure of 
Bory O'Donogho More (which country of Onagh contains 
fifty quarters of land, at the rate of forty acres to the quarter), 
with fishing, fair, markets, courts, <&c. Sir Valentine had 
issue, besides the aforesaid Sir Nicholas, Sir Thomas Browne 
of Hos^tal, County of Limerick, his eldest son. The former, 
described as of Molahifie and Bosse, County of Kerry, 
married JuUa, daughter of O^SuUivan Beare, and died in 
1616. His eldest son. Sir Valentine, (whose wardship had 


been committed to Sir Greoffiy Fentou in 1607)* preferred a 
Petition to King James th/e First, for an abatement of some 
of the yearly rent reserred on that part of his estate, which he 
held from the Crown as an Undertaker, at £113 6s. 8d., '^ in 
regard of the small profit he made of it, being set out in the 
most barren and remote part of the County of Kerry, and 
having so hard a rate imposed upon it, that unless he was 
relieved by his Migesty's &vour, he should not be able to 
inhabit there, and perform the articles of Plantation to which 
he was bound." This rent was accordingly in 1612 abated to 
£53 18b. 6d., and the tenure was afterwards converted into a 
fee. Sir Valentine was in 1621 further created a Baronet. 
He married, to his first wife, a daughter of that Earl of 
Desmond who was beheaded in 1583: his grandson by her 
was another Sir Valentine, the above officer, and third 

It may be here mentioned that in 1607 Walter Browne 
(of a fiunily long established at Camus) and Edward Browne 
of Ejdkellan in Limerick had a grant of the castle, manor, 
and lands of Kilkellan, with those of Camus, license being 
given by the gcant, to transport the produce of the premises, 
by way of merchandise, or otherwise, duty fireC) fix>m any 
port of Ireland to any port of England or Wales. In 
1587 Walter Browne, son and hdr of Gerald Browne 
then late of Kilpatrick County Westmeath, conveyed certain 
premises therdbi and in other counties to trustees, to fiunily 
uses, and he died aeised thereof in 1611; leaving William 
his heir, then aged tiiirty and married. In 1617 Patrick 
Browne had a grant in the Murrowe territory. County 
Wexford, of various lands then created the Barony of 

^ RoLPaLin Cane Hib. 

320 KING James's irish asmt list. 

Browneswoody with courts leet snd baron, firee wuren and 
park, &c. He was the son and heir of William Browne of 
Miilrankin in said oonnty, and was then aged thirty-seren 
and married; he died in 1637, seised of said premises, and 
leaving William his son and hdr, then aged thirty. In 
1629 James Browne died seised of BaUinasraghdufie, &c., 
in same county, Meyler his son being then of foil age 
and married; and in 1633 Walter Browne of Grag-Bobbin, 
also in Wexford, ^ed, leaving John his son and heir then 
of fnll age and married. 

Those of this name attainted in 1642 were Nidbolas 
Browne, described as 'of Leixlip,' and Richard Browne 
of Athboy, merdiant. Of the Confederate Catholics as- 
sembled at Kilkenny, were Edward and Geoffiy Browne 
of Galway, and Sylvester Browne of Dublin. This Greoffiy 
Browne was, by the denundation of Cromwell's Ordinance 
of 1652, excepted from pardon for life and estate; as was 
also John Browne of the Neale, County of Mayo. (See 
of these Brownes, postj at Colonel Dominick Browne's 
Infantry). The Boyal declaration of thanks of 1662 includes 
Sir Valentine Browne, Knight, Thomas Browne of the 
Baromes of Bear and Bantry, and Colonel William Browne 
of Mulrankin, County of Wexford. In 1666 Tobias Browne 
had a grant of 367 acres in Cork; as had Sir Bichard 
Browne of 813 in Meath. In the following year, Bachd 
and Anne Browne, the daughters of Timothy Browne of 
Bohonagh in Cork, passed patent for 1,000 acres in that 
county, as did John Browne for 213 in Antrim; while 
the Boll of Adjudications decreed aflber the Bestoration, in 
fikvour of the ' 1649 * Officers, present the names of Lieu- 
tenants Charles, Hugh, John, Bichard, and Samuel, and 
Captain Thomas Browne. 


The above-mentioned Baronet, Colonel Sur Valentine 
Browne was of King James's Priyy Council, and by patent 
of 20th May, 1689, was created Baron of Castleross and 
Viscoimt Kemnare ; by which title he took his seat at 
the Parliament of Dublin in that year, while John Browne 
of Ardagh was one of the Representatives for the Borough 
of Tralee. Besides this Colonel (who was taken prisoner at 
Aughrim*) other Brownes commanded In&ntry Regiments 
in this campaign and service, as Colonel Nicholas Browne, 
the son of Lord Kenmare, in whose Regiment it will be 
seen John Browne was a Lieutenant. Colonel Dominick 
Browne had, under him, Andrew Browne a Captain, and 
another Andrew a Lieutenant; while Brownes were com- 
missioned in nine other Regiments, viz. : — Clare's Dragoons, 
and the In&ntry Regiments of Mountcashel, Kilmallock, 
Boffin, Sir Maurice Eustace, Edward Butler, John Grace, 
Sir Michael Creagh, and Charles Cavenagh. The Attainders 
of 1691 record the names of twenty-six Brownes, including 
Patrick of Mulrankin, County of Wexford. The other 
outlaws were of Westmeath, Dublin, Mayo, Keny, Carlow, 
Kilkenny, Waterford, Longford, and Gralway Counties, 

Sir Valentine had married Jane, only daughter and heiress 
of Sir Nicholas Plnnkett of Balrath, County of Meath, by 
whom he had five sons and four daughters; (his eldest son 
being Colonel Nicholas, hereafter mentioned, the lineal 
ancestor of the present Earl). Sir Valentine died in 1694, 
having by his will of 1690 directed his burial *'in the 
monument himself had built some years past in the Church 
of Killeen ; or, if he died in the County of Kerry or near 

* SUmfs Impartial Hittory, pt. XL, p. ISa 


it, then with his own dear and affectionate wife Jane, Lady 
Kenmare, in the pariah church of Killamej, with his parents 
and other refattions.''* On his death Colonel Nicholas, as 
ddest son, socceeded to the title. The Journals of the Irish 
House of Commons record that, in 1703, Anthony Ham- 
mond, as guardian of Valentine, ibe eldest son of this 
Nicholas Browne, Lord Kenmare, and also of the other 
children of said Nicholas, presented a petition against John 
As^ll and Murtough Griffin, who had been employed as 
council and agodt reqpectively to purchase the estates of 
sud Nicholas for them, firom the Trustees ot the Forfeituresi 
but who, as alleged, in breach of said truM;, refused to 
convey same accordingly, and tiie petition prayed relief; his 
ckim was however rejected. 

'Browne's' was tl)e style of a Free Company in the 
Brigades, and the name has heesi ngnally distinguished in 
the military annaU of the Continent, in Austria, Italyi 
Hungary, Transylvania, Busma, and Styria. Ulysses Mazit 
milian, Count Brown, was a memorable individual in the 
Austrian service. He was bom in 1705^ educated at the 
Diocesan school of his native City, Limericki and, when 
ten years old, was invited to Hungary by his uncle, Count 
Browne, who commanded an In&ntry Begiment there* 
He was present at the siege of Belgrade in 1717, was a 
Colonel in 1725, and in 1730, with his uncle, invested 
Corsica. In 1739 the Emperor Charles Vl. for his services 
raised him to the dignity of a Field-Mardial and Member 
of the Aulic Council of War. On the Coronation of the 
Empress Queen of Bohemia in 1743, she appointed Brown 
one of her Privy Councillors, and in 1752 nominated him 

* ArchdaWs Lodgers Peerage^ voL 7^ p. 54, &<%, n* 

LORD kbnhabe's infantbt. 323 

geaeraliflsimo of all her forces; while the King of Poland, 
Elector of Saxony, in the following jear invested him with 
the order of the White Eagle. At the memoirable battle 
of Prague in 1757, this hero received a wound of which he 
expired in two months. He had married in 1726 a Countess^ 
of illustrious lineage in Bohemia, by whom he had issue 
two sons. His Life was published in two volumes at Prague 

in the year of his death. George General Count Browne, 

Governor-general of Livonia, signalized himself by uncommon 
bravery at the battle of Zemdorf. He married the daughter 
of Field-Marshal Lacy, by whom he had issue General and 
Colonel Browne, now (writes Femur,* in 1787) in the £m* 
peror's service. 



This family, of Danish extraction, is on Ortelius's Map^ 
located in the Barony of Corkaguinny, County of Kerry. 
Li 1605 Richard Rice, of Dingle-i-couch, had a grant of the 
wardship of Maurice, son of James ' Traunt^' late of same 
place, with an allowance for his maintenance in Trinity 
College. The name does not appear on the attainders of 
1641, but, on the Roll of abjudications for the '1649' Officers, 

is Quartermaster Garrett Trant. In the Parliament gf 1689 

this Sir Patrick, who was one of the Commissioners of the 
Revenue, represented the Queen's Coimty. Jn Major- 
General Boisseleau*s Li£stntry Henry and David Trant were 

* Hutory oflAmerkky p. 349. 


Ci^tains, and John Tnmt an Ensign; while Edmund was 
a Lieutenant in Lord ShneV The attainders of 1691 
include Sir Patoick, described as Baronet, of ColdweU, County 
of Dublin, his lady, then lady Helen Trant, widow, with 
their sons Richard, Laurence, and Charles Trant; Maurice 
Trant of Dublin, Ghurrett of Portarlington, Queen's County, 
and Gerald Trant of Dingle. By the confiscations of Sir 
Patrick his very extensive estates vested in the Crown, 
including lands in the Counties of Kerry, Ejldare, Dublin, 
King's and Queen's Counties; and within these the Manors, 
and Lordships of Portarlington, Lea, and Charleston, all 
which were purchased by the Hollow Swords' Blades Com- 
pany, from the Trustees of the Forfdtures for £30,000. 
The lands, which constituted the Manor of Portarlington, had 
been on the * 1641' confiscations, forfeited by Louis O'Dempsey, 
Viscount Clanmaliere, and were granted thereupon to Lord 
Arlington, who gave this name to the territory. In 1668 
he sold the estate to Sir Patrick Trant, by whose attainder 
it again vested in the Crown, when King William in 1696 
granted it to his favourite, the Marquis de Bouvigny, after- 
wards Earl of Gralway, who at once invited several French 
and Dutch refugees to settle there; by which introduction 
came into this country the several fiunilies of Brocas, 
Chenevix, Saurin, Beaufort, Pellessier, Mercier, Sandes, 
Dubourdieu, Grueber, Des Vaux, Maturin, Chaigneau, 
Lefiinu, Fleury, Litton, Vignoles, LaTouche, Dolier, 
Boileau, Battier, Perrin, Lenauze, Boursiquot, Elrck, Lunelle, 
Maaere, &c. Sir Patrick himself followed King James to 
France, where he died soon after'; on the petition of his 
widow, however, she and her family were allowed to retain 
a small portion of the Kerry estate. The only claimant upon 
Sir Patrick's confiscations at Chichester House in 1700 was 


John, son of Kicbard Trant, a grandson, it would seem, of the 
Baronet. He sought a charge affecting the whole estates, 
but his petition was dismist for non-prosecution. 


No particulars of this family, applicable to the period, have 
been ascertained. Lieutenant-Colonel Richard Reeves is 
mentioned on the Roll of Adjudications for the '1649* 


Full notices of this family are given post, at Colonel 

Daniel 0*Donovan. Here it may be mentioned, that the 

commission of this Captain Daniel bears date firom Dublin 
Castle, 1st January, 1688. 


The invasion of Ireland by the sons of Milesius from Spain, 
of which the old native annalists give so many details, must 
needs be recommended to belief by the fact, that their having 
sought and obtained the sanction and guidance of a British 
Prince on that expedition, and a permissive grant of Ireland 
affected to be made by him for their occupation, was gravely 


relied upon in an Act of Parliament (11th of Elizabeth, 
session 3), as one of the evidences of her Majesty's title to 
this island. The sons leeorded to have 00 passed oyer the 
sea were Heber, Ir, and Heremon. The first and last are 
those most projected on the ancient annals, while Ir, the 
second son, was the progenitor of many noble families in this 
country, and amongst those of liie O'Connors-Kerry. The 
descending line from him meets its first illustrious link in 
Ollamh Fodhla, who reigned monarch of Ireland for thirty 
years, and was one of the most accomplished priBoes of his 
time. He it was who oidflined the assembly of the F^ or 
Parliament of Tara, who thence promulgated a code t)( 
wholesome and fitting laws ; and, like a just and patriotic ruler, 
he caused several royal prerogatives to be abolished for the 
benefit of the State. Remote posterity has so far recognised 
his merits, as to establish his bust in the series of legislators 
that adorns the dome of the Irish Court of Justice, placing 
!tf with chrohologioal accuracy, between those of Moses and 

Thus fiir, and for several subsequent generations the trunk 
of this O'Connor pedigree is common to many Irish Septs, 
as is from him down to Fergus, son of Rossa Roe, who had 
been King of Ulster, until, by the arts and power of Connor 
Mac Nessa, he was banished firom that territory, and obliged, 
with his three sons, Ciar, Cork, and Conmac, to seek refuge 
in Connaught. There he was hospitably received by its 
Queen, Maabh, in whose service the exiles fought the 
memorable Cualgnian seven years' war, against Mac Nessa 
and the red-btunch Knights; a war, the achievements of 
which are vaunted in sundry Irish poems and annals, and 
in truth frimished the chief materials for Macpherson's 
splendid imposition, entitled OBsiarCs Poema. After the 




termination of that war, Ciar, the eldest son of Fergus, 
pursued his course southward, until he arrived at and took 
possession of a territory to which he gave his tiame, Cianigia- 
Luachra, i.e., Kerry of Luachra, the latter part of the epithet 
being attached to it as the mountain of Slieve Luachra was 
its southern boundary. The Kingdom of Munster, for 
Ireland, like Palestine and other countries of remote times 
was apportioned into territories, each of which, under its own 
chief, was styled a kingdom, and its own affitirs were managed 
independently, paying tribute to, but without the interference 
of, the Ard-righ or supreme monarch. This kingdom had 
been by the will of OilioU Olum, divided between his two 
sons, Eogan Mor, progenitor of the Mac Carthys, and 
Cormac Cas of the O'Briens ; the portion of the former being 
called Desmond or South Munster, that of the latter Thomond, 
or North Munster. Ormond or East Munster obeyed 
CCarroll, while lar-mond, or West Munster, was the 
principality of O'Connor Kerry, and the rulers of these 
divisions were severally styled kings. About the com- 
mencement of the twelfth century, Mahon O'Connor, having 
acquired some rights over Corkaguinny, is called in the 
annab King^of Kerry and Corkaguinny, as also presumptive 
heir to the throne of Cashel. His son, Dermod O'Connor 
built the Castle of Asdee in 1146. 

In this divided condition the O'Briens and Mac Carthys 
Were frequently involved in war with each othet*, and in 1138 
O'Brien, aided by the O'Connors, attacked and slew Cormac 
Mac Carthy, whose son, after a lapse of some 3rear8, bent 
upon avenging his father's &te, submitted himself to Henry 
the Second, and prevailed upon that not reluctant monarch 
to invade O'Connor's district. A pretext was readily afforded 
for this onslaught, and Raymond le Gros, encamping at 

828 KING James's ibish army list. 

Lixnaw, commenoed that absorption of lands in the heart of 
lar-mond which stripped the O'Connors of the fairest portion 
of their inheritance ; while a second Norman, Thomas Fitz- 
Gerald, son of Lord Offidey, having married a daughter of 
the O^Moriarty, another ancient family of Kerry (deriving 
from a common ancestor with the McCarthys), claimed a 
portion of lar-mond in right of her; firom him grew the 
palatinate of Desmond. The old Sept was thus, after several 
sanguinary engagements, compelled to narrow itself within 
the little district of Iraghticonnor, with Cairig-a-foyle Castle 
as their last strong hold. 

In the year 1478 John O'Connor-Kerry, then tiie Chief, 
founded a monastery for Franciscan friars at Lislaghtin, on 
the Shannon, from which circumstance he is styled on the 
Pedigree John of Lislaghtin, and there himself and his wife 
Margaret, daughter of Sir David Nagle of Monanimy, were 
interred. Connor ^n the fair, a Chief of this Sept, who fell 
at Lixnaw in 1568 in hostility with the Fitz-Maurices, is 
lamented with much eulogy by the Four Masters. The 
second Chief after him in the succession is a very remarkable 
character indeed, styled John ' of the battles,' for sixty years 
the acknowledged head of the family. He fought for Des- 
mond to the close of the Munster war of Queen Elizabeth's 
time, and Philip O' Sullivan bear, in his Compendium of the 
History of Catholic Ireland, narrates some interesting parti- 
culars of this Chief and his arduous retreat from Glengariff 
to the country of the O'Suarc in Leitrim. He died in 1639, 
s.p.<, this family existing, at the time of his decease, in seven 
distinct lines : but, by the confiscations consequent upon the 
Desmond rising and the general civil war of 1641, their 
properties were almost entirely swept away, the chief parcels 
having been by Queen Elizabeth and James the First granted 

LOBD kenmabb's infaktby. 329 

to the favoured eatabliBlmient of Trinity College, Dublin. 
The descendants of these then numerous branches were all 
cast into an obscurity, from which their individual merits 
coidd alone raise them. John ' of the >vine,' the nephew of 
him ' of the battles,' succeeded him in the Chiefry, and was 
hanged at Tralee in 1652 for his obstinate resistance to the 
usurping powers. His nephew, Cathal roe O'Connor-Kerry, 
waB the last publicly acknowledged Chief, and he waa the 
above Captain. 

He had married in 1670 Elizabeth FitzMaurice, a daughter 
of Patrick the 19th Lord of Kerry, she died in London in 
1733 aged 83 years, having left only two daughters by her 
said husband. After the battle of Aughrim Cathal roe fled 
to France, and there died at the commencement of the 
eighteenth century, his brothers Donogh and Cahir O'Connor 
had both been previously slain in Flanders, leaving no issue. 
They were all the sons of Connor O'Connor-Kerry of Carrig- 
afoyle, and on such their decease, this elder line of the Sept 
became extinct. After losing his ancient inheritance and all 
his sons, and witnessing the fate of his own brother, as before 
mentioned in 1652, this landless old gentleman wandered 
until his death through the Counties of Kerry and Clare. 

On this failure of the elder line Dermot O'Connor-Kerry, a 
descendant of Dermot O'Connor of Tarbert, who was the 
second son of John of Lislaghtin, succeeded to the Chiefry. 
Of this, the Tarbert line, it is necessary here to premise that 
Dermot, its founder, having, though a younger son, been 
deemed the most energetic of the &mily, his father gave him 
Tarbert, then comprising three parishes in Imght-i-Connor; 
but, early in the reign of James the First, the policy of that 
monarch transplanted a number of the natives of Leix thither, 
whose descendants are there traceable. The attainders of 

330 KiiTG James's imsH abmt list, 

1641 found seveti O'Connors of this Sept still proprietors of 
such importanoe as to invite oonfiscations. In 1653 Teigue, 
son of Thomas O'Connor of this Tarbert line, -vras hanged 
on Fair Hill, at Killamej, fbr sinukr political reasons as 
Was 'John of the Wine' at Tndee in the preceding 
year. Thomas, the &ther of this Teigue, having (says a 
maiiuscript memoir of this House) reoeived from the good 
Sir Valentine Browne, ancestor of the Earl of Kenmare, a 
promise of a valuable leasehold interest near Eollamey, had 
previously resolved to close his life there. It was then his 
only resource, and 'on a fitir night in summer the Lord of 
Tarbert bade it an eternal adieu. With his daughter-in-law, 
seated behind him on a pillion, her two children David and 
Connor each oh horseback in charge of a trusty retainer, and 
all the jHToperty, that could be saved, well packed upon the 
backs of Kerry ponies, he made his weary journey southward ; 
and, after a few nights of cautious travelling, arrived safely at 
the spot, where his bones were to find their last repose.' 
David, his grandson, who had become the representative of 
the Sept, with a feeling of pride and independence not 
uncommon at the time, would not avail himself of the tenure 
Sir Valentine Browne was willing to continue to him, but 
resigning its advantage to his brother, Connor, himself retired 
to Spring Mount, an isolated spot between Kilcow and 
CluantarifF, 'which was well protected against Saxon invasion, 
by the impassable bogs and morasses of the last-named ftstness 
and the extensive forest of the first.' There vrith a daughter 
and six sons he led a hunter's li^e. From Dermod O'Connor- 
Kerry, his eldest son, lineally descended James O'Connor- 
Kerry, for some years Clerit of the Peace in that County, who, 
marrying Betsy O'Cohnell a near relative of the illustrious 
Daniel, had issue by her seven sons and three daughters. Of 

LOBD kbnmare's infantet. 331 

these flons the fourth is Daniel O'Oonnell O'Connor-Keity, 
whose patronymic dispkjB the old distinction of his anc^tral 
county, while the Christian name he bears is the name of its 
moM illustrious otitiament. lliis gallant young officer entered 
the Austrian service in 1826) as cadet in the Regiment of 
Field-Marshal O'Brady, from which, OA obtaining rank as a 
Lieutenant, he was transfared by Count Kavali^h, the 
famous Aulic Councillor and Secretary of War, to that of 
Bftron G-ip^rt, in which he became Lieutenant-Colonel. 
He fought with distinction under Badetsky during the 
campaign of 1848-9, and, on the death of his Colonel, was 
called to the command on the field. He was twice Com- 
mandant at Lodi, also at Prague, and has served in the same 
dapocity at Mantua, up to the treaty of Villa-Franca. 

Hie interestii^ MS., from which much of the above notices 
has been derived, was compiled by the Beverend Charles 
James O^Connor, a brother of the above Lieutenant-Colonel. 
Its pages afford distinct illustrations of this great Sept in the 
brandies of Fieries, Knockanure, Kilgarvan, Ahannagrane, 
Nohoval, Bathonane and Connorville, 


Ybbt frill particulars of this family have been given, ^nte, 
p. 16, &c., at the name of Captain Bichard Fagan of the 
King's Own Infantry Regiment. This Christopher was 
his cousin, fought at Aughrim, was included in the benefit 
of the Articles of Limerick, purchased property in Kerry, 
and married Mary, daughter of Patrick Nagle of Ballinamona 
Castle, by Catherine, daughter of Hugh de Lacy of Bruff, 

332 KINO James's ibish army list. 

Cojmtj of Limerick. He settled in Kerry, and, dying in 
1740, was buried in the Abbey of Ejllamey. His grandson 
and namesake, Christopher, entered the French army in 
1755, in which he distinguished himself and bore the style 
of the Chevalier de Fagan ; but, by his attachment to Boyally, 
he too lost, on the breaking out of the Beyolution, what 
he had acquired there, and died in London in 1816, at the 
advanced age of eighty-three. Christopher, his eldest son, 
a Captain in Dillon's French Brigade, afterwards entered 
the English service, and died unmarried in the West Lidies. 
Charles, his brother, married a Marchioness, daughter of a 
Grandee of Spain of the First Class, and by Boyal permis- 
sion bore the title of Count de Fagan; he died in 1813.* 

A brother of Christopher (the aforesaid Chevalier de Fagan), 
was John Fagan of Kiltallah, Counly of Kerry, who married 
Elizabeth, daughter of George Hickson of Tralee, by Mary, 
only daughter of Henry Gould, Esq., of Cork ; and he had 
by her eight sons, five of whom entered military service 
in the armies of the East India Company. The two eldest 
sons, Patrick and George, died in their infancy. George 
Hickson, the third son, lost his left arm at the siege of 
Seringapatam, and eventually, by acknowledged transcendent 
abilities, rose at the early age of thirty-four, to the high 
post of Adjutant-General of the Bengal Army. The fourth, 
Patrick Charles, died at the premature age of twenly-eight, 
from fatigues and hardships after the first siege of Bhurtpore, 
where, under peculiar circumstances, he planted the colours 
of his regiment on the ramparts. The fifth son, Major- 
General Christopher Sullivan Fagan, C.B., served in the 
Mahratta campaigns, at the reduction of numerous forts in 

* Barkers Landed Gentry. 



Bundelcund, capture of Gualior, and Bhurtpore, &c., for his 
services on which occasions, he received the thanks of the 
Government and of both Houses of Parliament. This last 
officer had four sons in the Bengal army ; the eldest, George 
Hickson, of the Engineers, repeatedly received the thanks 
of the Government; and, after being engaged many years 
in recovering from the sea and embanking extensive wild 
and unhealthy tracts of country, his health completely failed, 
and, though appointed garrison en^neer of Fort William, 
(the principal fortress in India,) during the war with Russia, 
with special orders for its repair and armament; after a year's 
further trial of the climate, he was most reluctantly compelled 
to retire from the service as a Lieutenant^Colonel. The 
second son of C. S. Fagan, Christopher, is a merchant in 
Calcutta. The third son, John, died a Captain in the 1st 
Bengal Fusiliers, from the effects of the camp ague in 
Afghanistan, and the hardships of the siege of Ghuznee, where 
he was wounded. The fourth, Robert Charles Henry Baines, 
of the Bengal Artillery, distinguished himself greatly during 
the mutiny in India and siege of Delhi, where, after having 
been wounded eight times, he was eventually killed on the 
evening before the assault. He was an admirable officer 
and of such reckless courage, that he could not be restrained 
from exposing himself over the breastwork of his battery, 
and was shot through the head by a musket ball, from the 
ramparts of a fortress which his engineer brother had assisted 
in constructing from 1831 to 1834. 

Robert, the sixth son of John Fagan of Kiltallah, having 
entered the British service, was wounded in the assault of 
Bona Fortuna, in the island of Martinico, in 1802, and 
fell in the following year at the taking of St. Lucia. The 
seventh son, John, a Lieutenant on the Bengal establishment 


of the East India Compaiiy, died at Mallow in 1809. The 
eightl^ son, and youngest of this family, James Patrick, is 
the survivor of those who served in India. He was engaged 
in the arduous campaigns under Sir Bobert Abercrombie 
against the French islands in the Indian Seas, and in that 
against Nepai^, in the capacity of Brigade-Major to the 
advance division of the army ; for which service be received 
the war medal, and was nominated Paymaster-in-Chief to all 
the troops constituting the Baypoolana and Malwah field 
forces. This appointment he; held for sixteen years, when 
he was co^ipelled to return for his health to Europe, having 
received a gratifying acknowledgment of his services, in a 
spedal report .from Lord William Bentinck, then Governor- 
General. He and his brothers, while in India, were called 
* the military fiunily/ Lieutenant-Colonel Fagan (as he now 
ranks), being anxious to continue this designation in his line, 
placed two of his sons in the Indian army, one of whom 
has fidlen in the recent mutinous outbreaks of that country. 

The second son of the Captun Chi^topher Fagan, w^o 
ranked in this Be^ment, was Stephen Fagan, a merchant 
of Cork, and his son, James, married Ellen, daughter of 
Ignatius Trant^ Esq*, lineal descendant of Sir Patrick Trant, 
whose attainder and confiscations are above mentioned. 
William Fagan, late a member of Parliament for the City 
of Coifk, was the eldest son of that marriage; and he too 
Uved to mourn the loss of a son, Lieutenant Hornby Fagan, 
in the massacre of Cawnpore. 



Tms surname is of record in Ireland from the time of 
Edward the I^irst, and in 1308 John de 'Cartyr' sned 
out a possessory writ. Nothing hoWeyer has been ascertained 
concerning this officer, or his kindred ; another of the name 
w^ Comet in Colonel Simon Luttrell's Dragoons. 

A family of the name was settled at Castlemartin in 
Kildare, but it was of very opposite politics. 


This name is of such high antiquity, and so early traceable 
in England, especially in Devonshire, that Lysons, in his 
History of that County, states ' Grole ' to have been one of 
Its Thanes in the time of Edward the Confessor; while the 
Domesday (Ely) Inquisition reports * Gold,' a tenant of the 
Abbot at Willingham in Cambridgeshire. CoUinson in 
his Somersetshire (vol. 2, p. 172,) relates that, on the dis^ 
tribution^ of conquered England by William, the Sieur de 
Vans (de Vallibus) who had come over with him, had a 
grant of the manor of Seaborough in that County; and 
when Henry the Third undertook a Crusade to the Holy 
Land, Balph de Vans, being then seised of the manor, and 
bound by military tenure to send men to the King's service 
in that expedition, despatched amongst others thereout John 
Gole or Gold, who accordingly went to Jerusalem, was 
present and fought valiantly at the siege of Damietta, w^d, 


OD loB rttam, leoared from Us Loid, abonl tlie jtar 1229, 
n estate within mid msDor. In 1321 tlie whole muor 
was pmehased bj a J(4m Golde, wlio it waaj be praBumed 
was a descendant of the Cnuader, and the estate, so aoqmred 
bj him, was inherited bj his drnmidantfl tot u|»waids of 
two centories. The hst pn^netor of the name here was 
also a J(4m Gold, who was killed on the groond when 
ei^jsged in the sport of hawking. He left Ibor sisten his 
heiresses, who were married, and amongst them the p t upe i iv 
was partitioned In the Parliament hdd at Carlisle in 1307, 
John 'Crohie* probably of Seaboroogfa, sat as the Bepre- 
sentatire of Windsor, and the name is still of tenure and 
respectability in Devonshire. In the same year Walter ' le 
Goole ' was one of the Bepresentadves of Notdngliamshire 
in Parliament. He was afterwards entmsled with many 
commisricMis of Ministerial importance there. Lyscms, in 
his Magna Britannia (voL 6, p. czlvL) says, that the elder 
branch of the Goulds of Lew-Trenchard in Devonshire is 
traced as dtizens of Exeter to the days of Edward the Third. 

^The same anthor records in his work (p. 244) the 

deaths in that Coonly, in March, 1817, and within a few 
days of each other, of Simon and Julian ' Gt>ald,' both in 
the lOlst year of their age, after a married life of seventy- 
five years. 

It has been erroneously stated that the Groulds were one 
of the English &milie8 whom Lord Muskerry, on the Plan- 
tation of Munster by James the First, brought over to that 
Province ; but their settlement in Cork was of a date very 
early after the English invasion, as is shown by a record 
of 1356, upon which Nicholas ' Gould * appears commissioned 
as one of these infiuential persons chosen to applot a state sub- 
sidy off that County, as was David * Gold ' in two years after. 

LOBD kbnmabe's infantbt. 337 

With the Municipal History of the City they were, during 
the years previous to the first Civil War, intimately con- 
nected, Golds having been Mayors of Cork, from 1442 
to 1640, no less than thirty times; but afterwards they 
ceased to fill any corporate ofiice there. Queen Elizabeth's 
instructions to her Lord President of Munster, Sir Greorge 
Carew, in 1600, directed that William Saxey, Chief Justice, 
and James Golde, second Justice of the said Province, 
being of special trust appointed to be of his Council, shall 
give their continual attendance thereat, and shall not depart 
at any time without the special Kcense of the said Lord 
President. The salary of the Chief was fixed at £100, that 
of James GK>lde at one hundred marks, subject to deductions 
in case of their absence firom the duties so imposed upon 
them. A Manuscript Book of Obits in Trinity College, 
Dublin (F. iv. 18), supplies some links of the family of 
William Goold, Mayor of Cork in 1618, and who died 
in 1634« Various Inquisitions, post mortem, held on members 
of this family, as Philip, George, Michael, Thomas, Peter, 
Henry, and John in Cork, with others on James in Limerick, 
are preserved in the Rolls Office, Ireland. The latter died 
in 1600, seised of the Dominican Friary in Limerick, with 
the castle^ town, and lands of Corbally ; his descendant and 
namesake was appointed the first Town Clerk and Clerk of 
the Crown, in the great Charter to the City of Cork. 

The Attainders of 1642 include the names of Grarrett 
'Goold' of Castietown, and of James and John, sons of 
Richard GK>oId of Towers-Bridge, merchants* John Goold, 
described as of Cork, was the only member of the family 
who attended the Supreme Council in 1647, while in 1667, 
James ' Gold ' of Cork had a confirmatory grant of 2,140 
acres there, with a saving of portions for his sisters Mary 

VOL. II. z 


and AnfftaoB Crold. In tlie following year, James 'Gonld* 
passed patent for 231 acsres in Meathi and, in a grut of tlie 
ssme period to Edivard Warren, was a saving of certain 
chaiges, on tlie premises tlierdij conyeyed, to Sr Qanett 
Gtyolde.— -Besides the above Loentenant and Ewdgn tliere 
appear on this list Bobot GrOoU a Corned in Cokndl 
Fiands Canoll's Diagooos; Thomas 'OoU* an Endgn in 

Cdond Nicholas Browne's Infiintry; Goold a lien* 

tenant in Cokmd Owen Mac Cartie's; James GM^ an 

Enngn in Cdonel John Banett's; and another Goold 

an Ensign in Mi^or (Jeneial Boissdean's. The Attainders 
of 1691 indnde the names of James and Ignatius Gooldi 
described as of Cock, Esquiresi Jdm Goold of Sjnsslei 
Esq.; Bichard of C<»k, merchant; Patrick oi mid City; 
James 'Goold* of Galway, and Elloi Bi^ot, otherwise 
Goold, wife of John Bagoi of Cori^. 

Amongst those who were tsken at sea in 1746, tolim« 
teeriiig to aid the caose of Prince Charles Edward, was 
'Captain Gook}, Ultonia Begimfant, Spanish service.** In 
the Church of St. Giles at Brogos is a bmaal place of 
William Godd, * of ancient and TenevaUe lineage in Coric^' 
**kufU9 eodmfK ceJ^Jtuiy as inscribed upon a white maiUe sbb 
inserted in the flag of the Chapd of the Blessed yiigin.t 
At the Irish Bar Thomas Goold was long an emineaii 
Qneen^s Counsel He died in 1846, leaving three sons) 
1, Francis, who had been High SheriflP of Limerick, once 
deceased; 2, Frederic, now the Very Bey. Archdeacon <tf 
Baphoe; and 3, Wyndham Goold, who, for some time 
{Mrevions to his death in 1854, was one of the Bepresentatiyes 

• GtHL Mag^ vol IS, pw SOa 
f NkhM$ T<qf. and GftC^for 18^ p. 636. 



in Parliament of the County of Limerick. In 1801 a 

branch of this fiimilj was raised to the Baronetcy in Sir 
Francis Goold of Oldcourt, County Cork; while it may be 
added that in 1782 the seventh Earl of Cavan married 
Honora, youngest daughter of Sir Henry * Gould/ Knight, 
one of the Justices of ike Common Pleas at Westminster. 






Th« Colonel 

tgUAtiiu Nagle* 

•i>s-^ Fleming. 

lffaim(!e O^Connell, 


' — O^ConnelL 


A^^^^ ^ 0m ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ 





■ ■ ■ BVoivdi 

•»—. Flood. 

«— Gntei 

^ ■ ■ Gofjudia 


•— Jonei. 



— -Conly. 

* — fidlew. 

«^— Delahoyda. 

w— Bany. 

«^— Fleming. 

«— -Bany. 

— BanewalL 

.•^— Berford. 

«-* Nolan. 

Loko Syerud* 


Bichard Uflall. 

fitrthoimaeir Cttaack. 




-.— Stokes. 

«^» Brett. 

ttiehnd KeUy. 
Cbrifltophv CvMck. 

£diluitid Tnmt 

Simon DonaeUj. 

lt«Tennd*««-Ertt»rd, Ckc^^hku 




Richard iie FLCJOsa, 000 of ArrhihaH Fknm^ c^ 
DevoDflluie, Kttended Hugh de Lacy to Iiebaid, and got 
firom him, witfam ^ Palafinatp c^ Meath, twenty Knights' 
Fees, afterwards called the Baronies of Skne and Newcastle. 
This gnmt oonstitated Kchard, aooording to the powers c^ 
the Faktine, one of his Baimis or Magnates. '' In 1176,** 
flay the Foot Masters, ''the Castle of Slane, whidi was 
oocajned by Richard Fleming and his forces, (and from 
which he was in the habit of "^•^"g predatory incursions 
into Oriel [Lonth, Monaghaii, and Armagh], and Hy Briun 
[in Tyrone], and against the men of Meath), was plundered 
by Melaghlin, son of Mac Laughlin of Einel-Owen [County 
of Tyrone], at the head of the Kinel-Owen and the people of 
Oriel. They slew about five hundred or more of the English 
And thdr horses, and not one person escaped with his life 
from the Castle. Richard Fleming was slain on that occasion.** 
When Edward the Second summoned the Magnates of 
Ireland to aid Mm in the Scottish war, he directed a letter 
missiTe to Baldwin le Fleming, Who had married Matilda, 
daughter of Simon de Geneville. He was summoned to the 
Parliament of Eilkeimy in 1302^ and died in the year 1335* 

In 1580 Thomas Fleming of Gemonstown, joined by his 
son and hdbr, Patrick, executed a conveyance of Philipstown* 
EencTick, and other estates in Louth; while, in 1603 and 
1619, King James granted to Captain Gerald Fleming 
various rectories, with thdbr tithes, which, having been for^ 
feited in the ensuing Civil war, Charles the Second, 'on 

LORD SLAKB'8 infantry. 341 

account of the eminent and &ithftil seryices performed to the 
Crown hj the ancestors of said Gerald, styled of Castle- 
Flenung, and his suflferings under the late Government,' 
directed should be restored to him and put into charge. 
These rectories, <&c., are fully enumerated in a patent of 
1608. This Gerald, styled of Ballylegan, County Louth, 
and of Calragh, County Cayan, died in 1615, leaving 
Thomas his son and heir, then aged twenty-^siz and married. 

In 1621 died Christopher Fleming of the Newry, John, 

his son and heir beii^g then aged sixteen years. 

The Attainders of 1642 present the names of William, 
Lord Baron of Slane, James Fleming of Slane and Stahal- 
mock. County of Meath; Thomas Fleming of Cavan; George 
of Blakestown, County of Eoldare; and Christopher of 
Clonelean, County of Dublin. Thomas of Cabiagh was one 
of the Confederate Catholics who constituted the Supreme 
Council of ELilkenny ; and in 1652 the then Baron of Slane 
was, by Cromwell's Act, excepted from pardon for life and 
estate. The name of Captains Alexander and John Fleming 
appear on the Boll of Adjudications for the ' 1649' Officers, 
and in 1676 James Fleming, of Stahalmock, passed patent 
for a large tract of country in Meath and Monagbao. 

In January, 1685-3-6, the Earl of Clarendon applied to the 
Earl of Sunderland, for his interest to obtain a vacant 
cometoy in Colonel Hamilton's Begpment for Mr, Bichard 
Fleming, '^who is a very worthy young man, and well 
deserves his Majesty's countenance; besides the &vour it 
wiU be to me, your Lordship will oblige a very good man 
in England, Sir Bichard Bellings, to whom this young 
gentleman is nephew ;''* a request which met with the usual 

* Smger*s Ccrrespandence^ toI. }, p. 1^23, 


cautioiis postponement. In 1687 Sir John Fleming irae 
Sheriff of the Countj of Monaghan. Henry Fleming, the 
brother of this Lord Slane, was a Captain in Grahnoj's Horse. 
The Lord himself sat in King James's Parliammt of 1689. 
He fought at the battle of the Boyne, in a few days after 
which the Lady Anne, Baroness of Slane, came to Dublin, 
then in the hands of King William, and threw herself on his 
mercy for a pass for herself, three men, and three servants.* 
Her lord, however, persevering in his adherence to King 
James, was taken prisoner at Aughrim.t ^e was attainted 
in 1691, when bis estates were gmnted to the Earl of 
Athlone, who subsequently assigned them io portions to 
eight other individuals; while, at the sale of the forfeitures 
in 1703, the manor, castle, and lands of Slane were purchased 
by Brigadier Heniy Conyngham. The landless lord followed 
the monarch of his adoption to France, where he remained 
until, in 1708, he had a pension of £500 jMrr annum allowed 
to him, and was restored to his honours but not to his estates, 
by Queen Anne. In 1713 be was advanced in the Peerage 
to be Viscount Longford* but no patent issued, and he died 
in France in 1726, leaving a daughter, Qelen Fleming, his 
only issue, who died in Paris, 7th August, 17i8, unmanried. 
Captain Richard, son of the aforesaid Sir John Fleming, was 
killed at the siege of Derry ; and it appears by his attainder, 
post mortem^ in 1694, that he had been possessed of very 
considerable estates in the County of Monaghan. The 
Attainders of 1691 included with Lord Slane, John Fleming 
of Stahafanock, Knight, who is stated by the Liquisition 
taken on his outlawry, at the close of 1690, to have been 
personally engaged at the battle of the Bojme. 

^ Thorpe's Catalogue of (he SouAtoeU MSS.^ p. 334. 
t Story's Impartial HisL, ptrt IL, p. 487. 


LOBD blank's IN7AKTBT. 843 

At the Court of Claims in 1700, Sir Stephen Bice, on 
behalf of Ellen, the only daughter of the Lady Anne Slane, 
claimed for her a portion and maintenanoe off Lord Slane's 
Meath estate, but his applioation was dismist for non-prosecu- 
tion; he also claimed fbr Ladj Anne herself, and was allowed 
£200 p^ arm, during the life of Christopher, Lord Slane, 
and £800 per ann. as her jointure on his decease; William 
Fleming claimed, as son and heir of Thomas, who was one 
of the sons of William, late Lord Slane, an estate tail in the 
Meath, Louth, Cayan, and Monaghan estates of the above 
Lord Christopher; as did Michael Fleming a remainder in 
tail in the castle, manor, towns, and lands of Slane; but both 
these petitions were also dismist for non>proseoution. 

The obituary of the QenUemarCs Magazine of 1747 notices 
the then reoexit death, but without pre(use date, of ^^ William 
Fleming, commonly called Lord Slane, who had an annual 
pension of £300 from his Majesty. IJis unde, to whom he 
was heir, had forfeited an estate of £25,000 per annum for 
adhering to King James the Second, whom he followed to 
France ; but, being ill^-treated there and in Spain* returned to 
England, where he obtained a pension fiN>m Queen Anne 
and a Begiment on the Irish establishment; but he died not 
long after/' This WiUiam, who so assumed the title, left a 
son, Christopher, also commonly called Lord SlanCt and he 
too died without issue male in 1772, 




The Sept O'ConneU was aebed of territoiy in tbe barony 
of Leitrimf Coonty of Gralway ; and in that of Tullagh, 
County of Clare; bnt were yet more espeoiaUy located in 
Hy-Conaill Ghibhia, compriaing die present baronies of Uj^per 
and Lfower Connillo, County of Lomerick; while in the tenth 
century the deaths of O'Connells, Abbots of Devenish, are 
commemorated, and two townlands in that pariah haye, finom 
time immemorial, borne the respective names of Bally-Connell 
and 61en-ti-ConneIL At the evo'-niemorable battle of 
Clontarf, in 1014, the Chief of the O'ConneUs was one of 
the leaders, and the Four IVIasters record the death in 1117 
of Casey O^Connell, the yenerable *' Bishop of Connaught.' 

Early after the English Invasion, the ancestors of the 
Earl of Desmond, as Lynch relates in his Feudal Dtgniiie$^ 
(p. 231,) acquired from this sept the -mhxAB territory of Conillo, 
in consideration of other lands assigned to them in Kerry 
and Clare. They were then populariy styled lords of Bally<- 
, carberry, in the Barony of Iveragh ; and & Bernard Burke, 
in his Landed Oentry^ gives full details of these Kerry 

In 1423, Conor O'ConneU died Bishop of Killalla. In 
1435 an ex-officio information was filed by the King's Ser- 
geant at Law agaiQSt David ^ O'Conyll,' clerk, an Irish enemy, 
for that he constantly sojourned among the OTerralls, then 
openly at war with the King, and had lodged a sum of 
money for his own use mth John Hoey, a merchant of 
Coventry ; and the information prayed that said money 

LOBD slane's ikfantbt. 345 

should be attached, and John directed to pay same to the 
King, which was done accordingly. In 1461 Cormac 
O'Connell was Bishop of Killalla, as was Thomas O'Connell 
of Ardagh in 1508. This last was educated at Oxford, 
and Woods commemorates his ^prudence and liberality to 
the poor.* 

A manuscript notice of the County Kerry, preserved in 
the Boyal Irish Academy Collections, says, in reference to 
the intercourse that in the seventeenth century existed with 
Spain from Ireland, ' Nothing then in vogue with the in- 
habitants of Kerry but Spanish wine, Spanish clothes, and 
Spanish swords, which they called Spanish tucks; with 
other commodities, iron, * liquorish,* fVuit, &c. As instance 
whereof, two gentlemen of the 0*Connells, brothers, lived 
in Bailyoarberry Castle, in Iveragh, which was divided 
among them: the lower rooms to the eldest, the upper to 
the youngest. At a time that Mac Carthy More and his 
lady, with their attendants, took a tour to eeid Iveragh, 
they put up first with the eldest of eeid two brothers, by 
whom they were splendidly entertained that oight and next 
day, when the youngest invited them to dine the day follow- 
ing,' <&c., on which occasion the Spanish wines were most 

wastefully consumed, *I very well remember,' adds the 

writer of the above article, 'to hear ancient people tell, 
about siattf years sinoe^ that they had it for truth from other 
ancient people, about eighty years before, that, at the little 
village, which was at Temple-no church, a gallon of rich 
Spanish wine could be purchased for a fresh salmon, and a 
good many gallons for a green hide,' 

In 1642 William O'Connell was one of those who, as 
proxy for the Boman Catholic Bishop of Emly, signed the 
Acts agreed upon in the Assembly of Confederate Catholics ; 


at whioh great meetang sat Ricard Connell, Bishop of 
Ardfert, as one of the spiritoal Peers. On the attainders, 
that immediately sncoeeded, appear the names of Phifip 
O'Connell and Charles O'Connell age of Knookrobbin, in 
Cork. In a few years after flourished John O'Connell, 
Bishop of Ardfert, ai|d author of a poem on the History 
of Ireland, yet extant. 

Besides this l4ieutenaat<<3olonel Msurioe (whose promotion 
took plaoe subsequent to the issue of the present Army List,) 
Morgan O'Connell was % Captaiii and Tague an Ensign 
in Colonel Charles 0'Bryaa*s Infantry; -^.^r^ Connell was 
a Qnarfcer-Master in Sir Neill O'Neill's Dragoons, and John 
Connell a lieutenant in the King^s Own Infimtry. John 
O'Connell of A^igore and Denynans^ raised a company of 
Foot for this servioe, and he is recorded as having himself 
fought at the siege of Deny, as well as at the battles of 
the Boyne and Aughrim* when, returning to Limerick with 
his shattered Regiment, he was included in the benefit of 
the Articles for its oapitulation.* He was the lineal ancestor 
of the illustrious Daniel, and his l^^iment was, after the 
battle of the Boyne, activdy engaged in Munster, Charles 
O'Connell of Braintree in Choe, wi^ a Colonel of Dragoons 
in the war, and his brother, another Maurice, counn^german 
to the above, was placed in command of the King's Guards. 
Lord SIane*s Lieutenant-Colonel was killed at Aughrim. 

On the Attainders of 1691 appear, of this name, Daniel 
of Carberry, County Cork ; James, Phillip and John Connell 
of Parteen, and William Connell of Ennis in Ckre; Maurice 
Connell styled of Athlone, &c. At Chichester House, 
* Morish* Connell claimed a remainder in tail in Dublin and 

* Burke^i Landed Oentry^ p. 047. 

LORD slahe's infaktbt. 847 

Kerry lands, forfeited hj Morgan and John Connelly-dis- 
allowed; while Patrick Connell claimed a derivative estate 
for years, <&c., in lands in the Barony of Bunratty, the 
forfeiting proprietor of "v^ch was Lord Clare, 

After the unsucoessfiil war of 1690-^1 many of tiiis Sept 
entered the Irish Brigade in the service of Franoe, and 
were likewise commissioned in that of Austria, Daniel 
O'Connellf the grandson of the before*>mentioned Colonel 
John of Aghgore and Derrynane, bom in ITiS, entered 
into Lord Clare's foreign Regiment in 1757, where he early 
distinguished a name, that was in the subsequent century 
destined to obtain a more world-wide reputation, than 
perhaps any other hgs ever aoquiredt by the unwearied 
exercise of unflinching but peacefiil patriotism, His afore- 
said relative, Daniel, was presei^t at the capture of Fort 
Mahon in 1779, and was severely wounded at the grand 
attack on Gibralter ii^ 1782, His Segment having been 
disbanded in France on the Itestoration, he passed over to 
England, and was there apik>inted9 in 1798, Colonel of one 
of the new Lish Brigade, formed in the British aarvice; 
which command he retained until that body was also dis- 
solved. On the Bestoration of the Bourbon dynasty in 1814, 
he, too, was reinstated in his military rank of a General and 
Colonel-Commandant of the Begiment of Salm-Salm, and 
named Grand Cross of the c^er of St. Louis, He died 
in July, 1833, at the age of ninety, in his chateau near Blois, 
on the Loire, holding the rank of General in the French, 
and the oldest Cobnel in the English service. 



Of this name were attainted, in 1642, Thomas Jones of 
Swords in the County of Dublin ; Patrick ' Joanes* of Kells, 
Thomas and Robert of Slane, with Martin and Luke of 
Oristown. The outlawries of 1691 present Thomas and 
Patrick Jones of Freinstown in Meath, and Robert of Dublin. 
In 1605 Thomas Jones, a native of Lancashire, succeeded 
to the Archbishopric of Dublin, about which time this family 
was seised of estates in Roscommon and in and about the 
town of Athlone, which borough Oliver Jones represented 
in the Parliament of 1639. In 1633 Lewis Jones from 
Merionethshire was appointed Bishop of Killaloe. He was 
father of Dr. Ambrose Jones, Bishop of Kildare in 1667, 
and of Henry Jones who suoceeded to the See of Meath in 
1661. '^ Two of Dr. Henry's children, named Ambrose and 
Alice, changed their Religion in the time of James the 
Second and died bigotted Papists,*' says Ware in his History 
of the Bishops of Ireland. The Roll of Adjudications, on the 
claims of the ' 1649 ' officers, includes the names of Ensign 
James, Comet Roger, Lieutenant Thomas and Quartermaster 
William Jones. In 1682 Edward Jones was appointed 
Bishop of Cloyne, from which See he was translated to that 
of St. Asaph in 1692, 

■ ■■ ■ I m 


On the attainder Roll of 1691 stands the name of Robert, 
son of Luke Conly of Drogheda, merchant, who, it may be 
presumed, was the officer here in commission. 



The Christian name of this Officer is not given in the British 
Museom Army List. The names of those attainted in 1696 
were Patrick and another, described as of Codbiebeigne in 
the County of Limerick. The lattef appears to have been 
the officer commissioned as Lieutenant in the Regiment of 
Major-Gkneral Boisseleau, while another was Ensign in 
Colonel Owen Mac Cartie's. 

The Sept of O'Gorman or Mac Gorman derives its lineage 
from Heremon, the son of Milesius, through Hugony the Great, 
one of Lreland^s most illustrious monarchs. It is set down 
in the native annals, as located in the Counties of Limerick 
and Clare* The Four Masters reCoM the death of Angus 
0*Gdrman in 1123. In 1152 Fman, the son of Tiorcain 
O'Gorman, an Abbot, assisted at the Council of Kells* In 
1164 Maolkevin O'Gorman died Abbot of Fore at a very 
advanced age, With the character of having been one of the 
most learned of the Irish. In his time flourished Marian 
O'Gorman, Abbdt of Knock, near Louth, and author of a 

Metrical Martyrology; and in 1174 died O'Gorman, 

Chief Lecturer of Armagh, the most learned doctor of 
divinity and moral law, who, having studied during twenty 
years in France and England, governed the schools of his 
native country for a similar interval.-> — In 1600 Donald 
O'Gonnan was Chief of the Septi 



The Fom* Masters commemorate the death of Donal 
' O'Huallaohaon * in 1182, Archbishop of Munater (Cashel); 
aad the Sept is otherwise located in the County of Ghdwaj. 
On tlus list another of the name was Ensign in Colonel 
Owen Mas Cartie's In&ntry^ 


This danle, now of none occorrenee, is yet to be found on 
Irish record from the time of Edward the Third. In that 
of Henry the Fifth, James * Uriel* was appointed Chief 
Baron of the Irish Exchequer. 


Th£ Fouf Master reeord in 1177 the death of Giolk Mac 
Liag O'Dong^e (Donnelly)^ Chief of Ferdroma, a territory 
within the precincts of Donegali He, With many othef 
Chiefs of the Noith of Ilfelandf fell in resisting the inyasion 
of the chivalrous but cruel John de Courcy^ There is in 
Tyrone a district which took its name, BaUy^DonneUy^ from 
this Sept; where died^ about the year 1621, John, son of 
Donnell groome O'Donnelly, leaving Patrick his son and 
heir then of full age and unmarried< O'Heerin^ in his topo^ 

LOBD slane's infaktbt. 351 

graphical work on Ireland, locates Cliiefs of this family in 
Tipperary. In 1641 Daniel O^Donnelly, described as of 
Pitchfordstown, County of Kildare, was the only individual 
of this name then attainted* In 1687 Terence Donnelly 
was Sheriff of Tyrone; and» in the Parliament of 1689, 
Patrick Donnelly of Dungannon was one of the Bepresen- 
tatives of the Borough of Dungannon, as was David 
O'Donnelly one' of those for that of Strabane. The 
Attainders of 1691 do n6t name the above Officer, but 
include fourteen O'Donnellys in the County of Tyrone^ with 
four in Armagh, and one in Dublin. 

Dr. O'Donovan has, in the Appendix to his Edition of the 
Annals of the Four Mastersj an interesting genealogical 
notioe of this Septi 






— 0'< 
BtBTj SniytlL 

Janitt O^NeOL 


Connodk 0*H«giil. 

Thonuw Mlfnghtioa. 

Daiiid HAgertj. 

WmiaiB Stewarts 

Bom M^Qnillaii. 

Hony O'Neill, 


Jobsk demoitft 

Cod, 80D of BrjUf O'Neal / 

Connnek O'Hin. 
Bobert Sutler. 
Fnndfl O'Cahan. 



ComtiM^ M<GflL 

Oihrer 0*Hi45Ui. 

Daniel Ifakaj. 

Danid ODoDndL 

Alexander SCewaiL 

Conniick M'Qaillan. 

Ha^ llagenms. 
Heni7 0*NenL 

Henrjr Comtn^* 
Boger O'Cahan. 

Biyan O'NeilL 

Con O^NeOlf Modertb 

Daniel 0*fiagan. 

Peter DoUn. 

Chrirtopher Rondl 

Hngh O'Griblnn. 







Bdwaid U*Coainf. 

John Gemon. 

Donagfay IfGanahenan 

John 0*Hagan. 


Con. ODo^iertj. 


Biyan IfOlanna. 

Patrick O'Sheak. 
Edmund M'Daonjr. 


Thomas DoUn. 
Edmmid Savage. 
Christopher Fleming. 



• GQmor. 


The Colonel and Ltentenant-ColoneL 
«— — Flenung, AdfmimL 
.^-Neale, Chaplam. 

-^ — Xacanallf. 

Jamei O'CnOj. 
Connw^ OHagan. 
Brjran OConnor. 
Ifaorioe OHagarty. 
Alexander Stewart* 


Teicnee M*Conway. 
John dementi 



Mylea M<Namea. 

Jamas O'Ehgan. 
Ifanns O'Haim. 
John ODo^berty. 
Dona^y O'Cahan. 

Daihy OX}ahan. 



*— Dobin. 
Hen. Saragej 


Patrick OHaiane. 
Hac Crowley. 

H'Donnen, Mqfor* 
Crowley, QKoriermatitr* 
Dobin, CAww^^eon. 

o'neiWs infant»t. 353 


This family, of natiye Bojaltj, is fully noticed post, at the 
Regiment of Henry Gordon O'Neill, who was then the lineal 
representative of the Sept. Colonel Connuck resided at 
Bronghshane in Antrim, was Sheriff of that County in 1687, 
one of its Bepresentatives in the Parliament of 1689, and 
was consequently outlawed in 1691. At the commencement 
of this campaign a detachment of his Be^ment was despatched 
with the Earl of Antrim's, to strengthen the garrison of 
Carrickfergus, which was, however, at the close of the year 
1688, obliged to surrender on an honourable capitulation, 
the terms of which were thus communicated by Mr. Thomas 
Knox, in a letter of the 22nd February, 1688, to Sir Bobert 
Colville, at his house near Belfast. 

* That Connuck O'Neill's Begiment be disbanded, and, on 
or before Monday next, leave the garrison, to vepair to their 
several habitations, with free passport, and to be protected 
from all injuries from the Protestants, by such as are con- 
cerned in the preservation of the peace. 

* That the Earl of Antrim's Begiment continue in the 
Castle, and have liberty to provide themselves with necessary 
proTiflions, and 8o be euppUed from time to time. 

* That th^ town be 1^ to the townspeople and to keep 
their own guards. 

' That all such goods or provisions, as were taken by force 
yesterday, be restored or their value to the owners. 

' That we continue in perfect peace each with the other, 
and that no disturbance be given on either side, unless forces 
from other parts enter into Ulster, bearing contrary to the 

YOI*. II. 2 A 


a00i]ianoe given hj my Lord Monntjoy who ww distmsted 
by the Government.* 

Con O'Neill^ modera^ an oflBoer in this B^iment, manied 
Boee, the only daughter of the gallant Sir NdU O'Ndll^ who 
commanded the Begiment of Dragoons ao djstingiiiahed at 
the Boyne- 


This officer is deeoibed in his attainder of 1691 as of Carry- 
roan, County of Antrim. At the Court of Claims in 1700, 
Hugh Col ville preferred a petition for the revernon of a chattel 
interest, which this Arthur held in that County, and the 
claim was allowed. Bory Magill of Lame and Bryan Magill 
also forfeited lands in Antrim. — ^-*The adjudications on the 
claims of the ^ 1649' officers, exhibit the names of Captains 
Hugh, James, and Itobert M^Gill, 



This an<aent Sept were Chiefs of Tullaghoge, witiiin the 
present Barony of Dungannon, County of Tyrone. They 
were amongst those hereditary Tanists who assisted at the 
inauguration of the O'Neills, successive Princes of that 
country ; and Sir Nicholas Malby, in a Beport on the state 
of Ireland which he made to Queen Elizabeth in 1579, 
describes this O'Hagan as one of the principal men of note 

o'nbill'8 infantbt, 355 

in that country. True to the 0*KeUl they attended him 
subsequently in the Munster 'vrar, and "Pete engaged at the 
battle of Kiiwale. The Act of 1612 for the attainder of 
this great Chief accordingly included, in the visitation of its 
penalties, John Opanty O'Hagan, late of Dungannon, with 
Henry wd Tejgue Q'Hagan of the same plaoe. The above 
officers are described in the Inquisition taken on their 
attainder, Art as of Dungannon, and Cormuck and Daniel of 
the County of Londonderry, Five qthers of this Sept were 
then likewise outlawed in the latter County. «-t — Hagan was 
one of the officers a la suitte in Galmoy's Regiment of Horse, 
while another of this pame was a Lieutenant in Colonel Jphi) 
Hamilton's Infimtry, and a third was Surgeon in Colonel 
Edward Butler's, 


This officer is described on the Inquisition for his attainder 
83 ^ of Ejltimurry, County of Antrim,* and appears to have 
descended from a Scotch settler on the flantationt 

• ^ ' r ' 


The CVHagartys were another Ulster Bept sub-feudatoyy to 
the O'Neill, under whose leadership Maolmura O'Hagarty 
fought and fell at the battle of Kinsale. The attainders of 
1691 have but two of the name, both of this Province ; James 
Hagarty of Pennybum-Mill, County of Londonderry, and 


William Hagarty of Tyrehugh, Cotmty of Donegal, clerk; 
and another clergyman of this name was Chaplain to Lord 
Clancarty's Begiment of Infkntry.-r- — A Lieutenant-Colonel 
Hagarty in LaUy's Regiment was wounded in 1747» at the 
battle of Lauffield, having so distinguished himself as to merit 
a pension of 1,200 &ancs thei^ceforth from the King of 


The Inquisition, taken on the attainder of this Officer, 
describes him a« of Dundermod, County pf Antrim; the 
only other then attainted individual of the name being George 
' Stuart' of Lisnadevin, in the saine Coimty. The names of 
Lieutenant^Colonel George, M^or Alexander, and Captains 
Andrew, Archibold, James, Samuel and Thomas Stewart, 
with Lieutenants Anthony and John, Captain William and 
Comet Robert Stuart, appear op the Adjudications' Boll of 
the ' 1649' Officers, 


The Mc Quillans were Lords of the Territory of the Routes 
in the County of Antrim, holding their chief residence in 
the fine old sea-girt Castle of Dimluce. They are considered 
to have been themselves invaders from Wales on earlier 

* O'Cimw'i MiUL Mem,^ p. 404. 

o'neill's infantby. 357 

inhabitants of the North, and to have originally styled them- 
selves Mac-Llewellyn, contractice Mac Quillan. Within that 
County, not far from the Ravel-water, are the ruins of another 
castle at Clough, traditicfnally believed to have been in very 
remote times also the seat of the Mc Quillan, until their 
dispossession by the Mc Donnells, after a great battle fought 
between them near the mountain of Ch*a. This castle stood 
upon a high insulated basaltic rock about twenty feet above 
the level of the surrounding ground, and Was encompassed 
by a foss. According to the same local traditions, it was 
burnt in 1641, with a hostility that left standing only a 
massive gateway, about twenty feet high and fourteen wide, 
with its mortar work five feet in thickness and powerfully 
cemented ; the ruin is surroimded on every side by forts. 

When Edward Bruce, in 1315 invading Ireland, encamped 
before the Castle df Carrickfergus, ten or twelve of the 
petty Princes of the North came in to him and proflered 
their adherence; amongst whom was the Mc Quillan. In 
1358, say the Four Masters, died Senechan Mc Quillan, 
who, in the existing native government, ranked High 
Constable of Ulster ; and the death of Slevin Mc Quillan in 
ten years after is commemorated by these historians with the 
same title, as hereditary. Succeeding annals are filled with 
narratives of active and melancholy ffeuds between the 
O'Neils, O'Donnells, and O'Cahanes on the one side, and 
the Mc Quillans on the other. In 1449 ^Mc Quillan 
defeated Murtogh Roe O'Neill in an engagement, in which 
the son of Maolmure Mac Sweeny, and Aongus, the son of j v ^ ^\ 
Mac Donnell of Scotland, with many others, were slain.' On p* ^ ' ' v 
the 13th* July, 1563, was fought the battle of Ora, before ^ fnf\ h^ 
alluded to, between the Mc Donnells, headed by Sorle-buy, A- ?^3./- '/^ 
and the Mc Quillans, headed by Conway Mc Quillan, whose 

358 KINO JAMES'S uasa abmt list. 

tomb 10 still pointed out by the people at Anls^, in the 
parish of Bamoan. 

An interesting existing manuscript, of modem date (1823)| 
but compiled from ancient papers of authority, commences 
a history of this fiunily from Edward M'QuiUan, who was 
bom in 1503, and ranked as 'Prince of Dakriada for seventy 
years, during five ragns of English Soverdgns.' On the 
Plantation of Ulster, his estates were sdsed by the Crown. 
" The King," says the manuscript, " as sensible of the 
injustice done to the Mc Quillan in depriving him of his 
estate^ offered him the lands of the O'Doherty, Prince of 
Inishowen, in lieu of them ; but Mc Quillan refused to 
accept thereof, indignantly saying he would not take lands 
belonging to another man; that, as he was not attiunted, 
he still expected to get his own, and that all the claim 
Mc Donnell had to the lands was his being married to 
Mc Quillan's daughter." Edward did not outlire the Plan- 
tation; his decease occurred at the very advanced age of 

102 He was descended from Feidlim Fi<Hm 

Mac Quillan, who deduced his lineage from Fiach Mac 
Quillan, a son of Niall of the Nine Hostages. . . . '* I 
believe," adds the compiler of the document (Edward Mc 
Quillan, bom in 1760), '' that my great^gtandiGither Was the 
first of the family who conformed to the established religion, 
with his two youngest sons; Richard, my grandfiither^ and 
his youngest brother, Charles; but his eldest daughter, 
Mary, was so steadfast in the Bomish religion, that she went 
to Spain before the battle of the Boyne, and became there 
Maid of Honour to the Queen, an office which she filled to 
the day of her death, when she left a fortune, to which I 
am heir, if it cotdd be got Her two eldest brothers were 
strict Catholics also; (one, it may be presumed, the above 

o'n£ill*s infantry. 359 

Captain Ross), and followed the fortunes of King James the 
Second, the grandson of him who deprived the family of 
their principalitj. They were in Limerick at the time of 
the siege, and intending to follow the King to France, when, 
in the very act of taking leaye of their brother officers, 
one of them was killed by a cannon ball. The other went 
to France, and served with distinction in the Irish Brigade, 
as did also his son Lewis Mc Quillan, who died at Versailles 
some time previous to the year 1766, leaving a large pro- 
perty to the nearest heir of the name of Mc Quillan and 
House of Dunluce. This my &ther went to France to 
seek; when he went to the Jesuits' College at Versailles, 
there to prefer his claim (they being the trustees to the 
property of aU officers of the Lish Brigade in France); 
but the kingdom was then in a ferment on account of the 
expulsion of these Jesuits ; he was arrested, and all his 
papers taken ^m him, amongst which was a pedigree of the 
Mac Quillans, as long as the third chapter of Luke. . . . 
The Mc Donnells, who got a great part of our lands, wish 
it to be believed that the Mc Quillan family is extinct, 
and really they were nearly extinguished by the Mc Donnells, 
as shown in these Memoirs; but they are not yet extinct, 
for there are several of them living in L*eland, and when 
I last heard fix>m America, my brother had two sons and 
one grandson living ; and I have also two sons living and 
two daughters, and all my children comfortably settled." 
The Memoir concludes with the attestation, '^ As my fiunily 
was never attainted, my blood is legally pure, and I am 
the legitimate lineal hereditary (in abeyance) Prince of 
Dalariada; though I now subscribe myself only plain 
Edward Mac Quillan, this 11th of 12th Mo. 1823, being 
the conqpletion of my sixty-third year.'' The armorials of 


the fiunilj are thus given in thia Mc QuiUan MS. " Abms, 
a lion rampant, gules; Crest on a wreath proper ^geeU 
greena^ (a refulgent sun) or; StTPPOBTESS, dexter ^ Justice 
with sword and scales; sinister j Hope, leaning on an anchor; 
Motto in Irish, 'Bus ria astrinor ;' in English j 'Death before 
dishonour.**' — ^" After their conversion to Christianity," 
adds Edward Mc Qulllan, ''the crest was changed to a 
demi-lion; and the Irish motto to the Latin, 'Malo mori 
quam fcedaii;' and in the jear 1605 the supporters were 
resigned for the present^ till the King and the Parliament of 
the British Empire shall r^-instate me in the honours and 
estates of my ancestors." The son of that Edward, Joseph 
Mc QuiUan, is now living in the County of Wexford. 

Previous patents of James the First record pardons passed 
to seVeral members of this Sept; and, yet more, a grant in 
1608 to Bory oge Mc Quillan of the territory of Clinagh- 
artie in LoWer Clandeboy, County of Antrim, comprising 
twenty-one extenave townlands, teith all hereditaments, 
advowsons, &c., of churched, formerly belonghig to any 
religious houses therein; the Mc Quillan being bound to 
find and maintain every year, for the space of forty days, 
two able horsemen and six footmen to serve the King, 
Lord Deputy, or Governor of Carrickfergus, whenever 
required within the Province of Ulster, and to answer all 
ri^gs out and general hostings. In 1619, however, a royal 
letter Was issued for a surrender of this territory from the 
patentee, and in tilith the family were so utterly despoiled, 
that the name does not appear on the Outlawries either of 
1641 or 1691, with the exception of a James Mc Quillan, 
who forfeited on the latter occasion, when Hugh Colvllle 
claimed at Chichester House a chattel remainder in the 
lands of Atte&thaw, County of Antrim, as forfeited by him. 



Nothing worthy of note has been ascertained of this 
officer or his fiimily; the name is however of record in 

Ireland, from the time of Edward the Third. In 1667 

Edward Clements passed a conflrmatoty patent for 1,242 
acres in Cork, as did Daniel Clements for 1,875 in Cavan, 
and the name of Lieutenant Francis Clements appears on 
the Adjudications for the ^ 1649 ' Officers, while Sir Bernard 
Burke in his Landed Gentry writes of a Robert Clements, 
who had been attainted previous to King William's time, but 
on his accession became one of the Bepresentatives of Car- 
rickfergus, was preferred to considerable estates in Down 
and Cavan, and was further appointed Deputy Vice Trea- 
surer of Ireland* 


This Sept claims descent from Eoghan^ son of Niall of 
the Nine Hostages, that King of Iceland who brought St 
Patrick a captive from France to its shores. They consti- 
tuted one of the most powerful &milies of ancient Dalariada 
in Ulster, from whence passed out the emigrants who 
colonised Scotland, conquered the Picts, and established a 
Kingdom there, which, in memory of their old home, was 
named Dalriada. From them descended the line of Scottish 
Kings — the Stuarts, for whose last link of British Royalty 
the present Army List was drawn up. In the oldest Annals 
of Ireland, Dalriada and the O'Cahanes are associated with 


events of chivalrous and romantic interest. At Dunse- 
verick, on the northern coast of Antrim, upon a rock over 
the sea, amidst the basaltic wonders of the Giants^ Causeway, 
was erected their casde; its imposing ruins still remain. 

On the earliest adoption of siunames in Ireland, Eogan 
0*Cahan is reooided an Abbot in the County of Galway, 
A.D. 980. In 1145 (£ed Sluaghdeach aCahane, 'Bishop 
of the people of Leighlin.' In 1192 a porch of the black 
church of St. Columbkill was built by O'Cahane of the 
Crieve, {i^e^ the Barony of Coleraine), soon after which this 
powerful Sept possessed themselves of the greater part of 
the County Deny, thence called the O'Cahane^s Country. 
In 1244 Hemy the Tlnrd requested the attendance and 
assistance of the O'Cahane in his prcgected war. In 1260 a 
battle was fought near Downpatrick, by Bryan O'Neill and 
Hugh O'Connor against the English of the North of Ireland, 
commanded by Stephen Lofngespci t.^. 'Lomgsword/ Earl of 
Salisbury^ and the Four Masters, giving a report of those 
slain on the Irish side, name Bryan O'Neill, Donal O 'Caine,' 
Dermod Mac Loughlin, Kane O'Heimery^ Donslevy Mac 
Can, Conor O'Duvdiorma and his son; AulafT O'Gormleyf 
Cumla O'Hanlon, Nial O'Hanlon, Manus O'Cahan, Hugh 
O'Cahan, with twelve other Chiefs of their Sept, besides 
many of the Chiefs of Connaught there also enumerated. 

In 1314 King Edward directed a special letter missive 
to Dermod O'Cahane, * Dud Hibemorum de Femetreeve^ for 
military service in Scotland. Associated with the O'Neill^ 
the McGenis, O'Hanlon, McMahon, Maguire, and other 
Chiefe of Ulster, under the command of Bichard de Burgo^ 
Earl of Ulster,* the OK]!ahane embarked from Drogheda for 

* EoL SeoL 7, Edw. % in Tur. L. 


Scotland. In 1338 David McOgby 0'*Kyne' sued out a 
patent of pardon and protection. This was the first recorded 
conyersion of the name towards that bj which it is frequently 

known Kyan. Before this time, a monastery was 

founded by the O'Cahan at Dungiven, which became thence- 
forth the burial place of the family, and still exhibits 
monuments of sculptured ornament commemorative of them. 
One is particularly alluded to in a note of Dr. 0*Donovan 
to the Four Masters, ad ann. 1385. About the middle of 
the fourteenth century, Angus ^oge^ (the younger), Lord of 
the Isles, married the daughter of the ' O'Cahane/* In 1376 
' Cumsighe O'Cahan, Lord of Oireacht-O'Cahane, was taken 
prisoner by the English of the port of Coleraine^ and sent 
in fetters to Carrickfergus.' In 1432 the O^Cahan, t.e. 
Bodeiic AinsheacUcair, was treacherously slain by Mac 
Quillan, namely Shemus Concarragh ; Con, son of Hugh 
buidh O'Neill, niustered his forces, and Geoffirey, brother 
of said Roderick O'Cahan, having proceeded to the Routes 
(in Antrim), to take revenge on said Mac Quillan, a battle 
ensued in which Geoffrey was slain; on the following day 
Con O'Neill gave the Mac Quillans a complete overthrow. 

In 1537 Cornelius O'Cahane was Bishop of Raphoe.' 

Amongst the State papers, temp. Henry the Eighth, is a 
Report of 1542, from the Lord Deputy of Ireland and his 
Council to the Ejbg, in which it is written, '* Now, as to 
the forther occurrences of this your realm, for as much as 
one McQuillan, which is an Englishman (they claim to be 
of Welsh descent), and now submitted to your Majesty's 
obedience, is invaded by one called O'Cahan, by the aid as 
it is supposed of O'Donnell his galloglas, we have therefore 

• ArdhdaWs Lodgers Peerage^ v. 7, p. 111. 


sent John Travers, with a convenient number of horsemen 
and footmen, to the aid of the same McQuillan, as well for 
that the same O^Cahane, which never yet showed any 
obedience to your Majesty, should not destroy the said 
McQuillan, as also to give courage to others that have 
in like sort submitted themselves to your obedience as 
McQuillan has done, shall in like case be aided if they 
persist in their due allegiance.''* At the dose of this year, 
Manus O'Cahane, then the Chief, renewed his submission 
to the King, and signed an indenture of peace, a copy of 
which is preserved in the Lambeth MSS.f 

In 1558 George DoWdall, the fitst Archbishop of Armagh 
after the Reformation, urged in a letter to the Viceroy, the 
policy of expelling the H^bridcjm Scots from Ulster, by 
procuring their Irish neighbours, O'Neill, O'Dondell, O'Ca- 
hane, and others, to unite against them. He further relied 
that the power of th^ Sdots in Ireland proceeded principally 
from the Irish Chiefs engaging them to their auxiliaries in 
their private quarrels ; a practice to the suppression of which 
the Primate earnestly directed the attention of the Viceroy^ 
Accordingly, in 1567, Sir Henry Sydney reported to the 
Queen, " All Tyrconnel, together with O'Cahane^s country 
under the govemlnent of O'Cahane, is in great obedience to 
your Majesty, and daily doth annoyance to the rebels." At 
the Irish Conciliation Parliament, sought to be assembled 
in Dublin by Sir John Perrot, in 1585, " there came to it 
(say the Four Masters), O'Cahane, Loi*d of Oireacht-O'Cahan, 
namely Roderick, the son of Manus, son of Donough the 
hospitable, son of John, son of Accency." It was in his time, 

♦ State Papersy temp. Henry Vllt.^ v. 3, p. 399. t Idem, p. 407-8. 

% Gregory's Hdfrides^ p. 198. 


and, as appears, vdtb his aid, that the McConnell, or 
McDonnell of the Isles, settled in Antrim. The O'Cahanes, 
however, sedulously adhered to the O'Neill as their Lord 
paramount, and fell with his fortunes, being expressly by 
name included in that act for his attainder, by which all 
Ulster was declared confiscated to the Crown, In the 
Egerton Papers^ recently published by the Camden Society, 
is an interestipg report from Sir John Davis to the Lord 
Chancellor, dated in 1607, wherein be writes, " The Earl of 
Tyrone is sent for into Englemd, to receive order in the 
cause between him and O'Cahane, or rather between him 
and the King'3 Majesty, tpupbing tlie title of O'Cahane's 
country ; and he is directed by the King's letters to attend 
at Court about the beginning of Michaelmas term,* It may 
be here added, that, at the time when Clare was planted out 
in a County, Charles Cahaue was repprt^d sais^d of a Castle 
at Iniskathyn, as was James Cah^e of another at Ballykettle 

In 1615, on an allege^ conspiracy ^^to seize and destroy 
Derry and the other principal tpwns of the Plantation," a few 
of the chief Irish gentlemen of the North were apprehended, 
tried« and six of them found guilty apd executed; one of 
these, it appears, was Rory O'Cahane, whose estate was 
thereupon granted away by the Commissioners of the Planta- 
tion, as fi[)rfeited.t By this confiscation and the numerous 
outlawries of 1641, the name was considerably uprooted from 
Derry, and expulsed to foreign countries. An Exact and 
Perfect Relation of a Victorie gained by Philip the IV. of 
Spain over Louis the XIIL of France, says, ** The town of 
Fontaiabia being beleagured by the French, both by sea and 

• Camden Papers, v. 12, p- 414. f Ordnance Survey of Derry, pp. 40-41. 


kadf and the gamMo ledoeed to gresrt f ■tifit i ^ Ae 
Akalde ieot d»patelMs to the Kiag and the 
Ca9teIkitoic£ritspeedT«ieeoiir. Thebttereeit AreeSpnuh 
Czptahm md Ibor Irish, which Iridi woe Damd OCahaa^ 
THtA ^mj, Ofirer Fitzgenld, sod Tcrenee aGaU^her.** 

The Daeheif of BuckhighanB hsrii^, after her fint widow- 
hood, aam ed the Eari of Antrim, took i^ her wiiidfnrg in 
that Coontj, and there faiaed a force of 1,000 men a aid of 
the Mooarofaj. Loid Wentworth, who waa at the time Lord 
Deputy f Arected her Gtaoe to hare these lec r uiia mar c h ed faj 
the nmte of Newtowii*Iimavadj, in paan^ dnoi^ wfaidi 
▼iUage the waa induced to rieit the wife of OX^ahane, whoee 
caatk had been dfrnoKahed and hinwdf baniBhed. '* In the 
midit cf a half ndned edifioe waa kindled a fire of teancfaes, 
and the window oaaemeota were staffed with ttnw, to keep 

off the rigoor of the season. ^Thete kidged the wife of 


Cokmel ^ O^Kyan,* mentioned in the wars of Montrose, is 
fay some oonrid^ed to have been in his day the head of the 
0*Cahanes. Dr. Browne^ in his Higtary of the Highland 
Clan$^ affords many interesting details of this Irish hero, and 
of die oonfidenoe with whioh the gaUant Scot relied upon his 
bravery and sldll. At the battle of Inverloohy, fought 
between Montrose and the forces of Argyle, * Cokmel O'Kean 
oommaoded the left wing of the army of the former, which 
oonristed of a Begiment of Irish, while a detachment of Irish 
was placed behind the main body as a reserve, under the 
command of Cobnel James M^Domdd, alias 0*NalL' This 
left wing was the first to commence the battle of that day by 
eharging the enemy's right, with an energy that *ArgyIe*8 

* QrahomCi Derriana^ p. 46. 

O'Neill's ikfantbt* 867 

force, unable to resist, tamed about and fled, which ciroum- 
etance had such a discouraging effect on the remainder of 
Argyle's troops that, after discharging their muskets, the 
whole of them, including their reserve, took to their heels and 
the route became general,** After Montrose's defeat, bow- 
ever, at Pbiliphaugb, ' the Committee of Estates of Scotland 
concocted those measures of revenge against the unhappy 
Royalists who had fallen into their hapds, which they after- 
wards carried ipto execution, The first who suffered were 
Colonel ' O'Kean' .and Major Laughlane, another brave Irish 
officer. Both those were hapged without trial op the Castle 
Hill of Edinburgh. Perhaps the cireumstonee of being 
Irishmen appeared a sufficient reason in the eye of their 
murderers for despatching them so summarily, but they were, 
nevertheless, the subjects of the E[ing, and as fully ^ititled to 
all the privileges of war as the other prisoners. 't 

Another officer, styled Manus Boe O'Cabaoe, was, by 
Cromwell's Act of 1652, excepted from pardon for life and 
estate. In ten years aft«r, Nicholas ' Cahane* of this femily 
was called upon his knees before the Irish House of Com- 
mons, and committed to prison, for allied disrespect " to the 
best of Kings, on whose head God by his miraculous provi* 
dence liad pheed a crown of puie gold, which all the machina- 
tions of such as he« would never be able to remove**'! 
According to Lodge (Peerage^ vol. 3., p, 232) John« the 
third Lord Kingston, who had been an adherent of James the 
Second, intermarried, in 1683| with ' Margaret, daughter of 
Florence O'Cahan, whose ancestors ruled Iraghli-Cahan, until 
the escheats of James tiie First/ 

* Brwmiz Highland CZoiu, p. S63. f l^ P* 420, 

X Comm^ Jaum^ voL 2, pp. 604p-d. 

368 Knro jaxss's isibh abut ubt. 

In tlie Aimy List given in Berwick's Bawdan Papers 
(p. 360), a Begiment of Infimtij in this cunpnign is stilted to 
fasve been coounsnded by sn O'Csbuie, and O'Conor in his 
MUUary Memoirs says 0*Cahane did nise such a fbtce. 
Thiee other 0*Cahaoes, it wiQ be observed, held cmnmissions 
in this Be^menty while John O'Cshane was an Ensign in the 
Earl of Antrim's Infiuitry, and Owen ^ Cahane* was a Uente- 
nant in Lord Clare's Dngoons. 

The Attainders of 1691 enumerate, with Ci^itsin Fnmds, 
described as of Pennybom-Mill, Coonty of Deny, and 
Ci^rtain Roger *• Kdgh' O'Cahane, of Connatdle, County of 
Tyrone, twelve others of the Sept, viz. : — ^Walter of BaUy- 
clogh, Edward of Pallyvanagh, and James of Ballyrogangh, 
in Antrim; Bryan of Pennybum-Mill, derk, Shane Cornack 
*Mac Cahane' of Newtown-Stewart, Daniel of Sweetra, 
Daniel and Bory of Pennybmm-Mill, Edward of Donsevenck, 
with Morris, Dermot and Donagh of BaUynasse, in Derry. 
After the capitulation of Limerick, Lord Iveagh brought 
over a body of the expatriated soldiers to France, who were 
sent thenoe, as before mentioned, under the command of 
Colonel McDonnell for the service of the Emperor of Austria 
in Hungary. He employed them against the Turks, by 
whom they were so severely handled, that the remnant was 
drafted into other corps of the Imperial army,* Of these 
suffering Irish refugees were two O'Cahanes, whose petitions 
to King William, " that they, being sick, might safely repair 
to Ireland, their natural soil,** have been noted as in the 
Southwell Manuscripts. 

An entry in the Irish Commons* Journal of 1698 states, 
that ' the House being acquainted that one Manus O'Cahan, 

* (yCaOaghan'M Brigadsi, vol. 1, p. 359. 

o'kbill's infantry. 369 

then in oustody, was guspected to be the author of a libel 
entitled The Injured Protestant Vindicated^ it was thereupon 
ordered that he should be examined on oath, with other 
persons, touching that matter. Upon the return on his 
examination^ however, it was directed that he should be 
discharged without fees. — ■. — At the Court of Claims in 1700, 
Bryan O'Cahan preferred his, for a freehold interest in lands 
in the County Clare, the fee of which was forfeited by Lord 
Clare. It is alleged* that the Irish Roman Catholics 
petitioned the ^ Pretender,' in 1711, to nominate a Dr. Bryan 
O'Cahane, then Parish Priest of Ballynascreen, County of 

Down, to the vacant See of Derry Bunting, in his 

Ancient Music of Ireland (pp. 44 and 68), makes mention of a 
celebrated Irish harper of the name of O'Cahane, who, having 
been about the year 1773 in the Highlands, often entertained 
the Lord Mac Donald at his residence in the Isle of Skye, 
with his excellent performance on the harp. '' He was con- 
sidered one of the chief O'Cahanes of his old territoiy; and 
the names of the estates in the North, to which he was 
traditionally entitled, were enumerated at the great meeting 
of the harpers some years OQce in Belfast/' 


His name does not appear on the Outlawries of 1691, nor has 
any information been obtained of him or his family. In the 
first year of the English Invasion, Re^bmld ^ de Courtenae' 
was one of the witnesses to Henry the Second's first Charter 

♦ Ordnance Survey ofDeny^ p. 69. 
VOL. II. 2 B 

370 JOKa James's miSH abmy list. 

to Dublin, dated fix>m his Pavilion within that City. In 
1385 Philip de Conrtney was the King's Deputy in Ireland^ 
at which time His Majesty granted to Anne, Phillip's 
Consort, the Royal Manor of Cnunlin near Dublin, to hold 
during his ^Vlce-Boyalty. In the following year he held a 
Great Council or Parliament in Dublin. 


This surname is traceable on Irish Becords from the time of 
Bichard the Second, who, on the death of Bobert, son of John 
' Dobyn,' conmutted his estates, in the Moortown near Kil- 
leryn, County Kilkenny, to the Abbot of St. Mary's c^ 
Jerpoint, to hold during a minority. In 1400 Peter * Dobyn' 
was appointed Constable of CarridEfingus. In 1595 Nicholas 
Dobbin (who was an Alderman of Waterford) died seised of 
Lisnetuny and other lands near the Nore in Kilkenny, his 
son and heir, Edmund, being then only six months old. This 
boy gave name to Dobbinswood in said County, and he was 
father of another Nicholas, who was attainted in 1641, 
although very young at the time. In 1611 Henry Piers had 
a grant of the wardship of Margaret Dobbin, alias Butier, 
AnasfaBJa, Sdina, or Elizabetii and Ellen Dobbin, daughters 
and coheiresses of Nicholas Dobbin, late of Ballynakill, 
County Waterford, deceased. — —Lieutenant James Dobbin 
i^pears on tiie BoU of the ^ 1649' officers. 

The Captain here in commission appears, by his Christian 
name and otiierwise, to have been of the Carridd^rgus line, 
and is accordingly described in the inquisition for his attainder 
as of Dnunferogh, County of Antrim; witiiin which county 

O'HBILIi'0 infaktst. 371 

were then also outlawed Thomaa ^ Dobbin* of Clough and 
Henry Dobbin of Ballynaoard ; while in the County of Kil- 
kenny three Dobl»tis stand Outlawed* At the Court of 
Claims, Captain "William Dobbin was allowed an equity of 
redemption x^H a mortgage of County of Antrim l^ds, 
forfeited by siud Cuptain Peter; Elizabeth, a daughter of this 
Captain William, was married about the year 1723 to George 
Maoartney, fhiher by a former wife of the oelebrated Lord 
Maoartney of Lissanoure, -^-^ — Another Peter Dobbin was 
Quarter^mltfter in Lord Dongan's Dragoonsi a -•-'-^ Dobbin 
was a lieutenant in FitEJames's Infimtry ; a third P^ter, alioi 
Pia«, Was an Ensign in the Earl of Tyrone's; and in 
Maxwell's Dragoons, «•--*- Dobbin was a Comet, Anthony 
Dobin was a Burgess of Carriokfergus in the time of James 
the First, as was Nicholas Dobin in that of Charles the First. 


Hs was attainted by the description of Hugo O'Qribbin of 
Eillegneeii, County of Antrim, See further of this name, 
ante vol. 1, p. 429, &o. 


The O'Horans were a clan of Hy Maine in the County of 
Galway, but do not seem convertible into this name. 



Iff 1637 died Antbony Smith of Mqyiy, awed of the Cflstle 
and lands of Carrigbnify in Annagfa; Bichard^ Ida giandson, 
t^.y son of Edipaid his son, was his heir, then aged (mlj 
seven years; and in 1649 died Henry Smyth of Longh in 
Down, Us son and hor, John then 22 yean of age and lately 
marrieil, seems to have been the &ther of this lieatenant 
Henry. On the BoU of Adjudications in &Toor of the '1649* 
OflBoers, appear the names of Colond Alexander, Ciq[ytains 
Jdlm, Bichaid, and William, Lieutenant-Colonel Crecnge, 
Lientenaats Abraham, Balph, and Bobert Smith. The 
Attainders of 1642 present the name of Bachard Smith, 
described as of Mandanstown, County of Meaih. In 1665 
Sir Ed^PTBid Smith was appointed Chief Justice of the Com- 
mon Fleas in Ireland, as was John Smilh a puisne Judge 
thereof in 1700. In the Parliament of 1689 two of the name 
were of the Temporal Peers — Smith, Visconnt Carrington 
of Barrifore, a ^Papist," and Smith, Viscount Stnngfixrd, a 
Protestant ; wfaOe William Smith, Bishop of Baphoe, was 
one of the Spiritual Peers. Besides this officer, four other 
Smiths were commissioned on this Army List, in Clifford's 
Dragoons, Qalmoy's Horse, Thomas Butler^s and Lord 
Bellew's Infimtry ; and the ^ttunders of 1691 present this 
number, the majority of whom, including Lieutenant Henry, 
appear to have been then of the County of Kilkenny. At 
the Court of Claims Valentine Smith was allowed a term for 
three lives renewable, in lands forfdted by William Smith of 
Dama^, in that County. 

o'nsill'b infantst. 373 


In the settlement of property in Ulster consequent upon the 
Plantation, Randal Mc Donnell of Dunluce, Earl of Antrim, 
conveyed lands in that County to Daniel 'McKey' of Bally- 
tiiim, to hold in fee; whereof sud Daniel died seised in 1622, 
leaving Alexander Mc Allaster Mc Key his son and hdr, then 
of full age.* The present Lieutenant was, probably, the son 
of this Alexander. Another Makay was an Ensign in Lord 
Antrim^s Li&ntry: 



Amongst the manuscripts of Mr. Robert Conway Hurley of 
Tralee (#liich have been kindly forwarded in aid of these 
Illti8tratione)y is a very interesting pedigree of the family of 
ConWay, compiled from the Herald's Office in London and 
North Wales, and yet more especially from one at Ragley, 
certified by Francis^ Viscount Beauchamp, 'now Marquis of 
Hertford." f'rom this it appears that Sir John Conway^ of 
Ragley in Worcestershire, (whose lineage is there deduced 
from Sir William Conais, High Constable of England in the 
time of the Conqueror), was made Governor of Ostend in 
1586 by the Earl of Leicester; and that having married 
Ellen, daughter of Sir Fulke Oreville of Beauchamp's-court, 
Warwickshire, he died in the first year of the reign of James 
the First, leaving issue by her, two sons; Sir Edward, his 

^ Inquis, 1635) m Cane* Hib* 

374 KIHa JAMB8*8 ntUH ABMT UBT. 

sooceaBor; and Sir Fnlke, his seoond son. The latter^ in 
1609, on the Flantadon of Ulster, settled as an undertaker in 
Antrim, where heobtaiaed a hurge tenitoiy in KHinltagh, the 
ancient inheritance of Con O'NdlL Sir Fnlke was a distin- 
goished ofl&ser in Ireland, became a representative of Antrim 
in Parliament, and ultimately a Privy Conndllor. He died 
in 1624, leaving a son Christopher, Member for the Bocon^ 
of Armagh in the Pailianient of 1613, and who married the 
eldest rister of the jnsdy revered 1% James Ware. By her 
he had James Conway, Captain of Horse, who, witii his 
oonsin Lord Conway, accompanied Charles the Second in his 
exile. On the Bestofation, the fonner returned to Ireland, 
with nothing bnt his commission to depend npon> Here Smith, 
in his HigtoTy of Kerry^ takes np the migration; ''there came 
into this county, soon after the Bestoration, James Conway, 
son of Christopher Conway, nephew to Lord Conway." *'He 
married (resumes the manuscript) EXzabeUi, daqf^ter of 
Ed^rud Boe, Esq., of Clohane, County of Kei^y, by Alice, 
dau^iter of Jenkin Coaway of Castle Conway ia the same 
county, one. of the Munster undertakers who, ii^ the w^ of 
Queen Elizabeth, came from Wales \rith Sir William Herb^ 
Sir Edwaxd Denny and Bobert Blennerfaa^^ett, to plant some 
of the forfeited estates of the Desmond; on which oocaBM»t 
Jenkin obtained the seigniory <tf Killorglin (afterwards called 
Castle Conway), comprising the castles, towns, and lands, 
thereof, the island of Inisfidlen, aod several other denomina- 
tiona» 5,260 acres, in said county ; vith sundry advowsons." 
This castle was afterwards burnt by order of the Lord 
President of Munster. 

James Conway, in consequence of his marriage with the 
Kerry lady, settled at Clohane, and had by her two sons, 
Edward and Christopher. The former married a daughter of 

LU^. ^l 

o*N£ill's xnfanxby. 375 

John Blenerliasset of Ballyseedy, and seems to be identical 
with the above Lieutenant^ erroneoiely styled on the Army 
List, by a Sept designation, 'Mc Conway.* It is to be 
observed, however, that the Htirley maauacript, from which 
these illn8txati(»ui are drawn, states that Christopher, a 
brother of Edward, was also an officer in King James's 
Army, and &11 at Anghrim; he had married Joan Boche of 
the House of Dundine, Connty of Cork, by whom he had 
issue six sons (and one daughter, Elizabeth, who became the 
wife of John O'Coimell of Derrynane). The second of his 
mr sons, James Conway, WCTt to France with the Lish 
emigrants, and had the command of a company in Lord 
Mountc^sheFs Regiment. Thomas Conway, the fourth of 
Christopher's sons, had by his wife Anne, daughter of 
Patrick Fitzgerald of Ghdlerus, for his second son, another 
James Conway, Count Conway in France, a very distin- 
guished officer in the Lish Brigade ; and he, marrying 
Julianne O'Mahony, had by her two sons, Thomas Count 
Conway, and Thomas Henry, Viscount Conway, both officers 
in the service of France ; but neither left male issue. Edward, 
the third son of Thomas and Anne Conway, married Ellen 
Mahony, by whom he had two sons; Thomas, who died in 
1824, 8.p,; and James, who became a Lieutenant-Colonel 
in the Fifty-third Foot; Ma eldest son, John S. Conway, 
appears to be now the representative of this ancient family. 

To return to the immediate descendants of Christopher 
Conway by Joan Boche ; Bobert, their fifth son, married 
Mary, daughter of Colonel Maurice Hussey of Flesk-bridge, 
now called Cahimane, by whom he had a son, Edward 
Conway ; who, marrying Christian, daughter of Edward Bice, 
left issue by her one son, who died immarried in 1777, and 
two daughters; Lucy, who also died unmarried in 1799, and 


Mary, who nnmed John Hoiley in 1784, and had lasae by 
him as before mentioned (ante, toL 1, p. 327). Christopher, 
the sixth son of Christopher by Joan Rodie, married Ellen 
Mahony, by whom he had two sons. Sir Matthew and Sir 
Bobart, Ejoights of St Loois, and who both died without 
issoe. All these childien of Christopher and Joan were 
educated members of the Choich of Borne, and henoe their 
necessitated devotion to foieign service. 

In Coiic Abbey» County of Tyrcme, is a monument conk- 
memomling Captaun Cormac Conway, who fought f<Mr King 
James at Aughiim; while it may be added that a Ueutenant 
James Conway af^wars upon the Bdl of A^judicalioiiB, in 
&vour of the ' 1649' Officers. 


A CULK of this name was loeated in Fennanagh, about 
Lough Erne. 


The Mc Canns were chiefii of Hy Bieasail, an ancient 
territCHy aa the borders of Armagh and Tyrone, near Lough 
Neagh. In 1189 (say the Four Masters) died Echmilidh, 
s<m of Mc Can, * the delight and happiness of all Tyrone.* 
In 1212 the death of Donogfa Mac Can, Chief of the Sq»t, is 
xecorded. Five of this fionily were dain in the Munster war 
of Eliabeth's time, at the battle of Knsale. A 



' Makane/ probably of this surname, was Lieutenant in Sir 
Neill O'Neill's Dragoons ; while the name of Ensign Alex- 
ander Mc Canne appears on the Boll of A^udications in 
favour of the ' 1649' Officers. 


The O'Dohertys were an andent Sept, a branch of tfa^ 
O'Donnells^ located on the territory between Loughs Foyle 
and Swilly and the Atlantic^, now known as the Barony of 
Inishowen^ County of Donegal. Li 1194 an Abbey was 
founded for Cistercians at Hilfothair in this Coimty by the 
O'Doghertie. It was a filial establishment of Easroa^ to 
which, in process of time, it was united* In three years 
after, Eachmarcagh O'Doghertie, who had assumed the 
chieftaincy of Ejnel-Connell, the country of O'Donnell, was 
slain by John d'e Courcy, in an engagement, where fell 
seyeral of both those native Septs. In 1252 Conor O'Doherty 
died, chief of Ardmiodhab in Donegal, ' the tower' add the 
Masters, ^ of hospitality and bravery in the North.' In 1407 
died Owen O'Doherty^ heir to this Chieftainship, as did in 
1413 Conor O'Doherty styled ' Chief of Ardmiodhair and 
Prince of Inisowen.' In 1454 Donell O'Donnell, chief of 
Tyrconnel, was taken prisoner by the O'Dohertie. The 
Tanist succession of these rival Chie& is very accurately and 
fully given by the Four Masters. In 1548 O'Doherty was 
one of the ' confederates' with Con O'Neill against English 
government, t In 1582, say the Four Masters, died the 

* ArckdaWs Man. Hib. p. 99. f Stuarfs Armagh^ p. 237« 


OT^oherty, t^., John, son of Phdm, son of Coimor earraeh^ 
Loffd rf iDi&howen. ^* Had tbe deeesaed been a hostage to 
be lanaomed, hoTBea and flodoi would have been given for his 
ransom; his son John oge iraa appcnnted in his plaoe, in 
opposition to Cahir 0*Dohertyy and on that aoconnt the 
conntry was much plundered in its cropSy com, dwellings, and 

At the Parliament convened by Sir John Penrot, in 1585, 
this Sept was represented by the aforesaid John oge. In 
three years after, he was taken prisoner by the forces of Sir 
Richard Bingham and % Thomas N<Maris, on the eharge of 
having *' made ftiendship and alfiance with a portion of the 
men dT the ^pamsh fleet" He died in 1601, «*Lo(rd of the 
Barony of Imshowen,** say the Masters, *' and there was not a 
Lord of a Barony amongst the Iiish^ more distinguished for 
manual action and hospitality, or more bold in counsel than 

he." ^That rank and title the O'Doherty maintamed until 

the time of James the First, when Sr Cahir O'Doharfy was 
killed in a contest with the English. He had in 1605 a grant 
finom ffihg James, of various manors, lorddiips, castles, knds, 
advowsons, &c.| m the County of Inishowen, or O^Ddierty's 
Country, saving and reserving the Castie of Culmore, in lieu 
of which he was to receive four salmons per day during the 
season annually, with tiie custody oi the castie in time of 
peace, or when not occupied by the Crown; to hold same to 
him and his heirs male, paying between Michaelmas sad Alt 
Saints' days thirty good and fat beeves at Newry, and he and 
hia said heirs attending all hoetings, riongs out, and joumies, 
with twenty footmen and six horsemen armed, and with 
victuals for forty days, to serve against the ' rebels' in Irdand. 
This was a restoration patent, as of territory theretofore 
forfeited by Sr John O'Doherty, Knight, Chief <^ his name 

o'neux's istantbt. 379 

and father of aaid Sir CiJur. The Act of 1612, however, for 
the attainder of the Earl of Tyrone and confiscatimi of Ulater, 
included Sir Cahir O'Doherty, ' kte of Birtecastle, County of 
Denial/ in its extermination; and the King thereupon 
directed that his possessions within the Barony of Inishowen 
and O'Doherfy's Countrie should be granted to Sir Arthur 
Chichester, Ejught, with liberty to create manors and freehold 
estates. In 1614 Lady Mary O'Doherty, his widow, had a 
grant of a peneion of £106 ISs. 4d., ^ in lieu of a jointure and 
third of the lands of her attainted husband. To another lady 
of this broken down and landless family, ' Rose O'Doherty, 
daughter of the Dynasts of Inishowen/ a monument is erected 
in the Franciscan churdh at Lovaine. It states that she was 
&vst QUtrried to Ca&y O^Donnell, cousin of the Prince of 
Tyiconnel, and secondly to Owen O'Neill, Commander of the 
C«thoUc Army in Ulster. 

In 1666, by reason of resistance made to Sir Bobert 
Murray, alias Creighton, in his possession of sundry manors, 
towns, and lands in Boylngh and Bannagh, County Donegal, 
by William Younge, Under Sheriff of that County, James 
Nisbett of Tamitallen, Cahir O'Doherty, Hugh dubk 
O'Doherty, -i— — O'Doherty, son to Cahir O'Doherty, Owen 
O'Quin, Cormuck O'Quin, Shane bane O'Quin, &c., the 
Coroners of that County, were, by order oi the Irish House of 
Commons, commanded to quiet Sir Robert in his possession 
there. In 1667 Charles Doherty had a grant of 559 acres in 
Cayan, but he was attainted in 1691, as was also Edmund 
O'Doherty of the County of Donegal. The latter forfeited 
derivative rEiterests, the reversion of which in fee was claimed 
in 1700 by the Earl of Donegal, but his petition was dismist 

as cautionary. In Maxwell's Dragoons Doherty was a 

Cornet Anotbjer of the name was an Ensign in Fitz James's 

380 KING James's ibish asmt list. 

Infimtry; a third an Enaigii in Lord Kilmallock's ) and 
fourth Qnarter-Master in Colonel Dudley Bagnair84 



Thb Mc Manus mus a ntimerons and influential Clan of 
Fermanagh. According td the native Annalists, they had 
the command of the shipping in Longh Erne, and held thd 
post of hereditary c^ef managers of its fisheries under the 
Maguire. A branch of this family was also located on the 
borders of the Counties of Leitrim and Boscommon. The 
Foai* Masters record, at 1495, the death of Manus, son of 
Owen roe Mac Manus, lord of Tir'Tuathail-Maolgarbh, also 
the death, in three years after, of the Mac Manns, t.^., Cathal 
oge^ son of Cathal, son of Cathal, son of Gillpatrick, son of 
Matthew, ^., a coadjutor Bishop of Clogher for fifteen years 
before his death, 'a patron of learning and art in his own 
country, chief conservator of the canons, a fountain of charity 
and men^ to the poor and unprotected of GU>d's people, a 
man who brought together many historical works, from which 
he compiled the Annals of BaUynuusmanua^ (better known as 
the AnnaU of Ulster^ published in the splendid collection of 
the Rerufh Hibefnicarum Scriptores, by the late Dr. Charles 
O'Conor, the venerable Bede of Irish History). The afore^ 
said Bishop Mac Manus died of small-pox, in the sixtieth year 
of his age. The Attainders of 1642 have but one of this 
name, and fiur away from the homes of the Sept; he is 
described as Owen Mc Manus of Dunbouke, County of 
"Wlcklow. Those of 1691 trace them back in their old 
province, but to be again expelled* There were then 


outlawed Bory Pheluny Mc MaauB of Lisnaskea, County of 
Fermanagh, and Cullen Mc Manus of Tullycool, County of 
Down; one of whom was a Lieutepant in Loird Antrim's 


In the Inquisition taken on his attpdnder, he is called and 
described as Edwa^rd Mc Ilderry, Salt-pans, County of 


By inquisitions, taken in relation to the forfeitures of 1641, 
it was found that — •. — Mp Nally, then late of Boskenedy in 
Antrim, was seised in fee of that denopu|iation in right of his 
fiither Donell Mc Nally, apd that, he haying engaged in actual 
rebellion, the premises became forfeited ; that Eiver, son of 
James oge Mc Nally, died seised of other estates in said 
Coimty, leaving Bory his son and heir, who became seised 
thereof, but died before that dyil war, and that James, son of 
Owen Mc Nally was possessed of other estates there, which 
he then forfeited. The name does not at all appear on the 
1691 Attainders, 



[This Sept was originally from Connaught, and is considered 
to have branched from the Mc Dennots of Moyluig. It 
became established as Erenaghs in Londonderry; and the 
parish of Tamlaghi-O-Crilley took its oame from their settle- 
ment in that district.] 

■ ■ ii rf 


[The heads of the fiunily, to which this Officer belonged, 
Mao Conmidhe, cmglice Mac Namee, were the hereditary 
bards of the O'Neills of Tyrone,] The most noted of the 
race was GKlbride Mc Namee, hard to the famous Brysn 
O'Neill, Prince of Tyrone, who was slain at the battle oi 
Tyrone in 1260; on which event a curious and interesting 
poem was composed by Gilbride, which has been published 
with translation and notes by the Celtic Society. According 
to Dr. O'Donovan, tiie Mc Namees are still very numerous 
in Ulster. Amongst those who sued out patents of general 
pardon in 1604 were deven ' Mc Nemys,' all stated to be of 
Mayo, and described as * rymets/ 





The Colonel. 

[ Jobn Lacy, 
Ueatenant-GoloneL ] 

[Gros. Deyerande, 

Sipnon GftTQBai^ 

Walter Esmond, 


Bobert Esnumd. 

AnthoD J Eutaoe. 

Ignatius Caraaagli, 

[Nicholas Warren.] 

Nicholas NickBon. 

Ed. CaTenagh. 


Bonayentnro Ki 



Dania 'KavmagV 

»-*« Eustace. 

rWiUiam Boole. 
\WiUiam Fisher. 

— ^Archbold. 



Ja. Bvma. 

Ednrand <KaimuiagV 
--» FitsGerald 

— ^Einsella, *- 

— Irers. -^ 

Rer. EdBsslae^ CkofkA^ 

— . ICagrath, AayetNi. 




384 KiHO James's nosH ABmr ust. 


Debxod Mac Muhbough, who led in the English inTaderSy 
was at the time King of Ldnster. Donal Cavenagh was 
his only son^ and as sodi, though iUe^timate, assumed a title 
of soveieignty in that province. His descendants, known as 
Cavenaghs, or Mac Muirou^ Cavenagbs, maintained thdr 
independence, and held the tide of Kings of Leinster, with 
large possesions in Wexford and Carlow down to the reign 
of EHzabetb- On a fortress by the bank of the Barrow, 
between Carlow and L^ghlin, they were inaognrated, at- 
tended by the O'Nolan, Chief of Forth in Carlow, as King's 
MarshaL In 1314 Edweutl the Second directed his especial 
nussiye to Maurice * Kavanagh' Mac Murrough, for lus aid 
against the Scots. The Four Masters record, at 1369, the 
death of Grerald Cavenagh, ^ heir presumptive to the crown 
of Leinster ;' while a patent roll of 1377 states that Art Mac 
Murrough, of Kinselagh, came before a Parliament of Dublin 
in that year, and pledged himself and his Sept to bear allegiance 
to the King of England, and even to aid in hostings against 
the Lrish at his own expense, he receiving from the Treasury 
therefor an annuity of forty marks: and in 1422 the Lish 
Council, by reason that Grerald O'Kavanagh, brother of Donat 
Mac Murrough, the Chief of his nation had sustained much 
loss in labouring to establish peace with various Lrish of 
Leinster, and had conformed himself to allegiance on his 
oath, granted him forty marks, in addition to an annuity of 
eighty marks, which said Donat had enjoyed from Henry the 
Five years previously died the most illustrious individual 

cavenagh's infantrt. 385" 

of this Sept, the aforesaid Art Mac Murrough O'Cayenagh, 
styled King of Leioster; *' a man," say the Masters, '* who 
defended his proTjnce against the English and Irish from 
the age of 16 tp that of 60; a man distinguished for his 
hospitality, knowledge, and feats of arms; a man fiiU of pro- 
sperity and Boyalty, a founder pf churches aiid monasteries 
by his bounty and contributions. He had been forty-two 
yLs in thZ govermnent of Leinster, when he^ed/ 
Throughout these Annals his contests with the I}nglish, in 
the yery presence of their King, Richaid the Second, are 
proudly recorded; and when his son, after a long imprison- 
ment, was restored in 1428 to his people, they write, *^ Mur- 
rough, Lord of Leinster, namely Donogh, the son of Art 
Cayenagh, who was imprisoned in England for the space of 
nine years, was ransomed by his own ProTinoe which was 
joyful news to the Irish." In 1442 ' Murtogh Cayenagh, the 
son of Mac Murrogh, heir to the lordship of Leinster, was 
slain by the English of the Condae Beayach (Wexford) ; and 
Mac Murrogh, after the death of his said son, waged war 
against the English of Wexford and Leinster^ who were 
obliged to liberate the seyen hostages that were taken on the 
day Murtogh was slain, and to pay to Mao Murtogh eight 
hundred marks as an eric (fine) for the death of bis son.* 

In the Munster wars at the close of the reign of Queen 
Elizabeth, Donal O'Cayenagh, sumamed Spanagh^ as haying 
sojourned some time in Spain, became a distinguished leader 
of the Irishry ; he, howeyer, appears to haye afterwards made 
his terms with the Goyemment, and was entered 'on the 
cheque roll for a pension of ten shillings per day, till he recoyer 
his rights or be proyided for/ That pension he surrendered 
in 1615 on a grant of lands in the County of Wexford, and 
died himself in 1631. In 1611 and 1617 Donal, son of 
VOL. n. 2 o 

886 xiKa JAiCBsVi tsssa Axm list. 

Brian Cayenagh of ToomecoRy, and DawHn^ boh of Mnnrogk 
Caranagh of Ballygobbin, had grants of tbiioiis townkiidfl in 
the Coimtieft <^ Wexford and Carlow; the former died in 
1620, leaving Dowlin, hia eon and heir, then aged thirty-two 
and manied. 

At the head of die atldndere of 1691 Charles Caranagh, 
the aboTe Colonel, is described as of Carriek-Duff, County 
Carlow, Esq. The others dien outlawed of that surname were 
Ignatius and James Cavenagh of the same place; Seymour 
of Seskin, Marcus of BaUinrush« Morgan of Burros, and 
GrarretofCowlagh in said County; Thomas of Kilkenny and 
Edward of Ballinastro; William and Denis of Ballynabohy, 
Darby of Kilkennan, Edward of Ballyfipay, Thomas of Ennis- 
eorthy, Brian of Ponkmenlty, Morris of Ballelingham, 
Morgan, son of Art of Coolbaok, Garret of Ballynakilty, 
Andrew of Ballynaoooly, Edmund of Ballinshea, Eneas of 
liimbriok, ao4 M(»rgan ci Ballynasollagh, all in the County 
of Wexford. One of these, ^Qarret,' was a Quarter-Master in 
Tyrconnel's Horse, 



This post does not appear filled upon the present Army List, 
but having been subsequ^itly so appointed, as shown in 
Appendix to King's Staie of the PraUatanU^ it is here 

This great mune occurs in the first Boll of the Patents of 
Ireland, the King thereby granting to Hugh de Lacy tiie 
whole Province of Meath, theretofore the mensal estate of 
the native Monarohs of Ireland; to bold the same with as 

catsnac^h's infaktbt. 887 

full and ample powers as Hugh O'Melaghlin, then yet styled 
King of Meath, had held the same, and this oonveyance is 
especially witnessed amongst others by Earl Strongbow, 
whose recognition, as husband of the heiress of King Dermott 
Mac Murrongh, Henry was perhaps then not unwilling in 
policy to obtain.* De Lacy in this grant had the powers 
of a Lord Palatine oonfened upon him, and early after he 
sought to arrange a peaoeM treaty with Boderic O'Conor, 
the King of Lreland, as acknowledged by the natives. They 
met on the banks of the Shannon, but De Lacy's terms were 
then considered too severe to be accepted by Boderic. The 
former, however, received his daughter in marriage as his 
second wife, whereby he incurred the Boyal jealousy, and 
was recalled fix>m the Viceroyalty which he then filled. His 
powers as a Palatine extended to the erection of boroughs, 
one of which, on the northern border of the Pale, was 
Drogheda; and he yet n^ore practically endeavoured to secure 
the English interest, and to extend the circuit of that Pale, 
by fortifying castles in advance into the island. The Four 
Masters jealously say of his government, that **he confis- 
cated and transferred many churches to the English Lords 
in Meath, Bre&ey, and Oriel, and to him the rents of Con- 
naught were paid.** He was assassinated in 1186, while 
inspecting a castle which had just been erected by his order 
at Durrow, in the King's County, His sons were Hugh and 
Walter ; the former, after sharp contests with De Conrcy, 
became Lord of Ulster; and dying in 1241, his daughter 
and heiress married William de Burgo, who died in 1244. 
Their daughter and heiress married Lionel, Duke of Cla** 
rence, third son of Eang Edward the Third, and she was 

^jyAJtaiC$ DroghedOy r. 3, p. 40. 


grandmother of Edward the Fourth, in whose right the title 
and estates vested in the Crown. To the fiiilure of the De 
Lacjs' issue male, Baron Finglas in his Breviate mainly 
attributes the origin of absenteeism in this country ; and it is 
a remarkable ooncurrenoe in the destinies of Ireland, that the 
male line of Earl Strongbow also ^ed, and simihir marriages 
of his female issue into English families, scattered his im« 
mense territory amongst powerful but ever absent proprietors. 
In 1314 Walter and another Hugh de Lacy were of the 
Irish Magnates who attend^ King Edward on his expedition 
against Scotland. They appear to have descended from 
Hugh de Lacy's second xparriage with the daughter of 
Boderic O'Conor. 

In 1580 Hugh Lacy* the Roman Catholic Bishop of 
Jjimerick, suffered death for his fidth. In some few years 
after, in Mountjoy's engagement against the Earl of Tyrone, 
fell Pierce Lacy of Bruff, County of Limerick, ^' a zealous 
Catholic, and one of the most alert of the l^unster Chief- 
tarns.''* In 1604 and 1608 King James the First granted to 
his favourite, Sir James Fulleirton, the castle and lands of 
Bruff in Lim^ck (inier alia)^ as '^ late in the tenure of 
Piers Lacie attainted, with 9II other his estate belonging to 
him at the time of his death ii^ rebellion; in 1614* however 
that Monarph granted to Hugh I,iacy the castle, manor and 
lands of Brury, with several townlands and appurtenances 
in the said County. The name does not appear on the 
Attainders of 1642, although there were at that time three 
branches of the fiunily settled in the County of Limerick 
alone, at Bruree, Bruff, and BaUingarry.f Lieutenant-Colonel 
Lacy was however espedally excepted from the benefit of 

* Stuarti Armagh^ p. 296. f FerrorU lAmendc^ p. 346. 


the articles, entered into on the Capitulation of Limerick in 
1651. In 1668 Walter Laoy passed patent for 168 acres in 
Westmeath, as did, in the following year, Nathaniel, son 
and heir of Nathaniel Lacy of London, deceased, and Elizabeth 
his relict and executrix, for 480 in Tipperary. 

The John Lacy here commissioned was of the House 
of Bmff, and the only indiyidual of the name who attended 
the Supreme Council of Kilkenny in 1647; he was placed 
in the rank of Colonel on the Restoration; and, on the 
raising of the army for King James, was appointed 
Lieutenant-Colonel in this Regiment. He resided at Kil* 
mallock, and was Deputy Governor of Limerick under 
Lord Blessington in 1685-^6; at which time the Viceroy 
the Earl of Clarendon, wrote of him to tiie Earl of Sun- 
derland : — ^^ Here is a Colonel Lacy, an old Cavalier, who 
hopes the King will, when he has an opportu!!Qity, put him 
into employment. I am sure he deserves it* He was an 
officer in the time of King Charles the Firsts and I believe 
His Majesty remembers him with himself in France and 
Flanders, where he served very bravely; This poor gentle- 
man was settled here in a very comfortable way, when, in 
Oates' 'reign,* he i^as sent into England, and kept prisoner 
in the Gatehouse about two years, besides other severities 
both to his person and his estatCi I take the liberty to 
recommend his enclosed petition to your Lordship.'** Cla- 
rendon at the same time wrote a special letter in Lacy's 
favour to the King, gracefully adding, " I beg your Majesty's 
pardon for saying thus much in a particular man's case, 
which I will never do, but when the person's eminent loyalty 
and services will justify me."t Subsequently, alluding to 

* Smget^B Correqxmdence of Clarendon^ v. 1, p. 807. fldem, p. 208. 

390 KING JAXKS's nam abkt list. 

growing appiehenaons thai a restoration of tfacir knids woold 
be songfat by many finmn the new EjDg, and that 00016, wbo 
had been made officen, enoooiaged the appfehenion, the 
Viceroy says, '^ all this woold be very easily remedied, and 
the King have all done he has mind to, if men would be 
discreet in their states as sevend are; amongst whom ooght 
to be xememberod Sir John Fitzgerald, both the Dempeeys, 
C(donel ^leUon, Lacy^ and many more who have moulded 
their troops and companies to their mind^ jrithout the 
least dissBtisfiiction to any one. They are beloved in their 
quarters, they cherish and comfort the people, and ponidi 
those who talk impertinently^ But there are likewise several 
of whom I cannot give so good characters; and those who 
ought to reprove them for indiscretion wiU only say, * Alas ! 
poor man, he has lost his estate; you must give him leave 
to talk/ I have taken the liberty to entertain your Lordship 
with tiiese stories, that you may see something of the temper 
i}ii persons as well as things ; and to show yoo that it is not 
so much the King's emplojring Roman Catholics in lus army 
which disquiets men, as that tiiere are such from whom, by 
their own words and actions, they fear to be oppressed instead 
of braig protected. Believe it, my Lord, when it is known 
what the King would havci and which, with submission Qn 
some cases) ou^it to be known but to a few, it may be 
easily done to general aatisfiiction; for I must needs say, 
never were people in the world more disposed to obedience, 
and to betake themselves to their industry, than the generality 
of people here, if they are let akme/** Li 1689 this Colonel 
John Lacy was one of the Representatives of Kilmallock in 
the Parliament of Dublin. At the second siege of Limerick, 

* SmgtrU dmrupondenee of Lord Clarendon^ v« 1, p. 456. 


irhcn the WiUiamiteB had succeeded in thSrowing a bridg» 
oYer the Shannon at Thomond Gkite, (aa before mention^i 
p. 76,) Colonel Lacy, with 800 picked men, was ordered out 
to contest their adranoe, which he did With great Talour 
and good suooess for a time, till, orerpower^ by It Continual 
supply of firesh opponents, he was forced to give way and 
retire to the gate ; which the Mayor of the City, howereTi 
apprdiending the English might enter with th^n, inipru- 
dently. dosed, whereby the greater number of Lacy's gaUailt 
band Was out down< 

The subsequent Attainders of 1691 include the ilaines c^ 
this Colonel, styled " of Eilmallock ;*' Simon Lacy o£ F^rns^ 
County of Weatftxtd; and Thomas and Walter Lacy of 
Balrath, County of Westmeath. This Thomas Lacy foi*' 
feited also largely in the Barony and County of Bosoommon. 
At the Court held in Chichester House^ Patrick Ltoy 
preferred his daim therein, as second son of Thomas Ijacy 
the elder, as well as on behalf of Thomas Lacy the younger, 
Bartholomew, Francis, and Mark Lacyi younger sons of said 
Thomas the elder, all of whom, it was alleged, were entitled 
to estates tafl in these confiscations, u^er family settlements 
of 1674, confirmed by the will of the okitnant's grandfiither^ 
Walter Lacy in 1685^ The petition was however <]Usmi8t, 
as was another of Edwaid Lacy for a distinct itotate tail in 
the Boscommon land of said Thomas Lacy the elder; and 
the greater portion of his estate wils sold in 1703 by the 
Commissioners to Samuel Massy of Dublin, M.D. 

A Lacy was a Lieutenant in Sir John Fitigerald's 

Infimtry, and Various gallant officers of the name appear on 
the records of continental tnilitary achievement, the career of 
one of whmn connects with the recent contest in the Crimea, 
the Count Peter de Lacy* He was bom in the County 


of Limerick in 1678; his fiitlier bftving been Peter, son of 

John Lacy of Ballingany. On the aq>ito]ation of Limmcic 

he was bionglit off by bis ande. Brigadier and Quarter^ 

master General James de Lacyi with the skeleton of the 

Prince of Wales's Begunent of Infimtiy. Young Peter was 

at once enndled in that, styled of Athlone, manshed with it to 

Piedmont in 1692, joined Cadnat in May, 1693, and in the 

October of that year, was at the bottle of the *Val de 

Marseilles,* in which his nncle receiyed a mortal wound. He 

afterwards served on the Rhine, until, his Begiment having 

been disbanded at the peace of Byswick, this young oflBcer 

volunteered in the Polish service under Marshal Due de Cioy , 

in the rank of Lieutenant. The Due presented him to Peter 

the Great, who was then in alliance with Poland, and the 

Czar took him into his own service, in which he obtained a 

majoriiy in 1705, and a Lieutenant-Colonelcy in the following 

year. In 1708 he was promoted to the command of the 

Siberian Begiment of Lifiintry, and joined the Griand Army. 

On the first of January, 1709, he commanded the right wing 

and acted as a Brigadier at the great Battle of Pultowa, 

where he was wounded. In 1710 he distinguished himsdf 

in the attack on Biga^ and in the following year was made 

Mtgor^Genend, and after a long and active military life, he 

waS) in 1737, appointed to command an ei:pedition into the 

Crimea. Crossing an arm of the sea (he writes) near Arahat^ 

we marched and took Perekop^ and blew up the fortiJicaHone. 

He died in Livonia in 1751, Grovemor of that Province. This | 

was the general who, according to Ferrar,* *^ taught Hie 

Sueaiane to beat the army of the King of Sweden^ and to 

become from the worst some of the best soldiers of Europe* 

* History qf Limerick^ p. 347. 


Before the battle of Pultowa he adyised the Czar to send 
orders that every soldier should reserve his fire until he came 
within a few yards of the enemy ; in consequence of which 
Charles the Twelfth was there totally defisated, losing in that 
single action the advantages of nine campaigns of glory, and 
narrowly escaping being taken prisoner." 

A son of this Count Peter was Joseph-Francis-Maurice, 
Count de Lacy, bom in 1725 at St. Petersburgh, and 
educated at Vienna. He made his first campaign in the 
Austrian army in Italy during the year 1744, where he had 
three hoi^ses shot under him at the battle of Velletri« At the 
siege of Maestricht in 1748, he received the rank of ColoileL 
He distinguished himself against Prusda in the seven years^ 
war ; in 1762 received the baton of Marshal from the 
Emperor's emu hand, and in the same year served with Con- 
siderable eclat in the war between Austria and Prussia. In 
1801 he died at Vienna, where the Emperor Joseph the 
Second) to whom he left all his property, caused a bust to be 
erected to his memory in the hall of the Chancery of the 
Council of War. Of this latter individual Wiuxall writes* 
in 1778, '* Marshal Lacy is now approaching his sixtieth year; 
when young, he must have been very handsome. Though he 
has been six times wounded by musket balls, he enjoys perfect 
health, and preserves a youthftd appearance. He was bom in 
Buseoa, son of the fiunous Marshal Lacy, who in conjunction 
with Munich commanded the Muscovite armies against the 
Turks, and obtained so many victories over them in the last 
years of the Empress Anne^ It was in that great school he 
learned the art of war. I have heard him say that his fitther 
sent him to study at Legnitz in Silesia, and afterwards at 

* Memoirs o/the Court o/BirHn^ yoL 1, p. 178. 

894 KIK6 JA]fX8*8 UtSH ASMT LIST. 

ViemuL In 1740, about the time ot Mem Thcreee's 
eooeMon, he entefed the Auetrian eenioe es an Ensgn in the 
Begiment of Count (afterwaida Ifanhal) Brown, who waa 
killed at die batde <^ Pngne. Having distii^^iiiflhed himadf 
hj a thonaUnd acts of penonal oooiage, actiTitj, and abifityi 
he rose so lapdly that at the oonunenoement of the war of 
1756 he waa abeady a C<dond« and aoon became a Mqor- 

Another Grenenil Manrice de Lacy, bom in Limeriok in 
1740, was invited to Bnssia hy his lehtiTe, the aibrMaid 
Mainhal Peter, and entered that service when but ten yean 
old. He served under S u w a rrorw in the Italian campaign 6f 
1799, in campaigns against the Turks, and also in the Crimea. 
He died in 1820, unmarried^ — >-Of Lacys in Spain, Francis 
Anthony Lacy, Count de Lacy, was a £unous Geneial and 
Diplomatist; bom in 1731, oommenoed his military csieer as 
an Ensign in the Irish Infimtty Regiment of Ultonia; was 
rmsed to be a Colonel in 1762, and a Commander of Artillery 
in 1780, when he was employed at the oelebrated siege of 
Gibraltar. After the peace of Utrecht in 1783, he Was cott- 
stituted Mimster Plenipotentiaiy in Sweden and Bussia, and 
died at Barcelona in 1792. He had married a dau^ter of the 
Marquis d' Abbeville, by whom he left a son, Captain*6enend 
of Artillery to his Most Cathcdic Majesty; and a daughter, 
who married '* the Marquis of Canada, originally Irish, of the 
ancient family of Terry i"" [In the Spanish service at the time 
of the war against Napoleon the First, Don Luis Lacy Was a 
very distinguished officer and Governor of Catalonia.] 



This name is of Norman extnction, ' Esmon' and * Sieur 
Eemon* appearing on sundry early records. In Weicford, 
more especiaUy^ it is traceable from the time of Edward the 
First, who, in 1303, projecting his invasion of Scotland, com* 
missioned Henry 'Estorand/ who then held the house of 
Knights Templars at Eilbarry, to provide ships in the 
harbour of Wexford and in the adjouung havens, to be in 
readiness to pass over thence in the service of that campaign* 
In 1349 John Esmonde was consecrated Bishop of Ferns, from 
which see he was ati^erwards translated to Emly. In 1371 
Thomas Estmonde was Constable of Wexford Castle ; and in 
1405 John Esmond, styled of London, was goldsmith and 
jeweller to King Henry the Fourth. 

About the year 1569 John Esmonde, the founder of the 
existing line of Baronets, and then head of this family, was 
settled at Johnstown in the County of Wexford, a property 
which by forfeiture and alienation passed to the family of 
Grogan ; but has since by nuurriage reverted to the present 
representative of the old proprietary-^Sir Thomas Esmonde. 
In the time of Queen Elizabeth flourished Laurence Esmonde, 
great grandson of the above John of 1569, of whom and 
his family, a Brief Description of the Barony of Forthj 
written in 1684 for Sir William Petty, and now or lately in 
the possession of Sir Thomas Phiffips of Middlehill, makes 
especial mention, as that he *^ during his minority continued a 
' martialist,' in the Low Countries of Germany, the fiunous 
academy of military discipline and good literature, the only 
theatre of warlike stratagems and heroic exploits, wherein he 


became an excellent proficient/' &c. He was afterwards 
employed by Queen Elizabeth in Holland, and in Ireland in 
the wars of the Pale; was knighted by Sir Heniy Sidney in 
1603 ; had a grant to him and his then wife Ellen Butler, the 

grand-daughter of the Earl of Ormonde^ and widow of 

Sherlock, of various rectories and titiies in the Counties of 
Tippeiary, Kilkenny, and Cork; a further grant in 1611 of 
lands and rights of patronage in Wlcklow and Wexford; and 
in 1617 he passed patent for the lands of Lemenagh, other* 
wise Limberick, with other hinds, mountains, rights of fisheiy, 
&c, in the latter county, the premises to be treated the manor 
of Esmonde, with courts leet and baron, markets, and fairs* 
Serving in Connaught, he afterwards so distinguished himself 
by zeal and activity, that in 1622 he was raised to the Peerage 
as Lord Esmonde, Baron of Limberick,* County of Wexford. 
He had, in early life, married a Catholic lady of the name of 
O'Fflahertie, by whom he had a son Thomas ; but on the 
suggestion that this marriage was ill^al, he having been a 
conformist, Lord Esmonde, without taking any legal steps to 
annul it, took to his second wife the beforementioned Ellen 
Butler, by whom, however^ he had no issue. 

Lord Esmonde sat in the Lrish Parliament of 1634 as a 
Peer, and was one of the nobles who attended the unfortunate 
Lord Strafford in the memorable procession to St. Patrick's 
Cathedral, being of the Privy Council of Ireland. During 
the ensuing civil war, the custody of the fort of Duncannon 
was entrusted to him, then ' an old but e^tperienced officer** 
He was compelled, however, to surrender it in March, 1644, 
to Gkneral Preston, upon obtaining quarter and sufferance for 

.1 I 11 — — - — "■"■^ — — - — — - I 

* This title was afterwards, with the Earldom of Gasdemain, oonftrred 
by Charles IL upon Boger Pahner, husband of a Kojal fiiToorite* 

cayenaqh's intantrt- 397 

life and goods. The disaster, however, so sorely affected him 
that he died, 'worn out with age* and vezation, within a 
short time after; having, by a will executed immediately 
previously, directed his interment ' in the chapel he had 
built at Limbericke,' and bequeathed all his estates, upwards 
of seventy townlands, with advowsons, manors, rectories, and 
fisheries (after some prior limitations), to Laurence, the eldest 
bom of the aforesaid Thomas, in tail-male. This Thomas 
had been created a Baronet in 1628, during his Other's 
life, and under the domestic circunistances alluded to, and 
the troubles of the period, he never claimed the Baronage on 
his father's death. He attended the Council of Kilkenny in 
1646, when the Nuncio advised that in all military affairs 
within their cognizance, Sir Thomas Esmonde should be 
taken into consultation. Jle was consequently, by Crom^ 
well's Act of 1652, excepted from pardon for life and estate. 
The Act of Settlement, however, directed that he should 
be restored to his prindpal seat and 2,000 acres of land, 
exclusive of those portions of the family estates then in 
the possession of the Duke of Albemarle or his tenants. 
Many subsequent confirmatory patents, from Charles the 
Second to men of the 'new interest' in Wexford contains 
savings of the rights of Sir Thomas, as also of Laurence his 
son, afterwards the second Baronet, who in 1687 was Sheriff 
for the County of Carlow ; in the year after which he died. 

The Outlawries of 1791 comprise Thomas Esmonde of 
Wexford, William of Johnstown, and John of Ferrybank, 
all in that County. This John appears identical with John 
who aftervrards succeeded as the fourth in the line of the 
Baronets, and with an individual of the same name who, 
afler the Bevolution, passed over to the Continent, and 
served in the Spanish Army as Captain of a Begiment of 



Dngoons, under the Manhal Duke of Berwick. Two con* 
Menikl and ftmiBar fetters, from die son of this illostrioiis 
coauiMuider to Captain John Eanonde, haye been shown to 
the ccmijMler of this work. The first of 6th Novembery 1733, 
Irom Baroel<MDa c^wns, ** A commisaon, dear Jack, has been 
given me, which obliges me to go off to-morrow morning, 
and I can assore yon I am very sorry to part yoa withoot 
sedng yon; bat since it cannot be, I will tell yon at least 
in this letter what yon are to do.** (The writer dien gives 
directions as to the ronte, for the march of Horse and Dragoons 
dux>agh France to the seat of war) ** When yon come near 
Avignon, yon can take a trip thence to see the Duke of 
Ormonde, and if yon find there a cook, that peihaps will be 
sent ftom Paris for me to the Duke of Ormonde, yon will 
take him along with yon. ... I am persnaded yon will 
take eara the horse shonld be embarked in good ships, and 
yon may be sore that Marvillao, Maredo, Ac., as also 
Mahony, will render yoa all the services that depend on 
them. ... I believe that, when yoa have once passed 
the Bhone, it will not be amiss that yoa should march cm 
before with the horse and mules, to the plaoe where yon 
are to embark, that you may rest them for some days befixre 
embarking; bat inform before^hand whether you aie to go off 
from Antibe or Toulon, for it is not as yet well resdved 
upon. Ac., &c. . • Most fkithfnlly yours, Laria.'* — The 
letter, so signed while his fi^ther lived, is contrasted with his 
signature to the second, of the 20th February, 1736, when, 
the old Duke having died he ngns, ^ Berwick.* It is wiittoi 
from Naples: *'My health, God be praised, is very good, 
and I want nothing but fair weather to * make* a little 
exerttse; great talk of peace, and if so, we shall soon return 
home.** . . . This Duke died at Naples in 1738, leaving 


issue as mentioned, ante p. 30. His correspondent, Captain 
John Esmonde, had long previously entered the Spanish 
service as a Cadet, was on oonunission in 1719t and raised to 
a Captaincy in 1734. After the death of the third Baronet, 
he sought, in 1739, a passport to his native country, ' to take 
care of his private concerns,* which was gmnted under the 
official seal on the 28th of May in that year. Accordingly, 
his claim having been allowed, he died the fourth Baronet 
in 1758, as recorded in Burke's Baronetage. Sir Walter, 
the brother and successor of Sir John, closed the elder line of 
this Baronetcy, he leaving no n^e issue. His daughter and 
sole heiress married Staniskus Maximiliaa James Mc Mahon, 
of the County of Clare, by whom she had issue a son and a 
daughter; but the Baronetcy passed to the h^ male of the 
second son of the first Baronet, viz., James Esmond of 
BaUynestra, and is now boroe by his son and heix« Sir 
Thomas Esmonde, a Deputy I^ieutenaat and Privy CounciUor. 
Patrick Chevalier d'Esmonde, a Colonel in the Austrian 
service, was during a considerable time a captive in Turkey: 
he left an only daughter ai^d hdvess, who manied Charles 
Count Kavanagh (of the fiuoily of Borris), a General of 
Cavalry in the Imperial Army.* 



This officer does not appear upon the present Army Lbt, 
although his commistton bears date on the 1st of December, 
1S88. He was of a fiimily long previously settled at Corduff, 
before alluded to, ante^ p. 84, &c, 

* Burke*» Peerage and Baronetage^ p. 97B. 



Hb is described in his Attainder of 1696; as of Newtown, 
County Wexford. 

» * KM 


The O'Kinsellaghs were a numerous and territorial Sept 
in the Counties of Carlow and Wexford; Ortelius^s Map 
espedally locates them over the northern part of the latter 
County. When, after the English Inra^on, Henry ike 
Second made a political sojourn at Drogheda, he there, as 
recorded by Sir John Davis, reoeiyed the subnussion of 
several native Chiefs, and amongst them of the Chief of the 
Kinsekghs. In 1357 John 'KenseUgh* was appointed 
Receiver of a subsidy charged on tiie County of Kildare; 
while, in the assignment of the dower of the widow of David 
Wogan, Knight, over a large tract of that County in 1420 
Nicholas Kinselagh is set down as one of the tenants. When 
Richard the Second made his second rash visit to this country 
it is especially recorded that he marched through the country 
of the Kinselaghs, &c., 'then waste.' The only individual 
of the name attainted in 1642, was Dermott Kinselagh of 
Ballaghmone, County of Kildare. Eneas ' Eansly ' of Bally* 
nacargy was a member of the Supreme Council at Kilkenny 
in 1646 ; while the above officer is described in the Inqtii- 
sition taken on his Attainder, as of Ferns in the County of 
Wexford; at which place a Turlo^ Kinsellagh was then 


also outlawed, with Arthur Kinsellagh of Ballyduff in the 
same County. One of this name ws^ an Ensign in Colonel 
Art Mac Mahon's Infiiatry, 

■ ■ 9 


This officer is desoribed, in the Inquisition on his outlawry, 
as of Clonegal, in the County of Carlow. 

■■ ■ !■ 


In 1611 Sir Edward Fisher, Knight, had grants of various 
rectories, castles, mills, fisheries, lands, (Sx^., in the Counties 
of Louth, DubUH) l^dare, Clare, Cork, Limerick, Tipperary, 
Mayo, Meath, Kerry, and Desmond; as had Maudlii^, widow 
of Edward Fisher of Cradockstown in Kildare, of 878 acres 
in Kilkenny in 1668; and, in the following year, Henry 

Fisher passed patent for 487 in Meath. The Roll of 

Adjudications for the *■ 1649* officers has upon it the names 
of Captain Henry and Lieutenant Richard Fisher. Nothing 
however has been ascertained worthy of uolice respecting the 
officer here in. commission, 

VOL. II. 2 D 




[ DeBariT. 


EdwBid Fits-Gcnld. 

Gttvrtt Gongh. 

Jolui Iittnbflrt- 
Edwird Manderilb. 


■KM ■■■■■! AQOIQ. 

Rkteid AnUttdL 

■ TobiiL 





Edmand Bimj. 
John FHs Mrariot. 

BcT. F•IlM^ Clqpfawi. 

bxttiiEk's jnfantrt. 403 


Of this noble iamilj and Colonel, see ante, at Lord Gralmoy^s 


This officer is inserted in tHe Army List, on tHe authority 
of tHe Appendix to King's State of the Protestants, The 
Lieutenaot-Colonel in the British Museum List is Wat- 


This name does not appear on the Attainders. The 

custody of sundry premises in Meath -wss committed by 
Henry the Fifth to John Price in 1420. In 1660 Thomas 
Price, a native of Wales, but educated in Dublin, succeeded 
to the See of Elildaie ; he was translated to Cashel in 1667. 
In 1660 another native of Wales, Robert Price, who was 
also educated in Dublin, was appointed Bishop of Ferns; 
while Arthur Price, an ' alumnus * of Dublin College, was in 
1729 translated from the see of Clonfert to that of Leighlin 
and Ferns, and in 1733 was elevated to Meath. An Ensign 
Edward Price appears on the Roll of the ' 1649 ' officers. 

404. KING James's ibish asmt list. 


A FAMILY of this name was then and previously located 
in the County of Wicklow, and is to be distinguished from 
the Keoghs or Mac Keoghs of Connaught, although those of 
Wicklow were sometimes spelt alike. In 1534, say the 
Masters, * Maolmuire Mac Keogh, the presumptive chief 
professor of poetry in Leinster, a man of learning and of 
extensive knowledge in poetry, and who kept a good house 
of hospitality, was accidentally killed by his mother's brethren, 
the sons of O'Toole ;' while other native annalists make 
mention of many Mac Keoghs, as then Bards of the O^Bymes. 
Accordingly of the attainted in 1642 are recorded Thomas 
Mac Maolmuire M'Kehoe, and William McShane McFarrel 
McKehoe of Knockandarragh, County of Wicklow ; while 
there were outlawed in 1691 John ^Keagho' of Ballymu- 
raroe, in the same county, and Humphrey ' Keagho ' of 
Ballybeddin, in the adjoining County of „ Wexford. More 

in conformity with the latter orthography was Keoghoe, 

an Ensign in Sir Maurice Eustace's Infantry. 


This name is of record in Ireland from the time of Edward 
the Second; in that of Henry the Sixth, John ' Goghe' was 
a Justice in eyre. In 1601 Edmund Gough was knighted by 
the President of Munster, Lord Carew, for his services in 

^gmmmmmtmmm^^mm^^^^B^^gm^^ia^m^^^^'m^^p^ «' -^ ■ u- 

butleb's infantry. 405 

that province, and especially at the battle of Eansale. In 
1626 Dr. Francis Gough succeeded to the see of Limerick. 
The Attainders of 1642 record the names of William Gough 
of BaUycommon, County of Wicklow, and Patrick Gough of 
Arklow. At the Kilkenny Assembly in 1646, Patrick Gough 
of Kilmanahan was one of the Commons. In King James's 
Parliament of Dublin (1689) Edward Gough sat as one of 
the Representatives of Youghal. 

The above officer is described on the Attainder of 1691, 
as Grarrett ^Goff' of Kilmanahan, County of Waterford; a 
son or i^tive, it would seem, of the Patrick who sat in the 
Council of Kilkenny. With him were then outlawed Ed* 
ward * Goff,' merchant of Cork, and Edward ' Goff * of 
Youghal, Aldermani Ignatius Gough also was a forfeiting 
proprietor in Dublin, as was Patt Gough in the County of 


So early as in the reign of Richard the Second, the name of 
^ Angetale* is of Irish record. In the time of the Protect 
torate, 2,755 acres of land in Connanght were assigned by 
the Commissioners at Loughrea to John AnkiteU,* and in 
1667 a Matthew Ankitell had a grant, confirmatory of a 
Cromwellian certificate, of upwards of 6,000 acres in 
Monaghan and Fermanagh; he afterwards fell in Ulster, 
in 1689, fighting for King WiUiam. Matthew's lineal heir 
male, William of Ankitell Grove, was lately a Deputy Lieu- 

♦ Lodge's Peerage^ voL 2, p. 197. 


tenant of Monaglian. The officer here introdiiced appears to 
have been of BallinakiU, in the Queen*6 County, off which a 
John Anldttd had liveiy on coming of age in 1640. 


The Sept of O'Shee chdms descent from Conaire^ who was 
Eing of Irehmd for seven years of the second century. In 
the course of time it divided itself into two branches, one of 
Tipperary, the other of Ealkenny: and these became agun 
subdivided into several collateral branches, Tipperary being 
always, (says an old manuscript genealogy), the ' primordial 
radix/ This document professes to give the liiiiSage of the 
Shoes of the Nore within Ejlkenny through forty genra»tions 
from Sheagha, who gave name to the fiunily, down to John- 
Joseph, son of Edmund O'Shea by EUen Meagher of 

In 1608, on an inquiry as to the limits of the Borough of 
Callan in Ejlkenny, Sir Bichard * Sh^,* Knight, claimed ' an 
easement for horses and carriages, &c., to ihe market of 
Kilkenny, in right of himself and others, whose estate he hath 
from Bonestown in the county unto the town of Kilkenny, 
and the parish church of 'St. Kenyes^* which way or easement 
the said Sir Bichard saith that he still enjoys.* This Knight 
died at Bonestown in the August of that year; when, on 
inquisition^ he was found to have been seised of very extensive 
possessions in said County. He left issue Luke of Kilkenny, 
his eldest son^ who had livery of his said father's estates in 
1609 ; and Thomas, his second son, sometime Mayor of 
Kilkenny. This latter married Ellen, daughter of Nicholas 
Bobin of Waterford, by whom he had no issue, and, dying in 

butleb's infantry 407 

1636, was buried in St. Mary's Church, Kilkenny. Luke, 
the eldest son of Sir Richard, married Ellen, daughter of 
Edmund, Viscount Mountgarrat; by whom he had, besides 
seven daughters, two sons, 1. Robert, who married Margaret, 
daughter and co-heitess of Richard Masterson of Ferns, 
County of Weiford, Knight \ 2. Edmund, who married 
Dorothea, daughter of Nicholas Dormer of Boss, County of 

At the Supreme Council of Ejlkenny, Edward and Robert, 
sons of William Shoe of that City, sat as members. The 
Declaration of Royal Gratitude^ in the Act of Settlement 
(1662), includes Ensign George Shee of Kilkenny. In 1667 
Marcus and Richard Shee had a confirmatory giant of 823 
acres in Edlkenny, as had Ridiard of 189 acres more there in 
1678 ; in which latter year John Shea had a similar patent 
for 587 acres in Gkdway, where Richard then acquired 207 
acres, with 877 in Clare; and in 1680 John Shea passed 
patent for 764 other acres in Gralway, and 804 in Mayo . - 

Besides the above officer, -< Shea was a Lieutenant in Sir 

John Fitzgerald's In&ntry , and James Shea a Quarter-Master 
in Lord Gkdmoy's Horsei The Attainders of 1691 include 
this Captain, described as Thomas, son of John Shea, 
merchant, with seven other cavaliers of the name, all of 
the City of Kilkenny, one of whom was a Lieutenant in 
Colonel Edward Butler's In&ntry. At the Court of Claims, 
John ' Shee,' Ellen Shee his sister, Francis Shee and Patrick 
Shee, for themselves, and as executors of William Shee, 
claimed and were allowed charges affecting the County of 
Kilkenny estates of James Shee ; while Henry Shee had a 
similar allowance of the benefit of several freehold interests 
thereout: Laurence Shee also daimed and was allowed a 
charge on Kilkenny lands of Samuel Shee* 




This name is of recotd in Ulster firom the time of John de 
Courcy's inyanon, when some of the fiunily followed his 
standard. In 1302 Thomas de Mandeville, * of Ireland,* had 
a treasury order for £566 ISs. 4d., for his expenses in men, 
arms, and horses, incurred in the King's first expedition to 
Scotland, and his and their expenses of passage. Philip de 
'Mandewelle* sued a possessory writ in 1309, and| in the 
following year, Thomas de Maundevill was empowered, with 
Richard de Burgo Earl of Ulster, to treat and parley with 
the Irish of Ulster; while said Philip^ with Peter, Thomas, 
and John, sons of Martin de Maundevill, were summoned to 
the Parliament of Ealkenny. In 1325 King Edward the 
Second granted to John de MandeyiUe, the ofiice of Sheriff 
of Down and Newtown during pleasure, with such fees as 
other Sheriffs of said Counties in times past used to receive. 
In 1333 William de Burgo, the third Earl of Ulster, was 
murdered by Robert, son of Richard Mandeville and his 
servant, near the fordsj as he was going to Camckfergus, 
being then aged only twenty-one years* In 1335 Henry de 
Mandeville had liberates for his services in Ulster against the 
Mac Cartan, as also for relieving Green-Castle when besieged. 
In two years after, however, one of this &mily, having 
invaded the Isle of Man, at the head of a party of Scots, and 
kept occupation thereof, a Royal mandate issued for sending 
soldiers over to recover same from him. When, in 1345, 
Walter de Bermingham was Lord Justice of Ireland, he was 
empowered to grant an amnesty and receive into peace as 

rw9mKii^''mm^fmrwT'^tm^^ I'm j j.i i u i 

butleb's infantry. 409 

well English as Irish ; the Earl of Desmond, however, 
Walter his son, Philip his nephew, and Walter de Maundevill, 
Knight, were excepted from this amnesty. In 1386 the 
King committed to William Constantjn the custody of two- 
thirds of the estates of Milo Maundevill of MaundeviUstown, 
in the County of Louth, during the minority of his heir, 
while Margaret, his widow, having married Richard Russell, 
sued out her claim on the remaining third. 

Nothing, however, has been ascertained worthy of notice 
respecting the above officers or their connections, nor do they 
appear on the Attainders. 


A Francis ' Tirney,' described as of Ghdway, merchant, 
alone appeard on the Attainders of 1691. 


In 1618 died Patrick ' Lamporte,' seised of Ballycrinigan and 
other lands in Wexford, John his son and heir being then 
aged forty and married ; this John died in 1638, leaving 
Patrick his son and heir, then aged twenty-six and unmarried. 
In 1624 died James Lamport, seised of the Castle of Bally- 
heire and sundiy lands in Werford; PhiUp, hia son and heir, 
being then aged fourteen years. This James was the head of 
the Lamberts of Carnagh in that County, who are now repre* 
sented by Henry Lambert, Esq«, a Deputy Lieutenant 


thereof, and for some time one of its Representatives in Par- 
liament. The officer here under consideration iras a grand- 
son of that James Lamport, who died in 1624. There were 
attainted in 1691, Peter ' Lamport' of Wexford, Nicholas 
Lamport of Camagh, and Peter of Ballyhew in the County 
of Wexford. A Charles Lambert of Aggard, County of 
Gralway, was also at this time a forfeiting proprietor; on 
whose estate John French and Jane his wife claimed and 
were allowed an estate for her life. 

« *i^. 


So early as in the reign of Edward the Third the name of 
' de Vale' is ijecorded, in the County of Carlow principally. 
An Edward Wall^ holding t^ous lands therein, was 
attainted in 1641. In the declaration of thanks' clause in 
1662, Ensign Piers Wall was included, ' for senices beyond 
the sea;' while Patrick Wall, described as son and hdr of 
Uhck deceased^ and grandson of the aforesaid Edward, had, 
in 1680, a confirmatory grant of 1,392 acres in Carlow, and 
288 in Kildare. In the time of Queen Elizabeth the name 
was influential in Waterford, and, in the reign of her 
successor, Grartet ' Wale' died seised of estates there, which 
only recentiy passed from his deseendantSi This Lieutenant 
Philip, as appears by the Inquisition for his attainder, was a 
merchant of Dro^eda« Six other Walls were outlawed at 
the same time, as of Dublin, Carlow, and Limerick Counties 
respectively ; while a Sichard Wall, who was an Ensign in 
Lord Louth's Infantry, does not appear on the proscription 
BolL The dhief Irish officer of this name on the continent 

BUTLEB'8 infantey. 411 

was Richard Wall of the Waterford line, who was the 
celebrated prime minister of Spain during the reign of 
Ferdinand the Sixth and Charles the Third. 


This name, corrupted from St. Aubyn, came from France 
to England with William the Conqueror, and is traceable in 
Ireland from the Anglo-Norman invasion: it was espedallj 
established in the Counties of Tipperary and Kilkenny. In 
1382 William, son of Thomas^ and Richard, son of David 
'Tobyn' were appointed guardians of the peace in the latter 
county ; and, in 1419, the King committed to John Tobyn, 
the offices of water-beilly, searcher and guardian of all the 
harbours and sea-ports on the coast of Cork. The Tobins of 
the Compsey on the borders of Kilkenny and Tipperary are 
characterbed by Clyn, in the fourteenth century, as a restless 
and turbulent clan, more dreaded by the English settlers than 
the aboriginal Irish. In 1556 Robert Tobin was port-reeve 
of Irishtown-Kilkenny ; as was Thomas Tobin in 1608 and 
Richard in 1649, while, in 1557, Francis Tobin died Mayor 
of Youghal. In 1615 Edmund, son of Walter Tobin of 
Keynaganach, in Tipperary^ surrendered to the Crown various 
lands in that county, with the object of obtaining a re-grant 
by what was represented as a more assured title. This 
Edmund married, in 1638, Margery, daughter of Edward 
Tobin of Elllaghy in Kilkenny. A manuscript book of obits 
in the collections of Trinity College, Dublin, (F iv. 18) 
supplies seven links of the Tobins of this Eallaghy line in 
the seventeenth century, at which time members of the fiunily 
were settled thereabout, at Bally-tobin, Leyrath, (&o. 


Edward Tobin was a lieatenant and another of the name 
Surgeon in Colonel Dudley BagMU'a Infantry; wlnle in 

Colonel Poroell's Horse, Tobin was a Captain, and 

another, Quarter-^Iaster in Colonel Hewaid Qxhm^h's R^- 
ment. In King James s Parliament of Dablin, James Tobin 
sat as one of the BepresentafiYes for the Borough of Fethard, 
Tipperary ; and the attunders of 1691 include with him 
Pierce of Jerpoint and James of Killalow, in Kilkenny. On 
the remodelling of King Jameses Irish forces in Bretagne, 
after the capitulation of Lamerick, James Tobin was appointed 
Major of Lord GKdmoy's B^iment of Horse. 


The O'Malones, a very andent Irish Sept, are oonsideiied to 
have been a branch of the O'Connors, Kings of Connaught; 
and are, on old topographical records, located in the Baronies 
of Brawney and Clonlonan, County of Westmeath. The 
Four Masters exhibit them in frequent succession as Abbots 
or Bishops of Clonmacnoise. On the Boll of Attainders of 
1642 stand the names of John Malone of Skerries, derk; 
Christopher of Drogheda, merchant; and William JVIalone of 
Lismullen, Esq. An ancient manuscript mentions those of 
the name that acted in that Civil War as, ^^ Young Edmund 
Malone, living near Athlone, *a notorious rebel;' James 
Malone of Ballinahone, Bory and Thomas Malone of the 
parish of Ejilbeggan, Morres Malone of the King's County, 
and the above William Malone of Lismullen." This latter 
was one of the influential proprietors who attended the cele- 
brated meeting of the Catholic party on the Hill of Crofly. 


In King James's Parliament of Dublin, Dermot Malone 
eat in the Peers by the title of Baron of Glenmaliere and 
Courchy ; while in the Commons, Edmund Malone of Bally- 
nahown, Esq., and Edmund Malone, barrister, represented 
the Barony of Athlone. This Edmund of Ballynahown was 
a Lieutenant in Colonel Kichard Grace's Regiment of Horse, 
(not included in this List); and John Malone of Cartrons 
was a Comet of Horse in the same service. Anthony Malone 
of Ballynahown was also a Lieutenant in this army. A 
Christopher Malone was at this time Surveyor-General in 
trust for Lady Tyrconnel and her daughter, wife to Colonel 

Dillon. The Malones attainted in 1691 were Edward of 

Lismullen, County of Meath ; Anthony of Ballynahown, John 
and Edmund of Cartrons, Hugh of Mullingar, Edward of 
Dublin, and Patrick and John of Dromore, County of Down. 
Edmund Malone, styled of ^Bathleigh,' subsequently obtained 
a pardon imder the Great Seal. Edmund, the barrister, was 
one of those who in 1703 appeared at the bar of the Lish 
House of Commons, together with Sir Theobald Butler and 
Sir Stephen Kice, to protest against the passing of the 'Act 
to prevent the further growth of Popery,' as subversive of 
the rights secured to themselves and their Roman Catholic 
countrymen by the Treaty of Limerick. — In the same year a 
ComSZ of the Irish House of Commons, having been 
appointed to inquire touching the printing and publishing of a 
seditious book, entitled the Memoirs of King James the Second^ 
they examined James Malone as the publisher, and John 
Brocas as the printer thereof; when they reported that the 
book contained an account of the transactions of the last twelve 
years of the life of James the Second, with the circumstances 
of his death ; that James Eustace of Yeandanstown had brought 
the manuscript over from England, and recommended Malone 


to publish it, which he did, and sold several copies. That he 

sent one dozen to Nihill of Limerick, merchant, another 

dozen to Nicholas, son of Ambrose Lynch of Gralway, mer- 
chant; that Sir Stephen Bice's son lately bought one: that 
Brocas printed 500 copies, of which only 30 or 40 remained. 
£u8taoe however, having been examined, denied the truth of 
MaIone*s evidence, as fiur as it sought to inculpate him; the 
House nevertheless resolved that the evidence was suffident 
against Eustace, Malone, and Brocas, The Attomey*6eneial 
was accordingly ordered to prosecute, and it was directed that 
the book should be burnt by ihe conmion hangman. 


Ai/THOUOH in latter years this name has been borne in 
England by an Archbishop of Canterbury, and in Ireland 
is of respectability in the counties of Mayo, SUgo, Tipperary, 
and Limerick, it yet does not appear on the Attainders of 
1641 or 1691; and is not otherwise associated with the 
present work than in the above Lieutenant, who, as the 
compiler has been informed, was the great grand&ther of the 
present Sei^eant John Howley. The name of * Thomas 
Howley,' however, does appear on the Roll of those, who 
fought to maintain the cause of King Charles in Ireland, until 
his decapitatioa 


The O'Cuiroes (Quirkes), or Mac Quirkes were an ancient 
Sept of Munster. In 1643 were attainted Teige Mae Quirke 

butleb's infantbt. 415 

of BaUjnnacquirke, County of Cork, with Donell and 
Cornelius, his sons. Amongst those thanked for ^services 
beyond the seas,' by the dauee in the Act of Settlement 
80 often alluded to, were Ensigns Fierce and William Quirke 
of the County of Tipperary. In 1686 Colonel John Bussell 
received an order from Tyreonnel to provide for sundry 
Officers who could not then be received into the respective 
Regiments of the army, in his (Colonel Bussell*s) Begimaxts, 
duty free, and to place them in their respective companies. 
One of the Officers nwied for this service waa Ensign 
* Mathew' Quirke * 

■ . . IF ■ ' 


NoTHnco has been ascertained of him or bis family. 


The name of De Bray occurs on the Boll of Battle Abbey, 
and is of record in Ireland from the time of King John. In 
1377 Stephen 'Braye* was one of those summoned to attend 
the Parliament of Castle-Dermot, as he was again to that 
of Dublin in 1381, and to another at Naas in the following 
year. He was subsequently constituted Chief Justice of the 
Common Pleas, and in 1420 had a gi^aut, according to the 
law of wardships, of the ' maritagium,' of Thomas, son and 
h^ of Thomas Maurewarde, Baron of Serine, in ten years 

* Singer*8 Correspondence of Lord Clarendon^ t. 1, p. 459. 


after lie had the custody of two thirds of the manor of Don- 

mow, daring a minority, soon after which he died. The 

Officer here under consideration appears to have been con- 
nected with a family of the name in Oxfordshire; firom 
which county Lord Abingdon wrote in June, 1685, to the 
Earl of Clarendon, *' I had forgot to tell your Lordship that 
Mr. Bray was the second gentleman in this county who offered 
his service to go a Tolunteer with me; which I take so kindly 
that, if your Lordship thinks fit and he behaves himself well, 
I will hereafter ^ve him some command in the Militia, 
wherein his father was Lieutenant^oloneL'^* The Diary 
of Clarendon in September, 1688, says, '* Sunday, Mr. Bray 
dined with me; he told me Lord Abingdon had agreed to 
set him up as one of the Knights for this County, for the 
Parliament which is to meet in November next-^^f A JVIr. 
John Bray was nominated by Eong James an Alderman in 
the new Charter of Clonmel; he afterwards represented that 
Borough in the Parliament of Dublin, and was attainted in 

'•• r - ■■ ■ ■ -■■I 

• Smger's Ccrre^pondenee^ v, 1, p. 13^. fl^l^"^ ▼• 2, p. 187. 





The ColoneL 

John. Bioiifli 
Lieutenant-Colonel . 

— Fitz-QenOd, 

— Staideton. 



-*— Nugent. 

I » Bourke* 
_ Fits-GeiakL 

■!■■■ Monee* 

» ■ - Cietf^ 
CSuulai MfCaitie. 



9 ' Stephenson. 

TT— 'Antinin.' 

. Gibbon. 

.^1 — LayaHin. 
— SaDivan. 
I ' . I ■ MjBginn. 
Keadagh Leaiy. 

M-- MacDonoogh, Smywi^ 



-------- ---r- 

I Tomge. 
^ — Conneil. 
^ — Laoj. 


- — -, 

I ■ Hefbert. 


Thomas Donovan. 






The annals and achieyements of this noble and liistoric name 

are emblazoned in the history not only of Ireland, but of 
every civilized oonntry of the world.* In the limited scope 
of memoir, that for such a fiunily coold be here allowable, it 
may be noted that, in the eentories within the scope of these 
lUustrations^ after the merdless extermination of the Monster 
war against the Earl of Desmond, while John Fit^Thomas 
Fit^-Gendd fled from Cork to Spun, as did James Fitz- 
Grerald from Kerry, Sir Edward Fitz-Grenild, E!night, had in 
1607 a grant of varions lands in the Counties of Meath and 
Westmeath, including the manors of Tecroghan and Eollard, 
the Monastery of Ballybogan, the Castie and To^ni of 
Kinnegad, with ft Court of pye poudre, &c. ; and about the 
same time Sir John, son of Edmund Fitz-Gendd of Cloyne, 
passed patent for more extensive possessions, manors, castles, 
rectories, tithes^ &c., in the Counties of Cork and Kerry. In 
1609 Sir Edmund Fitz»Gerald had a grant of various other 
estates in Cork and Limerick; and, in the same year, the 
King's letter imued to receive a surrender from Sir James 
Fitz-Gemid of his Castie and Town of BaUysonnaa, with all 
other the castles and lands whereof he and his ancestors had 
been seised, and thereupon to re-grant the same to him, as by 
a more assured title. In 1611 the above Sir Edmund had a 
further grant of lands in the Counties of Cork, Meath, West- 

^ See aCatlaghagCs Bngodet, yoL 1, p. 132, &c. 


meath, Kerry, Limerick, Galway, and King's County. His 
widow, the Lady Honora Fitz-Gerald, had in two years after, 
jointly with others, as trustees, the wardship of his son, 
described as * John, son and heir of Edmund, son of John 
Fitz-Gerald, Knight; who was the nephew and next heir of 
Sir John, son of Edmund Fitz-Gerald, late of Cloyne, 
deceased.' In 1613 the Lady Jane Fitz-Gerald, 'being one of 
the daughters of the Earl of Desmond attainted,' was placed 
upon the pension fist for £50 per annum ' to maintain her, till 
she was better provided for;' while her sisters, the Ladies 
Ellen and Elizabeth, had then similar aUowances. 

The Attainders of 1642 present no less than sixty Inquisi- 
tions on Fitz-Geralds ; those in Meath comprising Sir Luke 
Fitz-Gerald of Tecroghan, Richard of Kathrone, and four 
others ; those in Kildare, Pierce Fitz*Gerald of Ballysonnan, 
James of Timolin, Maurice of Allen, John, William, James, 

and Ofiver of Blackball, and forty-seven others^ In the 

Supreme Coundl at Kilkenny sat Christopher Fitz-Gerald of 
Coynelunan, Edmund of Ballymartyr, Edmund of Browns- 
ford, Gerald of Clon^ad, Gerald of Timogue, the aforesaid 
Luke of Tecroghan, Matthew of Gobinstown, the said 
Maurice of Allen, Nicholas of Marmayne, Thomas of Bin- 
neysford, and said Pierce of Ballysonnan^ Cromweirs Act 
* for settling Ireland ' excepted from pardon fbr life and estate 
said % Luke Fitz-Gerald of Tecroghan, Knight, and Pierse 
Fitz-Gerald of Ballysonnan, * commonly called Mao Thomas;* 
while, on the other hand, the Parliamentary thanks in the 
Act of Settlement were given to Mr, Edmund Fitz-Gerald 
and Colonel Bichard iltz-Gerald of Ballymaloe, to Ensign 
Morris Fitz-Gerald of Ballynamartery, County of Cork, and 
to Mr. George Fitz-Gerald of Teeroghan. In 1665 John 
Fitz-Grerald of Inismore, County Kerry, petitioned the Irish 

420 KING James's irish ahmy list. 

Parliament against a Bill tliat contained a clause, vesting his 
estate in the crown; whereas he, in the great national defec- 
tion, ever retained principles of allegiance and loyalty, and 
tenderness to the distressed English; and his ancestors, for 
many hundred years, conveyed uncomipted blood to the 
petitioner; and he prayed to be heard, by his Council, against 
the Bill, which liberty was granted accordingly. 

The George Fitz-Gkrald, so noticed on the Act of Settle- 
ment, was son of the said Sir Luke (by his wife, Maiy, 
daughter of Lord Netterville), grandson of Sir Edward, and 
lineal male descendant in the fifth generation from Thomas 
Fitz*Maurice Fitz-6erald, the seventh Earl of E^ildare, by 
his first wife, Dorothy, daughter of Anthony O'More, the 
Lord of Leix, whom he married before his succession to the 
Earldom. George died about the' year 1669, leaving Mary 
Fitz-Gerald his only child and heiress ; who, having inter- 
married with her cousin Henry Fitz-Gerald, the inheritor and 
representative of the Fitz-Geialds of Bathrone, and thus 
descended from a common ancestor with that of Tecroghan, 
thereby united these two ancient Houses. Accordingly, on 
the Attainders of 1691, this Henry is styled on one Inquisi- 
tion as of Tecroghan, on anotiier as of Bathrone. Their son 
and heir was Gerald Fitz-G^rald of Bathrone, who married, 
in 1720, Clare* only daughter of Sir John Bellew, Baronet; 
by whom he had issue Gerald Fitz-Gerald the younger, of 
Bathrone, who was Member of Parliament for Eildare in the 
year 1761, and for Harristown in 1768. He, the last heir 
male of Henry and Mary Fitz-G^rald, died unmarried in 
1775, and the representation descended through his duster 
Julia (who had in 1757 married John Daly of Dalybrook, 
Coxmty of Ealdare,) to her only married child and heiress, 
Bridget Fitz-G^rald Daly; and through her, on her mar- 


riage with William Kennej, Esq. of Eilclogher, County of 
Galway, and of Ballytarsney, County of Wexford, (lineal 
descendant of Nicholas Kenney, Esq., of Edermine Manor 
and Kenney's Hall, County Wexford, Escheator-General of 
all Ireland to Queen Elizabeth and James the First, who 
derived, from John de Kenne of Kenne, in Somersetshire, 
the arms still, worn by his descendants, as blazoned quarterly 
in his time, 1571, by Nicholas Narbon, Ulster King of Arms), 
the representation pasded to their eldest son, the late Lieu- 
tenant-Colonel James Fitz-Gerald Kenney, who, by his wife, 
the Honorable Jane Olivia Nugent, daughter of the late 
William Thomas, Lord Biverston, had (with others who 
died young) William Nugent Kenney, Captain in the 
xi*^ Regiment, who died unmarried ; James Christopher Fitz- 
Gerald Kenney, Esq., of* Kilclogher and Merrion Square, 
J. P., M.B.I.A. ; a third son, Nugent T* F* Kenney of Cor- 
rendoo, County of Galway, and a daughter, Julia-Mary 
Kenney^ James-Christopher is now, therefore, the repre- 
sentative and heir general of the families of Tecroghan and 

This name is most abundantly displayed over the present 
List, as in the Horse of Nicholas Purcell, Sir Neill O'Neill, 
Colonel Robert Clifford, Lord GhJmoy, and Sarsfield; in 
Lord Dongan's and Colonel Francis Carroll's Dragoons, in 
the King's Own Re^ment of Infantry, and in nine other 
Infantry Regiments. 

In the Parliament of 1689 Fitai-Gerald, Earl of Kildare, 
did not sit; but in the Commons Edward Fitz-Gerald was 
one of the Repre^ntatives of the Borough of Inistiogue, 

* The Pedigree of this family^ is ^ven in extenso^ with dates and autho- 
rities, in the elaborate work of Sir Bernard Bnrke, now in the course 
of publication. Authorized Arms, &&, part IIL 


William of that of Athy, a seoond Edwaid of Hanistown, 
Oliver of Lanesboroagh, James of Batoath, Nicholas of 
the City of Waterford ; while this officer, Sir John, and 
Gerald Fitz-Grerald, Esq., commonly called the Knight of 
Glyn, were Members for the Coonty of Umezick. This 
Parliament was convened in May, 1689 ; on the first of June 
following, says a Diary of the day,* '^th^re marched from 
Dublin Sir Michael Oreagh, the present Lord Mayor, with 
his Be^ment, Sir John Fita^-Gerald &om Bathcoole and 
Lucan, with his Regiment, and several others bom other 
parts, towards Trim, twenty miles from Dublin, the place 
appointed for the general rendezvous of the army that are 
sent against Enniskillen. Colonel Sarsfield firom Sligo is to 
join them, and so to march to Enniskillen to attack it, with a 
resolution to bear it down. All Sir Michael Creagh's Bcgi- 
ment was ndsed in Dublin^ Sir John Fitz-Gerald's firom 
Munster, and most that are gone down there are all raw 
fellows, not knowing how to fire a gun.*^ On the following 
25th of July, writes Mackenzie,t '* the enemy had several 
cows feeding behind their lines near us; our men resolved 
they would lay to get so welcome a prey into their own 
hands, and accordingly early this morning they go out, 
surprised Sir John Fitz-Gerald^s Begiment, who were in 
these lines, made havoc of them, beat them firom thdbr 
trenches, killed the Ideutenant-Colonel (then another Fitz- 
Gerald), and Captain Frank Wilson, and took Captain 
Nugent prisoner," but were driven back without obtaining 
their desired prey. During the ensuing oiege of Derry, a 
Captain Fit^Gerald was killed at Pennybum^-Mill,! as was 
another Captain at the Boyne.§ 

* Somen'M StaU TracU, vol 11, p. 429, f Siege of Derry, p. 45. 1 1^ P- ^* 

§ Qarke'M Mem. Jwnee JZ, t. 2, p. 399. 


The C<^nel at present under oonsideration ** had suffered 
under the mi^nations of the Whigs in the reign of Chfurles 
the Second, having been one of the Roman Catholic gentry 
arreeted and oonvejed to England in 1680, on account of 
the pretended Popish Plot. After the accession of James 
the Second, he waa appointed a Lieutenant-Colonel to the 
Infimtry Begiment of Colonel Justin McCarty (Lord Mount- 
cashel), and in 1689 was made Colonel of this Begiment, 
with which he served at the siege of Derry.*'* When, in 
June 1691, De Ginkell was advancing to besiege AtUone 
with his veteran army, Sir John Fits-Gerald sent out a 
party of Lish grenadiers to dispute the passes and defiles ; 
and this duty they discharged with equal courage and 
prudence, '* keeping the masses of the enemy in check as 
long as possible, while retiring before superior numbers, 
making them purchase their advance at considerable loss."t 
He took an active part afterwards in defeilding Limerick 
from the same assailant; but O'Conor writes that he was 
removed for D'Usson, - ' one more versed in the soieice of 
defending fortified places.' On the retirement of the Irish 
army to France and its reformation there. Sir John was 
made Colonel of what was then styled ' the Begiment of 
Limerick,' of which Jeremiah O'Mahony was Lieutenantr 
Colonel, and William Therry Major. In that country, and 
in other parts of the Continent, this Begiment ' acquired 
glorious renown' in various engagements in Normandy, 
Grermany, and Italy, as fully set fi)rth in 0' Conor's Military 
Memmn, Sir John Fitz-Gerald &11 at Oudenarde in 1698. 

Although not an adherent of King James, another Fitz- 
Gerald is too intimately connected with the times to be here 

* CCMaghan^B Brigadet^ v. 1, p. 932. f CCaiiaghan's Green Book^ p. 309. 


omitted. Bobert Hts-Genld, oeoond son of tlie axteenth 
Eari of Ejldarei was, on tlie aooesflioQ of JameB, ^ stnpped of 
all his em^qyineiits and estates to tlie Talne of £3,300 per 
annunij and imiRiflOiied in Newgate for twenty-one weeks; 
but afterwazdsy in consequence of tlie state of his health, 
was ronoved to Us own house, where he remained gnarded 
for five months. On the landing of Eing William in Lrebmd 
he was placed in dose dmance in Trinity CoU^e, and so 
restiained until the defeat of James at the Boyne, when he 
broke from his prison, and by his ooniage and prudence 
preserved Dublin from being sacked. When King William 
entered the metropolis. Captain Fits^renld had the honour 
of presenting to his Migesty the keys of the city, and was 
afterwards sworn of his Privy Council.* 

The Attainders on Inquiations of 1691 against Iltas- 
Gendds are in number in the several counties — ^twenty-one 
in Waterford, * seventeen in Cork, as many in Westmeath, 
twenty-three in Ejldare, nine in Meath, six in Umerick and 
Kilkenny respectively^ five in Longford, four in Roscommon 
and in Dublin, two in Carlow, two in Wicklow, and one 
each in Clare, Kerry, Queen^s County, and Cavan. At 
the Court of Chichester House in 1700, Dame Ellen Fits- 
Gkndd claimed, as the widow of Sir John Fit^-Geraid, 
deceased, and was as such allowed^ her jointure off his County 
of Limerick estates; Piers Fita^-Gerald also claimed and was 
allowed a remainder for years in other Limerick possesdons 

of said Sir John. -Thomas and John Fitz-Gerald, minors, 

by their guardian, claimed and were allowed an estate tail 
to Thomas, with remainder to John, in other Limerick lands 
forfeited by Gerald Fitz-Gerald; while John Fitz-Gerald, 

* Burke^a Peerage^ pp. SOi-^. 

SIB JOHN fitz-gebald's infantbt. 425 

second son of said Gerald, and five of his daiighters, claimed 
portions off his said Limerick lands, but their prayer was 

dismist. ^Mary Fitz-Gerald claimed an estate for her life 

in County of Eildare lands forfdited by Henry Fitz-Gerald, 
her. husband, which was allowed, if she survived him, while 
Luke Fitz-Gerald claimed and was allowed a reversion in 
fee in that Kildare estate, after the death of said Mary ; 
and Gerald and Edward Fitz-Gerald, minors, by William 
Fit^Gerald, their prochein ami^ claimed and were allowed 
estates in tail-male, not only in the Kildare estates of said 
Henry, but also in other of his estates in Meath^ Westmeath, 

and Cavan. Alice Fitz-Gerald, otherwise Dillon, claimed 

dower for herself, and portions for her daughters Elinor and 
Alice Fitz-Gerald, off Cork lands of Edmund Fitz-Gerald, 
her husband and their father — dismist as cautionary. 

For much interesting matter connected with the Fitz- 
Geralds at home, as well as on various military services 
abroad, see O^Callaghan^s Brigadei^ voL 1^ as per Index. He 
states that, in this war 6( the Bevolution, there were of the 
name of Fitz-Gerald among the Li&ntry, Horse and Dragoon 
officers of King James in Lreland, two Colonels, two Lieu- 
tenant-Colonels, one Major, twenty-four Captains, fifteen 
Lieutenants^ thirteen Ensigns or Comets, and two Quarter- 
masters; aiid a calculation of the two Army Lists here 
embodied increases the number. 


This officer came from France to Ireland in the Spring of 
1689, to serve King James, he being at the time a Lieutenant- 
Colonel in the former country^ but nothing more has been 
ascertained of him or his &mily . 



Tnia name was of Anglo-Konnaa introdactioii to IreUmdy 
on the inTBsioii of Heniy the Second; and King John 
granted certain eatatea in Waterford to Sobert de Stapleton, 
which Edward the First confirmed to his descendant, William 
de Stapleton, who died seised thereof in 1316, and to which 
his brother John succeeded. In 1S76 Theobald Stapleton 
and others were appointed to assess and levy a State subsidy 
from Tipperary« James, Viscount Battevant, granted in 1406 
Island-Cullyne, in Cork, to John Stapleton at a small rent, 
and the name extended afterwards widely over that County. 
In the Boll of those, who, on the Bestoration, obtained adjudi- 
cations for thdur services in the Boyal cause, up to the time of 
ELc^ Charles's decapitation, hence d6n<Mninated the ^1649' 
officers, appear the names of Edmund, Edward, and James 
Stapleton. Beaides this Ciq[>tain, David Stapleton was a 
Lieutenant in Lord Gralway's Infantry, as was Piers in 
Major-Oenend Boi88eleaa*s, and these, on their attainders, are 
described, the former as of Kilbolane and Buttevant, the latter 
as of BallyfHzzle, County of Cork; while another Stapleton 
whose Christian name is not ^ven, is styled of Portumna, 
County of Ghdway. At the memorable battle of Fontenoy, 
fought on the 11th of May, 1745, li£ Stapleton, Lieutenantr 
Colonel in Berwick's Begiment, was, in consequence of his 
gallant conduct, promoted to be a Brigadier. Being made a 
prisoner at CuUoden in the ensuing year, he headed a manorial 
from the officers there taken, to the Duke of Cumberland, 
by which acknowledging themselves prisoners of war of ELis 
Britannic Majesty, they engage not to go out of the town of 
Inverness without his Grace's license. " Done at the Head 


Quarters, at Inyemess, April 17th, 1746." Signed and 
sealed. This interesting memorial of banished Irish Cavaliers 
is preserved in the Gentleman's Magaaine of 1746, p. 211. 


It has been maintained that this surname was unknown in 
Ireland xmtil the time of King William, and, while it certainly 
does not appear on the attainders of 1642, on those of 1696 
stand Thomas and Robert Pigott, both described as of 
Clonnisshure in Limerick. That it was, however, long 
previously known in this County, many records evince. A 
possessory writ, sued out by Simon *Pycot* in 1317, is on the 
rolls of the Irish Chancery ; while in 1422 Roger Pycot was 
one of the two commissioners appointed to raise a state 
subsidy off the barony of Farbill and Moycashel, in Meath. 
In 1576 Robert Piggott, styled of the Dysart, in the Queen's 
Coimty, passed patent for the Castle, town, and lands of 
Desert aliae Disert, with a large tract of other townlands, 
advowBons, and vicarages therein, and the name is still of 
respectability in that County. The Roll of Adjudications for 
the ^ 1649* Officers presents the names of Colonel Alexander 
and Captains Robert and William Piggott* 


This surname does not appear on the Attainders either of 
1641 or 1691, but is of very andient notice on Irish records. 
In 1356 William and Henry ' Yong ' were of the influential 


propfielon of tlie Coontjr KHkemij, wko dicB deded Jolm, 
•on of Ofirer de k Frergne, to llie Skrietvltr of ito Croases. 
Wiilkm Young was one of Ibe iiJtMiBiiiiliiliifii of Uppeivy, 
in the delegation of ii iw nlieiB for Iidflid that mt aft llie 
Patfiament of Westnonater in 1376. In 1384 Dr. Jolm 
Young died Biahop of T^gl>li« In 1402 Jolm Yonge of 
Casdedennoi waa on a conmnflaion for laiaing eanteoffEa 
off the Coon^ of Kildare; Tlianna Yonge bad a similar 
cliaige in 1405. In aeren jeaza after WHfiam Yonge, deik, 
waa presented bj the Crown to the Aidbdeaoomy of Meath, 
with the Chmch of St. Cofannb of Kdla united thereto. 
Walter Yonge was his iwinr 4? J w o r in the Aicfadeaooniy. 
Thomas Yonge waa one of thoae i^ipainted to levy a clerical 
anbaidy off Meath in 1422. On the Bofl of Ad^n^cationa 
fiir the *1649* Oflbsera appear die namea of lieutenant 
Andrew and Quarter-Master Jdm Young. 


Thib Welch surname was eaiiy introduced to Iidand. In 
1356 Matthew Herbert was (me of the influential proprie- 
tary of Waterfoid, who elected Peter, son of Soger le Poer, 
into its Suieralty^ In 1562 Queen Elizabeth granted the 
Abbqr of the blessed Yiigm of Durrow in the King's County, 
with sundry its possessions in lands, rectories, and tithes to 
Nicholas Herbert, who died seised thereof in 1581. ^ 
William Herbert was, after the confiscation of the vast 
Desmond estates, one of the adventurers whom Queen 
Elizabeth settled thereon^ In ignorance of the Christian 
name of the above officer nothing certain has been ascertained 
as to his 








Lord Louth, 

Ma. Plnnket 

Thomas Plnnkat. 


Geofge Fttz-Gendd, 

1 — Fits-Qoald. 


Sayester Plonket 

^dmnnd Flnnket, 

Ch. Plnnket. 


.. Bellew. 


Junes Plnnke(. 

Edmund Donellim. 

i Mapasr 




J. Archer. 

B. Archer. 



.-^ KeUy, 


H. Plnnket 

}A. Kirwan. 



^_ Fleming. 


Theobald Throgmorton. 
Cbaries Throgmorton. 

V James Bellew, 

Bichaid WaUe. 


Lake Flnniet, 

Walter Plonket. 


James Bnmey, 

Joseph DowdaL 



SsE of this Peer, ante yoL 1, p. 222, &c. 



These three officers were attainted by the description of 
John Babe of Darver, Esq., with Thomas his son and heir 
and George his second son ; while a fourth individnal, described 
as James Babe of the same place, is also in the Oatlawries' 
Roll with Walter Babe of Drogheda, merchant. John, the 
fiither, was restored by the Articles of Limerick. 

The fiunily is recorded, as located in Drogheda and Louth 
from the time of Edward the Third, In 1356 Robert Babe 
was appointed by that King as an overseer of the harbours 
from Dundalk to Hohnpatrick. In 1373 this Robert was one 
of the gentry of Louth, whom the Sheriff of that County was 
commanded to summon to a great CoundlL In three years 
after Richard Babe, described as then the senior burgess 
of Drogheda, having become so delicate as to be unable to 
prosecute business, had license to appoint William Babe to 
act for him. In 1382 the aforesaid Robert acted as a justice 
in eyre. In 1385 King Richard committed to the custody of 
John Babe certain messuages, meadows, pastures, wood and 
bog in Dervir, County Louth ; with a water miU and the 
^Towson of the church of the manor; this John was in 1403 
appointed a guardian of the peace for Louth. In 1432 the 


King committed to John Babe, burgess of Ardee, the custody 
o( the mauoi^ of Dervir, theretofore the estate of John Babe, 
deceased, to hold during the minority of Thomas Babe his 
nephew and heir. 

tn 1627 James Babe died seised of a moiety of the manor 
of Dervir; with a castle, wind and water mills and water- 
Gourse; Patrick Babe, his son and heir, died in 1638, aged 
40 and married. In March 1641 died John Babe, seised in 
tail male of half the manor of Dervir, with like remainders 
in tail male to his brothers Peter, George, Patrick of Dromis* 
ken, and Walter of Ardee ; renminder to said John and his 
right heirs for ever^ Michael Babe was the son and heir of 
said John aged seven years at the time of his &ther*s death. 
In 1695 Francis Babe oomplained by petition to the Irish 
House of Commons, as that John, son of Patrick Babe of 
Kewry had supplanted him in his inheritance, under pretence 
of being son of Patrick Babe of Dromisken; and had, on that 
suggestion^ passed suit for the lauds of Dervir at the Court of 
Claims, and therefore said Francis prayed relief 


Thi9 name is of record in Ireland from the time of Edward the 
Third, and is more especially found in the County of Elilkenny. 
In 1343 William Archer was one of the oflBoers to whom was 
given a treasury order, for his labour and expenses in relieving 
Castie Kerin in Wicklow, with archers, horsemen, and .arms 
for thirteen days. In 1358 Roger Archer was appointed a 
guardian of the peace in the County Waterford ; about which 
time King Edward granted to Gregory, a son of John Archer, 


all tlie bads wludi then were Id Us oocupstioii widim die 
liberties of KiHrpimy; to hold fir Us lifis, with reaninder in 
fise to Eliaft, wtm of Adam Aidier. In 1393 Hemy Archer 
WB8 Pro v o g t of Kilkenny, «nd Willnun Aidier reo ave d, in 
1432, a ■^ft^y ' ti*^ of Ins sernees in rpmiting the Irish 

In 1612 John Axdier hniagmnt of themsaorof Mothdl, 
the castle of Carbetstown and certain rectories with their 
tithes in the same Coontj; while in 1625 Walter Archer 
died seised of sondrj rectories, Ac, in Cailow, leaving fire 
sons: Hemy, lus heir; Thomas, (who served King Chsries 
the First in Irdand), Janies, Jdm, an^ Patrick, and one 
daughter, Catherine. Patrick and Walter Ardier of Kfl- 
kem^ were members of the Sopccme CooncSi of Confisdemta 
CathoKos; and in 1668 Esther, described as widow of Francis 
Archer, and John their son and heir had a grutt of upwards 
of 1,000 acres in Meath, in pursuance of a previons certificate. 
The attainders of 1691 indnde ox of this name; three in 
Kilkenny, and ooe in each of the Counties of DuUiOt Meath, 
and Mayo, on vriiose estates snndiy daims were preferred at 
Chichester House. 

In Lord Kenmare's B^iment of Infimtry an Archer was a 
lieutenant, as was Ignattos Archer in that of Sir Heward 



Ik the church of Congleton in Cheshire is a noble monument 
oammemoiating Sir John ^Throckmorton' of Feckenham, who 
was knighted at Kenilworth in the first year of Queen 


Elizabeth's reign, was afterwards made Chief Justice of 
Chester and died in 1580. His eldest son Francis was 
tortured into a confession of having been concerned in a con- 
spiracy agdinst the Queen, but died protesting his innocence. 
*From a son of this Sir John' (writes Cole in a manuscript in 
the British Museum) 'descended Sir Joseph, a wealthy dtizen 
and Lord Mayor of London temp, Charles the Second, who 
married a daughter of the Earl of Carlingford in Louth and 
settled at Dublin. His son Sir Charles Throckmorton has 
at this time (1762) a considerable place in the Duke of 
Lorraine's Court.' All these details, with the fact that 
Captain Charles was described in his outlawry as of Cruee* 
town. County Louth, strongly suggest that both these officers 
were descendants of Sir John of Feokenham. It may be 
noted that in 1668 Comet Thomas Throckmorton and 
Elizabeth his wife (relict of Captain Blewett) and Stephen 
Blewett her son and heir, had a grant of 766 acres in 


This surname, of Welsh origin, was early introduced into 
Ireland, and in later centuries was influential in Ulster. The 
most eminent of the name in Ireland was Sir John Davis, 
the Attorney-General in the reigns of Queen Elizabeth and 
King James the First, and author of the able Historical 
Relations regarding this country, A Lieutenant John Davis 
appears on the Roll of the '1649' Officers. 

VOL. II. 2 r 




SociL PcCsSaflL 

Batfflr. Ttbf 

^SweajJ Dohflrtjr. 



LORD kilmallock's ikfantbt. 435 



The family of Sarefield has been folly written of, in the 
notices of the illustrious Patrick Sarsfield's 'Horse.' In 
reference to the above Colonel, his grand&ther was Sir 
Dominick Sarsfield, Knight, Chief Justice of the Common 
Pleas. He was Premier Baronet of Ireland in 1619, and 
raised to the Peerage in 1624, as Baron of Barrett's-County 
and Viscount Kinsale, both localities lying in Cork; but the 
Baron of Eansale (De Courcy), having preferred his remon- 
strance to the Crown, as that the title of Kinsale belonged to 
him, the appointment was submitted for the consideration 
and decision of the Lords and Judges, which wa9 given in 
favoiu: of Lord Eonsale ; whereupon Sir Dominick was soon 
after created Viscount Sarsfield of Kilmallock, with the 
precedence of the former patent. He. died in 1636, and was 
buried in Christ Church, Cork. He left two sons, William 
the eldest, his immediate successor, whose only son David or 
Daniel, the third Viscount, died in 1687 without issue ; when 
Dominick, the second son of the first Viscount, suix^eded to 
the title, and was father of the above Dominick junior, the 
fifth Viscount of Kilmallock. 

The Comte d'Avaux wrote, in the October of 1689, from 
Ardee to the French Minister of War, respecting the 
previous life of this Viscount abroad: 'Estant Irlandois 
Catholique et depoill^ de tons ses biens, il changea de nom, 

et alia porter le mousquet dans le re^ment de -< ; son 

Capitaine luy trouvant de la valeur et de Tapplication, le fit 
saigent. My lord Kilmaloc ne voidut, pas dire qu' il estoit, 


et exerca cet employ pendant queques annees, jusques a ce 
qu' il Boit revenu en Irlande, avec le Roy d' Angleterre ; et il 
a est^ remis par le Parlement en possession de son bien, qui 
va h, cequ' on dit, a plus de cinquante mille francs par an.'* 
He was made Colonel of this Infantry Re^ment, constituted 
of the Privy Council of King James, sat as a Peer in the 
Parliament of Dublin, subsequently distinguished himself at 
the first siege of Limerick, was also at tKe battle of Aughrim, 
and, after the Capitulation of Limerick, followed the fortunes 
of the dethroned Stuart. On the re-formation of the Lish 
forces in Bretagne, he was appointed First-Lieutenant in the 
second troop of Horse Guards, commanded by his brother-in- 
law the Earl of Lucan. In 1693 he was commissioned to 
succeed Major-General Maxwell in the command of the 
King's Regiment of Dismounted Dragoons, having Turenne 
O'Carroll (the Marshal de Turenne's godson) his Lieutenant- 
Colonel, and de Sales his Major. This Regiment, 

together with that of the Queen's Irish Dragoons, 1,400 men, 
he headed at the battle of Marsiglia in 1693, continuing 
Colonel of the former until after the peace of Ryswick in 
1697, when that Regiment was broken up, and he finally died 
abroad, about twelve years after. He had been attainted in 
1691, when Sir Robert Southwell, whose grasping at confisca- 
tions has been more particularly alluded to ante^ vol. 1, p. 
444->5, having represented his own losses by the Irish rebels 
and the English soldiers as amounting from March, 1689, to 
All Saints' day, 1690, to £4,759, he thereupon ob&ined a 
grant of the estates of this ' Dominick Saxsfield,' as also of 
those of James Ronayne and Peter Levailin, all situated in 
the County of Cork. 

- -'- - I . _ _ 111 _■ ■■_ ■ ■ TM III MIMM I ■ 

* N^foUatums^ &c., p. 536. 

LORD kilmallock's infantbt. 437 


See of this noble family antej at Richard Earl of Tyrone, p. 
205, &c. 


The name of Chappel, ' de la Chapelle/ is of record in 
Ireland from the lime of Edward the Second, when this 
family was seised of estates in the County of Cork. On the 
death of Maurice de la Chapelle in 1326, his estates in that 
county were, according to the profitable Royal prerogative of 
wardships, granted during the minority of James, his son and 
heir; and the seison of David de la Chapelle, as brother and 
heir of this James, is recognised in a record of 1343. In 
1347 John de la Chapelle was appointed a Guardian of the 
Peace in that county. Of this rather rare surname was also 
Dr. William Chappel, bom in Nottinghamshire in 1582, the 
tutor of Milton at Cambridge, advanced in 1633, on the 
recommendation of Laud, then Bishop of London, to the see 
of Killaloe ; by the same influence was he sworn Provost of 
Trinity College, Dublin, in 1633 ; where, " in order to give 
the junior students a taste of government, he established a 
Roman Commonwealth among them, to continue during the 
Christmas vacation, in which they had their dictator, consuls, 
censors, and other officers of the Roman state in great 
splendor."* It may be remarked that this divine sought 
preferment in the province where the above individuals of his 

* Ware*s Bishops. 


name had settled, and in 1638 he was consecrated Bishop of 
Cork ; but, when the civil war of 1641 broke out, he fled to 
England, and, dying at Derby in 1649, was buried in the 
fiunQy grave at Belthorp in Nottinghamshire. The above 
Major John, from the regiment in which he took rank, seems 
to have been also of Cork. He was a Lieutenant-Colonel at 
Aughrim, where he was taken prisoner. 


Nothing is known of this officer, but the fiunily was likewise 
of Cork. On the Outlawries of 1691, appears John ' SooppW 
of Ealcolman in that county; and, at the Court of Chichester 
House in 1700, Jane Supple, otherwise Kenny, claimed her 
jointure off lands there forfeited by the above Martin, as 
did William Supple a remainder in tail therein. A James 
Supple, also, on behalf of himself and his son William, claimed 
a remainder in tail out of the same interest ; but all these 
petitions Were dismist as cautionary. 


Mac Jonnin or Jennings is a name peculiarly located in the 
Connaught Counties of Mayo and Galway ; a branch is also 
traced in the County of Down ; accordingly the Attainders of 
1691 include James Jennings of Tullyard, County of Down ; 
David, Hubert, Thomas, and Michael Jonyne of Eolloran; 
and Francis Jonyne of Skeloghoa, in the County of Mayo; 
but this Captain does not appear thereon. One of this sur- 
name was a Quarter-Master in Lord Abercom's Horse. 

LOBD kilmallock's ikfaktrt. 439 


At the close of the reign of Queen Elizabeth, Richard Noble 
of Dublin married Maria Ryan, heiress of a castle and some 
premises at Naas, in the County of Eildare. This officer, it 
would seem, was a descendant of that marriage, and the 
inquisition had on his attainder described him as John Noble 
of Blackhall, County of Eildare; while a Greorge Noble of 
Birtown, in the same county, was also then attainted. So early 
as in the reign of Edward the First, Philip le Noble appears 
on Irish record, and in the time of Henry the Fourth, John 
Noble was the inciumbent of Drumcar, County of Louth. 


The Sept of Mac Egan was territorially seised of extensive 
estates in Lower Ormond, County Tipperary, as well as of 
Clan-Dearmida, a district of the Barony of Leitrim, County 
of Galway ; within which latter locality they had in old time 
some castles. They were celebrated Brehons of Connaught, 
as also of Munster. Accordingly John Mac Egan is 
chronicled as the Brehon of the O'Conor, slain at the battle 
of Athenry in 1316; and the Four Masters commemorate, at 
1378, the death of Teigue Mac Egan, chief Brehon of North 
Connaught, '* a man of learning, free from pride and 
arrogance, who kept a house of general hospitality;" the death 
of Bryan Mac Egan, Chief Brehon of Brefney, in 1390; and 
in 1399 they relate the death of Boothgalach Mac Egan of 

440 KINO James's hush arict list. 

Ormond, 'a man learned in the laws and in mosic/ and 
eminent for hoepitality ;' also of 6iolba-na-neey, son of Conor 
Mac Egan, Chief Professor of Laws, with many subsequent 
obits, mmihirlj recording thdir learning and hospitality. 

At the dose of the 16th century Owen Mac Egan was 
despatched by the Earl of Desmond from Cork to Spain, to 
seek aid for the meditated 'rising.' He was afterwards 
instituted Roman Catholic Bishop of Bosse by the Pope, and 
actively co-opeiated with Desmond, until, in January, 1602, 
he was killed on the occasion of a skirmish with the Queen's 
troops. In 1611 Cosmagh Mac Egan surrendered Bally-mac- 
Egan and three other townhmds in Tipperary to the Crown, 
to fadlitate a re-grant of the same. In 1628 an inquisition 
post mortem was held to ascertain the lands and possessions of 
Carberry Mac Egan in Tipperary. The attainders of 1642 
name Owen and John Mac Eg^ of Aghmagh, in Cork, 
while the Declaration of Boyal Thanks, in the Act of Settle- 
ment, includes Owen og€ Mac Egan of that county, adjutant 
In 1679 Carberry, Dan, and Constantine Egan passed patent 
for upwards of 100 acres in Clare. The first had in the 
following year a grant of 58 acres in Galway, as had, in 1682, 
Flan Egan, his son and heir, of 173 acres in the same county, 
and James Egan of 187 more. Besides this officer, four 
others of the name appear on the present Army List, viz. : — 
in Lord Dongan's Dragoons, in Sir Neill O'Neill's, and in 
Lord Galway's Infantry respectively. The name of Captain 
Daniel does not occur on the Outlawries of 1691 ; but, at the 
Court of Chichester House, Daniel ' Eagan,* a minor, claimed 
by hb guardian an estate tail in County of Kildare lands, as 
forfeited by Thomas Egan; Margaret Egan claimed a small 
jointure thereofF; and Elizabeth, Mary, and Anne Egan, 
their daughters, claimed also by their guardians portions of 


one hundred pounds for each thereout; but all these petitions 
were dismist, and Thomas's estate in that county was in 1703 
sold by the Commissioners of Forfeitures to William Hewetson 
of Clough, in the same county, discharged of all said liabilities. 
A John Egan forfeited in the confiscations of this time lands 
in the County of Tipperary ; off which Pierce Nugent, in 
right of his wife Mary, ' who had been theretofore wife of 
Dan Egan,' (very probably the above Captain Daniel slain in 
the war), claimed her.jointure. 


Although this name is known in Ireland from the time of 
Edward the Third, the present officer, whose Christian name 
should have been set down as Hugoline, not Peregrine, 
was associated with a more illustrious origin, the gifted 
author of the Faerie Queeni In 1580 Edmund Spencer 
accompanied Lord Grey^ then Viceroy of Ireland, as his 
secretary; an office which he held until 1588, when he was 
appointed Clerk of the Council of Munster, and on the 
plantation of that province he had, in 1591, a grant of the 
manor and castle of Kilcolman, with other lands, containing 
3,028 acres, in the Barony of Fermoy; and here, on the 
banks of the Awbeg, the poet's 'gentle Mulla,* was composed 
the Faerie Queen. He Was not, however, so devoted to 
the muses as to neglect the opportunities, which his post 
gave him, of aggrandizing his income, and this unhappily 
by such oppression and ii^ustice, as provoked the vengeance 
of his victims ; his house was burned, a little child of his 
consumed in the flames, and he and his wife were obliged 


to fly to Dublin; where, as Mr. Hardunon says,* he died 
of want, leaving two sons, Sylvanus and Peregrine, Sylvanus 
had also two sons, Edmund and William. To the former 
Charles the First granted the manor, castle, &c., of Eilcolman ; 
but he dying without issue, the right to Kilcolman survived 
to William, whose possession having been intruded upon 
during the civil war of 1641, he presented a petition in 1657 
for redress, which was favoured by Cromwell ; and, although 
the lands were on the Restoration granted under the Act of 
Settlement to Lord Kingston, yet they were restored to siuid 
William Spencer by a patent grant of 1678, together with 
other lands in the Counties of (jalway and Boscommon, this 
addition including Ballinasloe with 1,619 plantation acres; 
said William, by his wife Barbara, left a son Nathaniel. The 
poet^s second son. Peregrine, died in 1641, seised <^ the 
lands of Binney, near Eilcolman, to which the above Lieu- 
tenant, his eldest son, succeeded ; but being a Boman Catholic, 
and having attached himself to the cause of James the Second, 
he was outlawed. Thereupon, in 1697, some impropriate 
rectories and tithes of which he was seised were, under the 
Act of Settlement, conveyed to augment poor vicarages, 
while his said estate of Binney, described as three hundred 
and thirty-two acres, &g., was granted by patent to the above 
Nathaniel} son of William, as the next Protestant heir of said 
Hugoline ; and he, in 1716, sold the lands, <Sx;., of Ballinasloe, 
with the ftirs and markets there, to Frederick Trench, 
ancestor of the present Earl of Clancarty. These fidrs 
became afterwards the most celebrated in the British Empire. 
The will of this Nathaniel Spencer, dated 14th October, 
1718, was proved in 1734, in the Prerogative Court, Dublin 

* Irisk Mmstrd^^ toL 1, p. 319, &c. 








The Colonel. 


[John Wogan, 

Lieatenant-ColoneL ] 


-i — kelljr. 



James Clinch. 

brands Tipped . 

Siinon Hart 

Edward Moore. 

Bartholomew Hissett 

Robert Missett 

John Warren 

Richard Warren. 

Robert * Shiilock.' 

Thomas Denn. 

Christopher * Denne.' 

Edward Lawless. 

Thomas Hussejr. 

Meyler Hiisse7. 

John Hnssey. 

Oliver Bochford. 

Michael Beiford. 


Cornel. Conan. 

Walter Fits-Gerald. 

Manrice Fitz-Gerald. 

James Eustace^ 

Manrice Kelly. 

Patrick Godding. 


Francis Seagrave. 

— Davis. 
Laurence Seagrare. 

-'^— Keoghoe. 

Thomas Fitz-Gerald. 


* Fits-Gerald. 

Richard Eustace. 

John Eustace. 

Thomas Sherlock* 
Thomas Aspole. 

-^— Sherlock. 
Andrew Aspole. 

George Fitz-Gerald; 

Valentine Browne. 

Matthew Enstace. 
John Keating. 

Ckirvrgtm^ John Connor. 



De Bcsgo idles opoo an inaoriptioD on a maomneiit in the 
Chordi of Si. Sextos, as dernring this fiunHj from tbe Boman 
martjrr St. EastaddiiSu Hoe it will saSBee to state that the 
Irish biaiich of this fiunily may be tnoed to that 'adTcntoier 
of die fint water/ Maurice Fit^-Genld, to whom Hemy the 
Second gave the Barony of Naas. £Gs idatiTe Eusfcaoe, the 
founder of this name* inherited the northern parts thereof, 
with part of the Barony of Kilcollen; and a descendant of 
his, Bidiard Fitz-Eostaoe, was Baron of Castlemartin in 
1200; while others became Barons of Haniatown and Pent- 
lester. Li 1356 a member of the fiumly founded the Do- 
minican Friary at Naas, which, according to De Burgo, in 
due rerer^ice to their reputed origin, he dedicated to St. 
Eustachins. Li 1373 Thomas, Archbishop of Dublin, 
appointed Tbomasi son of Almaric Fitsc-Eustaoe, Constable 
of the Castle of Ballymore, with a salary of £10 per <mnum, 
provided he should reside there with his family, and govern 
the tenants without extortion, and guard and maintain the 
fortress. Maurice Fits&'Eustace was in 1385 appointed Sheriff 
of Meath, and in 1415 Bichard Eustace of Ballycodand, had 
a grant of the custody of two-thirds of the lands, &c., of 
Walter Nangle in Meath, to hold with the wardship, during 
the minority of Bamaby, Walter's son and heir. In five 
years after, John Eustace of Newland, and Walerian Eustace 
were commissioned to inquire into the state of Kildare. 

In 1400, says an ancient family pedigree frequently referred 
to herein, ' Alexander, son of Alexander Eustace of Castle- 
martin, founded the house of Mainham. He was married to 


Mary O'Byme. Their eldest son, James, married Margaret 
O'Toole ; their eldest son, Maurice, married Mary O^Kava- 
nagh, and he had by her William his son and heir, who 
married first Joan Eustace and secondly Elizabeth Usher. 
The eldest son by the last marriage was William Eustace, 
who married Cecily Graydon, and had by her seven sons and 
three daughters: James, the fourth of these sons, married 
Mary Wogan, and had a son Walter, who became the husband 
of Mary Broderick; their son Nicholas was noarried to 
Dorothy Tieman, whose son Oliver Eustace is now living at 
Cadiz/ The above Genealogy is certified as having been 
taken out of the title deeds of the estate, refers especially to 
the native annals and to an Inquisition taken at Naas in 
1619, and appears to have been drawn up for the above- 
mentioned Oliver of Cadiz* 

• In 1426 Sir Kichard Eustace was Lord Chancellor of 
Ireland, in ten years after which he sat as Deputy Chancellor. 
In 1431 Edward Fitz-Eustace, Knight, was Sheriff of the 
County Kildare, soon after which he was appointed a Privy 
Councillor, when he was selected to go over to advise the 
King of the condition of Ireland, 

In 1454 Sir Edward Fitz-Eustace, Lord Deputy of Ireland, 
' a warlike Knight, and fitted for a government which required 
activity and vigour, routed the O'Connors of Ofialey, in that 
memorable engagement, where Leland records the generous 
contest between a father and son of the House, each seeking 
by self-devotion, to save the other firom the vengeance of the 
enemy. This Sir Edward's son. Sir Boknd Eustace, was 
created Baron of Portlester, with the manor annexed in tail- 
male; and aflerwards was appointed Lord Chancellor and 
Treasurer of Ireland. In 1462 he founded the Frandscan 
monastery of New Abbey, in the County of Kildare; and 


also the beautiful structure called from him Pdrtlester's 
Chapel, within the precincts of St. Audeon's parish church, 
Dublin. In 1475 he and Sir Robert Eustace were the two 
most noble and worthy persons appointed to represent the 
County of Eldare, on the first fommtion of the honourable 
order of St. George. The former afterwards, in his zeal for the 
house of York, credulously espoused the cause of the pretender, 
Lambert Simnel, but was pardoned on doing homage to Sir 
Richard Edgecombe. In 1472 Oliver, son of Sir Roland, 
Lord Portlester, was raised to be a Baron of the Irish Ex- 
chequer. In 1496 died Lord Portlester, after filling the high 
office of Lord Treasurer of Ireland for thirty-eight years. 

^In that year Richard Eustace and Thomas Sherlock were 

on a commission to carry out the ol^ect of an act, then 
recently passed in a Parliament at Drogheda, for surrounding 
the Pale, ue, the four Counties of Dublin, Lputh, Meath, and 
Eildare, then the acknowledged ambit of the English govern- 
ment, with ramparts and fosses. In 1^41 Sir Thomas Eus- 
tace was created Baron of Eilcullen, and in the following 
year advanced in the Peerage to be Viscount Baltinglas. 
His grandson, James, was the third Viecount, who having 
been attainted in the Geraldine rebellion, is said to have died 
in Spcun without issue. 

In 1580 the Eustaces took part with the oppressed 
O'Tooles, and joined them in resisting the wild expedition 
of Lord Gray through the romantic pass of Glenmolaur for 
their extermination. James Eustace (the third Viscount 
before alluded to) and his adherents were consequentiy 
attainted, and their confiscated estates were, in 1605, granted 
to Sir Henry Harrington, Ejoight, '4n regard that he had 
been a very good, ancient, and long servitor in the late wars 
and rebellion in Ireland.** Queen Elizabeth having however 


previously demised certain rectories and tithes in Meath, 
Kildare, Dublin, Carlow, and Wexford, for a term of years 
to John Eustace, he had a recognition of such his interests 
by patent of 1612; while, in that year Christopher Eustace, 
as son and heir of Robert, who was the son and heir of John 
Eustace of Liscartan in Meath, had livery of his estates. 

The Attainders of 1642 name John son of Christopher 
Eustace of Baltrasney, County of Kildare ; Maurice Eustace 
of Castlemartin, Roland of Blackball, and twelve others in 
the said county ; five in the County of Wicklow, and two in 
that of Dublin. Oliver and Thomas Eustace also, though 
not named on the Outlawries of that period, forfeited estates 
in the Barony of Upper Cross^ County of Dublin. In 1639, 
the Irish House of Commons elected Mr. Serjeant Maurice 
Eustace their Speaker, 'a wise, learned, and discreet man, 
and of great integrity.' During the ensuing civil war, he 
conducted negotiations betwecA the conflicting parties, in a 
manner that elicited, in 1647, from the Commons a vote of 
thanks 'for his singular affection to the English nation.' He 
had been, in 1644, appointed Master of the RoUs, and in 
1660 was raised to the Chancery Bench. He died in 1665, 
having, by his will of that date, bequeathed his chief estates 
in Kildare, Dublin, and Wicklow, together with the Abbey 
of Cong, County of Mayo, and its appurtenances, severally, to 
his nephews Sir John and the above Sir Maurice Eustace, in 
tail male. He also devised to the Provost and Board of 
Trinity College, Dublin, a rent-charge of £20 'per annum^ 
chargeable on the great house built by him in Dame-street, 
for the maintenance of a Hebrew lecturer in that establish- 
ment; and directed his interment in the old family vault at 
Castlemartin. The latter direction was not, however, com- 
plied with; he was buried in St. Patrick^s Cathedral. The 


Boyal declaration of thanks in 1662 includes James Eustace, 
styled of Culadidn, County of Wexford. 

A funeral entiy of 1684, in Birmingham Tower, states the 
death in that year of John Eustace, son of Maurice, son of 
William, of Castlemartin, and consequently a brother of this 
Colonel Sir Maurice. He had married (states the document) 
Margaret, daughter of Edward Keating of Narraghmore, in 
said county, by whom he had three sons, Maurice, John, and 
Thomas. The former, Maurice, married Margaret, daughter 
of Sir Thomas Newcome, Knight ; John, the second son, had 
four daughters. In two years afber, this Colonel, Sir Maurice 

was constituted a Privy Councillor* Besides him 

Eustace was a Lieutenant in Lord Dongan's Dragoons; 
Richard Eustace of Barretstown was Lieut^nant*Colonel of 
Lord Gormanston's Infkntry ; while in Sir Neill O'Neill's 
Dragoons, Nicholas Eustace was a Captain, and Christopher 
a Lieutenant. The latter, it woxdd seem, was taken prisoner 
at the siege of Derry, in the attack at the Windmill,* where 
Lieutenant-Colonel Bichard was wounded. On the 10th of 
May, 1689, King James, in a letter to Lieutenant*General 
Hamilton, then encamped before Derry, writes, "I am send- 
ing down one great mortar and two pieces of battery by 
land, and the same number of both by sea; it was actually 
impossible to despatch them sooner. Ten companies of 
Eustace's will be soon with you, all well armed and clothed."! 
It is remarkable that on this very day the bill recognizing 
this Ejing's title, &c., was read the third time in his parliament 
and presence. James Eustace and Maurice Eustace sat there 
representatives of the Borough of Blessington. 

• WdUter's Siege of Derry, p. 60. 
t King Jam^e Liters, MSS. Trinity College, E 2 19. 


The Attainders of 1691 include the above Colonel Maurice 
Eustace, styled of Castlemartin, Baronet, and Lieutenant* 
Colonel Richard of Barretstown, County of Dublin ; with ten 
others of the name in the County of Kildare, eight in Carlow, 
and two in Wicklow. Maurice Eustace, being then absent 
from Ireland, had, in October, 1691, on the capitulation of 
Limerick, a reservation of the benefit of the Civil Articles 
then agreed upon, (see ante^ p. 391.) He died in France in 
1698 without issue male. An Liquisition taken at the close 
of the year, (14th March) 1690, on the attainder of Francis 
Eustace, in regard to his possessions in the Baronies of Forth 
and Idrone in the County of Carlow, finds that he and his 
son and heir Oliver were in actual rebellion on the 1st of 
May, 1689, against the King and Queen ; and that after the 
battle of the Boyne, they departed with Richard, Earl of 
Tyrconnel, William, Earl of Limerick, and other rebels and 
traitors, beyond the Shannon, and had there continued in 
actual war and rebellion ; whereupon the jurors found the 
extent of their respective freehold estates in both baronies. 
In 1697 an Act was passed for settling certain rectories 
according to the will of Sir Maurice Eustace; and, in 1720, 
another statute authorized the sale of his lands for the pay- 
ment of his debts. At Chichester House in 1700, various 
claims were preferred as affecting the confiscations of the 
above Sir Maurice Eustace, as also those of Francis and 
Oliver Eustace in Carlow, and of Alexander, Thomas, and 
Katherine Eustace in Eildare. Off Sir Maurice^s the claims 
of his wife for jointure, and of their infant child Frances, for a 
portion of £300, and an annuity of £40 for maintenance, and 
of another daughter Margaret for £200 portion and £20 
annuity were allowed. [The Colonel himself, who had been 
severely wounded at Aughrim, was, on his arrival, with the 

VOL. II. 2 G 

450 KINO James's ibish abht list. 

remainder of King James's army in France, made Colonel of 
one of the re-formed Regiments of Irish Infantry, which he 
commanded up to the autumn of 1693, when it may be pre- 
sumed he died ; as in that year King James appointed, at St. 
Germains, a successor in command to his Regiment.] 

Of this noble and historic name five have been Lords 
Chancellor, two Lords Deputy, and one Lord High Treasurer, 
of Ireland. An ancient pedigree of this name traces the 
Mainham Eustaces to a John of Mechlin, a Captain in 
Dillon's Infantry Regiment of Brigades. He had an only 
son John who, at the time of that pedigree being compiled, 
had an only son Francis, bom in 1754. *' There b also (adds 
this authority) of the House of Mainham, Walter Eustace, 
merchant, in Dublin, and his nephew Oliver Eustace at 


This commission is filled &om the Appendix to Dr. King^s 
State of the Protestants, It does not appear on the CoU^ 
List, but is recognised on that of the British Museum. 

The name of Wogan is projected on the records of Ireland 
&om the earliest years after the Invasion. In 1295 Sir John 
Wogan was Lord Justice there; as he was again in 1298, 
1302, 1307, and 1309. In the latter year, by the King's 
command, he appointed a commission to inspect the waters 
and weirs of the Liffey between Dublin and the ' Salmon-leap,' 
to report by whom such weirs were lately erected, beyond 
those of andent establishment, and to abate all nuisances. 
In 1310 John, son of John le Poer, Knight, released to this 
Sir John Wogan and to Isabella, his wife, the fee of all lands 


which they enjoyed by demise of William de Clare or of the 
Lord Jordan Fitz-Jordan of Exeter. In seven years after 
the King granted to stdd Wogan all the lands of Kilkea, 
Castledermot, Bert, Moone, Carbry, Allen, Combre, and 
Okethy, to hold to him and his heirs with the knights'-fees, 
and advowsons of churohes. At the same time he had a 
grant of the custody of the lands of John de Cogan, lately 
deceased, to hold during the minority of Cogan's heir; while 
Walter Wogan was then appointed to collect an aid from the 
liberty of Wexford and the mercantile towns therein, towards 
repressing * the malice of the Irish of the mountains of Leinster.' 
This Walter was in 1320 a Justice in eyre. In 1344 Thomas 
Wogan Was Constable of the Castle of Clonmore ; he was, 
however ordered, in observance of a recent proclamation, to 
reside upon his own lands in Wicklow for their safety, and 
that of the adjacent country. 

In 1356, by writ, reciting that on deliberation of the Council, 
it was ordered that the wards of the County of Kildare should 
be strengthened, on the contribution of the nobles and more 
influential proprietors; nevertheless, by reason of the para- 
mount power of Thomas Wogan there, and the extent of his 
own lands, and of those which he had inherited from his 
father, who had lliem by Boyal gift, he is bound to con- 
tribute a larger proportion to this aid;* the writ, therefone, 
directed that he, with three other men-^t-orms, and with 
horses fiilly equipped, eight hobillers and twenty-four archers 
on foot, should keep continued ward there. In 1359 John 
Wogan was summoned to a great council. In 1374 Henry 
Wogan, Knight, seneschal of the liberty of Wexford, was 
deputed to wait upon the King in England, concerning divers 
urgent a£&irs in Ireland. In 1385 David Wogan had a 
Treasury disbursement, on account of men and horses of his. 


often wounded in the wars of Leinster; and, in the following 
year, he was one of a commission empowered to assess and 
levy ' smoke silver ' within Kildare, where he was then 
seised of all the aforesaid manors of Ejlkea, Castledermot, 
&c. In 1394 he was summoned t.o a great Coundl at 
Kilkenny, and in 1407 had license to export com firom 
Ireland, for victualling his own castles in Wales. A patent 
roll of 1421 recites that John, the son and heir of this 
David, had then recently died, leaving four daughters his 
co-heiresses, all under age, whose estates, manors, &c., were 
situated on the frontiers of the Pale, exposed to the constant 
inroads of the Irish enemy ; the King, therefore, committed 
the custody of all same (excepting the ' dowers' of Anastasia, 
the widow of said David, and of Mai^aret, the widow of said 
John) to John Bellewe, Knight, junior,' who soon after 
intermarried with said Anastasia; the enrolment of her 
assignment of dower is a record of formidable length. 

The name of Wogan did not, however, become then extinct 
in Kildare. Thomas Wogan, £[night, was appointed a 
guardian of the peace therein in 1426 ; and he, in the 
following year, having been taken prisoner by the Mac 
Murrough, in the wars of that part of Leinster, was ransomed 
for 240 marks, of which £20 was directed to be paid from the 
Treasury. Immediately after the old family manors aforesaid 
were confirmed to him by patent from the Crown. He seems 
to have been in truth a younger son of the aforesaid David, 
and died in 1433. In 1446 Richard Wogan, derk, was the 
Irish Lord Chancellor; and in 1415 Hugh Wogan was 
amerced for not attending the Parliament of Diogheda. 

In 1636 died Nicholas Wogan of Blackball, County of 
Kildare, fourth son of David Wogan of New-Hall in said 
County. He had married Margaret, daughter of William 


Hollywood of Harbertstown in the County of Meath, by 
whom he had four sons; 1, William, who married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Edward Wogan of Grangerosnolvan, County of 
Ejldare; 2, Charles; 3, Edward; and 4, Thomas, all yet 
unmarried, says the Funeral Entry of this Nicholas in the 
Herald's Office; he, it adds, died in July, 1636, and was 
buried at Kilmaoge in said County. The above William and 
Thomas were attidnted in 1642, as were Oliver Wogan of 
Downings and Nicholas Wogan of Bathcofiy. The latter 
was one of the Supreme Council of Kilkenny in 1646. In 
1666 Thomas Owgan had a confirmatory grant of 1,230 acres 
in Cork ; his descendant William is alluded to ante p. 57. 

Besides this officer, who was killed at the siege of Deny, 
a James Wogan was Major in the Earl of Antrim's Infantry ; 
and John Wogan, a Captain in Fitz-James's Foot. He was 
of Bathcofiy, Sheriff of the County of Kildare in 1687, one 
of its Representatives in the Parliament of Dublin ; and was 
attainted in 1691, with Patrick Wogan of Maynham in the 
same County. 

The chivalry and devotion of Irishmen to the dethroned 
Stuart, as evinced by the gallant daring of Colonel Charles 
Wogan in the time of George the First, are alluded to ante 
p. 68 ; meanwhile it may here be remarked that a noanuscript 
compilation of this Colonel Charles, of a very miscellaneous 
character, is in the possession of Mr Aylmer of Painstown, 
near BA^hcoffy. In it are an address in poetry from Lord 
Wharton to himself, as to * My friend Sir Charles Wogan, 
Baronet,' and a Comment from Dean Swift to him on- 
particulars of the exile's life which had been frurnished to 
the Dean. " We guessed you," writes Swift, " £o have been 
bom in this country from some passages, but not from the 
style, which we wondered to find so correct in an exile, 


a soldira", said a native of IieLmcL . . . Altboogh I hare 
no great regaid for jonr tnde, from the jadgment I make of 
those who profeea it in theee kingdoms, yet I cannot but 
esteem those gentlemen of Irehmd who, with all the dia- 
advantages of being exiles and strangers, have been aUe to 
difltingniflh themselves by their valour and conduct in so many 
parts of Europe, I think above all other nations. Which 
ought to make the English ashamed at the reproaches they 
cast on the ignorance, the dullness, and the want of courage 
of the Irish natives; these defects, wherever thqr hi^pen, 
arising only from the poverty and slavery they sufier from 
their inhuman neighbours, and the base corrupt sfnrits of too 
many of the chief gentry. By such events as these the veiy 
Grecians are grown slavish, ignorant, and superstitions. I 
do assert, from several experiments I have made in travelling 
over both Kingdoms, I have found the poor cottagers here, 
who could speak our language, to have a much better taste 
for good sense, humour, and raillery than ever I observed among 
people of the like sort in England/' 

The powerful pen of Scott has in Waverletf commemorated 
a * gallant Captain Wogan who renounced the service of the 
usurper, Cromwell, to join the standard of Charles the 
Second; marched a handful of cavalry from London to the 
Highlands to join Middleton, then in arms for the King, and 
at length died gloriously in the Boyal cause/ This eulogy, 
however, applies to one of the &mily some years previously 
to the Bevolution. Nicholas Wogan, a brother of the above 
Colonel Charles, was tried at Wexham in 1717 for treason 
committed in the rising of 1715, but in three years after he 
obtained pardon therefor, and his daughter and heiress 
married John Talbot of the House of Malahide ; the ancient title 
of Baron of which locality was revived to their descendants. 



This name is of record in Ireland since the time of Ed^ward 
the Second, when Thomas 'Clinche' was seised of lands 
within the Palatinate of Ormond; and, in the first year of 
the reign of Henry the Fourth, that monarch confirmed the 
appointment of Walter 'Clyng' to the parsonage of the 
Church of the Holycross at Castlecomer, in the Diocese of 

Those of this name attainted in 1642 were Richard Clinch 

of Cappah, with Henry of Kill and Anne his wife. In 

1677 William Clynch had a confirmatory patent for 1,099 
acres in Gralway. In 1691, only Peter and Simon Clinch, 
described as of the College, Dublin, were outlawed, one of 
those appears to have been a Lieutenant in Lord Abercom's 
Horse. A James Clinch, described as of Dunshaughlin, 
County of Meath, was, in June, 1747, married to Sarah 
Wood of the same place, at Holyhead,* the penal laws 
affecting Ireland necessitating the celebration of this union 
out of the kingdom. 


The surname of ' Denn* is found in Louth in the time of 
Edward the Second; in subsequent records as de Dene or 

* RegistiT' at Holyhead, wherein, as also in that at Bangor, are very 
many other certificates of Irish families married under similar drcum- 
Btanoes, as noted off by the compiler of this Tolmnew 


de . Denn. Thomas de Dene, Knight, appears on the 
Chancery Rolls in 1326, as does the assignment of dower to 
hifl widow, Sibilla, 1334. In 1355 Fulco de Den was a 
landed proprietor, and tenant in capite in Kilkenny. B^inald 
Dene did military service in 1359, with thirty-three hobillers 
for four days, Thomas Botiller being joined with him at this 
hosting. Thomas Den succeeded to the see of Ferns in 1363. 
In 1499 Fulco Den brought his writ of assise in the nature 
of ejectment, against William and Kichard Den for tenements 
at Lewestown in Balkenny. 

Thomas Den, son and heir of Patrick of Grenane Castle in 
said county, had livery of his estate there in 1605 ; as had his 
son, Patrick, junior, in some few years after. This latter 
Patrick married a daughter of Nicholas Shortall of Upper 
Claragh. In 1 609 Fulke Denn, being seised of lands within the 
manor of Grenan, settled them to family uses, t.«., to his own for 
life, remainder to his wife Catherine, if she survived him, during 
her widowhood, and, after her death or marriage, to Theobald 
the second son of said Fulke in tail male ; like remainder to 
Garrett, Fulke's third son. Fulke died in 1626, leaving 
Patrick, his son and heir, then aged forty-four and married, 
but afterwards attainted. Grenan was not, however, in con- 
sequence of the aforesaid previous settlement of 1609, con- 
fiscated by Patrick^s attainder. In the grants, soon aftier 
the Restoration, of Ealkenny lands to William Poulter, to 
William Warden, to Christopher Hewetson, to Anthony 
Horsey, to Barnard Annaly, to George Deyos, and to 
Anthony Stampe, are several savings of the rights of 
Theobald Denn, in the various subjects of conveyance, under 
his decree of innocence in 1663, while Thomas Denn had in 
1682 a confirmatory grant of Saggart in the County of 
Dublin, 194 acres, with powers for holding markets and 

SIR MAUKiCE Eustace's inpantbt. 457 

fairs there. Tobias Den of Grenan was attainted in 1691, as 
was William Den of Saggard, aforesaid; at which latter 
locality a farm was forfeited by Thomas Den, the fee whereof 

was claimed by and allowed to John Den. A Denn 

was Lieutenant in Lord Kilmallock's In&ntry, and three of 
this name were Captains in Charles O'More's. 


This family, Hossey or Hoese, is of Norman extraction. On 
the first invasion of Lreland, Sir Hugh Hussey, who had 
married the sister of Theobald Fitz- Walter, the first Butler 
of that Ejngdom, obtained a grant from Hugh de Lade of 
large possessions in the County of Meath, including the 
locality of Galtrim; in right of which this family took the 
palatine title of Barons of Graltrim; while within the circuit 
of the same county, andent Meath, the Petits were Barons 
of Mullingar, the D'Altons of Bathconrath, Nangles of 
Navan, Marwards of Serine, etc., etc. In 1340 John Husee, 
John de Wellesleye, and others, with thdr men-at-arms, were 
stationed at Castle-mac-Kinnegan, to resist the predatory 
incursions of the O'Bymes on the Pale; and in 1359 this 
John Husee, styled Knight, was summoned to two great 
Councils held in Dublin. He was the Baron of Galtrim, and 
was, as such, summoned in 1374 and 1377 to Parliament, as 
was his son, Edmond Hussey, Baron of Galtrim, to those of 
1380 and 1382, in which latter year he was Constable of 
Carbry Castle. Baron Edmund died three years after, when 
his estates were granted to George Merrett during the 
minority of his son and heir, Peter, together with the custody 
of the dower portion of Matilda, the widow of said Edmund, 


and with the ' maritagium' of said Peter. In 1403 the King 
confirmed to Mathew Husee, Baron of Graltrim, the manors 
of Galtrim, Mojlhusaey, Roemyde, and Clonamjn, with many 
townlands in Meath ; he had a further grant from the same 
monarch in five years after, in consideration of his heavy costs 
incurred in the King's service. 

The Patent Bolls of 1421 exhibit an interesting petition of 
Nicholas Husee, confirmatory of the pedigree of this fiunily, 
setting forth as it does that Edmund Husee, late Baron of 
Galtrim, died seised of simdry messuages, lands, and premises, 
in Moylhussey, which he held of the de Mordmer, as of his 
manor of Trim ; that said Edmund left a son, Peter, his heir 
(as aforesaid), then aged five years, that said Peter aftierwards 
died without issue, when said manor of Moylhussey descended 
to his only sister, Margaret, then also under age ; that she, 
marrying Robert Orell, they both entered upon said in- 
heritance; that said Margaret dying without issue male, her 
aunt Margaret, daughter of John Hussey, Knight, succeeded 
to a moiety of said manor, and she enfeoffed the petitioner, 
Nicholas, thereof in fee. This claim was opposed, however, 
as that the said Peter did not die seised thereof, but that 
same, as well as the premises in Bosmyde and Clonamyn, 
were at the time vested in ' Richard Roe^^ who conveyed same 
to Hugh Husee, Knight, for life, with remainder to William 
Husee and Beatrice his wife, and the heirs of their bodies. 
That said William and Beatrice became seised thereof, and 
had issue, John Husee, Knight, who, as their son, became 
seised thereof, and he had Jssue, John, Edmund, Margaret, 
and Johanna; that John the younger succeeded his father, 
and had issue Paula his heiress, who died an infant, without 
issue ; that Edmund, John's brother, succeeded, and he had 
issue Peter and Margaret, both of whom died without issue; 


that Margaret and Richard Bathe are now (1422) the next of 
kin, and heirs of said Peter, and on this claim, suggestive of 
an ejectment, the King's Escheator was ordered to deliver the 
possesion of said manors and lands to Margaret and Bichard, 
and, while they had a subsequent oonfirmation of their right 
to said manors of Galtrim, Rosmyde, and Clonamyn, the 

petitioner had a 'similar assurance for that of Moylhussey. 

Thomas Hussie is recognised as Baron of Galtrim in a patent 
of 1431, as was Nicholas Husee in another of 1442. The 
Foot Masters, relating the obits in a great plague which 
raged in the summer and harvest of 1447, name the Baron of 
* Calatrim' (Galtrim) as one of its victims ; and at 1460 they 
record a great defeat given by Con, son of Calvach O'Connor- 
Failey, to the English, in which the Baron of 'Calatrim,' with 
many others, was slain. In 1506 Patrick Hussey, who 
married Matilda, the widow of William Wellesley of 
D^oigyn, Knight, was obliged to purchase a pardon from the 
Crown for the connection, she having been originally bom of 
the sept of O^Toole. 

Sir Bernard Burke, in his Landed Gentry^ gives the 
succession of these Barons to the time of Queen Elizabeth, 
early in whose reign a member of the family, obtaining a 
grant of lands from the Eaii of Desmond, settled in the 
County of Kerry and established the name there, where it 
still exists. An Act of Heniy the Eighth in 1534, recog- 
nizing Nicholas Hussey as then Baron of Galtrim, united the 
parsonage thereof, theretofore claimed as of his patronage, 
to the Religious House of St. Peter's by Trim. In the com- 
mencement of the reign of James the First, died Walter 
Hussey of Moylhussey, leaving Thomas his son and heir, 
then of full age and married. He died in 1629, Edwasd, his 
son and heir, being then aged twenty-two and married. The 


Attainders of 1642 proscribe nine of this name in Meath and 
two in Elildare, while two others were, in Cromwell's ordi- 
nance of denunciation of 1652, excepted firom pardon ibr life 
and estate. In 1669 William Hussey passed patent for lands 
in Westmeath and Tippeiary. 

Besides the three Husseys in this Regiment, James Hussey 
was a Lieutenant in Lord Louth's. In the Parliament of 
1689 Maurice Hussey of Flesk Bridge (hereafter alluded to) 
was one of the representatives of the Borough of Tndee. 
He married Clare, daughter of Sir Edward Hales, Baronet, 
who was created by James, after his abdication. Earl of 
Tenderden. John Hussey was one of the B«presentatives of 
Dingle-i-couch, as was another John Hussey of Batoath. 
Nine of the name were in 1691 attainted in Meath, three in 
Kerry, one in Louth, with Edward Hussey of Westown, in 
the County of Dublin. 

This last individual (Edward of Westown), though not 
named in the present Army List, appears in that preserved 
in the British Museum as a Captain in Lord Gormanston's 
Infantry. He was engaged 'for King James in this war, 
attained the rank of Colonel, and so styled he was, by the 
Council Board, adjudged entitled to the benefit of the Articles 
of Limerick. He is also so described in a family settlement 
executed by his mother-in-law, the Countess of Fingal, in 
1693, and in various other ancient deeds. In a chauntry of 
the old church at the Naul, near Westown House, is still 
preserved a mural slab, stating that the Honourable Colonel 
Hussey and his lady, Madame Mable Hussey, otherwise 
Bamewall, had erected this chapel and monument, for their 
use and that of their posterity, in 1710.* John Hussey of 

* D'AUorCs HisL County ofDublm, p. 486. 


Culmullen had also a pardon under the Great Seal, and James 
Hussey, having, like Colonel Edward, obtained a judicial 
acknowledgment of his right to the benefit of the Articles of 
Limerick, preferred a claim at Chichester House, in 1700, to 
the Meath estates of his ancestor, Thomas Hussey ; at which 
time Jane Hussey, otherwise Telling, by her husband Thomas 
Telling, and on behalf of Christopher and Lucy, their eldest son 
and daughter, and Edward, Val, Mary, Catherine, and Ellen, 
minors, their younger children, claimed jointure for herself 
and portions for them, off the Meath estates of said Thomas 
Hussey ; but their petitions were dismist as cautionary. 
These estates were afterwards purchased by Isaac Holroyd. 
A Colonel Maurice Hussey, he of Flesk Bridge in the County 
of Kerry, above-mentioned, and who had been Lieutenant- 
Colonel in Mac Elligott's Infantry, yielded to the altered 
state of government, and some of his letters to Secretary 
Southwell in the time of Queen Anne are in the Southwell 
collection.* In one dated 7th June, 1703, he writes com- 
plaining of a severe visitation of the gout, and adds, '* Here 
was lately a foolish report that spread over all our mountains, 
that several Irish Regiments were to be immediately raised 
for the Queen's service, to go into Portugal, and that I was 
to have one. Upon this rumour, all the Milesian Princes of 
these parts flocked to my house, 'to offer their service to go 
along with me to any part of the world; and they would 
scarce believe but that I had my commission in my pocket, 
and I could not but take their offers and readiness for the 
Queen's service kindly, and made them all as welcome as my 
poor house could afford, and that, I ' phancie,' has brought 
this fit of the * goute ' upon me. Mac Cartie More, O'Sul- 

* Thorpe's CataL SouthoeU MSS., pp. 227-8. 


livan More, O'Donohue More, Mac Gillicuddy, Mac Finin, 
O'Leary, and a long et ccetera of the best gentlemen of the 
Irish of these parts, are, in a manner, mad to be employed 
in her Majesty's service abroad, and swear I must go at the 
head of them, whether I will or no/' A comment on this 
ColoneTs correspondence says, ^'Notwithstanding his obser- 
vations, there is every reason to suspect the Colonel of being 
a Jacobite. His patron the Duke of Ormond, Southwell, 
and the whole body were silent &vourers of the Stuart 

The Colonel Edward Hussey, before mentioned, was 
grand&liher of an Edward Hussey of Westown, who married 
in 1743 the celebrated Duchess of Manchester, and was 
created Earl Beaulieu in 1784. There have been several of 
the Husseys since signaKged in the Austrian armies; (me, 
Anthony, a son of the kte Anthony Stronge Hussey, the 
inheritor of Westown House, D.L., is at present a Brevet 
Major in that service; while in the obits of 1803 in Dublin 
occurs that of John Hussey, styled ' Baron of Galtrim,' who 
had been a Captain in the Austrian army. He was the 
grandson of James, the Lieutenant in Lord Louth's Lifantry, 
and is at this day represented by his grandson, Edward 
H(»ratio Hussey. 


This name (' de Bupe forti') is traced in Irish records from 
the first year of the English invasion. In 1194 Simon 
Bochfbrt succeeded to the See of Meatb; at which time 
Henry de Rupe Forti was Lord of Maynam in Ealdare. In 
the subsequent century, when Edward the First invited 


the aid of the Magnates of Ireland, to accompany him in 
the TTar on Scotland, he selected no less than six of this 
name. In 1310 Maurice de '* Bocheford' was summoned to 
the Parliament of Kilkenny ; in which year the King com- 
mitted to Lysagh O'More the lands of Patrick de Bupe Forti 
in the Leix. Richard de Bocheford was in 1326 Constable 
of the Castle of Kilkenny, as was €rerald of that of Ferns 
soon after. In 1337 Maurice Bochefort succeeded to the see 
of Limerick, and in 1358 David de Bocheford, Knight, was 
summoned to attend a Great Coimcil in Waterford. In nine 
years after, on the death of John de Bochford, Knight, the 
King commanded his Escheator to assign to his widow reason- 
able dower, first taking security that she shall not marry 
again, vrithout obtaining license therefor. In 1382 Margaret, 
daughter and heiress of John Bochfort deceased havii^ mar- 
ried Gerald Fitz Maurice, Earl of Kildare, petitioned the 
Crown for her inheritance, which had been unjustly escheated, 
and it was thereupon restored to her. In 1408 John Boch- 
fort and Elizabeth his wife had livery of the manor of Kilbride. 
In 1450 the Elng appointed John Bochefort, styled of 
Eollane, Sheriff of the County of Kilkenny ; and in 1464, at 
a Parliament held in Wexford, an act was passed to assure 
a part of the manor of Bathconrath in Western Meath to 
Bobert and Boger Bochfort. 

The Attainders of 1642 name three Bochforts in Kildare, 
four in Meath, and one in the County of Dublin. Of the 
Supreme Council of Ealkenny in 1646, were Hugh Bochfort 
of Taghmon, and John of Ealbride. In March, 1651, a 
Colonel Bochfort was tried by Court Martial in St. Patrick's 
Cathedral, Dublin, by the usurping Powers, and was shot to 
death according to his sentence ; while, in the Act of Settle- 
ment (1662), King Charles especially thanked Henry Boch- 

464 Knro jaxbs's isish abmt list. 

fort of Kilbride *' for services beyond sea." In 1691 the 
above Captain Oliver was attainted, being described as of 
Fiddolphy County of Meath; Christopher of Carronstown 
and James of Vesingstowu, in the same Coonty, were also 
then outlawed. It is to be remarked that a Robert Bochfort 
(it would seem of the aforesaid Westmeath branch) was in 
1700 nominated on commisnon a Keeper of the Great Seal, 
and in 1707 was appointed Chief Baron of the Irish Ex- 


This officer was attainted in 1691 by the style of 'Cornelius* 
Coonan of Kilcock, in the County of Kildare; nothing fiirther 
is known of him or hb family. 


The name of Segrave or Sedgraye is of record in Ireland 
from the time of Edward the Second, the chief seat of the 
&mily being early mentioned as at Killeglan, in the County 
of Meath. In 1322 Stephen Segrave, who had been thereto- 
fore Rector of Stepney, near London, was appointed to the 
Primacy of Armagh. Of him King Edward the Third wrote 
soon after his accession, to the Pope, commending him for 
'Hhe nobility of his birth, the integrity of his morab, his 
eminent sanctity, and approved diligence in his pastoral 
function." * A writ of 1327 yet more illustrates the nobility 

• War^t Bishops^ p. 81. 


of this name, showing as it does that William, son of William 
St. Leger, who had previously died sdsed of the manor of 
Bargy, held same from John de Segraye and Margaret his 
wife, one of the sisters and heiresses of the Earl of Norfolk. 
In 1389 the King committed, to Richard 'Sydgreve,* the 
custody of all the estates of Edmund de Mortimer, late Earl 
of March, in Athboy , &c. When Henry the Fourth, in the 
first year of his reign, committed to the Constable of the 
Castle of Carlow the custody of all the manors, lands, and 
services in the Counties of Carlow, Kildare, and Wexford, 
which had belonged to Margaret, late Duchess of Norfolk, 
who held of the Crown in capit$, and which, by the death of 
said Duchess, had come to the King*s hands, and now by the 
death of Thomas Mowbray, late Duke of Norfolk, cousin and 
heir of said Puke, and by reason of the minority of his heir, 
were then in the Crown, Richard * Sydegrave' of the County 
of Meath was accepted as one of the sureties for said Con- 
stable. Thb Riphard was in 1401 appointed a Baron of the 
Irish Exchequer, and in 1409, at his instance and on the 
petition of the Provost and Corporation of Carlingford, and 
the teiumts of the I^ordship of Coly, showing how that little 
town and Lordship, lying in a vaUey between the hiUs and 
the sea, cut off from the rest of the county, had been burnt 
and wasted by Irish and Scotch, the King granted that, 
until Edmund, son and heir of Roger late Earl of March, 
whose estate they were, should be of age, the said town and 
Lordship should be exempt from all subsidies, taxes, and 
charges. In 1423 this Richard was promoted to be Chief 
Baron. In 1578 another Richard Segrave was also a Baron 
of the Irish Exchequer, which office he filled for twenty 
years and died at Killeglan, leaving James, his son and heir, 
then of age and unmarriedt This son died in 1598 8.p,, 

VOL. II. 2 H 


when Nidiolas, his brother, stjkd of BaUyhack, soeoeeded, 
aged twenty-four. Another Bichard died in 1590, whose 
son and heir, James Segntve, then aged nine, died in 1594, 
when Lawrenoe his brother, then aged seven, became heir. 

In 1604 Bichard, son and heir of Christopher Sedgrave, 
had livery of his estate, while in two years after Aldennaa 
Walter Sedgrave of Dublin was commanded, according to 
the existing penal law to attend divine service at his paridi 
church or at Christ Church. Edmund Puicell, Patzick 
Browne, Michael Chamberlain, James Bellew, Thomas Car- 
roll, Hiomas Plunkett, and Robert Kennedy, all Aldermen 
of Dublin, reoeived then similar mandates; as did John 
Malone, elerk of the Thols^, Greorge Devenish of Dublin, 
merchant, Thomas Fleming of Drogheda, meidumt, Edwaard 
Malone of Dublin, Philip Dowdall of Drogheda, &e. In 
1611 Eii% James granted to the aforesaid Alderman Walter 
Sedgrave, of Dublin, premises in that mty, theretof^wre parcel 
of the possessions of the Priory of St John the Baptist, 
without Newgate; while Ware records, in his Antiquitiesy 
that about the year 1629 Mr. Laurence Segrave, an Irish 
priest, purchased pri^mises at Antwerp, which, with the con- 
sent of the existing Diocesan, he erected into one of the 
earliest foreign colleges, for twelve or sixteen priests, of which 
establishment himself was the first President. 

A branch of the family having settled at Cabnigh in the 
County of Dublin, it is of record that Henry Segrave, on 
coming of age in 1638, sued out, according to the then still 
existing law of wardship, a lieense for 'liv^y' of hb estates 
tliere. In the foUowing year Richard Segrave of Ballybogfaill, 
in the last mentioned county, was the King's Escheator. 
Patrick Segrave of Killeglan was one of the influential 
Catiiolies who attended tiie great meetioig of Tara in 1641, 


and was consequently attainted In the following year. The 
Captain Francis here in commission, was of Fiyarstown, 
County of Ealdare ; John Segrave of Cabragh was a Captain 
in the King^s In&ntry, ai^d JjfLareiioe was a Lieutenant in 
this. The Attainders of 1691 present the names of said 
Captain JpbQ Segrave of Cabra, with those of Gilbert and 
Ni<dbola9 Segrave of Ballyhack, and the aboye Francis. 

In 1783 died* at his seat of Cabragh, John Segmye, 
Colon0l of the Finglas Volunteers ; he was interred with all 
military honours at $t. James's churchyard^ long the chosen 
place of sepulture for the higher class of Jrish Catholics. 


This fitioUy is located on Or(;eUus's Map in the Sarpny of 
SkdmaUere« County of Wexfoid« In 1621 Bpberti son a^d 
heir pf NichoUus Masterson of Ardcropiari m that Counly, 
died, leaving Edtpard his son iu»d heir, then but three years 
old, Bxxd inost prpb^ly this officer, who is described in his 
ajbtninder as of Moaeyf^, tiierein ; the others l^en uttainted 
being John, Richard, Nicholas, and Dominiiok Masterson ' of 
Tomcoil,' and Ale^u^nd^r of Lydon, all in the same county. 



The surname attributed to these officers appears erroneously 
set down, and should, possibly, have been ' Archbold,' at least 
no trace of an ' Aspole' has been discovered of Irish record. 

468 xuro jahes's ibish Asmr ubt. 


This name 10 of record in Ireland fSrom the time of Edward 
the First. In 1314 Kchaid de Berford was Chancellor of 
Ireland, having been previonslj on a commisdon, to inquire 
into the rights in the weirs and waters of the liffey, between 
Dublin and the Salmon-leap. In 1403 Simon 'Berfford' 
was one of those appointed to assess and arraj the men of the 
Barony of Batoath, County of Meath. On his death, in ten 
years after, his estates of Ejlrowe, d»., in said oounty, became 
Tested in the Crown during the minority of his heir, whose 
wardship and marriage were thereupon granted to Thomas 
' Barre,* rent free. Branches of the fiunily were at this time 
proprietors in Lagore and Scurlockstown, in the same county. 
In the rdlgn of Elizabeth, Michael Berford was the proprietor 
of Ejlrowe, as heir of the before mentioned Smon. In 1618 
Nicholas * Byrford,* who had been theretofore Clerk of the 
Crown, Peace, and Sessions in Meath, Westmeath, Longford, 
Louth, and the town of Drogheda, was seised of Newtown, 
near Trim, Culmullen and Scurlockstown, in the County of 
Meath; and in 1633 John, son and heir of James Berford, 
died seised of Kilrowe, leaving Michael his cousin and heir, 
then aged thirty years and married. It seems probable that 
he was the grandfather of the above officer. An individual 
of this surname was a Lieutenant in Lord Clare's Infantry, 
while, on the dvil establishment, Ignatius Berford was one of 
the Masters in Chancery. 




This name does not appear on the Attainders; and the 
manuscript entry appears mistaken for ' Golding/ a family 
that had been for long previous years settled at Archerstown 
in Westmeath. 

« ■ > 



The GoloneL 

Ifichad de U Hoyde, 

GowBii Talbot, 


John White. 


John Doyle. 

Thomas Neyflle. 

Thomas CowdalL 

Qamtt Byrne. 

•—«- Meade. 

John Byrae. 

Charles Toole. 

Hen. Niieent^ 

John Doyle. 


John Toole. 

Biyan McDonnell 
Garrett NowlnL 

liatthew Kearney. 

Daniel Doyle* 

Matthew CowdalL 
Patrick CamklL 


Bryan, Chaplain, 


Delamere, CqpUtm a la SmHe, 



TfitE materials, which the compiler of this work has amassed 
for illustratiiig the noble name of Nugent, would fill a large 
volume. Its descent &om the illustrious house of Bellesme, 
and its alliances with the Royaltj of England and Spain are 
shown at length in the Peerage of Sir Bernard Burke. In 
Ireland it is of record from the time when Hugh de Lacy, 
the powerful Palatine of Meath, granted the territory of 
Delvin to Gilbert de Nugent. In 1385 the King committed 
to Thomas Nugent of Ardeferry the custody of the Castle of 
Beauregard, with that of the Manor of Fore, and such fees 
as the Constable thereof had been accustomed to receive from 
Edmund Earl of March, the Lord of said castle and manor. 
Thomas Nugent had a similar grant of the custody of the 
Castle of Demor (Dimore), which was situated on the 
marches of the Irish enemy. This Thomas died in the 
following year, in which it was found on inquisition that 
John, son of John, late Baron of Delvin, had died seised of 
the manor of Delvin, which he held &om Boger, son and heir 
of Edmund de Mortimer, late Earl of March, as of his manor 
of Trim; and that Katherine, daugfatef of John, son of John, 
late Baron of Delvin,^ the sister and hdress of said John, son 
of John, was of full age, and married to William, son of 
Nicholas Nugent ; the Escheator, who had seised the 
property under the law of Escheats, was therefore ordered to 
deliver it to said William and EAtherine. In 1402 William, 
Baron of Delvin, was Sheriff of Meath, on election of the 
commons of that County; soon afler which O'Connor, 'an 
Irish enemy,' having burned Mnllingar and robbed the King's 


lieges, Richard, Lord Delvin, son of the aforesaid William, 
took him prisoner, and delivered him to the Lord Deputy. 
In 1449 said Bichard was himself Lord Deputy of Lreland ; 
while in 1463 Christopher the eleventh Baron of Delvin, was 
empowered by an Act of Parliament (unprinted) to call out a 
man from ev^ry house in that Barony, for the object of 
constructing fortresses, to protect the Pale against the inroads 
of the Lrishry; and in 1489 he was one of the Irish Peers 
whom Henry's policy, after his victory at Stoke over the 
adherents of Lambert Simnel, invited to a feast at Ghreenwich, 
where that impostor was forced to attend as a menial at the 
Boyal table. In 1570 Nicholas Nugent was constituted a 
Baron of the Irish Exchequer. In 1605 Richard, brother 
and heir of John Nugent, late of Clonaskeian, in Waterford, 
had livery of his estates ; as had, in 1610, Edward Nugent 
cousin and heir of Edward Nugent of Bracklin, deceased. 
In the following year Bobert Nugent of BaUynabnmagh, 
alias Walshestown, had a grant of the manor of Disert, with 
the castle, hall, stone-bawn, lough, and fish-pond; the great 
lough, called Lough-Ennell, with the fishing thereof as &r as 
it mears with the lands of Disert and Kilcowle, also the three 
islands therein, viz., the Great Island, two acres; Bobbin's 
Island, half*an-acre ; and Crow Island, one acre: the great 
lough, called Lough Waire, and certain small loughs running 
thereout into the Bog of Tullaghan, with sundry islands, 
moors, and b<^. In 1621 Bichard, Baron of Delvin, was 
created Earl of Westmeath. 

The inquisitions for attainder, taken on the name in 1642, 
were three in Meath, three in Kildare, and eight in the 
County of Cork ; while Cromwell's Parliamentary denuncii^ 
tion of 1652 excepted from pardon for hfe and estate Bichard 
Nugent, Earl of Westmeath. He was the grandfather of 


Thoottfl, the Eod under present emadeniian, who had 
married when about aizteen jesn of age, after wUch he went 
to tmrel, and cm his return obtvned the enmmand of thu 
B^iment. In 1686 James Nugent ivas Sheriff of Longford, 
as iras Thomas Nngient Sheriff of Westmeath, and John of 
Waterfoid, in the sune year. In King James's soooeeding 
Charters to the Corpoiations of Irdand, this name i^pears in 
oflioe on those of Dublin, Drogheda, SwvNrds, New Boss, 
Deny, Dongarvan, and St. Jdhnatown, Coontj of Dom^gaL 

Earl Thomas's B^ment is very ino(»nplete on the present 
Master, and has bat one of his own name. In the other 
Regiments of the list it is very nomeroasl j displayed, as in 
SarsfieLd's and Henry Lattrell's Horse, in Lord Dongan's 
DnigoonSi and in Fits^ames's, Tyrone's, I& Thomas 
Batkr^s, Sir John Fitz^Gerald's, and Sir Michael Creagb's 
respectiye B^ments of Infimtry. Colonel Bichard Nogent 
commanded another Begiment of Infimtry; James Nagent 
was Lieatenant-Colonel in Colonel John Hamilton's, while a 
Colonel Walter Nagent is recorded as haying been killed at 
the battle of Aoghrim.* In King James's Pariiament of 
1689, this Bad eat in the House of Peers^ though then under 
age, by a nmiki: Boyal dispensation to that accorded to the 
Earl of Chmcarty, as before mentioned {ante p. 116), and 
notwithstanding that his elder brother, the rightful Earl, was 
then living, but in holy orders and abroad. In the Commons, 
Colonel James Nugent was one of the Bepresentatives of St. 
Johnstown, County of Donegal; the Honourable William 
one of those for the County of Westmeath. (He was the 
youngest eon of Bicbard, the second Earl of Westmeath, and 
distinguished himeelf in Ejng James's service, especially by 

* aCaUaghasCi Green Book^ p. 455. 


forcing the pass over the bridge at Portglenone in April, 
1689, to facilitate approach to the Aege of Deny; he was 
killed at Cavan in 1690, leaving issue by his wife, who was a 
daughter of Sir Thomas Newcomen ; but they all died, s.p*) 
Edward Nugent of Carlanstown represented the Borough of 
Mullingar; John Nugent of Donore, and Christopher of 
Dardistown were the Members for that of Fore ; and Christo- 
pher Nugent of Dublin was one for that of Strabane. 

On the second day of the session, 8th of May, 1689, the 
Chief Justice Nugent, then just created Lord Baron 
Biverston (uncle of the Earl under present consideration), 
brought in a Bill, which was read twice that day, containing 
** a recognition of King James's title, and an abhorrence of 
the Prince of Orange's usurpation and of the defection oT the 
English.'' On the lOth, it received the third reading, (King 
James being himself present in the House), and was sent 
down to the Commons, where it was passed on the following 
day ; when the same mover introduced the Bill for encour* 
aging trade and merchant strangers, and on the 13th the 
more memorable Act for altering the Act of Settlement. 

This talented member of tiie name was settied at Pallas, 
in the County of Gralway; and, having attained much 
eminence at the bar, was appointed King's Counsel in 1685, 
and in the following year promoted to the King's Bench as 
one of the Justices; the King directing that he, Denis Daly, 
a Justice of the Common Pleas, and Charies Ingleby, a 
Baron of the Exchequer, should be admitted to their respec- 
tive o£5ices without taking the oatii of supremacy. In 1687 
he succeeded to the Chief Justiceship of his Bench, and was 
on the 3rd of April, 1689, created Baron Biverston. It is to 

* ArehdtMt Lodgers Peerage^ vol 1, p. 244« 


be espeoiaUy remarked, that this date was seven days h^ort 
that, on which the rebellion was declared by the Act of 
9 Will. 3, c. 2, to hare ccMnmeooed in Ireland. With snch a 
title, conferred, when James the Second was in the fiill and 
nnrestredned possession of the regal power in that country ; 
de facto and, in the eyes of many de jwrej King, Lord 
Biyerston sat a Peer in the F^liament of May, 1689. On 
the disastrous issue of the battle 'of the Boyne, he was one of 
the Privy Coundl who advised King James to retire to 
France, himself still continuing to bold the office of Secretary 
of State; and when Tyroonnel, after the defeat of King 
William from before Limerick, felt necessitated to pass over 
to the Exile's Court at^ St. Germains, and to place the 
govehunent of Ireland in the hands of the Duke of Berwick, 
that young and inexperienced nobleman was induced by some 
fictions insinuation to dismiss Lotd Biverston from the 
Secretaryship of War, which he then held,* and actually to 
confine him a prisoner in Gralway. On the return of Tyr- 
connel, however, to Lreland, he was immedtatdy released. 
In two days after the capitulation of Limerick, he recdved 
from Lieutenant-General Baron de Ginkell, the following 
recognition of his title. It recites that *' whereas the Bight 
Honourable Thomas Lord Biverston is comprehended in the 
late capitulation with the Irish army at Limerickf-and thereby 
entitled to be restored to his real and personal estate, and to 
all other advantages accruing by the said capitulation; and 
whereas the said Lord Biverston made suit to me for His 
Majesty's protection for himself, his family, and tenants, and 
for my passport and license to use and carry fire-arms, I do 
bereby receive the said Lord Biverston into their Majestiea* 

* Clarke* James U.^ vol % p. 42S. 



epeeial proteotioiif with his fiunilj, aervants, real and personal 
iestates^ and his tenants, their fiunilies and personal estates; 
and do hereby empower the said Lord Biverston and his 
servants to cony and nse three cases of pistols, three swords, 
and two firelocks for the defence of his person, house, stock, 
and goods, and do hereby order all officers civil and military 
in the respective connties, where any part of his real estates 
lies, to restore him to the possession thereof, and to be aiding 
and assisting to him in order to receive the issues and profits 
thereof, as at any time heretofore; and I do hereby command 
all officers civil and military, in the respective garrisons 
between Limerick and Galway, to sufier the said Lord 
!Riverston, his lady, fiunily, servants, goods, and carriages, to 
pass peaceably from Limerick to Ghdway, or his dwellings 
house in the County of Galway, or to any other part of the 
Kingdom a& his occasion may require ; and all governors and 
commanderfr>in-chief in Limerick, and all other garrisons 
between Limerick and his said house, are hereby required to 
fornish him with a sufficient convoy from garrison to garrison, 
from Limerick to his said house of abode; whereof all persons 
concerned are to take notice at their peril. Given at the 
Camp before Limerick, this 5th of October, 1691. Signed 
Bar. de GinkelL"* It is an interesting document to look 
upon. He was, however, attainted, and his title disallowed^ 
as conferred after James, as was alleged, had abdicated the 
English Crown. He had married the Honourable Mary 
Anne Bamewall, daughter of Viscount Kingsland, by whom 
he had issue three sons and five daughters. He remained in 
the Kingdom after the Bevolution, and died in 1715. 

* Copied from the original, in the posseanon of Lord Riventon's heir 

476 KING James's ibish abht list. 

His eldest son, Bichard-Hyacinth Nugent, who was 
attainted in 1696, fled to France, and there remained until 
1727; previous to which, on his proof that he was but six 
years of age at the time of his attainder, and that he had 
conformed to the Protestant religion. King George consented 
to the passing of a bill in the English Parliament, whereby 
this exile was permitted to return, and certain privileges were 
secured to him for the recovery of his lands, rents, &c. The 
title of Biverston was subsequently borne by the succeeding 
heirs male of the first Lord; but the present hdr, Anthony- 
Francis Nugent, declined its assumption. 

At the Battle of the Boyne« Bobert Nugent, a Comet in 
Tyrconnel's Horse, was wounded. In three days after, three 
ecclesiastics of the name were presented, as by the authority 
of Ejng James, to Irish benefices: Dr. William Nugent to 
the Bectory of Castletown-Delvin, Dr. Oliver Nugent to 
those of Ardmulchan, Ballynagarvy, and Timole, and the 
Beverend Bichard Nugent to the Bectory of Carrick. In 
1691, the Earl| who was Colonel of this Begiment, was 
indicted ; but he having been one of the hostages exchanged 
for the due observance of the articles of Limerick, the out- 
lawry was reversed, and he was restored to his estates and 
honours. He died in 1752, at the advanced age of 96. 
Others of the name, then attainted, were three in Meath, 
forty-five in Westmeath, four in Dublin, (one of whom, 
Francis Nugent, held the office of deputy prothonotary of 
the King^s Bench), one in Cavan, five in Boscommon; in 
Waterford three, Cork three, Drogheda two, and in Donegal 
one. At- the Court of Claims various petitions were pre- 
ferred, as for charges affecting the several estates of Sir John 
Nugent, Baronet, of Colonel Bichard Nugent, and Sir 
Thomas Nugent, of Christopher Nugent in Boscommon and 


Westmeath, and of James Nugent in the latter connty; 
while the above Earl and the aforesaid Thomas, Lord Bivers- 
ton, as Executors of Bichard, late Earl of Westmeath, claimed 
and were allowed the benefit of a mortgage affecting Dardis- 
town and other lands. 

[Christopher Nugent, who had inherited Dardistown, and 
whose eldest brother Walter had been killed at Aughrim, 
followed the Ez-EIing to France, where he was promoted to 
the rank of Major-General and Colonel of a Begiment of 
Horse, which did effective service. Many other gallant 
officers of this name acquired great reputation in the cam- 
paigns on the Continent, after the capitulation of Limerick 
cast them out from their native soil. Amongst those were 
the Honorable John Nugent, afterwards fifth Earl of West- 
meath ; the Chevalier and Baronet Peter de Nugent, a 
Lieutenant-Oeneral in France; and at the present day, the 
gallant Lavallin, Count and Prince Nugent, a venerable Field 
Marshal in Austria, was actively present at Solferino, the 
last of the Austrian army that 1^ the town after that closing 
engagement of the Italian campaign,] 




This family is upon Irish record from the days of Bichard 
the Second, in whose time Walter, son of James de la Hide, 
Knight, was appointed Constable of the Castle of Carbry. 
In 1527 Christopher De la Hide was a Justice of the Irish 
Common Pleas, to the Chief-Justiceship of which court 
Bichard De la Hide was elevated in 1532. When in 1528 


O'Connor (OflWey) took Lord Delvin, then Viceroy of 
Ireland, prisoner, Sir Walter de la Hyde and Waiter 
Wellesley of Dangan were oonumfleioned to expostulate with 
the Irish ohief, and to obtain the Deputy's enlargement, but 
they were unsuooessful in their mediation, and his Lordship 
wa« held in confinement until O^Connor's pension (whidi had 
been stopped) was restored to him by an order of state. In 
1537 the Act for the Attainders, consequeM upon the 
G^raldine rebellion, included ^that most falae, disloyal tcaytor* 
James Delahyde,' 'the prindpal oouncillor of tbe Lord 
Thomas Fitz-Gerald in all his doings^' (son and heir of the 
aforesaid Walter de la Hide of Moyglare, Knight)^ with John 
de la Hide and Edward Delahide, Persoii of £i]b»y, and 
diyera others. By a subsequent Statute of Queen Elizabeth, 
however, in 1585, after reciting these attainders of the 
Delahide fkmily, Laurence de la Hide, the son of said James, 
and grandson of Sir Walter of Moyglare, was, by the Queen 
and Parliament, restored to his ancient blood and lineage. In 
1606 Anthony, son and h^ of Bichard 'Delahoyde,' late of 
Lough Shene in the County of Dublin, had liyery of his 
family estate; as had Luke Delahoyde in 1615, as son and 
heir of Bichard Delahoyde of Moyglare, deceased. In 1642 
Francis Delahoyde of Phepoestown, County of Dublin, was 
attainted; as was Nicholas 'Delahoyde' of Camagjb, County 
of Kildare in 1691. Lieutenant^olonel Michael appears to 
have been of the Moyglare line, but no certain notice of him 
has been discovered. «-*««<-' Delahoyde was an Ensign in Lord 
Slane's In&ntiy. 



In 1335 Thomas Wycoumbe sued out a posseseoiy writ. In 
the reign of Biehard the Third, Nieholas * Wycombe' is of 
record as in Meath. Marcus, Christopher and Peter Wicombe 
appear on the Wicklow attsdnders of 1642, as do Christopher 
and John, also described as of Wicklow, on the Outlawries of 


This same is traceable on the records of Ireland from the 
period of the Invasion. The Abbe McGeogfaegan, indeed, 
suggests that Walter White, in Henry the Second's time 
Govemor over a certain district of South Wales, came over 
then to Ireland with his brothers, who scattered themselves 
over that country, their chief house being at LdxHp. 
OrteHus's Map more especially locates the name in ihe 
County of Down. It fi4)pear8 however in connection with 
various other counties of Ireland. In 1324 John le White 
had a vested interest in Ballygarvan, Kilkenny; in 1346 
Thomas, son of Bobert White of Adare, was constituted one 
of tl^ guardians of the peace in Limeridc, wilii power to 
assess and array; John White of Sjiockbrin was of the 
leading gentay who, in 1356, elected its Sheriff; Adam White 
was at this time ecmstable of the castle of Cajshel. Richard 
White of the line of Clongell, is noticed thare in 1359 ; and 
he was in 1373 summoned to a Great Council John White 
was one of Ihe two Commissioners appointed in 1381 to assess 


and array within the City of Limerick for a hosting. In 
1393 John, son of Roger White of Down, was Constable of 
Grreen-Castie in Ulster, and subsequently of that of Carling- 
ford. In 1386 Richard White was Prior of the splendid mitred 
Religious House at Kilmainham. In two years after, Robert 
White was constituted Treasurer of the Liberty of Ulster 
and Baron of the Exchequer : Nicholas White of Clonmel 
was then a Justice in eyre. 

The Whites of Louth and Dublin, having adhered to the 
cause of Richard the Second, their estates in those counties, 
including Roche Castie near Dundalk, became forfeited; 
they had however subsequently qualified pardons. Robert 
White, who was at this time Prior of the great House of 
Kilmainham, as Richard White had been theretofore, had 
license of absence for one year to England in the King's 
service. Another Richard White was a Juatiee in eyre in 
1409, in which year James, son of Jeffry 'Whit' ^armiger^ 
had a license to send his children, sons and daughters, to any 
of the sept of O'Neill or other the King's enemies, and to 
make partnerships and parleys with them 'for the King's 
advantage.' In 1411 Henry White was Abbot of the 
magnificent Cistercian establishment at Mellefont. Henry 
the Sixth, in the first year of his reign appointed John White 
his attorney as well in the Exchequer as in the Conmion 
Pleas, with an annual salary of 100 shillings and all other 
perquisites and emoluments, In 1424 James White, Eoiight, 
had a confirmatory grant of the ofiSce of Constable of Carling- 
ford, witii the customs and 'ferriage' and the lordship of 
Coly, to hold to him and his four sons, Christopher, Lewis, 
John and Patrick. John White was then Superior of the 
borough town of Clonmel. In 143X James White of Trim 
was appointed Chief Remembrancer of the Irish Exchequer, 


while John White obtained the Chief Seigeantcy of Louth« 
In 1518 Nicholas White senior was seised of the dissolved 
abbey of Knocktopher, with sundiy of its possessions. 

Sir Patrick White of Kilflallaghan was a Baron of the 
Exchequer from 1535 to 1559. In 1572 Nicholas *Whyte' 
of Whyte's Hall, was appointed Master of the Bolls there ; 
soon after which a * Colonel John White/ who was bom in 
Waterford in 1568, settled at Tirlemont in the Netherlands, 
and became founder of a branch of the &mily traceable in the 
foreign armies,* and believed to be only recently extinct. 
Another emigrant, Dominick White, passed off in the time 
of James the First, from Limerick to Bourdeaux, where he 
settled. He was seised of considerable house property in that 
city, which he had theretofore conyeyed to the use of his son 
Bichard, with remainders in tail male to other sons of his, 
viz., Stephen, Edward, and Bartholomew. 

In 1605 John White of Dufferin, in Down, conveyed to 
Trustees all his estates therein, as well as others in Eil- 
mainham, Chapel-izod, and elsewhere in Ireland, to hold to 
&mily uses ; and in the same year, this John described as son 
and heir of Walter White late of Balregan in Louth, sued 
out a license of seisin; as did Nicholas, son and heir of 
Andrew White and heir of Nicholas White, late of Leixlip. 
In 1612 James White passed patent for the Castle of Crow* 
bally with sundry lands in Cork; while in three years after 
William White had livery, as son and heir of Walter White 
of Angwellestown in Meath, deceased. In 1616 Nicholas 
White, before mentioned at 1605, had a grant of a daily 
pension of 48. for his life, inasmuch as his grand&ther and 
father had been slain in the service of the Crown. In 1637 

* (yCaOagJum's Brigades, vol 1, p. 342. 
YOL. II. 2 I 


Alison, heiress of Patrick White of Clonmel, had livery of 
her estates ; as had Sir Nicholas White of the manor of 
Leixlip in the same year, which had been theretofore granted 
to his ancestor bj patent, together with St. Catherine's, near 
the Salmon Leap, parcels of the estates of dissolved religious 
houses in Kildare and Waterford; he had also a house and 
garden in High-street, between those occupied by Alderman 
John Qt>odinge and John 'Ennas/ tailor, with various rec- 
tories, tithes, and lands in the counties of Dublin, Wicklow, 
and Kildare. In the same year Edward White of Bab^th- 
nesly. County of Wexford, as son and heir of Richard White, 
had license of livery, as had likewise.the Whites of Clongell. 
The Attainders of 1642 name James White of Carbury, 
County of Kildare, clerk ; with Patrick of Boddenstown, and 
James and Nicholas of Clongell, in the County of Meath. 
In the Supreme Council of 1646 sat John Whitd of Clonmel; 
while the Act of Settlement named a John White, described 
as of Loyhall, County of Limerick, with express acknowledg- 
ment of Boyal gratitude for his services beyond the sea. In 
1677, &c., Alexander White passed patent for 715 acres in 
Cavan, as did Sir Stq)hen White for 2,159 in limeridL; 
Thomas White for 269 in Westmeath, and subsequently for 
215 in Galway ; William White, described as 'of Lyme-Begis, 
merchant,' for 320 in Limerick; Henry White for 734 in 
Clare and 894 in Mayo ; Nicholas White for 1,006 in Oalway ; 
and Stephen, nephew and heir to Pierce White, for 485 in 

Besides the above Captain John, this name appears com- 
missioned in seven other Regiments of the List. 

In the Parliament of Dublin, Roland White was one of 
the Representatives of Newry, Alderman Nicholas White of 
the Borough of Clonmel, Nicholas White (of New Ross, 

EABL OF westmbath's ikfantbt. 488 

merchant,) of that of Clooghmine, and Charles White (who 
was clerk of the pipe) of the Borough of Naaa. This last 
individual was of the Leixlip j&milj, afterwards a Privy 
CounciUor; he raised an Independent Troop for King 

Jameses service: one of the name was an Ensign in 

Charles 0*Bryan's Infantry. The Member for Newry, 
Roland White, had a saving of the benefit of the Articles 
of Limerick, on the same groimds, and subject to the same 
conditions as in the case of Colonel Simon Luttrel. On the 
Attainders of 1691 the above Captain John is described as 
of Bellymore in the County of Westmeath, with three others 
of the same locality, Ignatius White of Dublin, commonly 
called Marquess of Abbeville, who had been King James's 
envoy in Holland, and seventeen more of the name, in 
Wexford, Kildare, Tipperary, Down, Cork, Clare, Water- 
ford, and Limerick, were also then attainted. 


The O'Doyles were an influential Sept of Carlow and 
Wexford. On the Attainders of 1642 appear three of the 
name in Wicklow, John, Maolmurry, and James ; and one in 
Meath, James, who was of the Supreme Council at Kilkenny. 
On the present Army list, besides Captain John, two other 
Doyles were commissioned, Andrew in the Boyal Infantry, 
and Edmund in O'Qura's. Those attainted in 1691 were 
the above officer, described as of Arldow, County of Wicklow, 
three others in Wexford, and one in Meath, ELildare, and 
Dublin, severally. One of these appears to have been a 
Quartermaster in Clifford's Dragoons, and another a Lieu- 
tenant in Colonel John Hamilton's Infantry. A branch of 


the fiunily was subsequently settled in the County Carlow, 
of which was Francis Hastings Doyle, who was created a 
Baronet in 1828, and was &ther of Sir F. N. Charles 
Doyle, the present Baronet, Beceiver-General of the Customs. 


He is described, in his attainder, as Thomas Neville of 
Bathmore, in the County of Kildare. In 1386 King 
Bichard committed to Simon Neyille the custody of the 
manor and rents of Boscarlan in Wexford, at which time 
he was appointed a guardian of the peace in that County, 
and in three years after he was its Sheriff. Balph Neville 
was a Justice in eyre in Cork in 1395. In 1402 Walter 
Nevyle had a grant of an annuity of £20 for his public 
services. In the following year Thomas Nevyll was by the 
King promoted to the Deanery of Ferns. In 1408 estates, 
of which David ' Candelan' had been theretofore seised in 
Kilkenny, were committed to the custody of Geoffrey Neville. 
John Neville was one of the influential proprietors of Wex- 
ford then appointed to levy a State subsidy over that County; 
and in the same year TVlUiam Neville, merchant, had license 
to export com to Bourdeaux, for victualling the household of 
the Lord Lieutenant and other liege subjects theie. In 1480 
Doctor Laurence Neville, of the Wexford line, was promoted 
to the see of Ferns. A Lieutenant Neville was distingmshed 
in the Desmond war, on the Queen's side, and in 1610 
Nicholas Neville died seised of Ambrosetown and other 
premises in Wexford, leaving two daughters, Ellen and 
Katherine, his co-heiresses. In 1621 Widter < Novell * died 


seised of other lands in the same county ; Walter his son and 
heir was bom after his fitther's death. In 1705 Queen Anne 
directed payment of £200 to Captain Francis Neville, for a 
survey made by him of a projected canal from Lough Neagh 
to Newry, of which the estimated cost being £20,000, the 
Irish House of Commons declined to forward the object. 
In 1720 John Neville was Sheriff of the County of Dublin. 


This name, though now rare, is of record in Ireland from 
the time of Edward the Second. Nothing, however, is 
known of this officer, except that in 1693 he sued out his 
pardon firom attainder, on the groimd that he had early sur- 
rendered himself, and had actually gone over to the service 
of King William. * 


This very ancient fiunily claims descent fix)m Herbert, who, 
having been an able commander of the fleet of Robert the 
Dane, was popularly styled De-Ia-mer, and he obtained 
the hand of RoUo's daughter in marriage. His great-great- 
grandson and namesake was one of the warriors selected by 
William the Conqueror to be his companion in arms in the 
descent on England, and, soon after its successful issue, he 
obtained a grant of lands in Cheshire. His great-grandson, 

♦ Harries M8S. in Dub. Soc., vol 10, p. 240. 


William Delameret accompanied ' Strongbow* in tha invasion 
of Ireland; and Henry the Second, when he came over 
thither in 1171, allocated to him a large tract in Westem- 
Meath, where valour and allegiance were most needed, 
situated as it was on the very verge of the Pale, and in £ront 
of the Irishrj of Annaly. This William, with the politic 
object of conciliating the natives, selected for his wife a 
daughter of tiiat great House which tiieretofore ruled 
over Ireland, Dorothy O'Melaghlin; and he fixed his resi- 
dence at Donore on Lough Derrivaragh. As in Cheshire, his 
ancestors aj^iear to have given name to Delamer-forest, 
William's own territory in Meath was distinguished as 
* Delamer*s oountry,* nor was it until 1543 that this designation 
was, by an act of the Irish Parliament, directed to be changed 
to the Barony of Bossaugh, now Corkree and Moygoish. 

At the close of the thirteenth century, John Delamere, of 
the English stock, was summoned as a Baron to do military 
service against the Scots, before and after which year he had 
many summonses to Parliament. He served under Edward 
the First in the expedition into Gascony, and was present at 
the memorable siege of Carlaverock, near Dumfiies, in 1300. 
About the same time Richard Delamere, of Donore, married 
Anne, daughter of Sir John Wogan of Batiicoffy, in Kildare, 
heretofore particularly mentioned. His son William founded 
the once splendid Franciscan Friary at Multi&mham beside 
Donore, in 1306, as commemorated on an ancient monument 
still existing in its cemetery. The family armorials engraved 
upon this stone cover nearly half its sur&oe, and there 
thenceforth were these Delameres interred. 

In 1350 died a very remaikable member of the English 
Delameres, Thomas Delamere, Abbot of the noble Beligious 
House at St. Alban^s, to whom King Edwaxd the Third, 


after his victory at Poictiers, committed the care rather than 
the codtody of his Royal captiye, John of France. In 1373 
John Delamere of Multifarnham was summoned to a great 
Council or Parliament in Dublin. In 1412 Maurice, son of 
this John, having proposed to erect a castle at the end of the 
bridge of Multifarnham, the manor of which he held, and 
which, as he shewed, was situated in front of the marches 
adjoining the OTerralls, Irish enemies, received in considera- 
tion of this service a license to levy such tolls there, as 
were levied at Athboy or Kells; said license to enure for 
thirty years thence ensuing. Peter Delamer of this line 
married Honoria, daughter of John Nugent of Bracklyn, 
ancestor of (amongst other eminent descendants) the venerable 
Austrian Field Marshal, Lavallin Nugent. Walter Delamer 
in the sixth generation from this Peter, was Governor of the 
County of Longford in the troubled time of Charles the 
First, in whose cause he raised a Regiment of which himself 
was Colonel, and of the privates the majority were Delameres. 
At the head of this devoted band he fell in the breach at the 
storming of Drogheda, where forty of the name are said to 
have perished, and, in the confiscations that then ensued, 
twelve Delameres, proprietors in their old country, were left 
landless. Theobald, the only son of the above Colonel 
Walter, an infant when his fiither fell, lived to continue the 
family. His eldest son, Henry Delamere, appears to have 
been the above officer, and he married Margaret O'Reilly, 
niece of the celebrated Sir Phelim O'Neill. Of tiieir lineal 
descendants those now living are — 1, John of Killeen Lodge, 
near the old Friary of Multifarnham, now representative of 
this race; 2, Patrick Murray Delamere his brother, dis- 
tinguished through upwards of twenty years' service in the 
Spanish army, by orders, honours, and wounds; he is con- 


nected by marriage with Marshal O'Donnel, and ranks as a 

Major-Oeneral and Commandant of the Spanish cavalry at 

Porto Rico ; while his brother, Peter Herbert Dekmere, a 

Lieutenant of the 2l8t, the Royal North British Fusiliers, 

has served with his Regiment during the late war in the 9 

Crimea and Mediterranean, and has won his medal and clasp 

at the siege and fidl of Sebastopol. 







The GoloneL 

■ BeftnpPBy 

Mon^. Dnrett. 

GalUilian UK}aTty. 

David Odt. 

Oairett Conrecy. 

Donogh Mac Sweeny. 


Sobeit Domey. 

Charles MK^arty. 

Donogh O'Brien. 

Ghaiies M^Carfy. 

Comelhu Curtain. 

Patrick Hide. 

Patrick Arthur. 

Edmund Barry 

Denis Falvey. 


Peter M'Sweeny. 

Miles de Coiosy. 

David Trant 

Maorice Fitz-€(erald. 

Philip Cogan. 

John Mshony. 

David Barry. 

Ednrand Barrett 

Ganett Fitz-Gerald. 

Daniei CHeilihey. 

Gaiiett Cotny. 


Florence MK^arty. 


^— Barry. 

Florence M'Carty. 
Edmund Colt 
Garrett Conraey. 
Edmnnd Bfac Sweeny. 
Bedmond Connor. 
WilUam Harrold. 
Charles MK}arty. 
John Condon. 
Callahan MK}arty. 
Richard Bnlman. 
James Roche. 
Piers Stapleton. 
James Baggott 
Dermott Falvey. 


Donogh M*Sweeny. 
Thomas Bntler. 
James Trant 
Philip Snpple. 
John Barry. 
Martin Mahony. 
David Barry. 
Charles M*Carty. 
James Qninn. 
Daniel 0*H€rilhey. 


— 0*Gkirman. 


St FhaUe. 

Dela Martiniere. 
Teigoe Qlomey. 
Richard Colt 
Denis ^Keefe.* 
Symon Mac Sweeny. 
John Trant 
Thomas Haly. 
Bartholomew Lea^. 
Gibbon Fitz-Gibbon. 
David Roche. 
Constans *Keefe.' 
Daniel *0*Keefe.* 
PhiUp * Wolfe.' 
David Bany. 
Hugh Falvy. 
■ Sweeny. 
. Edmmid M*Sweeny 
Michael Trant 
Edmnnd Fitz-Gerald. 
Donogh M^Carty. 
James Mahony. 
John Daly. 
Teigae M'Carty. 
Kat White. 
Garrett Barry. 


— .« O'Donoghne. 
*— Stack. 

Qffic&n a ia 9uiUB. 
Nine French Captdns : three Irish. Three French Lieutenants : two Irish. 



"BoiSSBLEAU," writes O'Conor* '* a Captain of the French 
Groardfl, who had some knowledge, wluch none of the Irish 
had, of the defence of fortified towns, was sent to Ireland 
with the rank of ' Marshal de Camp,* or Major-General." 

When King James, soon after his landing, proceeded to 
Cork on his way to Dublin, Bmsselean was bj him deputed 
to command in the former city, in lieu of Lord Mount-Cashel, 
and the names on this Colonel's Regiment show that it was 
prindpallj raised thereabout, and Boisseleau accordingly ocnn- 
manded there until, on the landing of the Duke of Schonberg 
in the North, Ulster appeared the incipient seat of war; 
whereupon, when King James, in November 1689, was 
necessitated to break up his camp at Ardee, by reason of the 
want of forage, and to retire to I)rogheda, he left six 
battalions of Foot and fifty Horse there, under the command 
of this Major-General, scattering little garrisons on both sides 
of it to secure the country .f Boisseleau soon afterwards 
made an attack on Newry, but was repulsed. He was, after 
the defeat at the Boyne, by reason of his engineering skill, 
appointed Governor of Limerick, before its first siege by 
King WiUiam, the city having then a garrison of fi>urte»i 
Regiments of Infiuitry, with three of Horse and two of 
Dragoons. During that siege he, the Duke of Berwick, and 
Sarsfield, are recorded as having been most active in pre- 
venting its STurrender. ''In the midst of a cannonade of 
eighteen pieces of artillery, supported by a prodigious blaze 

• CfOamr's MiUt, Mem.^ p. 1 16. f Clara's James IL^ v. 2, p. 383. 


of musketry, his standard was planted at the top of the 
breach."* [He maintained the Citj with great gallantry and 
success, from the 9th to the 31st August, compelling King 
William to nuse the siege after severe losses, especisJly at the 
principal assault on the 27th, where 2,148 of his best troops 
were killed or wounded. Soon after the retreat of the 
benegers, Boisseleau retired to his native country, where he 
was, in 1693, appointed Governor of Charleroy by liouis the 
Fourteenth, in five years aft;er which he died.] 


Nothing more is known of this officer or his family, except 
that he was attainted in 1691, by the description of David 
' Coult' of Ballyammon, County of Cork. 


The Mac Sweenys were, in their origin, a branch of the 
O'NdUfl, and settling in Donegal, established there three 
great lines. They also became dirtinguished and influential 
proprietors in Munster in the thirteenth century, where they 
ranked as sub-feudatory to the Mac Cartys, Princes of 
Desmond. According to Smith's History of Corky they 
located themselves in the parish of Kilmurry, where they 
built some castles, one especially at Clodagh, near Macroom. 

* aCaUaghan'8 Brigades, y. 1. p. 374. 


In 1378 died Turlough Mac Sweenj, ' High Constable of 
Connanght;' and anodier Mac Sweenj is also so styled, in a 
notice of the Foor Masters at 1397. In 1424 says the same 
authority, ''died Maohnana Mac Sweeny, Constable of 
Tyroonnel, the star of defence and bravery of the province." 
In 1524 '' Mac Sweeny of Tir-Boghain (Barony of Bannagh, 
in Donegal), i«., Niall More, son of Owen, died, after extreme 
nnction and penance, in his own castle at Sathain, on the 
14th of December.'' These Annalists, having executed th^ 
great history in the Abbey of Donegal, and h&ng intimately 
connected with that county, make frequent mention of the 
Mac Sweenys there located, and especially record at 1524 a 
treacherous invasion on their territory by the Mac Donnells 
and their Scots. 

In 1560 occurs their first notice of this Sept in Munster, 
when the sons of the Earl of Desmond having marched into 
Carberry (Co. of Cork) on a foray, Mac Carty ^Riavach' 
attacked the plunderers, bdng aided by " Turlogh the son of 
Maolmurry, son of Donogh, son of Turlogh Mac Sweeny, of 
the tribe of Donogh More, from Tuaith Tiraidhe (Tory 
Island, off Donegal), with a brave select party of gallow- 
glasses.'* In 1587, when Sir John Perrot^s memorable 
stratagem was effectuated in the Bay of Lough Swilly, by 
the enticing of Hugh Boe O^DonneU on shipboard, and his 
capture, '* Mao Sweeny ' of tiie districts,' in common with aU 
others of that country, came to the shore, and they proffered 
hostages and sureties in lieu of him; but it was of no avail to 
hun, for there was not a hostage in the Province of Ulster 
they would take in his stead." In the following year the 
Lord Justice, joined by Sir Bichard Bingham and Sir 
Thomas Norris, and most of the men of Ireland, except those 
of the Province of Ulster, marched with a great army against 


Mac Sweeaj 'of the districts' and O'Boiirke; who had made 
fnendsy p and alliance with the men of the Spanish fleet (the 
Armada;) and these forces, (the Lord Deputy's,) spoiled 
everything they found before them, not belon^ng to the 
Queen's people, firom the Biver Suck to Burdrowis (in 
Leitrim), and thence to the Biver Finn (in Donegal) ; how* 
ever, they neither took nor endangered Mac Sweeny or 
O'Bourke on that occasion. 

Of the Munster line of this sept, six passed over to Spain, 
after the result of the war in that province, in the time of 
Queen Elizabeth. In 1606, nevertheless, it appears that 
Hugh ' Mac Swyne,' son and heir of Colla Mac Swyne of 
Xilkee in Clare, had livery of certain estates there; while 
Walter, son of Loughlin Mac Sweeny, had a grant of nearly 
1,000 acres in Donegal, as had Donald Mac Sweeny Fanett 
in the same coimty. In 1612 King James directed Sir 
Arthur Chichester, on behalf of Owen Mac Sweeny, to 
accept a surrender of his lands and to grant to him a patent 
for their restoration on a new title. A short time previous to 
this, when Clare was being planted into a county, Owen 
Mac Sweeny was found seised of three castles therein, viz., 
at Dunymulahill, Carrigentruher, and Beatneforvamayne. 
'' This Owen," says Smith,* '^ was particularly recommended 
by the Lord Danvers, President of Munster, and by Sir 
Bichard Morison, Vice-president, for having performed many 
faithful services in that King's reign and in Queen Eliza- 

In 1618 died Connell Mac Swyne, seised of 2,000 acres in 
Donegal, his son and heir being Donell garow Mac Swine, 
then aged 52, and married. In two years after Owen madder 

♦ fl&toiy ^ Corik, V. 1, p. 186. n. 


Mac Swine died seised also of estates in Donegal, Turlogh 
oge his son and heir being then aged twentj-twaand married. 
By an inquisition of 1625 it was found, that of this devoted 
family Knogher Mac Swyne had then recently died in Spain, 
without executors or administrators, and that Neale baUagh 
Mac Swyne was at that time living beyond sea, in the King 
of Spain's army with O'Neill's sons. In 1636 died the 
aforesaid Donell garovo Mac Swine, seised in fee of Renduff- 
Carrick in Denial, Donell the younger, his son and heir, 
being then married. 

Notwithstanding the President's aforesaid recommendation 
of the above Owen Mac Sweeny, his son Owen Mac Sweeny 
oge^ was attainted in 1642, and thus forfeited the property, 
which was so theretofore granted to his lather. His outlawry 
describes him as of Mashaneglass in Cork ; in which county 
"^ere at the same time (1643) outlawed Maolmuny Mac 
Sweeny of Artaghrugh, and Morrough Mac Sweeny of 
Knockumoddry; the former of whom was further, by Crom- 
well's denouncing ordinance of 1652, excepted from pardon 
for life and estate. 

Besides the three Mac Sweenys in this Kegiment, the name 
was in comnussion in eight others, viz., FitsJames's, Kilmal* 
lock's, Owen Mac Carty's, Mountcashel's, Henry IKllon's, 
John Barrett's, Roger Mao Elligott's, and the Earl of 
Antrim's In&ntry. In September, 1691, ^ Bobert King 
(ancestor of Viscount Lorton) wrote to Colonel Lloyd, then 
Governor of Athlone, in relation to the state of afl&irs about 
Boyle; '* There is one Mac Sweeny has a party of about one 
hundred men well armed in the woods of Moygaia, four miles 
fix>m this ; and, though the numbers are so great to the 
Sheriff's twenty men (aU that he has here), and our as yet 
unsettled militia, they have not ventured on us, nor durst, 

boisseleau'b ikfaktby. 495 

could you favour us with a company of your men.'** The 
Attainders of 1691 include three of the name in the County 
of Cork, five in Donegal, and one in Mayo. 

At the battle of Ypres, says a Gazette of the year 1745, 
the Irish Troops in the French service recovered the field 
when the French Guards gave way, but they suffered much ; 
and in Bulkeley's Begiment, which was one of those gallant 
bands. Captain Morgan Mac Sweeny was severely wounded ; 
as was Captain Boger Sweeny, of the same Regiment, 
mortally, at Lauffield, in two years after. 


An Owen 0*Domey, described as of CloneduUane, County 
of Cork, was attainted. Nothing has been ascertained of 
this officer or of his fiunily, but firom his associates in this 
Regiment he would seem to be of the same county. 


He was attainted in 1696, by the description of Cornelius 
* Curtan' of Mellyforttown, County Cork, Gent., and the 
name is still known in that county. 


SiB ABTHtTR 'Htde,' who was made a Knight Baronet 
by Queen Elizabeth, having raised a Regiment in England 

* UAUorCs Amab of Boyle, v. 1, p. 275. 

496 KING James's ibish abmt list. 

at the time of the Inyasion by the invindble Armada, waa 
one of the Mimster undertakers endowed with 6,000 acres 
of the Desmond forfeitures in Cork. This Captain, it would 
seem, was his relative. Patrick's name does not appear on 
the Attainders of 1691, but only that of Hugo Hide ' of 
BallymaoPhillip, County of Cork.' On ^e Boll of the 
' 1649' OfiBcers is the name of Captain William Hide. 


The O'Falveys were Chiefs of Cork, and in ancient times 
recorded, as the hereditary Admirals t>f Desmond. One of 
the despairing emigrants, who passed into Spain after the 
wars of Elizabeth's time, was John ' O'Falleyay.' 


The Sept of O'Leary was territorially settled isi Muskerry, 
County of Cork, between Macroom and Inchigeela, where 
are still the ruins of several of their Castles. They suffered 
much in the Desmond war, and, on the defeat of Juan de 
Aquila at Kinsale, Mahon, son of Donoogh O'Leary, passed 
over with him out of Ireland. On the Attainders of 1642 
occur the names of Connor O'Leary of Carrignycorry, 
Auliffe O'Leary of Cunnowley, with fourteen other O'Learys, 
all located in the County of Cork. On those of 1691 
William Leary of Aghare, County Cork, stands alone ; while 
Keadagh Leary ranks in this List a Lieutenant in Sir John 
FitzCterald's Begiment of Infantry. 



This name is of record in Ireland from the Invasion, often 
and eminently displayed in its history, especially in con- 
nection with Cork, the whole of which comity Henry the 
Second, on his invasion of Ireland, conferred jointly upon 
Milo de Cogan, and Robert Fitz-Stephen his uncle. The 
former, in the year before the landing of Hepry, was en- 
gaged, according to the Four Masters, in a battle at 
Dublin, with Asgal, son of Keginald, King of the Danes 
there ; ' many fell on both sides, English and Danes ; among 
whom were Asgal himself, John, a Norwegian from the 
Orkney Isles, and many others.' Milo was therefore 
projected to be the first Constable of Dublin, after its 
reduction from Ostmen rulers. In 1221 Bichard de Cogan, 
who was possessed of lands in the ^ honor' of Bray, was 
summoned to attend a Great Coimoil, as was John de Cogan 
to do military service against the Scots in 1244. In 1294 
John Cogan was required to do military service in Grascony, 
as he was again in the ensuing year. He died in 1309, and 
was buried in St. Saviour's Friary, Dublin. In 1318 
Bamaba, the widow of another Milo de Cogan, a descendant 
of the above Chieftain, sued out license to marry, non obstante 
the existing state of the laws. By a writ of the same year 
it was recited that John Wogan had been the custodee of 
the estates of John de Cogan deceased, during the minority 
of Milo his son and heir, and that said Milo had also lately 
died, whereupon the inheritance accrued to his brother Peter, 
who was likewise un^er age, the King th^efore committed 
the custody of said estates to the aforesiud John Wogan. 

VOIi. II. 2 K 


Henry de Cogan was at this period so influential, that, on 
his recommendation, many Irish natives were naturalized, 
as &r as was then allowable, and several charters were 
granted to certain boroughs. In 1327 John de Cogan was 
Treasurer of Xreland, as was William Cogan in 1334. In 
the following year Milo de Cogan had special summons to 
attend John D'Arcy, the Justiciary, in his expedition into 
Scotland. In 1355 five of this name in Cork sued out 
letters of pardon and protection on payment of fines. In 
1376 Peter de Cogan died seised of extensive landed estates 
in Cork, including the manor of Mora, two-thirds of the 
manor of Shandon and two water mills. Walter de Cogan 
was at this time seised of lands in Connaught, and in 1399 
Bobert Cogan was appointed Sheriff of the County of Cork. 
In 1438 Bobert, son of Qeoffiy Cogan, granted to Gerald 
Fitz-Gerald, Lord of Dedes, half of that County, described 
as all his lands in Ireland. In 1488 James Cogan, being 
Prior of the great monastery of Holmpatrick, took the oath 
of allegiance to Sir Richard Edgecombe, as required by the 
then recent rising for Lambert Simnel. 

In March, 1601, Bichard, son of Philip Cogan, was one 
of those who emigrated to Spain with Don Juan de Aquila, 
about which time John de Courcy, eighteenth Lord of 
Kinsale, married Catherine, daughter of William Cogan, 
from which marriage the Baronage has been lineally continued 
to Baron John Constantine, the present Lord Kinsale. 

A James Cogan was Lieutenant in another Munster 
Be^onent of Infantry, that of Colonel Nicholas Browne; 
he was attsdnted in 1691, being described as of Eilmore, 
County of Cork, mth Captain Philip styled of Carrickbrinna, 
in that county. 



Thb^ O'Mahonjs, of the Heber Milesian lineage, were 
powerful chieftains in Munster, sometimes styled Princes, 
and had extensive estates along the sea coast of Cork and 
Kerry. Opposite Horse Island, off the former county, was 
their castle of Bosbrin, boldly erected on a rock over the 
sea; and its proprietor in the time of Queen Elizabeth, 
availing himself of the natural advai^tage it possessed, led 
a life of such successful piracy, that Sir George Carew, when 
Lord President, was obliged to demolish it. Smith says 
there was an ancient Irish Chronicle, called from this locality 
the Psalter of Bosbrin, which contmed a genealogical 
account of the O'Mahonys.* The same authority says that 
Flan, who conquered a large tract of country in Cork, was 
the ancestor of Beake, one of the 0*Mahonys from whom, 
according to the Munster annals, the territory of Kinal- 
Meaky (£anel-m-beace) which was anciently part of Carbury, 
took its name. The Kinalmeaky O'Mahonys were considered 
junior to those of Carbury, which latter were distinguished 
as O'Mahony Fionn* This Sept had several Castles along 
the sea coast, as at Bosbrin aforesaid, Ardintenant, Black- 
castle, Ballydesmond, Dunbeclan, Dunmanus, Bingmahon, 
&c., Sec. In the manuscripts of the Lambeth Library, is 
a " note of the names of all the plow-lands belonging to the 
'O'Mahone' Fionn in Duagh, a part of West Carbury;" 
also ^* the division of the territory of Iveagh (the peninsula 
of Mizen Head), a part also of Carbury, among the O'Ma- 

• SmUfCs Cbrife, vd. 1, p. 284. 



honys." This O'Mahony Fionn, says an ancient authority,* 
was " Sovereign Prince of Rath-lean, and next lawful heir 
to the Crown of Cashel, when vacant for want of a successor; 
and, on coming into the presence of the King of Cashel, 
he was not bound to make any other homage than to bow his 

In 950 died Donough O'Mahoiiy, Abbot of Glendaloch 
and Clonmacnoise. In 1089 this Sept obtained a victory 
over Donough O'Brien. In 1135 Connor O'Brien, in the 
alternate assertion of an old feud, defeated the O'Mahonys 
in battle, slaying their chief, Cian O'Mahony, styled " King 
of Rathlean or East Iveach." In 1178 Donat O'Brien, with 
his Dalcassians, routed the O'Donovans ai^d the O'Connels, 
driving them from Limerick County to beyond Mangerton in 
Kerry. Here these two exiled families, being powerfully 
assisted by the O'Mahonys, made new settlements for them- 
selves on the ancient properties of the O'Donoghues, O'Learys, 
and O'Driscolls, to which three families the O'Mahonys were 
always declared enemies ; after which the O'Donoghues 
settled at Killamey, on the borders of Lough Lean, while a 
branch of the O'Mahonys settled in Corcarduighe, O'Dris- 
coil's country, where they became masters of the district 
called Fionnsartaigh, which comprised the parishes of Kllmoe, 
Scull, Eolbolane, Durris, Kilmaconogue and Cahiragh. f 

In 1356 Murtough O'Mahony, and Thomas, son of Dermod 
O'Mahony, were lodged in the custody of the Mayor, &c., of 
Cork as hostages for the peace of that County ; and the death 
of Dermid, son of this Thomas, is commemorated by the 
Masters at the year 1427, wherein his unbounded liberality 

♦ CGorman^ MSS.^ Roy. Ir. Acad., p. 54. 
t O* Donovan' 8 Book of Rights^ p. d9. 


is especially recorded ; while their obit of Finghin O'Mahony 
of Kerry, in 1496, says he was the most humane and hospitable 
man of West Munster, and a learned scholar in the Latin and 
English tongues. In 1513 died Conor Fionn, son of Conor, 
son of Dermod O'Mahony^ of whom it is said that he obtained 
the lordship of his country, in spite of great opposition given 
to him by senior and junior competitors, while the Masters 
emphatically add that he excelled his ancestors in the govern- 
ment of his territory. In 1575. an Inquisition was taken at 
Cork concerning the estates of Donald, son of Conor 
0*Mahony, in that County. He appears to have been the 
O'Mahony, slain in the Desmond war, who died seised of the 
lordship of Kinelmeaky j and is by some set down as the last male 
representative of that line. At Ferret's Parliament of 1585 
this Sept was represented by Owen, son of Donell, son of 
Donell-na-Screedagh O'Mahony (of the western district of 
Iveragh, County of Kerry), and by Conor, son of Conor 
Fionn oge^ son of Conor Fionn, son of Conor O'Mahony. In 
the following year, on an Inquisition taken at Shandon Castle, 
there were attainted, as im|>licated in the Desmond rebellion, 
Daniel, son of Coimor O'Mahony of Bosbrin, and Conor 
O'Mahony of Castle Mahony, near Bandon, who were there- 
upon adjudged to forfeit all their honours, castles, manors, 
&c. In 1600, when the celebrated Ulster hero, Hugh 
O'Neill overran southern Ireland, and pitched his camp 
between the rivers Dee and Bandon, the O^Mahonys, 
O'Donovans, and O'Donoghues came in to him, ' in submission 
and obedience.' Various Inquisitions were held in 1634, find- 
ing the estates of the O'Mahonys in Limerick, as were others, 
in 1637 for their Cork territory. In 1605 Sir William Taaffe, 
Knight, had a grant in ' Muskrie' of the entire territory or 
country of Xchonloe, containing twenty-eight small carucates 

&02 Knro james'b ibish abmt list. 

of land of every kind, each being 120 acanes, the greater part 
bog and unprofitable, and theretofore the estate of (the above) 
Daniel, son of Connor O'Mahonj, attainted. The Attaindeia 
of 1643 include ten of this name in the County of Cork. 
About that time flourished Connor 0*Mahony, long residiag 
at St. Boch in Lisbon ; he was bom in the Barony of Mua* 
kerry, County of Cork, became a ^Jesuit, and published some 
works under a fictitious name, espectaUy the Disputotio 
Apologetica^ &Cm in 1645, a work which was thought so ultra 
by the Supreme Council of Ealkenny, that they ordered it to 
the flames.* Emir O'Mahony, the Catholic Bishop of Down 
and Connor, was one of that Council who signed the recom- 
mendation of the celebrated Luke Wadding to the Pope, 
wherdn he strongly represented to his Holiness the oppres- 
sions which were endured by the Catholics of Lrdand. f 

One of the Captains in the King^s Infantry was a Mahony , 
and another of the name was Lieutenant in Colonel Owen 
Macartie's; while Dermot O'Mahony of Bosbrin became a 
Colonel in this campaign, and was killed at Aughrim; he was 
attainted in 1691, with two other Mahonys of Cork, one of 
whom was an Ensign in Lord Kenmare's Lifantry. Daniel, 
brother of the Colonel having also served in beland, and 
become a Captain, went, after the treaty of Limerick, with 
national forces to the Continent, where he attained the rank 
of Major, and, in respect to the remarkable gallantry of him- 
self and his countrymen at Cremona, in February, 1702, 
(which saved that place after its surprisal by Prince Eugene), 
he was selected to bring the news of that glorious achieve- 
ment to Louis the XIV., who thereupon raised him to the 

* Wara's Writers^ pp. 121-2. Hardma/Cs Chhoay^ p. 123. 
ti>« Bwgo's Eib. Dom.^ pp. 87S-7. 



rank of Colonel, besides otherwise rewarding him liberally. 
Subsequently, recommended by Louis to his grandson, Philip 
the v., King of Spain, this brave Irishman was appointed 
to command a Begiment of Dragoons there, and for very 
distinguished conduct throughout the war of the succession, 
especially at the battles of Almanza, Saragossa, and Villa- 
Viciosa, he was created a Lieutenant-General and Coimt of 
Castile. He died in 1714, leaving two sons General Officers, 
one in the service of Naples, and the other in that of Spain. 
To the latter refers an article very creditable to Ireland in 
the GenUemarCs Magazine for 1766. '* His Excellency Count 
Mahony, Ambassador from Spain to the Court of Vienna, 
gave a grand entertainment in honour of Patrick^s Day; 
where were present Count Lacy, President of the Coundl of 
War, the Generals O'Donnell, Maguire, O'Kelly, Browne, 
Plunket, Mac Ellicot, four Chie& of the Grand Cross, two 
Governors, several Ejiights military, six Staff Officers, four 
Privy Councillors, with the principal officers of State, who, 
to show their respect for the Irish nation, wore crosses in 
honour of the day, as did the whole Court." 

Neither of these two sons of Coimt Daniel O^Mahony, 
left male issue, but the name has been projected with high 
credit in the achievements of the French army to the present 

At the Court of Claims held at Chichester Heuse in 1700, 
Kyan Mahony claimed an estate for lives in DallyniUane, 
County Kerry; as did Dermot Mahony the benefit of a lease 
in Lisdivigeen in same county : Teigue Mahony a similar 
interest in Dromadisart; John Mahony a remainder for years 
in the half plow-land of East Ealmeedy, forfeited by the Earl 
of Clancarthy ; Cornelius Mahony a lease of a thatched house 
in the suburbs of Cork held under Thomas Coppinger the late 

504 KING James's hush abict list. 

proprietor; and in particnkr, Darby Mahony daimed an 
estate in fee, in tlie two half plow-lands <^ Famanes, County 
Cork, by descent, as grandson and heir of Deimod, son of 
Togoe Mahony, and <^ which the Eail of Clancarthy was 
the late proprietor. 


The Attainders of 1643 describe eleven of the O'Herlihys in 
the County of Cork ; those of 1691 hl^ve but one, John 
Herlihy of Tuogage, in that county. The sept is considered 
by 0*Brien identical with that of 0*Hurley, ^diich is written 
of asUet vol. 1, p. 321, &c. 


The Condons were deemed so powerAil a Sept of old, that 
their territory was adopted as the name of a Barony in the 
County of Cork. On the first entrance of the Lord President 
of Munster, in 1600, into that county, Mac Hugh Condon 
was one of the natiye chiefs who first made submission to 
him.* In 1606 John King of Dublin, had a grant from the 
Crown of certain estates in the County of Waterford, there« 
tofore the property of Patrick Condon ; while, in seven years 
after, David Condon of Ballydorrawne, County of Cork, " in 
performance of an indented order taken and conceived between 
him and Arthur Hide of Carriginedy, concerning the title, 

* PcuxUa Stbemia^ p. 61. 


right, and possession of all the estates sometime belonging to 
Patrick Condon, said David's father," granted, assigned, and 
confirmed to Hide various manors and lands in said county, 
to hold of the King as fully as same has been granted to 

David by letters patent. -The Attainders of 1642 present 

the names of ten Condons in the County of Cork, while on 
those of 1691 are the above Lieutenant John, styled of 
Carricknavoura and Dysart, and five others in the same 
county. At the Court of Claims in 1700, Julian Condon 
preferred her. petition for her jointure in his Cork estate; but 
her prayer was dismist^ 


NoxaiitG had been ascertained of him or his family lEit the 


The O'Glomeys or O^Glorans were a Sept of the Coimty of 


The ' O'Halys' are located by O'Brien in a large tract of the 
Barony of Muskerry, County Cork, called from them Pobble- 
O'Haly* The Four Masters record the death in 1309 of 
Dermod O'Healey, ' the most eminent of the landed gentry of 


his time. In 1320 four of this Sept, vis., John and Nevin 
* O'Halwy/ with John and Maurice, sons of Hugh O^HaLwy^ 
obtained letters of pardon and protection. In 1328 died 
Duvesa, daughter of O'Hely, and wife of Donal, son of 
Teigue O'Connor. In 1389 the Septs of O'Conor and 
O'Ruarc invaded Muinter-Helj, whose ^ cavaliy' they put to 
flight, slaying Monus O'Hely and others at that place. In 
1426 is recorded the death of O'Hely More, that is Conor 
Caoch O'Hely, and in 1505 Dermot O'Haly of Limerick took 
out a general pardon. 

The officer at present under consideration, however, is on 
the authority of ancient family tradition, alleged to have been 
of the Connaught sept of O'Hanly of Slieve-ban, whose Chief 
in the sixteenth century had three sons, Robert, Hugh, and 
James. The last, having killed a person of rank in a duel, 
retired from that province and settled in Limerick, where he 
took the name of Haly, as concealing, though not utterly 
renouncing his patronymic, and there he married. His son 
William Haly, acquired large possessions in that county, was 
Sheriff of the City in 1607 and its Mayor in 1613; Nicholas, 
a son of his, for his adherence to Eang Charles, is ssld to 
have been honoured with a fiat for the dignity of Baron ; in 
evidence of which three letters are referred to, one of the 
King, dated at Newcastle, February 20th, 1646, and two 
others of the Earl of Glamoigan and Worcester, dated 13th 
September, 1646, and 20th April, 1647, (in the custody of 
William Alcock Haley of Ballyhaly) ; but, as it is alleged, 
the patents could not be made out, the King being at the 
lime a prisoner with the Scottish army, and not having the 
Great Seal with him. This Nicholas, styled of Towrine, and 
his younger brother John of Limerick, were of the Supreme 
Council of Kilkenny in 1646. John died vdthout issue. 


Nicholas signed the Treaty of Limerick in 1651 with Ireton, 
as one of the Commissioners on the part of the garrison, and 
for the performance of which he was one of the hostages 
retained. He was subsequently stripped of all his property 
by Cromwell ; but his eldest son, Robert, who married Lady 
Boche, the widow of John, the tenth Viscount Fermoy, was 
restored to his estates by James the Second. The son of that 
marriage, Canton Haly, (alluded to ante vol. 1, p. 87,) was 
thus uterine brother to the two last Viscounts. He died in 
1745 unmarried, and by his will bequeathed his property to 
William Alcock Haly of Ballyhaly, in the County of Cork, 
the services of whose brother Bichard at Fontenoy are herein- 
afber alluded to. William Alcock married Mary, daughter 
of John, the O^Grady of KilbaUyowen, He held the estates 
so bequeathed to him until 1760, when he sold them to Lor^ 
Tracton; and himself died in 1780. His eldest son, Bobert, 
lesumed the original name of Hanly, served, a Captam, in the 
campaigns of Frederic the Great, and died in France in 1821 
at the advanced age of 90 years, leaving issue. Sir John 
Haly, M.D., William's second son, died at Cork in 1798, also 
leaving issue. Simon, the third son, was a merchant, married 
Anne, daughter of Standish Barry of Lemlara House, and 
died in France in 1814, leaviog issue* Standish, the fourth 
son, was an officer in Colonel Dillon's Brigade, and died 
in Lidia, while serving under the unfortunate Comte Lally 
Tollendal. Kichard, the fifth son, was a Major in Colonel 
Dillon's Brigade and a Chevalier of the order of St. Louis; 
he married into the noble &mily of Naveteur in Flanders, 
and had issue several sons and daughters, who married into 
some of the highest families of the French Noblesse. He 
died at his chateau of Tomaseri^ near Amboise in 1816, aged 
86 years. Two of his sons, Kichard and William, were 

598 KiKG James's irish abjct ust. 

ofllcen in the B^iment of Count Walsh (Semmt) up to tke 
year 1789, when the Berdntaon Inroke out and they fled to 
Ireland. Bendea these soasj William Aloock Haly left 
eight daughters : Honora, the eldest, married John Mahony 
of Donloe Castle, by whom she had fomr 8<his and three 
daughters; Elizabeth, the second, married Doctor Lucas, a 
celebrated patriot of his day, and had by him a son and a 
daughter; Mary, the third, married Cornelius Cronin, an 
eminent solicitor, but she died without issue at the age of 82 ; 
Anastasia, the fourth, married John Augustus Byrne, one of 
the first merchants of Bourdeaux, by whom she had one son 
and four daughters ; Lucy, the fifth, married Dr. Stack of 
Cork, by whom she had several children ; Theresa, the sixth, 
married William Coghlan, a merchant of Coric, and died 
without issue;* Jane, the seventh, became the wife of a Major 
Mc Donogh, and died without issue in 1832, at the great age of 
ninety-two ; Anne, the eighth, married Mr. de Sylvan, Consul 
of the King of Portugal for Cork, and died also without issue 
and at an advanced age. 

' Of the numerous male descendants of said William^ the only 
member now remaining in Lreland is the Beverend Bobert 
Haly, S. J. ; while other representl^tives are Monsieurs 
Standish Haly and his son, of the Chateau Tomaseri^ afore- 
said ; William Haly of the English Bar and his brother John 
Standbh ; Colonel O^Grady Haly, who commanded the 47th 
Begiment, so signalized in the Crimean war, and to whom a 
medal was presented by Her Majesty ; Standish Haly of the 
Honduras, merchant, Major George Haly, lately of the 
East India Company's Service; John Haly of London, 
merchant, and Francis B. Haly, now of France, but heretoforc 
a resident magistrate in Ircland. Very fall notices of the 
Limerick Halys were drawn up by the late respected Mr. 


James Koche of Cork, from which much of the foregoing 
lineage has been extracted, and they suggest that not only 
the above officer, Ensign Thomas, but also Edward Haly, 
the Cornet in Colonel Parker's Horse, were of this line of 
ancestry. ^They,' writes this Mr. Roche, alluding to the 
Halys of Ballyhaly, 'maintsdned for centuries an eminent 
position in the Counties of Cork and Limerick; comprising 
in their alliances the Baron of Kinsale, Viscount Guillamore, 
the Earl of Danraven, the Marquess of Landsdowne, and the 
Earl of Ilchester, besides the O'Gradys, the^Barrys of Lem- 
lara, the Harrisons of Castle Harrison, the Alcocks of Wilton, 
the Kennedys and Rochforts of Grarretstown, the Mahonys of 
Dunloe, the Roches, <&c., &c.' There were eleven Healys 
attainted in 1691, described as of Dublin, Donegal, and 
Waterford Counties respectively, but neither Thomas nor 
Edward 'Haly,' appears upon the Roll, In 1710, a Captain 
' Hely,' of Lord Kilmallock's Brigade, was killed in tattle in 
Spain. Lieutenant Richard 'H&lyf' before mentioned, of 
Rothe's Re^ment, was engaged at Fontenoy, wounded at 
Lauffield in 1747, subsequently promoted to the rank of 
Major in the Lish Brigade of France, and died at an advanced 
age about the year J 780, at C^^mbray, 


FiTZ-GiBBON was the surname peculiarly applied to the 
family of the White Knight. In 1611 Donogh, Earl of 
Thomond, had a grant of the wardship of Margaret-ny 
Maurice Fitz-Gibbon, sister and next heir of Maurice oge 
Fitz-Gibbon of Ballyboy, in Tipperary, deceased; and also 


of the wardship of Edmund oge Fitz-Gibbon, son and male 
heir of Edmund Fit2^Gibbon, late of Eilbehinny, in Limerick, 
commonly called the White Sought. Four of this name 
were attainted in 1642, all described as of the County Meath. 
This officer however was undoubtedly of the Munster Sept. 



The name of Wolfe, Wolf, Ulf, or Vulf, is, by this varied 
spelling, of record in Ireland from the time of Edward the 
First. In 1303 Philip * Vulf waa one of the Knights, who 
attended De Burgo in the ezpedilions against Scotland. In 
1309 Walter le Wolf, Knight, had letter of pardon and 
protection; and in four years after, John, the son of said 
Philip Ulf, having entered upon his hereditary estates, on 
that father's death, without license, and having also married 
without Boyal permission, was obliged to obtain pardon on 
fines. In 1345 Nicholas Ulf was one of the guardians of 
the peace for the County for Limerick, with powers to assess 
and array, as was John Ulf in the same county. In ten 
years after Philip Ulf was one of the influential gentry of 
Limerick, who elected Thomas de Daundon its Sheriff; about 
which time it is of record, that David Wolf died seised of 
lands in Kilcullen, County Ejldare, to which James his son 
and heir thereupon succeeded. Another David Wulff was 
in 1360 an assessor of that county to a hosting, while the 
aforesaid James Wolf was in a similar commission over the 
Barony of Bheban therein. In 1372 Balph and John Wolf 
were commissioned, with oth^ men of Kildare, to see to the 
restoring of all cattle and spdls, which had been taken from 


O'More and his Sept since his oonformity to peace; while 
John Wolf was himself obliged to renounce by indenture any 
claim to certainr towns and lordships in Leix. In 1406 he 
had license of absence for one year, to go over on business 
of state to England, 

On Ortelius's Map the fiunily are located in the Barony 
of Clanwilliam, County of Tipperary, They were also 
territorial proprietors in the County of Kildare, where 
Thomas died in 1582 seised of Beart and other estates; 
Edmund Wolfe was at that time seised of Kilcolman, 
Oldcourt, Ardscull, <&c., all which premises were forfeited 
on the attainder of Nicholas Wolfe in 1641, at which time 
three others of the name were outlawed. In 1640 Bichard, 
as son and heir of Patrick Wolfe of Fedarth in Heath, had 
livery of that estate. 

In the Articles for the Capitulation of Limerick in 1651 
Captain George Woulfe and Francis. Woulfe, a friar, were 
excepted from pardon. Captain George however escaped 
to the North of England, where he settled. His grandson, 
Genend Edward Woulfe, distinguished himself under Marl- 
borough, and was appointed Colonel of the 8th Begiment 
of Foot in 1745. He was father of the hero of Quebec, 
who commenced bis military career at the early age of twenty- 
one, in the often mentioned Battle of Lauffield in 1747. He 
served at the storming of Bochefort in ten years afterwards, 
and on his fall at Quebec, his body was carried over and 
buried at Greenwich in 1759, where but a few months 
previously his &ther had been interred. It may be here 
added that the death of Major W^alter, the undo of .the Hero 
of Quebec, is recorded as occurring in April, 1771, at an 
advanced age; the obituary stating that he too had served 
under Marlborough, and that his aforesaid nephew had been 


early under his tuition, whence he derived much of that 
knowledge of war, which was afterwards so crowned with 
military glory. Nor was the name extinguished in Limerick 
by the proscriptions of Cromwell. In King James's Charter 
of 1687 to that City, James, son of Bartholomew Woulfe, 
was named one of its burgesses ; while at the Court of Claims, 
held after the national confiscations of 1688, a John Woulfe 
petitioned for an interest in County of !^dare lands forfeited 
by Sarsfield; on which occasion Anne Wolfe, described as 
widow of John Wolfe, claimed an interest in the estate of 
Mary Vernon at Clontarf, as did Robert Woulfe and Anstaoe 
his wife, one of the daughters of David Nihill the Elder, for 
her portion charged on Clare lands, confiscated by said 
Nihill's attainder. In this latter county as well as in Eildare 
the name has existed to modem times. The Bev. Charles 
Wolfe, who died but recently, the well known author of the 
lines on the death of Sir John Moore, was born in 1791, the 
youngest son of Theobald Wolfe of 31ackhall, County of 
Kildare ; while on Clare was reflected eminence of another 
character, from that ornament of the Irish Exchequer, the 
late Chief Baron Stephen * Woulfe.' 

■ " " ■> ■ ■■■ ! 


'* The family of the Stacks,'' writes the Abbe McGeoghegan, 
'* is of considerable antiquity in Ireland. It derives its origin 
from the ancient Grauls. Some of the family having followed 
the fortunes of William the Conqueror into England, esta- 
blished themselves in Wales, It is asserted, that before the 
time of Henry II., McCarthy More had married a lady 


belonging to it, and that he brought over with her into Ii^land 
her four, brothers, to whom he offered estates in the County 
of Kerry. However this may be, it is certain 4;hat the family 
settled in the country at a very early period, and formed 
several branches, which possessed considerable property in 
the neighbourhood of Ardfert, as far as the river Smearlagh. 
There is stiU a district of the country called Poble Stackaighj 
thsit is, the country of the Stacks, who were proprietors of it. 
Its alliances too, with the best fiunilies of the province, 
namely, the M'Mahons, the Fitzgeralds, the McCarthys, the 
Burkes, the Fitzmaurices, and others, show the consideration 
in which it was held. The Stacks met the fitte of so many 
of their fellow-countrymen — ^their zeal for religion, and 
attachment to their legitimate monarch, were crimes with 
them as with others.** 

VOL. II 2 L 






FnncM Bovke. 


WHfiam Connock, 

filfntffWFt GoUmmL 

John Bodkin, 




PatridL Kinrno. 


Andrew Khrwin. 






Staphen Lyndk 


^— «»]fntin. 


Lftwveoee Deuie. 


Wimnm Bomke. 
ftwicit Bdur, 2nd. 


Walter Bomke 

BotMrt XifwAkm 

Stephtt Lyneh. 





Aztlnir Lyneh. 

Donunkd: LovdodL. 

llioniu Brown. 

mcholM Lyneh. 


ICatthew Bodkin. 

MjOthew Lynch. 

Lawrence Wairen. 


John White, 




This Peer, the seoond json of William, Earl of Clanricarde, 
was one of King James's creation in Lreland, on the 2n(l of 
April, 1689. Of the force sent from Ulster in that year to 
aid Lord Dundee in Scotland, a portion was drawn from 
Bophin's Begiment, that which remained was, with the others, 
routed by the Enniskilleners at Newton-Butler. Lord Bophin's 
being recruited after this discomfiture, continued on the muster 
roll of Eang James's Army, during the two following 
campaigns of 1690 and 1691, in the latter of which, at 
Aughrim, the Colonel was taken prisoner, brought off to the 
Castle of Dublin, and thence sent to England. He was 
attainted on Liquisition, and, although a bill was brought 
into Parliament in 1698, for restoring him to his estate and 
blood, it was thrown out on the second reading; his children, 
however, having preferred their petitions at the Court of 
Claims, were allowed their respective remainders, and in the 
first year of the reign of Queen Anne, an Act was passed 
whereby Lord Bophin was acquitted of all treasons and 
attainders, and he and his children restored to their blood 

and estate. The Family of ' Bourke' is ftdly noticed antef 

at ' the Earl of Clanricarde.* 


This officer, sometimes spelt * Connor,' was one of the 
military gentlemen, who came over from France to Ireland 
early in 1689 to join King James's Army, having been a 


Major in the former country. He sarvived the three 
campaigns of the war of the revolation, returned to Fiance 
with the exiles from Limerick, and continued to serve with 
them on the continent. At the surprise and expulsion of the 
Austrians from Cremona, in February, 1702, he was attached, 
as a re-formed Ldeutenant-Colonel, to the Irish Battalion of 
Bourke; and, for his gallantry there, received the rank of 
Colonel fix)m the French King. He was killed in 1704 at 
the siege of Verona, in Piedmont, by the explonon of a bomb. 


This name appears on the records of Galway from the time 
of Edward the Third, at the dose of whose reign Clemens 
Laveragh and John ^ Boudekyn,' clerk, were commissioned to 
hold an inquiry concerning offences, with which Nicholas Calf, 
a burgess of Galway, and Thomas Martyn were charged. In 
1533 Dr. Christopher ' Bodekine' was consecrated Bishop of 
Elilmacduagh, at Marseilles, and was, in three years after, 
by the &vour of Henry the Eighth, translated to the Arch- 
Bishopric of Tuam, with which he held to his death, the see 
of Kilmacduagh.* He died in 1572 and was buried at Gal- 
way. Dominick Bodkin of Galway was one of the Confederate 
Catholics who assembled at Kilkenny in 1646. At the siege 
of Galway, in 1652, six townsmen of this name reftised to 
sign the articles for its surrender, while twdve other Bodkins 
absented themselves to avoid so doing, f In 1677 Marcus, 
Bridget, and Alexander Bodkin had a confirmatcoy grant 

* Ware^9 Buhop*^ p. 615. ^Hardiman^$ Oidwag^ Ap., p. 33. 

LORD bophin's intantby. 517 

of 1,955 acres in Galway, to the use of the said Marcus and 
Bridget for their Uves, and remainder m tail male, remainder 
to the right heirs of said Marcus ; the patent thus pursuing 
the terms of a previous &milj settlement executed bj him. 
In the same year John Bodkin and Mary his wife, had a 
similar grant of 2,900 acres in said county; while, in the 
following year, Ambrose Bodkin passed patent for 1,399 
other acres in Galway. 

Besides Major John and Matthew Bodkin, an Ensign in 
this Regiment, another John Bodkin was an Ensign in 
Colonel Donunick Browne^s In&ntry, as was Augustine 
Bodkin in the Earl of Clanricarde's. In July, 1691, the 
above Major, then a Lieutenant-Colonel, was of the hostages 
delivered to the besiegers of the town, to be bound for the 
due observance of the terms imposed upon the garrison and 
townspeople until surrender* He was a merchant of Gralway, 
was included in the Attainders of that year, but was after^ 
wards adjudged within the benefit of the articles of 1698 and 
1699. The outlawries of 1691 include Walter Bodkin, styled 
of Ballyfoyle in Ealkenny, and Dominick Bodkin of Limerick. 


The O'Keryvanes or O'Kerwans were an ancient Irish Sept 
of Connaught, but the name has been, as it may be considered^ 
anglicised into Kirwan, by which orthography it was known 
in the County Gralway from the thirteenth century ,t whence 
it extended to Mayo, and at a later period to Waterford and 
Tipperary. In 1389 Hugh * 0'Eerryvane\ chaplain, had 

* Hardman^i Galway^ p. 1 62. - t Idem, p. 1 6. 


liberty to use the EnglMi law nan obitantej with other more 
substantial marks of Boyal fiiYOur. From 1501 to the time 
of the Beyolation the shrievalty of Gblway, then a very 
important town, was frequently filled by a Kirwan, as was 
not less the Mayoralty. In 1582 Stephen Eiiwan was 
Bishop of Clonfert, as was Francis Eirwan of Eillala in 1646. 
These, however, will not be found in Ware^s Bishops, The 
only attainder affecting this name in 1642 was that of Connor 
* Eerovane' of Enockbane, in Widdow. At the Supreme 
Council of 1646, Patrick Sanran of Galway was one of the 
Members; yet would it seem he was the same individual, to 
vdiom General Ireton, in 1652, returned special thanks, for the 
protection he had afforded to the Protestants during the 
immediately preceding years of civil war; Ireton also gave 
him, under hand and seal, permission to carry arms. He was 
of the Cr^g line of Eirwans, and grand&ther of the above 
Captain Patrick; while the Major of this Begiment, John 
Bodkin, was that Captain's maternal unde. Patrick married, 
in 1703, Mary, daughter of Bichard Martin of Dangan, and 
succeeded to the Cregg estates on the death of his own fiither, 

Martin Eirwan, in 1705. In 1677 Bobert Eirwan had a 

grant of 173 acres in Galway, as had in the following year 
the aforesaid Martin, son of Patrick, of 3,634 acres in Galway 
and Mayo, and John Earwan of 570 in the former County; 
while in 1683 Edmund, son and heir of Alexander Eirwan, 
passed patent for 3,266 Acres in Mayo. Sir John Eirwan 
was Mayor of Galway in 1686, and its Bepresentative in the 
Parliament of 1689. He is said to have been the first who 
introduced in that town the modem style of glass windows, 
in lieu of the small leaden lattices theretofore used. The 
attainders of 1691 do not name the above officer, but do a 
John of Galway, son of Bobert Eirwan ; and Martin Eirwan 


was then alao a forfehiiig proprietor in e»id town. One of 
this name was a Lieutenant in Lord Louth's In&ntry. Jn 
the Brigades this fiunily was distinguished in the perscm of 
Richard Kirwan^ the second son of the above Captain Patrick* 
He was sent out at an early age to study in France; but 
preferring a nulitary life, he obtained a commission in Dillon's 
Brigade, fought at Fontenoy in 1745» and was a great 
favourite with Lord Clare and Marshal Saxe. He died at 
Woodfield in 1779. His nephew was Biohard Kirwan, pre- 
eminently styled the Chemist, accounted one of the greatest 
philosophers of his day, and a memb^ of most of the literary 
institutions of Eun^. 


Ths iUustrations of the ' Bourke' fiunily occur cwfe, at * the 
Earl of Clanricarde.' This officer, afterwards promoted to a 
Minority, was taken prisoner at Aughrim.* 





This flumly came over to Irehnd in the first armament of the 
English Invasion, and soon after settled at Knock in the 
County of Meath, hence called Ejiock-Lynch. They were 

* Story's Impart. Hist,^ pt. 11., p. 137. 

520 KING James's ibish armt list. 

there frequently styled 'Lejns/ by that spelling rebeived 
Royal mandates to the hostings, and are so denominated in 
the current records and state papers. A younger son of this 
house, migrating westward, established the name in Gkdway,* 
where his line acquired much property, and, until the middle 
of the seventeenth century, was one of its most influential 
fiunilies. From them were elected its first and last Provost, 
and its first and last Sovereign ; six of its Recorders were 
also Lynches. During this connection with the place, they 
efifected many public works within this ancient town, much 
strengthened its fortifications, and founded various religious 
houses. In 1386 Margaret balagh ' de Lenche* and Thomas 
'Martyn,' her son, having complained to Robert de Vere, 
Marquess of Dublin, and ' patentee' of Ireland, of losses they 
had sustained, and apprehended they would yet sustain, from 
jealous inhabitants of Connaught, the Marquess received them 
into his especial protection. In 1410 James Lynch was 
Collector of the Customs in the harbour of Galway, while 
Alexander * Lynche* was Commisfiioner on an inquiry within 
the franchises of Athenry. In 1484 Dominick Lynch pro- 
cured the Charter from Richard the Third, under which he 
caused his brother Pierce to be elected first Mayor of Galway, 
and was himself the second. His son Stephen at the same 
time sued out the Bull of Pope Innocent the Eighth, estab- 
lishing in that town the singular jurisdiction of Warden; 
from this period to the time of the Restoration, in the succes- 
sion of its Mayors, no less than eighty-four were Lynches, 
and the fiunily is one of the four tribes who have an ^acknow- 
ledged privilege of burial in the Cathedral of that town. In 
the sixteenth century the name was established in Mayo. 

* HardimarCt Gcdway^ p. 50. 

LORD bofhin's infantbt. 521 

In 1537 Henry the Eighth granted to Mark, son of the 
aforesaid Stephen Lynch, liberty to have two nets on the 
water of Galway, to take sabnon and other fish in. In 1584 
John Lynch, a native of Gralway, educated at Oxford, was 
advanced by Queen Elizabeth to the Bishopric of Elphin. 
In Perrot's Parliament of the folloMring year, Jonoke Lynch 
and Peter Lynch represented Galway. In 1602 Richard 
Lynch was Bishop of Kilmacduagh; and in 1617 Thomas 
Lynch of Galway, merchant, had a grant of the manor, castle, 
town, and lands of Aquorke, &c., in Mayo, to be erected into 
the manor of Aquorke, with court baron,. &c. In the Parlia- 
ment of 1639 Sir Robert Lynch was one of the Bepresenta* 
tives of Galway. He was proprietor of the Isles of Arrant 
which, on his subsequent, attainder, were included in the 
grant to Erasmus Smith, one of the most considerable of the 
London adventurers in Ireland, whose title to these islands 
was afterwards purchased by Richard, Earl of Arran.* 

With this Sir Robert were attainted in 1642 Myles Lynch 
of Cloncurry, Lauren<^ Lynch of Creganstown, in Meath^ 
and Oliver Lynch, styled of Dublin, but truly a junior 
member of the Knock fiunily. No others of that house are 
noted on the Roll of Outlawries, as their chief castle at the 
Knock had been taken by the Earl of Ormonde in that year, 
when the besieged, not accepting quarter, were all put to the 
sword.t Of the Confederate Catholics assembled at Ealkenny 
in 1646, were Martin, Nicholas, and Roebuck Lynch of 
Galway; and in 1650 Walter Lynch succeeded to the see of 
Clonfert ; but the most interesting individual of this name to 
posterity, as so honourably connected with the literature of hid 
countiy, was the venerable Dr. John Lynch, Roman Catholic 

* Hardiman'i Galway, p. 320. f Templets Jrigh Rebellion, p. 80. 



Archdeacon of Tuam, and author of that valuable xnass of 
national hiBtory, entitled, Ccmbrenm Everaui. When Galway, 
the town of his birth, surrendered in 1652, he fled to France, 
where, under the assumed name of Ghratianus Ludus, he pub- 
lished his work. 

In the meantime, of the Meath line, Peter Lynch died in 
1613, seised of the Knock and of sundry otiier premises in 
Laraghcor, Athboy, Trim, &c, held of the manor of Dengyn ; 
Oerald, his son and heir, being then aged twenty-two and 
married; his son and hear was Walter Lynch. Li the same 
year Christopher Lynch of Croboy died seised thereof m 
capiUy under the Crown, leaving Bobert his son and heir, 
then aged twenty-four and unmarried, and he was the head of 
the Meath fiunily during the awM visitation <^ Cromwell. 
This ancioat proprietor was necessitated to give up his estates 
to the usurping powers, and to accept a certificate trans- 
planting him and his fiunily into the County of Bosoommon, 
where a small allotment at the foot of Slieve-Ban was all 
conceded to him, to hold in tail male, in lieu of what he once 
poaseesed in Meatii, in fee The will of this Bobert Lynch 
or Leyns, (whose last male descendant, it may be allowed to 
mention, was the author's maternal unde), bears date in 1667, 
and commences with a * sweet reminiscence* of his old home, 
directing his interment ^^in the sepuldbre of my dear motiier, 
children, and grand-children, in the church of Clonard, 
without any great cost or solemnity; being banished into 
Connaught, and deprived of my estate, and stript of all my 

moveable goods and substance.'* Then, after recounting 

his debts, and providing for their due and early payment, he 
adds, '' I leave and bequeath my littie nag to my Uttie grand- 
child Christopher Leyns, and my apparel to be distributed to 
such poor as are in want of clothes to cover their nakedness.*' 

LOBD BOPHIN'8 ikfantbt. 528 

. • . '^ And in case the Ib. be restored, my will is that the 
feoffinent I made of Croboy, in the year of our Lord 1631, 
shall stand and be in force according to the intent thereof." 
Bobert, the son of the minor Christopher, married in 1712, 
Anne Ererard of the &mily of Bandalstown in Meath, and, 
as they professed differei^t reli^ons, the existing state of the 
law necessitated the celebration of their union oat of Ireland. 
It took place at Holyhead, and an unusually massiye ring 
commemorating the date is fidthfully preserved. The estate 
of Croboy, here alluded to, was, in two years after the date of 
this will, granted by patent of Charles the Second chiefly to 
Charles Barker, &om whom it passed by purchase to the 
ancestor of Lord Langford; while little more than twenty 
years have elapsed since the Crown asserted its title to the 
Boscommon Cromwellian allotment, as on failure of Ae %»9ue 
male of Bobert. 

In 1677 Nichdas, son of Marcus Lynch, passed patent for 
1,022 acres in Clare, as did Stephen Lynch, a burgess of 
Qalway, for 374 in the same county, and Thomas Lynch and 
Christian his mother, in the following year for 351 acres in 
GbJway. In this latter year ^ Henry Lynch, Baronet, son 
and heir of Sir Boebuok, and Ellis his wife, had a grant of 
6,420 acres in Mayo, to hiiii and the heirs male of his grand- 
father, Sir Henry Lynch, Baronet, remainder to William, 
Earl of Clanricarde, and his heirs. This Sir Henry had 
ftirther giants of 1,737 acres in Galway, 319 in Boscommon, 
and 603 in Clare; while George Lynch, passed patent for 
669 in Mayo; Mary Lynch and Michael, her son and heir, 
for 333 in Galway, and Marcus for 242 in the latter county. 
In 1679 Isidore Lynch had a grant of 1,813 acres in Mayo, 
as had, in 1681, Maurice Lynch for 541, and Thomas, 
Patrick, and Matthew Lynch for 1,244 acres in Galway. In 

524 KING James's ibish armt list. 

the charter of 1687 to that town, twenty-three Lynches were 
placed upon the Burgess Roll. In the same year the aforesaid 
Sir Henry Lynch, was appointed a Baron of the Lish Exche« 
quer, on Sir Stephen Bice being advanced to be chief. 
Besides the nine officers of the name in this Begiment, six 
others were commissioned on this list, in CarroU^s Dragoons 
and in the Infimtry Begiments of the King, Colonel Henry 
Dillon, Lord Gralway, and Dominick Browne. In the Parlia- 
ment of 1689, Geoffiy Lynch was one of the Bepresentatives 
of Qalway, while the hostages for its surrender in 1691 were 
Lieutenant-Colonels Lynch, Burke, and Kelly. The Attain- 
ders of 1691 include fourteen Lynches, viz., Sir Henry 
Lynch, styled of Dublin, Terence of Kilkenny, Thady of 
Shrule, and eleven of the County Ghdway, on whose respe(i- 
tive estates various claims were preferred at Chichester Hous^ 
In 1700. 

In the August^uiian Convent at Bruges are monuments to 
^ SteverC Lynch, who died 1691; Agnes Lynch, died 1728; 
to Dominick Anthcmy Lynch, 'Eschevin' of Bruges in 
1707, 1711, 1713, and 1727; to Dominick Lynch, who in 
1782 became a member of the Society of St. George there. 
James Lynch (son of Henry Lynch, whose wife was 
Anastasia, daughter of Jasper Joyce), has a sepulchral monu- 
ment, on the outside of the south wall of the church of Notre 
Dame in sud city, commemorating his death on the 2l8t of 
July, 1793, aged 77. At the battle of Lauffield in 1747, 
* Colonel Lynch, a la suitte^ in Lally^s Irish Begiment, was 
wounded; and in HardimarCs Galway (p. 18), mention is 
made of a Count Lynch, Mayor of Bourdeauz, who so 
eminently distinguished himself in the cause of the Boyal 
Family of France in opposition to Buonaparte. 

LORD bophin's intantrt. 525 


This name Dene, Dean, etc., is of record in Lreland firom 
the time of Edward the Second, more especially located 
in the Counties of Cork and Carlow. Li 1609 Richard 
Dean, a native of Yorkshire, succeeded to the See of Ossory. 
The only attainder in 1642 of the name is that of Patrick 
Deane of Lusk ; that in 1691 is of Dominick Deane of Cong, 
County of Mayo. In 1666 Joseph Deane had a confirmatory 
patent for 8,234 acres in Meath, E^ilkenny, and Down; and 
another in 1669 for 1,079 additional in Ealkenny; in the 
latter grant he is styled Major Joseph. In 1677 Thomas 
Deane, merchant, had a similar grant of 2,207 acres in 
Galway and Mayo, as had Stephen Deane of 787 in the same 
localities. In 1714 Joseph Deane was appointed Chief 
Baron of the Irish Exchequer. The kindred, however, of 
the above officer is unknown. 


He was attainted in 1691, as Dominick Lovelock of MiU- 
town, County of Gralway ; no more is known of him. 


He was indited in 1691 as of Longford, County of Galway, 
and was ancestor of the present Dr. B. B. Madden, so well 
known and respected in various walks of literature. 






Th« Colonel 


Thftdj 0'C<Mmor. 


IGchael Sbaoljr. 
Green Mulloy. 

Wflliam Hnlloj. 

WnUam Shaaky. 

LanghUn Nanghton. 

Daniel * Kellev.' 
John * KeUej.'^ 

Chaiifli Fkfflips. 

Biyan MHstowran. 

Owen Gallagher. 
Chriatopher BeUew. 
Heniy M*Dennott Roe. 
Bryan Doff M'Dennott. 

Ifichael Shanley. 

Faigiis Farrell. 

Bryan Coniy. 

1 Nicholas White. 

Theobald Hnlloy. 
Thadjr Shanley. 
Ednrand Naoghton. 


Connor ICDennott 

Daniel M*Gowran. 

FfitfreU QaUagfaer. 
Nicholas Benningham. 
Roger If <I>ennott 


Charles Dillon. 

John Connor. 
Paul Didgenana 
Thomas Nanghton. 

Daniel 'Kell^.' 

Gfldnife FhilUps. 

{Torlogh RmoMs. 
Morgan M*Donough. 


Wmiam O'Gara. 

Arthur H'lCanns.* 

Thomas Walgrave. 

None of the names of those commissioned on this Raiment 
are ^ven in the Britidi Moseom List. 

o'oara's infantry. 527 


Th£ 0*Grara8 were the ancient territorial Lords of Moy-Grara 
and Coolavin, in the County of Sligo. So early as in the 
year 1056, the Four Masters record the death of Boderio 
O^Gara; and their valuable and extensiye Chronicle, origina- 
ting in the patronage of Femd O'Gara in the conunencement 
of the seventeenth century, is particularly full in details, of 
this sept. Their dedication prodaims him '^ a desceidant of 
the race of Heber, son of Milesius, which gave Ireland thirty 
monarchs, while sixty-one of that race died in the odour of 
sanctity." Hie antiquary, Michael O^piery, who had at the 
time peculiar resources for verifying native g^eal<^es, many 
of which perished in the inmiediately ensuing wars, confi- 
dently traces the lineage of this Ferral O^Gara up ninety- 
three generations. In 1615, when he was a minor, % 
Theobald Dillon, Knight, had a grant of his wardship as the 
grandson and next heir of Iriel O'Oara, deceased; he was 
afterwards, in 1634, llie Representative of the County of 
Sligo in Parliament. The ccmfiscations and ravages of 
Cromwdl, however, left but little of their rank <»* territory 
remaining at this period, when tiie above Colonel Oliv^ was 
the head of l&e sept. He also was <me of the RepresentativeB 
for the County dP Sligo in the Parliament of Dublin, and 
was connected by marriage widi the Lady Maiy Fleming, 


daughter of Lord Shme and widow of Richard Fleming of 
Stahalmock, by whom he left issue four sons; the three elder 
of these entered the Spanish service; the first died in the rank 
of a Kigadier; the second was Colonel of the Regiment of 
Hibernia; the third, Lieutenant-Colonel of the Regiment of 


Irelandia, who so signalized himself at the battle of Veletri 
in Italy in 1743, that the King of Spain rewarded him with a 
commandeiship in the order of Calatrava. The fourth son 
was baptized Charles, in the Royal Chapel at St. Grermain's, 
in July, 1699, and for him, while yet very young, Colonel 
Oliver obtained, through his countryman and friend Count 
Taafie, Earl of Carlingford, an introduction to Leopold, Duke 
of Loriain, who appointed him first equerry to his two sons; 
the eldest of whom, when he became Emperor of Grermany^ 
created this Charles an Imperial Coundllor of State, a Cham- 
berlain and Knight of the Grolden Fleece ; he was also made 
a Count. He lived to the age of 76, when he died at 
Brussels, in opulent drcumstances, but without issue.* 

The Regiment here under consideration was raised by 
Colonel Oliver at his own expense and was one of four which 
King James, when tailing back upon Ardee, despatched 
under the command of Brigadier Sarsfield, in September, 
1689, to retard the advance of the Williamite forces into 
Connaught,t and which soon after expelled them from that 
province. Story states that Colonel O'Gara was killed at the 
siege of Athlone in June, 1691 ; but if he intended to refer 
this statement to Colonel Oliver, it was erroneous, as A« is 
known to have witnessed the articles of Limerick, and accom* 
panied the Irish emigrants to the Continent, where he was 
appointed Lieutenant-Colonel to Elng Jameses fine Regiment 
of Irish Foot-Guards, amounting, before its departure fit>m 
Limerick to France, to 1,400 men4 This reduction of his 
rank to a post subordinate to Colonel William Dorrington, 
was soon redressed by his appointment to the Colonelcy of 

* CrCaUagharCs Brigades^ yoL I, p. 164. f Clarke's James 11.^ ▼. 2, p. 982. 

t (TCaOagharCi Irish Brigades, p. 164, &c. 

0*aABA'8 INFANTBT. 529 

the Qaeen*8 Dragoons. He was attainted in 1691| with 
* Maria* his wife, John O^Gara of Clunoghill, and Boger and 
Morgan ' Grara' of BaUyhowla, County Sligo. It may be 
added that the Severend Nicholas O'Grara, fidthful to the 
memory of his country in a foreign land, was a valuable col- 
lector of Irish poems in the Netherlands* In 1734 Bryan 
O'Gara was Roman Catholic Archbishop of Tuam^ as was 
Michael O'Gara in 1742. 


Th£ Sept of O'Connor has been herein ah-eady written of, 
in two of its Royal lines, those of Ballintobber and Keny. 
From the same stock as the former, «.«., from Turlough mare 
O'Connor, who was King of Ireland in the twelfth century, 
the officer here in commission was lineally descended, through 
Bryan Luigneach, a younger son of Turlough, mentioned by 
the Four Masters ad ann. 1156. The links of succession 
from him to Donal O'Connor who was slain in 1307, are 
shown by that authority at this year, and in their obit they 
style him tanist or heir elect to the Crown of Connaught. 
' In accordance with which recognition of Royalty, the same 
annalists record at 1324 the death of Cathal O'Connor, 
Kino of Connaught, son of Donal, son of Tdgue, son 
of Bryan, son of Andrew, son of Bryan Luigneach, son of 
Turlogh fiu>re.' In 1329 died Murtogh O'Connor, Lord of 
Carburry in Sligo, as did his grandson Murtogh boceagh 
O'Connor m 1403 at the Castle of Sligo, ' Lord of Sligo and 
of northern Connaught,' an inheritance which was enjoyed by 

♦ TVofi*. Ihem, Celt, p. 97 and 174. 
VOL. II. 2 M 


hii grandson, Owen, until his death in 1444, in a feud with 
the McDonoughfl. The military strength of the Sept is 
especially noticed by the native chronides, as * the CaYahry of 
Carbury,* and its services were partioularly sought in 1482 in 
active hostilities against the ODonnells, by whom the castle 
of Sligo was taken in 1470, when the victors recovered the 
possession of the Leabhar^fuxrHcvdhre^ an Irish manuscript on 
vellnm of some note (now in the fibrary of the Boyal Irish 
Academy), which had been held by the O'Connors-Sligo during 
the time of ten successive lords of Carbury . It was compiled 
and written at Clonmacnois in the twelfth century; and con- 
tains an entry showing it to have been in 1345 in the possession 
of Donal O'Connor, son of Murtogh, son of the aforesaid 
Donel, son of Teigue, son of Brien, son of Andrew, son of 
Brian Luigneach, son of Turloj^ more^^ thus &r corroborating 
the family pedigree. 

At 1488 the Four Masters commemorate the death of 
Teigue, son of Hugh, son of Turlogh O'Connor, ^ the most 
worthy young man of the tribe of Brian Luigneach.' They 
say that he died 'exactly on Easter night/ adding that 
' Dermod, a son of Teigue the tanist lord of his tribe, a man 
by whose hand more of his enemies fell than by any other 
person in Ireland in his time, died in the same year of a 
severe complaint, after a long suffering.' In 1494 perished 
Donal son of the aforesaid Owen O'Connor (of 1444), then 
chief of the Sligo Sept, * a prosperous courageous man, who 
held the country from the Curlews (mountains) to BundufE^ 
and who abounded in prosperity and wealth; he fell in an 
attack on the Castle of Bunfinn.' In the following year 
died in Sligo, Boderic, son of Turlogh earragh O'Connor, 
Lord of Carbury of Drumdiffe, and the death of Cathal oge^ 
son of the aforesud Donell, son of Owen, in 1513 is recorded 

o'qara'b infantry. 531 

by the Four Biastera. Yet was it not until the year 1536 
that, aooording to the same authority, 'Teigue oge^ son of 
Hugh, eon of Turlogh carragh O'Connor, was styled Connor, 
for he, who until then had the leadership or chief command of 
the tribe, was styled McDonnell McMurtough; and it vras 
for sake of honour and in order to outshine the lords who had 
preceded him, that he made this change in the name.' This 
now CyOonnor and Cathal oge O'Connor made an incursion 
against the Clan-Costello ; and in the ensuing year an army 
was led by the O'Connor-Sligo against the O'Connor roe. 

In 1538 an anny led by Manus O'Donnell took the castle 
of Sligo from Cathal oge. In 1567 « Sir Donald O'Connor- 
Sligo went oyer to' London to acknowledge his loyal duty 
to Queen Elizabeth, at which time he made complaint that 
the castle of Bundroose was ¥rithheld from him by O'Donnell, 
as were the castles of Bailintogher by O'Bourke and Ardnaree 
by Owen Burke's sons, and flanking his territory ; all which 
matters Her Majesty ordered should be inquired into, and 
that restitution should be made of any goods that might be 
spoliated from him during his absence : and the Queen further 
dechured that she was well satisfied that the Friary of Sligo, 
wherdb the eepuUure of hie anceetore hoe been^ should be 
preserved, die friara there being converted into secular priests.' 
To Penrot's memorable Parliament held in Dublin, in 1585, 
the above Sir Donald O'Connor was summoned, and, on that 
solemn oooaoion it was judiciously detennined by the Four 
Masters to record his lineage for six preceding generations, 
%.e.f as Donal son of Teigue, son of Cathal oge^ son of Donal, 
son of Owen, son of Donal, son of Murtogh. He had sub- 
nutted by indenture to Sir Henry Sydney and passed patent 
for his aadent inheritance, on a new English tenure. He 
had a son who died five years before the meeting of Perrot's 


Parliament; ' an only son, the more lamented in the countrjr 
becaose the worthy conple, fiom whom this noble youlh 
sprang, had no hope or expectation of any other issue; and, 
had he lived, he would, after the death of his fiither, have been 
the sole h^ and successor to the couniary from Moy-Ceidne 
io Kesh-Corran, and from Moy to the boundary of BreflBo^.^ 
Sir D(»iald himself died in 1588, about which time his 
daughter, Maud 0*C<Mmor, intermarried with Theobald Bourke 
of Moneyerower Castle in the Barony of EHmaine, fiom 
which union have descended the Viscounts and Earls of 

The chiefry of a fSunily so extended over Sl%o did not 
become extinct on the death of Sir Donald. EQs nephew 
Donogh 0*Connor, who had for some previous years sojourned 
in England, returned to this country in 1596, ^ with a great 
number of English along with him,' and immediately after he 
commenced hostilities against the O'Donnell. In 1598 he 
took the castle of Ballymote, which was held by an English 
garrison. In the following year, however, he attended the 
Earl ci Essex in his professedly peaceful excursion into Mun- 
ster. In 1601 he was taken prisoner by Hugh ruadk 
O'Donnell, a movement which the Four Masters attribute to 
a rumour having reached him, that the Queen jMroposed to 
permit the young Earl of Desmond, then a prisons in 
London, to return to his patrimony; and, as his mother was 
at that time the wife of the O'Connor- Sligo, O'Donnell feared 
that an extension of the Boyal clemency would restore some 
of O'Connor's confiscations to him. He therefore consigned 
Donough to captivity on an island of Lough Eask near 
Donegal, whence he was not released until the Summer of 
the following year. In a Boyal patent of 1603, purporting 
to be a Boll of general pardon to the inhabitants of Sligo, 

o*oaba's infantbt, 538 

he U named as Donogh, Hhe O'Connor-Sligoe;* and in this 
wmesty are also inoladed Teigue oge O'Connor, son of Cahill 
oge; Bory and Conn, sons of Owen O'Connor of Orange; 
Murtogh hoceagh O'Connor with four other O'Connors of 
Donalley (who had in 1617 grants of some small fragments 
of their andent territory), and twenty-eight more in difierent 
localities of the county. 

In the aforesaid year (1603) King James directed a com- 
mission of inquiry as to the mears and bounds of the territory 
of Tirconell, distinguiBhing it from the lands of O'Dogfaertie, 
O'Connor-Sligo, and the other chieftains of those parts, and 
an inquisition was held therefor at Donegal in the November 
of that year. All Ireland having been then in point of fiu^t 
reduced to English rule, King James laid the foundation for 
general findings of the Crown's paramount title to certain 
lands, advowsons, and similar interests m the respective 
counties thereof, ' as well those of ancient inheritance as those 
subsequently acquired by individual confiscations, and by the 
dissolution of religious houses.' The inquisitions taken with 
this object in Sligo were held in 1617 and 1618, and they 
found sundry lands vested in the Eing by reason of the 
attainders of Teigue O'Connor of Anagh, Connor O'Connor 
and sundry others jof the name. Donogh did not live to 
witness this severance of his old rights; he died about the 
year 1609, leaving Charles his eldest son then under age, 
and whose wardship was granted by the King in 1613 to 
Faithftd Fortescue, while the rights of the minor in rents, 
customs, and services out of various lands in Sligo were 
expressly saved for him, as * a minor and the King's ward' in 
a grant of such lands to Sir Charles Wilmot, Knight, in 
1615. This Charles died in 1634 leaving one daughter his 
only issue, of whom no record is preserved. 


Wtllm the iinc nmg cf tlie IkmiinBM m 

in the will near the easfeem window, and on the ng^cf llie 

altwr fltoods * vfgj beMitifiiIfy exeented nwnHHWiit in nalive 

muUe, senDounfeed bj n emcifiz, immediate nnder wUdi 

ore oanred the fiunily umorials, widi llie symbola of royilty in 

• lion crowned, an oak tree, Ac, while, on tiie body of the 

monnment finelj canred in baa idief, two figorea r epreaa nt 

the (yConnor-Sligo and hia Ladj, kneding; Ida handa aie 

placed together aa in prajer, her'e hold n book which ahe ia 

reading. He ia repreaented dreaaed in a coat of mail, hia head 

nncoyered, and his hebnet with Tizor lyiii^ at hia fiset 9ie 

ia robed gTacefaUy, a chain fsX beads wi^ a ckmb hnng round 

hoc neck, and a coronet on her head. The lower part of this 

tomb ia covered with angek' bnata, deathe* heada, a winged 

hoor-glaaa and other elaborate embleme of mortality. Flanked 

by cherubim ia an inscription, which, aa wdl aa it can now be 

decyphered and yerified, records the erectbn thereof in 1624 

by Eleanor Batler, a daughter of l4»d Dunboyne, who, 

having first married the Earl of Deamond, became aob- 

seqaenily the wife of Sir Donogh 0*Connor>Sligo ; ad£ng 

that Elizabeth, a daughter of her*a by her first huaband, waa 

buried therein. 

According to the concoiring traditions of two lines of the 
0*Connor-Sligo, this Sir Donogh had two l»otihera, one 
the aforesaid Murtogh boecaghj and the second Melaghlin or 
Loughlin; with one daughter, Una, who married Francb 
French then located at Sessueman Castle in SHgo, and firom 
their union has descended the Frenchpark Ime of that fiunily-^ 
Lords de Freyne. 

Murtogh, it has been shown, had grant of a pardon 
from the King in 1603; but, on the disturbance of Irish 
fiunilies which ensued from Jameses Plantation, he was 



fittn to repair for shelter to the th^i Beduded woods of 
Anagh (now Hadewood) at which plaoe his son, Teigne 
reoded, and whoe, from his impoyerished condition and 
I^ysical infirmities, he was snffisred to remain undistorbed to 
his death. Those lands of Anagh were in 1620 dedaied 
confiscated by this Teigae's attainder as before mentioned. 
He left a son, Charles, who was permitted to rest in Anagh; 
bat, in his landless condition he sunk into obscurity. He had 
two sons, Martin and Murtogh, the latter Bt]^ed of 
was attainted in 1691, and died without issue. Martin 
at Anagh and was buried at Sligo; his eldest son, Owen, 
was attainted with his uncle in 1691, whereupon he remoyed 
to Carrowlustia, while he rented Edenbawn firom the Qrmsbys, 
and on his death was laid with his long line of ancestors at 
Sligo. His eldest son, Denis, was bom at Ldsdufiv a&w 
Carrowlustia, in 1681, and dying there in 1757 was interred 
at Clogher in the parish of Calry, leaying one son, Caihal, 
also bom at lisduff in 1723, where he died in 1787, and was 
buried ^vnth his fiitiier at Clogher. The eldest son of Cathal, 
Denis junior, was likewise bom at Ldsduff in 1749, and died 
at Edenbawn in 1836. He had a numerous fiimily of whom 
1. Connell, his eldest son, bom in 1779, is yet liying, and has 
a large fiunily, all of whom haye emigrated to America. 2. 
Patrick, bom in 1782, died in 1832, and was buried in the 
<sentre of the great aisle in Sligo Abbqr» surrounded by those 
of his name and lineage, who now claim only that narrow 
xesling place in the principalily of their fiire&tiiers. This 
Patrick left three sons, Denis, James, and Petet, with four 
daughters, of whom Maiy the eldest is ihe yrafe of John 
Kelly of Essex-Lawn in the County of Boscommon, as is 
Anna of Joseph Mulhall of Boyle; Ellen of Martin Madden 
of Camp-hill Colooney; and, Lizzie is unmarried. 3. John, 


the tloid Mm of Denis junior died in 1852 Qetsmg two sons 
Patt and John). 4. James, the foorth, a plaoter at Trinidad 
died in 1827 nnmanied; and 5. Peter, the fifth, is a joadj 
inflnmtift^ gentkman of confiiderable property and high 
dayracCer in the County of Sligo- 

Having tnused the elder line of the (yConnor-Sligo, that 
of M^l«i gl»lwi or LoQ^din is next entitled to cooffldemtion; 
he too aoffeied hj the Plantation, and an inqniotion taken 
on his poflsenons in Mayo in 1620 at Ballyna&d is recorded 
in the BoUs of Chancery. On his expokion thence he settled 
at Kilduany in the Coonty of Galway. Some time after he 
had redded there the Ciyil war of ^41' broke onl^ and, a heavy 
persecation having been directed by the Usurpers against the 
Catholic clergy, this Loughlin's active charity for the priest- 
hood of his church was acknowledged in a deed of 20th June, 
1645, executed by John de Burgh, Archbishop of Tuam, to 
'Loughlin O'Connor of Salduany;' in which the Prelate 
declares, 'whereas we are now in prison in the town of 
Gblway for God's cause, and whereas the sdd LougUin hath 
supported us with his own meat and money, to our no small 
comfort, we hereby r^nit him certain moneys; and request 
him to take out of the church of St. Mary in Tuam a statue 
of the Blessed Virgin, and keep it till better times come.' 
The sdd Archbishop was soon afterwards with thirty priests 
put on board an old vessd which was scuttled and sunk out- 
dde the Ides of Arran. Loughlin married a daughter of 

O'Buaic, of Bre&ey, and died in 1677, as testified by a 

tombstone in the 'church of the shrine' at Tuam, and he left 
by his sdd wife four sons, Hugh, Tfaady, Bryan, and Malachy. 
When Gdway was bedeged in 1652 by Sir Chades Coote, a 
large force was assembled by this Thady and Bryan for its 
relief Coote despatched a regiment of Dragoons to attack 

o'gaba's utfantrt. 537 

them at Sylane, where they were encamped, the Dragoons 
forded the river Clare at Cloonfuah, but were driven back 
into the river with great loss. Becent excavations and clear- 
ings here have thrown up evidences of this engagement in 
several spear-heads, bridle-bits and spnrs of the &shion of the 
day. The brothers with their forces immediately marched 
for Gralway, but soon receiving intelligence of its surrender, 
their forces dispersed and themselves escaped to France, 
where both died tmmarried. Hugh married Alice, daughter 
of John Lynch of Tobbemadly (Belwell), and had by her 
two sons, Dermot and Hugh, the latter died young. Dermot 
who was bom in 1700, married Mabel, daughter of OTlynn* 
of Furlough, County Galway, and granddaughter of Sir 
fiedmond Burke of Glynsk, and he died in 1793, leaving two 
sons and two daughters. His eldest son Captain Edmund of 
the Green Horse, afterwards the 5th Dragoons, died in 1782 
unmarried, when the Right Beverend Dr. Thomas O'Connor, 
Boman Catholic Bishop of Achonry, the second son of 
Dermot O'Connor, became his heir, the last male of the Sligo 
fiutnily in this line. Of the two daughters of Dermot, Anne, 
the eldest, married John Melville, an officer, and their only 

* The Sept of OTlynn (whom 0*Heerm styles *a tribe of the purest 
pedigree*) is noticed by the native annalists as settled at a very remote 
period on the borders of Lough Neag^ where they started up to oppose 
the progress of de Conroey in Ulster, ttid drove him back in II77 dis* 
oomfited and wounded to Dublin. Their subsequent poflsession of a 
territory in Bosoommon extending into Galway, and the succession of 
their chiefs there are very fully noticed by the Four Masters. The name 
does not appear commissioned on thb Army list, but, as the attainders of 
1696 describes that of Fiachra 0*Flynn, then Chief of that Sept, their 
adhesion to the Stuart cannot be doubted. This Fiachra is described in 
the Inqmsitioii as of Ballinlough, County Bosoommon. 


■on died in 1607, uunaxried. Mabel, Dermoids fleoond 
danghter, manied Thomae Donelan of Petemrdl, the lineal 
deaoendant of Sir Jamea Donelan, who was Lord Chief 
JuBtiee of tlw Common Pleas, Irehrnd, in die year after the 
Bestaration. The present Thomas O'Connor Donebm of 
Sylane in Galway ia the grandson of tibe albceaaid Thomas of 
PefeeraweUL Of the Donelan pedigree see amU at ^Captain 
Mfllaghlin Donelan.' 

To rerert to the principalily, firom wbkik tibeae OComMra 
deriyed thdr cognomen. The artntrBry policy, conoeiyed by 
Ejiig Jamea, was willingiy adopted in the snooeeding reign 
by the ill-fiited £atl of Strafford. Through a memoaikAe 
Inquisition directed against Connaught in 1638, he sought 
to eatabliah, on the oaths of jurors of its sereral ooimties, 
that all the lands therein, notwithstanding prior giants to 
individuals, were then vested absolutdy in the Crown, and 
this construction was affirmed by tiie verdicts of the jvrars 
of Connan^xt, with the sngle exception of those of Gal- 
way. The ensuing attainders Cdl with awfiil desolation 
on the O'Connors-Sligo, while Cromwell's Ordinance of 
1652 denounced the aforesaid Teigne O'Connor^SBIgo with 
Charles and Hugh O'Connor, his alleged brothers. The 
acknowledgment of Boyal gratitude ' for services beyond the 
seas' in 1665, includes Ensign Daniel OConnor, described 
as of the County Mayo, bat he was in tmth of the Sligo 
Sept. At this time an intention of granting the estates 
of the O'Connor-SKgo to Wffliam Earl of Strafford, son 
of Eail Thomas, who had held the Inquiation of 1638, 
having been made known, the ^1649' Offioera, who expected 
allotments and reprisals thereout, petitioned against a dause, 
which was sought to be introduced in the Act of Settlement 
for tiie Strafford ol»|ect, allqjing that claims, which had been 

o'oaba's infamtbt. 589 

made at the Coiuifiil Board in August, 1641, on the EarPB 
behalf had been then rejected; while another petition of 
Biohard Loid Colooney, Sir Fxancis Gore and Alderman 
EiasmiiB Smith, yet more earnestly <yppoeed the pasaiii^ of 
mxaii gnmt; and theirs set forth particularly the state of 
O'Connor's property. In 1674 however a very long and 
foil grant was made by King Charles to the said Earl 
William and to Thomas Baddiffe, for a very huge portion 
of what had been theretofore for oentuiies the tenitory of 
this sept. It comprised the manor, town and lands of Sligo, 
with a fishing weir and mills thereunto belonging, the islands 
of Innismuiry and Denynish, the Castle o£ Dunally aforesaid, 
with various rectories and chiefries; the lands of Anagh 
with many thousands of acres in the Baronies of Carbury, 
Corren, Tyr»»^ and Tyrenill, subject to the rents and 
services theretofore made payable to King Charles the First, 
and saving the rights of certain children of Sir Francis 
Blmidel under mortgages created for their benefit and in 
trust by Dono^ O'Connor-Sligo. The interest of these 
patentees was soon after sold by them to Bichard Earl of 
Colooney, and all rights of the old proprietors were disre- 
garded. Yet still devoted to the ungralefid Stuarts, or 
rather should it be said to their own religion and their 
oountry, the landless victims gathered round the standard 
of James in this war. The Thady, who ranks Major in this 
B^giment, is desdibed in his attainder as of Cloonkeely 
otherwise MuUagh, a townland which immediately adjoins 
Sylane, the estate of the befine-mentioned Thomas O'Connor 
Dondan, and which is proveable by patents to have belonged 
to the O'Connors. Owen O'Connor also described as of 
Cloonkeely was then attainted, with Patrick of Dunally, 
Murtagfa of Aghill, and Hugh of Longford. 


It is suggested by a moniimait at Brussels that a Daniel 
O'Connor-SligOt possibly a gnoidson ot Enogn Daniel of 
1665 had served in this war, thon^ not named on the present 
Army last. The inscription thereon ooounemorates ^the 
iUostrious Daniel 0'Connor-Sligo» a Lieutenant-Grenend in 
the Austrian service, who had served sucoeeeively under 
James the Second, Louis the Fourteenth, the Duke of 
Lorraine, and lastly, under Austria, and who died at Brusseb 
in 1756 aged ninety-two.* 


TaB O^Maol Conrys were a branch of the SoulJiem Hy- 
Nialls, who for centuries ruled as Kings of Meath and 
Monarchs of Ireland. They were descended fimn Mainci 
fourth son of Nial of tiie Nine Hostages and Prince of Teflia, 
in the present Counly of Westmeath; where they were 
located until the tenth century, when crossing the Shannon, 
they settled upon its western bank, and firom that time were 
known as Connadans. This Sept, which belonged to the 
great Bardic Order, acquired under the patronage of the 
O'Conors, King of Connaught, considerable possesions in 
that Province, and became its Chief Bards, as well as 
Seanachies to its Kings; as shown in die Annals of the 
I^our Masters, which, amongst other similar notices, record 
that in 1270, Tanaidhe Mor, son of Duinnin, son of Nedhe, 
son of Conding buidhe O'Maolconry, was appointed Chief 
Historiographer of Connaught; and Dubhsuilleadi O'Maol- 
conry and Dunkiny O'Maolconry were removed from that 
Professorship. It also appears from the same Annalists that 
in 1400 * Gregory, son of Tanaidhe O'Maolconry , the worthy 

tMSU • WDT T) 

0*0ARA*8 INFANTRY. 541 

intended Professor of Siol Murray ^ Boscommon) was 

accidentally killed by the cast of a dart from the hand of 

William ^ garo^ at the tochar (pass) of Dunaiiion in a 

mistake^ and one hundred and twenty-six cows were given 

as an eiic (fine) for his death.' In the compilation of the 

Annals of the Four Masters^ two of the Sept, Maurice and 

Fearfeasa O'Mulconry, contributed the ancient chronicles 

of their tribe, and were active assistants. In virtue of the 

hereditary and honourable office of Seanachie, it was the 

duty of the Chief of this celebrated Bardic dan to officiate 

upon the Sacred Hill, at the Inauguration of a new King of 

Connaught; to present to him the white wand or sceptre, 

the emblem of Sovereignty; to administer to him the usual 

oath or admonition to preserve the customs of the country; 

and, finally, to record the proceedings. In the learned Dr. 

O'Conor's Latin translation of the MSS. chronicles of Ireland 

appears an account of the ceremonies, &c., performed by 

Toma O'Mulconry in the year 1312, at the Inauguration 

of Phelim O'Conor, King of Connaught. It is written by 

Toma himself, and is to be found in the aforesaid Irish 

Chronicles, thus translated : — 

*'The O^MaolcoQarys were by herdditary right the Bards of the Sjngs 
of Connaiight, without whose public recitation of their genealogy, in Tene 
before the Aaaemblj of the Kingdom, it was illegal to inaugurate the 
King. Hence many Chief Poets of this name are commemorated in the 
Annals of Connaught. This is the privilege of Maoloonary: — ^to give 
into the hand of the inaugurated King the Royal wand, and, excepting 
O'Maolconary who stands near the King, and 0*Connachtan who guards 
the sacred mount, it is not lawful for any other of the nobles of Connaughf 
to be in the King's pxesenoe upon that sacred mount. The King's war 
chaiger and dress are given to the Vicar of Daehon, whose office it is to 
go mounted on that horse to the mount ; and an ounce of gold is given to 
0*Connachtan, and it is his duty to level the inequalities of the mount, 
when an inauguration takes place.** 

542 KINO jamss'b ntiSH abxt list. 

The office of chief baid to an Irish King is thus shown to 
have been a poet of great honour and dignity, and many of its 
duties were of a solemn description: some of the functions 
of the Boyal Seanadbies at the ceremony of inauguration were 
in late times performed by the clergy ihemselTes, as stated 
in the account giren of the inauguration of Hugh (yNrill, 
titular King of Ulster and Eari bf Tyrone, at the close of 
Elizabeth's reign. The inauguration of an Irish King, even 
as late as the reign of James the ilrst, was performed in tiie 
open air, upon one of the Sacred Hills, or places appointed for 
that purpose, and in the presence of the septs c£ the proyince 
who weie led thither by thor reepeetive chiefs to witness 
the ceremony*— »^The poet Spencer, in his View of the State 
of Ireland^ written in 1597, thus describes one of these solemn 
rites, of which himself had been an eye-witness. *' Whenever 
an Irish king or chief is to be inaugurated on one c^ thdr 
hills, it is usual to place him on a particular stone, whereen 
is imprinted the form of their first chieflain's foot, and there 
proflBsr to him an oatii to p r eserve the customs of the country. 
There was then a wand delivered to him by the proper officer, 
with which in his hand, descending from the stone, he tuned 
himself round, thrice forward^ thrice baekward.'* In an 
account of the ceremonies performed at the initiation of the 
OT>onels, Princes of Tyrconnel, it is said that in presenting 
the new king with the wand, which was perfectly white and 
straight, the chief who officiated used this form of words: — 
" Beceive, King, this auspcious badge of your authority, 
and remember to imitate in your conduct the whiteness and 
straigfatness of this wand." 

In 1468 another 'Toma OliCaoIcoitfy, Chief Profbssor of 
%ol-murry, died in his own house at Us-fiibain, alter the 
festival of St Patrick; he was interred at Elphin, and Erard 

o^gabVs infantry. 543 

O'Maolcomy suooeeded in the Chief ProfeeeorBhip. This 
Erard, dying in 1482, waa alao buried at Elphin. His suo- 
oeflsor was Siodhiaidh O'Maoleoniy ;' while the Masters reooid 
at 1519 the death of Maoilin, son of * Toma O'MaoIoonxjy 
Chief Professor of Siol-murrjr, a man fall of law and learning, 
a msok wh<»n the GeraldinecT and English had selected in 
preferenee to all the Professors of Ireland;' he died in the 
monastery of Dery, in Teflia. In 1543 Maurice, son <tf 
Patrick O'Maolconry, * a man eminent in history and poetry, 
a man of great affluenoe, a learned writer, by whom many 
books had been written and poems composed, by whom 
schools were superintended, and who entertained many of 
these scholars in his own house, died after having gained the 
victory over the world and ihe devil.' 

This hereditary and remarkable office became obsolete in 
the O'Maolconry dan, after the split of the great O'Connor 
fiunily into the three kindred but rival houses of O'Conor 
Don, O'Conor Boe, and O'Conor Sligo, and the divisions of 
tiie lands and Septs of Connanght between them ; when the 
O'Maolconrys became tributaries to the O'Conors Boe, Most 
of this great name had submitted to Elizabeth, and remaining 
fidthful to her during the fieroe wars of that period in Ireland, 
provoked the hostility of their conntrym^i, the O'Ndls and 
O'Donels of the north; who, in revenge for this (as they 
considered) apostacy from the common cause, made a descent 
into Connanght in 1597, and laid waste the territories of the 
O'Conors with fire and sword. In this foray, the O'Conor 
Don, their Chief, was taken prisoner; the country of O'Conor 
Soe, south of Elphin, was ravaged from Athglissen to Sliabk- 
bann; and the Mac Dennot of Moyhxg was obliged to 
declare himself 0*Donel% vassal, and to attend him when 
required, with dghty foot and twenty horse, Ac., <fi;c. The 

544 KINO JAMKS's nasH abmt ust. 

nnmmcJlj amall Sept of the O'MiilooiirfB was almost 
iiniliilaiAil on this innnd, and die decay of the haaSHj dates 
from that period. Their subeeqnent history awrnnihitfB with 
that of most other Irish famiKew; the cruel ciTil wars that 
desolated mihappy Irebnd throag^oot the seyenteenth 
oentury, prodnciiig attamders, finieitiire, and esdle, almost 
eztiogiDshed them. Nerertheless one or two fiunilies of a 
Sept, idiom Mac Fiibis, in his cdeteated poCTi, styles 
emphaticany, * the (yMaoIoonrys without a Uot,* amtinned, 
thnnig^ all Tidssitades of fortune to retun some footing in 
thor native province. The OlMaolconry , being, as before men* 
turned, tribntary to O'CSonnor Boe, the sopreme lord of the 
Eastern part of Connanght, was fi»oed by the Indenture of 
Composition then imposed upon native Chiefe, to give up 
the customs theretofore in use, to abjure the Brehon htw, to 
hold thdr lands according to English tenure, and in many 
cases to surrender the distingnishing prefixes to their names, 
this &mily was consequently henceforward written ' Conry.* 

The above Captsin John Conry, his brother Lieutenant 
Bryan, and a third brother, Patrick, were of this house, and 
all engaged in the service of King James the Second; while 
another John Conry, of the elder brandi of the fimiily, dsims 
more especial notice, as well for the sscrifices he and his 
descendants had made to this cause, as for die position and 
rank they have respectively held to the present day. The 
grandfather of this latter John was Moylin 0*Maolconry , who 
died in 1637, the last indiiddual recognised in native heraldry 
as chief of his nation. His son Thoma entered and caused 
to be certified in the Herald's College, his father's lineage 
which declares him to have been the forty-third in descent 
from the first-recorded ancestor (''Conn, of the hundred 
battles'^ in that pedigree. Thoma, dying in 1647, was 

o'gaba*s infantry. 545 

succeeded by his son John, who, having taken part and 
suffered in his estate, in the CromweHian wars, fled to France, 
and there married the daughter of another emigrant, of the 
Fitz-Geralds, who had quitted Ireland in Elizabeth's reign, 
on the destruction of the great Geraldine chief, the Earl of 
Desmond. He served throughout the wars of France, under 
the celebrated Marshal Turenne, and was killed at the passage 
of the Rhine in 1672, leaving two sons, Charles and Fearfeasa 
Conry, who both returned to Ireland. The eldest, Charles, 
who is stated to have also fought under Turenne at the early 
age of fifteen, endeavoured, after the restoration of Charles 
the Second, to obtain compensation for his fiunily's losses in 
the Royal cause, and having obtained a small and tardy appro- 
priation of lands in his native province, he agcdn returned 
to France. On the expedition of James the Second to Ire^ 
land, Charles, still clinging to the old dynasty, sold the estate 
he had inherited through his mother in France, and, adding 
to the proceeds whatever he could raise in Ireland, devoted 
his fortune and his life to the cause of that Monarch, whom, 
in common with his Roman Catholic countrymen, he alone 
recognised as his lawful Sovereign. His name, however, 
does not appear in the present Army List, but unimpeachable 
records establish the fact of his bearing arms for King James 
as a volimteer, of which description of force there was a 
considerable body. Having joined James's army with 
whotnsoever of his sept he could collect, he fought and fell 
at the Boyne. Leaving no issue, he was succeeded by his 
brother Fearfeasa, who was the first member of the family 
that professed Protestantism. 

His son, another John, was a celebrated antiquarian, and, 
in his devotion to literature, pursued the hereditary vocation 
of his ancestors; he collected a very valuable library, in 

VOL. II. 2 N 


addition to aaoent and cnriooB MSS. of the 0*Mflolcoiiaire 
tribe. Of these MSS. Dr. Nicholson, in hie /m& Hutorical 
Library, pnbliehed before 1724, writes ^ The most yalnable 
eoUectioBS that I haye met with in any hand here in DnbHn, 
next to that of the Bishop of Clogher, was coramnnieated to 
me by Mr. John Conry, who has gteat nmnbers of our Histo- 
rioo*Poetical compoflitionB, and, being a perfect master of their 
language and pro$odia, knows how to make the best use of 
them. Amongst these is the 'AvmdU of ike Four MoBterg, 
signed by the proper hands of the compilers, drawn up in two 
thick volumes quarto, tiie first perfect, the second deficient 
firom A.D., 1172, to 1835." Two members of this Maolconry 
Sept had been engaged in this great work, which, with many 
other of the Conry MSS. passed into the kte ill-iated libnury 
at Stowe, having been purchased not long after Dr. Nichokcm 
had seen them, firom Mr. Conry by the dder Charles O'Conor 
of Bealanagar, Ac., whose grandson and namesake having 
become LilNrarian to the Duke of Buckingham, brought 
thither these and several oth^ fiimily compilations. 

John Conry himself drew up a remarkably interestiiig 
history of his fiunily hom the eariiest period to the year 
1750; it is divided into chapton, and throws li^t on many 
passages of the general and family history of Ireland. His 
only son, John Ponsonby Conry, who in his latter days 
changed the spelling of his patronymic to Conroy , was educated 
in Trinity College, Dublin, and, becoming a Member of the 
Irish Bar, was the first of this fitmily who adopted a peaceful 
profession. He, dying in 1797, was succeeded by his son, 
the late Sir John Conroy, Knight of four foreign otders, 
and vfho was created a Baronet for long and fiiidiful services 
to her Majesty and their Royal Highnesses the Duke and 
Duchess of Kent. The present Baronet, a gods<»i of that 

o'ga&a's infantbt. 547 

Boyal Duke, bears his respected namC) Sir Edward Conroy 
of Llaabrynniair, County <^ Montgomery, and he may 
rely, as the most satia&ctory evidence of his ancient 
native lineage, cm the &ct of his being the only descendant 
of the O'Maol-Conrys still retaining a portion of that 
territory, which his ancestors had inherited from time imme- 
morial. They were also seised of the adjacent denomination 
of Clonahee, in the County Roscommon, which passed in the 
seventeenth century to a junior branch, whose interest tlierein 
was recently sold under the Incumbered Estates* Commission. 
A distinguished individual of this name wsa Florence 
O'Mulcomy, titular Archbishop of Tuam, and founder of the 
Irish Franciscan Monastery at Louvain, under the auspices of 
Philip the Third of Spain. This Prelate was the author of 
several works, and, dying at Madrid in 1629, his bones were 
subsequently removed to the Convent he had founded at 
Louvain. He was intimately concerned in the political move- 
ments of the times, and was instrumental in aiding the 
escape of the great Earls of Tyrone and Tyrconnell out of 
Ireland. The fistct is announced in a letter, dated ** Dublin, 
12th of Sep., 1607," from Sir John Davis, the celebrated 
Attomey-Greneral of Ireland, to the English Lord Chancellor 
EUesmere, in which he says that this prelate came over in 
person in a ship equipped and sent by Philip of Spain for the 
rescue of these Eark. 



The name of Shanly, sometimes styled (yShanly^ but more 
usually MacShanlyy is noticed in old records as that of a sept 

548 mnsG jamk8*s hush abmt ust. 

of Cimuuight 00 fiur back as the exAj part of the tfairteendi 
centiny. Its derivatioD is firom the Celtic words Sean- 
Laoeh^ mgmfying the "ancient Chami»oiL^ To the Coontj 
of Ldtrim it propeiiy pertained, being imrdy ever met with 
except in that oonnty, and along the Suumon ficontier of 
Longford and Bosoommon, within which circait its influence 
can be tnced back (or npwaids of six hundred years. It was 
occaoonally to be met with, too, as fiur down the river as 
Athlone and in the noghbouring parts of Westmeath: 
where, indeed, a fiunily of the name had of old reoded and 
held possessions long antecedent to the Bercdution, at which 
period an attainder was issued against ** James Shanly of 
Macetown, in the County of Westmeath, Grentleman,'* for his 
adherence to the cause of King James. The sept was, 
however, essentially of Lditrim, and, before the "RngliaK 
" Pkutalions** had broken down the fiflnily landmarks, its 
chief was known fix>m generation to generation under the 
style of " MacShanly of Drumod;" ranking among the most 
ancient of the " lords of the soil,'* in the old kingdom of 
*^ Breflhey,'* and mainly within the bounds of what is now 
the Barony of MohilL 

The following are some of the lustorical notioes of this 
sept : — ^In the year a.d. 1254 Sitric MacShanly and Shean 
Shaileach MacShanly were taken prisoners by Phelim, son 
of Cathal Croydearg O^Connor, on a charge of their conspiring 
to betray him; he caused the bust named MacShanly to be 
deprived of his sight. In two years afber, Donagfay Mac- 
Shanly died in the Abbey of Boyle; and in 1261 Sitric was 
slain at Athlone by Donaghy MacGeraghty. Teigue Mac- 
Shanly died in 1354, and in 1378 MacShanly, the chief of 
his sept, was killed in an engagement with the MflpT^nnfiHi^ 
and O'Buarcs. In 1404 the Four Masters commemorate ihe 


death of Donagh, son of Morough MacShanly, '* a wealthy 
landed proprietor of Corcaghlan" (County Boscommon) and 
an officer of trust to Boderic O'Connor, then still styled 
'* £jng of Connaught.*' In 1473 (says the same authority) 
a great commotion broke out in Muinter-Eolis (County of 
Leitrim), and much destruction was committed both by 
burning and slaying. The MacBaDnalls made an attack on 
the baile, or town, of MacShanly, burning it and slaying 
Donough, son of Donough MacShanly; and shordy after- 
wards in a general engagement of the clans '' at the wood of 
Carrigallan" (where a vivid tradition still exists of a battle 
having been fought), among many men of note who there fell 
was Bryan MacShanly. 

The '^plantations*' of Longford, Boscommon, and Leitrim, 
in the reign of King James the First, made heavy inroads 
on the hereditary possessions of the native Irish chieftains ; 
and in the latter county the MacShanlys of Drumod suffered 
to a great extent. In that reign Teigue MacShanlie of 
Momin, in the County of Longford, Edward oge MacShanlie 
and Bryan MacShanlie (the latter described as of '* Ancurvy" 
King's County) '* sued out patents of pardon and protection.'* 
These persons, however, appear to have been mere offshoots 
or outposts of the main sept, which lay far back from the Pale 
in its fitstnesses of Leitrim. An inquisition taken in 1657, 
foimd William Shanly (the Mao is dropped henceforward) in 
occupation of certain lands and tenements in Meath, belonging 
to the Earl of Boscommon. He, it would seem, had removed 
temporarily '' within the Pale," in compliance with an edict 
issued by Cromwell in 1651 (from Dublin) placing the County 
of Leitrim under martial law, and commanding all there who 
desired *' protection'' to remove with their &milies, cattle, and 
other goods within the *^ Parliamentary quarters." 

TU* Wimta, ifter Ike 
Cfon of 1 82 MRS of Ind 
and be WW die firtkr 
aodee. TWfevcreako two 

fiomlf terriag at Ike anne line ia lias anne eatfB. 
mbA Mkkael Skaalj; wUe Brywm Skaalj, ako af DkuMid, 
Irid aa Eaaga a cwBMiMWB ia Coloed Hcmd 

In 1687 King Jameaa Cbrter to Jameatown, Cooatf 
Leitfim, names Wilfiam Sbanlj (die Ca|iCMn i«fiemd to 
aboire) S o fe ieig n of fbe ban»f^;li, aad Mirtiarl one af ils 
Borgenea. William waa, ako, [widi Alennder MacDomidl, 
Esq,, aa Ui oolleiigiie] Miantwy for Jamestodrn in die 
Parfiament of 1689. 

In 1691 wete attainted Wilfini SImlj of Jaauatown, 
Miefaad Oianlj of Dromod, Thady and ftjan Sliantf of 
Feniai^ht, all in die County of Leitran, '^Gcndemen;" alao 
Michaci Shanly of Caiginay Couuly Ituwmiiuuon, and Ji 

Shanl J of Maeetown, Coontj Westmeadi, Gentlemen. From 
die confiacationa firflowing on tlieee Attainders WilKsm 
Shanty, the head of the house of Dmmodf aaved, by a 
eompfomise witb tbe giantee of the Crown, some fiv€ town- 
knds of his ancestral posseacionB. 

In 1710 Captain Miehad l^anly, having pravionaly oome 
orer to King William, was placed on the pension fist of tbe 
Army for mx shillings and nine pence per day, and so 
oontinned ontil 1739, when he died. 

A Mortgage deed, of Slst Febmary, 1709, shows diat 
William Shanly, aboye mentaoned, styled " of Dromod," 
was then seised of the lands of Feamaght, CominalNnick, 
BallinafraTe, Conahanbo and Moher, all in the Barony c£ 

o'gaba's infaktby. 551 

MohilL Sabeequent to the SeyolutioDa he had fixed his 
reaideaoe on the first named property (Feamaght) and was 
saooeeded in his esttttee by his ddest son James ; who married 
a daughter of Boger O'Farrell of Momm (M.P. for Longford 
in 1689). Another son, Obtain Francis Shanly, msurried 
Frances Dillon, aister of Bobert, ninth Earl of Roscommon, 
and of that marriage some descendants were generally to be 
found in the Army List down to the days of the PeDinBular 
War. Their branch is however believed to be now extinct. 

James Shanly of Feamaght had by his said wife, Miss 
Farrell of Momin, two sons, William and Iriel. The latter 
was never married. The former styled '* William Shanly of 
Feamaght," married, about the year 1734, Margaret Jennings 
of Mohill, and by her had four sons, William, James, Tobias, 
and Michael. The eldest, known during a long life, in which 
he played a conspicuous part among the gentry of his county, 
as '' William Shanly of Willyfield,'' was High Sheriff of 
Leitrim in 1785. His name is also to be found in the list 
of those who, in 1782, signed the Resolution of the Leitrim 
Volunteers, adopting the memorable ^' Declaration of Dun- 
gannon." He died in October, 1815, aged upwards of etghly 
years, at his seat of Willyfield, County licitrim, and, having 
never married, he bequeathed his property among the three 
BODS of his youngest brother, Michael. James, the seoond 
son of William of Feamaght, died unmarried. The third son, 
Tobias, married Prudence, daughter of CainiGroes Nisbitt of 
Derrycame; and had one son, Tobias, an officer in the 16th 
Regiment of Foot (1801), who died unmarried, and a 
daughter. Prudence, married to Robert Graham of Garrick- 

Michael, the youngest son of William, entered the Army, 
and was a Captain in the 18th, or '* Light Drogheda " Dra* 

552 Kma jamss'b ibish abxt ust. 

goons. Be married Jane, widow of Constable, Esq., 

of ClonmeL (Her maiden name was Shaw, and by her former 
marriage she had one daughter, Anna-Belle Constable, married 
in 1788 to Major Coote I^bitt of Anghry). By his marriage 
with Mrs. Constable Captain Shanly had three sons, Robert, 
William, and James. He retired from the service in 1787, 
fiom which time to the day of his death he held a mnecore 
Staff appointment in the Boyal Irish Artillery. He died in 
1816 at his residence in Eodes-street, Dublin, and was buried 
in the Church of St. Michan. His eldest son, the B«y. 
Bobert Shanly, was Sector of Julianstown, County Meath. 
He married a daughter of the Bey. Dr. Stewart, of the 
County Cork, and left one son, William, now of the City of 
London [unmarried] and four daughters; Ist, Jane, married 
Henry Parsons, nephew of the second Eari of Boss; 2nd, 
Anna, unmarried; 3rd, Elizabetii, married Frederick Henry 
ViUiers, of Somersetshire; 4th, Sarah, married John Hunger- 
ford Sealy of Barleyfield, County Cork. William, the second 
son, succeeded under his uncle's will to his place of Wlllyfield, 
County Leitrim, and married a daughter of WiUiam Parsons 
Percy, of Garradise, in that County. He left two sons, 
William and James, and six daughters. Tbs eldest son, 
William, married his cousin, daughter of Major John Percy 
of Garradise, and is now living at Bush-hill, Bollinamore, 
County Leitrim, the last representative of the ancient house 
of '* Mac Shanly of Dmmod " in that, its old ancestral 
county. He has a son, William, serving abroad with the 
First Boyal Begiment of Foot. 

James, the youngest son of Captain Michael Shanly, 
was a member of the Irish bar. He resided some time at 
his place of the "Abbey," in the Queen's Counly, and 
subsequently at Norman's Grove in the County of Meath. 

• o'oaba's infantbt. 553 

He married a daughter of Cliarles Mulvannj, of the City 
of Dublin, merchant, and, in 1836, emigrated to Canada 
with his family, where, at his residence of Thomdale, in 
the county of Middlesex, he died in October, 1857, in the 
eightieth year of his age. His family, consisting of six 
sons and one daughter, settled permanently in the colony. 
Besides the several members of this family, enumerated 
in the foregoing memoir, there was another Michael Shanly, 
also of the Drumod connection, who, in the early part of 
the last century, studied for the Soman Catholic priesthood 
in Spain ; in one of the universities of which country he 
was for some years professor of philosophy. In 1753 he 
was elected Prior of St. Saviour's in Dublin, where he died 
in 1759. His absence from a general council of prelates, 
held at Home in 1756, and at which Pope Benedict XI Y., 
presided, is noticed by de Burgo in his Hibemia Dominicana. 
It may also be interesting to remark that the ancient iron 
mines of Leitrim were worked by the Shanlys of Dromod. 
It appears from old i^ecords that, previous to the Kevolution, 
the lands of Aughry and Drumod-more, together with the 
iron-works, out-houses, &c., pertaining thereto, were in pos- 
session of William and Francis Shanly, (the former identical 
with him who represented Jamestown in 1689,) and of which 
they were dispossessed by the Nisbitt family, one of whom, 
James Nisbett, leased those lands and iron-works, in 1696, 
to John Skerrett ''for £100 per annum, with 5 hundred 
weight of good bar-iron, and 5 hundred weight of cast-iron." 
From this transaction originated a Chancery and Appeal 
Case between the Nisbitt and Shanly families, the result 
of which placed the former in possession of the property. 




The O'MqUo J8 or O'MoIIojb' claim desoent from Niall of the 
Nine HoetBges, and were anctenllj Lords of Feaicall in the 
King's Comity, a district extending over the present Baronies 
of Ballyboy, Balljcowen, and Eglish, nith much a£ those of 
Geshil and Ghurrycastle. Of the early and interesting annals 
of this fiunily, it can only be here noticed that in September, 
1189, Albin O'MoUoy, then Bishop of Ferns, officiated witii 
the Archbishops of Canterbury and Dublin, and with other 
Prelates and Nobles, at the coronation of the i«oowned 
Richard Coenr de Lion in Westminster Abbey.* In 1371 
Roderick 'O'Mohnoy' chief of his nation had a grant of ten 
marics, for his laudable services in the Bong's wars, and for 
his bringing oyer many of the Irish to peace. In the com* 
mencement of the fifteenth century, Hugh O'MuUoy founded 
the celebrated Carmelite Monastery of Eilcormuek, in the 
heart of Fearcall, in whidi he was interred in 1454. The 
state papers of the time q£ Heniy the Eighth record numerous 
evidences of tiie struggles of the O'MuUoys to uj^old the 
independence of their sept and territory. At l^igth, in 1538, 
a treaty was ccmcluded by the "Loird Deputy with their Chief, 
by which he (Cahir OMulloy) bound himself ** to pay to the 
King all rents and revenues due and accustomed on the 
country of Fearcall, and to wait on the Deputy at any time 
and as often as he wfll, witii six horsemen and forty kerns, 
during one day and one night, having warning three days 
before the day aj^inted." In 1585, when, in the language 

* Haveden, p. 656, 

0*0AfiA*8 INPANTKT. 555 

of ihe Four Masters, a Parliament was giren to the people of 
Irdand (for these assemblies were previously composed exclu- 
sively of the English or Anglo-Lrish Lords and proprietors), 
this sept was represented by Conal, the son of Cahir 

At a somewhat earlier period, the O'Mulloy was appointed 
by the Crown hereditary Bearer of the British Standard in 
Ireland, in right of which honour an official coat of arms was 
granted, representing vert a mounted Ejiight in armour, on a 
steed richly caparisoned argent ; and bearing in his hand the 
British standard, and on his shield the family armorials. 
This right was recognised in 1595, when, on the march of the 
Lord Deputy, Sir William Russell, to the North, the Royal 
standard of England was borne on the first day, as within the 
Pale, by O'Mulloy, and in the next, after passing out of the 
Pale, by O'Hanlon, the hereditary standard bearer of O'Neill. 
The privil^e was subsequently, in 1634, recorded, and the 
armorials exemplified by certificate from the Ofiice of Arms. 
Early in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, Anthony O'Mulloy, a 
younger son of Hugh O'Midloy, then Chief of Fearcall, 
migrated to the County of Roscommon, and having married 
Honora Dowell of the Mantua House, he became the founder 
of the Hughstown and Oakport lines of this family, fie died 
in 1603, when the Inquisition post mortem describes him by 
the same cognomen as one of the above Captains, * Greene 
Mulloy.' Li 1613 a portion of the FearcaU inheritance was 
granted to Francis Blimde, * clerk of the Commissioners for 
defective titles,' while the estates of others of the sept in the 
same county, who had been /attainted' or 'slain in rebellion,' 
were given to Gerald, Earl of Ejldare. In 1617, however, 
William O'Mulloy had a grant of the manor. Castle, town 
and lands of Croghan, the Castle, town and lands of Callowe 


Otherwise Canickbegge; the Castles and lands of Canbo, 
Lifldallon with a large territory in the County of Roeoommony 
a certain portion to be created the manor of Croghan, with 
coorts leet and baron. In 1631 died Daniel 'MoUoye' of 
Derryalney in the £jng*s County, leaving Cosny his son and 
heir aged 20 and unmarried; while Theobald Molloy died in 
two years after seised of Pallice and other lands there, Neale 
Molloy his son and hdr being then aged 35 and married. 

The declaration of Royal gratitude, which is incorporated 
in the Act of Settlement, acknowledges the services of 
Captain Charles O'Mulloy, Lieutenant Edmund O'Mulloy, 
Lieutenant-Colonel Charles MuUoy, Captain Art son of 
Turlough Mulloy, Lieutenant John Molloy, Lieutenant John 
son of Art Molloy, Lieutenant Edward Molloy, Ensign 
Fenagh Molloy, Captain Turlough Molloy of Ballyboy, 
King*s County, and Terence Molloy of Gortachuttery in said 
coimty. In 1677 Charles ^Molloy' had a grant of 912 acres 
in Mayo, subject to a mortgage; as had Hugh 'Mulloy^ in 
1678 of 2,212 in Gralway, subject to two mortgages. Beddes 
the above two Captains, there appear upon this List Robert 
Molloy, a Quarter-Master in Lord Grahno/s Horse ; James, 
a Lieutenant in the King's In&ntry; John, an Ensign in 
Colonel Henry Dillon's ; and Hugh Molloy, in Colonel 
Heward Ozburgh's. Edward O'Mulloy, of the above men- 
tioned Hughstown line, was appointed one of the Burgesses 
in King James's charter to Boyle ; and he, marrying Mary, 
daughter of the O'Connor Don, had by her a son, the above 
Captain 'Greene' Mulloy. Connor O'Mulloy, the elder 
brother of the above Edward, was the lineal ancestor of the 
families of Hughstown and Oakport.* He had two sons, 

* For a full memoir of this fiunily, see D^ Alton's Annals of Boyle, toL 1, 
p. 97, &c 

0'6ARA*8 INFANTBT. 557 

Theobald and William O'Mulloy, who, as frequently occurred 
in that distracted period, espoused different lines of policy. 
Theobald took part with King William, was a Captun of his 
Dragoons at the Battle of the Boyne, and, according to the 
family tradition, when that King's horse was shot under him, 
Theobald presented his own charger to His Majesty. He 
lived to a great age, and, dying in 1734, was buried at 
Ardcame near Boyle. His son Charles, being in Athlone 
when some of King James's officers were raising recruits 
there, was enlisted into that service, and was actually taken 
prisoner at the Boyne, by the B>egiment of which his father 
was Captain; he was then but seventeen, and in consideration 
of the father's services was pardoned, afterwards served for 
William, and at the siege of Sligo was wounded in the leg.* 
William, the second son of Connor O'Mulloy, was the above 
Captain ; who, marrying Alison, daughter of Sir Oliver 
Tuite of Sonna, County of Westmeath, left issue by her. 
He was attainted in 1691, with four others of the sept, 
described as located about their ancient territory, in King's 
and Queen's County and in the County of Kilkenny; as 
affecting which various claims were made at Chichester 
House, but they were all dismist. An Inquisition, taken in 
the tenth year of the reign of King William the Third, finds 
that Charles MoUoy senior, of Balekin in the Eong's Coimty, 
had been sdsed of various lands there in the time of Charles 
the Second ; that he had two sons. Art the eldest and Charles 
second; and that Art had a daughter Marian, who, marrying 
Conly Geoghegan, had issue by him three sons, Bosse, Charles 
and Conly. 

^ Burke's Landed Gentry y p. 807« 



The O'Naughtons were an ancient Irish Sept of the County 
of Ghdwaj, located about the country now comprised in the 
Baronies of Leitrim and Longford. In 1587 John C^Naughton 
died seised, in right of Chief, of the territory of the ^pt, 
containing as shewn on Inquisitions, thirty quarters of 
land; Connor O'Naughton was his son and heir. In 1604 
Robert O^Naughton, described as of Mynure in the Faes, alias 
O'Naughton's country, in Boscommon, haying been killed in 
the wars, the wardship of his son and heir, John, was com- 
mitted to his widowed mother, Jane O'Naughton. Besides 

the three Naughtons in this Regiment, Naughton was a 

Major in Colonel Parker's Horse, Thady Naughton a Lieu- 
tenant in Colonel Henry DiUon's Infantry, and Thomas Mac 
Naghton a Captain in Colonel Cormuck O'Neill's. The latter, 
however, was of the Scottish Plantation in Ulster, and not of 
the native sept. Edmund Henry Naughton is the present 
possessor of an estate within the old family district of the 
Faes, and is the great grandson of a Loughlin Naughton, 
who, dying in 1770 seised of the same property, was, it may 
be well presumed, the grandson of the above Captain. 


Ortblixts's Map locates this Sept between Leitrim and 
Cavan; they were more especially indigenous in the Barony 
of Tullaghaw in the latter counly, and the Four Masters 


record the vooceaoYe chiefs of the Sept. In 1593 the 
Maguires perpetrated a predatory incurribn oyer Cayax^ in 
which Dr. Edward Mac Grawran, the titular primate of 
Armagh, was accidentally killed; he being then protected by 
Magcdre from the conseqaenceB of proacriptionB and o£ a 
reward offered for hb apprehension. At the time of the 
Plantation of Ulster, several of the Mac Gowrans were 
necessitated, for thar protection, to sue out pardons from the 
Crown, and, in the immediately succeeding years, grants were 
made and manors created out of their lordship of TuUaghaw; 
as the manor of Calva to Hugh Culme, other lands to Sir 
George and Richard Graeme ; and, in 1614, all the mountains 
of Quilca, Slieve-an-erin, £c., to John Sandford. Phelimy 
Magowran, however, and others of the Sept obtained from 
the King some small reserved portions within TuUaghaw, to 
hold on the conditions of the Plantationi Of one of these 
grants Bryan Qge Magauran died seised, in 1631, leaving 
Edmund his son and hear, then fifteen years of age, who, 
according to the courtesy of succession in Christian names, 
may have been the fiither of this Captain. Even these 
scanty concessions were, however, early in the reign of Charles 
the First, subjected to searching and hostile inquisitions. 
This fiimily, nevertheless, contributed an officer to King 
Jameses cause, and are still, though in humble ciroumstances, 
a respected race within their old Barony. In truth, their 
Barony is popularly known as *' the Kingdom of Glan,' and 
is to this day so isolated, that it is said " no public road 
leads into it, and only one ^fficult pass, in some places a 
track way is seen over it. It is about sixteen miles in 
length by seven and a-half in breadth, and is densely inhabited 
by a {Ncimitive race of Mac Gowrans, who intermarry with 
each other, and observe scmie peculiar customs, as an especial 


election of their own King and Queen firom the tribe, to 
whom they volunteer implicit obedience.** A bard of this 
fiimily, commemorated bj Hardiman in his Irish Minstrelsy^ 
composed, amongst other poems, one entitled ' the Bevehy 
of O'Bourke,* which has been the subject of Dean Sinft's 
well-known parody, ORcurke's noble fare shaU ne'er be 
forgot/ ^e. 

Another Mac Gauran ranked a Ci^tain in Fitgames^s 


The native Topographers locate the O^Gallaghers in the 
Baronies of Tjrrhugh and Baphoe, County of Denial, where 
they had casties at Lifford and Ballyshannon. Li 1397 an 
O'GaUagher was Bishop of Clonmacnoise, Laurence O'Gal- 
lagher was Bishop of Baphoe in 1419, as was Redmond 
Ghdlagher of Eillala in 1419. The Sept is characterized in 
the history of their country as commandeis of O'Donnell's 
cavalry, and their achievements in that service are subjects of 
many annals. - At the siege of Sligo by O'Donnell in 1495, 
William, son of the O'Gallagher, u «., of Edmund, son of 
Donogh, son of Laughlin, and Owen^ son of Connac O'Gral- 
lagher, were amongst those killed by the guards of the castle. 
In two years after, in a battie fought between the O'Neils and 
O'Donnells, three of the leaders under O'Donnell, named 
O'Gallagher, were slain at Ballysadare. In Perrot's Parlia- 
ment of 1585 appeared as Representative of this Sept ' the 
0*Gallagher, i. «., John, son of Tuathal, son of John, son of 
Roderic, son of Hugh.' The Masters record the death, in 

o'gaba's infantry. 561 

1595, of this John, as ' a man of great fame and renown among 
the English at that time.' When, in six years after, 
O'Donnell went southward to the Monster war, he en- 
trusted the custody of his Castle of Ballytnote to the 
O'Gallagher, t. «., Owen, son of the above John. The Act of 
1612, for the Attainder of Hugh O'Neill, late Earl of Tyrone, 
Kory O'Donnell, late Earl of Tyrconnel, and their adherents, 
includes in the severity of its enactments Hugh more Donnell 
O' ' Ghdkchor,' and Turlogh carrach O'Grallacher, both 
described as * late of Donegal/ In 1666 Thomas Grallagher 
passed patent for 502 acres in Kerry, as did PheUm Grallagher, 
in the following year, for 1,042 in Mayo. The only one of 
the name on the Outlawries of 1691, is Ferderoagh O'Gkl- 
lagher of Boylagh, County of Donegal ; while Harris, the 
Williamite historian of this war, writing of the capitula- 
tion of Limerick, says, ^^ the numerous Sept of O'Grallagher 
in the County of Mayo submitted to Colonel James Wynne, 
and offered to receive pay under him in the fixmy." 


The O'Dnigenans were located at Eilronan, in the northern 
division of the County of Roscommon, and are especially 
celebrated in the native annals for their devotion to the 
history and literature of their country, Manus O'Duigenan 
was, at the close of the fourteenth century, engaged in draw- 
ing up a considerable portion of the Book of BaUymote; 
subsequentiy to which a chronicle vras compiled tiiat, deriving 
its titie from the locality of this family, was called the Booh 
of Kilronan, or sometimes the Book of the O^Duigenans; and 

VOL. II. 2 o 

562 KING /akbs'b ibish abmt list. 

it was one of the chronicles from which the Four Masters, one 
of whom was Cucorghrighe O'Duigenan, collected their great 
work in 1632. In 1339 the Church of Eilronan was begun 
bj Ferral Muinaoh O'Duigenan ; it stood over Lough Meelagh, 
and has a deep national interest, as in a vault, dose to the 
ruins, erected for the femily of Mao Denaott Boe, were 
deposited the last earthly reuuuns of the once celebrated 
Carolan.— -<«*The Four Masters have, as n^ight be expected, 
numerous obits of O'Duigenaus, each of whom is oonmiemo- 
rated as a lei^med historian or philosopher. lu 1495 it is 
e8pe<uall7 recorded that the O'Duigenan, t» «., Dufiy, son of 
Malachy, son of Matthew glaSj Chief professoir to Muinter. 
MaolruaQ (the Sept of M^Dermot), a lean^ed historian, a man 
who kept an open house of general hospitality, the most 
wealthy i9 Ireland in cattle aiid herds, died in his own house 
at ^ilronai^ after a long and well spent life. In 1588 Du£^ 
O'Duigenai^ wrote a History of the Sept of the O^Donnells. 

The Surgeon of Colonel Heiuy Dillou's Infimtry was a 
* Ddgpan/ 

*■ ji" 


It seems probable that this officer was a relative of Sir Henry 
Waldegrave of Chewton in Somersetshire, who married a 
daughter of James the Second, by Arabella Churchill, sister 
of the great Duke of Marlborough, and who was raised to 
the peerage in 1685, by the title of Baron Waldegrave. 
His lordship removed to France on the Revolution, and 
died there in 1689. In thirty years after his son was 
elevated to the Viscounty of Chewton and Earldom of Wal- 

o'oaba's ikfantrt. 563 

degmve, honoora whioh are still lineally inherited, tt ia 
significant of Ensign Waldegrave having been an ofishoot 
or junior member of an English house, and not connected 
bj property with Ireland, that his Dame does not appear 
upon the attainders of the day; while it may be here noticed 
that in March, 1797) the Irish Etouse of Conunons passed 
a unanimous vote of thanks to yice->Adn4ral Waldegrave, 
Viee- Admiral Thon^son, Bear- Admiral Farmer, Commodore 
Nelson, and to the several captains aqd officers of the fleet 
under Sir John Jervis, for their gallant conduct on the 
occasion, of his victory over the Spaniards off Cape Lagos in 
the preceding February. This Vioe-Admiral waa, m 1800, 
created Baron Badstock. The present venerable Earl of 
Waldegrave is his nephew. 




coijoimL JOHN grace's. 


llieColoDd. BidiaidGnoe. 

fidberiGnce, <»- --• 


Cbftilet Moore, .,.-.... 


Richtid Gnoe. 

Haik Baggott Fiaacis McDonnell. 

Bobert Walflh. Walter * Daton.* 

Bobot Gmoe. Bichaid Grace. 

Edward CaddoDf fThomaa PeanoQ. 

Gitjnad. I James Caddon. 

Patrick Browne. John D'Alton. 

Matthew Hoiuc. 
Robert Grace 

Patrick Coqnor. 
Hicholaa Dale, 

Valei^Une ^olger. 

Ttuymas Gnibeinqr. 
John Knansboroiigh. 
Tl^dy O'BryiMi* 



' The old and emment family tf Grace,* says Sir Bernard 
Burke, 'ranks among the earliest of the Anglo-Norman 
settlers in Lrelaiid. Under the banner of Bichard de Clare, 
the well-known Strongbow, Baymond Fitz-Walter, sumamed 
le Gros, landed in that kingdom, became subsequently 
(A.D. 1176) its Viceroy, and, marrying Basilia de Clare, 
StrongboVs sbter, acquired the extensive district in the 
County Kilkenhy, still denominated the oantlred of Grace's 
country;' To this gallant soldier the Graces trace their 
lineage, and now, at nearly the close of seten centuries, it 
is but justice to observe* that the bright fame of the illus- 
trious founder has [Massed untarnished through the long line 
of his descendants. 

In 1345, during the existence of a prohibition of exporta- 
tion of com from Lreland to foreign parts, Francis * Grache ' 
of Bourdeaux had an exemption from the king to carry 
over com from Dublin, he giving security that he would 
only transport same to the king's friends and lieges, and 
not to rebels or his enemies. In 1356 William 'Graces' 
was constituted a guardian of the peace in the county of 
Kilkenny. In 1383 John and Adamar Grace Were appointed 
similar guardians there. In four years after, avowedly with 
the object of promoting peace in that county, the king 
granted permission to Almaric Grace, Baron of Grace^that 
he might marry Tibina, daughter of O'Magher, a captain 
of the Irish natives. In 1410, John Grace of TuUaroan 
was appointed guardian in Kilkenny; and in 1421 was made 
one of the justices in eyre for that county, as well as for 
those of Tipperary, Waterford, and Wexford. In the fol- 


lowing year Anselm ' Gh»as' was appointed sheriff of the 
county of Kilkenny. In 1425 Johni ^ Baron of Graas,' was 
one of those commisrioned on the Peace with authority to 
array in that county. ^ Oliver Gmoe, Knight, of Bally- 
linch and Degan Castle, was member of Pazliament for 
Tipperary in 1559. The pardons granted by patent at the 
commencement of the reign of James the First to Ghiaoes 
in Kilkenny^ name Leonard Grace of Baihsuageden, Biofaard, 
son of Robert Grace of Ballycaneyore» Walter of Ballynec- 
fonC) Ellen, daughter of Edmond, wife of Walter Grace; 
James, son of Ednumd, John, son of Philip of Bretaogh, 
William of same place, James of Ballyhudihie ; and John, 
son of Walter of Knockin. In 1606, however, among parcda 
here granted to Sir William Taaffe, were denominations 
described as late of the estates of Peter Gbnace of Brenshagh, 
attainted, and about the same time Edward Southworthe 
had a grant of Castle-corker, Ac., theretofore held by G-erald 

Gerald Grace, the great grandson of the above-mentioned 
Sir Oliver of Ballylmch, fell at the batde of Kilrush in 
1642, fighting for the cause of Boyalty, an act construed 
into rebellion by the usurping powers, to whom 17,000 acres 
became forfeited on his attainder. The other members of 
this name, then outlawed, were Bobert Grace, Baron of 
Courtown, but styled in his outlawries of CamuUy, and 
John Grace of Jigginstown in the County of Kildare; 
Gerald Grace, styled of Bathbnm, with Bedmond of Knock- 
bane in Wicklow. Bichard, a younger son of this Bobert 
Grace, had gone over at the commencement of the reign of 
Charles the First to England, where he too distinguished 
himself in the cause of that unfortunate monarch up to the 
surrender of Oxford in 1646, when he returned to Ireland 

grace's infantbt. 567 

and laised, by his wealth and influence, a force of about 
3,000 men ; at the head of which he, for some years, made 
himself so formidable to the Parliament and to Cromwell, 
that they offered £500 for his head, but afterwards admitted 
him to an honourable capitulation, by the terms of which he 
was allowed to embark for the continent with a regiment 
of 1,200 men, and it was even stipulated that he should be 
supplied with money and every other necessary for the 
voyage. He had the glory of being the last who held out 
for the Bang in Ireland, and subsequently, with his brave 
companions signalized himself in the French and Spanish 
services, with loyalty and attachment to the exiled Royal 
family. He was denounced by Cromwell's ordinance, and 
his estates were granted to Captain John Francke. On the 
Bestoration, however, he was thanked in the Act of Settle- 
ment, made Chamberlain to the Duke of York, (afterwards 
James the Second,) was restored to his estates in the King's 
County, and had also a grant of the reversion of some 
valuable lands in the County of Eildare, while King James 
increased his income by a pension of £300 per <mnum in 
1685. After that monarch's flight from Ireland Colonel 
Bichard Grace was appointed Governor of Athlone, in whidb 
trust he displayed zeal and activity, equally ^worthy of his 
youthful achievements at hpme and on the Continent, and 
astonishing in such an old man. — ^-' When William's com- 
mander, Lieutenant-General Douglas, sent a drummer to 
summon the fortress, the Colonel, firing a pistol in the 
presence of the messenger, replied, * These are my terms, 
these only will I give or receive, and when my provisions 

are consumed, I will defend till I eat my boots I' In the 

account of the final surprise of this town by De Ginkell 
in the following year, it is mentioned in the LQnd(m Gazette 

568 KiKO James's ibish abmy list. 

of the day, that the body of the venerable warrior, by whom 
the pkoe had been in the previous year so sacoessfiilly 
defended, was found among the dead, where he had hdn 
from the day before. 

To return to Gerald Grace, who fell at Kilrush in 1642, 
he married a daughter, who was eventually co-heiress of Lord 
Dunboyn, and had by her Oliver his heir and other issue. 
This son was Chief Bemembrancer in the Irish Exchequer, 
and settled at Shanganagh in the ancient Grace territory; 
to this pkce he gave the name of Gracefield, which his eldest 
souj Michael, inherited as co-heir with his nephew Bobert 
Grace of CourtStown. Michael's son and Successor was Oliver, 
who married Mary daughter and heiress of John Dowell of 
Mantua House, County Boscommon. ' He was educated at 
Douay College, and served several years in the Austrian 
army. While in the service he had the distinction of being 
chosen one of the guard to attend Marie- Antoinette into 
France,- on her marriage with Louis the Sixteenth, and the 
still higher honour of being the sentinel nightly placed at her 
Majesty's door during the journey/'* He married a daughter 
and co-heiress of Patrick Hussey, Esq., of Ardmore in Kerry, 
and the son of that marriage is the present Oliver-Dowell- 
John Grace, a Deputy Lieutenant of Boscommon and for 
several years one of its representatives in Parliament. 

The above Colonel John Grace was the near kinsman of 
Colonel Bichard, and the last Palatine Baron of Courtstown. 
He had been in his youth restored to his estates in Kilkenny 
and Tipperary, was Sheriff of the former county in 1687, and 
one of its representatives in the Parliament of 1689. On the 
eve of the Bevolution he raised and equipped this Begiment, 

* BurkeU Landed Gentry. 


gbace's jnfantby. 569 

and also a troop of horse at his own expense for King James, 
whom he farther assisted with money and plate.* In addition 
to this Kegiment was set down on the muster an '' Indepen- 
dent Company or Troop styled Old Colonel Grace's (evidently 
Colonel Bichard's) of sixty men.^f Besides these two 
Colonels and the gather ' Graces' in this Kegiment, there are 
on the Army List Oliver Grace, a Captain in Colonel Simon 
Luttrell's Dragoons, (probably identical with the Major 
Grace, who was taken prisoner at Aughrim) ; John Grace, a 
Lieutenant in the Song's In&ntry; and in Fitz-James's, 
Walter Grace was a Lieutenant and another Oliver Grace 
an Ensign. Captain. Oliver was one of the representatives of 
Ballinakill in the Parliament of 1689. The attainders of 
1691 include the above Colonel John Grace of Courtstown 
(who was seised of considerable estates in Gowran and Cran- 
nagh. County of Kilkenny), the aforesaid Bichard, described 
as also of Courtstown, and four other Graces. At the Court 
in Chichester House, claims were preferred as attaching to 
the estates of Bichard, John, and Bobert Grace in the King's 
Coimty and County of Kilkenny. In 1703 Bichard Grace's 
estate in Clare was sold to John Ivers of Mount Ivers in said 
county, while a portion of his Ealkenny estates was purchased 
by the Hollow Swords' Blades Company, as were likewise 
portions of the Kilkenny estates of John, Bobert, and Oliver 
Grace, and part of the Song's County estates of John and 
Bichard. Other parcels of .the King's County estates of the 
latter, comprising the castle of Moyally, were bought by 
Nathaniel Boyse ; while Colonel George Carpenter of Nether- 
court purchased KiUanny, County of Kilkenny, the estate of 
John Grace. 

* Oreen Book^ p. 857. 
t Singer's Correspondence of Lord Clarendon^ v. 2, pp. 513-14. 



This family, early after the invuffion, passed into Ireland. 
In 1280 Robert * Bagod' obtained a grant o#the manor of the 
Rath near Dublin, ni^th the Water-course of the Dodder and 
the common of woods, &c. A castle was soon after erected 
there, and it was hence to the present day distinguished by 
the name of Baggot-rath. In 1802 he Was summoned to aid 
King Edward in the Scottish war, and in 1309 et seq. was 
one of the Justices of the Bench* In the following year he 
was deputed by the Crown to interfere for the prevention of 
exbting hostilities in Thomond, between Richard de Clare 
and Donat O'Brien, ' which latter styles himself Prince of 
the Irish of Thomond/ Henry ' Bagod' was about the same 
time a Baron of the Exchequer^ Robert Bagod^ the grantee 
of the Rath, died about the year 1338, leaving William his 
heir, who died in 1358, when the King granted the custody 
of his estates to Ismania his widow, to hold during the 
minority of their son and heir, William, who was in 1399, 
with Henry Bagot, elected by the Commonalty of Louth to 
be a Commissioner for assesong a state subsidy on the 
Barony of Ferrard in that County. In 1404 Richard Bagot 
had license to absent himself from Ireland for three years to 
study in England. The name subsequently extended over 
the Pale, as in EUdare, Meath, Carlow, and even to Limerick. 
In the latter county Edmund Baggott and Donogh O'Ghrady 
had in 1610 a grant of the castle, town, and lands of Baggots- 
town, with a water-mill and weir; the Castle, bawn and town 
of Balljmaskooley and Rawliston, with various other lands 
and interests. 


The only attainder of the family in 1642 is that of Thomas 
Bagot of Castlemartin, in Kildare, while Maurice Baggot of 
Baggotstown aforesaid, was one of those especially excepted 
from pardon or mercy in the articles for the capitulation of 
Limerick to Ireton. 

The above Captain Mark was son of a Mr. John Bagot, by 
Edith his ¥nfe, who died in 1684, having had several children 
by him (as shown by a funeral entry in Bermingham Tower). 
Of her issue, only this Mark Bagot survived. He had been 
Sergeant at arms, and sat as one of the representatives of the 
Borough of Carlow in the Parliament of 1689^ (The respected 
John James Bagot of Castle Bagot, D.L., a venerable and ttue 
lover of his country, lately deceased^ appears to have derived 
his lineage from this Mark). John Baggot of Baggotstown, 
senior, was one of those who represented CharleviUe in that 
Parliament, as did John Baggot, junior, Doneraile* On the 
List of the Sheriffs, recommended to be appointed in 1685-6 
by the Earl of Clarendon, Edward Baggot was named for the 
King's County, as ^ reputed dishonest but loyal;' to which the 
Lord Clarendon's return is underlined, Wery loyal, though 
once questioned for fitvouring Tories, but acquitted; some 
think him to be a Boman Catholic.'* A Lieutenant-Colonel 
Baggot Was taken prisoner at Aughrim^f Nine Baggots 
were attainted in 1691, one of whom was a Captain in Sir 
John Fitzgerald's Infimtry, and on their estates, in Carlow 
and Limerick Counties, divers claims were made and allowed 
at Chichester House; those in the former were chiefly sold to 
the Bight Honourable Philip Savage, then Chancellor of the 

* Smger^s Corresp,y of Lord Clarendon^ v. 1, p. 285. 
t Story's Impartial Hisiory^ pt XL, p. 137. 



This officer is described in the Inquisition on his Attainder, 
as Edward Caddon of Kilkenny, merchant. A James 
Caddon, of the same place and profession, and a William 
Caddon of Cork were likewise then outlawed. 


This name is of record in Ireland from the time of Edvrard 
the Second ; in whose reign John^ son of Simon ' Shortals,' 
appears on record4 In 1333 Bobert, ooH of John Shortals of 
Claragh, sued out a possessory writ. JLn 1405 John Shortals 
was constituted a Guardian of the Peace for the County of 
Kilkenny ; in five years after which the King gave to Thomas 
Shortals, described as of Dublin, an annuity of 2S8, 8d, 
payable out of the fee-farm of said city. Robert Shortals was 
Sheriff of Kilkenny in 1420, while the aforesaid Thomas was 
Mayor of Dublin. To him the Sang, in 1431, committed the 
custody of such of the temporalities of the Religious House of 
St. Thomas as lay in Dunshaughlin, County Meath« He was 
in the same year constituted one of the Barons of the Ex- 
chequer in Ireland* 

In the reign of Elizabeth Nicholas Shortall, a descendant 
of John of 1333, was still seised of the manor of Upper 
Claragh, at which time Oliver Shortall was seised of that of 
Ballybrean; while in 1591 Patrick Shortall died seised of 
Jewellstown, also in Kilkenny, with sundry lands, moors, 


grace's infantry. 573 

weirs, and mills. Thomas was his son and heir, then aged 32 
and married. He died in 1628 seised thereof, as also of the 
manor of Dongarvan, with the castle and several messuages 
in Jerpoint: Peter Shortall was his son and heir, then aged 
24 and married. Edmund Shortall of Highrath died in 1602 
leaving Oliver his son and heir, then of full age and married; 
who, described as Knight in 1620, being joined by his wife, 
Ellen Shortall, otherwise Butler, and James, his son and 
heir, executed a settlement of his estate and died in ten years 
after, leaving said James his heir, with four other sons, 
Peter, Oliver, John, and Robert. This James, styled of 
Ballylorcan, died in 1635, leaving Thomas his son and heir, 
then aged 28 and married, and who was attainted in 16411 
Ortelius's Map correctly locates this family in the Barony of 
Iverk, County Kilkenny; where many of their castles are 
still standing, as at Glaragh aforesaid, Kilbline, Tubridj 
Cloghmantagh, &c. In 1678 Pierce Shortall passed patent 
for a small allotment in Galway. 

The above officer was attainted as James Shortall of Kil- 
rush, County of Kilkenny ; as were Bobert Shortall of the 
same place, Patrick Shortall of Tubrid, Nicholas of Shortalls- 
graig, and Bobert of Upper-Clare, all in the same county; 
with Nicholas, son of Peter Shortall of the City of Kilkenny. 


This family is of record in Ireland £rom the time of Edward 
the Second, in Kildare, Meath, Louth, and more especially in 
Wexford. Sir David * le Hore' of the Pole, was Sheriff of 
the latter county in 1834, as was his son Nicholas in 1370, 


1377, and 1379. About the jmr 1374 Hairy Hore of BaUy- 
sallaghan, in the Barony of Shebnalier, in Mid ooontyy was 
commissioQed to effect the levy of a snbadyy which had been 
charged thoceon at the Parliament of Kilkenny ; eoon after 
which 'Wmiam le Hore was Chief Seigeant of Wexford, of 
whidi county his son, another Nicholas, was Sheriff in 1390 
and 1396. In 1382 Patrick Hore was one of those deputed 
to asaeM and array the County of C<h4c for a hosting. In 
1412 the King confirmed the title of Henrys son of John 
Hore, to the manor of Kilmannook in Wexford; at whidi 
time William, son of Matthew Hore of £9ielmali!^, was one 
of the persons deputed to collect off that county a som, which 
its commonaliy had yoted for the Prior of Kilmainham. In 
1603 Philip Hore of KibaJlaghani had a grant of sondry 
parsonages^ with their tithes, in the County of Soldare; and 
in nine years after, he passed a confirmatory patent for the 
manor of Kilsallaghan, with woods, mills, and other premises 
therein, and in Chapelmidway, Killossory, Lusk, Castl^nock, 
Ballydowde, Ac., in the County of Dublin; Bumell's Inns, 
&c., in ike City; Burgages in Waterford; lands in WicUow; 
and meadows and mills in Meath. In 1615 the same patentee 
had further grants in Wexford,* Meath, Dublin City and 
County, as well as in Bosoommon, 

A funeral entry of 1636, of record in the Office of Arms, 
certifies the death, on the 11th Mi^y in that year, of Edward 
Hore of Harperstown, County of Wexford, buried at 
^ Monneth.' He had married Alison, daughter of Thomas 
Hore of Waterford, merchant, by whom he left three sons, 
Andrew, Thomas, and Luke, and three daughters. In 1642 
were attainted ike aforesaid Philip with James * Hore^ of 
Kilsallaghan, County of Dublin. Of the confederate Catholics 
at the Council of Kilkenny in 1646 were William Hore of 

6BAC£*8 INFANTBT. 575 

Cork and another William Hoare* In 1667 Captain Edward 
and Lieutenant Abraham Hoare had a confirmatory patent 
for 3,468 acres in Cork ; while, about the same time, Philip 
* Hore* had a similar grant of Cafitleknock, with 1,429 acres, 
in the County Dublin, and of Pole-hore, <S;c., 4,873 acres in 
Wexford, as had Matthew Hore of 1,423 in Waterford. In 
1685-6 an association originated in Ireland for the object of 
obtaining Catholic emanoipation; its ehaiaeter and scope, as 
reported by the Earl of Clareiidon, are published in Singer's 
Correspondince^ &c. (voL i, p* 233, &c.) Gentlemen were 
appointed and entrusted in every county to collect contribu* 
tions and pay same to the above Luke Hore, then a merchant 
in Dublin ; and whereas several natives of this kingdom are 
merchants * abroad in foreign parts, their contributions are 
expected, and requested to be pdd to the said Luke, who is 
to deliver all such moneys aa he shall so receive, to agents 
approved of by the Earl of TyrwnneL" 

The above Captain Matthew was of Shandon, County of 
Waterford; he was one of the n^embers for that county in 
the Parliament of 1689, and because afterwarda a lieutenant- 
Colonel** Besides bim there were in the Parliament of 
Dublin, John Hore and Martin Hore, Members for the 
Borough of Dungarvan ; as were George Hore of Pole-Hore 
and Walter Hore of Harperstown for that of Taghmon. 
The Attainders of 1691 name the said Luke as * Lucas 
Hoare of Wexford,' the above Captain Matthew, styled of 
Waterford, with George, Walter, John, and Martin Hoare ; 
on whose Wexford estates many daims were made at Chidies- 
ter House, and some allowed. 

• NkhoPs Tap. et Qtnt.^jbr 1868. pp. 48e-87. 



The Mac Bnumans were Chie6 of CorcagUan, a diBtrict in 
the County of Rofloonunon, fonning part of that in which 
stands the well-known monntain, Slieye Bann. So early as 
in the year 1159, the Masters record the death of Branan 
Mac Branan, Chief of Corcaghlan, in an engagement between 
the O'Conora and O'Briens ; and in 1256 that of Banall 
Mac Branan, lord of the same district. In 1385 Thomas St. 
L^er, Baron of Obergy, receiyed from the treasury ten 
marks as a reward for taking prisoners Dermott roe O'Brennan 
and John roe O'Brennan, and slaying Teigue, son of the 
O'Brennan. In 1399 John, son of William O'Brennan, an 
Irishman, obtained the freedom of English law for himself 
and his issue ; and, in 1435, Thomas O'Brennan had a similar 
denization, as had Art O'Brenane and his issue in 1452, and 
Darid and Clement Brenan, ' Irishmen' in 1460. 

Early in the reign of King James, Donat and Melaghlin, 
sons of ^ Firr^ O'Brennan, were seised in fee of lands in the 
County Kilkenny, of which they then executed a family 
settlement. In 1622 Edmund Brennan, joined by his son 
and heir Oliver, and by Eleanor Breiman, otherwise Lynch 
(of Crdboy), the wife of said Oliver, settled the lands of 
Adamston, in Westmeath, to family uses. Edmund died in 
ten years after, Oliver, his heir being then forty years of age. 
An Inquisition, taken in 1635, at Kilkenny, found Donat, 
son of William O'Brennan, Edmund, son of Melaghlin 
O'Brennan, and fourteen others of their sept, proprietors 
within that County. At the Supreme Council, held in the 

grace's infantry. 577 

city there in 1646, John Brennan, styled of Cloynfinlough, 
was of its Commons. 

One of this surname was a Captain in Charles Moore's 
Infantry, while Edmimd Brennan was a Lieutenant in the 
Swing's Own Regiment, as was John Brenan in Colonel 
Edward Butler's. 


He was attainted as ' Thomas Pierson of Kilkenny.' 


See of this family at ^ Captain Miles D' Alton,' in Colonel 
Clifford's Dragoons. They had large estates in the County 
of Kilkenny, as shown by the description of their attainders. 


The O'Bolgers were an Irish Sept located in Wexford and 
Carlow. In 1461 William O'Bolger, a chaplain of the Irish 
nation, had a charter of denization from Eang Edward the 
Fourth, as by special grace and favour, granting to him 
freedom from all Irish servitude, liberty to use English laws 
and customs, to plead and be impleaded in the courts, and 
to acquire lands, tenements, and services for ever.* A branch 

♦ Pat Roll, 1, Edw. IV. 
VOL. II. 2 P 


of this fiunily wa« in the aeFenteoith oe&tury eetded at 
BlanchfieldBtown, in the County of Kilkenny, </ which County 
this officer was a natiYe. His name does not uppeur on the 
attainders of 1691, but that of James Bolger described as 
of Inistiogue does; and in his estates there Pat Bolgor, a 
minor, claimed and was allowed an estate tail, subject to 
which interest it was sold to Arthur Anderson, derk. 


NoTHDTG has been ascertained of this officer or his £unily. 


This officer is in his outlawry of 1691 described as of Erris, 
in the County of Mayo, as is also Riduud Gibbon. 


Hb likewise was of Kilkenny, described in his atttdnder as of 
Ballcallon in that county. The name is of record in Ireland 

from the time of Edward the First. In 1398 Oliver 

EJoaresborough is mentioned as a proprietor in Ealkenny, and 
in 1432 the gratitude of the King was acknowledged to 
Thomas and Robert * Knarysbuigh,* citizens of Kilkenny, for 
services in resisting the Irish. 






The Colonel. 

John EnniSy 

[Garret Geoghegan,] 

Kdinund Butler, 

Edmund Butler. 

John Fitzgerald. 

John Fitz-Patrick. 

James Blanchyille. 

John Rowsh. 

James Baron. 

John Power. 

Patrick Pay. 

[George Gafncy.] 

[Michael Forster.] 

— — ^ Aylward. 



— Butler. 



{Edmund Butler. 
Basil Browne. 

Sjmon Cleer. John Purcell. 

Oliyer Purcell. John Butler. 

Darby Fitz-Patrick 

Samuel Leigh. Nicholas Blanchville. 

Thomas * Haheme.* William Comin. 

[Daniel Magrath.] [John Magrath ] 

[William Dormer.] 

[Michael Blanchfield.] 

[John Brenan.] John Loughnan, 

— ForstaU. Even. 

~— . ManhalL ^-~ Nolan. 

.: Bourdon, Quarter-Master, 

Father John, a Capuchin, Cht^km* 
—^ Hagan, JSurgeon, 

580 Knro james's ibish abxt list. 


The notices of this noble fiunily, as full as could be allowed 
in this work, are inserted at Lord Visoount Galmoy. This 
officer appears to have been the Edward, son of Richard Bntler 
of Eilkennj, there mentioned to have been attainted in 1691. 
At any rate, it is of certainty that this Regiment was on the 
4th May of that year engaged in a skirmish with Major 
Wood, of the Williamite party, near Castle Cuff^ who reported 
his success on that occasion, giving a list of officers, expressly 
as of Colonel Butler's Lifantry, who were there taken 
prisoners ; as Captains Michael Forster and Edmund Butiier, 
Lieutenants Daniel Magrath, WilHam Dormer ^ Oliver Pur- 
cell, Michael Blanchjield, and Ensign John Magrath. This 
Regiment was on that occasion commanded by John Fitz- 
patrick, a Captain on this list, but then the Major. The 
names italicised above do not appear on the original Army 
List, but are inserted as being thus verified. 


On the attainders of 1642 appear the names of James and 
Maolmurry Ennis of Grannagh^ County of Wicklow; James 
Ennis of Clane, County of Kildare, and Walter * Enes^ of 
Hacketstown, clerk. A Lieutenant James ' Enis ' is included 
in the clause of Royal gratitude in the Act of Settlement. 
The officer here named had been a Major in the French 


army, when he volunteered to serve King James in Ireland, 
early in 1689, and was thus duly qualified for the Lieutenant- 
Colonelcy of this S^iment. 


This appointment is filled on the authority of the Appendix 
to King's State of the Protestants. For full particulars of this 
name, see ante Conly Geoghegan, a Major on Lord Dongan's 


This fiunily is of record in Ireland from the time of the 
Tudors, and was especially located in the County of Kilkenny. 
In 1303 Nicholas Blanch ville was Seneschal of Kilkenny, 
and dying in 1311, Richard Blanchville became the executor 
of his will. In 1335 John de Blanchville was one of the 
Knights summoned to attend the Justiciary of Ireland on an 
expedition against Scotland. In 1377 John, son of the above 
Richard, being a minor, his heirship and ' maritagimn * were 
held by the King's Escheator. In 1384 John Blaunchevyll 
was appointed one of the guardians of the peace in Ejlkenny, 
as was Gilbert Blauncheville in four years after ; the latter was 
in 1425 one of those commissioned to array that county to 
military service. In 1447, 1449, and 1450, David Blanche- 
ville, of Blanchevillestown, was Sheriff of Kilkenny. At the 
close of the sixteenth century, Gerald Blancheville was seised 



of considerable eBtatee in this county, which he repieaented in 
Perrot's Parliament of 1585. He married Eleanor, third 
daughter of the first Viscount Mountgaxret, and widow of 
Thomas Tobin of Compsey ; soon after which he settled his 
estates to family uses, for himself for life, with successive 
remainders in tail male to his son and heir, Leonard Blanch- 
ville, to James, to Edmund, and to Grerald; the two first died 
without issue male. In the Cathedral of Kilkenny (whose 
history has been ably compiled by the Beverend Mr. Grayes 
and Mr. Prim,) is a monument erected to the memory of 
Gerald Blanchyille^ who had been a Captain in the service of 
the Confederate Catholics, and who died in February, 1646. 
Edmund forfeited largely by attainder in 1641, as did then 
two others of this name. 

At Chichester House in 1700 Ursula Blanchville, alias 
Bryan, widow of Edmund Blanchville, claimed and was 
allowed a jointure ofi* his Kilkenny estate; while the peti- 
tions of their daughters, Margaret and Grace Blanchville, and 
Anne Keating alias Blanchville, with Walter Keating her 
husband, were disinist. A subsequent petition was presented 
to Queen Anne on behalf of said Margaret, praying the 
restoration of her lands in Kilkenny, which had been granted 
to the Duke of Albemarle, and were withheld by him. The 
appeal was ineffective. Blanchfieldstown was sold in 1708 
to Edward Worth of Rathfiimham, while it may be noted 
that in the list of pensioners in 1710 appear Anne and Crraee 
Blanchville, each for £50 per annum. 

EDWARD butler's INFANTRY. 683 


So stands this name upon the present Army List, but it is 
evidently a mis-speUing for Hooth or Rothe, a family once of 
much respectability in Kilkenny. (See ante, at Captain 
Michael Roth in the King's Own Infantry.) The officer 
here under consideration seems identical with the John Roth* 
who, in that Eling's Parliament, represented Kilkenny, of 
which city he Was Mayor; and in James's new charter 
thereto, three of the aldermen and four of the burgesses bore 
this name. 


The surname of ' Le Baron' is of early and extensive record 
over England and Scotland, while in Ireland ^ Baroun' occurs 
from the days of Edward the Second, chiefly in connexion 
with the county of Tipperary. Burke, in his Landed Gentry^ 
relies that it was a branch of the great House of Fitz-Gerald, 
which, having been early created Palatine Barons of Bum- 
ckurch, used to distinguish their line by adopting the title as 
their patronymic,* and his conclusion is supported by a reccHrd 
of 1406, beii^ a patent, whereby Roland Fita^Maurice Baron, 
of Bruntehurch, and three others, were appointed Guardians 

* See fiill and interesting particulars of this name in Bwke'% Baronetage 
(at Sir He.;ry Winston Barron), p. 61. 


of the Peace in Kilkenny. In 1518 Nicholas Baron was 
Abbot of the mitred monastery of Jerpomt in Kilkenny ; in 
nine years after Milo Baron, alias Fitz-6erald, was appointed 
Bishop of Ossory. He is said to have died of grief on the 
Dissolution, and was buried at Innistiogue in 1550. Roland 
Baron alias Fitz-Gerald was Archbishop of Cashel in 1553. 

A *■ Report of the state of the Priests, Friaries, &c., in 
Ireland,* temp. James the First, describes many of the Romish 
Clergy, ' keeping with or resorting to the Baron of Bum- 
church and his tenants.' In 1606 David Baron had livery of 
an estate in the County of Kilkenny, as son and heir of 
Thomas Fitz-Gerald otherwise Baron, and grandson and heir 
of Edmund, father of eaid Thomas, late of Browneford in said 
County, deceased ; and this David, under the same designation 
and cUiaSy was a trustee of the Grace Estates in 1611, and had 
in 1614 the grant of a wardship. It may be mentioned that 
the family settlement, under which this David derived title, 
made him tenant in tail male, remainder to his next brother, 
Milo Baron, in tail, and, in defect of such issue, remainder to 
the right heirs of the settlor. Geoffiney Baron, styled^ as of 
Clonmel, but then in France,* was one of the Supreme Council 
at Kilkenny, and appointed by the Nuncio a Commissary over 
the Revenues of Ireland. He was consequently in Crom- 
well's Denunciation of 1652, excepted from pardon for life 
and estate. The name is not on the Attainders of 1642 ; but 
a Geoffirey Barron, and Lieutenant Walter Barron appear on 
the Roll of Adjudications for the 1649 officers, whose claims 
were recognised in 1666. The Attainders of 1691 present 
only Patrick Baron of Killisk, County of Wexford, and John 
and Richard Barron of Waterford. 

* De Burg6*s Hib, Dom,^ p. 881* 

EDWABD butleb's infantbt. 585 


Anotheb of the snmame was Captain in Grace's Infantry, 
as was a Francis Pay in Colonel Heward Oxborgh's. The 
name of the latter dbes not appear on the Attainders of 1691, 
but that of Patrick does, described as of Ballyragget, Coanty 
of Kilkenny. James, Thomas, and William Pay were then 
also attainted as of Kilmuckar, in the same county. At 
Chichester House in 1700, William Pay claimed a freehold 
interest in the estate of this Thomas, but his petition was 
dismist, and the estate was sold to the Hollow Swords* Blades 


Although another of this surname is set down a Captain in 
Colonel Dudley Bagnall's Infantry, and the name of this officer 
is not on the present Army List, yet, as through the research 
of the Beverend James Graves, Honorary Secretary of the 
Kilkenny Archaeological Society, very full extracts from a 
document, that purports to be the autograph '' Memorandum 
Book of Captain George Gafney of Kilkenny, an Officer of 
King James's Army,'' have been communicated to that 
deserving body, and published in their Transactions of July, 
1854, the opportunity was embraced, with their and his kind 
permission, of here noting therefrom what appeared relevant 
to the present subject. " The family of Gafney," writes Mr. 
Graves to the compiler of this work, ." seems to have been 
founded or at least raised to a noticeable position in the Irish- 
town of Kilkenny, by the Prelate of that name, Christopher, 


who filled the See of Oasory from 1565 to 1576 ; and the name 
frequently occurs in the Corporation Books. Robert Grafney 
was a chaplain in Kilkenny in 1585, possibly a son of the 
Bishop, while Thomas (xafhey had a lease of various houses 
in that city under the see, and was doubtless another son of 
Dr. Christopher. Thomas died in 1629, leaving Patrick his 
son and heir, then of full age and married. Most probably, 
Captain George was of this line." 

The dates of the entries in the Memorandum Book extend 
over a period of about eighteen months, terminating a few 
days before the Battle of the Boyne, where it would seem the 
writer fell. The first entry worthy of notice bears date {circa 
29th) March, 1689. 

" A list of Caption Greorge Gafbey his Gompany of Foot, in the Bight 
Honourable Colonel Butler's Regiment 

" Captiun George Gafiiey, Lieutenant John Brenan, and Ensign John 
Loughnan,** with the * sargents,' corporals, and prtTates fully, by name.^ 

Next come his charges to and from Dublin, dated 4th 
April, 1689:— 

^* To mj charges going and coming firom Dublin, to 
get the three commissions entered in the Muster- 
Master General's office, and for expedition, - - ^1 8 6 
For a drum in Dublin, and * carige,* - - - 1 
For a new drum head, and putting it on, - - > I 6 
For drum-sticks, - - - - - - -016 

For sixteen spear heads at 8d. per, - - - - 10 8 

One and a-half a st Steele put in y* speares, - -004 

For nails for the speares, 004 

Paid Paul Heare for making my own ^ leding stafe,' -000 
Paid do. for a musket 38., for fixing the lock, 6d., 3 6 
For a scabbard and handle for the broad back sorde, - 3 
For the back sorde to P. Heare, - - - - 2 
For two rapiers to P. Heare, - - - - -030 
For a rapier that was broken by the ^ sargent,* - - 1 

EDWASD butleb's OnrANTBT. 587 

Another entry of April 9th, 1689, suggests that King 
James was on that night in Kilkenny : — 

" Gave tbe men a barrel of ^beere' to drink the 

King*s health the night he catne to Kilkenny, - £0 16 
One BO. of powder to give a * voley,' - - - 2 

Next, at the close of the year, after the landing of Schon- 
berg, and in the immediate view of active service, occurs a 
prudent financial ' account of what cash I have by me, and 
the value of each coin ' : — 


To ten ' gines' at 248. per gine, ... .£12 

To one 'Portingallpece' 1 15 

To ^to' broad jabons at 26s. per, - - - - 2 12 
To 'to' half jabona at ISs. per, - - - - 1 6 
To one quarter jabons,- - - - - -066 

To one broad Carolus, 150 

To 'to' half do. at 128. 6d., - - - - 1 5 
To 'to* qnarterdo. at 68. dd., - > - - 12 6 

To one half Edward, 13 

To cash in silver the suns of, - - - - 86 16 8^ 

To Engliah money, 13 7^ 

To cash in silyer in one pars, .... loo 

In 'goulde* and silver y* sum, - - - 171 12 4 
(Tot sic in error in orig.) 

In 'bras' money, 20^ 00 

In 'bras' money in one 'purs,' - - - 110 

'' It will be seen,'' observes Mr. Graves, " that the writer 
carefully enters the rate of exchange of the sterling money, 
showing a considerable premium in consequence of the 
depressed state of the currency ; of which an indication also 
occurs in the quantity of brass money in the worthy Captain^s 


** March 4th, 1689, expended in treating the * Magerr,' 
&C., nx ^boteU* of darett and ^to' pots of March 
beer, &c., £081 

March the 6th, 1689 [this and the last date, it may 
be remarked, were subsequent to the above of 
April in old style], 

Reoeiyed of *Magur* Corbett, per the hands of 
Captun Roche, a forthnig^t ^ subsistans' for my 
company until the 14th of March, £14 Is. 4d., and 
for the odd days of the former account, £5 Os. 5d., 19 1 9 

That is to say, 2 * sargens' 6s. per week, three cor- 
porals and one drummer at 38. per, fifty ^privat* 
men at 2s. 4d per. 

On the 23rd April, 1690, dravm np at Drogheda, within a 
few weeks of the battle of the Boyne, is a *^ Memorandum 
cleared with the under-named for all arrears of ' groats' until 
this 23rd day of April, '90, att Drocda." The list comprises 
the names of forty persons. 

Under several dates, extending over the months of April 
and May, 1690, there are accounts kept of the distribution of 
pumps, ' sherts/ stockings, &c., supplied to Captain Ga&ey's 
company at Dundalk and Drogheda. And last come what 
Mr. Graves considers the most curious entries, viz., some 
general orders of the army, ** which, like a careful officer, 
Captain Gafney had copied into his memorandum book." 
The first of these, traceable, bears date June 18th, 1690: — 

'^The General to beat att 4 the assemble when ordered; the ^gards* 
for Moyree to be reliered by thirty men from O'Bryan, * Bagnell,* Hamil- 
ton (John), and 'BeUu.' O'Bryan, Lieutenant-Colonel, a Captain and 
Subaltern from each, with drum, two sargens att 3 o*clock to be at the 
head of the guards to relieve the like number att Moyree Castle, on the 
road to the * Nurey.' The detachment for the horses as usually is att 3 

o'clock in the morning, when the guards beat the assembly 

Smpetar, Brigadiere for the day ; Lord Belln, Colonel ; Hamilton, 




- 3 


- 5 

lieutenant-ColoneL Left-General Hamilton lost a 'guide wach with 

seales* to it, if ' annejr souldier j* ' found it shall have ten shillins for his 

pains, and if any bought it, he shaU be returned his money ^The word 

St. ' Poule.' " 

A few days before the battle of the Boyne, King James 
encamped at Cookstown, near Ardee, when an entry of the 
24th of June, 1690, giyes a list of the Kegiments there, and 
the order of encampment, as follows:— 

The first line on the right. 

Seven Troops of Guards 

Duke of Tyrconnel*s ' Regment ' of Horse 

Three Battalions of the Royal *' Regment* 

51 ' Gompaneys* compute three 'Regments* 

Lord Antrim 



Lord of Louth 


Seven of French, each oont. 16 companeys per 

Regment ------- 

^ Golmoy*s' R^ment of Hors cont. nine ^ trup' - 

Maz£ld*s (Maxwell's) Regment of Dragoons 

In Ardee Col. Gase (Grace) and y* * to' Col. Mac 

Mahons (Art and Hugh) .... 
Second Ime on the right 
Lord of Clare his Regment of Dragoons - 
Sunderland his Regment, five troops 

*ParkerV Regment of* Hors' 1 

Hamilton's Foot 

Lord of Westmeath 


*• Mahgilicutt' 


Buslo (Boiseleau) 


Lord of ^Tinme' 




- 8 


BigMftK^THcne S 

a Brgmff cf Un^mm - a 

mdiColoDd 'SmOd* 

CoL S«afild*f Eegnesl of Hon* 

Apnikara*« (AberoQrn*^) ' Hon* 

Cfif ord*> Dngnns 

fiv Kede (THede** Dr^oov 

Colooel CamlTi DrigooM 




Comaiiitown (Gormaastoii) 

Captain Geoi^e Gaiiiey was attainted in 1691 as 'of 
Kilkenny,' together with Connor Gia&ey of Drombrick, 
County of LeitrinL 


At the earliest year of the English invasion of Ireland 
Nicholas ' Foraster' was one of the witnesses to Walter de 
Lacy's charter to Trim. 

Captain John Forster was one of the ' 1649* Oflicers whose 
claim for pay or compensation was adjudicated upon in 1666. 
The names of Richard and William Forster likewise appear 
upon that Record; while a * Foster* was one of the Captains 
in Clifford's Re^ment of Dtagoons. /^ y^ j^ /" 

E0WABD butler's INFANTET. 591 


Clear or Cleere was also the name of a Kilkenny fiunlly, 
established there previoasly to the period of this war. 
Symon is described accordingly, on the Inquisition for his 
attainder, as *' of Downamore, County of Kilkenny,* while at 
the same time was attainted William ' Cleere' * of Galway,' 
merchant. The name is otherwise traced of record in Ireland, 
from the time of Edward the Second. 


The Leighs or Leas were old settlers in Kilkenny, and were 
likewise established in the County of Kildare, and other 
parts of Ireland. In 1668 Thomas Leigh had a confirmatory 
grant of 674 acres in Meath, as had Robert ' Lee* of 609 in 
Waterford; William Leigh of 6,092 in Wexford; Ensign 
William ^Ley* <^ 610 in Monaghan; Francis Leigh of 485 

and Robert Leigh of 118 in Kildare. Lieutenant Henry 

' Lee ' IB named on the Roll of Adjudications for the '1649* 
Officers, while Thomas 'Lee' was a Quarter-Master in Lord 
Clare's Dragoons, and in Lord Bellew's Infantry John 'Ley' 
was a Lieutenant. In the Parliament of 1689, Francis Leigh 
was one of the Representatives of the Borough of Ejldare. 
The name of Samuel does not appear on the Attainders of 
1691, but ihsit of Francis Leigh, ' of Rathbride, Cotmty 
Kildare,' does. (His ancestor, John Lee of the same place, 
was attainted in 1642.) There were also then outlawed fiye 
others of the name. 

592 KDG James's nusH asmt ust. 

For the name of Lee, as smgolariy distingiiislied on the 
Continent^ in the person of Lieatensnt-G«Denl Andrew Lee, 
Commander and Grand Cross of the Boyal and 

' St. Loois, and the Histoiy of the Kegiment 
belonged, see CCaUaghanB Irigk BrigadeB^ toL 1 


Ih his attainder of 1691 this officer is described as IVfichari 
^Fonestal* of the dty of Kilkenny, and unth him ware also 
outlawed Grarrett and Geoffirey Forrestal of the Coonty 
Wexford. The name is tmoeable in the former County firom 
the reign of Edward the Third. In that of James the First 
James Forrestall was seised of the manor of Kilfienigh, therdn 
with mills and weirs upon the Nore; he died in 1619, leaving 
Bobert his son and heir, then aged thirty and married. In 
1608 Gibbon Forstal died, sdsed of ForstaUstown and other 
denominations, also there; his son and heir, Walter, bdng at 
that time of full age and married. This Walter died in 1639, 
leaving James, his son and hor, then of full age and married. 
Bobert and Thomas were forfeiting proprietors hero in 1641. 


Of this Kilkenny surname it may be remarked that the 
Four Masters, at the year 1236, rolate that Maolmuire 
O^Langhnan," having been elected to the see of Tuam, went 
to En^and, and after receiving the Pope's letters, was, wilJi 



the consent of the King, consecrated to that Prelacy. His 
death, in 1249, is commemorated by the same Annalists. In 
1251 died Flan O'Loughnan, chief of a large district in Mayo, 
called the * Two Backs;' and Laurence O'Loughnan, a grey 
fUar, died Bishop of Ealmaoduagh in 1307, as did another of 
the sept Bishop of Connaught in 1354. In some centuries 
after John Loughnan was seised of certain premises in Kil- 
kenny, parcel of the possessions of the dissolved Abbey of 
Black Friars in that city. The name is yet of respectability 




» * ^ , M 


The Colonel 

Mac Mahon. 

...«-> Kinselagh. 

Phflip Beilly, 

*— Ward. 

.— * Mac Mahdn. 


Hngh Magexmu, 

Qonn Bfagenniat 

-, — *Btan.' 


Mylee KeiDy. 

PhiUp Reiliy. 

— ^ Brady. 

Connor Keilty, 

Edpinnd Beilly. 

Bryan Reilly. 

Charles BeOlj. 

Thomas Reyle^. 

Pi^ Mac Mahon. 

Edmund Beilly. 

Hugh Reilly. 

Philip Reilly. 

Hugh Rdllj. 

Thomas Reflly. 

John Reilly, 

John Brady. 

Philip Brad^-. 

Pa. Brady, 


Mac Mahon. 


Coll Mac Mahon. 

Edmd. Mac Mahon. 

Syl Mac Mahon. 

Pa. Mac Mahon. 

Owen Mac Mahon. 





The sept of Mac Mahon ranked Princes of Monaghan and 
territorial lords of Fumey, from very remote time, as b 
shown in a report^ of Sir John Davis, the L^ Attorney- 
General, to Eli^beth and James the First. Their country 
was early subjected to the inroads and devastation of Sir 
John de Courcy, in his expedition for the conquest of Ulster. 
In 1310 Edward the Second took ^ Maghoun mac Maghoun ' 
and his whole sept under his protection, and, in 1314, that 
Monarch directed an especial letter missive to Brien Mac 
Mahon, * Duci Hibemicorum de Uriel,' to aid him in the 
Scottish war; in two years after which, at the memorable 
battle of Athenry, fought between the English settlers in 
Connaught and the natives, MoroQgh, son of Morough Mac 
Mahon, with one hundred of his people, was slain. In 1346 
Bryan Mac Mahon, then chief, defeated the English in battle, 
slaying three hundred of their men. The King in 1355 
however granted ^ sufferance of peace ' to him, as also to five 
others of the sept, 'for certain reasons propounded to the 
Justiciary/ The native Annals about this time record much 
concerning the Thomond Mac Mahons and the succession of 
their chiefs ; but as, on the best authorities, they are considered 
to have been of the race of Heber, descended from Mahon 
O'Brien, who was Prince of Thomond in the twelfth centiuy, 
none of these notices can be applicable here. 

In 1382 the Constable of the Castle of Louth was ordered, 
in pursuance of a treaty, to deliver to the Sheriff of Louth, 
Eneas Mac Mahon, then a prisoner in said castle. At the 
close of that century (1394) the Mac Mahon was one of the 

ABT m'mabon's ikfaktbt. 595 

Ulster Princes who did hoidage and fealty to the King's 
own person (Richard the Second) in the Dominican friary of 
Drogheda. In the ninth year of the reign of his successor, 
the Mae Mahon was entrusted with the custody of certain 
strong-holds in Famey, (wUeh the record describes as lying 
amidst Irish enemies), this King haying pieviousiy gr&nted 
to him the lands and lordship of Famey (excepting the castle) ; 
while Mac Mahon undertook for the future to be loyal, and 
to assist in hostings against Irish enemies and rebels. NeTer- 
theless, in 1417, the Lord Fumiyal, the celebrated Sir John 
Talbot, of Hallamsfaire, b^ng Lord Lieuteoant of Ireknd, , 
'rode against Mac Mahon^ a great Irish enemy, and a 
powerful ehieftain of his natioo^ and him cEd strongly invade 
by divers laborious hostiugs and journeys, and burned and 
destroyed one of his chief places with all his towns and com 
about, and wounded and killed a great mnltitude of his 
people/ Yet was the power of thb sept and its neighbours 
so formidable, at the time e£ the accessicm of Henry the Sixth 
(1422), that the Earl of Ormonde then Lord Deputy, in 
council granted to William de Burga Knight, and to his: 
brother, respective sums of £40 and 20 marks, ^for that, 
without their assistance the Mac Mahons codid not have been 
resisted;' and immediately after an indenture was ratified 
whereby Bernard Mae Mahon, the dbief, and Bory and 
Mahon his brothers, swdre on the Goepek to fealty, and sur- 
rendered their territory to the King of Eh^nd. The daef 
on this occasion ^ving hia eMest son, Bemardv as a hostage. 
In 1431 ' the. English, with a great force of cavalry, marched 
to plunder the territory of O'Reilly; and on the same' day 
Manus, son of Ardgal Mac Mahon, went out to plunder the 
English settlemients, when having received intelligeDCe of the 
proceedings of the Engjish (against O'Beilly), he qaiddy 


went in pursuit of them, and finding them watching thdr 
plunder, he vigorously attacked them, took their prey firom 
them, made their chiefs prisoners, slew others of them, and 
returned home yictorious.' In 1471 the English suffered firom 
the Mac Mahons of Famey, and again, in 1494 ^ they were 
defeated in an engagement by Mac Mahon, ue., Hugh oge 
the son of Hugh rocy and by O'Reilly, ».«., John, son of 
Cathfll, son of Owen, son of John, in which occurrence three 
score of the English officers were slain, and many were taken 

In 1507 James McMahon succeeded to the see of Deny, 
as did Patrick McMahon to that of Aidagh in 1553. In 
1560 *' the Mac Mahon, t.«., Art maoly son of Bedmond, son 
of Glaisne, was slidn by the Scots in O'Neill's forces, while 
unguarded between two armies in the Routes of McQuillan. 
He was the foremost in every battallion and the defender of 
his portion of the province against the men of Bregia and 
of Meath. His brother's son, namely, Hugh, the son of 
Bryan-na-Moicherghe, son of Bedmond, son of Olaisne, was 
appointed his successor.' To Ferret's Parliament, of 1585, 
'* went McMahon, Prince of Oirgiall, namely Bossa, son of 
Art, son of Bryan, son of Bedmond, son of Glaisne." This 
was the Chief who at last deemed it policy to surrender to 
the Crown the territory which he had theretofore held by the 
Irish law of Tanistry, and to receive back firom her Majesty a 
re-grant thereof to himself and his heirs male, with remainder 
to his brother Hugh Boe McMahon. Bossa died without 
issue, and the Queen took occasion to break fidth with Hugh; 
when the old inheritance, the subject of the aforesaid sur- 
render and re-grant, was divided between the Marshal Sir 
Henry Bagnall and Captain Henslow, the latter being 
appointed * Senesohal' of the County. Down to the days of 

ART m'mahon'8 inpantby. 597 

the aforesdd Kossa; the succession of these Tanists of 
Monaghan is recorded in the AnnaU of the Four Masters, 
the elections being i^spectiyely conducted as is there 
shown, Tnth the sanction of the O^Neill as lord paramount: 
Monaghan was then reduced to shire grounds The Act of 
James, for the attainder of the Earl of Tyrone and his 
abettors, included Brian Oge Mac 'Mahowne/ 'late of 
Clonleege in Uppet Truagh, CouMy of Monaghan.* Previous 
to the paasing of that measure, many of this fiumly had gone 
down to Munstei* to co-operate with the Spanish invaders, and 
some on its fiulure had passed off to Spain. Sir William 
Fitz- Williams, too, during his viceroyalty, hadj " with good 
wisdom and policy," as Sir John David says, in a letter to 
the Earl of Salisbury touching the Mac Mahon's territory, 
'^ divided the greatest part of that country among the natives 
thereof, except the church lands^ which he gave to English 

When the Plantation system was brought into operation, 
such terror did it awaken here, that no less than thirty-nine of 
the sept felt necessitated to sue out licenses of pardon for 
their protection. In 1607, however^ King James had granted 
to Eiver Mac CoUagh Mac 'Mahoune,' sundry lands and 
chief rents in Monaghan, under condition to answer and serve 
in all hosfings within that county; and, in 1609, Iloss, son of 
Bryan Ma« Mahon , had a grant of some townlands within the 
territory of his ancestors^ on the same condition of serving on 
journeys and hostings, with horse and foot^ well armed; as 
had Patrick duf, son of Colla Mac Mahon, and Sir Bryan, 
son of Hugh oge Mac Mahon, of other estates therein in 1610. 

A Keport, made to government in the reign of James 

the First, states ' Owen Mac Mahon, bom in Ulster, Arch- 
bishop of Dublin, as then resident in Lovain, and having a 


moixdily stipend for his sopport from tlie Aididnke of 
Aostria;' it does not appear that he ever lived in his provinee. 
Numerous annals of the obits of the Monaghan Mac Mahons, 
as evidfflooed by the native chroniclers and by inquisitionB, is 
necessarily omitted from this Woric 

The last and most memorable cUef of Monaghan was 
Hugh Mac Mahon, who activdy co-operated with Sir Phdim 
O'Neill in the great insontection of 1641*. In conjanction 
with Connor Magoire, Baron of Ennisldllen, he conspired in 
1641 to seize the Castle of Dublin; but the plot was dis- 
covered by Owen O'ConoUy, whereupon McMahon and 
Maguire were made prisoners, transmitted to the Tower <^ 
London, and in 1644 both were tried and beheaded at 
TybuiiL A state document, purporting to be a Betum of 
' andent Irish in the King of Spain's dominions,' made about 
the year 1622, names Oweai Mac Mahon, Archbishop of 
Dublin, bred in Salamanca, now in Ireland ; Florence Conroy, 
Aichbidiop of Tuam, ^entertained by his Majesty in the 
States of Flanders^' Vincent O'Gaia of the order of St 
Dominick, Dan de la Cru2 of ditto, with various other Irish 
priests in Lisbon, where is ^ Morish O'Mahon,' a secular priest. 
John Mac Mahon of Sush, in the County o£ Dublin, was the 
only obscure individual on the Boll of Attainders of 1642; 
not one of that great name in Monaghan was projected for 
the denunciation. At the Supreme Council of Kilkenny, 
however. Colonel Brian Mac Mahon, of that stock, sat and 
was consequently, in Cromwell's Act for settling Ireland, 
excepted from pardon for life and estate. 

Besides the above Colonel and the other officers in his 
Begiment, the name was further commissioned in Lord 
Kenmare's Infantry, in Fitas-James's, Major-General Bois- 
seleau's, the £arl of Antrim's, Colonel Charles O'Biyan's, 


Colonel Cormtick O'Neill's, Colonel Oliver O'Gara's ; and in 
the Earl of Clanricarde's, Bryan Mahon, whose lineage seems 
derived from this great sept, was a Lieutenant. The 
Attainders of 1691 proscribe fourteen Mac Mahons of 
Monaghan, Louth, Fermanagh, and Clare, respectively. The 
above Colonel Art Mac Mahon was entitled ^ oge^^ being the 
younger brother of Father Gelasins Mac Mahon, who was 
then the head of the House^ but who from his clerical 
character Was incapable of filling the duties of the station. 
Colonel Art was King Jameses Lord Lieutenant for the 
County of Monaghan, his Deputy Lieutenants ^being Brian 
and Hugh Mao Mahon, Esquires, who also represented that 
county in the Parliament of 1689. Hugh was the Captain 
before marked in Fitz-James's Infitntry) and appears identical 
with the Hugh who was afterwards Lieutenant-Colonel in 
the Regiment of Charlemont. 

During the war of the Revolution in Ireland) the services 
of this Regiment of Mac Mahon were principally directed 
against the Williamite forces in Ulster, relieving the fort 
of Charlemont, when besieged by Schonberg, and in after- 
wards effecting the defeat of William, on the occasion of 
the first siege of Limerick. Colonel Art was killed at the 
siege of Athlone,* and on his death, and the final extinction 
of James's hopes, fafther Gelasius Mac Mahon, the head of 
the sept, retired to the Continent. 

In 1747 Lieutenant Mac Mahon was wounded at the 
battle of Lauffield, as was also a Captain Mac MahoA mor- 
tally. Some few years after, the ^ Marquis of Mac Mahon,' 
(of the Thomond line) Colonel of a French Regiment, Knight 
of St. Lonisi and of the Am^can order of Cincinnatus, 

♦ Story's Impartial Hitiory^ pt. XL, p. 108; (yCfxUaghan's Green Book^ ire* 


acquitted himself with much credit ss Ambassador to the 
United States of America ; and Colonel Mac Mahon, a 
Kmght of Malta, distinguished himself in the service of 
France and Spain.* The Monthly Chronologer for Ireland, 
in Exshaw's Magazine for 1769 (p. 320), mentions as then 
ocouiiing the death of Mr. Patrick Mac Mahon, aged eighty- 
eight years, one of whose sons rose to the dignity of a 
Marquis of France and a Knight of Malta, while another 
was Boman Catholic Bishop of Killaloe; nor must it be 
forgotten that on the recent storming of the Malakoff, Mac 
Mahon was one of the two Generals, to whom Marshal 
Pelissier attributed the success of that splendid adueyement. 
This gallant officer has more recently acquired a Marshal's 
baton and the title of Duke of Magenta, for his gallant 
services against the Austrians, in the Italian war. He is 
claimed by the Mac Mahons of Clare, as the lineal male 
descendant of Terence Mao Mahon the Lord of Cloonderala 
in that County^ who, about the middle of the fifteenth 
century, intermarried with a daughter of Maurice Fitz- 
Gerald, fourth Earl of Kildare. 



The Mac Bradys, sometimes called O^Bradys^ are considered 
by Mac Geoghegan to have been a branch of the O'CarroUs 
of Calry in Leitrim ; and Hardiman relies that the illustrious 
bard, Carolan, was descended from the same stock. They 

* FenxtrU Limerick^ pp. 349-50« 


were widely established uiider the former name oyer the 
barony of Lough Tee in Cavan. In 1348 died Donogh 
Mac Brady, Chief of Kilbride, in that County, as did Donal 
Mac Brady the Chief In 1378. The obits of niany others, 
Chiefs of this Sej[)t, are recorded by the Four Masters ; 
while the See of Cavan (Kilmore) wad filled by a Mac 
Brady in 1396, 1421, 1456, 1511, 1600, 1780, and 1795. 
In 1454 a new Cathedral was erected by Bishop Andrew 
Mac Brady in this diocese, by reason of the magnificence 
and splendour of which, the place is said to have taken the 
name of £ill-mor£ ; no trace, however, of that structure 
now exists. In 1563 Hugh Brady, a Meath-man by birth, 
bom at Dunboyne, and, previous to his election to the 
Prelacy, Archdeacon of Meath, was appointed Bishop of 
Meath by Queen Elizabeth, in twenty years after which he 
died at the place of his birth^ and was buried in Its parish 
church. During his time another of this name, Richard 
Brady, filled the see of Kilmore by the Pope's appointment, 
^untU removed in 1585 by Sir John Perrot, Lord Deputyi 

An inquisition, post moriemj taken in 1625, finds that 
John, son of Philip Brady of Outeragh, in Cavan, had died 
seised of sundry lands therein, which he had held of the 
King in free and common soccage, and thaf Hugh Brady 
was his son and heir, then aged twenty years and unmarried ; 
while by another similar inquiry made at Batoath, near 
Dunboyne, it was found that James Butler, then late Baron 
of Dunboyne, had died seised of the manor of Dunboyne, 
comprising simdry lands and tofts with chiefiies and certain 
rents, amongst which were some payable by Nicholas Brady. 
Of those attainted in 1642 were Thomas Brady, John Brady, 
and John Brady, junior, all described as of the County 
Meath. None were left in Cavan seised of covetable estates^ 


bat the reoarda of the adjudications, which took place after 
the Restoration, in favour of those who had fought for Song 
Charles in Ireland, until his decapitation, and who w^^re 
hence called ' the 1649 Officers,* present the name of a Lieu- 
tenant Nicholas Brady. The extennination of the s^t is 
distinctly avowed, it would seem^ in his instance, in a letter 
dated of 1686, from the Earl of Clarendon to the Earl of 
Rochester, * Major Brady,* he writes, * being resolved to go 
for England, to cast himself at His Majesty's feet, is earnest 
for a letter to you, which I cannot refuse him. He was 
Major to^ Colonel Rusaell, and is one of the unfortunate 
gentlemen who are put out. I never in my life knew any 
man better spoken of by all sorts of people ; his condition 
at present is deplorable, being, I believe, not worth £50 
in the world.' This Major Nicholas was, according to Ware, 
a descendant of Bishop Hugh, by his wife, Alice, daoght^ 
of Sir Robert Weston^ Knight,