(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Indiana and Indianans : a history of aboriginal and territorial Indiana and the century of statehood"




fiflvlW** 



, ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 00096 9573 

JGc 977.2 D92i v. 4 

a Dunn, Jacob Piatt, 18f55- 

eS Indiana and Indianans 



^^^3 



a 



3||p 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center 



http://www.archive.org/details/indianaindianans04dunn 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



A HISTORY OF ABORIGINAL AND TERRITORIAL 

INDIANA AND THE CENTURY OF 

STATEHOOD 



JACOB PIATT DUNN 

AUTHOR AND EDITOR 



VOLUME IV 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

CHICAGO AND NEW YORK 
1919 



Allen County Pubto ' :U rary 
fl. Woyne, indiuna 



Copyright, 1919 

by 

THE AMEKICAN HISTOKICAL SOCIETY 



1487948 




^y/-^ J&^^t^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Gen. Jefferson C. Davis. One of the 
most distinguished Indianans who made 
military life his profession was Gen. Jef- 
ferson C. Davis, who first volunteered his 
services to the profession of arms at the 
outbreak of the war with Mexico, and was 
a member of the regular army thereafter 
for thirty years. 

He was born in Clark County, Indiana, 
March 2, 1827. He was of an old Ken- 
tucky family. His grandparents, William 
and Charlotte Davis, died in Kentucky, 
the former in 1840, at the age of sixty- 
seven, and the latter on May 6, 1851. Wil- 
liam Davis, Jr., father of General Davis, 
was born July 29, 1800, and died March 21, 
1879. He married Mary Drummond, who 
was born June 24, 1801, and died Novem- 
ber 24, 1881. Their children were: Jef- 
ferson C. ; James W., born February 24, 
1829, died October 12, 1906; John, born 
December 27, 1830, died May 6, 1859 ; Jo- 
seph, born November 14, 1832, died Au- 
gust 6, 1867 ; George, born November 21, 
1834, died in March, 1901; William, born 
March 5, 1838, died November 25, 1910; 
Matilda Anne, born September 5, 1841, 
died July 19, 1890 ; Thomas Benton, born 
August 22, 1844, died in October, 1911. 
Joseph, George and William all also served 
in the Civil war, and Dr. Thomas Davis 
was contract surgeon in the regular army. 

Jefferson C. Davis spent his boyhood 
days near Charleston in Clark County, In- 
diana, on his father's farm. His military 
genius was inherited from a military an- 
cestry, some of his forefathers having 
fought in the Indian wars of Kentucky. 
While a school boy in Clark County attend- 
ing a seminary he heard of the declaration 
of war with Mexico, and enlisted in Colo- 
nel Lane's Indiana Regiment. For gal- 
lant conduct at the battle of Buena Vista 
he was made second lieutenant of the First 



Artillery June 17, 1848. He became a first 
lieutenant in the regular army in 1852. 
In 1858 he was assigned to duty in the 
garrison at Fort Sumter, South Carolina. 
About three years later he was with that 
garrison when Major Anderson consoli- 
dated the forces in Charleston Harbor at 
Fort Sumter, and General Davis was of- 
ficer of the guard when the first shot whis- 
tled over the fort April 12, 1861, this be- 
ing the first shot fired by the Confederates, 
the act that precipitated the long and 
costly Civil war. For this service he re- 
ceived a medal from the New York Cham- 
ber of Commerce, one of these medallions 
being presented to each of the defenders. 
In May, 1861, General Davis was pro- 
moted to a captaincy and was given leave 
of absence to raise the Twenty-second In- 
diana Volunteers. As colonel of the regi- 
ment he saw active service in the Missouri 
campaign, participating in the battles of 
Lexington, Boonville and Blackwater, and 
later at Pea Ridge, Arkansas. In Decem- 
ber, 1861, he was promoted to command of 
a brigade, and was under General Fremont 
and later under Generals Hunter and 
Pope. For services rendered at Milford, 
Missouri, December 18, 1861, when he aided 
in capturing a superior force of the enemy 
and a large quantity of military supplies, 
he was made brigadier general of volun- 
teers. At the battle of Pea Ridge he com- 
manded one of the four divisions of Gen- 
eral Curtis' army. He was also at the siege 
of Corinth, and was then assigned to the 
Army of the Tennessee. He led his old 
division of the Twentieth Army Corps into 
the fight at Stone River, and for his bravery 
was recommended by General Rosecrans 
for major general. In 1864 he commanded 
the Fourteenth Corps of Sherman's army 
in the Atlanta campaign, and in the march 
from Atlanta to the sea. In 1865 a brevet 



1563 

35 



1564 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



major generalship was given him, and he 
was made colonel of the Twenty-third In- 
fantry in the regular army July 23, 1866. 

After the war he was employed as an 
army reorganizer, and was sent to the 
Pacific coast, and from 1868 to 1871 was 
commander of the military forces in the 
newly purchased Territory of Alaska. 
While in Alaska he resided with Price 
Maksutoff, who gave him valuable aid in 
understanding characteristics of that 
country. On several occasions General 
Davis was consulted by Governor Seward, 
who left everything to General Davis' 
judgment. 

In 1873, after the murder of General 
Canby by the Modoc Indians in the lava 
beds of northern California, General Davis 
took command of the forces operating 
against them and in a remarkably short 
time compelled the Modocs to surrender. 
During the last years of his life he was in 
command of the Twenty-third Infantry 
and he died in Chicago while in line of 
duty November 30, 1879. 

General Davis married Miss Mariette 
Woodson Athon, of Indianapolis, daughter 
of Dr. James S. Athon. A niece, Ida 
Davis Finley, resides at 2038 New Jersey 
Street, Indianapolis. 

John Carlisle Davis, M. D., is a suc- 
cessful physician and surgeon and has been 
in active practice at Logansport for the 
past eight years. 

He was born in Jefferson Township, Cass 
County, Indiana, September 22, 1884, son 
of George B. and Minnie (Cullen) Davis. 
His parents are both natives of Indiana 
and are still living. Doctor Davis, one of 
four children, received most of his literary 
education in the Anderson High School. 
In 1909 he graduated from the Medical 
Department of Indiana University, and 
during the following year served as an 
interne in the Deaconess Hospital. He lo- 
cated at Logansport in 1910 and rapidly 
won his way to favor and the enjoyment 
of a large general practice. He is a mem- 
ber of the Indiana Medical Society and is 
very prominent in Masonry, being affiliated 
with the Lodge, Chapter, Council, Knights 
Templar and Mystic Shrine. He is also 
an Odd Felow, is a democratic voter and 
a member of the Logansport Chamber of 
Commerce. February 22, 1911, Doctor 



Davis married Georgia Masters. 
David died March 4, 1917. 



Mrs. 



Rev. John Cavanaugh, C. S. C, D. D. 
Appreciation of Dr. John Cavanaugh 's 
many graceful and eminent qualities is by 
no means confined to the Catholic people 
or that great body of students who have 
known him as teacher and administrative 
head of the University of Notre Dame. As 
preacher and lecturer and speaker at num- 
berless formal and informal occasions Dr. 
Cavanaugh has probably been heard in 
every important town and city of America. 

Doctor Cavanaugh was born at Leetonia, 
Ohio, May 23, 1870, son of Patrick and 
Elizabeth (O'Connor) Cavanaugh. Twen- 
ty years later, in 1890, he was graduated 
with his Bachelor's degree from the Uni- 
versity of Notre Dame. In the meantime 
he had attended parochial schools at Lee- 
tonia and entered Notre Dame in 1886, at 
the age of sixteen. He continued at the 
university as a student of theology, and 
was ordained priest April 21, 1894, and 
said his first mass in his native town of 
Leetonia. The degree Doctor of Divinity 
was conferred upon him by Ottawa Uni- 
versity. 

Since 1894 Doctor Cavanaugh 's primary 
interests have been identified with his alma 
mater. He was associate editor of the Ave 
Maria Magazine from 1894 to 1905, and at 
the same time was professor of Freshmen 
English. He was promoted to professor 
of Senior English and had that work until 
1898. In that year he was appointed rec- 
tor of Holy Cross Seminary at Notre Dame, 
where the priests of his order are trained. 
He was rector and superior of the semi- 
nary from 1898 to 1905. In July, 1905, 
he was elected president of the university. 
His big work in the past fourteen years 
has of course been directing and adminis- 
tering the affairs of this institution, one 
of the foremost universities of Indiana 
and the Middle West. His great capacity 
for work and energy have, however, en- 
abled him to do much of a formal liter ary 
character and as a public speaker. He 
has written a number of magazine articles 
and is author of ' ' The Priests of the Holy 
Cross," published in 1905. Many of his 
speeches cover patriotic subjects. Doctor 
Cavanaugh has long been regarded as one 
of the indispensable guests at the annual 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1565 



banquet of the Indiana Society of Chicago. 
He was preacher at the Pan-American 
mass. Doctor Cavanaugh is a member of 
the Rotary, Indiana, University, Knife and 
Fork and the Round Table clubs of South 
Bend. In politics he is independent and 
has often exercised an important influence 
toward the amelioration of political and 
social conditions. He is a member of the 
Rhodes Scholarship Commission for In- 
diana and also of the Indiana Historical 
Commission. 

Walter Quinton Gresham was born 
near Lanesville, Indiana, March 17, 1832. 
Admitted to the bar in 1853, he became a 
.successful lawyer, was elected to the Legis- 
lature in 1860, -resigning in the following 
year to become lieutenant colonel of the 
Thirty-eighth Indiana Regiment. He was 
afterward brevetted major general of vol- 
unteers for his gallantry at Atlanta. 

After the close of the war Judge Gresham 
resumed practice at New Albany, Indiana. 
In 1869 he was made United States judge 
for the District of Indiana, resigning that 
office to accept the place of postmaster gen- 
eral in President Arthur's cabinet, and in 
1884 was transferred to the treasury port- 
folio. In October of the same year 'Judge 
Gresham was appointed United States 
judge for the Seventh Judicial Circuit. 

Edward A. Smith. No city of its size in 
the country can claim better qualified or 
.more honorable business men than Ander- 
son, where may be found prospering en- 
terprises in every line, and in the lead of 
these are some that have been established 
within the past few years. An example 
to which attention may be called is the 
"Store for Men," a thoroughly modern, 
metropolitan concern owned and con- 
ducted by Edward A. Smith, a leading 
citizen of Anderson and alderman of the 
Second Ward. Mr. Smith has had wide 
mercantile experience here and at other 
points, is acquainted all over the state, 
conducts his large business with energy 
and efficiency and has reason to be proud 
of the stable reputation he has built up 
through honorable methods. 

Edward A. Smith was born on his 
father's farm in Monroe Township, Madi- 
son County, Indiana, not far from Alex- 
andria, September 11, 1872. His parents 



were William and Amanda (Eppard) 
Smith. This branch of the Smith family 
came many generations ago from England 
and settled first in North Carolina and, 
with pioneering spirit, later became identi- ■ 
fied with the settlement of Indiana. The 
main business of the family as far back 
as records have been preserved show it to 
have been largely agricultural, law-abiding 
and patriotic. 

In boyhood Edward A. Smith attended 
the country schools but later attended 
school at Alexandria, four miles distant 
from his home, where he took a special 
teacher's course and was only eighteen 
years old when he received his certificate 
entitling him to teach school. Mr. Smith, 
however, never entered the educational field 
but continued to assist his father for sev- 
eral years longer and then came to An- 
derson with an ambition to enter business. 
In 1892 he secured a position with the 
Lion store, then owned by the firm of 
Kaufman & Davis, and during the eight- 
een months that he worked there picked 
up quite a bit of business knowledge and 
when he entered the employ of the firm of 
Blank Brothers, Anderson, was accepted 
as a salesman in their clothing establish- 
ment, and two years of mutual satisfac- 
tion followed. During the next three years 
he was a salesman with a clothing com- 
pany of Anderson and made such an ex- 
cellent business record that the company 
made him manager of their branch store 
at Elwood, and he continued there for 
two years. 

Mr. Smith returned then to Anderson 
and for the next fifteen months managed 
the home store of the above company. In 
the meanwhile he had been cherishing an 
ambition to go into business for himself, 
and when the opportunity came, on June 
22, 1903, in partnership with Harry M. 
Adams he purchased a bankrupt stock as 
a beginning, and the firm of Smith & 
Adams opened their clothing store at No. 
911 Main Street, where they remained 
until March, 1904, when removal was 
made to the west side of the Square, where 
the firm secured more commodious quar- 
ters. On January 9, 1912, Mr. Smith pur- 
chased Mr. Adams' interest and has been 
sole proprietor since that time. In March, 
1915, he took possession of his present 
store building, and has one of the most de- 



1566 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



sirable business locations in the city. Mr. 
Smith is recognized as one of the city's 
progressive business men, and the thor- 
oughly modern stock of goods he carries 
not only proves his good taste but his de- 
termination to provide suitable and up-to- 
date apparel for men residing at Ander- 
son and in the vicinity, offering so wide a 
choice that particular people have learned 
to rely upon his taste and good judgment 
in this line. His goods include a full line 
of men's wear exclusive of shoes. He is 
the sole agent for the Standard line of 
men's wear, and his stock is so large that 
he occupies two whole floors and employs 
a large force of salesmen. His is the 
leading business of its kind at Anderson. 
Mr. Smith was married in September, 

1895, to Miss Lura W. Welker, who is a 
daughter of George W. and Mrs. (Hurst) 
Welker. The father of Mrs. Smith, who 
is now deceased, was for many years chief 
of police at Anderson. Mr. and Mrs. 
Smith have two children, a son and daugh- 
ter, namely : George W., who was born in 

1896, is a student in De Pauw University, 
and Colleen Jane, who is attending school 
at Greencastle, Indiana. Mr. Smith and 
his family belong to the Central Christian 
Church, Anderson. In politics Mr. Smith 
is a republican and since youth has been 
an active and loyal party worker. He 
was elected alderman from the Second 
Ward with a handsome majority, performs 
his public duties carefully and is a valued 
member of the Chamber of Commerce. He 
belongs to Anderson Lodge No. 77, Free 
and Accepted Masons, and at Mt. Moriah 
Commandery, and also to the Elks. 

Horace Anson Comstock. It would 
scarcely be possible to do justice to the 
success and good citizenship of Horace An- 
son Comstock in a few sentences or a few 
paragraphs. Mr. Comstock has been a 
resident of Indianapolis over forty years, 
and his part as a good and trustworthy 
citizen has been as conspicuous as the 
energy and success with which he has di- 
rected his private business. 

Mr. Comstock was born at Dayton, Ohio, 
September 29, 1856, a son of Thomas C. 
and Margaret J. (Watson) Comstock. His 
father was born in New York State, and 
in 1857, soon after the birth of his son 
Horace, moved from Dayton, Ohio, to Har- 



rodsburg, Kentucky. He lived there, or 
did his best to maintain his residence in 
that community, until after the close of 
the Civil war. He was a manufacturing 
jeweler. When the war came on he was 
one of the nineteen Union men in Harrods- 
burg, and it is needless to recount the 
many persecutions imposed upon them and 
the constant threatenings of danger to 
which they were exposed on account of 
their loyalty to the old flag. Though Hor- 
ace A. Comstock was then a boy of six or 
seven years he has some vivid memories of 
war times. He recalls how his father took 
part in some raids to repel the notorious 
brigade of John Morgan. His father took 
several shots at General Morgan during his 
raid. After the war the activities of the 
Ku Klux Klan drove the Comstock family 
away from Harrodsburg, and they made 
the journey suddenly and by means of a 
stage coach to Covington. Horace Com- 
stock has himself seen the Ku Klux Klan 
riding in a force more than 300 strong. 
Thomas C. Comstock was a witness at the 
trial of General John Morgan at Frank- 
fort, Kentucky. 

In 1873 the Comstock family removed to 
Indianapolis, where Thomas Comstock re- 
sumed his business as a manufacturer of 
jewelry until his death in 1886. His widow 
is still living, now aged eighty-five, and re- 
sides with her daughter, Mrs. James M. 
Blythe, in Springfield, Missouri. 

Horace A. Comstock attended common 
schools in Covington, Kentucky, up to the. 
age of fifteen. He then went to work on 
the bench as an apprentice jeweler with 
William "Wilson McGrew at Cincinnati. 
In 1873 he came to Indianapolis, worked 
for a time with W. P. Bingham as a 
jeweler, but from 1878 to 1884 was a part- 
ner with his father. In the latter year 
Mr. Horace A. Comstock established a 
jewelry store on Illinois Street opposite 
the Bates House, and was afterwards for 
over twenty-five years on Washington 
Street, between Pennsylvania and Meri- 
dian streets. This business was discon- 
tinued April 1, 1915, and on the first of 
August of the same year Mr. Comstock 
organized the Auto Equipment Company, 
with a capital stock of $10,000. This is 
now one of the successful concerns of its 
kind in the city, located at the corner of 
Illinois and New York streets. Mr. Com- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1567 



stock is president and general manager, and 
Mr. Charles B. Fletcher is secretary and 
treasurer. 

Mr. Comstock is a member of the Marion 
Club and is a republican in politics. He 
has the honor of twenty-five years of con- 
tinuous membership in Indianapolis Lodge 
No. 56, Knights of Pythias. During the 
drive for both the Red Cross and Young 
Men's Christian Association campaigns for 
funds he was a member of the local solicit- 
ing teams. 

Mr. Comstock is a splendid example of 
the virile young old men active in business 
and taking a large and genuine interest in 
all affairs that may develop lasting good 
to the community. In September of 1918 
Mr. Comstock motored to his old home in 
Harrodsburg, just fifty years from the 
time he left there. He saw the same 
house, in good order, as though it had 
only been a few years. From the house he 
heard the booming of cannon at the battle 
of Perryville, Kentucky, only ten miles 
away, and was over this battlefield three 
weeks afterward. 

"William A. Rubush has played an ac- 
tive role in business affairs in and around 
Indianapolis for many years, and is still 
in the harness as a business man, being 
associated with his son in the manage- 
ment of a successful grocery house at 
2702 East Washington Street. 

Mr. Rubush was born at Indianapolis in 
1856. His birthplace was a house built by 
his father on what was then known as 
the National Road, now Washington 
Street, at the corner of La Salle Street. 
He is a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Joyce) 
Rubush and a grandson of Alexander 
Rubush, who was a minister of the United 
Brethren Church. Jacob Rubush was born 
in Virginia in 1823 and was about nine 
years old when the family came from that 
state to what is now Clark Township of 
Johnson County, Indiana. The Rubush 
family settled here in 1832. Jacob Rubush 
had very slight educational advantages, 
since Indiana had no real public school 
system when he was a boy. His success in 
life was a matter of self achievement. He 
early learned brick making and brick lay- 
ing, and his brick yard was the source 
of manufacture for much of the brick used 
in the construction of many of the old 



buildings at Indianapolis. He developed 
an extensive business as a contractor, and 
his specialty was the erection of gas plants. 
Indianapolis was a small town when he 
located on the National Road and built his 
home, and as a contractor he built the old 
Union Station at Indianapolis, and at one 
time was manager of the local gas plant. 
His work as a contractor was confined to 
no local bounds, and really extended all 
over the country. At the beginning of 
the Civil war he lost his modest fortune 
and in 1863 accepted an opportunity prof- 
fered him by the pioneer Indianapolis 
banker, Stoughton Fletcher, who owned 
160 acres of land that is now within the 
city limits, to clear away the heavy timber 
from this land. Mr. Jacob Rubush oper- 
ated a saw mill for this purpose, and made 
much of the timber up into lumber and the 
rest of it into cordwood. It proved a very 
profitable contract and started him anew 
on a successful business career. He be- 
came owner of a fine farm at Acton, and 
he always took a great deal of pride in this 
property. In 1872 he was elected a county 
commissioner, and that was his chief polit- 
ical connection with the county, and it 
came without solicitation on his part. He 
was a strong abolitionist before the war, 
and when the war came on offered his 
services to the United States Government, 
but they were not accepted. Jacob Rub- 
ush died in 1886, and at the time of his 
death was holding the office of deacon in 
the Presbyterian Church. Elizabeth 
Joyce, his wife, was born in North Caro- 
lina in 1825 and was a small girl when 
her people moved to Johnson County, In- 
diana. She died in 1895. 

William A. Rubush attended the old 
First Ward school of Indianapolis and also 
some private schools and the public schools 
of Acton. At the age of seventeen he went 
to work, taking charge of the home farm 
at Acton. At the age of twenty-three Mr. 
Rubush married Alice N. Fry, daughter 
of Shepler Fry. Mrs. Rubush was born in 
Marion County. 

Soon after his marriage Mr. Rubush 
moved west to Winfield, Cowley County, 
Kansas, which was then almost out on the 
frontier. For two years he was engaged 
in business as a sheep rancher. On re- 
turning to Indiana he drove overland with 
a mule team. Near Acton he set up a 



1568 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



tile factory arid out of the profis of that 
business bought his fine farm and for a 
number of seasons also operated a thresh- 
ing machine and shredder. In 1904 Mr. 
Rubush returned to Indianapolis, and at 
that time established his grocery store at 
2218 East "Washington Street, and soon 
afterward bought his present location. Mr. 
Rubush is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church at Acton, is a republican and a 
worker in behalf of his party, and in the 
course of his active lifetime has acquired 
many substantial interests. He was one 
of the organizers of the Indianapolis Bak- 
ing Company, is a director of the Sanitary 
Cake Company, and owns a fine orange 
grove in Polk County, Florida. 

Five children have been born to the 
marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Rubush : G. "W., 
who is a successful physician at Indianap- 
olis; Blanche, wife of Charles Francis, of 
Adrian, Michigan; Cary E., partner with 
his father in the grocery business; Fern 
and Only, both at home. 

Dick Miller, a prominent figure in In- 
dianapolis financial circles, being president 
of the City Trust Company, is a lawyer 
by profession, and represents families that 
have been identified with Indiana for over 
a century. 

He was born in Parke County, Indiana, 
January 12, 1871, son of James N. and 
Sarah A. (Snow) Miller. His grandfather 
was Tobias A. Miller, of Butler County, 
Ohio. Located in Franklin County, In- 
diana, in 1803 and moved to Parke County, 
Indiana, in 1817. Mr. Dick Miller's 
father was born in 1827 and his mother 
in 1826. They lived together on the same 
farm in Parke County for fifty-eight years. 
James N. Miller died in 1908. He was a 
Methodist, was a greenbacker and later a 
Bryan democrat, and he took the keenest 
interest in politics and in all public ques- 
tions. 

Dick Miller is the youngest of fourteen 
children, seven of whom are still living. 
He attended the common schools near the 
old farm when a boy, also a graded local 
school, and the Friends Academy at Bloom- 
ingdale. Later he graduated from Indiana 
University and took his law course in the 
Indianapolis University Law School. He 
practiced law in Terre Haute from April, 
1897, to 1901. In 1897 he served as a mem- 



ber of the State Legislature one term. 
Since 1901 his home has been in Indianap- 
olis, where he has since been engaged in 
buying and selling of investment securi- 
ties. He was formerly a member of the 
firm Miller & Company, and on January 
1, 1918, this business was absorbed by the 
City Trust Company, Mr. Miller going 
with the company as president and general 
manager of the investment department. He 
is also chief owner of the Hogen Transfer 
and Storage Company, which has a capital 
investment of $200,000. He is president 
of the Business Men's Indemnity Com- 
pany. This is a company writing health 
and accident insurance. Mr. Miller is a 
Knight of Pythias and a Mason. 

June 28, 1906, he married Miss Cather- 
ine Trimble, of Indianapolis. 

Fred J. Stimson, one of the prominent 
operating officials of the Pennsylvania lines 
west of Pittsburg, is a veteran in railroad 
work, having begun as a chainman with 
a surveying party, and the greater part of 
his service was given the Grand Rapids 
and Indiana Railroad Company. He is 
now division superintendent at Richmond 
for the P. C. C. & St. L. Railroad. 

Mr. Stimson was born at Kalamazoo, 
Michigan, October 30, 1868, son of M. M. 
and Susan (Evans) Stimson. In the pa- 
ternal line his first American ancestor was 
George Stimson, who in 1676 settled in 
Massachusetts. His great-grandfather was 
a pioneer in Monroe County near Roches- 
ter, New York. M. M. Stimson at the 
age of twenty-one went to Michigan and 
was an axe man with the surveying party 
which laid out the route of the Michigan 
Central Railroad. After the Michigan 
Central was completed to Chicago he did 
civil engineering work for the Illinois Cen- 
tral Railroad, served as county surveyor 
of Kalamazoo County, and was division 
engineer of the Grand Rapids & Indiana 
Railroad and eventually chief engineer un- 
til 1884, when on account of failing health 
he retired to his farm and died there in 
1888. 

Fred J. Stimson was the youngest of a 
family of seven children. He was born 
on a farm, attended the public schools of 
Kalamazoo, graduated from high school in 
1886, and then entered the Kalamazoo Bap- 
tist College. Before graduating he left 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1569 



college to take up railroad work as rear 
ehainman, and was thus employed on dif- 
ferent surveys, being advanced in responsi- 
bility to ehainman, rodman and in 1889 
was employed as clerk and rodman by the 
Grand Rapids & Indiana. In 1890 went to 
Colorado and was assistant engineer for the 
Colorado Midland Railroad with head- 
quarters at Colorado Springs, for two and 
a half years. In March, 1893, Mr. Stim- 
son became assistant roadmaster and later 
roadmaster on the Grand Rapids & In- 
diana, being located at Petoskey, Michigan, 
for six years. He was then transferred to 
Grand Rapids as roadmaster and remained 
in that position until 1904, in which year 
he became division engineer of the North- 
ern Division of the Grand Rapids & In- 
diana. On July 1, 1915, he was transfer- 
red to Zanesville, Ohio, as superintendent 
of the Zanesville Division of the Pennsyl- 
vania lines west of Pittsburg, and was 
transferred to his present post as division 
superintendent at Richmond in 1917. 

Jefferson Helm Claypool. Three years 
before Indiana Territory was admitted to 
the Union Newton Claypool, a native of 
Virginia, settled at Connersville, after a 
previous residence in Ross County, Ohio. 
With a residence in his state of more than 
a century the Claypool family has been 
represented chiefly in two of the oldest 
cities, Connersville and Indianapolis, but 
the distinguished talents of individual 
members in law, politics and business have 
made the name generally valued and known 
throughout the state. 

Newton Claypool, the founder of the 
family in Indiana, was a man of liberal 
education for his day, and possessing a 
remarkable degree of strong common sense 
he was naturally a leader in the pioneer 
community of Connersville, where he lo- 
cated in 1813. Several times he was 
honored with a seat in the Senate and 
House of Representatives. 

The second generation of the family was 
represented by Benjamin F. Claypool, who 
was born at Connersville in Fayette County 
December 12, 1825, and lived there until 
his death December 11, 1888. His instruc- 
tion in the public schools of Connersville 
was supplemented by private instruction 
under Professor Nutting, a prominent edu- 
cator who came from Massachusetts to In- 



diana in the early days of the state. From 
Professor Nutting he acquired a general 
knowledge of the branches usually taught 
in the seminaries of that time, including 
an acquaintance with the Latin and French 
languages. In the fall of 1843 he entered 
as a student Asbury, now DePauw, Uni- 
versity at Greencastle, and remained until 
the spring of 1845, leaving college before 
graduation. Among his fellow citizens he 
was especially known for his ability as a 
writer and speaker. He was peculiarly 
fortunate in the choice of his instructor in 
the law, Hon. O. H. Smith, then the rec- 
ognized leader of the Indianapolis bar and 
one of the eminent pioneer lawyers of In- 
diana who are best remembered by the 
present generation. Benjamin F. Claypool 
was admitted to the bar in March, 1847, 
and soon afterward opened an office in his 
native town of Connersville. The Fayette 
County bar at that time contained some 
of the ablest lawyers in the state, and it 
was in competition with them that his in- 
dividual talents were developed, and in a 
few years his study, industry and close 
attention to business gave him rank among 
the foremost civil and criminal lawyers of 
Indiana. Most of the important cases in 
the surrounding counties had him engaged 
on one side or the other, and the opinion 
of his contemporaries that he was one of 
the ablest lawyers of the state has been 
reenforced by the perspective of years. 
During the last century it was almost in- 
evitable that the able lawyer should wield 
a great influence in public affairs. Benja- 
min F. Claypool not only had the native 
talent of public leader but was a student 
of politics and of government all his life. 
He was a man of most emphatic convic- 
tions, fearless in their expression, always 
advocated whatever he thought was right 
regardless of consequences, and had none 
of the qualities and always refused to ex- 
ercise any of the arts of the demagogue. 
It is consistent with this character that he 
seldom sought an office. His original po- 
litical affiliations were with the whig party. 
He was one of the men who organized the 
republican party in Indiana, and in 1856 
served as a delegate to the Philadelphia 
Convention which nominated John C. Fre- 
mont for president. In 1864 he was a pres- 
idential elector in the Fifth Congressional 
District, and in 1868 one of the electors 



1570 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



for the state at large, canvassing the entire 
state in the interests of the republican 
party that year. In 1860 he was elected 
State Senator from the counties of Fayette 
and Union, and proved one of the invalu- 
able men to the state government in up- 
holding the names and purposes of its ex- 
ecutive administration and in favoring a 
vigorous prosecution of the war. The 
emergencies of the times called into the 
Legislature many able men, but even so 
Benjamin F. Claypool was conspicuous in 
the Senate. In 1874 Mr. Claypool became 
republican candidate for Congress in the 
old Fifth Congressional District. His op- 
ponent on the democratic side was the 
Hon. W. S. Holman. Mr. Claypool made 
a brilliant canvass of his district, charac- 
terized by a series of joint debates with 
his distinguished adversary. In that year 
the democrats swept almost everything 
before them in the congressional election, 
and it was one of those familiar reversions 
of public opinion in Indiana which was 
chiefly responsible for the defeat of Mr. 
Claypool. He was never again a candi- 
date for office, but was steadfast in his 
devotion to the principles and success of 
his party. 

As his work in this last campaign proved 
he was an especially ready debater, and an 
earnest, impassioned and logical speaker 
whether before a jury or in a political 
campaign. The later years of his life were 
divided between his profession and agri- 
culture. He owned a large body of im- 
proved land in Delaware County, and 
under his supervision it became noted as 
the home of many fine cattle. Benjamin 
F. Claypool was a highly successful man, 
whether measured from the viewpoint of 
his profession or as a financier and public 
leader. 

August 4, 1853, he married Miss Alice 
Helm, daughter of Dr. Jefferson Helm of 
Rushville, Indiana. Mrs. Claypool was a 
highly educated woman and contributed 
much to the successful career of her hus- 
band. She died in August, 1882. 

Of their four children the last survivor 
was the late Jefferson Helm Claypool of 
Indianapolis, distinguished as an attorney 
and capitalist, who died after a brief ill- 
ness January 22, 1919. He was born at 
Connersville August 15, 1856, was pre- 



pared for college in the public schools and 
under private teachers, and in 1870 en- 
tered Miami University at Oxford, Ohio. 
He was a student there three years and 
later was a member of the class of 1875 hi 
the University of Virginia at Charlottes- 
ville. In 1912 Miami University conferred 
upon him the honorary Master of Arts 
degree. He was a member of the Phi Beta 
Kappa and Delta Kappa Epsilon college 
fraternities. 

He prepared for the bar under the direc- 
tion of his gifted father at Connersville 
and was admitted to practice in 1887. Dur- 
ing the next ten years he and his father 
were in partnership, and with increasing 
exjjerience the son handled the bulk of the 
great volume of practice committed to their 
care. In 1893 Mr. Claypool removed to 
Indianapolis, chiefly in order to keep in 
close touch with his real estate interests 
in the city. After that his activities were 
less professional and more connected with 
banking, farming and real estate develop- 
ment. 

Under the inspiration of his honored 
father he readily accepted the allegiance 
of the republican party and had several 
merited distinctions in politics. In 1889 
and 1891 he represented Fayette and Henry 
Counties in the General Assembly. For 
fourteen years he served on the State 
Board of Election Commissioners, and in 
the noted campaign of 1896 was chairman 
of the Advisory Committee of the Repub- 
lican State Central Committee. The late 
Mr. Claypool also had literary abilities, and 
was a frequent contributor to newspapers 
and magazines on public questions. Some 
of his articles on account of their force 
and clearness of expression have been wide- 
ly copied. 

In 1893 he married Mary Buckner Ross 
of Connersville. He was survived by Mrs. 
Claypool and their only son,' Benjamin 
F., who graduated with the class of 1916 
from Miami University. This son at the 
time of his father's death was with the 
American armies in France. By instruc- 
tions of the War Department General 
Pershing had him released from duty, and 
he returned to Indianapolis. 

Joseph Cates, who was a resident of 
Anderson from 1892 until his death, was 
a veteran business man of Indiana. His 




^^Z^-z^^C. (&&&L-S ~~~ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1571 



career covered more than half a century 
of activity along varied lines. He began 
with a mechanical trade, developed from a 
cabinet maker into a contractor and 
builder, and from that into a furniture 
merchant. Mr. Cates was in the furniture 
business during the greater part of the 
time he lived at Anderson, though with a 
man of his capacity it was only natural 
that his interests should become wide- 
spread. In his time h& handled many 
acres of land in different states, was a 
large land owner, and had extensive prop- 
erty interests in Chicago and elsewhere. 
His business position at Anderson was as 
senior partner in Cates & Son, furniture 
merchants. 

Mr. Cates was born in 1849 at New Al- 
bany in Floyd County, Indiana, a son of 
Barney and Deliah (MrCormack) Cates. 
He was of Welsh and Irish ancestry. Mr. 
Cates had four brothel's who served in the 
Civil war. Some of his ancestors fought 
as soldiers in the War of 1812 and also 
in the war of American independence. His 
people were pioneers in the Middle West. 
His great-grandfather, Albert Cates, do- 
nated the land on which was built the Vil- 
lage of Catestown in the State of Ten- 
nessee. 

Joseph Cates had very limited oppor- 
tunity to gain a liberal education when a 
boy. At the age of three he was left an 
orphan, and his total school attendance 
was hardly more than thirty days. He 
was the adopted child of John and Sarah 
Coserrove at Orleans in Orange County, 
Indiana, but at the age of twelve he began 
learning the trade of cabinet maker with 
John Oakes, with whom he remained two 
years. He was practically master of that 
mechanical art at the a?e of fourteen. He 
developed his skill in this special line into 
a general knowledge of contracting and 
building. He spent a year and a half in 
that work with Joseph Morris, and a simi- 
lar time with Jacob Stephens. He was 
an industrious and skillful worker, thrifty 
in handling his financial affairs, and finally 
had enough capital to enable him to start 
in business for himself. One of the secrets 
of his success is revealed in the fact that 
very early in life he made a rule to save 
part of what he made every day, and as 
seldom a day went by that he did not 
make something, this rule in time brought 
him considerable capital. As a building 



contractor Mr. Cates continued his work 
for a number of years, and most of his 
contracts were executed at Orleans in 
Orange county, at Bloomington in Monroe 
County, at Washington in Daviess County, 
and at Crawfordsville in Montgomery 
County. 

In 1868, during his young manhood, 
Mr. Cates went to the far West, to Cali- 
fornia, and spent a year as a contractor at 
Webb Landing in Tulare County. He 
then returned to Indiana and located at 
Crawfordsville for eighteen months and 
after several other locations he came to 
Anderson in December, 1892. Here he es- 
tablished a furniture store on North Main 
Street and six months later formed a part- 
nership with J. W. Johnson under the 
name Cates & Johnson. Their store was 
on Meridian Street for three and a half 
years, at the end of which time Mr. Cates 
bought his partner's interest and for six 
months was in business as Cates & Canaday. 
Later he re-established a new store on 
Meridian Street, but after about three 
and a half years traded the store for 
407 acres of land in Union County 
near Marysville, Ohio. His next store was 
at the corner of Main and Eleventh streets, 
and after building it up to profitable pro- 
portions he traded it for 710 acres 
in Orange County. Mr. Cates repeated 
this experience several times, and his 
success in building up a growing and 
prosperous business has enabled him to 
sell out or trade to advantage, and in that. 
way he acquired extensive land interests 
both in Indiana and in other states, includ- 
ing Arkansas. 

In 1908 Mr. Cates started in the furni- 
ture business at the present location, and 
carried on the store largely with the energy 
and assistance supplied by his son. At 
the same time he continued his operations 
in the buying and trading of lands. Among 
his holdings at the time of his death were 
a thirtv-six apartment building known as 
the "Glencader" on Ellis Avenue near 
Fortieth Street in Chicago. He also had 
considerable farm lands and city property 
at Anderson, and he owned the largest 
house furnishing store in Madison County. 

Mr. Cates was affiliated with the lodges 
of various fraternities at Anderson, includr- 
ing the Masons, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the Improved Order of Red 
Men, the Tribe of Ben Hnr and the Forest- 



1572 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ers. Politically lie was a republican and 
a member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

On May 16, 1877, he married Miss 
Caroline Ratcliffe, and they enjoyed a 
happy married companionship of over 
forty years. Mrs. Cates is a daughter of 
Stephen and Mary Ratcliffe. Three chil- 
dren were born to their marriage, Oscar A., 
business partner with his father, married 
in 1905 Emma Clark, and they have two 
daughters, granddaughters of Mr. Cates, 
Caroline, born in 1907, and Geraldine, born 
in 1909. The daughter of Mr. Cates is 
Miss Dora Jane Gates. Another daughter, 
Mary, born in June, 1883, died in in- 
fancy. 

"In the midst of life we are in death," 
is a sentence that applies peculiarly to the 
sudden end of this well known Anderson 
merchant. Enjoying extraordinary health 
for a man of his years, busy with affairs 
and the interests of his home, on March 8, 
1919, he fell on a snow and ice covered 
street in Anderson and sustained injuries 
from which he died the following Monday, 
March 10th. He was buried in the Maple- 
wood cemetery at Anderson on March 13th. 
What his life and his death meant to the 
community was well expressed in the edi- 
torial columns of the Anderson Herald : 
"In the death of Joseph Cates one of the 
very interesting as well as one of the very 
successful merchants of the city passes 
away. Mr. Cates was a furniture mer- 
chant here for upwards of a score of years. 
In that time he built up a very large busi- 
ness, and through this and trading in real 
estate accumulated a considerable fortune. 
Mr. Cates' life was in his business and in 
his home. He was rarely at public gather- 
ings and when in the city was all the time 
about his store. In his merchandising work 
he came in contact with a great mass of 
people, and there were thousands who re- 
posed full confidence in him. They recog- 
nized in him an unchanging sympathy with 
the working classes and success did not 
'change his head.' 

' ' Those who knew Joseph Cates best will 
miss him most. To all our people he was 
an interesting and a forcible character, 
and his place will be difficult to fill." 

Thomas W. Bennett, a soldier, lawyer 
and prominent public official, was born in 
Union County, Indiana, February 16 ; 1831. 



In 1854 he graduated from the Law School 
of Indiana, Asbury University, and began 
practice. In 1858 he was elected to the 
State Senate, but resigned in 1861 to enter 
the national service and became succes- 
sively captain, major, colonel and brigadier 
general. In October, 1864, Mr. Bennett 
was again chosen to the Senate, serving 
until March, 1867. He also served as 
mayor of Richmond, Indiana, and was 
afterward appointed governor of Idaho 
Territory, resigning the latter office. 

James M. Propst. An Indiana man, 
native of Vigo County, where he has spent 
practically all the years of his life, James 
M. Propst has made an enviable record as 
an educator, and is now upon his second 
consecutive term as county superintendent 
of schools for Vigo County. 

Mr. Propst was born May 26, 1882, at 
Riley in Vigo County, son of Charles and 
Duella Propst. Mr. Propst had the ad- 
vantages of the local schools near his fath- 
er's home and completed his technical edu- 
cation in the Indiana State Normal School 
at Terre Haute. He has been teaching 
for many years, and his record as a teacher 
and as a school administrator was at the 
basis of his first election to the office of 
county schools superintendent in 1911. He 
was reelected in 1917, and now has the 
complete administration over the school 
system of one of the largest and most pop- 
ulous counties in the state. 

Mr. Propst is affiliated with the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, Knights of 
Pythias, Improved Order of Red Men, the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
of Terre Haute and the Free and Accepted 
Masons, Lodge No. 86 of Terre Haute. He 
is a member of the Fort Harrison Country 
Club and the Terre Haute Chamber of 
Commerce, and is a member of the Meth- 
odist Church. 

December 23, 1908, at Prairieton, In- 
diana, he married Mary Ethel Hanley, 
daughter of James and Emma Hanley and 
of a pioneer Vigo County family. Mr. 
and Mrs. Propst have one daughter, Mil- 
dren Blanche. 

Frank S. Fishback. The name Fish- 
back has an honorable part in the records 
of Indianapolis covering a period of over 
sixty years. As a family the Fishbacks 
have been prominent in business and also 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1573 



in the larger and broader activities and 
movements connected with the welfare and 
progress of the city. 

The late John Fishback was at one time 
proprietor of the old Indianapolis Sentinel 
and gave to that paper some of the distinc- 
tive qualities which made it an influential 
factor in Indiana journalism. John Fish- 
back was born in Batavia, Ohio, in 1825 
and came to Indianapolis in 1855, at the 
age of thirty. In this city he established 
a tannery, also developed a wholesale 
leather business, and for many years these 
enterprises required his time and energy 
and brought him the foundation of a 
generous fortune. John Fishback was 
owner and publisher of the Indianapolis 
Sentinel from 1872 to 1875. Many old 
time newspaper men of Indiana recall his 
work as an editor and publisher, and the 
Sentinel never had a more prosperous nor 
influential period in its history than when 
under the Fishback ownership. 

John Fishback was a strong democrat 
in politics and while working always for 
the interests of his party he was first and 
last concerned with the real vital welfare 
of his home city. He was a member of the 
Presbvterian Church. His death occurred 
in 1884. He married Sarah E. Riddle, 
who was born at Kingston, Ohio, July 27, 
1832. They were the parents of five chil- 
dren, the youngest being Mr. Frank S. 
Fishback. 

Frank S. Fishback was born at Indian- 
apolis May 14, 1866. After leaving the 
public schools he went to work for the old 
Indianapolis Times, being assistant book- 
keeper in its office two years. In 1887 he 
entered a new field as a merchandise broker, 
and that is the business upon which he has 
concentrated his best energies for thirty 
years and through which he has gained 
his prominence and success in Indianapo- 
lis. His business for many years has been 
conducted under the name The Fishback 
Company, Importers and Roasters of Cof- 
fee. He is also head of The Fishback- 
Launne Brokerage Company. 

Prominent like his father in the demo- 
cratic party, Mr. Fishback has made a most 
creditable record in handling the affairs 
of several important offices entrusted to 
his management. In 1903 he was the only 
democrat elected to the City Council, be- 
ing elected as councilman at large. He 
gave valuable service to the city during 



the administration of Mayor John W. 
Holtzman. In 1908 he was elected county 
treasurer, and filled that office until De- 
cember 31, 1911. Mr. Fishback is a member 
of the Indiana Democratic Club, the In- 
dianapolis Board of Trade, the Commercial 
Club and is affiliated with Landmarks 
Lodge No. 319, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, and with Lodge No. 7 of the 
Knights of Pythias. He and his wife are 
members of the Second Presbyterian 
Church. 

June 12, 1889, he married Miss Mary 
E. Stone. She was born in the city of 
Washington, the oldest of the six children 
of Daniel E. and Abbie (Stoker) Stone. 
Her father was a native of Vermont, of 
New England colonial stock, and for many 
years was president of a company manu- 
facturing veneer at Baltimore. The three 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Fishback are 
John S., Frank C. and Martha L. 

Jacob L. Bieler, who served with the 
rank of' captain in the famous Sixth In- 
diana Light Artillery during the Civil war, 
was for nearly half a century closely iden- 
tified with the business history and the 
enlightened progress of Indianapolis. 

He was born in Baden, Germany, and 
died at St. Vincent's Hospital in Indian- 
apolis following an operation for appendi- 
citis on October 5, 1913, at the age of 
seventy-four. Though he came to Amer- 
ica at the age of sixteen, he acquired a 
liberal education in the Fatherland. His 
father was a man of considerable influence 
in Baden, and his family were of that 
high class of Germans that characterize 
the early emigration to American shore 
following the Revolution of 1848. While 
Captain Bieler was not a participant in 
the revolutionary troubles which drove 
thousands of the German youth beyond the 
sea, he measured up the same social class 
and standards. It was these Germans, one 
of the most conspicuous leaders among 
them being Carl Schurz, who brought with 
them their thrift and industry, their bind- 
ing sense of individual and civic duty, their 
moral fervor and love of home, and in 
America, both in peace and in war, in 
every branch of human endeavor and hu- 
man achievement, by brave and honest 
service made compensation to the land of 
their adoption. 

Jacob L. Bieler finished his education 



1574 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



at Stuttgart. He inherited the political 
independence and love of liberty of his 
father, and he embraced with zeal the life 
and principles of America and his Amer- 
icanism was of the most robust type. It 
is said that he never liked the term Ger- 
man-American. 

Coming to this country at the age of 
sixteen, he made his home for a time with 
an uncle at Selma, Alabama. While there 
he became a sergeant in the local fire de- 
partment, and at the outbreak of the Civil 
war with the rest of his command was 
drafted into the rebel army. Through his 
uncle and aunt he got away and came 
north. Before he left Germany his father 
had given him as his parting injunction 
the phrase ' ' Stick to your flag, ' ' and he 
interpreted that as meaning a steadfast 
loyalty to the flag and principles of the 
Union. He made his way not without 
considerable risk and danger to Indiana, 
arriving at Indianapolis in 1861. Here he 
joined the army and was the first man 
to erect a tent of the famous Morton Bat- 
tery, afterward the Sixth Indiana Light 
Artillery. He not only became one of the 
officers in this battery, but supplied much 
of the funds for its equipment. He served 
loyally all through the war, rose to the 
rank of captain, and was in many of the 
notable campaigns of the Mississippi Val- 
ley. His battery did splendid service in 
the battle of Pittsburg Landing and Cor- 
inth. 

After the war Captain Bieler returned 
to Indianapolis and engaged in the harness 
business as a partner with Rudolph Frauer 
on Washington Street opposite the Court 
House. In later years he was in the com- 
mission business, and at the time of his 
death was vice president and had long 
been active in the management of the 
American Foundry Company. 

In politics he was a strict republican, 
but his interest in the progress of his home 
city transcended all his party affiliations. 
He was the first republican councilman 
ever elected from the old Thirteenth Ward. 
While in the Council he fought the grant- 
ing of a francise to the Belt Railway. He 
was a member of the City Council from 
1878 to 1880 and in 1880 was elected 
county recorder, filling that office until 
1884. 

Of his record in public affairs one of the 
most important responsibilities he ever held 



was as government agent to open the Sho- 
shone Indian Reservation in the far north- 
west. He became greatly attached to that 
country, and he carried out his official 
duties without fear or favor, and at the 
risk of his own life drove away the gam- 
blers and illicit liquor sellers from the 
reservation. Captain Bieler was selected by 
the United German American Alliance to 
go to AVashington to oppose the Hepburn- 
Dolliver Bill. It was his testimony that 
helped establish the contention of Gen. Lew 
Wallace in regard to the latter 's attitude 
at the battle of Shiloh. Captain Bieler was 
always fond of old army comrades and of 
every meeting where old soldiers congre- 
gated and where patriotism abounded. He 
was a most lovable character, democratic 
in manner, an excellent speaker and was 
often chosen to address local gatherings. 

At the time of his death the Indian- 
apolis Star editorially gave a very fine 
tribute to the life, and in reading the fol- 
lowing quotation from that editorial it is 
well to bear in mind that it was written 
in 1913, before the opening of the Euro- 
pean war. The editorial reads as follows: 

"Unpleasant criticisms of Americans 
who go to the other countries for extended 
stays often drift back from foreign shores, 
the chief faults complained of being two 
that are diametrically opposed to each 
other. It is asserted of one class of these 
exiles that they refuse to adjust them- 
selves to their new environment, that they 
can see no good in the institutions and 
prevailing conditions of the new home com- 
pared to those of their native land and are 
continually drawing invidious and offensive 
comparisons in favor of the latter. The 
other class of Americans, on the contrary, 
are effusive in their praise of the adopted 
country and correspondingly deprecatory 
of their own. They seem to feel it neces- 
sary constantly to apologize for the United 
States in order to ingratiate themselves 
with their new associates, not realizing 
that their course arouses the contempt even 
of the foreigners. 

"How different is the attitude of for- 
eigners who come to this country to seek 
a home, especially that of certain nation- 
alities. Take the Germans, by way of il- 
lustration, and Captain Bieler of Indian- 
apolis, who died on Sunday, as a type. He 
came from Germany in the late fifties, with- 
in five years was a volunteer soldier, fight- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1575 



ing to save the Union of which he had 
become a citizen. His citizenship was not 
an empty thing ; it involved love of liberty 
and love of free institutions and a deep 
feeling of patriotism. The war over, this 
patriotic sense led him, together with other 
German- American veterans, to establish the 
custom of firing a salute on the Court 
House lawn each anniversary of Washing- 
ton's birth. It is a significant thing that 
it remained not for native Americans, who 
proudly trace their lineage to colonial fam- 
ilies, but for newcomers, to originate this 
tribute to the first president." 

Captain Bieler married Caroline M. 
Heun, also a native of Germany, who sur- 
vived him, together with a son, Charles L. 
Bieler, and two daughters, Mrs. S. H. 
Malpas and Miss Bertha Bieler. 

Captain Bieler was one of the. oldest 
members of the Board of Trade and 
Chamber of Commerce, was a member of 
the Masonic Order, the Odd Fellows, Im- 
proved Order Knights of Pythias , the 
Knights of Cosmos, the Maennerchor and 
Musikverein. He was the first president 
of the Liederkranz, organized at Indian- 
apolis during the eighties. 

Charles L. Bieler, his only son, was born 
at Indianapolis June 14, 1867, and was 
educated in the grammar and high schools. 
He is now president of The American 
Foundry Company, a business in which 
his father was actively interested until his 
death. The American Foundry Company 
is one of the largest industries of Indian- 
apolis and gives employment to about 650 
hands. September 20, 1893, Charles L. 
Bieler married Miss Effie Henley. Her 
father, William F. Henley, was a promi- 
nent wholesale merchant of Indianapolis. 
Charles L. Bieler and wife had one son, 
Louis Henley, who is now a first lieu- 
tenant and has been assigned as personal 
aide on the staff of Brigadier-General Ed- 
ward M. Lewis. He was attending Prince- 
ton University as a junior, but gave up his 
college career to fight for his country. 

Mrs. Effie H. Bieler, the mother of this 
American soldier, died October 6, 1917, 
at her home 3104 North Pennsylvania 
Street. Besides her son and husband she 
was survived by her mother, Mrs. William 
F. Henley, and by two sisters, Martha 
Henley and Mrs. Stoughton A. Fletcher. 
She was laid to rest at Crown Hill ceme- 
tery. 



Charles L. Bieler has a splendid record 
as a member of the National Guard, and 
his son makes the third successive genera- 
tion to fight for Uncle Sam. Charles L. 
Bieler joined the National Guard in 1882 
as a member of the Gatling Squad of In- 
dianapolis Light Artillery. He retired in 
1910 with the rank of captain. For four 
years he was a member of Governor Dur- 
bin's staff with the rank of major. 

Roscoe Kipee, a present valued member 
of the State Senate of Indiana, has been 
a lawyer at Boonville in active practice 
for a quarter of a century, and is also a 
former judge of the Circuit Court of his 
district. 

Mr. Kiper was born at Litchfield, Ken- 
tucky, June 2, 1874, son of Rev. J. D. 
and Louisa (Fuller) Kiper. His father, 
who is still living at the advanced age 
of eighty-three, is one of the oldest min- 
isters of the Indiana Methodist Conference. 
He entered the ministry in 1863 and con- 
tinued active for nearly half a century, 
until he retired. The family came to In- 
diana in 1884, locating at Cannelton. 

Judge Kiper, the seventh in a large 
family of children, was educated in the 
common schools of Indiana and received 
his legal education in the Indiana Law 
School. He began practice at Boonville in 
1893. He was deputy prosecuting attorney 
and held the office of judge of the Circuit 
Court six years. He was elected to the 
State Senate on the republican ticket, rep- 
resenting the district of Warrick and Van- 
derburg Counties. 

Howard W. Beckman and Elmer Krei- 
meier. Senior member of Beckman- 
Kreimeier Shoe Company of Richmond, 
Howard W. Beckman has been in the shoe 
business the greater part of his career, 
and his knowledge and long experience 
have brought the present firm a most en- 
viable success. 

Mr. Beckman is a son of William F. 
and Anna Elizabeth (Lindermann) Beck- 
man. He was educated in the common 
and high schools and at the age of seventeen 
went to work as a wagon driver for Adam 
H. Bartel & Company. After a year he 
went to work as salesman for the Hoosier 
Mercantile Company of Richmond, shoe 
merchants, and during the next year and 
a half acquired much experience which 



1576 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



has been valuable to him all the rest of his 
career. For two years he was a shoe sales- 
man for Harry S. Cone in Shelbyville, then 
a year and a half with the Curme-Felt- 
man Shoe Company, four years with the 
Kahn-Williams Shoe Company at Conners- 
ville, and in 1919 formed a partnership 
with Elmer Kreimeier and bought the 
Walk-Over shop on Main Street in Rich- 
mond. 

Mr. Beekman married in 1917 Irene 
Smith, daughter of W. J. Smith of Con- 
nersville. In politics he is independent 
and is a member of the Fraternal Order of 
Eagles. 

Elmer Kreimeier, junior member in the 
Beckman-Kreimeier Shoe Company, was 
born in Richmond in 1881, son of Edward 
and Catherine (Eggelman) Kreimeier. At 
the age of fourteen, leaving public school, 
he went to w r ork with the Nickolson book 
bindery, and spent more than three years 
with that concern, being employed in cut- 
ting paper boxes and in delivery work. 
His longest business experience was with 
the Starr piano factory, working on piano 
actions. He became an action regulator 
and had charge of that branch of the fac- 
tory for ten years, also being connected in 
other capacities for a total of eighteen 
years. In July, 1918, Mr. Kreimeier went 
to the Curme-Feltman Shoe Company as a 
salesman to learn the business, and in 1919 
formed his present partnership with Mr. 
Howard Beekman. 

In 1908 he married Alice Lichtenfels, 
daughter of Jacob and Anna (Coon) Lich- 
tenfels of Richmond. They have two chil- 
dren. Mr. Kreimeier is an independent 
in politics, is affiliated with the Lodge of 
Masons, Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and Knights of Pythias, and has held 
numerous offices in St. Paul's Evangelical 
Lutheran Church. 

Howard Albert Dill, treasurer and 

superintendent of the Richmond City 
Waterworks, is a civil engineer of wide 
technical experience and for many years 
has been engaged in business where his 
profession serves him well. 

Mr. Dill was born at Richmond August 
7, 1869, son of Matthew H. and Emily 
(Hutton) Dill. He attended the grade 
schools of Richmond and in 1884 became 
a student in Swarthmore College and 
graduated in 1889. From Swarthmore he 



entered the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology, and was graduated with the 
degree S. B. in 1891. During 1893-94 
Mr. Dill was connected with the City En- 
gineering Department of Indianapolis, and 
on returning to Richmond in 1895 became 
treasurer of the Richmond Bicycle Com- 
pany. In 1898 he joined the Richmond 
City Water Works, becoming its treasurer 
in 1899. He is also a stockholder and 
director of the J. M. Hutton & Company. 
In the meantime Mr. Dill had found many 
opportunities for valuable public service 
and has a wide range of interests. He 
was president of the Richmond Commer- 
cial Club in 1918-19, is president of the 
Social Service Bureau of Richmond a 
member of the Richmond Country Club, 
the Richmond Tourist Club and the Rotary 
Club. He is an elder in the First Presby- 
terian Church, a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and an 
independent republican in polities. 

In 1892 he married Miss Camilla L. 
Walker, daughter of Judge L. C. and Ca- 
milla (Farquhar) Walker. Mrs. Dill died 
in April, 1910, the mother of two children : 
Dorothy and Malcolm Howard. The son 
was born in 1899, and at the close of 1918 
was in the artillery service at Camp Tay- 
lor, Louisville, Kentucky. In December, 
1911, Mr. Dill married Mary Kinsey Ham- 
mond, daughter of Thaddeus Wright. 

Henry C. Smither, who is head of the 
oldest gravel roofing and modern fireproof 
roofing enterprise in Indianapolis, has been 
an active business man in that city for 
half a century. He is a veteran of the Civil 
war and member of a family that was 
established in the capital of Indiana more 
than ninety years ago. 

Some of the most interesting memories 
of the old days in and around Indianapolis 
have been preserved by Mr. Smither, and 
no one has studied early conditions more 
carefully and can speak with more author- 
ity on the persons and events of the times. 

The Smither family in all generations 1 
have been distinguished by sturdy Ameri- 
can characteristics, including a patriotism 
that has never required propaganda or spe- 
cial urging to respond to every call by 
their country. Mr. Smither 's grandparents 
were James and Nancy Smither, and their 
home was in Owen County, Kentucky, 
where they lived to a good old age, Nancy 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1577 



passing the century mark. Nine of their 
sons and one daughter grew to mature 
years, namely : Robert, William, Sarah, 
Lewis, James, John, Ezekiel, Willis, Wyatt 
and Coalman. 

John and Elizabeth Smither, parents of 
Henry C, were natives of Kentucky and 
came to Indiana about the year 1825, set- 
tling in what is now Indianapolis. John 
Smither once owned the property where 
now stands the Claypool Hotel, also part 
of the State House grounds, the land at 
the corner of Indiana Avenue and Illinois 
Street for half a square or more on the 
avenue, and constructed the first little one- 
story brick house on the avenue. He owned 
several • other valuable properties in the 
city. He was a gunsmith by trade and 
even after he sold his shop and tools his 
services were sought to make some rifles 
for special customers, and these rifles stood 
every test of accuracy and fine workman- 
ship. After selling his Indianapolis prop- 
erty John Smither moved to a farm on the 
old Michigan Road near New Bethel, eight 
miles southeast of Indianapolis. The pres- 
ent Village of New Bethel is located on 
ground once owned by him. John Smither 
was typical of the hardy, rugged, resource- 
ful pioneer, had a high order of business 
ability and conducted to enviable success 
many large affairs. His name in fact de- 
serves a permanent place among the found- 
ers and upbuilders of the city of Indianap- 
olis and Marion County. He cleared away 
a large amount of land of its timber, and 
as was the custom of the time had to roll 
together and burn immense logs of the 
finest hardwood timber which would now 
constitute a fortune for a practical lum- 
berman. In those days the woods were 
filled with game, and Henry C. Smither 
during his boyhood was regaled with many 
interesting stories of the exploits of his 
father and other nimrods in shooting and 
trapping such wild game as deer, bear and 
turkeys. The first country home of the 
Smither family in Marion County was a 
log house with a big fireplace, a blanket 
over the door opening, but in course of 
years by hard efforts John Smither de- 
veloped not only a fine farm but erected 
a most substantial home. This home was 
on the old Michigan Road, the famous 
thoroughfare that stretched north and 
south through Indiana from the Ohio River 
to Michigan City, passing through In- 



dianapolis. After erecting a large and 
commodious house John Smither turned it 
to good account as a tavern, known as the 
Smither Tavern. The nine room house 
was situated on a pleasant knoll, sur- 
rounded with blue grass lawn, shade, fruit 
and flower trees. The Smither Tavern was 
one of the points in the old time civiliza- 
tion of Indiana which could furnish count- 
less themes for romance and history. The 
hospitality and good cheer were unbounded. 
The Smithers set a table that would make 
the good living of modern time seem poor 
indeed. The house was filled with travelers 
night and day, and many of the foremost 
celebrities of the time stopped there, in- 
cluding especially the statesman journey- 
ing back and forth. In fact the Smither 
station, being the last public house on the 
road before entering Indianapolis from the 
South, was well called the "primping sta- 
tion." Travel-worn legislators and others 
who desired to make the best appearance 
on reaching the streets of Indianapolis 
would spend the night or at least several 
hours at the Smither Tavern, getting their 
boots greased, their linen changed, and all 
the niceties of good dress arranged. 

Besides the politicians and regular trav- 
elers who stopped there, the Smither 
Tavern was the headquarters for the 
preachers of the Baptist denomination, and 
every Sunday particularly the neighbors 
for miles around would gather at the 
Smither home to partake of the bountiful 
provisions of the table and enjoy the so- 
ciety of their fellows. To their neighbors 
Uncle John and Aunt Betsey, as they were 
known, opened the privilege of their house 
and table without pay, and there was 
never a case of the poor or hungry being 
turned away from their door. They were 
active members of the Baptist Church at 
New Bethel, and nearly all their children 
were also affiliated with that church. The 
old church so well remembered has long 
since disappeared and has been replaced by 
a substantial brick edifice a short distance 
east of the old site. 

The old Michigan Road is today one of 
the fine modern thoroughfares of Indiana, 
and only those historically inclined have 
any knowledge as they ride along in their 
automobiles of the historical significance of 
the highway. Of the old time landmarks 
still standing along the road the old 
Smither house was one of the most inter- 



1578 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



esting. It is as firm as a rock today, 
having been constructed of heavy poplar 
logs grown on the land. Many years ago 
the house was sold to the McGauhey family, 
former County Commissioner John Mc- 
Gauhey having owned it, and it is now 
the property of McGauhey 's son-in-law, 
J. E. Wheatley. John Smither also erected 
a saw mill on his land and worked up much 
of the timber into lumber. There is no 
person now living who has witnessed as 
many changes brought by civilization in 
central Indiana as the old Smither house. 
It was built before there were any rail- 
roads, when all travel in this section was 
by stage coach or wagon over the dirt and 
corduroy roads. Its windows have looked 
out upon statesmen going by on horseback 
with their high hats and old fashioned 
stocks, upon stage and mail coaches drawn 
by four and six horses, until gradually the 
conditions which made the Smither Tavern 
prosperous have yielded to the railroad, 
the automobile and the electric railway, a 
line of which is just across the road from 
the old house. Today there are telephone 
wires bearing intelligence instead of the 
mail cart and post rider. Henry C. Smither 
when a small boy, holding his father's 
hand, had the privilege of witnessing the 
first railroad train over the Madison Rail- 
road as it entered Indianapolis. 

John and Elizabeth Smither had thirteen 
children, four daughters and nine sons, 
four of the sons dying in infancy. Those 
who grew up were all happily married. 
Their names were : Sarah Catherine, 
Nancy Jane, Mary Frances, James Wil- 
liam, Henry Clay, Elizabeth Helen, Theo- 
dore Freelinghyson, Robert G. and John W. 
John Smither was a whig in early life and 
gave the name of the great whig states- 
man to the son mentioned above. Later 
he was a republican and was a man of 
exalted patriotism during the Civil war. 
He furnished his four oldest sons to the 
Government. James W. was in the railway 
mail service during the war. The record 
of Henry C. is given below. Theodore F. 
was a member of the Twenty-sixth Indiana 
Infantry and served faithfully until hon- 
orably discharged for disability. The 
youngest son, John "W., was too young 
to get into the Civil war and too old for 
the European conflict, but his son, Dr. J. 
A. Smither, at Jamestown, California, did 
some work in examining recruits for the 



recent war. John W. Smither is now in 
the insurance and brokerage business at 
Burlington, Iowa. 

The best and most faithful soldier of all 
the Smither brothers was Robert G. He 
enlisted at the same time with his brother 
Theodore in the Twenty-sixth Indiana 
Regiment and was called the baby of the 
regiment, being only a little over fourteen 
when he went in. The boys used to carry 
him around all over camp on their shoul- 
ders. He finally was badly wounded in 
the right leg, the bone being shattered. He 
remained out only about six months after 
being discharged, and then again enlisted, 
at the time of the first Morgan raid, in 
Company E of the 107th Indiana. Later 
he became first sergeant of Troop H, Sev- 
enth Indiana Cavalry, on August 9, 1863, 
was commissioned second lieutenant in 
1864, and afterward promoted to first 
lieutenant March 7, 1865, and to captain 
on June 1, 1865. He was wounded through 
the base of the neck and was complimented 
for soldierly bearing and conduct at Rip- 
ley, Mississippi, and was finally discharged 
at Indianapolis March 16, 1866. He then 
made application to the regular army, was 
appointed first lieutenant of the Tenth 
United States Cavalry June 12, 1867; ad- 
jutant, January 27, 1877, to November, 
1881; captain, November 18, 1881. He 
saw much service in the "West when the 
Indians were still hostile, being stationed 
at Fort Riley, Kansas, Indian Territory 
and New Mexico, and many other places. 
After many years of service he attained the 
rank of major, and finally, on account of 
trouble from his old wound, he had to 
retire on April 23, 1904, but for several 
years afterward continued on duty as a 
recruiting officer. He is now living at 
Pasadena, California. Major Smither 's 
army record is highly commended not only 
by his comrades who served with him but 
by his superior officers in official publica- 
tions. 

Another military member of the family 
is Col. Henry C. Smither, a son of 
Major Smither and a nephew of Mr. Henry 
C. Smither of Indianapolis. Col. Henry 
C. Smither was born while his father was 
in the regular army, was admitted to the 
West Point Military Academy during the 
administration' of President Harrison, and 
for three years after his graduation re- 
mained an instructor in the Academy. He 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1579 



was assigned to a regiment in the West, 
was twice sent to the Philippines, holding 
the rank of captain, was promoted to major, 
and after General Pershing went to France 
was ordered to return to Washington and 
was assigned to Pershing's staff with the 
rank of colonel. High praise has been 
given him as one of the officers in com- 
mand of the American army's supply serv- 
ice in France, and he was especially cited 
by one of his commanding generals in 
France. In the spring of 1919 he rejoined 
his wife and three children at Washington. 
Mr. Henry C. Smither of Indianapolis is 
greatly interested in and proud of his 
nephew and namesake. Colonel Smither 
and wife have two daughters and one son. 
The second child was named after its uncle 
before it was born, and when it proved a 
girl the name was changed from Henry to 
Henry-Etta. The third child was a son 
and was given the full name of his great- 
uncle, Henry C. Smither. 

A significant fact in the patriotic rec- 
ord of the Smither family is that both in 
the Civil and in the World wars all the 
soldier participants volunteered, none of 
them being drafted. In the Civil war be- 
sides the four brothers above noted there 
were two brothers-in-law, Wharton K. 
Clinton of the Thirteenth Indiana Volun- 
teers and Mexican war veteran, and George 
E. Tiffany of the Volunteers. Mr. Smither 
of Indianapolis besides his famous nephew, 
Colonel Smither, had four grand-nephews 
in the World war, Charles Wharton Eich- 
rodt, a first lieutenant still in France; 
Frederick C. Wright, troop sergeant in 
the Motor Truck Service ; William S. Gard- 
ner of the Seventeenth Iowa Cavalry; and 
Emory Tiffany in the navy. 

Mr. Henry C. Smither was born at In- 
dianapolis in 1840. His first military 
service was with the Home Guards, Zou- 
aves, and he drilled under Gen. Dan 
Macauley, who afterwards entered the mili- 
tary service, and then the drill master and 
captain was Col. Nicolas Ruckle. Mr. 
Smither in 1863 gave up a good position 
to enlist in Company D of the Seventy- 
ninth Indiana Infantry, and served until 
honorably discharged for disability. After 
recuperating he ran away from home and 
tried to rejoin his regiment, but got only 
as far as Chattanooga, which was then in 
ruins, and after a very lonely time in the 
mountains he boarded a freight train and 



returned to Nashville. There he took a 
place in the quartermaster's department 
vacated by a man on the sick list, and when 
he was relieved of that duty he sought a 
new job in the Old Hoss freight depart- 
ment for the Express Company. He was 
promoted over a hundred persons to as- 
sistant cashier, but declined the promotion 
in view of his approaching wedding, which 
was to be celebrated in Indianapolis Feb- 
ruary 15, 1865, Miss Emma Barnitt becom- 
ing his bride. 

Before the adventure above noted in 
seeking to rejoin his regiment, there oc- 
curred the John Morgan raid through 
Southern Indiana. Companies were quickly 
formed in Indianapolis, and Capt. Whar- 
ton R. Clinton, a retired soldier of the 
Thirteenth Indiana, was made captain of 
a company, with Henry C. Smither as 
second lieutenant. Changes were quickly 
made and upon the promotion of Clinton to 
colonel Henry C. Smither was promoted 
to captain. While the company was in 
instant readiness to march, a telegram 
came that Morgan had been captured, and 
Mr. Smither recalls this incident rather 
humorously and says that he was captain 
for about half an hour altogether. 

In 1868 he entered the business which 
he has continued for half a century, gravel 
roofing, and in subsequent years he has 
handled other forms of modern fireproof 
material for roofing. At first he was in 
partnership with the late J. M. Sims, whose 
interests he bought. His house is widely 
known to the trade as one of the highest 
honor and reliability, and his own name 
is a guarantee of the high quality of every- 
thing sold and handled. 

Mr. Smither has also at various times 
been engaged in a number of business and 
industrial enterprises at Indianapolis. He 
has used his means and influence liberally 
for making Indianapolis a progressive me- 
tropolis. Many people recall that he built 
the old Virginia Avenue Rink in the day 
when roller skating was a great craze. 
Later he was in the bicycle business ^wh en 
that was an important industry at In- 
dianapolis. Mr. H. C. Smither served as 
city councilman for four years during the 
Bookwalter administration. He is a mem- 
ber of the First Baptist Church, is affil- 
iated with Mystic Tie Lodge No. 398, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons, and is 1 
past master, is a Knight Templar and 



1580 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Scottish Rite Mason, and Shriner, also a 
member of George H. Thomas Post, Grand 
Army of the Republic. He is a republican 
in politics and a member of the Marion 
Club. Mr. and Mrs. Smither had a most 
happy married life of nearly half a cen- 
tury until the death of Mrs. Smither on 
July 6, 1914. 

Schuyler Colfax was born in New 
York City March 23, 1823, and died in 
Mankato, Minnesota January 13, 1885. He 
was a statesman and was identified with the 
public life of Indiana for many years. He 
came to this state in 1836, settling with the 
family in New Carlisle. 

In subsequent years Vice President Col- 
fax was a successful candidate of the 
newly formed Republican party for Con- 
gress, serving by successive reelections 
from 1854 until 1869. In May, 1868, the 
Republican National Convention at Chi- 
cago nominated him for vice president of 
the United States, General Grant being the 
nominee for president, and he took his seat 
as president of the Senate on March 4, 
1869. The later years of Mr. Colfax were 
spent mainly in retirement at his home in 
South Bend although he delivered public 
lectures. Mr. Colfax was twice married. 

Frank Irvin Reed. Of the firm Irvin 
Reed & Son, dealers in hardware, imple- 
ments and automobiles, Frank Irvin Reed 
is a merchant of long and varied business 
activities and experience. His father was 
one of the first merchants of Richmond, 
and sixty-five years ago established a hard- 
ware business in that city, which through 
his son has been continued to the present 
time. The business is still known as Irvin 
Reed & Son and is the largest house of 
its kind in eastern Indiana. 

Frank Irvin Reed was born in 1854, 
son of Irvin and Mary (Evens) Reed. He 
represents an old American family of Eng- 
lish, Scotch and Irish origin. His father 
was about twenty-one years old when he 
came to Richmond in 1831 and established 
the first drug store in what was then the 
largest town in the state. As the pioneer 
druggist his methods of doing business were 
in great contrast to those of the present 
time. He went around on horseback with 
his saddle bags, visiting such cities as In- 
dianapolis, Fort Wayne and many smaller 
towns, and took orders for drugs, which he 



filled in his laboratory at Richmond. He 
continued in the drug business until 1854, 
when he removed to Cincinnati and estab- 
lished a wholesale drug house. That was 
a very successful enterprise, but eventually 
he returned to Richmond and on account 
of failing health sold out his business. In 
1857 he started a hardware store on Main 
Street between Fifth and Sixth streets. In 
1865 the business was removed to where it 
is today, in a three-story and basement 
building. 

In 1834 Irvin Reed married at Rich- 
mond Mary Evens, and their son Frank 
I. is the youngest of nine brothers and 
two sisters. His father died in 1891, at 
the age of eighty-one, and his mother in 
1898, aged eighty-six. 

Frank Irvin Reed grew up in Richmond, 
attended the public schools and Richmond 
Business College, and even as a boy was 
associated with his father in business. He 
became an active factor in the manage- 
ment in 1876, at which time the firm used 
only one floor, but today all three floors 
and basement are crowded with the stock 
handled by this firm. The business employs 
many people, and the trade is extended 
over the city and surrounding country for 
a radius of thirty-five miles. Mr. Reed is 
now the sole proprietor. 

In 1892 Mr. Reed married Miss Tessa 
Irene Cooper, daughter of H. B. Cooper of 
Richmond. Mr. Reed is affiliated with the 
Masonic bodies including the Knights 
Templar, and politically is a republican. 
His father was a subscriber in 1831 to the 
Richmond Palladium, and Mr. Reed is 
still on the subscription list, the paper hav- 
ing come regularly into the Reed house- 
hold for nearly ninety years. 

William E. Stevenson, who died in 
1913, was for many years a commanding 
figure in the commercial life and affairs 
of Greencastle and of Indianapolis. He 
was successively merchant, banker and 
operator and controller of many activities 
and interests represented in the real es- 
tate field. His name will always have a 
special significance in Indianapolis as 
that of the man -who had the faith to pro- 
mote and build the first steel skyscraper 
in the city. 

He was born at Greencastle, Indiana, 
October 2, 1850, son of James D. and 
Sarah E. (Wood) Stevenson. His father, 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1581 



a native of Kentucky, was of Scotch- 
Irish lineage. His mother was born -in 
Vermont and belonged to a New. England 
family. James D. Stevenson for over 
thirty years was a hardware merchant at 
Greencastle. His wife died in that city 
at the age of seventy-five, and he spent 
his last years at the home of his son in 
Indianapolis, where he passed away at the 
age of eighty-three. 

The formal education of William E. 
Stevenson was finished at the age of four- 
teen. He then went to work for his father, 
and remained active in the business for 
fifteen years, including the period of his 
apprenticeship and learning as well as of 
his active management. He succeeded his 
father in the business and finally selling 
out his interests in that line, became cashier 
in the Putnam County Bank at Green- 
castle. He was also one of the organizers 
and directors of the Central National Bank 
of Greencastle. 

Mr. Stevenson came to Indianapolis in 
1888 as a field better fitted for his expand- 
ing interests and business ability. For a 
quarter of a century he was prominent in 
the real estate field, and head of the firm 
W. E. Stevenson & Company, which rep- 
resented a highly specialized organization 
for the handling of city property. It was 
more than twenty years ago, in 1896, that 
Mr. Stevenson matured his plans and in 
the face of many obstacles began and com- 
pleted the Stevenson Building on Wash- 
ington Street. It was the first modern 
steel construction office building in the 
city, and was a pioneer of the type of 
construction which is now practically uni- 
versal in American cities. It is twelve 
stories high, and while it no longer domi- 
nates the sky line of Indianapolis it is a 
particularly significant landmark to all the 
older business men of Indianapolis who ap- 
preciate the wonderful forward strides 
made by this city during the year this 
building has been standing. The structure 
continued to bear the name of Stevenson 
Building until 1905, when Mr. Stevenson 
practically withdrew his interests and it 
has since been the State Life Building. 

While this was the largest single enter- 
prise undertaken by Mr. Stevenson, it was 
in many ways typical of his initiative, far 
sightedness, and progressive character as 
an Indianapolis builder and citizen. He 
came to be looked upon as a man whose 



judgment was accepted as authority on ac- 
count of his experience and keen insight. 
For a number of years he was active in the 
promotion of railway lands, particularly 
the work of interurban electric roads cen- 
tering at Indianapolis. 

The big values and interests of his life 
were represented in his business achieve- 
ments. He was a republican but never an 
office seeker, was a member of the Com- 
mercial and Columbian Clubs, the Board of 
Trade and the Marion Club. October 22, 
1872, he married Miss Margaret W. Wirth, 
who was born and reared in Cincinnati, 
daughter of Joseph Wirth. Mr. Steven- 
son is survived by one child, Edna W., 
wife of Louis F. Smith. 

The late Mr. Stevenson has a grateful 
memory among the many whom he be- 
friended. He assisted a number of young 
men to get an education and start in busi- 
ness, and in a quiet, unostentatious way 
was always giving something, either of his 
money or the other means at his command. 
Generosity was one of his most dominant 
personal traits. 

Mrs. Anna Weiss is the widow of the 
late Siegfried Weiss of Richmond. Sieg- 
fried Weiss established an antique furni- 
ture store on Fourth and Main streets in 
1906, and had the business fairly imder 
way when death intervened and inter- 
rupted his career on June 4, 1907. 

Mrs. Weiss has proved herself a most 
capable business woman. She has kept 
the business up, moved it to larger quar- 
ters at 519 Main Street, and in 1912 en- 
tered the present quarters at 505-511 
Main Street, where with the assistance of 
her son Leo H. she conducts one of the 
leading house furnishing enterprises in 
Wayne County. 

Leo H. Weiss, son of Siegfried and 
Anna (Puthoff) Weiss, was born at Rich- 
mond June 28, 1891. He attended the 
parochial schools only until he was 
twelve years old, and then spent one year 
working in a casket factory, and after 
that put in his time largely with his 
father's business. His mother was again 
left with the chief responsibilities of the 
concern when her son on May 1, 1918, en- 
tered the government service at Camp 
Forrest, Chattanooga. A few weeks later 
he was transferred to Camp Wadsworth 
at Spartanburg, South Carolina, and ten 



1582 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



days later was sent to the target range 
at Landruni in the same vicinity. He 
was again .returned to Camp Wadsworth, 
from there to Camp Mills, Long Island, 
and on July 7, 1918, was sent overseas 
as member of the Seventeenth Machine 
Gun Battalion with the Sixth Division. 
They landed at Le Havre, and after a 
time in the rest camp was sent to the 
fighting zone, and Mr. Weiss was on duty 
there from July 22, 1918, to March 17, 
1919. Mrs. Wieiss is a member of St. 
Andrew's Catholic Church. 

Lloyd D. Clay combe is one of the 
younger lawyers of the Indianapolis bar 
"and has enjoyed a successful practice there 
for the past four years. He represents 
an old and honored family of Crawford 
County, and was born at Marengo in that 
county February 7, 1889. His maternal 
grandfather, John M. Johnson, was one of 
the early settlers of Crawford County, and 
was widely and favorably known all over 
that section of the state. He was an edu- 
cator, minister and farmer, and was a 
visible example to an entire community 
for good works and good influence. He 
was a man of education, having attended 
the State University of Indiana when its 
building equipment was merely one frame 
building, as elsewhere illustrated in this 
publication. 

Lloyd D. Clavcombe is the only son and 
child of Victor E. and Roma A. (Johnson) 
Claycombe, and a grandson of Samuel A. 
Claycombe, who was a soldier in the Union 
Army. He enlisted in an Indiana regi- 
ment, was wounded and captured, and 
died ' in Andersonville Prison. Victor 
Claycombe was born at Alton, Indiana, and 
is now fifty-seven years of age. For thirty- 
five years or more he has been a station 
agent with the Southern Indiana Railroad 
Company. . 

Lloyd D. Claycombe received his early 
education in the public schools of Jasper, 
Indiana. He took his law course in the 
Indiana State University. On July 1, 
1914, he began the practice of law at In- 
dianapolis, and has made rapid progress 
in achieving a substantial reputation in 
that field. He served as deputy prosecut- 
ing attornev of Marion County in 1917- 
18. In 1915 he was appointed receiver in 
trustee in bankruptcy for the Winona As- 
sembly at Winona Lake, Indiana. He suc- 



cessfully reorganized this institution, with 
William J. Byan president of the new cor- 
poration and Mr. Claycombe as member 
of the board of directors and an officer. 

Mr. Claycombe is a republican, a member 
of the Methodist Church, is a Knight Tem- 
plar Mason and Shriner, and is affiliated 
with the Lambda Chi Alpha and Gamma 
Eta Gamma college fraternities, September 
14, 1918, he married Miss Jenetta Wuille, 
daughter of Louis Wuille, of Hamilton, 
Ohio. 

Fred C. Gardner. Something concern- 
ing the monumental character and impor- 
tance of the great Indianapolis industry 
conducted under the name E. C. Atkins & 
Company is a matter of record on other 
pages of this publication. A position of 
executive responsibility in such a business 
is sufficient of itself as a proof that the 
holder has the experience and qualifica- 
tions of a successful business man. 

About thirty-five years ago Fred C. 
Gardner entered the plant of the Atkins 
Company in the capacity of an office boy. 
Fidelity, hard work, concentration of ef- 
fort, study of his surroundings and oppor- 
tunity to improve his usefulness were the 
main reasons that started him on his up- 
ward climb from one position to another 
until in 1900 he was elected assistant treas- 
urer and then in 1912 was promoted to 
treasurer. 

Mr. Gardner, who has otherwise been 
prominent in civic affairs at Indianapolis 
as well as a factor in its business life, has 
lived here since early boyhood. He was 
born in DeWitt County, Illinois, August 
23, 1863, a son of Anson J. and Mary 
Elizabeth (Watson) Gardner. Anson J. 
Gardner was born in Ohio September 13, 
1831, and as a young man removed to De- 
Witt County, Illinois. He secured govern- 
ment land, and in the course of time had 
about 3,000 acres. and was one of the lead- 
ing farmers and stock growers in the state. 
He made a specialty of breeding high-grade 
Shorthorn cattle. In 1875 he sold his farm 
and stock interests, and coming to_ In- 
dianapolis established himself in business 
as a buyer and shipper of grain. He was 
one of the leading grain merchants of In- 
dianapolis until 1901, at which date he re- 
tired. He died January 8, 1906, and his 
wife followed him in death on the next 
dav. Anson Gardner was an active re- 




?%^ &. i^&^z&c^^i/. 



INDIANA AND IND1ANANS 



1583 



publican, was affiliated with the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows and with his 
wife was a member of the Second Presby- 
terian Church. Mary Elizabeth Watson 
was born in Illinois January 24, 1845. Her 
father, James G. Watson, was a large plan- 
tation and slave owner in Kentucky. It 
was a station to which he was in part born, 
but he had no sympathy with the tradi- 
tions of the slave holding class, and as he 
could not free his slaves and live in har- 
mony with his neighbors in the South his 
antagonism finally reached a point where 
at a heavy financial loss he gave liberty to 
his negroes, sold his real estate, and moved 
across the Ohio River into DeWitt County, 
Illinois. 

Fred C. Gardner, who was second in the 
family of four children, gained his first 
education in the public schools of Illinois, 
and after he was twelve years of age at- 
tended the city schools of Indianapolis. 
When he was about seventeen years old 
he began his business career as a clerk in 
the auditor's office of the I. B. & W. Rail- 
way, now a part of the Big Four system. 
From that position about six months later 
he went into the E. C. Atkins & Company 
as office boy, and since then his career has 
been fixed so far as his business sphere is 
concerned, though his own progress has 
been one of constantly changing and im- 
proving status. 

However, a number of other interests 
and activities are part of his record. He 
has served as treasurer of the Marion 
County Republican Club and of the Re- 
publican City Committee, and was one 
of the republicans appointed as a member 
of the Board of Park Commissioners by 
Mayor Bell, and is now serving in that 
capacity. He was at one time treasurer of 
Butler College and is a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce, the Columbia, 
Marion and Woodstock clubs, the Turn- 
verein, the Maennerchor, and of the 
Christian Church. In Masonry he is affil- 
iated with Oriental Lodge No. 500, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, Keystone 
Chapter No. 6, Royal Arch Masons, Raper 
Commandery No. 1. Knights Templar, In- 
diana Consistory of the Scottish Rite and 
Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine. 

November 28, 1883, Mr. Gardner mar- 
ried Miss Cara E. Davis. She was born in 
Franklin County, Indiana, October 1, 
1862, daughter of William M. and Mary 



Jane (Jones) Davis. Her father was born 
in Kentucky October 14, 1837, and her 
mother in Johnson County, Indiana, March 
6, 1837. William M. Davis on moving to 
Indiana engaged in general merchandising 
at Franklin and then came to Indianapolis, 
where as senior member of the firm Davis 
& Cole he was for many years prominent 
in the dry goods trade. He died July 9, 
1882. He is well remembered by the old 
time citizens of Indianapolis, was past 
master of Capital City Lodge No. 312, Free 
and Accepted Masons, member of Raper 
Commandery, Knights Templar, a thirty- 
second degree Scottish Rite Mason, and 
also an Odd Fellow and Knight of Pythias. 
He and his family were members of the 
Central Christian Church. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Gardner were born three children, 
Mary Elizabeth, Margaret Lucy and Fred 
C. The only son died in infancy. 

John Palmer Usher was born in Brook- 
field, New York, January 9, 1816. After 
coming to Indiana he studied and practiced 
law, and after a service as a legislator was 
made attorney general of the state. In 
1862 Mr. Usher was appointed first assist- 
ant secretary of the interior, later becom- 
ing head of the interior department, and 
resigned that office in 1865 and resumed 
the practice of law, also becoming consult- 
ing attorney for the Union Pacific Rail- 
road. The death of this prominent Indiana 
lawyer occurred in Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 



H. L. Nowi/iN is secretary of the Indiana 
Mutual Cyclone Insurance Company and 
has held that office continuously since the 
company was established in 1907. In 
eleven years this has become one of the 
largest insurance organizations in the 
state, with almost 17,000 patrons or mem- 
bers, and with nearly $25,000,000 insur- 
ance in force. 

Until recently Mr. Nowlin had his offi- 
cial headquarters in his old home county 
of Dearborn, but in order the better to look 
after the affairs of his company he moved 
to Indianapolis in June, 1918, and the 
company's office is now at 148 East Market 
Street in that city. The other officers of 
the company are : A. H. Myers, of Nobles- 
ville, president ; Emmett Moore, of Hagers- 
town, vice president; E. C. Mercer, of Ro- 
chester, treasurer; while the directors are 



1584 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



N. A. McClung, of Rochester, Philip S. 
Carper, of Auburn, I. M. Miller, of Up- 
land, Harry P. Cooper, of Crawfordsville, 
J. N. Gullefer, of New Augusta, Clinton 
Goodpasture, of Muncie, I. H. Day, of 
Greenfield, C. M. Nonweiler, of Boonville, 
and Frank C. Dana, of Lawreneeburg. 

The Nowlin family is one of the oldest in 
the history of Dearborn County. The Now- 
lins originally are of Irish stock, but Mr. 
Nowlin 's great-grandfather, however, was 
born in Vermont and came west in pioneer 
times to locate in Dearborn County. The 
grandfather, Jeremiah Nowlin, lived and 
died in Dearborn County, and though he 
began life with comparatively no capital 
his success as a farmer and business man 
enabled him to accumulate several well im- 
proved places in the county. His wife's 
people were among the earliest settlers in 
that county. Jeremiah Nowlin had his 
home and residence near Lawreneeburg. 
Of his seven or eight children the oldest 
was Enoch B. Nowlin, who was born in 
Miller Township of Dearborn County 
April 17, 1832, and died in 1900. He was 
educated in the common schools, also in 
a business school at Indianapolis, and gave 
practically all his life to farming. He 
was never a member of any church and in 
politics was a republican. He married 
Jane H. Langdale, and of their four chil- 
dren the oldest is H. L. Nowlin and the 
only other survivor is R. J. Nowlin, who 
still lives in Dearborn County. 

H. L. Nowlin, who was born February 
12, 1860, was educated in the public 
schools of his native county, also attended 
college at Ladoga and Danville, and at the 
age of twenty-two took up a farming career 
independently. He rented at first, but 
about 1897 bought a place of his own, 
and continued its operation until he left 
the farm in 1907 because of the various 
business connections he had formed in the 
meantime. For about two years he was a 
merchant, a business he carried on in addi- 
tion to his responsibilities as secretary of 
the insurance company. 

Mr. Nowlin is widely known among the 
agricultural interests of the state, es- 
pecially because of his service as a mem- 
ber of the State Board of Agriculture dur- 
ing his residence in Dearborn County. He 
was president of the board one year, was 
superintendent of the swine department 
three years and of the concession depart- 



ment twelve years, having charge of the 
swine exhibits and of the sale of all con- 
cessions. His membership on the board 
was contemporary with a period of great 
progress and prosperity in the State Fair. 
The receipts of the concession department 
were increased from $2,100 to $13,000, and 
other departments were also enlarged and 
developed. 

Mr. Nowlin has been a lifelong repub- 
lican. He was once a candidate for county 
surveyor and was formerly a member of 
the school board of Moores Hill, for two 
years was trustee of Moores Hill Village, 
and for a similar period was connected 
with the town government of Greendale. 
He is secretary of the Dearborn Concrete 
Tile Company of Aurora, Indiana, and for 
seventeen years was secretary of the Pat- 
rons Mutual Fire Insurance Company. 
During that time this company increased 
its business from $180,000 to $4,200,000. 
Mr. Nowlin is affiliated with the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows and is a member 
of the Presbyterian Church of Lawrenee- 
burg. 

December 25, 1882, he married Miss 
Lana Martha Smith, daughter of David 
and Martha Smith. Her people came from 
England and the centennial of their resi- 
dence in Indiana was observed with prop- 
er ceremonies in 1918. Mrs. Nowlin was 
educated in the common schools of Dear- 
born County and has made the supreme 
object of her life her home and children. 
Of the five children born to their marriage 
four are living: Archy E., born October 
6, 1884; J. Gertrude, born May 31, 1886; 
Ama Lana, born August 11, 1893 ; and 
Martha Belle, born March 6, 1901. The 
son Archy was educated in the common 
schools of Dearborn County, is a graduate 
of the Lawreneeburg High School, attended 
college at Danville, Indiana, and is now a 
farmer in Dearborn County. He married 
Elizabeth Huddleston. The daughter 
Gertrude was educated in the schools of 
Dearborn County and a private school at 
Lawreneeburg, and is now the wife of Mil- 
ton L. Taylor of Indianapolis. Ama Lana 
has had a liberal education, beginning with 
the schools of Dearborn County and the 
Academy of Moores Hill College, and sub- 
sequently took special work in voice and 
elocution in Moores Hill College. The 
' youngest of the family, Martha Belle, at- 
tended school in Dearborn County, high 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1585 



school at Lawrenceburg, and in 1918 en- 
tered the Manual Training High School 
of Indianapolis. 

Oliver P. Nusbaum has been a factor in 
business affairs at Richmond for upwards 
of thirty years, was formerly an aggres- 
sive insurance salesman and agent, but for 
many years has been a member of the 
firm Neff & Nusbaum, shoe merchants. 

Mr. Nusbaum was born in Olive Town- 
ship of Elkhart County, Indiana, in 1867, 
son of C. W. and Elizabeth (Bechtel) 
Nusbaum. He grew up in that section of 
Indiana, attended the district schools in 
the winter terms and during the summer 
worked on the farm until he was sixteen 
years old. He also attended high school 
and taught country school from the age 
of sixteen to twenty-one. He taught one 
term in Harrison Township of his native 
county, and then removed to Marion 
County, Kansas, where he was engaged in 
teaching until 1889. In that year he came 
to Richmond and became bookkeeper for 
Robinson & Company, dealers in agricul- 
tural machinery. He was thus employed 
for five years, and then took up insur- 
ance. He held an agency for the State 
Life of Indianapolis and for the Mutual 
Life of New York. In 1895 he did much 
to promote the interests of the State Life 
in Wayne, Randolph, Jay and Blackford 
counties, Indiana. 

Mr. Nusbaum left the insurance business 
to become associated with E. D. Neff, who 
was formerly associated in the shoe busi- 
ness with J. W. Cunningham, under the 
name Neff & Nusbaum as shoe merchants. 
For 3y 2 years' their place of business was 
at 710 Main Street, and when they then 
bought the shoe stock of J. W. Cunning- 
ham and later the building at the corner 
of Seventh and Main, where their business 
has been a landmark in the retail district 
for the past twenty years. Mr. Nusbaum 
in 1915 was elected vice president of the 
American Trust & Savings Bank and has 
other local interests. 

In 1899 he married Mayme Neff, daugh- 
ter of E. D. and Alice (Compton) Neff, of 
Richmond. They are the parents of two 
children, Mildred and Edward. Mr. Nus- 
baum is an independent republican in poli- 
tics, a member of the First English 
Lutheran Church, and is affiliated with the 
Commercial Club and the Rotary Club, 



and is interested in Sunday School and 
Young Men's Christian Association work 
and local musical and charitable work. 

Mr. Nusbaum does not claim all the 
credit for the wonderful success of the 
business with which he is associated, but 
prefers to give much of it to those asso- 
ciated with him, whose knowledge of and 
devotion to the business have been large 
factors in making it a success. 

Raymond H. Wickemeyer is one of the 
younger business men of Richmond, but is 
one of the veterans in the Curme-Feltman 
Shoe Company, and has progressed from 
errand boy, his first place on the pay roll, 
to manager of that well known Richmond 
establishment. 

He was born in Richmond November 8, 
1892, son of August and Emma (Flore) 
Wickemeyer. He attended public school 
at Richmond, including Garfield High 
School, and after working six months as 
errand boy for Charles H. Feltman took 
a course in the Richmond Business College 
to better fit himself for advancement: in 
his chosen field. He was then floor sales 
man for the company, which was incor- 
porated in 1913, and from that he was ad- 
vanced to assistant manager. 

He resigned his place as assistant man- 
ager and on March 1, 1918, enlisted as a 
soldier in Casual Company No. 452 of the 
Eighth Provisional Regiment in the State 
of Washington. He was on duty in Wash- 
ington and later at Vancouver barracks, 
and after some months of intensive train- 
ing was mustered out January 16, 1919. 
On the same date of his muster out he was 
appointed manager of the Curme-Feltman 
Shoe Company. Mr. Wickemeyer is un- 
married, is an independent in politics and 
is a member of St. John's Lutheran 
Church. 

Volney Thomas Malott was born in 
Jefferson County, Kentucky. His ancestry 
combines the blood of the French Huge- 
not and Scotch-Irish. His father's ma- 
ternal grandfather and his mother's pater- 
nal grandfather performed distinguished 
services in the Revolutionary war. (See 
Pennsylvania archives). His grandfather, 
Hiram Malott, a native of Maryland, re- 
moved between 1785 and 1790 to' the State 
of Kentucky, and was a pioneer planter 
in Jefferson County, near Louisville. He 



1586 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



died in that county at the age of sixty- 
three. During the War of 1812 he was a 
captain of the Kentucky Militia, and after 
the war was made a major. William H. 
Malott, son of Hiram Malott and father of 
Volney Thomas Malott, was born in Ken- 
tucky about 1813, and lived the life of a 
farmer in his native state until 1841, when 
he came to Indiana. Here associated with 
his brother, Major Eli W. Malott, he en- 
gaged in the "lower river trade," trans- 
porting breadstuff's and other provisions 
from the upper Ohio to the planters of 
Louisiana. This was a profitable business, 
but William H. Malott engaged in it only 
a few years, when his activities were ter- 
minated by his early death at the age of 
thirty-two, in November, 1845. 

The mother of Volney Thomas Malott 
was Leah Patterson McKeown. Her father 
was John McKeown, who served under 
Gen. William Henry Harrison in the In- 
dian war. After the close of the war Mr. 
McKeown removed from Kentucky and 
settled in Corydon, Indiana, where Leah 
was born June 8, 1816. After her father's 
death, which occurred soon after her birth, 
the family returned to Kentucky. In 1837 
she was married to William H. Malott, 
and in 1841 went with him to make their 
home in Salem, Indiana. Two years after 
the death of William H. Malott his widow 
married John F. Ramsay, and in 1847 she 
came with her two small children to live 
with him in Indianapolis. 

The first schooling of Volney Thomas 
Malott was received in Salem, Indiana, 
when at the age of 3% years he was sent 
to the private school kept by Mr. Thomas 
May. Later he attended the Washington 
County Seminary, kept by Mr. John I. 
Morrison. After coming to Indianapolis 
he attended the private school of Rev. 
William A. Holliday, the Marion County 
Seminary and the Indianapolis High 
School. 

During his vacations he worked. He 
early realized that he would have his own 
way to make, and sought every oppor- 
tunity to gain a knowledge of business 
methods that would prepare him for a 
business career. First he was employed 
during school vacation in Roberts' Drug 
Store; the next vacation in Wilmot's Hat 
Store. The year he was fifteen his vacation 
was spent in the Traders' Bank, one of th« 
state's "free" banks, where he learned 



to count money and become a judge of 
spurious and counterfeit money, in which 
he became an expert under the tutelage of 
late Chief Justice Byron K. Elliott, whom 
he later succeeded as teller in the Woolley 
Banking House. 

At the age of sixteen he entered the 
banking house of John Woolley & Com- 
pany, subsequently the Bank of the Capi- 
tol, having been pre-engaged to enter the 
bank when he should leave school. 

In 1857 he was offered, and accepted 
the position of teller of the Indianapolis 
Branch Bank of the State of Indiana, 
which had been recently organized, the 
predecessor of the Indiana National Bank. 
He served five years as teller, until in 
1862 he resigned the office upon being 
elected a director, secretary and treasurer 
of the Peru & Indianapolis Railroad. Al- 
though offered the position of cashier of 
the bank at a better salary than he would 
receive from the railroad company, he de- 
clined for the reason that the railroad work 
would give him a wider experience in the 
business world, having in mind, however, 
to later reenter the banking business. In 
fact, he did not quit banking entirely, as, 
following his resignation as teller and his 
refusal to be cashier, he was elected a di- 
rector of the Indianapolis Branch Bank 
of the State of Indiana, and served until 
1865. 

In the spring of 1865 he obtained from 
Hon. Hugh McCullough, then secretary of 
the treasury of the United States, a char- 
ter for the Merchants National Bank, as- 
sociating himself with Messrs. Henry and 
August Schnull, Alexander Metzger and 
David Macy, and opening ' the bank for 
business on the 7th of June of that year, 
and tendering his resignation as treasurer 
of the railroad, which had then become 
the Indianapolis, Peru & Chicago Rail- 
road Company, which resignation was not 
accepted. Consequently he continued until 
1905 to be actively engaged both in operat- 
ing railroads and in banking. 

In 1870 the strenuous work Mr. Malott 
had been called upon to perform so affected 
his health that he found it necessary to 
retire from the bank, and he was then 
asked to build an extension of the Indian- 
apolis, Peru and Chicago Railroad to 
Michigan City, Indiana, which was com- 
pleted in the spring of 1871. Thereafter 
he took more active interest in the manage- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1587 



ment of the railroad, becoming later vice 
president and manager, which office he re- 
tained until 1883, the Indianapolis, Peru & 
Chicago Railroad having in the meantime 
gone into the control of the Wabash Rail- 
road Company in 1881, when he resigned 
to become vice president and manager of 
the Indianapolis Union Railway Company, 
operating the Belt. 

In 1889 Mr. Malott was appointed by 
Judge Walter Q. Gresham, of the United 
States District Court, receiver of the Chi- 
cago and Atlantic Railway Company, now 
the Chicago' & Erie Railroad Company. 
In 1890 he was elected president of the 
Chicago & Western Indiana Railway Com- 
pany, operating the Chicago Belt Railroad. 
Later he became chairman of the board of 
directors of that company, having charge 
of the principal financial matters of these 
roads. Upon the close of the receivership 
of the Chicago & Atlantic Railway Com- 
pany, in 1891, Mr. Malott was elected a 
director in the reorganized company, 
known as the Chicago & Erie Railroad 
Company. In 1892 he was elected a di- 
rector of the Louisville, New Albany & 
Chicago Railroad Company (Monon) and 
served during the period that road was 
under the control of J. P. Morgan & Com- 
pany. In 1895 he resigned his positions as 
chairman of the board of the Chicago & 
Western Indiana Railway Company and of 
the Chicago Belt Railroad Company, to 
take a much needed rest with his family 
in Europe. 

In 1896 Mr. Malott was appointed by 
Judge William A. Woods, of the United 
States District Court, receiver of the Terre 
Haute & Indianapolis Railroad Company 
and its leased lines, known as the Vandalia 
System of Railroads, and operating the 
East St. Louis & Carondolet Railroad, and 
later the Detroit & Eel River Railroad as 
trustee, closing his receivership of these 
lines in 1905, when the system passed un- 
der the control of the Pennsylvania Rail- 
road Company. He remained as a director 
of the Vandalia System, and represented it 
on the board of the Indianapolis Union 
Railway until January 1, 1917. 

In 1879 Mr. Malott was elected presi- 
dent of the Merchants National Bank of 
Indianapolis, serving until 1882, when he 
sold his interest in that bank, having pur- 
chased an interest in the Indiana National 



Bank of Indianapolis, of which he was 
elected president. He filled that office un- 
til July 1, 1912, when the Capital National 
Bank and the Indiana National Bank were 
consolidated, and he became chairman of 
the board, which position he still holds. 

In 1893 Mr. Malott, with Mr. John H. 
Holliday, organized the Union Trust Com- 
pany of Indianapolis, one of the most pros- 
perous financial institutions of the state. 
He is now, and has been continuously, a 
director and member of the executive com- 
mittee. 

Mr. Malott 's ability to organize and his 
strict adherence to correct business prin- 
ciples have enabled him to reconstruct and 
place on a sound financial basis the vari- 
ous corporations which he has been called 
upon to manage. During his long resi- 
dence in Indianapolis he has been identi- 
fied with nearly all the important civic 
and commercial organizations, being a cor- 
porator and president of the board of 
managers of Crown Hill Cemetery Asso- 
ciation, a member of the Board of Trade, 
the Chamber of Commerce, the Columbia 
Club, the University Club, which he served 
as president several years, the Indianapolis 
Art Association, in which he has been a 
director for years, and he and his wife are 
members of the Meridian Street Methodist 
Episcopal Church, of which he is president 
of the board of trustees. He is also an 
honorary member of the Bankers Club of 
Chicago. He was a member of an associa- 
tion of gentlemen in Indianapolis who 
started a library, and when their accumu- 
lation of books reached 8,000 volumes they 
contracted with the city to take it over and 
increase the number of volumes to 20,000. 
This was the foundation of the new mag- 
nificent City Library of Indianapolis. 

In 1862 Volney Thomas Malott was mar- 
ried to Caroline M., daughter of Hon. 
David and Mary (Patterson) Macy, of 
Indianapolis. Mr. and Mrs. Malott be- 
came the parents of the following children : 
Mary Florence, wife of Woodbury T. Mor- 
ris, Indianapolis; Macy W., now vice presi- 
dent of the Indiana National Bank of In- 
dianapolis; Caroline Grace, wife of Ed- 
win H. Forry, Indianapolis ; Katharine F., 
wife of Arthur V. Brown, Indianapolis ; 
Ella L., wife of Edgar H. Evans, Indian- 
apolis; and Margaret P., wife of Paul H. 
White, Indianapolis. 



1588 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Emsley W. Johnson, who has been in 
the active practice of law at Indianapolis 
for fifteen years, has a well won position 
as a lawyer and a no less worthy distinc- 
tion as a business man and citizen. 

Apart from the interest attaching to his 
individual career it is an appropriate rec- 
ord for a publication designed to cover the 
leading old families of Indiana that some 
mention should be made of his ancestors, 
which include some of the very earliest 
settlers of Marion County and represents 
old American stock, some of whom were 
participants in the war of the Revolution. 

Mr. Johnson's paternal ancestor came 
from England about 1745 and settled in 
Virginia. He was one of the colonial 
farmers or planters of that old common- 
wealth, spent his life there, and reared a 
large family. His son, Thomas Johnson, 
of the next generation, moved from Vir- 
ginia to Ohio in 1806. Through him the 
family vocation of farmer was continued, 
and he acquired a considerable tract of 
land in Preble County. The founder of 
the family in Indiana was his son, Jesse 
Johnson, who was born in June, 1785, and 
accompanied his father from Virginia to 
Ohio. During the War of 1812 he served 
with an Ohio regiment throughout the 
period of hostilities. Jesse Johnson moved 
to a farm near Clermont in Marion County 
in 1823, and thus constituted one of the 
scattered settlements in this locality when 
the state capital was moved from Corydon 
and the new City of Indianapolis estab- 
lished. On his homestead he spent the rest 
of his life and died July 9, 1878, a few 
weeks after the birth of his great-grandson, 
the Indianapolis lawyer above mentioned. 

Of the eight children of Jesse Johnson, 
one was William K. Johnson, who was born 
March 20, 1819, in Ohio, and was four 
years old when the family moved to Marion 
County. He acquired a large farm near 
the line between Hendricks and Marion 
counties and was a resident there until his 
death April 2, 1906. 

Joseph McClung Johnson, son of Wil- 
liam K., was born April 1, 1843, on the 
Rockville Road in Marion County. His 
early education was a product of the com- 
mon schools of Marion County and later 
of the Danville Normal School. His de- 
scendants have every reason to be proud 
of his record as a soldier in the Civil war. 
He enlisted in 1862 as a private in the 



Fifth Indiana Cavalry, Ninetieth Regi- 
ment, Indiana Volunteers, and served three 
years from the date of his enlistment in 
August. During the early part of his 
service he was in the campaign against 
John Morgan's Cavalry in Indiana and 
Kentucky. The chief battles in which he 
participated were those of Glasgow, 
Jonesboro, Blountsville, Bulls Gap, Dan- 
dridge, Strawberry Plains, Atlanta, Stone- 
man's raid toward Macon, and at Macon, 
Georgia, he was captured and sent to An- 
dersonville Prison, where he was confined 
for a period of seven months. Altogether 
he took part in twenty-two battles and skir- 
mishes. In the month of June, 1864, in 
Georgia, he was engaged in a battle al- 
most every day. 

Near New Augusta, Indiana, March 21, 
1867, Joseph McClung Johnson married 
Mary Wright. Concerning their family 
and ancestry many interesting facts can 
be told. 

Richard Wright, Sr., her paternal ances- 
tor, came from Scotland to the State of 
Maryland in 1742. His four sons were 
William, Amos, Richard, Jr., and Phil- 
burd. 

Philburd Wright, was born in Mary- 
land, saw active service as a Revolutionary 
soldier with a Maryland regiment. About 
the close of that war he moved to Ran- 
dolph County, North Carolina, and for 
forty years served as a justice of the peace 
in that community. In advanced years he 
came west and settled at Brownsville, 
Union County, Indiana, May 12, 1813. He 
died in 1833. He was the father of eleven 
children. 

Joel Wright, one of his sons, was born 
in Randolph County, North Carolina, Feb- 
ruary 5, 1795, and was still a youth when 
his parents came to Indiana territory. In 
November, 1815, he moved to the west fork 
of White River, in what is now known as 
Wayne County. December 22, 1821, he 
brought his family to the Broad Ripple 
north of Indianapolis, and thus was an 
even earlier resident in this pioneer com- 
munity than the Johnson family. He 
owned a large tract of land which is now 
a part of Meridian Heights. 

Emsley Wright, for whom the Indian- 
apolis lawyer was named, was one of the 
eight children of Joel Wright, and was 
born in Wayne County, Indiana, February 
18, 1820. He was not two years old when 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1589 



his parents removed to Washington Town- 
ship of Marion County, and there he spent 
his entire life. He died January 11, 1897. 
He owned a large tract of land in Wash- 
ington Township and cleared up several 
farms in the county. He also helped build 
the canal reaching from Broad Ripple to 
Indianapolis. For several years he served 
as justice of the peace and for thirty years 
practiced law in this county. His name- 
sake therefore had a family precedence to 
guide him in the choice of a profession. 
Enisley Wright had two children, Mary 
and John. 

Mary Wright was born on the old home- 
stead in Marion County November 23, 
1848. By her marriage -to Joseph Mc- 
Clung Johnson she was the mother of three 
children, Cora Josephine, Emsley W. and 
William F. Cora Josephine was born July 
21, 1868, has never married and now lives 
with her parents on the old farm in Marion 
County. The son William F. Johnson was 
educated in the Marion County schools 
and took the degree Doctor of Medicine at 
the Indiana Medical College in 1904. He 
has practiced medicine at Indianapolis 
since his graduation and has enjoyed much 
success as a physician and surgeon. He is 
now a first lieutenant in the United States 
army at Fort McPherson, Atlanta, Geor- 
gia. 

Emsley W. Johnson was born on his 
father's farm in Marion County May 8, 
1878. He attended the new Augusta High 
School, received the degree Bachelor of 
Arts from Butler College, Bachelor of Phil- 
osophy at the University of Chicago, and 
the degree Bachelor of Laws at the Indiana 
Law School in 1903. During his practice 
Mr. Johnson has appeared as an attorney 
in many important trials in the county 
courts. His practice is of a general nature 
and has included the defense of a num- 
ber of important murder trials, and he 
has also been attorney in many will contest 
cases involving large estates. For two 
years he was deputy prosecutor of Marion 
County and for four years county attor- 
ney. His professional service in the latter 
capacity was especially notable in the ac- 
tive part he took with the board of county 
commissioners in the elimination of law- 
less saloons and dives. For the past two 
years he has also devoted much time to 
the building of permanent improved high- 
ways in Marion County. 



Mr. Johnson is vice president of the New 
Augusta State Bank, a director in the 
Broad Ripple State Bank, and the People's 
State Bank of Indianapolis, and is also en- 
gaged to some extent in agriculture on a 
farm which he owns in Marion County. 

As a republican Mr. Johnson has been 
one of the leaders in his local party for 
many years. As a speaker he has cam- 
paigned not only in his home county but 
gave his services several weeks to the state 
republican committee in different cam- 
paigns. During the last year or so his 
services have been availed by the various 
war causes. He is a member of one of the 
conscription boards of Indianapolis and 
chairman of the general conscription board 
of the city. Among the war relief cam- 
paigns he was an organizer of the Liberty 
Loan drive and chairman of the War 
Chest organization for Marion County. 

Mr. Johnson is a member of the Indian- 
apolis Bar Association, the Indiana State 
Bar Association, the Chamber of Com- 
merce of Indianapolis, Marion Club, and 
several minor civic organizations. He is a 
Scottish Rite Mason, a Noble of the Mystic 
Shrine, an Odd Fellow, belongs to the Sons 
of Veterans, and is a past sachem of the 
Improved Order of Red Men. 

August 8, 1906, Mr. Johnson married 
Katherine Griffin. Her parents are Dr. 
Loyal B. and Denny Griffin of Greenfield, 
Indiana. Mrs. Johnson was educated in the 
Greenfield common schools and the Green- 
field High School, and afterward received 
the degree Bachelor of Arts at Butler Col- 
lege, and the degree Bachelor of Phil- 
osophy at the University of Chicago. For 
a number of years before her marriage she 
taught in the Hancock County schools and 
the Greenfield High School. Mrs. Johnson 
was active in several literary clubs, and 
at the time of her death January 29, 1918, 
was president of the Zataphia Club. With 
all her home interests and activities she 
was an accomplished musician and was 
skilled in china painting. 

Mr. Johnson is left with two children, 
Mardenna, born June 23, 1910, and 
Emsley Wright, Jr., born August 11, 1913. 

Herbert Willard Foltz. Through his 
profession as an architect Herbert Willard 
Foltz has done much work that would 
serve to identify his name for many years 
with his native city of Indianapolis and 



1590 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



over the state at large. He is a man of 
great technical ability, sound taste and 
judgment, and the profession has come to 
recognize him as one of its real leaders. 

Mr. Foltz is a descendant of Indiana 
pioneers. His grandfather, Frederic, bore 
the family name of Von Foltz. His 
parents were born in Holland. Frederic 
von Foltz was born in Maryland in 1799. 
He finally dropped the "von" and spelled 
his name simply Foltz. He had an ordi- 
nary education and when a young lad went 
to Ohio, where he married Sabina Willard, 
a native of Highgates, Vermont, and at the 
time of her marriage a teacher in Ohio. 
In 1833 Frederic Foltz came to Indian- 
apolis and made his home on what is now 
West Washington Street. He established 
a wagon, coach and carriage factory, and 
also operated a blacksmith shop where the 
American National Bank Building now 
stands at the corner of Pennsylvania and 
Market streets. He continued business un- 
til 1853, when he sold out. His industrial 
property subsequently became the site of 
the old postoffice building. His private 
affairs absorbed his attention after he re- 
tired from business, and he died in 1863. 
Though he was the type of man who looks 
strictly after his own affairs, he was rec- 
ognized as a strong and virile personality 
in the early days of Indianapolis. He 
voted the whig ticket and afterwards was 
a democrat. He and his wife had five chil- 
dren, two of whom died in infancy. The 
others were : Henry, who died in 1854 ; 
Mary Isabel, born in 1843 and now de- 
ceased, married George Carter; and 
Howard M. 

Howard M. Foltz was born at Indian- 
apolis January 17, 1845. He finished his 
education in the old Northwestern Chris- 
tian (now Butler) University. In 1864, 
at the age of nineteen, he enlisted in the 
Union Navy and was assigned to duty on 
Admiral Porter's flagship on the Missis- 
sippi River. He was on duty on this ves- 
sel when it was burned. Later he was on 
a receiving ship until the close of the war. 
After his return to Indianapolis he was 
for six years representative of the Howe 
Sewing Machine Company, and then for 
thirteen years developed an extensive In- 
diana business for the D. H. Baldwin 
Piano Company. For the last twenty-one 
years he has been connected with the 
Union Trust Company, of which he is now 



one of the vice presidents. He is a mem- 
ber of the Columbia and Commercial clubs, 
the Board of Trade, and the Grand Army 
of the Republic. He also belongs to the 
Navy League. In 1866 Howard M. Foltz 
married Mary Virginia Jones. Two chil- 
dren were born to them, Herbert W. and 
Anna Louise. The daughter died in 1890, 
at the age of twenty. 

Herbert Willard Foltz was born at In- 
dianapolis February 23, 1867. This city 
has always been his home. He was edu- 
cated in the city schools and in 1886 gradu- 
ated from Rose Polytechnic Institute at 
Terre Haute. With this specialized and 
technical training he served what amounted 
to a practical apprenticeship in structural 
engineering with the Illinois Steel Com- 
pany for four years. In 1891 Mr. Foltz 
established himself as an architect at In- 
dianapolis, and has been busy with his 
professional engagements for more than a 
quarter of a century. Some of the con- 
spicuous buildings of Indianapolis attest 
his architectural ideas. He planned both 
the Young Men's Christian Association 
buildings, the Bobbs-Merrill building, and 
many others less well known, and outside 
of Indianapolis he was architect for the 
Hospital for the Insane at Madison, the 
Epileptic Village buildings at Newcastle, 
the Indiana Masonic Home at Franklin, 
and a number of other buildings for state 
institutions. 

Mr. Foltz is a Fellow of the American 
Institute of Architects and of various local 
technical societies. In 1918 he was presi- 
dent of the Century Club of Indianapolis, 
and is also president of the Indianapolis 
School Board and is deeply interested in 
all matters affecting education. He is a 
thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason 
and Shriner and in politics is a republican. 
In 1893 he married Louise Bowen, a daugh- 
ter of Horatio F. and Ann Amy (Mowry) 
Bowen, of Joliet, Illinois. They have three 
children, Bertina Louise, Howard Frank- 
lin and Barbara Louise. Bertina Louise 
is now a student in Vassar College. 

Vincent A. Lapenta, M. D. Profession- 
ally Doctor Lapenta is one of the able sur- 
geons of Indianapolis, a skilled specialist 
in abdominal surgery. But his range of 
influence and service is not confined within 
the strict limits of his profession. 

Doctor Lapenta is a native of Italy, and 




^uX^cu^C^^^n^ * 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1591 



was educated in the Royal University of 
Naples, from which he graduated with the 
degree Doctor of Medicine in 1906. His 
home in Naples where he was reared was 
in the midst of a colony of English people. 
He early learned to speak English fluently 
and with the Englishman's accent. After 
leaving the University of Naples he came 
to America, and did post-graduate work 
in Harvard Medical School and in the 
Medical School of the University of Illi- 
nois at Chicago, specializing in abdominal 
surgery. 

Doctor Lapenta located at Indianapolis 
in 1912. That city has since been his home, 
and his practice is confined to abdominal 
surgery. He is a member of the County 
and State Medical societies and the Amer- 
ican Medical Association, the Clinical 
Congress of Surgeons, and all other organ- 
izations relating to the profession. In 1916 
Doctor Lapenta was elected a member of 
the American Association for the Advance- 
ment of Science and in 1918 he was ap- 
pointed by the Italian government a dele- 
gate of the Italian Red Cross. 

Demands upon his professional services 
frequently call him to other cities and 
communities. Among the thousands of 
Italians in Indiana he is generally regarded 
as a great and good man, a reputation 
which his attainments and character thor- 
oughly justify. 

It is among the people of his own racial 
origin that his influence has been most 
widespread. He takes an unselfish interest 
in the welfare of his people. There are 
many thousands of people of Italian origin 
now American citizens engaged in the 
great industries of Indianapolis and Marion 
County, and also in the great industrial 
centers of Gary and the Calumet region, 
in the coal mines of the state, in mer- 
chandising and in the various professions. 
Most of these are home owners, thrifty, in- 
dustrious and altogether ideal citizens. 

Doctor Lapenta is a prominent member 
of the King Humbert Society, a social and 
beneficial organization that was formed in 
1884. His far reaching influence has been 
exercised as president of the Italian Propa- 
ganda Committee of Indiana. This organ- 
ization is engaged in the educational work 
of making good American citizens of 
Italians who have come here and become 
naturalized or who though natives of Amer- 
ica have never received sufficient enlighten- 



ment on the principles and ideals of our 
democratic citizenship. There are no spe- 
cial obstacles or complicated problems in- 
volved in this propaganda, since the Italian 
race are the heirs of the oldest civilization 
we have and by nature and early training 
are thoroughly democratic. 

After coming to America Doctor La- 
penta married Miss Rose Mangeri. She 
was born in Southern Italy. They have 
two children, Catharine and Blase. 

John Tipton who was born in Tennessee 
in 1786, and died at Logansport, Indiana, 
in 1830, became a resident of this state in 
1807 and was one of the fearless early ex- 
ponents of law and order. He joined the 
''Yellow Jackets," and subsequently at- 
tained the rank of brigadier general of 
militia. In 1819 General Tipton was sent 
to the Legislature, and was appointed by 
that body in 1820 to select a site for a new 
capital for Indiana, and it was on his mo- 
tion that Fall Creek was chosen. He was 
later a commissioner to determine with an- 
other commissioner from Illinois the boun- 
dary line between the two states. 

After a further service as Indian agent 
General Tipton was made a United States 
senator to fill a vacancy in 1831 and was 
reelected for that office. He was always 
intensely interested in the progress of In- 
diana and an efficient worker for its insti- 
tutions. He also held high office in the 
Masonic fraternity, becoming finally grand 
master. 

"W. H. Disher is secretary and treasurer 
of the Thomas Moffat Company, Incor- 
porated, one of the important jobbing con- 
cerns located at Indianapolis. Mr. Disher 
represented this firm on the road for many 
years, and is now the chief executive in 
its management. The Thomas Moffat Com- 
pany, Incorporated, are dealers in heavy 
chemicals, laundry supplies, and a varied 
line of kindred products. 

Mr. Disher was born in Preble County, 
Ohio, March 13, 1877, son of Peter L. and 
Catherine (Allen) Disher, natives of the 
same county. His father came to Indian- 
apolis in 1888, becoming foreman in a 
local lumber company, and was in the lum- 
ber business for twenty years. 

"W. H. Disher was the oldest of five 
children, four of whom are still living. 
After his education in the public schools 



1592 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



of Indianapolis he went to work in a fur- 
niture factory for two years, also at plumb- 
ing and gas fitting two years, and for a 
year and a half was with the Udell Manu- 
facturing Company. In 1899 he entered 
the service of the Moffat Chemical Com- 
pany and for fourteen years was the com- 
pany's traveling representative carrying 
their goods and products over practically 
the entire United States. Mr. Disher is a 
preeminent salesman, and the great volume 
of business he turned in annually was 
largely responsible for the steady growth 
and development of the Thomas Moffat 
Company. In 1913 he acquired a con- 
trolling interest in the business, and has 
since been its secretary and treasurer. 

Mr. Disher is affiliated with Lodge No. 
319, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
with the Knights of Pythas and Loyal 
Order of Moose, and is a member of sev- 
eral social clubs. October 5, 1903, he mar- 
ried Miss Bessie F. Codcly. Mrs. Disher 
was educated in the public schools of 
Rush County, Indiana. 

George C. Fobrey, Jr. Few young men 
have gone so far and so rapidly toward 
high standing and successful position in 
the financial circles of Indianapolis as 
George C. Forrey, Jr. 

Mr. Forrey, who was born at Anderson, 
Indiana, January 31, 1882, is the only son 
of the late George C. and Mary (Baxter) 
Forrey. His father, who died in 1918, 
was a successful and well known business 
man of Anderson. He retired from busi- 
ness activities in 1908. 

George C. Forrey, Jr., attended public 
schools at Anderson until 1898, and then 
entered Culver Military Academy, from 
which he graduated in 1899. He is an 
alumnus of Williams College in Massa- 
chusetts, from which he received his Bach- 
elor of Arts degree in June, 1903. 

His business experience has been con- 
tained within the fifteen years since he 
left Williams College. At first he was a 
bond salesman with E. M. Campbell & 
Company, an Indianapolis investment con- 
cern. In 1905 he became associated with 
Breed & Harrison of Cincinnati, a firm 
which rewarded him for his efficient and 
productive service by making him a part- 
ner in the business in 1912. The following 
year Mr. Forrey assisted in organizing the 
firm of Breed, Elliot & Harrison of In- 



dianapolis, Cincinnati and Chicago. He 
was elected vice president of the company 
and has active charge of the Indianapolis 
branch of the business. Mr. Forrey has 
also been honored with the offices of sec- 
retary, vice president and president of the 
Indianapolis Stock Exchange. He was 
one of the three members of the committee 
for the State of Indiana promoting the 
sale of the first two issues of Liberty 
bonds. In the last two issues of Liberty 
bonds, in addition to being a member of 
the state committee he was director of the 
State Speakers' Bureau. He was also ap- 
pointed during the latter part of the war 
as assistant chief of the Educational In- 
dustrial Section for Indiana of the United 
States Ordnance Department, and was 
offered a commission as captain and de- 
clined for the reason that he felt he could 
more effectively conduct the department 
as a civilian. Fraternally he is an active 
Mason, having affiliated with the blue 
lodge at Anderson, and with the Scottish 
Rite Consistory at Indianapolis. 

April 23, 19i3, Mr. Forrey married Miss 
Lucia Hurst, of Anderson, Indiana, daugh- 
ter of Alfred D. and Iva (Bridges) Hurst. 
Mrs. Forrey graduated from DePauw Uni- 
versity at Greencastle, Indiana, with the 
class of 1904, and before her marriage was 
teacher of German and mathematics in the 
public schools of Crown Point, Indiana, 
and Bryan, Ohio. Mr. Forrey has two> 
children: George C, third, born May 8, 
1907 ; and Elheurah J., born February 19, 
1906. 

Columbus Horatio Hall, D. D., A. M. 
The deepest appreciation of the scholarly 
services of Doctor Hall is cherished by 
that great body of former students, both 
men and women, who at different times in 
the past forty years have prepared for the 
duties and responsibilities of life within 
the walls of old Franklin College. Doctor 
Hall has never achieved wealth and high 
business station in the State of Indiana. 
He has done that which mature judgment 
of men at all times has pronounced greater 
and better, has devoted his talents and 
years to the education and training of 
young men and women and has lived the 
simple life of the scholar and is one of 
the finest examples of the old time college 
professor. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1593 



Doctor Hall was bom at the little Town 
of Chili in Miami County, Indiana, No- 
vember 17, 1846. His grandfather, 
Horace Hall, was a New York State man, 
settled at Perrysburg, Ohio, owned a black- 
smith and forge in the town and was a 
deacon of the Baptist Church. Nelson 
Columbus Hall, father of Doctor Hall, was 
born in New York State, grew up in Ohio, 
and after coming to Indiana established 
himself in the dry goods business at Peru, 
where he was in partnership with his only 
brother, Horatio Hall. They afterward 
established a branch of their store at Chili, 
where Nelson C. Hall spent his most ac- 
tive years. He was a highly influential 
citizen in the community, was a pioneer of 
that locality, a deacon in the Baptist 
Church, and ever ready to support any 
movement that meant increased good. He 
died at Chili in February, 1889. The first 
church established in that locality was of 
the Methodist denomination. It was con- 
sidered a guarantee of the success of any 
meeting for any cause whatsoever if Nel- 
son C. Hall could be persuaded to act as 
leader. While a man of special talent in 
this direction, he preferred the simple, 
quiet life and never sought public office 
of any kind. 

Columbus H. Hall spent his early d.ays 
at Chili. When he was eleven years old 
the family moved to Akron, Indiana, living 
there for seven years, until the close of 
the Civil war. They then returned to 
Chili. Doctor Hall spent a year in the 
Peru High School and was also given a 
business training as clerk in his father's 
store. When about nineteen years old he 
was a student for one year in the Ladoga 
Seminary. He prepared there to teach 
school, and at that time his ambition was 
for the medical profession. In 1866 Doctor 
Hall entered Franklin College at Frank- 
lin, finishing his preparatory work and 
remaining a student until February, 1872, 
when the college was temporarily sus- 
pended. He then entered the old Uni- 
versitv of Chicago, where he was gradu- 
ated A. B. in June, 1872. In 1895 the 
University of Chicago under its present 
incorporation conferred upon him the 
honorary degree B. A. He prepared for 
the ministry by three years in the Baptist 
Union Theological Seminary of Chicago. 
graduating B. D. in 1875. 

In the meantime he had been invited by 

Vol. IV— 3 



Doctor Stott, president of Franklin Col- 
lege, to accept a professorship in that 
school in the science department. This 
gave Doctor Hall an opportunity to do 
special work, and he afterward filled the 
chairs of Latin, rhetoric and history. In 
1879, when Professor J. W. Moncreith re- 
tired from the chair of Greek, Doctor Hall 
at his own request was made professor of 
Greek and Latin. For over thirty years 
he was head of the department of these 
classical languages and retired from the 
Greek professorship in 1912. For twenty- 
five years he also served as vice president 
of Franklin College, and during an illness 
of Doctor Stott was acting president in 
the spring of 1885. 

Doctor Hall is one of the leading Greek 
scholars of the country. He has written 
a number of lectures on the tragedies of 
Sophocles and other Greek writers, and has 
read the Greek Testament from beginning 
to end 107 times. As a teacher Doctor 
Hall always sought to infect his pupils with 
his own enthusiasm and do much more 
than merely inspect them. How well he 
succeeded in this aim needs no testimony 
beyond the grateful acknowledgment of 
his older students. He has carried his 
scholarship abroad, has frequently ad- 
dressed graduating classes at high schools, 
has lectured throughout Indiana and also 
at the University of Wisconsin. Many 
times he appeared in formal addresses be- 
fore the Baptist Association. Doctor Hall 
has reinforced his scholarship with ex- 
tensive travel, especially in the tropical 
countries of Greece and Italy, the Holy 
Land and Egypt. He is a member of the 
old Classical Association of Indiana Col- 
leges. He represents Franklin College at 
the present time on the war safety pro- 
gramme. He is a member of the Phi Delta 
Theta and is a thirty-second degree Scot- 
tish Rite Mason and has taken all the 
York Rite degrees. He has been a pre- 
late of Franklin Commandery of the Grand 
Lodge for thirty-four consecutive years, 
and in 1913-15 was grand prelate and for 
four years was grand chaplain in the 
Grand Council. 

There is a proverb that "The Glory of 
Children are Their Fathers," and it is also 
true that the glory of fathers is in their 
children. With all the wide range of 
achievement and experience to his credit, 
Doctor Hall doubtless finds his greatest 



1594 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



comfort in his declining years in the nohle 
sons and daughters who have come to man- 
hood and womanhood at his old home in 
Franklin. Doctor Hall married, June 15, 
1875, Theodosia Parks. They were mar- 
ried in the house where Doctor and Mrs. 
Hall still reside. She was horn at Bedford, 
Indiana, and graduated from Franklin Col- 
lege in 1874 and for a time was a tutor in 
Latin at Franklin. For many years she 
was president of the Baptist Missionary 
Society and also its general director and 
finally became its honorary president. Her 
parents were Rev. R. M. and Jane T. 
(Short) Parks, both of Bedford and now 
deceased. Her father was a Baptist mi- 
nister of that city. Of the children born to 
Doctor and Mrs. Hall two are deceased. Zoe 
Parks Hall, the eldest, who was born in 1876 
and died in December, 1907, married John 
Hall, of Johnson County, and was the 
mother of one daughter, Catherine Zoe, 
born in July, 1907. Her husband is a 
farmer in Johnson County. 

The second child, Mary Griswold Hall, 
born in October, 1878, is the wife of Dr. 
G. M. Selby, of Redkey, Indiana, and has 
one son, Horace Hall Selby, born in July, 
1906. 

Arnold Albert Bennett Hall, a son who 
inherits many of the scholarly talents of 
his father, was born in July, 1881. He 
graduated from Franklin College and from 
the law department of the University of 
Chicago. While at University he was as- 
sistant to President Judson and also an 
instructor. He is now assistant professor 
of the department of political science and 
law at the University of "Wisconsin. He 
has had a wide range of work, haying 
taught one year at Northwestern Univer- 
sity, was employed by the Carnegie Foun- 
dation of Peace, and for two years was an 
instructor at Dartmouth College. He has 
lectured at institutions throughout the va- 
rious states and his work as lecturer is in 
great demand. He has high qualifications 
as a speaker, but these qualifications serve 
only to enlarge the breadth of his scholar- 
ship, and he is today recognized as one 
of the men most gifted in educating and 
influencing popular opinion. He wrote 
and revised ' ' Fishback's Elementary Law, ' ' 
and is author of ' ' Outline of International 
Law" He is now serving on the board of 
directors of the Lasalle Extension Univer- 



sity of Chicago. He married Grace Car- 
ney, of Franklin, in June, 1911. 

Doctor Hall 's fourth child, Theodore, was 
born in 1883 and died in infancy. 

Letitia Theodora Hall, born in Sep- 
tember, 1886, married Prof. R. E. Carter, 
of the University of Kansas. 

Warren Short Hall, born in January, 
1889, is now a sergeant major in the 
Fourth Battalion of the One Hundred and 
Fifty-Ninth Depot Brigade at Camp Tay- 
lor. 

Nelson Clarence Hall, born in January, 
1891, is a sergeant in Camp Custer. Esther 
Marguerite Hall, born in September, 1895, 
is now a teacher at Lawrence, Kansas. 
Florence Christine Hall, born in June, 
1903, is a student in high school. All 
the children except the youngest and oldest 
are graduates of Franklin College. The 
service flag in the home of Doctor Hall at 
Franklin has two stars, indicating that he 
has given two of his sons to the world-wide 
war for freedom. 

D. L. Seybert. Perhaps no subject of 
the present time comes oftener into con- 
versation than that of saving, or, in other 
words, thrift, for saving is the child of 
thrift. There are, undoubtedly, many ways 
to be frugal with an eye to the future, and 
people, according to their training, knowl- 
edge and intelligence, probably conscien- 
tiously carry out their own ideas, more or 
less successfully. Under the head of thrift 
no well informed individual would hes- 
itate to place life insurance, for noth- 
ing in the way of saving can be more prac- 
tical. It offers not only an easy way to 
save, but in its many advantages as pro- 
vided not only by the sound and stable 
insurance companies of the country, but 
in these days as a recognized government 
measure, it means a safe investment of 
funds and the assurance that old age and 
unprotected childhood, alike, will be saved 
from suffering and disaster. To bring these 
facts to the attention of the public has been 
the business for a number of years of 
D. L. Seybert, who is the able superin- 
tendent of the Conservative Life Insurance 
Companv of America, with offices at Ander- 
son, Indiana. 

D. L. Seybert was born in Anderson 
Township, Madison County, Indiana, July 
11, 1873. His parents were Joseph W. and 
Zoa (Harrison) Seybert, who have many 



INDIANA AND 1NDIANANS 



1595 



generations of good American ancestors 
back of them. The father has always been 
a farmer, the Seyberts as a family having 
always followed agricultural pursuits. D. 
L. Seybert obtained his education in the 
public schools and was graduated from the 
Anderson High School in 1902. He then 
went to work with the Anderson Carriage 
Company, contracting to oversee and build 
the running gear for carriages. Mr. Sey- 
bert displayed great executive ability in 
the management of the men, and during 
the five years he continued with that com- 
pany proved satisfactory and efficient and 
was able to lay aside some capital. Subse- 
quently Mr. Seybert entered the employ 
of the Art Mirror Company, of Anderson, 
with which concern he remained for three 
years, and during that time was foreman 
of the polishing department. 

Mr. Seybert then embarked in the gro- 
cery business at Anderson, and successfully 
conducted this enterprise for two years and 
then sold advantageously. In the mean- 
while he became interested to some extent 
in investments in southern land which, 
however, did not prove profitable, although 
he spent a year in looking after his interests 
in the Delta Farms proposition near New 
Orleans, Louisiana. Finding his usual good 
business judgment somewhat at fault in 
relation to this land, Mr. Seybert returned 
then to Anderson and subsequently ac- 
cepted the superintendency of the con- 
struction of the Anderson turnpike, one 
of the concrete highways of which the city 
is justly proud. About this time Mr. Sey- 
bert became interested in the insurance 
business and entered the Prudential Life 
Insurance Company as an agent and sold 
insurance for that company until 1915 and 
then transferred to the Conservative Life 
Insurance Company of America, and after 
one year as an agent, on December 28, 1916, 
was made superintendent. 

Mr. Seybert was married in 1909 to Miss 
Grace Smelser, who is a daughter of Solon 
and Mattie (Wood) Smelser. The father 
of Mrs. Seybert is a man of prominence 
in Madison County and served as sheriff 
from 1905 to 1909^ During this time Mr. 
Seybert served under Sheriff Smelser as 
deputy sheriff. He has always been a re- 
publican and very loyal to his party, but 
with the exception of the above public posi- 
tion has accepted no political preferment. 
He was reared in the faith of the Baptist 



Church and has continued a member of 
that body, but is liberal-minded and con- 
tributes to the support of other religious 
organizations and to benevolent movements 
generally. In the many calls on personal 
generosity in these weary days of world 
conflict Mr. Seybert has been as helpful 
as his means will permit and has lent his 
influence to the support of law and order 
in recognition of his responsibility as a 
representative citizen. He is identified 
fraternally with the Knights of Pythias 
and the Red Men. 

John T. Beasley, a lawyer whose ad- 
mission to the Indiana bar was chronicled 
in 1881, has enjoyed many of the finest 
honors of his profession, and while his 
home has nearly always been in Terre 
Haute he is also equally known in Indian- 
apolis and other cities of the state. He 
is also prominent as a banker. 

A native of Indiana, Mr. Beasley was 
born in Sullivan County May 29," 1860, 
aon of Ephraim and Sarah (Williams) 
Beasley. He grew up in Sullivan County, 
attended the common schools and in 1880, 
at the age of twenty, began reading law 
with the firm of Buff & Patten at Sullivan. 
He had the type of mind which assimilates 
knowledge without difficulty and in 1881 
he was admitted to the bar at Sullivan 
and began practice with his preceptors 
as member of the firm Buff, Patton & Beas- 
ley. Two years later he bought the in- 
terests of his partners and formed with. 
a partnership with A. B. Williams under 
the name Beasley & Williams. They main- 
tained offices both at Sullivan and at In- 
dianapolis until November, 1893, at which 
time Mr. Beasley removed to Terre Haute 
and became associated with Hon. John 
E. Lamb. The firm of Lamb & Beasley 
gained prominence all over the state. 

Mr. Beasley has been more or less active 
in politics for many years. He was three 
times elected a member of the Indiana 
General Assembly. His first election 
came in 1886, when he represented Sul- 
livan, Vigo and Vermilion Counties. Dur- 
ing the sessions of 1889 and 1891 he was 
chairman of the Judiciary House Com- 
mittee. 

Mr. Beasley was the first president of 
the Commercial Club of Terre Haute. 
Much of his time and attention is now 
given to his duties as president of the 



1596 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



United States Trust Company of Terre 
Haute. November 5, 1895, he married 
Cora Hoke. They have one son, John 
Hoke Beasley, born April 7, 1897. 

Francis M. Williams. Apart from the 
faithful and splendid service he has 
rendered as county auditor of Delaware 
County, the fact that gives the career of 
Francis M. Williams special interest is the 
enthusiasm and almost unanimity on the 
part of his fellow citizens regardless of 
party affiliations in supporting him for a 
second term in that office. At a time 
when the old division in the republican 
party was rapidly healing and Delaware 
County was resuming its normal complex- 
ion as a republican stronghold, Mr. Wil- 
liams' personal popularity and signal abil- 
ity he had shown through his previous 
incumbency caused his candidacy to be 
looked upon as a non-partisan matter, and 
as such deserving of renewed support. 
Thus it was that he came into his second 
term of office with what amounted to a 
non-partisan vote. 

Mr. Williams has long been a resident of 
Muncie and went into county office after 
many years of service with local banks 
and financial institutions. He was born 
in Grant County, Indiana, on a farm, Feb- 
ruary 3, 1872, son of E. B. and Catherine 
M. (Nesbitt) Williams. His father was of 
Scotch and English parentage and a na- 
tive of Ohio, while the mother was of an- 
cestry that goes back to England and to 
very early colonial times in America. Mr. 
Williams' grandfather was a pioneer in 
Adams County, Ohio, where he spent the 
rest of his life as a farmer. Besides operat- 
ing a farm he also operated a flour mill in 
the county for many years. E. B. Wil- 
liams, a native of Adams County, practi- 
cally grew up at his father's mill and 
learned the trade of millwright and mill 
manager. He was a very expert mechani- 
cal engineer, but after removing to Grant 
County, Indiana, engaged in farming on 
a place twelve miles west of Marion, the 
county seat. That was his home for more 
than half a century. He died there in 
1882. He was an exemplary citizen, had 
the confidence of the entire community, 
and for many years served as justice of 
the peace. He was a sterling democrat, 
and did much to build up the party in his 
county. He was affiliated with the In- 



dependent Order of Odd Fellows and was 
one of the early members of the Church 
of Christ in his community. He was a 
close student of the Bible, and having the 
ability to express himself in a manner 
that was at once convincing and pleasing, 
he used this faculty to do good in many 
ways. 

Francis M. Williams was the youngest 
in a family of six children, four sons and 
two daughters. He grew up in Grant 
County, had a country school education, 
and in 1889, at the age of seventeen, sought 
the larger opportunities of the then grow- 
ing oil center city of Muncie. For six 
years he was connected with the Standard 
Oil Company. He then entered the Mer- 
chants National Bank of Muncie as book- 
keeper, held that position over five years, 
and then joined the Muncie Savings and 
Loan Company in charge of its books, and 
was only called from its duties there when 
he was first elected auditor of Delaware 
County in 1910. His first term ran until 
1914. In that year, nominated again on 
the democratic ticket, he succeeded in over- 
coming a normal republican majority in 
a county of 4,000, and received a large 
percentage of republican votes. 

Throughout his career at Muncie Mr. 
Williams has been greatly attached to the 
city, has worked in harmony with the move- 
ments calculated to bring it larger growth 
and better facilities, and whether in official 
or in private life his career is one that 
will reflect honor on any community. As 
a county official he has looked upon him- 
self as the servant of the people, and has 
conducted his office to the best interests 
of all. 

Mr. Williams was one of the progressive 
workers at Muncie who sustained the long 
campaign which resulted in the erection 
of the handsome Young Men's Christian 
Association building, and he has been iden- 
tified with that institution for a number 
of years. He is one of the leading laymen 
of the Church of Christ, has been a church 
official, and for over twenty-eight years 
served as superintendent of its Sunday 
School. In a period of a quarter of a 
century Mr. Williams missed attending the 
services of his home church only twelve 
Sundays. In Masonry he has filled all 
the chairs of his local lodge and is a thirty- 
second degree Scottish Rite Mason and 
Shriner. 




r — X^^/^j^^»^fei^- 






1487948 

INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1597 



September 3, 1892, he married Ada 
Spradling, daughter of J. F. Spradling, 
who for many years was a well known 
hardware merchant at Quincy. Mrs. Wil- 
liams' ancestors on both sides were soldiers 
of the Revolutionary war. They have three 
children, two sons and one daughter. 

John E. McGettigan during his forty- 
five years' residence in Indianapolis has 
contributed materially to the civic and in- 
dustrial advancement of the community. 
For many years he was engaged in the 
promotion and building of railroads and 
other industrial enterprises. He has been 
identified with the development of a num- 
ber of the best known industrial and trans- 
portation enterprises in the states of In- 
diana, Illinois and Ohio. 

Mr. McGettigan was born in Ireland, 
and when he was four years of age his 
parents came to this country and settled 
on Kelley's Island in Lake Erie, Ohio. On 
that island, and near Sandusky, he spent 
his youth. At the age of about fifteen he 
went to Cincinnati, where he was elm- 
ployed by the private freight car line 
known as the Great Eastern Dispatch. 
When he was about twenty-three years old 
Mr. McGettigan formed a partnership with 
Col. E. C. Dawes, of Cincinnati. Col- 
onel Dawes held his official rank and title 
from service in the Civil war. The part- 
nership was formed for the purpose of 
contracting for the construction and op- 
eration of railroads under the name E. C. 
Dawes & Company. They were engaged 
in business a short time before the panic 
of 1873, when railroad building and other 
industries were at a boom period of de- 
velopment. E. C. Dawes & Company han- 
dled the financing and construction of hun- 
dreds of miles of railroads in Illinois, 
Indiana and Ohio — lines which are . now 
part of several great railroad systems. 

Mr. McGettigan came to Indianapolis 
in 1874 and has been a resident of this 
city since that time. In Indianapolis the 
partnership name of E. C. Dawes & Com- 
pany was changed to Dawes & McGettigan, 
and the range of operations included not 
only railroad building but also dealing in 
railroad supplies and promoting coal mines. 
In coal development their chief exploit was 
opening in 1900 the famous St. Louis & Big 
Muddy coal mine at Cartersville in Wil- 
liamson County, Illinois, with a capital 



stock of $300,000. E. C. Dawes was presi- 
dent and Mr. McGettigan was treasurer. 
Williamson County coal has long had a 
special significance in coal trade circles. 
For the past year or so Williamson County 
coal has become recognized almost as the 
highest standard of soft coal among 
hundreds of thousands of householders 
throughout the middle West. Thus the 
firm of Dawes & McGettigan were pioneers 
in developing what has since become the 
largest coal mine district in Illinois. 
Sometime afterward this coal company 
was sold to the Illinois Central Railroad. 

In 1888 this firm also organized the In- 
dianapolis Switch & Frog Company, one 
of their associates being the late vice pres- 
ident of the United States, Charles W. 
Fairbanks, who was also interested in some 
of their railroad enterprises. It is per- 
haps unnecessary to state that this was 
one of the large and conspicuous manufac- 
turing industries of Indianapolis, and 
since its removal to Springfield, Ohio, has 
become one of the biggest concerns of its 
kind in the country. 

In 1893 Mr. McGettigan was appointed 
receiver for the Premier Steel Company, a 
large beam and Bessemer steel plant located 
in Indianapolis. 

Colonel Dawes died in 1895, and the 
partnership was dissolved, after which Mr. 
McGettigan continued his operations indi- 
vidually. His most important achieve- 
ment after that time was the promotion of 
the Indianapolis Southern Railroad, which 
is now the Indianapolis Division of the Illi- 
nois Central Railroad. 

Mr. McGettigan has been prominent in 
the civic affairs of Indianapolis for many 
years. He has served as chairman of the 
local finance committees for many conven- 
tions and public movements, including the 
following: The Gold Democratic Conven- 
tion in 1896, the Monetary Conventions in 
1897 and 1898, the public reception to 
President McKinley in 1898, the dedication 
of the General Lawton monument in 1900, 
the dedication of the Soldiers and Sailors 
monument in 1902. He was general chair- 
man of the committee on arrangements for 
entertaining the Japanese Commission in 
1909. Since March, 1911, Mr. McGetti- 
gan has been secretary of the Greater In- 
dianapolis Industrial Association, and his 
associates freely credit his efforts, business 
skill and experience with much of the sue- 



1598 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



cess of the Association. This Association 
was organized in November, 1910, for the 
purpose of developing a tract of land com- 
prising approximately 900 acres as an in- 
dustrial suburb of Indianapolis. Besides 
a large number of lots for business and in- 
dividual homes 218 acres were held for 
free sites for factories. One of the greatest 
obstacles to carrying out the plans of the 
executives of the Association was the ab- 
sence of ready transportation to and from 
Indianapolis. Though a franchise and 
right of way were secured the street rail- 
way interests were not disposed to hazard 
the investment required to construct the 
line. To overcome this difficulty the di- 
rectors of the Association, believing that 
street car service was essential to the de- 
velopment of "Mars Hill," paid out of 
their own treasury over forty thousand 
dollars for the construction of the track 
and its equipment with poles and trolley 
wire, and then leased the line to the In- 
dianapolis Traction & Terminal Company 
for operating purposes. Operation of 
street car service began in November, 1914, 
and though the first ten months showed a 
small deficit, the net income is steadily in- 
creasing, and during 1918 it was reported 
that the net earnings to the Association 
from the line averaged over $900 a month, 
or approximately $11,500 for the year 
1918. 

With good transportation assured the 
progress of "Mars Hill" has been steadily 
forward, and the suburb has now a popula- 
tion of over five hundred and the directors 
of the Association firmly believe that within 
a few years the population will be in- 
creased to several thousand. 

The Association made contracts with the 
Indianapolis "Water Company to extend its 
water mains to the suburb, sewers have 
been constructed, and the Indianapolis 
Light & Heat Company and the Merchants 
Light & Heat Company have also extended 
their service to this community. 

The Greater Indianapolis Industrial. As- 
sociation is by no means a close corpora- 
tion, since more than 800 persons own 
stock, and the lot owners in the suburb are 
also stockholders in the Association and 
have a direct voice in the management of 
it's affairs. The executive officials, elected 
by the board of directors, for the year 
1918-1919 are: O. D. Haskett, president; 
John F. Darmody, vice-president; John R. 



Welch, treasurer; and John E. McGetti- 
gan, secretary. 

Mr. McGettigan, in addition to the work 
he does as secretary of the Association, is 
also secretary of the Advance Realty Com- 
pany, which is composed of a number of 
stockholders of the Association and is em- 
ploying its capital stock for the purpose 
of improving vacant real estate in "Mars 
Hill ' ' — most of these houses being retained 
by the company for rental purposes. 

Maurice Thompson, one of Indiana's 
noted authors and public men, was born 
in Fairfield, Indiana, in 1844. His parents, 
who were Southerners, moved to Kentucky 
and later to Northern Georgia. Maurice 
Thompson was educated by private tutors, 
and early became interested in nature 
study. During the Civil war he was a 
soldier in the Confederate army, and after 
the close of the struggle he returned to 
his native State of Indiana and became a 
civil engineer on a railway survey and 
later became chief engineer. Mr. Thomp- 
son then studied law and began practice 
at Crawfordsville. He was elected to the 
Legislature in 1879, and in 1885 was ap- 
pointed state geologist of Indiana and chief 
of the department of natural history. He 
is the author of many noted works. 

Edward Constantine Miller. When 
Mr. Miller was made postmaster of Fort 
Wayne three years ago his appointment 
was justified by a host of reasons besides 
political allegiance. He is a man of long 
and thorough business experience and 
training, and the postoffice has responded 
to the efficiency with which he formerly 
conducted his private affairs. 

Mr. Miller was born in Allen County, 
Indiana, November 30, 1872, son of Sam- 
uel and Louisa M. (Null) Miller. Samuel 
Miller is still well remembered at Fort 
Wayne. He was born in Wells County, 
Indiana, January 14, 1850, and at the 
age of eighteen removed to Fort Wayne, 
and in a few years had made his mark 
in local journalism. He died in 1887, at 
the age of thirty-seven, and at the time 
of his death was proprietor of the Fort 
Wayne- Journal. His wife, a native of 
Ohio, born in 1856, removed to Fort Wayne 
with her parents in 1863 and is still living 
in that city. There were three children: 
Edward C. ; August, a resident of Wash- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1599 



ington D. C. ; and Glo D., wife of E. J. 
Ricke, of Fort "Wayne. 

Edward C. Miller was educated in the 
public schools of his native city and after 
his father's death worked as a paper car- 
rier, also as bookkeeper and from 1893 
for ten years was a traveling salesman. 
He represented the Mcintosh-Huntington 
Company, wholesale hardware, of Cleve- 
land, and also the Bassett-Presley Steel 
and Iron Company of Cleveland. 

In 1903 Mr. Miller became local manager 
for the Fort Wayne Brick Company, and 
was the responsible director of that im- 
portant industry for twelve years. On 
May 15, 1915, President Wilson appointed 
him postmaster of Fort Wayne, and he 
entered upon his duties in the following 
June. 

Mr. Miller is secretary and treasurer of 
the Fort Wayne Concrete Tile Company 
and a director of the Morris Plan Bank. 
He is now serving his second term as pres- 
ident of the Fort Wayne Commercial Club 
and is member of the State Board of the 
American Red Cross. There are many 
proofs of his leadership in community af- 
fairs. At the age of twenty-six he was 
elected a member of the City Council and 
held that office until 1903. In 1916 he 
was general chairman of the Executive 
Committee for the Fort Wayne Centennial 
Celebration. 

Mr. Miller is one of the best known Ma- 
sons in Indiana and has been honored with 
the thirty-third, Supreme, degree in the 
Scottish Rite. He is also affiliated with 
Fort Wayne Lodge of Elks and the Royal 
Order of Moose, and is a member of the 
Rotarv Club and Quest Club. March 12, 
1893, Mr. Miller married Miss Nellie H. 
Fahlsing, daughter of Charles W. and Hen- 
rietta E. (Zollars) Fahlsing. Mr. and 
Mrs. Miller have one daughter, Ednell. 

Paul Baker is a well known young 
business man of Anderson and his record 
has been one of consistent hard work ever 
since he started life on his own responsi- 
bility. 

He was born in Indianapolis in 1888, 
son of Manville and Johanna (Butterfield) 
Baker. The Bakers are an old Vermont 
family, moving from there to Ohio, where 
Manville Baker was born, one of seven 
sons. Manville died in Ohio in 1915. 

Paul Baker only child of his parents, 



was educated in the Indianapolis public 
schools. At the age of thirteen it became 
necessary for him to leave school and find 
means of self support. For a time he 
worked in the old Park Theater of Indian- 
apolis, then for three years was stock boy 
for Levi Brothers & Company, and also 
learned the paper cutting trade. For six 
months he was night clerk with the In- 
dianapolis Sentinel. 

Moving to Anderson in 1903, he was 
for six years in the Anderson Carriage 
Works, learning the trade of carriage 
painter, later for a year and a half was 
driver for the United States Express Com- 
pany, spent three months as a traveling 
messenger for the same company between 
Fort Wayne and Indianapolis, resumed 
his old job at Anderson as driver, and 
after three years was appointed bill clerk, 
then cashier, and in September, 1917, be- 
came manager of the company's business 
at Anderson. 

December 25, 1908, Mr. Baker married 
Miss Fannie Cornelia Raison, daughter of 
John and Delia (Speaker) Raison of 
Anderson. They have one daughter, Jua- 
nita, born January 10, 1910. Mr. Baker 
is an independent republican and is affili- 
ated with Anderson Lodge No. 209, Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
has filled all the offices in the Anderson 
Chapter of the Order of Moose. 

Ernest L. Tipton has been a factor in 
the life and business enterprise of El- 
wood for the past fourteen years as a 
cigar manufacturer, and as president of 
the Tipton & Berry Cigar Company he is 
head of one of the important industries 
of the city, one whose products are widely 
distributed and equally appreciated, not 
only in that locality but over several 
states. 

Mr. Tipton is a native of Ohio, born 
at Bethseda in Belmont County in 1869, 
son of James E. and Clara (Carpenter) 
Tipton. He is of Scotch-Irish stock, and 
his people as far back as the record goes 
have been agriculturists. They settled in 
Ohio from Pennsylvania. Mr. E. L. Tip- 
ton spent his early life on his father's 
farm and worked in the fields except for 
the winter terms he attended school. That 
was his experience and environment to the 
age of seventeen. Seeking something bet- 
ter than a farmer's life he learned the 



1600 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



cigar maker's trade at Bethseda, spending 
four years with Phillip Hunt, whose 
daughter he afterwards married. For 
seven years he was with the James Lucas 
Cigar Company at Bethseda. On the death 
of Mr. Lucas the business was reorganized 
and he continued with the new firm for 
three years. 

In 1904 Mr. Tipton removed to Elwood, 
Indiana, and in partnership with White- 
ford Berry began the manufacture of a 
line of stogies, gradually expanding the 
industry to include the better grades of 
domestic and Havana cigars. Their prim- 
ary lines were "Spanish Cuban" and "El- 
wood" stogies. Besides these standard 
makes they now manufacture "Hoosier 
Maid," "Gray Bonnet," "Big Havana," 
and " Tipton-Berry All Havana." These 
are very superior goods, and through 
brokers the output is sold all over Ohio, 
Indiana, Illinois and Michigan. The cigar 
factory is a modern plant employing 
eighty-five hands. 

Mr. Tipton married in 1900 Miss Lilly 
B. Hunt, of Bethseda, Ohio, daughter of 
Phillip and Emma (Buehler) Hunt. They 
have two children, Donald H. born in 1902, 
and Lottie Lorel, born in 1903. Mr. Tip- 
ton is a republican in politics. He was 
a few years ago an unsuccessful candidate 
for councilman from the Third "Ward of 
Elwood. He is a member of the First 
Methodist Episcopal Church, and served as 
treasurer in 1916 of Elwood Lodge of 
Eagles. 

W. Edwin Smith. One of the largest 
corporations manufacturing standard food 
products in the middle west is the Blue 
Valley Creamery Company. When this 
corporation came in to establish a branch 
house and factory at Indianapolis they sent 
one of their most expert and experienced 
men to take charge, W. Edwin Smith, 
under whose direction the factory was com- 
pleted in 1910. Thus Mr. Smith became 
a factor in Indianapolis business and social 
life and has been one of the live and enter- 
prising men of the capital. 

Mr. Smith has had a wide and varied 
training in the law, banking and partic- 
ularly in the dairy and food business. He 
was born at Storm Lake, Iowa, in 1877. 
His mother is still living. He spent his 
boyhood at Storm Lake, and from school 
became a stenographer in the office of 



Judge Bailie of Storm Lake, one of Iowa's 
distinguished lawyers and jurists. While 
there he studied law under the Judge, 
and passed a creditable examination for 
admission to the bar. However, he never 
took up the formal practice of this pro- 
fession. 

For several years he was assistant cashier 
in the Commercial State Bank at Storm 
Lake. Then came an opportunity to iden- 
tify himself with one of the most import- 
ant departments in the State Government 
of Iowa. For five years he was assistant 
dairy and food commissioner at Des Moines, 
and in that time accumulated a vast amount 
of technical knowledge and experience, as 
a result of which he was called to Chicago 
to the general offices of the American As- 
sociation of Creamery Butter Manufactur- 
ers. A year later he became identified with 
the Blue Valley Creamery Company of 
Chicago, and from there came to Indian- 
apolis for the purpose above noted. 

The Indianapolis plant of this company 
began operations in 1910, and its business 
has been growing steadily until it ranks 
high among the twelve other factories of 
the company throughout the middle west. 

So many thousands of households in In- 
diana and other central states have used 
and appreciated the quality of the Blue 
Valley Creamery 's products that little need 
be said on that score. The factory is en- 
gaged exclusively in the manufacture of 
the highest grades of butter known. It 
is a corporation of large resources. While 
its principal function is of course a com- 
mercial one, its interest in the dairy in- 
dustry as a whole has been stimulated by 
a broad and enlightened policy and has led 
it into wide fields of usefulness to the 
general public. The company employs the 
finest talent, college professors as well as 
practical men, who are recognized authori- 
ties in the science of milk and butter pro- 
duction. The company maintains exten- 
sive laboratories through which their ex- 
perts maintain a close watch upon every 
process from the original point of supply 
to the ultimate consumer. The company 
has freely used the results of the investiga- 
tions and discoveries made in their labora- 
tories to promote the welfare of butter 
making in general. The vice president of 
the corporation is Mr. J. A. Walker of 
Chicago. He is a man of broad public 
spirit, and spends much time in efforts to 



INDIANA AND IMDIANANS 



1601 



advance the dairy industry as a whole, 
without regard to his own personal con- 
nection with it. The company freely co- 
operates with dairy associations, indivi- 
dual farmers, and all who have an interest 
in the dairy industry. 

Mr. Smith has been in complete sympa- 
thy with this broader policy of the com- 
pany, and in Indiana he was chairman of 
the committee that raised $18,000 to co- 
operate with the dairy section of Purdue 
University to increase the number of dairy 
cows in the state. The result of that cam- 
paign has already brought beneficial re- 
sults, and a number of statements have 
been made in the public press in the last 
two or three years including the enor- 
mous increase of dairy production, so that 
Indiana, while not claiming preeminence 
in that respect, is really one of the first 
states in the Union as a dairy center. 

Aside from his immediate work Mr. 
Smith has found many opportunities to 
cooperate with the general business and 
public welfare of Indianapolis. In No- 
vember, 1918, he was honored by election 
to the presidency of the Optimists Club 
of Indianapolis. This is the original of 
the Optimists Club which are now being 
rapidly established in the principal cities 
of the country. The club is composed of 
active business men, one representative 
from each line of business or profession, 
and is an exceedingly interesting and use- 
ful organization, both to themselves and 
their community. Mr. Smith is also a 
member of the Chamber of Commerce and 
the Columbia Club. He married Miss 
Estelle Hicks, of Des Moines, Iowa. Their 
children are: Madeline, Lucille and 
"Walker. 

Charles Bright Vawter. The family 
of Vawter has been prominent at Franklin 
and in Johnson County since pioneer days. 
Charles Bright Vawter is one of the lead- 
ing merchants of Franklin and has been in 
business there as a hardware merchant for 
over twenty years. 

His uncle, the late John T. Vawter, was 
one of the county's wealthiest and most 
generous citizens. John T. Vawter was 
born at Vernon, Indiana, son of Smith and 
Jane (Terrill) Vawter, and in 1859 estab- 
lished the Indiana Farmers Bank, of 
which he was president for twenty years. 
He was one of the organizers of the Sec- 



ond National Bank of Franklin, which has 
since become the Franklin National. John 
T. Vawter among other acts which deserve 
mention and the grateful memory of the 
present generation donated the Soldiers 
Monument at Franklin. 

Charles Bright Vawter was born April 
29, 1862. His father, Samuel L. Vawter, 
gained his chief distinctions in business on 
what was then the Northwestern frontier 
in territory and state of Minnesota. He 
had the distinction of establishing the first 
wholesale drug house in that state, and the 
business is continued today under the name 
Noyes Brothers & Cutler. Samuel L. 
Vawter died at St. Paul, Minnesota, in 
1868. He married Maria Bright, who was 
born at Franklin, Indiana, and died in 
1880. Her father was one of • the early 
settlers of Franklin. 

Charles Bright Vawter came to Frank- 
lin with his mother after his father 's death 
and was here reared and educated. He 
attended the common schools, had two 
years of high school work, and in 1880 en- 
tered Butler College, where he took a gen- 
eral course for two years. On returning 
to Franklin he entered upon his business 
career as clerk in the hardware store of 
J. M. Storey. He remained with Mr. 
Storey until 1896, when he bought the 
business of Duncan & Stewart, which was 
then a general farm implement concern. 
Mr. Vawter has since enlarged it to a 
general hardware and stove business, and 
has made it one of the best business houses 
in the city. Mr. Vawter is also a director 
of the First National Bank of Franklin. 

Fraternally he is affiliated with the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
and with Hesperian Lodge No. 12 of the 
Knights of Pythias. On April 18, 1888, 
he married Leila Hunter Holman, of 
Franklin, daughter of A. B. Hunter, who 
was one of the leading attorneys of the 
Johnson County bar. Mrs. Vawter 's 
mother was a member of the Donald fam- 
ily. Mrs. Vawter died June 7, 1901, with- 
out children. 

Charles Rowin Hunter. In 1916 the 
people of Terre Haute determined to re- 
deem their city and place it in the front 
rank of Indiana municipalities both on 
the score of political cleanliness and ma- 
terial improvement. The leader of the 
ticket they selected was Charles Rowin 



1602 



INDIANA AND INDIAN ANS 



Hunter. Mr. Hunter was elected mayor 
nominally as a republican and by a major- 
ity of 2,750 votes, the largest majority 
ever given a candidate for that office in 
the history of the city. He was elected 
and went into office on the slogan "bigger, 
cleaner, better. Terre Haute, ' ' and in three 
years his administration has served to ex- 
press and realize the essential planks of his 
platform. He was head of the city ad- 
ministration during the critical war period, 
when so large a share of private and public 
resources were diverted to the aid of the 
government and nation. At the close of 
the war he has led in the inauguration of 
the new period of public improvements, 
and the plans for 1919 contemplate the 
expenditure of upwards of $500,000, for 
streets, new city hall, and other civic enter- 
prises. 

Mayor Hunter has been a resident of 
Terre Haute since early boyhood. He was 
born at Farmersburg in Sullivan County, 
Indiana, January 19, 1855. His grand- 
father, Samuel C. Hunter, came from Ken- 
tucky and was one of the pioneers of Vigo 
County. Mayor Hunter is a son of Eli- 
phalet and Sarah C. (All) Hunter, both 
of whom were born at Bardstown, Ken- 
tucky. Eliphalet Hunter was a farmer and 
merchant and business man and located at 
Terre Haute in 1871, where he was in the 
teaming and transfer business for a number 
of years. He died in December 1896, at 
the age of seventy-three. His wife passed 
away in 1895, at the age of seventy-two. 
They were the parents of nine children. 
Those now deceased are Sarah C, Ben- 
jamin F., James T., "William L., Elizabeth 
and Nancy M. The living children 
are Samuel W., Charles R. and Martin "W. 
Charles R. Hunter was fifteen years old 
when he came to Terre Haute. He ob- 
tained his early education in the public 
schools of Farmersburg and also attended 
Ascension Seminary in that town. At the 
age of eighteen he went to work at Terre 
Haute as a driver, later was with a firm 
of agricultural implement dealers, and for 
a year was with the Star Union Transfer 
Company. He was also with a local flour 
milling concern, but his longest connection 
was with the wholesale dry goods house of 
H. Robinson & Company. He learned the 
business, and finally the company sent him 
on the road as sales representative. For 
over thirty years Mr. Hunter was a travel- 



ing salesman, and developed a business for 
several large wholesale houses in the state. 
In 1905 he engaged in the dry goods busi- 
ness on his own account at Terre Haute, 
and now has one of the best equipped and 
stocked stores of its kind in western In- 
diana. 

Mr. Hunter has served as vice president 
of the Indiana Division of the Travelers 
Protective Association, is a member of the 
United Commercial Travelers, the Tribe 
of Ben Hur, the Terre Haute Commercial 
Club, and has been a steadfast republican 
ever since casting his first ballot. At dif- 
ferent times he has given his time to the 
benefit of his party in primaries and other 
elections, but never sought an important 
office for himself until he became candi- 
date for mayor. 

In 1877 Mr. Hunter married Miss Mary 
S. Hagerdon, daughter of Henry Hager- 
don of Terre Haute. She died five years 
later, the mother of one daughter, Ger- 
trude May, who died in infancy. Mr. Hun- 
ter married for his second wife Miss Grace 
E. King, daughter of Robert C. and Re- 
becca J. King, natives of Carroll County, 
Ohio. Mrs. Hunter was born at Spencer, 
Indiana, June 22, 1876. 

Charles Walter Roland is senior part- 
ner of the firm Roland & Beach, heating 
contractors and" sheet metal works in Rich- 
mond. He is an expert in this line of busi- 
ness and has followed it most of his active 
life. 

He was born in Randolph County, In- 
diana, in 1873, son of J. J. and Chrizella 
(Snyder) Roland. He attended public 
school at Greenville, Ohio, and Lynn, In- 
diana, and when only twelve years of age 
began learning the printing trade at Union 
Citv, Indiana. Later he worked for his 
father, who had a sheet metal business at 
Lynn, and continued there until he was 
twenty-one years of age. 

In 1894 Mr. Roland married Mary 
Chenowith, daughter of Murray and Sep- 
reta (Cadwallader) Chenowith, of Ran- 
dolph County. Mr. and Mrs. Roland have 
four children : Frances Leta, who is mar- 
ried and has a daughter named Mary El- 
len ; Robert J., born in 1900, who in 1918 
was a member of the Students Army 
Training Corps at Purdue University; 
Helen, born in 1905; and Ruth, born in 
1908. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1603 



After his marriage Mr. Roland engaged 
in the sheet metal business at Union City 
on his own account. In 1898 he moved to 
Richmond, and for four years worked at 
his trade for Miller Brothers, then for a 
year and a half was manager of the stove 
department of the Jones Hardware Com- 
pany, and for two years owned a half in- 
terest in the firm of Johnson & Roland. 
He then bought a hardware store at Win- 
chester, Indiana, conducted it two years, 
and continued a sheet metal shop at that 
town until he returned to Richmond in 
1911. Here he engaged in the sheet metal 
business with H. E. Morrman, the part- 
nership continuing three years and for 
about a year his partner was R. J. Behr- 
inger, under the name of Roland & Behr- 
inger. He bought his partner's interests, 
and after being alone in the business for 
four years sold a half interest to L. W. 
Beach, which made the present firm of 
Roland & Beach. Mr. Roland is a repub- 
lican and a member of the First Christian 
Church. 

Leslie W. Beach, of the firm Roland & 
Beach, heating and sheet metal works con- 
tractors at Richmond, has been in busi- 
ness in Indiana in different lines for the 
greater part of his life, and is well known 
in several communities of the state. 

He was born at Norborne in Carroll 
County, Missouri, in 1875, son of George 
P. and Alice (Shaw) Beach. He is of 
English ancestry, and most of the Beach 
family have been professional men. His 
father, however, was a farmer and had 
eighty acres in central Missouri. He died 
January 10, 1919, and the mother is still 
living at the old home. 

Leslie W. Beach was the youngest in a 
family of six children, four sisters and 
two brothers. He attended country 
schools, worked on the farm in summers, 
and spent three months in the high school 
at Spiceland, in Henry County, Indiana. 
Then after another year on the home farm 
he engaged in the livery business at Spice- 
land as a member of the firm of Beach & 
Pierson. This was a profitable experience 
but at the end of three years he sold out 
to his partner, and the next eight months 
lived at Elwood, Indiana, and wrote in- 
surance for the Prudential Life Assurance 
Company. In the meantime he took a busi- 
ness course in the Elwood Business College, 



pfter which for ten months he was book- 
keeper for the Elwood Furniture Com- 
pany, then for three years was bookkeeper 
and cashier with the Elwood Lumber Com- 
pany. 

In 1903 Mr. Beach married Miss Leonora 
Griffin, daughter of Joseph and Mary 
(Brenneman) Griffin, of Spiceland. They 
have one child, Corwin, born in 1908. After 
his marriage Mr. Beach moved to New- 
castle and was employed as bookkeeper and 
cashier for the C. C. Thompson Lumber 
Company six years. The next three years 
lie spent as sales representative in north- 
ern Indiana and southern Michigan for 
the South Bend Sash and Door Company. 
Mr. Beach removed to Richmond in 1915, 
hnd for two years was estimator for the 
Richmond Lumber Company. He then 
bought a half interest in the Charles W. 
Roland Plumbing and Heating Company, 
at which time the firm was organized as 
Roland & Beach, heating contractors and 
sheet metal works. They do an extensive 
business over western Ohio and Indiana, 
and have installed many large contracts. 
The firm are agents for the Front Rank 
Steel Furnace Company of St. Louis. 

Mr. Beach is a member of the First 
Christian Church and is affiliated with 
the Lodge of Masons at Spiceland. In 
politics he is a republican. 

Oliver Hampton Smith became a resi- 
dent of Indiana in 1817, and was admitted 
to the practice of law in 1820. He attained 
high rank in his profession, and after rep- 
resenting the state in the Legislature and 
Congress he was chosen a United States 
senator in 1836, as a whig. On retiring 
from that office he located at Indianapolis, 
and was afterward largely engaged in rail- 
road enterprises, he having been the chief 
factor in the construction of the Indian- 
apolis and Bellefontaine road. 

Mr. Smith, who was born on Smith's Is- 
land, near Trenton, New Jersey, in 1794, 
died in Indianapolis in 1859. 

Charles P. Lesh came to Indianapolis 
in 1878, at the age of nineteen, and his 
first business experience, with the old In- 
dianapolis Sentinel and later with a book 
and stationery house, doubtless gave him 
his insight into and prepared the way for 
his permanent career, which has been as a 
paper merchant and dealer. Mr. Lesh is 



1604 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



founder and for many years has been presi- 
dent of the C. P. Lesh Paper Company. 

He was born at Kankakee, Illinois, May 
13, 1859, son of Dr. Daniel and Charlotte 
(Perry) Lesh. His father, who for a num- 
ber of years was one of the representative 
physicians and surgeons of Indianapolis, 
was born on a farm near Eaton, Ohio, 
February 23, 1828. He acquired a good 
education and sound training in prepara- 
tion for his career, and in 1855 he married 
Charlotte Perry, a native of Butler Coun- 
ty, Ohio. Thev had only two children, 
Carrie C. and Charles P. In 1857 Doctor 
Lesh removed to Kankakee, Illinois, but 
about the beginning of the Civil war re- 
turned to Ohio. In August, 1862, he en- 
listed for three years in Company C of 
the Fiftieth Regular Ohio Volunteer In- 
fantry. He was promoted to sergeant in 
October, 1862, and was on detached duty 
in Cincinnati until his honorable discharge 
on account of physical disability in 1864. 
In the fall of that year he removed to Rich- 
mond, Indiana, practiced there until 1870, 
then at New Paris, Ohio, and in 1878 came 
to Indianapolis, where he handled a grow- 
ing business as a physician until 1894. 
Impaired health then caused him to move 
to California, but eventually he returned 
to Richmond, Indiana, where he died De- 
cember 18, 1901. He had high ability in 
his profession, and won the love and re- 
spect of several communities because of his 
self-sacrificing work among his patients. 
He was a friend of humanity, an active 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and after retiring from professional work 
gave much of his time to the church. He 
was a member of the Grand Army of the 
Republic and the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. His wife died October 16, 
1881, at Indianapolis, and both were laid 
to rest in the cemetery at Eaton, Ohio. 

Charles P. Lesh was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of Richmond, Indiana, and New 
Paris, Ohio. On coming to Indianapolis 
in 1878 he spent two years with the Sen- 
tinel Publishing Company, following which 
he was a clerk with the book and stationery 
firm of Merrill, Hubbard & Company, and 
from that entered the employ of the In- 
diana Paper Company. During the nine 
years of his service with this company he 
studied every detail of the business, and 
laid a careful and well considered founda- 
tion for his permanent business career. 



Later for a time he was the Indianapolis 
representative of the Lewis Snyder's Sons 
Paper Company of Cincinnati. 

In May, 1896, Mr. Lesh engaged in the 
wholesale paper business on his own ac- 
count, organizing and incorporating the 
C. P. Lesh Paper Company. He has been 
president of this concern ever since. The 
company is one of the largest distributors 
of paper throughout the State of Indiana, 
and occupies main offices and warehouse 
quarters in Indianapolis, the offices being 
at 121 to 125 Kentucky Avenue. 

While essentially a business man, Mr. 
Lesh has been generous of his influence and 
means in promoting everything that is 
helpful to Indianapolis as a civic and social 
center. He and his family are active mem- 
bers of the Meridian Street Methodist 
Episcopal Church, in politics he is a re- 
publican, and is one of the honored Masons 
of the city, being affiliated with Mystic 
Tie Lodge No. 398, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of which he is past master, 
Keystone Chapter No. 6, Royal Arch 
Masons, Raper Commandery No. . 1, 
Knights Templars, and Indiana Consis- 
tory of the Scottish Rite. 

June 15, 1892, Mr. Lesh married Miss 
Ora Wilkins. Three children have been 
born to their marriage. Charlotte B., Perry 
W. and Helen L. Perry W. Lesh enlisted 
July 26, 1917, in Battery A, One Hundred 
and Fiftieth Field Artillery, Rainbow 
Division. He landed in France October 
31, 1917, and spent nine months with that 
division at the front. He fought in Cham- 
pagne, second battle of the Marne; St. 
Mihiel and in Argonne and is now in Army 
of the Occupation at Neuenahr, Germany. 

Mrs. Lesh is a daughter of John A. and 
Lavina (King) Wilkins. Her father was 
born at Indianapolis May 6, 1836, and her 
mother in Washington County, Indiana, 
January 1, 1840. Her paternal grand- 
parents were John and Eleanor (Brouse) 
Wilkins. John Wilkins was born in the 
Shenandoah Valley of Virginia in 1797, 
and in May, 1821, came from Ohio to 
Marion County, Indiana, and established 
his home here at the very beginning of the 
history of Indianapolis as the capital city. 
He was well known in pioneer business ac- 
tivities, and for years was associated with 
Daniel Yandes in the operation of the first 
tannery in the city. He and his wife 
were charter members of the Roberts 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1605 



Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church. He 
was also one of the first trustees of Asbury, 
now DePauw University, serving from 
1839 until 1868. John Wilkins died in 
July, 1868, and his wife in 1889. 

John A. Wilkins, father of Mrs. Lesh, 
was as prominent in his generation in In- 
dianapolis business affairs as his father had 
been in the pioneer epoch. For many 
years he was senior member of the firm of 
Wilkins & Hall, furniture manufacturers. 
He was a stockholder and for a number of 
years before his death secretary of the 
National Accident Association. He died 
at Indianapolis December 26, 1906. He 
was one of the organizers of the Ames In- 
stitute, which afterwards became the 
Young Men's Christian Association of In- 
dianapolis. He became well known in 
army circles. September 6, 1861, he en- 
listed in the Thirty-Third Indiana Volun- 
teer Infantry, was made quartermaster's 
sergeant and November 23, 1863, was com- 
missioned first lieutenant and regimental 
quartermaster of the Thirty-Third Regi- 
ment. He resigned October 4, 1864. More 
than thirty years later, when the Spanish- 
American War was in progress, he was 
appointed chief clerk in the Quarter- 
master's Department at Jefferson Bar- 
racks in St. Louis, Missouri. He was offi- 
cially honored in the George H. Thomas 
Post, Grand Army of the Republic. He 
was a charter member of the Robert Chapel 
Sunday School and for twenty-eight years 
was steward of Robert Park Methodist 
Church. 

i 

Lilburn Howard Van Briggle, of In- 
dianapolis, is a lawyer by profession, but 
on the basis of his achievements to date 
and the promise for the future is likely 
to be better known as an inventor and 
manufacturer. He had two brothers in 
the great war and his own inventive genius 
supplied the government with some of the 
most perfect appliances to airplane manu- 
facture. Mr. Van Briggle is president 
of the Van Briggle Motor Device Com- 
panv. manufacturers of the Van Briggle 
Carburetor and other motor devices, in- 
cluding a shock absorber. 

Mr. Van Briggle was born on a farm in 
Tipton County, Indiana, in 1880, son of 
Ira and Mary Elizabeth (Cox) Van Brig- 
gle. His mother is still living. Both 
parents were born in Indiana. The Van 



Briggles are of Holland Dutch and French 
ancestry. Mr. Van Briggle 's paternal 
grandfather, Rev. Joseph D. Van Briggle, 
is a venerable Baptist minister, now living 
at Helena, Arkansas, more than ninety 
years of age. The maternal grandmother 
of Mr. Van Briggle was a first cousin of 
the late vice president Thomas A. Hen- 
dricks of Indianapolis. Mr. Van Briggle 's 
two brothers who were in the army are 
Elza D., with the Twentieth Engineers 
and Joseph W., with the Forty-First En- 
gineers. 

Lilburn H. Van Briggle acquired his 
early education in district schools. After 
leaving the farm he worked for several 
years in his father's machine shop. Later 
in Arkansas he learned the brass and iron 
molding trade. For a time he was em- 
ployed by the Fairbanks-Morse Company 
in installing gasoline engines. 

In the intervals of this work and ex- 
perience he secured a higher education. 
He worked his way through the Short- 
ridge High School at Indianapolis and for 
eight years he attended night school. Mr. 
Van Briggle graduated from the Indianap- 
olis Law College in 1907, and in the same 
year began the practice of law. He is 
still a member of the bar of the city, 
having office with Judge U. Z. Wiley in 
the Fletcher Savings & Trust Building. 
However, he has about given up his prac- 
tice to devote his entire time to building 
up the great industry in the manufacture 
of the Van Briggle carburetor and other 
motor devices of his own invention. 

Mr. Van Briggle became interested in 
carburetors in the fall of 1914. He per- 
fected a carburetor which is still one of 
the models manufactured by his company, 
and applied for patent June 23, 1915, the 
patent being granted June 20, 1916. A 
second patent on carburetors was granted 
July 23, 1918. The Van Briggle Motor 
Device Company was incorporated August 
14, 1915, with an authorized capital of 
.$300,000. The factory and office are in 
Indianapolis. While there were many 
types of carburetor on the market before 
Mr. Van Briggle entered the field, he dis- 
covered and adapted and perfected en- 
tirely new principles of carburetion, and 
the carburetors have had wide applica- 
tion to all types of motor vehicles. But 
the culminating test of efficiency came when 
the Van Briggle carburetor was adapted 



1606 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



for several types of the war planes manu- 
factured for the United States Govern- 
ment. 

Mr. Van Briggle has also been connected 
with the business and civic affairs in In- 
dianapolis. He helped organize and is a 
director of the E. G. Spink Building Com- 
pany, builders of several large flat build- 
ings in Indianapolis. He is vice president 
of the John H. Larrison Brick Company. 
At one time he took a prominent part in 
politics. In 1912 he was candidate for 
state senator on the progressive ticket, 
and in 1913 was candidate of the same 
party for city judge. He is a republican, 
and a member of the Masonic Order, the 
Optimist Club and the Columbia Club. 

Mr. Van Briggle married Miss Frances 
Mary Stephenson, of Indianapolis. They 
have three children: Elizabeth Jane, Tur- 
ley Frank and Howard Henry. 

John N. Hurty, M. D. In any conven- 
tion of American public health officials and 
workers a place of special distinction is 
accorded to Dr. John N. Hurty by reason 
of his long and enviable service as State 
Health Commissioner of Indiana. Long 
before the public health movement received 
such general approbation and recognition 
as is now accorded it Doctor Hurty was 
quietly and efficiently going ahead with his 
dirties in his home state at safeguarding 
the health and welfare of his fellow citi- 
zens. He has done much to break down 
the barriers of prejudice which have inter- 
fered with regulations for health and sani- 
tation, and has seriously discharged his 
duties whenever and wherever occasion re- 
quired and has constantly exercised his 
personal influence and his official prestige 
to spread the campaign for better sanitary 
conditions and educate the people in gen- 
eral to the necessity of such precautions. 

Doctor Hurty has spent most of his life 
in Indiana but was born at Lebanon, Ohio, 
February 21, 1852. He was the fourth 
among the five children of Professor Josiah 
and Anne I. (Walker) Hurty. His father 
was of German and his mother of English 
lineage, and both were born in New York 
and were married at Rochester. Josiah 
Hurty was an educator by profession and 
for many years carried on his worthy work 
in Indiana, He first moved to Ohio but in 
1855 located at Richmond, Indiana, and 
was the first superintendent of the public 



schools in that city. He was afterwards 
successively superintendent of schools at 
Liberty, North Madison, Rising Sun and 
Lawrenceburg. For the purpose of re- 
cuperating his health he finally went to 
the State of Mississippi, where he died at 
the age of seventy-five. His wife passed 
away at seventy-nine in 1881. Josiah 
Hurty was a Mason, a republican, and he 
and his wife were active in the Presby- 
terian Church. 

In the several towns where his father's 
vocation identified the family residence 
Doctor Hurty was educated in the public 
schools. In 1872 he completed one year of 
study in the Philadelphia College of Phar- 
macy and Chemistry. He became founder 
of the School of Pharmacy of Purdue Uni- 
versity at Lafayette, and was its head for 
two years. Doctor Hurty was honored 
with the degree Doctor of Pharamacy by 
Purdue in 1881. 

From pharmacy he turned his attention 
to the study of medicine, at first at Jef- 
ferson Medical College at Philadelphia and 
later in the Medical College of Indiana at 
Indianapolis, where he graduated M. D. 
in 1891. Since 1897 he has occupied the 
Chair of Hygiene and Sanitary Science in 
the Medical College of Indiana, the medi- 
cal department of Indiana University. In 
1894, without solicitation or suggestion on 
his part, Doctor Hurty was appointed sec- 
retary of the Indiana State Board of 
Health. The position at the time he was 
appointed was regarded as one of pre- 
functory duties and performance, and it 
was left to Doctor Hurty to vitalize the 
office and make it a medium of effective 
service to the entire state. Doctor Hurty 
superintended the hygienic exhibits at the 
Louisiana Purchase Exposition in St. Louis, 
and was largely responsible for making 
that exhibit a source of .education and in- 
struction to the many thousands of people 
who attended the exposition. 

Doctor Hurty is a member of the Ameri- 
can Medical Association, the American 
Public Health Association, the American 
Association for the Advancement of 
Science, the American Pharmaceutical As- 
sociation, the Indiana State Medical Asso- 
ciation, which he served as vice president 
in 1911, and the Indianapolis Medical So- 
ciety. Every school in Indiana is familiar 
with his hygienic text book entitled "Life 
with Health." He has contributed many 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1607 



articles, particularly on his special field, to 
medical journals and other periodicals. 

Doctor Hurty is a republican in his 
political affiliations, but he has never re- 
garded his public services as political or 
in any way connected with parties. 

October 25, 1877, he married Miss Ethel 
Johnstone, daughter of Dr. John F. John- 
stone. She was born and reared in Indian- 
' apolis. Their two children are Gilbert J. 
and Anne M. Hurty. 

William D. Allison's prominent part 
in Indiana business affairs has been taken 
as a manufacturer of furniture specially 
designed to equip physicians' offices, and 
he has built up one of the major industries 
of Indianapolis in that line. His services 
in various appointive and illustrative 
offices of trust have also kept his name be- 
fore public attention. 

William David Allison was born in Coles 
County, Illinois, February 10, 1854. His 
ancestors came from County Donegal, Ire- 
land. Some time after the Revolution 
they came to America and in 1785 settled 
in Mecklenberg County, North Carolina. 
Mr. Allison's grandfather left North Caro- 
lina in 1825, moved over the mountains in- 
to Tennessee, and in 1834 located with his 
family in Coles County, Illinois. William 
David Allison is a son of Andrew H. and 
Hannah E. Allison. His father died in 
November, 1864, but his mother is still liv- 
ing and is now past ninety-five, and at this 
writing was in fairly good health and, 
more remarkable still, has perfect use of 
all her faculties. 

William D. Allison was educated at Lees 
Academy in Coles County and in the Uni- 
versity of Wisconsin at Madison. His first 
business experience was selling pianos and 
organs, but in 1884 he set up a shop and 
began in a small and somewhat experi- 
mental way the manufacture of physicians' 
furniture. He has kept the business grow- 
ing, its facilities enlarging, the standard 
of his product at a high point, and today 
the Allison special furniture is recognized 
for its quality and is in demand as part of 
the necessary equipment of all up-to-date 
physician's offices. 

Mr. Allison is a republican, has served 
as a director of the Indianapolis Com- 
mercial Club and is now a member of the 
Indiana State Council of Defense. In 1907 
Governor Hanley appointed him a trustee 



of the Indiana Reformatory at Jefferson- 
ville, and he filled that office four years. 
In November, 1917, he was elected to the 
office of school commissioner for four years 
beginning January 1, 1920. 

Mr. Allison is a member of the Chamber 
of Commerce, the Board of Trade, the 
Hoosier Motor Club, the Rotary Club, the 
Columbia Club, is a Scottish and York 
Rite Mason, a member of Oriental Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and is affiliated 
with the Mystic Shrine. He and his fam- 
ily worship at the Memorial Presbyterian 
Church. October 11, 1882, at Charleston, 
Illinois, Mr. Allison married Mary Mar- 
garet Robbins. They have five children: 
Frances L., wife of F. A. Preston; Lila E., 
wife of Dr. C. D. Humes; Charles W., who 
married Hazel Lathrop ; Ruth H., and 
Mary Aline. 

John G. Wood since he graduated with 
the degree Mechanical Engineer from Pur- 
due University ten years ago has been one 
of the very busy professional men of In- 
diana, and while he began at the very 
bottom in a workman 's overalls, his present 
position and responsibilities are such as 
to place him high among the industrial en- 
gineers of the country. 

For the past five years Mr. Wood has 
been identified with the Remy Electric 
Company of Anderson, and is now general 
manager of that nationally known corpora- 
tion. He was born in Indianapolis August 
6, 1883, and is of Scotch-English stock and 
comes of a family of business men. His 
parents were Horace F. and Rose A. 
(Graham) Wood. His great-grandfather, 
John Wood, was a pioneer Indianapolis 
business man. At one time he operated a 
stage line over the old National Road be- 
tween Greenville and Indianapolis. He 
also had in connection a livery barn located 
on the "Circle" at Indianapolis. His son, 
John Wood, followed the same business, 
and spent his life at Indianapolis, where he 
died in 1898. Horace F. Wood followed 
in the footsteps of his father and grand- 
father, but in his time the automobile in- 
vaded the province formerly occupied by 
horse drawn vehicles, and he is now in 
the automobile business at Indianapolis. 

John G. Wood attended grammar and 
high school at Indianapolis, also the In- 
dianapolis Academy, and for his profes- 
sional and technical training entered Le- 



1608 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



land Stanford University in California. He 
pursued the course towards the degree of 
Mechanical Engineer from 1902 to 1906, 
and in the latter year his university work 
was interrupted by the great San Fran- 
cisco fire and earthquake. Returning to 
Indiana, he continued his studies in Pur- 
due University, and in 1907 graduated 
with the degrees A. B. and M. E. He is 
a member of the Phi Kappa Psi college 
fraternity. 

While he possessed a college degree and 
had several years of practical and theoret- 
ical experience in shops and laboratories, 
Mr. Wood chose to enter industry at the 
very bottom. During the first year he 
carried a dinner pail and worked at 17 ^ 
cents an hour with the National Motor 
Vehicle Company at Indianapolis. He was 
then promoted to the drafting room and 
subsequently for three years was chief en- 
gineer with the Empire Motor Company 
and for another period of three years was 
general manager of the Indiana Die Cast- 
ings Company. 

Mr. Wood's services were acquired by 
the Remy Electric Company of Anderson 
in 1913. He served as assistant to the 
president, S. A. Fletcher, until 1917, since 
which time he has been general manager. 
He is also vice president of the Indiana 
Die Casting Company of Indianapolis and 
is one of the directors of the National 
Motor Vehicle Company and is consulting 
engineer for the Stenotype Company of 
Indianapolis. In August, 1918, he became 
the president of the Midwest Engine Com- 
pany of Indianapolis, the new company 
having been formed by a merger of the 
Lyons Atlas Company of Indianapolis and 
the Hill Pump Company of Anderson. 

Mr. Wood is not only a thorough tech- 
nical man but has given much attention 
to the scientific side of business manage- 
ment and especially to the chart system 
of factory management. He is unmarried. 
At Anderson he holds membership in the 
Chamber of Commerce, the Anderson 
Country Club, is a member of the Colum- 
bia Club of Indianapolis, of the Society 
of Automotive Engineers of America, and 
is a member of the Presbyterian Church 
and a republican voter. 

Edgar H. Evans. For upwards of half 
a century the name of Evans in Indianap- 
olis has been prominently associated with 



the milling industry, and some of the big- 
gest and best flour mills in the state have 
been developed through the activities of 
these masters of flour manufacture. 

George T. Evans was in the milling busi- 
ness at Indianapolis for nearly fifty years. 
In 1861 he managed the Capitol Mills on 
Market Street west of the State House. 
In 1878 he became associated with the 
Hoosier Flour Mills, the logical successor 
of the first flouring mill established in In- 
dianapolis, which was a grist mill built 
by Isaac Wilson in 1821. It was a water 
mill, situated on Walnut Street near the 
present site of the City Hospital. In the 
early '50s Samuel J. Patterson, a son-in- 
law of Isaac Wilson, associated with James 
Blake and James M. Ray, moved the busi- 
ness of the old grist mill to the National 
Road and White River, building a new 
mill, also a water mill, known as the 
Hoosier State Flour Mill. In 1864 this 
was torn down and the present brick struc- 
ture erected in its place, steam power being 
later added. At that time its owners were 
C. E. and J. C. Geisendorff, who were 
succeeded in the Seventies by D. A. Rich- 
ardson & Company, and in 1881 by Rich- 
ardson & Evans. 

In 1893 the business became George T. 
Evans & Son. This firm developed the 
Hoosier Mill from a 200 barrel mill to a 
1,000 barrel daily capacity. This partner- 
ship was consolidated in 1909 with the 
Acme Milling Company, owning two large 
flour mills, under the name of Acme-Evans 
Company, the president being George T. 
Evans, who was then recognized as In- 
diana's foremost miller. 

Edgar H. Evans succeeded to the presi- 
dency of the Acme-Evans Company on the 
death of his father in the latter part of 
1909. A new era in the milling business 
was gradually developed, Mill B being con- 
verted into a corn, meal and stock feed 
mill, and the flour mills being gradually 
improved and enlarged. 

In October, 1917, the largest mill, Mill 
A, was completely destroyed by fire. It 
was immediately decided to rebuild and 
about a year later Mill C was completed. 
It is a concrete structure, nine stories high, 
with a capacity of 2,000 barrels of flour 
daily, and a concrete grain storage for 
nearly 300,000 bushels, all representing the 
last word in milling construction. It is 
not only the largest and best mill in In- 






& 




INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1609 



diana, but has been called the best mill in 
the world. 

Edgar H. Evans was born at Saratoga 
Springs, New York, July 18, 1870. He 
was educated in the public schools of In- 
dianapolis, graduating from the City High 
School in 1888 and from Wabash College 
with the A. B. degree in 1892. His alma 
mater conferred upon him the Masters of 
Arts degree in 1906. Mr. Evans has de- 
voted himself largely to milling, in which 
he is everywhere recognized as a past 
master. He is also president of the In- 
dianapolis Elevator Company, and is in- 
terested in the management of two other 
companies. For one year he was presi- 
dent and two years vice president of the 
Board of Trade, being now a member of 
its board of governors. He was also a 
director for a term in the Chamber of Com- 
merce and is a member of the Chicago 
Board of Trade, the St. Louis Merchanls 
Exchange, and the National Chamber of 
Commerce. 

Mr. Evans is a republican of progressive 
tendencies, is an elder of the Tabernacle 
Presbyterian Church, a trustee of Wabash 
College, a director of the Indianapolis 
Young Men's Christian Association and 
a trustee of the Indianapolis Young 
Women's Christian Association. He be- 
longs to the University, Country and 
Woodstock clubs, the Dramatic Club and 
the Contemporary Club. In 1899 he mar- 
ried Miss Ella L. Malott, They have two 
daughters, Eleanor and Mary. 

Hon. Charles Monroe Fortune, whose 
services both as a lawyer and former cir- 
cuit judge at Terre Haute have made his 
name familiar throughout the state, is an 
Indianan whose distinctions have been in 
every case worthily earned. As a young 
man he was not unacquainted with hard- 
whip and with honest manual toil, and he 
knows how to appreciate and sympathize 
with all classes and conditions of men. 

Judge Fortune was born in Vigo County, 
Indiana, on a farm, November 25, 1870. 
His grandfather, Zachariah Fortune, was 
an early settler in Meigs County, Ohio, 
where Henry Cole Fortune, father of 
Judge Fortune, was bom in 1831. Henry 
Cole Fortune married in Mason County, 
West Virginia, Frances Howell, who was 
born in that countv in 1838. Her father, 



Nelson Howell, went as a soldier in the 
Civil war and lost his life in battle. 

Henry C. Fortune came into the Wabash 
Valley during the '50s, and while the Civd 
war was in progress he operated as a con- 
tractor a ferry on the Wabash River at 
Darwin, Illinois. In 1869 he bought a 
farm of 170 acres in Prairie Creek Town- 
ship of Vigo County, and subsequently op- 
erated another farm which he owned in 
Clark County, Illinois. He died at his 
home in Clai-k County in July, 1883. His 
widow survived him until February 28, 
1907. They were the parents of nine chil- 
dren, seven of whom reached maturity and 
two are now living, DeKalb, a farmer in 
Prairie Creek Township of Vigo County, 
and Judge Fortune. 

Judge Fortune was the youngest of 
seven sons. He was only twelve years of 
age when his father died, and that event 
in the family history caused him to come 
face to face with the serious responsibili- 
ties of life, and he had to do his own 
thinking and at an early age was earning 
his own living. At the age of sixteen he 
left the home farm, where he had acquired 
most of his schooling, and for two years 
he worked as a hand in a factory at Terre 
Haute. Later as a clerk he worked at the 
watchmaker 's trade, and while that gave 
him employment for his daylight hours he 
spent the evenings in the study of law. In 
1898 he entered the law office of Cox & 
Davis at Terre Haute, and after three 
years passed a successful examination be- 
fore the examining committee of the local 
bar association. Forthwith he entered 
upon an active practice in 1901, and for 
1 hree years was associated with Judge 
James H. Swango. In November, 1905, 
Mr. Fortune accepted the democratic nom- 
ination for the office of city judge. It was 
popularly understood that this was only 
a nominal honor, since Terre Haute was a 
stronghold of republicanism, and it was 
with gratified surprise on the part of his 
friends and party associates and with con- 
siderable consternation in the opposite 
camp that he was elected by a majority of 
seventy votes. Judge Fortune entered upon 
his duties as city judge in January, 1906, 
and served thirty-three months. He re- 
signed to take up his duties as judge of 
the Vigo Circuit Court, to which he was 
elected on the democratic ticket by the 



1610 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



largest majority ever given a circuit judge 
in that district. 

Judge Fortune was on the Circuit bench 
six years. In that time he handled on the 
average 1,500 cases every year, and with- 
out reviewing his judicial career here it is 
sufficient to say that among all that great 
number of decisions which he rendered only 
five cases were appealed, and there was 
only one reversal by higher courts. It was 
Judge Fortune who more than any other 
individual led the movement in Terre 
Haute which brought about not only re- 
form in local politics but gave a decided 
impetus to political reform throughout the 
nation, when a large group of prominent 
Terre Haute men were indicted and tried 
in the Federal Courts. 

Judge Fortune has long been prominent 
in local fraternities at Terre Haute, being 
a member of the Young Men's Institute 
and Knights of Columbus No. 541, is a 
member of the Commercial and the Young 
Men's Business clubs, and in his profession 
and in his capacity as a private citizen has 
found many ways to indulge a practical 
philanthropy in behalf of many worthy 
persons and causes. 

Judge Fortune first married, March 18, 
1897, Myrtle L. Sparks, who died the same 
year. She was well known in literary 
circles in Terre Haute and a number of 
her verses which were first published in 
the old Terre Haute Express were after- 
ward put into book form. In July, 1911, 
Judge Fortune married Gertrude Maison, 
a native of Terre Haute and a daughter of 
A. W. and Caroline (Myer) Maison. 

Caleb Blood Smith was a native of 
Boston, Massachusetts, born April 16, 1808, 
but at the early age of six years he went 
with his parents to Ohio. He received his 
professional training in Cincinnati, and in 
Connersville, Indiana, being admitted to 
the bar in 1828, and he began practice at 
Connersville. 

Mr. Smith served several terms in the 
Indiana Legislature, was elected to Con- 
gress as a whig in 1843-9, and he returned 
to the practice of law in 1850, first in Con- 
nersville and later in Indianapolis. Mr. 
Smith was influential in securing the nomi- 
nation of Abraham Lincoln for the presi- 
dency, and was appointed by him secretary 
of the interior in 1861. He resigned that 
office to become United States circuit judge 



for Indiana. The death of Caleb B. Smith 
occurred in Indianapolis in 1864. 

John Jennings. For nearly a century 
the family of Jennings have lived in 
Marion County, where in an unobtrusive 
way they have been identified with the ma- 
terial welfare of the community and with 
its best civic interests and ideals. Many 
of the older citizens of Indianapolis still 
remember kindly and gratefully the late 
John Jennings, who died at his winter 
home in Mobile, Alabama, in November 
30, 1907. 

He was a son of Allen Jennings, a na- 
tive of Virginia, who first came to In- 
diana the same year the state was ad- 
mitted to the Union, in 1816. His pur- 
pose in coming into this trackless wilder- 
ness was to seek a home where land was 
abundant and cheap and where practically 
unlimited opportunities existed for the 
future. The place he selected was at 
Bridgeport in Marion County. The capital 
of Indianapolis had not yet been selected 
and Marion County was far out on the 
very frontier of civilization. Having made 
his tour of Indiana Allen Jennings re- 
turned to Virginia, where in 1818 he mar- 
ried Eleanor Thornbrough. In 1820 he 
brought his bride and took up his per- 
manent home at Bridgeport. The work of 
the pioneer is often unappreciated because 
of the very fact it must necessarily be done 
somewhat remote from other human so- 
ciety and in a quiet, inconspicuous way 
that does not lend itself readily to the field 
of heroic description. It was the life of 
the pioneer, filled with all its adversities 
and wild attractiveness, that Alien Jen- 
nings lived for over forty years in Indiana. 
He died in 1864. His wife passed away 
in 1849. They were the parents of five 
sons and five daughters. 

John Jennings was born on the old Jen- 
nings homestead in Pike Township of 
Marion County June 27, 1837. He lived to 
be a little more than three score and ten 
years of age. As a boy he helped grub, 
clear, plant and reap, as was customary 
for the farmer's son of that time. As op- 
portunity afforded he attended the neigh- 
boring district school. In young manhood 
he began an extremely active career by be- 
coming a merchant at Augusta. Later he 
was a merchant at Trader's Point in Pike 
Township, where with an associate he built 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1611 



and operated a burr water power flour 
mill. He also bought livestock extensively. 
These activities made him widely known. 
In the livestock business he was associated 
with the well known Indiana packers Kin- 
gan & Company. In 1870 Mr. Jennings 
moved to Oswego, Kansas, where for five 
years he operated a pork packing estab- 
lishment. Later, on his return to Indian- 
apolis, he was in the general contracting 
business and finally moved to Grand 
Tower, Illinois, on the Mississippi River, 
where he operated a general store and 
bought livestock. In a business way he 
was fairly successful, and personally pos- 
sessed many sterling qualities that made 
him an object of universal esteem. He was 
a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
a republican voter. 

His first wife, whom he married March 
31, 1859, was Martha McCurdy. David 
McCurdy, her father, was born in Ireland, 
was brought to America when young, and 
from New York State moved to Marion 
County, Indiana, in 1818, being one of the 
very first settlers there. John and Martha 
Jennings had five children: David, now 
a resident of Arizona ; Albert, deceased ; 
Conrad and Augustus, who constitute the 
present real estate firm of Jennings 
Brothers of Indianapolis; and Martha, 
wife of John P. Howard, of Marion Coun- 
ty. Of the Jennings brothers Augustus 
is the only one who married. June 12, 
1895, he married Miss Katherine Broun- 
ley, who died June 11, 1918. John Jen- 
nings married for his second wife Mrs. 
Laura (Reagan) Wallace. 

Hugh Alvin Cowing, M. D. A mem- 
ber of the medical professional in Dela- 
ware County since 1890, the name of Doc- 
tor Cowing is sufficiently associated with 
able and skillful service and with high 
attainments to give him rank among the 
foremost physicians and surgeons of the 
state. Apart from his own valuable work 
and citizenship he represents a family 
name that everywhere is spoken with the 
respect it deserves in this part of Indiana. 

He is a grandson of Joseph and Rachel 
(Horner) Cowing and is a son of Gran- 
ville and Lucy (Moran) Cowing. The life 
of Granville Cowing covered nearly a cen- 
tury. He was born near the Town of 
"Weston in Lewis County, in what is now 
"West Virginia, March 1, 1824, and he was 



taken in 1830 by his parents to Fairfield, 
Ohio. It indicates something of his in- 
tellectual gifts when it is stated that before 
this removal he had learned to read under 
private instruction at home. During his 
youthful days he served an apprenticeship 
at the printing and newspaper business, and 
came to the maturity of his powers as a 
journalist in the critical period of the na- 
tion's history covering the growing hostil- 
ity to the institutions of slavery. In 1849 
he went to Washington, D. C, and spent 
a year with the National Era, at that 
time one of the strongest anti-slavery 
papers of the country. In the fall of 1850 
he was appointed to a position in the sec- 
ond auditor's office of the treasury depart- 
ment, and remained in the national capi- 
tal for six years. On account of failing 
health in the beginning of 1857 he returned 
to Indiana, and soon afterward settled up- 
on a farm close to the City of Muncie, 
where he lived until his death, December 
20, 1917. Though his later 'years were 
spent in the modest occupation of farm- 
ing and fruit culture, he always mani- 
fested a keen interest in politics and great 
social questions, and frequently contrib- 
uted articles from his forceful pen to mag- 
azines and newspapers. 

On the old home farm near Muncie, a 
place originally acquired by his grand- 
father and so long occupied by his father, 
Doctor Cowing was born July 28, 1860. 
He was educated in the common schools, 
graduated from the Muncie High School 
in 1882, and had already begun teaching, 
a vocation he followed for eight years, un- 
til 1887. In 1886 Doctor Cowing took up 
the study of medicine under Dr. G. W. H. 
Kemper of Muncie. Later he attended lec- 
tures at the Miami Medical College in 
Cincinnati and was granted his M. D. de- 
gree March 11, 1890. On the 24th of the 
same month he began a partnership with 
Doctor Kemper at Muncie, and they were 
associated until 1897. 

Doctor Cowing served as secretary in 
1893 and president in 1906 of the Dela- 
ware County Medical Society. He has al- 
ways been a leader in medical organiza- 
tions and in public health movements. He 
is a member of the Indiana State Medical 
Association, the American Medical Asso- 
ciation and the American Public Health 
Association. In 1908 was a member of the 
Indiana State Committee of the Inter- 



1612 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



national Congress on Tuberculosis, and for 
twenty-three years served as secretary of 
the Delaware County Board of Health. 

In April, 1917, Doctor Cowing was ap- 
pointed by Governor Goodrich to serve as 
a member of the State Board of Health 
of Indiana, and the board then elected him 
vice president. He was elected president 
of the board in April, 1919. He has also 
been president of the Delaware County 
Children's Home Association and of the 
Delaware County Board of Children's 
Guardians. 

His individual experience and his serv- 
ices to the medical profession at large are 
well indicated by the following list of his 
contributions to literature : Tobacco ; Its 
Effect upon the Health and Morals of a 
Community ; Diseases of the Cornea ; Para- 
centesis Thoracis published in the Indiana 
Medical Journal of May, 1892; A Case 
of Tetanus; Recovery, in the same journal 
January 1893 ; Fracture of the Skull ; re- 
port of two cases with operation and re- 
covery, June, 1894; report of a case of 
Purpura, Cincinnati Lancet Clinic, Janu- 
ary 27, 1894; history of a smallpox epi- 
demic at Muncie in 1893, and management 
of an outbreak of smallpox, Twelfth An- 
nual Report of the Indiana State Board 
of Health, 1893 ; How Shall we Solve the 
Tuberculosis Problem? 1905; The Adul- 
teration of Food and Drugs, read before 
the Delaware County Medical Society; 
Twins, and their Relation to Obstetric 
Procedures, 1901 ; The Modern Sanatorium 
Treatment of Tuberculosis, 1906, before 
the Indiana State Medical Society ; Shall 
Indiana Improve her Laws to Regulate 
the Practice of Medicine? 1906; The 
Tuberculosis Sanatorium, 1905, read be- 
fore the Health Officers School at Indian- 
apolis ; The Relation of the Physician to 
the Tuberculosis Problem, 1906, before the 
American Public Health Association at 
Asheville, North Carolina; The Hospital 
and the Sanatorium a Necessity in the/ 
Combat of Tuberculosis, 1906 ; and Six 
Hundred Cases of Labor in Private Prac- 
tice, 1907, before the Indiana State Medi- 
cal Society; Need for the Whole-Time 
Health Officer, read before the Annual 
Health Officers Conference, Indiana State 
Board of Health, 1914. 

Doctor Cowing is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. June 23, 
1892, he married Miss Alice E. Frey, of 



Cincinnati. They have two children, Kem- 
per Frey Cowing and Rachel Cowing. His 
son Kemper recently a corporal in the 
Marine Corps, resides in Washington, D. 
C, and is a successful writer. His recent 
book, "Dear Folks at Home," the story 
of the Marines in France, was published 
by Houghton Mifflin Company, Boston, in 
January, 1919. His poem, "When Peace 
Comes," published in The Educator- 
Journal, Indianapolis, January, 1919, has 
received very favorable criticism. 

Rev. John Christopher Peters. One 
of the fine old church congregations of 
Indianapolis is Zion's Evangelical Church, 
around which the spiritual aspirations of 
a large community have rallied for three 
quarters of a century. For almost half 
of this time, since 1883, the pastor and 
spiritual leader has been Rev. John Chris- 
topher Peters. 

He has been a resident of America and 
an American in thought and action since 
young manhood. His birth occurred near 
Halberstadt in Saxony, Germany, Janu- 
ary 21, 1854. His parents were Andreas 
and Sophia (Rohrbeck) Peters. 

The only child of his parents still living, 
John Christopher Peters in early youth 
determined upon a ministerial career, and 
thus, though he was a resident of Ger- 
many, through his twentieth year he was 
exempted from military duty. He attend- 
ed the Mission Seminary in Berlin, and 
after coming to the United States in 1874 
he entered the Pro-seminary of the Evan- 
gelical Synod of North America at Elm- 
hurst,, Illinois. From there he entered 
Eden College, then located about fifty 
miles west of St. Louis, to which city it has 
been removed. Through these advantages 
and having made a favorable impression 
upon the church authorities by his zeal 
and readiness to assume obligation, he was 
sent as a missionary to Pawnee County, 
Nebraska, and Nemaha County, Kansas. 
Among the German families of those coun- 
ties he organized the Salem Evangelical 
Church at Steinauer. His next field of 
labors was at Creston, Iowa, where he or- 
ganized St. John's Evangelical Church. 

His work at Creston has been further 
memorable to him because there he took 
out his first papers in the process of 
qualifying as an American citizen. He 
had been in Indianapolis about three years 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1613 



when, in February, 1886, the last paper 
and proof of his naturalization was made. 

Zion's Evangelical Church, to which Mr. 
Peters came in 1883, was organized in 
1841. The first church edifice was erected 
•at 32 West Ohio Street in 1845. The 
ground cost $750. The second church was 
built on the same lot, but in 1912, when 
the growth of the congregation necessi- 
tated another location and a larger build- 
ing, it was determined to sell the original 
site, which had become valuable for busi- 
ness purposes and brought a price of 
$105,000. Having bought new ground at 
their present location, the congregation 
erected a church costing $138,000, which is 
still one of the better examples of ecclesi- 
astical architecture in the city. 

When Rev. Mr. Peters took charge of 
Zion's Church its membership consisted 
of only sixty-eight soids. Of these six are 
still living. Today this congregation com- 
prises 500 members and is one of the large 
and flourishing churches and an effective 
instrument of good, doing much to build 
and support orphanages and other insti- 
tutions and all causes of worthy benev- 
olence. 

In the thirty-six years of Eev. Mr. 
Peters' pastorate he has officiated at 2,700 
funerals. He is a member of the Deacons' 
Society and is vice president of the Ger- 
man Home for the Aged. He is a pro- 
nounced believer in democratic institu- 
tions, and though he had to learn the 
English language after coming to this 
country he has been more than satisfied 
with the choice which led him here. 

In 1880 Mr. Peters married Marie Nes- 
tel, daughter of Rev. C. Nestel, of Her- 
man, Missouri. Their married companion- 
ship continued for twenty-seven years, un- 
til interrupted by her death in 1907. By 
this marriage Mr. Peters has one child, 
who is now the wife of Rev. P. S. Meyer 
of Bethel Evangelical Church in St. 
Louis. In 1908 Rev. Mr. Peters married 
Elizabeth Unger, who was born in Ger- 
many, daughter of Rev. Herman Unger, 
who during the boyhood of Mr. Peters had 
befriended him in many ways and did 
much to encourage him and direct his 
efforts toward a higher education. 

) 

Arthur A. Alexander. For over fifty 
year Alexander has been one of the promi- 
nent names in the business, financial and 



civic life of Franklin and Johnson County. 
The late Robert A. Alexander was a busi- 
ness man and banker of this city until a 
few years ago, and his son Arthur A. has 
been active both in general business and 
banking for over a quarter of a century. 

The late Robert A. Alexander, who died 
November 21, 1915, established a hardware 
store at Franklin in 1855. For a number 
of years he was vice president of the 
Franklin National Bank, and finally be- 
came president of the Citizens National 
Bank of Franklin, holding that office until 
he was succeeded by his son. He also 
served as a member of the board of direc- 
tors of Franklin College for a number of 
years. Robert A. Alexander, while promi- 
nent in business and a man of large affairs, 
resided in the State of Indiana his entire 
life, where he was born and where he died, 
but he traveled extensively. He married 
Serepta E. Riley, who died August 30, 
1915. They had only two children, Ar- 
thur A. and Clara A., now deceased. 
Clara married Rev. T. N. Todd, a minister 
of the Presbyterian Church. 

Arthur A. Alexander was born at Frank- 
lin in Johnson County July 1, 1870. He 
was educated in the common schools and 
in 1883 entered the preparatory depart- 
ment of Franklin College, taking the scien- 
tific course and graduating in 1890 with 
the degree Bachelor of Science. He is 
now on the board of trustees of Franklin 
College. 

In 1891, when only twenty-one years of 
age, Mr. Alexander organized the Frank- 
lin Canning Company and was its secre- 
tary for a number of years and also a 
director. For several years he was located 
at Campbellville, Kentucky, in the inter- 
ests of the Franklin Lumber Company, of 
which he was secretary, treasurer and di- 
rector. In 1900, returning to Franklin, 
he resumed his active connection with the 
business life of this city and in 1903 was 
appointed vice president of the Citizens 
National Bank. In 1909 he was elected his 
father's successor as president of that in- 
stitution. Mr. Alexander is a successful 
but very unassuming business man, has 
associated himself with the best things in 
community life, and has always been gen- 
erous of his time and efforts in behalf 
of those who are deserving. 

As a banker he served as chairman of 
both the first and second campaigns for 



1614 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



the sale of liberty bonds in Johnson Coun- 
ty, and he has also added to the gratifying 
results of this county 's contribution to war 
causes as a member of the executive com- 
mittee of the Red Cross. Mr. Alexander is 
vice president of the Franklin Building & 
Loan Company, was master and treasurer 
of the Masonic Lodge ten years and is a 
Knight Templar Mason. 

December 18, 1902, he married Rose 
Willis Tyner, of Fairfield, Indiana, daugh- 
ter of Richard H. and Anna (Miller) Ty- 
ner. Mrs. Alexander is the only sister of 
Mrs. Albert N. Crecraft, under which 
name on other pages will be found an ex- 
tended account of the prominent Tyner 
family and its connections. Mrs. Alexan- 
der is chairman of the woman's commit- 
tee for the Third Liberty Loan campaign 
in Johnson County. Both she and her hus- 
band are active in the Presbyterian 
Church, Mr. Alexander being a member of 
the board of deacons. 

Harmon H. Friedley. No one appoint- 
ment of Governor Goodrich since he took 
office has done more to strengthen the con- 
fidence of the people in the efficiency of 
his administration than when he selected 
Harmon H. Friedley as state fire marshal. 
Mr. Friedley is not a politician, and has 
never been in politics more than any good 
citizen is. The field of his work for many 
years, and that in which he has gained 
special distinction, has been fire insurance, 
and it was as an expert and on account 
of his long and honorable record in in- 
surance circles that he was selected for the 
important responsibilities of his present 
office. 

Mr. Friedley is a native of Indiana, 
born on a farm in Harrison County and 
reared in the rural districts of that section 
of the state. His father, Jacob D. Fried- 
ley, was born at Bardstown, Kentucky, 
in 1816. In 1820, when four years of 
age, he was brought to Indiana by his 
parents, who settled on what was known 
as the "Barrens" in Harrison County, 
when Corydon was still the state capital. 
Henry Friedley, the grandfather of the 
state fire marshal, and his wife spent the 
rest of their days in Harrison County. 

Jacob Friedlev followed farming all his 
active career. He was a sturdy character, 
in keeping with his Swiss ancestry, and 
was a man of powerful physique. He was 



a Methodist class leader for half a century 
and noted for his strict probity and high 
standing in his community. He married 
Elizabeth Ann Evans, who died in 1844, 
the mother of twelve children. The oldest 
of these children was Francis A. Friedley, - 
who became a noted Methodist minister 
and widely known over practically the en- 
tire state of Indiana. Jacob Friedley mar- 
ried a second wife and lived until 1884. 
Most of the men of the Friedley family 
have been farmers. 

Harmon H. Friedley grew up on the 
home farm, attended school during the 
winter months, and acquired sufficient edu- 
cation to enable him to pass the county 
superintendent's examination and secure a 
teacher's certificate. For about ten terms 
he taught school, and with the means thus 
secured attended higher institutions of 
learning. He put in two terms at work in 
the old Muncie Central Academy, where 
he came under the instruction of those 
noted educators, Hamilton S. McCrea and 
his wife, Emma Mont McCrea. In the 
fall of 1872 he entered the freshman class 
of the Indiana State University at Bloom- 
ington, and was there through the junior 
year. From the age of sixteen Mr. Fried- 
ley had to make his own way in the world. 
In the fall of 1875, leaving university, he 
bought the Bedford Gazette, and operated 
that paper until after the fall election of 
1876. He then sold out and the material 
was later moved to Oskaloosa, Iowa. On 
leaving newspaper work Mr. Friedley en- 
tered the law office of Putnam & Friedley, 
the junior member being his cousin, George 
W. Friedley, one of Indiana's foremost 
lawyers. He was clerk in this office and 
had charge of some of the minor prac- 
tice of the firm until the spring of 1879. 
He then became the junior member in 
charge of the Bloomington branch office 
of the firm of Friedley & Friedley. While 
there he took up fire insurance, represent- 
ing the Royal Insurance Company of 
Liverpool. 

In the summer of 1884 Mr. Friedley 
was made special agent for Indiana of this 
company, and a few months later removed 
to Indianapolis. With the exception of 
five years Indianapolis has been his home 
ever since. This period of five years, un- 
til 1901, he was superintendent of the 
loss department of his company at Chi- 
cago. After returning from Chicago in 



INDIANA AND INDIAN ANS 



1615 



1901 he represented the Insurance Com- 
pany of North America as state agent and 
adjuster, and finally as general adjuster. 
Insurance men generally look upon him 
as an expert, and his appointment as state 
fire marshal on March 24, 1917, had the 
complete support of the insurance frater- 
nity, which in itself is the highest testi- 
monial to Mr. Friedley 's qualifications. 

In politics Mr. Friedley is a republican. 
He married in l v 881 Miss Sybil Hines. 
Her father, Jesse Hines, was a brick con- 
tractor and constructed the old brick 
Union Depot at Indianapolis. Later he 
moved to Bloomington. Mr. and Mrs. 
Friedley have one child, Jesse Durr, who 
is a graduate of Harvard University and 
in the development of his special talents 
attended Kensington Art Schools in Lon- 
don, England. He is now assistant cura- 
tor of the Metropolitan Museum of New 
York City. 

Orlando D. Haskett is head of the 0. 
D. Haskett Lumber Company, one of the 
larger wholesale and retail lumber plants 
in Indianapolis, situated on Twenty-fifth 
Street at the Lake Erie & Western Bail- 
way. Mr. Haskett is an old and tried 
man in the lumber business, both in the 
manufacturing and distribution ends, and 
is also representative of a very old and 
honored name in Indiana. 

He was born in Hamilton County of this 
state October 30, 1868. His father, Daniel 
Y. Haskett, was born in North Carolina 
and was one of the many Quakers of that 
state who sought homes in Indiana. He 
came to this state at the age of twenty, 
first locating at Germantown in Wayne 
County, where a larger part of the popula- 
tion were former North Carolinans. Not 
long afterward he bought a large tract of 
land where Tipton is now located. The 
entire population of Tipton at that time 
was housed in a single small log cabin. 
After a few years he moved to Hamilton 
County. In North Carolina he was an ap- 
prenticed coach maker, but in Indiana fol- 
lowed the business of farming, and very 
profitably, and was an influential citizen 
of his locality. He held the office of town- 
ship trustee, and as a young man voted 
with the whigs and later was an active 
republican. During the Civil war he broke 
with the Quaker Church, in which he had 
been reared and to which he had always 



given his faithful allegiance, because the 
church would not endorse the active war 
against slavery. During that period he 
affiliated with the Wesleyan Methodist 
Church. Later he resumed his member- 
ship in the Quaker faith, but did not break 
his bond with the Masonic fraternity, 
which he had also joined during the period 
of the war. Daniel Y. Haskett died in 

1902, at the age of eighty-six years. He 
was three times married. His first wife 
was Elizabeth Godfrey, and two of the 
sons of that marriage, Caswell W. and 
Albert A., were soldiers in the Union 
army. Albert is still living, a resident of 
Hamilton County, Indiana. Daniel Y. 
Haskett married for his second wife Han- 
nah Lowry. His third wife and the mother 
of Orlando D. Haskett was Hannah B. 
Day, who was born near Mooresville in 
Morgan County, Indiana, and died in 1892, 
at the age of fifty-eight. 

Orlando D. Haskett spent his boyhood 
days on a farm in Hamilton County and 
was reared under the influences of the 
Quaker religion, attending the Quaker 
Academy at Westfield. At the age of 
twenty he quit school and went out on the 
plains of Nebraska, where he spent a year 
on a cattle and corn ranch. That gave him 
a sufficiency of western life and on his re- 
turn to Indiana he lived as a farmer until 
his marriage on May 8, 1890. His bride 
was Elma Talbert, daughter of Milo Tal- 
bert. Mr. and Mrs. Haskett have one 
daughter, Reba E. 

After his marriage Mr. Haskett became 
associated with his brother-in-law, O. E. 
Talbert, in the lumber business at West- 
field. That was the beginning of an active 
business relation which has continued now 
for over a quarter of a century. In March, 
1893, Mr. Haskett became manager of the 
Cicero Lumber Company and in 1902 he 
went to Mississippi to become president 
and manager of the Mount Olive Lumber 
Company and had charge of the three saw 
mills of the company in that state. In 

1903, returning to Indiana, he located at 
Indianapolis, where he had charge of the 
wholesale department of the Greer-Wilkin- 
son Lumber Company for two years. He 
then organized the Adams-Carr Company, 
of which he was treasurer and manager, 
and in 1909 became vice president of the 
Burnet-Lewis Company. His last change 
was made in 1914, when he organized the 



1616 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



0. D. Haskett Lumber Company and is 
now head of a business which represents a 
large investment, of capital and has a very 
pleasing volume of business throughout 
the territory served by Indianapolis as a 
lumber center. 

Mr. Haskett has been a man of affairs 
in Indianapolis, was formerly president of 
its Chamber of Commerce and president 
of the Greater Indianapolis Association. 
He is a director of the Associated Em- 
ployers and a director of the Commercial 
National Bank. He also belongs to the 
Marion and Columbia, clubs, is a repub- 
lican, a member of the Fourth Presby- 
terian Church, and in Masonry is affil- 
iated with Ancient Landmarks Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
Reaper Commandery, Knights Templars, 
Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine, the 
Modern Woodmen of America, and retains 
his membership in the Knights of Pythias 
Lodge at Cicero, of which he is past chan- 
cellor. For ten years he has been a deacon 
in the Presbyterian Church. 

Arthur Wylie, secretary and manager 
of the Elwood Lumber Company, has com- 
pressed a great volume of substantial ac- 
tivity into his comparatively brief career. 
He enjoys the responsibilities of several 
official connections with business affairs at 
Elwood, and is alsdj a man of trusted 
leadership in civic affairs. 

Mr. Wylie was born at Stellarton, Nova 
Scotia, in 1873, a son of William and Mar- 
garet (McKenzie) Wylie. The original 
borne of the Wylies was in Renfrewshire, 
Scotland. His grandfather, Andrew Wylie, 
was born there, married Agnes Pollock, 
and later emigrated with his family to 
Nova Scotia, and settled at Stellarton. He 
had five children, all born in Scotland ex- 
cept William, who was born at Stellarton. 
William Wylie spent his life in Nova 
Scotia and for many years conducted a 
mercantile business at Stellarton and 
Spring Hill. He died at Spring Hill in 
1897, and his widow is still livng at Stel- 
larton. They had six children, four sons 
and two daughters. 

Fifth in age among the family,- Arthur 
Wylie grew up in his native province, and 
attended school at Stellarton and Spring 
Hill. At the age of twelve he went to 
work, being the handy boy in a general 
store for a year and a half. He then 



clerked in a drug store, and practical ex- 
perience enabled him to pass a Board of 
Provincial Examiners in pharmacy, and 
for several years he was a registered phar- 
macist at Amherst, Nova Scotia. 

Mr. Wylie came to the United States in 
1896, and for a year attended the Lincoln 
Business College at Lincoln, Illinois. Then, 
in 1897, he came to Elwood to join his 
uncle, Alexander McKenzie, in the latter 's 
lumber business. He worked as yard man 
and bookkeeper, and mastered successively 
the various details of the lumber business, 
and in 1904, when the business was reor- 
ganized as the Elwood Lumber Company, 
he became a stockholder and manager and 
secretary. This is one of the important 
firms of its kind in Madison County, has 
twelve employes on the pay roll, and does 
a large business throughout the surround- 
ing district in lumber, planing mill work, 
building hardware and coal. 

Mr. Wyle also is a director and stock- 
holder in the Elwood Rural Savings and 
Loan Association. In 1916-17 he was pres- 
ident of the Elwood Chamber of Com- 
merce, and has been elected to again serve 
in that capacity during the present year. 
He is a member of the Indiana State Cham- 
ber of Commerce. He is also secretary 
and director of the Powell Traction Com- 
pany of Elwood. He is president of the 
Public Library Board of Elwood, is a mem- 
ber of the Columbia Club of Indianapolis, 
and is a Royal Arch Mason chancellor 
commander of Elwood Lodge No. 166, 
Knights of Pythias, a member of the Bene- 
volent and Protective Order of Elks, the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
the Improved Order of Red Men at El- 
wood. Politically he votes his sentiments 
as a republican and is a trustee of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

In 1908 he married Miss Laura Belle 
Brown, daughter of Dr. H. M. and Metta 
(Dowds) Brown of Elwood. Mrs. Wylie 
is prominent in social and civic affairs at 
Elwood, especially in those activities de- 
signed to promote the success of the great 
war. Since April, 1917, she has been chair- 
man of the Woman's Executive Board of 
the Elwood Chapter of the Red Cross. She 
is also president of the Department Club, 
a civic organization of Elwood. 

Mr. Wylie has been active in all war 
activities and was chairman of the Young 
Men's Christian Association drive. At the 





^o^-tIaUu 




INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1617 



organization of the first company of In- 
diana Liberty Guards at Elwood he was 
elected captain, and was later commis- 
sioned lieutenant colonel of the Fifth Kegi- . 
ment. 

James Noble Tyner, prominent in the 
public life of Indiana for many years, was 
born in Brookville of this state in 1826. 
He began the practice of law in Peru, and 
a few years later was chosen to Congress 
as a republican to fill a vacancy. After re- 
tiring from that office he was appointed by 
President Grant second assistant postmas- 
ter general, and from the resignation of 
Marshall Jewell until the close of Grant's 
administration he was postmaster general. 
In April, 1877, he became first assistant 
postmaster general, serving in that office 
until his resignation in 1881. Mr. Tyner 
was the delegate from the United States 
to the International Postal Congress at 
Paris in 1878. 

Charles J. Waits is now rounding out 
nine years of consecutive service as super- 
intendent of the city school system of 
Terre Haute. Mr. Waits is a veteran in 
the educational field, and has filled all 
grades in the service from a country school 
teacher to head of a big independent city 
school system. 

Mr. Waits was born in Jennings County, 
Indiana, March 5, 1863, a son of Reuben 
and Nancy (McGannon) Waits, the former 
a native of Ohio and the latter of Indiana. 
He was the third child and second son in a 
family of seven, five of whom reached ma- 
turity. 

Professor Waits as a boy attended com- 
mon school in Jennings County. In 1884 
he graduated from a Quaker Academy at 
Azalia, and since then his service has been 
almost continuous in school work, though 
several years have been spent in higher 
institutions of learning as a student. In 
1889 he graduated from the Indiana State 
Normal School. From 1889 to 1891 he was 
principal of the Prairie Creek School, and 
then entered the Indiana State University 
at Bloomington for a year. During 1892-93 
he was principal of the high school at 
Centerville in Wayne County and then re- 
entered Indiana University, where he 
graduated A. B. in 1894. From that 
year until 1898 he was superintendent 
of schools at Carlisle in Sullivan County. 



During 1898-99 he was a graduate student 
in the University of Illinois, from which 
he has his Master of Arts degree. In 
1899 Professor Waits came to Terre Haute, 
was head of the mathematics department 
of the high school for five years, was 
principal from 1904 to 1910, and in the 
latter yean became superintendent. He 
has done much to vitalize and build up the 
local schools, and is one of the broad 
minded and progressive educators of the 
state today. 

Professor Waits has been affiliated with 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
since 1887. In 1894 he married Minnie B. 
Rundell of Owen County, Indiana. They 
have three children, Alice, Agnes and 
Charles. 

Theodore Stempfel, vice president of 
the Fletcher-American National Bank of 
Indianapolis, has been a resident of the 
capital city for over thirty years, and came 
to Indiana with a thorough training in 
banking acquired during his early youth 
in Germany. Mr. Stempfel has had many 
associations with the business life of his 
home ctiy, and has always shown the in- 
clination to make his business position a 
source of benefit to those movements and 
interests which constitute the community. 

Mr. Stempfel was born at Ulm, Wuer- 
temberg, Germany, September 20, 1863. 
AVhen he was seven years of age he lost 
both his parents. He turned to a business 
career and for two years worked as clerk in 
one of the leading banking houses of his 
native city. He served in the German 
army, as a one year volunteer. He was 
then nineteen years old, and on being let 
out of the ranks he was offered an assist- 
ant cashiership in the bank where he had 
formerly served. However, just at that 
point he had, as he says, an inspiration to 
come to America. Acting on this inspira- 
tion he came direct to Indianapolis, 
whither he was attracted by the fact that a 
distant relative lived here. 

His first experience in Indianapolis was 
as an employe of the wholesale department 
of Charles Mayer & Company. In this 
establishment many of the German Amer- 
ican citizens of Indianapolis gained their 
early business training. Later Mr. Stemp- 
fel began work as a bookkeeper with the H. 
Lieber Company, and was with that firm 
seven years. He then joined other local 



1618 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



men in organizing the Western Chemical 
Company, manufacturers of medicinal tar 
products. Within one year three dis- 
astrous fires occurred and destroyed the 
factory, and as a result Mr. Stempfel lost 
all the savings and accumulations of eight 
years' work in Indianapolis. 

Undismayed by temporary adversity, 
Mr. Stempfel in 1893 went to work as 
clerk in the trust department of the In- 
diana Trust Company. He remained with 
that prominent financial house until 1900. 
Upon the organization of the American 
National Bank in that year he was made 
assistant cashier, and filled that office for 
ten years or more. With the consolidation 
of the American National with the Fletcher 
Bank as the Fletcher-American National 
Bank Mr. Stempfel became vice president, 
and is now one of the executive officers 
in the handling of one of the largest, if not 
the largest, banks of Indiana, an institu- 
tion with two million dollars of capital 
and resources of upwards of twenty mil- 
lions. In 1914 he was elected as a member 
of the Indianapolis School Board. 

In politics Mr. Stempfel has rigidly ad- 
hered to the principle of independent vot- 
ing, looking to the qualifications of the man 
and the principles at issue rather than 
party affiliations. He is well known in 
civic and social affairs of Indianapolis, and 
has had many pleasant relations with the 
literary circles of the city. A number 
of years ago he wrote a book on the subject 
of the German-Americans of Indianapolis, 
which was published. Mr. Stempfel mar- 
ried a daughter of Herman Lieber, one of 
the best known of the old time citizens and 
business men of Indianapolis. 

William F. Fisher is active head and 
organizer of the Capital Contractors Sup- 
ply Company of Indianapolis. This busi- 
ness was organized April 19, 1918, but had 
been in existence under another name for 
a number of years. It handles a large 
volume of business supplying machinery 
and other materials to contractors, and its 
trade relations cover practically the entire 
state of Indiana. 

Mr. Fisher was born at Peru, Indiana, 
December 19, 1885, son of Frank and 
Bridget (Carr) Fisher. His father, who 
was born in county Donegal, Ireland, in 
1849, came alone to the United States in 
1863 and located at Indianapolis. In 1875 



he located at Peru, Indiana, and was con- 
nected with the Peru Water Works Com- 
pany and was later foreman in a lumber 
yard there for fifteen years. He was a 
man of successful achievement, of honor- 
able character, and was recognized as one 
of Peru's leading citizens. He and his wife 
had a family of seven sons and one daugh- 
ter, all living but one son. 

William F. Fisher, fifth in age among 
the children, attended parochial schools at 
Peru and also St. Joseph's College at 
Rensselaer. For one year he was in the 
service of the Northwestern Railroad Com- 
pany, was for three years traveling auditor 
with the Wisconsin Central Railway, and 
then returned to Indiana and was ap- 
pointed Pure Food Inspector in 1909 by 
William J. Jones, who was then the In- 
diana state chemist. After a short time he 
located at Indianapolis, engaged in general 
railroad work, and finally took over the 
business of the Albert Zearing Supply 
Company, which was an organization fur- 
nishing supplies and machinery to all 
classes of contractors. The offices of the 
Capital Contractors Supply Company is in 
the Castle Gall Building at 230 East Ohio 
Street. 

Mr. Fisher is a Catholic, a Knight of 
Columbus, an Elk and a democrat. His 
name was prominently mentioned in con- 
nection with the candidacy for the office 
of county sheriff recently. Mr. Fisher 
married April 7, 1910, Miss Mary E. 
Walker. 

Hon. William A. Roach. Throughout 
the past twenty years the name William 
A. Roach has been one of growing signifi- 
cance and influence, first in the Town of 
Delphi, extending from that over Carroll 
County, gradually over the district, and 
now it is identified with one of the strongest 
personalities in the state, every Indianan 
recognizing it as the name of the present 
secretary of state. Mr. Roach is a lawyer 
by profession, and his ability as a public 
leader in his county and district and his 
efficient business methods were the causes 
that operated most powerfully in produc- 
ing his appointment to the office of sec- 
retary of state by Governor Goodrich as 
successor to Ed Jackson. 

Secretary of State Roach was born at 
Delphi, Indiana, December 24, 1874, one of 
four children, two now living, born to Wil- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1619 



liam and Anna (Morgan) Roach. William 
Roach, a native of Canada, came to this 
country at the age of nineteen and located 
at Delphi, Indiana, in 1865. There for 
a time he drove a team for a local con- 
tractor, and afterwards for about fourteen 
years was in the ice business. For five 
years he lived on a farm, and in 1888 
bought an interest in the City Flouring 
Mills at Delphi, a business with which he 
is still identified. His life has been one 
of industry and integrity and he is one ot 
Delphi's most honored citizens. His first 
wife died in 1880, and he afterward mar- 
ried Lavina Roach, and their three chil- 
dren are still living. 

William A. Roach grew up at Delphi, 
and that has been his home all his life. 
He attended the Delphi High School, and 
read law in the office of Michael A. Ryan. 
In 1895 he entered the Indiana Law 
School, graduating in 1896 as a member 
of the second graduating class from that 
school. He gained his first experience and 
won his first cases at Delphi while prac- 
ticing in the office of his preceptor, and 
when Mr. Ryan moved to Indianapolis in 
1900 Mr. Roach succeeded to the vacated 
offices. In the same year he was made 
city attorney of Delphi, and handled all 
the legal business of the city for five years. 

Practically from the time he began prac- 
ticing law he has been a figure of rising 
prominence in the republican party. He 
served as secretary of the Republican 
County Central Committee in 1902 and 
1904, was chairman of the County Commit- 
tee in 1910 and 1912, was republican chair- 
man of the Ninth Congressional District in 
1914 and 1916, and had much to do with 
bringing about some of the results which 
were so noteworthy in the republican suc- 
cess in Indiana in 1916. In December, 
1917, he was appointed secretary of state 
by Governor Goodrich as successor to Ed 
Jackson, who had been elected to that 
office in 1916. 

Mr. Roach is affiliated with Delphi Lodge 
No. 80. Knights of Pythias, Mount Olive 
Lodge No. 48, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, with Red Cross Chapter No. 21, 
Royal Arch Masons, Delphi Commandery 
No. 40, Knights Templar, and is a member 
of Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine at 
Indianapolis. He also belongs to the Co- 
lumbia Club and Marion Club of Indian- 



apolis and is well known socially in both 
cities. 

October 6, 1897, he married Miss Georgia 
Newell, of Chicago. Mrs. Roach was born 
at Rockfield in Carroll County, Indiana, 
a daughter of Henry M. and Julia (Van 
Gundy) Newell. Her maternal grand- 
father, Adam Van Gundy, was one of the 
early pioneers of Carroll County. 

William Wheeler Thornton, judge of 
the Superior Court of Marion County and 
an Indiana lawyer of more than forty years 
active experience, has long been regarded 
both at home and abroad as one of the 
foremost authorities on many and diverse 
subjects of jurisprudence. Few active 
members of the profession are not familiar 
with his work as an author and editor, and 
his enduring reputation will no doubt rest 
upon his extensive contributions to legal 
literature, though his active services on 
the bench and bar have been of no ordinary 
calibre. 

A native of Indiana, William Wheeler 
Thornton was born at Logansport June 27, 
1851. He has behind him an American 
ancestry dating back to colonial days. His 
great-grandfather, James Thornton, was a 
resident of North Carolina but moved 
across the Allegheny Mountains to JTigh- 
land County, Ohio, about 1805. In 1835 
he came with his family to a farm in Cass 
County, Indiana. Judge Thornton's fore- 
fathers were all farmers, and he inherited 
from them both the physical and mental 
attainments that are associated and in- 
herent in agricultural pursuits. His grand- 
father was William Thornton. Judge 
Thornton's parents, John Allen and Ellen 
B. (Thomas) Thornton, were married at 
Logansport, his father being a native of 
Ohio. 

Judge Thornton grew up on a farm in 
Cass County, attended district schools, the 
high school or seminary at Logansport, and 
also the old Smithson College, a Univer- 
salist educational institution of Cass Coun- 
ty. He read law with an uncle, Henry C. 
Thornton, whose son, Henry W. Thornton, 
is now general manager of the Great East- 
ern Railway of England. Judge Thornton 
began the study of law at Logansport in 
1874, and in October, 1875, entered the law 
department of the University of Michigan 
at Ann Arbor, where he was graduated 



1620 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



LL.B. in March, 1876. He opened his first 
office at Logansport, hut in November, 1880, 
came to Indianapolis as deputy attorney 
general under Daniel P. Baldwin. He 
served under Mr. Baldwin and Francis 
T. Hord until January 1, 1883, when he 
resumed private practice at Crawfords- 
ville. While there he served two years as 
city attorney, and was at Crawfordsville 
until August 1, 1889. On September 1 of 
that year he was appointed librarian of 
the State Supreme Court. In February, 
1893, he resumed private practice at In- 
dianapolis, and continued to handle the 
diverse litigation entrusted to him until 
he became judge of the Superior Court of 
Marion County November 20, 1914. 

At one time it was claimed for Judge 
Thornton that he had written more ar- 
ticles for legal periodicals than any other 
one man in America or England except- 
ing only two. These articles appeared 
chiefly in the Central Law Journal, Al- 
bany Law Journal, American Law Reg- 
ister, Green Bag, Southern Law Review 
and the American Law Review. Outside 
the field of authorship his life has been 
an extremely busy one, and at one time he 
was a lecturer in the Indiana Law School 
at Indianapolis. 

The works of authorship by which he 
is best known to the legal profession are 
noted briefly as follows. In 1887 he pub- 
lished "Statutory Construction," a com- 
plement to the revised statutes of 1881. 
A supplement to this was published in 
1890. Still earlier, 1883, he edited the 
Universal Encyclopedia, and wrote more 
than half of its articles. This work, as is 
generally known, consists of over 1,400 
pages in two volumes and formed the basis 
for the American and English Law Ency- 
clopedia. That was followed by several 
articles which were published in the 
American and English Encyclopedia of 
Law. In 1888 appeared his book "Juries 
and Instruction." In 1889, associated with 
others, he published "Indiana Practice 
Code, Annotated." His small volume en- 
titled "Lost Wills," appeared in 1890. In 
1891 his "Indiana Municipal Law" first 
appeared, a second edition being issued in 
1893, while a sixth edition of this monu- 
mental work was published in 1914. In 
1893 was published "Railroad Fences and 
Private Crossings," and in 1893 two vol- 
umes on ' ' Indiana Practice Forms for Civil 



Proceedings." Judge Thornton did pioneer 
work when he published in 1893 "Gifts 
and Advancements." In 1893 he prepared 
a new edition of the "Annotated Code" 
and in 1907 a third edition. Other succes- 
sive works are: "Decedents' Estates," 
1895; "Revised Statutes of Indiana," 
1897; "Indiana Township Guide," 1898; 
assisted in the production "Building and 
Loan Associations," 1898; "Government 
of Indiana," 1898; "Oil and Gas," 1904; 
Indiana Negligence, a two volume work, 
1908; prepared a treatise on "The Statutes 
of Congress Concerning the Liability of In- 
terstate Railroads to their Employes En- 
gaged in Interstate Commerce," 1911; and 
this reached the third edition in 1915; "In- 
toxicating Liquors," 1910; "Pure Food 
and Drugs Act," a treatise on the "Sher- 
man Anti-Trust Statute," 1912, and a two 
volume work, "Indiana Instruction to 
Juries," 1914. His work on "Indiana 
Township Guide, ' ' reached its sixth edition 
in 1919. He has edited several editions of 
the school laws and numerous other pam- 
phlets and booklets on legal subjects in ad- 
dition to the formal treatises above named. 
Judge Thornton is a member of the In- 
dianapolis and Indiana State Bar Associ- 
ations, is a republican, a Royal Arch and 
a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason 
and a member of the Mystic Shrine. Jan- 
uary 25, 1882, he married Miss Mary F. 
Groves, of Logansport, who died July 22, 
1905. June 20, 1911, he married Irene F. 
Blackledge, of Indianapolis. 

Capt. David D. Negley. One of the 
by-products, as it were, of the present 
great world conflict is the increased esteem 
paid to the gallant old soldiers of our 
own Civil war, whose sacrifices are better 
understood and appreciated in the light 
of the trials and ^sufferings of the present 
generation. One of the oldest survivors at 
Indianapolis of that four year war in which 
the divided states were again joined in a 
complete and efficient nation is Capt. 
David D. Negley, who recently passed his 
eighty-fourth birthday. Captain Negley is 
the central figure in a family that has been 
prominent in Marion County for a full 
century even before Indianapolis came 
into being a city, and there are a few of 
the older Indiana families whose records 
can be more worthly recalled at this time. 

It was nearly a century before Captain 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1621 



Negley 's birth in Marion County that his 
ancestors found a home in America. He 
is descended from Jacob Negley, a native 
of Switzerland and a zealous follower of 
the teachings of the Protestant Reformer 
Zwingli. It was largely on account of 
religious differences that he left Switzer- 
land and went to Germany, where he mar- 
ried in 1734 a good woman whose Christian, 
name was Elizabeth. In Germany he be- 
came a teacher of the Protestant religion, 
but in 1739, with his wife and three chil- 
dren, set sail for America. He died while 
on the voyage and was buried at sea. The 
rest of the family continued on their way 
and established a home in Bucks County, 
Pennsylvania. The three children were 
named Alexander, Caspar and Elizabeth. 
Alexander became the founder of a promi- 
nent family in and around Pittsburgh, to 
which locality he moved in 1778 and took 
part in the organization cf the first Ger- 
man United Evangelical Church, the first 
church organization of the city. Among 
his descendants was Gen. James S. Negley. 
Alexander's brother Caspar moved from 
Pennsylvania to the wilderness of Ohio and 
settled in the southern part of the state. 
Prom him are descended various families 
of the name now found in the central and 
western states. 

Peter Negley, a grandson of Caspar and 
grandfather of Captain Negley, under the 
promptings of the pioneer spirit finally 
came from Butler County, Ohio, to Marion 
County, Indiana, and in 1819, two years 
before Indianapolis was established as a 
capital of the state, took up his home at the 
little town of Millersville. His old log 
cabin home was still used as a dwelling 
until about 1905 and was probably the 
oldest structure in actual use for any pur- 
pose in the county. Millersville was a 
rather important stopping place between 
the settlements of Upper Pall Creek and 
Lower White River. In that community 
Peter Negley was a farmer, miller and 
distiller, and altogether one of the historic 
characters of the pioneer epoch of Marion 
County. 

His son George married Elizabeth Lud- 
wic and acquired and developed a sub- 
stantial farm along Fall Creek. He was 
one of the pioneer preachers of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church and made his in- 
fluence count for good in both the social 
and material development of Marion 



County. He and his wife were the parents 
of twelve children. 

One of these children was David Dun- 
can Negley, who was born at the old home- 
stead in Lawrence Township of Marion 
County September 22, 1835. He had only 
the advantages of the primitive schools of 
his locality, and at the age of fourteen, 
when his father died, took upon himself 
heavy responsibilities in aiding his mother 
to manage the farm and provide necessi- 
ties for the younger children. To these 
duties he devoted himself until at the age 
of twenty-five the great war broke out be- 
tween the states. 

In the first summer of the rebellion he 
and his two brothers Peter L. and John 
W. left the home farm in charge of their 
mother and another brother, George W., 
and on August 31, 1861, David D. Negley 
was mustered into Company H of the 
Eleventh Indiana Volunteer Infantry, com- 
manded by Col. Lew Wallace. His captain 
was Frederick Knefler, afterward General 
Knefler, and under his strict discipline 
he rose to the rank of orderly sergeant. He 
was with his command at Fort Donelson, 
Fort Henry and Pittsburgh Landing or 
Shiloh. In the second day's fighting at 
Shiloh he was seriously wounded and with 
other wounded men was brought home by 
a party personally conducted by Governor 
Morton. As soon as he had recovered his 
strength he was assigned to duties at home 
in recruiting and was also made provost 
marshal. Early in the war he had become 
a personal friend of Governor Morton, who 
appointed him to the duties of provost 
marshal. This was an office exposing him 
to constant danger since, as is well known, 
Indiana had large numbers of the Tory 
element and his vigilance and determined 
course in ferreting out the Knights of 
the Golden Circle and suppressing their 
nefarious activities made him a marked 
man and daily exposed to personal injury 
and insult. The responsibilities of such 
a position can be better appreciated at the 
present time than at any period since the 
close of the Civil war. Eventually Cap- 
tain Negley recruited a new company of 
volunteers, and on January 16, 1864, was 
commissioned captain of Company C of 
the One Hundred and Twenty-fourth In- 
diana Volunteer Infantry. With this or- 
ganization he went to the front and led 
his men until at the battle of Franklin, 



1622 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Tennessee, toward the close of that year, 
he and his company were sacrificed at 
Franklin Ford in order to enable the re- 
mainder of the army to make good their 
retirement from that section of a hotly con 
tested battle ground. He was captured by 
the enemy and was soon sent to Ander- 
sonville Prison, where he endured all the 
terrible hardships of starvation fare and 
the cruelties imposed upon the unfortunate 
Union men who were kept in that notorious 
stockade. He was not exchanged until 
shortly before the closei of the war and 
was so weakened by prison life that he 
did not enter active service. 

With the close of the war Captain Neg- 
ley returned to farming and stock raising 
in Marion County and became one of the 
local leaders in that business. A number 
of years ago he retired to a home in In- 
dianapolis. He has long been one of the 
prominent and influential republicans of 
Marion County, at one time served as pres- 
ident of the board of trustees of the subur- 
ban town of Wrightwood, and is a member 
of the Masonic order and the Grand Army 
of the Republic. 

March 10, 1864, in one of the intervals 
of his service to the state and government, 
he married Miss Margaret Ann Hildebrand. 
She was born and reared in Marion County, 
daughter of Uriah and Delilah (O'Rourke) 
Hildebrand, early settlers in this part of 
Indiana. Her mother was a native of Ire- 
land. Captain Negley and wife became the 
parents of nine children, three of whom 
died in infancy. 

Harry Elliott Negley, one of the sons of 
Captain Negley, has attained distinctive 
prominence and success as a lawyer and 
is one of the well known public men of 
Indiana. He was born on his father's 
farm in Lawrence Township of Marion 
County August 31, 1866, the oldest of his 
father's children. His mother died in 
1893. Though his active life has been 
largely spent in the City of Indianapolis, 
he has always regarded it as fortunate that 
his early environment was a farm with all 
its wholesome atmosphere and its incentive 
to good, honest toil. He attended the pub- 
lic schools, the high school at Brightwood, 
studied law privately and in 1890 entered 
the law office of Harding & Hovey at In- 
dianapolis. He was admitted to the bar in 
November of the same year and opened his 
first office at Indianapolis in November, 



1894. For over twenty years Mr. Negley 
has been recognized as one of the strong 
and resourceful attorneys of Indiana, 
has conducted a general practice, and 
has become especially well known as an 
authority on real estate titles. At one time 
he was associated in practice with the late 
Judge William Irvin, former judge of the 
Criminal Court, and until 1906 he shared 
offices with Judge James A. Pritchard, who 
in the latter year was elected to the Crim- 
inal Court bench. 

Mr. Negley has been prominent in city 
affairs and in local republican politics. In 
1899 he was elected from the First Ward 
to the Common Council and was chosen 
by a greatly increased majority as his own 
successor in 1901. Throughout his term 
in the council he was the only lawyer 
member, and his colleagues naturally re- 
ferred to him nearly every question in- 
volving legal phases of municipal legisla- 
tion. During his second term he was 
elected secretary of the Marion County 
Republican Central Committee. Mr. Neg- 
ley is now one of the state senators of In- 
diana, having been elected from Marion 
County in 1916. In the session of 1917 
he was made chairman of the committees 
on prison and of soldier and sailors monu- 
ments. In the Legislature he chose the role 
of a vigilant and uncompromising oppon- 
ent of bad and ill advised legislation and 
performed a more valuable service in that 
respect than if he had exerted himself to 
introduce a number of inconsequential 
measures. In the Senate he had charge of 
the bill calling for a new state constitu- 
tional convention, a non-partisan measure 
which passed with the votes of seventeen 
republicans and seventeen democrats. Mr. 
Negley has always been a great admirer 
of Abraham Lincoln, and a special honor 
was given him when he was chosen to de- 
liver the eulogy on the great emancipator 
in the State Senate on Lincoln's birthday, 
February 12, 1917. In passing it should 
be noted that this memorial address called 
out a grateful letter of appreciation from 
Hon. Robert T. Lincoln. The address was 
widely published and read all over Indiana, 
and without attempting to give any idea as 
to its merits or contents the following 
sentences are interesting as indicating some 
of Mr. Negley 's individual ideals in poli- 
tics. Analyzing Mr. Lincoln's political 
character, he says: "His manhood was de- 




Ll u / &aLaAaj 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1623 



veloped in a period when statesmanship 
was a dignified honor and not a trade. 
When the only known method of swaying 
the minds of others was by earnest and 
honest argument and not by studied sub- 
terfuge and deception. It was only natural 
that in any community in which he might 
be found he should rise to a prominent 
place, for his every thought was for cleaner, 
bigger and better things than then sur- 
rounded him ; and the thought that they 
might be attained by the political tricks 
of the unscrupulous politician never found 
lodgment in his brain. He was astute in 
the analyzing of a political situation, but 
he met it always face to face with argu- 
ments which all could understand." Upon 
the organization of the Session of 1919 of 
the Indiana State Senate Mr. Negley was 
elected by the other members as president 
pro tempore, which position carried with 
it the floor leadership of the republican 
majority during that session. 

Mr. Negley has been quite active in 
fraternal affairs, is affiliated with Millers- 
ville Lodge No 126, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and Clifton Lodge No. 544, 
Knights of Pythias. He is a past sachem 
of the Improved Order of Red Men. 

On June 1, 1895, Mr. Negley married 
Miss Edith Lee Grandy, youngest daugh- 
ter of Rev. Ira B. and Julia (Lee) Grandy. 
Mrs. Negley was born at Mount Carmel, 
Franklin County, Indiana, November 14, 
1869. Her father was a clergyman of the 
Universalist Church. Her mother was a 
descendant of the Lee family of Virginia. 
Mr. and Mrs. Negley have one child, Mar- 
garet Lee Negley, born December 29, 1902, 
who has the distinction of having an an- 
cestral line on her paternal side of one 
hundred years continuous legal residence 
in Marion County. 

A. A. Charles is a prominent Kokomo 
manufacturer, president of the Kokomo 
Steel and Wire Company, and a man 
whose experience in American industry 
covers more than forty years. He is one 
of the men properly credited with a large 
share of Kokomo 's present prosperity as a 
manufacturing and civic center. 

Mr. Charles was born in New Jersey De- 
cember 3, 1852, son of John and Amanda 
(Loper) Charles. He is of English an- 
cestry, and the Charles family has been in 
New Jersey since colonial times. His 



grandfather spent his life in that state as 
a farmer. He was a very fine type of citi- 
zen and was extremely interested in the 
Methodist Church, and that religious affil- 
iation has continued to be a characteristic 
of his descendants. Of his ten children 
John Charles was the second in age, was 
educated in public schools of New Jersey, 
and for many years was connected with a 
canned goods packing house. After re- 
tiring from that business he spent twenty 
years of his life on a farm in Bridgton, 
New Jersey. He was also a devout Meth- 
odist, was a class leader and always prom- 
inent in the musical activities of his 
church. He was a democrat in politics. 
John and Amanda Charles had five chil- 
dren, four sons and one daughter. The 
daughter is now deceased, but the sons are 
all living. 

A. A. Charles was educated in the public 
schools of his native state, and as a boy 
went to work to earn his living in a pack- 
ing house. For thirty years he continued 
to live in New Jersey, and on coming west 
located in Howard County, Indiana, bring- 
ing with him a wife and daughter. He set 
up the machinery to make tin cans for 
Jim Polk, of Greenwood, Indiana, but soon 
resumed his business in food packing, and 
with N. S. Martz organized and promoted 
the Brookside Canning Works, under the 
firm name of Charles & March. Three 
years later G. W. Charles, a brother of 
A. A., bought the interest of Mr. Martz, 
and the business was continued by the 
Charles Brothers for a number of years. 
A. A. Charles also erected a large packing 
can goods factory at Warsaw, Indiana, and 
operated it for five years. Mr. Charles on 
returning to Kokomo became interested in 
the Globe Steel Range Company. Later 
he organized the Kokomo Steel & Wire 
Company, which company occupies the en- 
tire fifth floor of the Citizens Bank Build- 
ing for offices. They built the North End 
Wire Mill, a rod mill, a galvanizing mill 
and nail mill, and the company now has 
one of the largest and most complete plants 
of the kind in the United States. The 
business was started in 1895, and the first 
year the volume of sales aggregated $100,- 
000, whereas now the yearly aggregate is 
more than $8,000,000. ' Mr. *A. A. Charles 
is president of the company, G. W. Charles 
is treasurer, and J. E. Frederick is sec- 
retary. 



1624 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



A. A. Charles is one of the founders of 
the Great American Refining Company at 
Jennings, Oklahoma, and is one of its di- 
rectors. He is also heavily interested in 
Haytian American Corporation Syndicate 
of New York, is a stockholder and director 
in Haynes Automobile Company and the 
Sedan Body Company of Union City, In- 
diana, and he has been connected with 
the Citizens National Bank and has been 
on its board of directors since its organiza- 
tion. 

Mr. Chaises during his long residence 
at Kokomo has identified himself with a 
number of other business and civic enter- 
prises. He has given much of his time to 
the Methodist Church, and out of his in- 
dividual contributions one church of that 
denomination in Kokomo was largely 
built. Mr. Charles is affiliated with the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
He married Miss Lydia Riley, of New Jer- 
sey. Their daughter, Edna, is now Mrs. 
R. Conrad, of Warsaw, Indiana. 

Dr. Hubbard M. Smith, a well known 
physician, writer and educator, located in 
Vincennes, Indiana, in 1847, following his 
graduation, and in Vincennes he began the 
practice of medicine, and there he con- 
tinued its work until his death in 1907. He 
was the first physician in that city to recog- 
nize the presence of cholera in 1849. 

Doctor Smith was patriotic in the in- 
terests of his city, state and nation, and 
outside the work of his chosen profession 
he was also a poet and author of recognized 
ability. 

Henry W. Klausmann. Considering his 
achievements and experience of more than 
a quarter of a century Henry W. Klaus- 
mann deserves to rank among Indiana's 
leading civil and construction engineers. 
Much of his service has been of a public 
nature, in connection with the county sur- 
veyor's office and the city engineer's re- 
sponsibilities at Indianapolis, though he 
has also handled a large and extensive 
private practice. 

Mr. Klausmann was born at Centralia. 
Marion County, Illinois, September 2, 1868, 
son of Henry and Ernestina (Hansslar), 
Klausmann. Both parents were natives of 
Germany, the father a cabinet maker by 
profession, and in 1878 they removed to 
Indianapolis, where Henry Klausmann 



died November 21, 1909. They were the 
parents of three children, the two now 
living being Henry W. and Lena, wife of 
Rudolph H. Henning of Indianapolis. 

Henry W. Klausmann received most of 
his education in the Indianapolis public 
schools, and he showed a decided inclina- 
tion for mathematics as a boy and per- 
fected his knowledge in that science largely 
by self application and by instruction 
under private tutors. He also served an 
apprenticeship at the wood carving trade, 
that being while he was still in school, and 
study and experience have developed in 
him a high proficiency in architecture as 
well as in civil engineering. Mr. Klausmann 
has been steadily engaged in his profession 
as a civil engineer since 1891. For six 
years he served as deputy county surveyor 
of Marion county and in 1901 was ap- 
pointed county surveyor and filled that 
office by three successive elections until 
January, 1910. At that date he was ap- 
pointed by the mayor of Indianapolis to 
the office of city engineer. After return- 
ing from this office Mr. Klausmann was 
engaged until 1918 in engineering and con- 
struction work. Among other buildings 
that attest his skill may be mentioned the 
City Trust and Occidental buildings at 
Indianapolis, the Coliseum at Evansville, 
a large addition to the French Lick Hotel 
at French Lick, and the Marion National 
Bank building at Marion. 

In January, 1918, by appointment from 
Mayor Charles W. Jewett, Mr. Klausmann 
returned to the public service as city civil 
engineer of Indianapolis. He is already 
thoroughly familiar with many of the tech- 
nical problems connected with municipal 
engineering in Indianapolis, and his pre- 
vious experience gives him the highest 
qualifications for effective and valuable 
service to his home city. 

Mr. Klausmann is in fact one of the men 
of broad and exceptional interests and most 
varied associations with the life and affairs 
of the capital city. He is well known in 
musical circles, and for many years was 
musical director of the Indianapolis Mili- 
tary Band. He has also done much or- 
chestral work. In republican politics he 
has served as chairman of the Republican 
City Committee of Indianapolis. He is a 
member of the Indianapolis Commercial 
Club, the Marion Club, the Turnverein, and 
the Indianapolis Liederkranz. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1625 



Mr. Klausmauu has an interesting Ma- 
sonic record, his affiliations being with the 
Oriental Lodge No. 500, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, Keystone Chapter No. 6, 
Royal Arch Masons, Raper Commandery 
No. 1 Knights Templar, Indiana Consis- 
tory of the Scottish Rite, in which he lias 
attained the thirty-second degree, and 
Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine. In 
December, 1916, he was elected illustrious 
potentate of Murat Temple, and for one 
year under trying circumstances accept- 
ably and efficiently served as exe&utive 
head of that organization. He is also a 
member of Indianapolis Lodge No. 56, 
Knights of Pythias. 

Mr. Klausmann married September 27, 
1893, Miss Jessie Coyner, who was born 
and reared in Indianapolis, daughter of 
John V. and Anna (Anderson) Coyner. 
Her grandfather, Martin M. Coyner, was 
one of the pioneer contractors of Indian- 
apolis. John V. Coyner was a civil en- 
gineer and for a number of years he and 
Mr. Klausmann were associated together 
professionally. Mr. Coyner was for six 
years county surveyor of Marion County. 
He died at Indianapolis in 1905. Of the 
two children born to Mr. and Mrs. Klaus- 
mann the older, Catherine, died in infancy. 
The other is Berthelda E. 

M. H. Camden. During the last ten 
years some of those transactions that have 
made history in Indianapolis real estate 
have been arranged, negotiated for and 
transacted by M. H. Camden. Mr. Cam- 
den is now senior member of the firm Cam- 
den & Foster, real estate, with offices in the 
Hume-Mansur Building. 

His home has been in Indianapolis for 
a number of years, but his boyhood was 
spent in the rural districts of Decatur 
County, Indiana, where he was born Oc- 
tober 12, 1870, a son of James Oscar and 
Margaret A. (Hooten) Camden. The 
father was a native of Virginia. When a 
young man he was enrolled in the service 
of the Confederate army, but had no taste 
for service with the secession forces, and 
finally deserted from the ranks and reached 
the Union State of Ohio. At Jackson, 
Ohio, he regularly enlisted in the Union 
army, and saw active service with an in- 
fantry regiment and was on the firing line 
most of the time until discharged. After 
leaving the military service he came to In- 



diana and located in Decatur County, 
where he became a farmer. Later he lived 
in Shelbyville, and in 1893 came to In- 
dianapolis, where for a time he owned 
and operated a dairy. Later he sold this 
property and lived retired until his death 
on February 22, 1898. 

M. H. Camden was second in a family 
of three children. He obtained his early 
education in the public schools of Decatur 
County, and at the age of thirteen began 
earning his first money as a farm laborer 
at 50 cents a day. When he left the farm 
in 1889 he went to Newport and worked 
in a sawmill. He was also clerk in a gen- 
eral store at Batesville, Indiana, and 
through these various experiences laid the 
foundation of knowledge and skill in men 
and affairs that has served him so well 
in later years. For a time he was work- 
ing in a furniture factory and was assist- 
ant foreman for three years. He also 
operated a general store at Batesville as 
assistant manager for one year, and then 
again entered the furniture business in 
Decatur County. He traveled 7% years 
representing a firm of furniture manufac- 
turers, and did much to build up the trade 
of the company over a wide territory. 

On July 4, 1897, Mr. Camden came to 
Indianapolis and formed a partnership 
with Mr. Ralston under the firm name of 
Ralston & Camden, real estate. In the fall 
of 1902 Mr. Camden entered business for 
himself. Among the large deals which he 
has carried out may be mentioned the sale 
of the lot on which the city hall was built. 
He negotiated the sale of this property in 
1907 for the sum of $115,000. He also 
sold the old Rink property owned by Ster- 
ling R. Hill to Captain Hayworth for the 
sum of $100,000. A number of other trans- 
actions of similar magnitude have passed 
through his firm. The sales of real estate 
have often reached a figure upwards of 
$200,000 a year. He also deals extensively 
in Chicago apartment properties and Illi- 
nois farm lands. 

Mr. Camden is a thirty-second degree 
Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner and a 
republican voter. November 14, 1890, he 
married Miss Pearl E. Vincent, of Ripley 
County, Indiana. Her father was one of 
the prominent physicians of that county. 

Estle C. Routh has been a business man 
in Richmond for a long period of years, 



1626 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



and his expert services as a carriage maker 
he has capitalized until he is now pro- 
prietor of a nourishing business for the 
manufacture of automobile bodies at 158- 
60 Wayne Avenue. 

Mr. Routh was born in Economy, In- 
diana, September 6, 1876, son of R. W. 
and Martitia (Edwards) Routh. He is of 
Scotch ancestry. Estle attended the pub- 
lic schools of Richmond and at the age 
of fifteen went to work for L. A. Mote, a 
carriage maker, whose shop was on the 
same ground now occupied by the Routh 
establishment. He learned the trade of 
carriage maker and blacksmith during 
four or five years of earnest apprentice- 
ship and then tried to buy out his em- 
ployer. Failing in that he started a small 
shop of his own in a room at 176 Fort 
Wayne Avenue. He was there two years, 
and during that time got the contract for 
doing all the city work, especially for the 
fire department. In 1899 he was able to 
buy out his old employer's stock, and for 
twenty years that has been the home of 
his growing business. In early years prac- 
tically all the facilities of his shop were 
devoted to carriage making, but in 1906 
he began specializing in the manufacture 
of automobile bodies. He has designed and 
built every kind of vehicle body and he 
was designer of the New City ambulance. 
His business covers a territory forty miles 
in extent around Richmond. Mr. Routh 
has also made some judicious investments 
in local real estate. 

In 1899 he married Mary K. Collett, 
daughter of Nicholas and Anna (Mackey) 
Collett of Richmond. They are the parents 
of two children: Frank A., born in 1900, 
and Wayne 6., born in 1911. The older 
son was in the United States Marines for 
two years, part of the time being stationed 
at Hayti and was sent to France on the 
battleship Hancock. He lost his health 
in the service and the government is now, 
in pursuance of its regular policy, giving 
him re-training for civilian career, and he 
is pursuing a course in commercial ac- 
counting at Valparaiso University. 

Mr. Routh is a republican in politics and 
is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias. 

Ulric Z. Wiley. Forty-five years of 
continuous membership and activity at the 
Indiana bar have brought Ulric Z. Wiley 
some of the most substantial honors and 



achievements of his profession. For many 
years he practiced in Benton County, and 
was first elected judge of the Circuit Court 
while living at Fowler. The service which 
makes him most widely known among In- 
diana lawyers was his twelve years work 
on the Appellate Court Bench. Judge 
Wiley since retiring from practice has been 
a resident of Indianapolis. 

He was born in Jefferson County, In- 
diana, November 14, 1847, youngest of 
the five children of Preston P. and Lucin- 
da Weir (Maxwell) Wiley. The Wiley 
family came to Indiana when the country 
was a territory, more than a century ago. 
His grandfather, Joseph Wiley, on leaving 
Pennsjdvania first settled in Brown 
County, Ohio, where he developed a farm, 
and in 1811 pioneered to Jefferson County, 
Indiana, and was one of the first to de- 
velop the agricultural lines around Kent, 
whei'e he lived until his death. Preston P. 
Wiley was born in Brown County, Ohio, 
November 25, 1809, and was two years old 
when the family came to Indiana. He 
spent about fifty years of his life on a 
farm in Jefferson County, and died there 
August 21, 1895. For several years after 
his marriage he taught school in winter 
terms, and spent the summers at farming. 
His early education was very limited, but 
after his marriage he set himself to dili- 
gent study and not only mastered the com- 
mon English branches but became a thor- 
ough Greek scholar. He eagerly read every 
book he could secure in a time when cir- 
culating libraries were almost unknown. 
Along with farming he became a preacher 
of the Gospel, and continued that work 
for about fifty years. He also assisted his 
children as far as possible to secure good 
educations. In politics he was an early 
whig, a strong abolitionist and anti-slavery 
man, and afterwards an equally ardent re- 
publican. He was the first man in Jeffer- 
son County, Indiana, to respond to the 
call for troops in the Civil war, but was 
too old to be accepted for field service, 
though he rendered the Union his hearty 
support in every other way. He was a 
member of the Home Guards in Southern 
Indiana, and was called out during the 
Morgan raid. 

Judge Wiley and a brother are the only 
surviving members of his father's family. 
During his youth he was privileged to at- 
tend school only three months each year, 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1627 



but at the age of nineteen entered Hanover 
College at Hanover, Indiana, and gradu- 
ated with the class of 1867. At that time 
the degrees A. B. and A. M. were con- 
ferred upon him and subsequently he was 
honored with the degree LL. D. Teaching 
furnished part of the funds by which he 
educated himself. He also had charge of 
his father's farm for one year while his 
parents were visiting a daughter in Cali- 
fornia, Judge Wiley began the study of 
Jaw with William Wallace, son of Ex- 
Governor Wallace and a brother of Gen. 
Lew Wallace. He was a student in Wal- 
lace's office at Indianapolis two years, and 
then entered the law department of old 
Northwestern College, now Butler Uni- 
versity, from which he received his degree 
in May, 1873. In October, 1874, Judge 
Wiley located at Fowler, where his abilities 
brought him all the practice he could 
handle in a few years. In March, 1875, 
he was appointed county attorney, serv- 
ing two years, and in 1882 was elected to 
the Lower House of the State Legislature. 
In 1892 he was appointed judge of the 
Thirtieth Judicial Circuit, composed of 
Benton, Jasper and Newton counties, to 
fill a vacancy. Later he was nominated 
and elected and served from 1892 to Oc- 
tober, 1896. On the latter date he re- 
signed from the Circuit Bench to become 
a candidate for judge of the Appellate 
Court of the Fifth District, and was elected 
and was a member of that tribunal for 
three terms of four years each. 

Judge Wiley is a thirty-second degree 
Scottish Rite Mason. He has long been 
prominent in Odd Fellowship and was 
grand master in 1891-92 and four terms 
was grand representative to the Sovereign 
Lodge of the World. He is also a Knight 
of Pythias, and is an active republican. 
Judge Wiley is an elder of the Christian 
Church and has filled that office for two 
years, and for eight years has taught the 
Business Men's Bible Class. 

May 6, 1874, he married Miss Mary A. 
Cole, of Indianapolis. They are the 
parents of four children : Carl C, Nellie 
E., Maxwell H. and Ulric Weir. 

William H. Wishard, M. D. Among 
the men who made the history of medicine 
in Indiana doubtless none occupied a 
higher place consequent upon his services 
and in the esteem of his fellow practi- 



tioners than the late William H. Wishard. 
The quality and value of his service was 
not less remarkable than the sustained 
power which enabled him to continue his 
work longer than the average length of 
human existence. 

While it is not possible in so brief a 
sketch as this to estimate from the pro- 
fessional point of view the extent and na- 
ture of his services to the profession, it 
is permitted to quote what his old personal 
and professional friend, Dr. Nathan S. 
Davis, the founder of the American Medi- 
cal Society, said of him some years ago: 
"Dr. William H. Wishard of Indianapolis 
is one of the oldest, most intelligent, use- 
ful and patriotic general practitioners of 
medicine in that state. Rendered strong 
and self reliant by abundance of physical 
labor in his youth, with educational ad- 
vantages limited to the public or district 
schools of his neighborhood, he is in the 
best sense of the word a self-made man. 
Though contributing but little to the pages 
of medical literature, he has for sixty- 
three years efficiently sustained the regular 
medical organizations, both state and na- 
tional, and as surgeon in a volunteer regi- 
ment from Indiana during the Civil war, 
especially during the siege of Vicksburg, 
his services were more than ordinarily effi- 
cient and valuable in the removal and care 
of the sick and wounded soldiers, many of 
whom had to be removed to Northern hos- 
pitals. He is one of the pioneers whose 
integrity, industry and efficiency have 
been his prominent characteristics in every 
position he has been called upon to oc- 
cupy. ' ' 

As a family the Wishards have given 
more than one prominent character to 
American life and affairs. Outside of 
their services the distinguishing character- 
istic is longevity. Old age with them is 
apparently a natural prerogative. Dr. 
William H. Wishard was born January 
17, 1816, and died when near the century 
mark, on December 9, 1913. His brothel*, 
Rev. Samuel E. Wishard, D. D., who made 
a distinguished record as a Presbyterian 
minister and scholar, reached the age of 
ninety. Doctor Wishard 's father died at 
eighty-six, and one of his uncles lived to 
be ninety, and an aunt to the age of ninety- 
five years and seven davs. 

The paternal grandfather of Doctor 
Wishard was William Wishard, a native of 



1628 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



St. Andrews, Scotland, who emigrated to 
County Tyrone, Ireland, and was of 
Scotch Covenanter stock. William Wish- 
ard came to America in 1774, locating in 
Delaware, later going to Pennsylvania, 
where he joined the American forces in 
the war of the Revolution. He fought at 
the battles of Brandywine and German- 
town and later saw service on the Western 
frontier of Pennsylvania. At the close of 
the Revolution he moved into South- 
western Pennsylvania, locating at Red- 
stone Fort, now Brownsville, and in 1794 
penetrated still further into the Western 
wilderness to Nicholas County, Kentucky. 
He spent his last years there on his farm, 
and died from apoplexy at advanced age. 
He was the father of tifteen children. 

Col. John Wishard, father of Doctor 
Wishard, was a native of Pennsylvania, 
but was taken to Kentucky at the age of 
two years, and grew up in that then far 
western district. Farming was his steady 
vocation throughout his active years. In 
1825 he followed the wave of migration 
close up to the limits of the newly estab- 
lished city of Indianapolis, and located 
about ten miles away, near Glenn's Valley, 
on the edge of Johnson County, where his 
labors reclaimed a heavily timbered tract 
of land. He was member of a company of 
riflemen in the Black Hawk war, and later 
was a colonel in the Fifty-Ninth Indiana 
Militia. He died at Greenwood, Indiana, 
September 8, 1878. John Wishard married 
Agnes H. Oliver, who died in August, 
1849, in her fifty -eighth year. Her parents 
were John and Martha (Henderson) Oli- 
ver, her father of English descent, a na- 
tive of Virginia and a settler in Kentucky 
as early as 1782. He was a friend and 
companion of Daniel Boone. John Oliver 
assisted in building the blockhouse at Lex- 
ington, in which his oldest child was born. 

Of such sturdy ancestry, William Henry 
Wishard was born at the home of his 
parents in Nicholas County, Kentucky, 
January 17, 1816, and was about ten years 
old when the family moved to Central In- 
diana. With only the opportunities of a 
log cabin schoolhouse he managed by self 
application to acquire much more than the 
ordinary education of a youth of that time 
and gained much of it in the intervals of 
hard labor on his father's farm. He be- 
gan reading medicine in the winter of 
1837-38 under Dr. Benjamin S. Noble. He 



afterwards took a course of lectures in the 
Ohio Medical College at Cincinnati, and 
received his. Doctor of Medicine degree 
from the old Indiana Medical College at 
LaPorte, Indiana. He did post-graduate 
work in the Ohio Medical College and be- 
gan practice in Johnson County April 22, 
1840. 

For many years he carried on the ardu- 
ous and self-sacrificing labors of the coun- 
try practitioner, riding far and wide over 
the country in Johnson and adjoining 
counties. Altogether his work as a prac- 
ticing physician covered a period of sixty- 
six years, not ending until January, 1906. 

Early in the Civil war he became a 
volunteer surgeon in the Fifty-Ninth In- 
diana Infantry and later with the Eighty- 
Third Indiana Regiment. The words of 
Doctor Davis above quoted indicate one 
splendid service which he rendered during 
the war. It should be noted here that it 
was as a direct result of his investigations, 
reports and vigorous presentation of the 
condition of the sick and wounded soldiers 
on Southern battlefields that the govern- 
ment after much delay on the part of 
bureau and cabinet officials was moved, by 
the direct order of President Lincoln him- 
self, to bring about the general removal 
of the sick and wounded from the South 
to the more healthful environment of the 
Northern states. His services in this par- 
ticular were especially directed to the re- 
moval of the wounded after the siege of 
Vicksburg, into which city he marched 
with General Grant's army the morning 
of July 4, 1863. He was the first surgeon 
to make a trip with a river steamboat in 
carrying out the order issued by President 
Lincoln for the transportation to the North 
of the sick and wounded. Many prominent 
army men, including Gen. Lew Wallace, 
repeatedly stated that the entire credit for 
this service, which brought untold relief 
to the suffering, was due to Doctor Wish- 
ard. All the time and services Doctor 
Wishard gave to his country during the 
war, a period of over 2 1 /-; years, were given 
without any compensation except for his 
personal expenses. 

In the spring of 1864 Doctor Wishard 
left his former residence at Glenn's Val- 
ley on the old homestead, which he had 
bought from his father, and removed to 
Southport, Marion County. He practiced 
there until the fall of 1876, when he was 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1629 



elected county coroner and removed to In- 
dianapolis. There his work went on un- 
til after celebrating his ninetieth birthday 
he formally retired from practice. His 
remarkable vitality, both in mind and 
body, has an interesting proof in what 
was written concerning him in 1908 : ' ' To- 
day Doctor Wishard occupies a unique 
position in the medical and social life of 
Indianapolis. He has frequently been 
called a walking historical encyclopedia. 
His remarkable memory enables him to re- 
call quickly and perfectly events and dates, 
even the days of the week upon which they 
occurred. This marked characteristic has 
not lessened his interest in current events, 
as is often the case with elderly persons, 
but he manifests an interest in religious, 
professional and political questions of the 
day equal to that of a man in the prime 
of 'life." 

Doctor Wishard was long a prominent 
figure in Indiana medical organizations. 
He was the last survivor of the first Medi- 
cal Convention of 1849 and therefore a 
charter member of the Indiana State Medi- 
cal Society, was its president at the time 
of its fortieth anniversary and at the fif- 
tieth anniversary gave the address of wel- 
come, which included a history of the so- 
ciety. Doctor Kemper's Medical History 
of Indiana quotes Doctor Wishard 's 
papers on the early history of the medical 
profession of the state. He also wrote an 
interesting account of his experiences as 
an army surgeon. He was a charter mem- 
ber of the Marion County Medical So- 
ciety, was its president in 1905, and on 
his eighty-ninth birthday, the day his serv- 
ices ended, the members of the society pre- 
sented him with a parchment testimonial, 
appropriately dedicated and inscribed. 
For many years he was active in the mem- 
bership of the American Medical Associa- 
tion. Doctor Wishard became a repub- 
lican upon the organization of the party 
and was one of its oldest and most constant 
voters. He was a Presbyterian, and reli- 
gion was always a large factor in his life. 
Except in emergencies, he did not allow his 
professional work to interfere with his 
church and religious duties. ■ For over 
sixty years he was a ruling elder in the 
church and served as commissioner in six 
meetings of the General Assembly, the last 
time at Winona Lake in May, 1905, just 
fifty-nine years from the time he first rep- 



resented the Indianapolis Presbytery in 
that capacity. He was for many years a 
member and for fifteen years surgeon of 
George H. Chapman Post No. 209, Grand 
Army of the Republic. Doctor Wishard 
lived well into the twentieth century, and 
the remarkable era of invention and im- 
provement covered by his career is well 
indicated in the fact that he was a pas- 
senger on the first through train which' 
came from Madison to Indianapolis. He 
often told the fact that on his return 
trip he sat beside Rev. Henry Ward 
Beecher, who on that day left the Second 
Presbyterian Church of Indianapolis to 
take the pastorate of Plymouth Church at 
Brooklyn. 

On December 17, 1840, the same year 
that he began the practice of medicine, 
Doctor Wishard married Miss Harriet N. 
Moreland. She was to him the ideal wife 
and companion both in the early days of 
struggle and the later years of prosperity 
and honor, and their companionship was 
prolonged for more than sixty-one years. 
Mrs. Wishard died April 28, 1902. She 
was the youngest daughter of Rev. John 
R. and Rachel (McGohon) Moreland. Her 
father was an early Presbyterian minister 
in Indiana and at one time the pastor of 
the First Presbyterian Church of Indian- 
apolis. Doctor and Mrs. Wishard were the 
parents of nine children. The first four 
died in infancy or early childhood. Those 
to grow up were : William N. ; Albert W., 
who became a prominent Indianapolis law- 
yer; George W., a Minneapolis business 
man ; Harriet J., who married Dr. John 
G. Wishard; and Elizabeth M. 

William N. Wishard, M. D. Putting 
the services of father and son together, 
the name Wishard has been continuously 
prominent in Indiana medical circles for 
over three quarters of a century, the ac- 
tivities of the two being a large measure 
contemporaneous. Dr. William N. Wish- 
ard began practice over forty years ago, 
and while his father was one of the most 
useful of the old time general practitioners, 
his own work has been largely as a special- 
ist. 

He was born at his father's home in 
Greenwood, Johnson County, October 10, 
1851, and at the age of nine his parents 
removed to Glenn's Valley, Marion Coun- 
ty. As a boy he attended local public 



1630 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



schools, spent one year in a private school 
at Tecuniseh, Michigan, and finished a high 
school course at Southport, Indiana. From 
there he entered Wabash College at Craw- 
fordsville, but was unable to complete his 
literary course on account of ill health. 
In view of his subsequent attainments that 
college conferred upon him the well meri- 
ted degree of Master of Arts in 1891. In 
1871 he entered the Indiana Medical Col- 
lege of Indianapolis, from which he gradu- 
ated in li874, and for a brief time he 
was with his father in practice at South- 
port and during 1875-76 continued his 
medical education in the Miami Medical 
College at Cincinnati, which also awarded 
him the degree Doctor of Medicine in 
1876. Since that year his home and ac- 
tivities have been centered at Indianapolis. 

Among other distinctions connected with 
his service Doctor Wishard has long been 
known as the "father" of the Indianapolis 
City Hospital, of which for 7% years he 
was superintendent. He not only super- 
vised the technique and efficiency of the 
hospital, but had much to do with the con- 
struction of the buildings and the equip- 
ment. As an auxiliary to the hospital he 
brought about the founding of the Indian- 
apolis Training School for Nurses, the first 
institution of its kind in Indiana and the 
second in the entire west. After retiring 
from the superintendency in 1887 Doctor 
Wishard continued for many years a mem- 
ber of the consulting staff of surgeons. 
While hospital superintendent he was also 
lecturer on clinical medicine in the Medi- 
cal College of Indiana. Doctor Wishard 
has also served on the consulting staff of 
the • St. Vincent Hospital, the Protestant 
Deaconess Hospital, the Methodist Epis- 
copal Hospital, the Bobbs Dispensary, and 
the Indianapolis City Dispensary. 

After leaving the management of the 
hospital he spent a period of post-graduate 
study in New York City, and since then 
has specialized almost entirely in genito- 
urinary and venereal diseases. On return- 
ing to Indianapolis he was elected pro- 
fessor of the chair of those diseases in the 
Medical College of Indiana. Doctor Wish- 
ard has also spent much time abroad, and 
has improved his own technique by exten- 
sive associations with the most eminent 
specialists in his field in the world. For 
upwards of thirty years he has been one 
of Indiana's foremost specialists in this 



field, and patients have come to him from 
all over the state and outside the state. 
He is credited with having performed the 
first, or one of the very first operations 
on record for removal of the lateral lobes 
of the prostate gland through a perineal 
opening. He also invented an instrument 
for use of the galvanic cautery on the 
prostate gland through perineal opening. 

Besides his individual work and promi- 
nence as an authority, Doctor Wishard, 
like his father, has rendered an invaluable 
service to the medical profession in general 
and especially through its organizations. 
It was largely under his leadership that 
the three schools of medicine, the Medical 
College of Indiana, the Central College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Indianapolis, 
and the Fort Wayne Medical College were 
merged into one complete and adequate 
school. For a number of years he served 
as chairman of the committee on medical 
legislation for the Indiana State Medical 
Society. In that capacity he wrote the 
larger part of the Indiana law governing 
the practice of medicine as passed by the 
Legislature in 1897. He is an honored 
member of the Marion County Medical So- 
ciety, the Indiana State Medical Society, 
which he served as president in 1898, the 
American Medical Association, the Ameri- 
can Association of Genito-Urinary Sur- 
geons, the American Urological Associa- 
tion and the Mississippi Valley Medical 
Association, having served as president of 
the last two associations. As president of 
these organizations he showed unusual 
ability as an executive officer. His work 
in this connection brought forth the fol- 
lowing admiring comment: "Considerate 
of the opinions of others, courteous to 
those who hold views different from his 
own, forceful and clear in argument, calm 
in judgment, energetic and persevering in 
whatever he undertakes, his marked char- 
acteristics of leadership have gained for 
him a notable record in the profession of 
medicine. In medical legislation, college 
and hospital management, his counsel and 
advice are sought, and to their advance- 
ment he has given his time at the sacrifice 
of his own personal interest. Selfishness 
has no part in his nature. " 

A concise survey of his influence and 
work in the medical profession was made 
some years ago by Doctor Brayton, editor 
of the Indiana Medical Journal, in these 




& c^>&. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1631 



words: "Dr. W. N. Wishard has practiced 
medicine continuously in Indianapolis for 
over thirty years. He was deputy coroner 
of Marion County two years, and for over 
seven years superintendent of the City 
Hospital, changing it from a rude barrack 
into a modern hospital with a full-fledged 
training school for nurses, making it a 
model for all the hospitals since estab- 
lished in Indianapolis. For twenty years 
Doctor Wishard has confined his medical 
work to genito-urinary surgery, and stands 
in the front rank in the country in this 
department of surgery. He has been a 
leader in Indianapolis in establishing the 
Medical Registration and Examination 
Board, and the Indiana State Health 
Board, of which he was president. Doctor 
Wishard has also been a leader in medical 
education as well as in medical legisla- 
tion. He belongs to the middle group of 
Indiana physicians — those who were in 
touch with the great physicans and sur- 
geons of the Civil war period, and who 
have also taken an active part in the medi- 
cal and surgical renaissance which is the 
chief glory and beneficence of modern bio- 
logical research. In all of Doctor Wish- 
ard 's relations, in medical, sanitary and 
civic life, he has been a wise and conserva- 
tive counsellor, but whenever the occasion 
required an aggressive and successful ac- 
tor, serving as conditions demanded, either 
as the watchman at the bow or the helms- 
man at the wheel. He is now only in the 
height of his medical and civic usefulness 
and has a large fund of acquired knowl- 
edge and experience upon which he draws 
readily in surgical and general discussions 
and lectures." 

Doctor Wishard is a republican voter 
and an active member of the First Pres- 
byterian Church of Indianapolis, in which 
he holds the position of elder and has 
served as commissioner to the General As- 
sembly of the church. May 20, 1880. he 
married Miss Alice M. Woollen, daughter 
of William Wesley Woollen and Sarah 
(Young) Woollen, of Indianapolis. Mrs. 
Wishard died December 9, 1880. June 17, 
1896, he married Miss Frances C. Scoville, 
who was reared and educated at Evans- 
ville, Indiana, daughter of Charles E. and 
Frances (Howell) Scoville. Doctor and 
Mrs. Wishard had five children, three 
dving in infancy, the other two being 
William Niles. Jr., and Charles Scoville. 



Hon. Emmet H. Scott. While the 
greater part of half a century a resident of 
LaPorte, Emmet H. Scott by his interests, 
his work and experience is a man of broad 
affairs upon whom the enviable title of big 
American business man might well be be- 
stowed. How fitting this description is 
can best be told by reciting the larger ex- 
periences and achievements of his active 
career. 

He was born in Broome County, New 
York, in 1842, son of Wiley H. and Aseneth 
(Locke) Scott. His father was born on 
the Unadilla River in Otsego County, New 
York, and was an early settler in the town 
of Nineveh on the Susquehanna, where he 
owned and operated a hotel for twenty- 
seven years and carried on a large farm 
of more than four hundred acres. His 
death occurred in 1872. His wife was a 
native of New York and of Revolutionary 
ancestry. Several members of the Locke 
family had already joined the patriotic 
army as soldiers under Washington when, 
the colonists being sorely oppressed and 
in great need of others to enlist, a younger 
member of the Locke family was singled 
out for immediate urgent duty, and in 
order to get him ready in time the women 
of the household sheared a sheep, carded 
and spun the wool, and made a pair of 
trousers for him all within twenty-four 
hours. 

There is probably some significance in 
the fact that the early life of Emmet H. 
Scott was spent on his father's farm. 
This environment gave him a sturdy dis- 
cipline in addition to the advantages he 
had in the common schools of his native 
village and in the Blakesley School, a select 
school at Harpersville, two miles away. At 
the age of twenty he taught school for one 
winter in Tioga County, New York. In 
February, 1863, he went to work in the 
joint express office of the Adams and 
American Express Companies at Centralia, 
Illinois. That was in the midst of the 
Civil war. Vicksburg was in a state of 
siege and the only railroad outlet and inlet 
to the Mississippi Valley was over the 
single track of the Illinois Central Rail- 
road. When Mr. Scott went into the of- 
fice in February he was the second clerk 
to be employed. The express business in- 
creased so tremendously that when he left 
in October the same year, on account of 
poor health, there were twenty-seven 



1632 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



clerks employed in the same office to take 
care of the business. 

The following winter he spent recuperat- 
ing on the home farm in New York. In 
1864 he was employed by George S. Marsh, 
a railroad contractor building the Albany 
and Susquehanna Railroad between Cen- 
tral Bridge and Cobleskill, New York, and 
between Oneanta and Unadilla, New York. 
This work was completed in the latter part 
of 1866. 

A college or university is supposed to 
give a young man preparedness for the 
serious responsibilities of life. Mr. Scott 
never went to college, but he found in these 
early experiences just noted the kind of 
preparation he needed for his future 
career. In February, 1867, he arrived at 
LaPorte, Indiana, to become superintendent 
of the Chicago, Cincinnati & Louisville 
Railroad Company. That company owned 
the wornout track between LaPorte and 
Plymouth, and was incorporated to build 
between Plymouth and Peru to connect 
with the Peru & Indianapolis Railroad. 
DurinE: 1867-68 the road between LaPorte 
and Plymouth was rebuilt, including the 
filling in of several miles of trestles over 
the Kankakee marshes. Between Ply- 
mouth and Peru the road was finished and 
opened July 1, 1869. During 18'67 Elisha 
C. Litchfield was president of the C, C. & 
L. Railroad, and Mr. Scott became well 
acquainted with him. Mr. Litchfield had 
two large sawmills and a large salt works 
upon the Saginaw River in Michigan. 
Having observed closely the young rail- 
road superintendent and taken measure of 
his abilities, Mr. Litchfield engaged Mr. 
Scott to go to Saginaw and take charge of 
the Litchfield properties and operate them. 
Mr. Scott accordingly resigned from the 
railroad company in October, 1869, and 
went to Saginaw. The following year he 
returned to LaPorte and married Miss 
Mary R. Niles. Mrs. Scott was born on 
the same block of ground on which the 
Scott residence now stands in LaPorte. 
She is a sister of Mr. William Niles, a dis- 
tinguished citizen of northern Indiana 
whose life career is sketched on other pages. 
Mr. and Mrs. Scott have two living chil- 
dren, Emmet Scott and Fanny. The 
daughter was married to Dr. E. A. Rumely 
in 1909. 

During 1872-73 Mr. Litchfield was en- 
gaged in trying to build the New York, 



Rondout & Oswego Railroad. Railroad 
building at that time was exceedingly ex- 
pensive. Steel rails cost more than $100 
a ton and iron rails eighty-five to ninety 
per ton. Moreover there was a dearth of 
capital. When bonds were issued they gen- 
erally bore 7% and if sold to English in- 
vestors they had to be disposed of at much 
less than par value. Besides the mills and 
salt works on the Saginaw, Mr. Litchfield 
had 43,000 acres of timberland on the Flint, 
Cass, Bad and Tittabawassee rivers in 
Michigan. When the Jay Cook panic 
came in September, 1873, and gold went to 
280, Mr. Litchfield was sick. His liabili- 
ties for railroad building were so large 
That early in November followng he was 
adjudged a bankrupt. He died within 
twenty days after the adjudication. There 
was much difficulty in the appointment of 
a receiver, as the railroad creditors were 
firm creditors, and others were individual 
creditors. The latter claimed that the in- 
dividual creditors were first entitled to 
the share of his individual estate and if 
there was any surplus it should be paid 
over to the assignees of the bankrupt rail- 
road firm. The individual creditors won 
out and the court held that the individual 
estate should be disposed of to pay the 
individual creditors. 

Jesse Oakley of New York was appointed 
the assignee, and he employed Mr. Scott 
to take charge of the estate in Michigan 
and to manage it, this employment being 
approved by the court. Within a few 
months after the assignee was appointed 
,a suit in chancery was brought, covering 
the larger part of the property in the State 
of Michigan on the theory that the Litch- 
field title was only that of mortgage secur- 
ity. This prevented the disposal of any 
real estate covered by the chancery suit 
until the claims of the petitioners had 
been heard and decided in the courts. 

About 15,000 acres of the lands in Tus- 
cola and Saginaw counties not included 
in the suit were valuable for farming pur- 
poses, and Mr. Scott disposed of a great 
quantity of those lands. One of the saw 
mills and salt works were taken over by 
the holders of a mortgage and the other 
saw mill, opposite Bay City, was leased 
by Mr. Scott from year to year while this 
suit was in progress. In the meantime, in 
the fall of 1876, Mr. Scott returned with 
his family to LaPorte. He had bought 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1633 



an interest in the LaPorte Wheel Com- 
pany, which was being managed and eon- 
trolled by his brother-in-law, Mr. William 
Niles. They acquired all the stock of the 
company, and business was then carried on 
by the firm of Niles and Scott until 1881, 
when they organized a corporation known 
as the Niles & Scott Company, of which 
Mr. Scott was vice pi'esident and general 
manager. He and Mr. Niles remained in 
active control until January, 1902, when 
they sold their entire interests. Theiir 
management had been so successful and 
so honorable that the firm title was con- 
sidered a valuable asset in itself, and there- 
fore the business has since been conducted 
as the Niles & Scott Company. It has been 
one of the chief industries in making La- 
Porte a great manufacturing center. 

At the same time Mr. Scott retained his 
authority and control of the Litchfield es- 
tate in Michigan and made frequent visits 
to Saginaw. In 1880 the long pending 
chancery suit was settled by Mr. Scott be- 
fore it came to trial by the payment of 
$17,000. The creditors were then called 
together and Mr. Scott was authorized by 
them to cut the logs, drive them down the 
rivers and have them sawed and sell the 
lumber. After three or four camps were 
established another set of litigants ap- 
peared and sought an injunction to prevent 
the cutting of the timber. This injunc- 
tion was denied by the Federal Court. The 
following summer, when the logs began 
to come out, notices were filed with the 
Boom companies so that bonds had to be 
given to the companies for the value of 
all the logs delivered. After several mil- 
lion feet was sawed and had been sold by 
Mr. Scott and when the lumber came to 
be shipped the same parties replevined. In 
three years they brought over thirty suits 
of various kinds, and Mr. Scott was the 
acting, vital defendant in each of them. 
He was almost continuously harassed. 
Finally he filed a plenary bill in the name 
of the assignee, making each of these ten 
or twelve parties who had been bringing 
suits as defendant. An injunction was 
granted and issued immediately upon the 
filing of the bill. The court also ordered 
that all the claims should be consolidated 
and decided in one action. Testimony was 
taken and submitted within a year and the 
verdict made for the plaintiff. One of the 
principal defendants took an appeal to the 



Supreme Court of the United States, but 
before the time elapsed for perfecting the 
appeal he settled with Mr. Scott and paid 
$22,000 and all the costs of this principal 
suit and dismissed all the twenty-nine 
smaller suits and paid costs. Thus after 
trials and difficulties that might furnish 
material for an interesting business ro- 
mance Mr. Scott found his hands free to 
finish the lumbering of the property. He 
realized very large net sums for the bene- 
fit of the creditors, and in 1886 the estate 
was wound up and closed. The Litchfield 
creditors got eighty-four cents on the dol- 
lar, more than any bankrupt estate had 
paid in the City of New York up to that 
time. All this was largely due to Mr. 
Scott's efforts. 

During these years Mr. Scott had been 
acquiring timber lands in Michigan of 
his own. In 1894 he organized at LaPorte 
the Lac La Belle Company and bought 
100,000 acres of timber lands in Alger and 
two adjoining counties. The purchase was 
made from the North of England Trustee 
Debenture & Assets Corporation. Oppo- 
site Grand Island on the south shore of 
Lake Superior in Alger County is a most 
beautiful bay, furnishing a great and nat- 
ural harbor of refuge for all the vessels 
sailing on Lake Superior. Mr. Scott con- 
ceived the idea that the location on the 
Bay would be unrivaled for the building 
of a town and the establishment of a great 
lumber manufacturing center. He bought 
nearly 500 acres on the shore, organized a 
railroad company which built a line thirty- 
seven miles long from Munising out to 
Little Lake on the Chicago & Northwest- 
ern Railroad. The town site was conveyed 
to the railroad company, and in a short 
time a tannery, stave and lumber mill and 
other industrial enterprises were built. 
Largely due to this development Alger 
County during the decade from 1890 to 
1900 had the largest growth in population 
in its history. 

Something should now be said about Mr. 
Scott's connection with his first railroad 
enterprise in Indiana. The Chicago, Cincin- 
nati & Louisville Railroad Company was 
leased to the Indianapolis, Peru & Chicago 
Railroad Company for a long term of years. 
It was operated by the last company, but 
about 1882 the latter company leased the 
line from Michigan City to Peru and to 
Indianapolis to the Wabash Railroad Com- 



1634 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



pany. In 1884 the Wabash Company hav- 
ing failed was placed in the hands of a re- 
ceiver. The trustees of the mortgage bonds 
got an order of the court compelling the 
receivers of the Wabash Company to turn 
over the lines of the railroad between 
Michigan City and Indianapolis to the two 
trustees, one of whom was Gen. Wager 
Swayne and the other Col. George T. M. 
Davis of New York, according to the con- 
ditions in the mortgages. These two trus- 
tees deputized Mr. Scott to take charge 
and operate the line of railroad between 
Michigan City and Indianapolis. Thus for 
several years he had a new responsibility. 
During 1885-86 the mortgages were fore- 
closed and the ralroads were bid off by 
purchasing committees representing each 
of the two companies. These purchasing 
committees sold the line outright to the 
Lake Erie and Western Railroad Company, 
and Mr. Scott turned over the lines and 
took a receipt from Mr. Bradbury, the gen- 
eral manager, in April, 1887. 

In 1886 Mr. Scott became interested in 
the mining of coal in Greene and Sullivan 
counties, Indiana. He bought 884 acres, 
composing all of seven adjoining farms, 
for the most part on the westerly side of 
the Dugger and Neal Coal Company 's mine. 
He then organized the Superior Coal Com- 
pany, of which he owned all the stock ex- 
cept a few shares owned by the officers of 
the Island Coal Company. This latter com- 
pany was operating; extensively at and 
near Linton. After building some miners' 
houses and getting a shaft sunk Mr. Scott 
was so harassed by the conduct of the coal 
miners that he concluded it was best for 
him to consolidate with the Island Coal 
Company. When this was done the Island 
Coal Company spread out and operated 
coal mines over a large territory. In 1903 
the Island Company sold this property to 
the Vandalia Coal Company for more than 
$250 per acre. 

Much of this interesting business experi- 
ence is hardly known even to Mr. Scott's 
close friends. A large number of people 
know him chiefly for his extensive opera- 
tions in the development and reclamation 
of agricultural lands in Northern Indiana. 
Mrs. Scott, his wife, had some 2,200 acres 
of land bequeathed to her by her father in 
1879. One farm on the Tippecanoe river 
was upland, but about 1,900 acres in four 
different tracts were swamp land, being 



located in the Mud Creek region of Fulton 
County. Mr. Scott sold 500 acres of the 
swamp lands for $15 per acre, but he sub- 
divided the remaining 1,400 acres into five 
farms, erected barns and houses and other 
buildings, spent many thousands of dollars 
in open drains and tile drains, and after- 
ward sold the lands, some as high as $70 
an acre. 

In 1884 he bought 1,387 acres of marsh 
land for himself in the same county. This 
he subdivided into four farms, and again 
undertook extensive drainage work and im- 
provement. Today these four farms are 
worth much more than $100 an acre. On 
the four farms he has laid more than a 
hundred miles of tile drains, has caused 
four miles of big dredge ditches to be dug, 
and the example and woi*k of this one in- 
dividual owner has been a great factor of 
benefit to the improvement of swamp lands 
and all lands generally in Fulton County. 
Since selling his interest in the wheel 
factory in 1902 Mr. Scott has given most 
of his time to looking after his farms. He 
was a pioneer in the modern reclamation 
work in Northern Indiana. That work re- 
quired courage and foresight as well as a 
large amount of capital. The entire region 
where his operations have been centered 
is now under cultivation, and is no longer 
known as a marsh, but as a prairie. 

Only a broader outline of the career of 
Mr. Scott can be attempted here, since that 
broader outline constitutes real history. 
Mr. Scott has been a history maker in both 
Indiana and Michigan, and the public has 
an interest in what he has done. He is a 
keen and forceful American business man, 
and through it all has pervaded a public 
spirit that in many ways has inured to the 
progress and development of his home city 
of LaPorte. Mr. Scott was for five years 
mavor of LaPorte, serving from May, 1889, 
to September, 1894. Of larger constructive 
enterprises credited to his administration 
should be mentioned the improvement of 
the channels between Lily, Stone and Pine 
lakes, for the purpose of furnishing the 
city a permanent water supply. The first 
brick pavement in LaPorte is also attrib- 
uted to his administration. In politics Mr. 
Scott is a democi'at. 

Dr. Theophilus Parvin was born Janu- 
ary 9, 1829, at Buenos Aires, South 
America, where his parents were residing as 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1635 



missionaries. After receiving his medical 
degree from the University of Pennsylvania 
he located in Indianapolis as a medical 
practitioner in 1853, and except for the 
year he resided in Cincinnati made Indian- 
apolis his home until the fall of 1883, when 
he removed to Philadelphia. To Doctor 
Parvin belongs the honor of being the first 
physician of Indiana to write a medical 
text book, ' ' Science and Art of Obstetrics, ' ' 
and he was also honored with the presi- 
dency of the Indiana State Medical Society 
in 1862. 

Doctor Parvin excelled as a lecturer and 
teacher. His death occurred in Philadel- 
phia January 29, 1898. 

Earl E. Stafford is owner and head of 
"The House of Ideas," as he calls the Staf- 
ford Engraving Company of Indianapolis. 
Mr. Stafford has been himself a house of 
ideas ever since he started his career, and 
it was his ambition to do things in the 
engraving and illustrative field much bet- 
ter and along new lines that led him into 
founding a business which now has a his- 
tory of a quarter of a century. 

Mr. Stafford belongs to one of the old 
and honored families of Eastern Indiana, 
being a descendant of some of the Quakers 
who have been most conspicuous in the 
development of Wayne and Henry coun- 
ties. 

His grandfather, Dr. Daniel H. Stafford, 
was born in Wayne County, Indiana, Aug- 
ust 30, 1818, son of Samuel and Nancy 
(Hastings) Stafford, and a grandson of 
Daniel and Abigail Stafford, who came 
from North Carolina and settled in Wayne 
County, Indiana, in 1812. Nancy Hast- 
ings was a daughter of William and Sarah 
(Evans) Hastings. William Hastings was 
a native of New Jersey but went south 
to Western North Carolina, and in 1807 
moved to Wayne County, Indiana, where 
he was a school teacher in the first colony 
that settled in Eastern Indiana. Dr. 
Daniel H. Stafford was only six months 
old when his mother died. In 1822 his 
father moved to Henry County and thir- 
teen years later to Hamilton County. His 
father was a minister of the Society of 
Friends. Doctor Stafford served an ap- 
prenticeship of four years at the carpen- 
ter's trade, and while working at the trade 
in Henry County studied medicine. In 
1843 he began practice, and while the Civil 



war was in progress he took post-graduate 
work in the Physio-Medical Institute at 
Cincinnati. For a number of years he 
devoted much of his time to agriculture, 
but eventually found his time fully oc- 
cupied by his profession. He married in 
1838 Sarah G. Stretch, whose parents set- 
tled in Wayne County in 1823. 

Dr. James A. Stafford, father of Earl 
E., was oldest of the nine children of his 
parents. He was born in Henry County 
September 28, 1839. He was educated in 
the common schools and in Earlham Col- 
lege at Richmond, was a teacher for sev- 
eral terms, and in 1864 began reading 
medicine with his father. In 1867 he 
graduated from the Physio-Medical Insti- 
tute at Cincinnati, and during succeeding 
years built up a large practice at Millville. 
He also owned a large farm there and was 
especially successful in bee culture. He 
was also a merchant at Millville. He con- 
tinued the practice of his profession at 
Millville until 1907, when he moved to 
Newcastle, and there established a home 
hospital, which he has successfully con- 
ducted ever since. Though now in his 
eightieth year, he has the vigor of many 
men years younger, and spends part of his 
time on his large farm near Millville. He 
is a faithful member of the Friends 
Church, has been active in medical so- 
cieties, and is a republican in politics. For 
a long period of years he has given his 
advocacy to prohibition. In 1860 he mar- 
ried Miss Martha Payne, who died in 1866, 
leaving two sons, Horace and Charles. In 
1868 he married Elizabeth C. Worl, daugh- 
ter of John Worl, one of the early settlers 
of Henry County. 

Earl E. Stafford, only child of his 
father's second marriage, was born in 
Henry County, Indiana, December 25, 
1870. He attended the public schools of 
Millville and as an amateur had made con- 
siderable progress in the printing art be- 
fore he was thirteen years old. In 1887 
he entered Purdue University, and after 
leaving college he went to work at Indian- 
apolis in the advertising department of the 
Sun. He left the Sun in 1891 to engage 
in the advertising business for himself, and 
for a time conducted an advertising trade 
paper. Then, in March, 1893, he organized 
the Stafford Engraving Company, and has 
built a business which is undoubtedly one 
of the foremost exponents of artistic en- 



1636 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



graving in the Middle West. It is now a 
large organization, with a great plant and 
equipment and with a staff of expert men 
in all lines of commercial art and engrav- 
ing. This is the only engraving establish- 
ment in Indiana making process color 
plates. Mr. Stafford has devoted consid- 
erable time to agriculture and owns a farm 
of 139 acres in the suburbs of Indianapolis, 
which is devoted to the growing of small 
grains and live stock. 

Mr. Stafford is a republican and has been 
quite active in his party. October 20, 
1897, at Indianapolis, he married Miss 
Laura Coulon. They are the parents of 
two children, Robert E. and Dorothy Staf- 
ford. 

Hon. Richard Lowe, representative from 
Montgomery County in. the Sta + e Legisla- 
ture is widely known in many parts of the 
state besides his home county, and his rec- 
ord from young manhood to the present 
time has been marked by great efficiency 
and ability in every undertaking. 

He was born April 6, 1860, in the Vil- 
lage of Newton, Richland Township, Foun- 
tain County, Indiana. When he was six 
years of age he removed to Tippecanoe 
County, where he grew to manhood on a 
farm. He gained a higher education 
largely by his earnings as a farm laborer 
and as a teacher. He attended the North- 
western Normal University of Indiana at 
Valparaiso and also the Normal University 
of Lebanon, Ohio. For ten years he taught 
school, his work in that profession being 
in the states of Ohio, Kentucky and In- 
diana. Mr. Lowe in 1889 was appointed 
a special agent for the United States Pen- 
sion Bureau. It was in that work that 
his experience and abilities brought out his 
finest service. His duties took him to 
many parts of the United States, and he 
was more and more appointed to difficult 
cases requiring the services of an expert 
examiner. He held his office until 1910, 
and from that year until 1915 was dili- 
gently engaged as a farmer and stock 
raiser in Tippecanoe County. On retiring 
from his farm Mr. Lowe located at Craw- 
fordsville, and has since conducted a pen- 
sion office with branch offices at Indianap- 
olis and Lafayette. He has successfnlly 
prosecuted and adjusted many important 
claims for old soldiers and their repre- 
sentatives. During our war with the Cen- 



tral Powers of Europe Mr. Lowe as an 
attorney assisted gratuitously hundreds of 
soldiers and their heirs with their claims 
for allotment, compensation and insurance, 
and is yet engaged in this field of active 
usefulness. 

He was elected to represent Montgomery 
County in the legislature November 5, 
1918, on the republican ticket, and as a 
member of the Seventy-First General As- 
sembly of Indiana achieved the reputation 
of being a hard working, painstaking legis- 
lator. He is affiliated with the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, is a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, and has 
always been a student and lover of books 
and has a large private library in his com- 
fortable home at 209 East Pike Street in 
Crawfordsville. 

July 30, 1885, Mr. Lowe married Miss 
Gelesse Louella Jeffery, a native of Ohio. 
She died September 16, 1903, mother of 
one son, Sylvan Russell Lowe, born August 
14, 1886, and now a resident of Rochester, 
New York. October 19, 1905, Mr. Lowe 
married for his present wife Mrs. Olive 
Riggs, a native of Putnam County, In- 
diana. 

John Glasscott. The Glasscott family 
has had an active part in the history of 
Michigan City for many years. It was 
founded here by the late John Glasscott, 
and two of his sons continue the prestige 
of the name in business and civic affairs. 

John Glasscott was born in New Ross, 
County Wexford, Ireland, in 1838, son of 
Thomas and Anastasia (Cullerton) Glass- 
cott, who were lifelong residents of County 
Wexford. Four of their sons, Thomas, 
James, John and Nicholas, came to Amer- 
ica, also two daughters, Margaret Glasscott 
of Chicago and Eliza Glasscott Howard of 
Detroit, Michigan, while two sons, William 
and Robert, remained in Ireland. 

John Glasscott left the home of his 
parents when only nine years of age, and 
came to America on a sailing vessel, being 
five weeks on the ocean. Landing at New 
York, he went on west to Chicago, where he 
joined an uncle named John Redmond. 
He was employed in various lines until he 
reached manhood and then moved to Mich- 
igan City and learned the trade of brass 
moulder in the car shops. After a short 
time he entered the service of the Michigan 
Central Railway Company, and continued 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1637 



that employment until late in life, when he 
resigned and engaged in the coal business. 
He died in March, 1917, and left a good 
name in the community. He married 
Mary Olvaney, who was born in Defiance, 
Ohio. Her father, John Olvaney, was a 
native of Dublin, Ireland, and he and his 
brother Patrick were the only members of 
the family to come to America. John Ol- 
vaney was a young man when he reached 
this country, and in New York he met and 
married Mary Frazier. They started west 
with a team and wagon, and having limited 
means they had to stop at different times 
along the road to earn sufficient money to 
keep them in supplies, and thus by stages 
they continued westward until they ar- 
rived in Michigan City, then a small town. 
John Olvaney died there a few years later, 
leaving his widow and several small chil- 
dren. One son, named John, served four 
years in the Union army during the Civil 
war. About a year after the war he met 
his death by drowning in the lake while 
attempting to save the life of another. Mr. 
and Mrs. Glasscott had four children, Alex- 
ander, who died at the age of seven years, 
John, Thomas and Matie, the latter the 
wife of Rudolph Krueger. 

Thomas Glasscott attended the parochial 
schools and public schools of Michigan 
City, and after finishing his education took 
up clerical work. For the past six years 
he has discharged the responsibilities of 
savings teller in the Citizens Bank. He is 
a member of St. Mary's Church, as were 
his parents, and is affiliated with Council 
No. 837 of the Knights of Columbus, and 
with the Chamber of Commerce. 

His brother, John J. Glasscott, was also 
born in Michigan City, was educated in the 
parochial schools, and as a young man 
entered the retail coal business. After sev- 
eral years he broadened his enterprise to 
include real estate and insurance and also 
the wholesale coal trade, and he is now 
at the head of a large and successful 
enterprise. In 1894 he married Evan- 
geline McCrory, a native of Michigan City 
and a daughter of John and Catherine Mc- 
Crory. They have four children : Eulalia, 
Lorenzo A., Robert and Evangeline. Eul- 
alia is a teacher of domestic science in the 
Michigan City schools and Lorenzo gradu- 
ated from the law department of Notre 
Dame University at the age of twenty- 
one. The family are members of St. 
Mary's Church and John Glasscott is affil- 



iated with Michigan City, Council No. 837, 
Knights of Columbus, and is a member of 
the Chamber of Commerce. 

i 
Eugene C. Dolmetsch. This is one of 
the honored names in wholesale circles at 
Indianapolis, and also suggests the career 
of a man who coming to America compara- 
tively poor and unknown has carved his 
destiny as a substantial citizen of Indiana 
and has a record which his own children 
and every other citizen may read with in- 
spiration and encouragement. 

He was born in Wuertemberg, Germany, 
September 11, 1855, one of the nine chil- 
dren of Christian and Maria (Haueisen) 
Dolmetsch. The first fourteen years of 
his life were spent in Germany. He at- 
tended the common schools, and before 
beginning the second period of a German 
youth, that of a practical apprenticeship at 
some trade, he accompanied an uncle, Wil- 
liam Haueisen, to the United States. They 
came direct to Indianapolis, where Mr. 
Dolmetsch arrived with a very imperfect 
knowledge of the English language or 
American customs. It was his purpose to 
make this country his future home and to 
win success if perseverance and industry 
would accomplish that end. For several 
years he attended night school in Indian- 
apolis, and therein perfected his knowl- 
edge of the language and gained other 
qualifications for worthy and useful citi- 
zenship. 

It was nearly fifty years ago that Mr. 
Dolmetsch came to Indianapolis, and in 
all those years his interest and employ- 
ment have been practically along one line. 
His first experience was as clerk in the 
wholesale and retail toy establishment of 
Charles Mayer & Company. He remained 
with that firm, giving the best that was in 
him of faithful service and hard work, for 
a period of thirty-four years. In 1902 
the original firm retired and was succeeded 
by five of the older employes, Eugene C. 
Dolmetsch, John G. Ohleyer, Herman H. 
Sielken, Otto Keller and George Hofman. 
These five men organized and incorporated 
the E. C. Dolmetsch Company. Since that 
time Mr. Dolmetsch has been the active 
president of the corporation. The 
specialty of the company is wholesaling 
druggists sundries, toys and fancy goods. 
It is a large and important firm, and one 
that has added not a little to the prestige 
of Indianapolis as a wholesale center. 



1638 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Besides his business affairs Mr. Dol- 
nietsch has always entered fully into the 
responsibilities of American citizenship. 
He is independent in politics, is a member 
of the Lutheran Church and is identified 
with the Knights of Pythias. Many times 
his name has appeared in connection with 
some movements which have brought im- 
portant institutions into the life of In- 
dianapolis. Since America entered into 
war with Germany his patriotism has been 
signally demonstrated, and he was one of 
the proud American fathers who welcomed 
the fact that his youngest son, Walter K., 
volunteered as a soldier in the National 
Army. His only other son, Eugene C. 
Dolmetsch, Jr., is actively associated with 
him in business. 

May 26, 1886, Mr. Dolmetsch married 
Miss Ida Kevers. She was born in Ohio of 
German parentage. 

Clara Margaret Sweitzer. Of Indiana 
women who have chosen independent voca- 
tions in spheres and fields outside the rou- 
tine of woman's labors, Clara Margaret 
Sweitzer of Richmond has the distinction 
of success and professional attainments as 
an optometrist. She has a large and pros- 
perous clientage and business in the West- 
cott Hotel Building. 

She was born at Shakopee, Minnesota, 
daughter of Nicholas and Christine (Hoe- 
ing) Sweitzer, both of whom were born in 
Bavaria, Germany. Miss Sweitzer was 
educated in parochial schools and also in 
the Notre Dame Convent. After some 
business experience in different lines she 
entered the Rochester School of Opto- 
metry, graduated, and in 1905 located at 
Richmond, opening an office and consulting 
rooms at 927% Main Street. She soon 
had a growing business and on December 
16, 1918, opened a newly appointed office 
in the Westcott Hotel. Hers is one of 
the largest business of its kind in Wayne 
County. She carries a complete stock of 
optical goods and has all the facilities for 
perfect adjustment and fitting for indivi- 
dual use. Much of her business comes 
from outside towns, and no small share of 
it from outside the state. 

Miss Sweitzer is a member of the State 
and National Associations of Optometrists. 
She has been actively engaged in state as- 
sociation work and has served on various 
committees for several years. She has also 



represented the state as a delegate in na- 
tional conventions. She believes in suf- 
frage for women but is rather averse to 
office holding for the sex. She is a mem- 
ber of St. Mary's Catholic Church and is 
an independent in politics. 

John J. Harrington, Jr., is an execu- 
tive of one of the old established business 
concerns of Richmond, the John J. Har- 
rington Wholesale Accessories, Saddlery 
and other supplies house. 

He was born at Richmond in September, 
1882, a son of John J. and Anna (Ross) 
Harrington. As a boy he attended paro- 
chial schools, also the Garfield School, and 
was an honor graduate from the Richmond 
High School in 1900. In September of 
that year he entered Notre Dame Univer- 
sity, and took the two years ' course leading 
to the degree Master of Accounts in one 
year, graduating in 1901. He at once re- 
turned to Richmond and entered his 
father's business, and has been given in- 
creasing responsibilities in that concern 
with passing years. 

In 1907 he married Henrietta Luken, 
daughter of A. G. Luken, a pioneer drug- 
gist of Richmond. Mr. and Mrs. Har- 
rington have four children. Mr. Harring- 
ton is a republican and was elected un- 
animously Grand Knight of the Knights 
of Columbus, and had charge of all their 
war work drives in Richmond. He is a 
member of the Commercial Club, the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
is a member of the National Association of 
Wholesale Saddlery Dealers, and a mem- 
ber of St. Mary's Church. 

Capt. Silas E. Taylor, who was a cap- 
tain of engineers in the Civil war, earning 
promotion from the ranks to a captaincy, 
has been a resident of LaPorte for over 
half a century, and for many years was 
head of one of the largest printing concerns 
of that city. He learned the printing trade 
when a boy and followed it steadily with 
the exception of the Civil war period until 
he retired quite recently. 

Captain Taylor was born at Bath in 
Steuben County, New York, July 16, 1837. 
His great-grandfather, Nathan Taylor, was 
a native of Connecticut and served in the 
war of the Revolution. After that war he 
became a pioneer settler in Washington 
County, New York. John Taylor, grand- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1639 



father of Captain Taylor, was born in 
Washington County, New York, learned 
the trade of millwright, and established 
one of the early homes in Steuben County, 
traveling from Washington to Steuben 
County with wagon and team. He bought 
a tract of timber land at $1 an acre, sup- 
plied his family and home with the necessi- 
ties of life by working at his trade, and 
also superintended the management of the 
farm, where he lived until his death, when 
upwards of ninety years of age. He mar- 
ried Miss Baker. 

Daniel Bacon Taylor, father of Captain 
Taylor, was born at Fort Ann in Washing- 
ton County, New York, in 1805. He also 
learned the trade of millwright, and fol- 
lowed it all his active career in New York 
State. He married Dorcas Cothrell, a life- 
long resident of New York State. 

Captain Taylor is the only surviving 
child of the seven born to his parents. At 
the age of fourteen, having had some for- 
mal instruction in the schools of that time, 
he began learning the printer's trade in 
the office of the Steuben Courier. He 
worked at this occupation steadily until 
1860, when he went west to Port Clintdn, 
Ohio, and established a newspaper. He 
did not long remain connected with that 
enterprise, owing to the fact that the Civil 
war broke out and he responded to the 
call for his services by returning to New 
York State and enlisting in the Fiftieth 
Regiment of New York Engineers. The 
first year he served as a private, then for 
one day as first sergeant, later as second 
lieutenant, was promoted to first lieuteriant, 
and finally as captain commanded the 
company and in many ways distinguished 
himself by the enterprise and intrepidity of 
his organization during several of the im- 
portant campaigns of the war. The war 
over, he returned to New York and resumed 
employment in a printing office at Hornell. 

Captain Taylor came to LaPorte in. 1867 
for the purpose of accepting a position in 
the office of the LaPorte Herald. At that 
time the principal machine for printing in 
the office was a hand press. With the 
growth of the city the facilities of the office 
were increased, and for many years Captain 
Taylor was connected with one of the larg- 
est printing establishments in Northern 
Indiana. This company also published for 
some years the LaPorte Herald, and at one 
time Captain Taylor owned a half interest 



in that publication. He became president 
of the printing company and held that 
office until he retired February 4, 1916. 

Dr. James F. Hibbard is one of the noted 
and well remembered Indiana physicians 
who have been called to the life beyond. 
He was long prominent in the medical socie- 
ties of the state, and as early as 1862 was 
elected president of the State Medical So- 
ciety, and in 1893 was chosen president of 
the American Medical Association. His 
contributions to the former were numerous 
and valuable. Indiana claims Doctor Hib- 
bard among the eminent men who graced 
her medical profession. His home was at 
Richmond. 

William M. Ferree. The Ferree fam- 
ily has been in Indiana since pioneer times 
and are well known in several different 
counties of the state. William M. Ferree 
has been in the lumber business for the 
greater part of his active career, and is 
now a partner in one of the large retail 
lumber establishments of Indianapolis. 

The first member of the Ferree family 
in America was a Huguenot who came 
from France for the purpose of seeking 
freedom of religious worship. Through 
the influence of William Penn he received 
a land grant in what is now Lancaster 
County, Pennsylvania. The family thus 
established became numerous, produced 
many estimable men and women, and one 
branch of it subsequently moved to Vir- 
ginia. From Virginia in the early part of 
the last century the Ferrees came to Rush 
County, Indiana, where Oliver S. Ferree, 
father of the Indianapolis merchant and 
son of William, who was the son of John, 
was born April 9, 1836. Oliver Ferree 
when a boy was thrown from a horse and 
was a cripple all the rest of his life. De- 
spite this handicap he developed sterling 
business qualities and for many years was 
one of the prosperous merchants at Somer- 
set in Wabash County. He spent his later 
years on his old farm in that county. In 
the days when Indiana still furnished a 
large quantity of the finest of hard wood 
timber he built a home which was finished 
throughout with walnut, a timber now al- 
most priceless and as valuable as ma- 
hogany. This fine old home was only re- 
cently destroyed by fire. Oliver Ferree 
was active in the Methodist Episcopal 



1640 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Church, served as a church official, and in 
politics was a republican. . His first wife 
was Mary L. Miles, who was born at 
Marion, Grant County, Indiana. She died 
in 1878, the mother of two sons, Francis 
M., and William M., the former a farmer 
occupying the old homestead in Wabash 
County. Oliver Ferree married for his 
second wife Annie White, who now lives at 
Thorntown, Indiana. 

William M. Ferree was born on Wash- 
ington's birthday, February 22, 1870, at 
Somerset in Wabash County, Indiana. In 
that locality he spent the years preceding 
manhood, and finished his education in the 
Somerset High School. His energies were 
employed on the home farm until the age 
of twenty, at which date he removed to 
Elwood, and there gained his first experi- 
ence in the lumber trade. For eleven years 
he was connected with the Elwood Planing 
Mill, most of the time as yard foreman. 
From Elwood he removed to Indianapolis, 
and entered the service of the Kies Lum- 
ber Company. The Kies lumber plant is 
now operated by the Brannum & Keeneler 
Lumber Company, situated on East Wash- 
ington Street. Mr. Ferree was connected 
with these two organizations for ten years 
and for two years was with the Fayette 
Lumber Company at Connersville. Sell- 
ing his interests there he returned to In- 
dianapolis and in 1914 organized the Fer- 
ree-Case Lumber Company, of which he is 
secretary and treasurer. This company 
conducts a general lumber supply business 
at State Street and the Big Four Railway 
tracks, and they also have a business con- 
nection with the Case Lumber Company of 
Rushville, Indiana. 

September 15, 1892, Mr. Ferree married 
Miss Jeanette A. Seward, daughter of Jack 
and Margaret Seward. Six children have 
been born to their marriage. Two of them, 
Dale Oliver and Mary, are deceased, the 
former at the age of three and the latter 
at eight years. John R., the oldest child, 
senior at Butler College, Indianapolis, is 
now in the uniform of a soldier, member 
of the Three Hundred and Twenty- 
Seventh Field Artillery, American Ex- 
peditionary Forces in France. The son 
Paul is a student in the Technical High 
School of Indianapolis. The two younger 
children are Elizabeth and Jeanette. 

Mr. Ferree is affiliated with the Lodge, 
Royal Arch Chapter and Council of Ma- 



sonry, with the A. A. Scottish Rite, thirty- 
second degree, with the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, the Improved Order of Red 
Men and the Modern Woodmen. Politi r 
cally he casts his vote as a democrat. 

Charles A. Korbly, Sr., was one of the 
very able members of the Indiana bar dur- 
ing the last third of the nineteenth century. 
He was never prominent in politics and 
his reputation rests most soundly upon the 
work he did as a lawyer, and as such his 
reputation was not confined to any one 
county of the state. The honored name 
he made as a lawyer has been sustained by 
the splendid abilities of his two sons, 
Charles A., Jr., and Bernard, both promi- 
nent members of the Indianapolis bar. In 
public affairs the member of the family 
known is Charles A. Korbly, Jr., former 
congressman from Indiana. 

Charles A. Korbly, Sr., was born at 
Louisville, Kentucky, January 16, 1842. 
His father, Charles Korbly, was a native of 
Bavaria but married in France. From 
there he came to the United States and 
lived at Louisville, Kentucky, for some 
years. He was a man of adventurous dis- 
position and in 1849 with others started 
overland for California. The last word 
received from him was at St. Joseph, Mis- 
souri, and whether he lost his life on the 
way or after reaching California has never 
been known. His widow then took her 
family to Ripley County, Indiana, where 
Charles A. Korbly, Sr., was reared. He re- 
ceived some education at home, also taught 
school during his youth, and began the 
study of medicine, but turned from the 
preparation for that profession to the law. 
The man who directed and inspired most 
of his researches in the law was Wiliiam 
Henrv Harrington, then a prominent law- 
yer of Madison and later at Indianapolis. 

Charles A. Korbly became a partner 
with Mr. Harrington and for nearly thirty 
years practiced law in Jefferson County 
and surrounding counties. In 1895 he 
removed to Indianapolis, where he formed 
a partnership with Alonzo Green Smith, a 
former attorney general of Indiana. This 
partnership continued until the death of 
Mr. Korbly. 

As a lawyer Mr. Korbly was known not 
as a brilliant advocate nor for his forensic 
ability, but rather for his deep and thor- 
ough knowledge of the law and its appli- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1641 



cation. He would not take a case unless 
it had merit. When once employed his 
clients could rest assured that their in- 
terests were sacred and that he would be 
indefatigable in conserving them. This 
was the basis of the reputation which be- 
came widespread over Indiana. He was 
in every sense a safe counsellor, and well 
deserved the high position he gained at the 
bar. Though an ardent democrat in polit- 
ical belief he never showed an inclina- 
tion for official honors. About his only 
official work was several years as United 
States commissioner. He served in the 
Union army during the Civil war until in- 
jured. He was a member of the Catholic 
Church. 

Charles A. Korbly, Sr., died June 13, 
1900. He married Mary B. Bright, who sur- 
vived him. Her father, Michael G. Bright, 
was a native of New York State and of Re- 
volutionary American stock. For many 
years he was a successful lawyer at Madi- 
son and finally came to Indianapolis, where 
he continued in practice for a number of 
years. Charles A Korbly, Sr., and wife 
had five children. The three still living 
are Charles A., Jr. ; Mary B., Mrs. John G. 
McNutt; and Bernard. 

Charles A. Korbly, Jr., was born at Madi- 
son, Indiana, March 24, 1871, and he was 
educated in the parochial schools of that 
city, attended St. Joseph's College in Illi- 
nois for two terms and studied law under 
his father. He was admitted to the bar in 
1892, and in 1895 came to Indianapolis and 
became connected with his father's firm, 
Smith & Korbly. After the death of his 
father in 1900 he practiced with Alonzo 
Green Smith and with his brother Bernard 
until 1902. Since then he has practiced 
alone. Mr. Korbly has a number of busi- 
ness interests at Indianapolis, and in the 
spring of 1908 he was nominated on the 
democratic ticket for congressman from the 
Seventh District. He was elected on that 
ticket against a large normal republican 
majority and was one of the leading mem- 
bers of the Indiana delegation in the House 
of Representatives during the Sixty-first, 
Sixty-second and Sixty-third congresses, 
from 1909 to 1915. 

Mr. Korbly is a recognized student of 
politics and affairs and a number of years 
ago prepared some articles on currency 
and banking for the Indianapolis News. 
These articles were widely copied, and 



had much to do with molding opinion and 
educating the public on these great issues. 
Mr. Korbly is a member of the Indiana 
State Historical Society, the Hoosier His- 
torical Society at Madison, the Indian- 
apolis Board of Trade and Commercial 
Club, the Indiana Bar Association, and is 
a member of the Catholic Church. June 
10, 1902, he married Isabel Stephens Pal- 
mer, daughter of Edward and Elizabeth 
(Stephens) Palmer and granddaughter of 
Hon. Nathan B. Palmer, speaker of the 
Indiana House of Representatives in 1832 
and later was treasurer of the state. Mrs. 
Korbly is of a family containing Revolu- 
tionary ancestors. 

Bernard Korbly has had a highly suc- 
cessful career as an Indianapolis lawyer. 
He was born at Madison June 29, 1875, and 
was educated in the schools of that city 
and at St. Joseph's College at Teutopolis, 
Illinois. He read law with the firm of 
Smith & Korbly at Indianapolis and since 
1896 has been one of the leading members 
of the bar. Mr. Korbly has also been prom- 
inent in democratic politics and was dem- 
ocratic state chairman of Indiana from 
the spring of 1912 until January, 1918. He 
is a member of a number of clubs and or- 
ganizations. He married Margaret E. 
Crim. 

Joseph Doty Oliver. Were it not that 
invention, expansion and accomplishment 
have marked so many lines of industry in 
these modern days all over the world, still 
greater attention than ever would have 
been given to the amazing growth and un- 
paralleled success of one of Indiana 's larg- 
est industries, which the name of Oliver has 
been identified since its birth. In the long 
years of national peace, as well as in world 
war times, the Oliver Chilled Plow has been 
recognized as a necessary adjunct to agri- 
cultural production. South Bend has al- 
ways been the home of this manufacturing 
plant, which now covers seventy-five acres, 
and South Bend is the home of Joseph 
Doty Oliver, who is president of the Oliver 
Chilled Plow Works. 

Joseph Doty Oliver was born at Mish- 
awaka, Saint Joseph County, Indiana, 
August 2, 1850. His parents were James 
and Susan (Doty) Oliver. James Oliver 
was born in Roxburyshire, Scotland, and 
died at South Bend, Indiana, March 2, 
1908, surviving his wife six years, her 



1642 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



death occurring September 13, 1902. The 
Olivers came to Indiana in 1836 and settled 
at Mishawaka in Saint Joseph County. 
Mr. James Oliver remained there for sev- 
eral decades, and in 1855 moved to South 
Bend, where he found a chance to invest 
in an established foundry, paying $88.76 
of his sole cash capital of $100 for a one- 
fourth interest. Among the products of 
the foundry were cast iron plows, con- 
sidered by farmers a decided advance over 
the old wood mold-board plows of earlier 
days. James Oliver's judgment convinced 
him that the cast iron plows were too heavy 
and not adapted to many soils, and he be- 
gan experimenting and for twelve years 
put his inventive genius into the work, and 
finally evolved the Oliver Chilled Plow, 
which remains to this day the accepted 
implement of its kind the world over, and 
at the same time is a lasting testimonial 
to the perseverance, patience and construc- 
tive skill of its inventor. 

The plant of the Oliver Chilled Plow 
"Works is the most extensive of its char- 
acter in the world, with a manufacturing 
capacity of more than half a million plows 
annually, besides other implements and re- 
cently patented devices. The plant is situ- 
ated along the New York Central Rail- 
road tracks south for a distance approxi- 
mately six city blocks, and from Chapin 
Street over four city blocks to Arnold 
Street. There are twenty-six different 
buildings, including a six-story warehouse, 
and its offices are at 533 Chapin Street. 
Employment is given 3,000 hands and the 
products are shipped all over the world. 

An interesting example of what is being 
carried on at the plant in the way of ad- 
ding to the industrial power of the agri- 
culturists in the present situation, when the 
world is looking to the United States for 
bread, is the hastening up of the manu- 
facture of one of the company's inventions 
of 1914. Its description, without technica- 
lities, stamps it as a combined rolling colter 
and jointer device, to be used with many 
patterns of Oliver plows. A feature 
of the utility of this device is that it will 
thoroughly cover under weeds as high as 
a man 's head and bury them at the bottom 
of the furrow, and when it comes into uni- 
versal use, as it will, there will be no more 
trouble for the farmers from such destruc- 
tive pests as grasshoppers, bollweevil, white 
grubs or Hessian fly. This is but one of 



the many inventions completed and under 
way of this company, and all of them, in 
order to satisfy the present head of the 
company, Joseph Doty Oliver, must have 
specific value for the farmer, and he ac- 
cepts no other under the name of improve- 
ments. 

Joseph Doty Oliver since leaving Notre 
Dame Academy and De Pauw University 
has been closely identified with the man- 
ufacturing business above described, enter- 
ing the factory and obtaining thereby a 
practical working knowledge in which he 
has never lost interest. He is not only the 
nominal but actual head of the Oliver Chil- 
led Plow Works, taking pride in its success 
and intelligently assisting in working out 
its problems. In his devotion to business 
sometimes his friends have declared that 
he has not taken time to accept political 
and other preferments, but business first 
has always appealed to him. However, 
Mr. Oliver has never shirked responsibil- 
ities and as an ardent republican has been 
ready to respond to the legitimate calls of 
his party, but in large measure he has 
preferred to loyally support others and 
advance their ambitions rather than to en- 
joy their fruits for himself. He has served 
on several occasions as a delegate to state 
and national conventions, and is an active 
member of the South Bend Chamber of 
Commerce. He is also a trustee of Purdue 
University and at this time president of 
the board. 

When the affairs of this nation became 
critical Mr. Oliver put aside his reluctance 
to assume heavy public responsibility, sub- 
ordinating all private interests when called 
upon by the secretary of the treasury of 
the United States to accept the office of 
state director for Indiana of the savings 
certificate plan of the government. He is 
president of the Saint Joseph County 
Council of Defense, and in every way is 
working for the patriotic objects that are 
the heart and soul of Americanism. 

Mr. Oliver was married at Johnstown, 
New York, December 10, 1884, to Miss 
Anna Gertrude Wells, and they have four 
children : James Oliver, who is vice pres- 
ident of the Oliver Chilled Plow Works; 
Gertrude Wells, who is the wife of Charles 
Frederick Cunningham, secretary of the 
company; Joseph D., of South Bend, who 
is treasurer of the Oliver Chilled Plow 
Works, was married April 30, 1917, to 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1643 



Miss Ellinor F. McMillin, who is a daugh- 
ter of Hon. Benton McMillin, present 
United States minister to Peru, South 
America, and formerly governor of Ten- 
nessee; and Susan Catherine, who resides 
with her parents. The family residence, 
one of the finest private homes in the state, 
stands on Washington Avenue, South 
Bend. 

Mr. Oliver is a director of the National 
Park Bank of New York City ; of the First 
National Bank of Chicago, and of the P. C. 
C. & St. L. Railroad Company. While 
his home training and personal beliefs have 
made him a Presbyterian in religious faith, 
Mr. Oliver in this as in other attitudes is 
liberal minded and he gives generous sup- 
port to many church bodies. Personally 
he is very approachable, and a visitor soon 
senses the sincerity that is in the genial 
smile and hearty hand-shake, and finds 
no difficulty in understanding his popular- 
ity with his army of employes as well as 
his fellow citizens. 

George H. Wilcox, senior partner of 
Wilcox Brothers, men's furnishing goods 
merchants of Newcastle, has been more or 
less identified with business at Newcastle 
for the past nine years, and his career as 
a traveling man and merchant covers a 
number of localities in Ohio and Indiana. 

George H. Wilcox was born at Allens- 
ville in Vinton Countv, Ohio, December 
3, 1874, a son of N. C. and Margaret (Culy) 
Wilcox. The Wilcox family is of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry. His maternal grandfather, 
David Culy, came from London, England, 
and at Lebanon Ohio, served an apprentice- 
ship at the cooper's trade. Later he stud- 
ied medicine and became one of the capa- 
ble old time country practitioners in the 
vicinity of Good Hope and Jeffersonville, 
Fayette County, Ohio. He practiced in 
true pioneer style, riding horseback and 
carrying medicines in a saddlebag. He 
continued his profession until about five 
years before his death, which occurred in 
1908. Of his four children three are still 
living, the second in age being Margaret 
Culy who was married at Allensville, Ohio, 
to N. C. Wilcox. They have four children, 
all living. 

George H. Wilcox acquired his educa- 
tion in the public schools at Jefferson- 
ville, Ohio, graduating from high school 
in 1891. His initial experience in mer- 



chandising was acquired by work in his 
father's dry goods store. In 1895 he went 
to Cincinnati, and traveled out of that city 
representing the Meyer, Wise & Karchen 
Company, wholesale furnishing goods and 
notions. His territory was Southern Ohio, 
Kentucky and West Virginia, including 
most of the Ohio river towns as far east as 
Charleston, West Virginia. He was on the 
road fifteen years. In the meantime he 
was acquiring interests in several -local 
establishments. In 1906 he bought his 
father's dry goods business at Continental, 
Ohio, and put his brother, Leo D., in 
charge. In 1909 this business was moved 
to Crooksville, Perry County, Ohio, where 
it was continued until 1915. At that time 
the dry goods and women's furnishings 
were sold over the counter, while the men's 
clothing department was moved to Elkhart, 
Indiana, and continued there until July 1, 
1918. 

After leaving the road in 1909 Mr. Wil- 
cox moved to Newcastle in 1910 and bought 
the Campbell Brothers' dry goods store. 
He proceeded to sell that stock over the 
counter and then established a new and 
complete stock of furnishing goods, cloth- 
ing and shoes on March 10, 1910, and to 
this business he has given his personal 
attention and has built up a trade that 
satisfied all the demands of the city trade 
and much of the country district surround- 
ing. His stock is complete in men's fur- 
nishings and shoes, and his long experience 
enables him to furnish the highest quality 
consistent with the price. 

In August, 1904, Mr. Wilcox married 
Viola Schath, daughter of George and Min- 
nie Schath, of Cincinnati. Mr. Wilcox 
is a republican, a York Rite Mason and 
Shriner, having affiliations with Syrian 
Temple at Cincinnati, is a member of the 
United Commercial Travelers, has filled all 
the chairs in Cincinnati Council, of which 
he is still a member and is a member of 
Cincinnati Lodge No. 5, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and has also 
identified himself in a public spirited man- 
ner with all movements affecting the local 
welfare of his home city of Newcastle. 

Gustave G. Schmidt has known Indian- 
apolis as a resident for a half a century, is 
a native of the city and represents one of 
the familiar and honored names there. He 
has himself been one of the valuable in- 



1644 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



fluence in the upbuilding and progress of 
the city. He has had many interesting 
experiences and achievements, and some of 
the more important details of his career 
are a real contribution to local history. 

Mr. Schmidt was one of the pioneers in 
introducing to Indianapolis the most mod- 
ern of amusements, the moving picture 
show. He is now president of the Atlas 
Amusement Corporation, which owns and 
operates three of the best known moving 
picture houses in the city, the Crystal, the 
Atlas and the Stratford. 

Mr. Schmidt was born December 27. 
1865, son of Adolf and Elizabeth (Voss) 
Schmidt. His father was a native of Ger- 
many and his mother of Alsace. Adolf 
Schmidt grew up and was educated in the 
fine old university city of Heidelberg. One 
of his college mates was the strenuous 
American citizen and patriot Carl Schurz, 
and both of them shared in the enlightened 
liberalism and ideals of political freedom 
which threw Germany into the throes of 
revolution in 1848, and it was an aftermath 
of that struggle that Schurz and many of 
his compatriots, including Adolf Schmidt, 
had to leave the fatherland and transplant 
their lives and their ideas to -the New 
World. Adolf Schmidt possessed consider- 
able property and enjoyed a good social 
position in his home city, but the property 
was confiscated and he barely made escape 
with his life through France to America. 
The presence of friends and relatives led 
him to Indianapolis, and ever afterward 
he was a true lover of American institu- 
tions. His first employment in this city 
was as a baker, and he afterward opened 
a shop of his own on Massachusetts near 
New Jersey Street, and later on East Wash- 
ington Street, and here built up an ex- 
tensive news business, handling all foreign 
periodicals, and was Indiana representa- 
tive of the International News Service. At 
one time he contributed to the numerous 
pages of Puck and Judge. He was also 
interested in the publication of the In- 
diana Tribune, a German paper, and was 
financially identified with other Indian- 
apolis publications. 

It was in a home that radiated the 
atmosphere of political freedom and the 
best American ideals that Gustave G. 
Schmidt grew to manhood. After getting 
his education his first occupation was 
in the news service selling papers, 



and subsequently he worked as a messenger 
for the Western Union. He rapidly ac- 
quired a knowledge of the telegraph key, 
and was employed at the old central office 
taking press reports and handling the wire 
for the Indiana State Journal when John 
C. New was its editor. During the big 
strike of the commercial telegraphers in 
1883 he lost his position and then sought 
work as a railroad telegrapher. He was 
operator and dispatcher on the I. B. & W. 
road before he was twenty-one years of 
age. Not long afterward an accident oc- 
curred through the mistake of another op- 
erator, but which involved him in the in- 
vestigation and caused him to throw up 
his job. During the interval that followed 
he put in ninety days as an employe of 
the Northern Pacific Railway at Dickinson, 
North Dakota. He also worked as dis- 
patcher and operator with the T. St. L. 
and K. C. and the Monon Railroad, being 
at Bloomington, Indiana, for the latter. 
While there he took up the study of law 
but did not continue it to the point of 
admission to the bar. When the Schmidt 
brewery installed a telegraph and cable 
line Mr. Schmidt went to work as operator 
and bookkeeper for the plant. Subse- 
quently the firm sent him out as salesman 
and southern representative with an office 
at Louisville, Kentucky, where he had 
charge of their extensive interests and ju- 
risdiction over the southern trade of the 
company for six years. Returning to In- 
dianapolis, Mr. Schmidt was local repre- 
sentative of the Pabst Brewing Company, 
and afterwards of the Schmidt brewery. 
It was while in this business that he fur- 
nished some financial resources to establish- 
ing the Airdome near the Atlas Engine 
Company plant. That was his introduc- 
tion to the picture show business, and in 
later years the promotion of this amuse- 
ment has occupied most of his time and 
energies. Mr. Schmidt is an active repub- 
lican in politics. 

Mr. Schmidt's first wife, was Carrie Wil- 
lings. She died in 1895, leaving one son, 
Raymond Voss. This son possesses the 
patriotic ardor of his father and grand- 
father, and has made strenuous efforts to 
get his services accepted by the United 
States government in the present war. He 
has volunteered four times, and attended 
the officers training camp, but on account 
of slightly defective eyesight was barred 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1645 



from the service. A special trip by his 
father to Washington and the exercise of 
political influence has so far failed to se- 
cure him the opportunity of any service. 
Mr. Schmidt married for his present wife 
Elnore Hartman. Her father, Fred Hart- 
man, served as a soldier in the Civil war 
with the Union army, and for fifty years 
was a well known wagon manufacturer in 
Indianapolis. Mr. and Mrs. Schmidt have 
one daughter, Catherine. 

Robert J. Meuser has spent his life in 
the meat business, as a stock buyer, packer 
and retailer, and represents a family 
through whose record the history of pork 
and general meat packing in Indiana might 
easily be told. The Meusers for three 
generations have been identified with the 
packing industry in. this state. Robert 
J. Meuser is now conducting a high class 
market at 440 East "Washington Street, and 
is a pioneer in establishing the now fa- 
miliar "cash and carry" system of selling 
food products. 

Mr. Meuser was born in Madison, In- 
diana, May 25, 1875, a son of John R. and 
Wilhelmina (Dietz) Meuser. His grand- 
father, George Meuser, was one of the first 
if not the first pork packers at Madison, 
Indiana. That was in the days of river 
transportation, when meat packing was 
confined almost entirely to the salt curing 
of pork and long before refrigerator cars 
were even dreamed of. John R. Meuser 
was born at Madison December 25, 1849, 
and when a boy helped carry the brick 
which entered into the construction of the 
Meuser Packing House. This business did 
a large export trade. Most of their prod- 
ucts were packed on barges in the river 
and meat was cured as it floated down the 
river to New Orleans. John R. Meuser 
succeeded his father in business, and in 
1888 moved to Indianapolis, where he re- 
sumed his work with the Indianapolis ab- 
batoir, the public slaughter house. Later 
he built the packing house which now be- 
longs to Brown Brothers, packers. For 
two years before his death he retired. He 
passed away February 2, 1912, and his 
wife died in 1914. Her people were from 
Germany. John R. Meuser was a repub- 
lican and stood high in Masonry, filling 
all the chairs in Lodge No. 2, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, at Madison and be- 
ing member of the Scottish Rite and Shrine 



at Indianapolis. His wife was active in 
the English Lutheran Church. They have 
six children: George E., who is in the 
United States Navy ; Alice, a trained nurse 
living at Indianapolis ; Robert J. ; Mary 
R., wife of James Badorf, of Kansas City; 
G. R. wife of Captain Ralph, who is now 
in the United States service; and William 
H., connected with the automobile business 
at Indianapolis. 

Robert J. Meuser received his education 
in Madison and in early life became his 
father's assistant in the packing business. 
He has had experience in every detail of 
that work. He has bought livestock on the 
hoof, has studied and worked at every 
phase of the slaughter and packing of 
meat products, and has also supervised the 
sale and distribution both as a jobber and 
retailer. In 1901 he was at the Indianap- 
olis stockyards as a commission man, and 
his ability enabled him to make money 
very rapidly. He finally financed a pack- 
ing business at the old Reiffel packing 
house. This began on a small scale, and 
gradually increased until it was one of the 
leading concerns of its kind at Indianap- 
olis, conducted under the name Meyer- 
Meuser Packing Company. Mr. Meuser 
remained a factor in that business until 
1911, when he retired to establish his 
present retail market at 440 East Wash- 
ington Street. From the very first this has 
been a "cash and carry" business. 

Mr. Meuser and family reside at Edge- 
wood on the Madison road in Perry Town- 
ship. In 1900 he married Lena R. Sum- 
mers, who died in 1903, leaving two daugh- 
ters, Margaret and Ruth. In 1913 Mr. 
Meuser married Ruby R. Hester. 

Mr. Meuser is affiliated with Capital 
City Lodge No. 97, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons and Pentalpha Chapter No. 
564, Royal Arch Masons. He has always 
been an earnest worker for the success of 
the republican party. 

William Marshall Walton, of La- 
Porte, is known all over the State of In- 
diana in horticultural circles and is a rec- 
ognized authority on every phase of the 
fruit industry in the northern counties of 
the state in particular. Mr. Walton was 
the youngest man ever elected as president 
of the Indiana State Horticultural Society. 

He was born at LaPorte. His father, 
William Marshall Walton, Si\, was born 



1646 



INDIANA AND 1NDIANANS 



at Kingston, New York, February 4, 1844. 
His grandfather James Walton, was a na- 
tive of Lincolnshire, England, grew up 
and married there, and on coming to the 
United States located at Kingston, New 
York, and later moved to Hurley in Ulster 
County of that state, where he died April 
1, 1888. He married Ann Phoenix, also a 
native of Lincolnshire. She was born 
March 31, 1815, and died March 26, 1884. 
Her four sons were named George, James, 
John and William Marshall. 

William Marshall Walton, Sr., as a 
youth learned the trade of cigar maker and 
followed that occupation in New York 
State until the early '70s. He then came 
west to LaPorte and continued as a cigar 
manufacturer there until failing health 
compelled him to seek a change of occupa- 
tion. At the same time he had bought a 
tract of land in the southeast part of La- 
Porte, and there made his primary efforts 
as a fruit raiser. He planted a variety of 
trees, including nearly if not all the dif- 
ferent kinds of fruit species suitable to 
that climate in addition to a large variety 
of small fruits. He made a close study of 
the business, and in a few years had a 
highly developed orchard of twenty acres. 
He improved his land with good buildings 
and lived there until his death December 
20, 1912. He married Anna E. Polly, who 
was born at Bardstown, Kentucky, and 
died January 15, 1914. Her children be- 
sides William Marshall were Bessie, Grace, 
Mary, Rose and Nell Gordon, who was born 
in 1888 and died in 1897. 

William Marshall Walton, Jr., gradu- 
ated from the LaPorte High School in 
1906. As a boy he helped his father in 
the orchard, and took naturally to the busi- 
ness of fruit growing. Horticulture is a 
business in which experience and practice 
counts for more than anything that can 
be learned from books, and Mr. Walton 
knows the industry in every practical de- 
tail. For three winter terms he. also at- 
tended Purdue University, where he made 
a special study of horticulure, and at dif- 
ferent times represented the university as 
orchard demonstrator. 

In 1914 Mr. Walton formed a partner- 
ship with Harry L. Stanton of LaPorto, 
and with two other parties bought the 
Spawn orchard at Rochester, Indiana. 
They reorganized as the Orchard Develop- 
ment Company, of which Mr. Walton is 



president. Later he and Mr. Stanton 
bought the other interests are now sole 
owners of that property, which constitutes 
the finest orchard in Indiana, and it has 
produced many thousands of dollars worth 
of fruit. 

Mr. Walton is now president of the In- 
diana Fruit Growers Association and also 
one of the board of directors of the Inter- 
national Apple Show Association. 

September 16, 1915, Mr. Walton mar- 
ried Margaret Leona Wright. She was 
born at LaPorte, daughter of George and 
Theresa (O'Reilly) Wright. Her mater- 
nal grandparents, Thomas and Ann 
(Gillam) O'Reilly, were born in County 
Leitrim, Ireland, and are still living at 
LaPorte. 

Grandfather Edward Wright was born 
at Paterson, New Jersey, a son of Samuel 
and Amelia (Whartell) Wright. Edward 
Wright came to LaPorte County in early 
days and later removed to Bangor, Michi- 
gan, where he followed the trade of brick 
mason. Mrs. Walton's parents have been 
lifelong residents of LaPorte. Mr. and 
Mrs. Walton have two children : Mary Mar- 
guerite and William Marshall III. 

Dr. Joseph Eastman was born in Fulton 
County, New York, January 29, 1842. 
During the Civil war he was a member of 
the Seventy-seventh New York Volunteers, 
served in actual battle, and later was ap- 
pointed hospital steward in the United 
States Army and graduated from the Uni- 
versity of Georgetown in 1865. Until 1866 
he served as a surgeon in the United States 
Volunteers. 

Doctor Eastman engaged in the general 
practice of medicine at Clermont first and 
later in Brownsburg, Indiana, and in 1875 
located in Indianapolis, where he became 
demonstrator of anatomy in the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons. He has, since 
become noted in abdominal surgery, and 
for many years has been a contributor to 
the more prominent medical journals of 
the United States. 

William R. Secker, general manager of 
the Hotel Lincoln at Indianapolis, went 
into the hotel business in New York City 
at the age of twenty-one, and has shown 
an aptitude amounting to genius in the 
management of every phase of the com- 
plicated business. He has been manager 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1647 



of some of the largest and best patronized 
hostelries both north and south. 

Mr. Seeker was born August 14, 1869, 
at Guelph, Ontario, Canada, son of Kobert 
and Sarah (Marshall) Seeker. His par- 
ents were both born in England. His 
father was an Ontario farmer, and died 
in 1880. 

William R. Seeker was the second of 
three children, two of whom are still liv- 
ing. He attended public schools and also 
the Upper Canada University, and from 
school went to Detroit and was employed 
as a clerk there for a year. When about 
twenty-one he went to New *ork City, 
and had seven years of practical training 
and experience in the Imperial Hotel. 
Later he opened three summer resort hotels 
in Canada, and there showed his versa- 
tility and ability as a hotel man. After 
disposing of his leases he came to Indian- 
apolis and took management of the Uni- 
versity Club. He was there four years and 
for two years was manager of the Columbia 
Club. Later Mr. Seeker was for five years 
manager of the Ainsley Hotel of Atlanta, 
Georgia, one of the largest hotels in the 
South. 

Mr. Seeker returned to Indianapolis 
January 29, 1918, and has since been gen- 
eral manager of the Hotel Lincoln. Under 
his management this hotel has been taxed 
to its capacity and there is now under 
contemplation a lacge addition to existing 
facilities. Mr. Seeker is affiliated with a 
lodge of Masons in Kansas City, Missouri, 
is an Elk and republican. In 1902 he mar- 
ried Miss Evelyn Sheffield, of Virginia. 
Mr. and Mrs. Seeker have two sons. 

Hilton U. Brown by reason of nearly 
forty years active and continuous connec- 
tion with the Indianapolis News, of which 
he is now general manager, is an Indiana 
man by birth, education and occupation. 

His father, Philip A. Brown, was a suc- 
cessful business man of Indianapolis, where 
he located in 1855. He was a native of 
Ohio and on moving to Indianapolis estab- 
lished one of the pioneer lumber yards. 
This yard was at the corner of Massachu- 
setts and Bellefontaine avenues. A private 
switch known as Brown's Switch was ex- 
tended from the old Peru railroad to his 
yard, and it is said this switch led to the 
establishment of the railroad station on 
Massachusetts Avenue. He was a man of 



scholarly attainments and one of the 
friends of early education in this city. He 
died in 1864, at the age of sixty-four. Be- 
ing beyond the age limit for duty as a 
soldier he served as enrolling clerk of the 
Home Guards and as a member of the 
draft boards during the Civil war. In his 
political career he was successively a dem- 
ocrat, whig and finally a republican. He 
married at Hamilton, Ohio, Julia A. 
Troester, who was born in Germany and 
came to America with her parents, who 
left Germany with Carl Schurz and other 
revolutionary Germans. She died in 1874, 
at the age of forty-four. Of their children 
only two attained maturity, Demarehus C, 
present state librarian in Indiana, and Hil- 
ton U. 

Hilton U. Brown was born at Indian- 
apolis February 20, 1859, was educated in 
the local public schools and then entered 
Butler College at Irvington, where he was 
graduated A. B. in 1880. He has since 
had conferred upon him the honorary de- 
gree Master of Arts. After leaving col- 
lege he spent a year at the head of what 
was known as Oaktown Academy, a public 
school at Oaktown in Knox County. In 
the meantime he had made application to 
John H. Holliday for work as a reporter 
on the Indianapolis News. The opportu- 
nity came following the assassination of 
President Garfield in the summer of 1881, 
when the News required extra men, and 
Mr. Brown was given a humble position 
on the payroll. He began as market re- 
porter, and since then has served in prac- 
tically every capacity and position in both 
the news and business departments. In 
1890 he was made city editor. In 1898 he 
was appointed receiver during the litiga- 
tion growing out of a dissolution of part- 
nership proceedings. As receiver he sold 
the paper for the litigants for nearly a 
million dollars, a big price for a newspaper 
at that time. The purchasers of the News 
at once made him general manager, and he 
has retained this responsibility for nearly 
twenty years, deserving much of the credit 
for the high position the Indianapolis News 
now enjoys among the metropolitan jour- 
nals of the nation. Mr. Brown also ne- 
gotiated the purchase for the owners of the 
News of the Indianapolis Press and the 
Indianapolis Sentinel. He has long been 
one of the directors of the American News- 
papers Publishers Association. 



1648 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Mr. Brown is a progressive republican 
in politics. He is affiliated with Irving- 
ton Lodge No. 666, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and is a member of the 
Christian Church. He has been a trustee 
of Butler College for a number of years 
and in 1903 was elected president of the 
college board of directors. 

Mr. Brown married in 1883 Miss Jennie 
Hannah, daughter of Capt. Archibald A. 
Hannah, of Paris, Illinois. Ten children 
have been born to their marriage : Mark 
H., Philip, now deceased, Louise, Mrs. 
John W. Atherton, of Indianapolis; Mary, 
Hilton, Jr., Jean, Archibald, Paul, Jessie 
and Julia. The daughter Mary is the wife 
of George A. Stewart and lives in Indian- 
apolis. Three sons Hilton Jr., Areh 
A. and Paul entered the army when war 
was declared against Germany. All three 
became lieutenants in artillery. Hilton, 
Jr., was killed in action in the Argonne 
Forest while serving in the Seventh Field 
Artillery, First Division. His brother 
Paul was in the same regiment and was 
cited for efficiency. Arch was discharged 
into the reserves when the war closed. 

Arthur H. Jones is senior member of 
the firm Jones & Call, attorneys in the 
Pythian Building at Indianapolis., Mr. 
Jones is a lawyer of wide experience and 
demonstrated ability, and has been en- 
gaged in practice and other affairs for over 
twenty years, and is regarded as one of 
the most eloquent and convincing cam- 
paign orators the democratic party has in 
the state. 

Mr. Jones was born in Franklin County, 
Indiana, April 27, 1873, a son of Phillip 
Tenley and Lydia (Goff) Jones. His 
grandfather, Abraham Jones, was a native 
of Virginia, and on coming west first set- 
tled in Hamilton County, Ohio, but after- 
ward removed to Franklin County, In- 
diana, where as a pioneer he bought land 
in Bath Township and was busied with 
the work of clearing and developing a farm 
there the rest of his life. In his family 
were six children, three sons and three 
daughters. Phillip Tenley Jones, the old- 
est son, was born in Franklin County, was 
educated in the local schools there and the 
Brookville Academy, and put his education 
to use as a teacher. He had a keen mind 
for mathematics, acquired an expert knowl- 
edge of surveying, and was widely known 



as a civil engineer. Surveying occupied 
much of his time apart from that he gave 
to the management of his farm. It is said 
that he surveyed and laid out more than 
half of the land in Franklin County. His 
life was one of long and consecutive use- 
fulness and service, and he gained the 
esteem of many friends. He was a devout 
christian, leader in the Baptist Church, 
and was largely responsible for the up- 
building of the Pittman Creek Baptist 
Church, located about ten miles east of 
Brookville. He lived and practiced Christi- 
anity, and had a knowledge of the Bible 
and theology such as few ministers of the 
Gospel possess. He was also given to the 
old time hospitality, and his home was 
filled with his many friends whenever the 
opportunity presented, and the talk inva- 
riably turned around religious themes. He 
was a democrat in politics, but never be- 
came over enthusiastic on that subject. He 
was twice married. His first wife was 
Miss Girton, who became the mother of 
one son, Benjamin Jones. By his second 
marriage, to Miss Lydia Goff, he had five 
children Arthur H. being the youngest. 

Arthur H, Jones attended public schools 
in Franklin County, took his higher literary 
education in Miami University at Oxford, 
Ohio, also attended Lebanon Normal 
School in Ohio and is a graduate of Cincin- 
nati Law School. In 1894 he began the 
practice of his profession at Summitville in 
Madison County, subsequently removed to 
Alexandria in the same county, and four 
years later opened his office in the county 
seat at Anderson. Mr. Jones was at Ander- 
son about five years. Later he came to 
Indianapolis to take up work as an organ- 
izer for the Loyal Order of Moose, and 
is credited with having largely built up 
and strengthened that order in the state. 
He held every office in its jurisdiction ex- 
cept one. In 1911 he was elected supreme 
dictator and general counsel, and per- 
formed the duties of general counsel until 
1,915. After a year or so in Chicago Mr. 
Jones returned to Indianapolis in 1917, 
and is now once more identified with a 
large and growing legal practice. 

He has been a strenuous worker in the 
democratic party, though not an aspirant 
for official honors himself. His services 
as an orator have been in great demand, 
and in some campaigns he has been called 
beyond the borders of his home state. Mr. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1649 



Jones' first wife was Daisy E. Baker, who 
died leaving two children, Harry S. and 
Nellie E. For his present wife Mr. Jones 
married Maude E. Gortner, of Cincinnati. 
Her people came from Canada. 

Croel P. Conder is a member of the 
firm Conder & Culberston. general contrac- 
tors, with offices in the Odd Fellow Build- 
ing at Indianapolis. Mr. Conder is a 
graduate civil engineer, and with his firm 
has had an extensive experience in the con- 
struction of many high grade dwelling 
and apartment houses in Indianapolis, this 
being their chief specialty as builders. 

Mr. Conder probably inherited some of 
his tastes and inclinations as a builder and 
engineer from his grandfather, Shadraeh 
Conder, who at the time of his death in 
November, 1918, had reached the advanced 
age of ninety years, and during his active 
career was a bridge builder of more than 
ordinary note. He also served as a soldier 
of the Civil war throughout that struggle 
and was promoted to captain of his com- 
pany. He had as a boy volunteered in the 
American army for service in the Mexican 
war. 

Croel P. Conder was born July 5, 1888, 
at Orleans in Orange County, Indiana, son 
of Charles A. and Kate (Richards) Con- 
der. His father was born in Orange Coun- 
ty in 1854, and took up the business of 
lumberman. He was in the lumber busi- 
ness for a number of years at Orleans and 
was also active in a sand and gravel com- 
pany in Indianapolis. On coming to In- 
dianapolis he entered the real estate busi- 
ness, and built and had the management of 
a number of residences and apartment 
houses. He died in 1909. He was a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church, and for a 
number of years attended worship at Cen- 
tral Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church. 
He was a republican and affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He 
and his wife had two children : Earl R., 
born March 31, 1877, and Croel P. 

Croel P. Conder began his education in 
the Orleans public schools, later attended 
the Manual Training School of Indiana, 
and took his professional training in Pur- 
due University, from which he graduated 
with the class of 1911 and the degree of 
Bachelor of Science and Civil Engineer. 
The year following his graduation from 
Purdue Mr. Conder spent in a technical 



position at the Toledo branch of the Ameri- 
can Creosoting Company. In 1912 he re- 
turned to Indianapolis and engaged in the 
contracting business, and he and his part- 
ner Mr. Culberston, has supplied the tech- 
nical skill and the equipment and facili- 
ties of a perfect organization in the con- 
struction of a large number of fine resi- 
dences and apartment houses in the state. 
Mr. Conder is treasurer of the Indian- 
apolis Screw Products Company, located 
at 31 East Georgia Street. This company 
furnished parts for the Liberty Motor used 
in aeroplanes for the United States Gov- 
ernment during the great European war, 
and is still manufacturing parts for the 
general trade. 

Mr. Conder is a member of the Civil 
Engineering Society, the Purdue Athletic 
and Alumni Association, the Phi Delta 
Kappa and Triangle fraternities, the In- 
dianapolis Canoe Club, Chamber of Com- 
merce, and Hoosier Motor Club. He is a 
republican in politics. 

August 25, 1907, he married at Lebanon, 
Indiana, Miss Sarah H. Scott, of Craw- 
fordsville, Indiana. Mrs. Conder was edu- 
cated in the Shortridge High School of 
Indianapolis. They have two children: 
Richard, born October 20, 1911, and Eliza- 
beth, born March 25, 1913. 

Nathan Ridgway is sole proprietor and 
president of the Nathan Ridgway Com- 
pany of Newcastle, but many other in- 
terests in that city know him, and his 
name is one that has been held in esteem 
in Henry County for eighty years or more. 
His grandfather, Elihu Ridgway, was des- 
cended from one of three brothers who 
came from England to America and were 
colonial settlers in Pennsylvania. Elihu 
Ridgway was born in West Virginia, or in 
what is now the State of West Virginia, 
June 6, 1799. He married there Nancy 
Cornwell, a native of East Virginia. In 
1835 they came to Henry County, Indiana, 
and made their home in that county about 
ten years and then went to Jay County. 
Elihu Ridgway died in 1873. 

Mr. Nathan Ridgway was born on a 
farm near Newcastle in Prairie Township 
March 22, 1865. His father, Allen Ridg- 
way, was born in Henry County April 
23, 1837, but was reared in Jay County 
and remained at home until the age of 
twenty-two. He then started farming for 



1650 



INDIANA AND INDIAN AN S 



himself, and acquired a fine place of 185 
acres in Prairie Township and lived there 
until his death in 1908. Allen Ridgway 
married February 28, 1862, Eveline 
Frazier, a daughter of Solomon and Mary 
A. Frazier, also natives of Henry County. 
Mrs. Allen Ridgway is still living. She 
was the mother of two children, Emma, 
now deceased, and Nathan. 

Nathan Ridgway attended country school 
during the winter terms and early assumed 
some share of the responsibilities on the 
home farm. He also attended school at 
Newcastle two years. When eighteen 
years of age much of the management of 
the home farm greatly depended upon 
him. He lived there and directed the pro- 
duction and the management of the place 
until 1889. In that year he married Miss 
Ollie Bouslog, a daughter of Enoch and 
Sarah (Kauffmann) Bouslog. The Bous- 
log family settled in Prairie Township of 
Henry County from Virginia in 1835, and 
Enoch Bouslog was born there and during 
his lifetime was a prominent farmer and 
stock raiser. 

After his marriage Mr. Ridgway as- 
sumed the responsibility of the $3,000 
mortgage resting on the old homestead, 
and with the help of his good wife turned 
himself to the task of making the farm 
pay a living and also his debts. He worked 
hard, gradually reduced his obligations, 
and continued with the farm until about fif- 
teen years ago. Then on account of failing 
health he sold his stock and rented the farm 
and spent one year in the South. On return- 
ing to Newcastle he became agent for the 
American Express Company and filled that 
office twelve years. August 7, 1913, he en- 
tered the business by which his name is 
now best known as a five and ten cent 
store proprietor at 1328 Broad Street. Mr. 
Ridgway knew nothing of this particular 
business, and confesses that he has made 
his way to practical knowledge and suc- 
cess as a result of numerous hard knocks. 
His business has been growing every month 
and it is now one of the largest variety 
stores selling five, ten and twenty-five cent 
goods in Henry County, much of its trade 
coming even from adjoining counties. The 
motto of the store is service, courtesy, qual- 
ity. 

Mr. Ridgway has a number of other 
local interests. He is a stockholder in the 
Farmers National Bank of Newcastle and 



of the Central Trust and Savings Bank. 
He is one of the prominent members of 
the prohibition party in Henry County. 
At one time he was defeated by a small 
margin as candidate on the citizens ticket 
for city treasurer. He is an elder in the 
Church of Christ. 

i 

Wayman Adams. Indiana is not Paris 
or New York, and yet while without the 
traditions and the age of the old world 
and hardly competing numerically with 
older and larger centers of artistic effort, 
the quality of its literary and artistic pro- 
duction needs no apology. Already the 
names of a dozen first rate men and women 
in literature and painting have a ready 
and current acceptance among those who 
are conventionally informed on matters of 
culture, and recently through recognition 
paid him in the east as much as through 
what he has done in his studio at Indian- 
apolis the name of Wayman Adams is ris- 
ing rapidly and high into the firmament 
of Indiana celebrities. 

This young portrait painter was born 
in the City of Muncie in 1883, a son 
of Nelson and Mary Elizabeth (Justice) 
Adams. His parents are also natives of 
Indiana. Wayman was educated in the 
schools of Muncie, and for three or four 
years studied art in the Herron Art In- 
stitute at Indianapolis. Going abroad, he 
was a student of portrait painting under 
those well known masters William N. Chase 
at Florence and Robert Henri (American) 
at Madrid. 

Returning to this country Mr. Adams 
established his studio at Indianapolis in 
1909, where for nine years he has been 
doing serious portrait work, and he has 
also studios in both Philadelphia and New 
York, where he spends some of his time. 

Of his position as an artist and his 
growing fame the records of fact speak 
more eloquently than could rhetorical ap- 
preciation and praise. In 1914 his por- 
trait of Alexander Ernestinoff of Indian- 
apolis won the Thomas R. Proctor prize 
at the animal exhibition of the National 
Academy of Design in New York. In 1915 
his portrait of Caroline Hendricks won 
first prize at the Indiana Artists' Exhibi- 
tion in Richmond, Indiana. In 1916 his 
portrait of Alexander Ernestinoff, above 
mentioned, won the J. I. Hoi comb _ prize 
at the Indiana Artists Exhibition in In- 




7fc^ /£Jfe^J<>t^t&/ 



INDIANA AND IND1ANANS 



1651 



dianapolis. In August, 1918, his portrait 
of John McClure Hamilton, the Philadel- 
phia artist, won first prize at Newport, 
Rhode Island, in the annual exhibition of 
the Art Association of that city. Portrait 
of Joseph Pennell, well known etcher and 
lithographer, won the Mr. and Mrs. Frank 
G. Logan medal and $1,500, Chicago Art 
Institute, 1918. 

Among Indiana celebrities he has painted 
the best known are Governor Frank Hanly, 
Governor Ralston, the late Charles W. 
Fairbanks, Booth Tarkington, Meredith 
Nicholson, James Whitconib Riley, Henry 
Douglas Pierce, Henry Talbott, Elias 
Jacoby, Theodore C. Steele and Charles 
Dennis. 

Besides the portrait of John McClure 
Hamilton, mentioned above, Mr. Adams 
has within the past year or two painted at 
his Philadelphia studio the portraits of 
Charles M. Burns and Joseph Pennell. Of 
these three pictures, which were exhibited 
at the annual exhibition of the Pennsyl- 
vania Academy in February, 1918, the fol- 
lowing remarks were made by the art critic 
of the Nation (New York) in its issue of 
March 7, 1918: 

"Nothing could be in stranger contrast 
to Sargent's portraits of President Wilson 
and Mr. Rockefeller than the three por- 
traits of McClure Hamilton, Charles M. 
Burns and Joseph Pennell by Wayman 
Adams, a painter whose work I now see 
for the first time. The men in his por- 
traits are alive, they fairly bristle with 
character. Indeed, if a criticism must be 
made, it is that Adams is too engrossed in 
character to bother about anything else. 
He appears to be indifferent to atmosphere, 
troubles little about the subtleties of color, 
has no particular use for a background. 
But it is his interest, not his art, that is 
limited. When he does suggest a back- 
ground, as in the portrait of Pennell, he 
does it admirably, the tower of the city 
hall and the surrounding tall buildings 
grouping and losing themselves in the Phil- 
adelphia smoke and mist as he has seen 
them from the window of his high studio. 
There is here no lack of atmosphere. But 
he seems to detach his sitter entirely from 
the background, the figure is like a black 
silhouette set against it, tower and sky- 
scrapers and smoke forgotten in his intent 
search after the character in the pose, 



the long legs and long arms of the artist 
extended as he sits on his sketching stool, 
holding his sketch block; in the hang of 
the coat, the bulging of the pocket full of 
papers, and still more in the character of 
the face, the serious face of a man at 
work, the eyes concentrated on their sub- 
ject under the soft gray felt hat drawn 
down to shade them— the hat alone an 
amazing study. In the McClure Hamil- 
ton portrait there is no background at all. 
He stands, with long black overcoat drawn 
close round him, his gloved hands folded, 
one holding a silk hat, his head finely 
modeled, face full of vivacity, eyes look- 
ing out with frank amusement as if at the 
joke of finding himself for once the model 
and not the painter — a portrait cynical, 
gay, vivid. But the most astonishing 
study of character is the third, the por- 
trait of Professor Charles M. Burns, Phil- 
adelphia's most distinguished architect, 
though Philadelphia, in Philadelphia's 
fashion, may be chary to admit it. The 
portrait, a half length, is smaller than the 
other two, and is badly placed on the walls, 
but there is nothing better in the Academy. 
It is marvelous in the rendering of the 
strong, old face, of the lines marked by 
age and experience, of the keen, humorous 
eyes under the bushy eyebrows, of the 
droop of the white mustache. And how 
the clothes are a part of the man, how 
they help to explain him! — the round, 
brown felt hat, the scarf, the overcoat open 
and thrown back, the very gloves! No 
model could have sat for these, no model 
could have worn them, could have been as 
unmistakably at home in them as the man 
to whom they belong. Adams has not at- 
tempted more than a study, but from a 
painter who can make a study of such 
breadth and such vitality one has a right 
to expect even greater things." 

Habry Edmund Jennings. Many of 
Henry County's most important activities, 
whether concerned with patriotic and war 
endeavor or with business affairs, concen- 
trate and center around the personality of 
Harry Edmund Jennings. Mr. Jennings 
represents a type of citizenship that has 
been especially brought out| during the 
present war. He has stood ready and will- 
ing to sacrifice every immediate' advantage 
and his private business to promote that 



1652 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



broader success of the nation at war, and 
assist in every movement for the welfare 
of the soldiers and their families. 

Mr. Jennings was born in Newcastle 
March 1, 1874, son of Simon P. and Ange- 
line (Pickering) Jennings. The Jennings 
family is of English nationality. His 
grandparents, Obadiah and Mary Jennings, 
were natives of Pennsylvania, and in pio- 
neer times left that state and with all their 
possessions in a wagon drawn by a single 
horse moved over the mountains into Ohio. 
Among their two children were two sons, 
Levi A. and Simon P. Jennings, both of 
whom made history in Newcastle, the for- 
mer being known as "father of Henry 
County's industries" and the latter hardly 
less prominent as a manufacturer, business 
man and citizen. 

Simon P. Jennings was born in Wayne 
County, Ohio, August 11, 1840, and grew 
up on a farm. He attended the country 
schools, Otterbein University for two 
years, and on leaving the farm taught 
school. He came to Indiana as instructor 
in the high school at Auburn, and was 
also in the grocery business there for two 
years. He then joined his brother, Levi 
A., and his father at Newcastle, becoming 
a resident of this city in 1867. In 1875 he 
erected a two-story brick building which for 
many years was the home of his mercantile 
activities. He was associated with his 
brother in the hardware business, but later 
Levi sold his interest to his father, Oba- 
diah, and the latter and Simon conducted 
business here for many years. In the mean- 
time Simon Jennings entered the lumber 
and builders supplies industry, and begin- 
ning about 1886 established saw and plan- 
ing mills, sash, door and blind machinery, 
and developed one of Newcastle's chief in- 
dustries. One of its largest departments 
was the manufacture of tool handles. He 
and his associates also extended their inter- 
ests to other states for source of raw mate- 
rial. Through this and related interests 
Simon Jennings was one of the monumen- 
tal figures in Newcastle's life and prosper- 
ity for many years. During 1896-97 he 
also served as president of the Town Coun- 
cil, but his best public service was doubt- 
less through establishing and maintaining 
for forty years an industry which em- 
ployed many hands and brought much 
wealth to the entire community. Simon 
Jennings died in November, 1914, and his 



brother, Levi, died in April of the same 
year. 

Simon P. Jennings married March 23, 
1870, Angeline Pickering, who was born 
in Henry County December 2, 1846, daugh- 
ter of Jacob J. and Mary Pickering. Her 
people were Quakers and she was a birth- 
right member of that faith and was edu- 
cated in the old Spiceland Academy. 
Simon Jennings was reared as a member 
of the United Brethren in Christ, but after 
their marriage he and his wife were iden- 
tified with the Methodist Episcopal Church 
at Newcastle. Mrs. Simon Jennings died 
December 31, 1903. They had lived since 
1871 in a fine old home at the corner of 
Broad and Twenty-first streets, where all 
their children were born, and their children 
were one daughter and three sons: Mary 
Ada, who died November 9, 1901 ; Harry 
Edmund ; Charles Wesley and Walter Pick- 
ering. 

Harry Edmund Jennings grew up in 
Newcastle at the old home, graduated from 
high school, and at the age of nineteen, hav- 
ing already had much experience in his 
father's industry, he established a factory 
for the manufacture of barrel hoops. He 
conducted this general cooperage business 
for sixteen years and closed it out only 
after the sources of raw material had gone 
so far toward exhaustion as to make the 
further continuance of the plant at New- 
castle unprofitable. He has also been inter- 
ested in cooperage mills at Reynoldsville 
in Union County, Illinois, at Maiden, Mis- 
souri, and various other points in hardwood 
districts. In 1912 Mr. Jennings entered 
the real estate and farm loan business, but 
has many other business interests that di- 
vide his time. 

He is president of the Pan-American 
Bridge Company of Newcastle, a structural 
steel works requiring the employment of 
sixty men. He is president of the Citizens 
State Bank of Newcastle and a director and 
stockholder in the Farmers Bank of New 
Lisbon, Indiana, the Mount Summit Bank 
of Mount Summit, the Bank of Blount.s- 
ville, the Farmers Bank of Losantville, the 
Kennard Bank of Kennard, the First Na- 
tional Bank of Hagerstown, the Mooreland 
State Bank, the People's Bank of Sulphur 
Springs, in the organization of which he 
took an active part. 

In any case and under any circumstances 
Mr. Jennings would have entered heartily 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1653 



into every patriotic endeavor, but his co- 
operation with war activities has a doable 
inspiration in the fact that his older son is 
wearing a uniform in the American army. 
Mr. Jennings married January 1, 1896, 
Miss Edna Kinsey. She was born July 1, 
1874, daughter of David W. and Sophia 
J. (Shirk) Kinsey at Newcastle. Their 
son David Harry, was born June 22, 1897, 
was liberally educated, and soon after the 
war with Germany broke out entered the 
officers training camp at Fort Benjamin 
Harrison and was commissioned second 
lieutenant in June, 1917. He is now first 
lieutenant in Battery C of the One Hun- 
dred and Thirty-seventh Field Artillery. 
Mr. and Mrs. Jennings have a younger son, 
Harry E. Jr., born in 1909. 

Mr. Jennings is a republican and has 
been a delegate to various conventions. He 
has been a leader at Newcastle and in 
Henry County in the promotion of all the 
Liberty Loans, has served as county chair- 
man of the War Savings Committee, and 
under his leadership the county raised 
$660,000 in sales of stamps in two weeks' 
time. He is also a member of the Red 
Cross Committee, and is county chairman 
of the Relief Civilian Committee, looking 
after the families and dependents of absent 
soldiers. Mr. Jennings is affiliated with the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
Knights of Pythias, and he is member of 
the Methodist Church. 

Dr. William Lomax was born in Guil- 
ford County, North Carolina, March 15, 
1813, and his death occurred at Marion, 
Indiana, in 1893. He was a graduate of the 
University of New York, and at the begin- 
ning of the Civil war was appointed sur- 
geon of the Twelfth Indiana Infantry and 
was later medical director of the Fifteenth 
Army Corps. 

As early as 1855 Doctor Lomax was 
elected president of the Indiana State 
Medical Society, presiding until 1856, and 
ten years later, in 1866, when the society 
was changed into a delegated body, he 
took an active part in the plan of reorgani- 
zation. For a time he held the chair of 
surgeon in the Fort Wayne Medical 
College, for several years was president of 
the board of trustees of the Medical College 
of Indiana, and he contributed many val- 
uable articles to the medical profession. 



John Day DePrez. The work that 
gratifies every ambition for service and 
his modest desires as a business man John 
Day DePrez has found in publishing a 
daily and weekly newspaper, and in the 
almost innumerable responsibilities and 
opportunities which come to a publisher, 
whether he is willing or not, bring him in- 
to active and vital relationship with every- 
thing of concern in the community. 

Mr. DePrez is the chief man and chief 
owner of the Democrat Publishing Com- 
pany, publishers of the Daily and Weekly 
Democrat at Shelbyville. These are among 
the oldest newspapers of Northern In- 
diana, the weekly edition having been es- 
tablished in 1848 and the daily in 1880. 

Mr. DePrez was born on the edge of 
Shelbyville in Shelby County, October 1, 
1872, oldest son of John C. and Zora L. 
DePrez. After getting his education in 
the Shelbyville High School and two years 
at Hanover College, he entered the Shelby 
Bank and ten years in its employ would 
also classify him as a banker. On leav- 
ing the bank he formed the company which 
bought the Daily and Weekly Democrat, 
and he is chief owner of these publications. 

While America was engaged in the war 
with Germany Mr. DePrez served as coun- 
ty publicity agent for all the Liberty Loan 
drives, Was chairman of the Shelbyville 
Council of Defense, chairman of the Shel- 
byville War Chest, and on the Executive 
Committee of the State Allied War Ac- 
tivities drive. If a busy man like Mr. De- 
Prez can be said to have a fad, his is 1 
boosting Shelbyville. He is a democrat, 
has served on the Executive Committee of 
the State Democratic Committee and as 
a director of the Indiana Democratic Club 
of Indianapolis. Fraternally he is affil- 
iated with the Phi Delta Theta, Masons, 
Elks, Knights of Pythias, Red Men and 
Ben-Hur, and is a member of the First 
Presbyterian Church of Shelbyville. Oc- 
tober 28, 1902, he married Miss Emma 
Senour. 

O. L. Brown. Admitted to the bar in 
1898, O. L. Brown's abilities have brought 
him many of the larger opportunities of 
the law and of related business affairs. 
For many years he has been in practice at 
Indianapolis, where his offices are in the 
Hume-Mansur Building. 



1654 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Mr. Brown was born at Jewett, Illinois, 
November 2, 1874, son of Bazil and Laura 
Brown. His father, a native of Ohio, was 
educated in the public schools of that 
state and in early life followed farming 
and the lumber business. He settled in 
Cumberland County, Illinois, at an early 
date and finally gave up a business career 
to study law. His is an example of those 
successful professional careers won after 
most men are practically ready to retire. 
He moved from Illinois to Terre Haute, 
Indiana, in 1890 and has since conducted 
a general practice. He is now living at 
Terre Haute at the venerable age of eighty- 
three. 

0. L. Brown was a twin in a family of 
seven children, four of whom are still liv- 
ing. He was educated in the public 
schools, attended the State Normal at 
Terre Haute, and for three years taught 
a district school. He read law in the 
office of McHamill at Terre Haute and be- 
gan practice alone in 1898. He was ad- 
mitted to the Indiana Supreme Court in 
1901, the United States Circuit Court in 
1903, the United States Supreme Court in 
1907, and in 1909 was also admitted to the 
Illinois Supreme Court. After ten years of 
private practice Mr. Brown temporarily 
left his profession to promote and organize 
interurban electric lines in Chicago and 
Kansas City, Kansas. Later he returned 
to Indiana and located at Indianapolis, 
where he has since enjoyed a large prac- 
tice. 

Mr. Brown is a Knight of Pythias. A 
stanch republican, he did much political 
work while in Terre Haute, organizing 
a strong and efficient republican club of 
300 members. Many times he was called 
by the State Central Committee to do 
campaign work, and has always had the 
ability to influence and instruct large 
audiences for political discussion. 

Mr. Brown married for his present wife 
Miss Margaret Brainard. By his first mar- 
riage he had one son, now sixteen years 
of age and a student in the public schools 
of Indianapolis. 

Richard Henry Schweitzer is secre- 
tary, treasurer and general manager of the 
Parish Alford Fence and Machine Com- 
pany at Knightstown. About the first ex- 
perience he had in the business world was 
as a minor employe with a wire fence fac- 



tory. "Working hard along one line, and 
with ability increasing in proportion to 
his experience, Mr. Schweitzer has been 
able to give Knightstown one of its most 
flourishing and important industries, the 
product of which is distributed all over 
the central states, thus serving to adver- 
tise Knightstown and its resources to the 
outside world. 

Mr. Schweitzer was born at Crawfords- 
ville, Indiana, October 25, 1877, son 
of Christian and Theresa (Hermann) 
Schweitzer. His grandfather, Frederick 
Schweitzer, came from Bavaria about 
seventy years ago, locating at Columbus, 
Ohio. He was a professional musician 
and reared his family and died in Colum- 
bus. Christian Schweitzer was reared in 
Columbus, and afterwards moved to Craw- 
fordsville, Indiana, where he died in 1916. 
His widow was born at Reading, Pennsyl- 
vania, and is still living in that state. 

Richard Henry Schweitzer attended the 
public schools of Crawfordsville, was at 
high school until his senior year, and first 
went to work for the Indiana Wire Fence 
Company under O. M. Gregg of Craw- 
fordsville. For a short time he was ship- 
ping clerk, later general traffic manager, 
and subsequently was secretary of the 
Crawfordsville Wire Company for a year 
and a half. He next became associated 
with C. D. Voris of Crawfordsville in or- 
ganizing the Crawfordsville Wire and Nail 
Company, and was its secretary and sales 
manager from 1901 to 1906. 

Mr. Schweitzer then became associated 
with Sears, Roebuck & Company of Chi- 
cago in purchasing in 1906 the wire fence 
factory at Knightstown, and has since been 
secretary, treasurer and general manager 
of the company. This plant at Knights- 
town, employing 100 hands and manufac- 
turing several substantial grades of wire 
fencing, supplies a large part of the great 
volume of wire fencing sold and distrib- 
uted by the Sears, Roebuck & Company 
organization. 

Mr. Schweitzer is also a stockholder and 
director of the First National Bank and a 
director of the Citizens National Bank of 
Knightstown. He is also a stockholder in 
the Crawfordsville Wire and Nail Com- 
pany, and has an interest in the One Piece 
Bi-Focal Lens Company at Indianapolis. 

In 1899 he married Miss Effa Strauss, 
daughter of Charles and Sarah (Schooley) 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1655 



Strauss of Crawfordsville. They are the 
parents of two children : Elizabeth Kather- 
ine and Richard Karl, the latter born in 
1902. In politics he is a republican. He 
is a past master of Golden Rule Lodge No. 
16, Free and Accepted Masons, at Knights- 
town, is past commander of the Knights 
Templar Commandery No. 9, and is 
present senior grand warden of the Grand 
Lodge of Masons. He also belongs to 
Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine at In- 
dianapolis. He has been deeply interested 
in Masonry, and was a member of the 
building committee and secretary when the 
Indiana Masonic Home was built at Frank- 
lin, Indiana. He is now a member and 
secretary of the board of directors of that 
home. 

Meyer Lerman, of Newcastle, is one of 
the most interesting young citizens of that 
city, being a former member of the United 
States navy, an organization that has cov- 
ered itself with glory in the present war. 
Mr. Lerman 's service was marked by par- 
ticipation in the noted exploit when the 
navy landed at Vera Cruz, Mexico, and 
took possession of that town for the Ameri- 
can forces. 

Mr. Lerman was born at Cincinnati 
March 14, 1890, a son of Joseph and Clara 
(Spielberg) Lerman. He is of Hebrew 
ancestry. His father was born near War- 
saw in Russian Poland, and in 1887, at the 
age of twenty-one, came to Cincinnati. He 
had married in the old country. In 
America he spent four years peddling 
with a pack of granite ware, using Cin- 
cinnati as his headquarters and traveling 
all over Kentucky and Virginia. Later he 
learned the cigar trade and opened a fac- 
tory at Cincinnati. He was a very suc- 
cessful business man, and continued in 
the cigar business until February 10, 1911. 
Having lost his health, he was for over 
six years an invalid and died in June, 
1917. His widow is still living at Cin- 
cinnati. They had six children, Meyer 
being the second in age. 

Meyer Lerman finished the work of the 
public schools at Cincinnati when fifteen, 
and then for two years was messenger boy 
with the Postal Telegraph Company. He 
had various other employments and for a 
time worked on a farm in South Dakota. 
He also managed his father's branch es- 
tablishment at Mer Rouge, Louisiana. 



"While living in Ohio he had joined Com- 
pany M of the First Regiment, National 
Guard, and had the rank of corporal. At 
Birmingham, Alabama, he clerked in a 
store two years and while there enlisted in 
the navy for a four years cruise. His en- 
listment was dated September 11, 1911, 
and he was mustered out September 10, 
1915. Part of his service was on the 
United States mine layer San Francisco, 
and also the Prairie. During those four 
years he covered 90,000 miles. The crown- 
ing event of his service came in April, 
1914, when forces from a United States 
warship landed at and captured the City 
of Vera Cruz, Mexico, from Huerta's gov- 
ernment. He participated in the three 
days fighting, during which time nineteen 
Americans were killed and seventy-one 
wounded. Mr. Lerman while with the 
navy visited all the ports of England and 
the Americas. After his honorable dis- 
charge he lived at home in Cincinnati for 
one year. 

October 29, 1916, he married Miss Fan- 
nie Watelsky, daughter of Nathan Watel- 
sky of Newcastle and Cincinnati. He was 
in the service of Mr. Watelsky at New- 
castle and a year later was made manager 
of the Newcastle establishment of that 
business, later becoming proprietor. Mr. 
Lerman is a member of the B'nai B'rith 
of Muncie and has his membership in the 
Orthodox Synagogue at Cincinnati. 

Harry E. Raitano. With a knowledge 
and experience acquired by many years of 
work for law firms as well as by concen- 
trated individual study, Mr. Raitano was 
well qualified to achieve success in the 
legal profession when he came to Indian- 
apolis six years ago, and his record since 
then has justified his most sanguine ex- 
pectations. 

Mr. Raitano drew his first conscious 
breath on American soil and is an Ameri- 
can citizen in every sense of the word, 
though he was born January 17, 1879, in 
Naples, Italy, just previous to the immi- 
gration of his parents, Bart Raitano and 
Anna (Valestra) Raitano, to America in 
the same year. His parents have since 
lived in New York, where his father is still 
a resident and hatter by trade. Harry E. 
Raitano was the fourth among sixteen chil- 
dren. 

His early education was acquired in the 



1656 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



grade and high schools of New York City, 
and at a later date he was a student in 
the Chicago Law School. For about fif- 
teen years he worked as clerk in different 
law offices, and it would be difficult to 
conceive of a better preparation for the 
legal profession and one that could confer 
more ability to meet the exigencies and 
problems which continually confront the 
lawj^er. Mr. Raitano came to Indianapolis 
in July, 1912, taking up his residence in 
this city with his family, consisting of 
wife and three children. After the sis 
months required to establish his residence 
he was admitted to the Marion County 
Bar, and since then has been engaged in 
general practice. 

That part of his professional career 
which has received most attention from 
the general public has been his service as 
city prosecuting attorney, an office to which 
he was appointed January 5, 1914, and 
in which he served four years. During 
that time he has given his personal atten- 
tion to the prosecution of thousands of city 
cases, including the prosecution of a large 
number of offenders against the city or- 
dinances. He has also handled a number 
of murder cases, and several very import- 
ant civil litigations. This work and the 
ability he has displayed in his private prac- 
tice are the basis for the very excellent 
reputation he now enjoys as an Indianap- 
olis lawyer. 

In 1914 Mr. Raitano formed the Colum- 
bian Savings and Loan Association of In- 
dianapolis, with a capitalization of $250,- 
000. He was its president three years. In- 
cidentally it may be stated that the cor- 
poration is doing a large and successful 
business and is one of the leading insti- 
tutions of its kind. 

In politics Mr. Raitano has been a demo- 
crat by conviction and allegiance since he 
attained the qualifications of manhood 
suffrage. He has been deeply interested in 
the success of his party, both at Indian- 
apolis and in the East, and in different 
campaigns has done much to discuss and 
clarify the political questions of the day. 
In 1914 the State Democratic Committee 
of Indiana appointed him a member to 
travel over the state organizing democratic 
clubs and meetings. Mr. Raitano resides 
at 2237 Park Avenue, in the third precinct 
of the Second Ward, and is democratic 
precinct committeeman of the ward. As 



native of one of the allied countries en- 
gaged in the present great war against 
Germany, but especially as an American, 
Mr. Raitano has sought to use his influence 
for the successful prosecution of the war, 
is a member of Company H of the In- 
diana State Militia, and is also a member 
of the Italian Executive Committee of 
Propaganda. He is also a member of the 
King Humbert Mutual Aid Society, of the 
Democratic Club, of Aerie No. 211 Fra- 
ternal Order of Eagles, the Italian Red 
Cross Society and the American Red Cross. 
In church affiliation he is a member of Sts. 
Peter and Paul Cathedral. 

July 9, 1902, at Jersey City, New Jer- 
sey, Mr. Raitano married Miss Frances di 
Mauro. Her people were also Italians. 
They have four children, all living : Anna 
L., born April 21, 1904; Arthur B., born 
July 28, 1905 ; B. Alfred, born October 3, 
1907; and Henrietta, born May 5, 1914. 
Mr. Raitano 's office is in the Indiana Trust 
Building. 

William Rollin Zion. Though he has 
had a wide and varied business experience 
Mr. Zion has given most of his time and 
energies to the sawmill and lumber in- 
dustry, and is a member of the firm Wood- 
ard & Zion, a successful organization at 
Knightstown operating a general sawmill 
industry, also manufacturing hard wood 
and a special line of poultry coops. 

Mr. Zion was born in Rush County, In- 
diana, on a farm, January 31, 1859, son 
of John Quincy and Maria (Pickering) 
Zion. He is of Scotch-Irish ancestry. As 
a boy he attended country schools and also 
Spiceland Academy. Up to the age of 
twenty-seven he lived on his grandfather's 
farm of 110 acres. He then went to Carth- 
age, and there had his first experience in 
the sawmill industry, working for two 
years. Moving to Knightstown, he was for 
six years clerk in a hardware house and 
was a butcher one year. On returning to 
Carthage Mr. Zion bought a sawmill, and 
for four years operated it successfully un- 
der his individual name. He then bought 
a mill in Knightstown and conducted it as 
a partnership under the name Zion and 
Applegate four years. He then bought out 
his partner and conducted it alone for two 
years. The following year Mr. Zion spent 
in the gas business. At that time he be- 
came associated with Mr. H. G. Woodard, 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



1657 



buying the sawmill of J. T. Barnes, which 
they conducted under the name Zion & 
Woodard from 1903 to 1911. At that date 
Mr. Zion sold out to his partner. He was 
appointed postmaster of Knightstown un- 
der President Taft, and filled that office to 
the eminent satisfaction of all concerned 
four years. On leaving the postoffice Mr. 
Zion rejoined Mr. Woodard under the new 
firm of Woodard & Zion, and they built a 
mill and plant at their present location 
and they sell the output of this plant to 
many of the large centers in Indiana and 
Ohio, and have built up a specially large 
trade in poultry coops. Mr. Zion also has 
a fire insurance agency for the American 
Company of New Jersey. 

He first married October 20, 1883, Miss 
Mary Kitley, daughter of John Kitley of 
Marion County. Mrs. Zion was the mother 
of one child, Herbert, who died when three 
months old, and she died September 15, 
1885. For his second wife Mr. Zion mar- 
ried on October 20, 1887, Laura Newby, 
daughter of Dr. Oliver and Margaret 
(Macey) Newby of Carthage, Indiana. 
They have one daughter, Ruby M., wife 
of Mark A. Wilson, of Indianapolis. Mr. 
and Mrs. Wilson have one child, George 
William. 

Mr. Zion has been very deeply inter- 
ested in republican politics and was a dele- 
gate to the Indiana State Convention in 
1918. He is affiliated with the Knights of 
Pythias and is a member of the Friends 
Church. 

A. G. Seiberling, of Kokomo, is a mem- 
ber of a prominent family of manufacturers 
and business executives known all over the 
middle west, but especially at Akron, Ohio, 
where the name Seiberling is synonymous 
with a large part of the great rubber and 
other industrial enterprises which give that 
city its unique fame. 

It was on a farm in Summit County, 
Ohio, not far from Akron, that A. G. Sieb- 
erling was born January 4, 1865. His par- 
ents were Monroe and Sarah L. (Miller) 
Seiberling, both now deceased. Monroe 
Seiberling lived on a farm in Summit 
County until his thirtieth year, and after 
that took an active part in some of the 
large business enterprises controlled and 
directed by his family and associated in 
Akron. The Seiberlings had among other 
interests a controlling share in several 

Vol. IV— 7 



strawboard factories, and it was for the 
purpose of organizing the Kokomo Straw- 
board Company that Monroe Seiberling 
came to Kokomo in 1888. He was here two 
years in that business, and then promoted 
and organized the Diamond Plate Glass 
Company. In 1895, when this was ab- 
sorbed by the Pittsburg Glass Company, he 
removed to Peoria and built the plant of 
the Peoria Plate Glass Company. Five 
years later he established a similar plant 
at Ottawa, Illinois. For many years he 
was widely known for his enterprise in pro- 
moting and building large industrial con- 
cerns. Thus his name belongs in a group 
of manufacturers and business organizers 
in which men of the Seiberling name have 
long been so prominent. Monroe Seiber- 
ling was a republican, a Knight Templar 
Mason, and had a family of ten children, 
eight of whom are living. 

A. G. Seiberling grew up at Akron, at- 
tended public school there, and spent one 
term in Buehtel College. His first business 
service was as office boy with the Akron 
Strawboard Company. He was bookkeeper 
of that concern one year, and then was ap- 
pointed manager and treasurer of the Ohio 
Strawboard Company at Upper Sandusky. 
In 1887 he came to Kokomo, and was treas- 
urer of the Diamond Plate Glass Company 
until 1895. For a time he was connected 
with the Pittsburg Glass Company as gen- 
eral purchasing agent and was associated 
with his father in promoting and establish- 
ing the Peoria Rubber Company, and was 
its manager and treasurer five years. He 
was similarly connected with the plate glass 
plant at Ottawa, Illinois, but in 1905 re- 
turned to Kokomo and became secretary 
and treasurer of the Apperson Brothers 
Automobile Company. He was with that 
company 5y 2 years. Since then Mr. Seib- 
erling has been general manager of the 
Haynes Automobile Company, one of the 
largest industries of its kind in Indiana. 

He is a Knight Templar and thirty-sec- 
ond degree Scottish Rite Mason, a member 
of Mohamed Temple of Peoria, Ulinojs, and 
is affiliated with the Elks. He is a mem- 
ber of the Chicago Athletic Association, 
and a director of the Kokomo Chamber of 
Commerce. Mr. Seiberling is a republican 
and affiliated with the Lutheran Church. 
July 3, 1889, he married Miss Anna Tate, 
of Kokomo. 



1658 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Dr. William B. Fletcher, of Indian- 
apolis, was a man of varied attainments 
both as a physician and scientist. His life's 
work encompassed the experience of a sol- 
dier, physician, teacher, author and spe- 
cialist, and in every relation he bore his 
part well and placed his name in the front 
rank. 

Doctor Fletcher was a valuable contribu- 
tor to the State Medical Society. He re- 
ceived a high compliment in the poem "The 
Doctor" by James Whitcomb Riley. 

Horace Greeley "Woodard is a veteran 
in the sawmill and lumber industry, being 
senior partner in the firm of Woodard & 
Zion with a plant for the manufacture of 
hardwood lumber and poultry coops at 
Knightstown. 

Mr. Woodard was born at Ogden, Henry 
County, December 10, 1857, son of Thomas 
Cox and Anna (Reynolds) Woodard. He 
is of English ancestry. His father was a 
flour miller at Ogden, and later was con- 
nected with the Eagle Mill in Henry 
County. Horace Greeley Woodard at- 
tended the public schools at Raysville and 
also the Knightstown Academy. He had 
earned his living by farm labor from an 
early age, and after leaving school worked 
as a farm hand for a year or so. Later 
for three years he had his headquarters 
at St. Louis and was employed as a freight 
brakeman and conductor with the Mis- 
souri Pacific Railroad. Upon returning to 
Indiana he became a laborer in the saw- 
mill of Watts & Parker near Knightstown 
and was advanced to bookkeeper and fore- 
man, remaining with that mill three years. 
He then became head sawyer for a mill at 
Fairfield, Indiana, for a year. Returning 
to Knightstown, Mr. Woodard became 
member of the firm Parker & Woodard, 
and a vear later formed a partnership with 
Mr. W. R, Zion. They bought the local 
mill of J. T. Barnes and conducted it un- 
der the name Zion & Woodard. Mr. Zion 
left the firm to become the Knightstown 
postmaster, but after four years he re- 
joined Mr. Woodard and the firm was reor- 
ganized as Woodard & Zion. Mr. Woodard 
also has local real estate interests. He is 
an active republican, served one term as 
supervisor of Wayne Township and was a 
member of the Knightstown City Council 
from 1914 to 1917. He is a charter mem- 
ber of Knightstown Camp, Modern Wood- 



men of America, and is a member of the 
Friends Church. 

In 1879 Mr. Woodard married Eliza- 
beth Newby, daughter of John T. Newby 
and Martha W. (White) Newby, of Rays- 
ville, Indiana, who later went to Iowa, 
where they both died. The Woodard chil- 
dren are : Minnie Era, now deceased ; 
Edith Anna and John Earl. Edith Anna 
married Reginald Bell and they have two 
children, Miriam and Barbara. John Earl 
is by profession an architect, and is at 
present in the employ of the government. 

Charles Myron Risk is proprietor of 
the largest fancy grocery establishment 
in Knightstown, and has been a progressive 
factor in business affairs for many years. 

He is of Scotch-Irish ancestry, son of 
Joseph and Virginia (Pur cell) Risk. His 
grandfather, John Risk, came from Great 
Britain to America when a young man and 
located in the Shenandoah Valley of Vir- 
ginia. There he reared his family. He 
was an all around mechanic. Joseph Risk, 
youngest of ten children, came to Indiana 
and settled on a farm in Rush County. 
He married at Newark, Ohio. 

Charles Myron Risk was born on a farm 
February 16, 1864. He attended country 
schools in winter and in summer helped on 
the farm. As his years increased he bore 
larger responsibilities in handling a large 
farm of 160 or 200 acres. In 1890 Mr. 
Risk came to Knightstown and went to 
work driving a wagon for the wholesale 
grocery house of A. O. Morris. He after- 
wards was wagon driver for other firms 
and in 1893 became clerk for Frank E. 
Tritt. In 1899 he bought an interest in 
a grocery house and since then has been 
extending and expanding his business, now 
under his sole proprietorship, until he has 
one of the best appointed grocery stores 
in Eastern Indiana. 

In 1893 Mr. Risk married Miss Susan 
McClammer, daughter of William and 
Nancy (Beeman) McClammer of Spice- 
land, Henry County. Mr. and Mrs. Risk 
have no children of their own, but they 
reared a nephew, W. H. McClammer, who 
since the spring of 1918 has been in the 
army in the Ordnance Department. Mr. 
Risk is a member of the Knightstown 
Lodge of Masons, having filled all its 
chairs and is also a Knight Templar. He 
is a democrat, and for many years has 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1659 



been an elder in the Bethel Presbyterian 
Church at Knightstown. 

Reginald L. Bell, cashier of the Citi- 
zens National Bank of Knightstown, repre- 
sents an old and prominent family of that 
locality. His grandfather, Harvey Bell, 
was born in Virginia in 1806 and came to 
Indiana in 1832. He and his family first 
located in Rush County, but in 1840 moved 
to Knightstown, where for many years 
Harvey Bell was a prominent business 
man and hardware merchant. He died in 
1886. His wife, Nancy, was born in 1809 
and died in 1842. 

Reginald L. Bell is a son of William M. 
and Adeline (Noble) Bell. His father was 
also in the hardware business at Knights- 
town, and died there an honored citizen 
in 1910. His wife passed away in 1912. 

Reginald L. Bell attended the public 
schools of Knightstown and for two years 
studied electrical engineering at Purdue 
University. After leaving college he as- 
sisted his father in the hardware business 
until 1908, when he entered the services 
of the Citizens National Bank as a clerk for 
one year and then for seven years was as- 
sistant cashier, and since 1916 has been 
cashier of that old and substantial insti- 
tution. He is also one of the bank's stock- 
holders and has considerable real estate in- 
terests in and around Knightstown. 

In 1908 Mr. Bell married Miss Edith 
Woodard, daughter of Horace G. and 
Elizabeth (Newby) Woodard. To their 
marriage have been born two children, 
Miriam and Barbara. Mr. Bell is a re- 
publican, a member of the Presbyterian 
Church and is affiliated with the Knights 
of Pythias and the Sigma Nu fraternity 
of Purdue University. 

Bernard Gernstein. Now proprietor 
of the Gernstein Grocery Company of New- 
castle, Bernard Gernstein is one of the 
interesting American citizens of Indiana, 
coming here from a foreign land, without 
money or influence, and gradually working 
into a position where he might be inde- 
pendent and by his service as a merchant 
command the respect and esteem of an en- 
tire community. 

Mr. Gernstein was born in Russia April 
18, 1890. He attended Hebrew schools 
and some Russian schools, and at the age 
of seventeen came to America. From New 



York City he came west to Indianapolis, 
where a brother was living. He arrived at 
Indianapolis with only three cents, and 
the first week his salary was $3.40, and out 
of that he paid $3 for board. Since then 
he has made rapid progress up the ladder 
of success. He first worked at Indianap- 
olis in the cabinet making trade at a glue 
machine, and learned cabinet making in 
all its details. After six years, having 
saved his money, he opened a grocery store 
at 1205 Kentucky Avenue, and was in 
business in Indianapolis four years. Then 
selling out he came to Newcastle and 
bought the Green Grocery Company at 
1704 I Avenue. He has made this a first 
class grocery store, and he also owns real 
estate both in Indianapolis and Newcastle. 
Mr. Gernstein is independent in polities, 
is an orthodox Jewish Zionist, and has con- 
tributed liberally to his church and other 



Louis Dawson is an expert florist, one 
of the men who have contributed to the 
well deserved fame of Newcastle as "The 
Rose City" of Indiana. He has been iden- 
tified with that typical industry of New- 
castle for a number of years, and is now 
member of the firm Lindey & Dawson, one 
of the most progressive younger organiza- 
tions for the growing of flowers and vege- 
tables under glass. 

Mr. Dawson was born in County Kent, 
Ontario, Canada, May 22, 1867, son of 
Albert and Harriet (Coatsworth) Dawson. 
He is of English and French ancestry. 
His grandfather, John Dawson, came from 
England and established the family in 
Canada. Mr. Dawson had the advantages 
of the country schools until he was four- 
teen years of age. After that he worked 
on the farm in summers and spent his win- 
ters in the lumber camps. This was his 
routine of life until about 1904, when he 
came to Newcastle and went to work for 
his uncle in the firm of Benthe & Com- 
pany and learned the florist business in 
every detail. He was with that firm ten 
years, and then established himself in busi- 
ness with Carl Lindey under the name 
Lindey & Dawson at 1519 South Seven- 
teenth Street. Both were practical men 
in greenhouse work, and they built their 
first greenhouse, 40 by 80 feet, with their 
own hands. The following year they put 
up another house 18 by 52 feet, and in 



1660 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1917 their third structure, 22 by 52 feet. 
They now have 5,000 square feet under 
glass. While they specialize in , flowers, 
they also have some part of their estab- 
lishment devoted to tomatoes, lettuce and 
spring plants. Mr. Dawson since coming 
to Newcastle has acquired some real es- 
tate interests, and is looked upon as one 
of the substantial citizens. 

In 1888 he married Miss Anna Eliza 
Cottingham, daughter of William and An- 
nie (Perkins) Cottingham of Kent, Can- 
ada. Nine children were born to their 
marriage, seven of whom are still living. 
Ruby is Mrs. Woolums, of Fort Wayne, 
Indiana, and has four children. Cleo 
Dawson is at home. Clarence is married 
and lives at Erie, Pennsylvania. Earl, 
of Newcastle, is married and has one child. 
Bertha and Carmen are still at home. Mr. 
Dawson is a socialist in politics. 

Walter Alban Tapscott, of Newcastle, 
is a young business man of varied and suc- 
cessful experience, and has made an envi- 
able record during the past few years as 
manager of the Morris Five and Ten Cent 
Store at Newcastle. 

Mr. Tapscott was born at New Decatur, 
Alabama, November 1, 1892, son of Wiley 
William and Ella (Kennedy) Tapscott. 
He is of Scotch-Irish ancestry. He ac- 
quired his early education in the public 
schools of New' Decatur, finishing the 
eighth grade at Iuka in Marion County, 
Illinois. At the age of sixteen he came to 
Newcastle and for a year was employed in 
the Hoosier Kitchen Cabinet Company. 
For 2y 2 years he worked with the Max- 
well-Briscoe Company, and then for a year 
and a half was yard clerk with the Lake 
Erie Railway. In 1914 Mr. Tapscott be- 
came assistant manager of the Morris Five 
and Ten Cent Store at Newcastle, and on 
January 1, 1915, was promoted to man- 
ager. He is a very capable executive, 
master of detail, and has not only carried 
out the general policy of the company but 
has done much to increase the volume of 
annual sales through his own ideas and 
systematic efficiency. 

In 1913 Mr. Tapscott married Miss 
Helen Shaw, daughter of Daniel Franklin 
and Fannie (Utterbach) Shaw of New- 
castle. They have two children : Joseph 
Walter, born in 1914, and Mary Alice, 
born in 1916. Mr. Tapscott is an inde- 



pendent voter, and he and his wife are 
members of the Church of Christ. 

Rt. Rev. Herman Joseph Alerding. 
Many Catholic clergymen in all parts of 
the country have reverted with pleasure 
to the fact that they received their Holy 
Orders at the hands of the Bishop of the 
Fort Wayne diocese, Bishop Aldering, 
whose work has been that of a great con- 
structive force in the Catholic Church of 
the middle west, both as a priest and in 
larger responsibilities for upwards of half 
a century. 

Bishop Alerding was born in Westphalia, 
Germany, April 13, 1845, a son of B. Her- 
man and Theresa (Schrameier) Alerding. 
He was too young to remember the voyage 
which brought his parents to America and 
to a new home at Newport, Kentucky. At 
Newport he attended the parochial school 
of Corpus Christ! Church. This school 
was taught in one room by one teacher, but 
there were 150 pupils. Bishop Alerding in 
preparation for his chosen career was given 
his first instruction in Latin by Rev. John 
Voll, pastor of Corpus Christi Church, and 
from 1858 until 1859 attended the Dio- 
cesan Seminary at Vincennes. The next 
year he was a student in the old St. Thomas 
Seminary at Bardstown, Kentucky, and in 
the fall' of 1860 entered St. Meinrad's 
Abbey of the Benedictine Fathers in Spen- 
cer County, Indiana. There under Bishop 
de St. Palais he received his Holy Orders, 
the tonsure and minor orders on September 
18, 1865, sub deaconship on June 18, 1867, 
deaconship June 21, 1867, and priesthood 
September 22, 1868. Following that for 
three years he was assistant at St. Joseph's 
Church at Terre Haute and also had charge 
of neighboring missions. October 18, 1871, 
he became pastor of St. Elizabeth's Church 
at Cambridge City, where he remained 
until August, 1874. Here he first dis- 
tinguished himself as an organizer and 
builder. He rehabilitated a practically dis- 
organized parish, started it toward renewed 
prosperity, and also built churches at 
Knightstown and Newcastle, which were 
also under his charge. 

In the summer of 1874 Father Alerding 
was transferred to Indianapolis as procu- 
rator for the newly established St. Joseph's 
Seminary, and was also pastor of the con- 
gregation that worshiped in the Seminary 
chapel. After a year the Seminary was 




vT^Z^ omj. r f-~ CZJUxc&*iq f 






VjsLtSpLop <$ ia^r Vy^UoyUL, 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1661 



abandoned and Father Alerding was di- 
rected to build a new church. St. Joseph's 
Church of Indianapolis was dedicated July 
4, 1880, and he remained as its first and 
beloved pastor until 1900. 

Father Alerding was consecrated Bishop 
of the Diocese of Fort Wayne November 30, 
1901, as the successor of the late lamented 
Bishop Rademacher. As administrative 
head of this diocese he has carried forward 
the work of building and extension of 
church causes, and both his work and per- 
sonal character have earned him a high 
place among the Catholic dignitaries of 
America. 

Bishop Alerding is also well known as 
a writer, and much of the history of the 
church in Indiana has been recorded by his 
pen. In 1883 he published "A History of 
the Catholic Church in the Diocese of Vin- 
cennes." In 1907 was published his "His- 
tory of the Diocese of Fort Wayne, a Book 
of Historical Reference." He is also 
author of "Plymouth Rock and Mary- 
land," published in 1886. 

Dr. Robert N. Todd. Prominent among 
the early Indiana physicians was Dr. Rob- 
ert N. Todd, of Indianapolis. Although 
born in Kentucky, he came with his parents 
to Indiana in 1834, and in 1850 he gradu- 
ated from the Indiana Central Medical Col- 
lege, afterward practicing for a time at 
Southport. In 1869 he was chosen teacher 
of theory and practice, in which he con- 
tinued until the spring of 1874, when he 
was assigned to the same department in the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons. In 
1877 he was elected to the chair of prin- 
ciple and practice of medicine, which he 
continued to hold until his death. In 1870 
Doctor Todd was elected president of the 
State Medical Society. 

Josephus Williams is a member of the 
well known mercantile house of Stout & 
Williams on Broad Street in Newcastle, 
and has been identified with the commer- 
cial life of the county seat for many years. 

Mr. Williams was born on a farm in 
Dudley Township of Henry County in 
1858, son of Levi and Barbara (Bennett) 
Williams. His birth occurred in a log 
cabin. His grandfather, Israel, was a na- 
tive of Bedford County, Pennsylvania, and 
married in Montgomery County, Ohio, 
Susanna Ritter, a native of North Caro- 



lina. In the fall of 1836 they moved to 
Wayne County, Indiana, where Israel 
Williams followed farming until 1859, and 
after that was keeper of a toll gate. He 
died July 3, 1863, and his wife in 1878. 
Levi Williams, father of Josephus, was 
born in Ohio October 27, 1832, and mar- 
ried in 1857 Miss Barbara Bennett. They 
had five children, three of whom grew up, 
Josephus, Benjamin F. and Ida L. 

Josephus Williams lived on his father's 
farm to the age of fifteen. His parents 
having been in ill health he had to put his 
effort to good use in helping support his 
brother and sisters, and he worked out on 
a farm and contributed his wages to the 
family until he was twenty-five years of 
age. His first experience in merchandiz- 
ing was as an employe in the general store 
of Doctor and Mrs. Stafford at Millville. 
Mr. Williams then married Martha A. 
Young, daughter of William and Fannie 
(Stamm) Young of Blue River Township, 
Henry County. They were married in 
1885. Mr. and Mrs. Williams have one 
daughter, Olive Louise, at home. 

In March, 1886, Mr. Williams moved to 
Newcastle and went to work for Bowman 
Brothers at 1549 Broad Street. He was 
with this old grocery and hardware house 
for ten months, and then formed a part- 
nership with Mark Davis under the name 
Davis & Williams, and bought the Bow- 
man store. At the end of four years Mr. 
Davis sold his interest to F. W. Stout, thus 
forming the present firm of Stout & Wil- 
liams. They have a large business and 
trade in groceries, clothing and notions. 
Mr. Williams is also interested in real es- 
tate and has been a man of affairs at New- 
castle for many years. He served two 
terms on the City Council, from 1906 to 
1908, and 1916 to 1918. He is a repub- 
lican, and an active member of the First 
Methodist Episcopal Church, which he has 
served as recording steward. 

i 
Carl S. Lindey. Newcastle's reputa- 
tion as "The Rose City" is not only upon 
the extent of its floral industry but also 
upon the high quality of the men who have 
been attracted to that industry. There is 
no city in America that has men of more 
authoritative knowledge and skill as flor- 
ists, and one of them is Carl S. Lindey, 
who received his expert training in his 
native country of Sweden, and is now as- 



1662 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



sociated with the firm of Lindey & Daw- 
son in building up one of the fine green- 
houses of Newcastle. 

Mr. Lindey was born twenty miles from 
Stockholm, Sweden, February 7, 1881, son 
of Gustave and Clara (Janson) Lindey. 
He attended the public schools of his na- 
tive land to the age of fourteen and spent 
one year in a Lutheran Academy. After 
that he worked at home, and served his 
apprenticeship in the florist business for 
four or five years on the large estate and 
in the greenhouses of Baron Hamilton. 
In 1907 he came to America alone, lived 
at Boston two years, and in 1909 located 
at Newcastle, where for four years he 
worked at his trade with the firm of Weil- 
and & Oelinger, florists. Two years were 
then spent in Chicago, after which he re- 
turned to Newcastle and with Mr. Dawson 
established a florist business of his own 
under the firm name of Lindey & Dawson. 

Ray May is a member of the Newcastle 
firm of Compton & May, wholesale and re- 
tail meat merchants at 1557 Broad Street. 
Mr. May has lived in Henry County most 
of his life and has had a varied and alto- 
gether successful experience as a farmer, 
merchant and citizen. 

He was born on a farm a mile and a half 
from Newcastle in 1882, one of the five sons 
of James F. and Mary (Whittingen) May. 
He grew up on the farm and attended 
the country schools in winter and worked 
on the old homestead in the summer. In 
this way he spent the first twenty-five 
years of his life. In 1906 Mr. May came 
to Newcastle and for one year conducted 
a butcher shop on Broad and Twelfth 
streets. Illness compelled him to sell out 
his business and he recuperated by man- 
aging a small farm which he bought. On 
returning to Newcastle he and Earl May 
entered the hardware business under the 
name May Brothers on Broad Street. They 
were partners in this enterprise five years, 
and Mr. May then resumed the butcher 
business as a salesman for H. A. Compton. 
After three years he bought an interest, 
and since May, 1918, the business has been 
Compton & May. 

In 1903 Mr. May married Miss Jessie 
Keever, daughter of Levi and Nancy 
(Hoover) Keever of Henry County. They 
have two children : Harry A., born in 1905, 
and Howard, born in 1907. Mr. May is a 



democrat, and is affiliated with the Eagles, 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and the Knights of Pythias. 

William Clement Bond. While Mr. 
Bond is best known in Newcastle as a 
manufacturer, it would not be fair to him 
to speak of him solely through any one in- 
terest. He has been identified with every- 
thing in recent years for the betterment 
and upbuilding of that city, making it an 
industrial center, a city of good homes, and 
more recently a source of enlightened pa- 
triotism in national affairs. 

Mr. Bond, who is proprietor of the New- 
castle D-Handle Company, was born in 
Henry County, son of Calvin and Mary 
(Murphy) Bond. The Bonds are of 
English stock and have been in America 
for many generations. The Bonds were 
settlers in Henry County 100 years ago. 
William C. is the second of three children. 
His father served as railroad agent of the 
Pennsylvania lines in Newcastle from 
1858 to 1883. He died in 1897. The 
widowed mother is still living. 

William Clement Bond attended the 
public schools of Newcastle under Profes- 
sor Hufford. At the age of eighteen he 
went to work with the Pennsylvania Rail- 
road Company under his father and for 
seven years was an operator and ticket 
clerk. Following that for sixteen years he 
was in the grocery business on Broad 
Street. Selling out his store, he organized 
a shovel factory, known as the Newcastle 
Shovel Company. Less than a year later 
he sold his interest to his partners, and 
then established a business on his own ac- 
count known as the Newcastle D-Handle 
Company. He manufactures one type of 
handle and altogether of ash. These 
handles are shipped all over the country. 

Aside from this successful business Mr. 
Bond is stockholder and vice president of 
the Pan-American Bridge Company, is 
president of the Greater Newcastle Build- 
ing Company, an organization for the pur- 
pose of constructing better buildings for 
factory and other industrial purposes, and 
is a director of the First National Bank. 
He is also interested in local real estate and 
several business blocks. Mr. Bond served 
as food controller for Henry County dur- 
ing 1917, resigning that office. 

He married Miss Mary Elliott, daughter 
of Stephen and Caroline Elliott of New- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1663 



castle. The Elliotts located at Newcastle 
about 1820, and one of her ancestors helped 
clear away the brush and woods from the 
Public Square. Mr. and Mrs. Bond have 
one child, Jean Elliott, who attended In- 
diana University. 

Mr. Bond is a republican and was one 
of the five republican members of the City 
Council from 1910 to 1913. During that 
time he gave valuable service as chairman 
of the Finance Committee and the Public 
Health Committee. He is prominent in 
Masonry, having held all the chairs of 
the Lodge, is a member of the Council and 
Commandery, and also belongs to the Scot- 
tish Rite Consistory and the Mystic Shrine. 
He is a past chancellor commander of the 
Knights of Pythias. 

Harry Burris is owner and active di- 
rector of one of Newcastle's larger manu- 
facturing establishments, the Newcastle 
Casket Company, a business which has 
served to make Newcastle widely known 
all over the United States as an industrial 
center. 

Mr. Burris has had a varied and suc- 
cessful career. He is of old English and 
American ancestry. His grandfather, Dan- 
iel Burris, settled in Fayette County, In- 
diana. His maternal grandfather Cole was 
one of the early day pork packers and also 
operated a woolen mill at Baltimore, Mary- 
land. 

Harry Burris was born in Fayette 
Countv, Indiana, September 21, 1865, son 
of John and Sallie (Cole) Burris. To the 
age of fourteen he attended country schools 
in Fayette County. The family then moved 
to Henry County, and here he continued 
attending the public schools and later spent 
one year in the State Normal School at 
Terre Haute. Mr. Burris did his first work 
as a teacher, and for five years was con- 
nected with the graded schools of Jefferson 
Township . He also farmed for several 
years in that township. In 1904 he located 
at Newcastle, and for two years traveled 
over this and other states as the represen- 
tative of the Pan-American Bridge Com- 
pany of Newcastle. He then formed a 
partnership with W. D. Williams and es- 
tablished the Newcastle Casket Company. 
This business, of which Mr. Burris is now 
sole owner, manufactures a line of caskets 
and linings which find distribution over all 
the states except New England. Mr. Bur- 



ris is also president and treasurer and a 
director of the New Process File Company 
of Newcastle and has various other inter- 
ests. 

In 1895 he married Miss Addie J. Gar- 
man, daughter of George and Kate (Bal- 
lard) Garman of Henry County. They 
have two children, Mary Pauline and 
Joseph C, the latter born in 1901. The 
daughter is now a student in the Indiana 
State University at Bloomington. 

Mr. Burris served as a member of the 
City Council of Newcastle two terms, from 
1898 to 1902. He is a democrat, and has 
been a member of various state conventions. 
For four years he was a trustee of Jeffer- 
son Township. Fraternally his affiliations 
are with the Knights of Pythias, the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks and 
the Masons. He and his family are mem- 
bers of the Christian Church. 

Jesse D. Smith is general manager and 
stockholder in the Pan-American Bridge 
Company of Newcastle. He has been con- 
nected with bridge constructing and gen- 
eral iron and steel contracting for many 
years, and is recognized as one of the force- 
ful citizens who have much to do with the 
commercial and general civic prosperity of 
Newcastle. 

Mr. Smith was born at Brownsville, In- 
diana, August 29, 1871. He is of an old 
American family. His grandfather, Ebe- 
nezer Smith, came from Abbeville County, 
South Carolina, about 1836 and was a pio- 
neer in Rush County, Indiana. He ac- 
quired and owned a farm of a half section 
there. Dr. J. A. Smith, father of Jesse 
D., was one of eleven children. He gradu- 
ated from the Kentucky School of Medicine 
at Louisville, practiced two years at Laurel, 
Indiana, and later established his home at 
Brownsville. He practiced medicine for 
over half a century in Union and Fayette 
counties, and is now living retired on his 
farm in Union County. He is one of the 
highly esteemed men in that section of the 
state, not least for his long and conscien- 
tious service as a physician. Doctor Smith 
married Abigail McVieker. They had three 
children. Jesse D. and two daughters. 

Jesse D. Smith attended public school at 
Brownsville, for two years was a student 
in the Central Normal College, and began 
his active career as a teacher. For three 
years he was principal of the Brownsville 



1664 



INDIANA AND IND1ANANS 



schools. In 1897 he removed to Newcastle 
and for two years was connected with the 
school supply house of Eugene Runyan. 
Later he and Mr. Runyan and T. J. Burk 
established the Newcastle Bridge Company. 
This was in 1900, and Mr. Smith became its 
general sales agent. In 1902 he moved to 
Indianapolis and was with the Central 
States Bridge Company until 1905. Since 
then he has been general manager of the 
Pan-American Bridge Company of New- 
castle, and has much to do with the ex- 
panding success of that concern during the 
past thirteen years. This company are fab- 
ricators of structural steel for bridge and 
general building construction. They fur- 
nished the steel for the Second National 
Bank Building at Cincinnati and for many 
other large structures. As contractors the 
firm put up the Avery Building at Peoria, 
Illinois, the plants of the Haynes Automo- 
bile Company and the Kokomo Steel and 
Wire Company at Kokomo, also the Max- 
well automobile plant at Newcastle. 

Mr. Smith is a director in the Citizens 
State Bank and a stockholder in the First 
National Bank. He owns some Newcastle 
real estate and has neglected no opportu- 
. nity to identify himself with every forward 
and constructive movement in his city. 

In 1891 he married Miss Elvia Idella 
Coffman, daughter of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth (West) Coffman of Union County. 
Mj\ Smith is a democrat in politics. In 
1904 he was candidate for state statistician. 
For four years, from 1909 to 1913, he was 
a member of the City Council. He still re- 
tains his church membership in the Chris- 
tian Union Church at Brownsville. Mr. 
Smith is affiliated with the Newcastle 
Lodge of Masons and with the Loyal Order 
of Moose. 

George W. Landon is a veteran figure 
in the business and industrial life of Ko- 
komo. During the past forty years he has 
carried some of the heaviest responsibili- 
ties, whether constructive or administra- 
tive, and it is not strange therefore that 
his fellow citizens and associates should 
regard his approval and cooperation as 
practically indispensable in any collective 
forward movement affecting the city's wel- 
fare or its relationship with the nation at 
large. 

.Mr. Landon 's first connection with In- 
diana citizenship was as a teacher, an oc- 



cupation he followed both before and after 
the Civil war, in which he had a brief but 
gallant service as a soldier of the Union. 
He was born in Franklin County, near 
Columbus, Ohio, February 6, 1847, son of 
Oren and Delilah (Triplett) Landon. His 
father and grandfather were of English 
descent and were natives of New York 
State. His grandfather was a farmer and 
a local preacher of the Methodist Church. 
He died near Columbus, Ohio, at the age 
of eighty-three. Oren Landon, one of a 
family of fourteen children, was reared in 
Franklin Count}', Ohio, and married there 
Delilah Triplett. She was born in Virginia 
and was brought as a child to Ohio, where 
her father was a Franklin County farmer 
for many years and died at the age of 
eighty-three. Delilah was one of three 
children. In 1866 Oren Landon and fam- 
ily removed to Ligonier, Indiana, where he 
followed farming, contracting and build- 
ing. In 1884 he moved his home to Ko- 
komo, and died in that city in 1890, at the 
age of seventy-six. His wife passed away 
in 1889, aged seventy-two. They were 
members of the Methodist Church. Their 
children were Hannibal, Imogene, George 
W. and Eugene. 

George W. Landon received his primary 
education in Columbus, Ohio, and was a 
student during the early part of the war 
in Otterbein University at Westerville, 
Ohio. He had also taught school a year. 
In 1864 he enlisted in Company B of the 
One Hundred and Thirty-third Ohio In- 
fantry. Though he was in the army only 
five months until discharged for disability, 
his service was practically one continuous 
battle. His regiment at that time was sta- 
tioned in front of Petersburg during the 
siege of that city. 

On leaving the army Mr. Landon taught 
school at Columbus, Ohio, Leavenworth, 
Kansas, Muscatine, Iowa, and Lafayette, 
Indiana. For several years he was em- 
ployed as collector over different states 
by the Buckeye Reaper & Mowing Machine 
Company. 

In March, 1874, Mr. Landon came to 
Kokomo and formed a business connection 
that has been continuous since that date. 
Nearly twenty years before, in 1855, A. P. 
Armstrong, associated with Dr. J. A. James 
and Horace Armstrong, both physicians, 
had engaged in the hardware business at 
Kokomo. In subsequent years there were 





rj^^.^^L, 




INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1665 



various changes in the firm, and just be- 
fore Mr. Landon arrived in Kokomo the 
business was known as Armstrong, Nixon 
& Company. Zimri Nixon died in March, 
1874, and George W. Landon brought part 
of A. F. Armstrong's interest. The re- 
organized name of the firm became Arm- 
strong, Pickett & Company, the partners 
being A. F. and Edward A. Armstrong, 
Nathan Pickett and George W. Landon. 
January 1, 1883, Mr. Pickett having retired 
and E. S. Hunt joining the firm, the name 
was changed to Armstrong, Landon & Com- 
pany. On January 1, 1888, the Armstrong, 
Landon & Hunt Company was incorporated 
with A. F. Armstrong as president, E. A. 
Armstrong, vice president, George W. Lan- 
don, secretary, and E. S. Hunt, treasurer. 
January 1, 1898, another change occurred 
and the present corporate name was 
adopted, The Armstrong-Landon Company, 
with A. F. Armstrong, president, A. B. 
Armstrong, vice president, and George W. 
Landon, secretary and treasurer. On the 
death of A. F. Armstrong Mr. Landon was 
elected president. The other officers at the 
present time are Thomas C. Howe, vice 
president, W. A. Easter, vice president, H. 
McK. Landon, secretary, and H. L. Moul- 
der, treasurer. 

The Armstrong-Landon Companj^ is one 
of the largest as well as one of the oldest 
corporations engaged in hardware and 
lumber business in Northern Indiana. 
They have sold hardware and implements 
to two generations in Howard County, and 
have also operated large planing and saw 
mills, manufacturing special lines of build- 
ing products, especially interior finishings, 
church seats and chairs and bank furniture. 

While this business has commanded the 
utmost fidelity of Mr. Landon for a period 
of two score years, he has been identified 
with a number of other achievements and 
undertakings in local business history. 
When natural gas was discovered in 
Howard County Mr. Landon was president 
of the Kokomo Natural Gas Company and 
was a liberal subscriber to the fund which 
was used to sink the first gas well in the 
county. He continued as president of the 
gas company until the production of nat- 
ural gas became unprofitable. He is secre- 
tary of the Kokomo Rubber Company, 
which manufactures bicycle and auto tires 
and also vice president for the past twenty- 
five years of the Citizens National Bank, 



one of the largest and strongest banks in 
Northern Indiana. Of his interests in 
benevolences and broader citizenship, the 
most notable is perhaps his active connec- 
tion with Y. M. C. A. work. He is presi- 
dent of the association of Howard County, 
and is now president of the State of In- 
diana Young Men's Christian Association. 
For many years he has been an official 
member of the Congregational Church of 
Kokomo, is a republican in politics, and is 
affiliated with the Knights of Pythias and 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. 

October 2, 1866, he married at Leaven- 
worth, Kansas, Miss Emma Alice Reeves, 
daughter of William and Mary (McLane) 
Reeves. Her father was at one time a mem- 
ber of the Ohio Legislature. Mr. and Mrs. 
Landon have one son and one daughter, 
Hugh McKennan and Maud. Hugh is a 
prominent business man of Indianapolis, 
was secretary of the Manufacturers Nat- 
ural Gas Company and a director and 
treasurer of the Indianapolis Waterworks, 
and is now secretary of the Armstrong-Lan- 
don Company. He is a graduate of And- 
over Academy and of Harvard University. 
He married Miss Susette Davis, of Indian- 
apolis. Maud Landon married Oscar Wat- 
son, of Peru, Indiana, and now of Ko- 
komo, Indiana. 

Dr. Thaddeus M. Stevens was born, 
reared and died in Indianapolis, and in this 
city he also attained prominence in the 
medical profession. In 1870 he was pro- 
fessor of toxicology, medical jurisprudence 
and chemistry in the Indiana Medical Col- 
lege, and four years later occupied the 
same chair in the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons. He was the first secretary 
and executive officer of the State Board 
of Health, was prominent in all reforms 
for the advancement of the profession in 
the state, and contributed a number of 
papers to the State Medical Society. 

William Mendenhall is one of the 
most energetic and successful insurance 
men in Indiana. He is now head of a large 
general agency, handling fire, life and other 
branches of insurance, and also has the dis- 
tinction of having organized the first local 
association to work in co-operation with the 
Federal Farm Loan Act. Mr. Mendenhall 
is also secretary and treasurer of the 



1666 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Henry County Farm Loan Association, and 
has his general office and headquarters in 
the March Building at Newcastle. He was 
born near Unionport in Randolph County, 
Indiana, December 31, 1874, son of Nathan 
J. and Anna (Denton) Mendenhall. He 
is of Quaker English ancestry. His early 
education was acquired in the public 
schools of Unionport, Winchester and 
Trenton, Indiana, and for two years he 
studied the teachers' course in the Eastern 
Indiana Normal University. His father 
was a carpenter, and the son took up that 
trade and became a building contractor, 
doing work all over Randolph and Dela- 
ware counties in town and country for a 
period of fourteen years. 

He first entered the insurance field at 
Modoc, Randolph County, establishing 
agencies for fire and life, representing the 
German-American Insurance Company of 
New York, the Aetna Company of Hart- 
ford, and the North British of London and 
Edinburgh. He represented these com- 
panies at Modoc nine years. As the insur- 
ance company increased he gradually aban- 
doned his active connections with the con- 
tracting business, and also took up the han- 
dling of farm loans and mortgages. In 
August, 1915, Mr. Mendenhall came to 
Newcastle. 

In 1916, after the passage of the Federal 
Farm Loan Act, Mr. Mendenhall made a 
careful study of its provisions, and in 1917 
organized the first Federal Farm Loan 
Association in District No. 4, including the 
states of Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky and Ten- 
nessee. Through his agency was effected 
the first loan in this district and also the 
first interest payment to the Federal Land 
Bank at Louisville, Kentucky. Since the 
organization was completed and up to Sep- 
tember, 1918, this local association has 
secured $400,000 in farm loans. Mr. Men- 
denhall in the insurance business represents 
the Aetna Fire of Hartford, the Colonial 
Fire, the Underwriters, the Scottish Union, 
the National Fire Insurance of Hartford. 
Every year his volume of business entitled 
him to membership in the Pan-American 
Convention of Pan-American Agents at 
New Orleans. 

In 1903 he married Miss Maud Hanscom, 
daughter of James and Elizabeth (Stump) 
Hanscom. They have two children : Eliza- 
beth A., born in 1904, and Paul William, 
born in 1907. Mr. Mendenhall is a re- 



publican, is affiliated with the Masonic 
Order and the Knights of Pythias, and is 
a member of the Christian Church. 

Frank Duncan Brebuer. As one of the 
largest complete industrial plants in In- 
diana the Maxwell Motor Company has 
become one of the cornerstones of New- 
castle's prosperity and progress, and the 
general superintendent of the plant, Frank 
Duncan Brebuer, occupies a corresponding 
position of power and influence among the 
industrial leaders of the state. 

Mr. Brebuer is of Scotch ancestry, of 
a family established several generations 
ago in America, and was born at Alpena, 
Michigan, September 2, 1880. As a boy he 
attended school at Port Huron, Michigan, 
and was only fourteen years of age when 
he went to work to earn his living as a 
call boy with the Grand Trunk Railway at 
Port Huron. He was with the railway 
company three and a half years, and then 
spent three years and three months learn- 
ing the machinist's trade with the Jenks 
Shipbuilding Company, Mr. Brebuer occu- 
pies his present position because he is an 
expert in many lines of mechanical indus- 
try, and though a young man has a vast 
fund of experience and successful executive 
work to his credit. He was employed as 
a journeyman machinist, was machinist 
with the Great Lakes Shipbuilding Com- 
pany and with other enterprises, and en- 
tered the automobile business at Port 
Huron as foreman of the axle-housing de- 
partment for the E. M. F. Automobile Com- 
pany. Later he was made general foreman 
of the entire plant, and was then assigned 
as assistant superintendent of Plant No. 3 
in the Flanders "20" Automobile Com- 
pany at Detroit. A year later he became 
assistant superintendent of the United 
Motor Company at Detroit, and from that 
entered the service of the Maxwell Com- 
pany, being made superintendent of the 
assembly plant on Oakland Avenue in De- 
troit. He had charge of all the automobile 
assembling plants for a year and a half, 
and was then transferred and made gen- 
eral superintendent of the plant on Mil- 
waukee Avenue seven months. In Decem- 
ber, 1916, Mr. Brebuer came to Newcastle 
as general superintendent of the entire 
factory, with 2,500 men under his super- 
vision. 

In October, 1902, at Port Huron, Miehi- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1667 



gan, he married Miss Stella May Brown, 
daughter of George W. and Meada Brown. 
They have one son, George Brown Brebuer, 
born in 1904. Mr. Brebuer is a republican, 
is a Knight Templar Mason and a mem- 
ber of Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine 
at Indianapolis, and is an Odd Fellow. His 
family attended the Methodist Church. 

Benjamin F. Netz is a man of wide ex- 
perience in foundry and general machine 
work and is assistant manager and is a 
stockholder in the Davis Foundry Com- 
pany at Newcastle, one of the many indus- 
tries which give character to that city. 

Mr. Netz was born at Ashland, Indiana, 
April 3, 1871, son of Peter and Phoebe 
(Pickets) Netz. He is of German and 
"Welsh ancestry. As a boy he attended the 
public schools of Sulphur Springs, In- 
diana, but at the age of fourteen went to 
work for his father, a sawmill man. At 
the age of twenty-eight Mr. Netz went into 
the Southwest, Oklahoma and other sec- 
tions, and for one year worked as a jour- 
neyman carpenter. Later he was employed 
as an expert machinist with the Safety 
Shredder Company at Newcastle. After 
four years he joined the Newcastle 
Foundry Company in 1904, and served 
that business in different capacities, as 
timekeeper and foreman, until the com- 
pany was sold and reorganized as the Davis 
Foundry Company. Since then Mr. Netz 
has been assistant manager and one of the 
stockholders of the business. He has also 
acquired some real estate interests and 
is looked upon as one of the substantial 
men of this city. 

In 1903 he married Miss Catherine So- 
wash daughter of John and Susan (Mc- 
Clelland) Sowash of Sulphur Springs, In- 
diana. They have three children : John 
Richard, born in 1907 ; Phoebe Anna, born 
in 1909 ; and Charles Gibson, born in 1912. 
Mr. Netz is a democrat and has been quite 
active in the ranks of his party. He was a 
delegate to the Indianapolis State Con- 
vention of 1892. Fraternally he is affil- 
iated with Newcastle Lodge of Masons, and 
with the Improved Order of Red Men at 
Sulphur Springs. He and his family are 
members of the Christian Church. 

James Clarence Richey, of Newcastle, 
one of the able younger business men of 
that city, is manager of the Consumers lee 



and Fuel Company, and has been active 
and closely connected with that line of 
business for over eight years. 

Mr. Richey is a member of an old family 
in Henry County, and was born on a farm 
in Prairie Township September 14, 1878, 
son of Wilson W, and Lucinda V. (Stigle- 
man) Richey. His grandfather was James 
Richey, who was born in Bedford County, 
Pennsylvania, November 20, 1815, son of 
George and Mary (Walker) Richey, the 
former a native of Pennsylvania of Irish 
parentage, and the latter a native of Ire- 
land. George Richey died in 1841 and his 
wife in 1847. James Richey was one of 
seven children, had a limited education, 
learned the cabinet making trade but never 
followed it, and about 1851 came to Henry 
County and bought 160 acre's in Prairie 
Township. He became one of the pros- 
perous and successful farmers of that local- 
ity. In 1838 he married Ann Beam, who 
was born in 1818. To their marriage were 
born nine children, Wilson W. having been 
born October 2, 1844. 

James Clarence Richey grew up on his 
father's farm in Prairie Township, attended 
the country schools in winter and worked 
at home during the summer. He was also 
a student for one year in the Springport 
High School. At the age of twenty he 
went to work for the Starr Piano Company 
at Richmond, Indiana, and had charge of 
the assembling room for two years. In 
1901 he married Miss Lottie Courtney, 
daughter of Jacob J. and Hannah E. 
(Pugh) Courtney of Prairie Township. 

On coming to Newcastle in 1902 Mr. 
Richey went to work at $1 a day with 
the Murphy grocery house. He was there 
three years, spent one year with the Good- 
win Clothing Store and a year and a half 
with the Hub Clothing Company. Then 
as partner with Omer Berry, he established 
the Berry-Richey Grocery Company, con- 
ducting the business on the present site of 
the Farmers Bank. At the end of six 
months he sold out, and then went into the 
ice and coal business as bookkeeper for 
James M. Loer. On the death of Mr. Loer 
in January, 1912, he continued with the 
reorganized business under the name of the 
Consumers Ice and Fuel Company, and in 
May, 1918, was promoted to manager of 
that important concern. It is the largest 
artificial ice plant in Henry County, a 
forty-one ton capacity plant. They are also 



1668 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



among the leading fuel distributors of the 
county. Mr. Richey is a democratic voter, 
is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
Loyal Order of Moose, and is a member 
of the Christian Church. 

George Washington Ruff, well known, 
in Henry County business circles, is a 
member of the firm Ruff & Son, wholesale 
and retail flour, feed and grain merchants 
at Newcastle. Mr. Ruff has an interesting 
experience since he left the home farm 
in Ohio when a young man, and has made 
a success of nearly every undertaking. 

He was born on a farm of 100 acres in 
Rush Creek Township, Fairfield County, 
Ohio, October 18, 1873. He is of remote 
German ancestry. His grandfather, George 
Ruff, was born in Hamburg, Germany. 
George W. Ruff is a son of John and Sophia 
(Strock) Ruff. His mother was also born 
in Germany and was brought to America 
when a child. Nearly all the members of 
the family in America have been farmers. 
G. W. Ruff had three brothers and four 
sisters. 

During winter times he attended country 
schools and worked on his father's farm 
to the age of twenty-two. Then came his 
first business venture. Buying a hay baler, 
he baled hay all over Fairfield County, 
and for one season's operation made $2,100. 
He invested that capital in a grain elevator 
at Rushville, Ohio, and managed it success- 
fully for two years, selling out and associ- 
ating himself with his brother Louis in 
building a flour mill. Ruff Brothers con- 
tinued this business four years, and selling 
out Mr. Ruff then bought an elevator at 
Amanda, Ohio, conducted it three years, 
and put much of his capital into stoeking 
a large ranch of 4,000 acres at North Platte, 
Nebraska. There followed two years of 
continuous drought and practically all his 
investment was swept away. Returning 
east Mr. Ruff then engaged in the opera- 
tion of a flour mill at Springport, Indiana, 
for several years, and then traded the mill 
for a farm of 160 acres in Ripley County. 
He still owns that farm. In June, 1914. 
Mr. Ruff and his only son, Herschell, estab- 
lished the present business at Newcastle 
under the name of Ruff & Son. They buy 
large quantities of grain all over Henry 
County and have done a very extensive 
business during the last four years. 



In 1895 Mr. Ruff married Margaret 
Huston, daughter of Alexander and Sallie 
(Murphy) Huston of Fairfield, Ohio, Their 
only child, Herschell, was born in 1896. 
Mr. Ruff is an independent democrat in 
politics and is affiliated with the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows at Fairfield, 
Ohio. He and his wife are members of 
the Christian Church. 

Vaughn Wimmer is one of the leading 
business men of Newcastle, for a number 
«of years was a building contractor, and is 
still interested in the development and im- 
provement of several important additions 
to Newcastle. His chief business at pres- 
ent is as a manufacturer of concrete pro- 
ducts and the handling of all classes of 
building supplies. 

Mr. Wimmer represents an old and well 
known family of Liberty township, Henry 
County. His grandfather, William Wim- 
mer, was born in Liberty Township in 
1829, a son of William and Susan (Mul- 
len) Wimmer, both of whom are natives of 
Ohio and coming to Indiana in 1820 en- 
tered Government land near the site of 
Ashland and later acquired a farm in 
Liberty Township. Susan Wimmer died in 
1840. In 1820, when the Wimmer family 
came to Liberty Township, there were only 
four other families in that locality. Wil- 
liam Wimmer, Sr., died in 1894. William 
Wimmer, Jr., grandfather of Vaughn, 
grew up in pioneer days and had a limited 
education. He farmed for many years in 
Henry County and also for a time in How- 
ard County. In 1851 he married Eve 
Evans, daughter of George and Catherine 
Evans, the former a native of Virginia and 
the latter of Ohio. They had ten chil- 
dren. 

George Wimmer, father of Vaughn, was 
born in Liberty Township in 1856, had a 
good common school education, and became 
a farmer, acquiring a fine tract of 160 
acres of land. In 1876 he married Izetta 
A. Sowash, daughter of John and Minerva 
Sowash. They had five children, Vaughn, 
May, Pearl, William C, and Donnetta. 

Vaughn Wimmer was born in a log cabin 
on a farm in Liberty Township, attended 
the local schools when a boy, worked on 
the farm in summer, and at the age of 
fifteen entered Spiceland Academy and 
later spent four months in the Tri-State 
Normal School at Angola, Indiana. After 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1669 



this preparation he taught school in Liberty 
Township four terms, from 1897 to 1901. 
He also spent three years learning the car- 
penter's trade with Michael Lockwood, and 
following that for seven or eight years was 
a carpenter contractor on his own account. 
He erected a number of high grade resi- 
dences. About that time he became inter- 
ested in concrete manufacture and erected 
a modern plant 33 by 132 feet in New- 
castle, where he had facilities for the man- 
ufacture of all types of concrete work and 
made somewhat of a specialty of concrete 
burial vaults. He also handles a large line 
of building supplies and is utilizing bis ex- 
perience for the improvement of several 
real estate tracts. His important division 
comprises thirteen acres in Newcastle, and 
he is interested in Gilbert's Addition of 
twenty acres adjoining the corporation. 

In 1898 Mr. Wimmer married Veleda 
Lawell, daughter of A. T. and Emma 
(Goldsbury) Lawell of Liberty Township. 
They have one daughter, Marcella. Mr. 
Wimmer is a democrat in political affilia- 
tions. He served as city councilman from 
the Second Ward during 1914-15-16, re- 
signing during his last year. He also 
served on the Public Utilities, Health and 
Charities committees. Mr. Wimmer is a 
member of the Quaker Church. 

Edward Campbell DeHority. During 
many years of residence in Madison County 
Edward Campbell DeHority has reached 
that enviable position where his word is 
accepted in business matters the same as a 
bond, and all his friends and acquaintances 
repose the utmost confidence in his judg- 
ment and integrity. Mr. DeHority repre- 
sents a family long prominent in business 
affairs at Elwood, and is now serving as 
president of the First National Bank, an 
institution in the founding of which both 
his father and grandfather had an active 
part and responsibility. 

Elwood is the native home of Edward 
Campbell DeHority. He was born there 
June 23, 1874, and is of Scotch-Irish an- 
cestry. His people first settled in Delaware 
on coming to America. His grandfather 
was James Madison DeHority, who was a 
man of varied talents and had ability and 
skill as a physician, lawyer and minister 
of the Methodist Church. He came from 
Delaware and died in Elwood in July, 1890. 
His first location was a few miles below 



Elwood. The parents of Edward C. De- 
Hority were James H. and Jane Hannah 
DeHority. The former was a general mer- 
chant at Elwood, and in 1882 he and his 
father established the first Farmers Bank 
at the corner of Main and Anderson 
streets, and in 1892 this was reorganized 
under a national charter as the First Na- 
tional Bank. James H. DeHority was the 
first cashier and subsequentlv was presi- 
dent. He died April 30, 1899. 

Edward C. DeHority grew up at El- 
wood, attended the public schools, and 
from high school spent a year in Earlham 
College at Richmond, Indiana, was also a 
student in De Pauw University at Green- 
castle, and finally for one year in Michi- 
gan University Law School at Ann Arbor. 
At the age of twenty-one he began work 
in his father's bank as collection clerk. 
Thus he has had the practical and routine 
experience in every position. Later he was 
made assistant cashier and in January, 
1899, was promoted to cashier and since 
1908 has been president as well as one of 
the large stockholders and directors. This 
bank is an institution patronized by de- 
positors and other users living in three 
counties. Mr. DeHority is president of the 
Elwood Rural Savings & Loan Associa- 
tion, also president and director of the 
Home Ice and Coal Company of Elwood, 
and has varied investments in farms, local 
real estate and other business affairs. 

In 1898 he married Miss Myrtle Powell, 
daughter of James M. and Mary Powell of 
Lebanon, Indiana. Her father was a drug- 
gist at Lebanon. Mr. and Mrs. DeHority 
have a family of six vigorous and whole- 
some young people, the youngest not yet 
out of infancy while the oldest is a college 
boy. Edward H. was born in 1899 and is a 
sophomore in the Indiana State University. 
Morris M. was born in 1901, Marv Jane, in 
1905, Martha Ellen, in 1906, Dorothv Jean, 
in 1913, and Doris, in July, 1916. 

While so many interests in a business 
way have absorbed Mr. DeHority 's time 
he has not neglected the public welfare. 
He served one term as school trustee and 
in 1904 was democratic candidate in the 
Eighth District for Congress. He led his 
ticket, but that year was not favorable to 
democratic party successes anywhere in In- 
diana. Mr. DeHority is affiliated with 
Elwood Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, is a member of the Knights of 



1670 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Pythias, a charter member of Lodge No. 
368, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and a member of the Improved Order 
of Red Men. He is a member of the In- 
diana Democratic Club at Indianapolis. 

Dr. O. W. H. Kemper. The professional 
life of Doctor Kemper has covered a period 
of fifty years, years devoted to the uphold- 
ing of the ideals of the profession. He 
was born in Rush County, Indiana, De- 
cember 16, 1839, and he began the study of 
medicine in his twenty-first year. But 
after only a few weeks of study he was 
called to the colors and had the distinction 
of being present at the first battle of the 
Civil war. In 1865 he located in Muncie, 
his present home. 

Doctor Kemper in the long number of 
years of his practice has gained success and 
distinction in the different fields of obstet- 
rics, medicine and surgery, and is also 
known as the historian of the Indiana medi- 
cal profession. He has served as treasurer 
and president of the Indiana State Medical 
Society, as professor of the history of medi- 
cine in the Indiana Medical College and 
in the Medical School of Indiana Univer- 
sity. It has been well said that Doctor 
Kemper may be regarded as a section of 
the great arch which unites the medicine 
of the early fathers with that of the pres- 
ent century. 

Harry A. Martin, of Newcastle, is one 
of the veterans among Indiana grain mer- 
chants and feed and food manufacturers. 
He has been at Newcastle nearly a quarter 
of a century and has built up a business 
in grain, flour manufacture, coal and other 
products that now constitutes a service for 
all of Henry County. 

Mr. Martin is a son of George R. and 
Agnes P. (Shipley) Martin, of Scotch- 
Irish stock, his ancestors having come out 
of County Down, Ireland. He is of Revo- 
lutionary ancestry on both sides. One an- 
cestor, Allen Randolph, served as a soldier 
on Washington's staff. There were three 
Martin brothers who came out of Ireland 
and settled in Philadelphia. Jacob Mar- 
tin, grandfather of Harry A., was a son 
of one of these original settlers, and he 
served this country in the War of 1812. 

Harry A. Martin was born at Mount 
Vernon, Ohio, October 20, 1858. He at- 
tended school there, graduated from high 



school in 1877, then entered the Ohio State 
University and spent three years in the 
scientific course. He paid his way through 
college. After leaving school he went west 
to Colorado and was Connected with a 
smelter company for a time. Returning 
to Mount Vernon he engaged in the mill- 
wright business under his uncle, Albert T. 
Martin, and in that capacity helped build 
flour mills all over the country. He is 
thoroughly experienced in the technical as 
well as the business side of flour manufac- 
ture. 

In 1887 Mr. Martin married Miss Laura 
K. Brittain, daughter of Dr. S. H. Brit- 
tain, of Loogootee, Indiana. They have 
two children, both sons. Clarence S. is a 
graduate of the Ohio State University with 
the Bachelor of Science degree and a di- 
ploma in forestry. He is now a teacher 
of chemistry in the Chillicothe, Ohio, High 
School. He married Hazel Breese, of Co- 
lumbus, Ohio, and they have one daughter, 
Dorothy Phyllis. The second son, Dean 
Arthur, born in 1891, graduated in law 
from the Colorado State University in 
Boulder, practiced two years at Castle 
Rock, and early in the war entered actively 
upon Red Cross work, later was with the 
Young Men's Christian Association, and 
finally enlisted in a cavalry troop in Col- 
orado sent for training to Camp Kearney, 
California. He is now a member of Com- 
pany L of the One Hundred Fifty-Seventh 
Infantry Regiment, Fortieth Division, and 
is sergeant and company clerk. He is with 
the colors in France. 

In 1889, on leaving the mill building 
business, Mr. Martin entered milling with 
Chase T. Dawson. They built their mill 
at Odon in Daviess County, Indiana, and 
for five years conducted the Odon Milling 
Company. Mr. Martin then sold his in- 
terest in that enterprise and in 1895 came 
to Newcastle and with his uncle, Albert T. 
Martin, built the present mill. The firm 
of 'Martin and Martin was in existence 
until 1912, since which time Albert T. Mar- 
tin has retired and left all the responsi- 
bility of the business to Harry A. The 
business now consists of several depart- 
ments. They manufacture the well known 
"White Heather" brand of wheat flour, 
also manufacture corn meal and a varied 
line of feeds. Formerly they shipped large 
quantities of flour to the foreign trade in 
Liverpool and Ireland. The mill is 100 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1671 



barrel capacity. They also have a retail 
coal yard, and Mr. Martin is half owner 
of the Newcastle Elevator Company. He 
has acquired some real estate interests in 
Newcastle, and is a well recognized man 
of affairs in that city. He votes as a re- 
publican, and has filled all the chah"s in 
the local Masonic Lodge, is a member of 
the Knight Templar Commandery and a 
good student of Masonry in general. He 
is also a member of the Improved Order 
of Red Men, and for fifteen years has been 
clerk of the session and elder of the First 
Presbyterian Church. 

Rayman H. Baker. Youth is no bar to 
successful and substantial business achieve- 
ment, and some of the most forceful men 
in every community have not yet passed 
their thirtieth birthday. One of these at 
Newcastle is Rayman H. Baker, who has 
had a wide experience in different lines of 
business, but is now concentrating his en- 
tire attention upon automobile salesman- 
ship and is a member of the firm Baker 
Auto Company. 

Mr. Baker was born August 11, 1890, in 
Monroe township, Madison County, In- 
diana, son of William and Eunice A. 
(Hunt) Baker. The Bakers have been 
Americans for many generations, and in 
earlier times they lived along the Blue 
Ridge Mountains in North Carolina. To 
the occupations they have furnished chiefly 
farmers and professional men. 

Rayman H. Baker secured his early edu- 
cation in his home district in Madison 
County, and in 1906 graduated from the 
commercial course of the Fairmount Acad- 
emy in Grant County. He put his special 
talents and inclinations to work when he 
began trading, and in a few years had cov- 
ered a large territory in different counties 
of Indiana as a buyer and seller of live 
stock. This was his means of business 
service and earning a living until about 
1913, when he took the agency of the Max- 
well motor car for four townships in the 
northern half of Madison County. At first 
this was in the nature of a side line to his 
chief business as an implement dealer and 
hardware merchant at Alexandria, under 
the name of the Alexandria Implement and 
Auto Company. Mr. Baker was in busi- 
ness at Alexandria three years, and on sell- 
ing out turned his exclusive attention to 
automobile salesmanship. November 25, 



1917, he bought the old established auto- 
mobile agency at Newcastle from James C. 
Newby on Race Street, and with his brother 
W. T. Baker organized the present Baker 
Auto Company. This company has the ex- 
clusive selling agency for the Chalmers 
and Maxwell cars over Henry County, and 
also in three townships on the western side 
of Wayne County. 

In i908 Mr. Baker married Nellie R. 
Little, daughter of James and Elizabeth 
(Abbott) Little of Buck Creek township, 
Madison County. Mrs. Baker, who died 
May 16, 1915, was the mother of three 
children, Opal, Ethel and Irene. On Feb- 
ruary 16, 1916, Mr. Baker married Grace 
Jackson, of Delaware County, daughter of 
J. F. and Laura (Williams) Jackson. Mr. 
and Mrs. Baker have two children, Cath- 
erine and Myrtle Eunice. 

Fraternally Mr. Baker is affiliated with 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Masonic Lodges at Alexandria. He 
belongs to the Christian Church and in pol- 
itics votes as a republican. 

Joseph Elmer Calland has been a resi- 
dent and business man of Newcastle for a 
number of years. The people of that city 
now when bicycle, clock, gun or almost 
any other implement refuses to work satis- 
factorily take it to 129 North Main Street 
and turn it over to Mr. Calland, who is 
proprietor of the "Everything Fixer" 
shop. 

Mr. Calland was born on a farm in Cen- 
ter township of Greene County, Indiana, 
March 11, 1882, a son of John H. and Ce- 
lestia E. (Resler) Calland. He is of Scotch 
and German ancestry. His grandfather, 
Robert Calland, came from Scotland when 
a boy, settled in Ohio and later moved to 
Indiana and farm in Greene County. John 
H. Calland was a mechanic and a wagon 
maker, and died when his son Joseph E. 
was' only ten years old. The latter because 
of the early death of his father had heavy 
responsibilities thrust upon him when un- 
der normal circumstances he would have 
been attending school. He received his 
education at Worthington, Indiana, to the 
eighth grade, but in the meantime had 
helped support the family by driving a de- 
livery wagon. He drove a delivery wagon 
for two years after school work, but being 
naturally of a mechanical turn of mind he 
opened a small repair shop at Worthing- 



1672 



INDIANA AND 1NDIANANS 



ton and was in business there for eight 
years, repairing bicycles and other imple- 
ments and tools. 

In 1908 he came to Newcastle and 
opened a shop at 1516 East Broad Street. 
Here in addition to a repair business he 
carried a stock of general sporting goods. 
A year later came a fire which entailed a 
loss of $1,500, and after that setback he be- 
came a journeyman repair man for two 
years. He spent most of his time driving 
about the country for a radius of seventy- 
five miles around Newcastle, and was prin- 
cipally employed in repairing slot ma- 
chines. Mr. Calland invented a very suc- 
cessful device used in automatic vending 
machines. In 1912 he established his pres- 
ent store at 129 North Main Street, and 
has a very successful and growing busi- 
ness, with facilities for repair work of every 
kind, and also carrying a general line of 
bicycle supplies. He also owns a half in- 
terest in the Lester and Calland Transfer 
Company, one of the largest establishments 
of its kind at Newcastle. 

Mr. Calland is affiliated with the Knights 
of Pythias and Loyal Order of Moose and 
has filled all the chairs in the Worthington 
Camp of the Modern Woodmen of America. 
In politics he is a republican. 

Joseph R. Leakey is the present county 
treasurer of Henry County, and has been 
identified with official affairs and with pub- 
lic school education in that part of the 
county most of his life. 

Mr. Leakey was born on a farm in Dud- 
ley Township of Henry County July 9, 
1858. The Leakey family were among the 
first to enter land in that township, this 
transaction identifying them with the 
county in 1821. The Leakeys are of Eng- 
lish and German ancestry, and many gen- 
erations of the family have lived in 
America. Joseph R. Leakey is a son of 
Ephraim and Catherine (Stombaugh) 
Leakey. He was reared on a farm, at- 
tended country school, also Spiceland 
Academy, and spent the summer seasons 
of his boyhood working for his father. He 
began teaching in the country at an early 
age, and was in that profession steadily 
for thirty-five years, part of the time in 
the country and part of the time in village 
schools. He was principal of schools at 
Blountsville six years, and also at Lisbon 
and Spiceland. In 1908 Mr. Leakey was 



appointed deputy county treasurer by Max 
P. Gaddis, serving two years under him 
and during 1910-11 was deputy treasurer 
under O. P. Hatfield. In 1912 the repub- 
licans nominated him for the office of 
county treasurer, but he was defeated by 
seventy-two votes. During the succeeding 
years Mr. Leaky was assistant cashier in 
the Farmers Bank at Newcastle most of the 
period and also looked after his farm until 
November 1, 1914, when he was elected 
county treasurer and was re-elected for a 
second term in November, 1916. He has 
the unique distinction of being the only 
county treasurer re-elected in Henry 
County during a period of seventy-five 
years. His present term expires Decem- 
ber 31, 1919. Mr. Leakey also owns a val- 
uable farm of eighty-seven acres and is in- 
terested in other business affairs. 

His first official service was as assessor 
of Liberty Township for two years, serving 
in that office by appointment. He is a re- 
publican, is an active member and elder 
of the Christian Church, and is affiliated 
with Newcastle Lodge No. 91, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, and the Improved 
Order of Red Men. 

In August, 1893, he married Miss Ger- 
trude Hollinger, daughter of Doctor and 
Caturah (Hetsler) Hollinger of Blounts- 
ville. Their only son is Newton E., born 
in 1895. He was in his junior year in the 
chemical engineering department of Pur- 
due University when the war broke out. 
February 1, 1918, he enlisted in the avia- 
tion division in the spruce department, and 
was sent to Vancouver, Washington. In 
July, 1918, he was transferred to the quar- 
termaster's department, and on July 23, 
1918, was transferred to Camp Johnson, 
Florida, and commissioned as second lieu- 
tenant in charge of Supply Company 333. 
In September he was transferred to Camp 
Merritt, New Jersey, and embarked for 
France October 5, 1918. He was stationed 
at St. Nazaire, in the quartermaster's serv- 
ice, effects bureau department. It was 
optional with him at the signing of the 
peace negotiations whether or not he was 
to be discharged, and he choose to serve 
the Government as long as his service was 
required. 

J. J. Carroll is proprietor of the larg- 
est plumbing and heating establishment at 
Newcastle, a business which he has rapidly 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1673 



developed and built up, and which now 
furnishes a service not only all over the 
city but throughout a surrounding terri- 
tory for a radius of thirty miles. 

Mr. Carroll has been in this line of work 
since early boyhood. He was born at In- 
dianapolis October 23, 1887, son of Charles 
W. and Annabelle (Oakey) Carroll. He 
is of Irish and English stock. Mr. Carroll 
attended the public schools of Indianapolis 
to the age of fourteen, and later acquired 
a knowledge of mechanical drawing by 
study in night school. At fourteen he be- 
gan his apprenticeship in the plumbing 
shop of Foley Brothers at Indianapolis. A 
year later he went on the road as a travel- 
ing worker in plumbing shops in different 
towns of Colorado, Oklahoma and Texas, 
seeing a great deal of life in the West and 
Southwest. At the end of two years he 
returned to Indianapolis and resumed his 
employment with Foley Brothers for a 
year, and for one year was with Thomas 
Barker. Out of this experience he gained 
a thorough knowledge of his trade and 
business, and in 1908 he first came to New- 
castle. Here in 1909 he married Miss 
Ethel McCormick, daughter of Richard 
and May (Stout) McCormick of Anderson. 
After his marriage Mr. Carroll went south, 
first located at Houston, Texas, for eight 
months, again worked at Indianapolis, and 
in 1911 returned to Newcastle, and in Sep- 
tember, 1916, opened his shop at 1309 Li- 
berty Street. A year later he located at 
109 North Fourteenth Street, and in Feb- 
ruary, 1918, came to his present location 
at 220 South Main Street. 

Mr. and Mrs. Carroll have three chil- 
dren : Marie Jean, Annabelle and Jesse W. 
Mr. Carroll is an independent voter. He 
is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias 
and is a member of the Methodist Church. 

Ernest H. Bender. The place of Mr. 
Bender in business circles at Newcastle is 
as manager of the local branch of Dilling 
& Company, the well known candy manu- 
facturers of Indianapolis. Mr. Bender 
has been a worker since he was a boy and 
has promoted himself through his own 
abilities and industry to the responsibili- 
ties and achievements of a business man. 

He was born at Chicago, Illinois, in 1893, 
son of Ernest and Anna (Hoffman) 
Bender. His parents were natives of Ger- 



many, married there, and came to America 
with one child, Mary. They first located 
at Detroit. Ernest Bender, Sr., was a 
florist by trade, and for several years was 
identified with that business at Chicago. 
Later he became manager of a large busi- 
ness at Newcastle, where the family lo- 
cated in 1899. 

Ernest H. Bender began his education 
in the public schools of Newcastle, but left 
at the age of fourteen to work as veneer 
inspector with the Hoosier Kitchen Cabinet 
Company. He was there three years, then 
for a short time was operator of a drill 
press with Fairbanks, Morse & Company 
at Indianapolis, for two years drove ai 
grocery delivery wagon, and in 1915 en- 
tered the service of Dilling & Company, 
candy manufacturers. His first job was 
molding chocolate bars. He was soon 
transferred to the shipping room, then to 
the office, and in October, 1916, was sent 
to Newcastle to take charge of the New- 
castle branch and office. 

Mr. Bender married in 1915 Velera 
Cain, daughter of J. D. and Mamie (Jack- 
son) Cain. Her mother is related to the 
Gen. Stonewall Jackson family. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bender have two children: Loren 
Ernest, born in 1916, and Dorothy Eliza- 
beth, born in 1918. Mr. Bender is an in- 
dependent in politics, a member of the 
Travelers' Protective Association, and he 
and his wife belong to the Christian 
Church. 

Charles Bruce Thompson, whose name 
has been identified with Newcastle as one 
of the leading men engaged in the real 
estate, loan and fire insurance business, 
has many interesting family ( ties to connect 
him with Henry County. 

He was born at Sulphur* Springs in 
Henry County in 1869, a son of Joseph H. 
and Sarah Ann (Yost) Thompson. His 
maternal grandfather, William S. Yost, 
was born in Rockingham County, Virginia, 
in 1802, and married in 1824 Mary Cath- 
erine Weaver, who was born in the same 
Virginia county in 1800. In order to es- 
cape conditions of slavery William S. Yost 
left his native state and moved to Ohio in 
1840, and soon afterward came to Henry 
County and was the most influential man 
in establishing the Village of Sulphur 
Springs. He served as the first postmas- 



1674 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ter there, from 1844 until 1848, and held 
the office again for six years. He also 
started the first country store. William 
S. Yost died in 1863 and his wife in 1870. 

Joseph H. Thompson, who married a 
daughter of "William S. Yost, was born at 
Middletown in Henry County April 17, 
1841, and died October 18, 1893. During 
the Civil war he enlisted in Company G 
of the Eighty-Fourth Indiana Infantry, 
having assisted in raising the company, and 
became a private in the ranks August 21, 
1862. Later he was made quartermaster 
sergeant and was with his regiment until 
mustered out June 14, 1865. He was once 
taken prisoner, but was soon paroled. It 
was during his army service that he mar- 
ried Miss Yost on December 27, 1863. For 
many years after the war Joseph H. 
Thompson was engaged in the drug busi- 
ness at Sulphur Springs. He was a good 
business man and a respected leader in his 
community. He and his wife had five 
children : William E., George C, Charles 
B., Claudia M. and John R. 

Mrs. Sarah A. Thompson is still living 
and enjoying good health. 

Charles Bruce Thompson received his 
early education at Sulphur Springs and in 
the Spiceland Academy. At the age of 
twenty he went to work for his father, and 
when the latter died in 1893 he took over 
the business and continued it until 1906. 
Selling out he then came to Newcastle and 
established his first office in the Burr Build- 
ing, where he is today. Since then he has 
successfully handled real estate and loans, 
and represents some of the best known 
fire insurance companies and has extended 
their business to a large volume all over 
Henry County. Mr. Thompson is greatly 
interested in everything that makes for 
the betterment and upbuilding of New- 
castle and vicinity. He does a large busi- 
ness in buying and selling town property. 

In 1890 he married Miss Maude Edle- 
man, daughter of Richard Johnson and 
Eleanor (Griffith) Edleman. Their son 
Ivan Blaine, born in 1892, married in 1914 
Grolla Norton, daughter of William and 
Josephine (Smith) Norton of Alexandria, 
Indiana. They have one child, Mary 
Louise, born in 1915. Joseph Richard, born 
August 16, 1895, married in 1917 Grace 
M. Sweeney, of Los Angeles, California. 

Mr. Thompson is an active republican. 
He has served as secretary of the County 



Republican Committee. He is a Knight 
of Pythias and a member of the Christian 
Church. 

Ben Havens was first elected to the office 
of city clerk of Kokomo on the score of 
his business qualifications and knowledge 
and experience as an expert accountant. 
He has been elected three consecutive terms, 
and today no one has a more thorough and 
accurate knowledge of municipal affairs 
of Kokomo than Mr. Havens. He has made 
his office a model of efficiency, has that 
courtesy and sense of obligation which 
eliminates the conventional official atmos- 
phere and makes transactions in the 
clerk's office a matter of convenience and 
pleasure. The people have seen fit to con- 
tinue Mr. Havens in office so long that his 
tenure is no longer a matter of party suc- 
cess but is to be decided entirely by his 
personal wishes in the matter. 

Mr. Havens was born July 28, 1878, in 
Rush County, Indiana, son of Henry C. 
and Ann R. (Grewell) Havens. His father 
and his grandfather were both natives of 
Rush County and both were farmers by 
occupation. They were men of model citi- 
zenship, and contributed much from their 
lives to the advancement of their locality. 
Henry C. Havens lived for many years in 
Howard County. 

Ben Havens received his early education 
in the public schools of Kokomo, graduat- 
ing with the class of 1897. He began his 
career in the lumber business, and for ten 
years was connected with ■ the firm of 
Blanchard, Carlisle & Company. For three 
years he was also bookkeeper for the Pa- 
troleum Hoop Company. It was from those 
business duties that he was called when 
elected city clerk of Kokomo. Mr. Havens 
is a loyal member of the republican party, 
has served eight years as county chairinan, 
but his citizenship is by no means based 
on party loyalty, but makes him a cooper- 
ating factor in every movement for the gen- 
eral welfare. 

Mary Wright Plummer. As a contribu- 
tor to various periodicals and as an author 
and librarian Mary Wright Plummer has 
won distinction among Indianans. She was 
born at Richmond, Indiana, a daughter of 
Jonathan W. and Hannah A. Plummer. 
She was a student at Wellesley and Colum- 
bia, and has since been prominently asso- 




9? n , 




INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1675 



ciated with library and literary work. She 
served as a United States delegate to the 
International Congress of Libraries, Paris, 
1900, and is a member of the prominent 
library clubs and associations. Since 1911 
she has been principal of the Library 
School of the New York Public Library. 

Hiram Lyman Smith has been a New- 
castle business man for a number of years 
and is proprietor and head of a large pro- 
vision house at 202 South Fourteenth 
Street. 

Mr. Smith was born at Eyota, Minnesota, 
April 4, 1875, a son of J. C. and Leila 
May (Wright) Smith. He is of English 
stock, his ancestors having first located in 
New York State. His parents moved out 
to the Minnesota frontier, but subsequently 
returned east, and when Hiram L. Smith 
was ten years of age located at Cleveland, 
Tennessee. The latter acquired his edu- 
cation in the common and high schools, 
and at the age of seventeen entered busi- 
ness. He also went to work for his father 
in a dry goods store, and for seveu years 
was employed in that capacity at Bowl- 
ing Green, Tennessee. About twenty years 
ago the family removed to Newcastle, In- 
diana, where his father opened a dry goods 
store on Broad Street. After two years 
with his father Hiram L. Smith entered 
the grocery business for himself on North 
Fourteenth Street. Two years later he 
moved to 1426 Broad Street, and was there 
until 1912. During the next two seasons 
he represented the distribution of the Max- 
well Automobile at Newcastle and Ander- 
son, but then returned to the grocery busi- 
ness at 802 South Fourteenth Street, where 
he had his store until July 1, 1918, when 
he moved to his present location at 202 
South Fourteenth Street. 

Mr. Smith married at Anderson in 1900 
Leotta May Hudson, daughter of Reville 
and May Hudson. Mr. Smith is a dem- 
ocrat, is affiliated with the Royal Arch and 
Council degree of Masonry, and is also a 
member of the Improved Order of Red Men 
and the Modern Woodmen of America. 

Frederick John Pope is not an old man 
but he is a veteran in the service of the 
express business, and it was his long stand- 
ing and successful and efficient record that 
retained him under the new dispensation 
by which the larger express companies have 
been consolidated under the direction of 



the Federal Government and now operated 
as the American Railway Express Com- 
pany. Mr. Pope has the management of 
this company at Newcastle, and came to 
this city after a number of years of serv- 
ice at Indianapolis. 

He was born at Indianapolis November 
8, 1882, a son of Christian F. and Elizabeth 
(Laatz) Pope. He is of German ancestry. 
His grandfather Pope came from Germany 
and settled on a farm near Mohawk, In- 
diana, and spent the rest of his days there. 
Christian F. Pope was born on that farm, 
but at the age of eighteen moved to In- 
dianapolis and entered business as a mer- 
chant. He developed and built up the 
Pope dry goods business of that city, but 
he is now retired and he and his wife re- 
side at Indianapolis. F. J. Pope has a 
younger brother, Raymond W., who is mar- 
ried and lives in Indianapolis. 

Frederick' John Pope was educated in 
the public schools of Indianapolis, graduat- 
ing from the Manual Training High School 
in 1902. Since then his service has been 
continuous with the express business. He 
first was a wagon driver four years with 
the Adams Express Company at 35 South 
Meridian Street, Indianapolis. He was then 
promoted to assistant cashier in the Union 
Station office of that company for two 
years, following which he accepted a posi- 
tion with the American Express Company 
as clerk in the uptown office one year. For 
three years he was assistant cashier of 
this company at the Union Station, and was 
then returned to the uptown office as gen- 
eral correspondent. With those duties he 
was identified until May 1, 1918, when he 
was transferred to Newcastle as agent and 
manager of the American Express Com- 
pany's business in that city. Two months 
later he was appointed manager of the 
Newcastle business of the American Rail- 
way Express Company. 

In 1904 Mr. Pope married Clara Brink- 
man, daughter of Frank and Wilma (Hol- 
ler) Brinkman of Indianapolis. They have 
one son, Kenneth Frank, born ' in 1905. 
Mr. Pope is a republican and is affiliated 
with Ancient Landmark Lodge No. 319, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, at In- 
dianapolis. He and his wife are members 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Trevor D. Wright is the responsible 
executive carrying on a business that was 
established at Newcastle more than thirty 



1676 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



years ago under the name of Wright Broth- 
ers, grocers. 

The Wright family is of English ancestry 
and they were early settlers in South- 
ern Ohio. The grandfather of the present 
generation was at one time a dry goods 
merchant at Cincinnati. John D. and Tre- 
vor Wright came to Newcastle in 1885, 
and under the name of Wright Brothers 
bought out the old established grocery house 
of Samuel Arnold on Broad Street. They 
occupied that old location for a number 
of years, and the site is now where the 
Citizens State Bank stands. From that 
location they moved to 1200 Broad Street, 
where the business is today. From that 
Wright died some years ago, and his 
brother Trevor F. conducted the store for 
several years and then sold his share to 
Mrs. Cora Davis Wright, widow of John 
D. Wright. 

Trevor D. Wright was born February 
6, 1885, son of John D. and Cora Davis 
Wright, and during his boyhood attended 
the grammar and high schools at Newcastle. 
In 1898 he went to work as errand boy in 
his father's store, and his experience com- 
prises every detail of the business. At 
the death of his father he took the manage- 
ment, and is handling the enterprise very 
successfully. The firm does a large busi- 
ness both in country and town, some of 
its custom coming from a distance of 
twelve miles from Newcastle. 

Mr. Wright is a bachelor. He is one of 
six children. His sister Barbara Alma is 
bookkeeper and cashier of the store. Mr. 
Wright is affiliated with the Elks, Knights 
of Pythias and Masonic Lodge at Newcastle, 
and is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. 

Martin L. Koons, president of the Henry 
County Building and Loan Association, is 
a lawyer by profession, and is a descend- 
ant of one of the old and prominent Quaker 
families of Eastern Indiana. 

His American ancestry goes back to Da- 
vault Koons, a native of Pennsylvania. He 
married Susan Dicks, a native of Germany. 
One of their three sons was Gasper Koons, 
who was born in Pennsylvania November 
8, 1759. He was twice married, his second 
wife being Abigail, a school teacher, and 
a daughter of Jeremiah and Rachel Pickett. 
The Picketts were devout Friends or 
Quakers. 



About 1800 Gasper Koons took his family 
from Pennsylvania to North Carolina, and 
in the fall of 1808 they led the way from 
North Carolina and after six weeks of 
travel by pioneer routes and conveyances 
arrived in Wayne County, Indiana. Here 
Gasper Koons and family found them- 
selves in congenial surroundings, since 
many of the first settlers there were active 
Friends. Gasper Koons died November 
8, 1820, and his widow in 1850, at the age 
of seventy-eight. They had twelve chil- 
dren, nine sons and three daughters. 

Joseph Koons, seventh son of Gasper 
and Abigail (Pickett) Koons, was born on 
a farm southeast of Richmond, Indiana, 
February 17, 1811. He was a farmer but 
was also widely known as an expert ax 
maker. He died November 10, 1878. 
Joseph Koons married Lucinda Ray in 
1834. She was a daughter of Thomas and 
Martha Ray, a family that came from Vir- 
ginia and were identified with the early 
settlement of Henry County. Lucinda Rav 
Koons died November 21, 1880. Both 
were lifelong adherents of the Quaker 
Church. They had ten children. 

Joseph Koons was the grandfather of 
Martin L. Koons. The latter was born on 
a farm in Henry County June 2, 1875, son 
of Pleasant M. and Louisa (Bookout) 
Koons. Martin L. Koons grew up on a 
farm, attended country schools, also school 
at Mooreland, and at the age of seventeen 
took up the study of law with James and 
William A. Brown, composing the firm of 
Brown & Brown at Newcastle. He was 
with that firm diligently studying for three 
and a half years. For one year he was 
with Meredith & Meredith, attorneys and 
abstractors, at Muncie. On September 6, 
1897, Mr. Koons returned to Newcastle, 
was admitted to the bar, and for ten years 
carried on a large practice in probate and 
real estate title law. On April 1, 1903, he 
was elected secretary of the Henry County 
Building and Loan Association, at first per- 
forming his duties in his own law office. 
Later he was with the company in the 
Koons-Bond Building for three years, and 
then erected the building in which the com- 
pany has its headquarters, and he has been 
located there since 1910. Mr. Koons was 
elected president of the companv April 
1, 1917. 

He is also a stockholder and director 
in the First National Bank and the Central 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1677 



Trust Company of Newcastle, and looks 
after a large volume of real estate. He 
handles the local interests of Ma j. -Gen. 
Omar Bundy at Newcastle, and also man- 
ages a number of trust funds. 

February 3, 1897, Mr. Koons married 
Nora B. Moore, daughter of Cornelius M. 
and Elizabeth (Shonk) Moore of New- 
castle. They had four children : Fred M., 
born December 1, 1897 ; Paul M., born 
October 6, 1900; Mabel Louise and Ann 
Claire. 

Mr. Koons has accepted those duties and 
responsibilities that come to the public spir- 
ited citizen. In 1913, at the urging of his 
friends, he accepted a place on the repub- 
lican ticket as candidate for mayor of New- 
castle, and lost the election by only seventy- 
two votes. In 1914 he was elected by the 
City Council as a member of the Board of 
School Trustees, and was re-elected in 
1917. Mr. Koons is affiliated with the 
Masonic Order, the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks and Knights of 
Pythias, and attends worship in the First 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

George Hasty Smith, M. D., a specialist 
whose work is limited to the eye, ear, nose 
and throat, is one of the progressive group 
of physicians and surgeons of Newcastle 
who organized and incorporated the New- 
castle Clinic, an institution that serves 
many of the purposes of the public hos- 
pital and is housed in a modern building 
of its own, with equipment and facilities 
that are the equal of any found in the 
largest hospitals of the country. Doctor 
Smith is secretary of the clinic and has 
an active part in its work in addition to 
his private practice. 

Doctor Smith is a son of Dr. Robert An- 
derson and Mary Jane (Evans) Smith. His 
grandparent were Isaac M. and Catherine 
Smith, both natives of Ohio. His grand- 
father migrated from Preble County, Ohio, 
to Hancock County, Indiana, in 1830 and 
cleared up a tract of land in Brown Town- 
ship. At the age of seventy years he sold 
his farm and moved to Garnett, Kansas, 
where he bought another farm and lived 
until his death in 1890, at the age of eighty 
years. 

The late Robert A. Smith was one of the 
prominent physicians of Henry County for 
many years. He was born in Hancock 
County, Indiana, April 13, 1843, and his 



early life was spent on a farm. He missed 
many of the advantages given even to 
country boys of this generation. In 1861, 
at the outbreak of the Civil war, he enlisted 
in Company A of the Fifty-seventh In- 
diana Infantry, under Capt. Robert Alli- 
son. He was in the battles of Shiloh, Stone 
River, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, 
Resaca, Kenesaw Mountain and many oth- 
ers, including the battle of Nashville in 
December, 1864. He was wounded and 
disabled, and recommended for discharge-, 
but refused to accept this discharge and 
spent the last months of the war as an 
orderly for General Wood. He was mus- 
tered out with the rank of color sergeant 
in 1865. In the fall of 1866 he took up the 
study of medicine under Dr. H. S. Cun- 
ningham at Indianapolis, and two years 
later entered the Physio-Medical Institute 
of Cincinnati, where he graduated in 1870. 
He began practice in Henry County at 
Grant City, and seven years later moved 
to Greensboro, where he was accorded all 
the business his time and energies allowed 
him to handle, and remained an honored 
resident and physician *of that locality until 
his death in 1913. He was a member of all 
the leading medical societies, was a repub- 
lican in politics and was a member of the 
Society of Friends. April 9, 1868, he mar- 
ried Mary J. Evans, daughter of Thomas 
J. and Jane Evans, who were of Welsh 
ancestry. Mrs. R. A. Smith, who died in 
1900, was also a physician of many years 
experience and had been educated in Doc- 
tor Traul's School of New York. Dr. R. 
A. Smith and wife had three children: 
Katie E., George H. and Nettie E. 

George Hasty Smith was born at Grant 
City, Indiana, in 1873, and received his 
early education in the public schools of 
Greensboro, spent three years and gradu- 
ated in 1893 from the Spiceland Academy, 
and during 1894-95 was a student in Val- 
paraiso University and in the latter year 
entered the Physo-Medical College of In- 
dianpolis, from which he graduated in 1898. 
The following four years he practiced medi- 
cine at Greensboro with his father. In 1902 
he entered the Illinois Medical College at 
Chicago from which he received his M. D. 
degree in 1903. Doctor Smith was a res- 
ident physician of Knightstown for eight 
years, handling a general practice. With a 
view to relieving himself of some of the 
heavy and continuous burdens of general 



1678 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



practice he went to New York City, took 
work in the New York Eye and Ear In- 
firmaiy and in Knapp's Ophthalmic and 
Aural Institute, and part of the time was 
clinical assistant there. In 1914 he re- 
turned to Newcastle and has since been giv- 
ing all his time to practice as ear, eye and 
throat specialist. He was associated with 
the other local physicians in establishing 
and in corporating the Newcastle Clinic, of 
which he is secretary and treasurer. 

Doctor Smith is a member of the County 
Medical Society, which he has served as 
secretary, for two years was secretary of 
the District Medical Association, and is a 
member of the Indiana and American Med- 
ical associations. He was elected and 
served from 1898 to 1900 as coroner of 
Henry County, but declined to become a 
candidate for re-election. He is a repub- 
lican, a Knight Templar Mason at New- 
castle, is also affiliated with the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and Knights 
of Pythias, and is a member of the New- 
castle Country Club and the Friends 
Church. 

In 1895 Doctor "Smith married Laura 
Cook, daughter of Seth and Minerva 
(Hiatt) Cook of Greensboro. Mrs. Smith 
died in 1905, leaving three children, who 
are still living. In 1908 Doctor Smith 
married Anne Cunningham, daughter of 
Dr. John C. Cunningham of Crawfords- 
ville, Indiana. By his second marriage 
Doctor Smith has one child. 

Henry Kahn is the founder and presi- 
dent of the Kahn Tailoring Company of 
Indianapolis, a business that has been de- 
veloped under his personal supervision now 
for more than thirty years, and is one of 
the largest and most substantial establish- 
ments of its kind in Indiana. 

A native of Indiana, and of a family of 
business men, Henry Kahn was born at 
Bloomington March 31, 1860. His father, 
Isaac Kahn, was born in Alsace, France, 
in October 1829, and at the age of fifteen, 
in 1844, came to the United States and lo- 
cated at Bloomington, Indiana. He was 
one of the pioneer merchants of that city, 
developed a large and extensive trade, and 
remained there on the active list until 1866. 
That year he brought his family to Indian- 
apolis and lived retired until his death in 
September, 1887. In 1856 Isaac Kahn mar- 
ried Miss Belle Ilirsch. She was born in 



Paris, France, a daughter of Nathan and 
Clara Hirsch. There were three children 
of this union, Clementine, Cora and Henry. 
The mother died in 1886, and both parents 
are now at rest in Indianapolis. 

Henry Kahn was six years old when his 
parents ca,me to Indianapolis, and in this 
city he grew to manhood and gained his 
education. His work in the public schools 
was supplemented by a course in Butler 
College. Then followed a varied routine 
of employment giving him much expe- 
rience, so that he was well qualified for 
executive responsibilities when in 1886 he 
entered merchandising. He has given the 
closest attention to all the details of a pros- 
pering enterprise, and is thoroughly 
skilled in all departments of merchant tail- 
oring and many of his oldest and most 
regular customers are also among his clos- 
est friends. 

June 4, 1884, Mr. Kahn married Miss 
Sara Lang, daughter of Abraham and 
Rosa (Guggenheim) Lang. Her parents 
came to Indianapolis in 1870. Mr. and 
Mrs. Kahn have one daughter, Claribel. 
She is a cultured young woman, a grad- 
uate of Vassar College, and is now the 
wife of Mortimer C. Furscott, secretary 
of the Kahn Tailoring Company, of In- 
dianapolis. In politics Mr. Kahn is a re- 
publican but has never manifested any de- 
sire to hold public office. 

Casselman Lee Bruce came to Elwood 
when this was one of the important indus- 
trial centers of the natural gas district in 
Eastern Indiana, and his first service here 
was with one of the old glass companies. 
For the past twenty years, however, he has 
been in the lumber business and is proprie- 
tor of the Heffner Lumber & Coal Com- 
pany, with which he began a number of 
years ago as an employe. 

Mr. Bruce was born in Allegheny 
County, Pennsylvania, in 1874. He is of 
Scotch ancestry, and a son of Charles J. 
and Phoebe (Shrodes) Bruce. His people 
during the many generations they have 
been in America have been chiefly farmers 
and merchants. His father died in Penn- 
sylvania in 1885 and his mother in 1887. 
Mr. C. L. Bruce had one brother and five 
sisters. 

He was born on a farm and as a farm 
boy attended a country school at Sheffield, 
Pennsylvania. At a very early age he 




-6- Sf (Bs^yvt 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1679 



began working during the summer vaca- 
tions, and at the age of nine years was a 
boy laborer with the Phoenix Glass Com- 
pany at Monaca, Pennsylvania. His first 
position was as "carrying boy," and when 
he left that firm in 1891 he had advanced 
several degrees in the art and trade of glass 
making. Coming to Elwood in 1891, Mr. 
Bruce went to work for the McBeth Glass 
Company as "gathering boy," and re- 
mained with the glass works there until 
1899. He gave up the trade and occu- 
pation of glass worker to operate a rip saw 
with the lumber yard and saw mill of Lewis 
Heffner. He was promoted to yard fore- 
man and finally took over the entire busi- 
ness for Mr. Heffner, and under his man- 
agement it has grown and prospered and is 
one of the largest businesses of its kind in 
Madison County. Mr. Heffner lived re- 
tired for several years and died in 1916. 
The business is now lumber and coal, build- 
ing supplies and material, and the trade 
comes from all the country ten miles 
around Elwood. 

Mr. Bruce also owns two farms aggregat- 
ing 340 acres, and is thus one of the very 
substantial citizens of Elwood. In 1914 
he was republican candidate for mayor of 
that city, being defeated by a small mar- 
gin. He is affiliated with Elwood Lodge of 
Masons, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, Improved Order of Red Men, Knights 
of Pythias and all the auxiliaries of these 
orders. He was state treasurer or state 
keeper of wampum for the order of Red 
Men five years, 1912 to 1917. He and his 
family are members of the First Presby- 
terian Church, and for ten years he was 
an elder in the church and for the past 
fifteen years has been superintendent of 
its Sunday school. Thus he is more than a 
successful business man, and his interests 
go out to all institutions and movements 
that affect his home community and the 
nation. 

June 26, 1895, Mr. Bruce married Miss 
Abbie Heffner, daughter of Lewis, and 
Emaline (Ferguson) Heffner of Elwood. 
They have a family of nine children, five 
daughters and four sons : Vinnetta Clair, 
born June 26, 1896 ; Charles Lewis, Jpom 
August 21, 1899; Harper Glenn, born May 
8, 1901 ; Margaret Lillian, born June 15, 
1903 ; James Samuel, born September 10, 
1904; Emma Esther, born June 5, 1906, 
and died December 12, 1914 ; Roberta 



Olivia, born August 2, 1907 ; Dorotha Ruth, 
born November 24, 1911 ; and Robert Lee, 
born August 26, 1913. 

Charles Lewis soon after graduating 
from the Elwood High School enlisted No- 
vember 24, 1917, became a member of the 
medical department of the army at Camp 
Greenleaf and June 8, 1918, landed in Eng- 
land and in a few days was transferred to 
the Forty-Second Division, or Rainbow 
Division, and was at the front when the 
armistice was signed. He is at Coblenz 
at this writing. Vinetta Clare, the oldest 
daughter, spent six months in the service 
of the Government at Washington, from 
June to December, 1918. Mr. Bruce is a 
member of the Chamber of Commerce of 
Elwood. 

Mary Wright Sewall, lecturer, author 
and prominent in the cause of woman suf- 
frage and the education of women, is promi- 
nently associated with the National Ameri- 
can Woman Suffrage Association and a 
former and honorary president of the In- 
ternational Council of Women and the 
National Council of Women. She served 
as a United States delegate to the Univer- 
sal Congress of Women at Paris, in 1889, 
and traveled over many countries of 
Europe in the interest of the Congress of 
Representative Women, Chicago Exposi- 
tion, of which she was the chairman. She 
also served as delegate to congresses meet- 
ing at the Halifax, Ottawa, London, The 
Hague, and was president of the Interna- 
tional Congress of Women Workers for 
Permanent Peace, San Francisco. 

Mrs. Sewall was born in Milwaukee May 
27, 1844, a daughter of Philander and 
Mary (Brackett) Wright. On the 30th of 
October, 1880, she was married to Theodore 
L. Sewall, who died in 1895. 

Rev. Lewis Brown, rector of St. Paul's 
Episcopal Church at Indianapolis, has 
been active in the ministry of his church 
more than thirty j-ears. His work has 
been distinguished by a high degree of con- 
structive efficiency and also by scholarship 
and an influence by no means confined to 
his own church and parish. 

Doctor Brown was born at Cincinnati, 
Ohio, June 4, 1855. He was one of the 
five children of David Meeker and Lucy 
(At water) Brown. His mother was a 
daughter of the noted Judge Caleb At- 



1680 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



water, distinguished as an archaeologist, 
educator, and historian. Judge Atwater 
was author of the first comprehensive his- 
tory of Ohio, and was also known as the 
father of the public school system of that 
state. 

Lewis Brown was educated in the public 
schools of his native city, attended the 
classical department of Ottawa University 
in Kansas, and then after his father's death 
entered the banking business in Cincinnati. 
He finally resumed his studies in prepa- 
ration for the ministry at Kenyon Lollege, 
from which he was graduated with the 
degree of Bachelor of Divinity, and later 
he received the degree of Doctor of Phil- 
osophy from the Northern College of Illi- 
nois. ' In his active ministry he spent 
eleven years in Cincinnati, six years at 
Battle Creek, Michigan, and in 1900 be- 
came rector of St. Paul's church in Indian- 
apolis. Doctor Brown is independent in 
politics and is a member of the Sons of the 
American Revolution and the Society of 
Colonial Wars, and has occupied a high 
place in Masonry. He has been a member 
of the Standing Committee of the Diocese 
of Indianapolis and a deputy to the gen- 
eral conventions of the church in this 
country. 

Robert Geddes, vice president and 
treasurer of the wholesale drygoods firm 
of Havens & Geddes Company, of Indian- 
apolis, is one of the oldest active business 
men in Indiana, with a continuous record 
as a salesman and merchant of more than 
half a century. For many years his home 
and business headquarters were at Terre 
Haute. 

The immediate occasion of Mr. Geddes' 
entrance into the commercial field was one 
of those circumstances that so often affect 
and change the destinies of men. In the 
summer of 1865, then a young man of 
twenty-one, Mr. Geddes was working hard 
to raise a crop on the homestead farm west 
of Terre Haute in Illinois. In August of 
that year came an unprecedented period 
of cold, followed by a frost which blighted 
vegetation and spread ruin and discour- 
agement among all the farmers of that 
section. There was no immediate remedy 
for the heavy loss, and to the Geddes fam- 
ily it came as a real calamity. 

Robert Geddes lost little time in bewail- 
ing his misfortune, and in September of 



the same year went to work as a salesman 
for the wholesale dry goods house of Jef- 
fers & Miller at Terre Haute. From that 
day to this the dry goods trade has ab- 
sorbed the best of his time and energies. 

Mr. Geddes is a native of Illinois, born 
about forty miles west of Terre Haute on 
December 24, 1844. His grandfather, John 
Geddes, was a Scotchman and came to 
America from the city of Edinburgh. The 
father of the Indianapolis merchant was 
James R. Geddes, a farmer and stockraiser 
and later a merchant at Casey, Illinois. 
Robert Geddes, the oldest son among seven 
children, was very young when brought 
face to face with the heavy responsibilities 
of life, and before he was fifteen, owing 
to the death of his father, was taking his 
part with his mother in managing the 
home farm. He lived in his native county 
until he was eighteen, attending the com- 
mon schools and also a college at Marshall 
in Clark County, Illinois. Before he was 
eighteen he was teaching, and he spent 
two years in the graded schools of Casey. 
The organization of Jeffers & Miller at 
Terre Haute, with which he became con- 
nected as a salesman in 1865, was one of 
the notable business firms of that city. 
Its senior proprietor, U. R. Jeffers, made 
a fortune as a merchant at Terre Haute, 
and it is said that he was the pioneer in 
developing the notion trade and stocked a 
number of large covered wagons with 
goods which he sold throughout a large 
territory. For nine years Mr. Geddes re- 
mained on the staff of salesmen of the 
firm. Then, on January 1, 1874, he and 
Elisha Havens bought the business of Jef- 
fers & Miller and re-established it under 
the name Havens & Geddes. They were 
worthy successors of the old firm and 
rapidly developed a large jobbing trade 
with connections throughout Indiana and 
Illinois. The firm continued in business 
at Terre Haute until a fire in December, 
1898, destroyed the wholesale and retail 
plants, which were located at the corner 
of Fifth and Wabash avenue. After that 
they traded their ground interest for the 
wholesale house of D. P. Irwin & Com- 
pany on South Meridian Street in Indian- 
apolis. On February 6, 1899, the Indian- 
apolis house of Havens & Geddes Company 
began business, and for nearly twenty 
years it has occupied a place of prominence 
in the Indianapolis wholesale district. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1681 



While living at Terre Haute Mr. Geddes 
helped organize the first Board of Trade, 
was its first president and for a number of 
years a director. He is a member of the 
Columbia and Country clubs, the Com- 
mercial Club, the Woodstock Club, the 
Chamber of Commerce and in politics is 
a republican. 

December 19, 1878, he married Miss Ger- 
trude Parker. They have three children, 
Robert Parker, Felix R. and R. Went- 
worth. The youngest died at the age of 
four years. The other sons are both iden- 
tified with the business house of their 
father, and Felix was a member of the 
State Legislature of 1917. 

Joseph Allerdice has been a figure in 
the commercial history of Indianapolis and 
Indiana for over forty years. Largely 
through him the Indianapolis Abattoir 
Company was established, and his efforts 
and those of the associates whom he called 
to his assistance developed and made that 
business prosper for thirty-five years. 

Born in Glammis, Forfarshire, Scotland, 
June 4, 1846, he is a son of William and 
Esther M. (McDonald) Allerdice, being 
one of their nine children, six still living. 
His father was a tanner, and it was in the 
leather business that Joseph Allerdice had 
his first experience, and he was in the hide 
business some years after coming to In- 
dianapolis. 

In the latter part of June, 1852, when 
he was six years of age, he and his parents 
sailed from Glasgow for New York in the 
ship George Washington, reaching New 
York after a voyage of forty-two days. 
After living in Lansingburg, New York, 
with his parents for about five years, the 
family moved to Saratoga County, New 
York. 

In 1863 Joseph Allerdice left home and 
accepted a position with a leather and 
findings store in Saratoga. He remained 
there about two years, then removed to 
Toledo, Ohio, where he worked in a leather 
store about three years, and then entered 
the hide business on his own account. On 
December 23, 1869, he married Miss Mar- 
tha A. McEnally, who was a school teacher 
of Indianapolis, having gone there from 
Clyde, Ohio. 

In 1874 Mr. Allerdice came to Indian- 
apolis and engaged in the hide business. 
In 1882 he and the late Edmund Mooney 



and the latter 's brother, Thomas Mooney, 
organized the Indianapolis Abattoir Com- 
pany. Mr. Allerdice was elected its pres- 
ident and general manager and continued 
to hold that office until May 20, 1917, for 
a period of about thirty-five years. He 
retired on account of ill health. In the 
meantime the business had a remarkable 
growth. During 1882-83 it employed about 
fifteen men, while in 1917 it is one of the 
largest concerns of its kind in Indiana and 
employs about 600 men. 

Samuel 0. Pickens. A member of the 
Indiana bar forty-four years, Samuel 0. 
Pickens has practiced law at Indianapolis 
for over thirty of these years, and his long 
and honorable connection with the law 
and with the civic life of his home com- 
munity and state makes his record note- 
worthy among Indianans. 

He was born in Owen County, Indiana, 
April 26, 1846, a son of Samuel and Eliza 
(Baldon) Pickens, both natives of Ken- 
tucky. His father was a farmer. Samuel 
O. Pickens grew up on a farm, attended 
the common schools of Owen County and 
the Academy at Spencer, and studied in 
the Indiana State University, graduating 
LL. B. in 1873. He at once opened his 
office in Spencer. He was twice elected 
prosecuting attorney of the Fifteenth Ju- 
dicial Circuit, composed of Morgan, Owen 
and Green counties, holding the office 
from 1877 to 1881. 

In November, 1886, Mr. Pickens became 
a resident of Indianapolis, and has de- 
voted himself to the practice of law and 
to several benevolent institutions reflecting 
the religious and moral enlightenment of 
the city and state. He is senior member 
of the law firm Pickens, Moores, Davidson 
and Pickens. 

Mr. Pickens has served as chairman of 
the Board of Trustees of the Crawford 
Baptist School of Zionsville, Indiana, and 
is a member of the state executive commit- 
tee of the Indiana Young Men's Christian 
Association. Both he and his wife are 
active members of the First Baptist 
Church, which for many years he served 
as trustee. He belongs to the University 
and Country clubs. Since leaving the of- 
fice of prosecuting attorney he has sought 
no official honors, though always active in 
behalf of the democratic organization. 

In 1872 Mr. Pickens married Miss Vir- 



1682 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ginia Franklin, daughter of Judge Wil- 
liam M. Franklin, of Spencer. Five chil- 
dren were born to their marriage: Vir- 
ginia, deceased, Rush F., Mary, Owen 
and Marguerite. The son Rush is a civil 
engineer at Indianapolis, while Owen is a 
lawyer and junior member of the firm of 
his father. 

Merritt A. Potter is one of the older 
active business men of Indianapolis, and 
for forty years has been identified with 
E. C. Atkins & Company, beginning as an 
employe and achieving partnership and 
executive responsibility through the con- 
spicuous business merits he possessed. 

Mr. Potter was born at Clarkston, Mich- 
igan, August 1, 1855, a son of Rev. Aaron 
and Frances A. (Shaw) Potter. His 
father was born in Waterford, New York, 
April 9, 1820, was liberally educated, at- 
tending Union College at Schenectady and 
the Theological School at Hamilton, now 
a department of Colgate University. In 
1851 he married Miss Frances A. Shaw, 
who was born at Fort Edward, New York, 
May 31, 1830. In the same year they 
moved to Michigan, where he entered upon 
his career as pastor of the Baptist Church. 
Later he had a pastorate at Sheboygan, 
Wisconsin, and finally removed to Cham- 
paign, Illinois, where he became identified 
with the State University at its opening. 
He died in 1873. Both he and his wife 
were cultured and highly educated people, 
and were greatly loved for their nobility 
and integrity of character. They had a 
family of eight children. 

Merritt A. Potter received his early edu- 
cation at Sheboygan, Wisconsin, and the 
University of Illinois. His business career 
began very early, when only fourteen years 
of age. For several years he was book- 
keeper in a dry goods store, and in 1873 
was made a traveling salesman for a paper 
house and blank book concern. Mr. Pot- 
ter came to Indianapolis in 1874, was a 
teacher during the winter of 1874-75, and 
then for a time clerked in a local carpet 
house. 

In the fall of 1878 he entered the service 
of E. C. Atkins & Company, won a part- 
nership in the business in 1881, at the age 
of twenty-six, and since 1885 has been 
treasurer of the company. The years have 
been devoted to business affairs and with 
well earned success. Mr. Potter is a mem- 



ber of the Woodstock Club, the Contempo- 
rary Club, the Art Association, the Com- 
mercial Club, and the Board of Trade, the 
First Baptist Church and in politics is a 
republican. On October 17, 1881, he mar- 
ried Miss Dora A. Butterfield. She was 
born at LaPorte, Indiana, December 15, 
1858, and died June 26, 1890. The three 
children of this marriage are : Helen 
Frances, who died October 3, 1918 ; Justin 
Albert, who married Alice Buckmaster, of 
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, and they 
have one child, Grace Frances ; and Laura 
Agnes, who died November 29, 1918, was 
the wife of Leslie A. Perry, a native of 
Athol, Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Perry 
were the parents of one child, Daura Helen. 
June 29, 1909, Mr. Potter married Miss 
Mary Katharine Stiemmel, a native of Co- 
lumbus, Ohio. Mrs. Potter is treasurer of 
the Indianapolis Young Women 's Christian 
Association, is Regent of Caroline Scott 
Harrison Chapter, Daughters of the Amer- 
ican Revolution, and Miss Helen Frances 
Potter was also a member of the same or- 
ganization. 

Henry W. Bennett since 1877, a period 
of forty years, has occupied a conspicuous 
position in the business administration and 
the civic and political life of Indianapolis. 

He was born at Indianapolis August 
26, 1858, was educated in the public 
schools and in early youth entered the es- 
tablishment of D. Root & Company, with 
which his father was identified. This man- 
ufacturing firm was succeeded by the In- 
dianapolis Stove Company, organized and 
incorporated in 1877. Henry W. Bennett, 
then only nineteen years of age, became 
secretary and treasurer of the company. 
With the passing years this company be- 
came one of the leading manufacturing in- 
dustries of its kind in the United States, 
with an output distributed to practically 
every section of the Union. The success 
and development of the company was in 
no small degree due to the initiative and 
progressive ideas of Mr. Bennett. 

Having laid the foundation of a success- 
ful business career Mr. Bennett manifested 
that tendency so wholesome in America to 
make his influence felt in civic and politi- 
cal life. He has been an active leader in 
the republican party of Indiana since 
1890, and from 1898 to 1906 was treasurer 
of the Indiana Republican State Central 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1683 



Committee. While his position and influ- 
ence have always made him something of 
a public character, his chief official dis- 
tinction was as postmaster of Indianapolis. 
He was appointed postmaster January 25, 
1905, upon the recommendation of Senator 
Beveridge. He administered the postmas- 
tership until May 15, 1908. During his 
term the handsome Federal building of In- 
dianapolis was completed and occupied. 

Mr. Bennett resigned from the local 
postoffice in order to devote himself unre- 
servedly to the affairs of the State Life 
Insurance Company of Indianapolis, of 
which he had been elected president in 
1907. This is one of the strongest and 
best supported life insurance organizations 
in Indiana, and for ten years its affairs 
have been ably directed by Mr. Bennett. 

October 8, 1890, he married Miss Ariana 
Holliday. She was born and reared in In- 
dianapolis, daughter of William J. and 
Lucy (Redd) Holliday. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bennett have two children, Edward 
Jacquelin and Louise. 

John Francis Seramur, vice president 
and manager of the Stein-Canaday Com- 
pany, largest and best known furniture 
house in Anderson, is an expert in the fur- 
niture trade and manufacturing circles, 
having learned the business in all its details 
when a youth. Mr. Seramur has a position 
as a business man in Indiana which is well 
reflected in the fact that he was elected 
first vice president of the Indiana Retail 
Furniture Dealers' Association in the La- 
fayette Convention in June, 1917, while 
on June 4, 1918, he was elected president 
of the association. 

Mr. Seramur was born at Fayetteville, 
Ohio. July 23, 1884. His parents, John W. 
and Margaret (Meighan) Seramur, are now 
living retired on their old homestead farm. 
Mr. Seramur is of French and Irish stock, 
and the family has been in America at least 
three generations. He was educated in the 
public schools and graduated with honors 
from the Fayetteville High School. 

His first work was a job in the shipping 
room of Steinman & Myers, furniture 
manufacturers of Cincinnati. He worked 
for them four years, and neglected no op- 
portunity to acquire a definite and thor- 
ough knowledge of furniture manufactur- 
ing in every department. He then became 
shipping clerk for P. Dine & Company of 



Cincinnati, and was subsequently promoted 
to salesman and for nine years managed 
the business. 

On leaving Cincinnati Mr. Seramur 
moved to Hartford City, Indiana, and for 
two years had charge of the furniture de- 
partment of A. A. Weiler & Company. In 
1914 he came to Anderson as manager of 
the Stein-Canaday Company, and three 
3*ears later, on January 1, 1918, was also 
elected vice president of the company. 
This company handles the best grades of 
furniture and is one of the leading houses 
of its kind in eastern Indiana. 

In 1906 Mr. Seramur married Bertha 
Bomkamp, daughter of Augustus and 
Mary (Neimeyer) Bomkamp, of Cincinnati. 
They are the parents of six children, four 
sons and two daughters. Mr. Seramur is 
affiliated with the Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks, the Knights of Colum- 
bus, the Rotary Club and the Travelers 
Protective Association, and he and his fam- 
ily worship in St. Mary's Catholic Church. 

James Whitcomb Riley. The loved 
"Hoosier Poet," James Whitcomb Riley, 
was a native Indianan and Indiana contin- 
ued his home, its capital city claiming him 
among her celebrated residents. He was 
born at Greenfield in 1853, a son of Reuben 
A. and Elizabeth Riley. As early as 1873 
Mr. Riley began contributing poems to 
Indiana papers, and his facile pen since 
gave to the world many contributions. 
Much of his verse is in the Hoosier dialect. 
Mr. Riley held the Honorary A. M. de- 
gree from Yale, 1902, the Litt. D., degree, 
Wabash College, 1903, and the University 
of Pennsylvania, 1904, and the LL. D. de- 
gree, Indiana University, 1907. He was a 
member of the American Academy of Arts 
and Letters. 

Howard Shaw Ruddy, editor, was born 
August 22, 1856, at Bridgeport, in Law- 
rence County, Illinois, just across the 
Wabash from Vincennes, Indiana. His 
early education was in the public schools 
of Lawrenceville in the same county. He 
is a son of Matthew Ruddy, an Irish im- 
migrant farmer, and Elizabeth Ann 
(Wheat) Ruddy. He went to Vincennes 
in 1870, and was successively newspaper 
carrier, chair factory worker, grocery 
clerk, and billposter. In the latter work 
he made many valuable friends among the 



1684 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



business section of the theatrical profes- 
sion in the '70s. 

Mr. Ruddy began newspaper work in 
1876, and was city editor of the Vincennes 
Sun from 1878 to 1888, during which time 
he developed an interest in Indiana his- 
tory that still abides. He made a depar- 
ture in journalism by preparing a chro- 
nological record of the year 1878, which 
was published in the Western Sun Almanac 
and Local Register of 1879, and which 
attracted the attention of Maj. Orlando 
Jay Smith, one of the notable Indiana edi- 
tors. Smith was born near Terre Haute, 
June 14, 1842. He graduated at DePauw, 
enlisted in the Sixteenth Indiana Regiment 
in 1861 and served during the war, after 
which he was successively editor of the 
Mail, Gazette and Express at Terre Haute. 
From there he went to New York City, 
where he founded the American Press As- 
sociation, of which he was president after 
1881. He introduced the chronological 
record into his press plate matter, and 
gave it its widespread popularity. 

Mr. Ruddy went east in 1889, locating 
at Rochester, New York, where he was 
employed as exchange editor on the Roch- 
ester Herald. In 1893 he was given the 
literary department, which he continues to 
hold. In 1905 he was appointed and con- 
tinues to fill the position of associate edi- 
tor. He also edited a volume, "Book Lov- 
ers' Verse" in 1899. One evening while 
calling at Mr. Ruddy's Rochester home, 
Mr. Lee Burns — then with the Bobbs- 
Merrill Company — mentioned the desire of 
the house for a new romance. Mr. Ruddy 
handed him Law's History of Vincennes, 
and suggested a novel based on it. Mr. 
Burns was interested, and a discussion of 
the possibilities ensued. The idea was pre- 
sented to the house, which promptly in- 
dorsed it, and after consideration proposed 
to Maurice Thompson to write it. 

Mr. Thompson, who at the time was in 
Florida, had just finished his "Stories of 
Indiana" for the American Book Com- 
pany, and accepted the proposition with 
enthusiasm. The contract was soon closed, 
and the result was "Alice of Old Vin- 
cennes." Mr. Ruddy was advised of the 
success of the project, and made several 
suggestions for the treatment of the sub- 
ject, particularly giving belated justice to 
Francis Vigo. In recognition of his serv- 
ices the heroine was named for his wife, 



Alice (Gosnell) Ruddy, whom he married 
at Lawrenceville, February 14, 1877. She 
is a daughter of Allen C. and Mary I. Gos- 
nell, long since deceased. The only fruits 
of this union was a daughter, Wanda Alice, 
born May 8, 1886, now Mrs. Chester A. 
Haak. 

Charles F. Koehler is a well known 
Indianapolis merchant whose career has 
been out of the ordinary, both with respect 
to its experiences and its accomplishments. 

He was born in Saxony, Germany, Feb- 
ruary 12, 1871, son of Charles F. and Car- 
oline (Wirrgang) Koehler. In the old 
country his father was a miller. In 1885, 
when Charles F., Jr., was fourteen years 
old, the family came to America and lo- 
cated at Indianapolis. Here the father 
learned the trade of carpenter, and he con- 
tinued to follow that vocation as long as 
he was physically able. He is still living 
in Indianapolis. His wife died here in 
1908. 

The second in a family of ten children, 
Charles F. Koehler had a common school 
education during his life in Germany. 
When the family came to Indianapolis 
they were in humble circumstances and 
Charles had to assume some of the respon- 
sibilities of providing for his own way and 
keeping the household in food and cloth- 
ing. The day after his arrival in the city 
he was sent into the country and secured 
employment on a farm for a man named 
Lucas. This farm where he had his pre- 
liminary labor experience in America is 
located on the Churchman Pike. This and 
other work busied him for two years, and 
then came the opportunity which he made 
the opening for his real life work. 

Mr. Koehler was put on the payroll of- 
the Queiser Grocery House on Virginia 
Avenue as delivery boy and clerk. There 
was nothing about the store in form of 
work which did not come within the scope 
of his experience and his assignment dur- 
ing the next few months. But busy as he 
was in the day he helped to improve his 
education by attending a night school. 

Thirty years ago Mr. Koehler with his 
brother William opened the store at 2122 
East Tenth Street, and in that locality he 
has been ever since. His entire personal 
capital at the beginning was only six dol- 
lars. Having ability and some friends he 
borrowed two hundred dollars, and that 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1685 



was the foundation of a rapidly increasing 
enterprise which was soon more than pay- 
ing its own way and giving the brothers 
opportunity to discount their bills. They 
continued the partnership twenty-two 
years, when William withdrew. Since 
then Mr. C. F. Koehler has continued busi- 
ness alone and has a large and well 
equipped grocery store and meat market. 
His success is due to the application of 
fundamental business principles and eth- 
ics, and it stands out the more remarkable 
because at the start he was little more 
than a green German boy without even 
the ability to express himself in the Eng- 
lish language. 

In 1900 Mr. Koehler married Miss Con- 
stance Grauel, who was born in Wisconsin, 
daughter of Julius Grauel. They have 
four young sons, Arthur, Carl, Herbert and 
Harold. Mr. Koehler and wife are active 
members of the Butler Memorial Reformed 
Church. He is a member of the Grocers 
Association, and fraternally he has affilia- 
tions with Brookside Lodge of the Knights 
of Pythias and with Lodge No. 18 of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. A 
few years ago Mr. Koehler bought a farm 
of eighteen acres near the city on Pendle- 
ton Pike, and this is the summer home of 
the family. Mr. Koehler is extremely 
loyal to the land of his adoption, where his 
opportunities developed themselves, and 
recently he has responded generously to 
the cause of this country's prosperity by 
investing heavily in Liberty Loan Bonds 
and Thrift Stamps. 

John A. Soltau has been a merchant 
and business man of Indianapolis thirty- 
six years. He is one of those fortunate 
men who as they reach their declining 
years find themselves relieved of their 
heaviest responsibilities through the coop- 
eration of their sons. Mr. Soltau has five 
vigorous sons, all good business men, and 
handling most of the actual work of the 
two grocery stores of which he is proprie- 
tor, one at 2133 East Michigan Street and 
the other at 301 Sherman Drive. 

Mr. Soltau was born in Holstein, Ger- 
many, November 17, 1847, son of Jergen 
and Rebecca (Schumacher) Soltau. His 
grandfather Soltau was a native of France. 
Jergen Soltau, leaving his family behind, 
came to America in 1854 and joined an 
uncle in the gold fields of California. After 



three years of western life and experience 
he returned to the middle west by way of 
the Panama Canal and then as a pioneer 
penetrated the woods and prairies of Min- 
nesota, which was still a territory. In Le- 
Seuer County he pre-empted 160 acres of 
government land. After getting this land 
and making some provisions for their com- 
fort he had his wife and three children 
come on in 1857. They embarked on the 
sailing vessel Bertrand, and after twenty- 
eight days at sea landed in New York. 
John A. Soltau was ten years old when he 
made that eventful journey to the New 
World. Jergen Soltau developed a good 
farm in Minnesota and was quite active 
in local politics in LeSeuer County as a re- 
publican. A few years before his death 
he sold his Minnesota property and came 
to Indianapolis. He died in 1895, at the 
age of seventy-five, and his wife passed 
away in 1880, aged fifty-five. They had 
six children : John A. ; Henry, who resides 
in Minnesota ; Lena Theis ; Bertha, wife of 
A. H. Seebeck, of Redwood Falls, Minne- 
sota ; George, of Minnesota ; and Peter W., 
superintendent of Oakwood Park, Wa- 
wasee Lake at Syracuse, Indiana. 

John A. Soltau after coming to America 
spent most of his time working with his 
father on the pioneer Minnesota home- 
stead, and consequently his school days 
were limited. In 1868, at the age of 
twenty-one, he went to St. Paul, learned 
the carpenter's trade and worked at it dil- 
igently until 1871. 

Mr. Soltau has been a resident of Indian- 
apolis since 1871, and his first employment 
here was as foreman for the building con- 
tractor Conrad Bender. He was a good 
workman, was also thrifty and looked 
ahead to the future, and about ten years 
after coming to this city he used his capi- 
tal to open his first grocery store. at David- 
son and Ohio streets. That was his place 
of business for thirty consecutive years. 
He closed out his store there and became 
established in a better location at 2133 
East Michigan Street, and subsequently 
opened his other store on Sherman Drive. 

Soon after coming to Indianapolis, in 
1873, Mr. Soltau married Elizabeth Koeh- 
ler, daughter of William Koehler. Mrs. 
Soltau was born in Indianapolis, her birth- 
place being not far from the present Union 
Station. She was born April 7, 1851. Her 
father, William Koehler, was a native of 



1686 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Germany and for a number of years con- 
ducted a restaurant in the old Market 
House. Mr. and Mrs. Soltau 's five sons, 
all associated with their father in the gro- 
cery business, are named William, Edward, 
John, Garfield, and Benjamin. 

For a number of years Mr. Soltau took 
an active part in local politics, voting and 
working for the success of the republican 
party. Of recent years he has been a pro- 
hibitionist. He is one of the prominent 
members of the Evangelical Association 
Church at New York and North East 
streets, has served twenty-five years as a 
member of its board of trustees, and was 
also a teacher in its Sunday school. The 
Soltau family reside at 604 Jefferson Ave- 
nue. This comfortable home, now in one 
of the attractive residential districts of 
the city, was when built at the very edge 
of the city and surrounded by cornfields. 

Charles C. Perry, president of the In- 
dianapolis Light and Heat Company, has 
an interesting personal record. His father 
was one of the substantial men of Rich- 
mond, Indiana, but the son early showed 
an independence and self reliance which 
prompted him to earn his own spending 
money. He carried a city newspaper 
route while attending school, worked as a 
messenger boy for the Pittsburg, Cincin- 
nati, Chicago & St. Louis Railway, and 
applied all his spare hours to the diligent 
use of a borrowed telegraph instrument 
and mastered telegraphy. Once on the 
pay roll as a regular operator, he showed 
a skill in handling the key and also an 
ability to take increasing responsibilities. 
He was eventually made manager of the 
Western Union Telegraph Company at 
Richmond, a position he filled from 1880 
to 1884. 

Mr. Perry came to Indianapolis in 1886 
to represent the Jenny Electric Company, 
and his principal field of business activity 
has always been with something connected 
with electrical or public utility plants. In 
1888 he became one of the financiers of the 
Marmon-Perry Light Company, and in 
1892 was one of the chief promoters of 
the Indianapolis Light & Power Company, 
Avhich since 1904 has been the Indianapolis 
Light & Heat Company. Of this import- 
ant local public utility Mr. Perry has been 
president and treasurer for a number of 
years. 



He was born at Richmond in Wayne 
County December 15, 1857. His father, 
Dr. Joseph James Perry, was born and 
reared and received his professional edu- 
cation in Somersetshire, England, where the 
family had lived for many generations. He 
came to America in 1840, practiced for ten 
years at Detroit, Michigan, and in 1850 
removed to Richmond, Indiana, which was 
his home until his death in 1872. During 
the Civil war he was appointed a surgeon 
of the Forty-second United States Infantry 
in 1864 and was with the command until 
mustered out. He was a very capable 
physician and surgeon and highly honored 
citizen of Richmond. He was prominent in 
religious affairs and was founder of Grace 
Methodist Episcopal Church at Richmond 
and filled some office in the organization 
until his death. His second wife was Miss 
Ruth Moffitt, who was born at Richmond in 
1821. Their only child is Charles C. Perry. 
The latter in addition to the advantages of 
the Richmond public schools attended Earl- 
ham College for a time. Mr. Perry is a 
republican in politics. He is a member of 
the Board of Trade and the Commercial 
Club, the Columbia Club and has served 
as a trustee of the Indianapolis Young 
Woman's Christian Association. He mar- 
ried Miss Capitola Adams, daughter of T. 
J. Adams, of Indianapolis. 

Mr. Perry is a patriotic American, and 
a local publication recently paid him honor 
in its columns in commenting on his mil- 
itary work. The article was as follows: 

"When Company C of the Indiana State 
Militia was organized recently, Charles C. 
Perry, president of the Indianapolis Light 
and Heat Company, entered the ranks as 
a private in order that he might make an 
indelible impression upon the minds of his 
associates of the great necessity of obtain- 
ing a military education, especially at a 
time when this country is an epoch-mak- 
ing period. 

"Upon being asked, at a meeting last 
week, why a man engaged actively in busi- 
ness and with pressing diities should desire 
to take up military duty, he said : ' I '11 tell 
you, I am 60 years old, but the man doesn't 
live in this country, if he is every inch 
an American, whose blood doesn't boil in 
these days. No matter his age, he wants 
to fight, ' He should fight. I feel too. that 
no man's affairs are too big, too important 
that he can afford to stand aside when his 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1687 



country needs him. The head of the big- 
gest corporation mustn't shirk responsibil- 
ity when the boys under him aren't trying 
to.'" 

Frank D. Stalnaker. It is as a banker 
that this name is most widely known 
throughout the central west. Mr. Stal- 
naker is now president of the Indiana Na- 
tional Bank, and is the fourth man to 
succeed to the responsibilities of that office 
during the half century this institution 
has been in existence. One of the largest 
banks in the central west, Mr. Stalnaker 's 
responsibilities are correspondingly great, 
and the honor is befitting one who has been 
identified with local banking in practically 
every capacity and stage of service from 
clerk to executive head. 

Mr. Stalnaker has been a resident of 
Indiana the greater part of his life, and 
his mother was born in this state. His 
own birth occurred at Bloomfield, Davis 
County, Iowa, December 31, 1859. His 
father, Lemuel E. Stalnaker, was born at 
Parkersburg, West Virginia, was reared 
and educated in that state, and became 
a pioneer of Iowa. For a number of years 
he was engaged in business as contractor 
and builder at Sioux City, and then 
removed to Cambridge City, Indiana, where 
as superintendent of the Car Works he 
remained until 1879. In that year he 
brought his family to Indianapolis and was 
superintendent of the old Car Works on 
the site later occupied by the Atlas Engine 
Works. When the manufacture of cars 
was abandoned in this plant he removed to 
Tennessee, and he died at McMinnville at 
the age of sixty-eight. He married at 
Sioux City, Iowa, Miss Martha J. Jamie- 
son. After his death she returned to In- 
diana and lived at Indianapolis until her 
death at the age of sixty-five. They were 
the parents of three children : Frank D., 
William E. and Olive, who married Charles 
Faidkner. 

With his early education in the public 
schools of Sioux City, Iowa, and Cambridge 
City, Indiana, Frank D. Stalnaker was 
twenty years old when he came with the 
family to Indianapolis. Here he completed 
a course in a business college, and from 
that went into clerkship in a local bank. 
It is evident that Mr. Stalnaker made no 
mistake in his choice of a business career. 
He early earned the confidence of his sen- 



iors and made every item of his growing 
experience a factor in further advance- 
ment. One of his first important promo- 
tions in the banking field was when he suc- 
ceeded William Wallace at his death as re- 
ceiver for the Fletcher & Sharpe Bank. 
Though a comparatively young man, he 
handled the affairs of this institution with 
such ability and discrimination that when 
the receivership ended in 1893 he had ac- 
complished all that could have been ex- 
pected and as a result was in a position 
to connect himself with still higher honors 
and responsibilities. After that he was 
actively connected with other local banks 
until June, 1906, when he was elected pres- 
ident of the old Capital National Bank. 
Then a few years ago he succeeded the 
venerable Volney T. Malott as president 
of the Indiana National Bank, a position 
which in itself is one of the highest honors 
to which a financier could attain. 

Along with banking Mr. Stalnaker has 
over thirty years been a factor in other 
commercial affairs in Indianapolis. In 
1885, at the age of twenty-six, he became 
associated with James W. Lilly under the 
name Lilly and Stalnaker in the hardware 
business. Beginning as a modest enter- 
prise, the two partners carried it forward 
until it came to rank as one of the leading 
wholesale and retail hardware houses of 
the state. 

Outside of his private business affairs 
Mr. Stalnaker has been a willing coworker 
in many of those movements and organiza- 
tions which have created the Greater In- 
dianapolis. He has served as president of 
the Merchants Association, for two years 
was president of the Indianapolis Board 
of Trade and the Board of Trade Build- 
ing was completed during his administra- 
tion, was one of the first Board of Direc- 
tors of the Commercial Club, was secretary 
for two years and in 1903 president of the 
Columbia Club, and has membership in 
the University Club and the Country Club. 
He is a thirty-second degree Scottish Bite 
Mason, a member of the Mystic Shrine, and 
for many years has been a leader in the 
republican party in the state. At one 
time he was treasiTrer of the Bepublican 
State Central Committee. Mr. Stalnaker 
married October 8, 1890, Miss Maude Hill, 
who died in 1910. She was a native of 
Indianapolis, but was reared in Milwaukee 
and Chicago. Her father, James B. Hill, 



1688 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



was at one time general freight agent for 
the Pennsylvania Railroads west of Pitts- 
burg. Mr. Stalnaker has one daughter, 
by that marriage, Marjorie. On August 
25, 1914, he married Mrs. Cecilia Mausun 
Wulsin. 

Andrew Smith. As the happiest na- 
tions are those shorn of annals, so perhaps 
the individuals are those whose lives pre- 
sent none of the abnormal eventfulness and 
experience which is found in works of fic- 
tion. Uneventfulness has perhaps no di- 
rect or vital connection with real substan- 
tial achievement, as the career of Mr. An- 
drew Smith of Indianapolis abundantly 
proves. 

Mr. Smith has spent all his life in In- 
dianapolis and is a son of Andrew Smith, 
Sr., who came from near Belfast, Ireland, 
to the United States. He was of Scotch 
parentage. Andrew Smith, Sr., located at 
Indianapolis, and was one of the early 
locomotive engineers on the I. & C. Rail- 
road. In 1865 he transferred his service 
to the Indianapolis, Peru and Chicago 
Railroad, and remained faithful, compe- 
tent and diligent in its service until his 
death in 1893. Andrew Smith, Sr., is re- 
membered as a man of practical education 
and particularly for his great love of 
Scotch poetry. He knew Bobby Burns al- 
most by heart, and could recite that fa- 
mous bard's works and others of Scotland 
seemingly without end. He was a hard 
worker, though he was an equally liberal 
provider for his children and family, and 
never accumulated what would have suf- 
ficed for a competency. About 1855 he 
married Catherine Kennington. Of their 
eight children five are still living. 

Andrew Smith, Jr., was born at Indian- 
apolis November 8, 1860. He was educated 
in public schools and in 1875, at the age 
of fifteen, went to work as a messenger 
boy for the Western Union Telegraph 
Company. In the intervals of carrying 
messages he was diligent in his practice at 
the telegraph key and mastered the art so 
rapidly that in a few months he was work- 
ing as telegrapher for the grain firm of 
Fred P. Rush & Company. He remained 
with them one year, and in 1877 found a 
more promising opening as an employe in 
the Fletcher Bank. He was with that in- 
stitution twenty-two years, and for sixteen 
of those years was paying teller. 



In 1900, upon the organization of the 
American National Bank, Mr. Smith be- 
came assistant cashier. In 1904 he was 
made vice president of the Capitol Na- 
tional Bank. In 1912, when the Capitol 
consolidated with the Indiana National 
Bank, Mr. Smith joined the latter institu- 
tion and has since been its vice president. 

Continuous since 1903 Mr. Smith has be- 
come well known among Indiana bankers 
as secretary of the Indiana Bankers Asso- 
ciation. He is a member of the American 
Bankers Association, was for several years 
treasurer of the Indianapolis Chamber of 
Commerce, is a member of the German 
House, the Maennerchor, and fraternally 
is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias 
and in Masonry has attained the thirty- 
second degree of Scottish Rite and is a 
member of the Mystic Shrine. Mr. Smith 
is a republican. 

Away from business his chief interest 
and hobby is music. He was director and 
treasurer for a time of the old May Music 
Festival Association. He has sung in va- 
rious church choirs of the city and at 
present has charge of the choir of the 
First Congregational Church. September 
15, 1886, Mr. Smith married Miss Katie 
Wenger, daughter of Michael and Cath- 
erine Wenger. They have one son, George 
Andrew Smith. 

George J. Eberhardt, who has been a 
resident of Indianapolis since March, 1875, 
is a prominent and well known manu- 
facturer of the city. Mr. Eberhardt .is an 
American citizen whose loyalty was ex- 
pressed as a Union soldier during the days 
of the Civil war, and one of his grandsons 
is now doing duty with the American 
armies in the World war. 

He was born on a farm in Butler County, 
Ohio, May 14, 1843, one of a large family 
of seventeen children, ten of whom reached 
maturity. His parents, John George and 
Louisa (Bieler) Eberhardt, were both na- 
tives of Wurtemberg, Germany, where they 
were married. The father was involved in 
some of the early revolutionary troubles 
of Germany and 'finally left that country 
altogether and brought his family to the 
United States. He located in Butler 
County, and he and his wife spent the rest 
of their years on a farm there. 

Mr. George J. Eberhardt grew up on a 
farm in that county, attended district 




$ 



T <f 



. &UAa>dL^. 



INDIANA AND INDIANA NS 



1689 



school in a limited way, and as soon as 
old enough developed his strength by the 
duties of the home. He was only eighteen 
when on October 17, 1861, he enlisted in 
the Union army in Company I of the Fifth 
Ohio Cavalry. He served continuously un- 
til his honorable discharge November 29, 
1864. He was appointed corporal Septem- 
ber 30, 1864, and was discharged with that 
rank. He first took part in the battle of 
Shiloh, then at Corinth, then went to Chat- 
tanooga, and was in Lew Wallace's Brigade 
during the charge up Lookout Mountain. 
He was under Sherman at Missionary 
Ridge, and was in the continuous fighting 
from that time until the final reduction of 
Atlanta. At the beginning of the Chat- 
tanooga campaign he was orderly for Gen- 
eral Sherman, and subsequently served in 
the same position for General Logan. At 
Resaca he was injured by the fall of a 
horse. 

His patriotic duty done after the war 
Mr. Eberhardt returned to Ohio and for 
several years was a farmer and also oper- 
ated a threshing machine. Going to Ham- 
ilton, Ohio, he spent five years employed 
in a brewery, and was similarly employed 
at Indianapolis the first five years after he 
came to this city. Later he worked for the 
old wholesale dry goods house of Murphy 
& Hibben. In 1890 Mr. Eberhardt bought 
a tent and awning manufacturing business. 
He has kept that business growing and 
prospering, and has made it one of the suc- 
cessful industries of the city. Mr. Eber- 
hardt is a member of the St. John Evan- 
gelical Reformed Church and in politics is 
a republican. 

May 19, 1868, half a century ago, he 
married Miss Emma Theis. She was born 
at Hamilton, Butler County, Ohio, April 3, 
1848, daughter of Seibert. and Elizabeth 
(Metz) Theis. Her parents were natives 
of Hesse Darmstadt, Germany, and came to 
the United States in 1842. Mr. and Mrs. 
Eberhardt became the parents of seven 
children: Ferdinand, Elizabeth, Frank 
George, one that died in infancy, Ida 
Marie, Arthur W. and Caroline, the latter 
a teacher in the public schools of Indian- 
apolis. Ferdinand, who is president of the 
Compac Tent Company of Indianapolis, 
married Minnie "Weller, and their son 
Frank George is now a sergeant major in 
the United States Army in France, con- 
nected with the aviation department. The 



son Frank George died in April, 1912, and 
by his marriage to Stella Bash had one 
daughter, Alice Emma. The daughter Ida 
Marie is the wife of Eugene Bottke, and 
has a son named Carl. Arthur W. is asso- 
ciated with his father in business, and 
has a daughter, Janet, by his marriage to 
Ora Elder. 

Addison C. Harris, a lawyer of note and 
president of the Indiana Bar Association, 
was born in Wayne County, Indiana, Oc- 
tober 1, 1840. He was admitted to the 
bar in 1865, and engaged in practice in 
Indianapolis, which city is still his home. 
During 1877-79 Mr. Harris served as a 
member of the Indiana Senate, and a few 
years later, in 1888, was a candidate for 
Congress, while in 1899-1901 he was con- 
nected with foreign affairs in Austria-Hun- 
gary. His political affiliations are with 
the republican party. 

On the 8th of May, 1868, Mr. Harris 
married India C. Crago, of Connersville, 
Indiana. 

Frank R. Manning is one of the alert 
and progressive business men of Newcastle, 
member of the firm Manning and Arm- 
strong, plumbing, heating and electrical 
contracting. 

Mr. Manning was born near Maysville, 
Kentucky, in 1889, son of B. P. and Lettie 
(Horton) Manning. He is of Scotch-Irish 
ancestry, and most of his ancestors have 
been identified with agriculture. As a boy in 
Kentucky he attended the country schools 
and helped on the farm. In 1903, when 
he was fourteen years old, his parents 
moved to Knightstown, Indiana, where soon 
afterward he obtained work in a buggy 
factory. Later for two years he was in the 
Action Department of the French & Sons 
Piano Company. He acquired a practical 
knowledge of gasfitting with the Indiana 
Public Service Company for a year and a 
half, and with other firms gained an expert 
knowledge of plumbing and heating. Fin- 
ally he capitalized his experience and pro- 
ficiency by joining Mr. R. J. Armstrong 
under the name Manning & Armstrong, 
and they have developed a business of sub- 
stantial proportions reaching far out in the 
country districts of Henry County. 

In 1913 Mr. Manning married Miss 
Eugene Poindexter, daughter of J. J. Poin- 
dexter. They have one son, Richard 



1690 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Eugene, born in 1914. Mr. Manning votes 
independently in local affairs but is a strong 
supporter of President Wilson in the na- 
tional and international policies of the pres- 
ent administration. He and his wife are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Mr. Manning has depended upon 
his own efforts to advance him in life, 
and with good ability, honest intentions 
and straightforward performance has gone 
far along the road to success. 

Charles Otis Dodson was a successful 
merchant and business man of Indianap- 
olis before his name was associated with 
any important public office. He was ap- 
pointed to fill an unexpired term as sheriff 
of Marion County, and the courts of jus- 
tice never had a more prompt and effi- 
cient administrative officer. 

His home has been in Indianapolis since 
early childhood, but he was born in Coles 
County, Illinois, September 10, 1878. His 
grandfather Dodson was a Civil war 
soldier. His father is William T. Dodson, 
who for many years has been a salesman 
representing furniture stores and factories. 
Sheriff Dodson 's mother was a Robinson, 
of the noted family of that name long con- 
spicuous in the circus and show business. 

The schools Sheriff Dodson attended 
when a boy were schools Nos. 5 and 15 in 
Indianapolis. He was only a lad when 
he entered the grocery establishment of 
O. F. Calvin on West Washington Street. 
He drove a delivery wagon for that firm 
several years, was promoted to salesman, 
and twelve years from the time he began 
work he was in a position to buy out the 
business. He became proprietor in June, 
1903, the store having in the meantime 
been moved to 545 Indiana Avenue. Mr. 
Dodson was one of the enterprising grocers 
of the city until 1915, when he retired from 
business to accept the position of inspector 
of weights and measures for Marion Coun- 
ty. Then when Sheriff Coffin left the 
county government to become chief of 
police of the city Mr. Dodson was appointed 
his successor, holding the office until Janu- 
ary 1, 1919. 

He has been a factor in republican party 
affairs through a number of state and local 
campaigns. He is a member of the Marion 
Club, is a Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner, 
and is affiliated with the Knights of Py- 
thias and the Fraternal Order of Eagles. 



November 4, 1903, Mr. Dodson married 
Miss Minnie T. Carpenter, who was born 
at Madison, Indiana. They have two chil- 
dren, Lida Elizabeth and Howard Otis. 

William N. Picken. The name Picken 
has had honorable associations with the 
life of Indiana for the past seventy years, 
and particularly with banking and busi- 
ness affairs at Tipton and latterly at In- 
dianapolis. 

The older generation of the family was 
represented by the late William Picken. 
He was born in Glasgow, Scotland, Nov- 
ember 21, 1833. At the age of fourteen, 
with his widowed mother and two sisters 
and two brothers, he crossed the ocean to 
America on an old slow going sailing ves- 
sel. The family came on to Indiana and 
located on a tract of land in the south- 
western part of Tipton County. The three 
sons, Robert, John and William, always 
continued as partners in business and they 
grew up on the farm with their widowed 
mother. Too much cannot be said of the 
courage and fortitude of the mother of 
these sons. She did not hesitate to brave 
the uncertainties of American pioneer life 
in order that those near and dear to her 
might have opportunities beyond those ob- 
tainable in the old world conditions. She 
reared her children through adversities, 
molded them into good citizenship, and 
they became a credit to her name and to 
her sacrifices. 

From the farm the Picken brothers fin- 
ally removed to Tipton, where they en- 
gaged in merchandising in the early his- 
tory of that city. Prosperity came to them, 
for they were thoroughly honorable and 
had the thrift that is proverbial with the 
Scottish people. In 1881 the Picken 
brothers founded the Union Bank at Tip- 
ton. This was continued in successful 
operation until 1906, when, owing to the 
death of members of the firm, the bank 
liquidated all its obligations and went out 
of business. 

While William Picken had no more than 
an ordinary education he was a close stu- 
dent and observer, knew and appreciated 
the importance of current events, and came 
to be recognized as an authority on many 
matters connected with the conduct 
of banking and business affairs. In poli- 
tics he was a republican, but never ap- 
peared as a candidate for public office. In 



INDIANA AND 1NDIANANS 



1691 



religion he was a strict Presbyterian. He 
was a man of charity, took broad and lib- 
eral views toward his fellow men and in an 
unostentatious way contributed to worthy 
benevolent objects. William Picken mar- 
ried Alzena Campbell. She was born in 
Rush County, Indiana, daughter of Na- 
thaniel Campbell. In 1901 William Picken 
and his family removed to Indianapolis, 
where he died April 26, 1907. His widow, 
Mrs. Picken, is still living. 

Their only son is William N. Picken, 
widely known in business circles at the 
capital. He was born at Tipton, Indiana, 
January 28, 1869, was reared and educated 
in his native city, and from boyhood had 
a thorough training in the work of a mer- 
chant. After coming to Indianapolis in 
1901 he became interested in the United 
States Encaustic Tile Works, and is i;cw 
vice president of that large and important 
corporation. He has various other priv- 
ate business interests to which he gives his 
attention, is a republican and a member 
of the Presbyterian Church. February 8, 
1893, Mr. Picken married Annie G. Mc- 
Colley, daughter of Henry B. McColley, 
of Tipton. They have one daughter, Ag- 
nes. 

Ulysses G. Leedy is an Indianapolis 
manufacturer. The point in significance 
to his career is that he has been content 
not merely with the manufacture of a 
standard line of goods, which might be 
duplicated by other factories, but has gone 
forward in his specialization jintil his prod- 
uct is now probably the premier of its kind 
in the entire world, and the patronage is 
enough to convince and demonstrate this 
unique standing. 

Mr. Leedy, who is president of the 
Leedy Manufacturing Company, manufac- 
turers of "everything for the band and 
orchestra drummer," was born in Han- 
cock County, Ohio, in 1867, a son of Isaac 
B. and Mary (Struble) Leedy. When he 
was four years old his parents removed to 
Fostoria, Ohio, where he grew up and re- 
ceived his education. 

The beginning of his career as a drum 
manufacturer was not by the simple pro- 
cess of following an ambition to become a 
manufacturer of some article and deliber- 
ately choosing to manufacture drums. 
The making of drams was in fact a grad- 
ual development from a previous experi- 



ence as a drummer, and he was called one 
of the most expert professional drummers 
long before his name was thought of in 
connection with manufacturing. Probably 
every drummer is a boy drummer, since 
the art does not lend itself readily to mas- 
tery after the period of boyhood is past. 
His first regular engagement as a drum- 
mer was with the Great Western Band at 
Cedar Point, Ohio, and he was with that 
organization for three years. For several 
years he also traveled on the road with 
theatrical organizations. These wander- 
ings brought him to Indianapolis, and for 
ten years he was trap drummer of the 
English Opera House Orchestra. 

His father was a proficient mechanic, 
and probably from him he inherited me- 
chanical traits. Thus while traveling about 
the road he made drums for himself and 
other performers, and it was his success 
as an amateur drum maker that brought 
him into the manufacturing field in earnest. 

His present industry began in 1898, 
when he established a small shop in the 
old Cyclorama Building at Indianapolis. 
There was a gradual but steady growth to 
the business. In 1903 this was incorpor- 
ated as the Leedy Manufacturing Com- 
pany. Altogether twenty years of experi- 
ence have gone into this industry, and the 
organization today represents and reflects 
the experience, the study, personal skill 
and organizing ability of Mr. U. G. Leedy. 
The company has had several locations and 
plants, but the greatest period of expan- 
sion has come within the last decade. At 
present the Leedy plant on Palmer Street 
comprises several large modern factories 
and warehouses and offices, and the liter- 
ature of the Indianapolis Chamber of 
Commerce mentions it as one of the largest 
musical instrument factories in the world. 
About sixty people are employed, most of 
them skilled specialists, who received their 
training directly from Mr. Leedy himself, 
who is accorded the position by competent 
authorities of being a master dram maker. 
The principal product is the drum, though 
numerous accessories for the band and or- 
chestra are manufactured, chiefly those be- 
longing to the trap drummer's extensive 
equipment. It is of necessity a highly 
specialized industry, and is from first to 
last the product of the genius and industry 
of Mr. Leedy. 

Mr. Leedv married Miss Zoa I. Hachet, 



1692 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Her father was a native of Alsace Lor- 
raine. They are the parents of four chil- 
dren, Eugene Bradford, Mary Isabel, Ed- 
win Hollis and Dorothy May. 

f 1 
Mark Storen is a lawyer by profession, 
with about thirty-five years of membership 
in the Indiana bar. He has filled many 
places of trust and honor in local and state 
politics, and in recent years is most widely 
known through his incumbency of the office 
of United States marshal of Indiana. 

Mr. Storen has spent most of his life in 
Indiana, but was born in Columbia Comity, 
New York, April 12, 1857. His parents, 
Michael and Mrs. (Whalen) Storen, were 
both natives of Ireland. His father came 
to the United States when about thirty 
years of age and married in New York. 
A farmer by occupation, he lived in Scott 
County, Indiana, from 1865 until his 
death. 

Mark Storen was eight years old when 
his parents came to Scott County, Indiana, 
and he grew up on the home farm near 
Lexington. He was educated in the com- 
mon schools, and also spent two years in 
the State Normal School at Terre Haute. 
To pay his tuition in the State Normal he 
taught, and continued that work for a 
time after leaving school. Mr. Storen took 
up the study of law in the office of Judge 
Jeptha D. New at Vernon, Indiana, and 
was admitted to the bar in 1882. For a 
year before beginning active law practice 
he served as a railway mail clerk between 
Indianapolis and Louisville. 

Mr. Storen was a practicing lawyer of 
Scottsburg, Indiana, until July, 1914. 
However, he had in the meantime many 
other responsibilities. In December, 188-4, 
with Charles C. Foster he founded the 
Scott County Journal, a democratic organ. 
This paper is still in existence. In 1889 
Mr. Storen relinquished his newspaper, 
having been elected county clerk of Scott 
County. He served in that position eight 
years, having been reelected in 1892. In 
1912 Mr. Storen was elected to represent 
his home county in the State Legislature, 
and during the following session was chair- 
man of the judiciary committee, a member 
of the committee of ways and means, rail- 
roads committee and others. He has the 
distinction of being author of the first reg- 
istration law in Indiana and also was 
author of the law compelling interurban 



railways to carry freight, and introduced 
a number of other well advised measures. 

In July, 1914, Mr. Storen was appointed 
by President Wilson United States marshal 
of the State of Indiana, and in the dis- 
charge of those duties has had his home at 
the capital city. As the executive officer 
of the United States courts in Indiana it 
has been Mr. Storen 's disagreeable duty 
to carry out the orders of those courts 
during the recent election fraud cases of 
the state. As a result of these trials there 
followed a wholesale arrest of many promi- 
nent men of the state involved in the elec- 
tion frauds, and it has been stated that 
Mr. Storen as United States marshal was 
called upon to arrest more individuals than 
any other previous incumbent of that 
office. 

He is a loyal democrat, is active in Ma- 
sonry, in the Lodge, Chapter and Council 
of the York Rite and in the thirty-second 
degree Scottish Rite, also belongs to the 
Mystic Shrine, to the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, and the Knights of 
Pythias. In 1888 Mr. Storen married 
Minerva E. Cravens, of Scottsburg. They 
have one daughter, Merle, now Mrs. Law- 
rence E. Reeves, of Indianapolis. 

Oliver T. Byram, president of the By- 
ram Foundry and also president of the 
Byram Estate, both institutions that have 
solid standing among Indianapolis business 
men, has doubtless found one of his great- 
est satisfaction in his ability to continue 
the business and in some important respects 
the influences that emanated from the char- 
acter of his honored father, the late Nor- 
man S. Byram. 

Norman S. Byram, a resident of Indian- 
apolis from 1842 until his death in 1902, 
was born in New York State and was a 
small child when his parents came to In- 
diana and located at Brookville. There he 
attended school for a brief time, but at the 
age of twelve came to Indianapolis. His 
own exertions gave him his education, and 
he had to look to the same source for his 
success in business. His first employer was 
Oliver Tousey, a pioneer merchant of In- 
dianapolis, who found in young Byram an 
assistant whose value was not measured by 
his salary alone. In time the firm of Oli- 
ver Tousey became the Tousey-Byram Com- 
pany, later was conducted as Byram, Cor- 



INDIANA AND INDIANA NS 



1693 



nelius & Company, and the great business 
of this firm was finally sold to D. P. Irwin 
& Company. Norman S. Byram among 
other important financial interests was 
president of the Capital National Bank. 

His contemporaries say he was always 
seeking some opportunity to better condi- 
tions in the city. Once he frankly sought 
the office of councilman, was elected and 
became president of the board, and in that 
capacity personally conducted raids on the 
vice and gambling places, and probably 
cleaned up the city as effectually for the 
time as eve» in its history. He was also 
a member of the county council one term. 
His contributions to charity were many, 
but given quietly. During one of the worst 
floods in the Ohio Valley he was a member 
of the committee representing the local 
board of trade and worked unremittingly 
for days until hundreds of cases of real 
distress were provided for. He was a Ma- 
son and in politics a republican. 

He was seventy-two when he died in 
1902. He married Isabel Pursel, from Har- 
rison, Ohio. They were the parents of four 
children : Henry G., who for a number of 
years was connected with the Byram Foun- 
dry, died in 1909 ; Mrs. William Gates, of 
Indianapolis; Oliver T. ; and Norman S. 

Oliver T. Byram was born at Indian- 
apolis in 1869. The business and civic posi- 
tion of his father naturally lent favorable 
auspices to his own youth. He finished his 
education in the city high school, and. ac- 
quired his business training in his father's 
store. In 1892 he went to work for the 
Cleveland Fence Company, which after a 
few years was changed to the Byram Foun- 
dry. ■ This is one of the industries that 
give character to the city. Its plant covers 
nearly two acres, located at the intersection 
of Biddle Street with the railroad tracks. 
The principal output is grey-iron castings, 
and at this writing fully 90% of the work 
is directly or indirectly for the United 
States or the Allies. 

A very active business man, Mr. Byram 
is also secretary-treasurer of the Indian- 
apolis Warehouse Company, is treasurer of 
the Grocers Coffee Company, and is execu- 
tive head of the Byram Estate. He is a 
republican, member of the University Club, 
Marion Club, Country Club, Canoe Club, 
German House and Turnverein, and has 
Masonic connections with Mystic Tie 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. 



the Scottish Rite bodies and the Mystic 
Shrine. Religiously he is a member of All 
Souls Unitarian Church. 

Mr. Byram married Miss Natalie Driggs, 
daughter of N. S. Driggs of Indianapolis. 
Mrs. Byram died in 1915, leaving one 
daughter, Betsy. 

F. G. Heller. The spirit of initiative 
and enterprise has been moving in the 
career of F. G. Heller from early boyhood, 
and accounts for his various rapid promo- 
tions and his achievements in business af- 
fairs. He is now widely known in amuse- 
ment circles in Indiana and is secretary and 
managing director of the Meridian Amuse- 
ment Company of Anderson, where he re- 
sides. 

He was born at Washburn, Illinois, in 
1885, and when he was two years of age 
his parents, George F. and Emma (Beyer) 
Heller, moved to Fort Wayne, Indiana, 
where they still reside. His father has 
been a traveling salesman and has repre- 
sented different houses in his day. The 
ancestry is a mixture of French and Ger- 
man, and Mr. F. G. Heller's grandfather, 
George Heller, came from Alsace-Lorraine 
when a young man and settled in Henry 
County, Indiana, where he cleared up'a fine 
farm of 260 acres. He lived there until 
his death at the age of ninety-two. It was 
on that farm that George F. Heller was 
born, the second in a family of eight chil- 
dren. 

At Fort Wayne F. G. Heller attended 
the public schools and for three months 
was in high school. He left school to begin 
work as rate clerk and inspector with the 
Fort Wayne Electric Company, ngw a 
branch of the General Electric Company 
of America. While he was working there 
he was improving his advantages by at- 
tending a night commercial college, and he 
paid his tuition in that school by solicit- 
ing pupils for the college. Thus Mr. Hel- 
ler devised a practical system of vocational 
education himself, making his education fit 
into the needs of his growing experience. 
After his work in the Fort Wayne Com- 
mercial School he took correspondence 
courses with the International Correspond- 
ence School. In the meantime he was ad- 
vanced to the position of time and cost 
clerk in the Electric Company, and was 
given those responsibilities when only 
twenty years of age. From that he was 



1694 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



promoted to stock clerk and assistant to 
the purchasing agent and continued with 
the company until 1913. 

In the meantime his energies had sought 
other outlets. In such spare time as he 
had from his main employment he con- 
structed a moving picture house, seating 
a hundred twenty-five people. He did the 
actual work, even to putting in the seats 
and making his own screens. He operated 
this little theater at a profit and sold the 
business in September, 1912. During those 
years in business at Fort Wayne Mr. Hel- 
ler had his home at Monroeville, traveling 
back and forth every day. 

Coming to Anderson, Mr. Heller went 
to work for G. H. Heine in the Meridian 
Amusement Company, a Fort Wayne con- 
cern. This company built the present 
Meridian Theater at 1035 Meridian Street, 
and under the management of Mr. Heller 
this has proved one of the most profitable 
amusement houses in Madison County. He 
is an equal stockholder in the company. 
Later he bought the Starland Theater, the 
largest in Anderson, and has put this on 
a paying basis. He is also managing di- 
rector of the Fischer Theater at Danville, 
Illinois, the largest amusement house in 
that city, and in March, 1918, he bought 
the Washington Theater at Richmond, In- 
diana. He is a stockholder in the Madison 
Motor Company of Anderson. 

At the age of twenty-two Mr. Heller 
married Miss Maud Lackey, daughter of 
Aloysius and Martha (Westover) Lackey 
of Fort Wayne. Her father was a con- 
tractor and builder. The Westovers are 
an old English family, and on coming to 
this country first settled in Massachusetts. 
Mr. and Mrs. Heller have one child, Milton 
Frank, born in 1913. 

Outside of his business Mr. Heller has 
many interests. He is a member of the 
National Organization of the Advertising 
Club, is active as a democrat, member of 
the Presbyterian Church, belongs to the 
American Exhibitors' Association, and in 
Masonry is affiliated with S. B. Bayless 
Lodge No. 359, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, at Fort Wayne, and with the 
Anderson Grotto of Master Masons. He 
also belongs to Anderson Lodge of Elks, 
Anderson Lodge No. 747, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and is a member of 
the Phi Delta Kappa of Anderson. 



John James Piatt, famous as an author, 
poet and editor, was born at James Mills 
in Dearborn County, Indiana, March 1, 
1835, a son of John Bear and Emily 
(Scott) Piatt. His early connections with 
industrial life were as a clerk in the United 
States treasury department, later as lib- 
rarian in the United States House of Rep- 
resentatives, and as a United States Con- 
sul at Cork, Ireland, and later at Dublin. 
His many contributions of prose and poetry 
have won him renown. 

Mr. Piatt on the 18th of June, 1861, was 
married to Sarah Morgan Bryan. They 
reside at North Bend, Hamilton County, 
Ohio. 

Charity Dye is an Indianan who by rea- 
son of her long and valuable service could 
not be denied a place among the notable 
women of the state. The service by which 
her name is now best known to the people 
of Indiana is as a member of the Indiana 
Historical Commission, to which she was 
appointed in 1915 and reappointed in 1917. 

She was born of Huguenot-Dutch and 
English ancestry in Mason County, Ken- 
tucky, October 15, 1849, was educated in 
country schools, in Mayslick Academy and 
in McClain Institute at Indianapolis. She 
is also a graduate of the Normal School of 
Indianapolis, has taken advanced work in 
the summer schools of Cleveland and of 
Harvard University, and in 1900 received 
her degree Ph. B. from the University of 
Chicago. 

For over thirty-seven years Charity Dye 
was a teacher in the graded and high 
schools of Indianapolis, and when all is 
said doubtless that is the work for which 
she will longest deserve the gratitude of 
the people of that city. She has always 
been prominent in suffrage and club work, 
and as an author she is known by the fol- 
lowing titles: "The Story Tellers Art," 
"Letters and Letter Writing," "Once 
Upon a Time in Indiana," and "Some 
Torch Bearers in Indiana. ' ' She also wrote 
"The Word Book" of the New Harmony 
Pageant for the Centennial in 1914. She 
resides at 1134 Broadway, Indianapolis. 

Anthony Prange. One of the substan- 
tial business men and highly respected citi- 
zens of Indianapolis, with the interests of 
which citv he has been honorably identified 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1695 



for many years, was born February 24, 
1841, in Cammaer, Westphalia, Schaum- 
berg-Lippe, Germany. His parents were 
Henry and Christiana (Meier) Prange. 

Henry Prange spent his entire life in 
Germany and died there in 1861, when 
aged fifty-eight years. He was a farmer 
and also a public official, for a number 
of years being the revenue collector in his 
district. He married Christiana Meier, 
who was born in the same neighborhood, 
and died in Germany in 1865, at the age 
of sixty-five years. Both were lifelong 
members of the Lutheran Church. To 
their marriage one daughter and five sons 
were born, and of the latter three came 
to the United States : William, Charles 
and Anthony. 

William Prange, the eldest, left Ger- 
many in early manhood and after reach- 
ing the United States located first in 
Rhode Island, where he found employment 
in the woollen mills, and from there went 
to Brooklyn, New York, and finally died 
there. Charles Prange came to the United 
States in 1854 and embarked in the grocery 
business at Cumberland, Indiana, which is 
not far distant from Indianapolis, and 
afterward came to this city and entered 
the employ of Henry and Gus Schnull, and 
continued with them during the period of 
the Civil war and so engaged their confi- 
dence that he frequently was entrusted 
with the shipment and delivery of poultry 
even as far south as New Orleans. After- 
ward he was in partnership with Frederick 
Ostermeyer in a grocery business on East 
Washington Street, Indianapolis. 

Anthony Prange was given the usual 
educational advantages of his class in Ger- 
many, and afterward during the summer 
seasons worked at the carpenter trade and 
in the winters in the sugar mills. In 1864, 
when twenty-three years old, he followed 
his two brothers, William and Charles, to 
the United States. His first work here was 
done as an employe of the Big Four Rail- 
road, as a carpenter. Later on, when Mr. 
Ostermeyer and his brother, Charles 
Prange, dissolved partnership, the former 
going into the wholesale business, Charles 
Pranjre continued in the retail line and em- 
ployed Anthony in his store for one year 
as a clerk and later admitted him to a 
partnership. The brothers continued to- 
gether on Washington Street for ten years 
and then Anthony sold his interest to his 



brother Charles and moved to Massachu- 
setts Avenue and St. Clair Street, where 
he opened a general store. Three years 
later he erected the commodious and con- 
venient store building at No. 812 Massa- 
chusetts Avenue. 

Mr. Prange continued active in business 
in this city for forty-five years. He came 
with but little capital but has accumulated 
a comfortable fortune through persistent 
industry and honorable business methods. 
Very soon after reaching the United States 
Mr. Prange indicated his intention of mak- 
ing this land his permanent home and in 
1865 took out his first citizenship papers 
and in 1870 received his final papers. He 
is a loyal and patriotic citizen and is hon- 
ored and respected wherever known. 

At Indianapolis, Indiana, on March 10, 
1865, Mr. Prange was married to Miss 
Caroline Schwier, who is a daughter of 
August Schwier. She was born July 13, 
1845, in Todhenhausen, Prussia, about ten 
miles distant from the birthplace of Mr. 
Prange. She was a passenger on the same 
ship that brought Mr. Prange to the 
United States in 1864. Mr. and Mrs. 
Prange have had nine children, the sur- 
vivors being : Edward, who is secretary of 
the Indiana Dry Goods Company of In- 
dianapolis ; Caroline M., who resides at 
home ; Bertha, who is the wife of Oscar 
Theobald, of Peru, Indiana; and Walter 
C. Those deceased were Anthony, Mary, 
Theodore, Frank and John. 

On coming to Indianapolis Mr. Prang 
identified himself with St. Paul's Lutheran 
Church. In 1875 he became one of eighty- 
one charter members of Trinity Lutheran 
Church and for five years served as treas- 
urer of the organization and for twelve 
years was a member of the board of trus- 
tees. He has been earnest and consistent 
in his religious activities and has given 
substantial assistance to the building of 
four churches in this city and has been 
very helpful in the matter of Lutheran 
schools and the maintenance of the Luth- 
eran Orphans' Home. In summing up 
the men who have contributed to the up- 
building of Indianapolis as a great trade 
center and a prosperous city the name of 
Anthony Prange must be' included in the 
list. 

George A. Weidely. This is a name 
that probably stands for as much in the 



1696 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



modern industrial Indianapolis as any 
that might he spoken. Weidely motors 
now lend efficiency to both national and 
international industry, and it is his 
achievement in developing one of the 
highest types of motors that probably will 
give Mr. Weidely his permanent fame. 

All the real experiences and achieve- 
ments of his life have identified him with 
America. However, he was born in Switz- 
erland, December 19, 1870, and his parents 
were also natives of that Republic. His 
work at high school in Switzerland was of 
such grade that he was given a scholarship 
in one of the national technical schools, 
where he spent two years. That scholar- 
ship is equivalent in this country to an 
appointment to West Point, since the 
technical training thus afforded was in lieu 
of a more formal military discipline. At 
the end of two years of hard study the 
spirit of adventure which could no longer 
be repressed brought Mr. Weidely at the 
age of seventeen to America. He reached 
this country in 1887 and was soon working 
at the machinist's trade at Akron, Ohio. 
He also acquired in that city a practical 
knowledge of the rubber industry, and for 
a time was with the B. F. Goodrich Com- 
pany. Mr. Weidely came to Indianapolis 
in October, 1897, and for a time was master 
mechanic and later superintendent of the 
G. & J. Tire Company. He was associated 
with H. 0. Smith in giving the G. & J. 
tire its wonderful success. 

Recently the Horseless Age, the oldest 
automobile journal in the world, published 
a brief sketch of Mr. Weidely, two para- 
graphs from which will serve to describe 
his later achievements:' 

"On the day before Christmas, 1902, 
these two men "(Mr. Smith and Mr. Weid- 
ely) were instrumental in organizing the 
Premier Motor Manufacturing Company, 
with Mr. Weidely in charge of engineer- 
ing, and the splendid, sterling worth of 
that car in the hands of the public, in 
Glidden tours and record runs demon- 
strated that George Weidely was not only 
a successful tire manufacturer but an auto- 
mobile designer above the ordinary. 

"Finally, after fourteen years, the 
disintegration of the old Premier Company 
paved the way for the realization of a long 
cherished dream — the exclusive manufac- 
ture of a ' Weidely ' motor. And though the 
Weidely Motors Company, with George A. 



Weidely as vice president and general man- 
ager, was organized late in the spring of 
1915, twice in this short time has it had 
to seek more commodious quarters, and 
the busy hum of machines in its present 
modern factory building, covering 128,000 
feet of floor space devoted exclusively to 
the manufacture of motors, tell its own 
story of a dream materialized." 

As this quotation indicates Mr. Weidely 
really made the Premier Motor car famous, 
but the motor designed by him and which 
bears his name has overshadowed his earlier 
accomplishments as an automobile designer. 
Mr. Weidely has various mechanical de- 
vices which he has patented. He had the 
first patent on the Q. D. rim now univer- 
sally used. All his inventions are applied 
to the automobile industry. ' 

Mr. Weidely is justly proud of his 
American citizenship and America is 
justly proud of him as a citizen. His work 
is really one of the chapters in the history 
of American industrialism. 

Mr. Weidely is a Protestant in religion, 
is a member of the Masonic Order, belongs 
to the Columbia and other social and 
benevolent organizations and has affilia- 
tions with many automobile societies and 
clubs. In 1893 he married Miss Jennie 
Long. They have one son, in whom they 
take a great deal of pride, Walter A. 
Weidely, service manager of the Stutz Mo- 
tor Company of Indianapolis. He married 
Miss Helen Link. 

Hon. William D. Woods, a member of 
the State Legislature from Marion County, 
and for the past seven years practicing 
law in the capital city, belongs to a family 
that has been in Indiana for a full cen- 
tury. 

John Woods, his great-grandfather, came 
from Pennsylvania and settled on a virgin 
tract of land in what was then Dearborn, 
now Ohio County in 1817. John Woods 
spent the rest of his days reclaiming his 
share of the wilderness and was one of the 
men who bore the hardships and burdens 
of pioneer life in the southern part of the 
state. William Woods, one of his children, 
was born in Pennsylvania in 1816 and was 
just a year old when the family came to 
Indiana. He married Lydia Downey of a 
family long prominent in the affairs of 
the nation. One of the children born to 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1697 



this union was Robert E. "Woods, father of 
the Indianapolis lawyer. 

The Woods family for the most part has 
not attained to nor sought the distinctions 
which are out of the ordinary. As a rule 
they have followed agricultural pursuits, 
have lived clean, upright lives, paid their 
honest debts, worshiped as Methodists and 
voted the democratic ticket. That to a 
large degree was the experience of Robert 
E. Woods, who grew up as a farmer boy 
and during his early manhood taught 
school about ten years. Later he was 
elected and served a term as county super- 
intendent of schools. He married Ruth A. 
Armstrong, and they now reside at In- 
dianapolis. 

Mr. William D. Woods was born Febru- 
ary 5, 1883. He had only the usual ex- 
periences of an Indiana boy, and acquired 
his education beyond the common schools 
as a result of his own earnings and ambi- 
tion. In 1904 he went to work as a clerk 
for the Big Four Railroad Company. In 
1907 he was made freight claim investi- 
gator for the Illinois Central Railway Com- 
pany, with headquarters in Chicago, and 
had his home in that city until 1910. In 
the meantime he was employing all the 
time he could get for the study of law, and 
in June, 1910, was graduated from the Chi- 
cago Law School. Since that date he has 
followed his chosen calling in Indianapolis, 
where he is now looked upon as one of the 
abler members of the younger contingent 
in the local bar. 

He has always taken a keen interest in 
public affairs, and during the administra- 
tion of Mayor Shank was a member of the 
Board of Safety. Mr. Woods has departed 
from the political customs and precedence 
of his forefathers and is a republican. In 
1916 he was elected to represent Marion 
County in the State Legislature, and took 
an active part in the seventieth session. 
In that session he was chairman of the com- 
mittee on corporations, and he introduced 
three bills which became laws. One of these 
is for simplifying appellate court proced- 
ure, another defines and relates to second 
degree arson, and a third is a law affecting 
the jurisdiction of the Probate Court. 

Mr. Woods is affiliated with the Masonic 
fraternity, and is a past master of Logan 
Lodge No. 575, Free and Accepted Masons, 
is present high priest of Indianapolis 
Chapter No. 5, Royal Arch Masons, is mas- 



ter of Indianapolis Council No. 2, Royal 
and Select Masons, and is a member of 
Indiana Consistory, Valley of Indianapolis, 
of the Scottish Rite and of Murat Temple 
of the Mystic Shrine. October 10, 1916, 
Mr. Woods married Miss Lillian Clinger. 

t 

Hervey Bates. Ninety-five years ago 
every person then living within the limits 
of Marion County knew Hervey Bates, 
most of them personally. If the same 
name is not known so universally in the 
county at the present time it is merely 
due to the physical impossibility of any 
one man to have a personal acquaintance 
■with several hundred thousand people. At 
the present time there are living in In- 
dianapolis three men named Hervey Bates, 
grandfather, father and son. 

The original Hervey Bates was ap- 
pointed the first sheriff of Marion County 
by Governor Jennings in 1822. His ap- 
pointment came before he had taken up his 
residence in Marion County. Hervey 
Bates was born at old Fort Washington, 
now Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1795. He was 
given his father's name, so that the name 
Hervey has persisted through at least five 
successive generations of the family. 
Hervey Bates, Sr., served under Generals 
Wayne and Harmer as "Master of Trans- 
portation" during the Indian wars in the 
Northwest. His duties were to forward 
provisions and munitions of war from the 
frontier posts to the soldiers at the front. 
Sheriff Bates through the early death of 
his mother and the remarriage of his father 
went to Warren, Ohio, where he grew up 
and received his early education. At the 
age of twenty-one he went to Brookville, 
Indiana, and there met and fell in love 
with Miss Sidney Sedgwick, a cousin of 
Gen. James Noble, one of the most con- 
spicuous early characters in Indiana his- 
tory. Owing to parental objections the 
young couple ran away and were married. 

In 1816, at Brookville, Hervey Bates 
cast his first vote. This was for a delegate 
to form a constitution for the new state 
of Indiana. A short time later he re- 
moved with his young wife to Conners- 
ville, and from there in 1822 came to In- 
dianapolis, which M r as then a mere site in 
the wilderness, deriving its importance 
from the fact that it had been established 
as the future capital of Indiana. The 
town consisted of only a small collection 



1698 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



of log cabins. As the first sheriff of 
Marion County Hervey Bates issued a 
proclamation calling for an election on 
April 1, 1822. This was the first election 
in the county. Hervey Bates was not so 
much of a politician as he was a business 
man, and for many years he was prominent 
as a pioneer merchant of Indianapolis, a 
business which gave him a substantial 
fortune. 

His name is associated with many of the 
first undertakings and institutions of In- 
dianapolis. He was the first president of 
the "Branch of the State Bank" at In- 
dianapolis and filled that office ten years. 
He was also instrumental in the forma- 
tion of the earliest insurance company, 
was a stockholder in the first hotel cor- 
poration, and in the first railroad finished 
to the capital. He was identified with the 
first Gas, Light & Coke Company and in 
many other enterprises having for their 
object the public welfare. He was a mem- 
ber of the Masonic Lodge of Indianapolis. 
In 1852 Hervey Bates began the erection 
of what became known far and wide as the 
Bates House, one of the foremost hotels 
of its day. Hervey Bates possessed a vast 
amount of energy, mental and physical, 
and with it came the rugged honesty that 
made his name as long as he lived a 
synonym of integrity. His death occurred 
July 6, 1876, at the age of eighty-one. He 
and his wife had three children, their only 
son being Hervey Bates. 

Hervey Bates, the second of the name 
to have lived in Indianapolis, was born in 
this city in 1834. He inherited many of 
the characteristics that made his father a 
man of note. He grew up in Indianapolis 
and it has always been his home. For 
many years he was connected with one of 
the first wholesale grocery houses and was 
also an active banker. He was one of the 
originators of the American Hominy Com- 
pany. Of late years he has been retired 
and has attained the age of eighty-three. 
As a matter of personal recollection he 
has practically witnessed every phase in 
the growth and development of his native 
city. He married Charlotte Cathcart, and 
they were the parents of a son and a 
daughter. 

Harvey Bates III was born at Indian- 
apolis in October, 1858. He was educated 
in the city public schools, in the Phillips 
Exeter Academy and in Harvard Univer- 



sity. He began his career through experi- 
ence as an apprentice at the machinist's 
trade and for a number of years was 
connected with the Atlas Engine Works. 
Mr. Bates has served almost from the be- 
ginning as president of the American Hom- 
iny Company, one of the large and im- 
portant industries of Indianapolis. In 
1884 he married Susan Martingale. Of 
their two children the only survivor is Her- 
vey Bates, representing the fourth genera- 
tion of the name in Indiana. 

August Tamm. As an old time disciple 
of the printer's art August Tamm found 
his sphere of usefulness by which he is 
best known in Indianapolis, and for many 
years he has been a printer and publisher 
of some of the oldest and most influential 
newspapers of Indiana published in the 
German language. Mr. Tamm has also 
been a figure in public affairs at Indian- 
apolis. 

Most of his life since early childhood 
has been spent in Indianapolis. He was 
born at Essen in the Rhine valley of Ger- 
many July 2, 1857, one of the ten children 
of August and Caroline (Michel) Tamm. 
Of their children seven are still living. 
August Tamm, Sr., was a blacksmith and 
for eleven years worked in some of the 
great factories at Essen. Having a large 
family to provide for he sought improve- 
ment of the conditions of life and prospects 
for them by coming to the United States 
on board a sailing vessel in 1868. He left 
his family behind, and as opportunity of- 
fered he "worked at his trade in Pittsburg, 
Logansport and Chicago, and in 1869 lo- 
cated permanently at Indianapolis. Soon 
afterward his wife and children joined him 
in this country. At Indianapolis August 
Tamm, Sr., had his first employment at the 
old Washington foundry, subsequently 
known as the Eagle foundry and also as 
the Hasselman foundry. He was one of 
the industrial workmen of Indianapolis 
for many years, but his later years were 
spent in dairying. He took little active 
part in public affairs, was a lover of home 
and domestic environment, and there spent 
his happiest hours. He died in 1899. 

August Tamm, Jr., grew to manhood at 
Indianapolis and was educated both in the 
parochial and the business schools of the 
city. On coming of age he began the 
process which as soon as possible made him 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



1699 



a naturalized American citizen. Largely 
due to a fault in American public opinion 
and education naturalization has been 
thought of lightly and consequently has 
been entered into by the foreign born with 
little more consideration than would be 
given to the most trivial routine. Mr. 
Tamm is an honorable exception to the rule 
and from the first assumed the responsi- 
bilities of citizenship seriously. Then and 
ever since he has entertained lofty ideals 
as to what constitutes American citizenship 
and has lived up to those ideals himself 
and in many ways has wielded a wide in- 
fluence in promoting them through his 
writings and through the medium of his 
newspapers. 

His life career began as a printer on the 
Daily Telegraph, a German paper. He 
completed a thorough apprenticeship at 
the printer's trade, and with the exception 
of nine months while a grocery clerk and 
during the period he was in public office 
has always been connected with the print- 
ing or publishing business. Prom a posi- 
tion as apprentice on the Daily Telegraph, 
one of the German papers published at 
Indianapolis, he was advanced to foreman 
in the office. For six years during Tag- 
gart's administration Mr. Tamm was chief 
deputy clerk. The democratic party also 
honored him by making him its candidate 
for city clerk and once for state represen- 
tative. 

While in the city clerk 's office Mr. Tamm 
bought from Philip Rappaport in 1900 the 
Daily Indiana Tribune, a German daily 
paper. In 1902 this paper was consoli- 
dated with the Daily Telegraph, the lat- 
ter being issued as a morning and the 
Tribune as an evening paper. The two 
were consolidated as one paper in 1907 and 
conducted as the Telegraph Tribune until 
June 3, 1918, when for patriotic reasons 
Mr. Tamm suspended publication. Mr. 
Tamm was best known as the owner and 
publisher of the Telegraph-Tribune and of 
the Sunday Spottvogel. He had really 
made these papers what they were, a me- 
dium of news and an instrument of whole- 
some citizenship. 

Mr. Tamm is of the Protestant faith. 
He married in 1879 Miss Minnie Schmidt. 
They had two sons, August Carl and Otto 
E.. who were associated with their father 
in business. August Carl died April 27, 



1918, leaving a wife, who before marriage 
was Clara Youngman, of Indianapolis. 

u 

Dr. Leonard E. Northrup. Indiana in 
line with its normal progressiveness among 
the states has recently established a Re- 
organized State Veterinary Department, 
of which the head is Dr. Leonard E. 
Northrup, a prominent veterinarian who 
has given most of his time for the past ten 
or twelve years to veterinary work under 
the Indiana state government auspices. 

Indianans are justly proud of the work 
that is being accomplished by Doctor 
Northrup in his department. It is a de- 
partment vitally connected with the wel- 
fare and prosperity of the state. In order 
to meet the increasing demand for more 
livestock and better livestock one of the 
first essentials is to eliminate as far as 
possible disease, and consequently healthy 
livestock is a prerequisite to more and bet- 
ter livestock. Since the creation of this 
department it has been the means of greatly 
increasing the production of pork and 
beef in Indiana, and for that reason In- 
diana has increased its quota of food sup- 
plies for the great war. In fact the war 
has influenced the State Veterinary De- 
partment in so many ways that its service 
and its personnel are four times what they 
were before the war. The state has been 
divided into seventeen districts, each in 
charge of a veterinarian working under 
the direction of the State Department, and 
giving help to the local practitioners of 
his district when it becomes apparent that 
such help is needed. There are also spe- 
cial men located at the great stockyards 
centers of Evansville, Indianapolis, Fort 
Wayne and other places. The State De- 
partment also has the co-operation of a 
large force of trained Federal veterinari- 
ans from the Bureau of Animal Industry. 
A recent booklet sent out by the State 
Veterinary Department gives statistics 
showing that livestock valuation in Indiana 
is second to real estate only, and from this 
fact it is obvious that next to the safe- 
guarding of human health there is nothing 
that calls for more scientific and expert 
care than the safeguarding of livestock in- 
terests from disease and consequent loss. 

Leonard E. Northrup is a native of New 
York State. He was born in Schuyler 
County in 1872. His parents. F. W. and 



1700 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Josephine (Seaman) Northrup, are still 
living at the old home at Beaver Dams in 
Schuyler County. His father is of English 
lineage. The first ancestors came to 
America early in the sixteen hundreds and 
settled on the Hudson River. Doctor 
Northrup 's direct ancestor came over with 
a brother who many years previously had 
gone to Normandy, Franice, with King 
George II, and remained there until com- 
ing with his English brothers to America, 
and reared a family. Doctor Northrup 's 
great-grandfather, John Northrup, joined 
Lafaj'ette's army upon the latter 's land- 
ing in America and fought in the Revolu- 
tion. Doctor Northrup 's mother on her 
maternal side was a member of the famous 
Holland Dutch Van Wagner family. Her 
great - great - grandmother, Annaka Jans 
Van "Wagner, who lived in New York City 
when it was called New Amsterdam, owned 
the land on which Trinity Church now 
stands. F. W. Northrup was formerly a 
merchant but has always been a farmer 
and stockman. 

Doctor Northrup grew up at Beaver 
Dams in Schuyler County and attended 
the Cook Academy at Montour Falls. His 
first ambition was to become a physician, 
and he studied in New York City. Per- 
haps due to early associations on his fath- 
er's farm he subsequently abandoned this 
in favor of becoming a veterinarian. He 
therefore entered the Toronto Veterinary 
College in Ontario, graduated, and after 
that for several years was in the govern- 
ment veterinarian service in New Mexico 
and Arizona. Doctor Northrup came to 
Indianapolis in 1908, and resumed veter- 
inary work under Dr. W. E. Coover, who 
at that time held a position in the state 
government corresponding to the present 
head of the State Veterinary Department. 
The office was reorganized by Doctor 
Northrup and March 23, 1917, Governor 
Goodrich appointed him to the office of 
state veterinarian. He entered upon the 
enlarged scope and program of his depart- 
ment with great enthusiasm, and, as al- 
ready noted, has thoroughly organized the 
department all over the state until today 
there is not a stockman in any section who 
cannot obtain the expert services offered 
by the department within a few hours. 

Doctor Northrup is a thirty-second de- 
gree Scottish Rite, Mason. ED© married 
Miss Margaret Couden, a native of Colum- 



bus, Georgia, and a very accomplished 
woman formerly prominent in educational 
affairs. She was educated in Cedar Ra- 
pids, Iowa, and for several years was a 
teacher in the city schools of Indianapolis. 

Timothy Edward Howard. Soldier, 
lawyer, judge and senator, these are some 
of the distinctions which entitle Timothy 
Edward Howard to rank with the promi- 
nent Indianans. He was born on a farm 
near Ann Arbor, Michigan, January 27, 
1637, and after a military service in the 
Civil war, in which he was wounded at the 
battle of Shiloh, and after a thorough 
literary and professional training, he was 
admitted to the bar in 1883. He subse- 
quently served as a member of the South 
Bend Common Council and in other offi- 
cial positions, and was made a member of 
the Indiana Senate in 1886-92, and ele- 
vated to justice of the Supreme Court of 
Indiana in 1893. In addition to his many 
distinctions in the line of his profession 
Judge Howard is also a writer of both 
prose and poetry. 

He married Julia A. Redmond, of De- 
troit. 

Alfred B. Gates, who died at his home 
in Indianapolis in 1901, was for many 
years one of the men of distinction in the 
commercial and civic life of that city. A 
great many people entertain most kindly 
memory of this Indianapolis merchant, and 
the worthy place he enjoyed in business 
and civic life is now being filled by his sons. 

A period of almost eight decades sep- 
arated his death from his birth. He was 
born in Fayette County, Indiana, in 1822, 
a son of Avery Gates and a grandson of 
Joshua Gates. Joshua Gates spent the 
greater part of his life in the State of 
New York. Avery Gates, who was born 
in that state May 22, 1780, married Polly 
Toby. Together they came West, traveling 
by natboats down the Ohio river and locat- 
ing near Connersville in Fayette County, 
Indiana. The date of their settlement was 
about 1807. Those familiar with the his- 
tory of Indiana need not be reminded of 
the wilderness and desolate conditions 
which then prevailed over practically all 
of Indiana from the Ohio river to the Great 
Lakes. Indiana had been a territory but a 
few years, and nearly ten years passed be- 
fore' it was admitted to the Union. Fay- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1701 



ette County was sparsely settled and much 
of it unexplored, and its dense woods had 
been broken only here and there by the 
work of the axe man, and was filled with 
Indians and wild game. Avery Gates 
lived the life of a typical pioneer, and died 
honored and respected January 4, 1865. 
His widow passed away September 9, 1873. 

It was in the stimulating period of pio- 
neer things in Indiana that Alfred B. 
Gates spent his early youth and manhood. 
Though country born and country bred 
he made his abilities count in a larger 
business way. He was a resident of Indi- 
ana practically all his life except four 
years from 1861 to 1868, during which time 
he was engaged in business in Philadel- 
phia. In the latter year he took up the 
grocery business at Indianapolis, and now 
for fully half a century the name Gates has 
been identified with that department of 
commerce. His retail establishment he 
built up and broadened out into a whole- 
sale concern, and remained active in its 
management until he retired in 1894. 
Alfred B. Gates was a stanch republican 
and was a Scottish Rite Mason. 

Aside from the success he won in busi- 
ness he is remembered and deserves to be 
remembered especially for his predominant 
characteristic of an unfailing good humor. 
He had a pleasant smile and word for 
everyone, was generous to a fault, was al- 
ways helpful to the needy and believed in 
and practiced the Golden Rule. Through- 
out a long and busy life he never lost his 
faith in humanity. 

Alfred B. Gates married Elizabeth M. 
Murdock, who was born in Kentucky in 
1838. She survived her husband. They 
were the parents of five children : Charles 
M., who was born at Connersville, was edu- 
cated at Butler College at Indianapolis, 
and after graduation became associated 
with his father in business. He married 
Maria Frazee and died at the age of twen- 
ty-eight, when success was coming rapidly 
to him. The next two in age are Harry 
B., who died October 10, 1916, and Wil- 
liam N. Gates. The daughter, Mary Alice, 
born at Philadelphia, is Mrs. "William H. 
Lee, of Minneapolis. The youngest son is 
Edward E. Gates. 

Harry B. Gates, a son of the late Alfred 
B. Gates, was an active business man at 
Indianapolis thirty-five years and had 



many associations with the larger life and 
affairs of this city. 

He was born in Fayette County, In- 
diana, September 5, 1858, and when he was 
six years of age his parents moved to Phil- 
adelphia, where he received his early in- 
struction in the public schools. After 
1868 he attended school at Indianapolis 
and in 1871, at the age of thirten, went to 
work in his father's grocery and coffee 
store. He was admitted to a partnership 
in 1882 under the -name A. B. Gates & 
Company. He continued to be associated 
with his father until 1894, when the latter 
retired. Mr. Harry Gates then organized 
the Climax Coffee & Baking Powder Com- 
pany. As its president he built up the 
manufacturing and wholesale branches of 
this business to extensive proportions and 
made it one of the largest concerns of its 
kind in Indiana. Harry B. Gates was also 
largely responsible for organizing the New 
Telephone Company and the New Long 
Distance Telephone Company of Indian- 
apolis in 1897. He was secretary of both 
companies until 1893, and before selling 
his interests he had the satisfaction of see- 
ing the plants thoroughly organized and 
modernized and the business firmly estab- 
lished. Among other business interests he 
was president of the American Color Com- 
pany, manufacturing dyes, was a director 
of the Columbia National Bank and other 
corporations. He promoted, owned and 
operated before his death the Hotel Sev- 
erin, Indianapolis, and the Hotel Miami, of 
Dayton, Ohio. He was succeeded upon his 
death, by his son, A. Bennett Gates, who 
is now president of both these well known 
hotels. 

As a republican Mr. Harry B. Gates 
was quite active in local affairs, and was 
a delegate to the National Convention of 
1900. He was a member of the Columbia, 
Commercial, Marion and Country Clubs, 
the German House, and was affiliated with 
Pentalpha Lodge No. 564, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons. 

Harry B. Gates died at Indianapolis Oc- 
tober 10, 1916, at the age of fifty-eight and 
when still in the high tide of his powers 
and usefulness. November 6, 1881, he 
married Miss Carrie E. Patrick, daughter 
of E. W. Patrick of Evansville, Indiana. 
Mrs. Gates died in 1901, leaving one son. 
This son, A. Bennett Gates, was associated 
with his father in the coffee and baking 



1702 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



powder business. He married Lena Hem- 
mingway, daughter of James A. Hemming- 
way, United States Senator from Indiana. 

William N. Gates, one of the promi- 
nent wholesale merchants of Indianapolis, 
has been a resident of that city half a cen- 
tury, and his own career has served to 
make a well known family still better 
known and honored in this state. 

He was born October 31, 1862, and at 
the age of six years came to Indianapolis 
with his parents. Here he attended the 
public schools and also Butler University. 
At the age of sixteen he went to work in 
his father's wholesale grocery house, and 
his entire career has been identified with 
the activities and interests of the whole- 
sale business at Indianapolis. In 1895 he 
embarked in the wholesale coffee and bak- 
ing powder business, and has built up one 
of tfee largest concerns of its kind in In- 
dianapolis. 

Mr. Gates is a republican and is a char- 
ter member of the Columbia Club. In 
1886 he married Miss Alberta Byram. Her 
father, N. S. Byram, was in his day one 
of the prominent men of Indianapolis. 
Three children have been born to their 
marriage, Isabel, William Byram and 
Alfred Gerald. The daughter is Mrs. Kelly 
R. Jacoby. Both sons are actively asso- 
ciated with their father in business. 

Edward E. Gates is member of the law 
firm Myers, Gates & Ralston of Indianap- 
olis. The name of this firm is sufficient to 
indicate his standing as a lawyer apart 
from several individual achievements in 
the law which stand to his high credit. He 
has always been active in Indianapolis citi- 
zenship, and also enjoys the distinction 
of having been an actual campaigner in 
the brief war with Spain. 

Mr. Gates represents one of the earliest 
families of Indiana pioneers. His grand- 
father, Avery Gates, located in Payette 
County as early as 1807, considerably more 
than a century ago. This is one of the 
few families of the state who have more 
than a century of residence to their credit. 
Edward E. Gates is a son of the late Alfred 
B. Gates, whose career is told briefly on 
other pages. 

Edward E. Gates was born at Indianap- 
olis August 23, 1871. He was educated in 
local schools, graduated Ph. B. in 1891 



from Yale College, and in 1894 completed 
his studies in the New York Law School. 
In 1895 he also graduated from the In- 
diana Law School, and his actual career 
as a lawyer covers a period of over twenty 
years. During the greater part of this 
time he has enjoyed a most enviable repu- 
tation as a lawyer. Out of his large and 
varied practice one particular case can be 
recited as one of public interest and which 
redounded much to his credit. 

Prior to 1906 railroads had generally 
discriminated against the citizens of In- 
dianapolis, giving to neighboring cities 
special rates and privileges that consti- 
tuted a heavy if not prohibitive burden 
upon this city. Protests and formal pro- 
cedure seemed unavailing to bring redress. 
Then Mr. Gates was employed as chief 
counsel by the Indianapolis Freight 
Bureau and the Chamber of Commerce to 
effect an equitable adjustment. He entered 
the cause with a determination to leave no 
stone unturned in the accomplishment of 
the object in view. When he appeared be- 
fore the Interstate Commerce Commission 
he was fortified with an array of testimony 
and evidence and facts which were indis- 
putable, and after an extended and bitterly 
fought trial before that commission the 
decision was rendered in favor of the com- 
plainant in 1907. The result of this de- 
cision has saved hundreds of thousands of 
dollars to the shippers of Indianapolis and 
has also acquired the value of a precedent 
from which equal shipping treatment has 
since been extended to other cities. 

Mr. Gates is widely known in civic and 
social affairs. While at Yale College he 
was identified with the Berzelius Society. 
He is a member of the Columbian and 
Marion clubs of Indianapolis, the Ki- 
wanis Club, of which he is president, of 
the Athletic and Canoe clubs, Chamber of 
Commerce, Board of Trade, the Turn- 
verein, the Maennerchor, the Royal Ar- 
canum, Knights of Pythias, Mystic Shrine, 
Spanish War Veterans and the Christian 
Church. 

During the war between our country 
and Spain Mr. Gates volunteered and be- 
came a member of the famous Indianapolis 
Field Artillery, known as the Twenty- 
Seventh Light Battery, Indiana Volun- 
teers. This battery was called into actual 
service and was assigned to duties in the 
Porto Rican campaign. Its service closed 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1703 



with a rather dramatic incident. The bat- 
tery had been unlimbered and was on the 
point of firing upon Spanish posts when 
hostilities were halted by a truce pending 
the final conclusion of the war. 

As a republican in politics Mr. Gates has 
been quite active in his party and for two 
terms served as president of the Lincoln 
League. His wife was formerly Miss Dor- 
othy Fay Odoms. He has three children, 
Virginia, Edward and Elizabeth. 

Fred Prange came to Indianapolis from 
Germany over thirty years ago, poor and 
all but friendless in this new world, and 
has achieved a degree of definite success 
which makes him one of the honored busi- 
ness men and citizens of Indianapolis to- 
day. He is member of the well known 
business firm of Prange Brothers, his ac- 
tive associate now and for many years be- 
ing his brother Anton. 

Mr. Prange was born at Minden, West- 
phalia, Germany, August 6, 1863, son of 
Fred and Christinia (Roesener) Prange. 
His father was a man of considerable prop- 
erty and of substantial position in his na- 
tive country, owned land, did an extensive 
business as a contracting carpenter, and 
was also revenue collector for his district. 
Fred Prange and wife spent all their lives 
in Germany, and were active members of 
the German Lutheran Church. A brother 
of Fred Prange, Sr., is Anthony Prange, 
a prominent old time resident of Indian- 
apolis elsewhere referred to. Fred Prange, 
Sr., and wife had a large family, and five 
of them came to the United States. Chris- 
tina is the wife of Mr. Fred Stahlhut, of 
Indianapolis. The second among those 
that came to this country is Mr. Fred 
Prange. His brother Anton H. was born 
February 19, 1870. Mary was the first 
wife of Mr. Fred Stahlhut. They were 
married in Germany, and she died soon 
after they came to this country, and Mr. 
Stahlhut then married her sister Christina. 
The other member of the family in Amer- 
ica is Louis, a machinist with the Penn- 
sylvania Railway Company. 

Fred Prange attended the schools of his 
native town and district, and as a boy 
served an apprenticeship which gave him 
a practical knowledge of the carpenter's 
trade and also of the butcher trade. In 
1883, when he was twenty years of age, he 
came to the United States. Having rela- 



tives in Indianapolis, he sought this city 
as his first destination and there secured 
the opportunities which gradually by the 
exercise of his industry and independent 
judgment brought him a secure business 
position. For a time he worked at the 
carpenter trade, was in the employ of 
Charles Nuerge, and for five years was in 
the grocery store of his uncle, Anthony 
Prange. Having during this time gained 
experience and some small means of his 
own he bought a meat market where the 
Idle Hour Theater is now located. This 
he sold in 1893 and for the next twelve 
years managed a store on Michigan Street 
for H. E. Shortemeyer. In 1908 Mr. Prange 
became associated with his brother Anton 
H. in the purchase of a stock of goods on 
Massachusetts Avenue belonging to their 
uncle Anthony. They conducted a very 
satisfactory business as grocery merchants 
for ten years, selling out their grocery 
stock in 1918 and now giving most of their 
time and attention to the operation of a 
meat market in the City Market. 

Anton Prange was an employe in the 
grocery business for William Peak for 
eleven years after coming to this country. 

Fred Prange married in 1886 Mary 
Meusing, daughter of Charles Muesing. 
They have one daughter, Clara, wife of 
William F. Rathert, a well known gro- 
cery merchant on South Meridian Street 
in Indianapolis. 

Anton H. Prange was married in 1897, 
and he and his wife have a daughter, 
Emma, and a son, Frank. Both families 
are members of the Trinity Lutheran 
Church. 

William A. Umphrey is one of the 
prominent factors in the development of 
the Indianapolis modern industrial pro- 
gram, a program which is rapidly bring- 
ing this city to a place ranking with the 
other large manufacturing centers of the 
Middle West. Most of the men who fur- 
nish the spirit and enterprise to this move- 
ment are comparatively young men, and 
Mr. Umphrey is no exception to that rule. 

He was born at Indianapolis December 
26, 1877, forty years ago, a son of Louis 
and Emma Umphrey. His parents still 
live in Indianapolis, having come here 
many years ago from Cincinnati, Ohio. 
The father was born June 8, 1842, and 
spent three years and three months of his 



1704 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



early manhood as an enlisted soldier in the 
Union army. Seven months of that time 
he endured the frightful hardships of An- 
dersonville prison. Until he retired Louis 
Umphrey was for a long period of years 
superintendent of the Piel Starch Works 
at Indianapolis. His wife is now seventy- 
one years of age. William A. Umphrey 
finished his early education in the Manual 
Training High School of Indianapolis. 
Then, while still a boy, he began working 
in a seed store and then followed another 
line of experience with an insurance 
agency at Indianapolis. 

But the work which has taken his chief 
time and attention for many years has 
been furniture manufacturing. He is now 
at the head of two companies, one with a 
plant at Morgantown, Indiana, and the 
other located at Crawfordsville. He is 
president of one and secretary and treas- 
urer of the other. The plant at Morgan- 
town makes a specialty of chairs, while the 
Umphrey Manufacturing Company of 
Crawfordsville concentrates its output up- 
on library tables. Mr. Umphrey is also 
secretary and treasurer of the Glover 
Equipment Company at 412 Capitol Ave- 
nue, Indianapolis. His business associa- 
tion which is of most interest at this par- 
ticular time is as secretary and treasurer 
of The Weidley Motor Company. He is 
one of the three active men in this busi- 
ness, the other two being the inventor, Mr. 
Weidley, and Mr. W. E. Showers. The 
Weidley motor is an American invention 
with a performance which has astonished 
the entire world. The Weidley motor is a 
four-, six- and twelve-cylinder motor, de- 
signed and manufactured for strictly high 
class cars, but in the last year or so the 
four-cylinder has been used extensively on 
the caterpillar tractors of the Cleveland 
Tractor Company. The motors are manu- 
factured in the company's plant at Geor- 
gia and Shelby streets, where the concern 
now occupies an entire block. Three years 
ago the company employed less than ten 
men, but now 650 contribute their labors 
in the different departments and offices, 
and the industry is rapidly becoming one 
of the largest and most important of its 
kind in America. The company now has 
a three year contract to supply motors to 
the value of $20,000,000. Hardly a month 
passes that some addition and extension is 
not made to the company 's plant and busi- 



ness, and the men connected with it com- 
prise such a group of organizing and orig- 
inal genius that they are never satisfied for 
a moment with present achievement, how- 
ever great it may be, and are constantly 
experimenting toward a future goal of per- 
fection. 

Mr. Umphrey therefore has a decidedly 
active executive part in several different 
organizations, and finds his time and ener- 
gies so completely engaged by them that 
he has never felt justified in accepting 
directorship with various other organiza- 
tions offered to him. He is a member of 
the Columbia Club, the Turnverein, is a 
Knight Templar Mason and also belongs 
to the Scottish Rite of that order and the 
Mystic Shrine. In politics he is a repub- 
lican, and a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. Mr. Umphrey has one son, Law- 
rence Louis. 

Harry T. Hearsey, of Indianapolis, is 
a man who has participated in and has 
made history in one of the greatest indus- 
tries of the age. Forty years ago he was 
doing practical mechanics in the limited 
and meager bicycle industry. He has never 
relaxed his attention to the bicycle, and 
knows probably more about that business 
that any other man in America. He was 
the pioneer in the industry at Indianap- 
olis, and at a later date had a similar re- 
lationship to the automobile business. He 
is president of the H. T. Hearsey Com- 
pany at 408 Capitol Avenue. 

Mr. Hearsey is a native Englishman, 
born in London February 11, 1863, son 
of H. T. and Flora Hearsey. His mother 
is still living. Both parents were born in 
London, and when he was a boy they came 
to America and located at Boston. Harry 
T: Hearsey grew up and attended school 
at Boston, and had a training in the me- 
chanical trades in several shops of that 
city. 

The facts of his early experience' of 
greatest interest here is found in the year 
1878, when he became connected with the 
bicycle industry as a bicycle mechanic and 
repair man. There has been no interrup- 
tion to his connection with the bicycle busi- 
ness since that day. He was first em- 
ployed by the Cunningham-Heath Com- 
pany of Boston, manufacturers and im- 
porters of bicycles. He was with them 
seven vears as a machinist and was a rac- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1705 



ing expert. Mr. Hearsey could ride a bi- 
cycle as well as make one, and when it is 
recalled that thirty or forty years ago 
the only type of bicycle was the high 
wheel or ordinary, the riding was a matter 
of much more expert performance than 
what is required today. 

As a rider Mr. Hearsey gave exhibitions 
for his company in various cities of the 
United States. In 1885 he came to In- 
dianapolis, the city that has been his home 
now for over thirty years. After coming 
here he was for a time connected with the 
business of Charles Finley Smith of Wav- 
erly bicycle fame. In 1886 he established 
a shop of his own in a little room at New 
York and Delaware streets. Here he sold 
and repaired bicycles of the old type, hav- 
ing the shop at one end of the room and 
operating a coal office at the other. A 
year or two later he moved to a somewhat 
larger building on Pennsylvania Street 
near Ohio, occupying a site that is now 
taken up by the east portion of the new 
Federal Building. Here he conducted be- 
sides a repair shop a salesroom and riding 
academy. This was probably the first 
salesroom and riding academy in the mid- 
dle west, and certainly the first in Indian- 
apolis. It was about 1890 that the first 
form of the "safety" bicycle was intro- 
duced, and in two or three years its devel- 
opment rendered the old "ordinary" prac- 
tically obsolete, and for a number of years 
no one has seen the high wheel except in 
museums and circuses. The safety bicycle 
grew in popularity, especially after the 
introduction of pneumatic tires, and Mr. 
Hearsey was in a position to become the 
central figure around which the bicycle 
activities of Indianapolis revolved. His 
shop was headquarters for all the famous 
racing men of fifteen or twenty years ago, 
and he was a leading spirit in the great 
meet which were as much events in the 
'90s as automobile races have been since. 

With the advent of the automobile and 
the decline in popularity of the bicycle 
Mr. Hearsey naturally gravitated into the 
automobile business. Thus he became the 
first automobile dealer in Indianapolis. In 
a historical article on the bicycle and kin- 
dred industries in a recent number of the 
Bicycle News of New York, this paper 
credits Mr. Hearsey with being the oldest 
dealer and jobber of bicycles in the United 
States ; while his record for being the pio- 



Vol. IV— 10 



neer dealer in automobiles at Indianapolis 
is well known to all. Carl Fisher, Indian- 
apolis' widely known automobile magnate, 
worked as a youth in Mr. Hearsey 's plant. 
Mr. Fisher calls Mr. Hearsey "daddy" 
and freely gives him credit for his start 
in the automobile industry. The history 
of Mr. Hearsey 's connection with the 
automobile business is in fact the history 
of the beginning and early years of the 
industry- in Indianapolis, a city that now 
ranks second in automobile trade and man- 
ufacture in the United States. 

Mr. Hearsey has done his part as an 
originator and inventor. He devised and 
put on the market the famous Hearsey bi- 
cycle tires, known' from coast to coast. He 
was also the originator of the interchange- 
able tire tube for Ford cars, a tube that 
has come into universal use. Mr. Hear- 
sey discontinued the automobile end of his 
business in 1915, but has never discontin- 
ued handling bicycles, even during the 
slackest years. He is now jobbing bicy- 
cles, bicycle parts and automobile acces- 
sories, and in August, 1918, moved his 
plant to its splendid modern building at 
408-410 Capitol Avenue. There he has 
spacious and well arranged quarters, con- 
stituting an ideal location. Mr. Hearsey 's 
continuance in the business has been well 
justified, since, as he foresaw, the bicycle 
in recent years has again found favor and 
place in the world of trade and industry, 
fulfilling a need that cannot be filled in 
any other way. This has been well recog- 
nized by its classification as an essential 
war industry. Mr. Hearsey is president 
of the H. T. Hearsey Company, and also 
active manager of the business. 

Mr. Hearsey was also very active in In- 
dianapolis civic life, a member of the 
Board of Trade, and having served eleven 
years as a governor; a member of the 
Marion Club, having served as director 
and treasurer; a member of the Academy 
of Music; a member of the Automobile 
Trade Association and Hoosier Motor 
Club ; prominent in Masonic life, a thirty- 
second degree Scottish Rite Mason, also a 
Knight Templar and a Shriner and a mem- 
ber of Centre Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; also a member of Christ 
Episcopal Church. In politics he is a re- 
publican. He served four years as a mem- 
ber of the Advisory Board of Centre 
Township, Marion County, and while he 



1706 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



always took an active part in politics as a 
republican he never aspired to any other 
office, preferring his business career. 

He married Miss Nellie Kirk, of Mun- 
cie, Indiana, where she was born and 
reared. They have four daughters : Nellie, 
wife of R. H. Colburn, and they have two 
children, Harry Hearsey and Mariadna; 
Vivian ; Edith, wife of Herbert Jose, and 
they have one child, Joanna Jose; and 
Kathryn, wife of Robert R. Adams. 

Ida Husted Harper, a well known 
writer and lecturer, was born near Brook- 
ville, Indiana, a daughter of John Arthur 
and Cassandra (Stoddard) Husted. Her 
early literary training was secured in the 
high school of Muncie, Indiana, of which 
she is a graduate. She was also a student 
in the Indiana University two years, spent 
two years in Leland Stanford, Jr., Uni- 
versity, and afterward became principal of 
the high school of Peru, Indiana. She also 
spent a number of years in literary work 
in Terre Haute, and since her writings 
and work have identified her with the prin- 
cipal cities of this country and Europe. 
Among her many contributions may be 
mentioned the "History of Woman Suf- 
frage to Close of Nineteenth Century ' ' 
(with Susan B. Anthony). Her home is 
in New York City. 

William Buttler was for many years 
until his death prominently identified with 
the glass manufacturing industry of In- 
diana, and the City of Indianapolis today 
has as one of its important industries a 
business which he established and built 
up from small beginnings. 

He was a native of Pennsylvania. His 
father, Christopher F. Buttler, was a na- 
tive of Germany, coming to America after 
his marriage and living for many years at 
Pittsburg. Late in life he removed to In- 
dianapolis, and is still living there at an 
advanced age. 

One of a family of seven children, Wil- 
liam Buttler grew up in a home marked 
by great simplicity of comforts and living 
conditions. His parents were quite poor, 
and from the age of nine years he had no 
scholastic advantages and had to get out 
and make his own living. He became a boy 
worker in the glass industry. By Oie slow 
and arduous apprenticeship then in vogue 
he learned every detail of glass making. 



and in time was promoted to the responsi- 
bilities of manager for Dithridge & Com- 
pany. He was an apt student, and pos- 
sessing an original mind he invented when 
still not more than a boy a machine fcr 
putting a "crimp" in the top of lamp 
chimneys. The sale of this invention 
brought him enough money to embark in 
business for himself. 

At Fostoria, Ohio, he began the manu- 
facture of what is known as Cathedral 
glass, but after about a year his plant 
burned. About that time the natural gas dis- 
coveries in Eastern Indiana had made that 
field an attractive one for glass manufac- 
turers, and Mr. Buttler removing to Red- 
key built a plant which he continued to 
operate for some thirteen or fourteen years, 
until the natural gas supply failed. In 
1903 he removed his plant to Indianapolis, 
and there continued the Marietta Glass 
Company which was founded at Redkey. 
At first the Indianapolis business was a 
small one, but it prospered under William 
Buttler, and at one time he owned some 
four or five factories. These factories 
turned out Cathedral glass, lamp chim- 
neys, tumblers, fruit jars, window glass, 
and he also operated the old Eureka Re- 
frigerator Company. 

William Buttler was a keen business man, 
an indomitable worker, clean in his rela- 
tions with his fellow man and a credit in 
the community in which he lived. He built 
up the Marietta Glass Works until it now 
gives employment to nearly a hundred peo- 
ple. While a Protestant in belief, he was 
not a church member, and in politics was 
a republican. Socially he was identified 
with the Columbia and Marion clubs and 
was a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite 
Mason. 

William Buttler died at his home in In- 
dianapolis February 14, 1916. He married 
Mary Russner, who passed away in March, 
1904. They had seven children : William, 
who died in early childhood; Clara, Mrs. 
George Greenwood ; Edna, Mrs. Zedock At- 
kinson ; Arthur, now president of the Mari- 
etta Glass Company ; Mamie, Mrs. Charles 
Ertle; Howard, who died in infancy; and 
Stella. 

Arthur Buttler, the only living male rep- 
resentative of his father's family, was born 
at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, July 7, 1887. 
He received his education at Redkey, In- 
diana, and from boyhood has been identi- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1707 



tied with the glass business, working 
through all the different departments and 
was well qualified to assume the responsi- 
bilities devolving upon him at his father's 
death as president of the company. June 
9, 1909, he married Miss Essie H. Green- 
wood. They have one son, John David. 
Mr. Buttler is a member of the Masonic 
Order and in politics a republican. 

Hon. Aaron Wolfson has been a suc- 
cessful Indianapolis business man since 
1903, and is widely known and his services 
appreciated as a factor in civic affairs. He 
is now serving his first term as state sen- 
ator. 

He has come to be valued as one of the 
most useful members of the Senate, and be- 
sides his routine duties has used his prac- 
tical good sense many times in helping 
shape wise legislation and also to defeat 
the many bills introduced every session 
which eventually encumber the statute 
books of the state. Mr. Wolfson above 
everything else is an American citizen, 
proud of his native country, and there is 
nothing he leaves undone which will con- 
tribute in any way to the betterment and 
welfare of his country. 

Mr. Wolfson was born in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, July 24, 1871, son of Leopold 
and Emily (Tentler) Wolfson. His father 
was born in the free city of Hamburg, 
Germany, while his mother was a native 
of New England. Leopold Wolfson came 
to America when a small lad, and for 
many years was in business at Boston, 
where he died. The mother is still living 
in that city. 

Aaron Wolfson attended the public 
schools of Boston, including the English 
High School, and had prepared for en- 
trance to Harvard University. He was 
dissuaded from a college career by oppor- 
tunities that enabled him to engage in busi- 
ness, and for some years was associated 
with his father in the manufacture of 
athletic garments. He became quite well 
known in Massachusetts and in Boston, 
being secretary and treasiirer of the Massa- 
chusetts Division of League of American 
Wheelmen. About 1897 he was an asses- 
sor of the City of Boston. While there 
he was an officer in the Ancient and Honor- 
able Artillery Company, the oldest mili- 
tary organization in America. 

On coming to Indianapolis in 1903 Mr. 



Wolfson engaged in business and is now 
treasurer of the Kahn Tailoring Company 
at the southwest corner of Capitol and 
St. Clair streets, and is also president of 
the Kahn Realty Company and vice presi- 
dent of Washington Meridian Realty Com- 
pany, also vice president of the Horner 
McKee Company. 

In 1916 he was nominated and elected 
as a republican to the State Senate. Dur- 
ing the first session he was chairman of 
the committees on insurance and natural 
resources and was member of the commit- 
tees on railroads, reformatories and manu- 
factures. Senator Wolfson is also a mem- 
ber of the staff of Governor Goodrich with 
the rank of colonel. He has always been 
active in republican circles, but his elec- 
tion to the State Senate was his first polit- 
ical office. 

Senator Wolfson is a thirty-second de- 
gree Scottish Rite Mason, a member of the 
Mystic Shrine, and is a member of the 
various civic, social and charitable organi- 
zations. He has served as vice president 
of the Chamber of Commerce, former pres- 
ident of the Indianapolis Association of 
Credit Men, president of the Jovian 
League, vice president of the Optimists 
Club, is a former member of the Sales- 
manship Club, and a member of the Colum- 
bia, Marion, Indianapolis Canoe and In- 
dependence Turnverein. 

December 16, 1908, Mr. Wolfson married 
Florence Swope, of Dallas, Texas. They 
have one daughter, Emily. 

Allen W. Conduitt. The name Con- 
duitt has been a familiar one in commer- 
cial and civic affairs of Indianapolis for 
more than half a century. For about thirty 
years the interests of the Conduitts were 
chiefly centered in the wholesale district, 
and several of the old and substantial 
houses today owe some of their original 
spirit and enterprise to this family. 

To the business of wholesale and retail 
merchandising Allen W. Conduitt gave 
many years of his energies, but in later 
years has been chiefly known as a con- 
tractor, and with the leisure achieved by 
successful business has also been a promi- 
nent figure in Indianapolis public affairs. 
He was born at Mooresville in Morgan 
County, Indiana, Aiigust 28, 1849, son of 
Alexander B. and Melissa R. (Hardwick) 
Conduitt. His parents were both natives 



1708 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



of Kentucky and of English descent. The 
Conduitts and Hardwicks came from Ken- 
tucky to Indiana in pioneer times. 

The late Alexander B. Conduitt grew up 
in Morgan County, attended the primitive 
schools and gained his first knowledge of 
business as clerk in the general store of 
Samuel Moore, founder of Mooresville. He 
and his brothers later bought this busi- 
ness, and he continued a participant in it 
until failing health obliged him to retire to 
a farm in Morgan County. Having recov- 
ered his physical vigor, he removed with 
his family in 1864 to Indianapolis, and 
here entered the wholesale dry goods busi- 
ness. His associates were Willis S. "Webb, 
Capt. W. H. Tarkington and Frank Lan- 
ders. The busines was known as Webb, 
Tarkington & Company. Later it became 
Webb, Conduitt & Company, and finally 
Mr. Conduitt retired. A later generation 
of Indianapolis people know the old firm 
chiefly through the title of Hibben, Hollweg 
& Company. From the wholesale dry goods 
business Alexander B. Conduitt entered the 
wholesale grocery trade in 1870 as senior 
member of Conduitt, Daugherty & Com- 
pany. In 1875 his son Allen entered the 
partnership and the title was changed to 
Conduitt & Son. This business was con- 
ducted on a prosperous scale until 1893, 
when it was sold to Schnull & Company. 
After that Alexander B. Conduitt lived 
retired until his death in July, 1903, when 
nearly eighty-five years old. In the middle 
years of the last century, he was a promi- 
nent leader in the democratic party of In- 
diana. He served as a member of the 
State Constitutional Convention of 1852, 
represented Morgan County two terms in 
the Legislature, and in 1862 was demo- 
cratic nominee for Congress and made a 
most creditable race in a heavily repub- 
lican district. He is remembered as a busi- 
ness man of the highest principles, and 
through his business he gave an important 
service to his state and never held himself 
aloof from those public spirited movements 
which are vital to the progress of any com- 
munity. Both he and his wife were active 
members of the Methodist Church. His 
wife died in 1898, at the age of eighty. 
They had nine children, seven of whom 
l-eached maturity. 

Allen W. Conduitt grew up in Morgan 
County and was sixteen years old when the 
family removed to Indianapolis. In addi- 



tion to the common schools he attended 
old Northwestern Christian, now Butler, 
College for two years. He learned busi- 
ness in the wholesale dry goods establish- 
ment in which his father was a partner and 
in the latter part of 1868 became asso- 
ciated with his brother Henry in a general 
merchandise store at Switz City, Indiana. 
Later they moved their store to Moores- 
ville, their native town. Then, in 1875, 
Allen W. Conduitt returned to Indianap- 
olis and became junior member of the 
wholesale grocery house of Conduitt & 
Son. When this business was sold in 1893 
Mr. Conduitt spent some years contracting 
for street improvement work. In 1903 he 
entered the wholesale coal business, and has 
since been a member of the Cochrane Coal 
Company. He was also one of the or- 
ganizers and incorporators of the Conduitt 
Automobile Company, one of the leading 
automobile sales agencies of Indianapolis. 
Politically Mr. Conduitt has given al- 
legiance to the same principles as his 
father. He has the distinction of being 
chosen the first president of the Indianap- 
olis Board of Public Works. He filled that 
office during the administration of Mayor 
Thomas L. Sullivan, and the responsibility 
largely devolved upon him of instituting 
and formulating the early policies of the 
department. He is a prominent Mason, 
both in York and Scottish Rite, is affiliated 
with Raper Commandery No. 1, Knights 
Templars, with Indianapolis Consistory of 
the Scottish Rite and Murat Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine. Mr. Conduitt is a charter 
member of the Commercial Club, and was 
its first vice president. He and his wife 
are members of St. Paul's Episcopal 
Church. January 11, 1870, he married 
Miss Elizabeth Thornburg, who was born 
and reared in Morgan County. Her father, 
John H. Thornburg, was a substantial 
Morgan County farmer. Two children have 
been born to Mr. and Mrs. Conduitt : 
Mabel, wife of John A. Boyd, and Harold 
A., a real estate dealer in Los Angeles, 
California. 

John F. Wallick, who still observes 
with unclouded mind the current life of 
his home city of Indianapolis and the 
events of a great world, serves as a re- 
minder to the people of the State of In- 
diana of the marvelous achievements in the 
span of one man's life. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1709 



What gives special significance to Mr. 
Wallick's career is that he is a pioneer 
telegrapher, having entered that profession 
or art only about six years after the first 
triumph of telegraphy and its first applica- 
tion as a practical form of communica- 
tion. Mr. Wallick has been identified with 
and could recite from personal memory the 
history of the telegraph in Indianapolis 
since 1852. For a long period of years he 
was manager of the Western Union Com- 
pany in Indianapolis, but is now retired. 
When Mr. Wallick was a youth Europe was 
six weeks removed from Indianapolis. To- 
day the space of a breath serves to bring 
this city into touch with remote continents. 
With the crude and uncertain instruments 
of sixty-five years ago he helped establish 
verbal communication between the towns 
and cities of the Middle West, and since 
then has been a factor in and has lived 
to see transportation communication de- 
veloped from steam railroad trains to elec- 
tric motors of land, the joining of conti- 
nents by telegraph wires under the sea, 
and the electric spark which he often had 
so much difficulty in controlling when a 
youth now flashes incontinently through all 
the elements of air, land and water and 
brings the news of a war 3,000 miles away 
in the space of a few hours. 

Mr. Wallick was born in Juniata County, 
Pennsylvania, March 2, 1830, a son of 
Samuel and Mary (Glenn) Wallick. His 
maternal grandfather, William Glenn, 
spent his life in Pennsylvania as a farmer 
and was the father of twelve children. The 
paternal grandfather, John W. Wallick, 
was born in Germany, but came to America 
in early youth and was one of the rugged 
and prosperous farmers of Juniata County, 
Pennsylvania, where he died when past 
three score and ten years of age. Samuel 
Wallick was a farmer and merchant in 
Tuscarora Valley of Pennsylvania, and 
died there in 1841 at the age of fifty years. 
His widow survived him more than half a 
century, and died in 1891 at Seville, Ohio, 
aged eighty-four. She and her husband 
were members of the Presbyterian Church. 
Of their children to reach maturity there 
were six: Margaret, who married Stewart 
McCulloch ; John F. ; Mary, widow of 
James Stokes ; Samuel ; Amanda ; and Al- 
fred R. 

John F. Wallick during his youth in 
Pennsylvania had a common school educa- 



tion, taught one winter term, and at the 
age of nineteen moved to Fredericksburg, 
Ohio, and worked in a dry goods store and 
in the local postoffice at Wooster. In the 
meantime the practical success of the pio- 
neer telegraph instrument was being re- 
flected in the rapid extension of wires 
across the Middle West and was calling 
into being a new profession of operators. 
In 1851 Mr. Wallick did his first work in 
handling a telegraph key with the Wade 
Telegraph Company at Wooster, Ohio. His 
principal instructor in the art was General 
Eekert, who later was chairman of the 
board of directors of the Western Union 
Telegraph Company. In 1852 the Wade 
Telegraph Company sent Mr. Wallick to its 
office at Indianapolis. This old telegraph 
company was later merged with the Ohio, 
Indiana and Illinois Telegraph Company, 
and that in turn in 1856 became a part 
of the Western Union Telegraph Company. 
Mr. Wallick was manager at Indianpolis 
until 1864, and then became superintend- 
ent of the Indianapolis office, and was a 
faithful and efficient incumbent of that 
post for nearly half a century until he re- 
tired, serving from April 1, 1864, until 
November, 1911. 

His ambition might well have been satis- 
fied by his business and professional work 
and service, and it constitutes for him a 
most honorable record. In politics he has 
been affiliated with the republican party, 
is an Odd Fellow and Scottish Rite Mason, 
and has been especially interested in Odd 
Fellowship and has sat in the Grand Lodge 
of the state and the United States. He 
has long been a faithful member of the 
Second Presbyterian Church, and his wife 
was equally devoted with him in attend- 
ing to their religious duties. 

June 10, 1862, Mr. Wallick married Miss 
Mary A. Martin, who was born and reared 
at Rahway, New Jersey, daughter of Dr. 
John and Mary A. (Brockfield) Martin. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wallick had a most happy 
home life, and their companionship not 
only endured so as to allow them the pleas- 
ure of celebrating their golden wedding 
anniversary, but for six years longer, un- 
til it was terminated by the death of Mrs. 
Wallick June 15, 1918, at the age of sev- 
enty-eight. Mrs. Wallick was a home 
woman, devoted to her intimate friends 
and family, but during a residence of more 
than half a century in Indianapolis had 



1710 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



also gained a wide acquaintance in the 
social circles of the city. The children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Wallick were : Martin Henry, 
Edward, Mary A., Adele, Catherine P., 
John G., Edith, Frederick W., and Edwin 
E. Martin and Frederick are both resi- 
dents of Indianapolis. Edward died in in- 
fancy. Edwin E. is now in the Red Cross 
service in France. John G. is a resident 
of New York City. Mary A., the wife of 
John A. Butler, and Mrs. Fred I. Tone 
also live in Indianapolis, while the other 
surviving daughter, Mrs. Winfleld Dean 
Loudon, resides at Scarsdale, New York. 
Catherine, deceased, was the wife of Louis 
E. Lathrop. 

Harvey Coonse in the early '90s was 
performing a useful though not distinctive 
service as conductor on one of the lines 
of street railway in Indianapolis. It is the 
purpose of this article to tell briefly the 
successive steps by which he has found 
success and prominence in the life of the 
state's capital. Mr. Coonse is now presi- 
dent of the East Tenth Street State Bank, 
secretary-treasurer of the Coonse-Caylor 
Ice Company and has other business and 
civic l'elations by which he is well known. 

He was born on a farm in Scott County, 
Indiana, March 24, 1870. His father, Tay- 
lor Coonse, was for a number of years a 
farmer in that county, but for more than 
twenty years was manager for Gentry 
Brothers Dog and Pony Shows. The 
mother, now deceased, was Mary Ridge. 
Her father was killed while a Union soldier 
in the Civil war. 

The early boyhood of Harvey Coonse 
was spent near Lexington in Scott County. 
He attended the country school there and 
had such discipline and environment as the 
average farm boy of that time. He left 
the farm for a time and worked in car 
shops at Jeffersonville, later did farming, 
and in 1889, at the age of nineteen, arrived 
in Indianapolis. Here for seven years he 
was an employe of the street railway serv- 
ice. For six months he drove a mule team 
that in those antiquated days hauled a 
clumsy street car back and forth over the 
tracks from downtown to the outskirts. 
Later he was promoted to conductor, and 
he continued to ring up fares for nearly 
seven years. He had only a few dollars 
when he came to Indianapolis, and it was 
as a result of a purposeful campaign of 



thrift that brought him his first real capi- 
tal. In 1896 he invested his slender means 
in a dairy business. Incident to the con- 
duct of this business he began handling 
ice to the retail trade, and as the oppor- 
tunities of the ice business seemed greater 
than dairying he finally disposed of his 
herd and gave all his attention to the ice 
industry, a work which he has continued 
to the present time. Mr. Coonse also oper- 
ates a small truck farm nine miles east of 
Monument Circle. 

Soon after the organization of the East 
Tenth Street State Bank in 1913 Mr. 
Coonse became one of its stockholders, and 
by increase of his holdings was elected a 
director, then vice president, and in Janu- 
ary, 1918, became president of an insti- 
tution which is one of the substantial 
smaller banks of Indianapolis, with a capi- 
tal stock of $25,000. Mr. Coonse is also 
president of the Crescent Packing Com- 
pany, a small independent meat packing 
concern. 

He is a member of the Methodist Church, 
a republican voter, is a Knight Templar 
and thirty-second degree Scottish Rite 
Mason and Mystic Shriner. He is identi- 
fied by membership with the Chamber of 
Commerce and the Marion Club. In 1896 
Mr. Coonse married Miss Mary B. Caylor. 
Their only daughter, June, is the wife of 
James M. Breeding, and Mr. Coonse 's only 
grandson is Harvey James Breeding. 

Harry D. Kramm is treasurer and man- 
ager of the Kramm Foundry Company at 
Indianapolis. This is a highly distinctive 
industry and one which has brought not a 
little fame to Indianapolis as the center of 
modern progressiveness in the line of 
manufactures. 

The special output of this foundry is 
aluminum castings, which largely supply 
the automobile industry. It is probably 
the only concern in the State of Indiana 
that has complete facilities for the manu- 
facture of aluminum castings of different 
types, sizes and other specifications. But 
the unique honor of this business is that 
it is the only establishment in the world 
making casting of maluminum. This word, 
like the product it describes, is of recent 
coinage but among metal manufacturers it 
has excited much interest and the product 
itself is regarded as one of the most im- 
portant of new creations. Maluminum is, 




- 



■j(**< 



.. 




jk.et~r 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1711 



as the name indicates, derived from the two 
words, malleable and aluminum, and it is 
a combination or an alloy which is chiefly 
distinguished by its great tensile strength 
and malleability, a quality which natural 
forms of aluminum do not present. The 
creator of maluminum is Mr. Harry D. 
Krannn, who for a long time carried on 
experimental work in the cellar of his In- 
dianapolis home, until he had satisfied him- 
self of the thoroughly practical value of 
the product which bears the name malu- 
minum. Maluminum is gaining special 
favor as one of the materials that enter 
into the construction of automobiles, and 
the product is now shipped to all parts of 
the country. 

The Kramm Foundry Company is lo- 
cated at 1116-1130 East Georgia* Street. 
While Mr. Kramm is the builder and the 
active head of the business, the other offi T 
cers of the company are W. S. "Wilson, 
president, and B. F. Kelley, secretary. 

Mr. Kramm was born at Peoria, Illinois, 
May 22, 1871, son of Erhart and Emily 
(Caquelin) Kramm. The father was born 
in Germany and was fifteen years old when 
he sought the opportunities of the New 
World. His wife was born in France and 
was about seven or eight years old when 
her people came to this country and lo- 
cated in Ohio. Erhart Kramm and wife 
married in Ohio, moved from there to Illi- 
nois; the latter is still living, being about 
eighty years of age. The father died aged 
about eighty-five. The following incident 
possesses significance and much interest at 
the present time. In 1875 Erhart Kramm 
and wife, having gained a considerable 
measure of material success, went back to 
Europe to vist the lands of their birth. 
This was only a few years after the close 
of the Franco-Prussian war, and in Ger- 
many Erhart Kramm 's friends and rela- 
tives several times asked him how it was 
that he could marry a French woman. 
His simple reply, which spoke a volume in 
three words, was: "We are Americans.'' 
He had in fact come to America to become 
an American, and in all the years remained 
truly and sincerely devoted to the land 
of his adoption. 

Erhart Kramm early in life became in- 
terested in coal mining in Illinois, was an 
operator and later built up a large busi- 
ness as a real estate man at Peoria. He 
has always been a republican. Of the five 



sons born to him and his wife four are 
still living, Charles B., Harry D., E. and 
William. 

Harry D. Kramm grew up in his native 
city, attended the local schools there and 
gained a technical education in the Uni- 
versity of Illinois and the Rose Polytechnic 
Institute at Terre Haute, Indiana. Hav- 
ing taken a course in mining engineering 
and having considerable experience in that 
line, he spent some time operating coal 
mines in the vicinity of Peoria, and after- 
ward was in Colorado, superintendent of 
the Humboldt and Hudson gold mines in 
Boulder County. Returning to Illinois, he 
was for a time a merchant selling dry 
goods and shoes at London Mills, Illinois. 

Mr. Kramm came to Indianapolis twenty 
years ago and at first was an employe of 
the Pioneer Brass Works. " He remained 
with that firm until he organized the com- 
pany which now bears his name and of 
which he is the active head. This is a 
rapidly growing business, and during the 
great European war the company filled 
some extensive and important orders for 
war material for the Government. 

Mr. Kramm married at Terre Haute, In- 
diana, Ada Shewmaker, daughter of Abra- 
ham and Annie S. Shewmaker, of Marion 
County, Indiana. The old Shewmaker 
farm is now a part of the City of Indian- 
apolis, at Forty-Second and Central Ave- 
nues. Mr. and Mrs. Kramm have one son, 
H. Wayne, who is a graduate of a college 
at Manassas, Virginia, and is now giving 
a measure of his patriotism as an Ameri- 
can by training in the aviation camp at 
Fort Leavenworth. 

Mr. Kramm is well known both in social 
and technical organization in Indianapolis. 
He is a member of the Association of Auto 
Motive Engineers, is a member of the Ro- 
tary Club, Columbia Club and the Inde- 
pendent Athletic Club, the Canoe Club and 
the Motor Club. Politically he votes as a 
republican. 

William P. Jungclaus has been a resi- 
dent of Indianapolis more than forty years 
and during that time has built up a busi- 
ness widelv known as a contractor and 
builder. With a big business organization 
to his credit, and enjoying; the universal 
esteem of all who know him, Mr. Jung- 
claus is one of the prominent Indianans 
of the present time. 



1712 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



However, comparatively few people 
know that this substantial business man 
is one of the most widely traveled and 
world experienced residents of the state. 
His early life reads like romance or a 
tale of travel. He roamed over all the 
seven seas, went to nearly every civilized 
port on the globe, and, oddly enough, when 
he left seafaring he came to a remote in- 
land city and only occasionally during the 
last forty years has smelled or tasted salt 
water. 

Mr. Jungclaus was born near Hamburg, 
Germany, February 22, 1849. His father, 
Peter Henry Jungclaus, was a sea captain 
and for thirty-five years took his ships 
out of the port of Hamburg. He was a 
veteran mariner of long and arduous ex- 
perience, and lived to the venerable age 
of ninety-seven. 

At fourteen, after completing his com- 
mon school education, William P. Jung- 
claus started out to see the world and taste 
of adventure, perhaps hoping to emulate 
the example of his father. For seven 
years he was a sailor, visiting every for- 
eign land, and during that time acquired 
a fluent knowledge of English, French and 
German and also of other languages suffi- 
ciently for business purposes. Beginning 
as a deck boy he was acting second mate 
when he quit the sea. Mr. Jungclaus was 
not only an efficient sailor but had an ap- 
preciation of all that he saw and expe- 
rienced, and penetrated through the ro- 
mance and wonder of the countries and 
lands which he visited on his many voy- 
ages. He was twice around the world, 
rounded Cape Horn four times, was in all 
the principal seaports of southern coun- 
tries, and north 72° to the north cape of 
Sweden and Norway in the Arctic ocean, 
was up and down both east and west coast 
of South America, and also coasted the 
shores of Africa. He was in South Africa 
when the great diamond fields were dis- 
covered, and he knew Capetown in its 
palmiest days. Mr. Jungclaus visited Na- 
poleon's tomb at St. Helena in 1868. In 
1867 he was at Hongkong and Nagasaki 
and saw both of these great oriental ports 
about the time China and Japan were 
awakening to touch with the western 
world. In 1867 he also visited the Sand- 
wich Islands, and altogether he made two 
trips to Australia. He had perhaps an 
inherited talent for keen observation, and 



wherever he went scenes impressed them- 
selves indelibly upon his memory, and to- 
day he knows more about many foreign 
countries than most of the tourists who 
travel primarily to see and observe. 

In 1870 Mr. Jungclaus came with a 
load of whale oil from Oakland, New Zea- 
land, to Bedford, Massachusetts. That 
was the end of his experience as a sailor. 
Quitting the sea, he met his father at New 
York, and together they came west to In- 
dianapolis. The father later returned to 
Germany. 

William P. Jungclaus began his career 
in Indianapolis in a sufficiently humble 
and inconspicuous manner. He jworked 
as a laborer in construction, but being a 
sailor born and trained and naturally 
handy with tools, he was in a few days 
pronounced a master workman. About 
1875 he began contracting on his own ac- 
count, and has been steadily in that line 
now for more than forty years. He has 
handled not only small but many large 
and important contracts. To mention only 
a few there should be noted the Masonic 
Temple of Indianapolis, several of the 
theaters, the New York Store, and Mer- 
chants National Bank Building. His bus- 
iness grew and prospered and for the last 
twenty-two years has been conducted as 
an incorporated company. 

Mr. Jungclaus is a Lutheran and in pol- 
itics votes for the man rather than the 
party. He has long been active in Ma- 
sonry and in 1889 attained the thirty-sec- 
ond degree of the Scottish Rite. He is 
also a member of the Mystic Shrine. 

In 1872 he married Miss Marie Schu- 
macher. They have four living children: 
Fred W. ; Dorothea, wife of Dr. Clarence 
Ihle, of Dayton, Ohio; Henry P.; and 
Marie S., Mrs. Samuel L. Patterson. Both 
the sons are associated with their father 
in business. 

Strickland W. Gillilan, journalist, 
was born in Jackson, Ohio, and began his 
newspaper work on the Jackson Herald. 
He subsequently became city editor of the 
Daily Telegram of Richmond, Indiana, 
1892-95 ; city editor of the Richmond Daily 
Palladium, 1895-1901 ; reporter and editor 
of the Marion, Indiana, Daily Tribune, 
1901 ; and on leaving Indiana was identi- 
fied with newspaper work in a number of 
the principal cities of this country. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1713 



Mr. Gillilan was first married to Alice 
Hendricks, of Springfield, Ohio, who died 
in 1901. He was subsequently married to 
Harriet Nettleton, of Baltimore. 

Mr. Gillilan is also a well known writer 
of humorous stories and verse. 

Michael O'Connor. A noble old-time 
citizen and business man of Indianapolis 
was the late Michael O'Connor. He had 
been a resident of the capital city nearly 
half a century, and in that time his works 
and character had given his name many 
substantial associations, not least among 
them being the M. O'Connor Company, 
which during his lifetime and since has 
been one of the larger wholesale organiza- 
tions in the state. 

Nearly fourscore years were allotted him 
for his life and achievements. He was 
born in Ireland May 18, 1838, and died at 
the home of his daughter, Mrs. M. J. 
Ready, in Indianapolis, November 1, 1916. 
In 1850, when he was eleven years old, 
his parents came to America and settled 
in Pendleton County, Kentucky. The voy- 
age was made in a three-masted vessel, 
and for that type of ship the trip was 
executed in the rather brief time of twen- 
ty-three days. The life of a Kentucky 
farm was not congenial to Michael O'Con- 
nor. At thirteen he went to Madison, 
Indiana, where he found a place as clerk 
at $15 a month in the wholesale grocery 
house of Connell & Johnson. Part of what 
he made he sent back home to sustain and 
encourage the O'Connors in their difficult 
struggles to get a living in the new world. 
Later he worked as shipping and bill clerk 
in Francis Prenatt's wholesale grocery 
house, and remained with him three years, 
until 1859, when he went into business for 
himself as head of the wholesale grocery 
firm O'Connor, Clark & Company. From 
this he retired in 1862, and was again 
with Francis Prenatt & Company until 
1867. 

After the Civil war, in which Mr. 'Con- 
nor had done his part as a home guard 
to protect the Town of Madison from 
threatened incursions from the rebels south 
of the river, it seemed that Indianapolis 
offered better business opportunities than 
any other town in the state. Therefore, 
in March, 1867, Mr. O'Connor and family 
arrived at the capital, and for several years 
he was in the employ of Thomas F. Ryan, 



a wholesale liquor merchant. Then Fran- 
cis Prenatt, Jr., a son of his old employer 
in Madison, came to Indianapolis, and to- 
gether they took up the wholesale liquor 
trade under the name Prenatt and O'Con- 
nor. 

Retiring from this business in 1875, Mr. 
O'Connor in February, 1876, bought the 
interest of John Caldwell in Landis, Cald- 
well & Company, wholesale grocers. After 
another year Mr. O'Connor bought the 
other parties, and the name, then changed 
to M. O'Connor & Company, has been re- 
tained to the present time, with offices 
and warerooms at 47-49 South Meridian 
Street. Forty years ago when it was es- 
tablished only two or three salesmen were 
evangels of the firm and its goods over the 
state. Now a staff of fifteen or more dis- 
tribute the goods of this old house over 
a large section of the Middle "West. 

Michael O'Connor, though at his offices 
nearly every day, had been only nominally 
at the head of the business for some twelve 
years or more before his death. He had 
been well satisfied to turn the business 
over to his competent sons, five in number, 
who continue the business institution 
founded by their honored father. 

The late Michael O'Connor was a man 
of importance to Indianapolis for more 
reasons than one. For a time he served as 
president of the Capital National Bank 
and of the Marion Trust Company, and 
was a stockholder in the Fletcher Ameri- 
can National Bank and in various other 
corporations. Church and charity had 
long learned to depend upon his generous 
gifts and support. When the SS. Peter 
and Paul Cathedral was built he contrib- 
uted the three marble altars, and gave even 
more to the general building fund of the 
church, his total contributions being esti- 
mated at more than $25,000. His funeral 
was preached in the cathedral where he 
had worshiped so manj^ years, and he was 
laid to rest in the Holy Cross Cemetery. 

On September 1, 1859, Mr. O'Connor 
married Miss Caroline Pfau, of Madison. 
Her father, Sylvester Pfau, was a retail 
grocer. The family of seven children who 
survived them are Charles M., William L., 
Joseph S., Maurice, Bernard E., Mrs. M. 
J. Ready and Teresa. Their mother died 
in September, 1913. 

William L. O'Connor, president of the 
M. O'Connor & Company, was born at 



1714 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Madison, Indiana, July 26, 1866, and was 
educated in Indianapolis and went to work 
for his father in the wholesale grocery 
business in 1881. He has been president 
of the company since 1903. Politically he 
is a democrat, and is a faithful Catholic. 
In 1904 he married Miss Nellie Carr, who 
came from Ireland. Their children, seven 
in number, are named Eileen, William S., 
Thomas J., Patricia, Michael, John and 
Richard. 

Oliver J. Dellett, M. D. For a quarter 
of a century, Doctor Dellett has been a 
member of the medical profession in In- 
dianapolis. He enjoys a large practice, an 
honorable station in , the profession, and 
by training and experience has worthily 
filled his niche in the world. 

Doctor Dellett was born in Cincinnati, 
Ohio, September 30, 1851, and is the only 
survivor of the two children of Jacob and 
Ann Jane (Kincannon) Dellett. His 
father, a native of Harrisburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, in early life learned the butcher's 
trade. At the age of twenty-five he lo- 
cated at Cincinnati, Ohio, and established 
a retail meat business in that city, con- 
ducting it until his death in 1855. He was 
a good business man, and was widely 
known and esteemed because of his strict 
integrity, his thorough honesty and his 
genial personality. He had many promi- 
nent friends in Cincinnati, one of them 
being his neighbor Nicholas Longworth, 
father of the present Ohio congressman. 
He conducted a model place of business, 
and made it a point to supply his patrons 
not only with the standard qualities of 
meat but also game of all kinds in season. 
It was perhaps the only place in Cincin- 
nati in those early days where customers 
could secure supplies of venison, buffalo 
steak, and various kinds of small game. 
He made his market a medium of service 
and it was correspondingly appreciated 
and patronized. He was also a member of 
the Masonic order and lived and practiced 
the Golden Rule. 

Doctor Dellett was four years old when 
his father died and he grew up in the 
home of his mother in Jefferson and Switz- 
erland counties in Indiana. He acquired a 
district school education there and in 1873 
came to Indianapolis. He read medicine 
in the office of Dr. T. M. Culver, one of the 
notable physicans and surgeons of the city 



at that time. Later he pursued a course 
of studies in the Indiana Eclectic School 
of Physicans and Surgeons, and was gradu- 
ated M. D. with the class of 1893. For 
twenty years Doctor Dellett had his offices 
in the Commercial Block, and his profes- 
sional headquarters are now in the Saks 
Building. 

Doctor Dellett is a charter member of 
Monument Lodge No. 657, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons. He married Miss Laura 
Tilford, of Madison, Indiana, and they be- 
came the parents of two daughters and one 
son. The daughters, Edna and Etella, 
are both married. Etella married Howard 
E. Wagner, of Indianapolis, Indiana, and 
lives in New York City. They have no 
children. Edna married Bert Ward and 
has five children, Lois V., Charlotte, How- 
ard, Gaine and Deborah. The son, Bruce 
J., was educated in the public schools of 
Indianapolis and was formerly publicity 
manager of the West Coast Florida Asso- 
ciation in New York City. He left this re- 
sponsible position to qualify for army serv- 
ice. He attended a training camp, and 
was the only member of his class without 
previous attendance at military school who 
received the commission of lieutenant. As 
an army officer he has been assigned to 
the commissary department, and is now in 
active service. 

Gustav A. Recker is a member of a 
family that has been prominent in furni- 
ture manufacture and a wholesale and re- 
tail dealers for two generations in Indian- 
apolis. 

He is a son of the late Gottfried Recker, 
who came from Germany in 1849, landing 
at New Orleans and coming to Indianap- 
olis by way of Cincinnati and Madison, In- 
diana. At Indianapolis he married Lina 
Kuntz, of Madison, Indiana. She was born 
at Karlsruhe, Germany. For many years 
Gottfried Recker was in the employ of H. 
Lieber & Company of Indianapolis, and 
subsequently became associated with Theo- 
dore Sander in the Western Furniture 
Company, of which he was secretary and 
treasurer and Mr. Sander, president. This 
company was one of the pioneer firms of 
Indianapolis manufacturing furniture, and 
also conducted a retail store. Later the 
firm dissolved and Sander & Recker took 
over complete control of the retail store, 
which has existed at its present location 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1715 



in Indianapolis for forty years, including 
five years under the old regime. 

In 1901 the Sander & Recker Furniture 
Company was incorporated, the leading 
spirit in that corporation being Gustav 
A. Recker, who became president and 
treasurer of the corporation. Carl Sander, 
son of Theodore Sander, is vice president, 
and Carlos Recker is secretary. 

Gottfried Recker died in 1900 and his 
wife in 1914. He was the organizer and for 
many years president of the Indianapolis 
Academy of Music, and was musically 
talented himself and interested in the pro- 
motion of good music in this city. 

Gustave A. Recker was born at Indian- 
apolis July 19, 1866. He attended the 
grammar and high schools and from his 
studies went into his father's business as a 
salesman and collector. Long and thorough 
experience qualified him to take charge of 
the business at the time of his father's 
death. The Sander & Recker Furniture 
Company now occupies the building con- 
structed for and formerly occupied by the 
Dan Stewart Drug Company. 

Mr. Recker is a member of the Merchants 
Association, the Board of Trade, the Cham- 
ber of Commerce and the Columbia Club 
and has always been active on various com- 
mittes of these organizations. He is a 
member of the Kiwanis, and one of the 
organizers of the Better Business Bureau. 
To these institutions and movements he 
has always given freely of his time, and 
his entire career has been an asset in In- 
dianapolis citizenship. 

June 30, 1893, Mr. Recker married Miss 
Estelle Rogers, of Indianapolis. Her father, 
J. N. Rogers, is a well known figure in the 
wholesale lumber business at Indianapolis. 
Her mother, Florence Walingford Rogers, 
died in 1914. Mrs. Recker is a graduate 
of Mrs. Sewall 's Classical School of Indian- 
apolis. She takes an active part in Red 
Cross work. They have a daughter and 
a son. The daughter, Margaret Recker. is 
an art student, but is now giving most of 
her time to the Red Cross work and is 
stationed at Washington, D. C. The son, 
Max Rogers Recker, was a student in a 
mditary institute for a commission in the 
army, and was honorablv discharged De- 
cember 2, 1918. 

Frederick J. Meyer is a veteran busi- 
ness man of Indianapolis, having come here 



nearly half a century ago, and for over 
forty years has been a merchant at one 
stand, S02 South East Street. He is 
founder of the well known firm of F. J. 
Meyer & Company. 

Mr. Meyer was born in Minden, Ger- 
many, January 2, 1847, a son of Henry 
and Mary (Schakel) Meyer. His father 
was a well-to-do citizen of the old country, 
had a large farm and was the leading man 
of his community, serving at one time as 
burgomaster or mayor. He died two months 
before his son Frederick was born. The 
widowed mother lived to be eighty-one. 
Frederick J. Meyer was one of a family 
of five sons and three daughters. 

His older brother, Christian, came to 
America when Frederick was still a school 
boy in Germany. Christian during the 
American Civil war served as a Union 
soldier and was quartermaster at Fort Lar- 
amie at the close of the war. Afterward 
he was a leading citizen of St. Joseph, 
Missouri, and for many years was financial 
reporter and was prominent in Masonic 
circles. 

Frederick J. Meyer attended the Luther- 
an schools of Germany, also a high school, 
and continued his education quite regular- 
ly until he was seventeen years old. In 
1867, at the age of twenty, he came to 
America, The presence of a friend, Andrew 
Prange, at Indianapolis caused him to lo- 
cate in that city, and he made his home 
with Mr. Prange for some time. His first 
employment was with Doctor Funkhouser, 
with whom he remained a year, and for 
another year was employed in the whole- 
sale house of Holland & Austemeyer. Later 
he took a contract to sprinkle Washington 
Street west of Meridian. In October, 1875, 
Mr. Meyer started in business at his present 
location. At first he had a general store, 
selling all kinds of merchandise to meet the 
demands of his patronage. For a number 
of years now Mr. Meyer has confined his 
business to the grocery and meat trade. 

During his long residence in Indianap- 
olis he has been identified with both public 
and private interests. He served as the 
democratic member of the Board of Public 
Works during Mayor Denny's administra- 
tion, and his work in that capacity was 
highly creditable. For many years he has 
had a helpful part in church maintenance 
and e> tension, and helped to build the 
Trinity Luthei*an Church in Indianapolis. 



1716 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



For eighteen years he has been president 
of St. Paul's Congregation, and for thirty- 
two years trustee of the Orphans Home. 
Mr. Meyer has been an honored member 
of the Indianapolis Board of Trade since 
1893, practically throughout its entire 
existence. 

October 31, 1871, Mr. Meyer married 
Mary Budclenbaum. She was born in Ger- 
many August 12, 1847. Their only child 
died in infancy, but their home has been 
a haven and refuge for many children 
who have spent part of their boyhood or 
girlhood under the kindly care of Mr. and 
Mrs. Meyer. One daughter they adopted, 
Addie, who is now the wife of H. E. Bud- 
denbaum, a partner in business with Mr. 
Meyer. 

Sol H. Esarey. There are few law firms 
in Indianapolis that enjoy as good a pres- 
tige and more select practice than that of 
Watson & Esarey, whose offices are in the 
Pythian Building. The members of this 
firm are Ward H. Watson, James E. Wat- 
son and Sol H. Esarey. 

The junior member of the firm was for 
a number of years assistant reporter for 
the Supreme Court of Indiana, and is a 
man of wide legal training and experience. 
He was born in Perry County, Indiana, 
May 17, 1866. No other family has been 
known so long or so prominently in Perry 
County as the Esareys. It is said that his 
great-great-grandfather, John Esarey was 
either the first or the second permanent 
white settler in that part of the state. The 
grandfather, Jesse Esarey, lived his entire 
life in Perry County. Associated with his 
name are a long list of pioneer activities. 
He was a miller, owning and operating the 
first grist mill in Perry County, the machin- 
ery of which was operated by horse power. 
He also had the first lumber and saw mill 
in the county, and was the first to irttro- 
duce steam power in the operation of such 
a mill. He was also a man of affairs 
viewed from a public standpoint. He was 
a whig and later a republican, a strong 
temperance man when temperance advo- 
cates were few, and served as captain of 
the Home Guards of Perry County. He 
reared a large family of twelve children, 
all of whom grew to manhood and woman- 
hood. One of them was John C. Esarey, 
father of the Indianapolis lawyer. John 
C. was born in Perry County in 1842 and 



made his life occupation farming. He is 
still living, at the age of seventy-five, and 
enjoying the best of health. He has done 
much to develop Perry County's life in 
religious and educational affairs. As a 
republican he served two terms as town- 
ship trustee and one term as county com- 
missioner and has been deeply interested 
in the Methodist Church. In 1864 he en- 
listed in Company G of the Fifty-third 
Indiana Infantry, and joined his regiment 
at Atlanta, Georgia, participating in Sher- 
man's March to the sea and thence through 
the Carolinas until the surrender of Johns- 
ton's army after the battle at Benton- 
ville, North Carolina. At the close of the 
war he received his honorable discharge 
at Indianapolis, and going back to Perry 
County took up the vocation which has 
busied him to the present time. He mar- 
ried Barbara Ewing, and they had nine 
children, eight of whom are still living. 

The second oldest of the family, Sol H. 
Esarey was born in Perry County May 
17, 1866, and largely through his own exer- 
tions acquired a liberal education. He at- 
tended the Academy at Rome, Indiana, 
the Central Indiana Normal School at Dan- 
ville, where he was graduated with the 
class of 1890, and had his legal education 
in Boston University Law School, gradu- 
ating LL. B. in 1902. Mr. Esarey practiced 
law at Cannelton, Indiana, and was one 
of the leading lawyers of that locality un- 
til 1905. In the latter year he removed to 
Indianapolis to take up his duties as as- 
sistant reporter of the Supreme Court, and 
was chiefly known to the local profession 
of the capital city in that capacity until 
1913. Mr. Esarey is a stanch republican, 
and during his residence at Cannelton he 
served as a member of the School Board 
and was a leader in establishing and build- 
ing the Cannelton Public Library, the first 
institution of that kind between Evansville 
and New Albany. He is a member of the 
Knights of Pythias fraternity, the Modern 
Woodmen of America and other orders. 
For a number of years he has been a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church at Indian- 
apolis, and for the last two years has taught 
a large Bible class of young ladies. Dur- 
ing his practice at Cannelton Mr. Esarey 
established the principle affirmed by deci- 
sion of the Supreme Court of the right of 
a tax payer to compel a public official to 
return money unlawfully obtained. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1717 



April 8, 1893, at Cannelton, he married 
Miss Emma L. Clark. 

Sidney L. Aughinbaugh is secretary and 
treasurer of the Spencer Aughinbaugh 
Company, an incorporated Arm that has 
handled a number of the most important 
transactions in Indianapolis suburban real 
estate in recent years, and also covers a 
large field as dealers and brokers in farm 
lands. 

Mr. Aughinbaugh is a real estate expert 
largely through self training and experi- 
ence. He was born in Marion County June 
29, 1882, a son of Edward L. and Mary 
(Lewis) Aughinbaugh. His father, a na- 
tive of Pennsylvania, came west about the 
close of the Civil war and located in In- 
dianapolis. He is now one of the capital 
city's oldest and best known merchants. 
His first experience here was as a clerk in 
the old Browning & Sloan wholesale drug 
house. He has now been in business for 
himself as retail druggist for fully half a 
century, and is owner of one of the best 
known drug stores in the city, at the corner 
of Michigan Street and Emmerson Ave- 
nue. Probably no druggist in the city has 
a larger acquaintance with the medical 
profession of Indianapolis, and a number 
of the oldest and most prominent physi- 
cians have regularly for many years had 
most of their prescriptions filled at the 
Aughinbaugh store. Edward L. Aughin- 
baugh is an independent in politics and 
has always thrown the weight of his in- 
fluence to assist any worthy movement in 
the city. 

Sidney L. Aughinbaugh is the second in 
a family of three children, all of whom 
are living. He was educated in the gram- 
mar and high schools of Indianapolis, and 
began his career as clerk in a grocery store. 
After two years he took up the real estate 
business, and with no special capital he 
worked alone for eight years, and showed 
the value of his service to a number of 
clients and thus opened the way for the 
larger success which has come to his com- 
pany. He then became associated with 
Mr. Spencer and organized the Spencer- 
Aughinbaugh Company, of which Mr. 
Spencer is president and Mr. Aughinbaugh 
secretary and treasurer. While their work 
has especially featured suburban tracts 
around Indianapolis in recent years, they 
are now more and more pinning their re- 



sources to the handling of Indiana farm 
property. 

Mr. Aughinbaugh married, June 3, 1911, 
Miss Sue E. Hare. They have two chil- 
dren, Susan and Sidney, Jr. Mr. Aughin- 
baugh is a member of Indianapolis Lodge 
No. 56, Knights of Pythias, and is a mem- 
ber of the Indianapolis Real Estate Board. 

Stanley Wyckopf is a specialist in busi- 
ness. During twenty years of residence 
in Indianapolis he has both as a matter of 
business routine and by personal inclina- 
tion kept his energies and his studies 
largely directed along the line of food 
supply and distribution. The fact that 
he knows all the ins and outs of food sup- 
ply, its principal local sources, the man- 
ner of its handling, its conservation, and 
the problems affecting its distribution was 
the reason he was appointed in the fall 
of 1917 as Federal Food Administrator 
for Marion County. It was also his va- 
ried knowledge and experience that has 
made his administration of that difficult 
public service so strikingly successful. Mr. 
Wyckoff himself, ascribes his measure of 
accomplishment in this position merely to 
the application of good business methods. 

Mr. Wyckoff was born at Oxford in 
Butler County, Ohio, November 22, 1874. 
He is of Dutch ancestry. His ancestoi*s 
located at New Amsterdam or New York 
City about 1700 and some later members 
of the family took part in the Revolu- 
tionary war as patriot soldiers. His 
grandfather, Peter C. "Wyckoff, moved to 
Ohio in 1837 and was a pioneer in the 
southwestern part of the state. At Darr- 
town, on the stage route to Cincinnati, he 
was proprietor of a hotel. Alfred G. 
Wyckoff, father of Stanley, is still living 
at Oxford, Ohio. He is an honored old 
soldier of the Civil war, having gone 
through all that struggle with the 47th 
Ohio Infantry. He was present at Pitts- 
burgh, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, 
in the hundred days Atlanta campaign, 
on the march to the sea and up through 
the Carolinas, and hardly had the climax 
of fighting been ended between the North 
and South when with his comrades he was 
hurried to the Mexican border to check 
the threatened uprising on the part of 
Maximilian. In business affairs he has 
been a farmer and stock raiser and has al- 
ways kept blooded stock, particularly the 



1718 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Poland China hogs. Alfred G. Wyckoff 
married Elizabeth Hancock, and they 
were the parents of three children, two of 
whom are living. 

Stanley Wyckoff grew up on his father's 
Ohio farm and had a public school educa- 
tion. In 1895 he arrived in Indianapolis. 
Having only fifteen cents in his pocket, 
he necessarily connected himself with em- 
ployment at the earliest possible moment 
and was enrolled in the commission house 
of Arthur Jordan at a wage of six dollars 
a week. That was his apprenticeship in 
the commission business, and from the 
first he thoroughly studied every detail 
and promising opportunity in addition to 
the performance of his routine tasks. 
Subsequently he became interested in the 
firm of the Glossbrenner-Dodge Company. 
In 1910 Mr. Wyckoff bought the Indian- 
apolis Poultry Company, of which he has 
since been president and manager. As 
head of this concern his first day's busi- 
ness brought him fifty-four dollars. As 
an indication of the business today the 
receipts for January 24, 1918, may be 
cited as over eight thousand dollars. It is 
a business that employs about thirty 
people. 

As already noted, Mr. Wyckoff has made 
a study of food products for years, not 
alone from the business standpoint but 
from a scientific view as well. He was in- 
strumental in having established at In- 
dianapolis a field experiment station of 
the United States Department of the Agri- 
culture Bureau of Chemistry. Conserva- 
tive estimates are that this station in 1917 
saved to Indiana alone more than a million 
dollars, and has also been an important 
source of education and information to 
thousands of people. 

Mr. Wyckoff was appointed federal 
food administrator of Marion County 
November 22, 1917. He is well known in 
Indianapolis life, is identified with various 
clubs and social organizations, and is a 
republican in politics. May 29, 1893, he 
married Gertrude Pottinger. Three- chil- 
dren were born to their marriage : Mildred, 
Rees and Elizabeth. Mildred is deceased. 

I 

Albert Eugene Sterne, M. D. The 
annals of the Indiana medical profession 
during the past twenty years indicate a 
number of distinguished honors paid to 



the Indianapolis specialist, Doctor Sterne, 
and any one of these special marks of 
honor would be ordinarily deemed a suffi- 
cient reward in itself for almost a life- 
time of conscientious effort and attainment 
in the profession. His is undoubtedly one 
of the big outstanding names of American 
medicine and surgery. 

He was born at Cincinnati, Ohio, April 
28, 1866, son of Charles F. and Eugenia 
(Fries) Sterne, the former a native of 
Wuertemberg and the latter of Furth, 
Bavaria. His maternal grandfather was 
a great scientist and scholar, was professor 
of physiology in a German University, and 
a member of the Legion of Honor. Both he 
and his son were knighted by the King of 
Spain for certain discoveries in chemistry. 

Charles F. Sterne, father of Doctor 
Sterne, came to Indiana about 1842 and 
became one of the wealthy and influential 
business men of Peru. He founded and 
owned the Peru Woolen Mills, which at one 
time manufactured all the woolen blankets 
used by the Pullman Car Company. He also 
established a gas plant at Peru, and his in- 
vestments in business interests were widely 
diversified. At one time he was an Indian 
trader. He died at Peru August 28, 1880, 
at the age of fifty-two, and his wife passed 
away six months later, in 1881. 

Son of a wealthy father, Doctor Sterne 
was fortunate in the possession of ample 
means to prepare himself adequately for 
his chosen career, and was even more for- 
tunate in the possession of energy and am- 
bition to strive for the highest attainments 
and the complete use of his talents and 
opportunities. His early education was ac- 
quired in the public schools of Peru, Cin- 
cinnati and Indianapolis. At the age of 
eleven he was placed in the Cornell School 
under Professor Kinney at Ithaca, New 
York. After a year he entered Mount Plea- 
sant Military Academy at Sing Sing, New 
York, where he studied five years, and in 
1883, at the age of seventeen, entered Har- 
vard University. He graduated in 1887 
with the degree A. B. cum laude. 

The six years following his graduation 
from Harvard College he spent abroad, 
studying medicine at Strassburg, Heidel- 
berg, Berlin, Vienna and Paris, and also at 
Dublin, Edinburgh and London. In 1891 
the University of Berlin awarded him the 
degree Doctor of Medicine magna cum 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1719 



laude. He also had extensive clinical ex- 
perience, and was the assistant in such 
institutions as the Charity Hospital in Ber- 
lin, the Salpetriere in Paris, the Rotunda 
in Dublin and the Queen's Square London. 
He helped promote and found a Society of 
American Physicians in Berlin. 

Returning to America in 1893, Doctor 
Sterne soon established himself in practice 
at Indianapolis. For a number of years 
his work was in the general field of med- 
icine and surgery, but more and more his 
talents have been concentrated upon the 
special field in which his attainments rank 
highest, nervous and mental diseases and 
brain surgery. Indiana is indebted to 
Doctor Sterne's initiative for one of the 
highest class sanatoriums for the treatment 
of mental and nervous disorders in the 
Middle West. This is "Norways" San- 
atorium, the original building of which 
was the old Fletcher homestead opposite 
Woodruff Park. The buildings have been 
extensively enlarged and remodeled, and 
occupy a beautiful location in the midst 
of four and a half acres of ground. From 
year to year the staff has been increased 
by associated consultants in every depart- 
ment of medicine and surgery, though the 
requirements of the war have seriously de- 
pleted the staff organization, as has been 
true of practically every other big hospital 
in the country. The Norways Sanatorium 
is normally devoted to research diagnosis 
and intensive study. 

In 1894 Doctor Sterne was appointed to 
the chair of mental and nervous diseases 
in the Central College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, and subsequently was given a 
similar chair in the Indiana University 
School of Medicine. Nearly all of his in- 
dividual work at present is in consultation 
on nervous diseases and diagnosis. He is 
connected unofficially with clinics at Cen- 
tral Hospital and has held clinics on mental 
diseases there continuously every year 
since they were inaugurated. His con- 
nection with the City Hospital and Univer- 
sity has also been unbroken from the begin- 
ning, and he is one of the few men whose 
official record has been so continuous. 
Doctor Sterne has witnessed all the changes 
in amalgamation of state medical schools in 
Indiana. He has served as consulting 
neurologist to the City Hospital and dis- 



pensary, to the Deaconess Hospital, Flower 
Mission and other local institutions. He 
was at one time associate editor of the 
Journal of Mental Nervous Diseases at New 
York City and also of the Medical Monitor. 

Some of his most valuable work has been 
in the educational side of the profession. 
Many able physicians all over the country 
speak of him as their authority, and many 
of the results of his personal experience 
and observation have been co-ordinated and 
reduced to writing in the form of mono- 
graphs on nervous diseases and diagnosis. 
These monographs have been published and 
extensively incorporated in various text 
books. 

Doctor Sterne is a member of the med- 
ical section of the National Council of 
Defense, and is chairman of the Medical 
Defense Committee of the State Medical 
Association, and prepared the by-laws of 
that committee. He was honored with the 
presidency of the Ohio Valley Medical As- 
sociation in 1911 and in 1913 was president 
of the Mississippi Valley Medical Associa- 
tion. He is also a member of the various 
local medical societies, the American Med- 
ical Association and the Medico-Legal So- 
ciety of New York. 

In a business way Doctor Sterne is pres- 
ident of the Indiana Oaxaca Mining Com- 
pany, of which he was organizer. This 
company controls gold mining properties 
in Mexico. He is interested in other in- 
dustrial concerns in Indianapolis. He is 
a member of the University, Columbia, 
Highland, German House, and Independ- 
ent Athletic Clubs at Indianapolis, and 
takes his recreation chiefly in golf and 
hunting. In politics he is republican. 

March 4, 1905, Doctor Sterne married 
Miss Laura Mercy Laughlin, daughter of 
James A. and Mary (Carty) Laughlin of 
Cincinnati. Mrs. Sterne was an accom- 
plished musician. She died May 25, 1909, 
at the age of thirty-five. October 18, 1913, 
Doctor Sterne married Stella Gallup, 
daughter of John Gallup of Evanston, 
Illinois. Doctor Sterne is also a member 
of the American Association for the Ad- 
vancement of Science and from 1901 to 
1905 served as assistant surgeon general 
on the staff of Governor W. T. Durbin, 
and holds the rank of lieutenant colonel 
in the Indiana National Guards. 



1720 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Louis Koss. A genius for machinery 
and mechanical enterprise has been the 
actuating principle in the life and career 
of Louis Koss, president of the Capital 
Machine Company of Indianapolis. This 
business has grown and developed almost 
entirely upon the basis of the inventive 
originality and energy supplied by Mr. 
Koss, and is now one of the important com- 
panies in the United States manufacturing 
veneer machinery. It is one of Indianap- 
olis' most distinguished industries. 

As a boy Louis Koss entered the old 
Eagle machine shops. These shops were 
then located where the Union Station now 
stands. Here for Ave years he accepted 
every opportunity to cultivate his natural 
aptitude for machinery and inventions, and 
in that time he also became a finished 
workman. With this experience though 
with limited capital he opened a shop of 
his own on Biddle Street. At that time 
he began manufacturing machinery for the 
making of veneer. It was about that pe- 
riod that Indianapolis became one of the 
large centers of the veneer industry in 
the Middle West, and there was much local 
demand for machines capable of making 
materials used in nail kegs and barrels. 
His business grew and prospered, and he 
next moved to a better location on Ala- 
bama Street, opposite the Marion County 
Jail. When these quarters were outgrown 
he moved the plant to 502 South Penn- 
sylvania Street, where the Coil Heating 
Plant is now located. The final move was 
made in 1908 to the present extensive plant 
of the Capital Manufacturing Company at 
2801 Roosevelt Avenue. Mr. Koss has 
from the first been the guiding spirit in 
the development of this industry. The 
firm now manufactures all kinds of ma- 
chines and appliances for making veneer. 
This machinery has three distinct classifi- 
cations, depending upon the general 
method used in manufacture, and com- 
prises what may be described as rotary 
cutting machines, sliceing machines and 
saws. The Koss veneer making machines 
have been distributed to all parts of the 
world and are now being more extensively 
used than ever. 

Hon. Fred A. Sims. While essentially 
a business man and banker, no man has 
done more in recent years to infuse vitality 
and strength into the republican party of 



Indiana than Hon. Fred A. Sims of In- 
dianapolis. He is president of the Bank- 
ers Investment Company of that city, and 
during the Goodrich administration has 
also served as a member of the Indiana 
State Board of Tax Commissioners. 

From pioneer times the Sims family 
has been a prominent one in Clinton 
County, Indiana. Fred A. Sims was born 
at Frankfort, county seat of that county, 
October 8, 1867, son of James N. and Mar- 
garet (Allen) Sims. He was reared and 
educated at Frankfort, and with the ex- 
ception of a year in 1887-88 spent in Chi- 
cago, was a resident of Frankfort until he 
removed to Indianapolis. He served four 
years as mayor of that city and his grow- 
ing strength in the republican party of 
that section gradually brought him a state- 
wide leadership. For eleven years, begin- 
ning in 1896, he was a member of the Re- 
publican State Executive Committee from 
the Ninth District. In 1904 he was secre- 
tary of the State Executive Committee. 

Mr. Sims came to Indianapolis in March, 
1906, to become secretary of state of In- 
diana by appointment from the governor. 
He filled that office five years lacking three 
months. In December, 1910, the demo- 
cratic governor, Marshall, appointed him 
a member of the Board of Trustees of the 
Southeastern Hospital for the Insane. 
Early in 1911 Governor Marshall also ap- 
pointed him a member of the Board of 
Tax Commissioners of Indiana, but he 
resigned after serving a year. 

Mr. Sims was chairman of the Republi- 
can State Committee in 1912, and led his 
party in a campaign that was strenuous 
even in the annals of Indiana politics. He 
continued as state chairman until 1914. 
In that year Mr. Sims reorganized and be- 
came president of the company, which is 
now his principal business connection. 

September 1, 1917, Governor Goodrich 
appointed him a member of the State 
Board of Tax Commissioners. This honor 
was fittingly bestowed since Mr. Sims 
was one of the originators of the present 
tax commission law and was largely instru- 
mental in having it enacted. Because of 
his wide business and financial experience 
he is able to give the state useful and ex- 
ceedingly valuable services. June 6, 1918, 
Mr. Sims married Miss Elsa A. Dickson. 
She was born and reared in Indianapolis, 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1721 



and is a member of the city's most promi- 
nent families. 

Henry Lane Wilson. In the last quar- 
ter of a century probably no Indianan has 
played a larger and more important role 
in the complexities of modern diplomacy 
and the adjustment of international rela- 
tions than Henry Lane Wilson, who for 
nearly a score of years had front rank 
among American diplomats abroad. For 
several years he was United States minister 
to Belgium, but the work which brought 
him his chief fame was as minister to Chile 
and later to Mexico, where he remained at 
his post of duty until the disruption of that 
republic through revolution. His long 
residence in Latin America has brought 
him a knowledge of the people and the 
economic and political affairs of those coun- 
tries such as probably no other living 
American possesses. 

His diplomatic services constitute only 
one phase of a notable family record in 
Indiana, and through several generations 
the Wilsons of Indiana have been men of 
prominence in their own state and in the 
nation. 

The founder of the family in Indiana 
was John Wilson, who was born November 
29, 1796, at Lancaster, Lincoln County, 
Kentucky. His father, Rev. James Wil- 
son, D. D., a Presbyterian clergyman, with 
his wife Agnes (McKee) Wilson, came 
from Staunton, Augusta County, Virginia, 
to Lincoln County, Kentucky, when the 
latter commonwealth was on the frontier 
and the scene of active conflict between 
advancing civilization and the barbarous 
red men and forest conditions. The fam- 
ily ancestor goes back to County Down, 
Ireland. One of the name, James Wilson, 
attained the rank of colonel in the colonial 
armies of the Revolution. Another served 
in Congress for a number of years from 
Virginia. Agnes (McKee) Wilson was a 
daughter of Col. William McKee, a prom- 
inent figure in the early history of the 
United States. He was a native of County 
Down, Ireland, and came to America as a 
colonel in the British army, taking part in 
the war in Canada against the French. 
Later he settled in Virginia, married, and 
when the Revolutionary war came on es- 
poused the cause of the colonies and at- 
tained the rank of colonel. He was also 
on the border during the Indian wars. 



He commanded the fort at Point Pleasant, 
and that place today is known as McKees- 
port, Pennsylvania, named in his honor. 
He was a member of the Constitutional 
Convention of Virginia, and for valiant 
services in war was awarded 4,000 acres 
of land in Kentucky, and moved west to 
occupy these possessions. 

Such ancestry constituted John Wilson 
a man of sturdiest mold, of keen intellect, 
and of unusual force of character. On ac- 
count of his dislike of slavery he left Ken- 
tucky, spent a year in Illinois and in 1822 
settled at Crawfordsville, Indiana. In 
1823 he married Margaret Cochran. John 
Wilson was Crawfordsville 's first postmas- 
ter, keeping the office in a log cabin. In 
1823 he was elected the first Circuit Court 
clerk of Montgomery County, a position he 
held continuously for fourteen years. At 
this election the total voting population of 
the county was only sixty. In 1825, with 
two others, he laid out the town of La- 
fayette. In 1840 he was elected to the 
State Legislature and served one term. 
John Wilson became a wealthy man for 
those days, his possessions comprising 
farms, stores and other properties. In 
1857 he retired from the more active cares 
of life, and moving to a large tract of land 
he had bought in Tippecanoe County lived 
there until 1863, when he, returned to 
Crawfordsville and died in that city the 
following year. 

Among his large and interesting family 
probably the best known was James Wil- 
son. He was born at Crawfordsville, April 
9, 1825. In 1842, at the age of seventeen, 
he graduated from Wabash College. He 
read law with Gen. Tilghman H. Howard 
at Rockville, but though qualified was not 
admitted to the bar on account of his youth. 
He volunteered his services in the war 
against Mexico, and was in all the engage- 
ments of the campaign under General 
Scott. Thus as a boy Henry Lane Wilson 
heard from his father's lips many facts 
concerning the people of the republic to 
which years afterward he was sent as a 
minister. After the war James Wilson 
practiced law in Crawfordsville until 1856. 
In that year he was elected to Congress, 
defeating the "Sycamore of the Wabash" 
Dan Voorhees. He was re-elected, but 
declined a third nomination. His con- 
gressional career fell in the stormiest pe- 



Vol. IV— 11 



1722 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



riod of national destiny, and he went to 
Congress as an ardent republican and stood 
consistently on the platform of his party 
and was an avowed enemy of slavery. 
Both in Congress and at home he helped 
to bring those forces together which were 
gaming momentum and eventually saved 
the Union from destruction. At the close 
of his Congressional career and the begin- 
ning of the war he was made post quarter- 
master by President Lincoln. Later he 
rendered active service in the ranks as 
major and lieutenant-colonel, and at the 
close of the war was honorably mustered 
out as colonel A. D. C. 

Again he resumed his legal practice at 
Crawfordsville, but in a short time was in- 
duced to become minister to Venezuela at 
a time when gravely important matters 
were pending between that country and the 
United States. He was suddenly stricken 
with a fatal illness and died at Caracas in 
1867, at the age of forty-two. While fully 
ten years of his brief active life had been 
given to public affairs, he attained rank as 
one of the ablest members of the Indiana 
bar, and was a splendid type of the unself- 
ish, high-minded and energetic citizen. 
James Wilson married Emma Ingersoll. 
Their three sons were John Lockwood, 
Tilghman Howard, and Henry Lane. 
Tilghman H. died in early manhood. 

Space should be given here for a brief 
record of the career of John Lockwood 
Wilson, oldest brother of Henry L. Wil- 
son. He was born August 7, 1850, grad- 
uated in the classical course from Wabash 
College in 1874, and for a time was em- 
ployed in a department at Washington. 
Later he practiced law at Crawfordsville. 
In 1880 he was elected to the State Legis- 
lature from his native county. President 
Harrison appointed him land agent at 
Colfax in Washington Territory, and while 
there he became actively interested in ter- 
ritorial affairs. He was sent as a delegate 
to Congress from the territory, and when 
Washington was admitted to the Union 
was one of the first congressmen elected 
from the state. For four years he repre- 
sented Washington State in the United 
States Senate. Senator Wilson died No- 
vember 6, 1912. He married Edna Hart- 
man Sweet, of Crawfordsville, and their 
only child is Mrs. H. Clay Goodloe, of Lex- 
ington, Kentucky. 



Henry Lane Wilson, only surviving 
member of his father's family, was born 
at Crawfordsville, Indiana, November 3, 
1856. He graduated from Wabash Col- 
lege A. B. in 1879, and subsequently was 
honored with the degree Master of Arts 
from the same institution. Mr. Wilson 
studied law with the firm of McDonald & 
Butler at Indianapolis. But after a brief 
experience as a practicing lawyer he took 
up journalism as owner and editor of the 
Lafayette Daily Journal. He was a citizen 
of Lafayette from 1882 to 1885, and on 
selling the newspaper went west to Spo- 
kane, Washington, where he built up a 
highly successful and remunerative law 
practice and also engaged in banking. 
Washington Territory was then rapidly 
developing and Mr. Wilson gradually 
abandoned law for the more profitable busi- 
ness of real estate. He organized several 
trust companies, banks and other corpora- 
tions, and acquired a considerable private 
fortune, most of which, however, was lost 
in the panic of 1893. Mr. Wilson re- 
mained a resident of Washington until 
1896. In the meantime he had become 
identified with politics not as a candidate 
for office but as a man interested in good 
government. Upon the election of Benja- 
min Harrison as president he was offered 
the post of minister to Venezuela in 1899, 
but declined. In 1896 he took a promi- 
nent part in the campaign through Wash- 
ington, Idaho and Montana in the election 
of William McKinley as president. Mr. 
McKinley tendered him the post of min- 
ister to Chile and he remained in that 
South American country in that mission 
for eight years, from 1897 to 1905. 

Mr. Wilson never regarded any of his 
diplomatic honors as a sinecure. He was 
an indefatigable worker, and during his 
ministry to Chile he succeeded in estab- 
lishing cordial relations between that gov- 
ernment and that of the United States, and 
gained the unlimited confidence of the Chil- 
ean people. He was credited on two occa- 
sions with being chiefly responsible for pre- 
venting the outbreak of war between Chile 
and the Argentine Republic. An unusual 
mark of regard and appreciation of his 
valued services was paid in 1911 when the 
National University of Chile conferred 
upon him the degree Doctor of Philosophy, 
Philology and Pine Arts. This distinction 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1723 



comes from the oldest university in the 
Western Hemisphere, and is an honor that 
was never before conferred upon a North 
American. 

While Mr. "Wilson was at Chile he was 
twice transferred to other posts, to Portu- 
gal and Greece, but at his own request he 
was permitted to retain the Chilean post 
In 1903, in recognition of his important 
work in preventing war between Chile and 
Argentine, President Roosevelt appointed 
him minister to Greece, but at his own re- 
quest he was permitted to remain in Chile. 

In 1904 President Roosevelt appointed 
him minister to Belgium. In announcing 
this appointment to the Associated Press 
Mr. Roosevelt said : ' ' This appointment is 
not made for political consideration, but 
solely for meritorious service performed." 
As Envoy Extraordinary and Minister 
Plenipotentiary Mr. Wilson remained in 
that now unhappy and stricken country 
of Belgium from 1905 to 1910. When 
President Taft came into the White House 
he was offered first the Russian and then 
the Austrian ambassadorship, but declined 
each. He was appointed ambassador to 
Turkey, but before he qualified this ap- 
pointment was changed to ambassador to 
Mexico. His appointment was confirmed 
by the Senate within one hour after his 
name had been submitted. 

During the period from 1909 to 1913 no 
American ambassadorship involved more 
complexing and delicate responsibilities 
than that of minister to Mexico. Mr. Wil- 
son was head of the American embassy 
in Mexico during the various successive 
waves of revolution which eventually 
plunged that country into anarchy and 
brought about the first steps of interven- 
tion on the part of the armed forces of 
the United States. Mr. Wilson continued 
his work as ambassador until July, 1913, 
when he was summoned to Washington by 
President Wilson and resigned the post, 
his resignation taking effect in October, 
1913. That closed a diplomatic career of 
seventeen years, the longest consecutive 
service by an American as chief of foreign 
missions. 

Since that time Mr. Wilson has remained 
a resident of Indianapolis, and has spent 
much of his time on the lecture platform. 
In the presidential campaign of 1916 he 
was one of the leading speakers in pro- 



moting the candidacy of Mr. Hughes. 
Among other honors he was special am- 
bassador from the United States at the 
crowning of King Albert of Belgium, and 
was American delegate to the Brussels Con- 
ference on Collisions at Sea and also to a 
conference to regulate the use of arms in 
Africa. Mr. Wilson has served as vice 
president of the World Court League, of 
the Security League and the League to 
Enforce Peace. He has written extensively 
for magazines and periodicals on political, 
scientific, and fictional themes, his work as 
a fiction writer being under a nome de 
plume. Mr. Wilson is a member of the 
Sons of the American Revolution, Society 
of Colonial Wars, of the Columbia Club 
at Indianapolis, of the Masonic Order, and 
the Theta Delta Chi college fraternity. 

In October, 1885, he married Miss Alice 
Vajen, daughter of John H. Vajen, a citi- 
zen of wide prominence in Indiana. Mr. 
and Mrs. Wilson have three children. 
John Vajen, the oldest, is a graduate of 
Wabash College and a practicing lawyer 
at Indianapolis. Warden McKee, the sec- 
ond son, is a graduate of Cornell Univer- 
sity, was formerly attache of the Foreign- 
Department of the Guarantee Trust Com- 
pany of New York City, and is now a 
lieutenant in the Interpreters Corps of the 
General Staff of the United States Army. 
The youngest son, Stewart C, also a grad- 
uate of Cornell University, is serving with 
the rank of lieutenant in the One Hundred 
and Thirteenth United States Engineers 
in France. 

Medpord B. Wilson, more than forty 
years active in banking circles in Indiana, 
is an honored figure in the business life of 
this state, and though he has been nomi- 
nally retired since attaining the age of 
three score and ten, is still an executive 
officer in one or two business institutions 
and still occupies a place of usefulness and 
influence in his home city. 

Though a resident of Indiana since early 
manhood Mr. Wilson was born at Pales- 
tine, Crawford County, Illinois, in Decem- 
ber, 1845. He was the seventh among 
nine sons and one daughter born to Isaac 
N. and Hannah Harness (Decker) Wilson. 
This branch of the Wilson family is Scotch- 
Irish, and was founded in America by a 
Presbyterian clergyman who came from 



1724 



INDIANA .AND INDIANANS 



Belfast before the Revolutionary war. In 
the maternal line the Deckers were Hol- 
land Dutch. Mrs. Isaac Wilson had 
some uncles by the name of Decker, who 
were very prominent, one of them serving 
on the first Grand Jury ever held in the 
Territory of Indiana, and two others by 
the name of Mullady being founders of 
the Catholic University in Washington. 
Isaac N. Wilson and wife were both born 
in the same section of what is now West 
Virginia, the former at Moorefield and 
the latter at Romney. Isaac Wilson when 
a young man went to Illinois in 1816 with 
his parents, and Miss Decker went to that 
state with her parents the following year. 
Isaac Wilson was a successful business 
man and honored citizen of Crawford 
County, Illinois, until his death. 

Reared in a home of substantial char- 
acter, Medford B. Wilson received an edu- 
cation to those of most boys and girls of 
his day. He attended the public schools 
and an academy in his native town, spent 
two years in Vincennes University at Vin- 
cennes, Indiana, and then went abroad 
and completed a four years' course in com- 
mercial law and other subjects at the Uni- 
versity of Marburg, Hesse Cassel, Ger- 
many. Mr. Wilson was one of the few 
young men of the Middle West of his gen- 
eration who went abroad to finish their 
education. 

On returning to the United States in 
1870 he established the first bank at 
Sullivan, Indiana, known as the Sulli- 
van County Bank, incorporated under the 
state banking laws. This was subsequently 
reorganized as the First National Bank, 
and Mr. Wilson continued its president for 
more than twenty years. His experience 
and success as a country banker opened 
up a still larger field for him at Indian- 
apolis, of which city he has been a resident 
since 1889. Here he brought about the 
organization of the Capital National Bank, 
which was incorporated in December, 1889, 
with a capital stock of $300,000. He was 
president of the Capital National until 
January, 1904, when he resigned and dis- 
posed of his stock to become president of 
the Columbia National Bank. At the 
time of the consolidation of the Columbia 
National and the Union National banks 
Mr. Wilson retired from direct participa- 
tion in banking, and has since devoted him- 



self to his private business interests. He 
is now vice president of the American 
Buncher Manufacturing Company of In- 
dianapolis and is treasurer of the Crown 
Potteries Company of Evansville. 

It is as a successful financier and busi- 
ness man that Mr. Wilson is best known 
throughout the state, and through these 
lines he has contributed his chief services. 
He has always been a democrat but with- 
out political ambition, is a thirty-second 
degree Scottish Rite Mason and a mem- 
ber of Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine. 
He has been a working member of the 
Indianapolis Board of Trade, of the Com- 
mercial Club, the University and Country 
clubs, and he and his wife are active in 
the Presbyterian Church. 

In 1872 he married Miss Nettie A. Ames. 
She was born at Geneva, Ohio, but was 
reared in Detroit and Cleveland, being 
a resident of the latter city at the time 
of her marriage. The five daughters of 
Mr. and Mrs. Wilson are : Daisey, who 
married Frank F. Churchman, of Indian- 
apolis, and they have two sons. Wilson 
and Frank L. ; Sarah, wife of James L. 
Floyd, of Indianapolis ; Ruth, who mar- 
ried George M. B. Hawley; Edith, wife of 
William H. Stafford, and their four chil- 
dren are : Edith Ann, William H., Sybil, 
and Barbara; and Clare, who married 
Capt. Reginald W. Hughes, of the Eightj r - 
Ninth Division U. S. A., and now in the 
Army of Occupation in Germany. 

George S. Schauer. For a quarter of 
a century George S. Schauer has been one 
of the quiet, hard working, successful busi- 
ness men of Indianapolis, an expert ma- 
chinist by trade, gradually promoting 
himself to successful business as a con- 
tractor. 

Mr. Schauer was born in Germany, 
though for years an American citizen. 
His birth occurred at Roettingen on the 
Tauber, Bavaria, January 20, 1869. He 
is thus of the South German people, which 
more than any other class has distin- 
guished itself as followers of the flame of 
liberty and furnished perhaps a bulk of 
the patriots to the German revolution of 
1848. His own father was a participant 
in that revolution, and after it failed fled 
to Switzerland. Later he was allowed to 
return to his native Bavaria. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1725 



George S. Schauer was educated in the 
common school system of his native city, 
and was apprenticed to and learned the 
trade of machinist. That has been his 
lifelong occupation. His apprenticeship 
over, he traveled as a journeyman through 
various cities of Germany, and on reach- 
ing the prescribed age also answered the 
call to military service. On account of a 
physical disability he served only a year 
and a half instead of the required three 
years. 

Early in his vigorous young manhood 
Mr. Schauer came to America and arrived 
at Indianapolis May 5, 1893. This city 
has since been his home, and here he mar- 
ried and brought up a family. For a 
number of years he was employed at his 
trade of machinist, but finally took up con- 
tracting and built up a good and substan- 
tial business. He is a democrat in politics, 
and for years has been identified with those 
various movements which have sought the 
welfare and advancement of people and 
institutions of his home city and state. 
Mr. Schauer married Miss Margreth Kun- 
kel. She is of German ancestry, a native 
of Franklin County, Indiana. Twelve 
children were born to their marriage, and 
the seven now living are: Harry G., 
Helena, Marguerite, Amelia, Marie, Paul 
and Francis. 

"While this record constitutes Mr. 
Schauer a representative and useful citi- 
zen of his home state, and as such entitled 
to special recognition, it is his part in the 
larger program of national affairs that 
makes his name of special interest at the 
present. He followed with the keenest in- 
terest and appreciation the early phases 
of the great World war, and after America 
was drawn into the vortex he felt that he 
had an individual part to play above the 
normal and routine sacrifices of an Amer- 
ican citizen. He is a man of education, 
and his long practice of reading and ob- 
servation has given him a more than ordi- 
nary knowledge of German history and 
American institutions. He knows the Ger- 
man character thoroughly, and offered 
some interesting commentaries that serve 
to explain to the American some of the ap- 
parent anomalies existing between the 
German people and its military and gov- 
ernmental system. Mr. Schauer says that 
the Prussian military caste, as represented 



by the Kaiser, plays upon two of the most 
noble of human traits — obedience and loy- 
alty—which are thoroughly grounded in 
German character, in order to further its 
terrible ambitions. This German military 
system, in the opinion of Mr. Schauer, 
serves to debase and brutalize the soldier 
and make him a ready tool to do any act 
of atrocity, no matter how inhuman. In 
America the average German's love and 
reverence for the Fatherland is directed 
not toward the peculiar military institu- 
tions, but is based on happy memories and 
traditions and the beauties of home life. 
Many Germans in their own country as 
well as in America have been brought to 
believe that these institutions are at stake 
in the war, and not the military system. 
This view has, of course, been carefully 
cultivated by the German ruling class, who 
have in effect exploited the German masses 
and deluded them into believing that their 
very life and existence were threatened, 
carefully concealing the head and front of 
offense, German militarism. 

Realizing these distinctions himself, Mr. 
Schauer has felt it his duty to educate 
others of German birth and descent and 
convince them of the actual condition of 
affairs in Germany of today. Therefore, 
at a great sacrifice of his own business, 
he has taken up work that deserves to be 
better known by the nation at large. 
Without realizing that an organization had 
been perfected in New York known as the 
Friends of German Democracy, Mr. 
Schauer in February, 1918, called a meet- 
ing of German people in Indianapolis, for 
which he prepared resolutions setting forth 
his principles and his ideas of an organi- 
zation. About that time he received some 
literature from the national headquarters 
from the Friends of German Democracy 
at New York, and at once allied himself 
with this organization, giving it his enthu- 
siastic support. The expressed purpose of 
the national organization is "to further 
democracy by aiding the people of Ger- 
many to establish in Germany a govern- 
ment responsible to the people," in line 
with President Wilson's oft repeated dis- 
tinctions between the German people and 
their rulers, and to require of all society 
members that they ' ' favor a vigorous pros- 
ecution of the war until the aims of the 



1726 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



United States Government shall be at- 
tained. ' ' 

Mr. Schauer was one of the organizers 
of the Indiana branch of this society and 
was made its secretary. Since then he has 
been appointed to his present position as 
state organizer for Indiana of the Friends 
of German Democracy, and as such he is 
constantly busy lecturing through the 
state, distributing literature, writing let- 
ters, etc. Before he was appointed to this 
position he gave up his own business and 
devoted several weeks at his own expense 
to teaching and spreading the principles 
of the society. He lectured to the German 
people in their own language, and his work 
is converting thousands of them from their 
former views. Thus he is one of the indi- 
viduals whose influence is of the greatest 
value to our government in these times. 
The object and activities of the Friends of 
German Democracy have received the sanc- 
tion and encouragement of the authorities 
at Washington. The president of the Na- 
tional Society is Franz Sigel, a son of Gen. 
Franz Sigel, who was one of the famous 
Union commanders in our Civil war. 

Feed J. Schlegel. From an appren- 
ticeship in a furniture factory at wages 
of two dollars and a half a week Fred J. 
Schlegel has laboriously improved his abil- 
ities and his opportunities, and is now one 
of the leading building contractors of In- 
dianapolis. 

Born in Germany April 4, 1876, son of 
Frederick and Margaret (Rieder) Schle- 
gel. he was only six years old when his 
father died in Germany in 1882. In 1891, 
at the age of fifteen he accompanied his 
widowed mother to America and located 
at Indianapolis. Mr. Schlegel is an Amer- 
ican citizen, and since early youth has 
been devoted to the institutions and ideals 
of this country. 

It was soon after he came to Indian- 
apolis that he went to work in a fiu-niture 
factory at the small compensation named. 
Though it hardly provided him with a 
bare living, he determined to serve out 
his time in order to have a mechanical 
trade upon which he could depend in the 
future. He worked as an apprentice five 
years, and later for eight months was in 
the employ of Brown & Ketcham, but is 
indebted for his best training as a carpen- 



ter and general contractor to William P. 
Jungclaus of the William P. Junpclaus 
Company. He was in his service for eigh- 
teen years, and during that time was 
made familiar with every detail of the 
building business. For eight years he was 
the firm's superintendent, and for three 
years was estimator of contracts. 

In 1914 Mr. Schlegel utilized and cap- 
italized his long experience and training 
by engaging in business for himself in 
partnership with Frank E. Roehm under 
the name Schlegel & Roehm. They are 
general contractors of buildings, with 
offices in the Lombard Building, and have 
a complete organization and service espe- 
cially adapted to the construction of large 
buildings, many examples of their work 
being in evidence in Indianapolis. 

Mr. Schlegel is affiliated with Pentalpha 
Lodge No. 564, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons^with Keystone Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, with Scottish Rite Consistory, 
thirty-second degree, and with Murat Tem- 
ple of the Mystic Shrine. He is also an 
Odd Fellow and Red Man and votes as a 
republican. 

In December, 1901, Mr. Schlegel mar- 
ried at Indianapolis Miss Margaret Staen- 
del. They have one son, Frederick G., 
born December 16, 1909. 

Janet Scudder. Terre Haute claims 
the well known sculptor, Janet Scudder, 
among her native daughters. She was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Terre Haute, 
and afterward attended some of the most 
celebrated art institutes of this country 
and Europe. She was awarded the Bronze 
Medal in the Chicago Exposition in 1893, 
the prize medal at the St. Louis Exposi- 
tion in 1904, received honorary mention 
in the Salon, Paris, and her works are 
now exhibited in this country and abroad. 
She resides in New York City. 

Ira A. Minnick. Twenty years ago Ira 
A. Minnick selected Indianapolis as the 
center of his business activities. For sev- 
eral years he occupied a very inconspic- 
uous role, quietly and industriously per- 
forming his duties, but he has made a, 
steady climb to the heights of achievement 
and is now widely known as president of 
the National Dry Kiln Company of that 
city. 




$<s.i&L^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1727 



He belongs to a pioneer Indiana family. 
His great-grandfather was born in Ger- 
many and founded the family in this coun- 
try. The first two generations retained 
the old spelling of the family name as Min- 
nich. The grandfather of Ira A. Minnick, 
William Minnick, a native of Virginia, 
moved from that state to Pennsylvania and 
then brought his family to Wayne County, 
Indiana, when this was one vast wilder- 
ness inhabited mostly by Indians and wild 
animals. William Minnick finally located 
near Somerset in Wabash County, where 
he had his home the rest of his life. He 
was the father of seven children. 

Jacob Minnick, father of Ira, was born 
in Pennsylvania, but grew up in Indiana 
in close touch with pioneer scenes. As a 
boy he helped denude the land of its heavy 
growth of timber, to grub stumps, to plant 
the grain by hand, to reap and thresh in 
the old fashioned way, and thus had a part 
in making Indiana what it is today. He 
was a man highly esteemed for his up- 
right life and sterling qualities. In the 
latter part of 1840 he located in Richland 
Township of Grant County, and on his 
farm there pursued its quiet vocation until 
his death in May, 1900. He reared his 
children to useful lives and to good Amer- 
ican citizenship. Jacob Minnick married 
Sarah G. Lawshe, a daughter of Peter 
Lawshe, who was a pioneer Dunkard of 
Northeastern Indiana. She died in May, 
1909. Jacob Minnick was well known in 
Grant County in a public way, served as 
county commissioner and in other positions. 
He and his wife had eight children, and 
the six to reach mature years were : Hor- 
ace R., Charles S., Henry F., Cary F., 
who married Rev. Henry Neff, Amanda, 
wife of Oscar E. Haynes, and Ira A. 

Ira A. Minnick is an example of what 
a young American can accomplish through 
his own unaided efforts. He was bom on 
his father's farm in Grant County, Octo- 
ber 23, 1878, and there grew to man's es- 
tate. While he had no particular liking 
for school work, he managed to secure 
the foundation of a practical education in 
spelling and mathematics. In 1897, at 
the age of nineteen, he came to Indianap- 
olis as a student in a business college. In 
the fall of 1898 soon after leaving college, 
he became a bookkeeper for the Standard 
Dry Kiln Company. While connected 
with that corporation in the above capac- 



ity, he gained much valuable knowledge 
of general business routine and a thor- 
oughly practical and detailed acquaint- 
ance with the dry kiln industry. Then, 
in 1905, he became a salesman for the Na- 
tional Dry Kiln Company, and with that 
business his connection has since been con- 
tinuous. He soon acquired a stock inter- 
est in the company and since 1914 has 
been its president and active head. 

Mr. Minnick is essentially a progressive 
business man with modern ideas and char- 
acteristic American push. He is a Mason, 
being a member of Oriental Lodge, No. 
500, Free and Accepted Masons, a mem- 
ber of Adoniram Grand Lodge of Perfec- 
tion of Indianapolis, Indiana, has attained 
the thirty-second degree of Scottish Rite 
and is a member of Murat Temple, An- 
cient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. 

June 22, 1904, he married Miss Clara 
C. McLaughlin, daughter of Thomas Mc- 
Laughlin, of Indianapolis. They have one 
daughter, Mary Louise. 

Alic J. Lupear. One of the most im- 
pressive and at the same time simplest cere- 
monies that ever marked an Independence 
Day celebration in America occurred July 
4, 1918, when at Mount Vernon before 
President Wilson and a host of visitors 
the representatives of thirty-three differ- 
ent nations of the world, but all Americans 
in citizenship, filed before the tomb of the 
immortal Washington and quietly laid 
their tribute of flowers and pledged their 
loyalty and allegiance to America and the 
principles and ideals for which this coun- 
try and its government have stood. 

Of the thirty-three representatives in 
that delegation perhaps none emphasized 
more perfectly the forces and influences 
which mold the emigrant received from 
foreign lands than the man who stood for 
the race of the Roumanian people. This 
Roumanian representative was Alic J. Lu- 
pear, a well known Indianapolis lawyer 
who had come to America from Roumania 
about fifteen years ago, poor and friend- 
less, without knowledge of the English lan- 
guage, but has achieved a place of success 
and dignity as an American citizen, and 
upon selection and request of the Com- 
mittee on Public Information, of which 
Mr. George Creel is chairman, was chosen 
to represent his entire race at the historic 



1728 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



occasion above noted. The dignity and 
honor were especially appreciated by Mr. 
Lupear since it is estimated that about 
300,000 Americans are of Roumanian 
race and ancestry, about 25,000 of whom 
are in Indiana. 

Mr. Lupear was born in 1886 in the 
town of Lucia, Roumania, son of John 
and Anna (Buhoi) Lupear. When he 
was a small child his parents moved to the 
town of Mercurea, Transylvania, which is 
the Roumanian section of Austria-Hun- 
gary, and there Mr. Lupear grew up and 
attended school. Papers which he still 
preserves, issued by his professors, show 
that he made excellent grades in school. 
His parents were communicants of the 
Greek Orthodox Church and the son was 
baptized in that faith. 

At the age of seventeen, in 1903, he 
came to America, first going to Youngs- 
town, Ohio, whither an older brother had 
preceded him. For about six months he 
worked in a rolling mill in that city. He 
was later employed in the Ohio coal mines. 
Since 1906 Mr. Lupear has had his home 
in Indianapolis. The first day of his ar- 
rival he found employment as a laborer on 
the construction of the New York Store. 
Later for a time he was in the sausage de- 
partment of Kingan & Company, meat 
packers. 

Even without the influences which have 
been recently set in motion for the educa- 
tion and training of foreign born residents 
for utilization of the opportunities of 
American citizenship, this young Rouman- 
ian set himself seriously to work to adapt 
himself to American life and traditions, 
and put himself upon the plane of equal 
opportunity with those of native birth 
and parentage. It was largely an indi- 
vidual process, one of the instruments of 
which was the night schools of Indiana- 
polis, which he attended altogether for 
eight years, including his course in the 
Benjamin Harrison Law School. He at- 
tended a business college for six months. 
Through those schools and his work he ac- 
quired a thorough knowledge of the Eng- 
lish language, so that when he was grad- 
uated from the law school in the class of 
1916 he was enabled to enter at once into 
practice. He is a graceful, and accom- 
plished speaker and writer. He carries on 
a general practice of law in the County, 
State, and Federal Courts. 



Mr. Lupear in addition to the signal 
honor recently paid, him was also one of 
the six delegates who drew up the resolu- 
tions and eloquent address which was de- 
livered by Felix. J. Streyckmans of Chi- 
cago, a native Belgium, at the time of the 
Mount Vernon gathering. Mr. Lupear is 
a prominent leader among his people for 
the union of Roumanian beneficial socie- 
ties. He is one of the leaders active in 
marshalling the forces of Roumanians in 
America to aid in the prosecution of the 
present war for democracy. 

At Chicago October 23, 1914, Mr. Lu- 
pear married Miss Ellen Hanes, of In- 
dianapolis. Mrs. Lupear was born at Vin- 
cennes, Indiana, and is a young woman of 
the highest attainments. She is a grad- 
uate of the Teachers College of Indiana- 
polis and was at one time a kindergarten 
teacher in the city schools, and then took 
up educational work in connection with 
the Foreigners' House at 617 Pearl Street. 
She became prominent in settlement work 
in the foreign colony of Indianapolis, and 
her quiet and unostentatious manner and 
the vital service which she rendered 
among the Roumanians, Servians, and 
Hungarians brought her the title in that 
quarter of the city of "The Little Angel." 
Mr. and Mrs. Lupear have two little daugh- 
ters, Elana Marie and Jannette Frosina 
Lupear. 

Mr. Lupear is a member of the Masonic 
Order having joined Oriental Lodge, No. 
500, Free and Accepted Masons, Oriental 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, Indianapolis 
Council Royal and Select Masons, and Ra- 
per Commandery No. 1, Knights Templar 
and also member of Murat Temple Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 

Lewis Meier. Indianapolis has known 
two men by the name Lewis Meier, father 
and son, and both of them have contrib- 
uted in notable measure to the business 
upbuilding of the city. 

The senior" Lewis Meier was one of the 
pioneer manufacturers of garments in In- 
dianapolis. During the Civil war he was 
in the dry goods business with William 
Buschman. His store was located just 
north of where the Thornburg drug store 
now is. About thirty-two years ago, Mr. 
Meier began the manufacture of overalls 
and various other garments, and gradually 
built up a business and extended the plant 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1729 



until its present successor is one of the 
large institutions of the city, located at 
Central and Fort Wayne avenue. The 
products of this plant now go all over the 
world. Its most familiar output is the 
Auto brand of overalls. 

Lewis Meier, Sr., was born in Germany 
in 1841 and died in February, 1901. He 
came to Indianapolis when a youth of 
eighteen and his first work here was in 
the shipping room of Schnull & Company. 
At the same time he attended night school 
in order to perfect his knowledge of Eng- 
lish. He is remembered as a very strong 
and resourceful man, one who was, never- 
theless, slow to anger, but when thoroughly 
aroused was a match for several men of 
ordinary size. During Civil war times 
there were many tough characters who 
threatened peace and order. Mr. Meier 
had considerable money about his prem- 
ises, concealed there rather than entrust it 
to the banks, which were not so reliable in 
those days as now. Some drunken pests 
attempted to break into the store, and Mr. 
Meier met them on their own ground and 
after a brief but severe conflict routed the 
entire lot. His business character was 
that of a sturdy, honest and upright man, 
who had no great desire for wealth or its 
accumulation, valuing money merely for 
the benefit it would bring his family. 

He married Caroline Finke, who was 
born in Germany and came with her par- 
ents to America, first locating at Musca- 
tine, Iowa. She died in September, 1916, 
at the age of sixty-seven. She was a mem- 
ber of the Zion Evangelical Church. Lewis 
Meier, Sr., was affiliated with the Maen- 
nerchor, the Turn Verein and other Ger- 
man societies. He and his wife had four 
children, Lewis, Charlotte, Elsie and Anna. 

Lewis Meier, Jr., has been conspicuous 
in Indianapolis business affairs as a meat 
packer. Some years ago he organized the 
Meier Packing Company, of which he is 
the active manager. This plant was for- 
merly conducted as the Reiffel Packing 
and Provision Company. It has become the 
instrument of a large and extensive busi- 
ness, and its products are sold all over 
Indianapolis and surrounding territory. 
He is active in the Board of Trade. Mr. 
Meier is a member of Oriental Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Indianapolis, 
and the Scottish Rite bodies. 



Henry Zwick. Some of the finest char- 
acters in American life are often hidden 
and fail to receive the attention and the 
tributes which they deserve because they 
never sought nor attained to the honors 
of politics and those positions which are 
popularly considered the distinctions of 
life. One of these unassuming men whose 
work nevertheless contributed to the well 
being of humanity and whose worth is 
appreciated by his many friends as well 
as by his family and descendants, was the 
late Henry Zwick of Indianapolis, who died 
in that city April 7, 1916. 

He was born December 23, 1836, in West- 
phalia, Germany, and had lived to be al- 
most fourscore. He w T as one of the five 
children of Henry and Carlotta (Myer) 
Zwick. His mother died in Germany about 
the time he had completed his education 
in the common schools. Then in 1851 
Henry Zwick, Sr., emigrated alone to the 
United States, and locating at Fort Wayne, 
Indiana, established himself in his trade 
as a tailor. In those years it was custom- 
ary for a tailor to go from house to house 
cutting and fitting garments for his patrons 
instead of having a shop at which his cus- 
tomers sought him. After thus getting 
established in business his two sons, in- 
cluding Henry, joined him in 1852. 

The late Henry Zwick rapidly took up 
American ways and proved himself reliant 
and sturdy, and became skilled and well 
versed in the carpenter's trade. Before 
reaching his majority he came to Indian- 
apolis, and many houses and barns still 
in use in this city were erected by him. 

When the Civil war came on he displayed 
his patriotism by offering his services to 
the government, and on June 22, 1861, was 
enrolled in the Bracken Rangers, a cavalry 
organization. He was in the army three 
years. He was in the early West Virginia 
campaigns, participating in the battles of 
Beverly, Blue Ridge and Cheat Mountain. 
Later he was captured and spent five 
months in Libby Prison at Richmond. At 
the end of his military career after receiv- 
ing his honorable discharge he participated 
in the Grand Review at Washington. 

After the Civil war Henry Zwick came 
to Indianapolis and for thirty-five conse- 
cutive years was employed as a carpenter 
by the Pennsylvania Railway Company. 
These long continued services finally re- 



1730 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ceived recognition and he was granted a 
life pension and given an honorable retire- 
ment. 

Thus Henry Zwick attained no distinc- 
tion in letters or politics, and yet in the 
everyday sphere of life he was a part of 
all that stood for good citizenship, as meas- 
ured by skillful performance of duty and 
the bearing of all obligations imposed upon 
him. He lived unostentatiously, and when 
his day's work was done he found his 
greatest happiness in the quietude of his 
home surrounded by those who knew and 
loved him best. His counsel and advice 
are cherished in the hearts of his descend- 
ants. 

He married Caroline Vogt, and they be- 
came parents of five children: Henry F., 
Charles F., Fred C, Caroline, now Mrs. 
Luther W. Yancey, and Emma. All are 
living except Emma who died at the age 
of five years. 

Charles F. Zwick, son of the late Henry 
Zwick, is one of Indianapolis' prominent 
manufacturers, and, in fact, as head of 
the Indianapolis Glove Company is direct- 
ing one of the important industries of the 
middle west. 

He was born at Fort Wayne, Indiana, 
February 7, 1869, but from early child- 
hood has lived in Indianapolis. He was 
educated here in the local schools and 
learned the machinist's trade with Nor- 
dyke & Marmon, and subsequently was 
employed by C. F. Smith, a pioneer manu- 
facturer of "Safety" bicycles. For eight 
years he was also in the employ of the 
United States Playing Card Company, at 
first at Indianapolis and later at Cincin- 
nati. 

For about a year Mr. Zwick conducted 
a hat store in Indianapolis, and then, as- 
sociated with Brodehurst Elsey and M. E. 
Reagan, he founded the Indianapolis Glove 
Company. For a year or so the industry 
was not sufficient to attract much atten- 
tion and it was one of the smallest con- 
cerns of its kind. However, it had within 
it the possibilities of growth and it did 
grow under the efficient direction of Mr. 
Zwick and his associates until it is today 
one of the largest commercial establish- 
ments of Indianapolis. In 1907 a branch 
factory was established at Eaton, Ohio, one 
at Zanesville, Ohio, in 1912, and in 1914 
another branch was opened at Richmond, 
Indiana. Today the corporation in these 



various cities furnishes employment to 
about a thousand individuals. Charles F. 
Zwick is president of the company, M. E. 
Reagan is vice president, and Brodehurst 
Elsey is secretary and treasurer. 

Mr. Zwick is a thirty-second degree Scot- 
tish Rite Mason and Mystic Shriner, and 
is a member of the Rotary Club and the 
Hoosier Motor Club. He also belongs to 
the Athenaeum and the Indianapolis Cham- 
ber of Commerce. Mr. Zwick has been 
especially fortunate in his life companion. 
Her maiden name name was Corinne Free- 
man, and they were married in 1896. 

Edmund Robert Stilson is a lawyer by 
profession, but left a successful practice 
in Ohio a number of years ago to engage 
in a special line of manufacturing, making 
costumes and other paraphernalia used in 
fraternal organizations. A few years ago 
Mr. Stilson moved the business to Ander- 
son, Indiana, and is now president of the 
Ward-Stilson Company, probably the larg- 
est concern of its kind in the state of In- 
diana. 

Mr. Stilson was bom in Ruggles, Ash- 
land County, Ohio, October 5, 1866, son 
of Frederick H. and Anna (Potter) Stil- 
son. He is of English and Scotch ancestry, 
and the first of his family located in Con- 
necticut many generations ago. Mr. Stil- 
son while a boy lived on a farm and at- 
tended district schools, and afterward 
graduated from the high school of New 
London, Ohio. At the age of eighteen he 
went to work to earn his living and fol- 
lowed different occupations, for two terms 
teaching school in Ruggles Township. Dur- 
ing the summer he worked at wages of 
seventy-five cents a day in a butter tub 
factory, and walked night and morning 
two and three quarters of a mile between 
his home and the factory. 

For two years he diligently applied him- 
self to the study of law in the offices of 
Dirlew & Leyman at Mansfield, Ohio, and 
was admitted to practice in 1890. During 
the next five years he built up a good 
business as a lawyer at New London. The 
cause of his leaving the legal profession 
was an opportunity which he and his 
brother-in-law, C. E. Ward, accepted at 
New London to buy a previously estab- 
lished regalia business. They acquired this 
in 1895, and continued it under the name 
Ward & Stilson. At that time thev manu- 




^/^MA^e^^/^a^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1731 



factured robes, collars and other regalia 
used by the Junior Order of United Amer- 
ican Mechanics. In 1905 Mr. Stilson ac- 
quired the other interest of the business at 
New London and incorporated as the Ward- 
Stilson Company, with himself as pres- 
ident. Business was conducted with a satis- 
fying degree of prosperity at New London 
until 1913, when it was moved to Ander- 
son. 

Here the industrj^ has assumed much 
wider proportions and is a general costume 
regalia and uniform manufacturing estab- 
lishment, employing 250 work people and 
now handling some large and important 
contracts from the government for uni- 
forms. The company still puts out a large 
line of regular and costume work in the 
line of regalia, paraphernalia and costumes 
for secret societies and ceremonial pur- 
poses. Three or four buildings are oc- 
cupied by the various branches of the busi- 
ness at Anderson. 

In 1893 Mr. Stilson married Rose C. 
Ward, daughter of Jacob "Ward of New 
London, Ohio. She died in 1905 leaving 
one child, Ward K. Stilson, who was born 
in 1896. In 1907 Mr. Stilson married 
Victoria Sackett, daughter of Justice H. 
and Irene (Beach) Sackett, of New Lon- 
don. Mr. Stilson is a republican in politics. 

Franklin R. Carson, present mayor of 
South Bend, is one of the veteran members 
of the dental profession, and has been an 
interested student and practitioner of his 
calling for thirty-five years. 

He was born at Kewanee, Henry County, 
Illinois, in 1861, son of Hugh G. and Bmiiy 
(Doty) Carson. His father was one of 
the very successful citizens of central Illi- 
nois, a farmer and stock raiser and also 
a banker. He died at Kewanee at the age 
of eighty-five and his wife at eighty. 

Franklin R. Carson, one of their seven 
children, attended the public schools of 
Kewanee and in 1884 took his degree from 
the dental school of the University of Mich- 
igan. For a short time he practiced at 
Shenandoah, Iowa, one year in Kewanee 
and then joined the ranks of his profession 
in LaPorte, Indiana. In 1898 Doctor Car- 
son moved to South Bend, and for the 
past twenty years has had a busy practice 
in that city. 

So far as professional responsibilities 
would permit he has always been interested 



in city affairs. While in LaPorte he served 
four years as mayor, and he was elected 
mayor of South Bend for the term of four 
years beginning January 1, 1918. Since 
college days he has been interested in ath- 
letics. For ten years he was a member of 
the National Board of Arbitration, a mem- 
ber of the South Bend Chamber of Com- 
merce, of the Kiwanis Club, of the South 
Bend Country Club and is a member of 
the Masonic fraternity. 

In 1882 Doctor Carson married Carrie 
Belle Rogers, a native of LaPorte and a 
daughter of Joshua R. and Louisa A. Rog- 
ers. The only son of Doctor Carson is 
Capt. Clark R. Carson, who was captain 
of Battery A in the One Hundred and 
Thirty-Seventh Field Artillery in the 
World War. Since leaving the army he 
has been engaged in the dental supplies 
business. 

James H. Taylor, M. D. For nearly 
forty years a resident physician and sur- 
geon at Indianapolis, Doctor Taylor's posi- 
tion as a citizen of the state rests upon a 
long and successful professional career and 
also through notable humanitarian serv- 
ices rendered partly through his profes- 
sion and partly as a citizen and well wisher 
of mankind. It is indicative of the gen- 
eral esteem that he enjoys in his home city 
that he is now serving as president of the 
Indianapolis Board of Trade, an office to 
which he was chosen at the last annual 
election. 

Doctor Taylor has been identified as a 
founder of and one of the most constant 
workers in the noted summer missions for 
sick children. His prominence in that 
work makes this an appropriate place in 
which to consider the history of the mis- 
sion and its work, than which nothing is 
more worthy of a place in this publication. 

The Indianapolis Summer Mission for 
Sick Children, of which Doctor Taylor is 
now president, began its work in 1890. 
For over a quarter of a century this mis- 
sion has fulfilled its purpose of affording 
an ideal summer home and proper care 
and environment for sick babies, and also 
has been conducted as a sort of intensive 
training school for mothers, who have fre- 
quently needed care as much as their 
babies. This mission was one of the first 
to put into concrete practice the fact long 
known to the medical profession of the 



1732 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



close relationship and mutual dependence 
between the welfare of the mother and 
her child. Thus besides furnishing fresh 
air, sunshine, careful nursing, regulated 
diet for the infant, the mission has fur- 
nished similar facilities to the mother, and 
has instructed her in methods of how to 
care for her baby, and this instruction of 
itself has doubtless borne a continually 
accumulating fruit in the better educa- 
tion of mothers as to their responsibilities. 
The first suggestion as to such an insti- 
tution as the Summer Mission is said to 
have been given by John H. Holliday in 
an editorial he wrote for the Indianapolis 
News, of which he Was then editor. It 
was a suggestion originating from his own 
experience in watching his sick child toss 
about in illness in his own comfortable 
and liberally provided home, a condition 
which contrasted in his fertile mind with 
what he knew sick babies must be suffer- 
ing in the restricted environment of poorer 
districts. The editorial was put to good 
use and served as an inspiration to Rev. 
Oscar C. McCullogh, then pastor of Ply- 
mouth Church and president of the Char- 
ity Organization Society. After confer- 
ring with Mr. Holliday Rev. Mr. McCul- 
logh brought about an organization, and 
a committee was appointed to make inves- 
tigation and report. In an address which 
he made some time ago before a charitable 
organization of Indianapolis, Doctor Tay- 
lor described what this committee did and 
how the first summer mission was opened 
on July 14, 1890: "Twenty-five years ago 
in company with the Rev. Oscar C. Mc- 
Cullogh I made my first visit to this place 
now known as the Summer Mission. It 
was filled with tall grass, weeds, rocks, 
limbs from dead trees, dead leaves, all of 
which reminded one of the wild and wooly 
west. We were in search of a summer 
home for the child of the tenement. 'This 
is ideal,' said Dr. McCullogh 'and I 
wish it were possible to leave these dead 
limbs, their snapping noise under our feet 
is a song of nature.' Our recommenda- 
tion of this site was approved and for a 
quarter of a century the Summer Mission 
has sheltered and cared for thousands of 
sick babies and tired and worn out moth- 
ers. The fresh air, the restful environ- 
ment among the trees, the well selected 
diet, the tender care of a trained nurse, 
the daily medical observation, the whole- 



some advice, sympathetic aid and ma- 
ternal influence so carefully bestowed by 
the visiting committees — all combined — 
have made thousands comfortable and 
happy and have saved the lives of many." 

The first season of its work proved so 
beneficial that it was decided to continue 
the camp through succeeding summers. 
Mr. McCullogh died a few years later and 
then Charles S. Grout, secretary of the 
Charity Organization Society, conceived 
the plan of erecting permanent buildings 
on the grounds. The first building was 
erected during the summer following the 
founder's death and was named "The Mc- 
Cullogh Cottage" in his memory. Other 
permanent buildings sprang up, some 
built by clubs and societies and some 
erected as memorials to departed loved 
ones. A generous bequest by A. Burdsal 
made possible the erection of a modern dis- 
pensary. Thomas H. Spann erected a day 
nursery in memory of his little grand- 
daughter. 

The work of the Mission is dependent 
upon the generosity of the citizens of In- 
dianapolis, but there has never been a year 
when its friends have failed to respond 
loyally to its needs and keep the work go- 
ing. Even the panic of 1907-08 proved 
a real boon to the Summer Mission. Work 
was needed for hundreds of unemployed 
men, many of whom were mechanics, and 
employment was given in making concrete 
blocks and building Mission homes. The 
large dining room, laundry, bath house, 
and a number of other buildings are mon- 
uments to the unemployed of that winter. 

Dr. James H. Taylor comes of an old 
and patriotic American family. His great- 
grandfather, Col. David Taylor, com- 
manded a regiment in the war of the Rev- 
olution and was a personal friend of. Gen- 
eral Washington. Doctor Taylor's father 
wa-s James Taylor, who was born in Jef- 
ferson County, Kentucky, January 14, 
1822, and at the age of nineteen accom- 
panied his parents to Washington County, 
Indiana, where as he grew up on a farm 
he learned the carpenter's trade. At the 
age of twenty-one he located at Salem, In- 
diana, and subsequently became manager 
of a dry goods store of Bryantville in 
Lawrence County. There he married, De- 
cember 20, 1849^ Miss Susan Mahala Wil- 
liamson. She was a native of Indiana, 
daughter of Tucker Woodson Williamson 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



173£ 



and Mrs. (Martin) Williamson. The lat- 
ter was a granddaughter of one of the 
Earls of Warwick, England, one of the 
most celebrated lines of nobility in Great 
Britain. A brother of James Taylor, 
Washington Taylor, was a surgeon in the 
Confederate army during the war between 
the states, and practiced his profession in 
the South for forty years. 

In 1851 James Taylor and wife removed 
to Greencastle, Indiana, where he contin- 
ued in business as a dry goods merchant 
until 1885, and remained in that city re- 
tired the rest of his years. He and his 
wife were active in the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church and were liberal contributors 
to church and charity and also to the sup- 
port of Asbury, now DePauw, University. 

Dr. James Henry Taylor was born at 
Greencastle November 15, 1852. He was 
educated in the public schools, under pri- 
vate tutors, and for a year in the Ohio 
Wesleyan University at Delaware. He 
graduated A. B. from DePauw University 
and in 1881 received the degree Master of 
Arts from that institution. Beginning the 
study of medicine under Doctors Ellis and 
Smythe at Greencastle, he finished his 
course in 1878 at the Indiana Medical Col- 
lege at Indianapolis and at once .began 
practice in the capital city. The Indiana 
Medical College is now the Indiana Uni- 
versity School of Medicine. 

Always enjoying a large private practice, 
Doctor Taylor has at the same time been 
one of the most devoted workers in behalf 
of medical organizations and as a medical 
teacher. Many capable medical men re- 
member him kindly for his active connec- 
tions with the Medical College of Indiana. 
He served as demonstrator of anatomy 
from 1884 to 1889, was elected to the chair 
of diseases of children in 1889, and that 
position he now holds in the Indiana Uni- 
versity School of Medicine. He was as- 
sistant demonstrator of anatomy in the 
Medical College of Indiana from 1880 to 
1884. He has presided over many dispen- 
sary and hospital clinics and is active 
in the Indiana Medical Society, and the 
Indiana and American Medical associa- 
tions. In 1880, the year the office was 
created, he was appointed medical exam- 
iner in chief of Endowment Rank, Knights 
of Pythias of the World. He is also a 
thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, 



and is a member of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Indianapolis. 

During 1888-89 Doctor Taylor was a 
member of the Board of Aldermen of In- 
dianapolis, and is a member of the National 
Council of the National Chamber of Com- 
merce of the United States of America, 
representing the Indianapolis Board of 
Trade. He was one of the organizers and 
president of the Arsenal Building and 
Loan Association — a million dollar con- 
cern. While not a veteran himself, Doc- 
tor Taylor has alwa} r s had a warm spot in 
his heart for the old soldiers of the Civil 
war, and on numberless occasions has sac- 
rificed his personal interests for their wel- 
fare and in order to preserve the memory 
of their deeds and hardships. During the 
Great World War Doctor Taylor was ap- 
pointed medical examiner for Trial Board 
for Division 4, and examined nearly 1,000 
conscripts. 

Doctor Taylor married September 13, 
1880, Miss Lelia E. Kern. Her father, the 
late David G. Kern, was for many years in 
the drug business at Milton, Wayne 
County, Indiana. The two children of 
Doctor and Mrs. Taylor are Margaret Ann 
and John Moore, the former a teacher, 
who resigned her position in the profes- 
sion at Tutor Hall to accept the office of 
manager of Jumble Inn at 13 West 39th 
Street, New York City. This is a war re- 
lief for stage women. She has done much 
in a philanthropic way and is very patriotic. 
The son is a student of medicine. 

Harvey Washington Wiley, the cele- 
brated chemist, is identified with Indiana 
through ties of birth and early associations, 
and the work which he has so splendidly 
carried forward was begun in the State of 
Indiana. He was born at Kent, Indiana, 
October 18, 1844, a son of Preston P. and 
Lucinda Weir (Maxwell) Wiley. In 1867 
he received the degree A. B. from Hano- 
ver, Indiana, College, and that of A. M. 
in 1870, received his M. D. degree from 
the Indiana Medical College in 1871, B. S. 
from Harvard in 1873, also the honorary 
Ph. D. from Hanover, 1876, LL. D. in 
1898, LL. D. from the University of Ver- 
mont, 1911, D. SC., Lafayette, 1912. 

Doctor Wiley since entering upon the 
active work of his profession has won re- 
nown as a chemist in both America and 



1734 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Europe. His name is also prominent be- 
fore the public as an author. 

Felix T. McWhirter, Ph. D. (Written 
by Susan McWhirter Ostrom.) Dr. Fe- 
lix T. McWhirter, of Indianapolis, gave 
his best efforts to the national prohibition 
movement. The breadth of his vision con- 
cerning the needs of humanity, especially 
as affected by the liquor traffic, led him 
early to espouse the then very unpopular 
prohibition party, of which he was a lead- 
ing figure and staunch supporter until 
death. He bore the ridicule, ostracism, 
and even in a few instances the insulting 
remarks from the pulpit which were occa- 
sioned by his prohibition principles with 
the same fortitude and patience and faith 
in victory of the cause which his ancestors 
had manifested in the various persecutions 
which they had suffered for the cause of 
religious freedom and for the cause of 
abolition of slavery. 

Felix T. McWhorter was born at Lynch- 
burg, Tennessee, July 17, 1853, and died 
at his home in Indianapolis June 5, 1915, 
at the age of sixty-two. He was a son of 
Dr. Samuel H. and Nancy C. (Tyree) Mc- 
Whirter. He received his early education 
from his mother who tutored him until he 
was ready to enter the academy. He re- 
ceived his A. B. degree from the East Ten- 
nessee Wesleyan University (now Grant 
Memorial) in 1873 and in 1876 took his 
Master's degree. From 1872-76 he was 
editor of the "Athens News" and from 
1877-78 he was mayor of Athens, Tennes- 
see. In the year 1885-86 he took his post- 
graduate work in Johns Hopkins Univer- 
sity, and after subsequent work in De- 
Pauw University he received his degree of 
Doctor of Philosophy from the latter in- 
stitution. From 1886-87 he was instruc- 
tor in rhetoric and English literature in 
DePauw University and from 1887-88 he 
was associate professor of English litera- 
ture. Resigning from the faculty of De- 
Pauw University, Doctor McWhirter moved 
to Chattanooga, Tennessee, where he be- 
came the owner and editor of the "Chatta- 
nooga Advocate," which paper is now 
owned and edited by the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church. Later, having sold the 
paper, he moved to Indianapolis, Indiana, 
to begin work in mercantile lines in con- 
nection with a large wholesale house. 
Later he established his own business in 



1901 in Indianapolis real estate and related 
lines. As a real estate man he was well 
known and he became an expert in ap- 
praising property. He was largely re- 
sponsible for the selection of the site of the 
Robert W. Long Hospital. His financial 
success in real estate was sufficient to war- 
rant his founding the Peoples State Bank 
in Indianapolis in 1900. Of this institu- 
tion, which is the oldest state bank in 
Marion County, he was the first and only 
president until his death, when his son 
Felix M. McWhirter succeeded him as 
president. He was also the first treasurer 
of the Ostrom Realty Company, which office 
he held at the time of his death. 

Dr. McWhirter assisted in founding the 
Children's Home Finding Society of In- 
diana and was vice president of the organ- 
ization. He was a consistent and faithful 
attendant of Central Avenue Methodist 
Episcopal Church ; a member of the In- 
dianapolis Chamber of Commerce ; a mem- 
ber of the DePauw chapter of Delta Kappa 
Epsilon fraternity; and he was also a Ma- 
son. But it was in the temperance move- 
ment and in the prohibition party that 
Felix T. McWhirter achieved a national 
reputation. He served the party as In- 
diana state chairman from 1892-98. At 
the noted Pittsburg National Prohibition 
Convention in 1896 out of four hundred 
representative men he was one of the 
twelve selected to debate the "Silver Is- 
sue." He took the negative and spoke 
with power. For sixteen years he was a 
member of the national committee of the 
prohibition party, serving most of the time 
as national treasurer. In 1904, as candi- 
date for governor of Indiana on the pro- 
hibition ticket, he with others campaigned 
the state, speaking in every town of any 
size in Indiana, with the result that his 
party's vote was trebled. 

Mr. McWhirter 's ability as an analyti- 
cal thinker and a forceful public speaker 
gained for his utterances wide publicity. 
With his command of the English lan- 
guage, his keen insight into political af- 
fairs, his own unassailable integrity, his 
distinguished bearing, he was both elo- 
quent and convincing. He was one of the 
first leaders in the prohibition movement 
to explain and to emphasize the economic 
side of the liquor question as opposed to 
the purely moral or sentimental side. Be- 
sides using his power as a public speaker 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1735 



and debater he wielded a big influence 
with his pen, writing many articles for 
the public press, periodicals and for leaf- 
lets published by various organizations. 
Among his old associates at the several 
universities with which he had been con- 
nected and among his more intimate 
friends he was regarded as an authority 
on literature and rhetoric, and was a mem- 
ber of a close literary coterie containing 
the most brilliant lights of Indiana liter- 
ary men and women. Reading was one 
of his chief delights, and he was author 
of several unpublished books and com- 
mentaries on literary subjects. Like many 
students of literature, he knew the Bible. 
To the end of his life he maintained a 
deep interest in DePauw University and 
for ten years served as secretary of the 
board of trustees. He sent his four chil- 
dren, Luella, Ethel, Felix, and Susan, 
there to be educated. 

Of the business career of Felix T. Mc- 
Whirter much could be said of the many 
instances where he helped the young man 
to save his first dollar or to buy his first 
piece of property ; or of the widows whom 
he assisted in saving their homes or in 
making wise investments ; of the business 
men he tided over stringent times by loan- 
ing them money. In writing of him his 
associates say: "He measured his every 
act by the rule of his own conscience, and 
having the highest of ideals and a fine 
sense of honor his treatment of those who 
entrusted their affairs and earnings to his 
care were sure to profit to the highest de- 
gree. He was the embodiment of honor 
and integrity. To say of him that he was 
an ideal citizen in every sense that the 
term implies is to attribute to him the 
highest compliment we can conceive." In 
public utterance Dr. John P. D. John paid 
this tribute to Felix T. McWhirter : "With 
his vast ability as a scholar, a thinker, a 
public speaker, both in debate and formal 
oration, and his unquestioned power as a 
leader, he could easily have swept into high 
positions in the political world if he had 
been willing to stifle his convictions" (re- 
ferring to his prohibition convictions). 

Bv his marriage November 18. 1878, to 
Luella Frances Smith, Doctor • McWhirter 
found a noble companion and a wise coun- 
sellor in all the activities and tastes which 
adorned his useful career, for his wife has 
long been a prominent temperance worker, 



serving for many years as president of 
the Indiana Woman's Christian Temper- 
ance Union and also as editor of The Mes- 
sage, the state official organ. She also is 
a gifted public speaker. She was presi- 
dent of the Indiana Federation of Clubs, 
1911-13, and at the same time a director 
of the Woman's Council of Indiana 
Women, of which she was the second pres- 
ident, serving during the 1917 legislature 
which voted Indiana dry. Mrs. McWhir- 
ter is the founder of the Woman's Depart- 
ment Club of Indianapolis and a member 
of the Daughters of the American Revo- 
lution and many others organizations. 
She is the director from Indiana on the 
bonrd of the General Federation of Wom- 
en's Clubs. 

Lemuel Ertus Slack. Just twenty 
years ago Lemuel Ertus Slack was qualified 
to practice in Indiana and essayed his first 
modest efforts at earning a fee from his 
clients. Two decades have sufficed for the 
evolution and development of his charac- 
ter, abilities, influence and reputation, and 
there are none who would dispute the as- 
sertion that he is today one of the best 
qualified lawyers in Indiana and one of 
the best known of its public men. Mr. 
Slack is now United States district attor- 
ney for Indiana. 

He was born on a farm in Johnson 
County, Indiana, October 8, 1874. He 
was one of five children. His parents 
were Elisha 0. and Nancy A. (Teeters) 
Slack. His father, a carpenter by trade, 
was in moderate circumstances and unable 
to give his children educational opportun- 
ities beyond those of the public schools. 
This was perhaps fortunate since the pres- 
ent district attorney had to devise means 
of his own to secure the higher education 
which he coveted, and the opportunities 
which he made stepping stones into the 
legal profession were largely of his own 
creation. As a boy he learned the black- 
smith's trade, and when he was not stand- 
ing by the anvil he was studying law. 
His surplus capital grew very slowly, but 
in 1896 he was able to enter the senior 
class of the Indiana Law School at Indian- 
apolis, and graduated LL. B. in 1897. 

Returning to Franklin, he opened his 
office and in a short time had a good clien- 
tage. Soon after his admission to the bar 
he was appointed deputy prosecuting at- 



1736 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



torney of Johnson County and eighteen 
months later became county attorney. He 
served Johnson County in that capacity 
for six years. In 1901 he was elected to 
the Lower House of the State Legislature, 
serving through the session of 1903, when 
he received the complimentary vote of his 
party for speaker. He was elected and 
served as a member of the State Senate 
in 1905 and 1907. While in the Legisla- 
ture Mr. Slack attracted wide attention be- 
cause of his progressiveness and became a 
leader of that element of his party in the 
state. His popularity and strength made 
him a formidable candidate in 1908 for the 
nomination for governor of Indiana, and 
he yielded that honor to Hon. Thomas R. 
Marshall by only thirty votes. In 1909 
Mr. Slack extended his acquaintance among 
the people of the state, and attracted fur- 
ther favorable attention during his cam- 
paign for the office of United States sen- 
ator. The successful candidate that year 
was the late B. F. Shively of South Bend. 

Even before he attained his majority Mr. 
Slack showed an inclination and a profi- 
ciency for polities and public affairs. Thus 
the foundation of his public career was laid 
even before he was qualified for admis- 
sion to the bar. For a time he was a mem- 
ber of the board of control of the Central 
Insane Asylum. Since 1913 Mr. Slack ha 
lived at Indianapolis, and in 1916 he was 
appointed United States district attorney 
for the state. 

In religious belief he is a Christian Sci- 
entist, and is a democrat in all that na: 
implies. He has attained the thirty-second 
degree of Scottish Rite in Masonry, also 
the order of Knights Templar in the York 
Rite, has served as Eminent Commander 
of Franklin Commandery No. 23, Knights 
Templars, and is a member of the Mystic 
Shrine. He also belongs to the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows and Knights of 
Pythias. October 31, 1897, he married Miss 
Mary Shields, of Columbus, Indiana. 
Their only child died in infancy. 

Herman Lieber was born in the famous 
City of Duesseldorf, Germany, August 23, 
1832, came to Indianapolis in 1854, was a 
resident of the city over half a century, 
and died March 22, 1908, while on a pleas- 
ure journey to California. 

In addition to building up a large and 
successful business the activities and the 



influences which made Herman Lieber so 
greatly esteemed and beloved in Indian- 
apolis were concisely summarized by the 
Indianapolis News editorially at the time 
of his death in the following words: 
"While he never had any desire to serve 
the city or state in an official capacity 
he was long recognized as a force in this 
community in all that tended to build up 
and strengthen good citizenship. His 
ideals of civic righteousness were high but 
always practical, and he was ever ready 
to give his best efforts in any cause that 
appealed to him on the score of community 
interests. Though a quiet man, cool and 
collected in manner, he had deep sensibili- 
ties, and when these were stirred he was 
at his best. He delighted in a good fight. 
When the sixty-cent gas movement began 
he was again at the front, and to no one 
man was the success of that movement due 
as much as to Herman Lieber. He was 
perhaps best known, especially among the 
German citizens of Indianapolis, by the 
name that had been lovingly given him by 
his associates, 'the father of the German 
House. ' ' ' His father was a manufacturer 
of brushes in the City of Duesseldorf and 
also an honored citizen of that community. 
Herman Lieber was well educated, finish- 
ing in a typical German Gymnasium or 
College. The events of the German revolu- 
tion of 1848 did not pass without making 
a strong impression upon his youthful 
mind, and it especially affected him be- 
cause of the prominence which America 
assumed soon afterward as a haven of 
refuge for so many thousands of the high 
class Germans who left their fatherland at 
that time. In 1853 Herman Lieber also 
came to America. He brought with him 
the knowledge gained by a thorough ap- 
prenticeship at the trade of bookbinding. 
Unable to find work in that line at New 
York City he answered an advertisement 
which took him to Cincinnati, and was 
there employed at $7 a week as bookbinder 
and maker of pocket books. It was a time 
of general business depression, and his 
earnings were so meager that he was finally 
obliged to acknowledge his necessities to 
his uncle. In response his uncle sent him 
$600. With this capital he came to In- 
dianapolis in 1854 for the purpose of set- 
ting up in business for himself. 

Renting a small room 14 by 25 feet on 
the south side of Washington Street, just 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1737 



east of Meridian, at $14 a month, he set 
up with a stock of stationery, and also set 
aside one part of the room as a shop for 
the binding of books. 

He once described his business start at 
Indianapolis in the following words : "I 
spent $96 of my capital in tools. Then I 
bought some shelving and applied the bal- 
ance to purchasing a stock of stationery. 
Although I had lived in Cincinnati but a 
short time, I found I had more credit than 
money, and I purchased there a stock cost- 
ing about $2,000, giving notes due in six 
months for the principal part of the pur- 
chase price. Two months before the notes 
came due I knew I could not pay them, 
and when they matured I wrote to my 
creditors stating that I was unable to pay 
the notes but would return the goods. 
They replied that they did not want the 
goods but that I could have all the time I 
desired to pay the notes. The receipts in 
my store were very meager in the early 
days. If I had from $1.50 to $2 of gross 
receipts in the drawer at night I felt that 
I wasn't doing badly. My revenue was 
chiefly from the book binding branch of my 
business. I slept in my store and took 
my meals at a boarding house kept by Mrs. 
Walk, mother of Julius Walk. The board 
was excellent at $2.50 a week." 

With all his trials and discouragements 
Mr. Lieber stuck to his business. After a 
time he introduced a stock of pictures, and 
was the pioneer in establishing an art busi- 
ness at Indianapolis when its population 
was only 12,000. But from a financial 
standpoint he scored his first important 
success when he began the manufacture of 
picture frames and moldings. This busi- 
ness, beginning in a small way, developed 
until it utilized a large plant, and the pic- 
ture frame factory together with the art 
store were incorporated in 1892 under the 
name the H. Lieber Company. Mr. Lieber 
continued active head of the concern until 
his death, at which time the business was 
giving employment to 250 persons in the 
factory and store. It is said that this com- 
pany has sold frames and moldings in 
every large city in the United States, and 
also has handled a large export trade to the 
principal European countries. 

Though not a wealthy man at the time, 
Herman Lieber was one of the most en- 
thusiastic in supporting the cause of the 
Union during the Civil war and did all in 



his power to insure the success of the great 
task which the North had undertaken. He 
was a republican at the time of the or- 
ganization of the party in Indiana, and 
continued in its ranks until the nomina- 
tion of Cleveland. Later he became dis- 
satisfied with the democratic party on the 
plank of free silver, and thus in politics 
as in other things he showed a decided 
liberality of opinion and an independence 
quite free from narrow partisanship. Her- 
man Lieber was one of the founders of 
the noted German-English School at In- 
dianapolis. He was a member of the 
North American Gymnastic Union, of 
which he was president from 1900 until his 
death. In 1882 he was president of the 
Anti-Prohibition League of Indiana. It 
was in 1889 that he started the movement 
which resulted in the erection of the Ger- 
man House, and, as already noted, has 
been chiefly credited with the success of 
that Indianapolis institution and especially 
with the founding of its beautiful home. 
He was one of the original incorporators 
of the Crown Hill Cemetery, and helped 
promote the Consumers Gas Trust Com- 
pany and later the Citizens Gas Company.- 
In 1857, three years after coming to In- 
dianapolis, Mr. Lieber married Miss Mary 
Metzger. She was born at Freusburg, 
Germany. Her brothers, Alexander, 
Jacob and Engelbert Metzger, all became 
prominent citizens of Indianapolis. Her- 
man Lieber and wife had four sons and 
two daughters: Otto R., Carl H., Robert 
and Herman P., all of whom became iden- 
tified with the H. Lieber Company. The 
daughter Ida is the widow of Henry Kothe. 
and Anna married Theodore Stempfel, the 
Indianapolis banker. 

Otto R. Lieber, a son of the late Her- 
man Lieber, has done much to typifv and 
represent in the modern Indianapolis the 
spirit and the business ability which char- 
acterized his honored father. 

He was born in Indianapolis October 1. 
1861, was reared in this city, and has al- 
ways made it his home. Most of his early 
education was acquired in the German- 
English School of Indianapolis. Before 
he was sixteen years old he was workins: 
in his father's picture establishment, and 
nearlv every vear brought him increased 
knowledge and new r responsibilities in the 
business until at the death of his father he 



Vol. IV— 12 



1738 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



was made his successor as president of the 
corporation, the H. Lieber Company being 
one of the most widely known of Indianap- 
olis industries. 

Mr. Lieber married in 1885 Miss Flora 
Pfaff, who died in 1901, leaving three chil- 
dren : Otto H. ; Marie Hilda, wife of Harry 
Howe Bentley ; and Charlotte. In 1005 
he married a sister of his first wife, Ma- 
tilde Pfaff of Columbus, Ohio. They have 
one daughter, Flora Elizabeth. 

Mr. Lieber has long been recognized as 
one of Indiana's stanchest citizens and is 
actively interested and a liberal contributor 
to all that tends to the betterment of his 
city, state and nation. He. is a member of 
the Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce, 
Board of Trade and the Athenaeum. 

Joseph G. Brannum is president of the 
Brannum-Keene Lumber Company; one of 
the largest firms of its kind doing business 
in the State of Indiana. Its plant is at 
3506 East Washington Street in Indian- 
apolis. 

Mr. Brannum has had a long experience 
in timber and lumber manufacturing and 
lumber dealing. He was born in Wells 
County, Indiana, October 28, 1863, a son 
of Henry C. and Rebecca Brannum. 
The father died at the age of seventy-eight, 
and the mother is now eighty-four years of 
age. His father was a contractor and 
builder and for a number of years con- 
ducted a lumber business at Montpelier, 
Indiana. Grandfather Brannum probably 
built the first saw mill in Union County, 
Indiana, and another one of the family 
connections was the first auditor of Union 
County. Joseph G. Brannum 's brother, 
William S. Brannum, is secretary of the 
Brannum-Keene Lumber Company and a 
resident of Chicago. 

Frederic Rich Henshaw, D. D. S., 
Dean of the Indiana Dental College since 
1914 and a member of the Indiana State 
Council of Defense, is through his work 
as an educator and his long service as a 
member of the State Board of Dental 
Examiners one of the best known members 
of his profession in the state. 

Doctor Henshaw was born at Alexan- 
dria, Madison County, Indiana, October 8, 
1872, a son of Seth B. and Mary Jane 
(Rich) Henshaw. His parents were also 
natives of Indiana and represented the fine 



old Quaker stock that in such numbers 
was transplanted to Eastern Indiana from 
Greensboro, North Carolina, in pioneer 
days. 

Doctor Henshaw was reared and edu- 
cated at Alexandria and is also a graduate 
of the high school at Anderson, and during 
1889-91 was a student of the Central Nor- 
mal College at Danville, Indiana. He was 
a school teacher for several years, so that 
his experience as an educator is not con- 
fined to the dental profession. In Sep- 
tember, 1894, he entered the Indiana Den- 
tal College of Indianapolis, from which he 
graduated April 6, 1897. Doctor Henshaw 
had located at Middletown, Indiana, in 
1895, and an unusual professional success 
followed his labors there. In 1909 he re- 
moved to Indianapolis, and established his 
offices in the Pythian Building, where he is 
still located. 

As to his work and attainments as a 
dental practitioner it is best to allow a 
member of his own profession to speak. 
Dr. Otto U. King, of Huntington, presi- 
dent of the Indiana State Dental Society, 
wrote for the Quarterly Bulletin of that 
society upon the occasion of Doctor Hen- 
shaw 's election as Dean of the Dental Col- 
lege an appreciation from which the fol- 
lowing paragraphs are fitly quoted : 

"It is fitting and wise that the life long 
friend of Doctor Hunt should be selected 
by the trustees of the Indiana Dental Col- 
lege to serve as its Dean. The Indiana 
Dental College ranks among the best dental 
colleges in the country. The growth of 
this institution and its present efficiency is 
due largely to the incessant hard work of 
Doctor Hunt. Dr. Frederic R. Henshaw 
on July 18, 1914, was selected as Dean of 
the Indiana Dental College. He is the 
logical successor to Dr. George E. Hunt 
and it is predicted by his friends in. the 
dental profession that as Doctor Henshaw 
possesses all the qualifications necessary for 
this position to which he has been honored 
that the Indiana Dental College will not 
only maintain its high standard but will be 
a leader in all educational lines pertaining 
to the advancement of the dental profes- 
sion. 

"Doctor Henshaw has been untiring in 
his efforts to raise the standard and effi- 
ciency of the dental profession ever since 
he began his practice. He has been held 
in the highest esteem bv the members of 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1739 



the dental profession as witnessed by the 
many honors bestowed upon him. He was 
selected in 1897 vice president of the 
Eastern Indiana Dental Society. In 1898 
he was elected secretary of the Indiana 
State Dental Association, which position 
he held for two years. 

"He is probably better known in In- 
diana as a member of the Board of Dental 
Examiners, having served on this board 
for thirteen years, ten years of which, 
1903-14, he has been its capable and effi- 
cient secretary. He was elected vice presi- 
dent of the National Association of Dental 
Examiners in 1907. He was also elected 
president of the Indianapolis Dental So- 
ciety in 1912. He is a member of the 
Northern Indiana Dental Society, Eastern 
Indiana Dental Society, Indiana State Den- 
tal Society, National Dental Association 
and a member of the National Association 
of Dental Examiners. 

"Doctor Henshaw has contributed a 
number of papers to our dental literature 
on a variety of subjects and always takes 
a leading part in the review and discussion 
of papers in our society meetings. Doc- 
tor Henshaw has not only the educational 
qualifications to fill the position of dean- 
ship in the Indiana Dental College, but he 
also has the business capacity to maintain 
and increase the efficiency of the institu- 
tion. Every dentist in Indiana should feel 
proud of the promotion of Doctor Henshaw 
to this high position of honor in our state. 
He possesses the necessary initiative, en- 
thusiasm and tact to make a successful 
Dean." 

The profession generally throughout the 
state has come to realize that the predic- 
tions made by Doctor King concerning the 
new dean have been amly fulfilled. Besides 
the responsibilities of that office he has 
conducted a very busy practice of his own. 
It was a special honor when in July, 1918, 
Governor Goodrich appointed him a mem- 
ber of the Indiana State Council of De- 
fense. In July, 1918, Doctor Henshaw, 
who had served as special examiner for 
Indiana for the Surgeon General's office 
from the outbreak of the war, obtained 
leave of absence as Dean of the Dental 
College and accepted a commission as first 
lieutenant in the Dental Corps, United 
States Army, and was assigned to duty in 
the attending surgeon's office at Washing- 
ton, D. C, being promoted to the grade of 



major on September 9, 1918, serving as 
such until January 1, 1919. While a resi- 
dent of Middletown Doctor Henshaw 
served nine years as a member of its school 
board. He is a member of the John Her- 
ron Art Institute of Indianapolis, is a 
Delta Sigma Delta college fraternity man 
and a Knight Templar Mason. He is a 
member of the Independent Turnverein 
and the Indiana Democratic Club of In- 
dianapolis. 

September 1, 1897, Doctor Henshaw 
married Mary Edith Strickler, of Middle- 
town. They have one son, Frederic R. 
Henshaw, Jr., of whom his parents are 
very naturally proud. This young man 
was a student in the Virginia Military In- 
stitute at Lexington, "the West Point of 
the South," and was sent from there to the 
Officers Reserve Corps Training Camp at 
Plattsburg. After the course of training 
he returned to Indianapolis and in July, 
1918, was recalled to Plattsburg, where he 
served as instructor in the bayonet until 
September 16, 1918, when he was com- 
missioned second lieutenant of infantry 
and assigned as an instructor in the school 
of this line at the University of Georgia. 
There he served until February, 1919, 
when he was discharged. He is now a stu- 
dent in Wabash College. Though only 
nineteen years old, he is six feet in height, 
and in brain and in character and high 
purpose as well as in physical perfection 
is "every inch a soldier." 

Harry Wade. The exceptional business 
and financial abilities of Mr. Wade have 
been exerted chiefly in behalf of the 
Knights of Pythias Order. The member- 
ship of that order throughout the Western 
Hemisphere is familiar with the work and 
position of Mr. Wade as president of the 
Insurance Department of the Supreme 
Lodge. In that office he has his business 
headquarters at Indianapolis, where he has 
also had his home for a number of years. 

He represents a pioneer family of Craw- 
fordsville, Indiana, where he was born in 
1863, son of H. H. and Clara (McCune) 
Wade. The Indiana pioneer of the family 
was his grandfather, I. F. Wade. A na- 
tive of Virginia, I. F. Wade in early life 
moved to Middletown, Ohio, and from there 
in 1831 drove an ox team and wagon 
loaded with a printing press and outfit 
across the country to Crawfordsville, In- 



1740 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



diana. There he founded the Crawfords- 
ville Record, one of the few newspapers 
published in Indiana eighty-five years ago. 
He was its editor and proprietor for a 
number of years, and some of the early 
files are still preserved and constitute prac- 
tically the only original sources of the 
early history of that part of the state. 

When Harry Wade was fourteen years 
old in 1877 his parents moved from Craw- 
fordsville to Lafayette, where his father 
and mother still reside. His father served 
throughout the 'war with an Indiana regi- 
ment in the Union army. Harry Wade at- 
tended school both at Crawfordsville and 
Lafayette. He was still under age when 
he went into business for himself at La- 
fayette. His first effort at merchandising 
was with a bookstore, but gradually he en- 
larged a small stock of jewelry until it be- 
came the dominating feature of his busi- 
ness, and was also one of the leading shops 
for that merchandise. Mr. Wade gave up 
the role of merchant to enter the life in- 
surance business. Therein he found the 
field where his talents as salesman counted 
for most. He won a quick success. His 
proved abilities as an insurance man were 
called into requisition in 1898 in connec- 
tion with the insurance department of the 
Supreme Lodge Knights of Pythias, the 
headquarters of which are at Indianap- 
olis. He had many of the responsibilities 
of the insurance department until 1903, 
when he was elected grand keeper of rec- 
ords and seals for the Indiana Grand 
Lodge, and served faithfully in that ca- 
pacity until July, 1915. At that date he 
was chosen to his present office as president 
of the insurance department of the Su- 
preme Lodge Knights of Pythias. His 
jurisdiction embraces all of the United 
States, Canada, Hawaii, Alaska, Cuba and 
the Philippines. There are few of the old 
line companies that extend the benefits of 
their organization over a wider territory. 

Mr. Wade's official work has been dis- 
tinguished by more than routine perfor- 
mance. One of the achievements credited 
to him is the building of the Indiana Py- 
thian Building, a modern office building 
at Indianapolis. He originated the idea 
for the building, presented the plan to the 
Grand Lodge, and personally took upon 
himself the responsibility of selling the 
$450,000 worth of bonds throughout In- 
diana, the proceeds of which were applied 



to the construction of the building. It 
was begun in 1905 and completed in 1907. 
It was one of the first modern office build- 
ings of the sky scraper type in Indianap- 
olis, and is an interesting and effective 
monument to the enterprise, ability and in- 
itiative of Mr. Wade. It is also recog- 
nzed as the finest Pythian building in the 
United States. Mr. Wade has rendered 
similar services to other cities in the state 
in the erection of local Pythian buildings. 
He married Miss Anna E. Fullenwider, 
of Lafayette. They have two sons, Fred- 
erick H. and Harry Lee. 

William L. Sandage. The history of 
Indiana industry contains many noted 
and honored names, and there is place 
alongside the greatest of them for the 
Sandage family. William L. Sandage, one 
of the prominent manufacturers and inven- 
tors of the state, undoubtedly inherits 
some of his ability at least from his father, 
the late Joshua Sandage, who though he 
never achieved the fame that is associated 
with many of the wagon and plow man- 
ufacturers, supplied much of the inventive 
genius and skill which has brought so much 
fame to several industrial centers of the 
Middle West. 

Joshua Sandage, now deceased, was born 
in Indiana and from early youth conducted 
a country blacksmith shop at his home in 
Perry County. Even while there he was 
a recognized mechanical and inventive 
genius. His invention largely took the 
direction of the making of plows. During 
the war in his home county of Perry he 
organized and was first lieutenant of a 
company which he hoped to take into the 
regular service. With that company he 
joined the troops that drove the Confed- 
erate raider Morgan out of Indiana. How- 
ever, he was never assigned to regular 
duty, but with his company was stationed 
at Indianapolis and formed part of the 
Home Guards organization on duty at 
Camp Morton. This organization served 
without pay. 

During the early '70s Joshua Sandage 
took his family to Moline, Illinois, and 
there became identified with the great 
plow manufacturing industry which has 
made the names of Moline and Rock Is- 
land synonymous with plow manufacture. 
At that time plow making was in its in- 
fancy. Joshua Sandage was patentee of 




/JJ"^. ^>%%^^<z>C€X<&£, 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1741 



the first steel plow made at Moline. He 
also devised and was the first to use the 
process of the drop hammer for welding 
the plow. The patent office also records 
him as the patentee of the Sandage steel 
wagon skein. On account of his success 
and ingenuity in the plow industry he was 
called to South Bend, Indiana, and a short 
time afterward organized what was known 
as the Sandage Brothers Manufacturing 
Company. He spent the rest of his life in 
that city. His enthusiasm and ambition 
were contented with the working out of 
processes that in his case had their own re- 
ward, and apparently he did not have the 
business ability to capitalize all the fruits 
of his genius. His widow is still living. 

A son of these parents, William L. San- 
dage was born in Perry County, Indiana, 
in 1866. He had the advantage of his 
father's companionship and direction in 
the mastery of mechanical trades, and was 
an efficient journeyman from early youth. 
His education was acquired in the schools 
of Moline and South Bend. Mr. Sandage 
developed his ability along the special 
line of die casting. In 1900 he came to 
Indianapolis, and that city has been his 
home for nearly twenty years. In 1905 
he established the die casting business that, 
beginning on a small scale, has developed 
into the present Modern Die and Tool 
Company, the largest and most successful 
plant of its kind in the Middle West. 

The plant was a particularly valuable 
unit in America's history because of its 
chief product, what is known as the bronze 
back bearing, invented by Mr. Sandage, 
and known commercially as the Victor 
bearing. With a normally large activity 
and demand for this product, the industry 
was forced to expand in every department 
through the exactions of the war, and it 
was a recognized war industry and sup- 
plied the government under contract with 
large quantities of Victor bearing for mil- 
itary trucks, tractors, aeroplanes, automo- 
biles and other machinery used for war 
purposes. That the company is not a big 
manufacturing corporation is due to the 
unwillingness of Mr. Sandage to accept 
many tempting offers to use his plant as 
the basis of an extensive corporate stock- 
holding concern, since he has preferred to 
continue his individual ownership on the 
successful basis which he established a 
number of years ago and which is a credit 



to his name. Mr. Sandage is now greatly 
assisted and relieved of many of the exact- 
ing details of the business by his son-in- 
law H. C. Weist, a young business man of 
great capability who has brought both 
skill and enthusiasm into the business. 

In the field of invention and other 
achievements to Mr. Sandage 's credit is 
the National Voting Machine. With the 
manufacture of this product he is not now 
connected, however. His business for a 
number of years has been an important 
accessory of the great automobile indus- 
try of America, and he is himself an en- 
thusiast on the subject of automobiles and 
understands practically every phase of 
automobile manufacture and the business 
in general. The employment of automo- 
biles for pleasure purposes has constituted 
perhaps his chief recreation. He was on? 
of the pioneer members of the Hoosier 
Automobile Club and similar organizations 
in various other cities and states. He be- 
longs to the Chamber of Commerce, and 
other Indianapolis civic organizations, in- 
cluding the Indianapolis Rotary Club. 

At South Bend Mr. Sandage married 
Miss Laura Klingel, daughter of Jacob 
Klingel. The Klingel family for over half 
a century have been identified with the 
show business in South Bend. Mr. and 
Mrs. Sandage have a daughter, Katharine, 
wife of Mr. H. C. Weist, and they have one 
son, William H. Weist. 

In 1917 Mr. Sandage bought a beauti- 
ful country home known as Walnut Hill, 
on the Illinois State Road seven miles north 
of the center of Indianapolis. There he 
and Mrs. Sandage and their daughter and 
her husband have most happy and restful 
surroundings for their domestic life. The 
residence is on an estate of several acres. 
The charm is enhanced by the beautiful 
floral and arboreal growth surrounding the 
residence, which is both costly and com- 
modious, possessing every comfort and con- 
venience, and arranged with all that per- 
fect taste and good artistic proportions 
could demand. 

William Temple Hornaday, whose work 
as a zoologist has brought him renown, was 
born in Plainfield, Indiana, December 1, 
1854. He studied zoology and museology 
in both the United States and Europe, and 
his work has taken him to all parts of the 
world. 



1742 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Mr. Hornaday married Josephine Cham- 
berlain, of Battle Creek, Michigan. He 
maintains his offices in Zoological Park, 
New York. 

Daniel S. Goble, M. D. A physician 
and surgeon at Evansville, where he has 
been in practice since 1906, Doctor Goble 
is a man of high standing in his profession, 
and the confidence of the public and his fel- 
low practitioners in his ability is attested 
to by the fact that he is now serving as 
president of the Vanderburg County Medi- 
cal Society. 

Doctor Goble was born in Clark Town- 
ship of Perry County, Indiana. His an- 
cestors were pioneers in Perry' County. 
His great-grandfather was- a native of 
Massachusetts and served in the Revolu- 
tionary war ; later removing to North 
Carolina. The grandfather Will Goble 
came to Indiana from North Carolina pos- 
sibly the state of his birth. 

At that time Ohio was the only state 
north of the Ohio River, and Indiana was ' 
a territory. There was no railroads and 
Will Goble followed one of the pioneer 
trails over the Blue Ridge Mountains and 
across the states of Tennessee and Ken- 
tucky to Indiana. He located in what is 
now Clark Township of Perry County. 
This was then a wilderness, filled with In- 
dians who claimed it as their hunting 
ground. He acquired a tract of land and 
began the tremendous task of making a 
farm. He was in every way fitted for pio- 
neer life, being of strong athletic build, a 
tireless worker, yet very fond of sports 
and hunting. The Indians frequently pit- 
ted their fleetest runners against him in 
foot races. He and his wife spent their last 
years in Perry County. 

Daniel Goble, father of Doctor Goble, 
was also born in Clark Township and grew 
up amid pioneer scenes. He attended rural 
schools when it was the custom for the 
teacher to board around in the families of 
the pupils. Reared on a farm he inherited 
land, and his good judgment and ability 
enabled to build up one of the best farms 
in Perry County. He died at the age of 
eighty-one and was buried in the Lan- 
man cemetery, on the farm where he had 
lived since his marriage. 

Daniel Goble was married to Louisa Lan- 
man. a native of Clark Township, daughter 
of George Lanman and grand-daughter 
of John Lanman. John Lanman was one 



of the first settlers of that township and 
owned one of the first horse mills operated 
for the public in Perry County. Mrs. 
Louisa Goble died at the age of sixty years, 
the mother of the following children: 
George, John, Keith, Daniel S., Susan, 
Martha and Sarah. 

Doctor Goble spent his youth in the en- 
vironment of his father's farm. He at- 
tended district schools, and finished his lit- 
erary education in the Central Normal 
College at Danville, Indiana. He began 
his life of usefulness as a teacher at the 
age of seventeen, and taught five terms in 
Perry County. 

In the meantime he was diligently study- 
ing medicine under Doctor Lomax of Bris- 
tow, Indiana, and subsequently entered the 
Kentucky School of Medicine at Louis- 
ville, where he graduated with the class 
of 1892. In 1907 he took a post-graduate 
course in the same institution. Doctor 
Goble was in practice at Chrisney, Indiana, 
until he sought a larger and better field for 
his skill and experience and removed to 
Evansville in 1906. Beside his official as- 
sociation with the Vanderburg Medical 
Society, he is a member of the Indiana 
State and the Ohio Valley Medical Associa- 
tions and is for 1919 Vanderburg County's 
Health Commissioner. 

He is affiliated with Evansville Lodge, 
No. 64, Free and Accepted Masons, and 
Orion Lodge Knights of Pythias. He and 
wife are active members of Olivet Presby- 
terian Church. 

He married in 1893 Oma R. Cooper, a 
native of Perry County. Her father, 
Gabriel Cooper, for many years was a 
prominent and successful teacher in that 
county. 

Doctor and Mrs. Goble have two daugh- 
ters, named Mildred and Marjorie. 

H. R. Porter, though one of the younger 
men in the industrial life of Indiana, has 
had experiences and connections which are 
important items in industrial history, es- 
pecially at Richmond. 

He is superintendent of the Simplex 
Machine Tool Company's Richmond 
h^anch. The head offices of the Simplex 
Machine Tool Company, one of the largest 
organizations of its kind in the United 
States, are at Cleveland. It was in Feb- 
ruary, 1917, that the corporation acquired 
the Richmond Adding and Listing Machine 
Company, a plant well adapted for light 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1743 



manufacturing. It has since been used for 
the manufacture of light tool machinery, 
especially 12-inch lathes, and under pres-' 
ent operating conditions it employs about 
200 persons. 

Mr. Porter was born at Springfield, Ohio, 
in October, 1887, son of James G. and 
Laura (Moore) Porter. He attended gram- 
mar and high schools at Springfield and in 
1901, at the age of fourteen, went to work 
with the Springfield Metallic Casket Com- 
pany, working two years to learn the ma- 
chinist's trade. He spent another three 
years with the Kelly-Springfield Road Rol- 
ler Company, then was emploj^ed one year 
at Indianapolis by the Atlas Engine Works 
as a machinist, and in 1907 came to Rich- 
mond and spent four years as machinist 
with Gaar, Scott & Company. For another 
four years he was machine shop foreman 
of the Pilot Motor Car Company at Rich- 
mond, and another year as tool maker for 
the Teetor, Hartley Motor Company of 
H^gerstown, Indiana. 

Mr. Porter had been a tool maker with 
the Adding and Listing Machine Com- 
pany of Richmond about one year prior to 
its being taken over by the Simplex Ma- 
chine Tool Company. On April 15, 1917, 
under the new ownership, he was made 
foreman of the assembly department, and 
since July 18, 1917, has been general su- 
perintendent of the entire plant, having 
especially heavy responsibilities during 
the rush of war work. 

Mr. Porter married April 15, 1913, Miss 
Lucile Polglase, daughter of Peter and 
Susan Paxson Polglase of Richmond. Mr. 
Porter is an independent in politics, is 
affiliated with Webb Lodge No. 24, Free 
and Accepted Masons, and the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and is a member of 
the First Lutheran Church. 

Thomas Ralph Austin, M. D., LL. D., 
was born in the parish of Hackney (origi- 
nally Hackenaye), London, England, June 
16, 1810. He was an uncle of Alfred Aus- 
tin, Poet Laureate of England. He grad- 
uated at Oxford, and in 1832 came to New 
York, where on May 2d of that year he mar- 
ried Miss Martha Haigh. He went back 
to England and graduated in medicine, 
and then returned to America. He came 
West, and located in Indiana, in Harrison 
County, where his wife died in 1841. On 
November 17, 1847, he married Miss Jane 
McCauley in Harrison County, Indiana. 



Mr. Austin entered the ministry of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church, and served 
at Jeffersonville, Terre Haute and Vin- 
cennes, coming on Easter, 1872, to St. 
James Church at the last named place — 
the historic building erected by Rev. B. B. 
Killikelly (see Sarah Killikelly). He 
was an enthusiastic Mason, and in May, 
1861, was elected Grand Master of In- 
diana. On July 29, 1861, he enlisted as 
surgeon in the Twenty-Third Indiana Regi- 
ment. He was detached from the regiment 
in February, and appointed acting medical 
director, in which capacity he established 
the army hospitals at Paducah, Kentucky, 
and Bolivar and Dunlap Springs, Ten- 
nessee. 

Mr. Austin resumed the ministry after 
his military service, and died at Vincennes 
February 5, 1884, highly honored in church 
and Masonic circles. 

Benjamin Franklin Tbueblood. Out- 
side of political life no native of Indiana 
has exercised so great an influence on 
world conditions as Benjamin F. True- 
blood. He was a descendant of John True- 
blood, an Englishman, born in 1660, who 
married Agnes Fisher and emigrated to 
Carolina, where he died in 1692. His son 
Amos married Elizabeth Cartwright, a 
Quakeress, who was disowned by the meet- 
ing for marrying outside of the church, but 
later she and her husband were received 
into the meeting, and thenceforth the fam- 
ily were Friends. 

Abel Trueblood, grandfather of Benja- 
min F., was born in North Carolina De- 
cember 8, 1771. He married Mary Symons, 
and removed in 1816 to Washington 
County, Indiana, where he died in 1840. 
His son, Joshua Abel Trueblood, who was 
born March 25, 1815, and died November 
7, 1887, at El Modena, California, was mar- 
ried in 1841 to Esther Parker, daughter of 
William and Elizabeth Parker, who died 
in Hendricks County, Indiana, in 1884. 
Their second son, Benjamin Franklin True- 
blood, was born at Salem, Indiana, Novem- 
ber 25, 1847. 

There was no lack of good schools at 
Salem, and Benjamin prepared for college 
at the Blue River Academy, the Friends' 
school near Salem, and entered Earlham 
College, from which he graduated in 1869. 
He then studied theology, entered the min- 
istry, and became professor of Greek and 
Latin at Penn College, Oskaloosa, Iowa. 



1744 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



In the fall of 1871 he returned to Earl- 
ham as governor, remaining for two win- 
ters. In 1874 he was made president of 
Wilmington College, Ohio, continuing un- 
til 1879, when he went to Penn College, 
Iowa, as president, and remained until 
1890. 

By this time Professor Trueblood had 
become an accomplished linguist, familiar 
with a dozen modern languages, and he was 
sent to Europe as representative of the 
Christian Arbitration Society of Philadel- 
phia to lecture in European cities. In 
May, 1892, he was elected general secre- 
tary of the American Peace Society. He 
held this position until May, 1915, when he 
retired on account of failing health, and 
was elected honorary secretary of the 
society. 

He was practically "the publicity de- 
partment" of the American Peace Society. 
He edited The Advocate of Peace, its offi- 
cial organ, and The Angel of Peace, a 
periodical for children, and in addition de- 
livered lectures and addresses throughout 
the country, wrote for newspapers and 
magazines, published a book and numerous 
pamphlets, attended and took part in all 
the international peace conferences from 
that of London in 1890 to that of Geneva 
in 1912, excepting the Budapest conference 
of 1896 and the Monaco conference of 1902, 
from which he was kept by health consid- 
erations; he also attended and addi'essed 
the dozen or more peace congresses held in 
this country. 

An early member of the International 
Law Association, and of its executive coun- 
cil from 1905, he was a recognized author- 
ity on international law and a prominent 
member of the American Society of Inter- 
national Law. He was accorded private 
interviews with President McKinley con- 
cerning the Spanish-American war, with 
President Roosevelt concerning the Russo- 
Japanese war, with President Taft con- 
cerning the arbitration treaties, and with 
President Wilson concerning the army and 
navy program. Not even excepting his fel- 
low-townsman, Secretary John Hay, no 
other American did so much to promote 
the world peace doctrine as Benjamin 
Trueblood. 

"Federation of the World," the book 
mentioned, was published in 1899, with a 
later edition in 1907. Among his pamphlets 
were "A Stated International Congress," 
"Washington's Anti-Militarism," "The 



Christ of the Andes, " " International Arbi- 
tration at the Opening of the Twentieth 
Century," "The Historic Development of 
the Peace Idea," "History of the American 
Peace Society and Its Work," "A Periodic 
Congress of the Nations," "The Cost of 
War," "How the Sunday Schools May Aid 
the Peace Movement," "Women and the 
Peace Movement," and accounts of the 
two Hague conferences. 

On July 17, 1872, Mr. Trueblood mar- 
ried Sarah Huff Terrell, of New Vienna, 
Ohio, whom he had known as a student 
at Earlham. They had two daughters, 
Lyra Dale (Mrs. George Gregerson Wolk- 
ins), and Florence Esther (Mrs. Jonathan 
Mowry Steere), and a son, Irvin Cuyler, 
who died in 1877. After giving up the 
work as active secretary, Mr. Trueblood 
retired with his family to his home at 
Newton Highlands, Massachusetts, where 
he died October 26, 1916. 

David H. Teeple. While not one of the 
oldest David H. Teeple is one of the most 
widely experienced merchants and busi- 
ness men of Richmond, and is now senior 
partner of Teeple & Wessel, shoe mer- 
chants. Since boyhood he has come to know 
nearly every line of merchandising, but 
is an especial authority on the shoe trade, 
and has not only sold shoes at retail but 
was a traveling salesman for a number of 
years. 

He was born on a farm in St. Mary's 
Township of Adams County, Indiana, in 
1879, son of Isaac Teeple and of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry. He lived on his father's 
farm for a number of years, attended 
school in winter, also spent three terms in 
the Tri-State Normal School at Angola, 
and at the age of eighteen was given a cer- 
tificate and entrusted with the manage- 
ment of a country school in Wabash Town- 
ship of his native county. He also taught 
the Bunker Hill School, the Fravel school 
and the Mount Zion school, all in Adams 
County. 

Beginning in 1901 Mr. Teeple was for 
five years associated with the clothing and 
shoe business of his uncle, S. H. Teeple 
& Company, at Geneva, Indiana. His uncle 
then sold to Samuel S. Acker and the firm 
continued as Acker & Teeple four years. 
David Teeple, selling out to his partner, 
bought a shoe store at Shelbyville in Shelby 
County, Illinois, and was in business there 
for a year and a half. He first came to 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1745 



Richmond in 1910, opening a shoe store 
under the name Teeple Shoe Company. He 
developed this as a very prosperous enter- 
prise and remained for seven and a half 
years, when he disposed of his interests to 
accept the post of traveling representative 
of the Holland Shoe Company of Holland, 
Michigan, with headquarters at Chicago. 
For a year and a half he interested the mer- 
chants of Chicago in his line, and also trav- 
eled over the states of Illinois and Missouri. 
Mr. Teeple then returned to Richmond and 
bought a half interest in his old store, and 
is now congenially and profitably located 
as one of the leading merchants of the city. 
Mr. Teeple, who is unmarried, is affi- 
liated with Masonry, including the thirty- 
second degree Scottish Rite and Mizpah 
Temple of the Mystic Shrine and in politics 
is an independent republican. 

Henry F. Campbell, of Indianapolis, is 
a typical representative of the best type 
of American business men today, virile, 
strong, aggressive, successful. His name 
has already been associated with some of 
the outstanding institutions of the state, 
and even more substantial results may be 
expected from him in the future. 

Mr. Campbell was born at Williamsport, 
Pennsylvania, February 26, 1882, son of 
Eben B. Campbell. In 1904 he graduated 
with the degree Civil Engineer from Le- 
high University and has always had ex- 
pert technical qualifications to guide him 
in his broad business enterprises. Mr. 
.Campbell came to Indianapolis in 1908 to 
represent his father's and his own finan- 
cial interests in the Overland Automobile 
Company and the Marion Motor Car Com- 
pany. In 1910 the Campbell interests in 
these corporations were withdrawn, since 
which time Mr. Eben B. Campbell has had 
no financial investments in Indiana. 

About that time Henry F. Campbell be- 
came associated with the organization of 
the Stutz Motor Car Company, and was 
one of the men primarily responsible for 
the development and success of that Hoos- 
ier enterprise. For a short time he was 
president and later was secretary and 
treasurer of the corporation until Febru- 
ary, 1917, at which time he withdrew from 
the management. 

The chief direction of Mr. Campbell's 
present activities is in agriculture and 
stock raising. He is owner of a two hun- 
dred fifty acre farm in Morgan County, 



Indiana. On that farm he has developed 
the nucleus of a herd of Poland 'China 
hogs which are unexcelled in point of se- 
lection, breeding and other points admired 
by judges of swine. Conducting a hog 
ranch is not merely a diversion or a labor 
of love with Mr. Campbell. It is a busi- 
ness proposition, and incidentally is doing 
much for the betterment of stock stand- 
ards throughout the state. He also owns 
and operates a large cattle ranch in Col- 
orado and Wyoming, stocked with about 
2,400 head of choice white face Here^fords. 
"With several others Mr. Campbell is in- 
terested in probably the largest wheat 
ranch in the United States, located in the 
San Joaquin Valley of California. 

Mr. Campbell is a man of means who 
is never content to be idle. He is always 
working and getting work done, and his 
presence in any community is an invalua- 
ble asset. As a resident of Indianapolis he 
is a member of the Columbia Club, is affil- 
iated with the thirty-second degree of Scot- 
tish Rite Masonry and Murat Temple of 
the Mystic Shrine. He is married and has 
two children. 

Daniel Wait Howe, eminent lawyer and 
judge, was born at Patriot, Indiana, Oc- 
tober 24, 1839, a son of Daniel Haven and 
Lucy (Hicks) Howe, and a descendant of 
John Howe, the first settler of Marlbor- 
ough, Massachusetts. Judge Howe gradu- ■ 
ated A. B. from Franklin College in 1857, 
and is a graduate of the Albany Law 
School, LL. B., with the class of 1867. After 
a service in the Civil war, in which he took 
part in many of its hard fought battles, 
he began the practice of law at Franklin 
in 1867, where he also served as city at- 
torney and state prosecuting attorney. In 
1873 he became a resident of Indianapolis. 
Here he served as judge of the Superior 
Court from 1876 until 1890, when he re- 
sumed the practice of the law, but is now 
retired. 

Judge Howe married Inez Hamilton, a 
daughter of Robert A. and Susan Hamil- 
ton, of Decatur County, Indiana. 

Charles E. Coffin, formerly president 
of the Central Trust Company of Indian- 
apolis and now treasurer of the Star Pub- 
lishing Company, has had an active posi- 
tion in business and civic affairs at the 
capital for nearly half a century. 

He was born at Salem, Washington 



1746 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



County, Indiana, son of Zachariah T. and 
Caroline (Armfield) Coffin. His father 
was a tanner by trade, and enjoyed a 
highly respected place in his community 
and served as justice of the peace. In 
1862 the family removed to Bloomington, 
Indiana. 

It was in that university town that 
Charles E. Coffin acquired part of his edu- 
cation. At the age of twenty he came t^ 
Indianapolis and went to work for the real 
estate firm of Wylie & Martin. At the end 
of six years his experience and other quali- 
fications justified him in setting up a busi- 
ness of his own, and for over thirty years 
Mr. Coffin was one of the leading experts 
in realty values and in handling many of 
the larger operations involving real estate 
in the city. He was not only a broker, but 
has to his credit the opening up and placing 
on the market of a number of subdivisions 
in and around Indianapolis. 

In 1899 Mr. Coffin organized the Central 
Trust Company and was its president until 
the company sold its building and business 
to the Farmers Trust Company. Mr. 
Coffin was also one of the organizers of the 
Indianapolis and Eastern Railroad Com- 
pany, was one of its first stockholders and 
for a number of years its vice president. 
He still has a number of interests in busi- 
ness organizations, but gives most of his 
time to his duties as treasurer of the Star 
Publishing Company. 

Mr. Coffin takes a due degree of proper 
pride in the fact that he was one of the 
organizers and incorporators of the Indian- 
apolis Commercial Club in 1890 and was 
closely identified with the organization 
through its great constructive work in the 
making of a modern municipality. He 
served as president of the club in 1900. He 
was also one of the incorporators and served 
;is a director of the Country Club and 
the Woodstock Club, has been a director 
of the Indianapolis Art Association, has 
served as a member of the Board of Gov- 
ernors of the Indianapolis Board of Trade, 
and is now serving his twentieth year on 
the City Board of Park Commissioners. 
He is a charter member of the Columbia 
Club, a member of the Contemporary Club, 
the University Club, the Marion Club, the 
Society of Colonial Wars and treasurer of 
the Indiana Historical Society. Mr. Coffin 
is a republican, a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, is a thirty-second de'gree 



Mason, and a member of Murat Temple 
of the Mystic Shrine. 

John F. Ackerman has been a promi- 
nent merchant of Richmond for over thirty 
years, and is president of the John F. 
Ackerman Company, the highest class dry 
goods and notions store in Eastern In- 
diana. Mr. Ackerman is a man of the 
highest standing in his community, and his 
successful record is due to his long and 
close attention to his steadily increasing 
business interest. He has little of the thirst 
for adventure and travel which made of his 
son, Carl Ackerman, one of the most fam- 
ous correspondents developed by the great 
war. 

Mr. Ackerman was born at Richmond, 
September 7, 1863, son of Herman Henry 
and Caroline Elizabeth (Kruval) Acker- 
man. His father came from Neuenkirchen 
in Hanover when a young man of thirty 
years, while the mother came from Osna- 
brueck, Hanover, at the age of fifteen. 
Herman Henry Ackerman settled at Rich- 
mond and was employed as an engineer by 
Swavne, Dunn & Companv. He died in 
1867. 

John F. Ackerman was the second in 
a family of four children. He attended 
public school very little during his youth, 
completing only the third grade. He then 
went to work at wages of $4 a week stack- 
ing tanbark for the Wiggins tannery, and 
in 1878 was employed as errand boy and 
cashier by Leonard Haynes & Company, 
dry goods merchants. He worked along 
through different responsibilities, became 
manager of the calico stock, woolens, hos- 
iery, underwear, and every other depart- 
ment of the store, until they went out of 
business in 1888. In the meantime he had 
carefully saved his money and after his 
marriage he took charge of the dry goods 
department of the L. M. Jones Company in 
1888, and remained there until 1892, build- 
ing up his branch of the business to very 
successful proportions. He and W. F. 
Thomas bought the Railroad store at 
Eighth and L streets, and the firm of 
Ackerman & Thomas were in business until 
1899. He then rejoined the L. M. Jones 
establishment, and was again manager of 
the drygoods department until 1902, in 
which year with Albert Gregg, he bought 
a half interest in the Hoosier store and 
was one of the responsible managers of that 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1747 



drygoods house until 1910, when he sold 
his interest. He then enjoyed a well 
earned rest for about a .year, and in 1912 
started at his present location on Main 
Street the John F. Ackerman Company, 
which is the premier store of its kind han- 
dling dry goods and notions in Richmond. 
The business is incorporated for $10,000, 
and has a trade extending twenty-four 
miles in a radius around Richmond. Mr. 
Ackerman also owns the building in which 
his store is located. He is a member of the 
Commercial Club, of which his son Everett 
is treasurer. He is independent in politics, 
and a member of the Trinity Lutheran 
Church. 

In 1887 Mr. Ackerman married Miss Mary 
Alice Eggemeyer, daughter of John and 
Caroline (Stiens) Eggemeyer of Richmond. 
The three children of their marriage are 
Carl W., aged twenty-nine ; Everett J., 
aged twenty-seven, and Rhea Caroline, age 
twenty-live. Everett married Charlotte 
Allison, of Richmond, in 1912, and their 
two children are Margaret Ann, born in 
1916, and Thomas Fielding, born in 1918. 
Rhea Caroline is a graduate of the Reid 
Memorial Hospital, where she took a three 
years' course as a nurse, and has served 
as a nurse with the Red Cross. 

Carl W. Ackerman, the famous war 
correspondent, is twenty-nine years old and 
a native of Richmond. He graduated 
from high school and from 1907 to 1911 
was a student in Earlham College. While 
in college he started the Press Club, the 
college paper, and successfully managed 
it. Earlham conferred upon him an hon- 
orary degree in- June, 1917, at the same 
time that Orville Wright of Dayton was 
similarly honored. After graduating Carl 
Ackerman went to work for the Sidner- 
Van Riper Advertising Company of In- 
dianapolis, serving nine months as a 
stenographer. About that time he heard 
Talcott Williams of the Columbia Univer- 
sity School of Journalism talk, and nothing 
would satisfy him short of a course in that 
newly established branch of Columbia. He 
entered in 1912, and after nine months 
graduated as a member of the first class 
of twelve. He soon received an assign- 
ment with the United Press as a detail and 
office man, and had two important assign- 
ments which tested his mettle as a corres- 
pondent and reporter. One of these was an 
interview with President Wilson. When 



the famous Captain Becker of 1 the New 
York police scandal was convicted and 
sent to Sing Sing, Carl Ackerman secured 
an interview while Becker was on his way 
to prison and brought out many facts not 
before made public concerning that re- 
markable conspiracy. After three months 
in New York Carl Ackerman was given 
charge of the Philadelphia office of the 
United Press, was legislative reporter at 
Albany, New York, in the 1913 session, and 
was then sent to Washington to interview 
all foreign embassies, remaining there until 
February, 1915. He was then given the 
coveted honor of Berlin correspondent for 
the United Press, and remained in Ger- 
many all through the early years of the 
war, finally coming out with Mr. Gerard, 
the United States ambassador, when 
America became involved. Carl Acker- 
man's reports on conditions in Germany 
have generally been accepted as the clear- 
est and most accurate in all the great mass 
of correspondence that burdened the cables 
during the early years of the war. Several 
of his most widely read articles were pub- 
lished in the Saturday Evening Post, and 
after his return from Germany the Post 
sent him to Mexico and later to Switzer- 
land, and he reviewed conditions in both 
countries. He is author of two widely read 
books, ' ' Germany the Next Republic, ' ' and 
"The Mexican Dilemma," both published 
bv the George H. Doran Company. More 
recently the New York Times sent him as 
eastern correspondent to Japan, Siberia 
and China, and he gave the first authentic 
account for American newspapers concern- 
ing the murder of the ex-Czar and family 
at Eketerinburg in Siberia by the Bolshe- 
vists. Carl Ackerman now has his home 
at New Hope, Pennsylvania. In recent 
months he has appeared before audiences 
all over the United States lecturing on his 
war experiences and particularly on the 
subject ' ' The Menace of Bolshevism. ' ' He 
married Mabel Van der Hoff of New York 
City in May, 1913. They have a son, Rob- 
ert Van der Hoff Ackerman, born in 1914 
in Germany, six months after his parents 
had gone to Berlin. Carl Ackerman is in- 
dependent in politics. He is a member of 
the Lotus Club of New York, and an hon- 
orary member of the Rotary Club of Rich- 
mond. He is also a member of the Wash- 
ington Press Club. 



1748 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Frank S. Scheibler. One of the oldest 
and best patronized establishments in 
Richmond for retail meats is under the 
present proprietorship of Frank S. 
Scheibler, and it was founded many years 
ago by his father. 

The present proprietor was born at 
Richmond December 19, 1877, son of Frank 
and Caroline ' (Minner) Scheibler. His 
father came from Germany at the age of 
twenty-one, learned the butcher trade in 
Cincinnati, and then came to Richmond, 
where he married and where he continued 
active in business until 1915. He died in 
1917. He was an old and honored resi- 
dent of the city. Frank S. Scheibler was 
third among four children. He attended 
St. Andrew's parochial schools, and after 
leaving school at the age of eighteen went 
to work for his father, and acquired a 
thorough knowledge of the business in gen- 
eral details and also became skillful on its 
technical side. He was with his father for 
several years and since 1915 has been ac- 
tive head of the shop. 

Mr. Scheibler is a republican in politics 
and is affiliated with the Fraternal Order 
of Eagles. In 1914 he married Miss Hen- 
rietta Lea, daughter of Harry and Phili- 
pine (Miller) Lea of Richmond. They 
have two children : Joseph, born in 1915, 
and Eleanor, born in 1916. 

Robert Sanpord Foster. There is noth- 
ing of which America and Americans will 
be more proud in future years than the 
spirit of willingness with which men promi- 
nent in business and social affairs have left 
those positions to engage in the grim busi- 
ness of war, accepting places wherever 
duty called them, content and satisfied 
only that they could be of use and service 
in forwarding the great cause. 

At the time this is written in 1918 the 
Red Cross and related activities call for 
far more of the time and strength of Rob- 
ert Sanford Foster than his private busi- 
ness. Mr. Foster is president of the Rob- 
ert S. Foster Lumber Company, a business 
which is a continuation of the old Foster 
Lumber Company, established more than 
forty-five years ago in Indianapolis. The 
name Foster probably has as many and im- 
portant associations with the lumber busi- 
ness of Indiana as any other that might 
be mentioned. It is also a name honored 



and respected in many ways in the capital 
city. 

The Fosters have been residents of In- 
diana for more than a century, and came 
to the bleak shores of New England nearly 
three centuries ago. The first American 
ancestor was Edward Foster, a practicing 
lawyer from Kent County, England. He 
arrived in America in 1633 and founded 
the Scituate, Massachusetts, branch of the 
English Fosters. For six generations the 
Fosters remained in Massachusetts. Riley 
Shaw Foster, grandfather of the Indian- 
apolis business man, was of English and 
New England descent, and was a son of 
Jonathan and Elizabeth (Wright) Foster 
of Bristol, New York, who, however, were 
born and married in Massachusetts. They 
moved to New York State in 1800. On 
his maternal side Riley Shaw Foster was 
seventh in descent from Deacon Samuel 
Chapin, who was the original of St. 
Gaudens statue of "The Puritan" at 
Springfield, Massachusetts. 

Riley Shaw Foster was born in Ontario 
County, New York, December 30, 1810, and 
came to Indiana in 1814. He conducted a 
furniture store and a cabinet making shop 
at Vernon in Jennings County, Indiana, 
and afterwards for many years was the 
leading druggist of that town. In 1868 he 
moved to Indianapolis, where he lived re- 
tired. He was a whig and republican, and 
he and his wife members of the First Chris- 
tian Church at Indianapolis. Riley Shaw 
Foster married Sarah J. Wallace, a native 
of Ireland and of the; famous Wallace 
Clan of Scotland. 

The founder of the Foster lumber busi- 
ness in Indianapolis was the late Chapin 
Clark Foster, who died at Indianapolis 
June 28, 1916. He was born at Vernon, 
Indiana, April 15, 1847, obtained his early 
education in the schools of his native vil- 
lage and in 1861, at the age of fourteen 
entered the institution at Indianapolis now 
known as Butler College. His studies there 
were interrupted when on May 18, 1864, he 
volunteered and enlisted as a private in 
Company D of the One Hundred and 
Thirty-second Indiana Volunteer Infantry. 
This regiment was in the Army of the Cum- 
berland and he was on duty the hundred 
days of his enlistment. Subsequently he 
was assigned as a member of the commis- 
sion which took testimony and received 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1749 



claims made by the citizens of Southern. 
Indiana who had been injured or suffered 
property loss through the raid of General 
Morgan through that portion of the state. 
Chapin Clark Foster was the youngest of 
five brothers who served in the Civil war. 
The others were William Foster, in the 
Morgan raid, Major General Robert S. 
Foster, Captain Edgar J. Foster and Cap- 
tain Wallace Foster. 

After his army service Chapin C. Foster 
continued his work in Butler College, but 
in the spring of 1865 became disbursing 
officer for the State Asylum for the Deaf 
and Dumb at Indianapolis. He was there 
for six years and then for two years was 
bookkeeper in the old mercantile house of 
L. S. Ayers & Company. Chapin Clark 
Foster identified himself with the lumber 
business at Indianapolis in 1872. From 
that time forward practically until his 
death he was one of the leading lumbermen 
of Indiana. He had various business asso- 
ciates and operated under different firm 
names, but for many years was president 
and executive head of the Foster Lumber 
Company. His success as a lumber dealer 
naturally made him prominent in lumber- 
men's organizations. He was a charter 
member and one year president of the In- 
diana Lumbermen's Association and for 
several years was president of the Indiana 
Lumbermen's Mutual Insurance Company. 
He served as vice president two terms and 
member of the executive committee of the 
Indiana Manufacturers Association, and 
was a charter member and for a number of 
years on the executive committee and later 
secretary of the Indianapolis Employers 
Association. He was also a charter mem- 
ber of the Indianapolis Board of Trade, 
served twice as its vice president, was a 
member of the Indianapolis Commercial 
Club from the time of its organization and 
was its first vice president, was the first 
president of the Columbia Club after its 
incorporation, was one of the organizers 
and incorporators of the Country Club and 
its first president. He was also a member 
of the Marion Club, charter member of 
George H. Thomas Post No. 17, Grand 
Army Republic and for many years an 
elder in the First Presbyterian Church. 
Politically he was a devoted supporter of 
the republican party, though he never 
sought official honors. 



Chapin Clark Foster married in 1873, 
Harriet Mclntire, who is still living in In- 
dianapolis. She has long been prominent 
in social and charitable affairs and her 
name is permanently linked with Indiana 
authors and literary work. In 1894 she 
founded the Indiana Society of the Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution and was 
the first state regent, holding that office 
six years, and afterwards being made the 
first honorary state regent. She also 
founded the first eight chapters in Indiana. 
Her father, Rev. Dr. Thomas Mclntire, was 
for twenty-six j r ears superintendent of the 
Indiana State Asylum for the Deaf and 
Dumb at Indianapolis, and out of those 
early associations Mrs. Foster acquired a 
knowledge and sympathy which have made 
her an effective instrument in every move- 
ment toward the solution of problems con- 
nected with the administration of public 
institutions for defective and unfortunate 
people. In 1878, at the request of Rev. 0. 
McCullough, she wrote a pamphlet upon 
the education of the feeble minded, ad- 
dressed to the Legislature then sitting, and 
this pamphlet changed the minority vote 
to a majority vote in favor of building the 
school for the feeble minded at Fort 
Wayne. In 1888 she was author of a paper 
on Indiana Authors, prepared for the 
Indianapolis Woman's Club. This con- 
tained besides personal reminiscences a list 
of over 250 Indiana writers. The paper 
was widely used in the public schools, In- 
diana University, Technical Institute, and 
Indiana Library School. In 1885 she also 
prepared a Memoir of her father, Rev. Dr. 
Thomas Mclntire, and in 1908 she wrote 
a Memoir of Mrs. Benjamin Harrison, the 
first President General of the National So- 
ciety of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution. Mrs. Foster for many years 
was vice president for Indiana of the 
Northwest Genealogical Society. She is 
also a member of the Indiana Historical 
Society and of the Red Cross, and wrote 
for the Indiana Historical Society "Mem- 
ories of the National Road," published in 
the Indiana Historical Magazine in March, 
1917. Mrs. Foster is a member of the First 
Presbyterian Church, and was director and 
secretary and is now director emeritus of 
the Indianapolis Orphans Society. For 
fourteen years she was a member of the 
Citizens Library Committee, Public Li- 



1750 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



brary, and gave much time to the careful 
selection of new books for the public library 
of Indianapolis. 

Her father, Dr. Thomas Mclntire, was 
born at Reynoldsburg, Ohio, December 25, 
1815, and died at Indianapolis September 
25, 1885. He was educated in Hanover 
College and Franklin College, graduating 
from the latter in 1840 and from Princeton 
Theological Seminary in 1842. Forty 
years of his life were given to the educa- 
tional and administrative work of public 
institutions for the deaf and dumb. He 
was instructor in the Ohio Deaf and Dumb 
Institute from 1842 to 1845, founded, and 
from 1845 to 1850 was superintendent of 
the Tennessee Deaf and Dumb Institute 
at Knoxvilie, Tennessee, and following an 
interval in which he conducted a book- 
store at Columbus, was made superintend- 
ent in 1852 of the Indiana Deaf and Dumb 
Institute, an office he filled until 1879. 
From 1879 to 1882 he was superintendent 
of the Michigan Deaf and Dumb and Blind 
Institute at Flint, and then founded the 
Western Pennsylvania Institute for the 
Deaf and Dumb, where he served from 
1883 until shortly before his death. Sep- 
tember 26, 1843, he married Miss Eliza- 
beth Barr, of Columbus, Ohio, daughter of 
John Barr and Nancy Nelson, granddaugh- 
ter of two of the founders of Columbus, 
Ohio. Doctor and Mrs. Mclntire had five 
daughters, Mrs. Chapin C. Foster ; Alice, 
who died in childhood ; Mrs. Merrick N. 
Vinton, of New York; Mrs. Charles Mar- 
tindale; and Mrs. Morris Ross, of Indian- 
apolis. 

Chapin C. Foster and wife had three 
children: Mary Mclntire, Robert Sanford 
and Martha Martindale. Mary Mclntire, 
who died June 13, 1905, was the wife of 
Charles H. Morrison, and mother of Robert 
Foster Morrison, born June 10, 1905. 
Martha Martindale Foster married July 16, 
1911, Maj. Howard C. Marmon, United 
States America, now in command of Mc- 
Cook Aviation Field at Dayton, Ohio. 

Robert Sanford Foster, whose career is 
in many important respects a continuation 
of his father's activities and influences, in 
the City of Indianapolis, was born in. the 
sixteen block on East Washington Street, 
Indianapolis, June 16, 1876. His early 
education and training would have been 
an adequate preparation for any profes- 
sion or vocation he might have chosen. He 



attended the Boys Classical School at In- 
dianapolis, Butler College, and finished in 
Princeton University. He was a student 
at Princeton when Woodrow Wilson was 
one of the professors of that institution. 

From college he returned home to be- 
come associated with his father in the lum- 
ber business, and several years ago he 
organized the R. S. Foster Lumber Com- 
pany, which continues at the old location 
of his father's company. Mr. Foster is 
an active member of the Chamber of Com- 
merce, the Columbia Club, and the First 
Presbyterian Church. 

His interests and sympathies and activi- 
ties have made him respond to every call 
upon his services since America entered 
the great war. At the present time he is 
serving as field director of the Red Cross 
for Fort Benjamin Harrison and Speed- 
way, and also for the Vocational Training 
Detachments within the state. 

October 16, 1906, Robert S. Foster mar- 
ried Miss Edith Jeffries, daughter of Rev. 
W. H. and Elsie (McFain) Jeffries. Her 
father is a graduate of Princeton College. 
Mr. and Mi's. Foster have one daughter, 
Mary Edith, born July 31, 1907. 

i 

Homer V. Winn. Indianapolis has 
present abundant opportunities to Homer 
V. Winn in its business and civic affairs. 
He is an Illinois man, but after a varied 
experience as a sales manager and mer- 
chant in that state and elsewhere, removed 
to Indianapolis and became identified offi- 
cially with some of the older organizations 
and has helped promote some of the newer 
forces in the commercial and civic life of 
the capital city. 

Mr. Winn was born at Brocton, Illinois, 
March 12, 1883, a son of Marion and Sa- 
mantha H. (Haines) Winn. His grand- 
father went to Edgar County, Illinois, 
from Zanesville, Ohio, and became a well 
known figure in that section of the Prairie 
State. He was a farmer, a republican, a 
Methodist, and died at Kansas, Illinois, in 
1917, in advanced years. The oldest of 
his eight children was Marion Winn, who 
had the distinction of being the only re- 
publican sheriff Edgar County ever had, 
and even at that he was elected by the 
largest majority ever given in any previous 
campaign for that office. He served as 
sheriff of Edgar County from 1894 to 
1902. He was a man of good education, 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1751 



a farmer by occupation, and for several 
years has lived retired at Brocton, being 
now sixty-eight years of age. He served 
a number of years as a member of the 
County School Board. He is a Scottish 
Rite Mason. 

Homer V. Winn was the youngest of the 
six children of his parents and received his 
early training in the public schools of 
Illinois. For a time he was deputy United 
States marshal at Springfield, Illinois, un- 
der Marshal C. P. Hitt. Later he engaged 
in the retail clothing business at Paris, 
Illinois, under the name of The Winn Com- 
pany, and was its managing partner. He 
was in that business for ten years. He 
also served as .sales manager for the 
Southern Motors Company of Louisville, 
Kentucky, and as manager of the sales 
promotion department of the Cadillac 
Company of Indiana. Mr. Winn is now 
giving most of his time to a broader serv- 
ice of sales organization and advertising, 
and until March, 1918, was member of the 
firm Aldred and Winn, which was estab- 
lished in 1915 as an advertising agency, 
especially adapted to the promotion of 
sales of large industrial and manufactur- 
ing enterprises. 

Mr. Winn is secretary of the Indianap- 
olis Real Estate Board and is also secre- 
tary of the Community Welfare League, 
which he organized in 1916. He is a mem- 
ber of the Advertising Club of Louisville, 
Kentucky, and the Kiwanis and Optimist 
clubs of Indianapolis. December 20, 1906, 
at Paris, Illinois, Mr. Winn married Miss 
Emma Link. They have a daughter, 
Katherine, born August 20, 1917. 

William P. Malott. The Malott fam- 
ily, represented by William P. Malott of 
Indianapolis, is one of the best known in 
Indiana. The Malotts were pioneers and 
through different generations have been 
dynamic forces for business ability and 
probity. None of the name has ever been 
other than honorable and straightforward 
in his relationships, and many of them 
have been real leaders in educational, re- 
ligious and charitable affairs. 

At a time when the maps of the western 
country showed very few towns and when 
the Falls of the Ohio were a conspicuous 
point, Hiram Malott, who was of French 
Huguenot ancestry, journeyed down the 
Ohio and established his home near the 



Falls at the budding village of Louisville, 
Kentucky. A son of this pioneer Ken- 
tuckian was Michael A. Malott, who was 
born near Jeffersontown in Jefferson 
County, Kentucky, about ten miles from 
Louisville. He grew up and married in 
his native state. His mother's maiden 
name was Mary Hawes. From Kentucky 
Michael Malott moved across the Ohio 
River into the largely unbroken and un- 
settled country of Southern Indiana, and 
established a home at Leesville in Lawrence 
County. Still later he removed to Bed- 
ford, where for years he was prominent in 
business and public affairs. He was a 
banker, long held the office of president of 
the Bedford Bank, and in 1847 was elected 
to represent Lawrence County in the State 
Senate. He was one of the forceful men 
in the legislative session and in order to 
reach Indianapolis in the absence of rail- 
road facilities from Lawrence County he 
made the journey on horseback. He was 
a strict business man, proverbially honest 
and upright in all his dealings, and his 
record can be recalled with satisfaction 
not only by his family but by all who take 
pride in Indiana citizenship. He was a 
democrat in politics. He died in 1875. 
The maiden name of his wife was Elizabeth 
Moonev, and of their children the fifth 
was William P. Malott. 

William P. Malott was born at Bedford, 
Indiana, February 16, 1840, one of seven 
sons and three daughters. His home re- 
mained at Bedford until 1895, when he 
came to Indianapolis. As a youth he re- 
sponded to the call for military service 
and on July 21, 1861, upon the organiza- 
tion of the Twenty-First Indiana Infantry, 
he joined the band and was its leader. 
The regiment was later reorganized and 
became part of the First Indiana Heavy 
Artillery. Mr. Malott was in service about 
eighteen months. As the result of a special 
act of Congress disbanding all regimental 
bands he was granted an honorable dis- 
charge at New Orleans September 11, 1863. 
During his service as band leader he had 
under him the youngest man known to 
have had his name on the muster rolls of 
the United States army. The name of this 
man, or rather boy, was Eddie Black, who 
at the time of his enlistment was 8% years 
old. Mr. Malott was in the Butler cam- 
paign around the coast to New Orleans 
and was present when Baton Rouge was 



1752 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



conquered by the Union troops. On May 
2, 1862, his band was the first to play in 
New Orleans after it was captured by But- 
ler's army. 

Mr. Malott had begun his business 
career at the age of sixteen as a dry goods 
merchant. In 1874 he took up the opera- 
tion of the Bedford Woolen Mills. In 1882 
he became cashier of the Bedford Bank. 
Since coming to Indianapolis Mr. Malott 
has been engaged in the retail coal busi- 
ness. In politics he is a democrat. In 
1916 he completed a half century record 
as a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He joined the order at Bed- 
ford and has always kept his membership 
there. He is a member of the Christian 
Church. 

Mr. Malott among friends and associates 
has always been noted for the sunshine of 
his temperament and disposition and his 
unselfish devotion to the amelioration of 
the griefs of his fellow men. What he 
has been able to do through acts of per- 
sonal kindness perhaps furnishes him a 
greater consolation in his declining years 
than any of his business successes. For 
over fifty years he was happily married. 
Mr. Malott is a lover of music and in his 
younger days played several instruments. 
His wife was an accomplished pianist and 
often accompanied him. Music was one of 
a number of common resources which 
brought them the greatest of enjoyment. 
It was true of Mr. and Mrs. Malott that 
they were mated as well as married. Their 
lives were congenial, and the heaviest sor- 
row Mr. Malott has been called upon to 
bear was when his beloved companion was 
taken from him six years ago. 

On June 20, 1865, he married Florence 
0. Mitchell, daughter of Jesse A. Mitchell. 
Mrs. Malott died October 5, 1913. They 
were the parents of six children : Frank ; 
Charles M. ; Kate, deceased; Albert, de- 
ceased ; Attia, who married Harvey B. Mar- 
tin; and Charlotte, deceased. 

Colonel John T. Barnett. An hon- 
ored resident of Indianapolis for many 
years, a native of Hendricks County, In- 
diana, the career of Colonel John T. Bar- 
nett is one that reflects honor upon his 
native state. He was the first Hendricks 
County boy to graduate from the United 
States Military Academy at West Point, 
and he saw much active service as an offi- 



cer of the regular United States Army in 
the far west when that section of the coun- 
try needed the constant vigilance and pro- 
tection of the military forces. He also 
has the distinction of being the second man 
of Hendricks County to command a regi- 
ment in a war, and was the only demo- 
cratic colonel in the Spanish-American 
war from the State of Indiana. Aside 
from his military record Colonel Barnett 
has long been prominent in business af- 
fairs and in civic life. 

He was born three miles west of Dan- 
ville, Indiana, September 2, 1851. He is 
a son of William and Nancy (Buchanan) 
Barnett, and of most honorable ancestry. 
His mother was a direct descendant of 
George Buchanan, eminent as a Scottish 
scholar, historian and poet. Colonel Bar- 
nett 's maternal great-grandfather, Alex- 
ander Buchanan, was born in Scotland, a 
member of the old Buchanan clan, and on 
emigrating to the United States became 
identified with the colonial cause in the 
war for independence and saw active serv- 
ice in a New Jersey regiment throughout 
the Revolutionary war. Colonel Barnett 's 
father was a native of Virginia. The rec- 
ord of the family there begins with John 
Barnett, who died about the beginning of 
the Revolutionary war. James, son of 
John, moved to Kentucky in 1808, and was 
a farmer and died in Shelby County. 
William Barnett, father of Colonel Bar- 
nett, came to Indiana in 1833 and was a 
pioneer in Hendricks County, where he 
acquired land from the government, and 
it was on that farm Colonel Barnett was 
born. William Barnett was unusually 
well educated for his time and was a 
teacher as well as a farmer. He gave each 
of his children the best obtainable educa- 
tional advantages and did much for the 
general cause of educational enlighten- 
ment in his home county. Colonel Bar- 
nett 's father lived to the age of seventy-one 
and his mother died at the age of seventy- 
nine. 

As a boy Colonel Barnett attended the 
schools of his native township and also the 
old Danville Academy. For one year he 
taught school. In 1871 he entered As- 
bury, now DePauw, University, and as a 
member of the class of 1875, completed his 
freshman year in that institution. About 
that time upon the recommendation of 
Gen. John Coburn, then a congressman, 




»?-&*/& 




INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1753 



from his district, he was appointed to a 
cadetship in the United States Military 
Academy at West Point, New York. En- 
tering the Academy in June, 1873, he grad- 
uated in June, 1878, standing fourteenth 
in his class and with specially creditable 
marks in mathematics and kindred sub- 
jects. His course had been interrupted in 
the academy for a year on account of 
severe illness from typhoid fever. On his 
graduation he was assigned as second lieu- 
tenant in the Fifth United States Cavalry. 
After his leave of absence he joined his 
regiment October 1, 1878, at Fort D. A. 
Russell, near Cheyenne, Wyoming. It 
will serve to indicate the period in which 
Colonel Barnett's military services were 
rendered when it is recalled that only two 
years before his graduation had occurred 
the tragedy of the Custer massacre in the 
northwest, and for nearly a decade there- 
after there was more or less constant dan- 
ger of Indian uprising. In addition to 
this special seiwice the United States 
troops were kept almost constantly on duty 
as a primary source of law and order in 
territories and domains where white settle- 
ment was just beginning and where the 
conditions of the border still prevailed. 
Colonel Barnett was an active officer in the 
regular United States Army for nine years, 
and was stationed at various posts and on 
detached duty both in Wyoming and Texas. 
On account of disability incurred in the 
line of duty he was compelled to retire in 
1886, and his name has since been on the 
retired list of the United States Army. 

On leaving the army Colonel Barnett 
located at Danville, Indiana, but in 1693 
removed to Indianapolis. His health hav- 
ing improved in the meantime, he engaged 
in the hardware business at Piqua, Ohio, 
in the spring of 1894, as the principal 
owner, president and manager of the Bar- 
nett Hardware Company. He remained a 
resident of that Ohio city until 1899, when, 
selling his interests, he returned to Indian- 
apolis. Here he was engaged in the phar- 
maceutical business until a return of his 
old disease caused him to give it up. 
Later, his health improving, he entered 
the real estate, loan and insurance busi- 
ness, which he still continues with offices 
at 50 North Delaware Street in Indianap- 
olis. His interest in military affairs has 
always been keen, and in many ways he 
has rendered invaluable service to his na- 

Vol. IV— 13 



tive state in keeping up military organi- 
zations. In 1893 Governor Matthews ap- 
pointed him assistant inspector general of 
the Indiana National Guard, with the rank 
of major. He resigned in 1894 on account 
of his absence from the state. At the be- 
ginning of the Spanish-American war he 
offered his services to the secretary of war 
and to the governors of Indiana and Ohio. 
The Indiana governor gladly availed him- 
self of his experience and abilities, appoint^ 
ing him colonel and commander of the 
159th Indiana Volunteer Infantry. Fol- 
lowing his appointment in May, 1898, he 
took his regiment to Camp Alger, Virginia, 
where the regiment was stationed and also 
at Thoroughfare Gap in the same state 
and at Camp Meade, Pennsylvania, 
throughout the following summer. The 
regiment was mustered out at Camp Mount 
in Indianapolis about the last of Novem- 
ber, 1898. During about half of this time 
Colonel Barnett was commander of his 
brigade, and while at Camp Alger for a 
short time commanded the Second Division 
of the Second Army Corps. 

Colonel Barnett is a member of the Sons 
of the American Revolution, has served as 
president of the Indiana Chapter, and has 
been on the Board of Managers since 1899. 
He is a member of the Military Order of 
Foreign Wars, Spanish War Veterans and 
Spanish War Camp, and has been comman- 
der of all these organizations. As a mem- 
ber of the Chamber of Commerce of In- 
dianapolis he is chairman of its military 
committee. While at DePauw University 
he was affiliated with the Sigma Chi Greek 
letter fraternity, and was president of the 
Alumni Chapter at Indianapolis for a 
year. He has been a Mason since the age 
of twenty-one, and in politics has always 
been identified with the democratic party 
and is a member of the Democratic Club 
and a member of its advisory committee. 
He also belongs to the Central Christian 
Church. 

While his own name will always have 
associations with the military affairs of his 
country, the military spirit and the mili- 
tary record of the family will not close 
with him. In the present great World war 
he has two nephews who are serving with 
the rank of captain and one who is a, lieu- 
tenant. And it must be a source of great 
pride and satisfaction to Colonel Barnett 
that his onlv living son and child 



1754 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



won distinction as an American soldier 
and officer in the present crisis. As a 
major in this great conflict he served in 
France for one year. 

Colonel Barnett married December 18, 
1879, Emma Charlotte Peirsol, only daugh- 
ter of Isaac and Elizabeth Peirsol, a promi- 
nent family of Hendricks County. Her 
father was a successful merchant and 
banker at Danville. Mrs. Barnett, who 
died in May, 1892, was the mother of two 
sons: William P., who died at birth; and 
Chester P., born January 14, 1887. In 
1893 Colonel Barnett married Cora B. 
Campbell, daughter of L. M. Campbell, a 
well known lawyer of Danville, Indiana. 

Chester P. Barnett, emulating the career 
of his father is a graduate of the United 
States Military Academy at West Point, 
and was assigned with the rank of second 
lieutenant to the Fifteenth United States 
Cavalry. In July, 1916, Governor Ralston 
of Indiana appointed him major of the 
Third Battalion with the Third Regiment 
of the Indiana National Guard for service 
on the Texas border. He was mustered out 
of that service in March, 1917, and socn 
afterward, with the outbreak of the war 
with Germany, was appointed major in the 
Adjutant General's Department of the 
United States Army and put in charge 
of the Intelligence Bureau of the Depart- 
ment of the East in the latter part of June, 
1917. From those duties, continued until 
the middle of December, 1917, he was or- 
dered to France as adjutant general of the 
Second Brigade of Field Artillery of the 
Second Division of regular troops, and is 
now on duty with the Expeditionary Forces 
under General Pershing. 

Major Barnett has his home in Indian- 
apolis. He is owner of a large and val- 
uable estate in Hendricks County. In 1911 
he married Katharine Davis Brown, a 
granddaughter of Henry Gassaway Davis, 
former United States senator and one time 
democratic candidate for vice president. 
Major Barnett and wife have one son, 
Davis Peirsol Barnett, born January 27, 
1913. 

Gene Stratton Porter, who has won 
fame as an author, was born on a farm in 
Wabash County, Indiana, in 1868, and In- 
diana is still her home. She is a daughter 
of Mark and Mary (Shellenbarger) Strat- 



ton, and in 1886 she was married to 
Charles D. Porter. 

Among her most celebrated works may 
be mentioned "Laddie" and "The Girl of 
the Limberlost," and her home is Limber- 
lost Cabin, Rome City, Indiana. 

Harry B. Smith. By reason of the un- 
precedented conditions then prevailing 
there were more interests and vital con- 
siderations involved in the appointment of 
an adjutant general of the state in 1917 
than had been true for the previous thirty 
or forty years. To this office Governor 
Goodrich called in January, 1917, Harry 
B. Smith, than whom probably no man 
in the state was better fitted by reason of 
previous experience and long and studied 
familiarity with state military affairs. 

Forty years previously, on September 
27, 1877," Harry B. Smith as a private 
joined the Indianapolis Light Infantry of 
the National Guard. He rose through the 
different grades until he became brigadier 
general. During the Spanish-American 
war he was colonel of the One Hundred 
and Fifty-Eight Indiana Volunteer In- 
fantry. Military technique, military or- 
ganization, the strengthening of the per- 
sonnel and development of an effective sys- 
tem, are all subjects with which Mr. Smith 
is familiar through his forty years' ex- 
perience, and in his present capacity he is 
in a position to infuse the proper spirit 
into the military affairs still under the 
jurisdiction of the state, and thereby ren- 
der a splendid service not only to Indiana, 
but the nation as well. 

General Smith was born at Brownsburg, 
Hendricks County, Indiana, October 20, 
1859, son of Fountain P. and Jane Z. (Par- 
ker) Smith. His parents were natives of 
Fleming County, Kentucky, and were chil- 
dren when their respective families moved 
to Hendricks County, Indiana. They grew 
up there and married, and Fountain P. 
Smith after mastering the common 
branches of learning in the public >chcols 
attended the summer normal schools com- 
mon in those days and fitted himself for 
teaching. For a number of years he taught 
school, and during the Civil war Avas in 
the Quartermaster's Department. Tn Jan- 
uary, 1866, he moved to Indianapolis, and 
for many years was engaged in mercantile 
pursuits. He died in March, 1913, and his 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1755 



wife in August, 1914. They were the par- 
ents of two sons and two daughters, Gen- 
eral Smith being the only survivor. 

The latter grew up at Indianapolis from 
the age of seven, and that city has for 
the most part been his home throughout 
his life. He was educated in the grammar, 
high and commercial schools of the city 
and for many years was in business as a 
traveling representative of a large steel 
plant. He also became interested in poli- 
tics at an early day, and has been one of 
the stalwart figures in republican ranks 
for many years. He was nominated and 
elected auditor of Marion County in 1894 
and was re-elected in 1898, filling that office 
with admirable efficiency for eight years. 

He is a member of the Columbia and 
Marion clubs, and is a Knight Templar 
and thirty-second degree Scottish Rite 
Mason and a member of the Mystic Shrine. 
In 1881 he married Miss Lillie G. Boyn- 
ton. Her father, Dr. Charles S. Boynton, 
was surgeon of the Twenty-Fourth Indiana 
Volunteer Infantry during the Civil war. 
General and Mrs. Smith have one daugh- 
ter, Ethel. She is the wife of James M. 
Davis, of Indianapolis, and they have a 
daughter, named Dorothy. 

John Lauck is president of the South 
Side State Bank of Indianapolis. While 
in point of aggregate resources this is not 
one of the largest banks of the state, it 
stands among the best in matter of solid- 
ity, financial service and in every element 
of true prosperity. It is to banks of 
this character that the great bulk of the 
nation's resources are committed and in 
them will be found the representative 
power and character of American finance. 
The South Side State Bank has enjoyed a 
wonderful growth since its establishment, 
and while its capital is still $50,000 the 
confidence of the public in its manage- 
ment is reflected by over $500,000 in de- 
posits, while the total resources are over 
$625,000. Besides Mr. Lauck as presi- 
dent the vice president is William Hart 
and the cashier L. A. Wiles. 

The president of the institution has 
spent nearly all his life in Indianapolis 
and is a son of Michael Lauck, a native of 
Germany, born in Alsace, the border coun- 
try between Germany and Prance, in 1818. 
He was of German ancestrv- However 



much America may at the present time re- 
gard with distress and fear the methods 
and character of the ruling house in the 
German Empire, there is reason for all 
the more emphasis upon the sterling char- 
acter of the real German people, particu- 
larly those who, impelled by a spirit of 
freedom, left that country in the eventful 
days of the '40s and transplanted their 
homes and their ideas to free America. 
Michael Lauck was a real product of the 
German revolution of 1848. Up to that 
time he had lived in the old country and 
had learned and followed the architectural 
iron worker's trade. In Germany he mar- 
ried Mary Augustin. On account of the 
political struggles which drove thousands 
of the best sons of Germany to the New 
World following 1848, he came to America 
in 1849, and lived for some years in Pitts- 
burgh, New Orleans, and Newport, Ken- 
tucky. In 1861 Michael Lauck brought his 
family to Indianapolis, and this was his 
home until his death in 1866. Soon after 
coming to America he became a naturalized 
citizen and none could surpass him in 
loyalty to the land of his adoption. He 
was a democratic voter, and a member of 
the Catholic Church. He and his wife had 
nine children, the three now living being 
Peter W., John and Anthony J., all resi- 
dents of Indianapolis. 

Mr. John Lauck was born in Kentucky 
in March, 1854, and came to Indianapolis 
with his parents at the age of seven years. 
Here he attended the parochial schools, and 
in 1882 engaged in business for himself 
in the sheet metal and hardware trade. 
He was active in that line until 1912, and 
still has large interests in the business, be- 
ing vice president of the Indianapolis Cor- 
rugating Company. 

He was one of the men who organized 
the South Side State Bank in 1912, and 
the service of that institution and its rapid 
growth and prosperity must be largely 
credited to his efficient management as 
president from the beginning. 

Mr. Lauck is a democrat and a member 
of the Catholic Church. In 1881 he mar- 
ried Caroline Wagner. They became the 
parents of nine children. Three are de- 
ceased, George, Gertrude and Clara. Those 
still living are: John P., Charles M., 
Frank A., Agnes J., Albert F. and Cecelia. 
Agnes is now Mrs. August Mueller. 



1756 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Austin B. Gates. Of the older Indiana 
families few have sustained so well their 
pristine vigor and have shown greater 
ability to adapt themselves to the chang- 
ing conditions, whether those of the wilder- 
ness or modern business affairs, as the 
family of Gates. It is widely and honor- 
ably known in several counties of the state, 
and a number of the family have been and 
are connected with the City of Indianap- 
olis. 

Of the older generation one of the last 
survivors was the late Austin B. Gates, 
who died at his home in Indianapolis Feb- 
ruary 1, 1909. Throughout a long and 
active career he was identified with many 
branches of the livestock industry and was 
best known to Indianapolis people through 
having founded a livery stable at Alabama 
and Wabash streets in 1864, an institution 
which he conducted until his death, for a 
period of forty-five years. 

His earliest ancestor of whom there is 
record was Joshua Gates, his grandfather, 
who lived and probably died in the State 
of New York. The father of Austin B. 
Gates was Avery Gates, who was born in 
New York State May 22, 1780. He mar- 
ried there Polly Toby, and early . in the 
last century brought his wife and one child 
to the trackless wilderness of the West, 
traveling down the Ohio Eiver on flat- 
boats, and about 1807 located on land near 
Connersville in Fayette County, Indiana. 
As the date indicates, he was there seven 
or eight years before Indiana was admitted 
to the Union and his home was in fact 
on the very northern frontier of the then 
inhabited section of Indiana. His children 
grew up in the midst of the wilderness 
filled with wild game and Indian neigh- 
bors. Avery Gates was a farmer and stock- 
man and also operated a sawmill in Fay- 
ette County. He died January 4, 1865, 
and his widow on September 9, 1873. They 
had seven children : Celina, who was born 
in New York State and came west with her 
parents in infancy ; Avery B., who was 
the first child born in Indiana, the date 
of his birth being January 14, 1808 ; 
Luiann; Emeline; Caroline; Alfred B., 
who was born November 13, 1823, and con- 
cerning whom and his branch of the Gates 
family more particulars will be found on 
other pages of this publication ; and 
Austin B. 

Austin B. Gates, the youngest of his 



father's family, was born near Conners- 
ville, on a farm in Fayette County, July 
22, 1825. That he was of most hardy 
and long lived stock is indicated by the 
fact that he and all the other children 
were close to or past the age of four score 
when they died. He lived with his parents 
until after his marriage, attended sub- 
scription schools in the country, worked on 
the farm and also helped his father in 
the operation of the sawmill. In early 
manhood he carried out a plan which he 
had carefully considered of going to Iowa, 
which in the meantime had become the 
western frontier, and there bought up 
cattle and drove them on the hoof to Cin- 
cinnati to market. These early activities 
as a cattle drover gave him his start in 
life. During the Civil war period the old 
homestead was sold and the family re- 
moved to Dublin, Indiana. Here Austin 
B. Gates, through his interest in livestock, 
established a livery business and operated 
a feed and sales barn. From there he re- 
moved to Indianapolis in 1864, and con- 
tinued the livery business as above stated. 
While the Civil war was in progress he also 
was a Government contractor, buying up 
horses and mules all over the country. 
Even into old age he continued operations 
as a livestock dealer. While at Dublin he 
had organized the firm of Gates & Pray, 
auctioneers, and this firm became widely 
known throughout the entire State of In- 
diana. 

Austin B. Gates is remembered as an 
exceedingly reserved man, quiet but firm, 
generous to a fault. He was slow to make 
up his mind but when once made up he 
was rarely moved from his objective. He 
was kind and just in his family, but held 
a firm, governing hand. He could not re- 
sist the importunities of the unfortunate, 
and this failing cost him the greater part 
of his wealth. Few men had more friends 
than Austin B. Gates. 

On February 10, 1863, at Dublin, In- 
diana, he married Emily Thayer. She sur- 
vived him and died in Indianapolis May 
14, 1911. They were the parents of six 
children : Mamie E. ; Frank, deceased ; 
Frederick E. ; Stella F., wife of Robert W. 
Jordan ; Anna, deceased ; and Ernest M. 

An active representative of the family 
in business affairs at Indianapolis today is 
Frederick E. Gates, who was born at In- 
dianapolis October 6, 1866. He was edu- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1757 



cated in the public schools and when still 
a boy started out to make his own way in 
the world. His first employment was as a 
designer of tiles in the employ of the 
United States Encaustic Tile Works. The 
tile business in its various ramifications 
has been his chief line of work ever since. 
A thorough groundwork and experience 
was acquired in the six years he spent with 
the Encaustic Company. From that he 
started for himself in the wood mantle and 
tile business, and on abandoning this he 
removed to Cincinnati, where for several 
years he was in the marble mosaic tile busi- 
ness. In 1898, returning to Indianapolis, 
Mr. Gates founded a new industry under 
his individual name, and in 1905 incor- 
porated the F. E. Gates Marble & Tile 
Company. In 1912 this company estab- 
lished at Brightwood the first and only 
marble mill in Indiana. It is a flourish- 
ing and distinctive industry. 

Mr. Gates is a republican, a Knight Tem- 
plar Mason, also a thirty-second degree 
Scottish Rite Mason and is affiliated with 
Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine. In 
August, 1888, he married Miss Belle M. 
Beatty, who died November 26, 1916, leav- 
ing three daughters, Grace E., Dorothy W. 
and Emily. 

! 

Charles E. Carter has been a resident 
of Anderson more than fifteen years, much 
of his time having been taken up by em- 
ployment with the industries of that city, 
but he is now the capable manager of the 
Atlantic and Pacific Tea Company store of 
the city. While this is one of hundreds of 
similar stores scattered throughout the 
country, exemplifying the standard meth- 
ods and merchandise of a business which 
has found favor with the American buy- 
ing public, it is also true that no small part 
of the success of the Anderson store is due 
to the personality and the ability of its 
manager. 

Mr. Carter was born at Hartford City, 
Indiana, October 3, 1875, a son of Isaac 
J. and. Mary (Reynolds) Carter. He is of 
Scotch-Irish stock, but the family has been 
in America for many generations. Mr. 
Carter grew up as a farm boy and attended 
the public schools of Fairmont in Grant 
County. At the age of sixteen he went 
to work in a restaurant as a cook, and dur- 
ing his spare hours attended public school. 
He was with that restaurant four years, 



and then became a "gatherer" in a glass 
factory at Converse, Indiana. His next job 
was in a tin plate mill at Elwood, Indiana, 
as "catcher," and that was his principal 
work for a period of fourteen years. The 
factories with which he was connected were 
part of the American Sheet Steel & Tin 
Plate Company, and in 1902 Mr. Carter 
moved to Anderson and went to work in 
the local mill of the corporation here. 

On leaving the mills he formed a part- 
nership with Joseph Sobell in the Sobell 
Furniture Company. At the end of two 
and a half years he sold out and started 
a craftsman shop and did a successful 
business in manufacturing period and 
antique furniture. When he retired from 
that business a year and a half later he 
became solicitor for the Atlantic and Pa- 
cific Tea Company, and from that in Sep- 
tember, 1916, was promoted to the man- 
agement of the Anderson business. 

In 1899 Mr. Carter married Miss Pearl 
Lehman, daughter of Samuel Lehman. 
They have two children, Virginia, born in 
1900, and Cleon, born in 1902. Mr. Car- 
ter is a republican and a member of the 
Christian Missionary Alliance. 

John H. Ryan, of Anderson, is one of 
the well equipped young business men who 
have turned their faculties and energies to 
the comparatively new field created by the 
automobile industry. He is proprietor of 
the Automoble Company of Anderson, and 
is the leading sales agent in that city and 
in eight adjoining townships of Madison 
County for the Maxwell car. Mr. Ryan is 
regarded as an expert in many lines of 
automobile manufacture and salesmanship, 
and went into the business with an equip- 
ment and training which would have made 
him successful in almost any other line of 
work which he had chosen. 

Mr. Ryan was born in Jackson Town- 
ship of Madison County October 3, 1887, 
and representing as he does one of the 
oldest pioneer families in that section of 
the state it is important that some of the 
record should be noted in this publication. 

He is descendant in the fifth generation 
from George Ryan, a native of Scotland, 
who on coming to America settled in 
Pennsylvania and followed his trade as a 
millwright until his death. The next gen- 
eration is represented by Davis Ryan, who 
was born near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 



1758 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



and became an early settler in Boss County, 
Ohio, where he followed the same trade as 
his father. About 1837 he moved to In- 
diana and established a home near Straw- 
town, where he lived until his death, at the 
age of seventy-six. He married Mary Peck, 
a native of Virginia and of German an- 
cestry, whose parents were pioneers in 
Hamilton County, Indiana. John Ryan, 
grandfather of John H. Ryan of Anderson, 
was born in Ross County, Ohio, March 
11, 1822, and was about fifteen years of 
age when his parents moved to Indiana. 
After reaching manhood he moved to Madi- 
son County and secured a tract of heavily 
timbered land, having to clear away a part 
of the woods in order to make room for 
his humble log house. He was one of the 
pioneer agriculturists of Madison County, 
where he lived until his death at the age 
of fifty-five. He married Lovina Wise. 
Her family was especially conspicuous in 
the settlement and development of Jackson 
Township, and her father, Daniel Wise, 
entered the first tract of Government land 
in that township. 

John H. Ryan is a son of Noah and 
Samantha (Wise) Ryan, who are still liv- 
ing on their old homestead in Jackson 
Township. Noah Ryan is one of the oldest 
native residents of Madison County, where 
he was born October 24, 1845, in the log 
house built by his parents in Jackson Town- 
ship. Though the opportunities for an 
education during his youth were limited, 
he acquired more than an average train- 
ing in the local schools and academies, and 
for four years was a teacher. Aside from 
that his chief activity has been as a farmer, 
and since 1879 he has lived on one farm 
in Jackson Township. He married De- 
cember 2, 1869, Samantha Wise, also a 
native of Jackson Township. 

The youngest child and only son of four 
children, John H. Ryan grew up in the 
rural surroundings of Jackson Township, 
attended the district schools there, and in 
1906 graduated from the Anderson High 
School. In 1907 he entered Purdue Uni- 
versity, and made the most of his opportu- 
nities in that splendid institution of learn- 
ing, from which he was graduated Bachelor 
of Science in 1912. In the meantime for 
four years he had been associated with his 
father under the name Ryan & Son in con- 
tracting for road building in Madison 
County. From that business he turned 



his attention in the fall of 1913 to the auto- 
mobile industry, opening salesrooms as 
agent for the Maxwell cars at Anderson. 
In the spring of 1915 he built a well 
equipped garage, known as the Auto Inn, 
but in January, 1917, sold this part of his 
business, and now concentrates his chief at- 
tention upon his sales agency at 1225 Me- 
ridian Street under the name Ryan Auto- 
mobile Company, of which he is sole pro- 
prietor. He is also a stockholder and di- 
rector in the Baker, Ryan & Coons Com- 
pany, general distributors of the Maxwell 
cars. 

In 1913 Mr. Ryan married Mary Aldred, 
of a well known family of farmers near 
Lapel, Indiana, daughter of R. K. and 
Laura (Conrad) Aldred. They have one 
child, Margaret, born in 1915. Politically 
Mr. Ryan is an independent republican. 
His father is also a republican and cast his 
first vote for General Grant. 

Julius W. Pinnell, who became identi- 
fied with the lumber business in Indiana 
thirty-five years ago and has since become 
one of the best known men in the field in 
that state, was recently honored with elec- 
tion as president of the Indiana Lumber- 
men's Mutual Fire Insurance Company, 
with headquarters at Indianapolis. 

He represents an old and prominent fam- 
ily of Boone County, Indiana. His father, 
James H. Pinnell, who died in 1893 at Le- 
banon in that county, was a native of Vir- 
ginia but when a small child was taken by 
his parents to Oldham County, Kentucky, 
and grew up on a Kentucky farm. His first 
wife was a Miss Wilhoit, who bore him six 
children. Farming was his early occupa- 
tion in Kentucky and in 1856 he left that 
state and came to Indiana, locating in 
Boone County. There he resumed farm- 
ing, and as a side line bought and became 
identified with several local enterprises. 
He was one of the leading men of his day 
in Boone County, active, intelligent, pro- 
gressive, and commanded everywhere he 
was known much respect. He was success- 
ful in a business way. He was a democrat 
in polities but was always too busy to seek 
or aspire to office. He is remembered by 
those who knew him as a generous, chari- 
table and public spirited citizen and an 
active member of the Christian Church. 
James H. Pinnell married for his second 
wife Avaline (Bramblett) Higgins. By 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1759 



her first marriage she had two children, 
Judge B. S. Higgins, of Lebanon, Indiana, 
and William L. Higgins, of Indianapolis. 

Julius W. Pinnell, only child of his 
father and mother's second marriage, was 
born in Boone County, Indiana, October 
30, 1858. He grew up on a farm there, 
moved to Lebanon in 1880, and since 1898 
has been a resident of Indianapolis. He 
is a pioneer in the lumber industry, has 
financial interests in thirteen retail yards, 
and is also vice president of the First 
National Bank of Lebanon, director and 
stockholder in the Citizens Loan and Trust 
Company of Lebanon, and still owns a large 
farm near that city. 

As a boy he attended country schools 
and in 1877 entered old Asbury, now De- 
Pauw, University at Greencastle. His col- 
lege career completed, he engaged in 
country schools teaching for four years, 
and when not in the school room indus- 
triously followed farming. In 1880 he 
went to work as a clerk for his half brother, 
W. L. Higgins, who was then a grain mer- 
chant and also had a lumber yard at Leb- 
anon. 

At the time of Mr. Pinnell 's election 
as president of the Indiana Lumbermen's 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company the St. 
Louis Lumberman published an interesting 
sketch of his career and as it is a good de- 
scription of the experiences which made 
him a big factor in the lumber business of 
the state the following paragraphs are sub- 
joined as a part of the present article : 

"Mr. Higgins disposed of his elevator 
and grain business in August, 1882, and 
induced Mr. Pinnell to take over the lumber 
business, the stock of which invoiced fifteen 
hundred dollars. Mr. Pinnell possessed five 
hundred dollars, earned as a school teacher, 
to apply on the purchase. There was very 
little pine lumber sold in that neighbor- 
hood when Mr. Pinnell entered the busi- 
ness, Boone County being heavily timbered 
with such hard woods as poplar, oak, ash 
and walnut, and these native lumbers ac- 
cordingly were used almost exclusively ex- 
cept for shingles, sash and doors. Mr. Pin- 
nell applied himself to the lumber business 
with the same energy that he applied to 
teaching school and running: the grain busi- 
ness. He did all the work himself and at 
the end of the first year had sold ten thou- 
sand dollars worth of stock. He proceeded 
at once to make improvements in his yards 



and sheds and to put things in order for 
the extension of his business on a more 
modern basis. It was hard work but he 
stuck to it, although at times he became 
so weary of the load he was carrying that 
he was prompted to throw up his hands 
and go back to the farm. 

"In the town at that time there was a 
large planing mill which did all kinds of 
planing mill work and in addition carried 
a general stock of building material, and 
the owners enjoyed a large prestige by rea- 
son of their facilities. Mr. Pinnell was 
quick to see that in order to keep pace with 
his competitors he would have to go and 
do likewise. He accordingly secured power 
from a machine shop and installed such 
planing mill machinery as his scanty means 
enabled him to do. His business immedi- 
ately began to grow and he added to his 
machine equipment from time to time. 
Later his income justified him in building 
a small planing mill, and as the years went 
by it was increased in size and capacity 
until finally the output included interior 
finish, veneered doors, etc. While other 
yard men and retailers looked with dis- 
favor upon the planing mill proposition, 
Mr. Pinnell considered it one of his most 
valuable assets in increasing the volume 
of his business and also found it a con- 
siderable source of profit. The business 
grew with the passing years and he found 
many imitators in the country round about. 

"Mr. Pinnell secured as his assistants 
the very best men possible to be had in the 
several departments of the plant, and their 
industry and fidelity were rewarded by 
giving them an interest and participation 
in the profits of the company. As a result 
of this his business grew and prospered 
continuously and he succeeded in gather- 
ing about him a corps of lieutenants second 
to none in the state of Indiana. These 
men developed along with himself, most of 
them becoming citizens of standing and 
prestige both financially and morally in 
the community in which they live. Some 
of them are now directors of banks and 
trust companies and are filling places of 
honor in the cities and communities where 
they reside. While Mr. Pinnell is proud 
of his success as a lumberman and 
financier, he is more than proud of the 
records made by the men who have been 
associated with him, two of whom have 
held positions as postmasters in presiden- 



1760 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



tial offices paying large salaries, one of 
them becoming mayor of the town in which 
he lived and others occupying positions of 
high honor and trust. 

"As president of the Indiana Lumber- 
man's Mutual Fire Insurance Company 
J. W. Pinnell will bring to its administra- 
tion the large fund of valuable experience 
which he has had during his many years 
in connection with the lumber business 
and with the financial institutions of Leb- 
anon and the country round about." 

The Indiana Lumbermen's Insurance 
Company was organized in 1897 as a mu- 
tual company, primarily for the benefit 
and service of Indiana retail lumber deal- 
ers. It was founded as a protection and a 
saving against the arbitrary and high rates 
for indemnity by board companies. For 
several years the business was conducted 
on the original plan, adhering to a local 
and intra-state business, but its success at- 
tracted outside attention, and gradually the 
business grew until today policy holders 
are found in every state of the Union and 
also in Canada. In fact the company's 
business in Indiana is only a little more 
than a tenth of the total volume. It is a 
strictly mutual company, every policy 
holder being a stockholder and. getting 
insurance absolutely at cost. Its manage- 
ment has always been entrusted to repre- 
sentatives and successful lumbermen. The 
company had been in existence five years 
before its gross assets passed the $100,000 
mark, but during the last dozen years 
these assets have mounted rapidly, passing 
the $1,000,000 mark in 1912 and at present 
more than $2,000,000. Mr. J. W. Pinnell 
has had an active part in this business from 
the beginning, being elected vice president 
when the company was organized, and re- 
maining in that office until elected pres- 
ident in 1916. 

Mr. Pinnell is a democrat and a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 
November, 1879, he married Miss Mary E. 
Lewis, daughter of Harvey Lewis. The 
Lewis family lived on a farm adjoining 
that of the Pinnells in Boone County. The 
four living children of Mr. and Mrs. Pin- 
nell are: Mary L., wife of Dr. N. P. Gra- 
ham ; William Ormal ; James Victor ; and 
Herbert. 

Louis W. CvRNEprx^ Irrespective of 
commercial ratings the most successful men 



in the world are those who early or late 
fix their purpose upon a definite goal and 
strive unrelenting and with no heed to 
sacrifice of effort and personal ease to at- 
tain that goal. In other words, they know 
where they are going and they go steadily 
in one direction without wavering or fal- 
tering. 

It is this quality of steadfastness and 
purposeful energy which distinguishes 
Louis W. Carnefix as one of the successful 
business men of Indianapolis. He was born 
in Bedford County, Virginia, in 1880, a 
son of Charles and Sallie (Panel) Carnefix, 
natives of the same state. He was or- 
phaned at an early age, his mother dying 
when he was only five years old and he 
was the oldest of three children. Thus it 
befell that he could make no practical ac- 
count of the old and prominent family an- 
cestry which he possesses. The Carnefix 
family is of French Huguenot origin, and 
for a number of generations they have lived 
in Virginia and have been socially promi- 
nent there. 

After the death of his mother Mr. Carne- 
fix was reared in the home of his grand- 
parents, but only until he was twelve years 
of age, when he started out to earn money 
of his own. 

In 1892 Louis W. Carnefix came to 
Middletown, Henry County, Indiana. De- 
spite his youthful age he had the spirit of 
self reliance and independence, sought no 
favors anywhere, and was willing and glad 
to earn his living by hard work on the 
farm. From that time until he became 
established in business for himself he knew 
nothing but hard work, and his environ- 
ment during those years was a truly rigor- 
ous one. What schooling he could he ob- 
tained from the country schools, and in 
1905, at the age of twenty-five he came to 
Indianapolis a young married man, with a 
cash capital of only $18. Here he entered 
the Indianapolis College of Pharmacy. He 
had to earn the money for his tuition and 
to keep his family, and in the light of those 
facts it is remarkable that his studies were 
pursued with such intensity that when he 
graduated Ph. G. with the class of 1906 he 
stood second among his fellows, who con- 
stituted a numerous class. This was an in- 
teresting honor, and one touched with real 
distinction, since it was given one who had 
no preliminary adequate education and was 





\ /W) ^^t^^U^L^^v^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1761 



handicapped by the necessity of paying his 
own way by labor while attending school. 

Within a year or so Mr. Carnefix was 
able to start in business for himself as a 
druggist, locating in West Indianapolis, 
first on Ray Street and later at his present 
location on River Avenue. Here he has 
built up a fine business and has the com- 
plete confidence and respect of his patrons, 
and is a business man of the very highest 
rating in commercial circles. 

In the fall of 1917 Mr. Carnefix became 
a candidate for member of the Indianapolis 
City Council on the republican ticket. He 
was elected, and upon taking his seat in the 
body in January, 1918, was unanimously, 
and without previous opposition, elected 
president of the Council. Such an honor 
has never befallen any member of that 
body, and is the more significant because 
it was bestowed upon a young man who is 
in no sense a politician and has built up 
no organization behind him, and is in office 
solely through the confidence and good 
will of the people. Mr. Carnefix has many 
loyal friends in Indianapolis, as the above 
facts would indicate. He is prominent in 
fraternal affairs, being a past noble grand 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
past master of Indianapolis Lodge No. 669, 
Free and Accepted Masons, is a thirty-sec- 
ond degree Scottish Rite Mason, and a 
Noble of Murat Temple of the Mystic 
Shrine. He and his wife are members of 
Robert Park Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Carnefix married in Henry County, 
Indiana, Miss Mamie Cummins, of that 
county. Their three children are Thelma, 
Virginia and Louis W., Jr. 

James Alexander Hemenway, a former 
United States senator, was born in Boon- 
ville, Indiana, March 8, 1860, a son of 
William and Sarah (Clelland) Hemenway. 
He gained his admission to the bar in 1885, 
and has since practiced law at Brookville. 
He has served as a prosecuting attorney, 
as a republican state committeeman, as a 
congressman, and on the 18th of January, 
1905, was elected a United States senator 
for the unexpired term of Charles W. Fair- 
banks. 

Charles E. Hayes. In the field of motor 
manufacturing men and firms engaging in 
this business have to meet great competi- 
tion, and this necessitates the highest degree 



of perfection attainable in products in 
order to make investments profitable. The 
motors that measure highest in general effi- 
ciency, those that are as correct in mech- 
anism as they are simple, are sufficiently 
varied as to the demands to be made on 
them, and that are dependable in perform- 
ance under all circumstances naturally fill 
the requirements of the public, and such 
motors are manufactured at Anderson, In- 
diana, by the company operating as the 
Laurel Motors Corporation, of which 
Charles E. Hayes, an experienced man in 
the business, is general manager. 

Charles E. Hayes was born at Marlboro, 
Massachusetts,- in 1872. His parents were 
Patrick and Anastasia (Delaney) Hayes, 
both now deceased. The father was born 
in County Tipperary and the mother in 
County Kilkenny, Ireland. After coming 
to the United States they lived at Marlboro, 
where they were known as the most worthy 
people and faithful members of the Cath- 
olic Church. , They were not possessed of 
abundant means but were able to keep their 
son Charles E. in school until he was six- 
teen years of age and had been graduated 
from the high school. He started then to 
work in a shoe factory, later was connected 
with a clothing house in Marlboro, and 
as he was prudent as well as efficient he 
later, when the opportunity came to buy 
the clothing store, had the capital necessary 
to make the investment. He conducted that 
business profitably for six years and then 
sold in order to enter a wider business 
field. He then established a brokerage busi- 
ness in Boston, and for nine years sold on 
the curb, meeting with success in this ven- 
ture because of his extraordinary business 
ability. In the meanwhile he had become 
interested, as a keen business man will, in 
different directions and learned the auto- 
mobile business, not only from the out- 
side but in a practical way. He had con- 
siderable experience prior to becoming sales 
agent (general) for the Pilot Car Sales 
Company, where he had entire charge of 
the output. During this time a car was 
built on his specifications and it was so 
satisfactory that he decided to go into the 
business of manufacturing small pleasure 
cars, and with this end in view organized 
the Laurel Motor Car Company. Changes 
have come about incident to the expansion 
of the earliest plans and increase of capital 
and the business is now conducted as the 



1762 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Laurel Motors Corporation of Anderson, 
Indiana. A new factory building has just 
been completed and the business has been 
incorporated with a capital of $2,000,000. 
They also manufacture certain patented 
devices, including sixteen valve cylinder 
heads for gasoline motors, and will also 
build sixteen valve motors complete. Mr. 
Hayes is general manager of this entire 
business, in which he is a stockholder and 
a director. 

Mr. Hayes was married in 1914 to Miss 
Katharine E. Broerman, who is a daughter 
of Henry and Mary (Bnglebert) Broer- 
man. They are members of the Catholic 
Church, and through its many avenues of 
benevolence both Mr. and Mrs. Hayes dis- 
pense charity. 

Mr. Hayes has been interested in politics 
since early manhood, believing that it has 
its necessary place in every system of gov- 
ernment, and because of his public spirit 
and sound business convictions he was 
elected a member of the City Council of 
Marlboro, Massachusetts, when but twenty- 
one years old. In the following years he 
was elected a member of the board of alder- 
men, and he is able to recall with satis- 
faction the substantial measures that he 
successfully promoted for the benefit of the 
city during his official terms there. Later 
he was elected a member of the Democratic 
State Central Committee, and served one 



Carl, F. Morrow. For a half dozen 
years or more the name Morrow has 
been one of increasing prominence in the 
Madison County bar. Mr. Morrow's abil- 
ities have gained him a large clientele in 
all branches of practice at Anderson, and 
he has also enjoyed his share of political 
honors and responsibilities. At this writ- 
ing he is republican candidate for mayor 
of the city and twice he figured in cam- 
paigns for the office of prosecuting attor- 
ney. 

His secure position in a learned profes- 
sion has come as a result of a long and 
steady climb and tbe putting forth of 
strenuous efforts from boyhood. Mr. Mor- 
row was born on a farm in Brown Town- 
ship of Ripley County. The old home- 
stead was twelve miles from a railroad. 
The Morrows are of Irish stock, and the 
family was establisbed in America in 1832 
by his grandfather, William Morrow, who 



came from County Kilkenny, Ireland, and 
acquired a tract of Government land in 
Southern Indiana. This land, comprising 
forty acres, was located in Switzerland 
County, and he made vigorous use of his 
energies and his opportunities in develop- 
ing a good home there. 

Carl F. Morrow is the third in a family 
of ten children of A. J. and Emeline 
(Jolly) Morrow. His father was the 
youngest of ten children, and his mother 
the oldest in a similar number. Emeline 
Jolly was of Pennsylvania Dutch and Cava- 
lier Virginia ancestry. A. J. Morrow is 
still living and occupies a farm in Ripley 
County. This farm during the Civil war 
was raided by Morgan's cavalry, and all 
the horses were taken away. 

When Carl Morrow was ten years of 
age his mother died, and he grew to man- 
hood in a rural community where there 
were few opportunities and where the 
struggle for existence was a strenuous one. 
His ambition and tastes led him to studious 
pursuits, but he had to read and study 
his lessons in the intervals of work on the 
farm. Many times he read his books by 
the light of the fire place and also by il- 
lumination furnished by grease lamps. He 
developed a good physique among other 
things by helping his father clear and put 
into cultivation some twenty acres of land. 
This strenuous routine continued until he 
was about nineteen years of age, and later, 
in 1901, he entered the Marion Normal 
School at Marion, Indiana, where for three 
years he pursued the normal course and 
received his diploma. In the meantime 
he taught a term or so of winter school in 
Ripley County, and from 1903 to 1905 
continued teaching in the country districts 
of that county. In the latter year he 
entered the University of Michigan in the 
law department, and received his LL. B. 
degree in 1908. He did not immediately 
take up practice, but for two years traveled 
on the road as salesman. This business 
gave him some valuable experience and 
also enabled him to save the small sum 
which he used as capital while establishing 
himself in law practice at Anderson. He 
opened his office in that city in June, 1910, 
and has since condiicted a general practice 
in all the courts. 

In 1912 Mr. Morrow married Bertha 
Hyatt, daughter of Corydon and Emeline 
(Kennan) Hyatt, of Anderson. They have 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1763 



one daughter, Virginia Emeline, born June 
28, 1913. 

Mr. Morrow has always been an inter- 
ested participant in republican polities. He 
was elected township chairman of the Re- 
publican Township Committee, serving 
from 1912 to 1914. In 1914 he was candi- 
date for prosecuting attorney in the Fif- 
tieth Judicial District, and went down to 
defeat with the rest of the ticket in that 
year. In 1916 he was candidate for nomi- 
nation for the same office. On March 16, 
1917, he was nominated for mayor, there 
being five other rivals for that office in 
the republican primaries, and he received 
more votes than all the rest put together. 
Mr. Morrow was affiliated with the Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks, the 
Knights of Pythias, and the Loyal Order 
of Moose, and has filled all the chairs in the 
last named fraternity. His church is the 
First Methodist Episcopal. 

Earl Berkebile. Among the energetic 
and successful citizens of Anderson none 
is better known than Earl Berkebile, who 
coming \p that city as a boy completed his 
education there, went to work as clerk for 
a shoe merchant, and by study and practice 
in the business and the gradual accumula- 
tion of capital finally launched out in an 
enterprise of his own and is today one of 
the leading shoe merchants in the eastern 
part of the state. 

Mr. Berkebile was born at the City of 
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, January 31, 
1875. About fourteen years after his birth 
that city was destroyed in the calamitous 
flood which has been one of the epochal 
disasters of American history. However, 
in the meantime his parents, David A. 
and Lucy (Ferner) Berkebile, had removed 
to Anderson, coming to this city about the 
time Anderson attracted attention as a 
manufacturing center due to the discovery 
of the natural gas area of Eastern Indiana. 
The Berkebiles are of old American stock 
and have lived in America for a number 
of generations. 

Earl Berkebile acquired his early edu- 
cation in the public schools of Johnstown 
and attended the public schools of Ander- 
son until he was eighteen years of age. 
At that time his father died and necessity 
forced him out to become a wage worker 
and wage earner. His first position was with 
C. W. Prather, a veteran shoe merchant 



of Anderson. He spent ten years in his 
store, and in that time acquired a thorough 
knowledge of every branch of the shoe busi- 
ness and also developed special qualities 
of salesmanship. Following that for five 
years he was salesman for J. F. Fadley, 
and then, possessing every qualification 
that experience could bestow and with some 
capital which represented his modest sav- 
ings, he engaged in business for himself 
with Mr. E. P. Prather as a partner. The 
firm of Prather & Berkebile established 
their store on the north side of the Public 
Square at Anderson, and they did a flour- 
ishing business for five years. In 1911 
Mr. Berkebile sold his interests and soon 
afterward established a business of his own 
at 1011 Meridian Street, where he has since 
developed what is today regarded as the 
largest store of the kind in the city. He 
makes a specialty of high grade footwear, 
handles only the best quality of merchan- 
dise supplied by some of the leading man- 
ufacturers of the country, and has devel- 
oped a trade that now comes from a 
country many miles in a radius around 
Anderson. Mr. Berkebile while not a 
farmer owns 160 acres of land near Pendle- 
ton, and this place is conducted by a renter. 

In 1900 he married Miss Elsie Barrett, 
daughter of Isaac Barrett, a well known 
farmer near Pendleton. Two children have 
been born to their marriage, Helen, born 
in 1903, and George, born in 1904. 

Mr. Berkebile has taken an active in- 
terest in Masonry, was master in 1899 of 
Mount Moriah Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, is past high priest of 
his Royal Arch Chapter, and is past em- 
inent commander of the Knights Templar. 
He is treasurer of Ononga Tribe of the 
Improved Order of Red Men, is a repub- 
lican, in politics, an active member of the 
Anderson Chamber of Commerce, and a 
trustee of the Frst Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

R. A. Zeigler. One of the enterprising 
business men of Anderson, Indiana, who 
fills the important office of manager of the 
Madison Division of the Central Indiana 
Gas Company with the greatest efficiency, 
is R. A. Zeigler, who has been intimately 
associated with oil and gas interests since 
boyhood, his father having been likewise 
interested for many years." Mr. Zeigler has 
been a resident of Anderson since January, 



1764 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1914, and has proven himself a public 
spirited citizen and a welcome addition to 
the city's business and social circles. 

R. A. Zeigler was born in 1879, at Emlen- 
ton, Pennsylvania, and is a son of H. C. 
and Harriet J. (Perrine) Zeigler. This 
branch of the Zeigler family has belonged 
to America for generations. H. C. Zeigler 
has practically spent his life as an oil and 
gas producer, operating in the Pennsyl- 
vania, Ohio, Indiana and Oklahoma fields 
and at present is operating at Tulsa, in 
Oklahoma. He is well known in the busi- 
ness all over the country, and as his ex- 
perience has been so wide he is somewhat 
of an authority. 

During boyhood R. A. Zeigler attended 
the public schools at Sandy Lake in Mercer 
County, Pennsylvania, later had high school 
advantages at Montpelier, Indiana, and 
subsequently attended the Pennsylvania 
State Normal School at Slippery Rock. Al- 
though thoroughly prepared for profes- 
sional life, Mr. Zeigler decided upon a busi- 
ness career and his nearest opportunity was 
found in the oil fields. For three years 
he was a pumper at Montpelier in the great 
Indiana oil fields, where for a time it 
seemed as if every owner of Jand in the 
county would ultimately be able to count 
his millions. It is needless to add that 
all the dreams of wealth did not come true, 
but oil production was great for a time and 
many fields' are yet profitably operated by 
the Standard Oil Company. 

In 1898 Mr. Zeigler came to Muncie, 
Indiana, and became connected with the 
Heat, Light & Power Company of that 
city, and six years later he became secre- 
tary of this company, with which he con- 
tinued until 1910, and then also became 
auditor for the Central Indiana Gas Com- 
pany and filled both offices until 1914. In 
January of this year he came to Anderson 
and took charge as manager of the Madison 
Division of the Central Indiana, to the 
duties of which office he has given his en- 
tire time ever since. 

In 1900 Mr. Zeigler was married to Miss 
Ethel Dawson, of Wells County, Indiana, 
and they have two children : Claude Daw- 
son, who was born in 1903, and Helen 
Jane, who was born in 1905. 

In his political affiliations, Mr. Zeigler 
has always been a republican and consis- 
tently has worked for the success of his 



party, but with no desire for any political 
favors for himself. He belongs to the 
Masonic Lodge at Anderson and also to the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
He is a member of the First Presbyterian 
Church, is liberal in his charities and is a 
valued member of the Anderson Chamber 
of Commerce. 

George McFall has spent his life in In- 
diana, for a number of years followed farm- 
ing and a mechanical trade, but for the 
past fifteen years has been proprietor of 
one of the leading jewelry stores at Ander- 
son. 

Mr. McFall was born on a farm in De- 
catur County, in Sand Creek Township, 
February 5, 1866, son of John H. and Jane 
(Keeley) McFall. He is of Irish ancestry, 
but the McFalls have been in this country 
for a number of generations, first settling 
in Virginia. John H. McFall was born 
in 1817, was a brick mason by trade, fol- 
lowed that occupation in Indianapolis for 
a number of years, and in 1861 moved to 
a farm in Decatur County. 

Seventh in a family of ten children, 
George McFall grew up on a farm, and 
being a member of a numerous household 
he had to work early and late and got only 
the ordinary advantages of a country 
school. At fourteen he left school alto- 
gether and spent several years learning 
the stone cutter's trade. He followed that 
occupation and was also a farmer on the 
old homestead for his mother. In 1903 
Mr. McFall moved to Anderson and estab- 
lished a jewelry store on "West Eleventh 
Street. A year later he moved to his pres- 
ent location at 918 Main Street, and has 
developed a very satisfactory business. Be- 
sides his interests as a merchant at Ander- 
son Mr. McFall owns farm lands. He has 
been very active in the Independent Order 
of Odd 'Fellows with Lodge No. 131, in 
which he has filled all the chairs and was 
a member of the Grand Lodge in 1894. He 
is a member of the United Brethren 
Church and a democratic voter. 

In 1901 Mr. McFall married Sarah C. 
Ponsler, of Jennings County, Indiana. 
They are the parents of seven children : 
Alta, born in 1902; Lottie, born in 1904; 
Bertha, born in 1906 : Leatha, born in 1908 ; 
George H., born in 1911; Hester, born in 
1913; and May, born in 1915. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1765 



F. E. Hart has been in the drug busi- 
ness in Indiana for thirty years or more 
and is now proprietor of perhaps the larg- 
est and best equipped establishment of the 
kind in the City of Anderson. 

Mr. Hart is of English parentage and 
was born near Kankakee, Illinois, in 1864, 
son of Esau and Julia (Cooke) Hart. Both 
his father and mother were natives of Eng- 
land, his father of Herefordshire and his 
mother of Worcestershire. The families for 
many generations have been principally en- 
gaged in mercantile pursuits. ' Esau Hart 
was just twenty-one years of age when he 
came to America and settled in Illinois, 
where he took up the vocation of agricul- 
ture. 

Mr. F. E. Hart attended common schools 
in Illinois and also high school at Reming- 
ton, Indiana. He was only fifteen years 
of age when he began work and acquired 
his first experience of the drug business 
in a drug store at Remington. He spent 
three years there learning the business, and 
after that for two and a half years was 
prescription clerk in a store at Mattoon, 
Illinois. On returning to Remington he 
resumed connection with his former em- 
ployer for two years, and in 1888 he ac- 
quired a half interest in a drug store at 
Wolcott, Indiana, which was conducted for 
two years under the name Briggs & Hart. 
Mr. Hart then became sole proprietor and 
was one of the leading business men and 
merchants of Wolcott until 1914. In that 
year he sold his store and moved to the 
larger city of Anderson, where he bought 
the old established drug house of E. E. 
Ethell at the corner of Eight and Meridian 
streets, practically in the heart of the busi- 
ness district. He has a large and well 
stocked store, handles a complete line of 
pure drugs, and besides the usual druggist 
sundries he specializes in wall paper, which 
is the principal item of his annual trade. 

Mr. Hart has prospered in a business 
way, owns farm real estate and other in- 
terests and is a stockholder in the State 
Bank of Wolcott, Indiana. 

In 1888 he married Dorothy Morris, 
daughter of J. E. and Sarah (Davis) Mor- 
ris, of Madison County, Indiana. They 
have two children, Harold H., born in 1891, 
and Frank Morris, born in 1898, the latter 
now associated in business with his father. 
Harold H. graduated from the Wolcott 
High School, spent two years in Wabash 



College, where he did much special work 
in chemistry, and then entered the Ohio 
Northern University at Ada, where he pur- 
sued the pharmacy course and graduated 
in 1903. He acquired a practical knowl- 
edge of the drug business under his father. 
He is now in France and has been for eight 
months sergeant of the first class in Am- 
bulance Company No. 3 with the United 
States Army. Mr. Hart is a republican 
in politics. 

John C. Perry is one of the few active 
survivors of the pioneer wholesale mer- 
chants of Indianapolis. While his business 
activities have continued into the modern 
era, Mr. Perry belongs with that group 
of business men who upheld the prestige 
and developed the resources of the city 
during the middle period of its history, 
from about 1850 to 1890. Mr. Perry has 
lived in Indianapolis since 1853, and his 
earliest recollections of the city are of a 
town that was little more than a village 
and with the institutions of the state gov- 
ernment as still its chief source of pres- 
tige. Mr. Perry has been one of the makers 
of modern Indianapolis, and has grown 
along with the city. With all his business 
activity he has preserved an unassuming 
and unostentatious manner, but his fine 
spirit of comradeship and his personal in- 
tegrity have brought him to a place of high 
honor in the community. 

Mr. Perry was born at Paoli, a suburb 
of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, February 
21, 1834. The Perrys have lived for many 
generations in America. The father, Arba 
D. Perry, a native of Saratoga County, 
New York, was a contractor and died in 
1843. He married Christiana Hann, a na- 
tive of England, who died in 1837. Of 
their three children John C. was the second 
and the only one now living. 

At the age of nine years by the death 
of his father he was left an orphan. From 
that time forward he was reared in the 
home of an uncle by marriage on a farm 
in Hamilton County, Ohio. Those were 
years of strenuous occupation both of mind 
and body, the duties of farm mingling 
with an extremely limited attendance at 
school. He became dissatisfied with his 
farm environment and when about seven- 
teen years of age went to the Town of Har- 
rison, Ohio, where he learned the wood 
turner's trade. It was the influence of a 



1766 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



boyhood friend that induced Mr. Perry to 
come to Indianapolis in 1853. He walked 
the entire distance from Ohio, arriving 
here April 28, 1853, without a dollar to 
his name. His first employment was at his 
trade with the firm of Sloan & Ingersoll, 
a firm that is still kindly remembered by 
some of the old settlers of Indianapolis. 
Later he worked with Spiegel & Thorns. 
After several years of this employment at 
a trade Mr. Perry took the job of porter 
in the wholesale grocery house of Andrew 
or Andy Wallace. 

That was hard work, but he used it as 
an opportunity to gain knowledge rapidly 
of the business, and after a time in part- 
nership with George L. Rittenhouse he en- 
gaged in the retail grocery business for 
himself on Washington Street near Dela- 
ware. This store was soon in a fair way 
to prosperity. James Saylor bought out 
the Rittenhouse interest, but a short time 
after that Mr. Perry sold his share in the 
firm, and then went on the road as a trav- 
eling representative for the wholesale gro- 
cery establishment of E. B. Alvord & Com- 
pany. From that house he transferred his 
services to Aquilla Jones, another well 
known wholesale merchant of that day. 

About 1869 Mr. Perry became associated 
with James E. Robertson of Shelbyville, 
and the two bought the Jones wholesale 
grocery house in Indianapolis. Mr. Perry 
was a fourth owner of the business. In 
order to secure his share he went in debt 
for $10,000 and besides paying 10% inter- 
est on the money by hard work he was able 
to liquidate the principal and entire obliga- 
tion witbin three years. After a time 
James E. Robertson was succeeded in the 
business by his son A. M. Robertson, but 
about 1872 Mr. Perry bought the entire es- 
tablishment. Since then for a period of 
forty-five years he has been one of the most 
prominent figures in the wholesale grocery 
circles of Indianapolis. He is president of 
J. C. Perry & Company, Incorporated, 
one of the honored titles in Indianapolis 
business affairs. Mr. Perry has been suc- 
cessful in a financial way and by careful 
attention to details, invariable courtesy to 
all, he has made his firm secure in standing 
and patronage. 

Mr. Perry married Katharine Rebstock, 
of Kenton, Ohio. Pour children were born 
to their marriage: Bettie, who died in early 
childhood; Katie, who died in infancy; 



Katie, second of the name, now widow of 
Ernest Morris, and her only daughter, 
Enid, is the wife of Walter Brown of the 
Century Biscuit Company; and Arba T., 
a resident of Minneapolis, Minnesota. 
Mrs. Perry, the mother of these children, 
died in September, 1901. 

Mr. Perry was one of the original or- 
ganizers of the Columbia Club. He has 
membership in the Marion and Commer- 
cial clubs and in politics is a republican. 

J. Otis Adams, who was born at Amity, 
Indiana, July 8, 1851, has gained renown 
as an artist. He is a graduate of Wabash 
College, studied art in this country and 
abroad and has made a specialtj^ of land- 
scape painting. At the St. Louis Exposi- 
tion he was awarded a bronze medal, re- 
ceived honorable mention at the Interna- 
tional Exhibition, Buenos Aires, 1910, and 
was awarded the Fine Arts Building prize, 
Chicago. 

Mr. Adams married Winifred Brady, of 
Muncie, Indiana. Their home is The Her- 
mitage, Brookville. 

Frank E. DeHority. One of the oldest 
and most honored names in Madison 
County from pioneer times to the present 
has been that of DeHority. The home and 
business interests of the family have been 
chiefly centered around Elwood. One of 
the family, Charles C. DeHority, was 
county treasurer of Madison County from 
1898 'to 1900, and his brother, Frank E. 
DeHority, is the present county recorder. 

Frank E. DeHority was born at Elwood 
January 15, 1875, a son of John W. and 
Jane (Moore) DeHoritv. The family is 
of Scotch-Irish stock. Grandfather James 
M. DeHority was born near Dover, Dela- 
ware, and came as an early settler to Madi- 
son County, Indiana, locating on the banks 
of White River. By trade he was a black- 
smith, later studied medicine, and was one 
of the kindly and skillful old doctors who 
rendered beneficent service to many fam- 
ilies in his neighborhood. He was also an 
itinerant preacher, and was one of the 
founders of the Methodist Protestant 
Church at Elwood. At one time he was 
in the grain and general merchandise busi- 
ness at Elwood, being associated with his 
sons under the name J. M. DeHority & 
Sons. John W. DeHority was roared in 
Madison County, and besides his interests 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1767 



as a merchant at Elwood he owned some 
farm lands and pursued an active career 
until his death in 1881, at the early age 
of forty years. 

Frank E. DeHority was the youngest in 
a family of eight children, four of whom 
grew to maturity. The oldest son, William 
A., served as chief of the State Board of 
Accounts under Governor Marshall. 

Frank E. DeHority was six years old 
when his father died. He attended the 
common schools of his native village and 
in 1890, at the age of fifteen, entered Pur- 
due University at Lafayette, where he re- 
mained three years, taking the course in 
electrical engineering. He had many and 
varied business experiences during his early 
youth. For two years he was in the employ 
of a local gas company at Elwood, he also 
bought and sold horses, and for a time 
was a contractor. In 1900 he entered the 
fire insurance business at Elwood, and that 
business he has developed to large and 
generous proportions. He now represents 
twenty-six companies, including some of 
the oldest and largest organizations of the 
kind in the world. Mr. DeHority also 
owns considerable farm land. 

Since early manhood his influence has 
gone in a helpful way to upbuilding and 
strengthening the democratic organization 
in his home county. For two years he was 
chairman of the Democratic Central Com- 
mittee, but he was never disposed to put 
himself in the way of office. However, in 
May, 1915, he accepted the position of 
county recorder tendered him by the coun- 
ty commissioners to fill the unexpired 
term of E. V. Lee. His present term ex- 
pires in January, 1919. Mr. DeHority 
went about his public business at Ander- 
son with much of the spirit which he put 
into his private business at Elwood. Many 
years ago he became convinced of the prin- 
ciple that a public official is a public serv- 
ant, and he put that principle into prac- 
tice. Anyone who is conversant with the 
conduct of the recorder's office has discov- 
ered its efficiency and the general thorough- 
ness of everything done there. 

For ten years Mr. DeHority was sec- 
retary of the Madison County Fair Asso- 
ciation. He is an active fraternal man, 
being affiliated with Quincy Lodge No. 30, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, El- 
wood Chapter No. 109, Royal Arch Masons, 
Anderson Commandery No. 32, Knights 



Templar, and with the Indianapolis Con- 
sistory of the Scottish Rite. He has served 
as master of his lodge, high priest of his 
chapter, and is also past exalted ruler of 
Elwood Lodge No. 368, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. He is a member 
of the Indiana Democratic Club. 

March 19, 1894, Mr. DeHority married 
Miss Myrtle Clymer, of Elwood, daughter 
of Royal H. and Elizabeth (Hart) Clymer, 
old time residents of Elwood. They have 
one son, Robert L., born in 1900. Mrs. 
DeHority has the distinction of being the 
first woman to register as a voter in Madi- 
son County. 

i 

Halbert R. Hayes. An Anderson busi- 
ness man, president of Kimball & Hayes, 
Incorporated, Mr. Hayes has had a career 
of varied activity in the drug business, 
and though a young man has gained a sat- 
isfying degree of material prosperity and 
stands high in the esteem of local citizen- 
ship in his home city. 

He was born in Richland Township, Ran- 
dolph County, Indiana, on a farm, in 1880, 
son of William A. and Marietta (Hunt) 
Hayes. He is of English ancestry and his 
people have been in this country for many 
generations. Some of the family were 
soldiers in the American Revolution. As 
a rule the principal activity as far back 
as the record goes has been agricultural 
pursuits. William A. Hayes, who died in 
1915, was postmaster of Albany, Indiana, 
during 1908-09, and was a very influential 
republican in that section of the state. 

Halbert R. Hayes as a boy attended the 
country schools of Albany and Redkey, 
and graduated from the Albany High 
School. He also attended the pharmacy 
department of Valparaiso University and 
received his Ph. G. degree when only nine- 
teen years of age. Having thus laid the 
foundation of his professional equipment, 
Mr. Hayes satisfied the natural desire of 
a young man for travel by spending seven 
years in different parts of the West, Wash- 
ington, Oregon, Idaho and British Colum- 
bia, most of the time working at his pro- 
fession in the emplov of different concerns. 
For four years, from 1904 to 1908, he 
served as a hospital steward with the 
United States navy. His principal serv- 
ice was on the schooner Marblehead. 

Mr. Haves came to Anderson in 1908. 
He was with J. C. Lee, druggist, one year, 



1768 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



for several years was with the Anderson 
Drug Company and for two years was em- 
ployed by the Meyers Brothers Drug 
House. In 1914 he combined his modest 
capital with money supplied by Dr. H. C. 
Heaton and the firm of the Hayes-Heaton 
Drug Company was launched with a com- 
plete stock of goods at 1105 Meridian 
Street. A year later Mr. D. W. Kimball 
bought the Heaton interests, and thus the 
business of Kimball & Hayes Drug Com- 
pany was established and incorporated. 
Mr. Hayes has been president and active 
manager of the business, and under his 
skillful supervision one of the best stores 
of the kind in Anderson has been devel- 
oped. 

Mr. Hayes married in 1910 Sadie M. 
Finney, daughter of John and Artie (Ro- 
mine) Finney, of Anderson. Mr. Hayes 
is affiliated with Anderson Lodge No. 209, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
is a member of the First Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, and in politics is a repub- 
lican. 

Frank W. "Weer. The duration of the 
vitality of seeds has been a much discussed 
question, modern scientists not very gen- 
erally accepting as fact' the tales of cen- 
turies-old seed that had been discovered 
in strange places yielding fine crops when 
brought to light and sown. Modern agri- 
cultural experience is also against it. It 
is recognized by farmers that one of the 
most important elements in their success 
is good seed in which the germinal prin- 
ciple is not only alive but full of vitality 
and vigorous as only fresh seed can be. 
And not only must it be fresh but care- 
fully selected. Any student of contem- 
porary history can recall disasters that 
have resulted in certain agricultural areas 
from the sowing of widely exploited seed 
unknowingly procured from irresponsible 
dealers. The farmers of Indiana and her 
sister states have no excuse if they court 
such misfortune, for at Anderson through 
an old and dependable business house, that 
of F. W. Weer, may be secured guaran- 
teed farm seeds that will fulfill every ex- 
pectation. This feature has been made a 
specialty by Frank W. Weer ever since he 
became proprietor of the business bearing 
his name, which includes dealing in gen- 
eral farm supplies and agricultural im- 
plements. 



Frank W. Weer was born on a farm in 
Hendricks County, Indiana, August 21, 
1859. His parents were David and Mary 
A. (Paris) Weer. It was his grandfather, 
Elijah Weer, of Irish extraction, who es- 
tablished the family in Hendricks County, 
settling here on government land after the 
end of his service in the War of 1812. He 
died during the forties, a man well known 
all over the county. David Weer was born 
and reared in Hendricks County, a farmer 
by occupation. He enlisted for service in 
the Civil war, in the Sixty-Third Indiana 
Volunteer Infantry, and was a brave 
soldier and faced many battle dangers but 
died of typhoid fever while at home on a 
furlough. He left two sons. 

Frank W. Weer attended the country 
schools in Washington Township, Hen- 
dricks County, in the winter seasons dur- 
ing boyhood and early youth, and in the 
summer time worked on the home farm. 
When twenty years of age he took charge 
of the farm of eighty acres owned jointly 
by his brother and himself, and conducted 
it for two years. Mr. Weer then accepted 
the position of manager for the H. T. 
Conde Implement Company's branch house 
at Plainfield, Indiana, where he continued 
for four years. In 1888 he came to An- 
derson and in partnership with J. Almond, 
purchased an implement and seed busi- 
ness, conducted at Mr. Weer's present 
business location, No. 734 Main Street, un- 
der the firm style of Weer & Almond. This 
firm bought the business of Carrol & Han- 
nah, who had started it five months pre- 
viously. Subsequently Mr. Almond sold 
his interest to Andrew Blount, and for the 
next ten years the business was conducted 
under the name of Blount & Weer. 

In 1900 Mr. Weer bought Mr. Blount's 
interest and since then has been sole pro- 
prietor and has made many improvements. 
In 1916 he erected an entire new plant 
with superior facilities for warehousing 
and storage, and has developed one of the 
most extensive concerns in his line in the 
country and has built up so trustworthy 
a reputation that he not only furnishes 
reliable seeds to Indiana agriculturists but 
does an immense business in other states 
in general farm seeds, including clover and 
timothy. He also handles the bulk of the 
local implement trade and for nearly thirty 
vears has been agent for the McCormick 



INDIANA AND IND1ANANS 



1769 



farm implements. He has additional busi- 
ness interests of lesser importance. 

Mr. Weer was married in 1887, to Miss 
Maude Jessup, who was born in Hendricks 
County, Indiana, and is a daughter of 
Ellis and Millicent (Heinshaw) Jessup. 
Mr. and Mrs. Weer have the following 
children : Charles Jessup, who was born at 
Anderson in 1889 ; Clarice, who is now 
Mrs. James B. Davis, of Louisville, Ken- 
tucky; Helen, who is an actress of great 
talent and is connected in the season of 
1917-18 with David Warfield, playing the 
part of Jennie in ' ' The Music Master ' ' ; 
David, who was born in 1901 ; Millicent, 
who was born in 1906 ; and John Franklin, 
who was born in 1909. 

In his political affiliations Mr. Weer has 
always been a republican but has seldom 
accepted public office. He is a wide awake, 
earnest citizen and is a valued member of 
the Anderson Chamber of Commerce and 
is ever ready to lend his aid to further 
movements for the general good. 

J. Lewis Palmer began his business 
career a number of years ago as clerk in 
his father's tobacco house, later traveled 
as a tobacco salesman, but what he regards 
as his real opportunity came when he en- 
tered the service of the May Supply Com- 
pany at Anderson. He has helped build 
up the business of this extensive concern 
all over Northern Indiana and is now man- 
ager of the plant at Anderson. 

Mr. Palmer was born at Davton, Ohio, 
December 20, 1879, son of E. S. and Alice 
(Evans) Palmer. He is of English an- 
cestry. The 'Palmers originally lived in 
Vermont, and from that colony some of the 
family went with the Revolutionary soldiers 
on the American side. The different gen- 
erations have produced business men and 
merchants rather than farmers. The fam- 
ily located at Dayton, Ohio, in early days. 
E. S. Palmer was for a number of years a 
wholesale tobacco jobber at Noblesville, 
and continued in the same business after 
his removal to Anderson, Indiana, in 1892. 
He is now retired from business and lives 
at Anderson. 

J. Lewis Palmer had a public school edu- 
cation in Noblesville, graduating from the 
high school of the latter city. After he had 
learned much of the tobacco business un- 
der his father he went on the road selling 

tobacco in Indiana, and traveled over his 
vol. rv— 14 



territory for five or six years. Mr. Palmer 
located permanently at Anderson in 1900, 
and for a year was assistant cashier in the 
Anderson Branch of the American Straw- 
board Company. He then was with the 
May Supply Company as bookkeeper, but 
three years later was sent on the road as 
salesman to cover the Northern Indiana 
Territory, and during the next eight or nine 
years he covered almost every foot of that 
territory and spread the fame of his house 
in every locality and made a splendid indi- 
vidual record in swelling the annual vol- 
ume of business transacted by the firm. 
He was finally called back to Anderson to 
take the active management of the local 
establishment. The May Supply Company 
is one of the chief businesses of its kind 
in Indiana, handling mill, plumbing, water 
and steam fitting supplies of all kinds. Mr. 
Palmer is also a stockholder and director 
and treasurer of the George O. Palmer 
Furniture Company at Lebanon, Indiana. 
June 28, 1916, he married Miss Leafy 
Wharton, daughter of Jesse M. and Anna 
(Armstrong) Wharton, of Anderson. Mr. 
Palmer is a thirty-second degree Scottish 
Rite and Knight Templar Mason and a 
member of the Mystic Shrine. In matters 
of politics he is independent and belongs 
to the First Methodist Episcopal Church. 

J. S. McIntire is senior partner of Mc- 
Intire & Hilburt, proprietors of one of the 
largest wholesale baking establishments in 
Eastern Indiana, at Anderson. Mr. Mc- 
Intire is a baker of long and thorough 
practical experience, having learned his 
trade by apprenticeship and having worked 
at it as a journeyman for many years be- 
fore establishing a business with Mr. Frank 
Hilburt. 

He was born on a farm in Boone County, 
Indiana, in 1868, and is of Scotch-Irish 
and German ancestry, a son of J. W. and 
Mary B. (Weaver) McIntire. His grand- 
father, Daniel McIntire, came from Edin- 
burg, Scotland, to America when sixteen 
years old and located in Pickaway County, 
Ohio. After his marriage he moved to 
Lebanon, Indiana, and there on his farm 
reared a family of seven sons and two 
daughters. J. W. McIntire, the third of 
these children, spent his life as a farmer 
in Indiana, and reared five children, three 
sons and two daughters, among whom J. S. 
McIntire was the second. 



1770 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Mr. J. S. Mclntire attended public school 
to the age of fourteen and then went to 
work in a factory at Lebanon and was em- 
ployed there two or three years. Then came 
his apprenticeship of five years in the 
bakery shop owned by J. W. Schulemire. 
Following his apprenticeship he traveled 
over the country as a journeyman for some 
fifteen years. 

At Richmond, Indiana, in 1893, Mr. Mc- 
lntire married Miss May Wilkins, daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth (Donohue) Wil- 
kins, of Jay County, Indiana. They have 
two daughters: Hazel R., who is a gradu- 
ate of the Anderson High School, is the 
wife of Jack Brannberger, now in Camp 
Taylor serving in the army. The other 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Mclntire is 
Irene, also a graduate of the Anderson 
High School. 

After six .years of residence at Richmond 
Mr. Mclntire moved to Fort Wayne, where 
he followed his work for seven years and 
then came to Anderson and formed a part- 
nership with Mr. Frank Hilburt under the 
name Mclntire & Hilburt. Their business 
has increased by leaps and bounds, neces- 
sitating change of quarters from time to 
time, and a few years ago they erected a 
model bakery establishment, built on lines 
and according to plans and ideas that Mr. 
Mclntire had gathered by a close study of 
some of the largest bakeries in the country. 
They now have -a model plant, fireproof in 
construction, and with equipment and 
facilities including the most modern ma- 
chinery. The daily capacity is 10,000 
loaves. The firm began business on a very 
modest scale. They bought their first car- 
load of flour on credit from R. L. Pithian. 
The price of this carload was $1,065, and 
it was paid for after the flour had been 
manufactured into bread and sold. 

Mr. Mclntire is a member of the Loyal 
Order of Moose and Fraternal Order of 
Eagles. He is a republican in politics and 
has always shown much public spirit in the 
different communities where he has had his 
home. 

M. I. Masters has been closely identified 
with the commercial life of Anderson for 
a long period of years and almost a gen- 
eration of people have bought from his 
store the necessities of daily life and many 
residents of the city would hardly expect 
to do their trading with anyone except 



Mr. Masters. He is senior partner of the 
firm Masters & Shackelford, whose high 
grade store for groceries, meats, bakery 
and other provisions is located at 1031 
Meridian Street, 

Mr. Masters is an Ohio man by birth, 
born in Ashland County, in Clear Creek 
Township, on a farm, December 15, 1867, 
a son of George B. and Melissa (Burgett) 
Masters. He is of Scotch-Irish family. 
His grandfather came to Ohio early in the 
last century, secured a tract of government 
land, made a good farm of it, and reared 
there a family of six children, among whom 
George B. was the third. George B. Mas- 
ters not only played an honorable role as 
a citizen and substantial farmer but was 
also a soldier during the Civil war. He 
enlisted in the Forty-Second Ohio Infantry 
and became orderly sergeant. The colonel 
of that regiment was James A. Garfield, 
later president of the United States, and 
there was a personal friendship between 
this eminent statesman and George B. Mas- 
ters. He died May 12, 1918. 

M. I. Masters received his early educa- 
tion in the schools of Clear Creek Town- 
ship of his native county and also at 
Savannah Academy, from which he was 
graduated in 1886. For a year he taught 
a country school in Clear Creek Township 
and three years was engaged as a teacher 
in Ruggles Township. The vacations of all 
these years were spent on the home farm, 
and he had a very thorough training in 
agricultural matters, though farming has 
never been an important element in his 
business career. 

After a course in the Fostoria Business 
College Mr. Masters returned to Savannah, 
Ohio, spent a year with a general store and 
learned much about merchandising, and 
with this equipment in 1894 came to An- 
derson, bringing with him a modest capital 
of $250. He used this to purchase an in- 
terest in a grocery store on the east side of 
Main Street between Ninth and Tenth 
streets, in the Bronnenburg Block. His 
partner was J. D. Shipley.. It was known 
as the Checkered Front Grocery, and for 
a year Shipley & Masters continued in that 
location, but in 1895 moved to 1031 Meri- 
dian Street, where the business of Mr. Mas- 
ters remains at the present time. At the 
end of two years a change was made in 
the firm, which then became Masters & 
Pierce, and subsequently for a brief time 




X 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1771 



Cates was a partner with Mr. Masters. Mr. 
Cates sold his interest in 1900 to J. S. 
Shackelford, and that was the origin of 
the firm of Masters & Shackelford, which 
has continued steadily now for seventeen 
years. Without doubt it is the largest 
store of the kind in Anderson, and prac- 
tically everything in the provision line can 
be found in their large and well arranged 
establishment. Mr. Masters is also inter- 
ested in various other local concerns as a 
stockholder. 

In 1895 he married Miss Minna Ship- 
ley, daughter of Levi and Melissa (Gibson) 
Shipley, of an old pioneer family of Ash- 
land County, Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Masters 
have two children, Marjory Melissa and 
Paul Irving, the latter born in 1902. The 
daughter is now Mrs. Carl Eastman of An- 
derson. 

Mr. Masters, while a very busy man and 
tied down with the responsibilities of his 
store, has always taken a public spirited 
interest in the welfare and upbuilding of 
Anderson as a city, is a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce, votes as a repub- 
lican and is a deacon in the First Presby- 
terian Church. 

Millard E. Mogg, of Indianapolis, is 
perhaps a conspicuous example of the 
power of suggestion from early experience. 
When he was a boy eleven years he 
went to work in his father's retail coal and 
lumber yard. He subsequently had other 
interests and employment, but apparently 
coal always exercised upon him a powerful 
fascination. Many men with greater op- 
portunities have remained clerks or in the 
modest roles of industry all their lives. Mr. 
Mogg along with other qualities had the 
initiative and bearing of the real business 
leader, and the result is that he is today one 
of the biggest coal operators and producers 
in the Middle West. 

Mr. Mogg is president of the Linton Col- 
lieries Company, one of the largest selling 
organizations of Indiana. He is also vice 
president of the Linton Fourth Vein Coal 
Company, vice president of the Rose Hill 
Coal Company, vice president of the Pan- 
handle Coal Company, president of the 
Dana Coal and Mining Company, and 
president of the Green River Collieries 
Company. These latter corporations are 
all large producing coal companies. 

Mr. Mogg was born at Momence, Illinois, 



January 13, 1870, son of Jeremiah J. Mogg, 
who came from New York State. He lo- 
cated at Momence, Illinois, just prior to 
the Civil war. Millard E. Mogg was reared 
and educated in his native town. The fam- 
ily finally removed to Luverne, Minnesota, 
and from there in 1889 to Chicago. 

When a youth Mr. Mogg came to the 
conclusion that has had much to do with 
his subsequent career. This conclusion was 
that a man with sufficient determination 
and pluck could accomplish almost any- 
thing within reason that he started out to 
do. It was this spirit that enabled him to 
overcome handicaps that prevent insur- 
mountable barriers to the average man of 
good capacity. A big opportunity came 
to him when he secured the rights and 
privileges of handling a "stripping propo- 
sition" in the vast coal region at Linton, 
Indiana. That was the beginning of a 
rapid and successful career as a coal pro- 
ducer. He had a genius for organization, 
and though he began with practically no 
capital he has built the Linton Collieries 
Company, a concern that now produces 
nearly $3,000,000 worth of coal annually. 

Mr. Mogg is essentially a man of busi- 
ness. While interested in politics and the 
social side of life, his energies and pleasure 
are in the activities of business. 

September 11, 1893, he married Miss 
Mary Owen, of Chicago. They have four 
children : Clayton O., Jeremiah Owen, Har- 
riet E. and Millard E., Jr. 

Francis Elisha Baker. Indiana claims 
among her honored native sons Francis 
Elisha Baker, United States circuit judge 
of the Seventh Circuit. He was born at 
Goshen, Indiana, October 20, 1860, a son 
of John Harris and Harriet (Defrees) 
Baker. He was a student of Indiana Uni- 
versity and the University of Michigan, 
and was admitted to the bar in 1885. In 
the same year he began the practice of law 
at Goshen with his father as Baker & 
Baker, was afterward a member of the firm 
Baker & Miller, was made a judge of the 
Supreme Court of Indiana in 1899, and on 
the 4th of February, 1902, was made a 
United States circuit judge. 

Judge Baker married May Irwin, of 
Goshen, where they maintained their home. 

George T. Beebe. A resident of Madi- 
son County forty years, now completing 



1772 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



his second term of service as county treas- 
urer, George T. Beebe has had a busy 
career, and one of more than ordinary 
service to the people of his section of the 
state. 

At an early age he learned to depend 
upon himself and has to a large degree 
been the architect of his own destiny. Mr. 
Beebe was born at Drawbridge, Sussex 
County, Delaware, January 23, 1856. Some 
of his remote ancestors were Norwegians 
and others were Irish. The first Beebe in 
America of whom there is record was his 
gi-eat-grandfatber, Ichabod Beebe, who 
was employed as a government pilot on 
Delaware Bay, and on account of his serv- 
ices at the time of his death a monument 
was erected to him by the government at 
Lewistown, Delaware. Mr. Beebe 's father 
was for many years a steward on a gov- 
ernment privateer, and had many exciting 
experiences, which he often told his son 
George. Mr. Beebe 's parents were John 
Selby and Elizabeth (Carey) Beebe. His 
father was for many years engaged in 
farming in Delaware. The father died in 
1910 and the mother in 1905, and they 
had a family of eight children. 

George T. Beebe spent his early life on 
the Delaware farm, attended country 
schools in Sussex County, and at the age 
of nineteen began teaching in his home 
community. At the age of twenty-one, in 
1877, he left home and came to Madison 
County, Indiana, locating at Elwood. For 
a term or so he was a student in Normal 
School, and then began teaching in the 
country districts of Pipe Creek Township 
near Elwood. He also taught at Wind- 
fall in Tipton County, then for two years 
was in the Elwood public schools, and 
many people in those communities still re- 
member his services as a capable instruc- 
tor. In the meantime he began learning 
the art of telegraphy, and after fitting 
himself for that work was appointed agent 
of the Lake Erie and Western Railroad 
at Elwood. He served there three years, 
and then for two years was bookkeeper 
and weighmaster in the Harting Elevator 
at Elwood. 

Mr. Beebe came to Anderson to accept 
the appointment of deputy sheriff under 
Thomas R. Moore. He was in the sheriff's 
office two years, and on leaving it he 
bought an old established abstract and title 
business. The George T. Beebe Abstract 



Company with offices in the Masonic Build- 
ing at Anderson, has the most complete 
records of titles in Madison County, cov- 
ering all the transfers of land back to 
government and Indian ownership. To 
this business Mr. Beebe has given his chief 
attention for many years. For four years 
he was president of the Citizens Gas Com- 
pany of Anderson. 

Mr. Beebe has been a leader in the demo- 
cratic party throughout the greater part 
of his residence in Madison County. He 
was chairman of the Democratic County 
Committee one term, secretary two terms, 
for one term was chairman of the Anderson 
City Committee, was elected to the Indiana 
State Committee in 1911, and was a dele- 
gate to the National Convention at St. 
Louis in 1904, where Judge Parker was 
nominated for president. In November, 
1912, Mr. Beebe was elected county treas- 
urer, was reelected in 1914, and his present 
term expires December 31, 1917. When 
the Anderson police board was first or- 
ganized Governor Matthews appointed Mr. 
Beebe one of its first members, and he was 
reappointed for a second term. He and 
his family are members of the First Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church, and he is affiliated 
with Anderson Lodge No. 106, Knights of 
Pythias, and for fifteen years was treas- 
urer of the lodge. 

In January, 1887, he married Miss 
Florence Wright, who was born in Cottage 
Grove, Indiana, daughter of William T. 
Wright. Mrs. Beebe was a teacher for 
several years before her marriage. Two 
daughters have been born to them, Helen 
E. and Rachel, the latter dying at the age 
of sixteen. Helen is a graduate of the 
Anderson High School and of the Indiana 
State University, and is now the wife of 
Charles Crick, of Kokomo. 

Thomas McCullough is president and 
manager of the Bulletin Printing and 
Manufacturing Company of Anderson, 
publishers of The Anderson Bulletin, one 
of the most influential and prosperous 
papers in Eastern Indiana. 

Mr. McCullough was born December 19, 
1868, at a now forgotten town of Madison 
County, Indiana, known to older residents 
as Prosperity, located in Richland Town- 
ship. He is a son of James and Catherine 
(Keough) McCullough, and as the names 
indicate is of Scotch-Irish ancestry. His 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1773 



mother was born in County Sligo and his 
father in Londonderry, Ireland, came 
when single to America and were married 
at Richmond, Indiana. They had a family 
of four sons and four daughters. The 
father was a veterinary surgeon and died 
in Madison County in 1876. The mother 
survived him many years and passed away 
at Anderson September 10, 1910, at the 
age of eighty-one. 

Thomas McCullough finished the com- 
mon schools in Richland Township, did 
summer normal work at Anderson, and for 
three months was in the G. W. Michael 
Business College. For seven years Mr. Mc- 
Cullough had the experience of a country 
school teacher in Union Township. He 
came to Anderson in 1892, and from 1893 
to 1896 was in the postoffice and for seven 
years was a member of the Anderson police 
force, rising to the rank of captain. He 
got into the newspaper business as circula- 
tion manager for the Anderson Daily 
News. Three years later that paper was 
consolidated with the Anderson Bulletin, 
on September 1, 1907, and has since been 
published as The Anderson Bulletin. Mr. 
McCullough was job man and had charge 
of the commercial and business office of 
the Bulletin until 1913, when he was elect- 
ed president and general manager of the 
company. The Bulletin carries the Asso- 
ciated Press service and goes into most of 
the homes of Madison County and also in- 
to adjoining counties. The business also 
includes a large commercial printing es- 
tablishment. 

Mr. McCullough is a stockholder of the 
Security Investment Company and its vice 
president. He is one of Madison County's 
leading democrats and from March, 1916, 
to May, 1918, was chairman of the Madi- 
son County Committee. He is a Knight 
Templar Mason and has filled a number of 
chairs in the various orders, and is also 
affiliated with the Knights of Pythias. 

In 1897 Mr. McCullough married Cath- 
erine Tobin, daughter of Matthew and 
Sarah Tobin of Anderson. They have two 
children, Catherine Mary, who is now a 
sophomore in De Pauw University, and 
Sarah B., in the senior year of the Ander- 
son High School. 

Rev. Joseph F. Weber. Ordained to 
the priesthood nearly thirty years ago, 
Father Weber's services have been chiefly 



in Indianapolis. He is founder and pastor 
of the Church of the Assumption of West 
Indianapolis, and to the people of that sec- 
tion of the city, regardless of sect or creed, 
his name is as a benediction. 

He was born February 5, 1865, at the 
little town of Spades, near Lawrenceburg, 
Ripley County, Indiana. It was in direct 
opposition to his father's wishes that in 
boyhood he commenced study for the 
priesthood in a Jesuit college at Cincin- 
nati. He finished his classical and theo- 
logical studies in the well known St. Mein- 
rad's Seminary in Spencer County, In- 
diana. He was ordained June 5, 1889, and 
immediately was sent to Indianapolis as 
an assistant at the cathedral of St. John. 
Bishop Chatard was then bishop of In- 
dianapolis, and his assistants in order of 
rank were Father Gavisk, Father Dowd and 
Father Weber. 

After 5y 2 years at the cathedral Father 
Weber was assigned the duty and oppor- 
tunity involved in the pastorate of the 
newly created Church of the Assumption. 
Only fourteen families comprised the par- 
ish when he took charge, but its growth 
and prosperity have been apace with the 
city. His interest has been keen not only 
in behalf of everything that concerned the 
welfare of the church and his people, but 
also in matters of broader community par- 
ticipation. When something has been 
needed in that part of the city requiring 
special leadership and cooperation no one 
has been turned to more frequently than 
Father Weber. His intervention has come 
again and again in matters of securing ex- 
tensions of gas and light facilities, and 
in construction of sidewalks. His parish 
is in that section of the city which suffered 
most during the flood of 1913. When hun- 
dreds of people were driven from their 
homes and distress and suffering were on 
all sides, Father Weber was showing him- 
self more than a spiritual leader and was* 
heading an organization that fed 800 per- 
sons daily. For this and many other acts 
of civic helpfulness the board of public 
safety presented him with a vote of thanks 
in behalf of the entire city. 

Father Weber is a son of Frank and 
Josephine (Hammersle) Weber. His 
father had an interesting and successful 
career. Born at Landthul, Bavaria, his 
family enjoyed considerable wealth and 
good position, his father being a miller and 



1774 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



grain dealer. But the early environment 
of Frank Weber was not congenial for all 
that. At thirteen he practically had charge 
of his father's flour mill, and to escape a 
drudgery and responsibility beyond his 
years he ran away from home, crossed 
France, and after a voyage on a sailing 
vessel for sixty-five days arrived in New 
York City. At that time his uncle George 
A. Weber was a man of more than ordinary 
business distinction at Cincinnati. This 
uncle was the builder and proprietor of 
the Gait House, which for many years was 
one of the most noted hostelries of the 
West. Frank Weber earned a living and 
found freedom from the restrictions of 
European life by working for his uncle in 
the Gait House until he was eighteen years 
of age. Having at an earlier stage of his 
experience acquired much knowledge of 
grain, he was able to fit in as a useful 
worker in a Cincinnati brewery also owned 
by his uncle. 

While thus employed he was sent on a 
business trip to Dover, Indiana. Most of 
his transactions were with Balthazar Ham- 
mersle, and while at his home Frank Weber 
met Miss Josephine Hammersle. Acquain- 
tance ripened fast into affection, and 
though she was only sixteen years old, and 
against her father's wishes, they were mar- 
ried and had many years of happiness and 
usefulness together. Mr. Hammersle had 
come from France and was a man of con- 
siderable wealth. At the time of his mar- 
riage Frank Weber had shown the quali- 
ties of a good business man and later years 
brought him substantial rewards. He had 
a large business as dealer in livestock and 
grain, and had finally become owner of 
the G. A. Weber Brewery in Cincinnati. 
During the Civil war his property lay in 
the path of the Confederate raiders under 
Morgan, and it took a number of years to 
recover the losses then sustained. His good 
wife died January 9, 1894, at the age of 
fifty-live. After her death he spent much 
of his time in the home of Father Weber 
at Indianapolis, where he died June 28, 
1898, at the age of sixty-eight. Death in- 
terrupted his cherished plan to revisit the 
scenes of his childhood, which he had left 
at thirteen and to which he never returned. 

Of the children the oldest is J. B. Weber, 
who until recently was connected with the 
White Swan Distillery at Indianapolis, but 
is now living retired in Los Angeles. 



Frank H., the second son, is manager of 
the Indianapolis Brewing Company. The 
third son is Father Weber, and the fourth 
is George A., of Indianapolis. The daugh- 
ter Clara is the wife of Frank Fronapel of 
Cambridge City, Indiana. Ida M. married 
Charles A. Rink, of Indianapolis. Edward 
Weber, the remaining child, died quite re- 
cently. 

Amos N. Gustin. The widening field of 
electric transmission of energy has within 
the last half century become one of the 
most important lines of modern business. 
The nrysterious agent, electricity, has been 
so captured, harnessed and utilized that 
now the wheels of commerce would scarcely 
turn without the motive power of the elec- 
tric current, armies both industrial and 
belligerent would be shorn of their power 
to a large extent, railroads could no longer 
sweep like the wind across a continent, 
agricultural activities would lag, and ac- 
customed comfort and convenience would 
be lacking in multitudes of homes. It is 
not remarkable then that ambitious, in- 
telligent, progressive men enter the elec- 
trical business, and many find hidden for- 
tunes in this line of work when they are 
thoroughly competent. Anderson has more 
than one electric business firm here, but 
none are more reliable or better prepared 
or more experienced than the firm of Gus- 
tin & Epply, the senior member of which 
is Amos N. Gustin, one of the big con- 
tractors and representative business men 
of this city. 

Amos N. Gustin, president of the In- 
diana Electric Company, was born on his 
father's farm in Lafayette Township, 
Madison County, Indiana, not far from 
Anderson, in 1869. His parents were John 
Quincy and Mary (Miller) Gustin. In 
tracing the family far back it is found that 
it may justly lay claim to be of Revolu- 
tionary stock and Huguenot ancestry, and 
for many years it has been an old family 
in Madison County, Indiana, and always 
a highly respected one. 

Amos N. Gustin obtained his education 
in the public schools, mainly during the 
winter seasons, as he assisted his father on 
the farm during the summers until he was 
eighteen years old. There were eighty 
acres in the home farm and the father spent 
the larger part of his life there, with the 
exception of about five years when he and 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1775 



his son Amos N., conducted a grocery store 
on West Main Street, Anderson. 

After his father sold the grocery busi- 
ness Amos N. Gustin went to work for 
the Anderson Nut & Bolt Company, and 
remained there for six years, during a part 
of the time being a shipping clerk, and 
here gained a large amount of practical 
and useful information. From that con- 
cern he went with the Hoosier Chemical 
Company, manufacturers of pharmaceu- 
tical preparations and specialties. He 
owned a half interest in the company and 
during his two years connection had an 
opportunity to make some headway in the 
study of medical science. Following this 
experience he was engaged for Sy 2 years 
in the commercial department of the Mu- 
nicipal Electric Light Company of Ander- 
son, and had charge of tha city lights and 
had an opportunity again to increase his 
knowledge, which he seized and made a 
study of electricity and electric installa- 
tion. 

Mr. Gustin then spent a year at Pasa- 
dena, California, working as an order clerk 
for the Model Grocery Company. Al- 
though that highly lauded section of the 
country has many advantages, it did not 
appeal to Mr. Gustin as did the recollec- 
tion of his old home in Indiana, hence he 
returned to Anderson when he felt ready 
to establish himself in a permanent busi- 
ness. In 1906 he purchased a one-third in- 
terest in the Indiana Electric Company 
of Anderson, his partners being Frank B. 
Stratton and Frank Epply. In 1913 Mr. 
Stratton sold his interest to his partners, 
and they have continued in the electrical 
business here ever since. They deal in elec- 
trical supplies and do a general electric 
contracting business and have satisfac- 
torily handled some of the heaviest con- 
tracts in this entire section. They have 
first class quarters, fine equipments, a large 
stock and expert electricians. Mr. Gustin 
has additional business interests. 

In 1893 he was married to Miss Louise 
Stritmater, who is a daughter of Martin 
Stritmater, of Toledo, Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. 
Gustin have two sons: Joseph Quincy, who 
was born in 1891, and Robert Louis, who 
was born in 1907. The elder son. who is 
a resident of Anderson, married Miss Irene 
Sweetman, of this city. 

In his political affiliation Mr. Gustin has 
always been a republican but has never 



been a politician in the accepted sense and 
has never desired public office. He has 
always been a hearty supporter of law and 
order and has many times shown his sin- 
cere public spirit in favoring civic move- 
ments, and has been a liberal contributor to 
charities of all kinds both before and since 
the outbreak of the World war. He is 
identified fraternally with the Knights of 
Pythias and the Fraternal Order of Eagles. 

George E. Nichol. The family repre- 
sented by George E. Nichol, a prominent 
Anderson banker, has been identified with 
that section of Indiana more than sixty 
years. Many associations gather around 
the name, as soldiers, leaders in republican 
politics, merchants, bankers and citizens 
whose reliability and integrity pass with- 
out question. 

The Nichols of Anderson are of English, 
Irish and Scotch descent. It was an old 
and substantial family in England for 
many generations and the Nichols possess 
a coat of arms. Francis Nichol was 
born in Ireland in 1737, and with his 
brother William came to America and set- 
tled in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania. 
William Nichol was later a captain in the 
American army. Francis Nichol also en- 
listed in June, 1775, was promoted to the 
rank of second lieutenant, was taken pris- 
oner at Quebec December 31, 1775, was 
released in August, 1776, and by his later 
attainments and service rose to the rank of 
brigadier general. At the close of the war 
he was elected first United States marshal 
of Eastern Pennsylvania. He died in 
Pennsylvania February 13, 1812. This 
distinguished early American was the 
great-great-grandfather of George E. 
Nichol of Anderson. The head of the next 
generation of the family was Thomas 
Nichol, who became a pioneer settler on the 
Ohio side of the Ohio River near Wheeling, 
West Virginia, and afterwards moved to 
Butler County, Ohio, where his sturdy 
arms cleared up 160 acres of wild land. 
Of his children Joseph was a soldier in the 
War of 1812. 

Thomas, Jr., grandfather of George E. 
Nichol, was born about 1803 in Belmont 
County, Ohio, and was three years old 
when the family moved to Butler County. 
He married Jane Marshall, daughter of 
Gilbert and Mary (Taylor) Marshall. The 
young couple went to a home in the woods, 



1776 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



and spent many years of their industrious 
lives in clearing up and developing a fine 
farm. This Thomas Nichol was a Jack- 
sonian democrat in politics. His children 
were: William M., born in 1828, George, 
Mary, Joseph W., Martha, Gilbert, Jen- 
nie, Francis, Catherine, John and Robert. 
George Nichol, who was born in Butler 
County, Ohio, January 14, 1830, is still 
alive at the age of eighty-seven and has 
been one of the foremost characters of An- 
derson for a long period of years. He had 
limited opportunities as a boy to gain an 
education in Butler County, Ohio, and ac- 
quired most of his knowledge in his work 
as a teacher and by a year's attendance at 
Farmer's College in Cincinnati. In 1852 
he went west to Keokuk, Iowa, where he 
was employed as clerk in a hardware store, 
and in March, 1854, arrived at Anderson, 
Indiana. 

Here he entered iipon a career as a 
hardware merchant, and that business has 
been in the Nichol family continuously now 
for more than sixty years. His first asso- 
ciate was Amos J. King. George Nichol 
under the weight of years and with an 
ample competence retired from business a 
number of years ago, turning over the in- 
terests to his sons Thomas J. and George 
E. 

George Nichol put patriotism and duty 
to his country above his business when the 
Civil war came on. In September, 1861, 
he enlisted from Anderson in the Forty- 
Seventh Indiana Infantry, was appointed 
quartermaster of his regiment, and saw ac- 
tive service until 1864. He attained the 
rank of first lieutenant. George Nichol 
was about twenty-six years of age, a young 
man in the flush of enthusiasm and man- 
hood, when the republican party was or- 
ganized and chose its first presidential 
candidate, and he voted for John C. Fre- 
mont in 1856 and steadily supported every 
other party candidate down to the present 
time, his record of party allegiance run- 
ning without a break from 1856 to 1916. 
He was the first republican elected by 
Madison County to the office of county 
auditor. He was chosen to that office in 
1870, at a time when the county was demo- 
cratic by a large majority. It was one of 
the notable triumphs in the political his- 
tory of the county. His service as auditor 
was rendered from 1871 to 1875. T n 1904 
he was chosen a member of the Indiana 



Legislature, and in 1907 Governor Hanly 
appointed him a member of the board of 
trustees for the Indiana Epileptic Village 
at Newcastle. He was a member of the 
board until 1911, since which time he has 
been practically retired from public life. 
For a number of years he was chairman 
of the Republican County Central Commit- 
tee. He was the first president of tne An- 
derson Board of Trade and was actively 
identified with that organization through- 
out its existence. He is a charter member 
of Major May Post, Grand Army of the 
Republic, and a member of the First Pres- 
byterian Church at Anderson. George 
Nichol married December 4, 1855, at An- 
derson, Harriet Robinson, who was born 
in Ripley County, Indiana, in 1835, daugh- 
ter of Josephus and Matilda Robinson, 
and a sister of Colonel M. S. Robinson. 
Her father was for many years a well 
known member of the Indiana bar. George 
Nichol and wife became the parents of two 
sons, Thomas J., born September 13, 1856, 
and George E. Their mother died May 25, 
1896. September 27, 1899, George Nichol 
married Mrs. Mary Eglin, widow of Capt. 
John F. Eglin of the Forty-Seventh In- 
diana Infantry. She died September 24, 
1907. 

George E. Nichol, younger son of the 
venerable George Nichol, was born at An- 
derson October 4, 1861, and after finishing 
his education in the local public schools 
entered his father's hardware store at the 
age of seventeen. As a clerk he learned 
every detail and routine of the business, 
and later with his brother Thomas assumed 
the responsibilities of managing that large 
and old established house. He was per- 
sonally identified wth its management un- 
til 1912, being secretary and treasurer, 
while his brother was president of the com- 
pany, and he still holds those offices. In 
1912 Mr. Nichol took the post of vice presi- 
dent of the Citizens Bank of Anderson, 
and his time was largely occupied with the 
executive duties of that position for several 
years, and he still remains in the office of 
vice president. However, since January, 
1915, his chief post of responsibility has 
been as president of the Farmers Trust 
Company. He was one of the local citi- 
zens who promoted this company in Janu- 
ary, 1912. He is thus actively identified 
with three leading business and financial 
institutions of his native citv. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



177/ 



In 1888 Mr. Niehol married Catherine 
Malone, daughter of Wi. K. and Eleanor 
(Duffey) Malone, of Hamilton, Ohio. Mr. 
and Mrs. Niehol have two children : George 
"W., born in 1895, and Robert E., born in 
1900. 

Mr. Niehol is affiliated with Fellowship 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
with the Royal Arch Chapter, with the 
Knights of Pythias, served as exalted ruler 
of the Anderson Lodge of Elks in 1895, is 
a member of the First Presbyterian Church 
and in politics is a republican without as- 
pirations for any of the honors or emolu- 
ments of politics. 

Andrew Jackson Spaulding, D. C. As 
a doctor of chiropractic Doctor Spaulding 
ranks high in the medical fraternity, and 
is one of the leading exponents of chiro- 
practic in the eastern part of the state. 
He is junior member of the firm James & 
Spaulding, with offices in the Union Build- 
ing at Anderson, and with a practice ex- 
tending all over that county and surround- 
ing counties. 

Doctor Spaulding was born at Ovid, In- 
diana, in 1885, a son of Robert Y. and An- 
na (Talbot) Spaulding. He comes by his 
professional inclination partly by inheri- 
tance, since his father was an earnest, hard 
working and conscientious pioneer phy- 
sician and did a worthy work for many 
years. Andrew J. Spauldng was educated 
in country schools. He spent two years in 
high school and in 1902 secured a position 
as a traveling representative for the St. 
Louis Range Company. In their interests 
he traveled all over Southern Indiana, 
Kentucky, Ohio and West Virginia for % 
three years. He proved himself a success- 
ful salesman, and doubtless would have 
reached a high mark in that business had 
he chosen to continue it. Later for four 
years he was shipping clerk with the Big 
Four Railway at Anderson, but in 1913 
gave up business to enter the Indiana 
School of Chiropractic at Anderson, where 
he spent two years and from which he re- 
ceived his degree D. C. in 1915. He at 
once set himself up in practice at Ander- 
son, and a year and a half later, in July, 
1917, joined Dr. J. H. James under the 
firm name of James & Spaulding. 

Doctor Spaulding married at Chester- 
field, Indiana, Ida Rinker, daughter of 
Samuel and Jane (Mills) Rinker, well 



known people in the farming section east 
of Anderson. While Doctor and Mrs. 
Spaulding have no children of their own 
they have reared three or four and have 
provided them with good home and ad- 
vantages. Doctor Spaulding is a democrat 
in politics, is affiliated with the Knights 
of Pythias at Anderson, and is a member 
of the First Methodist Church at Dales- 
ville. He is also a member of Camel Lodge 
and the Central Business Men's Associa- 
tion of Chicago, Illinois. 

Alexander Taggart. It was a matter 
of good fortune both to the City of Indian- 
apolis and for Alexander Taggart person- 
ally that he became identified with this 
community about the close of the Civil war, 
and continuously for over half a century 
he continued a resident, a capable and pro- 
gressive business man and one whose life 
meant much beyond the immediate sphere 
of his private business. The baking busi- 
ness has been a family trade with the Tag- 
garts for several generations, and it was in 
that line that Alexander Taggart gained 
his secure position in Indianapolis business 
affairs. He was still active at the end of 
half a century and was treasurer of the 
Taggart Baking Company. However, he 
spent much of his time in the mild, dry 
climate of Colorado and Arizona. The 
active direction of the Taggart Baking 
Company is handled by his son Alexander 
L., its president. 

Of English and Manx lineage, Alexander 
Taggart was born at Ramsey, Isle of Man, 
April 5, 1844, and died November 12, 1918. 
He was a son of James and Elizabeth 
(Lewthewaite) Taggart. His parents spent 
all their lives on the Isle of Man, his father 
being a baker. With the advantages of the 
common schools of his native town Alexan- 
der Taggart at the age of fifteen began an 
apprenticeship at the baker's trade in his 
father's shop. He learned the business with 
systematic thoroughness and remained 
there as a wage earner until he reached his 
majority. Coming to the United States, he 
remained a short time in New York City 
and in 1865 came to Indianapolis. Here 
he found employment in the shops of one 
of the pioneer bakers of the city, Mr. 
Thompson. A year later he went back to 
his native country, but for only a year, 
when he returned to Indianapolis. Mr. 
Taggart had a great affection for theland 



1778 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



of his birth, and as his means of later years 
justified it made several visits to the scenes 
of his early life. 

April 12, 1869, Mr. Taggart left the role 
of a jurneyman baker and established a 
business of his own. He was sole pro- 
prietor until he established a co-partner- 
ship with B. E. Parrott. The firm of 
Parrott & Taggart was a factor in 
Indianapolis business a period of eighteen 
years. In that time the establishment be- 
came the largest and best equipped in the 
city, and as such it was finally merged with 
the United States Baking Company, with 
Mr. Taggart as a director and in charge of 
the local factory. Still later the plant be- 
came a local branch of the National Biscuit 
Company. In 1904 Mr. Taggart resigned 
his office as director, selling his stock in the 
company, and for a year lived retired. 

Then in 1905 the Taggart Baking Com- 
pany was organized and incorporated, with 
Alexander Taggart as treasurer. This com- 
pany now has the largest baking plant in 
the state, and its high class products are 
distributed all over Central Indiana. 

Consistently through all the years of his 
residence Mr. Taggart 's part was that of 
a citizen of fine ideals and one willing to 
work in the interest of any movement that 
affected the local welfare. He did not seek 
participation in practical politics, was a 
republican voter, and enjoyed a well mer- 
ited popularity in business circles and in 
the modest social life which appealed to 
him. He was an active member of the 
Meridian Street Methodist Episcopal 
Church as is his wife. He identified him- 
self with this church in 1865, the year he 
came to Indianapolis. 

January 9, 1873, Mr. Taggart married 
Miss Louise Alice Bell. Mrs. Taggart was 
born and reared in Indiana, daughter of 
the late Charles Bell of Plymouth. Mr. 
and Mrs. Taggart had six children : Ger- 
trude, Lillian B., Mona L., Alexander L., 
William L. and Edward B. Alexander L., 
now president of the Taggart Baking Com- 
pany, married in October, 1904, Lillian 
Atkins. Their children are Alexander L., 
Jr., Adelaide L., Florence, Elizabeth, 
Mona, Lillian and Helen A. The second 
son of Mr. Taggart, William L., married 
November 9, 1912, Marion Thomson, de- 
ceased, and they had a son named William 
L., Jr. Edward B. Taggart, youngest of 
the three sons, married, May 15, 1917, 



Adelaide Rawles and they have one child, 
Adelaide Patricia. 

Albert Barnes Anderson, who was 
elected United States district judge, dis- 
trict of Indiana, December 18, 1902, was 
born near Zionsville, Boone County, In- 
diana, February 10, 1857, a son of Phil- 
ander and Anna (Duzan) Anderson. He 
is a graduate of Wabash College, was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1881, practiced at 
Crawfordsville from 1881 to 1902, and 
prior to entering upon his duties as judge 
served as prosecuting attorney of Mont- 
gomery County. He is a republican. 

Judge Anderson married Rose Camp- 
bell, of Crawfordsville. 

Erastus W. Hubbard, members of whose 
family are still prominently identified with 
the business and civic affairs at Delphi and 
Indianapolis, was of a former generation 
of Indianans. His life and character were 
such that it is not straining the truth to 
say that to such men Indiana owes its high 
and proud position among the states of the 
Union. 

He was really a product of the pioneer 
era of Indiana, though his own character 
and abilities enabled him to rise superior 
to his environment. He was born June 
30. 1819, and thirteen years later his 
father, Brigham Hubbard, journeyed into 
Northeastern Indiana, when it was prac- 
tically a wilderness. The family made its 
first settlement in Tippecanoe County, 
where Brigham Hubbard preempted a 
tract of land. In order to reach this land 
it was necessary to blaze a way through 
the forest. Brigham Hubbard fell a vic- 
tim to his pioneer enterprise. Tippecanoe 
County in those days was unwholesome with 
the plagues and fevers that rose from the 
undrained marshes and swamps, and he 
died before realizing his ambitions to 
achieve a home and an honored place in 
the community. About 1833 his widow re- 
moved with her family to Delphi, where a 
son-in-law, David R. Harley, was then liv- 
ing. Brigham Hubbard had twice mar- 
ried. His first wife died in New York 
State, the mother of three children. These 
three children and the second wife con- 
stituted his family when he came to In- 
diana. There was one daughter by his sec- 
ond marriage. 

Erastus W. Hubbard was about fourteen 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1779 



years old when he went to Delphi. In that 
town he grew to manhood and had only 
such advantages as were supplied by the 
subscription schools. Later, however, for 
two years he was a student in Hamilton 
College in Chenango County, New York. 
His early ambition was to become a law- 
yer. He was diverted from this and took 
up the manufacture of lime at Delphi, 
where he developed a large industry. He 
was in that business during the era of 
primitive transportation in Indiana, and 
most of his shipments outside of the im- 
mediate locality were made over the Wa- 
bash and Erie Canal. He finally sold that 
business and in 1877 organized the Citi- 
zens Bank at Delphi, of which he became 
the president. About 1888, when in his 
seventieth year, he retired from active 
business, and he died at the home of a son 
in Indianapolis January 28, 1902. 

Congressman Charles B. Landis once 
said that Erastus W. Hubbard would have 
made a superior lawyer, that he had the 
analytical and judicial turn of mind and 
oratorical abilities requisite for high suc- 
cess in that profession. In the opinion of 
otber contemporaries he would have suc- 
ceeded in almost any line of endeavor 
chosen. He was old fashioned in his in- 
tegrity, and his entire life was completely 
above reproach. He was a charter member 
of the Christian Church at Delphi and 
kept his membership in that church the 
rest of his life. It was in keeping with his 
well rounded character that he was known 
for his generosity and his liberality in 
views and actions. He was one of the pro- 
moters of the old I. D. & C. Railway, now 
part of the Monon system. The road fin- 
ally became badly involved, and Mr. Hub- 
bard was appointed trustee for the credi- 
tors. Under his administration the affairs 
were so ably handled that not a single 
creditor lost a dollar. 

Mr. Hubbard was a staunch republican, 
but. it is not known that he ever sought a 
single public honor. He served as school 
trustee, but did so as a practical means 
of expressing his strong friendship in be- 
half of education. Possessing great energy, 
virile and active in every way, his capaci- 
ties were guided by a superior intellect 
and above all by a thoroughly honorable 
and upright character. Much praise was 
given him for the admirable manner in 
which he handled estates for widows and 



oi'phans, and other trusts committed to 
him. He not only taught the Golden Rule 
but he lived it, and he had friends wher- 
ever he had acquaintances. 

Erastus W. Hubbard married Arabella 
Wright. Of their five children one died in 
infancy, the others being: Henry C, who 
died at the age of fourteen ; Clara A., 
who became the wife of Rev. J. M. Monroe ; 
Willard Wright, and Walter J. 

Willard W. Hubbard, son of Erastus 
W., was born at Delphi, Indiana, August 
5, 1854, and has sustained much of the 
strength and ability of his father in busi- 
ness affairs. He was educated at Delphi, 
and in 1877 graduated from Butler Col- 
lege. Soon after, upon its organization, he 
became cashier of the Citizens Bank at 
Delphi, and filled that office until 1883. 
He also organized the Island Coal Com- 
pany, operating mines in Greene County. 
Since 1884 his home has been at Indianap- 
olis, and he has acquired extensive inter- 
ests in coal and railroads. He is a mem- 
ber of the Sigma Chi college fraternity, 
and his family belong to the Central Chris- 
tian Church in Indianapolis. Willard 
Hubbard married Josephine S. Niles, of 
Mishawaka, Indiana. Their three children 
are Harry N., Willard W., Jr., and Helen 
J. The daughter is the wife of Charles S. 
Bygate. 

Walter J. Hubbard, second son of Eras- 
tus W. Hubbard, was born at Delphi, In- 
diana, September 23, 1862. The education 
received in the public schools of Delphi 
was supplemented by three years of at- 
tendance at Butler College. While in col- 
lege he became affiliated with the Sigma 
Chi fraternity. He left college to become 
connected with the Citizens Bank at Del- 
phi, but in 1888 removed to Indianapolis, 
where he has since built up prominent con- 
nections in the real estate and investment 
business. He is a republican in politics 
and a member of the Central Christian 
Church. September 29, 1887, he married 
Ella Hurst. Their two children are Wal- 
ter J.. Jr., and Ruth. 

James I. Dissette's name is especially 
associated with some of the big and grow- 
ing industries of Indianapolis. During the 
last thirty years he has been connected with 
a number of undertakings which have 
proved successful from a financial stand- 
point and have brought much benefit to 



1780 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



the community. Mr. Dissette's active life- 
time has been during the half century of 
unexampled prosperity and industrial de- 
velopment since the close of the Civil war, 
and it is perhaps more indicative of his 
attitude toward the larger affairs of the 
world than anything else that he regards 
the action of his two sons in volunteering 
for service in the great European war not 
only with great personal pride but that 
this action was a matter of patriotic duty 
incumbent upon all. 

Mr. Dissette is a native of Canada, born 
in County Simeoe, Ontario, June 13, 1859, 
the youngest of thirteen children. His 
grandfather was a native of France but 
lived in Ireland while Napoleon was threat- 
ening the invasion of Britain. He finally 
came to Canada and settled in that country 
permanently. John E. Disette, father of 
James I., was born in Ireland and acquired 
his farm in Canada direct from the British 
crown. That property is still owned by 
his son James. John E. Dissette married 
Joanna Chapman. 

On the Canadian farm James I. Dissette 
spent the first thirteen years of his life. 
His father then removed to Cleveland, 
Ohio, and James continued his education 
in the public schools of that city, spending 
one year in Baldwin University. As he 
looks back over his career, he finds that 
perhaps his most profitable lessons were 
gained in the school of experience. At fif- 
teen he went to work as a printer's devil in 
a newspaper office at Ashland, Ohio. Later 
he was employed as compositor and repor- 
ter on the Cleveland Herald. That was at 
the time when James A. Garfield was the 
dominating character in Ohio as well as 
in national politics, and when Garfield was 
nominated and elected to the presidency 
printing and newspaper work was not his 
permanent field, however. Much valuable 
experience came to him as clerk in the 
Cleveland Malleable Iron Company at 
Cleveland. 

In 1884 Mr. Dissette was sent to Indian- 
apolis as manager's assistant of the In- 
dianapolis Malleable Iron Company, which 
is. now a part of the National Malleable 
Castings Company, with plant and head- 
quarters at Haughville, now a part of this 
city. Through the rapid accumulation of 
experience Mr. Dissette felt justified in 
1888 in embarking in business for himself 
as one of the owners of the Indianapolis 



Foundry Company. This was a profitable 
enterprise to whose great success Mr. Dis- 
sette's identity contributed. It was re- 
cently succeeded by the Indiana Castings 
Company. 

In the meantime Mr. Dissette organized 
and was the first shareholder of the 
American National Bank, which subse- 
quently became part of the Fletcher Ameri- 
can National Bank. He served as director 
continuously, and is now a director of the 
latter bank. In 1907 he became a director 
of the State Life Insurance Company and 
a member of its executive committee, and 
for a number of years has been its second 
vice president. 

In 1913 Mr. Dissette incorporated the 
Federal Foundry Company of Indianap- 
olis, which has grown and prospered under 
his direction as president. In 1911 he be- 
came principal stockholder of the Indian- 
apolis Wire Bound Box Company, and is 
now president of that corporation. He was 
president of the Realty Investment Com- 
pany from the time of its organization un- 
til it finally went out of business in 1917. 

Mr. Dissette is a republican in politics. 
He is a member of the Columbia Club and 
the Indianapolis Board of Trade and is a 
Knight Templar and thirty-second degree 
Scottish Rite Mason and Mystic Shriner. 
He and his wife are members of the Cen- 
tral Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church, 
of which he is a trustee. 

In 1885 Mr. Dissette married Grace Wil- 
cox, of Akron, Ohio. She died twenty 
years later, in August, 1905, the mother 
of three children, John W., Joseph C. and 
Anna Lois. In 1907 Mr. Dissette married 
Alice DePree, of Grand Rapids, Michigan. 
They have two young children, Mary 
Eunice and Alice Joanna. When America 
became involved in the World war Mr. Dis- 
sette's two sons both volunteered and en- 
listed. John W. received the rank of first 
lieutenant in aviation in the officers' train- 
ing camp and Joseph C. that of first lieu- 
tenant in infantry in the training camp 
for officers at Louisville. 

Charles Lewis Henry has been de- 
scribed as one of the most active partici- 
pants in the modern commercial regenera- 
tion of Indiana. Indianans have a lively 
memory of many important enterprises 
with which he has been identified at dif- 
ferent times, but perhaps chiefly for 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1781 



pioneer work in developing the interurban 
railway system of the state. A lawyer by 
profession, he practically gave up the prac- 
tice of office and courtroom upon the dis- 
covery of natural gas, and through his ef- 
forts many industrial institutions having 
gas as their basis were established at An- 
derson and other cities. Mr. Henry might 
be appropriately called the father of in- 
terurban electric railroading in Indiana. 
The first cars propelled by electricity out- 
side of cities were operated under his 
direction. He has continued at the very 
forefront of the electric railroad movement 
even to the present time. His record as a 
lawyer, statesman and business man is a 
notable one. 

He was born on a farm in Hancock 
County, Indiana, July 1, 1849, son of 
George and Leah (Lewis) Henry. His 
father, a native of Ireland, came to the 
United States at the age of twelve years, 
learned the cabinet maker's trade in Vir- 
ginia, now West Virginia, married in Green 
Brier County, that state, and was a pioneer 
settler in Hancock County, Indiana. He 
became a man of considerable prominence 
in civic affairs. He served as a member 
of the Indiana House of Representatives, 
and in the old judicial system, which re- 
quired one lawyer and two laymen to pre- 
side over the local courts, he served in the 
capacity of an associate judge. 

Charles Lewis Henry accompanied his 
parents when he was a small boy to Pendle- 
ton, Indiana, and spent his boyhood and 
early manhood there. He attended the 
public schools and finished his literary edu- 
cation in old Asbury, now DePauw, Uni- 
versity at Greencastle. He studied law 
with Judge Henry Craven at Pendleton, 
and in 1872 graduated LL. B. from the 
law department of the State University. 
Mr. Henry was in the practice of law at 
Pendleton until 1875, and then removed 
to the county seat of Madison County, at 
Anderson, which was his home for over 
a quarter of a century. 

With the discovery of natural gas in East- 
ern Indiana he became an active factor 
in utilizing this natural resource through 
the establishment of many factories at 
Anderson It was almost by casual cir- 
cumstances that he became interested in 
interurban roads, but that has been devel- 
oped latterly as his chief business. On 



January 1, 1899, the first interurban line 
in Indiana was put in operation between 
Anderson and Alexandria. Mr. Henry was 
general manager of the company operating 
this road. About that time with associates 
he established and organized what is now 
the Union Traction Company of Indiana, 
and had a prominent part in developing 
the first constituent properties of that 
present great corporation. Some of these 
earlier lines were those from Anderson to 
Marion, from Alexandria to Elwood, the 
line from Muncie by way of Anderson to 
Indianapolis, including the city lines in 
Muncie and Anderson. Mr. Henry later 
sold his interests in the Union Traction 
Company and in 1903 assisted in organiz- 
ing the Indianapolis & Cincinnati Trac- 
tion Company, of which he has since been 
president and general manager. In 1915-16 
Mr. Henry was president of the American 
Electric Railway Association. 

Until railroad building absorbed his time 
and energies Mr. Henry was one of the 
leading republicans of Indiana. He was 
elected and served during 1880-81 as a 
member of the State Senate from Madison 
and Grant counties. In .1894 he was 
elected to Congress and re-electd in 1896, 
serving through the Fifty-fourth and Fifty- 
fifth Congresses, and at the end of his sec- 
ond term declining renomination in order 
to give his tme to his varied business inter- 
ests. While in Congress he was a member 
of the foreign affairs committee during the 
Spanish-American war. During 1903-4 Mr. 
Henry owned the Indianapolis Journal. 

He was one of the first trustee of the 
Indiana Epileptic Village, and for nine 
years he was a trustee of the Indiana State 
University. His home has been in Indian- 
apolis since 1903. He is a member of the 
University Club and of the Methodist 
Church. His offices are in the Traction 
Terminal Building and his home at 1414 
Broadway. September 2, 1873, he married 
Miss Eva N. Smock, of Greencastle. They 
have seven children: Edna G., Atta L., 
Alice C, Edith S., George S., Lewis W. and 
Leah E. Edna, the oldest daughter, is now 
head of the Social Service Department of 
the Indiana University. 

Eben H. Wolcott, president of the 
State Savings & Trust Company of Indian- 
apolis, is a man of many varied business 



1782 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



interests in Indiana and has been promi- 
nent in the various counties and cities of 
the state. 

He is a son of the late Anson Wolcott, 
distinguished among other things as the 
founder of the town of Wolcott in White 
County. Anson Wolcott was born at West- 
ern New York, October 19, 1819, was edu- 
cated and taught in the Empire state, and 
at the age of twenty-one went to Louisiana 
and studied law. He remained in the South 
about a year and a half, then returned to 
New York, and in 1847 was admitted to 
the State Supreme Court at Buffalo and 
in 1852 to the United States Supreme 
Court. For a time he practiced law in 
New York City. After about six years of 
professional life he came to Indiana, hav- 
ing purchased a large body of land in 
White County. After the railroad was 
completed in the fall of 1860 he purchased 
a large tract of land and platted a town 
and arranged for a station under his own 
name. Thus he became the founder of 
Wolcott in 1861. From first to the last 
for nearly forty-six years Anson Wolcott 
was the inspiration of the place. He gave 
his indirect or direct encouragement to 
practically every business enterprise. He 
was a man of broad education, and while 
chiefly interested while a resident of In- 
diana in practical business affairs, he also 
had a notable public record. In 1868 he 
was elected on the republican ticket to the 
State Senate, where he did valuable service 
as chairman of the finance committee dur- 
ing the sessions of 1869 and 1871. He 
was afterwards prominently mentioned as 
a candidate for Congress. He finally dis- 
agreed with the republican party and 
joined the national or greenback party and 
was its nominee for governor of Indiana. 
While in the Legislature he was instru- 
mental in having taxation abolished on 
Catholic Church property to the extent 
that it was taxed only as other church prop- 
erty. Formerly, clue to the fact that much 
Catholic property is held in the name of 
the bishop of the church, taxes were levied 
as on other personal real estate. Anson 
Wolcott was a student at all times and 
wrote extensively on many financial and 
public matters. He died at his home in 
Wolcott January 10, 1907. He was a 
Knight Templar and thirty-second degree 
Scottish Rite Mason. He was twice mar- 
ried, his first wife being a member of the 



Walbridge family. By that union there 
was one son, Henry Walbridge Wolcott. 
Anson Wolcott married for his second wife, 
at Philadelphia, Georgiana (Sayen) De 
Mosquera. Eben H. Wolcott of Indian- 
apolis is the only son of this union. 

The latter was educated in the public 
schools of Wolcott and at Logansport and 
in Wabash College, where he was grad- 
uated in the scientific course in 1886. Mr. 
Wolcott was born at the old home of his 
father in White County, Indiana, May 5, 
1866, and was thus twenty years of age 
when he completed his college course. 
From that time forward he more and more 
assumed business responsibilities from his 
father, with whom he was associated in the 
grain business at Wolcott, but for the past 
twenty years his interests have taken on 
a larger scope and have identified him with 
several cities of the state. 

About 1901 he helped organize the West- 
ern Motor Company, now the Reutenber 
Manufacturing Company of Marion. In 
1908 he removed to Logansport to take an 
active part in the business as head of the. 
sales department. In 1909 they built the 
new plant of the company at Marion. In 
February, 1912, Mr. Wolcott was ap- 
pointed a member of the State Tax Com- 
mission by Governor Marshall and was re- 
appointed December 1, 1912. He resigned 
this office April 1, 1915, to become pres- 
ident of the State Savings & Trust Com- 
pany of Indianapolis. Mr. Wolcott is also 
vice president of the American Mortgage 
Guarantee Company, director of the Lo- 
gansport Oxygen Company, director of the 
Standard Livestock Insurance Company, 
director of the American Playground De- 
vice Company of Anderson, and of many 
other business interests. 

In 1900 he was elected state senator from 
White, Jasper and Newton counties, and 
during the following session was chairman 
of the committee on ediication. He served 
on Governor Durbin's staff with the rank 
of lieutenant-colonel, and was also on the 
staff of Gov. Frank Hanley. For about 
ten years Mr. Wolcott has been a trustee 
of Wabash College. For four years he has 
served as president of the Society of De- 
scendants of Henry Wolcott, the progenitor 
of the family in America who settled at 
Windsor, Connecticut, in 1730. Mr. Wol- 
cott is a member of the Phi Gamma Delta 
college fraternity, is a thirty-second degree 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1783 



Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner, is treas- 
urer of the Columbia Club of Indianapolis, 
has served as president of the Economic 
Club and is a member of various social 
organizations. Politically he is an active 
republican. 

On April 22, 1899, he married Miss 
Lida L. Brown, of Indianapolis. Both are 
active members of the Central Christian 
Church of Indianapolis. Mrs. Wolcott is 
a daughter of Walter S. Brown and a 
granddaughter of that eminent Indiana 
physician, Dr. Ryland T. Brown, who was 
also one of the early ministers of the Chris- 
tian Church. Mr. and Mrs. Wolcott have 
two sons : Ryland Anson, born April 4, 
1901 ; and Roger Gould, born September 
21, 1903. 

Uz McMurtrie. Forecasting human des- 
tiny and achievement is a difficult and 
hazardous undertaking even when some of 
the finest elements of human character and 
personal attributes are involved. Only two 
or three years ago the people of Grant 
County were priding themselves in the fact 
that they had the youngest county treas- 
urer in the state and were predicting big 
things for the future for Uz McMurtrie, 
but probably the most sanguine would have 
hesitated to say that Mr. McMurtrie would 
step from the office of county treasurer 
into one of the biggest positions in the 
state service and would become treasurer 
of the State of Indiana. But this very 
thing happened, and the honors and re- 
sponsibilities of politics were never better 
bestowed than when Mr. McMurtrie was 
elected treasurer of the state in 1916. 

He was not yet thirty-three years of age 
when he took up the duties of his new 
office at Indianapolis. He was born July 
12, 1884, at Attica, Indiana, son of William 
and Elizabeth (Starr) McMurtrie. His 
father was a native of Fountain County, 
and his mother of Vermilion County, In- 
diana. William McMurtrie was the young- 
est member of Company B in the One Hun- 
dred and Thirty-Fifth Indiana Infantry 
during the Civil war. Evidently it is a 
characteristic of the McMurtrie family to 
assume serious responsibilities at an early 
age. William McMurtrie and wife removed 
to Grant County in 1892. Their two liv- 
ing children are Uz and Joseph. 

Mr. McMurtrie began attending the pub- 
lic schools of Attica, later graduated from 



the Marion High School, and in 1908 after 
the full four year course, graduated A. 
B. from Indiana University. While in the 
university he specialized in those subjects 
and showed a high degree of ability in the 
departments of economics and social sci- 
ence, closely connected with the service he 
has since rendered to the public. He gave 
two years of research work to problems of 
taxation, and his studies gave him the ma- 
terial for his graduation thesis on "The 
Separation of the Sources of State and 
Local Taxation." He was also president 
of his class in the university, a member 
of the Phi Kappa Psi fraternity and one 
of the ablest and most popular men during 
his four years there. 

The work which he carried on with so 
much enthusiasm while in university has 
been followed up with practical applica- 
tion ever since, and he is today one of the 
recognized experts in matters of taxation 
in the state. After leaving university he 
was deputy county treasurer of Grant 
County under W. H. Sanders, serving from 
1909 to 1912, inclusive. In November, 
1912, he was elected county treasurer on 
the republican ticket, taking that office Jan- 
uary 1, 1913. 

While many duties and responsibilities 
have been crowded into his brief space of 
years, Mr. McMurtrie has always been ac- 
tive in social service work and fraternal and 
civic affairs. He has been a director of 
the Young Men 's Christian Association and 
Federated Charities at Marion, and is a 
member of the Country Club and the Mecca 
Club of Marion. He is a Shriner and 
thirty-second degree Mason and is also af- 
filiated with the Knights of Pythias and 
the Elks. 

February 11, 1914, Mr. McMurtrie mar- 
ried Elizabeth Hogin, daughter of Mr. and 
Mrs. William E. Hogin. This is one of 
Marion's oldest families. Mrs. McMurtrie 
is a graduate of Wilson College at Cham- 
bersburg, Pennsylvania, has studied vocal 
and instrumental music, and has been 
prominent in Marion musical circles. 

Lynn B. Millikan came to Indian- 
apolis about thirty-five years ago with a 
modest capital of $150, representing his 
earnings and savings chiefly as a farm 
hand. Some twenty years later his busi- 
ness as a general contractor and builder 
had reached such proportions as to involve 



1784 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



an, annual total of $1,000,000 or more. 
While Indianapolis has been his home dur- 
ing all these years Mr. Millikan's opera- 
tions have extended over many states, both 
East and West, and he has attained an un- 
doubted leadership in the building profes- 
sion in Indiana. 

This is his native state. He was born 
at Newcastle, Henry County, March 20, 
1860, fourth among the five sons of Eli 
B. and Margaret C. (Martindale) Millikan. 
His father was a native of Tennessee and 
his mother of Indiana. Eli Millikan came 
to Indiana in young manhood and in sub- 
sequent years built up a large business as 
a buyer of livestock, representing a meat 
packing concern at Cambridge City, In- 
diana. He finally developed a large farm 
in Liberty Township of Henry County, 
and was a practical agriculturist until his 
death in 1883, at the age of sixty-nine. 
He was a staunch democrat, a man of more 
than ordinary influence in his home town- 
ship and county, was a Lodge and Chapter 
Mason at Newcastle, and he and his wife 
were active in the Christian Church. His 
widow survived until 1894, passing away 
at the age of seventy years. 

Lynn B. Millikan has always been grate- 
ful for his early environment of an Indiana 
farm, its duties and hard work, inter- 
spersed with more or less regular attend- 
ance at the district schools. At the age of 
twenty-one he entered upon an apprentice- 
ship at the carpenter's trade at Newcastle. 
From there in 1882 he came to Indian- 
apolis, and continued to work two years 
as an apprentice. In 1884 he engaged in 
contracting and building on his own re- 
sponsibility, showing an enterprise exceed- 
ingly unusual in men of his age, and his 
work is only another proof that character 
and energy are more important than 
financial capital. One of the first products 
of his work as a building contractor was 
the erection of a modest home of his own, 
which he built primarily to shelter his wid- 
owed mother, who came to Indianapolis 
and spent her last years with her son. For 
the first twelve years Mr. Millikan gave 
his attention principally to the building 
of houses upon his own responsibility. He 
sold them almost as fast as they were com- 
pleted. The first house sold on this plan 
brought only $1,100. Some years later he 
sold another property which be had built 
for $35,000. In the exclusive residence 



district between Sixteenth and Twenty- 
fifth street on Meridian Street Mr. Millikan 
erected sixteen fine homes, and in that sec- 
tion may be found some of the best ex- 
amples of his work as a contractor on pri- 
vate residences. His business has extended 
to even larger and more important build- 
ing operations, both in Indianapolis and 
elsewhere. He handled some of the large 
building contracts for the New York Cen- 
tral Railway Company at Buffalo and Al- 
bany, and the services of his skilled and 
highly efficient organization have been used 
in the construction of some of the most 
substantial factories and business build- 
ings of Indianapolis. At 1723 North Me- 
ridian Street he erected for himself one of 
the magnificent homes of the city. 

Mr. Millikan has always been essentially 
a business man and through his work has 
rendered his chief public service. In pol- 
itics he is a republican voter merely, is 
affiliated with Mystic Tie Lodge No. 398, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, Key- 
stone Chapter No. 6, Royal Arch Masons, 
Raper Commandery, Knights Templar, the 
Mystic Shrine, he and his wife are members 
of the First Baptist Church and he be- 
longs to various civic and social organiza- 
tions. 

December 9, 1891, he married Miss Ma- 
dora Maude Pierson. She is a daughter of 
John C. and Martha Jane (Fowler) Pier- 
son, both natives of Indiana. Her father for 
many years was a successful contractor and 
builder. Mr. and Mrs. Millikan have one 
child, Gaylord Barton. 

Thomas Madden. For over sixty years 
the Madden family have been residents of 
Indiana and for half a century have been 
identified with Indianapolis. Their accom- 
plishments and their contributions to the 
life of the state and the city justify more 
than passing mention of the family, which 
was founded here by the late Thomas Mad- 
den, who was a gallant soldier, a public 
leader and a manufacturer, and whose son 
is now at the head of one of Indianapolis' 
leading industries. 

A raw Irish lad, imbued with abundance 
of pluck and vitality, Thomas Madden 
came to Indiana in 1853 and first located at 
Delphi. He was born in Galway, Ireland, 
in 1836. At the age of seventeen he braved 
the ocean in a sailing vessel, leaving family 
and friends behind, and threw in his for- 




£7tecr-<) f yfrcz^ce&ic^/ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1785 



tunes with the new world. He had but lit- 
tle schooling, and it was largely by self 
application that he mastered the common 
branches of learning. Near Delphi he 
taught a country school. An incident of 
his career as a teacher was characteristic 
of the man throughout his life. The school 
of course had its typical bully, a big, red 
fisted boy who promised the younger 
scholars that he would make short work 
of the master and run him out. The clash 
between authority and insubordination 
came at recess. It terminated in a few 
minutes and the bully was given a well 
deserved thrashing, which immediately 
raised the young schoolmaster in the esti- 
mation of the entire community and made 
his success as a teacher assured. 

Thomas Madden was tall, of athletic 
build, straight as the proverbial arrow and 
had an Irishman's happy way of acquiring 
friends. He possessed will and the courage 
of his convictions, and when the Civil war 
broke out there was no hesitation or linger- 
ing on his part. He was among the first 
to volunteer. The date of his enlistment, 
April 22, 1861, shows this. His first serv- 
ice was in West Virginia. December 13, 
1861, he was wounded by gunshot through 
the lungs, and so severely that only his 
splendid constitution saved his life. On re- 
covering he was eager to get back into the. 
fray and rejoined the army in time to 
participate in the battle of Shiloh. His 
was a long and honorable military career. 
The list of the battles, great and small, in 
wmich he participated is a long one and 
there was no cessation to his fidelity and 
duty as a good soldier until at the close of 
the war he was mustered out captain of 
Company A of the Ninth Indiana Volun- 
eer Infantry. 

After the declaration of peace Thomas 
Madden returned to Indiana and soon mar- 
ried Ellen Connolly, daughter of Judge 
Connolly, of Lafayette. He brought his 
bride to Indianapolis, and here soon be- 
came prominent and influential in local 
politics. He served as a city councilman, 
deputy county clerk, chairman of the board 
of public works, and also in the office of 
collector of internal revenue. This can be 
well said of him that he was honest, in- 
dustrious and a painstaking, efficient public 
official. Many of his old friends still recall 
his pleasing personality. 

He also gave an impetus to Indianapolis ' 
vol. rv— is 



industrial affairs. About 1881, as a mem- 
ber of the firm of Ott & Madden, he began 
manufacturing bed lounges. In 1887 he 
established himself alone in this business. 
Success came to him in generous measures 
and his later years were spent in compara- 
tive affluence. About two years before his 
death he retired from the more active cares 
of business and divided his property among 
his children. He died in February, 1910, 
his wife having passed away in 1900. 
Thomas Madden was a Catholic and in 
politics a democrat. His children were : 
Mary, Mrs. William J. Griffin; Thomas, 
who died when twelve years old ; Clara, 
Mrs. C. A. O'Connor, of Louisville, Ken- 
tucky ; John J. ; and Florence, Mrs. E. J. 
'Reilly, of Louisville, Kentucky. 

John J. Madden, only surviving son of 
the late Thomas Madden, has much of the 
business ability which distinguished his 
father, from whom he inherits both religion 
and politics, but unlike the elder Madden 
has earnestly kept away from politics so 
far as it involves campaigning or office 
seeking, and has been content with the 
mere exercise of his right of franchise. 

Mr. Madden w T as born in Indianapolis 
October 8, 1869, and acquired his early 
training in the parochial schools. Early in 
his career he became associated with his 
father in manufacturing and carried many 
of the heavier responsibilities of the busi- 
ness which his father had founded. In 
1912 he established the John J. Madden 
Manufacturing Company, manufacturers 
of bed davenports. It is a big industry, 
furnishes employment to about 200 people 
and is one of the concerns that add to the 
prestige of Indianapolis as an industrial 
center. 

Mr. Madden married June 7, 1893, Miss 
Josephine Owings, daughter of Major Na- 
thaniel Owings. They are the parents of 
five children, Dorothy, John J., Jr., Rich- 
ard F., Thomas and Josephine. Dorothy 
is the wife of Daugherty Sheerin, and they 
have two daughters, Margaret Mary and 
Barbara Ann. The son John J., Jr., was 
sworn into service in the United States 
Aviation Corps on August 18, 1917, served 
overseas and received a commission as lieu- 
tenant. 

Oliver Wayne Stewart was ordained 
to the ministry of the Church of Christ in 
1887, and his life has largely been de- 



1786 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



voted to the work of prohibition. He was 
born in Mercer County, Illinois, May 22, 
1867, a son of Charles and Eliza Stewart. 
Mr. Stewart was the prohibition can- 
didate for Congress from the Ninth Illinois 
District in 1890, has served as a member 
of the state and national prohibition con- 
ventions, is a member of the Flying Squad- 
ron of America and has taken an active 
part in its work, and is associate editor of 
the National Enquirer, Indianapolis. He 
is also well known as a lecturer. Mr. 
Stewart married Elvira J. Sears, of 
Arthur, Illinois. 

Wilbur George Austin is well and 
favorably known in business circles at 
Anderson, where he has been identified 
with several live and going concerns and 
is now member of the firm Roseberry & 
Austin, one of the leading firms of mer- 
chants. 

Mr. Austin was born in Southern In- 
diana, at Moores Hill, Dearborn County, 
October 3, 1876, a son of George W. and 
Louisa M. (Wright) Austin. The Austins 
are of English and Scotch-Irish stock. On 
coming to America the first of the name 
settled in Vermont. It is a family that fur- 
nished several generations of pioneers to 
the conquest of the Middle West. Mr. Aus- 
tin's grandfather, Theron Austin, came to 
Dearborn County, Indiana, from Vermont 
in 1816, the year that Indiana was admitted 
to the Union, and acquired his land by di- 
rect title from the Government. He was an 
industrious farmer, and he reared twenty 
children. George W. Austin was the third 
son in the large family, and besides its 
number it is notable for the fact that the 
first death did not occur until the Civil 
war, when five of the sons entered the 
Union army and were killed on the field of 
battle. 

George W. Austin has always been a 
farmer, which is in the nature of the fam- 
ily pursuit, and is now living retired, at 
the age of eighty years, at North Vernon, 
Indiana. Another ancestor, great-grand- 
father Jonathan Cunningham, was a pio- 
neer in Switzerland County, Indiana, and 
lived to be more than a century old. 

Wilbur George Austin grew up in his 
native village of Moores Hill, attended 
the public schools there and also pursued 
a scientific course in a Methodist college 
up to the junior year. Leaving old home 



scenes, he went to Indianapolis and entered 
the employ of Doctor Edenharter, super- 
intendent of the Central Indiana Hospital 
for the Insane. He was one year an at- 
tendant and was then appointed assistant 
storekeeper, duties he performed effici- 
ently for seven years, and was then pro- 
moted to storekeeper and remained in that 
position five years. 

In 1910 Mr. Austin resigned his duties 
with the state institution, and coming to 
Anderson joined Mr. Roseberry under the 
name Roseberry & Austin in the grocery 
business at 1724 Arrow Avenue. They were 
together a year and a half when Mr. Austin 
sold out and spent a year on the Pacific 
coast. After returning to Anderson he 
bought a half interest in a wholesale bakery 
establishment with the present mayor, 
J. H. Mellett. The firm of Mellett and 
Austin continued three years. In October, 
1916, Mr. Austin resumed his relations 
with his old partner, Mr. Roseberry, and 
the new firm opened business at 926 Main 
Street. 

Mr. Austin has various other interests, 
including local real estate, and is secretary, 
treasurer and a stockholder of the Brown 
Molasses Food Company. He is a repub- 
lican voter, a member of the First Meth- 
odist Church, and is affiliated with the 
United Commercial Travelers, the Marion 
Club of Indianapolis, Indiana, and Ander- 
son Lodge of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. In 1907 he married Miss 
Bessie Lee, daughter of George and 
Amanda Lee, of Dupont, Indiana. They 
have one child, Robert Lee Austin, born 
in July, 1917. 

Thomas M. Norton, who died in 1908, 
was one of the sterling business men of 
Anderson and founder of the T. M. Nor- 
ton Brewing Company, an industry which 
he developed and at which he remained 
the active head until his death. 

He was born in Ireland in 1835, and 
when he was six years of age his parents 
came to America and settled at Dayton, 
Ohio, where he was reared and educated. 
He learned the trade of carpenter, did 
some contracting, but during the '60s be- 
came associated with Louis Williams in the 
brewing of ale at Union City, Indiana. In 
1866 he removed to Anderson, and with 
Patrick Sullivan as a partner established 
the first ale brewery in this part of the 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1787 



state. In 1882 he began brewing beer on 
his own account, and kept that business 
growing until at his death twenty-five years 
later his was one of the best known brew- 
eries in the state. 

Thomas M. Norton was a man noted for 
his good citizenship. He was a member 
of the first board of workers, trustees, in 
Anderson, serving on the board ten years. 
He was a member of the Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, and was an active member 
and liberal supporter of St. Mary's Cath- 
olic Church. He had gone back to his 
native land in 1896 on a pleasure tour, 
and soon after his return to this country 
turned over his business affairs to his sons 
and lived practically retired for more than 
ten years. 

Thomas M. Norton married at Piqua, 
Ohio, in 1861, Miss Catherine McCarthy. 
They had four children : Mrs. J. C. Kreuch, 
Mrs. M. J. Crowley, Martin C. and Wil- 
liam J., all residents of Anderson. 

The president of the Norton Brewing 
Company is Martin C. Norton ; William 
J. Norton is secretary and treasurer; and 
Mrs. J. C. Kreuch is vice president. 

Wiliam J. Norton was born at Ander- 
son April 9, 1869, and grew up in that 
city, attending the public schools and one 
year in high school. At the age of sixteen 
he started working for his father in the 
brewery, and has been in practically every 
department, acquiring both the technical 
and business training. The Norton Brew- 
ing Company is widely known all over Cen- 
tral Indiana for its high products, the 
"Gold Band" and "Special Brew" of bot- 
tled beers, besides the Norton draft beers. 
A modern brewing plant was constructed 
in 1910, and from seventy-five to eighty 
people find employment in the business. 

William J. Norton is an active democrat, 
has filled all the chairs in the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and the 
Eagles at Anderson, and is one of the 
citizens who can always be depended upon 
for cooperation in every public w