Skip to main content

Full text of "The Industries of the city of Indianapolis : the advantages offered for business location and the investment of capital"

See other formats





3 1833 01715 4508 

Gc 977.202 InSici 

The Industries of the city 
OF Indiamafol-is 




The City of Indianapolis 






tCopYKiGUT, 1889, BY A. N. Mab«uis &, Company] 




,88, ,^Q^*j!-> 


Allen County Public Librarv 
900 Webster Street ^ 
PO Box 2270 
Fort Wayne, IN 46601-2270 





The State of Indiana. 

^^^ra HE nineteenth century closes Upon Indiana, glofiotis in 
' a realization of the subUme promise of her prophetic 

infancy. Within a hundred years a commonweahh 
has been created, savage domination has yielded 
precedence to our progressive civilization, and the 
shadows which darkened her pioneer days are only 
recalled and remembered, when contrasted with the 
sunshine of her present prosperity. Internal improve- 
ments have caused the waste places to blossom as 
the rose. An educational system has been established 
embodying the highest excellencies, a code of laws 
comprehensive and adaptive have been collated and 
are enforced for the prevention of wrongs and the 
protection of rights, while agriculture, manufactures 
and trade are pre-eminent sources of fortune, and all the agencies 
that can even remotely contribute to the welfare of the State or the 
Nation, or both, have been successfully enlisted. Indiana is bounded 
on the north by Michigan, east by Ohio, south by the Ohio River and 
on the west by Illinois. She has a total area of 36,119 square miles 
or 23,116,160 acres. La Salle is credited with the discovery of the 
country. The first settlement of the present State is disputed. Some 
authorities declare it was made at Vincennes some time between 1700 
and 1710, while others contend that no settlement was effected there 
until 1735. and still others insist that French traders located upon the 
present site of Fort Wayne as early as 1700. In 1763, Great Britain 
acquired title to the territory from France, and two decades later, it 
became the property of the United States. In 1787 the Northwestern 
Territory was organized and embraced within its area the present 
State of Indiana. In 1800 Indiana Territory was organized, there 
being at that time a population of 5,000 within its limits. In 1804 the 
land in the new territory was opened to entry, and in 18 14, the 
number of the inhabitants had increased to upward of 20,000, with 
manufacturing industries, including grist-mills, saw-mills, tanneries, 
etc., principally, valued at 5300,000 and over. The territorial capital 
was located at this period at Corydon, in Harrison County, where the 
constitutional convention was held in December, 1815, the proceedings 
of which paved the way for the admission of the State into the Union, 
during April of the year following. The population is stated to have 
then been 63,897. Walter Taylor and James Noble represented the 
State in the United States Senate, and William Hendricks in the 
Lower House. In 1825 the capital was moved to Indianapolis, and 
from that date the population steadily increased in numbers, coming 
chiefly from Kentucky, Virginia and Tennessee, with some froiH 
points further south and north. In 1831 the Indian title to lands was 
extinguished and in 1832 the Black Hawk War occurred, both of which 
incidents had the effect of peopling the State with inhabitants who 
have left the impress of their character upon the history of succeed- 
ing years. From 1840 to 1850, the State grew in prominence and 
influence. In the Mexican War Indiana furnished five regiments of 
soldiers who participated in the campaigns that were concluded by 
the treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo. In the war between the States 
that followed the firing upon Sumter, she sent into the field 208,367 
enlisted men. The later history of the State is familiar to the world. 
Her wonderful growth and development are unparalleled. Religious 
and educational institutions abound in every section, and are largely 
attended. The State institutions are equal to the demands made 
upon their resources, and benevolent enterprises of a private character 
are numerous and well sustained. The fact is, as Mr. George J. 
Langsdale eloquently remarks, the State has " only entered upon a 
new era of development that is yet beyond our comprehension." The 

population of the State in 1850 was 988,416; in i860, 1,350,420; 1870, 
1,680,637; 18S0, 1,978,301; 1885, 2,154,354 and in 1889 is estimated at 
2, t; 00,000. 


The geological formation is, with the exception of superficial 
deposits, composed of rocks of the paleozoic age. The formation 
expressed throughout different portions of the State consists of lower 
Silurian limestone and shales, upper silurian limestone and shales, 
Devonian limestone, sub-carboniferous lime and sandstone, and rocks 
of the coal measure series, which include coal seams and their accom- 
panying rocks. The lower silurian rocks are found in the south- 
eastern part of the State; the upper silurian in the eastern, south- 
eastern and extreme north-western; the Devonian in the northern, 
central and southern; the sub-carboniterous in the western and south- 
ern parts, and the St. Louis and Keokuk limestone in the western and 
southern portions of the State. The coal measure rocks are expressed 
in the south-western portion of the State, and there is a general dip--;f 
strata running in a south-westerly direction of 25 feet to the mi'., with 
considerable slate in the southern half of the State- In the northern 
part the dip is to the north-east. East and north-east of Indianapolis 
is the oolitic limestone, the most important mineral deposit in the 
State, in inexhaustible supply. In Washington County alone there 
is 200 square miles of this formation, much of which has an average 
thickness of 40 feet, and many other counties have equally as good 
deposits. This stone, which is unsurpassed for building purposes 
and will be a source of revenue for an almost endless period, exists 
chiefly in the counties of Putnam, Monroe, Owen, Lawrence and 
Washington. Lawrence and other counties also contain large deposits 
of kaoline or white clay and glass. Sand is found in good quantities 
in Washington and Madison Counties, with inexhaustible supplies of 
fine clay in the counties included in the coal belt. A line of upheaval 
runs through the State from the north-east to the south-west, crossing 
along the river, the latter following the line of the disturbance. The 
rocks along the river have been distorted to such an extent by this 
upheaval, that the natural gas once confined in them has all escaped. 
South of the river the disturbance has been of such a nature as to 
produce low arches, and the gas is yet confined in the original recesses. 
The greatest amount of gas, however, is found in the area where 
Niagara limestone are the surface rocks. 


There is a total of seven thousand miles of coal producing area 
in the State, located principally in Fountain, Vermilion, Park, Vigo, 
Clay, Owen, Sullivan, Greene, Knox, Daviess, Martin, Gibson, Pike, 
Dubois, Posey, Vanderburg, Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, 
throughout which a total of fourteen seams of coal, varying from a 
few inches to twelve feet in thickness, are to be found. Coal mines 
have been successfully operated in all these counties during the past 
year, though the statistics may show a slight falling off in the out-put, 
due to the substitution of natural gas throughout an extended territory 
that has heretofore been a consumer of coal. The following table shows 
the output of the mines for the years from 1879 to 1888: 

1879 1,196,400 tons. 1884 2,260,000 tone. 

1880 1,550,375 " 1885 2,37r,,000 " 

1881 1,771,336 " 1886 3,000,000 - 

1882 1,900,000 " 1887 1,254.703 " 

1883 2,560,000 " 


At the close of the year 1886, the area of timber land in the State 
included a total of 4,000,606 acres. During that year the area had 


been reduced 379,153 acres. Taking this reduction as a fair criterion 
for the two years succeeding, the total area of timber land remaining 
uncleared in the State January ist, 1889, was not far from 3,300,000 
acres. The southern portion of the State has always been rich in the 
growth of hardwood lumber, with considerable amounts of oak, ash, 
sugar, beech, hickory, linn, sycamore, etc., in other sections, and large 
forests of oak and hickory yet standing in the eastern part of the Stale. 

N.XTl'RAL G.'\S. 

This subject is exhaustively treated in another part of this book 
under the caption, " Natural tlas in Indianapolis." 


The State is dotted with mineral springs, the waters of which have 
been proved to be invaluable for medicinal purposes, and are steadily 
growing in prominence and importance with invalids and pleasure 
seekers. Among the leading in this department are the Sulphur 
Springs at French Lake and Weisbaden m Orange County. These 
have become popular in all portions of the country. There also ,are 
the Indian Sulphur Springs in Martin County, the Chalybeate Springs 
in Warren County, the White Sulphur Springs at Lodi, in Fountain 
County, and at Lafayette, and other resorts of a similar character 
elsewhere in the State. 


The stone quarries located in the above designated sections of the 
State are steadily operated during the season. In 1885-86 there were 
£. nuarries worked, having a total capital of 5340,895, giving employ- 
ment lO 1,161 hands, to whom a total of S519.040 wages were paid and 
turning out products valued at $1,073,675. The estimated value of 
products in 1888 was not far from $1,700,000. 


The leading industry of the State is, of course, agriculture. The 
nature of the soil, its facilities for natural and artificial drainage, tlie 
equable temperature which prevails in this latitude, and other causes 
combine to furnish the most substantial returns for the labor of the 
husbandman and equally substantial inducements for investment in 
farm lands. The table at the bottom of this page shows in a con- 
densed form facts relating to the extent and condition of this industry, 
also the amount and value of the leading productions. 

At the close of 1888, there were estimated to be about 200,000 
farms in the State, representing a total valuation of $448,961,548, not 
including fences, buildings, etc. Of the total acreage cultivated 
7,157,665 acres were devoted to cereals, including flaxseed, buck- 
wheat, etc., 3,161,832 acres to clover and timothy seed and hay, and 
79,420 acres to potatoes, etc. There were 6,795,731 bearing and 
3,143,037 non-bearing fruit trees embraced in the area devoted to 
orchards. The statistics declare the crop year of 1888 to have been 
an excellent one, and each of the important cereals except wheat a 
substantial increase in product, average yield per acre, and value of 
crop when compared with 1887. 

The system of education employed in Indiana is very comprehen- 
sive and complete. District schools at which the primary and 
elementary branches are taught, are available to residents to every 
square mile of territory. High schools are maintained in every city 
and town. Normal schools, six in number, are provided for the 
instruction of teachers. In addition to these, there is a completely 
equipped polytechnic school, and fifteen colleges and universities at 
which the higher branches are taught, the curriculum embracing pre- 
scribed and alternative studies, the pursuit of which equips students 
with a thorough classical or scientific education, as they may elect. 
The system which has obtained so successfully was established by 
men of intelligence, liberal views, and high appreciation of the needs 
of the service. Its development has been rapid and permanent, and 
the influence it has exerted in the development and growth of 
Indiana, as also in the promotion of the wealth and prosperity appar- 
ent to-day, cannot be too highly estimated. The following table 
shows the growth of the schools during the period from i860 to 1889: 



No. OF 







No. OF 

OF School 


TU N. 




OF School 



303 87 1 





$ 3,827,173.00 




462, .5i7 

































The amount annually expended for school purposes approximates 
in round numbers five millions of dollars, derived in part from the 
State's apportionment to counties of the common school revenue, from 
interest obtained on the proceeds of sales of the sixteenth section in 
every congressional township, from the local tuition fund and from 
the sale of liquor licenses and from other sources. The total school 
revenue for the school year ending July 31, 1888, was $5,235,031.98. 
The average daily wages for the year throughout the State, were $2. 26 
per day to male teachers and $1.87 to female teachers. The average 
daily attendance of pupils was 54 per cent, of the enumeration and 79 
per cent, of the enrollment. 


The financial condition of the State as shown by the following 
statement of the State Treasurer, is excellent: 

Balance on hand Nov. 1, 1887 $ 373,944.21 

Receipts from all sources 4,173,617.98 

The expenditures were 4,219,836.03 

Balance in treasury Oct. 31, 1888 ; $327,726.18 

The total outstanding indebtedness of the State at the close of the 
fiscal year 1888, amounted to $6,770,608.34, of which $4,388,783.22 was 
domestic and $2,381,825 foreign, the latter drawing $337,861.99 interest. 



Wheat bn. 



Barley _ 


Buckwheat ._ 

Flax Seed .._. 

Clover " 


Clover Hay _ 

Timothy " 

Irish Potatoes 

Sweet " _. 

Tobacco _ lbs. 























































































































The manufacturing industries of Indiana have been rapidly growing 
in volume for the past forty years, and are annually becoming more 
varied. According to the statistics made in this department, the 
State, in the value of her manufactured products and in the number 
of her citizens employed, ranks higher than many States whose facili- 
ties may be regarded as superior; and consequently the number of 
persons employed is increasing in a greater ratio than in many of 
her sister States. New industries are constantly being added to the 
list, and this alone justifies the conclusion that in the near future 
Indiana will become one of the leading manufacturing States of the 
Union. The following table, which does not, however, include those 
employed in mining operations, nor upon railroad work, demonstrates 
the steady growth of this interest: 





Wages Paid. 




11, ass 


$ 7,750,402 


S 3,728,844 

$ 18,725,423 

These figures, while indicative of a growth in production even in 
excess of the ratio of increase in population, do not even approximately 
foreshadow the augmentation in industry which is now going on, as the 
recent introduction of natural gas, and the many advantages it gives 
in the cheapening and improvement of the processes of manufacture, 
is affording an added impetus to production, which has no equal in the 
past history of the manufacturing enterprises of the State. It may, 
therefore, be fairly predicted that the next census w-ill show an 
increased ratio of advancement in all productive lines. 

The total assessed valuation of property in the State for i888 was 
$769,747,005, of which §548,815,447 was on real estate and $220,931,558 
was on personal property, being an increase of §41,931,874 over the 
assessed valuation of real and personal property of 1880. 

Indiana contains thirty-two lines of railways. On the ist of Jan- 
uary, 1889, there were 5,745.75 miles of main track, 108.62 miles of 
double track, and 1,236.11 miles of siding, making the total mileage 
7,090.48. The capital stock of the incorporated railways of the State 
January i, 1888, aggregated $87,360,604 ; the bonded debt was 
$96,286,685, the unfunded debt was $7,161,083, and the total cost of 
the roads and their equipment, including 92.48 miles constructed that 
year, was $194,745,192. During the same year the total receipts from 
the passenger department, including express, baggage, mail, etc., 
were $27,000,522; from the freight department, $61,826,648; and the 
operating expenses were $62,553,879; making the net receipts 
$26,273,291. There were 24,633,766 passengers, and 55,411,824 tons of 
freight carried. In 1S88 the passenger department received $32,542,125, 
and carried 27,884,233 passengers ; the freight department 
,$72,209,601, and carried 55,379,711 tons of freight. The total operating 
expenses were $74,892,845. The total assessed valuation of roads for 
188S was $64,211,717. 


The piety said to have been characteristic of the pioneers of 
Indiana has been inherited and perpetuated by their descendants. 
The total number of church organizations in the State is stated in 
round numbers at five thousand and the value of church property at 
fifteen millions of dollars, a substantial increase over the statistics of 
1885. In the latter year there were 4,261 church organizations, having 
a total membership of 478,416, and owning property valued at upward 
of twelve millions of dollars. 


The City of Indianapolis. 

NDIANAPOLIS, the capital and most populous city of 

Indiana, is located on the west fork of White River, in 

s^-i : I the center of the State. The city is peopled by the 

^u3 -: I most enterprising and progressive classes of citizens, 

^^^-Jl and is surrounded by a territory rich in agricultural, 

mineral, and other natural resources. As a manufacturing and dis- 
tributing point she occupies a leading position, and unsurpassed trans- 
portation facilities place her in immediate communication with all 
sections of the country. Financially of the staunchest character, an 
educational center of conspicuous importance, " a city of churches," 
socially and in other respects invitingly attractive, Indianapolis offers 
inducements for business and residence that have found expression in 
her wonderful growth and prosperity, particularly during the past 
decade. Briefly told, her history is one of successful endeavor against 
obstacles and competition. The city was first settled in 1819 or 1820. 
In the latter year Indianapolis was selected as the State Capital, and 
in 1821 the present city site was platted by Alexander Ralston. Dur- 
ing December of the same year Marion County was organized, and in 
1832 the town was duly incorporated, though it \vas not until 1836 the 
action of citizens in the premises was confirmed and legalized by 
special act of the Legislature. On the 17th of February, 1838, an act 
re-incorporating the town was adopted, providing among other things 
for including within its corporate limits the four sections or " dona- 
tions " of land made by Congress upon the admission of the State in 
1816. The embryo city grew steadily and satisfactorily in influence 
and importance. Enterprising citizens identified themselves with the 
town, stores were opened, manufactories were established, weekly 
papers were issued, school houses were built, and religious services 
were conducted at frequent intervals. In February, 1847, 2 city 
charter was granted by the Legislature, and Samuel Henderson became 
the pioneer Mayor. From that date the building up of Indianapolis 
became an established fact, and since then its progress has been per- 
manent and substantial. It is to-day a city containing a population 
approximating one hundred and twenty-five thousand, with a future 
brilliant with possibilities. The streets are broad, handsomely shaded, 
and many of them paved. The residence portion is specially attractive, 
the houses being among the handsomest in the State, a large number 
of them occupying commodious and elaborately decorated plats of 
ground, forming a landscape replete with natural and artistic attrac- 
tions. The business structures and manufacturing industries are 
substantially built of brick or stone, and many of them triumphs of 
architectural finish. The public buildings, including the State House, 
Court House, the Union Depot, Tomlinson's Hall, Masonic Hall, State 
Institutions, etc., are distinguished features of the city's attractions. 
The transportation facilities embrace sixteen separate lines of railway, 
not including the Belt Road, and the street railway is one of the most 
perfectly equipped and appointed in the West. The commercial and 
manufacturing industries of the city, of vast proportions, are steadily 
increasing in number and resources, and each of the several banks in 
operation do a large business. All of these interests, however, are 
treated more at length under their appropriate heads, as also are 
other subjects of which no mention is here made. 


The early enterprises of the city and State are elsewhere stated. 
The precise population of Indianapolis at date when it was selected 
as the State Capital cannot be stated. In 1830, the city contained 
1,085 inhabitants. W'ithin the next ten years the number more than 
doubled, being quoted at 2,693. ■" 1850, the population was 8,091; in 
i860 it was i8,6u; in 1870,48,244; 1880, 75,044; 1884, 88,000; 1885, 

96,500; 18S6, 106,000; 1887, 117,500; and in 1888, 125,000, including 
Haughville, West Indianapolis, North Indianapolis, Brightwood and 
Irvington, suburbs of the city. Of the present population fully sixty- 
six per cent, are native born, the remainder containing a strong 
German and Irish element, a sprinkling of Swedes and Norwegians, 
and from four to five thousand negroes. 


Since the incorporation of Indianapolis as a city in 1847, the city's 
growth required new provision for the better conduct of the public 
service. The executive department of the municipality is vested in a 
Mayor, the legislative department consisting of a Board of Aldermen 
and a Common Council, the former being composed of ten members, 
two from each of the five aldermanic districts into which the city is 
divided, and the latter of one councilman from each of the twenty- 
five wards. They are elected biennially in October and are each paid 
Si5oper annum for their services. The remaining city officials, except 
the City Clerk, who is also elected, are appointed by the Council with 
the advice and consent of the Board of Aldermen. The latter list 
includes the City Attorney, who receives an annual salary of $3000; a 
City Engineer, who receives $1800 and perquisites; two Street Com- 
missioners, one receiving S1600 and the other Sgoo per annum; and 
two Market Masters who are paid a per dicin. The County Treasurer 
and Auditor also act in the same capacities for the city. 


The city was without a regularly constituted police force until 
1854. In that year a system was inaugurated employing 14 men. 
The year following the system was abandoned, but revived in 1856, 
with 10 men. During the war the force was increased and in 1865 
consisted of 48 members, so continuing until 1883, when the metro- 
politan system was adopted. It is under the direction of a board of 
three commissioners appointed by the Governor, Secretary of State and 
State Treasurer. The department is made up of one superintendent, 
two captains, two doormen, two drivers and seventy patrolmen, the 
appointments of whom are made in equal numbers from the dominant 
political parties. The department also includes a well organized 
patrol system, its equipment consisting of twelve boxes located 
throughout the city, and one wagon manned by two patrolmen, avail- 
able for immediate service day or night. The pay rolls for 1888 
footed up 561,621; the annual expense for the maintainance of the 
department, however, will not exceed 558,000. During 1888 the total 
arrests numbered 3,795, of which 3,480 were males and 315 were 


The first steps in the direction of organizing a fire department 
were taken in 1829, when a company was formed with limited equip- 
ments but sufficient for the service. Volunteer companies were sub- 
sequently established and continued in operation until i860, when the 
paid system was substituted and has since been maintained. The 
present force is made up of one chief, two assistants, eleven captains, 
thirty-one pipemen, six engineers, six stokers and twenty-one drivers. 
The equipment embraces six steam engines, one single and one 
double chemical engine, three hook and ladder trucks, and fifteen 
thousand feet of hose. Fifty-four horses are required in the service 
and the total valuation of the property, including in addition to the 
above twelve two-story brick engine houses, is §350,000. The annual 
support of the department requires an outlay of 577,640, of which 
$59,956 are paid for salaries and $17,684 for repairs, expenses, etc. 



Indianapolis is more than fairly well supplied with excellent 
streets, drainage and water facilities. The total mileage of streets in 
. the city is stated at 450, of which five miles are paved with wood, 
thirty are paved with stone, two hundred and fifteen miles are graded 
and graveled roadways, one hundred miles are graded and provided 
with gutters and one hundred and fifty miles are unimproved. The 
total cost of work done from January i, 1885, to January I, 1889, was 
5675, 000. The repairs from January I, 1879, to January i, 1889, are 
estimated at $40,000 per annum, e.xcept during 1888, when $50,000 was 
expended in that behalf. 


As early as i860, provision was made for a complete sewage 
system, the work of platting the city and otherwise arranging prelimi- 

six to forty feet and has a total capacity of 15,000,000 gallons. Water 
is supplied to the cistern, at the foot of Washington street, through 
mains, thirty inches in diameter, and thence delivered throughout the 
city by an engine and water-power, having a total capacity for pump- 
ing 22,000,000 gallons every twenty-four hours. The city supports 
thirty public fountains and five-hundred fire hydrants. 


The city is lighted by gas and electricity. The former is furnished 
by the Indianapolis Gas Light and Coke Company, a private corpora- 
tion, organized in 1851; electric lights arc also provided by a private 
corporation, employing the Brush system, and natural gas is utilized 
in addition. On January i, 1889, gas lamps to the number of 2,650, 
100 electric lights and 341 vapor lights were in use by the 
city at an annual cost of $65,000. The gas lamps are furnished at $15 


naries being executed by an engineer from Chicago. Little was done, 
however, toward perfecting the plans then formulated until 1870, 
when what is known as the "Grand Trunk" chain of sewers was 
begun, and thus far includes portions of Kentucky avenue, Massa- 
chusetts avenue, Illinois, Washington, Pennsylvania, Delaware, 
Michigan, Reed, Broadway and South streets. There were 30 miles 
completed January i, 1889, the largest proportion of which were of 
brick from eight to ten feet in diameter, the balance being of pipe or 
vitrified stone from 15 to 24 inches in diameter; the cost of construc- 
tion and materials ranging from seven to fourteen dollars per cubic 


Indianapolis obtains its water supply from the Indianapolis Water 
Works Company, first organized in 1870, and re-organized in 1S81. 
The company owns 75 miles of mains and 50 miles of laterals that 
have been constructed at a total cost of $2,000,000. The reservoir is 
located two miles northwest of the city, at the junction of White 
River and Fall Creek. It is 2,000 feet long, varying in width from 

per year each, the electric lights at $80, and the vapor lights at $18 
each. Commencing at the above date, the expense for lighting the 
city was estimated not to exceed $50,000 per annum, which 
amount, owing to the facilities furnished by the presence of natural 
gas and electric light corporations, will hereafter be materially reduced. 


The opportunities afforded for the acquisition of an education in 
Indianapolis are not surpassed by those of any city in the LTnited 
States. The system which now obtains has been in progress of develop- 
ment since the city was originally settled. The first school taught 
was in 1821, by Joseph C. Reed. Three years later Mr. and Mrs. Law- 
rence conducted an institute of learning in the Presbyterian church. 
In 1832 Miss Clara Ellick opened an academy here, and in 1834 the 
old County Seminary became established. In 1853 the free school 
system superseded the primitive methods heretofore employed, with 
Henry P. Coburn, Calvin Fletcher and H. F. West as trustees. The 
schools were opened the same year, throughout which there was an 



avcrajjc daily attendance of cishty out of a scliool population of 1,100, 
giving employment to ten teachers, who were paid $2. 25 per term for 
each scholar. In 1S71 the present system was organized. It is under 
the ilirection of a lioard of Directors, elected from each of the eleven 
school districts into « hich the city is divided and is maintained by 
the State, the funds therefor being deriveil from the common school 
fund, from a special tax levied by the city and from the amounts 
received for liquor licenses, dog taxes, etc. The course embraces 
twelve years, or four years each in the elementary, intermediate and 
high school departments. The course also includes an industrial 
department, where the most approved system of manual is taught 
The course of study in all the departments is adapted to the recjuire- 
ments of the service of furnishing a thoroughly practical education. 
In the high schools, the course is arranged with a view to the wants 
of students who complete their education there, with additional 
studies calculated to i|ualify those who desire to enter either of the 
State universities, into which they arc admitted upon their graduation 
at the high school, without an examination. The curriculum 
embraces fourteen prescribed and ten optional subjects, particular 
attention being 
devoted to the 
and the lan- 
guages. In the 
department the 
course includes 
arithmetic, ge- 
ography and 
grammar, and 
the primary 
studies of a pre- 
paratory char- 
acter to which 
are added the 
best features of 
the kindergart- 
en system. The 
city has 28 pub- 
lic school build- 
ings and two 
high schools, 
the latter bcin.^ 
re s p e c t i V e 1 y 
located on the 
North a n d 
South Side s. 
I'hey are all 
subst a n t i a 1 1 y 
built of brick, 
and well equip- 
ped, thoroughly lighted and ventilated, and provided with every 
auxiliary and facility for the service to which they are designed. 
They represent a total valuation of one million of dollars. There 
are at present 300 teachers employed, 25 males and 275 females, 
the salaries for principals being $1,000 per annum, for teachers in the 
seventh and eighth grades J600, and for those in the remaining grade 
?550 per year. The school enrollment is 15,000, with a daily average 
.attendance of 12,000 pupils, and the annual expense for tuition is 
Si8o,ooo, in addition to which $50,000 is required for repairs, inciden- 
tals, etc. The accommodations are inadequate to furnish sufficient 
room for tjie requirements of the service, and negotiations are in pro- 
gress for the erection of three additional school buildings to be com- 
pleted during i88g. 

In addition to the public schools, the city contains 33 religious and 
private schools, two business colleges, a training school and Butler 
University at Irvington, a suburb of Indianapolis. 


The temperature at Indianapolis compares well with that of any 
other part of the country, as will be seen from the following table 
showing the average temperature by months for four years ending 
J.inuary 1st, 1889: 

For } 

\ Jan. 



Apr. j May. 



AtjQ. Sept. 




1 " 










The highest temperature during that period was upon July 30, 
1886, when the thermometer showed 108.8, and the lowest on January 
10, 1886, it being 15 below zero on that day. In 1885 the direction of 
the wind was from the south-west and the rainfall was 39.51 inches; in 
1886 and 1887 the wind was south, the rainfall for the former being 
V;.88 and 33.08 for the latter, and in 1888 the wind was from the north- 
west with 41.36 inches rainfall. Statistics further show that droughts 
and excessive rainfalls are exceptional. 



That Indian- 
apolis is pre- 
eminently a 
healthy city is 
by comparison 
of the city's 
mortality re- 
ports with those 
of contempor- 
aries. They 
show Indianap- 
olis as the 
healthiest city 
in the United 
States with two 
possible excep- 
tions, namely : 
and Denver. 
This gratifying 
fact is due in 
part to natural 
advantages in 
respect to local- 
ity, the absence 
of diseases that 
can be charged 
to the climate 
or are. indigen- 
ous to the country, to efficient sewage, pure water and to other 
causes the presence of which are promotive of good health. The 
diseases prevalent are either hereditary, brought to the city by the 
incoming population, or owing to excesses, and even these are an 
infinitesimal percentage of the population as shown by the death 
rate, which was 15.62 in 1,000 during 1886; 14.54 in 1887 and 14 and a 
fraction in 1888. In 1887 there was an epidemic of scarlet fever, 
diphtheria and measles. The total number of these cases reported 
was 3,673 and the total number of deaths 146. 

It will be seen by the foregoing summary of the features and 
attractions of Indianapolis, that they are of metropolitan proportions, 
and that there are concentrated here all the varied institutions and 
advantages which contribute to make the city a desirable location 
for business or residence. 

Natural Gas in Indianapolis and the State. 


HE discovery of natural gas in Indiana was made 
first at the little town of Eaton, in Delaware County, 
about three years ago. From the date of that discovery 
il^ ^^^^-^ 11 prospecting and developing has been going steadily for- 
fc^^^^^^^Sill ward. Up to this date 380 gas wells have been sunk in 
the State, 75 per cent, of which have been gas bearing wells. The Indi- 
ana gas field embraces 3,500 square miles, or about two million square 
acres, and if one well was sunk on each 100 acres of gas land, it would 
require twenty thousand wells to exhaust the field. The development 
thus far made shows that gas underlies the greater part of the counties 
of Hamilton, Hancock, Madison, Delaware, Blackford, Tipton, Howard 
and Grant, as well as one-half of the counties of Henry, Randolph, 

Jay, Clinton, Aliami, and Wabash, the last named counties being on 
the rim of the gas field. This field extends into the State of Ohio and 
connects with what is known as the Findlay gas field in that State. The 
southwest rim of the field runs to within five miles of the city ol 



Indianapolis and extends to the north, to the east, and to the north- 
east about one hundred miles. The approximate jjeojjraphical center 
of the field is ton miles north of Anderson, in Madison County. The 
avera<;e amount of gas beint; put out by each of the 380 wells now- 
flowing in Indiana is estimated at two million feet per day. If the 
wells were all flowing their full capacity it would show that there is 
being drawn from the Indiana field about seven hundred and sixty 
million (760.000,000) feet of gas each twenty-four hours. It is safe, 
howe\er, to say that the output is not more than fifty per cent, of the 
full capacity of the wells, or say 380,000,000 feet per day. The dur- 
ability of the gas in this field is largely a matter of speculation. Taking 
the reduction in rock pressure that has already occurred in the wells 
that have been in continuous use for two years, the extent of the 
continuous field requiring 20,000 wells, one for each 100 acres of gas 
land in the field, and the fact that less than 400 wells are now flowing 
in the State, it is fair to say that no perceptible diminution in the supply 
will occur in Indiana in the next twenty years. The great bulk of the 
gas now being drawn from the field in the State is taken from the rim of 
the field, and it is therefore likely that the reduction in pressure has been 
more rapid from wells thus situated than it would be from the stronger 
wells in the center of the field where there is greater thickness to the 
gas-bearing trenton rock. The city of Indianapolis is as well supplied 
with natural gas 
for fuel to-day as 
any city in ihe 
country. There 
are now four nat- 
ural gas compa- 
nies engaged in 
supplying gas for 
fuel to the resi- 
dents of the city. 
Gas Trust Com- 
pany has now 120 
miles of mains, 
which are connect- 
ed with 30 wells. 
Their whole ex- 
penditure to date, 
for leases, sinking 
and piping wells, 
and laying main 
line and piping 
the city, amounts 
to ?i, 300,000. The Indianapolis Natural Gas Company has now 80 
miles of mains, which are connected with 25 wells. Their whole 
expenditure to date, for leases, sinking and piping wells, laying 
their main line and piping the city, has been The 
liroad Ripple Natural Gas Company has now 20 productive wells, and 
has laid 30 miles of pipe at an expenditure of about ?3oo,ooo. The 
Consumers' Trust Company have 12 miles of 16-inch mains, six miles 
of 12-inch mains, and six miles of lo-inch mains. The Indianapolis 
Company has 22 miles of 12-inch mains, and the Broad Ripple Com- 
pany 14 miles of 8-inch mains, leading from their respective gas fields 
to the city. The whole number of miles of main or supply pipe, laid 
by all the companies from their respective fields to the city, is 50. 
The money invested by all the companies in supplying gas to this 
date is ^2, 500,000. The whole number of consumers of every charac- 
ter being supplied up to this date is about 1 1,000. The capital em- 
ployed in the construction of these lines has been mainly local capital. 
The companies have all borrowed, on bonds, certificates of indebt- 
edness and notes, more or less money, but the capital invested is 
Indianapolis capital. With some slight exceptions, and at short 
intervals, the factories of Indianapolis have all been supplied by these 
companies with gas for fuel, and as a rule the factories pay for gas 
fuel about 50 cents to the dollar of the cost of the cheapest coal fuel. 
The result has been that of the 40 coal dealers who were conducting 
a profitable trade one year ago, all but five or six who do a wholesale 
trade, have closed up and retired from business, and every factory in 
the city is saving more than 50 per cent, of their former cost of fuel, 


and have added these savings, amounting to each factory of from 
52,000 to Sio,ooo, to the profits of their business. Notwithstanding 
this great saving, which is now adding rapidly to the profits of 
manufacturing and to the growth and population of the city, yet a 
movement has been inaugurated to supply fuel gas free to the man- 
ufacturers in the city and vicinity. The Manufacturers' Natural Gas 
Company has been incorporated with a capital stock of Ji, 000,000, 
which is being rapidly subscribed, and which will certainly be suc- 
cessful in time to complete the line during the present year. The 
plan of this company is to lay a 16-inch main around the Belt Rail- 
road, and supply this line with gas by two or three smaller lines from 
the main gas fields, and allow factories located on land, the owners of 
which have contributed to the construction of the line, to tap the same 
and receive free gas for the factory. This Belt Road encircles the 
city, and connects with all the railroads entering the city, and fac- 
tories located on this belt are placed in shipping communication with 
the 16 railroads with no expense for switching to the manufactory. 
When this line is fully supplied with natural gas fuel, to be given free 
to factories, it will have no rival in the world as a profitable location 
for manufacturing. The manufacturers throughout the country who 
desire free fuel and unequalled shipping facilities, are invited to cor- 
respond at once with the president of the Manufacturers' Natural Gas 

Company, from 
whom all informa- 
tion can be ob- 
tained. The city of 
Indianapolis i s 
now the 20th in 
population of the 
cities of this coun- 
try, having fully 
1 25,000 population. 
It has already 
more than 1,000 
factories with an 
annual output of 
over J6o,ooo,ooo. 

There are now 
but eight cities in 
the country lead- 
ing Indianapolis 
in extent of manu- 
facturing. The 
factories of Indi- 
anapolis are sell, 
ing their output throughout all the States of the country and in many 
foreign countries and it is a remarkable fact that not one factory has 
failed in business in Indianapolis in the past 10 years. The great 
majority of them have built up from small beginnings. They were 
not subsidized to start, and have not forced their business faster than 
the demand for their goods was received. The Manufacturers' 
Natural Gas Company, which is to supply gas free for fuel for all 
factories in the city, is certain to succeed. The construction of this 
great reservoir or pipe line, 16 inches in diameter and 15 miles long, 
encircling the city completely and kept constantly supplied with an 
abundance of gas for any and all factories that are now here as well 
as all that may come here, will soon place Indianapolis to the front in 
the extent of her manufacturing industries. The indirect benefits 
resulting to the city of Indianapolis from the great increase of the 
manufacturing business in the gas field is now being perceptibly felt. 
The making of gas fuel free at Noblesville, Anderson, Muncie, 
Marion and Kokomo has almost doubled the population of these 
towns already and they are all more or less tributary to commerce of 
the city of Indianapolis. As a railroad center the city has few equals, 
having 16 completed lines, connecting in the State with 100 other 
lines, all landing their passengers in one magnificent new Union Depot, 
from which 120 passenger trains arrive and depart daily, carrying a 
daily average of 25,000 passengers. From nearly every county shown 
on the map, embracing all of Indiana and a large part of Ohio and Illi- 
nois, persons may come and go in a day, and the population thus 
made tributary to the trade of the city is over 1,200,000. 




These railroads are all connected for freight purposes with one 
Belt Road and union tracks and magnificent stock yards. Over 
5,000 freight cars pass daily over this Belt Road, and from 300 to 500 
car-loads of stock are handled daily at these yards, which do a larger 
business than the yards of St. Louis, Cincinnati or Louisville. The 
line of this Belt is rapidly filling up with large manufacturing estab- 
lishments, which obtain, without e.xpensive switch charges, direct 
connection with all the railroads entering the city, the switch charges 
on the Belt being only one dollar per car. 

In consequence of the railroad connections, and large field for 
trade, the city has always been a good location for merchandising. 
Many merchants have amassed fortunes and retired from this field, 
while few have failed. The city has over 300 wholesale and jobbing 
houses, and over 1,000 doing a retail business in the various lines of 
merchandise. The sales for the past year at wholesale are estimated at 
nearly §40,000,000. The people of the tributary country being compara- 
tively free from debt, there have been few bad debts made, and the 
business has been very remunerative. Our city is believed to have 
the most successful wholesale street in the country. In many depart- 

ments the city has the largest and most complete retail stores to be 
found in America, and there is little, if any, occasion for our people to 
go away from home to do shopping, while hundreds come from neigh- 
boring cities daily to attend the numerous conventions held here, and 
while here make their purchases. 

There has never been any systematic booming of the city of 
Indianapolis. What she is to-day and whatever she is likely to be in the 
future is the result of plain, substantial business methods. The growth 
of the city in the past two or three years has been simply wonderful; 
not a day but some new comer from the east or from the out-towns 
in the State takes up his permanent abode here. There is no city 
anywhere that is more beautiful, healthful and inviting as a place of 
residence. There is no smoke emerging from chimneys, and the 
white and delicate tints are being placed upon even the business 
houses, and the great comfort and economy resulting from the general 
introduction of natural gas has made the city so attractive that the 
thousands who yearly seek new locations are now steadily drifting our 
way, and the census of iSgo will give Indianapolis a population very 
close to one hundred and fifty thousand. 


HE transportation facilities available at Indianapolis 
are not surpassed by those of any inland city in the 
world, unless it may be Chicago. They have been 
intimately associated with the city's growth and devel- 
opment. Capital, instead of being cautious, sought 
investments of this character with confidence in the future of 
Indianapolis as a railroad center. The result is that a railroad system 
is in operation here of the largest magnitude, controlling an almost 
unlimited mileage. Every scheme of railroad enterprise in the State 
has either originated at Indianapolis or designated that city as its 
terminus, and corporations, organized elsewhere have made the city 
either their objective point or inirlude it upon their route. By means 
of the system now in operation here, the city is placed in immediate 
communication with every section of the country from the Atlantic to 
the Gulf, from the Dominion of Canada to the Mexican Republic, the 
number of competing lines creating a rivalry which finds expression 
in facilities for the carriage of passengers or freight reasonable and 
abundant. The original system consisted of eight roads, embracing 
the Madison & Indianapolis, the Bellefontaine, the Terre Haute & 
Indianapolis, the Indianapolis & Lafayette, the Indiana Central, the 
Indianapolis Junction, Peru & Indianapolis, and the Indianapolis & 
Vincennes. Other roads followed in rapid succession until the present 
system was established and is constantly appreciating the value and 
importance of the city as a railroad center. 

The following railway lines now enter Indianapolis: 

Jefferson, Madison & Indianapolis; Indianapolis to Louisville, Ky., 
1 10 miles. 

Terre Haute & Indianapolis, Vandalia Line; Indianapolis to St. 
Louis, 240 miles. 

Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati & Indianapolis; Indianapolis to 
Cleveland, O., 283 miles. 

Cincinnati, Wabash & Michigan; Indianapolis to Benton Harbor, 
Mich., 201 miles. 

Cincinnati, Indianapolis, St. Louis & Chicago; Cincinnati to Indian- 
apolis, no miles; Indianapolis to Kankakee, 139 miles; Kankakee 
to Chicago, 53 miles. 

Chicago, St. Louis & Pittsburgh; Columbus to Indianapolis, 188 
miles; Indianapolis to Chicago t'/a Kokomo, 194 miles. 

Lake Erie & Western; Indianapolis to Michigan City, 161 miles. 

Indianapolis & Vincennes; Indianapolis to Vincennes, Ind., 117 

Cincinnati, Hamilton & Indianapolis; to Cincinnati, 123 miles. 

Ohio, Indiana & Western; Indianapolis to Peoria, 111., 212 miles; 
Indianapolis to Springfield, O., 140 miles. 

Indianapolis, Decatur S; Western; Indianapolis to Decatur, III, 
153 miles. 

Indianapolis & St. Louis; Indianapolis to St. Louis, 261 miles. 

Louisville, New Albany & Chicago; Indianapolis to Chicago, 183 
miles; Indianapolis to Cincinnati, 123 miles; Indianapolis to Michigan 
City, Ind., 154 miles. 

The following table shows the number of trains, regular and special, 
arriving at the Union Depot in 1888, also number of coaches handled: 

Januarj- . . . 
February- . . 






August — 
October.. . 
November . 

Total . . 









































An average of 112 trains per day throughout the year. During the 
same period the total movement of cars, passenger and freight, num- 
bered 1,057,835, being 66,449 'sss than in 1887, owing to the scarcity of 
rolling stock. 


The Union Railway Company was organized in 1850, and the old 
L^nion Depot completed in 1853. On September 20, 1883, it was incor- 
porated and re-organized under an agreement entered into between 
the Chicago, St. Louis & Pittsburgh; Jefferson, Madison & Indianapolis; 
Cincinnati, Indianapolis, St. Louis & Chicago; Terre Haute & Indian- 
apolis, and Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati & Indianapolis companies, 
each company owning a one-fifth interest in the enterprise. Soon after 
the new organization was perfected bonds to the amount of $1,000,000 
were issued to erect the new Union Depot, for which ground was 
broken in November, 1886, and the structure completed during the 
fall of 1888. A description of the building will be found elsewhere. 
The affairs of the company are directed by a board consisting of one 



mcmticr from each of the proprietary companies, supplementary to 
which is a board of managers composed of one each from the 
proprietary and association companies. Tlic monthly expenses of the 
new depot are made up and pro-rated among the companies recipient 
of its privileges on a train basis, the charges against the Belt Road 
being assessed upon a mileage basis. 


The Belt Line was re-organired in 1876 for the purpose of 
leasing its road and terminal facilities in the city and vicinity to other 
companies for the 
carriage of freight, 
also to afford sites 
for the building of 
factories along its 
line at reasonable 
prices. In 1882, the 
Union Railway Com- 
pany leased the fran- 
chise for 999 years at 
an annual rental 
equal to si.\ per cent, 
of the appraised val- 
uation of the same. 
The company's 
tracks connect with 
the Cincinnati, Indi- 
anapolis, St. Louis 
and Chicago Road, 
northwest of the city, 
extending also to 1., 
B.&W.; I.D. &\V.; 
I. & St. L. and T. H. 
& I. on the south and 
southwest; thence to 
the Stock Yards, 
thence south and 
east to the J., INL & I.; 
C, I., St. L. & C, and 
C.,St. L.& P. tracks; 
on the north it con- 
nects with the tracks 
of the C, C, C. & I. 
and the I., B. & W. 
Roads, and on the 
west with the tracks 
of the L. E. & W.; 
L., N. A. & C, and 
the Chicago division 
of the C, St. L. & 
P. roads, leaving a 
space north of the 
city two and one 
quarter miles be- 
tween its tracks. 
The company owns 

and operates i4/,?o miles of track, six miles of which are double, 
also six miles of siding and ten locomotives. The business handled 
is that usually handled by prixate corporations for their own account, 
the charges being upon a mileage basis and one dollar for each car 
moved without respect to distance. As an encouragement to the loca- 
tion of factories along its Hnes, the company is prepared to build 
switches from their main tracks to the doors of factories at the bare 
cost of labor and materials. During the year 1888 the Belt Road 
handled a total of 600,130 cars, 58,818 being handled on switches lead- 
ing to manufactories located on its line, of which number 27,352 were 
loaded cars, also handling 40,110 car-loads of live stock. The Belt 
Road practically makes the railroad lines centering at Indianapolis one 
line, and offers induccinents, particularly to manufacturers, in its 
facilities for prompt shipments, unrivalled by any city in the United 

In addition to the foregoing it should be stated that extensive car 
shops belonging to the Pennsylvania system, the " Bee Line," the "Big 
Eour," Indianapolis, Decatur and Springfield, and Indianapolis, Deca- 
tur and Western, arc located in the immediate vicinity and give 
employment to an aggregate of 2,500 hands. 


The street railway service of Indianapolis is conducted on the 
same liberal and comprehensive plan characteristic of public and 
private enterprise, for which the city long since became pre-eminent. 

The first street rail- 
way here was oper- 
ated along Illinois 
street in 1864 ; this 
was the beginning of 
the present extended 
and invaluable sys- 
tem. During 1865, 
the franchise, with 
its equipments, right 
of way, appointments, 
etc., was disposed of 
to W. H. English 
and others, from 
whom it was subse- 
quently purchased 
by the Messrs. John- 
son, who in turn dis- 
posed of it to C. B. 
Holmes and J. C. 
Shaffer of Chicago, 
during January, 1889, 
tor a consideration 
of gl, 500,000. The 
system embraces 14 
separate lines, cov- 
ering a total of 60 
miles of trackage 
and extending 
throughout the city 
in every direction, as 
also to the surround- 
ing suburbs, cars 
leaving the corner of 
Washington and Illi- 
nois streets for their 
various termini every 
ten seconds during 
the day. The com- 
pany employs 250 
cars, 500 men and 
1000 horses in the 
service, and run on 
schedule time. The 
fare is five cents, en- 
titling passengers to 


transfer tickets over any of the company's lines. 

The Union Railway Station that occupies the site of the old union 
depot was completed in 1888 at a cost of more than 51,000,000. It is 
the finest structure of its kind in the United States, and except the 
State House, the most conspicuous public building in the State. The 
main edifice is of brick with stone trimmings and dressings, elabo- 
rately finished and otherwise a model of elegance. It is 150 feet 
square, three stories high with mansard roof extension and sur- 
mounted by a lofty tower, the summit of which is visible to residents 
of all portions of the city and the surrounding suburbs. The main 
floor contains elaborately furnished sitting-rooms for the convenience 
of passengers waiting the arrival and departure of trains and all 
modern equipments are provided for their comfort and accommo- 



dation. The upper stories are used for railroad offices. East and 
west of the main building are baggage rooms, also of brick, in 
dimensions 25x150 feet each and two stories high. The train shed is 
of iron and brick, extending a distance of 740 feet east and west and 
l8g feet in width. It is provided with nearly two miles of trackage 
and contains every facility and equipment known to the service. A 
totai of no trains and upward of 10,000 passengers are estimated to 
have arrived and departed from the Union Depot daily during 1888. 

The city is in every respect situated admirablyfor the purposes of 
a great railroad center, its centrality to a rich productive region for 
agricultural and manufactured commodities, live stock, lumber, etc., 
supplying an amount of tonnage far in excess of that usual to cities of 
the same size. The comprehensive railroad system of the city has been 
an important factor toward securing the steady increase in population 
and wealth which has been a marked characteristic of the city's 
history, and its completeness furnishes every facility for extended and 
constantly augmenting growth. 


The rates of freight from Indianapolis to Eastern points are lower 
than from any point on the same meridian. The same may be said with 
reference to freight rates to points West, North or South. And while 
the inter-state law has proved disastrous to some cities, its operations 
have served to confirm the advantages enjoyed here in regard to 
location, the presence of competing lines, and in other particulars. 
The following tables show the rates from Indianapolis to the below 

designated points, in effect April i, i 





t: a 

a s 



£ ° 


93 per cent, of rates from 
Chicago to 













iBt class, per cwt 








2il •' " 

66 V4 







3(1 " " 


46 Vi 

41 '/j 

44H ■ 




4th " " 

37 '/4 







5th " " 








6th " " 








The rates to Southern points, the same as from Cincinnati, are as 
follows, according to Southern Railway and S. S. Association classifi- 






Port Huron, 

Baton Rouge, 

New Orleans, 





2d " " 


3d " " 


4th " " 


5tli " " 


6tli •' " 


A " " 


B " " 


C " " 


D " " 


E " " 


H " ■' 


F " " 


To Texas and Arkansas points Louisville rates prevail, which are 
ec|ual to St. Louis rates, plus the following arbitraries: 








5 I A 







The following are the rates from Indianapolis to : 

Cincinnati .. 
Louisville . . . 
Clevehind . . . 




E. St. Louis . 




































From the foregoing it is apparent that the merchants, manufacturers 
and shippers of Indianapolis enjoy the most substantial advantages in 
the matter of freight rates. 


I.VXES in Indianapolis for municipal purposes are lower 
than those of any city of equal population in the 
country, those for educational purposes being the 
largest, and the total corporate tax amounting to but 
ninety cents per gioo valuation, with an equal amount 
for State, county, township, library, special and road repair support, 
combined. The valuation of property for 1887 was 550,485,620, and 
that for 1888 551,960,535; the total assessment was as follows, both 
years it being the same: 





























.06 '/s 




The city budget for the year 1888 was as follows: Police, 561,883.12; 
fire department, 582,457.19; lighting the city, 565,602.82; interest 
account, 566,572.40; salaries of city officials, 532,973.54; street improve- 

ments, openings and repairs, 557,127.01 ; water rent, 534,675.27; sewers, 
511,643.25; hospital, 522,571.99; town hall, 54,340.81; Illinois street 
tunnel, 54,670.40; health, 52,850.62; cisterns, 52,029.43; fountains, 
5573.40; insurance, 5117.50, and 529,739.79 for all other expenses, 
making a total of 5479,777.54. 

The bonded indebtedness of the city amounts to 51,905,500, and a 
floating debt of Si 10,000. Five hundred thousand dollars of the 
bonded debt was incurred by the city's loaning its credit for that 
amount to the Belt Line road, to secure which the latter issued bonds 
and mortgages for a like amount, with interest at the same rate as 
that paid by the city, payable fifteen days before the interest on the 
city bonds becomes due. The city's assets, consisting of the school 
property, worth 51,500,000; fire department buildings and equipments, 
5350,000; parks, 5500,000; Tomlinson hall and city markets, 5200,000; 
tunnel, 550,000; police equipments, 510,000; water and gas equipments, 
51,000,000, etc., shows the city owning nearly Si,6oo,ooo in excess of all 
liabilities, and as financially reliable as the most exacting could 

The Jobbing Trade. 

SHE jobbing trade of Indianapolis nates its inception 
back more than thirty years. Prior to that period, 
small sales of goods may have been made by houses 
here in connection with their regular business, but no 
special efforts were made in this field of commercial 
endeavor, until late in the fifties. In 1857 A. & H. SchnuU sold 
considerable invoices of groceries in bulk to be sold by the purchasers 
at retail. In 1S60, some dry goods were disposed of to jobbers in those 
lines. In 1862, Wright, Bates & Maguire engaged in jobbing and 
later Andrew Wallace. Those mentioned are the pioneer jobbers of 
Indianapolis, but it was not until about 1870 that the jobbing trade 
may be said tohavc been fairly commenced. From such a beginning, 
there has been a steady and substantial growth, not only in the 
original lines but in other branches of trade, until the annual trans- 
actions amount to millions where they formerly were limited to 


The growth of the business is attested by the rapid increase in the 
number of houses thus engaged. The panic of 1873, while it produced 
no particularly disastrous effect, was not without results depressing, 
if not discouraging, and it was not until 1876 that the reaction set in. 
Since that year, the houses have become numerous, now numbering 
more than two hundred, employing upward of six hundred travelers, 
and making total sales which in 1888 aggregated $38,430,000 in value. 


When the jobbing trade was first undertaken by merchants of 
Indianapolis, the business now controlled from here was in the hands 
of merchants of other cities, principally Chicago and Cincinnati. 
Much of this territory has been gradually acquired by Indianapolis, 
in addition to that secured by the development of unsettled sections as 
also of that once included in the limits of other markets. Beginning 
with a territory of the most limited dimensions, the jobbing trade of 
Indianapolis now controls the State, portions of Illinois, Ohio, Michi- 
gan, Kentucky, as far south as Tennessee, besides in special lines 
considerable territory west of the Missouri River. The trade is 
reported satisfactory in every particular; especially is this the case in 
the facilities enjoyed here for the prompt acknowledgment and ship- 
ment of orders. And while it is represented by an exceptionally 
varied class of houses, there are yet fields for enterprise that might 
be advantageously occupied. The opportunities for openings are 
worthy the attention and investigation of capitalists seeking invest- 
ments for their money, and every encouragement and aid will be 
offered new comers, by citizens and the Board of Trade. 


The importation of goods by Indianapolis merchants and manu- 
facturers during 1888 was quite extensive. Those received were 
valued at $306,700, upon which duties amounting to $133,986.12 were 

The accompanying table does not show the total amount of sales 
made, or the capital invested in the various lines represented by the 
jobbing trade, but those only of houses principally engaged in the 
lines to which they are credited For example, all jobbing grocers 
carry seeds in stock, but their sales in this line are not included in 
the sales of two exclusively seed houses which amount to $175,000; 
and many goods not enumerated are embraced in more important 
lines. For instance, guns, willow ware and surgical instruments 

being included in the hardware, grocery and drug lines respectively; 
it should also be added that the operations of jobbers in grain, live 
stock and ice were received too late for publication in the present 
edition of the Industries. 



Agricultural Implements 


Barbers' and Dental Supplies 

Boots and Slioes 

Builders' Material 

Canned Goods, Oysters and Fisii ... 

China, Glass and Queensware 

Cigars and Tobacco 


Coffee, Spices and Baking Powder. 

Commission (Produce.) 



Dressed Beef 


Dry Goods 

Flour and Feed 


Hardware and Iron 

Hats and Caps 

Hides and Pelts 


Leather and Findings 




Notions and Toys 


Rags and Iron 

Railroad Supplies 

Roofing Slate 

Roofing Material 

Rubber Goods 





Tinners' Supplies 

Tobacco Leaf 



Total 600 S339 l$10,027,000 $38,430,000 










































$ 425,000 









































FOB 1888. 















. 1,500,000 



























For the purpose of exhibiting the volume of the business in dis- 
tributive lines carried on in the city there can be no more valuable 
method than the particular mention of the more prominent firms, 
which have contributed to and continue to promote the importance of 
Indianapolis as a trade center. For this purpose the notices which 
follow have been prepared, and will be found to contain valuable 
information in regard to the history, growth and present status of 
many of the leading mercantile establishments of the city. In the 
aggregate, they exhibit a gratifying activity in nearly every branch 
of distribution. In detail, the houses which have been selected, 
while the list is not claimed to be exhaustive of all the meritorious 
firms, will be recognized as representative of the best elements of the 
business life of the city, and worthy exemplars of its commercial 





Wholesale Dry Goods and Notions, 97 and 99 South Meridian Street, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34 and 36 E. Georgia Street (annexed). 

This, the oldest and most important jobbing dry goods and notion 
house in the State, has for more than twenty years maintained the 
highest position in the esteem and confidence of the trade, steadily 
retaining its supremacy through the several changes of title and 
interest occurring in this period and surviving the decline or retire- 
ment of various competitors in this and adjoining markets. Con- 
centrating their energies in the prosecution of the business and 
limiting the employment of their resources to its constantly widening 
field, their present ample capital and assured financial position have 
been acquired by no doubtful methods, but are the direct result of 
prudent and attentive business methods, combined with a broad spirit 
of commercial enterprise. As noted above, Messrs. Murphy, Hibbeh 
& Co. occupy the premises numbered 97 and 99 South Meridian street, 
a five-story stone trimmed brick building, to which are annexed in the 
rear the five brick stores numbered 26 to 40 East Georgia street; 
these are connected with the main building by a large tunnel in the 
basement and convenient bridges on upper floors, affording in their 
entirety more than double the space employed by any similar business 
in the State. The merchandise offered in the various departments 
includes all desirable lines required in a first-class modern store, cov- 
ering a wide range of foreign and domestic dry goods, notions, hosiery, 
white goods, linens, woolens, floor oil cloth, hemp carpetings, mounted 
window shades, overalls, working shirts, jeans and cassimere pants of 
their own manufacture, etc. Liberal use has been made by the firm 
of the facilities for direct importation offered by the Indianapolis 
Custom House, as evidenced in recent reports of the collector, and as 

distributors they have attained an enviable position with some of the 
best known foreign manufacturers, enabling them to compete with 
any market on the class of goods brought out. Special attention has 
been given to the products of western and southern mills, with the 
most encouraging results, as both the consumer and the trade hold 
these lines in constantly increasing favor. Messrs. Murphy, Hibben 
& Co. control in the territory the general lines as well as special 
fabrics manufactured by "The Tennessee M'f'g Co.," Nashville, Ten- 
nessee, brown cottons, shirtings, grain bags, cotton batting, etc.; 
" Eagle and Phoenix Mills,'' Columbus, Georgia, heavy, medium and 
light weight cottonades ; •■ IVIIssissippi Mills," Wesson, Mississippi 
— capital over $1,500,000 — jeans, super -extra doe -skins, flannels, 
tweeds, flannelettes, cheviots, cotton and woolen knitting yarns, sew- 
ing thread, etc., etc.; "Springfield Cassimere Mills," Springfield, Illinois, 
cassimercs, suitings, etc.; "South Bend Woolen Mills," South Bend. 
Indiana, cassimeres, skirtings, yarns, etc.; " New Albany Hosiery Mills." 
New Albany, Indiana, hosiery, yarns, etc.; "Seymour Woolen Mills." 
Seymour, Indiana, blankets, yarns, flannels, etc.; "Janesville Cotton 
Mills," Janesville, Wisconsin, sheetings; '■ Sibley Mills," Augusta^ 
Georgia, plaid shirtings; -'Sea Island Mills." warps, sheetings and 
bleached cottons; "Haw River Mills," Haw River, South Carolina, 
checks, stripes and shirtings, etc., etc. The wide acquaintance of the 
house and its well known reputation for solidity and fair dealing place 
it as a representative of the best element of commercial character 
and activity, and the firm is conceded to stand at the head of the 
strictly jobbing interests of tUe city. 




Griffith Brotlners— Wholesale Millinery, Importers and Jobbers. — This firm is representative in the broaaest and truest sense, and 
the house is prominently known to the trade in every direction, and its position and influence are substantial and powerful factors in the 
development of Indianapolis's prosperity. 

Krull & Jenkins— Wholesale Dealers in Candies, etc., 21 and 
23 West Maryland street.— In 1888, Albert Krull, who had been for 
sixteen previous years connected with the wholesale confectionery of 
Daggett & Co., embarked in the same line of business on his own 
account, and in 1889 the present firm was formed. Both are men of 
experience in this special field, and the firm is rapidly acquiring prom- 
inence and commercial importance. They are located in a building 
50x50 feet in size, admirably equipped for the transaction of business. 
They carry large and varied lines of candies, nuts, chewing gum and 
flavoring extracts, all carefully selected and of the best quality. They 
employ a force adequate to the demands of the trade, which is steadily 
appreciating in volume and value in the city and vicinity, and this 
house holds a leading and enviable position with patrons and the public. 

Hoover & Gamble— Miamisburg, O., Manufacturers of 
Excelsior Harvesting Machinery; Milton Daily, General Agent, No. 6 
Chamber of Commerce.— The firm of Hoover & Gamble have works 
located at Miamisburg, O., where they were established in 1836. 
and which have since advanced from small beginnings to a position 
of prominence and importance second to no similar undertaking in 
the United States. They employ a large force of operatives in the 
manufacture of machinery generally, making specialties, however, of 

the Excelsior No. 8 Steel Folding Binder, and binder twine. The 
former is pronounced by experts to be the newest, neatest, most 
simple, strongest and best binder in the world. The binding attach- 
ment is original, as also are the main frame and gearing, and because 
thus differing from all other harvesters and binders, and because of 
its conspicuous merit in contrast with other machines, is not in ordi- 
nary competition. The same may be said of their Excelsior No. 2 
Mower. Their binder twine is made from the best quality of manila 
and sisal fibre, extra strength and clear stock, and which, in addition 
to being even and strong, is insect proof and subjected to the severest 
tests before being offered for use. All of their manufactured articles 
are equally superior in materials, workmanship and capacity for 
durable service. The Indianapolis branch of the enterprise has been 
in charge of Milton Daily since 1881, the demand for the machinery 
of the Excelsior make in Indiana, Illinois, Western Minnesota and 
Dakota being supplied from this city. He occupies premises 25x80 
feet in dimensions for office purposes, also warerooms and repair 
shops adjoining of similar proportions, shipments of machinery being 
made generally from the works direct, and all orders being piomptly 
and satisfactorily filled. He employs /rom five to ten traveling sales- 
men, and does a large trade throughout the territory included within 
his jurisdiction. 



McKee & Co.— Wholesale Dealers in Boots, Shoes and Rubbers, 
93 and 95 South Meridian street. — Among the leaders in the wholesale 
boot and shoe trade of Indianapolis is the firm of McKee & Co., com- 
posed of Edward L., J. Robert and Robert S. McKee. The house 
was first established in 1S61 by \^mnedge, Jones & Co., subsequently 
becoming Jones, Armstrong & Co., Jones, McKee S: Co. in 1879, and 
adopting the present style upon the death of Mr. Jones, in January, 
1888. They occupy four floors, well arranged and appointed, and 
provided with every convenience for the display, sale and shipment 
of their large and full lines of stock. Their goods are the products of 
the most reliable eastern manufactures, including the output of a 
factory at Lynn, Mass., in which they are largely interested, and the 
product of which they practically control. They handle boots and 
shoes for men, women, misses, youths and children, in leathers of the 
best quality, made up in the latest styles of the prevailing fashion and 
embodying beauty of design and finish, superior workmanship, comfort 
and durability. They are also sole agents here for the Boston Rubber 
Shoe Co., an organization of established reputation; also of the Lycom- 
ing Rubber Co. (Limited), and carry full lines of rubber boots, shoes, 
etc., in great variety and attractive assortment. They employ seven 
travelers and a full force of clerks and assistants, and do a large and 
constantly increasing jobbing trade throughout Indiana, Illinois and 
Ohio. The house is leading and representative in commercial circles 
and a valuable factor in the development of prosperity in the city and 

Browning & Son— Dealers in Drugs, Medicines, Etc., 7 and 9 
East Washington street, Apothecaries' Hall. — The oldest, largest and 
finest stocked and equipped drug emporium in the State, and one of 
the oldest west of the Alleghenies, is that of Browning & Son. It was 
established by David Craighead nearly fifty years ago, and was for 
some length of time carried on under the firm name of Craighead & 
Browning. In 1854 Robert Browning succeeded, and in 1864 G. W. 
Sloan was admitted as a partner, and during 1886 the present firm, 
composed of Robert Browning and Robert C. Browning, was formed. 
The senior member of this firm has been a partner in the enterprise 
almost from its establishment. The firm occupies the main floor, 
basement and fourth floor of Apothecaries' Hall, 40x150 feet, and also 
a two-story annex, 40x80 feet in dimensions, extending back to Pearl 
street, which is used for warehouse purposes. The firm carry full 
stocks and complete lines of the purest and freshest of drugs and 
chemicals, proprietary medicines, druggists' sundries, physicians' 
supplies, surgical instruments, hospital appliances, paints, oils, dye 
stuffs, fancy glassware, etc. — in fact everything kept in stock by a 
first-class drug house. They deal at wholesale and retail, and the 
superiority of their goods and honorable methods employed in their 
transactions have acquired tor the house a high and firmly established 
reputation. They employ a force of fourteen experienced pharma- 
cists and assistants, besides two traveling salesmen, and do a large 
jobbing business throughout Indiana, in addition to their large whole- 
sale and retail trade in the city and vicinity. 

Schnull & Co.— Wholesale Grocers, Coffee Roasters, Etc., 62, 
64, 66 and 68 South Meridian street. — The largest and most influen- 
tial wholesale grocery house in the State, is that of Schnull &; Co. 
It was founded in 1855 by A. & H. Schnull, the commercial pioneers 
of Meridian street. Upon the organization of the firm they purchased 
and demolished a church edifice at the corner of Georgia and Merid 
ian streets, upon the site of which they erected the first business 
block on Meridian street. They subsequently purchased two resi- 
dences adjoining their place of business, which they also demolished, 
building in their stead the business block occupied by the present 
firm. In addition to these improvements, and solely with a view of 
making Meridian street the trade center of the city, they purchased 
all the available property in their vicinity, which was re-sold on 
reasonable terms, the purchasers stipulating that the improvements 
to be made thereon should be for business purposes only. The result 
is that Meridian street is the leading wholesale street in Indianapolis, 
and is such through the enterprise and foresight of the Schnull 
Bros. Shortly after the war. the firm dissolved, Albert Schnul' 

returning to Europe and the head of the present firm becoming the 
founder and president of the Merchants' National Bank, also estab- 
lishing a cotton mill. The Eagle Iron Works, and other manufactur- 
ing industries. In 1868 he became a partner in the wholesale grocery 
house of Severn, Schnull & Co. He disposed of his interest in that 
concern during 1872 to Mr. Ostermeyer, and securing the interest of 
Mr. Over, of Over & Krag, established the firm of Schnull & Krag, 
which continued in operation until December, 1888, when G. A. 
Schnull succeeded to the Krag interest, and the present firm was 
organized. The premises consist of a four-story and basement build- 
ing, 70x200 feet, with an annex to the rear, also four stories high, and 
25x100 feet in dimensions. The house is provided with improved 
elevator and telephone service, also with every convenience for the 
display, sale and shipment of goods. The annex is occupied for the 
roasting and grinding of coffee and the compounding of spices. It is 
equipped with the latest improved machinery and appliances, and 
nothing is left to be desired that will contribute to promote the quan- 
tity and quality of the output. Their specialties are cigars, and 
among other brands, their " Schnull's Fumas " is especially popular — 
over 1 ,000,000 having been sold in 1888. It is a clear Havana filler and 
conceded to be the best five cent cigar in the market, which they job 
very extensively. Their coffees are also in great demand all over the 
west and northwest; their lines of staple and fancy groceries, 
including every description of articles handled by a first-class grocery 
house, supplying the trade throughout Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, 
Ohio and in States more remote. They employ from 30 to 40 assist- 
ants and seven traveling salesmen, and their business amounts to 
hundreds of thousands of dollars in value annually. The growth of 
the house has been remarkable, but not disproportionate to the enter- 
prise and liberality displayed in its management. The senior mem- 
ber of the firm, in addition to the undertakings with which he is con- 
nected, is one of the heaviest real estate owners in the city; his 
present holdings including the Occidental Hotel block, part of the 
Schnull block, the Meridian street business block, and many other 
properties in the residence and commercial portions of the city. 

A. Kiefer & Co. — Wholesale Druggists, 72 South Meridian 
street.— This business was established in 1866, by Kiefer & Vinton, by 
whom it was conducted until i87i,when Mr. Kiefer became sole owner 
and so continued until January, 1884, when W. H. Schmidt was 
admitted, forming the present firm. They occupy a double store, four 
stories, 50x100 feet in dimensions, at 72 South Meridian street, and a 
two-story warehouse, 40x100 feet. They carry large and assorted 
stocks of drugs and chemicals, proprietary medicines and compounds, 
druggist's supplies and sundries, medical and surgical instruments, 
paints, oils, brushes, artists' supplies, perfumeries, soaps, etc. They 
have also a special department for cigars which is stocked with ex- 
tensive lines of imported Havana, also with Key West and other 
favorite domestic cigars. They make specialties of Brown's Expec- 
torant for coughs and colds, Taraxine for the liver, Lyon's Kozothium, 
an infalliable remedy for baldness, and Deming's Discovery, of which 
they are sole proprietors and manufacturers, and which are sold 
through jobbers and the trade in all parts of the country. They em- 
ploy from 35 to 40 competent chemists, clerks and salesmen and six 
travelers and do a large trade in the city and State, as also in portions 
of Illinois and Ohio. Messrs. Kiefer and Schmidt are members of the 
Board of Trade, and representative citizens and merchants, and their 
house is in high standing with the trade. 

Dickson Storage & Transfer Co.— Storage, Transfer and 
Warehousing, 170 South Pennsylvania street.— This company, com- 
posed of H. B. Dickson and L.Dickson, was established in 1 887. They 
occupy the two lower floors of the block above located, each 100XJ15, 
also the two upper floors of the same block, each 165x115 feet in 
dimensions. The premises are fitted up with large elevators, railroad 
tracks to enable the rapid and safe handling of freight and its transfei 
without exposure to the weather, and are provided with other facilities 
and conveniences necessary to the efficiency of the service and the 
secure warehousing and protection of consignments. They make a 
specialty of storing and carrying stock for agricultural implement and 


Tin-: errv of Indianapolis. 

wagon inamifactiiring establishments, and t .my the stock of twelve 
such bouses, besides acting as ajjenls for the 1 lockinjjX'allcy Manufac- 
turing Company, engaged in the production of agricultural implements 
at Lancaster, (Ihio, also for The Kish Bros.' «agon factory of Racine, 
Wisconsin, and carry full lines of the output of each. This branch of 
the business is managed by II. H. Dickson, who was for seventeen 
years one of the most successful salesmen in the employ of The Oliver 
Plow Co., the remaining departments of the enterprise being directed 
by his son and partner, L. Dickson, for many years a conductor on 
P., F. W. & C. R. R., prior to embarking in the present undertaking. 
In addition to these special hnes, they do a general storage business 
for all descriptions of commodities not explosive, including furniture, 
pianos, etc., handling supplies in the most careful and systematic 
manner and upon the most reasonable terms. They enjoy special 
advantages in low rates of insurance, a reduced transportation tariff 
and otaer inducements, and their business is managed according to 
the most honorable and approved business principles. They employ a 
force of from eight to ten warehousemen and their trade is drawn 
from all points tributary to Indianapolis and vicinity. 

Pearson & Wetzel — Importers and Jobbers in China, Glass 
and Queensware, 119 and 121 .South Meridian street. — The establish- 
ment of the house of Pearson & Wetzel, dates back to 1882, and 
the firm is composed of Charles B. Pearson and Henry Wetzel. They 
are among the most extensive dealers in china, glass and queens- 
ware in the city. In 1887 their present store was erected and taken 
possession of by the firm. The building is one of the handsomest on 
the street. It is four stories in height, with a frontage on Meridian 
street of 50 feet and a depth of 200 feet, well appointed and supplied 
with all modern improvements. They are the sole agents in Indian- 
apolis for Johnston Bros.' granite ware, of Hanley, England, in which, 
as also in all other imported and domestic stocks, they make a very 
fine display. These latter include china, glass and queensware, of 
the most celebrated manufacture; stoneware from the best-known 
potteries, chandeliers, lamps, kerosene fixtures, table and pocket 
cutlery, plated goods, fruit jars, flasks, prescription vials, etc., etc. 
They employ a large and experienced staff of assistants, including five 
traveling salesmen, and minister to the wants of an extensive trade 
in Indiana, Illinois and Ohio. 

Hays Bros.— Wholesale Boots and Shoes, 56 South Meridian 
street. — This firm, which was organized in July, 1887, is composed 
of Joseph Hays and L. E. Hays. In 1871, Mr. Joseph Hays began 
business here as a retail boot and shoe dealer, and for many years con- 
ducted operations with a success that annually became more and more 
pronounced and prosperous. Deciding to extend their field of opera- 
tions and usefulness, they embarked in the wholesale trade at the date 
above stated, and have since devoted their attention to that depart- 
ment of the business, for which they enjoy superior facilities, including 
a branch house in the same fine at 105 Bedford street, Boston, Mass. 
The premises occupied in this city consist of a four-story and basement 
brick structure, 25x125 feet in size, equipped with every modern con- 
venience, and furnishing commodious accommodations for the storage 
and display of the large and varied lines they carry in stock. These 
embrace the best makes of ladies', misses', children's, men's, youths' 
and boys' boots and shoes, selected with care from the products of 
leading eastern manufactories, and enjoying a deserved reputation for 
their material, finish and durability. They give employment to a full 
staff of clerks and assistants, including three traveling salesmen, and 
are constantly adding to their trade and influence throughout Indiana, 
Ohio, Illinois and Kentucky. The Hays Bros, are enterprising and 
experienced men, and their "new departure" has acquired prominence 
among the representative business houses of Indianapolis. 

F.C. Huntington Co.- Seed Merchants, 78 .and 80 East Market 
street.— This establishment was founded in 1880, by J. F. Mendenhall 
& Co., to whom the present management succeeded in August, 1886. 
They occupy a two-story and basement building, 30x100 feet in 
dimensions, well appointed for the storage and protection of stock, 
and the filling and shipment of orders. They cairy heavy stocks 

and full lint's of agricultural, horticultural and garden seeds, em- 
bracing a total of more than 2,000 varieties, also delicate roots, plants 
and flowering shrubs, in addition to special varieties of flowers 
indigenous to the tropics and peculiar to European cultivation. They 
also handle garden tools of every description, and fertilizers of 
the best quality, and issue, quarterly, a 25,000 edition catalogue 
of their stocks, beautifully illustrated and printed, which is mailed 
free to customers, dealers and cultivators in all portions of the country. 
No house in the business enjoys better advantages for securing the 
most desirable commodities and they do a large trade in the city and 
State, besides supplying patrons in every section of the United States, 
with special seeds, bulbs and plants. 

Kothe, Wells & Bauer — Wholesale Grocers; 128 and 130 
South Meridian street. — An important recent addition to the whole- 
sale grocery trade of Indianapolis is the house of Kothe, Wells & 
Bauer, composed of George Kothe, late of the large insurance house 
of Richardson & Kothe, William Kothe, Jr., Charles W. Wells and 
George Bauer, and which was organized in January, 1889. Previous to 
that date, Mr. Kothe, Jr., had been for eleven years a traveling sales- 
man lor the grocery house of SchnuU & Krag, with whom Mr. Wells 
and Mr. Bauer had also been similarly engaged, the former for fifteen 
and the latter for nine years. The continued experience and large 
acquaintance and connections thus acquired eminently qualify these 
gentlemen for the same line of work for this house, which they will 
undertake, assisted by Messrs. James Blizzard, W. J. Griffin and 
Frank Blount. The firm is located in the heart of the wholesale 
trade district, where they occupy a handsome four-story building, 
35x150 feet and containing all modern facilities and improvements for 
the storage, display, sale and shipment of stock and the transaction of 
business. They carry full lines of staple and fancy groceries, making 
specialties of teas, coffees and sugars of the choicest grades and 
varieties. In their department of fancy groceries they include canned 
and potted meats, fruits and preserves, sauces, pickles, spices, baking 
powders, etc., also handling the best brands of smoking and chewing 
tobaccos and cigars, with other articles appertaining generally to the 
business. The house is already acquiring an important line of trade 
throughout Indiana and adjoining territory. The members of the 
firm are men of enterprise and business ability, and the affairs of the 
house are conducted upon liberal and honorable methods. 

D. S. Morgan & Co.— H. E. Rose, General Agent, Manu- 
facturers of Triumph Harvesting Machinery, No. 8 Cleveland Block. — 
The establishment of D. S. Morgan & Co., at Brockport, N. Y., w-as 
founded in 1844, completing in that year the first practical reaper built 
in the world. Since then improvements have been perfected in rapid 
succession until they now manufacture the latest and most improved 
grain harvesting implements of the kind known to the trade. In 1882 
the company was incorporated with the main office and factory at 
Brockport, and agencies throughout the United States, Canada and 
Europe. The premises occupied cover a very large area, upon which 
have been built machine shops, moulding rooms, wood working shops 
setting up and paintmg departments, etc., fully equipped with the latest 
improved ir .civ .jry and appliances and ample warehouse accommo- 
dations and shipping facilities. An immense force is employed, and 
the annual output is of corresponding magnitude. Their products 
embrace the "Triumph" Steel Frame Folding Binder No. 8, different in 
construction from any other binder, the only practical folding binder on 
the market, made of steel, sm.^ie and durable, easily handled and 
efficient in operation; the "Triumph" Mowers, cutting a swath of from 
four feet three inches to five feet wide, for one or two horses; binders 
in wood or steel frames, cutting from five and one-half to six and one- 
half foot swathes, and other machinery, embodying more points of 
excellence in materials, lightness of draft, perfection of work and 
durable wear, than any other mower ever invented. The present 
officers of the company are D. S. Morgan, President; George H. Allen. 
Treasurer; E.T.Lamb, Secretary; H.S. Madden, Manager of Agencies 
with H. E. Rose General Agent for the State of Indiana. The latter 
assumed charge of this territory in 1884. He occupies handsome offices 
and is provided with exceptionally complete facilities for fully meeting 



the requirements of the trade in this State, which, under his fostering 
care, has steadily grown. He is prepared to fill orders with the least 
delay for the company's supplies, machinery, etc., and extra parts for 
them, shipping same securely packed and by the most expeditious 
route. He also furnishes catalogues, price lists and other valuable 
information, and is well known and highly esteemed in all portions of 
the State for the liberal and honorable methods that characterize his 
management of the business. 

Hollweg & Reese— Direct Importers of China, Glass and 
Queensware, 84, 86 and 88 South Meridian street. — The largest, best 
stocked, and most elegantly equipped china, glass and queensware 
jobbing house in the State of Indiana, is that of Hollweg & Reese 
located as above. Mr. Louis Hollweg, who established the business 
in 1868, is the only surviving partner, Mr. Charles E. Reese being 
deceased. The firm occupies a handsome five-story and basement 
building, 75x130 feet in dimensions, as salesrooms and office, and the 
two adjoining buildings, each four stories high and 40x120 feet in 
dimensions, are used for the storage of heavy stock, the packing and 
shipment of goods, etc. The premises are equipped with every 
facility for the accommodation of the trade. They handle very heavy 
stocks, chiefly the products of the most famous European potteries, 
of which they are direct importers, embracing Limoges, Dresden, 
Carlsbad, and other celebrated chinas; Enghsh, French, Belgian, 
Hungarian and Bohemian glassware, in crystal, cut and colors, and 
are agents for Meakin's ironstone china, made in Staffordshire, Eng- 
land. They also carry full lines of the choicest American manufac- 
ture of white and decorated wares, American glassware, lamps of 
every description in glass, porcelain, pottery, etc., plain and decorated, 
lamp goods, supplies, etc., novelties, ornaments, bric-a-brac, etc., of 
the finest quality. Their stocks are carefully selected and they are 
prepared to fill and ship orders promptly. They employ fourteen 
travelers and a force of competent clerks, and their trade extends 
throughout Indiana, Illinois, Ohio and Kentucky. 

Geroe.Wiggins & Co.~Wholesale Produce and Commission, 
43 and 45 South Delaware street.— One of the leading houses engaged 
in the commission business in this city, is that of Geroe, Wiggins & 
Co., which was estabhshed many years ago and is composed of W. 
B. Geroe, T. P. Wiggins, J. C. Bigelow and William Kiefaber. They 
occupy a basement and two floors, each 25x120 feet in dimensions, 
well appointed and equipped with all available conveniences for the 
display, sale and storage of consignments, and provided with a com- 
plete and efficient shipping service. They handle large quantities of 
foreign and domestic fruits, vegetables and country produce generally, 
received direct from importers and producers, and enjoy superior 
advantages for quick sales and prompt returns, owning similar estab- 
lishments at Cincinnati, Dayton and Toledo, which are distributive 
points for the trade within the territory contiguous and dependent 
upon those cities as their source of supplies. The firm solicit con- 
signments, and are prepared to furnish patrons with all information 
with reference to the demand for their special lines of commodities 
the condition and fluctuations of the markets, and other points of 
value. They employ a large force of assistants and their operations 
for account of customers are handled judiciously, closed up without 
delay and immediate returns of the proceeds made to consignors. 
The house is widely known for its honorable business methods, and 
its efficiency and enterprise have made it a substantial and reliable 
factor in the trade of Indianapolis. 

M. O'Connor & Co.— Wholesale Grocers, 47 and 49 South 
Meridian street.— Mr. M. O'Connor, the principal of this firm, has 
been an active and influential resident of IndianapoUs for over 21 
years, establishing his present enterprise in 1876. The firm occupies 
a handsome and well equipped four-story and basement building, 
35x200 feet in dimensions, at one of the most available corners in the 
wholesale trade section of the city. They carry large stocks and 
complete lines of staple and fancy groceries, selected with care and 
purchased from first hands. These embrace teas, coffees, and sugars 
of the best quahties, spices, baking powders, canned goods, potted 

meats, preserves and fruits, smoking and chewing tobaccos of the 
most celebrated manufacture, imported and domestic cigars, sub- 
stantials and delicacies of every description and in general assortment, 
pure and fresh and in all respects suited to the demands of an 
exacting class of patronage. Their supplies in every department are 
unsurpassed for their uniform superiority and high standard of excel- 
lence, and the enterprising methods which characterize the manage- 
ment of the house place it in a leading and prominent position. All 
orders are filled promptly and shipped securely, and the business of 
the house is annually increasing in volume and value. The Messrs. 
O'Connor & Co. employ a large force of assistants, besides six travel- 
ing salesmen, and do a large trade throughout Indiana and along the 
borders of Illinois and Ohio. 

Gordon, Kurtz & Co.— Wholesale Saddlery Hardware, 128 
and 130 South Meridian street.— Among the leading concerns, doing 

an exclusively whole- 
sale trade in tne lines 
of saddlery hardware 
is that of Gordon, Kurtz 
& Co. The firm is com- 
posed of Irving S. Gor- 
don and William E. 
Kurtz, and in 1877 suc- 
ceeded the firm of J. S. 
Gordon & Co., organ- 
ized in 1872. They are 
located in a three-story 
and basement building, 
25x200 feet in size, per- 
fectly equipped and 
appointed, furnished 
with the Reedy elevator 
and other conveniences, 
and supplied with all 
modern facilities for the 
display, storage and 
shipment of goods. 
They carry full lines of 
stock, embracing every 
article of utility or ornament appertaining to saddlery hardware, and 
control the output of establishments manufacturing horse-collars. 
They also handle saddlers' tools and supplies of every description, 
and of the best make. Prompt attention is paid to all orders, par- 
ticularly to mail orders, the firm being prepared to make shipments 
to all points at the shortest notice, while they offer the best induce- 
ments in quality and price. They employ a large staff of clerks, 
assistants, etc.; also five traveling salesmen, and supply a large local 
demand, besides doing a large trade in Indiana, Ohio, Illinois and in 
territory more remote. The members of the firm are public spirited, 
and the firm is in every respect reliable and representative. 

Newark Machine Co,, of Columbus, O .—Manufactu- 
rers of Agricultural Implements, Indianapolis Office, No. 3 Masonic 
Temple. — This company, one of the most influential organizations 
engaged in the manufacture of clover huller and straw stacking 
inplements in the world, was established at Hagerstown, Md., 
in 1877. The plant was removed to Newark, O., in 1881, and on 
July 27 of that year the company was incorporated, with a capital 
stock of 1400,000. Their success was complete, and, during 1883, they 
declared a stock dividend of 25 per cent, and paid a cash dividend of 
eight per cent. In 1884, the works, warehouses, etc., were destroyed 
by fire with a loss of over a quarter of a million of dollars. The 
plant was then removed to Columbus, O., where the old " Gill Car 
Works " buildings have been since occupied, and will be retained 
until the company can secure a desirable location and erect works 
adapted to their requirements. Their specialties are The Victor 
Clover Huller, The Victor Manure Spreader and The Imperial Straw 
Stacker. The former, with patent seed cleaner and bagger, is con- 
ceeded to be the best equipped, most efficient, durable, economical. 



profitable and satisfactory machine of its kind, and inisurpasscd fcir 
rapidity of work, simplicity of construction, .ability to save seed, pre- 
vent waste and to handle damp, wet and tough clover seed. Over 
900 machines were sold in |8<SS, and there are now between 4,000 and 
5,000 in use throughout the Stales and Territories, and over 900 have 
been sold in this State alone. The manure spreader is the only one 
made that can be attached to the running gear of an ordinary farm 
wagon and can also be used without such aids. It is made in four 
sizes, holding from 31 to 45 bushels according to the size, gnuluated 
so as to spread from si.\ to 35 loads per acre, evenly distributed, and 
enabling the tendrils and shoots to benefit by the compost. It com- 
bines economy in [iricc, lightness in draft, simplicity and durability, 
and is the only perfect machine of the kind manufactured. The 
Imperial Straw .Stacker is equally reliable, effective and satisfactory. 
It saves from five to seven men's labor every hour it is in operation, 
and w-ill deposit more straw in a stack, of a given height, than any 
other stacker made. These specialties are manufactured exclusively 
by the Newark Company, which also includes in their output, fanning 
mills, corn shellers, cutting boxes and other agricultural implements. 
Their market is the world; the shipment of stock requiring trains of 
25 cars each to transport from Columbus to all points in the United 
States. Their prices are low and the superiority of their products is 

Kentucky copper distilled whisky, including all the favorite brands 
of Anderson and Nelson Counties, noted for their purity, volume and 
medicinal properties. In addition to these, they carry in full supply 
Monongehela and Kentucky rye whiskies, California wines and Dran- 
dies, imported French brandies, champagne, claret, madeira, port, 
sherry. Burgundy and Rhine wines, Holland and English gins, cordials, 
etc., in great variety and of superior fjuality. They are prepared to 
respond to all orders promptly and their relations with producers and 
importerj are such that they are able to offer unsurpassed induce- 
ments to customers. They employ two travelers and a force of assist- 
ants, and do an increasing trade throughout the city and State, in 
which their wide experience and honorable dealings long since pro- 
cured for them an enviable reputation. 

A. Booth Packing Co. — Oysters. Fish and Canned Goods, 40 
North Illinois Street. -The A. Booth Packing Company is the largest, 
most perfectly equipped and best appointed enterprise engaged in the 
packing and shipping of oysters, fish, canned goods, etc., in the world. 
It was established at Chicago in 1S50, by A. Booth. The firm sub- 
sequently became A. Booth & Sons, and in l S87 was incorporated with 
a paid up capital stock of $1,000,000. They have branch houses at 
Chicago, Denver, St. Paul, Baltimore, Kansas City, St. Louis, Louisville, 


attested by gold and silver medals awarded by the Cotton Exposition, 
Southern Exposition, Cincinnati and Chicago Expositions, as also 
from the State Fairs and Agricultural Societies of every State in the 
Union. The Western agency of the company has been, since 1882, 
in charge of E. L. Williams as general manager, who includes within 
his territorial jurisdiction the State of Indiana, and portions of Illinois, 
Kentucky and Michigan, giving employment to from eight to ten 
salesmen, and doing a large and increasing trade with dealers and 
farmers in all directions. To his ability and enterprise the large trade 
of the company, in the territory controlled by him, is in n^ small 
degree due. The company's officers are: J. P. McCune, President; 
F. J. Picard, Vice-President; F. S. Wright, Treasurer; J. M. Knodle, 
Secretary, and J. M. Kailer, General Superintendent. 

H. Sweeney & Co.— Wholesale Dealers in Pure Copper Dis- 
tilled Kentucky Whisky, 212 South Meridian street. — H. Sweeney c& 
Co. began operations here in 1874, continuing in the trade until 1885, 
when Mr. Sweeney abandoned the field to engage in other pursuits, 
but resumed his present business in November, 1888. The firm occupy 
a handsome three-story and basement brick building, 25x120 feet in 
dimensions, and equipped with every convenience and facility for the 
transaction of business. They handle very extensive lines of pure 

Omaha, Duluth, Minneapolis, Bayfield, Escanaba, IManistique, New 
Orleans, Port Arthur, Canada, and Astoria, Oregon. The headquarters 
are at Chicago, from which and other points they send out the largest 
fleet of fishing vessels on the lakes. At Astoria, Oregon, they conduct 
an immense establishment devoted to the canning of salmon, also an 
equally extensive canning depot at Chicago, with very commodious 
refrigerating capacities there and at Winnipeg, Manitoba, for the pres- 
ervation of their commodities. They also own and operate very large 
oyster beds at Baltimore and New Orleans, and their annual business 
inall lines foots up millions in value. The Indianapolis branch is under 
the management of Mr. C. E. West, who, prior to taking charge of 
this branch, had been connected with the company for two years at 
their Minneapolis branch, and is intimately familiar with the business 
and the requirements of the large trade. The local branch occupies 
the basement and main floor, each 25x100 feet in dimensions, with a 
fish and oyster packing house in the rear, recently completed, 25x75 
feet, provided with a freezer of five tons capacity and accommodations 
for the canning of oysters and other facilities for the advantage ot 
the service. In this department they handle upward of 1,000 gallons 
of oysters and 1,000 pounds of fish per diem. Mr. West also includes 
under his manageinent a retail branch of the business at the corner 
of Delaware street and Massachusetts avenue. Their lines of 



supplies embrace Oval Brand, Diamond Brand and other well known 
brands of oysters, salmon, canned and fresh, salt and fresh water fish 
and bivalves, dehcacies, etc., in the same hnes, pure, fresh and sweet, 
and enjoying a reputation for their superior qualities in all parts of 
the world, where, particularly in England, France, Germany and the 
United States, they have received the highest medals and awards over 
all competing displays from houses similarly engaged. 

The Spray Medicine Co.— C. R. Crow, General Manager, 
No. 23 West Circle street. — This company was organized in i885 for 
the purpose of enabling the public throughout all portions of the 
United States to avail themselves of the benefits of " Minnehaha 
Spray," a recent medical discovery for the purification of the blood, 
and the cure of other diseases, and which is declared by chemists and 
the afflicted to be of unsurpassed efficiency and value. Their head- 
quarters are in this city, with branches at St. Louis and St. Paul, and 
agencies in all the leading cities of this country and Canada. The 
" Spray " is a vegetable compound, warranted to contain no iron, 
iodide, potassium, opiates of any character and no mercury in any 
form whatever, but two of the finest nerve foods known to scientific 
development. It infallibly cures all primary and secondary forms of 
blood diseases, dyspepsia and stomach disorders, ulcerated sore 
throat, insomnia, hysteria, nerve diseases, catarrh, headache, neu- 
ralgia, etc., acting powerfully on the mucous coatings, rousing up the 
torpid liver, promoting perfect digestion and thorough assimilation of 
food, restoring lost vitality and otherwise assisting nature to perfectly 
renew the system. The medicine is tasteless, being put up in 
capsules, 50 in each box and sold by agents only, at Si.oo per box. 
Mr. C. R. Crow, the general manager of the company and to whose 
enterprise and efforts the introduction and popularity of the " Spray " is 
largely due, is located as above, where he occupies handsomely fitted 
up offices. He carries large stocks of the specific, in which he deals 
exclusively, and is prepared to ship medicines to any part of the United 
States either by mail or express. He employs four travelers and sup- 
plies a steadily increasing demand throughout the North, South and 
West, as far as Washington Territory. The virtues of the " Spray " 
are attested by 9,000 references in St. Paul and other cities where its 
reputation has already become established, and the honorable and 
liberal management of Mr. Crow has contributed to secure the 
deserved prominence and prosperity enjoyed by the enterprise here 
and elsewhere. 

L. L. Norton — Jobber of Watchmakers' Tools and Materials, 
Dueber Cases, Hampden Movements, Trenton Watches, Roll Plate and 
White Metal Chains, Silk Guards and Welch Clocks, No. 14 Hubbard 
Block, 12 South Meridian street.— The business conducted by L. L. 
Norton, that of jobbing in watchmakers' tools and materials, Welch 
clocks, Trenton watches, Dueber cases and Hampden movements, 
roll plate and white metal chains, was established by that gentleman 
in 1886, and now enjoys a monopoly of the trade in those lines, being 
the only house in Indianapolis making them a specialty. He occupies 
premises 20x50 feet in dimensions, attractive and well appointed and 
supplied with every facility and convenience for the business. His 
range of stocks embrace watchmakers' tools and materials, rolled plate 
and white metal chains, jewelers' sundries and supplies and novelties 
in great variety. His stocks are imported direct from Europe and are 
the products of the leading manufactories both there and in America. 
They are unsurpassed in their lines in the West and every effort is 
made by Mr. Norton to meet the demand of the trade. He employs 
a competent force of assistants, including one traveling salesman, and 
does a large and steadily increasing trade throughout the city and 
State, and in portions of Illinois, Ohio and other States. 

Bradley, Holton &Co.— Manufacturers of Agricultural Imple- 
ments, 177, 179 and 181 East Washington street. — This company was 
incorporated in 1886 as successors to the David Bradley Manufactur- 
ing Company, located here during 1880, as a branch of the same con- 
cern having its headquarters at Chicago, where the manufacture of 
their products is still carried on, giving employment to several hundred 
operatives. At the date of the ihcorporation under the laws of Indiana, 

there was no material change made in the membership, Mr. David 
Bradley remaining President of Bradley, Holton & Co., with J. Havly 
Bradley, Vice-President, and W. B. Holton, Secretary and General 
Manager. The premises occupied embrace a three-story and base- 
ment brick building with 50 feet front on East Washington street and 
extending back 200 feet to commodious premises fronting on Pearl 
street, and utilized for warehouse and shipping purposes. They carry 
very large stocks and an endless variety of agricultural implements, 
including The Bradley and other patterns of culdvators. The Bradley 
Self Dump and other hay rakes, plows of every description and for 
every purpose, from those for breaking up the prairie to those intended 
for the most delicate work, harrows, drills, cotton planters, farm and 
church bells, etc., etc., of their own manufacture. In addition to these 
productions, they carry very extensive lines of corn planters and 
shellers, the Eagle hay, straw and fodder cutting boxes, corn, wagon, 
and sack elevators. The Bradley mowers, cider mills, corn and cob 
mills, steam engines and generators, buggies, carriages, phaetons, sur- 
reys, buck-boards and business wagons, spring, delivery, milk and 
farm wagons, and other implements, tools, conveyances and appliances 
adapted to agricultural use. They fill orders and furnish information 
in the most prompt and satisfactory manner. The quality of their 
goods, their low prices and honorable methods have secured for them 
precedence over competing houses in the same lines, among the agri- 
cultural communities and dealers of the West, Northwest and South. 
They employ twenty assistants and six travelers, and from Indian- 
apolis supply a very large demand throughout Indiana, Ohio and 

Chas. M. Raschig — Importer and Dealer in Cigars and 
Tobacco, 21 East Washington street. — This is one of the oldest houses 
in its line in the city, having been established by Mr. Charles M. 
Raschig in 1856, and for nearly a third of a century has been success- 
fully conducted. He occupies the main floor and basement, each 
25x100 feet in dimensions, at the above site, handsomely fitted up and 
attractively appointed and also owns and manages the cigar stands in 
the Grand Hotel and the Hotel English. His specialties are the " C. 
M. R.," a five-cent cigar that has met with an almost unparalleled 
demand, for the sale of which he is sole agent; the Raschig No. 21, 
Seidenberg & Co.'s "La Rosa Espanola," and other fine ten-cent cigars, 
in addition to carrying heavy stocks and full lines of Havana cigars, 
which he imports direct, his selections including a dozen of the leading 
brands; Key West and other domestic makes of cigars, cigarettes, 
etc., together with the best qualities of smoking and chewing tobaccos, 
meerschaum, briar and other pipes, and smokers' articles and novelties 
in great variety. His stocks are large and complete, and orders are 
filled promptly and at the lowest market prices. Mr. Raschig does a 
large and steadily increasing jobbing trade in the city and vicinitv, 
and the house is regarded as a leading and representative one. 

Taylor & Smith — Manufacturers and Dealers in Leather, 
Findings, Belting, Hose, Packing, Etc., 137 and 139 South Meridian 
street. — One of the representative houses in the metropolitan city of 
Indianapolis, is that of Messrs. Taylor & Smith, manufacturers and 
dealers in leather, findings, shoe store supplies, belting, hose, packing 
and all kinds of rubber goods used for mechanical purposes. This 
is a very old business concern, one of the oldest in the city, having 
been established in 1858. The present proprietors, Messrs. William 
A. Taylor and William H. Smith, have been connected with the house 
for over 20 years. Both gentlemen are well and favorably known to 
the trade, are widely experienced in the business, have ample facili- 
ties, and give to the business, in all its details, their close' personal 
attention. The firm occupies a substantial three-story brick building 
with a handsome stone front, located at Nos. 137 and 139 South Mer- 
idian street, where may be found a full and complete stock of goods. 
Special attention is given in all of their various departments, to secur- 
ing the best grade of goods, and it is a matter of particular attention 
with this firm to see that all goods sent out by them shall be fully 
satisfactory as to quality. Messrs. Taylor & Smith are the sole agents 
in Indiana and Eastern Illinois for Messrs. Mooney & Sons' celebrated 
oak tanned harness leather, for which they have an extensive sale 



in this and adjoining States. They are also largely cnj^aKcd in the 
nianufacturc of i hestnut oak tanned leather beltinK, orders for 
which thev are prepared to till on short notice. I'or many years this 
firm has had the sole agency in Indiana of the Boston Belting Com- 
pany, of Boston, Mass., widely known as one of the oldest 
and most extensive manufactories of rubber goods for mechanical 
purposes, including belting, hose, packing, etc. A full line of thr 
manufactures of this company is carried by Messrs. Taylor & .Smith, 
who invite correspondence with parties who sell or use this class of 
goods. The gentlemen composing this firm are to be congratulated 
upon the large measure of success already attained, and upon the 
material value of their establishment to the city of Indianapolis. 

The Bowen-Merrill Co. Importers and Publishers, Jobbers 
of Books, Papers, Etc., i6 and iS W. Washington street.— This company, 
which was incorporated in 1885, was the consolidation of the business 
~* i of the old es- 

1B00KS&: stationery; 

tablished firms 
ofBowen,. Stew- 
art & Co., and 
Merrill, Meigs 
iS; Co., houses 
that had their 
origin in this 
city over fifty 
years ago. The 
company is of- 
ficered as fol- 
lows; Silas T. 
Bowen, Presi- 
dent; 'Samuel 
Merrill, Super- 
i n t e n d e n t ; 
Charles D. 
Meigs, Jr., Sec- 
retary and Wil- 
liam H. Elvin, 
Treasurer, who 
m a n a g c and 
direct the 
largest jobbing 
house in their 
They occupy 
one of the 
hand somest 
business edi- 
fices in the city, 
comprising a 
four-story and 
basement iron 
front building, 
40 X 150 feet, 
appointed and 
equipped with 
all requisite fa- 
cilities and appliances, and owned by the President of the company. 
Their printing, binding and other mechanical work is done elsewhere, 
owing to lack of room. Their specialties are law books, embracing 
the codes, digests, statutes and reports of the various States, as well 
as elementary works. Sabbath school records and publications, class 
books, blank books, etc., appropriate to every department of com- 
merce, manufactures or trade. They carry very extensive stocks of 
paper of every description, including wrapping, printing, commercial, 
legal and note, stationers' and druggists' sundries and office supplies 
generally, in great variety and of the best quality. The affairs are 
administered according to a most liberal and judicious policy, and its 
history has been that of progress and prosperity. A staff of fifty 
assistants and eleven travelers is employed and their trade is through- 

out the United States, in Canada, England and Continental Europe, 
and even to Australia and British India. 

Mullaney & Hayes -Wholesale Liquor Dealers, 123 South 
Meridian street.— The firm of Mullaney & Hayes is composed of 
P. J. Mullaney and Thomas Hayes, and was organized in 1872. Since 
that date, they have carried on a successful business, annually 
increasing in volume, and constantly extending their field of operations. 
The premises occupied consist of a four-story building, 25x130 feet in 
dimensions, containing superior accommodations for the sale, display 
and storage of stock, and equipped with the fullest complement of 
conveniences for shipping. Their specialty is " Mullaney & Hayes' 
Old Crow Bourbon," a very superior brand of hand-made sour mash 
whisky, made specially to the order of the firm, and enjoying a wide- 
spread and well merited reputation for body and purity. They also 
carry extensive lines of the most celebrated make of Kentucky, 
Pennsylvania and other American brands of Bourbon and rye 
whiskies (free and in bond), fine imported brandies, gins and liquors, 
foreign and American wines, cordials, etc., and other articles adapted 
to the business, which they sell at the lowest prices consistent with 
quality. They employ a large staff of clerks and three traveling 
salesmen, and do a large business in the city and throughout the 
State, which territory is closely covered. The members of the firm are 
enterprising, public-spirited merchants and citizens, whose liberality 
and fair dealing have acquired for the house a substantial popularity 
and valuable patronage. 

A. B. Gates & Co. — Wholesale Fancy Grocers, Coffee Roast- 
ers and Spice Grinders, 31 and 33 East Maryland street. — The firm of 
A. B. Gates & Co. are successors to the firm of A. B. Stevens & Co., 
who began operations here during 1862. In 1871 the present firm, 
composed of A. B. Gates, H. B. Gates and W. N. Gates, was organ- 
ized, and purchased the interest of the former firm, and since that 
date the affairs of the establishment have been managed with ability, 
productive of gratifying returns. They occupy a three-story and base- 
ment brick structure, 40x1 10 feet in size. The office and salesrooms 
are on the main floor, the upper stories being used for storage pur- 
poses. To the rear of the salesroom, from which it is separated by a 
ten-foot alley, are the spice mills, occupying a three-story building, 30XQO 
feet, of brick, and equipped with all necessary machinery and appli- 
ances for the manufacture of spice and the roasting of coffee, driven 
by an engine of forty horse power. Their specialties are baking 
powder, roasted coffees and ground spices, all of their own preparation. 
They also carry extensive and select lines of fancy groceries, embrac- 
ing canned goods, fruits and preserves, potted meats, sauces, reUshes, 
pickles and dainties, foreign and domestic, of the best manufacture 
and unsurpassed purity. They employ a force of twenty-three clerks 
and salesmen, and do a large wholesale trade throughout the State, 
their baking powder especially being in demand in all parts of the 
United States. The Messrs. Gates are natives of Indiana and pio- 
neers in the business in which they are engaged. They are members 
of the Board of Trade, and their enterprise, equitable dealings and 
liberal terms haxe promoted their house to a front rank. 

Wiles, Coffin & Co. -Wholesale Grocers, 71 and 73 South 
Meridian street. — This house was founded during 1863 by the firm of 
Jay, Cox, Fitzsimmons & Co., becoming Conley, Wiles & Co. in 1865, 
subsequently Wiles, Coffin and Smith, and in 1878 Wiles, Cofifin & Co., 
composed of Messrs. William D. Wiles and David W. Coffin. The 
premises occupied by the firm consist of a four-story building, 30x160 
feet in dimensions, thoroughly equipped and appointed for the accom- 
modation of the trade, containing commodious sample rooms for the 
display of the lines of stocks carried, a handsome suite of offices for 
the transaction of business, with storage capacity and shipping facili- 
ties ample and complete. They handle every description of staple 
and fancy groceries, including teas, sugars, coffees, spices, delicacies, 
canned goods, fruits and preserves, cigars, tobaccos, etc. They 
are prepared to fill and ship orders without delay, and the quality of 
their goods, their reasonable prices and liberal terms, have ever com- 
mended them to a liberal patronage. They employ six travelers and a 



full force of clerks and assistants, and cover closely Indiana and the 
adjoining States. The members of the firm are energetic, representative 
men of business and enterprising citizens, and the house possesses a 
merited reputation for its honorable methods continued throughout 
its career of over a quarter of a century. 

Johnson Paper Co. — General Paper Dealers, 127 South 
Meridian street. — The Johnson Paper Company was established in 
1886 by John W. Johnson, who at that date purchased the old estab- 
lished house of Hubbard & Anderson, and has since owned and man- 
aged the business. He occupies a commodious four-story building 
25x100 feet in dimensions, fully equipped and furnished with accommo- 
dations and appointments adequate to the business. He carries large 
and varied supplies of all kinds of commercial and wrapping papers^ 
twines, etc., as well as paper bags, of which he carries four different 
lines, embracing 35 seperate styles or sizes. He employs a large staff 
of clerks and three traveling men, and his trade extends over Indiana, 
Illinois and Kentucky. He also does an extensive and extending 
local trade, especially in paper bags. Mr. Johnson is an experiencea 
man in this business, and attends personally to the affairs of the con- 
cern, and his enterprise is a deservedly prominent and prosperous one. 
It is one of the leading in the State and its value as a factor of com- 
mercial development and importance is well attested by the large and 
annually increasing patronage that is being acquired by the house. 

J. C. Perry -Wholesale Grocer, 26, 28 and 30 West Georgia 
street. — This house was founded by Wright, Bates & McGuire in 1862. 
During i86g the firm became J. E. Robertson & Co., and in 1874, 
Robertson & Perry, so continuing until January, 1888, when Mr. Perry 
succeeded to the sole ownership and management, directing the 
operation and details of a very large and valuable business. He 
occupies a conveniently arranged structure, four stories in height, 
50x200 feet in dimensions, and supplied with all necessary improve- 
ments and facilities. He carries very extensive and comprehensive 
lines of staple and fancy groceries and grocers' supplies, imported 
and domestic, besides cigars and tobaccos of the best manufacture. 
Great care is taken in the selection of stock to obtain only the best 
grades and qualities, and this fact, together with the prices at which 
they are sold, and the liberal methods employed by the house in all 
its operations, have secured a large and firmly established trade 
throughout Indiana and Illinois, also in considerable portions of Ohio 
and Kentucky, besides an extensive trade in Indianapolis and vicinity. 
Mr. Perry's merited success is due to his enterprising management 
and faithful care of the interests of his patrons. 

Elder & Harmon — Agents for all kinds of Farm Implements, 
67 West Washington street. — This firm, composed of James M. Elder 
and Willard Harmon, was organized during the latter part of 1887. 
Both members had been for years previous engaged in the same line 
of business and are familiar with the wants of the trade in all its 
minutest details. They occupy a three-story and basement brick 
structure, 20x80 feet in dimensions, well appointed and equipped, and 
furnished with every available facility for the business, and possess 
superior conveniences for filling and shipping orders promptly and 
securely. They are agents for the leading makes of plows, rakes, 
mowers and reapers, also handling engines, threshers and clover hullers, 
the Jackson wagon and other vehicles for farm work. All these 
implements are noted for their standard worth and adaptability and 
are obtained from first hands in such large invoices as to enable the 
flrm to offer the most attractive induceinents in the matter of prices. 
They do a large trade in the city and surrounding country, as also 
among the farming districts of the State, and their house has achieved 
a pronounced and permanent success upon the basis of absolute merit. 

W.J. Holliday & Co.— Wholesale Dealers in Iron, Steel, Etc., 
59 and 61 South Meridian street. — One of the oldest and most influen- 
tial iron and steel houses in this city is owned and managed by W.J. 
Holliday & Co., composed of W. J. Holliday, John W. Murphy, John 
A. Furgason and Henry Voight. The house was established in 1858 
by Murphy, Holliday & Co., senior members of the prese nt firm. 

Messrs. Furgason and Voight were made partners later, and the change 
in the firm name dates from 1862. They occupy a double four-story 
and basement brick building, having a frontage of 40 feet by a depth 
of 200 feet, erected for the special accommodation of the firm, and 
completely equipped with all the latest modern improvements and 
labor saving devices. Their stocks embrace iron and steel from the 
leading furnaces of the world, springs, axles, nuts, bolts, hubs, felloes, 
spokes, carriage trimmings, blacksmiths' and machinists' tools and sup- 
plies, with other articles of a character germane to those leading and 
above cited. Their lines are severally complete and comprehensive, 
imported and domestic, and of unsurpassed quality. Their prices and 
terms are reasonable and liberal, and their shipping facilities perfect. 
The inducements offered the trade are substantial, and they supply a 
large and steadily increasing demand throughout Indiana, Southern 
Illinois and Eastern Ohio, giving employment to four travelers and a 
large staff of clerks and assistants. The members of the firm are 
representative merchants, Messrs. Murphy and Holliday being also 
members of the great dry goods house of Murphy, Hibbcn & Co., 
while Messrs. Furgason and Voight are prominently identified with 
other commercial and manufacturing industries here. 

Geo. H. Talbott — Merchandise Broker and Storage Ware- 
house, No. 78 South Pennsylvania street. — In the year 1886, Geo. H. 
Talbott began the business of merchandise brokerage in this city, at 
the same time accepting the agency of leading mercantile and manu- 
facturing firms located in various portions of the country, but desirous 
of competing for the Western trade with Indianapolis as their base of 
supplies. His efforts in both lines of commercial endeavor have been 
successful, and through his enterprising agency, jobbers are today 
supplied with goods without the delays incident to shipments from a 
distance. He occupies premises three stories high, 25x135 feet in 
dimensions, departmented and equipped with all modern conveniences, 
including improved telephone and elevator service. He handles staple 
and fancy groceries, canned and bottled preserves, soaps, starch, 
syrups, lard, flour, cigars, tobacco, etc., of established repute and of 
unrivaled quality, which are sold at the lowest manufacturers' prices. 
His operations are extensive, and steadily appreciating in value and 
importance in the city and throughout the State. 

A. H. Frank — Dealer in Leaf Tobacco, 35 South Pennsylvania 
street. — Mr. Frank had long been engaged in the cigar and tobacco 
business here, owning a number of stores dealing in these lines dis- 
tributed in various portions of the city, and actively directing their 
operations, until May, 1888, when he established himself in the leaf 
tobacco business, to which he has since devoted his attention. He 
occupies commodious accommodations and has built up a large city 
trade, which is steadily extending and prospering. He handles all 
descriptions and grades, for wrappers and fillers, including Havana, 
Sumatra, seed leaf tobacco, etc., and is thoroughly familiar with all 
qualities and values. In addition, he is well known to the manufacturers 
of cigars throughout the State, with whom he enjoys a well merited 
reputation for honorable dealings, and to producers with whom he 
holds relations, so enviable, that he is able to offer superior induce- 
ments to both in the matters of price and quality of stock. 

Brooks Oil Company, Cleveland, O., and Indian- 
apolis, I nd.— Manufacturers of Fine Machinery Oils; Headquarters 
at Cleveland, O.; Indianapolis Branch, East Michigan street and 
Bee Line Railway. — No industry is of more importance to the manu- 
facturing interests than that having for its object the supplying of 
lubricants for machinery. In this line of business one of the leading 
establishments in the country is the Brooks Oil Company, established 
over twenty years ago at Cleveland, O., where its works and head- 
quarters are still located. Six years ago this company established its 
Indianapolis branch, and now occupy a brick warehouse 40x100 feet 
in dimensions on East Michigan street and the Bee Line Railway, 
the tracks of which afford superior facilities for the receipt and 
shipment of goods, to which additional facilities for handling and 
storage will be added during the summer, necessitated by the 
increased demand for their oils. The production of the company's 



refinery at Cleveland inrliulos Hi.^'h Grade Cvlinder, F.n,c;ine and 
Dynamo OiU, of which Col. Drake's Cylinder and Valve Oil, Brooks Oil 
Company's Corliss Engine Oil. Sperm Dynamo and Engine Oil, :uh1 White 
Seal Burning Oil an.- (.specially lavur.ibly known. I'lic ackiiowlcilLrcd 
superiority of these oils has earned for them a hi^h reputation with 
consumers and the trade throuijhout the L'nion, Canada and Kurope, 
and from the Indianapolis branch a large trade is done in the States 
of Indiana and Illinois. Large and complete stocks of all the 
products of the company are carried in their warehouse in this city, 
and six travelinsj salesmen visit the customers of the house in the 
territory controlled from this city. The company makes a specialty 
of tine cylinder and engine oils, and all their products give a degree 
of satisfaction only accorded to merit. Mr. J. F. Burt, who has 
charge of the company's interests at this point, is thoroughly 
conversant with every detail of the business, and efliciently looks 
after the business in the territory assigned to his charge. The enjoys a large and steadily growing trade. 

McCann & Co.— Successors to McCann & Allison, Wholesale 
Commission Merchants, 76 and 78 East Maryland street. — The 
wholesale commission house of McCann & Co. was originally estab- 
lished by A. A. Barnes in i8(k). The business has since been 
conducted under the firm names of Mann & Bradley, Bradley & Co., 
McCann & Co., McCann & Allison until 1888, when the present firm 
took charge and have continued the management and ownership of 
the enterprise. They occupy a two-story and basement building, 

30x100 feet in dimensions, 
well depart mented and 

equipped for the storage 
and sale of stock, as also 
for its shipment, and the 
transaction of business. 
They are also provided with 
rooms for ripening green 
fruits ; also rooms where 
bananas, oranges, grapes 
and other delicate fruits can 
be preserved for an indefi- 
nite period without affect- 
ing their quality in the 
slightest degree. Their 
rooms are kept at the dif- 
ferent temperatures required, and their facilities for handling bananas 
are not equaled in the city. The handling of bananas by the firm will 
average at least one car per week, which shows somewhat the extent 
of their trade in that line. They do a large commission business, 
buying and selling for their own account and to order, exclusively at 
wholesale, in large round car-load lots. Their specialties are bananas, 
apples, potatoes, cabbage, onions, pears, grapes, cranberries, with 
other fruits, vegetables, berries, esculents, etc., indigenous to this 
climate ; also Creole, Florida and California oranges, lemons and 
oranges from the Mediterranean ; Aspinwall bananas, and other 
productions from the tropics, etc. The firm members are particularly 
qualified to dispose of consignments to the best advantage, being long 
experienced in and familiar with the requirements of the trade, and 
execute orders promptly. They refer to R. G. Dun & Co., the 
Indiana National Bank, Y. R. Wysong & Co., A. A. Barnes, and other 
leading houses here and elsewhere. Consignments receive immediate 
attention, remittances are made to consignors without delay, and the 
management of the house is directed by liberal and honorable methods, 
commending it to the fullest confidence. 

J. A. Everitt & Co.— Seed Merchants, 141 'West Washington 
street. — The seed house of J. A. Everitt & Co. is one of the best and 
most completely equipped in the United States. Their trade-mark 
" K " is known and recognized as evidence of the worth of articles 
with which it is identified, while their motto: " Our business is national, 
our facilities uncqualed and our ambition to excel," is the synonym 
of all that the terms imply. They located here in 1886, coming from 
vVatsontown, Northumberland County, Penn., where they had been 

similarly engaired for six years previous. They occupy a three-story 
and basement building, 25x100 feet, provided with all requisite facil- 
ities and conveniences, and carry full lines of seeds of every 
tlescription, grown to their special order, chiefly in the North and 
East, and embracing the standard varieties, such as bean, beet, 
cabbage, carrot, celery, sweet corn, cucumber, lettuce, melons, 
onion, parsnip, pea, raddish, spinach, tomato, turnip, etc., of the 
choicest character, with novelties and specialties in the same 
lines; the plants from which show superior growth, producing quali- 
ties and better average results than those obtained from any other 
source. Their floral department is equally select and desirable. The 
list contains every seed known to the lexicon of florists, put up in 
handsome packages, each package containing the firm's trade-mark 
and full directions for sowing and cultivating. Their small fruit and 
plant departments, their departments of farm seeds, of law-n and 
other grass and clover seeds, of esculents, including the great early 
potato " The Everitt," garden tools, etc., are likewise unsurpassed in 
\'ariety and completeness. They also deal in choice breeds of poultry, 
and have in stock everything in the lines required for garden use or 
floral ornamentation. They issue an elegant catalogue, of 150,000 
copies, annually, and are publishers of The Agricultural Epitomist, 
issuing 75,000 copies per month. They are prepared to fill all orders 
promptly, offering the most substantial inducements in the way of 
prices and terms to cultivators and the trade, and ship by the most 
expeditious and reliable means of transportation. A force of six 
assistants is constantly employed, the number being increased to 20 or 
more during the busy season, and they do a large and steadily increas- 
ing trade in the United States and Canada, besides exporting exten- 
sively to customers in all portions of Europe. The concern is leading 
in its lines in the country, and owes its success, among other things, 
to the enterprise and honorable dealing which characterize its man- 

Frank M. Dell — Dealer inCoal, Coke and Lime;OfficeandYards, 
No. 27 East Georgia street. — The present extensive coal, coke and 
lime enterprise owned and managed by Frank M. Dell was founded 
sometime during 1848 by Valentine Butch, the firm subsequently 
becoming Butch & Dickson; about 1863, Butch, Dickson & Dell, and 
later still, William Dell, the latter being succeeded in 1883 by the 
present proprietor, his son. He owns and occupies over half a block 
of ground, and is fully equipped with every facility for the expeditious 
and successful handling of the large trade supplied. He carries full 
and select lines of coal and coke, Huntington and Delphi lime, plaster 
paris, cement, lath, hair, white sand, sewer pipe, patent chimneys, fire 
brick and clay, and other contractors' and builders' materials. He 
employs a full force of assistants, and enjoys a large trade in the city 
and State. 

East St. Louis Dressed Beef Co. — Wholesale Dressed 
.Meats;]. M. Copeland, Manager; corner McGill and Louisiana streets. 
— The East St. Louis Dressed Beef Company, with headquarters at 
the National Stock- Yards, at East St. Louis, 111., located a branch 
house m Indianapolis during November, 1888. Mr. J. M. Copeland 

manages the business 
here, and occupies prem- 
ises 25x100 feet in dimen- 
sions, the front portion 
of which is used for office 
purposes. To the rear 
of this is the refriger- 
ating room, 25x80 feet in 
size, with a capacity for 
preservation of 100 head 
of dressed beef, besides 
large consignments of lamb, mutton, pork, etc., and during the sum- 
mer months between 80 and 100 tons of ice are consumed per week 
in keeping the room at a- temperature sufficiently cold for the perfect 
care and security of its contents. The products are slaughtered at 
East St. Louis, whence they are transported hither in the latest 
improved pattern of refrigerator cars, from which they are unladen 







ETJ ■ " \ 



= a' 








at the doors of the refrigerating room, into which, by means of a 
patent elevated beef tramway, they are transferred direct. When 
sold, they are conveyed to the salesroom by the same agency, where 
they are automatically weighed and then delivered to customers, 
thus avoiding the necessity of handling the meat, and other disagree- 
able features, the ordinary accompaniment of the business. Mr. 
Copeland, employs six hands, besides operating three wagons for the 
free delivery of stock, and does a large and increasing wholesale 
business in the city and vicinity. 

Messick, Cones & Co. — Manufacturing Confectioners; 27 
and 29 East Maryland street. — The industry conducted by Messick, 
Cones & Co. is one of the largest in its line in the State of Indiana. 
The firm is composed of J. F. Messick and J. T. Cones. They became 
associated as partners in 1881, commencing business with but limited 
capital and comparatively limited stock and equipments. Since 
then, however, they have increased their facilities, enhanced the value 

The house is representative, reliable and responsible. Its supplies" are 
noted for their purity, its prices reasonable, its terms liberal and its 
reputation is attested by the confidence it enjoys with the trade. 

The Piano Manufacturing Co.— Manufacturers of Light 
Piano Twine Binders and The New Piano Mower, J. T. Southern, 
General.^gent; Cleveland block. — The Piano Manufacturing Company, 
organized in 1881 as successor to the old-established Marsh Harvester 
Works, has been the agency through which the greatest improvements 
in harvesting machinery of the present decade have been introduced 
and utilized. The company's headquarters are at Chicago, 111., their 
works being located at Piano, in the same State, where they employ 
an immense force of operatives, and though equipped with every 
pattern of labor saving machinery, were unable to supply the demand 
made upon them for their output during the season of 1888. They 
maintain distributing agencies in all the leading cities of the United 
States, as also at Milan, Italy; Paris, P'rance; Buenos Ayres, S.A., and 


of their productions, extended their trade and influence and now 
represent an investment of between $50,000 and $75,000. They occupy 
a four story and basement brick edifice having a frontage of 25x120 
feet, supplied with the latest patterns of labor saving machinery, 
driven by steam and furnished with every convenience for the manu- 
facture, sale and shipment of their large and varied lines. Their 
specialties are hand-made creams and penny goods, though they 
manufacture all grades and descriptions of candy, also handling 
imported bonbons and candies and carrying large invoices of dates, 
figs, nuts, raisins and other commodities adapted to their business. 
Their trade is large and steadily increasing in volume and extent. 
Their specialties are in constant demand in all directions, dealers in 
Buffalo, Toledo, Cleveland, Kansas City and at other points east, 
west and south making the firm their source of supply for these 
articles, which, with their general lines, are also extensively sold 
throughout Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Kentucky and Tennessee. They 
employ a force of 80 operatives, clerks, etc., in addition to four trav- 
eling salesmen, and their annual business aggregates large amounts. 

elsewhere, and their annual business is of phenomenal proportions. 
Their range of production embraces The Light-Running All-Steel 
Piano Twine Binder, The Piano All-Steel Harvester and Binder, The 
New Piano Mower, The Jones Chain Drive Mower and The Short 
Stroke Rustler Chain Power Mower. They are unsurpassed in their 
excellence of material, simple in their construction, efficient in their 
operation, easily handled, perfect in all their parts, possessing light- 
ness, ease of movement and a capacity for durable wear, and are 
pronounced by farmers and expert judges to be in all respects un- 
equaled. The Indianapolis agency, for supplying the demand through- 
out Indiana, Southeastern Illinois and certain districts in Ohio, has been 
established here for many years, and is now managed and directed by 
Mr. J. T. Southern. He occupies a handsome suite of offices and 
commodious warehouse accommodations in the Cleveland block, the 
premises consisting of the main floor and basement, each 60x100 feet 
in dimensions. He carries large stocks of the various pieces for all 
the lines of manufacture of the company from the earliest made, and 
is amply prepared to fill orders for same or for binders, mowers, etc.. 



coinplelcd at the sliortest notice. The make of the company lor iSSq 
will excel and exceed that of previous years, and parties requiring' any 
article in their lines should not delay coniniunioatinjj with Mr. 
Southern, lie will, upon application, furnish illustrated catalogues, 
price lists, and other information of value to customers. He employs 
from four to eight traveling salesmen, and his management 
of the company's business here has procured for the latter a very 
extensive trade and the public confidence in a marked degree. 

J. Piatt & Co.- Wholesale Dealers in Oysters, I-'ish, Etc.; 42, 

44 and ^(> Kcntiuky avenue; Telephone 212.— Among those who have 

attained to prominence and prosperity in a comparatively brief period, 

by the exercise of enterprise and honorable deal- 

• ing, the house of J. Piatt & Co., established in 
1885, occupies a leading position. They occupy 
premises 50x160 feet in dimensions, divided into 
departments corresponding to the lines of com- 
modities in which they deal, supplied with every 
convenience and facility for the prompt and satis- 
factory response to the large requisitions daily 
made upon their stocks by customers here and elsewhere. The 
premises are also provided with refrigerating rooms of large capacity, 
for the preservation of goods and specially constructed for the uses to 
which they are appropriated. They handle large quantities of oysters 
from the Atlantic seaboard and the Gulf, lake fish, game, poultry and 
eggs, with other articles in their line, unsurpassed in quality and sold 
at low prices, and orders either in person, transmitted over their 
telephone— No. 212 — or by mail, receive immediate attention. They 
employ from eight to ten experienced assistants besides two traveling 
salesmen, and do a large trade in poultry, game, etc., in New York, 
.Mbany and other leading cities of the East, with an equally extensive 
trade in fish and ovsters throughout Indiana, Illinois and Southern 
Ohio, constantly augmenting in volume and value. 

Holland & Co. — Wholesale Cigars; 54 North Pennsylvania 
street.— This prominent firm, composed of Benjamin B. Holland, 
John H. Holland and L. F. Holland, was organized in 1884, and has 
since pursued a successful career. They occupy a fine store, 2^x100 
feet in dimensions, into which they removed during the fall of 1888, 
from their original location on South Illinois street. The premises 
are well fitted up and provided with ample facilities for the conduct 
of business, and the display and shipment of their stocks. Their 
specialty is high grade five cent goods, of which they carry in stock 
over 50 brands, which are manufactured especially for them of the 
very best qualities of tobacco, and are well and favorably known to 
the trade. They also carry in stock full lines of the superior grades 
of Key West and other cigars of domestic production. Their rela- 
tions with sources of supply are such that they are able to offer supe- 
rior inducements to customers, and with the aid of four traveling 
salesmen, do a large trade throughout Indiana, as also in portions of 
Ohio and Illinois. 

Burkhardt Lumber Agency— Dealers in all kinds of Hard- 
wood Lumber; D. B. Burkhardt, Manager; 460 East Michigan street. 
— This important recent addition to the lumber enterprises of the city 
was inaugurated in 1888, by Mr. D. B. Burkhardt, a practical and 
experienced lumber merchant, who had previously been engaged in 
the same business for a number of years at Covington, Ind. He has 
a commodious yard and large sheds, covering about half a block of 
ground on East Michigan street, with railroad tracks facilitating the 
receipt, handling and shipment of lumber. He maintains the most 
favorable relations with manufacturers, receiving constantly large 
consignments of lumber from mills located within a radius of seventy 
miles from Indianapolis, and from mills located in Tennessee, Ken- 
tucky, Ohio and Illinois. He carries on hand, at all times, large and 
completely assorted stocks of walnut, oak, ash, cherry, sycamore, 
poplar and all kinds of hardwood lumber, and does an extensive 
trade in the city and throughout the State, and also ships in car-load 
lots to Chicago, Cincinnati and other cities. He is prepared at all 
times to fill orders for all dimensions of lumber in quantities to suit 

the trade, his facilities being of the best character. Mr. Burkhardt 
has already established his business on a firm footing, and his trade 
steadily grows as a consequence of the accuracy and reliability of his 
business methods. 

Van Camp Hardware and Iron Co.— Wholesale Hard- 
ware; 78, 80 and 82 South Illinois street. — The Van Camp Hardware 
and Iron Company, which is in every respect a representative 
establishment, was organized in 1885, as successor to the firm of 
Hanson & Van Camp Co., established in 1876, when they succeeded 
to the wholesale hardware house of Anderson, Bullock & Schofield. 
and the iron industry of Mayo & Bergundthal, both large and 
influential enterprises dating their origin back many years. They 
occupy an elegant four-story and basement brick block erected for 
the uses to which they are at present devoted, and equipped with all 
requisite conveniences and facilities for the storage and display of 
stock, as also for the prompt filling and shipment of orders. On 
Chesapeake street and near the rear portipn of the main store, is a 
well-ordered w'arehouse one story in height and 60x100 feet in dimen- 
sions, for heavy goods. They carry very large and comprehensive 

lines of stock of imported and domestic manufacture of standard 
qualities, and in all respects meeting the requirements of the trade. 
They embrace shelf and heavy hardware, wagon and carriage 
makers' wood and iron work and supplies, tin plate and tinners' stock, 
gims and revolvers and equipments, mechanics' tools and appliances 
of every description, table and pocket cutlery, bar and sheet iron, 
steel and other lines appertaining. The house is the largest of its 
kind in the State, and one of the leading ones in the country. The 
officers are men of large interests, and experienced and public 
spirited merchants and citizens. Mr. Cortland Van Camp, the 
President, also conducts in conjunction with his father and brothers, 
the Van Camp Packing Co., of this city, packers of fruits and 
vegetables and the largest canners of tomatoes in the world. The 
remaining officers are H. G. Carey, Vice-President, and D. C. Bergund- 
thal, Secretary 

Tanner & Sullivan — Importers of Tin Plate and Metals; 
135 South Meridian street. — The firm of Tanner & Sullivan, com- 
posed of George G. Tanner and George R. Sullivan, is one of the 
most extensive and prominent in its line in the city or State. The 
house was established in 1878, and has grown in importance and 
prosperity from its inception. They are located at No. 135 South 
Meridian street, whither they removed in January, 1888, from 
premises on the opposite side of the street, which were burned during 
that month. They occupy a commodious four-story building, 25x180 
feet in dimensions, well equipped and supplied with machinery and 
appliances necessary to the manufacture of tinware, etc., and 
furnished with conveniences and appointments for the display and 



shipment of their stocks. They are direct importers of tin plate and 
metals and wholesale dealers in tinners' supplies ; also manufacturers 
of tinware of every variety and adapted to every use. They employ 
a full force of workmen, clerks, salesmen and assistants, and do a 
large trade in Indiana and the border States, besides supplying an 
extensive local demand. Their facilities are complete in every detail 
of the business, and they are prepared to fill all orders promptly 
and at the most reasonable prices. The members of the firm are 
enterprising merchants and citizens, and their house is a prominent 
and representative one. 

Holliday & Wyon — Wholesale .Manufacturers of Harness; 
77 South Meridian street. — The largest manufacturers of harness and 
leather products in the same line in Indianapolis, if not in the State, 
is the firm of Holliday & Wyon. It is composed of J. D. Holliday 
and A. F. Wyon, and was organized and began operations in 1878. 
From. comparatively small beginninj^s they have become leading and 
representative. They occupy a four story building, 25x200 feet in 
size, the main floor being used in part for the display and sale of 
leather and findings, and in part for that of saddlery, harness, etc. 
The manufactory, fitted up with harness manufacturing machinery of 
the most approved pattern, and the stock rooms occupy the upper 
floors. Their specialty is the "Perfection Saddle," an invention of the 
firm for adjusting the weight of harness more equably, and which is 
widely known and in general use by stablemen and horsemen in all 
parts of the country. They also manufacture harness, gig saddles, 
halters, etc., in great variety, all of the best qualities of material and 
workmanship. They employ from 40 to 50 hands, three travelers and 
other assistants, and do a large trade in Indiana, Ohio, Illinois and 
Michigan. Both members of the firm give their personal attention 
to the business and their long experience and honorable careers have 
contributed to the success of the house wherever it is known. 

H. Rikhoff — Superintendent for J. C. Yuncker, Rectifier; 
Wholesale Dealer in Foreign and Domestic Liquors ; 188 South Merid- 
ian street. — The wholesale liquor business conducted by H. Rikhoff is 
old and well established, and his commodities are extensively known to 
the trade for their superior quality. He began operations here during 
1864, andhis place of business, which is admirably located, consists of a 
three-story and basement brick building, 25 feet front on South Merid- 
ian street, by 120 feet in depth, well arranged and appointed, and pro- 
vided with every facility for the storage, display and sale of his large 
and select lines of goods. He carries extensive stocks of the best 
brands of Kentucky whiskies, California and other native wines, 
brandies, etc., the finest lines of imported champagnes. Burgundies, 
Rhine wines, sherries, ports. Madeiras, cordials, etc., Holland and 
English gins, with other articles usually handled by first-class houses 
in the same field of operations. Mr. Rikhoff does a large trade, which 
is exclusively wholesale, in the city and State, also filling orders from 
Ohio and Illinois, and is known as a business man of enterprising and 
honorable methods. In addition to his present enterprise he is super- 
intendent of the rectifying establishment of J. C. Yuncker, and is 
otherwise prominent in undertakings designed for the prosperity of 
the city and surrounding country. 

Gale Manufacturing Co. of Albion, Mich. — Manu- 
facturers of the Gale Chilled and Steel Plows; 63 West Maryland street. 
— This business was founded by the Gale family over forty years ago, 
and in 1887 the enterprise was reorganized, and has since been directed 
and controlled under its present corporate title with H. K. White, of 
Detroit, Mich., President, and Horatio Gale, Vice-President. The same 
year they invented and patented the new " Big Injun" sulky plow, an 
implement absolutely unrivaled for the uses for which it is designed, 
and which, since its introduction, has been in constant demand, taxing 
the resources of their immense facilities to even moderately supply. 
The headquarters of the company are at Albion, Mich., where, on 
October i, 1888, they completed new works, covering a vast area of 
territory, equipped with new and improved machinery, and provided 
with every facility for manufacture and shipment. They employ a 
large force of hands there, and turn out 12=1,000 plows per annum of 

the best material, constructed in the most skilful and scientific manner 
and handsomely finished. Their range of production embraces the 
Gale Walking Plows, right and left hand turf and stubble plows, wood 
and steel beams, and chilled walking plows in all sizes, besides right 
and left hand steel and chilled bottoms for the "Big Injun" sulky 
plows. E. H. Stuntz, their general agent here, established this branch 
in the spring of 1888. He had been for six years previous connected 
with the Minneapolis Harvester Works, and is an experienced man in 
the business. He occupies the main floor of premises 20x200 feet, with 
two basements adjoining, each 20x200 feet in dimensions, and carries 
full lines and complete stocks of the company's manufacture. His 
territory includes Indiana and Kentucky, in which, owing to his enter- 
prise, liberal management and honorable business methods, he has 
already acquired a large and rapidly increasing trade, and gives 
employment to from three to six traveling salesmen. He fills orders 
oromptly, and will furnish catalogues on application. 

Fairbanks & Co.— Standard Scales and Eclipse Windmills ; 
L. W. Drew, Manager; 26 South Meridian street. — The reputation of 
the Fairbanks scales is almost universal, and their necessity to every 
department of commercial and manufacturing industry is as undeni- 
able as their value is beyond criticism. They are the standard scales 
of the world for weighing the most delicate ingredients of medicinal 
preparations and the bulky articles of demand in every line of busi- 
ness and productive industry. The Indianapolis branch of the enter- 
prise was established here in 1852, and is in charge of an agent who 
has had 23 years experience in this and other fields. He occupies a 
three-story and basement brick building, 25x120 feet in dimensions, 
and carries a large and complete stock of Fairbanks' scales, railroad 
water tanks, fixtures and pipes, hand cars, push cars and railroad 
velocipedes, letter and way-bill presses, baggage barrows, trucks and 
warehouse wagons, wind-mill towers, United States standard weights 
and measures, coffee mills, scale books, alarm cash drawers, Hancock's 
inspirators for feeding stationary, marine and locomotive boilers. 
" Gilbert Universal " wood split pulley, etc. From this point a very 
large business is done, covering the entire State. ■ 

Geo. A. Woodford & Co.— Wholesale Dealers in fine Ken- 
tucky Whiskies; 63 and 65 South .Meridian street. — The business con- 
ducted by Geo. A. Woodford & Co. was established in 1875, ^"d the 
present firm was organized in 1883, and is composed of Geo. A. Wood- 
ford and John Pohlman. They occupy the main floor and basement, 
25x125 feet in dimensions, and well equipped with facilities and 
accommodations for the sale and shipment of goods and the transaction 
of their large operations. They are the sole proprietors of " Dean's 
Buckridge Whiskey " and Woodford & Dean's " T. A. D.," a choice 
hand-made sour mash whisky from Anderson County, Ky., also distil- 
lers' agents for the famous Wm. H. McBrayer, Coon Hollow, and Old 
W. S. Stone hand-made sour mash whiskies, and they handle other 
reliable brands of Bourbon and rye whiskies, which they sell in bond cr 
tax paid, and are special dealers in peach, apple, grape and imported 
French brandies, wines, gins, cordials, liqueurs, etc. Their lines are 
aluays full and complete, and they sell at prices and upon terms both 
reasonable and liberal, to a large and steadily increasing trade through- 
out Indiana and in Southern and Central Illinois. The members of 
the firm are citizens and merchants representative of Indianapolis. 
Their business affairs are managed judiciously and conservatively, 
• and the purity of their stocks, and other features of excellence have 
acquired for their house an influential and valuable trade constituency. 

Eastman, Schleiclier & Lee— Carpets, Draperies and 
Wall Paper; 5, 7 and g East Washington street. — This firm, which 
was organized in 1885, is composed of Walter H. Eastman, Adolph 
Schleicher and Fielding T. Lee and is leading and representative in 
every respect. They occupy a four-story and basement building, 
22x120 feet, also two floors, each 30x135 feet in dimensions in the 
building adjoining, to the east, and the premises in their entirety are 
exceptionally equipped and provided with conveniences for an 
elaborate display of their stocks, as also with facilities for their ship- 
ments and the transaction of business. 



A. M. McCleary— Dealer ill Coffees, Sugars and Groceries; 
Nil. ;o Sniuli Mi-ridiau street.— Mr. McCleary established himself 
here during l<S76. and having previously by large experience 
luTonie possessed of a thorough knowledge of the reiiuiremcnts of 
" the trade, he has built up a large patronage which is steadily 
increasing and expanding in the city and throughout the State. He 
represents an extensive line of importing and jobbing houses at the 
East, handling staple groceries, and sells to jobbers here and in 
the State, in round lots. His office is at No. 70 South Meridian street, 
where he carries samples of coffees, sugars and grocers' supplies 
generally. His facilities for filling orders at the lowest rates are 
imsurpassed, and he is at all times prepared to furnish dealers with 
the lowest quotations. Mr. McCleary is a representative business 
man, and to his personal efforts is largely due the increase and 
development of the brokerage business here. He is a member of 
the Board of Trade, and enjoys a well-deserved and enviable 
reputation for fidelity in the discharge of contracts with the trade. 

H. F. Solliday -Manufacturer of Baking Powder, Etc. ; 98 and 
100 South Pennsylvania street. — Mr. Solliday began business during 
1880, and has constantly enlarged his facilities and extended his trade, 
now also conducting a similar establishment at Wichita, Kan. In I'.iis 
city he occupies a three-story and basement building, 25x100 feet in 
dimensions, and equipped with compounding and roasting conven- 
iences, and other machinery and appliances required in the manu- 
facture of his output. The branch house at Wichita, where it is 
known imder the firm name of Solliday Bro^. & Lamphere, is fully as 
complete in its appointments and equipments. His specialties arc 
the " Invincible " and "Bakers' Delight " brands of baking powder, 
iciinposed of superior ingredients, and enjoying a well established 
reputation for purity and adaptability to the uses for vi'hich they are 
designed. He also manufactures fruit extracts, vinegar and spices 
extensively, and carries complete lines of all these articles. He is 
prepared to ship in package or in bulk to any point, and his prices, 
considering the character of his products, are among the lowest on 
the market. He employs a force of from 15 to 20 assistants and three 
travelers, and a similar number at Wichita, and supplies a large 
demand throughout Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, 
Alabama, Missouri and Michigan; the trade in the West, as far as the 
Pacific Coast, obtaining their goods from the branch house at Wichita. 

J. E. Bodine & Co.— Dealers in Dental Supplies and Barbers' 
Supplies; 27 and 29 Circle street.— The firm of J. E. Bodine & Co. is 
composed of J. E. Bodine, John B. Ransom, Thaddeus F. Randolph 
and 1. \. Welsh. The firm of Ransom, Randolph & Co., of Toledo. 
()., with which Mr. Bodine was formerly connected, was established 
in that city in 1877. During 1884, the Indianapolis house was estab- 
lished under the direction of Mr. Bodine, and three years later the 
firm name of the latter- was changed to that by which it is now 
known, the Toledo house, however, being conducted under the name 
of Ransom & Randolph, and extensively engag- d in the manufacture 
of barbers' chairs, cabinet ware, etc., also dealing in barbers' supplies, 
in some lines of which they export largely, and carrying full lines of 
denial supplies handled by J. E. Bodine & Co. The latter occupy 
the main floors of premises each 40 feet front on Circle street and 65 
feet deep, containing every facility and convenience for the advan- 
tageous display of stocks, with ample accommodations for the storage 
of goods and the transaction of business operations. They carry the 
choicest lines of dental goods and supplies generally, embracing 
instruments, artificial teeth, etc., and do a large trade in supplying 
graduates of the Indiana Dental College of this city with outfits, in 
addition to their regular trade throughout an extended territory. 
They also carry extensive lines of barbers' chairs, furniture, etc., 
manufacturing the celebrated Indianapolis and Toledo razors, and 
keeping in stock every description of barbers' supplies of the best 
make and quality and do fine grinding and decorating to order. 
They have recently fitted up the barber shops of the Bates House, 
I'nion Depot, Young Men's Christian Association and other resorts 
in this city, besides well known establishments of a similar character 
in other portions of the West. The house is highly representative 

and distinguished in its field of usefulness, prepared to respond 
promptly to all orders, selling at the lowest prices consistent with 
superior material and w-orkmanship and one of the most desirable 
in all respects with which to establish business relations. They 
employ a full staff of clerks and three travelers and supply the 
demands of a large and increasing trade throughout Indiana, 
Kentucky, Tennessee and portions of Ohio, the trade in Penn- 
sylvania, the balance of Olno and elsewhere in the East being 
met by the Toledo house. 

Kipp Brothers--Importers and Jobbers of Fancy Goods, Etc.; 
37 and 39 South Meridian street. — A prominent and representative 
jobbing and importing house is that of Kipp Brothers, located on the 
leading business street of the city and occupying a building 45x200 
feet in dimensions, and supplied with every convenience and accessory 
for the prosecution of their business. They do an exclusively whole- 
sale business aggregating more than half a million dollars annually. 
Their different departments represent full lines of musical instru- 
ments, cutlery and fancy hardware, stationers' sundries, druggists' 
sundries, pipes and smokers' articles, fishing tackle, sporting goods, 
base ball supplies, jewelry, clocks, optical instruments, Yankee 
notions, traveling satchels, etc., fancy china and glassware, toys of 
every description, baby carriages and express wagons, flags, fire- 
works, etc. The house is the largest of its kind in the United States, 
importing their goods direct, and in many lines controlling the 
products of factories at home and abroad. They employ twelve travel- 
ing salesmen, who cover all leading towns in Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, 
Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, Ohio, Michigan, Iowa, Kansas, 
Nebraska, Missouri. Colorado, etc., and they also have a large force 
of clerks and assistants. The firm has, for the convenience of .Southern 
customers, a branch, with complete sample lines, at 533 West Main 
street, Louisville, Ky. 

Fahnley & McCrea— Importers and Jobbers of Millinery, 
Straw and Fancy Goods; 140 and 142 South Meridian street. — One of 
the oldest wholesale millinerv houses in Indianapolis, and one of the 
most extensive in its lines between New York and Chicago, is that of 
Fahnley & McCrea. The firm is composed of Fred Fahnley and 

R. H. McCrea, and for nearly a 
quarter of a century they have 
contributed to the wants of a large 
and select trade throughout the 
West, Southwest and Northwest. 
They became established in 1864, 
and now occupy a handsome and 
most conveniently located stone 
front building, four stories high, 
with a frontage of 35 feet and a 
depth of 130 feet, extending to a 
wing 25x80 feet in dimensions, 
fronting on Louisiana street. The 
premises are most thoroughly 
equipped and the varied and com- 
plete lines of stock carried include 
millinery and milliners' supplies, 
hats, ribbons, feathers, tips, plumes, 
artificial birds and flowers, laces 
and other novelties, of the latest 
European styles, imported direct 
from Paris and Berlin, also obtained 
from first hands at New York and 
other Eastern depots of supply. Every article adapted to the trade 
is to be procured at this house, of the choicest description and at the 
lowest prices commensurate with the quality offered. They employ 
a force of forty clerks and salesmen, in addition to ten travelers, and 
do a trade approximating over half a million dollars annually in 
Indianapolis and throughout the States of Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, 
Ohio, Kentucky and Tennessee. Messrs. Fahnley and McCrea 
are members of the Board of Trade, and leading and influential 
merchants and citizens. Their success is the result of enterprise, 
judicious management and honorable dealings. 



Walter A. Wood Machine Company— Manufacturers of 

Harvesting Machinery, No. 4 Cleveland block.- -This company, which 
was incorporated m 1853, has headquarters at Hoosick Falls, where 
their office and factory are located, with branch offices in all the leading 
cities of the United States, Europe, Germany, Italy, France, Australia, 
South Africa, South America, and elsewhere, and their total output of 
harvesting machines for the past thirty-six years foots up 726,510 
Their great works are among the largest in any of the lines of industry 
carried on in the world, are equipped with all the latest improved 
drilling, milling, reaming, planing, turning and other machinery, and 
employment is given to 3,000 hands. Their manufacture embraces 
mowers, reapers, harvesters and binders, attachments for same, hay 
rakes, bundle carriers, and other agricultural implements. 'Ihey are 
made of the best materials, combining strength, lightness and 
simplicity, more perfectly than the productions of any similar industry 

<' ' *^v;. 

in the United States, and have been awarded the highest prizes at the 
International Expositions held in Europe and America, in addition to 
1,200 medals from agricultural and mechanical societies. The Indian- 
apolis branch, covering the business throughout Indiana, has been 
under the exclusive control and direction of W. H. Walter since 1883. 
He occupies commodious and finely appointed offices in the Cleveland 
block, with a thoroughly equipped repair shop adjoining 40x60 feet in 
dimensions, and large warehouse accommodations at the North street 
crossing of the " Big Four" road. He carries heavy stocks of pieces 
and attachments for the machines manufactured by the company, and 
employs from six to ten traveling salesmen. He is prepared to fill 
orders promptly, and upon the most satisfactory terms. 

Oliver Chilled Plow Works — Manufacturers of Oliver 
Chilled and Steel Plows; 160 South Pennsylvania street. — The Oliver 
Chilled Plow Works, located at South Bend, this State, are owned 
and operated by an organization of which James Oliver is President, 
J. D. Oliver, Treasurer, and George Ford, Secretary, with H. B. Smith 
manager of the agency in this city. The works are very large, 
embracing foundry, machine shop, blacksmithing, finishing, setting 
up and paint shops, warehouses, etc., amply equipped and employing 
t,2oo hands. The specialty of the manufacture is the Oliver Chilled 
Plow, without comparison the best plow for general purposes offered 
to the farmers of America, and which, in durability, lightness of draft, 
ease of management, range and quality of work and superiority of 
material and workmanship, has no equal. Perfect fitting duplicate 
parts are made and the care to make exact duplicates of the various 
repairs has made this plow a universal favorite. It is made in all the 
various sizes necessary to adapt it to the different classes of work and 
has the largest sale of any plow made in this country. The company 
also manufacture the " Steel Walking " plows, divided into four 
classes: The 405 series, for work in sections where clay land and 
rich, black soils prevail; the Southern steel series, in which the plows 
are designated by numbers 6, 61, 62, 63, 64 and 65, for alluvial bottoms 
and upland soil; the Special steel plows numbered 38 and 14 A, for 
stubble,. heavy, sticky clay and hard baked ground; and garden plows 
known as " K " and " M " expressly for gardening and truck farming. 
The Indianapolis agency was opened here in 1866, to supply the trade 

in Indiana, Illinois, Ohio and Kentucky. Mr. Smith has been the 
manager in charge for many years. He occupies a handsome four- 
story and basement brick building, 165x115 feet in dimensions, owned 
by the Messrs. Oliver. Here a force of twelve hands and several 
travelers are employed, and a very large trade is carried on. Cata- 
logues and price lists will be furnished by Mr. Smith upon application, 
and all orders meet with prompt and satisfactory attention. His 
efficient and honorable management of the business has secured 
marked advantages for the firm he so ably represents. 

Hide, Leather and Belting Co. — G. W. Snider, Proprietor, 
Dealer in Leather and Belting; 125 South Meridian street. — This is 
one of the oldest establishments of its kind in the State. It was founded 
over thirty years ago, by John Fishback, who conducted the enterprise 
until about 1870, when Mr. Snider purchased the premises and has 
since remained sole proprietor. He occupies a well-equipped building, 
four stories high and 25x200 feet in dimensions, provided with every 
facility and convenience, mechanical and otherwise, adapted to the 
business. His specialty is the manufacture of oak-tanned leather 
belting, in which he turns out annually a very large supply of the best 
goods in their line in the market, and which are sold at the most 
reasonable prices. He also carries full and complete lines of leather 
and findings, shoemakers' tools, oils, rubber hose, gum belting, steam 
packing, garden sprinklers, moveable fountains, hose trucks, etc., etc., 
of superior quality. During the summer of 1888 he sold upward of 
100,000 feet of three-quarter inch rubber garden hose, with sales in 
other lines proportionately large. He employs a large number of 
hands in the manufacturing department of experience and ability only, 
also a full staff of clerks, assistants and traveling salesmen, and does 
an exclusively wholesale trade in the city and State, as also in States 
contiguous. Mr. Snider is a member of the Board of Trade, and an 
active, public spirited and influential citizen. 

M. M. Reynolds — Dealer in Brick, Lime, Lath, Cement, Sewer 
Pipe, etc.; Coal, Coke and Wood; 464 Massachusetts avenue. — Mr. 
Reynolds established this business six years ago, and from that time 
to the present has enjoyed a large and active trade. L'ntil recently 
the coal and coke department of his business was its most prominent 
feature, but the decrease in the demand for these products has made 
that branch subsidiary to his larger trade in brick and building mate- 
rials of all kinds, although he still carries large and well assorted 
stocks of coal, coke and wood, and is prepared to fill orders for the 
best quality of these goods in all grades. He has extensive yards 
covering half a block of ground on Massachusetts avenue, with com- 
modious storage sheds, and railroad tracks throughout the premises 
afford superior facilities for receipt and delivery. In these yards he 
carries large and complete stocks of common, pressed and orna- 
mental brick, fire brick, fire clay, lime, Louisville and importeil 
Portland cements, plaster paris, plastering hair, lath, sewer, drain and 
culvert pipe, and all kinds of builders' and contractors' materials. 
He gives employment to ten hands, and utilizes eight teams in deliv- 
ering goods. He also handles lumber, but this branch of his business 
is confined to car load lots. Mr. Reynolds is thoroughly experienced 
in all the details of this business and carefully selects his goods so as 
to insure the quality of his stock, and his accurate knowledge of the 
needs of the trade, and reliable methods, have been prominent factors 
in building up his enterprise to its present gratifying condition of 
popularity and success. 

The McCormick Harvesting Machine Co.— IManufac- 
turers of Harvesting Machinery; Works and Headquarters at Chicago, 
111.; J. B. Heywood, Manager for Indiana, 167 and i6g East Washington 
street. — In connection with inventions in agricultural machinery, the 
name of Cyrus H. McCormick stands out pre-eminent, his invention of 
the harvesting machine having done more to promote the production 
of grain than any other device ever formulated by human ingenuity. 
His invention was the initial idea of the modern and perfected 
McCormick Harvesting Machines, which are beyond comparison the 
most complete and useful machines offered for the use of the agricul- 
turalist. These machines are manufactured by the McCormick 



Harvesting Machine Co., of Chic.ijjo. Il!.,()pcralin,i; the largest works in 
the world, anil havinj,' the hir^esl output. The machines manufactured 
include the McCormick Lijjht Draft .Steel Harvester; the McCormick 
Light Hinder, titted with the new and improved McCormick Knotter; 
the McCormick No. 3 Steel Mower; the .McCormick No. 4 Steel 
.Mower; the McCormick Bij; 4 Mower; the Daisy, a machine solely 
for reapinj;; the McCormick Basket Carrier; the McCormick Steel- 
Fingered Carrier, and the McCormick Binder Truck. The various 
kinds of harvesting machinery made by the company excel all others 
in the simplicity and efficiency of their operation, and that these points 
of superioritv are recognized by the farmers of the world is attested 
by the fact that the sales of these machines are far in excess of those 
of any other make, and reached, in 1888, to the enormous number of 
76,534. The demand for these machines extends all over the world, 
including, in addition to a heavy tr.-\de in the United States and Canada, 
an extensive export business to Australia, New Zealand, Africa, Eng- 
land, France, Italy, Russia, and all p.arts of F.urope and South America. 
The Indiana agency for these machines was established thirty years 
ago, and since 1879 has been managed by Mr. J. B. Heywood. He 
has steadily increased the business in the territory assigned to his 
supervision, the sales in Indiana having increased from 446 in 1879 to 
3,407 in 1888. The warehouse now occupied by the company in this 
city is a two-story and basement building, 50x150 feet in dimensions, 
but the importance of this field is recognized by the company, and 
they now have in contemplation the erection at the corner of South 
Pennsylvania and Maryland streets of what will be the finest business 
block in Indianapolis — an imposing seven-story structure fronting 200 
feet on South Pennsylvania street by 108 feet on Maryland street. 
At the warehouse here a complete stock of the McCormick machines 
and all repair parts is carried, and all orders are filled promptly. 
Under Mr. Heywood's management, the business of the company in 
Indiana has faithful and watchful care. 

Indiana coals. Being free from sulphur and slate, it is superior for 
grates, domestic use and steam pur()oscs; warranted to burn to^i white 
ash without leaving clinkers behind, and to make a coke with less 
than one per cent, impurity. These claims are borne out by the 
experience and testimony of those who have personally tested their 
reliability, including among others the superintendent of the Indian- 
apolis City Hospital, the building andsupply agent of the city schools, 
and other officials equally prominent, and disinterested, here 
and elsewhere. The company is amply provided with railway facili- 
ties, thus facilitating the prompt filling and shipment of orders to con- 
sumers in all parts of Indiana and the surrounding country, at prices 
as low as is consistent with the conceded superior quality of the com- 
modity. The company's transactions are very extensive, selling at 
wholesale only, and are principally with dealers, manufacturing cor- 
porations, supply agencies, etc., in the West and Northwest, notably 
at Chicago and other large interior cities, as also in cities along the 
chain of lakes. The sales in Indianapolis are by car-load lots, the 
company not occupying yards, but delivering from the track. The 
executive board is made up of enterprising men whose management 
is characterized by ability, and their annual operations represent 
large amounts in value. 

Indiana Paper Company— Manufacturers of Paper and 
Paper Bags; 21, 23 and 25 East Maryland street. — This company was 
established in 1880. In 18S4, it was incorporated with a capital stock 
of 5150,000, with mills at South Bend and headquarters in this city. 
They occupy a three-story and basement brick edifice, 60x70 feet in 
size, and carry a large stock of paper of every quality and for every 
purpose, including book, printing and manila ainong the finer grades, 
also rag and straw wrapping paper for packing purposes. They also 
manufacture paper bags, and do a large and growing trade in the 
Middle, Western and Southern States. 

J. G. Rose & Co. — Distillers' Agents; Room 7, Board of Trade 
Building. — The firm of J. G. Rose & Co., distillers' agents for the 
leading brands of the best qualities of hand made sour mash bourbon 
and rye whiskies, was organized in the fall of 1888. They carry heavy 
stocks of whiskies in bond, from whence they buy and sell for and to 
account of customers, and are also Western agents for the genuine 
Blue Lick water, the invaluable qualities of which, as a remedial 
agent, have been familiar to the public since their discovery years 
ago. The firm occupy handsome office accommodations, 25x100 feet 
in dimensions, in the Board of Trade Building, provided with every 
facility for the prompt execution of orders for the purchase or sale of 
goods in their lines, and for the immediate shipment of consignments 
to all portions of the country. Among the famous brands of whisky 
for which they are the agents in this city and section are: Anderson, 
Attuaton, William Berkley, Blue Grass. Chickencock, Double Springs, 
Nat. Harris, Hermitage, Hugely, Old Gray Bourbon and Rye, Wathen 
Rye, and many other brands which are sold at distillers' prices and 
are of unsurpassed qualities. The business, which is largely local and 
steadily increasing in volume and value, offers superior inducements 
to dealers and jobbers, to whom the leading standard articles are 
available at the cost of production, thereby saving to purchasers the 
expenses incident to handling and transportation. 

The Island Coal Co.— Miners and Shippers of Island City 
Coal; Office, 32 East Market street. — One of the most extensive, 
thoroughly equipped and widely known representatives of the coal 
iTiining industries of Indiana is the Island Coal Company, organized 
in 1884, of which S. N. Yeoman is President, W. W. Hubbard, Treas- 
urer, and A. M. Ogle, Secretary. Their mines are located at Island 
City, in Green County, this State, and arc steadily increasing in value 
as also in the volume of their output. Three shafts have been sunk 
on the property, each of which is manned in the most skillful manner 
and equipped with all the latest applicable machinery, driven by 
steam. The total output of the mines now in operation is 4,000 tons 
of coal daily, which has acquired an extended reputation for its 
intrinsic worth for the uses to which it is designed. It is semi-block, 
equaling the Hocking, and excelling in many repeated tests all 

Slocum & Gage — Wholesale Dealers in Hardwood Lumber; 
corner of New York and Pine streets. — This business was inaugurated 
seven years ago by Mr. E. E. Slocum, changing to its present style in 
February, 1888, upon the accession of Mr. L. H. Gage to the firm. 
They carry on an extensive wholesale business as dealers in walnut, 
quarter-sawed and plain oak, ash, poplar, and all kinds of hardwood 
lumber adapted to interior finish of buildings and the manufacture of 
furniture, etc., dealing in car lots only and shipping to the leading 
eastern markets. They carry large and completely assorted stocks, 
having extensive lumber yards covering about two squares of ground, 
with railroad switches and every facility for the receipt, handling and 
shipment of lumber. They receive their stock principally from mills 
within a radius of 60 miles of Indianapolis, but have lately also 
bought large quantities of ash lumber in Tennessee. The firm main- 
tains the most favorable relations with manufacturers, and is thereby 
enabled to offer the best inducements in equitable prices and carefully 
selected stock, carrying large assortments constantly on hand and 
filling all orders in the most prompt and satisfactory manner. Both 
of the members of the firm are men of practical business experience, 
and the methods upon which their affairs are conducted commend 
them to the favor of the trade, and have secured for them a steady 
and gratifying increase in the volume of their business. 

McCune, Schmidlap & Co. — Wholesale Coffee, Teas and 
Grocers' Sundries; Indianapolis Coffee and Spice Mills; 74 and 76 
South Meridian street. — This business was established 16 years ago 
by the firm of McCune S: Sons, changing eight years later to its 
present style and membership — Messrs. H. B. McCune, L. Schmidlap 
and J. T. McCune now being the individual members of the firm. 
They occupy a three-story and basement building, 25x208 feet in 
diinensions, with light on three of its sides, and containing every con- 
venience and facility for the prosecution of the business, including a 
complete equipment of coffee and spice mill machinery. Among the 
specialties of the firm may be prominently named the " Real " Bakmg 
Powder and Spices; their McCune's Package Arabian and McCune's 
Package Golden Santos coffees, roasted from selected green stock 
and of the finest flavors. In addition to these specialties, all of which 



are in large and popular demand, the firm does a large jobbing business 
in teas, green and roasted coffees, dried fruits, canned fruits, fish and 
vegetables, pickles, condiments, cereal goods, cigars and tobaccos 
and all kinds of fancy groceries and grocers' sundries. A full force 
of hands is employed in the house and six traveling salesmen represent 
the firm in its trade territory, covering the States of Indiana, Ohio 
and Illinois. The firm, by the accuracy of its business methods, 
has earned a large trade which is constantly increasing in volume. 

J. S. Buck— General Agent Wm. Deering & Co., Chicago, Manu- 
facturers Harvesting Machinery; 192 to 200 West Market street. — The 
Deering agricultural machinery works at Chicago are among the 
largest and most productive in their lines in the world. William 
Deering & Co., by whom the works were established in i860, was 
organized at that date, and still own and direct the operations of an 
industry than which there is none in any of the departments of manu- 
facture more universally known or exerting a more powerful influence 
upon the prosperity, not alone of the West, but of every section of the 
country. Their works, on Fullerton avenue, Chicago, cover 40 acres, 
occupied by buildings for manufacturing their output, from the rough 
material to the finished production of their superior grain cutting and 
grass cutting machinery, giving employment to nearly 2,500 hands 
and turning out upward of 50,000 binders, inowers and reapers annu- 
ally, all of which have received the highest expressions of commen- 
dation, and a larger patronage than any other implements of their 

W. H. Russe & Co. — Wholesalers of Lumber; Bee Line 
Railway and East Michigan street. — This firm, which is composed of 
Messrs. W. H. Russe, Henry Latham and George D. Burgess, is of 
recent formation, having been established in November, 1888, but Mr. 
Russe, of this firm, had previously been for a number of years engaged 
as a dealer in hardwood lumber, and Mr. Burgess had carried on 
business as a merchant in pine lumber for a considerable period prior 
to becoming a member of this firm. All of the members bring to the 
prosecution of the business the requisites of experience and capacity, 
as well as a large and extended acquaintance with the trade and the 
best facilities for carrying on the business. They occupy commodious 
yards, eligibly located on the Bee Line Railway and East Michigan 
street, with railroad tracks throughout, affording all conveniences for 
the receipt, handling and shipment of lumber. They carry large and 
complete stocks, embracing every description of hardwood lumber, 
which they are prepared to supply in all dimensions to order, hand- 
ling oak, walnut, ash, cherry, sycamore and poplar in large quantities. 
They do a large business with New York, Boston, Philadelphia and 
other Eastern cities, shipping direct in car-load lots from country 
mills located within a radius of from fifty to sixty miles from the city. 
They sell large amounts of pine and poplar lumber in car-load lots 
to dealers in this and neighboring cities and towns. All orders are 
promptly filled, and the accurate and reliable methods which charac- 
terize all the firm's transactions commend it to the favor and confi- 
dence of the trade. 

n?f BtfsWJ ftC«Vf3T£I! IVDUKS, fSST. CSIZHiO, CUVllina JD tCflS 01 THE BUNKS Of mBAOO RJtUl. 

kind manufactured in America. Their range of production embraces 
the Deering All-Steel Twine Binder, five, six and seven foot cut; the 
Deering Light Reaper, with and without folding platform; the Deering 
Binder Twine, the New Deering Mower, the Deering Front Cut Giant 
Mower, the Deering One-Horse Mower, the Deering attachment to 
mowers, and the Deering attachments for twine binders, all of which 
have been successful at expositions, fairs, and upon tests being made 
of their efficiency, capacity and durability in comparison with the 
machinery of competing concerns in the same lines of manufacture. 
An important addition to the manufacturing is the making of twine, 
for which purpose they have erected special buildings, and disposed 
of 20,000,000 pounds last season. The agency for the Deering Com- 
pany was established in this city in 1879, by J. D. Truett, who was 
succeeded in February, i88g, by J. S. Buck, who has since remained 
in charge, including within his territorial jurisdiction the State of 
Indiana. He is a gentleman of long continued experience in the busi- 
ness, and is conceded to be one of the best informed men in the 
United States on harvesting machinery. He occupies a two-story and 
basement building 30x75 feet, well appointed and provided with 
unsurpassed facilities for the receipt and shipment of stock, railroad 
tracks being at the doors. He carries large stocks, and during the 
season employs a staff of twenty-five traveling salesmen, covering the 
State of Indiana thoroughly in all directions, and doing a business 
that is annually increasing in magnitude, extent and value. 

Nichols & Shepard Co.— Battle Creek, Mich., Manufacturers 
of The New Vibrator Thresher Machine; office, 22 Kentucky avenue. 
— The Nichols & Shepard Co., manufacturers of vibrator engines and 
threshing machines, was established at Battle Creek, Mich., in 1848, 
and was incorporated in i86g as Nichols, Shepard & Co., and in 1887 
the title became Nichols & Shepard Co. Their headquarters are at 
Battle Creek, Mich., where the works cover seven acres of ground, 
upon which have been erected extensive buildings, equipped with all 
necessary machinery and appliances of the latest improved pattern 
and where a force of 500 hands are employed. They are the patentees 
and originators of vibrator threshers and in their forty years' experi- 
ence have made many improvements in their original machine. They 
have controlled the largest and best trade on the continent and their 
vibrator is lecognized by intelligent threshers and farmers as the 
highest standard of excellence in the line of harvesting machinery. 
For several years past they have been working out the details of a 
new "and improved thresher, which they have called "The New 
Vibrator," and in the season of 1886 put four at work in the grain fields 
of the country, in 1887 twenty-two were in service, and in 1888 one 
hundred were originally built but the increasing demand necessitated 
the building of one hundred and seventy-five more and two hundred 
and seventy-five were sold. The success of this new and improved 
machine has been marvelous and substantial and they have adopted 
it as their exclusive machine for the future and will put the resources 



of their large factory upon it, with the detcrtiiination tliat (or superiority 
of material, workmanship, efficiency and durability it will not be sur- 
passed by any other thrc>her in the world. Tlicir range of manuf,'«clure 
also includes plain and tr.ulion engines, and they make a specialty of 
their self-guiding traction engines, which are declared by experts and 
engineers to be the acme of mechanical invention. The Indiana- 
polis agency was established liere in 1S79 by W. .S. .McMillin, the 
present manager, whose territory includes Indiana, Kentucky and 
Tennessee. He is located as above, also occupying a commodious 
transfer warehouse at the Xorlh street crossing of the ISee Line Rail- 
way tracks, and employs several traveling agents, and his enterprising 
and liberal management has vastly promoted the company's influence 
and prosperity in the territory within his jurisdiction. 

Arthur Jordan -Wholesale Produce Dealer and Shipper; 
Corner Maryland and .South Delaware streets and \'irginia avenue; 
Branch Houses, Terrc Haute, Ind.; Worthington, Ind.; Oakland City, 
Ind.; Franklin, Ind. ; Crawfordsville, Ind. ; Nokomis, III.— The pro- 
duce business of Arthur Jordan, of the corner of Maryland and South 
Delaware streets, is one of the most valuable adjuncts to trade inter- 
ests in Indianapolis, besides drawing the attention and trade of all 
classes of country merchants, and thereby contributing largely to the 
trade of all the wholesale business of the city. The business was 
established by I\lr. Jordan in 1876, and during the intervening years 
has been constantly increasing in magnitude and influence in all 
directions. In order to meet the demands of his trade, six branch 
packing houses have been established at leading produce supply 
points in this State and Illinois, and two extensive creameries in 
adjoining counties, contributing to the supply of pure butter for his 
city trade, and are under the direct supervision and control of the 
main office at Indianapolis. The business in this city is located on 
one of the best sites for commercial purposes and occupies three 
entire floors of this commodious building, which was erected and 
fitted up by him with special reference to his business. The building 
occupies the entire half square, is fully equipped and appointed with 
all modern improved facilities for handling and shipment of produce 
of all kinds. He is peculiarly in a position to meet the requirements 
of his large trade, having refrigerators and freezing rooms equal to 
any in the West. His specialties are poultry, eggs and butter. The 
poultry is killed on the premises by skilled workmen, and prepared 
for shipment under the direction of the most competent management. 
Finest grade of butter and eggs are also handled largely, and the 
"A. J." brands of poultry, eggs and butter are well established, and 
have a special demand in the New York, Boston and other Eastern 
markets. His relations with producers and consignors are such that 

annual business foots up over half a million dollars, and requires 
the employment of about sixty men. The su))plics are drawn largely 
from and Illinois, but of late his purchases have extended 
into several of the adjoining States. Mr. Jordan is an enterprising, 
public spirited merchant and citizen, and one of the Board of Governors 
of the Board of Trade, and has always been prominent in public 
matters designed to aid in the development and prosperity of Indian- 
apolis anil 

H. C. Smither— Dealer in Roofing Material and Coal Tar 
Products; 169 West Maryland street. — Among the prominent and 
leading concerns that has contributed materially to the development 
and promotion of the trade in roofing materials in this city, that of 
H. C. Smither occupies an advanced position. The business was 

he is prepared to offer every inducement and superior qualities of 
goods to a large and exacting patronage, while the prices his brands 
command, together with his superior facilities, enable him to pay for 
this line of produce the leading prices at all times, and has made this 
for years the principal poultry and egg market in the WtiH. His 

established by the firm of Sims & Smither in 1S73, and was conducted 
under their joint administration until 1887, when Mr. Smither became 
sole proprietor, in which capacity he has since remained. He is 
conveniently and otherwise desirably located for the trade, as above, 
his premises being 35x150 feet in dimensions; well equipped with 
all requisite facilities for the business, including telephone ser\'ice for 
the prompt acknowledgment of orders. He carries full and 
complete lines of goods adapted to the requirements of 
the trade, including |jravel roofing materials, two and three 
ply ready roofing, waterproof sheathing, plain straw board, 
asbestos fire-proof felt, roof and metal paints and other 
commodities of the same character, in great variety. They 
are the products of the leading manufacturers in their 
several lines, composed of the best and most effective 
materials for the uses to which they are designed, and for 
sale in quantities to suit at the most reasonable prices. Mr. 
Smither is experienced in the business, enjoying the most 
favorable relations with producers of superior grades of 
goods in his lines, and in a position to offer the most 
liberal inducements to the public and the trade generally. 
He does a large business with builders, contractors and 
others in the city and vicinity, and the house is universally 
recognized as a depot of supply, in every way reliable and 
managed according to the most honorable methods. Mr. 
Smither also handles the genuine Trinidad asphalt roofing 
and paving materials, and he feels that there should be more 
of these materials used for roofing purposes, as they are more durable 
and will last longer than any other composition roofing, and it is 
far better than tin or iron. And to any one wanting a good asphalt 
roof he would be glad to receive their orders, and will apply the 
roofing himself or see that it is done by good and responsible workmen, 




and to also further the interests in genuine Trinidad asphalt rooting, 
he would specially call the attention of all architects and builders to 
this roofing, and would be too glad to answer any and all communi- 
cations that may be sent to him at his place of business, l6<5 West 
Maryland street. 

The Fostoria Buggy Co. — Wholesale Manufacturers of Bug- 
gies, Etc.; 82 East Market street. — The factory of this company is at 
Fostoria, O., where they operate very extensive works, giving 
employment to a large force of skilled assistants and turning out a 
correspondingly large product for which there is a constant and 
steadily increasing demand. The Indianapolis branch is an import- 
ant factor in the sum total of their yearly business. Mr. R. Silver, its 
manager, has been intimately identified with the buggy trade in this 
city for the past five years. He is experienced in the business, 
acquainted with wants of customers, and by his liberal and honorable 
enterprise has measurably advanced the company's prosperity 
throughout Indiana and Illinois, the territory assigned to his exclu- 

._^ r=m 









w 'Jl 


. / 




,X ^/Xk 




J\yf 'i 


"^ \^ 


= -^— 

'■■•.. VS;;j^^^_^^^^ 



sive direction. He occupies the main floor and basement of premises 
25 feet front on East Market street and 100 feet deep. They are well 
adapted to business occupation, being commodious, well lighted, with 
ample accommodations for the business. The line of productions of 
the company, carried in full supply by Mr. Silver, embraces station- 
ary and jump seat surreys, buggies, delivery, roundabout and other 
patterns of light wagons, carts, etc., in great variety and of standard 
worth, for the retail trade only. The best materials only are used, 
and the most skillful hands employed in their design, make and 
finish, and when completed are substantial, reliable and in every 
respect models in their line. 

George K. Schofield— Sale Stables; 76 North Delaware 
street. — Mr. Schofield, who is, without doubt, the largest live stock 
dealer in Indianapolis, devoting his operations principally to the 
purchase of driving and draught horses, and mules, for the Eastern 
markets, began the business here in 1875. His success was instant 
and has continued increasing in proportions and values annually. He 
occupies conveniently arranged and well appointed offices, adjoining 
which is a commodious stable with accommodations for 30 head of 
stock ; and he also has stables on Wabash and West Washington 

^,^51^ -^3^-3^^%-"^^" 

streets, with a total capacity for 100 horses. They are substantially 
constructed, with particular regard to sanitary arrangements and for 
the security of horses in case of fire, in which event their escape can 
be accomplished promptly and effectually. His specialties are the 
purchase, in large, round lots, of the best strains of horses and mules 
for his own account and to order; also carriages and other vehicles. 
Auction sales are held daily at the Washington street stable, the 

stock coming chiefly from Kentucky, Ohio, Illinois and Indiana, and, 
as stated, sent to the Eastern markets of supply. His carriage reposi- 
tory, at 82 East Market street, is one of the best appointed and most 
heavily stocked of any in its line in the city, in the way of light 
carriages, buggies, road wagons, and vehicles generally, the products 
of the best makers in the country, and unsurpassed for beauty, dura- 
bility and workmanship. 

Charles Mayer & Co.— Importers and Jobbers of Fancy 
Goods, Toys, Etc.; 29 and 31 West Washington street. — The house of 
Charles Mayer & Co. is probably the largest general emporium for 

fancy goods, toys 
notions, etc., in the 
State. It was es- 
tablished in 1840, 
by Charles Mayer, 
Sr. During 1864, 
the present firm 
name and style 
was adopted; The 
firm is composed 
of Charles Mayer, 
Sr., Ferdinand 
Mayer, Fred Ber- 
Jr., and Louis Murr, 
men of experience, 
enterprise, and 
familiar with the 
demands of the 
trade to which 
they minister. 
They own and oc- 
cupy an elegant 
five-story and 
basement building 
40x200 feet in di- 
mensions, and also 
a three-story ware- 
house, 40x150 feet, 
fronting on Pearl 
street. The store 
proper is perfectly 
lighted and ven- 
tilated, heated by 
steam, provided 
with hydraulic 
passenger eleva- 
tors, also with par- 

cel and cash electric railways and other facilities and conveniences 
for the accommodation of the trade. In addition to the usual sales- 
rooms, the basement is also devoted to that object, being lighted by 
natural gas through the Welsbach pattern of burner and otherwise 
rendered available for the uses to which it is adapted. They carry 
very large stocks of druggists', stationers' and grocers' sundries, fancy 
leather goods, autograph and photograph albums and frames, scrap 
books, pictures, birthday, Christmas and New Year cards, Japanese 
and Chinese novelties, musical instruments, boxes and wares, majolica, 
fancy china, Bohemian glassware, brass and bronze goods, toys, 
children's carriages, velocipedes, bicycles, tricycles, girls' propellers, 
fireworks, Chinese lanterns, sporting goods and notions generally, in 
great variety. They import foreign goods direct, and buy domestic 
manufactures for spot cash. They are also State agents for A. G. 
Spalding & Bros.' (Chicago) sporting goods, and in all their lines 
handle none but the best, which are sold to customers and the trade 
at the lowest prices. They employ from 75 to 100 assistants, besides 
eight travelers, and do a large and constantly augmenting business 
throughout Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky and Ohio, as also in 
portions of Texas and California, in all of which the house enjoys an 
established reputation and a distinguished prestige, 

Banks and Banking. 

Xni.\N'.-\rOLIS w.ns withdut linnking facilities until 
1836, when the Iiulianapolis Insurance Company was 
organized and engaged in a general banking and 
insurance business until 1840, finally becoming the 
Bank of Commerce. Edward S. Alvord & Co. became 
established in 1839, and in 1857 the Bank of the State of Indiana was 
organized at Indianapolis, with seventeen branch banks distributed 
throughout the Slate. Upon the establishment of the national bank- 
ing system it was succeeded by the Indiana N.itional Bank. The 
later history of banking in Indianapolis is a familiar story. The city 
now contains four national and two private banks, the solvency and 
reliability of which are beyond comment, as is shown by the 
accompanying tabulated statement. They are closely identified 
with the commercial and industrial interests of the city and State, 
and wield a powerful influence in the development and maintainance 
of the public prosperity. In this department there is also a field for 
the employment of additional capital, and overtures with that object 
in view will meet with substantial encouragement from citizens and 
capitalists. The following table shows the condition of the banks at 
the close of the last fiscal year: 



suit PLUS. 



laiJianapolis National 

Indiana National 

S 300,000 

S 75,000.00 






$ 968,095.61 











The clearances at the clearing house for the year 1888 were 
880,527,502.53, against $95,383,194.95 in l'887, and $66,038,012.12 in 1886. 

There were eighty-nine building and loan associations in operation 
in Indianapolis January first, 1889, with a capital stock aggregating 
826,355.00, having a large membership and in prosperous condition. 

Ample facilities for the storage of valuables are available by two 
companies, provided with all modern equipments for security against 
burglars or fire. 

S. A. Fletcher & Co.— Bank and Safety Deposit Vaults; 30, 
32 and 34 East Washington street.— Among the financial institutions 
of Indianapolis none is more strongly intrenched in the confidence of 
the people than the banking house of S. A. Fletcher & Co., which, 
with a record of honorable history extending back for more than a 
half a century, now deservedly ranks as one of the most solid and 
substantial of the banking institutions of the State. It was established 
in 1837 by Mr. Stoughton A. Fletcher, who was joined in 1853 by Mr. 
F. M. Churchman, when the style of S. A. Fletcher & Co. was assumed. 
In 1882, upon the death of the founder— Mr. Stoughton A. Fletcher— 
his son, Mr. Stoughton J. Fletcher, who had been connected with the 
bank for fifteen years previously, succeeded to his interest, the firm 
now being composed of Messrs. S. J. Fletcher and F. M. Churchman. 
No change has ever been made, however, in the style of the firm. 

which has long l)cen so well known and highly regarded that the 
expression, "as sound as Fletcher's bank," has become a familiar 
household word in Indianapolis. The building occupied by the bank 
and safety deposit vaults is a four-story and basement structure, 42x1 20 
feet in dimensions, with a handsome front of oolitic lime stone, and 
is one of the most attractive and imposing business edifices in the 
city. Its interior is elegantly and conveniently fitted up, affording 
every facility for the successful prosecution of the business. A gen- 
eral banking business is transacted, the bank receiving the deposits 
of banks, bankers, business firms and corporations, and the public, 
loaning money on acceptable security, discounting approved paper, 
issuing exchange on the leading cities of America and Europe, and 
attending to all the usual details of legitimate banking business. The 
bank has a working capital of $1,000,000, and its statement made at 
the close of 1888 showed its deposits to amount to $2,700,000 and its 
discounts to $1,500,000. The bank has some 7,500 depositors, includ- 
ing the wealthiest capitalists of the city and a number of country 
banks in this and surrounding States. The bank numbers among its* 
correspondents the most substantial banks of the leading cities and 
has every facility for the transaction of its business. The film's safety 
deposit vaults, which were opened to the public in 1888, combine 
all the most highly improved appliances for securing the safety of 
deposits and the convenience of safe renters, and affords a reliable 
means for securing the safety of money, valuables and documents. 
The members of the firm are gentlemen of the highest character and 
standing, and Mr. S. J. Fletcher, in addition to his interest in the bank, 
is a farge owner of real estate and houses in the city and its suburbs, 
and along the line of the Belt Railway. The bank is the oldest in 
the city and does the largest business. It has earned this position of 
leadership by a steady adherence to the highest principles of financial 
integrity throughout the long period covered by its history of honor 
and usefulness. 

Indiana National Bank— n and 13 East Washington street. 
— The Indiana National Bank, one of the leading and representative 
monetary institutions in the State, was organized in 1865, under the 
National banking law, as successor to the Branch Bank of the State 
of Indiana. Mr. George Tousey was President and D. E. Snider 
Cashier. The former was succeeded by William Coughlen, who 
served from 1878 to 1882, when he was in turn succeeded by Volney 
T. Malott. Mr. Snider was followed by D. M. Taylor, and the latter 
by W. E. Coffin, who remained the incumbent until 1885. During 
that year the charter of the bank expired by limitation, and a 
re-oiganization was perfected with V. T. Malott, President; William 
Coughlen, \'ice-President, and E.B. Porter, Cashier, who still occupy 
the several positions to which they were at that date elected. The 
bank was successful from its start, and that success has accompanied 
its career ever since. It transacts all business pertaining to general 
banking ; receives deposits, discounts commercial paper, makes 
collections, deals in national securities, has correspondents at financial 
centers, buys and sells foreign exchange and issues drafts and 
letters of credit on the leading banks of the world. It is prominently 
identified with commercial interests here, and is of valuable assist- 
ance to the promotion of the prosperity of all deserving undertakings. 
The report of the condition of the bank at the close of business 
December 12, 1888, shows the loans and discounts were $1,329,293.20, 
the deposits were $2,556,839.03, and the surplus and undivided profits 
$252,921.87. The capital stock of the bank is $300,000, paid in, and the 
New York correspondents are the Bank of America, and Importers' 




and Traders' National banks. It is centrally located, in a building 
owned by Mr. Malott, occupying commodious and handsomely 
appointed offices, and enjoys an extensive patronage, as also a repu- 
tation for the magnitude of its transactions, and the adoption and 
enforcement of a policy that has secured for it a conspicuous position 
among the banking institutions of the State. The following leading 
Indianapolis business men and capitalists compose the present 
directory ; R. S. McKee, George Merritt, W. J. Holliday, George T. 
Porter, Chas. H. Brosvnell, Volney T. IVJalott and William Coughlen. 

The Indianapolis National Bank— Corner of Washington 
and Pennsylvania streets.— The Indianapolis National is one of the 
oldest National banks in the West, if not in the country, and one of 
the most prosperous and flourishing in the city. It was organized in 
1864, with T. P. Haughey, President, and H. Latham, Cashier, and 
re-organized in 1884, upon the expiration of its original charter, with 
the same gentlemen occupying the same positions respectively to 
which they were elected when the bank began operations twenty 
years previous. In November, 1S88, Mr. Latham retired from the 



cashicrship, owinj; to ill-health, and was succeeded l)y Kdwin E. 
Rcxford, who has been in the employ of the bank since 1872. The 
capital stock is $300,000, and the surplus and undivided profits amount 
to {175,000; and a general banking business is done, such as loaning 
money on first-class security, discounting commercial paper of 
approved value, carrying the accounts of individuals, corporations 
and banks, making collections, the purchase and sale of foreign and 
domestic exchange, and other lines of legitimate banking operations. 
It is man.iged according to a conservative but liberal policy, giving it 
the highest standard of credit, and acquiring for it the reputation of a 
substantial financial institution of the highest character. The con- 
dition of the bank at the close of business December 12, 1888, showed 
its capital stock and surplus as above, its total deposits to be $1,700,- 
910.88, and its total resources $2,137,978.88. Its present officers are: 
Theodore P. Haughcy, President: Edwin E. Rexford, Casljier, and 
W. F. C. Gait, Assistant Cashier. The Board of Directors consists of 
the President; also of C. F. Meyer, of Chas. Meyer & Bro., wholesale 
cigars; Scott Butler, of Professor Buder's College; Henry Satteruhite, 
President of the First National Bank of Martinsville, Ind.; and R. B. 
F. Pierce, all well-known citizens and capitalists. The bank is the 
United States depository for this district. Its correspondents are the 
Third National and Chase National Banks of New York City, the 
Commercial National of Chicago, and Third National of Cincinnati. 
It is conveniently located at the corner of Washington and Pennsyl- 
vania streets, and these premises are being enlarged by taking in the 
adjoining store, which will make it the largest and most complete 
banking house in the city. 

Merchant's National Bank— Designated U. S. Depository; 
southwest corner Washington and Meridian streets. — The organiza- 
tion of the Merchants' National Bank of Indianapolis was effected in 
1865, with Henry SchnuU, President, and V. T. Malott, Cashier. Its 
capital stock was $100,000. In 1885, the charter, which expired during 
that year, was renewed, the capital stock remaining unchanged. The 
bank building, located as above, occupies a site of unsurpassed 
advantage for the purposes of business, and is in all respects adapted 
to that object, being provided with all requisite facilities and appoint- 
ments for the safe and expeditious conduct of operations. A general 
banking business is transacted, including the carrying of deposits for 
individuals, corporations and foreign banks, the discount of commer- 
cial paper, purchase and sale of foreign and domestic exchange, loans, 
collections, etc. Its regular correspondents are: The National Park 
Bank of New York; Everett National Bank, Boston; First National 
Bank, Chicago; Fourth Street National Bank, Philadelphia, and 
Merchants' National Bank, Cincinnati — banking institutions of national 
celebrity. The bank is also the designated depository for United 
States funds in this district, and has the vaults of the National Trust 
and Safe Deposit Company, a separate corporation, in which the 
Merchants' National directory is largely interested, in connection 
with its banking premises. The operations of the corporation have 
been successful since their inception, the deposits, loans and discounts 
steadily increasing in amount and importance, due to the able and 
judicious character of its management. Its present surplus and 
undivided profits amount to $46,203.44, and during 1888 the loans aggre- 
gated $319,450.48; the deposits, $607,163.08. The executive board 
consists of J. P. Frcnzel, President; O. N. Frenzel, Cashier, who, with 
James F. Failey, Paul H. Krauss and Christ. F. Bals, constitute the 
Board of Directors. They arc men of extensive business experience 
and reputation, and the condition of the bank, as also its prospects, 
are in the highest degree satisfactory. 

The National Trust and Safe Deposit Co. 10 South 
Meridian street.— This company was organized in 1S88, for the special 
purpose of doing a trust and safe deposit business. The premises 
occupied consist of the ground floor, divided into an office and waiting 
room, a private consultation room and apartments for ladies and 
gentlemen for the private examination of boxes. The vault, con- 
structed by the Diebold Safe and Lock Company, rests on a founda- 
tion of solid masonry and is surrounded by solid brick walls. The 
lining, composed of welded steel and iron, is two inches thick. The 

outer doors are guarded by twenty-two bolts operated by spring bolt 
machines; the inner doors are locked with two double combination 
locks. The capacity of the vault is 1,800 individual apartments, each 
safe or apartment provided with key or combination lock, as may be 
preferred, each lock being different from all the others and changed 
upon every re-renting. Proper regulations are enforced with regard 
to the identity of lessees or their deputies, and ample facilities are 
provided for the convenience and seclusion of patrons in their 
examinations of papers, bonds and stocks. Thoroughly reliable 
watchmen are employed day and night, and electric appliances are 
available for instant communication with the city police in case of 
emergency. The vault is absolutely fire and burglar proof and the 


apartments are leased at from S5.00 to $25.00 per annum according to 
size. The enterprise is addressed to the notice of capitalists, bond 
owners, merchants, bankers, brokers, manufacturers, tradesmen, 
mechanics, clergymen, physicians, lawyers, widows, owners of plate, 
jewelry, souvenirs, family relics, securities, valuable papers, etc., as 
offering an absolutely safe place of deposit for same. In addition to 
renting boxes the company receives for safe keeping plate, bullion, 
jewelry, notes, bills, deeds, abstracts, manuscripts, letters, and secur- 
ities generally at low rates. The officers, all well known capitalists 
and business men, are James F. Failey, President; E. G. Cornelius, 
Vice-President; Otto N. Frenzel, Secretary and Treasurer, who, with 
N. S. Byam, J. P. Frenzel, P. H. Krauss and C. H. Bals, constitute 
the Board of Directors. Many of these gentlemen are connected with 
the Merchants' National Bank, a separate and distinct corporation, 
however, from the present company. 

Meridian National Bank-8 East Washington street.— The 
Meridian National is a substantial representative of the banking 
interests of Indianapolis, as also of the conservative but liberal policy 
which has always characterized their management and business 
operations. The organization of the bank was perfected in 1871, with 
John Farquar, President, and George F. Hogate, Cashier. In 1887 
William P. Gallup succeeded to the Presidency, and is still the incum- 
bent of that responsible position. A. F. Kopp, the cashier since 1885, 
has been in the service of the bank since 1873. They are located as 
above, at one of the most available points on East Washington street, 
where they occupy commodious accommodations, and are fully 
provided with all necessary requisites and appointments for the trans- 
action of the business in all its various departments. They receive 
deposits, discount approved mercantile paper, deal in foreign and 
domestic exchange, also in Government, State and local securities, 
issue circular and commercial letters of credit, and in all business 
relations extend important aid to the financial, commercial, and 
manufacturing interests of Indianapolis. Its chief correspondents are 
the Fourth National Bank of New York; The Merchants' National 
of Chicago; Maverick National, Boston; First National, Cincinnati; 
and the Central National Bank of Philadelphia. A prosperous busi- 
ness has been done since the organization. The capital stock is 

The city of Indianapolis. 


tica.ocx) paid up, the surplus fund $ioo,coo, and the total resources 
?i, 577,620.62. The business for the fiscal year 1S88 showed loans and 
discounts amounting to §788,078.84, and deposits, individual and 
otherwise, aggregating $1,169,859.73, with undivided profits approxi- 
mating §20,000. A large and experienced staff of assistants is 
employed, and the list of customers includes the leading capitalists 
and business men of the city and vicinity. The officers are: Wm P. 
Gallup, President; D. A. Richardson, Vice-President; A. F. Kopp, 
Cashier. These gentlemen, with Charles Mayer, Fred Fahnley, J. E. 
Robertson, R. S. Foster, R. H. McCrea and Charles Scholl, compose 
the Board of Directors. 

.The Bank of Commerce — Junction South Pennsylvania 
street and \'irginia avenue. — This bank was chartered by the State 
Legislature February 8, 1836. Its capital stock is §200,000, and by 
the provisions of its charter, the stockholders are individually liable 
to the same extent as those of National Banks. Over seven-eighths 
of the stock is held by the estate and heirs of the late W. C. DePauw, 

of New Albany, who purchased a controlling interest some ten years 
ago, and directed its management up to the date of his death in 
Chicago, sometime during 1887. By the terms of his will, the closing 
up of his estate is deferred for fifteen years, and upon the final settle- 
ment being made, 1 1 per cent, of the stock and that percentage of 
the bank's earnings for the same period, are to be credited to the 
DePauw University, of Greencastle, this State. Its executive and 
directory boards have always been composed of men of financial 
ability and experience (John W. Ray, the Vice-President, was eight 
years Cashier when the outlook was most unpromising, during which 
time the stock advanced from fifty cents on the dollar to a par value). 
The present officers are: Newland T. DePauw, President; John W. 
Ray, Vice-President, and William Bosson, Cashier; who, with William 
Wallace and Charles W. DePauw, constitute the Board of Directors. 
The Messrs. DePauw, sons of the late W. C. DePauw, reside at New 
Albany ; Messrs. Ray, Bosson and Wallace being residents of this 


A MONO the promi- 
/— \ nent features of 
Indianapolis are 
the number and extent 
of the public buildings 
which decorate the city 
and vicinity. As the 
Capital of the State, 
the State institutions, 
embracing the Capitol, 
Insane Asylum, Deaf 
and Dumb Asylum, 
Blind Asylum and Fe- 
male Reformatory are 
conspicuous examples 
of architectural develop- 
ment and finish. To 
these should be added 
the buildings inspired 
by public and private en- 
terprise, notable among 
which are the Marion 
County Court Houss, 
Union Railway Station, 
Tomlinson's Ilall, 
Fletcher's Bank build- 
ing, the New Denison, 
and other structures. 
Federal, commercial and 
theatric, illustrative of 
the growth and pros- 
perity of the city, as also 
of the enterprise and 
liberality of citizens. 


By far the handsomest 

structure in the city is ! ^ 

the State House, occupying the square bounded by Ohio, Tennesee, 
Washington and Mississippi streets. The building is of Bedford stone, 
three stories high, 492x186 feet in dimensions, and 283 feet from east to 
west through the center, with a dome of solid stone from foundation 
to apex, 72 feet in diameter and 234 feet in height. The basement is 
occupied for storage purposes and the State Armory, the main floor 
with the executive and administrative offices of the State, the second 

T. M. 0. A. BUILDING. 

floor by the Legislative 
department,the Supreme 
Court, State Library, 
Treasury, School Super- 
intendent, Auditor and 
other offices, and the 
third floor by the Geolo- 
gical department, com- 
mittee rooms, etc. The 
premises are heated by 
natural gas, and lighted 
by gas and electricity. 
They were commenced 
in 1878 and completed 
ten years later, at a cost 
of §1,981,000, exclusive 
of the furnishings, which 
cost an additional out- 
lay of §182,000. It was 
erected upon plans fur- 
nished by a local archi- 
tect, and is pronounced 
one of the most com- 
plete edifices of its kind 
in the United States. 


The County Court 
House of Marion County 
is not surpassed in res- 
pect to architectural 
proportions, finish, color- 
ing and general detail, 
by that of any similar 
corporation in the coun- 
try. The building, which 
is of Bedford stone, is 
located in the square bounded by Washington, Delaware, Market 
and New Jersey streets, with a frontage of 276 feet 6 inches and a 
depth of 106 feet 5 inches. It is located in the business center of 
the city and is one of the most massive public buildings in the State. 
The style of architecture is the modern French Renaissance. The 
work of construction was begun in 1870, and the building completed 
in 1876 at a cost of §1,600,000. The basement is eccupied by city 










offices, the upper floors being used by the county offices and court 
rooms. Each suite of rooms, with the walls and ceilings of the 
entire building, are frescoed, the floors are laid with tile, and other 
appointments have been provided for the convenience of the public 
appropriate to the character of the edifice and expressive of good 


Tomlinson's Hall is a commodious brick structure fronting 120 
feet on Market street, with a depth of 195 feet on Delaware street. 
It was erected in 1886 at a cost of §125,000, the proceeds of a bequest 
made to the city for the purpose by Stephen Tomlinson some years 
ago, and allowed to accumulate until sufficient in amount to com- 
mence operations. 
The building is 
two stories high, 
the main floor be- 
ing occupied as a 
vegetable market 
and the sfcond 
story as a public 
hall, with capacity 
to accommodate 
an audience of 
five thousand. 
East of this is a 
market house com- 
pleted the same 
year. It is a one- 
story brick, 100 
feet front on Mar- 
ket street and 195 
feet deep, and 
cost the city thirty 
thousand dollars. 



The Federal 
Building is situ- 
ated at the corner 
of Pennsylvania 
and Market 
streets. It is tlnee stories high and was commenced in 1857. 
The main building was completed in i860, at a cost of Si6o,ooo ; the 
annex in 1872. The main floor is occupied by the Postoffice, the 
second story with the L^nited States Court room, Judge's, Marshal's 
and other offices, and the third story with the offices of the Collectors 
and other Federal officials. Additional ground, adjoining the present 
site on the east, was purchased by the government in 1888, and the 
structure will be materially enlarged immediately an appropriation is 
made by Congress. 


Masonic Temple is located at the corner of Washington and Ten- 
nessee streets. It is a four-story edifice of stone and brick, and one 
of the handsomest buildings in the city. The ground floor is used 
for stores, the second floor being devoted to offices and the third floor 
to lodge rooms; the fourth story being occupied exclusively by the 
commandery. The building prepared for occupation, cost $175,000, 
not including the furnishings. 


The handsome stone building on Illinois street owned and occupied 
by the Young Men's Christian Association was completed in July, 
1887. The style of architecture is Romanesque or round arched 
Gothic, executed in rough stone from the quarries at Romano, on the 

Vincennes road. It is 71 feet 3 inches front on Illinois street with 
a depth of 120 feet, and the interior is handsomely finished in hard 
woods. The main floor is devoted to stores, the three upper stories 
by the association, and are divided into offices, reading, railroad and 
amusement rooms, with an audience room in the rear 55x68 feet in 
dimensions, with a capacity for seating an audience of goo. The total 
cost of the building was $24,000, the furnishing equipment of the 
same being done at an expense of $11,000 additional. 


Odd Fellows' Hall was built in 1854, and re-constructed in 1S74, at 
an expense of ,? It is three stories in height, 67x102 feet in 
dimensions, and composed of brick, with a covering and ornamenta- 
tions of stucco. 
The main floor 
is occupied with 
stores, the upper 
floors being used 
for office a n d 
lodge -room jnir- 


The Board of 
Trade building 
occupies the 
south-east corner 
of Maryland and 
Tennessee streets, 
having a frontage 
of 60 feet on the 
former and 140 
feet on the lat- 
ter thoroughfare. 
The building is of 
brick, with stone 
facings, and Re- 
naissance in style 
o f architecture. 
The main floor 
and second story 
are occupied by 

stores and offices, the Exchange being upon the third floor. The 

building cost $80,000, and was completed in 1874. 


The Arsenal is located in the northeastern portion of the city 
adjoining Woodruff Place, in the midst of a' tract of T^\^ acres. 
The building is of brick, 183x63 feet in dimensions, and fronts on 
both Michigan and Clifford avenues. The premises are used for the 
storage of arms and ordnance by the general government. Adjoin- 
ing the Arsenal are officers' quarters, barracks, storehouses, magazine 
and other buildings, also of brick. The improvements are valued at 


The Exposition Building was erected during 1873, ■'^ '^^^ north- 
eastern part of the city, upon plans furnished by the late Edward May. 
The building is 150x300 feet in dimensions, built of brick in modern 
style of architecture and surmounted by a cupola 150 feet in height. 
The total cost was $75,000. ' 

Besides those mentioned, there are a number of smaller halls avail- 
able for society and other purposes, and three theatres: The Grand 
Opera House on North Pennsylvania street, the English Opera House, 
on the Circle, and the Park Theatre and Museum, at the northeast 
corner of Tennessee and Washington streets. 












/ bca^ 


[ ANUFACTURING industries were established in Indi- 
anapolis when the present city was first settled. Since 
1821, when they embraced undertakings of the most 
primitive character, their number has grown into large 
proportions, with results that have annually con- 
tributed more substantially to the city's prominence and prosperity as 
a commercial center, than any other single agency employed in that 
behalf. It is unnecessary to more than refer to the early efforts 
ventured in this field of usefulness. They were numerous, and while 
many fell by the wayside, many survived and became the founders of 
the present elaborate system, a system that has attained to its present 
significance under the fostering influence of a class of business men 
to whom in all the departments of life, civilization is indebted for tlie 
creation, develooment and promotion of enterprises designed for the 
public welfare. Indianapolis is a manufacturing city, and known as 
such in every State of the Union, as also throughout the Canadian 
provinces. South America, Europe, Australia and elsewhere beyond 
the seas, for the products of the city's 560 factories are sold in all the 
markets of the world. 


Probably the most important industry of Indianapolis in the amount 
of capital invested and the value of the annual product, is pork 
packing. The establishments thus engaged here give employment to 
1,200 hands, control $2,000,000 of invested capital, and the value of 
their products for 1S88 was §10,000,000. Theirhousesand equipments 
are unsurpassed in every particular, and their lines of production, 
which are of the best quality and description, are shipped to all the 
depots of supply in this country and Europe, where they command 
the highest prices. 


Another leading industry in the value of its annual products, 
amount of capital invested, etc., is the manufacture of furniture. 
Among the many advantages possessed by Indianapolis for the success 
attained in this direction is the city's proximity to an almost inex- 
haustible supply of hardwood, the amount of which available to such 
uses can hardly be estimated. Indianapolis has for years supplied 
the markets of the world with walnut, oak, cherry, ash and poplar, 
and yet controls the hardwood lumber trade of the country. The 
manufacture of furniture on a large scale was commenced here about 
1855, and has steadily increased in volume from that year. The 
business is owned and conducted by men of enterprise, the factories 
are not surpassed in size and appointments by those of any similar 
industry in the west, and the facilities enable the manufacture of every 
description of household and office furniture, rapidly and with the 
most satisfactory results. The growth of this industry, and the increase 
in the number of manufacturers, together with the quality of the 
output and amount of sales annually made, is phenomenal. In 1882, 
the value of the product was §2,000,000. That amount represented 
the capital alone invested in the business in 1888, the output for which 
year aggregated §4,000,000 in value. Next to furniture manufacture, 
the manufacture of lumber and building materials is an important 
industry of the city, and of comparatively recent origin, having been 
introduced here about the period of the breaking out of the war. The 
ample supply of raw material within easy reach ot manufacturers, and 
the facilities for shipment to every portion of the world at low rates for 
freight, gave an early impetus to the business which has constantly 
appreciated in value through the years that have folio vved. There 
are now twenty-one firms and corporations engaged in the manufac- 

ture of lumber and building materials, with a total capital of §1 ,000,000, 
giving employment to 1,000 men, and producing an annual output 
valued at §3,100,006. 

The manufacture of wagons and carriages, wheels, staves, wooden- 
ware, car-woodwork, boxes and other articles composed mainly of 
wood, come properly under this division of the city's industrial 
resources, among which they are prominent and leading. There are 
now fifty-seven factories devoted to these lines, employing an aggre- 
gate of §2,221,000 capital and 2,598 hands. The total value of their 
products for 1888 was §5,635,000. The largest of these industries — 
thirty-five in number — employs goo men and turned out wagons and 
carriages, valued at §1,500,000, in 1888, though the stairs manufactured 
for the year were valued at §2,000,000 and the wooden wheels at 
§750,000. The establishment, growth and progress of these industries 
will be found in the notices of houses and companies therein engaged. 


Under this head is included the factories which manufacture 
articles, the constituent properties of which are metals, such as steel, 
iron, copper, brass, etc. The origin of these industries dates back to 
the establishment of the Eagle Machine Works in 1850. Other 
foundries and machine shops followed, to which large additions have 
been made in value and capacity from time to time as the service 
demanded, and nearly all have enjoyed a prosperous career. There 
are now sixty-seven of this description of factories in the city, with 
an aggregate capital of §3,919,000, and the value of their annual 
product for 1888, during which they employed 3,724 hands, was 
§10,315,000. Their output embraces engines, mill and other 
machinery, architectural iron work, springs, bolts, malleable iron 
work, saws, stoves, surgical instruments, wire, and other commodities 
in the same line, which enjoy a national reputation for superiority in 
respect to materials and workmanship. Among the largest industries 
not specified above, are the agricultural works, car works, railroad 
shops, etc., giving employment to 2,460 hands and §3,050,000 capital, 
and producing an annual output valued at §5,400,000. The field for 
business is extensive, and the opportunities afforded to capitalists for 
profitable investments are abundant. 


There are upward of 350 firms, corporations, etc., carrying on 
manufacturing industries of a miscellaneous character, giving employ- 
ment to nearly 9,000 hands and §10,000,000 capital, and turning out 
annually goods and wares valued at more than §20,000,000. The 
leading among these are grist mills, seven in number, producing flour 
valued at §3,000,000; breweries turning out §2,000,000 worth of malt 
liquors annually; binderies, §1,500,000; bricks, §1,800,000 ; overalls, 
§800,000 ; fruits, §800,000 ; textile fabrics, §700,000 ; stone work, 
§1,000,000; pumps, files, starch, hominy, and other lines, §500,000 each; 
also manufacturers of boots and shoes, tiles, canned goods, linseed oil, 
medicaments, tin ware, varnishes, etc., with large capacity and corres- 
pondingly productive, both in respect to materials and values. 


The location of Indianapolis, in the center of a rich agricultural 
country, near to supplies of iron, wood, stone, coal, etc., possessing 
unsurpassed transportation accommodations, supplied with an abund- 
ance of the best quality of coal, available to consumers at the lowest 
prices, the distributing point for natural gas, which will be furnished 
to industries free, with other conveniences and appointments, make 
the city one of unlimited advantages for manufacturing purposes. 



There arc still opcninjr!; in this city for men of enterprise and capital 
to enijai;e in the manufacture of articles, tlie production of which is 
hardly sutlicient to ec|ual the demand. Anions these may be mentioned 
boots and shoes, paper, potteries, show cases, glassware, staineil 
glass, straw goods, upholsterers' goods, willow ware, beveled and 
silvered mirrors, furnaces, oils and dyes, brooms and broom handles, 
organs and sewing machines, lead pipe and sheet, safes, fluid 
extracts, marble tops, photographers' materials, locomotives, bolts, 
chemicals, glue etc. The following table contains a list of manu- 

facturing enterprises at present in operation in Indianapolis and the 
suburbsr It docs not, however, contain the entire variety of goods 
produced here, the entire capital employed, nor the total product of 
the lines named, these figures being included in the classification in 
which the firm is principally engaged. The manufacture of oils and 
gas is carried on extensively in Indianapolis, but the figures in their 
connection were not obtained in time to be included in the table 
below. Neither is mention made of shoemakers, bakers and small 
industries generally who manufacture for consumers only. 


O H 













AiIvertisiiiK Novelties 

Atiricultiiml Implementa 

.\rchitectnral Iron ; 

Artificial Limbs 

Awnings and Tents 

IJed Springs 

Bi'ltinR (leather and chain) 



Book Binders and Blank Book Mannfactarers 

Boots and Slioes 

Bo(^t and Shoe Uppers 

Bottling (soda, pop, beer, etc.) 

Box (cigar) 

Box (packing) 

Box (paper) 

Bricks ■ 

Brick Machinery 

Brass Founders 




Canned Goods 

Carriage Woodwork 

Carriages and Wagons 






Cracker Machinery 

Elbows (stove) 

Electric Light 


Engines, Boilers, Founders and Machinists . 




Flour Mill Machinery 


Frames and Mouldings 

Fences (patent) 

Flour Mills 

Frogs and Switches 

Fruit Packers 


Furniture and Fixtures ... 





Hosiery and Knitting 

Ice Cream 

























































FOB 1888. 












































































































. o 

O H 



Lightning Conductors 

Linseed Oil 

Lumber and Builders' Material . 

Marble and Stone 

Malleable Iron 




Natur,il Gas Supplies 




Paints and Oils 



Pork Packers 



Pulleys (paper) 

Railroad Shops 


Rubber Stamps 



Show Cases 



Stained Glass 

Staves and Headings 

Stone Quarries 

Straw Goods 


Surgical Instruments 



Tiles (encaustic) 

Tracks (store) 





Vinegar and Cider- 

Water Works 

Warp (cotton) 

Wlieels (wooden) 

Wire Works 

Willow Ware 

Wooden Ware 

Woolen Mills 





































































































FOR 1888. 























































Kingan & Co. (Limited)— Pork Packers.— The commanding 
position held by the vast establishment of Kingan & Co. gives it a 
notable prominence as one of the foremost representatives of the 
important industries of Indianapolis. The fame of its products have 
long extended beyond national boundaries, and they are as popular 
in Canada, Great Britain and Continental Europe as in this country, 
fully half of the trade of the house being its export business. The 
enterprise was established about thirty years ago, and it has been 
conducted under its present corporate style for the past fourteen 
years. The plant, more than ten acres in extent, and enclosed within 
its walls, is in itself a miniature city, alive with activity and business 
vigor. A large number of buildings from three to seven stories in 
height are contained within the inclosure, to which entrance is 
obtained through large gates and driveways leading to a spacious 
courtyard around which the vast buildings utilized in slaughtering, 
packing and storage houses, as well as the office and other buildings, 
are located. The machinery equipment includes all the latest appli- 

being utilized which is calculated in any way to aid or expedite the 
operations of the business, and to keep the product up to the high 
standard of quality by which its celebrity has been attained. The 
vast resources of the company and the wide area covered by its 
trade rank it among the leading American manufacturing houses, 
and its prominence and prosperity attest the wisdom of its 

Eli Lilly & Co.— Eli Lilly, President; James E. Lilly, Vice- 
President; Evan F. Lilly, Secretary; Josiah K. Lilly, Superintendent; 
Pharmaceutical Chemists, McCarty street. — For the extent of its 
business, the wide range and admitted excellence of its products, and 
the expansive area covered by its trade, there is no manufacturing 
concern in Indianapolis which stands more prominent than that of 
Eh Lilly & Co. The business was established in 1876 by Mr. Eli 
Lilly, who, in 1881, became the President of the company upon its 
incorporation under its present style. The company's laboratory, 

KINGAN & CO. (limited 

anccs which modern invention has supplied to aid or expedite the 
operations of this department of industry; and here an average of 
about 600,000 hogs are annually slaughtered and converted into pork 
products by the aid of the most approved modern processes. The 
outlay for hogs amounts to from $6,000,000 to J/ per annum; 
a capital of 51,500,000 is invested, and the product reaches to from 
$8,000,000 to $g,ooo,ooo annually. Employment is given to a force 
ranging from 500 to 1000 hands, according to the season, and the 
storage capacity of the warehouses amounts to about 11,000,000 
pounds. The company, in addition to its premises here, has other ex- 
tensive packing houses at Richmond, Va., and Kansas City. The brand 
of ' Reliable" hams and other pork products is justly popular and 
in large demand in all parts of the Union and Canada, while for the 
export trade they put up their " Kingan" brand, specially put up in 
accordance with the requirements of the English and European 
markets and in large and constantly growing demand. Vast as the 
business is, all of its details are under the close supervision of 
experienced superintendents in every department, every accessory 

occupying a three-story and basement brick building, 50x175 feet in 
dimensions, with an "L" 70x25 feet, is notable for its convenient 
arrangement and its perfect equipment of improved machinery, much 
of which is of a special character, while the motive power is supphed 
by an 8o-horse power engine, fed by two large boilers. The company 
gives employment to a force of about 100 skilled employes in the 
manufacture of standard medicinal products and pharmaceutical 
preparations, including fluid extracts, standard tinctures, gelatin 
coated and sugar coated pills and granules, medicinal elixirs, syrups 
and wines, compressed tablets and lozenges, solid extracts, powdered 
extracts, concentrations (resinoids), and a varied line of miscellaneous 
preparations. Not only all the officinal preparations of the United 
States Pharmacopreia, but also all approved unofficinal extracts and 
other preparations are included in the products of the laboratory; 
and there are also here prepared a number of specialties which have 
secured the approval of the highest medical authorities and the pro- 
fession at large. Included in the latter class are Succus Alterans 
(McDade), of great value as an alterative mixture for syphilis and 



other blood diseases; Elixir Purgans (Lilly),a perfect lit]iii(l cathartic; 
Til. Aphrodisiaca (Lilly), and Lilly's Liquid Pepsin. A specially is 
made of the manufacture of pills from private prescriptions, and the 
company enjoys the most complete facilities for the satisfactory filling 
of orders in this line, cither in gelatin coated or sugar coated varieties. 
The excellence of the goods produced by the company has not only 
secured for them a large trade in the I'nited .States and Canada, but 
also a considerable export business to England, through their London 
agents. Their domestic trade is aided by the services of a staff of 
twelve experienced traveling salesmen, and Western orders, except 
those from the I'acilic Coast, are filled by their branch house at 
Kansas City, Mo., which is in charge of Mr. James E. Lilly, Vice- 

President of the company. The trade of the company steadily 
increases with each succeeding season, and the high position it holds 
is the deserved result of the energy and enterprise of the President, 
Mr. Eli Lilly, and his associate officers, the careful supervision of the 
processes employed in the laboratory, and the uniform excellence of 
all its products. 

Van Camp Packing Co. —Packers of Extra Tomatoes, 
Corn, Peas, lieans, Strawberries, Pumpkins and Tomato Ketchup. 
Van Camp Preserving Co. — Manufacturers of Pure Fruit 
Preserves, Jellies, Fruit Kutters. Mince Meat, Sauces, Etc. Gilbert 
C. Van Camp, President ; Frank \'an Camp, Secretary and Treasurer. 
300 to 400 Kentucky avenue. — This establishment, which has grown 
from comparatively small beginnings to a position of leadership in 
its line, has earned a position in the favor of the trade and consumers 
second to no manufacturing concern in the country. The business 
was established in 1861 by Mr. Gilbert C. \'an Camp, the firm later 
assuming the style of G. C. Van Camp & Co., who were succeeded in 
1882 by the Van Camp Packing Co., and in April, 1889, the \'an 
Camp Preserving Co. w-as incorporated as a distinct institution, Mr. 
Gilbert C. Van Camp and Frank \'an Camp continuing as the officers 
of both companies, which occupy the same offices and works. The 
plant, to which additions have been made from time to time as the 
growth of the business demanded them, now covers four acres, and 
includes the main building, a two-story and basement brick structure 
looxlgo feet in dimensions, with a wing 150x30 feet ; and two large 
storage sheds, in dimensions 160x100 feet and 80x60 feet respectively; 
and the manufacturing equipment includes five boilers : two of 80- 
horsc power each, two of 6o-horse power each, and one of 40-horse 
power; two engines, one of 30-horse power and the other of 20-horse 
power ; large tanks and kettles with a capacity of 5000 bushels of 
tomatoes per day ; six can-solderers, with a capacity of 100,000 cans 
per day, and a vast amount of improved machinery and appliances 
specially adapted to the purposes of this business. A force ranging 
from forty to fifty hands is steadily employed, and this force is 
augmented in the packing season to from 600 to 700 hands ; and five 

active and experienced traveling salesmen represent the house to the 
jnl)bing and wholesale trade in all parts of the Union. The Van 
Camp Packing Co. are the largest packers of tomatoes in the world, 
■ and put up, on an average, about 3,000,000 two and three-pound cans 
of tomatoes, peas, string beans, corn, strawberries and pumpkins in 
the i)acking season of about fourteen weeks annually. The Van 
Camp Preserving Company has a productive capacity for 100,000 
pounds of jellies, preserves, fruit butters, mincemeat, etc., per day, and 
are large producers in all of these lines. The house has ever based its 
claims to success upon the purity of its goods, and by maintaining 
the highest standard of quality has secured its present firmly 
established position as a leader in this branch of production. This 
excellence of quality, and the enterprise of Mr. 
Gilbert C. Van Camp, the President of the company, 
have been factors in the success of this great estab- 
lishment, and the office and financial affairs of the 
company are efficiently supervised by Mr. Frank 
Van Camp, a gentleman of thorough business train- 
ing, and in all its details the management is charac- 
terized by progressive and sagacious methods. 

Eagle Machine Works Co.— L. W. Hassel- 

man, President; \V. J. Hasselman, Vice-President; 
Manufacturers of .'Agricultural and Saw Mill 
Machinery and Engines; Missouri street and Ken- 
tucky avenue. — The development of the resources 
of the great West, which in the rapidity with which a 
wilderness has been changed to a prolific agricultural 
region is the greatest marvel of modern history, is 
the result of numerous causes, none of which have 
been more potent than the progress made in the 
invention and manufacture of improved agricultural 
machinery. These labor-saving appliances have 
increased productive power and lessened its cost, 
lightened labor, and made possible enterprises in agricultural 
development of a magnitude greater than any previously known 
to history. One of the early firms engaged in the improvement 
of the appliances of agriculture was that organized in 1848 as 
Watson, Voorhees & Co., who were succeeded in 1850 by the 
firm of Hasselman & Vinton, of which Mr. L. W. Hasselman was 
a member. This firm continued the business until 1865, when 
the Eagle Machine Works Company was incorporated under a 
charter for twenty years, upon the expiration of which, in 1885, the 
charter was renewed for fifty years. At that time the works of the 
company were located on Meridian street, but two years later the 
new works of the company, on Missouri street, were occupied. These 
premises, with additions since made, now constitute one of the most 
modern, thoroughly equipped and conveniently arranged establish- 
ments of its kind in the country. The numerous buildings comprised 
in the plant are for the most part three-story brick structures, and 
cover an area of two acres of ground, including a completely equipped 
machine shop, 175x60 feet; wood-working shop, 175x60 feet; paint 
shop, 170x50 feet; blacksmith shop, 100x80 feet; a lofty, well. lighted 
foundry, 6oxgo feet; two store rooms, each 50x175 feet in dimensions, 
and to these are now being added a four-story brick, building, 60x60 
feet. The machinery equipment of the works includes a loo-horse 
power engine, fed by two 4><xi6 feet boilers, 700 feet of shafting, and 
a complete outfit of large planers, lathes, boring machines, drills, 
steam punches, etc., all the machinery being of the most modern and 
improved make, and especially adapted to the requirements of the 
business. A force of 150 workmen is given employment. The pro- 
ducts of the works include a number of the most valuable of modern 
labor-saving machines, including the celebrated " Hustler" Thresher, 
unequaled in simplicity of construction, ease of mechanism, perfection 
of its grain separation, and economy in operation; the " Eagle " Straw- 
stacker (Hasselman's patent), the most substantial, simple and prac- 
tical stacker in the market; circular saw-inills of various improved 
makes, mill dogs, head blocks, edging saw tables, swinging saw cut- 
offs, drag saws, wood saws, portable farm engines, traction engines 
and skid engines, AH of these meritorious machines are made by 



expert workmen, under the most careful supervision, the best mate- 
rials being used, and every provision made for securing their durability 
and efficiency. Their merit is attested by a steadily increasing 
demand, and the trade of the company is annually augmented, an 
extensive business being enjoyed, covering the States of Indiana, 
Ohio, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, Arkansas, and all the Northern 
and Northwestern States. The President of the company, Mr. L. W. 
Hasselman, who has been at the head of the business for nearly forty 
years, holds a recognized position as a progressive and representative 
American manufacturer and to his accurate knowledge of the business 
and sagacious management of its affairs is due the commanding 
position which the company holds among the important manufacturing 
corporations of the country. Mr.W. J. Hasselman, the Vice-President, 
has also, during his extended connection with the company, largely 
contributed to its success, and the expansion of its business. 

The Wm. F. Piel Co .— W. F. Piel, Sr., President; W. F. Piel, 
Jr., Vice-President and Treasurer; H. W. Piel, Secretary ; Starch 
Manufacturers; Office, 17 South Meridian street. — In tfie lines of 
production for which Indianapolis has secured a recognized promi- 
nence, the manufacture of starch is a notable one, and the activity in 
this branch of manufacture is due to the establishment of the Wm. 
F. Piel Co., recognized as a leading and representative one, excelling 
in the amount and quality of its product, .the completeness of its 
manufacturing facilities and the extended area covered by its trade. 
The business was established in 1867 by W. F. Piel & Co., and 
continued under that style until 1886, when the present company was 
incorporated; the founder of the business remaining at its head as 
President. The w orks of the company are located at the corner of 

Morris and Dakota streets, where a tract of thirty-five acres, of which 
three acres are covered with buildings two and three stories in height 
with basements. These premises are fitted up with all the latest and 
most improved machinery, including, in addition to a large Corliss 
engine of great power and four smaller ones, a large quantity of 
special machinery, by which the most favorable results are obtained 
in the improvement of the product and the saving of labor. The 
works have a capacity for the utilization of three thousand bushels of 
corn per day, and employment is given to a force of 150 hands in the 
manufacture of the various grades of starch. The works are the 
largest in the United States exclusively devoted to the manufacture 
of starch, and have long been noted for the superior excellence of 
their product. The special brands are " Champion Gloss Lump," for 
laundry purposes; " Refined Pearl," for steam laundries and manu- 
facturing purposes generally ; " Germania," for export trade, and 
" Improved Corn Starch," for cuiinary use. The uniform superiority 
of the product has secured for these brands the favor of consumers 
and a consequently universal demand by the trade in all parts of the 
Union, which is regularly visited by a large staff of traveling sales- 
men, and agents of the company located in the leading cities ; while 
a large export trade is also enjoyed, extending to all parts of Europe 
and other countries. The establishment is a representative of the 
highest order of industrial activity, and its leading position has been 

attained by close attention to every detail, by maintaining the product 
at the highest standard of excellence and uniformity, and by propriety 
of methods in the conduct of the business. 

Thomas Madden— Manufacturer of Lounges, Parlor Furni- 
ture, Chairs, Etc.; English avenue and " Big Four" Railroad. — One of 
the most prominent names connected with the development of the 
furniture manufacturing industry is that of Mr. Thomas Madden. He 
was a member of the firm of Ott cS; Madden for a number of years prior 
to 1884, in which year he established his present enterprise and inaugu- 
rated what has grown to be one of the largest and most successful 
furniture manufactories of the West. The premises occupied for the 
purposes of the business embrace a four-story brick building, 60x110 
feet in dimensions, completely equipped with all the most highly 
improved machinery and appliances adapted to the manufacture of 
furniture, with special reference to the production of the specialties 
of the house, including every description of lounges, parlor furniture, 
reclining chairs, platform rockers, etc. A force of workmen, 
averaging about one hundred in number, are constantly employed 
under competent supervision, the most careful selection of materials 
is made, and the product embraces every element of desirability and 
perfection in workmanship, elegance of design and finish, and 
durability in construction. The trade is supplied with these goods 
either in the white or upholstered, and they are in great favor with 
dealers throughout the Union on account of their salability and 
merit. As a consequence of maintaining the quality of the product 
at the highest standard of excellence, Mr. Madden has secured a 
steady augmentation in the volume of his trade from the inception 
of his business to the present time, and is accorded a prominent place 
among the representative furniture manufacturers of 
Indiana. His practical experience and progressive 
and reliable business methods have been prominent 
factors in the success which has attended his efforts. 

J. B. WIcElwaine & Co.— Manufacturers and 
Dealers in Natural Gas Supplies; 50 South Illinois 
street.— The firm of J. B. McElwaine & Co., composed 
of J. B. McElwaine and M. M. McElwaine, was 
organized at St. Petersburg, Pa., in 1874. They located 
here in 1887, and have branch establishments at 
Findlay, O., Bradford, Pa., and at other points in the 
natural gas districts and oil regions of the country. 
They are located at the corner of Illinois and 
Maryland streets, occupying the basement and main 
floors, each 20x80 feet, with a warehouse fronting on 
Maryland street, two stories in height, and 40x200 
feet in dimensions. The former premises are occu- 
pied as an office and salesroom, and the latter for storage purposes, and 
they are now building the McElwaine block, on West Maryland street, 
which they will occupy when completed. They are complete in all 
their appointments and equipments, and the firm are prepared to fur- 
nish all facilities and fixtures adaptive to the utilization of natural gas, 
for lighting, heating and domestic conveniences. Their lines embrace 
steam and water goods, cordage and drilling tools, etc., etc., also 
handling plumbers', gas and steam-fitters' tools and supplies, of the 
best qualities and grades, embodying all the latest improvements and 
the products of the most skillful and competent operatives. They 
publish a very full and elaborate catalogue of their manufactures and 
materials, and their prices are exceptionally low. They employ from 
ten to twelve hands in their works, also four travelers and a force of 
assistants, and their trade is extensive and increasing throughout 
Indiana, Ohio, Illinois and Kentucky. The members of the firm are 
men of enterprise and leading representatives of the industry with 
which they are identified, an industry of comparatively recent develop- 
ment, but which in its varied ramifications is an invaluable _aid to 
the resources of the city and State. 

Indianapolis Wheel Co. — Manufacturers of Carriage 
Wheels, Hubs, Etc.; Office and Works, corner First and Howard 
streets.— The Indianapolis Wheel Company, an industry typical of 



the enterprise, progressive spirit and gijiantic importance rharacter- 
istic of the city anil the interests herein centered, was established in 
1884, by J. F. Kailcy and C. Anderegg, the present proprietors, through 
whose individual efforts the plant has attained to a distinguished 
success and prosperity. The premises occupied cover three acres 
at the above designated site, easily accessible by the Illinois street 
cars, and in other respects convenient to the trade. Within the area 
mentioned, there have been erected the factory proper, a three-story 
and basement brick building, 350x50 feet in dimensions, with build- 
ings adjoining of commodious size for finishing and other purposes, 
also large and well arranged and appointed warehouse and storage 
accommodations, and complete facilities for the receipt of stock and 
the shipment of orders. The mechanical eciuipment embraces the 
latest and best improved patterns of wood-working machinery, 
including hub and spoke machines, a specially superior Sarven wheel 
machine, with other appliances calculated to promote the volume and 
quality of the products, driven by an engine of 125-horse power, fed 
from a battery of three boilers, each 4x25 feet in dimensions. Their 
specialties are the Sarven wheel, band hubs and plain wood hubs, 
their lines of production, however, comprehending every description 
of carriage, cart and wagon wheel hubs, also spokes, rims, felloes 
and other articles in these several departments. They are composed 
of the best quality of second growth hickory and other hardwoods, 
adapted to the requirements of the service, thoroughly seasoned and 
otherwise prepared for durable wear, and in all respects models of 
workmanship and finish. They enjoy a widespread reputation for 
their standard worth, and fully justify the verdict of the trade respect- 
ing their unsurpassed value. A force of from 125 to 150 experienced 
hands are employed, and an annual business of very large values is 
done in all the States of the Union, besides extensive transactions 
with manufacturers and dealers in Europe. The firm conduct one 
of the leading important industries in the State, and their enterprise 
has proved an invaluable factor in the promotion of the city's interests 
and prosperity. 

The Indianapolis Cabinet Co.— John Roberts, President ; 
F. A. Coffin, Secretary and Treasurer ; Manufacturers of Desks and 
Tables ; Office and Factory, head of Malott avenue. — The magni- 
tude of the manufacturing establishment of the Indianapolis Cabinet 
Co., and the widely extended area covered by its trade, fully entitle 
it to classification among enterprises standing in the front rank of 
importance. The works were established in 1870 by the Sewing 
Machine Cabinet Co., of Bridgeport, Conn., and were run in connec- 
tion with the business of the Wheeler & Wilson Sewing Machine 
Company until they were purchased in 1880 by the Indianapolis 
Cabinet Co., incorporated in that year, who have greatly enlarged the 

works, and have built up a most extensive business in the manu- 
facture of office desks and tables. The plant covers over five acres 
of ground, and the buildings used cover a ground floor space of 
nearly three acres. The main buildings, comprising three-story and 
hasement brick structures, front 325 feet on Malott avenue and 350 
'eet on Home avenue, and railroad switches, with room for over 100 

cars, run into the grounds and buildings and afford the most com- 
plete facilities for the receipt of materials and the shipment of 
manufactured goods. The equipment of the works includes three 
powerful engines of 175-horse power, loo-horse power and 50-horse 
power respectively, seven large boilers, and thirty miles of steam pipe, 
in addition to a complete outfit embracing more than $100,000 worth of 
the most highly improved machinery adapted to this branch of 
manufacture. The vigilance exercised to keep the manufacturing 
facilities of the company abreast with modern progress is demon- 
strated by the fact that from to Sio,ooo worth of wood-working 
machinery and tools are annually discarded, though yet in good 
condition, to make room for more perfect and recent inventions. 
Everything connected with the works is on the largest scale. The 
company's drying houses have a capacity for 500,000 feet of lumber, 
and the thirty miles of steam piping, before referred to, is utilized in 
the heating and drying departments of the business. The company 
uses up an average of 7,000,000 feet of walnut lumber, and an 
equally large quantity of whitewood, annually, besides vast quan- 
tities of oak, ash, cherry, mahogany and other woods. In their 
shipping department they use over 100,000 yards of burlaps and 
300,000 pounds of excelsior per annum, and in the other departments 
their operations are conducted on an equally extensive scale. In 
the factory a force ranging from 375 to 400 hands is employed, and 
the products include all kinds of office desks and tables, embracing 
roll curtain desks in various styles, library desks, cylinder desks, 
flat and bevel top desks, standing desks, letter press stands, filing 
cases and cabinets, and office tables of all sizes and styles. The 
patented roll curtains made by this company and fitted to its desks 
are lined with spring sheet brass instead of canvas, and are superior to 
any other roll curtain for desks, being more flexible, more elastic, 
absolutely dust and vermin proof, and combining many other advan- 
tages found in no other roll curtain. The trade of the company is 
not only extensive in all parts of the United States and Canada, but 
also includes a heavy export shipping business to England and 
British colonies in Australia and South Africa, and to Spain and all 
the Spanish colonies, the export business consuming fully half of the 
product of the works. The business is so systematized, by daily 
reports from every department, that an accurate account of the 
material used and goods produced is kept, and on this close super- 
vision the company mainly rely for their profits. The company 
employs no traveling salesmen, selling only to one large house in 
each of the leading cities and thereby avoiding all risk of bad debts. 
The business has steadily grown from year to year and is now so 
large as to make this the largest establishment in the world devoted 
exclusively to the production of office desks and tables. 

Indianapolis Car and Manufacturing Company- 
Charles S. Millard, President and Treasurer ; Charles E. Gore, 
General Manager ; George A. McCord, Secretary ; Manufacturers of 
Freight Cars of Every Descripton ; Hadley avenue and Belt Rail- 
road, West Indianapolis. — Among the diversified industries that 
contribute to the prominence of Indianapolis as a manufacturing 
center, that of the production of railway freight cars, as carried on by 
the Indianapolis Car and Manufacturing Company, is one of the most 
important. The company, which was incorporated in 1882, utilizes a 
plant fifteen acres in extent, and enjoys facilities for the efficient 
prosecution of this branch of manufacture not excelled by any similar 
concern in the world. The works include two foundries, 222x80 feet 
in dimensions; one for soft iron, with a melting capacity of forty-five 
tons per day, and the other for chilled iron, turning out 1,000 car- 
wheels, each of 600 pounds weight, per week. The wood-working shop, 
■which is 225x80 feet in dimensions, has a complete equipment of the 
most modern and improved wood-working machinery, and the machine 
and blacksmith shops, of about the same size as the wood-working 
shop, are outfitted with every appliance and machine necessary to 
their perfect and expeditious operation, including the largest shear 
and punch machines manufactured, hammers of great power, bending 
machines, bolt cutters and headers, drills, wheel-boring machines 
(with a capacity for boring 100 wheels per day), a powerful Westing- 
house pump, for testing their air-brakes; seven furnaces, fed by 



natural gas; three engines, two of 8o-horse power each and one of 
50-horse power; four boilers, each 4.;-2Xi8 feet; lathes, planers, and a 
profusion of other machines. Other buildings included in the plant 
are construction and finishing shops, each about 500x100 feet, paint 
shops and other structures, while railroad switches throughout the 
premises give every facility for the receipt, handling and shipment of 
materials and manufactured products. In the various departments 
of the business employment is given to a force aggregating 800 hands, 
and the output of the works averages 100 first-class freight cars (each 
34 feet in length and of a carrying capacity of 30 tons) per week, and 
twenty coal cars, of the most improved construction, daily. Railways 
in all parts of the Union are supplied with cars from these works, and 
while cars are built to order only, the company has at all times 
contracts on hand sufficient to keep their works in active operation. 
The greatest care is exercised in every detail of the manufacture, 
and the highest reputation is maintained for the products, which 
answer every requirement of sound materials, perfect workmanship 
and faultless construction. Vast as the business is, its operations are 

an interest. Business steadily increased, and in 1874 the present cor- 
poration was organized, with ample capital, and an executive board, 
composed of A. H. Nordyke, President; A. K. HoUowell, Treasurer, 
and D. W. Marmon, Secretary. They own and occupy an area of 
territory in West Indianapolis eleven acres in extent, with railroad 
tracks and other valuable shipping facilities on the ground. The 
improvements consist of buildings devoted to the lines of manufacture 
carried on, including the foundry, machine shop and other depart- 
ments, iron and wood-working shops, finishing and test rooms, ware- 
houses, shipping department and offices. The machinery equipment 
embraces all the latest improved mechanical implements and labor- 
saving devices, necessary to the service, of the most approved model 
known to inventive genius or accessible to purchase, driven by engines 
with a total of over 200-horse power. Their specialty is the patent 
Nordyke & Marmon roller mill, and all other machinery necessary to 
complete the outfit of mills for effective service, also grain elevators 
and other mill appurtenances. Their products are in use and take 
precedence over those 'of all other similar establishments, not only 


characterized by an exact regularity, which gives evidence of the 
most capable and sagacious management. Mr. Charles S. Millard, 
the President of the company, directs its affairs with the highest 
order of executive ability, while the general management is confided 
to Mr. Charles E. Gore, whose intimate knowledge of the business 
has been an important factor in its success. Mr. George A. McCord, 
the Secretary, is a gentleman of superior business attainments, who 
efficiently supervises the office affairs of the company. Thus officered 
and managed, the company holds an important place among the 
representative manufacturing corporations of the country. 

Nordyke & Marmon Co.— Manufacturers of Flour Mill 
Machinery; West Indianapolis. — The largest enterprise in the country, 
devoted to the manufacture of flour mill machinery, the products of 
which are in use throughout the civilized world, is the Nordyke & 
Marmon Co. The undertaking was established during 1851, by Ellis 
and A. H. Nordyke, under the firm name of Nordyke & Son. In 1855, 
D. W. Marmon was admitted as a partner into the house, and upon 
the death of Mr. Nordyke, Sr., in 1871, A. K. Hollowell succeeded to 

throughout the United States, but in the Canadian Dominion and 
Europe, also in Russia, Australia, New Zealand, and the wheat pro- 
ducing countries of South America. Their reputation is too well 
established and extended to even elicit comment, their general adop- 
tion by all leading mills being an expression of commendation more 
eloquent than words. They employ a force of 450 experienced oper- 
atives, and their annual business approximates $1,000,000 in value. 
The executive officers are the same as when the company was incor- 
porated, and their administration through succeeding years has 
resolved the enterprise into the most influential and substantial of its 
kind in existence, and made it a factor in the development and promo- 
tion of manufacturing industries, potent and pre-eminent, throughout 
the Northwest. 

Knight & Jillson — Manufacturers and Dealers in Iron and 
Brass Goods; 75 and 77 South Pennsylvania street. — The largest 
dealers in iron pipe, gas and steam-fitters' supplies and specialties in 
the city, are Knight & Jillson, the business being first established in 
1872, by John Knight, and the present firm, composed of the latter 



and William M. Jillson, bcin;,' organized in 1880. They occupy prem- 
ises two slories high, 40x200 feet in size, and located as above, in the 
manufacturing center of Indianapolis. The building is divided into 
office, warehouse and machine departments, e.ich being commodious, 
well appointed and equipped for the purpose to which it is devoted, 
including all the latest and most approved implements and appliances, 
and equally complete facilities for the receipt and shipment of stock. 
They carry in stock the products of the National Tube Works Co., 
embracing wrought iron pipe, boiler tubes, tlri\e pipe, casing and 
tubing and the whole range of gas, steam and water goods, such as 
valves and cocks, littings, brass goods, sinks, bath tubs, closets, pumps, 
gauges, regulators, tin, lead, solder, hose, belting, packing, waste, 
engine trimmings, etc., for all of which the establishment is the 
acknowledged headquarters in the city. In brief, its stocks, supplies, 
and lines of production are among the most complete, varied and 
indispensable in their lines in the State, and in constant demand here 
and elsewhere in districts where natural gas has been utilized for 
any purpose. They employ from twenty-five to thirty hands, also a full 
staff of salesmen and travelers, and supply the demands of a large trade 
in Indiana, Illinois and Ohio. 

L. Neubacher & Son— Brass Founders and Finishers; 92 
and g4 East Georgia street. — The brass foundry and finishing works 
of L. Neubacher & Son were established by Mr. Louis Neubacher, 
senior member of the present firm, in 1878. During 1887, Frank O. 
Neubacher, son of the above, was admitted into partnership, and the 
firm name was changed to that under which operations are now con- 
ducted. They are located as above, at an available point, and are 
supplied with every facility for the receipt of material and the ship- 
ment of their lines of manufacture. The premises occupied consist 

of a finishing shop 
30x50 feet in size, 
equipped with all 
necessary tools and 
appliances for the 
work in hand, also 
a building, 25x80 
feet, and used for 
the purposes of a 
foundry. The lat- 
ter is provided with 
three furnaces with 
a capacity of 1,000 
pounds per diein, 
and equally well 
appointed and sup- 
plied with means for rapid and superior production. The plant 
is in all of its departments complete and thoroughly adapted 
to the uses for which it is occupied. They manufacture brass 
goods for every line of service, making railroad castings a 
specialty, and including in their output equipments for engine 
builders, plumbers, natural gas fitters, water-works cocks, brewery 
supplies, etc., in all of which their workmanship is of a superior 
character and has acquired for them the commendation and patron- 
age of a large constituency. They also make a specialty of repairing 
and testing steam gauges, and in addition do an extensive business 
in repairing of brass products generally. Their materials are of the 
best description and their prices and terms are low and reasonable. 
They employ a force of from ten to fifteen operatives and supply a 
large trade throughout Indiana, IH,inois, Ohio and Missouri and other 
States. The members of the firm are men of experience and enter- 
prise, and their establishment is among the leading and representative 
manufacturing industries of Indianapolis. 

Wm. B. Burford— Manufacturer of Blank Books, Lithographer, 
Printer and Stationer; 21 West Washington street. — There are many 
patrons of Wm. B. Burford who have never seen his establishment, 
and to them the first sight of its exterior would no doubt prove a 
disappointment. It does not boast an imposing front, but the entrance 
is in a modest four-story building which would scarcely be noticed 

except for its contrast with the handsome structures surrounding it. 

Once within the door, however, the visitor is convinced that outward 

appearances are often 
deceptive, for he finds 
that he has entered a 
veritable bee-hive. It 
was once said that this 
establishment was like 
a mine, for although its 
entrance was small, it 
was full of life and 
business, and after 
wandering through its 
labyrinths, a guide was 
necessary to show the 
way to the outer world. 
No one can enter the 
storeroom without 
observing the immense 
stock of blank books 
which occupies the 
greater part of one side 
of the room and makes 
a beautiful display with 
its rich bindings of 
russia leather finished 
with gold. A novel 
feature of this display is 
that the stock is un. 

covered, and so arranged in shelves lined with Brussels carpet that the 
customer can readily see and indicate just the book he desires. On the 
other side of the room is stocked a full line of stationery and office 
supplies, while the rear is devoted to the offices for the correspondents, 
book-keepers and accountants. It is here that the busy character of 
the house begins to show itself, for its business extends from New York 
City to San Francisco, and from the Lakes to the Gulf, and a large 
force of men is necessary to give it proper attention. The basement 
of the building is used partly as an engine and boiler room, and for 
the storing of heavy paper and other stock. Of course the machinery 
begins where the engine stands and near it are found an automatic 
knife grinder, for the sharpening of the knives used in the many 
paper cutting machines through the house; a tag machine, which 
prints, eyelets and counts shipping tags taken from a roll of proper 
material, and is as great a curiosity as a pin machine; also a machine 
for making pasteboard tubes for mailing show cards, which, although 
simple in construction, does its work quickly and well. The type-press 
room occupies spacious quarters in the two rooms numbered 22 and 
24 West Pearl street, at the rear of the store room, and is filled with 
the latest and most improved printing machinery. This is a noisy 
department, and a conversation can scarcely be heard for the heavy 
rumbling of the ponderous book printing presses and the rapid 
thumping of the speedy job presses as they throw out from 1,000 to 
2,500 printed sheets per hour. It can scarcely be believed, but is 
nevertheless a fact that one of these presses is capable of producing 
450,000 printed book pages in the short space of one hour. The 
entire second floor is occupied by the lithograph department, and is 
well worth careful inspection. The designers and engravers have 
the well lighted room over No. 23 West Washington street, and can 
only be reached after the visitor has passed through long avenues of 
lithograph stone and machinery. The presses for printing from stone 
are necessarily heavy, for many of the stones weigh from three 
to five hundred pounds, and the presses in which they are carried 
vary from five to eleven tons in weight. Five steam and eleven hand 
litho presses are continually running, and other machinery, consisting 
of a stone planer, ink mills, reducing, shading, cutting and bronzing 
machines, are full of interest to the observer. From this department 
has emanated some of the most beautiful work used in mercantile 
circles, while its productions in menu cards, opening announcements, 
etc., are perfect gems of art. Here was .-ilso made the portrait of 
President Harrison, which was pronounced by friends and critics 



alike a wonderful triumph of lithographic art, and with the portrait of 
ex-President Cleveland, its companion piece of work, reached the 
enormous sale of nearly 600,000 copies. The bindery covers the 
entire third floor, and is replete with ruling, folding, book sewing, wire 
stitching, numbering, perforating and other machinery used in the 
manufacture of blank books and the publication of edition work. One 
of the ruling machines is the largest in the country, being wide enough 
to rule a sheet of paper five feet in width, and much of the machinery 
is full of interest, which could only be appreciated by being seen. 
The fourth floor is devoted to type setting, and although it contains 
no machinery other than human hands, is still worth a visit, for other- 
wise one cannot understand how much type nor how many busy men 
are needed in this branch of such an extensive establishment. About 
150 persons find continual employment in this house, some of them 
having been in its service for from five to twenty years, and among 
them are many of the most expert men in their various branches of 
the business. After many years of life together the employes hav» 
formed a relief association for their mutual benefit in case of disability, 
and an idea of its extent may be gained from the statement that it 
has a membership of over 140 and receives into its treasury over 
$Q00 per year. Our description of this establishment has necessarily 
been meagre, but the widespread reputation of Wm. B. Burford is 
based upon the magnitude of his business and the quality of his 
productions, and from this it can readily be understood that he is well 
equipped with competent men and effective machinery to give entire 
satisfaction to his steadily increasing trade. 

The Cleaveland Fence Co.— J. B. Cleaveland, Patentee; 
Manufacturers of Yard and Farm Fencing; Office and Factory, 22 
Biddle street. — Every addition to the manufacturing enterprises of a 
city is a valuable acquisition, and this is distinctively the case when 
the product of the new establishment is a specially meritorious one. 
Among recent additions to the industries of IndianapoUs that of the 
Cleaveland Fence Co., inaugurated in 1886, is one of the most notable. 
The factory premises include a machine shop, 60x40 feet in 
dimensions, a foundry 60x100 feet, and a blacksmith shop, 20x60 
feet, as well as a large yard for the storage of materials. In the 
factory, which is furnished with a full equipment of machinery 
specially designed for the purposes of the business, employment 
is given to a force ranging from fifteen to twenty hands in the manu- 
facture of yard and farm fences from a tubular iron and steel 
ribbon combination, the invention of Mr. J. B. Cleaveland, and pro- 
tected by patents dated November 13, 1888, and February 5, 1889. 
This fence combines, in the highest degree, all the requisites of utility 
and beauty, being at once economical in price, strong and durable, and 

the neatest and most ornamental ever constructed. It 
is not only cheaper and more elegant than a first-class 
picket fence, but will last a generation and retam its 
attractive appearance. By an ingenious device known 
as the Cleaveland Automatic Tension Governor, the strands of 
ribbon or wire are kept constantly taut, while during the con 
traction caused by excessively cold weather the governor yields 
automatically to a sufficient extent to prevent breaking, without 
loosening the strands more than is necessary to keep the fence in 
perfect trim under all atmospheric conditions. In addition to fencing. 
a neat and durable style of iron hitch post is manufactured at the 
works. The superior merits of the Cleaveland fences have already 
secured for them a large demand, and although the enterprise was 
started late in 1886 there was put up in the year 1888 over 20,000 feet 
of lawn fence in this city alone, and in the first three months of i88g 

orders were received for more than 40,000 feet. The demand for 
these fences has already extended throughout Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, 
Missouri, Kansas, Georgia and other States, and is steadily increas- 
ing. Mr. J. B. Cleaveland, the inventor of this superior fence, is a 
practical and experienced man, and is prepared to contract for erect- 
ing these fences in a workmanlike manner, employing a large force 
of hands in this branch in addition to those engaged in the manu- 
facture. He is a thorough business man, and his energy and ability, 
backed by the great merit of his product, are earning for him a 
deserved success in his important enterprise. The increase of the 
business has necessitated increased facilities and they will within a 
few months erect extensive works, 208x183 feet, on the "Big Four" 
Railroad, south of Seventh street, in addition to their present plant, 
and will increase their force to 200 men. 

The Sinker-Davis Co. — Manufacturers of Band and Circular 
Saw-Mills, Engines, Etc.; Office and Works, in to I4g South Penn- 
sylvania street. — This extensive and widely known manufacturing 
industry was founded in 1850 by the firm of Sinker & Kellshaw, 
becoming Sinker, Davis & Co. subsequently, and incorporated during 
1871. In April, 1888, the present corporation succeeded to the 
possession of the enterprise, and have since conducted operations. 

They occupy 
nearly an en- 
tire block, 
adm irably 
situ at e d for 
the purposes 
to which it is 
devoted. The 
ments consist 
of a machine 
shop 250 X 50 
feet in dimen- 
sions, a foundry 150x100 feet, a pattern shop and other buildings, all of 
brick, of adequate dimensions, built in the most substantial manner, 
and making up the most complete and best appointed works of the 
kind in the State. The equipment embraces the largest and latest 
improved pattern of hammers, lathes, drills, punches, etc., driven by 
steam ; with facilities in the foundry for turning out the largest 
castings, and other appurtenances and conveniences indispensable to 
the service. Their specialties are large engines and saw-mill 
machinery and supplies. Their range of production also embraces all 
sizes of shafting, pulleys and hangers, head blocks, dogs, engine 
supplies, etc., with other articles of utility and value included in the 
outfit of a thoroughly equipped saw-mill, and latterly they have 
engaged extensively in the manufacture of natural gas supplies for 
the Citizens' Gas Trust and other corporate enterprises of a similar 
character. Their productions are all noted for the superior material 
of which they are composed, as also for their finished workmanship 
and durable qualities. Their manufacture is under the supervision 
of skillful and careful managers, giving employment to from 125 to 
150 experienced operatives, and the demand supplied comes from 
every section of the United States in all directions. The present 
officers are : J. H. Hooker, President ; H. R. Bliss, Secretary and 

Indianapolis Coffin Co.— Manufacturers of and Dealers in 
Wood Coffins and Caskets, Cloth Covered and Metallic Caskets, Hard- 
ware, Robes, Linings, Etc.; Office and Salesroom, 37 West Market 
street; Factory, corner of Sixth and West streets.— In no branch of 
industry has there been more gratifying progress made of recent 
years than in the manufacture of coffins and all the necessary fittmgs 
for the purpose of the decent, orderly and appropriate conducting of 
funerals. In this, as in other manufacturing lines, the aid of modern 
machinery has been invoked to cheapen and at the same time improve 
the product, with the most beneficial results. The only establishment 
of this kind in the city, and one of the best managed in the country, is 
that known as the Indianapolis Coffin Company, of which Messrs. D. 



Hiu/.arclancl \V. II. Ilazzartlarc the proprietors. Their factory premises 
are located at tlie corner of Sixth anil West streets, and with adjoining 
yards for lumber, etc., cover an area of two acres. The works include 
the main building, a three-story brick structure, 45x140 feet in dimen- 
sions, with an L two stories in height and 120x40 feet in dimensions, 
in addition to which the company has ample storage sheds, etc. The 
works are completely titled up with all the necessary machinery and 
appliances for carrying on the manufacture in all its details, with a 
forty-horse power engine. Natural gas is used as fuel, and employ- 
ment is given to a force ranging from twenty-five to thirty liands. The 
manufacture emlwaces every description of wood and cloth covered 
caskets and coffins, and they are dealers in metallic caskets, coffin 
and casket hardware, linings, robes, wrappers, gowns, etc., in fact, 
everything in the Une of funeral furniture and undertakers' supplies. 
The office and salesrooms occupy the main floor and basement, 
20x70 feet in dimensions, at 37 West Market street, where is carried 
a large and complete stock embracing everything in the line. The 
Messrs. Hazzard, who have carried on the business from its inception 
fifteen years ago, are thoroughly practical and experienced men in 
this business, conversant with the needs of the trade, and highly 
regarded for their accuracy, and honorable business conduct. The 
product of the establishment is uniformly of the best quality, and a 
large and steadily growing trade in Indiana, Ohio and Illinois is 
enjoyed by the company. 

Indiana Paint and Roofing Co.— G. C. Forsinger, Pro- 
prietor; Manufacturer of Rubber Roofing, Sheathing Paper, Mixed 
Paint, Marbleized Slate Mantels, Etc.; 42 South Pennsylvania street; 
Telephone No. 417. --The importance of a good roof to a building is 
recognized by all competent builders and every prudent house-owner, 
and the selection of good roofing material possessing the requisites of 
durability, fire-resisting qualities and imperviousness to moisture, is 
an important consideration. To the manufacture of roofing material 
possessing, in addition to these characteristics, that of economy, the 
Indiana Paint and Roofing Company is devoted. Mr. G. C. Forsinger, 
the proprietor of the business, is a practical and experienced roofer, 
and has been continuously engaged in that line of business since 
1865. The company is engaged in the manufacture of rubber roofing, 
prepared from felt of a pure wool fibre saturated in a compound of 
rubber and other ingredients which render it entirely impervious to 
water, and then rolled and re-rolled under hydraulic pressure until it 
presents a strong, compact, cleanly and pliable material, suitable for 
roofing buildings of every description, and which when properly laid 
and finished is superior to shingles, tin, iron or any other material, is 
more durable, and is fire-proof and water-proof. It steadily hardens 
when exposed to the rays of the summer sun, will not crack or break 
in the coldest winter weather, and is not affected by any atmospheric 
conditions however severe. Other products of the company are slate 
paint, unequaled as a preservative to roofs, and which, used in con- 
nection with slate cement, also manufactured by this company, will 
effectually stop all leaks. It can be used for tin, shingle or iron roofs, 
and is also used as a finish for the rubber roofing made by the com- 
pany. In addition to these articles the company manufactures and 
handles a full line of roofing materials, including water-proof building 
paper, sheathing paper, mixed paints, roofing brushes, pitch, resin, 
tar, black and asphaltum varnish, for iron and foundry buildings, as 
well as roofing of all kinds. An important part of the business is that 
of laying rubber, gravel or composition roofs, and repairing iron, tin, 
shingle or gravel roofs. The long and practical experience of Mr. 
Forsinger in this line enables him to execute orders in the most 
prompt and efficient manner, and the uniform satisfaction given by 
all work executed under his supervision has secured for him a 
leading position in this branch of industry, and a large and steadily 
growing trade. The premises occupied by the business embrace the 
main floor and basement, 20x100 feet in dimensions, at 42 South 
Pennsylvania street, and also a commodious ware-room on West 
street, which is utilized for storage purposes. A large and completely 
assorted stock is carried, and orders for the roofing materials manu- 
factured by the company or embraced in its stock are promptly filled. 
Mr. Forsinger carefully supervises all the details of the manufacture 

of his superior roofing, and is thereby able to maintain its quality at 
the high grade of excellence by which its reputation has been earned. 
He is a gentleman of superior business attainments, who, by the 
uniform propriety of his business conduct, has earned the favor and 
confidence of the trade and the public. 

Lowe Carey — Manufacturer of Hominy, Grits and Corn 
Goods; Mills, corner of .Alabama street and Fort Wayne avenue. — 
Among the milling enterprises of Indiana the hominy mills now 
conducted by Mr. Lowe Carey have obtained a special and deserved 
prominence as a result of the uniformly superior quality of their 
product. The business was established in 1882 by Mr. J. M. Kelly, a 
practical miller of long experience, who carried it on until January, 
1889, when he sold the business to Mr. Lowe Carey, its present 
proprietor. The enterprise, however, still enjoys the advantage of 
Mr. Kelly's supervision over the milling department, of which he 
■still has charge. The mill premises embrace a three- story building, 
40x80 feet in dimensions, equipped with all the necessary machinery 
for the business, the motive power being supplied by a 50-horse power 
engine. The mills give employment to a full force of hands, and 
have a productive cap.acity of 100 barrels daily of hominy, grits, 
pearl meal and mill feed. Only the finest selected corn is used, and 
as a consequence the product is kept at the highest standard of 
excellence, the specialty of the establishment being its justly cele- 
brated Challenge Pearl Hominy, which is in demand not only in the 
city, but also throughout Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Kentucky and 
Pennsylvania. Mr. Carey, the proprietor, is a capable business man, 
whose methods of dealing invite the favor and confidence of the 
trade, and who fills all orders in a prompt and accurate manner. 

Indianapolis 'Veneer Works — Adams & Williamson, 
Proprietors ; Manufacturers of and Dealers in Veneers, Burls and 
Fancy Woods; terminus of Massachusetts avenue. — The central 
position of Indianapolis with reference to the most important regions 
of production in domestic hardwoods has led to the establishing here 
of several important industrial enterprises which utilize this prolific 
hardwood supply as their raw material. One of the most important 
establishments of this character is that conducted by the firm of 
Adams & Williamson, under the style of the Indianapolis Veneer 
Works. This firm, of which Messrs. G. F. Adams and M. D. 
Williamson are the individual members, inaugurated their business 
about ten years ago, and bringing to its prosecution the necessary 
pre-requisites of practical knowledge and business capacity, have 
since conducted the works with a marked and steadily growing 
success, building up a firmly established trade and earning a 
deservedly high reputation both for the excellence of their product 
and the accuracy of their business methods. The premises occupied 
by the business arc new structures, those formerly used having been 
destroyed by fire in June, 1888, with a loss of §40,000. The works 
were at once rebuilt, and the plant now occupied, covering three 
acres of ground, includes a lofty, well-lighted brick workshop, 80x125 
feet in dimensions, and a three-story and basement brick building, 
70x150 feet, of which the ground floor is used as a stock room and 
the two upper floors as drying rooms. The equipment of the works 
includes every convenience and accessory calculated to aid or 
expedite the operations of the business, embracing a loo-horse power 
Corliss engine, fed by three tubular boilers 4><xi6 feet, and all the 
most modern and improved machinery for the manufacture of 
veneers. The veneer cutting is done by machines of the latest 
improved make, which cut from the log solid sheets seven feet wide, 
and these are sent to the sizing power knife machines, by which the 
veneers are cut into the desired sizes, including all thicknesses up to 
one-fourth of an inch, the latter being used for drawer bottoms. The 
drying is effectively done with the aid of two Sturvesant blowers, and 
eight large steaming vats provide the facilities for steaming logs 
before passing to the veneer cutting machines. Much of the 
machinery used is of a special character, invented for these works, 
and used by no other establishment. Ample light is provided by 
incandescent lamps supplied by the firm's own electric lighting 
plant. Railroad switches at the front and side of the works afford 



the most superior facilities for the receipt of materials and shipment 
of the manufactured product. Logs are received from the north, and 
veneers are manufactured from walnut, oak, ash, cherry and all kinds 
of hardwood. A force of from sixty to seventy workmen is employed, 
and an extensive trade is done, principally with furniture manufact- 
urers in the East and in supplying manufacturers of sewing machines 
and other large consumers of veneers. The trade of the works is so 
firmly established as to require no canvassing, and consequently no 
traveling salesmen are employed. The firm owes its success to the 
maintainance in its product of the highest standard of quality, to close 
supervision of every detail of manufacture, and to uniform reliability 
in all its dealings with the trade. 

T. W. Gardner— Manufacturer of Jewelry, Watches, Etc., and 
Dealer in Diamonds and other Precious Stones; Room No. 20, Hub- 
bard block.— The manufacture of jewelry and watches is an industry 
that is gradually becoming more and more prominent in Indianapolis, 
attracting large investments of capital and enlisting the most experi- 
enced and practical operatives in its pursuit. One of the leading 

work. His business has been successful from the start, not only 
among the high-class jewelry houses of the city, but throughout the 
State, in addition to acquiring a considerable patronage from private 
residents of the same territory. He is an energetic and progressive 
manufacturer, also an enterprismg citizen, and his management has 
secured for his house a confidence and prominence, established and 

Geo. IWerritt & Co. — Woolen Manufacturers and Wool 
Dealers ; 411 West Washington street.— This firm, consisting of Geo. 
Merritt and Worth Merritt, woolen manufacturers and dealers in 
wool, is one of the most widely known, substantial and prosperous in 
the State. The house was established by the firm of Merritt & 
Coughlen in 1856, and continued under their administration until 
1881. In that year, Mr. Coughlen, the present Vice-President of the 
Indiana National Bank, retired, a son of Mr. Merritt succeeded to the 
vacancy and the present firm was organized. Their woolen mills are 
three stories in height, 100x70 feet in dimensions and fully equipped 
with all the latest improved patterns of looms, spindles, etc., with 



establishments engaged in these lines of useful and ornamental 
productions, demanding the application of skill, taste and originality 
to the work carried on, is that of T. W. Gardner, in the Hubbard 
Block. He began the business here in 1880, having been with the 
jewelry house of Bingham & Walk for five years previous, and bring- 
ing to his aid, in his present undertaking, a complete familiarity with 
the art to which he is devoted, as also an intimate knowledge of the 
requirements of the trade. The premises occupied by Mr. Gardner 
are fitted up for the purposes to which they are applied, equipped 
with all necessary tools and appliances, and otherwise furnished with 
facilities and appointments. His specialties include the manufacture 
of watches and jewelry to order, and also repairing of the same. To 
this important branch Mr. Gardner gives his personal attention, and 
he ajso carries large stocks of diamonds and other precious stones, 
and is prepared to mount the sam.e in any style to the taste and desire 
of the purchaser. In all of these particular and special departments 
he is an expert and skillful craftsman, the knowledge of which fact 
by the trade, together with his promptness in the filling of orders, 
keeps him constantly occupied in the designing and execution of fine 

other machinery and appliances adapted to the requirements of the 
service. Adjoining the mills is the drying department, a one-story 
structure 80x30 feet m size. Opposite these, from which it is separated 
by a gateway, the warehouse is located, a three-story and basement 
building 80x60 feet, containing commodious storage accommodations 
and being otherwise adapted to the uses for which it is appropriated. 
Large quantities of raw wool and equally large supplies of manu- 
factured stocks are here in readiness for the demands cf the trade 
to which the firm ministers. Their range of production embraces 
flannels, blankets, yarns, dress goods, suitings, etc., in great variety 
and of the best quality, fully equal in such respects as also in the 
superior workmanship displayed in their manufacture, to the best 
foreign woolens. The mill is the most comprehensive and available 
in its line in the State, and the enterprise which has characterized its 
management, together with the liberality and equity that have been 
displayed toward the trade, has acquired for the undertaking an 
invaluable reputation in all parts of the United States and Canada. 
Orders are promptly filled at prices and upon terms consistent with 
the quality of goods purchased and according to commercial usage, 



and they do a large and steadily increasing trade in all portions of 
the country, north, south, east and west, to meet the demands of 
which the services of eighty hands and a large force of assistants 
and travelers arc in constant requisition. 

The Indianapolis Frog and Switch Co.- J. E. McGetti- 
cran President and General Manager; C. H. Bosworth, Secretary and 
Treasurer- Manufacturers of Railroad Frogs, Crossings, Switches, 
and General Track Material; Willard and Merrill streets.-Of recent 
accessions to the manufacturing interests of Indianapolis that made 

by the inauguration, 
in 1888, of the works 
of the Indianapolis 
Frog and Switch Co. 
is one of the most im- 
portant. The build- 
ings utilized cover 
about one-fourth of a 
block of ground, and 
are completely equip- 
ped with all the latest 
and most highly im- 
proved machinery 
and appliances 
adapted to this branch of manufacture, and including much that is of 
a special character. The present force employed ranges from twenty- 
f^ve to thirty hands, and from present indications within a short time 
the force will be increased to 75 or 100. The company's productions 
include, in addition to ordinary grades of goods, a Ime of improved 
specialties. Prominent among these are railway frogs and crossings 
with Perry's Patent Easing Blocks for guttered wheel tread. By this 
improvement is made the only " T " rail frog that will carry guttered 
wheels smoothly across the point and wing rail members, and com- 
bined with this advantage is the highest degree of durability, safety 
and economy. In addition to frogs the company has a line of 
specialties in split switches, ground, automatic and standard switch 
stands and signals, combining 
all the latest improvements in 
mechanism. These goods are 
possessed of the highest order 
of merit, and have already 
secured a large demand from 
railway and construction com- 
panies and firms in all parts of 
the Union — a specially large 
demand coming from railroads 
centering in Indianapolis. The 
company enjoys the advantage 

of practical and experienced management. Mr. J. E. McGettigan, 
the President and General Manager, has had practical experience in 
the operation and construction of railroads, and is also a member of 
the prominent railroad supply firm of Dawes & McGettigan. Mr. C. 
H. Bosworth, who has charge of the office and financial affairs of the 
company as Secretary and Treasurer, is a business man of superior 
attainments whose efficiency contributes, in an important way, toward 
the extension of the trade of the company. This company is one of 
large resources and the most complete facilities, and the promptness 
and accuracy which characterize its dealings commend it to the favor 
and confidence of the trade throughout the country. 

The J. S. Carey Works— Dealers and Manufacturers in 
Tight Barrel Cooperage, Staves and Headings; corner of Georgia 
and West streets.— This large and representative manufacturing 
enterprise was established twenty-five years ago, by J. S. Carey, whose 
name is still retained in the name of the works, although for the past 
five years Messrs. George P. Wood and A. H. Smith have been the 
sole proprietors of the business. The premises occupied by the firm, 
embracing their works, stock sheds, piling yards, etc., cover two blocks 
of ground, and are conveniently located upon railroad tracks, which 
afford every facility for the receipt, handling and shipment of raw 

materials and manufactured products. The works are outfitted with 
a 100 horse-power engine, fed by two large boilers, and a complete 
equipment of all the most modern and improved machinery and 
appliances adapted to the manufacture of cooperage upon an exten- 
sive scale, and employment is given to a force ranging from 100 to 
i-K hands A specialty is made of the manufacture of tight barrel 
cooperage, although they also make slack work and also deal largely 
in staves and headings. Great care is taken in the selection and 
seasoning of materials, and a close supervision is maintained over 
every detail of the manufacture. The product of the estabhshmerit 
has a recognized reputation for superior quality and is m large demand, 
not only by an extensive trade in the city and adjacent States, but also 
east as far as Baltimore and west to Iowa. The works have a capacity 
for the production of 2,000 pork or whisky barrels per week, and^are 
kept constantly busy with large orders. The members of the firm 
Messrs George P. Wood and A. H. Smith, are both business men of 
hi-h character and superior attainments, and practically conversant 
wiA every detail of the business. They have commended themselves 
to a large and growing trade by uniform accuracy m their dealings, 
promptness in filling orders, and by honorable business conduct. 
They have surrounded themselves with the means and instrumental- 
ities for the efficient prosecution of their branch of manufacture and 
have given to their works a recognized position among the leading 
industrial enterprises of Indianapolis. 

Moore Desk Company-Winfield Miller, President; Charles 
E Barrett, Secretary; George A. Emerson, Treasurer; Manufacturers 
of Office Desks; Office, 84 East Market street; Factory, near Bright- 
wood -Devoting its energies to a special branch of manufacture, the 
Moore Desk Company has secured a trade not only covering the 
entire Union but also including a considerable export trade to Aus- 
tralia Europe and South America. The company was incorporated 
fifteen years ago with ample capital, and has since kept steadily 
improving its plant and facilities until it now occupies a five-acre 
tract of ground, part of which is devoted to use as a lumber yard 
while one acre is covered with buildings, including a three-story and 
basement brick factory, large store houses, an engine and boiler 
house, etc. The working equipment includes a 120-horse power 
engine, two large boilers, and a complete outfit of the best wood- 
working machinery, including all recent improvements. A force ot 
seventy-five hands is employed in the manufacture of office desks in 
seventy different styles, of which over 4,000 are annually turned out, as 
well as letter-press stands, lawyers' and library book racks, etc. 
A specialty of the company is its new type-writer desk, in which the 
type-writer is secured by clamps to a shelf, which, by a device owned 
by the company, recedes as the lid closes and locks, shielding the 
type-writer from dust and presenting a sloping-top desk for ordinary 
uses All of the operations of the works are conducted under careful 
supervision, the best materials are used, and the products are of 
unsurpassed workmanship and finish. No establishment in the 
country produces better desks, and it is by maintaining the quality of 
their goods at the highest standard of excellence, and by offering 
a variety of designs suited to the wants of all kinds of offices that the 
company has secured its prominence and prestige. The business is 
managed upon the most accurate and reliable methods, and the 
company holds a high place in the confidence of the trade. 

Earnshaw & Wright-Proprietors of the Patent Coil Elm 
Hoop Works; corner of Biddle street and Bee Line Railway.- As a ' 
prominent manufacturing enterprise, which has earned a superior 
reputation and an extensive trade as a consequence of the umformly 
high character of its products, the Patent Coil Elm Hoop Works of 
Messrs Earnshaw & Wright deserve special mention. The business 
was originally established seven years ago by the firm of Earnshaw 
& Taylor, who carried on the business until November, 1888, when 
Mr. Joseph Earnshaw bought out the interest of his partner, Mr. 
Taylor, and continued the business until January, 1889, when Mr. 
Walter B Wright became associated with him under the present firm 
style The premises occupied embrace the mill building, looxioo 
feet in dimensions, with yards and piling grounds about half a block 


in extent along the railroad tracks, superior facilities being thereby 
afforded for the receipt of raw material, handling of stock and ship- 
ment of manufactured product. The equipment of the mill includes 
a 40-horse power engine, a large boiler, and a complete outfit of the 
latest and most highly improved hoop-making machinery. Employ- 
ment is given to a force ranging from thirty to thirty-five hands, and 
a large trade is enjoyed, 375 car-loads of lumber being handled and 
6,000,000 hoops manufactured annually. The elm used is bought in 
the log, at points within a radius of seventy-five miles of Indianapolis, 
sawed into lumber at mills near the points of purchase and thence 
shipped to this city. The specialty of the firm is the manufacture of 
flat hoops, used for sugar barrels, and they have a large trade in the 
West, Southwest and South. Both of the members, in addition to a 
practical knowledge of this industry, are gentlemen of superior 
business attainments, and the firm has commended itself to the favor 
of the trade, not only by the uniform merit of its product, but also by 
the accuracy and reliability by which its business conduct is charac- 

Barnard & Leas Manufacturing Co.— IVlanufacturers 
of Flour Mill Machinery, Room No. 3, Chamber of Commerce Build- 
ing. — This company was founded as a private enterprise in i860, and 
in 1872 was incorporated, with ample capital, and headquarters at 
Moline, 111. It is the only establishment in the United States manu- 
facturing the equipment, in its entirety, of modern flour mills and 
elevators. The factory at Moline is an immense affair, provided with 
all requisite machinery and appliances, and giving employment to a 
force of 300 men, at a total weekly compensation of S4,ooo. Their 
output is correspondingly large, embracing roller mills, Gorton's 
centrifugal reels and flour bolt, Barnard's Middlings Purifiers, 
aspirators, bran scourers, wheat cleaning machinery and flour and 
bran packers ; Victor corn shellers and cleaners. Little Victor com- 
bined shellers and cleaners, shafting, couplings, hangers, pulleys; 

Barnard's dustless 
wheat separators, 
and other mill 
e quipments i n 
great variety, also 
conveyor flights, 
journal boxes, drop 
hangers, clutches, 
elevator heads, 
boots and legging, 
elevator buckets, 
turn heads, flexible 
spouts, steel con- 
veyors, scoops, ele- 
vator horse power, 
etc., etc. They also 
build and equip 
flour mills and ele- 
vators. Their pro- 
ducts are of the 
best character of 
materials and unsurpassed for efficient service, superior workman- 
ship and durable wear. The present officers are J. A. Barnard, 
President; J. S. Leas, Vice-President; W. C. Bennett, Secretary and 
Treasurer, with J. F. Payne, Manager of the Indianapolis agency. He 
took charge in 1881, having been in the employ of the company for 
six years previous in a prominent fiduciary capacity. He is familiar 
with the business, and his honorable and liberal management has 
contributed to greatly extend the trade of the company throughout the 
States of Indiana and Ohio. During 1888, twenty-two complete mills at 
an average cost of $4,000 each, and fifteen elevators at an average cost 
of S750 each, were built upon orders obtained by him, and he also 
effected some eighty-five sales of incomplete mill equipments during 
the same period. Mr. Payne was the first man to introduce the short 
system of milling in the West, applying the same to a milling industry 
of which he is half owner, located on the Vincennes Railroad in this 
State. When this system was first mooted, the Barnard & Leas 

Manufacturing Company anticipated all other indorsements of its 
efficiency and value, by guaranteeing its success with their name, 
money and commercial standing, and enjoy the distinguished honor 
of "pushing" to a successful finality, an enterprise that was at first 
declared by prominent millers and the press to be " a short shrift to 
bankruptcy." The short system is to-day not only in general use 
throughout the country, but commands universal confidence. Mr. 
Payne employs two traveling salesmen, and five gangs of millwrights, 
each gang averaging five men, and does a very large and annually 
increasing business. He fills all orders, and upon application will 
furnish catalogues, price lists, terms, etc. 

Hall & Lilly— Hominy Mills; Hadley avenue and Belt Rail- 
road, West Indianapolis. — The milling enterprise established in 1882 
by the firm of Hall & Lilly, of which Messrs. Charles E. Hall and 
George Lilly are the individual members, hold? a prominent place 
among the representative industries of Indianapolis. The mill building 
occupied is a three-story and basement structure, 1 10x70 feet in 
dimensions, and the equipment includes two powerful engines and 
all the latest and most highly improved milling machinery for the pro- 
duction of hominy, grits, corn flour, corn meal, pearl meal and other 
products of white and yellow corn, and a specially superior quality of 

Zealine, for brewers' use. A large force of hands is employed, and an 
average of 7,000 bushels of corn is daily utilized in the production 
of the various kinds of goods manufactured. The processes employed 
in the manufacture are of a special character, and designed to retain, 
to a degree not attained by any other method, the nutritive qualities of 
the corn. As a consequence of this excellence, the demand for the 
product of the mills has extended to all parts of the Union, and the 
establishment enjoys a trade which taxes its capacity. The members 
of the firm are practical and experienced millers, and all of the 
operations of the mills are conducted under their close personal 
supervision, resulting in a steady maintainance of that high quality 
in the product which has been the most prominent factor in their 
success. Added to their accurate knowledge of the wants of the trade 
and the public, they possess business qualifications of a high order, 
and have commended themselves to favor by promptness and relia- 
bility in all their business transactions. 

C. C. Foster Lumber Co. — C. C. Foster, President and 
Treasurer; L. A. Budenz, Secretary; Manufacturers of Doors, Sash, 
and Blinds; Dealers in Lumber, Lath and Shingles; 404 to 420 North 
Mississippi street. — This important manufacturing and mercantile 
firm had its origin in 1870, in which year it was established by C. C. 
Foster & Co., changing in 1883 to its present corporate style. The 
facilities for the prosecution of the business, possessed by the present 
company, are of the most advanced character, the company occupy- 
ing as a planing-mill, and sash, door and blind factory, a two-story 
building 100x180 feet in dimensions, equipped with every description 
of modern and improved machinery, propelled by a loo-horse power 
engine, fed by a 4>^xi8-feet boiler, the furnace of which is arranged 
to burn either natural gas or the surplus of shavings accumulated in 
the mill. The plant includes all the latest labor-saving devices, and 
every convenience and facility for the operation of the most complete 
and commodious mill and factory of its kind in the State of Indiana. 



A force, ranginfj from fifty to sixty hands, is constantly employed, 
the products of the establishment including all kinds of planed and 
finishing lumber, and sash, doors, and blinds of all styles and dimen- 
sions. The company also has a commodious yard, covering over 
three acres of ground, and fitted up with storage sheds for dry and 
finished stock. In these yards a large and completely assorted stock 
is carried, embracing all kinds of rough and dressed lumber, from 
which orders are filled in a prompt and satisfactory manner. Shingles, 
lath, and other lumber products are also carried in large stocks, and 
the facilities enjoyed by the company enable it to respond to the 
demands of dealers upon the most advantageous terms. A large 
trade is enjoved in the citv and surrounding towns, and the company 
holds a high place among the leading lumber corporations of the 
State. Mr. C. C. Foster, the President and Treasurer of the com- 
panv, is a business man of distinctive prominence, one of the 
Governors of the Board of Trade, and a representative business man 
of the city. 

W. H. Chamberlin, Sr. — Manufacturer Self-Loading Barrel 
Trucks; 66 Chesapeake street. — William H. Chamberlin, Sr., inventor 
and manufacturer of the self-loading barrel and box trucks, and 
dealer in scales, embarked in business for himself during 1887, having 
been for ten years previous foreman for the Fairbanks & Co. scale 
house in this city. His undertaking has been successful and he has 
built up a large trade. He occupies premises 25 feet front on Chesa- 

pCake street, and 100 feet 

deep. They furnish ample 
accommodations for display 
and sale purposes, also for 
the manufacture and repair 
of his line of productions, 
and are well equipped for 
the supply of the trade. His 
specialty is the self-loading 
barrel and box trucks, an 
ingenious invention discov- 
ered by Mr. Chamberlin, 
light, strong and durable, 
that enables the handling, 
loading and unloading of 
barrels, boxes and other 
bulky materials with the 
least expenditure of strength 
or labor. The accompanying 
cut will give some idea of 
the usefulness of this truck, showing the ease with which one man 
can load and handle a barrel or box weighing 800 or 1,000 pounds. 
They have met with general adoption here, and their popularity and 
employment is being rapidly extended in all directions. He carries 
a full supply in stock, and complete lines of scales of the best make, 
from the most delicate chemical balances to scales of the largest 
capacity, adapted to the requirements of every service and to every 
standard. His equipment includes all necessary machinery and his 
facilities are of a character so comprehensive that he is able to offer 
inducements to the trade in prompt service, low prices and other 
particulars of unrivaled value. His scale repair department is a 
feature not to be overlooked. Most people think that when a scale 
refuses to weigh accurately it is worn out, when, in fact, by remodeling 
and putting in a new steel pivot and bearing, it will weigh as accu- 
rately as ever. Mr. Chamberlin employs from five to ten assistants, 
and does a large and increasing business throughout the city and 
surrounding country. 

D. E. Stone & Co. — Manufacturers of Fancy Cabinet Ware; 
Office and Salesrooms, 184 South Meridian street. — This house was 
founded by Mr. Stone in 1877, and is to-day one of the largest and 
most favorably known industries in its line in the United States, 
coming under its present title in 18S3. During June, 1888, their plant 
was destroyed by fire, but rebuilt and occupied with the least possible 
delay, and in January, i88g, the firm was re-organized, being now 

made up of D. E. Stone, O. L. Neisler (who succeeded to the interest 
of G. R. Ellis), and Charles T. Stone. The Messrs. Stone are prac- 
tical cabinet-makers and manage the manufacturing department, Mr. 
Neisler having charge of the office and sales departments. They 
occupy an attractive three-story and basement brick building, 25x100 
feet, used for office and warehouse purposes, where they carry large 
stocks, and are provided with facilities for the transaction of business, 
and the prompt execution and shipment of orders. Their factory is 
situated on Christian avenue and is fully equipped with all modern 
machinery for the promotion of the quality and volume of their lines 
of production. They also maintain branch offices at 24 and 26 
Van Buren street, Chicago, of which C. A. Wear is manager, at 
42 Elizabeth street, New York City, and at 818 and 820 Mission 
street, San Francisco, where they are known as the "Indianapolis 
Manufacturing Co.," besides having agencies in the chief remaining 
cities of the United States. They manufacture every description of 
book cases and desks for office, parlor, library, etc.; parlor, boudoir, 
library and office tables; music desks, cabinets, stands and racks; 
commodes, foot rests, blackers, etc., in many different varieties, of 
fine and medium grades of walnut, cherry, antique oak, antique ash 
and other hardwoods, with cither natural or mahogany finish, and for 
sale at the lowest prices compatible with the quality of material and 
workmanship employed in their manufacture. For variety, originality, 
elegance of design and finish the products are without a rival in the 
market, and the popularity of the house and its lines is shown by the 
rapid increase in their sales, which during 1888 exceeded those of the 
previous year more than 40 per cent. They are prepared to fill 
orders promptly, packing to suit the wants of the trade without charge 
for boxing, and shipping at a saving of from 50 to 75 per cent, to buyers. 
They employ from sixty to seventy-five hands and their trade is 
throughout the Union in every direction. 

Remington Standard Typewriter— Wyckoff, Seamans 
& Benedict, Proprietors and Manufacturers ; G. E. Field, Manager 
for Indiana ; 51 North Pennsylvania street. — The spirit of invention, 
which is the most marked characteristic of this progressive age, has 
evolved a large number of meritorious labor-saving devices, among 
which the typewriter takes deservedly 
high rank for its general utility, and 
the numerous ways in which it facili- 
tates clerical work of all kinds. 
Although many attempts had been 
made during the preceding century 
to invent a machine for writing, none 
had proved of any practical utility 
until 1867, when a writing machine, called the typewriter, was 
patented in Milwaukee, Wis., by C. Latham Sholes, Samuel W. Soule 
and Carlos Glidden. This invention, though crude, was the initial 
idea jvhich has since been perfected in the excellent machine known 
as the Remington Standard Typewriter. The machines were for a 
number of years manufactured in the gun-shops of E. Remington & 
Sons, of Ilion, N. Y., and in 1886 the New York firm of Wyckoff, 
Seamans & Benedict, who had been sole sales agents for these type- 
writers since 1882, purchased of E. Remington & Sons the extensive 
plant at Ilion, and all the franchises and rights of manufacture, and, 
in connection with a few of their friends, organized the Standard 
Typewriter Company, by whom the machines are now made. As 
now improved, the machine contains every requisite to perfect work, 
and is a triumph of modern invention. Although other writing 
machines have since come into the field, the Remington is still 
recognized as the standard of excellence in writing machines, 
surpassing all others both in quality of work and the speed with 
which it is executed. The superiority of the Remington has been 
recently demonstrated in a number of speed tests, notably at 
Cincinnati, July 26, 1888, where it was awarded the victory in a 
contest for highest speed in legal work ; at New York, August i, 1S88, 
for highest speed on correspondence, and in the ■ International 
Tournament for the World's Championship at Toronto, August 13, 
1888, where the Remington was awarded the first and second prizes 
for business correspondence, and the first and second prizes (gold 



and silver medals) for legal testimony. The Remington has a larger 
sale than all other typewriting devices combined, and is in use by 
the largest firms and corporations in all parts of the United States 
and Europe. An agency for the sale of these machines has been 
conducted in this city since 1876, and in 1885 Mr. G. E. Field, who 
had previously been connected with the Chicago branch, came to 
Indianapolis, and has since controlled the sale of these machines in 
the State of Indiana. He occupies an eligibly located store at 51 
North Pennsylvania street, opposite the Postoflice, where he carries 
a full assortment of the Standard Typewriters, Nos. I, 2, 3 and 4, 
typewriter desks and cabinets, typewriter attachments, copy-holders, 
typewriter and manifold papers, ribbons, and all typewriter supplies. 

machine shops, spoke turning, rim bending, finishing, blacksmithing, 
and other departments, together with complete storage and warehouse 
accommodations. Their equipment embraces the latest and most 
reliable machinery and appliances, adapted to the manufacture of 
wheels, driven by an engine of 500-horse power, fed from a battery of 
eight boilers of the most approved pattern. In addition to this, and 
in order to more perfectly meet the requirements of the trade to which 
they minister' in all parts of the world, they are erecting a new plant 
on the line 0/ the Belt Railroad that will cover, when completed, fifteen 
acres of ground, and is furnished with more complete facilities and 
equipments, requiring two engines of 350-horse power each to operate, 
and increase their annual output, already phenomenally large, to 


Mr. Field, the Manager, is an experienced and efficient business 
man, to whose energy and accurate methods is due in a large 
measure the notable increase in the demand for these machines in 
the State of Indiana. 

The Woodburn "Sarven" Wheel Co —Manufacturers 
of Vehicle Wheels; Office, 240 South Illinois street. — This business 
was established in 1850, and, twenty years later, the present company 
was incorporated. They occupy a vast area of territory fronting on 
Illinois and other streets in the central portion of the city, upon which, 
from time to time, buildings have been erected, as the same became 
necessary to the increase of business which has steadily accompanied 
the undertaking from its inception. These improvements include the 

much greater proportions. Their specialty is the Woodburn "Sarven" 
wheel, for every description of conveyance, and embodying in its 
construction strength, durability, elasticity and economy more per- 
fectly than any other article of its kind known to the trade. The hub 
and spokes are mortised and tenoned like the common wheel, the 
spokes being tnitred so as to form a solid arch outside the wheel 
after which two flanges of malleable iron are fitted to the hub and 
spokes, and riveted through, which sustains the arch formed by the 
spokes, yet preserves the same elasticity of wood in the hub and spoke 
which obtains in the common wheel. The " Sarven " is the only wheel 
having a mortised wood hub with tenoned spokes supported by flanges, 
connected by rivets. They also manufacture Brown's shell band, 
Warner patent, plain wood hub, and compressed band hub wheels, m 



addition to other styles of wheels, hubs, spokes, rims and wheel 
materials generally, in every variety, made of the best materials and 
carried in full supply, thereby cnablinif them to till orders promptly. 
They employ over 500 hands at the works, in addition to 100 at the 
new plant, which will be fully occupied during the Fall of 1889, and 
their trade in every State of the Union, as also in Canada, Australia, 
Europe, South America, etc., is only measured by their capacity to 
supply its demand. Addison Bybee, President, and J. P. Pratt, Vice- 
President and Treasurer, are citizens of enterprise and public spirit. 
During 1888, Mr. Pratt was the President of the Indianapolis Board 
of Trade, honoring in the discharge of his official duties the associa- 
tion, extending its reputation and enlarging its field of operations and 
usefulness. Illustrated catalogues, price currents and other informa- 
tion are mailed promptly upon application. 

E. Rauh & Sons —Dealers in Hides, Tallow, Pehs, Etc., and 
Manufacturers of FertiHzers; 2ig South Pennsylvania street. — This 
tirm, which occupies a distinguished prominence in its line of industry, 
is composed of Messrs. Leopold Rauh, Henry Rauh and Samuel E. 
Rauh, sons of E. Rauh, by whom the business was established at 
Dayton, O., in 1865. The Dayton house is still successfully carried on 
as well as the Indianapolis house, which was established in 1874. 
The premises here include a two-story brick warehouse at 219 South 
Pennsylvania street, where they carry large stocks of hides, pelts, 
tallow, etc.; and a tract of three acres on the line of the Belt Railroad, 
where their fertilizing works are located. Their factory has a com- 
plete equipment embracing all the improved machinery and appli- 
ances necessary for the prosecution of the business upon an extensive 
scale, and here is manufactured a superior quality of pure bone 
fertilizers, upward of 5,000 tons being produced annually. The firm 
gives employment to fifty hands at their factory and twenty-five at 
their warehouse, and enjoy a large trade in hides, which they sell in 
all the Eastern and Western markets, while their fertilizers are in 
large demand in Indiana and surrounding States and throughout the 
South. The members of the firm are all thoroughly practical and 
experienced men, conversant with every detail of the business, to 
which they devote their care and attention and in which they have 
secured a marked and gratifying success. 

Coffin, Greenstreet & Fletcher— Pork Packers; Office 
and Packing House, corner of West and Ray streets. — An old 
established and prominent pork-packing establishment is that now 
conducted by the firm of Coffin, Greenstreet & Fletcher, of which 
Messrs. Albert W. Coffin, Jason H. Greenstreet, James L. Fletcher 
and Lafayette Fletcher are the individual members. The business 
was originally established in 1863 by Mr. B. Coffin (father of Mr. 
Albert W. Coffin), and in 1866 the firm became Coffin, Wheat & 
Fletcher. In 1876 Mr. B. Coffin died, and the following year the 
firm assumed its present style and membership. The premises occu- 

tion of the slaughtering and packing industry upon an extensive scale. 
The firm docs a large business as packers of every description of 
pork products, giving employment to a force of from 150 to 160 hands, 
and having three traveling salesmen who visit the trade as well as 
resident agents in all the large cities. Their facilities are of the most 
complete character, including a capacity for killing and packing 1,200 
hogs per day, and a storage capacity of 7,000,000 pounds. Their 
" Primrose " brand of hams, shoulders, breakfast bacon, etc., bear a 
merited distinction for superior quality, and command an extensive 
trade in all parts of the country, but especially in the States of 
Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, and the South generally, while in lard they 
also do a considerable export trade. The firm, throughout the quarter 
of a century covered by its history, has ever conducted its affairs upon 
principles of accuracy and honor, and is a representative and deserv- 
edly prosperous house, ranking among the leaders in this branch of 

Indianapolis Chair Manufacturing Company— E. G. 

Cornelius, President; N. S. Byram, Vice-President; E. H. Cornelius, 
Secretary and Treasurer; Frank E. Helwig, Superintendent; Manu- 
facturers of Chairs; 184 to 198 West New York street.— The tendency 
of modern industrial progress is toward specialties, and, as a conse- 
quence articles which were formerly made by hand and sold at prices 
only possible to the rich, are now turned out by machinery, and, while 

pied for the business cover about five acres of ground, upon which 
are located the packing-house, a three-story brick building, 200x250 
feet in dimensions, a large ice-house, slaughtering-house, smoke- 
house, hog-pens, etc., and the equipment includes all the most modern 
and improved machinery and appliances necessary for the prosecu- 

improved in appearance, are so cheaply produced as to be obtainable 
by people of moderate means. An apt illustration of this tendency 
is made by the furniture industry, which is divided into many special 
lines, of which the manufacture of chairs is the most important, and 
engages the energies of many substantial and prosperous corpora- 
tions. Among the companies so engaged in various parts of the 
Union one of the most prominent, both as to the extent of its business 
and the conceded superiority of its product, is the Indianapolis Chair 
Manufacturing Company, of this city. The business was originally 
established in 1874 by Charles Helwig, W. D. Hoffmann and Frank E. 
Helwig, who incorporated it under its present title. In April, 1888, 
the company was re-organized with its present officers and 
largely increased capital and facilities. As now organized 
and operated the company takes rank among the largest of 
the concerns engaged in this manufacture. The manufact- 
uring premises comprise a number of three and four-story 
brick buildings, covering an entire block of ground, with 
rear on the canal and railroad tracks, affording unequaled 
facilities for the receipt of raw materials and the shipment 
of the manufactured product. Across the canal is the lum- 
ber yard of the company, half a block in extent, well stocked 
with selected lumber suitable for their manufacture. The 
factory is furnished with a 150-horse power engine, three 
large boilers, and a complete outfit of the most highly im- 
proved modern machinery adapted to the manufacture of 
chairs upon an extensive scale. To this equipment the com- 
pany, since its re-organization, has been making important 
additions and intend to increase the present output, averaging about 
1,000 chairs daily, to from 1,800 to 2,000 per day. Employment is 
given to a force of more than 200 hands, and the products include all 
the latest styles and designs in upholstered, cane and wood-seat 
chairs and rockers. The company is especially noted for the 



elegance in finish, richness in design and excellence in workman- 
.ship in its finer grades of goods, by which they have secured a 
recognized leadership as manufacturers of fancy chairs. The trade 
of the company extends to every part of the United States, and a 
large staff of traveling salesmen represent these goods to the trade. 
The ofificers of the company, Messrs. E. G. Cornelius, President; N. 
S. Byram, Vice-President, and E. H. Cornelius, Secretary and 
Treasurer, are all business men of high standing, in whose hands the 
affairs of the company are sagaciously and efficiently managed, and 
Mr. Frank E. Helwig, the Superintendent, who has charge of the 
mechanical operations, is a thoroughly practical man, conversant 
with every detail of this branch of manufacture, and supervises the 
operations of the factory with a degree of skill and knowledge which 
contributes largely to the success of the company and the recognized 
excellence of its product. The efficiency of the official board of the 
company, the ample resources it controls and the unexcelled facilities 
it enjoys, entitle it to a leading place among the representative manu- 
facturing establishments of the city. 

Bryce'S Bakery — Peter F. Bryce, Proprietor; Steam Bread and 
Crackers; 14 and 16 East South street. — The model bakery of the city 
and State, and in many respects the model bakery of the country, if not 
of the world, is that of Peter F. Bryce, located as above, employing 
the most perfect equipment available and manufacturing an annual 
product of the largest magnitude. Mr. Bryce is a native of Scotland, 
where he was born in 1826, and whence he immigrated to this country 
during 1843. Iri 1870, he established his present enterprise in Indian- 
apolis. Ten years later, or m 1880, in response to the growing 
demand made upon his productive resources, the premises occupied 
were measurably enlarged and his facilities materially increased. 
They now consist of a two-story and basement building, 60 feet front 
on East South street between Meridian and Pennsylvania, and 100 
feet deep, with large yard room adjoining, upon which storage sheds, 
stables and other improvements have been erected. The bakery is 
furnished with the new patent bread-making machinery of very large 
capacity, invented by Mr. Bryce, and declared by experts to be the 
most simple in construction, economical and efficient in its operation 
and results, of any device of a similar character yet discovered, in 
addition to large dough mixers of his own importation, together with 
other appliances required in the service. Seven ovens, some of which 
are among the largest in the world, are necessary to even approxi- 
mately meet the wants of the trade, and his daily production averages 
10,000 loaves of bread, in addition to other lines of edibles, such as 
crackers, cakes, etc. They are made from the best grades of mate- 
rials, carefully selected and of guaranteed purity and excellence, and 
enjoy a wide-spread reputation for their superiority in every respect. 
His facilities are such, that Mr. George H. Bryce, manager of the 
establishment, is able to handle all orders promptly and satisfactorily 
and his administration of affairs has substantially promoted the suc- 
cess of one of the most important and productive industries in the 
State. Mr. Bryce, Sr., has been repeatedly elected a member of the 
Indianapolis Board of Councilmen, besides holding other offices of 
honor and trust, and is everywhere known as one of the most enter- 
prising and honorable business men of the community. A force of 
from twenty-five to thirty men, and sixteen horses, are employed in 
the business, and a large and steadily increasing trade is done 
throughout the city and State, as also in portions of Ohio, and other 
States adjoining. 

Henry T. Hudson— Sanitary Plumber, Natural Gas Fitting; 
26 Massachusetts avenue. — Conspicuous among the sanitary plumb- 
ing establishments of Indianapolis, that owned and managed by 
Henry T. Hudson stands deservedly high. He located here during 
1883, coming from Boston, where he had enjoyed an experience of 
eighteen years in the same line of operations, and embarked in 
business in this city during 1885. He is situated as above, occupying 
a two-story and basement building, 20x80 feet in dimensions, divided 
into office and workshop, and supplied with all modern appliances 
and conveniences for the transaction of business and the production 
of his line of supply. His specialties are improved systems of house 

drainage and ventilation, by the adoption of which, residences, 
public buildings, etc., are absolutely freed from the presence of sewer 
gas and other noxious agencies destructive of the health and 
comfort of occupants. In the matter of sanitary plumbing his work 
is eciually efficient and permanent, and in the piping and equipping 
of houses for the introduction or substitution of natural gas it is 
unsurpassed. Among the recent jobs in the latter line recently 
completed by Mr. Hudson, was the piping in the State Asylum for 
Insane, also for Deaf and Dumb Asylum, both of which institutions 
are located in this city, and accessible to those who desire to examine 
the superior workmanship done under his supervision. He also did 
the plumbing and natural gas fitting work at the Blind Asylum, the 
plumbing work for the government at the Postoffice, and also the 
plumbing work at the Marion County Workhouse. He is prepared 
to fill all orders for materials or undertake the execution of contracts 
at the shortest notice, and he employs from fifteen to twenty-five 
skilled workmen. He gives personal attention to every department 
of his business, and substantial results are assured. He does a large 
and steadily increasing trade in the city and vicinity. Mr. Hudson is 
a representative citizen as also of the industrial interests of the State, 
paying the highest wages for services in his lines of operations in the 
city, prominent in all movements tending to the promotion and 
dignifying of labor, and in the F3JI of 1888 received an expression of 
the high esteem in which he is held, by his election as a member of 
the State Senate. He is, in fact, as the public assert: " A remarkable 
man," and the house he manages with such equity and liberality has 
the confidence and patronage of a large constituency. 

The Sun Vapor Street Light Co., Canton, O.— 

John M. Brubaker, Contracting Superintendent; Joseph A. McGuire, 
General Agent; Contractors for Lighting Streets; 32 Virginia avenue. 
— The Sun Vapor Street Lighting Company was incorporated in 1888 
under the laws of the State of Ohio, as successors to the Sun Vapor 
Light and Stove Co., the Ohio Street Lighting Co., and the Belden 
Burner Co. Its capital stock is §200,060, with headquarters at Canton, 
O., and branches in this city, Charles- 
ton, S. C, Minneapolis, Minn., and 
Wichita, Kan. The company's line 
of operations is the lighting of the 
streets in cities, towns and villages 
with the famous Sun Vapor gas street 
lamps, which are secured to their 
exclusive ownership by United States 
and Canadian patents; also the manu- 
facture of same with their equipments. 
In addition to brilliancy, purity and 
volume of light furnished, not only 
are they economical, but their intro- 
duction or substitution is accomplished 
without digging up the streets and the 
laying of expensive pipes and con- 
nections, as when coal or natural gas 
is used. Only a simple, cheap, plain, 
practical, common-sense post and neat 
lantern are required to furnish a satis- 
factory light, at low prices, and guar- 
anteed to work as represented. The 
company has been very successful, 
employing over 100 hands at Canton, and upward of 500 sub-agents 
distributed throughout the Southwest and Northwest, and working 
3,300 lamps at Cleveland, O., 1,300 at Minneapolis, 400 at Wichita, and 
241 in this city, all of which are spoken of in the highest terms and 
even said to be better and cheaper than gas light. In Wichita the 
Common Council recently countermanded orders for electric lights 
previously given, in favor of the Sun Vapor light. The Indianapolis 
branch was established in 1886, under the management of Joseph A. 
McGuire as General Agent, with J. M. Brubaker Superintendent of 
ths contracting department. The former is occupied in traveling 
throughout the South and West, contracting with municipal, town 
and village corporations for their partial or entire lighting at so much 



per lamp per annum, Mr. Brubaker having charge during his absence. 
They are prepared to make estimates, furnish plans and specifications 
and execute contracts for work in the lines mentioned, providing all 
necessary equipments and appointments requisite to a complete and 
unsurpassed service at the lowest prices and upon tlie most liberal 
terms. Thev are enterprising representatives of the important industry 
in the substantial promotion of whose objects and prosperity they are 

South Side Foundry Co.— Thomas Markey, President; 
Peter Zeien, Treasurer; August Weber, Secretary; Manufacturers of 
Gray Iron Castings; 28 Shelby street.— This prominent manufactur- 
ing establishment began business about five years ago. The foundry 
occupies a building 6o,\225 feet in dimensions, with all the necessary 
machinery and appliances. The operations of the foundry are con- 
fined to the production of light gray iron castings to order, in which line 
the orders of the foundry keep a force of from thirty to forty hands 
constantly employed. These orders are for the most part from cus- 

tomers in the city and throughout the State of Indiana, but outside 
orders are also frequently received from every portion of the Union. 
Not only are the products of the foundry of the best quality, but the 
prices charged for them are uniformly low. The members of the 
company are all thorough and practical business men, and they have 
commended themselves to favor by promptness and accuracy in 
filling orders and by uniform reliability in all their transactions. 

Indianapolis Bolt & IVIaclnine Works— Manufacturers of 
Iron Construction Work for Buildings; 10, 12, 14 and 16 Garden street. 
— The Indianapolis Bolt and Machine Works were established here in 
1887, by O. R. Olsen and George W. Moore, and though of compara- 
tively recent development, enjoy a reputation as a representative 
iron industry, second to none in the city, similarly engaged. A large 
amount of capital is invested in the enterprise, employment is given 
to a large force of experienced founders and machinists, and the 
annual output is of correspondingly large proportions. They occupy 
commodious premises, 60x150 feet in dimensions, upon which have 
been erected blacksmith shops, pattern and finishing shops, in addition 
to a three-story building, of very large dimensions, for a machine 
shop, equipped with lathes, boring machines, drills, punches and 
auxiliary machinery and appliances adapted to the purposes for which 
they are supplied, driven by steam. The pattern, finishing and black- 
smith shops are equally well appointed, with facilities for the conduct 
and completion of the work, with the least delay and in the most 
reliable manner. Their lines of production embrace heavy and light 
machinery, iron construction work for buildings, bolts, log screws, 
bridge rods, pulleys, shafting and hangers, which they also carry in 
full supply, and other articles required by the trade. They also repair 
.all kinds of machinery in the most skillful manner and at the shortest 

notice, and manufacture caustic tile presses in addition to complete 
outfits for tile mills, including dies, etc. The best materials only are. 
used and every care is taken that their products shall conform in 
every particular to the exacting requirements of the service for which 
they are designed. They employ from forty to fifty skilled mechanics 
and assistants, and do a large and increasing trade throughout Indiana, 
Ohio, Kentucky, Missouri and Georgia, as also in the Eastern and 
Western States. Mr. Olsen, who is long experienced in the business, 
supervises and directs the departments devoted to manufacture, while 
Mr. Moore has charge of the office. Both are enterprising citizens, 
and their undertaking is managed in a manner so liberal and judicious 
as to have become a prominent base of supply for an extensive and 
extending territory. 

Kimberlin Manufacturing Co.— Manufacturers of Har- 
rows, Rakes, Etc.; 10 to 16 Garden street. — This company was 
incorporated in 1881, with a capital of $50,000, for the manufacture of 
a special line of agricultural implements in constant requisition by 
farmers, on account of their indispensable utility and 
value for the service they are designed to facilitate. 
The business had been established the year previous 
by R. P. Kimberlin and L. F. Kimberlin, the former 
becoming charter President of the company, which 
also adopted his name, and Mr. L. F. Kimberlin is 
now President, and George W. Moore, Secretary and 
Treasurer. They occupy a three-story brick building, 
fox 150 feet in dimensions, containing thoroughly equip- 
ped machine, pattern, blacksmith shops, etc., provided 
with all requisite machinery and labor-saving devices 
of the most modern improved pattern, for successful 
manufacture of the products. The specialties offered 
the trade embrace the "Corn King," "Queen," and 
"Tip-Top Tongueless" cultivators, the most simple 
and practical in their construction of any on the mar- 
ket, and unequaled for lightness, strength and dura- 
bility; the " Iron Duke " harrow, the best harrow ever 
made for general purposes, and especially adapted 
for use on sod, heavy clay soil, foul, trashy ground, 
or rough, stony land; the "Bonanza Force-Drop 
Corn Planter," that will plant corn in straight 
rows both ways, whether the team goes fast or slow; the "Star" and 
" Bonanza Sulky" hay rakes, for one or two horses; Frederick's pat- 
ent equalizers, Davis' patent cultivator attachments, lifting-jacks, 
check-rowers, etc., for which the demand is very extensive. Their 
productions are of the best grade of inaterials, and in every depart- 
ment are subjected to the most exacting tests before placed in stock. 
As models of proportion, arrangement, efficient service, capacity, 
durable wear and superior workmanship they are unrivaled, a fact 
that is conclusively established by testimonials of appreciation from 
those who have used them in all parts of the country. From forty to 
fifty hands, in addition to five traveling salesmen, are employed, and a 
large and growing trade is supplied throughout the United States in 
every direction. 

R. G. Harseim— Manufacturer of Model Pantaloons, Overalls 
and Shirts; 23 and 25 East South street. — One of the most active and 
enterprising manufacturing enterprises in this city, is that of R. G. 
Harseim, devoted to the manufacture of clothing, including the 
perfect fitting Model vest, of which he is the inventor. The establish- 
ment was founded by the present proprietor in 1884, and he has built 
up a trade commendatory of his industry and managerial ability. He 
occupies a two-story and basement brick building, 40x200 feet in 
dimensions and in every way completely equipped for the business, 
and provided with steam power for the operation of seventy-five 
sewing machines and other mechanical appliances, requisite to his 
lines of production. These embrace the Model pantaloon overalls 
and shirts, the Model vest, cassimere trousers, in style, material, 
workmanship, finish and appearance equal to custom-made work, etc., 
also lustre, seersucker, flannel and cottonade coats and vests, and 
other articles of wearing apparel of equal utility and durability. In 



addition to 125 hands employed at tlic present establishment, he 
employs a large force at the Reformatory, where thirty-five inachines 
are operated, and his total output daily approximates 1,300 garments, 
of the best qualities of material and unexcelled in all their essential 
requirements by the manufacture of any similar industry in the West. 
He does a very large business, and during the last presidential cam- 
paign, furnished to order nearly, if not quite all, the uniforms worn by 
the political organizations of the State. A large staff of clerks and 
six traveling salesman are required for the conduct of his operations 
among the trade in all portions of the United States, especially in the 
South and West, and he enjoys the confidence of commercial and 
financial circles in all directions. 

Wm. P. Myer— Manufacturer of Elevator Buckets, Tinware, 
Etc.; 17 to 23 East South street.— This representative industry was 
established by William P. Myer in 1876, at Terra Haule. Realizing 
the invaluable opportunities available in this city for the increased 
production and distribution of his output, he removed his works to 
Indianapolis during 1880, and has since conducted large operations 
in his lines. He owns the property at the above location, the same 

consisting of a 
t w o-s t o r y and 
basement build- 
ing, fifty feet 
front, on East 
South street, and 
160 feet deep, 
where he occupies 
the main floor 
and basement, di- 
vided into an 
office and sales- 
room 50x100 feet, 
with a workshop 
50x60 feet in di- 
mensions. The 
upper floor with 
the premises ad- 
joining, which are 
of like dimen- 
sions, are also owned by Mr. Myrr. His equipment is complete, 
embracing all requisite tools and appliances necessary to the manu- 
facture of his stock, and his facilities and appointments are equally 
full and available. His specialties are elevator buckets, rain-water 
cut-offs, etc. The former are for handling grain in mill or ware- 
house, also for handling ear corn, corn and cobs, clay, bones, malt, 
crushed coke, etc., substantially made of sheet steel, ordinary and of 
extra heavy grades, and unsurpassed by any other buckets in the 
market. The cut-offs are made in all sizes from two inches up, of tin 
or galvanized iron, for use in any position without extra pipe or 
elbows, and, though but three years on the market, are the favorites 
of the trade throughout the United States and Canada. He also 
manufactures elevator cups for mills and handling light materials, of 
tinned steel plate with iron bands ; tin stove-pipe rings from five to 
seven inches in diameter, pie-plates, cups for patties and pieced 
tinware in great variety, and carries large stocks of stamped and 
japanned ware. Only the most skilled labor and best materials are 
employed by Mr. Myer, and his productions enjoy a reputation for 
superior workmanship and substantial durability, that has extended 
and established the trade in every direction. He employs fjom ten 
to fifteen hands and supplies the demand for specialties in every 
State of the Union and in Sanada, for his tinware, etc., throughout 
the city and surrounding country. He furnishes complete catalogues 
of all his various products and price-lists upon application, and all 
orders are filled promptly and satisfactorily. 

Armstrong Bros. — Boiler and Portable Engine Builders; 
51 to 99 East Georgia street. — The most extensive of the iron 
industries of Indianapolis is the boiler works of Armstrong Bros. 
The firm is composed of James J. Armstrong and W. C. Armstrong, 


and was organized in 1878 at Springfield, O., where they own and 
direct works of a character similar to those here, and among the 
largest of the kind in the United States. In September, 1888, they 
located in Indianapolis, and succeeded the firm of Sinker, Davis & 
Co. in this line, being persuaded to revive this line of industry by 
the superior facilities afforded by this city as a manufacturing and 
railroad center. The works have a frontage of 400 feet on East 
Georgia street, with a parallel depth of 200 feet on South Pennsyl- 
vania and South Delaware streets. They are conveniently located 
for shipping and receiving purposes, and provided with machinery 
and appliances that will adequately promote the volume and value 
of production. The boiler shop is a commodious brick building 
200 X 100 feet in dimensions, the sheet-iron works and machine 
shops are 150x30 feet, and the remaining structures requisite to the 
establishments in chief are of proportionately large dimensions. 
■ They are also provided with extensive yard room and other accom- 
modations. The machinery equipment embraces powerful steam 
punches, some of which will force a space six inches in diameter 
through metal three-quarters of an inch in thickness; a full set of the 
Wilber flanging apparatus, for flanging heads up to eight feet in 
diameter ; heavy rools, from the smallest sizes to eighteen feet in 
length; a complement of riveting machines, with other appointments 
necessary to the service, of the latest pattern and powerful capacity. 
Their specialty is heavy work; their range of manufacture includes 
steam boilers, stationary and portable engines, feed-water heaters 
and purifiers, gray iron castings, light and heavy sheet iron work, 
etc. Every device that can facilitate the work in hand is here 
utilized, every article in their line is included in the output, and 
characterized by the superiority of its material and workmanship. 
The works furnish employment to a force of from 75 to 100 experi- 
enced artisans, and the products are sold in the Northern and Western 
States, the trade throughout other portions of the Union being 
furnished from the Springfield works, where from 150 to 200 men are 
constantly employed. A full force of clerks and travelers are also 
employed here under the direction of James J. Armstrong, the 
resident partner and General Manager. Their office is at loi South 
Pennsylvania street. The gentlemen who have undertaken this 
enterprise are of the highest order of public spirited citizens, and 
have given to the Capital City additional prominence and importance 
as one of the leading cities west of the Alleghenies. 

H. Lieber & Co. — Manufacturers and Dealers in Pictures, 
Frames and Mouldings; ^^ South Meridian street.— The art emporium 
of H. Lieber & Co. was established by Mr. Lieber in 1854, at 82 East 
Washington street, whence he removed to his present site in the 
Fall of 1888, and is now conducting the pioneer establishment and 
the largest enterprise of its kind in the State. The premises occupied 
consist of an elegant four-story and basement building; fronting 25 
feet on South Meridian street and 
running back 100 feet, where it con- 
nects with a structure 100x80 feet in 
dimensions, four stories high and 
fronting on Pearl street. This latter 
was erected by the firm during the 
season of 1888. Their moulding and 
picture frame factory occupies a 
three -story and basement build 
ing 40x125 feet in size, erected upon 
grounds on Madison street, the area 
of which is 160x225 feet. The prem 
ises are equipped with all modern 
machinery and devices, and provided 
with ample accommodations for the 
various mechanical operations, as also 
for the storage and shipment of their 
varied lines of production. The range 
of manufacture embraces mouldings, 
frames, cornices, mirrors, etc., etc., using only the best seasoned 
woods and other materials, and employing experienced and practical 
operatives, under competent direction. The display, ware and sales- 



rooms, fronting respectively on South Meridian and Pearl streets, are 
handsomely furnished, supplie 1 with all the latest improved con- 
veniences and well departmcnted. The main floors are devoted to 
the retail trade in tine pictures, mirrors, frames, mouldings, archi- 
tects', painters' and artists' supplies, also containing a special and 
complete department for the firm's specialties, viz.: photographers' 
materials; the second floors are used as the wholesale department 
and crowded with general stock; the third floors are occupied with 
mouldings and the fourth with mirrors. Their stocks are very choice 
and complete, including the products of the leading manufacturers in 
Europe and America, and in every way models of artistic elegance 
and superior workmanship, on which accounts, as also on account of 
the low prices charged, the liberal terms offered and the facilities for 
large production, they are in great demand in all parts of the country. 
A force of forty-five clerks, salesmen and assistants are employed at 
the main house, the trade of which is distributed throughout the 
West and Northwest. At their factory, the services of fifty hands 
are in constant requisition, and the output goes East to their resident 
agent in New York City, who supplies the demand in that section, 
besides shipping extensively to England. The affairs of the concern 
are managed with liberal and intelligent enterprise, and the establish- 
ment in its entirety is one of the most prominent and prosperous m 
its line in the West. 

Miner & Elbreg— Manufacturers of The Perfection Physicians' 
Chair; 224, 226, 228 and 2^0 South Delaware street. — The Perfection 
Physicians' Chair, a recent development in the line of surgical 
appliances, has met with the universal commendation of the profession, 
since its introduction at a recent period, to whom it has since been 
known as " The Perfection " in every respect. Its purpose is to 
facilitate the conduct of examinations and operations with the least 
inconvenience to both patient and operator, and the evidence of its 
efficiency and .value is daily attested, by the demand for them from 
all portions of the country, as also by the testimony of physicians, 
surgeons, oculists and specialists throughout a territory as widely 
distributed. In appearance it resetribles a handsome parlor rocker. 
Its mechanism is so arranged as that its 
operation is simple, easy and perfect; 
after the patient is seated in the chair, 
the latter can be adjusted to any desired 
position, without the slightest annoyance 
to the occupant or operator, and so 
balanced that the patient properly seated 
therein can recline at any angle without 
assistance, the operator being only re- 
quired to secure the chair at the proper 
angle. All other chairs for a similar 
purpose, as is well known, must first be 
elevated and arranged, and the patient 
must climb into position by use of a step 
or 'be elevated by means of a rack and 
pinion inovement. This is avoided. The back is lowered easily from 
an angle of 45 degrees to a level plane, the act of which elevates the 
seat from 23 to 2g inches, the required height for operating. It 
meets all the requirements of the surgeon, gynecologist, oculist and 
aurist, among whom it is rapidly coming into general use. Their 
manufacture was begun here in October, 1887, by Hopper & Elbreg. 
In May, 1888, Benjamin D. Miner purchased the interest of Dr. Hopper, 
and the present firm, consisting of himself and Henry H. Elbreg, was 
organized. They occupy a two-story and basement building, 100 feet 
square, divided into sales and display rooins, and containing the 
manufacturing department, where from ten to twelve operatives are 
employed, and are made by hand work, under the personal supervision 
of Mr. Elbreg, the inventor. Their line of production is limited to 
"The Perfection Chair." Its frame work is of either antique oak, 
walnut or cherry, finished in oil or varnish, and in its construction 
neither time 4ior expense has been or will be spared to attain as 
nearly to perfection as possible. The stirrups are adjustable to 
different lengths and widths, automatic in action and always ready 
for use. The chair is provided with anti-friction casters, and is 

upholstered in leather or extra mohair plush, besides being hand- 
somely carved. It is six feet in length, 20,!^ inches wide between the 
arms, 30 inches over the arms, and weighs, when packed for shipment, 
120 pounds. They are sold at prices ranging from $65 to S75, with a 
liberal discount for cash, and are, without doubt, the cheapest and 
best chairs in the market. The members of -the firm are represen- 
tative men. Mr. Elbreg is also the inventor of other surgical chairs, 
and has the benefit of years of experience in their manufacture. The 
business is managed upon the most liberal and honorable principles, 
and a large trade is done throughout the United States and Canada 
in every direction. 

The Chandler & Taylor Co.— Manufacturers of Self-Con- 
tained Stationary Engines, Etc.; 370 West Washington street.— The 
Chandler & Taylor Company is one of the largest and most prominent 
representative industries in the State. The business was established 
by Wiggins & Chandler in 1858, the firm becoming Chandler & Taylor 
in 1863, and so continuing until 1888, when the present company was 
organized, with Thomas E. Chandler, President; Franklin Taylor, 
Vice-President, and W. M. Taylor, Secretary. The works occupy 
170x250 feet, and consist of the machine and wood working shops, 
two stories high, 60x200 feet in size; the foundry, 100x150 feet, with new 
cupola of six tons capacity and equipped for turning out the heaviest 
patterns of castings; also commodious finishing, painting and pattern 
shops, and warehouse facilities, the latter on Washington street, 
opposite the machine shop. The plant is supplied with full lines of 
the latest improved machinery, including lathes, boring machines, 
steam punches, drills and other appliances requisite to the business 
conducted, also a large assortment of special machinery employed in 
the manufacture of their self-contained stationary engines. The latter 
are made in ten sizes of from 12 to loo-horse power each, and is the 
company's specialty. Their manufacture was commenced in 1887, 
and their superior merits have been constantly demonstrated by the 
large and increasing demand that is made for them. They are the 
embodiment of new principles governing the working of steam engines, 
and have shown the most marvelous results in the way of economy, 
power, simplicity and the highest efficiency. All the parts are inter- 
changeable, like the constituent parts of an American watch, con- 
structed of the best materials and subjected to the most exacting 
tests before offered for sale. Their lines of production also embrace 
saw mill machinery, muley and circular saw mills and their acces- 
sories, for use in local supply mills among lumber districts where 
water-power is the available motor. A large number of this line of 
machinery is sold on the Pacific Coast. In addition, they manu- 
facture all descriptions of tile works and brick making machinery, 
which are also in large demand and unsurpassed for the service for 
which they are designed. They employ 100 hands and a large force 
of assistants here, with agents at all important points throughout the 
United States. They are prepared to fill and ship orders promptly, and 
their trade is large and influential in all the States, also throughout 
Canada and in South America. During January, 1889, seven car- 
loads of engines and saw mill machinery were shipped to their agent 
at Portland, Ore., in response to orders from that Territory. The 
company's officials give their personal attention to the work, and the 
enterprise is one of the most powerful for the promotion of prosperity 
in the city and State. 

Udell Wooden Ware Works — A. A. Barnes, Proprietor; 
Calvin G. Udell, Superintendent; Manufacturers of Ladders, Wooden 
Ware, Fancy Cabinet Ware, Etc.; Addison and Canal streets, North 
Indianapolis. — The extent of its output, the variety of its products, 
and the wide territory covered by its trjde, gives to the Udell Wooden 
Ware Works a recognized pl?.ce among the leading industrial estab- 
lishments of Indianapolis. The business was originally located at 
Chicago, from whence it was removed to this city in 1873, ^nd con- 
ducted under the style of the Great Western Ladder Works, until 
1882, when it assumed its present name, Mr. A. A. Barnes becoming 
the proprietor. The works, consisting of factories, warehouses, dry- 
ing houses, engine and boiler houses, are conveniently arranged for 
the business, and with the extensive . lumber yards cover an area of 



over six acres, and the machinery equipment comprises all the most 
improved wood-working appliances and every accessory calculated 
to facilitate the processes of manufacture. Employment is given to a 
force averaging about i8o hands, under the immediate and experi- 
enced supervision of Mr. Calvin G. Udell, a gentleman thoroughly 
conversant with every detail of this industry, and the inventor of many 
of the specialties produced at the works. The products include 
Udell's Extension Ladders, combining many excellencies which are 
not found in any other devices of their class, and every feature of 
utility and durability. In various designs and sizes the ladders pro- 
duced at these works are adapted to every use to which ladders may 
be put, and are in vast and steadily increasing demand. In wooden 
ware the productions include towel arms, towel rollers, scouring 
boards, meat blocks, patent broom stands and racks, patent rope reels, 
clothes line props, salt boxes, scrub boards, ironing boards and stands, 
folding wash benches, extension brush handles and a large variety of 
other useful articles. In cabinet ware the products include com- 
modes, umbrella stands, hat racks, medicine cabinets, trays, tables, 
cutting boards, etc. The trade of the works extends to all parts of 
the Union, and the goods made are popular in all sections. They are 
distributed from the works and through agencies in New York, St. 
Louis and San Francisco to the jobbing trade, and are also exported 
in considerable quantities. Mr. Barnes, the proprietor, is a prominent 
business man, and endowed with all the qualifications of experience 
and sound judgment necessary for the successful management of an 
enterprise of this character and importance. Mr. Udell, the superin- 
tendent, is, in addition to his position in this enterprise, connected as 
Treasurer with the McCoy Manufacturing Co. 

Krause- Kramer Manufacturing Co.— I\Ianufacturers 
of Lounges, Platform Rockers and Reclining Chairs; corner of N'ew 
Jersey and Merrill streets. — The tendency of the furniture industry 
toward specialties has resulted in the establishing of a number of 
important establishments, which, confining themselves to certain lines 
and enjoying a special equipment for them, are enabled to turn out 
large quantities and superior qualities of the goods to which their 
activity is devoted, and at prices far below those which formerly 
obtained. A noticeable illustration of this is found in the establishment 
conducted by the Krause-Kramer Manufacturing Co., at the corner of 
New Jersey and Merrill streets. The business was established in 1879 
by Mr. George E. Krause, who still remains at its head, the present 
style having been adopted in January, iBSg. The premises occupied 

All the operations of the factory are conducted under the careful 
supervision of Mr. George E. Krause, and the quality of the goods 
is maintained at the highest grade of excellence. The products of 
the factory are in large demand, and the trade of the house extends 
to every portion of the LInion, and is especially large in the West 
and South. The house is represented to the trade by fifteen travL/ing 
salesmen, and the volume of the business steadily grows from year 
to year- 

R. R. Rouse — Inventor of Improved Driven Wells; 31 and 33 
West Maryland street. — R. R. Rouse, inventor of improved driven 
wells, has made a twenty years' study of the subject of driven wells, 
and most of the steam power used in Indianapolis, both locomotive 
and stationary engines; also of hotels, breweries, pork houses, fac- 
tories, mills, and all State and charitable institutions, for elevators, 
fire protectors, etc., get their water from his driven wells. A i5-inch 
well is now in successful operation, and 12-inch, lo-inch, 8-inch, 
6-inch, and many thousand smaller ones, and he is conceded to stand 
at the head of his profession. His office and salesrooms occupy the 
basement and main floor of the building, having a front of fifty feet 
on Maryland street, with a depth of 100 feet, and to their rear are the 
work-shops, 60x100 feet in dimensions. His range of manufacture 
embraces the general lines of tools and implements for sinking driven 
wells, pumps of every capacity and description, and fittings, and 
many specialties of his own invention, which are illustrated and 
described in his catalogues. He employs a force of skilled operatives, 
and his trade extends from Maine to California, and in parts of Can- 
ada and Europe. A branch establishment is conducted at Philadel- 
phia, and an agency in New York City, and his services in the cause 
of internal improvements have been invaluable to the city, the State 
and the country 

The Hadley Shoe Co. — Wholesale Manufacturers of Fine 
Shoes ; 79, Si and 83 South Pennsylvania street. — The Hadley Shoe 
Company is one of the most successful manufacturing establishments 
in the State, turning out a large annual product and rapidly distanc- 
ing Eastern concerns in their competition for the Western trade. 
The business was established by Barnett & Elliott in 1881, becoming 
a joint stock company during 1886, with a paid-up capital of $10,000, 
with J. W. Hadley, President. They occupy the building at the 
above numbers on South Pennsylvania street, one of the best of 
locations and convenient for the trade. Their premises are 80x100 
feet in size, well lighted and ventilated and pro- 
vided with every facility for the manufacture, 
display, sale and shipment of their products. 
Their specialties are fine shoes for ladies, misses 
and children, in which only the best qualities of 
calf, morocco and kid are used, and which in 
style, fit and finish are not surpassed by the 
custom made work of professional boot-makers_ 
They enjoy an extended and established repu- 
^^^ tation for delicate symmetry, appearance and 

X^^S^ durability, and are available to dealers and cus- 

tomers at prices but slightly more than the cost of 
manufacture. They employ from thirty-five to 
forty expert operators, in addition to six travelers, 
and their trade, which averages S6o,ooo annually, 
is distributed throughout Indiana, Illinois, Michi- 
gan, Kansas and Missouri. 


embrace the main factory, a four-story and basement brick building, 
40x160 feet in dimensions, a three-story warehouse, 40x150 feet, large 
yards, etc. The factory is fitted up with the most modern and 
improved machinery and all appliances calculated to aid or expedite 
the operations of the business. Here a force ranging from fifty to 
sixty hands is employed in the manufacture of all kinds of lounges, 
platform rockers and reclining chairs, made in the most improved 
styles, of first-class materials and of the most expert workmanship. 

F. A. Miller— Successor to Hollenbeck & 
Miller; Manufacturer of Wire Cloth and Wire 
Goods; 47 South Illinois street — This important and successful 
business was established in 1874 by T. P. Hollenbeck, the present 
proprietor becoming a partner in 1883, and so continuing until 
May, 1 888, when he succeeded to the sole ownership. He 
occupies the main floor and basement of premises 25x100 feet, 
containing a well equipped and appointed workshop, giving 
employment to from five to eight experienced operatives, and also 
having complete facilities for the transaction of business and the 



prompt and satisfactory execution and shipment of orders to any 
])ortion of the countrv. His ran,y;c of production includes wire sjoods 
of every description and for every service, sucli as wire cloth, bird 
cages, flower stands, vases, arches, trellises, lawn chairs, store 
fixtures, bank and office railing, balcony railing, fences, window 
guards, stall partitions, fioral designs for social or funeral occasions, 
grave guards, moss baskets, coal screens, upright and revolving; 
ornamental signs, poultry coops, appliances for zoological gardens, 
etc., with other articles in great variety and general assortment. 
Among the work recently completed by Mr. Miller are the wire 
elevators at Eastman, .Schleicher cS: Lee's store, the Moore building, 
etc.; the wire w-ork and window guards of the Asylum at Crawfords- 
ville, this .State, also at the Fletcher Asylum, besides other large 
contracts in his general lines. He also made the w ire work and put 
up the elevators in the Vance block, Fletcher & Sharp's building. 
Masonic Temple, and other buildings, and furnished them with 
Zimbar's Pneumatic Bells. In conjunction with his wire works he 
carries on a stencil cutting and stamp making business, and does a 
large and steadily increasing trade in the city, and also throughout 
the States of Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky and Missouri. His products 
are of the vcrv best materials and sold at the lowest prices. He is a 
man of enterprise, who has enjoyed a long experience in the business, 
with a thorough knowledge of the needs of the trade and public in 
his lines. 

Roberts & Allison — Manufacturers Surgical Chairs, Throat 
SpecuUims, Pianos, Etc.; 85 imd 87 East South street. A very large 
manufacturing industry is owned and managed by the firm of Roberts 
& Allison. It was established by Clark & Co. In 1884, Richard B. 
Roberts and William D. Allison succeeded to the ownership, and the 
present firm was organized. They are admirably located, occupying 
a three-story and basement brick building 50x100 feet in dimensions. 
The premises are divided into office, display and salesrooms, with 
large manufacturing accommodations, fully equipped with all the 

arc not excelled by anytliing of the kind in the United States for the 
money. In addition to these, they manufacture Cole Bros. Throat 
Speculumsand olherspecial instruments for physicians and surgeons, 
anil in 1887 began the manufacture of the Roberts & Allison Upright 
Pianos. They are full 7!^ octaves, with three-strmgcd treble, full 
iron frame and ivory keys, and are conceded by artists and the 
musical profession to be matchless instruments, unsurpassed by any 
in purity and refinement of tone, elasticity and delicacy of touch, as 
also in durability and capacity to stand in tune. They are elaborately 
finished in rosewood and other fancy woods, and are sold to the 
largest dealers in the South and West. Their departments are each 
supervised by a competent and experienced foreman, and the man- 
agement of the house is characterized by the most liberal, honorable 
and progressive methods. They employ a force of thirty assistants 
in addition to five travelers, and their large trade throughout every 
State in the Union is steadily increasing and extending. 

Pioneer Brass Works — Manufacturers and Dealers in All 

Kinds of Brass Goods; 1 10 and 1 12 .South Pennsylvania street. — This 
leading and representative metal-working industry owes its origin to 
the enterprise of J. C. Brinkmeyer (deceased), who established it in 
1875; subsequently becoming incorporated with a capital stock of 
$10,000, and by him managed and controlled until his death, during 
1885, since when the works have been ably managed by J. H. Brink- 
meyer, nephew of the founder and original proprietor, though still 
owned by the latter's estate, of which F. A. W. Davis is the executor. 
The premises occupied by the foundry, etc., are eligibly located, and 
consist of a commodious two-story building, 80x120 feet in dimen- 
sions, adapted to the purposes for which it is used, and equipped with 
all necessary machinery and appliances for speedy and economical 
manufacture, driven by an engine of 40-horse power. The products, 
the annual out-put of which is very large, embrace car bearings, a 
specialty of the concern, also sheet brass, brass tubing and rods, 
heavy and light castings, railroad castings, natural gas implements, 
plumbers' and gas-fitters' brass supplies, and brass goods 
generally. They also do repairing and job work extensively,' 
in which lines they are constantly employed. The works 
are the largest and most completely equipped in the State, 
and universally patronized by the railroads centering here.. 
fi r railroad machinery and specialties to be obtained at no 
other establishment of the kind between New York and 
Chicago. Daily employment is furnished to twenty-five 
hands, and the trade supplied is distributed throughout 
Indiana and the States adjoining in every direction. 

latest patterns of improved machinery and labor saving devices^ 
driven by steam. Their lines of production include the Clark Phy- 
sicians' Office Chair, an unique and beautiful piece of furniture for 
surgical and gyneecological purposes, simple in its adjustment, abso- 
lutely noiseless, and can be placed at any angle with the patient in 
or out of it, without embarrassment to physician or occupant in cases 
of emergency. It is of adequate dimensions, made from selected 
walnut, oak, cherry or imitation mahogany, nicely carved and oil 
finished, and upholstered in extra fine mohair plush or leather. It is 
in short, the only plain, common-sense chair made, and the low price,- 
considering its superiority, places it within the reach of every 
physician. They also manufacture parlor reclining chairs, made of 
selected walnut, oil finished, provided with adjustable backs, and 
suitable for parlor, sitting room or study. They arc soid at prices 
ranging from gio to $40 each, with a liberal discount to the trade, and 

Soehner & Hammel — Plumbers and Natural Gas 
Fitters; 97 North Illinois stre'et.— The plumbing firm of 
.Soehner & Hammel is one of the leading and most influential 
in that line of scientific and industrial development in 
Indianapolis. The business, to which they devote their 
special attention and services, was commenced in 1887, 
by W. H. Wright & Co., Mr. Charles Soehner, head of the 
present firm, being a partner. In 1888, the latter succeeded 
to the sole ownership, and in January, 1889, Louis Hammel 
was admitted to an interest, and the firm of Soehner & 
Hammel was organized. They are well located, occupying avail- 
able and finely appointed premises, consisting of the main floor 
and basement, each 25x125 feet, with an adjoining "L" 25x30 
feet in dimensions. They are divided into office, display 
and salesrooms, also containing a commodious workshop, fully 
equipped with all requisite machinery and labor saving devices. 
Their specialties embrace the piping of houses for natural gas, sani- 
tary plumbing and steam and gas-fitting. They are specially pre- 
pared to fill orders in either and all of these departments, also to 
furnish plans and specifications and estimates for work to be done. 
They carry full lines of natur.-rf gas piping, materials and supplies, 
including natural gas cooking and heating stoves, gas fixtures, 
plumbers' materials, sundries and suppUes, and other articles essen- 
tial to superior service. They executed the work necessary to the 
piping and substitution of natural gas in the residence of President 



Harrison, also in the store and residence of L. S. Ayers, Sullivan's 
large dry goods house, Fahnley & McCrea's store. The Journal o(ficQ, 
Smith's printing establishment, and in many other private residences 
and public buildings in this city and elsewhere in the State. In addi- 
tion to his present undertaking, Mr. .Soehner is half owner of Blakley's 
Patent Natural Gas Enricher, an ingenious invention for instantly 
increasing the illuminating power of natural gas many fold. They 
employ from twenty-five to thirty experienced assistants, enabling 
them to properly respond to the large and increasing demands of their 
trade in the city and State. 

The J. B. Allfree Co.— Mill Builders and General Mill 
Furnishers; corner Pennsylvania and Georgia streets. — Mr. J. B. 
Allfree commenced business under the name of The J. B. Allfree Co. 
in November, 1887, for the manufacture of flour mills and general 
mill furnishings, making automatic engines and flour milling 
machinery special features of his line of production. He began 
operations at the corner of Missouri and Georgia streets, but in May, 
1888, the premises vi-ere destroyed by fire, when he removed to the 
present site on South Pennsylvania street. In December, 1888, the 

J. B. Allfree Co. was incorporated 
with a capital of $50,000, and are 
now carrying on business at the 
same place, where they are provided 
with all the necessary appliances for 
promoting the quantity and quality 
of their output. They occupy a 
building 50x150 feet in dimensions, 
divided into office and manufactur- 
ing departments, the latter being 
used for the fashioning of the wood 
and iron work necessary. Mr. Allfree 
was for many years employed in the 
capacity of Manager and Superin- 
tendent of the mill building depart- 
ment of Sinker, Davis & Co., of 
Indianapolis. Their range of products embrace the "Keystone" 
wheat and corn mills, J. B. Allfree & Co.'s new bolting chest, the 
" Success " bolter and dresser, the Allfree purifier, the Allfree sieve 
scalper, the " Little Hoosier" corn cleaner, the "Keystone" huller 
and pearler, the "Climax" bran duster, the Allfree flour packer, the 
Allfree centrifugal reel, automatic engines, and other first-class lines 
of flouring mill machinery, and are prepared to contract for an entire 
equipment on either the short, medium or long systems. Their 
manufacture is from selected materials and embodying all the latest 
improvements in their several departments. They are made accord- 
ing to Allfree's patents and are symmetrical in design, elaborate in 
finish, effective in work, requiring less power, running cool and noise- 
less, needing little attention and producing greatly improved results. 
With the company merit has been the standard of value, a principle 
their strict adherence to which is conclusively demonstrated by the 
large and steadily increasingdemandsof a trade with which the Allfree 
Company's manufacture is the recommendation of its superior worth. 
They fill orders promptly, and, owing to their greatly increased 
facilities for manufacture, at extremely low prices. The present 
officers are Robert Shriver, of Cumberland, Md. (where he is President 
of the First National Bank), President; J. B. Allfree, Vice-President 
and General Manager, and Matthew H. Escott, Secretary and 
Treasurer. A force of from forty to fifty skilled operatives are 
employed, and the trade is with flouring mills all over the United 
States in every direction. 

Indianapolis Cabinet Makers' Union— Valentine Schlot- 
chauer. President; George A. Albrecht, Treasurer; G. G. Stark, Secre- 
tary; Manufacturers of Bedroom Suites and Extension Tables; Market 
and Pine streets. — Among the manufacturing establishments which 
have contributed in an important way to securing for Indianapolis its 
present prominent position as a leader in the furniture industry, none 
has a higher or more firmly established reputation than the Indian- 
apolis Cabinet Makers' Union. It was originally established in 1862 

as a co-operative association under the style of the Cabinet Makers' 
Union, with a twenty-five years' charter. Upon the expiration of the 
charter in 1887, many of the members having in the meantime dropped 
out of the association, the business was re-incorporated as an ordinary 
joint stock company, having but six or seven stockholders, and the 
present style was adopted. The premises occupied embrace a four- 
story and basement brick factory, fronting 180 feet on Pine street and 
50 feet on Market street; a four-story and basement brick warehouse 
with a frontage of 125 feet on Market street by a depth of 50 feet, and 
the remainder of the half-square of ground occupied by the company 
and running back to Ohio street is utilized as a lumber yard. The 
factory has a complete equipment, including a 75-horse power engine, 
two large boilers and all the most approved woodworkmg machinery 
and appliances, affording the most complete facilities for the prosecu- 
tion of the business upon an extensive scale. Employment is given to 
a force ranging from 80 to 100 workmen in the manufacture of bed- 
room suites and extension tables in walnut, oak, cherry and other fine 
woods, including all medium grade goods in the line, made in the most 
approved designs, of the finest workmanship and the best materials. 
No inferior or slop work is turned out, the most careful supervision 
being maintained to keep the product up to the high standard of 
excellence by which its reputation has been earned. All of the 
members of the company are practical cabinet makers, and the 
management is conducted in accordance with progressive business 
principles, which have secured for the company the favor and con- 
fidence of the trade. 

Steel Pulley and Machine Works— D. L. Whittier, Pro- 
prietor; 79, 81, 83 and 85 South Pennsylvania street. — An important 
iron industry, extensively equipped for productions in it line, and 
directed and managed with enterprise, is the Steel Pulley and Machine 
Works. They were established in 1875, by the firm of Newcomb,01sen 
& Co., who held possession until 1886, when D. L. Whittier acquired 
ownership of the plant and adopting the name by which it is now known, 
has since managed the enterprise. He is located at one of the most 
available points in the city's manufacturing center, the works occupy- 
ing a two-story building 100x200 feet in size, completely supplied with 
machinery and labor-saving devices necessary and valuable to the 
work carried on, propelled by steam. His range of manufacture 
embraces steel rim pulleys, heavy and light machinery, shafting, 
hangers, couplings, bolts, bridge and truss rods, etc., making a 
specialty of the first named (the steel pulley), which is protected by 
letters patent here and in Great Britain. It combines strength, 
increase of power, lightness of weight and other specific and general 
advantages that are attested by its use in preference to the iron 
pulley by manufacturers located in all parts of the country. In 
conjunction with the machine works, Mr. Whittier operates the 
Indianapolis Manufacturing Company, located on the second floor of 
the building above described. This department is splendidly equipped 
with machinery, and an extensive nickel plating plant, and the output 
embracing the patent " milk shake " machines, ice shaving machines, 
patent churns, patent dash rails for buggies, gasoline flat irons and 
other products of utility and value. The products are of the best 
materials and in construction and workmanship are not surpassed by 
those of any similar establishment in the country. He employs from 
150 to 175 hands, three travelers and a competent force of assistants, 
and supplies a large demand in the United States, also extensively 
exporting to the European markets. 

H. B. CoIe& Co. — Manufacturing and Wholesale Confectioners; 
62 South Pennsylvania street.— The l^rm of H. B. Cole & Co., composed 
of H. B. Cole and D. L. Whittier, was organized in 1888, as successors 
to Theo. Moench & Bro., who established the enterprise in 1882. 
Mr. Whittier is proprietor of the Steel Pulley and Machine Works, 
and Mr. Cole gives his personal and undi\~ided attention to the man- 
agement and manufacturing departments of this business. They occupy 
a handsome and prominent location at 62 South Pennsylvania street, 
which they have completely remodeled and refitted, the premises 
consisting of a brick building three stories high and 22x100 feet in 
dimensions, also two floors in the building at 60 Pennsylvania street, 



adjoining,'. Their site is unexceptional, and their premises arc furnished 
with machinery and appliances, for the manufacture of the lines of 
goods in which they deal, operated by steam. They embrace all 
descriptions of candy from penny goods, which the firm make specially 
for their extensive and growing trade in that feature of confections, 
to the choicer varieties of cream, stick and bar candies, French bon- 
bons, motto candy, sugared fruits, etc., in great profusion. The house 
enjoys a reputation for the purity of its products and the substantial 
and desirable manner in which they are furnished to dealers and 
customers. Nothing is lacking to complete the requirements of a 
business demanding such constant attention and careful manage- 
ment. They employ a large force of competent confectioners, in 
addition to a full staff of clerks and salesmen, and a number of 
travelers, who are kept continually upon the road. Their trade is 
throughout Indiana and the States adjoining. 

Victory Buggy Co. — F. M. Simmonds, Proprietor; Whole- 
sale and Retail Carriages, Buggies, Etc.; 174 and 176 South New 
Jersey street. — The Victory Buggy Company, owned and managed 
by F. M. Simmonds, was established here during 1881. He is located 
as above, where his works, display and salesrooms, office, etc., occupy 
a commodious two-story building, 50 feet front on South New Jersey 
street and 100 feet deep, containing all necessary machinery and 
labor-saving devices distributed throughout the blacksmith, painting 
and finishing shops for the promotion of production and making 
the concern a model of its kind in all respects. The aim of the 
company is to furnish a better and finer class of work for the 
same price than can be offered by any similar undertaking in the 
country, and nothing that will even remotely aid in the realization 
of such determination, is either neglected or omitted. Their line of 
work embraces carriages, buggies, phaetons, and spring wagons 
principally, in which the best materials and workmanship and the 
most superior finish only are employed. The .materials are selected 
with great care, being purchased direct from manufacturers for cash, 
and the most experienced mechanics are enlisted in the service, 
thereby enabling the company to guarantee the durable wear of 
their vehicles for one year from the date of purchase. If any part of 
same fail within that period, by reason of imperfect material or 
workmanship, they agree to make the necessary repairs without 
charge. They also make a specialty of leather and rubber buggy 
tops, cloth or leather back rubber curtains, extra seats, cushions, 
shafts, poles, neck-yokes, etc., at prices as low as are consistent with 
good workmanship and materials. They employ from thirty-five to 
forty hands, doing a large and growing trade in the city and State, 
also in Ohio, Illinois, etc. 

Lilly Varnish Co.— Charles Lilly, President; Shelby Compton, 
Vice-President; Fred. Revely, Secretary; John M. Lilly, Treasurer; 
Manufacturers of Fine Varnishes; Rose street. — This prominent manu- 
facturing concern was established in 1865 by the firm of Mears & 
Lilly, shortly afterward becoming J. O. D. Lilly & Sons, under which 
latter style the business was conducted until the incorporation in 1888 

of the present com- 
pany. The works, 
which have a com- 
plete equipment of 
all the most improved 
appliances for the 
prosecution of the 
business, occupy a 
brick building, for 
warerooms and office, 
100x30 feet, and a brick factory building, 40x60 feet in dimensions, 
where a full force of hands is employed in the manufacture of 
railroad and carriage varnishes, japans, etc. The trade of the com- 
pany extends to all parts of the country, but is especially large in the 
States of Indiana, Ohio, Illinois and Michigan, and a considerable 
portion of their business is with railroad companies. The products of 
the company enjoy a deservedly high reputation for their superior 
quality, and this excellence steadily maintained has been the most 

prominent factor in building up the trade of the company to its 
present gratifying proportions. The house is represented on the road 
by seven competent and experienced traveling salesmen, and has 
commended itself to favor by the promptness and accuracy with 
which orders are filled, and the uniform fairness and reliability which 
characterize all its transactions. 

George W. Kiiiinger — Manufacturer of Bar Fixtures, Store 
and Office Furniture; Office, 40 West Market street. — This business 
was established by Mr. Kiiiinger about eight years ago, and has since 
been carried on by him with marked success and a steady and annual 
increase in the volume of his trade. His general workshop is 
located at the corner of Missouri and Court streets and his finishing 
warerooms at the corner of Mississippi and Potomac streets, the 
former being 20x100 and the latter 50x60 feet in dimensions. These 
premises are fitted up with all the conveniences and accessories 
necessary for the efficient prosecution of the business, and employment 
is given to a force ranging from fifteen to twenty highly skilled work- 
men. Mr. Kiiiinger makes a specialty of designing, finishing and fitting 
up the interior woodwork for bars, banks, offices and stores, and his 
excellent work has earned for him a large patronage in the city and 
surrounding country. Much of the finest work in this line to be 
found in the city is the result of Mr. Killinger's skill and good taste, 
among other recent jobs executed by him being the fitting up of 
seven fine restaurants for Mr. W. G. Sherman; fine bars for Gottlieb 
Wachstetter, J. Christian, Stephen Mattler, and many other promi- 
nent ones. Mr. Kiiiinger also imports the finest French mirror plate 
and manufactures artistic mirror frames, his products in this line 
being of unsurpassed excellence and in large demand. Mr. Kiiiinger 
is a practical and experienced man, and carefully supervises all the 
work of his establishments so as to secure the highest grade of 
workmanship and to give uniform satisfaction to his patrons. He 
fills all orders promptly, and the superior facilities he enjoys enable 
him to do all work in his line at the most reasonable prices. 

S. F. Galloway — Dealer in Raw and Manufactured Furs; 200 
South Pennsylvania street. — A leading and prominent house engaged 
in the collection, sale and shipment of raw furs, is that of S. F. Gallo- 
way, at the above locality, which was established by him in 1875. He 
occupies a three-story and basement building, thirty feet front on 
South Pennsylvania street, and 100 feet deep. The premises are 
adaptively departmented, and well appointed for the carrying on of 
the raw fur business, containing every facility for the display and sale 
of stocks, as also for their storage, preservation and shipment. He 
buys very largely in the markets of supply, as also from trappers 
direct, all descriptions of local furs, principally otter, muskrat, skunk, 
fox, opossum, coon, mink, beaver, etc., which he ships in the raw 
state to the Eastern markets. In the line of manufactured furs tor 
the local trade, he makes a specialty of ladies' seal garments and 
appointments, embracing sacques, muffs, gloves, turbans, boas, muf- 
flers, etc., in seal, sable, mink and other furs, especially appropriate to 
those lines. He also, carries large invoices of fancy rugs for the 
parlor, library and hall-way; also robes in bear, wolf, leopard, fox, 
and other skins in complete variety. His stocks are of the best mate- 
rial, selected with the greatest care, and sold at prices and upon 
terms that have commended him to a large and steadily increasing 
patronage. He does an extensive trade in the city and throughout 
the State in conjunction with the business of shipping, referred to 
above, and will soon open a store in the retail district of the city. 
The house has acquired a wide-spread reputation for its standard 
worth and reliable and honorable character. 

Joseph Haas, V. S. — Manufacturer of Live Stock Remedies; 
56 South Pennsylvania street. — The manufacture of specifics and 
remedial agents generally, for the cure of diseases indigenous to live 
stock, has become an important line of production within the last 
twenty-five years, and a leading industry in that special line is owned 
and managed by Joseph Haas of this city. He began business here 
in 1877, and from small beginnings has built up a trade annually 
amounting to nearly fi 50,000. He occupies a three-story and base- 



ment brick building, 25x100 feet in size, containing the laboratory, 
supplied with all available equipments, office and consultation rooms, 
packing and storage rooms, with shipping and all other necessary 
accommodations. His line of manufacture embraces Haas' Hog and 
Poultry Remedy, and Haas' Alterative, which are specialties, also lung 
fever, colic and epizootic remedies, and fever drops. These are com- 
pounded with care, only the purest and freshest ingredients entering 
into their composition, and they have been critically tested in Amer- 
ica and Europe and found to conform fully to assurances made in 
their behalf. He employs twenty-five hands and eight travelers, in 
addition to a large number of resident agents in Great Britain and 
Continental Europe, from which those countries and Australia, New 
Zealand and South America are supplied, the travelers here supply- 
ing the demand throughout the United States and Canada. His 
trade is very large; all orders being filled here, the depot of distribu- 
tion for the world. Mr. Haas is learned in his profession, a scientist 
and a man of enterprise, whose manufacturing industry has proved a 
gratifying success. 

Indianapolis Basket Factory— Springer & Sperling, Pro- 
prietors; Manufacturers of Baskets and Head Linings; 4S2 East New 
York street. — This firm, of which Messrs. Isaac Springer and E. 
Sperling are the individual members, was formed in January, 1889, 
although both of the members of the firm had previously been promi- 
nently identified with manufacturing interests — Mr. Springer as a 
member, for some years, of the box manufacturing firm of Brunson 
& Springer, and Mr. Sperling as a member of the firm of E. Sperling 
& Co., basket makers. The works occupy a building 100x100 feet in 
dimensions, with a most complete equipment of all the necessary 
machinery and appliances, including a large engine fed by a 4x12 feet 
boiler, large steam vats for cooking^ the logs, which are, by the aid of 
steam-driven veneering machines, shaved into strips out of which 
baskets are made. Employment is given to a force of twenty hands, 
in the manufacture of all kinds of baskets, careful supervision being 
maintained over every detail of the manufacture, and the products of 
the establishment are all well made and of the best quality in every 
respect. Although of recent inauguration the factory has already 
secured a large trade in the city and State and some in Ohio and 
Illinois, and the firm is prepared to fill orders in the most prompt and 
satisfactory manner, railroad tracks at the side of the works giving 
every facility for the receipt of materials and the shipment of 
products. Both of the members are practical business men and by 
their reliable business methods commend themselves to the favo;' 
and confidence of the trade. 

Goth, Coleman & Co. — Manufacturers and Dealers in 
Foreign and Domestic Granite, Marble and Oolitic Limestone 
Monuments; 157 Massachusetts avenue, and 222, 224 and 226 Michi- 
gan street. — This firm, which was formed in 1885, is composed of 
Charles A. Goth, John A. Coleman and John L. Goth, all practical 
and experienced artists in their lines. Their studio, display and work 
rooms occupy premises in the form of an irregular parallelogram 
60 feet deep, with a frontage of 20 feet on Massachusetts avenue, 
and 120 feet on Michigan street, and 50 feet wide at the rear 
limits. They are handsomely appointed and well lighted, furnished 
with all requisite facilities, and contain an elaborate display of their 
works of art. They have in stock marble and granite finished and 
in the rough, and devote their attention principally to the designing 
and building of a high class of granite monuments, of artistic design 
and finished workmanship. The house does a large business in 
granite, and devotes especial attention to that department. They 
also manufacture rustic monuments from our native stone, and give 
especial attention to tablets and carved work of every description, 
also tombs, vaults, sarcophagi, and other enduring memorials of 
imposing and beautiful design and finish. Among the large and 
expensive monuments carved and erected by the firm are the 
Wilkinson Monument at Crown Hill Cemetery, also the Pressly, 
Sullivan, Soehner, and other monuments, at the same place of sepul- 
ture; the Simmons family tomb at Greenfield, "this State, and similar 
work of the same elaborate character elsewhere throughout this and 

other States. The firm enjoys a large trade in Kentuckv, and the 
Ware and other monuments at Shelbyville are specimens of their 
production. They employ a large, experienced and competent staff 
of assistants, and the reputation of the house for finished workman- 
ship and tasteful and elegant designs is unexcelled. Their prices 
and terms are reasonable and liberal, and they do a steadily increas- 
ing business in the city, and rapidly extending and becoming 
established among patrons of art and the public in all portions of 
this and other States. 

L. T, F. Zaiser — General Engraver and Designer of Seals, 
Rubber Stamps, Stencils, Etc.; Rooms I and 2, 27 and 29 South 
Meridian street. — The business conducted and owned by L. T. F. 
Zaiser, engraver and designer, was established in 1881. He repre- 
sents an important and valuable industry, and the products of his 

manufacture are among 
the best to be obtained 
in his special line. The 
house, which is the fore- 
most of its kind in Indi- 
anapolis, occupies 
rooms I and 2, 27 and 
29 South Meridian 
street, furnished with 
commodious show win- 
dows for the display of 
goods, and equipped 
with all necessary ma- 
chinery and appliances 
of the most approved 

pattern and manufacture, together with other 
facilities and appointments for the sale and 
shipment of supplies. He is a designer, 
engraver, and die-sinker; also manufacturing 
steel and rubber stamps, stencils, seals, novel- 
ties, etc., and deals very extensively in 'society 
and political regalias, badges, buttons and campaign goods generally. 
His manufactured articles, and all goods carried by him, are of the 

very best materials — elegant, original, 
and characterized by superior work- 
manship, while the prices at which 
they can be purchased by dealers and 
patrons are inducements exceptional 
and unrivalled. His trade is large and 
constantly increasing, heavy sales being 
made through agents and commercial 
travelers in all parts of the country, 
as also by the house, which issues illus- 
trated catalogues, circulars, and other agencies for the advertisement 
of his lines of production, in addition to the employment of a force 
of competent assistants. Mr. Zaiser directs the operations of his 
establishment personally, and has fostered an enterprise that annually 
increase-js in importance and prosperity. 

Evans Linseed Oil Co. — Manufacturers of Raw and Boiled 
Linseed Oil; Office, 23 ^'ance block. — This, the only enterprise of its 
kind in Indianapolis, was founded by I. P. Evans & Co. in 1864. Up 
to 1887 the enterprise was conducted as a private undertaking, but in 
that year was duly incorporated with Joseph R. Evans, President, 
and William R. Evans, Secretary and Treasurer. Both gentlemen 
were members of the original firm, and besides having enjoyed a 
long experience, are familiar with the wants of the trade. The mills 



formerly located on South Delaware street were destroyed by fire in 
Uecemljer, 1885, but rebuilt without delay at their present site. The 
premises, which are owned by the company, arc occupied with three 
buildings, severally 75 feet square, 80x60 feet, and 40x75 feet in 
dimensions, equipped with all requisite machinery and appliances. 
Their range of production embraces raw and boiled linseed oil and 
oil cake and meal. The oil is extracted both by pressure and chemi- 
cal processes, preserving its purity and strength unimpaired, and 
when placed in stock, is unsurpassed for the uses to which it is 
designed. The same is true of their oil cake and meal, which are in 
constant demand for feeding stock and cattle. They employ a force 
of from twenty-live to thirty hands, and meet the demands of an 
extensive trade throughout Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Kentucky, etc. 
They have unexcelled facilities for the prompt execution of orders at 
low prices and upon liberal terms. 

President; W. II. Perkins as its Vice-President and Secretary; M. A. 
Potter, Treasurer, and G. W. Atkins, Superintendent of the works. 
The works occupy the square of ground bounded by Illinois, Eddy and 
South streets, nearly the entire area of which is occupied by the plant, 
embracing the factory and warehouse, 102x120 feet in dimensions, the 
tempering and finishing departments, also the office and salesroomsi 
which occupy a three-story building, 160x195 feet, with additional 
storage accommodations located in premises 119x210 feet in dimen- 
sions. The works are thoroughly equipped with machinery and 
appliances, unsurp.asscd in extent or variety, and in many instances the 
invention of E. C. Atkins, for the manufacture of the specialties of the 
company. Their specialty is the "Atkins' Celebrated Silver Steel Hand 
Saw," and their range of production includes, in addition, circular, 
gang, drag and cross-cut saws, band saw mill specialties, saw mill sup- 
plies, such as gummcrs, sharpeners, swages, filers, indicators, gauges. 


Atlas Engine Works— Manufacturers of Steam Engines 
and Boilers; Ninth street and Martindale avenue. — This corporation 
was organized in 1878. The plant consists of a large block of brick 
buildings, completely equipped for the business. There are also large 
sheds, storehouses, yards, etc., all covering thirty acres. Natural gas 
is used as fuel, with the most beneficial results in economy and 
efficiency. Employment is given to a force ranging from 500 to 600 
hands in the manufacture of steam engines and boilers in numerous 
varieties. The extent of the business may be estimated from the fact 
that in 188S they sold over 1,000 complete engine and boiler outfits. 

E. C. Atkins & Co. — Manufacturers of the Celebrated Silver 
Steel Band Saws; Office and Warerooms, 202 to 216 South Illinois 
street. — In 1857, E. C. Atkins, President of E. C. Atkins & Co., began, 
upon a small scale, the manufacture of saws, and gave birth to a 
manufacturing industry that thirty years later occupies the foremost 
petition in its lines in the United States, if not in the world. The 
present company was incorporated in 1885, with Mr. Atkins as its 

perfection and excelsior saw tools, and other devices and implements 
required by the trade. Their saws are made from the finest selected 
steel, tempered by natural gas, according to the best known methods 
and by workmen skilled and experienced. They employ from 250 to 
275 hands, in addition to eight traveling salesmen, and supply a very 
large and steadily increasing trade on the Pacific coast, the Northern 
and Northwestern States, the South and Southwest, the latter sections 
being furnished from the branch house of the company at Memphis, 
Tenn. They fill orders promptly and satisfactorily, and their low 
prices, liberal terms and honorable dealings have given to the company 
and its individual members an unsurpassed reputation. Catalogues, 
prices, etc., are furnished upon application. 

Indianapolis Art Stained Glass Works John Black, 

Proprietor; 151.; Massachusetts avenue. Mr. John Black is a native of 
Glasgow, Scotland, where he served a thorough apprenticeship, and 
is entirely familiar with the art stained glass business. Locating in 
Indianapolis during 1886, he embarked in his present enterprise in a 



small way, and has since devoted his time and talent to its develop- 
ment and promotion, often working sixteen hours a day among the 
large jobs that have been entrusted to his successful direction. He 
occupies a two-story and basement building, 25x90 feet, and is 
about adding a beveling department to his already completely 
appointed undertaking. The premises are equipped with all neces- 
sary machinery and appliances, including four beveling machines, 
driven by steam. His specialties are private house decoration and 
ecclesiastical work, to the execution of which, in the most elaborate 
and artistic manner, his most earnest efforts are directed. Among 
the many productions of his skill are the memorial and illustrative 
windows of the First and Seventh Presbyterian churches of this city, 
the windows of the Soldiers' Orphans' Home at Knightstown, this 
State, of the German Reformed church at Lima, O., also of churches at 
Marion, Logansport and other cities of Indiana and adjoining States, 
in addition to the decoration of residences here and elsewhere. He 
manufactures and carries in stock heavy and full lines of decorative 
glass and is prepared to formulate plans and furnish estimates and 
prices on the shortest notice and in the most satisfactory manner. 
He employs from six to eight experienced assistants and has built up 
a large business in the city and State, as also in Illinois, Ohio, and in 
other western and northwestern States. 

Indianapolis Varnish Co.— Ebner, Aldag & Co., Proprie- 
tors; Manufacturers of Varnishes; Ohio and Pine streets. — This firm, 
which began business in 1870, is composed of Messrs. John Ebner, 
Charles Aldag and August Aldag. From the inception of their busi- 
ness to the present time, they have based their claims to success 
upon maintaining the quality of their product at the highest standard 
of excellence, and their business has steadily grown until the demand 
for their products covers the entire Union. The works of the firm, 
eligibly located on Ohio and Pine streets, embrace a number of brick 
buildings covering half a square of ground, and are equipped with 
every accessory and appliance calculated to add to the effectiveness 
of the manufacture, including 180 tanks, each of 50Q gallons capacity. 
A force of twenty hands is employed at the works, while a staff of active 
and competent traveling salesmen represent the firm to the trade. The 
product of the works includes cabinet makers' and coach varnishes, 
double elastic coach varnish, piano polish and varnish of all kinds, a 
leading specialty being made of their substitute shellac, which is a 
reliable first coating and quick oil finish, and undoubtedly the best 
shellac substitute offered to the trade. The affairs of the firm are 
ably managed and conducted, and its dealings with the trade are 
characterized by uniform fairness and reliability. The firm is not 
surpassed by any in the country in the quality of its product or the 
promptness and accuracy with which orders are filled. 

The Incandescent Light Co.— Manufacturers of the Wels- 
bach Incandescent Burner; 31 North Illinois street. — The Welsbach 
Incandescent Burner was invented by Carl Auer von Welsbach, a 
savant of Vienna, and consists of a modified but very perfect form of 
the Bunsen burner, the heat from which brings to incandesence a 
hood or mantle, made by knitting fine cotton thread into a cylinder 
two inches in diameter by five inches long. This is dipped into 
nitrates until completely saturated, after which it is subjected to an 
intense heat, whereby the cotton fibre is consumed, leaving a skeleton 
of the oxides, perfectly retaining the texture of the woven fabric 
mentioned above, and forming an extremely fine but coherent and 
refractory power, capable of covering, in a practical way, a very 
considerable surface. The burner consumes both natural and artificial 
gas, produces double the amount of light given by ordinary burners, 
and is so steady as to render it the perfection of light for readmg or 
fine work by night, producing perfect combustion, without imparting 
heat or smoke and with but little vitiation of the air of the room. No 
change is required in brackets or chandeliers by its substitution, and 
its indestructibility, economy and superior service over all other 
burners, is rapidly bringing it into almost general adoption. The 
present company was organized after a thorough investigation of its 
merits, and owns the controlling rights for its introduction and substi- 
tution throughout Marion County, secured from the parent house at 

Philadelphia. The officers, H. Jameson, M. D., President; J. B. Man- 
sur. Treasurer, and W. De M. Hooper, Secretary, are well known 
citizens. Dr. Jameson being President also of the Board of School 
Commissioners, Mr. Mansur is a prominent capitalist, and Mr. Hooper 
is late Superintendent of the Public Library, all gentlemen whose 
names are guarantees of the value and importance of the undertaking. 
They occupy a fine suite of offices, 25x80 feet in dimensions, on the 
main floor of the Young Men's Christian Association building, and 
give employment to six assistants. Burners will be put in promptly, 
upon application, at a uniform cost of S2.50 each, and on payments, to 
responsible parties, at $3 each. Mantles, which will last about 1,000 
hours of ordinary use, are renewed for sixty cents each. The company 
has met with a very flattering success in the city and county, where a 
steadily increasing business is being conducted. 

J. M. Huffer— Manufacturer and Dealer in Harness, Saddles, 
Etc.; 109 East Washington street. — Mr. J. M. Huffer began operations 
in this line of business as far back as 1862, and for more than a quarter 
of a century has been recognized as a valuable exponent of the indus- 
try in which he is engaged. He is advantageously and accessibly 
located at one of the most desirable points in the city's retail trade dis- 
trict, where he occupies a two-story and basement building, 20x100 feet 
in dimensions. The premises are aptly appointed and furnished, 
provided with all requisite conveniences and appliances and equipped 
with the necessary facilities for the manufacture, display, sale and 
shipment of products annually distributed throughout a considerable 
area of territory in which the trade of the house is located. Mr. 
Huffer's specialty is fine harness to order, in which he is unsurpassed, 
making an article the superiority of which is acknowledged. He 
carries large stocks of light and heavy harness of his own make, also 
saddles, bridles, collars, robes, horse clothing and equipments, turf 
goods generally and stable sundries. He also does repairing exten- 
sively and warrants all work completed in his establishment. He is 
amply prepared to ship orders to any point in the State or elsewhere, 
and his prices and terms, considering the quality of the goods, are 
low and reasonable. He does a large regular trade in the city and 
surrounding country, besides responding to requisitions made upon 
his stocks and services from patrons at a distance. 

Peter Routier — Contractor and Builder, and Proprietor of the 
Capital City Planing Mill; 317 to 327 Massachusetts avenue. — Mr. 
Peter Routier, who established himself in business in i860, has since 
conducted it with continuous success, having earned the favor and 
confidence of the people of the city by the prompt and faithful execu- 
tion of all his contracts and by the uniformly superior character of all 
works turned out under his supervision. He is the oldest established 
and most extensive builder in Indianapolis, and was the builder of 
fully half of the best and finest structures in the city. Included among 
his productions may be enumerated the woodwork on the State House, 
the new Union Depot, the City Hospital, the Indianapolis High School, 
the Public Library, the Grand Opera House, English's Hotel and 
Opera House, the Pan Handle Railroad Car Shops, the Grand Hotel, 
the IDenison House, the Thorpe block, the Conduit block, the Boston 
block, the Nippenberg block, the Claypool and Talbott blocks, and 
many other public and business structures, as well as hundreds of 
fine residences, stores, churches, etc. Mr. Routier is also the proprietor 
of the Capital City Planing Mill, occupying a four-story brick structure, 
loox 100 feet in dimensions, and an irregularly shaped two-story building 
adjoining, covering about as large an area. In addition to these there 
are large storage sheds, lumber yards, etc., running back to the railroad 
tracks — the entire premises covering about a block of ground. The 
mill equipment includes a loo-horse power engine, fed by two large 
boilers, the largest planing machines in the city, and a complete outfit 
of all the most improved machinery, tools and appliances adapted to 
the business. The product of the mill in dressed lumber, window 
and door frames, sash, doors, blinds, etc., is for the greater part 
utilized in the building of the structures contracted for by Mr. Routier, 
although outside orders are also filled, and all kinds of mill work are 
done to order. In the mill, employment is given to a force ranging 
from forty to fifty hands, while in outside building work, from 150 to 



250 workmen arc employed, accordinj; to the season. Mr. Routicr 
personally supervises all the l)uilding operations imdcrtaken by 
him, while the management of the mill is entrusted to his son, Mr. 
Edward Routier. The last named gentleman is practically conversant 
with the business in all its branches, and has himself lately embarked 
successfully in contracting for residence buildings on his own account. 
Both of the Messrs. Routier are capable business men, and are prompt 
and reliable in every transaction and justly popular and successful. 

Victor Foundry and Machine Works — Ewald Over, 
Proprietor; Manufacturer of Agricultural Implements, Iron Fences, 
Castings, Etc.; 240 to 246 South Pennsylvania street. — This important 
manufacturing enterprise was established eighteen years ago, and has 
been owned since 1877 by Mr. Ewald Over, who has carried it on with 
marked success, and has secured for his products a deservedly high 
reputation for uniform merit. The works embrace a two-story and 
basement brick building, 100x40 feet in dimensions, in which are 
located the machine shop, finishing shop, etc., and a completely 
cciuipped foundry in the rear, 50x100 feet, with an L 40x50 feet. The 
works are fitted up with all the most improved tools and machinery 
adapted to the requirements of the business, and employment is given 

interests in Indianapolis, those consummated by E. H. Eldridge & 
Co. are pre-eminent. The firm, which is composed of E. H. Eldridge 
and George O. Eldridge, was organized during the year 1878, and has 
always been leading, influential and successful with dealers and the 
trade throughout the State. They carry heavy stocks of all qualities 
and descriptions of lumber, rough and finished, soft and hard, also 
including in their supplies, shingles, sash, doors, blinds and other 
lumber products. They are located at the northwest corner of 
Alabama and Maryland streets, one block south of the Court House, 
the premises occupied having a frontage of 150 feet on each street, 
and extending to South street, where an additional area, half a block 
in extent, is used as piling grounds for hardwood and pine lumber in 
the rough. The premises also contain commodious sheds for the 
protection and storage of finished lumber, and adjoin railroad tracks 
leading to the main lines of railways, diverging from the city in all 
directions, and affording unsurpassed facilities for shipping to any 
portion of the surrounding country. They are abundantly provided 
\yith conveniences and equipments to fill all orders promptly, and at 
prices the lowest upon the market. They employ a force of twenty 
hands, and their annual business aggregates sales of 5,000,000 feet of 
lumber, 6,000,000 shingles, and large consignments of sash, doors and 
blinds; the lumber in the city and vicinity and 
the lumber products to jobbers all over the 
State. The members of the firm are natives 
of Massachusetts. They moved to Chicago 
early in the seventies, thence to Indianapolis, 
where they have since resided and been 
identified with the growth and prosperity of 
the city, to which they have substantially 
contributed. They are members of the Board 
of Trade, enterprising, public spirited citizens, 
and have a large trade_that is continually 
augmenting and expanding. 

' '"'""™'l''l"m»imuu!y5JigmmB 


to a force ranging from thirty to forty skilled workmen. The pro- 
ducts of the works are numerous and varied, embracing a large 
number of improved agricultural implements, general castings, iron 
and barb-wire fences, road making machinery, etc. Among the 
specialties embraced in the manufacture may be named: Eureka 
Steam. Cookers, Water Filters, Burton's Road Plows, Graders and 
Ditchers, Sawyer's Road Machines, Howland's Road Machines, 
Victor One-Horse Grain Drills, Preston's Binder Trucks, Cider 
Presses, Victor and Smoothing Harrows, Carter's Automatic Gates, 
Eagle Wagon Bolster Springs, Over's Patent Fence Posts, as well as 
farm bells, iron fences, and other castings. For many of these special 
productions the demand covers the entire Union, and includes ship- 
ments to Australia, Canada and England, while in the entire line a 
large trade is enjoyed, covering the States of Indiana, Ohio, Illinois 
and Kentucky. Mr. Ewald Over, the proprietor of th£ works, has 
had a long and practical experience in this department of industry, 
and has, by his close supervision of every detail of the business, and 
promptness and accuracy in filling orders, secured for his enterprise a 
prominent place among the leading manufacturing establishments in 
this line of production. 

E, H. Eldridge & Co. — Lumber, Shingles, Sash, Doors and 
Blinds; northwest corner of Alabama and Maryland streets. — Among 
the largest and most important operations connected with the lumber 

Geo. A. Richards Dealer in Natural 
Gas Supplies; 77 South Illinois street. Tele- 
phone No. 364. — George A. Richards, after a 
long experience in the handling of natural 
gas supplies throughout the oil districts of 
Pennsylvania and elsewhere, removed to 
Indianapolis early in 1888, and engaged in 
the same line of business here. The results . 
of his enterprise have more than exceeded 
anticipations, a large and steadily increasing 

trade having responded to his efforts. His 

location is desirable and adaptive, being at a 

prominent site on one of the leading avenues of trade, easy of access 
and convenient in all respects. He occupies premises consisting of 
the main floor and basement, each 20x120 feet in size, with ample 
accommodations for the display and storage of stocks, and provided 
with every facility for their display, sale and shipment. He carries 
full lines of natural gas supplies, tubing, casing and pipe, rig irons, 
drilling tools and cordage, brass goods and fittings, also plumbers', 
steam and gas-fitters' tools and implements, materials, supplies and 
sundries, which he deals in at wholesale and at wholesale prices. 
They are the products of the leading foundries and machine shops in 
that line of manufacture, of the best qualities of material, and unsur- 
passed for the service to which they are designed. He is prepared to 
respond promptly to all orders submitted for his acceptance either by 
mail, telephone or in person, and contractors and customers will find 
large and varied lines of suppUes from which to make selections at low 
prices and upon terms of the most liberal character. His trade is 
largely local, and his house has also established a high reputation for 
its reliability and honorable management. 

Smith & Plough— Sanitary Plumbers, Steam and Gas-fitters; 
106 Massachusetts avenue, and 215 North Alabama street. — The firm 
of .Smith & Plough, which began busmess in November, 1888, is 
composed of H. M. Smith, formerly foreinan with C. W. Meikel, and 
H. W. Plough. The senior partner gives his personal attention to 



sanitary plumbing-, while Mr. Plough, who has had ten years' expe- 
rience in all the departments of the business, devotes his personal 
attention to gas-fitting in all its branches. They occupy the main 
floor and basement, each 20x60 feet in dimensions, located as above, 
and are fully equipped and provided with every facility for a prompt 
and satisfactory service of the trade in all its varied requirements. 
Their specialty is the piping of houses, halls, hotels, manufacturing 
and other buildings, for the introduction or substitution of natural gas, 
and their long experience, perfect knowledge of the art, and first-class 
workmanship in this particular line makes them invaluable for those 
who demand efficient and durable service. In the lines of plumbing, 
steam and gas-fitting, they are equally well prepared to do first-class 
work only, and though engaged in the business on their own account 
but a comparatively short time, are in constant requisition for jobs 
requiring skill, science and mechanical ability for their successful 
conduct and satisfactory cflmpletion. They carry full supplies of 
piping, fixtures, materials, etc., requisite to every branch of the 
business, and are not only prepared to fill orders with the least delay 
and at the lowest prices, but to give their personal supervision to the 
same, from their inception to their conclusion. Individually, the 
members of the firm are enterprising and progressive business men, 
employing from ten to fifteen assistants, and doing a trade in the city 
and vicinity which is increasing daily. 

Sander & Recker — Manufacturers and Dealers in Furni- 
ture; 103, 105 and 107 East Washington street. — The furniture 
establishment of Sander & Recker is old and widely known to the 
furniture trade, as a depot for the ready procurement of every article 
in the way of furniture supplies, at the most reasonable rates. The 
firm, which is made up of Theo. Sander and Gottfried Recker, was 
organized in 1868, and succeeded to the plant and business of the 
Western Furniture Company. Their operations have been large, 
and their management of the business has directed the most 
substantial rewards to their acceptance. They are most eligibly 
located, occupying a three-story and basement brick building with a 
frontage of 66 feet and a depth of go feet, including in such dimen- 
sions three stores in one, well fitted up and departmented, equipped 
with every facility and convenience for an adequate display of their 
lines of manufacture, and the transaction of business operations. 
They make specialties of bank, office and saloon furniture, filling 
orders from leading cities in the State for such articles, and exten- 
sively engage in the manufacture of parlor suites to orddr, also of 
the general lines of furniture adapted to a large and diversified 
demand. They have unexceptional facilities for turning out first-class 
work, owning, in addition to their Washington street factory, a 
controlling interest in the factory of Hubert Recker & Co. at 209-211 
East Washington street, and are prepared to execute orders promptly. 
They employ thirty skilled operatives, and do a large trade in the 
city and State. Messrs. Sander and Recker are natives of Germany, 
the former coming to Indianapolis in 1864, while Mr. Recker has 
resided here for thirty-four years. Both are leading citizens and mer- 
chants, and enjoy the esteem and confidence of the pubhc, as also of 
the trade to which they minister. 

Dewald & Gall — Plumbing and Gas-fitting; 9 Massachusetts 
avenue, Wyandot block. — The plumbing establishment of Dewald & 
Gall, though started less than two years ago, not only does a large 
local business, but is steadily extending its field of operations in 
response to the demands of a steadily increasing trade. The firm is 
composed of M. Dewald and Peter J. Gall, and was organized in 1887. 
They occupy a neatly appointed store, 20x50 feet in dimensions, 
with a very compact workshop in the basement. The premises are 
equipped with all necessary tools and implements for their lines of 
work, and provided with requisite facilities and equipments for 
the display of goods and the transaction of business. Their specialties 
are the piping of houses for the introduction of natural gas; also 
sanitary plumbing, gas-fitting and steam-heating work. They are 
agents for the Archer-Pancoast Manufacturing Company, furnished 
the gas fixtures for the State House and other large contracts, and 
are prepared to make estimates and undertake contracts in their lines 

of endeavor; and employing only the most skillful and experienced 
workmen and the best materials', besides personally superintending 
operations, guarantee all work done under their direction. They 
carry large and varied stocks of gas fixtures, natural gas fittings and 
supplies, plumbers' materials and sundries, with other articles adapted 
to their work and trade, of the best qualities and every description, 
and their prices and terms are low and liberal. They employ from 
ten to twenty-five men as the demands of the business require, and a 
large and increasing trade in the city and vicinity is ministered to 
and supplied. 

J. S. Farrell & Co.— Constructors of Sanitary Plumbing, 
Steam and Hot Water Heating Appliances; 84 North Illinois street. 
— Mr. J. S. Farrell has enjoyed a wide experience in sanitary plumbing, 
steam and hot water heating covering a period of over a quarter of a 

century, during all of which he 
has been practically engaged in 
that department of scientific devel- 
opment. The present house was 
established by Mr. Farrell in 1873, 
and is one of the leading and rep- 
resentative concerns of its kind in 
this city. They occupy a two- 
story and basement building, 
25x100 feet in dimensions, divided 
into display and office depart- 
ments, also containing a well 
arranged and fully equipped 
workshop provided with all neces- 
sary facilities and appliances for 
the rapid and successful produc- 
tion of their varied output. Their 
specialties are sanitary plumbing, 
steam and hot water heating and 
natural gas piping, according to 
the most approved and correct systems. Their line of manufacture 
includes steam and hot water heating apparatus, of low and high 

pressure, direct and indi- , 

rect radiation, for warming 
stores, offices, public build- 
ings, private residences and 
green houses, being also 
agents for Duplex and other 
steam heating boilers, the 
National hot water heater, 
"Cole" patent syphon pump, 
Gaskill's patent water lifter 
or motor, etc., and dealers 
in iron and lead pipe,steam, 
sanitary and hydraulic ap- 
pliances, and p 1 u m b e r s' 
supplies and sundries gen- 
erally. Among the firms now using their appliances in this city are: 
Murphy, Hibben & Co., Pearson & Wetzel, H. Lieber & Co., Ernest 
L. Hassold, W. L. Elder, Willis G. Sherman and others, being also in 
use in the State Capitol, Masonic building. State Reformatory for 
Women and Girls, Indiana Insane Asylum, Henry Smith's block, etc., 
all of which are located in Indianapolis; the Indiana State University 
at Bloomington, Green and Delaware County Court Houses at Bloom- 
field and Muncie, this State, Montgomery County (Ind.) Poor Farm, 
McLean County Jail and Sheriff's Residence at Bloomington, III., and 
in public and private buildings throughout the West, in all of which 
the workmanship is pronounced to be unsurpassed and the materials 
of a superior quality. They employ from twenty-five to fifty skilled 
and experienced assistants and do a large and rapidly increasing 
business throughout the city and State in all directions. 

H. Techentin & Co. — Manufacturers and Dealers in Harness, 
Etc.; 22 South Meridian street. — This house was established in 1881 by 
Henry Techentin, as successor to H. C. Schultz. The firm carry large 



stocks of tlicir own inamifacturc, in addition to full lines of imported 
and domestic goods, and do a large high-class trade. They occupy 
a three-story and basement building, 20x80 feet in dimensions, admir- 
ably arranged and provided with all requisite facilities and appliances 
for the manufacture of their finished products. Their specialties are 
the highest class of coach and carriage harness, made in the latest 
styles, superbly mounted and adapted to any service, for prices rang- 
ing from $100 to 5250 per set. They also excel in light buggy and 
trotting harness, and manufacture saddles, bridles, lines, traces, hitch- 
ing straps, etc., in great variety, also carrying choice selections of 
blankets, rugs, horse equipments and stable sundries. Their long 
experience in the business and complete facilities enable them to fill 
orders promptly and satisfactorily. They employ from five to ten 
experienced operatives, and meet the demands of their large whole- 
sale and retail trade in the city and throughout the surrounding 
country. Superior workmanship and honorable enterprise characterize 
the management and operations of the firm. 

Donnan & Off— Dealers in Stoves, Ranges, Etc.; iiq East 
Washington street. — The well-known and popular house of Donnan 
& Off, a firm composed of Wallace Donnan and Christian Off, was estab- 
lished in 1875, by Donnan & Wiggins, continuing until 1882, when Mr. 
Ofif purchased the Wiggins interest and the present firm was organized. 
They occupy a three-story and basement building, 25x120 feet in size, 
well appointed for the display of goods, and with every convenience, 
including improved telephone service for the purposes of the business. 
They carry large stocks and full lines of heating and cooking stoves 
and ranges, also Dangler Vapor Stoves and appurtenances, in addition 
to tin and copper ware, including tin roofing and spouting. They are 
agents for Walter's patent tin shingle, and handle the latest improved 
and best manufacture of natural gas supplies, being also prepared to 
furnish estimates for piping houses for the introduction of natural 
gas. Their articles are the products of the best foundries and manufac- 
tories, of standard qualities of material, and equipped with the most 
recent improvements and attachments. Orders receive prompt atten- 
tion, and all work done under their direction is of a superior character 
and entirely satisfactory. A force of from ten to fifteen hands is 
employed, and they respond to the demands of a large trade in the 
city and throughout the surrounding country. 

G. W. Hill & Co. — Manufacturers and Dealers in Regalia and 
Lodge Goods; 28,'^ South Illinois street. — The extensive and widely 
known house of G. W. Hill & Co., engaged in the manufacture of 
Odd Fellows and other society regalia, was established here by Mr. 
Hill, in 1872. They are accessibly located in the center of business, 
occupying the first floor over Roll's carpet store, premises 40x100 feet 
in dimensions, divided into display and manufacturing departments, 
each well appointed and provided with all requisite facilities and appli- 
ances for the promotion of the objects to which they are severally 
appropriated. His lines of production embrace special regalia and 
society equipments and furnishings to order, of the best qualities of 
material and to designs original and attractive. He also carries large 
stocks of Odd Fellows, Masonic, Knights Teinplar, Knights of 
Pythias, Forester, Patriotic Sons of America, Workingmen, Hibernia, 
and other society regalias, banners and jewels, lodge paraphernalia, 
etc., with full lines of materials and trimmings for their manufacture. 
His supplies include every article known to the craft or handled by 
any similar concern in the world, and he is prepared to furnish socie- 
ties, equip lodge rooms, etc., with complete outfits upon the shortest 
notice, and at the lowest prices compatible with the unsurpassed 
qualities of his stocks and products. He employs from five to ten 
experienced assistants, and does a large trade in the city and State, 
besides filling orders from all parts of the United States. 

Irvin Bobbins & Co. — Manufacturers of Fine Carriages; 32 
East Georgia street. — The firm of Irvin Robbins & Co., made up of 
Irvin Robbins and S. A. Robbins, was organized in 1881, as successor 
to the Shaw Carriage Company, the latter having been established 
during 1874, and of which Irvin Robbins was Treasurer. They enjoy 
a merited reputation for reliability and superior workmanship 

throughout the Northwest. They occupy four-story premises for 
manufacturing and ofticc purposes, having a frontage of 65 feet by a 
depth of 100 feet, fitted up with every convenience and equipped 
with all the latest improved machinery and auxiliaries, for first-class 
production at the least cost of time and labor. Their range of 
manufacture — which is largely to order— embraces only high class 
work, in demand by a trade requiring grades of that character, and 
includes every description of vehicle, such as broughams, rockaways, 
phaetons, surreys, victorias, dog-carts, buggies of every design and 
model, and hearses, the latter to order. They keep full lines of their 
specialties on hand, and are prepared to fill orders at the shortest 
notice. They also do a fine line of work in repairing, repainting, etc., 
and direct operations in that department with the skill, taste and 
finish apparent throughout the entire establishment. They employ 
a force of forty competent operatives and do a large trade, locally 
and within a considerable radius of Indianapolis. 

Thos. E. Potter — Manufacturer of Straw Goods; 26 and 28 
South Tennessee street. — One of the largest industries in the line of 
manufacturing straw goods for the wholesale and jobbing trade in 
Indianapolis, is owned and operated by Thos. E. Potter. He has had 
a long experience in the business, having been similarly engaged in 
Philadelphia for fifteen years, prior to July, 1888, when he removed to 
this city and organized his present undertaking. He occupies a three- 
story and basement building, 50x150 feet, and admirably appointed 
and departmented. The premises are divided into display, stock and 
work rooms, well equipped with facilities for the manufacture and 
sale of his products, and for their storage and shipment. His speci- 
alties are straw hats, bonnets and children's straw goods in great variety, 
and his efforts are directed to making their manufacture the leading in 
their lines in the West. The materials used are the best obtainable in 
the foreign and domestic markets of supply; the workmen employed 
are skilled and experienced in their art, and the products always in 
the latest styles and designs, and of the most superior workmanship. 
Mr. Potter is prepared to fill orders of any magnitude upon the 
shortest notice and at the lowest prices consistent with first-class 
materials and work. Twenty-five sewing machines and all requisite 
straw working appliances are constantly in operation, which, with the 
services of from fifty to sixty hands, are required to supply the 
demands of the trade he has built up among the wholesale and job- 
bing houses of the city and State. He is a man of enterprise and 
familiar with the requirements of the business, and his house has 
acquired a well-merited reputation for liberality snd honorable 
methods of management. 

Wright & Wright — Manufacturers and Dealers in Engines, 
Boilers, Etc.; 113 to 125 South Tennessee street. — The establishment 
of Wright & Wright, which is prominent among the manufacturing 
industries of Indianapolis, was founded in 1881 by Hadley, Wiight & 
Co., to which the present firm, consisting of H. C. Wright and M. P. 
Wright, succeeded during 1888. They are located one square west of 
the Union Depot, where they occupy a three-story and basement 
building, 120x60 feet, with large boiler shops and storage accommoda- 
tions in the rear. The main building is devoted to the machine shop, 
and is completely equipped with extensive machinery, including 
lathes, drills, punches, planers, presses, etc., and such other mechanical 
tools and appliances that can be advantageously employed in the 
service. The boiler shops are equally well supplied and appointed, 
and the shipping conveniences are complete and efficient. They 
manufacture engines, boilers, saw mills, heading saws, steam pumps, 
injectors, brass goods, belting, shafting, pulleys, sheet iron work, hoist 
rigs, machinery, etc., making a specialty of second-hand power outfits 
and exchange of goods, and carrying a large stock of boilers, engines 
and other machinery for immediate shipment. They are also agents 
for, and carry in stock, Gardner upright engines. They employ from 
fifteen to twenty skilled mechanics, supplying a steadily increasing 
trade from Michigan to Texas, and from Pennsylvania to Colorado, 
but principally throughout Indiana, Ohio, Illinois and Kentucky, in 
all of which territory their output is considered among the cheapest 
and best in the markets of the country, and on account of their 



efficiency and reasonable prices, are in constant demand all over the 
country. All orders meet with prompt and satisfactory attention, and 
the interests of patrons are honorably protected and promoted. 

Tucker & Dorsey Manufacturing Co. -William H. 
Tucker, President and Superintendent; Robert L. Dorsey, Secretary 
and Treasurer; Manufacturers of Wooden Ware Specialties; Office 
and Works, State avenue and C, I., St. L. & C. Ry.— This business 
had its inception in 1865, when Mr. W. H. Tucker, after serving in 
the army through the Civil War, began making money-drawers in a 
retail way. He was shortly afterward joined by Mr. Dorsey (father of 
the present Secretary and Treasurer, and who died six years ago), 
the firm of Tucker & Dorsey being established and soon working 
into an exclusively wholesale trade. Under this style the business 
was carried on until 1882, when the present corporation was organ- 
ized. In October, 1887, their works were destroyed by tire, since which 
the works have been completely rebuilt, the present plant covering 
three acres. Included in it is the main factory, a two-story brick 
structure, 120x180 feet in dimensions, a saw mill building 70x80 feet, 
both completely equipped, and the remainder of the premises is occu- 
pied by well-stocked lumber yards and railroad switches, by which 
their supply of 

logs is received. 
A force of from 
forty-five to fifty 
workmen is em- 
ployed in the 
manufacture of 
the products, in- 
cluding Tuck- 
ers' alarm tills, 
strongly made 
of dove - tailed 
hardwood. This 
has six round 
cups for coin 
and compart- 
ments for bills 
of different de- 
nommations; is 
always set, and 
while as easily 
opened as a 
common draw- 
er, it promptly 
sounds an alarm 
when tampered 
with. The mech- 
anism of these drawers is simple, their opening combinations can 
be changed in a second, and they need no key and require no repairs. 
Other specialties are the "Daisy" wrought iron adjustable stove 
truck. Stone's patent barrel truck (both of which are mounted on 
Martin's patent casters); the "Hoosier" saw-buck, slaw, vegetable 
and kraut cutters, towel rollers, folding and iron hook hat and coat 
racks, towel racks, potato mashers, steak mauls, muddlers, rolling- 
pins, wood-ball lemon squeezers, knife trays, tinners' mallets, eccen- 
tric bench hooks, etc. The trade of the company covers the entire 
Union and Canada, Mexico, South America. Australia, Great Britain 
and Europe. Mr. William H. Tucker, the President of this company, 
and Mr. Robert L. Dorsey, its Secretary and Treasurer, are similarly 
associated with the Phcenix Caster Co., and the business of both 
companies is transacted from the same office, under the manage- 
ment of the same officers, although separate and distinct in other 

Indiana Electric Service Co. — Controlling the Johnson 
Heat Regulating Apparatus; Main Office, 216 Fifth street, Louisville, 
Ky.; Indiana Office, English block, 82 Circle street; J. W. Cheney, 
Manager — The advantages derived from the use of steam as an 

agency for supplying heat to buildings are in a great measure counter- 
balanced by the inefficiency of the appliances for the regulation of 
the steam-supply ordinarily in use. The room becomes too warm 
and the valves are closed; it becomes too cold before the change in 
temperature is noticed. The consequence is a variability of tempera- 
ture promotive of discomfort and injurious to health. These draw- 
backs to the effectiveness of steam-heating led to the invention, by 
Professor W. S. Johnson, of the Johnson Electric Valve. It is simple 
in mechanism, and by its use a practically invariable temperature is 
maintained, a great saving in care to the occupants of rooms in 
watching the temperature is made, the hygienic condition of the room 
heated is vastly improved as a result of the equable temperature 
secured, and an important economy in fuel is made by avoiding the 
overheating resulting from the use of hand valves. The device 
can be especially well applied also to the regulation of heat from 
natural gas, or in fact, any source of heat conveyed by pipes. This 
electric valve is guaranteed to hold the heat within two degrees of 
any degree of temperature determined upon. They are used not only in 
churches, theatres and factories, but also in dwellings. In residences 
here the apparatus has been applied in those of Dr. O. S. Runnels, 
W. G. Sherman, the well-known restauranteur, and others. The manu- 
facture of this 
apparatus was 
inaugurated in 
1885, by the 
Johnson Elec- 
tric Service Co., 
of Milwaukee, 
Wis., by which 
the sole manu- 
facture of the 
apparatus, and 
its sale in the 
States of Wis- 
consin and Min- 
nesota, is still 
controlled. In 
1888, the Indi- 
ana Electric 
■Service Co. was 
organized, and 
secured the con- 
trol of this valu- 
able invention 
for the States 
of Indiana and 
Kentucky, the 
main office of 
the company 
being at Louisville, and the Indiana office in the English block in this 
city. The apparatus has demonstrated its perfect effectiveness by its 
adoption in a large number of public and private buildings in all the 
leading cities, and is rapidly becoming popular in this and other cities 
controlled by the company. To this result Mr. J. W. Cheney, the 
Manager for Indiana, has largely contributed by the zealous and 
energetic methods adopted by him in making the merits of the inven- 
tion known. 

Hubert Recker & Co. — Manufacturers of Beer Coolers, 
Counters, Etc.; 209 and 211 East Washington street. — This firm, 
composed of Hubert Recker, Gottfried Recker and Theodore Sander, 
was organized in 1863. The senior member is the active manager of 
the business, his partners composing the furniture manufacturing firm 
of Sander & Recker. The firm is located as above, where they 
occupy premises 50 feet front on East Washington street and 
running back 200 feet to Pearl street. They are fully equipped 
for business and manufacturing purposes, having ample accommo- 
dations for the display of their artistic productions, and all modern 
machinery and appliances requisite to the promotion of their lines 
of output. These include bank and store fixtures, pews and fine 





interior woodwork foi cluirchcs, halls, residences, etc., also beer 
coolers, counters, mirrors, and saloon fixtures generally, with which 
they have fitted up nearly all the first-class sample rooms in the city, 
includinf; amonj; them, The Otiice, Gasper's, Hui,'ele's, The Circle 
House, and others. They also equipped the Merchants' National 
and Indianapolis National Banks, and many of the finest stores here, 
in addition to making the pews and tine woodwork for the Meridian 
Street church, St. Paul's church, and other ecclesiastical edifices. 
In the spring of 1889 they fitted up the gent's furnishing store of 
Paul Kraus, on West Washington street, with shelving, counters, 
show cases and olifice fixtures, a job that has attracted general admir- 
ation and the highest commendation. They use the best C[ualities of 
well seasoned hardwoods of imported and American growth, and their 
products, which are in original and exquisite designs, elaborately 
carved and finished, are patterns of ornamental and durable work- 
manship in the highest degree. They employ a force of from fifteen 
to twenty skillful operatives, and minister to the wants of the trade 
throughout the city and State. 

Munson Lightning Conductor Co.— Manufacturer of 
Lightning Rods; Alvin J. Munson, Proprietor; 94 South Delaware 
street. — The Munson Lightning Conductor Company was established 
in 1850, by David Munson, father of the present proprietor, Alvin J. 
Munson. The latter succeeded to the control of the enterprise in 
1883, and has since conducted it with prosperous results, in which he 
has been ably assisted by his brothers, David R. Munson, William 
G. Munson and Samuel G. Munson. They occupy premises 25x200 
feet in dimensions, divided into office and salesrooms, and containing 
a well equipped and completely appointed workshop. Their range of 
manufacture embraces Munson's new copper tubular and cable light- 
ning conductors, which have been successful in every contest since 
1850, being constructed on scientific principles and indorsed by over 

500 scientists and college professors as the best conductors ever 
invented, and the most complete protection against disaster by light- 
ning known. The productions of Mr. Munson have been awarded 
gold, silver and bronze medals wherever exhibited, and have received 
the highest indorsements for efficiency and unsurpassed services in 
all portions of North and South America. They are employed on all 
the government buildings at Washington City, upon the churches, 
public edifices and private residences of Indianapolis, also upon the 
State institutions here, in addition to serving for purposes of pro- 
tection as extensively and reliably in Baltimore, Philadelphia, Cin- 
cinnati, Chicago and other cities located in all sections of the United 
States. He employs from ten to twenty operatives and assistants, 
besides two travelers, and in addition to the trade supplied as above 
stated, ministers to the demands in England and elsewhere in Europe 
for this line of incalculably valuable productions. 

C. B. Cones' Son & Co.— Manufacturers of Cones' Boss 
Pantaloon Overalls, Etc.; 12 North Mississippi street. — Though of 
comparatively recent development, this establishment is unsurpassed 
in its resources, equipment and superiority of workmanship in all 

its lines of production. This industry was started in 1879 by 
C. B. Cones, Sr., the firm name subsequently becoming C. B. Cones 
& Co., and, in 1886, C. B. Cones' Son & Co. On the 13th of January, 
1888, their place of business on South Meridian street was destroyed 
by fire, whereupon they purchased their present location, rebuilding 
and extending the improvements thereon, and completely adapting 
the premises to the uses for which they are now occupied. They 
consist of a three-story and basement building, facing the Capitol, 
having a frontage of fifty feet on North Mississippi street, and a 
depth of 200 feet. The equipment embraces 300 sewing machines, 
with a full complement of button hole and cutting machinery, 
and other labor-saving devices and appliances promotive of the 
ciuality and volume of the output, driven by steam. They are 
also supplied with accommodations for the storage and display of 
stock, the transaction of business and the prompt filling and ship- 
ment of orders of the largest magnitude, and do an annual business 
amounting to upwards of 5350,000 in value. Their range of manu- 
facture includes Cones' Boss pantaloon overalls, pants, shirts, hunting 
suits, boys' shirts and waists, and duck clothing generally in great 
variety. All of these lines are specialties of the house, being well 
known in all parts of the United States for the first-class qualities of 
the material of which they are composed, their utility and durable 
wear. The large demand which they annually supply, is expressive 
of the high degree of confidence they have inspired among dealers 
and with the public. They employ between 350 and 400 hands, in 
addition to ten traveling salesmen, and their trade is distributed 
throughout Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Michigan, Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, 
Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, Texas, and in 
other portions of the South and Southwest. 

Holmes & Co. — Natural Gas and Steam-fitters; 90 East 
Market street. — E. E. Holmes and George E. Coburn, constituting 
the firm of Holmes & Co., who have enjoyed a practical experience 
of years in this field of industry, established themselves in business 
here during April, 1888, coming originally from Meadville, Pa., where 
they had been for years in the employ of the Standard Oil Company, 
piping a large territory for the substitution of natural gas, and com- 
pleting some of the largest jobs in that specialty at the East, and of 
late from Uniontown, Scottdale and Connellsville, Pa., where they were 
in business for themselves. They were accompanied hither by 
a force of experienced assistants reputed to be superior workmen, 
and are fully equipped to execute contracts for w-ork. They occupy 
premises 20x100 feet in size, supplied with machinery and tools 
necessary to their lines of operation, and carry large stocks of natural 
gas appliances and steam-heating apparatus, including pipes, fittings 
and fixtures, and sundries pertaining to the business, including all the 
latest improvements. They are prepared to do all work, general and 
special, in their lines, and are enabled to furnish references from 
clients in Indianapolis who have availed themselves of the facilities 
and services they tender to the patronage of the public. All orders 
receive prompt attention and their prices are of the lowest character 
consistent with the quality of materials used and the high class work 
rendered. They employ from seventeen to twenty expert operatives, 
and their trade is steadily increasing in the city and vicinity. 

Joseph Gardner— Manufacturer of all kinds of Tin, Copper 
and Sheet Iron Work, Dealer in Hot Air Furnaces; 39 and 41 Kentucky 
avenue; Telephone No. 322. — This business was established in 1882 
by the present proprietor, who occupies the main floor and basement 
of premises, 50x60 feet, containing office and display rooms, also a 
well equipped workshop, provided with ample accommodations and 
all requisite labor saving devices and mechanical appliances. His 
specialties are roofing, cornice and spout work for residences, public 
buildings, etc., in all of which he excels, furnishing the best materials 
and conducting and completing jobs in either and all of these 
special departments, in a manner so skillful and efficient as to com- 
mend his services to a large and steadily increasing patronage. He 
also manufactures full lines of tin, sheet iron and copper ware for 
household use, confection, distilling, brewing and other purposes, for 
which they are especially adapted, and exercising the same personal 



supervision and diligence in their composition and production. In 
addition, he is agent here for the Reynolds, Magee and the Bartlett 
Sons' Wrought Iron Hot Air Furnaces, which have come into general 
use, and attained to a large popularity throughout the country. He 
is prepared to undertake contracts for roofing, adjusting metal sky- 
lights, dormer windows, spouts, etc., and to fill orders, either made 
personally or over his telephone, No. 322, for general tin, copper and 
sheet iron work promptly, in the most satisfactory manner, and at the 
lowest prices. He employs from eight to ten competent assistants, 
and enjoys a high reputation for experience, enterprise and durable 
work throughout the city and State, in which he does a large trade in 
all his lines. 

Brower & Love Brothers — Proprietors of the Indiana Warp 
Mills; Manufacturers of Cotton Warps; Office and Mills on White 
River, North of Washington street. — This firm, of which Messrs. 
Abram G. Brower, John R. Love and Hugh M. Love are the indi- 
vidual members, established in business five years ago, succeeding to 
the business of the Indianapolis Cotton Manufacturing Company, 
who began operating the mills in 1864. The premises occupied 
embrace the main mill, a three-story brick structure looxso feet 
in dimensions, with a one-story extension, 140x50 feet, and a new 
addition now approaching completion, 75x45 feet, as well as spacious 
boiler and engine houses. The machinery equipment includes a 250- 
horse power engine, fed by five large boilers, 5,500 spindles, and all the 
most highly improved machinery adapted to the business. Employ- 
ment is given to from seventy-five to eighty hands in the manufacture 
of cotton warp of the best quality, in which a large trade is 
done in the South and Southwest, a leading market for the product 
being Louisville, Ky. The operations are extensive, utilizing an 
average of about 1,500 bales of cotton annually, making over 7,000 
warps, each of 1,500 ends and 650 yards in length. Close supervision 
is maintained, so as to secure in the product the highest standard of 
merit. All of the members of the firm are business men of a high 
character and standing. The establishment enjoys a gratifying and 
steadily growing success. 

H. C. Chandler — Designer and Engraver on Wood; 13 East 
Washington street. — Mr. Chandler began the business here in 1863, 
and long since established a reputation for beauty and originality of 
conception and superior excellence of execution. He occupies com- 
modious accommodations, divided into office and operating rooms, 
provided with every appliance requisite to the prompt service of the 
trade in every department. His lines of work include the designing 
and production of fine illustrated catalogues for furniture, fancy 
goods and other manufactures, cuts of buildings, portraits, fine 
mechanical work, maps, diagrams, and engraving generally for 
illustrative and advertising purposes, for which he has secured a 
well-deserved prominence, his productions being the most perfect 
embodiments of the latest artistic development in delicacy of color- 
ing, harmonious blending of light and shade, and beauty of effect. 
Orders are promptly filled. His prices are low, considering the 
character of the work required by his high class of custom, and his 
liberal and honorable management commands the confidence of 
patrons and the public. He employs competent assistants and does 
a large and increasing trade in the city and State, as also throughout 
Ohio and Illinois. 

C. H. Black Manufacturing Co, — Carriages, Surreys, 
Pheetons, Etc.; 44 East Maryland street.— The C. H. Black Manufact- 
uring Co., of which H. Z. Beck is President and C. H. Black Secretary 
and Manager, is a representative establishment engaged in the manu- 
facture of carriages and vehicles. They occupy a three-story and 
basement building, 25x100 feet in dimensions, with the two upper 
floors of the premises at 42 East Maryland street, similar in dimen- 
sions and arrangement. The main building extends through to East 
Maryland street, where it connects with a two-story and basement 
building, 2i;x30 feet, and numbered 44 on the latter thoroughfare. 
The premises are equipped with all requisite machinery and appli- 
ances, and orovided with commodious display and storage accommo- 

dations, as also with complete repair and shipping facilities. Their 
specialty is physicians' phaetons, a conveyance unrivalled for comfort, 
smooth running and durable materials, with capacity to stand the 
severest usage. They also manufacture and keep in stock first-class 
carriages, side-bar and end-spring buggies, business and delivery 
wagons, road and village carts, and other vehicles of all the leading 
styles, and harness of equal efficiency and superior workmanship. 
Their productions are in every feature as comprehensive as they are 
desirable. They publish an illustrated catalogue and the house is 
known east and west for its liberal terms and honorable dealings. Their 
general work finds an extensive demand in the city and State, and 
their phaetons are shipped to points as far west as California, through- 
out the South, to New York, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and other 
Eastern States, also in Canada and other of the British possessions 
in North America. The services of from twenty to twenty-five experi- 
enced operatives are required, and their annual business foots up 
largely in value. 

I. H. Herrington — Manufacturer and Dealer in Light and 
Heavy Harness; 81 East Market street. — Mr. Herrington began 
business in 1871 and has since been identified with the manufacture 
of saddlery and harness, each year being required to increase his 
facilities to comply with the requirements of the steadily augmenting 
demand. He is located in one of the most bustling and thriving 
business portions of Indianapolis, where he occupies a three-story and 
basement building, 35x100 feet in size and apportioned into sales and 
warerooms, also containing a large and well equipped workshop, pro- 
vided with every facility and convenience for the manufacture of 
every article known to the trade. Chief among these are light and 
heavy harness, adapted to every service, light and heavy saddles for 
both ladies and gentlemen, bridles, collars, whips, robes, blankets, 
brushes, stable sundries, horse clothing, etc., complete and full, of the 
best grades of material and the most finished workmanship. Every- 
thing in his line of production is a specialty, the make of which by 
skilled and superior operatives is under the personal supervision of 
Mr. Herrington, which fact, combined with other excellencies and 
the liberal terms offered customers, has served to give to the house 
the reputation it enjoys among the leading in its lines here and 
throughout the State. He employs a force of seven assistants and 
does a large trade in the city and vicinity, in addition to supplying an 
extensive demand in portions of Indiana, distant from the base of 

Arcade Mills — Blanton, Watson & Co., Proprietors; 200 West 
Maryland street. — The Arcade Mills were established by L. H. 
Blanton and W. R. Watson in 1879, and though Mr. Blanton has for 
sometime been sole proprietor, the business has always been con- 
ducted under the firm name of Blanton, Watson & Co. The premises 
occupied cover an area of 60x215 feet, including the mill proper, a 
four-story and basement brick structure, 60x80 feet in dimensions, 
with a brick extension used for engine room and boiler house, and 
an elevator adjoining 60x120 feet in size. The mill is thoroughly 
equipped with all the latest improved roller process machinery, and 
turns out 350 barrels of flour daily. The elevator is provided with 
facilities for the convenient receipt and handling of grain, and has a 
storage capacity of 18,000 bushels. The lines of production embrace 
those usual to first-class flouring mills, Mr. Blanton, however, making 
specialties of "Crown Jewel," " Princess" and other favorite brands of 
roller process flour, made from the best grades of winter and spring 
wheat, selected with especial reference to quality, and for purity and 
absolute intrinsic worth are not surpassed by those of any similar 
industry in the State. They stand very high with dealers and the 
trade, either for domestic or bakers' use, and are in constant demand 
by consumers here and in other portions of the country. Mr. Blanton 
employs twenty experienced assistants, and supplies the trade 
throughout the southern and eastern portions of the United 
States, besides filling extensive orders from Glasgow, Liverpool 
and other European markets. He is a man of enterprise, and 
his success is the result of an honorable career and liberal manage- 



The improved taste for artistic development and production 
which is appaj-cnt in Indianapolis is mainly responsible for the estab- 
lishment of the designini,^ and eni,'ravmg house of Charles A. Nicoli, 
in 1884. He is finished in the profession and the delineation of his 
subjects deserves and commands the hit;h meed of admiration they 
elicit. He occupies commodious apartments in the Hubbard block, 
amply arranged and appointed for the business. He makes a speci- 
alty of commercial work, and for fine, original designing, neatness 
and taste is unsurpassed. He also does color work for catalogues of 

manufactories and business houses, for show cards and illuminated 
advertisements. No cheap work is done; only engraving capable of 
producing the best results is even attempted, and such results are 
universally conceded to be of a superior order. He is prepared to 
furnish every description of production in his lines promptly, and his 
prices are as low as are consistent with the requirements of the service. 
He employs from six to eight assistants, and does a large trade in the 
city and throughout Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, Minnesota and elsewhere. 

Hoosier Woolen Factory — C. E. Giesendorf & Co., Proprie- 
tors; 402 West Washington street. — This establishment, the pioneer 
of its kind in Indianapolis, was founded by C. E. Giesendorf and 
Christian Giesendorf, brothers, in 1846, and was equipped with what 
was then the latest improved machinery, carted from Dayton. O., 
there being no railway facilities available. Since that date all the 
best patterns of machinery and appliances have been added as fast as 
they were obtainable, until it is to-day conceded to be perfect in all 
its appointments and appliances. The brothers operated the factory 
for some years, and upon the death of G. W. Giesendorf the present 
firm, consisting of C. E. Giesendorf and Isaac Thalman, was organ- 
ized. The woolen mill and warehouse occupy a three-story and 
basement building, 50x250 feet in dimensions. Their range of manu- 
facture embraces ten -quarter wide skirting, flannels that are 
warranted nor to shrink, and tinted with colors guaranteed to be safe 
and healthy; plaid and flannel blankets in all colors, and of pure wool; 
Scotch novelty suitings, tweeds, jeans, warranted pure wool filling 
and fast colors; stocking yarn free from all poisonous colors, satinets, 
etc., which are carried in large invoices and sold to the trade at the 
lowest prices consistent with their superiority in respect to materials 
and workmanship. They also deal heavily in wool, carrying selected 
fleeces, first class in all respects, and having a high reputation with 
the trade. They employ from fifty to sixty hands, in addition to five 
traveling salesmen, and their trade extends throughout the East, 
West, North and Northwest in every direction, also being equally 
extensive in New York City, Philadelphia, and other large depots of 
manufacture and supply in different parts of the United States. 

Spiegel, Thorns & Co. — Manufacturers and Dealers in 
Furniture and Chairs; 71 and 73 West Washington street. — The firm 

of .Spiegel, Thorns & Co., composed of Augustus 'Spiegel, 
Freilerick Thorns and Henry Frank, was organized during 
855, since which date the firm name has remained unchanged, 
though Christian Spiegel, one of the original founders, 
retired from the business about 1873. They occupy as 
salesrooms a massive iron front building, five stories high, 
fronting 40 feet on West Washington street, and extending 200 
feet in depth to a like frontage on Kentucky avenue. Their factory, 
extending from 50 to 74 East street, consists of a double five-story and 
basement l)uilding, 90x100 feet in dimensions, equipped with all modern 
machinery and appliances, and provided with complete facilities for 
handling the products. The salesrooms are furnished with elevator 
service and finely departmented. The main floor is devoted to the 
display of rattan goods and fancy furniture, the second floor to parlor, 
library and upholstered furniture, the third to furniture for chamber 
and dining room equipments, the fourth to surplus stock, and the fifth 
to the upholstering departments. The floors in this building are built 
independent of the walls, being separately supported from the foun- 
dations up. Their special lines of manufacture are fine parlor tables, 
extension dining tables, hall stands and racks, ladies' fancy desks, 
escritoires, etc. They are also sole proprietors of Worch's patent 
machine for destroying moths in furniture and carpets. Only the 
best materials are employed in every line, and their facilities are so 
complete and effective that they insure to customers and the trade 
cheapness in price, superior workmanship and unsurpassed durability. 
A force of 130 operatives, from ten to twenty salesmen and seven 
travelers are kept constantly in the service, and their trade is dis- 
tributed in all parts of the United States, from Maine to California. 
The affairs of the concern are managed with liberality and enterprise 
and the concern itself occupies a front rank among the manufacturing 
and commercial undertakings of the West. 

ComstOCk & Coonse — Manufacturers of Wooden Chain 
and Wooden Force Pumps; igg South Meridian street. — This busi- 
ness was originally established by R. A. Durban in 1830, the firm 
subsequently becoming Durban & Douglas, and in 1871 A. S. Durban 
& Co., being composed of A. S. Durban and A. S. Comstock, head of 
the present firm. In 1876 the latter succeeded to the sole ownership 
and in 1880, upon the admission of G. W. Coonse as a partner, the 
firm of Comstock cS: Coonse was organized. They occupy a two-story 
and basement building, 50x100 feet in dimensions, completely 
equipped with all the latest improved machinery and appliances, and 
also occupy the two-story and basement building, 25x100 feet in 
dimensions, at 34 East South street, for warehouse purposes. They 
carry heavy lines of stock of their own manufacture, including the 
Coonse Force Pump, a superior article in its line; also wood, chain 
and wooden force pumps, iron pumps, pitcher spout pumps, tubing, 
iron and lead pipe, rubber hose, hose connections, nozzles, pipe 
wrenches, drive well points and cylinders, plumbers' sinks and other 
articles connected with their lines in chief. The greatest pains are 
taken in their manufacture, the lumber being subjected to the most 
critical inspection, and the selection and finishing of the working 
parts of the pumps, buckets, leathers, valves, etc., receiving especial 
attention. Their facilities for promptly and satisfactorily filling and 
shipping orders are complete, goods leaving the city always on the 
day of shipment, and being pushed to their destination with all 
possible speed, and every effort is made to meet the demand with the 
least trouble or expense. They employ from twenty-five to thirty 
assistants, besides two travelers, and do a large and constantly aug- 
menting trade throughout Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Minnesota, Ken- 
tucky, New York, New Jersey and in other portions of the South 
and East, m all of which territory the house exerts a wide-spread 
influence and enjoys a distinguished reputation. 

William Wiegel — Manufacturer of Fine Show Cases; 6 West 
Louisiana street.— The Capital City Show Case Works was estab- 
lished by Mr. Wiegel in conjunction with Mr. Ruehl during 1877, 
and operated until 1887 under the firm name of Wiegel & Ruehl, 
when the senior partner succeeded to the sole ownership of the 
enterprise. He occupies a four -story and basement building, 



■.'oxioo feet in dimensions, equipped with all requisite machinery 
and appliances for speedy and finished production, also con- 
taming ample accommodations for storage and display purposes, 
in addition to very available shipping facilities. His specialty 
is the manufacture of the celebrated celluloid cases, which, with 
nearly all his lines, are made to order. His range of production 
embraces plain, square, round front, upright, circle, mansard, 
single and double monitor cases for ordinary use, also for special 
purposes, such as prescription, cigars, prefumeries, fancy articles, 
nick-nacks, etc., for counter, side wall and center of stores. They 
are made of bird's-eye maple, mahogany, rosewood, cherry, walnut, 
and other hardwoods, with improved hardwood sliding doors, the silver 
mouldings being the very best i8 per cent. German silver, and the 
product in every way first-class. No cheap or shoddy work is turned 
out by Mr. Wiegel, who is himself a practical mechanic and person- 
ally attends to the business, employing none but experienced work- 
men familiar with their trade. All orders receive prompt attention, 
and all sales are made at prices as low as is consistent with good 
workmanship and honest material. He carries large stocks of cases, 
iron show-case stands, spring hinges, alarm money tills, etc., giving 
employment to from eight to ten hands, and does a large trade 
throughout Indiana, Ohio and Illinois. 

Indianapolis Manufacturers' and Carpenters' 

Union — Manufacturers of Sash, Doors, Blinds, Etc.; 38, 40 and 42 
South New Jersey street.— This company was incorporated in 187 1, 
as successor to Warren Tate, who established the business in 1864. 
The present officers are Val. Schaaf, President and Superintendent, 
with Fred Schmid, Secretary and Treasurer, and their management 
of the company's affairs is characterized by methods that materially 
contribute to the prosperity of the corporation. They occupy a three- 
story structure, 60x200 feet, with large and fully stocked lumber yards 
yards adjoining. The mechanical equipment embraces all the latest 
improved machinery and appliances, including planers, edgers, cutters. 

trimmers, grooving machines, etc., replacing old machinery with that 
of more recent patterns as soon as the improvements proposed are 
perfected, the whole driven by an engine of 150-horse power, with 
steam furnished from a battery of two five-flue boilers. Their range 
of manufacture is large and varied, including doors, sash and blinds, 
door and window frames, brackets, moulding, etc., flooring, ceiling, 
rough and dressed pine, poplar and ash lumber. They also dress 
lumber and work flooring to order, deal in frame lumber, shingles 
and lath, newels and balusters, and extensively engage in job turning. 
They employ from seventy-five to one hundred hands, and supply the 
demands of a large and constantly increasing trade among builders 
and contractors in the city and throughout the surrounding countrv. 

Wm. H. Armstrong & Co.— Manufacturers and Importers 
of Surgical Instruments; q2 South Illinois street.— The firm of Wm. 
H. Armstrong & Co., are a recent accession to Indianapolis commer- 
cial circles. It is composed of W. H. Armstrong and Emil Will- 
brandt, the latter being admitted to the firm on January i, 1889. The 
business was established some year= age removing from Terre Haute 
to this city January i, 1889, since which date they have continued 

here the manufacture and importation of surgical instruments which 
they had carried on at Terre Haute. They occupy a handsomely 
fitted up store 25x100 feet, well equipped with machinery of a special 
character for the work to which they are devoted, and provided with 
conveniences and facilities for display and trade purposes. They 
carry heavy stocks of goods in their lines, of European and American 
make and leputation, also of their own manufacture of the best 
quality of material and effective and serviceable for the uses to which 
they are applied. Their supplies are made up of surgical instruments, 
deformity apparatus, trusses, elastic hosiery, splints, crutches, rubber 
and cotton webbing, shoulder and spine braces, adjustable hip exten- 
sion and ankle braces, etc. The composition of the instruments and 
appliances handled is of standard worth and well known reliability, 
and they are sold at the regular market prices and terms. The firm, 
though in operation here but a short time, have made an excellent 
reputation for skill in their specialties, and for the variety and quality 
of their goods, which are in extensive use as far east as New York 
and Pennsylvania, as also in the North, Northwest, Southwest and 
South. They employ a large number of operatives, including three 
salesmen, and are prepared to promptly fill and ship orders to cus- 
tomers in any portion of the United States. 

J. iVI. Bohmie — Carriage Manufacturer; 223 and 225 East 
Washington street.— The oldest and among the most experienced 
practical carriage makers here is J. M. Bohmie. He located at Indi- 
anapolis at the close of the war, having served through that trying 
period as a member of an Illinois regiment, and entered the service 
of the Shaw Carriage Company, with which he remained in the 
capacity of foreman for a period of fifteen years. Upon the retire- 
ment from business of the company, in 1876, JNIr. Bohmie embarked 
in the same line on his own account, opening an establishment on 
New Jersey street, where he remained until 1S87, when he removed 
to his present site. He owns and occupies commodious premises, 
35x200 feet in dimensions, provided with all necessary machinery and 
miplements for building, equipping and furnishing the finest grades 
of vehicles, from a light road wagon to the most substantial and 
elaborate coaches and hearses. He makes only to order, and has the 
reputation of manufacturing the handsomest proportioned and 
smoothest running buggies and carriages to be found in the city. He 
uses only the best materials, the woodwork being second-growth, 
thoroughly seasoned hickory, and the iron and steel included in the 
running gear are of equal excellence and tested worth. His works 
are in constant operation in the filling of orders from the city and all 
parts of the State, giving employment to a force of twenty-five skilled 
operatives, and he does an annual trade aggregating between 140,000 
and $50,000 in value. The superior product turned out, low prices 
and honorable business methods are known and esteemed by the 
trade in all directions. 

Indianapolis Moulding and Picture Frame Co.— 

Manufacturers of Hardwood Mouldings; 600 to 610 Madison avenue.— 
This business was established in 1874, and the gentlemen composing 
the firm are Messrs. John F. Mayer, H. Lieber and W. Wellmann, all 
of whom are gentlemen of experience and ability, devoting their 
energies to the details of the business and fully cognizant of the 
requirements of the trade. They occupy a three-story and basement 
brick building, 50x120 feet in dimensions, a large addition to the 
factory having been built last Fall, and have spacious lumber yards, 
commodious storage sheds, and every convenience and facility as 
well for the receipt of materials and shipment of their products as 
for the successful prosecution of the manufacturing operations. The 
machinery equipment includes a 75-horse power engine, two large 
boilers, five large moulding machines, planers, lathes, saws of various 
descriptions, and all other appliances adapted to aid or expedite the 
operations of the business. A force ranging from fifty to sixty hands 
is employed in the manufacture of all kinds of hardwood mouldings, 
both plain and ornamental, which they make a specialty of, Indian- 
apolis being a particularly favorable location for the prosecution of 
such an enterprise, on account of its superior shipping facilities, and 
the wood used being all grown in this State. The firm enjoys a 



deservedly hi^'h reputation for the superiority of its products, which 
has secured for them a demand not only covering the entire Union 
and Canada, but also including a considerable export trade to 
England and Australia. A large stock is constantly carried, which 
enables them to fill orders in a prompt and satisfactory manner. The 
firm maintains a New York office, at 13 West Broadway. Mr. A. 
Muehsam, agent, is a gentleman of first-class business abilities, 
with a large acquaintance among the picture-frame dealers in the 
large Eastern cities, and the fact that he has represented the firm 
for the last ten years, and in that long period succeeding in not only 
keeping almost all his old customers but yearly adding a large 
number of new ones, speaks very highly for him. The sagacity of 
the proprietors in conducting their business, and the reliability of 
their methods, have combined to give to their enterprise its present 
foremost standing and to secure a steady and continuous expansion 
in the volume of their trade. 

Emrich, Paulini & Co. — Manufacturers of Furniture; igo to 
200 West Morris street. — This prominent manufacturing firm, of which 
Messrs. H. Emrich, O. B. Paulini and S. P. Porter are the individual 
members, was established seven years ago, and has since built up a 
large and steadily growing business in all parts of the Union, and 
especially in the leading Eastern cities. The plant is an extensive 
one, covering over one and one-half acres of ground, and including, 
in addition to extensive lumber yards, a two-story factory, 50x220 feet 
in dimensions, and a two-story warehouse, 50x150 feet. The factory 
has a complete equipment of the latest and most improved wood- 
working machinery, a 70-horse power engine and large boilers, and 
employment is given to a force ranging from eighty to ninety hands 
in the manufacture of imitation walnut bedsteads, of which this firm 
makes an exclusive specialty. The bedsteads, which are made of 
hackberry, are finished in such an exact imitation of the finest walnut 
as to defy the scrutiny of the closest observer, retaining their appear- 
ance throughout their term of service, and are equally as durable as 
the genuine walnut goods. They are made in the most attractive and 
stylish designs, and supply the need of the public for a handsome and 
serviceable bedstead, at a moderate price. The firm enjoys the most 
superior facilities for the production of these goods, and orders are 
filled in a prompt and satisfactory manner. The members of the firm 
are all practically conversant with the details of the business and 
have secured, by their uniformly accurate and reliable methods of 
dealing, a firmly established place in the confidence of the trade. 

American Paper Box Co. — Manufacturers of Paper Boxes; 
corner of New York and Alabama streets. — The American Paper 
Box Company was established in this city .during 1884, by W. A. 
Ford, being then located on South Meridian street, whence they 
removed to their present site in 1886, where they have built up a large 
and prosperous business, which is continually increasing and extend- 
ing. The premises occupied are 50x100 feet in dimensions. The first 
floor is devoted to the storage and stock rooms, and the second floor, 
which is lofty, well lighted and ventilated, is occupied for manu- 
facturing purposes and equipped with all modern facilities and 
appliances, requisite to the economical production of superior stocks. 
The factory is soon to be remodeled and will be the largest in the 
State. Their make includes paper boxes of every character and 
description, for dry goods houses, hatters, milliners, confectioners, 
druggists, dealers in fancy articles, physicians, and for other lines of 
professional, commercial and manufacturing business, in every size 
and in great variety. They carry large and full lines of these articles 
of utility and ornament, also of the best quality of straw board, and 
orders by mail, telegraph or in person will be promptly and satis- 
factorily filled. Mr. Ford, the Superintendent, who has been identified 
with the enterprise from its inception, is a master mechanic in every 
branch of mechanism, and personally supervises the business in all 
its details. He has invented a machine for cutting paper boxes 
which is by far superior to any now in use. The affairs of the company 
are managed on liberal and honorable principles, and the excellent 
quality of their goods, combined with the cheapest prices in the State, 
commend them to a large and steadily growing trade in the city and 

throughout the .State. From ten to twenty-five hands, according to 
the season, are employed, and the company invites everybody to visit 
them and see them manufacture paper boxes. They are prepared to 
make every article in the paper box line, also to print labels in any 
style. By patronizing home industry employment is given to our own 
citizens, the city is built up and a home market is established, and no 
local enterprise is more worthy of encouragement than that of the 
American Paper Box Co. 

Thompson Brothers— Manufacturers of Tables, Hat Racks, 
Etc.; Dimension Stock Cut to Order; 293 and 295 Christian avenue. — 
This firm, of which Messrs. R. W. and L. C. Thompson arc the 
individual members, was formed in November, 1888. Mr. R. W. 
Thompson resides at Burlington, la., where he is engaged as Cashier 
of the Burlington Insurance Company, and the business here is 
under the supervision of his brother, Mr. L. C. Thompson, who 
brings to the enterprise the benefit of a long and practical experience, 
having been for seven years superintendent of the works of D. E. 
Stone & Co., in the same line, which were destroyed by fire in 1888. 
The works operated by the firm embrace a two-story mill, 70x100 feet 
in dimensions, a large brick boiler house and a steaming and drying 
house. The equipment includes a 6o-horse power engine, a 60x14 
boiler, a large patent steamer for steaming lumber before going to 
the dry house, and a full outfit of the best modern woodworking 
machinery. A force ranging from forty-five to fifty hands is employed 
and a large business is done in cutting dimension stock in walnut and 
other hardwoods to order, principally for Eastern organ builders, 
sewing machine and furniture manufacturers, etc.; and the firm also 
manufactures furniture for local cabinet makers to order, and all the 
products are of the best quality. All of the operations of the works 
are conducted under the immediate personal supervision of Mr. L. C. 
Thompson. Although of recent inauguration the enterprise has 
already been attended by a notable and gratifying success, the 
volume of orders filled being steadily on the increase, and the estab- 
lishment has already secured a substantial place in the favor and 
confidence of the trade. 

W. H. Short — Paper Box Manufacturer; 27 South Meridian 
street. — The factory of W. H. Short was established by that gentle- 
man in 1876 to supply the wants of a local trade in paper boxes, and 
during his experience he has several times been compelled to increase 
his facilities and enlarge his accommodations to keep pace with the 
requirements of the service. Located in the midst of the commercial 
and jobbing interests, to whose wants he specially ministers, he 
occupies premises 40x80 feet in dimensions, and completely equipped 
and appointed in every department for the prompt filling of orders. 
His products include boxes of every description, and for every pur- 
pose, from the delicate artistic article used for the choicest lines of 
bon-bons and French candies, to the more substantial grades of boxes 
adapted to goods of a more cumbersome character. They are made 
of the best and most approved materials, in any form, shape or design, 
furnished in the latest style, and plain or ornamented, as the taste or 
necessity of the trade demands. He employs from twelve to fifteen 
hands, and his trade is in the city and surrounding country. Mr. 
Short is experienced in his range of manufacture, doing superior 
work and selling at low prices, inducements which are appreciated 
by the public and the trade. 

Central Chair Co. — Manufacturers of Cane and Upholstered 
Chairs and Rockers; corner Georgia and Missouri streets. — The 
Central Chair Company, which occupies a leading position in its line 
of industry, was incorporated in 1884, as successor to A. D. Streight, 
who established the business in 1880, and under its present manage- 
ment has been successful from its inception. The present officers 
are: T. L. Thompson, President; C. F. Woerner, \'ice-President, and 
B. F. Schmid, Secretary; gentlemen of large capital, long experience, 
and thoroughly familiar with the requirements of a large trade 
handling their lines exclusively. They occupy a four-story and base- 
ment brick building, 50x180 feet in dimensions, for factory purposes, 
with a two-story warehouse 50x100 feet in size, and a commodious 



lumber-yard containing drying kilns, storage sheds, and other prem- 
ises adjoining. The factory proper is completely equipped wth all 
the requisite carving, turning, planing, and other furniture machinery 
of the latest improved pattern, driven by a powerful engine fed from 
a battery of boilers of the most modern design. They manufacture 
an almost endless variety of cane chairs and rockers, while their 
designs in upholstered furniture are fully as complete and compre- 
hensive, made of the best grades of mahogany, antique oak, cherry, 
walnut, imitation walnut and mahogany, and other hardwoods sus- 
ceptible of the highest polish, and finished in silk, satin, velvet, 
brocatelle and rep. They are in all respects the most perfect in 
their lines offered to the trade, products of superior workmanship and 
durability, and both for use and ornament challenge successful com- 
petition. The company is prepared to fill and ship orders of any 
magnitude to any point in the United States, at low prices and upon 
the most liberal terms; and the high standard of work in which they 
have been so pre-eminently successful has secured a very large and 

early years of the business, two partners, who subsequently retired, 
and he continued alone until January i, 1888, when iVIr. Albert Sahm, 
who had begun with the house in 1874 as apprentice, and later 
became successively bookkeeper and financial manager, was 
admitted to the firm. The warehouse premises comprise a four-story 
and basement building, 60x100 feet in dimensions, at 451 to 455 
North Alabama street. In the rear of this building the firm had a 
four-story and basement factory, running back to 128, 130 and 132 
Fort Wayne avenue, which was burned February 22, 1889, with a loss 
of $22,000, only met by insurance to the amount of $12,000. They at 
once secured temporary manufacturing quarters, and started' to 
rebuild the burned premises, to be used in the future as upholstering 
and finishing shops, which will be comprised in a two-story building, 
60x150 feet in area. At Hanway street, on the J. M. & 1. Railroad, 
they have erected a large factory, under the personal supervision of 
Mr. Stechhan, which is completely equipped with the most modern 
and improved machinery, and affords the firm better facilities than 




profitable trade within the territory between Philadelphia and the 
Mississippi River. They employ 100 operatives and assistants, besides 
four traveling salesmen, and the house has achieved a success and 
reputation enjoyed by very few of its contemporaries in the West. 

Otto Stechhan & Co.— Manufacturers of Lounges, Parlor 
Suites and Reclining Chairs for the Trade Only; Office and Ware- 
room, 451, 453 and 455 North Alabama street.— This important 
manufacturing establishment affords a striking example of the 
rewards which attend patient industry when directed by sagacious 
methods and sound business management. It was started by Mr. 
Otto Stechhan, who began in 1874 in a retail way, afterward adding 
the manufacturing department and himself doing a large portion of 
the work. The production of a superior quality of goods soon secured 
for him a steady expansion of trade which necessitated constant 
additions to the faciUties for manufacture. Mr. Stechhan had, in the 

ever before for carrying on the business upon an extensive scale. 
Employment is given to a force ranging from 125 to 150 hands in the 
manufacture of lounges, parlor suites and reclining chairs, and 
a large business is also done in the production of frames for other 
manufacturers. The firm is favorably known and largely patronized 
by the trade in all parts of the United States and Canada, and a staff 
of four active and competent traveling salesmen is constantly 
employed. Mr. Stechhan is an experienced manufacturer, whose 
thorough and practical knowledge of the business has been a leading 
factor in the success attained by the house, and Mr. Sahm, his 
partner, is a business man of superior attainments who efficiently 
looks after the office and financial affairs of the house. 

R. R. Miles— Manufacturer of Jeans and Cassimere Pants; 79 
South Illinois street.— Mr. Miles engaged in his present line of opera- 
tions during 1884, having, for a period of four years previously, been 



engaged in the dry goods business. In llic spring of 1SR8, the increase 
of trade demanding more commodious accommodations, he removed 
from 20 and 22 North Meridian street to his present location, where 
he occupies premises complete and available in every particular. 
They consist of a three-story and basement building, 20x125 feet, 
equipped with all requisite machinery and appliances and furnished 
with every facility for the exposition of the choice lines of goods 
carried in stock. His specialty is the manufacture to order of jeans 
and cassimcre pants, at prices cheaper than are demanded for the 
same description of materials and articles ready made, and a large 
patronage attests the superior excellence of his output. He also 
manufactures overalls, shirts, drawers, etc., and is prepared to 
promptly fill all orders for these commodities in all sizes and patterns, 
cheaper than they can be obtained elsewhere. In addition to the 
above he handles gents' furnishing goods of every description, includ- 
ing underwear and socks in silk, woolen, flannel, and of lighter 
materials, linen and muslin shirts, neckwear and novelties, imported 
and domestic, in great variety and of the choicest qualities. He 
employs from forty to fifty hands, and does a large trade throughout 
the city and State, in addition to jobbing' extensively among retail 

William Langsenkamp — Manufacturer of Brew Kettles, 
Soda Fountains, I-^tc; 100 South Delaware, corner Georgia street. — 
Mr. Langsenkamp has been engaged in business as a coppersmith 
for a period of twenty-one years, having established himself here in 
1867, since which he has conducted a large and prosperous business, 
and acquired an established reputation for superior workmanship and 
liberal dealing. He occupies the mam floor and basement of prem- 
ises 25x125 feet in size, includuig 
workshops, office and salesrooms, 
each well equipped with all neces- 
sary appliances adapted to the 
busmess. His lines of production 
embrace brew kettles, soda foun- 
tains, false bottoms, beer coolers, 
alcohol stills, columns, gas gener- 
tors, candy kettles, dyers' cylinders, 
vulcanizers, etc., of the best quali- 
ties of material, and made and fin- 
ished in the best manner. He also 
engages extensively in the fitting of 
steam and natural gas pipe in pri- 
vate residences and public build- 
ings, in which he is equally suc- 
cessful, and carries full lines of 
sheet copper and brass, copper and 
brass tubing, and other supplies 
incidental to his lines in chief. He employs a force of from five to 
eight competent operatives and does a large trade in the city and 
State, as also filling orders from portions of Ohio and Illinois, and his 
annual business foots up largely in volume and value. 

John Guedelhoefer — Wagon and Carriage Builder; corner 
Kentucky avenue and Georgia street. — Mr. Guedelhoefer began 
business here during 1875, 'i^ ^ shop but twelve feet square, with 
limited facilities and still more limited resources, but through the 
exercise of industry, enterprise and honorable dealings, his equip- 
ment has been steadily increased, his field of operations been steadily 
extended, and his line of productions augmented in volume and 
value. He now occupies a triangular piece of ground, upon which 
has been erected a blacksmith shop 50x60 feet in dimensions, a 
wagon factory 20x80 feet, and a building 40x100 feet in dimensions, 
occupied by the woodworking, painting and finishing departments, 
also for the storage of stock. He purposes still further increasing 
his facilities, having recently purchased property opposite his present 
site, 40 feet front on Georgia street and 195 feet deep, whereon he 
will immediately erect a fully equipped and completely appointed 
manufactory, provided with all requisite machinery for supplying the 
demand of his large and constantly increasing patronage. He builds 

every description of vehicles, including carriages, buggies, light road 
and delivery wagons, heavy and platform wagons, the finest laundry 
wagons, and the cheapest and best patented butcher wagons in the 
city, as well as heavy, the running gear for threshing machinery, and 
other conveyances adapted to the wants of purchasers, of every 
character and description. Only the best materials arc employed in 
their construction and finish, and when completed, they are models 
of design, durability and skilful workmanship. In addition to his 
manufacture, he does general blacksmithing and horse-shoeing work, 
also job work in painting, repairing and trimming, and executes all 
contracts in these lines, promptly and at the lowest rates. He 
employs a force of twenty experienced hands to keep pace with the 
demands of his large trade in the city and vicinity, and his establish- 
ment is managed bo liberally and with such honorable enterprise as 
to secure for him an invaluable and influential reputation. He 
manufactures the cheapest and best patented butcher wagons in the 

Tinos. J. Hamilton — Manufacturer of Fine Cigars; 52 and 54 
Kentucky avenue. — Mr. Hamilton established his business here in 
1877 and has secured a reputation for pure productions, reasonable 
prices, liberal terms and honorable methods as invaluable as it is 
influential and established. He conducts his business prudently, 
keeping his rents and expenses at a low figure, so as to put money in 
goods, but his premises are equipped with all requisite appliances for 
the speedy and economical manufacture of his lines, all of which are 
favorites and in large demand with the trade. His specialties are 
"La Blonde," " Hambletonian " and "Flora," lo-ccnt cigars; 
"Chance," "Board of Trade," " Little Habana," "Marion County," 
" Indiana Belle," " Home Rule " and other favorite and celebrated 
brands. These are made of the best growth of imported and domestic 
tobaccos, possessing in a marked degree purity, flavor and other 
qualities so indispensable to the requirements of a patronage that is 
both exacting and critical, and are to be obtained in quantities to suit, 
at reasonable prices and upon liberal terms. He also manufactures 
special brands to order for a large trade, employing the same care 
and exercising the greatest degree of protection for the interests of 
his patrons. From thirteen to sixteen assistants and operatives are 
retained in the service by Mr. Hamilton, who is a practical cigar 
manufacturer himself, and does a large trade in the city and sur- 
rounding country, throughout both of which his house is regarded as 
a depot of supply, offering unsurpassed inducements to the trade in 
every particular. 

Indianapolis Planing IVIill Co.— Manufacturers of Doors, 
Window Frames, Etc.; corner Meridian and Wilkins streets. — This 
company was incorporated in January, 1889, as successors to the 
busmess theretofore conducted by the firm of Knickerbocker & 
Noviel, proprietors of the old South Meridian street planing mill, the 
site of which is occupied by the present corporation. The manage- 
ment of the establishment and its operations are directed by an 
executive board, of which William Kraas is President, D. iVIussmann, 
Treasurer, and C. Haupt, Secretary, with Louis F. Burtin, Manager. 
They are men of experience in the business, enterprising in the promo- 
tion of its magnitude and importance, and liberal in their dealings 
with the trade. The planing mill occupies a two-story building, 50x100 
feet in dimensions, and is amply equipped with every facility and 
mechanical appliance for rapid and economical production, including 
planers, edgers, trimmers, re-sawers, tongue and grooving machines, 
etc., driven by an engine of 50-horse power, fed from a battery of 
boilers, 4x16 feet in size. The lumber yard, warehouse for the 
storage of finished materials, dry kilns and other appurtenances 
adjoin the mill, and are adequately provided with conveniences and 
facilities. From thirty to thirty-five hands are employed, and the 
lines of manufacture embrace door and window frames, interior wood 
work, mouldings of every description, also doing scroll and band 
sawing, and dealing extensively in hard and soft wood lumber, rough 
and finished, lath, shingles, etc., with other supplies and sundries for 
building purposes. Their stocks and products are unsurpassed in 
respect to quality and material, specially adapted to the uses for 



which they are designed, and in all respects meeting the requirements 
of the most exacting patronage. They do a large established trade 
in the city and vicinity, principally with contractors and builders, and 
all orders are promptly filled. 

Architectural Iron Works— Frederick Noelke, Proprietor; 
212 to 224 South Pennsylvania street. — This manufacturing establish- 
ment was founded by fToelke & Co., in 1873, the firm becoming 
Noelke, Smalhvood & Co. in 1875, but in the year following, Mr. 
Frederick Noelke became sole owner, and has since continued in thaj 
capacity. He owns and occupies extensive premises, the foundry 

being two stories high, 
108x150 feet in size, and 
amply equipped with the 
machinery and appli- 
ances adapted to his 
varied lines of produc- 
tion, with other conveni- 
ences and appointments 
for the transaction of 
business and the ship- 
ment of orders. His line 
of manufacture embraces jail and court house work, iron trusses, 
girders, columns and lintels, iron beams, stairs, doors and gratings, 
bridge and roof bolts, and all kinds of iron building material. He did 
the iron work on the City Hall and Market House, Catholic Hospital, 
Schniidt's lirewery, and many other public and private buildings in 
Indianapolis and other cities in this and the adjoining States. In all 
of these,'and in all other contracts executed by Mr. Noelke, the best 
qualities of wrought iron are used, and the prices and workmanship 
are such as to increase the value of the establishment as a productive 
enterprise, and Indianapolis as a manufacturing center. He employs 
a force of twenty-five hands, and his trade is in the State in all 

L. W. Ott Manufacturing Co.— \V. F. Kuhn, President; 
F. P. Bailey, Vice-President; A. Kuhn, Secretary and Treasurer; 
Manufacturers of Patent Bed and Single Lounges, Etc.; 109 to 115 
West Morris street.— Among the numerous furniture manufactories 
of Indianapolis, that of the L. W. Ott Manufacturing Co. has a leading 
prominence, earned by the superior quality of its products and the 
extent of its trade. The business was originally established in 1870 by 
the firm of L. W. Ott & Co., of which Mr. W. F. Kuhn was a member, 
an 1 was contmued under that style until early in i88q, when the 
present company was incorporated, with officers as named in the 
headlines of this article. The premises occupied are nearly a block 
in extent, and include the main factory, a two-story brick building, 
100x50 feet in dimensions, a large warehouse, three stories high, 150x50 
feet, lumber yards, etc. The factory premises have a complete 
equipment of the latest and most improved woodworking machin- 
ery, propelled by a 75-horse power engine, fed by two large boilers. 
A force of from 100 to 125 workmen is employed under com- 
petent supervision, and the products include patent bed and single 
lounges, reclining chairs and rockers, and the greatest care is 
taken in the selection of materials and in all the details of manu- 
facture. As a consequence, the goods manufactured by this company 
are unsurpassed in beauty of design, elegance of finish, durability and 
excellence of workmanship, and are in large and steadily growing 
demand in all parts of the Union, and especially in the leading Eastern 
cities. The company is one of ample resources and the most superior 
facilities for the prosecution of its business, and the experienced 
direction of its affairs by competent business men has commended it 
to the favor and confidence of the trade. 

Ballweg & Co.— Manufacturers of Wooden Boxes, Etc.; Wil- 
kins street and Pogue's Run. — This firm, which is composed of Messrs. 
F. W. Ballweg and William Blizard, established in business about 
seven years ago, and have since actively conducted it with a grati- 
fying and continually increasing success. They have built up a 
large demand for their products in packing boxes, crates and shooks, 

which they sell in large quantities to pork packers, egg and poultry 
shippers, and to manufacturers of soap and other articles, numbering 
among their customers many of the leading manufacturers and 
shippers of the city and its vicinity. They make boxes to order of 
any desired size, and to suit the requirements of any character of 
business, and their goods are always acceptable, being made in a 
workmanlike manner and promptly delivered. For the prosecution of 
this business, the firm has every convenience and facility, having an 
extensive plant, covering two and one-half acres of ground, upon 
which is located their extensive lumber yards and their mill, the latter 
a two-story building 70x175 feet in dimensions. The mill is equipped 
with a complete outfit of machinery, including a 6o-horse power engine, 
two large boilers, a large Stuyvesant blower, large planers, re-saws 
and all the necessary machinery aiid appliances for the efficient 
prosecution of the business, in which a force of from fifty to sixty 
workmen are engaged. The members of the firm arc thoroughly 
practical and experienced men, who by close attention to every detail 
of the business and reliability in all their transactions have steadily 
added to their trade from year to year. 

TIlOS. H. Cage — Electrician; Dealer in Electric Bells, Burglar 
Alarms, Etc.; 27 Circle street. — Thos. H. Gage, a practical electrician, 
experienced and expert in the application of that science, established 
himself in Indianapolis during June, 1888. He occupies premises 
divided into office and salesroom, with accommodations also for 
workroom purposes, and his output embraces electrical instru- 
ments and appointments of every character and description, such as 
electric bells, burglar alarms, electric gas lighting, electric tube 
speaking systems, etc., also promptly and neatly repairing all work in 
his line, but making new work a specialty. Among his latest profes- 
sional success was the equipment of the Terre Haute House, of Terre 
Haute, this State, with bells, annunciators, and other electric apparatus, 
a work that has received the highest commendation. In addition to 
to this, he has furnished residences and public buildings here and 
elsewhere with appliances in his lines, with equal satisfaction to those 
who availed themselves of his services. 

T. B. Laycock & Co. — Manufacturers of Spring Beds, Cots, 
Etc.; corner of First street and Canal. — This firm, which is composed 
of Thomas B. Laycock, W. H. Laycock and Irwin M. Dean, was 
organized in 1885, and their operations have grown in magnitude and 
importance from their inception. They occupy a three-story and 
basement building, 32x90 feet in dimensions, with an annex, used for 
engine and boiler house purposes, also brick dry house, lumber yard, 
etc. The premises are well fitted up and arranged for business, and 
equipped with the latest machinery and appliances. During October, 
1887, the plant was destroyed by fire, and the present structure imme- 


m\\ — 

f !«1i»i n* « (fir iff 

diately erected upon the ruins of that previously occupied, and was 
completed with special reference to the business in its furnishings and 
appointments, with results apparent in its arrangements and outfit. 
Their lines of manufacture embrace spring beds of all kinds, woven 



wire mattresses, cots and children's foldinj:^ cribs, bed, lounge and 
machine springs, also springs for iipliolstering, cots, etc., of the best 
qualities of material, in all respects adequate to the requirements of 
the service for which they are designed, and enjoying a reputation for 
handsome finish, wonderful durability, etc., not surpassed by compet- 
ing houses in the country. They are prepared to fill orders promptly 
and satisfactorily, and to ship consignments securely packed against 
danger of damage in transit. A force of from thirty-five to forty 
experienced hands are employed, and a large and steadily increasing 
trade is served throughout Indiana, Illinois, Ohio and Kentucky, as 
also in the southern States to New Orleans, and the southeastern 
States to Baltimore. The members of the firm manage their estab- 
lishment with characteristic enterprise and liberality, and no kindred 
industry in the country has pursued a more honorable and successful 

Klee & Coleman — Manufacturers of Mineral Waters; 227 
and 22g South Delaware street. — The largest establishment for the 
manufacture of soft drinks in Indianapolis is owned by the firm of 
Klee & Coleman, and managed by W. H. Miller. The firm is com- 
posed of J. Klee and H. Coleman, and was organized in 1879. Both 
members are residents of Dayton, O., where Mr. Klee is similarly 

engaged and Mr. Coleman conducts extensive operations in lumber 
and lumber products. They occupy premises erected by them and 
under their personal direction at a large outlay, and into which they 
moved January i, 1888, from the building they had for eight years 
previously occupied, on Delaware street, opposite their present site. 
They are of brick, three stories in height, 44x130 feet in dimensions, 
and equipped with generators for making carbonic acid gas, and 
other mechanical appliances, driven by a steam engine of 25-horse 
power. The building is also furnished with all modern conveniences 
and facilities for storage and shipping purposes, and is one of the 
most completely appointed establishments of its kind in the North- 
west. They employ seventeen hands, and their annual output 
embraces 25.000 boxes of soda water, ig,ooo dozen bottles of ginger 
ale and 10,000 dozen bottles of sparkling champagne cider, which are 
disposed of to the trade in the city and throughout the State. They 
are also prepared to charge portable fountains and have fountains to 
lease during the season. W. H. Miller has entire control of the 
business here, having been with the company for many years. 

J. C. Hirschman & Co.— Manufacturers of Mattresses and 
Comforts; 173 East Washington street. — This business, established 
by Mr. Hirschman in 1876, has achieved success as the result of 
enterprise and first-class work, and is continually augmenting in 
extent and value. Their retail department is located in the most 
convenient portion of the city, the factory being at the northwest 
corner of New Jersey and Wabash streets. The former is 25x100 
feet in dimensions, and the latter sufficiently commodious for the 

purposes to which it is appropriated. Both are equipped with all 
modern conveniences and appliances requisite to the service, and 
provided with facilities adapted to their several needs. Their range 
of manufacture embraces spring, hair and moss mattresses, pillows 
comforts and other articles appertaining to each of these special 
lines. None but the best and most durable materials are employed, 
and only the most skillful and experiencec^ workmen are employed. 
The result is an article promotive of comfort and embodying the 
highest class of workmanship. They also deal in feathers, perfectly 
cured and ready for immediate use, and bedding of attractive pattern 
and reliable quality. The firm owns and operates the Electric Feather 
Renovating Machine, the latest invention of its kind, and by far the 
best machine in the country for its purpose. They do a very large 
retail trade in the city and surrounding country, besides jobbing 
extensively throughout Indiana, Illinois and Ohio, and the house is 
well known and esteemed for the value of its products and its equit- 
able business methods. 

Frederick DIetz— Indianapolis Box Factory; Manufacturer of 
All Kinds of Wooden Boxes to Order; Madison avenue, south end 
of Delaware street. — This enterprise was established in i86g by Mr. 
Frederick Dietz, who two years later built his present works. The 
plant covers three and one-half acres, the factory being a three-story 
and basement brick building, 100x60 feet in dimensions, equipped 
with a loo-horse power engine, three large boilers, and a complete 
equipment of the latest and most highly improved woodworking 
machinery. Employment is given to a force ranging from sixty to 
seventy hands, and every description of wooden boxes for all purposes 
and in all sizes are made. Mr. Dietz enjoys a large trade with the 
manufacturing and shipping firms of the city and the State of Indiana. 
The boxes made at this factory are justly celebrated for their superior 
quality of materials and workmanship, and their durability, and the 
first-class facilities enjoyed enable Mr. Dietz to fill orders in a prompt 
and satisfactory manner He is a thoroughly practical and experienced 
man, carefully selects all materials, maintains a close supervision 
over all of the operations of his factory, and has by uniformly fair and 
accurate dealings earned the favor and confidence of all with whom 
he has business transactions. 

F. M. Rottler — Manufacturer Harness, Saddlery and Turf 
Goods; 18 North Delaware street. — Mr. F. M. Rottler has been 
engaged in the manufacture of fine harness and turf goods in this city 
for the past eleven years, having commenced operations here in 1878. 
He occupies a three-story and basement building, 25x100 feet, and 
carries the largest and most complete stock in his lines of any house 
in Indianapolis. The premises are handsomely fitted up with fine 
walnut wall cases and other facilities for a comprehensive display of 
his products, also containing a well equipped workshop, office and 
salesrooms. His specialties are fine hand-made turf goods of every 
description. They embrace light driving harness, racing saddles and 
bridles, horse boots and clothing generally, for which he receives 
orders from turfmen in all parts of the United States. They are 
made of the best qualities of material in the most secure and substan- 
tia' manner. He also carries good stocks of fine carriage and buggy 
harness, saddles, bridles, whips, blankets, robes, and stable sundries 
in great variety. He employs from seven to ten experienced and 
competent assistants, and does a large trade throughout the city and 
surrounding country, the demands for his specialties, however, pro- 
ceeding from all the leading cities in the Union. 

Healy & O'Brien — Dealers in Plumbers', Gas and Steam- 
fitters' Supplies; 57 West Maryland street. — This firm, consisting of 
James M. Healy and Michael O'Brien, was organized in March, i888, 
as successors to James M. Healy, the senior partner, who established 
the business during 1874. They are desirably located, and occupy 
a two-story and basement building 25x100 feet in dimensions, and 
amply equipped with room for the sole display and storage of their 
large lines of stock. They are contractors, on an extensive scale, for 
all kinds of steam heating, natural and artificial gas-fitting, fine sani- 
tary plumbing and sewerage work. In these branches of their trade 



they are experienced, proficient and thoroughly familiar with the 
scientific principles necessary to first-class and successful work, 
without which no job can stand the test of time or survive. They 
hire none but competent workmen, guaranteeing satisfaction in all 
particulars, also furnishing estimates and soliciting orders, with 
assurances of their speedy and substantial completion. They also 
carry full lines of gas fixtures in original and artistic designs, and 
gas-fitters' supplies and specialties con- 
nected with the adaptation of residences 
and public buildings to the utilization of 
natural gas for lighting, heating and domes- 
tic purposes. Their stocks are composed 
of the best quality of materials, and their 
facilities are such that all orders will receive 
immediate attention. They have done the 
plumbing, steam and gas-fitting in many 
of the largest establishments in Indian- 
apolis, notably the new St. Vincent Infirm- 
ary, and elsewhere in the State, displaying 
in all of these a quality of skill and famili- 
arity with the requirements of the service 
that has commended them to an increased 
patronage and extended reputation. They 
employ a force of twenty skilled workmen 
and respond to a large demand in the city 
and throughout the surrounding country. 

A. A. McKain — Granite Dealer, 32 
Massachusetts avenue.-— The illustration on 
this page of the Colfax monument shows 
• one of the handsomest ornaments of the 
city. The monument was erected by the 
I. 0.0. F. and The Daughters of Rebekah. 
The designer and contractor, A. A. McKain, 
33 Massachusetts avenue, is the builder of 
many fine monuments throughout the middle 
Western States. It is not too much to say 
that no other man has built so many large 
and excellent monuments in the State of 
Indiana. The character of the work done 
by him is shown by the fact that the well- 
known New England Granite Company has 
given Mr. McKain exclusive control of 
their celebrated white Westerly granite in 
his territory. Those who are acquainted 
with this granite will need no further recom- 
mendation of any one who supplies it. 

Gem Steam Laundry — The Pioneer Laundry of Indiana- 
polis; Main Office, 13 North Illinois street; Steam Works, 38 and 40 
Kentucky avenue; W. H. Reed, Proprietor.— Cleanliness being the 
companion of godliness, Indianapolis is well provided with agencies 
tending to not only maintain, but to confirm and strengthen that rela- 
tion. Among those leading in such behalf is the Gem Steam Laundry, 
estabhshed in 1877 by the present proprietor, who started it originally 
as a necessary adjunct to his custom shirt factory. It has become 

one of the largest steam laundries in the State, employing steadily 
twenty-five to thirty hands. The appointments of the laundry are all 
of a superior kind, including all the latest and most approved 
machinery, and in this respect, unsurpassed. The Gem Steam Laundry 
is the only laundry in the city or State which can claim for the benefit 
of its patrons the use of soft fiftered rain water, having three large 
cisterns, with an aggregate capacity of 800 barrels, the most assuring 
thing of good work, and especially in washing 
flannels it is essential. It is this fact which 
has given the Gem Laundry its high and 
merited reputation throughout the city for 
the highest order of laundry work. Con- 
nected with the establishment is a depart- 
ment devoted exclusively to the doing up of 
lace curtains, under the superintendence of 
an experienced lady dresser of lace curtains. 

The Palace Shirt Factory — 

Walsman & Roll, Proprietors; 13 North 
Illinois street, opposite Bates House. — The 
firm of Walsman & Roll, composed of E. F. 
Walsman and E. P. Roll, proprietors of the 
Palace Shirt Factory, was organized in Jan- 
uary, 1889, and succeeded to the business 
formerly carried on by Willoughby H. Reed, 
with whom Mr. Walsman had been engaged 
for sixteen years previous. The house is 
one of the most select in every respect in its 
lines in the city. They are located as above, 
an unsurpassed site, being on one of the 
leading retail thoroughfares, directly oppo- 
site the Bates House, and otherwise advan- 
tageous and available. The premises 
occupied are most attractively arranged and 
appointed for the handsome and complete 
display of their choice lines of goods, being 
light, roomy and neatly finished. Their 
specialty is the manufacture of fine dress 
shirts exclusively to order, in which they 
employ the finest materials and turn out a 
line of products that for fit, finish, appear- 
ance and superior workmanship are 
unrivaled. They carry full lines of the 
same character, also gents' furnishing goods 
in great variety, made up of underwear in 
silk, balbriggan, woolen, flannel, lisle thread 
and linen, hose of imported and domestic 
manufacture, collars, cuffs, neck-wear, 
gloves, canes, umbrellas, foreign novelties, etc., in the latest styles, 
adapted to any service, social or ordinary. All in all, they are 
exceptionally prepared to meet the demands of the high class 
patronage to which they cater, and their prices are so reasonable and 
satisfactory, that they furnish inducements of a superior character to 
customers. They do a steadily increasing local and transient trade, 
and the house is rapidly acquiring a reputation resting upon a basis 
of absolute merit. 


THE net revenue of the Indianapolis postoffice for the year 1888 
was gi6o,ooo; the receipts for the first quarter of 1889 were 
§50,000 in round numbers. Forty-six carriers were employed 
during 1888, a total of 152 collection and 117 delivery trips were made 
daily and 11,040,000 pieces of mail matter handled. The money order 

business amounted to §1,316,343.44; of which $278,303.03 was received 
for orders issued, and $1,038,040.41 was paid out on orders received. 
There are 244 letter-boxes distributed throughout the city and among 
the hotels, and four delivery and collection trips are made daily in 
the business centers, and two each in the outskirts. 





NDIANAPOLIS is eminently a city of social attractions. 
Education, refinement and intelligence rather than 
wealth or lineage are made the conditions precedent 
to recognition, and the observance of this rule has been 
attended with the most gratifying results. Though 
cosmopolitan, Indianapolis is not a city of clubs, and beyond a limited 
number of social organizations of an exclusively private character 
there are none to speak of except the Athletic, Caledonian and Chess 
clubs, each of which includes a large membership upon its rolls. 
Social amenities universally prevail, however, among all classes, both 
of American and foreign^nationality, and the opportunities for social 
hospitality are available throughout the year. Aside from these the 
secret, military and benevolent organizations, musical associations 
and other societies for purposes of intellectual and social develop- 
ment are numerously represented and well sustained. The Masonic 
fraternity is represented by eight Blue lodges, two lodges of Royal 
Arch Masons, one council of Royal and Select Masters, one con- 
sistory, one commandery, one lodge of Perfection, one chapter of 
Rose Croix and one council of the Prince of Jerusalem. In addition 
to these there are seven lodges of colored Masons. There are eleven 

lodges and three encampments of Odd Fellows, also six colored 
lodges; of the Order of Chosen Friends there are eleven councils, one 
supreme council, one grand council and one benefit league; three 
divisions of the Ancient Order of Hibernians; four lodges of the United 
Workmen; one of Elks; six of Druids; one council and four tribes 
of Red Men; three castles of the Knights and Ladies of the Golden 
Rule; one supreme lodge and four subordinate lodges of the Knights 
of Honor; one supreme and ten subordinate lodges of Knights and 
Ladies of Honor; fifteen lodges of Knights of Pythias; three com- 
manderies of the Knights and Ladies of Universal Brotherhood; one 
lodge each of the order of Golden Chain and Golden Shore; eight 
branches of the Iron Hall; one lodge of the Order of Pente; one 
grand council and four subordinate councils of the Royal Arcanum; 
one supreme lodge and five subordinate lodges of the Secret League; 
nine lodges, one of which is colored, of the Linited Brothers of Friend- 
ship; one camp of the Grand Army of Fraternity; eight posts of the 
Grand Army of the Republic; fifty-one labor organizations; four 
Hebrew societies; nine medical societies; nine musical societies; eight 
bands of music; eight military companies and seventy-eight miscel- 
laneous societies. 

Indianapolis Board of Trade. 

HE business community of Indianapolis has recognized 
the influence exerted by organized effort in the pro- 
motion of facilities for commerce and the expansion 
of the trade of the city. This recognition has been 
evinced in the creation, from time to time, of numerous 
organizations, some of them intended to regulate or benefit specified 
industries, while others have occupied a more extended field, and 
devoted themselves to the augmentation of the business interests of 
the city. Some of the earlier efforts in this direction were weakly 
sustained, but they served to emphasize the needs of the business 
world, and have culminated in the successful and influential associa- 
tion known as the Indianapolis Board of Trade. 

The origin of this 
business organization 
dates back to 1864, 
when, after prelimi- 
nary meetings, T. B. 
Elliott, now deceased, 
was elected the first 
President, serving in 
that capacity for three 
years. Under that 
organization the 
Chamber of Com- 
merce building was 
■erected in 1874, a des- 
cription of which will 
be found elsewhere 
in this volume. On 
June 9, 1882, the Board 
of Trade was re-organ- 
ized, Mr. F. P. Rush 
becoming the first 
President under the 
new charter, and at 
that time all the com- 
mercial organizations 
then existing in the 
city were consolidated 
with it. The member- 
ship of the board, 
which is limited to 
500 persons, is made 
up of leading men of 
all the commercial, 
manufacturing, pro- 
fessional and business 

pursuits of the city, and also includes a number of business men 
residents of other places in the State of Indiana. The objects of 


the organization include not only the ordinary features of a Board 
of Trade proper, but also embrace the general promotion of the 
commercial and manufacturing interests of the city of Indianapolis, 
and the dissemination of information as to resources and conditions 
which may tend to exhibit and make prominent the business advan- 
tages of the city. 

Mortuary benefits are paid to the heirs of deceased members of 
the Board, each member paying $2.00 on each death, and the member- 
ship is confined to active, healthy business men under sixty years of 
age. The membership fee is $15.00 per year. 

All inquiries in reference to the advantages afforded to new 
manufacturing establishments seeking a location, addressed to 

"The Indianapolis 
Board of Trade, Indi- 
anapolis, Ind.," are re- 
ferred to the commit- 
tee appointed for that 
purpose, and receive 
prompt attention. 

The Board, in its 
endeavors to promote 
the business interests 
of the city, has pursued 
measures of the utmost 
importance toward 
securing an augmen- 
tation of the produc- 
tive industries of the 
city. It has given cor- 
dial support to the pro- 
ject for assuring to 
manufacturing enter- 
prises the benefit of 
free gas for fuel, and 
otherwise promoted 
organized measures in 
behalf of Indianapolis. 
The organization 
publishes reports 
showing the volume 
and growth of the busi- 
ness of the city, which 
contain valuable infor- 
mation in regard to the 
advantages of the city 
as a place of business 
or residence. 
The following is a list, corrected to date, of the officers, Board of 
Governors and members of the Board of Trade: 

Wm. Scott, President; Geo. G. Tanner, Vice-President; D. A. Richardson, Treasurer; Arthur Gillet, Secretary. 

W. D. Wiles, 
W. H. Cooper, 
S. F. Gray, 
J. F. Wallick, 
W. F. Piel, Jr., 
A. A. Barnes, 
Chas. E. Hall, 

J. A. Wildman, 
J. F. Pratt, 
Geo. F. Branham, 
A. H. Schwinge, 
C. W. Blackmore, 
E. B. Martindale, 
S. K. Fletcher, 


J. B. Connor, 
E. C. Atkins, 
V. K. Hendricks, 
R. S. Foster, 
W. L. Elder, 
Albert Baker, 

P. F. Bryce, 

Geo. E. Townley, 
C. E. Cofifin, 
N. S. Byram, 
Geo. W. Sloan, 
S. F. Robinson, 
S. T. Bowen, 
E. H. Eldridge. 

Geo. S. Brecount, 
J. W. Murphy, 
Geo. C. Webster. Jr., 
Arthur Jordan, 
Jno. W. Schmidt, 
M. A. Woollen, 

J. M. Shaw, 

C. C. Foster. 
J. R. Ross, 

J. H. Holliday, 
Eh Lilly, 

D. P. Erwin. 




Adams, H. C. 
Adams, J. C. 
Alexander, J. D. 
Andrews, L. N. 
Appel, J. J. 
Applegate, Berg 
Atkins, E. C. 
Ayres, L. S. 
Bachman, V. 
Baker, Albert 
Baker, A. R. 
Bat^gs, Frederick 
Baird, William 
Baldwin, Silas 
Ballard, Addison 
Bals, H. C. G. 
Barnes, A. A. 
Barrows, \V. F. 
Bassett, Thomas M. 
Bates, Hervey 
Bates, Hervey Jr. 
Beck, George C. 
Becker, Jacob 
Bennett, M. H. 
Bennett. Wm. H. 
Berner, Frederick 
Bieler, Jacob L. 
Bird, Frank 
Blackmore, C. \V. 
Blackmore, D. 
Blake, John G. 
Blanchard, F. A. 
Blanton, L. H. 
Blessing, John 
Bond, James M. 
Bowen, Sdas T. 
Bovd, John M. 
Bradburv, D. M. 
Bradshaw-, J. M. 
Branch, E. F. 
Branham, G. F. 
Brecount, G. S. 
Brink, Christian A. 
Brown, James D. 
Bruner, August 
Brush, George E. 
Brush, John T. 
Bryan, D. C. 
Bryan, J. W. 
Bryce, Peter F. 
Buddenbaum, J. A 
Buell, Salmon A. 
Burford, Wm. B. 
Busch, A. H. 
Bybee, Addison 
Byram, Norman S. 
Callender, C. W. 
Carey, H. G. 
Carey, S. B. 
Carnahan, J. R. 
Carr, Bruce 
Carriger, John J. 
Carter, John 
Cathcart, R. W. 
Caven, John 
Charlton, T. J. 
Cherry, Andrew O. 
Christman, F. 
Cilley, Henry 
Coburn, Henry 
Coffin, Charles E. 
Coffin, David W. 
Colgan, C. J. 
Conde, Henry T. 
Conden, H. C. 
Cones. C. B. 
Connor, John B. 
Cook, Ralph J. 
Cooper, W. D. 
Cooper, W. H. 
Cooper, John J. 

Cornelius, E. G. 
Couch, R. D. 
Cullen, Terry J. 
Culpeper, C. E. 
Cunningham, N. T. 
Cutsinger, Edward 
Cutter, Charles L. 
Daggett, William 
Daily, Milton 
Davidson, J. M. 
Davis, F. A. W. 
Day, Samuel D. 
Day, Thomas C. 
Dean, John C. 
Denny, Caleb S. 
Dessar, Lewis 
Dietz, Frederick 
Donough, D. R. 
Dreher, Matthias 
Drew, L. W. 
Dunn, Edward 
Duy, George C. 
Dyer, Sidney M. 
Eagle, John D. 
Eagle, John H. 
Eagle, Wm. O. 
Eastman, W. N. 
Eden, Charlton 
Eitel, H. _ • 

Egan, Edward C. 
Elder, Wm. L. 
Eldridge, E. H. 
Eldridge, G. O. 
Elliott, E. C. 
Elliott, N. K. 
Erdelmeyer, F. 
Ervin, Rice 
Erwin, D. P. 
Evans, George T. 
Evans, J. L. 
Evans, Joseph R. 
Evans, Wilham R. 
Ewan, John O. 
Fahnley, F. 
Fahreon, J. G. 
Ferger, Chas. 
Finney, Jasper 
Fishback, W. P. 
Flanner, Frank W. 
Fletcher, Allen M. 
Fletcher, S. A. 
Fletcher, S. J. 
Fletcher, S. K. 
Folsom, David K. 
Foltz, Howard M. 
Foster, Chapin C. 
Foster, Robert S. 
Fox, Jacob 
Frank, Henry 
Eraser, Henry S. 
Eraser, S. D. 
Frenzel, John P. 
Frenzel, Otto N. 
Friedgen, C. 
Fugate, James L. 
Gable, L. A. 
Gall, Albert 
Gall, Edmund F. 
Gallup, W. P. 
Gardner, A. J. 
Gates, Alfred B. 
Gates, Austin B. 
Gent, J. F. 
Gilbreath, John S. 
Gillet, Arthur 
Golt, W. F. C. 
Goodhart, B. F. 
Gordon, Irving S. 
Gramling, Peter 
Gray, Samuel F. 
Gregory, Fred A. 

Griffith, T. E. 
Griffith, W. H. 
Griffith, W. C. 
Grubb, David 
Hagen, Andrew 
Halford, A. J. 
Hall, Charles E. 
Hall, Will C. 
Hanna, H. H. 
Harris, J. E. 
Harris, P. O. 
Hasselman, O. H. 
Hasselman, W. J. 
Hasson, Jaines 
Hauieson, W. 
Haugh, B. F. 
Hawkins, Edward 
Hawkins, R. O. 
Hayes, Thomas 
Haynes, G. V. 
Hays, F. W. 
Hays, Hamilton 
Heady, Charles W. 
Hedges, Isaac 
Flendricks, V. K. 
Henderson, C. E. 
Henderson, W. 
Hereth, Ad. 
Hendricks, J. B. 
Hetherington, B. F. 
Heywood, J. B. 
Hibbard, H. W. 
Hickman, Clark 
Higgins, John 
Higgins, W. L. 
Hildebrand, J. S. 
Hinsdale, D. C. 
Hogle, A. P. 
Hollenbeck, C. E. 
HoUiday, F. T. 
Holliday, John H. 
HoUiday, Wm. J. 
Hollweg, Louis 
Holman, John A. 
Holton, W. B. 
Hopkins, L. C. 
Howard, Geo. P. 
Howlett, E. C. 
Huey, M. S. 
Hunt, P. G. C. 
Hunter, W. G. 
Hutchins, H. H. 
Ijams, William P. 
Irwin, Robert H. 
Janes, Frank E. 
Jeger, Rodney 
Johnston, G. W. 
Johnston, John F. 
Johnston, W. W., Sr. 
Jones, John W. 
Jordan, Arthur 
Judson, F. R. 
Kennedv, Geo. W. 
Kerr, C B. 
Kiemyer, William 
Kingsbury, J. G. 
Kinney, Horace E. 
Kipp, Nathan H. 
Kipp, Robert 
Koerner, C. C. 
Krauss, Paul H. 
Kurtz, William E. 
Laird, William H. 
Lamb, Robert N. 
Landers, Franklin 
Landis, Milton M. 
Layman, James T. 
Lazarus, John S. 
Lee, H. H. 
Leiter, William J. 
Leonard, John R. 

Lewis, William H. 
Lewis, Charles S. 
Lieber, Herman 
Lieber, Peter 
Lilly, EU 
Lilly, George 
Lilly, James W. 
Lindeman, Frank 
Lynn, William C. 
Lyon, William W. 
MacCurdy, W.W. H. 
Maguire, Charles 
Malott, Volney T. 
Marcy, Wm. t. 
Marti'ndale, E. B. 
Maus, Frank A. 
Mayer, Charles 
Mayfield, G. E. 
Mella, Gustav 
Mendenhall, J. F. 
Merritt, Worth 
Merz, Fred 
Metzger, A. 
Metzger, Jacob 
Meyer, August B. 
Meyer, Adolph J. 
Meyer, Charles F. 
Middlesworth, W. 
Miller, Enrique C. 
Miner, Willis R. 
Minor, B. B. 
Mooney, Edmund 
Mooney, Thomas 
Mooney, W. A. 
Moore, Geo. W. 
Moore, John 
Moore, John L. 
Moore, Joseph A. 
Morris, Nathan 
Morris, S. B. 
Morrison, A. F. 
Morrison, J. A. 
Morrison, Wm. H. 
Mulleney, P. J. 
Mummenhoff, F. 
Munson, E. A. 
Murphy, John W. 
Murphy, A. W. 
Myers, J. D. 
McBride, F. A. 
McCarty, Nicholas 
McCIeary, A. M. 
McCormick,A. F. 
McCrea, Wm. W. 
McCrea, Rollin H. 
McCutcheon, J. C. 
McGaughey, J. E. 
McGett'igan, J. E. 
Mclntyre, T. A. 
McKam, Arthur A. 
McKee, Jas. R. 
McLain, Moses G. 
McLeod, A. D. 
McLeod, A. H. 
Newcomer, E. S. 
Nickum, John R. 
Nordyke, A. H. 
Osterman, John 
Over, Ewald 
Parmelee, Wm. H. 
Parrott, Horace 
Pattison, A. E. 
Peelle, Stanton J. 
Pendleton, A. D. 
Pendleton, R. C. J. 
Perkins, J. A. 
Perry, John C. 
Phillips, Samuel G. 
Pickens, Samuel O. 
Piel, Henry W. 
Piel, Wm. F. Jr. 

Pierce, Charles C. 
Plowman, E. L. 
Porter, E. B. 
Potter, M. A. 
Pottlitzer, Leo. 
Potts, Alfred F. 
Pratt, Julius F. 
Pray, Enos E. 
Pray, Samuel D. 
Pray, William 
Ranck, David H. 
Randolph, F. 
Ransdell, D. M. 
Raschig, C. M. 
Ray, John W. 
Reasner, Wm. F. 
Reaume, John A. 
Recker, G. J. 
Reeves, Edward 
Rehm, George H. 
Reynolds, Frank 
Rhodes, Wm. A. 
Richards, Wm. J. 
Richardson, D. A. 
Richardson, J. B. 
Richardson, W. P. 
Rivers, Walter 
Robbins, Irvin 
Robinson, Samuel 
Robinson, S. F. 
Root, G. R. 
Root, O. H. 
Ross, James R. 
Rouse, R. R. 
Rouse, Thos. 
Routier, P. 
Rowe, S. P. 
Runnels, O. S. 
Rush, T^red. P. 
Ryan, H. B. 
Ryan, J. R. 
Sander, Theodore 
Sanders, J. E. 
Sayles, C. F. 
Schaffner, John 
Schleicher, A. 
Schmallholz, C. 
Schmidt, J. W. 
Schmidt, Lorenz 
Schmidt, Wm. H. 
Schmuck, G. 
Schnull, H. 
SchnuU, G. A. 
Scholl, Charles 
Schrader, C. 
Schurman, Edw. 
Schwabacher, J. 
Schwinge, A. H. 
Scott, Robert F. 
Scott, Wm. 
.Sellers, Daniel 
Sells, Michael 
Schaffer, J. C. 
Shartle, Ellis Y. 
Shaw, John M. 
Sheerin, S. P. 
Shepard, C. F. 
Shepard, S. M. 
Sherman, W. G. 
Shideler, D. B. 
Shideler, J. E. 
Shiel, Roger R. 
Shotwell,"C. A. 
Shreve, J. H. 
Sklovver, H. E. 
Sloan, George W. 
Sloane, E. W. 
Small, W. H. 
Smith, Arza 
Smith, A. H. 
Smitn, H. B. 

Smith, J. W. 
Smiley, Z. T. 
Smythe, Wm. H. 
Snider, Geo. W. 
Snyder, D. E. 
Sohl, Alfred J. 
Sohl, Levi 
Spahr, F. L. 
Spotts, Wm. 
Stalnaker, F. D. 
.Stanberry, J. V. 
.Stewart, D. 
Stewart, J. H. 
Stiles, H. G. 
Stone, Thos. B. 
Story, J. M. 
Stout, G. W. 
Sullivan, W. A. 
Sullivan, G. R. 
Swain, David 
Sweet, S. B. 
Syfers, Rufus K. 
Syerup, Charles 
Taggart, Thos. 
Talbot, R. L. 
Tanner, G. G. 
Taylor, Major 
Thale, Henry H. 
Thalman, Isaac 
Thomas, Richard 
Thompson, G. B. 
Thompson, I. M. 
Thompson. J. W. 
Thoms, Fred. 
Thomson, A. W. 
Thomson, J. 
Townley, G. E. 
Treat, A. J. 
Van Camp, C. 
Van Camp, E. 
Van Camp, G. C. 
Van Deinse, A. J. 
Van Tilburgh, J. B. 
Van Winkle, J. Q. 
Walcott, C. H. 
Walk, J. C. 
Walker, L. C. 
Wallick, J. F. 
Walton, A. G. 
Ward, Boswell 
Wardwell, H. L. 
Warman, E. 
Warren, G. S. 
Wasson, H. P. 
W'asson, W. G. 
Watson, M. D. 
Weaver, O. D. 
Webster, G. C. 
Webster, G. C, Jr. 
Wells, Andrew J. 
Wells, Merrit 
Whistler, J. i\I. 
Whitcomb, D. F. 
White, A. R. 
White, Thos. 
Wildman, J. A. 
Wiles, Wm. D. 
Wilkins, Wm. 
Wilkinson, E. N. 
Williams, E. L. 
Wilson, S. B. 
Winslow, W. W. 
Witt, B. F. 
Wocher, John Jr. 
Wood, Ford 
Woodward, \'. W. 
Woollen, M. A. 
Wright, John C. 
Zimmerman C. 
Zimmerman, J. 



Wm, Scott & Co. — Grain Dealers; Board of Trade building. 
— One of the leading and representative houses in this city engaged 
in the purchase of grain for shipment to the Eastern and European 
markets is that of William Scott & Co. It was established by William 
Scott in 1870, and by him directed until 1883, when he was joined by 
Robert F. Scott, his brother, and the present firm was organized. 
They have every facility for the conduct of their business upon the 
largest scale. Their range of operation includes the purchase in 
large, round car-load lots, throughout Indiana, Illinois, Minnesota, 
and other western and northwestern States, of wheat, rye, oats, corn, 
barley, clover and timothy seed, and other cereals for direct shipment 
to the seaboard. They own and manage an elevator of considerable 
capacity at Monon, the crossing of the Louisville, New Albany & 
Chicago, Indianapolis & Chicago, and other important railways. 
They have direct wire connection with the leading markets of the 
United States; also correspondents in all prominent cities, and are 
everywhere known as representatives of a house of established relia- 
bility and prestige. The members of the firm are also members of 
the Board of Trade, of which Mr. William Scott, the senior partner, 
is President. 

Chas. A. Shotwell — Shipping Grain, Flour and Feed and 
Brokerage; Room 18, Board of Trade. — Chas. A. Shotwell, exten- 
sively engaged in the purchase of grain, flour and feed for shipment, 
and doing an equally extensive line of operations in the capacity of 
broker, became established here in 1879, and has built up a large and 
steadily increasing trade. He occupies a commodious and well 
equipped office, and being a member of the Board of Trade, 
also having important connections at all the leading depots of supply 
to which he makes consignments, enjoys unusual facilities for the 
successful and profitable conduct of his lines of business. He 
purchases grain, flour, feed, etc., throughout the West, also on the 
Board here, shipping east and south in car-load lots, and the resources 
of the house are such that he is enabled to fill the largest orders with 
promptness and accuracy. He also buys and sells on account of 
customers in large quantities and is prepared to do a general broker- 
age business, and makes advances on consignments. Mr. Shotwell 
gives his personal attention to the business, and has achieved success 
as the result of honorable methods and liberal management. 

Minor & Cooper — Grain Dealers and Commission Merchants; 
Room 17, Chamber of Commerce. — This firm, organized in 1885, 's 
composed of B. B. Minor and W. H. Cooper. Both members have 
had large and extended experience, Mr. Minor having been a promi- 
nent grain merchant at Effingham, 111., for nearly twenty years, and 
Mr. Cooper was similarly engaged for about the same length of time 
in this city. They occupy spacious offices, handsomely fitted up and 
provided with every facility and accommodation for the transaction 
of business, as also with every appointment to enable them to keep 
pace with the fluctuations of the markets and the movements of grain, 
feed and other commodities, to the purchase and sale of which they 
devote their attention. They buy very largely on their own account 
and to order, securing their stocks in Indiana and throughout other 
States in the West and Northwest, in car-load lots exclusively, and 
shipping in bulk only, to the depots of supply for the Eastern and 
Southern markets. Messrs. Minor & Cooper are members of the 
Board of Trade, and are prepared to give immediate attention to the 
execution of orders. Their house is prominent for the honorable 
methods which characterize its operations. 

Fred P. Rush & Co. — Grain Dealers and Brokers, Proprietors 
of Elevator "B"; 10, 12 and 14 Chamber of Commerce. — A leading 
firm, doing a very heavy business, not only as dealers in grain for 
personal account, but as brokers for account of others, is that of 
Fred P. Rush & Co., oiganized in 1865, and composed of Fred P. 
Rush, Geo. E. Townley and E. G. Gall. They are members of the 
Board of Trade, familiar with the requirements of the business and 
noted for their honorable methods, Mr. Rush having been thus 
engaged for thirty-three years, and Messrs. Townley & Gall a pro- 
portionate length of time. Their offices are provided with every 

facility and convenience, including telegraph, telephone and other 
service for the information of their patrons in respect to the fluctua- 
tions in prices and the conditions of the markets generally. They 
also own and operate elevator " B," erected in 1874, on the line of 
the Vandalia Railroad tracks in this city, complete in its equipment, 
furnished with all the latest machinery and appliances for handling 
and cleaning grain and with a total capacity of 300,000 bushels. 
They are heavy purchasers in large lots in the grain producing 
regions of the North and Northwest and equally heavy shippers of 
the same commodity in car-load lots to the Eastern and Southern 
markets, also buying and selling for cash and future delivery to the 
order of customers. They employ a full staff of clerks with from 
ten to twelve assistants at elevator " B," and are prepared to execute 
orders promptly. 

D. Blackmore & Co. — General Commission Merchants; 
Room 20, Chamber of Commerce. — This firm, composed of Dawson 
Blackmore and C. W. Blackmore, was organized in 1873. Their busi- 
ness has steadily increased in volume and value from its inception, in 
keeping with the enterprise and liberal management which have 
characterized their operations. They are prepared to promptly exe- 
cute all commissions entrusted to them, and purchase grain and flour 
heavily in Indiana, Illinois and elsewhere, shipping the former to the 
Eastern markets and the latter to the South, and north into Canada, 
and in which latter section they have a large trade. Both members 
of the firm are also members of the Board of Trade of this city, and 
in addition to their large business as dealers in flour, grain and mill- 
feed, do a heavy commission business in all these lines, for cash and 
future delivery. They solicit consignments, upon which they make 
liberal cash advances, and their opportunities for the disposition of 
goods sent them to the best advantage, render them very valuable 
agents, through whom either to make deals or transact business in 
connection with the purchase and sale for account of consigners, of 
the articles referred to. Remittances are made immediately after 
sales are completed, and no house in the city is more thoroughly 
equipped for the advantageous disposition of consignments. 

O. D. Weaver— Provision Broker; 4 Board of Trade. — Mr. 
Weaver established business in 1886, and has since conducted it with 
the most pronounced and gratifying success. He has enjoyed a long 
experience, rendering him thoroughly familiar with the requirements 
of the trade, and a valuable agent through whom to conduct operations 
in his lines. He occupies offices, 25x80 feet in dimensions, in the 
Board of Trade building, and is furnished with every facility to exe- 
cute orders promptly, as also to furnish the trade with accurate and 
reliable data as to the fluctuations in prices and the movements and 
conditions of the markets. He buys and sells on his own account and 
to order, limiting his operations to deals in provisions and purchasing 
only in large round lots, hams and meats by the car-load, and lard in 
lots of 250 tierces each. These are obtained here, as also in the Chicago. 
Omaha, Kansas City, and other Western markets, and shipped, the 
pickled meats to New York, Philadelphia, and other Eastern depots 
of supply, the sides to points in the Southern States, and the lard 
principally to New York City and Chicago. He makes a leading 
specialty of these lines, in the handling of which he has attained to 
prominence, and does a large and constantly increasing trade. He 
enjoys the confidence of the public and the trade, and is one of the 
most active and enterprising brokers in this city. 

Mutchner & Higg ins —Buyers and Shippers of Western 
Grain; 22 Board of Trade building. — The firm of Mutchner & Hig- 
gins was organized in 1885, and is composed of P. E Mutchner and 
Wm. L. Higgins. They occupy commodious offices provided with 
every facility for prosecuting their business successfully and upon a 
large scale. They also owned elevator " D," a very extensive and 
exceptionally well equipped establishment, which was destroyed by 
fire February 12, 1889, entailing a loss of §50,000 and causing a tem- 
porary suspension of operations in those departments. They are now 
rebuilding the elevator, and it will shortly be completed, with better 
facilities than before its destruction. They are large purchasers of 



wheat, corn, oats, rye, etc., upon the markets of Indianapolis and 
throughout the grain producing States of the West and Northwest. 
for personal account and to order, for cash, or future delivery, and no 
similar house in the city bears a more enviable reputation or is better 
prepared to meet the demands of customers and the trade. They 
purchase in large round lots only, shipping almost entirely to the 
Eastern markets, and are prepared to make purchases, sales and 
shipments at the shortest notice and upon the most reasonable terms. 
They enjov a reputation among commercial circles in all portions of 
the country in harmony with the honorable methods and sterling 
probity >vhich characterize their operations. 

W. B. Overman — Commission Broker, Grain and Provisions; 
12 and 14 Chamber of Commerce building. — Among the most promi- 
nent and representative grain and provision brokers, operating on 
the Indianapolis markets, is W. B. Overman, located as above in the 
Chamber of Commerce. He began his present enterprise in 1S85, 
having been for three years previous to' that date a prominent pork 
packer here, and has since directed and managed large deals in his 

special lines for a correspondingly large and steadily increasing 
clientage. He occupies a suite of handsome offices, and is provided 
with every facility for the transaction of business, including ticker, 
telephone and telegraph facilities; also advertising upon a large 
display board the latest quotations, fluctuations in prices, movements 
of crops, state of the market, etc., in all the principal cities of the 
country, announced at brief intervals, through business.hours, daily. 
Orders for the purchase or sale of grain and produce for cash or 
future delivery, are promptly executed, and being a member of the 
Chicago and Indianapolis Boards of Trade, he is able to furnish his 
clients with special advantages in placing their commissions either here 
or in Chicago, where most of the deals passing through his hands are 
made. Orders cither by mail or wire are as carefully attended to as 
if made in person, and at the lowest rates. He does a large and 
constantly augmenting business, and is known as a man of great 
executive ability and enterprise, as also the head of a house, the 
operations and management of which are characterized by honorable 
and liberal methods. 


HE hotels of Indianapolis enjoy a reputation for superi- 
ority widespread and substantial. They have served 
to extend the fame of the city throughout every State 
in the Union, as also to all portions of Europe. In 
respect to size, equipment, appointments and elegant 
service, they are surpassed by those of no city in the country. They 
are commodious, luxuriously furnished, provided with gas, electric 
lights, passenger elevators and all modern conveniences, while their 
tables are supplied with all the solids and delicacies that can tempt the 
appetite of the most fastidious of guests. The Denison House has 
accommodations for 500 guests, also the Bates House and the Grand 
Hotel; the Occidental and Spencer for 300 each; the Hotel English 
for 300; the Brunswick and Circle 150 each; the St. Charles for 125; 
the Weddell for 100. There are also other caravansaries with more 
limited facilities. In addition to those mentioned, there are a number 
of first-class family and European hotels which are handsomely main- 
tained, and still further add to the reputation of the city as a home 
for travelers, and where they are made the recipients of the most 
hospitable entertainment. 

New Denison Hotel — George O. Taylor & Co., Proprietors; 
corner (jf Pennsylvania and Ohio streets. — The judgment formed in 
regard to the merits of a city by the visiting stranger is in a large 
measure founded upon the qualities of its hotels, and as modern 
standards of excellence in hotel accommodation are very high, the 
possession of a first -class house, modern and progressive in its 
appointments, and adequate to the requirements of the most exacting 
visitor, is an important acquisition. Indianapolis is especially ftvored 
in this regard, having in the New Denison Hotel, as now conducted, 
a house which is admitted to possess few equals and no rival. The 
house was erected in 1879 upon plans embracing all the architectural 
requirements for a first-class hotel structure. It passed through 
several changes of management prior to 1886, in which year the 
building was purchased by Judge E. B. Martindale, and the proprie- 
torship and management of the hotel business passed in the hands of 
Geo. O. Taylor & Co., composed of Messrs. George O. Taylor 
and Lynn B. Martindale, the latter gentleman being a son of 
Judge Martindale. These gentlemen have thoroughly refurnished 
and refitted the house in the most elegant and artistic manner, 
and sparing neither pains nor expense, have succeeded in making 
it in its equipment and appointments the leading hotel in the State, 
and one of the finest in the entire country. The building, a hand- 

some and imposing four -story and basement structure, with a 
front of dressed stone on Pennsylvania street, covers a quarter of 
a block of ground, and is a solid building of 200x202/,^ feet in 
dimensions. The location is one admirably adapted to the purpose, 
being in the heart of the business portion of the city, and convenient 
to the banks, postofficc, public library, theatres, etc., and accessible 
to all transportation lines. The hotel has 150 large guests' rooms, 
many of them t:ii suite and with bath attachments, as well as 
fifty sample rooms for commercial travelers. On occasion the house 
can afford accommodation for over 500 guests. On the ground floor 
of the hotel are the handsome general and ladies' entrances, elegant 
and spacious offices, rotunda and reading room, as well as the hotel 
bar, barber shops, etc., while the handsomely equipped bath-rooms, 

^^ m 

lavatory, etc., are located in the basement. On the first floor are the 
parlors and reception rooms, the furnishings and appointments of 
which are models of elegance and good taste, and on this floor are 
also located the lofty, spacious and conveniently arranged dining 
room, with a seating capacity for over 300 guests; the ladies' ordinary, 
affording accommodations for 50 guests, etc. On the upper floors the 
sleeping rooms are located. The hotel is heated by steam, with 
natural gas in the grates, and is lighted by the new system of large 
incandescent electric lamps, as well as with both natural and artificial 
gas. The electric lights are supplied from the proprietors' own plant, 
which, with the engine and boiler rooms, are located at a remote 
distance in the rear of the building; and the kitchens, etc., are so 



located in rear buildings as to preclude the possibility of any odor 
reaching the residence portion of the hotel. The broad and handsome 
stairways; the halls, fifteen feet in width, running at right angles 
through each floor; the exterior fire escapes, built upon the most 
approved modern design; the perfect hydraulic guest and baggage 
elevators, and the numberless other conveniences and accessories 
provided by the management contribute to the comfort of guests and 
the completeness of the accommodations of this modern hotel. The 
staff of clerks, including Mr. W. W. Browning, chief day clerk, Mr. 
Clint. Cunningham, chief night clerk, and their assistants are experi- 
enced and efficient; and over loo trained attendants are employed to 
look after the wants of the guests of the house. The cuisine is not 
surpassed in excellence anywhere in the country, and the service and 
attendance is all that can be desired. The owner of the building, 
Hon. E. B. Martindale, is a large property holder and capitalist, a 
prominent, respected and enterprising citizen, an active and influential 
member of the Board of Trade, and an enthusiastic supporter of all 
measures tending to promote the material interests of Indianapolis. 
Mr. George O. Taylor, the senior of the proprietary firm, is a popular 
hotel man of long experience and extensive acquaintance, whose 
accurate knowledge of the needs of the traveling public emmently 
fits him for the management of the house; and Mr. Lynn B. Mar- 
tindale, his partner, although his present connection has been his 
only experience in hotel management, has already become very 
popular with, and widely known among, the traveling public. As 
now controlled and managed, the New Denison Hotel is not only a 
credit to Indianapolis, but is also r. worthy representative of the 
highest class of modern American hotels. 

The Bates House — Louis Reibold, Proprietor; northeast 
corner of Washington and Illinois streets.— The location of this well- 
known house is adjacent to the Union Depot, the State House, and 
other places of public resort. The premises occupied consist of a 
four-story and basement brick building, with 220 feet front on Illinois 
street and an additional frontage of 230 feet on Washington street, 
substantially constructed and provided with every modern equipment 
and convenience. The main floor contains offices, reading-rooms, 
lavatories, barber-shop, etc., fronting on Illinois street, and the bar- 

room, billiard rooms, and a number of fine stores, occupy the 
Washington street front. The second floor contains drawing and 
reception rooms, grand parlor, and a dining room with capacity for 
the accommodation of 300 guests. The remaining upper floors con- 
tain 200 guest chambers, commercial travelers' sample rooms, etc. 
The entire hotel is handsomely furnished and provided with all the 
modern conveniences usually found in first-class hotels. 

Hotel English and English's Opera House Hon. 

William H. English, Proprietor ; James W. Duncan, Manager of 
Hotel ; Northwest side Circle Park. — The Hotel English was 
erected in 1884, and occupies a four-story and basement stone front 
building, 250x100 feet in dimensions, with a lofty and spacious rotunda. 
elegantly appointed offices and reading rooms, etc., on the ground 

floor, over one hundred guest rooms, spacious dining rooms, and 
commodious halls and stairways throughout. The house is under 
the management of Mr. James W. Duncan, a hotel man of long and 
practical experience. English's Opera House, in the same block, has 
a seating capacity of 2,300 and presents to its patrons the leading and 
most popular attractions. The proprietor of the hotel and opera 
house, Hon. William H. English, is a prominent citizen of Indiana 
and was the Democratic nominee for Vice-President of the United 
States in 1S80. 

Grand Hotel— George F. Pfingst, Proprietor; corner of Illinois 
and Maryland streets.— This hotel, which was completed and opened 
to the public in 1875, occupies an imposing five-story structure, having 
a frontage of 250 feet on Illinois street by 200 feet on Maryland street, 
and is an architectural ornament to the city. It is provided with all 
modern conveniences for the entertainment of guests in a first-class 
manner, and is elegantly furnished throughout. The billiard and bar- 
room, barber shop and Turkish and other bath conveniences, are in 
the basement. The 
main floor is devoted 
to the office, reading 
and writing rooms, 
rotunda, etc., and has 
forty sample rooms 
for commercial trav- 
elers. The dining 
room, with capacity t( j 
comfortably accom 
modate 500 guests, the 
ladies' ordinary, for 

50 guests, grand par- — -' 

lor, reception rooms, etc., occupy the second floor. The upper stories 
are used for guest chambers, of which there are 212. The house is 
provided with ample fire-escape facilities, and is practically fire-proof. 
The cuisine is unsurpassed, and the service completely in harmony 
with the most exacting requirements. The location is most central, 
being but two blocks from the Union Depot, adjacent to the banks, 
places of public resort, in the business heart of the city, etc., and the 
terms are from $3 to $5 per diem. This hotel is a favorite resort for 
commercial travelers, tourists, etc., and is always full. Mr. Pfingst^ 
the proprietor, is one of the oldest and best known hotel men in the 
country, and his management of his present enterprise has been of a 
character that explains its high reputation and pronounced popularity. 
T. J. Cullen, the chief clerk, with his assistants, W. G. Elliott, A. W. 
Updegraff and W. F. Hinzerling, have been with the house since its 
establishment, and are favorites with the traveling public, and the 
house enjoys a large and high-class trade. 

Weddell House — Major A. W. Hanson, Proprietor; 107 South 
Illinois street, one-half square north from L'nion Depot. — Major A_ 
W. Hanson, proprietor and host of the Weddell House, is the pioneer 
hotel man of Indianapolis, having been born and bred to the business 
and identified with the ownership and management of hotels here 
almost from boyhood. His present undertaking, the Weddell House, 
was thrown open to the public in 1875, ^^^ under Major Hanson's 
administration, covering a period of more than thirteen years, has 
annually grown in popularity with travelers and the public. It is 
admirably located at the above site, adjacent to the Union Depot, 
accessible to all street car lines, as also to the postoflice, banks, com- 
mercial and amusement centers; the premises, consisting of a three- 
story brick building 100 feet square, containing accommodations 
for 100 guests. The main floor is occupied with the office, reading 
room, dining hall and ladies' ordinary; the second floor with the parlor 
and reception rooms, also containing large, fine commercial sample 
rooms, superior to those generally used for that purpose, and bed 
room suites, while the third floor is devoted to sleeping accommoda- 
tions. The house is handsomely fitted up, furnished and decorated, 
supplied with all the latest modern conveniences, and provided with 
everv precaution against fire, as also Avith ample means of escape. 
The sleeping chambers are single and en suite, light, airy, thoroughly 



ventilated, handsomely finished and contain everything; that will pro- 
mote the comfort of patrons, while the ctiisi/ii- includes all the sub- 
stantials and delicacies of the season, prepared imder the supervision 
of experienced c/if/s, and the service in every department is not sur- 
passed by that of any similar establishment in the city. The terms 
are $2 per diem, and the trade, which is mainly transient, consistin.i; 
of tourists and commercial travelers, is very large and steadily 

St. Charles Hotel— John Murray, Proprietor; 26 to 28 North 
Illinois street, next to Bates House. — The St. Charles Hotel has been 
a home for transients and an old established custom for many years. 
The proprietor, Mr. John Murray, entered upon the control and man- 
agement of the house in 1S85, and his administration has been of a 
character to commend the St. Charles to a large, continued and 

steadily increasing 
patronage. Located 
on one of the principal 
streets of the city, 
adjoining the Bates 
House, within easy 
distance of the Union 
Depot, near to the 
commercial and 
financial centers of 
the city, the house 
offers unsurpassed 
inducements in the 
way of delightful 
accommodations at 
low prices, to tourists 
or permanent resi- 
dents. The premises are four stories high, 100 feet front on North 
Illinois street and 100 feet deep, and have a capacity for 125 guests 
The othce, sample, reading and dining rooms occupy the first floor, 
the parlor, drawing and reception rooms monopolizing the second 
story, and the sleeping apartments the two remaining upper floors. 
The mterior is handsomely decorated and furnished in the latest and 
most modern style, appointed with every facility for the comfort and 
convenience of guests and supplied with every equipment calculated 
to proinote their security. Natural gas is employed for heating and 
lighting purposes, a new and improved pattern of fire escape descends 
from each room to the street, and the service generally, including the 
cuisine, is all that the most fastidious of patrons could suggest. No 
e.xpense or pains are spared to contribute to all the requirements of 
customers in the minutest detail, and the house enjoys the reputation 
of being one of the most desirable and hospitable establishments of 
its kind in the city or State. It is also provided with a restaurant, 
open day and night, telegraph and telephone service, is in immediate 
proximity to railway ticket offices, and is managed according to the 

most liberal and honorable methods. A force of fifteen courteous 
assistants are employed, and the regular rates are ?i.50 per diem. 
Mr. Murray will make special rates to the profession. The St. Charles 
caters to a large trade throughout Indiana and the States adjoining. 

Sherman's— Sherman's Cafe, 5g South Illinois street, Horace 
C. Keever, Manager; Sherman's Exchange Restaurant, 62 North 
Pennsylvania street, Charles E. Kershner, Manager; Sherman's 
Dairy Kitchen, 96 East Washington street, Thomas L. Brannon, 
Manager.— Mr. W. G. Sherman came to this city twelve years ago 
from Chicago, and has since resided in Indianapolis. For a few years 
he engaged in hotel management, and in that capacity was connected 
with the Grand Hotel and the Bates House. In 1882 he opened his 
first restaurant, afterward acquiring the other two, and now his 
establishments hold deserved recognition as the most complete and 
popular restaurants in the city. Meals are served on the American 
plan, at 25 cents per meal, or on the European plan, excellent meals 
being provided at from twenty cents upward, the best meal in the 
city being served for $1.00. Each of the establishments is provided 
with lunch counters for the convenience of the business public. For 
variety and quality the bills of fare of these restaurants are unsur- 
passed, and the cuisine and service are all that can be desired. 
Their patronage is very large, and Mr. Sherman has, with the aid of 
his efficient managers, achieved a deserved and notable success. 

Circle House— 15 North Aleridian street, three squares north 
of Union Depot; H. Ackelow, Proprietor.— The Circle House was 
opened some years ago, and has been since 1882 owned and managed 
by H. Ackelow, who at that date succeeded F. R. Welz. It is con- 
veniently located in the city's business center, within three squares of 
the Union Depot, and adjacent to the postoffice, banks, places of 
public resort, and the wholesale and retail trade districts. The 
premises consist of a four-story and basement brick building, 100x200 
feet in dimensions, with facilities to accommodate 150 guests. The 
main floor is occupied with office, reading, reception rooms, etc., 
also with an elegantly equipped and well stocked sample room. The 
dining room is finely finished and furnished and will seat eighty 
patrons. Broad stairways lead to the upper floors, which contain 
the parlors, drawing room and commercial travelers' display rooms. 
The two upper stories are devoted to sleeping chambers, single and 
01 suite. They are all commodious, well ventilated and provided with 
every convenience or luxury that will contribute to the comfort of 
occupants. The cuisine is unsurpassed, the tables being supplied 
with all the substantials and delicacies to be found in the markets, 
and the service in this important branch of the establishment is of the 
best order. The house is heated and lighted by natural gas, and 
every precaution against fire has been enlisted in the equipment. 
The house is a model in its line, employing a force of fifteen assist- 
ants, and does a large transient trade. Its established rates are §2 
per diem, with special prices for families and regular customers. 


IE cause of religion found expression in the earliest 
days of the city's development, and the religious 
character of the people, as also their liberality, is 
;,k^^^>g^ I .1 attested by the number of churches identified with it 
~r.L^ ^ ^^^?h h|| ^.jpJ ji^g large membership which contributes to their 
support and maintainance. Services were first held here in 1821, and 
denominational associations were organized soon after: The Metho- 
dists in 1822, the Baptists and Presbyterians in 1823, the Christians 
during 1833, Episcopalians in 1837, Catholics in 1840, Congregation- 
alists in 1857 and the Hebrews in 1855. The various sects are at 
present represented by a total membershipcif about 32,000, and own 
property aggregating $3,000,000 in value. They embrace one society 
of Adventists, nineteen Baptist, seven Catholic, seven Christian, two 
Congregational, five Episcopal societies and two Missions, one 
Evangelical and one Evangelical association, one Friends', one 

German Reformed, four Lutheran, two Hebrew, twenty-six Methodist 
Episcopal, one colored Methodist Episcopal; also one Union Sunday 
school, one Methodist Protestant, thirteen Presbyterian societies and 
four Missions, one each of the Swedenborgian, United Brethren, 
United Presbyterian, and the Exposition Sunday School, which is a 
branch of the Second Presbyterian church; or ninety-nine religious 
organizations regularly established, seven missions and two S.abbath 
schools. The church edifices are models of architectural beauty and 
substantial construction and services held regularly are attended by 
large and appreciative congregations. Besides the church organiza- 
tions proper there are a number of societies more or less connected 
with the churches and working in connection with them in the 
promotion of Christianity, benevolence and charity, embracing the 
Young Men's Christian Association, the German Orphans' Home, 
the Home for Aged Poor, St. Vincent's Infirmary and others. 

Real Estate and Insurance. 

JHE real estate available in Indianapolis for rcsiLlcnce 
or business purposes, for factory sites or investments, 
offers the most substantial inducements to purchasers, 
by reason of low prices, reasonable terms and a steady 
appreciation in values. The markets in this commodity 
began to show signs of activity at an early day in the history of the 
city. During i860 real estate houses, which at that date were limited 
to those owned and operated by William Y. Wylie, McKernan & 
Pierce, and John S. Spann, did a large business. Through the years 
of the war the market prices fluctuated, but upon the close of 
hostilities became active. This activity increased in volume until the 
panic of 1873, when the boom was at its height. During that and the 
year preceding there were 106 real estate offices in the city, and their 
daily transactions involved from half to three-quarters of a million of 
dollars in value. The effect of the panic precipitated the sale of a 
very large number of holdings, demoralizing prices and creating an 
absence of demand from which the market did not recover for several 
years. In the latter part of 1878 a mild reaction occurred, which was 
maintained throughout 1879, and continued throughout 1880. The 
year following investments began to bfe made ; these have been con- 
tinued, and while the transfers of property during 1888 were less in 
value than in 1887, the falling off was owing to the excitement incident 
to the elections. National and State. Since the conclusion of the 
campaign, however, the markets have revived and the sales of 
improved and unimproved property have steadily grown in number. 
The introduction of natural gas resulting in an increase of sales and 
an advance of prices in 1887, produced a similar result in 1888. 
Another notable feature was the number of lots sold to mechanics 
and others, upon which to erect homes for themselves ; the records 
of building permits showing a large proportion to have been issued 
for cottages. The statistics as to the value of property sold in this 
city from 1882 to i88q, as per the following table, indicate a steady 
increase, except in 1888, when, for the reasons above stated, there 
was a perceptible falling off. In 1884 the value of property transferred 
aggregated $6,624,476; 1885, $6,095,756; 1886, $6,096,054; 1887, 
$12,110,749.52, and in 1888, $7,318,220.75. In 1884 permits were 
issued for the erection of buildings, the total cost of which was 
$967,835; 1885,5935,100; 1886, $1,213,000; 1887, $1,252,574, and in 1888, 
$1,357,000. The prospects for 1889 are very promising. Large 
investments of foreign capital it is believed will be made, and the 
indications for improvements are equally encouraging. 

Residence property is valued in proportion to desirableness of 
location, surroundings and accessibility to the business centers. Lots 
for this purpose can be purchased at reasonable rates, and upon easy 
terms. On Meridian, Delaware and some other of the leading thorough- 
fares, residence property commands from $100 to $150 per front foot; 
on Pennsylvania, Illinois and streets of equal prominence, from $75 to 
$100 ; on the side streets at a lower figure, and in the recent addi- 
tions at from $5.00 to $15.00. On the outskirts, a comfortable home, 
with pure water, gas, street railroad facilities, and other accessories, 
houses can be built, ready for occupancy, for $1,000. For $5,000 one 
can put up or purchase a substantial residence in a genteel portion of 
the city, in the midst of a cultivated society, and for $10,000 a hand- 
some brick residence, equipped 'with all modern improvements. 
Frame residences are to be had at a cost twenty per cent, less than 
brick or stone. Rents are cheap. 

The most valuable business property in the city is located on 
Washington street between Pennsylvania and Illinois. Improved 
real estate in that square commands from $2,000 to $2,500 per foot. 
At a recent sale the Wasson property brought $65,000 cash, or $2,300 
per foot. LInimproved property in the same locality is held at $l,Soo, 
and improved realty along Washington street, on the sc|uares west of 
Illinois or east of Pennsylvania, at $1,000, the price diminishing as the 
distance from the latter streets increases. On Maryland, Georgia 
and other side streets immediately off the main thoroughfares, but in 
the business centers, sales have been made at from $300 to $500 
per foot frontage. On Illinois, Pennsylvania and other high- 
ways of trade, from Washington street to , the Union Depot, prop- 
erty has doubled in value within a short time, and dealers report none 
on the market. A commodious and well appointed brick store build- 
ing, equipped with the latest improvements, can be erected and finished 
for $10,000. Store rents also range in price according to location. 
The Ayers building is held at $14,000; Wasson's building at $5,500, 
and the Boston Store at $4,000 per annum. These are located on 
Washington street, also between Illinois and Pennsylvania, where 
single stores readily bring an annual rental of $2,500. On South 
Meridian street from $1,500 to $3,000 per year is paid; on South Penn- 
sylvania from $50.00 to $75.00 per month, and on South Illinois street 
from $75.00 to $125.00. Rents of stores at a distance from these points 
are cheaper, and double stores, with complete accommodations, are 
available at reasonable rates. Office rentals are low. 

No city in the United States offers more flattering inducements 
for factory sites than Indianapolis. The complete railroad facilities 
available, cheap fuel — natural gas, vicinity of the city to coal and iron 
fields, and other advantages, combine to render Indianapolis almost 
unapproachable in this respect. Factory property can be purchased 
in the city limits within easy reach by the fire department and con- 
tiguous to railway lines, at prices within the range of modest 
pretensions. Along the Belt Line Road property for manufacturing 
occupation is in extensive demand. Citizens have encouraged invest- 
ments of this character, and will not only welcome the advent of 
manufacturing enterprises, but will substantially aid all ventures 
proposed in such connection by the donation of land and by other 
means at their disposal. Indianapolis affords an attractive field for 
capitalists and others in the premises, and even a casual investigation 
will convince the most incredulous. Evidence of the rapid increase 
in the value of city property is afforded by the sale on April 13, i88g, 
of the former property of the Franklin Insurance Company, corner of 
Kentucky avenue and Illinois street, for $72,500. In the Fall of 1888, 
the Franklin Insurance Company's holding sold for $53,000 ; the 
present sale, however, includes land not included in the original 
property, and in its entirety brought about $61,000. It fronts 190 feet 
on Illinois street and 196 feet on Kentucky avenue, and the pur- 
chasers. New York and Cincinnati capitalists, will immediately begin 
the erection of a six-story office building of pressed brick, to cost 
$150,000, and to cover the entire space. 

Insurance companies organized in the State have been m opera- 
tion in Indianapolis for upward of fifty years. They are of approved 
financial strength and integrity, their stockholders and managers 



representing millions of dollars of private fortune, and being among 
the wealthiest and most prominent citizens of Indiana. Among 
the companies originating in the State, and for a very considerable 
period identified with Indianapolis business, is the Citizens' of Evans- 
ville, chartered in 1832; the Franklin, organized at Franklin in 1851, 
but removing to this city during 1S83; the Indiana of Indianapolis, 
also chartered in iSsi ; the German Mutual Fire, incorporated in i8s4; 
the National Renefit Association of Indianapolis, chartered in 1881, 
insuring against accidents; the Old Wayne, a mutual life association, 
organized in this city in 1883; the Indianapolis Mutual Fire, in 1884; 
the Manufacturers' Mutual Fire, in 1886; the Iron Hall, etc., with 
other associations for the protection of members, nearly all of which 
are free from debt and have a reserve fund in bank. Their manage- 
ment has been characterized by liberality and good judgment, and 
their prompt adjustment of claims according to the letter of their 
contracts of insurance, has secured for them an immense business 
and a national reputation. 

The leading companies of the United States and Europe, fire, life 
and accident, long since established agencies in this city, and do a 
large business, which is steadily increasing and expanding with the 
city's growth and development. They represent a total capital 
approximating ^200,000,000, with correspondingly large assets and 
surplus, and enjoy a well earned reputation for the prompt and equit- 
able adjustment of losses, as also for low rates. 

Charles F. Sayles — Insurance, Loans, Real Estate and 
Rental Agent; 75 and -jj East Market street; Telephone No. 
476. — The demand for Indianapolis real estate is steadily on the 
increase. The constant additions to the population, and the absorp- 
tion of property for manufacturing and other interests, has necessarily 
given the market strength, and created what seems to be a boom. 
It is not, however. The continuous withdrawal of property for imme- 
diate improvement is the cause of advancing values. A live 
and pushing house, heavily interested in real estate, loan, rental and 
insurance operations is that of Charles F. Sayles, which was formed 
in 1873 by the firm of Barnard & Sayles, to which the present pro- 
prietor, w-ho was the junior partner of that firm, succeeded in 1884- 
He occupies a well appointed suite of otfices, and is furnished with 
every convenience, including telephone service, that will aid in the 
transaction of business. His deals in real estate are generally limited 
to improved city property, which he buys on his own account or to 
order, and mvolve annually large amounts of money. He also 
conducts an extensive business in the rental of the same class of 
property for residence and business purposes, and constantly has 
from four to five hundred tenants on his list. In addition to these, 
he places very large sums of local and foreign capital, the same 
being loaned upon first mortgage or other valuable securities, and 
does other business connected with these departments, such as 
taking care of estates, placing insurance, for which he is provided 
with superior facilities; the discharge of incumbrances, etc. In his 
capacity of underwriter, he is the local agent here for the Home, 
Citizens', Fidelity and Casualty, and Liberty, of New York; Phcenix 
and yEtna, of Hartford; London Assurance Corporation, and Nor- 
wich Union, of England; Traders' of Chicago, and other reliable 
corporations, representing a total cash capital of ^14,241,325; assets 
amounting to $59,005,432.75; and surplus aggregating 126,761,555. 
All of these companies are of standard worth, furnishing insurance at 
low rates and adjusting losses with commendable promptness and 
liberality. Mr. Sayles is familiar with the details of every depart- 
ment of his business, and personally directs their conduct and 
operations. He does a large and annually increasing trade in the 
city and vicinity, and his house enjoys the confidence of commercial, 
financial and insurance circles in all parts of the State. 

Ohio Farmers' Insurance Co.— Headquarters at LeRoy, 
O.; O. S. Wells, State Agent for Indiana; C. W. Oakes, Indianapolis 
Agent; 95 East Washington street. — Among the insurance corpora- 
tions of the country the Ohio Farmers' Insurance Co. has an exception- 
ally excellent reputation for its conservative methods and for the 
thorough reliability which has characterized its entire corporate 

history. It was established in 1848, and it confines its risks to farm 
property and dwellings, taking no manufacturing or business risks 
and limiting the amount of insurance carried upon any single risk to 
g6,ooo. The great care taken in the selection of risks has secured for 
this company a standing among the most substantial of American 
insurance corporations, and at the beginning of the present year 
it had assets amounting to $1,476,327.14; a re-insurance fund of 
$1,031,454.13, and a net surplus over all liabilities of $425,109.66. 
The business of the company is confined to the States west of the Ohio 
River, and in Indiana it does an active business, its premium receipts 
in this State for 1888 having been $102,791, while in the same year it 
it paid out on Indiana losses $59,312. The company has maintained 
a branch office in this city for the past ten years, and its business for 
Indiana is in the hands of Mr. O. S. Wells, an insurance man of 
experience and marked ability, who ably represents the interests of 
the company in this State and exercises intelligent supervision over 
the 125 agents of the company in his territory. Mr. C. W. Oakes, 
the Indianapolis agent of the company, has had its local interests in 
charge for the past ten years, and is also agent for the well known 
and substantial Teutonia Insurance Co., of Dayton, O. He is a 
capable and efficient underwriter, and carries a large number of the 
most desirable risks in the city. 

Abromet & Monroe— General Insurance, Real Estate, Loans, 
etc.; Rooms 3 and 4, 44K N. Pennsylvania street. — This agency 
was established in 1861 by A. Abromet, who conducted it until May, 
1888, when he was joined by Mr. A. R. Monroe in the formation of the 
present firm. Both members are experienced in the several depart- 
ments of business to which they devote their attention, and hold a 
high rank for the care they exercise in the management of the enter- 
prise. They occupy an available suite of offices, and represent a 
large number of the strongest insurance companies in the world. 
Among these are the Lancashire, of Manchester, England, capital, 
$15,000,000.00, net surplus in L'nited States, $671,944.00; Scottish Union 
and National, of England, capital, $30,000,000.00, net surplus in United 
States, $1,073,252.00; Lion Fire, of London, England, capital, $4,504,- 
155.00, net surplus in United States, $530,245.00; Anglo-Nevada, of 
San Francisco, Cal., capital, $2,000,000.00, policy holders' surplus, 
$2,053,514.73; Commercial L^nion, of London, England, capital, 
$12,500,000, net surplus in United States, $930,355.00; British America, 
of Toronto, Canada, capital, $500,000.00, surplus in L'nited States, 
$388,397.95; California Insurance Co., of San Francisco, Cal., capital, 
$600,00000, policy holders' surpliis, $805,091.00; Phoenix (Tornado) 
Insurance Co., of Brooklyn, N. Y., capital, $1,000,000.00, policy holders' 
surplus, $1,143,687,00; Fidelity and Casualty Accident Insurance Co., 
of New York, capital, $250,000.00, policy holders' surplus, $300,559.79, 
and the .Etna Life, of Hartford, Conn., cash assets, over $33,000,000.00, 
which has paid to policy holders over $64,000,000.00. In the depart- 
ment of real estate and rentals they are prepared to execute orders for 
the sale, purchase or lease of city and suburban property, and other- 
wise to supply the demands of customers promptly and satisfactorily. 
Mr. Abromet also represents a syndicate for the purchase of old 
Mexican bonds. The house is one of the best known in the State for 
its reliability and honorable career, and the firm enjoys a superior 
reputation for energy and integrity in the prosecution of their business. 

Henry Coe — General Insurance; 13 Martindale block. — This 
prominent agency was established by Mr. Coe in 1873, and until 
lanuary i, 1888, he was senior member of the firm of Henry Coe & 
Co., his partner being A. M. De Souchet.- He is president of the 
Indianapolis Board of Underwriters and is an insurance man of 
acknowledged ability, managing one of the strongest, if not the 
strongest, agency in the city. He represents a number of the leading 
insurance companies of America, including, among others, the Amer- 
ica, of Philadelphia; Hartford and Connecticut, of Hartford, Conn.; 
The Farmers', of York, Pa.; The American Central, of St. Louis, Mo.; 
The German, of Peoria, and other companies, representing a total 
capital of over $6,000,000; assets aggregating $23,109,868, and surplus 
amounting to $9,468,000, a showing conclusive of solvency, business 
success, and unsurpassed management. Through these, Mr. Coe is 



prepared to offer the most favorable inducements to those seeking 
insurance at the lowest rates, consistent with the risk assumed, the 
inducements of security against loss or damage by their prompt and 
equitable adjustment, and corporations with almost unlimited resources 
and absolutely reliable. Prior to 1888, he carried on a real estate, 
'loan and renting agency, in conjunction with his present business, 
but since that date he has relinquished those departments to devote 
his entire attention to insurance, and is doing a large and prosperous 
line of operations in the city and throughout the surrounding suburbs. 
He is also district agent of the American Surety Co., of New York, 
for the counties of Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, 
Madison, Marion, Morgan and Shelby. The American is the largest 
surety compaiiy in the world, and its bonds are accepted by all of the 
Courts of Indiana. 

Alexander Metzger— Insurance, Real Estate, Loans and 
Steamship Agent, Odd Fellows' Hall. Pennsylvania and Washington 
streets. — Among the many extensive, important and successful insur- 
ance, real estate, etc., houses in this city, that of Alexander Metzger 
is prominent, standing high in the public estimation and fully deserv- 
ing the confidence and prosperity that has attended its career. The 
business was established by Mr. Metzger in 1863. He occupies a 
handsome suite of offices in the Odd Fellows' Hall and is provided 
with every convenience for the successful conduct of his important 
lines of business. In the department of insurance he is State agent 
for the Metropolitan Plate Glass company, organized under the 
casualty laws of New York to do an exclusively plate glass insurance 
against accidental breakage. It has a capital and surplus of $281,500 
and in government bonds deposited with the insurance 
dipartment of the State of New York for the proteclion of policy 
holders. He is also the local agent of the Hartford Steam Boiler 
Inspection and Insurance Company, and the following corporations 
taking risks against fire only : The Queen, of Liverpool, Guardian, 
of London, Buffalo German of New York, and Williamsburg Citv, of 
Brooklyn, representing an aggregate capital of $6,450,000, aggregate 
assets of $12,781,843.20 and an aggregate surplus of $9,166,713.84, all 
which have attained to a pre-eminent success, and their management 
is characterized by energy and enterprise though safe and conserva- 
tive. His real estate operations are large, consisting chiefly of city 
property, also making large investments of city capital and doing an 
extensive business in leasing properties here, having, at the opening 
of 1889, over six hundred tenants on his rent roll. In addition, he 
makes collections in all European countries, buys and sells foreign 
exchange, etc., and is agent for the Cunard, Innian, Guion, National, 
Anchor, North German Lloyds, White Star, Red Star, American, 
Dominion, Hamburg and Bremen, Royal Netherlands, Baltimore 
Bremen, French and Italian steamship lines, also for the United 
States and Brazil Steamship Co. and other South American and inland 
navigation companies. His business in all its departments is very 
large in the city and State. Mr. Metzger has had a long experience 
and enjoys many advantages valuable to all seeking superior induce- 
ments in his lines, and employs honorable methods in its management. 

Robert Martindale — Real Estate and Loans; Martindale 
block, 62 East Market street. — Mr. Robert Martindale, who estab- 
lished himself in business about eleven years ago, has attained a promi- 
nent position in connection with real estate operations and the 
marketing of superior residence properties. He formerly carried on 
a general real estate, insurance and rental business, but has disposed 
of the insurance and rental branches and now confines his energies to 
dealing in and platting real estate, chiefly on his own account, and to 
the negotiation of loans on real estate security.' He platted and suc- 
cessfully sold the Hall, the Stiltz and Hill's subdivisions, and he is 
now rapidly disposing of the first section of Lincoln Park addition, of 
which he is the owner, and which is divided into 192 lots, beginning at 
North Meridian and Fourteenth streets, running across Pennsylvania 
street, Talbot avenue, Delaware, Alabama and New Jersey streets, 
to Central avenue. This is one of the most eligibly located, and 
desirable additions to the city, and the lots in it are in great request 
for residence purposes. Mr. Martindale has been prominent in many 

enterprises for the benefit of tne city, and is one of the most active 
workers in the organization formed for supplying free gas to manu- 
facturers. He was the originator of the second mortgage plan, by 
which the purchaser of a lot may raise money from building societies 
or others for building purposes, giving a first mortgage for same, 
while Mr. Martindale accepts a second mortgage for the land. He is 
a son of Judge E. B. Martindale, one of the most prominent real 
estate owners of the city, and long a leader in its business com- 
munity. Mr. Robert Martindale is a zealous advocate of the material 
interests of Indianapolis and a representative of American energy 
and business progress. 

Richardson & McCrea— Insurance, Loans, Real Estate and 
Rents; 14 Talbott block; Telephone No. 182. — This business was 
established in 1874 by B. A. Richardson, head of the present firm, 
becoming Richardson & Kothe in 1877. During 1887, Frank F. 
McCrea became a third partner, and in November, 1888 — Mr. Kothe 
retiring to embark in the wholesale grocery business — the firm name 
was changed to its present style. They occupy handsomely appointed 
offices and are agents for a large number of prominent companies in 
fire, life, accident, steam boiler, plate glass, tornado and live stock 
insurance, placing a majority of the risks in manufacturing lines 
here, and doing a large business in the line of steam boiler insurance. 
Among the companies the firm represent are the Phenix of 
Brooklyn; Detroit Fire and Marine; Michigan Fire and Marine; 
Hamburg-Bremen of Germany; Western Assurance of Toronto; 
Mutual Life; New York; Central Live Stock of Indianapolis; Phoenix 
of London; Continental of New York; Firemen's of Dayton, O.; 
Niagara of New York; Insurance Company of North America. 
These companies combine all the requisites of stability, superior 
management and honorable methods. The firm also buy and sell for 
their own account and to order large blocks of city and suburban 
real estate, and manage the collection of rents and the care of 
property subject to lease. In addition, they negotiate loans, placing 
local capital chiefly, make investments for patrons, place insurance 
and execute other commissions connected with their principal lines 
of business, promptly and in the most satisfactory manner. They 
transact a large and steadily increasing business, and their intelligent 
and enterprising management has given to the house the confidence 
of the community in all portions of the State. 

Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Co.— David F. 
Swain, General Agent; 60 East Market street. — The universal effort 
of all provident men, either in mercantile or mechanical pursuits, is to 
add to their estates from year to year, so that in the event of death 
they may leave to those whom they loved, and for whom they have 
labored, a sufficiency enabling them to at least be equal in the "battle 
of life " to those with whom they may have to contend. No medium 
is known by which such a result can be so surely accomplished as 
through a policy of life insurance, and this medium is approved by 
the example of the most prominent and successful financiers of the 
dav. Most of the financial institutions issuing life insurance contracts, 
if not all of them, are good and worthy of confidence, but particularly 
conspicuous among the many is the Northwestern Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company, of Milwaukee, Wis., pre-eminently a western institu- 
tion, which began business in November, 1858. Since its organization 
the company has paid to the representatives of deceased policy 
holders, for death losses, $17,045,769.97; to living policy holders for 
dividends, matured endowments, surrendered and lapsed policies, 
$28,288,572.24; atotal of $45,334,342.31 paid to beneficiaries, and adding 
to this sum the present assets of $32,672,811.36, it is shown that the 
total amount paid to policy holders and held for them is $78,007,153.67. 
During the same period the total premium receipts have been 
$68,289,832.26, and the company has, therefore, paid to policy holders 
and invested for them, $9,>i7,32i.4l in excess of the entire premium 
receipts. The company invests its funds upon improved real estate 
security at Western rates of interest, and has now thus placed over 
$27,000,000.00. Its location enables it to select the choicest securities, 
commanding the highest rates of interest, and no loans are made by 
the company on stocks, collaterals, or any kind of fluctuating or 



doubtful securities. While thus guarding the safety of its invest- 
ments, it has always been able to secure profitable rates of interest, 
the interest receipts since organization having been ?23,777, 133.88, or 
56.731,363.91 in e.xcess of the death losses paid during the same period. 
The organization of the company is purely mutual. It has no capital 
stock, and all profits are divided among its policy holders, who are 
full partners, with liabilities limited only to the extent of annual 
premiums while the policy is in force. Every policy holder has a vote 
in the management of the company for each Si, 000 of insurance. The 
abuse of the pro.\y system has been carefully guarded against in the 
charter. Proxies can be used but once; only within sixty days after 
execution. No otificer, trustee, agent, clerk or employe of the com- 
pany can cast a proxy vote, and no one person can cast over one 
hundred proxy votes at any one election. The company confines its 
business to the Northern United States, and risks are carefullv selected 
— many occupations debarring from insurance. This scrutiny of risks 
has secured a remarkably favorable death rate — less, for the past ten 
years, than any other large company. For 1884 the death losses were 
but 0.95 per cent, of the mean amount insured; for 1885, but 0.96 per 
cent.; in 1886, but 0.82 per cent.; i.oi per cent, in 1887, and o.8g per 
cent, in 1888, or an average of 0.93 per cent, for five years — the lowest 
rate of mortality ever experienced in America by a company of the 
age and size of the Northwestern. Thus combining the lowest mor- 
tality with the highest interest income, the Northwestern offers the 
cheapest, best and safest policies. The company established an 
agency here about twenty-five years ago. Mr. David F. Swain, who 
has been a citizen of Indianapolis for over twenty years, is now in 
charge, and has been the general agent for over eight years, and does 
a large business, issuing, in some years, as mucli as §1,250,000 in policies 
to citizens of the State. He has a handsome suite of offices, and directs 
the business of the company in Indiana, employing from fifteen to 
twenty sub-agents. The company also conducts a loan department 
in this city, managed by Mr. Frank Taylor, who charges no commission 
for procuring loans, and this department is carried on in a manner 
alike advantageous to the corporation and to the citizens of Indian- 
apolis. Messrs. Swain and Taylor are both experienced business men, 
and worthily represent the great corporation whose interests in this 
State they have in charge. 

Thomas C. Day & Co.— Financial Agents, Mortgage Loans, 
Etc.; 72 East Market street. — The investment of capital in a way 
which combines safety with security is a problem of the utmost 
importance, and the selection of a trustworthy and efficient agent 
through whom to make such investments is an important matter. In 
this line of usefulness there is no firm which has a higher standing 
than that of Thomas C. Day & Co. The business was established 
about twenty-two years ago by Mr. Thomas C. Day, who was joined 
in 1879 by Mr. W. C. Griffiths in the formation of the present firm. 
They occupy a handsome suite of offices at 72 East Market street, 
where they carry on an active and extensive business in investments 
of all kinds, placing mortgage loans on city and farm property, and 
buying and selling city, county and other bonds on their own account 
and as agents for others. They have among their clients many of 
the largest local capitalists, and also are the representatives of some 
of the most prominent of Eastern monetary institutions. The firm 
combines all the qualifications of practical experience in investment 
matters and accurate knowledge of values and of the markets, and 
their advice upon financial questions is justly regarded as sound and 
reliable. The uniformly satisfactory relations with investors, main- 
tained by this house for so many years, are the result of sagacious 
and honorable methods, and the firm is regarded as a representative 
one in its line. 

William E. Stevenson & Co. — Real Estate, Loan and 
Rental Agents; 84 East Market street, Hartford block.— Mr. W. E. 
Stevenson came to this city from Greencastle, this State, in the spring 
of 1888. He was one of the leading and successful merchants of 
Greencastle, having been engaged in the hardware business for about 
eighteen years as a member of the firm of J. D. Stevenson & Son, and 
also of the firm of W. E. Stevenson & Co. In the spring of 1885, he dis- 

posed of his interest in the hardware business, and for the following 
three years engaged in the real estate and banking business. He 
served as a Director of the Central National Bank, and also as Cashier 
of the Putnam County Bank. He was one of the prime movers in 
securing to Greencastle«the splendid system of water works and gas 
works, in both companies serving as Secretary and Director. Mr. 
Stevenson was also among the first of Greencastle citizens in organizing 
the building and loan associations which have been so beneficial in 
building up his former home. He was also a member of the City 
School Board, serving as Secretary and Treasurer, and only resigned 
his position when leaving his native city to enter into business at 
Indianapolis. The firm occupy handsome and finely appointed 
offices on the ground floor of the Hartford block, well adapted with 
every convenience for the transaction of the business to which they 
give their entire service and personal attention. Mr. Stevenson's 
means are ample, and any business entrusted to the firm will be 
handled with care and dispatch. Satisfaction is guaranteed to all who 
entrust their business with them, and all who have property to sell, 
exchange or rent, and those who would have their property looked 
after, as to collecting of rents, placing of insurance, and all other 
details, whether local or non-residents, can make no mistake in con- 
fiding in this firm and placing their busmess with them. 

Berkshire Life Insurance Co.— Indiana State Agency; 
James Green, General .Agent, No. 8 Martindale block. — This company 
was organized under a perpetual charter granted by the Legislature of 
Massachusetts in 1851. The home office is at Pittsfield in that com- 
monwealth, with agencies located in many States of the L'nion. The 
charter provides that all securities in which the assets of the company 
are invested shall be of the highest character of trust funds, and the 
investments are consequently made upon the basis of security and 
rates of income. The business is conducted upon the mutual plan, 
by which the policy holders receive the entire benefit arising from 
their payments into the treasury. The company issues life policies, 
upon which the premiums are paid as long as tbe assured may live; 
limited payment life policies, upon which premiums are paid for a 
limited number of years; and endowment policies, upon which 
premiums are paid during the full terms for which they are issued. 
In the selection of risks great care is exercised, none but sound lives 
being taken, and in addition to the certainty of payment of policies at 
maturity, none of them are forfeited in the event that the holders are 
unable to pay the premiums when the same become due. In such 
cases after two full annual premiums have been paid, the policy 
holder is furnished with insurance for a proportionate amount payable 
the same as if no lapse had occurred. The solvency of the company 
is indisputable. The Treasurer's annual report for the year ending 
December 31, 1888, shows total receipts during the year of Ji, 014,607. 75, 
the issue of 831 policies for $2,243,965, and disbursements amounting 
to 5805,079.31 The total number of policies then in force was 9,275, 
covering $21,901,228 of insurance. The assets were $4,122,342.83 and 
the surplus, Massachusetts standard, was $491,378.38. The company, 
as indicated from this exhibit, is entitled to the confidence it now 
enjoys among the insuring public, and such confidence is further 
emphasized by the low rates it charges for the quality of insurance 
furnished, as also for its characteristic promptness in the adjustment 
of claims. The agent of the company for Indiana is Mr. James 
Green, who has filled that important position for nearly 20 years. He 
occupies a suite of offices in the Martindale block, and by his enter- 
prise and management has enhanced the value of the company's 
influence, and promoted the company's prosperity in the city and 
State, throughout which he does a large annual business. 

Clinton M. Thompson — Fire and Accident Insurance and 
Rents, 62 East Market street. — Clinton M. Thompson has been a 
prominent and enterprising underwriter in Indiana for more than 
twenty years, residing principally at Bowling Green, where he was 
sole agent for a number of insurance companies of acknowledged 
reliability, including the Phoenix and ^Etna, of Hartford, etc. From 
Bowling Green he removed to Terre Haute, where he was Secretary of 
the Board of Trade, and from thence he came to Indianapolis in 1888. 



During November of that year he purchased the fire and accident 
insurance and rental departments theretofore owned by Robert Mar- 
tindale &; Co., an old house established at an early day by Judge 
Martindale, and continued their operation. He is local ag-ent for the 
Germania Fire, of New York; the Phcenix, of Hartford, and the 
Merchants', of Newark, N.J., all of which are fire insurance companies, 
with a total cash capital of 93,200,000, total assets amounting to $8,1 1 1,- 
662.81, and an aggregate surplus of $2,096,880.07. He is also agent 
for the Equitable Accident, of Cincinnati, the special object of which is 
expressed in its corporate title, and possessed of large resources. He 
is well equipped for the business and able to offer patrons, seeking 
protection from loss by fire or accident, the inducements of low rates 
and prompt settlement of claims for loss or damages. His depart- 
ment of realty and rents is equally well provided for the execution of 
commissions in these lines promptly, and he gives particular attention 
to the leasing of city and suburban property, the collection of rents, 
and the general supervision of the same, and his business, which has 
already reached large proportions, is steadily increasing in volume and 
value, as the result of the enterprise and honorable dealings which 
have characterized his operations. 

McGilliard & Dark— General Insurance Agents, Etc.; 64 East 
Market street. — The most extensive, enterprising and influential insur- 
ance firm in the State is McGilliard & Dark, composed of M. V. 
McGilliard and Charles E. Dark. Their agency was established by 
McGilliard & Brown in 1866, the firm changing to its present style in 
1883. Both members are experienced and popular underwriters, mak- 
ing insurance their specialty for years, with results that have found 
expression in constantly increasing business and prosperity. They 
occupy an advantageously located and handsomely appointed suite of 
offices, and are provided with every facility for the service of their 
large clientage. They represent the leading companies in America, 
being general agents and managers of the Indiana Insurance Conipanv 
of this city, of which Mr. Dark isalso\'ice-President and Mr. McGilliard 
is Secretary, a corporation having a capital stock of $150,000, with 
assets amounting to over $172,000 and less than $20,000 liabilities; also 
general agents of the Citizens', of Evansville, this State, which, on 
January i, 1889, had a paid-up capital of $200,000, with $219,469.39 
assets, and only $19,934.65 liabilities, including re-insurance and reserve 
funds; local agents for the German Fire, of Pittsburgh, and the 
People's Insurance Company, also of Pittsburgh, representing a total 
capital of $400,000, total assets aggregating $770,329.55, and a total 
surplus of $502,227.60, in addition to which they do a brokerage busi- 
ness through some thirty first-class companies in all parts of the 
country. The premium receipts of their business are over $350,000 
per annum. The exhibits here made indicate a quality of responsi- 
bility that must recommend the firm to the patronage of all seeking 
reliable insurance at favorable rates, and such recommendation is 
further emphasized by the character of the patronage which avails 
itself of such substantial inducements as they are prepared to offer. 
They do a very large business in the city and State, also writing special 
lines of policies for customers in every section of the Northern, South- 
ern and Western States, into which remote territory the reputation of 
the firm for reliability, liberal terms and honorable dealings has been 
extended and is firmly established. 

Wm. & H. M. Hadley—Life and Fire Insurance and Real 
Estate; Basement 70 l-^ast Market street, opposite Postoffice. — The 
insurance agency of Wm. & H. M. Hadley was established by the 
senior member of the present firm in 1876, the junior member, his 
son, being admitted into the business as a partner during 1888. They 
occupy a handsome suite of offices and are prepared to offer custo- 
mers reliable insurance at low rates. Their field of operations 
embraces fire and life insurance, in both of which branches they 
represent a list of companies of the most valuable and substantial 
character, including The Insurance Company of North America, the 
oldest company in its line in America, with assets amounting in rouna 
numbers to $10,000,000, and $6,000,000 surplus; The Pennsylvania 
Fire, established in 1825, with present assets aggregating $2,890,897.34, 
and a surplus of $1,682,929.27; The Orient Insurance Company, of 

Hartford, Conn., with a capital of $1,000,000, and $1,143,125 surplus; 
The Provident Life and Trust Co., of Philadelphia, and other com- 
panies long established and equally responsible. In the department 
of real estate, their attention is largely devoted to the sale or lease of 
improved city property, and property along the Belt Line Railway. 
They have large lists of property for sale or lease, adapted to occupa- 
tion for residence, commercial or manufacturing purposes, and parties 
desiiing to buy or sell will do well to consult these gentlemen. They 
are also prepared to loan money, having the command of Eastern 
capital to any amount, to negotiate loans in behalf of clients, etc., and 
do a large business in all their departments. The members of the 
firm arc experienced and influential operators in their several lines, 
and their house enjoys a distinguished reputation for reliability, liber- 
ality and correct business methods. 

Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co.— No. 32 Vance 
block. — This company, noted as one of the oldest, largest and most 
prosperous life insurance enterprises in the world, was organized in 
1846 at Hartford, Conn., and has, through a long and active career, 
maintained its reputation for solvency, liberality, and fidelity to the 
interests and protection of policy holders. During the company's 
history, now covering nearly half a century, it has disbursed upward 
of $1,000,000 per year for death claims alone, returned a surplus of 
over $45,000,000, and transacted its entire business at a total expense 
of a trifle more than $17,000,000. Of their receipts during the same 
period, 62.07 per cent, have gone to policy holders and their benefici- 
aries, 26.57 per cent, to swell the volume of net assets, 8.39 per cent, 
for expenses, and 2.97 per cent, for taxes, a record that challenges 
comparison in the history of life insurance. The year 1888 was pros- 
perous for the company. Its expenses were decreased and the 
number of its policies was increased, making the total number in 
force greater than 70,000. Its assets on December 31, 1888, amounted 
to $57,460,649.20, and its surplus, by the Connecticut standard of 4 
per cent., was $5,565,079.59. The company is judiciously managed, 
their contracts of insurance are conservative, and the character 
of the assets which protect them, the volume and margin of the 
surplus, and the methods adopted and enforced, conclusively demon- 
strates that no company in the world furnishes more substantial 
security for the protection of those for whose benefit life insurance 
was originated and is supported. The company has agencies at every 
city in the L^nited States. The agency was established at Indian- 
apolis about 1850, and has been in operation for 39 years. Charles P. 
Greene has been the representative for the State of Indiana since 
1885. He is a man of long experience in life insurance, and patrons 
of the company and the public can rely upon prompt service and the 
most honorable treatment at his hands. His office is at No. 32 Vance 
block, of which building the Connecticut Mutual are the owners. 

Equitable Life Assurance Society of tine United 

States— D. B. Shideler, Manager; J. E. Shideler, Cashier ; south- 
east corner Washington and Meridian streets. — This society, from its 
organization in New York in 1859 to the present time, has enjoyed an 
unvaryingly prosperous and successful career, with its paid-up capital 
of $100,000 untouched, and a phenomenally large and annually increas- 
ing surplus. The association is mutual in the broadest sense, and its 
plans embrace the ordinary life, endowment, term, semi and free 
tontine and others, the rate being determined by the plan selected 
and the age of the applicant. Policies are written for male 
applicants between the ages of from 25 to 70, and for applicants 
younger than the minimum age cited, upon certain conditions. 
Great care is exercised in the selection of risks and the death rate is 
less than 75 per cent, of the regular mortality tables, thereby increasing 
the surplus and producing a corresponding profit to members. The 
financial condition of the society, as shown by its statement, dated 
December 31, 1888, exhibits an outstanding assurance of $549,216,126, 
assets amounting to« $95,042,922.96, and liabilities aggregating 
$74,248,207.81, with net assets of $95,042,922.0)6, representing the grand- 
est results ever achieved by any insurance company in the world's 
history. During 1888 there was $153,933,535 new assurance written. 
The company is noted for able management, prompt adjustment of 



claims and unswerving fidelity to the interests of patrons. The 
Indianapolis agency has been a feature of this city for many years. 
Since 1875 it has been under the management of D. B. Shideler. He 
occupies handsome offices in the Blackford block, and directs the 
society's business throughout the State, with local agents at all the 
leading cities and towns within the territory, in addition to five travelers 
and a force of office assistants. His efficient supervision has materially 
contributed to the company's success. He is assisted in his conduct 
of affairs by J. E. Shideler, Cashier of the agency, and the house 
enjoys the implicit confidence of the insuring public in all directions- 

The Germania Life Insurance Co.- Life Insurance; 
Chas. Kahlo, Manager for Indiana; Fletcher Bank building. — This 
company, which commenced business in i860, has its home office at 
No. 20 Nassau street, New York City, with State agencies in all the 
large cities of the United States and the German Empire. On January 
I, 1889, the Germania had assets amounting to §13,961,1(59.83, and 
a total surplus as regards policy holders of $1,188,521.33, with a total 
insurance in force of 549.921,750.00. During 1888, the total income 
was $2,544,458.86, and from the date of its organization up to the close 
of that year, a period of 28 years, had paid to its policy holders for 
death claims, endowments, annuities, dividends and surrenders a 
total of $21,316,201.00. It issues policies according to the ordinary 
life and endowment plans, also "dividend tontine" and "absolute 
bond " policies, in which the amount assured becomes payable at the 
end of specified periods or at previous death. Premiums are payable 
in semi-annual or quarterly installments, and by careful selection of 
risks, the company's losses are naturally light, and their rates corre- 
spondingly low. The company has done business here for many 
years. In November, 1888, Charles Kahlo was appointed manager 
for the State of Indiana. He is a man of enterprise and broad views, 
who served as American Consul to Sydney, Australia, for about four 
years, being appointed to that station by President Garfield, and 
is especially qualified to promote the interests and success of the 
Germania in this section of the country. His business is large 
throughout the city and State. 

John R. Leonard. — Fire Insurance, Real Estate and Loans; 
.•Etna Building, North Pennsylvania street. — Mr. Leonard, who estab- 
lished this business in 1886, is a representative citizen who had for 
four years, prior to embarking in his present operations, served as the 
collector of customs for the port of Indianapolis, upon retiring from 
which he accepted the local agency of the vEtna, of Hartford, Conn., 
and the North British and Mercantile, of London, with a large scope 
of territory under his management. Both companies are exclusively 
fire, the first named having a capital of $4,000,000, assets amounting to 
$9,538,588, and a surplus of $7,348,058, while the latter has $3,125,000 
capital, $13,857,217 assets and $10,879,986 surplus. In the domain of 
real estate, he buys and sells city property, improved and unimproved 
upon the most favorable terms, on his own account and to order, and 
is a valuable agency through whom to effect transactions. He also 
negotiates loans, invests money upon mortgage and other first-class 
securities, and executes commissions promptly and satisfactorily. His 
business in all its departments is conducted upon the most liberal and 
honorable basis. Losses are adjusted and paid as soon as the same 
are legitimately determined, property is bought and sold to the best 
advantage, and the money of capitalists and interests of his clients 
are most scrupulously cared for. He employs a staff of competent 
assistants and does a steadily increasing business. 

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co.— Charles A. Holland, 
District ,\gent; W. H, Herrick, (ieneral Agent, Grand Rapids, Mich.; 
92 East Market street. — This company, organized in 1867, has from 
that date paid over $4,000,000 to policy holders, and to-day has actual 
cash assets aggregating upward of $1, 900,000. It does a life, endow- 
ment and accident insurance business upon all plans, making a lead- 
ing feature of its plan of insurance against accident, by which those 
injured in railroad or other accidents receive a weekly indemnity 
during the period of their detention from labor, and if total disability 
or death follows, the payment to them or their heirs of the amount of 

the policy. The latter arc non-forfeitable, contain no restrictions on 
travel or place of destination, and expressly stipulate that no deduc- 
tions are made at death, for amounts of indemnity paid previously. 
The risks assumed are limited in amount in respect to those engaged 
in occupations, the pursuit of which is accompanied by more than 
ordinary danger, and in no event is the payment of claims delayed 
after they become due. The affairs of the company, throughout its 
history, have been managed with such fidelity, and have exhibited 
this particular inducement so often and so manifestly, as to not only 
challenge public acknowledgement, but to enhance its reputation and 
advance its prosperity to its present high standard. The average 
time between filing of death proofs and payment of death claims, 
during 1888, was one and one-half days. The firm of Holland & Glazier 
took charge of the company's affairs here in the spring of 1888. Dur- 
ing December of the same year, Charles A. Holland, the senior mem- 
ber of the firm, succeeded to the business. Prior to embarking in his 
present enterprise, he was a railroad engineer, but becoming disabled 
in an accident, and having a large acquaintance among railroad men, 
with whom the company does its chief business, accepted the agency. 
The company issues accident tickets and policies to travelers, with 
an insurance not to exceed $6,000, and a weekly indemnity of $30, in 
addition to its regular operations above mentioned. This office is 
tributary to the general agency at Grand Rapids, Mich., in charge of 
W. H. Herrick. Mr. Holland includes within his territory the States 
of Indiana, Illinois and Ohio; employs a force of five solicitors and 
is doing a prosperous business. 

Powell & Rhodes — Real Estate, Rentals and Insurance; 72 
East Market street. — The real estate and insurance firm of Powell & 
Rhodes, organized in 1888, is composed of W. A. Rhodes and Geo. 
W. Powell. Mr. Rhodes is secretary of the Franklin Building Asso- 
ciation, of the Indianapolis Building and Loan Association, and of the 
Mutual Home and Savings Association, three of the most reliable 
and substantial corporations of their kind in the country, having a 
total capital of $2,500,000, and total assets in round numbers approx- 
imating $150,000. He also owns large coal interests here, having 
extensive yards at the corner of Delaware and Merrill streets, fully 
equipped for the business and handling heavy stocks of anthracite 
and bituminous coal. Mr. Powell was for many years of the real 
estate house of John S. Spann & Co., and subsequently for a period 
of five years partner in the firm of Fitzgerald & Powell. The firm 
are accessibly located, and buy, sell, exchange and lease city and 
suburban property on their own account, and possesses advantages in 
their knowledge of values, perfect titles and other important infor- 
mation connected with real estate here and in the vicinity that ren- 
ders their services specially desirable. They have a large list of 
choice holdings for sale or rent, and all commissions to purchase, sell 
or lease, entrusted to their direction are faithfully and satisfactorily 
carried out. They are also sole agents for the Agricultural Insurance 
Company of Watertown, N. Y., the strongest and largest company 
'doing an exclusively dwelling business in the L^nited States. It has 
been in operation 36 years, now issues over 75.000 policies per annum, 
and has paid for losses since its organization the sum of $5,981,602.22. 
Upon January i, 1889, its capital was $500,000, its net assets for the 
protection of policy holders were $1,958,109.54, and its net surplus, 
over capital, reserve and all liabilities, was $302,191.40. The com- 
pany's rates are low, and all losses are promptly paid immediatelv 
they are ascertained. They also represent several others of the most 
substantial fire companies. Messrs. Powell & Rhodes attend person- 
ally to the various departments of their undertaking, and under their 
careful and honorable management, the business, which has grown 
steadily in its dimensions from the start, is increasing in importance 
and prosperity. 

The Mutual Life Insurance Co. of New York.— 

Ferguson &: Grant, General Agents, Detroit, Mich.; J. J. Price, Local 
Agent, Indianapolis; 14 Talbott block. — This company was incorpor- 
ated in 1843 iipon the mutual plan and without a dollar of capital. 
Every dollar of its assets is the property of the policy holders; every 
dollar of profit is divided among those whose contributions were the 



means by which it was produced, and the management and control of 
the business, with the business itself, is owned by and held solely for 
the benefit of the policy holders. The advantages thus offered by the 
Mutual Life, of New York, are so plainly apparent that even the 
most inexperienced will readily comprehend their importance and 
value. It issues policies upon the life and endowment plans at the 
lowest rates compatible with the quality of insurance furnished and 
the risks assumed, and all policies issued are non-forfeitable as to 
premium payment after three annual premiums have been paid, and 
the 15 and 20 year distribution policies are by far the most liberal 
insurance plan ever offered by any company. On January i, l8Sg, the 
total assets of the company amounted to $126,082,153.56, and its total 
surplus to $7,940,063.63. During 1888, the number of policies in force 
was increased 17,426, making the total number in force at the close of 
that year 158,369, and $14,724,550.22 were returned to policy holders. 
the cash receipts for the same period aggregating $26,215,932.52. The 
company has been repre- 
sented here for many years, 
Indiana being included in the 
department of which Michigan 
is a portion, with headquarters 
at Detroit, in charge of Fergu- 
son & Grant. The local agent 
for Indianapolis and Marion 
County is J J. Price, who has 
managed the business since 
1884. He is an able, energetic, 
enterprising representative of 
insurance interests and his 
management has inspired con- 
fidence in behalf of the com- 

The Howard Aid As- 
sociation—Berry Self, Pres- 
ident; Lew Replogle, Secretary 
and Treasurer; 10 and 11 Ma- 
sonic Temple. — The propriety 
of life insurance is no longer 
questioned by prudent men, 
but the great objection that is 
generally made to old-line 
companies of recognized solid- 
ity is that insurance, as fur- 
nished by them, is a dear 
investment, the premium 
charges being out of all just 
proportion to the amount 
necessary to pay losses and 
e.xpenses; and an insurance 
contract, combining safety with 
economy, has long been much 
desired by the insuring public. 
To efficiently meet this want 
the Howard Aid Association was formed in 1878, and was after rein- 
corporated in accordance with the provisions of the act of March g, 
1883. The plans of insurance of the association, which was devised 
by Mr. Lew Replogle, an experienced insurance man and Secretary 
of this company, are protected by copyright. They avoid the excess- 
ive premiums of the old-line companies, and at the same time are not 
dependent upon uncertain contributions, as are the purely co-operative 
associations. Every member who enters the company makes a pay- 
ment to his individual credit fund, and a percentage of each future 
assessment is also placed to this fund, which is ample to remunerate 
the persistent member in case of his lapse, and insurej a payment 
from each member, whether he responds to the assessment call or 
not, and also serves the purpose of keeping his policy in force. The 
company is also strengthenefl by a security fund, limited to $500,000. 
This fund, which is invested in the nam"e of the association, belongs 
to its members, and the interest upon it is applied to the payment of 

assessments of all members who have been in good standing for five 
years. The practical operations of these plans have proved their 
sagacity, and the net result of the company's experience shows that 
it affords safe insurance at a remarkably low rate of premium, afford- 
ing a maximum of benefits with a minimum of burdens. Its practical 
beneficence is demonstrated by the fact that it has paid out over 
$140,000 to the widows and heirs of its members. The association 
has members in twenty-seven States and Territories, and its business 
is steadily and annually increasing. The management of the com- 
pany is in the hands of gentlemen of the highest character and 
standing, and its Board of Directors is composed of prominent business 
men of the city. The association is recognized as one of the strongest 
in the country, while none presents to the policy holder a greater 
amount of Ijcnefit from an insurance standpoint. 

H. H. Beville — Factory Site and General Real Estate and 

Jnvestment Broker; Rooms 4, 5 
and 6, zYz West Washington 
street; Telephone 305. — One 
of the influential real estate 
brokers in this city is H. H. 
Beville, who established the 
business in 1879, ^"d through 
the exercise of enterprise has 
steadily increased his opera- 
tions in volume and import- 
ance. His specialty, and one 
to which he devotes very par- 
ticular attention, is the secur- 
ing of large tracts of land at 
the most available points on 
the Belt Line Road, as also in 
the city for subdivision, sale 
and donation, as the location 
of factory sites, manufacturing 
industries, and for other im- 
provements of a public or 
private character. The result 
of his endeavors in this direc- 
tion is that he controls nearly 
every parcel of land of value 
for the purposes indicated 
along that great public high- 
way of trade. Among these 
are 160 acres bounded by East 
Washington street, the Belt 
Line Road, English avenue, 
and the new Pan Handle 
shops; a large tract adjoining 
the above, platted into lots; 43 
acres on the Belt Line Road, 
betw^een the city and Haugh- 
ville; 22 acres at Haughville; 
35 acres between the city and 
Haughville, through which the Belt Line tracks and gas mains 
have been laid; two tracts of 66 and 33 acres respectively on 
the Belt Road, in the southeastern part of the city; 73 acres 
within the city limits to the northeast; 30 acres in the northern part 
of the city, and 52 additional acres in the same section, all traversed 
by the Belt Line Road, with many other parcels of large dimensions 
and values, from which he is empowered to donate from three to five 
acres and upwards to desirable parties for factory sites. He donated 
the land on which is located the works of the Dugdale Manufacturing 
Company from Baltimore. This company, which has a cash capital 
of $150,000, employs a force of 100 hands, and when under full head- 
way will put on 100 more. It is located on land near the Belt Line 
Road, and Mr. Beville is negotiating for the location here of several 
other establishments that will be sources of supply in their lines of 
immense value to the city's prosperity. In addition to the above, he 
has large plats of improved and unimproved city and suburban 



property for sale or rent, and does a general real estate business, 
besides caring for the property of non-residents, making investments 
for local and foreign capitalists, negotiating loans, loaning money, 
placing insurance, and performing other acts of a fiduciary character 
for clients. He is located as above, where he occupies commodious 
offices, and does a very large annual business. He is prepared to 
execute commissions without delay, to escort parties desirous of 
locating or making investments, to view his various properties, in his 
own conveyance, and all orders left personally at his office, or 
transmitted over his telephones, No. 305 and No. 457, will receive 
prompt attention. Mr. Beville enjoys a reputation as an enterprising 
operator and public spirited citizen, and persons having property for 
sale or to rent, or wishing to make purchases of Indianapolis property, 
will find him an invaluable agency tlii'ough whom to conduct such 

Indianapolis Germao Mutual Fire Insurance Co.— 

113 !2 East Washington street. — This company was organized July 15, 
1884, and incorporated on the 5th of August following. The present 
membership numbers upward of 1,700, and the company is carrying 
nearly §2,000,000 of risks. Its losses for thirteen months ending 
February 28, i88g, were but $250. The company's organization is strictly 
mutual in its design and operations, the members participating in 
the accruing profits and being guaranteed first-class protection at the 
lowest rates consistent with the risks assumed. A very large and 
steadily increasing business is annually done, the risks taken embracing 
those insuring (in this and other reliable companies), the Western 
Furniture Association's property, some fifty policies; the property 
of the Cabinet Makers' Union, of the Krause lounge' factory, of 
Severan, Oysterman &; Co., Frank A. Maus, William Pfiflin and many 
others among the largest property owners of the city. On the i6th 
day of January, 1889, the date of the last annual report, there were 
1,641 policies in force for $1,762,010, being an increase of 334 policies 
and 5348,870.00 insurance since the report rendered for the previous 
year, and total assets amounting to $1 iQ,02g.go, with less than $20 total 
liabilities. The present officers are Friedrich Ostermeyer, President; 
E. F. Knodel, Vice-President; Hermann Sieboldt, who has been with 
the company since its organization in his present capacity of Secretary; 
August Aldag, Treasurer, who, with J. H. Scharn, Henry Bauer, 
Franklin Vonnegut, Henry Spielhoff, Christ Renner, Gustav Stark, 
Christ Gompf, Albert Sahm, Gottlieb C. Krug, Christ Watermann, 
Frank A. Maus and Henry Pauli, constitute the Board of Directors. 

John S. Spann & Co. — Insurance, Real Estate, Rents and 
Loans; 86 East Market street, Hartford block. — Thin house was 
founded in 1859, and the present firm, composed of John S. Spann and 
Thomas H. Spann, was organized in 1868. Their lines of operation 
include the buying and selling of real estate as agents only, the rental 
of property for account of the owner or lessor, the negotiating of loans 
and a general insurance business. The senior member of the firm is the 
oldest underwriter in the city, having embarked in that field of useful- 
ness here at an early day. They are eligibly located, and occupy a 
handsome suite of offices, amply provided with conveniences and 
facilities for the business. In the department of insurance the business 
is mainly local and is prosperous and well managed. They are agents 
for the Liverpool and London and Globe Insurance Company, with 
United States assets amounting to $6,963,811.91, and $3,000,527.28 sur- 
plus, also of the Rochester German, of Rochester, N. Y., and the New 
Hampshire, of Manchester, N. H., representing a total capital of 
$1,928,200, assets of $8,945,735.56, and a surplus of $3,974,930.93. On 
January 2g, 1889, they were appointed agents for the Connecticut 
Mutual Life, a corporation of national celebrity, treated at length in 
this book. Through these companies the firm is enabled to offer 
reliable insurance at the lowest rates. In the department of real 
estate they are agents for the purchase and sale of improved and 
unimproved property in the city and State, giving owners the full value 
of the market price, excepting only regular commissions, which are of 
course measured by the amount of the purchase money, also attend- 
ing to the lease of properties and at present having over 700 tenants 
upon their lists. In addition, they invest money, negotiate loans, 

place insurance, etc., acting in these connections on behalf of a large 
constituency of local and Eastern capitalists. Their long experience 
renders their advice and services in all matters pertainmg to real 
estate and investments of the greatest value. They do a large local 
business, and the house, managed with judicious liberality, is not 
excelled by any similar undertaking in its line in the State. 

Gregory & Appel — Insurance, Loans, Real Estate and Rents; 
96 East Market street; Telephone No. 995. — This firm, which is com- 
posed of Fred. A. Gregory and John J. Appel, was organized in 1884. 
They are eligibly and advantageously located, and represent some of 
the oldest and most reliable insurance corporations in America, with 
well established records for solvency, fair rates and equitable deal- 
ings; embracing among others, the Citizens', of St. Louis, Mo., organ- 
ized in 1837; the Westchester Fire, of New York, established the 
same year; the New York Bowery, also of New York; the North- 
western National, of Milwaukee,Wis.,and the Manufacturers' Mutual, 
of this city, all companies of financial responsibility and liberal man- 
agement. In real estate and rentals, they represent equally extensive 
interests, their holdings of realty in the city and suburbs, for sale, 
rent or exchange, improved and unimproved, being exceptionally 
large, and offering unsurpassed inducements to purchasers and lessees 
in location, price and terms. Their rental list embraces upward of 
300 tenants. In addition, they care for the estates of non-residents 
and other properties, attending to the keeping of same in condition, 
the payment of taxes and insurance, etc. They negotiate loans on 
first mortgages and other solvent securities, mainly for capitalists in 
the city and vicinity, in which also their trade now is. The members 
of the firm give their personal attention to the business, which they 
have developed into large proportions, and their house deservedly 
occupies a high and representative position. 

W. H, Hobbs — Insurance and Real Estate, Rents and Loans; 
74 East Market street. — The insurance and real estate agency of W. 
H. Hobbs occupies a prominent place in Indianapolis and is a sig- 
nificant factor in the total of the city's business in that line. It was 
established by Mr. Hobbs in 1874, and has rapidly grown in value and 
importance to the insuring public of the city and State. He is located 
at 74 East Market street, where he occupies a suite of commodious 
offices well appointed for business, and provided with all requisite 
accommodations for the prompt execution of orders for services. He 
is the local agent for the Sun, Fire and Marine, of San Francisco, and 
for the Linited Firemen's, of Philadelphia. His long experience in 
the real estate business has given him a good judgment as to values 
of property. He is the agent for the sale of some of the most desirable 
real estate in the city. Indianapolis, like a number of other cities, has 
a large number of property owners who reside in different parts of the 
Union, who must depend on the agents for the collection of their rents 
and for the sale and management of their property. Mr. Hobbs has 
always given this branch of the business prompt and careful attention. 
Those who have had business with him have had no occasion for 
complaint. He also loans on improved property, first mortgage, money 
sent him by parties in the East, and collects and remits the interest. 
Indianapolis being a prosperous city, a large amount of money is 
loaned on desirable real estate, and parties looking for those to attend 
to this branch of their business, naturally go to the more experienced 
and well known agents. Mr. Hobbs gives his individual attention to 
the business and his agency is recognized for its intrinsic worth and 

The Old Wayne Mutual Life Insurance Co. of 
Indianapolis — 77^2 East Market street. — This company was 
chartered March 6, 1883, as a life insurance association upon a plan 
by which the funds for beneficiaries are derived from assessments 
made upon members monthly, according to the table of rates adopted 
by the association, and which is just for all ages. The membership fee 
is $10.00 for the first $1,000 of insurance, and $5.00 for each additional 
$1,000 up to $4,000, which is the highest amount issued upon the life of 
any applicant. Any person, male or female, in good health and Jjabits, 
between the ages of 21 and 85 years, inclusive, may become members, 



and each applicant is subjected to a rigid medical examination. 
In addition to such precaution, the charter provides that if the insured 
die within six months from the date of the policy, the beneficiary shall 
not receive more than double the amount of the assessment paid 
thereon; if within a year, the beneficiary shall be paid not to exceed 
one-half the amount of the policy. After a year, if death occurs, the 
full claim is paid at the home office within sixty days from the date 
of approval of death proof. By a careful computation it lias been 
ascertained that the largest amount of assessments individual mem- 
bers can be called upon to pay in one year, under any circumstances, 
on each of insurance carried, is but S12.00 for a person 60 years 
of age, and S72.00 for a person 85 years old. Women are entitled to 
certificates at the same cost as men. There can be but one assess- 
ment per month. The mortuary fund can only be applied to the 
payment of death losses, and the plans of the company embrace many 
other advantages for the benefit of members. The company has 
grown in strength and popularity since its organization, and has 
agents constantly employed in all portions of the State, throughout 
which it is doing a large and steadily increasing business, the income 
from premiums, etc., being over $3,000 per month. The company's 
office is located as above. The present officers are as follows: Dr. 
L. C. Stewart, who succeeded Dr. Harman, President; C. C. Gilmore, 
Secretary. John Furnas was Secretary until 1888, when he became 
Treasurer; P. W. Bartholomew, Legal Adviser, and L. C. Stewart, 
M. D., Medical Examiner; all men of position and prominence, and 
enjoying public confidence in the highest degree. 

John Wocher — General Insurance Agency; Franklin building, 
Circle and Market streets.— The general insurance agency of John 
Wocher was established by that gentleman in 1887. He is an old and 

enterprising citizen of Indian- 
apolis, formerly head of the 
wholesale millinery house of 
Wocher, Rich & Hanford, and 
the present President of the 
Franklin Insurance Company 
of Indianapolis. He occupies a 
handsome suite of commodious 
and finely appointed offices, and 
represents a number of the 
leading insurance corporations 
of America and Europe. Mr. 
Wocher is thoroughly familiar 
with the insurance business, 
and represents the Detroit Fire 
and Marine, the capital of 
which has been increased from 
Si 00,000 to $350,000 since 
March 4, 1866, and which, dur- 
ing the same period, has paid 
a total of $2,271,293.20 in 
losses; The London & Lancashire of Liverpool, the German- 
American of New York, the Franklin of Indianapolis, and other 
corporations of acknowledged worth and reliability, representing 
a total capital of $2,276,000; assets amounting to $9,570,566, and sur- 
plus aggregating $4,700,695.19. The Franklin Insurance Company, 
of which, as already stated, Mr. Wocher is President, with its resources 
and advantages, are set forth in detail in another part of this volume. 
He is prepared to write policies for fire and other lines of insurance 
at all times, and possesses the best facilities, and is enabled to offer 
superior inducements to the public and his large patronage. He is 
assisted by a staff of experienced underwriters, and his business is 
largely in the city and vicinity. 

The Franklin Insurance Co., of Indiana— Franklin 

building. Circle street, corner of Market. — This company was organ- 
ized at Franklin, Ind., during 1851. In 1873, the headquarters of the 
company were removed to Indianapolis, and in 1875, '^^Y erected the 
handsome four-story and basement brick building, now occupied by 
their offices. The premises are substantially constructed and are 

architecturally an ornament to the city; front the Circle Park, oppo- 
site the Soldiers' Monument, and are equipped with all modern con- 
veniences. The capital of the company is $200,000, and its affairs are 
managed according to the soundest principles of insurance policy, and 
its condition is one of unquestioned solvency and impregnable integ- 
rity. All losses are promptly adjusted upon the most equitable basis 
immediately they are determined. The company's annual statement, 
at the close of the year 1888, showed the assets to be $262,351.23, total 
liabilities, including the capital stock and re-insurance reserves, 
$224,012.97, and the surplus $38,338.97. John Wocher was elected 
President in August, 1887, J. M. Neuburger being at the same time 
elected Secretary. The former is a retired merchant, and Mr. Neu- 
burger was one of the founders of the company and its Vice-President 
until that office was abolished. He is one of the oldest and most 
experienced insurance men in the State. The Board of Directors is 
composed of John Wocher, A. L. Roche, Morris Hennoch, J. M. Neu- 
burger and William L. Kizer. Their business is large and principally 
in the city and State. 

Tlie United States Life Insurance Co.— J. W. Lank- 
tree, Manager for Indiana; 25 East Market street. — The LTnited 
States Life Insurance Company was organized in 1850, with head- 
quarters in New York City. The executive officers. Board of Directors 
and subordinate committees are made up of leading merchants and 
capitalists of the Empire State. Policies are issued according to all 
approved plans of insurance, in addition to which the company has a 
specially desirable plan of term insurance, peculiar to itself, and 
known as the " continuable term plan." Its advantages include dtuta 
fide insurance for a definite amount, upon a liberal contract and an 
incontestable policy, at the lowest cost, affording the maximum of 
insurance at the minimum of cash outlay. Policies under this plan 
are issued for 10, 15 or 20 year terms, and are renewable at the end 
of the term upon payment of the premium called for by the increased 
age. They are non-forfeitable after three years to the extent of their 
legal reserve value, which is used to purchase extended insurance; 
and they participate in profits at the end of each term. The company 
is conducted for the mutual benefit of members, to whom all profits 
belong. Ten days' absolute grace is allowed in the payment of 
premiums and all policy claims are paid as soon as satisfactory proofs 
are submitted, without waiting any specified number of days, and 
without discount. During the four years ending December 31, 1888, 
the company paid 561 death claims amounting to $1,404,594, in none 
of which was payment delayed beyond 30 days after proof of loss was 
received, a record that challenges comparison in the history of life 
insurance. At the close of the year 18S8, the company possessed 
assets amounting to $5,976,249.82, and a surplus, as regards policy 
holders, of $689,023.68, but which, on the former basis of valuation (/'. c, 
American taole and 4/< per cent, interest), is $1,016,249.82. During 
1888, there was $6,335,665.50 of new insurance written and $527,413.98 
paid policy holders, leaving the total amount of insurance in force 
on the 31st of December of that year $25,455,249. The company 
has maintained an agency in this State for many years. In 1886, Mr. 
J. W. Lanktree, the present manager, succeeded to the direction of 
affairs here. He had been for the previous four years agent in this 
territory of the Equitable Life, also of New Y'ork, and is specially 
equipped for the business. He occupies handsome and commodious 
offices, employing a large force of agents throughout the city and 
State and doing large and perceptibly increasing operations in his 
line. The company's pronounced success in Indianapolis and Indiana 
has been and is due to his liberal and honorable management of the 

Hamlin & Co.— Real Estate, Rental and Loan Agents; 36 
Ncrth Delaware street. — This firm, composed of Levi H. Hamlin and 
Samuel E. Hamlin, established their present business during 1861. 
They occupy commodious and handsomely appointed offices, and do 
a large business in the purchase and sale of improved and unimproved 
city and suburban real estate, the collection of rents, the securing of 
tenants for account of proprietors, the latter collecting the rents 
themselves but paying the firm a commission for their services in the 



first Instance; payment of taxes, placing of insurance, contesting of 
unjust assessments, care of estates for non-residents, and other 
operations connected with the transfer of real estate. They make a 
specialty of buying and selling all kinds of merchandise and 
established business property, farming lands, etc., and enjoy such 
facilities in this department for superior service that their office is the 
recognized bureau in these lines in this city. They also negotiate 
and place loans upon first-class securities and execute other trusts 
for clients of a confidential character in the most satisfactory manner, 
and upon the most reasonable terms. Their long experience gives 
their opinions in respect to titles, values, etc., great weight, and their 
honorable career of more than a quarter of a century has obtained 
for them the fullest confidence of investors, capitalists and the general 

The New England Mutual Life Insurance Company, 
of Boston, Mass. — D. F. Appel, General Agent; lo When 
block. — The " New England Mutual " was chartered by the State of 
Massachusetts April ist, 1835, and commenced business in December, 
1843. Since organization it has received from members in premiums 
the sum of $53,198,000, and has paid in death claims, endowments, 
surrender values and dividends, $44,251,930. The assets of the com- 
pany on January ist, i88g, amounted to $19,724,538, with a surplus 
overall liabilities of $2,436,189. The payments heretofore made to 
policy holders, together with the present assets, amount to $10,778,468 
more than all the premiums paid by members, in addition to which 
the expenses of conducting the business for more than 45 years have 
been paid. The investments of the company are of the most reliable 
character, which is proven by the fact that on the first of this year 
not one dollar of interest was due and unpaid. Distributions of sur- 
plus (commonly called dividends) are made each year upon every 
policy in force. All policies issued are subject to the provisions of 
the world-renowned "Massachusetts non-forfeiture laws," which define 
and protect the rights of members in every particular. Cash surren- 
der and paid-up insurance values are plainly written in every policy, 
so that the holder may know its precise value for the entire term for 
which it is issued. The special feature of the company is the life rate 
endowment policy written for the same rates formerly charged for 
policies payable at death only. Since the organization of the com- 
pany, only four claims have been decided by verdicts of juries. 
Forty-five years of honorable dealing with its members have placed 
the New England Mutual in the very front rank of the life insurance 
companies of the country. The Indiana agency was first established 
in 1 853^ D. F. Appel, the present general agent, was appointed March 
1st, 1885, after having been special agent for the Western States of 
several fire insurance companies. The agency under his manage- 
ment has been a success, and the growth of the business has been 
very satisfactory to the company. 

Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance C0.--E. S. Folsom, 
Manager; Talbott block.— This company was incorporated in 1851 
under the name of the American Temperance Life Insurance Com- 
pany, the idea being to insure only men of total abstinence habits, the 
same to be taken at lower rates than those established by ordinary 
life companies. Ten years later the temperance feature was 
abandoned and the name of the company was changed to that by 
which it is now known. Its management is liberal but conservative, 
characterized by ability and fidelity to the interests of members, and 
it has grown in strength, influence and importance year by year. 
The company issues all forms of insurance offered by contemporaries, 
making specialties of policies, however, including endowments at 80 
at life rates ; life, endowment, and annuity policies (copyrighted), 
with valuable options at 65, and indorsed guaranteed cash values at 
stated periods; stated paid-up insurance values after three years; 
non- forfeitable and incontestable, and paid-up insurance, good 
without surrender or any formality or attention being required from 
the insured. These specialties are original with the company, and 
afford inducements to the insuring public irresistibly conclusive of 
their advantages. On the ist of January, 1888, the company's gross 
assets amounted to $10,501,559.74, and the surplus, estimated at the 

Connecticut and Massachusetts standard of 4 per cent., to $1,210,01 3.39, 
but estimated at the 4'< per cent, standard fixed by many of the 
States, $1,700,000.00. The Indiana branch was established in this city 
late in the fifties. For the past twenty-two years it has been under 
the direction of E. S. Folsom, under whom its career here has been 
remarkably successful, and in the highest degree prosperous, not- 
withstanding adverse action by the Indiana Legislature toward foreign 
insurance interests. Since then many of the foreign life companies 
estalished here ceased writing policies, devoting their attention to the 
care of the large business established throughout the State previous 
to 1885, when such obnoxious legislation was inaugurated. The com- 
pany, however, will resume operations in this territory, it is expected, 
within a brief period. Mr. Folsom, vvho occupies a handsomely 
appointed suite of offices in the Talbott block, is active and enter- 
prising, and his honorable dealings and prompt recognition and 
protection of the rights and interests of patrons, have earned for 
himself an enviable reputation, and for the company an extensive 

C. E. Coffin & Co.— Investment Bankers, Real Estate, Loans, 
Insurance, Etc.; go East Market street. — This firm, composed of 
Charles E. Coffin and Charles E. Holloway, was organized in 1873 ^s 
successor to the real estate firm of Wiley cS: Martin, established in 1855, 
and with whom Mr. Coffin had been associated since 1867. They 

occupy commodious and 
handsomely appointed of- 
fices in their own building 
on East Market street, and 
are gentlemen of more 
than ordinary prominence 
in real estate, financial and 
insurance circles. In their 
real estate department they 
operate extensively in the 
purchase, sale and lease of 
city and country properties, 
and have the largest rent 
roll here, over 1,000 tenants 
being embraced thereon. 
They are thoroughly 
familiar with the values of 
improved and unimproved 
realty in Indianapolis and 
vicinity, also with titles to 
holdings here, and are 
otherwise valuable agents 
through whom to transact 
business. They also 
negotiate loans and make 
investments of local and 
Eastern capital, besides 
managing other business 
incident to and connected 
with all of these. Their 
facilities for placing insur- 
ance are equally compre- 
hensive, being well known 
and popular underwriters 
and the managing repre- 
sentatives of many of the 
most prominent and reli- 
able corporations of the 
world, including among 
others The London Assur- 
ance of England, British 
America of Toronto, 
IMilwaukee Mechanics' of 
Hampshire, Franklin of Philadelphia, 
Glens Falls of New York, and Firemen's of Newark. The firm 
of C. E. Coffin & Co. has grown to be one of the strongest, 

Milwaukee, People's of Nc\ 



financially, in the city, and enjoys the confidence of the business 
community in a marked degree. Their success has not been due to 
risky speculations with fortunate terminations, but is the result of hard 
labor, good judgment and persistent effort in a legitimate field. The 
senior member of the firm is the Chairman of the Real Estate Com- 
mittee of the Board of Trade, and is prominently connected with 
many of the public enterprises of the city. 

Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Co. — Newark, N. J.; 
Capt. B. B. Peck, State Agent; 13 Martindale block. — This company 
is one of the oldest, most substantial, liberal and equitable in its 
dealings with patrons of any enterprise in the United States similarly 
engaged. It was organized in 1845, and has headquarters at Newark, 
with branches in every State of the Union. They issue policies upon 
all healthy male lives between the ages of 14 and 70 years, according 
to all approved plans, for any amount from S500 to $20,000 — though 
$15,000 is the limit, except upon specially favorable risks— the pre- 
miums upon which may be paid annually, semi-annually or quarterly. 
All policies, after payment of two years' premiums, are absolutely 
non-forfeitable; all surplus is returned to policy holders in the form 
of dividends, and lapsed policies are re-instated upon compliance with 
regulations, the equity and good conscience of which none can dis- 
pute. These are some of the inducements the company offers the 
public. In addition to the regular forms of policy, the company 
issues convertible policies, including all the exceptionally liberal 
features of the regular policy, with the addition of a guaranteed cash 
surrender value, which will be paid on demand at any time after two 
years' premiums have been paid, upon surrender of the policy fully 
receipted, while in force or within three months from date of lapse. 
According to the last annual report, issued January 1, 1889, there were 
57,954 policies in force, representing an insurance of $153,498,623.00, 
the total assets at the same date being $42,896,067.79, and the actual 
surplus, $3,362,523.21 (by Massachusetts standard: actuaries' 4 per 
cent, reserve and market value). During the year, death claims 
approximating $100,000 were paid to beneficiaries in this State. The 
branch office was established here many years ago, and in 1S85 Capt. 
B. B. Peck succeeded to the management. Beside directing the 
operations of three sub-agencies in Indiana, he has entire charge of 
the business throughout the State, requiring the services of a large 
number of special agents for its successful conduct. He is an enter- 
prising and honrable representative of insurance interests, and his 
efforts have materially appreciated the company's business in volume 
and value. The record of the company, and its honorable career of 
nearly half a century, is conclusive that the Mutual furnishes the best 
insurance at the lowest cost price. 

German Mutual Insurance Co. of Indiana— 27 South 

Delaware street. — This company, organized in 1854, is the oldest home 
fire insurance corporation of Indiana, and also one of the most 
substantial and best managed. The annual report of its condition at 
the close of 1888, showed total assets of $384,227.51, w^ith liabilities 
amounting to less than $20,000, and a surplus of $364,227.51. The 
total losses which occurred and were adjusted during that year repre- 
sented g9.093.08, and the total number of policies extant and in force 
were 3,687, for a total of $3,889,290.50 insurance. The headquarters 
of the company are located in this city, and occupy a handsome and 
commodious suite of offices, and contracts of insurance are executed 
at the lowest rates consistent with the risks assumed. They issue 
policies upon properties in the city and State, having agents at all the 
chief points, and its officers are in a position to personally investigate 
the character of every obligation undertaken or concluded. Mr. A. 
Seidensticker is President and Lorenzo Schmidt is Secretary, with a 
Board of Directors consisting of G. Schmuck, Frederick Schmid, 
A. Hagen, Peter Spitzfaden, Friederick Dietz, Edward Mueller, 
Geo. Fingst and Louis H. Mueller, leading business men and 
capitalists who have been connected with the company for years. 
President Seidensticker has been associated with the German 
Mutual since its organization and Mr. Schmidt has filled the position 
of Secretary since 1873. Both are experienced insurance men, the 
latter being also local agent here for the Springfield Fire and Marine, 

of Springfield, Mass., with a capital of $1,250,000, assets of a par 
value of $1,859,400, and a surplus over all liabilities of $617,992.38. 
Great care is taken by the German Mutual in the acceptance of risks, 
and all losses are promptly and satisfactorily adjusted upon the most 
equitable basis. 

Prather & Hanckel— Real Estate, Rentals, Fire Insurance 
and Loans; 66 East Market street. — This firm, composed of Austin B. 
Prather and Henry S. Hanckel, was organized in 1886, and has done 
a large and successful business from the start, the members being 
experienced in each department, and enterprising, public spirited 
men. Their dealings in city and suburban property are very large. 
They purchase for their own account and to order, their knowledge of 
values, present and prospective, and other requisites to a successful 
conduct of the business, making their services especially desirable 
and in constant demand. They also collect rents — their present rent 
roll numbering some 600 tenants, probably the largest in the city — 
care for estates, pay taxes, place insurance, attend to the repair of 
premises, contest illegal and inequitable assessments, and discharge 
other duties connected with these lines promptly and satisfactorily, 
and at the lowest prices. In addition, they are prepared to consider 
applications for loans, and to negotiate loans of local capital, being 
provided with facilities that enable them to transact the business 
expeditiously and in the most reliable and accurate manner. Upon . 
embarking in business, they succeeded to the insurance department of 
the well known house of William E. Mick & Co., in whose employ 
Mr. Prather had been for years. They now represent the Commercial 
L'nion Assurance Company, of London, England, exhibiting assets in 
the United States of $2,716,026.02, a net surplus of $930,355.53, and a 
surplus income of $353,370.11; also of the New Hampshire Fire Insur- 
ance Company, of Manchester, N. H., having a capital of $600,000, 
total assets amounting to $1,505,101.00, and $304,351.79 surplus. Both 
of these companies have enjoyed an established reputation for sub- 
stantiality since their organization, and by steady and conservative 
methods have secured general public confidence. The firm are pre- 
pared to issue policies at liberal rates, and to guarantee complete 
protection and the immediate adjustment of claims for losses sus- 
tained. The members of the firm attend personally to all business 
intrusted to them, and refer by permission to the Indianapolis 
National Bank, John S. Spann & Co., and others. 

Provident Savings Life Assurance Society, of New 
York — Sudlow & Marsh, Managers for Indiana, Southern and 
Central Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee and West Virginia; 90 ,'4 East 
Market street. — This company, which was organized in February, 
1875, with a capital of $100,000, has made the guiding principle of its 
policy the providing of the largest amount of insurance at the lowest 
possible cost. It offers every plan to its patrons that experience has 
shown to be desirable, including the endowment, the limited pay- 
ment, the twenty-year limited term with level premium, and other 
plans, making a specialty, however, of the yearly renew'able term 
plan, which is fast becoming the most popular form of insurance. 
One of the closest thinkers and ablest writers on life insurance — the 
insurance commissioner of Massachusetts — says: "That insurance that 
does not insure is dear at any price. Insurance that costs beyond the 
needs of safety is an unjust burden. That system is best which com- 
bines safety with minimum cost." The principles thus enunciated 
are fully carried out by the Provident Savings. It provides a policy 
furnishing pure life insurance unmixed with banking or investment, the 
expenses being definitely fixed by the policy contract, and averaging 
about one-third those of level premium companies. As an additional 
safeguard against sudden and excessive mortality, it provides a guar- 
anty fund, of which the share contributed by each persistent policy 
holder — if not so needed — is returned at stated times. Its plans have 
received the unqualified endorsement of the leading actuaries and 
insurance commissioners, and its popularity is attested by nearly 
$70,000,000 of insurance written in six years. It applies to life insur- 
ance the same principles as those that govern fire insurance, 
premiums being for insurance purely, and not for banking purposes. 
To illustrate: At the age of 45 years the premium charged is $190.40 



for a policy of $10,000, or Sig.04 per, which sums may be paid 
as a level rate during the expectation of life, and which payments 
may be modified by the savings from mortality from year to year. 
An analysis of this premium shows its component parts to be S40.00 
for expenses of management, $105.50 for death losses, and $44.90 for 
guarantee fund. Compare this with other companies which, combin- 
ing banking with insurance, chaige at age 45 a premium of $379.70 
for $10,000 of insurance, divided as follows: Expenses, $108.50; death 
claims, $105.50, and $165.70 deposited with the company as a banking 
liability which cannot be used to pay current death losses. The society 
also issues a new form of renewable term policy, upon which dividends 
are applied to maintain uniform premiums, the society, after deduct- 
ing the expense charge, limited to $4.00 annually on each $1,000 
insured, agreeing to appropriate the residue of each renewal premium 
paid upon this and upon other similar policies as follows: So much 
as is necessary for its share of death losses is deposited in bank as a 
death fund, to be used solely in settlement of death claims. The 
remainder is deposited in trust as a surplus and guaranty fund, in the 

annual interest-bearing coupon bonds, in amounts of $300 and over, 
at six per cent, interest, payable at the Mercantile Trust Company, 
New York; secondly, 4j4 per cent, compound interest bearing install- 
ment savings bonds of $1,000, due in twenty years, the holders paying 
$30.50 each year during that term, these payments, although aggre- 
gating but $610 actually paid, securing to the investor, with the 
interest, $1,000, and larger amounts in proportion. The result of 
yearly saving is thus directly seen and realized by the holder of the 
bond. These and other denominations can be obtained maturing in 
ten, fifteen, twenty, twenty-five, thirty or thirty-five years, with 
installments payable weekly, monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or 
annually, at the convenience of investors. The security is unsur- 
passed, the Jarvis-Conklin Mortgage Trust Company having a fully 
paid-up capital of $1,500,000, and its entire assets being pledged to 
secure owners of bonds and securities of this company, in addition to 
a special guarantee fund of $100,000 in United States Government 
bonds which has been set aside and to which additions will be made 
from time to time. Should the investor be unable to continue the 


Farmers' Loan and Trust Co., or other depository, and is applied to 
offset increase in the rates of premium on account of advancing 
age. In case of death, the unused surplus in the guaranty fund is 
paid as an addition to the sum insured. Should the policy, after five 
full years' premiums have been paid, be terminated solely by the non- 
payment of any stated premium when due, said unused surplus may 
be applied to purchase paid-up insurance, provided application be 
made therefor while this policy is in full force and effect, otherwise 
said surplus will be applied as a single premium to renew and extend 
the full amount of this insurance for so long a time as said surplus so 
used will purchase. This is the simplest and most equitable life 
policy issued, its terms securing the return to policy holders of 
every dollar paid for insurance, and not used for actual mortality, in 
addition to the face of the policy. 

Messrs. Sudlow & Marsh are also sole agents for the Jarvis- 
Conklin Mortgage Trust Co. in the same territory. The object of 
this company is to separate the investment from the insurance, and 
provide the public what they have long been wanting: First, semi- 

installments, the contract can be terminated at any time at the option 
of the owner of the bond, he drawing the money paid, with interest. 
No better opportunity is offered for the investment of capital, while 
to those of small means equal benefits are offered by payment in 
installments as low as $1.00 a week. The firm of Sudlow & Marsh, 
from its connection with these two companies, is enabled to offer the 
public protection against every emergency of life or death. Thus, by 
the payment to them of one dollar per week, a man at the age of 35 
can secure a policy of $1,000 of insurance in the Provident Savings 
Life, and a $1,000 bond from the Jarvis-Conklin Mortgage Trust 
Company, payable to him in full in twenty years. If living, he gets 
back all the money he has paid in, and has had his insurance during 
the entire period. If he dies, his heirs will have the insurance of 
$1,000 paid to them by the Provident Savings and in addition will 
receive from the Jarvis-Conklin Mortgage Trust Company all the 
money paid in on the bond with 4}i per cent, compound interest 
thereon. Thus, a man of small means need not accept such low rates 
of interest as 3 or 3 '4 per cent., when larger can be obtained with 



equal, if not better, security; and, again, there is no other place where 
he can invest such a small sum as one dollar per week and get such 
large interest for it. Should necessity require, the cash value of the 
bond can be obtained at any time, without notice, before the termi- 
nation of the contract, and other advantages of this bond are, in 
addition to the beneft of compound interest, that it can be easily 
transferred or assigned to others. The Jarvis-Conklin Mortgage 
Trust Co. also issues debenture bonds in denominations of S300, S500, 
Si, 000 and 55,000, or larger amounts if required, bearing 6 per cent, 
interest, payable half-yearly, running for ten years, and having 
interest coupons payable at the offices of the Mercantile Trust Co., 
of New York, or which may be cashed or collected through any 
bank. These debentures are most desirable securities, each debent- 
ure in a series being secured by the entire deposit of first mortgage 
liens in that series. They are based upon real estate security of from 
two to three times their value, secured by mortgages carefully selected. 
They are a direct obligation of the company, can be used, if needed, 
for collateral, and can be held in convenient sums within the reach 
of small as well as large investors, without the expense or trouble 
necessary to the care of a mortgage and its accompanying papers. 
Any further information will be gladly given upon application per- 
sonally or by letter to Sudlow & Marsh, Managers, goyi East Market 
street, Indianapolis. 

Robert Zener & Co.— Fire, Life, Accident, Plate Glass, Etc., 
Insurance .Agents; 31-33 North Pennsylvania street. — This house was 
founded in 1877 by Cleveland & Co. The establishment has since 
passed through several changes of management, and in 1888 the 
present firm was organized and succeeded to the ownership of the 
enterprise. They are the duly authorized State agents for Lloyd's 
Plate Glass Insurance Company, for the insurance of plate glass in 
stores and residences; general agents for the Employers' Liability 
Assurance Corporation, of London, England, with a paid-up capital 
of $500,000, and §200,000 deposited in the L'nited States for the 
payment of claims maturing in this country. The operations of this 
company are described in a special article following this one. Messrs. 
Zener & Co. are also general agents for the Hartford Life and 
Annuity Company, of Hartford, Conn., for which, and the Employers' 
Liability, of London, they do business all over the State, having sub- 
agents at all the principal points. In addition to these, they are the 
local agents here for the St. Paul Fire and Marine Insurance 
Company, of St. Paul, Minn.; the Springfield Fire and Marine, of 
Massachusetts ; the Girard Fire, of Philadelphia ; the Union, of 
California ; the Royal Insurance Company, of Liverpool, and the 
Northern Assurance Company, of London, England ; representing a 
total capital of §6,247,475.00, assets amounting to §30,568,714.67, and 
an aggregate surplus of 512,664,714.62. These companies are all of 
the highest character, honorable in their dealings, liberal in their 
rates, and prompt in the adjustment of claims made against them for 
losses or damages protected in their contracts of insurance. The 
firm is prepared to offer unsurpassed inducements to the public, and 
the business done by them in the city and State is very large and 
steadily increasing. 

The Employers' Liability Assurance Corporation, 
Limited, of London — Robert Zener & Co., General Agents for 
Indiana. — A new plan of insurance introduced into Indiana by Messrs. 
Robert Zener & Co., who represent the Employers' Liability Assur- 
ance Corporation (Limited) of London, is deservedly meeting with 
success and receiving a large and growing patronage from manu- 
facturers and others. Among other forms of insurance the company 
makes a specialty of protecting employers against any liability incurred 
as a result of accidents happening to their employes. The corpor- 
ation issues to the employer a policy based upon the amount paid out 
by him in wages. The employer estimates the amount of money he 
expects to pay his workmen for the ensuing year, and receives from 
the corporation a policy covering the estimated amount of the pay-roll, 
and to this amount the corporation is liable, indemnifying the insured 
against any compensation or damages for injuries sustained by his 
employes, including all law costs which may accrue as the result of 

any legal proceedings based upon such injuries, the employer being 
relieved of all trouble or expense beyond the payment of the premium. 
The manufacturer or contractor thus protected is enabled to compute 
almost exactly every year what his expenses for injuries to his 
employes may amount to. The policy covers any and all workmen 
in the employ of the insured, and the names of workmen are not 
required. They may be changed as often as is necessary without 
notice to the corporation. The company began business in England 
in 1880, and has written nearly 15,000 policies. T»-o years ago they 
began operations in the Llnited States and have already placed about 
2,500 policies wilh manufacturers in this country, including several 
large firms in Indianapolis. The corporation also insures the owners 
or lessees of a building containing an elevator, against any accident 
to any person whatever that may be injured by the elevator. Mr. H. 
L. Segur has associated with Robert Zener S: Co. in the Employers' 
Liability department of the above corporation. He is meeting with 
gratifying success, and this protection, though new to the people of 
Indiana, is rapidly/iffommending itself to favor in this city and 

W. E. Mick & Co.— Real Estate and Loans; 68 East Market 
street. — This firm, which is identified in a prominent way with the real 
estate interests of the city and surrounding country, is composed of 
Mr. VV. E. Mick and his son, Mr. Edward L. Mick. The business 
was established in 1868 by the senior member, who conducted it alone 
for several years prior to admitting his son to the firm, when the 
present style was assumed. They occupy an elegant suite of offices, 
occupying the main floor, 25x100 feet in dimensions, of the building 
at 68 East Market street. They carry on an active and extensive 
business, covering all sorts of real estate transactions, buying, 
selling and renting city, suburban and farm properties, placing money 
on mortgages, and generally attending to all matters connected with 
real estate management and investment. Both of the members of 
the firm are natives of Indianapolis, members of the Board of Trade, 
and active and progressive business men. Their valuable experience 
in connection with important dealings has made Jhem accurate judges 
of the values, present and prospective, of city and suburban property, 
and enables them to make investments on terms most advantageous 
to those placing business in their hands. The close and tireless 
attention paid to every interest confided to them, their promptness 
and accurate methods of dealing have earned for the firm a leading 
place among the real estate houses of the city. 

Railway Officials' and Conductors' Accident Asso- 
ciation — Lafayette D. Hibbard, President; Chalmers Brown, George 
J. Johnson and Charles L. Nelson, Vice-Presidents; William K. Bellis, 
Secretary and Treasurer; 36K West Washington street. — Organized 
five years ago, the Railway Officials' and Conductors' Accident Asso- 
ciation, having its principal office in this city, has since presented a 
most reinarkable promptness and fidelity in the administration of its 
business. The association was formed for the purpose of providing 
insurance against accidents to railway officials, conductors and 
employes, and by its honorable course has commended itself to a 
large clientage of persons engaged in the railway service in all parts 
of the Union, Canada and Mexico. The cost of insurance in this 
association is low, while the rates of payment for injuries are most 
liberal. The association has paid every claim proved against it, from 
its organization to the present time, without one moment's delay in 
any case; has never contested, compromised or discounted a claim, 
and has conducted itself, in its dealings with its members, upon the 
highest and most honorable principles of justice. Since its organiza- 
tion over §50,000,000 worth of insurance has been written; and yet the 
business has, notwithstanding its great volume, been uniformly carried 
on upon methods which have commended the management of the 
association to the favor and confidence of its members. The perfect 
protection afforded by the policies of the association has secured for 
it the largest membership among railway officials and conductors 
than any other accident company. The affairs of the company are 
ably administered by the officers named in the head-lines of this 
article, and its Board of Directors is made up of prominent railroad 



officials, including Messrs. L. D. Hibbard, Vandalia Line; Chalmers 
Brown, C, I., St. L. & C. Railway; Austin Bulman, O.. I. & W. Rail- 
way; D.B. Earhart, C, I., St. L. & C. Railway, and William K. Bellis, 
Secretary and Treasurer of this association. 

The Order of The Iron Hail— Circle Square.— The Order 
of The Iron Hall is an Indianapolis organization, incorporated in this 
city during iSSi. From the headquarters here the executive board 
direct the operation of 1,050 local branches distributed throughout 
thirty-eight States, with a total membership stated at 47,000. It is a 
fraternal and assessment organization, embodying in its plan 6f oper- 
ations a system of benefits, based upon the inost equitable principles, 
that gives the most money to members at the least possible cost. 
Any white person between the ages of eighteen and sixty-five years, 
of moral character, steady habits, reputable calling, competent to 
earn a livelihood, and believing in the existence of a Supreme Intelli- 
gent Being, is eligible to membership, upon passing a satisfactory 
medical examination and the payment of an initiation fee of not less 
than three dollars. The assessments in this order are payable, upon 
thirty days' notice, by members of the several branches, eighty per 
cent, of which is forwarded to the Supreme Cashier in this city for 
sick benefits, the balance of twenty per cent, remaining in the hands 
of the officers of the brauch, to be loaned at interest compounded 
semi-annually, or oftener, and used in the payment of maturing cer- 
tificates. Members who pay for seven years the full assessment of 
$2. 50 receive a stated sum, not to exceed Si, 000, from the income of 
the order, on the maturing year of their certificate. In case of 
sickness or accident they will be entitled to receive, under certain 
conditions, from $5 to ^25 per week, but in no case to exceed the sum 

of Jf5oo during the seven years, which sum or sums are deducted 
from the amount due on the maturity of certificates. They also pay, 
after two years' membership, one-half face of certificate. The maxi- 
mum liability of the order on each certificate is limited to Si,ooo, to 
meet which they have the receipts of the regular assessments, the 
profits from lapses and the reserve derived from the setting aside of 
the twenty per cent, above referred to. The Iron Hall admits women 
to membership, the benefit certificates to sisterhood branches, how- 
ever, never exceeding S600. All local branches are under the control 
of the Supreme Sitting, a representative body made up of delegates 
from local branches, holding biennial sessions and issuing semi- 
annual reports of the condition of the order. The headquarters in 
this city are located on Circle Square, where they own and occupy 
a fine three-story and basement brick building 33x120 feet in dimen- 
sions, well appointed and equipped for business, and where a force of 
twenty clerks and assistants are constantly employed. Up to March 
I, i88g, this fraternal order had levied 112 assessments, the proceeds 

of which amounted to $2,500,000, which amount was paid to members 
in benefits during the time of sickness and disability, besides accumu- 
lating a reserve fund of $550,000. Their monthly disbursements 
average $115,000; and at a meeting of the Philadelphia branches, 
convened in that city January 22, 1889, there was §76,914.50 paid to 
the eighty-two holders of matured seven year certificates, in sums 
ranging from ?200 to $1,000. As similar certificates are maturing 
daily, the amounts which pass through the banks here are not only 
very heavy but form an important item in the monetary transactions 
of the city. The present officers of the Supreme Sitting are F. D. 
Somerby, Supreme Justice, Indianapolis; P. L. Perkins, Supreme 
Vice-Justice, Baltimore, Md.; W. F. Lander, Supreme Accountant, 
and M. C. Davis, Supreme Cashier, both of Indianapolis, with sub- 
ordinate officers, residents in other portions of the country. The 
Order of the Iron Hall occupies a field original to itself, and during 
its career has faithfully and honorably executed the trust committed 
to its care. 

Hiram Plummer— Real Estate, Rents and Mortgage Loans; 
93 East Market street. — A recent addition to the substantial houses 
engaged in the real estate, rental and mortgage loan business of 
Indianapolis, is that of Hiram Plummer, a well known ex-official of 
Marion County. He became established in the spring of 1888, and 
has built up a large trade in the disposal of property in subdivisions, 
for which he is the agent, in all parts of the city and county. He 
buys and sells city and suburban properties, his list at all times 
including superior attractions. His subdivisions embrace the Spring- 
dale and Brookside additions, also the subdivision of Square 2, Lin- 
coln Park. The latter extends from Fourteenth to Fifteenth streets, 
and from Pennsylvania street to Talbott avenue. It is divided into 
32 lots, each being 40.5 by 140.98 feet in dimensions, within one square 
of the proposed cable road, provided for gas and water supplies and 
otherwise desirable. He also controls three other additions, com- 
prising 16 acres on the line of the Belt Railroad. These lots are for 
sale by Mr. Plummer at low rates and upon liberal terms. His list 
of tenants is upward of two hundred, and is daily receiving acces- 
sions. He also effects leases for long terms, cares for properties, 
pays taxes, buys and sells mortgage notes, negotiates loans, invests 
capital, places insurance, and generally attends to every department 
connected with real estate and loans. He is equipped with every 
convenience and facility for the prompt execution of orders at the 
lowest prices compatible with the valuable services rendered. 

National Benefit Association of Indianapolis Acci- 
dent Indemnity; Talbott block, Pennsylvania and Market streets. — 
This association is a home organization, having been incorporated in 
this city during 1881. The objects of the association are for the pay- 
ment of sums ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 for permanent disability or 
death, by accident, and the payment of an indemnity of from $5 to 
$25 per week to the assured permanently or temporarily incapacitated. 
No medical examination is required for admission to membership, 
the only expense incurred being the expense fee and assessments for 
the indemnity fund, the latter remaining the exclusive property of 
members for their protection, while the former goes to paying the 
expenses of the association. The association is managed by a board, 
the duties, responsibilities and powers of which are clearly defined 
and limited by the provisions of the charter. Among the powers 
limited is the retention of funds paid for assessments to that use 
exclusively — the prohibition placed upon the board's creating a liability 
against the indemnity fund, or to create a liability for the expense of 
management beyond the amount of the expense fund to meet. In short, 
no money can be appropriated from either the expense or indemnity 
funds for the payment of liabilities other than those expressly 
provided for in the creation of the funds themselves. The company 
has enjoyed a career signally successful under a management so 
skillful, equitable and at the same time liberal as to commend its 
advantages to an annually increasing patronage from among all 
classes of citizens. The headquarters of the association are located 
in the Talbott block, where they occupy a handsome suite of offices 
and einploy a large force of assistants, in addition to several hundred 



agents operating in all portions of Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Missouri, 
Michigan, Tennessee, Pennsylvania and elsewhere. It is free from 
debt, has assets amounting to $101,71644, and a reserve fund of 
$50,000 on deposit in the First National Bank of Cleveland, O. It has 
paid gi 78,095.38 in claims, $46,944.75 of which was received by the 
employes of the Indianapolis, Bloomington & Western Road at a 
saving to the latter of $28,582.68, which additional amount any other 
accident company would have charged for the insurance. The 
present board of management, besides the members of the executive 
board, consist of John C. New, James Buchanan and John A. Wilkens, 
Indianapolis; Gen. Jas. Barnett, President First National Bank, Solon 
Burgess, wholesale grocer, Stiles C. Smith, wholesale teas, George 
W. Stockly, President Brush Electric Light Co., and N. F. Wood, 
Superintendent N. Y., L. E. & W. R. R., all of Cleveland, O. 
Matthew Henning, of Evansville, Ind., is President; Ralph Worthing- 
ton, of Cleveland, Vice-President, and John A. Wilkens, of this city, 
Secietary and Comptroller. All claims are paid without delay or 
discount on receipt of satisfactory proof, and the business is steadily 
increasing in volume and value. 

The Travelers' Insurance Co.— Life and Accident Insur- 
ance; H. ?il. Hug, Local Agent, ^'ance block. — The Travelers' Insur- 
ance Company, the only successful life insurance company in the 
United States conducted on the stock plan, with low premiums 
instead of promises of dividends, was incorporated in 1863, as an 
accident company. Business was commenced in 1864 and, in 1866, 
the charter was amended, providing for the transaction of life insur- 

ance in addition. During its career, the company has annually 
increased the volume and value of benefits it confers, extending the 
influence exerted, and promoting the objects which its organization 
was sought to conserve. It now pays out annually over $1,000,000 for 
accidents alone, in addition to large sums paid to life insurance bene- 
ficiaries. The company's headquarters are at Hartford, Conn., but 
its branches and agencies are located in all the principal cities of the 
LInited States. The State of Indiana is within the territory of which 
the State of Michigan is part, with the main office at Detroit, in charge 
of J. W. Thompson; H. M. Hug being the local agent in Indianapolis, 
a position he has honorably filled since 1880. He is prepared to issue 
life policies, on the ordinary limited payment, endowment or coupon 
annuity endowment plans, also policies of accident insurance. On 
the first of January the company's assets amounted to $10,382,781.92, 
and its surplus to $2,041,210.41. At that date there had been a total 
of 54,880 life and 1,515,240 accident policies written, and the total 
losses paid in both departments, since their organization, footed up 
the enormous sum of $15,890,776.40. The company also issue acci- 
dent tickets for 25 cents per diem, that are on sale at all local agen- 
cies and at all leading railroad stations. The advantages offered by 
Mr. Hug are low rates and the absolute payment of all damages 
sustained, immediately they are brought to his knowledge, without 
discount; life policies, upon proof of death being furnished. His 
business is very large and to his efforts and enterprise in the discharge 
of his trust, The Travelers enjoys a substantial and established 
reputation here, and throughout the territory within his juris- 


HE Belt Railroad and .Stock Yards Company was 
organized in 1876, and began operations on November 
12, 1877. The company's yards are located on a plat 
of ground containing 105 acres, situated two miles 
southwest from the center of the city. The plant 
seven sheds 


averaging 450x250 feet in 
extent, with one intermediate 
section, same size, not 
covered; all subdivided into 
sections and pens arranged 
in the most convenient man- 
ner for the feeding, watering 
and handling of any class of 
stock offered for sale or in 
transit. The sheds were 
constructed in the most 
substantial manner, the best 
cedar poles being used to 
support the roofs, which are 
gravel, of first quality. The 
fences separating pens, etc., 
are of oak. All the struc- 
tural work is in apparently 
as good condition as when 
erected, it having been the 
policy of the management 
to maintain the property in 
first-class condition. In ad- 
dition to the sheds covering 
the pens, there are chutes, 

with platforms, etc., for unloading and loading stock, extending 1,200 
feet on both east and west sides of the Stock Yards; a sawdust bin, 
400 feet in length, located conveniently for bedding cars to be loaded 
with stock; a hay barn, 200x60 feet; corn cribs, 220x70 feet, capacity 

50,000 bushels ear corn ; horse and mule sales stables, 220x60 feet, with 
auxiliary stables, one 124x60 feet and one 250x30 feet, also stable and 
house for fire department ( 160 gallon chemical and hose reel), 26x38 feet, 
all in good condition, and covered with good shingle and gravel roofs. 
The yards are thoroughly equipped with scales and all necessary appli- 
ances for prompt handling 


of Stock. The water supply 
is derived from driven wells, 
pumped by the company's 
pumps into tanks elevated 
sufficiently to afford pressure 
to force the water into any 
part of the yards. The 
water mains extend through 
each alley, connecting with 
fire hydrants at convenient 
and numerous places, as well 
as with the small hydrants, 
located in each pen for the 
watering of stock. The hotel 
and exchange, a two-story 
brick building, with stone 
foundation and trimmings, 
slate roof, steam heat 
throughout, 240x87 feet, with 
a wing 115x82 feet, all in 
excellent condition. From 
January ist to December 31, 
1888, there were 879,948 head 
of hogs, 87,169 cattle, 84,074 
sheep, and 20,061 horses, of 
which 447,201 hogs, 63,591 cattle, 70,144 sheep, and 19,038 horses 
were shipped to other points, the balance being retained for Indian- 
apolis delivery. During the year the transactions amounted $23,000,000 
in value. 



Fort, Johnston & Co.— General Commission Salesmen of 
Live Stuck; Exchange building, Union Stock N'ards.— Messrs. J. \V. 
Fort and \V. M. Johnston, of this firm, have been identified with the 
live stock business in this city ever since the establishment of the 
Union Stock Yards. Mr. Fort was a member of the firm of Fort, Dye 
& Co., and Mr. Johnston of W. W. Johnston & Co., up to seven 
years ago, when these gentlemen associated themselves and formed 
the present firm. They have since built up a large and active 
business, and the firm holds a prominent position as one of the lead- 
ing live stock commission firms operating at the Union Stock Yards. 
They give their personal attention to all stock consigned to them, 
and do a heavy business. They sell to buyers for eastern houses, on 
order, as well as to local packers, butchers, etc., handling about 
§1,500,000 worth of business annually. Their business is entirely on 
commission, and the faithful manner in which they attend to all 
business entrusted to them and the promptness of their returns, has 
established for them a first-class standing as a representative firm in 
their line. 

A. Baber & Co.— Live Stock Commission Dealers; Exchange 
building, Union Stock Yards.— This firm, which is composed of 
Messrs. Adin Baber, J. B. Sedgwick and E. Nichols, was formed ten 
years ago, and has since enjoyed an active and constantly increasing 
business, commending itself to favor and patronage by the close care 
and attention paid to all transactions entrusted to them, and the 
promptness with which returns are made. They have every conveni- 
ence and facility for prompt and efiicient execution of orders, and 
they sell on commission only, their sales amounting to over 82,500,000 
annually. They have a prosperous branch at the New York Central 
Stock Yards, at East Buffalo, N. Y. All of the members are practical 
and experienced men, conversant with every detail of the busmess, 
and the firm has a standing second to none in the trade. 

M. Sells & Co.— Live Stock Commission Merchants; Exchange 
building, Union Stock Yards.— The oldest house at the LTnion Stock 
Yards engaged in the purchase and sale of live stock is that of M. 
Sells & Co., of which Messrs. Mike Sells and Smith Graves are the 
individual members. The business was originally established fifteen 
years ago by Sells & McKee, the firm changing to its present style 
and membership in 1881. Both of the members of the firm are thor- 
oughly conversant with every detail of the business and possess an 
intimate acquaintance with the live stock markets of the country and 
with the principal stockmen who have transactions at the Union 
Stock Yards. They buy and sell and ship on order all kinds of live 

stock, and also have an extensive business with local packers and 
butchers. Mr. Mike Sells, the senior member of the firm, is the cattle 
salesman. Mr. Smith Graves, his partner, is the hog salesman, and Mr. 
Joel Shinn is employed as sheep salesman. They receive consign- 
ments from all sections, and do a large business, their transactions 
aggregating about $3,000,000 yearly. The firm is deservedly a favorite 
with raisers and shippers of stock, having earned their confidence by 
the close attention given to all commissions placed in their hands. 

R. R. Shiel & Co.— Live Stock Purchasing Agents; Union 
Stock Yards.— This firm, of which Messrs. R. R. Shiel and R. R. 
Reeves are the individual members, was formed in 1884. Both of the 
members of the firm brought to it a long and practical experience, 
Mr. Shiel having been connected with transactions in live stock for 
the past twenty years, and Mr. Reeves having also carried on 
business in the same line for several years prior to forming this 
partnership. The firm makes a specialty of the business of purchas- 
ing stock on order only, and have a large connection with eastern 
customers for whom they buy on an average about 250,000 hogs and 
6,000 head of cattle, besides other stock, per annum; their purchases 
amounting to about $3,500,000 yearly; and they buy in this market 
and ship east. Their cattle buyer is Mr. Abraham Kahn, and their 
sheep buyer, Mr. H. C. Farrow, both gentlemen of extensive acquaint- 
ance and practical experience. The members of the firm personally 
attend to filling orders, and their uniform promptness and accuracy 
have steadily increased their business until this is now the largest 
live stock purchasing house in Indianapolis. 

G. F. Herriott — Live Stock Purchasing Agent; Exchange 
building. Union Stock Yards. — Mr. Herriott has had a long and prac- 
tical experience in live stock transactions in this market, having 
established in business ten years ago, originally as a selling commis- 
sion merchant, and for the past seven years has been engaged as a 
purchasing agent, buying on order only for houses in New York, 
Baltimore, Cleveland, Buffalo and other eastern points. Mr. Herriott 
possesses an intimate acquaintance with the local live stock market 
which gives to his services recognized value, and enables him to fill 
the orders of the trade to the best advantage. As a consequence he 
has secured an extensive patronage, his purchases amounting to about 
$1,500,000 yearly. Mr. Herriott pays close personal attention to all 
matters placed in his hands and is uniformly prompt and accurate. 
He refers by permission to Fletcher's Bank, to Coffin, Greenstreet & 
Fletcher, pork packers, and to W. P. Ijams, Manager of the L'nion 
Stock Yards. 


JCTIVITIES of Indianapolis embrace every depart- 
ment of endeavor, both in productive and distributive 
lines. In appropriate groupings a number of these 
have been specially referred to in this book, but 
among the avocations pursued there are many which 
do not properly come under the classifications made in those chap- 
ters, but which are nevertheless so important as to merit special 
mention. In order to properly represent these branches of business, 
reference will be made, in the succeeding paragraphs, to representa- 
tive establishments engaged in them. 

The Mercantile Agency— R. G. Dun & Co. — No. 2 

Old Scntiiiil building. — The present enterprise owned and managed 
by R. G. Dun & Co. was established in New York City by Judge 
Lewis Tappan during 1841, for the promotion and protection of trade 
in the procurement and dissemination of information respecting the 
financial standing of merchants, bankers, manufacturers, capitalists 
and traders generally. The property and franchise of the enterprise 

was acquired by the present firm some time after its establishment, 
and under their management has become one of the most prominent 
agencies in its line in the world. The headquarters are in New York 
City, with over 130 branch and associate offices distributed through- 
out the United States and Canada. These offices are in charge of 
capable and experienced officers, possessing complete and compre- 
hensive facilities for the adequate rendition of services, and the 
conduct and operation of this chain of agencies entails an expense of 
more than three millions of dollars annually. The most perfect 
system prevails in every department, a large force of reporters being 
employed whose duty includes a personal investigation of the status 
and condition of members of commercial, financial and other circles 
engaged in trading, and the reports made are of guaranteed accuracy 
and reliability, thus insuring to patrons an absolutely safe guide for 
operations involving credit and accommodation. The agency also 
includes law and collection departments among its facilities, employ- 
ing able attorneys in the transaction of their legal business, and 
giving prompt attention to the collection of claims in any part of the 



United States or Canada. The Indianapolis branch was located here 
in 1 87 1, and has become an invaluable source of information to 
patrons, as also one of the most important of any directed by the 
company. A. F. McCormick has been in charge as manager since 
1886, the city department being under the immediate direction of 
Daniel Boote, whose connection with the mercantile agency extends 
over nineteen years. The administration of Mr McCormick has 
been characterized by an ability and honorable enterprise that has 
commended the agency to the patronage of the leading bankers, 
merchants, and others throughout the city and State, and the services 
rendered to an extensive and extended constituency have been 
acceptable, reliable and received with a confidence that becomes 
more implicit with succeeding years. All information as to terms of 
membership, etc., is cheerfully furnished upon application, and all 
commissions are promptly and satisfactorily executed. Their office 
is in the Old Sentinel building. 

The Bradstreet Mercantile Agency — Henry Eitel, 
Superintendent for Indiana; northwest corner Washington and 
Meridian streets.— The Bradstreet Company was founded in 1849 and 
incorporated in 1876. Its career during the thirty years of its exist- 
ence has been honorable and successful and its present capital and 
surplus exceed $1,500,000. The objects of the company are, in brief, 
to furnish yibscribers with information of a commercial character in 
respect to the condition of trade, that will enable the latter to dis- 
criminate with approximate accuracy between a safe and an unsafe 
transaction, also with specific information for their protection against 
fraudulent dealers, undue risks, etc., in their various transactions 
involving the granting of credit. The company's facilities to promote 
such objects are most complete, comprehensive and reliable, embrac- 
ing in addition to its large corps of skilled employes located in all 
portions of the United States and Canada, as also in Great Britain, 
France, Austria, Germany and Australia, over 100,000 correspondents 
who contribute the result of their investigations and opinions at brief 
intervals. These reports are disseminated among subscribers as soon 
as rendered, and no commercial center is more fully alive to their 
reliability, importance and value than Indianapolis. An evidence of 
this is to be found in their recent reports of mercantile failures in the 
United States and Canada for 1888, which amounted to 12,317, an 
increase of 11. 5 per cent, over those of 1887. Of the failures for the 
latter year, the proportion of those failing which had only a moderate 
or fair credit, or which were not assigned any credit, was 91.8 per 
cent., against gi per cent, in 1887. Of the total failures in the latter 
year, but 141 were given a first-class rating and but 155 in 1887. These 
figures conclusively demonstrate the efficiency of the Bradstreet 
Agency, and must be the means of guiding merchants to the adoption 
of a policy limiting their credit to firms with moderate credit or having 
no credit whatever. The company also makes special mercantile 
reports, furnish books of reference, letters of introduction, recommend 
representatives or agents for manufacturers or others desiring to 
establish new business relations, and publish a weekly journal— 
Bradstreef s^m which are presented the results of their investigations 
into the material advancement of business interests, the prospects, 
etc., in an acceptable and comprehensive manner. The company is 
the largest institution of its kind in the world, and its value to mer- 
cantile interests is augmenting daily. The present officers of the 
company are: Chas. F. Clark, President; Edward F. Randolph, 
Treasurer, and Henry C. Young, Secretary, with headquarters in New 
York City. The Indianapolis agency was established here in 1878 by 
Henry Eitel, the present manager, who had for five years previous 
been similarly connected with the McKillop Agency in this city. He 
occupies a handsome suite of offices located as above, employing 
from ten to twelve clerks and has charge of the company's business 
throughout Indiana. He is prepared to execute commissions, furnish 
information and transact all operations promptly and satisfactorily. 
His long experience and intimate knowledge of the requirements of 
the service make him an invaluable representative of the company, 
whose success and prosperity he has so substantially promoted as also 
of subscribers whose interests he has so honorably protected and 

D. A. Bohlen & Son— Architects; 95 East Washington street. 
Rooms 16 and 17. —One of the oldest architects in the city or State 
is D. A. Bohlen, head of the firm of D. A. Bohlen & Son, located as 
above. He began his professional career m this city in 1853, and is 
the author of designs after which some of the most prominent and 
strikingly attractive ecclesiastical structures and public buildings 
of the city and State were erected under his personal superintendence. 
In 1884, Oscar D. Bohlen, who had meanwhile become an expert and 
accomplished artist in the same line, was received into partnership 
and the present firm was organized. They occupy a handsome suite 
of offices conveniently appointed and furnished with every facility 
requisite to the business. They employ a force of skillful draughts- 
men and are prepared to furnish plans and estimates for architectural 
work, also to supervise and personally manage the erection of 
improvements, enhsting in that department long practical experience 
and an intimate familiarity with all the requirements in that behalf. 
Among their more recent designs furnished are the St. Mary's Roman 
Catholic Church and Convent, St. Vincent's Hospital, and a number 
of private residences, the Roman Catholic Church at Oldenburg, 
residences at Shelbyville and other public and private buildings. 
The St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church, the German Church of 
the Evangelical Alliance, St. John's Roman Catholic Cathedral, St. 
Joseph's Roman Catholic Church, the Robert Park M. E. Church, 
Fletcher's Bank building, Talbott block, Hubbard block, etc., all of 
this city, were built after their designs and under their direction. 
They do a large business in the city and State, exerting a widespread 
influence in promoting a high standard of excellence, and enhancing 
in value the reputation of the same territory for the superiority of its 
architectural possessions. 

Charles G. Mueller— Architect and Superintendent; 31 and 
32 Talbott block.— Mr. Mueller is a practical architect of talent, 
experience and skill, and his designs are universally conceded to be of 
the highest order. The business was founded during 1880, by the firm 
of Huebner & Mueller, and continued under their joint management 
until 1883, when Mr. Mueller succeeded to the sole ownership, and 
has since remained in that relation to the enterprise. He occupies a 
handsome suite of offices in the Talbott block, divided into designing, 
conference and business departments, and has a large line of opera- 
tions in the various branches of the profession, and for all of which 
he is exceptionally well equipped and appointed. He devotes his 
personal attention to making designs of residences, public buildings, 
manufactories, churches, State institutions, etc., formulating and pre- 
paring plans for their interior arrangements, furnishing estimates, 
superintending their construction and completion, and otherwise pro- 
moting the interests of clients, and faithfully discharging the duties 
of the trust committed to his discretion and execution. Among the 
handsome improvements in this city made according to his designs 
are: The City Hospital; the German Catholic Hall, on South Dela- 
ware street; Smith's block, on North Illinois street; the Rodius' block, 
adjoining the Sentinel oiiiCt; Dwyer's block, at the South End; the 
addition to C. Maus & Co.'s malt house, and to Burdsall's warehouse, 
etc.; the Hancock County Poor Asylum; the Putnam County Poor 
Asylum; the postmaster's residence, and two churches at Greencastle, 
this State; large business blocks at Logansport, and other edifices in 
this and the States adjoining. All orders receive prompt attention, 
and his personal supervision, and his superior excellence has created 
a constant demand for his services throughout the city and State. 

R. P. Daggett & Co.— Architects; 18 When block.— This 
business was established by Mr. Daggett in 1868, and the present firm 
organized in 1875, when James B. Lizius became his partner. They 
occupy a handsome suite of offices, divided into draughting, designing 
and business departments, and provided with every accommodation 
and facility for the formulating of plans and the execution of com- 
missions in their line. During the past few years, their operations 
have extended into almost every city, town and village of Indiana, 
besides being extensive in the adjoining States, while during the past 
twenty years, the value of work which has passed through their hands 



approximates $6,000,000. Among the improvements erected since 
1885, according to plans and specifications prepared by the firm, arc 
the St. Patrick, Hall's Place M. E.,and the English Lutheran Churches; 
the headquarters of the fire department and eight fire engine houses; 
the two High School buildings, the Girl's Classical School and a 
number of the public school buildings, including public school No. 3, 
the design for which received the first premium at the Centennial 
Exposition, Philadelphia, and leading business houses and private 
residences, all of this city. Also the Court House of Shelby County; 
Court House and Jail, Warren County; First Presbyterian Church, 
Franklin; Cumberland Church, Danville; the school buildings of 
ShelbyviUe, New Palestine, Mexico, Fairland, Morristown, Freedom, 
Arcadia and elsewhere in this State; the Hartford City Bank, 
Indiana Starch Company's Works, at Franklin; the 
Exchange, Halcyon, Sterling, Stewart, Scottish Rite, and 
Bank of Commerce blocks, at Indianapolis, in addition to 
bank, factory and residence buildings at Lafayette, Logans- 
port, Terre Haute, Kokomo, Greencastle, Crawfordsville, 
and elsewhere in Indiana; at Chicago and Jacksonville, 111., 
and at various points in Ohio, Kentucky, and other States. 
During 1888, their designs were used for the business blocks 
of R. S. McKee, J. B. Mansur, William Hearle, etc., in this 
city, also for the remodeling of the Park Theatre, and the 
residences of Dr. O. S. Runnells, John C. Dean, W. G. 
Sherman, Albert D. Thomas and others, and for public 
buildings, factories, etc., in Muncie, Marion, Anderson, Hunt- 
ington, Wabash, Warsaw and other Indiana towns. Their 
work demonstrates the superior ability of the firm, as prac- 
titioners of the profession in which they are engaged. Their 
terms are as low as are consistent with first-class services, 
and the firm fully merits the large and prosperous business 
of which they are the recipients. 

J. H. Stem —Architect ; Suite No. 51, Fletcher & 
Sharpes' block. — J. H. Stem is one of the prominent and 
leading architects of the city. He has devoted many years 
to the study of the art as applied to public and private 
buildings, and also to ecclesiastical architecture. He has 
been established here since 1873. For a number of years 
his brother, A. H. Stem, was associated with him in his 
professional practice, but in 1886 the firm was dissolved, 
A. H. Stem removing to St. Paul, Minn., the present partner 
since conducting the business alone. He occupies a suite 
of offices in the Fletcher & Sharpe block, divided into 
office, display and draughting departments, and is well 
provided with conveniences and appointments for the 
designing of plans and specifications, as also for the estimates of 
buildings of the most ornate or substantial character. Among the 
prominent buildirigs that in beauty of design, interior arrangements, 
and in all other respects have commended themselves to public 
admiration, recently completed by Mr. Stem, are the Cyclorama 
Building, the business blocks of George Stout and Dr. Jameson on 
South Meridian street, the Soldiers' and Sailors' Orphans' Home at 
Knightstown, the University and several business blocks at A'in- 
cennes, with private residences here and throughout the State, as 
also in the States adjoining. His work in all particulars has demon- 
strated his natural aptitude for the profession, and his services are in 
constant requisition in all portions of the country. During the early 
part of 1889 he was engaged in the construction of improvements in 
New York. He employs a corps of experienced draughtsmen and 
supplies a large demand in Indiana, Ohio and Illinois principally, 
and also provides plans and superintends their execution in all 
sections of the L'nion. 

Indianapolis Business University— William M. Redman, 
Emmet J. Heeb, and Elisha B. Osborn, Principals and Proprietors; 
24 to 40 North Pennsylvania street. — The advantages of Indianapolis 
as a center in which a business education can be effectively acquired 
are of the best character; for here, in addition to the moderate cost 

of living and the excellence of the social environments, is to be found, 
in the Indianapolis Business University, an institution having no 
superior, and few equals in the country, in the experience and 
efficiency of its faculty, the thoroughness of its methods of instruction 
or the completeness of its course. In this university practical 
instruction is given in book-keeping, commercial arithmetic, business 
pcnman.-.hip, commercial law, business correspondence, political 
economy, practical grammar, orthography, business papers, methods 
of actual business (office practice), and lectures upon various subjects 
connected with business education. In addition, there is a short-hand 
course comprising the study ot the principles of phonography and 
their application, with drills in dictation and amanuensis work, type- 


vriter practice, penmanship, correspondence, English grammar and 


nd the various departments are in charge of competent 

and experienced instructors. The thorough, practical, and progress- 
ive principles upon which the university is conducted have com- 
mended it to favor, and an average of 500 pupils per annum receive 
instruction in the institution, pupils coming from Indiana and the 
surrounding States. The strongest endorsement of the university, 
however, is found in its home patronage, which is, at all times, large, 
many of the leading business men of Indianapolis and their sons 
having received their business education in this institution. Numerous 
applications are received from business men for assistants, and over 
100 students have recently secured responsible positions with business 
firms in the city and State, and the university is considered by the 
business world to be a valuable medium for securing commercial 
help. The university was originally established in 1850 by W. Mc- 
Kee Scott, afterward becoming one of the Bryant & Stratton Colleges. 
In January, 1885, the entire interests of the various commercial col- 
leges of the city, including the original Bryant & Stratton College 
and Indianapolis Business College, were purchased by the present 
proprietors and consolidated under the existing title of the Indian- 
apolis Business University. The principals and proprietors who now 
have its destinies in charge are experienced educators, who have so 
managed the affairs of the university as to give it a leading place among 
the most thorough and reliable business colleges in the United States. 



Booth's Stables— Jno. L. Booth, Proprietor; Fine Carriages 
and Light Livery; 122 East Wabash street. — Booth's Stables, owned 
and occupied by John L. Booth, for the conduct of a high-class livery 
business, centrally located, elegantly equipped and amply provided 
with commodious accommodations and appointments, is a favorite 
depot of supply for admirers of fine horseflesh and livery establish- 
ments. Mr.Booth began operations in his present line here during 
1887, as senior partner of the firm of Booth & Crary, successors to W. 
J. Ripley. In July, 1888, Mr. Booth purchased the interest of Crary, 
and since that date has carried on the business under the name and 
style of Booth's Stables. The premises occupied consist of a hand- 
some and spacious two-story brick building, 150x100 feet in dimensions, 
admirably situated for the. convenience of a large trade, substantially 
constructed, well lighted and ventilated, and furnished with every 
facility for the care of stock, as also for the ready escape of the horses 
in case of fire. The stable proper occupies the basement of the 
building. It is fitted up with roomy stalls, ordinary and box, containing 
all the latest improvements designed for the health, comfort and 
safety of occupants, and is specially noted for cleanliness and perfect 
sanitary regulations. On the main floor are commodious carriage 
rooms, wash rooms, harness and toilet rooms, also a handsome suite 
of offices, provided and equipped with telephone service and other 
conveniences. The upper floor is used for storage purposes. He 
operates a perfectly systematized hack service for the public accom- 
modation, employing seven large handsome carriages, reliable horses 
and careful and experienced drivers; also a regular livery business, 
for which he is supplied with the latest pattern of coupes, phaetons, 
buggies, light road wagons and other conveyances, turning out only 
iirst-class vehicles for weddings, funerals, receptions, parties and 
other occasions, public and private, and at the most reasonable 
prices. He employs fifteen assistants and twenty-five horses, and 
iocs a large and steadily increasing local business. Mr. Booth has 

the exclusive franchise of the district telegraph calls for carriages to 
any part of the city. They also place in the residence of patrons who 
place their outfits in the care and board of the stable, a private call 
box, which will summon at any time their vehicles, etc. They have a 
private telephone with the A. M. D. T. office, also a telephone separate 
for general exchange business. 


C. & E. W. Bradford— Patent Attorneys; 16 and iS Hubbard 
block, corner Washington and Meridian streets. — The spirit of inven- 
tion is greatly aided by the advantages afforded inventors by the 
governments of civilized nations in protecting them by means of 
patents. These have become so numerous that questions of patenta- 
bility, of infringement, etc., form a special branch of study which 
renders the aid of experienced and expert counsel a necessity. In 
this line, Indianapolis is the possessor of a firm known to inventors 
in all parts of the country as composed of gentlemen of superior 
knowledge and a successful record. The business was established 
in 1876, by Mr. Chester Bradford, who was joined, seven years ago, 
by his brother, Mr. Ernest W. Bradford, in the formation of the 
present firm. These gentlemen combine a practical knowledge both 
of mechanics and patent law with the technical experience in the 
patent department of the LInited States and other governments, 
necessary to insure prompt and efficient action, and they do a large 
busmess in securing patents, trade marks, designs, copyrights, and 
all forms of governmental protection; act as counsel and experts in 
litigated cases, or in cases where litigation is threatened; make 
investigations as to the validity or scope of existing patents for the 
protection of purchasers or others interested, and attend to all other 
business connected with patents. A member of the firm spends a 
large portion of the time in Washington, and the firm enjoys facilities for 
the prosecution of the business which are unsurpassed. Their charges 
are reasonable, and their services in every instance satisfactory. 


No agency has contributed more effectively to the building up 
of Indianapolis and the promulgation of the city's advantages 
than the city press. From the birth of the Gazette, in January, 
1822, to that of the Sun, less than one year ago, journalistic effort 
has proved to be the most powerful instrumentality enlisted in the 
behalf mentioned. The 
history of the Indianapolis 
press dates back to the 
Gazette, now the Sentinel, 
first issued on the 22d of 
January, sixty-seven years 
ago, and includes within 
its pages an account of 
the founding, on March 
7, 1823, of the W'estern 
Censor and Emigrant' s 
Guide, now the Indian- 
apolis Journal. Many 
papers have appeared 
upon the stage of ac- 
tion in this city within the 
past fifty years, like Pallas 
armed for the fray, but 
few survive. They strut- 
ted their brief hour and 
were heard of no more. 
The press of Indianapolis to-day is considered the equal of that of 
any city of the same population in the L'nited States. It is made 
up of the Sentinel and the Journal, daily morning papers, and the 
News and Sun, published in the afternoon, the Daily Telegraph and 
the Indiana Tribune, also daily, the two latter being published in the 

German language. In 
addition to these there 
are twenty-eight weekly 
and twenty-eight monthly ■ 
publications, one semi- 
monthly paper and one 
quarterly. The dailies 
above mentioned also 
issue Sunday and weekly 
editions. All of these are 
ably edited and occupy a 
front rank among their 
contemporaries. The dail- 
ies furnish their subscrib- 
ers with a complete tran- 
script of the local news 
morning and evening, 
while the facilities of the 
Western LTnion and Postal 
Telegraph systems are 
taxed to furnish complete 
and interesting accounts 
of happenings at a dis- 
tance. The weeklies, semi- 
weeklies and monthlies 
handle every variety of 
subjects in a manner that 
commends them to the 
consideration and reflec- 
tion of large and growing 


I HE increase in the consumption of malt liquors, in 
preference to the stronger stimulants formerly in 
almost universal use, is an industrial fact the truth of 
which is borne out by the growth in number and size 
of the establishments engaged in brewing in various 
sections of the country. In Indianapolis the brewing business was 
established in 1835 by John L. Young, who carried it on until 1843, 
when other owners succeeded, the enterprise afterward being aban- 
doned and the buildings torn down. Several later ventures were 
made in the business, the oldest and largest of those now in existence 
being that of C. F. Schmidt, who established it about thirty years ago. 
Since that time there has been a marked improvement in the facilities 
for manufacture, owing to the invention and introduction of labor- 
saving machinery, and a steady increase in the product and in the 

There are now three large breweries in operation here— those of C. F. 
Schmidt, the P. Lieber Brewing Co., and C. Maus, and another and 
smaller one is conducted by A. Hitzelberger. The quality of Indiana- 
polis beer is of recognized excellence,., the water supply being 
peculiarly adapted to this manufacture, while the processes employed 
are of the most improved character. 

C. F, Schmidt — Brewer and Bottler of Lager Beer. — One of 
the manufacturing establishments of Indianapolis which is specially 
prominent by reason of the completeness of its plant and the extent 
of its trade, is the brewery of C. F. Schmidt. This celebrated brewery, 
which had its foundation in 1859, has grown into a commanding posi- 
tion as the result of industry, honorable conduct and commendable 
enterprise. It was founded by iilessrs. C. F. Schmidt and Charles 

S fc^^' I K 


importance of the industry as an employer of labor. The statistics of 
the industry fully exemplify this growth, the beer product of the city 
having been shown by a Board of Trade report to have amounted to 
^317,000 in 1873, with an investment. of $125,000 capital, and forty-five 
hands bemg employed in the industry. In 1S80 the value of the pro- 
duct had increased to $477,000, and the number of those employed to 
seventy-four. Since then an important growth has been exhibited in 
the industry, the production of the breweries having amounted to 
82,000,000 in value in 1888, and the capital now invested in the business 
amounts to $1,000,000, while 210 hands are employed, and an average 
of about $15,000 per month is paid in internal revenue taxes. The 
growth has not been achieved by an increase in the number of estab- 
lishments, but in the enlargement of the capacity of the existing ones. 

Jaeger, the latter retiring in 1861, and Mr. Schmidt becoming sole pro- 
prietor and conducting it until his death in 1872. Mr. William Fieber 
managed the business from that time until 1874, when he also died, 
and Mrs. C. F. Schmidt, widow of the original proprietor, took charge 
until her decease in 1877. From that time the business was managed 
by the executors, Messrs. William Kothe and John W. Schmidt until 
March, 1882, when Messrs. John W. Schmidt and Edward Schmidt, 
sons of the founder, became the proprietors of the business, and still 
carry it on under its original name. Great improvements have been 
made from time to time in the brewery premises, which now consist 
of a number of large and elegant brick buildings, covering five acres 
of ground, including brew house, ice houses, bottling department, 
storage houses, boiler houses, stable, malt and hop warehouses, etc.. 



while the machinery equipment includes two engines, each of 150- 
horse power, five steel tubular boilers, 4!2'xi6 feet, brew kettles having 
a capacity of 300 barrels, two large Linde ice machines, and all the 
latest and most efficient machinery and appliances for the production 
of beer in accordance with the most approved processes. The cellar- 
age facilities of the brewery are unsurpassed, consisting of " bone dry" 
cellars, thirty-five feet deep, with cement floors, iron and cement ceil- 
ings, etc., and fitted with cylinder vats of large capacity. Employ- 
ment is given to a force ranging from ninety to one hundred hands, 
while si.\ty-two fine horses are utilized in the delivery of beer and other 
necessary hauling. The brewery has a capacity for the production of 
1 50,000 barrels of beer annually, and a large trade is enjoyed in the 
city and throughout the State of Indiana, as well as to many points in 
Illinois. The products of the brewery are in high favor with con- 
sumers, in consequence of their purity and superior flavor, and include 
the Standard Lager Beer, for which the brewery has so long been 
noted; the Weiner Beer, a pale, amber-colored beer, brewed from 
Canada malt and Bohemian hops, mild in taste and with a fine hop 
flavor, and which is sold in kegs and bottled; and the Export 
Beer, specially brewed for bottling, and which will keep in any 
climate. Messrs. John W. and Edward Schmidt, the proprietors of 
the orewery, are thoroughly conversant with the business in all its 
details, and are regarded as enterprising business men who have 
greatly extended the business built up by its founder. 

C. Maus — Brewer of Lager Beer; Frank A. Maus, Manager; 
northwest corner of New York and Agnes streets. — Among the 
brewing establishments of the State of Indiana, none has a better 
reputation than that of C. Maus. It was established in 1868 by Mr. 
Casper Maus, whose practical knowledge of the business built it up 
to a successful condition. In 1876 he died, and the business is now 
owned by his widow, Mrs. Magdalena Maus, and managed by her 
son, Mr. Frank A. Maus, under whose direction the business has 
steadily grown. The brewery premises comprise a three-story brick 
building, equipped with a 50-horse power engine, three large boilers 
and the latest and most highly improved brewing and refrigerating 
machinery, the premises covering half a block of ground. The brewery 
has a capacity for the production of 50,000 barrels of beer annually, 
and employment is given to a force of thirty-five men, while ten teams 
are utilized in the city delivery. The product of the brewery is a 
healthy and nutritious family beverage, made exclusively from the 
best quality of malt and hops, and the popularity of the beer steadily 
increases from year to year, with a corresponding expansion of the 

ing with the trade, and its affairs are administered in an efficient 
manner by Mr. Frank A. Maus, who, in addition to his position as 
manager of this brewery, is also Secretary and Treasurer of the 
Broad Ripple Gas Co., and otherwise prominent in important business 
enterprises. The record of the establishment, covering a period of 
thirty years, is one of sustained merit in its product and uniform 
propriety in business dealings. 

The P. Lieber Brewing Co. — Peter Lieber, President; 
William Shriever, Secretary; Albert Lieber, Treasurer; City Brewery; 
Brewers of Lager Beer; South Madison street. — The large and com- 
plete brewery establishment conducted by the P. Lieber Brewing Co., 
and known as the City Brewery, was originally established twenty-six 
years ago by the firm of P. Lieber & Co., changing to the present cor- 
poration in 1888. This company, organized with a capital of $200,000, is 
under the executive management of Mr. Peter Lieber, who has been at 

trade of the brewery. The processes of manufacture employed are 
of the most improved character, and the quality of the beer brewed 
is steadily maintained at the high standard for which the brewery is 
noted. The business is conducted upon reliable and progressive 
principles, which have secured for the brewery an important stand- 


the head of the enterprise from its inception, and whose practical ability 
has been the leading factor in building up the business to its present 
gratifying position of prominence. The premises occupied by the com- 
pany, and upon which their brewery, barns, etc., are located, cover an 
area of two and one-half acres. The brewery occupies a handsome 
brick block, two stories above and two stories below ground, the last 
two affording cellarage to a depth of 42 feet, and the equipment in- 
cludes a 75-horse power engine; three large 4,'4xi6 feet boilers, run 
by natural gas; large brewing kettles, with a capacity of 250 barrels 
per day, and all the most modern machinery for brewing 
purposes, including a new and highly improved refriger- 
ating machine for producing refrigeration by the De 
la Vergne process, recently added to their plant, and 
increasing the capacity of the brewery from 40,000 to 
100,000 barrels per annum. By this addition, also, they 
are relieved of the necessity of gathering ice in winter, 
and enabled to turn their ice houses into store houses. 
They give employment to a force ranging from fifty- 
five to sixty hands, and they have thirty-five horses, 
which they utilize in delivering their product to their cus- 
tomers in the city and its surroundings. The beer 
lirewed by the company is in high favor with con- 
sumers, and in a consequently large and growing 
demand by the trade. This populaVity has been 
-ccured by the use of the best and purest materials 
and the adoption of the most approved brewing pro- 
cesses. The officers of the company are gentlemen 
of practical business experience and thoroughly conversant with 
the brewing industry, and all the operations of the brewery are 
conducted under competent supervision, and their methods of 
dealing are of a character which commends them to the favor of 
the trade and the public. 

The Retail Trade. 

JHE advantages possessed by Indianapolis as a center 
for mercantile enterprises contemplating the sale of 
goods to consumers, are numerous and favorable. 
The large population of the city, which is steadily 
increasing at a rate more rapid than at any previous 
period of local history, affords in itself an important source of custom, 
added to which is the constant influx of visitors from all parts of the 
State, who find the Capital City one specially prepared to supply their 
needs in all the articles of necessity and luxury. The retail stores of 
the city cover every line of mercantile business, and many of them, 
in size and completeness of equipment, compare favorably with the 
most extensive and pretentious establishments of a similar character 
in the country. These facts are well known to the people of Indian- 
apolis, and neighboring cities and country districts, and it is appreci- 
ated by them that it is no longer necessary to go to distant places to 
do shopping. The railroad connections of the city act as feeders to 
its trade, bringing not only large numbers who come expressly for the 
purpose of buying, but also gathering here, in conventions and import- 
ant meetings, people from all parts of the State, who furnish custom 
to the stores. Among the leading retail establishments of the city 
many of the most prominent are noticed in the succeeding paragraphs 
of this chapter. 

H. P. Wasson & Co.— Retailers of Dry Goods; 12 and 14 West 
Washington street. — One of the foremost of the retail dry goods 
emporiums in the city or State, carrying the most extensive and 
choicest lines all through, is that of H. P. Wasson & Co. at the above 
location on the most fashionable retail highway of Indianapolis. It 
was established in 1883 by Mr. Wasson, who is President of the Cleve- 
land Dry Goods Company, of Cleveland, O., in which city he passes 
much of his time, the business here being in charge of John Daglish, 
who attends also to the selection and purchase of the stocks, visiting 
the eastern markets two or three times a year for that especial 
purpose. The premises occupied consist of an elegant three-story 
and basement building, 40x150 feet in dimensions and handsomely 
appointed and equipped. Every facility for the display of the superb 
lines of goods carried, and the convenience and accommodation of 
the high class trade to which the firm ministers, has been provided, 
including improved elevator and telephone service. Their stocks, 
which are selected with special reference to the wants of customers 
here, embrace foreign and domestic silks, satins, velvets, dress goods, 
laces, embroideries, shawls, wraps, hosiery, gloves, linens, domestic 
cottons, ladies' and gents' furnishings, nick-nacks, notions, novelties, 
etc., imported and of American make, in great variety and of the best 
description. A dressmaking department is included m the equip- 
ment of the establishment, in charge of an experienced modisic, and 
supplied with every auxiliary that can in any way contribute to meet 
the demand or promote superior workmanship. The house is in all 
respects a model of enterprise, elegance and liberal management, 
commanding the confidence and patronage of the best class of 
customers in the city and vicinity, as also among transients, giving 
employment to a force of one hundred clerks and doing an annual 
business very large, and steadily increasing in volume and value. 

Egan & Treat— Drapers and Tailors; 24 North Pennsylvania 
street. — One of the leading and most fashionable draper and tailoring 
firms in Indianapolis or the State, is that of Egan & Treat, composed 
of E. C. Egan and A. J. Treat, which was organized and began oper- 
ations during 1868, and since that period has conducted a large trade 

of the highest character. They are located at one of the most 
eligible sites on North Pennsylvania street, and occupy handsome 
premises, 20x125 feet in dimensions. They are attractively furnished, 
supplied with every available convenience that will facilitate the 
promotion and dispatch of business, or the accommodation of a large 
and exacting patronage. They are also equipped and appointed for 
an adequate display of their varied lines of stocks and for the 
successful handling of the trade. Their supplies are as diversified 
as they are select, embracing the choicest qualities of imported Eng- 
lish, Scotch, French and German fabrics; also the products of the 
most celebrated American looms, in addition to trimmings, novelties, 
etc., included in the stock of a prominent high class establishment, 
such as Messrs. Egan & Treat own and manage. They make to 
order exclusively and by careful measurement, and the garments are 
always in the latest fashionable styles, cut and fitted by artists in 
these departments and trimmed and finished in a manner to challenge 
the criticism of the most fastidious patron or purveyor. They 
employ from thirty to thirty-five expert and accomplished assistants 
and supply a large and increasing local demand, also from regular 
customers throughout the country from Maine to California, in 
addition to that of customers residmg in equally remote sections who 
send in their measures and orders, prompted thereto by the high 
reputation enjoyed by the house for superior production and honor- 
able business methods, wherever it is known. 

Eastman, Schleicher & Lee — Carpets, Draperies and 
Wall Paper; 5, 7 and g East Washington street. — This firm, which 
was organized in 1885, is composed of Walter H. Eastman, Adolph 
Schleicher and Fielding T. Lee, and is leading and representative in 
every respect. They occupy a four-story and basement building, 
22x120 feet, also two floors, each 30x135 feet in dimensions, in the 
building adjoining to the east, and the premises in their entirety are 
exceptionally equipped and provided with conveniencies for an elab- 
orate display of their stocks, as also for their facilities for shipments 
and the transaction of business. The seven floors occupied by the 
firm are appropriated to several departments, being connected by the 
celebrated Crane elevator. One is used for the display of draperies 
and ingrain carpets, another for Brussels and finer grades of carpets, 
a third for wall paper and decorations, the fourth for mattings; the 
fifth for linoleums and oil cloths, and their lace curtain and portiere 
stock is a feature of Indianapolis. An original feature of the estab- 
lishment is what is known as the " Oriental Room," of which a recent 
newspaper article says: " It has a vestibule which might be termed 
a royal Japanese arch, constructed with characteristic Japanese roof, 
supported with square columns, adorned with fantastic figures in 
relief and inclosed with fretwork of marvelous pattern and ornamen- 
tation. Double curtains of richest texture divide the porch from the 
interior, which is as intensely Turkish as the entrance is Japanese. 
If admiration kindles at sight of the entrance, silent wonder is stirred 
or escapes in exclamations when the visitor stands within. The eye 
wanders from Turkish rugs, which softly cushion the feet, to walls 
and ceilings hung in drapery done in all the exquisite forms of beauty 
and grace. The stately mirror with its Turkish columns, the superb 
mantel cabinet with its precious burden of bric-a-brac and ornaments ' 
beyond enumeration, the carved Turkish vases with their rank growth 
of exotic plants, the circular divan with high back, inclosing a basin 
and playing fountain, sending off a perfumed spray; the overhanging 
Turkish lamps giving forth light as if from a sentimental moon; the 
soft notes of a musical box and a yet more musical bird, floating out 



upon the air of the place; inviting Turkish couches, soft as down, to 
recline upon— these are some of the features of the Oriental room 
within which one may easily fancy the languid dalliance of an 
Oriental harem. A dusky lad, Abidal by name, of slight form and 
bedecked in full Turkish costume, waits on the place, carrying out 
the thought. Nothing could be said in exaggeration or in peril of 
raising expectation beyond the point of realization." The firm carry 
the most complete lines, imported direct from the European markets 
and selected with care from the products of the most famous American 
manufactories. Their specialty is the equipment of residences, halls, 
public buildings, etc., ready for furnishing, personally attending to 
the fitting of carpets, arrangement of draperies, etc. They employ a 
competent force of assistants, and supply the wants of a large trade 
in the city and throughout the State. The members of the firm have 
enjoyed a long experience in the business, and their success the 
recognition of deserving merit. 

W. H. Messenger— Dealer in Furniture, Carpets and Stoves; 
loi East Washington street, and 13 to 17 South Delaware street.— 
From 1878 to i884Mr. Messenger held acontroUinginterestinthehouse 
of Born & Co. During the latter year, however, he embarked in the 
present enterprise of which he has since remained the sole proprietor. 
He occupies a commodious four-story and basement building, 25x100 
feet in dimensions, at the rear of which is a two-story building 60x100 
feet, and fronting on Delaware street, the warehouse for the storage 
of surplus stock being 25x100 feet, and located at 186 South Meridian 
street. The premises are conveniently appointed and equipped for 
the special uses for which they are severally occupied, such being 
particularly the case with the Washington street store, which is pro- 
vided with the finest elevator service in the State, made expressly to 
Mr. Messenger's order. He deals in furniture, carpets, stoves, 
mattresses and household furnishings generally. The store on Wash- 
ington street is departmented and supplied with every accommodation 
for the rare and comprehensive displays of stock. The basement is 
devoted to stoves and mattresses, the main floor to office purposes 
and the exposition of chamber suits, china and glassware, the second 
floor to rattan goods and fancy furniture, the third to side-boards 
library suites, chiffoniers, folding beds, etc., and the fourth floor to 
the display of parlor and drawing-room suites, upholstered in the 
richest fabrics and latest designs. The carpet warerooms occupy the 
second floor of the building on Delaware street, the main floor of the 
same premises being utilized for shipping purposes. The stocks 
throughout are of the best manufacture, thoroughly classified and 
arranged, and are in every particular unsurpassed in style, attractive 
finish and substantial durability. The services of twenty-five assist- 
ants and three wagons are required in the business, and a very large 
local trade is supplied, as also an extensive and steadily increasing 
demand throughout the country from New York to Minnesota. 

Emil Wulschner— Wholesale and Retail Dealer in Pianos 
and Organs; 42 and 44 North Pennsylvania street.— Emil Wulschner 
has been engaged as wholesale and retail dealer in musical instru- 
ments and publications in Indianapolis since 1877, when he began the 
business, and' now conducts one of the leading e tablishments in that 
line in the Northwest. He occupies the main floor and basement, 
each 40x100 feet in dimensions, well supplied with all requisite facili- 
ties for the purposes of display, sale and shipment of stock. One 
portion of the premises is devoted to band instruments, sheet and 
book music, and musical novelties, the other portion to pianos and 
organs. He also occupies a commodious four-story warehouse to the 
rear of the Indianapolis News office. He carries pianos of the Stein- 
way & Son, H. F. Miller, Vose & Sons, New England, Wheelock, 
Chickering and other celebrated manufacture, which are warranted 
for five years, and may be exchanged at any time. He handles organs 
of the Burdett pattern, and an excellent organ of his own make, also 
brass and reed instruments, and deals largely in guitars, mandolins, 
harps, banjos and small instruments in great variety, also book and 
sheet music, music stands, racks and stools and issues large editions 
of his illustrated catalogues of musical supplies quarterly, which are 
distributed throughout the country. He imports steadily through the 

Indianapolis custom house an average of 200 brass instruments per 
month, and does the largest trade in that line in the city, selling an 
average of four bahd sets of twelve instruments each every .week. 
This department, with that devoted to small goods and musical pub- 
lications, is in charge of Frank J. Carlen, Jr., who also attends to their 
importation and sale. His stocks are of the best description in the 
market, and purchasers can rely upon the instruments and supplies 
being exactly as represented. He employs twenty-five assistants and 
seven traveling salesmen, and ships an average of half a dozen pianos 
daily to patrons residing in Indiana, Ohio, -Illinois and in States more 
remote. His trade in band instruments is distributed throughout the 
Union, and his annual business foots up largely in value. 

C. E. Kregelo— Undertaker and Funeral Director; 123 and 125 
North Delaware street. — The undertaking house of C. E. Kregelo 
was established in 1855 by David Kregelo, father of the present 
proprietor, the latter succeeding to the business upon the former's 
retirement, some years ago. He brings to his aid in the discharge of 
the solemn duties which devolve upon him, experience and the 
characteristics in harmony with a profession of a nature so delicate, 
and at the same time so responsible. During 1888, Mr. Kregelo con- 
tributed to the architectural finish of one of the leading business 
thoroughfares of Indianapolis, by erecting at the above locality a 
handsome and elegantly appointed brick edifice three stories high 
and 40x225 feet in dimensions. The building contains, beside offices, 
display and reception rooms, a mortuary chapel in which the sacred 
services preceding the interment of the deceased may be solemnized 
amid surroundings as impressive as attend those conducted beneath 
cathedral dome, with the pomp and circumstance of religious 
formality and observance. The upper stories, accessible by means 
of elevators, are occupied with the embalming and trimming de- 
partments, and to the rear of the chapel is the morgue, opposite 
which, and separated by a court-yard, are the carriage reposi- 
tory and stables. His equipment for funerals embraces the most 
elegant caskets, coffins, burial robes, shrouds, trimmings and 
appointments that cultured taste, and skillful workmanship can 
design or complete, together with three funeral cars and sixteen 
black horses; also the fullest complement of carriages, horses and 
other accessories. He employs a staff of the most accomplished 
embalmers in the country, and is prepared to respond to requisitions 
made upon his services day or night, either here or at a distance. 
Mr. Kregelo's facilities are so complete, that he is able to take charge 
of all. ceremonies incident to the demands of his profession, and is 
beyond question the leading funeral director in the State. 

Albert Gall— Importer and Dealer in Carpets, Etc.; 17 and ig 
West Washington street. — The oldest, most extensive and popular 
carpet house in the State is that of Albert Gall. It was established 
in 1863, and since 1867 has been exclusively owned and managed 
by the present proprietor. During its career of more than a quarter 
of a century its annual business has grown in volume and influence. 
He is located in the heart of the trade district, and occupies a hand- 
some four-story and basement stone front building, 35x200 feet in 
dimensions, specially erected for Mr. Gall to accommodate the 
demands of the business, and provided with all the modern facili- 
ties and conveniences, including hydraulic passenger and freight 
elevators, with other appurtenances calculated to promote the display 
of stock and the satisfactory handling of the trade. He carries large 
and comprehensive lines of Moquet, Axminster, Velvet, Brussels, 
Tapestry and Imperial carpets, in the latest and richest designs; 
oriental and other styles of rugs, portieres, hangings, etc., oil cloths, 
linoleums, druggets, mattings, also importing the finest Nottingham 
and other famous makes of European lace curtains of the most 
delicate texture, and carrying large invoices of curtain goods in silk, 
velvet, satin and rep, with full supplies of wall papers and goods for 
interior decoration purposes, of American and foreign manufacture, 
in great variety and profusion. There is no house in the West so 
entirely prepared to respond to demands made upon its stocks and 
services, and the many orders executed annually for the papering 
and interior decoration of residences, public and society halls, banks. 



etc., throughout the State, emphasize the esteem in which it is held 
by a high class of patronage. A staff of fifteen or more assistants is 
kept constantly in the service, and durinj; the busy season from thirty 
to fifty artistic decorators and paper hangers, with their helpers, are 
required. Mr. Gall employs only the most experienced workmen, 
and does a large and steadily augmenting trade in the city and State. 
He is a practical business man, and his establishment enjoys advan- 
tages that enable him to offer the most substantial inducements to 
patrons and the public. 

Mode! Clothing Co. — Clothiers, Hatters and P'urnishers; 
corner of Washington and Pennsylvania -streets.— The Model Cloth- 
ing Co., a pattern establishment, as its name would indicate, in every 
particular, was opened here in 1883, by B. Rothschild, I. iVI. Hays and 
S. Hays, composing the firm of Rothschild, Hays Sc Co., of Rochester, 
N. Y., where the headquarters and factories of the concern are located, 
and where Messrs. Rothschild and I. M. Hays reside; the business 
here being in charge of S. Hays, the junior partner, and is exclu- 
sively retail, that at Rochester being exclusively wholesale. The 
Indianapolis house is located at the leading business corner in the city, 
where they occupy premises fronting 80. feet on East Washington 
street and 180 feet on Pennsylvania street. The interior is hand- 
somely appointed and equipped, furnished with all requisite con- 
veniences, including telephone service and the latest improved 
electric light plant, the latter driven by an engine owned and 
operated by the firm. The store is departmented and the manage- 

ment of affairs is characterized by a policy so liberal and judicious, 
as to inspire deserved confidence and commendation. They handle 
very large and complete invoices of clothing for men and boys, includ- 
ing overcoats, ulsters, dress suits, and suits for the counting room, 
hats, caps, furs, and equally extensive and desirable supplies of 
furnishing goods, ties, scarfs, mufflers, etc., imported and of domestic 
manufacture. The clothing is made in accordance with the latest and 
most select fashions, and in material, fit and workmanship, is unex- 
celled. It is the product of their Rochester factories, where only 
experienced and accomplished operatives are retained in the service, 
and is noted for its elegant appearance and capacity for durable wear. 
They are prepared to promptly fill and ship orders to any portion of 
the country, and customers can always rely upon receiving the best 
articles at the lowest prices. They employ a staff of forty clerks, and 
supply a very large local and transient demand, in addition to an 
equally large trade in all parts of Indiana and adjoining States. The 
house is representative in every sense of the word, and its value to 
Indianapolis as a factor of commercial enterprise, is daily becoming 
more and more apparent. 

Cunningham & Zimmer— Wall-paper, Oil-cloths, Mattings 
and Window Shades; 62 North Illinois street. — The firm of Cunning- 
ham & Zimmer is composed of William I. Cunningham and Henry 
W. Zimmer, and was organized and began operations during 1887. 
They occupy a building two stories high, with basement underneath, 
having a frontage of 25 feet and a depth of 100 feet, well suppjied 
with all necessary conveniences and modern appointments for the 
business. Their stocks are full and complete in all lines of imported 
and domestic goods. They embrace wall-papers, interior decorations, 
mattings, window shades, lambrequins, ornaments, decorations, etc., 
in great variety. They are also prepared to furnish Lincrusta Walton 
to those who desire it. This favorite decorative goods comes in over 
I, GOO different designs, a full and complete catalogue of which may 
be seen at any time at their store. They will furnish special designs 
if desired, and are prepared to make contracts \vith owners for the 
decoration of their premises. They formerly carried carpets and 
other furnishings of that description, but relinquished that department 
in order to devote more room and closer attention to their present 
business. Their goods are of the best European and American 
manufacture, obtained direct from first hands, fashionable in style, 
artistic in design, elegant in finish, and sold at the lowest prices at 
which such goods can be profitably put. They do a large business 
in wall-papering and interior decoration of stores, residences, public 
buildings, halls, lodge rooms, churches, etc., their work in this line 
being unsurpassed. From ten to fifteen assistants are steadily 
employed, and a large business is done in the city and surrounding 
country. The house is in every respect a reliable and repre- 
sentative one. 

Wm. Terrell— Wood and Slate Mantels; 60 North Penn- 
sylvania street. — This business was established by Mr. Terrell 
in 1881, and has been successful from its inception. He 
occupies the basement and main floor, each 20x130 feet in size, 
in one of the handsomest blocks on one of the most fashionable 
business thoroughfares in the city, and caters to a high class of 
trade here and elsewhere. Previous to locating in this city, Mr. 
Terrell had been for many years associated with the United 
States Encaustic and Majolica Tile Works, where he acquired 
a valuable knowledge of the business, and entire familiarity 
with the demands of the trade. His specialty is the placing of 
mantels, grates, marble and encaustic floor tiling, parquetry, 
wood carpentry, etc., in fine private residences, banks, theatres, 
halls and other expensively constructed buildings, for which he 
carries full lines of goods of the best material and most durable 
manufacture. During the past year he directed the equipment 
and interior decoration of the Citizens' National Bank, at Peru, 
Ind.; Menger Hotel, San Antonio, Tex.; Phoenix Hotel, Lexing- 
ton, Ky.; Churchill House, .A.lpena, Mich.; Indiana Hospital for 
Insane^ Soldiers' Orphans' Home, Knightstown, Ind.; City Hall, 
Indianapolis, Ind.; Kirby House, Muncie, Ind., and does a 
business extending into the southern States as far as Texas, 
west to Salt Lake City, with some on the Pacific coast, and is large 
in Indiana and the bordering States, an evidence of the importance 
and value of his enterprise in building up the reputation and import- 
ance of Indianapolis as a commercial center. 

J. George Mueller, Ph. C— Dispensing Pharmacist; south- 
west corner Washington and East streets. — A notable and enter- 
prising drug house of this city, with an experience here of nearly 
twenty years, is that of J. George Mueller, Ph. G. It was established 
early in the sixties, passing into the hands of R. H. Mueller in 1865, 
with whom the present proprietor, though in no way related, served 
for many years, and whom he finally succeeded during 1887. He is a 
practical and accomplished chemist and pharmacist (graduate of 
Cincinnati College of Pharmacy), peculiarly qualified for the successful 
professional career he is pursuing and entirely familiar w-ith the 
requirements of the select patronage to which he ministers. His 
place of business at the above prominent and accessible corner in 
the commercial center of Indianapolis, occupies the main floor and 
basement, each 20x100 feet in dimensions, attractively appointed, 



handsomely fitted up, and furnished with all requisite facilities that 
can in any way contribute to the convenience of the trade or the 
efficiency of the service. His specialties include a number of 
preparations which he puts up exclusively for patrons of his estab- 
lishment, pure drugs and accuracy in the compounding of pre- 
scriptions of all schools of medicine. His stocks in every department 
are always full and of the most select descriptions, embracing in 
addition to staple articles, proprietary medicines, of imported and 
American origin and make, fluid extracts, physicians' supplies, 
surgical instruments and appliances, pure wines and cordials for 
medicinal use, soaps, perfumeries, toilet articles and sundries, fancy 
lines and other commodities general to the business in great variety 
and of established worth. He employs a staff of five experienced 
pharmacists and assistants, and in catering to the wants of a large 
retail trade in the city and vicinity, has acquired a well-earned 
reputation for superior stocks, reasonable prices and honorable 

A. P. Garrison— Dealer in Light-Running "Domestic" Sewing 
Machines; ii Massachusetts avenue, Wyandot block.~The Indian- 
apolis branch of the Domestic Sewing Machine Co. is supervised 
by A. P. Garrison, who assumed direction of its operations in 1884. 
He has been in the company's service for fourteen years, and is 
intimately familiar the requirements of the trade and the supe- 
rior excellence of the "Domestic" for manufacturing and domestic 
purposes. His policy is to purchase the machines direct from the 
factory, obtaining them, at greatly reduced prices, and he is thereby 
enabled to sell them to the trade at rates and upon terms more 
liberal than the same can be had of competing companies or agents 
engaged in the same line of operations. The territory assigned to 

his special occupation and 
supply includes Indianapolis 
and Marion County. He is 
located at 11 Massachusetts 
avenue, a valuable and promi- 
nent site, where he occupies 
the basement and main floor, 
each 20x125 feet in their 
dimensions, running through 
to Ohio street. These are di- 
vided into sale, display, and 
storage rooms, being fully 
equipped and well appointed 
for their several purposes, as 
also for the transaction of 
business. He carries full lines of the "Domestic," with all the latest 
improved attachments and appliances; ;he machines encased in rose- 
wood, mahogany, oak, walnut, maple, and other hardwoods, plain 
and in elaborate designs, and for sale at the most moderate prices 
consistent with their intrinsic worth, and upon the most advantageous 
terras. He employs from twelve to fifteen assistants and is constantly 
engaged in responding to the demands of the trade, established and 
increasing, throughout the territory within his jurisdiction to supply. 
The "Domestic" of to-day is, as it has always been, the leader in pro- 
gress, and the one and only perfect sewing machine made, and is 
justly entitled to its familiar trade-mark, "The star that leads them 

Original Eagle Clothing Co.— Leaders in Fine Clothing, 
Gents' Furnishings, Hats and Caps, Etc.; 5 and 7 West Washington 
street. — The Eagle Clothing Company is a pioneer in the ready-made 
clothing trade of Indianapolis, the house having been for nearly thirty 
years a prominent and popular depot of supplies, not only for 
customers in the city but throughout the State. It was founded in 
1853, by Max Dunham, who was sugceeded later by M. Griesheimer. 
In 1872, Mr. L. Strauss, the present proprietor, became a partner in 
the enterprise and finally sole owner, in which latter capacity he has 
since remained. He is located at the most available point in the 
retail district, and carries large and varied stocks. The premises 
occupied consist of a four-story and basement building, 40x100 feet in 

dimensiofis, provided with all modern facilities and equipments for 
the business. The house is everywhere recognized as one of the lead- 
ing men's and boys' furnishing houses in the State, a reputation sus- 
tained and confirmed by honorable dealings and superb goods. The 
latter embrace large and select invoices of men's, youths' and boys' 
clothing, made of. the finest and medium grades of the leadmg pro- 
ducts of European and American looms in the latest patterns, and 
according to the most recent styles of the prevaihng fashion. In 
furnishing goods the stocks are equally choice, comprehensive and 
complete, including silk, woolen, balbriggan, etc., hose and under- 
wear, shirts, collars, cuffs, ties, scarfs, umbrellas, canes, novelties, hats 
and caps, etc., of the best foreign and domestic make, in almost end- 
less styles and profusion. All the goods carried by the house are 
sold at prices that insure the continued patronage of customers. Mr. 
Strauss is a merchant and citizen eminent for his enterprise, who has 
developed for his house a constantly growing success. He employs 
a force of fifteen clerks and does a large city and country retail trade, 
besides jobbing extensively in certain lines throughout Indiana and 
the States adjoining. 

Norbert Landgraf— Merchant Tailor; 35 North Illinois street. 
— Norbert Landgraf, an experienced merchant tailor, located as above 
indicated in the building of the Young Men's Christian Association, 
began business in 1886.. The premises occupied for parlors are neat 
and attractive, furnished with every facility that will promote a com- 
prehensive display of his goods or the expeditious transaction of 
business, and equipped with all modern facilities and conveniences 
for the accommodation of the trade. He gives his personal attention 
to the management of the house, and, although having m his service 

the most experienced and artistic assistants, personally supervises the 
cut, make, finish, style and fit of his choice lines of production. He 
carries very select stocks of English, German, Scotch, Austrian, 
Belgian and French fabrics, also those of the best American manu- 
facture, in cloth, diagonal, cassimere, tweed, etc., with the usual 
supplies of vestings and trimmings, also imported novelties in the way 
of gentlemen's wear. He makes only to order, and his workmanship 
and the style and finish of, his products are conceded to be unsur- 
passed. He employs from twenty-five to thirty hands, and beside the 
large high-class demands he supplies in the city and vicinity, does a 
large trade among tailors in fine imported trimmings and specialties. 

Wilson & Rupert— Dealers in Furniture, Carpets, Stoves and 
House Furnishing Goods; 59 West Washington street. — This well- 
known house was established by O. E. Wilson, in 1886, on East Wash- 
ington street. During 1888, he removed to his present site, and, 
admitting F. H. Rupert as a partner, the present firm was organized. 
They occupy the basement and two floors of premises 20x120 feet in 



dimensions, conveniently and adequately equipped for the display of 
their stocks and the transaction of business, and carry full lines of 
goods. These embrace oil cloths, rugs, carpets, mattings, brackets, 
shades, album stands, pictures, mirrors, plain and easy chairs and 
rockers, parlor, diningroom and bedrooni suites, bed springs, mat- 
tresses, pillows, comforts, blankets, toilet sets, stand lamps, kitchen 
safes, extension tables, stationary and hanging lamps, lace curtains, 
store and kitchen furniture, with notions and novelties in general 
assortment adapted to household service. The stocks all around are 
complete and of the best descriptions, the products of leading manu- 
fac'ories devoted to that line of specialties, and purchased in such 
amounts and upon such terms that they are able to offer the most 
substantial inducements in respect to prices to customers and the 
trade. They employ a staff of competent assistants, also operating 
two wagons for the free delivery of goods, and do a large business in 
the city and vicinity. The members of the firm are thoroughly prac- 
tical men who give their personal attention to the business, and their 
success and the success their house has met with is an honest acknowl- 
edgement of low prices, liberal terms and honorable methods by the 
trade they supply. 

The Singer Manufacturing Co.— Headquarters for the 
State of Indiana, 72 and 74 West Washington street, near Illinois 
street. -The Singer Manufacturing Company is by far the largest and 
most influential enterprise of its kind in the world. The home ofifice 
of the company, the " Singer Building," is situated on Union Square, 
New York City, and its main factory at Elizabethport, with two wood- 
working establishments, at South Bend, Ind., and Cairo, 111., and 
factories of immense proportions at Glasgow, Scotland, Vienna, 
Austria and Montreal, Canada, for the supply of foreign trade. The 
Indianapolis agency was established more than thirty years ago, and 
now controls some thirty-five branches, representing one hundred 
sub-agencies within the State of Indiana. A large force is employed 
and large interests are represented in these sub-agencies, and the 
headquarters here consist of the main floor and basement, each 20x150 
feet in dimensions, handsomely appointed and furnished, and con- 
taining accommodations for the large stocks required to be earned 
at a distributing point of such importance as Indianapolis. The lines 
include all the latest improved machines, prominent among which 
are the new " Smger Automatic," the new " Singer Vibrator," and the 
"Singer Oscillator," made expressly for family sewing, and other 
patterns adapted to all classes of work, in addition to which they are 
manufacturing special machines for boot and shoe, clothing, and for 
other lines of manufacturing requiring the use of sewing machines, 
and are prepared to completely fit up factories requiring the use of 
sewing machines to be run by power. A force of thirty operatives 
and assistants are employed here, whose services are devoted to the 
trade m the city, in which it is steadily augmenting in volume and 
value, as it also is in all portions of the State, a substantial acknowl- 
edgement of the worth of the " Singer" as an article of public neces- 
sity and economy, and of the capable and efficient administration of 
affairs bv the company's representatives. 

Carl MoIIer— Dealer in Wall-paper, Decorations, Etc.; 161 East 
Washington street. — Carl Moller, an artistic decorator and dealer in 
wall-paper, and ornamentations for the interior adornment of private 
residences, public buildings, theatres, churches, etc., began business 
here in the year 1876, and has, during his residence in this city, exe- 
cuted work in his special lines, than which there is none more elaborate 
and finished in the State. His location is most desirable and available, 
as above indicated, where he occupies premises 20x120 feet in dimen- 
sions, and admirably furnished and appointed, being provided with 
every facility and equipment for the display of his rich and showy 
lines of goods, as also for the transaction of business, and the ship- 
ment of consignments. He imports direct from the leading depots 
of supply in Europe, and handles the choicest lines of American 
production in wall-papers, decorative art work, blinds, lace and other 
patterns of curtains, and furnishings in general. His goods are unsur- 
passed in material, style and finish, and his house enjoys a widespread 
and entirely deserved reputation for the originality and elegance of 

ts supplies, as for the superiority of its workmanship. During 
the decorating season he gives employment to a force of skilled and 
experienced assistants, ranging in number from twenty-five to thirty, 
and does a large business in the city and throughout the surrounding 
country, besides filling orders for the finest description of work, and 
personally superintending same, at distant points. 

F. P. Smith & Co. — Wholesale and Retail China, Glassware, 
Lamps, Etc.; 21 and 23 North Illinois street. — This business was 
established in 1878 by H. B. Smith & Co., to whom the present firm 
succeeded January i, i88g. Up to November, 1888, they were located 
at 37 South Meridian street. Durmg the latter month, however, they 
removed to their present site, one of the most eligible and accessible 
in the business portion of the city. The premises consist of a hand- 
some new three-story and basement brick building, 25x120 feet in 
dimensions, admirably arranged and appointed, and provided with 
every facility and convenience adapted to the requirements of the 
trade or the conduct of the business. They carry large and full 
stocks of everything in their lines handled by a first-class house of 
the kind. They embrace fine French and English china, English 
granite ware, American white and decorated ware, including the 
famous decorated chamber ware made at Trenton, N. J., the patterns 

and shapes of which have been attempted to be copied by old Euro- 
pean potteries, French, English, Bohemian, Belgian and American 
glassware in great variety, fine electro-plated ware, table cutlery and 
other articles of household utility and ornament. They also deal in 
chandeliers, library and student lamps, lanterns, brackets, oil stoves, 
lubricating, fluid, headlight, signal and carbon oils, improved burners 
and lamp trimmings generally, gasoline, etc. The several depart- 
ments of the house are filled with the choicest stocks adapted to 
each, complete and comprehensive, of the most varied descriptions 
and sold at low prices. They are abundantly prepared to fill and 
ship orders promptly, and in all respects to meet the demands of 
customers everywhere. They do a large retail trade in the city, as 
also an equally extensive wholesale and jobbing trade throughout 
the State, and the house in every way merits the confidence and 
patronage it receives. 

J. T. Power — Washington Market; 78 and 80 North Pennsyl- 
vania street. — Probably the largest, and certainly the most prominent, 
fancy grocery house in the State is the Washington Market, owned 
and managed by J. T. Power. It was established in 1878 by the pres- 
ent proprietor, and has attained to reputation and prominence as a 
base of the choicest supplies of edibles, etc., not rivaled by that of any 
establishment of a similar character in the Northwest. The premises 
occupied consist of the main floor and basement of a double store, 
conveniently and accessibly located, directly opposite the New Deni- 
son House, with a total frontage of 50 feet, and a depth of 150 feet; 
also the rear portion of the floor above affording additional space, 
50x100 feet in dimensions. A completely equipped meat market has 
been erected in the center of the main store, provided with refrig- 
erator facilities for the storage and preservation of meats, fruits, and 
dairy products. His stocks of fancy groceries and delicacies embrace 
imported fruits and preserves, canned and bottled sauces and condi- 
ments, nuts, raisins and novelties, as well as the finest brands 
exclusively of champagne, sherry, Rhine and French wines and 



brandies; also carrying large lines of fruits and wines of American 
growth and production. All articles are of selected grades, models 
of purity, freshness, flavor and absolute worth in their several depart- 
ments, such as are handled only by leading concerns of the same char- 
acter, and serving a high class trade. Mr. Power is prepared to fill 
orders promptly and to ship consignments to any portion of the State, 
securely packed against damage in transit. He does a large business 
in the city and throughout the surrounding country, also a large 
family trade within a considerable radius of Indianapolis, and supplies 
grocers in adjacent cities and towns with delicacies, wines, etc., very 

William T. M a rcy — Dealer in Fine Diamonds, Watches, 
Jewelry, Spectacles and Opera Glasses; 38 West Washington street.— 
The trade supplied by William T. Marcy is the acquisition of years 
of enterprising industry by the present proprietor and his prede- 
cessors, Messrs. McLean & Northrup, who established the "Old 
Bates House Jewelry Store" in 1853, whom Mr. Marcy succeeded in 
1876, and has since managed and directed the business with annually 
increasing prosperity. He occupies the main floor and basement of 
a building at the above locality, each 25,xi5o feet in dimensions, 
admirably appointed, attractively furnished and supplied with all 
requisite conveniences and facilties. He carries large and carefully 

selected assortments of stocks of 
every description, including imported 
and American make of watches, in 
solid gold and filled cases, stem and 
key winders; diamonds, rubies, pearls, 
opals, emeralds, garnets, sapphires, 
topaz, turquoise, and other precious 
gems, loose and mounted, or mounted 
to order in showy designs; genuine 
Rogers Bros.' knives and forks, silver- 
ware, with solid silver and electro- 
plated ware of the best make, in 
addition to clocks in bronze, china 
and marble, solid gold jewelry, gold 
and silver charms and ornaments, 
opera glasses, bric-a-brac, and other 
articles of virtu only handled by first- 
class dealers, and his specialty is 
spectacles, eye-glasses and opera-glasses, of which he carries the 
largest and best stocks in the West in every variety. Prescriptions 
of oculists are filled and glasses adjusted to the vision by expert 
workmen. He also manufactures gold jewelry to order, does the 
general repairing of watches, jewelry and music boxes, designs and 
executes engraving, etc., a fully equipped workshop being one of the 
special departments of his establishment, and guarantees satisfaction 
in every instance. His stocks and lines of production are the best 
available to purchase or manufacture, unsurpassed in qualities, 
materials, design and finish, and sold at prices consistent with their 
intrinsic worth. Mr. Marcy is an enterprising, experienced merchant 
and does a large trade in the city as also within a radius of one 
hundred miles of Indianapolis, besides jobbing extensively in certain 
lines and filling the orders of jewelers and families for goods, only 
carried by an establishment of the prominence and character of that 
which he conducts. A special feature of this house is its watch 
repairing department and fine engraving by expert workmen. 
The location of the house, opposite the transfer car, is easily accessible 
from all parts of the city. 

Major Taylor— Men's Furnisher; 38 East Washington street. 
—Major Taylor began business in this city in 1884, on Illinois street, 
whence he removed to his present site during January, 1887. He is 
handsomely and prominently located, occupying commodious and 
well appointed premises 20x80 feet in dimensions, the interior hand- 
somely fitted up and equipped with all facilities and improvements 
for displaying his stocks to the best advantage, and the transaction of 
business incident to his large and rapidly increasing trade, operating 
in conjunction with his retail business the Excelsior Laundry, in 
which line he has had an experience extended over twenty-seven 
years. His specialty is the manufacture of gentlemen's dress shirts 

to order, in which he employs the best qualities of linen 'and muslin 
and the most skilled workmen, and furnishes an article for the gentle- 
man's wardrobe as indispensable as it is superior in materials and 
workmanship. He also handles gents' furnishing goods in great 
variety and of the most approved make in silk, woolen, flannel, linen 
and gossamer for light and heavy wear, imported direct from Europe 
and obtained from the leading factories and haberdashers of America, 
also cuffs, collars, gloves, hose, handkerchiefs, ties, scarfs, canes, 
umbrellas, notions and novelties of foreign and domestic make in 
great profusion. He deals only in first-class commodities of the finest 
texture and caters to a high class patronage. He employs a large 
rorce of assistants in his factory and laundry, also a full staff of clerks 
and does a large trade in the city and vicinity, also a trade with 
transients of very considerable proportions. 

Tutewiler — Undertaker and Funeral Director; 72 West Market 
street, Cyclorama Place; Telephone No. 216. — Although but recently 
established in the profession here, Henry W. Tutewiler had four 
years experience as manager of an undertaking house on Pennsylva- 
nia street, in this city, prior to embarking for himself. He began 
business upon his own account in November, 1888, enlisting in its 
conduct, in addition to his personal services, the fullest complement 
of facilities and requisite appointments. He is availably located, 
occupying a suite of apartments, 25x100 feet in dimensions, in the 
Cyclorama building, arranged with regard to the appropriate and 
decorous formalities incident to a business, in such particulars, so 
delicate and exacting. The premises are divided into display, office 
and finishing departments, and communicate with a morgue and 
embalming rooms, where remains can be retained and preserved 
pending interment. He carries the usual lines of goods pertaining to 
occasions for which they are designed, embracing caskets, burial 
cases, robes, shrouds, society and religious symbols, and is prepared 
to furnish floral emblems, designs and offerings of cut flowers, when 
required. His equipment includes hearses, for children and adults, 
carriages — horses handled by careful drivers — etc., and gives his 
personal attention to the details of funeral pageants at the most 
reasonable prices. He responds to orders, day or night, taking charge 
of all arrangements from death to burial, and displays that quality of 
tender respect which has led to a demand for his services. He 
employs five experienced assistants, and his trade is among all classes 
of the community. Mr. Tutewiler, a few years ago, was City Treas- 
urer, and covered back into the treasury the interest on the public 
money, and conducted his office in the interest of the tax payers. He 
was born and raised in the city, and has lived here continuously, 
excepting three years of service in the late war as a member of 17th 
Indiana Volunteer Mounted Infantry, Wilder's Brigade. 

L, H. Renkert — The Granger Drug Store; Dealer in Drugs 
and Medicines; 164 West Washington street. — The Granger Drug 
Store, established by L. H. Renkert in 1877, enjoys a wide-spread 
reputation for superiority in the lines of goods handled, prompt 
service and reasonable prices. He removed to his present site in 
i87g, occupying a most eligible and available location. The premises 
have 25 feet front on West Washington street, and are attractively 
furnished and appointed. His specialties are pure drugs and 
chemicals and the preparation of prescriptions. In the latter depart- 
ment he is especially successful, employing only expert pharmacists 
and the purest of ingredients. He carries, in addition to standard 
supplies, full stocks of extracts and elixirs, proprietary medicines, 
physicians' supplies, hospital sundries and appliances, pure wines 
and liquors for medicinal purposes, surgical instruments, perfumeries, 
fancy soaps, toilet waters and articles, paints, oils and varnishes, 
window glass and general sundries in great profusion and of the best 
qualities. His arrangements and facilities to meet the public demand 
are complete, enabling him to promptly fill all orders at prices 
compatible with a first-class service, and the perfect management 
which characterizes the business has acquired for the house an 
enviable record and reputation. He does a large and increasing 
trade in the city and among the farming interests of the surrounding 
country, and his annual business represents a correspondingly large 



Dedert & Sudbrock — Dealers in Dry Goods, Notions, Etc.; 
158 and 160 East Washington street. — The dry goods house of Dedert 
& Sudbrock is a well appointed and managed concern, carrying large 
and varied lines, and supplying a large and constantly increasing 
demand. The firm is made up of William Dedert and Frank H. 
Sudbrock, and was organized during 1886. They are located at one 
of the most available and desirable points for their business in the 
city, occupying a three-story and basement building, 40 feet front on 
East Washington street, and 100 feet deep. The premises are admir- 
ably equipped and provided with a full complement of conveniences 
for the adequate and attractive display of their goods, as also for their 
sale and the transaction of business. They handle staple and fancy 
dry goods, embracing everything in their line of foreign and domestic 
manufacture, ladies' and gentlemen's furnishing goods, notions in great 
variety, and all else that goes to make the supplies carried by a first- 
class establishment of the type owned and conducted by the firm. 
Their invoices are of a superior quality in material, texture and finish, 
and sold at prices that offer substantial 
inducements to purchasers. They em- 
ploy a force of trusty, courteous and ex- 
perienced clerks, and their trade, which 
is steadily augmenting in value and 
volume, is throughout the city and sur- 
rounding country. The house has already 
acquired a valuable reputation, and the 
pronounced success that has attended its 
career in the past, assures its prosperity 
in the future. 

W. C. Van Arsdel &Co.^Whole- 

sale and Retail Dry Goods and Furnish- 
ing Goods; 109 and iii South Illinois 
street. — A prominent and steadily patron- 
ized- dry goods, notions and furnishing 
goods house, located in the center of 
trade near the new Union Depot, is 
owned and managed by W. C. Van 
Arsdel and James Ostrander, composing 
the firm of W. C. Van Arsdel & Co. It 
was organized in 1885, and began business 
in the Bates House block, on Washing- 
ton street. The increase in business was 
so large, however, that they were com- 
pelled to increase their facilities, to accom- 
modate which they removed to their 
present site during 1888. They occupy a 
commodious three-story and basement 
brick building, 35x100 feet in dimensions, 
and though furnished with every auxiliary 
for the convenience of customers, the 
premises are severely taxed by the con- 
stantly augmenting volume of their trade, 
and they contemplate doubling their 

capacity. They carry full lines of fancy and staple dry goods of 
imported and American manufacture, including dress goods in all 
textures, white goods, linens, cottons, blankets, flannels, hosiery, 
underwear, furnishing goods, gloves, laces, ribbons, embroideries, 
shawls, wraps, fancy articles, carpets, notions and novelties in great 
variety and profusion, and are prepared to supply all demands 
made upon their stock resources promptly and at the most reason- 
able cost. Their lines are select, comprehensive and complete 
and the business is conducted according to a policy both liberal and 
equitable. This is the only house in the State that carries a full line 
of high and medium grades of cloaks at wholesale. They employ 
from twelve to fifteen courteous and experienced assistants and do a 
heavy retail trade in the city and with transients, besides an extensive 
and valuable jobbing trade throughout the State, in all portions of 
which the house enjoys a well merited reputation as a representative 
of Indianapolis commercial industries. 


Marceau & Power — Fotografers; 36 and 38 North Ilhnois 
street; Gallery on ground floor. — The largest, finest and in every 
way the best appointed establishment in the State devoted to the 
promotion of photographic art, is that of Marceau & Power. The 
firm is composed of Theo. C. Marceau and Luke W. Power, and was 
organized in September, 1888. Both members are men of practical 
experience, Mr. Marceau being also head of the firm of Marceau & 
Bellsmith, the leading photographers of Cincinnati, O., where he 
resides, and Mr. Power having been connected with a fashionable 
gallery in New York City for many years prior to establishing himself 
in Indianapolis. Their gallery occupies the main floor of the building 
at the above site, on North Illinois street, the same being 25x130 feet 
in dimensions, handsomely appointed, and, besides the gallery 
proper, contains elegantly furnished parlors, reception, toilet and oper- 
ating rooms, artistically fitted up and finished. The work rooms and 
retouching departments are located in the basement, commodious in 
its proportions, w-ell lighted and equipped with all the latest modern 
apparatus and appliances requisite to the 
service. Their printing department on 
Meridian street is supplied with all im- 
proved facilities and connected with the 
gallery by means of telephone. Their 
specialties are fine large photo and crayon 
work, cabinets enlarged to any size, panel 
portraits, vignettes, also the collateral 
branches of the re-productive art in its 
highest development, and evidencing in 
their production the skill and taste insepar- 
able from genius, promoted and made 
perfect by years of experience and study. 
The instantaneous process is used ex- 
clusively in the taking of pictures, and, 
though cloudy weather is preferred for 
sittings, they are prepared to execute work 
at all times. Their establishment is most 
attractive in all particulars, a force of 
eighteen experienced operatives is em- 
ployed, and nothing has been left want- 
ing to maintain the well established 
reputation already enjoyed with admirers 
of artistic designs and superior work- 
manship, here and elsewhere. Since 
locating in this city, the firm has been 
constantly occupied upon work for an 
exacting and high-class of patrons, not 
only in Indianapolis, but among transients, 
and for customers throughout the sur- 
rounding country. There is a steady in- 
crease in the demand for their services, 
and the verdict of approval and admira- 
tion, attests the high estimate placed upon 
the same, as also upon the products of 
their camera. 

Indianapolis Hardware Co. — Hardware, Doors, Sash, 
Blinds and Frames; 249 West Washington street, corner of West 
street. — This company was incorporated in July, 1888, with E. H. 
Eldridge, head of the extensive lumber firm of E. H. Eldridge & Co., 
as President, and O. W. Gladden, Secretary. The latter has been for 
many years in the same line of business, having, during a portion of 
that period, been with the old hardware house of Hildebrandt & 
Fugate in a responsible capacity, and well qualified by experience 
for a successful conduct of operations. They occupy a three-story 
and basement building, 20x100 feet in dimensions, well apportioned 
and provided with accommodations and facilities for the display of 
goods and the transaction of business. They carry a large and com- 
plete stock of builders' hardware, including doors, sash, blinds, 
frames, etc., and mechanical tools, in both of which departments their 
stocks are as complete as a comprehensive knowledge of the require 
nients of the trade can contribute to make them. They make a 



specialty of E. C. Simmons' "Keen Kutter" edge tools, files, saws, 
etc., all fully warranted to be the best of the kind, of which they carry 
all sizes and varieties. They also carry equally select and full lines 
of hardware of every character and description, embracing farmers' 
and household hardware, table and pocket cutlery m great variety 
and profusion, the products of the rnost celebrated European and 
American manufacture, and unsurpassed in respect to assortment 
and quality. Their aim is to furnish the best articles at the most 
reasonable rates to customers, and by purchasing in large invoices 
from producers direct, they are enabled to offer the best inducements 
to their customers. They employ a full staff of assistants, and by 
prompt filling of orders and honorable methods they have built up a 
local business that is daily increasing in importance and value. 

Bertermann Bros.— Florists; 37 to 43 Massachusetts avenue; 
Telephone 840. — The gardens and greenhouses of Bertermann Bros., 
leading florists and plant propagators of this vicinity, present an 
appearance of beauty and attractions as indescribable almost as they 
are frequented and admired. The firm, consisting of John Bertermann 
and William Bertermann, was organized in 1878, and they have 
achieved success upon the basis of merit. They are located as 
above, having a frontage of one hundred feet on Massachusetts 
avenue, with a depth of seventy feet, upon which have been erected 
commodious conservatories supplied with every facility and conveni- 
ence for the maintainance of an equable temperature throughout all 
seasons. Their office is also here, but their main collection of green- 
houses are located on the East National road, two miles from the 
Court House. Telephone iq8. They are very extensive, employing 
over 20,000 feet of glass in their construction, and unsurpassed in 


their appointment and equipments. Their main business consists of 
raising cut flowers to supply their city store, and in this way are able 
to furnish any and every large order on the shortest possible notice. 
Their places are connected by telephone. All telegrams are delivered 
day or night. The brothers' specialties are artistic floral designs 
and cut flowers, for the supplying of which they are amply provided 
with facilities, and prepared to promptly respond to orders for designs 
for decorative purposes, as also for funerals, weddings, receptions, 
parties and other occasions at which flowers are indispensable. They 
employ a force of ten to twelve skillful assistants and do a large 
trade in the city and State, throughout which their undertaking enjoys 
a long continued and wide-spread reputation for its honorable deal- 
ings, reasonable prices and fidelity to the interests of its patrons. 

George W. Sloan & Co.— Apothecaries; 22 West Washing- 
ton street.— Mr. Sloan has been continuously in the drug business in 
this city since 1848, and his establishment has long been known to 

the medical profession in all portions of the State as one of excep- 
tional value in its lines. The premises occupied are located at the 
best site on the most fashionable retail thoroughfare of the city, and in 
the heart of the trade district. They consist of a two-story and base- 
ment building, 20x150 feet in dimensions, attractively fitted up and 
equipped with every convenience for the purposes of the business. 
Very large stocks and full lines of goods are carried, embracing pure 
and fresh drugs and chemicals, compounds, preparations, extracts, 
elixirs, patent medicines, trusses, etc., physicians' and hospital 
supplies, druggists' sundries, perfumeries, toilet articles, fancy goods, 
cigars, wines and liquors for medicinal purposes, and novelties apper- 
taining to all these lines. In the compounding of prescriptions experi- 
enced chemists are employed and only the best quality of medica- 
ments are used, an important feature of the house that, has given 
additional prestige to its long continued career. A large local and 
transient trade is supplied in addition to an extensive demand from 
physicians and dealers throughout Indiana. Mr. Sloan is an enter- 
prising public spirited citizen and an experienced apothecary, and his 
establishment has contributed to develop and elevate the retail drug 
trade in this section of the country. 

VJ. C. Gramling — Merchant Tailor; 42 North Illinois street. — 
This house was founded in 1886 by the present proprietor, who has 
since continued to enlarge his trade and extend his reputation. He 
gives the closest attention to the business and from a long and valuable 
experience is specially qualified for its successful and prosperous con- 
duct. He occupies attractive premises, having a frontage of 25x100 
feet in dimensions, handsomely furnished, conveniently arranged, 
and provided with all modern facilities for an ample display of his 
carefully selected stocks. He imports from the 
leading depots of supply, handling the choicest 
lines of English, Scotch, French and Austrian 
cloths, suitings, vestings, linings, trimmings, etc., 
and also carries the products of the best American 
looms. He makes exclusively to order; every- 
thing in the latest style and of the best material, 
neither cheap goods nor inexperienced assistants 
being used or employed. Every garment produced 
is up to the highest standard, and unsurpassed in 
respect to fit, finish and capacity for durable 
service. The house is representative of its kind, 
offering to customers the inducements of reasonable 
prices for first-class articles, and other advantages 
both exceptional and valuable. Mr. Gramling 
employs a force of competent journeymen, from 
thirty to forty in number, and does a large trade 
in the city, as also with transients, and patrons 
residing throughout the surroundmg country. 

Horace F. Wood — Boarding, Livery and 
Sale Stables; 23 and 25 Circle street. — This exten- 
sive livery business was established in 1834 by 
John M. Wood, father of the present proprietor, 
and from 1840 to 1879, was operated under the direction of Wood & 
Foudry. In the latter year, upon the death of Mr. Foudry, the surviving 
partner managed the concern until 1883, when Horace F. Wood 
succeeded to the business, and has since continued its conduct. His 
stables, carriage houses, etc., occupy nearly one-Jialf a block in the 
city's business center, adjacent to the hotels. Union Depot, and other 
points advantageous as sources of patronage, and are in all respects 
completely equipped a.nd appointed. The premises contain over one 
hundred stalls, many of them large box stalls for the stabling of 
valuable stock, and in the arrangement and construction of this depart- 
ment, due regard has been paid to sanitary requirements, as also to 
the removal of animals in case of fire. The coach house, harness 
rooms, etc., are upon the same scale of superior excellence in their 
lines, and fully as meritorious in every particular. His specialties 
include first-class livery service, the sale of fine bred stock, and the 
boarding of private horses and establishments. He owns, for public 
service, twenty-five head of horses, embracing roadsters, driving and 



riding horses, etc., together with a superb line of coaches, carriages, 
coupes, road wagons, buggies, etc., and is prepared to furnish convey- 
ances at the shortest notice and lowest rates for weddings, receptions, 
funerals and other private and public occasions. The sales depart- 
ment of the establishment is an important feature, being devoted to 
the purchase and sale of fine carnage, buggy and saddle horses for 
his own account and to order, and his boarding department is occu- 
pied with some seventy-five horses belonging to private owners and 
families, which are assured the maximum of care at the minimum of 
cost, and risk of loss or damage by fire or other causes. The property 
and equipments, among the most valuable in the city, are owned by 
Mr. Wood, who devotes his personal attention to their management 
with annually increasing prosperity. 

Tucker's Glove Store— H. S. Tucker, Proprietor; lo East 
Washington street. — This favorite establishment is located on the 
fashionable highway of trade of Indianapolis. Mr. H. S. Tucker 
engaged in this business in 1882, and has since conducted it success- 
fully and prosperously. He occupies premises 25x125 feet in 
dimensions, handsomely furnished and provided with every con- 
venience and facility for an attractive display of goods, and admirably 

departmented for 
the accommodation 
of customers and 
dispatch of bu si- 
ness. His special- 
ties are gloves and 
fine qualities of 
furnishing goods. 
He is sole agent for 
the famous Foster 
and Alexandre kid 
gloves for ladies 
and gentlemen, the unsurpassed worth of which is constantly demon- 
strated by the increased demand made for these brands. He also 
carries mousquetaire, misses', ladies', driving and shopping gloves, 
men's fur and heavy lined gloves, fabric gloves, fur and woolen 
mittens and heavy working gloves and mittens of all kinds and sizes, 
and at all prices. The gloves are fitted to the hand before purchas- 
ing, and all gloves sent by mail can be exchanged if not injured. 
His stocks of underwear, hosiery and furnishing goods are equally 
select and varied, the products of the leading European and 
American manufacture in silk, woolen, balbriggan and other textures, 
in large assortment and of unrivaled workmanship. He is prepared 
to fill orders from patrons at a distance, and packs and ships the 
most delicate articles secure from damage in transit. He does a 
large trade in the city and surrounding country, beside supplying an 
extensive demand from all parts of the State. 

Chas. June— Wholesale and Retail Dealer in Oysters, Fish and 
Game; 61 North Illinois street. — Since 1884, when Mr. June embarked 
in business, he has met with the fullest success, his trade annually 
increasing in volume, requiring constant attention, and, on account of 
its rapid expansion, necessitating his relinquishment of stalls in the 
East Market building, that he might be enabled to devote his entire 
services to its promotion and supply. He occupies the main floor 
and basement, each 25x80 feet in dimensions, at the above location, 
with an extension 25x80 feet containing the oyster and fish depart- 
ments. The premises are provided with all modern equipments for 
the preservation and storage of his commodities, and with ample 
accommodations for the prompt execution and shipment of orders. 
He receives very large consignments of oysters, fish and game, crabs, 
lobsters, frogs' legs, shrimps, etc., also of butter and eggs, of the best 
qualities all around, pure, fresh and sweet and in steady demand by a 
class of customers with whom inferior grades in these lines are un- 
known. Mr. June also handles the finest grades of butterine in this 
market, from two of the best factories in the State. Long experience, 
coupled with reliability, low prices and honorable management, have 
secured to him a widely established reputation. He employs frorri 
eight to ten assistants, and utilizes three wagons for the free delivery 

of purchases and does a large business among private families, hotels 
restaurants, etc., in the city and vicinity. All orders in person, over 
telephone No. 599, and by mail meet with immediate acknowledge- 
ment, and customers can rely upon the most satisfactory service in 
every particular. Mr. June also runs an extensive poultry farm in 
connection, carrying generally 1,000 chickens and turkeys, thereby 
being enabled to supply fresh and fine fowls at all times. 

S. D. Crane — Dealer in Diamonds, Watches, Etc.; 98 East 
Washington street. — A nicely fitted up and well stocked jewelry store 
is that of S. D. Crane, who established it in 1874, and has since con- 
ducted it with annually increasing prosperity. He occupies well 
appointed and tastefully furnished premises, 20x75 feet in dimensions, 
located on the leading and fashionable thoroughfare of Indianapolis. 
The stock carried is full 
and complete in all the 
lines handled, embracing 
diamonds, loose and 
mounted, in the most 
elaborate styles of the 
latest fashion; pearls, 
rubies, sapphires and 
other choice gems; 
watches, imported, also 
of American make, in 
solid gold and silver 
cases; solid gold jewelry, 
solid silver and electro- 
plated ware ; clocks in 
bronze, marble and china; 
choice patterns of the 
ceramic art, bric-a-brac, 
charms and novelties in 
great variety and profu- 
sion; precious stones and 
fine jewelry, and his pat- 
ronage embraces the 
better class of trade. He 
also attends to the repair- 
ing of fine watches and 
jewelry, and being a fin- 
ished workman himself, 
and employing none but competent assistants, he not only gives the 
fullest satisfaction to patrons, but enjoys a wide-spread and well 
merited reputation for superior skill and workmanship. His prices 
are reasonable, and he does a large local trade among those who 
appreciate and will accept none but the best and most desirable of 
articles in the lines of goods such as are dealt in at this old established 
house. Mr. Crane, whose portrait accompanies this article, has been a 
resident of Indianapolis all his life, having been born in the imme- 
diate vicinity. 

William Haerle— Dealer in Ladies' and Children's Furnish- 
ings; 4 West Washington street. — This is one of the oldest and most 
representative depots of supply in its special departments in the city. 
It was established by the present proprietor in 1862, and has been a 
successful enterprise from its inception. He occupies the elegant 
store and basement fronting 25 feet on West Washington street, with 
a depth of 120 feet, and an "L" extending into North Meridian street, 
used for office purposes. The premises are handsomely furnished and 
attractively appointed, equipped with all requisite conveniences and 
provided with every modern facility for the business. He'carrics very 
large and select stocks, importing special features and buying in 
the Eastern markets on a scale so extensive that purchasers secure 
advantages in variety, quality and prices unexcelled and invaluable. 
His supplies embrace underwear, corsets, hosiery, gloves, handker- 
chiefs, real and imitation laces, ribbons, buttons, dress trimmings, 
notions, fancy goods, zephyrs, Germantown and Saxony wools, 
stamped goods and novelties in general. Mr. Haerle gives special 
attention to his art department (stamping and fine needlework), and 



does a very extensive business in ladies' art work, embroideries, 
embroidery supplies and materials, and all his goods, in every depart- 
ment, are first-class in every particular. He is amply prepared to 
promptly fill and ship orders to distant points, and in all respects 
protect and consult the interests of patrons. 

C. F. & G. J, Lay — Druggists and Pharmacists; 174 West 
Washington street. — The drug house now owned and operated by C. 
F. & G. J. Lay, was established in 1874 by G. J. Frebert. The latter 
died during September, 1888, when C. F. Lay, who had been for many 
years prescription and general clerk under Mr. Frebert's administra- 
tion, became associated with G. J. Lay, his brother, in the purchase 
of the enterprise, and organized the present firm. They occupy the 
main floor at the above site, 20x100 feet in dimensions, provided with 
ample .accommodations for the display and sale of their select stocks 
of drugs and chemicals, proprietary medicines, physicians' supplies 
and sundries, medicinal compounds, pure wines and liquors for medi- 
cinal use, toilet articles, perfumeries, novelties and notions, in the 
several lines composing a first-class stock in a first-class drug house. 
They also handle Piso's Consumption Cure and Catarrh Remedy 
extensively, and exercise extraordinary care in the preparation of 
prescriptions. They do a large local and farmers' trade, and enjoy a 
well-merited reputation for the purity of their goods, low prices and 
the liberal and honorable character of their management and dealings. 

H. T. Hearsey— Bicycles, Repairing and Nickel-plating; 147 
North Delaware street. — H. T. Hearsey, one of the leading dealers in 
bicycles in the State, having the exclusive sale of the Columbia 
bicycles and tricycles, and Gormully & Jeffrey Manufacturing Co.'s 
full lines of machines, the New Mail bicycles and safeties, and other 
leading patterns of cycles in Indiana, began business here during 1885 
coming from Boston. He occupies premises 30x100 feet in dimen- 
sions, divided into office, display and salesrooms, also containing a 
well equipped and appointed repair shop. In addition to the sole 
agency for the make of the Pope Manufacturing Company, of Boston, 
embracing the Columbia bicycles, safeties and tricycles, and the 
World typewriters, he manufactures spade handles, handle bars and 
spoke wrenches, and carries a full line of supplies and sundries for 
repairs, which are made at the shortest notice. He also carries full 

stocks of cheap bicycles and 
safeties for men and boys, 
second-hand bicycles, which 
are taken in exchange for 
new ones, etc. His repair 
department is prepared with 
all necessary machinery and 
appliances for repairing, 
nickel-plating and enamel- 
ing, in first-class style and 
at lower figures than factory 
prices. Having had ten 
years' experience, and em- 
ploying only skillful and competent operatives, his work in this 
department is specially noticeable for its superior excellence and 
durability. Estimates on work are furnished upon application and 
illustrated catalogues of all the machines kept in stock are mailed 
upon request. On the receipt of a small amount, to guarantee freight 
charges, he will send any wheel on his list for examination, and fills 
all orders for anything in his line with commendable promptness. He 
does a large trade throughout the State, in which he has over 1,000 
customers, who act as agents among their friends, and his low prices, 
honorable methods and unsurpassed facilities, have made the house 
a famous resort for a steadily increasing patronage. Mr. Hearsey 
IS popular throughout the State, and is esteemed in all circles for his 
eminent social and business qualities. 

August C. Smith — Merchant Tailor; 27 Virginia avenue.— 
Mr. Smith, who established himself in the merchant tailoring busi- 
ness during February, 1889, had been for sixteen years previous head 
cutter for the house of Rupp & Co., similarly engaged in this city, 

and brings to his aid not only a long and exacting experience but a 
quality of taste, that especially qualifies him to meet all the require- 
ments of a high class trade. He occupies a store 25 feet front on 
Virginia avenue, irregular in shape, and extending back 100 feet to 
Maryland street. The premises are handsome in appearance, 
attractively arranged and appointed, and furnished with every facility 
for a comprehensive display of his selected lines of goods, embracing 
all the latest imported and American novelties in the latest designs 
and patterns, including the best qualities of English, Scotch, French 
and German cloths, cassimeres, vestings, tweeds, diagonals, etc., with 
all the leading grades of production from domestic looms. He 
makes to order heavy and light overcoats, suits and garments for 
weddings, receptions and other social occasions; also for business 
purposes, in the most recent approved fashion, in style and fit 
unrivaled, models of elegance and finished workmanship. He is 
prepared to execute orders promptly and satisfactorily, and his prices 
and terms are low and liberal. He employs from fifteen to twenty 
experienced assistants, and his trade in the city and vicinity is 
steadily increasing and extending. 

The White Sewing Machine Co. — A. W. Hilliker, 
Manager; 64 North Pennsylvania street. — The White Sewing 
Machine Company, which has its headquarters and factories at 
Cleveland, O., has branch offices in all the leading cities of America 
and Europe. The celebrated White Sewing Machine, manufactured 
by them, is a favorite in the households of America, and its simplicity 
of construction, durability of parts, adaptability of adjustment, light 
and quiet running, make it the best machine for family use. In short, 
all that constitutes a perfect family sewing machine, " The White Is 
King." At the Cincinnati Centennial Exposition thefirst, highest, and 
only award on sewing machines, was given to the " White " as 
" the best family sewing machine." The Indianapolis branch was 
established in December, 1886. Previous to that year the company 
had been represented here by a purchasing agent, that is, an agent 
who purchased the machines and sold them for his own account. 
The office and warehouse in this city occupy premises 20x120 feet in 
dimensions. They are admirably adapted to the purposes of the 
business, also furnished with every facility for the storage, sale and 
shipment of goods. Large lines of stock are carried, embracing 
every pattern of this most complete and invaluable implement of 
household economy, finished in the most artistic and attractive 
designs, equipped with all the latest improved appliances, and sold 
at prices..and upon terms that place them within reach of every class 
of customers. From Indianapolis the trade in the city and through- 
out Marion County is supplied. From twelve to fifteen solicitors are 
constantly employed, and the volume of business has steadily 
increased each year, an exhibit of successful management, and an 
evidence of the high appreciation in which the " White " is held Tjy a 
discriminating public. 

E. M. Van Pelt— Dealer in Flour and Feed; 62 North Delaware 
street. — Mr. E. M. Van Pelt began operations here in 1885, and his 
career has been that of a prosperous and honorable merchant from 
its inception. He occupies a two-story and basement building, 20x75 
feet in size, eligibly and advantageously located as above, directly 
opposite the City Hall. The premises are well arranged and equipped 
with all the necessary conveniences for the successful conduct of the 
business. He carries large stocks and full lines of standard brands 
of high grade spring and winter wheat, family and bakers' flour, 
buckwheat flour, corn and oatmeal, graham flour, and other produc- 
tions of the same description, noted for their superior excellence and 
in great demand by a high class of consumers. He also carries 
equally extensive and complete supplies of hay, straw, corn, oats, 
middlings, chopped feed, granulated oil cake, etc., for stock, all of the 
best quality and description. His lines all around are exceptionally 
comprehensive and are sold at the lowest market quotations. He is 
amply prepared to supply all demands at the lowest prices and 
delivers goods at the residences of purchasers or at the depot free of 
charge, and does a large local trade in addition to ministering to the 
wants of customers within a considerable radius of the city. 



Brosnan Bros. & Co.— Dry Goods and Notions; 37 and 39 
South Illinois street. — This substantial and reliable dry goods house 
was started here during the year 1885. The firm is composed of 
Daniel D. Brosnan and John Brosnan, both gentlemen of long experi- 
ence in the business. They occupy a two-story and basement 
building, 50x75 feet in dimensions, and though the large and increasing 
business taxes their capacity to the utmost, they are furnished with every 
modern convenience and facility that will promote its uninterrupted 
and successful operation. They carry large stocks of dry goods and 
notions, embracing silks, satins, dress goods, woolens, flannels, linens, 
domestics, hosiery, underwear, ladies' and gent's furnishings generally, 
laces, embroideries, parasols, umbrellas, prints, novelties, and these 
goods, both imported and domestic, are carefully selected from the 
best manufactories. They are purchased in large supplies and the firm 
is prepared to offer to customers substantial and exceptional induce- 
ments, in quality and prices. The house employs from thirty to forty 
competent assistants, and supplies a large local and transient demand, 
besides doing an equally extensive and growing trade with dealers 
and farmers throughout the surrounding country. 

D. H. Baldwin & Co.— Pianos and Organs; 97 and 99 North 
Pennsylvania street. — The firm of D. H. Baldwin & Co. is in all respects 
the most prominent and influential in its line in the West and South. The 

Indianapolis house was 
established in 1873, and 
they occupy splendidly 
appointed premises at 95- 
97-99 North Pennsylvania 
street, 60x100 feet, with 
varnishmg and repair 
rooms 25x60 feet in di- 
mensions, w here they 
carry large and complete 
assorted stocks of goods 
in this line. The house 
enjoys an established reputation, commercially and professionally, as 
extended as it is influential. 

John A. Reaume — Shirts, Furnishings, and Laundry; 32 West 
Washington street, and 72 and 74 South Illinois street. — One of the 
oldest dealers in shirts and gentlemen's furnishing goods in the city 
or vicinity is John A. Reaume, who also owns and directs the opera- 
tions of the New York Laundry. The gents' furnishings business 
was established by Mr. Reaume in 1865, and has annually increased 
in volume and value. He is prominently located in the building of 
the Indianapolis News, occupying the basement and main floor, each 
2oxiqp feet in size, where he carries large stocks of shirts, collars, 
cuffs, underwear, hose, ties, cravats, scarfs, umbrellas, canes, 
European novelties, etc., of the best makes and materials, and in 
styles and at prices beyond successful competition. About 1883 he 
opened the New York Laundry, at 72 and 74 South Illinois street, 
which is now the largest and best equipped enterprise of its kind in 
the State, doing the finest work promptly and satisfactorily. This 
department is supplied with the latest improved laundry machinery, 
also having large accommodations for drying purposes and every 
facility adapted to the service. One of his specialties in this depart- 
ment is delicate work, in which the laundry excels. No chemicals 
are ever employed, and the same care is exercised in the processes 
incident to operations as in the best regulated households. His 
trade in both lines of business is very large in the city and surround- 
ing country, requiring the services of between fifty and sixty hands 
and two wagons, and is extending and increasing throughout the 
.State in all directions.. 

W. P. Maine — Dealer in Stoves, Slate and Iron Mantels, Etc.; 
61 and 63 West Washington street. — The stove and tinware house 
owned and managed by W. P. Maine is one of- the oldest and most 
prominent in its line in the city. It was established by R. L. McOut 
about 1850, the firm later becoming R. L. & A. W. McOut, and finally 
Geo. McOut, whom Mr. Maine succeeded in December, 1888. He is 

from New York, experienced in the business, and is fully equipped to 
meet all the requirements of the trade. He occupies an eligibly 
located four-story and basement building, 50x100 feet in dimensions, 
and with the improvements he has recently completed and the 
equipments he has recently added, enjoys facilities unsurpassed in 
every particular by any similar undertaking in the State. His lines 
of manufacture include that of tinware and roofing materials, in which 
experienced hands are employed, and only the best class of work- 
manship turned out. His stocks embrace heating, cooking, gasoline 
and oil stoves, slate and iron mantels, refrigerators, kitchen furnishing 
goods and hollow iron and tinware in great variety, and complete 
lines of shelf hardware, all of these goods being of the best quality 
and from the leading factories and foundries of the country. He 
employs ten experienced workmen and a competent force of sales- 
men, and does a large trade in Indianapolis and throughaut the 
surrounding country. 

G. W. Barnes & Co.— Instalment Dealers; 64 East Market 
street. — Selling fine lines of household goods and other articles of 
established utility upon the mstalment plan has become universally 
popular and proportionately prosperous. Among the leading houses 
thus engaged in this city is that of G. W, Barnes & Co., a firm organ- 
ized and established during 1887. They occupy the basement and 
main floor of premises 25x100 feet in dimensions, attractively furnished 
and completely appointed, where they carry full and complete lines 
of goods of the best qualities, which are sold at low prices and upon 
the most liberal terms to customers or the trade. They handle all 
articles and novelties of merit as soon as they appear, their stocks 
embracing Smyrna rugs, lace curtains, blankets in season, carpet 
sweepers, ladies' plush toilet sets, pictures, mirrors, easels, lamps, 
clocks, opera glasses, wall pockets, albums, dictionaries, bibles, and 
other books, Rogers' best flatware, silver-plated hollow ware, watches 
and jewelry, ladies' dress goods, wraps, etc. Also novelties, together 
with the Colby wringer, which latter they warrant for two years. 
These goods are sold at the firm's store, or through agents, upon 
small payments. The system is heartily indorsed. The house, by its 
enterprise and honorable methods, has acquired an enviable reputa- 
tion and an extensive patronage. They employ a large force of 
salesmen, and supply a large and increasing demand in the city and 
throughout the State. 

C. E. Carter — Manufacturing Confectioner, Caterer, Etc.; 59 
North Illinois street. — One of the oldest and the most prominent 
caterer and manufacturer of fancy confections in the city is Mr. Carter, 
who established this business in 1867, and has since then occupied the 
leading position in his line of business in Indianapolis and Indiana. 
He is eligibly located as above, where he occupies a two-story and 
basement building, 25x100 feet in dimensions, completely fitted up 
and furnished for the business. His range of manufacture embraces 
candy, confections, cake, ice cream, cake ornaments and other articles 
for use at weddings, receptions, dinners, teas, parties and other social 
occasions equally formal and distinguished, and at the shortest notice. 
The edibles, conserves, delicacies, fruits, ices, and other articles 
included upon the menu served are of the choicest qualities, and the 
service itself is unsurpassed in respect to completeness and elegance. 
He employs a force of from eight to ten competent assistants, and 
a retinue of courteous and acceptable aids during the social season 
to meet the demands of a high class patronage in the city and vicinity. 

Foster & Son — Merchant Tailors; Bates House, 20 North 
Illinois street. — This prominent merchant tailoring firm is composed 
of Messrs. Edward Fostei and Thomas J. Foster. The business was 
first established here by Mr. P'oster, Sr., in 1875, when he located on 
The Circle, coming to Indianapolis from Rushville, this State, after 
an experience .n that city of twenty years. In 1882 the present firm 
was organized. Their present quarters at 20 North Illinois street, 
Bates House block, consist of commodious and handsomely furnished 
tailoring parlors, equipped and appointed in the latest styles, appro- 
priate to the display of the fine lines of goods carried. They include 
the finest imported English, Scotch, Austrian, French and German 



fabrics of the choicest designs and most durable finish, with the pro- 
ducts of the leading American looms, and the usual complement of 
trimmings, vestings, etc., only included in the invoices of first-class 
dealers. They make, specially to order, gentlemen's garments, 
according to the most modern fashion, and which, in cut, fit and 
appearance, are unsurpassed. They employ the most capable opera- 
tives, and are prepared to fill orders from any portion of the country 
upon the shortest notice and at the most reasonable prices. From 
fifteen to twenty hands are required in the business, and their trade is 
in the city and throughout the surrounding country. The senior 
member of the firm learned his trade in Ireland, and after fifteen 
years' service at Manchester, England, immigrated to America, locat- 
ing as above stated. The junior member is equally finished in the 
details of the business, and their house enjoys a well merited reputa- 
tion in all respects. 

Edward B. Smith—Steam and Chemical Dye Works; 57 North 
Pennsylvania street. — The oldest and largest steam and chemical 
dyeing establishment in Indianapolis is that of Edward B. Smith. 
He began operations along in 1868, and has built up a trade that is 
only measured by his capacity to supply, in all parts of the State, as 
also in territory more remote. He occupies premises 25x100 feet in 
dimensions, handsomely furnished and supplied with all requisite 
facilities for the busmess, and his dve works on Valle street are 

equipped with all necessary machinery and appliances. His specialty 
is the dyemg of delicate fabrics, such as crape, broche and cashmere 
shawls, laces and embroideries, silks and merinos, feathers and kid 
gloves, also paying careful attention to ladies' and gentlen>en's woolen 
garments and woolen and cotton goods of every description. He 
gives his personal supervision to every department of the business 
and executes work in his lines, than which there is none superior done 
in the West. He employs a force of twelve competent and experi- 
enced operatives, and supplies a large and growing demand for his 
services in the city and State. 

Geo. Mannf eld — Clothier, Merchant Tailor and Gents' Fur- 
nishings; 17 East Washington street. — This house was established 
during 1854, by the firm of Bauer & Goepper, the present proprietor 
being in their employ. Four years later the concern passed into the 
control of F. Goepper, and, in 1862, Mr. Mannfeld became a partner, 
the firm name being F. Goepper & Co.; changed to Goepper & Mann- 
feld in 1876, and so remained until 1882, when the former died and 
Mr. Mannfeld succeeded to the sole ownership, tie occupies, at the 
site where the business has been located for thirty-five years, a hand- 
some three-story and basement building, 20x120 feet in dimensions, 
well appointed and provided with all requisite facilities and conveni- 
ences. The business is about equally divided between merchant 
tailoring and the handling of ready-made clothing. His range of 
manufacture includes garments for gentlemen, made to orde*" in the 
latest styles of fashion, of the very best patterns and qualities and in 
price and superior workmanship unsurpassed. He carries large 
stocks of imported goods from which to make selections, and is pre- 
pared to fill orders for suits and garments adapted to every require- 
ment. His stocks of ready-made clothing are equally comprehen- 

sive and select, the products of the very best Eastern manufacture, 
and his lines of gents' furnishing goods, hats, caps, notions, novelties, 
etc., can not be excelled for variety, quality or durability. Mr. Mann- 
feld is a prominent representative of commercial enterprise, and a 
reputable and popular business man. 

C. Friedgen — Manufacturer and Dealer in Boots and Shoes; 
21 North Pennsylvania street. — Among the well known and prosper- 
ous establishments in Indianapolis engaged in the manufacture and 
sale of boots and shoes, the house of C. Friedgen occupies a leading 
position. It was established by Mr. Friedgen in 1862, and for over a 
quarter of a century has been' in successful operation. He occupies 
premises in the .^tna building, 20x120 feet in size, admirably 
appointed and neatly fitted up. He carries the best Eastern make of 
boots and shoes manufactured to his order and for this market 
exclusively, composed of the choicest grades of French calf, 
kangaroo, kid and patent leather in the latest fashions, and warranted 
as represented. He carries no pegged or wire fastened work, and 
handles no cheap goods. He also manufactures a very fine dass of 
boots and shoes to order, in which the best materials are employed 
and the products are most perfect samples of style, fit and superior 
workmanship. In this line he caters to a high class trade in the city 
and throughout the State, also in States adjoining, his trade in other 
lines being large in the city and vicinity. His relations with eastern 
producers are such that he is enabled to offer superior 
inducements in quality and prices to his patrons. Mr. 
Friedgen's long experience in the business and thorough 
knowledge of its details and requirements, entitle the 
house to the enviable position it holds in the commercial 
and manufacturing circles of Indianapolis. 

J. E. Whelden — Gents' Furnishing Goods, Laundry, 
Etc.; 85 West Pennsylvania street. — Mr. Whelden became 
established here in 1884, and has from the start conducted 
a large and successful business, handling only the leading 
and best lines of goods, and conserving a demand among 
the leading and best classes of customers. The premises 
occupied for store purposes, located in the New Denison 
House block, are commodious and handsomely appointed, 
entrance being obtained on Pennsylvania street, and from 
the hotel lobby. He handles shirts in stock, and the choicest lines 
of silk, woolen, balbriggan and other grades of underwear and 
hosiery, besides gloves, ties, scarfs, mufflers, silk goods, gold and 
silver-headed umbrellas, notions, novelties, and the better class of 
furnishings and furnishing goods generally, and his laundry facilities 
are very complete for superior and expeditious work. His supplies 
are selected with special reference to the requirements of this market 
and the demands of an exacting patronage, and are imported direct 
or purchased from first hands. Mr. Whelden is prepared to offer the 
inducements of reasonable prices and liberal terms to customers and 
the public. A large local and transient trade is supplied, and the 
house enjoys a well merited reputation for its enterprise and honor- 
able business methods. 

'^y/7fy7y^ 20 East Washington street.— One of the best 
'>*i'.^y"7V^^/^/y'''"'^"" ^"'^ most popular houses in the city, 
^^l^^'^'^:^^^/'^ engaged in the manufacture of fine confec- 
^^ ^ tions, is that of J. A. Craig, w^ho established 

his present enterprise here in 1873, previous to which he conducted a 
similar industry in Chicago. His place of business fronts 20 feet 
on East Washington street, with a depth of 65 feet, where it com- 
municates with the manufacturing department, 20x70 feet in dimen- 
sions. The premises are attractively and handsomely fitted up, and 
equipped with all requisite conveniences and appliances for the 
business. His products embrace everything in confections of the 
best grades, such as bon-bons, creams, caramels, chocolates, fruit 
tablets, French nougat, home confections, etc., in general assortment. 
Purity of materials and products is Mr. Craig's specialty. Only the 
best grades of sugar, fruits and nuts, and other essentials are used, 
and the consequence is that his candies and articles generally obtain 



a preference with the trade. These are put up in handsome pack- 
ages, artistic boxes, baskets, etc., available for presents, mailing or 
shipment, and are in great demand throughout the city and vicinity, 
as also among transient visitors. He is prepared to fill orders 
promptly, and at satisfactory prices, and the house enjoys a 
reputation as established as it is extended and influential. 

Ballard & Brundage — Dealers in Men's Fine Furnishings; 
37 North Illinois street.— A valuable addition to the business interests 
of Indianapolis was made in i885, by the establishment of the gent's 
furnishing house of Ballard & Brundage, the firm being composed of 
G. C. Ballard and S. M. Brundage. They occupy a handsomely fitted 
up store, 20x75 fsst '" size, well appointed for the business, and pro- 
vided with every facility for responding to the demands of the trade. 
Their specialty is men's fine dress shirts to order, in the making of 
which skilled operatives and the very best qualities of goods only are 
employed. In this particular they are conceded to be unrivalled. 
They also carry large and well-selected lines of gentlemen's shirts 
and furnishing goods, including underwear, hosiery, collars, cuffs, ties, 
scarfs, mufflers, gloves, canes, gold and silver headed umbrellas, 
European novelties, etc., in great variety and of the choicest selection. 
The concern is in every respect a leading emporium of its kind, and 
the firm offers inducements in regard to materials, prices and lines 
from which to make selections, unsurpassed in this market. They 
do a large and steadily increasing trade in the city and throughout 
the surrounding country. 

P.J. Kelleher — Hatter, Furrier and Gent's Furnishings; 23 
West Washmgton street. — Mr. Kelleher, who established this busi- 
ness in 1881, occupies an attractive store located at one of the most 
convenient and accessible sites on the leading retail thoroughfare of 
Indianapolis. The premises are 20x150 feet in dimensions and 

equipped with every facility for the 
display of the diversified stocks 
carried, and all conveniences for the 
efficient conduct of the business. 
Large invoices of hats of the most 
approved fashionable make are kept 
in stock, also caps and straw goods, 
in addition to fur caps, gloves and 
collars in seal, otter, lynx, beaver, 
etc. The lines of gent's furnishings 
embrace shirts, collars, cuffs, gloves, 
underwear, hose, silk goods, scarfs, 
mufflers, ties, umbrellas, canes, the 
most recent European novelties, and notions of the choicest qualities 
and latest patterns. The lists, in short, include everything that can 
be useful or valuable to a gentleman's wardrobe. Mr. Kelleher 
imports direct and purchases from first hands, thereby insuring to 
patrons the " pick of the market," and guaranteeing the best articles 
at the lowest prices. He supplies a large and high class local 
demand, and his house possesses the confidence and patronage of 
an extensive constituency within a considerable radius of Indian- 

Chas. J. Kuhn — Fine Groceries; 47 and 49 North Illinois 
street; Telephone No. 602. — This enterprise was established by Albert 
C. Kuhn, brother of the present proprietor, many years ago, the latter, 
who had been associated in the management of the concern for some 
nine years prior to January, 1888, at that date succeeding to the owner- 
ship. He occupies premises 25x100 feet in their dimensions, availably 
located and furnished with every modern convenience and appoint- 
ment that can facilitate the accommodation of customers or the expe- 
ditious transaction of business. His specialties are coffees, teas, 
sugars, spices, etc., pure and fresh, the finest grades in the market, 
and which are carried in large supply; also handling equally extensive 
stocks of fine fancy groceries. The latter embrace delicacies, bottled 
and canned fruits, foreign and domestic preserves, sauces and condi- 
ments, imported Swiss, Gruyere and other foreign cheeses, imported 
fruits and vegetables, also vegetables indigenous to this climate in 

their season, and other articles, making up an assortment of the most 
varied and attractive character. He is provided with telephone 
service and other mediums for the prompt service of patrons, and 
with the lowest market prices, offers substantial inducements to the 
public. He employs ten assistants, also operating three wagons and 
making no charges for delivering goods at the depots, throughout 
the city or in the suburbs, where he does a large retail trade, having 
also a fine family trade, and jobbing specialties to grocers in all 
portions of the State. The house is representative in all respects 
and of prominent importance in its line. 

William Kotteman — Dealer in Furniture, Etc.; 89 and gi 
East Washington street. — Prior to embarking in business on his own 
account in 1882, Mr. Kotteman had been for years in the employ of 
leading firms in the same line in this city, and acquired a thorough 
knowledge of the service in all its departments and equal familiarity 
with the requirements of a trade that made Indianapolis its base of 
supplies. His location is specially adapted to the convenience of his 
large and growing patronage, and the premises occupied specially 
attractive and adequate. They consist of a three-story brick building, 
20x165 feet in dimensions, neatly appointed and completely equipped, 
and contain full lines of his diversified stock of elegant and medium 
grades of furniture. They embrace sets for parlor, dining and 
reception rooms, library, bed chamber and kitchen, in rosewood, 
mahogany, oak, maple, cherry and other hardwoods, made according 
to the most recent designs, and decorated in prevailing styles. He 
also carries equally complete lines of carpets, crockery, glass and 
queensware, table cutlery, stoves, ranges, tinware and other articles 
of utility and ornamentation. The three stores, into which the prem- 
ises are divided, contain everything in the way of household furnish- 
ings that can be required by the most exacting of patrons. He 
employs a full staff of assistants, and does a large trade in the city 
and vicinity. 

Paul H. Kraus— Shirt Manufacturer and Men's Furnisher; 44 
and 46 East Washington street. — This extensive shirt manufactory 
was established in 1873 by the firm of Eddy & West. Mr. Kraus 
began life as a messenger boy in the Indiana National Bank of this 
city, when Mr. Eddy was Cashier. When the latter embarked in the 
present business Mr. Kraus accompanied him, and in 1882 succeeded 
to his interest, becoming sole proprietor upon the death of Mr. West, 
which occurred during the same year. He occupies a very attractive 
store consisting of a three-story and basement building, 30x100 feet in 
size, handsomely furnished and fitted up. The third floor is used as 
a laundry, the second floor for shirt manufacturing, the main floor for 
salesrooms and the basement for storage. His specialty is the making 
of men's fine shirts to order, giving his personal attention to the 
measure of patrons and the cutting and finishing of the garment, and 
turning out an article that for style, fit and durability, as also for 
material, is not surpassed in the Indianapolis market. He is amply 
prepared to fill orders from a distance, and to make prompt ship- 
ments, and in every way to minister to the reqairements of the trade. 
He also carries large and select stocks of men's fine furnishing goods, 
imported through the custom house here, embracing the famous 
underwear of Welsh, Margotson & Co., and Virgoe, Middleton & 
Co., of London, as also the latest English and other European novel- 
ties in collars, cuffs, ties, scarfs, gloves, canes, umbrellas, etc. He 
employs a force of fifty girls in his manufacturing department, with 
three travelers and'a staff of clerks in the sales department, and sup- 
plies the trade generally in the city and State. 

Wm, Schoppenhorst — Merchant Tailor; Vance Block Point. 
— This business was established over twenty years ago by Jacob 
Huber. In 1876, Mr. Schoppenhorst became a partner in the estab- 
lishment, the firm name remaining Jacob Huber, however, and so 
continuing until January i, 1888, at which date Mr. Schoppenhorst 
purchased the Huber interest and has since been sole owner of the 
enterprise. He occupies a commodious and handsomely appointed 
store, triangular in shape, at the junction of Pennsylvania and Wash- 
ington streets and \'irginia avenue, in one of the most prominent and 



architecturally attractive business blocks of the city. His specialty 
is order work to measure, in which he excels, making it a point to 
render entire satisfaction to the high class of customers who are his 
exclusive patrons. His cutters and fitters are men who combine skill, 
experience and natural aptitude for the special departments, and 
whose products are models of elegance and finish. He carries full 
lines and large stocks of imported English, Scotch, French and Aus- 
trian cloths, cassimeres, suitings and vestings, also the products of the 
leading American looms, in broadcloth, diagonal, tweed and other 
patterns of goods of the finest texture, in the latest styles, and of the 
most durable cjiialities. His products, considering their value, can be 
purchased at low rates and upon reasonable terms. He gives employ- 
ment to from twenty-five to thirty expert hands, and does a very large 
business in the city and throughout the surrounding country. 

Konz — The American Tailor; q South Illinois street. — Situated 
in the center of the retail trade district of this city, the house of H. 
Konz, draper and tailor, has, in a short time, become prominently 
identified with a high class trade, by whom he is recognized as a pur- 
veyor of unsurpassed taste and artistic originality. He is known as 
"The American Tailor," commencing business in 1885, in the Vance 
block, whence he moved to his present site, in the Occidental Hotel 
block, during the spring of 1888. He occupies premises 20x60 feet in 
dimensions, tastefully arranged and admirably appointed, and his 
specialties are fine tailoring and moderate prices, and he carries full 
lines of imported and domestic cloths, cassimeres and vestings, also 
trimmings, etc., of the latest patterns and best qualities. He makes 
only to order, his lines of production embracing overcoats, ulsters, 
suits and single garments, adapted to weddmgs and other social 
occasions, as also for business purposes, displaying the truest 
expression of taste and refinement in appearance, and skilled and 
cultivated talent in their make-up and finishings. He employs from 
fifteen to twenty experienced and competent tailors, and does a large 
local trade, also among transients, with all of whom he enjoys an 
established reputation for superior articles of dress at the most 
reasonable prices. 

Lilly & Stalnaker — Wholesale and Retail Hardware; 64 East 
Washington street. — The representative and leading hardware firm 
of Lilly & Stalnaker is composed of J. W. Lilly and Frank D. Stalnaker. 
The business was established in 1863, under the firm name of Vajinj 
New & Co., by whom it was conducted for many years, the present 
firm succeeding in 1887, and continuing operations with increased 
facilities and increased results. They are eligibly located at 64 East 
Washington street, where they occupy a four-story building, 25x200 
feet in size, containmg all modern improvements, and equipped with 
every device and appointment that can contribute to the successful 
handling of their large lines of stock, and the shipment of orders. 
They carry very complete and comprehensive invoices of hardware, 
embracing builders' hardware, house furnishing goods, cutlery, 
mechanical tools and appliances, both domestic and imported, in all 
grades and designs. They obtain these from first hands and import 
direct, and the qualities of their stock, together with reasonable prices 
and liberal terms, have acquired for the firm a well deserved and 
firmly established reputation, wherever they are known. They employ 
twelve competent assistants, and do a large retail trade in the city, as 
also a wholesale trade, extending to the furthest limits of the State 
in every direction. 

W. J. Eisele — Dealer in Watches, Diamonds and Jewelry; 24 
East Washington street. — This extensive and popular emporium in 
its line was established in 1868 by Craft & Co., with whom Mr. Eisele 
was associated for many years, succeeding to the sole ownership of 
the establishment in 1884. He is prominently located on the most 
fashionable promenade in the city, occupying the main floor and 
basement of premises 20x100 feet in dimensions, finished in walnut, 
furnished with artistic silver mounted display cases, and supplied 
with every convenience that will add to the attractions or accommo- 
dation of the trade. His stock embraces imported and American 
watches, in gold, silver and filled cases, diamonds, sapphires, pearls, 

rubies, emeralds and other rare gems, mounted to order and in stock, 
gold and rolled jewelry, silver and plated ware, opera glasses, spec- 
tacles and optical goods, clocks and bijouterie generally, of the best 
make and in the latest fashionable styles. The manufacture of 
jewelry is a specialty of Mr. Eisele's, and his knowledge of the art, 
taste and originality and delicate workmanship are in constant requisi- 
tion for fine work for bridal presents and other testimonials of an 
appropriate character. He also does repairing extensively, and his 
work meets universal commendation. His trade is large, and aug- 
menting in volume in the city and among transients. 

L, Mueller— Fashionable Merchant Tailor; 40 South Illinois 
street. — Mr. Mueller established his business in 1878, and has acquired 
a reputation and high class trade, not surpassed by that of any similar 
undertaking in this city. He occupies a three-story and basement 
building, 25x100 feet in dimensions, located on one of the leading 
highways of trade, and furnished and finished in a manner exception- 
ally complete and attractive. His stocks are select and complete, 
embracing the finest grades of imported English, Scotch, French and 
German fabrics, and the higher quality of products of American 
looms, with trimmings, linings, vestings, etc., in great variety and 
assortment. His garments are patterns of elegance and merit in 
material, make, finish and appearance. He makes to order exclu- 
sively, his son, Louis Mueller, Jr., having charge of the cutting and 
fitting departments, furnishing wedding outfits, business suits, over- 
coats, and single garments generally,- when required, and gives 
employment to from twenty to twenty-five expert and artistic tailors. 
He does a large local trade, also supplying the demands of customers 
residing elsewhere in the Ctate, the house having commended itself 
to favor by reasonable prices and honorable business methods. 

P. Gramling & Son— Merchant Tailors, and Dealers in Cloth- 
ing, Etc.; 35 East Washington street. — Mr. P. Gramlmg established 
this business in 1854, and just thirty years later, or in 1884, Eugene 
Gramling, his son, was admitted as a partner, and the present firm 
was organized. They are eligibly located as above, where they 
occupy pretnises 20x180 feet in size, handsomely appointed and 
provided witb complete facilities for the business. Their line of 
manufacture embraces gentlemen's clothing to order, this depart- 
ment being provided with unusual facilities for the service, and the 
products being according to the latest designs of the prevailing fash- 
ions and patterns of fit, materials, and first-class workmanship. The 
firm carry large stocks of foreign and domestic cloths, trimmings, 
etc., in great variety and of the finest qualities. In the ready-made 
clothing department they handle selected lines, made to their order 
by the most famous eastern houses and for this market, in the most 
recent styles, and unexcelled for comfort and durable wear. Their 
stocks of furnishing goods are equally choice and comprehensive, 
including imported and American manufacture, m silk, balbriggan, 
woolen, flannel and lighter grades of material of standard worth and 
substantial character. The establishment enjoys a highly deserved 
and mfluential reputation all over Indiana, as also in more distant 
sections, as a representative in the highest sense of the commercial 
interests of Indianapolis. The firm employ a large force of clerks, 
journeymen, etc., and do a large trade in the city and vicinity; also 
filling orders extensively from customers throughout the State. 

Bates House Pharmacy — 54 West Washington street. 
Bates House block.— This is a very handsomely equipped, admirabiv 
located and neatly appointed drug store, with entrances from Wash- 
ington street and the hotel rotunda. .The appointments are first-class 
in every particular, including very handsome show cases, marble-top 
counters, tile flooring, etc., also a very handsome soda fountain. The 
proprietor, Mr. F. Will Pantzer, is a graduate of the renowned Phila- 
delphia College of Pharmacy and has had several years' practical experi- 
ence in the best prescription drug stores of Philadelphia and New 
York. For the past two years he has been the junior partner of the firm 
of C. H. Broich & Co., at the corner of Morris and South Meridian 
streets, this city, and has materially contributed toward making that 
the best appointed drug store in the southern part of the city. His 



specialties are the handling of pure drugs and chemicals, and the 
compounding of physicians' prescriptions. He carries selected stocks 
of everything appertaining to the drug business, embracing all of the 
new and latest discovered remedies, alkaloids, elixirs, fluid extracts, 
surgical dressings, perfumes, toilet and medicinal soaps, mineral 
waters, wines and liquors for medicinal purposes, domestic and 
imported cigars, novelties, etc. His goods are all of standard purity, 
fresh from the most celebrated dispensaries of the world, and always 
reliable. In the compounding of prescriptions he employs only com- 
petent pharmacists, and enjoys the highest reputation for skill and 
superiority in that department. He does a large and increasing city 
and transient trade. 

James N. Mayhew — Practical and Expert Optician; 13 
"North Meridian street. — .A. practical and accomplished optician, 
educated to the profession and possessing a thorough and extensive 
experience, a comprehensive and accurate knowledge of the principles 
of optics and their application to the aid of defective vision, is Mr. 
James N. Mayhew. He has been thus engaged in this city for over 
twenty years. For a period of fifteen years, he was associated with 

Moses, the well-known spectacle 

subsequently in the jewelry 
and optical business on his 
own account, being then 
located en West Washing- 
ton street, and so continuing 
until 1886, when he aban- 
doned the jewelry depart- 
ment that he might devote 
kimself exclusively to his 
present lines, and removed 
to the premises now occupied by his business, at 13 North Meridian 
street. They are handsomely arranged and appointed, and contain 
every appliance requisite to the successful prosecution of the service. 
He carries full lines of optical goods and supplies, embracing 
spectacles and eve-glasses, magnifying glasses, lorgnettes, etc., of the 
best manufacture, in the latest designs and at the lowest prices 
consistent with their valuable properties. His particula.r specialty is 
the filling of oculists' prescriptions with exceptional 'care, making 
repairs neatly and promptly and attends to the details of the business 
and the acknowledgement of orders in the most satisfactory manner. 
Persons who appreciate the importance of having frames and lenses 
properly fitted or re-set, are recommended to Mr. Mayhew with the 
assurance of honorable treatment. He does a large trade in the city 
and has acquired the patronage of the most distinguished oculists 
throughout the State, by whom and the public generally, his estab- 
lishment is regarded as the leading and most reliable of its kind in 

Geo. A. Van Pelt — Flour, Meal, Feed, Breakfast Cereals, Etc.; 
121 North Delaware street. — Mr. G. A. Van Pelt established himself 
in Indianapolis as a grain and flour dealer in 1877, and conducts the 
largest and most complete establishment of the kind in Indiana. He 
occupies a two-story building, 20 feet front by 200 feet deep, and also 
owns and controls a branch store at the corner of Massachusetts 
avenue and Ash street, and aims to have every known cereal prepara- 
tion represented in stock, and to this end will cheerfully procure from 
any part of the United States, any article called for, not already in 
store. A partial list of his manufactured cereals, and other health 
foods, includes wheat foods: whole wheat, rolled wheat, wheatlet, 
wheat meal, cracked wheat, wheat flakes" wheat germ meal, parched 
wheat farinose, wheat grits, wheat gluten, wheat farina, etc., fine gra- 
ham flour, medium graham flour, coarse graham flour, Akron and 
home ground. Oat foods: oat meal, fine, medium and coarse; oat 
groats, rolled oats, oat flour, shredded oats, oatine, nudavene flakes, 
Schumacher's rolled avena, Aunt Abbey's cooked rolled oats, and all 
other kinds. Barley foods: barley groats, barley flour, crushed barley, 
pearl barley, barley flakes. Rye foods: rye graham, rye grain, rye 
farina, rye meal. Corn foods: corn meal, standard white, clear cream, 
fine pearl, medium pearl, coarse pearl, yellow bolted, yellow fancy, 
yellow granulated, hominy granulated, breakfast hominy, coarse 

hominy. Miscellaneous: gluten flour, granula, rice flour, Lockport 
fine flour of the entire wheat, hop yeast cakes, all kinds of rice, samp, 
cerealine, purified midds, A. B. C. food for the little ones, etc.; and in 
flour and feed his stock embraces some twenty-five different brands of 
flour from eighteen mills, in Indiana, Ohio, St. Louis and Minneapohs; 
rye flour (selected brands), eastern and Indiana buckwheat flour, and 
all kinds of grain and feed, including hay and straw; bird foods, 
poultry foods and cures, ground oyster shells, bone meal, egg pro- 
ducers, and everything for poultry keepers; horse and cattle condition 
powders, flax seed, oil cake and oil meal, etc. Many articles are kept 
in stock, not enumerated above, and he has many goods in his line 
never before sold in Indianapolis, and goods are delivered free to any 
part of the city and freight depots. 

L. A, Catt — Wholesale and Retail Dealer in Flour, Etc.; 175 
West Washington street. — This business was founded in 1876 by Mr. 
Catt, who is a native of this State, a man of long and active experi- 
ence in the business and familiar with the wants of the trade, and in 
all respects prominent in mercantile and financial circles. He occu- 
pies a three-story and basement building, at the above site, 20x200 
feet in dimensions, provided with every convenience and facility, 
including telephone service, for the successful conduct of operations 
and the accommodation of his stocks and consignments. He deals 
in the choicest brands of flour, for family and general use, embracing 
the products of the leading mills of the West and Northwest, of 
unsurpassed quality, and otherwise known for its superior excellence. 
He also carries full lines and complete stocks of prairie and timothy 
hay, corn, bran, oats, shorts, middlings, meal, etc., fresh, pure and 
sweet, and sold in quantities or in car-load lots at the lowest market 
rates. Fresh supplies are received daily, thereby enabling Mr. Catt 
to fill orders promptly and to offer the most liberal inducements to 
his patrons and the public. He does a large local wholesale and 
retail trade, and the house has acquired an extended reputation in 
harmony with the enterprise and honorable methods which character- 
ize its management and operations. 

E. W. 'Vance & Co.— Fancy Dry Goods, Millinerv, Etc.; 36 
East Washington street. -One of the most handsomely fitted up, 
centrally located and completely equipped dry goods stores in the 
city, is that of E. W. Vance & Co., established by Mr. Vance in 18S3. 
It is described as "the ladies' store par excellence of the city," 
and the description is fully confirmed by the facts. The premises 
occupied are 20x120 feet in dimensions, and the stocks are very full 
and complete in all lines, imported and domestic, embracing fancy 
dry goods in great variety, sewing, knitting, embroidering and floss 
silk of every description, silk underwear and mittens, hose in silk and 
woolen, ladies' furnishings, buttons, embroideries, gloves, millinery 
and millinery goods and ornaments, plumes and feathers, ribbons and 
laces, novelties and bijouterie of the latest Parisian, European and 
eastern make and most fashionable styles. His invoices are selected 
with great care, and, as above indicated, are of the choicest character 
and qualities, adapted to the wants of a refined taste and the require- 
ments of an exacting constituency, which are fully met and provided 
for. He employs a force of from fifteen to twenty competent and 
obliging assistants, and does a large trade in the city and surrounding 
country, as also with transient visitors. 

R. W. Furnas — Plain and Fancy Ice Cream and Fruit Ices, 
Etc.; 112 and 114 North Pennsylvania street. — The well known and 
reliable establishment of R. W. Furnas, devoted to the manufacture 
of ice cream, fruit ices, and butter, also dealing in milk and cream, 
has been the leading establishment in its line in Indianapolis since it 
was started by the present proprietor in 1876. He occupies premises 
40x40 feet, in the Rink building, the ice cream parlors being hand- 
somely decorated, appointed and furnished. To the rear of these, 
and extending to an alley, is the manufacturing department, 30x150 
feet in dimensions, supplied with all modern equipments, including 
ice cream freezers with a total capacity of forty gallons of ice cream 
per hour, and ice shaving machinery, etc., driven by steam. His 
specialties are plain and fancy ice creams, sherbets, fruit ices, sweet 



cream, creamery butter and milk. The raw material is mostly 
obtained at Bridgeport and Friendswood, both in this State, Mr. 
Furnas owning a creamery at the former, whence milk and cream 
are brought to the city daily, the supplies in summer averaging nearly 
1,000 gallons of milk and cream per diem. The heaviest output of ice 
cream ever made by this house was in the summer of 1888, when a 
daily average of 201 ■; gallons was made for thirty consecutive days. 
He supplies hotels, confectioners, restaurants, private families, parties, 
festivals, receptions and other occasions. A force of from twelve to 
fifteen assistants and five wagons are employed in the service, and 
his trade is almost wholly within the city, but some ice cream is 
shipped outside. 

P. Harity — Umbrella and Parasol Manufacturer; 43 Virginia 
avenue. — The manufacture of umbrellas and parasols carried on by 
P. Harity at the above location, was by him established in 1876, and 
by his thorough knowledge of the business in all its minutest details 
has steadily increased the extent and importance of his trade in the 

city and surrounding terri- 
tory. He occupies a neatly 
fitted up store at 46 Virginia 
avenue, directly opposite the 
site where he originally lo- 
cated, where he carries large 
stocks of materials and makes 
a specialty of covering and 
repairing. His supplies in- 
clude the latest fashionable designs in umbrellas for ladies and 
gentlemen, parasols, etc., of the best qualities and products of the 
best class of workmanship. He also keeps in stock silk of every 
fibre and color, alpaca, muslin, and other goods for purposes of 
covering, together with gold, silver, carved ivory and fancy wood 
handles in great variety. His establishment is well known and popu- 
lar, his stocks complete and choice, his materials of the best character 
and description, and his service prompt and reasonable. He gives 
his personal attention to the manufacture and repair of goods, and 
does a large trade in the city and surrounding country, throughout 
which the house enjoys a well deserved reputation for reliability and 
honorable enterprise. 

W. F. Rupp & Co. — Merchant Tailors; 23 East Washington 
street. — This firm, composed of W. F. Rupp ajid Gust. Roseberg, 
was organized in 1861, and has, during its career of nearly thirty 
years, contributed in no small degree to the elevated standard in 
gentlemen's dress which prevails in this city. Their apartments 
are each 20x130 feet in dimensions, and most. attractively equipped 
and furnished. They carry full lines of the finest imported fabrics 
of the latest patterns, also cloths, cassimeres and vestings, the 
output of the most celebrated American looms, in addition to trim- 
mings, linings and novelties for gents' wear of the most recent 
styles and elegant finish. They make to order only, their range of 
manufacture embracing suits for every service or occasion, bes'des 
overcoats, ulsters, and single garments generally, in the latest fashion 
and the most substantial manner, guaranteeing the perfection of fit 
and an appearance that will meet the demands of the most fastidious 
of patrons. They are prepared to promptly furnish samples, suits, or 
single articles of wearing apparel to customers at a distance, and are 
so versed in the art of cutting and fitting that the latter, by sending 
their measure, can rely upon superiority in these respects as if they 
were present. They employ from twenty-five to thirty experienced 
assistants, and do a large trade in the city and vicinity, as also with 
old established customers in other portions of the State. 

The Boston Store —Jackson, Porter & Alderman, Pro- 
prietors; Wholesale and Retail Dry Goods, Hosiery, Notions, Etc.; 
26 and 28 West Washington street.— The Boston Store was established 
in this city March i, 1889, by Messrs. W. E. Jackson, A. W. Porter, 
and F. W. Alderman, composing the firm of Jackson, Porter & 
Alderman. The members of the firm are from Boston, Mass., and 
.all have had a long and exceptionally desirable experience in the 

business in the East. Their location is the most available in the city, 
the premises occupied having been the dry goods house of M. H. 
Spades for years. They consist of a four-story and basement 
building, 50 feet front on West Washington street and 150 feet 
deep, the entire interior space of which is devoted to the storage and 
sale of dry goods, novelties and notions. They are handsomelv 
arranged and apportioned, equipped with the latest improved elevator 
and telephone service, and provided with every facility for the 
business. Their stocks are very large and comprehensive, embracing 
full lines of foreign and domestic silks and dress fabrics, velvets, 
satins, laces, embroideries, ribbons, hosiery, gloves, ladies' and 
gents' furnishings, corsets, shawls, wraps, white goods, linens, 
domestics, flannels, blankets, upholstering goods, European and 
American novelties, Yankee notions, nick-nacks, etc., in almost 
endless profusion, and of the latest and most approved patterns. 
They are imported direct and obtained from first hands, and present 
an array of unsurpassed attractions suitable to the taste of the most 
fastidious and the most conservative of customers. The house is 
in every particular representative in its character and management, 
and an acquisition to the city's commercial interests of very large 
importance and value. The members of the firm give their personal 
attention to the conduct of the business in all its departments, and 
have founded an enterprise the success of which is being daily 
demonstrated. They employ from thirty to thirty-five assistants and 
cater to a trade in the city and State. 

Frank A. Blanchard— Undertaker and Embalmer; 66 North 
Pennsylvania street; Telephone No. 411. — F. A. Blanchard began the 
undertaking and embalming business here in 1885, and occupies the 
main floor and basement of the premises above mentioned, each 
being 25x150 feet in dimensions, and gives to the details of the 
business intrusted to his care, prompt and careful attention. His 
arrangements are complete, and his furnishings and appointments 
are appropriate and of the latest styles. A full and complete assort- 
ment of fine caskets, coffins, etc., are kept in stock, also funeral 
robes, shrouds, trimmings, ornaments, etc., adapted to every want. 
The establishment is provided with a morgue, in addition to its other 
appointments, and he is prepared to embalm bodies for preservation 
by a process producing permanent effects. His equipment also 
includes funeral cars, hearses, carriages and other auxiliaries neces- 
sary to the service, and he elicits respectful commendation for the 
fidelity he brings to the discharge of his duties. A full and experi- 
enced staff of assistants, including a lady attendant, are employed, 
and he responds to calls by day or night, also to telegrams for services 
at a distance. 

The When Clothing Store — Men's and Boys' Clothing, 
Hats, Caps, P'urnishing Goods, Etc.; 30 to 40 North Pennsylvania 
street. — This store was established in this, city during 1875, as one of 
many branches of a house under the same management at Utica, N. 
Y. They are located in an elegant four-story and basement building, 
of which they are owners, carry large stocks of clothing, hats, caps, 
furs and furnishing goods, and do a large trade in the city and among 

Domestic Laundr y — Steam Laundry ; Lace Curtains a 
Specialty; 73 North Illinois street. — Among the laundries of this citv, 
none is better known or more generally patronized than the Domestic 
Laundry, which was established by Henry Richters, the present pro- 
prietor, in 1884. The premises occupied consist of the basement and 
main floor, each 25x100 feet in dimensions, well arranged and equipped 
with every facility for the promotion of the work, both in respect to 
quantity and qualitv, including all the latest inventions in machinery 
for washing, ironing, etc., and other special appliances, operated by a 
five-horse power engine, put in during the spring of i8Sg. The 
cleansing of lace curtains, of the finest quality, is made a specialty by 
Mr. Richters, and his success in this line has secured for his establish- 
ment a very large and select class of patrons. Fine family and hotel 
work are not less specialties, and the same care is exercised, and 
extra attention is paid to these lines, such being particularly the case 



with ladies' wear, collars, cuffs, etc. None but competent and experi- 
enced assistants are kept in the service, each department of which is 
personally supervised by Mr. Richters, and nothing is left undone 
that will contribute to giving the fullest satisfaction to patrons. 
Orders receive prompt attention, prices for work are reasonable, and 
a large business is done in the city and vicinity, giving employment 
to from ten to twelve hands, and two wagons. 

Jos. F. Kunz— Merchant Tailor; 159 East Washington street. 
— The business carried on by Jos. F. Kunz, and established in this 
city by that gentleman in 1887, has commanded a success both pro- 
nounced and gratifying. He is located at one of the most desirable 
and available business sites in the city, and otherwise convenient to 
customers. The premises occupied are 25x100 feet in dimensions, 
neatly appointed and attractively arranged for the tasty displays of 
his lines of goods, and the transaction of business. He carries selected 
stocks of the choicest description of foreign and domestic cloths, 
suitings, overcoatings, etc., in the latest patterns of style, of the finest 
finish, and appropriate to every service. He also carries vestings, 
trimmings of silk, satin and velvet, and a general line of commodities 
adapted to a first-class establishment of the kind. He is prepared to 
fill orders promptly for suits for weddings, receptions and other social 
occasions, as also for the counting room and business purposes, for 
ulsters, overcoats and heavy wear generally, in addition to single 
garments, made up in the best manner, and in fit and appearance the 
most perfect embodiment of fashion and superior workmanship. His 
stocks are complete, his make unsurpassed, and his prices low. He 
employs from ten to fifteen journeymen with their assistants, and the 
house caters to a large and growing city trade. 

H. H. Hutchins — Manufacturer and Dealer in Fine Boots and 
Shoes; 242 East Washington street. — The emporium of H.H. Hutchins, 
devoted to the manufacture and sale of the finer and medium grades 
of boots and shoes, was established by Mr. Hutchins in 1868. His 
experience in the business, intimate familiarity with the wants of the 
trade, and the careful attention he gives to the selection of the stock 
handled, have secured him deserved success. Located as above, 
where he has remained continuously for the past sixteen years, he 
occupies premises 25x100 feet in dimensions, attractively fitted up 
and handsomely appointed for the busir^ess. He carries very full 
and complete lines of footwear for men, women, youths, boys and 
misses, in varied assortments and of the best qualities. They are the 
productions of leading eastern manufacturers in French calf, mor- 
occo, kangaroo, kid and other choice descriptions of leather, made up 
in button, lace, elastic and other styles, and adapted to every service 
and occasion. They are made specially for this market, and in work- 
manship and materials are not inferior to custom made products, 
besides, being purchased in large invoices for cash by Mr. Hutchins, 
he is able to offer very substantial inducements in prices to customers 
and the trade. Mr. Hutchins is, in addition, prepared to execute 
orders promply, and his house has acquired an extended and invalu- 
able reputation, not only among patrons who have availed themselves 
of the advantages he has offered for more than twenty years, but also 
with customers of a more recent date, in the city and throughout the 
surrounding country. 

The New York Store— Wholesale and Retail Dry Goods, 
Notions, Millinery and Boots and Shoes; 25, 27, 29 and 31 East Wash- 
ington street.— The New York Store was established by Glenn Bros, 
during 1853, in one of the stores of the Bates House block. It passed 
through several changes prior to 1887, when the present firm was 
created. They occupy very commodious and handsomely equipped 
premises, 70x195 feet in dimensions. They carry heavy and diver- 
sified stocks, employ a force of 150 assistants, and do a large and 
constantly increasing business in the city and State. 

George Hotz — Merchant Tailor; 124 South' Illinois street. — 
One of the oldest and most popular merchant tailors in Indianapolis 
is George Hotz, who has been thus engaged for more than thirty 
years, during all of which time he has been located on South Illinois 

street in his present vicinity. He occupies the main floor and base- 
ment, each 20x100 feet in dimensions, attractively apportioned and 
appointed, and containing all requisite facilities for display and sale 
purposes, as also for the speedy and finished production of his lines 
of supply. He carries a well assorted stock of cloths, woolens, 
cassimeres, vestings, overcoatings, etc., the best grades of imported 
and domestic manufacture from which to make selections, and is 
prepared to fill orders for suits or single garments appropriate to 
social occasions or business purposes. His products are models of 
fashion and elegance, unsurpassed in fit and appearance, and samples 
of superior workmanship. His stocks all around are as comprehen- 
sive as they are desirable, and obtainable at low prices and upon 
reasonable terms. He is an experienced cutter and fitter, who gives 
his personal attention to the requirements of the trade, in which he is 
also assisted by a force of from fifteen to twenty operatives, and does 
a large annual business, mainly in the city and surrounding country, 
besides filling orders for customers in all parts of the State, through- 
out which he has enjoyed an enviable reputation as a proficient factor 
and dealer for upwards of a quarter of a century. 

John Shingler — Dealer in Queensware, Glassware, Lamps, 
Etc.; 78 Massachusetts avenue. — The queensware and glassware 
house of John Shingler, who established it in 1886, is one of the most 
prosperous and ably managed in the city. He occupies the main 
floor and basement at the above location, 20x100 feet in dimensions, 
handsomely appointed and well provided with facilities for the dis- 
plays of stock and the sale and shipment of orders. He carries large 
and full lines of china, glass and queensware, silverware, tableware, 
cutlery, hanging and swinging lamps, students' lamps, etc., of the 
latest and most elegant designs, also fancy goods, ornaments and 
novelties generally, in great variety, and well adapted to the high 
grade trade to which he caters. His stock, in all departments, is very 
choice and complete, the products of the leading potteries of Europe 
and America, and in every particular well calculated to please the 
taste of the most fastidious and conservative of buyers. He carries 
a full line of porcelain dinner sets of the best English potteries, and 
his chamber sets are of the best ware and best designs. He does a 
large trade in the city and vicinity, which is steadily increasing. 

Herman Bamberger — Dealer in Hats, Caps, Furs and 
Gloves; 16 East Washington street.— Mr. Bamberger began business 
in 1858, and for the past thirty years has occupied the site now utilized 
by his business. His premises consist of the basement and main 
floor, each 20x120 feet in size, affording every accommodation for his 
business. He carries very large stocks of hats by the leading makers, 
being sole agent for Youman's celebrated stiff and silk hats. Besides 
these, he deals in caps, straw goods, furs, fur robes and gloves, of 
standard makes and qualities, and all the latest styles of goods usually 
handled by a first-class hat house. He is also a manufacturer of silk 
hats, making those of a $36 and $42 per dozen quality, supplying a 
large trade which is rapidly extending. Special orders received in 
the morning can be shipped the same day, affording facilities that 
cannot be had at distant cities. He deals in ladies' furs and fur 
trimmings of every description, and also makes a specialty of altering 
and repairing all kinds of fur garments, making over, re-lining, etc. 
In this department, Mr. Bamberger's long experience, and the fact 
that he gives it his personal attention, enables him to make better 
terms, and give his patrons a still further advantage and guarantee 
as to the goods purchased. 

The Famous Eagle Clothing Store — Men's and Boys' 
Clothing and Furnishings; 13 West Washington street. — Benjamin 
Gundelfinger, proprietor of the " The Famous Eagle," one of the 
largest and best known clothing establishments in the city, has been 
engaged in the same line of business since i860, when he was con- 
nected with the firm of Glazier Bros. & Co., with whom he had been 
for many years previous clerking at the old Oak Hall clothing store 
here. Afterward he established two other concerns which he disposed 
of, and, in the year 1882, established his present headquarters where 
he has remained since. In this department the house is known as the 



Famous Eagle Clothing House. His location is one of the best in 
the city, on the leading retail trade thoroughfare, and in every way 
desirable. He occupies the main floor and basement, fronting twenty 
feet on West Washington street and running back two hundred feet 
to Pearl street. They are commodious, handsomely appointed, and 
provided with all facilities for the business. He carries very full and 
complete lines of clothing for men, youths, boys and children, the 
products of the leading local and eastern manufactories, of the best 
materials and in the latest styles of the fashion, made up for use and 
embodying the best class of skilled workmanship. His lines of fur- 
nishing goods are fully as complete, embracing all that is new and 
desirable in that line, such as shirts, collars, cuffs, neckwear in end- 
less variety, hosiery, gloves and handkerchiefs, and choice selections 
of underwear. They are obtained direct from producers and Mr. 
Gundelfinger is enabled to offer the most advantageous inducements 
in respect to prices and quality to customers and the trade. 

F, Koester & Co.— Furniture and House Furnishing Goods; 
g8 East New York street. — The house furnishing establishment owned 
and conducted by F. Koester & Co., though a recent addition to the 
commercial resources of Indianapolis, has acquired the confidence 
and patronage of a large and increasing trade distributed throughout 
the city and vicinity. The firm was organized and commenced oper- 
ations in 1888, and are located at the above number on New York 
street, where they occupy the main floor and basement, each 25x100 
feet in size, of premises in every way adaptive. They sell for cash 
or upon the instalment plan, and in the matter of prices, liberal 
terms, quality of materials, and other invaluable inducements, are 
not excelled by any similar house in this city. Their stocks, which 
are full and complete, embrace general household furniture of the 
best make, and according to the latest patterns, carpets, oil-cloths, 
linoleums, pictures, ornaments, bric-a-brac, china, glass and queens- 
ware, cutlery and tinware, mattresses and bedding, stoves for coal, 
wood or gas, and household sundries generally. They are prepared 
to furnish a residence of the most commodious dimensions at the 
shortest notice with every article necessary to comfort or luxury, 
ready for occupancy, and in the most attractive manner. 

Andrew Oehler — Dealer in Watches, Clocks, Jewelry, Etc.; 
20 South Delaware street. — Andrew Oehler has enjoyed an experience 
of thirty-eight years in the business, thirty years of which has been 
passed in this city, he having established himself here in 1858. He 
carries full and select lines and does a large retail trade. He occu- 
pies a substantial four-story and basement brick building, 25x100 feet 
in dimensions, at a location both desirable and available. His stocks 
embrace every article of utility and ornament dealt in by first-class 
houses of the kind. Mr. Oehler's specialties are optical work, fine 
watch repairing, and the manufacture of special features in gold, silver 
and filigree work. He carries the best foreign and American makes 
of watches in solid gold, silver and filled cases; solid gold and rolled 
gold jewelry; solid silver and electro-plated ware; marble, bronze and 
other fancy clocks; statuettes, vases, etc.; fine specimens of ceramics; 
opera glasses and optical goods generally; charms, gold-headed 
canes, bric-a-brac, novelties, etc., of exquisite design and in great 

William Kiemeyer— Successor to Maas & Kiemeyer, Manu- 
facturer and Dealer in Cigars and Tobacco; 141 East Washington 
street. — One of the leading and prosperous houses engaged in the 
manufacture of cigars and tobaccos in Indianapolis is owned and 
conducted by William Kiemeyer. The enterprise was established in 
1872 by the firm of Maas & Kiemeyer, and was continued under 
their joint management until February, 18S8, when Mr. Maas retired 
and Mr. Kiemeyer succeeded to the sole ownership. He is located 
at a most desirable site for the convenience of the trade, Avhere he 
occupies handsomely equipped and well appointed premises for the 
manufacture and sale of his line of productions. The latter are 
limited to the choice qualities of cigars, which are well known to the 
trade under brands that long since were recognized as superior, and 
became standard articles of general consumption. He also carries 

full lines of imported Havana cigars, also Key West and other selected 
brands of domestic make, chewing and smoking tobaccos, pipes and 
smokers' articles in great variety, in addition to a general assortment 
of sundries adapted to the demands usually made upon his line of 
business. His stocks can always be relied on as fresh and pure, and 
their sale is always made at low rates and upon liberal terms. He 
employs a force of competent operatives, and his trade is large 
locally and throughout the State. 

New Yorlc Shoe Store— John Maloney, Proprietor; Dealer 
in Fine Boots and Shoes; 71 East Washington street. — A prominent 
retail boot and shoe dealer of this city, is Capt. John Maloney, located 
as above. He has been identified with, and actively engaged in, the 

business from boyhood. 
When the War of the Re- 
bellion broke out, he devoted 
his energies to raising a 
company for active service, 
and Company A, 35th 
Regiment Indiana Volun- 
teers, was speedily enlisted 
and he was selected Second 
Lieutenant, and after some 
service was commissioned 
by Gov. Morton as Captain, 
and his company was as- 
signed to the Army of the 
Cumberland, and partici- 
pated in many of the mem- 
orable engagements of the 
war. After the surrender of General Lee he tendered his resigna- 
tion at Nash\-ille and returned to this city, and at once resumed opera- 
tions as a retail dealer in his present line of commodities, in which, 
excepting a brief period when he was occupied with real estate trans- 
actions, he has since been prosperously engaged. 

Roman Oehler— Watchmaker and Jeweler; 183 West Wash- 
ington street. — One of the oldest and most favorably known jewelry 
houses of Indianapolis is that conducted by Mr. Roman Oehler, at 
183 West Washington street. Mr. Oehler is a native of Germany, 
and was born in the Province of Wurtemburg in 1840. He learned 
his trade of jeweler and watchmaker in his native land, came to this 
country in 1859, landed at New York, and came direct to this city. 
He was unable at first to secure work at his trade, but being deter- 
mined not to remain idle, he accepted such odd jobs as sawing wood, 
etc., and thus finding work in a bakery kept by Mr. Herman Rentch, 
on South Illinois street, where he remained about a year, when, 
having found work at his trade, he went to Mr. George Feller, on 
Washington street, vv'here he remained until the breaking out of the 
Rebellion, when he enlisted in the service of his adopted country as 
a meiTiber of Captain Clause's battery. He was subsequently assigned 
to duty as orderly on the staff of Brigadier General Jefferson C. 
Davis, of Indiana, and was in active service for two years, receiving 
an honorable discharge at the expiration of his term. Returning to 
this city he began business on Virginia avenue, in 1864. In 1867 he 
purchased a lot, 20x200 feet, on West Washington street (his present 
place of business), where he built a one-story house, 20x40 feet in 
dimensions, and removed to it in 1869. In 1872 he enlarged bis 
building by making it three stories high, again enlarging it in 1880, 
by building an addition, making present dimensions 20x100 feet. In 
1884 he patented a watch-box and ring-plier, and in 1885 made a trip 
through England, Germany and Switzerland to get them manufact- 
ured, and since then has added this manufacture to his present 

Boston Clothing House — Adolph Kahn & Co., Proprietors; 
Men's, Boys', and Youths' Clothing; 3 East Washington street. — The 
Boston Clothing House, an extensive and ably managed concern, 
engaged in the ready-made clothing trade, was established in 1S86, 
and is composed of Adolph Kahn. who has had twenty years' experi- 



ence in this business, and Maurice Brunswick. They are located on 
Washington street, the second door east of Meridian, an invaluable 
site, where they occupy store premises 25x100 feet in dimensions. 
They are handsomely fitted up and appointed, being provided with 
spacious accommodations. They also conduct a branch store at 102 
South Illinois street. They carry large and select stocks, the products 
of the best Eastern manufacture. They embrace suits, overcoats, 
etc., for men, youths and boys, models of fashion, fit and superior 
workmanship; also gents' underwear, hosiery and furnishing goods, 
in silk, woolen and flannel, of the best imported and domestic make 
and qualities, together with the almost endless variety of ties, scarfs, 
mufflers, etc., to be had only of first-class dealers in such 

Bargain House — D. B. McDonough, Proprietor; Wholesale 
and Retail Dealer in (jueensware and Glassware in all the Styles and 
Varieties, Etc.; q} North Illinois street. — The Bargain House, owned 
and directed by D. B. McDonough, was established by him in 1884. He 

is located as above, in premises admirably adapted, having a frontage 
of 25 feet on North Illinois street with a depth of 120 feet, and is pro- 
vided with every facility and equipment for the business. His stocks 
are large and complete, ranging from the choicest to medium grades, 
in every pattern from the plainest to the latest samples of the anticjue, 
embracing Limoges, Haviland, and other productions of the leading 
French potteries, American, English, French, Belgian, and other 
glassware, Meakin's famous English white granite ware, also tinware, 
cutlery, lamps, and housekeepers' furnishing goods generally, 5 and 10 
cent goods in great variety, at every price and for every service. These 
goods are imported direct and obtained from first hands at prices and 
upon terms that enable Mr. McDonough to offer the most advan- 
tageous inducements to patrons and the public, and in such invoices 
that hf. is prepared to fill and ship orders promptly without regard 
to magnitude or destination. Mr. McDonough also handles as a 
specialty three particular grades of oil for illuminating purposes, 
which are sold at the most reasonable market prices. This special 
branch of the business includes the best 74' deodorized gasoline. 



jJHE claims of humanity and the cause of charity are 
neither neglected nor forgotten by the citizens of 
Indianapolis. Institutions for their protection and 
promotion abound under State and municipal direc- 
tion, and under private control, for the care of the 
sick and destitute, and no form of human suffering or necessity need 
want for remedies or relief. The charitable and benevolent institu- 
tions of State and city are well located, handsomely built, adaptively 
arranged and appointed, and liberally supported and sustained. 
Experienced attendants are enlisted in the service, and the treatment 
of the sick, the maimed, and the diseased in mind, body or estate is 
characterized by humanity and fidelity to the admonition promul- 

gated nearly 2,000 years ago by the Man of Nazareth, who spake as 
never man spake, and whose teachings were still further emphasized 
by the career of the chief of His apostles, who impressed upon his 
followers the duty of mankind to bear one another's burdens, and so 
fulfill the law 


The Insane Asylum is located at the western terminus of Washing- 
ton street, two miles from Illinois street, where it occupies a tract of 
land 160 acres in extent. The male department was erected in 1848, 
and the wings added late in the fifties. The latter contains twenty- 
four wards. The building is of brick, 625 feet front by 150 feet in 



depth, containing all the latest improvements, and is provided 
with accommodations for 640 patients. The female department, 
which is located north o^ the male department, occupies a commo- 
dious building, also of brick, completed in 1880, at a cost of $90,000, 
and is in every respect one of the most complete institutions of the 
kind in the country. It is four stories high, and built according to the 
Kirkland system, by which plan every room in the immense edifice is 
perfectly lighted and ventilated. It has a frontage in a direct line of 
1,046 feet, a depth through the center of 381 feet, and has a total 
capacity for 850 patients. The institution on April i, 1889, contained 
1,490 inmates e.xclusive of the superintendent and his staff of assist, 


The State Asylum for the Blind occupies the square bounded by 
North Meridian, St. Clair and Pennsylvania streets, with a total area 
of eight acres. The old building was completed in 1848. The present 
structure was completed in 1851, and occupied in January, 1853. The 
main building is go feet front, and 60 feet deep, the adjoining wings 
are each 83x30 feet in dimensions. The main entrance is reached by 
way of a handsome portico, 30x25 feet, 
enclosed by Corinthian columns, 25 feet high. 
The buildings are of brick, handsomely 
appointed, and divided into school rooms, 
operating rooms, dormitories, etc., equipped 
with every facility and convenience. It is 
open to residents of the State, between the 
ages of nine and twenty-one years, and is 
supported out of the general fund of the 
State, set apart for charitable purposes. 


The Deaf and Dumb Asylum is located 
at the corner of Washington and State 
streets. The education of deaf mutes was 
instituted under the authority of the State 
in 1843, with a class of thirteen pupils. In 
1844, the asylum was first established in 
Indianapolis, and, in 1850, the present im- 
provements were begun. They are situated 
in the center of a lot of ground, 105 acres in 
extent, and consist of the main building-, 
five stories high, 90x61 feet in dimensions, 
with wings four stories in height and 30x83 
feet in dimensions, on either side, with a 
building in the rear used as workshop, 
laundry and for other industrial purposes, 
and well equipped with machinery and 
appliances. During 1889 the improvements 
were increased by the addition of a building for school room purposes, 
with a capacity for 500 pupils. The institution is open to applicants 
between the ages of ten and twenty-one years, residents of Indiana, 
all of whom receive an intellectual and industrial education, and 
otherwise fitted for the duties of life. During last year the institution 
contained 300 pupils. 


The Indiana Reform School is located north of the Deaf and Dumb 
Asylum, occupying a series of two-story brick buildings situated in 
the midst of an attractive lawn planted with trees and shrubbery. 
The main building is 65 feet front with side and transfer wings, each 
54>^ feet front and 30 feet deep. The premises are substantially built 
and finished and contain accommodation for 300 inmates. 


The City Hospital was first completed and occupied in 1859. It 
is located in the northwestern part of the city, and originally cost 
530,000. For some years after the premises became ready for occupa- 
tion, they were in the possession of the government for military hospital 




purposes. In 1866, however, the city authorities resumed the direc- 
tion of affairs, and have since appropriated the building, to which 
additions have been made since it was first erected, to the uses for 
which it was intended in the first instance. Accommodations are 
provided for a large number of patients, an ample corps of physicians 
is in attendance daily, and the management is efficient and accept- 
able. The institution is supported by the city, and during 1888 
522,571.99 was appropriated for that purpose. 


St. Vincent's Hospital is one of the largest and most complete 
institutions of the kind in the State. The premises occupy the site of 
the old Bay Hotel at the southeast corner of Delaware and South 
streets, which was purchased at a cost of 520,000, and upon which 
has been erected an hospital building at an additional cost of 5130,000. 
It is divided into an operating room, private and public wards for the 
sick and injured, for whom the best medical and surgical aid known 
to the profession are provided. The second floor of the building 
contains the male wards, the female wards occupying the third floor, 
with a general ward on both floors. Particular regard has been paid 
to lighting and ventilating the premises, and 
the wards and rooms are furnished with 
open grates in which natural gas is used as 
fuel, the building being also heated by steam. 
It is equipped with all desirable appliances 
and is in charge of eight Sisters of 


The society which provides a home for 
friendless women is composed of the ladies 
of Indianapolis and was organized in July, 
1863, for purposes fully explained in its 
corporate title. For a number of years they 
occupied private residences, but in 1870 
erected the edifice, corner of Tennessee and 
Ninth streets, since known as the " Home 
for Friendless Women." It it three stories 
high, 57x75 feet in dimensions, and contains 
upward of fifty rooms, which are available 
for temporary residence to those for whose 
benefit and protection it is designed. The 
institution is under the direction of a Board 
of Trustees and a Board of Managers, the 
latter composed of ladv members of the 
soci,ety, to whose unselfish efforts its main- 
tainance is largely due, assisted by contribu- 
tions and allowances. 


The Indianapolis Benevolent Society was organized in November, 
1835, for the purpose of affording relief and aid to the destitute poor. 
Membership is acquired by the donation of money or other contri- 
butions, which are in turn distributed by the executive officers upon the 
recommendation of managers who investigate the cases requiring 
relief, in the various districts into which the city is divided for this 


The Widows' and Orphans' Society w^as organized in 1849, fo"" the 
care of orphans, and in 1855 erected the Home, corner of College 
and Home avenues, the same costing 51,200. Since then, additions 
have been made and improvements effected, and the society is 
now one of the most valuable and important charitable associations 
in the State. Its government is directed by an executive and a mana- 
gerial board, and its support is derived from donations and aid from 
the State. There are accommodations for about 100 inmates, who 
enjoy in addition to their maintainance, facilities for obtaining an 



One of the leading instrumentalities in the work of benevolence 
in Indianapolis is the German Protestant Orphan Asylum, organ- 
ized in 1867. Subsequent to that date, the association purchased a 
tract of seven acres in the southeastern portion of the city, upon 
which the asylum was built and still remains. Its capacity is between 
100 and 150, and its source of support is contributions, etc. 

of their special lines of instruments, the latter provided with every 
facility and appointment for operations and treatment. In the spring 
of i88g, requiring additional accommodations in the latter department, 
they completed an annex 50x100 feet in dimensions, which is elabor- 
ately furnished and equipped with over $20,000 worth of machinery 
of their own invention. Adjoining the Institute, the National 
Surgical Institute Hotel is located. It consists of a four-story 


Allen & Wilson, Proprietors; South Illinois and Georgia streets. — 
The National Surgical Institute was established in this city during 1858, 
by Horace R. Allen, M. D., and others. Subsequently it became an in- 
corporation, with Dr. Allen as President, and Charles L. Wilson, M. D., 
Vice-President; but as there are few stockholders, and no stock avail- 
able to purchase, they are seldom designated by their official titles. The 
career of the Institute since its foundation, over thirty years ago, has 
been devoted to an exemplification of the example of the Good Samari- 
tan, and obedience to the divine admonition: "Bear ye one another's 

and basement edifice, 150 feet front on South Illinois street and 
100 feet deep on Georgia street, containing accommodations for nearly 
500 patients, and always fully occupied by residents from all portions 
of the world, whose confidence in the reputation and skill of the 
management is attested by their traveling thousands of miles to avail 
themselves of opportimities for their restoration to health, available 
nowhere else. It is provided with nursery for the care of children 
accompanying their parents, a kindergarten school being also sustained 
for their entertainment and education, and no pains or expense are 
spared to render the patient contented and comfortable. Their lines 

burdens." It was established for humanitarian objects, and under its 
dispensations the paralyzed have been made to walk, the lame and 
deformed have been permanently cured, and the sick and afiflicted 
successfully treated. The Institute proper, located as above, near the 
new LInion Depot, occupies a three-story and basement brick building, 
sixty feet front by two hundred feet deep, containing manufacturing 
and treatment departments, the former equipped with all the latest 
improved machinery and appliances for the successful production 

of production include orlhopjedic and surgical appliances, the inven- 
tions of Dr. Allen, for every species of deformity and operation con- 
nected therewith, necessary to perfect a cure. Samples of these were 
exhibited at the Centennial Exhibition of 1876, a case 36 feet long, 12 
feet high and 10 feet wide being required for the purpose, at an outlay 
of for the samples alone, which in number were five times 
greater than those of all the world besides, and were awarded the first 
premiums. Their departments of treatment are devoted to spinal 



diseases, lateral curvature of the spine, hip diseases, paralysis and its 
resulting deformities, bow legs and knock-knees, club feet, diseases of 
the bones and joints, deformities, wry neck, rheumatism, tumors, 
piles, fistula, catarrh, etc., in all of which their success has been excep- 
tional with patients from every State in the Union, Canada, England, 
Scotland, Australia, Mexico, South America, and other portions of the 
globe. These facts are borne out by testimonials from prominent 
citizens and residents, testifying to the efficiency of the services 
rendered, and confirmatory of the Institute's claims to patronage, 
superiority and perpetuity. This is the oldest and largest institution 
of its kind in the world, upon which Dr. Allen has spent thirty-one 
years of his life, and over $500,000 in building up to its present 
enviable standing. During that period thousands of helpless cripples, 
given up by physicians, have been restored in the shortest possible 

time and with little pain — of which number many have been sent to 
the Institute by physicians, who in so doing publicly admit its worth. 
Full information regarding terms, etc., will be mailed applicants, and 
the Institute's great work, and the results it has accomplished, are 
part of the daily record of current events in Indianapolis, and of the 
benefits conferred upon humanity in all parts of the world. 

In addition to the above, there are the German Lutheran Orphans' 
Home; the Colored Orphan Asylum, established in 1870; Home for 
Aged Poor; Friendly Inn; Flower Mission; Bobb's Free Dispensary; 
Young Men's Christian Association; Newsboy's Home, and other 
institutions of a benevolent character distributed throughout the city, 
adequate to the requirements of the service in which they are sever- 
ally engaged. 


Indianapolis is the judicial center of Indiana, the 
Federal and Supreme Courts of the State being located 
here, in addition to the County and Municipal Courts. 
The State of Indiana is attached to the seventh judicial 
circuit and comprises one judicial district. The Federal 
Court is held in the Government building on the first Tuesdays in 
May and November, and is presided over by Associate Justice John 
M. Harlan, of the LTnited States Supreme Court, the Circuit Court by 
the Hon. Walter Q. Gresham, of Chicago, and the District Court by 
the Hon. William A. Woods, of Indianapolis. 

The Supreme Court of Indiana is held in the Supreme Court room 
at the State House, the terms commencing on the fourth Monday of 
May and the fourth Monday of November of each year. The bench 
is composed of one Chief Justice and four Associate Justices. 


There are two courts of general civil jurisdiction, the Marion 
Circuit Court and the Superior Court of Marion County, also a court 
of criminal jurisdiction called the Criminal Court of Marion County. 
The Circuit Court has exclusive original jurisdiction in all cases at 
law and in equity whatsoever, also in the settlement of estates and of 
guardianships, and in all other causes, motions and proceedings where 
exclusive jurisdiction thereof is not conferred by law upon some other 
court, with such appellate jurisdiction as may be conferred by law. 
This court holds five terms each year, commencing on the first days 
of September, November, January, March and May. 

The Superior Court has original, concurrent jurisdiction with the 
Circuit Court in all civil causes except slander, and concurrent juris- 

diction with the Circuit Court in cases of appeal from Justices of the 
Peace, Boards of County Commissioners, also in all actions by or 
against executors or administrators, and all other appellate juris- 
diction now vested in, or which may hereafter be vested in Circuit 
Courts. The court is composed of three Judges who sit and try causes 
separately, and together constitute an Appellate Court from which 
appeals are taken to the Supreme Court. There are ten terms of the 
Superior Court, one for each month in the year except July and August. 


The Marion County Criminal Court possesses exclusive jurisdiction, 
within the county, of all crimes and misdemeanors, except where 
jurisdiction is by law conferred upon Justices of the Peace, and such 
appellate jurisdiction in criminal cases as may by law belong to the 
Circuit Court in counties having no Criminal Court. This court lias 
two terms of six months each, commencing on the first Mondays of 
January and July of each year. 


The Police Court has original jurisdiction over cases of misde- 
meanor and violations of the city charter and ordinances, as also in 
cases of felony committed within the territorial limits of the munici- 
pality. Daily sessions are held at the Police Court room in the base- 
ment of the Marion County Court House, the Mayor of the city 
presiding. There are seven Justices of the Peace, located at various 
convenient points throughout the city, whose jurisdiction extends to 
causes in which the amount involved does not exceed $200; also to the 
preliminary examination into cases of defendants charged with the 
commission of offenses. The bar of Indianapolis is composed of able 
men, nearly all of whom are engaged in active practice, and support 
a well equipped library, having commodious accommodations in the 
Court House. 


^HE public library, under the direction of the School 
Board, was established in May, 1882, and opened in 
1873, with 8,000 volumes. Subsequently the association 
acquired 4,000 additional volumes, the same having 
been donated by the Indianapolis Library Association, 
on condition that access to the Public Library should thereafter be 
free to applicants. The High School building was first occupied 
for library and reading room purposes, whence they were removed 
in January, 1875, to the old Sentinel building. In February, 1880, 
the directory purchased, for 560,000, the present site, corner of 
Ohio and Pennsylvania streets, which has since been occupied. The 
library is divided into two departments, the circulating department, 
from which books can be taken out under proper regulations, and the 
reference department, in which books are available for examination, 

but can not be taken from the premises. On the 30th of June, 1888, 
there were 43,252 books and 3,619 pamphlets in the library, circulation 
317,108, card holders 31,018 and from 15,000 to 18,000 in regular use. 
The expenses of the library are paid by a tax of two cents on the 
assessed valuation of city property. Besides the Public Library there 
are the State Library, containing 25,000 volumes; the State Law^.=»^ 
Library, 18,000; the Agricultural Library, 1,000; the Hortfeislturai 
Library, 500; all of which are located in the State House; the Marion 
County Library, 3,600 volumes, and the Bar Library, 1,800 volumes, 
both at the Marion County Court House; the Masonic Library, 1,700 
volumes. Catholic Library, 2,000, and St. Cecilia with 700 volumes. 
In addition to these, there are collections of valuable works on histori- 
cal and other subjects, owned by private individuals, but the above 
constitute the libraries in the city open to the public. 



Agriculture 6 

Agricultural Statistics 6 

Arsenal (The) 41 

Banks and Banking 36 

Belt Road (The) 14 

Blind Asylum 131 

Board of Trade— Board of Governors of 85 

Board of Trade— Indianapolls 85 

Board of Trade— List of Members 86 

Board of Trade— Officers of 85 

Breweries ' lo 

Building and Loan Associations 36 

City Hospital 131 

City of Indianapolis (The) 8 

City Schools (The) g 

Clearing House (The) 36 

Coal Producing Area in Indiana 5 

Courts (The) '33 

Deaf and Dumb Asylum 131 

Exposition Building 41 

Factories— List of 44 

Fire Department 8 

Freight Rates 15 

Geology of the State 5 

German Protestant Orphan Asylum 132 

Historical Sketch of Indiana 5 

Historical Sketch of City 8 

Home for Friendless Women 131 

Hotels 88 

Imports 16 

Indiana Reform School 131 

Indianapolis Benevolent Society 131 

Indianapolis Orphans' Home 131 

Industries— Miscellaneous 43 

Insane Asylum 130 

Insurance 91 

Introductory Notice i 

Jobbing Houses, Number of 16 

Jobbing Trade (The) 16 

Libraries 133 

Lighting the Gity 9 

Lumber Products 43 

Manufacturers 43 



Manufacturing in Indiana 7 

Marion County Court House 39 

Masonic Temple 41 

Metal Working Industries 43 

Mineral Springs 6 

Municipal Government 8 

Municipal Improvements 9 

National Surgical Institute (The) 132 

Natural Gas in Indianapolis and the State 11 

Odd Fellow's Hall 41 

Police Department 8 

Population of Indianapolis 8 

Pork Packing 43 

Postal Statistics 83 

Press (The) 109 

Public Buildings 39 

Railroad Facilities 13 

Railroad Interests in Inihana 7 

Religious Bodies in India 'apolis 90 

Religious Interests in Indiana 7 

Real Estate 91 

Retail Trade 112 

St. Vincent's Hospital 131 

Safety Deposit Companies 36 

Schools in Indiana 6 

Social Attractions 84 

State Finances 6 

State House (The) 39 

State of Indiana (The) ; 5 

Stone Quarries 6 

Street Railways 14 

Taxation and Valuation 15 

Temperature 10 

Timber Land in Indiana 5 

Tomlinson's Hall 41 

Trade Territory of Indianapolis 16 

Union Railway Company 13 

L'nion Railway Station 14 

LInion Stock Yards 105 

Valuation and Taxation (State) 7 

Vital Statistics 10 

Water Supply 9 . 

Young Men's Christian Association 41 


Bird's Eye View of Indianapolis, East from Court 


Board of Trade Building 

Colfax Monument 

Denny, Caleb S., Mayor, Portrait of 

Exposition Building 

Fletcher's Bank 

Harrison, Benjamin, President, Portrait of 

HoLLiDAY, John H., Portrait of 

Hovey, Alvin p., Governor, Portrait of 

Hubbard Block. 

Indiana Hospital for the Insane— Men's Department — 
Indiana Hospital for the Insane— Women's Department. . 

Martindale, E. B., Portrait of 

Marion County Court House 

Masonic Temple 

Murphy & Hibben Co.'s Building 

Natural Gas Display in the Indiana Gas Fields 








1 1 

New, John C , Portrait of 2 

New Union Station — Exterior View 18 

Night Scene on East Market Street 12 

Orphans' Asylum 130 

Residence Frederick Fahnley 42 

Residence P. H. Fitzgerald 42 

Residence A. H. Nordyke 42 

Residence Cortland Van Camp 42 

South Meridian Street 10 

State Capitol at Indianapolis 4 

Subscription Fountain 118 

Tomlinson's Hall (City Hall) 41 

Union Railway Station — Interior View 14 

Union Stock Yards 105 

Vance Block 27 

Washington Street, Looking East from Illinois Street. 22 

Windsor Block 84 

Y. M. C. A. Building 39 




Abromet A Monroe, inenrance, real pstate ^'2 ' 

Allen & Wilson, Nati<inal SurKical Institute — 1-^2 

A'lfree J. B. Co. mill furDisliers ti'^ 

American Paper liox Co 'iS 

Arcad.- Mills-Blanton, Watson ctCo 7S 

Arcliitertnral Iron Works— Frederick Noolke 81 

Armstrong Hros. engine* builders HI | 

Armstrong Wm. IL & t"o. surgical instruments 77 

' kins E. 1 '. cV Co. band eaws 68 

At. ^ Knt:.i'ic uoi-ke tjs 

I'.alier A. X, Co. livesio-^k commission I'iti ! 

Baldwin 1>. PI. .Sl' ('o. iiian-^sand organs 122 

iiailard it BiiiihIm-p, mfn's tarnishiuga 124 

llallw<'g A Co. wooden boxes ^ «1 

liambiTger Herman, liats and caps ''■'>■ 

Bnnk of (.'ommerco (TIir) '&d 

Bargain House- D. B. McDonougl i lliO 

Barnard .t Leas Mfg. Co. Hour mill machinery f^fi 

Barnes (t. W. it Co. inst^dmput dealers 122 

Bates HonsH iriie) -Louis Ueibold HU 

Bates House Pharraacy 125 

Berkshire Life InBorance Co ^4 


Rertermann Bros, florists 119 

Beville H. H. real estate S)l 

Black C. H. IMaunfacturing Co. carriages 75 

Bl;i kiiiore 1). A Co. commission merchants 87 

Blauctiard Frank A. uiidrrtaker 127 

Blanlou, Watson A Co. Arcade :\liU8 7r> 

Br>dine J. E. A Co. dentid and barbers' supplies 'Mi 

Bolilen 1). A. A Son, architects 1(»7 

Bohmie J. M. carriage manufacturer 77 

Booth A. Packing Co. oysters, fish and canned goods. 22 

Booth's Stables • lOit 

Boston Clothing House, Adolph Kahn & Co 12it 

Boston Store, dry goods, etc 127 

Bowen-Merrill Co. publishers and booksellers '^^4 

Bradford C. A E. W. patent attorneys 100 

Bradley, Holton it Co. agricultural implements 2:i 

Bradstreel Mercantile Agency 107 

Bryee's I'akery— steam liread and crackers TU 

Brooks Oil ( 'o. niat^liiiiery oils 25 

Brosnan Bron. A ('<*. dry goods and notions — 122 

Brower it Love Bros. Indiana Warp Mills 75 

Browning A, Son, drugs, medicines, etc 19 


Buck J. S. Wm. 13eering& Co. harvesting machinery-.. .. aa 
Burford Wm. B. blank books, litliographiug, pvinting 

and stationery ESO 

Burkhardt Lumber Agency, hardwood himber 28 

Carey J. 8. Works, tight barri^l eoopeiat^e 54 

Carey Lowe, hominy, grits and corn goods 52 

Carter ('. E. mfg. confectioner, caterer, etc 122 

CattL. A. flour, etc 126 

Central Cliair Co 78 

Clianilii'rlin W. H. Sr. self-loading barrel trucks 56 

Chandler H. O. wood engraver 75 

( 'iiandler A Taylor Co. (Tlie), self-contained stationary 

engines 62 

Circle Honsp — H. Ackelow 'H) 

Cleaveland Fence Co. yard and farm fencing. "il 

Coe ][enry, general insn ranee *12 

(^otfiu ('. E. A Co. real estate, insurance, etc 100 

CotJin, Greenstreet A Fletcher, pork packers 58 

Cole H. B. & (^o. confectioners 65 

Comstock & Coonse, force pum ps '^6 

Cones' C. B. Son & Co. overalls 74 

Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co 95 


PAGE. , 

CraiR J. A. confectioner 123 [ 

Crane S. D. diamonds, watches, etc 120 , 

Cnnuiatjham & Zimmer, wall paper, etc 114 I 

Dag^'ett K. P. & Co. architects 107 [ 

Day TJionias C. & Co. mortgage loans, etc 94 ' 

Dedert & Sudbrock, dry goods, notions, etc US ' 

Dell Frank M. coal, coke and lime 26 

Denison Hotel. (The) 88 

Deering Wm. & Co. harvesting machinery 33 

Dewakf& riall, plumbing and gas-fitting 71 

Dicksnn StdinLic aad Transfer Co 19 

Dietz Frt'd' riek. ladianapolis Box Factory 82 

Domestic Laundry 127 

Donnan <k Off, stoves, ranges, etc 72 

Dun K. fr. & Co. The Mercantile Agency lOtj 

Eagle Machine Works Co. agricultural and saw-mill 

machinery 46 

Earnshaw & Wright, patent coil elm hoop works 54 

East St. Louis Dressed Beef Co 26 

Eastman, Schleicher &, Lee, carpets, draperies and 

wall paper .' 112 

Egan & Treat, drapers and tailors 112 

Kisele W. J. watches, diamonds, etc 12.') 

Elder tt Harmon, farm implements 2'j 

Eldridge E. H. & Co. lumber, shingles, sash, doors — 70 
Employers' Liability Assurance Corporation tlm^ited) 103 

Emrich, Paalini & t'o. furniture 7lS 

Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States 95 

Evans Linseed Oil Co 67 

Everett J. A. & Co. seed merchants 26 

Fahnley AMcCrea. wholesale millinery, etc 30 

Fairbanks & Co. standard scales and Eclipse wind- 
mills 29 

Famous Eagle Clothing Store 128 

Farrell J. S- & Co. sanitary plumbing, etc 71 

Fletcher S. A. & Co. bank and safety deposit vaults. . 36 

Foster C. C. Lumber Co. sash, doors, lumber, etc 55 

Foster & Son, merchant tailors 122 

Fostoria Buggy Co. (The) 35 

Forsinger G. C. Indiana Paint and Roofing (.'o 52 

Fort, Johnson & Co. live stock commission 106 

Frank A. H. leaf tobacco 25 

Franklin Insurance Co. of Indiana 99 

Friedgen C. boots and shoes 123 

Furnas R. W. ice cream, etc 126 

Gage Thomas H. electric bells, burglar alarms, etc. . . 81 

Gale .\Ianufacturing Co. chilled and steel plows 29 

Gall Albert, carpets, etc Ill 

Galloway S. F. raw and manufactured furs 66 

Gardner Joseph, tin. copper and sheet iron work, itc. 74 

Gardner T. W. jewelry, watches, etc ... 53 

(iarrison A. P. "Domestic"' sewing macliines 115 

Gates A. B. & Co. wholesale grocers 24 

(jem Steam Laundry — W. H. Reed . . . _ 83 

German Mutual Insurance C'». of Indiana 101 

Germania Life Insurance ('o. (Tlie) 96 

Geroe, Wiggins &. Co. produce and commission 21 

Giesendorf C. E. & Co.— Hoosier Woolen Factory 76 

Gordon, Kurtz ii Co. saddlet y hardware 21 

Gotli, Coleman it Co. monum-nts I>7 

Gramling P. & Son, merchant tailors, clothing, etc. . 125 

(iramling W. C. merchant tailor 119 

Grand Hotel— Geo. F. Ptingst H9 

Gregory & Appel, iusurance. real estate, etc — 98 

Griffith Bros, wholesale millinery -. IS 

Gaedelhoefer John, wagon ani 1 ca i riage builder » ' 

Haas Joseph, V. S. live stock remedies 66 

HadleyShoeCo '3 

Hadley Wm. & H. M. insurance and real estate 9-i 

Hserle Wm. ladies' and children's furnishings 120 

Hall & Lilly, hominy mills 55 

Hamilton Thomas J. mf r. of cigars 80 

Hamlin & Co. real estate. 99 

Harity P. umbrellas and parasols _. :,..12' 

Harseim R. G. pantaloons, overalls and shirts 60 

Hays Bros, wholesale boots and thoes 20 

Healy & O'Brieu, plumbers' supplies, etc 82 

Hearsey H. T. bicycles 121 

Herrington I. H. harness ^^ 

Herriott G. F. live st ock 106 

Hide. Leather & Belting Co. —G-W. Snider 31 

HillG. W. &Co. regalia and loige goods 7i 

Hirschman J. C. & Co. mattressses and comforts 82 

Hobbs W. H. insurance, real estate, etc 98 

Holland & Co. wholesale cigars 28 

Holliday W. J. & Co. wholesale iron, steel, etc 25 

Holliday & Wyon, wholesale harness 29 

Hollweg & Reese, china, glass and qupensware il 

Holmes & Co. natural gas and steam-fitters . 74 

Hoosier Woolen Factory— C. E. Giesendorf & Co 78 

Hoover A Gamble, Excelsior harvesting machinery. .. 18 

Hotel English 89 

Hotz George, merchant tailor 128 

Howard Aid Association (The) 97 

Hudson HenryT. plumber and natural gas-fitter 59 

Buffer J. M. harness, saddles, etc 69 

Huntington F. C. Co. seed merchants 20 

Hutchins H. H. boots and shoes 128 

Incandescent Light Co. (the Welsbach burner) 69 

Indiana Electric Service Co. heat regidating apparatus 73 


Indianapolis National Bank 37 

Indianapolis ^louldinir and Picture Frame Co 77 

liidiaiiaiioJis Phmint; Mill Co 80 

Indianapolis Vaiiiisli t'o 69 

lniliana|Hilis Wneer Works 52 

ludiaiiaiiulis Wheel Co. carriage wheels, hubs, etc.. .. 47 

lion Hall, Tlie Order of Tne 104 

Island Coal Co 32 

Jt)hnson Paper Co. general paper dealers 25 , 

.Jordan Artlmr, wholesale proiJuce 31 i 

June ( 'harlos, oysters, fish and game 120 

Kahn AdolpK & Co. Boston Clothing Hous3 129 

Kt'lleluT P. J. hats, furo and furnishings 124 

Kiefer A. & Co. whole-side liruggists 19 

Kiemeyer Wm. cigars and tobacco 129 

Killinger George W 66 

Kimlierlin Manufacturini; Co. harrows, rakes, etc 60 ! 

Kingan & Co. (limited), pork packers 45, 

Kipp Bros, fancy goods 30 | 

Klee & Colr^man. mineral waters 82 

Knight & Jillson, iron and brass goods 49 

Koester F. tt Co. furniture and house furnishings 129 

Koiiz, the American Tailor 125 

Kodi.', Wells ii Bauer, wholesale grocers 20 

Kolti'iiiaun Wm. furniture 124 

Kraus Paul H. shirts and men's furnishings 124 

Krause-Kramer Mfg. Co. lounges, rockers, etc 63 

Kregelo C. E. funeral director 113 

Kruil A Jenkins, wholesale candies 18 

Kuhn ( 'harles J. fine groceiies 124 

Kunz Joseph F. merchant taih'r 128 

Lan.igraf Norbert. merchant tailor 115 

Langsenkamp Wm. brew kettles, soda fountains, etc.. 80 

Lay C. F. & G. J. druggists and pliarraaciets 121 

Laycock T. B. tV. Co. spring beds, cots, etc 81 

Leonard John R. insuranco and real estate 96 

Lieber H. & Co. pictures, frames and mouldings 61 

Lieber P. Brewing Co. (The) Ill 

Lilly Eli & C'o. pharmaceutical chemists 45 

Lilly Varnish Co 66 

Lilly A Stalnaker. hardware 125 

McCann & Co. commission merchants , 26 

McCleary A. M. coffees, sugars and groceries 30 

McCormirk Harvesting Machine Co. (The) 31 

Mc( une, S'-hmidlap i Co. coffees, teas, etc 32 

McDouougli 1). B. Bargain House 130 

McElwaine J. B. &. Co. natural gas supplies 47 

McGilliard & Dark, insurance agents, etc 95 

McKain A. A. granite dealer 83 

McKee & Co. boots, shoes and rubbers 19 

Madden Thomas, lounges, parlor furniture, etc 47 

Maine W. P. stoves, slate and iron mantels, etc 122 

Maloney John— New York Shoe Store . . _ 129 

Mannfeld tieorge, clothier, merchant tailor and fum- 

Indiana National Bank 

Indiana Paint and Roofing Co.- G. C. Forsinger.. 

Indiana Paper Co. paper and paper hags 

Indianapolis Art Stained Glass Works 

Indianapolis Basket Factory— Springer A Sperlinj 

Indianapolis Box Factory— Frederick Dietz 

Inilianapoiis Bolt and Machine Works 60 i 

Indianapolis Business University. 108 

Indianapolis Cabinet Co. desks and tables 48 

Indianapolis Cabinet Makers' Union, bedroom suites 

and extension tables 65 

Indianapolis Car and Manufacturing Co. freight cars. 48 

ladianapolis Phair Manufacturing Co 58 

Indianapolis Cotfin Co 51 

Indianapolis Frog and Switch Co 54 

Indianapolis German IMntual Fire Insurance Co 98 

Indianapolis Hardware Co 118 

Indianapolis Mantifacturers' and Carpenters' Union, 

Bash, doors, blinds, etc 77 

ishiugs . . . . : 123 

Marceau A Power, photograhers 118 

Marcy Wm. T. watches, jewelry, optical goods 117 

Martinflale Robert, real estate and loans 93 

Mans C. brewer of lager beer Ill 

Mayer Charles & Co. fancy goods, toys, etc 3."i 

Mavhew James N. optician 126 

.^lercanlile Agency (The). R. G. Dun & Co KiH 

Merchants' National Bank 38 

IMeridiaii National Bank 38 

Merritt George & I'o. woolen mnfrs. and wool dealers.. .53 

^Iesseiii,'er W. H. fumiturc, carpets and stoves. 113 

Messick, Cones & Co. manufacturing confectioners. ., 27 
Metzger Ales, insurance, real et^tate and steamship agt . 93 

Mick W. E. it Co. real estate and loans 103 

Miles R R. jeans and cassimere pants 79 

Miller F. A. wire cloth and wire goods 68 

Miner & Elbreg, the "Perfection" physicians' chair. .. 62 

Minor & Cooper, grain and ctjm mission 87 

Model Clothing Co. clothiers, hatters and furnishers. .114 

MoUer Carl, wall paper, decorations, etc 116 

Moom Desk Co. othce desks 54 

Morgan D. S. ct Co. Triumph harvesting machinery. . , 20 

Mueller Charles G. architect 107 

Mueller J. George, Ph. G. dispensing pharmacist 114 

Mueller L. merchant tailor 125 

Mullaney & Hayes, wholesale liquors 24 

Munson Lightning Conductor Co ^4 

Murphy, Hibhen & Co. dry goods and notions 17 

Mutciiner A: Higgins, western grain 87 

Mutual Henetit Life In.Mirance Co. 101 

Mutual Life Insurance Co. of New York (The) 96 

Myer Wni. P. elevator buckets, tinware, etc 61 

National Benefit Association of Indianapolis 104 

National Trust and Safe Deposit Co 38 

Nenbacher & Son, brass founders and finishers 5(» 

New Denison Hotel— Geo. O. Taylor & Co 88 

New P'ugland Mutual Life Insurance Co UO 

New York Shoe Store— John Maloney 129 

New York Store, <.lry goods, etc 128 

Newark Machine Co. agricultural implements 21 

Nichols & Shepard Co. threshing machines 33 

Nicoli C. A. engraver on wood 76 

Noeike Frederick, architectural iron works 8i 

Nonlyke & Marmon Co. flour mill machinery -19 

Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Co — _ 93 

Norton L. L. watchmakers' tools and materials 23 

O'Connor M. & Co. wholesale grocers 21 

Oehler Andrew, watches, jewelry, etc 129 

Oehler l^lman, watchmaker and jeweler 129 

Ohio Farmers' Insurance Co.; 92 

t"Hd Wavne Mutual Life Ineurance Co. of Indianapolis 9>^ 

Oliver (■■hilled Ph.w Works 31 

Order of the Iron Hall 104 

Original Eagle Clothing Co. clothing, gents' furn- 
ishings, hats, etc. 11*'> 

Ott L. W. Manufacturing Co. lounges Bl 

Over Ewald. agricultural implements, castings, etc. .. 70 

Overman W. B. grain and provisions 88 

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co 96 

Palace Shirt Factory— Walsman & Roll 83 

Pearson & Wetzel, china, glass and queensveare 20 

Perry J. C. wholesale grocer 25 

Phcenix Mutual Life Insurance Co 100 

Piel Wm. F. Co. starch manufacturers 47 


Pioneer Brass Works 64 

Piano Manufacturing Co. binders and mowers 27 

Piatt J. & Co. wholesale oysters, fish, etc 28 

Pluramer Hiram, real estate, rents, mortgage loans, etc. 104 

Potter Thomas K. stiaw goods 72 

PowelKV: Uhodes, real estate and insurance 96 

Power J. T. Washington Market 116 

PratheriV Hanckel. real estate, insurance, etc 101 

Provideiit Savings Life Assuranee Society 101 

Railway ( )Hicials & Conductors'Accident Association.. 103 

Ras.hiu't has. M. cigars and toi.a«.-co 23 

Rauh E. A Sons, hide^. taUow, fertilizers, etc 58 

Reaunie John A. shirts, furnishings and laundry. 122 

Recker Hubert & Co. beer coolers, counters, etc '(3 

Hee<i W. H. -Gem Steam Laundry 83 

Remington Standard Typewriter. Wyckoff, Seamans 

i\[ Benedict TO 

Renkeit L. H.— Granger Drug Store 117 

Reynolds M. M. brick, lime, cement, etc 31 

Richards George A. natural gas supplies 70 

Richardson & McCrea. insurance, real estate, etc 93 

Rikholf H. wholesale liquors 29 

Roberts & Allison, surgical chairs, throat speculume, 

pianos, etc 64 

Robbins Irvin & Co. fine carriages 72 

Rottler F. ]M. harness, saddlery and turf goods 82 

Rose J. G. & Co. distillers' agents 32 

Rouse R. R. improved driven wells 63 

Routier Peter, contractor, buildtr, planing mill 69 

Rupp W. F. & Co. mercliant tailors 127 

Rush Fred P. & Co. grain 87 

Russe W. H. A. ( 'o. wholesale lumber 33 

St. Charles Hotel- .lohn Murray 90 

Sandjr cV Reoker, furniture 71 

SayJes Charles F. insurance, real estate, etc 92 

Schmidt C. F. brewer and bottler 110 

SchnuU & Co. wholesale grocers, coffee roatters, etc.. 19 

Schofield George K. sale stables 35 

Schoppenhorst Wm. merchant tailor 124 

Scott Wm. & Co. grain dealers 87 

Sells M. & Co. live st'xk commission^mcrchants 106 

Sherman's Restaurants 90 

Shiel R. R. & Co. live-stock 106 

Shingler John, queenswaie, lami s. etc 128 

Short W. H. paper tpox manufacturer 78 

Shot well Charles A. grain, flour and fted 87 

Simmonds F. M. Victory Buggy Co 66 

Singer ^lanufacturing Co. (The), sewing maclduefi... 116 

Sinker-Davis Co. (Thej, saw-mil)s,, etc 51 

Sloan George W. & Co. apothecaries 119 

Slocum & Gage, hardwood lumber 32 

Smith August C. merchant tailor 121 

Smith Edward B. dye works )23 

Smith F. P. & Co. china, glassware, lamps, etc 116 

Smith & Plough, plumbers, steam and gas-filters 70 

Smither H. C. roofing materials, etc 34 

Snider G. W. Hide. Leather and Belting Co 31 

Soehner& Hammel, plumbeisand natural gas-fitters. 64 

Solliday H. F. baking powder 30 

Si'uth Side Foundry Co. gray iron castings 60 

Spann J()hn S. A Co. insurance, real estate, etc f'S 

Spiegel, Thorns & Co. furniture and chairs 76 

Spray Medicine Co 23 

Springer A Sperling, Indianapolis Basket Factory 67 

Stechtian Otto & Co. lounges, parlor suites, reclining 

chairs 79 

Steel Pulley and Machine Works— D. L. Whittier.... 65 

Stem J. H. architect 108 

Stevenson Wm. E.& Co. real estate 94 

Stone D. E. & Co. fancy cabinet ware 56 

Sun Vapor Street Light Co 59 

Sweeney H. & Co. wholesale whiskies 2'i 

Talbott Geo. H. merchandise broktrand storage ware- 
house 25 

Tanner & Sullivan, tin plate and metals 28 

Taylor Major, men's furnisher 117 

Taylor & Smith, leather, findings, belting, etc 23 

Techentin H. & Co. harness, etc 71 

Terrell Wm. wood and slate mantels.... 114 

Thompson Bros, tables, hat racks, etc 78 

Thompson Clinton M. insurance aid rents 94 

Travelers' Insurance Co 105 

Tucker's Glove Store 120 

Tucker A Dorsey Mfg. (^o. woodenware specialties.. 73 

Tutewiler, undertaker and funeral director ; ..117 

Udell Woodenware Works 62 

United States Life Insurance Co. (The) 99 

Van Arsdel W.C. ACo. dry goods and furnishing goods.llS 

Van Camp Hardware and Iron Co 28 

Van Camp Packing Co. packers of tr raatoes, etc. 46 

Van Carnj) Preserving Co. preserves, jellies, etc 46 

Van Pelt E. M. flour and feed 121 

Van Pelt George A. flour, lireakfast cereals, etc 126 

Vance E. W. A Co. dry goods, millinery, etc 126 

Victor Foundry and Mifchine Works- Ewald Over — 70 

Victory Buggy Co.— F. M. Simmonds 66 

Walsman A Roll— Palace Shirt lactory 83 

WassonH. P. A Co. dry goods 112 

Weaver O. D. provision broker. 87 

Wedd'^l House-Major A. W. Hanson 

Whelden J. E. gents' furnishings, laundry, etc 

When Clothing.' Store 

White Sewing Machine Co.— A. W. Hilliker. Hgr. 

Wliittier I). L. steel ptdley and machine works 

\Viet;el Wm. show cases 

Wiles, <'othn A Co. wholesale grocers. 

Wilson A: Rupert, furniture, carpets, stove^ etc. 

Wocher Jolm, general insurance. 

Wood Horace F. livery stables 

Wood Walter A. Machine Co. harvesting machinery. . 

Woodburn " Sarven " Wheel Co. vehicle wheels. 

Woodford George A. A Co. wholesale whiskies. 



, Si 

, 57 
, 29 

Wright & Wright, engines, boilers, etc 72 

Wnbchner Emil, pianos and organs 113 

Wyckoff, Seamans A Benedict, Remington Standard 

Ty tie writer 56 

Yuncker .T. C. rectifier 29 

Zaiser L. T. F. engraver, designer of seals, etc 67 

Zener Robert A Co. general insurance 103 

Interior view of Pullman Sleepers and Drawing 

Room ReclininiT Chair Buffet Cars ruunins on 

the O., I. & VV. K'y (I., B. & W. Route), 


Between CHICAGO, 



Indianapolis (StChicago. 

Through Tickets and Baggage Checks to all Principal Points, East, West, North, South, at Lowest Possible Rates. 

' C. E. UBXDKRSOBI, een. aianager. H. 91. BRONSON, Oe.a. Pass. Agt. 

Indianapolis, Decatur & Western Railway 





1_ ^ 

CO w 

1 — ' w 











ticket Offices: 134 S. Illinois St., and Union Depot, Indianapolis. 




L. A. BOYD,