Skip to main content

Full text of "Indiana and Indianans : a history of aboriginal and territorial Indiana and the century of statehood"

See other formats


y?7^ 



%^ 



i' r 



^r 



Cjr ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBR^ 

3 1833 00096 9581 

977.2 D92;c v. 5 
ijNN, Jacob Piatt, 18v 
1924. 
Indiana and Indianans 



■, rr 



<r^: 



.L^l 



X 






INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



A HISTORY OF ABORIGINAL AND TERRITORIAL 

INDIANA AND THE CENTURY OF 

STATEHOOD 



JACOB PIATT DUNN 

AUTHOR AND EDITOR 



VOLUME V 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

CHICAGO AND NEW YORK 
1919 



*'*a:"!s:r- 



Copyright, 1919 

by 

THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



1487949 




^^^/T ^ ^. Mffr//€ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Col. Nicholas Handle Ruckle, who 
died May 4, 1900, was widely known and 
beloved in his home city of Indianapolis 
and throughout the state. He had an un- 
usual career, was a distinguished soldier 
and officer of the Union Army during the 
Civil war, filled many positions with credit 
and efficiency in public affairs, and his 
name is intimately identified with the 
newspaper history of Indianapolis. 

He was born at Baltimore, Maryland, 
May 8, 1838. His grandfather came to 
the United States from Ireland, and spent 
the rest of his life in Maryland. Nicholas 
Ruckle, father of Colonel Ruckle, was born 
in Maryland, was a tailor by trade, and 
an early settler in Indianapolis, where for 
many years he conducted a tailoring es- 
tablishment. He finally retired and sev- 
eral years before his death removed to 
Brookfield, Indiana, where he died at the 
age of sixty-five, his wife surviving him 
for several years. Both were active mem- 
bers of the Methodist Chiu-ch. Their four 
children were : Col. Nicholas R. ; John F., 
who was killed at the battle of Shiloh, 
Avhile a member of the Eleventh Indiana 
Regiment; Eliza, wife of Josiah Gwin, of 
New Albany, Indiana; and Kate C. 

Nicholas R. Ruckle was nine years old 
when his parents came to Indianapolis in 
1847. In July, 1852, he removed to In- 
dianapolis, and he finished his education in 
a private school conducted by Rev. Charles 
S. Greene. In May, 1853, "^at the age of 
fifteen, he entered the composing room of 
the old Indianapolis Journal as an appren- 
tice. He worked diligently at the case, 
and acciuii-ed a good knowledge of the 
printing trade and also some skill in gen- 
eral newspaper work. He also became in- 
terested in local affairs, and was a member 
of the old volunteer fire department and 
of an independent militia company at the 
time of the Civil war. 

His militia company was the first per- 



manent organization to enter Camp Mor- 
ton. Colonel Ruckle became a member of 
the famous Indiana Zouaves, known as the 
Eleventh Regiment of Infantiy, com- 
manded by Col. Lew Wallace. With his 
command he saw his first real service in 
the West Virginia campaign, and he fin- 
ally re-enlisted for three years. Colonel 
Ruckle's military record covered the en- 
tire period of the Civil war, from April, 

1861, to October, 1865. His performance of 
duty and his fidelity brought him one pro- 
motion after another, and he rose from the 
ranks to sergeant, orderly sergeant, lieu- 
tenant and captain, and finally for brav- 
ery was made colonel of the One Hundred 
and Forty-eighth Indiana Infantry. He 
was present at the siege of Forts Henry 
and Donelson, Shiloh and Corinth, was 
with General Curtis and the Trans-Missis- 
sippi Army in the Arkansas campaign of 

1862, was present in the Vicksburg cam- 
paign, was with General Sherman when 
the latter made his attack on Gen. Joseph 
Johnston at Jackson, participated in the 
ill-fated Banks campaign up the Red river 
in 1863, and in many other operations 
through Louisiana. He and his comrades 
were then transferred to the eastern the- 
ater of the war, and he was in Sheridan's 
campaign through the Shenandoah Valley 
of 1864, fighting at Winchester and Cedar 
Creek, at Halltown, at Fisher's Hill, and 
in other battles and engagements. For a 
time he was in the Department of the Cum- 
berland as commander of the second sub- 
district of ^liddle Tennessee. 

The war over. Captain Ruckle returned 
to Indianapolis and gained many distinc- 
tions in civil life. He served as sheriff of 
Marion County for two terms from 1870 
to 1874. In 1887-88 he was president of 
the Metropolitan Police Commissioners 
Board of Indianapolis, was ad.iutant gen- 
eral of Indiana for two tenns from Janu- 
ary, 1889, and in 1894-95 served on the 



S':? 



1910 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Board of Public Safety under Mayor 
Denny.. In 1877 he organized a Light In- 
fantry Company at Indianapolis, and was 
elected its captain. 

After the war his interests soon led him 
back into the field of journalism, and in 
the spring of 1874 he secured a controlling 
interest in the Indianapolis Journal Com- 
pany. At that time besides publishing 
the Journal the plant conducted a general 
printing and publishing house. Many mis- 
fortunes befell the business after Colonel 
Ruckle took control. There were fires and 
other losses, and then as a result of the 
hard times of the '70s he lost practically 
his entire fortune. "With a man of his iron 
nerve and determination that did not deter 
him from a career of vigorous activity 
throughout his remaining years. 

Every honor of Masonry was given him 
as a recognition of his love to the frater- 
nity and the affection of the craft for him. 
He was made a Master ^Mason in Center 
Lodge No. 23 in 1866, and in 1871 was 
worshipful master of that lodge. He was 
later master of Pentalpha Lodge, No. 564. 
In 1867 he was exalted in the Keystone 
Chapter and in 1886 served as High Priest. 
He was knighted by Raper Commandery 
No. 1, Knights Templar in 1867, and 
served as eminent commander from 1872 to 
1876 and again in 1880. He was also cap- 
tain general of Raper Commandery for sev- 
eral years. In the Scottish Rite he received 
the thirty-second degree in 1867 and the 
honorary thirty-third in 1870. He passed 
the active grade in 1883 and the following 
year was appointed deputy of the supreme 
lodge for the District of Indiana, a posi- 
tion he held until death. He was grand 
commander of the Indiana Knights Tem- 
plar in 1875 and grand master of the ]Ma- 
sons in 1891. His body was laid to rest in 
Crown Hill Cemetery after imposing cere- 
monies by the York and Scottish Rite 
Masons, and the Episcopal Church. 

February 24, 1876, Colonel Ruckle mar- 
ried Mrs. Jennie C. (Moore) Reid. Mrs. 
Ruckle is a daughter of Addison and Susan 
(Dulhagen) Moore, who came of New York 
State families of Revolutionary stock. 
Colonel Ruckle had one child, Corliss Ran- 
dle Ruckle, who died at the age of twelve 
years. Mrs. Ruckle is a member of St. 
Paul's Episcopal Church. Colonel Ruckle 
was not identified with any church denomi- 
nation, })ut usually attended wor.ship with 
his wife. 



Ward H. De.\n was one of the men who 
contributed to the position of Indianapolis 
as an industrial and manufacturing center 
of Indiana. Though his life was compara- 
tively brief and he was only fifty years 
of age at the time of his death, he had 
become widely known in business circles, 
and was a citizen who commanded uni- 
versal esteem, in Indianapolis. 

He was born November 22, 1850, at 
Deansville, New York, a village that was 
named in honor of his grandfather, the 
Dean family being very prominent in that 
section of the Empire state. Mr. Dean's 
parents were John and Harriet (Peck) 
Dean, he being one of their eight children, 
five sons and three daughters. 

Ward H. Dean had a good practical edu- 
cation, and his early bent was toward me- 
chanical pursuits. Coming to Indianapolis 
in 1870, he became one of the founders 
and partners in the Dean Brothers Steam 
Pump Works, and to this business, its up- 
building, maintenance and expansion he 
gave the best years of his life. He died 
at Indianapolis January 3, 1900. 

Outside of business his chief interests 
were concentrated in his home. He was a 
man of quiet and reserved character, and 
of simple but cultivated tastes. He was 
a member of the Contemporary Club and 
of the Indianapolis Art Association, and 
in politics a republican. 

April 15, 1885, he married Nellie M. 
Reid. Mrs. Dean, who survives him, has 
three children: Randle C, Harriet and 
Philip, the last being deceased. 

P.' E. Hoss has lived in Indiana over 
eighty years, as a business man has been 
identified with a number of different locali- 
ties, and his name is especially well known 
and his services appreciated in Kokomo, 
where he has lived for many years. 

He was born in Brown County, Ohio, 
January 13, 1836, but the same year his 
parents, Jacob and Jane (Kenney) Hoss, 
moved to Marion County, Indiana, and as 
pioneers settled on a tract of raw land 
twelve miles northeast of Indianapolis. 
Jacob Hoss did his part in developing a 
new section of the state, hewed a home 
out of the heavy timbers, and year after 
year added to ins clearing and building 
until he had a very valuable farm. lie 
lived in ]\Iarion County until 1864, then 
• moved to Howard County, and thence back 
to Indianapolis in 1874, ^vhere he lived un- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



til his death in September, 1882. He was 
a democrat in politics until the latter '50s, 
when he felt that duty obliged him to vote 
with and support the republican party, and 
as such he continued to the day of his death. 
He was also a devout Methodist, a class 
leader, and faithful in church work from 
early life. He and his wife had ten chil- 
dren, P. E. being the sixth. 

Mr. Hoss lived at home with' his parents 
to the age of twenty -two, growing up in a 
rural community northeast of Indianapolis. 
He was a young man when the North and 
South engaged in Civil war and he tried 
to enlist in 1861 but was rejected on ac- 
count of physical disability. He was en- 
gaged from March 4, 1861, at Fairfield, 
Howard Count}', Indiana, as a shingle 
manufacturer, continuing that industry 
ten years, and also selling goods as a mer- 
chant and dealing in real estate. Mr. Hoss 
has been peculiarly successful in handling 
real estate, and has bought and sold many 
properties on his own account. From 
Fairfield he removed to Indianapolis, con- 
tinuing in the real estate business in that 
city three .years, also building many houses 
there, and was there engaged in farming 
in Howard County for two years, later con- 
ducted a large stock and sheep ranch in 
Hendricks County, and finally settled per- 
manently in Kokomo. Here for many 
years he directed large and important 
deals in real estate, and has owned some 
very valuable farms around Kokomo. His 
property includes his beautiful residence in 
that city. His capital and enterprise have 
also helped out a number of business in- 
dustries at Kokomo. ilr. Hoss is presi- 
dent of the Opalescent Glass Company, a 
stockholder and for over twenty-five years 
one of the directors in the Citizens National 
Bank, and has done much to boost Kokomo 
as a manufacturing center. He served as 
trustee of the Soldiers Orphans Home at 
Knightstown for a time in the early '80s. 
Only recently on account of ill health he 
gave up most of his active business inter- 
ests. He is a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church and in politics a republican. 

April 4, 1858, ]Mr. Hoss man-ied Miss 
Sarah J. Ringer. They had one son, Lora 
C, who is now secretary and treasurer of 
the Opalescent Glass Company. In 1896, 
on April 28th, Mr. Hoss married Flora A. 
Smith, of Piqua, Ohio. Lora C. Hoss 
married Estella E. Bernard on October 3, 
1883, and they have one daughter, Pauline, 



who married Don T. Elliott. Mr. and Mrs. 
Elliott have one child, Sally, bom in Feb- 
ruary, 1918. 

B. A. WoRTHiNGTON is One of the names 
most significant of personal achievement 
among American railway men. He was 
thirteen years old when he began working 
in the telegraph department of a California 
road, and by ability and service has pro- 
moted himself successively during an ac- 
tive career of over forty years until he has 
held some of the highest executive posts 
in the country. Mr. Worthington is 
claimed to Indiana citizenship by reason 
of the fact that he is president of the 
Cincinnati, Indianapolis and Western Rail- 
road Company with general offices at In- 
dianapolis. 

The career of Mr. Worthington, briefly 
recited, is as follows : He was born Novem- 
ber 20, 1861, at Sacramento, California, 
and his education was acquired in the pub- 
lic schools of that city. July 1, 1874, 
he became telegraph messenger for the 
Central Pacific at Sacramento and was soon 
made telegraph operator. From 1877 to 
1882 he was a commercial operator for the 
Western Union Telegraph Company ; from 
1882 to 1888 was chief clerk and secre- 
tary to the general master mechanic of 
the Southern Pacific Company at Sacra- 
mento ; from 1888 to July, 1895, was chief 
clerk and secretary to vice president and 
general manager of the Southern Pacific 
at San Francisco; and from July, 1895, 
to 1898 was chief clerk and secretary to 
the assistant to the president. Mr. Worth- 
ington spent altogether over thirty years 
with the Southern Pacific Railway Com- 
pany. From 1898 to July, 1901, he was 
in charge of tonnage rating of locomotives 
of that road; from July to October, 1901, 
was superintendent of the Tucson divi- 
sion at Tucson, Arizona, from October, 
1901, to August 20, 1903, was superin- 
tendent of the Coast Division at San Fran- 
cisco, and from August 20, 1903, to April 
1. 1904, was assistant to the general man- 
ager of the company at San Francisco. 
From April 1, 1904, to February 9, 1905, 
Mr. Worthington was assistant director of 
maintenance and operation for the Harri- 
man lines, comprising the Southern Pacific 
and Union Pacific systems. Then for the 
first time his office headquarters were 
transferred east of the Rocky Mountains 



1912 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



to Chicago. From February 9 to June 1, 
1905, he was vice president and general 
manager of the Oregon Kailroad & Navi- 
gation Company. 

Since that date his chief connections 
have been with railroad systems in the 
]\Iiddle West. From June 1, 1905, to June 
8, 1908, he was first vice president of the 
Wheeling & Lake Erie Railway, of the Wa- 
bash, Pittsburg Terminal Railway, and the 
West Side Belt Railroad, comprising the 
Wabash lines east of Toledo. From Sep- 
tember 25, 1905, to June 8, 1908, he was 
general manager of the same properties, 
and from June 8, 1908, to June 20, 1912, 
was receiver for the Wheeling & Lake 
Erie. On July 1, 1912, Mr. Worthington 
became president and general manager of 
the Chicago & Alton road, but resigned 
that office early in 1914. 

Following his resignation he and his 
family went abroad and toured Europe for 
four months. They were in Germany 
when the great war broke out. On reach- 
ing London ilr. Worthington was ap- 
pointed as a member of the American Ex- 
ecutive Committee, with Oscar Strauss as 
chairman, formed for the purpose of help- 
ing stranded Americans to get out of Eu- 
rope and back to their homes. The splen- 
did work accomplished by that organiza- 
tion is still fresh in the minds of all Amer- 
icans. On his return to New York Mr. 
Worthington lived on Riverside Drive for 
a year, and then came to Indianapolis as 
president of the reorganized Cincinnati. 
Indianapolis & Western Railroad. He 
took active charge of this road December 
1, 1915. 

In Indianapolis as elsewhere Mr. Worth- 
ington has established vital relationships 
with the conamunit.y. Much of his work 
has been done through the Chamber of 
Commerce. During 1917 he was chairman 
of the industries committee of that cham- 
ber and early in 1918 was elected a mem- 
ber of the board of directors and is still 
retained as chairman of the industries 
committee. 

. Mr. Worthington has a younger brother, 
William Alfred Worthington, whose ca- 
reer may properly be reviewed briefly as 
that of one of the prominent railway men 
of the country. He was born June 18, 
1872, at Vallejo, California, was educated 
in the common schools and entered rail- 
way service March 1, 1887, at the age of 



fifteen. He was stenographer and clerk 
in the superintendent's office of the South- 
ern Pacific Company at Sacramento to 
June 16, 1888, from that date to October 
1, 1893, was chief clerk to the engineer of 
maintenance of way at San Francisco; 
from October 1, 1893, to October 1, 1895, 
was statistician in the general manager's 
office; from October 1, 1895, to October 1, 
1901, was chief clerk in the general man- 
ager's office; from October 1, 1901, to 
April 1, 1904, was executive secretary to 
the assistant of the president of the same 
road; from April 1, 1904, to November 1, 
1907, was chief clerk in the office of di- 
rector of maintenance and operation of the 
Union Pacific System and Southern Pa- 
cific Company at Chicago; from November 
1, 1907, to January 1, 1912, was assistant 
to director of maintenance and operation 
of the same roads at Chicago; from Jan- 
uary 1, 1912, to February 1, 1913, was as- 
sistant director of maintenance and oper- 
ation for the Union Pacific System and 
Southern Pacific Company at New York; 
and since February 1, 1913, has been as- 
sistant director of maintenance and opera- 
tion for the Southern Pacific Company 
with offices in New York. 

The Americanism of the Worthington 
family is the product of many generations 
of residence in this country, from colonial 
times. In public afi'airs the most distin- 
guished member of the family was the 
great-grandfather of B. A. Worthington. 
This ancestor was Thomas Worthington, 
who twice represented the young State of 
Ohio in the United States Senate and was 
also governor of that commonwealth, and 
is one of the men most frequently and hon- 
orably mentioned in connection with the 
founding of that state. 

Thomas Worthington was born in Jef- 
ferson County, Virginia, July 16, 1773. 
He was reared in the midst of the aristo- 
cratic and slave holding environment of 
that old colony, and it was his exceeding 
distaste for the institution of slavery that 
led him to seek a home in a district from 
which slavery was permanently barred, 
and thus about 1797 he moved to the 
Northwest Territory and located in Ross 
County, Ohio, near Chillicothe. He was 
a brother-in-law of Edward Tiffin, who was 
the first governor of the State of Ohio. 
The Tiffins and Worthington families were 
among the most prominent in the early 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1913 



colony of the old territorial and state cap- 
ital at Chillicothe. Governor Worthing- 
ton built one of the rare old homes near 
Chillicothe, a place beautified much after 
the manner of Virginia estates, and in 
which were entertained some of the great- 
est men of the times. Thomas Worthing- 
ton brought with him from Virginia a large 
number of slaves whom he emancipated, 
and some of their descendants are still 
found in Chillicothe. Thomas Worthing- 
ton has been described as a man of ardent 
temperament, of energy of mind, and cor- 
rect habits of life, and for this reason be- 
came distinguished both in business and 
political stations. In a recently published 
history of Ross County his name is men- 
tioned" repeatedly in connection with the 
founding of several government institu- 
tions in that part of the Northwest Terri- 
tory. He was one of the first justices of 
the peace of the Chillicothe settlement. 
In November, 1802, he took his seat as an 
elected delegate to the convention which 
formed the first constitution, and after 
that constitution was approved and Ohio 
entered the Union he was one of the first 
two men sent by the state to the United 
States Senate. He was a member of the 
Senate from April 1, 1803, to March 3, 
1807, and was again elected to fill the 
vacancy caused by the resignation of Re- 
turn J. ileigs, Jr., and served from Decem- 
ber 15, 1810, to December 1, 181'4, when 
he resigned. While in the Senate he was 
a participant in the most important meas- 
ures of the administrations of Jefferson 
and Madison. At the close of his career in 
Congress he was elected governor of Ohio, 
serving from 1814 to 1818. That was an 
important epoch in the history of the state, 
following close upon the War of 1812, and 
his wisdom and ability as an administrator 
were productive of many liberal and wise 
measures of policy which were at the 
foundation of the subsequent prosperity 
of the state. In 1818 Governor Worthing- 
ton was appointed a member of the first 
Board of Canal Commissioners, a body 
that undertook the development of a sys- 
tem of internal transportation for the 
state. He was a member of that commis- 
sion until his death, which occurred in New 
York City June 20, 1827. Governor Worth- 
ington was a large land holder, had many 
extended business concerns, but is best re- 
membered for the six years he spent in 



public life, during which time no other 
Ohioan did more to form the character of 
the state and promote its prosperity. 

John Harrison Skinner. Only a few 
of the most remote and unprogressive 
farming sections of Indiana are unac- 
quainted with the name John Harrison 
Skinner and what it stands for in the mat- 
ter of scientific agriculture and improved 
live stock in the state. Every year an in- 
creasing number of men have gone back 
to the farms of Indiana after long and 
short courses at Purdue University, taking 
with them some of the vital ideas, knowl- 
edge, experience, and inspiration gained by 
contact with Professor Skinner, who for 
years has ranked as one of the foremost 
educators and animal husbandrymen in 
the middle west. 

He was born on a farm at Romney in 
Tippecanoe County, Indiana, ilarch 10, 
1874. He is a product of Indiana farm 
life and has the sympathy and understand- 
ing of the man who was reared under the 
agricultural conditions prevailing thirty 
or fort.y years ago. He is a son of Wil- 
liam Harrison and Mary (Alexander) 
Skinner. His father, a native of Franklin 
County, Indiana, located in Tippecanoe 
County during the '60s. In 1861 he en- 
listed in a company of the Thirty-Seventh 
Indiana Infantry, and served three years 
as a Union soldier. For more than forty 
years he has owned and operated one of 
the good farms and countrj' homes near 
Romney. His wife was born in Greene 
County, Tennessee. They had five chil- 
dren: Mary A. Simison, of Romney; Ger- 
trude B. Ray, of New Richmond, Indiana; 
Jessie, who died when young; George A., 
an architect of ability, who met an acci- 
dental death in August, 1909, by coming 
in contact with an electric wire; and John 
Harrison Skinner. 

John Harrison Skinner was educated in 
the local district schools and in 1893 en- 
tered Purdue University, where he first 
took the Winter Short Course. He com- 
pleted the four year course in agriculture, 
receiving the degree of Bachelor of Science 
in 1897. It ma.v be said that he had 
served his full apprenticeship in the fields 
and among the live stock on his father's 
farm while growing to manhood, and the 
two and a half years after graduating 
from college which he spent managing his 



1914 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



father's grain and stock farm were really 
in the nature of a journeyman's work at 
his trade or profession. With this prac- 
tical knowledge and experience he returned 
to Purdue University and in 1899 was as- 
signed to duties as assistant agriculturist 
in the experiment station. He remained 
there until the fall of 1901, when he was 
called to the Uuivei-sity of Illinois as in- 
structor in animal husbandry for the year 
1901-02. From 1902 to 1906 he was chief 
of the department and associate professor 
of animal husbandry and director of the 
farm at Purdue University, and in 1906 
he was made professor of animal hus- 
bandry. In 1907 he was appointed Dean 
of the School of Agriculture, serving in 
that capacity until the present date. Pro- 
fessor Skinner is a member of the Ameri- 
can Breeders Association, the Society for 
the Promotion of Agricultural Science, 
and has served as secretary of the Indiana 
Live Stock Breeders' Association, which 
he organized in 1905. He was also instru- 
mental in organizing the Indiana Cattle 
Feeders' Association, the Indiana Draft 
Horse Breeders' Association, which organ- 
izations he has served as secretary. He 
was judge of sheep at the Louisiana Pur- 
chase Exposition in 1904, was judge of 
Rambouillet sheep at the International Live 
Stock Show in 1906 and 1907, and was 
judge of Aberdeen-Angus cattle at the In- 
ternational in 1907, and is rated as one of 
the foremost all rouncj livestock judges in 
America. 

He is a member of the Methodist Church, 
is a Master ]\Iason, being affiliated with 
Romney Lodge No. 441, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, Urbana Chapter No. 80, 
Royal Arch ]\Iasons, and held the rank of 
captain in the Purdue Cadet Corps in 
1896-97. September 3, 1903, he married 
Mary E. Throckmorton, daughter of Ed- 
M-in W. and Anna (Webster) Throckmor- 
ton of Romney. Four children have been 
born to their marriage : John Harrison, 
Jr., born Januarv 20, 1906; :\larv Eliza- 
beth, born July 17, 1908; William Edwin, 
born October 24, 1912 ; and Robert Ewing, 
born June 26. 1917. 

It is impossible to give an adequate idea 
of the tremendous amount of energy and 
concentrated study and effort which Pro- 
fessor Skinner has devoted to the various 
branches of his profession, and as to re- 
sults they can Wst be measured by refer- 
ence to the growth and development of the 



School of Agriculture, the Department of 
Animal Husbandry, the University Farm, 
and the Purdue Experiment Station dur- 
ing the last fifteen or twenty years, and to 
the hundreds of practical and able men 
all over the middle west who are accom- 
plishing more as farmers and stock raisers 
because of assistance given them directly 
by Professor Skinner at the University or 
through the bulletins and other publica- 
tions which contain the results of his in- 
vestigations and his advice. 

The School of Agriculture enrolled 207 
students in 1907. This enrollment had in- 
creased to 814 in 1916. During the period 
in which he served as Dean of the School 
of Agriculture Smith Hall, one of the very 
best buildings devoted to the dairy indus- 
try was erected, and a veterinary building, 
which is the best to be found in any agri- 
cultural college in the United States not 
making graduate veterinarians, a judging 
pavilion, a horse building, a beef cattle 
building and horticultural greenhouses 
were erected. In addition to this there 
was established a poultry department with 
a farm and excellent equipment for the 
instructional and investigational work in 
poultry husbandry. The work of the 
Animal Husbandry Department of Pur- 
due University under the direction of 
Professor Skinner has attracted attention 
not only in the United States but in 
foreign countries. From a very small 
beginning and with little money to do it 
the department has grown to the point 
where it has as good equipment in 
animal husbandry as any institution in the 
middle west. The pure-bred herds and 
flocks on the University Farm are made 
up of the very best animals, as is indicated 
by the success of the fat stock shown by 
this institution in the International Shows. 
Purdue has won the grand championship 
on fat steers three times witliin the last 
ten years, in 1908 on a pure-bred Angus 
steer, Fyvie Knight; in 1917 on a pure- 
bred Shorthorn steer, ]\Ierry Monarcli ; 
bred and fed on the University Farm, and 
in 1918 on pure-bred Angus steer, Fyvie 
Knight 2d, bred, and fed on the University 
Farm. No individual or institution has 
ever equaled this record. In addition to 
winning on these steers Purdue won all 
first prizes on Shorthorn steers with steers 
bred on the University Farm in the Inter- 
national Show in 1918. Each year Pur- 
due has carried away major prizes from 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1915 



this great show. Not only have grand 
prizes been awarded on Purdue cattle but 
on hogs and sheep as well. 

The University Farm has grown from 
about 150 acres to one of more than 800 
acres diiring his administration. It is 
coming to be one of the show places of the 
University, and in a few years should be 
one of the best features in the equipment 
of the University. 

A brief survey of the investigational 
work carried on and directed by Professor 
Skinner includes the following subjects. 
Pork production, including bacon and lard 
types; relative value of protein in rough- 
age and concentrates for fattening cattle; 
influence of age, length of feeding period 
and the use of silage on the efficiency of 
the ration and the profits in feeding beef 
cattle; a study of maintenance rations for 
brood sows, growing pigs and breeding 
ewes ; comparative values of nitrogenous 
concentrates as supplements in steer feed- 
ing. He has with his co-workers published 
numerous bulletins on cattle, swine and 
sheep feeding. One of the first investiga- 
tors to take up the use of silage for fatten- 
ing cattle and lambs, Purdue Station has 
more data on the subject of silage for fat- 
tening cattle and lambs than any other and 
has done more to induce farmers to use 
silage in the middle west than all stations 
put together. Professor Skinner has a 
wide acquaintance with the stockmen of 
the United States, and Indiana farmers 
know him wherever he goes. 

The publications to which he has con- 
tributed are noted as follows : 

Bulletin No. 88 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, ^larch, 1901, Systems of Cropping 
with and without fertilization. 

Bulletin No. 108 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, July, 1905. Soybeans, middlings 
and tankage, as supplemental feeds in 
pork production. 

Bulletin No. 115 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, December, 1906, steer feeding. 

Bulletin No. 126 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, June, 1908, Supplements to corn 
for fattening hogs in dry lot. 

Bulletin No. 129 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, October, 1908. Steer feeding. 
Winter steer feeding, 1906-7, 1907-8. 

Bulletin No. 1.30 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, November, 1908. Steer feeding. 
Results of short vs. long feeding periods. 

Bulletin No. 136 — Purdue Experiment 



Station, October, 1909, Steer feeding. 
Winter steer feeding, 1908-9. 

Bulletin No. 137 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, November, 1909. Dairy by-prod- 
ucts as supplements to corn for fattening 
hogs. 

Bulletin No. 142 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, Mav, 1910. Steer feeding. Fin- 
ishing steers, 1907, 1908, and 1909. 

Bulletin No. 146 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, June, 1910. Steer feeding. In- 
fluence of age on the economy and profit 
from feeding calves, vearlings and two- 
year-olds, 1906-7, 1907-8, 1908-9. 

Bulletin No. 147 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, June, 1910. Corn silage for win- 
ter feeding of ewes and young lambs. 

Bulletin No. 153 — Piirdue Experiment 
Station, September, 1911. Steer feeding. 
Winter steer feeding, 1909-10 and 1910-11. 

Bulletin No. 158 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, May, 1912. Hominy feed for fat- 
tening hogs. 

Bulletin No. 162 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, November, 1912. Fattening west- 
ern lambs, 1910-11 and 1911-12. 

Bulletin No. 163 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, November, 1912. Steer feeding. 
Winter steer feeding. 

Bulletin No. 167 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, October, 1913. Steer feeding. 
Winter steer feeding, 1912-13. 

Bulletin No. 168 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, November, 1913. Fattening west- 
ern lambs, 1912-13. 

Bulletin No. 178 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, November, 1914. Cattle feeding. 
Winter steer feeding, 1913-14. 

Bulletin No. 179 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, November, 1914. Sheep feeding. 
Fattening western lambs. 

Bulletin No. 183 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, November, 1915. Cattle feeding. 
Winter steer feeding, 1914-15. 

Bulletin No. 184 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, November, 1915. Sheep feeding. 
Fattening western lambs, 1914-15. 

Bulletin No. 191 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, September, 1916. Cattle feeding. 
Winter steer feeding, 1915-16. 

Bulletin No. 192 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, September, 1916. Sheep feeding. 
Fattening western lambs, 1915-1916. 

Bulletin No. 202 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, Sheep feeding, Fattening western 
lambs, 1916-1917. 

Bulletin No. 206 — Purdue Experiment 



1916 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Station, Cattle feeding, Winter steer feed- 
ing, 1916-17. 

Bulletin No. 219 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, Swine feeding. Studies of the 
feeding value of corn by-products. Palmo 
Midds and commercial mixed hog feeds, 
1917-18. 

Bulletin No. 220 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, Winter steer feeding, 1917-1'Jl,'^. 

Bulletin No. 221 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, Sheep feeding. Fattening west- 
ern lambs, 1917-1918. 

Circular No. 8 — Purdue Experiment 
Station, October, 1907. Beef production. 
I, Purchasing feeders. 

Circular No. 12' — Purdue Experiment 
Station, Beef production. II, Methods of 
beef production in Indiana. 

Circular No. 14— July, 1908. Purdue 
Experiment Station. Beef production. 
Ill, Factors influencing the value and cost 
of feeders. 

A summary of investigational work eon- 
ducted will be found in the annual reports 
of the Purdue Experiment Station from 
1900 to 1920. 

Frank J. Wright, D. C, a leading 
chiropractor of the City of Indianapolis, 
was bom March 19, 1866, and is a gradu- 
ate of the Palmer School of Chiropractic 
of Davenport, Iowa. Doctor Wright has 
offices in the Law Building, where he has 
successfully followed his profession during 
the past five years. 

The following article written by him is 
an interesting exposition of the science 
he represents: 

"The public in general may not know 
that art has a place in the education and 
the work of the chiropractor. Neverthe- 
less it has, but it is not the art that enables 
one to blend colors and to paint scenes that 
enthrall, that fills the soul with emotion. 
Art also has another meaning, and it is 
this which enters into the education and 
the work of the chiropractor. 

"Webster defines this art as (a) the em- 
ployment of a means to the accomplish- 
ment of some end: (b) the skillful adap- 
tation and application to some purpose or 
use of knowledge or power acquired from 
nature; (c) a system of rules and estab- 
lished methods to facilitate the perfor- 
mance of certain actions; familiarity with 
such principles and skill in applying them 
to an end or purpose. 



"In chiropractic the end to be accom- 
plished is to place in harmonious action 
every organ of the body; to re-establish 
co-ordination between the brain that oper- 
ates the body and the various organs of 
the body which are dependent upon this 
brain power. The means emploj'ed to do 
this primarily is chiropractic education. 
Included in this education is the peculiar 
training necessary in order to locate the 
cause of this failure of co-ordination be- 
tween the brain and the organs of th-j 
body, and the way or manner of removing 
it. The purpose in applying this power 
aeciuired from nature is to remove the 
cause of disease, permitting nature to op- 
erate the organs of the body naturally and 
normally. 

"We have a system of rules and estab- 
lished methods to facilitate the perform- 
ance of certain actions, and we have the 
familiarity with such principles and the 
skill in applying them to an end or pur- 
pose. These rules or methods are now be- 
ing taught by recognized schools of chiro- 
practic. Dr. D. D. Palmer discovered the 
basic principles of chiropractic twenty- 
three years ago and practiced them for ten 
years before his son, B. J. Palmer, who had 
grown up in the environment of his fath- 
er's work, gained his father's consent to 
give the discovery to the world. His son 
caught the spirit and the inspiration of 
the discoverer and proceeded to develop it 
into a science, a philosophy, and an art. 

"The instructions of the chiropractic 
schools differs from that of medical schools 
somewhat in physiolog.y, considerably in 
the philosophy of life as applied to the hu- 
man body, and very materially so in its 
system of locating and removing the cause 
of disease. In anatomy and symtomat- 
ology it follows closely the teaching of 
medical schools. The education of a chir- 
opractor includes the training of the touch 
to a degree of perfection which enables 
him to determine by palpation any devia- 
tion of, or in, the spinal column. It also 
teaches the art of adjustment into normal 
l)osition of the spine or any portion of the 
spine which may be out of alignment. 

' ' Much stress is placed upon the develop- 
ment of the sense of touch, and for tlie 
accomplishment of this one thing hours of 
work in training are devoted each day cov- 
ering a period of several months. So sen- 
sitive do the touch corpuscles of the finger 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1917 



'tips become under this system of training 
that one hesitates to place them against 
any object whose surface is rough. The 
person who attempts to practice chiroprac- 
tic without this training is unprepared. 

"The art of adjustment, the mastery of 
the adjustic move is equally as important 
as is the art of palpation. While attend- 
ing school I saw a review demonstration 
of half a hundred moves, which had been 
tried, and from which the present moves 
have been developed and adopted. We 
now have standardized rules for the adjust- 
ment of the various portions of the spine, 
and they are so well defined and so well 
established that, having mastered them, 
their application becomes an art. The 
chiropractor who has become thoroughly 
proficient in the palpation of the spine and 
master of the principles of adjustment is 
just as much an artist as are those of any 
other profession whose performance is one 
demanding high skill of execution. 

"There are those who pretend to believe 
that as they are versed in anatomy and 
pathology of the human body they are 
qualified to practice chiropractic, but this 
is a mistake. They still need the philos- 
ophy of chiropractic, the chiropractic 
teachings of physiology : while the drill in 
palpation of spines, the development of the 
touch and the mastering of the adjustic 
move are absolutely necessary and cannot 
be had outside of a school of chiropractic 
covering a course of not less than two 
school years. The actual clinical work 
that one does in his senior year of school 
work is the experience that enables the 
graduate to enter upon his work with a 
degree of certainty of success, and of as- 
surance to the public that he is prepared 
for his work. Chiropractic is a science ; 
it has a philosophy, and the application of 
these is an art. 

"Chiropractic does not attempt to turn 
the world of healing upside down and de- 
nounce all other methods as of no value. 
It recognizes much good in other methods, 
but firmly insists that chiropractic is the 
best. 

"I mention but one of the basic facts 
upon which chiropractic stands, as it will 
illustrate the point I wish to make. It is 
this, that every organ in the body and 
every part of the body must be supplied 
with power to operate, and that it is the 
nervous system that carries this operating 



power to the various organs and parts of 
the body. 

"Pressure or obstruction on the nerves 
will interfere and prevent delivery of 
nerve force, resulting in impaired or ab- 
normal function. Thus it is that resistive 
power is lessened, permitting the contrac- 
tion of that which we have learned to des- 
ignate as disease. 

"Chiropractic further insists that in 
case of disease or as a preventive of disease 
it is necessary to have the nerves free from 
any pressure or obstruction, thus permit- 
ting the full transmission of nerve impulse 
or force. This enables nature to resist the 
contraction of disease or to restore the 
tissues to normal if already diseased. 

"It is necessary , that wires conducting 
electricitj' shall be free from interference 
in order that the full power to operate 
may reach the object to be supplied. So 
with the nerves of our bodies. They, too, 
must be free from interference, free from 
pressure in order that they may carry the 
full amount of vital force or nerve energ\', 
which are one and the same, to the organs 
they supply. Interference to the nervous 
system to the extent of preventing this 
will result in their failure to function nor- 
mally, and sooner or later in a condition 
known as disease. 

"To insure proper distribution of the 
nerve force it is necessary to remove any 
pressure there may be on the nerves where 
they emit from or leave the back bone, 
which pressure often does occur. This 
permits the nerves to deliver their full 
amount of vital energj- as nature may de- 
mand it, the delivery of which insures 
normal function-health. The chiropractor 
is educated both to locate and to remove 
this pre-ssur? or interference. 

"The principles of chiropractic are ad- 
vanced principles, and they are right prin- 
ciples. It has been proved so beyond suc- 
cessful contradiction. Chiropractic is not 
a theory, it is a fact, a science, the princi- 
ples of which have never changed ; where 
the elements of experimentation do not 
enter, and where the thing which the sci- 
ence has demonstrated and established as 
necessary to do becomes a positive thing 
to be done. 

"Vital force is life, or it is the force 
that produces internal and external man- 
ifestations of life, therefore chiropractic 
is concerned with vital force and its normal 



1918 



INDIANA AND INDJANANS 



distribution as being the most essential 
thing in the restoration of health. There 
are more than 200 chiropractors in the 
State of Indiana and more than 5,000 in 
the United States, with hundreds being 
added to the profession each year. Chir- 
opractic is looked upon as little less than 
marvelous, which can only be accounted 
for by reason of the almost universal re- 
sults it is giving in the way of health res- 
toration." 

Herman A. Mayer is treasurer of the 
United States Trust Company of Terre 
Haute. This is one of the largest financial 
institutions of the state, and his position 
as treasurer, which he has held for some 
six or seven years, is a high and important 
honor to Mr. Mayer, who was hardly thirty 
years of age when he was elevated to these 
responsibilities. The United States Trust 
Company was organized in 1903, has a capi- 
tal stock of half a million dollars, and its 
total resources are over five millions. 

Mr. ]\Iayer was born at Terre Haute 
August 20, 1880, has spent practically all 
his life in his native city, and is bound to 
it by ties of many personal associations 
and by the dignity of his individual success. 

His father is the venerable Anton Mayer, 
who was a pioneer in the brewing business 
of Terre Haute and has been a resident of 
this city fifty years. Anton Mayer was 
born in Wurtemberg, Germany, January 
12, 1842, grew up on the home farm of 
his father, Bartholomew Mayer, had a 
common school education, and early in life 
was employed for a year or so in a brewery. 
In 1858, at the age of sixteen, he came to 
the United States alone and went direct to 
Terre Haute. He remained in that city 
only a short time, and going to Cincinnati 
spent eight years in one of the leading 
breweries of that city and for three years 
was brew master. He accpiired a thorough 
technical knowledge of all details of the 
brewing art, and this knowledge, together 
with a modest amount of capital which 
he had been able to save, he brought to 
Terre Haute in 1868 to engage in business 
for liiinsolf. He and a partner bought an 
old established brewing plant, but about a 
year later, through the death of his part- 
ner, he l)eeame sole owner. He developed 
a mere brevyery from a small yearly capac- 
ity until it was manufacturing 25,000 bar- 
rels -a year. In 1889 Mr. Mayer sold the 



plant to the Terre Haute Brewing Com- 
panj- and retired from business. However, 
he has since kept in close touch with the 
financial aft'airs of Terre Haute and has 
many investments in real estate and coun- 
try property. On April 29, 1879, at Terre 
Haute, he married Miss Sophie Miller, a 
native of Germany who came to America 
with her parents at the age of three years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Anton Mayer had four chil- 
dren, Herman, Bertha, Ida and Gertrude, 
the last two now deceased. 

Herman A. ^Mayer grew up in his native 
city, attended the public schools and St. 
Joseph College, and in 1904 entered the 
recently organized United States Trust 
Company as teller. In 1908 he was made 
treasurer, and has handled many of the 
important executive responsibilities of the 
institution for the past ten years. He is 
also treasurer of the Indiana Savings & 
Building Association and is a member of 
the executive committee of the Morris Plan 
Bank of Terre Haute. His affiliations are 
those of a public spirited and energetic 
citizen and include membership in the 
Chamber of Commerce and with other or- 
ganizations and movements which best ex- 
press the civic and business ideals of his 
community. He is a republican and a 
member of Terre Haute Lodge No. 86 of 
the Benevolent & Protective Order of Elks. 
In 1905 he married Jliss Antoinette Brink- 
man, of Terre Haute, and they had two 
children, John Anton and Mary Hermine. 

Hon. Joel P. Heatwole was born in 
Waterford, Indiana, August 22, 1856, a 
son of Henry and Barbara Heatwole. As 
early as 1876 he engaged in the printing 
business, and in 1882 he became a resident 
of Minnesota. Mr. Heatwole was a mem- 
ber of the Fifty-Fourth to the Fifty-Sev- 
enth Congresses, declining renomination. 
He is a republican in politics. 

The home of Mr. Heatwole is at North- 
field, Minnesota. 

Alfred Fremont Potts, of Indianap- 
olis, a lawyer by profession, has become 
most widely known to the people of In- 
diana througli his skill and success in pro- 
moting large business organizations, and 
particularly for his plan for the control in 
the public "interest of public utilities. In 
this field he has done notable pioneer work 
and has undoubtedly contributed to the 



I 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1919 



solution of many vexatious problems con- 
nected with the relations of large public 
corporations with the people in general 

He was born at Richmond, Indiana, 
October 29, 1856. His father. Dr. Alfred 
Potts, died while serving as a surgeon in 
the Union army during the Civil war. 
Until twelve years of age Alfred F. Potts 
had only the advantages of the common 
schools. He educated himself by a course 
of persistent reading and early developed 
his inclination for organizati(jn work by 
the promotion of a literary club and a moot 
court. Later he read law, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Marion County by 
courtesy in 1876, while still under age. 

In 1877 he formed a law partnership 
with John L. Griffiths, later reporter of 
the Supreme Court of Indiana and fur- 
ther distinguished by his long service as 
United States consul general to London. 
Mr. Griffiths was an orator of exceptional 
merit, while Mr. Potts was noted for his 
skill in the preparation of a case for trial. 
Early in its career the firm undertook 
some of the most utterly hopeless criminal 
cases that could be imagined, but they 
fought them with such vim that they re- 
ceived columns of free advertising through 
the newspaper reports, and very soon were 
in the paths of an active practice. This 
partnership la.sted for twenty-five years 
and was abandoned rather than dissolved 
through the absorption of Mr. Griffiths in 
politics and of Mr. Potts in various enter- 
prises, one of which consisted in the re- 
demption of a certain portion of a resi- 
dence street from shanties which were re- 
placed by artistic high class residences 
and became known as "The Street of 
Political Good Fortune." 

Mr. Potts first came into public promi- 
nence as an organizer in the year 1887. 
With the discovery of natural gas in In- 
diana there was naturally an effort on the 
part of capitalists to control the supply 
and reap the profits from it. On the other 
hand there was strong sentiment for giving 
the public the benefit. At this time, when 
the people of Indianapolis seemed hope- 
lessly barred from attaining the public 
benefit, through lack of funds, ^Ir. Potts 
brought forward the then novel proposi- 
tion of the Consumers Gas Trust. It was 
a proposal for a company in which the 
voting power of the stockholders was irre- 
vocably lodged in a board of self-perpet- 



uating trustees, while the earnings of the 
stockholders were restricted to 8 per 
cent interest and the repayment of the 
face value of the stock. When this repay- 
ment was made the trust remained for the 
public benefit to furnish gas at sost. It 
was more than a solution of the existing 
problem. Many competent authorities and 
critics have regarded it as a practical plan 
for controlling all public utilities for pub- 
lic benefit, with all the advantages of mu- 
nicipal ownership and none of its disad- 
vantages. In fact, at this day when the 
nation is struggling with the problem of 
an equitable adjustment by means of "ex- 
cess profits taxation" of enormous profit- 
eering enterprises, it would seem that some 
of the fundamental principles involved in 
Mr. Potts' plan of thirty years ago has 
been rediscovered and revitalized. 

The plan was at once met by claims that 
it was unsound and impracticable ; but the 
ablest lawyers of the city pronounced it 
perfectly sound. The plan was at once 
adopted by the Board of Trade with the 
support of leading citizens in all lines. 
The company was organized and in two 
weeks the subscription for .$500,000 of 
stock, which had been fixed as necessary 
for the start, was more than covered. 
The company did what was expected of it 
in securing cheap gas and made a saving 
to the public of $1,000,000 a year 
for fifteen years until the supply was ex- 
hausted. During that time it made a to- 
tal investment of over $2,500,000, all of 
which was paid out of the earnings of the 
company, together with 8 per cent in- 
terest on the stock, and the repayment of 
all the principal originally invested. Those 
interested in the principal involved will 
find a full presentation of the subject by 
Mr. Potts in the American Review of Re- 
views for November, 1899. 

After the supply of natural gas was ex- 
hausted the trustees and directors desired 
to manufacture artificial gas. Rival in- 
terests caused the matter to be taken into 
court and on April 11, 1905, it was held 
that the company was limited to supplying 
natural gas and had no power to manufac- 
ture gas. The cause of the public seemed 
to be blocked until it was pointed out that 
the city had an option of purchase of the 
plant under the company's franchise, and 
this could be sold to another company. 
Then the following plan was adopted: 



1920 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



The city gave the necessary notice of in- 
tention to purchase, and then assigned its 
option to A. P. Potts, Frank D. Stalnaker 
and Lorenz Schmidt, to be transferred to 
a company to be organized by Mr. Potts. 
This company was to furnish artificial gas 
at 60 cents per thousand feet, with the 
same features of voting trustees to prevent 
manipulation and limited dividends of 10 
per cent and on the further condition that 
the property was to go to the city when the 
stockholders had received their money 
back. This proposal was accepted and 
after surmounting every legal obstacle 
that could be placed in its way the new 
company finally gained possession of the 
mains of the Consumers Trust on October 
31, 1907. In the fight for this new public 
enterprise Mr. Potts visited England at 
his own expense and gathered the proof to 
show that gas could be manufactured and 
sold at 60 cents per 1,000 cubic feet. 
The company proceeded with vigor and be- 
gan supplying gas on March 31, 1909. Its 
action forced the other company to come 
to the same terms, and eventually to lease 
their plants for ninety-nine years to the 
new company, which is now supplying gas 
at 60 cents per 1,000, the lowest rate of 
any city in the United States. It is ob- 
vious that the same principles of organiza- 
tion employed in these gas enterprises can 
be applied to other public utilities, and 
that it furnishes a means by which the pub- 
lic can avoid being exploited in these mat- 
ters. 

In the 1916-17 session of the Indiana 
Legislature, at the request of Governor 
Goodrich, a bill prepared by Mr. Potts was 
introduced which crystallizes this plan of 
organization and makes it applicable to 
utilities througliout the state as well as 
companies for the supply of coal, ice and 
food products. Owing to the pi-essure of 
affairs due to the fight on prohibition and 
woman's suffrage this measure with many 
other worthy proposals was .sidetracked, 
but the organization of public men behind 
it is still intact and the people have the 
promise that the bill will be presented 
again at some later session. 

As the preceding indicates Mr. Potts 
has taken an active interest in public af- 
fairs, and many of his enterprises were of 
a quasi-public character. He was one of 
the chief promoters, of the Commercial 
Club of Indianapolis, of which he was for 



several years a director and for one term 
president. Among buildings that he has 
promoted are the Law Building, the Clay- 
pool Hotel, the new Board of Trade Build- 
ing, and the American and Union National 
banks. In 1918 Mr. Potts was nominated 
by Governor Goodrich as one of the three 
public directors in the local street car com- 
pany, an experiment proposed in the pub- 
lic interest by the Public Service Com- 
mission. 

In 1879 jVIr. Potts married ]\Iiss May 
Barney, of Indianapolis. Both have taken 
an active role in literary and social cir- 
cles. Mr. Potts was one of the founders 
of the Century Club, and served a term 
as its president, and also a term as presi- 
dent of the Contemporary Club. They 
have two daughters. The older, Jlrs. Wal- 
ter Vonnegut, has achieved notable suc- 
cess on the stage. The second daughter is 
the wife of Mr. Norman W. Cook, formerly 
of the Bureau of Municipal Research of 
New York and later a lieutenant with the 
active forces in France. 

Orlando B. Iles. Though he was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1895 and for over 
twenty years has been a member in good 
standing of the Indianapolis bar, Oi'lando 
B. lies is more widely known and appre- 
ciated for his constructive services as a 
citizen and for the important position he 
enjoys in the industrial aft'airs of his home 
city. Mr. Iles is treasurer and general 
manager of the International Machine 
Tool Company, one of the really big indus- 
tries of Indiana, and is also president of 
the Marion Club, a position that places him 
for the time as a leader among the repub- 
lican party of Indiana. 

]\lr. lies was born in Brown County, 
Ohio, in 1869, son of Thomas and Eliza- 
beth (Ewing) lies. His parents were 
both natives of Kentucky. Orlando B. 
lies was liberally educated, being a grad- 
uate of DePauw University of Greencastle 
with the class of 1894. He has been a res- 
ident of Indianapolis since 1893, studied 
law in that city and was admitted to the 
bar in 1895. His first active work as a 
lawyer was in charge of the claim' depart- 
meiit and as assistant attorney for the Cit- 
izens Street Railway Company of Indian- 
apolis. In 1898-99 he served as prosecut- 
ing attorney for Marion County, and in 
1899 was appointed deputy attorney gen- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1921 



eral of the state. He filled that office one 
year. During 1897 and again in- 1899 he 
was reading clerk of the House. 

Had his energies not been diverted Mr. 
lies could easily have attained a leadership 
among the general legal practitioners of 
Indiana. However, in 1899 he became 
associated with Mr. Arthur Jordan of In- 
dianapolis as legal adviser in a number of 
industrial enterpl-ises controlled by Mr. 
Jordan. One of these was the Capital 
Gas Engine Company. In 1906, when 
Mr. Jordan, Mr. lies, 'Sir. Milholland and 
Mr. Libby organized the International Ma- 
chine Tool Company, Sir. Jordan became 
president and ilr. lies treasurer and mana- 
ger. These two gentlemen built the plant 
for that company, with ^Ir. Charles L. 
Libby, the vice president and superintend- 
ent, in charge of the technical details. 

This company manufactures a large and 
important line of machine tools, including 
the famous "Libby" Turret Lathe, large 
numbers of which have been sent abroad 
and are used extensively in the manufac- 
ture of war munitions, and they have an 
equally varied and important place in rail- 
road shops and other industries. The In- 
ternational Machine Tool Company gives 
to Indianapolis some elements of real dis- 
tinction as an industrial center, since the 
machine tools have an unique place in the 
equipment of modern industry and serve 
to make the name of Indianapolis further 
known around the world. It has also at- 
tracted to Indianapolis a number of highly 
skilled and highly paid workmen, and the 
entire community benefits to a degree that 
can hardly be computed. 

Mr. lies has long been a popular mem- 
ber of the republican party, and his popu- 
larity and his fitness for leadership was 
signally recognized in March, 1918, when 
he was elected president of the Marion 
Club of Indianapolis. This is one of the 
largest social organizations of republicans 
in the country and contains a large mem- 
bership of representative citizens not only 
in Indianapolis, but throughout the state. 
It plays and has played an important part 
in civic afi^airs, in the progress of the city, 
and is one of the factors in maintaining 
and increasing the strength of the party 
throughout the nation. Mr. lies is affil- 
iated with the Phi Kappa Tsi fraternity, is 
a past chancellor commander of Indianap- 
olis Lodge No. 56, Knights of Pythias, is 



a member of Mystic Lodge of jMasons, a 
thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason 
and a noble of Murat Temple of the Mys- 
tic Shrine. 

In 1899 Mr. lies married Miss Esther 
D. Jordan. She is a daughter of Mr. Ar- 
thur Jordan, above referred to and more 
specifically mentioned on other pages. 
Their two children are Elizabeth and 
Arthur. 

George A. Moorhead. A resident of 
Terre Haute for twenty years, formerly 
active in business afi'airs, George A. Moor- 
head has played a prominent part in local 
democratic politics, was chairman of the 
democratic county committee of Vigo and 
is now in his second term as city clerk. 

He was born in Henderson County, Ken- 
tucky, December 25, 1879, but has spent 
most of his life in Indiana. His parents 
were James and Wilhelmina (Maurer) 
Moorhead, both now living in Terre Haute. 
The father was born in Kentucky and the 
mother in Posey County, Indiana. There 
is one other child, ]\Irs. "William Simmons, 
living at Mattoon, Illinois. Mr. Simmons 
is general manager of the Hulman Whole- 
sale Grocery Company. 

George A. ]Moorhead received most of his 
early education at Mount Vernon in Black 
Township of Posey County Indiana. Com- 
ing to Terre Haute in 1897, he worked 
several years as clerk in a shoe store, and 
graduall.y accumulated business experience 
and the confidence of men in his capacity 
and judgment. 

In 1909 he was elected city clerk of 
Terre Haute, and was re-elected on the 
democratic ticket in 1915. Mr. Moorhead 
is popular in fraternal affairs, a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
the Knights of Pythias, the Fraternal Or- 
der of Eagles and the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. In 1905 he married 
]\Iiss Amelia Dietz, who was born at Cic- 
ero, Indiana, a daughter of Emil and Anna 
(Wagner) Dietz. 

Harry Smithson Needham. The city 
of Richmond, as a division point of the 
Pennsylvania lines west of Pittsburgh, is 
the home and headquarters of a number of 
prominent Pennsylvania railway officials, 
including Harry Smithson Needham, mas- 
ter mechanic for the Pittsburgh, Cincin- 
nati, Chicago & St. Louis Railway, with 



1922 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



supervision over 500 employes in the me- 
chanical department and whose forces 
serve several divisions of the Pittsburgh, 
Cincinnati, Chicago & St. Louis Railway 
as well as the southern division of the 
Grand Rapids and Indiana. 

Mr. Needham was born at ^Marietta, Ohio, 
December 26, 1878, son of Charles F. and 
Emily Elizabeth (St. John) Needham. 
The Needham family is of English ances- 
try and settled in ilassaehusetts many gen- 
erations ago. Harry S. Needham attended 
public .school at Columbus, Ohio, graduat- 
ing from high school in 1896, and in the 
same j'ear entering the Ohio State Univer- 
sity, where he was graduated with the de- 
gree Mechanical Engineer in 1900. On 
account of his fine scholarship record he 
was otfered a Fellowship in the Univer- 
sity, but declined in order to get into ac- 
tive railroad work. He entered the me- 
chanical department offices of the Pitts- 
burgh, Cincinnati, Chicago & St. Louis 
road at Columbus, serving as draftsman 
for two years at wages of fifteen dollars 
per month. The third year he also spent 
at Columbus as helper in the engine house. 
For three years he was at Indianapolis as 
special apprentice in the shops of the same 
railroad. For a short time he was a fire- 
man on the Louisville Division between In- 
dianapolis and Logansport six months, 
and was then called to the home office at 
Columbus as draftsman on general engi- 
neering work in the motive power depart- 
ment. Six months later he went into the 
Columbus locomotive repair shop as a spe- 
cial man under Master Mechanic S. W. 
Miller, remaining six months, and on Feb- 
ruary 15, 1904, was sent to the locomotive 
shops at Dennison, Ohio, as assistant to the 
general foreman. In April, 1904, he was 
given some special duties at the St. Louis 
Exposition for three months, and another 
four months was employed in establishing 
tonnage rating for locomotive and freight 
service over the different lines. During 
these .several years therefore Mr. Needham 
had opportunity and wisely made use of 
it to acquire practical experience in all 
branches of railroad mechanical engineer- 
ing. In June, 1910, he was appointed as- 
sistant motive power inspector at Colum- 
bus, and on January 1, 1912, came to Rich- 
mond as master mechanic. 

In 1911 Mr. Needham married IMargaret 
Dunn Carvey, daughter of Capt. Theodore 



Dunn of Middleport, Ohio. Mr. Needham 
is a republican and a member of the Meth- 
odist Church. 

Mary Hannah Krout, one of Indiana's 
most interesting women, was born in Craw- 
fordsville November 3, 1851. She is the 
daughter of the late Robert Kennedy Krout 
and Caroline Van Cleve Krout, and grand- 
daughter of Professor Ryland Thoinas 
Brown, who served several tei'ms as state 
geologist, was professor of natural sciences 
in Butler College, lecturer on toxoeology 
in the State Medical College and chemist- 
in-chief in the LTnited States Agricultural 
Department under President Hayes. 

Miss Krout received her education 
chiefly at home under the instruction of 
her parents, and was for six years a pupil 
of the late Mrs. Caroline Coulter, mother 
of Professor John M. and Stanley Coul- 
ter. She grew up from childhood sur- 
rounded by distinctly literarj' influences, 
both witliin her own home and amongst 
friends whose tastes and pursuits gave the 
town a reputation throughout the state for 
a high degree of culture. 

Doctor Bland, editor of the Indiana 
Farmer, accepted and paid for her first 
poem. She was then twelve years of age. 
Three years later she wrote "Little Brown 
Hands," a poem which has been familiar 
to school children ever since. It was pub- 
lished in Our Young Folks, a magazine 
edited by John G. Whittier and Lucy Lar- 
com, and w-hich numbered Longfellow, 
Whittier, Higginson, Harriet B. Stowe, 
Jean Ingelow, and other famous authors 
among its contributors. After that Miss 
Krout wrote regularly for The Little Cor- 
poral, a magazine for children edited by 
the late Emily Huntington ^Miller, who 
gave her the warmest encouragement and 
became her lifelong friend. During this 
time she also wrote occasionally for Lip- 
pincott's ilagazine. The Overland Monthly, 
under the editorship of Bret Harte, and 
for the New York Tribune and Boston 
Transcript. 

Having inherited from her parents and 
grandparents strong convictions on the 
inequality of women before the law, at a 
very early age she spoke and wrote con- 
stantly for the enfranchisement of women 
and for the broadening of their educa- 
tional and economic opportunities. Of 
this phase of her work the late Mary A. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Livermore said, many years afterward, "I 
attended a suffrage convention held in 
Crawfordsville, and when Mary Krout was 
announced to speak I was astounded to see 
a fragile little girl with short hair and 
short skirts come forward and make a very 
logical and carefully prepared address." 

Miss Krout also inherited from a long 
line of ancestors an inextinguishable zeal 
in the cause of liberty and universal en- 
lightenment. She owes her German name 
to Michael Krout, a political refugee from 
Saxony, who settled on a plantation near 
Columbia, South Carolina, and who, when 
his house was burned and his cattle and 
horses driven away by the British, entered 
the Federal army with his tive sons and 
sacrificed his life to the American cause in 
the massacre of General Ashe's command 
at Brier Creek. Other Revolutionary fore- 
fathers were John Van Cleve, who with 
his sons left their harvest field and .joined 
the American forces in the battle of ^Ion- 
mouth, remaining in the service until the 
close of the war, John John, who enlisted 
at the beginning of the struggle and served 
under Washington, being given charge of 
the mill at Valley Forge, and George 
Brown, of Virginia, who raised and 
equipped a company of soldiers at his own 
expense and went to the relief of the Amer- 
ican forces at the battle of Yorktown. 

Her family since then served in later 
wars, earning distinction in the United 
States army and navy, and was also rep- 
resented in various legislative bodies. 

Miss Krout 's editorial work began in 
Crawfordsville on the Journal under the 
able management of the late T. H. B. ]Mc- 
Cain. She was subsequently connected 
with the Peoria Call, the Terre Haute Ex- 
press, and the ^Chicago Interior. In 1888 
she began her work on the Chicago Inter 
Ocean, with which she remained ten years. 
In the presidential campaign of 1888, dur- 
ing the candidacy of President Harrison, 
she was sent to Indianapolis as staff cor- 
respondent. For this work she received 
the official thanks of both President Harri- 
son and the Indiana state officials. In 1893 
she was sent to Hawaii on the breaking 
out of the revolution, and she remained 
three months covering the events which 
led to the establishment of the Provisional 
Government. Upon her return she was 
summoned to Washington by Walter Q. 
Gresham, secretary of state, for a private 



conference on the situation. She was ap- 
pointed an alternate on the Women's 
Board of the Columbian Exposition, and 
was chosen chairman of the Auxilliary 
Press Congress held in SeiJtember during 
the Fair. She had founded "The Chi- 
cago Woman's Press League," composed 
only of members holding salaried positions. 
This was extended into a national organ- 
ization, of which she remained president, 
the local body acting as hostess to the many 
distinguished men and women writers who 
were in Chicago during the Exposition. 

In 190-t Miss Krout was sent again to 
Hawaii when an unsuccessful effort was 
made to overthrow the Provisional Gov- 
ernment and restore the queen. Pending 
the organization of the Hawaiian Repub- 
lic she made a short journey through New 
Zealand and Australia, returning in time 
to be present at the opening session of the 
Hawaiian Constitutional Convention. 

In 1895 she was sent to London as staff 
correspondent, where she remained for 
three j^ears, seeing much of the social, ar- 
tistic, and literary life of the great capi- 
tal. She found a warm friend in John 
Hay, then United States ambassador, who 
on one occasion when she asked permis- 
sion to refer to him wrote to her: "Use 
my name at any time and in any way 
that I can be of service to you," a proof 
of confidence and regard that was never 
forgotten. 

In 1898 she returned to the United 
States, and after leaving the Inter Ocean 
under a change in its management Miss 
Krout went out to China for a syndicate 
of representative newspapers to study and 
write on the commercial relations of 
China with the United States. She re- 
mained a year, after which she took up 
her residence in New York and devoted 
her time to miscellaneous work and lec- 
turing before clubs and in the "People's 
Course," connected with the public schools 
of New York and Brooklyn. She then 
returned to Crawfordsville and completed 
the unfinished Memoirs of Gen. Lew Wal- 
lace, after which she made a second visit 
to New Zealand and Australia, writing 
for the Australia Press and lecturing in 
Australia and New Zealand on American 
topics. Before her return the following 
year she revisited Hawaii, and while there 
wrote "ilemoirs of the Hon. Bernice 
Pauahi Bishop," who was the last of the 



1924 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Kamehamehas — the ancient ruling race; 
and of Mrs. Mary S. Kice, one of the pio- 
neer missionaries. Both books embodied 
much of the history of the countrj^ with 
an account of native manners and customs. 
She also prepared a large illustrated bro- 
chure, "Picturesque Honolulu," which 
was also largely historical. She was ab- 
sent ou these commissions in Australia, 
New Zealand, and Hawaii, nearly four 
years. , 

Latterly IMiss Krout has been at her 
home in Crawfordsville, writing and lec- 
turing on literary and political topics, 
having also been engaged with her pen and 
in various activities connected with war 
work since the participation of the United 
States in the great conflict with Germany. 

Miss Krout has been a member of the 
Chicago Woman's Club for many years 
and is a charter member of the Daughters 
of the American Eevolution. While in 
London she was made an honorary mem- 
ber of the Sandringham Club and in Sid- 
ney of the Woman's Club in that city. 
She is also a corresponding member of the 
Hawaiian Historical Society. 

Her published works are: "Hawaii and 
a Revolution," "A Looker-on in London," 
"Alice in the Hawaiian Islands," "Two 
Girls in China," "The Memoirs of the 
Hon. Bernice Pauahi Bishop," "Memoirs 
of Mrs. Mary S. Rice," "Platters and Pip- 
kins," and "The Coign of Vantage," a 
serial which appeared in the Chicago Ad- 
vance in 1910. 

Caroline V. Krout was born in Craw- 
fordsville, Indiana, and has lived there all 
her life. In an important and litei'al sense 
it can be said that fame has sought and 
come to her in that quiet but cultured col- 
lege eoramunitv. Her education was ob- 
tained in private and public schools. She 
had the inestimable privilege of being a 
pupil of the late Mrs. Caroline Coulter for 
four years at a period when a child's mind 
is most rolastic. John M. and Stanley 
Coulter, two great scholars and noted men, 
are iramenselv indebted to their mother 
for their remarkable talents. 

Caroline Krout did not begin writing 
as a child, as did her sister Mary. What 
aptitude she has for writing fiction was 
developed in young womanhood, and it 
was by a happy accident she found the 
theme of her first novel, "Knights in Fus- 



tain. " When on a visit to a sister she 
met there an elderly woman who had ex- 
perienced the insults and depredations of 
that treasonable band in the State of In- 
diana, and her reminiscences were so in- 
teresting and dramatic they were the source 
of inspiration for that work. 

A love of pioneer history was awakened 
then, and .she, from every source and by 
all means, got every scrap relating to the 
earliest pioneei-s of Indiana that she could 
find. Out of this course of reading came, 
later "On the We-a Trail." An Indian 
trail running from the Ouia towns ou the 
Wabash River, ten miles from Lafayette, 
crossing Sugar Creek, four miles or so, 
west of Crawfordsville, by what is yet 
known as Indian Ford, and on down to the 
hunting grounds of Kentucky, used com- 
monlv bv all the tribes of this section, 
srave it the title. 

Another novel dealing with the state's 
history was written later — "Dionis of the 
White Veil." The plot for this story was 
taken from a pamphlet issued by the His- 
torical Society of Indiana, and was ob- 
tained from the Archives of France for 
'Mr. Jacob Dunn b.y a young man connected 
with the American Embassy at that time, 
1902 or 1903. It relates to the attempt of 
founding the first Jesuit mission in what 
became later Indiana, at about the period 
Sieur Vincennes established the first fur 
trading post on the Wabash in 1712. With 
the exception of the love story it follows 
the text faithfully. 

In 1905 iliss Krout published her first 
and only volume of juvenile stories. 
"Bold Robin and his Forest Rangers." 
This was written at the reqiiest of ilrs. 
Lew Wallace, a faithful friend and coun- 
sellor, who, when the author objected to 
the threadbare theme, said': "It makes no 
difference how old the story is if the treat- 
ment is original." In that connection only 
one story was taken from history, the rest 
were purely imaginary. Its dedication 
was made to ]\Irs. Wallace's two grand- 
sons and the author's two nephews, then 
small boys, all soldiers in France in the 
World war, one of whom, William Noble 
Wallace, made the great sacrifice. 

At present Miss Krout is putting the 
final touches to another Indiana story of 
the Civil war. 

The gift for writing in both her and her 
sister is hereditary. Dr. Ryland T. Brown, 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1925 



a writer on scientific subjects in his day, 
was their maternal grandfather, and the 
late Joseph F. Brown, a great-uncle, was 
a poet of no mean caliber and also wrote 
excellent prose. The family from which 
they sprang was a pioneer family of the 
state, and bore their part in the develop- 
ment of Indiana. 

The Brown Family of Indianapolis 
contains a number of names associated 
with high distinctions in state and national 
affairs, and in later generations with the 
industrial and business history of Indian- 
apolis. 

This branch of the family belong to the 
colonial settlers of old Virginia. George 
Brown had come from Virginia to Indiana 
in territorial times. His son, Hon. Wil- 
liam J. Brown, was born in Virginia and 
became a lawyer, practicing for a number 
of years. He was prosecuting attorney 
at a time when his circuit extended from 
the Ohio Kiver to the Michigan boundary. 
His is one of the names most frequently 
encountered in the annals of early state 
politics. William J. Brown was the first 
to hold the oifice of secretary of state after 
the capital was removed to Indianapolis. 
He was afterwards elected and served a 
number of terms in Congress from the In- 
dianapolis district, and was also assistant 
postmaster general. Hon. William J. 
Brown died March 18, 18.57. In 1827 he 
married Susan Tompkins, daughter of 
Nathan Tompkins. 

Austin H. Brown, who was born at Mil- 
roy in Eush County, Indiana, ilarch 19, 
1828, was the oldest child of his parents. 
While his own career was a notable one, 
he had brothers almost equally distin- 
guished. Two of these brothers were sol- 
diers in the Civil war, one being killed at 
Harper's Ferry while the other died from 
the efi'ects of his army service soon after 
the close of the war. Still another brother 
was Admiral George Brown, who rose to 
eminence in the United States Navy and 
retired with the rank of admiral .just be- 
fore the Spanish-American war. 

Austin H. Brown had very meager op- 
portunities to obtain an education. He 
moved with his parents to Indianapolis in 
1837, and there found work as a printer's 
devil and as a carrier for the old Indiana 
Democrat. W\n\e doing that work he 
studied privately and acquired a practical 



education. He continued with the Demo- 
crat and its successor, the State Sentinel, 
until 1844, and then at the age of sixteen, 
entered old Asburj' University. His col- 
lege career closed at the age of seventeen, 
when he went to Washington as clerk in 
the office of the sixth auditor. He rose in 
that office to assistant chief clerk and dis- 
bursing officer. He was also for a time a 
tlnited States postoffice inspector. Return- 
ing to Indianapolis, he became proprietor 
of the State Sentinel, and was one of the 
publishers of that old journal for five 
years. 

In 1855, as a democrat, he was elected 
auditor of ]\Iarion County. During the 
Civil war period he waS assistant adjutant 
general, and much of the detailed work 
of the office under Generals Noble and Ter- 
rell was handled by him. Austin H. Brown 
was what was then called a "war demo- 
crat." In 1866 he was appointed by. 
President Johnson collector of internal rev- 
enue for the Indianapolis district. For 
a number of years he was also ca.shier of 
the banking house of Woolen, Webb & 
Company. In 1874 he was elected clerk of 
Marion County, and served a number of 
years as city councilman and nine years 
on the school commission. He was a mem- 
ber of the National Democratic Commit- 
tee, ranked high in Masonry and was one 
of the able men of the state during his 
time. 

On December 17, 1851, Austin H. Brown 
married Margaret E. Russell. Her father. 
Col. Alexander W. Russell, was an Indiana 
pioneer, served as sheriff of Marion Coun- 
ty, and by appointment from President 
Taylor served as postmaster of Indianap- 
olis, ilrs. Austin Brown was a grand- 
daughter through her mother of General 
James Noble, one of th^ first United States 
senators from Indiana. Austin H. Brown 
died January 1, 1903. He and his wife 
reared only two children, Austin H., Jr., 
who died in California in 1913, and Wil- 
liam J. 

William J. Brown, who represented the 
fourth generation of the family in Indiana, 
was essentially a business man and his 
career as such brought him success and 
was characterized always by the strictest 
integrity. He possessed sound judgment, 
and while he enjoyed but ordinary educa- 
tional advantages he was considered above 
the ordinary in point of information. He 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



became treasurer and general manager of 
the Indianapolis Stove Company, and held 
that position until the time of his death 
in 1914, at the age of fifty-eight. William 
J. Brown married Cordelia Garvin. Their 
three children were Garvin il., Austin H. 
and Cordelia S. William J. Brown is re- 
membered as a man of exceptionally kindly 
nature, had the faculty of making and re- 
taining friends, and was thoroughly 
worthy of the name which he bore. He was 
a member of the First Presbyterian Church 
of Indianapolis, and was an independent 
democrat in politics. His widow is still 
living in Indianapolis. 

Garvin M. Brown, of the fifth genera- 
tion of the Brown family in this state, 
succeeded his father as secretary and gen- 
eral manager of the Indianapolis Stove 
Company. He was born November 21, 
1885, and has always made his home in 
Indianapolis. He graduated from the 
Shortridge High School in 1904 and from 
Princeton University in 19G8. In 1914 
he married Nina Gilbert, daughter of 
Harry C. Gilbert. They have one daugh- 
ter, Nina. 

John Henry Buning. On October 3, 
1875, there was born to the union of George 
Henry and Charlotte Hektor Buning, of 14 
Freeman Avenue, Cincinnati, Ohio, their 
third child, John Henry Buning, whose 
virile influence was destined to be felt soon 
throughout all the states of the Middle 
West. From the time he left home at the 
tender age of twelve years and four months 
to find the place of prominence which he 
felt the world owed him, his life has been 
one of continuous activity and aggressive 
fighting to gain the ends he desired. His 
cea.seless energy and undaunted determi- 
nation to drive his *ay to success and make 
his life one of more than ordinary useful- 
ness has placed him, at the age "of forty- 
three, among the leaders of industry in the 
Middle West. 

John H. Buning inherited from his 
father those sturdy qualities of persever- 
ance and faith in the events of the future 
which nerved him to fight on and never 
quit for one moment no matter what be 
the bitterness of a momentary defeat or the 
blackness of a temporary disappointment. 
After each blow the world dealt him he 
came back on the morrow with a punch 
more telling than that he delivered the dav 



before because he had profited by his mis- 
take of yesterday. Each mistake left it's 
imprint on the young man's mind and he 
never committed a blunder twice. When 
he was defeated at the age of twenty-one 
as the republican candidate for the"Ohio 
State Legislature from the City of Cincin- 
nati he immediately decided that he was 
not moulded for a politician and turned his 
attention elsewhere. 

The senior Buning was born August 23, 
1840, in Achonsan, Germany, the son of 
John Herman Buning, who removed with 
his family to the United States in the early 
'40s and settled in the western section of 
Cincinnati. He became interested in busi- 
ness while quite young and had built a 
firm foundation for a business career when 
the Civil war broke out. During the war 
he served with the Union Army, having 
enlisted in 1861 and been honorably dis- 
charged in 1865. He was proprietor of a 
retail grocery store in Cincinnati from 
1865 until January 23, 1908, the date of 
his death. His wife, Charlotte Hektor, 
was born July 31, 1850, in Ramstein, 
Alsace,' and came with her father and 
mother to live in the United States while 
she was quite young. She is now living in 
the old home place at Cincinnati and en- 
joys rugged health at the age of sixty-nine. 

John H. Buning 's parents were Catholics 
and he was educated in the parochial 
schools of Cincinnati. His father and 
mother intended to give him a college edu- 
cation, but the desire to win a place of 
distinction in the world was active within 
him from his early youth and he met his 
parents ofi'ers of a higher education with a 
declaration that he preferred to lose no 
time in beginning his campaign for suc- 
cess. Accordingly, the young John Henry 
set forth from the paternal hearth at the 
tender age of twelve years and four months 
and started out upon life's journey. He 
began armed with his father's sound ad- 
monition that industry, ambition, honesty, 
good health and dauntless courage were a 
combination the world could not beat, and 
fortified by his mother's impassioned en- 
treaties to always shun evil associations. 
Nature had endowed him with a keen men- 
tal i)eri'cption and that brand of vigorous 
good health which enabled the hearty pio- 
neers of the Middle West to wrest their 
homes from the savage Indians who roamed 
the woods and streams and maintain them 




SltrHay,/^, XJpUot^u.^ 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



1927 



against the rancorous attacks of both 
painted savage and unfavorable weather. 

He gave a listening ear to his mother's 
tearful request that he not leave home and 
started out to seek employment in Cincin- 
nati. His first position was that of errand 
boy for the then most popular and reliable 
clothing store in the Queen City, Feck- 
heimer Brothers, at $4 a week. During the 
part of a year he worked on this job he 
thought seriously over the counsel his 
father had given him and the prayers his 
mother had offered for him ancl developed 
for himself the philosophy of life he has 
advocated religiously from that day to this. 
The theory he developed then was that if 
everything his parents had told him was 
true, and he po.ssessed the child's blind 
faith in its parents' wisdom, if he gave 
his employer hard work and faithful service 
he would receive in return the maximum 
wages and the world would contribute the 
added recompense of steady advancement 
toward success. His one and only purpose 
was to make good and wrest success from 
the world, who decorates so few of her sons 
with the laurels of lasting success. 

His early determination to always re- 
ceive the highest possible remuneration for 
his services caused him to leave the cloth- 
ing store after a period of employment 
considerably less than a year and seek a 
more lucrative occupation. 

After passing through a period of four 
years spent in various occupations his par- 
ents finally prevailed upon him to learn 
the clothing cutting and drafting trade. 
The good offices of his mother induced 
Alexander Ofi'ner, of the clothing manu- 
facturing firm, Mayer, Scheurer and 
Offner, to take the sixteen year old John 
Henry Buning into his establishment as 
an apprentice clothing cutter. At that 
time Mayer, Scheurer and Offner was one 
of the leading clothing manufacturing 
houses in the Middle West, and it was by 
no means an easy task to gain entrance 
to its working organization. 

Then followed a period of two years 
spent in absorbing toil, during which the 
young man labored seriously to become the 
best in his trade. His unceasing persever- 
ance was rewarded, and when he was eight- 
een years old he won the coveted ap- 
pointment as assistant foreman in the cut- 
ting room of the clothing factory, at a 
much larger salary than many of his seniors 



were earning. His employers had perfect 
confidence in his ability as a producer 
when they made him assistant foreman of 
the cutting room, and soon found that their 
confidence was wisely placed. After at- 
taining this first victory he became pos- 
sessed of some leisure and interested him- 
self in politics and civic improvements. 

He busied himself during his leisure 
hours from business in organizing the West 
End Improvement Association, whose ob- 
ject was to force the Cincinnati Street 
Car Company, owned and operated by 
John Kilgour under a fifty years franchise 
on all the streets of Cincinnati, to abandon 
.some unfair schemes concerning the junk- 
ing of lines serving certain pioneer sec- 
tions of the Queen City. This association 
is still in existence and a powerful civic 
influence in the main section of Cincinnati. 
Had the Street Car Company succeeded in 
its designs the section of the city so dear 
to young Buning would have become iso- 
lated and business would have died a nat- 
ural death. The West End Improvement 
Association, thanks to Buning 's tireless 
energy and courage to fight for what he 
thought was just, employed legal talent 
and fought the Street Car Company to a 
standstill, forcing them to continue service 
on the lines they intended to abandon. 

Another abuse which aroused Buning 's 
fighting spirit in the days of his minority 
was the practice resorted to by a few in- 
dustries operating plants along the Ohio 
river of filling in along the banks, thus 
acquiring free land. This practice of at- 
tempting to harness nature soon reacted in 
the river backing up into the sewer sys- 
tem of the city every time a little rain came, 
causing untold damage and misery in the 
lower sections of the city. He got into the 
fight late, but his efforts were largely. re- 
sponsible for the discontinuance of the 
practice. 

By this time he was known to many more 
than his intimate circle of friends as a 
young man of decided convictions, and to 
be possessed of the cool determination and 
courage to fight his battles through to a 
successful issue. His fight on the Street 
Car Company franchise brought him before 
the public eye and the republicans of Cin- 
cinnati decided that a young man endowed 
with Buning 's energy, sagacity and pug- 
nacity would represent them to advantage 
in the State Legislature. Accordingly he 



1928 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



became the republican candidate for the 
State House of Representatives in a 
strong democratic district and met defeat. 
This decided him that he was not created 
for a politician, and he turned his whole 
energy to business, giving politics only 
that amount of attention the subject de- 
mands from every patriotic citizen. 

"When he had reached the age of twenty- 
two he had decided definitely to leave Cin- 
cinnati to seek broader opportunities else- 
where. The Hoosier capital was his choice 
after careful consideration of sane advice 
from his many business associates and 
friends. Accordingly in 1897 the twenty- 
two years old Buning presented himself to 
Robert E. Springsteen, a leading tailor in 
Indianapolis at that time and now the post- 
master, asking for employment as a cutter 
and designer. He was employed for a trial 
period at a nominal wage. When the ex- 
pected raise in salary did not come, and in 
addition he found himself facing a reduc- 
tion of $5 a week, he decided to make 
another change in his occupation and get 
into one which promised higher remunera- 
tion. 

He determined to learn the merchandise 
brokerage business and secured his oppor- 
tunity for doing this as an employee of C. 
L. Dietz and Company of Indianapolis. His 
energy and resourcefulness won rapid ad- 
vancement for him in this new business, 
and during his one year and eleven months 
with the Dietz Company he became familiar 
with every phase of the business. He was 
next employed by the J. M. Paver Com- 
pany, to whom he gave the best of his abili- 
ties "until 1906. 

From his errand boy days in the Cincin- 
nati clothing store to those in which he 
won distinction as a brokerage salesman for 
the Paver Company in 1906, John H. Bun- 
ing had steadily built his house upon the 
rock of regular habits and business-like 
precision. He had extended his business 
acquaintance to a host of business men in 
Indiana, Illinois, Michigan and Ohio. 
Each new business acquaintance developed 
into a business friend, and added one more 
brick to the structure he was building on 
the firm foundation of his early youth. He 
has heard that Thomas A. Edison answered 
a youth who asked him on one occasion 
what one quality a young man must pos- 
sess to be successful, ' ' Young man are you 
able to save regularly a fixed part of your 



wages, no matter how small they may be? 
If you are you will be successful. If not 
you will be a failure." These wise words 
of the great inventor were the germ which 
gave life to Buning 's inherited thrift and 
spurred him on to save a part of his salary 
every time he was paid, no matter how 
small was the amount. 

In 1906, therefore, he made up his mind 
that the time for him to strike out for 
himself in business had arrived. He had 
mastered the merchandise brokerage busi- 
ness thoroughly from every angle. His 
savings were sufficient to start the enter- 
prise and his tireless energy and iron de- 
termination were the qualities which kept 
it moving toward success during the dark 
hours of the beginning fight. He started 
out with supreme self-confidence to guide 
his frail bark through the angry waves of 
competition to the harbor of success. 

Success rewarded his efforts and before 
John H. Buning and Company had been 
in business a year, with headquarters in 
Indianapolis, it was known to merchants 
throughout the Middle West as a leader 
among merchandise brokers. Today his 
company occupies offices on the fifth floor 
of the Majestic Building in Indianapolis, 
and does an enormous business in Indiana, 
Ohio, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, and 
indeed touches all the states of the Middle 
West. The expansion of his project was 
rapid, and he soon took his two brothers 
into the business to act as salesmen. They 
are dealers in food products, specializing 
in canned goods, dried fruits, beans and 
pickles. Mr. Buning maintains a branch 
office in Dayton, Ohio, to care for the east- 
t rn part of the business. 

The following incident of his business 
life is told in the Indianapolis Star of 
January 28, 1915 : 

"The second man to use the Trans-Con- 
tinental Telephone Line of the American 
Telephone and Telegraph Company, and 
the first man to make use of the coast wire 
for commercial purposes is John Buning, 
of the John H. Buning & Company, Mer- 
cantile Brokers, with offices at 517-18 Ma- 
jestic Building. The first to use the wire 
was President Wilson, who spoke over it 
from his offices in Washington last Monday. 
"Probably the sale of a large order of 
dried fruit was never accorded such an 
atmosphere of romance. Mr. Buning 
wished to give a large order to a firm in 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1929 



San Francisco, and the idea of using the 
Trans-Continental Wire for the purpose 
came to him suddenly at noon yesterday. 
He called Long Distance and asked to be 
put in connection with San Francisco, fifty 
two minutes later he was in conversation 
with Simon Lipman, sales manager of the 
concern. But when you are conversing at 
the rate of .$7.00 per minute, you must get 
down to business quickly, and so — 'This is 
John Buning — Indianapolis, get your pen- 
cil I 've got some business for you, ' said Mr. 
Buning to the astonished Californian sit- 
ting there in his ofifice by the Golden Gate, 
more than 3,000 miles away. The conver- 
sation cost Mr. Buning $27.75. 

" 'Right at first,' said i\Ir. Buning, 
' Lipman 's voice sounded as if it came out 
of a deep well, but in a few seconds every- 
thing was working fine, and both our voices 
was distinct, I only had to repeat one 
word — and I think that is a pretty good 
record for one man to talk to San Fran- 
cisco once and New York twice in the same 
day. It is certainly spanning the conti- 
nent.' " 

During the thirteen years that have 
elapsed since John H. Buning began busi- 
ness for himself as a merchandise liroker 
he has had the opportunity of giving at- 
tention to various interests other than busi- 
ness. He organized the first merchandise 
brokerage association in Indianapolis and 
served as its first president. He has long 
been recognized as a public spirited citizen 
and did duty as a deputy sheriff during 
the great flood of 1913. On several other 
occasions he has been deputized for service 
helping to stamp out industrial strife. 

Out of the proceeds of his energetic 
career Mr. Buning has become the owner 
of much valuable real estate in Indian- 
apolis, including several apartment houses 
and residence properties. He is a member 
of the Elks Club of Indianapolis, and has 
heen a member of the United Commercial 
Travelei-s for twenty years. He is also a 
member of the Columbia Club of Indian- 
apolis. 

Joseph R. Burton, distinguished as a 
political leader and as a United States sen- 
ator, was born near ]\Iitchell, Indiana, No- 
vember 16, 1851. His boyhood was spent 
on a farm, and after a thorough prepara- 
tion he was admitted to the bar in 1875. 
For three terms he was a member of the 



Kansas Legislature, was a member of the 
World's Columbian Exposition from that 
state, and he has been prominent in polit- 
ical campaigns since 1876. During 1901-7 
Mr. Burton was a United States senator 
from Kansas. He is a republican in 
politics. 

The home of Senator Joseph R. Burton 
is at Abilene, Kansas. 

Frederick M. Bachm.vn. In the long 
run it seems that the good things of life 
come to the deserving. Those good things 
are not only money and substantial busi- 
ness station, but the honors and esteem 
that go with good citizenship and a name 
that accompanies honorable endeavor. An 
Indianapolis citizen who won a large share 
of this kind of prosperity was the late 
Frederick M. Bachman. ]Mr. Bachman 
came to this country when a boy, liegan 
life almost entirely on his own responsi- 
bilities, worked against obstacles and han- 
dicaps and made liberal use of his oppor- 
tunities. He was deeply sensible of the 
honor of being an American citizen and 
repaid to the land of his adoption a com- 
plete loyalty. 

;\lr. Bachman was born at Dirmstein in 
the Rhine Valley of Bavaria January 20, 
1850. He was one of the eight children 
who grew to maturity, and was a small 
child when his mother died. He spent 
the first fifteen years of his life in the old 
country and an older sister acted as house- 
keeper for tlie family. At the age of thir- 
teen he finished his schooling, and after 
that worked on a farm and helped his 
brother who operated a bakery at the little 
villaa-e of Dirmstein. In the early '50s an 
older brother had come to the United 
States, and the glowing reports he sent 
back of the possibilities of the new world 
aroused the father, Michael Bachman, to 
follow the son. 

Michael Bachman, accompanied by his 
daughter and his son Frederick, came to 
tlie United States in 1865. They traveled 
on a steamship, and their first location was 
at Louisville, Kentucky, where the father 
engaged in gardening and where he died. 
Frederick JI. Bachman attended school a 
short time in Louisville, and made his own 
way by employment in a bakery at wages 
of $6 a month and board. That was his 
start in the American business world. His 
character was developed during those years 



1930 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



of hard toil, necessary thrift and economy, 
and he learned how to deny himself and 
went without luxuries in order to solve 
the more serious problems of existence. 
Even as a young man he had an ardent 
ambition to get ahead in the world and 
establish a home for himself. 

Coming to Indiana in 1867, he found 
employment at Noblesville in a restaurant. 
After'ten months he took a place as clerk 
in a dry goods store, and wa.s there a 
little more than two years. During all this 
time he was very saving of his earnings. 
Adjoining the store where he worked was 
a general supply store. It had gone into 
bankruptcy, and Mr. Bachman converted 
it into an opportunity to get into business 
for himself. The receiver of the store per- 
mitted him to buy it for $1,000 and to 
settle the obligation on time. He went 
into the new work with a will and applied 
the knowledge gained by his previous ex- 
perience and after a time was able to 
sell out at a profit. He then bought a 
stock of groceries and engaged in the re- 
tail grocery business, which he continued 
alone for about ten years. He then sold 
a half interest in the business, and re- 
moving to Indianapolis bought a grocery 
store at Ohio and Illinois streets known as 
the old Ripley Corner. This was about 
1880. Two years later, through unfor- 
tunate investments, ]Mr. Bachman lost his 
entire property. It was a heavy blow, 
since his property represented long years 
of painstaking effort and economy and self 
denial. However, his credit was good and 
borrowing money he bought a half interest 
in a .saw mill and lumber yard at Lincoln 
and Madison Avenue. That was the scene 
of his business activities ever afterward, 
and for a number of years he was sole 
owner of a very prosperously managed 
lumber business and was one of the rec- 
ognized veterans of that industry in In- 
dianapolis. Of late years his son was as- 
sociated with him. Through this work he 
prospered and accumulated a fair amount 
of property, but better than all he sus- 
tained an honorable name as an example 
to his descendants. 

Various other interests from time to time 
claimed his attention. He was probably 
given the first garbage contract ever let 
in the City of Indianapolis. Besides be- 
ing senior partner and founder of the F. 
]M. Bachman Lumber Company he was a 



director of the Fletcher- American National 
Bank, the Fletcher Savings & Trust Com- 
pany and the Citizens Gas Company. He 
was president of the Indianapolis Drop 
Forge Company and of the Booth Furni- 
ture Company of Peru, Indiana. For a 
number of years he was a member of the 
board of directors of the German House, 
and had much to do with the club's wel- 
fare. He was a Protestant in religion and 
was independent in politics, voting for men 
and measures rather than party. 

It was a life of most solid and sub- 
stantial achievements that came to an end 
with the death of Mr. Bachman at his home 
in the Winter Apartments, 1310 North 
Meridian Street, on December 30, 1917. 
He was twice married. In 1879 he mar- 
ried Louisa Rentsch, who died in 1892. 
She was survived by two children, Fred- 
erick M., Jr., and Alma, the latter the wife 
of Herman P. Lieber. In 1897 Mr. Bach- 
man married Katherine Reger, of Indian- 
apolis, who survives him. 

John J. Garrett is senior partner in the 
firm of Garrett & Williams, who operate 
the largest garage and general automobile 
salesrooms in the City of Anderson. Their 
handsome and well equipped establish- 
ment is located on ileridian and Four- 
teenth streets. 

Mr. Garrett, who has lived at Anderson 
for the past five years and gained the full 
respect and esteem of his fellow citizens 
in business affairs, was bom on a farm in 
Allen County, Indiana, a son of John and 
ilarie (Disler) Garrett. His people were 
what is called Pennsylvania German stock, 
and were pioneers in Pennsylvania. The 
family came to Indiana in 1861, settling 
on a fafm in Allen County. John J. Gar- 
rett's early experiences were those of a 
farmer boy who attended country schools 
about five months every winter and worked 
in the fields the rest of the season. After 
reaching young manhood he filled various 
other positions, but most of his time was 
spent on a farm of thirty acres in Allen 
County until November 1, 1913. 

At that date he came to Anderson, and 
with his brother Henry bought the old 
Charles Garage at Fourteenth and Meri- 
dian streets. The name was changed to 
the Palace Garage Company. In Novem- 
ber, 1915, Mr. Garrett sold his interest in 
the business, but after a brief retirement 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1931 



formed a partnership with Earl Williams 
and established the City Garage at 1119 
Main Street. They conducted this prop- 
erty for about a year, and on selling out 
repurchased the old Palace Garage, where 
they are still located. This garage had 
a capacity for seventy-five cars, and they 
maintain a complete repair shop and fur- 
nish a service unexcelled anywhere in Madi- 
son County. 

In 1898 Mr. Garrett married Miss Aldora 
IMaxfield, daughter of Orange and INlartha 
(Dever) Maxfield of Fort Wayne, Indiana. 
Three children have been born to their 
marriage, Dewey, born in 1899 ; Dallas, 
born in 1907 ; and John, Jr., born in 1917. 
Mr. Garrett is a republican, member of 
the Christian Church, and is active in Ma- 
sonry, having served as master of his 
lodge at Anderson during the years 1910- 
11-12. 

Edw.\rd a. Duckworth has .had a busy 
career for many years, and is well known 
in commercial circles at Indianapolis as 
well as in Anderson, where he is general 
manager of the Starr Piano Company, on 
Meridian Street between Twelfth and 
Thirteenth streets. 

]\Ir. Duckworth was born at Indianap- 
olis October 16, 1877, a son of William and 
Emma Duckworth. His education was 
finished when he graduated from the In- 
dianapolis High School in 1896. His de- 
sire to become self supporting found an 
outlet in employment as a wrapper in the 
New York Dry Goods Store at Indianap- 
olis. He was in that store four years, but 
his ability had in the meantime brought 
him several promotions and he was finally 
foreman of the men's furnishings depart- 
ment. After that he went on the road as 
a traveling representative for a large 
Queensware wholesale house at Indianap- 
olis, and for six years traveled and sold 
the goods of his company over an extensive 
territoi-y embracing Indiana, Illinois and 
Western Ohio. 

His first connection with the piano trade 
was as a traveling salesman for the King 
Piano Company of Chicago. After a time 
he was made manager of the King store 
in Indianapolis, where he remained foTir 
years. In 1909 he came to Anderson to 
"take the local management of the Starr 
Piano Company, and has been here ever 



since, developing a large clientele all over 
^ladisou Count}', so that the Starr pianos 
are probably as widelj' represented in the 
homes of the county as any other one make. 
Mr. Duckwoi'th married in 1898 Miss 
Dessie Jones, of Indiananolis. She died in 
1905, leaving four children. In 1911 he 
married Miss Leone Cobburn, of Bluffton, 
Indiana, ilr. Duckworth is a republican, 
and is affiliated with the ilasonic order, 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. 

Frederick A. Joss has been engaged in 
the practice of law in Indiana more than 
a quarter of a century, and his home dur- 
ing nearly all this time has been at Indian- 
apolis. His prestige as a sound and able 
lawyer has long been secure. He has also 
been a prominent leader in the republican 
party, and through his profession and his 
public influence has exerted a commendable 
activity in various fields of business and 
civic affairs. 

In the paternal line Mr. Joss is of Swiss 
ancestry. His grandfather was John Joss, 
who spent the greater part of his life in 
Germany, and served with distinction in 
the German army. His last years were 
lived in Constantine, Michigan. He had 
a liberal pension from the German govern- 
ment because of his army services. 

Capt. John C. Joss, father of the In- 
dianapolis lawyer, was born and reared in 
Germany, was educated in the universities 
of Heidelberg and Halle, and soon after- 
wards, in 1856, came to America. He be- 
came editor of the Constantine Commercial 
Advertiser, a pioneer newspaper of Jlichi- 
gan. He was one of the few men in that 
section of the state at the time who pos- 
sessed a university training, and that to- 
gether with his own individual talents and 
ability brought him to a position of suc- 
cess and prominence. At the beginning of 
the Civil war he enlisted in Company A 
of the Second ilichigan Infantry, rose to 
the rank of captain, and was in the serv- 
ice three years, until incapacitated by an 
injury. He was in seventeen important 
battles of the war, including both battles 
of Bull Run, Chantilly, Fair Oaks and the 
siege of Vicksburg. At Knoxville, Ten- 
nessee, he received a severe wound, and on 
the third day of the battle of the Wilder- 



1932 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ness suffered an injury which necessitated 
the amputation of his left leg above the 
knee. 

Coming out of the army Captain Joss 
returned to St. Joseph County, Michigan, 
and was elected county clerk, an office he 
filled continuously for fourteen years. 
While a county officer his home was at 
Centerville. After leaving office he lived 
in retirement, and was killed in a railroad 
accident Februarj^ 2, 1881. Captain Joss 
married Mary Moore Merrell. She was 
born in Chautauqua County, New York, 
of New England Puritan stock. 

Frederick A. Joss was born May 5, 1867, 
while the home of his parents was at Cen- 
terville, St. Joseph Count}-, Michigan. He 
lived there thirteen years, acquired his 
first training in the public schools, after- 
ward was a student in the Ann Arbor 
High School, and entered the University 
of Jlichigan with the class of 1889. 

From university he went to Canada and 
spent about eighteen months looking after 
some important mining interests in the 
Province of Quebec. Returning to the 
United States, he located at Frankfort, 
Indiana, where he studied law iinder 
Samuel 0. Bayless, who in his time was 
one of the prominent railroad attorneys 
of Indiana. Admitted to the bar in 1891, 
Mr. Joss did his first professional work in 
Frankfort, but in June of the following 
year came to Indianapolis and after a brief 
interval was accepted into partnership by 
Ovid B. Jameson. The finn of Jameson 
& Joss and later that of Jameson, Joss & 
Hay for many years had a standing second 
to none among the strong and resourceful 
legal combinations at Indianapolis. Mr. 
Joss is still practicing law and is also serv- 
ing as secretary of the Marion County 
Realty Company, and spends much time 
looking after extensive investments in vari- 
ous parts of the United States." 

His public record has three distinctive 
points, his service as corporation counsel 
of Indianapolis, his membership in the 
State Senate, and his leadership in the re- 
publican party of Indiana. He was ap- 
pointed corporation counsel in 1901. A 
notable feature of his official term was his 
suece.ss in bringing together the conflicting 
interests and claims of the local street rail- 
way people and the interurban lines to a 
settlement which contributed to the per- 
manent position Indianapolis occupies as 



one of the chief centers of interurban and 
electric railways in the United States. Out 
of that settlement one of the immediate 
results was the construction of the great 
interurban station at Indianapolis. 

Mr. Joss was elected a member of the 
State Senate in 1898, serving through the 
sessions of 1899-1901. Of his work as a 
senator and as a republican leader the 
best statement is found in the following 
words : ' ' While in the Senate he introduced 
the famous Joss Railroad Consolidation 
Bill, a measure affecting noncompeting 
lines of railroads similar to the measures 
now recommended to congress by the In- 
terstate Commerce Commission, ex-Presi- 
dent Roosevelt and President Taft, amen- 
datory of the Sherman Law. He was also 
author of the Joss Primary Law, which 
was the initial step in this state toward 
primary reform and which Mr. Joss be- 
lieves to contain the correct theory of 
primary legislation, and to which all prim- 
ary laws will ultimatelj' come, viz : a de- 
finite legal primary for the organization 
of parties, an optional legal primary for 
the selection of candidates, for the reason 
that an extensive double election system 
is a remedy and not an every day diet. 
In the season of 1899 he was one of the 
original Beveridge men, the manager of 
Mr. Beveridge 's interests on the floor of 
the eaucas when the latter became nominee 
of the republican party for the office of 
United State senator, and was chosen to 
make the nominating speech on the floor 
of the senate. Mr. Joss has been prominent 
in the councils of the republican party 
leaders during the last decade, being a 
delegate to the Republican National Con- 
vention in 1916, and has been distin- 
guished by a singular clearness of percep- 
tion and resourcefulness coupled with an 
unswerving loyalty to causes and men 
whom he espoused. He is an intense con- 
servative, a believer in existing conditions, 
but an advocate of change whenever the 
necessity and the method is jilain. " 

Many times in the course of his active 
career Mr. Joss has left his business and 
other interests for travel, and has a knowl- 
edge of the world and its peoples such as 
come only as a result of wide travel and 
extensive observation. Shortly before the 
outbreak of the European war he spent two 
years abroad, traveling and studying, visit- 
ing practically all the countries of con- 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



1933 



tinental Europe aud also Northern Africa 
and Western Asia. Mr. Joss is a member 
of the Columbia Club, the Marion Club, 
University Club, Dramatic Club, Country 
Club, the German House, and the Indian- 
apolis Maennerchor. In Masonry he has 
attained the thirty-second degree of Scot- 
tish Rite and membership in the Mystic 
Shrine. He belongs to the Dutch Reformed 
Church of America. September 2, 1891, 
he married Miss Mary Quarrier Hubbard. 
She was born and reared in West Vir- 
ginia, ' member of one of the oldest and 
most prominent families of Wheeling. Her 
parents were John R. and Lucy (Clark) 
Hubbard. The three children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Joss are Mary Hubbard, Lucyauna 
Hubbard and John Hubbard. Besides the 
advantages of local schools these children 
were educated abroad, spending much time 
in finishing schools in Switzerland, the 
home of 'Sir. Joss' ancestors. 

During the recent World war and after 
putting his business interests in a position 
to stand the unusual conditions Mr. Joss 
in 1918 moved his whole family to Wash- 
ington, where they were engaged in war 
work. Mr. Joss becoming legal advisor of 
the Engineering Division of the War De- 
partment. 

Herbert Marion Elliott has been a 
member of the Grant County bar for a 
quarter of a century, but his work has been 
too broad to be included in any one pro- 
fession. He has been called "the chil- 
dren's friend" of Marion, and it is his 
achievements as a disinterested aud public 
spirited citizen that make him best known 
in his home locality. 

For several years he was secretary of 
the Marion Federation of Charities; for 
four years was probation officer for Grant 
County ; for six years was president of the 
Board of Children's Guardians; and since 
its organization has been secretary of the 
Grant County Hospital Association. This 
last institution is now one of his deepest 
interests. He was not satisfied until the 
association had carried out its plan and in 
1917 had completed a well equipped hos- 
pital buildin* valued today at $70,000 and 
representing one of the institutions that 
mean most to the welfare of the City of 
Marion and the county. All his work in 
behalf of child welfare has not been done 
merejy through official channels. In fact 



much of it has been as a result of his 
private enterprise. He has found homes 
for a large number of children, aud the 
community has frequently expressed its 
gratification over the fact that it possesses 
a man who requires no official prompting 
to zealously preserve and safeguard the 
interests of delinquent and homeless juv- 
eniles. Several years ago J\lr. Elliott wrate 
an article for a history of Grant County 
on the work of the Juvenile Court and its 
kindred agencies, aud if the truth were 
known his own eiforts would furnish most 
of the real material for the story of that 
philanthropy and official service. Mr. "El- 
liott has written much on the subject of 
child saving and charity in general, and 
some of his ideas regarding the working 
of jail prisoners for the benefit of their 
families was made the subject of special 
endorsement at a session of the National 
Prison Reform Board. Mr. Elliott was the 
first man in Indiana to advocate the plan 
of using vacant lots in a city for rais- 
ing crops by and for the poor, a plan 
which of course has received much wider 
extension as a result of the war garden 
movement. 

Mr. Elliott was born at Holly, IMichi- 
gan, September 15, 1853, son of Marcus 
DeLos and Emily A. (Seely) Elliott, both 
natives of New York State. His father 
during the Civil war was captain of Com- 
pany H of the Eighth Michigan Light Ar- 
tillery, was a farmer bj' occupation, and 
among other offices served as a member of 
the JMichigan Legislature from Oakland 
County in 1877-78. He died September 
5, 1905, while his wife passed away in 
March, 1895. They had four children: 
Herbert M. ; Addie E. ; George M., now 
of Tacoma, formerly of Marion, Indiana ; 
and John D. By the second marriage of 
his father, Mr. Elliott has a half sister, 
Marion H., who is a public school teacher 
in iMichigan. A foster sister, Cora Belle, 
was adopted into his father's family and 
who later as a public entertainer became 
broadly known as the "Child Elocutionist 
of Michigan." 

The early life of Herbert IMarion Elliott 
was spent on a fann and he early learned 
the lessons of self reliance. He attended 
common schools at Holh', high school and 
college at Ann Arbor, and increased his 
educational opportunities during a service 
of nine years spent as a school t.eacher. 



1934 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



He also did some practical farming in Oak- 
land County. For abont four years, un- 
til 1882, he was in the drug business at 
Hollj', Davisburg and at Detroit. He also 
studied law, and on January 4, 1884, was 
admitted to the bar at St. Johns, Michi- 
gan. He practiced several years at Au- 
sable and Oscoda, Michigan, and in 1890 
opened an office at Detroit. In April, 1893, 
he moved to his home at Marion, Indiana. 
While in Michigan he served as prosecuting 
attorney of Iosco County two terms and 
was Circuit Court commissioner for two 
terms, and for two t^rms was secretary of 
the board of education of Oscoda, ilr. 
Elliott and his brother George were in 
partnership as lawyers at Marion for fif- 
teen years. In that time they organized 
and established the Marion Planing Mill 
Company and the Marion Insurance Ex- 
change, and were identified with a number 
of other local enterprises. Mr. Elliott is a 
Mason, active in the Presbyterian Church 
and its Sunday School, and is a repub- 
lican in politics. 

September 4, 1878, he married Miss Ella 
A. McLean, of Clio, Michigan. She was 
born in Genesee County, that state. Mrs. 
Elliott has been in close sympathy with 
her husband in matters of charitable work. 
They have two children, Harry McLean 
of Los Angeles, California, and Merle Dee 
Clark, of Indianapolis, Indiana. 

William Langsenkamp came to Indian- 
apolis about 1853, and was a coppersmith 
when the present metropolis of the state 
was but little more than an overgrown vil- 
lage. He continued to reside here sixty- 
four years, and his own activities and those 
of his descendants have brought many 
prominent associations of the name jvith 
the industrial welfare of Indianapolis. 

When he came to Indianapolis William 
Langsenkamp was about eighteen years of 
age. He possessed the inherited thrift and 
industry characteristic of the German- 
American people, and it was not many 
years before he bought out the old copper- 
smithing firm of Cottrell & Knight, and 
thereafter until his retirement conducted 
it under his own name. 

He was born in the Kingdom of Hano- 
ver, Germany, in 1835, and there had his 
early rearing. At the age of eighteen he 
left home and native land, following an 
older brother to America, and his entire 



later life was spent in Indianapolis. He 
early became known as a skillful worker, 
and always retained the reputation of an 
honorable, upright man of business. He 
married Helen Hunt in 1862. Their chil- 
dren were: Henry; Helen, Mrs. Henry 
Gramling; Lilly; William; Clara, Mrs. 
William Clume; Bertha, Mrs. John Hab- 
ing; Prank; and Edith, Mrs. Leo Sulli- 
van. 

William Langsenkamp died February 
14, 1917, at the age of eighty-one, honored 
and respected for his manj' estimable quali- 
ties and achievements. 

J. Ralph Fenstermaker, . secretary- 
treasurer of the Hugh J. Baker Company 
of Indianapolis, is one of the younger but 
among the most progressive business men 
of the capital city. 

He was born at Dayton, Montgomery 
County, Ohio, July 18, 1891, son of John 
R. and May C. Fenstermaker, both of whom 
are still living at the respective ages of 
sixty-three and fifty-eight. This is an old 
colonial family in America. The first an- 
cestor arrived in 1732, and successive 
moves of the present branch is indicated 
by the fact that Mr. Fenstermaker 's great- 
grandfather was born in New York State, 
his grandfather in Pennsylvania, his own 
father near Warren in Eastern Ohio, while 
he was born at Dayton in Western Ohio, 
and his son in Indianapolis. 

Graduating from the Steele High School 
at Dayton at the age of sixteen, Mr. Fen- 
stermaker then pursued post-graduate work 
in languages and history at the high school 
and attended the old Miami Commercial 
College, one of the pioneer schools offering 
a general business course, which was sup- 
plemented by thorough commercial experi- 
ence in the Winters National and the Third 
National banks at Dayton, and also as spe- 
cial agent for a Casualty Insurance Com- 
pany. 

Mr. Fenstermaker came to Indianapolis 
in June, 1911. He was at that time asso- 
ciated with Hugh J. Baker, formerly of 
Dayton, who had married Mr. Fensterm.ak- 
er's sister in June. 1906. The business as 
established at Indianapolis was a copart- 
nership known as the Fireproofing Spe- 
cialties Company. Later it was incorpor- 
ated in 1914 as the Fireproofing Company, 
and still later was consolidated with the 
reinforcing steel and engineering business 




(^y^^7<^eil^fi*-^^%^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1935 



of Hugh J. Baker on January 1, 1918, as 
the Hugh J. Baker Company. This is oue 
of the hu'ge and important establishments 
of Indianapolis, and more information con- 
cerning it will be found elsewhere in con- 
nection with the sketch of Mr. Hugh J. 
Baker. 

Mr. Fenstermaker has entered actively 
into all social and community affairs at 
Indianapolis. He is affiliated with Orien- 
tal Lodge No. 500, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, Oriental Chapter No. 147, Royal 
Arch Masons, the various Scottish Rite 
bodies and the Mystic Shrine. He is a 
member of the Chamber of Commerce, the 
Kiwanis Club, the Optimist Club and is a 
director in the Indianapolis Ci-edit Men's 
Association. October 17, 1912, he married 
Wanda Louise DeBra, of Dayton, Ohio. 
Their two children John Ralph, born 
April 29, 1914, and William Bancroft 
Fenstermaker, born January 29, 1919. 

Thomas Reed Cobb was born in Law- 
rence County, Indiana, July 2, 1828. He 
attended Indiana University, and after 
completing his law training practiced at 
Bedford from 1853 until 1867. He then 
removed to Vincennes, where he was en- 
gaged in the practice of law until his death, 
June 23, 1892. He served as a member of 
Congress for ten years, from 1877 until 
1887. 

Charles H. Rinne. For upwards of 
thirty years a large section of the popu- 
lation of Indianapolis has known and ap- 
preciated the business service rendered by 
Charles H. Rinne. Until he retired a few 
years ago he was in the grocery business, 
and has accumulated a number of interests 
that give him a substantial position among 
the leading commercial men of the city. 
Mr. Rinne is now secretarj^ of the Grocers 
Baking Company. 

~He was born near Hanover, Germany, 
July 9, 1865, son of Charles H. and Emilie 
(Wirgman) Rinne. His father, after serv- 
ing his time in the German army received 
the appointment as a deputy court officer, 
corresponding to the position of deputy 
sheriff in this country. He died in 1882, 
at the age of fifty-six. His wife died when 
her son Charles was a small child. Both 
parents were members of the Evangelical 
Lutheran Church. In their family were 
seven children. 



Charles H. Rinne was reared and edu- 
cated in his native land, and while there 
served a brief apprenticeship at the ti-ade 
of confectioner. His brother Herman E. 
had come to this country and located at In- 
dianapolis in 1872, and it was the example 
thus set that afforded Charles H. Rinne 
his inspiration to become an American. 
He gratified that desire when seventeen 
years of age. Reaching Indianapolis, he 
worked for a time with Warmeling 
Brothers, and then entered the employ of 
the Vonnegut Hardware Company, with 
whom he acquired a thorough business ex- 
perience. When twenty-one j-ears of age 
Mr. Rinne made application for citizen- 
ship papers, and at the age of twenty-five 
he became a full fledged American citizen 
and has always taken his citizenship seri- 
ously. 

After leaving the Vonnegut Hardware 
Company Mr. Rinne worked for his 
brother 'Herman in the latter 's grocery 
store, and three years later acquired a 
partnership in the business. In 1901 "Mr. 
Rinne sold out his store on Kansas and 
Meridian streets and at once opened a new 
store on Washington Street. In 1912 he 
retired from active merchandising. Be- 
sides his official position in the Grocers 
Baking Company, of which he is one of 
the seven originatore, Mv. Rinne helped 
reorganize the Indianapolis Casket Com- 
pany. This was a small business formerly 
conducted at Shelbyville, Indiana. The 
present organization was formed and took 
it over and established the plant at Indian- 
apolis, and has made it one of the larger 
enterprises of its kind. 

In February. 1889, Mr. Rinne married 
Emma Kuerst, daughter of Henry Kuerst. 
]\Irs. Rinne was born in Indianapolis, at 
Madison Avenue and McCarty Street. 
They are the parents of two children, Her- 
man and Mrs. Edward Ott, of Dayton, 
Ohio. The son Herman is a successful 
young business man of Indianapolis and 
is also prominent in musical circles. Mr. 
Rinne is identified with various benevolent 
societies, and in ilasonry is affiliated with 
the Lodge, Royal Arch Chapter, Scottish 
Rite and the Mystic Shrine. 

Richard Henry Misener is a retired 
engineer of the Michigan Central Railway 
Company and has long been a resident of 
Michigan City. He was born on a farm 



1936 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



six miles from Niagara Falls, Ontario, 
March 26, 1849. His grandfather, Nicholas 
ilisener, was a native of Germany, a 
pioneer farmer in Welland County, Can- 
ada, and lived there until his death at 
the age of ninety. He married a Scotch- 
woman named McLain, and they had a 
family of eight sons and four daughters, 
most of whom lived to be over ninety years 
of age, and one son to the age of 104. 

John Misener, father of Richard H., suc- 
ceeded to the ownership of the old Canada 
farm and spent his life there. The farm 
is now owned by one of his sons. He died 
at the age of ninety and his wife at eighty. 
Her maiden name was Jane Davis. Her 
father, David Davis, was a native of Ver- 
mont. John Misener and wife had a fam- 
ily of eleven children. 

Richard Henry Misener grew up on the 
Canada farm and at the age of seventeen 
went to Joliet, Illinois, and for two years 
worked at farm labor. He then became a 
fireman with the i\Iichigan Central Rail- 
road Company, and in 1872 established his 
home at Michigan City. He was promoted 
to engineer in 1875, and continued faith- 
ful in the service until 1902, when he re- 
tired and was pensioned. He is a member 
of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engi- 
neers and is also a Mason. 

In 1876 he married Sarah A. Eastwood, 
who was bom in Cook County, Illinois, 
daughter of Cyrus and Sarah (Hunter) 
Eastwood. Her grandfather, Cornelius 
Eastwood, was a native of Holland and for 
a number of years was a farmer in Lake 
County, Indiana. Mrs. Misener 's father 
was a carpenter and later a farmer near the 
present site of Erie, Indiana, and finally 
engaged in the mercantile business. 

Mr. and Mrs. Misener have one son, Her- 
bert R., who is member of the firm Robb 
& Misener, publishers of the ^Michigan City 
Evening News. Herbert R. ^Misener mar- 
ried Zeola Hershey, and their two children 
are Dorothy and Richard. 

» 

St.\nley Coulter. In May, 1917, hun- 
dreds of alumni and students of Purdue 
University and many distinguished scien- 
tists from all parts of the world gathered 
to participate in and lend the honor of 
their presence to the dedication of the 
Stanley Coulter Hall of Biology at Pur- 
due. Seldom does a man still in the full 
tide of life and energy receive such an 



impressive tribute. Stanley Coulter, whose 
name the Hall of Biology bears in recog- 
nition of his twenty years of valued serv- 
ice to the university, has been an Indiana 
teacher and educator for over forty years, 
and while personally best known to the 
student and alumni body of Purdue Uni- 
versity, his achievements and attainments 
as a scientist are known among scholarly 
men in every state of the Union. The 
Stanley Coulter Hall of Biology was erect- 
ed upon the site of the old Science Hall 
on the Purdue Campus, where it is at 
once one of the latest and most distinctive 
of the universitv buildings, constructed at 
a cost of $100,000. 

Stanley Coulter was born at Ningpo, 
China, June 2, 1853, son of Moses Stanley 
and Caroline F. (Crowe) Coulter. His 
older brother, John Merle Coulter, was 
also born in this far off missionary sta- 
tion, and has achieved distinction and 
scholarship along similar lines to his 
brother at Lafayette. John M. Coulter was 
formerly president of Lake Forest Univer- 
sity, but for over twenty years has been 
professor and head of the Department of 
Botany of the University of Chicago. 

Stanley Coulter acquired his early edu- 
cation in the schools of ]\Iadison, Indiana, 
and when quite yoiing entered Hanover 
College, from which he received the fol- 
lowing degrees: A. B. in 1871, A. M. in 
1874, Ph. D. in 1879, and LL. D. in 1908. 
He began teaching soon after leaving Hano- 
ver, one year at Franklin, Indiana, and 
then in the Logansport High School, where 
he remained eight years as principal. Dur- 
ing a temporary absence from the teach- 
ing profession he practiced law, beginning 
in 1882, but after three years in that pro- 
fession he resumed the work for which un- 
doubtedly his talents and experience have 
best fitted him. He then became a pro- 
fessor in Coates College for Women at 
Terre Haute, but in 1887 came to Purdue 
University as Professor Biology and di- 
rector of the Biological Laboratory. In 
1907 he became Dean of the School of 
Science, so that his full title is now Dean 
of the School of Science, Professor of 
Biology and Director of the Biological La- 
l)oratory. 

Professor Coulter is a member of many 
scholarly organizations and educational as- 
sociations. He is a member of the Sigma 
Xi, Beta Theta Pi and Sigma Delta Chi, 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



is a Fellow of the Indiana Academy of 
Science, which he served as president in 
1897, a member of the American Associa- 
tion for the Advancement of Science, of 
the State Board of Forestry, was the tirst 
president of the Science Teachers Associa- 
tion, is a member of the Western Society 
of Naturalists and a member of the Botani- 
cal Society of America. Professor Coulter 
was Lecturer of Botany in the Summer 
Schools of Wisconsin in 1893 and at Cor- 
nell University from 1903 to 1907, and 
has been Lecturer on Science Teaching at 
the Indianapolis Teachers Training School 
since 1900 and Lecturer to Seniors in 
Physiology at St. Elizabeth's Hospital, 
Lafayette, since 1895. 

Professor Coulter's services are in much 
demand as a lecturer, and he is one of the 
most popular platform speakers among 
modern scientists. He is author of Forest 
Trees of Indiana, published in 1892 ; Flora 
of Indiana, published in 1899 ; eleven pam- 
phlets upon Nature Study, forty-five pam- 
phlets of Scientific Studies and Reports, 
and seventy other titles, including many 
book reviews, biographical sketches, etc. 
Professor Coulter is a director of the Na- 
tional Society for the Protection of Wild 
Plants. He is a member of the Associa- 
tion of Colleges and Secondary Schools 
of the Northwest, and in 1901-02 was pres- 
ident of the State Audubon Society. In 
1904 he was chairman of the Central 
Botanist Association. Another member- 
ship that attests his broad interests is in 
the Association for the Promotion of En- 
gineering Education. All his former stu- 
dents at Purdue will appreciate the truth 
of the following words that have been writ- 
ten of Professor Coulter: "He is a man 
of deep convictions, indomitable persever- 
ance and thorough in his investigations. 
He is not easily discouraged, brushes away 
trifles and goes directly for the heart of 
his subject. With all his learning and dis- 
tinction he is modest in his claims, kind 
and patient in dealing either with people or 
problems, open and candid in manner, and 
of the well poised equable temperament 
which renders him proof against discour- 
agements. ' ' 

January 21, 1879, Professor Coulter 
married Lucy Post, daughter of Martin M. 
Post, D. D., of Logansport. Their only 
daughter, Mabel, born in October, 1880, 



married Albert Smith, a member of the 
Purdue University faculty. 

Cl.\sson Victor Peterson has taken 
high rank as an educator in Indiana, is 
both a teacher and school administrator, 
and is a man whose ideals and breadth of 
view make him peculiarly well qualified to 
direct the schools of such an important 
county as Tippecanoe in the capacity of 
superintendent. 

]\Ir. Peterson is a native of Tippecanoe 
County, having been born on a farm ten 
miles southwest of Lafayette on July 14, 
1873. His father, Augustus Peterson, was 
born in Sweden January 3, 1832, brought 
his family to America in 1872, and ar- 
rived in Indiana with practically no capi- 
tal and no experience with American ways. 
For a time he rented land in Tippecanoe 
Comity, and as success came to him he 
bought property and had a small farm 
near West Point, on which he spent his 
last years. He died there December 4, 
1903. He was a member of the Society of 
Friends and after attaining American citi- 
zenship voted as a republican. He married 
in 1854 Caroline Freeburg, who was born 
in Sweden December 11, 1831. Of their 
nine children the four oldest died in 
Sweden in infancy. The other five are: 
William A., deceased; Classon V.; Clin- 
ton E. ; Alice E. and Amanda J., also de- 
ceased. 

Classon Victor Peterson was reared on 
his father's farm, attended public schools 
in Wayne Township, and in preparation 
for his chosen work attended the State 
Normal School at Terre Haute two terms 
and one year in Valparaiso University. 
His higher education was acquired as a 
result of his own earnings as a teacher. 
Mr. Peterson graduated from Purdue Uni- 
versity with class of 1910. 

In the same year he became superin- 
tendent of schools at West Point, and his 
successful record there as well as his in- 
dividual work as a teacher laid the founda- 
tion for his promotion in 1917 to his 
present responsibilities as county superin- 
tendent. 

Mr. Peterson is a republican in politics 
and a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. April 27, 1904, he married Miss 
Elna B. Fonts. Mrs. Peterson was born 
in Tippecanoe County and for four years 



1938 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



prior to her marriage was a teacher. They 
have five children, Mabel, Paul, Dorothy, 
Lillian and William Arthur. 

Leo Pottlitzer was a resident and busi- 
ness man of Lafayette almost thirty-five 
years. The importance of his life could 
not be stated more concisely than in a brief 
editorial which appeared in a Lafayette 
paper at the time of his death. This edi- 
torial reads as follows: "The death of 
such a public spirited citizen as Leo Pott- 
litzer, whose sudden demise is chronicled 
today, is a distinct loss to the community. 
For many years he had been one of our 
enterprising business men, a hard worker 
and an enthusiastic supporter of every 
movement calculated to benefit his home 
city. He was intensely loyal to Lafayette 
and ever deeply concerned for its welfare. 
In the ranks of the Travelers' Protective 
Association he was long prominent, being 
one of the organizers of this great national 
society of commercial travelers. The story 
of his business career shows how success 
inevitably ' comes to reward honest effort 
rightly applied." 

Leo Pottlitzer was born in Germany May 
24, 1856, and died in Lafayette September 
15, 1917, at the age of sixty-one. For a 
lifetime limited by three score years, it 
was signally usefui and remarkable for its 
fruits and achievements. At the age of 
nine years he was brought to America, the 
family locating at Jersey City, and thence 
going to New York, where he spent his 
years to manhood. Early experience 
brought him in touch with the fruit and 
general commission business, and under his 
hands that became really a profession and 
he was never in any other line than the 
fruit and commission business, for which 
reason he was sought on every side in his 
mature years for advice and directions as 
to methods and practices in the business^ 

On coming to Indiana Mr. Pottlitzer first 
located at Indianapolis, where he had a 
commission business on a small scale, but 
in 188.3 he removed to Lafayette. Leo was 
the oldest of five sons, the other brothers 
being Jacob, Max, Julius and Herman. He 
also had one sister, Mrs. Henrietta Dia- 
mond, who is still living in Meadvillet, 
Penn.sylvania. He and his brothers are 
all Jiow deceased. 

Leo Pottlitzer came to Lafayette with 
his brother Julius, who died May 17, 1910. 



The brothers opened a small commission 
store at Second and Main streets. Two 
years later they were joined by their 
brother Herman, who died in January, 
1908. A little later Max Pottlitzer came 
to the city and joined forces with them. 
Max died in May, 1907. In 1887 the Pott- 
litzer brothers bought the old Baptist 
Church property on Sixth Street between 
Main and Ferry. There they put up a 
large building which they occupied many 
years under the name Pottlitzer Brothers 
Fruit Company, another portion of it being 
occupied by the Lafayette Baking Com- 
pany. All the brothers were master minds 
at directing such a business, and its growth 
and prosperity were steadily increased. 
The firm finally bought adjoining real es- 
tate in the same block and erected the build- 
ing which was the home of the Pottlitzer 
Brothers for many years, and besides this 
main establishment they maintained branch 
stores in Fort Wayne and Huntington. In 
1908 Pottlitzer Brothers Fruit Company 
was dissolved, and a little later Leo Pott- 
litzer organized the Leo Pottlitzer & Son 
Company, commission house, first occupy- 
ing a room on North Fourth Street, aiid 
then as business demanded larger quarters 
moving to 10 North Third Street, where 
the establishment still stands as a monu- 
ment to the career of its founder. Leo 
Pottlitzer was president of the company, 
and his son and successor, Edward L., was 
secretary and treasurer. 

The late Mr. Pottlitzer was a man of 
irreproachable character, unquestioned in- 
tegrity, and a citizen of liberal views and 
generous impulses. Any worthy charity 
could alwaj^s depend upon him for assist- 
ance and the City of Lafayette was richer 
for his presence as a citizen and coworker. 
He cherished and supported every plan 
and movement for making Lafayette a bet- 
ter and greater city, and no matter what 
the cares of private business he alwaj-s kept 
well informed as to public questions and of 
matters of broad public interest. 

He was one of the charter members of 
the National Association of the Travelers' 
Protective Association, and was one of the 
four delegates from Indiana at the first 
convention in Denver in 1890. He had 
been a member of the old Travelers' Pro- 
tective Association for years before it dis- 
banded. He was state president in Indiana 
at one time. The delegates to the Denver 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1939 



eonveiitiou were furnished passes to that 
city by the different railroads, the pass con- 
sisting of a solid silver piece, good for 2,500 
miles of travel. Leo Pottlitzer preserved 
his pass as a treasured relic. He was fond 
of talking of the days of the Denver con- 
vention, and believed that no convention 
had ever been celebrated with so much hos- 
pitality and entertainment. He was promi- 
nent both locally and in the state and 
national organizations, and in 1891-92 
served as president of the State Associa- 
tion of Indiana and was a national di- 
rector of the organization in 1893-94. 
He had many warm friends among the 
Travelers' Protective Association through- 
out the country. In June, 1916, when the 
national convention of the association was 
held at Lafayette, ilr. Pottlitzer was 
treasurer of the local executive committee, 
and really overtaxed himself with work of 
arrangements and other responsibilities. 
During the entire week of the convention 
he was confined to his apartments at the 
Fowler Hotel, but from his sick bed was 
able to greet many of the visiting delegates 
who came to express recognition of his 
services. 

Mr. Pottlitzer was also affiliated with 
the local lodge of Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the United Commercial 
Travelers, the Masonic Order, the Knights 
of PjTthias, the Royal League and was a 
memljer of the Reformed Jewish Congi-ega- 
tion. His funeral was conducted by Rabbi 
Maxwell Silver. On January 12, 1879, Mr. 
Pottlitzer married Minnie Truman, of Cin- 
cinnati. She and two children survive him, 
the son being Edward L. Pottlitzer and the 
daughter, Mrs. Charles Ducas, of New 
York City. There were also two grand- 
children by Mrs. Ducas, Dorothy aud 
Elaine, and three .by his son, Leo, Babette 
and Joseph Pottlitzer. 

Edward L. Pottlitzer, only son of the 
late Leo Pottlitzer, was bom in Indianap- 
olis, Indiana, May 25, 1881, but has lived 
in Lafayette since early infancy. He was 
educated in the Lafayette High School, and 
attended the Northwestern Military Acad- 
emy at Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. On com- 
pleting his education he became associated 
with his father in business, and was secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Leo Pottlitzer & 
Son Company, and after the death of hjs 
father became president of this large and 
prosperous commission house. 



He is also affiliated with the Travelers' 
Pi-oteetive Association, the United Com- 
mercial Travelers, the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, and the Rotary Club 
of Lafayette. On January 12, 1904, at St. 
Louis, Missouri, he married Miss Helene J. 
Klein. She was born at Cincinnati No- 
vember 12, 1881, daughter of Solomon and 
Babette (Hyman) Klein, natives of Ger- 
many and both now deceased. Mr. and 
Mrs. Edward L. Pottlitzer have three chil- 
dren : Leo, born March 24, 1905 ; Babette, 
born January 12, 1906 ; and Joseph Klein, 
born February 10, 1910. 

Henry Heath Vinton. No name rep- 
resents more of the dignity and high abil- 
ities of the legal profession in Northwestern 
Indiana than that of Vinton. The present 
judge of the Superior Court of Tippecanoe 
County is Henry H. Vinton, aud as a ju- 
rist his work has brought further honoi's to 
a name that has been associated with ju- 
dicial and other high places in the affairs 
of Tippecanoe County for over half a cen- 
tury. 

His father, the late David Perrine Vin- 
ton, was a successful law.yer and judge at 
Lafayette for almost half a century. Born 
at Miamisburg, Ohio, November is, 1828, 
David P. Vinton was a son of Boswell Mer- 
rick and Hannah (Davis) Vinton. His 
father died in 1833. His mother married 
again and in 1841 brought her family to 
Lafayette. David P. Vinton was thirteen 
years old when the family moved to La- 
fayette, and for a number of years he and 
an older brother conducted a foundry and 
machinist's business. He worked in the 
shops until 1848, when he supplemented 
his somewhat intermittent schooling by en- 
tering South Hanover College at Hanover, 
Indiana, and was a student there until De- 
cember, 1851. In the spring of 1852 he 
began the study of law with Behm & Wood 
of Lafayette, and was admitted to the bar 
in 1854. Public honors came to him in 
rapid succession. He was city attorney in 
1855 and again in 1861, and in the latter 
year was appointed by Governor ilorton 
judge of the Common Pleas Court. After 
filling out the vacant term he was electe,d 
to the office. That district of the Common 
Pleas Court had jurisdiction over the coun- 
ties of Tippecanoe, Benton, White, and 
Carroll. He was in office six years, and 
in March, 1865, had declined a commission 



1940 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



from President Lincoln as an associate jus- 
tice of the Supreme Court of the Territory 
of New Mexico. In 1867 Governor Baker 
appointed him judge of the Criminal Court, 
and he was elected in the fall of that year 
and held office to 1870. In 1870 he was 
elected circuit judge, and performed the 
responsible duties of that office for twenty 
years. 

Henry H. Vinton, a son of David Per- 
rine and Elizabeth Catherine Vinton, was 
born at Lafayette November 30, 1864. He 
grew up in a home where there was every 
incentive to make the best of his oppor- 
tunities. He was given a liberal educa- 
tion. He attended the public schools of 
Lafayette and in 1885 graduated from 
Purdue University. During 1885-86 he 
was a student of law in the offices of Cof- 
forth & Stuart at Lafayette, and in 1886-87 
attended the Columbia Law School. Judge 
Vinton was admitted to practice in Tippe- 
canoe County in 1887, and has been one 
of the prominent members of the bar for 
thirty years. He was in partnership with 
his father from 1889 until the latter 's 
death, and from that date until February, 
1901, was in practice with Edgar D. Ran- 
dolph. 

Judge Vinton was appointed in 1898 
referee in bankruptcy by Hon. John H. 
Baker, then United States district judge. 
On February 8, 1901, Governor Winfield 
T. Durbin appointed him judge of the 
Superior Court of Tippecanoe County, and 
b.y regular election and re-election he has 
since continued in that office until his serv- 
ice now covers a period of seventeen years. 

Judge Vinton married June 13, 1888, 
Miss Mabel Levering. Their only child is 
Katherine Levering, now the wife of Wil- 
liam F. Taylor of the Rainbow Division 
and who is referred to on other pages. 

Charles J. Elliott, president of the 
Ridge Lumber Company, is one of the 
younger and very enterprising bufiincss 
men of Newcastle, and came to that city 
and took his place in business affairs after 
a successful experience as farmer and farm 
owner. 

Mr. Elliott was born in Columbus Town- 
ship of Bartholomew County, Indiana, in 
1884, son of Oscar and Sadie (Carr) 
Elliott. He is of Scotch-Irish ancestry. 
His people have been in America for many 
generations. Mr. Elliott obtained his early 



education in the country schools of his na- 
tive county, and developed his strength by 
work on the home farm. At the age of 
sixteen he went to farming, and he had a 
farm of 346 acres under his personal man- 
agement and supervision until 1916. In 
that j-ear he came to Newcastle, buying a 
retail lumber yard from J. D. Case. He 
soon incorporated the business, of which he 
has since been president. Besides selling 
general lumber material Mr. Elliott also es- 
tablished a planing mill, and now has one 
of the principal concerns of Henry County 
for mill and general builders supplies. He 
also owns some local real estate. 

In 1907 Mr. Elliott married Mary M. 
Schwenk, daughter of John and Margaret 
(Moores) Schwenk, of Columbus, Indiana. 
They have two children: Helen M. and 
Charles Dale, the son born in 1909. Mr. 
Elliott is a democrat and a Knight Templar 
Mason, a Knight of Pythias, and is a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian Church. 

George W. Cooper, for many years a 
member of the Columbus, Indiana, bar, 
was born in Bartholomew County of this 
state May 21, 1851. In 1872 he graduated 
from the law department of Indiana Uni- 
versity, and from that time until his death, 
he was one of the leading members of the 
legal profession of Columbus. Some j'^ears 
before his death Mr. Cooper was elected 
to represent his district in Congress, and 
in that office he carried forward the same 
high ideals which he had maintained in his 
daily practice. 

William S. Potter has been a member 
of the Indiana bar fort.y years, has prac- 
ticed his profession in his native city of 
Lafayette, and has become widely known 
as a corporation and business lawyer, 
financier, and as a citizen who has contrib- 
uted much to the material improvement 
and general betterment of his home city. 

He represents one of the older families 
of Lafayette, being the oldest son of Wil- 
liam A." and Eliza (Stiles) Potter. Wil- 
liam A. Potter was born in New York State, 
and located at Lafayette, Indiana, in 1843. 
He was a merchant for many years, after- 
wards a manufacturer, and used his means 
and influence in such a way as to promote 
the substantial welfare of Lafayette. His 
wife was a native of Suffield, Connecticut, 
and came to Lafayette, Indiana, in 1850. 



«*rv.- ;>M,I .'IS 




INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1941 



William S. Potter was born at the home 
of his parents on Columbia and Tenth 
Streets in Lafa.yette in 1855. He was well 
educated both in public and private schools, 
and in 1876 graduated from the Massa- 
chusetts Agricultural College at Amherst, 
ilassachusetts. His mind was definitely 
made up to follow the law, and returning 
to Lafayette he became a law student in 
the olBces of Wallace & Rice, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1878. Soon after- 
ward the firm of Wallace & Rice was dis- 
solved. For a time he was associated in 
practice with Mr. Wallace, but later ac- 
cepted the offer of a full partnership with 
Captain Rice. The firm of Rice & Potter 
continued for twenty years, and during 
that time gained a reputation and a busi- 
ness hardly second to any law firm in north- 
ern Indiana. This partnership was dis- 
solved through the death of Captain Rice 
in 1901, and since then Mr. Potter has 
practiced alone. For a number of years 
he has given special attention to business 
law and real estate law, and in these spe- 
cial fields his clients have never hesitated 
to recognize skill and ability with the best 
in the state. No small part of his special 
training in real estate matters is due to his 
own operations, which have been extensive 
and important in the handling and devel- 
opment of real estate both iji Lafayette 
and in different parts of the state and 
country. 

Mr. Potter is vice president and a direc- 
tor of the Northern Indiana Land Com- 
pany. This organization formerly owned 
about 25,000 acres in Lafayette and Chi- 
cago, propertj- bought for development and 
improvement. He also owns important 
holdings in the South and West and in 
Chicago. Mr. Potter for many years has 
been interested in banking, has been vice 
president and director of the National 
Fowler Bank at Lafayette, and is a stock- 
holder in institutions in various cities and 
towns. Throughout his career he has kept 
in close touch with the material progress 
and improvement of his native city. 

In 1885 Mr. Potter married Miss Fanny 
W. Peck, of Troy, Pennsylvania. Mrs. 
Potter is a member of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution. They have one son, 
George L. Potter, who is a graduate of 
Hamilton College, New York, and later was 
taking post graduate work at Harvard Uni- 
versity when the war broke out and he en- 



listed in the signal corps. The Potter fam- 
ily are members of the Presbyterian 
Church. Mr. Potter served on the board 
of trustees of the church for many .years. 
He and the late Oliver Goldsmith had 
charge of the erection of the church build- 
ing, and when destroyed by fire soon after 
its completion they were selected to rebuild, 
and the congregation now has one of the 
most beautiful and attractive edifices in 
the city. He is also the only living char- 
ter member of the "Lincoln Club" who 
has been a continuous member since its 
organization. 

Having been in the enjoyment of the 
rewards of mature success for many years, 
Mr. Potter has used his means liberally for 
the good of his city, for various worthy ob- 
jects of charity and for the comforts of 
wise provision of those near and dear to 
him. He has one of the most attractive 
homes in Lafayette. It is situated on 
State Street near Ninth, and known as 
' ' Whitehall. " The description of this place 
and how it came to be acquired and built 
by Mr. Potter has been written at length 
for another publication, and may be used 
without apology here. "This mansion was 
originally built by the state of Connecti- 
cut to represent that state at the World's 
Fair at St. Louis, but when the Fair closed 
it was purchased by j\Ir. Potter, who had 
it dismantled, packed in cars and shipped 
to Lafayette. In preparing a site for the 
structure he secured a tract of four acres 
on State street, from which he removed 
the buildings and erected the present 
structure thereon, making one of the most 
beautiful and attractive residences in the 
state. The edifice is a perfect type of the 
colonial mansion of olden times, being mod- 
eled after several historic homes of Con- 
necticut, the main part three stories high, 
with wings two stories. The porch is also 
two stories, and extending out across the 
front is semi-elliptical in shape and sup- 
ported by four huge fluted columns of 
stone. An elaborate colonial stairway af- 
fords entrance to the main part of the 
building, and some of the interior wood- 
work, taken from the historic Hubbard 
Slater home in the city of Norwich, Con- 
necticut, adds interest as well as beauty to 
the apartments. The great central hall is 
open through both stories, the upper rooms 
forming a gallery which is wainscotted to 
the ceiling in the fashion greatly admired 



1942 



IxNDIANA AND INDIANANS 



by former generations. The edifice, which 
is complete in all its parts, is finished in 
the highest style of the builder's art and 
with its elaborate furnishings and broad 
attractive lawns, walks bordered with beds 
of beautiful flowers and containing a num- 
ber of gigantic forest trees and many other 
beautiful and pleasing features, combine to 
make a complete and luxurious home." 

Henry C. Schroeder. During the many 
years of his life spent in Indianapolis 
Henry C. Schroeder attained to those 
things which constitute a well rounded and 
unequivocal success. By sheer force of 
personal character and will power he made 
his name honored and substantial with dig- 
nity and esteem in a community where, 
the center of a large population, only a 
comparatively few men attain the wider 
distinctions of being thoroughly well 
known. 

His life throughout was a record of self 
achievement. He was born in Hanover, 
Germany, August 3, 1862, a son of Kasper 
and Anne (Bruenger) Schroeder. His par- 
ents spent all their lives in Germany and 
were farmers in modest circumstances. 
Henry C. Schroeder was nine years old 
when his mother died, and from that time 
forward he was practically unaided in his 
efforts at making a place and position in 
tlie world. He benefited from the system 
of eompulsoi-y education and attended the 
German schools until about fourteen. He 
was then apprenticed to a shoemaker, and 
spent four years in learning that trade. 
After that he worked as a journeyman, 
and at the age of nineteen set out alone for 
America, reaching New York City with 
only one dollar. It was not long after that 
he came to Indianapolis, and here his ex- 
I^eriences were varied but always in a ris- 
ing degree of usefulness and reward. For 
a time he worked as a shoemaker, after- 
ward in a furniture factory, was employed 
in the old Eagle i\Iachine Works and from 
there went into the shops of the Pittsburgh, 
Cincinnati, Chicago & St. Louis Railway 
as a car repairer. For a time he was also 
a brakeman on the Panhandle Railroad, but 
after his marriage was for ten years car 
inspector of passenger ears at the Indian- 
apolis Union Station. "While active in the 
railway service he was associated with John 
Groff in the organization of the order of 
Railway Car Men. 



After leaving the railway service Mr. 
Schroeder engaged in the retail shoe busi- 
ness for about two years, following which 
he was a member of the city police force 
several years, the last three years being 
sergeant. He then engaged in the retail 
coal business, but sold his interests there 
four and a half years later in order to de- 
vote his entire time and attention to his 
duties as trustee of Center Township, Ma- 
rion County, an ofHce to which he was 
elected in November, 1908. He was a hard 
working and painstaking public official and 
practicall.v died in the harness of his of- 
fice, being its incumbent at the time of his 
death on May 25, 1913. 

There was not a time in his life from the 
age of nine when he was not engaged in 
some useful service which earned him all 
the rewards he received. He acquired an 
honored name and a comfortable fortune 
in America, and richly merited both. He 
was true to , himself in the finer sense of 
the term, was honorable in his dealings 
with his fellow men, gave freely in an 
unostentatious way to worthy charitable 
objects, and stood always for those things 
which are best in community and private 
life. He was a greatly beloved citizen, and 
he left an unsullied name as a heritage to 
his children. 

In politics he was for many years one 
of the local leaders of the democratic party. 
In Masonry he was affiliated with Logan 
Lodge No. 575, Ancient Free and Accepted 
ilasons, and Indianapolis Chapter No. 5, 
Royal Arch Masons, and was also a mem- 
ber of the Ancient Order of Druids and 
the Improved Order of Red Men. 

In 1883 Mr. Schroeder married Mary 
Tebbe, daughter of Henry Tebbe of Indian- 
apolis. He left two children : Harry C. 
and Mvrtle, the latter the wife of John 
E. Steeg. 

Henry C. Schroeder, Jr., was bom at In- 
dianapolis August 13, 1891. He grew up 
in this city, attended the public schools, and 
early in life mastered the profession of ac- 
countancy. As an expert accountant he 
was employed in the Fountain Square 
State Bank and the Fidelity Trast Com- 
pany, and then largel.v for the purpose of 
recovering his impaired health he spent 
two years on his father's farm. Upon the 
death of his father he succeeded him as 
trustee of Center Township. He is one of 
the leading younger business men of In- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1943 



dianapolis. For two years he was asso- 
ciated with Dick Miller in the investment 
business, and then with Mr. Miller as an 
associate bought the Hogan Transfer & 
Storage Company. Mr. Schroeder is pres- 
ident and manager of this business, which 
is a reallj' imposing organization, one of 
the most substantial concerns of its kind in 
the state. 

Mr. Schroeder is, like his father, a dem- 
ocrat and is a thirty-second degree Scot- 
tish Rite ^lason, and a member of Murat 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Oreder Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Indianapolis. He is 
also a member of the Rotary Club, Indiana 
Democratic Club, and the Chamber of 
Commerce. September 17, 1913, he mar- 
ried Miss Hazel McGee, a native of Win- 
chester, Indiana, and the one child of this 
union is Elizabeth Ann. 

Jacob F. Hoke, Jr. It is not an exag- 
geration to say that Jacob F. Hoke, Jr., is 
one of Indianapolis' best known business 
men and his associations are with a wide 
variety of affairs not immediately con- 
nected with business. As a manufacturer 
he is secretary and treasurer of the Hol- 
comb and Hoke Manufacturing Company, 
the largest concern in the world manufac- 
turing corn popping and peanut roasting 
machinery and other high grade specialties. 

Mr. Hoke is an Indiana man by adop- 
tion, his native state being Kentucky. He 
was born in Jeffersontown in Jefferson 
County, the ninth son of Andrew J. and 
Mary Snj-der Hoke. There is hardly any 
other family of Kentucky that can claim a 
longer period of residence in the Blue 
Grass State than the Hokes. Long before 
the Revolutionary war Andrew Hoke, Sr., 
great-great-grandfather of the Indianapolis 
business man, together with five sons, mi- 
grated from Lancaster County, Pennsyl- 
vania, to the far western frontier, locating 
in Kentucky at a time when the flintlock 
rifle and the axe were the primary and all 
important implements of civilization and 
of personal safety and welfare. This fam- 
ily was one of the very first to invade that 
virgin forest and begin its reclamation. 
j\Iany times they had to protect their home 
and household from the savage Indians. 
Here generation after generation of the 
Hokes lived, and many allied with the fam- 
ily by marriage are still found in that 
state. 



Jacob F. Hoke, Jr., better known among 
his friends and business associates as Fred, 
grew up in his native Kentucky county, at- 
tended public school, worked on a farm, at 
railroad construction work, and also as 
clerk in a grocery store. Those were his 
important experiences until he left home 
about the time he reached his majority. 
Going to Sullivan, Indiana, at the age of 
twenty-one, he found employment as clerk 
in the hardware and implement store of 
Jacob F. Hoke, Sr. The senior Hoke was 
also president of the Sullivan State Bank. 

Of Mr. Hoke's experiences in Sullivan it 
is not necessary to speak except for one 
important event which occurred in 1896, 
when he married Miss Katharine Cushman. 
Her father. Dr. Arbaces Cushman, was a 
prominent man and of a prominent fam- 
ily. In 1897 Mr. Hoke became a partner 
with J. Irving Holeomb in the manufac- 
ture of brushes and janitors svipplies at 
Sullivan. This business at the beginning 
was not one of the leading industries of 
the state, but under the judicious care and 
energy of the partners it prospered, other 
specialties were added, and they took over 
an establishment at Indianapolis for man- 
ufacturing equipment for bowling alleys. 
The growth of the business was nothing 
less than prodigious, and prior to the great 
European war the products were sold to 
everj' civilized country on the face of the 
globe. 

Finally Mr. Hoke sold his interests in 
the brush factory and a new corporation 
was created by J. I. Holeomb, J. F. Hoke, 
Sr., and J. F. Hoke, Jr., being the present 
Holeomb and Hoke ^Manufacturing Com- 
pany. The purpose and motto of the men 
behind the business is to manufacture spe- 
cialties designed to earn the purchaser's 
money. "Without a doubt it is the largest 
concern in the world manufacturing corn 
popping and peanut roasting machines. 

While Mr. Hoke is essentially a business 
man and has had his hands full to look 
after his varied responsibilities, he has also 
found time to cultivate the social side of 
life. He is a Knight Templar and Scot- 
tish Rite Mason, a member of the IMystic 
Shrine and is a member of the Board of 
Governors of the Board of Trade, the 
Chamber of Commerce, the Woodstock 
Club, Highland Club, and the Rotary Club. 

In politics he is a democrat, as a matter 
of principle, and has affiliated with the 



1944 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



party not for the purpose of pecuniary gain 
or ofScial position but for the good of the 
cause and as a medium for the expression 
of that influence which every live citizen 
should wield. He is an active member of 
the Indiana Democratic Club, and is the 
only man honored by election for three 
terms as its president. While he was presi- 
dent the home of the club at Vermont 
Street and University Park was established. 
He is a trustee of DePauw University, a 
director of the Indianapolis Young Men's 
Christian Association, chairman of the In- 
dianapolis Committee War Personnel Board 
for Young Men's Christian Association 
Overseas Work, member of the executive 
committee for Marion County in the Third 
and Fourth Liberty Loans, and succeeded 
J. K. Lilly as chairman of the committee 
for the Fifth or Victory Loan. 

Mr. Hoke is also a prominent Methodist 
and in 1916 was sent as a lay delegate to 
the Quadrennial General Conference at 
Saratoga Springs, New York. He is also 
president of the Indiana Laymen's Asso- 
ciation. Mr. and Mrs. Hoke have three 
children, Cushman, Frank and Mary. 

Ella B. McShirley, D. 0., is one of the 
highly proficient women in professional life 
in Indiana, and is a thoroughly trained and 
qualified graduate nurse, physician and os- 
teopath. Doctor McShirley recently lo- 
cated at Newcastle, where she has offices in 
the Jennings Building. 

She was bom at Williamsburg, Indiana, 
a daughter of Jonathan and Emily Neal. 
She is of Scotch-Irish and English ances- 
try. She attended public schools at Win- 
chester and in 1897 married Dr. J. L. Mc- 
Shirley, of Sulphur Springs, Indiana. 
They had one daughter, Mary Janice. 

Dr. J. L. McShirley died November 12, 
1906. They had lived part of their mar- 
ried life at Newcastle. Mrs. McShirley be- 
came interested in her husband's profes- 
sion, and after his death entered the State 
College Hospital to train for the nurse's- 
course and took all the work. She prac- 
ticed five years at Winchester, and in Sep- 
tember, 1913, entered the American School 
of Osteopathy at Kirksville, Missouri, 
graduating in June, 1916. She received 
honors in chemistry in her course. Later 
she took post-graduate work in genito-uri- 
nary diseases, gynecology and orificial sur- 
gery. Doctor McShirley "located and bought 



a practice at Poplar Bluff, Missouri, re- 
maining there for two years, and on June 
30, 1918, came to Newcastle. 

She is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church, but is of Quaker ancestry. She is 
a member of the Delta Omega Alpha Sor- 
ority at Kirksville, is affiliated with the 
Eastern Star at Winchester, the Pythian 
Sisters, and the American Osteopathic As- 
sociation; 

Herman Lauter. A life that eventuated 
in much service, rendered in a quiet and 
wholesome way, to the community was that 
of the late Herman Lauter, one of the best 
known citizens of Indianapolis. In a bus- 
iness way he was best known as a furniture 
manufacturer, and founder of the business 
still conducted as the H. Lauter Company. 
He had many associations with the leading 
men of the citj' after the close of the Civil 
war, and among other things deserves to 
be remembered for his influence in the 
cause of education. 

He was born near Berlin, Germany, of 
Jewish parentage. His father being a 
rabbi, a teacher, and scholar, afforded the 
youth most of his early education. While 
in Germany he also learned the trade of 
glass maker. Just before the Civil war, 
for the purpose of bettering his condition, 
he emigrated to the United States and for 
a number of years his home was in New 
York City. In 1868 he started the manu- 
facture of furniture on a small scale, and 
in a few years saw his output increasing 
and commanding an excellent market. 
Later, in order to get closer to the sources 
of raw material, he moved to Indianapolis, 
and thenceforward gave his chief attention 
to this business and it is one of the sub- 
stantial minor, industries of the city. 

He also became noted among the pro- 
gressive men of his day in Indianapolis. 
He was one of the influential business men 
who helped to make manual training a de- 
partment of the high school and showed a 
high degree of interest in this technical 
feature of public school education. Mr. 
Lauter was a member of no religious de- 
nomination, he was broad-minded and be- 
nevolent and did much in an unostenta- 
tious way for charity. While of foreign 
birth he was intensely an American, a be- 
liever in the institutions of his adopted 
coimtry an'd admired especially the free- 
dom of worship and of personal action ae- 



1487949 

INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1945 



cording to the dictates of the individual 
conscience. His unselfish love for his fel- 
low men without regard to religion, race 
or politics he carried almost to the degree 
of a fault. He was generous, and this 
characteristic remains as a monument to 
his memory rather than the accumulation 
of great riches. He had all the ideal vir- 
tues of the head of a home, and it was in 
his domestic circle that he found his great- 
est delight. 

Mr. Herman Lauter died June 8, 1907. 
"While living in New York City he married 
Helene Lauterbach. Mrs. Lauter is still 
living in Indianapolis. There were seven 
children : Hattie, who died in early child- 
hood, Alfred, Flora, Eldena, Sara, and 
Mrs. Fred P. Robinson, all of Indianapolis, 
and Mrs. 0. G. Singer, of Los Angeles, 
California. 

Elias J. J.vcOBY, lawyer and business, 
man of Indianapolis, is also one of the best 
known Masons in Indiana and is widely 
known in that order throughout the United 
States. Something concerning his career 
and associations is an essential part of the 
modern history of Indiana. 

He was born on a farm near Marion, 
Ohio. He became a school teacher at the 
age of seventeen and a half, teaching three 
terms. Entering the Ohio Wesleyan Uni- 
versity at Delaware, he graduated with the 
B. A. degree. While in university he was 
a member of the Phi Gamma Delta fra- 
ternity, becoming Master of the Chapter 
in his senior year. He was one of the 
editors of the college paper and editor in 
chief of his fraternity journal. Five years 
later he received from the same university 
the degree M. A. Immediately following 
his university course he entered the law 
school of Cincinnati College, from which 
he was graduated with the degree LL. B. 
and received the prize for forensic dis- 
cussion. 

On the day of his graduation from Ohio 
Wesleyan University he first met Hon. 
Charles W. Fairbanks, former vice presi- 
dent of the United States, who was then 
general attorney for a railway company 
with headquarters at Indianapolis. Mr. 
Fairbanks later invited him to a position 
in his office, which he accepted immediately 
following his graduation from the law 
school. He soon became assistant general 
attorney for the railway company. He 



also became general attorney of the T. H. 
& P. Railway Company, operating ITS 
miles of road. For a number of years he 
served as one of the directors on several 
lines of railway, and was and is local trus- 
tee in some railway mortgages. During 
the same period he served as president of 
two manufacturing companies, covering a 
period of seven years. Mr. Jacoby was 
actively associated with Mr. Fairbanks for 
seventeen years or until after the latter 
became United States Senator, and has 
been more or less associated with him ever 
since. 

Soon after taking service with the rail- 
M-ay companj- Mr. Jacoby assisted in or- 
ganizing the Railroadmen's Building and 
Savings Association. In a business way 
this is perhaps his most notable achieve- 
ment. It is now generally recognized that 
the encouragement to thrift is fundamental 
to the prosperity and wholesome life not 
only of the individual but the nation. 
Railroad men as a class have been noted 
as "free spenders." The object of this 
association was to instill in the minds of 
railroad men the idea of saving and thereby 
better fitting themselves for a higher place 
in the ranks of citizenship. The Railroad- 
men's Building and Savings Association 
was organized in August, 1887. It has 
been in existence thirty years. In that 
time the seed contained in the original idea 
and purpose has borne repeated fruit, and 
by renewed sowing and harvesting has 
made the association one of the great econ- 
omical and industrial institutions of In- 
diana. While there is no means of esti- 
mating by words or figures the vast benefits 
that have accrued to the individual rail- 
road workingmen and others, there is sug- 
gestion in noting the growth of the associa- 
tion's financial power and resources. Five 
years after the association started its assets 
were less than $200,000. It was nearly 
twenty years before the assets passed the 
$1,000,000 mark. The greatest period of 
growth has been within the last ten years. 
In 1907 the assets agoTCgated approxi- 
mately $1,500,000. In January, 1917, the 
assets were little short of $9,000,000, and 
at the end of 1918 they were nearly $12,- 
000,000, In the thirty years of its exist- 
ence the association has loaned over $18,- 
000,000, and has declared dividends of 
more than $2,500,000. The principal offi- 
cers of the association are : W. T. Cannon, 



1946 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



president ; E. J. Jacoby, vice president and 
attorney ; J. E. Pierce, secretary and audi- 
tor; and H. Cannon, treasurer. Mr. Jac- 
oby has served as attorney and director of 
the association since its organization, and 
has been vice president for a number of 
years. 

In 1908 ]\Ir. Jacoby assisted in organ- 
izing the Prudential Casualty Company of 
Indiana. Of this company he served as 
president until it was consolidated on De- 
cember 30, 1916, with the Chicago Bonding 
and Insurance Company of Chicago, under 
the name the Chicago Bonding and Insur- 
ance Company, wit*h headquarters in that 
city. Mr. Jacoby is a director of this new 
corporation. 

It now remains to note his honors and 
associations with Masonry. He is a thirty- 
second degree Scottish Eite Mason and a 
Knight Templar. He was High Priest of 
Keystone Chapter No. 6, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, in 1905, was Thrice Illustrious Mas- 
ter of Indianapolis Council No. 2, Royal 
and Select Masters in 1907, and in the 
same year was Eminent Commander of 
Raper Commandery No. 1, Knights Tem- 
plar of Indianapolis, and also Illustrious 
Potentate of Murat Temple, Ancient Ara- 
bic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 
He was one of the charter members (being 
charter viceroy or second officer) of St. 
James Conclave No. 16, Knights of the Red 
Cross of Constantine, and served in that 
office four and one half years, following 
which period he served as sovereign or chief 
officer of that Conclave for four years or 
until December, 1917. He now holds one 
of the offices, being Grand Almoner, in the 
Grand Imperial Council of the Order of 
the Red Cross of Constantine, which is the 
national or governing body of the Order. 
He was Grand High Priest of the Grand 
Chapter Royal Arch Masons of Indiana in 
1910 and 1911. In Murat Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
he served in office ten years, having been 
Assistant Rabban three years. Chief Rab- 
ban one year and Illustrious Potentate six 
years. He was elected as Imperial Outer 
Guard of the Imperial Council of the Order 
of the Mystic Shrine for North America in 
June, 1909. This organization is the gov- 
erning body of the Mystic Shrine for the 
entire .iurisdiction of North America, hav- 
ing Temples in the principal cities of Pan- 
ama, Mexico, United States, and Canada. 



He has served the various offices of promo- 
tion in that body covering a period of ten 
years, and is now (1918 and 1919) the 
Imperial Potentate of the Order. He was 
instrumental in organizing and incorpor- 
ating the Indianapolis Masonic Temple As- 
sociation, composed of eleven Masonic bod- 
ies. He drafted the law which was passed 
by the legislature authorizing the incor- 
poration of such an association. He served 
as chairman of the Building Committee of 
said association which, with the Grand 
Lodge of Indiana, erected the new York 
Rite Masonic Temple in Indianapolis at 
a cost of over $600,000. He represented 
the association at the laying of the corner 
stone and officially as tlie president of the 
association at the dedication of the Temple 
on May 24, 1909. At the business session 
of Murat Temple held in February, 1908, 
without previously consulting anyone, he 
proposed the erection of a Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine as the home of Murat Tem- 
ple. The proposal met with enthusiastic 
approval. He then organized the Murat 
Temple Association, the corporation own- 
ing the building which was erected at a 
cost of considerably more than $500,000 
and which was dedicated in May, 1910. 
He has served as director and president of 
that association consecutively for nearly 
eleven years. He retired as Imperial Po- 
tentate of the Order of the Mystic Shrine 
at the Forty-Fifth Session of the Impe- 
rial Council held in the City of Indianap- 
olis, Indiana, on June 10, 11, and 12, 1919. 

Flay Samuel Lacy is proprietor of a 
large wholesale and retail bakery establish- 
ment at Newcastle. Mr. Lacy, who is now 
in prosperous circumstances, one of the in- 
fluential citizens of Newcastle, has had an 
unusually interesting experience and career 
of achievement, involving many changes 
and new beginnings, and all compressed 
within a period of twenty years. 

Mr. Lacy was born at Carthage, Indiana, 
August 27, 1881, a son of Henry and La- 
vinia (Galloway) Lacy. He is of Scotch- 
Irish and German ancestry. His people 
have been in America for generations and 
most of them were farmers or mechanics. 
Mr. Lacy attended the public schools at 
Carthage, and at the age of ten years he 
began buying his own clothing. He made 
the money for that purpose by selling 
newspapers on the streets of Carthage. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1947 



Every night he had to go to Knightstown, 
five miles away, in order to get his papers. 
Another means he found of making money 
was raising hogs. He got feed for them 
from the waste material thrown out by the 
restaurants of the town. In this way he 
was making his own living for several 
years. 

At the age of seventeen he became asso- 
ciated with his brother Fred Joseph under 
the name of Lacy Brothers. They estab- 
lished a bakery at Carthage, and he re- 
mained there a couple of years learning 
the business. On selling out his interest 
Mr. Lacy went to Greentown in Howard 
County, Indiana, and opened a bakery be- 
hind a residence, which he continued on 
a wholesale scale for a year. He next spent 
a year working for a bakery establishment 
at Marion, Indiana. The one year follow- 
ing was spent in the same business at Con- 
verse, Indiana. He first came to Newcastle 
in 1898, and for a year was in the employ 
of Will Peed, a well known Newcastle 
baker. Mr. Lacy then took an entirely 
different kind of employment, doing buck 
and wing dancing on the stage with a trav- 
eling troupe known as the Knight & Decker 
Minstrels. Then, returning to Newcastle, 
he soon went to Rushville, Indiana, and 
worked in a bakery. He had his left hand 
caught in a machine and so disabled that 
it was necessary for him to remain out of 
work for a year and a half. For one year 
he was a news dealer at Newcastle, worked 
a year in a bakery at Connersville, Indiana, 
also at Selma for a time and for two and a 
half years he conducted a very successful 
business as a wholesale and retail baker at 
Laurel, Indiana. Then for a year and a 
half he was again located at Rushville, and 
on selling his property there moved to 
Newcastle in 1909 and in February of that 
year bought a lot and built his own bake 
shop at his first location on South Eight- 
eenth Street. He started with a very small 
shop, retailing all his goods. His first im- 
provement was introducing a push cart de- 
liverj', later employing an old pony and 
wagon, and Mr. Lacy's business has since 
grown and prospered until he now employs 
four automobile delivery trucks for the 
town and surrounding countrs-, and also 
two city routes. He has made about a 
dozen additions to his plant, all reflecting 
the growth and prosperity of his business. 
He has three large ovens, a complete ma- 



chine shop, and fourteen employes in the 
plant, ilr. Lacy is also interested in the 
oil and automobile business. 

June 14, 1917, he married Aria Begeman, 
daughter of Noble and Lottie (Robbins) 
Begeman. Mr. Lacy by his previous mar- 
riage has two children, Irene Louise, born 
in 1906, and Marion Stevens, born in 1908. 
Mr. Lacy is a republican, a member of the 
Quaker Church and affiliated with the 
Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks of Newcastle, 
Indiana. 

Will Cumback placed his name high on 
the roll of Indiana's lawyers, and he was 
honored with the lieutenant governorship 
of the state. For many years he was a 
member of the Decatur County bar. 

Mr. Cumback was born in Franklin 
County, Indiana, March 24, 1829, and was 
educated at Miami University and the Cin- 
cinnati Law School. He steadily rose to 
prominence in the practice of his pro- 
fession, and was chosen from the law- 
yers of Indiana to serve in the high official 
office of lieutenant governor. He was a 
scholar of wide reputation and a leader in 
republican ranks. 

Daniel H. McAbee. One of Indiana's 
most patriotic and interesting citizens is 
Daniel H. McAbee, who has an office on 
the fifth floor of the Traction Terminal 
Building at Indianapolis, being a member 
of the Ragan-McAbee Coal Company. Mr. 
McAbee is entitled to that peculiar respect 
and honor due the survivors of the great 
Union army of the Civil war, in which he 
served as a boy in years, though with man- 
hood's patriotic devotion and fidelity. He 
has been a resident of Indiana upwards 
of half a century and has been well known 
in business and civic affairs. 

He was bom in Bolivar, Westmoreland 
County, Pennsylvania, October 14, 1845, 
a son of Joseph and Mary Ann (Courson) 
McAbee. The McAbees are of Irish de- 
scent. The paternal grandfather, John 
McAbee, was an early day settler in West- 
moreland County, Pennsylvania. He was 
a scholar and thinker, and gave practically 
his entire lifetime to teaching. He also 
excelled as a penman. Those who have 
examined examples of his penmanship are 
impressed by its copperplate evenness and 
beautv of line woi-k such as few writers of 



1948 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



the present time would attempt to rival. 
He reared a family of three sons and one 
daughter, and one of the sons was a Meth- 
odist minister. 

Joseph McAbee, father of Daniel H., 
died when the latter was only eighteen 
months old. He left a family of three sons 
and two daughters, who were reared dur- 
ing their tender years by the widowed 
mother. 

Daniel H. MeAbee was only fifteen years 
old when the Civil war broke out. He did 
not long delay enrollment with the Union 
forces, and when he was given his honor- 
able discharge in July, 1865, he had com- 
pleted a service of forty -six months' dura- 
tion. He was a member of Company G of 
the Seventy-Sixth Penns.ylvania Infantry. 
During 1861, 1862, and 1863 he was with 
the Department of the South. He was 
present at the reduction of Fort Pulaski 
in the spring of 1862, the first fort retaken 
from the Confederate forces ; was present 
at James Island in 1862 during the fighting 
there; was present at the capture of the 
upper end of Morris Island July 10th, and 
was in both charges on Fort Wagner, Julv 
11th and 18th, 1863. He assisted in the 
construction of the foundation for the 
"Swamp Angel" and was with Butler at 
the Dutch Gap Canal and later was with 
Grant at Cold Harbor and Petersburg. 
He was wounded August 16, 1864, by a 
miuie ball in the right arm. The bandage 
used to wrap the arm was a piece of shel- 
ter tent, that being the only available ma- 
terial that could be found. He was with 
Butler and Terry at Fort Fisher, joined 
Sherman's army in North Carolina and 
helped corral Johnson's army, which ended 
the war. 

Following the war jMr. McAbee returned 
to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, and was em- 
ployed by the Pennsylvania Railroad be- 
tween Pittsburg and Altoona for three 
years. He then came to Indianapolis and 
was a roller in the rolling mill, was em- 
ployed in a similar capacity at Greencastle 
for ten years, and later at Muncie, Indiana, 
for eight years. Mr. McAbee finally left 
the ranks of industrial workers to become 
state factory inspector of Indiana, an of- 
fice he held and in which he rendered most 
capable service under the administration 
of Governors Mount, Durbin, and Hanly. 
He was appointed by Governor Marshall 
adjutant at the Indiana State Soldiers 



Home, serving there two years. In 1909 
Mr. McAbee came to Indianapolis and 
formed a copartnership with Mr. Ragan in 
the coal business. In 1914 they formed 
the Ragan-McAbee Coal Company. They 
do an extensive business all over Indiana 
and in Michigan as wholesale jobbers, and 
represent some of the largest mines in the 
great bituminous coal area of Indiana, 
Kentucky, and Ohio and under normal con- 
ditions also supply coal from the anthra- 
cite and Pocahontas mines of West Vir- 
ginia. They have a very flourishing busi- 
ness, which is constantly increasing. 

Mr. McAbee is a republican. He has 
been a loyal worker in the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church since early manhood and has 
been active both in church and Sunday 
School in Indianapolis and Greencastle. 
He was raised a Mason in Marion Lodge 
No. 35, Free and Accepted Masons, at In- 
dianapolis, served as master of the Ma- 
sonic Lodge at Greencastle, and demitted 
to Delaware Lodge No. 46, Free and Ac- 
cepted IMasons, at Muncie, Indiana, where 
he now holds membership. He is a mem- 
ber of Greencastle Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons. He is also one of the prominent 
Grand Army of the Republic men of In- 
diana, having served as post commander 
of Greencastle Post No. 4, and also as 
junior vice commander of the state en- 
campment. 

December 24, 1869, Mr. McAbee married 
Miss Mary L. Richards, now deceased. 
They had three sons and three daughters. 
Two of the sons and one daughter are liv- 
ing, Daniel H. and W. D. McAbee, and 
Mazie U. Pittinger. Daniel graduated from 
the Indianapolis High School and the 
Homeopathic Medical College in Chicago, 
and is now in the Medical Reserve Corps 
of the United States Army. W. D. Me- 
Abee is connected with the State Board of 
Hygiene as chemist. On November 6, 
1912, Mr. MeAbee married for his second 
wife Mary Elizabeth Stilz of Indianapolis. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. McAbee are members 
of the Central Avenue Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

John Kline Burgess has figured in 
Newcastle business afi'airs for a number of 
years. He has been a teacher, clerk of the 
Henry Circuit Court, member of the Henry 
County Bar, banker, and at present a real 
estate and loan dealer. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1949 



Mr. Burgess vifis born at Noblesville, In- 
diana, in 1874, son of Daniel W. and 
Phoebe A. (Miesse) Burgess. He is of 
Scotch and English ancestry. His first 
American ancestor, Daniel Burgess, came 
from England and settled in the New Eng- 
land colonies. He was the great-great-great- 
grandfather of John K. Burgess. Later 
one branch of the family came west to 
Highland County, Ohio, and another went 
to Virginia. Mr. Burgess' grandfather, 
Oliver Burgess, moved to Hamilton 
County, Indiana, in 1835, making the trip 
with an ox team and encountering all the 
pioneer conditions and difficulties. He set- 
tled north of Noblesville and accjuired two 
sections of land there. Daniel W. Bur- 
gess was a farmer and merchant. 

John K. Burgess attended school at No- 
blesville, and graduated from the Newcastle 
High School in 1895, being second in schol- 
arship in his class, though he had com- 
pleted the four years course in three years. 
He also took a year of correspondence work 
with the Chicago Extension University, and 
for two years studied under the direction 
of the Columbian University of Washing- 
ton, District of Columbia. He graduated 
in 1900. 

For six years Mr. Burgess taught school 
in Henry County. For six years he served 
as deputy county clerk, and in November, 
1906, was elected on the republican ticket 
to the office of clerk of the Henry Circuit 
Court, and filled that position four years. 
In 1910 Mr. Burgess assisted in organiz- 
ing the Farmers National Bank at New- 
castle, Indiana, and served as its assistant 
cashier five years. He resigned to estab- 
lish his present business, real estate and 
loans, and has conducted that very suc- 
cessfully for the past three yeai-s. He buys 
and sells much property on his own ac- 
count and also has acted as broker in a 
number of important transactions. He as- 
sisted in organizing the Farmers National 
Bank at Sulphur Springs, Indiana, and 
also the Farmers Bank at Mooreland. He 
owns a half interest in the Burgess Broth- 
ers Furniture Company, and has some val- 
uable property interests at Newcastle and 
vicinity. 

In 1895 Mr. Burgess married Miss Ber- 
tha Bunbar, daughter of John W. and 
Sarah (Houchins) Bunbar of Mount Sum- 
mit, Indiana. Mrs. Burgess died in Au- 
gust, 1917, the mother of three children: 



Bernice B., Edna and John D. Mr. Bur- 
gess is a member of several secret and be- 
nevolent orders and is a member of the 
Christian Church, which he has served as 
treasurer and as a member of the official 
board for several years. 

Charles Remster has been an active 
member of the Indiana bar nearly thirty 
years, a resident of Indianapolis since 
1895, and among other distinctions asso- 
ciated with his professional career was for 
a term of six years judge of the Marion 
Circuit Court. 

Judge Remster was born on a farm in 
Van Buren Township, Fountain County, 
Indiana, July 28, 1862, a son of Andrew 
and Tamson (Smith) Remster, both na- 
tives of New Jersey. Andrew Remster 
was of Holland Dutch stock, his father 
having come from the city of Amsterdam 
to America. Tamson Smith was of Eng- 
lish lineage. Andrew Remster and wife 
were married in New Jersey January 6, 
1848, and soon afterward moved to Ohio 
and a year later to a tract of wild land in 
Fountain County, Indiana. The father 
died there in 1865, when Judge Remster 
was only three years of age. His widow 
subsequently married Ben.jamin Strader, 
who died six months later, leaving her 
twice a widow. She nobly discharsred her 
duties and responsibilities to her children, 
five by the first marriage and one by the 
second, and spent her last years at Coving- 
ton, Indiana, where she died in 1901. She 
was a devout member of the Baptist 
Church. 

Charles Remster grew up on a farm, at- 
tended district schools and in 1882 grad- 
uated from the Veedersburg High School. 
He attended Purdue University at Lafay- 
ette, and left college to read law with a 
member of the bar at Veedersburg. He 
was admitted in Fountain County in 1889, 
and for six years practiced at Veedersburg. 
He gave up his position as a rising attor- 
ney of the bar of his native county and 
moved to Indianapolis in 1895. Judge 
Remster has found a growing biisiness as 
a lawyer sufficient to satisfy his ambitions 
and his energy, and he has never sought 
official preferment except in the strict lines 
of the profession. He was an assistant 
prosecuting attorney of Marion County at 
the time he was elected to the Marion 
Circuit Court in 1908. Judge Remster 



1950 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



filled out the full term of six years for 
which he was elected, begiuuiug his duties 
November 11, 1908, and leaving the bench 
in November, 1914. He performed his du- 
ties as a judge with dignity and signal abil- 
ity, and his former services in that posi- 
tion are widely appreciated by the Indian- 
apolis bar. Since retiring from the bench 
he has been member of the well known 
law firm of Smith, Remster, Hornbrook & 
Smith. 

Judge Remster is a democrat in politics 
and in 1907 was president of the Demo- 
cratic Club. He is a member of the Ma- 
sons, Knights of Pythias, the Indiana Bar 
Association, and belongs to various civic 
and social organizations. October 30, 1894, 
he married Miss Isabelle McDaniel. She 
was born and reared in Hendricks County, 
where her father, Samuel McDaniel, was 
a farmer. 

William H. Coleman has been a resi- 
dent of Indianapolis for thirty-eight years, 
and his name here and elsewhere is very 
prominently identified with the lumber in- 
dustry as a manufacturer and dealer. 

He was born at the village of Hawley in 
Lucerne Count.y, Pennsylvania, where his 
father, Richard Coleman, was a merchant. 
The Coleman ancestors came originally 
from Manchester, England. In the early 
childhood of William H. Coleman his 
father died, and when he was a boy of five 
he was taken by his widowed mother, Mrs. 
Mary (Clark) Coleman, to Canisteo, New 
York, where his years to manhood were 
spent, chiefly on a farm and in the prac- 
tice of its duties and attending district 
schools. His education was finished at the 
South Danville Academy. He could enter- 
tain no prospect of a fortune except such as 
he would gain by his own labors and exer- 
tions. One of his early experiences after 
leaving school was teaching for three 
months in a country district. He then 
rented a tract of land and started farm- 
ing on the shares. Farming was his occu- 
pation during the summer and in the win- 
ter he bought, milled and marketed lum- 
ber. That was his introduction to what has 
become his chief industry in life. 

In 1880 Mr. Coleman came to Indian- 
apolis as an employe of Henry Alfrey, an 
old time lumber merchant of the city. 
Later he acquired a partnership with Mr. 
Alfrey and finally owned the entire busi- 



ness. As a lumber majiufacturer and 
dealer his operations have covered a wide 
field. In 1892 the headquarters of the busi- 
ness M'ere removed to Terre Haute, in 1896 
to ^Memphis, Tennessee, and two years 
later to Jackson, Tennessee, where the 
mills are still operated. 

But during all these changes Mr. Cole- 
man has maintained his home in Indian- 
apolis and in many ways aside from bus- 
iness has been identified with its growth 
and prosperity. He is a member of the 
Presbj'terian Church and a republican 
voter. 

In 1889 Mr. Coleman married Mrs. Sal- 
lie E. Vajen, daughter of Colonel M. A. 
Downing, one of the foremost men of his 
day in Indianapolis. Mr. and Mrs. Cole- 
man have one daughter, Suemma V., the 
wife of W. A. Atkins. 

Roy H. Puterbaugh. By nature Roy 
H. Puterbaugh has been a teacher and edu- 
cator. He has put himself through several 
higher institutes of education by his own 
efl'orts and has continued to qualify him- 
self for still higher places of responsibility. 
He is now manager of the Lafayette Bus- 
iness College of Lafayette, and has made 
a splendid record in the reorganization and 
expansion of that institution. 

Mr. Puterbaugh, a native of Indiana, 
was born on a farm near Oswego ]\Iarch 1 , 
1883, and is the son of Amsey H. and Rilla 
(Clem) Puterbaugh. His father was born 
at Elkhart, Indiana, December 30, 1851, 
and was engaged in educational work, 
which alternated with his other calling as 
a minister of the gospel. He died at Elk- 
hart February 28, 1903. As a teacher he 
established the graded system of the pub- 
lic schools at Leesburg, Indiana, and was 
at one time principal of the high school 
of Oswego, which school he organized. 
For thirty-three years he was a regularly 
ordained minister of the Church of the 
Brethren. In 1876 he married Miss Rilla 
Clem, also a teacher, who was born at Mil- 
ford, Indiana, August 28, 1856. 

Roy H. Puterbaugh was educated in the 
public schools of Elkhart County, and in 
the intervals of other work, chiefly as a 
teacher, he completed courses in the Man- 
chester Business College, Elkhart Normal 
School and Business Institute, Manchester 
Academy, Mount Morris College in Illi- 
nois, and in 1911 graduated from the Uni- 




LUKE W. DUFFEY 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



■1951 



vei-sity of Michigan, receiving the Bache- 
lor of Arts degree. 

After leaving the university he taught 
English in the Elkhart High School three 
years, and for one year was principal of 
the Marion Business College. In 1914 Mr. 
Puterbaugh came to Lafayette as manager 
of the local business college, and has made 
this, one of the fourteen branches of the 
Indiana Business College, not only one of 
the very best of that chain of schools but 
also one of the best business trainirig 
schools in the middle west. 

April 17, 1915, Mr. Puterbaugh married 
Miss Alma Ludwig. Mrs. Puterbaugh, a 
daughter of Robert C. and Carrie (Wag- 
ner) Ludwig, was bom in Chicago, May 
20, 1886. Her parents were also natives 
of Chicago. Her father, who had a great 
deal of technical and artistic ability, was 
an engraver and designer by trade, and for 
a number of years was superintendent of 
the engraving department of P. F. Petti- 
bone & Company. 

Mrs. Puterbaugh inherits much of her 
father's artistic temperament, and is widely 
known for her work in china decoration. 
She was a member of the Atlan Ceramic 
Club of Chicago, one of the largest organ- 
izations of its kind in the world. She is 
also an artist in oil and water colors. Her 
work has received marked recognition at 
the exhibits at the Chicago Art Institute. 

John F. Williams, formerly in the shoe 
business at Anderson, is now sole proprie- 
tor of the J. F. Williams establishment, 
automobile tires and accessories and auto- 
mobile agents. Mr. Williams has had a 
very successful experience as an automo- 
bile salesman, and has gained a splendid 
business clientele as a result of his thor- 
ough and painstaking work and service. 

He was born at Muncie, Indiana, in 
1878, son of Rufus Hickman and ]\Iary S. 
(Bose) Williams. He is of Scotch and 
German ancestry. In 1880, when he was 
a year and a half old, his parents removed 
to Anderson, where his father established 
a shoe business, of which he continued pro- 
prietor for many years. He is still living 
but retired from business. A republican 
in politics, he was formerly quite active 
in the ranks and at one time was candidate 
for county clerk of Madison County. 

John F. Williams had a public school 
education at Anderson and was a student 



of the commercial course at Notre Dame 
University in 1897-99, graduating in the 
latter year. On returning to Anderson he 
entered the shoe business with his father 
at 15 Meridian Street, and made himself 
thoroughly familiar with the work and 
proved himself valuable to the firm in 
building up and extending its trade. In 
1906 he and his brother Percy P. Williams 
bought the store from their father and 
conducted it as Williams Brothers until 
1914, when John F. Williams withdrew, 
selling out to his brother. In the mean- 
time he had bought the Auto Inn Garage 
at Anderson, and conducted it as the J. F. 
Williams Auto Inn until February 1, 1913. 
This business he then sold to John H. Ryan. 
His next position in the automobile busi- 
ness was as salesman for the Apperson 
Cars. He represented that company over 
five counties. Grant, Delaware, Madison, 
Henry, and Hamilton, and did much to 
popularize and extend the use and sale 
of the Apperson cars over this section of 
Indiana. In 1915 he took the local agency 
in Madison County for the Hudson and 
Chalmers cars, with salesroom in the Auto 
Inn. September 2, 1916, he established 
his present salesroom at 28 West Ninth 
Street, where he handles the agency for 
the Hudson and Chalmers cars, operates a 
Goodyear service station, and has the sole 
agency in Anderson for the Goodyear tires 
and accessories. 

In 1899 Mr. Williams married Kate F. 
Danforth, daughter of William and Emma 
(Welsh) Danforth of Edinburgh, Indiana. 
They have two children : Robert Lee, born 
in 1902, and Mary Emma, born in 1912. 
Mr. Williams is a republican and has 
helped his party and its leaders, though 
never an aspirant for office himself. He 
is affiliated with the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks at Anderson, is a 
member of the Presbyterian Church, and 
is a citizen who rightly deserves the respect 
and esteem which he enjoys among all 
classes of the good people of Madison 
County. 

Luke W. Duffey is known in a business 
way as founder and head of the Luke W. 
Duffey Farm Sales Company of Indian- 
apolis. This is a big business, scien- 
tifically and successfully conducted and 
which has brought Jlr. Duffey into consid- 
erable prominence in real estate circles. 



1952 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



However, he is probably most widely and 
generally known as an ardent enthusiast 
and able leader in the good roads movement 
in the state and in the nation. He is the 
author of the law creating the Indiana, 
State Highway Commission. 

Mr. Duffey's operations in real estate 
and particularly in the sale of farm lands 
were deemed of sufficient importance by 
the National Real Estate Journal to pub- 
lish a special article on Mr. Duffey under 
the head of "Men Who Succeed in Real 
Estate." This article especially described 
Mr. Duffey 's promotion of farm sales in 
Indiana during the period of the Great 
War. He was one of the men who antici- 
pated the increased demand for farms and 
farm products as a result of the war. 

j\Ir. Duffey is certainly a gifted specialist 
in the handling of farm sales. He has 
studied exhaustively every condition affect- 
ing a sale. To quote the words of the Na- 
tional Real Estate Journal: "He knows 
the ownership, acreage, selling history, and 
property lines of all farms for virtually 
forty m'iles out of his selling center. Mr. 
Duffey constantly carries an average of 
1,000 farms listed in his selling ledger. 
They are listed according to their acreage, 
with accurate data of the location, condi- 
tions, nature of soil, market situations, so- 
cial accommodations, available utilities, andt 
all information necessary to make immedi- 
ate sales. He keeps a daily posted list of 
prospective buyers, their wants and their 
financial ability to purchase. Since Mr. 
Duffey is himself a man of legal training, 
he has incorporated within his office service 
a complete legal department, so that he is 
able to foresee and eliminate every possible 
delay and inconvenience affecting a land 
transfer." 

Some other facts brought out in the 
same article should also be quoted. "Mr. 
Duffey is chairman of the Good Roads Com- 
mittee of the National Real Estate Associa- 
tion, and for the last few years has at- 
tended every national convention of the or- 
ganization. He was a pioneer in the estab- 
lishing of the Farm Loan Bank by the 
National Government and, as chairman of 
the Agricultural Committee of the National 
Real Estate Association, gathered data in 
Canada and the United States to be used 
in the location and formation of the banks. 
In his various official road capacities he has 
appeared before congressional committees 



any many American road congresses in 
Washington, urging good road laws. He 
played a conspicuous part in securing the 
enactment of the $85,000,000 federal aid 
bill for establishing a system of national 
highways. ' ' 

In 1914 Governor Ralston appointed Mr. 
Duffey secretary of the Non-Political High- 
way Commission. He has been chairman 
for several years of the Good Roads Com- 
mittee of the Indianapolis Chamber of 
Commerce. His success in political life is 
almost wholly due to his efforts in behalf 
of good roads, a definite issue in which 
every Indiana citizen is interested. This 
work has earned him a national reputation 
as well as several official positions in na- 
tional road associations. 

ilr. Duffey was a member of the Indiana 
House of Representatives in 1917. At the 
expiration of that term he became a candi- 
date for state senator to which office he was 
elected on a "Good Roads and Good Gov- 
ernment" platform, leading his ticket by a 
large majority. In the Legislature, he was 
a vigilant student of all measures affecting 
farmers and stockmen. He was not known 
in the Legislature as a particularly fre- 
quent speaker, but rather as a very effective 
organizer and a man who accomplished 
things. He did much to bring about the 
defeat of the "Hog Cholera Trust." He 
opposed the bill which would have worked 
a hardship on farmers' mutual insurance 
companies, and numerous other measures 
which would have meant a serious drain 
upon the tax payers without a propor- 
tional benefit. 

Mr. Duffey 's complete and unrivalled 
knowledge of the roads of Indiana, as well 
as personal characteristics, doubtless 
brought him the appointment in 1918 of 
state representative of the War Depart- 
ment to handle matters of the Motor Trans- 
port Corps in routing and caring for over- 
land war trucks after the highway laws 
had been set aside in Indiana. 

He was appointed to membership on the 
Road Committee of the United States 
Chamber of Commerce to act on the com- 
mittee in the administration of $285,000,- 
000 Federal Aid Highway money. He was 
the second time a co-author of the State 
Highway Commission Law, the 1919 session 
having "rewritten his mission, which was 
enacted in 1917, classifying the road build- 
ing rights of the state. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1953 



His. formal biography and a few of the 
most interesting items of his family history 
are as follows: 

Luke W. Diiffey was born in Hendricks 
County, Indiana, October 24, 1879, son of 
Eli and Nancy J. (Benbow) Dufifey. His 
grandfather, Michael Duffey, settled in 
Bellville, Hendricks County, in 1842. His 
great-grandfather was a pioneer who 
fought in the Revolutionary war under 
General "Washington. The maternal grand- 
father of Luke W. Duffey was Elam Ben- 
bow, who came from North Carolina in 
1828 and settled on an unclaimed tract 
of land in Clay Township of Hendricks 
County. A part of that old Benbow estate 
is now occupied b3' the Town of Amo. Mr. 
Duffey 's father was a Union soldier in one 
of the Indiana regiments in the Civil war. 

Mr. Duffey received his early education 
in the public schools of Hendricks County. 
Later he entered the Central Normal Col- 
lege at Danville, where he studied law. 
He was admitted to the Hendricks County 
bar August 4, 1900. 

Mr. Duffey never engaged actively in the 
practice of law, but upon leaving college 
devoted his time almost exclusively to real 
estate and title law. For some j-ears he 
lived in Plainfield, which place now bears 
material evidence of his energy and enter- 
prise. He was the founder of Amitydale 
Park and Hillside Park, Duffey 's First and 
Second Additions to Plainfield, and he 
built considerably more than two miles of 
sidewalks. 

In order that he might better handle 
his real estate business, which had assumed 
quite extensive proportions, Mr. Duffey 
moved to Indianapolis in !March, 1910. 
Here he laid out the western wing of the 
city, including Lookout Gardens, tirst and 
second sections. Lookout Plaza, and 
Sterling Heights Addition. 

Due largely to his early experiences, he 
has maintained an intense interest in farm 
and rural development. Indeed, he is a 
practical farmer himself. Through his 
company he specializes in high class farms, 
and his transactions are, for the most part, 
limited to large farms and property own- 
ers. Many of the most notable sales of 
farms, valued at from $100 to $300 an acre, 
have been transacted through his organiza- 
tion. His efforts have done much to 
encourage and advance agriculture, a work 
of real patriotism in these days. 



Mr. Duffey is well known in the commer- 
cial life of Indianapolis. He is a member 
of the Chamber of Commerce, belongs to 
the Marion and Columbia clubs, and is a 
Mason and Knight of Pythias. 

;\Ir. Duffey is quite justly proud of his 
three interesting, attractive daughters. 
Irene, Dessie D. and Wilma Lee. Irene is 
doing preparatory work in the Ward-Bel- 
mont School for girls at Nashville, Tennes- 
see, while the two younger daughters are 
receiving instructions in the public schools 
at Plainfield. 

John H.\nna was born in Marion County, 
Indiana, September 3, 1827. After grad- 
uating from Asbury College he read law, 
and with the exception of a few years spent 
in Kansas before the Civil war he prac- 
ticed at Greencastle from 1850 until his 
death, which occurred on the 24th of Octo- 
ber, 1882. From 1861 until 1866 Mr. 
Hanna served as a United States district 
attorney, and he was elected from the Sev- 
enth District as a member of Congress, 
serving one term, 1877-1879. 

George M. Young, M. D. In a busy 
professional career of over thirty-five 
years Dr. George M. Young has been "iden- 
tified with the City of Evansville almost 
continuously. For a number of years he 
was the chief surgeon for the railroad lines 
entering Evansville, but for the past fifteen 
years has given his time to a general prac- 
tice. 

Doctor Young came to Evansville from 
the State of Pennsylvania, where he was 
born and reared and educated. His birth 
occurred on a farm in Indiana County, 
that state. His father, Levi Young, was 
a native of Berks County, Pennsylvania. 
He was an infant when his father died and 
when he was four years old his mother 
married again and moved to Indiana 
County. He grew up there on a farm and 
at the age of sixteen entered a general 
store in the town of Indiana, and by work 
as a clerk for five years acquired a thor- 
ough business training. He married then 
and returned to country life. He was 
strong and active, and though without cap- 
ital he had the energy and the ambition 
that enabled him to climb steadily the 
rounds of the ladder to success. For sev- 
eral years after his marriage he did the 
hardest kind of work in farming, chopping 



1954 



INDIANA AND INDIAXANS 



wood and rail splitting, and finally 
reached the position of a renter and later 
acquired the means to buy his first farm. 
Afterward he bought aud sold a number 
of farms. He improved each one and sold 
at an advantage. One farm he owned 
comprised 300 acres. He was successful 
in raising crops and live stock, and fre- 
quently fed bunches of cattle for the mar- 
ket. His favorite breed of cattle was the 
Durham. Though he lacked many early 
advantages in the way of schooling he kept 
up with the times by constant reading, and 
was progressive in everj^ sense of the term. 
He alwaj's had the latest improved fanu 
implements. He was the first in his vicin- 
ity to buy a mowing machine and grain 
drill, and the first to unload hay with 
power apparatus. He began harvesting 
with a grain sickle and finished with a self- 
binder. He was a thoroughly business 
farmer and always watched the markets 
and sold his crops and livestock in the 
right time. The last farm he owned ad- 
.joined the town of Indiana, and when he 
sold that he moved into the town and 
bought property where he lived i-etired 
until his death, at the age of eighty-six. 
He married Jane Dixon. She was born in 
Blairsville, Indiana County, daughter of 
Thomas and Jane (Barclay) Dixon, also 
natives of Pennsylvania and of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry. Levi Young and wife had 
nine children : Albert, who served in a 
Pennsylvania regiment in the Civil war 
and died while in the armj' in Virginia, 
Margaret Ellen, John Franklin, Nancy 
Jane, Clara, George M., Anna Mary, Elma 
Lizzie and Foster B. 

Dr. George M. Young grew up in a good 
country home in Pennsylvania, attended 
the district schools and also the State Nor- 
mal at the Town of Indiana, and for two 
terms was a teacher. He studied medicine 
with Dr. A. F. Parrington at Indiana, and 
in 1880 entered the medical department of 
the University of Pennsylvania. He re- 
ceived his diploma from that institution in 
1883 and in June of tlie same year moved 
to Evansville and began liis work as a phy- 
sician. Soon afterward he was appointed 
surgeon for the Evansville & Terre Haute 
Railroad Company and later became chief 
surgeon for the Mackey System, including 
all the railroads entering Evansville ex- 
cepting the Louisville & Nasliville. He 
made a great reputation as a railway sur- 



geon and for years gave practically all his 
time to that work. In 1902 he disposed 
of his property interests, resigned his po- 
sition, and removed to Toledo, Ohio. He 
was engaged in practice there until July, 
1901, when, finding the climate not agree- 
able, he returned to Evansville and has 
since been known as one of the successful 
general physicians and surgeons of the city. 
He is a member of the County and State 
iledical Societies aud the American Med- 
ical Association. 

In 1887 Doctor Young married Emma 
Belle Blake. She was bom in Greencastle, 
Indiana, daughter of William aud ilary 
Blake. They have one daughter, Mar- 
garet, who is the wife of Robert T. Bon- 
ham. I\Ir. Bonham was formerly secretary 
of the Evansville Chamber of Commerce 
and dui'ing the war was a member of the 
United States Signal Service. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bonham have one daughter named 
Betty. Doctor Young was formerly active 
in Masonr.y, having affiliated with Reed 
Lodge No. 361, Free and Accepted IMa- 
sons, Simpson Council No. 29, Royal and 
Select Masters, Evansville Chapter No. 12, 
Royal Arch Masons, and LaVallette Com- 
mandeiy No. 15, Knights Templar. 

Ja.mes W. Harris is .junior partner in 
the firm Greathouse & Harris, one of the 
largest and one of the oldest mercantile 
firms of Elwood. Mr. Harris is a man of 
wide and diversified mercantile experience 
and has been trained under all sorts of 
circumstances and in different positions, 
so that he is eminently capable of carrying 
his share of responsibilities of this old 
established clothing house. 

He has spent most of his life in Indiana, 
but was born at London, Ontario, Canada, 
April 28, 1881, son of Charles and Helen 
(Jones) Harris. The Harrises are of Eng- 
lish ancestry, but came to America in early 
colonial times, along with the Puritans of 
New England. The family settled later 
in New York State, aud one of them, Gen- 
eral Harris, was the founder of Harris- 
l)ur^, Pennsylvania. One .branch of the 
family remained loyal to the king of Great 
Britain and during tlic Revolution moved 
to London. Canada. The grandmother of 
James W. Harris was Margaret (Davis) 
Harris, and they were the first couple mar- 
ried by a minister in Ontario. She died 
in December, 1914, when ninety-four years 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1955 



of age. She survived by twenty-five years 
her husband, Gilbert Harris. 

The mother of James W. Harris, Helen 
Jones, came from New York State and set- 
tled at Morris, Illinois. She met and mar- 
ried Charles Harris while on a visit to Lon- 
don, Ontario. When James W. Harris 
was five years old his parents moved to 
Remington, Indiana, and for a number of 
years lived on a farm of 160 acres nearby. 
While there he received his schooling by 
attending winter terms of district school. 
When he was fourteen years of age the 
family came to Elwood, and here Charles 
Harris became interested in the buying of 
stock. In the meantime James W. Harris 
continued his education and in 1901 grad- 
uated from the Elwood High School. 
At the age of nineteen he began work as 
a clerk for A. J. Hileman, a shoe dealer, 
and put in all his spare time of nights and 
mornings and Saturdaj'S during the rest of 
his high school course. After leaving high 
school he continued in that store a year, " 
then for two years was in the auditing de- 
partment of the American Sheet and Tin 
Plate Company at Elwood, and for six 
months was in the shoe department of the 
George J. Marott's great department store 
on Washington Street in Indianapolis. 

His father's death called him home from 
Indianapolis. His father for eight or nine 
years had been manager of the Anderson 
branch of the Sinclair Packing Company. 
James W. Harris took up this position as 
successor to his father, and filled it com- 
petently until July, 1907. He then re- 
signed, and bought a partnership in the 
Greathouse & Company store with Frank 
M. Greathouse, thus establishing the pres- 
ent firm of Greathouse & Harris at 120 
South Anderson Street. These are the 
merchants so widely known over this sec- 
tion of Indiana by their slogan "right 
goods at right prices." For twenty-five 
years the house has been selling clothing, 
hats and men's furnishings, and its repu- 
tation is built up on the basis of quality 
of goods and exceptional mercantile service. 

Mr. Harris, who is unmarried and lives 
■with his mother, has various other business 
interests at Elwood. He is an active re- 
publican. Recently he was one of ten men 
selected from Madison County, represent- 
ing both the progressive and regular wings 
of the republican party, as leaders in the 
"Get Together" movement, as a result of 



which here and elsewhere the republican 
party was once more solidified and was 
made efllective, as the results of the 1916 
election proved, ilr. Harris served as a 
member of the Board of Directors of the 
Elwood Chamber of Commerce in 1916 and 
1917. He is a York and Scottish Rite Ma- 
son, being afiiliated with Lodge No. 320, 
Free and Accepted Masons, Chapter and 
Council, Knight Templar Commandery, 
the various Scottish Rite bodies, including 
the thirty-second degi-ee, and the Temple 
of the Mystic Shrine. He is a member of 
the First Methodist Church. 

Ben.j.vmin F. Long, of the law firm of 
Long, Yarlott & Souder of Logansport, is 
a hard working and successful lawyer, and 
has richly earned the reputation he now 
enjoys at the bar of Northern Indiana. 

He was born in Cass County, on a farm 
in Washington Township, January 31, 
1872. He is an American by four or five 
generations of residence. His grandfather, 
Ma.i'or William Long, a title he acquired 
from his prominence in the Pennsylvania 
State Militia, was a native of Somerset 
County, Pennsylvania. He brought his 
family to Indiana in 1843, and established 
his home on a farm in Washington Town- 
ship of Cass County. Thus the Longs have 
been a family in that county for three 
quarters of a century. Ben.iamin F. Long 
is a son of William and Joanna (Penny) 
Long. His father also spent his life as a 
farmer, and died October 5, 1893. His 
mother passed away December 12, 1902. 
William Long and his wife w^ere members 
cf the English Lutheran Church. 

Benjamin F. Long grew up on a farm, 
had the advantages of the district schools, 
but beyond that he had to get his educa- 
tion by his own efforts. After graduating 
from the Logansport High School in 1891 
hr' put in two winters teaching in the same 
scliool in the country which he had at- 
tended as a boy. In 1893 he used the 
small amount of savings he had accumu- 
lated to start him in Indiana University 
at Bloomington. After two years he had 
to give up his course and seek means of re- 
plenishing his purse. From 1895 to 1899 
^Ir. Long taught history in the Logansport 
High School. He then re-entered the 
State University and took both the literary 
and law courses, graduating A. B. and 
LL. B. in 1901. He began private prac- 



1956 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



tice at Logansport, but such had been his 
record as a student in Bloomington that 
he was soon called to the chair of asso- 
ciate professor in the Law Department. 
He resigned that position after a year, and 
has since devoted his time and ei?orts 
steadily to his law practice. From 1903 
to 1906 he was deputy county prosecutor, 
his law partner at the time being George 
"W. Walters, the county prosecuting at- 
torney. The firm of Walters and Long 
continued from January, 1903, to January, 
1909, when Mr. Long formed the still exist- 
ing partnership. 

Mr. Long is a republican, but has not 
allowed politics to interfere with the essen- 
tial work of his profession. He attends 
the English Lutheran Church. In 1915 he 
was appointed a trustee of Indiana tfni- 
versity, and was reappointed in 1918. 
September 10, 1902, he married Miss Lucy 
Nichols, of Marshalltown, Iowa. They 
have one son, Benjamin Long. 

Aquilla Jones was prominent among 
the men who made political history and 
gave substance and character to the busi- 
ness life of Indiana during the middle 
years of the last century. He was treasurer 
of the State of Indiana before the war, and 
subsequently during his residence at In- 
dianapolis did much to build up the indus- 
tries of that city and was the recipient of 
several important public honors. 

He was . born in Stokes, now Forsyth 
Countj', North Carolina, in the foothills of 
the famous Blue Ridge Mountains, July 8, 
1811, a son of Benjamin and Mary Jones. 
His father was a farmer of limited means. 
Educational opportunities were supplied 
therefore in a meager degree to Aquilla 
Jones, and while in his native state he had 
not more than three months schooling all 
told, even that being secured under adverse 
conditions. His training, intellect and 
business capacity were largely an out- 
growth of his own tenacious memory and 
struggling ambition. In after life he re- 
alized that his sphere of usefulness would 
have been far greater had he received an 
education. He grew up in an environment 
that led him to respect the working man 
and to sympathize with him in his strug- 
gles. Thus while in after years he at- 
tained a position among the eminent men 
of Indiana, he was one of the few of his 
class whose minds were not closed to an 



appreciation of the poor and the humble. 
One product of this early experience was 
a thorough belief in cooperation as a means 
of solving many of the social and economic 
problems of the world. He was in fact a 
pioneer in bringing those principles to bear 
in his later life in Indianapolis. Many 
working men were aided by him through 
material means and with advice, and his 
memory perhaps deserves to live longest 
among that class. 

The Jones family moved to Indiana in 
1831, locating at Columbus, where Elish- 
P. Jones, a brother of Aquilla, had already 
built up a business as a merchant. 
In his brother's store Aquilla worked as a 
clerk until 1836. Then after a year spent 
in Missouri he returned to Columbus and 
became proprietor of a hotel and subse- 
quently after the brother's death, bought 
the business which the latter had de- 
veloped. He also succeeded his brother as 
postmaster of the town. Aquilla Jones con- 
tinued active in business and local affairs 
at Columbus until 1856. Among other 
interests he became identified with the Co- 
lumbus Bridge Company. 

In 1840 and again in 1850, under the 
respective administrations of Presidents 
Van Buren and Fillmore, he was appointed 
and served as census enumerator of Bar- 
tholomew County. He refused to accept 
the office of clerk of the county. He was 
elected and served in the State Legislature 
during the session of 1842-43. President 
Pierce offered him the appointment as 
Indian agent for Washington Territory, 
but his interests compelled hira to decline 
and he refused a similar position for the 
Territory of New jMexico. 

Aquilla Jones removed his residence to 
Indianapolis during his first term as state 
treasurer. He was elected to that office in 
1856. His party affiliations then and al- 
wavs were democratic, but partisanship 
with him was never sufficiently strong to 
overcome his devotion to a principle. It 
was said and is probably true that he de- 
clined the nomination for governor because 
he thought he lacked sufficient education to 
properly fill the position. It was a mat- 
ter of principle that caused him to decline 
to become a candidate for reelection as 
state treasurer in 1858. The principle in- 
volved there was his divergent views on the 
Kansas-Nebraska Bill from those held by 
the majority of his party. This was the 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1957 



rare ease of a man declining a high state 
office because of principle. 

With all his lack of early education he 
became one of the foremost men of his 
daj- because of a superior natural mental- 
ity. He knew intimately and was asso- 
ciated on terms of equality with all the 
great political figures of Indiana in his 
time. A particulai-ly warm friendship ex- 
isted between him and Thomas A. Hen- 
dricks, and he was also associated in busi- 
ness and politics with such Indiana giants 
as Daniel W. Voorhees, J. E. ilcDonald, 
David Turpie and others. When Mr. Hen- 
dricks was elected vice president of the 
United States in 1884, with Grover Cleve- 
land as president, that noted Indianan se- 
lected Mr. Jones for the appointment as 
postmaster of Indianapolis. This appoint- 
ment was not confirmed without strong op- 
position. For the first time since the Civil 
war the democratic party had come into 
power, and there was a general scramble 
for the political offices and patronage so 
long withheld from the party. But in the 
end Mr. Jones was appointed and was post- 
master of Indianapolis throughout the first 
administration of President Cleveland. 

One of his strongest characteristics was 
a taetfulness which enabled him to har- 
monize many misunderstandings among his 
party associates and also in business affairs. 
He was a thorough business man and accu- 
mulated considerable wealth because of his 
keen judgment and untiring energy. 

A story has been told illustrating his 
business integrity. One time during an 
absence from Indianapolis he was elected 
president of one of the local banks. Upon 
his return, with characteristic energ;\- he 
began a careful investigation of the bank's 
condition. He advised immediate liquida- 
tion before the bank was closed by court 
mandate, and this promptness enabled him 
to pay ninety-five cents on the dollar to 
the creditors. 

In business affairs the name of Aquilla 
Jones was for many years officially iden- 
tified with the Indianapolis Rolling Mills. 
He became treasurer of the corporation in 
1861 and in 1873 was made president. 
In the latter year he was also chosen 
president of the city waterworks of In- 
dianapolis, but resigned soon afterward be- 
cause of the urgency of his private busi- 
ness, affairs. For years he was an active 
member of St. Paul's Episcopal Church. 



The characteristics that showed them- 
selves most forcibly in his career were those 
of strong mentality, a sympathetic nature 
and understanding, utter fearlessness and 
absolute honesty. 

In 1836 he married Miss Sarah Ann 
Arnold, who died soon afterward. In 1840 
he married iliss Harriet Cox. Their chil- 
dren were Elisha P., John W., Emma, Ben- 
jamin F., Charles, Aquilla Q., Edwin S., 
William M., Frederick, Harriet and Mary. 

Rev. James Henry Durham, chaplain 
of the ^Marion Branch of the National Sol- 
diers Home, Grant County, and pastor of 
Holy Family Church, Gas City, has been 
a man of increasing service to his church 
and the people of Indiana for more than 
ten years. 

Father Durham was born at Middletown, 
New York, November 26, 1874. Having 
finished his primary education in the pub- 
lic school he was employed by the National 
Saw Company, seven years, the last four 
of which were spent as assistant superin- 
tendent. His service with this company 
gave him that knowledge of men which has 
proven so useful in his life calling. Feel- 
ing the call to a higher vocation he left 
secular employment to take up the classic 
course in St. Benedict's College at Atchi- 
son, Kansas. Here he was appointed busi- 
ness manager, and during his finishing 
year, editor of the "Abbey Student." He 
graduated as ' ' Gold-Medal Man ' ' in Chris- 
tian Doctrine, History and English in 1902. 
During the following five years he pursued 
the philosophical and theological course in 
Mt. St. Mary's Seminary at Cincinnati, 
Ohio. There he received all the minor 
orders of the church, and was finally or- 
dained deacon by Archbishop Mueller on 
:\Iarc-h 16, 1907. 

Father Durham was ordained priest in 
the Cathedral at Fort Wayne May 22, 1907, 
by the Rt. Rev. Bishop Alerding. His first 
assignment was as assistant pastor of St. 
Patrick's Church in Fort Wayne, June 8, 
1907. Fron% there he went to Dunkirk, 
Indiana, as pastor, where he remained eigh- 
teen months. 

His appointment as chaplain of the 
National Military Home took effect July 16, 
1913. In addition to the responsibilities 
of his government position Father Durham 
has the spiritual care of some fifty-six fam- 



1958 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ilies, members of Holj' Family Church, 
Gas City. 

Charles W. Galliher. A merchant of 
long and prosperous standing at Muncie, 
Charles W. Galliher is one of the promi- 
nent democrats of the state, a member of 
the Democratic Committee of Indiana at 
the present time, is also president of the 
Muncie Commercial Club, and has a num- 
ber of other avenues of active influence in 
that city and county. 

He was born at Muncie October 26, 
1864, and his people have been in Dela- 
ware County from very early pioneer times. 
His parents were Martin J. and Rhoda 
(Ogden) Galliher, the former a native of 
Virginia and the latter of New Jersey. 
They married in the east and in 1837 set- 
tled at Cincinnati, Ohio, but soon after- 
ward moved to the pioneer community of 
Muncie, which was then known as iluneie- 
town, and was an isolated country village. 
For several years Martin Galliher fol- 
lowed the packing business, but later moved 
to a farm near Muncie and acquired and 
developed 320 acres of rich farming land 
in that vicinity. He lived as a farmer 
until his death in 1887. He was one of the 
noted stock raisers of the county, a man of 
honor and integrity in all his business and 
civic relations, voted as a democrat and 
was an earnest and hard working member 
of the Baptist Church. 

Charles W. Galliher, the youngest of 
four children, was educated in the public 
schools of Muncie and at the age of seven- 
teen began an apprenticeship at the car- 
riage painting trade. Though he served 
the full apprenticeship he never took up 
the trade as a business, being diverted into 
other lines. In 1888 he entered the employ 
of the S. C. Cowan Company and for five 
years was manager of that well known 
Muncie enterprise. He then entered busi- 
ness for himself as a draper and upholsterer 
at 118 South Mulberry Street. This is the 
business he has followed ever since, and in 
that and his other affairs has been highly 
prospered. In 1904 he formed "a copartner- 
ship with C. E. Whitehill under the firm 
name of Whitehill & Galliher, which was 
dissolved in 1909, and since then Mr. Gal- 
liher has been sole proprietor of the busi- 
ness. 

He has interests in various other l)usi- 
ness afl'airs at Muncie, and is a director of 
the Delaware County Agricultural Society, 



a director of the State Chamber of Com- 
merce, is former president of the Country 
Club of Muncie, and has attained the thir- 
ty-second degree of Scottish Rite Masonry. 
In 1913 he was appointed a member of the 
Muncie Board of Safety. His work has 
always identified him with the democratic 
party. He has an extensive acquaintance 
with the influential men of his party 
throughout the entire state. 

Charles J. Robb is editor and associate 
owner of the Michigan City Evening News, 
the oldest paper in LaPorte County and 
one of the oldest in the state, having been 
established in 1835. 

Mr. Robb has had a long and active 
career in practically evei*y phase of jour- 
nalism and newspaper ownership and man- 
agement. He was born at Montezuma, 
Iowa, January 21, 1856, sou of Joseph and 
Elizabeth Jane (McAllister) Robb. His 
father was an Iowa merchant. Charles J. 
Robb was about eight years old when his 
mother died, and after that he lived and 
acquired his education in the public 
schools of Indianapolis, Oskaloosa, and 
Albia, Iowa. 

He went with his father to Albia, Iowa, 
where his father again became engaged in 
the mercantile business, and where the 
sub.iect of this sketch made his home for 
many years. He finished his apprentice- 
ship at the printer's trade at Mishawaka, 
Indiana, but developed his talent as a re- 
porter chiefly with The Gate City at Keo- 
kuk, Iowa. Then for a time he was re- 
porter and otfiee man on the Michigan City 
Enterprise, of which the Evening News is 
a successor. He resigned the position of 
city editor of the Every-Day Enterprise 
to accept a similar one on the Sanduskj^ 
Local at Sandusky, Ohio. After several 
years there he became reporter and adver- 
tising manager of the Flint Journal at 
Flint, Michigan, and in the fall of 1887 
became manager of the Grocers' Regulator, 
a trade .iournal, and Price Current for the 
wholesale grocery house of Reid, Murdoch 
& Fischer at Chicago. 

It was at the earnest request of a num- 
ber of citizens of Michigan City that he re- 
turned in 1888 and assumed the ownership 
and editorial direction of The Evening 
News, then owned by the Republican 
Printing Company. It ha.s been under his 
jurisdiction and energies, coupled with 
those of his partners, that The News has 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1959 



risen to be one of the prominent and is 
one among the best daily papers in Indiana. 
The publishing firm at present is Robb & 
Misener. 

Mr. Robb holds membership in and is a 
charter member of the Inland Daily Press 
Association, composed of daily papers in 
seven surrounding states, with headquar- 
ters in Chicago. For several years he rep- 
resented Indiana on the vice presidency 
and on the board of directors of the asso- 
ciation ; he is a non-resident member of the 
Chicago Press Club and a member of the 
Indiana State Republican Editorial Asso- 
ciation and of the Northern Indiana Edi- 
torial Association. 

Mr. Robb is a republican and served as 
chairman of the Republican City Organi- 
zation for several years. He was appointed 
collector of customs of Michigan City un- 
der the Harrison administration, and 
served a period of twenty-five years in that 
office. Mr. Robb is a member of the Ma- 
sonic Order, the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias, and the 
National Union. In 1890 he married Miss 
Josephine R. Webber of Williamston, Mich- 
igan. They have one daughter, Ruth M. 

TiLGHMAN A. Howard was born in South 
Carolina November 14, 1797. After his 
admission to the bar in Tennessee he prac- 
ticed in that state for some time, and was 
also a member of the State Legislature. 
About the year 1830 he came to Indiana, 
and was subsequently appointed a United 
States district attorney. Tilghman A. 
Howard became known as a lawyer of splen- 
did ability, and as a jurist or political 
speaker he ranked with the best of his 
day. 

The death of Mr. Howard occurred Au- 
gust 16, 1844, in Texas, whither he had 
been sent as charge d'affaires. 

David C. Speaker. During the last 
forty years David C. Spraker has probably 
appeared as an active participant in as 
many business and civic interests at Ko- 
komo as any other man. He has been a 
merchant, public official, manufacturer, 
banker, and altogether has lived his three 
score and ten years with complete fidelity 
to the best ideals of manhood. 

'Mr. Spraker was born February 15, 
1847, in Decatur County, Indiana, son of 
Daniel and Martha (Miller) Spraker. He 



is of old American ancestry. His grand- 
father, George Spraker, was born in Vir- 
ginia, was a farmer by occupation, and 
died at the advanced age of ninety years 
in his native state. Daniel Spraker was 
born in Virginia, and was one of the early 
settlers of Decatur County, Indiana, com- 
ing west in 1835 and buying land near 
Greensburg. He was a farmer in that 
locality until his death in 1855, at the age 
forty-four. He was a devout and sincere 
i\Iethodist, and in politics voted as a whig 
and later as a republican. At the time 
of his death he had a farm of 230 acres. 
His widow died in 1859. They had nine 
children, three of whom are still living. 

David C. Spraker, sixth in age among 
the children, was a boy when he lost his 
parents, and in 1860 he came to Howard 
County and lived with his uncle, John 
Miller, a few miles west of Kokomo. He 
attended public school and also had the 
advantages of the Academy at Thorntown. 
He remained with his uncle eight years, 
and in 1868 began clerking in a store at 
New London. After a year he bought out 
the proprietor of a drug and grocery busi- 
ness, and continued merchandising there 
until 1878, when he was elected to the office 
of county treasurer of Howard County. 
He served two terms of two years each, 
and on leaving office he engaged in the 
manufacture of drain tile, and since then 
has been busied with many other inter- 
ests. He was a tile manufacturer two 
years, and in the meantime had become in- 
terested in the natural gas industry. 

Mr. Spraker was identified with the or- 
ganization of the Kokomo Natural Gas 
Company, which put down the first pro- 
ductive well in this part of the state on 
October 6, 1886. Mr. Spraker was vice 
president of the Gas Company until 1895. 
In that year he organized the Kokomo 
Rubber Company for the manufacture of 
rubber specialties and mechanical appli- 
ances, including bicycle tires, and Mr. 
Spraker was its first president and man- 
ager, and held these offices until 1917. He 
then sold out the most of his interests in 
the company and is now practically retired, 
thougli he continued as a director in two 
of the leading banks of Kokomo. 

He is a member of the Masonic Order, 
the Elks and the Knights of Pythias, is a 
Methodist and a republican. From 1869 
to 1877 Mr. Spraker served as postmaster 
at New London, having first been com- 



1960 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



missioned to that office during the adminis- 
tration of President Johnson. Mr. Spraker 
owns a large amount of real estate in How- 
ard County, and its management now re- 
quires the most of his time. 

Fred G. Webb. A business of great im- 
portance in every community in the United 
States is that carried on by the manufac- 
turers and dealers in shoes, footwear of 
some kind being indispensable to health, 
appearance and comfort. The leading shoe 
merchant at Anderson, Indiana, is Fred G. 
Webb, who is sole proprietor of a business 
that was the pioneer in this line here when 
started by its first owners many years ago. 
Mr. Webb is a shoe man of long practical 
experience, and is considered one of An- 
derson's representative business men. 

Fred G. Webb was born on his father's 
farm in IMadison County, Indiana, 2i/o 
miles west of Anderson. His parents were 
James L. and Sarah E. (Cather) Webb, 
the ancestral lines, many generations back, 
reaching to England, Scotland and Ireland. 
The early Webbs settled in Virginia, and 
branches of the family may be found in 
many other states of the Union at the pres- 
ent time. The father of Mr. Webb served 
as a soldier through the Civil war and 
afterward passed his life in or near Ander- 
son, Indiana, as a farmer and dealer in real 



In the country schools of Madison 
County Fred G. Webb passed through the 
different grades and then entered the high 
school at Anderson, and for two years he 
pursued his studies there and kept well to 
the front in his classes while all the time 
he was working in the mornings and on 
Saturdays for the shoe merchant, E. R. 
Prather, whose father was the pioneer in 
the biisiness at Anderson. 

With the exception of about a year and 
a half, when he was employed as window 
trimmer for the firm of H. S. Hysiuger & 
Son, Mr. Webb has been identified through- 
out his business career with the shoe in- 
dustry and probably is as well acquainted 
with the business from every point of view 
as any man in the country. For two yeara 
lie was connected with the firm of Prather 
& liei'lsalile as a shoe salesman, and after 
the junior partner sold out was engaged 
as manager and continued as such until 
January 12, 1914, when he purchased the 
Prather store and has continued the busi- 
ness very successfully ever since. He is 



well acquainted with the demands of his 
trade, his selling territory taking in tlie 
city and even extending beyond and into 
iladison County's limits, his reputation for 
business integrity being as well recognized 
as his enterprise. 

Jlr. Webb was married in 1913 to Miss 
Hazel Marsh, who is a daughter of W. R. 
and Araminta (Seybert) Mai-sh. The 
father of Mrs. Webb was a merchant and 
contractor at Anderson for many years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Webb have no children. 

Since early manhood Mr. Webb hastaken 
a deep interest in public questions just as 
an earnest citizen should to ensure good 
government and equal opportunities for 
all. He has always been identified with 
the republican party and in 1912 was his 
party 's candidate for county surveyor. Al- 
though not elected he was defeated by so 
small a majority that his popularity was 
confirmed. He belongs to the order of Elks 
at Anderson. 

Benjamin F. Shaets has long enjoyed 
an enviable position in Logansport banking 
and business circles, and for the past five 
years has been president of the Fenton In- 
vestment Company. This is an extensive 
moi-tgage, loan and investment business 
which was founded and built up by the late 
C. 0. Fenton, and after his death Mr. 
Sharts accepted the responsibility of car- 
rying it forward and has done much to in- 
crease its prestige. 

The Sharts family has been in Cass 
C'Ounty for scvent.y years. Benjamin F. 
Sharts was born on a farm in Tipton Town- 
ship December 12, 1871, son of Aliiah J. 
Sharts and grandson of George P. and 
Frances (Bear) Sharts. George P. Sharts 
moved from Hagerstown, Maryland, to 
Preble County, Ohio, as a pioneer, and 
conducted a grist mill near Germantown 
for several years. In 1848 he settled on 
the Richeson farm in Cass County, and 
with his family lived in a log cabin until 
he could replace it with a more comfortable 
structure. George P. Sharts died in 1853, 
at the age of fifty-two, and his wife passed 
nwav in 1875, at the age of seventy-two. 
Their children were named Mary M., Rose 
Ann, Elizabeth, Catherine, Abraham, John, 
Eliza J., George P.. William 0., Abiah J. 
and Caroline. 

Abiah J. Sharts. who was born in Preble 
County October 24, 1844, was four years 
old when brought to Cass County and grew 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1901 



up there, receiving his first educational 
advantages in a log cabin school. He be- 
came self-supporting by his work at the 
age of fifteen. In June, 1863, at the age 
of nineteen, he entered Company F of the 
One Hundred and Sixteenth Indiana In- 
fantry, was mustered in at Indianapolis, 
and saw some of the hardest fighting in the 
Kentucky and Tennessee campaigns dur- 
ing the next j'ear. He was at Knoxville, 
did guard duty at Cumberland Gap, Green- 
ville and Tazewell, Tennessee, and was 
granted his honorable discharge at Lafay- 
ette, Indiana, in March, 1864. On return- 
ing home he resumed the responsibilities of 
managins the home farm, and conducted it 
until 1879, when he moved to a farm ad- 
joining the old homestead on the south. 
In the course of time he developed one of 
the best farms in Tipton Township, having 
over 150 acres, and an attractive and 
comfortable home. He has always been a 
republican, is a member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic, the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and worships in ■ 
the Seven-Mile United Brethren Church. 
In 1867 he married Ellen Alice Wilson. 
Her father, Andrew Wilson, was a pioneer 
settler in Cass County. To their marriage 
were born six children : Harry, deceased ; 
Benjamin F. ; Elmer ; Walter, deceased ; 
Blanche : and Charles. 

As this record shows, Benjamin F. 
Sharts had behind him a sturdy agricul- 
tural ancestry, and he has always been 
grateful that his own, boyhood was spent 
in the environment of the countrv. He did 
farm work at the same time that he at- 
tended district school. In the fall of 1888, 
at the age of seventeen, he went to live 
with a relative at Topeka, Kansas, and at- 
tended the high school of that city three 
years. Each year he carried off the honors 
of his class. Returning to Indiana, he 
taught his old home school in Tipton Town- 
ship a year, also the Boyer School a mile 
east of Walton, and was in the Woodling 
School in Washington Township two years. 
On coming to Logansport in the summer of 
1895 ilr. Sharts was employed in the 
county treasurer's office for a year, and in 
^lay, 1896, entered the Logansport State 
Bank. He was messenger and bookkeeper, 
later teller, and in May, 1906, after ten 
years with the bank he was promoted to 
cashier. Mr. Sharts was with this old and 
well known financial institution of the Wa- 
bash Valley for a total of seventeen years. 



He resigned to take the management of the 
Fenton Investment Company in the spring 
of 1913. Mr. Sharts is a republican, has 
been an active member of the Cass County 
Historical Society, is identified with many 
civic and patriotic movements, and is affil- 
iated with Tipton Lodge No. 33, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, Logan Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, Logan Council No. 11^ 
Royal and Select Masons, and St. John 
Commandery No. 2i, Knight Templars, 
at Logansport. He was eminent comman- 
der of St. John Commandery in 1907. 
October 3, 1900, he married Miss Pearl 
McManus. This loving wife and devoted 
mother passed away November 25, 1918, 
leaving the husband and three children, 
Victor Benjamin, aged sixteen; Robert 
Wilson, aged twelve; and Eleanor Jane, 
aged three. 

RuFUs Magee for many yeai-s was re- 
garded as one of Indiana 's foremost demo- 
crats both at home and abroad. He served 
as United States Minister to Sweden and 
Norway during President Cleveland's ad- 
ministration. 

He is a native of Logansport, where he 
was born October 17, 1845, and is now 
spending the quiet years of his age in the 
^ame city which saw his birth. He is of 
Scotch-Irish ancestry, but of an old Ameri- 
can family. His grandfather, Daniel Ma- 
sree, served as a soldier in the Revolution. 
His father. Empire A. Magee, was a mill- 
wright by trade and was one of the pio- 
neers in the Wabash Valley to follow that 
occupation. He located at Logansport as 
early as 1836. He built the forge at what 
was known as the "Four Mile Locks" in 
Miami Township. The forge was con- 
structed for the smelting of "Kidney 
Iron." Later he built the Aubeenaubee 
forge in Fulton County on the Tippecanoe 
River, also operated a grist mill at Lock- 
port in Carroll County, and at Monticello 
built the mills of the Monticello Hydraulic 
Company. He died at Monticello in 1873. 
He was a Covenanter in religion. 

Rufus Magee had few opportunities dur- 
ing his youth which he did not create him- 
self. He lived with his parents to the ase 
of nine. Thereafter self sustaining occu- 
iiation went hand in hand with his educa- 
tion. He gained most of his education 
working as a devil and practical printer. 
His first experience was with the White 
County JeflPersonian, and for many years 



1962 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



afterward he was eonneeted with various 
publications both as a printer and writer. 
He was in Indianapolis and Logansport, 
and in December, 1868, bought the Logans- 
port Pharos. In August, 1874, he began 
issuing a daily paper. He finally sold his 
newspaper interests and for many years 
has been largely occupied with his private 
business affairs. 

From 1872 to 1878 Mr. Magee was a 
member of the Democratic State Central 
Committee and its secretary two years. In 
1882 he was elected to the State Senate, 
and in 1900 was again elected to that office. 
In 1896 he was again a member of the State 
Central Committee, but resigned when the 
silver plank was introduced into the demo- 
cratic platform. Mr. Magee was appointed 
^Minister to Sweden and Norway by Presi- 
dent Cleveland in March, 1885, and was 
abroad representing this government in the 
Scandinavian Peninsula four years and 
three months. On his return he took up 
the practice of law, for which he had 
qualified himself during his newspaper ex- 
perience, but since 1902 has lived retired. 

Mr. Magee married in 1868 Miss Jennie 
Musselman. They became the parents of 
two daughters. 

John C. F. Br.\ttain, former postmaster 
of Alexandria, has for many years been a 
successful business man of that city and is 
sole proprietor of the Brattain Plumbing 
and Heating Company. 

He was born at Jliddletown in Henry 
County, Indiana, July 15, 1862, and when 
he was eleven years of age in 1873 his par- 
ents moved to Alexandria. His great- 
grandfather came to this country from Ire- 
land and lived in South Carolina. Mr. 
Brattain 's father was born in Indiana and 
was a merchant and died in 1910. John 
Brattain acquired most of his education in 
the Alexandria public schools, attending 
high school for three years. He learned his 
trade under A. E. Brattain, and was his 
employe for ten years. In 1891 he bought 
the business at the corner of Canal and 
Church streets, but subsequently located 
and erected the building at 115 North 
Canal Street where his business now has 
its headquarters. He does general plumb- 
ing, heating and general repairs, and has 
handled some of the most important con- 
tracts over a territory around Alexandria 
for ten miles. 

In 1916 Mr. Brattain married ^liss Wini- 



fred G. Carr, daughter of John Carr of 
^lenasha, Wisconsin. Mr. Brattain has al- 
ways been an active republican, and his 
service as postmaster of Alexandria was 
under appointment from President Taft. 
He served from 1910 to 1914. He is afSl- 
iated with the Masonic Lodge and Council 
at Alexandria and also with the local 
lodges of Elks, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, Knights of Pythias, Improved 
Order of Red Men, Pythian Sisters and 
Eastern Star. He is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. Wliat Mr. 
Brattain has acquired in a business way is 
due to his efforts and long continued work, 
and he stands high among local citizens. 
He is chairman of the Factory Committee 
of the Alexandria Business Men's Associa- 
tion. 

Edwin Walker, M. D., Ph. D. The 
Walker Hospital in Evansville is an institu- 
tion of the finest modern equipment and 
service, and for a long period of years 
under the management and proprietorship 
of Dr. Edwin Walker has served the needs 
of a large section in Southern Indiana. 
Its founder and proprietor is a man of 
more than ordinary eminence in his profes- 
sion, and has been doing the work of a 
well qualified physician and surgeon for 
over forty-five years. 

He was a pioneer in giving Evansville 
modern hospital service. He comes of a 
family of pioneers. His people settled 
in Evansville more than eighty years ago. 
His ancestry goes back to George Walker, 
who with his two brothers, named Robert 
and Michael, sailed from the port of 
Dublin, Ireland, early in the eighteenth 
century and settled at Newton Creek in 
New Jersey. This settlement became allied 
with the Salem, New Jersey, settlement, 
and marriages between them were frequent. 
George Walker married Miss Brinton. 
Their son, George Brinton Walker, great- 
grandfather of Doctor Walker, married 
about 1760 Mary Hall. She was the 
daughter of William Hall, Jr., and Eliza- 
beth (Smith) Hall. Her grandfather, Wil- 
liam Hall, Sr., emigrated from Dublin, Ire- 
l='nd, in 1677 with John and Andrew 
Thompson and settled in Pyles Grove 
Township, Salem County, New Jersey. He 
became prominent in business affairs, his 
prosperity being measured by the owner- 
ship of extensive lands. In 1709 he was 
appointed judge of the County Court. His 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1963 



second wife was named Sarah Clement, of 
Gloucester County. Her oldest son, Wil- 
liam Hall, Jr., was born August 22, 1701, 
and inherited a part of his father's estate 
in Upper Maunington and the greater part 
of the Salem property. 

Captain William Walker, grandfather 
of Doctor Walker, was born at Pennsneck, 
New Jersey, in September, 1782. He saw 
active service in the War of 1812. Prom 
New Jersey he removed to Cincinnati and 
remained there until about 1835, when he 
came to Evansville, then a small and flour- 
ishing town. Joseph P. Elliott, who knew 
him well, wrote of him in his history of 
Vanderburg County: "He was never idle 
but was an active, useful man. At times he 
contracted for earth work and improve- 
ment of streets, and sometimes undertook 
to build houses. At the breaking out of 
the jMexican war he was an efficient court 
official." For this war he set about to 
raise a company, and hoisted his flag in 
front of the Market House at the junction 
of Main and Third streets. In two weeks 
the roll was filled and he was commis- 
sioned captain of Company K, which was 
attached to the Second Regiment of In- 
diana Volunteers. AVith this command he 
went to Mexico. He was killed February 
23, 1847, at the battle of Bucna Vista, 
while leading twenty-three of his men in 
the thickest of the fight. The survivors 
afterward said that he told his men "we 
must go through or die," and with drawn 
sword in hand he led his men through the 
fray and fell after being lanced through 
the body in seventeen places. His remains 
were brought to Evansville in the summer 
of 1847 and buried in Oak Hill Cemetery, 
with becoming military honors. He was 
then sixty-six years of age. 

Captain Walker married Catherine 
Tyler. She was born September 28, 1785, 
daughter of James and Hannah (Acton) 
Tyler, and granddaughter of James and 
IMartha (Simpson) Tyler. Her great- 
grandparents were William and Mary 
( Abbott 1 Tyler, William Tyler being a 
son of William and Johanna (Parsons) 
Tyler, who were natives of Walton in Som- 
ersetshire, England, and came to America 
about 1688, settling in Western New Jersey, 
where William Tyler bought large tracts of 
land on the north side of Monmouth River. 
Captain Walker was survived by his widow 
several years. They had seven children : 
James Tyler, George B., Hannah, William 



H., Mary, John T. and Oscar. George B. 
was a ph.ysician and one of the founders 
of Evansville Medical College. He was for 
three years surgeon in the Union Army 
in war between the states and was promi- 
nent in business affaii-s. John T. was also 
a physician, and was assistant surgeon in 
the Mexican war and surgeon of the Twen- 
ty-fifth Regular Indiana Volunteer Infan- 
try, in the war between the states. William 
H. was prominent in public afi'airs and 
served as mayor of Evansville and as 
county auditor. Oscar was also a physi- 
cian. He removed to Missouri, and spent 
his last years there. 

James Tyler Walker, father of Doctor 
Walker, was born at Salem, New Jersey, 
April 15, 1806, but spent most of his life 
in the Ohio Valley. He acquired a liberal 
education for his time, and after his admis- 
sion to the bar began practice at Evansville. 
He raised a company for the Union army 
in the Civil war, but being past military 
age his individual service were re.ieeted. 
He was a democrat in politics, and was 
elected a member of the State Legislature 
in 1844. He was a member of Grace Mem- 
orial Presbyterian Church. The death of 
this honored member of the Evansville bar 
occurred in 1877. He married Charlotte 
Burtis, who was born in Center Town.ship 
of Vanderburg County March 2, 1822, a 
daughter of Jesse and Elizabeth (Miller) 
Burtis and granddaughter of Jesse Burtis, 
Sr., and Elizabeth (Brewer) Burtis. Jesse 
Burtis, Sr., during his early life lived on 
Broome Street, New York City. In 1817 
Jesse Burtis, Jr., removed to Cincinnati, 
and from there to Vanderburg County in 
1820, and was one of the first permanent 
settlers in Center Township. He and his 
wife were Quakers, ilrs. James T. Walker 
died in 1901, the mother of two sons, James 
Tyler and Edwin. James Tyler Walker 
has long been identified with the Evans- 
ville bar. He married Lucy Alice Babcock, 
a daughter of Henry 0. and Mary (How- 
ser) Babcock, and their two children are 
Henrv Babcock and Mary. 

Edwin Walker, who was born at Evans- 
ville May 6, 1853, graduated from the 
Evansville High School in 1869. attended 
Hanover College at Hanover, Indiana, and 
graduated in 1874 from the Evansville 
Medical College. Hanover College con- 
ferred upon him the degree of P. H. D. 
Beginning practice the same year, he was 
appointed professor of anatomy in the 



1964 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Evansville Medical College. Then, in 1877, 
he attended lectures at the University of 
New York in New York City and received 
his diploma from that institution in 1879. 
He has also taken post graduate work in 
New York, Baltimore, Boston and Chicago, 
and has twice visited Europe, studying in 
London, Edinburgh, Berlin and Vienna. In 
1882 he and others established a city hos- 
pital, and operated it successfully for sev- 
eral years. In 1887 he established at 
Evansville a training school for nurses. 
This was the second school of the kind in 
Indiana and about the thirtieth in the 
United States. 

Doctor Walker established the Walker 
Hospital on South Fourth Street in 1894. 
Up to that time he had carried on a gen- 
eral practice and his work has been chiefly 
surgery. He still gives his supervision to 
the affairs of the hospital, and that institu- 
tion with all its facilities is a splendid 
memorial to the painstaking work and the 
high ideals of Doctor Walker. He is a 
member of the County Medical Society, the 
Indiana State :Medical Society, has served 
as president of the Mississippi Valley Medi- 
cal Society and as first vice president of the 
American Medical Association, is a member 
of the American Gynecological Society, and 
is a Fellow of the American College of 
Surgeons. Since 1899 his active associate 
has been Dr. James York Welborn. 

In 1880 Doctor Walker married Capitola 
Hudspeth. She was born at Booneville, In- 
diana, a daughter of George P. and ilar- 
garet (Smith) Hudspeth. Her father was 
a native of Bowling Green, Kentucky, and 
a relative to the Daniel Boone family. Her 
mother was born at Booneville, Indiana, 
where her parents were pioneers. 

Louis Phillip Seeburgee. A lifelong 
resident of Terre Haute, where he was 
a succesr,ful business man and farmer, 
Louis Phillip Seeburger was most widely 
known both in his native county and state 
for his prominence in democratic politics. 
The field of politics seemed to appeal to 
his tastes and inclinations early in life and 
for thirty-five years he almost continuously 
held some office or other. It is said that 
he was a candidate for twelve different 
offices and only two defeats were registered 
against his candidacy. His last office was 
that of county assessor of Vigo County. 
His death occurred on the 17th of January, 
1919. 



Mr. Seeburger was born on First Street 
in Terre Haute June 2, 1855, fourth 
among the seven children of Louis and 
Caroline (Frey) Seeburger. His father 
was a native of Baden and his mother of 
Wuertemberg, Germany. Louis Seeburger 
came to America in 1844, lived a time in 
New York, and from there removed to 
Philadelphia. His wife came to New York 
in 1845 with her two brothers, and in 
1846 Louis Seeburger and Caroline Frey 
were married in Philadelphia. The fol- 
lowing .year they came west and settled 
at Terre Haute, their first home being at 
the corner of Second and Poplar streets, 
but about 1848 was moved to lot seventy- 
two in the city. Louis Seeburger was for 
a number of .years engaged in the retail 
meat and butcher business, and was a man 
of considerable prominence in local affairs. 
He died in 1876, and at that time was a 
candidate for the Legislature. He had 
been a member of the City Council four 
.years and in 1872 was nominated for 
county commissioner and in 1874 for city 
treasurer. More than seventy 3'ears have 
passed since the parents were married in 
Philadelphia and the widowed mother is 
still living, at the venerable age of ninety- 
two. All her seven children grew to ma- 
turity, and the first to die was forty-seven 
years old. Three are still living and all 
residents of Terre Haute. 

Practical experience in business came to 
Louis Seeburger early in life. As a boy 
in Terre Haute he received his first in- 
struction in some private schools, and 
afterwards attended the public schools. 
Still later he was a student in a commer- 
cial school. When only six years of age 
he began helping in his father's butcher 
shop, and at the age of ten he bought his 
first cattle, pa.ying seven cents a pound on 
the hoof. He continued in the butcher 
business until 1882. 

He was married that year and then re- 
moved to a farm of 160 acres in Honey 
Creek Township of Vigo County. Mar- 
riage and change of occupation were not 
the only two events of that year. In No- 
vember he was appointed deputy sheriff, 
and in January, 1883, returned to Terre 
Haute to take up his public duties. For 
eighteen years his home was at the corner 
of Fifteenth and Chestnut streets. After 
four years as deputy sheriff he became 
deputy under County Treasurer Cox. and 
in 1887 was appointed to the United States 




^w& ^l^^:>pjLuaM^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1965 



revenue service. In 1889 he resigned his 
public office and enaaged in the meat busi- 
ness with John JIcFall. In 1894 Mr. See- 
burger was nominated on the democratic 
ticket for the office of sheriff, and although 
running seven hundred votes ahead of the 
ticket was defeated. After that campaign 
he engaged in the wholesale packing busi- 
ness under the name Seeburger & Patton. 

In 1896 the democrats of Vigo County 
gave him an unanimous nomination for 
sheriff, and he was one of the two demo- 
crats elected on the county ticket that year. 
He received a plurality of 448, and the 
significance of this is heightened by the 
fact that jMcKinley had only thirteen 
more votes from the county as republican 
candidate for president. Mr. Seeburger 
was re-elected sheriff in 1898, by a greatly 
increased majority, and was in that office 
until November 1900. In the meantime 
in 1899 he bought a farm three miles north 
of the Coui't House, and when public du- 
ties did not interfere he gave his time and 
energy to its management. 

In 1906 Mr. Seeburger was elected a 
eountv commissioner and in 1908 was 
chosen cresident of the board. In 1910 he 
was nominated for state senator, but on a 
technical ground, that he already held a 
.iudicial office, he was declared ineligible. 
In 1913 he was elected a memher at large 
of the City Council, and became its presi- 
dent. While in that office he was elected 
county assessor. 

Mr. Seeburger was a thirty-second de- 
gree Scottish Rite Mason and in the York 
Rite was a member of the Lodge, Chapter, 
Council, and Knight Templar Command- 
erj'. He was identified with the Knights 
of Pythias and the Terre Haute Commer- 
cial Club, and there was not a better 
known nor more highly esteemed man in 
the citizenship of Vigo County. At one 
time he was president of the State Asso- 
ciation of County Commissioners. At an- 
other time he published the "Public Offi- 
cial" magazine. 

On January 26, 1882, Mr. Seeburger 
married Miss ]\Iary W. Noble, daughter of 
Charles T. and Elizabeth L. (Herring) 
Noble. 

Charles T. Noble was a conspicuous fig- 
ure in the early educational affairs of Vigo 
County, is remembered as the first teacher, 
and many who afterwards became promi- 
nent in business and affairs recognized 



gratefully the early influences and in- 
struction received from him. ]\Ir. Noble 
was also the second county clerk in Vigo 
County, an office he held for fourteen 
years, and was the first auditor and first 
city clerk of Terre Haute. Five children 
were born to ilr. and Mrs. Seeburger, two 
of whom died in infancy. The three sons 
living are Edward P., John N. and Louis 
W., all natives of Terre Haute. 

George S. Kinnard, who achieved prom- 
inent recognition as a member of the In- 
dianapolis bar, was a representative from 
the old Sixth District. During the short 
time he was engaged in the work of his 
profession he rose to prominence and at his 
death left the impress of his ability as a 
distinguished lawyer. He was accidentally 
killed in a steamboat explosion. 

George W. Rauch. It was the fortune 
of an able Marion lawyer to represent the 
Eleventh Indiana District in Congress in 
one of the most vital and important epochs 
in history, from the Sixtieth to the Sixty- 
fifth Congress. 

Mr. Rauch was first elected to Con^re^-; 
in 1906, and served continuously until 
March, 1917, when he retired and resumed 
the practice of his profession. During his 
last term he was fourth member of the 
powerful committee on appropriations in 
the House of Representatives. This com- 
mittee directs the huge money bills which 
make possible the operation of the vast ma- 
chinery of government. Mr. Rauch also 
had an active part in the study, delibera- 
tion and passage of naany of the measures 
involving the great and complicated prob- 
lems solved by the National Legislature 
during the first administration of Presi- 
dent Wilson. 

George W. Rauch was born on a farm 
near Warren in Huntington County, In- 
diana, February 22, 1876, and is the son 
of Philip and ilartha Ranch. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Huntington 
County, later attended the Valparaiso Nor- 
mal, and graduated in law from the North- 
ern Indiana Law School at Valparaiso. He 
was admitted to the bar in 1906, and began 
practice at Marion, and is a member of the 
Grant County Bar Association. 

Mr. Rauch married July 10, 1918, Emma 
Nolen, a member of a prominent Southern 
family. 



1966 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Although a democrat, Mr. Rauch served 
for ten years in Congress as representative 
from what is considered one of the gi'eat 
republican districts of the state and na- 
tion. It was highlj- significant that when 
he was first elected he was only thirty years 
old and had just begun the practice of law, 
and his election must be regarded as a 
triumph of personality and unusual qualifi- 
cations. His first opponent was Frederick 
Landis of Logansport, brother of Judge 
Landis of Chicago. In that election he won 
by a plurality of 3,000, the plurality of Mr. 
Landis over his democratic opponent two 
years before having been over 8,000. Mr. 
Rauch continued victorious, and succes- 
sively defeated four of the republican lead- 
ers of the district. 

Besides his service upon the appropria- 
tions committee Mr. Rauch was identified 
with many other important measures before 
Congress. As member of the sub-commit- 
tee on fortifications, he helped promote a 
substantial plan for the fortification of the 
coasts, the fruit of which came co a proper 
appreciation when the nation entered war. 
He also made a successful fight to i-etain 
the National Military Home at Marion. It 
was planned to remove the home on account 
of the rapid decrease in the number of 
soldiers. Jlr. Rauch contended that the 
Home should be preserved not only to take 
proper care of soldiers today but for the 
future, and the wisdom of his contention 
is now of course obvious and has been 
forcefully demonstrated. 

Mr. Rauch was also an active supporter 
of the Federal Reserve Act, which now 
after several years of operation is recog- 
nized as the measure which prevented a 
serious panic in America before the war, 
and on the whole is one of the greatest 
constructive pieces of financial legislation 
ever carried out in the United States. His 
support was also given every movement 
for the betterment of agriculture and all 
legislation for the welfare of the farmer. 
He has proved a good friend of labor and 
is the author of one of the first provisions 
in an appropriation bill providing for an 
eight hour day on government contracts. 
All of these things deserve to be remem- 
bered in the record of an Indiana con- 
gressman. 

Colonel K. Leeson is one of the widely 
known" business men of Madison County, 



and is general manager of the R. L. Lee- 
son & Sons Company, owning and control- 
ling the largest department store at Elwood. 
A steadfast ambition, hard work, fair deal- 
ing and genial good fellowship have given 
him a success which he has well deserved. 

He is a son of General Wayne and Rosie 
(Armfield) Leeson, of Elwood. It has 
been customary in the Leeson family to 
give the sons disting\iished militarj^ names 
as their christian titles, and ]Mr. Leeson is 
careful to disclaim any military service 
that might have given him actual or hon- 
orary possession of his first name. 

The Leesons are originally an English 
family, but have been in America for many 
generations. They were prominent as 
pioneers in Metamora, Indiana, where 
Grandfather R, L. Leeson conducted a gen- 
eral store in pioneer times. He continued 
it there until 1873, when he came to El- 
wood. Here he opened a modest stock of 
goods in one room on Main Street, but after 
a short time his store was burned out. He 
was then located for a year in a single 
room on Anderson Street, and the fiend of 
fire seemed to follow him. After being 
burned out a second time he reestablished 
himself in a room at the corner of Ander- 
son and A streets, where the Leeson store 
has now been located for forty years. It 
was a prosperous business, grew in favor, 
and various departments were added from 
time to time. Grandfather R. L. Leeson 
died in 1906, and his is one of the honored 
names in commercial circles in Elwood. 

His active successor in business was his 
son General W. Leeson, who is secretary 
and treasurer of the R. L. Leeson & Sons 
Company, and was in charge of the business 
alone until 1914. In that year he shared 
his responsibilities with his sons Colonel K. 
and Lawrence, the former as general man- 
ager and the latter as president of the 
company. 

Colonel K. Leeson had a public school 
education in Elwood, attended the Indiana 
Business College one year, and he learned 
merchandising by a thorough apprentice- 
ship in every department and phase of the 
business. He has a mind that comprehends 
and grasps all the details of the now large 
store, which has about 125 employes, and 
sells goods throughout a wide section of 
country surrounding Elwood. He also has 
several other business interests. 

"Sir. Leeson married Iva Poole, daughter 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1967 



of William and Belle (Clarkston) Poole. 
Her family came from Jennings County, 
Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. Leeson were mar- 
ried in 1915. He is a republican voter and 
is affiliated with the Masonic Lodge, 
Quincy Chapter, Ro.^-al Arch Masons, with 
Elwood Lodge No. 368, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and is a member 
of the Zeta Chapter of the Beta Phi Sigma 
at Elwood. He and his wife are members 
of the First Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Dudley H. Chase. The City of Logans- 
port had no nobler representative of 
American citizenship and ideals during the 
last century than the late Dudley H. Chase. 
A native of Logansport, he was from an 
early age identified with some of the most 
sterling scenes in American history, and 
for upwards of forty years held a foremost 
position as a lawyer and judge. 

He was horn at Logansport August 29, 
1837, and died in that city July 2, 1902, 
at the age of sixty-five. His parents were 
Henry and Elizabeth (Donaldson) Chase. 
This branch of the Chase family came from 
Bristol, England, to Massachusetts in colo- 
nial times. Henry Chase was born in Sara- 
toga County, New York, in 1800, and was 
a western pioneer. He located at Delphi, 
Indiana, in 1827, was admitted to the bar, 
practiced four years in Mississippi, return- 
ing to Delphi in 1832, and the following 
year locating at Logansport. He enjoyed 
a large practice and associations with all 
the pioneer lawyers of Northern Indiana, 
the "Wabash River at that time marking 
almost the frontier line of settlement. In 
1839 he was appointed judge of the Eighth 
Judicial District to fill an unexpired term. 
In 1844 he removed to New York City and 
practiced law there five years, and then 
established another home in the new west- 
ern country at Shebo.ygan, Wisconsin, 
where in 1854 he fell a victim to the cholera 
plague. 

Dudley H. Chase spent most of his boy- 
hood at the home of his uncle, William 
Chase, in Logansport. He was educated 
in the local schools, and from an early 
age manifested a great interest in military 
affairs. In 1854 he became captain of a 
local company known as the Logan Grays. 
In 1856 Hon. Schuyler Colfax appointed 
him a cadet at the West Point Military 
Academy. Had he entered that school he 
might have become one of the distinguished 



figures in American military affairs. In- 
stead the moi-e strenuous and exciting 
drama of Kansas enlisted his service and 
participation, and as member of a rifle com- 
pany he battled for freedom on that soil. 
After the Kansas troubles he returned to 
Logansport, studied law with D. D. Pratt, 
and in 1858 graduated from the Cincinnati 
Law School. He had about three years 
of quiet practice at Logansport before the 
outbreak of the Civil war. 

In April, 1861, his local military com- 
pany was offered to the Union army, and 
Judge Chase equipped it at his own ex- 
pense. It became Company K of the Ninth 
Regiment, Indiana Infantry. Before get- 
ting into the field Captain Chase was as- 
signed with fifty-two Indiana volunteei's 
to duties of recruiting in the State of 
Maine. He and his followers were after- 
ward organized as Company A, Second 
Battalion, Seventeenth United States In- 
fantry. This company joined the Fifth 
Army Corps in front of Fredericksburg im- 
mediately after the battle there. Judge 
Chase was in the battles of Chaneellors- 
ville and Gettysburg, and on July 2, 1863, 
was seriously wounded in the hip by a shell. 
Later he was assigned to duty in New York 
City in helping quell the draft riots. On 
recovering from his injury he rejoined his 
command, was at Rappahannock and Bris- 
tow Station, and the Mine Run campaign. 
On account of wounds he resigned his com- 
mission and left the service February 4, 
1864. 

Twenty-seven years of age, with the best 
part of his life still before him, and with 
an enviable record as a soldier and officer, 
he was soon recognized as one of the lead- 
ing lawyers of Northern Indiana. In 1864 
he was elected prosecuting attorney of Cass 
County and re-elected in 1866 and in 1868. 
In 1872 he was elected to the Circuit Bench, 
re-elected in 1878, and after twelve years 
of service declined to be a candidate for 
further honors. But in 1896 he was again 
called from the quiet pui-suits of his profes- 
sion and elected judge of the Twenty-ninth 
Judicial Circuit. He M'as still engaged in 
the duties of that office, surrounded with 
all the dignities of his profession, when 
death came to him and removed one of the 
best citizens Logansport ever knew. 

Judge Chase was a member of Logans- 
port Post No. 14, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, a member of the Indiana Com- 



1968 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



mandery of the Loyal Legion, was 
and eminent commander of St. John's Com- 
mandery of the Knights Templar, and also 
a member of the Odd Fellows. 

October 28, 1859, he married Maria Du- 
rett. Her father was one of the founders 
of Logansport. She died April 12, 1877, 
the mother of five children : William, Rob- 
ert, John, George and Mary. December 
7, 1880, Judge Chase married Grace M. 
Corey, of Saratoga Springs, New York. 
She was a member of the Schuyler family. 
To the second marriage were born four 
children: Charles D., Ruth, James and 
Louise. 

Charles D. Chase, only son of Judge 
Chase still living in Logansport, was born 
in that city September 27, 1882, and for 
many years has been successfully engaged 
in the undertaking business. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools and in 1903 
graduated from the Mj^ers School of Em- 
balming at Columbus. Mr. Chase is affil- 
iated with Oriental Lodge No. 272, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, Bridge City 
Lodge No. 305, Knights of Pythias, Logan 
Lodge No. 40, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, Logansport Lodge No. 66, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, is a re- 
publican in politics and a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Theo Stein, Jr. The name Stein has 
long been prominent in Indianapolis, and 
some of the services and experiences of 
Theo Stein, Sr., have been recounted on 
other pages. 

Some of the important public honors of 
the county have come to his son, Theo Stein, 
Jr., who is now serving his second term 
as county clerk of Marion Count}', and 
also has a recognized position in business 
affairs, all of which he has gained at an 
age when most young men are merely lay- 
ing the foundation of the future. 

He was born at Indianapolis April 11, 
1889, the only son of his parents. He at- 
tended the grammar and high schools, also 
Wabash College, and finished his ediica- 
tion in the University of Pennsylvania. 
On returning home he entered the insur- 
ance business as an employe of the Ger- 
man Fire Insurance Company of Indiana 
and in August, 1911, was appointed city 
manager at Indianapolis for this company. 
He helped build up the local business, and 
in December, 1912, organized a general in- 



surance business. He is still actively inter- 
ested in this growing and successful con- 
cern, the headquarters of which are in the 
Lemeke Annex at Indianapolis. 

Mr. Stein since attaining manhood has 
been a hard worker in behalf of the local 
republican organization, and in 1914 his 
name was placed on the county ticket as 
candidate for county clerk and he was 
elected. He is a thirty-second degree Scot- 
tish Rite Mason and a member of the 
Shrine, and also a member of the Marion 
Club, University Club, the Athenjeum, the 
Country Club, and the Board of Trade. 
In 1916 he married Miss Dorothy Kinnear 
Bennett, of New York City. 

George W. Dickey is a machinist, and 
automobile man of wide and varied experi- 
.ence, and is proprietor of the Dickey Motor 
Car Companv of Kokomo, distributors of 
the King Eight, Elgin Six and Willys- 
Overland cars. He has a large business 
over Howard County, and conducts a thor- 
ough service station for the cars distributed 
through his company. 

Mr. Dickey is the type of man who early 
gets into the battle of life and is satisfied 
to win his promotion only on merits and 
actual ability. He was born in Howard 
County, Indiana, August 30, 1884, son of 
George W. and Matilda (Bon Durant) 
Dickey. His grandfather, Emanuel 
Dickey, a native of Pennsylvania, was an 
early settler in Ohio, and in 1870 brought 
his family to Indiana and became a farmer 
in Owen County, where he spent the rest 
of his life and died at the age of seventy 
years. One of his several children was 
George W. Dickey, Sr., who was born in 
Ohio, April 23, 1847, grew up in Owen 
County, and went to Marshall County, 
where he met and married his wife. In 
1883 he located on a farm four miles 
northeast of Howard County, and about 
eight years later moved to Cass County, 
where "he died at the age of forty-four. 
He was a very progressive farmer and also 
spent much time buying and selling timber. 
Politically he was a democrat. His family 
consisted of four sons and four daughters, 
and seven are still living. 

The fifth child was George W. Dickey, 
who was educated in the public schools of 
this state. He was twelve years of age 
when he began earning his living in a 
basket factory at Plymouth, Indiana. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



When about fourteen he worked as bell boy 
and boot black in the Clinton Hotel, and 
at sixteen he took up the machinist's trade 
with the Clisbe Manufacturing Company 
of Plymouth. This iirm manufactured 
gasoline engines. After about a year there 
he was employed as a machinist for a year 
with the Oliver Typewriter Company at 
Woodstock, Illinois, then returned to Ko- 
komo, and was in the machine shops of the 
Haynes Automobile Company and worked 
two years longer as a machinist at his trade 
in Chicago. About that time he went into 
business for himself, doing experimental 
work in the machinerj' line. 

All this training, experience and practi- 
cal work came before he was nineteen years 
of age. Mr. Dickey was in business for 
himself about two years, and since then has 
devoted his time to the automobile business. 
For five years he had a repair and machine 
shop in Chicago. June 12, 1909, he re- 
moved to San Antonio, Texas, and sold and 
repaired automobiles in that state for four 
years. February 7, 1914, he returned to 
Kokomo as his permanent residence, and 
has since become one of the prominent men 
of the county as salesman of automobiles, 
trucks and tractors and furnishing a re- 
liable service department. The Dickey 
ilotor Car Company was incorporated 
under the laws of Indiana April 12, 1916. 
with George W. Dickey as president, 
Charles W. Hale, vice president, and Lelah 
'SI. Burrows, secretary and treasurer. This 
company was dissolved September 1, 1918, 
at which time Mr. Dickey took over all the 
stock and continues the business now as sole 
proprietor. 

As a resident of Kokomo he has given 
much of his time to public affairs for the 
betterment of the city. He is a member of 
the Congregational Church, an independent 
voter, and is affiliated with Howard Lodge 
Xo. 93, Free and Accepted Masons. Sep- 
tember 27, 1905, he married Miss Charlotte 
Mast, of Kokomo, daughter of Mr. and 
Jlrs. S. P. Mast. To their marriage were 
born two sons and two daughters: Char- 
lotte Geneva, born in 1907 ; George W., 
Jr., born in 1910; Bon Durant, born in 
1914 ; and ]Mary Beatrice, born in 1916. 

Charles R. Cox is one of the younger 
business men of Muncie, and is manager 
and £tctive head of the Cox-Williamson 
Candy Company, wholesale manufacturing 



confectioners. This is a business which is 
regarded as a valuable asset to Muncie as a 
growing commercial center, and its suc- 
cess and standing is largely due to the ex- 
ceptional enterprise shown by Mr. Cox. 

Mr. Cox was born on a farm south of 
Eaton in Delaware County October 23, 
1892. He represents one of the old families 
in that section of the state. His grand- 
father was a native of Virginia, and on 
coming to Indiana settled on a farm four 
miles west of Eaton, where he was one of 
the pioneers. Charles R. Cox is a son of 
Charles V. and Lillie C. (Smith) Cox. His 
father was born in Indiana and spent his 
life as a farmer. He died in 1895. 

Charles R. Cox, only son of his parents, 
was three years old when his father died, 
and his mother moved to Eaton, where she 
lived until the family removed to Muncie. 
Here Mr. Cox finished his education in the 
grammar and high schools, and when little 
more than a boy he began the line of busi- 
ness which he at present follows, manu- 
facturing candy. Later for three years he 
was clerk and bookkeeper with the Muncie 
Electric Light Company. In August, 1915, 
he was appointed manager of the Cox-Wil- 
liamson Candy Company. Later Mr. Wil- 
liamson withdrew, and George W. Bauman 
was admitted to the firm, though the name 
still remains as formerly. They do an ex- 
tensive jobbing business in making five-cent 
packages of candy, under the familiar name 
of "Triangle Confections." Much of their 
output is distributed by their own firm of 
traveling salesmen, and their special terri- 
tory is sixty miles in every direction 
around Muncie. 

Mr. Cox is a member of the Christian 
Church and a republican voter. 

John Arthur Kautz is publisher of the 
Kokomo Tribune, having bought that 
paper more than thirty years ago. The 
Kokomo Tribune is one of the oldest papers 
in Indiana of continuous publication. It 
was established in 1848, seventy years ago, 
and was first published at New London, 
then the leading town of Howard County. 
Later it was moved to Kokomo. Under the 
ownership and management of Mr. Kautz 
since 1887 the Tribune has grown from a 
small daily of 400 circulation to a paper of 
8,560, growing steadily. It has a complete 
modern plant, and is housed in one of the 
best buildings at Kokomo, recently com- 



1970 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



pleted, a fireproof structure that is a model 
newspaper home. 

Mr. Kautz, whose name has been iden- 
tified with many other affairs at Kokomo, 
was born in Wabash County, Indiana, Sep- 
tember 26, 1860, son of Henry and Eliza 
(Baker) Kautz. His grandfather, Fred- 
erick Kautz, was born at York, Pennsyl- 
vania, and was an early settler in North- 
ern Indiana, first locating in Huntington 
County and then in Wabash County. He 
was a farmer. In 1869 he left Wabash 
County and moved out to Kansas, but at 
the age of eighty returned to Wabash 
County and died there. He was a whig 
and later a republican and a member of 
the Dunkard Church. 

Of his eight children Henry Kautz was 
the oldest. With an education in the pio- 
neer country schools Henry Kautz has had 
an active career as a farmer, builder and 
merchant, and is still living at Andrews in 
Huntington County. 

John A. Kautz, second in a family of 
three children, was graduated from Butler 
College at Indianapolis with the class of 
1885. He had two years of experience as 
a teacher before he bought the Kokomo 
Tribune in May, 1887. He is one of the 
veteran Indiana journalists. Among other 
business interests he is a director of the 
Citizens National Bank. 

Through his paper and as a private citi- 
zen he had constantly exercised his influ- 
ence for the broadening and upbuilding of 
Kokomo as a business and civic center. He 
was one of the organizers and a member of 
the committee that built the Young Men's 
Christian Association and has continuously 
served on the board of directors of that 
institution. For the past ten years he has 
been a member of the school board, and as 
such has done his part in building the pres- 
ent Kokomo High School and the Piiblic 
Library. From 1902 to 1906, under ap- 
pointment from President Roosevelt, Mr. 
Kautz served as postmaster of Kokomo. He 
is a member of the Christian Church, a re- 
publican, a thirty-second degree Scottish 
Rite Mason and an Elk. 

August 18, 1886, at Wabash, he married 
Miss Inez Gillen, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. 
H. H. Gillen. Mrs. Kautz was educated at 
Butler College. They have four daughters, 
all living, Bcrnice, born March 3, 1888, wife 
of Kent H. Blacklidge; Cordelia, born 
April 30, 1890, wife of J. D. Forrest ; Doro- 



thy, born March 4, 1892, wife of Robert 
J. Hamp ; and Kathr.yn, born July 3, 1897, 
unmarried, and still living with her 
parents. 

John Rau of Indianapolis, is one of the 
pioneers of glass manufacturing in In- 
diana, and is president of the Fairmount 
Glass Works. It has been a lifetime pur- 
suit with him. He began as a boy helper, 
has worked himself up from the lowest 
rounds to the top of the ladder and knows 
glass makinar as few other men in the coun- 
try know it today. The history of the glass 
industry in Indiana is told on other pages 
of this publication. From that chapter it 
will be seen that Mr. Rau entered the in- 
dustry' soon after natural gas made In- 
diana one of the most attractive fields in 
the country for glass making, and tjiough 
glass manufacture has passed through its 
period of rise and decline Mr. Ran is one 
of the few who have continued, while oth- 
ers have come and gone, and is head of a 
large establishment at Indianapolis. 

Mr. Rau was born at Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, August 15, 1856, son of Frederick 
G. and Rebecca (Schneider) Rau. His 
father, a native of Germany, learned both 
the butcher and baker's trades, and when 
about fifteen came to the United States. 
His home after that was at Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, and he was eighty-four years of age 
when he passed away. His wife was a na- 
tive of this country of German parentage. 
They had twelve children, ten reaching 
maturity. 

Second in the family, John Rau had but 
little opportuunity to secure an education. 
He was only nine yeai-s of age when he 
began working in a glass factory at Louis- 
ville. At eighteen he could scarcely read 
or write. He and his oldest brqther, Fred, 
had in the meantime assumed the respon- 
sibilities of assisting their father in rear- 
ing the younger children. Reaching the 
age of eighteen, Mr. Rau realized the ne- 
cessity of an education as a preliminary to 
a successful career. That education he ac- 
ouired largelv 'by study alone, in the silent 
watches of the night and in the intervals 
of hard labor. During 1884-85 he was em- 
ployed in a glass factory at Milwaukee. 
His Milwaukee employer then started a 
factory at Denver, Colorado, and Mr. Rau 
was one of the men selected to open the 
new plant. He was at Denver and Golden, 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1971 



Colorado, for two ^-ears, and spent another 
3'ear blowing glass at ilassillon, Ohio. 

This was the experience which preceded 
his pioneer efforts in Indiana. In 1889, 
with three other men, forming an equal 
copartnership, he established a glass fac- 
tory at Fairmount. For eighteen years 
Mr. Ran was one of the men who held up 
the hands of industr.y in that typical 
Quaker settlement, and from there in 1904 
he removed to Indianapolis and built, with 
several associates, a large plant for the 
manufacture of bottle ware. The present 
output is exclusively bottles, and of all 
sizes and colors. At the present time the 
entire plant is owned by John and Fred 
Rau. It represents an investment of over 
$500,000, and on the average more than 
400 hands are employed. 

While Mr. Rau's activities have been 
associated so largely with the executive end 
of the glass industry, his contributions to 
the business are also represented by be- 
tween fifteen and twenty, patents in his 
own name, involving various phases of 
glass manufacturing. Mr. Rau has the 
distinction of building the first continuous 
tank in Indiana. It was an experiment, 
and he took big chances in erecting it, but 
demonstrated its utility and six years later 
others began following his example. Some 
of the machines now used by his company 
are also his individual invention, and it 
is said that John Rau has made more im- 
provements in the glass business than any 
other one man. 

Having come up from the lowest walks 
of industry himself, Mr. Rau has always 
shown a sympathetic understanding and 
appreciation of the laboring man's posi- 
tion. As a workman he stood high in the 
councils of union labor, and his establish- 
ment has always been conducted as a union 
sboD. Politically he is a republican. In 
1883 he married Miss Alice Marsh, a na- 
tive of Louisville, Kentucky. They have 
three children: John Hite; Charles' Dil- 
lard; and Marie, Mrs. Kenneth C. Wool- 
ling. 

Mrs. Mary McCrae Clt:.tee. One of the 
well known names in literary circles is that 
of Mrs. jMary McCrae Culter, an educator 
and author. She was born in New Al- 
bany. Indiana, April 12, 1858, a daughter 
of the Rev. John and Catherine H. 



(Shields) McCrae. On her maternal 
grandfather's side she is a direct descend- 
ant from the French Huguenots, and on 
the side of his wife is in the ninth gener- 
ation from John and Priscilla Alden. Her 
grandfather, Henry B. Shields, was a mem- 
ber of one of the pioneer families to settle 
in New Albany, Indiana, and a large num- 
ber of relatives still live in that part of In- 
diana. On the paternal side Mrs. Culter 
is descended from the McCrae clan of west- 
ern Scotland, people who were staunch 
Covenanters in the troublous days of early 
Scotland. 

The Rev. John McCrae, a native of Scot- 
land, was educated in Nashville, Tennes- 
see, and in the New Albany Theological 
Seminarj^, and he afterwards served as a 
home missionary for the Presbyterian 
Church in Texas, Kentucky, Indiana, Ohio, 
and Kansas. In 1863 he joined the Fed- 
eral army, going into the service as chap- 
lain for the Third Kentucky Cavalry, and 
was sent home with over $30,000 to be dis- 
tributed among families of the soldiers, 
this being just at the time Sherman started 
on his march to the sea. Every dollar of 
that money reached those from whom it 
was intended in spite of the efforts of guer- 
rillas to capture it. From that time until 
the close of the war Reverend McCrae 
served as chaplain in the military prisons 
pt Louisville, Kentucky. He died at Ness 
City, Kansas, in 1890. 

Mnry McCrae Culter was educated in 
the Western College for Women at Oxford, 
Ohio, where she graduated in 1877, and she 
afterward taught school in Indiana, teach- 
ing in Clark County and at Salem in Wash- 
ington Count.v, and after removing to Kan- 
sas she taught in Wichita. Her literary 
work, begun in 1895, has been continued to 
the present time, and she is the author of 
manv well known works, including: "What 
t'le Railroad Brought to Timken," "Ships 
That Pass in the Day," "Four Roads to 
Happiness," "Girl Who Kept Up," 
"Prodieal Daughter," "Jollv Half 
Dozen," "Gates of Brass," "A Real 
Aristocrat," also many serial stories and 
songs and poems. 

On October 19, 1882, Mary McCrae was 
married at Peotone, Kansas, to Bradford 
M. Culter, a native of Illinois, and their 
children are Edith M., Mabel M., Arthur 
E., and Leila E. 



1972 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Charles F. Roesener. A city like In- 
dianapolis could never have been built up 
to its present importance without the 
earnest efforts of stable and substantial 
business men to which class belongs Charles 
P. Roesener, who is proprietor of the 
Central Transfer and Storage Company 
and a well known and trustworthy citizen 
of Indianapolis, his native place. ]\Ir. 
Roesener was born December 27, 1864, in 
the homestead at No. 905 Union Street 
which had been erected by his father. His 
parents were William F. and Christina 
Roesener. 

William F. Roesener was born in Ger- 
many and was a young man when he ac- 
companied his three brothers to the United 
States. Although his lack of knowledge 
of the English language prevented his em- 
ployment in any higher place than as a 
section hand when he first went into rail- 
road work with the old Bee line, that im- 
pediment was soon removed because he 
applied himself diligently and shortly 
afterward proved his ability to read, write 
and converse in the English language, and 
he was then made railroad yard clerk, a 
position he filled with fidelity and efficiency 
for many years. In the meanwhile he was 
married at Indianapolis and built the resi- 
dence in which his widow still resides. She 
also was born in Germany and came to the 
United States in youth. Their four chil- 
dren were all bom in the home on Union 
Street. 

When the old Bee line was merged with 
the Big Four Railroad William F. Roesener 
went into the transfer business with his 
brother Anthony, who was already so en- 
gaged, and they continued together until 
1885, when William F. retired on account 
of failing health, and his death occurred 
in 1897, at the age of sixty-four years. He 
was a man of sterling character and of 
high standing both in business and church 
affairs. He was a faithful and generous 
member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, and 
at one time was a member of its board of 
trustees. His children all survive, namely : 
William F., who is general cashier of the 
Chicago, Indiana & Western Railroad at 
Indianapolis; Louisa, the wife of Charles 
Shoke, who is in a nursery business in this 
city ; Charles F. ; and Marie, the wife of 
George Fahrbach, who is connected with 
the New York Store. 

Charles F. Roesener attended the 



Lutheran School on East and Georgia 
streets, Indianapolis, until he was twelve 
years of age and then decided to look 
for some business opening. As he was 
robust and large for his age, he turned 
to railroad work, and served two years 
faithfully in the capacity of messenger. 
Since then, however, he has been continu- 
ously identified with the transfer business. 
He began as a driver for the Indiana 
Transfer Company, and remained three 
years, and then went with the Central 
Transfer Company and later was a driver 
for the Vonnegut Hardware Company. In 
1887 he started into the transfer business 
on his own account, beginning with one 
horse and a wagon, a courageous proceed- 
ing as he had to contend in a business way 
with the better equipped and older com- 
panies. He had made many friends, how- 
ever, in this biisiness field and worked hard 
and long and found himself, in January, 
1902, able to buy the Central Transfer 
Company's entire interests. His son is as- 
sociated with him and they handle the bulk 
of the transfer business here, being well 
equipped with a number of men and teams 
and with twenty-two motor trucks. Mr. 
Roesener was the pioneer in the use of mo- 
tor trucks in the transfer business here. 
The Central Transfer Company was started 
here by Henry Frazier, of the Big Four, 
and Oran Perry, of the Pennsylvania Rail- 
road. In 1901 Mr. Frazier retired and 
later Mr. Perry sold out to Mr. Roesener. 
In addition to transfer the company makes 
an important feature of the storage busi- 
ness, and they have warehouses from Nos. 
118 to 144 South Alabama Street. 

Mr. Roesner was married in 1886 to Miss 
Christina Steinmetz, who is a daughter of 
John F. Steinmetz of Indianapolis, and 
they have one son, Elmer, who is associated 
with his father and has charge of the mo- 
tor trucks. The family belongs to the 
Lutheran Church. Mr. Roesener is a 
staunch democrat politically and heartily 
supports the present administration at 
Washington and faithfull.y does his duty 
as a citizen at home. He was a member 
of the rather notable grand .jury at In- 
dianapolis in 1914 that indicted so many 
individuals here for alleged election frauds, 
and on many other occasions has proved 
his fearlessness in maintaining his convic- 
tions when he believes he is in the right. 
He is identified with the Order of Elks. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1973 



Edgar Augustus Simmons is president 
of the Farmers Trust and Savings Bank of 
Kokomo. This bank, established in 1902 
as the Kokomo National Bank, has enjoyed 
a career of great and marked prosperity, 
and has been steadily increasing its re- 
sources until it is now considered one of the 
strongest banks in Northern Indiana. It 
has a capital of $150,000, surplus and un- 
divided profits of approximately $80,000, 
and total resources of $1,187,609. One 
especially interesting feature of its condi- 
tion is that its volume of deposits has al- 
most doubled in three vears. The deposits 
in 1918 are over $1,000,000. They conduct 
a general banking business, including sav- 
ings, trust, real estate, rental, insurance, 
investment, and loan departments, and thus 
have all those branches of service found in 
the largest metropolitan banks. Its offi- 
cers and directors include some of the best 
known business men and citizens of How- 
ard County. Besides Mr. Simmons as 
president the vice president is George W. 
Duke, E. B. Seaward is cashier, W. W. 
Drinkwater is treasurer and secretary, and 
other directors are Lex J. Kirkpatrick, J. 
W. Learner, Thomas C. McEeynolds, E. L. 
Danner, A. G. Seiberling, and C. "W. Me- 
Reynolds. 

Edgar Augustus Simmons was born at 
Shelby County, Indiana, November 6, 1859, 
son of Augustus and Catherine (Giles) 
Simmons. Catherine Giles was born in 
Bourbon County, Kentucky, July 16, 1819. 
As a girl she accompanied her parents to 
Shelby County, Indiana, when fifteen years 
of age, and a few years later married James 
Thompson. The Thompson family removed 
to Howard County in 1844, locating about 
five miles west of Kokomo. A year later 
James Thompson took a claim a mile nearer 
the county seat, but died the following 
year without having had much opportunity 
to improve his land. After the death of 
her husband Mrs. Thompson returned to 
Shelby County and there married Ancustn 
Simmons. They lived in Shelliy County 
until she became a second time a widow, in 
the year 1865, when their son Edgar A. was 
only five years old. In 1872 she brought 
her family to Howard County, and contin- 
ued to reside here until her death at Ko- 
komo April 7, 1908, at the ripe old age of 
eighty-nine. Of her family three children 
survive : Leonidas ; America, wife of Frank 
Todhunter ; and Edgar A. 



Edgar A. Simmons was thirteen years 
old when his mother came to Howard 
County and located on the farm known as 
the old Indian Spring Farm about five 
miles west of Kokomo. In the meantime 
he had attended district school in Shelby 
County, and afterwards had the advantages 
of the public schools of Kokomo. He lived 
at home with his mother and handled many 
of the responsibilities of the farm until 
his twenty-fourth year. 

In 1883 Mr. Simmons married Miss Belle 
George, daughter of W. "W. George, who 
came from Fayette County, Indiana, in 
1873 and settled three miles west of Ko- 
komo, on the Pike. For three years after 
his marriage ilr. Simmons farmed in Er- 
win Township, and was then appointed 
deputy sherifl:' under Isaac "Wright. He 
was deputy sheriff four years, and in 1890 
was nominated by his party for the office 
of sheriff and was elected by a handsome 
majority, being one of the leaders on the 
republican ticket that year. At the end of 
one term the people of Howard County 
were so well satisfied with his conduct of 
office that they elected him by an even 
larger majority. 

On retiring from the sheriff's office Mr. 
Simmons became associated with W. S. 
Armsti'ong, former mayor of Kokomo, and 
ex-County Clerk V. D. Ellis in the hard- 
ware business. Two years later he sold 
out his interest and entered real estate. 
Mr. Sinnnons was in the real estate business 
at Kokomo from 1898 to 1906. In the 
latter year he was appointed postmaster of 
Kokomo and held that office one term. 
From 1900 to 1904, for two terms, he was 
chairman of the Howard County Repub- 
lican Committee. Mr. Simmons was elected 
president of the Kokomo National Bank, 
now the Farmers Trust & Savings Bank, 
in 1910, and has since devoted practically 
all his time and energies to this institution, 
which in its growth and prosperity reflects 
to a large extent the wisdom of its manage- 
ment. 

Fredolin Russell Borton is one of the 
younger business men and merchants of 
Richmond, member of the firm Thompson 
& Borton, dealers in men's and boy's 
clothing and furnishings. 

!Mr. Borton was bom at Webster in 
"Wayne County, Indiana, November 9, 1889, 
son of Alfred E. and Lydia (Russell) Bor- 



1974 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ton. He attended the public schools at 
Webster, graduating from high school in 
1907, and took two j-ears in the normal 
course at Barlham College. Having qual- 
ified as a teacher he followed that occupa- 
tion in New Garden Township of Wayne 
County for two years. He left the school 
room to identify himself with merchandis- 
ing as a salesman with the clothing house 
of Krone & Kennedy. He remained with 
that firm nine years and accepted every 
opportunity to improve his ability and 
benefit by his increasing experience. For 
a short time he was in a similar business 
at South Bend, and in 1917 returned to 
Richmond and bought a partnership with 
Mr. Thompson. They now have one of the 
leading stores of the kind in Eastern In- 
diana. 

In 1913 Mr. Borton married Lucile Pitts, 
daughter of George and Minnie (Steddon) 
Pitts of Webster. Their one son, George 
Russell, was born in 19i6. Mr. Borton has 
taken an active interest in local affairs and 
during the progress of the war he served as 
a private in Company K of the Indiana 
State Militia. He is independent in poli- 
tics and a member of the Friends Church. 
His only fraternal affiliation is the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men. 

Edvstard a. Stuckmeyee. While his 
work and service as a business man have 
made Mr. Stuckmeyer well known in In- 
dianapolis for many years, his wider recog- 
nition over the state is due to the fact that 
he is now president of the State Board of 
Pharmacy, through which all candidates 
for licenses as registered pharmacists are 
examined and approved. Mr. Stuckmeyer 
was formerly secretary of this board, and 
much of the efficiency associated with the 
administration of the state law on phar- 
macy is the result of his painstaking efforts 
and professional standards and ideals. 

Mr. Stuckmeyer was born in Indianap- 
olis, a son of John Henry Stuckmeyer. 
The Stuckmeyer family has been a well 
known one in Indianapolis for over half a; 
century. His father was a well known 
carpenter and contractor in Indianapolis. 
Edward A. Stuckmeyer obtained his early 
education in the Indianapolis public 
schools, but was only fifteen years old when 
he went to work in the drug store of Dr. 
D. G. Reid, with whom he acquired much 
of his early training. The Reid store was 



at Fletcher Avenue and Shelby Street. 
Later for some time Mr. Stuckmeyer was 
in the store of Charles G. Traub and C. W. 
Ichrod. About the time he turned his ma- 
jority he entered business for himself in 
pai'tnership with his brother, J. H. Stuck- 
meyer, and for the past quarter of a cen- 
tury the firm has been J. H. and E. A. 
Stuckmeyer. They own and operate two 
of the high class drug stores of the city, 
one at 1853 Madison Avenue and the other 
at 1415 Prospect Street. Mr. E. A. Stuck- 
meyer has active charge and management 
of the latter store. 

In politics he is a democrat, and for 
years has lent his interest and co-operation 
to all civic and welfare projects. Mr. 
Stuckmeyer is married, and his son, Edwin 
J. Stuckmeyer, is a graduate of the Indiana 
College of Pharmacy and is a registered 
pharmacist. 

Oscar Raymond Luhring, present repre- 
sentative of the First Congressional Dis- 
trict of Indiana, is a lawyer by profession 
and has had a busy practice and many 
public responsibilities at Evansville since 
1900. 

He was born .in Gibson County, Indiana, 
February 11, 1879. His early advantages 
in the public schools were supplemented 
by a literary and law course in the Uni- 
versity of Virginia, where he graduated 
LL. B. on June 13, 1900. He was admit- 
ted to the bar of Indiana in August of the 
same year at Evansville, and forthwith 
entered upon an active practice. His first 
important public honor came in 1902, with 
his election to the Sixty-Third General As- 
sembly of Indiana. He served one term in 
the House and in 1904 was appointed dep- 
uty prosecuting attorney for the First Ju- 
dicial Circuit, and held that office until 
1908. He was then regularly elected pros- 
ecuting attorney, and served two terms, 
1908 to 1912, and was renominated for a 
third term but declined the honor. He has 
for many years been one of the leading 
republicans of the First District, and at 
the election in November, 1918, was chosen 
a member of the Sixty-Sixth Congress by 
20,440 votes against 18,837 votes given to 
George K. Denton, his democratic rival. 

]Mr. Luhring married June 16, 1902, Mar- 
garet Graham Evans of Minneapolis, 
daughter of the late Robert 6. Evans. 







^yVVArV/''*^-^'^ -CV'XA 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1975 



Frank M. Greathouse came to Elwood 
about twenty-five years ago and made him- 
self popular with the community as sales- 
man for some of the clothing and dry goods 
concerns of that city. Popularity followed 
him when he entered business on his own 
account, and today as head of the firm 
Greathouse & Harris he is head of the larg- 
est store of its kind in Elwood and is one 
of the leading merchants of that section 
of Indiana. What he has he has worked 
for and earned, and every step of his career 
may be closelj' scrutinized and has meas- 
ured up to the most exacting standards of 
commercial honor. 

Jlr. Greathouse was born on a farm at 
Hillsboro in Highland County, Ohio, in 
1859, son of John and Caroline (Van- 
Winkle) Greathouse. The first generation 
of the Greathouse family lived in Virginia. 
One of ^Ir. Greathouse 's great-grandfath- 
ers served in the Revolutionary war. Most 
of the family during the different genera- 
tions have been farmers and traders, and 
have always been especially successful in 
raising and handling horses. 

John Greathouse, father of Frank M., 
came to Indiana in 1865 and settled on a 
farm near Noblesville. In 1870 he moved 
out to Lincoln, Nebraska,- and died there. 
He was buried under the auspices of the 
Masonic Order, of which he had long been 
a member. His wife died in 1888. 

Frank M. Greathouse received his first 
schooling at Noblesville, Indiana, b\it after 
the age of twelve he lived on his uncle's 
farm at New Vienna, Ohio, and attended 
school there until he was about seventeen. 
Leaving the farm he found his first oppor- 
tunity to enter commercial life at Alexan- 
dria, Indiana, where for a year and a half 
he was employed as a clerk in the Baum 
Brothers general merchandise store. He 
went with the firm on its removal to El- 
wood, and continued with them there for 
a year and a half. For another two years 
he was clerk and salesman with Jacob 
Kraus, clothier, and from 1889 to 1891 a 
salesman for B. L. Bing of Anderson. 

In 1891 Mr. Greathouse married Roxie 
Brown, daughter of Rudolph and Martha 
(Dwiggins) Brown of Madison County. 

After his marriage he was clerk for 
Emanuel Levy, clothing merchant of El- 
wood, until 1894 was with D. G. Evans & 
Company of Elwood, and later with F. W. 
Simmons until 1902. 



He and I. B. Bietman then formed the 
partnership of Bietman & Greathouse, and 
bought out the Simmons store at Elwood. 
The partnership continued until 1906, when 
Mr. Bietman retired, leaving the entire 
business to Mr. Greathouse. In 1907 the 
latter took in as partner James W. Harris, 
and for the past ten years the firm of 
Greathouse & Harris has conducted the 
largest stock of clothing and dry goods in 
the city. They have a trade in the sur- 
rounding country for a distance of fifteen 
miles. 

Mr. Greathouse is a republican in poli- 
tics, and has always been exceedingly pub- 
lic spirited and helpful in every movement 
where the community welfare is concerned. 

Gottfried Monninger, a resident of 
Indianapolis since December 21, 1876, and 
one of its best known business men, is a 
member of a family that has furnished 
more than one honored name to Indiana. 
The Monningers came to Indiana about 
the time of the great German migration 
of the early '50s, and their homes for the 
most part have been in Terre Haute and 
Indianapolis. One of the best remem- 
bered of the family in an earlier genera- 
tion was Capt. P. H. Monninger, who 
commanded a company in the famous 
German regiment in the Civil war. Sev- 
eral of the Monninger name are now 
commissioned as officers in the National 
Army. 

Mr. Gottfried Monninger was born at 
Albersweiler, Rheinpfalz, Germany, Feb- 
ruary 5, 1858. He is a son of Peter and 
Margaret (Schwab) Monninger. Peter 
]\Ionninger came with a party of about 
twenty young people to the United States 
in the early "SOs. He joined his brother, 
Daniel Monninger, at Indianapolis, where 
Daniel liad located about 1854. Daniel 
]\Ionninger for a great many years con- 
ducted an establishment at No. 20 Ken- 
tucky Avenue, where the new Lincoln 
Hotel is now erected, for the sale of the 
family product of wines, the Monningers 
being a family of wine growers and vin- 
tagers in the hills of southern Germany. 
Another brother of Peter Monninger was 
the Capt. P. H. Monninger already men- 
tioned, who besides his service as a cap- 
tain in the Thirty-Second Indiana Infan- 
try was for many years engaged in the 
hotel business at Terre Haute. It is a 



1976 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



matter of interest to record here that 
Gerhard Monninger, a son of Capt. Philip 
H., is now a major in the National Army, 
and his station at this writing is in 
France. To return now to Peter Mon- 
ninger. In the same party with which 
he came to this country was Margaret 
Schwab. Peter and Margaret were mar- 
ried at Terre Haute, and while they re- 
mained in that city they assisted his 
brother Philip in running a hotel. Peter 
Monninger suffered a great deal of trou- 
ble on account of his eyes, and on the ad- 
vice of his physician he and his j'oung 
wife returned to their native land and 
thereafter made their permanent resi- 
dence and home there, though they were 
great lovers of America and her institu- 
tions and several times returned to visit 
their family and other relatives in In- 
diana. In Bavaria Peter Monninger be- 
came an extensive wine grower, and also 
operated a stone quarry, and continued 
making Rhine wines the rest of his active 
life. In 1860 he came to the United 
States for a brief visit of a few months. 
In 1893 he and his wife, then in advanced 
years, made a trip to the United States 
and were' visitors at the World's Pair in 
Chicago. Peter Monninger died in Ger- 
many in 1896, and the following year his 
widow again visited this country, and she 
died at the age of seventj'-three. Peter 
Monninger was sixty-three when he passed 
away. Peter Monninger was a successful 
business man and stood high in the es- 
teem of bis communitj- in Germany. He 
was urged again and again to accept the 
post of mayor. He was a member of the 
council and was president of the church 
choir. ]\Iany of the older citizens of In- 
dianapolis will recall the enthusiastic re- 
ception given these old time people when 
they visited the city in 1893. The recep- 
tion was held at Independent Turner 
Hall. Peter Monninger and wife had a 
large family of children, six of whom 
became citizens of the United States and 
five are still living. ^Margaret is de- 
ceased. Charles, who was born in Terre 
Haute before his parents went back to 
Gennany, is now living in Indianapolis, 
and is one of the leading business men of 
this city, being a member and officer of a 
corporation that supplies ice to Terre 
Haute, Peoria, Illinois and Logansport, 
Indiana. Charles Monninger has a son 



who is a first lieutenant in Prance, hav- 
ing received his training in the officers 
training camp at Fort Benjamin Harri- 
son. Philip, the next in age of this fam- 
ily, is now manager of the Filbeck House 
at Terre Haute. Louis represents Mag- 
nus & Sons of Chicago. Christina is the 
wife of Mr. Marmon, who was formerly 
a teacher in the schools of Evansville, In- 
diana, and is now manager of the Mer- 
chants' Ice Company of Terre Haute. 
Julia is the wife of Christian Anacker, 
a contractor and builder at Indianapolis. 
Bertha, wife of Otto Jung, a Government 
forester, died in Germany. Daniel alsp 
died in Germany. 

Mr. Gottfried Monninger acquired the 
equivalent of a liberal education in Ger- 
many, but at the age of eighteen left home 
and set out for the land which had already 
been so kind to other members of the fam- 
ily. When he arrived at Indianapolis in 
1876 he was a large, pink-cheeked, Ger- 
man boy, a complexion that is generally 
associated with the inhabitants of the 
Rhine Valley. He had studied architec- 
ture and intended to perfect himself in 
that art in America, but the opportunity 
was not presented and he had to seek a 
livelihood elsewhere. He went to work in 
a butcher shop at ten dollars a month. 
This shop belonged to Jacob Peters and 
was located on Market Street. A few 
months later he went with his uncle, Dan 
^Monninger, at 17-19 West Washington 
Street. There he learned the restaurant 
and liquor business, and Daniel Monnin- 
ger as well as Mr. Gottfried Monninger 
for many years sold the vintages from 
his father's vineyards in southern Ger- 
many. 

In 1879, at the age of twenty-one, Mr. 
Monninger established a business for him- 
self at 23 Virginia Avenue, and empha- 
sized in his business the products of his 
father's farms, imported especially for 
distribution in Indianapolis. Four years 
later Mr. Monninger moved to Harrison 
and Pine streets and Fletcher Avenue, 
and soon afterward to the northeast corner 
of Ohio and Illinois streets, where he con- 
ducted his high class cafe and restaurant 
for twenty-nine years. 

In 1880 Mr. Monninger married Cath- 
arine Stumpf, daughter of George 
Stumpf. Mrs. Monninger was born on 
a farm three miles south of Indianapolis. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1977 



Her father was a blacksmith and farmer 
and widely known in both public and re- 
ligious affairs at Indianapolis. He was a 
very able speaker and was an influential 
member of the Ziou Evangelical Church. 
He was a native of Germanj'. Mr. and 
Mrs. Monninger became the parents of 
six sons and two daughters, a stalwart 
race, and they too have made use of their 
opportunities and gained honorable posi- 
tion in aifairs. The oldest, Karl, has 
practically succeeded to his father's busi- 
ness and is owner and manager of a res- 
taurant on Washington Street adjoining 
the Park Theater. The son Arthur G. 
Monninger is a talented musician, com- 
pleted his musical education in Berlin, and 
both he and his wife are prominent in 
Indianapolis musical circles and are in- 
structors in the College of ]\Iusical Art on 
Pennsylvania Street. The daughter Ly- 
dia married Albert Roath, who is con- 
nected with a Boston shoe house and is a 
resident of Indianapolis. Olga, the sec- 
ond daughter is at home and Freddie re- 
sides in Chicago. Oscar is a graduate of 
Purdue University, and is an engineer in 
the employ of the W. H. Insley Manufac- 
turing Company at Indianapolis. "Werner 
H. was a student of the University of Illi- 
nois where he enlisted as a wireless opera- 
tor in the United States Navy. Otto at- 
tends the Technical High School of Indian- 
apolis. All the children received high 
school educations in Indianapolis. 

ilr. Gottfried Monninger in the matter 
of politics has maintained a rather inde- 
pendent attitude, though usually giving his 
support to the democratic party. His fam- 
ily are members of the Zion Evangelical 
Church. One of the principal interests of 
the family circle is music, and they are 
not only lovers of that divine art but most 
of them have musical accomplishments. 
Mr. Jlonninger has long been prominent in 
the Independent Turnverein and the Maen- 
nerchor, was for years secretary and treas- 
urer of the Turners, was for twenty-five 
years treasurer of the Turners' Building & 
Loan Association, served as grand treas- 
urer of the Independent Knights of Pyth- 
ias, now the Knights of Cosmos, is a mem- 
ber of the Knights of the Maccabees, and 
a life member of the German Orphan 
Home, and Home for the Aged. 



Mary Roberts Coolidge, educator and 
author, was born in Kingsbury, Indiana, 
October 28, 1860, a daughter of Isaac 
Phillips and Margaret (Marr) Roberts. 
The father was an educator of distinction 
on agricultural subjects, serving as dean 
nnd professor of agriculture at Cornell 
University 1873-1903, and in his honor 
Roberts Hall at Ithaca was named. The 
mother was a daughter of William Marr 
of LaPorte. Indiana. 

Mary Roberts Coolidge attended Cornell 
University and Stanford University, re- 
ceiving the degrees of Ph. B. and M. S. 
from the former and that of Ph. D. from 
the latter. After completing her literary 
training she rose to prominence as an edu- 
cator, teaching in many of the noted educa- 
tional institutions of the country, and aside 
from her educational work she is further 
distinguished as an author and as a pub- 
lic worker. She is a member of the Kappa 
Alpha Theta college society, of the Asso- 
ciation of Collegiate Alumnae, of the 
American Political Science Association, 
of the Authors League of America, and 
her church association is the Liberal Con- 
gregational. 

On the 30th of July, 1906, at Berkeley, 
California. jMary Roberts was married to 
Dane Coolidge. a novelist and a member of 
a distinguished New England family. 

Fred L. Trees, president of the Kokomo 
Trust Company, has been r business man 
nf that city since early manhood, and there 
is hardly a movement connected in any way 
with the general welfare of the community 
during the last twenty years with which his 
name has not been associated and to which 
his influence and means have not contrib- 
uted some substantial help. 

Mr. Trees was born on a farm in Howard 
Countv. Indiana, August 25, 1874. He is 
a son of John S. and Alice (Curlee) Trees. 
His grandfather, John S. Trees, was born 
in Shelbv County, Indiana, and was a 
pioneer in Howard County. He was a 
farmer and had a large place six miles east 
of Kokomo. He died there in 1874 and 
had in the meantime accumulated consider- 
able estate. He was a republican and a 
member of the Methodist Church. Of his 
eight children only two are now living. 
John S. Trees, Jr.," was born in Rushville, 
1, in 1838, and is now living in Ko- 



1978 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



komo at the advanced age of eighty. He 
had only such education as was supplied 
by the local schools of his day, and he took 
up farming near the old homestead in Lib- 
•erty Township. He finally left the farm 
in 1884 and for eighteen years was a mer- 
chant at Center in Taylor Township of 
Howard County. On selling his business 
interests he retired to Kokomo. He also 
has a record as a soldier in the Civil war, 
having enlisted in 1861 in Company E of 
the Eleventh Indiana Cavalry, serving as 
commissary sergeant, and being on duty 
with the army for three years. He was 
given his honorable discharge in December, 
1864, his last important battle being at 
Nashville under General Thomas. He 
there sustained a severe wound in the leg, 
and by the time he had recuperated the 
war was practically over. On returning 
home he took up farming. He has always 
been a stanch republican. Of his ten chil- 
dren all are still living, Fred being the 
fifth in age. 

Fred L. Trees attended the public schools 
of Howard County and also had a course 
in the business college of Kokomo. He en- 
tered the real estate business as clerk and 
stenographer with his uncle, Mr. E. E. 
Springer, at Kokomo, and was with him, 
serving him faithfully, for nine years. In 
1901 he engaged in the same liiie of busi- 
ness for himself, handling real estate, loans 
and insurance. In 1903 he and James D. 
Johnson organized the Kokomo Trust Com- 
pany, Mr. Johnson becoming president, "Sh: 
W. E. Blaeklidge, vice president, and Mr. 
Trees, secretary and treasurer. Mr. John- 
son died in 1909, and in the following year 
was succeeded as president by Mr. Trees. 
ISfv. Trees is also a member of the Board 
of Directors of the South Kokomo Bank, 
and is interested in a number of business 
concerns in addition to the many public or 
semi-public institutions to which he has 
given his time. 

Mr. Trees is a republican, is a member 
of the Methodist Church and active in 
church and Sunday School work. He is a 
thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, 
an Odd Fellow, Elk, and Knight of Pythias. 
He is a director of the Kokomo Chamber 
of Commerce, is a member of the republi- 
can social clubs of Indianapolis, is a mem- 
ber of tli.e Board of Directors of the Ko- 
komo Country Club, is a director of 
the Methodist Episcopal Hospital at In- 



dianapolis, and was one of the organizers 
and is now director of the Kokomo Young 
Men's Christian Association. 

Mr. Trees has two sturdy young sons who 
are now in the uniform of the National 
Army. March 9, 1898, he married Miss 
Dora Elliott, daughter of the late Judge 
James F. Elliott of Kokomo. Three sons 
were born to them : Elliott J., born January 
21, 1899; Robert C, born Augiist 30, 1900; 
and Harry A., born August 11, 1902. The 
two older sons were students in DePauw 
Univei-sity but resigned their studies to en- 
roll for military duty, while the third son 
is a student in the Kokomo public schools. 

Hon. Edgar A. Brown, forty years a 
member of the Indianapolis bar and a 
former judge of the Circuit Bench, has 
long been regarded as a wise and safe 
counselor rather than a brilliant advocate, 
and is distinguished by the quality and 
ideals of his work rather than by conspic- 
uous and temporary achievements. His 
professional associates have always looked 
upon him as a man of utmost reliability 
and of unimpeachable character, and he has 
long enjoyed the auiet dignity of an ideal 
follower of his calling. 

Mr. Brown was born at Lenox, Ashta- 
bula County, Ohio, August 10, 1848. He 
is now the only survivor of eight children 
born to William Pliny Brown and Rachel 
Hower (Piper) Brown. His father was 
reared on a farm, but throughout the 
greater part of his life was engaged in 
varying occupations. In 1851 he removed 
to Austinburg, Ohio, and died there in 
1866. The grandfather was an English- 
man and came to America as an officer in 
the British Army imder Burgo.yne in the 
Revolution. Following the war he mar- 
ried a lady at Albany, New York, and was 
stationed at ilontreal, holding the position 
of conductor of stores for the British army. 

Edgar A. Brown grew up in his native 
state, attended the Grand River Institute 
at Austinburg, Ohio, and was also a stu- 
dent of the old Quaker institution, Earlham 
College, at Richmond, Indiana. That he 
has accomplished so much in his career is 
probably due to the spur of necessity which 
made it necessary for him to earn his liv- 
ing while getting an education. For a 
number of years he was a teacher, and 
while doing that work read law and when 
qualified to practice came to Indianapolis. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1979 



The successive years brought him the 
honors and emoluments of a good practice, 
and in 1890 he was called from his duties 
as a law\ver to the bench of the Marion 
Circuit Court. He served as a judge six 
years, and during that time he maintained 
the best ideals of the court. Since retiring 
from the bench he has continued in active 
practice as a lawyer. 

In 1874 Judge Brown married ^Martha 
Julian. Her father, Jacob B. Julian, was 
a lawyer, and Judge Brown and he were 
for some time partners. Jlrs. Brown died 
in 1882, leaving two children : Juliet R., 
Mrs. Christopher B. Coleman, and George 
R., who was second lieutenant of the Sup- 
ply Company of the Second Indiana Regi- 
ment and saw active service on the Mexi- 
can border. In 1884 Judge Brown married 
Lulie J. Eichordt. Their four children 
are: Helen M., Mrs. James H. Peterson; 
Ruth, who died at the age of ten years; 
Martha Louise, Mrs. Stanley H. Smith; 
and Catherine Porter, Mrs. Don Herold. 

Judge Brown was a republican until 
1880, when he became a democrat on the 
tariff reform issue. He was president for 
a time and one of the organizers of the In- 
diana Tariff Reform League. He is a mem- 
ber of the Masonic fraternity and of the 
First Congregational Church. 

Thurman C. S.VNDERS. Since pioneer 
days the Sanders family has been one of 
prominence in Howard County, best known 
at the present time through Mr. Thurman 
C. Sanders because of his long association 
with the Court House and official affairs. 

^Ir. Sanders was born March 2, 1867, in 
Highland County, Ohio, son of Charles P. 
and Rachel E. (Mellett) Sanders. His 
father was born in the same eountj' in 
1844. The grandfather, Christopher Sand- 
ers, of Scotch ancestry, was a native of Vir- 
ginia, and came west on foot and settled 
as a pioneer in Highland Coixnty, Ohio, in 
1817. Charles P. Sanders came to How- 
ard County and spent his last years here 
as a farmer. He also served two terms 
as county commissioner, his first term end- 
ing in 1884 and his second in 1887. Charles 
P. Sanders had his home in South Kokomo, 
and began his career as a druggist. He 
conducted a drug store in South Kokomo 
from 1893 to 1915. He was always inter- 
ested in local affairs, was a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and a 



citizen above reproach in every particular. 
Thurman C. Sanders is one of four 
brothers, all still living. He was educated 
in the common schools and took the nor- 
mal coui-se in the Normal School at Leb- 
anon, Ohio. He gave eighteen years to 
educational work in Howard and other 
counties. From his duties as teacher he 
was appointed deputy treasurer of How- 
ard County, and faithfully discharged the 
duties of that office until he was regularly 
elected on the republican ticket as county 
treasurer in November, 1918. Fraternally 
he is affiliated with the Knights of P}i;hias, 
the Improved Order of Red I\Ien, and the 
Loyal Order of Moose. December 26, 1901, 
Mr. Sanders married Miss Emma K. Lu- 
cas. Thev have one daughter, Myrpha, 
born October 7, 1903. 

William Joseph Golightly, of Kokomo, 
is in many ■{\'ays one of the most interest- 
ing of the pioneers of the Indiana glass in- 
dustry. For the past twenty years he has 
been superintendent of the Kokomo plant 
of the Pittsburg Plate Glass Company, but 
at an earlier date he was identified with 
glass making in this district when the chief 
attraction for glass manufacturers was nat- 
ural gas. 

Mr. Golightly is an Englishman by birth, 
having been born at South Shields, Eng- 
land, April 4, 1860. He learned glass mak- 
ing in England and in August, 1890, ar- 
rived in America and was first employed 
at Butler, Pennsylvania, with the Standard 
Plate Glass Company. In February, 1891, 
he came to Kokomo, and for a time was 
one of the minor employes of the Diamond 
Plate Glass Company. In July of the same 
year he returned to Pennsylvania, and for 
several months was in a minor position with 
the Charleroi Plate Glass Company, and 
was then promoted to charge of its cast- 
ing department. In July, 1892, Mr. Go- 
lightly again returned to Kokomo. and re- 
entered the Diamond Plate Glass Company 
as night superintendent under M. P. El- 
liott. The interests that owned the Ko- 
komo plant transferred him in 1895 to a 
similar plant at Elwood, and in 1896 he 
went to Alexandria, Indiana, and was with 
the American Plate Glass Company until 
:\Ia.v, 1898. At that date he returned to 
Kokomo, and that city has since been his 
home and center of business activities. In 
October, 1898, he became superintendent 



1980 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



of the Kokomo Plate Glass Plant, and has 
held that office continuously since. 

The original plant was constructed at 
Kokomo in 1889. It was torn down in 
1908, and the modern plant put in opera- 
tion in 1910 was constructed under the di- 
rect supervision of Mr. Golightly. The old 
plant, as already said, was established 
largely because of the accessibility of the 
natural gas supply. The product of the 
old Diamond Plate Glass Company was 
neither in quality nor volume up "to the 
present high standard of the Pittsburg 
company. With the failure of the natural 
gas supply and with changing methods and 
improvements the Pittsburg Plate Glass 
Company, successors to the old Diamond 
Company, finally destroyed the old plant 
and rebuilt it, and at the rebuilding every 
known improvement and facility was in- 
stalled, so that today the Kokomo plant, 
while not as large as some other plants of 
the Pittsburg Plate Glass Company, is be- 
hind none of them in equipment and mod-' 
ern methods. Today three times as much 
plate glass is turned out by this plant as 
was made by the old Diamond Company, 
and yet requiring about the same number 
of men. 

As the plant is at present it covers over 
seven acres of ground, four acres under 
roof. The buildings are all of steel and 
concrete construction. The foiuidation for 
the heavy machinerj^ is massive and in some 
instances has been built down to a depth 
of thirty-five feet. All the machinery is 
driven by electric power, generated chiefly 
by large gas engines. These engines are 
the most powerful of their type in Indiana 
with the sole exception of those in the 
power houses of the United States Steel 
Company at Gary. 

About 650 men are constantly employed 
in normal times at the Kokomo plant. This 
plant is known as No. 8 of the Pittsburg 
Plate Glass Company. 

Mr. Golightly during his long residence 
at Kokomo has been interested and has 
identified himself wherever possible with 
tlie welfare and progress of the city. He 
has been content with his business respon- 
sibilities as a source of good to the com- 
munity, and has never been a candidate 
for office, though in many ways he has 
helped forward movements promising ben- 
efit to the community. He is a director in 
the Howard National Bank and since 1898 



has been affiliated with the Elks and since 
1911 with the Masonic Order. He has 
taken all the local degrees, became a Knight 
Templar in 1912, and in 1913 was made a 
thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason 
in the Indianapolis Valley. He has also 
been a member of the Kokomo Chamber of 
Commerce since it was organized, became a 
member of the Kokomo Country Club in 
1917, and in politics votes as a republican. 
Mr. Golightl}^ has been twice married. 
His first wife came from England in 1893 
and died in 1916. He has three married 
sons, all with families of their own, and 
has a married daughter and grandchildren. 
Two of his daughters still live at home. 

Franklin K. McElheny was auditor of 
Miami County from January 1, 1911, to 
January 1, 1919, and has been a resident 
and citizen of Peru forty-five years, since 
early boyhood. Mr. McElheny has had a 
varied experience with the work of the 
■world and with men and affairs, and before 
entering the auditor's office was one of the 
editors and publishers of the Miami County 
Sentinel. He is a veteran printer, having 
learned the trade forty years ago. 

He was born at Mount Pleasant in Henry 
County, Iowa, November 2, 1861, during a 
temporary residence of his parents in that 
state. He is a son of Thomas K. and Mel- 
vina (Woods) McElheny, his father a na- 
tive of Montgomery County, Ohio, and his 
mother of Starke County, Ohio. Thomas 
K. McElheny was taken by his parents to 
Carroll County, Indiana, when one year 
old, but grew to manhood in Cass County. 
He was educated in the common schools, 
and by the time he reached his majority 
was doing skillful work as a carpenter. 
He worked at his trade at Delphi in Car- 
roll County, married there, helped build 
the county court house, and then for a year 
or so was employed in the erection of 
buildings of the State Insane Asylum of 
Iowa at Mount Pleasant. In 1862 he re- 
turned with his family to Delphi, Indiana, 
continued his business as contractor and 
builder there, was at Rochester, Indiana, 
from 1869 until 1873, and then established 
his home at Peru. Much of the important 
building work in and around Peru during 
the next twenty or thii-t.y years was 
handled through the organization as a eon- 
tractor. He died January 25, 1909, sur- 
vived by his wife and three of their six 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1981 



children. He was always a loyal democrat, 
served six 3'ears as township trustee of Peru 
Township, and for a number of years was 
treasurer of his lodge of the Odd Fellows. 
He was not a formal member of any 
church, though a Presbyterian by train- 
ing. 

Franklin K. McElheny acquired his early 
training in the public schools of Delphi 
and Rochester and was twelve yeai-s old 
when brought to Peru. He continued his 
schooling in that city several years, and at 
the age of fifteen began working in the 
factory of the old Howe Sewing Machine 
Company. He also worked in other fac- 
tories and shops, but in 1878, at the age of 
seventeen, began an apprenticeship to 
learn the trade of printer in the office of 
the Peru Republican. He continued steadily 
at the printer's trade, both in newspaper 
and job work, until 1899, when he acquired 
an interest in the Miami County Sentinel. 
After that he divided his time between the 
editorial office and the printing rooms, and 
introduced a vigorous policy of politics 
which was reflected in increased circulation 
and increased influence of the paper as 
the leading democratic organ of Miami 
County. 

In 1910 Mr. McElheny accepted the 
democratic nomination for the office of 
county auditor, was elected in November 
of that year, and was re-elected for a sec- 
ond term in 1914. He was one of the most 
popular men in the Court House and made 
his office administration as efficient as it 
was cordial in its atmosphere to all who 
transacted business there. Mr. McElheny 
is affiliated with the JIasonic fraternity and 
the Knights of Pythias. 

January 31, 1894, he married ]Miss Mar- 
garet A. McLaughlin. Mrs. McElheny was 
born in Decatur Countv, Indiana, Julv 19, 
1867, daughter of Thomas and Ann (Cuff) 
McLaughlin, natives of Ireland. Mrs. Mc- 
Elheny was educated in the common schools 
and has been a splendid home maker and 
a source of inspiration to her husband in 
his career. They have four children : Lou- 
ise, Robert, Anna, and Richard, all of 
whom have received the advantages of the 
grammar and high schools of Peru. 

W.\LTER G. Records is senior member of 
the finn Records & Faust, clothing, hats, 
and men's furnishing goods, one of the 
largest establishments of its kind in Madi- 



son County. The spirit and standard of 
their business is well expressed in their slo- 
gan that it is a store for "The Boys." 

Mr. Records was born at Lawrence, In- 
diana, in 1872, son of Isaac C. and Mary 
J. (Alexander) Records. He is of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry. His father was thoroughly 
trained for the profession of medicine and 
surgery in a New York college but prac- 
ticed only a few years. For twenty-six 
terms he taught school in Miami County, 
Indiana, and about thirty years ago moved 
to Elwood, where he died in 1907. 

Walter 6. Records received most of his 
education at Miami, and when sixteen or 
seventeen years old came to Elwood with 
his parents. He assisted his father in bus- 
iness for a time, and gained an all around 
knowledge of salesmanship in the clothing 
business as an employe for twelve years 
with Narvin E. Phillips at Elwood. Dur- 
ing that time there was not a detail of ex- 
perience in the clothing line which did not 
fall to his lot as an employe. For four 
years he was associated with Henry Jor- 
dan and later with the firm of Beitman & 
Greathouse and in 1904 joined Mr. Faust 
in the present business, which has grown 
and brought a high degree of prosperity 
to both of the partners. 

Mr. Records is a republican, is affiliated 
with Elwood Lodges of Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks No. 368, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, Knights of 
the Maccabees, Improved Order of Red 
Men, and the family are members of the 
Presbyterian Church. He is married and 
has three children: Paul P., born in 1898, 
Walter Frederick, born in 1904, and 
Thomas W., who was born February 10, ^ 
1910, and was killed by an auto April 5, 
1917. The son Paul at the age of twenty 
was a corporal and crew chief in the One 
Hundred and Eightieth Squadron of Avia- 
tors at Kelly Field No. 2, San Antonio, 
Texas. He spent five months in England" 
with the Three Hundred and Twentieth 
Aero Squadron, arriving home on the sixth 
of December on the "Laplander," and was 
discharged at Camp Sherman December 
22, 1918. 

Rt. Rev. Joseph Marshall Francis, 
Protestant Episcopal Bishop of Indiana- 
polis, was consecrated to his present office 
on September 21, 1899. Since then he has 
become more than the leading figure of his 



1982 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



church in Indiana. Bishop Francis exer- 
cises a power whose source is the spirit of 
fellowship with his fellow men, a bigness 
of heart and ready sympathy, and a broad 
understanding: of the life and interests 
around him. With his great personal pop- 
ularity he has been able to enter many 
movements and carry an influence suffi- 
cient to insure success, apart from the 
prestige associated with him as head of 
the church. It will be recalled he presided 
at a monster patriotic meeting held in 
Indianapolis for the purpose of endors- 
ing President Wilson and Congress 
in their declaration of war against Ger- 
many. Bishop Francis' patriotism pro- 
ceeds from a fundamental conviction of 
the righteousness of war in the present in- 
stance, and he put it to proof when, though 
past military age, he tendered the offer of 
his services in whatever capacity the au- 
thorities deemed they could be used most 
effectively. He was appointed as chaplain 
of Base Hospital Thirty-Two, and served 
with that organization in France until the 
autumn of 1918. 

Bishop Francis was born at Eaglesmere, 
Pennsylvania, April 6, 1862, son of James 
B. and Charlotte A. (Marshall) Francis. 
He received his early education at Phila- 
delphia and later at Racine College and 
Oxford University. The degree Doctor of 
Divinity was bestowed upon him in 1899 
by Nashotah College in Wisconsin and by 
Hobart College in 1901. 

He was ordained a deacon in the Prot- 
estant Episcopal Church in 1884, at the age 
of twenty-two. In 1886 he was made a 
priest, and in the meantime had held pas- 
torates at Milwaukee and Greenfield, Wis- 
consin. During 1886-87 he was canon of 
the Cathedral at Milwaukee and in 1887-88 
was rector at Whitewater, Wisconsin. On 
June 14, 1887, he married Miss Stevens, of 
Milwaukee. 

Bishop Francis spent nearly ten years 
in the Far East, in charge of the Episcopal 
Cathedral at Tokyo and also as professor 
in Trinity Divinity School there. Return- 
ing from Japan in 1897 he was appointed 
rector of St. Paul's Church at Evansville, 
Indiana, in January, 1898, and from that 
was called to the post of Bishop of Indian- 
apolis less than two years later. Since 
1904 Bishop Francis has been a member of 
the Domestic and Foreign Missionary So- 
ciety. 



Robert Ji'dson Aley, educator, was bom 
in Jefferson Township of Owen County, 
Indiana, ]\Iay 11, 1863, a son of Jesse Jack- 
son and Paulina Mover Aley, the former 
born in Greene County, Kentucky, and the 
latter in Coshocton County, Ohio. Mr. 
Aley was well prepared in his earlier years 
for his life's work. He received the degree 
of B. S. from Valparaiso University, that 
of A. B. and A. M. from Indiana Univer- 
sity, Ph. D. and LL. D., University of Penn- 
sylvania, and LL.D., Franklin College, 
and was a student and professor at Stan- 
ford University 1894-5. In 1877 Profes- 
sor Aley entered upon his work as an edu- 
cator, and during the intervening years has 
steadily advanced until in 1910 he was 
made the president of the University of 
Maine. He has served as president of the 
Southern Indiana Teachers Association, the 
Indiana State Teachers Association, and 
the Maine State Teachers Association, as 
secretary for five years and as president for 
three years of the National Council of Edu- 
cation and as president of the National 
Educational Association. He is a member 
of the Phi Beta Kappa, the Phi Kappa Phi 
and the Sigma Xi and is a Knight Templar 
Mason and a member of the Bangor Rotary 
Club. 

At Spencer, Indiana, August 28, 1884, 
Professor Aley was married to Nellie El- 
mira, a daughter of J. W. Archer, of that 
city. They have two children. Maxwell 
Aley, and Ruth Emily Parkhurst. 

Benoni Stinson Rose, M. D. Aside from 
his long service for a quarter of a century 
as a capable physician and surgeon at 
Evansville, Doctor Rose's career and fam- 
ily are interesting from the fact that one 
of his great-grandfathers bore arms in the 
war for independence, a grandfather was 
a pioneer preacher of Southern Indiana, 
his father was a soldier in the Civil war, 
and he himself held the rank of captain in 
the United States Medical Corps during 
the recent world war. 

His father, Conrad Rose, a native of Eu- 
rope and brought to this country at the 
age of five, grew up in the country around 
Evansville, and in 1862 enlisted in Com- 
pany H of the Sixty-Fifth Indiana Infan- 
try, being with the regiment as a brave 
and faithful soldier through all its cam- 
paigns. He did not receive his discharge 
until after the close of the war, and then 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1983 



returned to Vanderburg County and was 
quietly engaged in the vocation of farming 
until his death in 1917, at the age of sev- 
enty-four. 

Doctor Rose's mother was Octavia Stin- 
son, who was born in Perry Township of 
Vanderburg County in 1841 and died in 
1908. Her grandfather, Elijah Stinson, 
was the Revolutionary ancestor of Doctor 
Rose. At one time he was assigned to du- 
ties as a spy by General "Washington. In 
1781, in Surry County, North Carolina, 
he married Rachel Cobb, and they finally 
came to Vanderburg County, Indiana, 
where Elijah died in March, 1835, and his 
widow afterward drew a pension for his 
military services. 

Rev. Benoni Stinson, father of Octavia, 
was bom in North Carolina in 1798, and 
in early life was ordained a Baptist min- 
ister. He removed to Wayne County, Ken- 
tuckv. and thence to Vanderburg County 
in 1822, securing a tract of government 
land which included the present site of 
Howell, then heavily timbered. In 1823 
he organized Liberty Baptist Church, and 
preached in many other places in Indiana, 
Illinois and Kentucky. He is said to have 
been a gifted orator, and at the time of 
the Civil war he used his eloquence to re- 
cruit soldiers for the Union Army. He 
was also a successful farmer. His death 
occurred on his farm in October, 1869. 
February 19, 1819, he married Ruth A. 
Martin, daughter of John and Drusilla 
Martin. 

Doctor Rose, who was born at Evans- 
ville, was one of four children, the others 
being A. Lincoln, Parthcnia, and Harry B. 
He is a graduate of the Evansville High 
School, spent two years in the Ohio Medical 
College at Cincinnati, and graduated in 
1894 from the Louisville Medical College. 
Prom that time he practiced steadily in 
his native city until 1917, when, in July, 
he was commissioned captain in the Medi- 
cal Corps. For some time he was with the 
Third Pioneer Infantry, and was then 
transferred to General Hospital No. 8 at 
Otisville, New York. He received an hon- 
orable discharge in January, 1919. In 
1898 he married Helen M. Hewson, daugh- 
ter of Geoi'ge B. and Mary Hewson of 
Evansville. 

GoDLip C. KrHNER. To the enterprise 
of Godlip C. Kuhner Muncie owes one of 



its valuable industries, the Kuhner Pack- 
ing Companj'. Mr. Kuhner is primarily a 
farmer and producer, but for many 5'ears 
his experience has also been in the varied 
lines of meat handling and packing. He 
first engaged in meat killing on his farm 
on a very small scale, and gradually has 
developed his facilities until it now repre- 
sents a large investment and an important 
local industry. 

Mr. Kuhner was born July 29, 1858, in 
Scioto County, Ohio, a son of Godlip C. 
Kuhner, Sr. His father came to America 
in 1847, being then a single man. From 
Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, he enlisted as a 
soldier in the Mexican war. Thus he early 
showed those qualities of Americanism 
which have been characteristic of his de- 
scendants. After the war and the termi- 
nation of his military service he married 
and engaged in farming at Portsmouth, 
Ohio, and subsequently bought 120 acres 
in Harrison Township of Scioto County. 
Much of this land he cleared up by his 
own industry, and put it in a high state 
of cultivation. He lived there until his 
death in 1865. He and his wife, Sophie, 
had nine children, four of whom died in 
infancy, while the others are still living. 

Godlip C. Kuhner, Jr., who was the 
sixth among his parents' children, was 
only seven years old when his father died. 
His father was a Lutheran and a republi- 
can in polities. The boy grew up on the 
old homestead and assi-sted his mother in 
looking after the farm until he was seven- 
teen years old. He had worked at farm 
labor for wages for several years, and next 
bought a place of his own in Bloom Town- 
ship in Scioto County. It was while oper- 
ating this farm that he engaged in a small 
way in the butcher business, and he re- 
mained there until 1895. That year going 
to Portsmouth he established a packing 
plant in which he handled ten or twelve 
cattle and 100 hogs a week. 

Selling this business in Ohio he came to 
Indiana and located at Greentown in How- 
ard County, and for three years was in 
the retail meat business. Mr. Kuhner 
came to Muncie in 1900, and established 
here a meat market which is still onerated. 
In 1904 he enlarged the scope of his oper- 
ations by constructing a small packing 
house on the farm he had bought in North 
Muncie. The first considerable additions 
to his facilities were made in 1912, and 



1984 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



other additions have followed until at the 
present time the plant has a capacity of 
from 80 to 100 cattle and 600 hogs per 
week. Among the facilities is a modern 
cold storage plant and ice factory, manu- 
facturing forty tons of ice per day and 
with complete refrigeration processes and 
other equipment used in the modern indus- 
try of meat packing and storage. 

Mr. Kuhner now relies largely upon his 
son for the active management of this in- 
dustry. He married January 15, 1880, 
Mary Prior, who died in 1898. Four chil- 
dren were born to them, and the three now 
living are: Henry C, born October 16, 
1880; Ella S., born August 2, 1882; and 
Frank, born January 5, 1884. The Kuh- 
ner Packing Company is now an incorpo- 
ration, with Henry C. Kuhner as president, 
Godlip C, vice president, and Frank G., 
secretary and treasurer. Their retail meat 
market is at 115 East' Charles Street. 

Mr. Kuhner has always manifested that 
public spirit which makes him a factor of 
benefit in any community. He is a mem- 
ber of the Knights of Pythias and a re- 
publican in politics. As he grew up on a 
farm he has always maintained an interest 
in agriculture, and has been a successful 
fai-mer both in Ohio and in Indiana. In 
1915 he constructed one of the beautiful 
residences of Miincie, a bungalow at 1027 
North Elm Street. In 1913 he married 
Marv Obright, who has a son living in New 
York. 

Rev. Jacob U. Schneider, who has been 
continuously identified with the Zion Evan- 
gelical Church at Evansville as pastor for 
twenty-six years, is one of the most distin- 
guished and influential leaders of that de- 
nomination in Indiana. 

He was born at Shanesville, Tuscarawas 
County, Ohio, a son of George and Mar- 
garet (Troxell) Schneider. "When he was 
a small boy his parents moved out to the 
frontier of Nebraska, locating on a farm 
in Richardson County. The father spent 
the rest of his life as a Nebraska farmer. 
Rev. Mr. Schneider therefore had his early 
school advantages confined to the old 
schools of Richardson County. Later he 
took a commercial course at Bryant & 
Stratton College in St. Joseph, Missouri, 
and pursued his classical studies in Elm- 
hurst College near Chicago. In 1886 he 
graduated from the Eden Theological Sem- 



inary in St. Louis and was ordained a min- 
ister of the Evangelical Church. His first 
pastorate was at Castle Shannon near Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania. Two years later he 
went to Jefferson City, Missouri, as pastor 
of the Evangelical Church in that city, 
serving it capably and effectively for five 
years. After that he was principal of the 
high school at "Washington, Missouri, and 
in 1895 came to Evansville to accept the 
pastorate of Zion Evangelical Church. He 
has not only maintained a large and pros- 
perous church organization but has inter- 
ested himself in everything that makes for 
a better city. He was a member of the 
Board of Education from 1910 to 1918, and 
served as its secretary and treasurer, and 
was also a member of the Playground Com- 
mission. He has been president of the 
Board of Directors of the Protestant Dea- 
coness Hospital since 1896. In the larger 
affairs of his church he is known as chair- 
man of the Synodical Literary Board, 
chairman of the Board of Examiners of 
Candidates for the Ministry, and chairman 
of the Committee on Relations of the Synod 
to other Christian bodies. 

In 1886 Rev. Mr. Schneider married 
Rosa L. Langtim. She was born in St. 
Joseph, Missouri, a daughter of Ernest and 
Minnie (Ehlers) Langtim. Mr. and Mrs. 
Schneider have every reason to be proud 
of their family of children, three in num- 
ber, named Carl, Selma, and Herbert. 

Carl Schneider graduated from the 
Evansville High School, also attended Elm- 
hurst College, and followed the example of 
his father entered the Eden Theological 
Seminary in St. Louis, of which he is a 
graduate. Beyond that he continued his 
preparations abroad, a student in a semi- 
nary at Tubingen, in the University of 
Leipzig and in the University of Berlin. 
He is now Professor of Religious Educa- 
tion in Eden Seminary. Carl Schneider 
married Louise Fisher, and they have one 
son, named Carl, Jr. 

The daughter, Selma, a graduate of the 
Evansville High School and of DePauw 
University at Greencastle, after leaving 
college engaged in social service work at 
Sleighton Farm, the seat of the Pennsyl- 
vania State Reform School for Girls, but 
is now a teacher in the Evansville public 
schools. 

Herbert Schneider is a graduate of the 
Evansville High School. He entered the 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1985 



United States service June 24, 1918, and 
went to Europe, and up to the spring of 
1919 was still in France as a member of 
Company C of the Three Hundred and 
Ninth Engineers. 

Elbert Hamilton Shirk was the founder 
of the First National Bank of Peru, the 
oldest financial institution of Miami 
County and with an impressive record of 
strength, resources and service during the 
more than half century of its existence. 

He not only founded the bank but also 
a family name which has endured in high 
honor in Northern Indiana and other local- 
ities through several generations. Elbert 
Hamilton Shirk was born in Franklin 
County, Indiana, February 14, 1818, son 
of Samuel and Elizabeth (Stout) Shirk. 
His father came to Indiana from Georgia 
and his mother from Kentucky. For all 
the fact that Indiana had nothing in the 
way of public education to offer such youth 
as Elbert H. Shirk, it was a day and age 
which produced strong men, thoroughly 
capable of handling big affairs. He spent 
his boyhood on a farm, attended subscrip- 
tion schools, and after reaching manhood 
was for two years a student at Miami Uni- 
versity at Oxford, Ohio. For two years 
he taught in the Rush County Seminary. 

However, he early recognized that his 
talents were best adapted for business. In 
1844 he moved to Peru, and forming a 
partnership with John Harlan was for some 
years one of the early merchants of the 
town. From that time until his death in 
1886 his career was one of unbroken pros- 
perity. After a year he engaged in mer- 
chandising on his own account. He pos- 
sessed the judgment, the foresight and the 
executive ability which are characteristic 
of great merchants. He was a student of 
methods and men and of every circum- 
stance which would affect his enterprise. 
He built up a trade which extended 
throughout Indiana and embarked in nu- 
merous enterprises which always rewarded 
his judgment with good profit. He dealt 
in depreciated land warrants which had 
been issued to the veterans of the Mexican 
war and invested them in lands in the then 
western states of Kansas, Iowa, and Ne- 
braska. :\Iany of the settlers who went 
from this section of Indiana to those trans- 
Mississippi states were equipped with war- 
rants for land sold them by Mr. Shirk. 



This was his first extensive venture in real 
estate, and he thereafter followed up that 
line of business very extensively and syste- 
matically. It was in considerable part 
through his real estate operations that his 
large fortune was accumulated. Some of 
the best of his investments were made in 
Chicago when that city was in its most 
rapid development period. 

He had opened a private bank for de- 
posits in 1857, and through his own re- 
sources and his high standing in the com- 
munity he kept that institution unim- 
paired through the troublous financial 
times that followed. In 1864, the year fol- 
lowing the passage of the National Bank 
Act, he organized the First National Bank, 
and held the office of president until his 
death. The community long refused to 
call it the First National and instead it 
was known by the more familiar title of 
"Shirk's Bank," and it was largely the 
pinvate resources and good judgment of 
the founder that gave it its solid character. 
In banking, merchandising and real es- 
tate Elbert H. Shirk was undoubtedly one 
of the strongest men of his time in In- 
diana. Had he chosen for the field of his 
enterprise one of the great cities of the 
eounti-y his name would undoubtedly have 
been associated with that of the greatest 
merchant princes in America. While he 
was pre-eminent as a creator of business re- 
sources he was also a constant influence 
for the conservation and development of 
everything affecting the welfare of society. 
For many years he was one of the most 
active memliers of the Baptist Church of 
Peru, contributing half the cost of the 
church edifice erected during his lifetime. 
He was a cpiiet worker in benevolence and 
philanthropy in his city. He had little to 
do with partisan politics bvit was a whig 
and later a republican voter. He is re- 
membered as a man of apparently slight 
and frail physique, but possessing a nerv- 
ous energy and will power which constantly 
co-operated with his remarkable business 
judgment, and from such a combination 
resulted his great success and influence in 
affairs. 

He was devoted to family and friends 
and his home was a center of the cultured 
social life of his community. The old 
Shirk home in the midst of an entire square 
at the edge of the Peru business district is 
and has long been one of the landmarks of 



1986 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



that city. In June, 1845, Elbert H. Shirk 
married Mary Wright, who was of English 
descent and a native of Franklin County, 
Indiana. She was a woman of rare strength 
of character, and during her long and 
happy associations with her husband she 
exerted many of the influences which gave 
him power and success. Elbert H. Shirk 
died April 8, 1886. His widow passed 
away in August, 1894. They had a family 
of two sons and one daughter. One of the 
sons was Milton Shirk, who succeeded his 
father as president of the First National 
Bank. The only daughter of Elbert H. 
Shirk was Alice, now the wife of R. A. 
Edwards, president of the First National 
Bank of Peru. 

Dale D. Golden is manager of the 
By-Lo Hardware Company of Anderson. 
This is one of a chain of stores conducted 
by one of the largest retail hardware or- 
ganizations in the middle west. It is a po- 
sition of responsibility, and is adequate 
testimony to the qualifications of Mr. 
Golden as an executive and as a thoroughly 
experienced hardware man. While he is 
only thirt.y years of age, his record of bus- 
iness experience has been a rather long 
one and indicates that he has concentrated 
a great deal of experience and energy into 
a few brief years. 

Mr. Golden was born in 1888 at Acton 
in Marion County, Indiana, but when two 
years of age his parents, Charles E. and 
Luella (Dalby) Golden, moved to Indian- 
apolis. Thcifamily is of Irish and English 
ancestrj'. In Indianapolis Mr. Golden at- 
tended the public schools, but his education 
was practically completed by the time he 
was fourteen years of age. He soon after- 
ward went to work as an office boy with 
the contracting firm of King & Company. 
He spent five rather profitable years with 
this firm, and acquired some very valuable 
experience as a draftsman in the archi- 
tect's rooms. He then sought a new ave- 
nue for his energies, and for two years was 
an apprentice learning the tinsmith trade 
with Frank H. Brunk at Indianapolis. He 
then went to work as a clerk in the Brunk 
hardware store, and remained with that 
merchant altogether for nine or ten years, 
part of the time practically as manager of 
the hardware department. 

In 1915 Mr. Golden came to Anderson 
and opened a new branch of the By-Lo 



Stores Company. This corporation has a 
large number of stores both in Indiana and 
Illinois. In the three years since its es- 
tablishment the store at Anderson has 
grown rapidly and has attracted a large 
proportion of the local trade by reason of 
the fact that its equipment and stock is of 
the very best character and quality. The 
business as it stands today at Anderson is 
practically the product of Mr. Golden 's 
energies and ideas, and it is impossible not 
to look forward into the future and pre- 
dict for him a splendidly successful career 
as a merchant and business man. He is a 
member of the Indiana Retail Hardware 
Association. 

In 1911 Mr. Golden married Mary Baum, 
daughter of Thomas and Delia (Wj'ckoff) 
Baum. They have two children, Kenneth 
Dale, born in 1913, and Mary Ellen, born 
in 1915. Mr. Golden takes an independent 
stand in regard to politics. He is affiliated 
with Meridian Lodge No. 480 of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows at Indian- 
apolis. 

John Eugene Igleh.\rt. The name 
Iglehart has been prominent in the annals 
of the Evansville bar for a great many 
years. John Eugene Iglehart has prac- 
ticed there nearly half a century and his 
father before him was an eminent member 
of the Southern Indiana bar. 

The Iglehart family came originally from 
Saxony and were colonial settlers in Amer- 
ica. Mr. Iglehart is a great-great-grand- 
son of John and Mary (Denune) Iglehart. 
The Denune branch of the family repre- 
sents French Huguenots. John and ;\Iary 
had a son named John, and he in turn was 
father of Levi Iglehart, who was born in 
Prince George County, JMaryland, August 
13, 1786. He was reared and educated in 
his native state and married there Anne 
Tavlor. About 1815 he came west to the 
Ohio Valley and in 1823 settled in War- 
rick County, Indiana, became a pioneer 
land owner and farmer and lived there the 
rest of his life. He was a magistrate in 
1825 and later was lay judge of the Cir- 
cuit Court. 

Asa Iglehart, father of the Evansville 
lawyer, was born in Kentucky December 
8, 1817, and was reared among the hills 
of Warrick County. With limited oppor- 
tunities he acquired a good education, and 
after his marriage, he continued farming 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1987 



until 1849. He had devoted much of his 
spare time to the study of law and was ad- 
mitted to the bar during that year and at 
once located at Evausville. Here he be- 
came a member of the firm Ingle, Wheeler 
& Iglehart. In 1854 he was appointed 
judge of the Court of Common Pleas and 
was afterward elected to that office. In 
1858 he resumed private practice, and for 
a number of years he appeared in cases of 
great importance not only in the Circuit 
and Superior Courts but in the Supreme 
Court of the state and the United States, 
and moved on terms of easy fellowship 
with many of the notable men of the state 
and nation. Ill health finally compelled 
him to retire from practice, and he died 
February 5, 1887. 

Judge Iglehart married Ann Cowle, who 
was born in Huntingtonshire, England, 
a daughter of William and Sarah (Ingle) 
Cowle. Sarah Cowle was one of the pio- 
neer settlers of Vanderburg County, In- 
diana, coming in 1823, when a widow. Asa 
Iglehart and wife had three children : Fred 
C, John E., and Annie. 

John Eugene Iglehart was born on a 
farm in Campbell Township, Warrick 
County, August 10, 1848. He was liber- 
ally educated in the schools of Evansville 
and at Asbury, now DePauw, University, 
where he graduated at the age of twenty. 
He was soon afterward admitted to the 
bar and at once began practice at Evans- 
ville. November 4, 1874, he married 
Lockie W. Holt, daughter of Robert and 
Ann Holt. They have four children : En- 
gene H., Ann, and Lockie H. and Joseph 
H. Mr. Iglehart is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Joseph D. Adams. Some thirtj' or 
thirty-five j'ears ago Joseph D. Adams, then 
a resident of Parke County, Indiana; was 
enacting the rather humble role of a coun- 
try school teacher and farmer. An un- 
solicited honor came to him, though per- 
haps it was regarded as an honor neither 
by him nor those who conferred it upon 
him. His fellow citizens in the district 
elected him road supervisor. It is the only 
public office Mr. Adams ever held, and it 
was one he neither sought nor wanted. 

American people have become so accus- 
tomed to a perfunctory performance of offi- 
cial duty that they are only surprised when 



sometliing out of the ordinary in the way 
of efficiency develops. It was in this way 
that ilr. Adams turned the joke on the 
people who elected him road supervisor. 
He used his official authority in compelling 
his neighbors to work the roads with as 
much vigor and sj'stem as they did their 
farms. But the main point of the story 
is not the efficiency of his administration 
as road supervisor, but the fact that during 
this experience Mr. Adams gained his first 
insight into the inadequacy of road work- 
ing machinery. A few years later he took 
the agency and went on the road and be- 
gan traveling over that section of Indiana 
and other states selling road making ma- 
chinery. During all the years he was in- 
terviewing county commissioners and other 
road officials in the interests of his com- 
pany he was at the same time using his 
mind and mechanical ingenuity in specu- 
lating as to how he could improve road 
making implements. Out of this period of 
study and experimentation he evolved one 
after the other of what are today widely 
known as the "Little Wonder Grader," the 
"Road King" line, and "Square Deal" 
line of road graders, and other implements 
and devices now known generally through- 
out the length and breadth of the land. 
His invention of the adjustable leaning 
wheel as applied to road graders was so far 
in advance of competition as to practically 
give him a monopoly. 

Along with the genius to invent Mr. 
Adams possessed the business ability of the 
salesman and the manufacturer. Thus it 
was that in 1895 he founded the J. D. 
Adams & Company of Indianapolis, of 
which he is now president. With limited 
capital and in limited quarters he began 
the manufacture of his inventions. He 
kept his machines before the attention of 
the public, made them worthy of confi- 
dence and patronage, was exceedingly care- 
ful in bringing out only the best products 
of the kind, and there naturally followed 
a rapid increase of the business. The sur- 
plus was reinvested in extensions and im- 
provements, and after about twenty years 
J. D. Adams & Company now conduct one 
of the larger industrial plants of Indiana, 
furnishing employment to 250 individuals, 
and manufacturing about fifteen different 
tynes of road grading machines. 

Having thus indicated his industrial po- 



1988 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



sition in Indiana, it remains to say a word 
concerning his personal career .and his 
family. 

Mr. Adams was born on a farm in ParV-^ 
County, Indiana, December 12, 1853. He 
is a son of Harvey and Eliza (Canithers) 
Adams. His father was born in Ross 
County, Ohio, July 25, 1825. When a 
young man he removed to Vigo County, 
Indiana, and from there to what is now 
Sand Creek Station in Parke County. 
There he took a tract of land on which few 
improvements had been made, and re- 
deemed it from the virginal wilderness. 
On a part of this farm is today located 
the Indiana State Tuberculosis Hospital. 
Harvey Adaius was the type of man whose 
life is worthy of record, though it contained 
no spectacular elements of episodes. He 
lived an ideal Americanism, was honest, 
upright, a progressive and hardworking 
farmer, and he died at his home in Parke 
County April 8, 1904. His wife, Mrs. Eliza 
Adams, was born in Parke County Novem- 
ber 4. 1826. That date in itself indicates 
that her people were among the first settlers 
there in the Wabash Valley, and lived in 
that region when the Indians and wild 
game were far more plentiful than white 
people and domestic animals. She died 
June 15, 1912. It is from such unassuming 
parentage that the best of American citi- 
zens have sprung. 

Joseph D. Adams was the third of the 
eight children born to his parents, five of 
whom are still living. His early life was 
devoid of exciting incidents. During the 
summer months he worked on the home 
farm and during the winter attended dis- 
trict schools. His early schooling was sup- 
plemented by attendance at the old Friends 
Bloomingdale Academy when Prof. Barna- 
bas C. Hobbs, later state superintendent of 
public instruction, was at the head of the 
institution. Like many other young men 
of the day Mr. Adams resorted to school 
teaching, and altogether taught some eight 
or nine terms, until ho engaged in selling 
road machinery. In politics he has always 
been a republican. On April 13, 1876. he 
married Miss Anna Elder. Three children 
were born to them. The daughter, Anna 
Laura, now deceased, married Rev. Edward 
Henry, and she left two children, Anna 
Lou and Laura Margaret. The active busi- 
ness associates of Mr. Adams in the J. D. 



Adams & Company are his two sons, Roy 
E. and William Ray. 

! 

Charlton Andrews, author, lecturer, 
.iournalist, and educator, is a native son of 
Connersville, Indiana, born February 1, 
1878. His parents are Albert Munson An- 
drews, pharmacist, and Marie Louise An- 
drews, a writer and a pioneer in ithe 
woman's suffrage movement. She was one 
of the leading spirits in the founding of the 
Western Association of Writers, and for 
several years served as its secretary. Her 
death occurred in 1891. 

Charlton Andrews is a graduate of De- 
Pauw University, 1898, University of Paris, 
1898-9. Chicago University, 1904, and Har- 
vard University, 1911. His first work af- 
ter leaving college was as a newspaper man, 
was afterward prominently engaged in edu- 
cational work, and in 1914 entered upon 
his work as lecturer in the Brooklyn Poly- 
technic Institute. He was a member of 
the Civilians' Military Training Course, 
Fort Totten, Long Island, 1917, is a mem- 
ber of the Andiron Club, New York City, 
and with the Delta Tau Delta fraternity. 
Among his works as an author may be 
mentioned: "The Drama Today" (1913), 
"The Technique of Play Writing" (1915), 
"His Majesty the Fool" (a plav produced 
at The Little Theatre, Philadelphia, 1913), 
and other works, and has contributed to 
numerous magazines. In 1916 he was made 
play receiver for The Theatre JIagazine. 

In Brookville, Indiana, May 15, 1901, 
Mr. Andrews married Maude Cory Smolley. 

Bert H. Harris. There are few men 
who have not at some time in their lives 
had an ardent ambition to be railroaders. 
In that great industry, as in many other 
lines, "mpny are called but few are 
chosen." It is a long and arduous climb 
to the heights of promotion and responsi- 
bility, and many drop out on the way. 

One of the prominent railroad officials 
living at Indianapolis, and trainmaster for 
the Pennsylvania lines, is Bert H. Harris, 
■who was first granted his desire to connect 
with the railroad when eighteen years of 
aee. He was born at ^lartinsville. In- 
diana, in 1869, son of John F. and Mary 
(Sehlayman) Harris. His father was of 
French ancestry and a native of Alsace- 
Lorraine, while his mother was born in 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1989 



Germany. They were early settlers in 
Martinsville. After attending the public 
schools of his native village Bert H. Har- 
ris counted it a most happy day when he 
was taken to work at the railroad station 
of the Pennsylvania lines in the capacity 
of messenger. There was a good deal of 
leisure time, and he rapidly picked up and 
acquired an expert knowledge of telegra- 
phy. He was assigned as operator at Mar- 
tinsville Station for about a year, later 
for two years was station agent, and in 
1894 the Pennsylvania Company trans- 
ferred him to Indianapolis as chief clerk to 
the trainmaster. In 1896 he was made 
yardmaster at Bushrod, Indiana, and held 
"those responsibilities about eight years. He 
then returned to Indianapolis to become 
trainmaster of the Vincennes Division, and 
has lived in this city continuously since 
then. August 1, 1918, Mr. Harris was hon- 
ored by another substantial promotion, be- 
ing made trainmaster of both the Indian- 
apolis Terminal Division and the Vincennes 
Division, including the terminals at Vin- 
cennes. This was an office carrying with it 
considerably enlarged duties and responsi- 
bilities. One of the outstanding facts i'^ 
his record as a railroad man is that his 
service has been continuous with the Penn- 
sylvania lines, and thirty years in their 
employ constitute him a vete)-an, though he 
is just fifty years old. 

Mr. Harris takes the greatest pride 
and interest in his work as a railroad man, 
but feels an even deeper personal interest 
in his happy family, and particularly of 
late in the experiences and achievements 
of his soldier son. 'Sir. Harris married at 
Spencer, Indiana, ]\Iiss Florence A. Mor- 
gan, of that city. Their three children are 
Lieut. Paul A. Harris, Agnes Harris, and 
Harry Harris. The older son, Paul, vol- 
iinteered in the first officers' reserve corps 
for training in May, 1917. Later he was 
selected for coast artillery service, and 
completed his training at Fort Monroe, 
Virginia, where he was commissioned a 
second lieutenant. Since then he has been 
promoted to fii-st lieutenant, and has made 
a splendid record both in the technical 
branch of the service and as a commanding 
officer. He was in his third year at Pur- 
due University when he volunteered for 
the officers training camp. Mr. Harris and 
wife are members of the Fourth Presby- 



terian Church of Indianapolis, and in pol- 
itics he is a democrat. 

Oscar C. Smith. For thirty years or 
more Oscar C. Smith has been a factor in 
the business affairs of Kokomo, where he is 
head of the firm Smith & Hoff, an 
old established and well known busi- 
ness in furniture, household supplies, and 
undertaking, located at 118-120 East Wal- 
nut Street. 

Mr. Smith is a man of broad and pro- 
gressive views, and his place among In- 
diana merchants is an indication of the 
fact that he is now serving as president of 
the State Chamber of Commerce of In- 
diana. He was formerly prominent in the 
Kokomo Chamber of Commerce, and gave 
up the presidency of that body in order 
to handle the responsibilities of his present 
office. 

Mr. Smith was born ilay 15, 1862, at 
^looresville, Indiana. His home has been 
in Kokomo since January, 1874. In 1880 
he graduated from the Kokomo High 
School, and during the next five years had 
some valuable experience and rendered 
some good service as a teacher in Howard 
County and the City of Kokomo. Follow- 
ing that he entered the book business under 
the name 0. C. Smith. With ^Ir. Louis 
Jlehlig he subsequently formed the part- 
nership of Smith & Mehlig, drugs, books, 
and wall paper. This business was con- 
tinued until 1900, when :\Ir. Smith sold 
his interests to Mr. Mehlig. He then 
bought a half interest in the furniture bus- 
iness of Kellar & Company, thus estab- 
lishing the business of Smith & Kellar. 
Four years later Mr. E. W. Hoff bought 
the Kellar interests, and for the past four- 
teen yeai"s the firm of Smith & Hoff has 
enjoyed an unequivocal standing and pros- 
perity in Kokomo. 

Mr. Smith was one of the founders of 
the Kokomo Chamber of Commerce in 
1913. He served as its president from 
1915 to 1917, when he resigned to devote 
his time to the State Chamber of Commerce 
as president. He is now in his second term 
of that office. Fraternally he is affiliated 
with Lodge No. 29, Knights of Pythias, 
having passed all the chairs, also with the 
Lodge of Elks, with the Improved Order 
of Red Men. and is a member of the Grace 
Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a re- 
publican, without aspirations for office 



1990 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



In 1890 Mr. Smith married Miss Myrtle 
A. Maris, of Russiaville, Indiana. She 
graduated from the Kokomo High School 
in 1887. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have three 
children: Paul M., born August 28, 1891, 
is a graduate of the Kokomo High School ; 
Arline, born in 1894, died in 1897; and 
Preston E., born June 28, 1905. 

Benjamin Franklin Moore. Since the 
beginning of the present century it is 
doubtful if any one man has done more to 
influence educational progress and policy 
in Indiana than Benjamin Franklin Jloore. 
He is in the prime of his activities and his 
vitalizing influence on educational affairs 
is more conspicuous now than ever before. 

Mr. Moore was born on a farm near Buf- 
falo in White County, Indiana, April 4, 
1858. The Moore family were very promi- 
nent in the early life and history of that 
county. His father was a farmer, for 
many years justice of the peace and was 
postmaster of his community. Mr. Moore 
is a great-grandson of a Presbyterian 
preacher in Pennsylvania and a soldier in 
the Revolutionary war. 

His early life was spent on his father's 
farm. He attended his first school near 
home, later the high school at Monticello, 
and in June, 1884, graduated from the In- 
diana State Normal School in the full Latin 
course. Aside from what he has gained by 
an experience of more than thirty years iii 
educational work he has pursued post- 
graduate courses in the University of Chi- 
cago and in Columbia University of New 
York City. His Master's degree was 
awarded him by Columbia University in 
1912. 

Mr. Moore began teaching when only 
sixteen years old. For eight years his 
work was done in country districts. For 
one year he was superintendent of schools 
at Nineveh in Johnson County, superin- 
tendent of schools at Monticello five years, 
was for nine years at Frankfort, Indiana, 
nine years at Marion, and ten years at 
Muncie. On April 4, 1918, Mr. Moore was 
elected dean of the Indiana State Normal 
School, Eastern Division, and he was in 
charge at the opening of the school on 
June 17, 1918. 

Besides what he has accomplished as an 
individual teacher and school administra- 
tor some of his broader work in the state at 
large should be made familiar to the read- 



ers. In 1907 he was appointed by the gov- 
ernor as chairman of the first Indiana 
State Education Commission to investigate 
and make recommendation regarding tax- 
ation and teachers salaries and other edu- 
cational matters. As chairman of the 
State Education Commission he prepared 
seven educational bills, all of which were 
enacted into laws. As chairman of the com- 
mittee appointed by the Indiana State 
Teachers' Association Mr. Moore wrote the 
present Indiana State Teachers' Retire- 
ment Law. He was appointed bj' the gov- 
ernor as a member of the fii-st Indiana 
State Teachers' Retirement Fund Board, 
was first president of the board at its or- 
ganization August 1, 1915, and still holds 
that office. He has served as president of 
the Indiana State Teachers' Association, 
of the Indiana Town and City Superin- 
tendents' Association and of other educa- 
tional bodies. He has always interested 
himself in community affairs and during 
the war was a member of the Educational 
Committees of the State afld County Coun- 
cils of Defense. 

C. H. Havens is the present postmaster 
of Kokomo. He has been a resident and 
newspaper man of Kokomo for many years, 
and it seems almost a foretelling of destiny 
that he should have been born in a house 
just across the street from where the new 
Federal Building and Postoffice stands. 

Mr. Havens was born May 4, 1858, son 
of Henry B. Havens and grandson of Rev. 
James Havens. He is of old Virginia an- 
cestry, and the famil.y emigrated over the 
mountains to Kentucky and from that state 
went as pioneers to Rush County, Indiana. 
His grandfather was known as "the "fight- 
ing minister," and was a type of the pio- 
neer itinerant preacher and evangelist of 
which Peter Cartwright was perhaps the 
most famous example. These ministers 
carried the Gospel to the backwoods com- 
munities, and preached in log schoolhouses 
and even in private homes, and no weather 
or other conditions could deter them from 
the performance of their duty. Rev. James 
Havens was widely known among the early 
settlers of Rush County and was a most 
extmplary man. Manj^ years ago a Mr. 
Hibben wrote a book on his life and serv- 
ices and this book was widely read. Rev. 
James Havens had a family of fourteen 
children, the youngest being Henry B., 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1991 



who was born in Rush County, was edu- 
cated in the district schools there, and 
le.irned the trade of saddler and harness 
Diaker. He followed it in Rush County 
until 1846, when he moved to Howard 
County, and became one of the first to fol- 
low his trade in Kokomo. Later he became 
a grain buj-er, and continued that business 
until 1884, when he branched out in real 
estate and continued that until his death. 
He was widely known over Howard County 
and was very loyal in his allegiance to the 
democratic party and influential in its be- 
half. 

C. H. Havens, third among the six chil- 
dren of his parents, was reared in Kokomo, 
attended the high school, and entered upon 
his business career as a printer's devil in 
the office of the Kokomo Democrat. He has 
been a printer and newspaper man many 
years, and for twenty years was managing 
editor of the Kokomo Dispatch. Jlr. Hav- 
ens was appointed postmaster of Kokomo 
by President Wilson in 1914. He is a 
thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, 
a member of the Elks and ilodern Wood- 
men of America, and very stanch as a 
democrat. 

February 6, 1886, he married at Kokomo 
Miss McKinsey. Their two daughters are 
both married, and one son-in-law is serv- 
ing with the rank of lieutenant in the 
American Arm.y. 

Byron Fletcher Prunk, A. B., M. D. 
In the practice of medicine and surgery 
Doctor Prunk has become widely and fav- 
orably known at Indianapolis. The oppor- 
tunities and obligations of the medical pro- 
fession were impressed upon his attention 
from an early age, since his father was one 
of the able men in that field in Indianap- 
olis, and after duly qualifying himself by 
technical education IDoctor Prunk found 
himself almost at the start in possession 
of a gratifying practice. 

He was born December 20, 1866, son of 
Daniel H. and Hattie A. (Smith) Prunk, 
the father still living at Indianapolis with 
his son Byron F. The mother died Octo- 
ber 15, 1911. Dr. Daniel H. Prunk was 
born in Virginia, and as a child accom- 
panied the family in 1832 to Heiniepin. Ill- 
inois, and spent his earliest years on a farm 
there. He took up the study of medicine, 
attending courses of the Eclectic School at 
Cincinnati, from which he graduated in 



1856. In 1876 he graduated from the In- 
diana Medical University. He resumed 
practice at Indianapolis about the close of 
the Civil war. He served as contract sur- 
geon and assistant surgeon in the Federal 
service as a volunteer during that conflict. 
For sixty-three yearsi he has ably per- 
formed his duties as a physician. His 
three sons, Frank H., Harry C., and Byron 
F., all live at Indianapolis. 

Byron F. Prunk was educated in the 
common schools of his native city, grad- 
uated from Wabash College, Indiana, with 
the degree A. B. in 1892, studied medicine 
at the Indiana Medical College in 1894, 
and in 1896 received his degree Doctor of 
Medicine from Jefferson Medical College 
at Philadelphia. 

With these qualifications and training 
Dr. Prunk returned to Indianapolis and 
at once engaged in practice in the office of 
his father at 30 South Senate Avenue, 
where his father had continuously been in 
practice for forty years. He is a general 
practitioner. He is a member of the va- 
rious medical organization,s, and is inter- 
ested in republican party success and be- 
longs to the First Presbyterian Church. 

In 1894 he married Pauline D. Shaffer, 
a native of Arcadia, Indiana, daughter of 
William H. and Nancy (Caylor) Shaffer. 
Her father died in 1908 and her mother is 
now living in Indianapolis. Doctor and 
Mrs. Prunk have five children. Bvron 
Parvin, the oldest, born May 29, 1895," was 
a student in Wabash College when Amer- 
ica entered the world struggle against Ger- 
many, became sergeant in Headquarters 
Company and attended training camp for 
officers at Camp Taylor, Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, and became second lieutenant. 
Harriet Augusta, who was born November 
9, 1896, was formerly a student of Emer- 
son College of Oratory at Boston, and spent 
one year in the Chevy Chase School at 
Washington. Helen Louise, born Septem- 
ber 19, 1899, is in the Indianapolis High 
School. Horace, born June 16, 1901, in 
spite of his age found an opportunity to 
get into the war, receiving his first mili- 
tary experience in Battery A, Indiana Na- 
tional Guard, and is now a private in the 
famous Rainbow Division in General 
Pershing's army in France. The young- 
est of the children, Elizabeth, was born 
November 28, 1908. 



1992 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Henry Knaupf, the present county 
treasurer of Miami County, was elected to 
that otifice not only on the score of good 
business qualifications for its management, 
but also because of his long residence and 
a public spirited citizenship he has always 
exhibited in everything connected with the 
life and welfare of his home county. 

Mr. Knauff has lived in Miami County 
since he was five years of age. He was born 
in Germany May 10, 1863, son of George 
and Anna C. (Kuhn) Knauff, and grand- 
son of Nicholas Knaufif. It was in 1868 
that the Knauf¥ family set out from their 
old home in Hesse Darmstadt, and they 
landed at Castle Garden on Independence 
Day, July 4, 1868. George Knauff located 
in Union Township of Miami County, and 
having come here with small means rented 
land until he could buy a farm of his own. 
This farm was the home of his son Henry 
until the latter came to Peru to take up 
his duties at the courthouse. George 
Knauff was born about 1830. His first wife 
died in 1871, and he then married Emily J. 
McDonald, who died in 1908. 

Henry Knauff received all his education 
in the Miami County schools, and except 
for his official career has always been a 
farmer. He improved the old homestead 
until it ranks as one of the best farms of 
Miami County. 

The first important office he held was as 
trustee of Union Township, to which he 
was elected in 1900. He served four years 
and two months, and later was township as- 
sessor. He and his family are Baptists, 
and he is affiliated with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of 
the Maccabees. 

In 1882. in Union Township, Mr. Knauff 
married Bosanna Deeds. Her father, 
George Deeds, and her uncle, William 
Deeds, at one time owned the land upon 
which the Village of Deedsville is located, 
that name commemorating the family. Mr. 
and Mi-s. Knauff have five children -. Harry 
E., Charles R., Elsie, Henry Ray and Flo- 
rence M. 

J. George Mueller is one of Indian- 
apolis' most successful merchants. He has 
been successively pharmacist, druggist, and 
wholesale drug merchant for over thirty 
years, and the success, the wide scope and 
standing of the Mooney-Mueller-Ward 



Company is eloquent testimony to his abil- 
ity and judgment. 

Mr. Mueller was born in Indianapolis 
June 21, 1860, son of Charles G. and Mar- 
gareta Mueller. His father, who was born 
in Coburg, Saxony, spent his youth in his 
native land, but became restive under the 
cramped conditions and the military sys- 
tem prevailing there, and emigrating to 
America landed at Baltimore in 1854. For 
a time he lived in Connersville, Indiana, 
and from there came to Indianapolis. By 
trade he was a cloth maker. At Conners- 
ville he was employed in the woolen mills, 
and on coming to Indianapolis engaged in 
the retail grocery business. One of his first 
stores was on what was then known as the 
National Road, now East Washington 
Street. He was an active business man 
until the latter years of his life, when he 
was practically an invalid. He died in 
1883. He and his wife were married in 
Germany, and the.y had fourteen children, 
six of whom died before the birth of J. 
George. Those still living are : Mrs. Anna 
Hotze, of Indianapolis ; Mrs. Otto Wagner ; 
Emil A., of Indianapolis; J. George; Fer- 
dinand A. ; and Rudolph M. The mother, 
who died in 1909, lived for many years 
with her daughter Mrs. Hotze. 

From the common schools J. George 
Mueller at the age of thirteen went to work 
in the drug store of L. H. Mueller as an 
errand boy and helper. Thus as a boy he 
gained the experience and laid the founda- 
tion of the business which has brought him 
so much success. In 1881 he entered the 
Cincinnati College of Pharmacy, graduat- 
ing with honors in 1883 and with the de- 
gree Ph. G. He received the gold medal 
for highest efficiency in his work, and also 
had honors for his work in materia medica 
and in botany. During his senior year he 
was given the responsibilities of quiz 
master. 

From college he went back to the Mueller 
drug store, and in 1887 bought out the busi- 
ness, located at Washington and East 
Street. He continued there as a retail 
druggist until January 1, 1891. 

At that date Mr. Mueller assisted in or- 
ganizing the Indianapolis Drug Company, 
and thus laid the foundation for the whole- 
sale business. His associates in that enter- 
prise were John R. Miller, deceased, and 
Dr. Herman Pink, who retired from active 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1993 



life in 1908. Mr. Miller was secretary and 
treasurer of the companj-. In 1902 it was 
succeeded b.y the Mooney-Mueller Drug 
Company, Incorporated, of which Mr. 
Mueller has since been secretary and treas- 
urer. On November 2, 1915, this company 
was consolidated with the "Ward Brothers 
Drug Company of Indianapolis under the 
corporate name of Mooney-Mueller-Ward 
Company. To this flourishing and growing 
business, with trade connections over all 
the railroad lines extending out through 
Indiana and to ad.iaeent states, Mr. ^Mueller 
has for years concentrated his abilities and 
energies. 

As a business man he has also been in- 
terested in the Indianapolis Chamber of 
Commerce and has served as a director. 
He has been on a number of important 
committees and is now a member of the 
Wholesale Trade and Good Roads commit- 
tees. Fraternally he is aiSIiated with Pen- 
talpha Lodge of Masons, the Royal Arch 
Masons, the Knights Templar and the 
Mystic Shrine. 

October 17, 1888, he married Miss Julia 
W. SchnuU, daughter of Henry and Ma- 
thilda (Schramm) Schnull, the latter now 
deceased. The father is founder of 
Schnull & Company, the well known whole- 
sale grocers of Indianapolis. Mrs. Mueller 
is active socially and in church afl'airs, and 
has given much of her time in the past 
year to various departments of wav work. 
They have a son and daughter, Clemens 0. 
and Norma J. The son, born in 1889, is 
buyer for his father's wholesale drug house. 
He married Zuleme Kinney. The daughter 
is talented in music and is identified with 
several vocal organizations in Indianapolis. 

John William Bailey was born near 
Scottsburg, Indiana, a son of the Rev. 
James P. and Virginia Caroline Bailey. 
The father was a minister in various places 
in Southern Indiana and the mother was 
a daughter of a Baptist minister. After 
a thoronsrh training in Franklin College 
and the University of Chicago John Wil- 
liam Bailey entered the Baptist ministrv. 
and has filled pastorates at Fairbury, Illi- 
nois, O.shkosh, Wisconsin, and Bella, Iowa, 
was professor of Biblical Literature in Cen- 
tral College, later president of Central Col- 
lege, and was extension instructor in the 
University of Chicago. He has served on 
various important committees of the Iowa 



Baptist Convention for several years, and 
was chairman of the committee on reorgan- 
izations. 

Reverend Bailey married Celestine Wood, 
and they have four children, Harold Wood, 
Ernest Richard, Margaret Ruth, and John 
William. 

Michael W. Stacb is junior partner in 
the firm of Staub Brothers, one of the lead- 
ing establishments around the Public 
Square of Anderson, and they were first in 
business as tobacconists. The partnership 
comprises Joseph P. and Michael W. Staub. 

Both were born at Metamora, Indiana, 
Joseph on December 23, 1877, and Michael 
on April 18, 1879. They are sons of 
Joseph P. and Frances (Kuntz) Staub. 
The father came from Alsace-Lorraine, 
Germany, when about nineteen years of 
age, spent one year in New York, and com- 
ins to Indiana spent one year in Brookville, 
and was later at Metamore. He was a shoe- 
maker by trade, and by constant industry 
and careful thrift managed to provide for 
his familv and rear them to lives of useful- 
ness. He died April 27, 1916. 

The StHub brothers received their edu- 
cation at Metamora and at Brookville, and 
Michael attended the Oak Forest Academy 
at Brookville for about two years. In Feb- 
ruary, 1900, at the age of twenty-one, he 
came to Anderson, and his first employment 
here was in the file works as a file tester. 
At the beginning he was paid $1 a day, and 
he remained with the establishment two 
years. He then went to the Ames Shovel 
and Tool Factory at North Anderson, and 
was one of the welders in that plant for 
three years, commanding good wages and 
thriftily saving it with a view to an inde- 
pendent bn:^iness of his own. 

In 1905 ]\lr. Staub married Josephine 
^IcNamara, daughter of James and Eliza- 
beth (Armstrong) McNamarjf. They have 
two children : Joseph M., born in 1909, and 
Mildred :Mary, born in 1912. 

After his marriage Mr. Staub entered 
the grocery business at Twenty-first and 
Main Street in Anderson, and conducted 
one of the good stores in that section of 
the city for six years. He then sold out, 
and on April 2, 1911, took his place as a 
clerk in the store of which he is now one 
of the proprietors. He was employed by 
Harry Faulkner until February, 1912, 
when he bought out the business and con- 



1994 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



tinned it under the name M. "W. Staub un- 
til the following April, when his brother 
came into tlie partnership. 

Michael Stanb is also a stockholder in 
the France Film Company of New York. 
He is a democrat in politics, and he and 
his family worship in St. Mary's Catholic 
Church. 

Thomas Hiatt is the present sheriff of 
Delaware County and member of a family 
that has been identified with that section 
of Indiana since pioneer days. 

The Hiatt family was established in 
Henry County, Indiana, more than eighty 
years ago. Solomon Hiatt, father of Sheriff 
Hiatt, was born in Henry County Decem- 
ber 20, 1833, son of John and Charity 
Hiatt. When a boy Solomon worked with 
his father in clearing and improving a 
homestead, and later engaged in farming 
on his own account. Soon after his mar- 
riage he bought land in Delaware County 
and resided here for half a century. His 
homestead was eleven miles northwest of 
Muncie, and he was in the county before a 
single railroad had been built and when 
all transportation was over the country 
highways. His first purchase of land was 
forty acres, but later he acquired another 
tract of 110 acres, and developed a fine 
homestead, on which he lived until his 
death June 17, 1906. He served eight years 
as justice of the peace, and was a man 
noted for his integrity of character and 
strict honesty, so that he entertained the 
good will of his neighbors and their respect 
as well. He began voting as a whig but 
cast his ballot for John C. Fremont in 1856, 
and from that time was a steadfast repub- 
lican. For thirty-nine years he was affili- 
ated with the Masonic Lodge at Alexandria. 
On November 10, 1856, Solomon Hiatt mar- 
ried Elizabeth McCollester, who was born 
in Delawar? County October 13, 1839, and 
died on the home farm June 31, 1906, only 
two weeks after her husband. She had 
united with the Christian Church at the 
age of seventeen and was always one of its 
faithful and sustaining members. To their 
marriage were born eleven children, and 
when the parents passed away five sons and 
two daughters survived them, and twenty- 
eieht grandchildren and four great-grand- 
children. 

Fourth among the children was Thomas 



Hiatt, who was born in Delaware County 
Januarj^ 28, 1863. He was educated in the 
common schools, and during the greater 
part of his active life for thirty years has 
upheld a worthy role in the farming com- 
munity where he was reared. Mr. Hiatt 
has always been a forceful exponent of the 
principles of the republican party, and 
he was elected to his present office as sheriff 
on that ticket. In 1918 he was re-elected 
to his present office as sheriff of Delaware 
County. 

On February 2, 1886, at Muncie, he mar- 
ried Miss Effie J. Collins. They have five 
children, Frances, Cleo, Kenton, Mabel and 
Nellie. Kenton is now in France in service 
with the United States Army. All the 
children have been given the advantages of 
the public schools. 

W. A. McIlvaine. The service by which 
he is esteemed as a resident of Muncie I\Ir. 
McIlvaine has rendered as a very capable 
police officer, and for over a Quarter of a 
century has been identified with the police 
department of that city, and is now its chief 
or superintendent. 

He was born February 14, 1852, at 
Zanesville, Ohio. Both his father and 
mother's people were of Irish stock and 
ancestry. Grandfather McIlvaine was 
born in Ireland, where he died. John Mc- 
Ilvaine, father of Chief McIlvaine, was a 
farmer. His wife Demaries Wilson, was a 
native of Indiana. Of their six chilrlren 
only two are now living. W. A. McIl- 
vaine 's sister resides in Columbus, Ohio. 
Superintendent McIlvaine was educated in 
the common schools of Zanesville. He has 
always been a worker and began earning 
his own living as a coal miner in the mines 
of Muskingum County. He spent four nr 
five years in this occupation, and from 1878 
to 1892 was a puddler in a rolling mill at 
Zanesville. 

From Zanesville Mr. McIlvaine came to 
Muncie and on March 28, 1892, was ap- 
pointed a member of its police force. In 
1893 he became a patrolman, and in 1894 
was promoted to captain of police. After 
four years in that office he became city 
superintendent of police. He has always 
been a stanch democrat and is affiliated, 
with the Fraternal Order of Eagles. Feb- 
ruary 3, 1869, he married Miss Rosa Berry. 
Three children were born to their marriage 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1995 



but all of them are now deceased. August 
3, 1919, Mr. and ]\Irs. Mellvaine celebrated 
their fiftieth wedding anniversary. 

Claude Fifee, of the Hogue-Fifer Sales 
Company, handling the distribution of the 
]\Iaxwell Motor Companj- cars at Anderson 
and vicinity, is regarded among his asso- 
ciates as a genius in the automobile busi- 
ness both in the technical side and as a 
salesman. From the time the first car was 
run through the streets of Anderson Mr. 
Fifer has had a fascination for automobiles. 
His skill was so great that it finally caused 
him to buy a second-hand car, and from 
that the transition into the automoTjile busi- 
ness was easy and rapid. 

He was born at Anderson in 1884, a son 
of William and Mary (Vineyard) Fifer, of 
that city. He attended the grammar school 
as a boy, spent two years in the Lincoln 
High School, and when only sixteen years 
old he put in four weeks of work in a local 
blacksmith shop. The five years after he 
left school were spent as clerk in the book- 
store of A. L. Stone. From there he en- 
tered the employ of the Sefton Manufactur- 
ing Company in their Anderson plant, and 
was with the factory for three years, most 
of the time operating a crosscut saw. From 
that factory he entered the service of Rail- 
ings & Company in the Banner store as a 
general utility man. He put in eleven 
years with this company and was finally 
put in complete charge of the carpet de- 
partment as a buyer. 

Mr. Fifer has always been naturally 
inclined toward things mechanical, and 
while he was working for the furniture 
store he managed to bm- an old Buiek 
Model No. 10 ear. About the first thing 
he did was to dismantle the machinen' and 
then reassemble and rebuild it throughout, 
adding a touch here and there which made 
the car when he got through with it better 
than ever. Knowing the inner mechanism 
of a car was a start which finally propelled 
him out of the carpet business and into 
active salesmanship in the automobile in- 
dustry. His first position was as a sales- 
man for used and new cars for the Lam- 
bert-Weir Sales Company, at that time dis- 
tributors of the Oakland cars in JIadison 
and Delaware counties. He was with them 
four months, and was then offered a better 
place with the Hill-Stage Company, dis- 
, tributors of the Willys-Overland, Knight 



and Cadillac cars. With this firm he re- 
mained a year, and his successful record 
there justified him in taking up a business 
of his own. On March 1, 1917, he became 
a partner with Mr. J. L. Hogue, and they 
established the Hogue-Fifer Company, and 
now handle the exclusive selling agency for 
the Maxwell cars in Anderson and the sur- 
rounding townships of Stony Creek, Jack- 
son, Union, Labette, Adams, Fall Creek 
and Green. The company has a model dis- 
play room at 1225 Meridian Street, the 
room extending back an entire block. 

In 1905 Mr. Fifer married Jliss Bertha 
Ickes, daughter of William F. and Arvilla 
(Noel) Ickes, of Anderson. Three children 
have been born to their marriage : William 
Max, Dorothy, and Daniel LeRoy. 

Mr. Fifer has accomplished an enviable 
business success through the avenue of 
hard work and keen and alert intelligence, 
always on the lookout for opportunity. He 
is one of the highly respected citizens of 
Anderson, a member of the First Methodist 
Episcopal Church, belongs to the Travelers 
Protective Association and in politics is a 
republican. 

William Scott first visited Indianapolis 
in 1870, and during the next twenty years 
built up a large produce and commission 
business, but for over a quarter of a cen- 
tury has been an important factor in the 
wholesale drug house of Daniel Stewart 
Company, of which he was president until 
October 1, 1915, when that concern and the 
A. Kiefer Company consolidated. He has 
been president of Kiefer Stewart Company 
since that time. 

The career of Mr. Scott is one that re- 
fleets credit upon his individual talents and 
industry and upon the worthy heritage he 
received from his parents. He was born 
in County Donegal, Ireland, April 6, 1850, 
son of Rev. William and Charlotte (Craw- 
ford) Scott. He is of Irish Presbyterian 
stock. His father was a clergyman of the 
Presbyterian Church and a man of fine 
intellectual attainments and a classical 
scholar. Mr. Scott himself acquired a lib- 
eral education, being classically trained at 
Londonderry, Ireland. In April, 1868, at 
the age of eighteen, he came to America, 
pnd locating at Philadelphia found his 
finst opportunity with Stuart & Brothers, 
importers and wholesale dealers in drv 
goods. Later for two j'ears he was with 



1996 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Samuel Macky & Company, general pro- 
duce and commission merchants of Phila- 
delphia. In the interests of this firm he 
traveled in different parts of the central 
west, and several times visited Indianapolis. 
In this city, through an acquaintance 
formed with Col. Samuel F. Gray, agent of 
the Union Line, he set in motion negotia- 
tions which in June, 1871, resulted in Sam- 
uel Maeky & Company establishing a 
branch house at Indianapolis with Mr. 
Scott in charge. After a few months he 
acquired individual control of the business, 
and William Scott & Company, which con- 
tinued until 1890, was one of the chief 
houses of its kind in the city. 

In 1890 Mr. Scott abandoned the com- 
mission business to become associated with 
the late Daniel Stewart, one of whose 
daughters he had married. Daniel Stewart 
was founder of the wholesale drug business 
above mentioned. After the death of Mr. 
Stewart in February, 1892, Mr. Scott and 
John N. Carey, another son-in-law of Mr. 
Stewart, with their wives united in the 
organization of the Daniel Stewart Com- 
pany. October 1, 1908, Mr. Carey with- 
drew from the drug business to the control 
of the glass department of the company, 
and in the reorganization which followed 
Mr. Scott became president of the Daniel 
Stewart Company, Incorporated. It was 
one of the oldest and largest wholesale drug 
houses of Indiana and the business has 
been greatly prospered, reflecting the sound 
commercial sense of its founder and the 
energetic administration of those who have 
had its fortunes in charge during the past 
twenty-five years. 

Mr. Scott 's business career has been con- 
temporaneous with the larger growth and 
development of Indianapolis as a citv. The 
broader and bigger interests of the city 
have always exercised a strong hold upon 
his imagination and his sympathies, and in 
many ways his own efforts are reflected in 
the larger growth. He has been a member 
of the Board of Governors of the Board of 
Trade since its reorganization in 1882, 
being the only member whose service has 
been continuous. He was elected vice presi- 
dent in 1887 and in 1888 president of the 
Board of Trade. In 1891 he was elected 
a member of the Board of School Commis- 
sioners, and served continuously with that 
body until 1900, being president in 1896-97. 
Mr.' Scott is a republican, has been affiliated 



with the Masonic Order since he was twen- 
ty-one and is a thirty-second degree Scot- 
tish Rite ilason. He and his wife are mem- 
bers of the Second Presbyterian Church. 

March 29, 1880, Mr. Scott married Miss 
Martha Stewart. They are the parents of 
one daughter, Charlotte, who is married to 
George Barret Moxley, vice president and 
general manager of Kiefer Stewart Com- 
pany. 

Daniel Stewart, father of Mrs. Scott, was 
born at Greensburg, Indiana, February 3, 
1824, and died at Indianapolis February 
25, 1892. He was of Scotch ancestry and 
a colonial American in "descent. His 
mother was a Hendricks, of the family 
which has given Indiana two of its most 
honored names. Daniel Stewart was edu- 
cated in pioneer schools, and as a youth 
took up the drug business, which he fol- 
lowed uninterruptedly except for a brief 
time when he was a daguerreotype artist. 
He came to Indianapolis in 1863, and with 
two other associates established a whole- 
sale and retail drug house at 40 East Wash- 
ington Street.- The business grew and ex- 
panded, and after 1883 was conducted 
under Mr. Stewart's individual name. In 
1890 Daniel Stewart was chosen president 
of the National Wholesale Druggists As- 
sociation. One of the local newspapers said 
editorially of him: "Mr. Stewart was 
recognized as a generous, considerate em- 
ployer — one who recognized the value of 
service done for him and who returned its 
equivalent. He was charitable, and his 
long buNsiness career, extending over half 
a century, was marked by honorable deal- 
ings. His devotion to his business no doubt 
impaired his health and superinduced the 
attack that resulted in his death." He 
never sought public office, was a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, a promi- 
nent Mason and was identified with various 
civic organizations in Indianapolis. He 
married, May 18, 1858, Miss Martha Tark- 
ington, daughter of Rev. Joseph Tarking- 
ton of Greensburg. Their children were 
two daughters, Mary, wifei of John N. 
Carey, and Martha, wife of William Scott. 

Samuel Gillette Phillips. A business 
man and banker, Samuel Gillette Phillips 
has been identified with Alexandria for 
more than a quarter of a century. He 
grew up in the atmosphere of a country 
merchandise store, traveled on the road 



• INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1997 



over Indiana for a number of years, and 
is well acquainted with the state and its 
people. Mr. Phillips for twenty years has 
been president of the Alexandria Bank. 

He was born on a farm a mile from 
Bloomingsport in Randolph County, In- 
diana, September 9, 1857, son of Ancil B. 
and Elizabeth Ann (Adamson) Phillips. 
His birthplace was a log house which had 
been built by his grandfather, Thomas 
Phillips, while clearing a tract of wild land 
in Randolph County. ^Ir. Phillips is of 
English and Welsh ancestry. Four genera- 
tions of the Phillips have lived in America. 
Their first point of settlement was New 
Jersey. From there they moved to Ohio, 
where Grandfather Thomas Phillips was 
bound out to a family named HayneB. 
After growing up he married in Ohio Re- 
becca Hammon and they went to Indiana 
and were pioneers of Randolph Count 
They reared a family of seven children 
the youngest being Ancil B. The latter 
for many years was a country merchant at 
Bloomingsport, but in 1887 removed to 
Muncie and continued in the grocery busi- 
ness there until 1912, since which time he 
has been retired. His wife died in 1914. 

Samuel G. Phillips secured his early edu- 
cation in the public schools at Bloomings- 
port. He remained there to the age of 
twenty and gained a general knowledge 
of business by work in his father's store. 
On leaving the store he went to Indian- 
apolis, and for six years was connected with 
Syfers, McBride & Company, a wholesale 
grocery house covering eastern and central 
Indiana. For three years Mr. Phillips was 
a member of the firm Phillips, Davis & 
Company, merchandise brokers of Indian- 
apolis. Selling his interests there, he went 
on the road for three years traveling over 
Central Indiana and representing the 
wholesale clothing house of Heidelbach, 
Friedlander & Company of Cincinnati. 

Mr. Phillips has been identified with 
Alexandria since 1892. His first work here 
was assistant cashier of the Alexandria 
Bank, the president of which was A. E. 
Harlan. This bank was reorganized in 
1895 as the Alexandria National Bank, and 
for two years Mr. Phillips was assistant 
cashier. In 1897 he was promoted to cash- 
ier, and in 1898 the national charter was 
surrendered, the business liquidated, and 
was succeeded by a private banking organi- 
zation which took the old name of the Alex- 



andria Bank. Since that date, a period 
of twenty years, Mr. Phillips has been 
president and active head of the business 
and has made it one of the substantial 
banking houses of Madison County. Mr. 
Phillips is also interested in other lines, 
owns a farm, and is a director and stock- 
holder of the Alexandria Preserving Com- 
pany, a local industry making a specialty of 
tomatoes for canning. 

In 1888, at Alexandria, Mr. Phillips mar- 
ried Etta Hanikh, daughter of Robert H. 
and Caroline (Scott) Hannah. Her father 
was a merchant. Mr. and Mrs. Phillips 
have two sons. Robert Beach is now man- 
aging editor of the Gary Evening Post at 
Gary, Indiana. He married Naomi Harris, 
daughter of Judge Harris of Sullivan, In- 
diana, and they have one child, Robert 
Harris Phillips. The second son of Mr. 
Phillips is William Thomas Phillips, who 
was horn in 1901 and is still in school. 

Mr. Phillips is affiliated with Alexandria 
Lodge of Masons, Free and Accepted 
Masons, Alexandria Chapter No. 99, Royal 
Arch Masons, Alexandria Council No 85, 
fioyal and Select Masters, with Necessity 
Lodge No. 222 of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, Alexandria Lodge No. 335, 
Knights of Pythias, which he served as 
treasurer many years, and Alexandria 
Lodge No. 478, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. He has served as treasurer 
of the Alexandria Business Men's Associa- 
tion. Well known at Indianapolis, Mr. 
Phillips is a member of the Indianapolis 
Board of Trade and was one of the charter 
members of the Columbia Club of that city 
and of the Commercial Travelers Associa- 
tion of that city. In politics he votes as a 
republican, and served one term as town 
councilman. He is a member of the Meth- 
odist Church. 

Charles Leon Libby. One of the im- 
portant institutions contributing to this 
special new character of Indianapolis as a 
city is the International Machine Tool 
Company, of which Charles Leon Libby is 
vice president and general superintendent. 
Mr. Libbv is a man of note among Ameri- 
can mechanical engineers, has invented and 
designed many types of machinery, and is 
known nationally and internationally as de- 
signer of the Libby Turret Lathe. 

Mr. Libby was born in Aroostook County, 
Maine, in 1861, a son of Simon and Frances 



1998 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



(Caswell) Libby. The Libby family has 
been in America for a number of genera- 
tions, has produced other distinguished 
men, and many of the family associations 
linger around the old home center at Gray, 
Maine, twelve miles from Portland. 

For all his respectable and even promi- 
nent family associations, Charles L. Libby 
represents a type of keen and aggressive 
American who achieves his own destiny. 
When he was four years old his father died. 
His father had been a locomotive engineer 
with the Grand Trunk Railway. The head 
of the family being removed, Charles L. 
Libby had to get most of his education 
largely in the intervals of productive em- 
ployment. As a bojr he worked on a farm, 
but was most congenially employed while 
learning the machinist's trade in a shop. 
From the time he was ten and a half years 
old he supported himself, and later paid 
his own way through college. His appren- 
ticeship as a machinist was served in the 
works of the New Haven Manufacturing 
Company at New Haven, Connecticut. 
Later he was employed as a machinist and 
tool maker bj^ the Forbes & Curtis Manu- 
facturing Company at Bridgeport, Con- 
necticut. He was also a machinist and tool 
maker in the plant of the Bridgeport Ma- 
chine Tool Company. 

The practical training he had received in 
mechanical industries he supplemented 
when he entered in 1881 the Maine State 
College as a student of mechanical engi- 
neering. He received his degree Mechani- 
cal Engineer from that institution in 1884. 
He then resumed employment with the 
Bridgeport ]\Iachine Tool Company, at first 
as a machinist and later as draftsman, de- 
signer and superintendent, his position in- 
volving not only technical duties but the 
executive responsibility of supervising a 
large force of men. He was with the 
Bridgeport Machine Tool Company eleven 
years. In 1895 he became general super- 
intendent of the Pacific Iron Works at 
Bridgeport. 

In 1898 Mr. Libby accepted an oppor- 
tunity to go to Berlin, Germany, to take 
charge as general superintendent of the 
machine tool department of the Ludwig- 
Loewe Company. This company had a 
plant famed in engineering circles for its 
splendid buildings and equipment, its 
modern conveniences from an industrial 
standpoint, and its complete and modern 



equipment of machinery. The department 
supervised by Mr. Libby in this concern 
covered eleven acres of floor space, and he 
had under him a force of thirty draftsmen 
and thirty-eight pattern makers. His ex- 
perience at the German capital and at 
almost the heart of the German industrial 
system gave Mr. Libby a close view of that 
enemy country such as few Americans pos- 
sess. He was abroad four years, and on 
returning to America in 1902 entered the 
service of the Gisholt Machine Company 
at Madison, Wisconsin, as a specialist and 
designer. While there he put on the mar- 
ket a number of new machine tools for the 
company. 

Mr. Libby has been a resident of Indian- 
apolis since October, 1906. Here in com- 
pany with Mr. Arthur Jordan, Mr. 0. B. 
lies and Mr. W. K. Jlilholland he founded 
the International Machine Tool Company, 
of which he is vice president and general 
manager, head of the production and en- 
gineering departments. Mr. Jordan is 
president of the company, Mr. lies, treas- 
urer and manager, and T. P. Dickinson, sec- 
retary. The company has a large and 
modern plant occupying a ten-acre tract on 
Twenty-first Street and the Belt Railway. 
The main building is a two-story structure 
of steel, concrete and brick, 350 feet long 
by 100 feet wide, and in its construction 
Mr. Libby undoubtedly utilized many of 
the ideas of his long experience both in this 
country and abroad. There is probably no 
factory building anywhere that has so ideal 
a lighting system. The lighting is almost 
entirely sunlight, and the arrangement of 
windows is such that it is practically im- 
possible for a workman to get in his own 
light. The elimination of shadows obvi- 
ously means increased efficiency and safety. 
Many other ideas have been carefully 
worked out to conserve time, labor and ex- 
pense. The company employs from 200 to 
250 highly skilled mechanics, and many of 
them have been with the plant ever since 
it was established twelve years ago. 

The output of the company is an im- 
portant line of machine tools. Machine 
tool is itself a comparatively new term. 
It refers not to ordinary tools such as 
mechanics use, but a complete and often 
intricate machine, working in iron or steel, 
and with all its processes mechanically 
gauged to the accuracy of a ten thousandth 
part of an inch. JIachine tools comprise 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



such machinery as planers, engine lathes, 
drill presses and milling machines. Some- 
thing of the meaning of machine tool and 
the special lines of manufacture of the In- 
ternational Machine Tool Company of In- 
dianapolis were interestingly described in 
a newspaper interview some time recently 
by Mr. lies, treasurer of the company. Mr. 
lies said in part: 

"Comparatively few people know the 
really important part the machine tool 
plays in the great industrial war machine 
that is producing munitions and war sup- 
plies on such a ma.ior scale. Few people 
know for instance that th^ Libby heavy tur- 
ret lathe, manufactured at our plant, is 
doing great service in the production of 
munitions in the cause of our countrj^ and 
other allied nations. About .$500,000 worth 
of these machines were exported to Eng- 
land in 1915 for the manufacture of high 
explosive shells. It is used in automobile 
and truck shops for machining fly-wheels, 
gears, differentials, housings, brake-drums 
and wheel hubs ; it is used in aeroplane 
plants for machining cylinders, gears, hous- 
ings and propeller hubs; in ammunition 
plants for making shells, the machine being 
used ' for boring, facing and forming the 
nose of the shell. Electric motor and gen- 
erator companies find use for the Libby 
heavy turret lathe in machining their vari- 
ous parts where heavy and exacting work 
is required. The lathe can be found in 
many modern railroad shops in the United 
States and Europe. 

"The Libby lathe gets its name from its 
designer, Charles L. Libby, head of the pro- 
duction and engineering department of the 
International Machine Tool Company. The 
company does considerable enginering 
work, being eauinDcd to take blue prints or 
samples of work, make an estimate of the 
time reauired to produce the work on 
Libby lathes and design the necessary cut- 
ting and forming tools and holding fix- 
tures." Further Mr. lies gave out the in- 
formation that the International ]Machine 
Tool Company had filled orders for these 
Libbv lathes in South Africa, Australia, 
.Japan, Russia, Italy, France, England, 
Spain. China and Belgium. 

Mr. Libby married Miss Catherine Kurtz, 
who was born in the famous Shenandoah 
Valley but over the line in Pennsylvania. 
They are the parents of eight children: 



;\Iiss Gale, William, Fred, Millard, Ruth, 
George, Catherine and Margerita. 

Henry L. Bolley, educator and author, 
was born in Dearborn County, Indiana, 
Februarj' 1, 1865. He completed his earlj' 
educational training in Purdue Univei-sity, 
and since the fall of 1890 has been con- 
nected with the North Dakota Agricultural 
College and Experiment Station. He has 
served the United States Department of 
Agriculture as agricultural explorer and 
field agent in Russia, Holland, and Bel- 
gium in the interests of flax investigations, 
and since July. 1909, has been state seed 
commissioner of North Dakota. 

Professor Bollev married Miss Frances 
Sheldon on the 26th of September, 1896. 

William Schuyler Mercer. There has 
been a member of the Mercer family in 
Peru more than three quarters of a century, 
and during this long term the name has 
become associated with all those qualities 
of sturdy enterprise and useful citizenship 
which are the best badges of honor in any 
community. 

The family was founded here by Moses 
Mercer, a native of Licking County, Ohio. 
He grew up in Ohio, learned the cooper's 
trade and came when a young man in 1842 
to Miami County. He had previously fol- 
lowed his trade in the City of Wabash, 
and continued it at Peru, and also had em- 
ployment as a carpenter. For a number of 
years he was in the woodworking depart- 
ment of the old Indianapolis. Peru and Chi- 
cago Railway, now the Lake Erie and Wp«' 
ern Division of the New York Central lines. 
Still later Moses Mercer was identified with 
the Indiana Manufacturing Company. He 
died honored and respected in 1899. His 
wife, who died in 1886, was Ann J. Long, 
daughter of Peter Long, who was a pioneer 
settler of Logansport. Moses fiercer and 
wife were two of the original thirteen who 
rrganizod the first Baptist Church of Peru. 
Their names are perpetuated on the first 
roll of member.ship, and that church is now 
one of the largest and most influential re- 
ligious organizations in the Wabash Val- 
ley. Moses ]\lercer was also one of the or- 
ganizers and a charter member of ]\Iiami 
Lodge No. 42, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons at Peru. In politics he voted as a 
whig and was one of the first voters in the 



2000 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ranks of the republican party. He and 
his wife had five children ; Ado J., May, 
William S., Georgia and Emmett. 

William Schuyler Mercer was born at 
Peru February 3, 1861, and that city has 
alwajs been his home with the exception of 
one year spent in Chicago. He attended 
the public schools, but at the age of four- 
teen, in 1875, began work as clerk in the 
store of Killgore, Shirk & Company. He 
was with that old and substantial firm 
twelve years. In 1887 he used his modest 
capital and experience to enter the grain 
business with J. A. Neal, under the name 
fiercer & Neal. This was continued until 
the spring of 1898, after which for a year 
Mr. Mercer was in the grain business at 
Chicago. On i-eturning to Peru he bought 
a bakery and restaurant, and since that 
time for nearly twenty years he has given 
most of his study and his energy to the 
task of furnishing pure and wholesome 
food supplies. In 1907 he divided his busi- 
ness, erecting a modern bakery plant and 
organizing the firm of Mei'cer & Company, 
with his son-in-law, Hazen P. Sidlivan, as 
his partner. The restaurant business was 
sold in 1911, but the company soon after- 
ward took on a new line of enterprise when 
they bought the Sanitary Milk Company. 
In February, 1912, they bought an ice 
cream factory, rebuilt it and thoroughly 
modernized it, and this branch of manu- 
facture and distribution of milk products is 
now conducted as the Sanitary Milk and 
Ice Cream Company. 

Mr. Mercer is not only a very popular 
business man but a citizen who commands 
the esteem and confidence of the people 
beyond all partisan lines. This was well 
exemplified in the political campaign of 
1914. He has always been a steadfast and 
sterling republican. In 1914 Miami County 
went democratic by 1,500 votes, the republi- 
can party being split up into factions so 
that the ticket went to defeat. But in spite 
of that ^Ir. Mercer was elected to the State 
Senate by 208 votes. He was one of the 
capable men in the State Senate during the 
following session. Aside from this his only 
other important public service was as a 
member of the Pern School Board about 
twenty years ago. While he was on the 
board one of the fine ward schools of Peru 
was erected. ^Ir. Mercer is a ]\Iason and 
he and his wife are members of the Baptist 
Church. December 29, 1881, he married 



Miss Sarah E. Fisher, of Mexico, Indiana, 
daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Brower) Fisher. They have one daugh- 
ter, Vernice E., wife of Hazen P. Sullivan. 

Albert Janert is one of the oldest mer- 
chants in Indianapolis engaged in the 
wholesale meat business. For many years 
his location has been 1445 Union Street, 
where he has built up a large enterprise 
chiefly in handling wholesale sausage, 
smoked meats and boiled hams. 

Mr. Janert was born in the Province of 
Posen, Germanj% April 7, 1865, son of 
Julius and Matilda (Fitte) Janert. The 
parents spent all their lives in Germany. 
Julius Janert was a game warden. Albert 
attended school in his native province up 
to the age of fourteen, after which he 
served a three years apprenticeship at the 
butcher's trade. As was the custom, he 
had to pay for the privilege of learning the 
trade. At the end of three years he passed 
his examination and secured a license which 
would now be equivalent to a union card. 
The next two years he spent as a master 
workman in some of the larger towns of 
Germany, and then came to the United 
States, landing at New York and being em- 
ployed in that city for a time. After that 
he came to Indianapolis to join his two 
brothers, William and Herman, who had 
preceded him. These brothers are now in 
Alaska. Mr. Albert Janert worked in In- 
dianapolis for various employers, including 
Peter Sindlinger and Fred Boertcher. Fol- 
lowing that he spent some time in the south- 
west, Oklahoma and Texas, and worked at 
his trade a few months in Dallas. Eeturn- 
ing to Indianapolis, Mr. Janert thirty 
years ago engaged in the butcher business 
for himself. His first location was on Meri- 
dian Street, and from there he moved to 
1445 Union, where he has developed a large 
wholesale business, and has taken his .sons 
in with him. 

Mr. Janert married Marv Wurster, 
daughter of Fred Wurster. She is also a 
native of Germ^nv. Her four children are : 
Emma, wife of William Brink, of Indian- 
apolis, Albert, Otto and Herman, all in 
business with their father, Otto being book- 
keeper for the firm. 

Jlr. Albert Janert is well known in fra- 
ternal and social afi'airs being affiliated 
with the Modern Woodmen of America, 
the Knights of Cosmos, the German Butch- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2001 



ers Society, the South Side Turners, of 
which he was one of the first members and 
a stockholder, and belongs to the Hoosier 
Motor Club. 

Harry B. Seaward is general manager 
and superintendent of C. F. Seaward & 
Sons, Incorporated, one of the most pro- 
gressive firms in Indiana handling all 
makes of automobiles, accessories and sup- 
plies, and operating a garage which in 
point of accommodataion and service is un- 
surpassed in the state. The Seawards are 
an old and substantial famil.v of Kokomo 
in Howard County, and have been in busi- 
ness there for many years. 

Harry B. Seaward was bom in that 
county March 6, 1882, son of C. F. and 
Dora (Hassell) Seaward. His father was 
also born in Howard County, and is now 
president and head of the firm C. F. Sea- 
ward & Sons. For a number of years C. F. 
Seaward was engaged in the grain business 
at Galveston, Indiana, and selling his in- 
terests there, accumulated during a period 
of fourteen years, established the present 
automobile business at Kokomo. The loca- 
tion of C. F. Seaward & Sons is on Buck- 
eve Street, on the west side of the Frances 
Hotel. :\Ir. C. F. Seaward built in 1912 
a building perfect in appointment for the 
present business. It occupies a space 66 by 
132 feet, is absolutely fireproof, of concrete 
and steel construction on a solid stone foun- 
dation. The garage furnishes accommoda- 
tions for 150 automobiles, and the company 
handles all accessories and supplies. They 
are Howard County agents for the Chalm- 
ers, Hudson and Chevrolet ears. The busi- 
ness was incorporated in 1915 with C. F. 
Seaward as president. 

Harr.v B. Seaward is the oldest of sisi 
children, five of whom are still living. He 
has been handling many of the responsibili- 
ties of the firm for the past six or seven 
years. In 1901, at Galveston, Indiana, he 
married Miss Minnie Rojetta ^Morris. Mr. 
Seaward is a republican, and is affiliated 
with Galveston Lodge No. 244, Ancient 
Free and Accepted ]Masons. 

Judge Frank Ellis. Honors and dis- 
tinctions in abundance sufficient to satisfy 
the ambitions of any man have come to 
Judge Frank Ellis during his long and 
active career in Delaware County. 

Judge Ellis was born in that county Feb- 



ruary 12, 1842, son of John H. and Phoebe 
(Kirkpatrick) Ellis. Few families possess 
more emphatic evidence of true American- 
ism and patriotic loyalty. The Ellises were 
in America prior to the Revolution. Judge 
Ellis' great-grandfather, Abraham Ellis, 
served in the Revolutionary war under 
Washington. The grandfather, Henry 
Ellis, was a soldier in the War of 1812. 
John H. Ellis, father of Judge Ellis, dis- 
tinguished himself as an officer in the Civil 
war, as will be told in following para- 
graphs, while Judge Frank Ellis was also 
in the war, so that members of four suc- 
cessive generations participated in all the 
great wars of this country with the excep- 
tion of the present European struggle. 

John Harbison Ellis, father of Judge 
Ellis, was born in August, 1817, fourth 
child of Henry and Charity (Harper) 
Ellis. He grew to manhood on his father's 
farm in Greene County, Ohio. As a youth 
he acquired the trade of carpenter and 
joiner. In 1838 he became a resident of 
Delaware Count.y, Indiana, in which local- 
rty his sister, Nancy Ellis Reed, had pre- 
viously located. Here he engaged in busi- 
ness as architect and joiner. He was very 
expert in the construction of the heavy 
wooden work of that time, such as barns 
and bridges. In 1841 he married Phoebe 
Kirkpatrick, daughter of John and Su- 
sanna (Lane) Kirkpatrick. His bride had 
lived in Delaware County since 1834. She 
was six years his junior, having been born 
in 1823. Her grandfather, Robert Lane, 
had a record as a Revolutionary soldier, 
and afterward settled in Clark County, 
Ohio. 

In 1856 the health of John H. Ellis 
became impaired and he removed to Mun- 
cie, county seat of Delaware County. 
There he was engaged in the practice of 
law until the breaking out of the Civil war 
in 1861, when he vigorously took up the 
work of enlisting men for the Union army. 
His own health not being good, he was re- 
jected at .the muster, much to the disap- 
pointment of the men whom he had en- 
listed and who desired that he should be 
one of their officers. 

In 1862, however, he enlisted another full 
company "for three years or during the 
war," and was accepted and mustered in 
as its captain. This was known as Com- 
pany B of the Eighty-Fourth Regiment, In- 
diana Volunteer Infantry, which was mus- 



2002 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



terecl into service September 3, 1862. The 
services of this regiment present an inspir- 
ing page in Civil war annals. Capt. John 
H. Ellis was with his company in faithtiu 
service through all the hardships, priva- 
tions and dangers until his death. On the 
20th of September, 1863, at the battle of 
Chiekamauga, on that memorable Sunday 
afternoon, in an impetuous charge against 
a superior force the division of which his 
company formed a part was repulsed, and 
he was left wounded unto death at the 
most advanced position reached. But the 
sacrifice of his life and that of many of his 
comrades was not in vain, since the histo- 
rian of the battle has declared that but 
for the opportune aid furnished by the 
two brigades of which the Eighty-Fourth 
Indiana was a part the Federal army could 
not have been saved from defeat and rout. 

One of the sergeants of Company B in 
the Eighty-Fourth Regiment in that bloody 
battle of Chiekamauga was Frank Ellis, 
who enlisted as a private in the company 
under his father in 1862. From the post of 
sergeant he was promoted on the death of 
his father to captain of Company B, and 
served in his stead and place during the 
remainder of the war. After Chiekamauga 
he was with his company in its campaign in 
Eastern Tennessee and early in 1864 joined 
Sherman 's army and participated in many 
of the best known battles of the great 
Atlanta campaign. After the fall of At- 
lanta it was with the troops sent in pur- 
suit of Hood, and was in that command 
through the concluding battles of the cam- 
paign, at Franklin and Nashville. Frank 
Ellis with the rest of his regiment was 
mustered out at Nashville June 14, 1865, 
and soon afterward returned home. 

While growing to manhood in Delaware 
County Judge Ellis acquired his education 
in the public schools and under private in- 
struction. He was apprenticed to the 
printer's trade, and worked for two or 
three of the early county newspapers, be- 
coming an expert printer. While he was 
still in the army as captain of Company 
B of the Eighty-fourth Regiment the 
people of Delaware County in 1864 elected 
him to the office of county treasurer. The 
news of his election did not reach him for 
some time and his duties as a soldier were 
such that he could be excused for paying 
no attention to this civic honor. But when 
he returned home in the summer of 1865 



he found the office still waiting for him, 
having been carried on by his predecessor. 
He at once transformed himself from a sol- 
dier into a county official, and served out 
the time until 1866. In that year he was 
renominated on the republican ticket and 
elected for a succeeding term. 

For several years after that Judge Ellis 
was a grain and lumber merchant at 
Muncie. As a youth he had picked up con- 
siderable knowledge of the law, and finally 
settled down to a serious study of the pro- 
fession and was admitted to the bar. He 
has beeji a member of the Muncie bar for 
forty years. For twenty years from 1883 
he was in partnei"ship with John T. Walter- 
house. 

Many political honors have come to 
Judge Ellis. He was a member of the 
Muncie City Council, served four succes- 
sive terms as mayor, was for two terms 
city attorney, served as United States com- 
missioner, and in 1910 was elected judge of 
the Forty-Sixth Judicial Circuit. He was 
on the bench for one term, and since re- 
tiring has resumed the active practice of 
law. 

Judge Frank Ellis has been loyal to the 
principles of the republican party all his 
life. He is affiliated with the Masonic 
Lodge, Royal Arch Chapter, Knight Tem- 
plar Commandery, has been a member of 
the Odd Fellows fraternity at Muncie since 
1865 and is affiliated with the Grand Army- 
Post and the Sons of Veterans. Outside of 
his profession he is known as a public spir- 
ited citizen of Delaware County, and one 
who supports all worthy enterprises for the 
good of the community. 

D. C. Jenkins, of Kokomo, president of 
the D. C. Jenkins Glass Company, is a past 
master of the art and industry of glass 
making. He has been in the business more 
than half a century, since early boyhood, 
and there is not a position he has not filled 
some time, and not a single detail of ex- 
perience which he has overlooked. He has 
given to Kokomo one of its chief industries. 

Mr. Jenkins was born at Pittsburg. Penn- 
sylvania, May 24, 1854, son of David and 
Elizabeth (Evans) Jenkins. His parents 
were both natives of Wales. In 1894 David 
Jenkins and wife removed to Kokomo, and 
for nine years he was employed in a factory 
here. He was a man of excellent education, 
and though never given the privilege of at- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2003 



tending school he mastered two languages, 
and was a formidable debater on Bible and 
theological subjects. He spent his last 
years in California and died in Los 
Angeles. Of the eight children five are still 
living, D. C. being the oldest. 

D. C. Jenkins attended public schools in 
Pittsburg a few years, and then went to 
work as a boy helper in the glass factory 
of the McKee Brothers in that city. It was 
fifty-four years ago that he did his first 
work in a glass factory, and there has been 
no important period in his life when he 
has not been a factor in increasing degrees 
of responsibility in this business. He rose 
from the ranks of industrial workers, was 
promoted to a foremanship in the McKee 
Brothers plant, and was with that concern 
until he removed to Findlay, Ohio, in the 
natural gas belt, built a factory, and con- 
tinued it until 1893, when the plant was 
sold to the United States Glass Company, 
the first of the large trusts in this business. 
From Findlay Mr. Jenkins went to Gas 
City, Indiana, superintended the erection 
of a glass plant for the United States Glass 
Company, and was connected with it one 
year. He built a large plant in Greentown, 
and this business was sold to the National 
Glass Company, Pittsburg. Mr. Jenkins 
was chairman of the executive committee 
and general manager for two years of the 
National Glass Company. 

In 1900 he and his two sons came to 
Kokomo and organized the D. C. Jenkins 
Glass Company. This company now has 
an immense plant covering several acres of 
ground, and manufactures a large and va- 
ried line of standard special glass ware, 
including tableware, lantern globes, con- 
tainers of many kinds, fish globes, display 
jars, lamp founts, packers goods, etc. The 
first year the company's business sales 
amounted to $170,000, and at the present 
time more than $800,000 worth of their 
goods are sold and distributed all over the 
TTnited States and Canada. Mr. D. C. Jen- 
kins is president of the company, his son 
Addison is secretary and treasurer, and his 
son Howard is sales manager. The D. C. 
Jenkins Glass Company have established a 
glass plant at Arcadia, Indiana, which has 
been in continuous operation since its or- 
ganization. 

Mr. .Jenkins was one of the organizers of 
River Raisin paper mills in 1910, and was 
the first president and continued in that 



office for six years. The mills are now the 
largest manufacturers of fibre shipping 
boxes in the world. 

Mr. Jenkins is a loyal republican and has 
always been interested in the success of 
his party. He served as a member of the 
Indiana State Senate from 1910 to 1914. 
He is now a member of the State Highway 
Commission of Indiana. Mr. Jenkins is a 
thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, a 
Shriner, an Elk and Eagle, and for a num- 
ber of years was a trustee of Elks Lodge No. 
90. He is also a member of the Columbia 
Club of Indianapolis and the Howard 
County Country Club, of which he is a 
director. January 4, 1876, at Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania, he married Miss Anna Jones. 
Their two sons are Addison and Howard. 

William T. Wilson. Among the men 
of first rate ability who have been attracted 
to the law and have been faithful to its 
best ideals and traditions, one whose name 
is easily associated with the leaders in 
Northern Indiana is William T. Wilson of 
Logansport. ilr. Wilson has been a prac- 
ticing lawyer forty years, and in that time 
has earned and richly deserved practically 
all those honors and successes that are as- 
sociated with the profession, though he has 
not, as so many lawyers do, invaded the 
field of polities. 

Mr. Wilson was bom at Logansport in 
1854, and is the son of one of its pioneer 
merchants and most esteemed citizens, 
Thomas H. Wilson. His father was born 
Jlay 31, 1818, in the Village of Denton, 
Caroline County, Maryland, sixth among 
the ten children of John and Sarah (Hop- 
kins) Wilson. He was of English descent 
on both sides. Thomas H. Wilson at the 
age of eleven years, and upon the death 
of his father, went to live with his uncle 
and guardian, Thomas Hopkins. He 
worked in the Hopkins store and mill and 
gained his business training there. In 1834, 
at the age of sixteen, he became clerk in a 
store at Camden, Delaware. One of his 
employers was Daniel At well, who came 
west and located at Logansport in 1837. 
Along with him came Thomas H. Wilson, 
who was already a young man of much rec- 
ognized force and ability in business af- 
fairs. In 1840 he became identified with 
the mercantile house of Pollard and Wilson. 
In 1843 this firm built a grain warehouse 
on the Wabash and Erie Canal, and were 



2004 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



soon known up and down the Wabash Val- 
ley as leading grain merchants. They also 
handled large quantities of general mer- 
chandise and did a forwarding and commis- 
sion business. In 1853 the firm became 
Wilson, Merriam & Company. Mr. Wilson 
finally retired from the firm, but continued 
privately in the produce trade until 1875. 
In May, 1865, Thomas H. Wilson was 
elected president of the Log.uisport Na- 
tional Bank, one of the oldest national 
banks in the Wabash Valley. He filled that 
office and carefully safeguarded the best in- 
terests of the institution until his death De- 
cember 27, 1877. Politically he began vot- 
ing as a whig, and was identified with the 
republican party from its organization. He 
was reared in the faith of the Friends, but 
was broadly liberal in his support of all 
the religious causes. He is as well remem- 
bered for his generosity, kindliness and 
helpfulness as for the success he gained in 
business affairs. In 1842 Thomas H. Wil- 
son married America Weirick, who died 
three years later. In 1849 Mary A. I. Dex- 
ter became his wife. She died in 1854. In 
1856 he married Elizabeth E. Hopkins, 
who passed away in 1898. Thomas H. 
Wilson had four sons, William T., Elwood 
G., Thomas H. and John Charles. 

William T. Wilson .was a son of his 
father's second marriage. As a boy in 
Logansport he attended the public schools, 
and is a graduate of Princeton University 
with the class of 1874. The following year 
he read law in the office of Hon. D. D. 
Pratt of Logansport, and was admitted to 
the bar. Since 1875 his name has been 
enrolled on the membership of the Cass 
County bar. Mr. Wilson accepted a place 
on the Board of Directors of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Logansport when his father 
died, and has been a director in that insti- 
tution forty years. Many other institutions 
and organizations in Logansport have had 
the benefit of his direct service and influ- 
ence. He is a republican when it comes 
to easting his vote, and he attends the Pres- 
byterian Church. 

In 1880 he married Miss Martha L. Mc- 
Carty, daughter of Joseph P. McCarty of 
Logansport. They had four children, 
Thomas H., who was a lawyer, Elizabeth, 
■wife of Frank H. Worthington, superin- 
tendent of the Vandalia Railroad at Terre 
Haute: Joseph, and Dorothy Dexter Wil- 
son. Of these children only Mrs. Worth- 



ingto'n and Dorothy D. Wilson survive. 
Thomas H. Wilson, Jr., died in 1916, and 
Joseph W. Wilson lies in one of the graves 
in France made by the American Expedi- 
tionary Forces led by General Pershing in 
1918. 

Eugene Blackburn is one of the inter- 
esting citizens of Indianapolis, a resident of 
thirty years standing, and with a record 
of successful achievement in originating, 
establishing, building up and developing 
an industry which is probably the largest 
in its special field in the United States. 

The business today has corporate form 
and title as the International Metal Polish 
Company, owning and operating a large 
plant at Quill Street and the Belt Railway. 
Mr. Blackburn is president of the company. 

He was born at Bloomingdale, Ohio, in 
1866, a son of JMoses L. and Flora (Arm- 
strong) Blackburn, also natives of the 
Buckeye State. For about twenty-five years 
Eugene Blackburn was connected with the 
railway mail service, and while with that 
service established his home and head- 
quarters at Indianapolis in 1888. He was 
a veteran in this branch of the postal de- 
partment, was a faithful and diligent em- 
ploye, but the main interest of his career 
attaches to what was at first a side line to 
his principal work. 

In 1903 he began the manufacture of a 
metal polish of his own composition. He 
liad complete faith in the quality of his 
product but had to begin partly from wise 
choice and partlv from limited capital on a 
modest and experimental scale. In fact he 
manufactured his first polishes at his own 
home on North Capitol Avenue. For a 
time he was manufacturer, salesman, dis- 
tributor, and in fact, "whole works." He 
Iniilt up the reputation of his products on 
quality and merit, made a careful study of 
market conditions, and by energy in push- 
ing his sales eventually made his business 
self sustaining and sufficient to give him 
an independent living. All this he accom- 
plished by his own effort and witliout the 
aid of outside capital. Finally he incor- 
porated as the International Metal Polish 
Company. 

The Blue Ribbon products of this com- 
pany are manufactured and sold through- 
out the world, and cover a wide range of 
uses. The Blue Ribbon products are pol- 
ishes and oils put out under a number of 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2005 



different brands, each with a special pur- 
pose and use, and the output also includes 
the Blue Ribbon Auto Specialties. The 
descriptive names of a number of the lead- 
ing pro'ducts are Blue Ribbon Stainless 
Oil, Cleaners and Polishers for bars and 
for all the plumbing and sanitary fixtures 
of public and private buildings, Stove 
Polish. Silver Polish, IMetal Polish, and in- 
cluded in the auto specialties are the Cream 
Metal Polish, Nickel Polish, Auto Body 
Gloss and Furniture Polish, Leak Proof 
Cement, Auto Top and Seat Dressing, 
Black Gloss Enamel, Oil Soap, Cold Cream 
Hand Soap, and a special lubricating oil 
for magnetos and other delicate machinery. 
While ilr. Blackburn has necessarily ap- 
plied all his energies and time to building 
up his business, he has also proved an active 
and progressive citizen of Indianapolis and 
has gladly associated himself with the vari- 
ous civic enterprises. He married at 
Indianapolis Miss Maud Streight, a relative 
of the late General Streight, one of In- 
diana's distinguished commanding officers 
in the Civil war. 

George F. Bovard was born at Alpha, 
Indiana, August 8, 1856, a son of James 
and Sarah Bovard, both of whom were 
born in Ohio. After a thorough literary 
and professional training George F. Bo- 
vard became a teacher in the public schools, 
finally entering the ministry of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church, and since 1903 has 
been president of the University of South- 
ern California. 

On October 1, 1884, at Los Angeles, Cal- 
ifornia, he married Emma Bradley, and 
they have three children, "Warren B., Edna 
G., and Gladys P. 

James E. Ayres. A good business man, 
known to the community of Summitville as 
secretarj' and treasurer and manager of 
the Summitville Lumber Company, James 
E. Ayres is also one of those live and pub- 
lic spirited citizens who do much to influ- 
ence the ways of their home town and 
county and is one of the accepted leaders 
of the moral forces of his home county. 

Mr. Ayres represents several generations 
of his family in Indiana. He is of Scotch- 
Irish descent, the famil.v first locating in 
Pennsylvania and moving from there to 
Central Ohio. His grandfather, James 



Ayres, was a cobbler. In early manhood 
he came to Hartford City, Indiana, where 
he spent the rest of his life. C. C. Ayres, 
father of James E., was born at Hartford 
City, and was a resident of that town 
thirty years. He finally moved to Redkey, 
and was a lumber merchant there. He 
married Anna B. Pollock. 

James E. Ayres was born at Hartford 
City December 19, 1883. He acquired his 
early education in the public schools of 
Redkey and for one term was a student 
in the Indianapolis Business College. At 
the age of nineteen he went to work for 
his father, C. C. Ayres, keeping books for 
the lumber company both at Redkey and 
Dunkirk. He looked after the accounts 
of the two plants for three years. 

In 1905 Mr. Ayres married Miss Minnie 
C. Bradley, daughter of John and :Martha 
(Asling) Bradley. In 1908 ilr. Ayres 
bought a small lumber yard at Portland, 
Indiana, and for three months continued 
under the name James E. Ayres & Com- 
pany. After closing up its affairs he moved ' 
the stock to Redkey, and on November 20, 
1908, came to Summitville as manager and 
treasurer of the Summitville Lumber Com- 
pany. In 1910 he and his father bought 
the entire stock, and the business has since 
grown and flourished under the old name 
of Summitville Lumber Companj'. They 
handle an immense stock of building mate- 
rial, lumber, paints, oils, cement, pipe, 
sewer and also coal. The radius of their 
trade connections extends for seven or eight 
miles around Summitville. Their plants 
and yards have a space 132 by 180 feet 
under roof. 

Mr. and :\Irs. Ayres lost both their own 
children, and have adopted two others into 
their home. ilr. Ayres is an ardent prohi- 
bitionist. In 1916 he was a candidate on 
that ticket for the State Senate to repre- 
sent Tipton and Madison counties, and 
went far ahead of his party associates, 
though he was defeated for election. He is 
a trustee of the First ilethodist Episcopal 
Church at Summitville, and has been 
chosen local exhorter of the congregation. 

Jared Gardner, a prosperous farm 
owner and resident of Westville, represents 
a family that has been identified with La- 
Porte County for eighty years. His wife is 
a member of the noted Clyburn family, 



2006 



INDIANA AND INDIANA NS 



one of the oldest and best known names in 
the history of the region around Lake 
Michigan. 

Jared Gardner was born on a farm in 
Clinton Township, LaPorte County. His 
grandfather, Charles Gardner, was a na- 
tive of Massachusetts and moved from there 
to Watertown, New York, and late in life 
to LaPorte County, Indiana, settling in 
Clinton Township, where he spent the rest 
of his daj's. Edmund S. Gardner, father 
of Jared, was born in Hampden County, 
Massachusetts, and from Watertown, New 
York, came west in 1838 and settled in 
LaPorte County as one of the pioneer 
builders and homemakers of Clinton Town- 
ship. He bought land, improved a good 
farm, and erected a substantial house 
which is still standing. In the scenes of 
his early labors he spent his last days and 
died at the age of sixty-three. He married 
Polly Haskell, member of another pioneer 
family of Clinton Township. She was of 
Scotch-Irish ancestry and daughter of 
James Haskell, originally from Bradford, 
Pennsylvania. James Haskell spent hi*- 
last years in LaPorte County. Mrs. Ed- 
mund S. Gardner died in 1863, leaving 
three children, named Alice, Jared and 
Frank. 

Jared Gardner attended the rural 
schools of Clinton Township, also the West- 
ville High School, and finished with a 
course in Bryant and Stratton's Commer- 
cial College in Chicago. For five years he 
was a merchant, but then gave his entire 
attention to farming. Since his marriage 
he has lived in the Village of Westville 
and occupies the old Clyburn homestead. 
His farms are now handled by renters. 

At the age of twenty-one Mr. Gardner 
married Martha Ann Clyburn, daughter 
of Henley Clyburn, a famous pioneer of 
LaPorte County whose history is written 
on other pages. Mr. and Mrs. Gardner 
have two living children Winifred, Pearl 
and Rolla Clyburn. Pearl is the widow of 
Dr. Robert Ansley and has two children, 
named Kenneth and Genevieve. Rolla mar- 
ried Winifred Herrold, and his five chil- 
dren are Virginia, Ruth, Robert, Maurice 
J. and Martha Alice. Mr. and Mrs. Gard- 
ner have two children deceased, Marjorie, 
who died in infane.y, and Mrs. Virginia 
Gardner Morehouse, who left one son, 
Lawrence Gardner Morehouse, a soldier in 
the British Service. 



Mr. Gardner is a charter member of 
Westville Lodge No. 192, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, and is also a charter 
member of Westville Lodge, No. 309 
Knights of Pythias. He is a member of 
the Knights of the Maccabees at West- 
ville and he and his wife are members of 
the Eastern Star. In politics he is an 
ardent republican. 

Henley Clyburn. All authorities agree 
in giving Henley Clyburn distinction as 
the first permanent settler of LaPorte 
County. But that was only one of many 
distinctions. He was a cool-headed, en- 
terprising and courageous pioneer, fit for 
leadership in a new country, and was a rec- 
ognized power of strength in an age which 
begot strong men. 

He was born in Richmond, Virginia, 
August 5, 1804. In different generations 
the name was variously spelled Claiborne, 
Clybourne and Clyburn. Henley Clyburn 
was a son of Jonas and Elizabeth (McKen- 
zie) Clyburn. His father served as a pa- 
triot soldier in the war for independence, 
and was a Virginia planter. A brother of 
Henley Clyburn was Archibald Clyburn, 
whose name is intimately associated with 
early history in Chicago. 

The mother of Henley Clyburn has an 
especially romantic history. Her maiden 
name was Elizabeth McKenzie. She and 
her sister Margaret when small girls were 
made captive during an Indian raid, and 
were carried off to the wilds of Ohio and 
lived with Indian tribes for twelve years. 
Margaret McKenzie married John Kinzie, 
a famous character in the early historj- of 
Chicago and reputed to be the founder of 
that city. It was probably due to the in- 
fluence of John Kinzie of Chicago that the 
Clyburn boys also came west, accompanied 
by their parents in 1823-24. Henley was 
then about nineteen years of age. 

In Illinois John Kinzie became an Indian 
trader. Henley Clyburn during his early 
business career made the acquaintance of 
Sarah Benedict. Her father, Stephen 
Benedict, brought his family west in 1827, 
and after a time bought a claim at Ottawa, 
Illinois, where he was one of the founders 
of that community. At Ottawa on May 4, 
1828, Henley Clyburn and Sarah Benedict 
were married. Stephen Benedict died in 
the same year and his widow and his chil- 
dren then looked to Henley Clyburn as 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



2007 



their protector. Though not a large man 
phj-sically, Henley Clyburn possessed in 
an eminent degree courage, strength, perse- 
verance and all those qualities which are 
necessary to success in pioneer life. The 
family decided to leave Ottawa, and accom- 
plished with great difficulty their removal 
to LaPorte County, Indiana, during the 
winter season. On March 13, 1829, the lit- 
tle party went into camp near the present 
town of Westville in. New Durham Town- 
.ship. Henley Clyburn and the Benedict 
boys soon erected a cabin at the edge of a 
grove about half a mile northeast of the 
present town of Westville. 

On July"l6, 1829, was born the oldest 
child to Mr. and ilrs. Henley Clyburn, 
Elizabeth Miriam, the first white child born 
in LaPorte Count.y. She married Joseph 
Wamock and died in Westville. The other 
children of Henley Clyburn and his first 
wife were: Araminta M., who married 
Theodore Armitage, and is now the oldest 
living native citizen of LaPorte County; 
William R. ; Joseph H. ; Mary J., who died 
in childhood; and Sarah E. The mother 
of this family died December 31, 1844. 
Henley Clyburn married for his second 
wife Mrs. Eliza (Concannon) Sherry. To 
that union were born five children, and 
the two now surviving are Martha Ann, 
wife of Jared Gardner, and they occupy 
the old Henley Clyburn home at Westville, 
and Mrs. Virginia Wight. 

As a resident of LaPorte County Henley 
Clyburn confined his business affairs to 
farming and was never inclined to partic- 
ipate in politics, though he served two or 
three times as a county commissioner. He 
acquired a large amount of land and was 
prosperous in all his business undertakings 
and was extremely liberal in helping oth- 
ers less fortunate in bestowing the gifts of 
his aiHuence and generosity throughout a 
large community. It has been said that 
his influence was ever on the side of jus- 
tice, truth and right, and his kindly and 
benevolent spirit made his example one 
well worthy to be long remembered, hon- 
ored and revered. He died at his home in 
LaPorte County December 9, 1867, in his 
sixty-third year. 

. Henry Adam Holmes. As a business 
man and citizen the career of the late 
Henry Adam Holmes is identified both with 
Madison and Indianapolis, Indiana. He 



was a splendid type of the foreign born 
American, and many of the older residents 
still recall his good name and good deeds. 

He was born of an English father in 
County Cork, Ireland, May 22, 1825. When 
twenty-five years old he left his native 
country on board a sailing vessel for the 
United States. The boat became disabled 
and an incipient mutiny of the sailors was 
only quelled by the prompt and efficient 
action of the officers. The boat finally 
landed all hands safely at New Orleans. 
It was nearly a tragic and exceedingly dis- 
tressing experience to Mr. Holmes. While 
still on the ocean he resolved that should 
he ever safely reach land he would never 
again jeopardize his life on shipboard. He 
kept that vow. Coming up the Mississippi 
and Ohio rivers to Madison, Indiana, he 
went to work there as a common laborer. 
He was not particiilar about the work so 
it would earn him an honest dollar, but 
gradually he laid the foundation of an in- 
dependent career. He served an appren- 
ticeship at the plaster's trade. This work 
did not give him enough means to satisfy 
his desires, and he worked at night helping 
unload boats at the river docks. He also 
attended night school as a means of acquir- 
ing a better education. 

Following the completion of his appren- 
ticeship he moved to Indianapolis before 
the outbreak of the Civil war and estab- 
lished himself at his trade and as a con- 
tractor. One of the principles to which he 
adhered and which had much to do with 
his success in life should be recalled as a 
source of inspiration. He made it a rule 
always to do a little bit better work than 
was called for by the strict terms of any 
contract which he accepted, and while 
many men have declared they found it un- 
profitable to observe such a rule, it proved 
otherwise with Mr. Holmes. He handled 
a large volume of business every year, and 
some of his work is still in evidence in In- 
dianapolis as a monument to his ability. 
Thus in every way he was a credit to the 
land of his adoption. He was a man of 
great energy, and his Irish blood furnished 
him the keen interest he always took in 
politics, which continued even to the day 
of his death. His oldest son, William, was 
accidentally drowned in the White River, 
and as his ambition was largely centered 
in this first bom his zest of life thereafter 
was materially lessened. He was a convert 



2008 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



to the Catholic religion, and to that church 
and faith gave his most active adherence. 

While at Madison ilr. Holmes married 
Johanna Frances Fitzgibbon. He died in 
1884, and his wife in 1911. Of their nine 
children two sons and three daughters are 
still living, the sons being David and Wil- 
liam H., both residents of Indianapolis. 
The daughters are : Mary, wife of Adolph 
St. Lorenz and the mother of one child, 
Hortenz; Louise, wife of Dr. Thomas Cot- 
ter, of Indiana Harbor, Indiana, and the 
mother of three children; and Nellie, wife 
of Samuel R. Hoffman. 

William H. Holmes, president of the En- 
terprise Iron Works, was born at Indian- 
apolis April 11, 1872. He had a public 
school education and learned the trade of 
iron moulder with the Chandler-Taylor 
Company. In 1913, associated with others, 
he organized the Enterprise Iron Works, of 
which he has since been president. This is 
one of the leading concerns in the Indian- 
apolis industrial district. 

December 31, 1901, Mr. Holmes married 
Miss Johanna Frey, who died March 16, 
1918, leaving three children : Johanna 
Frey, Elizabeth Ellen and ilary. Mr. 
Holmes is a member of the Independent 
Athletic Club, the Transportation Club, the 
Foundrymen 's Association, of which he was 
one of the incorporators, and fraternally 
is a Mason. 

Frederick Fahnley. Friends and busi- 
ness associates have long spoken of Fred- 
erick Fahnley as a man of high sterling in- 
tegrity and upright business and social 
life. In his record of more than fifty 
years ' participation in local affairs it is not 
difficult to find ample proof and repeated 
corroboration for this character and all the 
kindly estimates that have been spoken by 
his business and social acquaintances. 

His is the kind of stoiy that Americans 
never tire of reading, and is a constant, 
source of inspiration and strength. Born 
in Wuertemberg, Germany, November 1, 
1839, educated in the common schools of 
his native town, he was only fifteen when 
in 1854 he crossed the ocean to the land of 
opportunity. He grew into American cit- 
izenship, not merely adapted it, and his loy- 
alty to this country and its ideals has been 
one of the prominent facts in his life and 
has been tested by every reasonable proof 



that might be required of a thorough 
American patriot. 

With the vigor of his blood and race 
young Fahnley found his first employment 
in a general merchandise store at Medway 
in Clark County, Ohio. Two j^ears later 
he went to Dayton, and for three years 
worked in a wholesale millinery and drj^ 
goods house. It was there he laid the 
foundation of his permanent business ca- 
reer. In 1860, returning to Medway, he 
opened a general country store and stocked 
it with all the commodities usually found 
in an emporium of that class. It was a 
Inisiness that satisfied his early ideas as to 
profit, but was not sufficient to keep him 
always in the role of a countrv merchant. 
While at Medway, and at the &ge of 
twenty-two, he served as postmaster, re- 
ceiving his appointment from President 
Lincoln. 

In 1865 Mr. Fahnley came to Indianap- 
olis,- and associated with Daniel Stiles and 
RolHn McCrea established the wholesale 
millinery firm of Stiles, Fahnley & MeCrea. 
Since that date Mr. Fahnley has been one 
of the leading wholesale merchants of the 
city, and as he looks back over the inter- 
vening half century he takes pride and 
pleasure not only in the acliievements of 
his own house but in the development of 
Indianapolis as a general wholesale center 
supplying the necessities of the retail trade 
throughout the Middle West. At the end 
of four years, Mr. Stiles retired from the 
firm, and the business after that was con- 
tinued by his two associates under the name 
Fahnlev & McCrea. In 1875. to meet the 
demands of a steadily arrowing business, 
the firm bought ground just opposite from 
their first store on South ^Meridian Street 
and erected what at that time was the fin- 
est structure in the wholesale district. In 
1898 the business was incorporated, when 
several old and valued employes were ad- 
mitted to share in the stock, under the title 
Fahnlev & McCrea Millinery Company. 
In February, 1905, as a result of the most 
destructive fire that ever visited the whole- 
sale district of Indianapolis, the company 
lost its buildins: and stock, but in the course 
of the s-'me vear erected a substantial aiid 
thoroueblv modern five-story brick build- 
ing, which has since served as the home of 
this old and honored Indianapolis hoiise. 

Mr. Fahnley is still looked upon as one 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



2009 



of Indianapolis' active business men. Be- 
sides the heavy responsibilities he has borne 
in building up the millinery business he 
has served as a director of the Merchants 
National Bank and the Indiana Trust Com- 
pany, and has been vice president of both 
of them. He is also actively identified 
with the Board of Trade and the Commer- 
cial Club, was one of the organizers of the 
Columbia Club, and has been identified 
with the German House and Indianapolis 
I\Iaennerehor Society. In polities he has 
been a straightforward republican, never 
desiring or seeking any honor of any kind. 
]\Ir. Fahnley married ]\Iiss Lena Soehner, 
who was born in Baden, Germany, and 
came to America with her parents at the 
age of seven years. She grew up and re- 
ceived her education at Dayton, Ohio. Mrs. 
Fahnley died October 7, 1899, at the age 
of fifty-eight. Her two daughters are: 
Bertha, who married Gavin Payne, of In- 
dianapolis, and Ada, wife of William 
Shafer. 

Hon. Albert J. Veneman, a former 
speaker of the House of Representatives in 
Indiana, has been a prominent lawyer and 
public official at Evansville for twenty 
years. His grandfather was also an early 
member of the Evansville bar. 

Theodore Veneman, his grandfather, 
was a native of Germany, and he and his 
brother Joseph founded the family in 
America. He came to this countr.v after 
his marriage, and was admitted to the bar 
soon after locating at Evansville. He never 
had a general practice, but gave most of 
his time to banking, acting as agent for 
steamship lines, and as legal adviser to his 
fellow countrymen. He knew German as 
well as English law, and was often called 
upon to assist in settling estates in Ger- 
many. He was elected county treasurer of 
Vanderburg County in 1856 and 18.58, and 
died at Evansville in 1872. His wife was 
Catherine Rathers. Their children were 
Theodore W., Louise, Josephine, Caroline, 
and August. 

August Veneman was born while his par- 
ents were visiting in Germany, but spent 
most of his life in Evansville, where he be- 
came a merchant. He died in 1880. He 
married Julia Reitz, who died in 1879. 
She was born in Evansville, daughter of 
Clement and Gertrude Reitz. Albert J. 



Veneman has two brothers, Edward and 
Oscar W. 

Albert J. Veneman was born in Evans- 
ville, where he was educated in the paro- 
chial schools, took his law coui-se at the 
State University, and was admitted to the 
bar in 1898. He served as city attorney 
from 1906 to 1910, when he was elected a 
member of the legislature, and during the 
following session was chosen to direct the 
deliberations of the House as speaker. 
From 1912 to 1919 Mr. Veneman held the 
office of county attorney. 

In 1901 he married Anna H. Kelly, and 
they have a daughter, Mary Gertrude. 
Mr. Veneman is a district deputy of the 
Knights of Columbus, and is a member of 
the board of trustees of Willard Library, 
and president of Vanderburgh Anti-Tuber- 
culosis Society. During the sale of gov- 
ernment bonds he was one of the four min- 
ute speakers and was chairman of the local 
board. Division Three, City of P^vansville. 
Mr. Veneman is a member of Vanderburgh 
County Bar Association. 

Col. Guy A. Boyle is commercial en- 
gineer of the Bell Telephone Company at 
Indianapolis, but is most widely known to 
Indianans through his service as an offi- 
cer in the Spanish-American and Philip- 
pine wars and his long and active associa- 
tion with the State National Guard and 
other military organizations. He is one of 
the distinguished veterans of Indiana mili- 
tar.y affairs. 

Colonel Boyle was born in Hamilton 
County, Indiana, in 1874, and his parents, 
W. H. and Nancy J. (Richards) Boyle, 
were also natives of this state. When he 
was a small boy his parents removed to 
Indianapolis, where he was reared, attend- 
ing the grammar and high schools, and 
spending one year in Butler College. For 
four years Colonel Boyle was a clerk in 
tlie car service department of the Big Four 
Railwa.v and later was in the insurance 
brokerage business at Indianapolis. 

He was only fifteen years of age when 
he ioined the National Guard of Indian- 
apolis. He was active in that organization 
over twenty years. When the Spanish- 
American war broke out in 1898 he volun- 
teered and was made battalion adjutant of 
the Second Indiana Infantry. He was 
mustered out in November, 1898, and in the 



2010 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



spring: of 1899 made application for a 
commission in the United States volunteer 
army for service in the Philippines. He 
was commissioned a lieutenant and in July, 
1899, went to the Philippines with the 
Thirtieth United States Volunteer In- 
fantry. There were few men in any branch 
of the service who saw longer and more 
active work in the Philippines than Colonel 
Boyle. He was on duty two yeai-s and six 
months, covering the period of the insur- 
rection, and earned a distinguished record 
for gallant and meritorious service. By a 
gunshot wound through the knee he was 
badly wounded while leading a reeonnoit- 
ering expedition, and was invalided home 
for several months. 

After this long and eventful experience 
abroad Colonel Boyle returned to Indian- 
apolis and became personal aide to General 
McKee, adjutant general of Indiana. Later 
he was promoted to inspector general of the 
National Guard with the rank of lieutenant 
colonel, a staff position assigned to general 
headquarters. He finally retired from the 
National Guard in 1910, but has always 
kept up an active interest in the army and 
military affairs, and his experience and en- 
thusiasm have enabled him to perform 
many important services for his country 
during the present war. 

Colonel Boyle was one of the first to 
join and take an active interest in the or- 
ganization of the veterans of the Spanish- 
American war. In a meeting at Chicago 
he was one of the founders of the present 
national organization of the United Span- 
ish War Veterans, formed from a consoli- 
dation of two older separate bodies. At 
that meeting he was made adjutant general 
of the national organization. His Indiana 
comrades also honored him with the post of 
commander of the Department of Indiana, 
and he filled that office from November, 
1902, to November, 1903. 

Since 1907 Colonel Boyle has been .iden- 
tified with the Central Union Telephone 
Company, the Bell System, of Indianapolis, 
and has many responsibilities as its com- 
mercial engineer. Colonel Boyle is a re- 
publican. He married Miss Anna Dern- 
dinger, of Indianapolis, now deceased. He 
has one daughter, Miss Marie Alice Boyle. 

Joseph Valentine Breitwieser was 
born at Jasper in Dubois County, Indiana, 
March 31, 1884, and since leaving college 



has been engaged in educational work. 
During the past nine years, since 1910, he 
has been professor of psychology and edu- 
cation in Colorado College, Colorado 
Springs, Colorado. He is also the author 
of many standard works, and is promi- 
nently affiliated with many of the noted 
educational societies of the country. He 
is a lecturer on educational topics and re- 
searcher in experimental psychology. 

Mr. Breitwieser married Ruth Fowler, 
and their children are Charles John, Kath- 
erine Rebecca, and Janice Breitwieser. 

John Nelson Gordon. One of Sum- 
mitville's most enterprising business men 
for a long period of years has been John 
Nelson Gordon. Mr. Gordon is best known 
all over that section of Eastern Indiana 
as a grain merchant. His business, con- 
ducted under his individual name, is han- 
dling and shipping grain, feed, seed, and 
flour. He has been one of the best posted 
authorities on the range of prices of these 
various products during the past quarter 
of a century, and in that time he has paid 
some remarkably low prices and again has 
afforded his customers the benefit of the 
top notch of the market. His policy of 
square dealing has won him many stanch 
friends among the producers, and the idea 
of service he has carried into all his opera- 
tions, a fact that accounts for his success 
and high standing. 

Mr. Gordon was born at Metamora in 
Franklin County, Indiana, April 10, 1851, 
son of Orville and Drusilla (Blacklidge) 
Gordon. The Gordons are of Scotch stock, 
originallj' members of one of the famous 
clans of Scotland. His grandfather, Wil- 
liam Gordon, came from Big Bone Springs 
in Kentucky and was a pioneer settler in 
Franklin County, Indiana. Orville Gf)r- 
don was born in 1805, and died in 1870, 
and followed a career as a farmer. J. N. 
Gordon had two brothers and three sisters 
and also two half-sisters. 

He gained his early education in the 
common schools of Metamora. A little 
after he was ten years old he began helping 
on the farm. His father was an extensive 
land owner, having about 900 acres, and 
the son had ample experience in every 
phase of agriculture. In the meantime he 
continued his education in the schools dur- 
ing the winter terms. From the age of 
seventeen he gave all his time to work as a 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



2011 



farmer, but in 1872 went to town and se- 
cured employment at New Salem, Indiana. 
Later he conducted a store, but that was 
not a profitable venture. For two years 
he farmed eighty acres of land in Frank- 
lin County, and in 1879 removed to El- 
wood, where for a brief period he was in 
the furniture and undertaking business. 
Later in the same year he established him- 
self in a similar line at Summitville, but 
after several years traded his store for 
eighty acres of land in Van Buren Town- 
ship of Madison County, which he sold. 
He was in the grocery, dry goods and hard- 
ware business, and in 1888 joined George 
Green and Frank Fulton in the firm of 
Green & Company, operating a grain ele- 
vator and doing a general grain business. 
That was thirty years ago. ^Ir. Gordon 
has been the chief dealer in grain at Sum- 
mitville ever since, and after some years 
he bought out the interests of his partner 
and now continues business under his in- 
dividual name. 

In 1874 he married Miss Mary E. Free- 
man. Three children were born to their 
marriage: Orville Earl, deceased; Anna 
Pearl ; and William Chase, deceased. Mr. 
Gordon is a republican in politics. He has 
been a member of the school board and in 
1882 was appointed postmaster, serving 
four j'ears, and in 1889 was again ap- 
pointed to the same office and filled out an- 
other four year term. He is identified 
with the Summitville Lodge of Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows and Knights of 
Pythias, and is active in the Christian 
Church. 

C. V. Haworth, superintendent of the 
Kokomo public schools, has been a teacher 
and school administrator for over twenty 
years, and through his work in Howard 
County and also as an author he is one of 
the most widely known and most influen- 
tial educators of the state. 

Mr. Haworth was born in Howard 
County :March 23, 187.5, son of Clarkson 
and Sophrona (Rees) Haworth. The Ha- 
worth family settled in Howard County 
seventy years ago. His grandfather, James 
Haworth, a native of Tennessee and of Eng- 
lish ancestry, moved from Tennessee to 
Highland County, Ohio, in 1811. He was 
both a farmer and lawyer. In 1847 he 
brought his family from Ohio to Howard 
County, but soon went further west to 



Iowa. After a brief residence in that 
state he returned to Howard County and 
located at New London, where he lived un- 
til his death in 1853. He acquired a large 
amount of land, 700 or 800 acres, in that 
county. Though his education was self ac- 
quired he was very well read and informed 
in the law and other subjects, and did a 
great deal of service to his neighbors and 
friends in drawing up legal papers and in 
furnishing advice. He began voting as a 
whig and was faithful to the principles of 
that party until his death. 

Of his thirteen children Clarkson Ha- 
worth was the youngest and was only nine 
years old when his father died. He ac- 
quired his education in the graded and 
high schools of New London, and after his 
marriage took up farming. He died in 
1890. He and his wife had eight children, 
fourth among them being C. V. Haworth. 
C. V. Haworth spent his youth on his 
father's farm, and attended the graded 
and high schools of New London, graduat- 
ing from high school with the class of 1895. 
He has supplemented his common school 
advantages by much per.sonal study and 
by the full course of higher institutions. 
He attended the Indiana State Normal and 
also the Indiana State Universit.y, and 
graduated from the latter with the degree 
A. B. He also took post-graduate work in 
the literary and law departments. 

ilr. Haworth began teaching in the 
grade schools of New London. Later he 
wa.s principal of the Fourth Ward School 
at Kokomo, and in 1902 was instructor of 
histoi-y in the Danville Normal School six 
months, and was teacher of history in the 
Anderson High School during 1909-10. 
From 1910 to 1914 he was principal of the 
Kokomo High School, and since 1914 has 
been superintendent of the public schools 
of that city. 

]\Ir. Haworth has a cultured and highly 
educated wife. He married Miss Belle 
Cooper, of Jasper, Indiana. She was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Jasper, at 
Oakland City, Indiana, and the Indiana 
State University. She taught four years 
before her marriage. Mrs. Haworth has 
interested herself in many charitable, so- 
cial and war activities at Kokomo. 

Mr. Haworth has participated in many 
of the educational organizations. He has 
devoted much of his time to literary sub- 
jects, and besides many articles that have 



2012 



INDIANA AND INDIAN ANS 



appeared in educational and other journals 
from his pen he is author of a text book 
recently published by the Century Com- 
pany of New York under the title "Gov- 
ernment in Indiana," which is a supple- 
mentary treatise designed for Indiana 
schools to general and advanced works on 
civics and civil government. It is a greatly 
needed book not only in the schools but for 
general circulation and reading, since it is 
filled with information on the machinery 
of local and state government. 

Mr. Haworth has also undertaken a fore- 
handed and valuable public service in using 
his influence to secure a complete record of 
Howard County soldiers in the present war. 
This is a task which to be done well must 
be done promptly, while the information 
is obtainable, and in undertaking this Mr. 
Haworth is performing a service which in 
too many communities was neglected in the 
ease of our soldiers of the Civil war. 

Mr. Haworth has also made a close study 
of school architecture, and in 1914 he 
assisted in drawing plans for the magnifi- 
cent high school building at Kokomo, which 
is regarded in many particulars as the fin- 
est structure of its kind in the state. Its 
auditorium, with a seating capacity for 
1,200, is undoubtedly the largest found in 
any school building in Indiana. 

Michael Hess. The largest paper box 
manufacturing plant in Indiana, and one 
of the largest in the country, is that of the 
International Printing Company at Indian- 
apolis. Its plant at 230-238 West Mc- 
Carthy Street represents the last word in 
mechanical equipment and personal organ- 
ization and efficiency, and in the growth 
and development of the business to its 
present stage a number of men have con- 
tributed their capital, experience and tech- 
nical ability. 

Chief of these on the technical side at 
least is Michael Hess, vice president of the 
company. Mr. Hess has been making 
paper boxes since he was a boy. His ex- 
perience has not been altogether on the 
commercial side of the industry. He has 
handled all the machinery used in paper 
box making from the first crude devices of 
that kind, and possessing mechanical abil- 
ity and being somewhat original liimself 
he has figured as an inventor of a number 
of devices applied to paper making ma- 
chinery. 



Mr. Hess was born at Dayton, Ohio, in 
1862, and grew up in a city which has at- 
tained no little fame because of its men of 
special industrial genius. His parents, 
Daniel and Elizabeth (Roth) Hess, were 
both natives of Germany. Michael Hess 
received his education in the Dayton pub- 
lic schools, and was little more than a 
school boy when he learned the trade of 
paper box making. There has been no im- 
portant deviation from this early expe- 
rience throughout his mature life. He 
lived at Dayton until the age of forty, and 
then identified himself with the Indiana 
City of Newcastle, where in 1902 he estab- 
lished a paper box factory, founding and 
organizing the Nev\'castle Paper Box Com- 
pany. Its growth was such that it was 
deemed advisable to remove the plant to 
Indianapolis in 1906, and from this city 
its scope has constantly expanded until it 
is an industry that supplies special needs 
all over the central west. In 1912 the In- 
ternational Printing Compan.y was formed, 
with Mr. Hess as vice president. The large 
plant on West McCarthy Street is now 
equipped with modern machinery for the 
making and printing of paper boxes of all 
kinds, and their output is distributed 
among the large consumers all over the 
central west. 

At a time when there is a special prem- 
ium upon economy of all resources Mr. 
Hess came forward with the announcement 
of a new invention, which he perfected in 
February, 1918, and already is in use by 
large customers of paper boxes from the 
Mississippi to the Atlantic coast. What 
this invention is may be best described in 
the words of an Indianapolis paper which 
contained a half column of description 
some weeks ago : 

' ' The machine, which can be operated by 
a girl, is of simple design and construction. 
Ad.iustable forms designed to fit any size 
of paper box give the operator a broad 
scope. The flat folding blanks, which are 
scored and prin^ted, are adjusted on the 
form and with a few deft motions of the 
operator are conformed into paper boxes 
of even greater strength than the paper 
box of rigid construction. The new ma- 
chine serves a purpose that long has per- 
plexed both the makei's and consumers of 
boxes. By its use the consumer can lay 
in ample stocks of the flat paper blanks 
and make the boxes himself just as it suits 



INDIANA AND INDIANA NS 



2013 



his needs, thus eliminating the use of large 
amount of valuable space formerly occu- 
pied by formed paper boxes kept in stock. 

"The International Printing Company is 
not placing the new box folding machine 
on the market. It is not for sale. Instead 
the company is distributing these machines 
to patrons for their own convenience, free 
of charge, for use by them so long as the 
machine meets their demands. The ma- 
chine has a daily capacit.y of 1,000 paper 
boxes. It is operated by hand and the 
speed of production depends to a certain 
extent upon the efficiency of the operator. 
As many as 1,200 boxes have been com- 
pleted on these machines, but the dail.y 
average is about 700." 

One of the many problems involved in 
that pertaining to the economical and effi- 
cient distribution of manufactured goods 
is the making and use of suitable contain- 
ers. The paper box has hundreds of uses 
and yet its possibilities have been by no 
means exhausted, and it is obvious that the 
paper box folding machine invented by 
iMr. Hess and distributed through the In- 
ternational Printing Company of Indian- 
apolis will go far toward increasing the 
utility of many kinds and types of paper 
containers. 

Mr. Hess is well knOwn to the citizenship 
of Indianapolis. He married Miss Mar- 
garet Geneva Schutte, of Dayton. Their 
two children are Joseph J. and Christina 
A. Hess. 

J.\ME.s WiLLi.\M Hunter. Doing an ex- 
tensive business in china and electrical sup- 
plies, James W. Hunter, proprietor of the 
Hunter Department Store located on the 
Public Square, Anderson, is one of the 
city's representative and respected citizens 
and experienced merchants. The story of 
Mr. Hunter's business life is mainly con- 
cerned with merchandising, with which he 
has been continuously identified since early 
manhood. He has been the pioneer in some 
lines at Anderson, and has definitely proved 
that from small beginnings important busi- 
ness enterprises may lie developed through 
prudence and good management. 

James W. Hunter was born in 1847, at 
Bradford in Mercer County, Ohio, and his 
parents were Alexander and Sophia Hun- 
ter. His father, like generations of Hunt- 
ers before him, was a farmer all his life, 
first in Mercer Countv and later in Shelby 



Count.y, Illinois, to which section he moved 
with his family in 1851. His family, as 
was very general in those da.ys, was large 
and as James W. Hunter's services were 
not needed at home, from his twelfth to his 
nineteenth year he worked on a neighbor- 
ing farm, attending school at Shelbyville 
during the winter months. He found him- 
self not satisfied, however, with the pros- 
pect of being a farmer all his life, and 
therefore determined to prepare himself 
for school-teaching, and with this end in 
view he spent three years in the Illinois 
State Normal School at Normal and re- 
ceived his certificate to teach. By that 
time Mr. Hunter had discovered that a bus- 
iness career appealed more strongly to him 
than an educational one, and he piit aside 
his teacher's credentials and went to 
Bloomington to find a business opening. 

During the succeeding six years Mr. 
Hunter remained in the employ of Stephen 
Smith of Bloomington, the leading dry 
goods merchant there at the time and took 
advantage of -his excellent opportunities 
and learned the business. Thus naturally 
he became more valuable to employers and 
soon had ofl:'ei's from different firms, subse- 
quently going out on the road as salesman 
for Joseph Weil & Company, wholesale dry 
goods merchants. After some experience 
he went to Indianapolis and accepted a po- 
sition as traveling salesman with D. P. 
Ewing & Company of that city, and re- 
mained fourteen years, his territory during 
that time being the states of Indiana and 
Illinois. Still later ;\Ir. Hunter was with 
John Wanamaker & Company of Philadel- 
phia for four years. 

In the meanwhile, having accumulated 
some capital, Mr. Hiuiter decided to in- 
vest it in a mercantile enterprise and 
bought what was called "The Ninety-Nine 
Cent Store" at Bloomington, and hired a 
merchant to operate it for him while he was 
still in the traveling field. Two years 
later he sold and came to Anderson, and 
on April 1, 1900, he opened the first 
"Penny Store" that was ever tried here, 
his location being on Meridian Street 
where Decker Brothers are in business to- 
day, and continued there for a year and a 
half. That was the real beginning of Mr. 
Hunter's mercantile success in this city, 
and the venture was creditable to him in 
every way. In 1902 he came to his present 
location on the Public Square, where he 



2014 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



does a very large business and gives em- 
ployment to seventeen people. His is the 
main electrical supply house in Madison 
County. 

Mr. Hunter was married in 1872 to Miss 
Mary Gross, who was born in Pennsyl- 
vania. Her parents, Joseph and Sarah 
Gross, still reside in that state. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hunter have no children. They are 
members of the First Presbyterian Church 
at Anderson, and formerly Mr. Hunter 
was a trustee of the same and is a liberal 
supporter of the church's many benevolent 
movements. In politics he is affiliated with 
the republican party. 

M. W. CoATE has been active in business 
and public affairs in Northern Indiana for 
half a century, and is still carrying a big 
burden of business responsibilities as a 
member and official of the Kokomo Hard- 
ware Company. 

Mr. Coate was born in Greene County, 
Ohio, June 26, 1845, son of Lindley M. and 
Martha (Painter) Coate. His father was 
a native of Miami County, Ohio, and in 
1854 came from Greene County to Wa- 
bash, Indiana. He settled in that county 
when much of the land was still uncleared, 
buying a farm seven miles southwest of the 
county seat. It was covered with heavy 
timber and his labor converted it into pro- 
ductive and well tilled fields. He was one 
of the highly respected citizens of that 
community. He was a lifelong member 
and supporter of the Wesleyan Methodist 
Church, a thorough Christian, a great Bible 
student, and was well educated in both 
secular and theological subjects. As a vo- 
ter he was first a whig and later a repub- 
lican. He died on his homestead in "Wa- 
bash County July 24, 1878, at the age of 
fifty-six. Of his nine children six are still 
living, and M. W. Coate is the oldest. 

His early education was acquired in the 
common schools of Wabash County. He 
also attended high school, and taught one 
term. December 31, 1867, he married Miss 
Viola C. Ellis, a daughter of Dr. C. S. Ellis 
of Somerset, Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. Coate 
had four children, the two now living be- 
ing Madge and Agnes, both of whom are 
married and have families. Mrs. Coate 
was educated in the high school at Som- 
erset. 

After his marriage Mr. Coate served as 
deputy treasurer of Wabash County, was 



subsequently elected as chief of that office ,. 
and served capably two terms. He came 
to Kokomo in 1887, more than thirty years 
ago. Here he was engaged in the hard- 
ware business with ]Mr. Bruner under the 
name Bruner & Coate for six years. On 
selling out his interests he moved to Ma- 
rion, Indiana, in 1893, and for five years 
was treasurer of the Indiana Pulp and 
Paper Company. After his return to Ko- 
komo Mr. Coate was traveling representa- 
tive for the Globe Stove and Range Com- 
pany for four years. He then became 
associated with J. I. Shade in the Kokomo 
Hardware Company. This company was 
incorporated in 1904, Mr. Coate being sec- 
retary and treasurer. The other active 
members are J. I. Shade and U. J. Shoe- 
maker. This is one of the leading hard- 
ware firms in Howard County, and hand- 
les all the varied stock of goods found in 
well equipped stores of that character. 

Mr. Coate is a thirty-second degree Scot- 
tish Rite Mason, a Noble of the Mystic 
Shrine, and is also affiliated with the Elks. 
Politically he votes as a republican and has 
many times been effective in rendering 
practical aid to his party. 

William A. Holloway, M. D. A quar- 
ter of a century of Service, thorough, skill- 
ful and actuated by the highest ethics and 
ideals of his profession, is the record of 
Doctor Holloway at Logansport, one of 
that city's most successful phj'sicians and 
surgeons. 

Doctor Holloway was born on a farm in 
Jefferson township of Boone County, In- 
diana, September 28, 1870, son of Jefferson 
P. and Mary (Dukes) Holloway. His 
parents were also born in Indiana. His 
father is still living, a farmer in Clinton 
County of this state. Doctor Holloway 
was the oldest of three children. He was 
three years of age when his parents moved 
to Clinton County, and he grew up on his 
father's farm. From the public schools 
he entered Indiana University, remained 
a student two years and then taught for a 
year. He began the study of medicine 
with Dr. Joseph D. Parker at Colfax, and 
in 1899 entered Miami Medical College at 
Cincinnati. The first two years of his 
work was done in that institution and he 
then entered Bellevue Hospital Medical 
College of New York, where he was grad- 
uated M. D. with the class of 1893. Doc- 




^^^«^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



201; 



tor Holloway immediately located at Lo- 
gansport and since then has allowed few 
outside interests to interfere with the seri- 
ous and studious devotion to his profes- 
sion. He has done much post-graduate 
work as well as constant study and observa- 
tion at home. He has taken two post- 
graduate courses in New York Cit}*, and in 
1917 attended the Harvard School of Med- 
icine. He is a member of the Cass County 
and Indiana lledical Societies and the 
American Medical Association, and fra- 
ternally is affiliated with the Masonic Or- 
der in both the Scottish and York Rites, 
with the Knights of Pythias and Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks. On 
December 27, 1893, he mai-ried iliss ^lyr- 
tle Ticen, of Clinton County. Mrs. Hollo- 
way is a member of the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church. They have one daughter, 
Mary. 

Robert H. Dietz since the death of his 
father, Charles L. Dietz in the summer of 
1918, has been the active head of C. L. 
Dietz & Company, the oldest brokerage and 
commission merchant establishment in In- 
dianapolis. 

This is a business whose history can be 
recited with pride. The late Charles L. 
Dietz, who moved from Ohio to Indiana 
in 1870, was one of the first brokers at 
Indianapolis to handle fruit and general 
merchandise brokerage, specializing in 
foodstuffs. He began in a small waj^ in 
the earl.y '80s, and his enterprise kept grow- 
ing in proportion to the expansion of In- 
dianapolis itself until at the time of his 
death C. L. Dietz & Company was doing a 
business of more than a million dollars a 
year. More important even than the vol- 
ume of business has been the absolute con- 
fidence reposed in this firm by the trade 
during the last thirty years. They have 
handled a complete line of foodstuffs, in- 
cluding perishable and non-perishable 
goods. In that particular business they 
have made history in many ways. It was 
this firm which brought to Indianapolis 
the first carload of bananas ever received 
there. For a number of years they have 
handled principally canned goods, dried 
fruits, potatoes, oranges, lemons, grape 
fruit, nuts and beans. The firm confines 
its selling efforts to Indiana, and its busi- 
ness relations reach even the most remote 
sections of the state. The firm derives its 



supplies from every state in the Union, and 
in normal times imported large quantities 
of goods from Spain, France, Italy, Cuba, 
Sweden, China, Japan and Turkey. 

It was not onl.y a highly successful busi- 
ness man but a thoroughly public spirited 
citizen who was lost to Indianapolis in the 
death of Charles L. Dietz on June 1, 1918. 
He was interested in the growth and wel- 
fare of his city in many ways. For several 
years he was very active in humane work, 
and devoted almost his entire time to it. 
His chief interest in this work was derived 
from his desire to see children and dumb 
animals, all helpless things in fact, given 
a fair chance. He was an enthusiastic Ro- 
tarian, and had been a member of the In- 
dianapolis Rotary Club for several years 
before his death. He was also one of the 
first members of the Columbia Club. In 
politics he was a republican, but wis not 
an aspirant for political honors. He was 
a lifelong friend of the late James Whit- 
comb Riley, and was an intimate asso- 
ciate of the poet for more than forty years. 

Charles L. Dietz married Helen Webster. 
They were the parents of three children, 
all of whom are still living. 

Robert H. Dietz was born at Indian- 
apolis March 1, 1885, and after an educa- 
tion in the public schools went to work 
for his father at the age of sixteen. After 
three years he and his brother engaged in 
the wholesale flour business under the name 
W. E. Dietz & Company. In 1908 he again 
became associated with his father in the 
firm of C. L. Dietz & Company, and is now 
a successor to that business and is continu- 
ing along the same his:h standards estab- 
lished by his honored father. 

Mr. Dietz is a member of the Indian- 
apolis Rotary Club, the Independent Ath- 
letic Club, is a republican, and has been 
quite interested in the welfare of hi.s party. 
He is a member of the First Baptist Church 
of Indianapolis, being treasurer of the 
Brotherhood of that church. He is fond of 
outdoor life and keeps himself fit for busi- 
ness by regular gymnasium work. 

March 31, 1908, at Indianapolis, Mr. 
Dietz married Miss Gladys Finney, daugh- 
ter of Edwin Finney. Thev have two chil- 
dren : Dorothy F.,'born April 13, 1909, 
and Diana Dietz, born June 12, 1915. 

Anna Sneed Cairns, for many years 
president of Forest Park College, St. Louis, 



2016 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Missouri, was boru at New Albauj', In- 
diana, March 19, 1841, a daughter of Rev. 
Samuel K. Sneed. She is a graduate of 
Monticello Seminary with the class of 1858, 
and at the early age of seventeen years be- 
gan teaching. In 1861 she founded Forest 
Park College at Kirkwood, and during the 
past fifty-six years she has served as the 
president of Forest Park College. She has 
been prominently identified with Women's 
Christian Temperance Union work, serving 
seven years as legal superintendent of the 
Missouri Women's Christian Temperance 
Union, a similar period as national organ- 
izer of the National Women's Christian 
Temperance Union, and for two years was 
labor superintendent of the National Wom- 
en's Christian Temperance Union. 

In 1884, at Kirkwood, Missouri, Anna 
Sneed was married to John G. Cairns, arch- 
itect. 

Thomas Ferguson is the present county 
auditor of Vigo County. He has spent all 
his life in that county and is a man who 
has had almost constant communion with 
honest toil as a means of providing for 
himself and his family. He is very popu- 
lar among all classes of citizens and has 
enjoyed many honoi's at the hands of his 
fellow men. 

He was born in the southeastern part of 
Vigo County February 1, 1874, a son of 
John F. and Louisa R. (Bonham) Fer£cu- 
son. Both parents were natives of Ohio, 
the father born in 1840 and the mother in 
1845. They came to Vigo Count.y when 
young, were married here, and then lo- 
cated on a farm in Pierson Township, 
where the father continued his industrious 
station as an agriculturist until his death 
in 1889. The widowed mother is still liv- 
ing in Terre Haute. There were two sons : 
B. Hanley and Thomas. 

Thomas Ferguson grew up on the home 
farm, attended the local public schools, and 
at the age of sixteen, when his father died, 
he went to work in the coal mines. It was 
as a coal miner that he earned his living 
for twenty years and during that time he 
nuide himself a man of power and influence 
among tlie coal workers in the western 
part of the state. 

While living in Lost Creek Township he 
was elected trustee, and filled that office six 
years. He was still in office wlien elected 
county auditor in 1914. His term as audi- 



tor began in 1916. He has proved a most 
capable and faithful public official and has 
ordered and administered the affairs of 
the auditor's office in a manner to satisfy 
the most exacting critics, and it may be 
added his host of friends are behind him 
in his candidacy for the office of sheriff of 
Vigo County in the coming election of 1920. 
When the little village in which he for- 
merly made his home was incorporated he 
was elected one of its first council. 

Mr. Ferguson is an active democrat, is 
a member of the Masonic Order, the 
Knights of Pythias, the Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows, the Loyal Order of 
Moose, the Improved Order of Red Men, 
and the Eagles, and his wife is a member 
of the auxiliary bodies of these various fra- 
ternities. Mr. Ferguson is also secretary 
and treasurer of the Laish Road Machine 
Company, a well known firm manufactur- 
ing road grading and other road making 
machinery. 

In 1893 Mr. Ferguson married Stella M. 
Baker, who died May 14, 1908, the mother 
of two sons. Earl Mitchell, aged fourteen, 
and Paul a boy of nine. On November 24, 
1908, Mr. Ferguson married Blanch E. 
Moore, of Vigo County. 

William Gage Hoag. A member of the 
Indianapolis bar ten years, William Gage 
Hoag has emphasized the business side of 
his profession and has been identified with 
the organization and management of sev- 
eral well known Indianapolis corporations. 

A resident of Indianapolis since early 
bo.vhood, he was born in Virginia June 27, 
1884, a son of Dr. W. I. and Mary Louise 
(Watson) Hoag. His father, who was 
born in Cayuga Count.y, New York, August 
11, 1858, was educated for the medical pro- 
fession in the New York jMedical School of 
Cornell University. After fifteen years of 
general practice at Sherwood, New York, 
he came west and located at Indianapolis, 
where he has lieen a prominent and well 
known ph.ysician for twenty-one years. 
His home is at 2627 West Washington 
Street. Doctor Hoag and wife have two 
children, William G. and Minerva, the lat- 
ter the wife of Irvin W. Collins, a build- 
ing contractor of Indianapolis. 

William Gage Hoag first attended the 
Slierwood Select School in New York, 
Friends Academy, Oakwood Seminary at 
Union Springs, New York, and in 1902 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2017 



graduated from Shortridge High School at 
Indianapolis. He then entered the Uni- 
versity of ^Michigan, graduated A. B. witji 
the class of 1906, and received his LL. B. 
degrees from the University of Michigan 
Law School in 1908. He is a member of 
the law fraternity Phi Alpha Delta. 

From 1908 to 1910 he was one of the law 
clerks in the ofifice of Means & Buenting in 
the State Life Building, and from 1910 to 
1915 was connected with the firm of Holtz- 
man & Coleman in the Lemcke Annex. 
Since 1915 he has been alone in general 
practice, with ofSces in the Fidelity Trust 
Building. 

Mr. Hoag was one of the organizers 
and is secretary of the North Side Im- 
provement Association. He is secretary of 
the Granite Construction Company, a 
building company ; vice president of the 
Progress Investment Company, a holding 
company for farm lands; and organized 
and is now secretary and treasurer and 
gives most of his time to the Aetna Mort- 
gage and Investment Company. 

There is one section of the general pub- 
lic that knows Mr. Hoag neither as a law- 
yer or business man, but as a champion 
tennis player. While in the University of 
^Michigan he was captain of the tennis team 
nf 1908. He has kept up the sport in spite 
of the heavy demands of a professional 
career, and in 1914 won the state cham- 
pionship of Indiana and in 1915 the City 
of Indianapolis championship. He is a 
member of the Indianapolis Tennis Asso- 
ciation, a member of the Athaneum, the 
;\Iarion Club and the Odd Fellows Associa- 
tion. He is a republican, and has no ac- 
tive affiliation with a religious denomina- 
tion. 

June 28, 1913, Mr. Hoag married Miss 
Elizabeth O'Brien, daughter of Bernard 
M. and Elizabeth (Daltonl O'Brien of 
Grand Eapids, ^Michigan. Mrs. Hoag was 
educated in the Sacred Heart Academy at 
Grand Rapids and the Ypsilanti Normal 
and in the University of Michigan. They 
have two children, Robert William, born 
December 29, 1914,, and William Isaac, 
horn March 21, 1916. 

Fred IMiller. Any man who builds up 
and maintains successfully year after year 
and in the face of all sorts of conditions a 
sue\>essful and growing business possesses 
qualities that are unusual and admirable. 



Over thirty years ago Fred Miller, a 
young baker, started a bake shop in Evans- 
ville. In the first place he knew his trade, 
and in all the years of his success has never 
lost sight of quality as the thing to be 
chiefly emphasized. He has also been 
steady-going, foresighted, alert to oppor- 
tunity, and has gradually expanded his 
enterprise until it is one of the largest, 
most modern and best appointed wholesale 
and retail bakeries and stores in Southern 
Indiana. 

Mr. Miller was born in the Village nf 
Eckelsheim, Hesse Darmstadt, Germany. 
His father, Nicholas Miller, a native of the 
same locality, learned the butcher's trade 
and followed it in his native land until 
1867, when, accompanied by his family, 
he came to the United States. He landed 
at New York, where he joined a brother 
who had come over some years before, but 
soon left to come to Evansville. From 
Evansville he went to Posey County, In- 
diana, and was in business there about six 
years. Returning to Evansville, he re- 
mained a resident of that city until his 
death at the age of fifty-six. He married 
Margaret Espenscheit, who died at the age 
of sixty-two. Fred Miller, one of six chil- 
dren, was nine years old when his parents 
came to America. The education began in 
German schools was continued in English 
schools in the rural districts of Posey 
County, Indiana. Besides what he could 
learn from books he acquired much train- 
ing and experience of value to him in 
later years by assisting his father. At the 
age of sixteen he entered upon an appren- 
ticeship to the baker's trade, and served 
four years, learning all the constituted 
technical processes involved in this, one of 
the oldest and one of the most important 
occupations of man. At the end of four 
years he had managed by the exercise of 
a great deal of thrift and economy to ac- 
cumulate a modest capital of $500. It was 
used to give him an independent business 
start. His first shop was at No. 1 Carpen- 
ter Street. Eight j-ears later, his business 
having grown, he removed to 603 Main 
Street, and in 1907 came to his present 
quarters on South Sixth Street. The bus- 
iness is now housed in a commodious brick 
building two stories high, 144 feet in front 
and 155 feet in depth, and the bakery is 
equipped with every modern appliance for 
the production of wholesome sanitary food 



2018 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



products. He also runs a large retail store 
in connection, and as a wholesaler supplies 
bread and other bakery products over a 
country many miles in a radius around 
Evansville. 

Out of his prosperity as a business man 
Mr. Miller has also erected two fine apart- 
ment houses on adjoining lots facing Lo- 
cust Street. He is a director of the Amer- 
ican Trust Company Bank at Evansville, 
is active in the Chamber of Commerce, and 
he and his' wife and family belong to' St. 
John's Evangelical Church. In March, 
1889, Mr. Miller married Verona Deti-oy. 
She was born at Evansville, daughter of 
Peter and Katherine (Hofman) Detroj. 
To Mr. and Mi-s. Miller were born four 
children : Alma, Fred, Jr., Margaret, and 
Oscar. 

Luther 'SI. Gross is well known in Mad- 
ison County, Indiana, was formerly a 
county official in Grant County, and is 
now cashier of the Citizens State Bank of 
Elwood. Mr. Gross found it incumbent 
'upon him at an early age to make his own 
way in the world, and right thriftily and 
energetically has he fulfilled this destiny. 

He was born in Owen County, Kentucky, 
on a farm, December 31, 1874, son of Wil- 
liam B. and Elizabeth (O'Banion) Gross. 
His people were early settlers in Southern 
Tennessee, and the family as far back as 
the record goes have been farmers. "Wil- 
liam B. Gross died on his homestead in 
Kentucky in 1895, and the widowed mother 
is still living, making her home at Elwood, 
Indiana. 

Luther M. Gross had only the advantages 
of a few winter terms of school in Owen 
County, Kentucky. Otherwise his services 
were in demand in the fields assisting his 
father raise tobacco, which is one of the 
chief crops. Subsequently he took a busi- 
ness course at the Agricultural and Me- 
chanical Business College at Lexington, 
Kentucky, and about the time he reached 
his majority moved to Indiana and settled 
in Grant County. For five years he was 
deputy county clerk there, and his evident 
qualifications and his growing influence in 
the democratic party finallj' put him on 
the ticket as candidate for county clerk, an 
office to which he was elected and in which 
he served four years. He was defeated for 
re-election by only sixty votes. 

In 1905 Mr. Gross came to Elwood, In- 



diana, and for two years was in the time- 
keeping department of the American Sheet 
and Tin Plate Company. He left that in- 
dustry to take a position as bookkeeper 
with the Citizens State Bank, and in Jan- 
uary, 1913, was elected cashier to succeed 
Charles Osborne. He is also one of the 
directors and stockholders of this solid 
financial institution in Madison County and 
has various other business interests. 

In October, 1894, Mr. Gross married 
Laura Lee Lemon, daughter of John A. 
and Georgia (Lowe) Lemon of "Williams 
County, Kentucky. Her father for manj' 
years was county superintendent of schools 
in that county. Mr. Gross has recently 
attained the proud distinction of being a 
grandfather, though he is himself hardly 
in middle life. His only son, "William J., 
born in 1896, married in November, 1916, 
Angelina Rogers, daughter of Samuel Rog- 
ers, and their young son, Frederick Mark, 
was born in January, 1918. 

Mr. Gross was elected a member of the 
City Council at large for Elwood in 1913 
and served one term. He is now a mem- 
ber of the City Park Board. He has held 
various offices in Elwood Lodge of the 
Knights of Pythias, is a member of the 
Improved Order of Red Men, and he and 
his family are active in the First Baptist 
Church. 

Omee F. Brown has long been well and 
favorably known in Howard County, his 
native county. He recently completed a 
term of service as sheriff, and is now assist- 
ant superintendent of the Indiana State 
Farm, Greencastle, Indiana. 

Mr. Brown represents a pioneer Indiana 
family and was born in Howard County, 
July " 31, 1881, son of J. F. and Anna 
(Carr) Brown. His great-grandfather, 
Hampton Brown, was born in the Territory 
of Indiana, son of Robert Brown, a native 
of England and a minister of the Quaker 
Church. Robert Brown was the Quaker 
minister among the Indians around Vin- 
cennes, and his son Hampton was born in 
the locality known as "Indian Camp." 
Robert Brown subsequently went to Ohio, 
and he spent his last years there. Hamp- 
ton Brown grew up and married in Ohio, 
settled in "Wayne County, Indiana, and 
about 1847 Came to Howard County and 
laid out tlie town which he named in honor 
of his son Jerome. He and his sons built 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2019 



the first mill iu that part of the county. 
Hampton Brown died at a good old age 
in 1871. 

One of his children was Harvey Brown, 
who came from Rush County, Indiana, to 
Howard County in 1851, and at Jerome en- 
gaged in stock dealing. He lived there un- 
til his death in 1902. He was a prominent 
man of his day, and had the confidence of 
the people of the entire county. He was a 
verj' successful farmer and a stanch re- 
publican. He filled out an unexpired term 
as county treasurer of Howard County. 
He was for many years a member of the 
.Methodist Church. 

J. F. Brown, father of Omer Brown, was 
born in Howard County, and in early life 
entered merchandising at Jerome and sub- 
sequently moved to Greentown. He was -i 
merchant for thirty years, and is now liv- 
ing retired at the age of sixty-two. He is 
a Methodist and a republican. Of his 
children only two are now living. 

Omer Brown was educated in the public 
schools of Greentown and in the Marion 
Normal Business College, graduating in 
1904. He was associated with his father 
in merchandising for eight years under the 
name Brown & Son. He was called from 
the management of the store in 1914 by 
the vote of the people of Howard County 
and entered upon the duties of sheriff at 
the age of thirty-two. His official term ex- 
pired January 1, 1919, and in the mean- 
time he had been appointed assistant sup- 
erintendent of the Indiana State Farm at 
Greeneastle. 

Mr. Brown is a member of Greentown 
Lodge No. 347, Ancient Fee and Accepted 
]\lasons, the Knights of Pythias, is a Meth- 
odist and a republican. He married Miss 
Daisy Campbell. They have two daugh- 
ters, Helen and Lillian. 

Charles Wolff, a real estate man of 
Michigan City and for many years an ac- 
tive farmer in that vicinity, is one of the 
few surviving men who can talk intimately 
of personal experience in the far "West 
when progress of civilization was beset on 
evei-y hand by the obstacles of nature and 
the perils of Indian warfare. 

Mr. "Wolff was born in Prussia, Germany, 
in February 1846, but has lived in the 
Ignited States more than sixty years. His 
father, Carl "Wolff, was also a native of 
Pru.ssia. where his parents spent all their 



days. Carl "Wolff attended school to the 
age of fourteen, then served an apprentice- 
ship at the carpenter's trade, and followed 
it as his occupation in Germany until 1856, 
when he brought his wife and eight chil- 
dren to America. They made the passage 
on a sailing vessel named Donau, under 
Captain Myers, and were five weeks and 
three days on the ocean. Landing at New 
York they pushed on westward to Wayne 
County, Michigan, buying a tract of land 
fourteen miles west of Detroit. A log 
cabin and a small cleared space con.stituted 
the improvements. The log cabin was the 
fir.st home of the Wolff family in 
America. Carl Wolff gave his time 
to clearing the land and tilling the soil. 
There was but little demand for either 
wood or lumber, and great maple logs were 
rolled together and burned. Some years 
later the Wolff family moved to the south- 
western corner of Michigan in Berrien 
County, where Carl Wolff bought an eighty 
acre farm in Buffalo Township. That was 
his home for twenty-eight years, and he 
spent his last days in Michigan City, where 
he died in 1908, at the venerable age of 
ninety-three. He married Elizabeth Hile- 
min, who died in 1906, aged also ninety- 
three years. Their children were named 
Caroline, Ricca, Gustav, Charles, Edmond, 
Amelia, and William. The mother by a 
former marriage also had a son, named 
John Conrad. 

Charles Wolff was ten years old when his 
parents came to this country. He had at- 
tended school in Germany and was also a 
pupil in a log cabin school in Wayne 
County, Michigan. At the age of eighteen 
he left home and began to make his own 
way in the world. Following the course 
of the Union Pacific and the Northern Pa- 
cific Railroad he eventually arrived in San 
Francisco, but remained on the Pacific 
coast only a short time before he returned 
home, passing through Kansas City, which 
was then a very small town. He' reached 
ilichigan in the spring of 1868, and in 
April, 1869, was again on his way to the 
West in the employ of the Northern -Pa- 
cific Railroad. He went to the Red River 
of the North at a time when Northern 
Minnesota and the Dakotas were an almost 
unexplored territory, having only a few 
scattered settlements along the stream. In 
1870 he preempted a tract of Government 
land in North Dakota. There was no rail- 



2020 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



road within miles, and while looking after 
his land he also used his team and wagon 
for freighting. In 1873 he had charge of 
the freight train that went West with 
General Custer for exploration of the Big 
Horn Mountain country in Montana. In 
1874 he was in the Black Hills expedition. 
All these expeditions were fraught with 
many adventures and hardships. At one 
time Mr. Wolff's wagon train was con- 
fronted by a stream about twelve feet wide 
and eight feet deep, with a rapid current 
of water. His wagons were loaded with 
boxes of bacon. He had to solve a prac- 
tical engineering problem without undue 
delay, and he ordered his men to unload 
the bacon and place it in the stream, ef- 
fecting a temporary dam and bridge over 
which the teams crossed successfully. The 
boxes of bacon were then taken up and 
reloailed without injury to the meat. Mr. 
Wolff was also with General Custer's 
freight tram in 1876 when Custer was on 
his last expedition. The general and his 
troops left the train at midnight, and the 
following day were beset by the Indians 
and massacred practically to a man. The 
freight train had a guard of fortv soldiers 
and started at daylight, but after going 
about a mile were surrounded bv Indians 
and a halt was called and the soldiers and 
drivers dug themselves In and stood a sieg,' 
for two weeks before being relieved by 
General Cook and taken to the Black Hills. 
Mr. Wolff did not receive his pay from 
the Government for this service until two 
years later. 

In the meantime he had enough of the 
perils and adventures of the far West and 
returning East he bought a farm in Mich- 
igan Township, three miles from Michigan 
City. He was steadily engaged in its man- 
agement and tilling until 1900, when he 
inovcfl to :\i;ch;gan City and entered the 
real estate business. 

In ]877 ilr. Wolff married Miss Caro- 
I'ne Cook. She was born in Wayne 
County, Michigan, where her parents, Fe- 
lix and Elizabeth Cook, natives of Saxony 
were early settlers. Mrs. Wolff died in 
1884, mother of two children, Ora, now de- 
ceased, and Clarissa, wife of George Davis 
In 1886 Mr. Wolff married Ida Cook, who 
was born in Michigan City, a daughter of 
Charles and Charlotte Cook. They have 
four children : William C. ; Laura, a kin- 
dergarten teacher ; Arthur ; and Alta. The 



son Arthur was with the American Expe- 
ditionary Forces in France. 

Omer U. Newman, who during twenty- 
five years of active membership in the 
Clarion County Bar has achieved state wide 
prominence as an Indiana lawyer, is not the 
only member of this old and prominent 
family to achieve some degree of special 
distinction. The Newmans were among the 
pioneers of Miami County, and some of the 
finest farming land in that section of the 
state was developed through their enter- 
prise, and much of it is still owned by the 
descendants, the Indianapolis lawyer him- 
self having some extensive interests as a 
farmer and stockman in addition to his 
regular calling and profession. 

Omer U.' Newman was born in Cass 
County, Indiana, February 22, 1868, son 
of Thomas I. and Kate E. L. (Junkin) 
Newman. 

His great-grandfather was Jonathan 
Newman, one of six brothers who lived in 
Tennessee. They belonged to the planting 
and slaveholding class of that state, but 
finally became convinced of the iniquity of 
slavery, freed their negroes and moved to 
the free lands of Ohio, where they became 
ranged in sympathies and influence with 
the most ardent of the abolitionists. 

The grandfather of the Indianapolis 
lawyer was Samuel K. Newman, who was 
born in Ohio March 19, 1819. In 1836 
when he was seventeen years old, he walked 
all the way from Dayton, Ohio, to Logans- 
port, Indiana, and on arriving had barel.v 
enough money to pay his tavern bill. He 
went to Logansport because his uncle, 
Eli.iah Cox, was at that time living on one 
of the backwoods farms of Miami County. 
Here Samuel K. Newman later started to 
make a home of his own, hewing it out of 
the dense forest on the south side of Eel 
river, fourteen miles east of Logansport. 
While he had nothing to begin with except 
his industry and some unusual qualities 
of character, he accumulated a large for- 
tune for that time, represented chiefly in 
the ownership of farm land. While he 
made his first purchases of land from the 
difficult savings of maniial labor, he also 
relied upon his unerring judgment and 
skill as a trader. It is said that he was a 
man of marked but never offensive pecu- 
liarities. When he advanced an opinion 
hearers would listen intently. In the course 




^..^^.4^^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2021 



of time he became known as the largest 
landed proprietor in Miami County, and 
owned much property in cities as well. His 
farm lands he used for stock raising, and 
he was one of the noted raisers of live- 
stock in that section of the state. 

He was twice married, but had only one 
child. The mother of his only son was 
Lydia Ann Harman, who was born in Jan- 
uary, 1824. and died December 20, 1877. 
Her people were also early settlers in 
Miami County from Ohio. Samuel K. New- 
man died December 5, 1902. 

His son, Thomas I. Newman, was born 
October 2, 1845, in Miami County, and ac- 
quired a liberal education, partly in the 
public schools of Miami County and later 
in the Union Christian College at Merom, 
Indiana. For many years his chief activ- 
ity was improving the many properties of 
his father, and he was known as a. man 
of advanced ideas, and especially proficient 
in livestock husbandry. He died in August, 
1911. Kate Junkin, his wife, was born 
May 9, 1848. and died December 12, 1899. 
They were the parents of five children : 
Omer U. : Olive, who married J. H. Fidler ; 
Samuel I.; William Turner; and Medford 
Kyle. 

Omer U. Newman, the oldest of the 
children, was educated in the common 
schools of Miami County, and also attended 
the Union Christian College at Merom. 
He was a student in DePauw University, 
and graduated from the Indiana Law 
School at Indianapolis with the class of 
1895. Up to the age of twenty he lived 
in close contact with the rural conditions 
of Miami County. He then began the 
studv of law, and entered upon practice 
in 1894 at Indianapolis. Jlr. Newman has 
never had a partnership in the law, but has 
had without doubt more than his share of 
leeal business in the Indiana courts. Many 
years ago he and ]\Ir. Harding appeared as 
counsel for defense in behalf of the dyna- 
mite conspirator. Mr. Newman has repre- 
sented several large corporations. 

Like his father and grandfather before 
him he has been a stanch republican, but 
never held a public office until he was 
elected in November, 1918. as state repre- 
sentative from Marion County. His elec- 
tion brought to the General Assembly the 
services of one of the best qualified law- 
yers and a man of the highest character of 
citizenship. Mr. Newman is affiliated with 



the Lodge, Chapter and Council of ila- 
sonry and with the Improved Order of Red 
Men. He married ^liss Mary Etta Larr 
daughter of David Larr of Merom, Indiana. 
They have three children: Lura Vadda, 
Roscoe Larr and Paul Irvin. 

Andy Adams, author, was born on the 
3d of May, 1859, on a farm, and his early 
educational training was received in a 
cross-roads country school in Whitley 
County, Indiana. He early followed the 
cattle trails in Texas, Indian Territory, and 
Montana, mined in Cripple Creek, Color- 
ado, and at Goldfield, Nevada, and expe- 
rienced in full the life of the frontier. But 
it is as an author that his name has be- 
come known to the public, and among his 
works may be mentioned "The Log of a 
Cowboy," "A Texas Matchmaker," "The 
Outlet,"" "Cattle Brands," "Reed An- 
thony, Cowman," and "Wells Brothers." 

William E. Harting is manager of 
Harting & Company, grain and feed mer- 
chants at Elwood. He entered the business 
working for his father twenty years ago, 
and his success is probably due to the fact 
that he has concentrated all his time and 
energies in one particular line. 

Mr. Harting was born at Elwood June 
26, 1878, son of Herman G. and Martha 
(:\Iock) Harting. He is of German ances- 
try. His grandfathei*, Hiram Harting, 
came from Germany about 1838 and was 
followed soon afterward by his wife who 
was on the ocean in an old fashioned sail- 
ing vessel six weeks between Europe and 
America. They settled in Wayne County, 
Indiana, near Liberty, and took up Gov- 
ernment land there. In 1851 they moved 
to a farm of 160 acres northeast of Elwood, 
and Grandfather Harting in the course of 
years of labor and good management be- 
came one of the large land owners in this 
section. Herman G. Harting had eight 
brothers and sisters. He was born in 
Wavne County, Indiana, and in early life 
worked for his father, but finally moved to 
a farm of his own of eighty acres in Madi- 
son County. He remained there with the 
farm and its cultivation until 1878, when 
he came to Elwood and bought the interest 
of ^Ir. Green in the firm of DeHority & 
Green, proprietors of the grain elevator. 
The firm was then reorganized as Harting 
& DeHority, and they were in business at 



2022 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



the present location of Harting & Company. 
After a year Mr. Harting bought out Mr. 
DeHority and then conducted the business 
alone until 1886. At that date his cousin, 
S. B. Harding, entered the partnership, 
known as Harting & Company. In Jan- 
uary, 1S12, William E. Harting acquired 
an equal partnership, though the name of 
the firm remains the same. 

In March, 1912, the company bought the 
old Kidwell & Goode flour mill. They have 
done much to re-equip and modernize this 
mill and now employ it in connection with 
the elevator for grinding feed. This firm 
has done much to establish Elwood in the 
favor of grain raisers over a territory 
eight or nine miles in a radius as a grain 
market and milling center. The firm buys 
corn, grain, seed, and other supplies from 
the producers, and besides selling locally 
ship many carloads every year to such mar- 
kets as Baltimore, Philadelphia, and Cin- 
cinnati. 

Herman G. Harting is still active in bus- 
iness and is the oldest grain merchant at 
Elwood. His wife died in May, 1893. 

William E. Harting was reared at El- 
wood, attended public schools there and 
finished with a business course in the Ma- 
rion Business College. He was twenty 
years old when in 1898 he went to work 
for his father, and has never had any em- 
ployment outside of the family business. 
He is now manager of the elevator and 
mill. He is also a director and stockholder 
of the Elwood Trust Company, and has 
some other business interests. 

In 1901 he married Miss Margaret Rey- 
nolds, daughter of Charles L. and Arminda 
•J. (Cranor) Reynolds of Elwood. They 
have two children : Jane, born in 1908, and 
Martha Josephine, born in 1914. Mr. 
Harting is a democrat, but holding office 
has never bothered him and has never been 
an ob.iect of his ambition. He is affiliated 
with Elwood Lodge No. 368, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and is a 
Royal Arch Mason. He and his family are 
members of the First Christian Church. 

Ray C. Brock is a manufacturer of wide 
experience, and is now president of the Ko- 
komo Supply Company, jobbers in high 
grade plumbing supplies and mill supplies. 
This is one of tlie concerns that is rapidly 
bringing Kokonio to prominence as a great 
industrial center. 



Mr. Brock was bom at Ionia, Michigan, 
December 13, 1876, son of John 0. and 
Laura Brock. His father was a native of 
New York, moved west to Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, and for a number of years was 
an active railroad man, and is still active 
though in advanced years. Ray C. Brock, 
the younger of two children, was educated 
in the public schools of Ionia, graduating 
from high school in 1894. He had his 
early experience as a manufacturer in the 
great furniture center of Grand Rapids. 
For fourteen years he was connected with 
the furniture factories there, and left that 
city in 1905 to become superintendent of 
the Stoltz-Schmitt Furniture Company at 
Evansville, Indiana. He was in Southeru 
Indiana five years, and in 1910 came to 
Kokomo as superintendent of the Central 
Closet Manufacturing Company. In 1914 
^Ir. Brock assisted in organizing the Ko- 
komo Supply Comjjany, and has since been 
its president. A. A. Dunlap is vice presi- 
dent and Louis F. Fee, secretary and treas- 
urer. They handle a large volume of bus- 
iness and distribute much of the material 
in their line over Nortliern Indiana. 

Mr. Brock is affiliated with the Masonic 
Order, is a member of the Eagles and 
served as trustee of the local lodge one 
year, and is a member of the Travelers 
Protective Association. Politically he is a 
republican. September 11, 1896, he mar- 
ried Miss Lottie Hopkins, daughter of 
Frank Hopkins of Grand Rapids, Michigan. 



Mary Otilda Goslee is an Indiana 
woman who has rendered long and notable 
service in her home City of Evansville as 
public librarian. She has been the admin- 
istrative head of the Willard Library since 
it was established, through the generosity 
of Willard Carpenter, who left upwards of 
$150,000 for that purpose. The library 
now contains approximately 50,000 vol- 
umes. 

Miss Goslee, who was born in Evansville, 
is of French Hugi:enot ancestry, four 
brothers of the name having come to 
America in the seventeenth century. Her 
grandfather. Dr. Samuel Goslee, was born 
on the eastern shore of Maryland, was a 
well educated physician, and moving to 
Kentucky for many years served a large 
clientage first in Jeff'erson County and 
later in Oldham County. He also acquired 
a plantation and owned slaves until he be- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2023 



came eouverted to abolition principles, and 
then set his negroes free. He spent his 
last years in Jefferson County. 

Ferdinand Goslee, father of Miss Goslee, 
was born in Jefferson County, Kentucky, 
and became a merchant at Louisville and 
later in Evansville, where he died when 
about forty-one years old. He married 
Ann Amelia Wheeler, who was born in 
England, daughter of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth (Early) Wheeler. The Wheeler fam- 
ily came to America in 1819 and were pio- 
neers in Vanderburg County, Indiana, 
where they acquired and improved exten- 
sive tracts of Government land. Joseph 
Wheeler was a preacher in the Wesleyan 
faith in England and did similar service 
for the ^lethodist cause in the early days 
of Southern Indiana. He lived to be 
eighty-seven and his wife to eighty-nine. 
Miss Goslee 's mother died at the age of 
eighty-one, the mother of four children : 
Margaret Louise, wife of Cyrus K. Drew; 
ilary Otilda, James S., and Ferdinand. 

ilary Otilda Goslee acquired a thorough 
education in private schools. She became 
librarian for the Evansville Library Asso- 
ciation in 1873, and when that was con- 
(•olidated with the \Villard Library in 1885 
she assumed the duties to which she has 
devoted her time and talents for over 
thirty years. She is a member of St. 
Paul's Episcopal Church. 

Charles Haven Neff is a man of many 
and prominent connections with the life 
and affairs of Madison County. As a boy 
he taught school there, and thirty years 
ago qualified himself by hard study for the 
practice of law. The law has not been his 
regular calling, however, and the profes- 
sion lost a well trained and highly qualified 
member when he went into newspaper 
work. Mr. Neff knows practicall.v every 
angle of the newspaper game, from com- 
positor and reporter to publisher and 
owner. He is vice president, secretary, 
and business manager of the Herald Pub- 
lishing Company, publishers of The An- 
derson Herald, the oldest and most influ- 
ential republican paper in Madison County. 

Mr. Neff is a native of Madison County, 
born in Fall Creek Township on a farm 
March 19, 1861, a son of Jesse T. and 
Sarah (Ulen) Neff. The Neff family is a 
combination of Swiss and German ances- 
try. During colonial times in America six 



brothers of the name came to this country 
and established families that soon became 
widely scattered through the Carolinas, 
Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Ohio. Some 
of the descendants of these brothers fought 
as Revolutionary soldiers. Jesse T. Neff 
was both a farmer and a competent me- 
chanic. When Charles H. Neff was two 
years of age the family moved to Pendle- 
ton and several years later to Anderson. 
Mr. Neff was educated in the public 
schools of Anderson, graduating from high 
school with the class of 1878. That was 
the third class of the high school. In the 
meantime during summers he had worked 
at different occupations, principally as a 
lather for his father. At the age of seven- 
teen, after taking an examination and be- 
ing duly qualified, he began teaching 
school. He had a country school in Stony 
Creek Township two years, for two terms 
was connected with the city schools of An- 
derson, and another year was principal of 
the Fisherburg school. His wages as a 
teacher were carefully saved with a view 
to the future, and during all his vacations 
he helped his father. In 1883 Mr. Neff 
entered Asbury, now DePauw, University 
at Greencastle, Indiana, and in June, 1887, 
was graduated Ph. B. and subsequently 
was given the degree Master of Arts by 
the same school. While at University he 
continued his work in the plasterer's trade, 
assisting his father, but in his junior year 
at college he entered the office of Howell 
D. Thompson at Anderson, and spent the 
entire summer studying law. On return- 
ing to DePauw he carried both the law and 
his regular literary courses, and in 1887 
was admitted to the bar before the Supreme 
Court upon motion by Senator Turpie. 
After that he continued his studies at An- 
derson with Howell Thompson, but in the 
fall of 1887 was called upon to organize 
the school system of Alexandria in Madi- 
son County. After these schools were or- 
ganized he had charge as principal for two 
years. 

About that time, as a means of employ- 
ment during one summer, he undertook 
to handle the sporting page or the sport- 
ing column rather ef the Anderson Bulle- 
tin, and later took employment with the 
Herald, then under the editorial direction 
of John H. Lewis. Once in the newspaper 
profession he has never seen fit nor has 
he had any special inclination to get out. 



2024 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



He became city editor of the Anderson 
Herald, was also active local correspondent 
for the Associated Press, and has been with 
the Herald through all its various owner- 
ships for the past thirty years. In 1898 he 
and E. C. Toner bought the Herald from 
Wallace B. Campbell. At that time he 
took the business management, and has 
handled the buisness affairs of the paper 
ever since. 

]\Ir. Neff is a stockholder in the Ander- 
son Banking Company, in the Merchants 
Fire Insurance Company of Indiana, and 
has various other business holdings. Politi- 
call.y he has been a republican all his life, 
though in 1912 he became active in the pro- 
gressive movement. He has served as a 
member of the Library Board of Ander- 
son as chairman of its purchasing com- 
mittee, is a trustee of the First ^Methodist 
Church, and has been a teacher of the 
Men's Bible Class for a number of years. 
He belongs to the Phi Kappa Psi frater- 
nity of DePauw University, to the Ander- 
son Country Club, the Tourist Club and 
the Columbia Club of Indianapolis. 

In 1894 Mr. Neff married Rosalie Alice 
Briekley, daughter of Dr. "William P. and 
Julia Briekley. They have two children, 
Paul Wilbur, born in 1898, and now a stu- 
dent in DePauw University and Dorothy 
Elizabeth, born in 1900. 

Ollie H. Buck, of Kokomo, is a western 
man in spirit, enterprise and temperament, 
and his presence in Indiana is a tribute to 
this great state's industrial opportunities. 
Mr. Buck is active head of the Worth Wire 
Works, and is also identified with a num- 
ber of other local industries and business 
organizations of Kokomo and elsewhere. 

His birth occurred at Waco, McLennan 
County, Texas, March 12, 1879. His father, 
Giddings J. Buck, was a native of Louis- 
ville, Kentucky, and is now deceased. Ollie 
H. Buck was sixth in a family of eight chil- 
dren, six of whom are still living. 

The first eighteen yeai-s of his life were 
spent quietly at home attending local 
schools. In 1898 he enlisted for service in 
the Spanish-American war, as a sergeant in 
Company H, Second Texas Volunteers. He 
served from April until November. The 
regiment was mustered in at Austin, then 
transferred to Mobile, Alabama, thence to 
Miami, Florida, Jacksonville, Florida, and 



then back to Dallas, Texas, where it was 
mustered out. 

For about two years after this brief 
army service ;\Ir. Buck had an interesting 
though not altogether agreeable experience 
for a man of his temper. He was guard 
and assistant superintendent of a force of 
state convicts stationed in the rice and 
sugar growing districts around Eagle Lake, 
Texas. In 1901 he engaged in cattle ranch- 
ing, and for two and a half years was lo- 
cated on the A. H. Pierce ranches in Mata- 
gorda and Wharton counties in Southern 
Texas. The next two years he spent as 
deputy in the sheriff's office at Fort Worth, 
Texas. 

He left his public duties to become man- 
ager of the Worth Wire Works, then lo- 
cated at St. Louis. The main product 
manufactured by the Worth Wire Works 
involves an interesting little story which 
has been published and sent out by "the com- 
pany and which maj' properly be quoted 
at this point. 

A few years ago a cow puncher woi-king 
on one of the large cattle ranches in South- 
west Texas was confronted with the diffi- 
cult problem of trying to keep in repair a 
division line fence consisting of three 
strands of barbed wire, and with posts 
spaced about fifty feet apart, the scarcity 
of timber in that section making the price 
of posts almost prohibitive. He hit upon 
the idea of taking short pieces of wire and 
"staying" the line wires at intervals of 
four or five feet, thus preventing the cat- 
tle from crawling through the fence. 

From that he developed his idea more 
ingeniously and finally perfected the 
"Cinch Fence Stay." About that time a 
friend who had a little money to invest pro- 
posed that they set up a shop in a small 
town nearby and manufacture and market 
the fence stays. It did not take long to 
('enionstrate the merits and economical 
features of these stays, and it was not a 
question of selling them but of manufac- 
turing them in sufficient quantities to fill 
the orders. The engineers of the United 
States Government were also attracted to 
the Cinch Stays, with the result that they 
were at once specified on various reclama- 
tion pro.ieets. Railroad engineers also 
recognized their advantages, and today the.v 
are used on thousands and thousands of 
miles of right-of-way fence. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2025 



The first factoiy for the manufacture of 
these fence stays was in a wood shed in a 
small west Texas ranch town. From there 
it was moved to Fort Worth, and when Sir. 
Buck went to St. Louis as manager of the 
Worth Wire Works the business was in its 
third stage of growth and progress. He 
conducted it at St. Louis for about seven 
months. In order to get the factory nearer 
the source of supplies for the raw wire ma- 
terial Mr. Buck moved the plant and 
equipment to Kokomo, locating in a small 
frame building in the rear of the Kokomo 
Steel and Wire Company's fence mill. 
Two years later the Worth Wire Works 
erected a new factory at 1501 North Wash- 
ington Street, where its operations have 
since been conducted under a healthy and 
steadily increasing growth. Its essential 
and special product is the wire fence stay 
above described, which has, as already 
noted, been extensively adopted by rail- 
roads throughout the country for right-of- 
way fencing by the United States Govern- 
ment in reclamation projects, though the 
bulk of the great volume of patronage 
comes from stock raisers, farmers and 
ranchers in both continents. 

Mr. Buck since becoming a resident of 
Kokomo has identified himself with many 
other enterprises. He is vice president of 
the Hoosier Oil Company, now operating 
branches in Kokomo, Lafayette, Green- 
town, and Tipton, Indiana. He is a mem- 
ber of the board of directors of the United 
Oil & Gas Company of Kokomo, a director 
and secretary of the Liberty Gas & Oil 
Company of Kokomo, is general manager 
and one-third owner in the Kokomo 
Wrench Company, and is owner and man- 
ager of the National Products Company of 
Kokomo. 

Patriotic movements of many kinds have 
made strong appeals to his interest and en- 
thusiasm. He is Howard County chairman 
of the American Protective League, is 
county chairman of the Military Training 
Camp Association, and county chairman 
of the War Savings Stamp Committee. 
He is also on the board of the Howard 
County Fuel Commission. Other organiza- 
tions with which he is actively connected 
are the Kokomo Chamber of Commerce, 
chairman of its executive committee, the 
Young Men's Christian Association, on its 
board of directors, the Travelers' Protec- 
tive Association, the United Commercial 



Travelers, the Order of Elks, in which he is 
esteemed leading knight, and he is a Ma- 
son and a Shriner. Mr. Buck is a member 
of the Christian Congregational Church, 
and in polities is independent. 

George W. Eichholtz is one of the vet- 
eran manufacturers and lumbermen of In- 
diana, a business with which he has been 
identified for half a century or more, and 
is senior member of G. W. Eichholtz & 
Son, wholesale lumber dealers in Indian- 
apolis. 

Mr. Eichholtz was born January 24, 1846, 
in Wabash County, Indiana, a sou of Doc- 
tor Henry and Sarah (Murray) Eichholtz. 
His father, who was born in Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania, went west to Ohio in early 
days, and for about six years lived at 
Kingston in that state, and then acquired 
160 acres of raw land in the wilder- 
ness of Wabash County, Indiana, and 
cleared up and by perseverance developed 
an excellent farm. He was a man of rare 
talents and of tireless energy, so that his 
achievements and experiences were by no 
means of a usual character. He was a well 
grounded physician and practiced the pro- 
fession for a number of years. He handled 
his farm with much success and also en- 
gaged in manufacturing, and here found 
vent for a genius which would have made 
him a very successful architect. He had 
great capacity in handling all kinds of 
machinery and was an excellent artist, 
though he had little training in that profes- 
sion. He could take a pen or pencil, and 
with a few strokes depict the face of an 
acquaintance, and he was also equally 
gifted in mechanical drawing. In 1849 he 
started west for California, but on the way 
he was taken ill and returned home by 
New Orleans. His home was in Wabash 
County, on the farm, from 1842 until 1882, 
when he removed to North Manchester, and 
died in that city in 1886. He was a mem- 
ber of the English Lutheran Church, and 
at one time served as trustee of Wittenberg 
College at Springfield, Ohio. In 1856 he. 
left his party, the democratic, refusing to 
vote for James Buchanan, and afterward 
was a steadfast republican. He celebrated 
the fiftieth anniversary of his membership 
as a Mason in Deming Lodge No. 88 at 
North Manchester. Considering the times 
in which he lived it is very significant and 
a testimony to his strength of will and 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



character that he was absolutely temperate 
and was never known to take a drink of 
intoxicating liquor. He was twice married. 
His first wife was Margaret Barr of Penn- 
sylvania, who died in 1839, and all her 
children are deceased. For his second wife 
he married Sarah A. Murray, who died in 
1906. Her four children were: Maria E., 
George W., Caroline C. and Adaline A. 

George W. Eichholtz as a boy attended 
school in a little log building, which, how- 
ever, was one of the best in which the 
schools of Wabash County was then housed. 
He received most of his education by per- 
sonal experience. He was at home with his 
father until twenty-three, and became as- 
sociated with the elder Eichholtz in manu- 
facturing. His father had established a 
cabinet factory in Pleasant Township of 
Wabash County, and manufactured all 
kinds of furniture in addition to sash, 
doors, and blinds. The factory was sup- 
plied with power from a water mill. The 
son had many of the responsibilities of its 
management until 1869. In that year he 
took up the manufacture of a patent churn, 
which he sold extensively among the 
farmers of Indiana and Illinois. In 1874 
he began the manufacture of a churn of 
his individual invention, and this he ex- 
ploited with even greater success than the 
previous churn. In 1876 he formed a 
partnership with Lewis Petry and J. J. 
Valdenaire under the name Eichholtz, Pe- 
try & Valdenaire. In 1877 this company 
besides manufacturing churns began a gen- 
eral lumber business, installing a complete 
saw mill. Later they built two other saw 
mills, one at Goshen, Indiana, and one at 
Des Moines, Iowa. 

In 1884 Mr. Eichholtz sold his interests 
and soon afterward accepted a position as 
traveling representative for a Muskegon 
lumber firm. He sold lumber on a commis- 
sion basis and built up and developed a 
very large sales territory for the firm. In 
order to have a more central location from 
which he could attend to his' trade, I\lr. 
Eichholtz moved to Indianapolis in Au- 
gust, 1892. In 1906 he formed a partner- 
ship with his son Charles under the name 
Eichholtz & Son, and they now confine 
themselves to the wholesale lumber busi- 
ness, specializing in yellow pine lumber and 
red cedar shingles, and distribute the prod- 
ucts of some of the largest manufacturing 
firms in the country to the retail yards of 



their territory around Indianapolis. The 
offices of G. W. Eichholtz & Son are in the 
Lemcke Building. 

Mr. Eichholtz is a thirty-second degree 
Scottish Rite Mason, 'is a republican and 
belongs to the English Lutheran Church. 
November 7, 1869, at Silver Lake, Indiana, 
he married Miss Martha Linn. Mrs. Eich- 
holtz died March 17, 1893, the mother of 
four children. The three now living are 
Ida A., Eva A., and Charles V. April 8, 
1898, Mr. Eichholtz married Mary E. Waid- 
laich, of Columbia City, Indiana. 

The son Charles V. since early manhood 
has been active in the lumber business, and 
now carries the heavier responsibilities ol 
G. W. Eichholtz & Son. On October 14, 
1907, he married Miss Clara Peckman. 

Albert A. Barnes. Of this venerable 
citizen, a resident of Indianapolis more 
than half a century, and still president of 
the Udell Works, it is possible to write 
a record with that finality afforded by the 
near approach of fourscore yeare of age 
and with the certainty that none of the 
facts here set down or judgments pro- 
nounced will ever be controverted. 

A human life is interesting for its ex- 
periences, its solved problems, its duties 
and responsibilities discharged, and the 
expression of those living and vital ele- 
ments of character as well as its practical 
action. On all these points Albert A. 
Barnes is a notable figure in Indiana citi- 
zenship. 

He was born at Stoekbridge, Vermont, 
February 14, 1839. His parents, Joseph 
and Eliza (Simpson) Barnes, were people 
in humble circumstances and had ten chil- 
dren. When Albert was five years of age 
his parents removed to Springfield. ^lassa- 
chusetts. which was his home until he was 
ten. With manv mouths to feed, the abil- 
ity and enterprise of the father soon fell 
short of satisfying even the simpler neces- 
sities, and necessity brought the children 
on to the stage of serious action without 
regard for their tender years. As one 
source of revenue to defray the expenses 
of tlie family Albert was selling candy and 
peanuts at the age of six. At nine he began 
working on a horse ferry over the river at 
Holyoke, that employment being termi- 
nated when the ferry was destroyed by 
floods. He also worked in a sawmill and 
stave factory at Winchester, New Hamp- 




<^-«^^:^^^^l^^^/>'7>'2L-^L-^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANA NS 



2027 



shire, until he was eleven. It would be a 
difficult matter for even ]\Ir. Barnes to re- 
count all the varied activities and emplo.y- 
ments of his youthful years. Until he was 
twenty-one he had exceedingly limited op- 
portunities to attend school, and reached 
manhood with only the ability to read and 
write and figure. At twelve he became an 
employe in a woolen factory.. There was in 
him even at that age the quality of fidelity 
and industry which makes advancement 
and promotion certain. At the age of six- 
teen he was second overseer in the factory. 
But the factory was on the decline, and in 
the meantime 3Ir. Barnes' father had be- 
come incapacitated for hard work. The 
son therefore led the family as its chief 
executive head to a farm in New Hamp- 
shire, and resorted to the hard and toil- 
some process of wringing a living from 
the stony soil of New England. Mr. 
Barnes' memory can hardly recall a time 
when he did not have responsibilities in 
advance of his years, and practically from 
the age of nine he was carrying a large 
share of the family support upon his 
young shoulders. His mother was the di- 
recting head of the family, and to her he 
turned over all his earnings. After one 
year on the farm he left it with his mother 
and the other children, and then wgrt to 
Springfield, Massachusetts, to learn the art 
of photography. That art was then in its 
crude infancy and the photographer was 
chiefly a daguerreotype artist. Having 
mastered the fundamental principles of the 
art Mr. Barnes took one of the old fash- 
ioned traveling photograph cars, drawn by 
horses, traveled about various sections of 
New England, and for a time he also had 
a studio on Broadway in New York City 
and at Providence, Ehode Island. 

In 1860, at the age of twenty-one, Mr. 
Barnes came West, opening a photograph 
studio at Rockford, Illinois. While at 
Rockford on April 2, 1861, he married 
Abby C. Clayton. He removed his photo- 
graph business to Beloit, Wisconsin, and 
while living there was drafted for the 
army, but on account of his own heavy 
family responsibilities, still contributing to 
the support of his parents as well as his 
own household, he hired a substitute. 
Leaving his wife to run the gallery at 
Beloit, he went south for the purpose of 
photographing war scenes at Murfreesboro 
and Nashville, Tennessee. 



Returning in the spring of 1864, ]Mr. 
Barnes soon afterward came to Indian- 
apolis. Here he established a gallery on 
Washington Street, at the present site of 
the New York store. Doubtless there are 
some old fashioned photographs much 
cherished by families living in Indian- 
apolis the product of Barnes, the Photog- 
rapher, who was in that business here until 
1867. 

He left photography to engage in the 
commission business, his location being 
where the W. H. Blocks store now stands.' 
He prospered as a commission man, and in 
1882 bought the Udell Works. Since then 
he has given his chief attention to this fac- 
tory for the manufacture of furniture and 
specialties. The Udell Works had had a 
varied experience and had made many fail- 
ures, but ]Mr. Barnes was more than equal 
to the task of establishing it as one of the 
most substantial plants in the industries of 
the capital city. 

His business energy and resources have 
been helpful in many of the institutions of 
the city. When the Union Trust Company 
was organized about a quarter of a century 
ago he became one of its directoi-s and has 
been on the board ever since. In 1901 he 
was one of the purchasers of the old State 
Bank and assisted in organizing the Colum- 
bia Bank, of which he became vice presi- 
dent. He also took the lead in the reestab- 
lishment of Franklin College, now one of 
the leading educational institutions of In- 
diana. He was also vice president of the 
Claypool Hotel and assisted in building it. 
^Ir. Barnes was converted in 1866 and 
.ioined the First Baptist Church. He has 
filled all the official positions in the church 
and is now both deacon and trustee. In 
1916 he and his wife rounded out fifty 
years of continuous membership in the or- 
ganization. At the age of twenty-one Mr. 
Barnes cast his first vote for a republican 
president, and his record is one of unwav- 
ering fidelity to that party in all the sub- 
sequent years. He was deprived of the 
consolation and companionship of his good 
wife February 28, 1917. They had two ' 
children : Lena V.. who died at the age 
of four and a half years; and Nellie E., 
who died when fifteen. 

As this brief outline of facts shows Mr. 
Barnes has had a varied business experi- 
ence. The variety of the occupations in 
which he engaged in early life no doubt 



2028 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



disciplined his mind and judgment and 
fortified his courage in assuming responsi- 
bilities and new ventures which were en- 
tirely unrelated to his previous lines of 
activity. He acquired the faculty of judg- 
ing things not from the estimate of others 
but through his own mind. His business 
associates long since learned that before 
undertaking an enterprise he gave it care- 
ful investigation and then decided firmly 
and unequivocally. When he bought the 
Udell Works at auction it had several times 
brought disaster to the previous owners 
and he was warned by men of sound judg- 
ment that it would prove unprofitable to 
him. He had the courage to do and dare, 
and results have justified his decision. His 
influence has always been on the side of 
morality and brotherly helpfulness. His 
purse has been opened to the needy in- 
dividual and also to the worthy public in- 
stitutions. At the organization of the Y. 
M. C. A. he was president of the Board of 
Trustees and chairman of the building com- 
mittee, and raised $140,000 in six days. His 
membership of fifty years with the First 
Baptist Church of Indianapolis and the 
lona: sustained and sweet companionship 
with the wife of his youth are among his 
fondest recollections. When the shadows 
of his life are gathering his consolation is 
the thought of having lived a well spent 
career, attached to which is no suggestion 
of taint or dishonor. The world is the bet- 
ter for the life of such a man as Albert 
A. Barnes. 

Rev. Charles R. Adams was born in 
Switzerland County, Indiana, January 5, 
1874, a son of Thomas Leonard and Eliza- 
beth Harris Adams. After completing a 
thorough educational training the son 
taught in high school for two years, but 
his real life work has been the ministry, 
and since 1911 he has been the pastor of 
the First Presbyterian Church of Cham- 
paign, Illinois. He has also identified him- 
self with ministerial affairs and has served 
as moderator of the Synod of North Da- 
kota, 1910-1911, college visitor imder com- 
mittee of General Assembly, 1910-12, and 
member of the Social Service Commission 
of the General Assembly, 1917. 

The Reverend Adams married Annie 
Oldfather, a daughter of the Rev. Jeremiah 
M. Oldfather, for eighteen years mission- 
ary in Urumiah, Pei'sia, where the' daugh- 



ter was born. Reverend and Mrs. Adams 
have four children, John Maxwell, Helen 
Miriam, Philip Rice, and Dorothj'. 

Fred Bthell Mustard is cashier of the 
Citizens Bank of Anderson. Since he at- 
tained his majority this bank has been the 
center around which his activities and in- 
terests have revolved, and to the bank have 
gone in increasing numbers with passing 
years people who have learned to respect 
his judgment, admire his integrity, and re- 
pose important business trusts with him. 
Naturallj^ he has acquired other interests 
than banking, and is officially identified 
with several of the large industrial and 
business concerns which made the name An- 
derson familiar throughout the country. 

Fred Ethell Mustard was born at Ander- 
son November 15, 1873, son of Daniel F. 
and Adda (Ethell) Mustard. At the time 
of his birth his father enjoyed a fine posi- 
tion of esteem in the communit3% and he 
spent his boyhood days in a home marked 
by reasonable comfort and advantage. He 
was given the opportunities of the local 
public schools, and spent a year in two of 
the best known and most exclusive prepar- 
atory schools of New England, the Exeter 
and the Phillips Andover Academies. 

On completing his education Mr. Mus- 
tard returned home in 1894, and at that 
time took his place as a clerk in the Citi- 
zens Bank. He was promoted to assistant 
cashier, and on January 1, 1917, became 
cashier. The Citizens Bank of Anderson 
is an institution that has been practically 
under one management now for over thirty 
years. It has a capital stock of $100,000, 
surplus of $40,000, and its deposits in the 
fall of 1917 were $1,460,000. 

The other active business interests of 
Fred E. Mustard are as secretary and 
treasurer of the Pierce Governor Company, 
an Anderson industry manufacturing gov- 
ernors for gasoline engines, the output of 
the factory being shipped to all parts of 
the world. Mr. Mustard was one of the 
organizers of this business. He is secre- 
tary and treasurer of the F. C. Cline Lum- 
ber Company, and was also one of the or- 
ganizers and first directors of this large 
business. 

Mr. Mustard has given allegiance to the 
same political party as his father. In 1914 
he was appointed president of the Ander- 
son Metropolitan Police Force. He is ac- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2029 



tive in the Anderson Lodge of Elks, the 
Anderson Country Club, and he and his 
family have an enviable social position in 
that city. In 1899 he married Nelda Dick- 
son, of Indianapolis, daughter of J. B. and 
Emma (Butsch) Dickson. Mr. and i\Irs. 
Mustard have one daughter, Janet Dick- 
son, who was born in 1900 and is now a 
student in Dana Hall, Wellesley, Massa- 
cuusetts. 

Frederick W. Heath. Every commun- 
ity and county has its outstanding names, 
representing families of early residence, of 
substantial activities and character, and of 
that element in Delawai-e County undoubt- 
edly one of those best known is the Heath 
family. 

"When Delaware County was still with 
few exceptions a vast tract of government 
land, Ralph Heath entered a homestead in 
1829 in Salem Township west of Muncie. 
Ralph Heath was a native of Guilford 
County, North Carolina. His grandfather 
with two brothers had come from London 
and settled in Maryland. In that colony 
Jacob Heath, father of Ralph, was born 
and reared and then moved to North Car- 
olina. Ralpli Heath married in North Car- 
olina Mary Tomlinson. With the adven- 
turous spirit of the true pioneers this cou- 
ple brought their children to Indiana, 
making the overland journey with wagons 
and arriving in Wayne County in October, 

1828. The family lived in Wayne County 
only about a year, and on December 25, 

1829, Ralph Heath brought his family to 
occupy their little log cabin home in Salem 
Township of Delaware County. 

It was during the brief residence of the 
family in Wayne County that Rev. Jacob 
W. Heath was born, and he was only about 
a year old when brought to Delaware 
County. He grew up in a good Christian 
home, and learned the lessons of purity, 
gentleness of manner and integrity of char- 
acter which distinguished him in after 
years. He grew up in typical pioneer sur- 
roundings, getting an education in the sub- 
scription schools. He also attended the 
Delaware County Academy and for a time 
was a teacher. He was a farmer until 
1868, when he removed to Muncie and took 
up grocery, real estate, and life insurance 
business. He is perhaps best remembered 
for his zealous work as a local minister of 
the ■ Methodist Church. He .joined that 



church at the age of sixteen and was suc- 
cessively class leader, trustee, steward, 
Sunday school superintendent, exhorter, 
and after 1877 a local minister. He was 
one of the early temperance advocates of 
the county and in national affairs voted 
as a republican. 

Rev. Jacob W. Heath died in October, 
1902, at the age of sevent.y-three. He mar- 
ried in 1850 Rlioda A. Perdieu, daughter 
of Rev. Abner Perdieu. To their marriage 
were born eight children, six .sons and two 
daughters, six of whom are still living, five 
sons and one daughter. The living sons 
»re John B., Frederick W., Perry S., 
Fletcher S., and Cyrus R. 

Frederick W. Heath, whose family con- 
nections and ancestry have been thus briefly 
traced, was born in Delaware County May 
5, 1854. He attended common schools un- 
til sixteen .years of age, worked in a print- 
ing office, in a grocery store, and for a time 
kept a cigar store in the old Kirby House. 
The business distinction which is most 
familiarly associated with tire name of Mr. 
Heath is that he is the oldest real estate 
man in point of continuous service at Mun- 
cie. There were of course many real es- 
tate transactions made in the city and 
county before he entered the field, but he 
was one of the early men to make the bus- 
iness a profession and study, and he has 
outlived all his contemporaries and com- 
petitors. He engaged in the business when 
only nineteen years old. Mr. Heath orig- 
inated the plan a number of years later of 
building up a $200,000 fund for encourag- 
ing factories to locate at Muncie, and his 
friends subscribed $10,000 for that pur- 
pose. The first big deal Mr. Heath made 
was handling the large tract of 380 acres 
on the west side of Muncie on the site of 
which the Normal School has since been 
built. This tract was acquired for $62,000 
and ilr. Heath sold it out for a total of 
$97,000. For many years he has been ex- 
tensively interested in the sale of South 
Dakota lands. This business connection 
came largely through the influence of Gov- 
ernor Millette of South Dakota. Governor 
^Millette at one time lived in Delaware 
County and was a friend of Mr. F. W. 
Heath. That was the beginning of an in- 
timacy that continued even after he moved 
West and was elevated to the governorship 
of his state. When Governor Millette died 
he manifested his great confidence in his 



2030 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



friend by making Mr. Heath an executor 
of his estate. 

Mr. Heath has been active in Muncie's 
business affairs for half a century and has 
perhaps done as much as any other local 
citizen in building up the town and ex- 
panding its institutions and business op- 
portunities to keep pace with a population 
that has grown under his personal observa- 
tion from less than 5,000 to over 30,000. 
He has always been on hand ready to lend 
his assistance and encouragement to worthy 
causes. Mr. Heath is called by his friends 
a fund of tremendous human energy. In 
his earlier days he frequently began work 
at five o'clock in the morning and contin- 
ued on until midnight. That energy is 
perhaps a characteristic of the family, since 
his brothers have likewise in their respec- 
tive localities gained business success and 
are men of influence and means. 

Mr. Heath did not marry until he was 
past thirty years, of age, and as a result of 
his earnest business energy he had saved 
up what was then a fair fortune of $30,000, 
so that he and his wife began their home 
life with practically all the comforts and 
luxuries they desired. January 1, 1885, 
Mr. Heath married Miss Laura Bennett, 
daughter of William Bennett. Her father 
was the largest land owner in Delaware 
County. Their son, Bennett Heath, was 
educated in the public schools and college 
and his name is familiar in athletic circles 
because of his splendid performances as a 
golf player. He is now doing his part in 
the great war, with the rank of captain. 

John W. Lorenz, a veteran druggist at 
Evansville, has also for the past fifteen 
years carried on a large and growing busi- 
ness as a physician and surgeon. Doctor 
Lorenz has always stood high in commer- 
cial circles of Evansville, and has earned 
equal honors in the profession of medicine, 
for which he had an ambition when a boy, 
but did not succeed in realizing it for a 
number of years. Doctor Lorenz was born 
on a farm a mile from Highland, Madison 
County, Illinois. His father, Frank Lo- 
renz. was born in Hesse Cassel, Germany, 
in 1835. His grandfather, John Jacob 
Lorenz, also a native of Germany, brought 
his family in 1845 to America. They trav- 
eled on a sailing vessel, and after many 
weeks landed at New Orleans. They went 
up the Mississippi to St. Louis, where John 



Jacob followed the business of market 
gardener until 1856. In that year he re- 
moved to the eastern part of Madison 
County, Illinois, and bought a farm near 
the old Swiss colony of Highlaiad. Much 
of that country was still in a pioneer wild- 
erness, and he did much to improve from 
its virgin condition the land which he 
bought a mile north of Highland. He 
spent the rest of his life as a market gar- 
dener, and died when nearly ninety years 
of age. His wife passed away in 1857. 
Their four children were Frank, John H., 
Amelia Goetz, and Elizabeth Schmetter. 

Frank Lorenz was ten years old when the 
family came to America, and he learned the 
habits of industry and thrift while living 
with his father and workine- as a truck 
gardener. Later he succeeded to the own- 
ership of the old homestead at Highland, 
and continued general farming and stock 
raising there on a very successful scale 
until 1882 when he moved into the city of 
Highland where he lived retired, enjoying 
the fruits of a well spent life until his 
death in 1919 at the age of eighty- 
four. He married in 1857 Louisa 
Haeusli. She was born in Switzerland in 
1839, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth 
Haeusli, who came to America in 1850 and 
located among their fellow countrymen at 
Highland, Illinois. Her father was a 
baker and followed that occupation in 
Highland until 1870, when he sold out and 
lived retired until his death. Mrs. Frank 
Lorenz died in 1899. She was the mother 
of three children: John W., Edward and 
Lillie. The latter is the wife of Louis 
Metz, formerl.v a farmer, but now living 
retired at Highland. Edward took charge 
of the home farm when his father retired, 
and conducted it successfully until 1919 
when he removed to Highland and after- 
ward lived retired. 

John W. Lorenz received his preparatory 
education in the public schools of High- 
land. As a schoolboy he was very pi-ofi- 
cient in figures and the county superin- 
tendent considered him the brightest pupil 
in that branch in the county. In 1881 he 
graduated from the Southern Illinois State 
Normal University at Carbondale, standing 
second in scholarship achievements in a 
class of ten. While he was at Carbondale 
the students received instruction in mili- 
tary art and tactics under Captain Spencer 
of the United States Army and later under 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2031 



Lieut. Hugh R. Reed, of the United States 
Ami}'. Mr. Lorenz became a member of a 
branch of the National Guard, Company 
C, and rose to the rank of captain and sub- 
sequently commanded the compan.y. Prior 
to entering the University he had taught 
two terms in the district schools. While 
thus engaged the parents were so pleased 
with the i-esult of his work after the 
scholars had been publicly examined for 
promotion, that they held a meeting and 
passed resolutions giving a vote of 
thanks to Mr. Lorenz for efficie'nt 
work done. After his graduation he 
was connected with the schools of High- 
land until 1885. That year brought him 
to Evansville, Indiana, where he entered 
the drug business, and continuously for 
over thirty years has been conducting one 
of the best appointed drug stores in the 
city. It was not until 1900 that he had 
his business affairs in such shape that he 
was able to realize his ambition to study 
medicine. In that year he entered the 
Louisville Medical College and graduated 
^I. D. in 1903. Since then he has been in 
active practice. He is a member of the 
Yanderburg County and State Medical So- 
cieties, and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. 

Outside of his profession Doctor Lorenz 
has always taken a deep interest in every- 
thing pertaining to the welfare of his 
home city and the public schools. He is 
an active member of the Chamber of Com- 
merce, the West Side Civic Improvement 
Association and is a member of the execu- 
tive board of one of the prosperous build- 
ing and loan associations through the ac- 
tivities of which quite a number of thrifty 
families have been enabled to live in their 
own homes. 

In 1882 he married Sophia A. Wehrly, of 
Edgewood. Efifingham County, Illinois. 
They have two daughters, Julia and Irene. 
Julia, a graduate of the Evansville High 
School, is the wife of Charles T. Pelz, who 
is the manager of the Lorenz Drug Store. 
They have two daughters, named Irene 
Amelia and Charlotte Lucille. Miss Irene 
Frances Lorenz graduated from the Evans- 
ville High and the Evansville Normal 
Schools, and later from the State Normal 
at Terre Haute. She is now doing very 
efficient work in the Delaware School at 
Evansville. Doctor Lorenz is affiliated 
with Reed Lodge No. 316, Free and Ac- 



cepted Masons, and Evansville Chapter No. 
12, Royal Arch Masons, and his family 
attend the Simpson Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

Alfred Lewis Reed is a veteran of the 
glass making industry, at which he gained 
his earl}- experiences in Western Pennsyl- 
vania, and was one of the founders of the 
glass industry in Indiana. He was con- 
nected with various glass companies in this 
state until about ten or twelve years ago, 
since which time his chief financial and 
executive responsibilities have been with 
the Ideal Manufacturing Company of An- 
derson, of which he is now proprietor. 

ilr. Reed was borai at Zelienople, Butler 
County, Pennsylvania, in 1859, a son of 
Lewis and Mary (Wolfe) Reed. He is of 
Scotch-Irish stock. His great-grandfather 
Reed came from the north of Ireland and 
was an early day settler of Pennsylvania 
and later moved to Steubenville, Ohio. Mr. 
Reed's grandfather and father were both 
tanners at Zelienople, Pennsylvania. 

Alfred Lewis Reed was well educated, 
attending public school and the Consquenes- 
sing Academy at Zelienople and also the 
Harmony Collegiate Institute at Harmony, 
Pennsylvania. During vacations from the 
age of fifteen he helped his father in the 
tannery, grinding bark and doing other du- 
ties. He had the talent of business enter- 
prise, and even when a boy bought and 
sold furs. At the age of eighteen he be- 
came a messenger in the Harmony State 
Bank for one year. Among other early 
experiences was work as individual book- 
keeper at the German National Bank of 
Millerstown, Pennsylvania, where he re- 
mained three years, was also a paying tel- 
ler, and for one year was bookkeeper with 
Tinker & Duncan at Bradford, Pennsyl- 
vania. Later for six months he had charge 
of the oil well supply stock for J. W. 
Humphreys & Company at Ricksburg, New 
York. He then returned to Tinker & Dun- 
can for six months more, and for three 
years was bookkeeper for the Craton Gla.ss 
Works at Newcastle, Pennsylvania. For 
two years he was manager of the ileadville 
Window Glass Works at Meadville, Penn- 
sylvania. 

This rather extensive experience in the 
glass industry he brought with him to In- 
diana in 1891 and as a partner built the 
Spiceland Window Glass Works in Henry 



2032 



INDIANA AND INDIA NANS 



County. He was identified with its man- 
agement until July, 1892, when the plant 
was removed to Fairmont in Grant County 
and the name changed to the Big Four 
Window Glass Works. He sold his inter- 
ests in that company in 1899, but continued 
its management for the purchasers for sev- 
eral years. 

Mr. Reed came to Anderson in 1903 as 
office manager of the Anderson Glass 
Works, a branch of the American Window 
Glass Company. He resigned in 1905, and 
for a short time was custodian of receivers 
of the Alexandria Electric Light and 
Power Company. About that time he be- 
came financially interested in the Ideal 
Manufacturing Company, and about eight 
or nine years ago acquired from his asso- 
ciates all the stock. He has brought this 
industry to highly successful proportions, 
and manufactures an output that is now 
shipped all over the United States and to 
the Canadian provinces. The chief output 
of the Ideal Manufacturing Company in 
recent years has been computing cheese 
cutters and cabinets, and postage stamp 
vending machines. Mr. Reed has other 
financial interests at Anderson and else- 
where. 

In 1884, at Newcastle, Pennsylvania, he 
married Miss Armada Howe. She died in 
1901, and in 1903 he married Marie Major, 
daughter of Stephen Major of Indianap- 
olis. Mr. and Mrs. Reed have two children, 
Alfred M., born in 1905, and Jane Marie, 
born in 1907. 

^Ir. Reed has at different times played 
an influential part in republican politics. 
During the Blaine campaign of 1884 he was 
secretary of the Lawrence County Penn- 
sylvania Republican Committee, and also 
organized the Young Men's Blaine and Lo- 
gan Club at Newcastle. He is a York and 
Scottish Rite IMason, a member of the 
Lodge and Chapter at Anderson, and of 
Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine at In- 
dianapolis. He is also affiliated with the 
Modern Woodmen of America, the United 
Commercial Travelers, and the Presbv- 
terian Church. 

Charles Friendly Wiley by his achieve- 
ments at Elwood has demonstrated the real 
dualities and genius in merchandising. A 
few years ago he opened a stock of goods 
in this line which was by no means the 



largest and most pretentious, and in the 
face of vigorous competition has built up 
a business that is now second to none in 
Madison County. He is sole proprietor of 
the Charles F. Wiley Company, and the 
notable features of this establishment are 
not merely the extensive stocks of goods 
and their display in several well organized 
departments, but the personnel of the or- 
ganization, of which Mr. Wiley is the head. 
He has developed a remarkable esprite de 
corps, and every working member is de- 
voted heart and soul to the support of the 
liusiness. 

Mr. Wiley is a native of Indiana, born 
at Bluffton in Wells County June 26, 1872, 
a son of Benjamin Franklin and Susan 
(Evans) Wiley. He is of Scotch-Irish an- 
cestry. His father was a merchant and 
farmer and died in 1906. The mother is 
still living at Bluffton. 

When Charles F. Wiley was fifteen years 
of age he decided that his schooling was 
sufficient for his needs, and he went to In- 
dianapolis and secured a position in the 
dry goods store owned by his brother under 
the name W. T. Wiley & Company. He re- 
mained a salesman there two years, and 
after other varied experiences he came to 
Elwood in 1906 and bought a small stock 
of goods, though without a dollar of capi- 
tal, assuming a big debt. He soon had the 
store in working operations, making money 
and establishing a credit with the whole- 
sale houses and earning the confidence of 
a widening circle of patronage. He has 
developed and organized a complete de- 
partment store, with four branches. His 
trade now comes from over all that section 
of Indiana. Mr. Wiley has a number of 
people emploved and has seen his annual 
sales develop from $40,000 to $300,000, the 
mark reached in 1917. He has never in- 
creased his capital but has kept the busi- 
ness growing and has sought the complete 
allegiance and loyalty of his employes by 
a splendid system of promotion and by en- 
couraging and bestowing proper and ap- 
propriate awards on diligent and honest 
work. He organized the Wiley Booster 
Club, which is a social organization among 
the employes for their mutual benefit as 
well as for the welfare of the business at 
large. Annually a big banquet is served, 
and there are many occasions during the 
year when the employes meet in a social 




m<^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



way. Efficiency is encouraged by efficiency 
medals and also by substantial bonuses in 
the way of cash. 

The Wiley store is at 102-106 North An- 
derson Street. Mr. Wilej^ is a republican, 
a member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and is affiliated with the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, and the 
Knights of Pythias at Elwood. He has ac- 
quired much local real estate, and all the 
ground and building occupied by his busi- 
ness is owned by him personally. 

Richard Lawrence Leeson is an Elwood 
business man whose career well illustrates 
the power and influence of the younger 
generation in American life and affairs. 
^Ir. Leeson is only twenty-four, but is 
president and head of the R. L. Leeson & 
Sons Company, one of the largest depart- 
ment stores in Eastern Indiana and a busi- 
ness that requires more than ordinary ex- 
ecutive ability and judgment in its direc- 
tion. It is a business that has been devel- 
oped as a result of many years of straight- 
forward and honest merchandising by the 
Leeson family. The original store, erected 
more than forty years ago, was established 
by grandfather R. L. Leeson, and it has 
gone through the successive management of 
the Leeson family to the present time. 

Richard L. Leeson was born in Elwood 
April 19, 1894, son of General Wayne and 
Rosie (Armfield) Leeson. His father suc- 
ceeded to the bu.siness on the death of the 
grandfather, and is still an official in the 
company, though its heaviest responsibili- 
ties are borne by his sons. 

Richard L. Leeson had a public school 
education, but at the age of fifteen gave up 
his books and studies to begin work in his 
father's store. His fii-st place was as clerk 
in the grocery department, and later he 
was transferred to the clothing depart- 
ment, and learned both branches thor- 
oughly. In 1916 he was made president of 
the company. Mr. Leeson has various 
other active business interests, including a 
farm of 280 acres which he superintends 
to a point of productiveness that indicates 
he would not be a failure if he put all his 
time in agricultural work. 

February 25, 1915, Mr. Leeson married 
Miss Anna Ring, daughter of Theodore 
Ring. They have one daughter. Vivian 
Delores Leeson, born February 24, 1917. 
Mr. Leeson is a republican voter, member 



of the First Methodist Episcopal Church, 
is affiliated with the Elwood Lodge of Ma- 
sons and Quincy Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, and the Elwood Lodge of Elks. He 
is public spirited, a genial young man, 
companionable, and has a host of friends, 
but at the same time he has an eye single 
to the success and management of his store. 

John R. Elder was one of the conspicu- 
ous Indianans of the previous generation 
whose life and services deserve more than 
passing mention in this publication. He 
died at Indianapolis April 27, 1908, after 
the cheerful bearing of worldly responsi- 
bilities for some eighty-seven years. In the 
progress of the journalism, education, pub- 
lic works and charities in Indianapolis his 
wholesome enthusiasm and practical activ- 
ity were inspiring and reliable forces. 
Whatever position he occupied in private 
life or in public aifairs he was the personifi- 
cation of "the right man in the right 
place." B"'or, although he had commend- 
able ambition, he also possessed the com- 
mon sense which can nicely measure one's 
own capabilities and curb unreasonable as- 
pirations. 

Born in Dauphin County, Pennsylvania, 
December 7, 1820, he came to Indianapolis 
with his parents in 1833, attended the city 
schools and was apprenticed to the print- 
er's trade in the office of the old Indian- 
apolis Journal. Before making a perman- 
ent start in the practical affairs of life he 
decided to obtain a more complete educa- 
tion, and in the prosecution of this plan 
bought a horse and took the old National 
road from Indianapolis to Carlisle, Penn- 
sylvania, where he attended Dickinson Col- 
lege. After leaving college he secured em- 
ployment with the publishing house of Rob- 
ert Craighead, New York City, where he re- 
mained until his return to Indianapolis in 
1848. In the following year he began his 
career as a newspaper publisher by estab- 
lishing the Locomotive, a little weekly of 
which he was everything. The paper, which 
became the medium of literary Hoosierdom, 
is yet remembered by elderly writers and 
thinkers for its bright and broad views of 
life. ]\Ir. Elder continued the publication 
of the Locomotive until 1860, when the firm 
of Elder, Harkness & Bingham bought the 
Indianapolis Sentinel and conducted it un- 
til 1864. Throughout his journalistic ca- 
reer and thei-eafter ]Mr. Elder was unwav- 



2034 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ering in his devotion to democratic prin- 
ciples, but was so humane and warm that 
his friendship embraced men, women and 
children of all belief and no belief. 

To the cause of public education he con- 
tributed to the utmost limit of his means, 
time and influence. First he was an untir- 
ing member of the Indianapolis Board 
of School Tru.stees, which preceded the 
Board of School Commissioners, serving 
continuously in the latter body from 
April, 1869, to July, 1876. During that 
period he was made president, and it was 
in his administration that the city library 
was established. It is characteristic of his 
enthusiasm in all matters which promised 
improvement to the people he loved that 
he himself held the first card issued by the 
library management and drew the first 
book from the circulation department. 

The Indiana & Illinois Central Railroad 
Company had thousands of acres of land 
come into their possession through subscrip- 
tions to their stock. This land was located 
principally in Indiana and Illinois, and 
was all deeded to John R. Elder, trustee, 
and disposed of by him over a period of 
from eight to ten years. This was at that 
time a very responsible trusteeship. 

Naturally interested in the important 
question of a pure and adequate supply of 
water for the city, he was largely instru- 
mental in bringing about this necessity to 
the public health, both as an insistent priv- 
ate citizen and as president of the Indian- 
apolis Water Company. He was at one 
time treasurer of the Indianapolis, Decatur 
& Springfield Railroad — in fact there was 
nothing which concerned the good of In- 
dianapolis which did not appeal to him 
and which he did not attempt to further. 
The charities of the city and state never 
appeal to him without practical results, and 
for nearly two decades he was officially 
connected with their management and de- 
velopment. Mr. Elder was one of the 
original appointees of the Board of State 
Charities, serving from 1860 to 1864, was 
again a member of that body from 1889 to 
1902, and retiring in the latter year only 
because the natural burden of years made 
such responsibilities too heavy for Ms 
shoulders to bear. He died as an old and 
revered attendant of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Indianapolis, all the acts and 
tendencies of his life being founded on 
Christian principles. 



He was twice married. In 1848 he mar- 
ried Miss Julia Ann Orr, who died in 1853. 
In 1854 he married Miss Amelia A. Line, 
who died in 1899. The surviving children, 
all by the second marriage, are William 
L. Elder, Mrs. Frank H. Blackledge and 
Dr. Edward C. Elder. 

As a fitting conclusion to this sketch 
should be quoted from the words of an 
editorial that appeared in the Indianapolis 
News at the time of his death: "In the 
death of John R. Elder Indianapolis loses 
a citizen who was one of the sturdy body 
that constitutes the strength of a commun- 
ity. In his long and honorable life — three 
quarters of a century of it, from his boy- 
hood, lived here — he was active in business 
and political affairs. With the advantage 
of an education obtained at Dickinson Col- 
lege, which was a rare advantage in those 
days, he was better equipped than most 
young men. It was natural that he should 
he found editing a newspaper which then 
was a literary medium beyond present 
parallel. From this little weekly paper he 
came into the publication of the Sentinel, 
the state newspaper organ of the demo- 
cratic party. He was long prominent in 
educational affairs and public charities. 
He was successful in business. He wrought 
well in all ways and illustrated in his long 
life the steady attainments that make the 
useful and respectable citizen, which he 
was in the full sense of the term. He was 
of a genial nature; liked people old and 
young, apart from the accident of station 
or association. And so he was a kindly in- 
fluence in his personality, as well as in ^'^e 
successful discharge of his duties. He 
passes among the very last of the genera- 
tion that knew Indianapolis when it was 
young, and the steadiness of whose purpose 
and constancy of endeavor have gone to 
the making of the community." 

William L. Elder, chairman of the Spe- 
cial Commission on Taxation of the State 
of Indiana, appointed by Governor Ralston 
in 1915, is as a result of that service and 
as a business man widely known over the 
state. He is a son of the late John R. 
Elder, whose life is told in a separate 
biography. 

Born and reared in Indianapolis, Wil- 
liam L. Elder, entered upon his career with 
a consciousness of a mission to perform and 
an honored family place in Indiana to up- 



INDIANA AND INDIAN ANS 



2035 



hold. He attended the public schools of 
Indianapolis, including the high school, and 
his first business experience, continued five 
years, was as clerk with the old Bank of 
Commerce. The next four years he. was 
paymaster of the Indianapolis, Decatur 
and Springfield Railroad. After that for 
about ten years he was a furniture mer- 
chant at Indianapolis and also a director 
and vice president of the Indianapolis 
Street Railway Company. After disposing 
of these interests and taking an extended 
vacation ]Mr. Elder entered the real estate 
field, in which his success has been con- 
spicuous. As a specialist in the plotting 
and subdividing of lands in and around 
Indianapolis he has done about as much as 
any other individual citizen to extend and 
broaden the growth and development of 
a greater Indianapolis. Among subdivi- 
sions developed by him are those of Arm- 
strong Park, Northwestern Park, Clifton 
Place, Edgewood, Marion Heights, Clover- 
dale, Eastern Heights, Northeastern Park, 
University Heights and Washington 
Place. 

It was his wide and diversified knowledge 
of business affairs that enabled Mr. Elder 
to render such valued service to the state 
as chairman of the Commission of Taxa- 
tion. He is well known in civic affairs at 
Indianapolis, a member of the Commercial, 
University, Contemporary and Country 
clubs, is on the Board of Incorporators of 
Crown Hill Cemetery and one of the Board 
of Managers of the Sons of the Revolution 
in Indiana, of which he was the second 
president. He is president of the Indian- 
apolis Real Estate Board. Mr. Elder is 
and has been for many years a leader in 
the democratic party of Indiana. He is a 
member of the First Presbyterian Church 
and has served as trustee and deacon. In 
1885 he married ]\Iiss Laura Bowman, of 
Springfield, Ohio. 

They have one son, Bowman Elder, born 
in Indianapolis March 4, 1888. He is a 
graduate of Chestnut Hill Academy and 
University of Pennsylvania. On the Dec- 
laration of War he entered the Second Offi- 
cers' Training Camp at Fort Ben.jamin 
Harrison, finishing at Fortress Monroe, 
Yirsrinia, where he obtained a commission 
as first lieutenant. He was ordered to Fort 
Revere, IMassachusetts, where he served as 
adjutant. He was later transferred to 
Fort Warren, there being promoted to cap- 



tain and made coast defense adjutant of 
Boston Harbor. At this time he was also 
appointed coast defense intelligence officer. 
Later he was assigned to the Seventy-first 
Coast Artillery Corps, and became adju- 
tant of that regiment, and with his regi- 
ment sailed for France July 30, 1918, 
where he remained till February 22, 1919. 
Upon being mustered out of the service 
he reentered the real estate 



ilRS. Eleanor Atkinson, educator, jour- 
nalist and author, was born in Rensselaer, 
Indiana, a daughter of Isaac M. Stack- 
house. After a course in the Indianapolis 
Training School Mrs. Atkinson taught in 
Indianapolis and Chicago, and after a 
year's experience in newspaper offices in 
Lafayette and in Peoria, Illinois, she be- 
came a special writer on the Chicago Trib- 
une, writing under the pen name of Nora 
IMarks. Since 1903 she has been princi- 
pally engaged in book writing, and her 
works include: "Johnny Appleseed," 
"Mamzelle Fifine." "The Story of Chi- 
cago," "The Boyhood of Lincoln," "Lin- 
coln's Love Story," "Hearts Undaunted," 
and many others. 

In 1891, at Indianapolis, she was mar- 
ried to Francis Blake Atkinson, of Chi- 
cago, and they have two children, Dorothy 
Blake and Eleanor Blake. 

LsAAC Wrioht, mayor of Kokomo, for- 
mer sheriff of Howard County, is a busi- 
ness man of long and successful experience 
in Kokomo, where he has had his home 
nearly fortv years. 

He was born February 14, 1850, close 
to Russiaville, on a farm in Howard 
County near the Clinton County line. His 
parents were William and Arminda (Tay- 
lor) Wright. His grandfather, John P. 
Wright was one of the very early settlers 
of Howard County. He entered a tract of 
land in what is now Honey Creek Town- 
ship, and he lived and died near the Vil- 
lage of New London. He was a very prom- 
inent Quaker, a birthright member of the 
church, and a leader in promoting its ac- 
tivities at New London and helped build 
the church edifice in that village. For a 
number of years he was considered the 
head of the church in New London. His 
life was in all respects a model of good citi- 
zenship. For nearly sixty-five years he 
lived on the farm which he had entered 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



from the Government. He was a strict 
republican in politics. Of his nine chil- 
dren only two are now living. 

William Wright when a young man 
came • from Vermilion County, Illinois, 
and in the same community met Arminda 
Taylor, whose father was also an early set- 
tler in that vicinity. Two j-ears after his 
marriage William Wright located on forty 
acres of land given him by his father, and 
he spent his life as a farmer. He was also 
a Quaker and a member of the church at 
New London. Though he had only the 
limited advantages of the local schools, he 
was always looked upon as a man of strong 
common sense, of utmost integrity of char- 
acter, and bore an unblemished reputation 
until his death. He and his wife had six 
children, four of whom are still living. 

Isaac Wright, third in order of age, 
spent his early life on a farm, and attended 
the common schools until twelve years old. 
About that time the Quakers built a school- 
house, and he finished his education in the 
Friends School. 

Thirty-nine years ago on coming to Ko- 
komo Mr. Wright was employed for four 
years as stationary engineer in a local 
mill. In 1882 he was appointed deputy 
sheriff of Howard County, filled that office 
four years, and was twice elected sheriff, 
in 1886 and 1888. Since retiring from the 
office of sheriff Mr. Wright has been a very 
successful and widely known salesman. 
He has contributed much to the success and 
prosperity of the Kokomo factory for the 
manufacture of stained and colored glass 
plate, used extensively in churches and 
other buildings all over the country. 

Mr. Wright has always been a loyal re- 
publican, and he was nominated and No- 
vember 6, 1917, elected mayor of Kokomo 
on that ticket. As head of" the municipal 
administration he has naturally taken the 
lead in many of the movements by which 
Kokomo has contributed a splendid quota 
to the resources of the state and nation in 
the prosecution of the war. 

J. Wall.vce Johnson, a mechanical en- 
gineer by profession is now the active and 
responsible head of the Johnson Excelsior 
Company, an Indianapolis institution that 
reflects the experience and the technical 
and executive ability of three generations 
of the Johnson family. 

It was founded by his grandfather, Jesse 



B. Johnson, one of the early manufacturers 
of Indianapolis. He was bom in Mon- 
rovia, Morgan County, Indiana, and in 
1879 founded the excelsior plant which 
has ever since been carried on by the John- 
son family under the name of the Johnson 
Manufacturing Company. It was the first 
excelsior manufacturing industry in In- 
diana, and now ranks third among such 
industries in the United States in the 
amount of annual production and in the 
value of the plant, machinery and equip- 
ment. 

The original plant as established by 
Jesse B. Johnson was located on the canal 
where now stands the plant of the Mer- 
chants Heat and Light Company. Jesse 
Johnson was a man of genius and enter- 
prise. He operated his plant by water 
power, with machinery which he devised 
and built himself. He also invented and 
perfected all of the baling and ether ma- 
chines required in his plant. The more 
modern machinery in use today represents 
simplj^ the growth and development of the 
elder Johnson's original mechanical equip- 
ment. He was a man of splendid ability 
and business acumen, and credit is given 
him as one of the founders of the present 
great industrial resources of Indianapolis, 
The second generation in the business 
was represented by the late Joseph R. 
Johnson, who was born in Indianapolis and 
died in that city in 1916. He early be- 
came identified with his father's business, 
and for several years lived in Dubuque, 
Iowa, where he established a similar plant. 
After that he returned to Indianapolis and 
was the responsible executive of the John- 
son Excelsior Company the rest of his life. 
He married Caroline Reichert, who is still 
living. 

J. Wallace Johnson, son of Joseph R. and 
Caroline Johnson, was born in Indianap- 
olis, was educated in the public schools, in- 
cluding the Shortridge High School, at- 
tended technical colleges in Penns.ylvania, 
and was given all the training of a profi- 
cient mechanical engineer. He now has 
charge of the plant and operations of the 
Johnson Excelsior Company. It was un- 
der his direction that the present new plant 
was built in 1917 on the Belt Railway at 
Keystone Avenue. It is one of the finest 
plants of its kind in the country, equipped 
with the most modern machinery designed 
for efficient, high-speed production. Mr. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2037 



Johnson married ^liss Rozella Barbara 
Adams, a native of Indiana. 

His uncle, Mr. Oliver J. Johnson of New 
York, a brother of Joseph R. Johnson, has 
made a notable success as a can manufac- 
turer. Most of his operations have been 
carried on in West Virginia, and he has 
achieved a high place among the industrial 
executives of the country. 

WiiiTEFORD Myers Berry is secretary 
and treasurer of the Tipton-Berry Cigar 
Company of Ehvood. Mr. Berry has been 
in the cigar business here for a number of 
years, and his career has presented many 
opportunities and many diverse occupa- 
tions, and indicates that he is a man of re- 
sources, always able to give a creditable 
account of himself in any station or rela- 
tionship in life. 

Mr. Berry was born in Wayne Township 
of Belmont County, Ohio, in 1864, son of 
Isaac W. and Elizabeth (Myers) Berry. 
The education of his youth was supplied 
by the country schools during the winter 
terms. At the age of sixteen he went to 
work helping on the home farm, and was 
there until he was twenty-one. The next 
four years he spent as foreman with a 
portable sawmill outfit, operating in Bel- 
mont County. He also learned the car- 
penter's trade and finally bought a half in- 
terest in the portable sawmill and for two 
years operated under the name Pryor 
& Berry. For one year ilr. Berry trav- 
eled over the route from Sandusky, Ohio, 
to Grafton, West Virginia, as an express 
messenger with the United States Express 
Company under W. H. Snyder. For an- 
other year he worked as bridge carpenter 
with the Baltimore & Ohio, with headquar- 
ters at Newark, Ohio. He then was given 
a position as locomotive fireman with the 
Baltimore & Ohio and had different runs 
out of Newark on freight trains until 1890. 
On :\Iay 10, 1890, he left Newark over the 
Chicago & Ohio Division for Bellaire, 
Ohio, on Schedule No. 26 firing engine No. 
975, with Frank Howard as his engineer. 
West of Barnesville his engine collided on 
curve No. 47 with engine No. 996, run by 
John Krebs. The investigation afterward 
Droved that Krebs was at fault because he 
had run by the meeting point at Media. 
jMr. Berry was caught under the wreckage, 
and it was a close call for his life, though 
he was not permanently injured. After 



that he was clerk in the railroad office at 
Newark, Ohio, a year and then fired a yard 
locomotive until the fall of 1893. A spell 
of illness compelled him to give up rail- 
roading, and for a time he managed the 
home farm of 130 acres. 

In 1895 Mr. Berry married Laura 0. 
Tipton, daughter of James E. and Clara 
(Carpenter) Tipton and sister of his pres- 
ent partner in the cigar business. Their 
two children are Grace L., born in 1897, 
and Clifton W., born in 1900. 

After his marriage Mr. Berry took up 
the painting trade and was a house painter 
and hard wood finisher for eight years at 
Bethseda, Ohio. In 1902 he with his 
brother-in-law, E. L. Tipton, moved to El- 
wood, Indiana, and at once began the man- 
ufacture of cigars under the firm name of 
Tipton & Berry. In 1908 the business was 
incorporated as the Tipton-Berry Cigar 
Company. 

Mr. Berry is independent in polities and 
has for years supported the prohibition 
cause. In Wayne Township of Belmont 
County, Ohio, he was elected to office on 
the democratic ticket when only twenty- 
two years old. He is a member of the 
First Methodist Episcopal Church and is 
affiliated with the Knights of Pythias at 
Elwood. 

Rev. William Penn McKinsey. A long 
and interesting life has been vouchsafed to 
Rev. Mr. McKinsey, now retired at Le- 
banon. As a youth he saw active service 
for nearly four years as a soldier and offi- 
cer in the Union Army during the Civil 
war. After the war he was in business for 
several years, and then joined the IMetho- 
dist Conference, and has given his church 
and his people a measure of service and 
devotion unsurpassed. 

William Penn McKinsey was born Au- 
gust 17, 1837, in a log house on a farm in 
Rockbridge County, Virginia. His father, 
John McKinsey, was born in the same state 
in 1806. of Scotch parentage. In 1826 he 
married Catherine Crick, who was born in 
Virginia in 1809. In 1849 the family 
came west and were pioneer settlers in 
Clinton County, Indiana, where John Mc- 
Kinsey followed farming until his death in 
1867. His wife died in 1872. They were 
the parents of twelve children, eight daugh- 
ters and four sons: Sarah Jane, James 
Franklin, Mary Elizabeth, Diana K., Wil- 



2038 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



liam Penn, Samuel, Letitia, Hannah B., 
Nancy, Margaret Esteline, Rosana Virginia, 
and John H. The three still living are 
William P., Margaret, and John H. Mar- 
garet is the wife of William W. McMillen, 
a retired mechanical engineer living at 
Peoria, Illinois. John H. is a farmer at 
Middletown, Illinois. 

Rev. Mr. McKinsey was twelve years old 
when his parents came to Indiana. He 
lived at home on the farm, attending pub- 
lic schools to the age of twenty-one, and 
afterward for one year was a student in 
the Thorntown Academy. One of the vig- 
orous and high spirited young men of his 
community, he responded to the call to put 
down the rebellion, and enlisted in Com- 
pany A of the Fortieth Indiana Infantry. 
He was at once appointed a sergeant of his 
company, and eight months later on the 
field of the battle of Shiloh while in com- 
mand of his company was commissioned 
first lieutenant. He was in the battles of 
Shiloh, Stone River, and Nashville, and in 
September, 1863, was made quartermaster 
of his regiment and served in that capacity 
until the end of the war. He was on the 
stafif of Gen. Milo S. Haskell of Indiana, 
Gen. Thomas J. Wood, and Gen. George D. 
Wagner. For all his arduous and danger- 
ous service he escaped wounds. For two 
months in 1865 he served as judge advocate 
of a general court martial sitting at Hunts- 
ville, Alabama. He was mustered out at 
Nashville June 12, 1865, after completing 
three years and ten months of service. 

The war over he returned to Indiana and 
for three years was in the merchandise 
business at Stockwell. In 1868, just a half 
a century ago, he joined the Northwest In- 
diana Conference of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, and after two years was reg- 
ularly ordained a deacon by Bishop Ames 
and two years later ordained an elder by 
Bishop Simpson. For six years he did the 
arduous work of a circuit rider, visiting 
many remote localities. His first regular 
station was for three years at Westville, In- 
diana. Since then he has had pastorates 
at Plymouth, Delphi, Monticello, Lebanon, 
Attica, Brazil, Thorntown, Fowler, and 
Plainfield. For five j-ears he was chaplain 
of the Indiana Bovs' School, a state insti- 
tution at Plainfield. From 1910 to 1913 
he was field agent for the Methodist Hos- 
pital at Indianapolis. Mr. McKinsey re- 
tired in 1913 and has since lived at Le- 



banon. However, he has found it impossi- 
ble to remain entirely idle, and has an- 
swered frequent demands for his services 
at weddings and funerals among old 
friends. 

For over twenty-five years he has been 
a director of the Battleground Camp Meet- 
ing Association at Lafayette, and was for 
several years its president. He is a mem- 
ber and vice president of the Preachers' 
Aid Society of the Conference. He is past 
post commander of the Grand Army of the 
Republic at Plainfield, and for many years 
has been department chaplain of the State 
Grand Army of the Republic. He is also 
a member of the Lo.yal Legion and since 
1888 has been president of the Regimental 
Association of the Fortieth Regiment of 
Indiana Volunteers. He is a Royal Arch 
ilason. 

October 3, 1865, Rev. Mr. McKinsey 
married Miss Anna Cones. She was born 
in Clay Count.y, Missouri, January 15, 
1839., daughter of Joseph and Nancy 
(Gregg) Cones, natives of Kentucky. The 
only child born to their union, Columbia, 
was born July 15, 1866, and died Septem- 
ber 7, 1866. 

Mr. and Mrs. McKinsey reside in com- 
fort at 315 East Pearl Street in Lebanon. 
On October 3, 1915, at Lebanon, occurred 
an impressive event when more than 500 
close friends gathered to celebrate their 
golden wedding anniversary. These friends 
came from all parts of the state, and as it 
happened that the date also coincided with 
the annual meeting of the Regimental Asso- 
ciation that body honored him with its 
presence and the local Grand Army of the 
Republic post and Women's Relief Corps 
were also among the guests. The tribute 
from these friends and those who could 
not be present took many forms, and many 
valuable gifts were left, including $100 in 
gold from the ministers of the Northwest 
Conference. 

Forrest Jesse Gartside is president, 
treasurer and general manager of the Dia- 
mond Clamp & Flask Company, one of 
Richmond's oldest specialized industries. 
It was established bv the late W. W. Gart- 
side, who came to Richmond in 1876. He 
was a pattern maker by trade and was con- 
nected with the Richmond City ]\Iill Works 
in charge of the pattern room until he be- 
gan manufacturing his own patent, a 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2039 



molder for snap flasks. That was the start 
of the present siiccessful industry. Later 
other foundry supply products were added, 
and today the business is one of national 
proportions, its product being shipped all 
over the United States and many orders 
coming from Canada. W. W. Gartside 
was a Knight Templar Mason, a member 
of the Presbyterian Church, a republican 
in polities. He married Ella J. Bell. 

Forrest Jesse Gartside was born in 
Knightstown, Indiana, October 1, 1894, and 
received his education in the grammar and 
high schools of Richmond. In 1913 he 
went to work for his father, serving an ap- 
prenticeship that gave him a practical and 
technical knowledge of all the features of 
manufacturing, first working at the drill 
press and later learning the wood working 
trade. In 1913 he became general manager 
of the business and after his father's death 
in March, 1917, the company was incor- 
porated with Mr. Gartside as president, 
treasurer, and general manager and Mrs. 
Ella Gartside, his mother, as vice president. 

Mr. Gartside is affiliated with Lodge No. 
196, Free and Accepted Masons, at Rich- 
mond, is a member of Company K of the 
Third Indiana Infantry and is a member 
of the Rotary Club. In 1917 he married 
Miss Bernice Puckett, daughter of Nelson 
and Martha Puckett of Richmond. 

Eldon L. Dynes, president of the Dynes- 
Pohlman Lumber Company, is one of the 
leading lumbermen of the state of Indiana. 
Some men acquire their permanent tastes 
and vocations early in life. This was true 
of Mr. Dynes. His favorite playground as 
a boy was the old E. H. Eldridge lumber 
yard in Indianapolis. If there is any de- 
tail of the lumber business with which he 
is not thoroughly familiar, none of his as- 
sociates and friends have ever found out 
what it is. 

Mr. D.ynes is a native of Indianapolis, 
where he was born September 8, 1872, a 
son of Leonidas G. and Nannie (Leake) 
Dynes. He is a thorough American, both 
his paternal and maternal ancestors hav- 
ing come to this country during colonial 
days. His maternal ancestor, Edward 
Digges, son of Sir Dudley Digges, was gov- 
ernor of the Virginia Colony from 1655 to 
1658. Other members of the family were 
prominent during the Revolution. Mr. 
Dynes father was born in Ohio in 1842, and 



was well known to the newspaper profes- 
sion of a former generation. As a young 
man during the Civil war he published the 
Union City Eagle. Later he was interested 
in the publication of various papers in 
Indianapolis. He died in this city in 1904, 
and his widow is still living here. Leoni- 
das Dynes was an infliiential republican. 

Eldon L. Dynes after attending the In- 
dianapolis public schools had a brief pe- 
riod of employment as a bookkeeper, and 
he also gained some considerable knowledge 
of law while a student in the offices of Dun- 
can & Smith. But he found himself in his 
real vocation when in 1898 he was made a 
member of the lumber firm of Hamilton & 
Dynes at 1100 East Maryland Street. In 
1902 the business became the Dynes Liim- 
ber Company, and five years later the com- 
pany sold their yard in Maryland Street 
and built a new plant at Thirtieth Street 
and the Jlonon Railroad. In 1908 Mr. 
Dynes sold his interest in this company to 
H. M. Moore, and the plant is now operated 
under the title Indianapolis Lumber Com- 
pany. Mr. Dynes' next connection was as 
secretary and treasurer of the Anson-Hixon 
Sash and Door Company. In 1910 this was 
sold to the Adams-Carr Company, and is 
now known as the Adams-Rogers Company. 

It was in 1911 that Mr. Dynes organized 
the Dynes-Pohlman Lumber Company, of 
which he is president. Mr. G. E. Pohlman 
is secretary and treasurer. The company 's 
yards and planing mill are located between 
Twenty-Eighth and Twenty-Ninth streets, 
adjoining the Monon tracks, and it is one 
of the largest plants in the manufacturing 
and wholesale lumber district of the city. 
In point of efficiency and modern equip- 
ment there is no mill in the state that could 
.iustly be classed as superior to this one. 
Shortly after the plant was completed the 
American Lumberman, of Chicago, took a 
number of photographs of various parts of 
the plant and placed them on exhibition at 
the annual convention of the Indiana Re- 
tail Lumber Dealers. Every piece of ma- 
chinery is of the best type and each ma- 
chine is operated by individual electric 
motor. Its product is in keeping with the 
high degree of mechanical equipment of 
the mills. Mr. Dynes has built the business 
of the company by striving for high ideals. 

In 1900 Mr. D.-^oies married Miss Mae 
Stockton Wood, daughter of Mr. Henry 
Wood. ^Irs. Dynes was born at Mays- 



2040 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ville, Kentucky. They have one daughter, 
Lillian "Wood. Mr. and Mrs. Dynes are 
members of the Second Presbyterian 
Church and in polities he is a republican. 

Frederick W. Ballw'eg. This is the 
brief story of a successful business man 
and of a "family of vei-y earnest, substan- 
tial and patriotic citizens of Indianapolis. 
Indianapolis has a number of successful 
business men, and it should be said at the 
beginning that part of this story relates 
to the president and active head of the 
Fred Dietz Company at 1102 Madison Ave- 
nue, and of Ballweg & Company, wooden 
box manufacturers at 314 West Wilkins 
Street, both of them large and important 
concerns in the industries of the city. 

The Fred Dietz Company manufactures 
packing cases and also a complete line of 
factory and warehouse trucks. The Ball- 
weg & Company makes wooden boxes and 
packing cases, and while the products are 
sold principally to the home market, they 
are distributed bj' means of the local whole- 
sale trade to practically every civilized 
part of the world. 

What is now a very extensive business 
was begun on a small scale on old Mis- 
sissippi Street, now Senate Avenue, at the 
corner of Louisiana Street. One of the 
principal promoters was Ferdinand Zogg, 
who came from Switzerland. He sold his 
interest and Fred Dietz became a partner 
in 1878. After Mr. Dietz retired Frederick 
W. Ballweg assumed most of the executive 
responsibilities and has since been the head 
and manager of the two businesses and 
was the founder of Ballweg & Company. 

One of the individual car&ers that In- 
dianapolis cannot afford to forget was that 
of the late Frederick Ballweg, whose work 
as a practical business man of Indianapolis 
brought him a comfortable fortune and 
whose honor and integrity and usefulness 
made him one of the most respected men of 
that community. He was born March 20, 
1825, in Huntheim, a little village of about 
120 inhabitants in Baden, Germany. His 
parents were Sebastiana and Marianna 
(Schusler) Ballweg, both natives of Ger- 
many. The father was a cabinet maker 
and owned a little farm of twenty acres. 
He died in Germany in 1866, at the age 
of seventy-five. There were five children : 
Generosa ; Cornelia ; Frederick ; Joseph ; 
and Ambrose, who died at Indianapolis 



September 9, 1881. Ambrose, it should be 
mentioned in this connection, was in com- 
mand of the arsenal at Indianapolis during 
the Civil war with the rank of captain. He 
married Amelia Engelman, and they had 
four children: Cornelia; Alfred, Charles 
and Emma. 

The late Frederick Ballweg as a boy in 
Germany attended the public schools from 
the age of sis to fourteen. The next five 
years was given to the thorough learning 
of the cabinet making trade, and when 
qualified as a master workman he left home 
and spent some years in France, traveling 
about as a journeyman through variou'; 
cities and provinces, including Paris and 
Toulon. 

He was about twenty-four years of age 
when on April 1, 1850, he embarked on a 
sailing vessel at Havre de Grace bound for 
the free land of America. It was a long 
.iourney over the ocean and he landed at 
New York City on June 7th. A few hours 
later he was at Rahway, New Jersey, and 
on the next day began working at his trade. 
At first lie received $7 a month and board, 
and during the second j'ear there from $10 
to $12 a week. In the spring of 1852 he 
went to New York City, followed his trade 
for a year and on September 17, 1853, ar- 
rived at Indianapolis. 

In Indianapolis he secured employment 
with John Ott, one of the first cabinet 
makers of the city. After five years of 
working for others Mr. Ballweg began an 
independent business career in the lumber 
trade at Indianapolis. He was one of the 
leading lumber merchants for about fifteen 
years. In 1878 he bought eighty acres of 
land in Perry Township of Marion County, 
paying $75 an acre for it, that being a very 
high price for that day. Upon this farm 
he erected a handsome two-story frame 
house and continued to live there in the 
enjoyment of its comforts and in the quiet 
routine of supervising his farm until his 
death on September 13, 1898. His widow 
is still living. Frederick Ballweg is remem- 
bered by the old time citizens of Indian- 
apolis as a wide-awake and progressive 
factor in city affairs and equally influential 
when he moved to the country and took 
part in the affairs of a rural locality. He 
was a republican and cast his first vote for 
General Fremont for president. He was 
born and liaptized a Catholic, but tlirough 
his mature life was liberal in religious mat- 




cAJ^»^, (2^,«^* 



7 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2041 



ters and was chiefly concerned with those 
principles and institutions calculated to 
raise and advance the moral standards of 
the community. For many years he was 
active in the Independent Oi-der of Odd 
Fellows. 

At Indianapolis January 1, 1854, less 
than a year after he arrived in the city, he 
married jMiss Eliese Stanger, daughter of 
Gustav Stanger. They were married by 
Squire Sullivan. To their union were born 
twelve children : William, deceased ; Fred- 
erick W. : Annie M., deceased; Louis G., 
who died May 29, 1869 ; Franklin A., who 
died June 4, 1864; Lena E., who died Sep- 
tember 22, 1892 ; Clara M. ; Lilly, who died 
in infancy ; Louis E. ; Bertha A., who died 
in 1873; Robert M., deceased; and Otto, 
who died January 3, 1879. 

jMr. Frederick W. Ballweg was born at 
Indianapolis February 4, 1857. Most of 
his early education was acquired in that 
famous institution the German English 
Independent School, and he also took a 
business coui-se in the C. C. Koerner Busi- 
ness College. For nearly forty years he 
has devoted himself energetically and suc- 
cessfully to the promotion of the business 
enterprises above noted. 

In 1901 he married Wilhelmina C. 
Straub. They are the parents of three chil- 
dren : Pauline Elizabeth, Frederick Straub 
and Virginia Katherine. The family are 
members of the Second Presbyterian 
Church of Indianapolis. 

William M. Bryant, educator and au- 
thor, was born in Lake County, Illinois, 
March 31, 1843. His first work after com- 
pleting his educational training was as a 
teacher, and his work as an educator 
brought him success and prominence. His 
last work was as instructor in psychology, 
ethics and history in the Central High 
School, St. Louis, and he retired in 1912. 
As an author he has also placed his name 
prominently before the public, and he is 
the creator of many standard works. 

Samuel James Taylor, who is of a 
prominent Scotch family and spent his 
early life in Scotland, has for thirty years 
or more been identified with the Middle 
West, principally at IMiehigan City. Mr. 
Taylor has been a leading factor in the 
larger business life of ilichigan City and 



has been equally prominent in many of its 
civic activities. 

He was born at Ivy Place in the town of 
Stranraer in Wigtonshire, Scotland. The 
family at one time bore the name McTald- 
roch, and generation after generation of 
them was devoted to the tending of their 
fields and flocks. They were Covenanters, 
Lowlanders and Presbyterians. Samuel 
Taylor, grandfather of the Michigan City 
business man, was a timber and slate mer- 
chant at Stranraer. He imported large 
quantities of timber from the United States 
and Canada and also from Norway and 
Sweden. His business frequently took him 
to London. He happened to be in that 
city June 18, 1832, when a mob attacked 
the Duke of Wellington, and Samuel Tay- 
lor had the honor of opening a gate through 
which that great general passed to safety. 
Samuel Taylor died March 21, 1888, at the 
age of eighty-two. 

Major Samuel H. Taylor, father of Sam- 
uel J., was apprenticed to the firm of 
Bouchier and Cousland, leading architects 
at Glasgow. After completing his appren- 
ticeship he was associated with his father 
under the firm name of Samuel Taylor and 
Son, and besides the lumber and slate busi- 
ness they also used their resources in im- 
proving real estate in and around Stran- 
raer. Samuel H. joined the militia, was 
made ensign of the Second Company of 
Wigtonshire Volunteers June 16, 1863, and 
was commissioned captain of the company 
August 6, ■ 1870. This company became 
Company C of the Galloway Rifle Volun- 
teers, and was attached to the Territorial 
Regiment of the Royal Scotch Fusiliers. 
He was made honorary major, and bore 
that title in private life. He was 
selected bv the government to rep- 
resent the British volunteers at a confer- 
ence held in Belgium in 1869, and a medal 
presented him by King Leopold at the time 
is now carefully preserved by his descend- 
ants. Major Taylor died March 17, 1890, 
and was buried with military honors. He 
was prominent in public affairs and for 
twenty years was in the town council and 
was also a magistrate. His wife was Jane 
Ramsay, daushter of James and Jane 
("Campbell) Ramsay. Her parents moved 
from Scotland to Australia, where they 
spent their last years. She went to Aus- 
tralia with her parents about 1860, taught 



2042 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



school at Geelong, but returned to England 
to be married, returning on a vessel that 
reached port six weeks behind schedule 
time. Jane Ramsay was born at Dunoon 
in Argyleshire, Scotland, and was educated 
at the Normal School in Glasgow. "While 
there she met the young architect appren- 
tice whom she afterward married. They 
were married at St. Margaret's Church in 
Faulkner Square, Liverpool. She died 
February 27, 1887, the mother of six chil- 
dren : Henry Ramsay, Charles Warden, 
Samuel James, Ernest Campbell, Arthur 
Robertson, and Jane Barton. 

Samuel James Taylor was educated at 
Stranraer Academy. From early youth he 
was very fond of athletics, being a member 
of the Association Football team and of 
the Rowing and Cricket Clubs. For six 
years he was in a local military company 
as sergeant. This company was known as 
Company C, Galloway Rifle Volunteers. 
He was secretary of the shooting committee 
of the company and arranged the first 
match between the Ulster and Belfast Rifle 
Associations. As the scores of those asso- 
ciations show he was one of the best marks- 
men in the South of Scotland. Mr. Taylor 
was a member of the Guard of Honor se- 
lected to receive the Prince of Wales, later 
King Edward, when the prince visited 
Stranraer April 27, 1885. 

Having completed his academic course 
Mr. Taylor became associated with his 
father in business, and was thus engaged 
for six years, until 1888, when 'he came to 
the United States. He brought with him 
lyimerous letters of introduction and rec- 
ommendation from bankers and magistrates 
in Scotland. During the voyage the ves- 
sel encountered a terrific blizzard and he 
landed three days late, on March 15th, find- 
ing New York almost buried in snow. He 
came directly west to Chicago, and on 
March 27th was employed as a clerk by the 
A. G. Spalding & Company, the great 
SDorting goods hoiise. Soon afterward the 
Western Arms Company bought the gun 
department of that store, and Mr. Taylor 
went with the new firm and remained im- 
til the fall of 1889. He then entered the 
wholesale house of IMarshall Field & Com- 
pany, the following year became book- 
keeper for the Amazon Hosiery Company, 
and on August 17, 1890, was sent to ^lich- 
igan City by the firm, and was connected 
with it until the plant was moved to Mus- 



kegon in 1896. During that year Mr. Tay- 
lor was appointed deputy chief of the In- 
diana Bureau of Statistics in the State 
House by John B. Conner, and was busy 
with his ofSeial duties until November 1, 
1897. 

At that date, at the personal solicitation 
of the late John H. Barker, Mr. Taylor re- 
signed his public office to become actuary 
at the Haskell and Barker Car Works in 
Michigan City. Upon the death of Mr. 
Barker he was elected auditor of the Has- 
kell and Barker Car Company. In that 
position he was held responsible for the 
delivery of all material except lumber and 
small supplies. It is a well known fact 
that during all the time he held the office 
the plant was never retarded for lack of 
material. Mr. Taylor finally resigned be- 
cause of impaired health, and has since de- 
voted his time to his private interests. He 
is a stockholder in a number of industrial 
plants and is president of the Pinkston 
Sand Company, shippers of foundry, core, 
grinding, and glass sand from the Hoosier 
pits. He is also a stockholder in the First 
National Bank of Michigan City. 

December 21, 1893, Mr. Taylor married 
Miss Julia Adaline Leeds. She was born 
in Michigan City, a daughter of Alfred W. 
and Minnie (Lell) Leeds, of a well known 
old family of the county. Mr. and Mrs. 
Taylor have three daughters: Margery 
Leeds, a student in the LTniversity of Illi- 
nois ; Julia, a student in Rockford College 
at Rockford, Illinois ; and Charlotte Ridg- 
way. Mr. and Mrs. Taylor are active 
members of the Presbyterian Church, he 
being a member of the Board of Trustees 
and she assistant superintendent of the 
Sunday School. He was a member of the 
Board of Trustees that had charge of the 
erection of the Young Men's Christian 
Association building in Michigan City, and 
has served as president of the associatithi 
and now as a director. He is active in the 
Chamber of Commerce, and for twenty 
years or more has been identified with every 
movement for the advancement of Michi- 
gan City. He is a member of the Michi- 
gan City Rotary Club, a member of St. 
Andrews Society, the oldest charitable so- 
ciety in Illinois, is a member of the Chi- 
cago Traffic Club, of the Potawattomie 
Country Club, and in 1888 was secretary 
of the Caledonian Society of Chicago. He 
was made a Master Mason in the place of 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2043 



his birth in February, 1888, and is now 
affiliated with Acme Lodge No. 83, Ancient 
Free and Accepted IMasons, with Michigan 
City Chapter No. 25, Royal Arch Masons, 
Michigan City Council No. 56, Royal and 
Select Masons, Michigan City Commandery 
No. 30, Knights Templar, and Fort Wa.yne 
Consistory of the Scottish Rite. He is a 
charter member of Lake City Court No. 
520 of the Independent Order of Foresters, 
and a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks No. 432, and of the 
Ahksahewah Canoe Club. 

As a republican in politics Mr. Taylor 
has at different times been identified with 
party affairs, and was especiallj' active dur- 
ing ilcKinley 's campaign. He was a mem- 
ber of the first county council established 
after the passage of the Legislature for 
that purpose about 1901. This council ef- 
fected a reduction of $105,000 in the county 
taxes. In the primary elections in 1917 
Mr. Taylor was the choice of his party for 
mayor. He has also been instrumental in 
bringing about legal procedure to cause 
the authorities to cease to -levy illegal taxes 
against the citizens of the county. During 
the recent war Mr. Taylor served as vice 
chairman of the committee for the sale of 
"War Savings Stamps and secretary of the 
Liberty Loan Committees. 

Robert John Logan. Business, like 
war, is constantly recruiting younger men 
to positions in the ranks or as lieutenants 
and captains, and among the younger busi- 
ness men of Anderson one who might prop- 
erly be considered at least a lieutenant in 
rank is Robert John Logan, head of the 
firm Logan & Morrison, plumbing and 
heating. 

Mr. Logan was born at Akron, Ohio, 
March 15, 1889, son of J. R. and Mary 
fWaldschmidt) Logan. He is of Scotch- 
Irish and German ancestry. His grand- 
father, Robert J. Logan, was born in Scot- 
land and on coming to America settled at 
Fredericksburg, Ohio. For a number of 
years he was engineer on an old line 
railway, now the C. A. & C. Railway. J. 
R. Logan also developed his talents as an 
engineer. As an employe of the great 
match king, Ohio C. Barber, of Akron and 
Barberton, he came to Wabash, Indiana, 
and constructed the Ignited Boxboard and 
Paper Company of that city, and has been 
witli that firm continuouslv now for over 



thirty-one years. He and his wife are both 
living in Wabash. 

Robert John Logan was only a baby 
when his parents moved to Wabash, and 
he grew up there, gaining his education in 
the public schools. In 1907 he graduated 
from high school, and in the same year en- 
tered DePauw t^niversity at Greencastle, 
where he spent two years. Leaving col- 
lege in 1909, he found a position with an 
industrial plant at Wabash, at first as 
roustabout and trouble shooter, gradually 
worked up to the duties of bookkeeper and 
commercial manager. Two years later he 
was made manager of the local office. lu 
1913 he resigned, and removing to Ander- 
son began the sale of gas appliances under 
the name The Anderson Gas Appliance 
Company at 1033 Main Street. When the 
supply of natural gas was exhausted he 
gave up that business and in March, 1917, 
established a corporation with a former em- 
ploye, E. D. Morrison, under the firm name 
of Logan & Morrison, Incorporated. Mr. 
Logan is president. They bought the 
plumbing establishment of John H. Em- 
mert, 46 West Ninth Street, and have con- 
tinued at the same location but have gi-eatly 
improved the service and facilities for 
handling all forms of heating and plumb- 
ing contracts, including electric heating. 
They have done a large amount of work 
for private individuals and also some con- 
tracts for the city and county. 

In 1912 ]\Ir. Logan married Helen H. 
Johnson, daughter of George B. and Alice 
(Greeson) Johnson, of Wabash, Indiana. 
Politically his vote is east independently. 
Mr. Logan is affiliated with Wabash Lodge 
No. 61, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, and also with the Royal Arch Chap- 
ter. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. 

Leon B. Schutz is president and gen- 
eral manager of the Credit Apparel Com- 
pany, a business that has had a rapid 
growth and prosperous career during the 
last four or five years, and has expanded 
until it now includes three large stores, at 
Andei-son, Richmond, and Muncie. 

A simple statement of the facts and ex- 
periences in the career of Leon B. Schutz 
needs no special comment, and the story 
stands by itself as a most inspiring and 
encouraging one, proving what a young 
man of much resourcefulness can accom- 



2044 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



plish in spite of difficult circumstances and 
even of repeated failures. 

Mr. Schutz was boru in Lithuania, Rus- 
sia, July 15, 1887, a son of Benzion and 
Agee (Chones) Schutz. His parents are 
still living in the old country. His brother 
Moses was a soldier in the Russian army 
and is now a prisoner of war in Germany. 

Mr. Schutz came to America alone in 
November, 1903, at the age of sixteen. For 
eight years he lived in New York City. 
His first opportunity to gain a foothold 
in that busy metropolis was as errand boy 
ii; a store. At the end of three weeks his 
employer committed suicide and he was out 
of a job. At that time three dollars a 
week paid his board and lodging. As 
stockboy in a cloak and suit factory he en- 
dured conditions only a short time, since 
be was subjected to menial tasks by his 
superiors that he felt it beneath him to con- 
tinue longer. In the meantime he was ac- 
quiring some training in American ways, 
and his next work with better pay was in 
the woolen business. He kept working to- 
ward larger responsibilities, and finally 
was made a city salesman. He remained 
with that firm several years, until in the 
panic of 1907 he was displaced. He then 
went west to Chicago, and worked as a 
clothing salesman, a line of which he was 
totally ignorant, but where his ready 
adaptability and quick observation enabled 
him to become a fixture, and he was there 
abiut four years. 

On returning to New York Cit.y IMr. 
Schutz married in 1910 Mary Gross, of 
Heightstown, New Jersey, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Angle (Muckler) Gross. They 
have two children, Herbert born in 1913 
and Emeline Dorothy, born in 1917. 

Having gradually accumulated a small 
capital amounting to about $1,000 Mr. 
Schutz after his marriage set up in the 
woolen business for himself on Worth 
Street in New York City. He was there 
a year and a half and then sought a better 
location for a business in Los Angeles, 
California. In the meantime he had spent 
his capital, and on returning to New York 
City went to work for the Regal Shoe Com- 
pany as salesman at fifteen dollars a week. 
In two months time his record of sales was 
the best of any similar employe of the 
company. But he was not content to re- 
main an employe, and in 1913 he came to 
Anderson and accepted the position of 



manager of the People's Clothing Com- 
pany. After 31-2 years he took a partner 
and in 1917 established the Credit Apparel 
Company. The rapid growth of the busi- 
ness has enabled the firm to establish two 
branches, one at Muncie and one at Rich- 
mond, and they now have three large sales- 
rooms with fine fixtures and employ about 
twenty-five clerks and others, and handle 
a splendid line of cloaks, suits, and men's 
clothing. The company does an immense 
business both in the country and city trade. 
Mr. Schutz is president of the corporation 
and is manager of the Anderson branch. 
He is buyer for all the stores. 

ilr. Schutz is a republican. He is an 
orthodox Jew and Zionist, and is treasurer 
of Ahavath Achim Temple at Anderson. 
Fraternally he is affiliated with Veritas 
Lodge No. 735, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, at New York City and with the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
at Anderson. 

Clement V. Carr. It is not merely his 
official position as sheriff of Wayne County 
which makes Mr. Carr one of the most 
widely known and appreciated citizens of 
that section of Indiana. He had a strong 
hold on the confidence and esteem of the 
community before he was chosen to the of- 
fice of sherifi', and has shown business judg- 
ment and integrity through all the varied 
relationships of his life. 

He was born in Butler County, Ohio, 
February 2, 1863, a son of Jacob G. and 
Katherine (Zeller) Carr. He is of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry. He was born on a farm, 
lived in one of the rural districts of Ohio 
until he was ten years old, when his par- 
ents moved to Wells County, Indiana, and 
there as a boy he assisted his father in 
working the 160 acre farm. At the age of 
eighteen, in 1882, he came to Richmond and 
learned the trade of molder in the plant of 
the Hoosier Drill Company. He remained 
with that one firm as one of its most relia- 
ble workers for thirteen years. He then 
took employment with the Jones Hardware 
Company. He gave up this business con- 
nection to go to Solomon, Kansas, and take 
charge of a large ranch of 4,220 acres 
owned by J. M. Westcott. This was one 
of the famous ranches of the Solomon Val- 
ley in Dickinson County, Kansas, near 
Abilene. Mr. Carr remained as its man- 
ager for five years, and for the next two 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2045 



years was engaged in cattle raising at 
IJonlder, Wyoming. Returning to Rich- 
mond in 1911, he began farming for him- 
self on a place of 172' o acres near Rich- 
naond. He left the active management 
after five yeai-s to enter politics as primary 
candidate for the office of sheriff in 1916. 
There were ten aspirants for the republi- 
can nomination, and he won out over them 
all and in the succeeding election he de- 
feated his democratic opponent, Ben Dris- 
chel, by 1,700 votes. In 1918 he was again 
successful at the primaries and defeated 
Isaac Burns for a second term by a similar 
plurality. The sheriff's office on all ac- 
counts has never been in better hands than 
since Mr. Carr took its management. He 
is a man of vigor, courageous and prompt 
in decisions, and thoroughly well qualified 
for his duties. On May 10, 1917, he was 
appointed chairman of the Wayne County 
Conscription Board No. 1, and had those 
duties throughout the war period. Mr. 
Carr is a popular member of the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, Knights 
of Pythias, and the Wayne Lodge of 
Moose No. 167. He is a member of the 
Grace Methodist Episcopal Church at 
Richmond. 

He is properly proud of his fine family. 
Februaiy 27, 1883, he married Lillie A. 
Fasold, daughter of John Fasold of Rich- 
mond, Indiana. There were four children 
born to their marriage: Herbert A., born 
January 24, 1884, died at the age of 
twenty-one ; Clifford H., born September 
21, 1888, accounts for the star in the serv- 
ice flag in the family home. He graduated 
with the degree electrical engineer from 
the Kansas State Agricultural College at 
Manhattan in 1907, and for several years 
was engineer of the sales department of 
the Allis-Chalmers Company at Kansas 
City. Early in the war he enlisted and is 
at present in the warrant office of the 
United States Navy. He married at ^lan- 
hattan, Kansas. The two younger children 
of ilr. and Mrs. Carr are Katharine Zeller, 
now a jimior in the Richmond High School, 
and Earle W., also a high school student, 
born in 1906, on the Westcott Ranch, Solo- 
man, Kansas. 

James A. Van Osdol, an Indiana lawyer 
of over thirty years experience, has largely 
specialized his services in behalf of the 
Union Traction Company of Indiana since 



that transportation system was put in oper- 
ation. Mr. Van Osdol is general attorney 
for the company, with offices and head- 
quarters at Anderson, and at one time was 
associated as a law partner with Charles L. 
Henry, who perhaps more than any other 
man was responsible for inaugurating the 
building of interurban electric lines which 
are now comprised in this splendid Union 
Traction System. 

Mr. Van' Osdol is of old Holland Dutch 
lineage, first established in the colony of 
New .Jersey. The early records show' that 
a member of the Van Osdol family was 
sent by the Dutch government to America 
for the purpose of testing clays with a 
view to the establishment of potteries. 
This pioneer Van Osdol was so well satis- 
fied with the new country that he re- 
mained, and started the American branch 
of the family which sul)sequently moved 
to Pennsylvania, and later came down the 
Ohio Valley to Southern Indiana. Through 
most of the generations the famil.y have 
been farmers. 

James A. Von Osdol was born in Cass 
Township, Ohio County, Indiana, August 
4, 1860, son of Boston Weaver and Rachel 
(Jenkins) Van Osdol. His early life was 
spent in the rugged and backwoocls districts 
of Ohio County, and his early education 
was limited to the public schools there in 
winter terms, while his services found am- 
ple employment on the farm during the 
summer. In this way his life went on un- 
til he was seventeen years of age, when he 
obtained a certificate and began teaching 
school. This was a vocation he followed 
for six years in his native county. The 
last three years of that time he studied law 
at home privately, and in 1883 he was ad- 
mitted to the bar by Judge Allyson. He 
had in tlie meantime moved to Vevay, 
Switzerland County, Indiana, and shortly 
he .joined William D. Ward under the firm 
name of Ward & Van Osdol, which was 
continued until 1893. In the latter year 
Mr. Van Osdol moved to Elwood, Indiana, 
where he practiced for two years, and in 
1895 moved to Anderson, and there 
became associated with Charles L. Henry 
and E. B. ^IcMahan in the law firm 
of Henry, Mcilahan & Van Osdol. This 
firm was continued for two years. Mr. 
Van Osdol was associated from the first 
with Mr. Henry and other men in the or- 
ganization of the Union Traction Company, 



2046 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



and early in the history of the organiza- 
tion was chosen its general attorne.y and 
has since been at the head of the legal de- 
partment and in more or less intimate 
touch with all legal matters affecting the 
organization and operation of the present 
concern known as the Union Traction Com- 
pany of Indiana. 

Mr. Van Osdol is one of the directors of 
the Anderson Trust Company. In the 
spring of 1917 he was appointed chairman 
of the Red Cross organization in Madison 
County, and was also early appointed a 
member of the Indiana Advisory Commit- 
tee of the American Red Cross. Under 
his leadership Madison County responded 
generously to every call of the Red Cross. 
He has been quite active in republican 
party affairs, and perhaps chiefly so while 
living in Southern Indiana. In 1888 he 
was elected superintendent of public 
schools of Switzerland County. :Mr. Van 
Osdol is a member of the Columbia Club of 
Indianapolis, the Tourist Club of Ander- 
son, the Rotary Club of Anderson, is presi- 
dent of the Anderson Chamber of Com- 
merce, is affiliated with the Knights of Py- 
thias at Vevay, and has membership in the 
First Methodist Church at Anderson. Mr. 
Van Osdol has been twice married. By his 
first marriage he has a son, Robert. In 
1894 he married Mrs. Mary P. (Gould) 
Goodin, of Peru, Indiana. By her first hus- 
band she had a son, Donald Goodin. Mr. 
and Mrs. Van Osdol have one child, Gould 
J. Van Osdol, bom in 1902. 

Rex D. Kaufman is sole proprietor of 
the Kaufman Hardware Company, a busi- 
ness which was established in Anderson 
many years ago by his father and in which 
he developed his own skill and capacity as 
a merchant. This is one of the large con- 
cerns of Eastern Indiana, and does both a 
retail and jobbing business in light and 
heavy hardware and mill supplies all over 
this portion of the state. 

Mr. Kaufman was born November 14, 
1884, at Kokomo, Indiana, a son of Dan 
T. and Eva (Turner) Kaufman. His 
father was a merchant for many years, 
and associated with George W. Davis as 
a partner in the Lion Store at Anderson 
from 1886 until on the dissolution of the 
partnership, Mr. Davis took the dry goods 
department and Dan Kaufman the hard- 
ware and mill supply end, which he con- 



tinued successfully until his death in June, 
1915. 

Rex D. Kaufman has three living sis- 
ters. He was educated in the public 
schools of Anderson, spending three years 
in high school. From early boyhood he 
had worked in his father's store, and at the 
age of eighteen took his place as a regular 
clerk therein and acquired a thorough 
knowledge of every branch of the business. 
After his father's death he bought the busi- 
ness and has continued it under the same 
high plane it was run in his father's day. 
It requires the services of fifteen people to 
conduct the store. Mr. Kaufman is also 
a stockholder and vice president of the 
"Wynne Cooperage Company at Wynne, 
Arkansas. He was president of the Ander- 
son Club in 1916-17, is a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce, the Columbia Club 
of Indianapolis, is a Knight Templar Ma- 
son, has attained the thirty-second degree 
in the. Scottish Rite, is a member of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Anderson Lodge No. 209, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and is quite active in republican party 
affairs. 

In 1912 he married Nondas E. Craft, 
daughter of William and Mary Craft, of 
Anderson. 

Philip Zoercher is an Indianapolis law- 
yer who is one of the important contribu- 
tions of Perry County to the capital city, 
ilr. Zoercher has long been prominent in 
public affairs in Indiana, has served in the 
State Legislature, as Supreme Court re- 
porter, and is now a member of the board 
of state tax commissioners. 

Mr. Zoercher was born at Tell City, In- 
diana, October 1, 1866, son of Christian 
and Mary Anna (Christ) Zoercher. They 
were the parents of eight children, six of 
whom are still living. 

Christian Zoercher was born in Bavaria, 
Germany, and grew up there until sixteen 
years of age. In order to escape eom- 
jiulsory military service he left the Father- 
land and came to the United States in 
1848. His first location was at Poughkeep- 
sie, New York, where he worked at the cab- 
inet maker's trade. After that he lived 
successively for .short intervals at Cleve- 
land and Cincinnati, and in April, 1866, 
moved to Tell City, Indiana, where he 
found employment in the shops of that 
town. While at Cincinnati he married. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2047 



and after moving to Tell City he settled 
down in a permanent home. Prominence in 
polities and the other abnormal events of 
life had no place in the career of Christian 
Zoercher. His one predominant quality 
was industry, and he became widelj* known 
throughout Perry County for his good, sub- 
stantial qualities. His greatest enjoyment 
was in the quiet and happy relationship 
of his home, and he had no convivial habits. 
He was honest and law abiding, and his 
career expressed all that was best in man- 
hood. In religious belief he was a Men- 
nonite, but there being no church of that 
organization in his locality he attended the 
Evangelical Church. In politics he was a 
republican until 1872, and from that time 
forward a democrat. But he did not care 
to make a name in politics, his only public 
service being as councilman. He died hon- 
ored and respected February 6, 1917. His 
wife passed away in September, 1906. 
Christian Zoercher was especially fortunate 
in the choice of a wife. She bore her part 
in the making of a home, and few mothers 
were loved more devotedly than this 
mother, who uncomplainingly filled the 
niche allotted to her. 

Mr. Philip Zoercher grew up at Tell 
City, attended the public schools there and 
the Central Normal College at Danville. 
During four years of his early youth he 
worked in the factory of Tell City.. He 
also taught school one year, and in 1888, 
at the age of twenty-two, was elected to rep- 
resent Perry County in the State Legisla- 
ture. He was re-elected in 1890, serving 
four years altogether. At least one im- 
portant law now upon the statute books 
of Indiana testifies to his legislative experi- 
ence. This was the bill which be intro- 
duced compelling county auditors to apply 
the surplus funds in the county treasury to 
the redemption of its outstanding indebted- 
ness. 

While a member of the State Legislature 
Mr. Zoercher took up the study of law, and 
in November, 1890, was admitted to the 
bar. He began practice at Tell City. Dur- 
ing the county seat fight between Cannel- 
ton and Tell City, and against his better 
.iudgment, he was induced to establish an 
English speaking paper in his native city. 
This was the Tell City News. He sold this 
paper in 1900 and then gave his complete 
attention to his private law practice. In 
November, 1900, Mr. Zoercher was elected 



and served one term of two years as prose- 
cuting attorney of the Second Indiana 
Judicial District. It is reported that he 
was probably the most efficient prosecuting 
attorney that district ever had. 

In 1912 Mr. Zoercher was elected re- 
porter for the Supreme Court of Indiana, 
and continued to discharge the responsibili- 
ties of that office until January 14, 1917. 
Since that time he has been a member of 
the law firm of Zoercher & Patrick, with 
offices in the Fidelity Loan Building of In- 
dianapolis. In March, 1917, Mr. Zoercher 
was appointed a member of the board of 
state tax commissioners. 

June 26, 1892, he married Miss aiartha 
McAdams. They have three children: 
Mary Anna, Martha McAdams and James 
McAdams. Mr. Zoercher is affiliated with 
the :\Iasonic Order, the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias 
and in religious practice is a Presbyterian. 

William Samuel Curtis was born at 
Newport in Wayne County, Indiana, June 
19, 1850, a son of William C. and Elizabeth 
R. Curtis. He attended ilcKendree Col- 
lege, Lebanon, Illinois, and Washington 
University, St. Louis, and became first a 
teacher and then a lawyer. He was made 
Dean of the St. Louis Law School in 1894 
and Dean Emeritus in 1915. He was a 
member of the Church of the Unity, St. 
Louis, and was independent in his politi- 
cal affiliations. The death of William Sam- 
uel Curtis occurred at Pier Cove. Michi- 
gan, May 23, 1916. 

Robert Elliott has been a resident of 
Indianapolis twenty-five years. He is re- 
sponsible for giving this city one of its im- 
portant industries, the Standard Dry Kiln 
Company, of which he is president, and 
has handled many other commercial inter- 
ests at the same time. 

A native of Detroit, Michigan, born Feb- 
ruary 11, 1859, Mr. Elliott is of English 
and Scotch ancestry. His father, Robert 
Elliott, Sr., was a native of Canada but 
for sixty years lived in Detroit, where he 
died in 1915. In Detroit Robert Elliott, 
Jr., grew up, attended the local schools, 
and as a young man became connected with 
the Huyatt & Smith Manufacturing Com- 
pany and still later was with the Detroit 
Blower Company. Here it was that he 
gained a technical familiarity with the dry 



2048 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



kiln business, especially the manufacture 
of machines for drying clay products and 
lumber. He has witnessed most of the im- 
portant improvements aaad technical 
process, which, beginning with a crude 
blower system, has advanced from stage to 
stage, involving many adaptations in detail 
and a gradual change of basic principle to' 
the "Moist Air" system. 

As a result of the failure of the house at 
Detroit Mr. Elliott and :Mr. A. T. Bemis 
in 1887 removed to Louisville, Kentucky, 
and started a similar business on an inde- 
pendent scale. It was freely predicted that 
they would fail. However, they knew what 
they were about as a result of long and 
thorough experience, and all predictions as 
to the outcome of their enterprise failed to 
materialize. Mr. Elliott finally bought the 
interest of his partner, and in 1890 incor- 
porated the company with a capital stock 
of $50,000. In order to get a more cen- 
tral location he moved his plant to Indian- 
apolis in 1894. Here the industry has 
grown and flourished, with Mr. Elliott as 
directing head from the beginning until 
within the past year or so, when his son 
Robert C. took the active management. 

Mr. Elliott is also vice president of 
Brown-Hufifstetter Sand Company and 
president of the Western Machine Works. 
He has kept in close touch with the ma- 
terial growth and social affaii-s of Indian- 
apolis and has membership iu many of the 
more notable organizations of Indianapolis, 
including the Chamber of Commerce, the 
Athaeneum, the Academy of Music, the 
Eotery and Woodstock clubs and the Ma- 
sonic Order, in which he is a Knight Tem- 
plar, a Shriner, and a thirty-second degree 
Scottish Rite ilason. Politically he is an 
inileiiendcnt republican and in religion is 
a Unitarian. 

In 1S89 :\Ir. Elliott married Miss Anna 
Schaefer. of Louisville, Kentucky. Their 
three children are named Robert C, Amy 
Louise and Edward J. 

George L. Bonham is an Anderson mer- 
chant and business man, proprietor of 
what is known as the ' ' Popular Price Shoe 
Store," and has justly earned every suc- 
cessive promotion and added success that 
have followed his efforts since early boy- 
hood. 

Mr. Bonham was born December 21, 
1863, at Hartford City, Indiana, son of 



William A. and Mary A. (Robey) Bon- 
ham. He is of English ancestrj', and the 
first American of the name, George Bon- 
ham, came to this country in colonial times 
and settled on a tract of virgin land in 
Pennsylvania. Later members of the fam- 
ily were soldiers in the Revolution, and in 
nearly all the generations the Bonhams 
•have been agriculturists. Peter Bonham, 
grandfather of George L. settled in Perry 
County, Ohio, in 1832, was a pioneer there, 
and in 1836 came still further west to a 
comparatively pioneer community, locating 
in Blackford County, Indiana, where he 
bought government land near the present 
City of Roll. He was a high type of citi- 
zen, and lived an industrious and honored 
career. He died in 1858. He married 
Susanna H. Yost, and they had eight chil- 
dren. Fifth among these childi-en was 
William A. Bonham, who was born in 
Perry County, Ohio, in 1834. He grew 
up on a farm, had a country school educa- 
tion, and attended an academy in Ohio. 
For a time he taught school in Perry 
County, Ohio, and on returning to Indiana 
taught in Washington Township of Black- 
ford County. Later he took up the study 
of law with A. B. Jetmore of Hartford 
City, and about the close of the Civil war 
was admitted to the bar in Blackford 
County. He practiced with success for 
twenty years. He died in 1888. Politically 
he first affiliated with the democratic and 
afterward with the republican party. In 
1868 he was elected on the democratic 
ticket to the State Senate, and subsequently 
he was republican candidate for Congress 
from the Hartford City District. As a law- 
yer he handled a general practice and was 
perhaps best known for his ability in crimi- 
nal law. 

George L. Bonham was the second in a 
family of three children. He was educated 
in Hartford City, but at the age of thirteen 
began contributing to his own support. 
During vacation seasons he worked for a 
local grocery firm, and it was his distinction 
to inaugurate the fii-st free delivery system 
of groceries in that town. Up to that 
time it had been the general practice and 
custom of long standing that purchasers 
should in some way get their purchases 
home without the merchant having any re- 
sponsibility after the goods left the coun- 
ter. ^Ir. Bonham did the delivery work 
with an old hand cart. He kept this up for 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2049 



several vacation seasons. At the age of 
sixteen he left public school altogether and 
went to work as clerk in the grocery de- 
partment of a local department store. 
Later he transferred his services to the shoe 
department, and acquired much knowledge 
that he has been able to utilize ever since. 
For fifteen years he was with the Weiler 
Department Store at Hartford City, and 
much of that time was buj-er and manager 
for the shoe department. 

Having an ambition to get into business 
for himself, and having thriftily saved his 
money for that purpose, he opened his first 
stock of shoes only a block away from 
where he had been employed, and remained 
in business there for ten years under the 
name George L. Bonham, Popular Price 
Shoe Store, "On the Square." Mr. Bon- 
ham finally sold his business in Hartford 
City wi»h the intention of going to Cali- 
fornia. He changed his mind, and con- 
tracted to buy an established business at 
Marion, Indiana. The agreement fell 
through and in 1914 he came to Anderson 
and established a new store at 815 Meri- 
dian Street. He was there two years, and 
the lease having expired he moved to his 
present location at the corner of Meridian 
and Ninth streets, the former location of 
the Anderson Banking Company. This 
store is headquarters for the W. L. Douglas 
shoes, and he has built ud a trade that now 
seeks his goods from all the country sur- 
rounding Anderson, ineluding large por- 
tions of Delaware, Henry and ilarion 
counties. 

In 1886 Mr. Bonham married Cora Belle 
Atkinson, daughter of James L. and Martha 
J. (Stevens) Atkinson. Her parents lived 
near Upland in Grant County. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bonham have four children: Ruth, 
who married Raymond A. Klefeker, of 
Oklahoma City ; is the mother of two sons 
and three daughters; Martha, at home; 
James William, who was born in 1895, 
graduated from the high school in 1913 and 
is now associated with his father in busi- 
ness; and George L., born in 1908. Mr. 
Bonham is a republican, a member of the 
board of stewards of the First Methodist 
Episcopal Church, and is affiliated with the 
Knights of Pythias, having filled all the 
chairs and sat in the Grand Lodge of that 
order. 



W. A. Cl.\rk is an Anderson business 
man, proprietor of the W. A. Clark Trans- 
fer Company, a business which he has built 
up to a large service, though he began it 
with himself as sole operative and with his 
only equipment a horse and dray. 

IMr. Clark was born at Anderson October 
30, 1869, son of Henry and Margaret (Lee) 
Clark. He is of Scotch and English ances- 
try. The family before coming to Indiana 
lived in Darke County, Ohio. W. A. Clark 
received most of his education in country 
school No. 6 in Lafayette Township of 
iladison County. While getting his educa- 
tioH he also worked on the home farm, and 
that was his experience and routine in life 
until he was about nineteen. His father 
also did a teaming business, and the sou 
worked as a driver, but at the age of twen- 
ty-one came into Anderson and spent eleven 
months as an emploj^e of the Big Four Rail- 
way Company. He was paid $1.35 per day. 
Though the wages were small he managed 
to set aside a certain sum as saving and 
capital, and from that modest accumula- 
tion he bought his first horse and dray and 
began trucking. From that he has de- 
veloped a service that would now require 
a number of horse draj's and motor trucks, 
and is busy every working day in the 
year. His equipment and service are 
largely made use of by the various factories 
of Anderson. 

March 25, 1895, ]Mr. Clark married Addie 
^lay McNatt, daughter of Samuel and 
Mary Ann (Moore) ilcNatt. They have 
four children : Beulah ilargaret. who is em- 
ployed by her fatlier ; Ralph, born in 1903 ; 
Katherine Pauline, born in 1909 ; and Fred, 
born in 1913. Mr. Clark is an independent 
republican in politics and is affiliated with 
the Knights of the Golden Eagle. 'Sim. 
Clark and daughter are members of the 
First Christian Church. 

]\IiCHAEL George O'Brien. In naming 
the prominent men of Anderson now in 
commercial life, account must be taken of 
those who are representative in professional 
as well as strictly business activity, and 
no better example can be presented than 
Michael George O'Brien, who is not only at 
the head of his own bond and brokerage 
business, but is identified officially or other- 
wise with a number of other stable con- 
cerns. Mr. O'Brien bears a name that in- 



2050 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



dicates Irish ancestry, and no one could 
take more genuine pride in having come 
from an old County Clare family, de- 
scended from Brian Boru. He is a vigor- 
ous broad-minded, generous-hearted man, 
college bred and widely read, and for many 
years devoted his brilliant talents to the 
work of the Christian ministry, in which 
he became favorably known all over and 
beyond the state. 

Michael George O'Brien was born at 
LaFayette in Tippecanoe County, Indiana, 
July 15, 1862. His parents were Michael 
and Hannah (McMahon) O'Brien. In boy- 
hood he attended the parochial school and 
afterward took a course in Professor Ken- 
nedy 's business college at LaFayette. Sub- 
sequently circumstances so guided his life 
that he spent three years in a theological 
course, where he received his degree in 
1887. Three years later he was ordained 
by the Wesleyan Methodist Conference at 
Fairmount, Indiana, a minister of that 
body and his first charge was at Peru, In- 
diana. Mr. O'Brien remained there for 
three years and then was transferred to 
the Wesleyan Church at South Wabash, 
where he spent three more years of earnest 
effort, and the next six years were spent 
ministering to the Wesleyan Methodist 
churches at Wabash, Lewis Creek and at 
Hope, Indiana. 

In the meanwhile, through closer study 
of theological history and wider personal 
experiences, Mr. 'Brien came to the part- 
ing of the ways with the Wesleyan Church 
but was not ready to lay aside the burdens 
he had assumed when he had become a min- 
ister. Hence he turned to the Christian 
Church, with which religious denomination 
he united at Columbus. Indinia. and sub- 
sequently was pastor of the Central Chris- 
tian Church at Kankakee, Illinois, for three 
years. During this latter period he became 
chaplain of the Eastern Illinois State Hos- 
pital, being an appointee of former Gov- 
ernor Dencen. This was his closing year 
of ministerial work. 

During his entire period of service in the 
church Mr. O'Brien had been faithful and 
zealous, had increased membership and 
added to church property. He was beloved, 
trusted and admired wherever his pastor- 
ates had been located. But, even honest 
affection and real esteem will not, in 
modern days, provide sufficiently for the 



normal needs of a growing familj' when 
supplemented merelj' by the very meager 
salary usually voted a minister in the above 
religious organizations, and this situation 
finally became so acute that Mr. u 'Brien 
in self defense, determined to leave profes- 
sional life entirel.y and embark in business, 
where a decided natural talent would give 
him opportunity to properly provide for 
those dependent upon him. Many protests 
assailed him, and among the influences that 
sought to break his resolve were flattering 
calls to several Chicago churches. 

For two years Mr. O'Brien then served 
as district manager of the Illinois Life In- 
surance Company, and then went into busi- 
ness for himself, in the line of stocks and 
bonds, and for three years was junior part- 
ner in the firm of Hetherington & O'Brien, 
general brokers, at Kankakee, Illinois. 
From that city he removed to Mansfield, 
Ohio, and in association with F. A. Wilcox 
of Akron and C. H. Waltes of Rochester, 
New York, organized what is now known 
as the Mansfield Rubber Company, of 
which he was one of the officials. He also 
was one of the organizers of the National 
Rolling Mill Company, of Mansfield, and 
served as its vice president for three years. 
In 1912 Mr. O'Brien came to Anderson, 
and has been practically interested here 
ever since. He assisted in the i-eorganiza- 
tion of the Shimer Wire and Steel Com- 
pany, and served as vice president until the 
plant was moved from Anderson to Evans- 
ville, Indiana, and he continued with the 
company for four years, since when he has 
been a permanent resident of Anderson, 
and in 1917 opened his present bond and 
brokerage office. Among other Anderson 
enterprises in which Mr. O'Brien is inter- 
ested is the Lincoln Motor Truck Company, 
of which he was one of the founders and 
is a director. The success which has at- 
tended Mr. O'Brien in his business under- 
takings has been gained throus-h tlie honor- 
able methods that might have been expected 
of a many of such high personal character. 

Mr. O'Brien was married in 1885 to Miss 
Fidelia Smith, who was born in Hamilton 
County, Indiana, and is a daughter of 
Thomas and Lorena (Castor) Smith, the 
family being old settlers in that section. 
Seven children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
O'Brien and three daughters are married. 
In political life Mr. O'Brien is identified 



INDIANA AND INDTAXANS 



2051 



with the republican party. He belongs to 
the Benevolent and Protective Order ot 
Elks and is a Mason of high degree. 

Charles Henry Sell has had a long 
record of service as a merchant at Rich- 
mond, and has had an unusually varied 
and interesting experience during his 
career. 

He was born at Anington in Wayne 
Countv, Indiana, in 1867, son of Francis 
M. and Charlotte (Bedell) Sell. He is of 
German and English-Scotch ancestry. He 
attended public schools to the age of twelve 
and then went to work in a grocery store. 
He made such progress thait when he was 
fifteen or sixteen years old he managed a 
small store on his own responsibility. Then 
for ten years he was employed by M. C. 
Henley, serving as shipping clerk and in 
other capacities. He also learned the ma- 
chinist trade, spending three years with 
Gaar. Scott & Company, and for one year 
was with the Robinson Machine Company. 
On leaving Richmond he was in Kansas 
City with the Economy Gas Burner Lamp 
Company a year, and with Swift & Com- 
pany there one year, having charge of three 
small departments of that corporation. 

In the meantime Mr. Sell had amused 
himself and acquired much skill as an ama- 
teur camera artist. He made this a source 
of much value to him while traveling 
through California on a vacation, and 
practically paid his expenses for a time 
with his camera in a general tour from the 
Pacific to the Atlantic Coast. He finally 
returned to Richmond from Boston and es- 
tablished a grocery business of his own, 
borrowing the money. His first business 
was on the west side on Richmond Avenue, 
and he enjoyed unusual prosperity there 
for five years. He then opened the White 
Meat Market on Main Street, and a year 
later traded for a grocery and meat market 
on Swain Avenue. He has since continued 
this business, but since 1917 has been grad- 
ually relieving himself of his responsibili- 
ties with the expectation of retiring and en- 
joying his ten acre farm, where he raises 
pigs and chickens. He also owned a sub- 
division of forty-two lots, and has sold half 
of these lots for building purposes. 

In 190.5 ]\Ir. Sell married Bertha Gaines, 
of Richmond. Thev have one child, Charles 
Drury, bom June '3, 1917. Mr. Sell is an 
independent republican in politics, a mem- 



ber of the First Christian Church, and is 
affiliated with the ilasonic Lodge and 
Knights of Pythias at Richmond. 

George F. Edenh.\rter, M. D.. The 
service of one of Indiana's gi-eatest institu- 
tions, the Central Indiana Hospital for the 
Insane at Indianapolis, has been to a large 
degree the direct expression and the fruits 
of the abilitv, experience and administra- 
tive work of Dr. George F. Edenharter. 
Doctor Edenharter is now closing his twen- 
ty-fifth consecutive year as its superintend- 
ent. For sixteen years he held the office in 
recurring four-year terms, but in 1909 was 
re-elected for an indefinite term and since 
then for good and sufficient reasons there 
has been no re-election. 

At this point it is not possible to do full 
justice to the Central Indiana Hospital for 
the Insane or Doctor Edenharter 's service 
as its administrative head. However it is 
possible to gather from the remarks and 
comments of men eminent in the profession 
and institutional administration some of 
the outstanding features of the work which 
may properly be mentioned here. Indiana 
was one of the first states to introduce an 
improvement upon the old methods of han- 
dling the insane bv the establishment of 
a pathological laboratory and hospital for 
the' sick insane. When this department 
WPS dedicated by the Marion County Medi- 
cal Society in December, 1896, a noted Chi- 
cago specialist. Dr. L. Hektoen, in the 
course of his address said: "The present 
occasion marks the most significant step in 
the advancement and improvement of the 
humanitarian work in which institutions 
like the Central Indiana Hospital for In- 
sane are engaged. The inauguration, under 
the present auspicious circumstances, of a 
fully eouipped, substantial department of 
this hospital, built in accordance with the 
best modern views, reflects gi-eat credit 
upon the development of American alien- 
ism, upon the intelligence of the Board 
of Control of this institution and of its 
superintendent." 

Some years later, in 1904, after the 
laboratory of pathology had been in opera- 
tion and had shown its value, the speaker, 
Prof. Frank W. Langdon, M. D., before the 
Indianapolis ^ledieal Society congratulated 
its members upon pioneer work being ac- 
complished by the institution in the west. 
"How well it has been organized," said 



2052 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



this speaker, "and how well it is fulfilling 
its mission it is not necessary for me to 
tell you. The superintendent of this hos- 
pital is building his monument from day to 
day and year to year, not alone in the mate- 
rial structures devoted to pathological 
anatomy and the sick insane, but also by 
his devotion to the higher researches of 
neurologic and psychiatric medicine. These 
annual meetings of the leading medical so- 
ciety of Indiana under the roof of the most 
complete laboratory for psychiatric re- 
search of any hospital for the insane in our 
country are in themselves unique ; they are 
also equally helpful and stimulating to the 
practitioner and the special student of 
nervous and mental diseases. ' ' 

More significant still was the language 
used by the board of trustees in March, 
1909, when they re-elected Doctor Eden- 
harter for a fifth term as superintendent. 
After expressing their unqualified approval 
and commendation of his administration 
the board made record as follows: "The 
wards of the state entrusted to this institu- 
tion receive the most modern and progres- 
sive treatment known to hospital practice ; 
in fact, the work being done here is so fa- 
vorably received by the profession that 
many leading alienists of not only this 
country but of other countries visit this 
hospital and in written communications 
and otherwise evidence their most hearty 
and enthusiastic approval of methods em- 
ployed and results accomplished. These 
results are the outgrowth of the theories 
and plans of Dr. George F. Edenharter, 
put into practice, and in thus expressing 
ourselves we are endeavoring to give but 
the simple justice due him without over 
laudation. ' ' 

In its editorial comment upon this action 
of the Board the Indianapolis News said : 
"The people of all parties have recognized 
that in Doctor Edenharter the state has 
found a man of unusual executive ability 
and devotion to the public service. Many 
suggestions have been made that his serv- 
ices be drawn on for larger duties. Pos- 
sibly in the opinion of those who have the 
affairs of this hospital most at heart, there 
can be no greater service to the state than 
to see that the inmates have proper care 
and attention. At any rate Doctor Eden- 
harter has practically given his professional 
career to this work. The state owes much 
to such men as he. It knows that with such 



a man in charge an institution will be 
administered with the highest degree of 
efficiency and success. To supervise such 
a hospital involves self sacrificing labor and 
a lofty humanitarian spirit. Having 
found in Doctor Edenharter these qualities 
in eminent degree it is fortunate that the 
state can command his services." 

Upon the twentieth anniversary of the 
dedication of the Pathological Department, 
held under the auspices of the Indianapolis 
IMedical Society December 19, 1916, the 
following resolution was read by Dr. 
Charles P. Emerson and adopted by a ris- 
ing vote: "On this, the twentieth anni- 
versary of the establishment of the Patho- 
logical Institute of the Central Hospital for 
the Insane of Indiana, we, the members of 
the Indianapolis Medical Society, do ex- 
tend to Dr. George F. Edenharter our 
heartiest congratulations on the splendid 
work which he is accomplishing. 

"It was his prophetic vision which led 
him to honor the state of Indiana by the 
erection of the first pathological institute 
in direct connection with a hospital for 
the insane, the first in the United States. 
This institute and its yearly reports have 
and are exerting a wide influence in 
America. 

"Through his plans the physicians of In- 
diana here have the opportunity to attend 
courses for the study and care of the insane. 

"Through his co-operation the students 
of the Indiana University School of Medi- 
cine have opportunities to study psychiatry 
unsurpassed in any other medical school. 

"This institution, with its pathological 
institute, its hospital for the sick insane, its 
exercise and amiisement hall and its other 
pioneer features, owes much of its excel- 
lence and its educational value to the wise 
management of Doctor Edenharter, to 
whom we now extend our a'reetings." 

Doctor Edenharter had been engaged in 
the private practice of medicine in Indian- 
apolis for about seven years before his ele- 
vation to his present responsibilities. He 
was born at Piqua, Miami County, Ohio, 
June 13, 1857. son of John and Elizabeth 
(Roseberg) Edenharter. Doctor Eden- 
harter attended the public schools of Ohio, 
finishing in Dayton. In 1878 he followed 
his parents to Indianapolis, and studied 
medicine in the Medical College of Indiana, 
where he was graduated M. D. in 1886. In 
1904, in recognition of his ability and dis- 



Ig-,, , . 


m 
i 

i. 


t ^ ^ 




U 




^' 






. ■ %^ 


4- 


^■%i5=^ • 




1 





INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2053 



tinguished services in the cause of human- 
ity and his effort in behalf of higher medi- 
cal education and research work, Wabash 
College conferred upon him the degree Mas- 
ter of Arts. After graduation Doctor 
Edenharter opened his office in Indian- 
apolis, and for several years did a general 
practice as a phj'sician and surgeon. He 
was first appointed superintendent of the 
Central Indiana Hospital for the Insane on 
April 7, 1893. In the meantime he had 
for two years been attending physician and 
surgeon to the Marion County Asylum, for 
one year performed similar duties at the 
County Workhouse, and in 1889 was elected 
for two j'cars as superintendent of the In- 
dianapolis City Hospital, a position to 
which he was chosen with the unanimous 
vote of both the republicans and democrats 
of the City Council. Doctor Edenharter 
has been a democrat since casting his first 
vote, and from 1883 to 1887 was representa- 
tive of the eighth ward in the City Coun- 
cil. In 1887 he was democratic nominee 
for maj'or. 

His eminence as a hospital administra- 
tor and in the care and treatment of the 
insane has enabled him to wield a great 
power and influence not only through the 
Indianapolis hospital but among similar in- 
stitutions elsewhere in the state and in 
other states. It was at his suggestion and 
largely as a result of his advocacy that the 
Legislature in 1905 created a new district 
for the insane population, establishing the 
Southeastern Hospital. He was also influ- 
ential in securing the amending of the bill 
providing for an epileptic village in such 
a way as to provide for the hopeful or 
curable cases rather than for the incurably 
insane epileptics assigned to the regular 
hospitals for the insane. It was largely 
due to his advice and effort that Indiana 
located her hospital for the criminal insane 
at ^lichigan City in preference to locating 
such an institution at the Hospital for In- 
sane at Logansport. 

Doctor Edenharter is widely known in 
professional circles, is a member of the 
American Medico-Psychological Associa- 
tion, the New York Medico-Legal Society, 
of which he has served as vice president 
for Indiana, and is a member of the Indian- 
apolis iledical Society, the ^Marion County 
Medical Society, the Indiana State Medical 
Society and the American ^Medical Associa- 
tion. He is a thirty-third degree Scottish 



Rite ^lason and member of Capital City 
Lodge No. 312, Free and Accepted Masons. 
June 6, 1888, Doctor Edenharter married 
Miss Marion E. Swadener, of Dayton, Ohio. 
She was born and reared in Ohio, daughter 
of Michael and Mai-ie (Michel) Swadener. 
Mrs. Edenharter died September 27, 1909. 
She was the mother of one son, Ralph, 
born in Indianapolis July 19, 1889. 

Ben.jamin a. Richardson, who for half 
a century was a resident of Indianapolis, 
served the Eighty-Fourth Indiana Volun- 
teers in the Civil war, was prominent in 
the Indiana National Guard and quarter- 
master general of Indiana under Governor 
James A. Mount during the Spanish- 
American war. As these facts indicate he 
had a career out of the ordinary in both 
experience and achievement. While the 
routine of his life ran smoothly and quietly 
for many years, death came suddenly as to 
a good soldier and in the form of a tragedy 
that brought sorrow to an entire commu- 
nity. General Richardson and his wife were 
driving their automobile from their home 
in Southport to Indianapolis when they 
were struck by a fast mail train on the 
Pennsylvania road and were instantly 
killed. This tragedy occurred October 29, 
1918. 

The Indianapolis News commenting edi- 
torially on this tragedy said: "A fine, 
genial gentleman, a man who kept his youth 
and never lost his temper — such was Ben- 
.jamin A. Richardson, long time a citizen 
of Indianapolis. And through all his j-ears 
as a soldier, occupant of a state office, and 
citizen he had lived a happy, unblemished 
life. The pathos of his taking off will not 
fail to impress the community. Here was 
a man that had been a participant in many 
battles of our great Civil war; who had 
lived beyond the three score and ten years 
period ; who rarely knew illness though 
often in personal danger, and yet who met 
a violent death at a railroad crossing. 
With him also died his wife — a woman 
greatly respected for her many qualities. 
The state and especially the city owe Mr. 
Richardson a debt of affectionate remem- 
brance. He was always ready to serve oth- 
ers. He lived the life of a patriotic, pub- 
lic-spirited citizen." 

His paternal ancestors were of New 
England stock. The first American was 
Samuel Richardson, born in England in 



2054 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



1610, who came to New England about 
1635. A surveyor by profession, he sur- 
veyed and laid out the Town of Woburn, 
Massachusetts, and was one of the founders 
of its first church. Samuel, Jr., was born 
in Woburn May 22, 1646. A son of his 
fourth marriage was David Richardson, 
who was born in Woburn April 14, 1700. 
Their son, Capt. Aaron Richardson, was 
born at Newton, Massachusetts, October 2, 
1740, and was the father of Nathan Henry 
Richardson. 

Lewis Richardson a son of Nathan 
Henry, was born in Oneida County, New 
York, in November, 1813. He married 
Mary Jane McElroy, who was born in 
Oneida County April 20, 1813, daughter of 
William and Esther (Austin) McElroy. 
After their marriage the.y lived on a farm 
in Wayne County, New York, in a locality 
still known as Richardson's Corners. In 
1859 they moved to Delaware, Ohio, and 
during the Civil war their home was in 
Wayne County, Indiana. Mrs. Lewis 
Richardson died in Wayne County in 1862, 
her death being hastened by the loss of a 
son in the army and the departure of the 
younger son, Benjamin, to the front. Lewis 
Richardson afterward returned to Dela- 
ware, Ohio, took up the insurance business, 
and died at the home of his son in Indian- 
apolis in 1890. 

Benjamin Austin Richardson was born 
at Wolcott, Wayne County, New York, 
April 30, 1840. He attended district 
school there, had the routine discipline of 
the home farm, and after the family moved 
to Delaware, Ohio, he attended the town 
schools for two winters. He also attended 
school for a brief time at Dublin, Indiana. 
His mother sought to dissuade him from 
going into the army, but after his older 
bi'other, Nathan, had died he overcame her 
objections, and in August, 1862, enlisted 
in Company C of the Eighty-fourth In- 
diana Infantry. From that time he was 
in the army, later as a non-commissioned 
officer until mustered out at Indianapolis 
May 10, 1865. After the war he was ap- 
pointed clerk in the office of Major Dunn, 
chief mustering officer, in the old Washing- 
ton Hall, and remained to make the final 
report for Major Dunn to the government. 
Later he worked as bookkeeper, also at- 
tended night school and the Bryant and 
Stratton and the Purdy Business colleges 
at Indianapolis. For a number of years 



he was collector and cashier for the Indian- 
apolis Gas Light and Coke Company, but 
in 1876, seeking less confining employment, 
entered the real estate and insurance busi- 
ness. He was prominent in insurance 
circles forty years, and he also handled a 
large volume of real estate. The insurance 
firm was Richardson & McCrea and later 
Richardson, Kothe & McCrea. 

Known as a successful business man, he 
was frequently honored with responsibili- 
ties outside of his private affairs. He was 
especially interested in military organiza- 
tions, and was a member of the first mili- 
tary company organized at Indianapolis 
after the Civil war, of which company Ben- 
jamin Harrison was the captain. On July 
29, 1882, he was made captain of Richard- 
son's Zouaves of Indianapolis, and filled 
that position until he resigned November 
10, 1883. This company gained a reputa- 
tion under his instruction and won many 
laurels in competitive drills. It was the 
first northern company to make a trip to 
the south after the Civil war to compete 
in a military tournament, and was enthu- 
siastically received and carried off many 
honors in the drill contest at Houston, 
Texas. Later he was commissioned major 
and made inspector of rifle practice on the 
staff of Governor Chase, and in 1897 Gov- 
ernor Mount appointed him quartermas- 
ter-general of Indiana during the Spanish- 
American war. He began his term Feb- 
ruary 1, 1897, and served until March' 31, 
1901, during which period his duties were 
ablv and faithfully discharged. 

General Richardson was one of the or- 
ganizers of the Memorial Presbyterian 
Church in Indianapolis and was an elder at 
the time of his death. He was a member 
of the Indiana Society, of the Sons of the 
American Revolution, and was active . in 
Masonry and the Knights of Pythias,_ hold- 
ing a number of official distinctions in the 
Uniform rank of the latter. He was a 
member of George H. Thomas Post No. 17, 
Grand Army of the Republic, and of Camp 
No. 80, Union Veteran Legion. He grew up 
in a democratic family but cast his first vote 
for Abraham Lincoln while in the army. 
At one time he was trustee of the Indian- 
apolis Home for Aged and Friendless 
Women. He also was a member of the 
Board of Governors of the Indianapolis 
Board of Trade, of which he had been a 
member for many years. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2055 



September 13, 1867, in Jackson County, 
Missouri, General Richardson married Miss 
Estelle Carpenter. She was born and 
reared in Delaware County, Ohio, her 
parents having moved to Missouri in 1866. 
She was descended from William Carpen- 
ter, who came from England in 1638 and 
settled at Rehoboth, ^Massachusetts. Later 
members of the family were participants 
in the Indian wars and the War of the 
Revolution. Mrs. Richardson died April 
11, 1900, at the age of fifty-one. Novem- 
ber 12, 1902, General Richardson married 
Miss Susan Ballard. Their life companion- 
ship M^as a most happy one and for a num- 
ber of years Mrs. Richardson was dis- 
tinguished by her interests and active work 
in college and church affairs. She was a 
trustee of the Western College for Women 
at Oxford, Ohio. She was a graduate of 
that college. She was born at Athens, 
Ohio, November 23, 1856, and was de- 
scended from William Ballard, who came 
to America as a member of Governor Win- 
throp's Colony. 

General Richardson by his first marriage 
had six children. Three daughtei-s died in 
infancy or early girlhood. The three sons 
are Nathan Henry, Ben.jamin A., Jr., and 
Sherrill E. Benjamin A. is a dental sur- 
geon in Indianapolis, having received his 
education in the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, and Sherrill E. lives at Hartford 
City. 

Nathan H. Richardson, the oldest son, 
was educated in Wabash College and since 
earl_v youth has been engaged in the insur- 
ance business at Indianapolis. He is now 
secretary of the insurance department of 
the Bankers Savings & Trust Company. It 
was doubtless his father's noble example 
and encouragement that led him to take a 
deep interest in military affairs and he as- 
sisted in reorganizing the State Militia 
after the old National Guard was federal- 
ized for service in the European war, and 
is now a lieutenant in Company H in the 
Indiana State Militia. Nathan H. Rich- 
ardson married ]Miss Callie Lee, a native of 
Peoria, Illinois. Her father, Fielding T. 
Lee, was a member of the old mercantile 
house of Eastman, Slacker & Lee of Indian- 
apolis. Mr. Richardson is a republican and 
a member of the Presbyterian Church. 

Philip T. Colgeove. Among the In- 
dianans who have entered the ranks of the 



legal profession and gained success is num- 
bered Philip T. Colgrove, who was born at 
Winchester April 17, 1858. He is a grad- 
uate of Olivet College, and was admitted 
to the Supreme Court of Michigan in 1879, 
on his twenty-first birthdaj'. He after- 
ward served two terms as prosecuting at- 
torney of Barry County, was elected to the 
state senate in 1888, serving two terms, 
was a presidential elector in 1889, and 
has gained prominence as a political 
speaker. 

^Ir. Colgrove was elected grand chan- 
cellor of Michigan, Knights of Pythias, in 
1889, and in 1898 was made supreme chan- 
cellor. He married Carrie M. Goodyear, 
and they have son and daughter, Lawrence 
and Mabel. 

William H. Augur. No one takes a 
greater interest in the present war activi- 
ties of every American community than 
William H. Augur of Peru. As Mr. Augur 
from his local government position as post- 
master views the pa.ssing soldiers and par- 
ticipates in the loyal and patriotic demon- 
strations of his home city he recalls many 
scenes of his boyhood when as a fifer he 
helped put enthusiasm into the boys who 
were marching away from his Indiana home 
to battle against slavery and for the Union. 

In July, 1908, Mr. Augur was elected 
a member of the National Association of 
Civil War Musicians, Grand Army of the 
Republic. 

ilr. Augur was born at Laurel in Frank- 
lin County, Indiana, December 22, 1850, 
one of the eleven children of William s! 
and Jane (McKown) Augur, the former a 
native of New York and the latter of Penn- 
sylvania. His father was a butcher by 
trade and died in 1855. The mother passed 
away forty years later, in 1895. Both were 
born in 1810. 

William H. Augur lived in his native 
county until fifteen years of age. He at- 
tended the public schools and was eleven 
years old when the Civil war broke out. 
His native village of Laurel organized a 
martial band, which became famous 
throughout the entire country. As a lad 
ilr. Augur learned to perform on a fife, 
and he became a member of this band,' 
which escorted the troops raised from 
Franklin County to their place of starting 
for the front. Mr. Augur continued to 
keep up his practice on the fife, and for 



2056 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



years in Miami County whenever martial 
music was presented he participated as the 
regular flfer and has attended old settlers 
meetings, Grand Army of the Republic re- 
unions and similar ceremonies without 
number. He has served as national fife 
major of the National Association of Civil 
War Musicians. 

To complete his education Mr. Augur 
attended the Kuhn and Curran's Academy 
at Cincinnati for about five terms. In 1865 
he and a brother came to Peru and engaged 
in the butchering business, this emplo.y- 
ment being interrupted somewhat by his 
school attendance and also by some work 
as a railroad man. However, he continued 
in the active ranks of local butchers until 
1891, and for many years has been a mem- 
ber at large of the Amalgamated Meat 
Cutters and Butchers Workmen of North 
America. Through his musicianship he is 
also a member of Peru Local No. 225, 
American Federation of Musicians. Other 
fraternal associations are with the Masons, 
Knights of Pythias, Royal Arcanum and 
the Royal Fellowship. 

Mr. Augur is best known in Miami 
County through his long and effective pub- 
lic service. From March, 1891, to 1895 he 
served as city editor of the Miami County 
Sentinel, an office which by its nature was 
practically a public position. In 1895 he 
became deputy county clerk to Charles R. 
Hughes, and held that office until June 6, 
1903. In 1902 he was elected county clerk, 
the term to begin January 1, 1904, because 
of the new law making all official terms 
of county officers begin at the first of the 
year. The term of I\lr. Hughes had ex- 
pired June 6, 1903, and in the vacancy thus 
created Mr. Augur was appointed by the 
Board of County Commissioners to serve 
until his own regular term of four years 
began. He was re-elected for a second 
term, and for eight years and seven months 
was clerk of courts of Miami County. By 
special election he was chosen city clerk 
of Peru in 1882, and was reelected in the 
spring of 1883, serving two years. On 
March 28, 1914, Mr. Augur was appointed 
postmaster at Peru, and took over the du- 
ties and responsibilities of that office on 
April 21, 1914. Thus the office has been 
under his administration for over four 
years. Mr. Augur has been very active as 
a democrat, having been elected chairman 



of the Democratic Central Committee in 
1910 and again in 1912. 

December 22, 1873, he married Miss Eva 
Josephine Mason, of Mattoon, Illinois. 
They have four children: Ruby Louise, 
Charles J., Frederick 0. and Josephine T. 
Ruby Louise married William A. Alex- 
ander, of Peru, Indiana, June 11, 1913. 
Josephine married J. Omer Cole, and they 
have two children, James Omer and Mary 
Josephine. 

Alfred M. Glossbrenner. When the 
Glossbrenner family moved to Indianapolis 
in January, 1882, from Jeffersonville, Al- 
fred M. Glossbrenner who was born in the 
latter town August 15, 1869, was a few 
months past twelve years of age. At Jef- 
fersonville he had been in school for six 
years. His association with formal institu- 
tions of learning practically ended with his 
removal to Indianapolis. 

The first occupation which he dignified 
and made a source of living income in In- 
dianapolis was selling newspapei-s. He 
also worked as a cash boy in a large store. 
A year later he became an office employe 
of humble status and with a vague routine 
of duties. In these days much is heard of 
vocational education, by which boys are 
furnished a training fitted into the "practi- 
cal affairs of business and life. Led by 
ambition and energy Alfred Glossbrenner 
figured out a system of vocational training 
for himself while he was working for a liv- 
ing in stores and offices. As opportunity 
offered he applied himself to the study of 
bookkeeping, arithmetic and various other 
branches, the mastery of which he realized 
as a necessity to his continued advance- 
ment. While in the office he spent five 
nights a week in the study of commercial 
law. 

The door of opportunity opened to him 
at the age of eighteen when he was taken 
in as bookkeeper and general office man 
with the printing house of Levey Brothers 
& Company. This business had recently 
moved from Madison to Indianapolis. It 
was not one of the biggest concerns of In- 
dianapolis when Mr. Glossbrenner became 
identified with it. But he proved himself 
superior to his normal functions and was 
soon supplying some of the energy and 
ideas which promoted the upbuilding and 
broadening out of the concern. With the 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2057 



growing success of the company his own 
position became one of larger responsibili- 
ties, and in the course of promotion he 
was made secretary and treasurer, and sub- 
sequently vice president and manager. 
Levey Brothers & Company is now one of 
the largest firms in the general printing 
and stationery business in Indiana, and 
much of the success of the house is credited 
to Mr. Glossbrenner. 

In other ways he has proved himself a 
man of usefulness in his home city. He 
has always taken an active part in republi- 
can politics, and in 1898 accepted the nomi- 
nation for state representative at a consid- 
erable sacrifice to his personal business af- 
fairs. During the Sixty-first General As- 
sembly he made his influence felt in the 
promotion of many good measures. Mr. 
Glossbrenner is credited with having first 
formally brought the name of Albert J. 
Beveridge to the attention of the people of 
Indiana in connection with the honor of 
United States senator. He helped organize 
.«ind largely directed the campaign which 
finally elected Mr. Beveridge to a seat in 
the Upper House of Congress April 28, 
1906. In October, 1908, ilayor Charles A. 
Bookwalter appointed Mr. Glossbrenner 
member of the City Sinking Fund Com- 
mission. 

He is well known in social and fraternal 
affairs, was treasurer of the Marion Club 
four years, is a member of the Columbia 
and other republican clubs, has been on the 
governing committee of the Board of Trade, 
is a member of the Commercial Club, is a 
Knight Templar Scottish Rite Mason and 
Shriner, an Odd Fellow and a Knight of 
Pythias. 

November 14, 1894, he married Miss ;\Iin- 
nie M. Stroup, of Waldron. Indiana. Three 
sons were born to them, Daniel Independ- 
ence Glossbrenner, born July 4, 1896 ; Al- 
fred Stroup, born June 6. 1901 ; and George 
Levey, born September 15, 1904. 

Charles H. Wintersteen is a business 
man of Newcastle who has come graduallv 
and through, hard working energy and 
sound ability to his present position of pros- 
perity. Mr. "Wintersteen has a well estab- 
lished business as harness maker and dealer 
in automobile specialties and hardware, and 
his service in these lines is taken advantage 
of by patrons all over Henry and ad.joining 
counties. 



Mr. Wintersteen was born on a farm near 
Seven Mile in Butler Countv, Ohio, No- 
vember 21, 1869, son of Daniel" Y. and Han- 
nah (Conover) Wintersteen. His paternal 
ancestors have been in this country four 
generations. His great-grandfather, Dan- 
iel Wintersteen, came from Germany and 
was a colonial settler in America. Most of 
the Wintersteens have been farmers, and 
that was the occupation of Daniel Y. Win- 
tersteen. Charles H. Wintersteen attended 
public schools at Strawn in Henry County, 
where his parents located when he was a 
year and a half old. As was customary, 
he attended school in the winter and 
worked on the farm in the summer. At the 
age of seventeen an accidental in.iury kept 
him on crutches for nineteen months. Dur- 
ing that time he began planning for some 
other career than farming, and in the 
spring of 1889 went to work to learn the 
harness making trade at Louisville in 
Henry County. In the fall of 1891 he 
went to Jay County, and for several years 
was associated with his father in farming 
a small place. I''p to the fall of 1895 he 
continvied farming, and between crops 
worked at his trade, walking seven miles 
from his home to Red Key to the .shop. In 
April, 1896, Mr. Wintersteen opened a har- 
ness making shop at Louisville, Indiana, 
having a cash capital of only !|;16 when he 
embarked on that enterprise. His business 
prospered from the start, and he had built 
it up to considerable proportions, when on 
August 14, 1890, he sold out to his former 
employe, R. ilcllvaine. After that he was 
again in business at Louisville, but on De- 
cember 13. 1905, came to Newcastle and a 
few days later opened a new shop across 
the street from his present location. In 
1908 he moved to an adjoining building 
and in 1914 came to his present headquar- 
ters at 1411 East Rice Street. He handles 
a large line of general harness goods, also 
makes and repairs harness, and has also 
developed an important department in sup- 
plying automobile specialties and hardware. 
^Ir. Wintersteen married April 27, 1897, 
Hattie Cherr}^ of Dublin, Indiana. They 
have one son, Paul Homer, who is now a 
^nninr in the Civil and Electric Engineer- 
ing Department of Purdue University. He 
p-raduated with honors from the Newcastle 
Hi^h School. While at Purdue he is also 
taking the regularly prescribed course of 
military training, and is thus getting ready 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



to serve his country in the way that his 
abilities and training best fit him. Mr. 
"Wintersteen has been affiliated with the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows and the 
Eagles. He is a member of the First Chris- 
tian Church of Newcastle and in politics is 
a republican. 

Joseph N. Tillett. The soldier receives 
his "honorable discharge" to signify that 
his term of service has been faithfully ful- 
filled. The civilian goes on working to the 
end, or merely retires, without any special 
mark or recognition of the fact. Many men 
fairly win "honorable retirement" even if 
they do not have a certificate to that effect. 

One of these who can now enjoy dignity 
and ease is Hon. Joseph N. Tillett of Peru, 
who has practiced law in Miami County 
nearly thirty years and has to his credit 
two terms of faithful service as a circuit 
judge. Since leaving the bench in 1914 
Judge Tillett has given some attention to 
his private practice as member of the firm 
Tillett & Lawrence, but as a matter of 
personal enjoyment he takes moi-e pleasure 
and pride in looking after his farm of 350 
acres adjoining Peru and raising corn and 
wheat than in the law. 

That farm means the more to Judge Til- 
lett because it was the scene of his birth. 
He was born November 27, 1865, youngest 
of the seven children of William and Eliza- 
beth (Grimes) Tillett. His grandparents 
were James and Susannah (Buck) Tillett, 
natives of Virginia and representatives of 
old Virginia families. William Tillett was 
also a native of Virginia. James Tillett 
brought his family to Indiana in the early 
years of the last century, first locating in 
WajTie County, and in 1834 coming to the 
fringe of settlements along the Wabash 
Valley in Miami County. He acquired a 
tract of wild land in Peru Township and 
put up with the inconveniences of log 
cabin existence for several years. James 
Tillett and wife both died in Miami County. 
He was a Jaeksonian democrat, and both 
his son and grandson have followed him 
in those political principles. James Tillett 
was one of the early county commissioners 
of Miami County. 

William Tillett, father of Judge Tillett, 
was still a boy when brought to Miami 
County. The schools of his day by no 
means measured up to those of his mature 
years, but what he failed to gain in the 



way of thorough book learning he made up 
in practical knowledge of all the secrets 
and mysteries of the forest which sur- 
rounded him. He was distinguished as a 
skillful hunter, and gained his share of the 
honors of the chase in times when the woods 
of Miami County were filled with deer, 
wild turkey and other game. As a farmer 
and good citizen he was equally successful 
and lived a life of usefulness and honor, 
though without specially dramatic events. 
He died February 6, 1903. His wife, a 
native of Ohio, died March 30, 1901. She 
was for many years a member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. 

It was on the old homestead near Peru 
that Joseph Newton Tillett spent his boy- 
hood, attending the district schools, the 
public schools of Peru two years, and iu 
1883 entering old Wabash College at Craw- 
fordsville. He received his Bachelor of 
Science degree from that institution in 
1888 and during the next two years studied 
law at the University of Michigan. His law 
degree was granted with the class of 1890. 

Admitted to the Indiana bar. Judge Til- 
let at once began practice at Peru, being 
associated with Nott N. Antrim under the 
name Antrim & Tillett until 1894. In that 
year Judge Tillett was elected prosecuting 
attorney, and was' re-elected and served 
two consecutive terms. In that office he 
made a record as a thoroughly capable, dili- 
gent, efficient and impartial official, a 
record which followed him when he left 
office to resume private practice and 
brought him in 1902 the well merited hon- 
ors of election as judge of the Fifty-First 
Judicial Circuit. Judge Tillett presided 
over the bench for six years, and was re- 
elected for a second term in 1908. 

Judge Tillett has given his political alle- 
giance to the same party which commanded 
the support of his father and grandfather. 
He and his wife are membei-s of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church at Peru. On August 
10, 1893, he married Miss Elizabeth Bald- 
win, of Washington, Indiana. They have 
two children, Lois Elizabeth and Robert 
Baldwin. 

Edward R. Thompson for many years 
has enacted the role of a merchant in Rich-' 
mond, and is now senior partner of Thomp- 
son & Borton, dealers in men's and boy's 
clothing and furnishings. 

Mr. Thompson, who has spent practically 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2059 



all his life in "Wayne County, Indiana, was 
born at Webster in that county in October, 
1862. He is a son of John il. and Mary 
Charlotta (Davis) Thompson. He is of 
Scotch-Irish ancestry. His ancestors first 
settled in North Carolina. His grandfather 
was Robert Thompson. John M. Thomp- 
son, his father, settled at Washington, now 
Greens Fork, Wayne County. He served 
as a Union soldier in the One Hundred and 
Twenty-Fourth Infantry during 1863-65. 

Edward R. Thompson was the next to 
the youngest in a family of eight children, 
and received his early education in the 
public schools of Webster and the old 
Friends Academy. At the age of twenty he 
was a country school teacher, and followed 
that work for three years in Wayne and 
Grant counties, Indiana. He acquired hisi 
first mercantile training as a salesman for 
the Richmond clothing merchant Sam Fox 
at wages of $4.50 a week. He was with ~Slv. 
Fox for five years and then continued at 
the same location with the firm of Beal & 
Gregg for five years. He had worked hard, 
had made the best use of his opportunities 
and experience, and with a modest capital 
he formed a partnership with William 
Widnp under the name Widup & Thomp- 
son at 803 Main Street. This firm con- 
tinued and prospered for ten years, after 
which the partnership was dissolved. Then 
on account of his wife's health "Sir. Thomp- 
son went South and was retired from busi- 
ness for about seven years. In 1916, after 
the death of his wife, he returned to Rich- 
mond and opened a store at 625 Main 
Street. After a year and a half Mr. Fred 
R. Borton bought the interest of his part- 
ner and since July, 1917, the business has 
been conducted as Thompson and Borton. 

In 1895 Mr. Thompson married Adah 
Heard, daughter of Dr. George and Emma 
C Borton) Heard of Richmond. She died 
February 19, 1915, the mother of one 
daughter, Ardath S. Mr, Thompson is an 
independent republican and is atifiliated 
with the Masons and Odd Fellows, and is 
a member of the Methodist Church. 

Horace G. Hardy. Several Indiana 
communities have known Horace G. Hardy 
as a s\iccessful and enterprising business 
man and citizen. He is now proprietor of 
the H. G. Hardy Hardware, Plumbing, 
Tinware and Farming Implement business, 
the largest of its kind at Pendleton. 



Mr. Hardy was born at Markleville in 
Madison County, Indiana, in ISTi, son of 
S. F. and Rebecca (James) Hardy. He is 
of Scotch ancestry. The Hardys settled in 
Pennsylvania in colonial times. His grand- 
father, Neal Hardy, in early days walked 
the entire distance from Pennsylvania to 
Indiana, and for a time did farm labor in 
this state. He then went back to Pennsyl- 
vania to claim his bride. Miss Roberts, and 
brought her to his chosen home in Indiana 
in a two horse vehicle. They located two 
miles east of Pendleton, where Neal Hardy 
cleared up a farm from the wilderness. He 
had eighty acres, and he lived there, a pros- 
perous and highly respected citizen, until 
his death on December 4, 1860. 

S. F. Hardy, one of six children, grew 
up on the home farm in :Madison County. 
He was a man of somewhat adventurous 
disposition and made two trips to the min- 
ing regions around Denver, Colorado. On 
these trips, made before the days of trans- 
continental railroads, he traveled by ox 
team from St. Louis. He was quite suc- 
cessful as a miner and invested his proceeds 
in lots in the new Town of Denver. This 
property had he retained it would have 
made him very well to do. After his min- 
ing experience he worked on a farm in 
Indiana until 1861, when he enlisted in the 
Sixteenth Indiana Infantry as a sergeant. 
He was all through the war, was twice 
wounded, and made a most creditable 
record as a soldier that is a matter of spe- 
cial pride to his descendants. He was 
not mustered out until 1865. After the war 
he engaged in general merchandising at 
Markleville, and in 1904 retired and moved 
to Pendleton, where he died in 1908. He 
retained his interest in the business at 
JIarkleville until his death. His widow is 
still living at Pendleton. 

Horace G. Hardy was third in a family 
of eight children, six of whom are still liv- 
ing. He got his early education in the 
public schools at Jlarkleville, also attended 
the noted Spiceland Academv in Henry 
County, and from 1895 to 1897 was a stu- 
dent in Indiana State Universitv. On leav- 
ing college he returned to Markleville, and 
was associated with his father in the store 
antil 1905. He then engaged in business 
for himself, handling buggies, hardware 
and implements. After five years he re- 
moved to Tipton, Indiana, and as a stock- 
holder and director in the Binkley Buggy 



2060 



INDIANA ANP INDIANANS 



Company was its traveling representative 
over Indiana and Illinois for a year and a 
half. Selling out these interests, Mr. 
Hardy returned to Pendleton in 1910 and 
bought the old established hardware .busi- 
ness at J. B. Rickey on Pendleton Avenue. 
Two years later he moved to his present 
location and has kept expanding and in- 
creasing his business until he now handles 
all classes of general hardware, has facili- 
ties for tin, plumbing, heating and other 
services, and also has a department devoted 
to harness goods. Mr. Hardy is a stock- 
holder in the Pendleton Trust Company 
and has various other interests, including 
a good eighty-acre farm a mile and a half 
east of town. 

This company also respects his record of 
public service. He has been township 
trustee since 1914, and was president of 
the Town Board in 1910. From 1907 to 
1910 he was president of the Pendleton 
Gas Company. He is a member of the 
Pendleton School Board and president of 
the Library Board, and everything that 
concerns the welfare of the community is 
certain to enlist his hearty and active co- 
operation. Mr. Hardy has filled all the 
chairs of his Masonic Lodge and is also a 
thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason. 
He is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias 
at Markleville, with the Sons of Veterans, 
and is a member of the Sigma Nu College 
fraternity of Indiana University. Mr. 
Hardy comes of a long line of Hicksite 
Quakers and is himself a member of the 
same faith. 

Myron G. Reynolds. In Indiana's 
great industrial history few names of more 
importance will be found than that of the 
late Myron G. Reynolds of Anderson. Mr. 
Reynolds possessed the genius of the inven- 
tor, the persistence of the true and tried 
business man, had faith in his dreams and 
his ability, and in the course of his lifetime 
was able to translate his visions into 
effective realities and was regarded as one 
of the most fortunate as well as one of the 
most useful men of the state. 

He represented an old and prominent 
family of Wayne County, Indiana, where 
he was born June 16, 1853. Mr. Reynolds 
closed his useful life at the age of onlv 
sixty-four years. His parents were Brazila 
pnd Lydia (Layton) Reynolds. They were 
both born in New Jersev and were earlv 



settlers in Wayne County, Indiana. Bra- 
zila Reynolds was a millwright by trade 
and followed that occupation for many 
years at Williamsburg. 

With only a common school education 
Myron G. Reynolds perfected himself in 
the blacksmith's trade in his father's car- 
riage works at Williamsburg. He remained 
with his father, working steadily year after 
year until he was twenty-five years old. 
He and a brother then conducted a plan- 
ing mill, and his experience continued in 
the routine of mechanical trade and indus- 
try for a number of years. Mj'ron G. Rey- 
nolds rendered his greatest service to the 
world when he invented a gas governor. 
That was in 1890. There was no question 
of its effectiveness and its perfection 
judged by every requirement of service. 
However, as is usually the ease capital 
was shy of a practically unknown inventor 
and untested invention. Mr. Reynolds lo- 
cated in Anderson in 1890, and after much 
persistent work and effort secured a 
backer for his invention. The market came 
practically as soon as the product was ready 
for it and for a quarter of a century the 
Reynolds Gas Governor has stood every test 
of utility and service and has been dis- 
tributed in practical use all around the 
world. The corporation to manufacture it 
was known as the Reynolds Gas Regulator 
Company, and it was one of the primary 
industries of Anderson. Mr. Reynolds was 
its president and general manager for a 
number of years, and afterward became sole 
owner. 

The Reynolds Gas Regulator Company, 
of which Mrs. C. B. Reynolds is now sec- 
retarv and treasurer, are manufacturers of 
artificial gas governors and natural gas 
regulators for all kinds of pressure reduc- 
tion, the present output being based on the 
original inventions of Mr. Reynolds. Those 
inventions made possible the control of 
artificial as well as natural gas, and the sys- 
tem and processes are now used in all the 
large cities, such as Chicago and St. Louis. 
In working out the invention and in build- 
ins up the industry liased upon it Mr. Rey- 
nolds expressed the best of his genius and 
character. He had that pride which is an 
essential quality of the true manufacturer, 
and felt that his regulator industry was to 
be his real monument in the world and his 
contribution to the welfare of humanity. 
It was characteristic of him that he showed 



INDIANA AND INDTAXANS 



2061 



an intense loyalty to his business as well as 
to his fellow men. He possessed faith, 
enthusiasm and tremendous energj^ to back 
up all his plans and ideals. Happy is the 
man who has a work to do, and not merely 
a job. The primary consideration with 
Mr. Reynolds was his work, and he never 
thought of measuring his success by the ac- 
cumulation of wealth. He felt that his 
work was worthy and the world has judged 
it according to his own ideals, and in get- 
ting the work done he considered no cost, 
labor nor pains sufficient to deter him from 
the end in view. Needless to say, he always 
enjoyed the confidence of his associates, 
and while the first and final test of his suc- 
cess was proved by his own conscience, he 
was not lacking in a sincere appreciation 
of the esteem paid him b.y his fellow men. 
He was broad and liberal in his sympathies, 
and had an unusual ability to value the 
finer things of life. 

He also lent his capital and judgment to 
the promotion and management of several 
other important industries at Anderson. 
He was one of the stockholders of the Cen- 
tral Heating Compan.y and president of 
that corporation. He was vice president 
and a large stockholder in the Indiana Silo 
Company, the largest enterprise of its kind 
in the United States. With all his success 
he remained essentially democratic, and 
never lost that good humor, that poise and 
fellowship which enabled him to move as 
easily in the higher circles of society as 
among his own workmen. He was one of 
the most honored residents of Anderson. 
He lived in that city twenty-five years, and 
in 1910 built one of the finest homes there. 
In 1892 he married Miss Carrie B. Bous- 
man. Her only child is Myron B. Reynolds. 

^Iar.jorie Benton Cooke was born in 
Richmond, Indiana, and is now a resident 
of the City of New York. After attend- 
ing preparatory schools in Detroit and Chi- 
cago she graduated from the University of 
Chicago, class of 1899, and began her pro- 
fessional life in recital work of original 
sketches and monologues, spending her 
leisure time in writing stories, plays and 
poetry. In 1910 she gave to the world her 
first novel, "The Girl Who Lived in the 
Woods," and this has been followed by 
many well known works, including one vol- 
ume of short plays and a collection of orig- 
inal plays for children. 



Ch.\rles Albert Cole began the practice 
of law at Peru forty years ago. His reputa- 
tion as a lawyer has been as clean as his 
success has been abundant, and when a 
number of years ago his fellow citizens and 
professional brethren began to call him 
"Judge" Cole they were prompted to do 
so from a serious appreciation of the fact 
that he was well worthy of judicial honor. 
Those honors came to him when in 1914 
he was elected to the bench of the Fifty- 
First Judicial Circuit, succeeding Judge 
Joseph Newton Tillett. Judge Cole for the 
past four years has held court in this cir- 
cuit, and is looked upon as one of the ablest 
jurists in Northern Indiana. 
, He was born on a farm in Peru Town- 
ship of Miami County March 21, 1855, son 
of Alfonso A. and Sarah (Henton) Cole. 
His father died in 1862. The family home 
was soon moved to Peru, where Judge Cole 
attended the public schools. He left In- 
diana University in his junior year to enter 
the law office of Lyman Walker, and was 
admitted to the Miami Countv Bar Jan- 
uary 8, 1878. 

Along with his large private practice 
Judge Cole lias always manifested com- 
mendable interest in public affairs. He has 
served as county attorney, member of the 
city school board, and in 1880 was elected 
on the democi'atic ticket to represent Miami 
County in the Legislature. He is a Knight 
of Pythias and a member of the Presby- 
terian Church. 

December 3, 1884, Judge Cole married 
iliss Elizabeth Shirk, daughter of Harvey 
J. ami Eliza M. Shirk of Peru. They have 
two children, Albert Harvey and Sarah 
Helen. The son is a graduate of the liter- 
ary and law departments of Indiana Uni- 
versity and became associated with his 
father in practice. The daughter was also 
educated in Indiana University and in a 
musical school in the east. 

John S. Alldredge. In the epoch mak- 
ing Legislature of 1917 one of the best in- 
formed and most influential members was 
John S. Alldredge of Anderson, represent- 
ing Madison County. Mr. Alldredge was 
elected in 1916, overcoming the heavy 
democratic majority which for a number 
of years had seated all candidates of that 
party in Madison County. His onponent 
was William Mullen of Summitville. 

In the organization of the House of Rep- 



2062 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



resentatives at Indianapolis in 1917 Mr. 
Alldredge was assigned on committees on 
cities and towns, chairman of the loan and 
trust committee, committee on mileage and 
per diem. The most distinctive work he 
did in that session was to draw up the bill 
which was at fii-st known as the Alldredge 
"Woman's Suffrage Bill. When this became 
law it was known as the McKinley Bill, 
but Mr. Alldredge was the real author of 
the essential features of the law, the provi- 
sions of which place Indiana among the 
list of progressive states which share the 
electoral privileges and responsibilities with 
both sexes. Mr. Alldredge also introduced 
and succeeded in having passed the bill 
raising the amount allowed Civil war vet- 
erans and their wives for burial and ceme- 
tery expenses. The old allowance was $50, 
and it was raised to $75. Mr. Alldredge 
was regarded as one of the hardest working 
and most studious members of the Legis- 
lature, and impressed his ability upon 
much of the work done in the 1917 session. 

Mr. Alldredge has long been interested 
in politics, and good government, and is a 
successful business man of Anderson. He 
was born on a farm in Mount Pleasant 
Township, Delaware County, Indiana, Feb- 
ruary 15, 1875. His parents were John 
and Susanna (Baxla) Alldredge, of Dela- 
ware County. The Alldredge ancestry is a 
distinguished one, coming originally from 
England. The first American of the name 
was Edmund Alldredge, who came from 
Northern England, settled in North Caro- 
lina, and served as a private in the Revolu- 
tionarv war. He fought at the battle of 
Bunker Hill. It is said that he took with 
him as a souvenir from that battlefield a 
British powderhorn embellished by a 
brazen deer on one side. 

A local historian whose researches delved 
into the records of some of the veterans of 
the "War of 1812 in Delaware County, a 
few years ago published the following re- 
garding Edmund Alldredge, grandfather 
of John S. Alldredge and a son of the Revo- 
lutionary soldier just mentioned. Accord- 
ing to this account Edmund, Jr., was born 
April 2, 1784. in North Carolina. His fun- 
damental education was limited, but all his 
life he was a wide reader. Hearing of 
the fertile country in Indiana he set out 
on horseback and rode the entire distance. 
When he arrived in what is now Delaware 
County the community known as Muneie- 



town, now Muncie, did not contain more 
than half a dozen houses. He entered a 
fine tract of land and secured a patent from 
the government. He had made the ac- 
quaintance of a young lady near Cincin- 
nati, Miss Jane Mulford. They were mar- 
ried October 4, 1810, and the wedding 
trip was a journey on horseback from her 
father's house to the new home in the 
woods. They became the parents of ten 
children : Francis B., Elijah, Hiram, Wil- 
liam, Isaac, Kezia, Mary, John, Elizabeth 
and Edmund, Jr. When the second war 
for independence was declared Edmund, 
Sr., joined the standard of General Har- 
rison. He suffered much during the cam- 
paign in Michigan, and refusing promotion 
he served in the ranks until peace was de- 
clared. When he returned home his oldest 
son did not recognize him with his buckskin 
clothes, soldier equipment and his Indian 
tomahawk. He again took up farming and 
stock raising and prospered until 1833, 
when a scourge of milk sickness visited the 
community and in a little more than a year 
five of his family, including his wife, died. 
He married three times after that. This 
veteran of the War of 1812 died March 30, 
1858, at the age of seventy-four, his death 
being the result of an accident when he 
fell from a load of hay. His last words to 
his son John were : " I am going to rest, 
having no fear of death. ' ' He was a worthy, 
honest man, absolutely truthful, trusted 
and respected by his neighbors, and a 
faithful Christian. In politics he was an 
ardent whig, despising slavery and doing 
all in his power against it. Of his kindred 
only two now remain, Edmund F. Alldredge 
of Muncie and J. S. Alldredge of Anderson. 

John S. Alldredge in the maternal line is 
descended from James Turner, who was an 
English sailor and who later came to the 
colonies and fought on the American side 
in the Revolution. ]\Ir. Alldredge 's grand- 
mother, Catherine (Turner) Baxla, had six 
brothers and three brothers-in-law who 
were soldiers in the War of 1812, and one 
of them was Col. James Turner after whom 
Jamestown, Ohio, was named. 

John S. Alldredge grew up in the coun- 
try district of Mount Pleasant Township, 
attended the district schools there, also the 
Muncie High School and the Muncie Nor- 
mal School, and finished with a business 
course in the Indiana Business College. In 
1892, at the age of seventeen, he began 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



2063 



teaching in country districts, and subse- 
quently studied law with Judge Terapler 
at iluncie. Mr. AUdredge was admitted to 
the bar in 1898, and soon afterward was 
appointed deput}^ prosecuting attorney of 
Delaware County, and gained valuable ex- 
perience during the four years he spent 
in that office. 

In 1906 he removed to Anderson, and 
since then has been actively engaged in the 
real estate business. Among other experi- 
ences he was for five years a mail carrier, 
and at one time was state delegate at large 
to the National Letter Carriers Associa- 
tion. His real estate business has grown 
and increased from year to year, and he 
has handled a large volume of important 
transactions in that field. His oiSces are in 
the Union Building at Anderson. Mr. 
AUdredge owns several fine farms compris- 
ing several hundred acres of land near 
Anderson, and has considerable other prop- 
erty interests. 

In politics he has always been a republi- 
can, with rather decided independent ]iro- 
clivitics. At the age of twenty-one he was 
elected a member of the County Committee 
in Delaware County. In 1907 he was can- 
didate for the nomination of mayor at An- 
derson, and practically had the nomination 
within his control, but in the end turned 
the strength of his following to a rival 
candidate. In 1912 he was nominated for 
the ofifice of county treasurer, but was de- 
feated in that year of democratic land- 
slides. However, he ran far ahead of his 
ticket. 

In 1895 Mr. AUdredge married Leathy 
Lucinda Wellington, daughter of Rev. 
John R. and Malinda (Holt) Wellington. 
Her father was for many years an active 
minister of the Church of the Brethren of 
Dunkard denomination, and at the time of 
his death in 1906 was pastor of the Church 
of the Brethren at Anderson. Mrs. All- 
dredge 's mother died in 1908. ^Mr. and ]Mrs. 
AUdredge have two children : Linna lola 
and Sherman Cromer, the latter born in 
1902. The daughter is now the wife of 
Russell Lee Showalter, of Anderson, and 
Mr. AUdredge has one grandson, John 
Wellington Showalter, born March 15, 
1917. 

Charles Hexry Church is a veteran 
Indiana banker. In 1917 he rounded oiit 
a service of thirty consecutive years as 



cashier of the Delaware County National 
Bank at Muucie. This is an institution 
with a capital of $150,000 and is the old, 
est bank of continuous business in Dela- 
ware County. It was organized April 14, 
1887, as a state bank, and has been under 
a national charter since 1892. Some of 
the foremost citizens and business men of 
Delaware County have always been con- 
nected with its board of directors. Charles 
H. Church was the first cashier, and well 
informed men have given him much of the 
credit for the fact that the bank has 
weathered all financial storms and has ac- 
quired and retained the complete confi- 
clence of the business piiblie. 

^Ir. Church has been a resident of In- 
diana as long as he has been cashier of this 
bank. He came to Muncie when it was 
just beginning its unprecedented growth 
and development as a center of the nat- 
ural gas district. In 1887 it had a popu- 
lation of 8,000 while today its population 
is over 30,000. Mr. Church, like his bank, 
has kept his interests enlarging and grow- 
ing with the development of his cit.y and 
has a recognized place among the effective 
workers for the city's welfare. 

Mr. Church was born in Chenango< 
County, New York, at a place called 
Church Hollow, in honor of his family. 
His father, William Church, was a promi- 
nent man in that section of New York 
State. He was a merchant and for many 
vears was postmaster of Church Hollow. 
He also served as county sheriff. He was 
actively leagued with the forces battling 
slavery before the war, was a whig in poli- 
ties and afterwards a republican, and was 
a supporter and close personal friend of 
Horace Greeley. 

Charles H. Church was educated in the 
common and academic schools of his na- 
tive county. From early manhood to the 
present time his business interests have 
always been as a merchant and financier. 
From New York State he moved to Ohio 
and in 1872 orsranized the First National 
Bank at New London in that state. He 
was vice president and manager of this 
bank until he came to Muncie. Mr. Church 
also organized the Muncie Savings and 
Loan Company in 1888 and became its 
treasurer, and is still treasurer and a di- 
rector. He was one of the charter mem- 
bers of the Indiana Bankers Association, 
and in 1906 was honored with the ofiSce of 



2064 



INDIANA AND INDIA NANS 



president of the association. His opinions 
have frequently been quoted on financial 
matters, and in any gathering of men of 
business or bankers he is a conspicuous 
figure. 

Mr. Church is a Knight Templar Mason, 
has been very active in the different 
branches of that order, and in polities has 
been a republican since casting his first 
vote for Abraham Lincoln. In December, 
1918, Mr. and Mrs. Church celebrated the 
golden anniversary of their wedding. Mrs. 
Church before her marriage was Miss Lou 
Tyler, daughter of Henry P. and Ann Ty- 
ler of Norwalk, Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. 
Church have two sons, William and Ernest. 
William is engaged in the wholesale gro- 
cery business at Peru, Indiana and Ernest 
is living in Denver, Colorado. 

David M. Isgrigg, long prominent in the 
lumber industry at Indianapolis, represents 
a pioneer family of the city. 

His father, the late James A. Isgrigg, 
was one of the early lumber merchants of 
Indianapolis. The Isgrigg family came 
to America from England in 1725, and for 
a number of generations they lived in 
Maryland. There were soldiers of the 
name who fought for independence during 
the Revolution, and one of the familj^ Dan- 
iel Isgrigg, came to the Ohio River coun- 
trv with Gen. William Henry Harrison in 
1789. James A. Isgrigg was born on a 
farm near Cincinnati, Ohio, February 2, 
1830. In 1849 he .ioined the army of gold 
seekers and crossed the western plains to 
California. After his experiences in the 
gold mines he returned by way of Panama 
and New York City, and he had to show 
for his hardships and adventures in Cali- 
fornia about $1,000. 

In 1853 James A. Isgrigg came to In- 
diana and entered the lumber business at 
Indianapolis. For a time he was in busi- 
ness at Market Street and the Big Four 
track, and later his yards were on Four- 
teenth Street and Senate Avenue. He was 
a successful business man and equally es- 
teemed for his public spirit and his honor- 
able and upright character. He retired 
from business in 1899 and died July 24, 
1908. James A. Isgrigg married Julia 
Noble, now deceased. For nearly half a 
century he was identified with the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows as a 
member. 



David M. Isgrigg was born at Indian- 
apolis November 6, 1859, grew up in his 
native city and attended public schools, 
and in the course of his business career 
spent a number of years in New York City 
and Chicago. He followed in the footsteps 
of his father as a lumber merchant, and 
for a number of years conducted one of 
the most extensive retail lumber yards in 
the city, on Northwest Avenue and Twen- 
ty-First Street. Politically he is a repub- 
lican. 

1 

William E. Haney. It is thought that 
many produce either comfort or dismay 
that forces put in motion long ago are, 
by one of the primary laws of physics, still 
producing results. That fact is a supreme 
justification of history. Otherwise a busy 
and preoccupied people might well forget 
the past as having no relation or conse- 
quence in the present. But the truth is 
that the civilization of today was produced 
in large part by the men of yesterday. The 
living present is only a narrow fringe be- 
tween the great dead past and the looming 
future. The older the community or state 
the more it owes to the forces and person- 
alities which were at work before this gen- 
eration came on the stage. 

In the City of Logansport there were 
two notable names that thus belong in the 
era before the present generation. One 
was William W. Haney and the other his 
son, the late William E. Haney. The for- 
mer was born in Bucks County, Pennsyl- 
vania, December 25, 1809, and died at Lo- 
g<insport April 20, 1889. His only son, 
William E. Haney, was born at Lewisburg, 
Indiana, December 28, 1837, and died at 
Logansport March 16, 1916. The surviv- 
ing representative of the family in Logans- 
port is Mrs. Jessie M. Uhl. 

William W. Haney was a son of Joseph 
and Mary (Weaver) 'Haney. Being people 
of small means they were unable to provide 
their son with any education except that of 
the primitive local schools. But William 
W. Haney grew up and lived in a time 
when brains and energy were more import- 
ant than conventional" culture. He pos- 
sessed keen perception ajid a fine memory, 
excelled in his judgment of men, and was 
a master in handling large and complicated 
affairs. During his youth he lived on a 
farm and developed a fine physique. After 
his farm experience he worked in a hotel. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2065 



clerked in a store, and at the age of seven- 
teen joined the engineering corps engaged 
in the construction of a portion of the 
Pennsylvania Canal between Easton and 
Bristol. For a time he also boated coal 
along the river. He was made superin- 
tendent of a division of the Pennsylvania 
Canal, then resumed coal transportation, 
again had supervision of a branch of the 
canal, and carried out a contract for the 
construction of the Delaware and Raritan 
canal feeder. . 

Such was his training and experience 
before coming West. He arrived at the 
Village of Peru, Indiana, July 4, 1835. He 
had made the journey by steamboat, flat- 
boat and pirogue. The great improvement 
then talked of on every hand was the pro- 
posed building of the Wabash Canal. Mr. 
Haney soon had a force of men engaged in 
construction work, supplying stone for the 
Peru dam and later taking a contract for 
a section of the canal at Lewisburg. When 
that was completed he engaged in mer- 
chandising at Lewisburg, selling goods both 
to the white and Indian population. 

July 15, 1851, William W. Haney estab- 
lished his home at Logansport. For a time 
he was a merchant, but his chief interests 
were as a dealer in real estate and as a 
private banker. For several years he w'as 
president of the Logansport branch of the 
old bank of the State of Indiana. The 
energy and native resources of his mind 
were indicated by the fact that he picked 
up in this busy career a substantial knowl- 
edge of the law and was admitted to the 
bar soon after locating at Logansport. He 
never had more than a limited office prac- 
tice, but used his knowledge of the law 
advantageously in his own affairs. He was 
for many years a member and leading sup- 
porter of the Broadway IMethodist Church 
at Logansport. 

Through all his material activities ran 
the golden thread of a splendid character. 
What he was as a man and citizen was well 
described by his old friend Judge D. P. 
Baldwin in remarks delivered after the 
death of ilr. Haney. ' ' The late Mr. Haney 
was a remarkable man in many respects. 
This is proved by the grand fortune he 
accumulated in this little city where money 
is scarce and riches the exception. I do not 
hesitate to say that ^Ir. Haney had the 
best financial brain of any man that, at 
least in my time, ever lived in Logansport. 



At seventy-nine years, and until his last 
sickness, his mind was as clear and as 
quick as that of any man in middle life. 
Mr. Haney 's honesty was very remarkable. 
No scandal was ever connected with his 
great fortune. His word was sacred. He 
took no undue advantages. He was a re- 
markabl.y friendly man, he was as kind 
and sociable with a tramp as with a mil- 
lionaire. He did not know what pride was 
any more than he knew what deceit and 
double dealing were. He was always clean- 
mouthed. No one ever heard him retail- 
ing scandal or speaking unkindly. Mr. 
Haney 's great wealth brought upon him, 
as wealth or exceptional success always 
does, a great weight of envy or raillery, 
but he took it good humoredly. No one 
ever knew him to get angrj- or excited, and 
much less vindictive or sullen. No one 
knew better of good and ill of life and hu- 
manity. Mr. Haney did not pretend to' 
be anything else than a business man and 
never sought office or promotion of any 
kind. He did 'not set up to be a charitable 
man any more than a talented man, and 
yet his kindly voice, friendly ways, and 
unquestionable honesty gave him a happy 
and honored old age, and made him a gen- 
eral favorite with all classes." 

December 13, 1836, he married Miss 
Louisiana Fidler, who survived him a num- 
ber of .vears. They had only two children, 
Maria Emma, who died a number of years 
ago, and William E. 

The late William E. Haney had all the 
qualities of native ability and character 
which distinguished his father. He was 
educated in the common schools, attending 
school at Logansport after 1851. His first 
business venture with his father was in 
the produce business in 1859, but soon 
afterward he engaged in farming in Cass 
County, and continued that occupation 
about twelve years. On his return to Lo- 
gansport he was for a brief time in the 
boot and shoe business, later a broker, and 
more and more became associated with his 
father in handling their extensive enter- 
prises. When his father died the manage- 
ment of the entire estate devolved upon 
him, and he handled it as the just and 
righteous steward, and justified his ac- 
counting by the highest moral as well as 
business standards. For all the means and 
influence he possessed he exercised them 
with the most unassuming manner and stu- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



diously avoided all honors associated with 
politics or public life. He voted as a re- 
publican, and his only fraternal connection 
was with the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. 

April 5, 1859, he married Miss Christina 
Conrad. Her father, William Conrad was 
one of the pioneer settlers of Cass County. 
Mrs. Haney died in the spring of 1871, the 
mother of eight children. Six of these 
children died in infancy and early child- 
hood. The two to reach adult age were 
Carrie E. and Jessie M. Jessie M. is a 
resident of Logansport, at 730 Broadway, 
and is the widow of Miller Uhl, of the well 
known Uhl family of Cass County. 

John H. Peters, a former postmaster of 
Michigan City, has been identified with 
the working business affairs of that com- 
munity since early days, and is one of the 
oldest and one of the most highly respected 
residents. 

He was born in the Village of Schwink- 
endorf in the Province of Mecklenburg- 
Schwerin, Germany. His father was a 
stone cutter by trade and spent all his life 
in Germany. The mother survived her 
husband and afterward came to America 
v-ith her two daughters and spent her last 
days in Michigan City. 

John H. Peters attended school steadily 
to the age of fourteen, after which he 
learned the stone cutter's trade under his 
father. He worked at the trade in his 
native land until he was eighteen years 
old, and then left home to come to America. 
He was nine weeks on a sailing vessel be- 
fore reaching Quebec, and from there he 
went to Rochester, New York. He was a 
stranger, had practically no resources after 
paying his expenses over, and was unable 
to speak the English language. He was an 
an apt scholar and by experience and prac- 
tice quickly acquired a knowledge of the 
new language and also adapted himself 
Quickly to American cu.stoms and ways. 
For two months he worked on a railroad 
and then came to Michigan City. Michigan 
City at that time had only a few hundred 
inhabitants, and a large part of the present 
site was covered with woods, while game of 
all kinds was abundant in the surrounding' 
country district. Even deer was still found 
in this locality. 

Mr. Peters entered railroad work and 
had charge of the local yards making up 



trains, and finally was promoted to ticket 
seller. He officiated at the ticket win- 
dow for twenty-one years. He then re- 
signed the railroad service to engage in 
business as a grocery merchant on Franklin 
street. In company with M. C. Follet he 
erected a business building on the west 
side of that street between Fourth and 
Fifth streets. After being a grocery mer- 
chant for about a year he sold out and then 
bought an interest in a shoe business with 
his son-in-law, W. J. Fealock. The firm 
of Fealock and Peters continued for nine 
years, after which Mr. Peters sold out and 
has since devoted his time to his private 
interests. He was appointed postmaster of 
Michigan City by President Arthur in 
January, 1884, and held that office two 
years. 

At the age of twenty-one he married 
Henrietta Oppermann. She was born in 
Mecklenburg-Schwerin, daughter of Henry 
Oppermann, who on coming to the United 
States located at Michigan City and spent 
his last days there. Mrs. Peters died in 
1885. For his second wife he married 
Mary O'Connell. She was born at Boston, 
Massachusetts, daughter of William and 
Alice (Carroll) O'Connell, natives of Ire- 
land, her father of LimcTiek and her 
mother of Louth. Her parents on coming 
to America settled in Massachusetts, where 
her father died. Later her mother married 
Michael ]McHenry, and in 1869 moved to 
Michigan City, where both of them died. 

Mr. Peters' three children are by his first 
marriage. They are Herman, Emma and 
Minnie, six others were born to this union 
but died when small. Minnie became the 
wife of W. J. Fealock and died leaving four 
children, named Arthur, Walter, Florence 
and Henrietta. 

Mr. Peters has been a stanch republican 
ever since receiving the gift of American 
citizenship. He represented his ward in 
the City Council four years. 

William H. Insley is founder and head 
of one of Indiana's distinctive industries. 
The Insley ilanufacturing Company at In- 
dianapolis. It would be instructive to deal 
with this company somewhat at length for 
more reasons than one, not only because of 
its present size and the scope and serviee- 
ableness of its output, but also as reflect- 
ing and illustrating the remarkable possi- 
bilities of growth that proceed from the 




mMf 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2067 



limited material resources but unlimited 
mind and will of the chief personality be- 
hind it. 

Started as a small plant for the manu- 
facture of structural steel products, the 
Insley Manufacturing Company today has 
appropriated a large and important field 
of its own, making a varied line of appli- 
ances and equipment for the economical 
and effective handling of material used in 
construction work, especially in construc- 
tion where concrete is employed on a large 
scale and in vast quantities. The Insley 
products maj' be found today in general 
use wherever the government, big steel 
corporations and other industries are con- 
structing such great work as dry docks, 
dams and breakwaters, retaining walls, etc. 
In fact the equipment manufactured at 
Indianapolis by this company has gone to 
all the ends of the earth, and has been 
used by contractors in Europe and Austra- 
lia, as well as in all parts of America. 

The Insley ilanufacturing Company was 
organized in 1907. The first place of busi- 
ness was on South Meridian Street at the 
railroad tracks, but in 1912 the company 
commenced the building of a large plant at 
North Olney and East St. Clair streets. In 
the last six or eight years the company has 
devised and has manufactured machinery 
that has served to revolutionize the use of 
concrete materials on a large scale in con- 
struction pro.iects. Most of the machines 
and appliances are covered by basic patents 
owned or controlled by the company. One 
of the most important contributions by this 
company to the field of modern industrial 
appliances is the gravity tower for con- 
veying and pouring concrete. These tow- 
el's are now a familiar sight wherever large 
buildings, bridges, piers and other works 
are in process of construction involving the 
use of concrete. 

When the business was first organized 
William H. Insley, its president, was not 
only the executive but was the bookkeeper, 
draftsman and engineer, and did prac- 
tically all the business in the office as well 
as much outside. At the present time the 
company maintains a staff of thirty to fortj- 
engineers, office assistants and clerks, be- 
sides a small army of workmen in the shops. 

The Insley family are pioneers of In- 
diana and are of Scotch ancestry. The 
great-grandfather of William H. Insley, 
Job Insley, is buried at Newtown, near At- 



tica, in Fountain County, Indiana. The 
grandfather, Ellis Insley, came with his 
brothers to Indiana and entered land in 
Fountain County as early as 1827. He 
spent all his active life as a farmer. Ellis 
Insley during the '60s moved to a farm on 
North Illinois Street, or road, in what is 
now the City of Indianapolis. This farm 
was opposite the Blue farm near what is 
now Meridian Heights. He also served as 
a member of the commission which laid out 
the Crown Hill Cemetery at Indianapolis, 
and in that city of the dead his own re- 
mains now rest. He was a very active 
churchman and did much to keep up the 
Methodist Church in the various communi- 
ties where he lived. 

Tlie father of William H. Insley was Dr. 
William Quinn Insley, who was i)orn near 
Newtown, Fountain County, Indiana, in 
1838. He received a good education, tak- 
ing liis medical course in the University of 
Micliigan and in the Cincinnati Medical 
College. He practiced his profession at 
Terre Haute, Indiana. He died in 1880 
and is buried at Crown Hill Cemetery at 
Indianapolis. He was a Scottish Rite 
^lason and Knight Templar. Doctor Ins- 
ley married Celia Whitmore, who was born 
at Rocky Hill, Connecticut, daughter of 
Edward Whitmore. The Whitmores on 
coming to Indiana' settled near Fort 
Wayne. Mrs. William Insley died in 1906, 
at the age of sixty-six. They were the 
parents of seven children, five of whom are 
still living: Edward, an editor of the Los 
Angeles Examiner; Avis, wife of Ben 
Blanehard, of Independence, Kansas ; Wil- 
liam H. ; Rebecca, widow of Lewis Casper, 
of New York City; and Robert B., who is 
assistant to the president of Nordyke. & 
Marmon Company, Indianapolis. 

William H. Insley was born at his par- 
ents' home at Terre Haute January 16, 
1870. As a boy he attended school_ at a 
schoolhouse two miles north of Newtown in 
Fountain Count.y. When seventeen years 
of age he began teaching which he con- 
tinued for two .vears, and then spent two 
years as a student at DePauw University, 
at ri-recncastle, Indiana. All his thought 
and effort were directed toward an educa- 
tion that would fit him for some of the 
larger responsibilities of life, and from the 
first his mind was directed into technical 
and indu.strial channels. With this pur- 
pose in mind, though without means and 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



with no assurance that he could remain con- 
secutively, he entered the Rose Polytechnic 
Institute at Terre Haute. To siipport him- 
self and pay his tuition he was willing to 
accept any honorable employment, and 
while there he conducted a boarding house, 
acted as tutor, and succeeded in finishing 
his course only $400 in debt, that in itself 
being an achievement which was an earnest 
of his future success. Thus equipped with 
a technical education, he went to work as 
draftsman with the Brown, Ketcham Iron 
Works, and later served as chief draftsman 
in charge of the Engineering Department 
of the Noelke-Richards Iron Works. It 
was from this work that he withdrew and 
set up in business for himself. At that time 
he had practically no capital, and for sev- 
eral years his structural iron business went 
along with vei\y modest returns. Gradually 
he began specializing in concrete work 
equipment, and from that time forward the 
success of his business has been assured. 

Mr. Insley is a member of the American 
Society of Civil Engineers and the Ameri- 
can Society of Mechanical Engineers, and 
is widely known among engineering and 
technical circles throughout the countrJ^ 
He is a Mason and a trustee of the Irving- 
ton Methodist Church, where he and his 
wife are members. In 1903 he married 
Jane Williams, daughter of Francis A. Wil- 
liams, an attorney of Corning, New York. 
Mrs. Insley is a niece of Charles R. Wil- 
liams, formerly editor of the Indianapolis 
News. Mr. and iMrs. Insley have one son, 
Francis H., now a student in the Indian- 
apolis public schools. 

James Morton Callahan, an educator 
of recognized ability, claims Bedford, In- 
diana, as the place of his birth. His life 
has been devoted to educational work, and 
he has become well known on the lecture 
platform, was lecturer on American diplo- 
matic history and archives at Johns Hop- 
kins University, 1898-1902, director of 
Bureau of Historical Research, 1900-02, 
head of the department of history and poli- 
tics. West Virginia University, 1902 — and 
dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, 
1916 — . He has conducted extensive re- 
searches in the manuscript diplomatic 
archives at Washington, London, and 
Paris, and has won distinction by his 
studies in international politics and diplo- 
macy. He was a delegate to the Interna- 



tional Deep Waterways Association, to the 
National Conservation Congress in 1911, 
and has represented West Virginia at vari- 
ous conferences as delegate by appointment 
of the governor of the state. 

Mr. Callahan married Maud Louise Ful- 
cher, and they have one daughter, Kath- 
leen Callahan. 

Hal a. Aldridge is a veteran traveling 
salesman who on retiring from the road 
a few years ago set up in business for him- 
self at Anderson as proprietor of a dry 
cleaning establishment. There were possi- 
bilities which he realized in this work, and 
he has exemplified his ambition and plans 
by making the Guarantee Shop, of which 
he is proprietor, the largest business of its 
kind in that city. 

Mr. Aldridge was born at Tipton, In- 
diana. September 26, 1886, son of James F. 
and Ollie (Bozell) Aldridge. He is of 
English ancestry, and the family have lived 
in America for many generations. When 
he was ten years old his parents came to 
Anderson, and here he continued his educa- 
tion in the city schools. When he was 
twelve years old his mother died, and from 
that time forward Hal A. Aldridge has 
made his own way in the world. For ten 
years he was a boy workman in different 
factories, spending seven years in a local 
glass factory. He finally went on the road 
selling jewelry for a Chicago house and 
traveled over Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky and 
Illinois for seven years, building up a large 
acquaintance with retail merchants over 
these states. He gradually accumulated 
a little capital, and seeking an opportunity 
for a business of his own established his 
present dry cleaning shop at 1015 Main 
Street, opening it on July 15, 1916. He 
has made a wonderful success of this busi- 
ness, and now handles work not only for 
the City of Anderson but drawn from the 
neighboring towns of Alexandria, Middle- 
town, Pendleton and other places. 

In 1906 Mr. Aldridge married Metta L. 
Brown, daughter of Samuel and Sadie 
(Hutchinson) Brown of Anderson. They 
have one son, Edmund Arthur, born in 
1907. Mr. Aldridge in politics votes the 
republican ticket in national affairs but 
is independent locally. He is a member of 
the United Commercial Travelers, and 
with his wife belongs to the Central Chris- 
tian Church. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2069 



Charles I. Smith first became identified 
with business affairs at Anderson as book- 
keeper for a produce house. Later he ac- 
quired an interest in the business, which 
he had learned from the ground up, and 
is now a member of the firm Moulton & 
Smith Company, wholesale fruits and vege- 
tables. At the same time he has acquired 
numerous other business connections, and 
is one of the men of Anderson whose 
interests are most widespread and who 
exert a large influence over business affairs 
both in that city and elsewhere. 

Mr. Smith was born at Muskegon, Michi- 
gan, in October, 1879, son of Andrew C. 
and Gertrude R. (Kratz) Smith. He is of 
German ancestry. His father came from 
Germany at the age of five years and lived 
in Detroit, Michigan, until he was thirty, 
developing a business there as a wholesale 
meat and provision dealer. He died at 
Muskegon, Michigan, November 15, 1917. 

Charles I. Smith, who is one of four 
brothers, was educated in the public schools 
of Muskegon, including high school. His 
business experience began very earlj'. He 
was only fourteen when he went to work 
for the "firm of Moulton & Riedel of Mus- 
kegon. They were produce merchants, and 
his first work was driving a truck. He 
rapidly acquired a knowledge of the busi- 
ness in all details, and after three years 
the company had so much confidence in 
him as to send him to Anderson as book- 
keeper of the branch store. He began work 
here October 6, 1897, when he was only 
eighteen years old. In 1904 Mr. Smith 
bought the Riedel interest in the local busi- 
ness, acquiring that interest on credit. The 
firm was organized as Moulton & Com- 
pany. Their location is at 116-18 Main 
Street, and with subsequent expansions the 
firm does business with thirty-nine towns 
over this section of Indiana. The company 
was incorporated in 1912, with Mr. Smith 
as secretary and treasurer and owner of 
half the stock. 

In the meantime his services have been 
sought bj' a number of other business or- 
ganizations. He is a stockholder and di- 
rector of the Madison County Trust Com- 
pany, the American Playground Device 
Company, the Rolland Title Company of 
Anderson, the Security Investment Com- 
pany of Anderson, the Anderson Invest- 
ment Company, the People's Milling Com- 
pany of Muskegon, Michigan, the Colum- 



bia Tire and Rubber Company of Buffalo, 
New York, the Beebe Title Company of 
Anderson, the Frankfort Carburetor Com- 
pany of Frankfort, Indiana. Mr. Smith 
also has real estate investments both at 
Anderson and at Muskegon, Michigan. For 
this successful representation of his busi- 
ness career his own industrj' and capabili- 
ties have been largcl.y responsible, since he 
started life without reliance upon other 
assets than his own character afforded. 

In 1910 he married Miss Ida C. Beck- 
man, daughter of John and Margaret 
(Ringen) Beckman. Mr. Smith is a repub- 
lican, and in January, 1918, refused an ap- 
pointment as member of the Board of Po- 
lice Commissioners at Anderson. He is 
affiliated with Anderson Lodge of the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Jesse Belmont Rogers, il. D. For 
nearly a quarter of a century Doctor Ro- 
gers has borne the reputation of a careful 
and conscientious physician at Michigan 
City, where practically all of his profes- 
sional career has been spent. Before com- 
ing to IMichigan City he had considerable 
experience in the civil engineering field, 
but gave that up to enter the medical pro- 
fession. 

He was born in the parish of Byfield, 
Town of Newbury, Essex County, Massa- 
chusetts, December 30, 1865. He was the 
youngest of the five children of Abiel and 
Susan (Rogers) Rogers. His grandfathers 
were Nathaniel Rogers and James Rogers, 
both of English ancestry. Nathaniel Ro- 
gers was an American soldier in the War of 
1812, and otherwise was a farmer and spent 
his long and useful life in Essex County. 
James Rogers, the maternal grandfather, 
was a native of New Hampshire and was 
a millwright and miller by trade. 

Abiel Rogers was born at Bj'field June 
10, 1828, grew up on a farm, and lived 
at Byfield until a few months before his 
death, when he came to Michigan City and 
died at the age of seventy-eight. 

Doctor Rogers attended the public 
schools of Newbury, also the Putnam Free 
School at Newburyport, and after graduat- 
ing in 1883 entered Dartmouth College, 
where he took the engineering course and 
was graduated in 1887. For several years 
following Doctor Rogers was connected 
with the engineering staff of the Great 
Northern and Northern Pacific Railroads, 



2070 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



and saw much adventure and experience in 
the great northwestern country. But the 
work was not altogether congenial and he 
sought something more to his liking and 
began the study of medicine with Dr. C. G. 
Higbee of St. Paul, Minnesota. In 1892 he 
entered the Hahnemann Medical College at 
Chicago and graduated M. D. in 1895. 
After a brief practice at Lincoln, Illinois, 
he moved to Michigan City, and succeeded 
to the practice of Dr. E. Z. Cole. He has 
enjoyed many professional successes and 
honors and is a member of the American 
Institute of Homeopathy. 

November 14, 1893, Doctor Rogers mar- 
ried Miss Marian S. Woods, who was born 
at LaCrosse, Wisconsin, daughter of Oliver 
S. and Vernie (Mclntire) Woods. The two 
children born to Doctor and ^Irs. Eogers 
both died in early life. Mrs. Rogers is a 
member of the Baptist Church while Doctor 
Rogers is a Congregationalist. He is 
afifiliated with Acme Lodge No. 83, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, Michigan City 
Chapter No. 25, Royal Arch Masons, :Michi- 
gan City Commandery No. 30, Knights 
Templar, Michigan City Council No. 56, 
Royal and Select blasters, and also belongs 
to the local lodge, No. 265, of Odd Fel- 
lows, Washington Lodge No. 94, Knights 
of Pythias, and Michigan City Lodge No. 
432 of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks. He is a member of the City Board 
of Health and is active in the Chamber of 
Commerce and a member of the Pottawat- 
tomie Country Club. 

Robert W. Bailey is general manager' 
and vice president of the J. W. Bailey 
Company, one of the largest firms in Madi- 
son County handling building supplies, coal 
and other "materials. They have their prin- 
cipal offices and yards at Anderson, and 
also a branch of the business at Pendleton, 
conducted under the name of the Fall City 
Supply Company. 

The Bailey family has been well known 
. in Anderson for many years. Robert W. 
Bailey was born at Portsmouth, Ohio, Aug- 
ust 22, 1887, and was a child when his 
parents, James W. and Anna L. (Brown) 
Bailey, moved to Anderson. The family 
were farmers in Southern Ohio. The 
Baileys are of English stock, first locating 
in Pennsylvania and coming to Southern 
Ohio in pioneer times. The maternal 
grandfather, Henry Brown, was the 



founder of that family in Ohio. Mr. Bailey 'si 
ancestors have been in the main farmers, 
but some of them have been lawyers, physi- 
cians and ministers. James W. Bailey on 
coming to Anderson in 1890 was employed 
as a Iwokkeeper in the Cathedral Glass 
Company. Later he established himself 
in the builders' supply business at Jackson 
Street and the Big Four Railroad, and that 
was the beginning of the present J. W. 
Bailey Company. 

Robert W. Bailey graduated from the 
Anderson High School in 1905, and then 
entered Purdue University, where he ob- 
tained his Bachelor of Science degree in 
1909. For a time he was employed in the 
engineering department of the Buckeye 
Manufacturing Company at Anderson, and 
then entered the service of the Philadelphia 
Quartz Company, and made the plans and 
helped construct the large plant of that 
company at 6.ardenville, New York, a 
suburb of Buffalo. Returning to Anderson 
in 1911, Mr. Bailey entered the copartnei'- 
ship with his father, and since 1914, when 
his father retired, has been manager and 
vice president of the company. The com- 
pany is incorporated for $10,000, and does 
business all over Madison County. 

In 1911 Mr. Bailey married Ruth B. 
Buck, daughter of Alfred and Martha 
(Bliven) Buck. The Bliven family is the 
oldest in the City of Anderson. Mr. and 
Jlrs. Bailey have three children: Martha 
W., born in 1912 ; Robert W., Jr., born in 
1914 ; and John W., born in 1917. 

While always a keen student of politics 
and interested in the success of the republi- 
can party, Mr. Bailey has had no time for 
official participation in public atfairs. He 
is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite 
Mason and Knight Templar, and is a mem- 
ber of Indiana Delta Chapter of the Phi 
Kappa Psi college fraternity of Purdue. 
He is also a member of the Purdue Alumni 
Association, of the Anderson Rotary Club, 
and of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

John L. Hogue is one of the leading au- 
tomobile salesmen of Anderson, and is one 
of the partners in the Hogue-Fifer Sales 
Company, operating one of the chief sales 
agencies in that city. 

Mr. Hogue was born on a farm near 
Sabina, Ohio, in 1877, son of William R. 
and Emma (Titus) Hogue. His ancestry 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2071 



is Scotch-Irish. He grew up as a farmer 
boy, had a eounti-y school education in the 
winter time, and also spent eight months 
in the Normal School at Lebanon, Ohio. 
At the age of seventeen he went to work 
on his grandfather's farm, remained there 
two years, and gradually acquired experi- 
ence in other lines. For two years he was 
engaged in building rigs and oil pumps 
with a large oil well supply house at Lima, 
Ohio. He then took up a trade as a bar- 
ber, worked in diflfcrent towns in Ohio, and 
in 1903 moved to Anderson, and for several 
years conducted one of the well patronized 
shops of the city. Being attracted into the 
automobile field, he proved himself a siic- 
cessful salesman during three years of con- 
nection with the Hill Stage Company, sell- 
ing Ford and Overland cars. He then went 
with the Robinson Sales Company, selling 
the Dodge and Ford cars, but on March 1, 
1917, established the present business of 
the Hogue-Fifer Sales Compan.y. 

^Ir. Hogue is a democrat in politics, a 
member of the Christian Church, is afBl- 
iated with the Loyal Order of Moose and is 
a citizen who is always alert to opportunity 
and public spirited in his attitude with re- 
gard to everything connected with the wel- 
fare of Anderson. He married Miss Leeta 
Roller, daughter of Albert Roller, and they 
have two children, Delbert, born in 1901, 
and Dorothy, .born in 1904. 

Hon. Joseph M. Rabb took his first cases 
as a lawyer soon after the war, in which 
he had played his part and rendered full 
duty as a youthful but brave and energetic 
soldier for three years. He has practiced 
law half a century, and more than half of 
that time has been either a Circuit or Ap- 
pellate Court judge. 

Judge Rabb was born at Covington in 
Fountain County, Indiana. February 14, 
1846, son of Smith and Mary (Carwile) 
Rabb. His father was born in Warren 
County, Ohio, and died at the age of eighty- 
one, while his mother was a native of In- 
diana and died at the age of sixty-eight. 
Judge Rabb was the third among their nine 
children. His father was a shoemaker by 
trade, and for fiftj'-six years was in the 
boot and shoe business at Perrysville, In- 
diana. For over twenty years of that time 
he served as postmaster. He received his 
first appointment and commission as post- 
master from President Lincoln. He was a 



loyal and enthusiastic republican from the 
time this party was formed until his death. 

As a boy at Perrysville Judge Rabb at- 
tended the public schools, but his educa- 
tion was not completed until after the war. 
On July 22, 1862, a short time after his six- 
teenth birthday, he enlisted in Company 
K of the Seventy-First Indiana Infantry. 
He was mustered in at Indianapolis August 
18, and just two days later, August 20, 
1862, received his baptism of fire at the bat- 
tle of Richmond, Kentucky. The fighting 
began at daylight and continued practically 
uninterrupted until ten o'clock at night. 
It was one of the critical battles in beating 
back the advancing forces of Bragg. The 
Seventy-First Indiana lost fifty-four men 
killed, including a lieutenant colonel and 
major, 215 wounded and 500 captured. 
The remnants of the regiment were reor- 
ganized as the Sixth Indiana Cavalry. 
With the Sixth Cavalry Judge Rabb eon- 
Hnued through the various campaigns made 
by General Burnside in East Tennessee, 
and in 1864, at Paris, Kentucky, he and his 
comrades were remounted and were then 
assigned to General Sherman 's army. They 
were in the advance upon and siege of 
Atlanta, following which they returned tc 
Tennessee to follow Hood up to Franklin 
and Nashville, when his forces were dis- 
sipated. He then broke down the resistance 
of the Confederates represented chiefly by 
Wheeler's Cavalry and General Forrest 'a 
Raiders. Judge Rabb was mustered out at 
Pulaski, Tennessee, as corporal of his 
company. 

After his return home he attended 
school one term at Asbury LTniversity at 
Greencastle, and then entered the law ofYices 
of Judge Brown and Gen. George Wagner. 
He applied himself diligently to his law 
books and was admitted to the bar in 1868. 
In 1870, upon the death of General Wag- 
ner, he became a partner of Mr. Brown in 
the firm of Brown & Rabb. After two years 
he practiced for himself, and was then as- 
sociated with Allen High in the firm of 
Rabb & High until the death of his part- 
ner three years later. Judge Rabb in 1882 
was elected circuit judge of the Twenty- 
first Circuit, including the three counties 
of Fountain, Warren and Vermilion. He 
remained on the bench of this circuit twen- 
ty-four years, constituting one of the long- 
est services as a circuit judge in Indiana. 
In 1906 Judge Rabb was elevated to the 



2072 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Appellate Court Bench, and after serving- 
one term retired to private life. He then 
located at Logansport and is now associated 
with M. F. Mahoney and U. L. Fansler 
under the firm name of Rabb, Mahoney & 
Fansler. 

Judge Rabb is a republican and has 
been so in all his political activities. He 
is a member of the Grand Army of the 
Republic. On June 11, 1872, he married 
Miss Lottie Morris. She died May 7, 1888, 
the mother of five children, two of whom 
died in infancy, while the daughter Clara 
died in 1900, the wife of Guy Winks. On 
November 11, 1884, Judge Rabb married 
Ida Elwell. They have one daughter, 
Louise, now a teacher in the Logansport 
High School. 

Dr. Horace Ellis, state superintend- 
ent of public instruction of Indiana, is an 
educator of the widest experience, of great 
attainments and splendid ideals, and 
brought to his present oiifice a previous 
excellent record as an administrator and 
a thorough familiarity with the needs and 
the working relations of all the many in- 
stitutions under his svipervision. 

Practically his entire life has been de- 
voted to the schools of Indiana, and he 
has given active service in every school 
capacity, as rural teacher, village principal, 
city supei'intendent, normal school presi- 
dent, university president. 

Doctor Ellis was born in Decatur, Illi- 
nois, July 9, 1861, a son of Ira and Maiy 
Frances (Ferguson) Ellis. His early life 
was spent in a rural environment, he was 
reared on a farm and attended country 
schools. He began his career as a country 
.school teacher and continued that woi'k 
until 1882. In the meantime he was ac- 
cepting every opportunity to advance his 
own knowledge and improve his resources, 
and for part of his higher education he 
attended Butler College at Indianapolis. 
From 1885 to 1892 he was superintendent 
of Indianapolis suburban schools. He then 
reentered Indiana University, from which 
he received the A. B. degree in 1896. The 
University of Indianapolis conferred upon 
him the degree Master of Arts in 1897, and 
he has the degree Bachelor of Philosophy 
conferred in 1903. 

During 1896-98 Doctor Ellis taught at 
Lafayette and North Vernon, Indiana, was 
superintendent of public schools at Frank- 



lin, Indiana, from 1898 to 1902, and at that 
date accepted the only call away from the 
schools of Indiana, when he went to Idaho 
and served two years, 1902-04, as president 
of the Idaho State Normal School. In 
1904 he returned to Indiana to become 
president of Vincennes University. He has 
always been allied in politics with the re- 
publican party and in 1914 accepted a 
place on the state ticket as candidate for 
state superintendent of public instruction. 
As is well known, the republican ticket of 
that year suffered defeat all along the line, 
but in 1916 Doctor Ellis' name was again 
placed as a candidate, and the appreciation 
of liis fitness for the office is well indicated 
by the fact that he lead the entire ticket 
in many counties of the state. He assumed 
the duties of his present office in Indian- 
apolis on March 15, 1917. His conduct of 
the affaii-s of his great office during the war 
won the hearty approval of the Federal 
government for the brilliant and patriotic 
cooperation with the nation. 

Doctor Ellis has also been widely known 
as a public institute lecturer and chau- 
tauqua superintendent and his services 
have been constantly in demand on the lec- 
ture platform. He is active in the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church, one of its prominent 
laymen, and has long been identified with 
a large Bible class as teacher. He is a 
member of the Phi Delta Theta College 
fraternity, is a Knight Templar Mason and 
member of numerous educational and 
learned societies. In 1886 he married Miss 
Grace V. Mapes, of Indianapolis. His son, 
Lieut. Max M. Ellis, served with dis- 
tinction throughout the war with Germany, 
and his other son, Howell, served as head 
of the manuscript department in his 
father's office in the capitol. 

Elnathan Cory. Among those whom 
Indiana claims among her pioneers and 
representative citizens should be men- 
tioned Elnathan Cory, one of the early 
residents of Tippecanoe County. He was 
born at New Carlisle, Ohio, ilarch 11, 
1811, and died near Montmorenci, Indiana, 
January 18, 1864. He came to Indiana 
shortly after his marriage and secured a 
large body of land near Lafayette, and be- 
came one of the leaders of his day in that 
section of the state. He served as captain 
in the Indiana Militia for many years, was 
one of the local founders and most zealous 




m-MULX GUjCl^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2073 



leaders of tlie old "Underground Rail- 
road" for helping runaway slaves on to 
freedom, and was an abolitionist, whig and 
republican. 

Elnathan Cory married Susannah Harr, 
and they became the parents of six children. 

Charles G. Carpenter. Forty-six years 
of continuous association with the Rich- 
mond Roller Mills makes Charles G. Car- 
penter a veteran in the business affairs of 
that city and one of the oldest practical 
millers in the state. The long continued 
fidelity he has shown as a factor in this 
business is characteristic of his citizenship 
and character in general. He has seldom 
joined as a leader in public affairs, but is 
always known as a quiet, hard-working 
citizen, willing to do his part and doing 
it without fuss or clamor. 

Mr. Carpenter was born at Wilmington 
in Clinton County, Ohio, in 1836, son of 
'^Va'ter T. and Susan (ilabie) Carpenter. 
He is of an old English family. Three 
brothers of the name cfame to America, 
two settling in New England and one in 
New York. Charles G. Carpenter is de- 
scended from the New York colonist. Wal- 
ter T. Carpenter moved from New York 
State to Clinton County, Ohio, had a gen- 
eral store there, and later engaged in the 
commission business at Cincinnati with his 
brother Calvin. They had the first com- 
mission house in that city and were located 
on the Basin of the old Wliitewater Canal. 
He and his brother Ezra were dairymen at 
Cincinnati. They had some cows which 
they pastured on the present site of the 
Grand Central Station. Leaving Cincin- 
iiRti he went to Clarksville, Clinton County, 
Ohio, and purchased a farm, but sold this 
farm and moved to Richmond and bought 
100 acres of land near that city. 

Charles G. Carpenter acquired a good 
education in Cincinnati, attending the 
Friends Private School, one year in the 
West Town Boarding School near Phila- 
delphia, and for three years was a student 
i)i Earlhsm College at Richmond. At that 
time his father was superintendent of Earl- 
ham College. He acquired a business ex- 
perience by clerking in a grocery store two 
years, and then for fifteen years devoted 
all his time to farming near Richmond. 
Oil returning to the city he engaged inde- 
pendently in the grocery business for two 
years under the name Carpenter & Newlan. 



It was in 1873 that Mr Carpenter be- 
came manager for the Greet Street Mills of 
Richmond. In 1885 these mills were re- 
organized as the Richmond Roller Mills, 
and Mr. Carpenter is still manager, and has 
seen the business grow to great jsroportions 
and many changes have been introduced in 
the mechanical processes during his time. 
The Richmond Roller Mills are known for 
their product "Fancy Patent" and "Hax- 
all" flours. They are also dealers in field 
seeds. 

Mr. Carpenter married in 1863 Elizabeth 
W. Newlan, a daughter of James and Ma- 
tilda Newlan, of Jefferson County, Ohio. 
To their marriage were bdrn two daugh- 
ters, Mary Edna and Caroline M., the lat- 
ter still at home. The former is the wife 
of W. S. Iliser of Indianapolis and has 
one son, Walter C. 

Mr. Carpenter has long been prominent 
in the Friends Church, of which he is a 
birthright member. Since 1883 he has been 
treasurer of the Indiana Yearly Meeting. 
Politicallv he is a republican. 

1 
Alonzo J. HiLEMAN is a veteran in the 
boot and shoe trade, traveled all over In- 
diana and other states for a number of 
years representing some of the leading shoe 
manufacturers of the Middle West, and 
finally established a permanent business 
of his own at Elwood, where he now has a 
well appointed and thoroughly stocked 
store of merchandise at 116 South Ander- 
son Street. 

Mr. Hileman was born in Madison * 
County, Indiana, on a farm, in 1864, son 
of Robert M. and Eliza (Tilson) Hileman. 
His experience during boyhood was not 
unlike that of other Indianans of the time. 
He attended country school in winter, 
worked in the fields in summer, and all 
the time had a growing ambition to do 
something different from farm work. At 
the age of twenty he went to Huntsville, 
had a .vear of experience working in a gen- 
eral store, until the establishment was 
burned out, and then engaged in his first 
independent effort as a merchant, asso- 
ciated with W. R. Tigue, under the name 
Tigue & Hileman, proprietors of a general 
store at Pendleton. They were there two 
years, and after selling out Mr. Hileman 
went on the road as traveling representa- 
tive of some of the leading shoe houses of 
Cincinnati. For three vears he traveled 



2074 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



over the Territory of Indiana, West Vir- 
ginia and Southern Ohio, representing 
Hickman, Taylor & Company of Cincin- 
nati, then for a similar period was with 
W. F. Thorn & Company of Cincin- 
nati ; then for four years represented P. 
Sullivan & Company of Cincinnati in In- 
diana and Western Ohio ; for two years 
sold the goods of Vail, Dittenhofer & Son 
of Cincinntti, and until 1893 was with the 
firm Plant & Marks, a shoe manufacturing 
company of Indiana. He then invested 
some of his capital and formed a partner- 
ship with Thomas Conner under the name 
Conner & Hileman and opened a stock of 
high class footwear at 107 South Anderson 
Street in Elwood. This partnership con- 
tinued for seven years, with Mr. Hileman 
still traveling. He then bought out his 
partner, left the road, and has given his 
best energies since that date to his own busi- 
ness. In 1908 he moved to his present 
quarters, and has owned both the store and 
the building since 1913. He has developed 
a large trade both in the city and surround- 
ing country districts, and the name Hile- 
man throughout this territory is associated 
with the most reliable and satisfactory 
goods. Mr. Hileman has also acquired some 
other business interests and is owner of 
some local real estate. 

In 1892 he married Flora M. Greenley, 
daughter of John Greenley of Elwood. 
They have three children, Louise G., wife 
of Ralph Carpenter, who is connected with 
the First National Bank of Elwood, Fred 
G., who enlisted in the army in May, 1917, 
and is now supply sergeant at the Head- 
quarters Troop of the Thirty-Eighth Divi- 
sion in Camp Shelby; and George A., who 
was born in 1899 and is now a sophomore 
in the Chemical Engineering Corps at Pur- 
due University. 

Mr. Hileman is a republican in polities. 
He is prominent in the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks No. 368, and is 
lecturing knight for tlie order. He is treas- 
urer of the Indiana Retailers Boot & Shoe 
Association, and enjoys an enviable reputa- 
tion among all the business men of Indiana 
in this line. Mr. Hileman attends the 
Methodist Church. 

Walter H. Mellor, of Michigan City, is 
one of the most prominent jewelers of 
Indiana, and has developed business of 
large proportions from a beginning with 



exceedingly modest capital and only his 
individual skill and resources to depend 
upon. Mr. Meller has twice served as 
president of the Indiana State Retail Jewel- 
ers' Association, and was a member of the 
executive committee of the American Na- 
tional Association of Retail Jewelers. He 
is now secretary of the Steel F. Roberts 
Memorial Fund, which is maintained by the 
National Jewelers Association. 

Mr. Mellor was born at Michigan City 
in 1875. His father, William Mellor, was 
born at Oldham, England, where the grand- 
parents spent all their lives. William Mel- 
lor was reared and educated in his native 
town, and as a young man came to America, 
married at Lowell, Massachusetts, and soon 
afterward moved to Indiana with his wife's 
people. They located in Porter County, 
and from there he enlisted in the Ninth 
Indiana Infantry, and saw much active 
and arduous service during the war of the 
rebellion. After his honorable discharge 
he returned home and soon located in 
^Michigan City, where he became a dry 
goods merchant. He was in business until 
his death, at the age of iifty-seven. He 
married Sarah Grace Battye. She was 
born at Staleys Bridge, Lancashire, Eng- 
land, daughter of William and Sarah Bat- 
tye, who afterwards came to America and 
after several years of residence at Lowell, 
Massachusetts, moved to Porter County, In- 
diana, where they were on a farm two or 
three years and spent their last days in 
Jlichigan City. Mrs. William Mellor is still 
living at Michigan City. Her five children 
are Eliza, William, Charles, George and 
Walter H. 

Walter H. Mellor attended the city 
schools and then began an apprenticeship 
^Michigan City. Later he attended Parsons 
at the jeweler's trade in the Beck store at 
Horological School, now the Bradley Poly- 
technic Institute at Peoria. When his 
course there was completed Mr. Mellor was 
employed in several cities, and in 1902 en- 
gaged in the jewelry business for himself. 
His capital was extremely small, but he 
was an expert jeweler and managed his 
resources with consummate skill until today 
his store has one of the most complete 
stocks and one of the finest appointed es- 
tablishments of the kind in the state. 

September 7, 1904, ^Ir. Mellor married 
Inez Herrick. She was born in Cherokee, 
Iowa, daughter of E. C. and Marion (Hall) 



I 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2075 



Herrick. On the paternal side she is of 
English and on the maternal side of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry. ]\Ii-s. Mellor is a member 
of Cherokee Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution, and her four bars in- 
dicate direct descent from four Revolu- 
tionary ancestors. Mr. and ilrs. Mellor 
have one daughter, Marion Inez. 

Mr. Mellor is a member of the board of 
trustees of the Presbyterian Church and is 
affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
is a member of the Potawattomie Country 
Club, and was one of the promoters and or- 
ganizers of the Michigan City Rotary Club. 
He is chairman of the Michigan City Chap- 
ter of the Red Cross and served as a mem- 
ber of the Executive Committee of the 
local War Chest. 

Ross DowDEN is one of the capable men 
of affairs of Delaware County, and has 
gained the seciire confidence of the people 
of that section by the very capable admin- 
istration of his duties as county recorder. 

Mr. Dowden was born in Delaware 
County March 9, 1886, son of Marion V. 
and Alice (Bryant) Dowden. Both par- 
ents were natives of Indiana. Marion Dow- 
den was a blacksmith by trade, and in 1862 
enlisted in the Eighty-Fourth Indiana In- 
fantry, and was with the regiment during 
its splendid record of service through the 
Tennessee, Atlanta and subsequent cam- 
paigns until the close of the war. He was 
a very loyal member of the Grand Army 
of the Republic. 

Mr. Ross Dowden was the youngest of 
eight children, five of whom are still living. 
He was educated in public schools and as 
a boy began his business career working in 
some of Muncie's factories. He was in em- 
ployment in industrial positions for about 
ten years, and resigned his last work in 
1914 when he was nominated on the demo- 
cratic ticket for recorder of Delaware 
County. He was elected in this normally 
republican county by a good ma.iorit.v, and 
took up his duties in office in 1915. Mr. 
Dowden has not only made an efficient 
county officer, but is known as a public 
spirited young man who takes a pride in 
his city and county and is always willing 
to perform a helpful part. He is affiliated 
with the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, and has served as secretary of the 



local Lodge of Eagles for ten years. He 
is a member of the Methodist Protestant 
Church. 

September 20, 1917, Mr. Dowden married 
Miss Lucile Veach, daughter of J. M. 
Veach, a farmer living near ilount Summit. 

\ 

Mary Stembridge, of Evansville, has a 
place among the useful women of Indiana 
on account of her long service in the cause 
of education. For over forty years she 
has presided over the Carpenter School of 
Evansville as principal. She comes of a 
family of educational traditions, and her 
father was author of the spelling book; 
known as the "Western Speller," at one 
time widely used throughout the southern 
states. 

Miss Stembridge is a native of Muhlen- 
berg County, Kentucky, where her fore- 
fathers were pioneers in Indian times. Her 
great-grandfather, John Stembridge, was a 
native of England and coming to America 
in colonial times settled at or near James- 
town, Virginia. William Stembridge, her 
grandfather, was a native of Virginia, was 
well educated for his time, and after going 
to Kentucky was one of the first teachers 
in Muhlenberg County. He acquired land 
there, was a slave owner, and to planting 
he gave the energies of his mature j'ears. 
He married Polly Ward, of a very interest- 
ing pioneer family. Robert Ward, the 
great-grandfather of Miss Stembridge, was 
a native of Ireland, came to this counti-y 
when a youth, locating in Pennsylvania, 
and was with the Continental army in the 
war of the Revolution. In 1791 he em- 
barked his family and household goods on 
a flatboat, drifting down the Ohio and set- 
tled in Muhlenberg County, Kentucky. At 
that time everj^ family home was in a pe- 
culiar sense a "castle," extraordinary pre- 
cautions being necessary to safeguard the 
inmates from hostile attacks of Indians. 
The Ward family pewter set had to be 
melted and molded into bullets as a meas- 
ure of safety. Through the influence of 
Robert Ward the first Methodist mission- 
aries visited ^luhlenburg County. The 
neighbors improvised some rough benches 
to be used at the meetings, and some of 
these frontier religious gatherings were 
held on the lawn of the Ward home. Miss 
Stembridge among other cherished heir- 
looms has carefully preserved a dress that 
must be over a century old. It was made 



2076 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



for her Aunt Betsey Ward. The cotton 
was grown on the Ward plantation, and 
probably some of the Ward slaves spun 
and wove it into cloth. 

Miss Stembridge 's father acquired a good 
education both in the common schools and 
under home tuition, and for j'ears was in- 
terested in educational matters. He was a 
merchant at Elkton in Todd County, after- 
ward at Greenville, and on leaving Ken- 
tucky moved to Evansville, where he be- 
came a wholesale grocer, and was in the 
same line at Louisville. He died in Evans- 
ville at the age of fifty-eight. He married 
Margaret Ann Akers, who attained the aore 
of seventy. She was born at Hopkinsville, 
Kentucky, daughter of Larkin Nichols and 
Sarah (Harrison) Akers, both families of 
Virginia ancestry. One prominent repre- 
sentative of the Akers name was Peter 
Akers. author of the Akers Commentary. 
Miss Stembridge is one of three children : 
William Robert, Mary, and Sally. 

Mary Stembridge completed her educa- 
tion in the Greenville Female Seminary at 
Greenville, Kentucky, and began her career 
as a teacher in the schools of Evansville in 
1872. The first year she was in the Car- 
penter School, and then for three years was 
a teacher in what is now the Wheeler 
School. She then returned to the Carpen- 
ter School as principal, and has held that 
responsible post and supervised the edvica- 
tion of thousands of boys and girls, includ- 
ing many who have since made their mark 
in the world. She was the center of in- 
terest and honor when in 1916 there oc- 
curred a "Home Coming" of the old pu- 
pils of the Carpenter School, when mature 
men and women gathered from far and 
near to renew associations of the past. Miss 
Stembridge is a member of the Trinity 
Methodist Episcopal Church of Evansville. 

Madison J. Bray M. D. One of the 
earliest and most distinguished physicians 
and surgeons of Southern Indiana was the 
lafp Dr. Madison J. Bray of Evansville. 

He was born at Turner. Androscoggin 
County, j\Iaine, January 1, 1811, son of 
Captain William and Ruth (Cushman) 
Bray. His father was a lumbennan and 
merchant. Doctor Bray at the age of six- 
teen left school as a student to become a 
teacher, and followed that occupation for 
eight years. He then attended a course of 
medical lectures in Dartmouth College, biit 



finished his training in Bowdoin College, 
where he graduated in 1835. 

In the fall of the same year he started 
west, traveling by railroad, stage and river 
boat. At Evansville he found the only 
doctor of the village, William Trafton, 
burdened with the taxing exertions of a 
town and countrj^ practice that required 
almost constant and exhausting riding and 
driving. Doctor Trafton gladly accepted 
a partner to share in his labors, and for 
years Doctor Bray had all the experiences 
of a pioneer physician. 

In 1847 he and others established the 
Evansville Medical College, in which he 
filled the chair of surgery until 1862. In 
that year he resigned to aid in organizing 
the Sixtieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry^ 
Regiment, and was commissioned regi- 
mental surgeon. He was with the com- 
mand until ill health compelled him to re- 
sign two years later. He then resumed his 
duties at "the Medical College. He was sur- 
geon at the Marine Hospital at Evansville 
four years, and later at St. Mary's Hospi- 
tal. In 1855 he was elected president of 
the Indiana State Medical Society, and he 
contributed frequently to medical journals. 

After a residence of sixty-five years, 
filled with useful labors and services, he 
died at Evansville August 22, 1900, at the 
age of eighty-nine. In 1838 he married 
Elizabeth Johnson, daughter of Charles 
and Ann (Tate) Johnson. His only son, 
Madison J., Jr., is still living in Evansville, 
engaged in the real estate business. 

Richard A. Edwards. The First Na- 
tional Bank of Peru is one of the oldest 
banks under national charter in Indiana, 
having been organized in 1864, soon after 
the passage of the National Bank Act. 
Through all its existence it has been con- 
servatively managed, and its ofificei-s and 
stockholders represent a large share of the 
moneyed interests and business enterprise 
of Miami County. 

In 1881 Richard Arthur Edwards gave 
up his share in the faculty of Knox College 
at Galesburg, Illinois, to identify himself 
with this institution, and for nearly forty 
years he has been devoting to it the best of 
his abilities and the skill gained from 
accumulating experience. Mr. Edwards is 
one of the oldest bankers in the state. The 
First National Bank of Peru has a capital 
of $100,000, surplus of $100,000, and is one 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



2077 



of the strongest banks in the Wabash Val- 
ley. 

Mr. Edwards represents a family of edu- 
cators and cultured New England people. 
He was born at Bridgewater, Massachu- 
setts, November 9, 1851, son of Rev. 
Richard and Betsey (Josslyn) Edwards. 
Not long after his birth his father moved 
to Salem, Massachusetts, and was president 
of the ilassachusetts State Normal School 
until 1859. In that year the family went 
to St. Louis, Missouri, where Rev. Richard 
Edwards served two years as president of 
the St. Louis Normal School, and from 
1861 to 1873 was president of the Illinois 
State Normal University at Normal. Dur- 
ing that time he did much to establish the 
Normal Universit.y as the useful and splen- 
did institution it is today. He was a 
great teacher, and also had many of the 
qualities of the modern business adminis- 
trator and systematizer. His name has a 
permanent and well deserved place in the 
history of Illinois education. For several 
year.s he also served as state superintendent 
of schools in Illinois, and then entered the 
Congregational ministry. His chief service 
as minister was rendered as pastor of the 
Congregational Church at Princeton, Illi- 
nois, an historic church in which before the 
war the great abolition leader Lovejoy dis- 
tinguished the pastorate. Rev. Richard 
Edwards spent his last years at Blooming- 
ton. Illinois, where he died March 7, 1908. 

Richard A. Edwards was educated in the 
public schools of St. Louis and at Normal, 
Illinois, being a student of the latter in- 
stitution while his father was president. 
When eighteen years old he taught his first 
school at Paxton, Illinois, and was princi- 
pal of schools there two years. In 1872 he 
entered Dartmouth College, but removed at 
the beginning of his junior year to Prince- 
ton University, and graduated A. B. from 
that institution in 1876. He had previously 
for one year been connected with Rock 
River Seminary at Mount Morris, Illinois, 
and after graduation returned there as in- 
structor of Greek and Latin. In 1878 he 
was called to the chair of English literature 
and rhetoric in Knox College. 

On giving up the quiet dignities and 
pleasant associations of the scholastic life 
in 1881 Mr. Edwards accepted the position 
of assistant cashier of the First National 
Bank at Peru. In 1884 he was made 
cashier, and in that capacity had increasing 



responsibilities and the management of the 
bank. In January, 1911, he became presi- 
dent, and his son, M. A. Edwards, is now 
cashier. Mr. Edwards has been an import- 
ant factor in Peru's advancement as a 
leading commercial city. He has served as, 
an officer and stockholder in a number of 
industrial concerns, and his personality is 
a rallying point for any broad cooperative 
movement in which the welfare and repu- 
tation of the community are at stake. Mr. 
Edwards is a republican, as was his father, 
and is a member of the Columbia Club of 
Indianapolis, the University Club of Chi- 
cago, and he and his wife are affiliated with 
the Baptist Church. In 1880 Mr. Edwards 
married Miss Alice Shirk, a member of the 
prominent Shirk family^ of Peru. Her 
father, Elbert H. Shirk, was for a number 
of years president of the First National 
Bank of Peru. Mr. and Mrs. Edwards 
have a family of two sons and three daugh- 
ters. 

Thomas Cory. Among the men respon- 
sible for the development of Indiana and 
her institutions mention is made of Thomas 
Cory, an educator of distinction in his day, 
the author of a text book, "Manual of 
Land Surveying," very generally used 
throughout Indiana for many years, and 
an engineer of recognized ability and the 
inventor of several important devices cov- 
ering a wide field. 

Thomas Cory was horn on a farm near 
Montmorenci in Tippecanoe County, In- 
diana, February 10, 1838. and his death 
occurred at Berkeley, California, May 30, 
1915. He was a student of Wabash Col- 
lege, class of 1859, where he studied engi- 
neering, and after leaving college followed 
that profession, educational work, agricixl- 
ture. and work at his inventions. He was 
at one time connected with Purdue Uni- 
iversity, and his name and that of his 
father. Elnathan Cory, deserve lasting 
recognition for the part they played as real 
pioneers of Indiana. 

Thomas Cory married at Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania. December 29, 1863, Carrie 
Storey, and thej^ reared a large family of 
children who do them honor. 

Peter J. Reehling. An Indiana citi- 
zen of exceptionally wide experience is 
Peter J. Reehling, who for thirty vears has 
been identified in different capacities with 
the American Express Company, and is 



2078 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



now agent and manager of the company's 
business at Anderson. 

Mr. Reehling is a native of Indiana and 
is of that substantial German stock that 
sought free homes in America after the 
revohitions in Germany against Prussiau- 
ism during the '30s and '40s. His parents 
were Phillip J. and Elizabeth (Kaiser) 
Reehling. Phillip J. Reehling was born in 
Baden, Germany, in 1813. He saw active 
service in the Baden army, and as a soldier 
bore arms against the king of Prussia when 
the present house of Hohenzollern was seek- 
ing to dominate the various provinces and 
states of Germany. Phillip Reehling re- 
fused to remain under the rule of the con- 
queror, and as soon as he could accumulate 
sufficient money to defray his expenses he 
came to America. 

In 1840 he took passage on a sailing 
vessel and was three months in reaching 
America. Twice the boat was in sight of 
land when it was blown out to sea. He 
traveled by way of Bufifalo and Toledo and 
from that point drove overland to Fort 
Wayne. He paid fifty dollare to the driver. 
The driver became sick of his undertaking 
and tried to return to Toledo, but Phillip 
Reehling with the aid of a shotgun com- 
pelled him to continue the journey. Phil- 
lip Reehling at that time was accompanied 
by his wife and a baby six months old. 
Two other members of the party were his 
mother and father, then people past sev- 
enty. His first home was seven miles south 
of Fort Wayne, where he bought forty acres 
of land. This land was located on the old 
Pickaway Road. He worked that forty 
acres until 1856, when Chief Godfrey of 
the Miami Indians, learning that Mr. Reeh- 
ling had in his possession 100 silver dol- 
lars, persuaded him to buy 105 acres across 
the St. Mary's River on the Winchester 
Road. This was only the initial payment, 
and the balance was paid out in coon 
skins. Phillip Reehling looked after both 
farms until 1861, when he turned the 
larger place over to his older son, Jacob, 
and after that managed the home farm 
until he retired. He died at Fort Wayne 
in 1891, at the age of seventy-eight, and 
his wife passed away in 1893, also aged 
seventy-eight. They had five sons and 
three daughters. 

Peter J. Reehling, youngest of the fam- 
ily, was born on the old home farm in In- 
diana in 1853. He received his education 



at Fort Wayne in J. Weber's private school 
from 1861 to 1872. On leaving school he 
went to work as clerk in the store of his 
brother-in-law, John Otto, at Auburn, In- 
diana. Mr. Otto was a veteran of the 
Civil war. Mr. Reehling remained in 
Otto's boot and shoe store until 1875, when 
he opened a similar business of his own at 
Bluffton, Ohio, and remained there until 
1882. He then sold out and returning to 
Indiana was clerk in a store at Rushville 
for two years, and then went on the road 
for a year selling shoes for the Carnahan- 
Hanna Company of Fort Waj'ne. His ter- 
ritory was Central and Southern Indiana. 

Mr. Reehling 's first connection with the 
American Express Company dates from 
October 10, 1887. Though he knew noth- 
ing of the business, he accepted the place 
of agent at Rushville and remained there 
two years. Superintendent Fargo then 
sent him to Alton, Illinois, as agent for 
the company. He remained at Alton 
eleven months, and returning to Rushville 
became express messenger with a run from 
North Vernon, Indiana, to Benton Harbor, 
Michigan. He was on the road a year and 
a half, and in 1892 was appointed agent 
at Alexandria, Indiana, which was his 
home for fifteen years. He then served as 
local agent at Richmond two and a half 
years, as traveling agent eleven months 
from Terre Haute, Indiana, to St. Louis, 
and from Danville to Cairo eleven months, 
was local agent at Lima, Ohio, at Wabash, 
Indiana, at Alexandria, and at Kokomo for 
two years, and again at Wabash for 2i/^ 
years. In March, 1916, he accepted his 
present post as agent and manager of the 
company 's business at Anderson. His fam- 
ily continued to reside at Alexandria, 
where he owns considerable real estate 
and also his property at Indianapolis. 

In 1$75 Mr. Reehling married ilelissa 
Martin, daughter of I. W. and Mary 
(0 'Conner) Martin of Columbus Grove. 
Her father was a Union soldier in the Civil 
war, and for a number of years was a 
grain merchant at Columbus Grove. Mr. 
and Mrs. Reehling have four children : 
Adelbert Ira, born in 1876, and now a res- 
ident of Alexandria, where he is agent for 
the American Express Company and is un- 
married ; Esreula, who died at the age of 
two years ; Lula, born in 1882, and died a 
day "after her birth ; and Ellen Clara, born 
in 1895, and still at home with the family. 



IXDIANA AND INDIAXANS 



2079 



She is a graduate of the high school and 
took two years of musical instruction in 
the Indiana Musical Conservatory. 

Mr. Reehling in political matters is 
strictly independent. In 1876 he was 
elected on the citizens ticket as councilman 
for the Second Ward at Bluffton, Ohio. 
For a number of years he was quite active 
in political affairs but finallj^ became dis- 
gusted with polities and has exercised his 
strictly independent .iudgment in support- 
ing any candidate. He is a member of the 
Presbyterian Church at Alexandria, and 
belongs to the subordinate lodge and uni- 
form rank of the Knights of Pythias. 

I 

Hox. Harry L. Crumpacker, now serv- 
ing a second term as .iudge of the Superior 
Court of Porter and LaPorte counties, was 
admitted to the bar in 1905, and has ac- 
cumulated many distinctions in the brief 
period of his professional work. Judge 
Crumpacker 's home since beginning prac- 
tice has been at Michigan City. 

It is doubtful if any family has contrib- 
uted more names to the substantial citizen- 
ship, the farming and business and profes- 
sional activities of Xorthwestern Indiana. 
The thirteen American colonies wei-e hardly 
organized when John Crumpacker emi- 
grated from Holland in 1762 and settled in 
Bedford County, Virginia. The family 
lived in Virginia many years. Owen Crum- 
packer, a son of John, was born in Bote- 
tourt County, Virginia, in 1783, and was 
an American soldier in the War of 1812, 
serving with the Seventh Virginia Regi- 
ment. He married Hannah Woodford. 

The third son of this couple was Theo- 
philus Crumpacker, grandfather of Judge 
Crumpacker. Theophilus was bom in 
Botetourt Countv, Virginia, January 17, 
1823. 

About 1828 Owen Crumpacker brought 
his family west to Indiana, fii-st locating 
in Union County, in 1832 coming to Porter 
County, and Owen was a farmer there un- 
til his death, when about sixty-five years of 
age. His wife, Hannah, reached the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-six. 

Theophilus Crumpacker was a small boy 
when brought to Indiana. He lived in 
Porter and LaPorte Counties, and for a 
year or so during the Civil war had his 
home on a farm near Kankakee, Illinois. 
He then returned to Porter County and es- 
tablished his home on a farm three milesj 



east of Valparaiso. In 1890 he retired from 
his farm and made his home in Valparaiso 
until his death November 27, 1908. The- 
ophilus Crumpacker married Harriet Em- 
mons, who was born in ^Montgomery 
County, Virginia, December 23, 1822, 
daughter of William and Elsie (Kirk) 
Emmons. The Emmons family was of 
Scotch-Irish descent and they moved 
West from Virginia at an early date, Wil- 
liam Emmons establishing a home in Cass 
County, Michigan, in 1832. He died at the 
age of sixty-eight, and his widow, Elsie, 
survived to the age of eighty-one. 

Theophilus Crumpacker and wife had 
eight children, namely: John W., father of 
Judge Crumpacker; Edgar D., who was 
boni May 27, 1852, was admitted to the 
bar in 1876, and for many years has been 
a prominent figure in the public life of the 
state and the nation, representing the 
Tenth Indiana District in Congress from 
1897 to 1913 ; Daniel W., long in the rail- 
way mail service ; Eliza A., who married 
Melvin W. Lewis ; Peter, for many years a 
lawj-er at Hammond; Dora A., who mar- 
ried Iredell Luther ; Charles, of Valpa- 
raiso ; and Grant, a prominent Valparaiso 
lawyer. Nearly all the Crumpackers have 
had a tendency to go into politics. Theo- 
philus was one of the early day republi- 
cans, and for three terms represented his 
district in the State Legislature and was 
a factor in local politics in Porter County. 

John W. Crumpacker, father of Judge 
Crumpacker, was bom in New Durham 
Township of LaPorte County, March 9, 
1849. He spent most of his youth in Por- 
ter Countv on his father's farm, was edu- 
cated in the rural schools and the North- 
ern Indiana Normal School, now the Val- 
paraiso University, and at one time was a 
teacher. In 1872 he was appointed deputy 
county treasurer of Porter Countv, serving 
until 1879. In the fall of 1878 he was 
elected county treasurer and by re-election 
in 1880 filled that office with the confidence 
and efficiency familiarly associated with 
the Crumpacker family until August, 1883. 
In 1884 he became cashier and manager of 
the Hobart Bank of Valparaiso. Then, in 
February, 1885, he assumed his duties as 
cashier of the LaPorte Savings Bank, and 
was a well known LaPorte banker from 
that time until his death, which occurred 
in 1913. 

January 3, 1877, John W. Crumpacker 



2080 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



married Anna J. Smith. She was born in 
Norwalk, Ohio, a daughter of Hiram and 
Harriet (Ashley) Smith, both natives of 
Massachusetts. Mrs. John W. Crumpacker 
now makes her home with her only son and 
child. Judge Crumpacker. John W. Crum- 
packer was a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. 

Harry L. Cumpacker was born at Val- 
paraiso, Indiana, May 6, 1881. He ac- 
quired a liberal education, graduating from 
the LaPorte High School in 1899, and then 
entering the Universit.y of Michigan. He 
received his A. B. degree in 1903, and con- 
tinued his studies in the law department 
until attaining the LL. B. degree in 1905. 
In the fall of the same year he began ac- 
tive practice at Michigan City and enjoyed 
a large business as a lawyer until entering 
upon his duties on the bench. He served 
as city attorney, and in 1914 was elected 
judge of the Superior Court for the district 
of LaPorte and Porter counties. He was 
re-elected in 1918. 

In 1907 Judge Crumpacker married Miss 
Blanche E. Bosserman, a native of LaPorte 
and daughter of Charles and Emma (Web- 
ber) Bosserman. Her father was of early 
Pennsylvanian ancestry and was long 
prominent in the business affairs of La- 
Porte, where he lived many years, until his 
death. Mrs. Crumpacker 's maternal gi-and- 
father, Leroy D. Webber, was a native of 
Chautauqua County, New York, and a son 
of Stebbins F. and Emeline (Pope) Web- 
ber, the former a native of Massachusetts 
and the latter of New York. Leroy D. 
Webber located at LaPorte as early as 1851, 
and in the same year engaged in the hard- 
ware business. That business is still con- 
tinued under the name the Webber Hard- 
ware Company. He served as mayor of 
the city and as a member of the school 
board. 

Judge and Mi-s. Crumpacker had three 
children: John W., Helen, and Louise. 
Mrs. Crumpacker died in 1914. Judge 
Crumpacker is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church and he is affiliated with 
Theta Delta Chi fraternity, Acme Lodge 
No. 83, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
Washington Lodge No. 94, Knights of 
Pythias, is a member of the Potawattomie 
Country Club, of the ]\Iiehigan City Cham- 
be^ of Commerce, and the Young Men's 
Christian Association. Like his father and 



practically all the family, he is a steadfast 
republican. 

Barzillai Owen Barnes, deceased, was 
manager and treasurer of the Union Grain 
& Feed Company of Anderson. This is an 
industry that has grown and prospered un- 
til its products are now recognized an 
standard in quality and excellence over 
many states. With the growth of the in- 
dustry Mr. Barnes was a practical influ- 
ence and did much to give the business its 
splendid reputation and success. 

Mr. Barnes was a native of Ohio, bom at 
Somerset in Perry County in 1870, *son of 
John and Phoebe (Bowman) Barnes. 
Some of his ancestors were English and 
some of Pennsylvania Dutch stock, but the 
family for the most part have been in 
America for a number of generations. Go- 
ing back over the different generations 
most of the men have been farmers. Mr. 
Barnes grew up on his father's farm in 
Perry County, Ohio, being educated in the 
country schools, the Somerset High School 
and in 1900 graduated Ph. B. from Otter- 
bein University at Westerville, Ohio. He 
continued a member of the Alumni Asso- 
ciation of that splendid Ohio institution. 

For two years after leaving college Mr. 
Barnes remained at Westerville as assist- 
ant cashier of the local bank. In 1903 he 
removed to Anderson, Indiana, and for 
four yeai-s was manager of the fire insur- 
ance and renting departments of the Union 
Savings & Investment Company. Then, in 
1907, he went with the Union Grain & Coal 
Company, being bookkeeper for one year, 
and from 1908 was its manager, and was| 
also treasurer, stockholder and director. 
This company ships and manufactures a 
large variety of stock feeds. Under their 
individual brand and trade mark they mar- 
ket three brands of chicken feed, two 
brands of dairy feed, two brands of 
horse feed and also special feeds for 
hogs and other domestic animals. They 
also manufacture considerable quantities of 
corn meal and corn flour. Their shipments 
go east as far as Boston, and are distrib- 
uted over a number of states in the Middle 
West. The capacity of the plant is eighty 
tons per day. It is a business which has 
grown up gradually, altogether on the merit 
of the products, and without excessive ad- 
vertising or stimulation. 

Mr. Barnes was also a man of other in- 



INDIANA AND INDTAXANS 



2081 



terests in Anderson. He was a republican 
voter and a member of the United Breth- 
ren Church. In 1903 he married Miss 
Maggie Lambert, daughter of G. A. and 
Glendora Lambert, of Union Citj', Indiana. 
They had a hou.sehold of three children, 
Albert Owen, aged twelve, Glendora, aged 
ten, and Dwight Lambert, aged tive. Mrs. 
Barnes died September 10, 1916. On March 
28, 1918, Mr. Barnes married Esther May- 
Downey. She was born in Anderson, In- 
diana, where she was reared and educated. 
Mr. Barnes died October 10, 1918. His 
widow is still a resident of Anderson, In- 
diana. 

Arthur Roeske occupies an important 
position in business circles at Michigan 
City, and is in a line of industry which has 
been in the family in that locality for up- 
wards of fifty years. He is secretary and 
manager of the Riselay Brick Company. 

For several generations the Roeske fam- 
ily were farmers and shepherds in Eastern 
Germany in the Province of Posen, now 
included within the limits of the new na- 
tion of Poland. His great-grandfather 
died in Posen in middle life. Christian 
Roeske was bom, i-eared and married in 
Posen, and during his early life tended 
many large flocks in that country. H^ 
married Augusta Pahl, whose father died 
in Germany at the advanced age of ninety- 
eight and his mother at eighty-three. In 
1864 Christian Roeske, accompanied by his 
sons Michael and Christopher, came tq 
America, traveling by sailing vessel and 
being fourteen weeks on the ocean. They 
landed at Quebec and on the 25th of June 
reached Michigan City after a journey 
down the St. Lawrence River and around 
the lakes to Detroit, and thence by railroad 
to Michigan City. Another member of the 
family was his daughter, Augusta. Later 
they were .joined by his wife and sons 
August and Theodore. Christian Roeske 
after some varied employment bought 
eighty acres of timbered land in Michigan. 
Township, and took his family to that place 
in the country. He died there at the age 
of fifty-four in 1870, his widow surviving 
many years and passing away at the age 
of eighty-five. Both were members of the 
Lutheran Church. They had nine chil- 
dren, six sons and three daughters. 

'The late Christopher Roeske, father of 
Arthur Roeske, was born near Gromden in 



Posen, Germany, April 27, 1847. He was 
educated in his native land and worked 
there as a shepherd. He was seventeen 
years old when the family came to Michi- 
gan City, and he at once took upon him- 
self the responsibilities of providing for 
his own living and assisting the family in 
getting settled. For a time he was em- 
ploj'ed as a construction hand by the Mich- 
igan Central Railroad. Later he worked 
in a factory and on his father's farm, and 
learned the brick making business in the 
plant of Charles Kellogg at Michigan City. 
Having learned the business, in 1869 he 
and his brothers leased a tract of land from 
Re3-nolds Couden and established a brick 
plant of their own. After seven years 
they bought the brick yard and sawmill of 
Denton ^liller, and continued both enter- 
prises until 1880. In that year the saw- 
mill Avas abandoned and they erected a 
flour mill on Waterford Road. This mill 
was made thoroughly modern in all its 
equipment and machinery, and had a ca- 
pacity of 100 barrels per day. The four 
brothers continued the business until the 
death of Michael, and soon aftenvard Theo- 
dore retired on account of ill health. 
Christopher and August then continued 
the business together, operating a large 
brick yard where about 6,000,000 bricks 
were made every year, and also the flour 
mill. Christopher Roeske was active in 
business until his death August 22, 1912. 
He was a director of the Citizens Bank of 
Michigan City, and was affiliated with the 
Masonic Lodge, Royal Arch Chapter, and 
Knights Templar. In politics he was a 
democrat, and served several terms as 
county commissioner. 

Christopher Roeske married Mrs, Au- 
gusta (Meese) ilatthias, widow of Peter 
Matthias. She was bom in Mecklinburg 
Schwerin, Germany, and when a girl came 
to America with her foster mother, Mrs. 
Elizabeth Heitman. By her first marriage 
she had five children : Anna, who married 
Hermann Wamke ; Dora, who married 
Henry Warnke ; Alexander, Peter, and 
William Matthias. Mr. and Mrs. Christo- 
pher Roeske had four children: Arthur, 
Oscar, Martha, and Lydia. jMartha is the 
wife of 0. I. Lowe and Lydia man-ied 
William Staiger. 

Arthur Roeske was born at Michigan 
City January 1, 1877, and during his youth 
attended the parochial and public schools. 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



After completing his education in the pub- 
lic schools he took a course in the Michi- 
gan City Business College, and then be- 
came associated with his father in business. 
In February, 1917, he became cashier of 
the First Calumet Trust and Savings Bank. 
He was already financially interested in 
the Riselay Brick Company, and in 1918 
he resigned his position with the bank to 
devote all his time to the affairs of this 
company of which he is secretary and 
manager. 

December 4, 1901, Mr. Roeske married 
Miss Emma Darman, a native of Michigan 
City. Her father, Fred Darman, was born 
in Schleswig, Germany, son of Fred Dar- 
man, Sr., who brought his family to Amer- 
ica and settled in Porter County, Indiana, 
buying a farm near the east line of that 
county and not far from Westville. Late 
in life he moved to Michigan City, where 
he died. Fred Darman, Jr., was reared 
and educated in his native land, and after 
coming to America lived for a time in Buf- 
falo, New York, and then came to Indiana 
and was a farmer in Porter County, but 
for many years lived in Michigan Citj* and 
was engineer at the city waterworks. He 
died at the age of sixty-nine. Fred Dar- 
man, Jr., married Augusta Klank, who 
was born in Pomerania, Germany, and 
came to America when a young woman, 
probably being the only member of her 
family to come to this countrs\ She died 
at the age of thirty-four. Mr. and IMrs. 
Roeske have tw^o sons, Arthur Gerald and 
Ralph Christopher. Mr. and ^Irs. Roeske 
are members of St. John's Evangelical 
Church, and fraternally he is affiliated with 
Acme Lodge No. 83, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, Michigan City Chapter No. 
83, Royal Arch Masons, Michigan City 
Councii No. 56, Royal and Select Masters, 
and Michigan City Commandery No. 30, 
Knights Templar. 

James T. Royse gave three of the best 
years of his young manhood to fighting the 
"cause of the" Union in the Civil War, and 
since then for more than half a century 
has been identified with the business life 
of Indiana, chiefly as a merchant. For the 
past fifteen years he has lived at Elwood, 
and is sole proprietor of the J. T. Royse, 
house furnishings, stoves and ready to 
wear goods, one of the largest mercantile 
houses of the city. 



Mr. Royse was born at New Albany, Inc 
diana, March 23, 1842, son of H. H. and 
Sarah (Poison) Royse. The family has 
been in America many generations, and 
were pioneers in Kentucky. For the most 
part the Royses have been agriculturists. 
H. H. Royse in 1832 established a stove 
factory at New Albany, Indiana, the oldest 
stove manufacturing concern in the state. 
H. H. Royse died in 1872 and his wife in 
1859. They had three sons and four 
daughters. 

James T. Royse, j-oungest of the fami'y, 
was educated in the common schools of his 
native town. His education was continued 
only to his fourteenth year, after which he 
went to work learning the tinsmith busi- 
ness. In 1859 he went out to Iowa and 
lived on the farm of his uncle, Irwin Pol- 
son, in Marion County until July, 1861. 

Mr. Royse 's military service is credited 
to an Iowa regiment. He enlisted October 
17, 1861, in the Fourth Iowa Infantry, and 
was a soldier three years and si.x weeks. 
He was mustered out and given an honor- 
able discharge in 1864, at the end of three 
years, but re-enlisted and stayed until 
practically the end of the war. He took 
part in the concluding campaign of the 
LTnion armies in the Southwest, fighting at 
Pea Ridge, Arkansas, and was in the great 
Pittsburg campaign, including the battles 
of Jackson and Tupelo. For all the dan- 
gers to which he was exposed he was never 
injured. Mr. Royse for a number of years 
has had membership in John A. Logan Post 
of the Grand Army of the Republic at La- 
fayette, Indiana. 

After the war he settled at Rockville in 
Parke County, Indiana, and for a year had 
a half interest in a general store with J. 
A. Moreland under the name Moreland & 
Royse. Returning to New Albany, he con- 
ducted a hat store in that city for seven 
years. 

In 1872 Mr. Royse married Virginia 
Smith, daughter of George W. and Nancy 
(Herrick) Smith, who were originallv a 
Virginia family. By this marriage Mr. 
■Royse had two children, Mary, born m 
1873 and died at the age of sixteen; and 
George, who now lives at Indianapolis and 
is connected with the Indianapolis Gas 
Company. 

From New Albany Mr. Royce located at 
Indianapolis, where he established a fur- 
niture house near the old postoffiee on Mar- 




Kj^cw,^t/^ O. vYo-eA^^y^n^^ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2083 



ket Street. Three years later he moved tO; 
Washington Street, fronting the State 
House, and was in business there for 
twelve years. His next location was at 
Terre Haute, where he managed a rug sell- 
ing agency employing seventy-five sales- 
men, and he sold goods on an extensive 
scale and did a very profitable business for 
nine years. After that he opened another 
furniture business and remained at Terre 
Haute nine years, his store being on Main 
and Seventh streets. 

For a brief time after that he was again 
at Indianapolis, and then opened a furni- 
ture house at Lafayette, where he remained 
ten years. . In the meantime he had estab- 
lished branch stores at Blwood and at 
Alexandria, and in 1902 he removed to El- 
wood and has since concentrated all his 
work and attention to the main store in 
that city. He has a large trade in the city 
and the surrounding country for fifteen or 
twenty miles. Mr. Royce has also ac- 
Quired other business interests and has con- 
siderable local real estate. 

In February, 1887, he married for his 
second wife Cora Lee Plant, daughter of 
James and Sarah Plant. They have two 
children, Corinne, Jlrs. Ray Nuding of 
Elwood, and Ruth, who married Harry 
Banfield of Elwood, and has a son, James, 
born in 1911. 

Mr. Royse is a republican in politics. 
He is affiliated with Masonry in the Lodge 
and Royal Arch Chapters, has served as 
trustee of Elwood Lodge of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and is a 
member of the Knights of Pj'thias. His 
church home is the Methodist. 

"W. 0. Crawford. A business that has 
furnished a service to the critical demands 
of the Richmond public for over sixty-five 
years is the drs' goods and house furnish- 
ing firm now under the sole ownership and 
direction of W. 0. Crawford, and formerly 
established by his grandfather. During 
its existence three generations of the fam- 
ily have been identified with it. 

W. O. Crawford was born at Richmond 
in 1863, a son of John Y. and Ella S. 
f:\ritchell) Crawford. He is of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry, and manv members of the 
family were agriculturists. His grand- 
father, Daniel B. Crawford, opened the 
first general store in Richmond, on Main 
Street, between Fourth and Fifth streets. 



He opened this in 1850 under the firm 
name of Scott & Crawford. In 1857 he 
became sole owner, and the business was 
continued under the name Daniel B. Craw- 
ford until he took his son, John Y., into 
partnership. Daniel B. Crawford died in 
1888. The firm of D. B. Crawford & Son 
was changed to John Y. Crawford, and on 
October 6, 1912, W. 0. Crawford succeeded 
to the business. 

'Sir. Crawford received a grammarand 
high school education in Richmond and at 
the age of fourteen entered his father's 
store. He learned rapidly and was a dili- 
gent workman, and hard work has been 
part of his program every year of his life 
to the present time and accounts largely 
for his success. 

In 1887 he married Rossie L. Craig, 
daughter of Benjamin Franklin Craig of 
Richmond. They have two sons: John, 
JIalcolm, born January 14, 1900, and Rich- 
ard Wallace, born in 1906. Mr. Crawford 
is a republican voter, is a member of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and his church affiliations are with the 
Presbyterian. 

Frank E. Roehm, of the firm of Schlegel 
& Roehm, contractors and builders, with 
offices in the Lombard Building at Indian- 
apolis, has had nearly thirty years of prac- 
tical experience in the building line. He 
engaged in business for himself after re- 
signing the position of superintendent with 
the old and well known firm of W. P. 
Juno-elaus Company. 

Mr. Roehm is a son of John and Mary 
(Scherger) Roehm. His father, a native 
of Germany, came to the United States 
between 1849 and 1850, and after a brief 
residence in Cincinnati moved to Dearborn 
County, Indiana, where he worked at his 
trade as shoemaker. This trade he had 
le'^-ned in the old country. He was a skill- 
ful workman, diligent, and made a good 
living for his family. He was active in 
his work until a .short time before his 
death. Soon after coming to the United 
States he became a naturalized citizen, and 
was an American in spirit as well as in 
profession. He died when thirty-two years 
of age, and his widow is still living. They 
were the parents of seven children. The 
father was a democrat, but never aspired 
to any office. 

Frank E. Roehm, nest to the youngest 



2084 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



child, received a common school education, 
attending school in Dearborn and Frank- 
lin counties, but after he was fourteen he 
left home and became self supporting. His 
ample success in subsequent yeai-s is the 
more creditable because of this early in- 
dependence and self-direction. His first 
experience was as a farm laborer. He 
did not find farming congenial, and he 
soon moved across the state line into Ohio 
and for a year and a half was employed 
as caretaker of a small estate. Mr. Eoehm 
came to Indianapolis in 1891, and became 
a carpenter's apprentice with the firm of 
Jungclaus & Schoemacher. After his ap- 
prenticeship he continued work with the 
same firm as a journeyman until they dis- 
solved partnership, and he then continued 
with the W. P. Jungclaus Company. He 
w^as advanced from foreman to superin- 
tendent of construction, and resigned in 
1914 to form a partnership with Mr. 
Schlegel under the name of Schlegel & 
Roehm, general contractors and builders. 
They have the facilities and experience for 
the adequate handling of practically any 
contract. Mr. Roehm is the practical man, 
in charge of all outside construction, while 
his partner is chief estimator and office 
manager. 

Mr. Roehm married Miss Leota Coble, 
a native of Indiana. They have three chil- 
dren : Robert, Frances and Dorothy. Mr. 
Roehm and family are Catholics in re- 
ligion. In politics he is absolutely inde- 
pendent, voting according to the dictates 
of his conscience and his judgment. 

Elijah A. Morse was born in South 
Bend, Indiana, in 1841. During his early 
youth he removed to the east with his 
parents. He served his country during the 
Civil war, and later became prominent as 
a manufacturer of stove polish in Canton, 
Massachusetts. He was a member of the 
Massachusetts House of Representatives in 
1876, was elected to the State Senate in 
1886 and 1887, and as a republican was 
elected to the Fifty-first, Fifty-second, 
Fifty-third and Fifty-fourth congresses. 
His death occurred at Canton, J\Iassachu- 
setts, in 1898. 

Chella M. Dawley has built up a busi- 
ness at Anderson which is a credit to her 
enterprise and an instance of what a young 
woman of determined purpose and energy 



can achieve in the business world. She is 
proprietor of the Dawley Millinery Shop, 
probably the largest business of its kind in 
Madison County. 

Miss Dawley was born on a farm in 
Blackford County, Indiana, daughter of 
Nathan W. and Emma (Sutton) Dawley. 
She comes of good old American stock. 
Her early education was that of country 
schools, supplemented later by three yeai-s 
in the Montpelier High School. After her 
mother died she went to work, and gained 
her preliminary business experience in the 
Purman and Johnston department store at 
Montpelier. Later for eight years she was 
saleswoman for H. Mosler & Son at Port- 
land, Indiana, and during that time ac- 
quired a great aggregate of experience and 
skill which served her in good stead when 
in 1909 she came to Anderson and with 
Mrs. J. W. Grimes opened a millinery 
shop under the name Grimes & Dawley. 
The location then was where the store is 
now, at 15 West Tenth Street. After two 
years Miss Dawley bought out her partner, 
and has since done much to improve and 
increase her business, remodeling the store 
and enlarging its facilities. Miss Dawley 
is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

Henry Koelln. Some of the most sub- 
stantial edifices of brick and stone in and 
around ^Michigan City attest the ability 
and long practical experience of Henry 
Koelln as a contractor and builder. Mr. 
Koelln acquired his trade and profession 
from his father, and has had the business 
push and energy to enable him to build up 
an organization that counts in the sphere 
of building and contracting. 

He was born at Waterloo in Waterloo 
County, Ontario. His father, Claus Koelln, 
was born in April, 1830, in Schleswig-Hol- 
stein of Danish parentage and ancestry. 
He acquired a good education, and in 1853 
brought his family to America, being on 
the ocean in a sailing vessel for seven 
weeks. His destination was Waterloo, 
Iowa. At that time there were no rail- 
roads in Iowa, and it was almost impossible 
to learn anything of the state. Imme- 
diately on landing he proceeded to the 
Province of Ontario, and while still con- 
templating proceeding westward to Iowa 
he was informed that a town of the same 
name was thirty miles away, and thus the 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2085 



iiiflueuee of name directed him to that lo- 
calitj' in Ontario instead of to what is now 
one of the most prosperous cities of Iowa. 
He traveled to Waterloo, Ontario, with an 
ox team and found a small town in the 
midst of the wilderness. Being a natural 
mechanic he was soon busy with contracting 
and building, and has continued to live in 
this section of Ontario to the present time. 
He married Anna Van Yahn, also a native 
of Schleswig-Holstein and of Danish par- 
entage. She died in 1913. They had six; 
children, named Charles, Henry, Matilda, 
John, Julius, and Anna. Julius is a con- 
tractor and builder at Detroit. 

Henry Koclln acquired his education in 
Waterloo and inherited good mechanical 
talent. He acquired expert practice in 
the trade of brick and plaster mason from 
his father, and on leaving home went to 
Grand Rapids, Michigan, and was a con- 
tractor and builder in that city for twelve 
years. Since then his home and business 
headquarters have been in Michigan City. 
He has perfected an organization that is 
widely known in building circles, and he 
has carried out many large contracts in 
adjoining states. The Judge Montgomery 
residence in Lansing, Michigan, was con- 
structed by Mr. Koelln. In Michigan City 
he constructed some of the larger buildings 
of the Haskell and Barker Car Company, 
including its office building. He also built 
the Citizens Bank Building, the high school 
building, the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation Building, and St. Mary's Par- 
sonage. 

In 1902 Mr. Koelln married ]\Iiss Hattie 
Warkentine, a native of Michigan City and 
member of one of its old and well known 
families. Her parents were Henry W. and 
Louise Warkentine, the former deceased 
and the latter still living at Michigan City. 
Mr. and ]Mrs. Koelln have two daughters, 
named Ruth and ilargaret. The parents 
are members of the First Church of Christ 
and IMr. Koelln is affiliated with Acmt^ 
Lodge No. 83, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, and is a life member of Michigan' 
City Lodge No. 432, Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. In polities he is 
independent. 

Milton Asbi'ry Woollen. For nearly 
half a century the late Milton Asbury 
W"oollen was an active factor in Indian- 
apolis business affairs, and from January 



4, 1905, until 1912 was president of the 
American Central Life Insurance Com- 
pany. 

He was born on a farm in Lawrence 
Township, Marion County, January 18, 
1850, son of Milton and Sarah (Black) 
Woollen and a brother of William W. 
Woollen and Dr. Greenly V. Woollen of 
Indianapolis. He had only a common 
school education. From the age of four- 
teen for two years he worked as a special 
messenger with the telegraph office. He 
then took a commercial course in a business 
college, and for two years was bookkeeper 
in the local ofSces of the Singer Sewingi 
JMachine Company. In 1868 he began his 
independent career as a feed and grain 
merchant, and in a few years had extended 
his connections all over Central Indiana. 
In 1893 he became one of the organizers 
of a wholesale produce commission busi- 
ness, and was vice president of the com- 
pany until March, 1902. 

At that date he acquired a very consid- 
erable interest in the American Central 
Life Insui-ance Company of Indianapolis, 
and was its secretary until he became its. 
president in 1905. His successor as pres- 
ident is his son Herbert M. Woollen. 

Milton A. Woollen was a republican, and 
his interest in civic affairs was largely ex- 
pressed through his membership in such 
organizations as the Board of Trade, which 
he served as president in 1908, the Com- 
mercial Club, and various charitable or- 
ganizations. He was a member of the Co- 
lumbia Club, the Marion Club, was a Scot- 
tish Rite Mason, and a member of the 
First Baptist Church. He married Miss 
Ida Baird, a native of Cincinnati but 
reared in Indianapolis. Their children 
were: Herbert M.. Elma, deceased, and 
Orin Woollen Smith. 

Herbert M. Woollen was born at In- 
dianapolis December 1, 1875. He grad- 
uated from the ]\Ianual Training High 
School, attended Purdue University through 
the Sophomore year, and in 1901 grad- 
uated as Bachelor of Science from the Uni- 
versity of Wisconsin. The following three 
years he spent in the Central College of 
Physicians and Surgeons and the Indiana 
^ledical College at Indianapolis from which 
latter college he graduated. His post grad- 
uate work was done in the New York 
Eye and Ear Infirmary and the New York 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Polyclinic. .Returning to Indianapolis, he 
was associated in practice for six years 
with his uncle, Dr. G. V. Woollen. At the 
same time he became connected with the 
Ear, Nose, and Throat Clinic and was a 
lecturer in the Department of Bacteriol- 
ogy in the Indiana Medical College. 

He served as a member of the Board of 
Managers of the medical section of the 
American Life Convention, composed of 
medical directors of insurance companies. 
In 1904 he became assistant medical di- 
rector of the American Central Life In- 
surance Company, subsequently was secre- 
tary of the company, and in 1912 became 
its president. He is a member of the As- 
sociation of Life Insurance Presidents. 

He is also president of the Sterling Mo- 
tor Car Company, a member of the Co- 
lumbia, Country, University, Woodstock, 
and Dramatic clubs, is a Scottish Rite Ma- 
son, and a member of the Phi Delta The'ta 
and Phi Rho Sigma fraternities. 

January 7, 1907, he married Miss Irma 
Wocher of Indianapolis, a graduate of Mrs. 
Hartman 's School for Women at New York 
City. Mrs. Woollen takes an active part 
in dramatic and musical affairs in Indian- 
apolis. 

George J. Marott began his independ- 
ent business career a little more than thir- 
ty-five years ago in Indianapolis with a 
capital that would hardly buy a single 
share of the stock in the various companies 
and organizations with which he is now 
actively identified. American people will 
never fail to admire success of this sub- 
stantial kind, especially when it has been 
achieved by the exertion of so much per- 
sonal ability and in so clean and public 
spirited a manner as is the case with Mr. 
Marott. The significance of his success is 
more than individual. Some of his asso- 
ciates who arc in a position to know say 
that Mr. Marott has done more for Indian- 
apolis within the last twenty years than 
anv other one citizen. 

The story of his career begins at Daven- 
try, Northamptonshire, England, Decem- 
ber 10, 1858. His family were of English 
ancestry' for generations back. His par- 
ents were George P. and Elizabeth (Webb) 
Marott. Their six children wei-e Eliza- 
beth, George, Ellen, Frederick Currlia, 
Joseph E., and Catherine. All these 
reached mature years except Frederick. 



George P. Marott was a boot and shoe man- 
ufacturer in England. In 1875 he came 
to the United States and established a re- 
tail shoe business at 16 North Pennsylvania 
Street in Indianapolis, and continued ia 
that line until his retirement in 1900. 

George J. Marott was educated in the 
common schools and was baptized in the 
Episcopal Church of Daventry, which vil- 
lage, also, was his birthplace. Before he 
was eleven years of age he was working in 
his father's shoe factory, and the only in- 
terruption to that employment was a year 
and a half which he subsequently spent in 
a grammar school at Northampton. For 
fully a half a century he has been identified 
with one or another branch of the shoe 
business. His bojhood was passed in a 
period when tecluiical education with its 
manual training courses and almost unlim- 
ited opportunities were unknown, and his 
vocational education consisted of a long 
and thorough apprenticeship at his fath- 
er's business. He mastered every detail. 
In 1875, in his seventeenth year, he came 
to America with his father and until 1884 
clerked in his father's shoe store at In- 
dianapolis. 

For several years his wages were ten 
dollars a week. He had in the meantime 
become impressed with the great truth that 
no man deserves success who does not save. 
He made a resolution to save five dollars a 
week out of his weekly salary, and at a 
cost of such self-denial as perhaps few 
readers can appreciate he succeeded in do- 
ing it, saving $260 the first year and by 
wise use of this capital increasing his ac- 
cumulation until at the end of the third 
year he had $1,000 in cash and two lots in 
Emporia, Kansas, which had cost him $100. 
Having reached this stage of comparative 
affluence he married, and used up all his 
capital in furnishing a home and buying a 
piano for his wife. His wage was still ten 
dollars a week, and his wife before mar- 
riage agreed to accept the situation. With 
all the added responsibilities of a family 
Mr. Marott still kept up his resolution to 
save something, but at the end of five years 
had only $167 in addition to the two lots 
in Kansas. With this capital he deter- 
mined to enter the retail shoe business. His 
resources consisted largely of confidence in 
himself, but he also had the training and 
all the qualifications of experience. If 
ever the old adage about great oaks grow- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



ing from small acorns was justified it is 
applicable to the Marott shoe business. The 
story of the founding of the enterprise is 
oi so much interest and has so much inspir- 
ation in it that the picturesque details may 
well be told in a few paragraphs taken 
from an article which recently appeared 
in "System,'' the magazine of business. 

"Marott showed his sovind business 
sense at the start in his choice of a loca- 
tion for his store. He selected a room in 
the verjr heart of the retail district of In- 
dianapolis. With the sum of $167 in his 
pocket he agreed to pay a rental of $1,800 
a year. Out of his capital Marott trans- 
ferred $150 to the landlord, one month's 
advance rent, but was allowed ten addi- 
tional days in which to clean up the rub- 
bish left hy his predecessor. His next step 
was to call upon ten jobbers and manufac- 
turers with whom he had become ac- 
quainted while working for his father. He 
proposed that each one should extend him 
a credit of $200 on the consideration that 
it would never exceed this amount. On 
the other hand the creditors were not to 
press him unduly but were to permit him 
to pay off the original indebtedness when 
he could. Marott had a. hard struggle 
with pessimistic jobbers. One pointed to the 
appalling failures which had occurred and 
was occurring in the shoe business in In- 
dianapolis, cited the case of the man who 
had failed in the very room ilarott had 
rented and hesitated so long that IMarott's 
heart sank. Nevertheless, this jobber and 
the other nine finally agreed to extend 
the credit Marott asked. 

"By good fortune Marott learned that 
the fixtures used by his predecessor were 
stored in a basement nearby. He imme- 
diately entered into negotiations for them. 
He found that he could buy the lot for 
twenty dollars, because the owner hap- 
pened to need the basement at once. New, 
they could not have been bought for five 
hundred dollars. To avoid confessing that 
he had no money, Marott suggested to the 
owner that some of the parts might be 
missing or damaged and asked if he would 
make a reduction for anything that might 
be lacking. The owner agreed to make an' 
allowance for anything that did not come 
up to the specifications. So Marott was 
able to have the shelving removed without 
confessing that he had no money with 
which to pay for it. 



"Next he applied for a loan of four hun- 
dred dollars on his household furniture. 
He needed a line of shoes to complete his 
stock which he could not buy in Indianap- 
olis and for this cash was required. He 
succeeded in securing two hundred dollars, 
for which he gave a chattel mortgage, and 
this with a few dollars left from his origi- 
nal capital, gave him two hundred and 
seventeen dollars. He took a train to Cin- 
cinnati. There he gave an order amount- 
ing to two hundred twenty-eight dollars. 
He had two hundred seventeen dollars, 
minus his railroad fare, with which to pay" 
it. He asked the jobbei-s consent to send 
a check for the balance when the goods 
arrived, which was granted. 

' ' Marott had selected his stock by twelve 
o'clock, but he had given the jobber his 
last nickel. He had eaten nothing since 
the night before. He had used all his) 
money in purchases of goods. It was mid- 
night when he reached home. He had not' 
eaten for thirty hours. But Marott prom- 
ised his stomach future rewards for the 
present sacrifice. He asked the Cincinnati 
jobber to ship his goods immediately. The 
carpenters were putting up the shelves in 
the store and he could not pay them until 
he had moved some stock. 

"When the shoes arrived the drayman 
paid the freight and presented the check 
to Marott. Having no money he asked the 
dra.vman to hold the check until some other 
goods arrived. The drayman obliged' him 
and asked no questions. 

"As soon as the shoes were in the store- 
room he plunged into them, verified the in- 
voice, and prepared to receive customers. 
Then he went into the highways and by- 
ways, detained his friends wherever he 
found them, as well as nearly everyone 
to whom he had sold shoes, and announced 
that he had opened a store. He solicited 
their immediate custom. In this way he 
sold enough shoes before the formal open- 
ing to pay the carpenters, the dray-man, 
and the owner of the shelving and sent a 
check to Cincinnati. 

"The organization when the store opened 
consisted of three persons: IVTarott's wife, 
M'arott himself and a boy. George Knodle. 
Thev sold eighty-four dollars worth of 
stock that dav, and closed a few minutes 
before midnight. The profits above all ex 
penses were eleven dollars, exactly one dol- 
lar more than Marott had ever earned for 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



a week's work. That night was almost 
the happiest of Marott's life. After clos- 
ing the store he bought three stogies for 
five cents, smoked until two o'clock and 
made plans. Some persons might have 
sent for a box of the best cigars on the 
mai'ket under the circumstances, but Ma- 
rott resolved to do without luxuries until 
he had really a firm foundation under 
him." 

This is sufficient to indicate the quality 
of courage and enterprise with which Mr. 
Marott entered the business. In every 
way he showed himself a progressive mer- 
chant. He was constantly introducing 
novelties, was seeking attention by unusual 
displays and unusual goods, and the re- 
sult was that the first year he cleared over 
$3,000. At the end of the fifth year it is 
said that he had made $25,000 clear of 
debt. Another significant thing that con- 
cerns his record is that during the first 
eight years he was in business downtown 
all his competitors in the shoe business 
there failed excepting two. But Marott's 
establishment continued to prosper and 
grow; and in 1890 he moved from his orig- 
inal location and in 1911 leased a seven- 
story building for twenty-five years at a 
rental of $20,000, and this is tlie home of 
one of the greatest shoe stores in the 
United States. In fact it has so long been 
a prosperous concern that most Indianap- 
olis citizens have forgotten that it was ever 
a small and unpretentious store. 

This business, big as it is, is only one of 
varied interests which look to Mr. Marott 's 
business ability and judgment for guidance 
and direction. More than any other local 
man he carried responsibilities that in- 
sured the successful organization and es- 
tablishment of the Citizens Gas Company. 
In fact he was the real father of that ei>- 
terprise and dictated its franchise. He 
spent thousands of dollars of his own 
money in bringing about the organization, 
in fighting the opposition, in educatingi 
public opinion and securing popular sup- 
port and finally with his selected associates; 
obtained popular subscription to the cap- 
ital stock. The people of Indianapolis 
felt a great deal of pride and satisfaction 
when thev secured gas at 60 cents per 1,000. 
whereas before they had paid 90 cents, and 
all who were well informed paid their re- 
spects and gratitude to Mr. Marott. 

For many years he has also been active 



in street railway and interurban railway 
development. In 1890 he became owner 
of the street railway system of Logansport. 
becoming president of the company. He 
sold that property in 1902. Mr. Marott 
built the road of the Kokomo, Rlarion & 
Western Traction Company, now known as 
the Indiana Railways & Light Company, 
and is president and principal owner of the 
stock. This company owns and operates 
the electric line between Kokomo and Ma- 
rion and Kokomo and Frankfort, and also 
the street ear system and electric light 
plant of Kokomo, including the heating 
s.ystem of Kokomo. This company oper- 
ates the lighting plants of more than 
twenty small towns in that part of the 
state. 

Mr. Marott has many other important 
business interests, including much valuable 
real estate and an active connection with 
various industrial and business enterprises. 
A number of 3'ears ago he acquired the 
ownership of the old Enterprise Hotel on 
Massachusetts Avenue, an early landmark 
of the city erected in 1870. He pulled 
down the hotel building, and in 1906 
erected a structure with every arrangement 
and facility for the use and purpose of a 
modern department store. Owing to the 
panic of 1907 the building was unoccupied 
until 1908, when he organized the Marott 
Department Store Company, one of the 
largest concerns of the kind in Indiana. 

Witli such brevity of statement concern- 
ing Mr. Marott's career it is possiljle thati 
a .just appreciation of his position and in- 
fluence in Indianapolis and Indiana may 
be lacking. However, it is possible to 
quote from two unimpeachable sources of 
testimony to his life of effectiveness and 
public spirit that will serve to supplement 
what has been told so briefly in the pre- 
ceding paragraphs. 

The following are the words written a 
few years ago by Volney T. Malott, presi- 
dent of the Indiana National Bank: 
'"George J. Marott is one of the leading 
business men of Indianapolis, and throu2h 
his active ability and foresight has placcl 
himself in the foremost ranks of the mer- 
chants of the Middle West. Started with 
meager beginnings, he has by the strict ob- 
servance of good business principles accu- 
mulated a large fortune. His operations 
have not been entirely confined to mercan- 
tile pursuits, for he has been a heavy in- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2089 



vestor in real estate and in public utilities 
within the state." 

More of his personal character is revealed 
in what was said of him by the veteran In- 
dianapolis editor and financier John H. 
Holliday. In Mr. HoUidaj-'s words, 
"George J. Marott is one of our successful 
men and owes that success to his persistent 
energy, good judgment and close adher- 
ence to business principles and methods. 
As a merchant he has taken a comprehen- 
sive view of modern conditions and 
adapted his business accordingl.y. As an 
investor and promoter of enterprises he has 
been shrewd and daring, yet at the same, 
time conservative, putting money only in, 
such things as promised well in the future 
and managing those concerns with extreme 
care and efficiency. He always calculates 
the cost, never goes beyond his depth, and 
makes no engagements that he does not 
keep." 

Mr. ilarott was always a staunch demo- 
crat until quite recently, but with no par- 
ticipation in party affairs beyond lending 
his influence and encouragement to good 
government policies. He is a member of 
no denominational religion and is in thor- 
ough accord with the spirit and practice of 
JIasoiiry, in which he holds the thirty-sec- 
ond degree of Scottish Rite and is a mem- 
ber of the Mystic Shrine. November 27, 
1879. he married Miss Ella Meek, daugh- 
ter of Jesse and Nancy Meek. Her father 
pufl mother were pioneers of Richmond, 
Indiana, and her father was for many years 
an active business man of Richmond. 

Edw.\rd R. Dye. Though his home and 
many of his business interests are still rep- 
resented in White County, where the Dye 
family have been prominent for many 
years. Edward R. Dye is an almost daily 
attendant at his offices in the Traction and 
Terminal Building at Indianapolis, and 
from that point directs one of the leading 
coal production firms of the state. 

Mr. Dye was born in West Virginia Oc- 
tober 31. 1861, a son of James W. and 
Nancy (Tavlor) Dye. His father was also 
a native of West Virginia, and the paternal 
ancestry goes back to Scotland. George 
Dve. grandfather of Edward R., was in 
his day a stock raiser and feeder for the 
export trade. He lived in a southern state 
and owned his slaves, but after thev were 
freed several of them remained faithful to 



their master and refused to leave his home. 
He died in the early '80s. In his family 
were seven sons and four daughters, and 
two of the sons are still living. James W. 
Dj-e was educated in the common schools of 
West Virginia, and in 1866 located in 
White County, Indiana, where he became 
prominent as a farmer and stock dealer. 
He died in 1904. He was a member of the 
Baptist Church. 

Edward R. Dye is the oldest of three 
sons. He was reared and educated in, 
White County, and in 1897 engaged in the 
lumber business at Wolcott in that county. 
About five years before the death of his, 
father he and his brothei-s bought the lum- 
ber business which was conducted under 
the name of J. W. Dye & Sons and rein- 
corporated the company. Since then they 
have established branches and yards in a 
number of Indiana towns, and Mr. Edwapd 
R. Dye is still a member of the firm. 

In 1901 he entered the coal industry, 
taking charge of the Indianapolis office of 
the United Fourth Vein Coal Company in 
December, 1905. In 191.3 he become pres- 
ident, general manager and treasurer of 
the company. This company owns valua- 
ble mines in Greene County, located in the 
Linton district and at -jasonville. The 
mines are now producing capacity tonnage. 
The coal from these mines is especially 
adapted to domestic and manufacturing 
purposes because of its low percentage of 
sulphur. It is also extensively used in 
c'av products manufacture. 

On September 28, 1881, Mr. Dye married 
Miss ^laud Britton, daughter of James and 
Anna fGill) Britton of Newark, Ohio. Mr. 
Dve and family reside at Monticello, In- 
diana. They have two daughters, Lula E. 
and Edna A. Lula is the wife of J. R. 
Gardner and Edna is the wife of E. L. 
Gardner. E. L. Gardner is a major in the 
Anny Reserve Corps at Camp Lee, Vir- 
ginia. J. R. Gardner is associated with 
IMr. Dye under the firm name of Dye & 
Gardner, general hardware, automobiles 
anri accessories. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dve are members of the 
Christian Science Church. He is a demo- 
crat in politics and is a Royal Arch JIason 
and Shriner. 

Charles J. W.vrKFR, who was born in 
Indianapolis April 6. 1880, has proved 
himself so keenly alive to his opportunities 



2090 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



and has made such vigorous and effective 
use of them and of his own talents and 
abilities that today he ranks as one of the 
principal general contractors in the city, 
with general offices in the Chamber of 
Commerce Building and with a splendid 
organization representing a large amount 
of capital, machinery and tools, and an 
organization of expert men capable of han- 
dling almost any contract in the building 
line. 

Mr. Wacker was born at the old home 
of his parents in North Indianapolis on 
Thirtieth Street. His father is August 
Wacker, who has for many years been en- 
gaged in developing and building up In- 
dianapolis and has specialized in construct- 
ing homes on property owned by him, sell- 
ing the finished improvement. Charles J. 
Wacker spent the first fifteen years of his 
life at his father's country residence or 
farm in what is now Riverside Park. The 
next three years he was learning a trade 
in a blacksmith shop in Haughville, and 
became a very proficient and expert black- 
smith and horseshoer. He abandoned the 
trade to go to work for his father in build- 
ing homes. He made a close study of 
building operations, and had opportunity 
to perfect his abilities during such work 
as excavating for foundations, laying ce- 
ment sidewalks or walls for houses, and 
gradually his experience enabled him to 
take larger and more important contracts 
and develop into the general contracting 
business. 

His first real contract was for the con- 
struction of the Shelter House at Riverside 
Park. He then built a Shelter House at 
Military Park, and from that his program 
of work has been constantly varied and 
has assumed almost enormous proportions. 
Among more extensive contracts handled 
by him should be mentioned the following: 
The T. B. Laycock plant; additions to the 
Parry manufacturing plant; excavation 
for the Meridian Street Church; drop 
forge works ; St. Vincent 's Hospital ; ad- 
dition to the Methodist Hospital; Castle 
Hall on Ohio Street; part of the Indiana 
News Building on North Senate Avenue; 
J. B. Bright wholesale cofi^ee house; Oaks 
Manufacturing Company plant on Roose- 
velt Avenue ; Polk Jlilk Company garage ; 
City Baking Company plant at Sixteenth 
and Bellefontaine ; Indianapolis Baking 
Company on Vermont Street; Wabash 



Packing Company plant on Dakota and 
Ray ; Oliver Chilled Plow Works warehouse 
at Donalson and Norwood ; Meridian 
Hotel ; Judah Peckham Building on North 
Capitol ; Memorial Fountain at University 
Park ; Indianapolis Heat & Light Build- 
ing on Kentucky Avenue ; Terre Haute 
Theater at Eighth and Main. A some- 
what unusual contract now in process of 
fulfillment is the construction of a huge 
Dutch windmill, built almost entirely out 
of concrete, located at Miami, Florida, and 
owned by Carl Fischer. 

As this brief record of business shows 
Mr. Wacker is a thoroughly progressive 
man of extraordinary energy and of un- 
usual business equipment. He is one of 
the prominent members of the Builders 
& Contratcors Association of Indian- 
apolis, and is a member of the Canoe Club 
and the Turnverein. 

Edwin W. Keightley was born in Van- 
Buren County, Indiana, in 1843. He be- 
gan the practice of law in St. Joseph 
County, Slichigan, and was elected as a 
representative to the Forty-fifth Congress. 
After retiring from office he resumed the 
practice of law in Constantine, Michigan. 

Charles B. Mann is one of the live and 
enterprising business men of Anderson, 
proprietor of the Charles B. Mann Com- 
pany, operating a high class musical mer- 
chandise store on Meridian Street between 
Ninth and Tenth Streets. He has the ex- 
clusive agency in Madison County of the 
Baldwin Piano Company. 

He is a son of Louis C. and Martha 
(Brown) Mann of Floyd County, Indiana, 
where Charles B. Mann was born on a farm 
in 1874. He is of English ancestry, and 
some of his forefathers came to this coun- 
try about the time of the Mayflower. 

As a boy Mr. Mann had the advantages 
of the public schools of New Albany, In- 
diana, and he also attended DePauw Col- 
lege at New Albany. After leaving college 
he went to work helping his father in a dry 
goods store, and with the advantage of ex- 
perience and a modest capital he soon 
started a business of his own, which he 
conducted quite profitably for a time. He 
next engaged in the grocery trade for two 
years. 

About this period he married Miss Julia 
'Connell, daughter of William and Ellen 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2091 



O'Connell of Louisville, Kentucky. After 
liis marriage Mr. Mann was employed for 
two years as an instructor of boxing and 
general athletics at Purdue University. He 
has always been an athlete and has kept 
up a live interest in this subject even to 
the present time. For two years Mr. Mann 
was located at Louisville, Kentucky, as 
local agent for the Metropolitan Insurance 
Company, but in February, 1917, removed 
to Anderson and established his own music 
house, obtaining the ^Madison County 
agency of the Baldwin Company. He de- 
veloped the business so rapidly that at the 
end of six months he had to move his store 
to larger quarters. Mr. Mann is a member 
of the First Presbyterian Church of An- 
derson and in politics is independent. 

John B. Neu, now living in Indianapolis 
])ractically retired from active business 
pursuits, is deserving of especial mention 
among the older citizens of Indiana. His 
business career has been honorable, his par- 
ticipation as an American of foreign birth 
is creditable, particularly his service as a 
Union soldier, and in all the relationships 
of a long life he has proved himself worthy. 

Born in Germany, he came to America 
when a boy, and with the firm resolution to 
make this country his home. He learned 
the language and customs of the people, 
and then put his loyalty to test by volun- 
teering as a soldier in the Union army. 
After the war he learned the chair maker's 
trade, and about 1880 engaged in this line 
of business for himself as a manufacturer 
at Indianapolis. His business affairs pros- 
pered and his plant grew with himself in 
active charge. About 1906 he turned over 
the business to his two sons, and is now re- 
tired. The business is now operated under 
the name J. B. Neu's Sons. 

Mr. Neil has never taken any active part 
in politics except to vote for principles and 
me'isures rather than according to the dic- 
tates of a party creed. He is a member 
of the Catholic Church. 

He married Catherine Wentz. The nine 
children constituting their family are : 
William J. ; Catharine ; Lena and Margaret, 
both deceased; Clara; Annie, deceased:, 
Laura; Ida, Mrs. Edward N. Messick; and 
Frank J. The mother of these children 
died June 10, 1896. 

.Mr. Neu's love for his adopted laud is 
unquestioned. His honorable methods of 



business have commended him to all, and 
it is with a great wealth of esteem th;1t he 
is passing his declining years in his home 
city of Indianapolis. 

Henry Herbert Thomas, president of, 
the First National Bank of Frankfort, has 
for many years been a conspicuous factor 
in the business and public life of Clinton 
and Tipton counties. He is a successful 
man who started life as a poor orphan boy 
with nothing but his two hands to help 
him in the struggle, and it is seldom given 
to man to make better and wiser use of 
his opportunities than Mr. Thomas has 
done. 

He was born on a farm in Tipton 
County, Indiana, August 18, 1848, son of 
Minar L. and C.ynthia (Jeffrey) Thomas. 
His grandparents, David L. and Phoebe 
Thomas, came from New York State, where 
their son Minar L. was bom in 1816, and 
were among the earliest settlers of Fa.yette 
County, Indiana, where for a number of 
years they put up with and endured the 
hardships and difficult circumstances o^ 
pioneering. David L. Thomas died in 1862 
and his wife in 1858. Minar L. Thomas 
at the beginning of the Civil war was run- 
ning a saw and grist mill at Windfall, In- 
diana. In the spring of 1862 he left this 
business to volunteer as orderly sergeant, 
afterward being made fii'st lieutenant in 
Compan.y F of the Fifty-Fourth Indiana 
Infantry. He was almost immediately in- 
ducted into the great campaigns of the Mis- 
sissippi Valley, was at the siege of Vicks- 
burg, and after the fall of that city he 
was stricken with the dreaded scourge of 
diarrhea, which carried awaj' so many 
brave, boys of the Union. He was finally 
sent home, having barely sufficient strength 
to reach Tipton County, and he died three 
days after his arrival. His wife had passed 
awav in 1859. 

Henry Herbert Thomas was eleven years 
old when his mother died and was still a 
boy when his soldier father passed away. 
Such early educational opportunities as 
he had were confined to the district schools. 
At the age of seventeen he took up the 
serious problem of earning his own living. 
He did farm work, also was employed as a 
teamster, and really introdxiccd himself to 
a business career as a dealer in livestock. 
He was remarkably successful in this field 
and continued it for about fifteen years. 



2092 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



From 1876 until 1887 he was associated 
with' J. H. Fear. Later for manj' years he 
was engaged in the wholesale produce busi- 
ness. 

His fellow citizens in Tipton County 
early recognized his qualifications as a jaub- 
lie man as well as a good business man 
and in 1886 elected him county clerk. He 
was elected on the republican ticket over a 
strong democratic majority, being one of 
the few members of Jiis party chosen for 
office that year. During the next two years 
he gave all his time to his office, but in 
1888 resumed his place in the produce busi- 
ness with J. H. Fear. In 1907 Mr. Thomas 
sold his interests in the produce business 
and soon afterwards removed to Frank- 
fort. 

In 1901 another political honor came to 
him when he was elected joint representa- 
tive of Tipton and Clinton counties. This 
time also he ran far ahead of his ticket. 
In 1910 he was chosen councilman at large 
in Frankfort, but resigned after two yeai-s. 
Mr. Thomas has long been identified with 
the First National Bank of Frankfort as a 
stockholder and director, and in 1914 his 
fellow directors elected him president of 
the bank. This is one of the largest and 
strongest banks in Clinton County. Mr. • 
Thomas is a stockholder in the Franklin 
Loan and Trust Company and the Frank- 
fort Heating Company, and is the owner 
of extensive farms in Montgomery and 
Howard counties. 

Fraternally he is affiliated with the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
He is still active in the republican ranks, 
and attends the IMethodist Episcopal 
Church. In 1878 he married Miss Hen- 
rietta Free, daughter of Randolph Free of 
Alexandria, Indiana. 

Osc.^R C. Bradford is one of the business 
riflti pud merchants of Marion, and in the 
past fourteen years has developed a hard- 
ware and implement enterprise which fur- 
nishes supplies all over Grant County. 

He represents the largest family in 
Grant County, and they have reeo'-d of 
more than seventy years residence. He is 
a great-grandson of John Bradford, a na- 
tive of England, who on coming to this 
country located in Western Virginia, in 
Hardy County, in what is now Grant 
County, West Virginia. It was in the pres- 
ent State of West Virginia that George 



Bradford, a son of John, was born in 1783. 
George Bradford lived in the hills of Vir- 
ginia until past middle age. In the early 
'40s he bought some land in Grant Countj^ 
and in 1843 established his family there. 
He died twelve years later, in 1855. His 
first wife was Mary Stingley, and they had 
four sons, Leonard, John, George and Dan- 
iel. For his second wife he married Eliza- 
beth Schell, also a native of Virginia and 
of German ancestry. She became the 
mother of sixteen children, named Rachel, 
Isaac, Henry, Moses, Casper, Joseph, Wil- 
liam R., Catherine, Rebecca, Mary J., Eliza- 
beth Ann, Jesse T., and Noah and thi;ee 
others who died in infancy. 

Jesse T. Bradford, father of the Marion 
merchant, was born in West Virginia Jan- 
uary 20, 1836, and was seven years old 
when the family came to Grant County. 
Living at a time when he did his educa- 
tional advantages were meager. He at- 
tended only sixty-five days in the common 
schools each year. He also attended the 
Indiana Normal School at Marion, Indiana, 
for eight weeks. At the age of twenty-five 
he moved from the home place to a farm 
in section 15 of Washington Township, and 
occupied that place and was busy with its 
cultivation and management for forty- 
seven years. In 1906 he retired to Marion 
and became actively identified with the 
l^ardware business with his sons. During 
his early adult life he was a stanch repub- 
lican, but later gave his principal support 
to the prohibition party. November 4, 
1860, he married Lucy J. Gaines, who died 
March 5. 1874, the mother of four sons. 
On April 11, 1876, he married Angeline 
Silvers, and they became the parents of five 
children. Jesse Bradford died January 29, 
1919. 

Oscar C. Bradford, son of Jesse T. and 
Lucy J. (Gaines) Bradford, was born in 
Washington Township of Grant County, 
December 18, 1869. Reared in a rural en- 
vironment, he attended the common schools, 
spent one year in DePauw University atl 
Grcencastle, and finished a commercial 
course in tlie Indianapolis Business Col- 
lege in 1896. He also attended the Marion 
Normal College during the summer terms, 
and was a successful teacher from 1890 to 
1900. 

He entered business in 1900 as book- 
keener with a hardware firm at Warren, 
Indiana, and subsequently was secretary- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2093 



treasurer of the Warren Machine Company 
and one of its directors. This eompanj' 
manufactured oil well machinery and did 
a large general shop and repair business. 
In 1904 Mr. Bradford withdrew to give 
all his time to the hardware and implement 
liusiness in which he became associated with 
his father and brother. Their store has 
grown and prospered and is the medium 
through which a large share of the tools 
and other supplies are distributed through 
the City of Marion and the adjoining agri- 
cultural districts. 

For a number of years Mr. Bradford 
has been regarded as one of the most in- 
fluential democrats of Grant County. He* 
was chairman of the Democratic Central 
Committee of the county in the campaign 
of 1912, and as a result of that campaign 
the county returned a large vote to Presi- 
dent Wilson and effected a complete change 
in the personnel of the county otifices. In 
1908 he was elected a trustee of Washing- 
ton Township. He resigned the office of 
trustee in June, 1914, to accept the post- 
mastership of Marion, Indiana. 

•Tune 17, 1899, Mr. Bradford married 
Ethel O. Stevens, who was born in Pleas- 
ant Township of Grant County, daughter 
of Harrison and Sarah (Beach) Stevens. 
Four children have been born to their 
union : Ruth 'SI., Doris A., George R. and 
Sarah Elizabeth. Doris died in 1906, at 
the ago of five vears. Sarah Elizabeth was 
born June 2", 1918. 

Orville 0. C.\RPENTER. In that group 
of men which has succeeded in bringing 
Newcastle to a front rank among Indiana 
cities there has been no more loyal and 
diligent factor in promoting every line of 
enterprise than Orville 0. Carpenter, as- 
sistant cashier of the Farmers National 
Bank. 

^Ir. Carpenter has been identified with 
Henry County's life and affairs for about 
twentj' years. He was born on a farm four 
miles west of Fairmont, Grant County, 
Indiana, in 1875, son of Lewis H. and 
Margaret L. (Black) Carpenter. Several 
generations ago three English brothers 
e.ime to this country and established the 
Carpenter family. The grandfather. Wal- 
ker Carpenter, came West from New Jer- 
sey. Lewis H. Carpenter moved from Bel- 
mont County. Ohio, to Grant County. In- 
diana, in 1868, and developed a good farm 



not fir from Fairmont. Selling out there 
in 1878, he moved to Henry County, near 
Newcastle, where he now lives. 

Orville 0. Carpenter attended public 
schools in Henry County, is a graduate of 
the Newcastle High School, and subse- 
quently spent one year in the State Normal 
at Tcrre Haute and one year in an In- 
dianapolis business college." In July, 1899, 
returning to Newcastle, he and Howard S. 
Henley established a hardware business on 
East Broad Street. The firm of Carpenter 
& Henley continued 5i/o years, at the end 
of which time Mr. Carpenter bought out 
his partner and conducted it as the Car- 
nenter Hardware Company for 31/0 years 
longer. He sold his business largely for 
the purpose of spending two winters in 
Florida to benefit his daughter's health. In 
the meantime he engaged in the real estate 
business, and has been extensively handling 
farms and farm loans as a broker and on 
his own account. In 1915 he bought a 
b^ock of stock in and accepted the addi- 
tional responsibilities of his present post 
as assistant cashier of the Farmers Na- 
tional Bank. 

]\Ir. Carpenter owns a half interest in 
500 acres of Indiana farm land, and 
through his land holdings has done much 
to stimulate the production of Chester 
White hogs and Polled Ansus cattle. His 
name is associated with many other of the 
live interests of the city. 

He is a member of the Country Club, is 
a republican, is a Mason, a member of 
Murat Temple of the Mystic Shrine at In- 
dianapolis, the Knights of Pythias, the Red 
Men and the ^Methodist Church. In 1S99 
he married Miss Myrtle Hewitt, daughter 
of George and Martha (Koons) Hewitt of 
Newcastle. Four children were born to 
their marriage : Margaret : Marv. who was 
born in 1903 and died in 1912:'Hewitt L., 
born in 1908 ; and Orville 0., Jr., born in 
1910. 

Stu-\rt Brown is one of that growing 
fraternity of automobile salesmen in In- 
diana, and is a member of the firm Gault 
& Brown, who represent "Dodge Cars and 
Dodge Service" over Madison County. 
They have the county agency for the Dodge 
Brothers cars, and have done much to in- 
sure the proper prestige for this type of 
automobile in that part of the state. 

^Ir. Brown was born at Indianapolis 



2094 



INDIANA AND INDTANANS 



September 16, 1888, son of Henry and 
Pearl (Brumle.y) Brown. He is of Scotch 
ancestry. The Brown family were pio- 
neers at Indianapolis, locating there even 
before the state capital was moved to that 
locality. His g^reat-grandfather, Oliver P. 
Brown, was a pioneer, coming from Xenia, 
Ohio, to Indianapolis in 1818. He was one 
of the pioneer merchants of Indianapolis, 
with a store on East Washington Street, 
and lived there the rest of his life. Henry 
Brown, father of Stuart Brown, is now a 
farmer and fruit grower at Walla Walla, 
Washington. The mother died in 1912. 
Of the two sons the other one, Ira, lives 
with his father. 

Stuart Brown was reared and educated 
in Indianapolis and for 31/2 years attended 
the Manual Training School of that city, 
getting a thorough practice in shop and 
mechanical work. At the age of sixteen he 
entered Vorhees Business College and spent 
one year in that institution. After this 
commercial training Mr. Brown went to 
work in the offices of the Cincinnati, Ham- 
ilton & Dayton Railway as stenographer 
and bookkeeper. A year later he went to 
St. Louis and was stenographer in the 
offices of the Burlington Railroad for two 
years. In 1907, when he located at Ander- 
son, he became bookkeeper and stenog- 
rapher for the Union Grain & Feed Com- 
panj'. He was with that organization for 
nine years, and much of the time was its 
traveling representative. 

Attracted into automobile work, Mr. 
Brown showed his quality as a salesman 
with the Waddell Buick Company, and for 
eight months made an energetic campaign 
all over Madison County selling the Buick 
cars. He then formed a partnership with 
Mr. Zuriel Gault, under the name Gault 
& Brown, and established the Madison 
County agency for the Dodge cars. Their 
location is 921-931 Central Avenue, where 
they have a splendid salesroom, and also 
shop and other facilities with a perfect 
service for the Dodge cars. They also con- 
duct three branches in Madison County, 
one at Elwood, one at Alexandria and 
one at Summitville. 

ilr. Brown has aeouired various inter- 
ests at Anderson, and is a man of affairs 
in the countv. He is affiliated with the 
Knights of Pythias, having been through 
all the chairs, and is a member of the 
United Commercial Travelers. He is a 



Presbyterian and a democratic voter. At 
St. Louis, Missouri, in 1908, he married 
Florence May Bell, daughter of Francis M. 
and Sarah (Hann) Bell. They have one 
daughter. Donna, born in 1910. 

John Henry Vajen. It was a remark- 
able life that came to a close with the 
death of John Henry Vajen at Indian- 
apolis on May 28, 1917. It was remarkable 
not only for its length and its association 
with so many changing eras of national 
progress, but also for its individual 
achievements and influences that are woven 
into the business and civic structure of In- 
dianapolis. He was a young and prosper- 
ing business man during those momentous 
da.ys when America was girding itself for 
the struggle over the Union and slavery. 
He lived through the prosperous half cen- 
tury that followed, marking an era of ma- 
terial development such as the world has 
never seen, and his life came to an end 
after war's fury had again loosed itself 
upon the world and had even drawn the 
land of his adoption into an ever widening 
conflict. 

The life that came to a close at the age 
of eighty-nine had its beginning at Bre- 
men, Hanover, Germany, March 19, 1828, 
under the English Flag. He was a son of 
John Henry and Anna Margaretha 
(Woernke) Vajen. He came of a long line 
of Lutheran clergymen and educators. 
His father was a professor in the Univer- 
sity of Stade in Hanover. In 1836, when 
John H., Jr., was eight years old, the fam- 
ily sought a home in America, locating in 
Baltimore, where the father spent a year 
as a teacher. He was a man of unusual 
talents and was a musician as well as a 
teacher and preacher. From Baltimore the 
family moved to Cincinnati, and then in 
1839 John H. Vajen, Sr., with several other 
families bought land in Jackson County, 
Indiana, near Seymour, and organized a 
colony of German Lutherans. 

The late John Henry Vajen was eleven 
years of age when brought to Indiana. He 
spent most of his youth on a farm, and his 
studies were largely directed with a view 
to his entering the ministry. In 1845 his 
father died, and that turned his activities 
into an entirely new channel. He was then 
seventeen years of age, and he soon left 
home to seek employment in Cincinnati. 
As clerk in a large wholesale and retail 





//(^..^ ) 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2095 



hardware store he made such good use of 
his opportunities and became so indispens- 
able to the tirm that in 1848 he was given 
an interest therein. 

In 1850 Mr. Vajen married and the fol- 
lowing year severed his interest with the 
Cincinnati firm and came to Indianapolis. 
In this city he opened a wholesale and 
retail hardware store on East "Washington 
Street, and in 1856, to better accommo- 
date his growing trade, he erected what 
was then one of the modern buildings of 
the downtown district, a four-story struct- 
ure at 21 West Washington Street. J. S. 
Hildebrand and J. L. Pugate became asso- 
ciated with him. In 1871 Mr. Vajen re- 
tired from the hardware business, selling 
his interest to his partners, and for more 
than forty years he was busied only with 
his private affairs. He had a summer home 
at Lake Maxincuekee, Indiana, and spent 
many weeks each year there, enjoying his 
favorite sport of fishing. He also invested 
heavily in local real estate, and at the time 
of his death was a wealthy man. 

In 1861, when the Civil war broke out. 
Governor ^Morton appointed Mr. Vajen 
quartermaster general of the state. It be- 
came his duty in this capacity to form all 
the plans with regard to the equipment of 
the first contingent of Indiana troops. He 
carried out this work with such energy and 
vigor that the Indiana troops were the first 
well equipped forces in the field, and that 
fact has alwRys redounded to Indiana's 
credit in the history of that great struggle. 
Much of the early enuipment for these vol- 
unteers was obtained largely through Mr. 
Vajen 's personal credit. He became known 
as the "right hand man" of Governor Mor- 
ton, and at the present time his efforts 
as an organizer can perhaps be better ap- 
preciated than at any previous date. . 

Mr. Vajen 's active life was contem- 
poraneous with the life of Indianapolis. 
He saw it grow from a struggling village 
of a thousand inhabitants to a large com- 
mercial city. He was prominently iden- 
tified with practically all the early charities 
and enterprises of the city. In 186-1 he 
assisted in tlie organization of the bank- 
insr house of Fletcher, Vajen & Company, 
which was merged into the Fourth National 
Bank and afterward became the Citizens 
National Bank. Mr. Vajen was a director 
and stockholder in this institution until it 
surrendered its charter. 



At the time of his death he was the only 
surviving one of the original incorporators 
of the Crown Hill Cemetery Association, 
and gave substantially to public and pri- 
vate charities of all kinds. He was a Mason 
and Odd Fellow, a member of the Presby- 
terian Church and a very ardent republi- 
can, though not in politics save as a voter. 
Throughout his long life he was a fine 
example of the man devoted to plain living 
and high thinking, and one whose chief 
delight was in the simple things of the 
world. 

In 1850 Mr. Vajen married ;\Iiss Alice 
Fugate, daughter of Thomas F. and Eliza- 
beth (Eckert) Fugate. Mrs. Vajen died 
in 1901. Seven children were born to 
them: Willis, who died in 1899; Frank 
L. ; John, who died in 1885 ; Fannie, wife 
of Charles S. Voorhees, a son of Senator 
Voorhees; Alice, wife of Henry Lane Wil- 
son : Charles T. ; and Mrs. Caroline Vajen 
Collins. Mr. Vajen was also survived by 
seven grandchildren and three great-grand- 
children. 

George G. Dunn, an Indiana congress- 
man of the early days, began the practice 
of law in Bedford. Indiana. He was 
elected as a whig to the Thirtieth Congress, 
and as a republican was a member of the 
Thirty-fourth Congress. Mr. Duini died at 
Bedford, Indiana, in 1857. 

William Levi Abbott. Success in busi- 
ness is largely a matter of connecting good 
work and service into a chain in which 
every successive link is a little larger and 
stronger than the one preceding, all of 
them constituting the substantial achieve- 
ments of a career. This has been the ex- 
perience of William Levi Abbott of Elwood, 
who has been steadily lengthening out his 
chain since be obtained his first opportun- 
ity to prove his ability in mechanical lines 
more than a quarter of a century ago. 

Mr. Abbott is sole proprietor of the El- 
wood house of W. L. Abbott, agency for 
Ford cars, garage accessories and fueling 
station. He was born at Sulphur Springs 
in Hcnrv Countv, Indiana. :\Iarch 22, 1873, 
son of George W. and Rebecca Ann (Fes- 
ler) Abbott. The Abbotts were of English 
stock, and the first of tlie family was 
George W. Abbott, who came in colonial 
times from England and settled in Mary- 
land. The records of the family disclose 



2096 



INDIANA AND INDIANAN« 



that most of the male members have been 
either merchants or farmers. 

William L. Abbott attended his first 
school in the country of White County, 
Illinois. His parents had moved to that 
locality from Indiana. In order to get 
to school he had to walk four miles through 
the woods, and the school was held in a 
log building. When he was seven years 
old the family returned to Indiana and lo- 
cated south of Dundee in Madison County 
on the old Fesler farm. The Feslers are 
a family of German origin. Here George 
W. Abbott managed the farm, while his, 
son William L. attended the Branick 
schoolhouse for two years. The family next 
moved to the vicinity of Alexandria, where 
the boy furthered his education by three 
years in the King schoolhouse. Then they 
went back to Dundee, and he was again a 
pupil in the Branick schoolhouse until he 
was about the age of fifteen. For another 
year he lived with his grandfather. David 
Fesler, and attended King school. All this 
time his school work -was done during the 
winter, while in the summer he worked on 
farms. In 1890 Mr. Abbott entered Pur- 
due University at Lafayette, Indiana, with 
the intention of pursuing a course and per- 
fecting himself in electrical and mechanical 
engineering. The first year he was able 
to attend six months and the second year 
only five months before his money run 
out. However, the schooling was valuable 
to him and on returning to Elwood he 
found employment in the machine shops of 
the Shively business which occupied the site 
now held by Crane's Grand Opera House. 
This work gave him much knowledge of 
electrical and mechanical engineering. 
Three years after that he was foreman in 
the machine shops of the Pittsburg Plate 
Glass Company at Elwood. His ambition 
was to get into business for himself, and 
taking the modest capital he had accumu- 
lated and in association with his father 
and brother he opened the feed mill known 
as the Abbott ]\Iill. This institution did 
grinding and offered a valuable service to 
the public for many years and was both a 
flour and feed mill. In the fall of 1916 
IMr. Abbott closed out the business. Since 
1912 he has been one of the principal deal- 
ers in Ford automobiles in this section of 
Indiana. He has the agency for Pipe 
Creek and Duck Creek townships, half of 
Boone Township in IMadison County, and 



half of Madison Township in Tipton 
County. He has done a big business in 
these popular cars, and has built up two 
establishments at Elwood for service and 
garage purposes, one at 1514 North B 
Street, a building 130 by 90 feet, and an- 
other 34 by 84 feet at 234 North Sixteenth 
Street. Mr. Abbott also has various other 
interests in local companies and banks. 

In 1893 he married Miss Ida F. Myerly, 
daughter of John Henry Myerly of Elwood. 
Mr. Abbott has also been active in local 
politics and is a republican. For six years 
he represented the Second Ward in the 
City Council. He has filled all the chairs 
except that of noble grand in the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows at Elwood and 
is a member of the Knights of Pythias, 
the Improved Order of Red Men and the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
His religious faith is that expressed by the 
Christian Church. 

William J. Reavis, M. D., has been a 
member of the medical fraternity at Evans- 
ville for over thirty years. He has served 
the community in the capacity of an able 
and conscientious physician and surgeon, 
and so far as his duties have permitted has 
allied himself with every worthy^movement 
in civic affairs. 

Doctor Reavis was born on a farm in 
Center Township of Gibson County, In- 
diana, September 7, 1853, a son of James 
Reavis, who was born in the same township 
in 1829, and a grandson of William and 
Catherine (Hensley) Reavis. Gile R. Stor- 
ment's history of Gibson County gives the 
following account of the grandfather : "In 
1817 William Reavis married Catherine 
Hensley, and soon after that event they 
made a long and tedious trip to this county 
on pack horses and settled near the present 
site of Francisco, about a mile southwest 
and in the timber, where he erected a log 
cabin and cleared a tract of land and by 
industi'y made them a fine farm." William 
Reavis was, it is thought, a native of one 
of the Carolinas. He died in 1855 and his 
widow two years later. His brothers Isom 
and Daniel followed him to Gibson County 
in 1818. His two sons served in the Union 
army as members of the Forty-Second Regi- 
ment of Indiana Volunteers. 

James Reavis was reared on a farm, and 
at the time of his marriage began house- 
keeping in a log cabin. There was no stove. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2097 



and his wife did the cooking by the open 
fire. She was also an adept in those house- 
wifely arts of carding, spinning and weav- 
ing, and dressed all her family in home- 
spun. In 1861 James Reavis and his only 
brother, Alexander, enlisted in Company 
F of the Forty-second Indiana Infantry 
and went south with the command. Alex- 
ander lost his life in Andersonville Prison. 
James was in all the campaigns and battles 
of his regiment until failing health brought 
him an honorable discharge in 1864. He 
then resumed farming in Southern Indi- 
ana, and having inherited a part of the old 
homestead he bought other lands and lived 
there a prosperous and highly thought of 
resident until his death in 1882. He mar- 
ried Margaret Chambers, who was born near 
Kings Station in Gibson County, daughter 
of Norman and Elizabeth (Wallace) Cham- 
bers. Her grandfather Chambers was a 
pioneer of Gibson County and lived to a 
good old age. Norman Chambers was a 
railroad man and lost his life in a railroad 
accident when a young man. Mrs. James 
Eeavis died at the age of sixty-six. Her 
six children were : William J. ; Mary, who 
died at the age of ten years; Alexander, 
who was killed in a railroad wreck; Re- 
becca A. ; Ella J. ; and Julia A. 

Doctor Reavis attended "Old Hickory," 
a rural school in his native comnnmitv 
taught by Farmer McConnel. The furni- 
ture of that old building he well recalls. 
The seats were made of logs split in halves, 
with wooden pins to keep them above the 
floor, and he wrote manv times with a 
goose quill pen on a plain plank nailed 
around one side for a desk. Later he 
attended Fort Branch High School and 
also Oakland City College. Doctor Resvis 
was a successful teacher before he became 
a physician. Altogether he tausht for 
seven vears in Gibson and Warrick coun- 
ties. In the meantime he was studying 
medicine w-ith Doctors Scales and Tyner 
and in 1877 attended a course of lectures 
in the Ohio Medical College of Cincinnati. 
Before graduatinar he began practice in 
Richland Citv, Spencer County, but in 
1885 returned to the Ohio Medical Colleare 
and received his diploma in 1886. With 
these fiualifications and experiences he be- 
gan his work at Evansville and coUtinued 
uninterruDtedlv to the present time. 

'In 1878 Doctor Reavis married Florence 
G. Allen, a native of Warrick County, 



daughter of Manville Allen, a farmer of 
that county. She died in 1893. Doctor 
Reavis married for his present wife Elsie 
M. Hammerle. She was born and reared 
and educated in Bavaria, Germany. Doctor 
Reavis is a member of Park Chappel Pres- 
byterian Church, while Mrs. Reavis is a 
Catholic, a member of the Church of the 
Assumption. He is active in the Vander- 
burg County Medical Society, also the In- 
diana State Society and the Ohio Valley 
Medical Association, is affiliated with 
Evansville Lodge of Elks and is physician 
for the local branches of the Woodmen of 
the World and the Tribe of Ben Hur. 

Fr.\nk a. Schoenberger is manager of 
the ^Morris Five and Ten Cent Store at 
Elwood, is a stockholder in the Morris 
Company at Bluifton, and is a man of long 
and thorough business experience who has 
always given a good account of himself 
in relation to the opportunities presented 
him since boyhood. 

^Ir. Schoenberger was born at Upper 
Sandusky, Ohio, June 2, 1883, a son of 
Jacob and Tillie (Schwilk) Schoenberger. 
He is of Swiss and German stock. His 
grandfather and two brothers came to 
America and settled at Kirby in Wyandot 
County, Ohio, in pioneer times. Frank A. 
Schoenberger attended the public schools 
at Forest, Ohio, and was little more than 
a boy when he went to work in a grocery 
store at Forest. He remained there ten 
years and during that time was employed 
hy five ditferent firms. In the meantime, 
havinar an ambition to make the most of 
himself, he supplemented his earlier ad- 
vantages in school by two courses with the 
International Correspondence School of 
Scranton. taking both the business course 
and a civil service course. Leaving home 
surroundings, Mr. Schoenberger was for 
seven mouths with the National Cash 
Register Company at Dayton, was time- 
keeper in the cost department of the In- 
ternational Harvester Company at Snring- 
field three years, for nine months clerked 
in the Bisr Four Railroad offices at Jlid- 
dletown, Ohio, and was then apDointed sta- 
tion agent at Elwood, Ohio, for the Big 
Four. He remained there three years and 
then returned to Dayton and took the man- 
agement of one of the drug stores owned 
bv his brother, H. E. Schoenberger. He 
managed this business two j^ears, and from 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



there came into his present relations with 
the Moi-ris Company as assistant manager 
of its store at Newcastle, Indiana. From 
June 14, 1913, until December 1st of the 
same year he was manager of that business, 
and then removed to Elwood to take the 
active management of the Morris store in 
that city. 

December 24, 1903, Mr. Schoenberger 
married Kuth D. Wells, daughter of Prank 
R. and Mollie (Neal) Wells. They have 
one child, Edwin Wells, born in 1907. 
Mrs. Schoenberger is prominent socially 
and a woman of many varied talents and 
capabilities. She is organist of the First 
Methodist Episcopal Church at Elwood, 
and is also an elocutionist who has given 
many readings before different organiza- 
tions. Mr. Schoenberger is affiliated with 
Carthage Lodge No. 573, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, in Ohio, and in politics 
votes as an independent. 

Robert Maurice Roof, chief engineer 
and vice president of the Laurel Motor 
Corporation at Anderson, has achievement 
to his credit as an inventor that seems 
destined to give him a foremost place 
among Indiana's famous men in the in- 
dustrial field. 

He represents an old and notable family 
of Henry County. He was born in New- 
castle September 13, 1882, son of James 
W. and Rosa B. (Lewis) Roof. His great- 
grandfather, Samuel Roof, was born in 
Shenandoah County, Virginia, March 3, 
1797, his parents having come from Ger- 
many. He married in 1819 Dorothy Stef- 
fey. of Virginia, and they had four sons 
and five daughters. In 1835 they moved 
by wagons over the highways and trajls 
to Wayne County, Indiana, and in 1837 
Samuei Roof, who was a tanner by trade, 
took charge of a tannery at Newcastle, 
when that was a village of only a few 
houses surrounded by dense forests. Sam- 
uel Roof and his wife were among the 
charter members of the Disciples of Christ 
at Newcastle when that church was estab- 
lished, and were faithful in every relation- 
ship to their church and their community. 
Samuel Roof died at the age of eighty-one, 
on March 3, 1878. his wife having died in 
1871. John W. Roof, son of Samuel, and 
grandfather of Robert M., was born in Vir- 
ginia June 6, 1821, and was fourteen years 
old when the family came to Indiana. In 



1839 he carried mortar for the workmen 
erecting the county oifices at Newcastle. 
He also drove teams in the pioneer trans- 
portation traffic between Newcastle and 
Cincinnati. Later he bought a tract of 
heavily timbered land near Newcastle, and 
on that he settled down after his marriage. 
Marietta Stout became his bride in 1848. 
John W. Roof was a prosperous and suc- 
cessful farmer in Henry County, and he 
and his wife became the parents of eight 
children, four sons and four daughters, 
who reached mature years. 

One of these was James W. Roof, father 
of Robert !\L, and who was born at New- 
castle and was also a construction engineer. 
He died at the age of fifty-four. His 
widow, Rosa B. (Lewis) Roof, living at 
Knightstown, Indiana, was a daughter of 
Edward Lewis, also a pioneer of Henry 
County. Robert JI. Roof has a brother, 
Walter Raymond Roof, now a resident of 
Chicago and a man of prominence in en- 
gineering circles, being chief engineer of 
bridges for the Chicago, Great Western 
Railway Company. , 

The early bo.yhood of Robert M. Roof 
was spent in Henry County. He obtained 
his first schooling at Muncie, Indiana, and 
was only seventeen when he began a prac- 
tical apprenticeship at the machinist's 
trade, and contributed some of his early 
earnings to put his brother through college. 
Later he entered experimental work, and 
has given yeai-s of study and application 
to the problems of internal combustion en- 
gines. On coming to Anderson he was 
chief engineer for six years with the An- 
derson Foundry and Machine Works. 
While there he brought out a complete line 
of the Semi-Deisel engines, and these gave 
him an international reputation. They 
passed the inspection of the Italian Navy. 
In 1908 he brought out an aviation motor 
engine. His first motor had a successful 
test, and enabled one of the aeroplanes of 
that day to make a remarkable record. The 
motor was widely advertised in other coun- 
tries and was known as the "Gray Eagle." 
Tn 1916 he designed and broiight out the 
Roof 16-Overhead Valve Cylinder Head for 
internal combustion engines. 

In 1916 also Mr. Roof organized the Roof 
Auto Specialty Company, which later be- 
came merged with the Laurel Motors Cor- 
poration, of which he is vice president and 
chief engineer. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2099 



In 1905 ilr. Roof married Miss Minnie 
E. Jones, daughter of Levi and Anna 
Jones. They have one son, Robert Maurice, 
Jr. Mr. Roof is a Knight Templar Mason. 

Henry Ashely Root, founder and pro- 
prietor of the Root ilanufacturing Com- 
pany at Michigan City, is a veteran in the 
lumber business, and in former years also 
operated extensively as a building con- 
tractor. He is one of the few men still 
active in atfairs who saw service through 
practically all the war of the rebellion. 

Mr. Root was born in Hebron, Connecti- 
cut, June 27, 1845. His family is of Eng- 
lish origin and was established in America 
in colonial times. His great-grandfather, 
Joshua Root, Sr., was born in Connecticut 
July 8, 1753. In September, 1775, he mar- 
ried Sarah Chapman. They spent all their 
lives in Connecticut. Joshua Root, Jr., 
who was born near Hartford, Connecticut, 
July 22, 1787, owned and occupied a farm 
in that part of the town af Hebron known 
as Gilead Society. He spent his last years 
there. He married Esther Ingraham, who 
was bom June 8, 1792, of Scotch ancestry. 

Austin Root, father of Henry A., was 
born in Glassbury, Conneeticiit, January 
3, 1816, and spent his boyhood and early 
youth on a farm. In young manhood he 
removed to Colchester, and for a time was 
in the employ of the Hayward Rubber 
Comoany. He resigned this work on ac- 
count of ill health and resumed farming 
at JIanchester, Connecticut, a short time 
later had a farm at Tolland, and finall.y 
engaged in the general merchandise busi- 
ness on Tolland Street and continued it the 
rest of his active life. He died June 11, 
1884. at Rodville, Connecticut. The 
maiden name of his wife was Mariva Post. 
She was born in Connecticut and died 
February 15, 1880, at Tolland, Connecticut. 
There were four children, Esther Ann. 
Ellen Electa, Henry Ashely and Emma 
Mariva. 

Henry Ashely Root acquired a good edu- 
cation while a boy. He attended the pub- 
lic schools of Heln-on and also the Bacon 
Academy at Colchester. He was not yet 
sixteen years old when the Civil war broke 
out, and in April, 1861. at the first call for 
troops, he volunteered for the three 
months' service. During that three months 
he particinated in the memorable first bat- 
tle of Bidl Run. He received his honorable 



discharge, returned home, and in 1862 
again enlisted, this time joining Company 
K of the Twenty-second Regiment of Con- 
necticut Infantry and was commissioned 
as captain. After about eight months by 
special order from the "War Department he 
went on detached duty, and remained with 
the Army of the Potomac and participated 
in some of the greatest campaigns of the 
war. He was in "Washington at the Grand 
Review, and did not receive his honorable 
discharge from the service until 1865, more 
than four years after his first enlistment. 

Mr. Root was not yet twenty-one years 
of age when he returned a veteran soldier. 
He learned the carpentry trade at Rock- 
ville, Connecticut, and soon set up in busi- 
ness for himself as a contractor and builder 
at Bridgeport, Connecticut. In 1872 he 
came "West to Chicago, the year following 
the great fire of that city, and was a resi- 
dent and engaged in business there until 
1873. In the fall of that year he moved 
to "White Cloud, ^Michigan, as vice president 
and manager of the "Wilcox Lumber Com- 
pany. He sold his interests in that com- 
pany in 1881. He moved to Michigan City 
and was engaged in the lumber industry 
for several years, and in the meantime es- 
tablished the Root Manufacturing Com- 
pany, building planing mills and other 
factories for the manufacture of interior 
finish. The company still supplies a large 
volume of demand for interior finish, and 
many carloads leave the plant every year 
for distant points. 

On April 3, 1864. while still in the army, 
Mr. Root married Miss Clara Eaton, a na- 
tive of Tolland, Connecticut, and a daugh- 
ter of Dr. J. C. Eaton. Mrs. Root died 
April 7, 1903. For his second wife Mr. 
Root married Jennie Blanche McKelvev. 
She was born at Johnstown, Pennsvlvania, 
Her father, James McKelvev, was born on 
a farm in Indiana County, Pennsylvania, 
and when a young man went to work in a 
rolling mill at Johnstown, and later quit 
that to buy a tract of mountain timber land. 
He converted the timber into lumber and 
also built up a large industry as a char- 
coal burner, a material which was in great 
demand at the rolling mills. The business 
since his death has been continued and is 
'•■ow carried on by his sons Eugene and 
Frank McKelvey. the former a resident of 
Hollidaysburg and the latter of Coal Cove, 
Pennsylvania. ^Irs. Root died January 28, 



2100 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



1915, leaving- five eliildren, named James 
Henrj-, Henry Ashely, Jr., David' Ray, 
Annie Jean and Joseph McKelvey. 

Mr. Root was one of the first members 
of the Grand Army of the Republic. He 
joined the Elias Howe Post at Bridgeport, 
Connecticut, in 1866. He is now a member 
of Rawson Post, Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic, at ilichigan City, and with the excep- 
tion of two years has been commander of 
the Post for twenty years. He was made 
a Master Mason in Corinthian Lodge at 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, in 1865, and is 
now afifiliated with Acme Lodge No. 83, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons, Michigan 
City Chapter No. 25, Royal Arch Masons, 
Michigan City Commandery No. 30, 
Knights Templar, and Indianapolis Con- 
sistory of the Scottish Rite. 

Theodore Stein. A multitude of busi- 
ness activities have consumed the j'ears of 
Theodore Stein since he arrived at matur- 
ity, and few of his contemporaries in In- 
dianapolis have shown gi'eater ability at 
handling large and variegated business re- 
sponsibilities. 

Mr. Stein was born in Indianapolis No- 
vember 7, 1858. He has an interesting an- 
cestry. On the one hand he is connected 
with a solid old German house, related to 
the nobility, and extending back in well 
authenticated records for more than a thou- 
sand years. On the other hand Mr. Stein 
is one of the charter members of the In- 
diana State Society Sons of the American 
Revolution, some of his ancestors having 
been in this country early enough to par- 
ticipate in the war for independence. Mr. 
Stein some years ago served as treasurer 
and also as president of the Indiana State 
Society. The possessions of the Stein fam- 
ily at one period constituted one of the 
petty principalities of the German Empire. 
These possessions in 1806 were mediatized 
along with those of other princely houses. 
The ruins of the Stein ancestral castle, 
called "Btirg Stein," erected in 1050 A. D., 
may still be seen along with those of Nas- 
sau, the fncestral home of the prasent 
f|ueen of Holland, on a mountain near the 
river Lahn, not far from the City of Cob- 
lenz on the Rhine. 

Theodore was the oldest of the five sons 
of Ernest Christian Frederick Stein and 
Catherine Elizabeth Stein. His father was 
a poor but worthy scion of the highest 



German nobility, while the mother was the 
daughter of a well-to-do German "Gutsbe- 
sitzer. " Frederick Stein, the father, after 
coming to Indianapolis, took an active in- 
terest in the organization of the republican 
party and became that party's first elected 
candidate for city clerk in 1856. It is said 
of him as a matter of distinction that 
when later he became a justice of the peace 
he invariably tried to arrange the dif- 
ferences of the people brought before his 
court on an amicable basis. While thereby 
he avoided imposing heavy money penal- 
ties, he incidentally curtailed his own in- 
come, and set a precedent which few of his 
contemporary squires dared to follow. 

Theodore Stein received his education 
during a few limited years in the old Ger- 
man English Independent School of In- 
dianapolis. Biit during those years he ap- 
plied himself with such diligence that he 
acquired a knowledge such as many other 
students get only from college. 

At the beginning of his business career 
he distinguished himself by his versatility. 
While following his daily vocation of book- 
keeper and manager of a large lumbering 
institution he was secretary of four savings 
and loan associations and treasurer of an- 
other. Mr. Stein is given credit for cre- 
ating an abstract of title business second 
to none anywhere, and which finally became 
the nucleus for the establishment of the 
Indiana Title Guarantee and Loan Com- 
pany, with which Mr. Stein's name is in- 
delibly connected. In 1896 he was a most 
influential factor in saving from destruc- 
tion the old German Mutual Insurance 
Company, which had been brought into 
being by that sturdy old stock of Germans 
which added so materially in the upbuild- 
ing of our beautiful capital city. Upon the 
reorganization in the same year into a 
stock company under the name of the Ger- 
man Fire Insurance Company of IndiaT;ia, 
Mr. Stein became its president. While 
tliese and other matters have occupied a 
generous share of his time and opportunity 
^Ir. Stein has always given a helping hand 
in the advancement of his home citv. He 
wrote not only a history of the German 
Fire Insurance Company of Indiana, but 
also a history of the German-English Inde- 
pendent School of Indianapolis, which lat- 
ter preserves to posterity not only views 
of Indianapolis of the past, but also a hun- 
dred or more portraits of earlier citizens 




/y/Zi^i^ ^^i^^U:,<^^CeA/ 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2101 



of German descent, together with bio- 
graphical notes pertaining to same. He is 
one of the charter members of the Columbia 
Club, and as a republican was active in the 
early days of the llarion Club. He is a 
member of the National Civil Service Re- 
form League of New York City, and of the 
Navy League of the United States, Wash- 
ington, District of Columbia. He has al- 
ways aided church enterprises, is a lover 
of music and all that tends to better family 
social life, is a member of the Athen»um, 
and is a Scottish Rite Mason and a Mystic 
Shriner. Mr. Stein married an Indian- 
apolis girl, ]\Iiss Kuhn, on March 15, 1882. 
They have a daughter, Pauline Kathryn, 
and a son, Theodore Stein, Jr. 

Frank Wampler. The locality where 
Frank "Wampler grew up and spent his 
boyhood was Gosport in Owen County, 
Indiana. In the year 1895 he conceived 
the idea of getting Gosport into communi- 
cation with the outside world by means 
of a telephone .system. When the idea had 
been properly weighed and discussed and 
acted upon Mr. Wampler was put in charge 
as manager of the local company. 

That was the beginning of his career as 
a telephone man. Today his home and 
headquarters are in Indianapolis, and he is 
general manager of the Central Union 
Telephone Company for the State of In- 
diana and one if not the best known tele- 
phone men in Indiana. When the United 
States began marshalling and organizing 
its power, resources and men for the etfi- 
cient conduct of the great war, Mr. 
Wampler was asked by Governor Goodrich 
to serve on the State Council of Defense 
of Indiana, and was appointed chairman 
of the Committee on Communication and 
chairman of the Committee of Employers' 
Cooperation. After that he divided his 
time and energies between the C. V. T. 
Company's offices and the office of the 
State Council of Defense. 

Mr. Wampler was born on a farm a mile 
east of Gosport, Indiana, Jiine 18, 1875. 
His grandfather, Jefferson Wampler, a na- 
tive of Virginia, was reared in tlie faith of 
the Dunkard Church. He was one of the 
pioneer settlers of Monroe County, Indiana, 
and at Gosport was one of those instru- 
mental in establishing the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church. 

John Wampler, father of Prank Wam- 



pler, was a farmer and stock raiser of 
Monroe County and died in Go.sport in 
1907, at the age of seventy-five. In 1885 
he also established a store at Gosport, but 
retired from that service in 1900. For 
many years he had served continuously 
in the office of justice of the peace. His 
chief characteristic was his hospitality, and 
he was never happier than when his house 
was filled with congenial guests. John 
Wampler married Margaret E. Johns, who 
was born in Morgan County, Indiana, and 
died at Gosport in 1915, in her eightieth 
year. Her children were: James W., now 
in the government service ; Nora B., wife 
of Jlelvin T. IMoorc, of Gosport; Charles 
E., roadmaster of tlie ]\Ionon Railway at 
Bloomington, Indiana ; Rebecca E., widow 
of Albert H. Rott and living at Joliet, 
Illinois ; Maggie, deceased ; Thomas C, of 
Gpsport ; and Frank. 

Frank Wampler spent most of his boy- 
hood on the farm and in Gosport. He at- 
tended the common schools and as soon as 
old enough began helping his father in the 
store. Several summer seasons he helped 
furnish recreation for the community by 
playing baseball with his home town team. 
He was married in 1894 to Nellie K. Rog- 
ers, who was also born and reared in Gos- 
port. In 1895, when he was twenty years 
of age, he accepted the position of manager 
of the local telephone exchange at Gosport. 
In 1896 he was made solicitor at Indian- 
apolis for the Central Union Telephone 
Company, and was employed in that capac- 
ity in different towns and cities of the 
state until 1898. Then following a brief 
interval the Central Union Telephone Com- 
pany was glad to get him back in the ca- 
pacity of solicitor, and after a short time 
he was made special agent for the com- 
pany, with widely varied and oftentimes 
very important duties. Finally he became 
district superintendent at Terre Haute, and 
in 1914 his office headquarters were, re- 
moved to Indianapolis. 

While I\lr. Wampler has easily been too 
busy for public office except so far as he 
lias regarded public service as a duty im- 
posed upon him by the great war, he has 
been interested in good government every- 
where and in 1898 he held the office of 
city clerk of Gosport. He is a democrat, 
and a firm believer in the principles of the 
Jefifersonian type of democracy. In Ma- 
sonry he is affiliated with Gosport Lodge 



2102 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



No. 92, Free and Accepted Masons, is a 
Scottish Rite Mason and a member of the 
Mystic Shrine at Indianapolis. He is also 
affiliated with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias and 
the Indiana Democratic Club, the Indiana 
Athletic Club, Indianapolis Chamber of 
Commerce, the Jovian Order, the Hoosier 
Motor Club and the Canoe Club. He is in- 
terested in agricultural stock raising and 
enjoys the time that can be spared from 
his other duties looking after his farm. He 
has always been and still is a consistent 
hard worker, and believes that this char- 
acteristic has been 99% responsible for his 
success. He is a splendid judge of men, 
has shown ability to retain the loj^alty of 
his subordinates, and is one of the all 
around good citizens of Indiana. 

George H. Dunn, a representative 
to Congress from Indiana, resided in 
Lawrenceburg of this state. He was a 
member of the State Legislature a number 
of j-ears, and was elected as a whig to 
the Twenty-fifth Congress. He died at 
Lawrenceburg in 1854. 

Harry Stout, who died at Indianapolis 
June 10, 1914, was a supremely successful 
merchant and at the age of forty-nine had 
achieved a position that would have done 
credit to a much longer life. 

His spirited citizenship was on a par 
with his business ability. That citizenship, 
dominated by ardent patriotism, is a mat- 
ter of pride with Indianapolis people who 
in recent months have followed closely the 
performance of his three soldier sons. No 
family in Indiana can be traced further 
back. 'to the very foundation of the Ameri- 
can Republic. The remote American an- 
cestor was Richard Stout, an Englishman, 
who established his home in the colony of 
New Jersey about the time the Pilgrim 
Fathers were preparing to colonize the bar- 
ren and hostile coast of Massachusetts. 
Soon after he went to New Jersey a Dutch 
ship was wrecked otf the coast of Sandy 
Hook. Among the passengers was a man 
named Van Prince and his wife Penelope. 
They escaped to the coast only to fall into 
the hands of Indians, who murdered Van 
Prince. Through the intercession of one 
of the chiefs of the war party Mrs. Van 
Prince was ransomed, and after incredible 
hardships, subsisting on berries, she eventu- 



ally reached New Amsterdam, now New 
York City. There in 1622 she united her 
fortunes with Richard Stout. As a pioneer 
American mother her achievements were 
remarkable. She lived to the age of 110 
years, reared a large family, and in eighty- 
eight years numbered her descendants at 
502. One son, David, was born and lived 
all his life in New Jersey. His son, Ben- 
jamin H., crossed the mountains and ven- 
tured into the wilderness of Kentucky and 
helped redeem that country from savages. 
Dr. Oliver H. Stout, son of Benjamin H., 
was born at Lexington, Kentucky, May 16. 
1800. He married Harriet Whaley, who 
was born in the same locality August 31, 
1807. Dr. Oliver Stout graduated from a 
medical college at Lexington which has 
since been removed to Louisville, and was 
in the active practice of medicine in Ken- 
tucky until he removed to Thorntown, In- 
diana, about 1858. He finally came to 
Indianapolis, in which city he died August 
13. 1862. 

Benjamin G. Stout, son of Dr. Oliver 
Stout, was born at Lexington, Kentucky, 
June 11, 1829. September 13, 1853, he 
married Elizabeth Howe. Soon after their 
marriage they came to Indianapolis. In 
that city for a time he worked as a book- 
keeper, later was in the wholesale and re- 
tail grocery trade, and also conducted ,a 
retail shoe business. He is remembered by 
some of the older citizens as a typical 
Soi;thern gentleman, devoted to his home, 
honest and upright in all his dealings, and 
widely known and respected. He died Feb- 
ruary 22, 1875. His wife was born in 
Kentuckv. January 3, 1837, and is still liv- 
ing at Indianapolis at the advanced age 
of eighty-two. She was the mother of five 
children, the only two to reach maturity 
beins Edward E. and Harry. 

Edward E. Stout was born July 25, 1862, 
in Indianapolis, and this city has been 
his home all his life. He was educated in 
the public schools, and the greater part 
of his adult years were spent as an active 
associate with his brother in merchandisinsr. 
He is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite 
and Kniffht Templar Mason and a member 
of the Mystic Shrine. He married Helen 
E. Billings. 

The late Harry Stout, whose ancestry 
and family record has thus been briefly 
traced, was born July 16, 1865. His brief 
life was impressive in its character and its 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2103 



accomplishments. He completed his edu- 
cation at Purdue University, where in two 
years he did all that was required of the 
regular three years course. Mr. Harry 
Stout had original ideas and the courage to 
put them into effect. In 1888 he entered 
the retail business at 318 Massachusetts 
avenue. This location was then clearly out 
of the regular retail district of the city, and 
it was freely predicted that he would fail. 
Three years later his brother Edward 
joined him. They adopted the plan of 
handling reputable gcfods for the popular 
trade, sold on a smaller margin of profit, 
and by selling- in large quantities attained 
the same ends which other merchants 
reached by selling at larger profits and in 
lesser quantities. The Stout brothers pros- 
pered, and in time established four branch 
stores, all of which are still in flourishing 
operation. 

It is evident that Harry Stout had the 
true business instinct. He was a careful 
buyer, painstaking, and alwaj's the courte- 
ous, kindly gentleman. His earthly life 
ended when youth and ambitions were still 
fresh possessions, and his death was a dis- 
tinct loss to the community. 

He married Florence AUerdice, who is 
also deceased. Their four children were : 
Oliver Hart, born March 11, 1896 ; Sidney 
A., born :March 10, 1897; Richard Hard- 
ing, born October 15, 1899 ; and Florence 
Lydia, who was born February 5, 1902, 
and died June 28, 1913. 

Though the three sons are still young, 
they have already won the right and priv- 
ilege of lasting memory in any history of 
Indianapolis. The son Oliver H. was 
graduated from Princeton Universitj' in 
1917. He .ioined the first officers training 
camp at Fort Ben.iamin Harrison, was 
transferred to the aviation corps at Colum- 
bus, and on completing his course stood 
second in his class, with an average of 935( . 
He was sent to Europe for training and 
spent three months in France and twenty 
months in Italy. He held the rank of first 
lieutenant at the time of his discharge. 

Sidney A. Stout, the second son, was 
graduated from the Foiversity of "Wiscon- 
sin in 1918. In August, 1917, he volun- 
teered for the aviation corps in the war 
against Germany and was commissioned 
second lieutenant May 12, 1918. He held 
this rank at the date of his discharge. 

Richard H. Stout, the youngest, lacked 



three months of finishing the second year 
at the University of Wisconsin when he en- 
listed in the Airierican Ambulance section 
of the French Army. He sailed for Europe 
^larch 10, 1917, on a vessel carrying muni- 
tions to the allies and seventy-five recruits. 
For transporting wounded under heavy fire 
and gas attacks in the Champagne and at 
Verdun on the 20th of August and 5th of 
September, 1917, he was decorated with the 
French Cross of War with the Palm. The 
few who have received these awards among 
Americans have had their names and rec- 
ords published from coast to coast in this 
country. He was discharged from the am- 
bulance service and enlisted in the Ameri- 
can Air Service in Paris, October 25. 1917. 
He received his flying training in France 
and was commissioned second lieutenant 
May 17, 1918. He is still in service abroad. 
While much has necessarily been omitted, 
even this outline shows that the Stout 
famil,v from earliest times to the present 
have exemplified the best of Americanism 
in spirit and practice and it is a particu-. 
larly honored name at Indianapolis. 

John W. Clow is one of the eneregtie 
merchants of Anderson, has been in busi- 
ness in that city for many years, and is 
proprietor of the Clow grocery and meat 
market at 1130 Main Street. 

He was born on a farm in Madison 
Townsliip, Putnam County, Indiana, June 
22. 1860. son of William and Louisa 
(" Brown) Clow. The Clows are Scotch and 
the Browns are an Irish family. Grand- 
father John Clow came from Syrshire, 
Scotland, when eighteen years of age, and 
with his two brothers, Stephen and Alex- 
ander, settled in New Hampshire on gov- 
ernment land. In the War of 1812 they 
served as soldiers, and after that struggle 
became separated and there is no record 
of the brothers of John. John Clow after- 
ward moved to Kentuekj- and reared a fam- 
ily of five daughters and three sons. His 
home was at Sharpsburg, Kentucky, where 
John Clow died at the remarkable age of 
ninety-nine years, eleven months and twen- 
ty days. 

William Clow, the second' son of his 
father, was reared and received his school- 
ing at Sharpsburg, Kentucky, and lived 
there until he was twenty years old. In 
1848 he came to Putnam County, Indiana, 
and later started for the Southwest and 



2104 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



traveled over a large part of Texas on foot. 
While on that excursion he was captured 
by Indians, and was held a prisoner for 
six months. He finall.y managed to make 
his escape, reached civilization at San An- 
tonio, and came back to Indiana chiefly 
by the water route. He married at Green- 
castle, Indiana, in 1858, and from there 
moved to Iroquois County, Illinois, where 
he took up a government homestead. On 
that he lived eleven years, selling out to 
return to Putnam County, Indiana, and 
finally moved from his farm in that county 
to Boone County, and spent his last, years 
at Advance. He died April 21, 1915, aged 
eighty-four years, two months and eleven 
days. 

Thus John W. Clow inherits a strain of 
hardy and vigorous ancestry, and his nor- 
mal expectation of life is much above the 
average. He received his early schooling 
chiefly in Martin Township of Iroquois 
County, Illinois. He was a school boy in 
the country districts of that county up to 
the age of fourteen, and at the same time 
worked for his father. Later he was a 
hired man for laboring farmers, and at 
Georgetown, Illinois, acquired a knowledge 
of the butcher business. Mr. Clow came 
to Andereon in 1890, and on the 21st of 
April began work in a local butcher shop. 
He' was employed by various grocery and 
butcher markets altogether for twenty-eight 
years. February 2, 1916, Mr. Clow set up 
in business for himself with a meat market 
at 1130 Main Stre,et, and in October, 1917, 
added a stock of well selected groceries and 
now has one of the liberally patronized 
establishments of the city. 

Mr. Clow married in 1881 Sarah E. 
Fuqua, daughter of George L. and Martha 
(Myers) Fuqua of Greencastle, Indiana. 
Mr. and Mrs. Clow had five children, only 
two of whom are now living. Louella is 
Mrs. Herbert C. Wright of Anderson. Hol- 
land Angus, the son, was born in 1894 and 
is associated with his father in business. 
He married. May 28, 1917, Hazel Holtz- 
claw. 

Mr. Clow is a democrat in politics, is 
affiliated with Anderson Lodge No. 416, 
Knights of Pythias, with the Modern 
Woodmen of America, and stands high 
both in business and social circles. 

Albert James Henry, second vice presi- 
dent of the Michigan City Trust and Sav- 



ings Bank, has been identified with the 
business and civic affairs of the city for 
the past thirty years and is one of the old- 
est and best known residents of LaPorte 
County. 

He was born at Pine Station in Clinton 
County, Pennsylvania. His grandfather 
was an early settler in that county, buying 
land bordering on the stream which became 
known as Henry Run. He was a farmer 
and also a distiller, and was drowned while 
fording the Susquehanna River. Thomas 
Henry, father of Albert James, spent all 
his life in Clinton County, and died there 
in 1898. He was then eighty-four years 
of age. He was a whig and republican. 
He married Elizabeth Shaner, who was 
horn in Clinton County and died at the 
age of eighty-three. They had six children : 
Margaret, Sadie, Tillie, Flora, Cordie and 
Albert J. 

Albert James Henry grew up on his 
father's farm, attended public schools, and 
as a boy entered the lumber industr.y. 
He acauired a knowledge of all the oper- 
ating details of the business, and in 1879 
removed to White Cloud, Newa.vgo, County, 
Michigan, where he worked in a lumher 
mill. In 1882 he came to Michigan City, 
and was for one year in the employ of Ross 
and Root, and then for nine years was 
manager of the Jonathan Boyd Lumber 
Company. Mr. Henry- then formed the 
Henry Lumber Company, and that is one 
of the oldest firms dealing in lumber at the 
south end of Lake Michigan. 

In 1889 he married J\Iiss Emma Frelise, 
who was born at LaPorte, daughter of 
Charles and Wilhelmina Frehse. Mr. and 
Mrs. Henry have two sons, Charles L. and 
Albert J., Jr. Charles was a member of 
the Thirteenth Company of the Twentieth 
Engineers, and saw active service in Prance 
during 1918. Mr. and Mrs. Henry are 
members of the Trinity Episcopal Church, 
of which he is senior warden and for fif- 
teen years has held the office of vestryman. 
He is affiliated with Acme Lodge No. 83, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, Michi- 
gan City Chapter No. 25, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, Michigan City, Commander^ No. 3, 
Knights Templar, and belongs to the Scot- 
tish Rite Consistory of Indianapolis. 

Edw^\rd Harvey Griswold, M. D. 
Though Indiana is not his native state. 
Doctor Griswold has earned more than a 



INDIANA AND INDIANAXS 



2105 



local reputation by his work as physician 
and surgeon at Peru, where he located more 
than twenty-five years ago as physician in 
charge of the Wabash Employes Hospital. 
Credit is given him, and deservedly, for 
making that institution what it is today, 
one of the largest and best equipped rail- 
road hospitals in the Middle West. 

This is a time when many men experi- 
ence a sense of peculiar satisfaction that 
their own lives are so deeply rooted in the 
American past. Doctor Griswold possesses 
a most interesting ancestral history. The 
Griswold family was founded in America 
by Edward Winslow Griswold, who came 
from England and located at Windsor, 
Connecticut, as early as 1639. Harvey 
Griswold, grandfather of Doctor Griswold 
of Peru, was a native of New England and 
at the age of nineteen moved west to ilis- 
souri. He established a home in the his- 
toric community known as Marthasville, 
and became owner of a tract of land which 
included a little country cemetery in which 
the body of Daniel Boone was laid to rest 
when that great pioneer died at Marthas- 
ville. Later the State of Kentucky claimed 
the remains of Boone, asserting a prior 
and larger claim upon him than Missouri. 
The decision in the matter rested with Har- 
vey Griswold. He consented on the con- 
dition that the Kentucky commissioners en- 
ter into a contract binding themselves and 
their state to the erection of a suitable 
monument to Boone's memory. This con- 
tract, now many years old, is in the posses- 
sion of Doctor Griswold of Peru. There 
were other historic associations around the 
old Griswold home and the little Town of 
Marthasville. One is connected with the 
little log house, put together with wooden 
pins, and standing not far from the bury- 
ing ground of Daniel Boone. In that house 
was held the first conference of the i\Ietho- 
dist Episcopal Church west of the Missis- 
sippi River. 

Svlvanius Griswold, son of Harvey Gris- 
wold, took up the profession of medicine, 
which his grandfather before him had 
adorned. Doctor Sylvanius was bom at 
:Marthasville, Missouri. August 10, 1832, 
was educated in the Masonic College at 
Lexington, Missouri, and graduated from 
the Missouri ^ledical College at St. Louis. 
He married into a physician's family, his 
wife being Lockie Ann Arnold, a native of 
Missouri and of Scotch ancestry. Her 



father. Doctor Arnold, was a native of Vir- 
ginia and for many years practiced medi- 
cine at Lexington, Missouri. 

Edward Harvey Griswold came by his 
profession naturally, with his father, mater- 
nal grandfather and paternal great-grand- 
father as worthy examples and followers 
of the calling. Doctor Griswold spent his 
early life in Lafayette and in Franklin 
County, Missouri, finished his literary edu- 
cation in the Missouri State University, 
and liegan the study of medicine under his 
father. He graduated from the University 
Medical College at Kansas City March 14, 
1891. After a brief practice at Marthas- 
ville he accepted the position of phj'sician 
in charge of the Wabash Employes Hos- 
pital at Peru, and became a resident of that 
city June 1, 1891. He is a member of 
the Order of Railway Surgeons of the 
^liami County and Indiana State Medical 
Societies and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation, and a Fellow of the American Col- 
lege of Surgeons. He has always been a 
close student of medicine, and has used his 
personal influence and prestige to advance 
the standards of the profession generally. 
Doctor Griswold attended a post-graduate 
school in New York in 189.5. He is a 
Knight Templar ^Mason and with his wife 
is a member of the Episcopal Church. 

In May. 1895, Doctor Griswold married 
Georgine Rettig. They have two sons, Ret- 
tig Arnold and Edward Harvey Griswold. 
Rettig Arnold Griswold, who was a student 
at Harvard University, at the age of eight- 
een enlisted at the declaration of war, en- 
tering the naval aviation service, and re- 
ceived his commission as ensign in March, 
1918, since which time he has been in ac- 
tive service in naval aviation on the North 
Sea and in Italy, and is still in the service. 
Edward Harvey enlisted for the war, but 
being too young had to content himself 
with the Students Army Training Corps. 

Ch.\rle.s GrsTAVE Lawson is a veteran 
in experience in the glass making industry, 
and has been connected with plants all 
over the district of the Middle West from 
Western Pennsylvania to Indiana. He is 
at present factory manager of Works No. 
7 of the Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company 
at Elwood. 

Mr. Lawson was born on a farm in the 
district of Sodermanland, Sweden, in 1865. 
His parents were Lars Eric and Annie 



2106 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Charlotte Anderson. His father was a 
skilled cabinet and pattern worker, and was 
also employed for many years on a large 
estate in Sweden. While getting his edu- 
cation Charles G. Lawson helped his father 
on this farm and remained in Sweden until 
1882, at the age of seventeen, when he came 
to America, landing in New York and join- 
ing an uncle who lived in Allegheny City, 
Pennsylvania. He had no special qualiti- 
cations through skill in trade or otherwise, 
and depended upon his hands and labor to 
earn him a place of usefulness in the world. 
For 31/^ weeks he worked on the streets of 
Allegheny City. He then began as laborer 
in the plant of the Pittsburgh Clay Pot 
Company, and was with that firm for nine 
years, learning in every detail the trade of 
pot maker. Leaving them he removed to 
Findlay, Ohio, and was potmaker for the 
Findlay Clay Pot Company for seven 
months. In 1891 he went to Pittsburgh 
and was with the Phoenix Clay Pot Com- 
pany until June, 1892, when he went to 
Muncie, Indiana, and for one year was 
foreman in the clay pot plant of Gill Broth- 
ers Company. He returned to Pittsburgh 
in the fall of 1893, during the financial 
panic, and failing to secure employment 
in his regular line he did landscape garden- 
ing seven months. He was pot maker un- 
til 1895 with the Lancaster Co-operative 
Glass Company at Lancaster, New York, 
and then went back to Findlay as pot 
maker for the Findlay Clay Pot Company. 
In 1896 Mr. Lawson joined the Ohio Val- 
ley Clay Company at Steubenville, Ohio, 
and after a year and a half was made fore- 
man of the plant and was there until 1909. 
He then accepted the position of foreman 
of the clay department at Bellairville, 
Pennsylvania, for the Columbia Plate Glass 
Company. In February, 1911, he removed 
to Ottawa, Illinois, and took contracts for 
the making of clay pots for the Federal 
Plate Glass Company eleven months. Then 
for two years he was foreman of the clay 
department of the Ford Plate Glass Com- 
pany at Toledo, and on ilarc-h 17, 1914, 
eaine to Elwnod as factory manager of 
Plant No. 7 of the Pittsburgh Plate Glass 
Company. This is one of the large plants 
of what is perhaps the largest plate glass 
company in the world, and at Elwood they 
manufacture shapes and blocks for glass 
making. 

Mr. Lawson still owns property at Steu- 



benville, Ohio, where he lived for many 
years. In 1902 he married Miss Stella N. 
Carnahan, daughter of Franklin and Mar- 
garet (Hale) Carnahan of Steubenville. 
They have two children : Charles Edward, 
born in 1908, and Dorothy Evelyn, born 
in 1911. They also legally adopted when 
one year old Vergil Irene Cheeks. This 
adopted daughter, who grew up in their 
home, is now Mrs. Lowell Rogers of El- 
wood and has one child, Robert Lowry, 
born on March 7, 1918. 

Mr. Lawson has always been a vigorous 
republican in politics. At Steubenville he 
was elected a member of the City Council 
in 1907 from the First Ward, representing 
it two years. In 1917 he was elected a re- 
publican councilman in Elwood from the 
Third Ward for a four year term. His 
election was the only break that year in 
the solid triumph of the socialist party at 
Elwood. All other city offices were filled 
by socialist candidates. Mr. Lawson is 
chairman of the claims committee and a 
member of the advertising and other com- 
mittees of the City Council. He is a 
member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and is prominent in Masonry, be- 
ing affiliated with Steubenville Lodge No. 
45, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
which he is a past master, is past high 
priest of Royal Arch Chapter No. 15, and 
has also filled the various offices in the 
Council, Royal and Select ^Masters. In the 
Knights Templar he has filled all the 
offices except Knight Templar commander. 
He is a member of the Lodge of Perfection 
of the eighteenth degree, Scottish Rite, and 
is affiliated with the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks at Elwood and in 
1918 was vice chancellor of the local lodge 
of Knights of Pythias. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Fraternal Order of Eagles. 

Calvin Sylvester Milleb has for a num- 
ber of years been a factor in the business 
affairs of Elwood as manager of the Jay 
Grain Company. He has developed a large 
business and has brought Elwood to the 
front as a grain market in Eastern In- 
diana. 

Mr. Miller was born at Mulberry, Clin- 
ton Countv, Indiana, April 11, 1873, son 
of John and Marie (Karb) jMiller. The 
Millers are originally of German stock but 
have been in America for many genera- 
tions. Their home before coming to In- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2107 



diana was in Lehigh County, Pennsylvania. 
John Miller was born in Lehigh County 
November 15, 1834. \Yhen he was four 
years old his family moved to Clinton 
County, Indiana, where they were among 
the pioneers. He grew up there, learned 
the trade of carpenter, and followed car- 
penter work and general building most of 
his active career. He also owned a farm 
of 100 acres in Clinton County, and it was 
the home where he died February 9, 1895. 
His wife died there in May, 1899. 

Calvin S. Jliller was the fourth child 
of his parents, his early yeai-s were sur- 
rounded with a rural environment, and his 
early education was obtained in a country 
school in Madison Township of Clinton 
County. As his strength permitted he 
helped his father during the summer 
seasons, and in 1893, at the age of twenty, 
entered Purdue University for the purpose 
of pursuing a course in mechanical engi- 
neering. He was in the university until 
February, 1895, when after the death of his 
father and having inherited the home place 
he returned to take active charge and re- 
mained a farmer until September 1, 1899. 
At that date he arrived in Elwood, and has 
since been manager of the Jay Grain Com- 
pany. This business has always had one 
location, but since Mr. Miller became man- 
ager its facilities have been greatly im- 
proved, including the construction of a 
thoroughh^ modern elevator. The company 
buys grain over all the surrounding terri- 
tory about Elwood and ships largely to the 
eastern markets of Baltimore, New York 
and Buffalo. Mr. Miller is a stockholder 
and director in the Jay Grain Company 
and is also a stockholder and director of 
the Citizens State Bank of Elwood. While 
these interests tax all his time and atten- 
tion he has never failed to respond to pub- 
lie spirited calls upon his service for some 
object of general and mutual benefit. In 
1915 he was appointed a member of the 
County Council of ^ladison County, and 
has also done committee work with the El- 
wood Chamber of Commerce. He is a 
democrat, is affiliated with the ^Masonic 
Lodge at Elwood and Lodge No. 166 of the 
Knights of Pythias in the same city. He 
and his family are Methodists. 

The only son of Mr. and Mrs. Miller is 
now with the American forces in training 
for the great war. Mr. Miller married in 
1896 Iva Peters, daughter of Robert and 



Anna (Elliott) Peters of Clinton County. 
Their son, Marlston J., was born July 9, 
1897. He was given good school advan- 
tages, and was pursuing a mechanical en- 
gineering course in Purdue University, as 
a sophomore, when he volunteered at In- 
dianapolis in November, 1917, and is now 
a private in the Six Hundred and Sixty- 
Fifth Aero Squadron at Kelly Field, San 
Antonio, Texas. 

Hon. Charles J. Murpht. The com- 
munity that has longest known Mr. 
Charles J. Murphy is White County, In- 
diana, which sent him to the Legislature a 
number of years ago and has come to ap- 
preciate his activities as a banker, farmer 
and one of the practical and fancy stock 
raisers who have given fame to the Brook- 
ston locality. Mr. Murphy is also a fa- 
miliar figure in the state capital, has a num- 
ber of interests at Indianapolis, and main- 
tains an office in the Merchants National 
Baiik Building in that city. 

Mr. ]\Iurphy was born at Brookston in 
White County December 29, 1872, a son 
of Jerre and Harrietta (Mclntyre) 
ilurphy. He comes of a prominent pio- 
neer family of White County. His grand- 
father, Jerre Murphy, brought his family 
from County Kerry, Ireland, first locating 
in Dover, Delaware, and in 1832 emigrated 
to Indiana. After a brief residence in In- 
dianapolis he moved to Brookston in White 
County, and for a period of eighty years 
the family name has been identified with 
the history and development of that section. 
Mr. IMurphy's father was twelve years of 
age when the family came to Indiana, and 
he achieved a remarkable success as a far- 
mer and stock raiser, and was also vice 
president of the Brookston Bank. 

Charles J. Murphy was born and reared 
on a farm, was educated in common schools, 
the Brookston High School and .Purdue 
T'niversity, from which he graduated in 
1893 with honors in the Civil Engineering 
Dei^artment. He thus had a thorough 
technical training to supplement his nat- 
ural talents and the practical experience 
he had gained at home. Into the quarter of 
a century since he closed his college career 
he has compressed a life of strenuous and 
important activity. He turned primarily 
to farming on the old Murphy homestead, 
and farming from first to last has repre- 
sented one of his real and deep abiding 



2108 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



interests. in life. His present farm, three 
miles west of Brookston, is considered 
one of the finest examples of intensive and 
extensive agriculture and stock husbandry 
in Indiana. It comprises 760 acres, and 
besides what the soil produces it is the feed- 
ing ground for hundreds of cattle and 
other livestock. His "play thing" and 
chief pleasure is his famous herd of fancy 
bred Shorthorn cattle. Stockmen are be- 
coming aware that not even in the home 
haunts of this famous breed in England 
are found better specimens than have been 
bought and acquired by Mr. Murphy for 
the foundation of his herd at Brookston. 

However, earl,y in his career as a farmer 
Mr. Murphy's interests branched out into 
other affairs. He took up contracting and 
has built miles of roads and ditches and 
has also constructed sehoolhouses, churches 
and other buildings. As a banker he is a 
director of the Farmers Bank at Brookston, 
and director and first vice president of the 
State Savings & Trust Company of Indian- 
apolis. 

For a long period of years Northwestern 
Indiana has considered him one of its lead- 
ers in the democratic party. For a time 
he was a member of the State Democratic 
Central Committee and has constantly 
used his influence to promote the best inter- 
ests of his party in the state. He was 
elected from "White County to the Legisla- 
ture in 1899 and 1901, and rendered a 
splendid service to his constituency. By 
appointment from Governor Ralston he 
served for a time as a member of the Public 
Service Commission of Indiana. When he 
was selected as a member of this Commis- 
sion to take over the functions of the older 
railroad commission of the state the In- 
dianapolis News said of him in reviewing 
the work of the Commission that "its uni- 
form success and general efficiency were 
due in great measure to the untiring efforts 
of ilr. Murphy. The .state has been par- 
ticularly fortunate," declared the News, 
"in gaining the services of Mr. Murphy 
as a member of this important body. His 
judgment and foresight are exceptionally 
keen and his ability and efficiency have 
manifested themselves in practically every 
decision that has been rendered by the 
Commission." 

He accepted this public service at great 
sacrifice of his own private interests, but 
lost no time in regretting this fact and gave 



the full benefit of his wide experience 
and ability to the work at hand. Before 
the bill creating the Public Service Com- 
mission had passed both Houses of the 
Legislature in 1915, Mr. Murphy's name 
was selected as a possible member of the 
body. He had no desire to enter public 
life or a.ssume the responsibilities which 
such an office would entail. When Gov- 
ernor Ralston selected his name among the 
first to be considered for the Commission, 
Mr. Murphy felt the call of duty and ac- 
ceded to the will of the Governor. 

The duties that now compel his residence 
part of the time in Indianapolis and the 
maintenance of an office here are in con- 
nection' with the Oeotillo Products Com- 
pany of Indianapolis, a .$3,000,000 corpora- 
tion of which he was one of the promoters 
and organizers. He is secretary-treasurer 
of this corporation. An Indiana organiza- 
tion, it has its plant at Salome, Arizona, 
and is engaged in converting the oeotillo 
plant of the desert region into various use- 
ful and essential products, chief of which 
is a gum resembling rubber and having 
many of the uses of rubber. 

]\Ir. Murphy married Miss Margaret 
Beckman, of Crown Point, Lake County. 
They have one son, Charles B. Murphy. 

Judge Millard Cox was born near 
Noblesville, Indiana, February 2.5, 1856. 
He received his literary and professional 
training in Indiana, and was admitted to 
the bar in 1880. He served as judge of the 
Criminal Court of Indianapolis in 1890-94, 
and was afterward nominated for the Su- 
perior Court judgeship. He is also a)i 
author of well known ability. 

Frank D. Haimbatjgh, of Muneie, has 
had and continues to have a busy life. The 
manifold tasks of the boy on the farm en- 
gaged his early years. A teacher in the 
public schools until near thirty, for twenty 
years he was an active and prominent fig- 
ure in the newspaper business of the state. 
A ready and forceful writer, he held a 
prominent place with the fraternity of the 
state and gained a wide and notable ac- 
quaintance with the leaders and workers 
of the democratic party of the common- 
wealth. Ever consistent in the advocacy 
of the doctrine of his political faith, he 
secured and held the friendship of those 
who were in opposition to him in politics. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2109 



At present he is sem'ing as postmaster at 
Muncie. 

^Ir. Haimbaugh was born in Fairfield 
County, Ohio, September 24, 1856, son of 
David and Margaret (Leonard) Haim- 
baugh. In 1863 his parents removed to 
Fulton County, Indiana, locating on a 
farm, which continued to be the home of 
the father until his death in 1898. It was 
the ambition of David Haimbaugh and 
his good wife to do well the task of each 
daj' and rear their children in habits of 
industry and to be citizens of integrity. 
These sturd.y pioneers were willing to un- 
dergo the hardships incident to day and 
environment, so that those who were de- 
pendent on them might have a few of the 
meager comforts of life and better advan- 
tages than was the lot of the parents. 
Those who knew these hard.y toilers of the 
soil all agreed that they were God fearing 
people, industrious, patient and, above all, 
honorable citizens, the kind of people to 
merit' and command the respect of neigh- 
bors and friends. David Haimbaugh was 
a democrat of the old school. Such were 
the parents and such the heritage that was 
left to the subject of this sketch. Mr. 
Haimbaugh says the dearest memory of his 
mother is the fact that he never heard her 
utter an uncomplimentary word of any 
one. 

Frank D. Haimbaugh, the fourth in a 
family of six children, grew to manhood on 
the farm in Fulton County and attended 
the common schools prevalent in that day, 
which at best were but meager avenues of 
learning, with terms of three months in 
each twelve. After completing the work 
in the district school he was dependent on 
his own resources for a higher education. 
This he secvired in the high school of Roch- 
ester, Indiana, being a member of the first 
graduating class of the year 1878. In 1880 
he completed the scientific course at the 
Northern Indiana Normal School, now Val- 
paraiso University, receiving his degree. 
For ten years pending his seeking an edu- 
cation Mr. Haimbaugh taught in the rural 
and village schools of his county, and 
served as principal of the Brookston, In- 
diana, High School for four years. In the 
year 1885 he was elected county superin- 
tendent of schools of Fulton County, serv- 
ing two years. During the encumbeney 
of this office he advanced the schools of the 
county to a higher standard than pre- 



viously attained. His position among the 
educators of the state was sufficiently emi- 
nent that he was prominently mentioned 
for the nomination of state superintendent 
at the hands of the Democratic State Con- 
vention in 1890, but having just recentlj' 
engaged in the newspaper business he 
would not permit the use of his name be- 
fore the convention. From 1887 to 1889 
the business of life insurance engaged his 
attention in Iowa and his home state. 

In November, 1889, in association with a 
cousin, he purchased the Miami County 
Sentinel at Peru, and thus began a long 
career in the newspaper business, ending 
in 1909. In June of 1891, having sold his 
interest in the paper at Peru, he purchased 
an interest in the Muncie Dail.v and Weekly 
Herald. He continued as editor and busi- 
ness manager of the Herald until ilarch, 
1905, when he founded the iluneie Press 
by merging the Dail.y Herald and Daily 
Times, one democrat and the other republi- 
can, establishing the Press as an independ- 
ent publication. From 1909 to 1913 Mr. 
Haimbaugh was engaged in the business of 
job printing. In the latter year he was 
solicited to accept a position as a field ex- 
aminer with the State Board of Accounts, 
serving with credit to himself and the 
• state to the end of 1915. On the last day 
of February, 1916, he became postmaster 
at ^luncie, and has been giving the best 
energies of an active personalit.v to this 
work. During this period the Muncie post- 
office has become the supply office for five 
adjacent counties and the central account- 
ing office for Delaware County, and during 
his occupancy of the office the business has 
materially increased, while the parcel post 
material handled has practically doubled. 

Mr. Haimbaugh has the distinction of 
being the first man ever elected twice in 
succession as principal doorkeeper of the 
House of Representatives of the State Leg- 
islature, serving in the office in 1889 and 
1891. 

Under appointment of Governor Durbin 
he served four years as a member of the 
Board of Police Commissioners of Muncie. 
He was also a member of the first Board 
of Park Commissioners of his home city. 
For ten years he was secretary of the Mun- 
cie Commercial Club, and was the first of 
its members to occupy the chair of presi- 
dent two years. He served ten years as 
president of Post R, Travelers Protective 



2110 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Association of America. For more than 
thirty years he has been a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In 
1893 he was elected to the office of secre- 
tary of the Indiana Democratic Editorial 
Association, revised and re-wrote its consti- 
tution and by-laws and rounded out his 
services to the association by serving one 
term as its president. 

Mr. Haimbaugh has always been inter- 
ested in all the things that make for com- 
munity welfare. In 1896 he was largely 
instrumental in founding the Eastern In- 
diana Normal University, and served as 
secretary of its Board of Trustees, and was 
a member of the same until the board 
ceased to exist. This institution is now 
under the management of the State of In- 
diana. 

On May 14, 1890, he was united in mar- 
riage to Miss Emma P. Elginfritz, of War- 
saw, this state. 

The world war found earnest workers in 
the persons of ]Mr. and Mrs. Haimbaugh, 
with a son in the service over seas, Mrs. 
Haimbaugh was a constant and valiant 
worker in the services of the Red Cross 
and was selected as chairman of the 
Delaware County contingent of the War 
Mothers' Association, with an eligible mem- 
bership of more than 2.000. 

In November of 1917 Mr. Haimbaugh 
was asked to serve as Federal fuel admin- 
istrator of Delaware County, and he served 
with such fidelity that his work was cited 
by the state federal fuel administrator for 
the efficient service rendered. 

Mr. and Mrs. Haimbaugh have one child, 
Paul A., born in November, 1892. This 
son was educated in the schools of Muncie, 
completing the high school course, and in 
the State University. He was commis- 
sioned a lieutenant from the first officers 
training camp at Fort Harrison and de- 
tailed for special service in France, arriv- 
ing in that country in October, 1917. He 
served in divisions of heavy field artillery 
until June, 1918, when, by 'request, he was 
transferred, to the tank division of the serv- 
ice. He was a lieutenant with the Three 
Hundred and First Battalion, Heavy Tank 
Corps, until the end of hostilities. The 
Three Hundred and First was the only 
Heavy Tank Corps that got into action. 
This battalion with the Twenty-Seventh 
and Thirtieth division of American troops, 
was brigaded with the British, and had a 



part in the terrific bombardment that re- 
sulted in the smashing of the Hindenberg 
line. 

A worker and a student, public spirited 
and cosmopolitan in his view of life, Frank 
Haimbaugh counts the things that he may 
have done for his friends and the com- 
munit.y he calls home as more worth while 
than self centered selfishness or the plaud- 
its of the thoughtless throng. He hopes he 
has learned the lesson of service and under- 
stands the creed of sacrifice, and that he 
has been in a small measure helpful to his 
fellow man. He believes that men should 
learn to be heroes of peace in no less de- 
gree than heroes of war, and that to each 
there is an appointed task and that to each 
will be given the guerdon of their sacrifice. 

Henky Moore, M. D. A great and good 
physician, and one whose work had much 
wider range than that of the average prac- 
titioner, was the late Dr. Henry Moore of 
Indianapolis. 

He was born March 15, 1841, sixth in a 
family of nine children of John and Lou- 
isa Moore. John Moore and wife in 1835 
blazed their way through the forests from 
North Carolina and settled in Washington 
Township of Hamilton County, Indiana. 
Their first home was miles away from 
neighbors, and they lived in the midst of 
the heavy woods and endured all the pri- 
vations of the pioneer. They were wit- 
nesses and factors in that transitory period 
while Indiana was developing from a wil- 
derness to a populous and peaceful com- 
munity. John ]Moore died in 1879 and his 
wife in 1877. Dr. Henry ]\Ioore was the 
product of an environment that was little 
removed from the utmost simplicity of 
frontier. During his boyhood he attended 
rude .subscription schools and trained his 
hand and eye by the practices and expe- 
riences of the fann ancl rural communities 
of Indiana of sixty or seventy years ago. 
His desire for a better education led him 
to attend two successive terms at Westfield. 
After getting a teacher's certificate he 
taught one term of district school. From 
there he entered old Northwestern Chris- 
tian University, now Butler College, at In- 
dianapolis, and in addition to his literary 
studies also carried on the study of medi- 
cine. 

Doctor Moore was at college when the 
news came to Indianapolis of the fall of 



INDIANA AND INDIAXANS 



2111 



Fort Sumter. He enlisted immediately, 
first as a private. While dressing wounds 
of liis comrades his knowledge and ability 
derived from his previous medical studies 
came to light and he was appointed hospi- 
tal steward of his regiment. Later he was 
detailed to act as assistant surgeon, a posi- 
tion he filled in General Sigel's department 
of the army for about two years. It should 
be mentioned that at the time of his first 
enlistment he was brought back by his 
father, being still under age, and he finally 
got into service with the Thirtj'-Fifth Reg- 
iment of Illinois Infantry. From the posi- 
tion of assistant field surgeon he was trans- 
ferred to the hospitals at Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, and to Albany, Indiana, with the 
rank of captain of cavahy. At the battle 
of Pea Ridge he received honorable men- 
tion in the official reports for his coolness 
and bravery in attending to the wounded 
under fire. While serving as attendant at 
the hospital at Louisville Doctor Moore con- 
tinued his medical studies, graduated from 
the Louisville University of Medicine and 
passed his examination. 

After the war he returned to Hamilton 
County and for a number of years was in 
practice at Sheridan. About 1885 he 
moved to Indianapolis, and continued the 
work of his profession and its cognate un- 
til his death on December 4, 1913. Doctor 
IMoore was for a number of j'ears keenly 
interested in the work of the American 
Red Cross, was appointed special organizer 
for the Red Cross for Indiana, and effected 
organizations in every county of the state. 
He was one of the pioneers in the public 
health movement as devoted to the phase 
of tuberculosis. He was largely instru- 
mental in getting an appropriation from 
the State Legislature to build a tubercu- 
losis hospital at Rockville, and continued 
to be actively interested in the institution 
until it was completed. He was also an 
agent in the purchase of the site for the 
deaf and dumb asylum at Indianapolis. 
During his work in establishing the tuber- 
culosis societies in the various counties he 
maintained an office in the State Capitol at 
Indianapolis. Doctor Moore had finished 
dictating his final report when he died in 
his chair— an end which was well fitting 
a man of such action and service. He 
was affiliated with the Masonic Order, was 
n republican in politics and a member of 
the Methodist Church. Doctor Moore is 



remembered by his old associates as a man 
who was deliberate in making up his mind, 
but when he had decided upon a course of 
action could not be swerved from the ob- 
jective. Affable, congenial and compan- 
ionable, he had a large circle of friends 
and everywhere he went he inspired confi- 
dence. His life and work and character 
well deserve the memorial that can be given 
in the written page. 

April 15, ls64:. Doctor Moore married 
Catherine Rebecca Padgett, daughter of 
William and Eliza D. Padgett. Mrs. 
Moore, who is still living, is a woman of 
high intellectual attainments. She became 
engaged to Doctor Moore before he went to 
the war. When he had charge of a hospi- 
tal at Evansville she became a nurse under 
his direction. After their marriage they 
continued lovers and companions, devoted 
to each other and to their home until the 
ties that so long bound them were loosed 
by the death of Doctor Moore. Mrs. 
Moore is now living in California. She 
was the mother of seven children, six still 
living, three of them in California and 
three in Indiana. 

Otto N. iloore, a son of the late Dr. 
Henry Moore, and youngest of the six 
children, is a young business man of In- 
dianapolis and has built up a notable in- 
dustry within recent years. 

He"was born February 25, 1880. at Spice- 
wood, Indiana, was educated in the high 
school at Irvington and spent two years 
in Purdue University. He served an ap- 
prenticeship as a mechanic, and has devel- 
oped his own mechanical skill as the basis 
of his present business. When the great 
war broke out with Germany he was pro- 
prietor of a small tool shop at Indianap- 
olis. He has made it instrumental in sup- 
plying the heavy demands made upon 
American industry and has develoinvl it to 
the Otto N. Moore Company, of which he is 
president. It gives employment to about 
120 men. The company makes all kinds of 
tools, machine and small tool equipment for 
munition work, and has contracts for a 
maximum capacity of output for months to 
come. 

;\Ir. Moore is a member of the Rotary 
Club of Indianapolis. September 8, 1907, 
he married Maude E. Jones, daughter of 
Rev. Levi and Lucy (Cogg.shell) Jones. 
They have two children, Catherine and 
Robert. 



2112 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



Glen Wayland Gates. A big business, 
well managed, still growing, is that of the 
G. W. Gates Cloak House, of which Mr. 
Gates is sole proprietor. The home office 
and headquarters are in Anderson, but he 
now maintains branch offices at Muncie and 
Fort Wayne, and also at Dayton, Ohio. 
Mr. Gates had experience and had demon- 
strated exceptional talent as a merchant 
but possessed ver}' limited capital when he 
made his start as an independent merchant 
at Anderson, and the business as it stands 
today is very largely a reflection of his 
progressive management and tremendous 
energy. 

Mr. Gates was born at Thorntown, Boone 
County, Indiana, in 1873, a son of F. W. 
and Amanda (McCoy) Gates. His great- 
grandfather and the founder of the family 
in America was Richard Gates, who came 
from Scotland and was a pioneer at Fre- 
mont, Ohio, where he cleared up and de- 
veloped a tract of government land. The 
grandfather, also named Richard Gates, 
moved from Ohio to Mount Carmel, In- 
diana, and was a prosperous farmer in that 
community. Of his three children F. W. 
Gates was the second son. He grew up as 
a farmer boy, followed farming for a num- 
ber of years, and finally engaged in the 
grocery business. 

Glen W. Gates, the only son of his par- 
ents, the others of the family being three 
sisters, spent the first fifteen yeai-s of his 
life at Mount Carmel, Indiana, and there 
attended the common schools. When he 
was fifteen the family moved to Anderson, 
where he continued his studies in the An- 
derson High School for two years. 

His business career began as a general 
workman in the shipping room of "The 
White House" conducted by Malott, Long 
& Company at Anderson. It was that old 
established mercantile firm that discovered 
and developed his talents in merchandising. 
He was in practically every department of 
the store at some time, and everywhere he 
constantly absorbed knowledge and grew 
to meet the responsibilities which were 
placed upon him in increasing measure. 
At the end of eight years he was manager 
of the cloak, suit, and carpet department 
of the store. 

From here he went to Indianapolis to 
accept a more important position as mana- 
ger of the carpet department of the W. M. 
H. Block Company. He was there six 



years, and then for a year was manager 
of the cloak department of the May Com- 
pany, proprietors of one of the largest de- 
partment stores of St. Louis, Missouri. 

In 1904 Mr. Gates came to Anderson and 
bought the bankrupt stock of Longnecker 
& Tate at 813 Meridian Street. He had 
only $1,100 of actual capital, but he soon 
had the business revived and prospering, 
with a growing trade, and from time to 
time it was necessary to enlarge his quar- 
ters and when further expansion was de- 
sirable he started his first branch house in 
1913 at Muncie, while in 1915 he opened 
another branch at Fort Wayne and in 1916 
established a house at Dayton, Ohio. All 
these branches are now doing well and the 
annual aggregate business is estimated at 
a value of fully .$750,000. The business is 
incorporated, with Mr. Gates as president 
of the company. The firm employs 140 
people and does business all over the Mid- 
dle West. 

Probably the principal factor contribut- 
ing to Mr. Gates' success in merchandising 
is his faculty of infinite detail work, which 
has become habit and second nature with 
him and enables him to comprehend and 
direct the operations of his business even 
now when it is several times as large as 
when it was established. 

Mr. Gates is also a director and stock- 
holder in the Anderson Banking Company, 
the Farmers' Trust Company, is a stock- 
holder in the Hill Trip Conipany of An- 
derson and the Hill Standard Company of 
Anderson. He also owns 640 acres of land 
in Saskatchewan, Canada, and this farm 
produced in one season 38,000 bushels of 
oats. 

At the age of twenty-three, in 1896, Mr. 
Gates married Lenna Feast, daughter of 
Thomas S. and Barbara Jane (Bronenberg) 
Feast. They have one daughter, Virginia, 
born in 1905. Mr. Gates is independent in 
polities, is a member of the First Presby- 
terian Church, is active in the Rotary 
Club, and has earnestly identified himself 
with every movement for the general wel- 
fare of his city. He is affiliated with 
Mount Moriah Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, at Anderson, and also with the 
Chapter, Council, and Commandery of the 
York Rite, with the thirty-second degree 
Consistory of the Scottish Rite and with 
the Mystic Shrine. 



INDIANA AND INDIANAXS 



2113 



WiLUAM Taylor Stott, D. D., LL. D. 
Indiana perhaps more than other states has 
cherished and paid honor to men and 
women whose work and ambitions have 
been directed unselfishly to the enlighten- 
ment and welfare of humanity — work 
never measured by wealth or any material 
standards. To that already long list which 
is so peculiarly the glory of this state there 
deserves to be added the name of Dr. Wil- 
liam Taylor Stott, who was a brilliant sol- 
dier in the Civil war, was a minister and 
of a family of ministers of the Gospel, for 
over thirty years bore the burdens and re- 
sponsibilities of the presidency of Frank- 
lin College, and was president emeritus 
when he died November 1, 1918. 

Doctor Stott was named for his grand- 
father, Rev. William Taylor Stott, who was 
born in Kentucky of Scotch ancestors. His 
religious zeal carried him into the sparsely 
settled neighborhood of Madison, Indiana, 
and later he made his home at Vernon. A 
giant in physical appearance, his mental 
equipment matched it well, and through 
his preaching more than 1,000 converts 
were baptized and added to the church. 
His work took him in fact all over the 
state. His last charge was at North Ver- 
non. More than fifty j'ears he preached 
at Vernon. He was a soldier in the War 
of 1812 under General Hull. His death took 
place at the home of his son near North 
Vernon at the age of ninety. Long life, 
well balanced mental and ph.ysical powers, 
equanimity, earnestness and hard work 
seemed to have characterized all members 
of this family. Grandfather Stott 's wife 
was Mary Ann Stott, and they had a fam- 
ily of three sons and four daughters. 

Rev. John Stott, father of Doctor Stott, 
was born in Kentucky and married Eliza- 
beth Vawter. Her ancestry was no less 
distinguished. Her father, Richard Wil- 
liam Vawter, a native of Kentuckv, also 
came to Indiana as an early day preacher. 
His first settlement was near ^Madison, but 
he later located at Vernon, and died there 
in 1868, at the age of ninetj^ years. He 
was a son of Rev. Jesse Vawter, a Baptist 
minister. The Vawters are of French and 
English descent. 

Rev. John Stott and wife came from 
Kentucky to Indiana about 1820, and after 
a brief residence near ^ladison located at 
North Vernon. For ten years they lived 
on the same farm in Jennings County, and 



moved to Franklin a short time before they 
died. Rev. J.ohn Stott died in Deccmbe'^ 
1887, at the age of seventy-seven, and his 
widow svirvived until November, 1893, 
when she had lived eighty-three years. 
Rev. John Stott as a Baptist minister had 
a number of charges in Jennings County 
as well as in other parts of the state. For 
a number of j'ears he ministered to the 
parish known as Geneva parish at Greens- 
ville, Indiana, Graham, Brush Creek, and 
Zenas parishes in Ripley County. His last 
pastorate was at North Vernon. He and 
his wife had five children: Vawter, who 
died in infancy; Martha, wife of Maxa 
Monctieth, of Franklin; Dr. William T. ; 
;\Iiss ilary F., of Franklin; and Maria J., 
deceased, who was the wife of James N. 
Chaille. 

Dr. William Taylor Stott was born in 
Jennings County, near Vernon, May 22, 
1836. He spent his boyhood days on the 
farm near Vernon, was given his early edu- 
cational advantages in the academy at Sar- 
dinia, and with that preparation entered 
Franklin College in 1856-57, graduating in 
1861. The July following his graduation 
he enlisted as a private soldier in Company 
I of the Eighteenth Indiana Infantry, with 
Thom'is Pattison as colonel commanding. 
His ability was marked, was early recog- 
nized by his superiors, and he was pro- 
moted to captain of his company. With 
the Eighteenth Indiana he fought the en- 
tire war around the Confederacy, begin- 
ning with the campaigns in Missouri and 
Arkansas, continuing until the Mississippi 
River was freed of its Confederate strong- 
holds, and finally going east to the great 
battlegroimds in Virginia. In this time 
be took part in the battles of Blaekwater, 
Sugar Creek, Pea Ridge, Cotton Plant, 
Port Gibson, Champion Hills, Big Black 
River, Vicksburg, Mustang Island, Fort 
Esperanza, Baton Rouge, Berryville, Hall 
Town, Winchester, Fisher's Hill, Newmar- 
ket, and Cedar Creek. The climax of his 
military career came at the famous battle 
of Cedar Creek. During the fighting Ma- 
jor Williams had fallen, and at this criti- 
cal moment Captain Stott assumed com- 
mand of the regiment, reformed his men, 
and with rare ability and coolness led them 
to the close of that never to be forgotten 
day. As a soldier, in camp, on the march 
or in the field. Doctor Stott maintained 
those qualities which now and at all times 



2114 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



have made the reallj' great soldiers — self 
possession, earnestness, perseverance, reso- 
lution — in short, character. On May 10, 
1865, he was mustered out, having served 
continuously more than three years and 
six months. 

At the close of the war Doctor Stott en- 
tered Rochester Theological Seminary, 
where after three years he graduated. He 
had received the degree A. B. from Frank- 
lin College, and in 1872 Kalamazoo Col- 
lege in Michigan awarded him the degree 
Doctor of Divinity, and he had the honor- 
ary degree Doctor of Laws from Shurtleff 
College in 1899 and -from Franklin Col- 
lege in 1905. 

Doctor Stott was ordained to the min- 
istry in 1868, and was pastor at Columbus, 
Indiana, during 1868-69. In. 1869 he was 
called to the chair of natural science in 
Franklin College, and during the first year 
was acting president of the institution. In 
1872 he became a professor in Kalamazoo 
College at Kalamazoo, Michigan, with the 
chair of chemistrj' and physics. In a few 
months after Franklin College had been 
reorganized he was asked to assume the 
grave responsibility of its presidency. He 
remained president of Franklin College 
from 1872 to 1905, and in 1905 was elected 
president emeritus. As head of one of the 
state colleges of Indiana Doctor Stott 
showed most commendable executive abil- 
ity, and throughout the years exhibited 
a breadth of culture, keenness of percep- 
tion, fidelity, and perseverance in work 
which not only made his name an inspira- 
tion all over the state but gave him a rep- 
utation among those engaged in higher 
education. As a teacher Doctor Stott has 
had few equals. When he accepted the 
presidency of Franklin College that insti- 
tution was burdened with a debt of $13,000, 
with no assets. When he retired in June, 
1905, after thirty-three years of faithful 
and untiring efforts, the college had 
assets of $464,000 and only a small floating 
indebtedness. 

The three years following his retirement 
from the active presidency were spent in 
writing a history of the Baptist Church in 
Indiana, for which he had been collecting 
data for years. That interesting work, en- 
titled the Baptist History, 1798-1908, was 
published in 1908 and comprises 374 pages, 
much of it a vivid narrative of the early 



days of the church on the frontier. It 
carries the reader through the entire his- 
tory of the Baptist denomination in this 
part of the country. 

From September, 1908, until May, 1911, 
Doctor Stott was president of the Soldiers 
and Sailors Orphans Home, being obliged 
to resign because of ill health. He still 
wrote occasionally for the magazines and 
denominational papers. He was always 
interested in the affairs of state and nation, 
and in the good government of his home 
conimunitj^ He served as a member of 
the City Council, having been elected by 
his ward by the largest majority on record. 
His methods while in the City Council 
demonstrated that his aim was not to ad- 
vance party but to render faithful service 
to the city. He was a republican in poli- 
ties. In 1875 Doctor Stott was president 
of the Indiana Baptist Convention and 
from 1899 for a number of years was a 
member of the State Board of Education 
of Indiana. He also served as associate 
editor of the Baptist Outlook. 

Jlay 21, 1868, Doctor Stott married Ara- 
bella Ruth Tracy, of Rochester, New York, 
daughter of Isaac S. and Mary M. (Pierce) 
Tracy. Five children were born to their 
marriage, three sons and two daughters. 
Cyril H., the youngest, died at the age of 
seven years. Wilfred T. Stott is a highly 
successful .journalist and is now managing 
editor of the Portland (Oregon) Telegram. 
He married Frances Dodge, of Chicago, 
and has a son, William Taylor, Jr., named 
after his grandfather. Grace E. married 
Rev. C. R. Parker, of LaPorte, Indiana, 
and has two children, Cyril R. and Riith 
Eleanor. The daughter Edith married 
Rev. F. G. Kenny, of Marion, Indiana, and 
has one child, Grace Elizabeth. Roscoe 
Gilmore, writer and lecturer, and the 
youngest of the living children, resides at 
Franklin, Indiana. He married Isabel Por- 
ter, of Petoskey, Michigan. They have 
two children, Roscoe Gilmore, Junior, and 
Isabel Tracy. 

Francis H. Doran is one of the oldest 
living native sons of Michigan City. His 
name is known all over LaPorte County be- 
cause of his long continued prominence 
in public affairs. His father before him 
had an important share in developing 
Michigan City as a grain center. A son 



INDIANA AND INDIA NANS 



2115 



of Francis H. Doran is Philo Q. Doran, 
one of LaPorte County's most prominent 
lawyers. 

Francis H. Doran was born in ]\Iichigan 
City in 1847. His grandfather, Edward 
Doran, was a native of Ireland, was reared 
and married there, and brought his famil.y 
to America about 1820. He landed in 
Canada and lived there a number of years, 
but spent his last years in LaPorte County. 
Patrick Doran, father of Francis H., was 
born in County Monaghan, Ireland, of 
Scotch-Irish ancestry, and was three years 
old when brought to America. He lived in 
Canada with his father and stepmother to 
the age of eleven, but not being well treated 
by his stepmother he ran away from home 
and ever afterward was self-supporting. 
For a time he drove a stage in Canada. As 
early as 1836 he came to Indiana with Abi- 
,iah Bigelow, the Bigelows being one of the 
pi-ominent pioneer families of- LaPorte 
County. They came to Northern Indiana 
with teams and wagons. Mr. Bigelow lo- 
cated at what later became known as Big- 
elow Mills, near Wanatah in LaPorte 
County. After these mills were built Pat- 
rick Doran operated them for a time and 
later moved to ilichigan City. The rail- 
roads had not yet been built, and farmers 
transported their grain in wagons for 100 
miles or more to Michigan City to seek 
an outlet for it. For several years Patrick 
Doran was in the employ of Chauncey 
Blair and other capitalists, and stationed 
in the warehouses at Michigan City as a 
grain buyer. He represented the interests 
which built one of the largest elevators on 
the lake front. After the railroads came 
Patrick Doran was in a railroad office for 
a time and later for forty years was local 
agent for the American Express Company. 
Though the practice was not then a general 
one, when Patrick Doran left the service 
of the express company he was granted a 
pension for long and faithful service. He 
died in Michigan City in 1890, at the ripe 
age of seventy-seven. Patrick Doran mar- 
ried Mary Ann [McCulloch, who was of 
Scotch-Irish parentage. She died in mid- 
dle life, leaving four children : Maria, who 
married A. F. Earle ; Nancy, who married 
L. E. Thompson, now deceased ; Francis 
H. : and Edward F., also deceased. 

Francis H. Doran obtained his early 
education in the public schools of Michigan 



City. At the age of e^hteen he went on 
the road as a traveling salesman for the 
wholesale lumber trade. He was the first 
traveling salesman in the lumber business 
out of Michigan City. His interest in pub- 
lie affairs and politics frequently took him 
out of regular business circles. In 1891 
he was appointed postmaster by President 
Harrison and served four years. Then, in 
1894, he was elected county auditor on the 
republican ticket. He carried the county 
by 2.58 votes, whereas Mr. Cleveland in 
1892 had swept the county by 1,452 ma- 
jority. At the expiration of his first term 
he was re-elected and gave the office the 
benefit of his personal direction and effi- 
cient management for eight years. He was 
at one time a candidate at the pi-imaries 
for state senator. He cast his first vote as 
a republican, and has been a stanch sup- 
porter of that party ever since. He has 
been a delegate from many districts to 
state conventions. 

For a time Mr. Doran was connected 
with the Pere Marquette Railway Com- 
pany, and later became associated with his 
brother-in-law, Mr. Earle, in the undertak- 
ing business, and has continued that es- 
tablishment since the death of Mr. Earle. 
Mr. Doran married Mary Ellen Quinn, 
who was born at Bainbridge in Putnaih 
County, Indiana. Her father, Daniel Quinn, 
was a native of Virginia and a pioneer set- 
tler of Bainbridge. He became prominent 
in business affairs and was an active mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
Daniel Quinn married Judith Ann Hale, a 
half-sister of United States Senator Eu- 
gene Hale of ilaine. Mr. and Mrs. Doran 
have two sons, Philo Q. and Edward Ralph. 
Philo Q., who was born in Michigan City 
in 1872, was for several years employed 
by the Pullman Company, studied law in 
his leisure hours, was admitted to the La- 
Porte bar in 1895, and also served eight 
years as deputy county auditor under his 
father. For many years he has been one 
of the successful lawyers of the state. He 
married Laura Nye, daughter of former 
Lieutenant Governor Mortimer Nye. They 
have a daughter, Judith C. Edward Ralph 
Doran, second son of Francis Doran, was 
born in Michigan City, November 19, 1878. 
He was with the Studebaker Corporation 
as accountant, and is now connected with 
the Chicago Mica Company, and located 



2116 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



at Valparaiso, in the capacity of expert ac- 
countant. He was educated in the public 
schools of Michigan City and LaPorte. 

Francis H. Doran is affiliated with Acme 
Lodge No. 83, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, Michigan City Chapter No. 25, 
Royal Arch Masons, Michigan City Coun- 
cil No. 56, Royal and Select Masters, Mich- 
igan City Commandery No. 30, Knights 
Templar, and the Temple of the Mystic 
Shrine at Hammond. He also belongs to 
LaPorte Lodge of Elks and is chairman 
of the House Committee of the Chamber 
of Commerce. He was reared in the Epis- 
copal Church, while his wife is a member 
of the Methodist Church. 

Walter H. Lewis, M. D. For a number 
of years Doctor Lewis enjoyed an extended 
medical practice in and around Pendleton, 
but has since given his chief attention to 
business affairs, and is now senior partner 
of Lewis Brothers, druggists. Doctor 
Lewis' name is not unknown to the state 
at large, since he has sustained a number 
of responsibilities and honors of a general 
public nature. 

He was born in Fall Creek Township of 
Madison County, Indiana, December 25, 
1849. His Welsh ancestors settled in 
Pennsylvania many generations ago, and 
the family have always been closely identi- 
fied with the Hicksite Friends Church. 
Doctor Lewis is a birthright member of 
that church. Doctor Lewis is a son of Si- 
meon and Martha (Fussell) Lewis. His 
father came to Indiana in 1832, crossing 
the country in the days before railroads, 
and was an early day merchant of the 
state. In 1847 he moved to Huntsville 
and conducted a general store there for 
many years. 

Doctor Lewis was educated in the public 
schools and in the Academy at Pendleton, 
spent one year in Asbury College at Green 
castle, and is a graduate of medicine of the 
University of Pennsylvania. From 1873 
until 1886 he was busy with his growing 
general practice at Pendleton, but since 
that date has been practically retired from 
his profession. In 1884 he and his brother 
Horace Lewis opened a drug store at Pen- 
dleton, and this is now one of the oldest 
establishments of the kind in IMadison 
County. His brother died in 1911, but the 
firm is still carried on as Lewis Brothers. 
In 1881 Doctor Lewis married Jeanette 



Craven, daughter of Judge Ilervey Craven, 
formerly circuit judge of Madison County. 
Four children have been born to their mar- 
riage. Ward C, born in 1882, is now with 
Columbia University Hospital Unit in 
France. Ruth S. married Thomas Morris, 
of Stockton, California, and they have one 
child, Esther Jeanette, born in 1916. The 
third child, Jeanette, is now a teacher of 
music and drawing in the Pendleton 
schools. The youngest daughter, Margaret, 
married Dr. E. H. Clauser, of Rossville, In- 
diana. Doctor Clauser at the present time 
is at the base hospital at Camp Sheridan. 
Doctor and Mrs. Clauser have one child, 
Jean, born in 1917. 

Doctor Lewis was appointed by Governor 
Hanly as a member of the commission to 
build the Southeastern Hospital of Indiana. 
On March 12, 1891, he became president of 
the Pendleton Building and Loan Associa- 
tion, and has continuously held that ofSco 
for over a quarter of a century and has 
wisely directed the business affairs of the 
association and in such a way as to result 
in the permanent upbuilding and welfare 
of the city. He is affiliated with Madison 
Lodge No. 44, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, with the Council, Royal and Select 
Masters, and has held all the offices in his 
lodge. He is also affiliated with the Knights 
of Pythias and the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and in politics is a repub- 
lican. 

Joseph R. Roach is one of the successful 
Indianapolis lawyers, with offices in the 
Fletcher Savings & Trust Building, and 
came to this city a few years ago from 
Terre Haute. 

He was born in Vigo County, Indiana, 
October 16, 1878, son of John J. and Mary 
(Golden) Roach. His grandfather, Joseph 
Roach, was born in Ireland and came to 
America in 1848, locating at Rushville, In- 
diana. John J. Roach was born in 1854, 
and has been a well known citizen of Terre 
Haute for a number of yeai-s. He served 
twelve years on the City Council, was an 
ardent democrat and a devout Catholic. 
In the family were five children, three of 
whom are still living. 

Joseph R. Roach, the oldest of the chiL 
dren, was educated in the parochial and 
high schools of Terre Haute, and after 
his admission to the bar began practice in 
that city in 1911. He came to Indian- 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2117 



apolis in 1914. Mr. Roach is a democrat. 
He is married and has two children, Joseph 
R., Jr., and John H. 

A future historian who may write the 
story of modern Indiana politics without 
bias, and also without fear or favor, will 
make Joseph R. Roach both an incidental 
and a vital figure in some of his chapters. 
If this personal feature is elaborated it 
will have much of the elements of a drama 
with the unusual variation of a villian in 
the plot turning the tables on other per- 
sonages "higher up" and eventually be- 
coming the instrumentality of good at the 
climax. Without encroaching upon the 
labors of another, it is proper to say here 
that Joseph R. Roach deserves no small 
share of the credit for some of the ' ' whole- 
some fear of God" which now more than 
ever before seems to pervade the atmos- 
phere of politics in Indiana. The current 
literature on the subject found in the In- 
diana newspapers during the first half of 
the present decade and one article in par- 
ticidar which was widely read was an ap- 
preciation of Joseph Roach written by 
Horace H. Herr, appearing in the Indiana 
Forum of October 17, 1915. 

Richard W. Thompson, a former secre- 
tary of the navy, was born in Cul- 
peper County, Virginia. After coming to 
Lawrence County, Indiana, he was ad- 
mitted to the bar, was a member of the 
Indiana Legislature, 1834-36, a member of 
the Senate, 1836-38, was for a short time 
president of the Senate, was a member of 
Congress, 1841 and 1847, was secretary of 
the navy in Hayes cabinet, and he was also 
an author of ability. His home was at 
Terre Haute, and his death occurred in 
1900. 

Jonath.\n Ovfen Edgerton, of Rich- 
mond, has given practically all his life to 
the cause of education, and even with his 
present responsibilities as trustee of Wayne 
Township his duties lie principally with 
the public schools of his jurisdiction. 

He was born in Franklin Township of 
Wayne County November 8, 1857, a son of 
Nathan and Ruth (Rodgers) Edgerton. 
He is of English and Scotch-Irish ances- 
try, and the family on coming to America 
first settled in North Carolina. His father 
was a graduate in medicine from the Ohio 



Medical College at Cincinnati but for many 
.years also followed farming. 

Jonathan 0. Edgerton, second in a fam- 
ily of five children, grew up in the country, 
attended country schools, and did his share 
of work on the home farm until he was 
nineteen. He then entered the Centerville 
Normal School, and after two terms took 
up the work of teaching. In 1881 he re- 
ceived a diploma from Ladoga Normal 
School in Montgomery County. Altogether 
he spent twenty-five years in country and 
town schools as teacher, principal, and 
school administrator. He taught in Frank- 
lin, Greene, New Garden, and Wayne 
Townships of Wayne County. He also 
taught a year in Randolph County, and 
was principal of the Fountain City and 
Webster schools. Wliile in New Garden 
Township he served as township trustee 
from 1895 to 1900. He was a teacher in 
Waj^ne Township for eight terms and was 
principal of the school at East Haven Ave- 
nue and the National Road. Mr. Edger- 
ton has been a resident of Richmond since 
1905. 

He was elected to his present important 
responsibilities as township trustee in 1914, 
and so capably did he handle the affairs 
entrusted to his management that he was 
accorded a second term by re-election in 
1916. He has always been a republican, 
though in 1914 he was elected on the pro- 
gressive ticket. He is a member of the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men, the Loyal Order 
of Moose, and belongs to the Friends 
Church. 

In 1889 Mr. Edgerton married Miss Lois 
Weeks, daughter of John Wesley and Car- 
rie il. (Clark) Weeks of Richmond. Mr. 
and ]\Irs. Edgerton have a family of three 
sons and three daughters, and one of their 
sons, Sergeant C. W. Edgerton, is in France 
with the aviation department. 

Charles C. Hollis has for man.y years 
been identified with the telephone industry 
in Indiana and other states, and at present 
is manager for the receivers of the Central 
Union Telephone Company of Muncie. 

He was born in Hamilton Countv, In- 
diana, September 28, 1860, son of G. N. 
and Anna (Jones) Hollis. His paternal 
ancestiy goes back to Holland, while in the 
maternal line he is of English stock. Mr. 
Hollis was onlv five vears old when his 



2118 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



mother died. His father, who was boi-n in 
Pennsylvania in 1843, came to Indiana in 
the '50s, locating at Westfield, and in 1875 
moved to Noblesville, where he was elected 
to the office of county recorder. After 
his one term as head of that office he re- 
mained as assistant to the successor for 
eight years. He then established his home 
at Indianapolis, but since 1914 has lived in 
Chicago. 

After the death of his mother Charles 
C. Hollis lived in the home of his grand- 
mother until he was twenty-three years of 
age. May 22, 1884, at Indianapolis, he 
married Miss Helena Schaaf, of a promi- 
nent German-American family of that 
city. Three children were born to their 
marriage. 

For nineteen years Mr. Charles C. Hol- 
lis was connected with the Indianapolis 
Transfer Company as agent. In 1900 he 
removed to Detroit, Michigan, and became 
district manager of the Michigan State 
Telephone Company, with headquarters at 
Battle Creek. In 1908 he returned to In- 
dianapolis and was one of the managing 
officials of the Central Union Telephone 
Company in that city. In 1913 he was 
transferred to Muneie as manager of the 
business in that city. 

He is a member of the Muneie Business 
Association, Commercial Club, Rotary- 
Club, and the Illinois Commercial Men's 
Association. Mr. Hollis attends the Ger- 
man Reformed Church and in politics is a 
democrat. 

August C. Heitschmidt is one of the 
oldest active business men of Michigan City 
and for many years has carried on an ex- 
tensive trade in flour, feed, agricultural 
implements, wood, coal, and building ma- 
terials. 

He is a native of Chicago. His grand- 
father, John Heitschmidt, was born in 
Prussia and brought his family to Amer- 
ica with the intention of settling in Chi- 
cago. He died in LaPorte while en route 
to that city. His son, August Heitschmidt, 
went to Chicago as early as 1857, when it 
was a small city and with little promise of 
its present importance. In 1865 he re- 
turned to Indiana, and bought a flour mill 
in Cool Spring Township of LaPorte 
County. He operated it as a custom mill 
for two years, and then returned to Chi- 
cago and for some years was engaged in 



the grocery and feed business. He died 
in Chicago at the age of seventy-seven. 
The maiden name of his wife was Julia 
Ziemann. She was born in Mecklenburg 
Schwerin, Germany. Her father, John 
Ziemann, came to America and spent his 
last years in Michigan City. 

August C. Heitschmidt was reared to a 
life of industry. When only eleven years 
of age he became self-supporting. For 
three years he worked on a farm at Wood- 
stock, Illinois, then lived another year in 
Chicago, worked on a farm near Dundee, 
Illinois, a year, and before coming to I\Iich- 
igan City he was employed in the iron fin- 
ishing and upholstering business at Chi- 
cago. 

Mr. Heitschmidt located at Michigan 
City in 1882. In 1888 he entered his pres- 
ent business, and has conducted one of the 
largest supply centers for the commodities 
above named in the northern part of La- 
Porte County. He is also a charter mem- 
ber and a director in the Michigan Trust 
and Savings Bank of Jlichigan City. 

In 1887 Mr. Heitschmidt married Miss 
Emma Warkentine, daughter of Henry and 
Louise Warkentine. The only child of Mr. 
and Mrs. Heitschmidt is Ella, wife of 
Joseph I. Fladiger. Mr. and Mrs. Pladiger 
have a daughter named Marjorie. Mr. and 
Mrs. Heitschmidt are members of St. 
John's Church at Michigan City, and he is 
a director of the Michigan City Trust and 
Savings Bank, is independent in politics 
and has served two terms in the City Coun- 
cil and also as a police commissioner. He 
is affiliated with Lodge No. 230, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, Acme Lodge 
No. 83, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, Michigan City Chapter No. 25, Royal 
Arch Masons, Michigan City Council No. 
56, Roj'al and Select ]\Ia.sons, Michigan 
City Commandery No. 30, Knights Temp- 
lar, and the Temple of the Mystic Shrine 
at Hammond. He is also a member of the 
National American Union. 

George William Krietenstein. This is 
a name which for over fifty years has been 
identified with the drug and paint trade at 
Terre Haute, but that is only one of many 
associations which make Krietenstein a 
name of prominence in that section of the 
state. Members of the family have been 
active in the civic and charitable institu- 
tions, and George W. Krietenstein is also 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2119 



widely known over Indiana in a political 
way. 

The venerable head of the family is Carl 
'Krietenstein, who has been a resident of 
Terre Hante for nearly sixty years and has 
a career which may well be recalled in some 
detail as a matter of instruction and in- 
spiration to the present generation. He 
was born in Germany, October 10, 1837, 
and is now eighty-one years of age. His 
parents were G. Henry and Wilhelmina 
(Ploeger) Krietenstein. Educated in his 
native country, where he learned the brick 
layer's trade, Carl Krietenstein came to 
America in the spring of 1858. The sum- 
mer of that year he spent at Freeport, Illi- 
nois, and the following winter at New Or- 
leans, and in the spring of 1859 arrived at 
Terre Haute, where his first employment 
was as a gardener and teamster. The next 
year he went to work as a section hand 
for the Terre Haute & Richmond Railroad, 
putting in eleven hours a day for wages of 
a dollar a day. In the spring of 1861 he 
took a position as a brakeman on a freight 
train between Terre Haute and Indianap- 
olis. This train was soon discontinued, and 
his next work was at wages of a dollar a 
day cari-ying a hod for a local plasterer and 
cistern builder. 

In August, 1861, Carl Krietenstein vol- 
unteered for service in Company E of the 
Thirty-Second Regiment of Indiana. This 
was the first German regiment raised in 
the state. ^Iv. Krietenstein was with it in 
all its battles and engagements for over 
three years, and was mustered out and re- 
ceived his honorable discharge in Septem- 
ber, 1864. Returning to Terre Haute, he 
M'orked as assistant baggage master and 
night watchman with the Vandalia Rail- 
road until 1866, after which he was freight 
and money clerk with the Adams Express 
Company and later with the American, 
Express Company. It was in November, 
1868, that he formed the connection which 
proved a long and straight road to his sub- 
sequent biisiness fortunes. He entered the 
service of a firm conducting a drug store 
in the old Terre Haute Hotel. He was 
with that one firm for over twelve years, 
and in that time he carefully laid the 
foundation for his independent business 
career. In June, 1881. he became mem- 
ber of the drug firm of Shinkle & Krieten- 
•stein, the name of which was soon changed 
to Adamson & Krietenstein. In 1885 Mr. 



Krietenstein became sole proprietor of the 
business and in the following year moved 
to the corner of Fourth and Ohio streets, 
and in 1896 bought a brick business block 
at the southM-est corner of Fourth and 
Cherry streets. For many years the 
business has been a combination of drugs 
and a complete line of paints and glass, 
and Carl Krietenstein was an independ- 
ent merchant in these lines for over 
thirty years. His name is also prom- 
inently identified in other ways with 
Terre Haute. In 1860 he became a mem- 
ber of the German Benevolent Societj' and 
was continuously an officer of that organi- 
;;ation from 1865. For over forty years he 
has been affiliated with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, has served as com- 
mander of Morton Post, Grand Army of 
the Repiiblic, and has been a faithful re- 
publican since casting his first vote in 
America. In February, 1860, while still a 
wage earner and manual toiler in Terre 
Haute, Carl Krietenstein married Miss 
Mary Glanzer, who was also born in Ger- 
many and came to the United States in 
1858. The.y lived happily together in an 
ideally domestic companionship for over 
half a century, iintil the death of Mrs. 
Carl Krietenstein in 1912. To their mar- 
riage were born five children, three of 
whom grew to maturity: Minnie, wife of 
Walter A. Haley ; William, of Terre Haute ; 
and George William. 

George William Krietenstein was born 
at Terre Haute July 4, 1871. and he grew 
up in one of the good and substantial 
homes of the city and has known the life 
of its streets and institutions for forty 
years. He attended the local public 
schools, and at the age of fourteen began 
assisting his father in the store. Respon- 
sibilities were given him in increasing 
measure, and he was one of the factors in 
the local management of the business until 
1901. 

In that year I\Ir. Krietenstein was ap- 
nninted custodian of the State House at 
Indianapolis by Governor Durbin. He was 
awav from Terre Haute looking after his 
duties at Indianapolis for two years, when 
he resigned and resumed his active connec- 
tion with his father's business. Diiring 
the same year Governor Durbin appointed 
him deputy state oil inspector, and by re- 
appointment from Governor Hanly he filled 
that office six j'ears. "Sir. Krietenstein has 



2120 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



always been prominent in the republican 
party, and has done much to build up and 
keep up the organization in this section, 
of the state. In 1900 he was district man- 
ager of the Lincoln League of Indiana, and 
has been identified with various other po- 
litical organizations. He served on the 
staff of Governor Mount with the rank of 
major. In 1915 Mr. Krietenstein was 
elected sheriff of Vigo County, and held 
that office until Jauuarj-, 1917. His work 
as sheriff was characterized by unflinching 
performance of duty and with such hon- 
esty and capability that he naturally 
aroused much opposition and in January, 
1917, he was practically deposed from of- 
fice through the influence of the brewers 
of the state. Since leaving office he has 
bought his father's business and is now 
sole proprietor. 

Ml. Krietenstein has been prominent in 
the Sons of Veterans, was treasurer of the 
department of Indiana three years and its 
commander in 1901-02. He is a member of 
the Masonic Order, of the Knights of 
Pythias, the Benevolent and Protective Or- 
der of Elks, the Knights of the Maccabees, 
the Loyal Order of Moose, and the Trav- 
elers' Protective Association. 

On May 2, 1893, Mr. Krietenstein mar- 
ried Miss Minnie Schirathin, daughter of 
Jacob Schirathin, of Milwaukee, Wiscon- 
sin. They have two children. Bertha, born 
in 1894 and now the wife of Herschel G. 
Tuttle, of Terre Haute, and Carl Mount, 
who was born in 1898, and though not yet 
twenty years of age has made a brilliant 
record. He is a graduate of the Culver 
Military Academy, and is now serving in, 
the United States Navy. 

William Haerle, who died at Indian- 
apolis November 26, 1905, had been a resi- 
dent of that city for over forty years and 
had a career of great usefulness and honor 
though he never sought any of the conspic- 
uous positions in public affairs. 

He was born in the Kingdom of Wuer- 
temberg, Germany, April 1, 1837, and grew 
to manhood in his native country, obtain- 
ing a good practical education. He served 
a short apprenticeship as a clerk in Ger- 
many, and there and at home learned and 
practiced the lessons of frugality and in- 
dustry. At, the age of nineteen he came 
to America, and after a brief residence in 
Cincinnati and Chicago came to Indianap- 



olis about 1849. Here he was employed in 
the store of Charles Mayer. He chose for 
himself a rigorous routine of self denial, 
saved nearly all he earned, and in 1862 was 
enabled to set himself up modestly in busi- 
ness, and after that for over forty years 
was a merchant and developed a splendid 
business. Success came to him through 
good management, strict integrity, and un- 
failing courtesy. While he aided politi- 
cal campaigns occasionally for the good of 
the community that was not his natural 
sphere. He was intensely devoted to his 
home, and spent his leisure hours among 
his loved ones surrounded by books and 
flowers, for which he had a great fondness. 

In 1865, at Louisville, he married Miss 
Julia A. Pfingst, who was also born in Ger- 
many. She died in 1913. Their three 
surviving children are George C, ilinnie, 
Mrs. George W. Leighton of Chicago, and 
Alma, Mrs. Roland H. Sherman of Win- 
chester, Massachusetts. 

George C. Haerle, the oldest son, was 
born at Indianapolis September 23, 1867. 
He attended grammar and high school, and 
early in youth became associated with his 
father in business. He continued that 
business after his father's death until 1911. 
Since that date he has been occupied chiefly 
with his own private business affairs. In 
1905 he married Norma Hollweg. Her 
father, Louis Hollweg, was one of the old 
and well known citizens of Indianapolis. 
Three children have been born to their 
marriage : Louis H., Elizabeth, and Rudolf. 

Walter L. Lewis has achieved a definite 
place in business affairs and is junior part- 
ner of Lewis Brothers, druggists, at Pen- 
dleton. He represents an old family in 
Indiana and one that has been established 
for many generations in America, the orig- 
inal ancestors having come from Wales. 
The Lewises lived for many years in Penn- 
sylvania. 

His grandfather, Simeon Lewis, came 
west to Indiana when a young man, driving 
overland. For many years he was a mer- 
chant at Huntsville. His business there 
was continued by his son H. F. Lewis, who 
in 1884 moved to Pendleton and was a busi- 
ness man of that town the rest of his life. 
II. F. Lewis married Eleanor Kinnard. 

Walter L. Lewis, son of H. F. and 
Eleanor Lewis, was born at Pendleton in 
1884. He attended the common and high 




JOHN A. ROSS 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2121 



schools at Pendleton, and had a college 
course from 1901 to 1905. After leaving 
college he was for three years foreman and 
engineer with the National Concrete Com- 
pany of Indianapolis. He then entered 
the employment of Lewis Brothers, and 
after his father's death in 1911 became a 
member of this tirm, an old established firm 
for handling drugs, paints, and oils at 
Pendleton. 

In 1912 Mr. Lewis married Helen Fay 
Bement, of Buffalo, New York, daughter of 
J. L. and Helen (Sutherland) Bement. 
Mr. and Mrs. Lewis have two children, 
Helen Fay, born in 1913, and Eleanor K., 
born in 1915. 

Mr. Lewis is a republican and has been 
very active in supporting his party. He 
served as secretary of the township com- 
mittee in 1914, and has been a delegate to 
the Republican State Convention. He is 
affiliated with Madison Lodge No. 44, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons, Pendle- 
ton Chapter No. 53, Royal Arch Mason.s, 
Council No. 42, Royal and Select Masons, 
and is a member of the Ilicksite Friends 
Church. 

I 

John A. Ross, president of the Ameri- 
can National Bank of Frankfort, and for 
many ,years a successful and widely known 
contractor of public works, has many ideal 
finalities of the American business man. 
He is forceful in action, prompt in deci- 
sion, quick to recognize an opportunity 
and discriminate between the false and the 
true. These practical qualities have in- 
sured his business success, and in his fam- 
ily, among his friends and as a citizen his 
relations have been productive of no less 
esteem. 

Mr. Ross was born near Lafayette in 
Tippecanoe County, Indiana, January 26, 
1861, a son of Alexander and Mary (John- 
son) Ross. His father was born in Ire- 
land of Scotch ancestry and came to this 
conntrv at the age of thirteen, soon after- 
ward locating at Lafayette, Indiana. He 
died at the age of seventy-two. The 
mother was born in Sweden and was 
brought to America at the age of twelve. 
She died at the age of fifty-three. The 
parents were married in Tippecanoe 
County, and of their eight children two 
died in infancy, while five sons and one 
daughter are still living. 

John A. Ross, the oldest of these chil- 



dren, had about the average opportunities 
of the Indiana farm boy. He attended 
public schools and also took a course in 
bookkeeping and civil engineering. From 
the age of fifteen until twenty-one he was 
helping his father in the general contract- 
ing business, and that early experience 
pointed the way for his own permanent 
career. 

In 1882 Mr. Ross first came to Frank- 
fort, and immediately engaged in general 
contracting. He continued in the same 
business at Lafayette, Frankfort, and at 
Huntington, and in 1887 returned to 
Frankfort, which now has been his home 
for thirty-two years. Mr. Ross took up a 
large field of general contracting, has built 
innumerable gravel and stone roads, county 
bridges and streets, has installed sewerage 
and other municipal improvements, and 
his enterprise was also extended to the 
building of many large and important 
buildings. For many years the firm was 
known as Ross and Hedgecock. They were 
awarded contracts for improvements in 
many of the principal streets of Frank- 
fort. In Clinton County they constructed 
miles of gravel roads, many iron bridges, 
and their early works have stood the test 
of time and serve to illustrate the charac- 
ter of the men behind the business. In 
1890 this firm established the Frankfort 
Brick Works, with a capacity of between 
3.500,000 and 4,000,000 bricks per year. 
The plant employed from sixty to seventy 
men. It was visited by a destructive fire 
in 1891, causing a loss "of from .$15,000 to 
$18,000. The yards were rebuilt on a 
much larger scale. Mr. Ross has never 
had any serious difficulty with his labor. 
Strikes have not been a part of his business 
history, and this is due almost entirely to 
tlie uniformly just and courteous treat- 
ment of his men and his recognition of 
their rights. 

There ai-e many large building contracts 
that might be mentioned to illustrate the 
important scope of the business. He ei-ected 
the Rossville High School, the Michisan- 
town High School, the Forest High 
School, the First "Ward School in Frank- 
fort, the Ross Block, the Dorner Block, the 
Fatzinger Block, Palmer Hospital, Kelley 
Block, the Kevs Block, the American Na- 
tional Bank Building, the public heating 
plant, erected the Public Library, the Post- 
office building in Frankfort, and many 



2122 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



similar private and public structures in In- 
diana, Illinois and Ohio, and even across 
the international boundary line in Canada. 
He organized the Frankfort Construction 
Company. This firm laid many brick, bit- 
ulithic and asphalt streets in Anderson, 
Evansville and other cities. They were 
bridge builders and contractors with the 
Chicago and Eastern Illinois and the To- 
ledo, St. Louis and "Western railroads, and 
built bridges that would aggregate a total 
of more than four miles for these com- 
panies. 

Mr. Eoss retired from the contracting 
business in 1915. He has been president 
of the American National Bank throughout 
its existence, helping organize it in 1902. 
He was also one of the organizers of the 
Frankfort Heating Company and the 
People's Life Insurance Company and was 
the largest stockholder in each at the time 
they were organized. Among property in- 
terests he owned several business blocks 
and several hundred acres of farming land 
in Indiana. 

February 12, 1884, Mr. Ross was mar- 
ried to Miss Lola A. Curtis. She was born 
in Lafayette, Indiana, and after a beauti- 
ful life of religious devotion, love for her 
family and twenty-three years of happy 
companionship she passed awav February 
21, 1907. She was the mother of four chil- 
dren, who deeply cherish her memory and 
all she did for them as children. The old- 
est, Worley A., was well trained for a suc- 
cessful business career, but at the outbreak 
of the war with Germany he enlisted in the 
Sixteenth Engineer Corps and was with one 
of the first units of the American Forces 
in France in 1917. He earned some of the 
credit and fame paid to the American en- 
gineers during 1917. His service was per- 
manently interrupted when he and some of 
his comrades became the victims of 
ptomaine poisoning. Several of his com- 
rades died, and he was invalided home in 
1918, and has not yet recovered his health 
and strength. Worley A. Ross married 
Grace F. Beebe, and they have one daugh- 
ter, Helen Frances. The second child of 
Mr. Ross is Venita, wife of Walter R. 
Dyer, of Boone, Iowa. ^Ir. and Mrs. Dyer 
have one son, John Sidney. Margaret Z. 
Ross married Dr. E. M. Myers, of Boone, 
Iowa, and is the mother of two sons, 
Edward ]\Iorrison, -Jr., and John Ross. 
Dorothy T. Ross, tlie youngest daughter, is 



a graduate of the Frankfort High School 
and of the National Park Seminar}^ at 
Forest Glen, ^Maryland. She now resides 
at her father's home. 

Mr. Ross has always been an active par- 
ticipant in politics, voting as a republican, 
but never had any desire to be an ofiSce 
holder. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. Mr. Ross contributed to the win- 
ning of the war his individual influence 
and means besides sending his only son 
overseas. As county chairman for all the 
Liberty Loans he had the satisfaction of 
seeing every quota over-subscribed. 

John B. Allen, a United States senator 
and a lawj-er, was born at Crawfordsville, 
Indiana, May 18, 1845. He served his 
country in the Civil war, was afterward 
admitted to the bar, and removed to Wash- 
ington Territorj^ in 1870. He served the 
territory as a United States attorney, and 
was elected to Congress for the term 1889- 
91, but resigned on his election as United 
States senator at the admission of Wash- 
ington as a state. 

C. J. McCracken is secretary and treas- 
urer of the Denney-McCracken Fruit Com- 
pany, Incorporated, at Muncie. Mr. Mc- 
Cracken engaged in the produce business at 
IMuncie several years ago, and he and his 
associates have gradually developed a busi- 
ness that is now one of the largest in East- 
ern Indiana. It covers a large field, deal- 
ing only wholesale and as jobbers. They 
have an extensive warehouse and plant, and 
handle a large proportion of the fruits and 
produce distributed among the retail trada 
over a large territorj- surrounding Muncie. 

Mr. ]\IeCracken was born in Grant 
County, Indiana, July 27, 1882. He is of 
Scotch ancestry in the paternal line. His 
great-grandfather, David McCracken, was 
a native of Scotland, and on coming to 
America located at Philadelphia. He 
bought land there and engaged in farm- 
ing it. That land has since been taken 
into the city limits, but he occupied it as a 
farm imtil his death. At the present time 
a law suit is pending between the heirs to 
that property and the City of Philadel- 
phia. Tlie heirs claim that their legal title 
to the land has never been canceled. David 
McCracken on coming to America joined 
the Friends Church at Philadelphia, and 
was a devout adherent of that religion the 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2123 



rest of his life, and the same faith has 
since been transmitted to his posterity. 
Long before much was thought or said of 
temperance he was an ardent advocate of 
the principles. He began voting as a whig 
and afterwards was a republican. 

The McCracken family was founded in 
Grant County, Indiana, during the '40s by 
David ]\IcCracken, Jr., who came here when 
young and unmarried and settled on a 
farm near Marion. He lived there until 
1872, when he went out to Nebraska with 
his family and was a farmer on the plains 
of that state for several yeai-s. In 1912 
he returned to Indiana and lived witli his 
children the rest of his days. C. J. Mc- 
Cracken is a son of E. J. and Margaret 
(Drucksmiller) MeCracken. His father 
was born in this state and has been a highly 
successful farmer in Grant County. Since 
1914 he has lived in the City of Marion. 
He is a stanch republican and at the pres- 
ent writing is a candidate for the office 
of county commissioner. Grant County 
normall.v gives a large majority to the re- 
publican ticket. He is the owner of two 
good farms in Grant County, and has made 
something of a record in that section as a 
hog raiser. He and his wife have three 
sons, C. J. being the oldest. 

C. J. MeCracken grew up on his father's 
farm, and acquired his early education in 
the common schools, graduated in 1898 
from Roseberg Academy, and then took 
a two years' commercial course in the 
Marion Normal School. 

After his education he went to work as 
a stenographer at Matthews, Indiana, later 
at North ^Manchester, and in 1905 accepted 
a position of clerical work with the Lake 
Erie and Western Railway. He was in the 
railway service for six years, but in 1911 
left it to take up the produce business. 
Since its incorporation he has been one of 
the aggressive men in The Denney-^Ic- 
Cracken Fruit Company. The president of 
this corporation is Will H. Denney and tho 
vice president G. Clifton Denney. Their 
offices and warehouse are within half a 
block of the Union Station at ^Muncie and 
conveniently located on the Lake Erie 
tracks. While they began as fruit and pro- 
duce .iobbers, they now have a large depart- 
ment devoted to flour, and handle a large 
share of the flour distributed in this part 
•of the state. 

Mr. MeCracken is an active member of 



the Friends Church at Muncie and is a re- 
publican in politics. He married Miss 
Ethel Hurst. She is of English family, her 
people having come to Indiana from Mary- 
land. Her father died in 1912. He was a 
member of the Methodist Church. Mr. and 
Mrs. MeCracken have two children : Mar- 
garet, born June 18, 1913, and David, born 
October 12, 1914. 

Andrew J. Crawford. The manufac- 
ture of iron and steel in Indiana is now 
almost completely localized along the shores 
of Lake Michigan in the extreme northwest- 
ern corner of the state. It is not in a 
strict sense a local industry, since the raw 
materials, including the iron ores, are not 
produced in Indiana at all. There was a 
time when the iron ore deposits of the Wa- 
bash Valley in particular were utilized as 
the basis of some rather flourishing indus- 
tries, and it is with the history of this 
business that the name of Andrew J. Craw- 
ford is most interestingly associated. 

Along the west side of the Wabash, in 
the vicinity of Terre Haute, was found 
iron ore of good quality and close to the 
beds of block coal. Forty or fifty years 
ago these ores were found in sufficient 
quantities to justify their being gathei-ed 
up and carted to Terre Haute, where they 
were utilized in the Vigo Blast Furnace, 
which had been established by Mr. Craw- 
ford and his associations and which was the 
last one of the old group of Indiana fur- 
naces to go out of blast. It ceased opera- 
tion about 1895. 

The late Andrew J. Crawford belonged 
to a family of iron masters in Pennsylvania. 
He was born at Westchester, Montgomery 
County of that state, November 7, 1837, a 
son of Alexander L. and Mary (List) 
Crawford. His parents were Pennsylvan- 
ians and of Irish and German stock. Alex- 
ander L. Crawford was an ironmonger and 
did much to upbuikl the early iron industry 
in Pennsylvania. He is credited with hav- 
ing established the first iron plant at New- 
castle and also constructed the first railroad 
out of that town, known as the Beaver 
Valley Railroad, connecting with the 
Pittsbiirg, Port Wayne & Chicago. In the 
course of time his enterprises made him 
one of the big iron men ef Pennsylvania. 

The son of a successful father and 
reared in a home of sound and substantial 
ideals, Andrew J. Crawford received a 



2124 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



thorough education and as a boy became 
familiar with the various .operations in- 
volved in the manufacture of iron. This 
experience qualified him for his later in- 
dependent achievements. At the age of 
thirty-two he came to Indiana, and after a 
surve.y of different localities decided upon 
Terre Haute as the scene of his operations. 
Terre Haute at that time had a foundry 
and several other industries employing a 
number of iron workers, and these led Mr. 
Crawford to locate here. He built the Vigo 
Blast Furnace and also erected the North 
Rolling Mill, known as the Wabash Iron 
Works Company. He became president of 
the Wabash Mills, while his brother, J. P. 
Crawford, was secretar.y and treasurer. 
The rolling mills and kindred interests sub- 
sequently organized under the Terre Haute 
Iron & Steel Company, of which Mr. Craw- 
ford was vice president. The rolling mills 
continued operation until 1899, when they 
were sold to the steel trust. "Sir. Crawford 
was also interested in the coal mining in- 
dvistry and was a member of various bank- 
ing and financial organizations of Terre 
Haute. 

In politics he was a staunch republican, 
but never appeared as a candidate for a 
public office. He was a member of the 
Masonic Order. Among those who knew 
him and appreciated his character he is re- 
membered for his remarkable sagacity in 
business affairs, and also for a genial dis- 
position and pleasant manner, so that he 
was one of the best beloved citizens of 
Terre Haute and his entire life was an 
example of rectitude and honor which may 
well be cherished by his descendants. 

December 26, 1865, he married Miss Ann 
E. Ibinson, of Newcastle, Pennsylvania. 
They became the parents of five children : 
Alexander L., deceased ; Mrs. Mary E. 
Kidder, of Paris, Illinois ; James A. ; John 
L. ; and Mrs. Anna M. Bartlett, of Phila- 
delphia. 

Abraham Harsh, president and sole 
owner of the Tiger Coal and Supply Com- 
pany of Richmond, was a railroad tele- 
grapher and station agent for a number of 
years in Ohio and Indiana, and on leaving 
railroading he took up the coal business 
and is now a veteran in that line. He has 
built up a large and prosperous business at 
Richmond, dealing in coal, coke and build- 
ers' supplies. 



He was born in Wayne County, near 
Wooster, Ohio, son of Zaehariah and Han- 
nah (Me.yers) Harsh. His father and 
mother both came from the City of Wurms 
in Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, and first 
located at Massillon, Ohio, and afterwards 
moved to Wooster, where they lived and 
died. His father was a silk weaver and an 
umbrella maker by trade. He died in 1897 
and his wife in 1885. 

Abraham was the oldest in a family of 
nine children, six of whom are still living. 
To the age of fifteen he attended public 
school at Wooster, then acquired a knowl- 
edge of telegraphy, and was assigned his 
first duties as an operator at Louisville, 
Ohio, with the Pennsylvania Company. 
He spent fifteen years in the service of that 
railroad, as operator and station agent at 
different point, and was also connected 
for a time with the Cincinnati, Hamilton 
& Dayton Railway. 

In December, 1901, Mr. Harsh formed a 
copartnership with E. D. Howe, under the 
name Howe & Harsh, dealers in coal and 
coke. They were associated together for 
eighteen months, having a flourishing busi- 
ness at Lima, Ohio. Mr. Harsh then bought 
the interest of his partner and continued 
at Lima from 1903 to 1906. Selling out, 
he came to Richmond in the latter year, es- 
tablished a yard and entered the coal busi- 
ness under the name A. Harsh Coal & Sup- 
ply Company. In October, 1916, he sold 
the business, but re-entered it in July, 1918, 
at which time he organized the present cor- 
poration, the Tiger Coal & Supply Com- 
pany. He is also a stockholder in the Cliff- 
Wood Coal & Supply Company at Lima, 
Ohio, and is vice president and a stock- 
holder in the First National Bank and 
has other banking and real estate inter- 
ests. Success has come to him in generous 
measure as a result following many years 
of persevering labor and well directed 
energy. 

In 1877 he married Fannie M. Pence, 
daughter of Jeremiah and Susan (Myers) 
Pence of Louisville, Ohio. Mr. Harsh is 
independent in the matter of politics, is 
affiliated with Webb Lodge of Masons at 
Richmond, with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows at Findlay in Hancock 
Countv, Ohio, with the Encampment at 
Mansfield, Ohio, and is a member of the 
Richmond Commercial Club and of the 
Jewish Order B 'nai B 'rith. 



INDIANA AND INDIANANS 



2125 



SIRS. Harriet ]Marsh Johnston, of 
Muneie, has engaged in many of those 
broader activities and interests which are 
often associated with the successful busi- 
ness man and citizen, but in her case these 
have come and have been subsequent to her 
faithful work as wife and mother. Mrs. 
Johnston is one of Indiana 's notable women 
of the present century. 

Her father was long prominent in Mun- 
eie as a banker. His name was John Marsh, 
a native of Preble County, Ohio. In early 
life he followed the business of hatter in 
Eaton, Ohio, and for two terms served as 
treasurer of the county. He moved to 
Delaware County, Indiana, in 1854, and 
his career is of special interest because of 
his active connection with one of the 
branches of the old Indiana State Bank. 
The Muneie branch of the State Bank was 
organized July 2, 1856, and began business 
in January following. Mr. John Marsh 
was the first president of the institution. 
This local branch went into voluntary 
liquidation following the passage of the 
National Bank Act of 1863. The Muneie 
National Bank was chartered as its succes- 
sor and with the same officers. ]Mr. Marsh 
resigned as president in 1874, and took an 
active part in organizing the Citizens Bank, 
which in 1875 was made the Citizens Na- 
tional Bank. Mr. :Marsh was the tirst cash- 
ier of this institution and held that office 
until his death in 1887. Thus for over 
thirty years he held a place of prominence 
in Muneie 's financial affairs. lie was a 
man of model Christian character, kind and 
generous to a fault, and his memory is still 
held in grateful regard by the older resi- 
dents of Delaware County. He was a very 
active member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church at Muneie, was a charter member 
of tlie Masonic Lodge of that city, and was 
an upholder of the principles of the re- 
publican party from the age of twenty-one. 
He married ^lary Mitchell, who died in 
1900. They had a family of seven chil- 
dren, all living but one. 

The old Marsh home at Muneie has been 
the residence of Mrs. Harriet Johnston all 
her life. She was born there October 25, 
1860, being next to the youngest of her 
father's children. She attended the com- 
mon and high schools of ^Muneie, graduat- 
ing from the latter in 1878. She was also 
given a thorough musical education in the 
Cincinnati Musical College, and for a num- 



ber of years was organist of the Methodist 
Church of Muneie. 

October 11, 1881, she married John R. 
Johnston. Mr. Johnston was born October 
11, 1857, had a good education and began 
his business career with hi