Skip to main content

Full text of "Front Matter"

See other formats

Early Journal Content on JSTOR, Free to Anyone in the World 

This article is one of nearly 500,000 scholarly works digitized and made freely available to everyone in 
the world by JSTOR. 

Known as the Early Journal Content, this set of works include research articles, news, letters, and other 
writings published in more than 200 of the oldest leading academic journals. The works date from the 
mid-seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries. 

We encourage people to read and share the Early Journal Content openly and to tell others that this 
resource exists. People may post this content online or redistribute in any way for non-commercial 

Read more about Early Journal Content at 
journal-content . 

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary source objects. JSTOR helps people 
discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching 
platform, and preserves this content for future generations. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit 
organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico. For more information about JSTOR, please 


APRIL, 1908. 

NO. 1 




State Historical Society 



Phillips Bros., Statb Pbintbbb. 

1 908 


Editorial 5-6 

List of Officers and Committees of the Illinois State Historical Society, 
January 1908 to May 1909 i 7-9 

Suggestions to the Local Committees on the celebration of the Lincoln- 
Douglas Debates of 1858 10-12 

George N. Black, in memoriam v. 13-14 

Annual report of the Secretary of the Illinois State Historical Society, 
January 1907 to January 1908 15-19 

Officers and Committees of the Illinois State Historical Society 
January, 1908 to May, 1909. 


Gen. Alfred Orendorff Springfield 

First Vice-President. 
Hon. Clark E. Carr Galesburg 

Second Vice-President. 
Hon. Smith D. Atkins Freeport 

Third Vice-President. 
Hon. L. Y. Sherman Macomb 

Board of Directors. 

Edmund Janes James, President of the University of Illinois Urbana 

M. H. Chamberlin, President of McKendree College Lebanon 

*Hon. George N. Black Springfield 

J. H. Burnham Bloomington 

Evarts B. Greene, University of Illinois Urbana 

Mrs. Jessie Palmer Weber Springfield 

Hon. Wm. H. Collins Quincy 

Hon. J. O. Cunningham ; Urbana 

Hon. Andrew Russell Jacksonville 

George W. Smith, Southern Illinois Normal University Carbondale 

W. T. Norton Alton 

Hon. Wm. A. Meese. Moline 

Hon. Jesse A. Baldwin Chicago 

Mr. J. W. Clinton Polo 

Rev. C. J. Eschmann Prairie du Rocher 

Secretary and Treasurer. 
Mrs. Jessie Palmer Weber Springfield 

Honorary Vice Presidents. 
The Presidents of local Historical Societies. 

♦Died April 22, 1908. 


Publication Committee. 

Evarts B. Greene, University of Illinois, Urbana, Chairman. 

Jessie Palmer Weber, Springfield. M. H. Chamberlain, Lebanon. 

J. McCan Davis, Springfield. Geo. W. Smith, Carbondale. 

Geo. A. Dupuy, Chicago. Stephen L. Spear, Springfield. 

C. W. Alvord, Urbana. Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 

Pbogbam Committee. 

Jessie Palmer Weber, Springfield, Chairman. 

J. H. Burnham, Bloomington. Mrs. Catherine Goss Wheeler, Spring- 

J. A. James, Evanston. field. 

E. S. Willcox, Peoria. Paul Selby, Chicago. 

Wm. A. Meese, Moline. Charles P. Kane, Springfield. 

Dr. Otto Schmict, Chicago. F. J. Heinl, Jacksonville. 

Charles H. Rammelkamp, Jackson- Logan Hay, Springfield, 

ville. Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 

Finance and Auditing Committee. 

♦George N. Black, Springfield, Chairman. 

E. J. James, Urbana. Jessie Palmer Weber. 

M. H. Chamberlin, Lebanon. Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 

Committee on Legislation. 

M. H. Chamberlin, Lebanon, Chairman. 

E. J. James, Urbana. Henry McCormick, Normal. 

E. A. Snively, Springfield. Andrew Russell, JacKSonville. 

O. F. Berry, Carthage. Charles E. Hull, Salem. 

Samuel Alschuler, Aurora. R. S. Tuthill, Chicago. 

R. V. Carpenter, Belvidere. Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 

Committee on Local Historical Societies. 

J. H. Burnham, Bloomington, Chairman. 

J. Seymour Currey, Evanston. Mrs. Mary Turner Carriel, Jackson- 
George W. Smith, Carbondale. ville. 

Elliot Callender, Peoria. L. J. Fre'ese, Eureka. 

J. O. Cunningham, Urbana. Gen. John I. Rinaker, Carlinville. 

Mrs. Charles A. Webster, Galesburg. J. W. Clinton, Polo. 

Horace Hull, Ottawa. Alfred Orendorff, ex officio. 

Committee on Membership. 

Judge J. Otis Humphrey, Springfield, Chairman. 

W. H. Stennett, Oak Park. Mrs. C. C. Brown, Springfield 

Charles L. Capen, Bloomington. J. Nick Perrin, Belleville. 

Daniel Berry, M. D., Carmi. Wm. Jayne, M. D., Springfield. 

John M. Rapp, Fairfield. Geo. E. Dawson, Chicago. 

Mrs. E. M. Bacon, Decatur. A. W. Crawford, Girard. 

A. W. French, Springfield. Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 


Committee on the Commemoration of the Semi-Centennial of the Lin- 
coln-Douglas Debates of 1858. 

Hon. Clark E. Carr, Galesburg, Chairman. 

E. C. Swift, Ottawa. Smith D. Atkins, Freeport. 

M. C. Crawford, Jonesboro. Sumner S. Anderson, Charleston. 

Philip S. Post, Galesburg. Wm. H. Collins, Quincy. 

E. M. Bowman, Alton. A. E. Stevenson, Bloomington. 

H. W. Clendenin, Springfield. Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 

Committee on the Marking of Historic Sites in Illinois. 

Mrs. M. T. Scott, Bloomington, Chairman. 

Harry Ainsworth, Moline. J. H. Collins, Springfield. 

Francis G. Blair, Springfield. Charles B. Campbell, Kankakee. 

Reed Green, Cairo. Miss Lottie E. Jones, Danville. 

John E. Miller, East St. Louis. Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 
J. S. Little, Rushville. 

Committee on Genealogy and Genealogical Publications. 

Miss Georgia L. Osborne, Springfield, Chairman. 

Mrs. E. S. Walker, Springfield. Mrs. John C. Ames, Streator. 

Mrs. Thomas Worthington, Jackson-Miss May Latham, Lincoln, 
ville. Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 

Committee to Determine the Correct Pronunciation of the Word 


Jessie Palmer Weber, Springfield, Chairman. 

Jesse A. Baldwin, Chicago. E. J. James, Urbana-Champaign. 

Francis G. Blair, Springfield. Mrs. Margaret M. Bangs, Chicago. 

Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 

Special Committee to Confer With the Illinois State Library Associa- 
tion on Relations Between the Illinois State Historical 
Society and Libraries Throughout the State. 

Miss Maude Thayer, Springfield, Chairman. 

E. M. Prince, Bloomington. Jessie Palmer Weber, Springfield. 

T. J. Pitner, M. D., Jacksonville. Mrs. Eliza I. H. Tomlin, Jacksonville. 

Dr. Grace Dewey, Jacksonville. Alfred Orendorff, ex-officio. 

Special Committee to Formulate a Plan for a Periodical Publication for 
the Historical Society. 

Alfred Orendorff, Springfield, Chairman. 

Bessie Palmer Weber, Springfield. Andrew Russell, Jacksonville. 

J. H. Burnham, Bloomington.