(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "King's Handbook of notable Episcopal churches in the United States"


H <5 

U Z 

bl ~ 

oc 



I 



m 

11 * 



WTO 

or 



.1 -a J3 3 S-e 

*3.1 5 2 



BY 

WO 



^-s-^ 
^^^ 



(1) w ^^ jj M W 

^ +^ h. C 

^m l 



i! s 

|-a 

Si] 

g^ 



II 
z* 
si 



^ u 
o, -a 

>s 

sS 

8 
a c 

C (C 

| 



M & 

g s 

a I 

I 





X 

^ 

















tn0 

of 



Botable 



3gpisropal 




tl)c Eniteb 0tates 



Bn 



deotgc OLlolfc 

Sector of race Cfjtirclj, Newton, 




One gunfcrefc \\J fSS IP 3^u0traiion0 

A v IM j^TUBv 



liing Corporation 

1889 



TRINITY GOU.E 

GIFT or 






COPYRIGHT, 1889, BY MOSES KING CORPORATION. 



V 



^?RA?> 



: 



OCT 1 6 1972 



^S,TYOF^ 



& 



Illustrations 



UNDER SUPERVISION OF 

A. LEIGHTON DONNELL, 

CHIEFLY BY 

BOSTON PHOTO-GRAYURE CO., OF BOSTON; 

ALSO BY 

LEWIS ENGRAVING CO., OF BOSTON, 
PHOTO-ENGRAVING CO., OF NEW YORK, 
BOSTON ENGRAVING CO., OF BOSTON, 

AND OTHERS. 




BUFFALO, N. Y. 

MATTHEWS, NORTHRUP & Co., ART-PRINTING WORKS. 
Office of the "Buffalo Morning Express" 



THERE are four classes of Churches represented in this book: 
First, Old Colonial buildings erected before the American Revolution. 

Second^ Buildings illustrating the period of recuperation and growth, in the early 
part of this century. 

Third, Parish Churches in cities and towns, in many cases with Chapels and 
Parish Buildings attached, designed to meet the new conditions of American life, 
and to bring the Church into more direct contact with the people. 

Fourth) The Cathedrals, illustrating the efforts to provide, in some of the see 
cities, Churches presided over by bishops, with congregations ministered to by 
clergymen under the immediate direction of the bishops ; and to adapt, as far as 
possible, to the life of this new country, that mode of organized Christian labor 
usually known as " The Cathedral System." 

In making this classification, two facts are, of course, obvious : 

One fact is, that a book of this size can contain only a small number of illus 
trations of a class. 

If, for example, an effort had been made to bring together pictures of all the 
interesting Colonial buildings, there would have been but little space for any thing 
else. Not many of those old structures were graceful in architecture or elaborate 
in their fittings and adornments ; but in them resounded the voice of prayer and 
praise, in them His Gospel was preached, and in them the Sacraments of Christ s 
appointment were duly administered The illustrations of Colonial buildings which 
this book contains, although limited in number, will be sufficient to bring before 
the mind of the reader visions of a past which was the sowing-time of the harvest 
now growing 

The other fact that becomes obvious, as one looks over this book, is, that there 
are buildings left out of each class, which are quite as worthy to be brought in as 
those which are represented. It is no disparagement to a parish, that its building 
is not given here. In some cases it was impossible for the editor to secure the 
needed materials, and in others a choice had to be made of such as would repre 
sent a different style of architecture, or a different locality. It would have been 
easy, for instance, to fill the book with accounts of the large Churches in our great 
cities, but it was thought better to extend the view so as to take in representative 
buildings from many sections. 



PREFACE. 

Besides all this, we have entered upon a building era in which many of the 
present structures, erected twenty or forty years ago, are likely to be superseded 
by elaborate buildings, which will be more worthy of notice than those now stand 
ing. In many cases, Churches which were built to meet the needs of congregations 
in their formative periods are found to be inadequate for present purposes. The 
growing earnestness, and the increasing numbers and resources in these congrega 
tions, will ere long make it possible to call to their aid the greater taste and skill of 
the architects of our day, and thus to substitute more commodious and more 
beautiful houses of worship. It is not an uncommon thing to find a very large 
and flourishing congregation occupying a building far inferior to that which has 
been more recently secured by another parish that is by no means so strong or so 
influential. 

The explanations now given may meet some of the criticisms which this book 
will call forth. Perhaps one more statement may meet other objections. It is 
this : that the limit put upon the size of the book to make it* uniform with the 
series of " King s Handbooks," of which it is a part, has led necessarily to the 
omission, in this first volume, of what may constitute a second volume at some 
future day, and has led also to the shortening of histories and descriptions which 
were worthy of larger space. 

This Handbook will be useful in various ways. First, to illustrate the progress 
which has been made by the Episcopal Church in this country during the past 
century. No one can look through these pages, and examine these pictures, without 
seeing that a wonderful advance has been made. It is a history of the Episcopal 
Church in a new form. 

Then too the book may revive pleasant associations for people who have been, or 
are now, connected with parishes here mentioned. The children baptized in the old 
parish Church, in one of our Atlantic cities, may to-day be actively connected with 
some new parish in the West. The young couple married before the altar of a 
Church in one section, may have found a home in some far-distant city. And so 
with all of these parishes there are hallowed associations, which may thus be 
revived and cherished. 

Another use of the book is for tourists, who, in going from city to city in the 
United States, wish to see the Church buildings. It will be a convenience to 
know which possess features of interest, and to have in hand a guide that will 
set forth such features. 

And, finally, this Handbook may furnish many a suggestion to the parishes and 
individuals who contemplate building houses of worship for the glory of God. It 
is often a help to those who are about to build a Church or Chapel or Parish House, 
to know what other people have done. It is no unusual thing for committees to 
make long journeys to view buildings which they have heard would answer needs 
similar to their own, or which have features they wish their architects to introduce. 

It will be very gratifying to all who have had any thing to do with the prepara 
tion of this book, if, in any or in all of these ways, it shall prove to be useful. 



CONTENTS. 

PAGE 

THE COLONIAL CHURCHES 9-40 

From the First Church of the Jamestown Settlers to the Revolution. 

THE SECOND PERIOD . 41-56 

Some of the Churches built more than half a Century ago. 

THE THIRD PERIOD 57 2 3 8 

Parish Churches and Parish Buildings. 

THE CATHEDRALS AND PRO-CATHEDRALS 239-278 

The Bishop s Church in the See City. The Development of the Cathedral System. 

INDEX 279-288 

A minute index to the whole volume. 

CHURCHES REPRESENTED. 

STATE. CITY. CHURCH. PAGE 

California. . . . San Francisco . . St. Luke s n3 

Colorado .... Denver St. John s Cathedral .... 254 

Connecticut . . . Hartford .... Good Shepherd 123 

Delaware .... Wilmington . . . Old Swedes (Trinity) ... i 2 

" .... St. John s , 123 

Distr ct of Columbia Washington . . . Ascension 157 

" Epiphany 64 

" St. John s 4 2 

St. Luke s 178 

Florida Jacksonville . . .St. Andrew s 22* 

Georgia Atlanta St. Luke s Cathedral . . . 26 

Illinois Chicago .... Cath. St. Peter and St. Paul . 24 

" St. James 153 

" Trinity 151 

" Springfield . . .St. Paul s Pro-Cathedral . . 252 

Iowa Davenport . . . Davenport Cathedral . . . 241 

Kansas Topeka . . . . . Grace Ch. Cath. and Guild Hall 265 

Kentucky .... Louisville .... Christ 52 

Louisiana .... New Orleans . . . Trinity . 74 

Maine Bar Harbor . . .St. Saviour s 176 

" Kennebunk . . .St. Ann s 218 

Portland .... St. Luke s Cathedral ... 249 

Maryland .... Annapolis .... St. Anne s 90 

" .... Baltimore . . . .St. Paul s 85 

" .St. Peter s 108 



CHURCHES REPRESENTED. 



STATE. 

Massachusetts . 


CITY. 

. Brookline . . . 
. Boston .... 


CHURCH. 

St Paul s . . . 


PAGE 
76 


Advent . .... 


TOR 


Christ 


21 


, t 


St Andrew s 


I7C 


t i 


. St. Paul s 
. Trinity 


47 
. 170 

->r 


Michigan . . . 


. Cambridge 
. Lynn .... 
. Marblehead . . 
. Mattapan . 
. Newton 
. Worcester . 

. Ann Arbor 



Christ 


St Stephen s 


iqo 


. St Michael s 


16 




212 


. Grace 
All Saints . .... 


. I 4 6 

l64 


. Hobart Hall 
. St. Andrew s 
St John s . .... 


. 123 

. 121 

97 

OQC 


Minnesota . . 

Missouri 
Nebraska . . 
New Hampshire 


Detroit 


. Minneapolis . 
. St. Paul . . . 
. St. Louis . . . 
. Omaha .... 
. Concord 
. Hanover 




St Paul s 


88 


. Christ Church Cathedral . 
. Trinity Cathedral . . . 
. St. Peter and St. Paul . . 
. St. Thomas 
. Christ 
. St. Mary s . . . . . 
Christ 


259 
2 43 

. 222 

. 168 
194 

77 
80 


u 


. Portsmouth 


New Jersey 


. Burlington 
. Elizabeth . . . 
Morristown 


. St. Peter s 


229 


New York . . . 


. Albany .... 


. All Saint s Cathedral . . 
. St. Peter s 


273 

QI 


( . 




. Redeemer 


H5 
TIO 
2 IQ 


t . 


. Brooklyn . 


. St. Ann s 
Good Shepherd 


" . . . . 


. Buffalo .... 


. St. Paul s Cathedral . . . 


. 271 
. I 3 6 

m 


i 


Cohoe^ 


. St. John s 


I . . . 


. Garden City . 
. Herkimer . . . 
. Newburgh . 
. New York . . . 


. Cath. of the Incarnation . 
Christ ... ... 


. St. George s 
. Calvary 
. Grace 


45 
i3 2 
61 

193 
106 


- . ; . . 


. . . . 


. Holy Spirit 
Holy Trinity 


. . . 


. St. Augustine s .... 
. St. George s 
. St. James ...... 


. 179 

. 138 

202 

. 12 9 

. 68 
57 
133 
. 230 
84 
. 217 

21T. 


< .... 


. St. Thomas 
. Transfiguration .... 


" .... 


. Ogdensburg . 
. Olean . 


. Trinity 
. St. John s 
. St. Stephen s 


1 1 
1 1 


. Oswego 
. Portchester . . 
. Poughkeepsie 
. Rochester . . 
u 

. Saratoga Springs 
Schenectady 


Christ 


. St. Peter s 
Christ 


. Christ 
St Luke s 


234 
r.4. 


Bethesda " 


. 2IO 

fc 


. St. George s 
. St. John s 




Trov 



CHURCHES REPRESENTED. 



STATE. 

New York . . 


CITY. 

. Utica 
Raleigh 


CHURCH. 

Grace ; 
Christ 


Ohio . . 


Cincinnati 


St Paul s . . . 


<t 


Cleveland 


St Paul s 


ii 


Toledo .... 


Trinity 




Portland 


Trinity 


Pennsylvania 

i 4 


. South Bethlehem . 
. Bryn Mawr . . 
. Bustleton . . 
. Danville . . . . 
. Frankford . 
. Germantown . 
. Gettysburg 


Packer Memorial . . . . . 
Redeemer 
St. Luke s 
Christ 
St. Mark s 
St. Luke s 
Prince of Peace 
St Luke s 


, t 




St Mark s 


It 


. Philadelphia . 


Advocate 
Christ 
Gloria Dei 


<" 


" 


Incarnation 
St. Clement s 


U 

(4 


" (Frankford) 
" ( Germ town ) 

" (West) . . 

. Pittsburg .... 
. Radnor 


St. James 
St. Mark s 
St. Luke s 
St. Mary s -. 
St. Peter s 
St. Stephen s 
Trinity 
St. David s 
Christ . . 


Rhode Island . 
it 


. Wilkes Barre. . . 
. Newport . . . . 
. Providence 

Wick ford 


St. Stephen s 
Trinity 
All Saints 
St. Stephen s . . . . . . 
St Paul s 


Texas 


San Antonio 


St. Mark s 


Utah .... 


Salt Lake City . 


St. Mark s Cathedral . . . . 








Virginia . . 


. Alexandria 
. lames town 


Christ Church 
First Church in Va 










. Norfolk . . . . 
Smithfield 


St. Paul s 
St. Luke s 


Wisconsin . 


. White House 
. Fond du Lac . 
. Milwaukee 


St. Peter s 
St. Paul s Cathedral . . . . 
St. Paul s 



7 

PAGE 



02 

71 
162 
I0 3 
225 
216 

1 86 
96 

1 88 

65 
160 

227 
182 
118 
233 

2 5 

13 
127 

88 
37 

65 
1 60 
141 

33 

49 
H3 

19 
237 
J 95 

23 
116 

99 
15 

148 

247 
107 

37 
10 
10 



n 

H 
263 
207 



ARCHITECTS MENTIONED. 

BROWN, A. P Portchester, N. Y., 6V. Peter s ....... 2 7 

BROWN, A. P Saratoga Springs, N. Y., Bethesda zu 

BURNS, CHARLES M.,Jr Bryn Mawr, Pa., The Redeemer iS6 

BURNS, CHARLES M., Jr Philadelphia, Pa., The Advocate 233 

BURNS, CHARLES M.,Jr Wilkes-Barre, Pa., St. Stephen s 195 

CARSON (Dixon & Carson) Washington, D. C., The Ascension 15? 

CLARK, H. P Kennebunk, Me., St. Ann s 218 

CONDIT, C. H Annapolis, Md., St. Ann s 9 

CONGDON, HENRY M Danville, Pa., Christ 188 

CONGDON, HENRY M Germantown, Pa., St. Luke s 100 

CONGDON, HENRY M Portsmouth, N. H., Christ 104 

CONGDON, HENRY M Topeka, Kan., Grace Church Cathedral . . . 265 

CONGDON, HENRY M Lebanon, Pa., 6V. Luke s 182 

CRAM, A. B Detroit, Mich., 67. John s 97 

DIXON & CARSON Washington, D. C., The Ascension 157 

DRESSER, HENRY Springfield, 111,, St. Paul s Pro-Cathedral . . 252 

EARLE & FULLER Worcester, Mass., All Saints 164 

EIDLITZ, LEOPOLD New York, N. Y., 67. George s Memorial House 140 

EIDLITZ, LEOPOLD St. Louis, Mo., Christ Church Cathedral ... 259 

ESTY, A. R Newton, Mass., Grace 140 

GHEQUIER, T. BUCKLER Baltimore, Md., 67. Paul s 85 

GIBSON, R. W Albany, N. Y., All Saints Cathedral .... 273 

GIBSON, R. W Buffalo, N. Y., St. Paul s Cathedral 271 

GIBSON, R. W Herkimer, N. Y., Christ 236 

GIBSON, R. W. Olean, N. Y., St. Stephen s 230 

GIBSON, R. W Rochester, N. Y., Christ 234 

HAIGHT, C. C New York, N. Y., St. Thomas . ../...- 129 

HAIGHT, C. C Portland, Me., St. Luke s Cathedral 249 

HARRISON, H. G Omaha, Neb., Trinity Cathedral 243 

HARRISON, PETER Boston, Mass., King s Chapel ....... 35 

HARRISON, PETER Cambridge, Mass., Christ 35 

HARRISON, PETER Newport, R. I., Trinity 23 

HUTTON, ADDISON South Bethlehem, Pa., Packer Memorial . . . 210 

JORDAN & ANDERSON Detroit, Mich., St. John s 97 



LATKOBE, B. H Washington, D. C., St. John s 42 

Ogdensburg, N. Y., St. John s 
LLOYD & PEARCE Cleveland, Ohio, St. Paul s 



LITTELL, EMLEN T Ogd< 



LLOYD & PEARCE Denver, Col., St. John s Cathedral 254 

McKiM, MEAD & WHITE Morristown, N. J., St. Paul s 229 

MILLEK, C. C Toledo, Ohio, Trinity 103 

Mix. E.J., & Co Milwaukee, Wis., St. Paul s 207 

NOTMAN, MR Wilmington, Del., 67. John s 123 

PIERCE & DOCKSTADER Towanda, Pa., Christ . . . 2 37 

POTTER, EDWARD T Davenport, Iowa, Davenport Cathedral . . . 241 

POTTER, EDWARD T Providence, R. I., All Saints 117 

POTTER, WILLIAM A Poughkeepsie, N. Y., Christ 213 

RICHARDS, Prof. T. W West Philadelphia, Pa., 67. Mary s 141 

RICHARDSON, HENRY H Boston, Mass, Trinity 17 

ROBINSON, R. H New York, N. Y., The Holy Spirit 193 

ROTCH & TILDEN Mattapan, Mass., The Holy Spirit 212 

SCHUYLER, R..L Jacksonville, Flu., 67. Andrew s 221 

STRICKLAND, WILLIAM Philadelphia, Pa., 67. Stephen s 49 

STURGIS, JOHN H Boston, Mass., Advent 198 

UPJOHN, R. M., & Co Albany, N. Y., St. Peter s 9* 

UPJOHN, R., & SON Bellows Falls, Vt., Immanuel 107 

UPJOHN, R., & SON Bustleton, Pa., Memorial St. Lttke go 

UPJOHN, RICHARD Elizabeth, N. J., Christ . . . . - So 

UPJOHN, RICHARD Mauch Chunk, Pa., 67. Mark s ub 

UPJOHN, RICHARD Brookline, Mass., St. Paul s 7 

UPJOHN, RICHARD New York, N. Y., St. Thomas 129 

UPJOHN, RICHARD Providence, R. I., 67. Stephen s 99 

UPJOHN, RICHARD . Raleigh, N. C., Christ . 

UPJOHN, RICHARD San Antonio, Tex., 67. Mark s 148 

UPJOHN, R. M Utica, N. Y., Grace 94 

UPJOHN, R. M Cohoes, N. Y., 67. John s 13 

WARE & VAN BRUNT Lvnn, Mass., 67. Stephen s 190 

VAUGHAN, HENRY Concord. N. H., St. Peter s A St. Paul s Chapel, 222 

WENTWORTH, WILLIAM P Newton, Mass., Grace Parish House . . . . 140 

WITHERS, FREDERICK C Hanover, N. H., 67. Thomas 1 

WREN, JAMES Alexandria, Va., Christ 3? 



Ctje Colonial 



FROM THE FIRST CHURCH OF THE JAMESTOWN 
SETTLERS TO THE REVOLUTION. 



^r^HE organization known now as "The Prot- 
J- estant Episcopal Church in the United 
States " owes its origin to the Church of Eng 
land. Church and State went hand in hand in 
efforts at discovery and settlement in this new 
continent. John Cabot, an English explorer, was 
accompanied in his ship "Matthew" by a chap 
lain of the English Church. Later exploring 
expeditions, led by others, included among their 
numbers the ministers of religion. One pro 
vision in the earliest charters and grants was 
y that efforts should be made for the conversion 
of the Indians, and for the establishment of .the 
Christian Faith in the New World, after the manner 
of the English Church. The earliest buildings for the religious uses 
\ of English Churchmen, of which we have any record, were the one 
\ erected on Roanoke Island in Virginia, and the other at Sagadahoc at 
the mouth of the Kennebec River in Maine. The date of Raleigh s 
settlement on Roanoke Island was 1585. The colonists erected a fort and 
a village; but these crumbled to decay many years ago, and nothing remains 
now but the traces of the old intrenchments. 

9 



10 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



The Popham colonists on the coast of Maine in 1607, we are told, 
"erected five houses, a Church, and a storehouse ; " but the colony did not 
become permanent 

The first permanent settlement made by English colonists on these shores 
was at Jamestown, fifty miles above the mouth of the James River, Virginia, 
in 1607. The settlers brought out with them the Rev. Robert Hunt, who 
had been the rector of Reculver in the county of Kent, England. He was 
spoken of by Capt. John Smith as " an honest, religious, and courageous 
divine, during whose life our factions were oft qualified, our wants and 
greatest extremities so comforted, that they seemed easy in comparison of 
what we endured after his memorable death." 



THE FIRST CHURCH STRUCTURE of the Jamestown Colonists 
is thus described by an old document of the time : " When I first went to 

Virginia," says the chronicler, " I 
did 



well remember we did hang an 
awning, an old sail, to three or 
four trees to shadow us from the 
sun ; our walls were rails of wood, 
our seats unhewed planks until we 
cut planks, our pulpit a bar of wood 
nailed to two neighboring trees. 
This was our Church till we built 
a homely thing like a barn, set upon 
crotchets, covered with rafts, sedges 
and earth, so were also the walls. 
Yet we had daily Common Prayer 
morning and evening, every Sun 
day two sermons, and every three 
months the Holy Communion, till 
our Minister died. But our Prayers 
daily, with an Homily on Sundays, 
we continued two or three years 
The view above given is of the ruins of a 
later brick structure, which was built on or near the site of the first Church. 
The picture is taken from a recent photograph, and shows the condition of 
the ruins at this time. 

The Rev. Dr. Philip Slaughter, the historiographer of the Diocese of 
Virginia, remarks, "The picturesque ruin at Jamestown marks the site 
of the first fort, the first town, the first Church, and the scene of the first 
Legislature, the first baptism, the first Holy Communion, and the first mar 
riage in the first colony permanently planted by the Englishmen on the 
continent of America." 




Ruin at Jamestown, Va. 

after till more Preachers came. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



II 



This brick Church, on or near the site of the one in which Robert Hunt 
officiated, was begun in 1640, and was the first brick Church in Virginia. 
"To-day," as one says, "the river is nearing the ruin, and soon the metrop 
olis of the ancient Colony and Dominion of Virginia will live only in story 
and song." 

ST. LUKE S CHURCH, Smithfield, Va., is, with one exception, the 
oldest religious edifice on this continent. There is an old adobe Roman- 
Catholic Cathedral at Santa Fe which is older, but 
here is the oldest Protestant Church in North 
America. It dates back to 1632, and is con 
structed chiefly of brick. In a description 
given in " The American Magazine for 
February, 1888, Mary 
Gay Humphreys says, 
" The Church stands 
in the centre of a ro 
mantic grove of oaks, 
walnuts, and syca 
mores, like a faithful 
guardian over the si 
lent population sleep 
ing at its feet. The 
tower is dSspropor- 
tioned to the nave in 
its massiveness and 
strength, except in 
the rear, where the 
peaked roof climbs 
up half its height, 
taking off somewhat 
from the size of the 
tower. Its dimensions 
are fifty feet high and 

nineteen feet square, the walls being two and one-half feet thick at the 
base, losing as they ascend. It is entered by a round-arched opening. 
Two round port-holes on either side add to its fortified aspect. Above was 
the old vestry-room lighted by double lancet windows. Still above were 
lookouts of similar form and crowned by a weather-vane. 

" The nave is buttressed between the double windows, and the buttresses 
retire in two divisions marked by steps. The glory of the Church is its 
great east window, twelve by eighteen feet, crowned by a semicircular arch 




St. Luke s Church, Smithfield, Va. 



12 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



and subdivided by brick moulding into two sections. The window was 
originally filled with stained glass representing scriptural subjects, but at a 
later period was all bricked with the exception of two lights. But this 
cannot hide its beauty of proportion, nor prevent us from imagining what it 
must have been to the Church." 

" Notwithstanding the assaults of man and of time, the old Church still 
stands with its sturdy tower an enduring monument of the stout-hearted 
men who reared it." 

A movement has 
been started by the 
Rev. David Barr,the 
rector of the parish, 
for its restoration ; 
and ere long old St. 
Luke s will be re 
trieved from the 
desolation into 




Old Swedes , Wilmington, Del. 

which it has fallen. Its windows 
will receive memorials of the de 
parted worthies of the faith, and tablets will recite the chapters of its 
long history. Order and beauty will be brought back out of long neglect ; 
and not only to Episcopalians, but to all Protestant Christians, this the 
oldest monument of their religion will become an object of interest. 



OLD SWEDES (TRINITY) CHURCH, Wilmington, Del. Two 
old Churches erected originally by Swedish congregations became, after the 
Swedish language was disused in later years, identified with the Episcopal 
Church, and are now used by congregations in communion with this 
faith. 

The first of these is in Wilmington, Del. Its corner-stone was laid 
on the 28th of May, 1698, and it was formally set apart for its sacred uses 
on Trinity Sunday,* 1699. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 13 

However prominent the Swedes were in Wilmington at one time, nothing 
of the Swedish life remains now but this old Church. The building which 
cost ^91 to build, and one year to complete, has lasted for nearly two hun 
dred years in almost as perfect condition as when first erected. Some of 
the Swedes who were too poor to contribute ready money assisted in the 
erection of the Church, and tradition speaks of the women carrying mortar 
in their aprons to help the men. Some additions were made to the build 
ing in 1762, but it stands now essentially the original Church. 

In old times the Church stood outside the borders of the town of Wil 
mington, in an open meadow that sloped gently to the Christiana River. 
Now it is on a little rise of ground, the surrounding territory having been 
lowered, and looks down upon the railroad that runs around the foot of the 
graveyard. It seems, as it were, to draw itself together from contact with 
the surrounding houses that crowd up to the very edge of the churchyard. 
Around it are many ancient graves, some of them antedating the building 
of the Church. It is here, too, that Peter Minuit, the Swedish governor, 
lies buried. 

GLORIA DEI, Philadelphia. Another old Swedish Church, now an 
Episcopal Church, was originally known as the " Church at Wicaco." Before 
the construction of this brick building, services had been held for fourteen 
years by the Rev. John Fabritius, a Swedish minister, in a log building. 
For nine of these years the minister was totally blind. After his return 
home, three other Swedish ministers to the Swedish colonists on the Dela 
ware were sent out ; and on the first Sunday after Trinity, 1700, this new 
Church was dedicated to the service of God. 

"The old Church stood upon a green bank of the quiet river," says 
R. H. Davis ; " and on Sunday mornings the men came tramping on foot 
beside the women s horses from Kingsessing, Passajungh, and even far 
away MatzoLigh, hanging their muddied outer leggings or skirts of wolf 
skin on the branches of the trees before they went in." 

" Now and then a pirogue brought a chance worshipper up the lonely river, 
or a solitary Indian stood in the doorway, half believing and wholly afraid. 

" Now the little Church is crowded out of sight on the wharves of one of 
the world s great harbors, and its feeble Te Deum is often silenced by the 
cannon of incoming steamers. 

" The Church itself was built in a fervor of pious zeal ; carpenters and 
masons.giving their work, and the good pastor selling or pawning the best 
articles out of his house when money did not come in fast enough, and 
carrying the hod every day himself." 

The main body of the building is unaltered to the present day. The 
tablets in the chancel record the sacrifices and sufferings of the early 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



missionaries who sleep below, and the gilt cherubs in the choir sent out from 
Sweden still sustain the open Bible, with the significant inscription : " The 
people who sat in darkness have seen a great light." 

Wilson, the ornithologist, worshipped here, and is buried in its little 
cemetery. He begged to be buried here because it was a silent, shady place, 
where the birds would be apt to come and sing over his grave. Here also lie 
..- buried the remains of Hannah, wife of the Rev. Nicholas 
Collin, the last of the Swedish mission 
aries, whose epitaph written by her 
i^ husband, runs : "In memory of her 

neatness, and economy, and 
the gentleness of the affec- 
on with which she sustained 
him through many trying 
years, and of his grief 
for her which shall not 
cease until he shall 
meet her i n the 
land of the liv 
ing." The great 
beech-wood trees 
which once sur 
rounded the Church 
have disappeared. 
and the Church is 

Gloria Dei, or Old Swedes , Philadelphia. SUrroun d e d n O \V 

with the graves of 

those who worshipped within its walls. The parish is actively useful 
among the descendants of the Swedes and the neighborhood people, under 
the leadership of its present rector, the Rev. Snyder B. Simes. 

ST. PETER S CHURCH, White House, Va., is spoken of in American 
history as the Church in which Washington was married. About forty 
miles from Richmond, on the Pamunky River, is an estate of many acres still 
known as " the Washington estate," from the facts that Washington came into 
possession of it by his marriage with Mrs. Martha Custis, and that he lived 
there at the " White House " for a short time after his marriage, before he 
removed to Mount Vernon. 

The name, the "White House," was given to the region around, the 
building being a landmark. During the civil war of 1861-65, the "White 
House " district was the scene of important military movements. 

St. Peter s Church is three miles distant from the old White House. 




KING S IfAXDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



Before the altar of this Church, Washington plighted his troth to the young 
widow Custis. Says Mr. F. S. Daniel, 

"The Church was built in 1703, at a cost of 146,000 weight of tobacco, 
then the currency of the locality. Its steeple was put up twelve years 
afterward. 

" Both on account of its record, and its simple, pleasing Old English 
architecture, it is the most attractive colonial church still standing in Vir 
ginia. It is built in the form of a parallelogram, with tower and surmount 
ing steeple connecting at one end 
with the body of the edifice, all 
the proportions finely harmonizing. 
The walls of red 
bricks are three 
feet thick; the 
windows are small 
with rounded tops ; 
the tower is quite 
large with four 
rising p r o j e c- 
tions, capped with 
spheres, and is sur 
mounted with a 
low steeple, hold 
ing on its extremity 
the cross-keys of 
St. Peter as a 
weather-vane." 

Following is the traditional account of Washington s wedding : Wash 
ington and Mrs. Custis rode to the Church in a gorgeous chariot, and the 
invited persons followed them in vehicles of various shapes. When they 
stood up before the minister to be married, Washington towered beside his 
betrothed, who looked unusually small and low in stature ; and the difference 
was remarked by all who were present. Washington was in uniform, and 
Mrs. Custis was arrayed in a fine white-silk dress. As they came out of 
the Church, the newly united couple had a joyful appearance, Washington 
himself smiling upon and chatting with several of the attendants. 

All the servants on the White House estate were given a holiday, and all 
in holiday attire joined in the general merry-making that followed. 

ST. PAUL S CHURCH, near Wickford, R.I., also known as " The Old 
Narragansett Church," is an old building still standing, although not in regular 
use. Occasional services are held in it, and it is carefully kept from decay. 




St. Peter s Church, White House, Va. 



r6 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



It was erected on a site five miles from where it now stands, and was moved 
to the present spot in 1800. The date of its erection was 1707. The chan 
cel, which was originally eastward, was removed at a later time to the north 
side, where the pulpit and reading-desk stood. There was originally a gallery 
around three sides of the interior, and the seats were clumsy and uncom 
fortable. 

Says the Rev. D. Goodwin: "On a bright Sunday 150 years ago this 
quaint Church must have been the centre of a scene most pleasant to behold, 
and of a character of which the memory has almost van 
ished. There were then no carnages of any consequence 
owned in Narragansett, the narrow roads being little fitted 
to their use; and almost every one depended upon the 
saddle as a means of conveyance. Gay cavaliers in scarlet 
coats escort richly dressed dames, and in the gallery are 
groups of ebony-skinned servants. . . . The old Church 
has now become a shrine, whither the eager feet of many 
a pious pilgrim are wont to hasten. It bids fair to stand 
for half a century, or even a cen 
tury, longer, as a witness of the 
zeal of the fathers for the worship 
of the living God." Bishop Clarke 
says," Several distinguished 
clergymen officiated there from 
time to time. Among them may 
be mentioned Dr. McSparren, 
author of a book on the Colonies 
entitled America Dissected ; the 
Rev. Mr. Fayerweather, who died 
in 1781 ; and the Rev. William 
Smith, from whose pen we have 
the Office in the Book of Common Prayer for the Institution of Ministers 
into Parishes and Churches, and who perhaps did more than any one else 
to introduce chanting into the services." 

ST. MICHAEL S CHURCH, Marblehead, Mass. " The sacred memo 
ries of one hundred and seventy-four years cluster around this ancient house 
of prayer." 

All the materials used in the original fabric came from England. The 
records contain no information as to the organization of the parish ; but 
occasional, if not regular, services were held in Marblehead several years 
before the erection of this building. On the 2d of September, 1714, the 
framework of this structure was put in place; and from the 2oth of July, 




St. Paul s Church, Wickford, R.I. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. I/ 

1715, onward to the present, with the exception of periods of public excite 
ment attending the Revolution, the doors of the old Church have been 
opened for religious services on every Lord s Day. 

" The bell in the steeple has called the loyal sons of old Marblehead to 
prayer in each decade in the tide of years, and the building has become 
endeared to them all as the revered sanctuary of their fathers." 

The original architecture of the Church was simple and pleasing, but 
some of the later attempts at improving it were not very successful. The 




St. Michael s Church, Marblehead, Mass. 

last effort, just completed, has made the interior so attractive that there are 
few old Churches in the land that are so beautiful within, while being so 
quaint without. 

On the afternoon of April 18, 1888, a very large gathering, including 
representatives of old families and members of the Legislature of the State, 
assembled to take part in " the exercises commemorating its restoration." 
The rector, the Rev. John L. Egbert, presided, and made an address in 
which he said, " Thousands have visited this old fane from time to time, 



1 8 A AVG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

curious to learn something of its history, or simply to stand within these 
time-honored walls, where prayer and praise have ascended from earnest and 
loving hearts to the Father of all for nearly a century and three-quarters. 
To-day we make another most interesting epoch in its history by assembling 
here to commemorate its handsome restoration and preservation. In this 
great work more than three hundred persons, living here in Marblehead and 
in various parts of the country, have given liberally and cheerfully towards 
its accomplishment. It will add greatly to its history in years to come, that 
the members of the Senate of Massachusetts of 1888 came to-day to present 
a stained-glass window to the parish, thus honoring this parish as no other 
was ever honored before in this country." After the rector s address, the 
Hon. H. J. Boardman, President of the Massachusetts Senate, made an ad 
dress, formally presenting the beautiful window called " The Senate Win 
dow," representing Moses giving the Law on Sinai. In his address he said, 
" It is remarkable that to-day Massachusetts senators, largely descendants 
of the Puritans, have assembled to pay their homage and tribute to the iden 
tical temple their forefathers denounced and opposed. We can do little more 
than repeat that the times have changed, and we have changed with them. 
The spirit of toleration has kept pace with the development of civilization 
and progress." 

The historical address was delivered by the Hon. Samuel Roads, jun., 
in which the origin and progress of the parish were minutely recounted in a 
most interesting manner. The petition for a minister sent in 1714 recited 
that ki the town of Marblehead, next to Boston, is the greatest place of trade 
and commerce within this province, daily adding to its numbers persons 
chiefly of the Church of England ; and by the blessing of God we have a 
certain prospect that the Church here will be every clay increased, and flour 
ish more and more." In response to this petition, the Rev. William Shaw 
was sent here as the first rector, and began his duties July 20, 1715. At the 
time of the Revolution the rector was the Rev. J. W. Weeks, who, being a 
decided loyalist, advised his people to have nothing to do with the " rebel 
lion." Despite the remonstrances of many of his congregation, he continued 
to declare his sentiments publicly ; and as a result the hostility to the 
Church grew strong and bitter, for the people of Marblehead were patriotic, 
and were willing to sacrifice life and property in the great struggle for inde 
pendence. Finally the Church was closed. When the news of the Declara 
tion of Independence was received, a body of men entered St. Michael s, tore 
down the royal coat-of-arms from the walls, and rang the bell until it cracked. 
The rector, after holding services in private houses for a time, went to Nova 
Scotia. During this trying period, many of the parishioners became noted 
for their devotion to the Church. One of them, fearing that eventually all 
the Prayer Books would be destroyed, copied the entire volume with his own 



A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



hand. The Church was not re-opened until 1780, when Mr. Woodward 
Abraham read service and prayers. This he continued for six years. 
Among the rectors were the Rev. Dr. William Harris and his grandson the 
Rev. William R. Harris. The former served for eleven years from 1791, 
and then became president of Columbia College, New York. His grandson 
was rector from 1878 to 1886. Bishop Smith was rector for a year, and 
Bishop Henshaw for four years. The Rev. Julius H. Ward, well known as 
a writer and editor, served the parish for three years. 

The interior of the new, handsomely decorated and refitted Church has a 
number of objects of interest. Among them is the chandelier, about two 
hundred years old, and some memorial and gift windows. One window of 
Venetian and an 
tique glass is in 
memory of Mrs. 
Thomas Apple- 
ton. It represents 
Dorcas giving 
garments to the 
poor. Another, 
the Ascension 
window, is in 
memory of Wil 
liam Haskell and 
wife. The Sen 
ate window has 
been before de- 
scribed. The 

Parish window represents St. Michael casting out Satan. It is a memorial 
of Thomas Evans, a former warden. The Good-Shepherd window is the 
gift of the Sunday school. The recent changes and renewals cost about 
5.000, and the building to-day has not only its antiquity but its comeliness 
to make it attractive to its own people and to strangers. 

ST. DAVID S CHURCH, Radnor, Perm., has been made known far 
beyond its own neighborhood by the poet Longfellow in his poem " Old St. 
David s at Radnor." Relating the story of the poem, he says, " One day I 
drove over to Radnor. Old St. David s Church, with its charming and pictur 
esque surroundings, attracted my attention. Its diminutive size, peculiar 
architecture, the little rectory in the grove, the quaint churchyard where Mad 
Anthony Wayne is buried, the great tree which stands at the gateway, and 
the pile of gray stones which makes the old church, and is almost hidden by 
the climbing ivy, all combine to make it a gem for a fancy picture." 




St. David s, Radnor, Perm. 



20 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



OLD ST. DAVID S AT RADNOR. 

What an image of peace and rest 

Is this little church among its graves ! 
All is so quiet ; the troubled breast, 
The wounded spirit, the heart oppressed, 
Here may find the repose it craves. 

See how the ivy climbs and expands 

Over this humble hermitage, 
And seems to caress with its little hands 
The rough gray stones, as a child that stands 

Caressing the wrinkled cheeks of age. 

You cross the threshold, and dim and small 

Is the space that serves for the Shepherd s fold ; 

The narrow aisle, the bare white wall. 

The pews, and the pulpit quaint and tall, 
Whisper and say, " Alas ! we are old." 



It is not the wall of stone without 

That makes the building small or great, 
But the soul s light shining round about, 
And the faith that overcometh doubt, 
And the love that is stronger than hate. 



Here would I stay, and let the world 

With its distant thunder roar and roll ! 
Storms do not rend the sail that is furled, 
Nor like a dead leaf, tossed and whirled 

In an eddy of wind, is the anchored soul. 

St. David s Church, commonly called < ; Old Radnor," is situated fourteen 
miles from Philadelphia, about two miles south of Wayne. 

The Church, built of native stone, and, where not concealed by ivy, look 
ing as if built but yesterday, stands facing the south, on a long, gently slop 
ing hillside, in its quiet graveyard, surrounded and embowered by trees. 
Although there are in the graveyard interments of an older date, the oldest 
monument is a slab of soap-stone brought from Wales, and bearing date of 
1716. Scattered here and there are stones bearing quaint and curious epi 
taphs. Here also is the monument erected by the Society of the Cincinnati 
to the memory of Gen. Anthony Wayne, sometime commander-in-chief of 
the army of the United States, whose body was brought from Erie, and 
placed beneath the stone in 1809. ^ ne exact date when the Church was 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOP.AL CHURCHES. 



21 



organized is not known ; but it is certain that a congregation was established 
here as early, at least, as 1 700. 

A local historian tells us that the corner-stone of the present Church was 
laid on the 9th of May, 1715, and, describing the ceremony, says, " First, a 
service with preaching was held in a private house ; then they went to the 
place where the Church was to be built. There a prayer was made, after 
which each one of the clergymen present laid a stone according to the 
direction of the master-mason." 

The rector of the parish in 1888 is the Rev. George A. Keller. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Boston, Mass., is the oldest existing place of 
worship of any kind in Boston. It is situated on Salem Street, at the North 
End, in the vicinity of Copp s Hill. The first stone was laid April 15. 

1723; and the building was opened for services on J the 29th of De 
cember. 1723. The structure is of brick, with walls | 2^ feet thick. Its 
dimensions are, 70 feet 
long, 50 feet wide, 35 feet 
high, with a tower 24 
feet square, and terminat 
ing in a steeple whose 
top is 175 feet from the 
ground. The architect is 
not known, but the plan 
was after the well-known 
Churches erected by Sir 
Christopher Wren in 
England. The present 
pulpit, desk, and pews 
are of more recent date, 
but the general appear 
ance of the Church inside 
and out is about as it 
was originally. The tower 
contains a chime of eight 
bells. " The first ring 
cast for the British em 
pire in North America. 

1744, is the inscription upon one of them. The chime is still remarkable 
for its purity of tone, sweetness, and harmony. The first organ was brought 
from Newport in 1736, and the second was built in 1759. The one now in 
use is believed to contain portions of these old ones. 

The parish possesses some extremely old gifts, such as silverware for 




Christ Church, Boston, Mass. 



22 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

the altar, Bibles and Prayer Books, contributed by George II. of England, 
and by others. The figures of the cherubim in front of the organ, and the 
chandeliers, were taken from a French vessel by an English privateer, and 
given to, this Church in 1746; all being considered then fair in war 
time. 

The first rector of the parish was the Rev. Dr. Timothy Cutler, who as 
a Congregationalist had been the rector of Yale College. Dr. Cutler and 
others had become converts to the Episcopal Church ; and the builders of 
Christ Church, hearing of it, wrote to him offering to provide for the expenses 
of the voyage of himself and his two friends, Johnson and Brown, to Eng 
land, where they were to seek orders. They also petitioned the Bishop of 
London to appoint Dr. Cutler to the charge of the new Christ Church. 

His ordination took place in London, March, 1723 ; and he began his 
work here in the parish with the opening of the new Church, Dec. 29, and 
continued in faithful charge for forty-two years. Rev. Dr. Mather Byles 
succeeded him, and stayed until 1775, when, his sympathies being with the 
mother country in the strife then begun, he resigned. Among the rectors 
since then have been Dr. Eaton, Dr. Croswell, and Dr. Burroughs. 

fe 

This church building is curiously identified with the outbreak of the 
Revolution. Dr. Henry Burroughs tells the story thus : 

" The signal lanterns of Paul Revere from the church-steeple announced 
the beginning of those hostilities which ended in the establishment of the 
independence of the United States. It was suspected that Gen. Gage was 
preparing an expedition to Concord to capture the stores and ammunition 
collected there by the Americans ; and Dr. Joseph Warren remained in 
Boston, while the Provincial Congress was in session at Concord, to watch 
the movements of the British, and communicate them to Hancock and 
Adams, who were attending the Congress, and were staying at the house of 
the Rev. Jonas Clark in Lexington. On the I5th of April, there were dis 
covered signs of an early movement of the troops; and Paul Revere by 
Dr. Warren s request rode to Lexington, and gave notice to the patriots. On 
his return it occurred to him that when it should become necessary to send 
word that the British were actually on the march, it might be impossible for 
a messenger to leave Boston ; and so he agreed with Col. Conant and other 
friends whom he saw in Charlestown, that. in his own words, if the 
British went out by water we would show two lanterns in the North Church 
steeple, and if by land one, as a signal. When it was found on the evening 
of the 1 8th that the troops were preparing to cross from Boston in boats, 
Revere went to the North End, made his preparations, and was rowed with 
muffled oars under the guns of a British vessel to the Charlestown shore." 
They had seen his signals, for the spire was lofty. Then began Paul 
Revere s Ride, which the poet has sung in well-known lines: 



-i A AVG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 23 

Meanwhile, impatient to mount and ride, 
Booted and spurred, with a heavy stride 
On the opposite shore walked Paul Revere. 
Now he patted his horse s side, 
Now gazed at the landscape far and near, 
Then, impetuous, stamped the earth, 
And turned and tightened his saddle-girth : 
But mostly he watched with eager search 
The belfry tower of the Old North Church, 
As it rose above the graves on the hill, 
Lonely and spectral, and sombre and still. 
And lo ! as he looks, on the belfry s height 
A glimmer, and then a gleam of light ! 
He springs to the saddle, the bridle he turns, 
But lingers and ga/.es, till full on his sight 
A second lamp in the belfry burns ! 
A hurry of hoofs in a village street, 
A shape in the moonlight, a bulk in the dark, 
And beneath, from the pebbles, in passing, a spark 
Struck out by a steed flying fearless and fleet : 
That was all ! And yet through the gloom and the light, 
The fate of a nation was riding that night ; 
And the spark struck out by that steed, in his flight, 
Kindled the land into flame with its heat." 

This incident was commemorated on the evening of April iS, 1875, by 
services and addresses in the church, and by the display of lanterns from 
the old steeple by S. H. Newman, a grandson of the old sexton, Paulding, 
whom Revere engaged to make the signals a century before. 

A tablet was put on the front of the church in 1878, bearing this 
inscription : 



THE SIGNAL LANTERNS OF 

PAUL REVERE 

DISPLAYED IN THE STEEPLE OF THIS CHURCH 

APRIL 18 1775 

WARNED THE COUNTRY OF THE MARCH 
OF THE BRITISH TROOPS TO 

LEXINGTON AND CONCORD. 



The present rector of the parish is the Rev. William H. Monroe. 

TRINITY CHURCH, Newport, R.I. The first settlement of New 
port was made in 1639. In later years it became a highly prosperous com 
mercial centre and port of entry. It had eleven thousand people when the 
Revolution began : over two hundred ships were employed in its foreign trade, 



2 4 



A /WG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



drives, and grounds of 
almost distinct New- 
and the new city of the 
residents are Church 
which has been most 
It is a vigorous parish 
congregations are 
back to 1698, when 



and its domestic trade called for four hundred coasters. At many times 
goods could not be stored in the warehouses, so great was the prosperity of 
old Newport. To-day all is changed. It is no longer the busy commercial 
centre, but the most popular summer-resort upon the Western Continent. 
Its beautiful residences, large hotels, fine views of the sea and of the bay, 
and its delightful climate make it a popular resort for many hundreds during 
the summer. There is a great contrast between the quaint old houses 
and narrow streets of old Newport, and the magnificence of houses, walks, 

the newer part. There are in fact two 
ports, the old city of all the year around, 
summer time. Many of the temporary 
folk, and for many years past the Church 
popular among them has been old Trinity, 
at all times, but in summer its Sunday 
greatly increased. This old parish dates 
the Rev. Mr. Lockyear, a clergyman of the 
English Church, gathered a con 
gregation. A building was erected 
before 1702, but growing too small 
was removed and given to the 
people of Warwick. A new build 
ing was erected on the site of the 
old one, under the rectorship of 
the Rev. Mr. Honeyman. It cost 
about ,2.000. Its dimensions are, 
70 feet long by 46 feet wide. It 
has two tiers of windows, and has 

galleries on three sides. This building, still standing, was completed in 
1726. The architect was Peter Harrison of Newport. He was the recog 
nized head of his profession in that time; and, as a writer said of him, "he 
did what he could to drag architecture out of the mire of Puritan ugliness 
and neglect." 

Notwithstanding the frequent changes that have been made in the old 
Church since the day the first service was held within its walls, it still retains 
many of the features with which those who built it were familiar. Upon 
its spire is fixed the crown which typified the sovereignty of Great Britain. 
Below the crown the clock which Jahleel Brenton gave holds an honored 
place. 

Within the Church the organ Bishop Berkeley presented, and the pulpit 
from which the famous philosopher preached, still greet the eye. 

The old organ has of course been repaired and added to, but it is still 
the Berkeley organ. A crown surmounts it, supported by a mitre on either 




Trinity Church, Newport, R.I. 



A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2$ 

side. A huge old-fashioned sounding-board over the pulpit, and square 
high-backed pews with their seats facing in four directions, quickly remind 
the visitor that this is not a Church of modern construction. 

In the time of the Revolution all the other places of worship were 
converted into riding-schools or hospitals when the English troops held 
possession of the town. They did not desecrate this old Church, and its 
congregation continued to occupy it during all the Sundays the British stayed 
in Newport. The greater portion of the Church-of-England people, being 
royalists, followed the troops to New York ; and then the hot-headed young 
patriots hastened to despoil the edifice that had been cherished by their 
hated foes. They were unable to reach the emblems of royalty upon the 
spire and over the organ: but the carved coat-of-arms back of the altar was 
easily reached, and that they tore from its place, and trampled under their 
feet. It consisted of a representation of the lion and the unicorn. The 
building was then closed, and not re-opened for services for several years. 

One of the most prominent persons connected with Trinity was Mr. 
Nathaniel Kay, who was collector of customs. He was a liberal contributor 
to the funds of the parish, and left money by will to construct a schoolhouse, 
and to support a school for ten poor boys. The school was kept up except 
at intervals for many years, and finally, upon the opening of the public 
schools, was abandoned. 

The remains of the fund were used at length in constructing the brick 
chapel, called The Kay Chapel," in a street near the Church. It is used 
for Sunday school and other purposes, and in effect, although not in precise 
form, under changed conditions, carries out the purposes of the Kay 
bequest. 

Among the persons who have served as rectors of Trinity are the 
following : 

The Rev. James Honeyman served fifty years, and died in 1750, at an 
advanced age, having lived to see the parish large and flourishing. The Rev. 
Theodore Dehon, afterwards Bishop of South Carolina, served from 1797 to 
1810; the Rev. Salmon Wheaton, from 1810 to 1840: the Rev. Dr. Francis 
Vinton. from 1840 to 1844; the Rev. R. B. Hall, from 1844 to 1846; the Rev. 
I). R. Brewer, from 1846 to 1855; the Rev. Dr. A. G. Mercer, from 1855 to 
1860; the Rev. O. H. Prescott, from 1861 to 1863 : the Rev. J. H. Black, from 
1863 to 1866; the Rev. Dr. J. P. White, from 1866 to 1875. 

Canon White died in office, ; a man greatly beloved. 

The present rector, the Rev. G. J. Magill, began his duties in 1876. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Philadelphia, Penn. " Among all the buildings 
in this country," says Dr. Foggo, "around which sacred and national asso 
ciations cluster, and connected with events on which the mind of the thought- 



26 



S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



ful American desires to dwell, there is none, perhaps, more interesting than 
old Christ Church. 

The Rev. Mr. Duche, its rector, made the first prayer in Congress: 
Bishop White was the first chaplain ; Washington and many of his generals 
and statesmen worshipped within these walls: Benjamin Franklin was a 



member of the vestry; Francis 
organist. On the clay Inclepen- 
this Church were rung, and the 
from -the wall. The rector, 
bishop of English consecration 
building was held the first gen- 
Church. Here the American 



Hopkinson was the volunteer 
dence was declared, the bells of 
bust of King George was taken 
William White, was the first 
in the United States. In this 
eral convention of the American 
Prayer-Book was adopted. Its 
bells have pealed 
for many hun 
dreds of wed 
dings, and tolled 
for many more 
funerals. u The 
babe who was 
baptized in its 
font has been 
carried back in 
old age and laid 
before its altar, 
and then taken 
to rest in its 
church y a r d. 
There are few- 
old families in 
the city who have 
not some link 
with this old 

parish; and families not so old, and many living elsewhere, have felt the 
benefit of this pious foundation." 

The first building was erected in 1695 of bricks and wood: but it became 
too small for the needs of the congregation, many of whom were converts 
from Quakerism. The progress of the parish under the Rev. Mr. Clayton 
and Dr. Evan Evans was so considerable, that the older members of the 
Society of Friends grew alarmed, and forbade their young people to enter 
the building. The young people obeyed the letter of the law, but not its 
spirit: for they stood around the windows, and heard the service and the 
preacher. "The country Friends coming into the market/ says Louise 




Christ Church, Philadelphia, Penn. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

Stockton, -had their own curiosity about this new vanity, and were moved 
to go and see what it was like; and behold! it was nothing new. What 
they heard was simply the old service familiar to so many of them, and they 
liked it. It brought back memories of their childhood, of England, and 
of the fathers who had died content in the old faith : and as they listened to 
the prayers and chants they knew so well, but in which they now dared not 
join, old affections fought with new doctrines, and many went home dis 
turbed and discontented, to return again and again to the little brick church, 
and at last to come for baptism. This went on until new members were 
numbered by the hundreds, and Dr. Evans s zeal grew stronger and 
stronger. 

In 1727 the present edifice was built : and during the nine years that the 
work was in progress, the congregation worshipped in the old structure 
around which the new one rose. Copied after the old English type of church 
architecture, built of bricks from the Old Country, it rose a monument to 
the skill which designed it, and an ornament to the city in which it then 
stood as a centre of attraction. As we look now upon its graceful outline 
and beautiful proportions, we cannot fail to see, that, for the time in which 
it was built, it is remarkable. In 1754 the tower and steeple were built, 
and a chime of eight bells was ordered in London. A portion of the money 
to defray the expenses was secured by a lottery of which Benjamin Franklin 
was one of the managers. Lotteries were not then considered inconsistent 
with religious work. The chime of bells was brought from England by Capt. 
Buddon in the ship " Myrtilla/ He would accept no payment for bring 
ing them, and so the bel ls were rung ever after when the " Myrtilla was 
sighted down the river. The bells soon became a source of great pleasure 
to & the people. " Every one wanted to hear the chimes, and it was ordered 
that they should be rung on market-days as well as Sundays. The people 
would walk over the meadows and through the woods from Germantown 
and other villages, until they could hear the sweet music of the bells. 

" Their rich tones have extended into the rapidly growing city, and 
reminded men in the midst of their daily avocations, and in the quiet of their 
homes, of the service of Him who made them and will judge them." 

The visitor who enters the Church to-day finds it, in all essential par 
ticulars, as it was a century and more ago. There seems to be no limit to 
the many interesting objects which attract the attention. Monuments, 
tablets, inscriptions, books, manuscripts, pictures, furniture, silver vessels, 
stained glass, all have their story to tell. The liberality of past members 
has provided for the needy, and that of recent members has made pro 
vision by endowment funds for the continuance of religious ministrations. 
Dr. John Kearsley is the founder, by will, of Christ-Church Hospital. He 
left his property to the Church for the benefit of ten poor and distressed 



28 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

women of the communion of the Church of England. In 1789 Joseph 
Dobbins gave something to the same charity; and so great has been the 
increase in the value of these bequests, that the managers were able to buy 
a large plat of ground, and build buildings to shelter fifty aged members of 
the Episcopal Church. The Rev. William White was the rector from 1779 
to 1836. The Rev. Dr. Benjamin Dorr served from 1837 to 1869. The 
present rector, the Rev. Dr. Edward A. Foggo, has been in charge since 1869. 

ST. PAUL S CHURCH, Elizabeth River Parish, Norfolk, Va. 

Among the old Church homes which have known many vicissitudes, but 
which still live on to do Christ s work, is the venerable Church which is 
pictured here. 

" On it. Time his mark has hung ; 

On it, hostile balls have rung ; 

On it, green old moss has clung ; 

On it, winds their dirge have sung ; 

Let us still adore thy walls, 

Sacred temple, old St. Paul s ! " 

The borough of Norfolk was incorporated in 1736, but as early as 1680 
the town was established by Act of Assembly on fifty acres of land pur 
chased for the purpose. No trace of the original Church remains, save in 
the record of the vestry granting the bricks and timbers of the old Church 
to James Pasteur to build a house. 

The present Church was erected, as the date in raised bricks on the 
south wall testifies, in 1739. Th e building, which has many facsimiles in 
Virginia, is cruciform in shape, with arched windows and doors. The walls 
are of unusual thickness, and ornamented with glazed bricks placed at 
regular intervals. They are almost entirely concealed by the luxuriant ivy 
which also covers the walls surrounding the churchyard. 

In the year 1761 the parish of Elizabeth River was divided into three. 
Portsmouth, St. Bride s, and Elizabeth River. 

In 1766 the Rev. Thomas Davis was rector. He was an ardent patriot, 
and chairman of the town-meeting which in March, 1766, denounced the 
Stamp Act. 

The Church, as well as the borough, had now to encounter the brunt 
of war. On New Year s Day, 1776, Lord Dunmore, enraged at the signal 
defeat of his forces at Great Bridge, opened a heavy cannonade upon the 
town. The town was entirely destroyed by the fire, the walls of St. Paul s 
alone remaining standing, though all the interior was destroyed in the 
flames. The cannon-ball, which has been cemented in the place where it 
struck the southern wall, still remains to tell the story of the bombardment. 
The communion-plate was carried by the enemy to Scotland. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



2 9 



Passing over much interesting history, we reach the year 1855, when the 
yellow-fever devastated the city. 

The rectorship was filled then by the Rev. William Jackson, for whom 
God had reserved a work which only a faithful servant of Christ could do. 
In this year the yellow-fever raged in Norfolk; and Mr. Jackson, with other 
Christian ministers, stood by his people. Men and women still speak of 



St. Paul s Church, Norfolk, Va. 




his gentle and untiring devotion to the sick and |||jj|| 

the afflicted ; but the parish register tells the 

story even more pathetically, with its list of 

seventy-nine burials, five and seven a day. The 

last burials at which Mr. Jackson officiated 

were three on Sept. 4; and he himself was laid to rest by his faithful 

brethren, the Rev. Aristides Smith and the Rev. Lewis Walke. His is the 

last interment from yellow-fever. It would seem that the Master spared him 

until his work was ended, and then said, " Well done, good and faithful 

servant: enter thou into the joy of thy Lord/ 

It was no easy task to take charge of the decimated and impoverished 
congregation, and to make the Church once more a power for good in the 
community. But a man of God was sent, whose consecrated faith was only 
equalled by the unflinching courage which he brought to the task, and with 



30 A /A G S HANDBOOK OP EPISCOPAL CHL KCIIES. 

which he met the still greater trials which the near future had in charge for 
old St. Paul s, Nicholas Albertson Okeson, a man of strong individuality, 
unsparing in his judgment of sin, but full of womanly sympathy and ten 
derness for the poor and sinful. As a preacher, he was strong, original, 
incisive, blunt at times, like Latimer. He took such hold of the people, not 
only of his own congregation, but of the community, that it will not soon 
lose the impress of his character. Blessed with such a minister, the Church 
was beginning to revive and flourish, when war once more thundered in 
Norfolk harbor, and the flock was again scattered. 

When the war was over, the minister and congregation bent their ener 
gies to the work of restoration and repair. Money had to be raised to 
make the church habitable, and money in such a community was scarce; 
but love for the old Church, and devotion to the Lord, accomplished much, 
and a few years saw the parish prosperous as it had never been before. Dr. 
Okeson resolved to make the churchyard, which comprises nearly two acres, 
equal to the fairest he had seen in the mother country. The grand old 
elms and willows were there already ; but it is to his skill and labor that 
we owe the wealth of evergreen, the preservation of the monuments, whose 
scars he taught the kindly ivy to hide, and the flowers and shrubbery which 
make St. Paul s Churchyard so fair and restful a place. There, when his 
work was finished, he was laid to rest, by special consent of the city 
authorities, among the dead whose graves he had saved from desecration, 
and under the shadow of the wall which echoed to his faithful preaching of 
the gospel of Christ. 

This old parish has been safely brought through all the changes and 
Chances of time. War and division, fire and pestilence, have failed to close 
her gates. To-day, under the rectorship of the Rev. Beverly Tucker, she 
numbers nearly four hundred communicants, and ministers to as many as 
her time-honored walls will contain. She sees ten daughter Churches carry 
ing on the work and spreading the blessed gospel. But she is not only 
the Church of her own loyal congregation : she is the old parish Church, the 
borough Church, witnessing to the time when there were no divisions among 
Christ s flock in the old Colony, dear to all who dwell in Norfolk town, to 
all whose fathers sleep in her quiet shade. 

As the crowd hurries along the busy street where the old Church, built 
before there was a street, stands surrounded by her sentinel elms, many 
an eye rests for a moment upon the sacred spot, and many a heart is re 
freshed by the glimpse of peace and quiet which the open gates afford. 
It is a restful contrast to the hurrying world without, the green grass, the 
wide-arching trees, the water splashing in the fountain, the fragrance of 
magnolia and hawthorn, the scarlet masses of the crape myrtle, the many- 
hued flowers, the quaint old tombs, the ivy-covered house of God, where 



A JA G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



so many generations have worshipped and heard the benediction of peace, 
where so many weary souls have found the blessed Lord and laid their 
burdens at His feet. Many a passer-by has stopped to look, and breathe a 
silent " God bless old St. Paul s ! " 

ST. GEORGE S CHURCH, Schenectady, N. Y., is not the oldest 
parish in Northern New York, but it has the oldest Church building. The 
building so well known to so many students 
from all parts of the country who have at 
tended Union College, and to many others, 
was begun in 1759, an< ^ nas g one through 
many changes, additions, and subtractions 
since. The stone walls of the nave and the 
roof are preserved in their original shape. 
The last alterations, except some interior 
decorations, were completed in 1882. " Not 
withstanding the changes and improvements 
rendered necessary by the progress of time, 
it is the same old Church still. Lacking 
though it does, much of the proportion, finish, 
and elegant fur 
nishings of an 
expensively built 

modern s t r u c- 

ture, it yet is 

rich in the time- 
worn gifts of af 
fection, beautiful 

with the moss of 

age, and ivied all 

over w i t h the 

holiest memories 

and associations. 

... In tracing out 

the history of the 

building, we must 




St. George s Church, Schenectady, N.Y. 



go back nearly to the beginning of the preceding century. The memories of 
the Old French War, in which the inhabitants of this town suffered severely, 
had hardly begun to fade away, and there was not the first thought of that 
Revolution which, seventy years afterwards, resulted in our independence of 
the mother country. The smoke of the Indian wigwam still arose all along 
this Mohawk Valley, and the crv of the wolf and the panther could be 



32 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

heard on its hillsides and in the forests. Though fears of another savage 
invasion had mostly subsided, yet the old fort, near by the spot where we 
are now assembled, was still standing stocked with arms, and surrounded 
by the pickets or palisades within which the earlier settlers had been accus 
tomed to find refuge in case of alarm. At this early period, the Rev. Thomas 
Barclay, missionary of the English Church at Albany, visited Schenectady, 
and was the first Episcopal minister who held services in the place." 

In 1748 there came to Schenectady a layman, John W. Brown, whose 
memory is now preserved on a tablet on the wall. He was only twenty-one 
vears old when he reached here, and for sixty-six years he was the friend 
and unwavering supporter of this parish. It is probable that the name St. 
George was given the Church through him. Another of its early friends 
was Sir William Johnson, a major-general in the British service, and super 
intendent of Indian affairs in North America. He contributed generously 
to the erection of this building, and induced his friends to do so. The 
building was begun in 1759. The ^ rst resident minister was the Rev. 
William Andrews, who stayed three years. 

The Rev. John Doty was in charge when the sounds of war echoed 
throughout the land. Mr. Doty, being a Loyalist, was arrested, and im 
prisoned for a while, but upon being released went to Canada. The services 
were then suspended in the Church for the rest of the period of the war. 
When the independence of the States was acknowledged, and peace had 
been declared in 1782, the Church edifice was found to be in a dilapidated 
condition ; the windows were broken, and desolation reigned without and 
within. 

As soon as the little remnant of the Church people came together, and 
had received some courage and strength, they restored the building to its 
former condition, and re-established services. For a while they could not 
have a settled minister, but depended upon the clergy of Albany and sur 
rounding towns. In 1798 the Rev. Robert Whetmore took charge, and 
from that day onward its affairs moved on in uninterrupted order and with 
increasing success. The building then was about half its present length, 
measuring fifty-six by thirty-six feet, with three windows on each side, and 
in front a small wooden steeple surmounted by a cross. The pulpit with a 
long flight of stairs was against the east wall in the centre, with a reading- 
desk in front, and a clerk s pew in front of that. The altar with railing 
before it was on the north side. 

Fora year or two about 1825, in the absence of a rector, the services 
were kept up, with much acceptance to the congregation, by Alonzo Potter, 
then tutor in Union College, and in later years the great-hearted Bishop 
of Pennsylvania. A tablet in his memory has been placed by the trustees of 
the College on the wall of the Church. During the ministry of Rev. Albert 



A /NG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 33 

Smedes, the question was debated whether to pull down the old building or 
to enlarge it. Happily the latter course was adopted, and so in 1838 two 
transepts were added to the old nave. " But alas ! " says Dr. Payne, "the 
former chancel arrangement was discarded, and in lieu of it arose a huge 
three-decker, a pulpit large enough for several, and a desk of correspond 
ing size, with a communion-table in front. Under the pulpit was a hole where 
the clergyman could go and change his surplice for a black gown between 
the service and the sermon." Since those days a proper chancel has 
been added to the east end, and various other improvements have been 
made. 

St. George s Parish was the first cure of John Williams, who is now the 
presiding bishop ; and here the Rev. Dr. William Payne has served for forty 
years with singular fidelity, commencing his rectorship in 1848. The 
present rector is the Rev. J. P. B. Pendleton, Dr. Payne retaining his 
connection with the parish as rector emeritus. 

ST. PETER S CHURCH, Philadelphia. The needs of the Church 
folk in Philadelphia were met by Christ Church until about 1/54, when the 
project of building a second Church was rigorously pressed by those living 
in what was then known as " the southern part of the city." The vestry of 
Christ Church were warmly interested in the scheme ; and the proprietors 
of the Colony, the sons of William Penn, gave a lot of ground between 
Third and Fourth Streets, and extending from Lombard to Pine Street. 

Although William Penn was so active a Quaker, he and his two wives 
were the only Quakers in the family: his sons had become Churchmen. 
On the land thus given, the building known as St. Peter s Church was begun 
in 1758, and completed in 1761. 

"On the 4th of September, 1761," says Louise Stockton, in a chapter in 
"A Sylvan City," "the people met at Christ Church, and went in procession 
down to St. Peter s ; clerk and sexton at the head, then the quest-men, and 
then the vestry two by two ; the governor and the wardens, the officiating 
clergymen, the governor s council and attendants, and, finally, the attend 
ing clergymen. The youngest minister, the Rev. Jacob Duche, a deacon, 
read all the service except the absolution ; there was a baptism at the font ; 
and Dr. Smith, provost of what is now the University of Pennsylvania, 
preached the sermon. It is not difficult even now to picture this service. 
The old dignitaries with queues and ruffles all are gone ; but the high pews, 
the stone aisles, the pulpit with its sounding-board, the green and grassy 
churchyard, still remain, and St. Peter s is, in effect, to-day, what it was over 
a hundred years ago, when Gov. Penn had his pew in the south gallery, 
and Benjamin Franklin came with other worshippers from the North 
Church." 



34 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



For a long time Christ Church and St. Peter s and then St. James were 
united under one vestry, and were served by the same clergy. At first when 
there were but two parishes, Dr. Peters and Mr. Duche served the two, but 
in 1772 Messrs. White and Coombe became assistants. 

" When 1776 came, the political excitement was general, and the Churches 
were full of it. Dr. Peters had grown old and weak. Mr. Duche had suc 
ceeded him, with Messrs. Coombe and White as assistants. When Congress 

set aside May 17 as a day of 
fasting and prayer, there was ser 
vice in both Churches, and fer 
vent sermons were preached. 
Then came the 4th of July, and 
it was then that the vestry met, 




St. Peter s Church, Philadelphia, Penn. 
(EAST AND WEST INTERIORS.) 



and struck the name of the King 

from the liturgy, and took clown 

his portrait from the wall. Mr. 

Duche had acted as chaplain to 

Congress, and his people were full 

of patriotism. But as the war went 

on, and reverses came, he lost 

heart, and wrote a famous letter 

to Washington advising him to come to terms with the English Government 

while yet there was time. He possibly had more influence over Mr. Coombe 

than over Washington, for the former soon followed him to England. Thus 

Mr. White was left the only patriot of the three Philadelphians. That he 

still loved his old associates, is proved by his making the condition when 

elected rector in 1779, that, if Mr. Duche returned, he should be allowed to 

resign. But although Mr. Duche came- back after the war was over, he 

never had any official connection with the parish again, but lived in the 

house his father had built for him; and in 1798 he died, and was buried at 

the east end of St. Peter s." 



AVA r G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 35 

Dr. White lived in a house on Front and Lombard Streets, where St. 
Peter s House now stands ; and here all the preliminary steps towards 
organizing the American Church and preparing the Prayer Book were 
taken. 

"Christ Church and St. Peter s clung together until 1832, when there 
was a formal and legal separation and division of property, and all in a 
spirit of harmony and perfect good-will, and with the express condition that" 
Bishop White should remain rector of the three parishes as long as he 
lived." He departed this life in 1836. St. Peter s has had its long period 
of steady prosperity. It has been under the care of men eminent in their 
profession. Bishop De Lancey was rector until 1839. Then came the 
ministry of Bishop Odenheimer from 1839 to 1859. After this Dr. Leeds 
served for eight years ; and then came Dr. Thomas F. Davis, Feb. 22, 1868, 
whose rectorship still continues. During Dr. Odenheimer s period, the 
daily service of Morning and Evening Prayer, and the celebration of the 
Communion every Sunday and holy day, were established. 

The only architectural changes in the building have been the erection 
of the tower and spire, and placing an organ-gallery over the chancel, 
" St. Peter s is the only building of the last century in Philadelphia that 
retains its original features. The square pews with their high straight 
backs, the aisles paved with stone and marble, the lofty pulpit with the 
sounding-board above, and the reading-desk beneath, all endeared to the 
congregation by unnumbered and most hallowed memories, remain as they 
were in the beginning. The prosperity of the parish has suffered little 
abatement from the lapse of time; and its future maintenance is secured by 
an endowment fund, the plan of which was prepared by the Hon. Horace 
Binney, in April. 1872." 

CHRIST CHURCH, Cambridge, Mass. The original subscription- 
list is dated April 25, 1759.* The architect was Peter Harrison, then re 
siding in Newport. He was also the architect of King s Chapel, Boston. 
Christ Church cost, not including the land, ; 1,300, and was long regarded 
as an edifice of superior elegance. The building was opened for public 
services Oct. 15, 1761. A traveller who wrote an account of it about that 
date said, " A Church has lately been erected at Cambridge within sight of 
the college. The building is elegant, and the minister of it, the Rev-. 
Mr. Apthorpe, is a very amiable young man of shining parts, great learning, 
and pure and engaging manners." The minister himself, addressing the 
congregation on the opening day, said, " Much has been done already by 
your munificence towards completing a structure, the least merit of which 
is the honor it does our country by adding to the few specimens we have 
of excellence in the fine arts." 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHUKCHES. 



However it may have been outdone by the beautiful stone edifices which 
have grown up around it, it must have been a vast improvement upon the 
ordinary meeting-houses of that day. Later enlargements and changes in 
the interior have not destroyed its quaint simplicity and attractiveness. 
Under the wise direction of the rector, the Rev. Dr. Spaulding, and the 
assistance of the architect and decorators, there are few old Churches whose 
interior arrangements, coloring, and appointments are so harmonious and 
pleasing. Being near Harvard. University, it becomes one of the familiar 
features of the neighborhood to the thousand or more of students who throng 

that great insti 
tution. The mis 
sion was estab 
lished and the 
Church built, as 
expressly stated, 
to provide for 
the spiritual 
needs of the 
members of the 
Church of Eng 
land resident in 
Cambridge, as 
also for such 
students of 
Harvard College 
as are of that 
Church. Special 
provision, there 
fore, has always been made for the Harvard students. The ministrations of 
its rectors have been freely offered, and the doors of the Church have always 
been opened to the young men of the university. 

"The history of Christ Church is an interesting and eventful one. Prior 
to the Revolutionary war it was the spiritual home of many of the leading 
families then resident in Cambridge ; but when the war broke out, rector 
and congregation being loyal to England were scattered before the popular 
fury of the times. A large body of the tumultuous and unorganized Provin 
cial forces which crowded into the environs of Boston took possession of 
the Church, the colleges, and private houses in Cambridge. At the time 
of the battle of Bunker Hill, a Connecticut company of militia was quartered 
in the building." 

When Gen. Washington took command of the army in Cambridge, he 
removed the troops from the Church, and had it cleansed. On Sunday, 




Christ Church, Cambridge, Mass. 



A SNG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 3/ 

Dec. 31, 1775, it was re-opened for services, Col. Palfrey of the general s 
staff reading portions of the Morning Prayer. Mrs. Washington, Mrs. 
Gates, Mrs. Curtis, and a number of the officers and others were present. 
There is a tradition that Washington on other occasions worshipped in 
this building, and a pew used to be indicated as the one occupied by 
him. 

For fifteen years after this the Church was neglected and disgraced. 
The doors were shattered, the windows were broken, and it was almost 
a ruin. No effort seems to have been made for repairing it, and for renew 
ing services, until 1790, when clergymen from Boston and elsewhere began 
to officiate in it. It was fifty years, however, before the parish had a settled 
rector of its own. Twice it was closed, and the services suspended; and 
for part of the time its small congregations were content with lay-reading by 
students from the college. It was supervised, when it had any clerical 
oversight, by some one of the Boston clergy. 

In 1825 the building, which had fallen into decay, was put in good order, 
and regular services were resumed under the charge of the Rev. George 
Otis, then a tutor in the college. His successors in the rectorship have been 
many, and some have achieved great distinction. Among them are named 
Bishop Southgate, Bishop Vail, and Bishop Williams, Drs. Coit, Leeds, 
Hoppin, and Langdon, and others. The ministry of Dr. Hoppin extended 
from 1839 to r ^74 thirty-five years. The present rector, the Rev. Dr. James 
F. Spaulding, entered upon his duties in 1880. Among the important events 
in his ministry have been the improvements to the interior of the Church, 
and the formation of the vested choir of men and boys. 

The chime of bells, thirteen in number, was the gift of alumni of the 
college upon the completion of the first hundred years of the Church, 1861. 
Some of the silver altar-vessels were given by William and Mary to King s 
Chapel, Boston, but were afterwards transferred to Christ Church by Gov. 
Hutchinson. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Alexandria, Va., celebrated its centennial anni 
versary on the 2oth of November, 1873. T ne parish itself was organized out 
of the parish of Truro, Feb. r, 1765, and was called Fairfax. March 28, 1765, 
a vestry was chosen, consisting of twelve gentlemen, one of whom was Col. 
George Washington. There were two Churches then in the parish, one at 
the Falls of the Potomac, and the other in Alexandria. The plans for the 
new Church in Alexandria were prepared in 1767 by James Wren, but the 
building was not completed until Feb. 27, 1773. On that day, ten of the pews 
being offered for sale, Washington bought pew No. 5. The first minister of 
the Church was the Rev. Townsend Dacle ; his salary was 17,280 pounds of to 
bacco. After the Revolution, the Episcopal Church in this country was greatly 



A S MG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



depressed. One of the first persons to set an example of liberality for the 
support of this parish was George Washington. A formal document appears 
upon the vestry-book in which he and seven other gentlemen agree that the 
pews owned by them shall be charged with an annual rental of five pounds 



sterling. In 1811 the 
parish. Among 
to the episcopate 
Rev. George Gris- 




Christ Church, Alexandria, Va. 



Rev. William Meacle became rector of the 
those who followed him after his consecration 
were the Rev. Oliver Morris, Dr. Reul Keith, 
wold, Rev. John McGuire, Rev. Charles Mann, 
Rev. Dr. Dana, Rev. Dr. 
Walker, Rev. Dr. Ran 
dolph, Rev. Dr. McKim, 
Rev. William M. Dame, 
and the present rector. Rev. 
Henderson S uter. Mr. 
Suter has been in charge 
since Sept. 15, 1878. The 
building is one of a pattern 
quite common in Colonial 
times. It is built of bricks, 

the walls being very thick. It has galleries in the interior; but these, how 
ever, are of later construction. The steeple was finished in 1818. Various 
additions and alterations have been made; but even as it is to-day, we get 
some idea of how it appeared to the eyes of George Washington when he 
worshipped within these walls. In 1870 twin tablets were erected in the 
eastern wall of the Church to the memory of George Washington and 
Robert Edward Lee. Besides the Church building, the parish owns a brick 
lecture-room and a rectory. 

THESE AND OTHER OLD-TIME CHURCHES. "Very few 

communities built substantial Churches at the outset ; but as soon as the 
pioneer struggle was over, better places for worship were provided," says 
Edward Eggleston in his article on " Church and Meeting-House before the 
Revolution," published in "The Century Magazine," April, 1887. "In 
Virginia the first Churches were rudely built; but when the primitive build 
ing of mud-daubed logs and sedge-thatched roof fell into disuse, they 
surrounded it with a ditch to protect the ruins from profanation by the 
beasts of the field. This was an act of pure sentiment, for no Colonial 
buildings ever received consecration from a bishop. 

" The Anglican body in America had its roots in England ; and wherever 
there was wealth enough, efforts were made [later on] to follow the prevail 
ing fashion in English ecclesiastical architecture. Some of the early Churches 
succeeded in attaining considerable beauty of an imitative sort." Usually, 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 39 

however, the building was very simple, a rectangle with gabled or hipped 

roof. 

Gothic architecture was not in vogue, nor was it in favor, in Colonial . 
nor for many years after in this country. The Colonial architects were often 
the civil engineer, the retired military and naval officer, who, having seen 
more of the world than their neighbors, were thought to be better able to 
say how the new Church should be built. 

Mr. Eggleston says of the interior of these old buildings, " Within, the 
Churches & of the Establishment often had upon the walls tablets containing 
the Creed, the Lord s Prayer, and the Ten Commandments, usually in gilt 
letters on a sky-blue ground. There was also erected, according to law, a 
table of [forbidden degrees of] marriage to keep the [unmarried] parishioners 
in continual remembrance of whom they might not marry. Stone bap 
tismal fonts were erected in some of the Virginia parishes. Church-bells 
were few in the early days of the Colonies, and the custom was in vogue of 
calling the congregations to. service by beat of drum." 

The Southern parish Churches were probably not warmed at all, and but 
scanty provision was made for heating the buildings in the North. Foot- 
stove s were used in the pews, and a large stove in the vestry-room; but in 
very many buildings the temperature in winter-time was low enough to dis 
courage and scatter any modern congregation accustomed to steam-heat and 
the other luxurious appliances of the buildings of to-day. 

The musical abilities of the Colonists do not appear to have been equal 
to much ornamentation of the services. In many parishes, nothing was 
attempted beyond a few hymn-tunes. In some there was chanting, and 
a few had some instrumental accompaniments. In 1700 there were probably 
not more than six organs in Maryland and Virginia, and there were Churches 
in which there was no singing at all. 

The use of the black Genevan gown and bands was common to all the 
Episcopal ministers while preaching, and some went thus attired through 
the streets on official occasions. The white surplice and black stole, how 
ever, were not then worn by all in conducting services, there being curious 
prejudices against such a usage, especially in Virginia. 

In some of the Colonial Churches, there was a great deal of stately cere 
mony. Speaking of King s Chapel in Boston, the Rev. Henry W. Foote 
says^ " A fragment of the Old World in the New, and taking their tone from 
the echoes of English society in the numerous body of king s officials who 
worshipped there, they constituted a unique feature of life in the Province 
of Massachusetts Bay, gathering, as it were, into a focus all the influences 
from the English Church and Crown." 

On an occasion of public worship, one could see in that Church the rich 
costumes and striking groupings of that picturesque age. 



40 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

Chariots with liveried black footmen brought thither titled gentlemen 
and fine ladies, and the square pews were gay with modes of dress which 
must have brightened the sober New-England life, as the ruffled sleeves 
and powdered wigs and swords, the judges whose robes were thought to 
give dignity and reverence to their high office as they sat upon the bench, 
the scarlet uniforms of British officers in army and navy, all mingling 
with the beauty and fashion which still look down from old family portraits, 
the special flavor of an age very different from our own." 



NOTES. 

1. King s Chapel here spoken of was erected in 1749 to take the place 
of a building which had been long used and often enlarged and repaired. 

The organization dates back to 1689. It continued 
in communion with the Church of England until 1785, 
when the proprietors, at the suggestion of their minis 
ter, Mr. Freeman, voted to alter the Prayer Book by 
striking out such portions as involved the doctrine 
King s Chapel. of the Tri^ty- Ordination being refused to Mr. Free 
man, King s Chapel became a Unitarian society, and 
ceased to be an Episcopal Church, although using parts of the old Liturgy. 

2. The number of the Colonial Episcopal Churches is a surprise to any 
one who has not paid especial attention to the subject. Some of them, too, 
were of great size. One in Virginia, which has somehow gone into the 
possession of a different religious body, seated over twelve hundred people. 
There are others which were ornamented with artistic carvings and statuary, 
erected in memory of departed ones by families of means and culture. 
Many of these old churches have crumbled into ruins, some have been 
modernized, and a few have been renewed in the exact style in which they 
were built. 

3. Persons who desire further information respecting the Colonial Church 
can consult such volumes as the Ven. Dr. Hill s " History of St. Mary s, 
Burlington, N.J. : " Bishop Meade s -Old Churches and Old Families in 
Virginia;" Batchelor s "History of the Eastern Diocese;" Perry s " His 
tory of the American Church:" and the local histories of the counties in 
the different States, found in most public libraries. 




KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



lje 



SOME OF THE CHURCHES BUILT MORE THAiV HALF A CENTURY AGO. 

HE War of the Revolution was almost a 
death-blow to many parishes and missions 
of the Church of England in this country. 
Only a few of them came through that 
long period of trial as prosperous as they 
were at the beginning. The great ma 
jority suffered loss of property, member 
ship, and reputation, and some of them 
were well-nigh swept out of existence. So 
"Teat was the disaster to the Church in 

& 

one of the Colonies, that when a question 
\vas asked of a leading government official 
at the end of the war, he replied, " I do 
not know if any remnant of Episcopacy 
is still alive in this Colony. My opinion 
is that it was all destroyed by the fires 
of the Revolution." 
The missionaries of the English Society for the Propagation of the 
Gospel were in nearly every case loyal to the Crown. Many of the lay 
people were opposed to war because they hoped the oppressive measures of 
the home government would be relieved by a change of policy on the part 
of the King and his ministers, and because they dreaded the principles of 
many of those who were most vehement in their advocacy of strife. Not 
all, however, of the clerical and lay elements in the Church here sided with 
the King. In fact, the success of the Revolution is largely due to the patriot 
ism of American Churchmen. Of the Virginia clergy, Madison, afterwards 
bishop, and some others, were decided partisans of the American cause. 
The majority of the South-Carolina clergymen, fifteen out of twenty, clung 
to their parishes. Dr. William White, the first chaplain of the American 
Congress, and afterwards Bishop of Pennsylvania, was faithful from begin 
ning to the end. Dr. Croes, afterwards Bishop of New Jersey, was an 
officer in the war. Parker, Provoost, and Bass, three of the later bishops, 
\vere on the side of the Colonies. 




Burd Monument, St. Stephen s, 
Philadelphia. 



42 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

Other clergymen and many laymen of the Church, who tit the lirst took 
no active part with the Colonists, afterwards finding that every means of 
conciliation had failed, and every hope of redress had been disappointed, 
threw themselves in with the fortunes of the patriots. But the general 
results of the struggle were at first disastrous to the Church ; and, as ha* 
been before remarked, only a few parishes held their own during the war. 
But, as Bishop Perry remarks, "The issue of the war brought independence to 
the Church. The Episcopate, so stoutly opposed before, so bitterly assailed, 
and so persistently denied, was among the first-fruits of the happy peace." 

In 1 784 the first American bishop, Dr. Samuel Seabury of Connecticut, 
was consecrated at Aberdeen in Scotland, by the non-juring bishops. In 
1787 Dr. William White and Dr. Samuel Provoost were consecrated at 
Lambeth by the English bishops, the former for Pennsylvania and the latter 
for New York. In 1789 the "Constitution of the P rotes tan t Episcopal 
Church in the United States of America" was adopted by representatives 
of the different portions of the Church ; and in 1790 " The Book of Common 
Prayer," substantially as we now have it, and taken almost entirely from the 
English Prayer Book, came into use. Thus " when in the course of Divine 
Providence these American States became independent with respect to civil 
government, their ecclesiastical independence was necessarily included ; 
but," continues the Preface to the Prayer Book, " this Church is far from 
intending to depart from the Church of England in any essential point of 
doctrine, discipline, or worship, or further than local circumstances require." 

Thus newly organized, and adapted to the changed political conditions 
of the country, the Episcopal Church here took up its work. It made but 
slow progress for many years ; it was weak in numbers and in resources ; it 
was confronted by obstacles of every kind ; it had to overcome prejudices 
of the most bitter character. For a long while all it could hope for was 
simply to live. We must not look for much Church-building or for much 
missionary work from the end of the Revolution to 1832, f o that interval 
was the period of recuperation. By degrees, however, new strength came : 
and we see efforts made to re-open some of the abandoned Churches, and to- 
build new ones, to take hold of new opportunities, and to use old ones. 
As population increased, as emigrants arrived, and as new settlements 
were opened, the Church slowly grew in vigor, and sought to adapt itself 
more and more to the needs of the day. 

The following are a few of the Churches built in the early part of this 
century, and may serve as illustrations of styles of architecture once in favor. 

ST. JOHN S CHURCH, Washington, D.C. Said a gentleman well 
known as an eminent lawyer, and an ardent member of the Unitarian body, 
"I am surprised as I notice the large number of men, distinguished in 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



43 



public life, who are in some way identified with the Episcopal Church." 
It would certainly excite still more surprise in one not acquainted with the 
facts, were he to study for the first time the history of old St. John s Church, 
Washington. It may well be said "that most of the noted men occupying 
place and power in civic life, during the past half-century, have usually 

worshipped within its 
walls. It was an es 
tablished usage from 
the days of Madi 
son to the Presi 
dency of Lincoln, 
that the execu 
tive magistrate 
should stated 
ly attend ser 
vice there. 
Before the 
war it was 




St. John s Church, Washington, D.C. 



then, strictly 
speaking, the 

President s Church." The war 
dens of the parish have usually 
been the superior officers of the 
army and navy, and the stained- 
glass windows perpetuate the 
memory of many an officer distinguished in the service of the Government. 
Other persons prominent in the management of the parish have occupied 
high social and civic positions; so that old St. John s has been quite inti 
mately associated with the best portions of the life of the capital, and so 
has had an influence radiating to all parts of the country. 

The parish dates back to 1815. The corner-stone of the Church was 
laid February, 1816. The architect was Mr. B. H. Latrobe. Subsequently 
the building was somewhat altered, and the tower and porch erected. The 
most important changes were made in 1883, when a sanctuary was added, 



44 A SA G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CIIUKCHSS. 

the interior remodelled, and many fine additions put in place. The eye 
cannot glance in any direction without seeing some memorial. Over the 
altar is a brass cross commemorating President Arthur. The chancel 
window is in memory of Mrs. Arthur. The altar and reredos commem 
orate Mr. and Mrs. James S. Thayer. In the west wall is a window in 
memory of Presidents Madison, Monroe, and Van Buren. In the east 
wall another commemorates Tyler, Harrison, and Taylor. Over the south 
gallery is one to Gen. Winfield Scott, and in the north transept is another 
to Bishop Pinkney. A number of other windows commemorate persons 
whose names are well known to large circles. 

The Year Book gives some idea of the great activity of the parish. The 
buildings included in the parish are St. John s Church, St. John s Chapel, 
St. Mary s Chapel, the Church Orphanage, Workingmen s Club, and the 
Parish Hall. In 1887 there were over nine hundred communicants, and the 
offerings for all purposes came to $50,416. The rector, the Rev. W. A. 
Leonard, D.D., is assisted by the Rev. J. M. E. McKee, the Rev. C. M. 
Pyne, and the Rev. William Holden. The following is taken from the 
report for 1887 : " Fidelity in every department of our busy parish is grate 
fully noted, and affectionate lay co-operation during the year has encouraged 
and sustained the clergy in their endeavors. Very liberal gifts have been 
made by individuals to several branches of the work, and valuable real 
estate has been accumulated. The Parish Hall was completed last Lent, and 
its cost of $10,500 paid from the offerings of the congregation and Sunday- 
school. In it we hold our various meetings of guild, auxiliary, Sunday school, 
choir rehearsals, and Bible lectures. Here, too, entertainments of a suitable 
character are permitted. It is, in a word, our parish workshop. St. Mary s 
Church and schoolhouse, for our colored people, were finished, and dedicated 
to God by the Bishop last winter. They are monuments of liberality and 
zeal. Most munificent gifts have been made to this effort by nameless friends, 
and the vestry and congregation of the parish have supplemented the same 
very willingly. A beautiful Church, with full appointments, now stands to do 
the work of grace as Christ hath appointed ; and we are humbly thankful for 
this noble and attractive house of worship. Through the subscriptions of the 
brotherhood, we have enlarged our Workingmen s Club, and have, at pres 
ent, attractive rooms where much good is being accomplished. Valuable 
land adjoining the Church Orphanage was presented to us, as a gift memo 
rial of Capt. Gustavus V. Fox, U.S.N., by his widow; and on it a commodi 
ous building has been erected at a cost of $8,000, of which sum $6,000 was 
donated by the Government. For the maintenance of the orphans, $1,500 
is also granted annually by Congress. A thoughtful and loving presentation 
of a country home for the orphans, situated in Virginia, near Arlington, was 
made to the institution last spring. Here is a good house, with ten acres 



A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 45 

* 

of land, and in a healthy location ; and here the children enjoy a summer 
freedom from the city heats. Thus have we been blessed ; and for it all, 
with the sum of statistics hereafter appended, we render hearty thanks to 
our adorable God." 

St. John s Church is open all day for private devotions. Daily public 
prayers are said at 4 P.M. The Holy Communion is celebrated every 
Sunday, and on festival days in the week. On Sunday afternoons the Even 
ing Prayer is chorally rendered, the music being led by the vested choir of 
the parish. 

ST. GEORGE S CHURCH, Newburgh, N.Y., is one of the oldest 
church organizations in the Diocese of New York. The earliest notice of 
it is an application made to the Propagation Society in England for help 
towards the support of a missionary in 1728. In 1753 there is the record of 
the grant of five hundred acres of land for a glebe ; and at various other 
dates reports were made by the missionaries sent here, of their services 
and successes. The Revolution was a period of great adversity for the 
Church throughout the country, and this parish suffered severely. In 1805 
the parish was re-incorporated. 

In the year 1815 the Rev. John Brown, then but in deacon s orders, 
commenced his ministerial labors at Fishkill. For many successive Sundays 
he held a third service in Newburgh, and later removed there at the solici 
tation of Bishop Hobart, as affording him a larger field of usefulness. 
Deeply imbued with the true missionary spirit, possessed of untiring energy 
and an enduring constitution, he then entered upon "a vigorous, successful, 
and almost unprecedented ministry of sixty-two years." 

Speaking of the time when he began his work in this parish, he said, 
" I stood alone, the only clergyman of the Church between Yonkers and 
Poughkeepsie upon the eastern side of the Hudson, and between the city 
of New York and the town of Catskill on the western." 

The labors of Dr. Brown were not confined to St. George s Parish. He 
was most helpful in organizing new parishes in the neighborhood, and in 
keeping weak parishes alive. 

The services of St. George s Church were first held in the edifice known 
as " The Old Glebe Schoolhouse." It is not known when it ceased to be 
used for this purpose, but probably at the time of the Revolutionary War. 

When the Rev. Dr. Brown camje to the parish, a building was temporarily 
fitted up as a chapel. In the following year the increase of the congrega 
tion made it expedient to provide for their accommodation by the erection 
of a Church edifice. This work proceeded slowly, but steadily, until it was 
finally completed, and solemnly consecrated by the bishop of the diocese, 
Nov. 10, 1819. In 1826 its capacity was increased by the addition of a 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 47 

gallery, and an organ was procured. In 1834 it was again enlarged, and the 
tower was erected, in which a bell was hung. Again, in 1853, it was further 
enlarged and beautified, and a commodious Sunday-school building and 
vestry-room were added. The Church, as originally built, was a substantial 
stone structure, rectangular in form, according to the usage of that early 
period ; but at this time a recessed chancel was added, giving it a more 
churchly appearance, and in this year, also, the old organ was replaced by a 
.new one. The Rev. Dr. Brown resigned Feb. 16. 1878, but was made rector 
emeritus for life. He died Aug. 15, 1884, after a residence of sixty-nine 
years in the parish. 

Feb. 26, 18785 the Rev. Octavius Applegate, who since Nov. 8, 1868, had 
been assistant minister, with full pastoral charge, became rector of the 
parish. 

In 1874 the ladies of St. George s Church projected a home and hospital, 
which was incorporated by the ladies of Newburgh and New Windsor. 
The former being a manufacturing town and a railroad centre, it was a much- 
needed institution, there being no provision on the part of the city for the 
sick and injured. In 1880 the old-fashioned, narrow pews in the Church 
were replaced by more modern and comfortable ones, the chancel was dec 
orated in a chaste and suitable manner, and a beautiful chancel window 
was erected. In 1884 a convenient rectory, in a good location, was pur 
chased, and a new organ for the Church, of fine tone and quality, replaced 
the one hitherto in use. In 1886 the Sunday-school building was again 
enlarged, and other rooms were added, supplying long-felt needs. Dr. 
Applegate, after nearly two decades of untiring and zealous service, still 
continues as the rector of this parish. Part of his successful work has been 
the planting of a mission in the manufacturing part of the town, and the 
construction of a chapel. 

ST. PAUL S CHURCH, Boston, was built in 1820 at a cost of $83,000. 
One of the building committee was Daniel Webster. It stands in one of the 
most busy parts of the city, opposite the Common. 

It is in the Grecian style of architecture, a style quite popular in this 
country fifty years or so ago, and was thought to be a stately edifice in its 
early days. The walls are of gray granite, and the portico and columns are 
of Potomac sandstone. The interior is furnished with high-backed pews, 
not so high as in some of the older Churches, but short people when seated 
almost vanish out of sight in them. The ceiling is a cylindrical vault with 
panels which span the width. It is a great flattened arch, peculiarly well 
fitted for fine acoustic effects. Across the entrance end of the Church is a 
gallery, in which is placed a large organ and the choir. 

The chancel is partly a semi-circular extension for the altar, and a plat- 



4 8 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



form protruding into the nave. The chancel window is of rich stained glass, 
representing St. Paul preaching at Athens. To the right and left are paint 
ings representing the Four Evangelists. The pulpit and lectern are of brass. 
In the rear of the building is the chapel, containing two stories; the lower 
rooms being used for meetings of the parish societies, and the upper room 
being the assembly-room for the Sunday school, etc. 

The situation of St. Paul s makes it a convenient place for special 
services, so that it is often open for missionary and diocesan gatherings. 
Under the rectorship of Dr. Courtney, its doors were thrown open daily for 
private prayer and meditation, and many services were held on week-days 
as well as on Sundays. Great interest has always been associated with the 
Bible classes held here by Dr. Nicholson, Dr. Courtney, and others. They 
were week-day gatherings, one each week, in the Church, open to all for 

the study of the Scrip 
tures, and were largely 
attended, not only by the 
people of the parish, but 
by strangers. 

Another feature of Dr. 
Courtney s ministry was 
the daily Lent and Advent 
lectures delivered by 
different clergymen in 
turn at noon. The time 
occupied by each service 
and lecture was about 
half an hour, so that busi 
ness men and others could 
easily come. Very often 
the building, especially on the week-days in Lent, would be crowded. 

Dr. Courtney s ministry was singularly successful, and ended here to the 
great regret of his friends. He was consecrated Bishop of Nova Scotia, 
April 24, 1888. His predecessors were the Rev. W. W. Newton, the Rev. 
Treadwell Walclen, Drs. Nicholson, Vinton, and Stone, Potter and Jarvis. 
Few names are so well known in the Church at large as the rectors of 
St. Paul s. Dr. Jarvis was the Church s great scholar and historian ; Dr. 
Potter became the grand Bishop of Pennsylvania; Dr. Stone was at the 
head of the Episcopal Theological Seminary in Cambridge ; Dr. Vinton was 
a man of mighty intellect, and a superior preacher; and Mr. Newton has 
become widely known as a writer, and as an enthusiastic advocate of Church 
unity. 

Writing of Dr. Vinton s ministry at St. Paul s, the Rev. Dr. Phillips 




St. Paul s Church, Boston. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 49 

Brooks says : " Dr. Vinton s work may be considered as having done 
more than that of any other man who ever preached in Boston, to bring the 
Episcopal Church into the understanding, the sympathy, and the respect of 
the people. His vigorous mind, great acquirements, commanding character, 
and earnest eloquence made him an influential power in the city and in the 
Church." 

ST. STEPHEN S CHURCH, Philadelphia. In a letter to the Vestry, 
dated Jan. 17, 1825, the Rev. James Montgomery recites the origin of St. 
Stephen s in the following words : 

" In the fall of 1821, having been providentially visited with a lingering 
indisposition, I found considerable satisfaction in employing my thoughts in 
the consideration of the best manner of turning my feeble talents to advan 
tage in the promotion of the interests of the Redeemer s kingdom. Aftei 
some time the idea occurred, that the meeting-house formerly occupied by 
the Methodist congregation, and standing on the site of St. Stephen s, and 
then vacant, might be procured ; in which case I was resolved, as soon as 
my health would enable me, to occupy it on the evening of the Lord s Day. 

" By the kind instrumentality of my friend Mr. Bancker, the house was 
obtained from the worthy owners, the Messrs. Kelly, who generously offered 
me the ^exclusive use of it. My first service in it was celebrated on the 
evening of Jan. 20, 1822. A considerable interest seemed to be excited on 
the subject, which was unequivocally evinced by the numerous and respect 
able attendance with which I was favored. I did not calculate confidently 
upon the results which have been realized ; but I could not but flatter and 
encourage myself with the belief, that there was a possibility, at least, that 
the establishment of another Episcopal Church might be the consequence." 

The movement thus begun resulted . in the purchase of the meeting 
house and the land. William Strickland was engaged as the architect of 
the improvements needed. A corner-stone was laid by Bishop White on 
the 3oth of May, 1822; and what was substantially a new building then 
arose, only a portion of the old building in the rear having been retained. 
The consecration by Bishop White took place Feb. 27, 1823. The cost of 
the building was considerably more than was at first contemplated, but part 
of the debt was removed by selling off lots in the surrounding grounds for 
burial purposes. 

The parish immediately became a prominent one in the city. Its growth 
was steady all through Dr. Montgomery s rectorship of eleven years. It 
was regarded from the very first as a Church in the city where things were 
done in admirable order. The debt was gradually reduced. A new organ 
was built. The walls and windows were decorated. The congregation 
was steady and devout; and Dr. Montgomery lived to see the mission, 



50 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

to which he first ministered in the Methodist meeting-house, one of the 
foremost parishes in that city. 

During Dr. Montgomery s rectorship, there were baptized 450 persons. 
He was succeeded by the Rev. Dr. Henry W. Ducachet of Norfolk, Va., 
whose work began in October, 1834. 

For some years the prosperity of the parish continued ; but the removals 
to other parishes, and many other drawbacks, made it hard to meet the 
expenses. After a little while, however, the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. 
Edward Shippen Burd, especially of the latter, lifted the parish out of its 
financial difficulties, and helped it forward to its later career of usefulness 




St. Stephen s Church, Philadelphia, Penn. 

and success. In 1848, upon the death of Mr. Burd, the provision of his 
will for the erection of a monument in St. Stephen s, to his children, was 
carried out. A small memorial chapel was built off the north wall of the 
Church, between the first and second windows, upon ground presented by 
Dr. Ducachet. In this chapel was placed Steinhauser s group, " The Angel 
of the Resurrection," probably the most exquisite piece of memorial art 
which has yet appeared in America. (See the initial letter on p. 41.) 

From this time forward for some years the history of the parish includes 
a number of munificent deeds and gifts by Mrs. Eliza Howard Burd. In 
1849 she placed in the Church a mural monument in the shape of a recum- 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 51 

bent effigy of her late husband. In the same year she gave some silver 
altar-vessels. In 1850 she paid in full all the debts then resting upon the 
Church. In 1853 she gave the full chime of bells, and the bells were rung 
for the first time on Christmas Day. In 1859 sne gave the font, sculptured 
in Italy by Steinhauser, representing three angels bearing the emblem of our 
Lord s Passion, and supporting by their wings a large marble bowl. The 
cover is of bronze, surmounted by a statuette of St. John the Baptist. 

When Mrs. Burd died in 1860, it was found in her will that the orphan 
age she had started in her lifetime was to be enlarged and carried forward 
by the parish, with resources amounting to about $700,000. In 1862 the 
noble buildings of the Burd Asylum in West Philadelphia were opened, 
and the institution began then its noble work of sheltering orphan girls. Up 
to 1888 it had received one hundred and seventy-one, and has now sixty in 
its care. Her interest in orphan children was no doubt intensified by the 
loss of her own children ; and as God had called her own to Himself, she 
would be a mother now to those who had no one on earth to protect and care 
for them with a mother s care. 

The Burd Asylum with its beautiful grounds, noble buildings, charming 
Chapel, under the management of the warden, the Rev. G. J. Burton, who 
has been in charge since 1872, is an object of special interest among the 
many noble institutions that are found in Philadelphia. 

The work done by Mrs. Burd for St. Stephen s Parish was unique ; for 
not only did she rescue it from great financial embarrassment, but she 
placed it upon a firm foundation, and intrusted it with the means of incal 
culable usefulness in the future. 

But the success of the parish was also due to the ability of the clergy 
and the devotion of the lay people. During Dr. Ducachet s ministry of 
twenty-one years he baptized twelve hundred people, married four hundred 
couples, and buried seven hundred persons. His assistant for a time, and 
then his successor, was the Rev. Dr. William Rudder of Albany. Dr. 
Rudder was rector from 1865 to 1880. With the administration of Dr. Rudder, 
the parish entered upon a period of prosperity of a different kind. His 
marked ability as a preacher soon attracted an attendance at the services 
such as had not been seen before, so that the question of enlarging the 
Church building in some way became very pressing. In 1878 the much- 
needed enlargement of the Church was effected by breaking through the 
north wall, and building the transept and gallery as it now stands. At the 
same time the whole Church was decorated by Mr. Frank Furness, architect, 
of Philadelphia. In this transept was placed the beautiful memorial window 
to Mr. James Magee, for many years a vestryman and warden, by his family. 
The prosperity of the parish continued uninterrupted under Dr. Rudder s 
rectorship, until the time when on Sunday, the 27th of January, 1880, he 



52 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

officiated for the last time, and on Tuesday the 29th he died. During his 
rectorship there were baptized five hundred persons ; confirmed, four hun 
dred and fifty ; marriages, two hundred and twenty-five ; burials, two hundred 
and twenty. After the death of Dr. Rudder, the Parish remained for two 
years without a rector. 

In May, 1881, the Rev. Dr. S. D. McConnell of Middletown, Conn., 
began his work here, and at this date not only maintains the reputation of 
the parish, but makas St. Stephen s even more efficient in many ways. 

The parochial report to the Pennsylvania Convention of 1888 contains 
the following items: Money received from all sources, $51,052; present 
number of communicants, nine hundred ; baptized during the year, sixty- 
four; confirmed, fifty-five. 

The energies of the Parish now are being directed towards the construc 
tion of a new Parish House, which will cost about fifteen thousand dollars 
when finished. 

One of the notable features of the Parish of late years has been the elabo 
rate music rendered under the direction of Mr. Wood, the blind organist, 
whose superb playing and fine taste have made the music very attractive 
and pleasing to all who enjoy an ornate rendering of the Church services. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Louisville, Ky. The side walls of this build 
ing, as they stand, were constructed in 1824, but the front and rear 
walls have several times been removed to enlarge the seating capacity and to 
beautify the architectural features. 

The building accommodates about nine hundred persons, and, although 
no longer in the residence portion of the city, continues to be crowded with 
one of the most devoted and active of the congregations in the diocese. 

The parish dates back to 1823, when some leading laymen united to 
form an organization and to build a Church. They carried their work on 
without the presence of a clergyman, and without public services, until the 
building was ready for use. After some years of struggling the parish 
gained great prosperity, especially under the ministry of the Rev. Dr. David 
C. Page, and the Rev. William Jackson. During the rectorship of the latter 
a new parish, St. Paul s, was organized to meet the needs of the Church 
folk in Louisville ; but the new movement depleted the old parish so consid 
erably that for some years Christ Church was again quite feeble. In 1840 
the Rev. Dr. Thomas C. Pitkin became the rector, and the tide of pros 
perity again returned. In 1844 there began the remarkable ministry of the 
Rev. Dr. James Craik, which continued for thirty-eight years, ending with 
his entering into rest June 9, 1882. The progress and influence of the 
parish under the leadership of this saintly man have been almost unpre 
cedented in this country. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



53 



His great ability, his laborious life, and his personal example brought 
ubout results of the most gratifying character. 

He taught his congregation to do good to others in the name of the 
Lord; and the visible results to-day are new parishes in other places, 
the Orphanage of the Good Shepherd, the Home of the Innocents, and the 
Church Home and In 
firmary. He grew to 
be a man of command 
ing influence in the dio 
cese, and five times held 
the office of president 
of the House of Clerical 
and Lay Deputies of the 
General Convention, 
the highest office that 
can be held by a priest 
in the American Church. 
His influence was still 
further spread by his 
published works, which 
have not only edified the 
Christian world, but 
have very materially 
moulded Christian opin 
ion. In 1870 the Rev. 
Dr. John N. Norton 
became the associate 
of Dr. Craik in the work 
of Christ Church, and 
proved himself to be a 
most noble helper. He 
was an interesting preacher, an indefatigable worker, and a friend of the 
poor. As an author his name is known everywhere. He served for eleven 
years, passing into life eternal on the i8th of January, 1881. Dr. Craik 
survived his fellow-worker only eighteen months. His last assistant was 
his own son, the Rev. Charles Ewell Craik, who succeeded to the rectorship 
in 1882, and now continues most creditably the good work of the men who 
preceded him. In grateful memory of Dr. Craik a member of the parish 
has given a splendid four-story fire-proof building, costing one hundred 
thousand dollars, as a Church Home and Infirmary. Dr. Norton s memory 
is kept alive by a building which he erected at his own expense for the use 
of the colored people. It is known as the Church of Our Merciful Saviour. 




Christ Church, Louisville, Ky. 



54 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

ST. LUKE S CHURCH, Rochester, N.Y., is the mother parish of 
Rochester. There are now nine other Churches, all but two of which are 
largely indebted to St. Luke s for their inception and establishment. This 
parish was organized by the Rev. Henry U. Onderdonk, " rector of St. 
John s Church, Canandaigua, and missionary in parts adjacent," on the four 
teenth day of July, 1817. Stated services were held by the Rev. George H. 
Norton and the Rev. A. W. Wejton. Bishop Hobart confirmed four persons 
on his first visitation to the infant parish in September, 1818. In 1820 the 
first Church edifice was erected, being a wooden building, 38 by 46 feet, with 
a bell-tower ; and the Rev. Francis H. Cuming became the first rector. The 
little Church was first occupied on Christmas Day, and was consecrated 
by Bishop Hobart on the zoth of February ensuing. The prosperity of the 
parish, however, soon induced the vestry to resolve upon building a new 
Church ; and, accordingly, the corner-stone of another structure was laid 
May n, 1824, and the old frame Church was moved to the rear of the lot, 
and devoted to Sunday-school uses. The new building, whose general exte 
rior features have in the main been preserved through every enlargement 
and improvement, cost $10,400, and contained an organ built by Hall & 
Erben of New York at an additional expense of $1,300; the instrumental 
music in the old Church having been furnished by a violin, flute, clarionet, 
and bass-viol. The edifice was opened for public worship Sept. 4, 1825. 
The following contemporary description is taken from the first Rochester 
Directory, published in 1827 : 

" The style of the building is Gothic, which has been rigidly observed in 
every particular. The main part of the front is of hewn gray stone from 
Auburn. The two corners of the tower and the corners of the body of the 
house are of red freestone, as are also the water-table, the caps, sills and 
jambs of the windows and doors. The two windows in the tower are strik 
ingly beautiful, containing a proper number of spandrels and branching mul- 
lions, and ornamented with rich and delicate tracery. The tower is sixteen 
feet square, projecting five feet beyond the body of the Church, and rising to 
the height of ninety feet. In the arrangement of the interior will be seen 
convenience, elegance, and a strict economy of room. The ceiling is fin 
ished with intersecting vaulted or groined arches, ornamented with stucco- 
work. In the Church is placed a large and remarkably fine-toned organ." 

The Church was consecrated by Bishop Hobart, Sept. 30, 1826, the cere 
mony having been thus long delayed owing to the bishop s absence in 
Europe. In 1828 an enlargement of the building by an addition of two 
arches at the chancel end was deemed expedient, which improvement 
increased its length by thirty feet. In 1832 a Sunday-school building was 
erected in the rear of the Church, displacing the old wooden structure which 
up to this date had served for Sunday-school purposes. In 1850 a new organ 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



55 



was procured of Appleton & Warren, and a chime of bells placed in the 
tower at a cost of $3,600. In 1855 handsome stained glass was inserted in 




St. Luke s Church, Rochester, N.Y. 

the windows, the interior frescoed, and the tower remodelled as it is shown 
in the cut. The expense of these improvements amounted to over $5,000. 
In 1866 a new and commodious Sunday-school building was completed 
at a cost of $6,000, which has afforded ample facilities for the numerous 
parochial organizations which have since developed the Christian activity of 



56 A l2\ 7 G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

the parish. In this same year the present rector, having just entered upon 
his duties, urged the advisability of thoroughly remodelling and refitting the 
interior of the Church, and placing the whole edifice in the best possible 
condition. The congregation promptly responded with $26,000, part of 
which, however, was applied in liquidation of an existing indebtedness. 
Before this remodelling of the edifice, there was no middle alley and no 
entrance through the tower, the pews had doors as high as the backs of the 
seats ; there were square pews in the gallery, and the building was heated 
with stoves. Steam-heating apparatus was now introduced throughout the 
Church and Sunday-school building; and the organ was renovated, and its 
power increased by several stops. Since that time various permanent 
improvements have been effected (including lighting by electricity) at an 
aggregate cost of $14,800. 

The Christian activities of St. Luke s Parish, which had been gradually 
developing, were consolidated into one organization at Easter, 1882, under 
the title of St. Luke s Guild. This general organization embraces twelve 
chapters, including the brotherhood, each actively at work in its special 
department, under the personal supervision of the rector, and governed by 
the Guild Council, which is constituted of the general officers and the 
chapter representatives. 

St. Luke s has had but seven rectors in the seventy-one years of its 
existence: The Rev. F. H. Cuming ; the Right Rev. Henry J. Whitehouse, 
D.D., late Bishop of Illinois ; the Rev. Dr. T. C. Pitkin ; the Right Rev. 
Henry W. Lee, D.D., late Bishop of Iowa; the Rev. Dr. Benjamin Watson ; 
the Rev. Dr. R. Bethell Claxton ; and the Rev. Dr. Henry Anstice, who is 
still rector after an incumbency of twenty-two and a half years. 

There are at present in the parish 320 families and 650 communicants. 
The working force consists of the rector, an assistant minister, a deaconess, 
and about two hundred active members of the Guild. The harmony and 
prosperity which characterize the parish leave nothing in these respects to be 
desired. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHUXCffES. 



57 




PARISH CHURCHES AND PARISH BUILDINGS. 

N the past fifty years, especially in the latter 
half of that period, there has been great 
activity in the construction of Church 
buildings. The advance made in archi 
tectural skill, and the growth of financial 
ability on the part of many parishes, have 
made it possible to construct better build 
ings than were those of an earlier period. 
Of late years the enlarged opportunities 
for usefulness which have opened out in 
many directions have called for some 
thing beside places for Sunday worship; 
and so there have come into existence 

Font in St. Luke s, Lebanon. ^^ Houses> p arish Buildings, Halls, 

and a variety of like structures. A parish to-day, in an active community, finds 
itself in need of a place of meeting for its Sunday-school and Bible classes, 
for its sewing societies and young men s clubs, and for other branches of its 
parochial organization. In the effort to meet the demand for such accom 
modations, considerable ingenuity has been exhibited by the architects, and 
large sums of money have been spent by vestries and individuals. 

Most of the Churches included in this chapter have their Guild Houses 
or Halls or Parish Buildings, although in some instances it has not been 
possible to represent them in the pictures. 

TRINITY CHURCH, New- York City. Whatever may be the promi 
nence of other parishes, a leading place must be accorded " Old Trinity." 
Its beginning was coincident with the English control of New York: its 
great revenues have been wisely expended for the strengthening of the 
Church at large, and its earnestness has made it a power for good in the life 
of the greatest city in the New World. 

The first services of the English Church in New York date back to 1674, 
when the province of New Amsterdam was ceded by the Dutch to the 
English. These services were held for twenty-three years in the little chapel 



58 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



near the Battery ; but on Sunday, March 13, 1697, a new building was opened. 
It was small, nearly square in shape, very plain, and had a gallery for the 
use of the Governor and his family. In that same year a royal charter was 
secured, establishing "The Parish of Trinity Church." Among its pro 
visions were the following: That the Church 
already erected, with the grounds adjoining, 
enclosed and used as a cemetery, should be the 
parish Church and Churchyard of Trinity Church 
within the city of New York, and that the Bishop 
of London should be the rector, with one as 
sistant in priest s orders and a clerk. Nomi 
nally the rectorship was held by the Bishop 
of London; but the first rector was the Rev. 
William Vesey, who served for nearly fifty years. 
"During his term of office the charter of the 
parish was amended, improved, and cleared of 




Trinity Church, New-York City. 

all defects. Valuable endowments were secured, the benefits of which are 
still enjoyed after the lapse of nearly 200 years. The Church was enlarged 
and beautified, and great numbers of people in the city and vicinity were 
brought from dissent into the communion of the Church." 

The amended charter of 1704 perfected the title of the building and the 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 59 

cemetery, and in 1705 the Crown made a grant of what was known first as 
the " Dominie s Bowery," then as the " Duke s Farm," the " King s Farm," 
and the " Queen s Farm," to have and to hold forever. This tract of land 
extended from Vesey Street to Christopher, along the North River. 1 Mr. 
William H. Rideing, in an article in "Scribner s Magazine" in 1879, says, 
" One has only to look at the map to see the enormous value this gift has 
acquired in the development of the city ; perhaps no other real estate of the 
same extent in the world is worth the same price ; but the rents that could 
be collected from it 174 years ago were not great, and Trinity Parish at 
that time stood in need of money. The revenues of the parish are now 
grossly exaggerated in the popular imagination. If the parish had held to 
itself all the land included in Queen Anne s grant, its financial receipts 
to-day would be immense ; but for nearly a century Trinity continued to give 
away portions of its land to most of the institutions and Churches that asked 
for it, not limiting its beneficence to the city or to religious purposes, and, 
in the case of St. George s alone, contributing over a quarter of a million 
of dollars in money and lands. 

" As a matter of fact, very little of the original grant remains in possession 
of the Church ; so that some twenty-five years ago, when the parish had 
become involved in financial embarrassment through its generosity, a change 
was necessary in the policy hitherto pursued, a change which took effect 
in restricting gifts to the limits of the parish, excepting cases in which poor 
Churches had become dependent on the corporation, and could not exist 
without continued assistance. 

"A large part of the present income of the parish is expended in keeping 
up the estate. About one-tenth is given to poor Churches outside of the 
parish, and not one dollar is hoarded up. A very large sum is paid to 
the city each year in taxes and assessments. The balance is used in 
supporting the parish Church and its chapels and schools and numerous 
institutions of charity and benevolence." 

At frequent intervals, suits at law have been instituted by alleged heirs 
for the purpose of taking the property out of the possession of the parish. 
The claims of these persons to the property have been, however, examined 
by the highest legal authority in the land ; and the titles of the parish have 
been declared again and again to be valid and entirely incontestable. 

As the influence and wealth of the parish were improving, during the 
ministry of Dr. Auchmuty, the Revolution was brewing ; and soon it became 
an offence to pray for the King and the royal family. The troubles increased,, 
so that the Church had to be closed until the return of the British army, 
when it was again opened; but within a few days it was burned down, 
together with the rector s house and charity school. Dr. Auchmuty died in 
1777, and was succeeded by the Rev. Dr. Charles Inglis, who, however, wag 



60 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

banished by the Colonial Government, and his estates were confiscated. 
The Rev. Dr. Samuel Provoost was his successor ; and during his incum 
bency the ritual was revised by omitting the prayers for the King, and the 
Church was rebuilt in 1778 on the former site. This edifice continued in 
use until in 1839 it was found to be unsafe. The present structure is the 
third on the same site. It was completed in 1846 from designs of Richard 
Upjohn, the architect. 

Says Mr. Rideing, < ; There are few persons, believers or infidels, who do 
not possess an affectionate interest in Old Trinity. It exists for one pur 
pose ; and that is expressed, when, above the noise of the traffic that plies 
around it, its chimes ring out their melodious proclamations. In this vicinity 
Broadway is crowded to excess. From early morning until late at night, 
busy or careworn business men hasten past the Church, or pause to talk in 
its shadow; and the fine Gothic pile of brown sandstone commemorating 
the generations associated with it can hardly fail to awaken thoughts of 
more enduring things than the commerce which impels these eager mer 
chants, brokers, and bankers. The doors are ever open in the daytime ; 
and from the feverish traffic of the street, one may transfer himself to the 
calm of the interior, where the light is softened here, or enriched there, by 
filtration through the stained-glass windows. The oaken pews have flowers 
and scrolls carved upon them ; and the groined roof is supported by colon 
nades of sandstone, which in the mellow atmosphere lose all the obduracy 
of their material. The altar and reredos are wrought out of white and red 
marble, which, combined with Caen-stone, mosaics, and cameos, gives the 
effect of folds over folds of lace." 

It is one of the most satisfactory interiors for all those who feel that a 
Church edifice should itself suggest and teach religious truths, and no one 
can enter its portals without realizing that this indeed is a house of God. 

But, however beautiful the building and its appointments, nothing in this 
country can exceed the grandeur of the services held within these walls, 
especially on the great Church festivals. 

Very simple are the daily services, often without music ; but on Sundays 
and great festal days, they are enriched until they surpass description. The 
fame of these services, especially those of Ascension Day, brings together 
great crowds of people, so that the late comer finds not even standing-room. 

The parish has done much for the improvement of Church music in this 
country, especially through the development of her vested choirs of men and 
boys. It was the cradle of choral culture in New York, although it had no 
surpliced choir until 1860, and it was not the first to introduce one in this 
country ; but boys had been used in its choir a full century before they wore 
cottas, and sat in the chancel. 

In 1859, when Dr. Henry S. Cutler became the organist of Trinity, he 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 6 1 

moved his choir from the gallery of the Church to the seats at the head of 
the nave, all the members of the choir being then boys and men. As this 
space was soon needed, the singers, not yet vested, were next seated in 
the chancel; and finally, in 1860, they were vested. The experiment, begun 
twenty-nine years ago, seems to have become a permanent feature of the 
Church and its chapels. Of these chapels, St. George s has become inde 
pendent. The others founded by Trinity are St. Paul s, 1766; St. John s, 
1807; Trinity Chapel, 1855; St. Cornelius, 1868; St. Chrysostom s, 1869; 
St. Augustine s, 1877. 

" Trinity Churchyard, lying like a closed volume alongside the noisiest 
and busiest thoroughfare in America, is in itself an impressive and endearing 
history." It is little noticed by the hurrying multitudes who pass it daily in 
the rush of business; but it is an interesting spot, whether we consider it 
simply as a resting-place for the dead in the shadow of an old Church in the 
heart of a great city, or whether we regard it as connecting the prosperous 
present of this great city with her precarious beginnings. " To spend a few 
minutes in this sacred enclosure is like paying a visit to a former city. 
Genius, beauty, worth, and patriotism, behold! their reminders are on 
every side. Distinguished scions of Europe s nobility, names known to 
fame, leaders in thought and action, our own brave ones, and the ancestors 
of the leaders of to-day have found a resting-place here. The governor, the 
poet, and the soldier share equally in this consecrated spot. You may find 
traces of almost every great period in the history of our country, as you 
study the names carved on these stones." 

There have been nine rectors of Trinity Parish. The present rector is 
the Rev. Dr. Morgan Dix. The average period of services of his predeces 
sors was twenty-five years. He succeeded the Rev. Dr. William Berrian in 
1862, and thus has been over a quarter of a century in this important position. 

Dr. Dix is a scholar, a vigorous speaker, a man of upright life, and has 
the qualities that make a great leader. He is aided by a corps of efficient 
assistants, both clerical and lay ; and the extensive and complicated affairs 
of this great parish, with its chapels, schools, and institutions, are admirably 
managed. 

GRACE CHURCH, New -York City. Two of the landmarks on 
Broadway are " Old Trinity," at the lower end, and Grace Church, near 
Union Square. When the latter parish was organized in 1808, its edifice 
was at the corner of Broadway and Rector Street, quite near Trinity. That 
neighborhood was then the residence portion of the city. In 1844 the pres 
ent location, at the corner of Tenth Street, was selected. It was thought 
to be very far up town, and but few persons ever expected to see the city 
spreading out as it now does miles beyond. 



62 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



The graceful building which has become the centre of so much religious 
interest was first used for services March 7, 1846. It belongs to the " Deco 
rated " or " Middle Pointed " style of architecture, and, with its rectory and 
other buildings, makes a very conspicuous group on one of the most travelled 
of all thoroughfares. Until lately its spire 
was of wood, but it has now been rebuilt of 
stone. The group consists of the Church 
with the rectory and Grace House on the 
north, and a chantry on the south. The 
grounds on the north are very attractively 
laid out, and are always well kept. The 
great east window of the Church is rilled 
with rich stained glass, and represents the 
Church triumphant. It is thirty-four feet 
high and sixteen feet wide. The window, 
the reredos, and the marble tiling are the gift 
of Miss Catharine L. Wolfe, whose bene 
factions to the parish have been most munifi 
cent. She continued the noble generosity 
of her father, and enriched the parish in 




\ 



Grace Church, New-York City. 

various ways. In addition to the gift of Grace House (a building having 
quarters for the assistant, and containing guild-rooms, etc.) and other gifts, 
she bequeathed a fund of $350,000, the income of which is to be devoted to 
the support of public services, and for repairs to the buildings. 

The parish has had many generous helpers in time past. One of the 
most interesting of the recerit benefactions has been the deaconess fund of 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 63 

$10,000, set apart in May, 1877, by two sisters, in memory of their deceased 
brother, to be known as " The Henry P. Campbell Deaconess Fund." Its 
income is for the support of a form of woman s work of which there is great 
need in a large city, and provides ministrations for the poor and suffering, 
and careful personal oversight. 

The parish is in earnest in carrying forward plans of usefulness. First 
of all, it has an open Church. Every day its doors are open for all who 
wish to come in, and rest awhile or pray. A record kept by the custodian 
shows that for a period of six months there were 27,000 week-day visitors, 
or an average of over 150 everyday. Then there is a daily service. In 
addition to the services held on holy days in the Church, there is a Litany 
service on Wednesdays, and daily evening prayers in the chantry. This 
chantry, on the south of the main building, is a complete little Church in 
itself; and the number of those who find their way there to unite in the ser 
vices is steadily increasing. The Eucharist is celebrated every Lord s Day, 
and on all the holy days throughout the year. 

The organizations in the parish are numerous. There are the Sunday- 
school, the Benevolent Society, St. Luke s Association for the care of the 
sick, and the Women s Missionary Society. Grace House, the privileges of 
which are open to all persons connected with Grace Church and Chapel, 
has its library and reading-room. An Industrial School and a day nursery 
and clothing depositories are maintained. The most important adjunct to 
Grace Church is its Chapel on Fourteenth Street, a fine large building, 
with a pastor, a vested hoir, a Sunday-school, a guild, and a company 
of the Knights of Temperance. At Advent, 1887, the parish, including the 
chapel, numbered 1,200 communicants, 1,200 members of its Sunday-schools, 
and 500 members of the Industrial School. The contributions, exclusive of 
the expense account, for a year reached the sum of $45,300, of which $2,900 
went to domestic missions, $2,291 to city missions, and $1,500 to hospitals. 

The parish is now under the charge of the Rev. Dr. William R. Hunt- 
ington, who entered upon his duties in September, 1884. The rector is well 
known throughout the country, because of his active membership in the 
Church Congress and in the Church Temperance Society, and his promi 
nence in the work of the General Convention. He is an author of some 
widely read books, and a preacher of distinguished ability. 

The first rector was the Rev. Dr. Nathaniel Bowen, wno served from 
1808 to 1818. The Rev. James Montgomery, the Rev. Dr. J. M. Wain- 
wright, and the Rev. Dr. Thomas H. Taylor were successively rectors. The 
latter continued in charge from 1834 to 1868, when he was followed by the 
Rev. Dr. Henry C. Potter. Dr. Potter s rectorship ended with his conse 
cration as assistant bishop of New York in 1883. 



64 A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

THE CHURCH OF THE EPIPHANY, Washington, D.C. The 
engraving gives but a partial view of the Church of the Epiphany; the tran 
septs, the large recessed chancel, and the guild and Sunday-school building 
being hidden from view. The structure is of brick, with stone trimmings^ 
and its history is summed up in the brown-stone tablet set in the wall over 
the main entrance. 

CHURCH OF THE EPIPHANY. 
ERECTED A.D. 1844; ENLARGED, A.D. 1857; REMODELLED, A.D. 1874. 

Whilst the exterior of the Church is not prepossessing, the interior is 
pleasing and harmonious. The auditorium, including the transepts and 
their galleries, will hold fifteen hundred people, whilst the communicants of 
the parish numbered, in 1888, over fifteen hundred souls. The chancel is 
deep and broad, and contains a memorial window which treats in a very 
interesting manner the Scripture event whence the Church takes its name. 
Beneath this window stands a beautiful marble altar. The walls of the 
Church are tinted a buff color, the woodwork is of walnut finish, plain but 
handsome, and the windows of stained glass. The choir gallery extends 
across the front of the Church ; and, in the midst of it, set partly into the 
tower-recess, stands a large organ of conventional form. A very large sum 
of money has been spent in the building and improving the Church. The 
same amount in hand would now build a spacious and far more beautiful 
structure ; but there is a " home-likeness " about Epiphany that is very 
attractive, and the vast congregation that has grown up in it are deeply 
attached to the old Church. 

The parish began as a missionary enterprise, under the care of the Rev. 
Jonathan W. French. The generosity of some of the first parishioners 
nourished the enterprise ; ground was given for the Church at its present 
location, and the first building was erected in 1844, and became the nucleus 
of the structure as it now stands. During the rectorship of the Rev. Charles 
H. Hall, D.D., the Church was enlarged by the addition of the transepts, 
and could scarcely then contain the throngs that attended his preaching and 
his able ministrations. Many interesting episodes could be told of the war 
times, of Epiphany s being used as a hospital, of the occupation by Edwin 
M. Stanton of the pew vacated by Jefferson Davis. Under the Rev. Dr. 
Starkey (now bishop) and the Rev. W. F. Watkins, D.D., the parish con 
tinued to flourish. When the Rev. William Paret, D.D., came to this 
parish, he saw that there were grand possibilities in Epiphany; and these, 
he, by his energy, perseverance, and executive ability during the course of 
his rectorship, made a fact. When he was raised to the Episcopate as 
bishop of Maryland, it was a fitting recognition of his work at Epiphany. 
Under the rectorship of the Rev. Samuel H. Giesy, D.D., the Church 



KING S IfAA DBOOA- OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



maintained her pre-eminence among the Churches of Maryland, and her 
high position among those of the whole country. Struck down in December, 
1887, by a fatal but linger 
ing illness, Dr. Giesy en 
tered into rest in May, 1888, 
after a brief rectorship of 
about four years, beloved 
and mourned by all. The 
Church was more prosper 
ous under his ministrations 
than at any previous pe 
riod. During the last few 
years of her existence, the 
Church of the Epiphany 
has vastly increased in 
numbers, influence, and 
power. Though not a rich 
parish, there is, perhaps, 
none stronger in ways and 
works to do good. All 
branches of Church life and 
enterprise are represented : 
chapel, men s meeting, and 
mothers meeting, guilds, 
sewing-schools, Aid S o- 
ciety, and the like. Epiph 
any Old Ladies Home is 
a beautiful charity, excel 
lently conducted and main 
tained. The Lenthall Home 
for Widows is also a most 
excellent enterprise con 
nected with t h e parish. 
The vestrymen are men 




The Church of the Epiphany, Washington, D.C. 



" known and approved," faithful and sincere. The parish is united. There 
is, perhaps, no Church in the country where the personal power, spiritual and 
intellectual, of a rector, is capable of producing wider and greater results. 

ST. MARK S CHURCH, Frankford, Philadelphia. Very few parishes 
have become so well known throughout the country as St. Mark s. The 
interest which has in late years been awakened in parochial organizations and 
in other measures for reaching the people has directed especial attention 



66 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



to the noble work done in this parish among the laboring classes. The 
parish is in the midst of mills and factories, and has proven, not only 
that the Episcopal Church can reach all sorts and conditions of men, but 
that it is emphatically the vvorkingman s Church. 




St. Mark s Church, Frankford, Philadelphia, Penn. 

Services were held in Frankford as far back as 1754 by the rectors of 
the neighboring Oxford parish, but no attempt was made to establish a per 
manent mission. Meanwhile the village increased in numbers, and many 
English families settled there, seeking employment in the manufactories 
which had been established. 



A JNG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 6? 

In 1832 the cholera, then raging in Philadelphia, sent many families to 
reside in the rural districts, a number going to Frankford. Among these 
"was a zealous member of the Church, Mrs. Mary Glen, a communicant of 
St. Peter s, Philadelphia, who, guided by the Holy Spirit, determined in 
conjunction with others resident in the town to establish a Sunday school. 
They hired a room; and in the autumn of that year, 1832, calling in as many 
of the children as they could reach, with some of the parents also, they held 
their first service with Prayer-Book in hand, and laid the foundation of the 
present St. Mark s. The regular service was soon introduced ; and the little 
gathering was ministered to by the Rev. George Sheets of Trinity Church, 
Oxford, who, as rector of the parish, gave the most faithful attendance upon 
this growing mission. At the end of three years the congregation had so 
increased, that it became necessary to find a larger place for services ; and 
a building which had been used as an academy was secured. In 1835 a lot 
of ground \vas purchased, and a small chapel erected thereon. This was 
enlarged two years later, in 1837. 

In 1837 a piece of land on the main street of the town, the " King s 
Highway" of the previous century, was deeded in trust to Trinity Church, 
Oxford, "for the purpose, only and forever, of an Episcopal Church in 
Frankford, to be erected there." This is the lot upon which the present 
St. Mark s Church stands. It is upon the main street in an important part 
of the town. 

The parish was organized under the name of St. Mark s, July, 1845. 
The present building was consecrated in 1846. The first rector was the 
Rev. Henry S. Spackman. He was succeeded April 10, 1853, by the Rev. 
Dr. Daniel S. Miller, who remained rector until May, 1881. 

During his eventful ministry many successful experiments were made 
for improving the condition of the poor, for interesting working-people in 
the Church, and for utilizing the activities of lay-people. From the first, 
Dr. Miller had the co-operation and help of William Welsh, who became 
the head of the Sunday school, and a leader in other directions. He was 
predominant in every activity possible to a layman. His family was as 
enthusiastic as he ; and their enthusiasm spread to others, so that St. Mark s 
became a model parish in the number, variety, and success of its parochial 
activities. The growth of the congregation has made it necessary to enlarge 
the Church again and again, and the parish has planted missions in different 
neighborhoods to reach those outside. 

The mothers meeting, now so well known in many parishes, was started 
here in 1860 by Mrs. William Welsh. The clothing-clubs, saving-clubs, 
sewing-clubs, and the like, and the many visits made to the homes of the 
people, resulted in the wonderful success of the mothers meeting. The 
Bible-class for men, also established by Mrs. Welsh, became very efficient 



68 A /*VG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

and popular. The plans for reaching and benefiting the condition of the 
operatives in the mills, the efforts for bringing together the congregation in 
friendly relationship, the schemes for promoting a genuine brotherhood, have 
resulted in developing such strength and numbers as are rarely seen in a 
parish of the Episcopal Church. The present number of communicants is 
1,266 ; the Sunday school numbers many hundreds, and the parochial clubs 
and societies have a very large membership. 

The Rev. Dr. Miller, upon his resignation in 1881, was succeeded by the 
Rev. Robert C. Booth, under whose ministry the prosperity of the parish has 
continued. The Church building has been of late entirely repaired and 
decorated, and a choir of men and boys has been formed. 

THE CHURCH OF THE TRANSFIGURATION, New- York City 
("The Little Church around the Corner"). Some years ago a request 
-was made of the minister of a certain congregation in New- York City, to 
perform the funeral services over the remains of an actor. The request was 
refused. The minister was unwilling to have his place of worship used, 
because the deceased person was an actor. " But," said he to the persons 
making the application, "there is a little church around the corner. The 
clergy there may be willing to conduct the service." They were willing; 
and this little incident in the history of the Church of the Transfiguration 
the bringing the body of the actor there for burial after the last rites of 
the Christian Church had been refused elsewhere drew out towards the 
Church of the Transfiguration the most kindly and tender feelings, and 
caused it to become known far and wide, at home and abroad, as " The 
Little Church around the Corner." It was a very simple thing to give 
Christian burial to a baptized man who had not laid violent hands on him 
self, and who had not died excommunicate. The same thing had been done 
again and again in the case of actors, and of all sorts and conditions of men. 
The clergy of the Transfiguration felt themselves bound to administer the 
consolations of religion to the families and friends of the members of 
the dramatic calling, as well as to members of other callings, and knew no 
reason for refusing to do it in this instance. But the circumstances of this 
particular case became known, and awakened great interest as the matter 
was discussed. The churlish act of the minister whose views were so narrow 
formed the dark background against which the kindly but unpretentious act 
of the rector of the Transfiguration stood out brightly. The members of the 
dramatic and musical circles were particularly interested: and kindly hearts 
among them stretched forth their open hands with generous gifts, which as 
speedily as received were applied by the rector of the Church for the relief 
of the needy, and in works of beneficence. "The Little Church around the 
Corner" became popular among the members of this calling, many of whom 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



69 



began to attend its services, and to ask in various ways for the ministrations 
of its clergy. 

But its popularity was not confined to any one class. Previously well 
known for its activity as a parish, it now only became still better known. 
Entirely apart from this incident of the actor s funeral, and the subse 
quent increase thereby of friendly feelings and deeds on the part of so many 
towards this parish, it is really a noteworthy parish, and has an interesting 
historv. 




The Church of the Transfiguration, New-York City. 



It has had but one rector from the time the first service was held down 
to the present day. The Rev. George H. Houghton served for six months 
as the assistant at the Church of the Holy Communion, New York, and then 
began his work of establishing and conducting a parish. He is still its 
earnest head. Rooms for services were fitted up in a house on 24th Street, 
and Mr. Houghton officiated for the first time for the new congregation on 
the first Sunday in October, 1848. For forty years he has gone on with 
this work thus begun. After sixteen months spent in these rooms on 24th 
Street, land for a new building was bought on the north side of 29th Street, 
between Fifth and Madison Avenues ; and a small building was built. The 
new Church was opened March 10, 1850. The peculiarity of this structure 
is, that it represents stages of the growth of the parish ; part being added 



70 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

to part as it was needed, and could be paid for. The portion first built was 
only one-fifth the size of the structure as it stands to-day. 

There is a great contrast between the humble rooms in which the first 
services were held, and the present condition of things ; for now through the 
gateway of the iron fence enclosing a well-kept yard planted with trees and 
flowers, and having its fountain, the worshipper passes into a long, low 
building, that is unlike any other he has ever visited, but which invites him 
to devotion. The walls are covered with paintings, the windows blaze with 
color, the altar is of marble ; and everywhere the eye turns, it sees a 
reminder that this is a house of God. The Church, the little Chapel, and 
the Rectory are embowered with vines. The aim has been to make it a 
place " where all should be reverence ; a place where there should be nothing 
to offend proper taste and religious sensibility, but much to foster them, 
and much through them to lift the soul heavenward." 

The doors of this building are open every day in the year from early 
morning until the evening shadows fall. " The rich in his goodly apparel, 
and the beggar in his rags, may pass without let or hinderance, from morning 
until evening, all the year long, here to kneel for private prayer." " In the 
Chapel at the west end of the Church, at 9 A.M. and 4 P.M., the daily prayers 
of the Church are said, be it winter or summer, be there sunshine or storm." 
" On the altar of the Church there is never a day, alike in July as in January, 
when, at seven o clock in the morning, the one great Sacrifice of Calvary is 
not commemorated. To these services and sacraments all are welcome. 
No day or night there is a night-bell and speaking-tube at the rectory door 
throughout the year but a priest is present to heed the call to the sick 
and dying, and of the sorrowful and the penitent." An open Church, daily 
Eucharists, daily prayers, and clergymen ever ready to minister to the needs 
of others, these are some of the features of the parish. But beside these, 
there are societies and committees for various purposes of charity and benev 
olence, so that this Church is not only a house of worship, but a house of 
mercy. A well-trained vested choir renders the music of the Sunday ser 
vices, and Dr. Houghton is usually assisted by one or more clergymen. To 
perpetuate the work of the parish, an endowment has been started. It 
reaches now over thirty thousand dollars. In addition to the work of the 
parish Church, there is a mission Chapel on Ninth Avenue under the charge 
of the Rev. E. C. Houghton, the rector s nephew. 

The aims the rector of the Transfiguration has had before him for these 
forty years past were well expressed by him in an anniversary sermon a few 
years ago. Said he, " I would see a congregation of high-minded, unselfish, 
honorable, honest, faithful men and women, so observant of their every 
duty to God and to their fellows and to themselves that the very fact of 
their membership here were everywhere a guaranty that they were worthy 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. /I 

of confidence. I would that theirs would be ever the helping hand, the 
kindly word, the tender, sympathizing heart, never the falsehood, the trick, 
the thing mean or cruel or contemptible ; that, when it is said that he or 
she was trained at the Transfiguration, it were the same as to say he or she 
is high-minded, tender-hearted, and open-handed." 

ST. PAUL S CHURCH, Cincinnati, O. The situation and local sur 
roundings of the city have had a peculiar effect upon the three old parishes 




Old St. Paul s Church, Cincinnati, O. 

which were established in its centre. The area of the older part of the 
city has been occupied, or is being occupied, for commercial, railroad, and 
manufacturing purposes. 

The hills to which so many of the people have removed for residence, 
enclose the old city in a semicircle, and are separated from it by their steep 
faces three hundred feet high. On these hills and in some distant suburbs, 
new parishes spring up and grow strong. The material for them has been 
largely drawn from the three old down-town parishes in the past thirty 
years. 



72 A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

For some years it was seen that it was only a question of time, when one 
of the three old parishes in the centre must decline and cease to exist, 
unless endowed, or some special means were used to keep it alive. 

A plan which has been attended with great success has been the union 
of two of these old parishes, St. John s and St. Paul s. This was accom 
plished in 1883. The old parish Church of St. Paul s and its valuable lot, 




New St. Paul s Church, Cincinnati, O. 



occupied for fifty years, were sold; and the congregation removed to St. 
John s, corner Seventh and Plum Streets. 

The proceeds of the sale of the St. Paul s property permitted the refitting 
of the St. John s building, and the putting aside of a partial endowment 
which secures the continuance of services in a good locality for many years 
to come. 

In a sermon delivered on Sunday morning, Dec. 31, 1882, the last of the 
existence of St. John s Parish, Bishop Ja< 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 73 

" The merging of this parish into St. Paul s is a marriage, not a burial. 
It simply changes its name ; and the two, weak apart, become one strong 
endowed Church. I have long felt that such a consummation was the only 
solution of the perplexing problem which the peculiar conditions of our 
Church life in this city pressed upon my mind. The movement towards the 
hill suburbs, of families upon whom our down-town Churches depend for 
support, has rendered it inevitable that we must either lose those Churches 
altogether, or they must provide for their consolidation and endowment. It 
may be said that we lose St. John s. It is true that its corporate existence 
terminates, but the Church in this city is not really the weaker. It must also 
be remembered that the apparent loss of St. John s is the saving and 
establishing of St. Paul s as a permanent and important mission centre for 
the future. The history of St. John s closes with the conveyance of its 
property to St. Paul s, and the dissolution of its parish organization. This 
action does honor to the hearts of the rector and vestry of St. John s, and 
should be appreciated in its full meaning by the recipients of the benefit 
and the whole diocese." 

St. Paul s parish was organized Aug. 15, 1828, when Cincinnati had only 
twenty-five thousand inhabitants. Its first rector was the Rev. Samuel 
Johnson. Among his successors have been the Rev. Benjamin I. Haight ; 
the Rev. H. V. D. Johns ; the Rev. Dr. N. H. Cobb, afterwards Bishop of 
Alabama; the Rev. Dr. G. H. Gillespie, Bishop of Western Michigan ; Rev. 
J. W. Clark, Rev. Samuel Cox, Rev. William A. Fiske, and the Rev. Orlando 
W T itherspoon. Dec. 16, 1877, the Rev. Dr. Samuel Benedict was instituted 
rector of St. Paul s. The Office of Institution was then used, and this was 
said to be only the second occasion of its use in Ohio up to that date. 

The old building was erected in 1835. "It is much admired for its sim 
plicity, symmetry, chasteness, and beauty," said the parochial report of the 
next year, "and is justly esteemed one of the chief ornaments of our city." 
The edifice so esteemed in its day was a rectangle, with square windows, 
white walls, and white flat ceiling. Its front then was a Grecian portico 
with no windows. The seating capacity was for 500, and the cost was 
$35,000. In 1860 it was enlarged and much improved, as will be seen by 
the picture. 

St. John s Church, now in its improved condition known as St. Paul s, 
was built in 1852, the parish of St. John s having been organized in 1849. 
Even at that early day there were remonstrances against the location of a 
new Church so near one already existing. 

The building was two years or more in process of erection, and the cost 
exceeded the estimates. It \vas first occupied in 1852, and was consecrated 
in 1854. The rectors of St. John s have been the Rev. Dr. William R. 
Nicholson, Rev. George A. Heather, Rev. James A. Romans, Rev. Dr. 



74 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

John H. Elliott, Rev. C. B. Davidson, Rev. P. B. Morgan; Rev. Dr. Thomas 
A. Jaggar, afterward Bishop of Southern Ohio; Rev. G. H. Kinsolving, and 
the Rev. Joseph S. Jenckes. Dr. Jenckes was the rector at the time of the 
consolidation with St. Paul s. 

After the consolidation of the parishes, the building underwent many 
changes and improvements, until its interior became one of the most beauti 
ful in the country. The exterior is not much changed, and its towers still 
remain unfinished. Twenty-five thousand dollars were spent upon it. 

The basement was used for services during the year until Christmas Eve, 
1883, when the splendid auditorium was opened by the Bishop. The music 
on that memorable occasion was rendered by the vested choir, then first 
introduced, and now an important feature in the parish. 

With its attractive worship, its faithful rector, Rev. Dr. Benedict, and its 
energetic vestry, St. Paul s has started forth on a new career of usefulness 
that cannot be measured. 

TRINITY CHURCH, New Orleans, La., was the first Episcopal 
Church erected in the then city of Lafayette, a suburb of New Orleans, 
subsequently incorporated with said city, and now called the " Garden 
District," because it is the most desirable residence section, and because 
most of the residences have large flower-gardens or lawns around them. 

Trinity is located in the central portion of the district, upon Jackson 
Avenue. The commodious rectory is situated upon Chestnut Street ; and 
its large lawn connects with that of the Church, forming an L. 

The Church grounds and those of the rectory cover an acre. The Church 
edifice is of brick. Its extreme length from the tower-window to the east 
window is a hundred and forty-nine feet. The Gothic chancel is twenty-five 
feet deep. 

The nave measures 100 feet by 60 feet. The recently erected choir- 
chamber on the north side of the chancel measures 30 feet by 25 feet, with 
a high ceiling ; and is seen from the chancel and the nave through high 
arches. 

The large organ, recently built by the Messrs. J. H. & C. S. Odell of 
New York City, is a superb instrument. The " key-box " is well advanced, 
and is so arranged that the organist faces the singers, who stand between 
him and the front of the organ. 

The baptistery, on the south of the chancel, is entered from the nave 
through a high arch ; it is also entered through the south entrance of the 
Church, and from the chancel and the vestry. 

The ceiling of the Church is of walnut and Louisiana cypress, dressed, 
polished, and oil-finished, and terminates in Gothic coves over the side 
windows. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. ?$ 

There are no pillars in the nave to intercept sound, and no gallery except 
at the west end. 

The acoustic properties are perfect. A person reading in an ordinary 
tone of voice, either at the altar or at the lectern, is distinctly heard through 
out the Church, and the same is true regarding even the softest notes of the 
organ. 

The east window, a memorial of Bishop Leonidas Polk, is considered 
one of the finest specimens of stained-glass work in the United States. It 
contains forty-one figures, all of which appear to be of " life-size " when 
viewed from the nave. 

It represents the Last Supper, the Crucifixion, and the Ascension. 




Trinity Church, New Orleans, La. 

It was made in London, under the immediate supervision of the late 
Bishop Samuel S. Harris, then rector of the parish. 

The committee-rooms and the Sunday-school chapel, infant-room, and 
class-rooms are located in the commodious basement. 

The Church lawn, on the south and east sides, is from seventy to a 
hundred and thirty-five feet wide, and two hundred feet deep. 

The edifice was built in 1852 and 1853, during the administration of the 
first rector, the Rev. Alexander F. Dobb, and was enlarged and altered in 
1867, 1873, and 1887. Trinity Parish was chartered July 8, 1847. 

Among its former rectors may be mentioned : the Right Rev. Leonidas 
Polk, S.T.D., first Bishop of Louisiana; the Right Rev. Joseph P. B. 
Wilmer, D.D., second Bishop of Louisiana; the Right Rev. John N- 



7 6 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



Galleher, S.T.D., present Bishop of Louisiana; the Right Rev. Henry N. 

Pierce, D.D., LL.D., Bishop of Arkansas; the Right Rev. John W. 

Beckwith, D.D., Bishop of Georgia; the Right Rev. Samuel S. Harris, 

D.D., L.L.D., late Bishop of Michigan ; and the Right Rev. Hugh Miller 

Thompson, S.T.D., LL.D., Bishop of Mississippi. 

Its Sunday school has given to the Church several ministers, and its 

present superintendent was formerly a pupil in it. Trinity Chapel was 

erected by this parish, and 
placed at the disposal of 
the Bishop as a mission 
Church. The parish main 
tains a flourishing mis 
sion Sunday school for col 
ored children in a distant 
section of the city. The 
Temperance Guild of the 
parish is doing active work, 




St. Paul s Church, Brookline, Mass. 



especially among the sail 
ors who visit the port. 
The interior 
of the Church 
has been much 
beautified dur 
ing the admin 
istration of the 
pre sent rec 
tor, the Rev. 
Randolph H. 

McKim, D. D. ; and further improvements are contemplated in the near 
future. 

ST. PAUL S CHURCH, Brookline, Mass, Brookline is a town 
adjoining Boston. It is a beautiful place, with finely shaded highways, well- 
kept lawns, and many superb residences. 

The Church was built in 1852, and consecrated by the Right Rev. M. 
Eastburn, D.D., then bishop of the diocese, Dec. 23 of the same year. 
Services had been held in the town-hall for a year or two previous, having 
been begun by the present Bishop of Rhode Island, Right Rev. T. M. Clark, 
D.D., then assistant minister of Trinity Church, Boston, on the Greene 
Foundation. The architect of the building was the late Mr. Richard Upjohn 
of New York. He was given carte blanche to build as he pleased ; and it is 
said that so satisfied was he with his success, that he would come to Brook- 
line in after-years, and look long at it with admiration. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. // 

It is a pure Gothic building, and built at a time when there were com 
paratively few buildings of that nature in the country. It was justly 
admired. As it always has been, it is still considered one of the finest and 
prettiest Churches in the country. It is built of the Roxbury pudding-stone, 
trimmed with Nova Scotia sandstone, and was the first instance in which 
the Roxbury pudding-stone was used to any great extent. Its lines outside 
and in are perfect, and its situation at the junction of two streets shows 
it off to the best possible advantage. Its spire, most graceful in its propor 
tions, is considered to be one of the finest extant. 

Its interior in the chancel is finished with a black-walnut wainscoting 
seven feet in height, panelled with Gothic arches corresponding to the 
arches in the nave of the building. Several memorial tablets are on the 
walls ; and there are, as well, some beautiful memorial windows. 

In the year 1886 a beautiful rectory was built east of the Clrj.rch, a 
memorial by his children to their father, Mr. Henry S. Chase. It, too, is 
built of Roxbury pudding-stone and sandstone, and corresponds in its 
general effect to the architecture of the Church. The Rev. Leonard K. 
Storrs is the present rector of the parish. 

ST. MARY S CHURCH, Burlington, N.J. 1 The first English settle 
ment of Burlington was made in 1677, by Quakers. When the Governor s 
business called him to Burlington, the Rev. Mr. Edward Portlock of Perth 
Amboy accompanied him, and held the service of the Church of England, 
and preached in the public town-house. The Rev. Mr. Clayton and the 
Rev. Evan Evans of Christ Church, Philadelphia, frequently came over and 
preached and baptized. 

On the 1 3th of July, 1695, "several persons in and about Burlington, 
together with John Tatham, Edward Hunloke, and Nathaniel Westland," 
bought a piece of land on Wood Street, near Broad, opposite the Friends 
ground, for a "Christian burying-grouncl." On the i6th of September, 
1702, this ground was enlarged, and the whole fenced in. On the 29th of 
October the missionaries. Keith and Talbot, sent by the newly-organized 
Society for Propagating the Gospel, reached Burlington. 

On the 6th of March the land adjoining the " Christian burying-ground " 
on the south, being the lot on the corner of Wood and Broad Streets, was 
bought by Nathaniel Westland, Robert Wheeler, and Hugh Huddy, as 
"ffeoffees in trust, for the erecting of a Church and other buildings," for 
the sum of twenty pounds. Mr. Talbot writes May 3 : 

"I was at Burlington last Lady-day [March 25], and after prayers we 
went to the Ground where they were going to build a Church, and I laid the 

1 Extracts from the historical sketch, by the Ven. George Morgan Hills, D.D., rector of the parish, 
and archdeacon of Burlington. 



78 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

first stone, which I hope will be none other than the House of God and 
Gate of Heaven to the People. God bless this Church and let them prosper 
that love it. We called this Church St. Mary s, it being upon her day." 

Keith says, 

"August 22, Sunday, 1703. I preached at the New Church at Burling 
ton, on II. Samuel 23, 3-4. It was the first Sermon that was Preached in 
that Church." 




St. Mary s Church, Burlington, N.J. 

On April 2, 1704, Nathaniel Westland, Hugh Huddy, Robert Wheeler, 
William Budd, and thirteen other men, sent a petition to England, in which 
they say, 

" The Rev. Mr. John Talbot, whom next to Mr. Keith we have a very 
great esteem for, we beseech your Lordship may receive orders to settle 
with us." 

On Nov. 2, 1705, fifteen of the clergy, including several of the Church 
of Sweden, met in Burlington, when an address was drawn up, signed, and 
sent, under cover to the Bishop of London, to the S. P. G., in which occur 
these words : 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 79 

" The presence and assistance of a Suffragan Bishop is most needful to 
ordain such persons as are fit to be called to serve in the sacred Ministry of 
the Church. We have been deprived of the advantages that might have 
been received of some Presbyterian & Independent Ministers that formerly 
were, and of others that are still willing to conform & receive the Holy 
Character for want of a Bishop to give. The Baptized want to be confirmed." 

This address, with a letter commendatory of Mr. Talbot, was sent by 
his hand to England. He returned to America in 1707-8, and "acquainted 
us that he had presented our humble Address to Her Majesty, and the other 
Letters that we sent ; and that Her Majesty had been graciously pleased to 
give us Lead, and Glass, and Pulpit Cloth, and Altar Cloth, and a Silver 
Chalice, and Salver for the Communion Table and a Brocade Altar Cloth, 
which we received by the hands of the Hon. Col. Robert Quarry. He also 
brought us an Embossed Silver Chalice and Patten, the gift of Madam 
Catharine Bovey, of Flaxley." 

Jan. 25, 1709, a charter was granted to "the Minister, Church Wardens, 
and Vestrymen of the Church of St. Mary in Burlington. 

Oct. 29, 1712, Gov. Hunter, in behalf of the S. P. G., "consummated the 
purchase for ^600 sterling money of England," of " the mansion house and 
lands," for a bishop s seat. A bill was ordered to be draughted to be offered 
in Parliament for establishing bishoprics in America ; but, before its intro 
duction, its great patroness, Queen Anne, died. Mr. Talbot, who for 
twenty years had been incessant in toils, and importunate in appeals, for what 
lie deemed the chief need of the provinces, sailed for England in 1720, 
leaving the parish with ex-Gov. Bass as lay reader. Mr. Talbot was 
absent two years and a half; and at some time previous to the month of 
October, 1722, he was clandestinely consecrated to the office of a bishop by 
Dr. Ralph Taylor, a non-juring bishop, who had been chaplain to the Prot 
estants of the Court of James II., in France. Returning to America the 
same year, Talbot, on the i3th of July, 1724, made over for the use of his 
successors, the rectors of St. Mary s Church forever, more than two hundred 
acres of land, which he had purchased with a legacy of a hundred pounds, 
left by Dr. Frampton, the deprived non-juring Bishop of Gloucester. 

Sept. 7, 1724, Talbot writes : 

" I preach once on Sunday morn and Catechise or Homilize in the after 
noon. I read the prayers of the Church, in the Church, decently, according 
to the order of Morning and Evening Prayer, daily through the year, and 
that is more than is done in any Church that I know, apud Americanos" 

In 1725 Talbot, for refusing to take the oaths recently required, was 
discharged from the service of the S. P. G., and ordered by the governor of 
the Province to " surcease officiating." He died in Burlington, Nov. 29, 
1727, universally beloved and lamented. 



SO A fA G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

Passing over much interesting history which will be found fully detailed 
in Dr. Hill s valuable histories, we reach the rectorship of Bishop Doane. 

The Rev. Dr. Wharton died in 1833, in the eighty-sixth year of his age 
and the thirty-sixth of his rectorship ; being at the time the senior presbyter 
in America. 

He was succeeded in the rectorship by the Right Rev. George W. Doane, 
the newly consecrated Bishop of New Jersey, who had already taken up his 
residence in Burlington (tradition says because Talbot, the first bishop in 
America, had resided here). 

In 1837 St. Mary s Hall, for girls the first institution of its kind in this 
country, probably in the world was founded. 

In 1846 Burlington College was incorporated, and in the same year the 
corner-stone of the new Church fabric of stone was laid. 

On the loth of August, 1854, eight years after its corner-stone was laid, 
the new stone Church, with a spire a hundred and seventy-two feet high, 
was finished and consecrated, and the daily Morning and Evening Prayer 
and weekly and Holy-Day Eucharist established. These have never been 
interrupted to this day, a period of thirty-four years. 

In August, 1870, the Rev. George Morgan Hills was elected rector, and 
instituted by Bishop Odenheimer, Dec. 4. 

The parish now numbers about 372 families (not including the pupils of 
the college and hall), of whom 425 individuals are communicants. The 
Sunday school has 319 pupils, under 28 teachers. The Parish school has 
49 pupils ; the Choral Society, 38 members, including the admirable vested 
choir ; the guild, 129 members. 

It is difficult to find a more beautiful spot than St. Mary s, with its 
quiet churchyard. It suggests thoughts of peace and rest; and the beauti 
ful services held in the graceful building inspire devotion, and teach of 
heavenly things. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Elizabeth, N.J. The edifice of St. John s 
Church being found too small for the congregation, though already twice 
enlarged, several members met in the Sunday-school room on the evening of 
Easter Day (27th of March), 1853, in pursuance of notice given by the 
rector, the Rev. Richard Channing Moore, and organized under the name 
of Christ Church. 

A few days after, the Rev. Eugene Augustus Hoffman was elected 
rector, and on the 23d of April the parish was incorporated. The corner 
stone of the Church was laid on the 23d of August, in the same year, by 
the Bishop of New Jersey, Right Rev. George W. Doane, D.D. A parish 
school was opened on the first day of the following September. 

Richard Upjohn was engaged as architect, and his plans were adopted 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



81 



for a Church, Chapel, and Rectory. The proposed Church has never been 
built. At the consecration of the chapel, July 13, 1854, the daily service 
was instituted; and since that date no clay has passed without the public 
recitation of the offices. In 1857 the weekly celebration of the Holy 
Eucharist was made the rule of the parish, a rule which has never been 
broken. 

The Church is notable as a successful exponent of the free system. 
From the date of the foundation of the parish, it has been supported 

entirely by the weekly offering. 
No money has been raised by fair, 
bazaar, concert, or any other world 
ly means. During the thirty-five 
years of the parish s existence, 
over $250,000 have been laid upon 
the altar as offerings to Almighty 
God. The parish holds valuable 
property, entirely free from debt, 
and has several thousands of 




Christ Church, Elizabeth, N.J. 

dollars invested. The Church is open from morning till night every day, 
and the seats are free to all. 

The parish has had but three rectors. The Rev. Dr. Hoffman (now 
Dean of the General Theological Seminary) resigned June i, 1863. The 
Rev. Stevens Parker became rector in October, 1863, and resigned May i r 
1879. The Rev. Henry H. Oberly, M.A., succeeded Dr. Parker on the 
first day of the following June. 

The Chapel and Rectory were built in 1853-54. In 1870, the congregation 
having outgrown the chapel, the building was enlarged by the addition of 



82 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

central tower, transepts, and choir, and made the permanent Church. It 
was opened on Easter Day, 1871, and was consecrated in Easter Week, 
1878. 

The Church and Rectory are built of brown-stone, Gothic, of the transi 
tional period between Early English and Decorated. The spire and part of 
the south transept are still wanting. The extreme length of the Church is 
a hundred and twenty-five feet, and the width across the transepts is eighty 
feet. Its seating capacity is seven hundred and fifty, exclusive of the choir, 
which contains stalls for clergy and seats for twenty boys and ten men. 
The interior is decorated in polychrome; the woodwork is oak; the choir 
and sanctuary are pave.d with Minton tiles; the gas-fixtures are brass; the 
corona in the choir, the standard lights on the altar-steps, and the hooded 
corona over the pulpit, are of artistic design and excellent workmanship. 

The altar, with its retable and wings, is of Caen-stone, is ten feet long, 
and stands upon three steps. The mensa rests upon a massive block of 
stone, surrounded by a carved arcading. The retable bears on the front the 
lamb and a passion-vine in alto relievo, and is furnished with brass cross, 
candlesticks, and vases. The credence is of carved Caen-stone ; the font 
of Nova-Scotia stone, with oak canopied cover. Some of the stained-glass 
windows are of fine foreign work. The Church is provided with hangings 
and vestments of the ecclesiastical colors, all richly embroidered, and many 
of them jewelled. It has eucharistic vessels of gold and silver. 

To meet the growing needs of the parish, a mission was established in 
March, 1881, and a chapel, named in honor of St. Paul, the patron of the 
guild of men who worked the mission, was built in 1885. 

The parish contains about 400 families, and 619 communicants. It has 
two Sunday schools, and several guilds and societies. The baptisms average 
100 a year; celebrations of the Eucharist, four per week. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Raleigh, N. C. The friends and members of 
the Protestant Episcopal Church organized themselves into a congregation 
by the name of "Christ Church, Raleigh," Aug. i, 1821. The parish was 
formally admitted into union with the Convention of the Diocese in 1822. 
At this time the parish had no rector and only occasional services, being 
dependent upon the ministrations of such clergymen as could be secured 
from time to time. 

In 1823 the Rev. William Mercer Green, afterwards Bishop of Missis 
sippi, officiated monthly. 

After the election of the Rev. John Stark Ravenscroft, D. D., to the 
Episcopate of North Carolina, he took charge of Christ Church as its rector 
on the 2oth of December, 1823. The parish remained in his charge until 
1828, when he removed from Raleigh to Williamsborough. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



When the Bishop first entered upon the charge of the parish, the ser 
vices were held in the room of a house formerly used as a museum, which 
the people had secured and fitted up. 

The first Church edifice was completed in 1829, when it was consecrated 
by the Bishop. It was a wooden structure, and stood a short distance north 
of the present stone Church. It was used, with occasional additions and 
repairs, until 1853, when it was given to the colored Methodists and removed 
to another site. 

The erection of this building was aided by a legacy from the estate of 
Mrs. Mary S. Blount, who died in 1822. The parish is greatly indebted to the 
legacy of its benefactress for its first 
material foundation and structure in 
Raleigh. 

The present building was con 
structed from designs of Upjohn, 
the famous architect. It is of 
granite, and cost, with the excep 
tion of the tower, about eighteen 
thousand dollars. The tower was 
not completed until 1861. The 
total expense of the structure, in 
cluding improvements to the interi 
or, has been about thirty thousand 
dollars. It is one of the most hand 
some and thoroughly satisfactory 
buildings in the Diocese of North 
Carolina. Only to know that it is 
one of Upjohn s churches is to be 
assured of its being graceful and 
convenient. In addition to the 
stone Church, the parish now owns 
a Rectory worth $10,000, and a Chapel worth $2,500, making a property 
valuation of $42,500. The Chapel was built in 1867, but in 1875 was 
removed and enlarged. It serves for the use of the Sunday school, 
for Lenten and other services, and for the week-day charity school of 
the parish. 

The rectors of the parish have been the Rev. C. P. Elliott ; the Rev. G. 
W. Freeman, afterwards Bishop of Arkansas ; the Rev. Dr. R. S. Mason, 
who served for thirty-three years; and the Rev. Dr. M. M. Marshall, the 
present rector, who began his ministry in 1874. The parish has one hun 
dred and five families and about two hundred communicants, and is in a 
most flourishing condition. 




Christ Church, Raleigh, N.C. 



84 A SA G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Oswego, N. Y., is one of the most impressive 
edifices in the State of New York. It is beautifully situated on a park in a 
city which commands the admiration of all who have ever seen it, the city 
standing as it does on the shores of Lake Ontario, and being divided by the 
river of the same name. 

The parish was organized Feb. 26, 1822. The Rev. Amos Pardee, a mis 
sionary of the Church, presided at the meeting, and two wardens and eight 
vestrymen were elected. 




Christ Church, Oswego, N.Y. 

Occasional services were held in the schoolhouse, where the Church was 
organized by the Rev. Mr. Pardee, in connection with his work at other 
missionary stations in the neighborhood. 

At the end of a year Mr. Pardee was transferred to another field of 
labor, and he was not succeeded by any regular missionary for the station 
until 1826. Meanwhile services were sometimes maintained by lay-reading. 

In November, 1826, the Rev. John McCarty entered upon his duties as 
rector. There were at this time eleven communicants of the Church in 
Oswego, and services were regularly held in the court-house up to January, 
1829. In the mean time a stone Church was being erected on the west 
public square, the corner-stone of which was laid on the ninth day of May, 
1828. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF E2USCOPAL CHURCHES. 



In August, 1854, ground was broken, and the foundation of the present 
(the second) edifice laid. Its corner-stone was put in place with appropriate 
ceremonies on the i2th of October, 1854. The Church was opened for 
divine service on Sunday, the 4th of January, 1857. The lot and buildings 
cost the congregation $31,000, about one-third of which remained unpaid 
and in mortgages on the property. 

Under the rectorship of the Rev. Amos B. Beach, D.D., an effort was 
made to raise the indebtedness and secure the consecration of the Church ; 
and so successful was it, that the consecration took place on the twenty- 
ninth day of April, 1865, the Right Rev. A. C. Coxe, D.D., bishop of the 
diocese, officiating. 

The present rector, the Rev. W. L. Parker, assumed charge of the 
parish on the twenty-fourth day of June, 1877; an d under his administration 
some improvements have been made in the Church interior, while a beautiful 
Chapel, adapted for Sunday-school and other parochial purposes, as well as 
for worship, has been built at a cost (including a strip of land) of $12,500. 

ST. PAUL S CHURCH, Baltimore, Md., is the oldest of the numerous 
parishes now in Baltimore. It traces its history as an organization back to 
1692, and as a congregation still farther back to 1682, when the Rev. John 
Yeo officiated for the Church folk in Baltimore County. 

The first rector after the parish was 
organized was the Rev. William Tibbs. 
His successors have been Rev. Jos. Hooper, 
Rev. Benedict Bourdillon, Rev. Thomas 
Chase, Rev. Dr. William West, Rev. Dr. J. 
G. J. Bend, the Right Rev. Dr. James Kemp, 
Rev. Dr. William E. Wyatt, Rev. Dr. Milo 
Mahan, and since December, 1870, the Rev. 
Dr. J. S. B. Hodges. Dr. West was the first 
rector elected by the Vestry, his predeces 
sors having been appointed by the governor 
of the Maryland Province. Mr. Hooper 
and Mr. Bourdillon were buried in the 
Church. Every subsequent deceased rector has been buried in the present 
Parish Cemetery. 

The parish has had five buildings. The first was built on Patapsco Neck 
in 1693, six miles from the present limits of the city. The second was in 
the city s limits, and was erected in 1739. ^ was pulled down during the 
Revolution, or just at its close, except the belfry, which stood until 1817. 
The third was opened in 1784. The fourth, erected in 1817, was destroyed 
by fire April 29, 1854. The fifth, the present building, was consecrated by 




St. Paul s House, Baltimore, Md. 



86 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



Bishop Whittingham, Jan. 10, 1856. The present building is situated almost 
in the heart of the busiest portion of the city. It is one of the largest 
Churches in the city, and the interior is one of the most attractive. A very 
fine vested choir renders the music of the services 
in an exceptionally excellent manner. The Holy 
Communion is celebrated every Sunday, every day 
in Lent and Advent, and on frequent other occa 
sions. The doors of the Church are open every 
day for those who would spend a few minutes in 

prayer or quiet 
meditation. St. 
Paul s also has 
a Rectory and a* 
St. Paul s House. 
In the former the 
House of Bish 
ops met in 1808. 
The latter was 
built from plans 
by Mr. T. Buck 
ler G h e q u i e r, 
architect, in 1886. 

St. Paul s Church, Baltimore, Md. It is a four-story 

building of red 

bricks laid in black mortar, and ornamented with terra-cotta moulding. 
Upon its different floors are rooms for accommodating the many branches 
of the parish organizations. 

ST. JOHN S CHURCH, Troy, N.Y., is one of seven parishes in 
Troy. The mother parish is old St. Paul s. The parish most widely known 
is probably Holy Cross, partly because its rector, the Rev. Dr. Tucker, is 
the editor of a musical edition of the Hymnal, known all over the country 
as Tucker s Hymnal. The Episcopal Church in Troy has been singularly 
prosperous; and St. John s, one of its most successful parishes, was 
organized May 20, 1831. The present Church building was consecrated May 
31, 1855. It stands at the corner of First and Liberty Streets, in a pleasant 
part of the city, upon a lot TOO x 130 feet, the chapel being in the rear. A 
recent purchase of another lot for Rectory and Parish House has been made. 
This new land adds 130 x 125 feet. The* Church building is a brown-stone 
Gothic structure. The tower terminates in a stone spire, and receives a 
chime of very sweet-toned bells. The interior of the building has always 
been attractive, but successive adornments have made it exquisite. The 




KING S HAA T DBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 8/ 

strength of the parish may be judged by the facts that there are four hundred 
and fifty communicants, a flourishing Sunday school, many parish agencies, 
and that contributions of about three hundred and fifty thousand dollars 




St. John s Church, Troy, N.Y. 

have been made in the past twenty-eight years. The present rector, the 
Rev. Thaddeus A. Snively, has been in charge since May i. 1881. Among 
his predecessors were the Rev. Dr. F. L. Norton, Rev. Dr. George H. 
Walsh, and the Rev. Dr. Henry C. Potter, the present bishop of New York. 



88 



A /A G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



The first rector was the Rev. John A. Hicks, who was succeeded by the 
Rev. Dr. Herman Hooker. 

In addition to supporting the work of their own parish, many of the 
members have been very active and liberal in various Christian and philan 
thropic enterprises in the city of Troy and elsewhere. 

ST. PAUL S CHURCH, St. Paul, Minn. The corner-stone of this 
Church was laid July 14, 1857, by the Right Rev. Jackson Kemper, then known 
as the Missionary Bishop of the North- West. The building was first occu 
pied on Christmas Day, 1857. The structure is of stone, and Gothic in 
architecture. It is cruciform in shape, and is greatly admired for its 
symmetry and completeness. Five years ago it was enlarged, and has now 
a seating capacity for five hundred persons. The interior is Churchly and 

, impressive. Six of the 

windows are memorials 
to departed friends. 
The massive altar cross 
of brass is in memory 
of the first rector. The 
reredos, the credence 
table, and the lectern 
are of carved oak, and 
are all memorials. The 
first rector of St. Paul s 
Church was the Rev. 
Andrew B. Paterson, 
D.D., who was elected 
in 1856. After a long 
and faithful service he 
died, March 19, 1876. 
In the summer of the same year the Rev. Elisha T. Thomas, D.D., was 
called to the rectorship, and remained in the position until May, 1887, 
when he was elected assistant bishop of Kansas. The present incumbent, 
the Rev. John Wright, entered upon his duties as rector on the first Sunday 
in August, 1887. The first annual council of the Diocese of Minnesota was 
held in St. Paul s Church, when the constitution and canons were drawn up 
and adopted. In the same place, a year later, June 29, 1859, tne fi rst bishop 
of the diocese was elected, the Right Rev. Henry B. Whipple, D.D., LL.D. 

ST. CLEMENT S CHURCH, Philadelphia, Penn The corner 
stone of this Church was laid May 12, 1856, but the building was not com 
pleted for several years. It was opened for services Jan. i, 1859. ^he 
consecration took place April 12, 1864. 




^ 



St. Paul s Church, St. Paul, Minn. 



A /.VG S HANDBOOK Of EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



8 9 



The first rector was the Rev. Henry S. Spackman. After a number of 
changes in the administration of the parish, it came under the charge of the 
community known as the Order of St. John the Evangelist (the Cowley 
Fathers), Feb. 13, 1876. The present members of the Order in service are : 
the Rev. B. W. Maturin, rector ; the Rev. C. X. Field, the Rev. D. Convers. 
and the Rev. W. H. Longridge, assistants. 




St. Clement s Church, Philadelphia, Penn. 

From the report made to the Convention of the Diocese in 1888, the 
following statistics are taken : 

Present number of communicants, 1,037; average attendance on Sundays, 
1.500 ; members of various Bible classes, 290; Sunday-school scholars, 325 ; 
total expenditures for the year, $24,511. The entire funded debt of the 
parish, amounting to over $35,000, has been subscribed, so that, with pre 
vious contributions for the same purpose, in the ten years the Order has 
been in charge, about $89.000 have been spent in removing the building 
indebtedness. 

The parish is thoroughly organized, and has numerous guilds and societies. 
Among the most important of these is " The Guild of the Iron Cross," 
founded in this parish in 1883. It has 260 names on the list of members, "all 



AT/JVC S JI AND BOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



pledged to temperance, reverence, and chastity, on the basis of Catholic 
doctrine, and bound to do their utmost to rescue the body of Christ from 
degradation by the sins of intemperance, profanity, and impurity." The Iron 
Cross has spread to other places, and has fifty 
branches, making a total membership of over 
twenty-five hundred. There is a " Hospital and 
Dispensary of St. Clement s Church," owning a 
two-story building, and treating over forty-five 
hundred patients last year. The services held in 
the Church are numerous, and those on Sundays 
and on the great festivals are of the most elabor 
ate character. On occasions the fine vested choir 

is aided by in 
strumental per 
formers. The 
Church build 
ing is of dark 
sandstone, and 
of the Roman 
esque order of 
architectu re, 
without col- 
u m n s. The 

chancel is semi-circular, with a large organ so built that half is on each 
side. A low wooden screen divides the chancel from the nave. The 
walls are richly decorated in colors, the adornments of the chancel being 
particularly rich and tasteful. 

ST. ANNE S CHURCH, Annapolis, Md. In 1692 Maryland was 
divided into thirty parishes, or territorial divisions, with metes and bounds. 
One of these included the present site of Annapolis, and subsequently 
received the name of St. Anne s Parish. 

The first Church building was erected of bricks, in 1700. The second 
was finished in 1792, eighteen years after it was begun. It was no feet long 
and 90 feet wide, with a tower. It had 122 pews, two of which were assigned 
to the bachelors of the parish. This building was in use for 66 years, and 
was accidentally destroyed by fire Feb. 14, 1858, to the great regret of all the 
people of the city. 

The present building, after plans of Mr. C. H. Condit, architect, was 
built on the foundations of the former building, with the addition of a large 
semi-circular chancel. It cost in cheap times over $21,500, and subsequently 
$8,000 were added to complete the tower and spire. 




St. Anne s Church, Annapolis, Md. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 9 1 

The building, although inferior to some erected in later years, is remark 
able for its quiet dignity, and its capability for making reverent impressions 
upon all. 

The parish has two chapels and a rectory. The statistics for 1887 show 
that it has 366 communicants, and that there had been 50 baptisms and 67 
confirmations. 

The present rector is the Rev. William S. Southgate, who has been in 
charge since October, 1887. From the time of the first rector, the Rev. 
Peregrine Covey, in 1696, down to Mr. Southgate s period, there were forty 
rectors in one hundred and ninety-two years. 

ST. PETER S CHURCH, Albany, N.Y. St. Peter s, as a parish, 
dates back to 1708, but services were held in Albany by the Rev. Thorough- 
good Moore as early as 1704. In 1714 a plat of ground on State Street 
below Fort Frederick was granted by the Crown for an English Church 
and a cemetery. In 1716 an edifice of blue-stone, 58 feet by 42, was 
built. 

Services were held regularly by different clergymen until the time of the 
Revolution, when the Church was closed except for occasional services. 
When the war was over, the Rev. Thomas Ellison became the rector, May 
i, 1787. He laid the foundations for much of the future prosperity of the 
parish. He died in 1802, just after a contract had been made for a new 
Church on the same site as that occupied by the present building, which is 
the original site of Fort Frederick. The new building was consecrated 
Oct. 4, 1803, the Rev. Frederick Beasley being the rector. This building 
stood until it was succeeded by the present structure, consecrated Oct. 4, 
1860. 

The architects were Upjohn & Co., the designs and superintendence 
being by Mr. R. M. Upjohn. 

Among the rectors of the parish were Bishop Horatio Potter, who served 
from 1833 to 1854, and Bishop William C. Doane, who served from 1867 
to 1869. 

The present rector is the Rev. Dr. Walton W. Battershall. who has been 
in his position since Sept. 29, 1874. Under him the parish has put forth all 
its energies, and has shown great zeal and resource in the organization of 
Christian work, and the improvement of the Church edifice. 

Very much of the pld history of the parish is both interesting and impor 
tant, and an account of the older memorials and possessions of the Church 
would be interesting; but these are passed over to make room for a descrip 
tion of the present splendid Church building. It has its front on State 
Street, the broadest avenue of the city, leading up to the Capitol, and its 
apsidal chancel on Maiden Lane. Its exterior dimensions are 145 by 86 



9 2 



ICING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



feet. It is built of stone from the quarries of Schenectady, and consists of 
nave and aisles terminated by a polygonal apse. Its size, height, massive- 
ness of construction, symmetry of proportion, and the dignity and purity of 



its architectural 
of the foremost 
In 1876 the 
east corner of 
of the late senior 
furnished with a 
by Mr. R. M. 
height, and ex- 
treatment. Its 
sculpt ures of 
octagon, which 
by a graceful 
its huge gar- 
from the 
Gothic, 
than the 



lines, make it unquestionably one 
Gothic churches in the country, 
tower which stands on the south- 
the Church was built as a memorial 
warden, Mr. John Tweddle, and 
fine chime of bells. It was designed 
Upjohn, and is of great mass and 
ceedingly rich in its decorative 
upper portions abound in grotesque 
human faces and animals. The 
contains the stairway, is terminated 
spire ; and the whole tower, with 
goyles thrusting their griffin-forms 
ners, is a noble example of French 
interior of the Church, even more 
rior, gives an impression of size 
and dignity, and 
the treatment 
throughout is 
characterized by 
deep religious 
feeling. The 
large columns 
which support 
the clere-story 
are of gray New- 
. Jerseyfreestone, 
with richly 
carved capitals, 
and the great 
chancel arch 
rises from sim 
ilar columns. 
St. Peter s Church, Albany, N.Y. . , 

The aisles are 

lighted by twelve large windows, with tracery of Decorated Gothic. These 
windows within the last fifteen years have been used as memorials, and 
now stand embellished with glass designed by the best English artists. 
The whole series, while showing a variety in style of treatment, are 
splendid examples of religious art, and give great beauty to the interior. 




KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CPIURCHES. 93 

In 1886 the interior of the Church was decorated, and underwent exten 
sive additions and alterations. Great care was taken that the decoration 
should be Gothic in spirit and detail, and that it should preserve and 
strengthen the religious feeling which the architect has given to the edifice. 
The result has been most happy. The decoration not only gives warmth 
and relief to the walls, but is also thoroughly Churchly in character, and in 
sympathy with the architectural lines of the building. It has, above all, 
the grace of quietness and temperance and unsensuousness, which is the 
crowning virtue of ecclesiastical decoration. 

Before the decoration, the chancel was entirely re-arranged with refer 
ence to the introduction of a vested choir. A large organ was placed in a 
room built for it at the end of the west aisle, and opening to aisle and chancel 
by lofty arches. A choir-room was added, opening into the west aisle by 
large double doors, enclosed in an arched doorway of re4 Corsehill stone. 
A memorial pulpit of the same material exquisitely carved was at the same 
time placed in the Church. The floor of the choir and sanctuary were laid 
in Roman mosaic of harmonious color and Churchly design. The mosaic 
before the steps of the altar presents five figures, the middle one of which 
shows the I. H. S. within interlaced triangles, and the others the traditional 
symbols of the Four Evangelists, the angel, lion, ox, and eagle. A 
memorial altar and reredos and memorial credence table were also erected 
of Caen stone very richly carved. The front of the altar consists of three 
deeply recessed arches rising from columns of tinted marble. Within each 
of the arches, on a carved background of grapes and wheat, is a symbol of 
Christ. The principal feature of the reredos is the large panel above the 
altar, upon which is carved a lofty cross, and on either side the figure of a 
kneeling angel. These figures symbolize the cherubim over the mercy-seat 
of the Ark of the Covenant, and are of life-size in high relief. They are 
the work of Mr. Louis St. Gaudens, and are a noble piece of sculpture, of 
great beauty, and showing in every line tender and devout feeling. Above 
the line of the reredos, the six sides of the apse, exclusive of the organ front, 
are pierced with lancet windows, twenty-four feet in height. The three 
middle windows have been filled with decorated glass. In the upper portion 
each window shows two angels, standing, life size, with musical instruments, 
the series forming an angelic choir encircling the chancel. Underneath the 
angels, and separated from them by arabesque work, are scenes from the 
life of St. Peter. 

The decoration of the Church and the pulpit, brass altar-rail, and mosaic 
floor were designed by Mr. R. W. Gibson of Albany. The credence, altar, 
and reredos, with the exception of the sculptured angels, were designed by 
Mr. Richard M. Upjohn. 

In 1876 the Parish House was built on Lodge Street, opposite the Church. 



94 A fNG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

It is a fine structure of stone, designed for the use of the Sunday school, 
and the charitable and social enterprises of the parish. In connection with 
and supported by the parish, is the St. Peter s Orphans Home. 

GRACE CHURCH, Utica, N.Y. The first Church building belonging 
to this parish was erected in 1839. It was a very unpretentious wooden 
structure with a steeple. There were sixty pews, and a gallery and organ- 
loft. 

Work upon the present Church, after plans by Upjohn, was begun in 
1856. Services were held in it for the first time May 20, 1860, and it was 
consecrated in 1864. The tower, which was left unfinished, was built by the 
parish in 1870. In 1875 the spire was added by Mrs. James Watson Wil 
liam as a memorial of her father and husband, at a cost of $13,000. 

Mrs. William, not content with thus adding to the beauty of the exterior 
of the building, has done many other things for the parish. In 1884 she 
caused the Church floor to be tiled, and a steam furnace 1 to be put in. In 
1885 she erected a portion of the Parish Building, containing vestry-room, 
study, society and guild room ; and is now in 1888 completing the choir- 
room, the cloister, and other parts of this beautiful Parish Building, making 
the appointments remarkably complete. 

The Church is rich in memorials of the departed. The most important 
is the spire, which has been already mentioned. Each of the ten bells in 
the chime is dedicated to the memory of a different person or persons, and 
has its own appropriate inscription. There are fifteen memorial windows of 
various sizes, and some of them of exquisite foreign glass; two stone monu 
ments, the pulpit, the lectern, the altar-desk, and the altar-book are all 
memorials. The font was the gift of Mrs. Samuel Beardsley and her 
friends, but not a memorial; the silver communion-service was given by 
the ladies of the parish in 1848. The large Bible, and books for use in 
the chancel, were from the young men of the congregation in 1860. Alto 
gether the property of the Church will probably not be overestimated at 
a money value of $110,000. 

The jubilee of 1888 is commemorated in a " Semi-Centennial Year 
Book " containing the services, the sermons, addresses, and other features 
of the two-days rejoicings. 

From 1839 to 1884, when the present incumbent, the Rev. Charles T. 
Olmstead, assumed the office, Grace Church had but four rectors : the Rev. 
Albert C. Patterson, the Rev. George Leeds, the Rev. John J. Brandegee, 
and the Rev. Edwin M. Van Deusen. All of them were men of strong 
characteristics, and each of them possessed peculiar gifts of his own, dis 
tinguishing him from all the others, and fitting him most admirably for the 
special work which the Providence of God called him to do in the parish. 



96 A AVG S IfAXDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

Of no one, however, can it be more confidently said that he was fitted 
for the place, than the present rector, the Rev. Mr. Olmstead. However 
ably the parish has been served in the years past, it enjoys to-day the benefit 
of thorough devotedness, great ability, and wise guidance; and it prospers 
accordingly. 

The parish is well organized for worship, for instruction, and for work. 
Beside the vestry and its committees, there is a Parish Guild which affiliates 
all the various organizations once existing in the parislf, and gives oppor 
tunity for work to all who wish to work for Christ and His Church. 

This guild includes fifteen branches ; such as, the Altar Society, the 
vested choir of men and boys, the ladies volunteer choir, the Choristers 
Guild, the St. Andrew s Brotherhood, the Sunday School, etc. 

Beside the work thus done, the parish has a Mission Chapel in another 
part of the city. 

In glancing over the good labors of so many lay people, men and 
women, who have been identified with this parish, the splendid gifts of 
money by Mrs. William show what opportunities there are for persons of 
means elsewhere, not only to beautify the temple of the Lord, but to make 
it more and more truly the house of mercy. What this lady has clone, has 
not checked the work or the zeal of others, but has rendered even more 
work possible in the future. 

MEMORIAL CHURCH OF ST. LUKE THE BELOVED PHY 
SICIAN, Bustleton, Perm. There can scarcely be a better way of com 
memorating the departed than by erecting a House of God. Far better 
than a sculptured monument or an elaborate mausoleum in a cemetery, is a 
building within whose walls the gospel of Christ shall be preached and the 
sacraments of His appointment administered. 

This beautiful Church at Bustleton was erected by Mrs. Pauline E. 
Henry as a memorial of her husband, Bernard Henry, M.D., who died April 
15, 1860. It was built here on account of some associations with the 
neighborhood on the part of Mrs. Henry, and was presented to the parish 
free of debt. 

The first services held in Bustleton were by the Rev. George Sheets. 
Afterwards the Rev. Dr. F. W. Beasley of Lower Dublin officiated, being 
occasionally assisted by other clergymen. These services were held in pri 
vate houses and in Union Hall. In July, 1860, during the rectorship of the 
Rev. Dr. Leighton Coleman, now Bishop of Delaware, ground was bought 
for a new Church, and Mrs. Henry s gift was made. The corner-stone was 
laid Sept. 20, 1860, and the consecration took place Aug. 29, 1861. 

The architects were R. Upjohn & Son of New York. The building is 
of blue stone trimmed with brown stone and brick; the roof is slated. The 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



97 



chancel is apsidal, and is surmounted by a bell gable. The Church is 
regarded as one of the most beautiful small structures in the country. 
Besides the Church, Mrs. Henry has given the Rectory, and has aided in 
the construction of the Chapel and Sunday-school building, beside enrich 
ing the chancel window with beautiful glass. 




Memorial Church of St Luke the Beloved Physician, Bustleton, Penn. 

ST. JOHN S CHURCH, Detroit, Mich. On Dec. 6, 1858, twenty- 
two persons met at the residence of H. P. Baldwin, Esq., to consider the 
formation of a parish and building a chapel. The host of the evening prom 
ised that if seventy-five hundred dollars were raised, he would give the lot 
on Woodward Avenue and High Street, and rebuild the house then standing 
on part of it as a rectory. The subscription was made, and these offers 
were redeemed. The parish was organized Dec. 13, 1858. On April 19, 
1859, tne corner-stone of the chapel was laid, and its consecration took place 
Nov. 19 of the same year. 

The first rector was the Rev. William E. Armitage, who afterwards 
became assistant bishop of Wisconsin. 

It was soon seen that the chapel was too small for the needs of the 
growing congregation, and Mr. Baldwin offered $17,000 if a large Church 
costing as much more was built. 

Jordan & Anderson were engaged as architects; and June 6, 1860, the 
corner-stone of the present large edifice was laid. It was consecrated Dec. 
19, 1861 ; so that in three years from the date of the first meeting, the parish 
found itself in possession of land worth $10,000, a chapel and furnishings 



98 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 




KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 99 

worth $10,576, a rectory worth $7,200, and a church and furnishings worth 
$48,500, making a total of about $70,300, more than half of which amount 
had been given by the benefactor of the parish, H. P. Baldwin, Esq. 

The rectors of the parish have been the Rev. W. E. Armitage, from 1859 
to 1866; Rev. J. J. McCook, from 1867 to 1868; and the Rev. George 
Worthington, D.D., from 1868 to 1885, when he became bishop of Nebraska. 
The present rector is the Rev. Joseph N. Blanchard, who has two assistants. 

The young parish soon became noted for its earnestness and liberality. 
During the twenty-nine years of its existence, it has expended $402,000 for 
parochial purposes, and $183,000 for missionary and charitable work, making 
$585,000, or an average of over $20,000 for each year. 

The number of communicants connected with the parent Church and the 
two .missions attached to it is 1,127. In 1887 a movement was made for the 
erection of a Parish House. A lot was secured adjoining the Church property, 
and the plans of Mr. A. B. Cram of Detroit were adopted. The building 
was begun April, 1888, and has cost about $27,000, exclusive of the lot 
which cost $10,000, and of the furniture. It contains in the basement a 
dining-room, kitchen, cloak-room, store-rooms, and furnace-room. On the 
first floor, the main assembly-room, 51 by 62, seating six hundred, and 
the library and officers rooms. 

On the second floor, infant-class room, five Bible-class rooms ; the latter 
to be used during the week for reading-rooms, sewing-rooms, and young 
men s club-rooms, and other societies of the parish. 

In the rear of the building are the sexton s quarters. The entire struc 
ture measures 1 10 by 54 feet. The total value of the property at this date is 
$175,000. 

The parish has numerous organizations. Among them are the Altar 
Society, the Church Aid Society, the children s sewing-school, the women s 
sewing-school, the Church Union, the Brotherhood, and the Young Women s 
Guild. 

The Eucharist is celebrated every Lord s Day and on all holy days. 
Prayers are said daily in Lent and Advent, and there is a service on 
Wednesday night and Friday morning throughout the year. 

The influence of the parish upon the city and vicinity of Detroit, and 
upon the whole diocese, has been very great, so that it stands out in great 
prominence, and gives promise of a bright future. 

ST. STEPHEN S CHURCH, Providence, R.I. This church is 
situated on George Street, in the choicest part of Providence. On the 
north side lies the beautiful campus of Brown University. Covered on three 
sides with a luxuriant growth of English ivy, shaded by overhanging trees, 
and in an atmosphere of peace and rest wherein almost the only sound is 



100 KING S HANDBOOK OF E PISCO TAL CHURCHES. 

the twittering of the many sparrows which have found them a house 
in the Church s vine-clad walls, St. Stephen s seems indeed a dwelling of 
the Lord of hosts, and speaks only of heavenly things. 

The parish owes its origin to the Rev. Francis Vinton, D.D. In 1837 
he opened a Sunday school in the south part of Providence, under the 
direction of his brother, the Rev. Alexander H. Vinton, D.D., then rector 
of Grace Church, Providence. 

In 1838 a parish was organized, and at the suggestion of the venerable 
Dr. Crocker of St. John s, who presided at the preliminary meeting, was 
named St. Stephen s. In 1839 the ^ ev> Francis Vinton was called to be the 
first rector of the new parish, which, on June 1 1 of that year, was admitted 
into union with the Convention, and in October of the same year was incor 
porated by the Legislature. The first Church building in which St. Stephen s 
congregation worshipped was the little house in which the Sunday school 
began. In 1838 this was purchased by subscription, removed to Thayer 
Street between John Street and Arnold Street, and converted into a 
chapel. 

Land on the corner of Benefit and Transit Streets was soon after bought; 
"and here," says Dr. Vinton, "the first stone of the new Church (marked by 
me) was laid on the i5th of April, 1840." On the 26th of November, 1840, 
the Church was consecrated by the Right Rev. Dr. Griswold, bishop of the 
Eastern Diocese. 

In January, 1840, Mr. Vinton resigned, and was succeeded by the Rev. 
George Leeds, afterwards the well-known and beloved Dr. Leeds of Balti 
more. Mr. Leeds resigned May 10, 1841 ; and after an interval of several 
months, when the parish was in charge of the Rev. John H. Rouse, on 
Sept. 6 the Rev. Henry Waterman was called to the rectorship. Mr. 
Waterman resigned in November, 1845, arj d was followed by the Rev. 
James H. Eames, subsequently an honored doctor of the Church, and long 
the rector of St. Paul s Church, Concord, N.H. 

Mr. Eames resigned in 1849, an d the Rev. Mr. Waterman was recalled 
to the rectorship. His pastorate of twenty-four years has made St. Stephen s 
parish historical in the parochial life of the American Church. Mr. Water 
man s learning, recognized by Columbia College in the bestowal of the 
honorary Doctorate in Theology, his sanctity and his fearless Catholic 
Churchmanship gave his parish wide reputation, and have inshrined his 
name in a high place of lasting remembrance in the bede-roll of those 
illustrious priests and doctors whose memories the American Church must 
ever delight to honor. 

What Dr. Waterman was, and what he did, are best summed up in the 
inscription which the Vestry, in 1883, placed upon the altar and reredos 
erected that year in the Parish Church to his memory: 



KTNG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. IOI 

Part of the inscription upon the altar and reredos of St. Stephen s 
Church, Providence : 

THIS ALTAR AND REREDOS 

ARE CONSECRATED TO THE GREATER GLORY OF 

GOD 

IN GRATEFUL REMEMBRANCE OF 

HENRY WATERMAN, 

Priest and Doctor, 

WHO, BY THE GRACE GIVEN HIM, 

RESTORED TO THE CHURCH IN PROVIDENCE SOME FORFEITED 

TREASURES OF PRIMITIVE PIETY, 

NOTABLY, 

THE DAILY SERVICE IN THE SEASON OF LENT, 

AND 

THE WEEKLY CELEBRATION OF THE 

HOLY EUCHARIST. 

Dr. Waterman resigned the rectorship in 1873, and entered into his rest 
on St. Luke s Day, 1876. The next rector, from 1875 to l8 77 was the Rev. 
Charles William Ward. In April, 1878, the Rev. James Winsor Colwell 
was elected rector, who, after nearly seven years of faithful services which 
greatly endeared him to his people, was followed by the Rev. George 
McClellan Fiske, elected Oct. 20, 1884. On June 6, 1888, Mr. Fiske was 
chosen Bishop of Fond du Lac. 

The present Church edifice of St. Stephen s Parish a grand monument 
of Dr. Waterman s zeal and of God s blessing on his fidelity and labors 
was erected after the plans of Richard Upjohn of New York. The corner 
stone was laid on St. Matthew s Day, 1860, by the Right Rev. Dr. Clark, 
Bishop of Rhode Island; and the completed building was consecrated by 
the same prelate on Feb. 27, 1862. 

The original plans included nave, north and south aisles, chancel, Lady- 
Chapel, tower, and spire, and an adjoining parsonage. The two latter have 
not yet been built. 

It is justly held to be one of the most beautiful of American parish 
Churches, as it certainly is one of the best works of the distinguished archi 
tect who reared it. Its material is a beautiful Rhode-Island graystone. 
The style is Middle Pointed Gothic. Its dimensions are, length, 120 feet; 
width, 80 feet; height, 68 feet from the floor to the roof of the clere-story. 
Massive stone pillars separate the nave from the aisles, and a glass screen 
divides the south aisle from the Lady-Chapel. The proportions of the 
edifice are good, and the lines extremely pleasing. The acoustic properties 
of the Church are well-nigh perfect, a rare feature in Church buildings, 



102 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 




KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 1 03 

and a circumstance which much enhances the triumph achieved by the 
architect of St. Stephen s. The chancel is apsidal, and in 1883 was so 
re-arranged and re-fitted that it is now of conspicuous artistic merit, and of 
unusual ecclesiological correctness. 

In 1885 a Guild House was built on the lot at the east end of the 
Church. It was opened by the rector with an Office of Benediction on 
July 2 of that year. It is hoped to replace this temporary frame building 
by a permanent building of stone, in keeping with the architecture of the 
Church. 

Morning and evening prayers are said daily, and the Eucharist has been 
celebrated every day since Christmas, 1886. 

The organizations of the parish are numerous and varied. A chief dis 
tinction of St. Stephen s for many years has been the excellence of its 
music. One of the first parishes in the United States to introduce a vested 
choir, it has always kept up to a high standard of musical proficiency. Its 
choral celebrations to-day are stately and melodious. 

Providence has now twelve parishes. Of these Grace Church reports 
nearly one thousand communicants, and St. John s about four hundred. 
It is a strong centre of Church life. The residence of the Bishop is here ; 
and there are the two Church institutions, St. Elizabeth s Home, and St. 
Mary s Orphanage. 

The Berkeley School for Boys located here is, however, to be removed 
to Newport in the same Diocese. 

TRINITY CHURCH, Toledo, O. Toledo to-day has a population of 
about sixty-eight thousand people. When Trinity Church was first organized 
there in 1842, there were only about twenty-five hundred people. While 
to-day it is a place of great prosperity, with thriving business establish 
ments, and easy communication with other parts of the world, in 1842 it 
was a muddy, unimproved, unwholesome place, with no wealth, and its 
business greatly embarrassed. 

In the midst of one of the least cheerful stages of the history of Toledo, 
the following paper was handed to Bishop Mcllvaine when he visited the 
town in 1842 : 

" We whose names are hereunto affixed, deeply impressed with the 
importance of the Christian religion, and earnestly wishing to promote its 
holy influence in the hearts and lives of ourselves, our families and neigh 
bors, do hereby associate ourselves together under the name and style of 
the Parish of Trinity Church, in the township of Toledo, county of Lucas, 
and state of Ohio, and by so doing, do adopt the constitution and canons of 
the Protestant Episcopal Church, in the diocese of Ohio, and in communion 
with the same in the United States." 



104 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

The first Church building was completed in 1844 at the cost of about 
$4,000. It was consecrated and used until the present handsome structure 
was completed in 1866. 

The cost of the present stone Church, C. C. Miller, architect, was about 
$47,000. It was begun in 1863, and completed in three years. In 1870 a 
grand organ was put in place at a cost of $6,300. 

In 1875 the parish buildings and Chapel were erected, and furnished 
with ample accommodations for Sunday school, parish school, and parlors 
for society and Church work; and steam-heating was applied to the Church, 




Trinity Church, Toledo, O. 

the whole costing about $25,700. In 1879 the interior of the Church was 
re-decorated and improved at a cost of $3,500. 

The treasurer of the parish, Mr. R. F. Russell, made a careful estimate 
of the amounts of money raised and expended for building purposes, chari 
ties, and current expenses, by Trinity Parish, from 1844 up to May, 1886. 
In his report he says, 

"We have the grand total of over three hundred and sixteen thousand 
dollars, which has been contributed and expended by Trinity Parish, since 
the highly esteemed and venerable Dr. Walbridge first commenced his 
arduous labors in this then uninviting locality ; the good work accomplished 



A JNG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 1 05 

here by him and his worthy successors is manifest and far-reaching ; and we 
thank the Great Head of the Church, that the members of this parish have 
been so fully impressed in the past, with their duty to contribute liberally of 
their means, and will recognize the great responsibility resting on them to 
increase and multiply their good deeds, remembering that to whom much is 
given, large returns are expected. 

" We have no records of the amount contributed by all the ladies 
benevolent societies of the parish, and regret we cannot add a summary of 
the amount expended by the Ladies Dorcas and Relief Society, who have 
contributed many thousand dollars in the past twenty years, in aid of its 
charities and missions, and in furnishing and decorating the Church and 
Chapel." 

From the date of the organization of the vestry in 1842, up to 1848, the 
time that the Rev. H. B. Walbridge was called to the rectorship, thirteen 
clergymen had been elected to this position. 

Some utterly refused to come, and others who came stayed but a short 
time. Dr. Walbridge, however, changed all this record, for he stayed twenty 
years. In his reminiscences he says, 

" It was in March, 1848, one month after having received my first degree 
in Holy Orders from Bishop DeLancey, whilst engaged in missionary 
pioneering among the Alleghany hills of Western New York, that a call to 
the rectorship of Trinity, Toledo, reached me by the mail. If the letter of 
declination which was written the same day had been sent is one of those 
ifs which open to the mind that vast field of mystery over which the irrev 
erent and unbelieving say blind chance, but the reverent and believing more 
wisely and comfortingly confess, the hand of a wise and loving Providence 
bears rule. It was not sent; not because of any wavering inclination or 
hesitation of judgment on the part of the writer : the very slight obstacle of 
inconvenience only prevented its being mailed. That feather s-weight of 
hinderance was the turning force which led me, against my judgment and 
inclination, in the direction wherein (as was afterwards clearly revealed and 
unmistakably confirmed by very plain providential indications) it was God s 
will I should go." 

The results of twenty years of work showed that Providence had indeed 
directed this faithful man to the field. 

In 1869 Rev. Dr. James Mulchahey succeeded him, and carried on the 
work with great devotion, vigor, and success. One of the outgrowths of his 
labors was Calvary Mission, and another was the bringing of Grace Church 
under his supervision. In 1874 he left Toledo, to join the staff of clergy of 
Trinity Church, New York. 

On the 4th of March, 1874, the Rev. Dr. L. Coleman, the present Bishop 
of Delaware, became rector. He stayed until 1879, doing much noble work 



io6 



KING S HAA 7 DBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



for the parish. In five years he had baptized 353 persons, and had added 
346 communicants. The offerings in that period had amounted to over 
$85,000. 

Dr. Coleman was succeeded by the Rev. Edward R. Atwill, D.D., the 
present rector ; and the parish is to-day in a growing and prosperous condition. 

CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY, New York, N.Y. Any one 
who reaches New York City by one of the railroads centering at the Grand 



Central Depot becomes 
existence of Holy 
brick walls and corner 
ture of the neighbor- 
parish was formed when 
the whole neighborhood 
town." To-day the city 
parish is the result of 
Dr. S. H. Tyng, jun., 
lous growth, accom- 
own borders, and doing 
It is now in charge of 
an English clergyman 
He began his work here 




Church of the Holy Trinity, New York, N.Y. 



at once acquainted with the 
Trinity Church. Its variegated 
tower form quite a striking fea- 
hood, and arrest attention. The 
this great railway-station and 
were considered to be far " up 
stretches far beyond. The 
the earnest labors of the Rev. 
and has had an almost marvel- 
plishing great results within its 
much mission-work beyond, 
the Rev. E. Walpole Warren, 
well known as a " Missioner." 
Oct. 2, 1888. His coming has 
been attended by very 
favorable changes. 
There has been a re 
newal and growth of 
an interest which for 
a time seemed declin 
ing, and the starting 
of new agencies for 
work. While Holy 
Trinity Parish has 
been noted for its gen 
eral earnestness, it has 
become prominent in 
three special direc 
tions : First, for the 
active co-operation of 
fered by its lay mem 
bers. 1 1 has had a band 



of faithful workers, who were always ready to assist in any labors that would 
advance the Church s interests. Second, for the pointed, practical character 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



ID/ 



of its pulpit ministrations. The efforts of its clergy have been to bring the 
principles of the Gospel to bear upon the settlement of all questions that 
affect individual duty, and social, business, and national life. The pulpit 
in the parish has accordingly been a source of great power. Third, for the 
decided stand it has taken upon the "evangelical" side in the ecclesiastical 
controversies of the past. It has represented a type of Church manship 
which has numbered many noble adherents, and which has done much to 
keep before the mind of the Church, in general, a high standard of earnest 
devotion. It has brought out, in great clearness, each man s relationship 
towards a personal Saviour. 

IMMANUEL CHURCH, Bellows Falls, Vt. In the year 1798 
Samuel Cutler, M.D., who had been educated a Churchman, formed the idea 
of organizing a parish of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the township of 
Rockingham. 




Immanuel Church, Bellows Falls, Vt. 

Articles of association were drawn by Dr. Cutler, and signed by seven 
teen persons. The parish thus formed held services under the direction 
of transient clergymen and lay-readers, it still being too weak to support 
a resident clergyman. In 1799, measures were taken for securing the income 
of the glebe lands ; there having been, in the original charter of the town, a 
lot of land reserved as a glebe for the Church of England. The parish thus 
obtained an annual income of about seventy dollars, which was used in 
payment of such occasional services as could be procured. 

For a period of eighteen years all services were held at Rockingham 
village, the centre of the township. It seemed evident, however, to those 
interested, that the parish could not increase in numbers and strength in its 



108 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

present locality ; and hence it was resolved to remove the centre of the 
parish to the village of Bellows Falls. 

In the year 1817 the Rev. George T. Chapman became rector of the 
parish ; and during that year means were provided, and a building was 
erected and consecrated and named Immanuel Church. 

In the autumn of 1819 the Rev. Carlton Chase became minister of the 
Church, and in 1823 was elected rector, and continued so until the year 
1844, when he was elected and consecrated Bishop of New Hampshire. 

In 1863 it was decided to erect a new Church building. Plans and 
specifications for a new Gothic Church of stone, capable of seating about 
five hundred persons, were obtained of R. Upjohn Son, architects. The 
Church was completed in 1867; and on Christmas Day in that year the con 
gregation assembled for the first time in the new building, rejoicing in the 
possession of a House of God, beautiful, durable, and convenient. 

The building of the present Church was commenced under the Rev. 
Andrew Oliver, and completed under the rectorate of the Rev. Charles S. 
Hale, who became connected with the Church in 1867. 

In 1882 the present incumbent, the Rev. Warren H. Roberts, was elected 
rector. The Church is built of gray granite, and has been adorned and 
enriched by each rector and vestry, until now it is one of the most beautiful 
and attractive Churches in New England. It consists of nave and aisles, 
chancel, tower, two porches, organ transept, and robing-room. It measures 
50 by 80 feet. The walls are of New-Hampshire granite, rock-faced, irreg 
ular rubble work, with slated roof. The interior is finished with chestnut. 
It is lighted with gas. The windows are of stained glass, rich and very 
beautiful, and many of them memorials ; and the interior of the Church is 
handsomely decorated. 

On the north side of the Church lies the parish cemetery, giving one 
an idea of many of the rural English Churches. The grounds are very 
beautiful. 

Much effort has been made to make every thing connected with the 
Church beautiful and attractive, showing that those who have had the care 
of the Church have tried to make it what the House of God should 
ever be. 

ST. PETER S CHURCH, Baltimore. Baltimore was a city of only 
twenty thousand people when, in 1802, St. Peter s Church was organized. The 
first building was finished in March, 1804, and was consecrated by Bishop 
Claggett, May 27, 1804. This was the third edifice erected by members of 
the Episcopal Church in Baltimore. The first rector was the Rev. George 
Dashiell. He was followed in 1817 by Dr. Henshaw, who subsequently 
became bishop of Rhode Island, being consecrated Aug. n, 1843. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHED. ICX) 

The third rector also became a bishop. The Rev. Dr. Thomas Atkin 
son, after serving this parish from 1843 to 1852, became the rector of Grace 
Church, and soon after was elected the bishop of North Carolina. The 
Rev. James H. Morrison served from 1853 to 1858, when the Rev. Dr. 
George D. Cummins succeeded him. Dr. Cummins became the assistant 
bishop of Kentucky in the spring of 1866, being then the rector of Trinity 
Church, Chicago. 




St. Peter s Church, Baltimore. 

The present rector, the Rev. Julius E. Grammar, the sixth in succession, 
entered upon his duties Oct. i, 1864. 

The old Church was sold in 1868; and on the i6th of September of that 
year, ground was broken for the present building. 

In an address made by Dr. Grammer at the corner-stone laying, April 29, 
1869, it was stated, that in the sixty-four years of the old Church there had 



110 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

gone out from it 3 bishops, 40 presbyters, 30,000 Sunday-school scholars. 
There had been 750 marriages, 7,000 baptisms, 1,131 burials, 1,500 confirmed, 
and the contributions had been $150,000. 

The new Church was completed and occupied in October, 1870. The 
general style of the structure is that of the Norman period of English 
Gothic, freely treated. The general features are massive, the openings 
heavy, semi-circular heads, with deeply recessed jambs, buttresses broad 
and flat. The material is white marble, rock-faced, squared stones, except 
ornamental and mould work, which is all finely worked with the tooth chisel. 
The parish has now about 600 communicants, and over 400 teachers and 
scholars in its Sunday school. It contributes very liberally to missionary 
and benevolent work ; the offerings for these purposes amounting to about 
$10,000 per year. The parish is well organized for Christian work, having 
two Sunday schools, a brotherhood, and various missionary societies. It 
supports an asylum for female children, and has a day school dating from 
1805. 

The corner-stone contained, among other things, a declaration, of which 
the following is an extract : " If ever it should be the will of God that these 
walls should be removed, this foundation overturned, and this deposit brought 
to light, let, it then be known that on this clay this Church is firmly attached 
to the doctrine, discipline, and Worship of the Protestant Episcopal Church 
in these United States, as contained in its Articles, Liturgy, Constitution, 
and Canons; that it adheres with increasing attachment to its Apostolic 
order, under the pure teachings of its Creed and Articles ; to its spiritual 
and scriptural doctrines of the Protestant Reformation in England, and 
counts the sixth and the eleventh Articles of the Church as containing the 
very rule of our faith, and the reason of our Christian hope ; and that, with 
devout gratitude to Almighty God for His favor and blessing upon this 
Church in time past, we unite in praise to His Holy Name, and in fervent 
humble prayer that this Church and Chapel, with its walls and arches, its 
tower and spire, may be to worshipping thousands, none other than the 
House of God and the gate of Heaven. Amen and Amen." 

ST. ANN S CHURCH, Brooklyn. On the 2 3 d of April, 1887, this 
parish celebrated the hundredth anniversary of its incorporation. Tradition 
says that in 1766 there were Episcopal services in Brooklyn, but no parish 
was organized until April 23, 1787. Services were held in 1784 by the Rev. 
George Wright ; and a Church building was secured on Fulton Street, oppo 
site Clark Street. The old name of the parish was " the Episcopal Church 
at Brooklyn." This was changed in 1795 to St. Ann s Church. 

Under the rectorship of the Rev. John Ireland, in 1804, the second build 
ing was constructed. It was of stone, 40 by 60 feet, and was consecrated 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



I I I 



by Bishop Moore, May 30, 1905. It stood on Sands Street, about where 
the bridge entrance now stands. 

This building was damaged by the explosion of a powder-house in its 
vicinity in 1808, and a new and larger Church of brick was built on Washing 
ton Street. It was 66 by 99 feet. Bishop Croes of New Jersey consecrated 
it July 30, 1825. 

The fourth building is the present one, the corner-stone being laid June 
5, 1867. The Church was opened Oct. 20, 1869. In building this magnifi 
cent structure upon this new site in a new neighborhood, the parish incurred 




Old St. Ann s Church, Brooklyn, N.Y. 

a great debt ; and as years passed on, the financial problem became more 
and more difficult, until it was thought the parish would be crushed. When 
others had done what they could, Mr. R. Fulton Cutting, a member of the 
vestry, came forward with a proposition to increase his subscription from 
$10,000 to $70,000 upon two conditions : first, that the whole amount of the 
debt be paid, and second, that the Church be made free. The balance of 
$15,000 was soon raised, and May 7, 1880, the Church was consecrated. 

Speaking of the different buildings which have sheltered the parish, the 
present rector, Dr. Alsop. said. " She began in Mr. Rappelye s rooms ; she 



1 12 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



passed into the larger, if ruder, space found in John Middagh s barn; 
she went then to the barracks left by the British ; then to the frame Union 
Chapel, which became the first Church ; then to the stone building on Sands 
Street; then to the larger brick Church on Washington Street; at last to 
her present stately home." When "the Episcopal Church in Brooklyn" 

began, it was in a village of 
; two thousand people. Now 

: | it is one of many parishes 

\ in a city of eight hundred 
thousand people. With 
doors wide open, with seats 
free, she stands a Church of 
and for the people. High 
and low, rich and poor, are 
equally welcome to her beau 
tiful courts. From 1784 to 
the present, there have been 
fourteen rectors. Three of 
these have been elevated to 
the episcopate, the Rev. 
Dr. Henshaw, the Rev. 
Dr. H. U. Onderdonk, and 
the Rev. Dr. Charles P. 
Mcllvaine. The longest 
period of service was that 
of the Rev. Dr. Benjamin C. 
Cutler, which extended from 
1833 to 1863. The Rev. Dr. 
N. H. Schenck, under whose 
rectorship the new Church 
was built, entered upon his 
duties in 1867, and died in 
1885. The present rector, 
the Rev. Dr. Reese F. 
Alsop, began his ministry 

here May, 1886, and was instituted Nov. 7. 1886. The parish has had in its 
membership a number of distinguished laymen, whose names have become 
well known in social, business, and political circles. There are about 850 
communicants, a Sunday school of 450, and the annual receipts for all 
purposes are about $32,000. 

The organizations of the parish include the Sunday schools, the Brother 
hood, parish guild, sewing school, Girls Friendly, and others. 







New St. Ann s Church, Brooklyn, N.Y. 



KING S PI AND BOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 113 

The parish supports a day-nursery and boarding home for young girls, 
and assists various charities. 

It also owns a burial lot in Greenwood Cemetery, and another in 
Evergreen Cemetery. The vested choir of the Church numbers thirty-five 
members, and is very efficient. 

ST. LUKE S CHURCH, San Francisco, Cal. Col. Homer B. Sprague, 
now President of the University of North Dakota, from whose sketch the 
points in this article are taken, says, " The history of St. Luke s, which now 
has a larger membership than any Episcopal parish on the Pacific Coast, is 
full of instruction and encouragement to those who, in laying foundations, 
are in danger of impatience or despondency." 

The movement for the formation of the new parish began in a conference 
at the house of Mr. J. G. Clark. The first service was held an a school- 
house, March 4, 1866, the Rev. Giles A. Easton officiating. A Sunday 
school was formed the same day under the superintendency of Mr. J. Wig- 
more. The congregation numbered about sixty, and the school began with 
twenty persons. 

The name first adopted for the organization was " St. Andrews." This 
was changed later on to "The Episcopal Mission of Spring Valley," then 
to "The Church of the Nativity," and finally the parish was incorporated as 
" St. Luke s Church, San Francisco, Cal." 

The clergymen in charge from 1866 to 1886 were the Rev. D. J. Lee, the 
Rev. F. A. Barstow, the Rev. J. B. Gray, Rev. E. S. Peake, the Rev. S. G. 
Lines, the Rev. A. D. Miller, and the Rev. F. L. Randolph. 

They who came early to the field found a small congregation in a hall, 
and a meagre support. Thirty-four dollars per month was at one time the 
maximum paid the missionary. There were 23 communicants on Christmas 
Day, 1866. At the Easter communion, 1887, 520 received, out of 650 now 
belonging to the parish. 

Steps were taken in 1868 to erect a free Church, the first of the kind in 
San Francisco; and services were held in the completed building on St. 
Luke s Day, Oct. 18, 1868. 

.The building and grounds cost originally about $7,000. In consequence 
of the debt upon the property, the consecration was deferred until April 13, 
1873, when Bishop Kip solemnly set it apart for its sacred uses. 

After the building had been twice enlarged, it was removed to its present 
location on Van Ness Avenue and Clay Street, and for the third time 
enlarged. On that last occasion, 1884, two hundred sittings were added. 

From time to time the interior has been improved, but especially since 
the incumbency of the present rector, the Rev. W. W. Davis. Among these 
improvements may be noted the memorial altar and reredos, gifts of Mrs. 



114 KING S PI AND BOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

W. L. Merry and Miss M. C. Hill; a credence table, given by Miss Kate 
Laidley; a brass eagle lectern, by Mrs. Frank Pixley; a brass pulpit, by 
the Sunday school ; two light standards, by friends, in memory of Mary 
Wetzlor ; a fine organ costing $3,000 ; enlarged chancel and new transept. 

Last year the parish 
raised and expended 
about $15,000 ; quite 
a contrast with the 
day of small things, 
when the maximum 




St. Luke s Church, San Francisco, Cal. 

was less than $50 per month. The Rev. 
William W. Davis, the present rector, has 
been in charge since Feb. 28, 1886, and 
his ministry has been singularly suc 
cessful. The Sunday school, numbering 
three hundred pupils, has its regular 
choral service preceding the session of 
the classes. The Holy Communion is 
administered every Lord s Day, and the 
roll of communicants has already reached 650. The parish is thoroughly 
organized for work, there being guilds, sewing classes, visiting committees, 
mothers meetings, Girls Friendly Society, Altar Society, Workingmen s 
Club, etc. In May, 1887, a free reading-room, open daily, except Sunday, 
was started, and has been continued under the auspices of the Working- 
men s Club. A vigorous parish paper, known as " St. Luke s Parish Leaflet," 



Memorial Altar and Reredos. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 115 

is issued every month. The Church is free, with about seven hundred 
sittings. The only debt is now being steadily reduced, and will all be met 
this year. Once removed, there must be a fifth enlargement of the present 
building, or the construction of a new one, to meet the demand for seats. 

CHURCH OF THE REDEEMER, Astoria, N.Y. The stone cross 
in the picture marks the resting-place of the remains of the late Cornelius 
R. Trafford, who was a benefactor of this parish. 




Church of the Redeemer, Astoria, N.Y. 

His gift built the tower, and placed in it a chime of ten sweet-toned bells. 
The following lines beautifully commemorate his benefactions : 

" His earth day work is over ; he takes his evening rest ; 
Light lie the turf that covereth his true and kindly breast. 
His memory cannot perish ; it must pass to future times ; 
And who can tell what souls in heaven may bless the Trafford chimes?" 



About $60,000 have been spent by the parish in the erection of the Church 
and Sunday-school house, although the congregation is not a very wealthy 
one. The corner-stone of this Church was laid June 27, 1867, and the first 
service was held in the building, Sexagesima, 1868. The debt being very 
large, the consecration did not take place until Dec. 4, 1879. 

The building will seat about five hundred persons, and the seats are all 
free. The length is 106 feet, and the nave 80 by 35 feet; the chancel 26 by 
20 feet, arranged for the vested choir of the parish. A number of the 



Il6 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

adornments of the building are memorial gifts, including the tiling of the 
chancel and the steps to the altar. 

The schoolhouse cost about $10,000, and is built of dark granite as is 
the Church. It measures 60 by 30 feet, and was finished in 1876, as a 
memorial to Mr. Robert S. Fanning. 

The parish of the Redeemer began Aug. 19, 1866; and on the 2d of 
December, 1866, the Rev. Dr. Edmund D. Cooper became its rector. He 
found there only seventeen communicants : there are now three hundred and 
fifty. He has baptized four hundred persons, and presented as many for 
confirmation. 

The success of the parish is largely due to the courage and perseverance 
of the rector. There have been many difficulties to overcome ; but the record 
of twenty-two years work must be most gratifying, not only to the leader in 
the work, but to the active lay people who have helped. 

ALL SAINTS CHURCH, Providence, R.I.: Henshaw Memorial. - 

On St. Peter s Day, June 29, 1869, Bishop Clark laid the corner-stone of this 
beautiful edifice erected in memory of the Right Rev. John Prentiss Hewley 
Henshaw, D.D., first bishop of Rhode Island after the dissolution of the 
Eastern diocese. 

On the day of its consecration, All Saints , Nov. i, 1875, Bishop 
Lyman delivered the sermon, in which he said, " There is a peculiar interest 
associated with this house. Not only is the beautiful edifice dedicated to 
the worship of Almighty God, but it stands also as a loving and expressive 
memorial of one who so faithfully Discharged the duties of his apostolic office. 

" Few are there who lived with such a single eye to God s glory, or ani 
mated by a holier zeal to declare all the counsel of God. It was impossible 
for any one to come into close fellowship with him without realizing how the 
love of Christ and a devotion to the interests of the Church of Christ filled 
up his thoughts and his heart. 

" Never seeking to spare himself, he finally fell a victim to his untiring 
zeal. He fell with his armor on, going bravely forward in the discharge of 
duties the most laborious and exhausting. Oh ! well does it become us to 
keep in sweet remembrance a life so noble and instructive, and a death so 
peaceful and triumphant. This holy house is just such a memorial as befits 
our departed father. It is a memorial which not only speaks of him, but 
it is one through which he, being dead, may yet speak in the continual agen 
cies here employed for enlarging the kingdom of Christ." 

The present parish of All Saints is the successor of St. Andrew s, and a 
Church by that name was consecrated by Bishop Henshaw in 1846, the Rev. 
Sanford J. Horton being the rector ; but the parish did not prosper, and in 
1853 the Church was closed. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



117 



In 1854 the building was removed to another location, and the Rev. 
Daniel Henshaw, son of the Bishop, was called to the rectorship. 

There were hard struggles for success, but in 1856 it was necessary to 
enlarge the building. 

In 1863, a movement for a new edifice began, and after many difficulties 
resulted in 1869 in the securing of land, the adoption of plans drawn by 
Mr. E. T. Potter, architect, and the erecting of this building. It took some 
time to build it, for it was not used for services until Easter, 1872. One of 




All Saints Church, Providence, R.I.: Henshaw Memorial. 

the features of the parish since 1858 has been its choir of male voices. At 
the time of its formation there were very few of such choirs in this country. 
The choir of All Saints has been remarkable for its excellence, and has 
added greatly to the dignity and beauty of the services. 

One who began a choir-boy here continued in the choir long enough to 
have his own son sing with him as a chorister. Some have been led by their 
connection with this choir into the sacred ministry. 

The Church is adorned with a number of beautiful memorial gifts, among 
them a fine organ, an eagle lectern, a font of Carrara marble, and a richly 
carved reredos. 



Il8 A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

On the walls is a tablet in memory of Airs. Henshaw, the widow of the 
Bishop and mother of the rector, who survived her husband thirty years, and 
who blessed this memorial Church with her benefactions and labors and 
prayers. 

ST. MARK S CHURCH, Mauch Chunk, Penn. (Diocese of Central 
Pennsylvania). The first Church service held in Mauch Chunk was by a 
layman, Mr. William H. Sayre, in the year 1829. Lay services only, were held 
for about five years, when in the year 1834 the Rev. James May, of Wilkes- 
barre, held the first clerical service. The parish was organized in 1835, but 
for several years continued under the charge of the lay reader, receiving 
monthly clerical visits from the rectors of neighboring parishes. 

The first rector was chosen in 1839, the Rev. R. F. Burnham, who 
served but a few months. Since 1840 the following have served in the 
rectorship: the Rev. Peter Russell, from June 2, 1844, to 1855; the Rev. 
Hurley Baldy, from Oct. i, 1860, to July, 1866; the Rev. Leighton Coleman, 
S.T.D., from Dec. 2, 1866, to April, 1874; and the Rev. Marcus Alden 
Tolman, the present incumbent, from Aug. I, 1874. 

The first Church edifice was of stone, in Gothic style, completed in 1845, 
and consecrated July 13, 1852. In 1867 this building was taken down, and 
work on the present beautiful structure was commenced. The plans were 
furnished by the elder Mr. Upjohn, who studied the scenery of this so- 
called " Switzerland of America " in order to adapt the designs to the 
peculiar surroundings. The corner-stone was laid by Bishop Stevens, Sept. 
21, 1867; and the consecration was held by the same Bishop, Nov. 25, 1869. 
The structure is of a gray sandstone, with brown-stone trimmings, and 
stands on a rock-terrace cut in the side of the mountain. The main entrance 
is reached by forty-three stone steps, in three flights, covered by an orna 
mental Gothic porch. The woodwork is of black walnut, the floors of Min- 
ton tiles, and the windows are of richly ornamented stained glass, nearly all 
memorials. The ground plan is the Latin cross. Length, 96 feet ; width 
across transepts, 75 feet; height of nave-roof, 57 feet; height of spire, 135 
feet. In a recess on the south of the chancel there is a very fine organ built 
by Jardine Sons, of New York. It has twenty-eight stops, two manuals, 
with reverse action, and is arranged fora chancel choir. 

The interior decorations in polychrome were designed by E. J. N. Stent, 
of New York, and are exceedingly rich and beautiful. The richest decora 
tion is in the chancel, where crimson, blue, and gold are employed, and an 
elaborate symbolism is made to teach important Christian doctrine. 

All of the furniture of the Church is memorial, elaborate in design, rich 
and costly. The chief of all is the Packer memorial altar and reredos, 
erected in 1880. The altar is of highly polished statuary marble, resting on 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



steps of veined marble. The top is of one slab with inlaid Maltese crosses 
of dark Sienna marble in the centre and corners, and surrounded with a rich 
heavy moulding. It is supported by four columns in front, the shafts of 
which are of dark Sienna marble, with bases and caps of statuary marble 



reredos is built of 
the Middle Pointed 
arrangement it is 
divided by heavy 
inscription, and 
the structure, are 
scenes from Holy 
in high relief, about 
stalls and desks are 



carved in natural foliage. The 
Caen stone, elaborately worked, in 
style of architecture. In general 
composed vertically of three bays, 
buttresses. Above the line of 
forming the principal features of 
three groups of figures representing 
Scripture. The figures are carved 
three-fourths life size. The choir 
of polished brass 
and butternut- 
wood, and are in 
memory of Harry 
Eldred Packer. 
The pulpit is oc 
tagonal in shape, 
and made of pol 
ished brass and 
gray Champlain 
marble. It stands 
on the floor of 
the nave, and is 
entered from the 
choir by a brass 
staircase. It is in 
memory of Rob 
ert Asa Packer. 
The lectern is a 

massive piece of work, eagle pattern, of 
richly chased polished brass. It commem 
orates Mrs. Sarah M. Packer. The bap 
tistery erected in 1887, at the west end of the 
Church, is separated from the nave by three arches supported by monolith 
columns of conglomerate sandstone. Under the central window a dove- 
colored marble platform, with two steps, is erected, forming a half-hexagon, 
ten feet wide, and seven feet deep. The font is of the purest white marble, 
and consists of three parts. The cover is of oak and brass in rich foliated 
patterns, about five feet high, surmounted by the figure of an angel with 




I2O KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

uplifted wings, bearfng a scroll upon which is the word "Rehatur." Around 
the top of the cover is a brass band four inches wide, bearing the inscrip 
tion, " Blessed are Jhe dead who die in the Lord." A heavy brass ball is 
suspended from the ceiling and attached to the cover for a counter 
weight. Surrounding and enclosing the font is a rail of butternut-wood, 
supported by six standards of twisted brass, between which there are 
elaborate panels of tracery-work. On two of these panels are angels in 
kneeling posture, bearing scrolls on which are the words " In memoriam ; " 
and on the gates, in connection with the interlacing scroll-work of the 
design, is engraved the memorial inscription (the baptistery being in 
memory of Mrs. Fannie Packer Butler) : " This Baptistery is erected 
by Charles O. and Marion P. Skeer. to the glory of God, and in loving 
memory of their daughter Fannie Packer, wife of William R. Butler." At 
the corners of the rail rise two brass candelabra, eight feet high, each with 
seven branches, and each branch bearing a triple light, forming a very 
ornamental feature of the structure. Back of the font is a series of panel- 
work of carved butternut, continuing from the marble steps up to the base 
of the window. The walls and ceiling of the baptistery are richly decorated 
to complete the artistic treatment of the whole. In the tower there is a 
chime of eight bells, and a clock. 

The Parish Building adjoins the Church, and is very complete in 
every particular. It was built in 1882, as a memorial to the late Hon. Asa 
Packer, by his widow, Mrs. Sarah M. Packer, and named the " Sarah 
M. Packer Memorial Parish Building of St. Mark s Church/ In material, 
and general style of architecture, it corresponds with the Church, except 
the interior finish, which is of white and yellow pine, and in what is known 
as the " Queen Anne " style of architecture. It is about one hundred feet 
in length, forty feet in breadth, and three stories in height. On the first 
floor there is a chantry for week-day and holy-day services, fitted up com 
pletely as a miniature church, with altar, reredos, chancel furniture, organ, 
and chairs upholstered in crimson plush velvet with hat-rack, book-rack, and 
kneeling benches attached. The walls are richly decorated in polychrome. 
The ceilings are finished in carved oak, and the floor set with Minton s tiles. 
On the second floor there is a room for storage, a choir-room, and a robing- 
room. On the third floor, on the level with the entrance to the Church, there 
is a Sunday-school room, divided by glass partitions into four rooms which 
can be thrown into one ; furnished with maps, blackboards, organ, and with 
the most approved style of seats made of ash and cherry. A gallery runs 
across the east end of the room, and a convenient room for the library opens 
out of the main vestibule. Thus splendidly equipped for work, the parish, 
under the leadership of its active rector, the Rev. M. A. Tolman, is doing a 
noble work, and making itself felt as a power for good. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



121 



ST. ANDREW S CHURCH, Ann Arbor, Mich. The early history of 
St. Andrew s Parish is closely connected with the planting of the Church 
in Michigan. The first clergyman of the American Church to settle within 
the limits of this State was Rev. Alonson W. Welton, who came to Detroit 
in 1821. Mr. Welton s labors were confined almost entirely to Detroit, and 
were but of few months duration before he was removed by death. Yet, 
like many saintly lives, he blessed men in his death as in his living ; for 
soon afterwards the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society directed its 




St. Andrew s Church, Ann Arbor, Mich. 

attention to the scene of his labors, and in 1824 appointed Rev. Richard F. 
Cadle as missionary to Michigan. 

Mr. Cadle began his work in the summer of this year, and served the 
Church faithfully and well for five years. During this time he was the only 
Episcopal clergyman in the entire peninsula of Michigan. He first planted 
the Church in Detroit (organizing St. Paul s Church there in 1824), and then 
like St. Paul he went forth to preach the gospel in new regions. 

It was during these missionary journeys that St. Andrew s Parish, Ann 
Arbor, was organized. Mr. Cadle first visited this vicinity probably in 1825 
or 1826, and found here many scattered members of our communion. It is 



122 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

due to his fostering care that St. Andrew s Parish was organized in 1827. 
From this time regular services were held by Mr. Merchant Huxford, a lay 
reader and a candidate for orders; Rev. Mr. Cadle coming to the parish 
as often as possible to administer the Sacraments of the Church. 

In 1829 Rev. Mr. Cadle resigned his position as missionary to Michigan; 
and in the following year two clergymen were appointed to take up his work, 
one of whom, Rev. Silas W. Freeman, was stationed at Ann Arbor. He 
was the first rector of St. Andrew s Parish, and was in charge of the Church 
in this region for about three years. The rectors of the parish since that 
time have been as follows : Rev. Silas W. Freeman, Rev. John P. Bailsman, 
Rev. Samuel Marks, Rev. Francis H. Cuming, D.D., Rev. Charles C. Tay 
lor, Rev. Prof. George P. Williams (officiating), Rev. Charles C. Taylor, Rev. 

David F. Lumsden, Rev. George D. 
Gillespie, D.D., Rev. Wyllys Hall, 
D.D., Rev. Samuel Earp, Ph.D. The 
Church in Ann Arbor has had three 
consecrated houses of worship. The 
first services were held in the houses 
of Church-members and in the court 
house. When Rev. Mr. Marks began 
his labors, the first service was held 
in the basement of a Church that 
had been begun in the fall of 1835. 

Hobart Hall, Ann Arbor, Mich. T USG his OWn WOrds " The basement 

was filled with shavings and boards 

and stones and brickbats ; these were cleared away, and a floor laid, and you 
would have smiled at the primitiveness of my pulpit." The Church edifice 
thus referred to was completed in 1836, and was consecrated by Right Rev. 
Samuel A. McCroskey, Bishop of Michigan, Nov. 18, 1838. This Church 
was enlarged in 1856, and consecrated May 18 of that year. It was again 
enlarged in 1863 on account of the growth of the congregation. Here the 
congregation worshipped until Nov. 10, 1869, when the present Church edi 
fice was consecrated by the bishop of the diocese, the bishop of Illinois 
preaching the sermon. This House of God is in every way tasty and 
churchly. Several memorial windows and other memorials of those who 
have died in the faith add to its sanctity. In 1881 a beautiful stone Chapel 
was erected, and in the following spring a Rectory was built adjoining the 
Church. The parish now has all needed buildings. Back of the Church is 
a home for the sexton. North of the Rectory is a valuable corner lot for 
some future use. This lot has just come into the possession of the parish 
(August, 1888). Hobart Hall, though a diocesan institution, is the Guild 
Hall of the parish. Here are held the parish socials and other gatherings, 




KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 123 

the design of this Hall being to bring a Churchly influence to bear upon the 
students of the State University. The work of the Hall is under the direc 
tion of the rector of St. Andrew s Church, the curator of the Hall being 
his assistant in this branch of the parish work. 

From its location at the seat of the University of Michigan, St. Andrew s 
Parish necessarily exerts an influence that is far-reaching. The present 
rector, Rev. Samuel Earp, Ph.D., fully realizes the responsibility of the 
parish, and endeavors in every way to make his ministrations helpful and 
profitable to his widely gathered congregations. 

The members of St. Andrew s Parish look back with admissible pride to 
her past history. They see the Church of Ann Arbor the honored mother 
of three neighboring parishes, St. Luke s, Ypsilanti, St. James , Dexter, 
and St. Stephen s, Hamburg. At present she is nursing with fostering care 
two missions near by this city. 

ST. JOHN S CHURCH, Wilmington, Del. Rev. T. Gardiner Littell, 
D.D., rector. The parish was organized through the zealous exertions of 
Mr. Alexis Irenee DuPont, on the ;th of August, 1855. The corner-stone 
was laid June 4, 1857. The building was consecrated Nov. 3, 1858. There 
have been four rectors, the Rev. Charles Breck, D.D., until the day of 
the consecration of the Church; the Rev. Stevens Parker, D.D., for seven 
years ; the Rev. Leighton Coleman, D.D., recently consecrated bishop of the 
diocese of Delaware, for nearly three years ; and the Rev. Thomas Gardiner 
Littell, D.D., from 1866 to the present time. The building is of blue 
granite, and is from designs by Notman, and is Gothic. It will seat between 
700 and 800 persons. It has a fine organ in a recently erected organ- 
chamber, and has a vested choir. The furniture is of oak. On the I5th of 
August, 1885, the corner-stone of a parish building was laid. It was occu 
pied Nov. 3 of the same year. It contains clergy-room, reading-room, and 
rooms for choir, guild, and Bible classes. A Sunday-school building was 
also completed on the 28th of the following December. The designs for 
these two buildings were furnished by Mr. Emlen T. Littell of New York. 
They are also of granite, and cost about $11,500. 

CHURCH OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD, Hartford, Conn. This 
Church, erected by Mrs. Samuel Colt as a memorial to her deceased husband 
and children, was consecrated to the worship of God Almighty on the 
twenty-eighth clay of January, 1869. The building is Gothic in style, and is 
built of Portland brown-stone, with trimmings of white Ohio-stone. The 
Church proper is 114 feet in length by 47 in width on the ground, and is 
divided by columns into nave and side aisles, the nave having a height of 
some 65 feet. The chancel is recessed from the Church in form of an 



124 A /A G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 




St. John s Church, Wilmington, Del 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 125 

ellipse, opening through an arch the width of the nave. A chapel or 
Sunday-school room is attached, and opens into the Church. At the north 
west corner of the Church stands a semi-detached tower, which is in form 
a plain square, with bastions pierced with quatrefoils. The tower is sur 
mounted by a spire rising 150 feet above the 
north is the Sunday-school room, forming 
main building, and entered through a porch 
north-west corner. This porch is of stone, with 
mounted by a plain cross. On the west and 
formed by the intersection of the chancel end 
is built out a small square room, which is used 
and an organ-chamber. The roof of the chan- 



ground. Fronting 
a transept to the 
and door at its 
pointed roof sur- 
north, in the angle 
and the transept, 
for a robing-room 
eel is crowned with 




Church of the Good Shepherd. Hartford, Conn. 

a gilded cross, gilt rays springing from its sides. The chancel is lighted by 
thirteen windows, separated from each other by columns of highly polished 
Scotch granite in alternate colors of red and gray. Each of the capitals of 
these columns bears the emblem of one of the Apostles entwined in foliage. 
The entrance to the baptistery is on the south side of the chancel, near its 
junction with the nave. It is quaintly designed in such a manner that the 
arch, which is of alternate Portland and Ohio stones, forms the roof of the 
entrance. At the south-west corner is the principal entrance to the Church. 



126 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

It is a stone porch with pointed roof, and is crowned with a heavily carved 
stone cross, the stone bearing on its front the Alpha and Omega. The 
clere-story has a series of richly-stained glass windows, which is carried 
around the chancel roof also. The roof itself is covered with red and blue 
slates, arranged in patterns, and is crowned with a crest of lance-work in 
blue and gilt, culminating at the chancel and in the heavily gilded cross 
before mentioned. Any description of the exterior of the building proves 
itself unsatisfactory to those who have seen it. The completeness of the 
work and the beauty of finish everywhere demand personal observation to 
be justly appreciated. 

Within the Church one is immediately struck with the perfect harmony 
of the whole, and with the conformity that exists between the inner and 
outer decorations of the building. There are a centre and two side alleys, 
with cross aisles at either end. The ceiling of the nave is painted a rich 
blue, and studded thickly with golden stars. The rafters are of chestnut, 
lined with a brilliant carmine. Braces of chestnut and oak support these ; 
and the spandrels are filled with massive carvings in the form of oak, ivy, 
and maple leaves. The walls are wainscoted in chestnut to the height of 
three and a half feet from the floor, above which they are painted a delicate 
French gray. Three series of windows on the south and two on the north 
side, in clusters of three, furnish light for the body of the Church. The 
windows are of stained glass, the jambs being decorated with patterns in 
color, and each window is surrounded with a heavy gilt moulding. The 
nave is separated from the side-aisles by arches, supported by light iron 
columns, which are bronzed, and finished in blue, silver, and gilt. The 
vestibule, the aisles, and the chancel are paved with tiles of different colors 
and of varied patterns, the designs increasing in richness as they approach 
the altar. The seats are of chestnut, carved and oiled. At the west end is 
the Memorial Window. The frame of this window is of stone, the central 
division being so massive as to form in reality almost two distinct windows. 
At the foot of the window is the dedication, 

IN MEMORY OF MY HUSBAND, 

SAMUEL COLT, 

BORN 19th OF JULY, 1814, 
DIED 10th OF JANUARY, 1862. 

The other section contains a figure of the Good Shepherd, with the little 
ones of the flock at His feet ; and underneath is the inscription, 

He shall gather the Lambs into His Arms." 
IN MEMORY OF OUR INFANT CHILDREN, 

SAMUEL JAMES COLT, 
ELIZABETH JARVIS COLT, 
HENRIETTA SELDEN COLT. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. I2/ 

The transept opens out from the north aisle, and is separated from the 
Church by a beautiful carved wooden screen filled with heavy plate-glass. 

The chancel is recessed from the nave, being about 45 feet deep by 22 
in width. On the south side two arches open into the baptistery, supported 
in the centre by a massive pillar of polished red granite, its capital being of 
Ohio-stone, finely cut to represent marigolds and water-lilies with their broad 
leaves. A like pillar supports, on the other side, two arches which open 
into the organ-chamber; the spaces beneath these arches are filled with the 
pipes of the organ, which are decorated in color and gilt. 

The baptistery is on a level with the floor Of the main building, but is 
paved like the chancel. It has six small windows of stained glass. The 
design of the font consists of three children holding a shell, the whole being 
cut from a solid block of pure white marble. The brass eagle lectern stands 
on the south side of the chancel arch. In the standards are a circle of 
carbuncles, which gleam brilliantly as the light strikes upon them. On the 
north side stands the pulpit, made of chestnut, octagonal in form, and 
fittingly carved. The choir is reached from the nave by means of four steps 
of the Ohio-stone. The sacrarium is lifted one step above this ; and the 
altar stands one step higher yet. The chancel-rail is light and graceful, of 
brass ornamented with carbuncles. The altar stands out slightly from the 
end wall. It is panelled in eight sections. The Bishop s chair is beauti 
fully carved, and is surmounted by a full-sized mitre and encircled with ivy- 
leaves. There are seats for the clergy on the right of the altar. 

The first rector of the parish was the Rev. Henry W. Nelson, under 
whose charge the mission was started and the Church built. He held the 
office till 1876. The present rector, the Rev. J. Henry Watson, has been in 
charge since May, 1877. 

CHURCH OF THE INCARNATION, Philadelphia. When, in 
1854, the movement for a new parish in the north-western part of Phila 
delphia began, the region was very different from what it is now. " Vacant 
lots and fields extended along Broad Street, north of Coates, while on the 
streets east and west the long picket lines of bricks and mortar were rarely 
pushed beyond Poplar Street, even by the most adventurous and speculative 
builders." It was evident, however, that in time this region must be occu 
pied ; and with admirable forethought some devout Church-people resolved 
that a Church should be built to meet the needs of the new population. 
The first organization, in 1855, was known as "The Church of the Holy 
Apostles," but the name was changed in 1859 to " The Church of the 
Incarnation." The Rev. Benjamin Franklin was elected the first rector, and 
began his duties Jan. 20, 1856, but resigned in September. The Rev. C. M. 
Parkman and the Rev. C. Purviance were his successors. 



128 



HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



The present rector, the Rev. Dr. Joseph D. Nevvlin, entered upon his 
labors Trinity Sunday, June 3, 1860. The twenty-fifth anniversary of 
his rectorship was duly celebrated by a service in the Church, and by a 
social gathering in the Chapel, May 31 and June r, 
1885. When he came to this charge in 1860, there 
was a small congregation worshipping in a modest 
chapel, and struggling to meet pressing obligations. 
In a few years the debt had been paid, and plans 
had been secured for the present Church building. 
During five years of labors and trials, shared alike 
by pastor and people, this work progressed ; and 
on Christmas Day, 1870, the rector held the first 
service, and preached his first sermon in the new 
Church." In 1884 the munificent gift of Mrs. 
George Williams completed the spire, in memory 
of her husband. The total money value of the 
property secured to the parish during the rector 
ship of Dr. Newlin is about a hundred and fifty 
thousand dollars. 

The corner-stone of the chapel, 
the first building erected, now 
standing in the rear of the 
Church, was laid Dec. 15, 1858. 
It was used for services for 
the first time in September, 
1859. For a long while it 
stood in its loneliness at 
the end of the deep 
lot. The corner 
stone of the Church 
was not laid until 
June 28, 1866. and 
it was four years 
before the building 
was ready for use. 
The total expense 
exclusive of the 

ground, which cost over $12,800, was about $99,500, the tower being unfin 
ished when the report of the building committee was made in 1871. The 
land was paid for in 1876, and the building debt was greatly reduced in 1880. 
The completion of the tower, in 1885, cost over $25,000. June 9, 1875, the 
new organ was placed in the Church: and June 6, 1882, a vested choir of 




Church of the Incarnation, Philadelphia. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHUKCffES. 1 2Q 

men and boys was substituted for the quartet previously employed. The 
introduction of the vested choir led to the removal of the organ to the 
chancel. At the same time over seven thousand dollars were spent in im 
provements to the Church and Chapel. The Church is a Gothic structure, 
consisting of nave, north and south aisles and transepts, tower, three porches, 
robing-room, and chancel. The walls and spire are of cut Leiperville stone, 
with brown-stone trimmings. The seating capacity is about eight hundred, 
leaving very broad passage-ways. The interior decorations, the woodwork, 
the stained glass, the chancel fittings, and the organ are all in good taste, 
and give a pleasing impression. The eagle lectern is a memorial of the 
rector s twenty-five years of service. A bronze tablet in the tower recites 
the fact that the spire is in memory of the benefactor of the parish, Mr. 
George Williams. 

Bishop Stevens, in his letter to the parish under date of May 29, 1885, 
congratulates the people " that during these twenty-five years you have 
outgrown the little chapel with its lowly roof and modest appointments, and 
now fill the noble edifice with its elegant adornments, and enjoy its richer 
and more effective service of prayer and praise." ..." It is rarely that a 
parish is privileged to celebrate with such true affection and perfect unity 
of feeling, such a long continuance of the pastoral relation, a relation so 
peculiarly honorable to both parties. God grant that this harmony may 
long be preserved, and that this bond of union may long exist with ever- 
increasing blessings, both temporal and spiritual, to every member of the 
parish ! " 

ST. THOMAS CHURCH, New York, N.Y. When St. Thomas 
Church was organized, in 1823, the region of Broadway and Houston Street 
was a rural suburb. Large open fields stretched off to the south-west. 
Old country-seats still held their place. Brooks and running streams diver 
sified the landscape, and groves of patriarchal trees were within sight. 
People wondered why a building was erected so far away from the popula 
tion. But the city soon grew, and speedily overspread all the old landmarks. 
Street pressed upon street, block upon block; and before the Church had 
passed its infancy, it was in the midst of an advancing population. The 
structure itself was imposing for those days, and the adjacent Rectory was 
beautiful and comfortable. " The people dwelt around the Church, the pas 
tor dwelt among the people, and the integrity and beauty of every parochial 
relation was sustained." During the memorable rectorship of Rev. Dr. 
Hawks, the parish, in its old location, gained its noontide of temporal pros 
perity. About 1843, however, the district began to change, and the changes 
came rapidly. The whole section around the Church was seized for the 
uses of traffic, amusement, and shameful vice. "While the transformation 



130 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

was in progress, the old Church was destroyed by fire. Shortly after the 
consecration of the restored Church upon the same site, its rector, the Rev. 
Dr. Whitehouse, was made the bishop of Illinois. He was succeeded by 
the Rev. Dr. Neville, who served about four years. In 1857 the Rev. Dr. 
Morgan was made the rector of the parish. Speaking to his congregation 
in March, 1865, he said, "Whatever may be our seeming welfare, we are 
greatly inferior to many Churches in respect to location. On two sides we 
are bounded by busy and turbulent thoroughfares, and helplessly exposed to 
noise and interruption. We are in the centre of the worst neighborhood in 
the city, the most degraded, and the most completely surrendered to the 
purposes of crime. If the denizens of this immediate vicinity were to re 
solve upon a better observance of Sunday, and enter this Church, you would 
forsake it at once, and in a body." On the 29th of April, 1866, the Doctor 
was able to deliver a closing discourse in the old Church, for it had been 
decided to remove to the present location. A temporary chapel was erected 
on the new site in 1867, and used until the Church was finished. 

The corner-stone of the present magnificent structure was laid by Bishop 
Horatio Potter, Oct. 14, 1868. The building was opened for services Oct. 
6, 1870. The architect was Mr. Richard Upjohn. In his sermon at the 
opening of the Church, Dr. Morgan thus alluded to the architect : " As if 
premonished that it might be the last great work of his advanced and vener 
able years, he has given to it the ripest and best-considered studies of his 
life. He has surrendered himself to this structure ; his genius, his super 
vision, his careful direction, both of the massive and the minute, of the 
solid and the decorative, have been thoroughly concentrated here, and have 
brought out a result which utters his praises and confirms his eminent repu 
tation a thousand-fold louder than the preacher s voice." The beautiful 
Church, so prominently placed in the midst of fine residences, became one 
of the most attractive in the city, not only because of its fine architecture 
and adornments, but because of the exquisite music, rendered under the 
direction of Mr. George William Warren, and the pulpit ability of its rector, 
who continued his successful labors until 1888, when he entered into rest. 
The chime of bells in the tower cost six thousand dollars, and are remarkable 
for their sweetness of tone. The decoration of the chancel walls was done 
by La Farge and St. Gaudens. The organ is one of the largest and most 
complete in the world. The builder was Roosevelt. It contains 3,612 
pipes, 55 sounding stops, 10 couplers, and every modern appliance for 
mechanical effects. 

St. Thomas Church, although attended by many of the wealthy class, is 
not neglectful of the poor; for, in addition to numerous benevolent socie 
ties, it has a Free Chapel, and St. Thomas House in the rear of the Chapel. 
This House was erected in 1882, from plans drawn by Mr. C. C. Haight, 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 131 




St. Thomas Church, New York, N.Y. 



132 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



architect. It is a memorial of Henry Keep Flower, whose parents, the 
Hon. and Mrs. Roswell P. Flower, gave forty thousand dollars for this pur 
pose. The rectors of St. Thomas Church have been : the Rev. Dr. Cornelius 
R. Duffee, 1823 to 1827; the Rev. Dr. George Upfold, from 1828 to 1831, 
when he became bishop of Indiana ; the Rev. Dr. Francis L. Hawks, from 
1831 to 1843; the Rev. Dr. Henry J. Whitehouse, from 1843 to 1851, when 
he became bishop of Illinois; the Rev. Dr. Edmund Neville, from 1852 to 
1856; the Rev. Dr. William F. Morgan, from 1857 to 1888. The preseni 
rector is the Rev. Dr. John W. Brown. 

CALVARY CHURCH, New York, N.Y. The population of New 
York City in 1835, when Calvary Parish was formed, was about two hun 
dred and fifty thousand. This pop 
ulation was included almost entirely 
in that part of the city which lay 
south of Fourteenth Street. The 
first Church building of the parish 
was of wood, on Fourth Avenue. 




Calvary Church, New York, N.Y. 

north of Thirtieth Street. The population around the Church being scat 
tered, and the parish feeble, there was a hard struggle for its life. The 
Church building was removed in 1841 to the north-east corner of Fourth 
Avenue and Twenty-second Street. In 1844 land at the corner of Fourth 
Avenue and Twenty-first Street, the present location, was secured. 

The present building is a handsome brown-stone structure, in Old 
English style of architecture, and will seat about sixteen hundred people. 
The rectors of Calvary have been men of great influence. Among them 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 133 

were the Rev. Francis H. Cuming, the Rev. Charles Jones, Rev. Smith Pyne, 
the Rev. Dr. Francis Hawks, the Rev. Dr. A. Cleveland Coxe (who after 
wards became bishop of Western New York), the Rev. Dr. Edward A. 
Washburn. Dr. Washburn served from 1865 to 1881. In March, 1882, the 
Rev. Dr. Henry Y. Satterlee became the rector. Out of the work of Cal 
vary Parish has sprung Calvary Chapel, a most prosperous organization, 
and Galilee Mission. Some idea of the extent of the work of Calvary 
Church may be gathered from the following summary: It has 926 families, 
1,295 communicants, 922 teachers and scholars in the Sunday-schools, and 
a Sunday-school among the Chinese. The contributions for one year 
amounted to $75,550. Fourteen boxes, valued at $i,6S6, were sent away to 
missionaries. Beside all this, there are free reading-rooms, and summer 
homes for the poor. During the rectorship of Dr. Satterlee the scope of 
the parish work has so increased, and become so highly important, that hf 
felt called upon to resign an election to the episcopate which was tendered 
him. With the agencies now adopted, and with the plans in prospect, there 
is no predicting the magnificent future of Calvary Church. 

ST. JOHN S CHURCH, Ogdensburg, N.Y. The organization of St. 
John s Church was effected May 23, 1820. The corner-stone of a Church 
was laid by the Rev. Lawson Carter, Aug. 10, 1821, on a lot given by David 
and George Parish. In this building Divine service was held for the first 
time Oct. 13, 1822. The clergy in charge of the parish have been the Rev. 
A. G. Baldwin, the Rev. Lawson Carter, Rev. Addison Searle, Rev. Charles 
I. Todd, the Rev. Mathew Huse, Rev. Richard Bury, Rev. Francis Tre- 
mayne, Rev. William Barlow, Rev. H. R. Peters, and Rev. H. W. Beers. 
In 1875 tne R GV - James D. Morrison became the rector, and still holds the 
position. In 1844 the Church building was enlarged by an extension in 
length of thirty feet, at the expense of the Hon. Henry Van Rensselaer, and 
in 1857 another addition was made on the side ; but the Church was too 
small for the congregation, and in 1869 they concluded to build a new one 
on the site of the old. 

The new Church was completed in 1871, and consecrated by Bishop 
Doane July 27. This beautiful new Church, the finest and costliest in this 
diocese north of Albany, was designed by Mr. Emlen T. Littell of New 
York. It is of Early Decorated Gothic, and the general feeling is that of 
the English development of that style. The plan comprises chancel, nave, 
aisles, tower, organ-chamber, sacristy, and porch, the extreme dimensions 
upon the ground being about seventy-five feet by one hundred and fifty feet. 
The main entrance is through the tower, which rises one hundred and ten 
feet, and is crowned by angle and intermediate pinnacles, forming a striking 
feature in every view of the city, from every quarter ; the entrance door is 



134 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

canopied, the canopy surmounted by a cross, and flanked by triple columns; 
the belfry stage contains two traceried windows on each face, which are left 
entirely open ; the crowning pinnacles are connected by an open stone 
parapet; the nave is thirty-five feet six inches in width, and each aisle 
is fifteen feet eleven inches in width ; there are eight bays, of eleven feet 
four inches, separated by buttresses, and each lighted by a lancet with 
traceried head. The clere-story has two traceried windows to each bay, and 
the clere-story arches are carried by coupled wrought-iron columns, with 
capitals of cast metal, from the foliage of which the gas-jets project. The 
lighting of the nave by gas is very successful. The chancel is twenty-five 
feet in width by thirty feet in depth, with an apsidal termination of the 
form of a semi-decagon. On the south of the chancel is the organ-chamber, 
fourteen feet by eighteen feet; and on the north the sacristy, fourteen feet 
by eleven feet six inches. Adjoining the sacristy, in the easternmost bay, 
is a side porch. The roof is partly "open," forming a semi-decagon in the 
nave, having arched ribs and moulded panels in the ceiling, the panels being 
painted ultramarine blue, and the chamfers and bolt-heads vermilion. From 
the -junction of the arched ribs in the chancel a corona depends. The walls 
are plastered, tinted a warm buff, and blocked off in rectangular diaper, with 
Venetian-red lines. The hood moulds, etc., are tinted of a greenish gray. 
The iron columns are painted Indian red, with dark green lines, the rivet- 
heads being gilded, and the caps finished in blue, red, white, black, and 
gold. The Church is wainscoted with black ash, with black-walnut mould 
ings, the wainscoting in the apse being deeply panelled, with trefoiled heads 
to the panels. The nave seats are also of black ash, with black-walnut rails. 
The chancel furniture is of black walnut. The carpets in nave and chancel 
are of subdued pattern, crimson and black ground. The windows are filled 
with stained glass, with bright border. The windows in the apse are filled 
with Grisaille pattern glass, containing medallions charged with emblems, 
except the central window, which contains figures of St. John the Baptist 
and St. John the Evangelist. Upon the north side is an aisle window, filled 
with handsome subject glass, in memory of a late member of the parish. 
Other memorial windows are also to be inserted. The Church is built of the 
dark blue-gray Ogdensburg silicious limestone, and the string-courses, arches, 
and the trimmings generally, are of the light buff Ohio freestone, forming 
a very striking and brilliant contrast. The roofs are slated with purple and 
red Vermont slate, in equal proportions, with a small amount of green slate, 
all laid in harmonious patterns. The ridges are surmounted by iron crest- 
ings, and the gables crowned with iron crosses, all finished in ultramarine 
blue and gold. The general effect of the whole edifice is that of solid and 
seemly stateliness, as if those who built \\ had a consciousness that before 
long it might become the cathedral church of a bishop of Ogdensburg. In 
acoustic properties, also, it is a perfect success. 



136 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

A few years afterwards, during the rectorship of Dr. Beers, a Chapel and 
Sunday-school room was added to the Church at the south-easterly corner 
(which appears in the engraving) at an expense of $12,000; and in 1886 a 
rectory was purchased, situated a few blocks from the Church, at a cost of 
about $10,000. 

ST. JOHN S CHURCH, Cohoes, N.Y. The city of Cohoes, accord 
ing to the census of 1880, had a population of nearly twenty thousand. It 
is a great cotton-goods manufacturing place, near the junction of the Hudson 
and Mohawk Rivers, and employs in its great mills many hundreds of 
working-people. Standing upon one of the hills in the neighborhood, 




St. John s Church, Cohoes, N.Y. 

Cohoes, Lansirtgburgh, Green Island, Troy, West Troy, Greenbush, and 
Albany all seem as one great city bound together by street-cars and rail- 
Ways, and numbering in all a vast population. Services of the Church were 
begun about the middle of April, 1831, by the Rev. Orange Clark of 
Waterford. On Monday, May 2, a parish was organized, David Wilkinson 
and Hugh White being chosen wardens. Eight vestrymen were elected, and 
the name of the parish was called St. John s Church. 

The first Church building was erected on the south side of Oneida 
Street, between Remsen and Mohawk Streets. April 4, 1864, the Rev. 
J. H. H. Brown being rector, a committee was appointed to consider the 
plan of erecting a new Church. Except procuring a design and raising 
funds, nothing was done in this matter until September, 1869, when the 
lots at the junction of Mohawk and Canvass Streets were purchased from 
the Cohoes Company. The corner-stone was laid on June 9, 1870. The 
new Church was opened for Divine service June 18, 1871. The Church and 



A SA r G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 137 

lot were estimated to be worth $50,000, and the Rectory and lot $12,500. 
The Rev. J. H. H. Brown was consecrated bishop of Fond du Lac, Dec. 
15, 1875, and the consecration service was held in this Church. 

The architect of the present group of buildings is Mr. R. M. Upjohn, 
and he has done most excellent work at comparatively small expense. The 
Church, Chapel, and Rectory are built of Schenectady blue-stone, with brick 
trimmings. The grounds about the triangular enclosed space are adorned 
with thorn hedges, trees, lawns, and flower-beds. The Rectory is covered on 
two sides with wisteria-vines, and on a third by grape-vines. It is a four- 
story house, including a basement-kitchen, and is heated by steam, and has 
all modern conveniences throughout. The Church is without a tower, and 
is unfinished within ; the walls and woodwork await decoration ; the stained- 
glass windows are very handsome, and are all memorials : the chancel is 
well and handsomely furnished ; the chorus choirs on the decani and 
cantoris sides are supported by a large organ on the north side of the 
chancel; the reredos of five oak tablets, with panels of slate for the four 
evangelists and a dosel hanging for the centre, is a very handsome and 
effective feature of the "east end. 

The present rector of the parish is the Rev. Frederick S. Sill, M.A. 
There are various organizations for work under his direction, such as St. 
Agnes Guild, the Mothers Meeting, the Try Society, the Church Work 
Society, and the Young Men s Association. 

ST. JAMES CHURCH, Philadelphia. From 1810 to 1870, a period 
of sixty years, this parish occupied a building on Seventh Street just above 
Market; but in course of time the encroachments of business made it 
desirable to seek another neighborhood, and finally the present handsome 
structure was erected at Twenty-second and Walnut Streets. Old St. 
James Church was originally one of the three united parishes, Christ 
Church, St. Peter s, and St. James , of which Bishop White was the rector. 
In 1829 St. James became independent; and the next year the Rev. Henry 
J. Morton was made a deacon, and subsequently rector, a position which he 
has held for fifty years. Dr. Morton is now known as the rector emeritus, 
the rector being the Rev. Dr. William F. Nichols. The parish is one -in 
which there is great activity and enthusiasm. The seating capacity of the 
Church is fully used every Sunday morning and afternoon at the regular 
services. Then every Sunday there is a celebration of the Lord s Supper; 
and during much of the year there is a fourth service at night for the 
floating population. Prayers are said daily at nine and five o clock, and 
the Church is open all day. The choir of the parish is vested, and includes 
eight men and twenty-six boys, among whom are some notably fine voices. 
The building is constructed of a greenish-tinted stone ; the plan includes 



138 A JNG S HAND BOO A OF EPISCOPAL CHUXCHES. 

nave, aisles, chancel, tower, and porches ; the style is Gothic, and the whole 
effect is singularly pleasing both inside and out; the tower is not yet 
finished, but all the other parts of the building are completed. Upon 
entering it the eye is delighted with the happy combination of rich colors 
and brass-work. When the details are examined there is no disappointment, 

for every thing has been done with 
strictest attention to correctness of 
ecclesiological requirement. The clere 
story rests upon marble columns with 
Caen-stone capitals ; the pointed arches 
inside are of red and gray stones ; the 
spaces between the arches are filled 
with mosaics of the apostles ; the font, 
pulpit, and altar are of Caen- stone and 
variegated marble : the choir-stalls and 




St. James Church, Philadelphia. 

other furniture are of black walnut. Some of the windows are filled with 
rich glass. The Church is connected with a Parish Building in which a 
day school is kept, but the needs of the parish already call for larger 
quarters for its numerous organizations. The financial statement for 1887 
shows that about twenty-nine thousand dollars had been contributed, of 
which one-fourth was devoted to charitable and missionary purposes. 



ST. GEORGE S CHURCH, New York, N.Y. The open spires of 
this Church are a landmark in. the eastern part of the city. When the 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



building was erected in its present location, it was considered far enough up 
town to be in advance of the population ; but now the tide of building 
enterprises sweeps on for miles beyond it. In Dr. Berrian s " History of 
Trinity Parish," it is noted, that, in 1748, the vestry of Trinity appointed a 




St. George s Church, New York, N.Y. 

committee to consider the building of a Chapel of ease (St. George s), and 
that they thought Nassau Street was about the right distance off! There 
was a great deal said then about swamp-land and other difficulties. These 
records seem strange indeed as we look at the New York of to-day. The 
first building was ninety-two feet long, not including the chancel, and was 



140 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

seventy-two feet wide, with a tower and steeple one hundred and seventy-five 
feet high. The walls of the Church were of hewn stone. Says Dr. Berrian, 
" The Chapel was situated in a new, crowded, and ill-built part of the 
city, and in its spaciousness, solidity, and beauty was only one of the evi 
dences of the thoughtful forecast of the vestry of Trinity Church in antici 
pating and preparing for the future growth and improvement of the city." 
It was opened for Divine service July i, 1752, on which occasion there was a 
procession from City Hall to the Chapel, consisting of the rector and other 
clergy, the Church wardens, the city officials, many gentlemen of distinction, 
and the children of the charity school. The benefactions of Trinity to St. 
George s were very liberal, aggregating in value many thousands of dollars. 
The after-history of the parish it became independent in 1812 is full of 
interest, for it includes the remarkable ministry of Dr. Milnor, and the still 
more remarkable ministry of the elder Dr. Tyng. The latter had the repu 
tation of being one of the most clear and forcible extemporaneous speakers 
in his generation, and was a man of great influence. The present building 
was erected during his ministry, and is one memorial of a useful life. It is 
a large brown-stone structure, with a rectangular nave and a semicircular 
chancel. There are galleries on three sides. The organ and choir were 
originally provided for in the gallery at the entrance front, but of late years 
the chancel has been altered to receive a vested choir. 

Passing by the noble record of the past, it is gratifying to know that the 
parish has more than renewed its youth in these later years, under the min 
istry of the Rev. Dr. William S. Rainsford and his efficient helpers, clerical 
and lay. Dr. Rainsford began his rectorship in 1883. The great Church is 
thronged, and its services are numerous. Its agencies for Christian work 
are well planned, and some of them are almost unique. The recent comple 
tion of the St. George s Memorial House furnishes facilities for doing the 
parish work more effectively, and for introducing still other agencies. It is 
simply wonderful, the contrast between the condition of St. George s to-day 
and what it was only six years ago. " From a condition bordering on reli 
gious apathy, the district over which St. George s has spiritual care sprang 
into one of zealous Church work. At the present time the building is 
packed with earnest worshippers, and the agencies for work can be counted 
by the score." 

St. George s Memorial House was built from plans of Mr. Leopold 
Eidlitz, architect, and occupies the site of the old chapel. It is eighty-six 
feet front, and one hundred and fifteen feet deep. From ground-line to eaves 
it is seventy-two feet, and to the top of the tower one hundred and forty-six 
feet. It is built of red sandstone, like the Church, and is thoroughly fire 
proof, with iron floors and glazed brick walls. In it are accommodations for 
fifteen hundred Sunday-school children, and a great number of clubs, socie- 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 141 

ties, and committees. There are classes in cooking, dressmaking, drawing, 
housekeeping, printing, wood-carving, short-hand, etc. In the third story is 
a large gymnasium, with reading-room attached. Above this are the clergy- 
rooms and a large room for local gatherings, and where any of the congrega 
tion can confer with the clergy. It will be seen from this description of the 
purposes of this building, what the character of the work of the parish is. 
St. George s embraces a wide range of social positions among its members, 
and has a large surrounding population of persons of moderate means. 
The region of Stuyvesant Square, although beautiful, has become eclipsed 
as a residence quarter by other neighborhoods farther beyond. The re 
markable success of St. George s shows, that, with proper efforts, empty 
seats in a Church can be filled. Dr. Rains- 
ford s efforts have been richly rewarded. One 
of the most useful adjuncts introduced by him 
is the large choir of men and boys, their sing 
ing being a marked feature of the services. 
As it has been said, " the work at St. George s 
is an example of what organization will do 
when inspired by life within. The influence 
of the parish in the future must be increased 
by this Memorial House, erected in memory 
of Charles Tracy and his wife. The new de 
velopment of Christian work, in which St. 
George s free Church and its rector have been St. George s Memorial House, 
largely leaders, began as a mission to the rich 

and educated. Uniting these in a nearer and deeper consecration to Christ, 
in the persons of his poor and needy, it has gone on its way, carrying a 
message of love and sympathy into nearly every department of human suf 
fering or necessity. Under these principles its Church organizations have 
grown so rapidly as to justify the words of the present rector, that a Church 
lives and develops not so much by what it absorbs, as by what it gives ; not 
by service accepted, but by service rendered. " 

ST. MARY S CHURCH, West Philadelphia. The earliest services of 
the Episcopal Church in what is now known as the Twenty-seventh Ward 
of Philadelphia, and formerly Hamilton Village, were held somewhat later 
than the year 1800, but probably never before that date. They were held in 
the old stone schoolhouse which stood on Chestnut Street, between Thirty- 
ninth and Fortieth Streets. The two earliest friends of the Church were 
Mr. Chandler Price and William Hamilton, Esq. The latter bequeathed 
four lots, upon condition that a building be erected before 1828. In 1820 
the Rev. William Richmond was employed to take charge of the mission 




142 



A f JVC S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



then formed. He had also in charge missions in other neighborhoods. His 
connection with St. Mary s was very brief. It was not until 1824 that the 
corner-stone of a building for St. Mary s was laid. Bishop White officiated 
The building was consecrated by the same bishop in 1827, the venerable 
man being then eighty-one years old. An enlargement of the building was 



made in 1846. The neighbor- 
while was but sparsely settled ; 
city began to spread, the con- 
With the filling-up of the neigh- 
congregation, the need of a 
was, however, much to do be- 
was not until 1871 that enough 
the construction of the present 
Stevens laid the corner-stone on 
service was held in it on Christ- 
this date (1888), has not yet been 
of the main doorway, but will 




hood of the Church for a long 
but, as the boundaries of the great 
ditions were greatly changed. 
borhood and the growth of the 
better building was felt. There 
fore the work could be begun. It 
money was pledged to warrant 
very handsome Church. Bishop 
the ist of July, 1872 ; and the first 
mas Day, 1873. The tower, at 
carried much beyond the height 
be completed at some future time. 
The length of 
the Church is 
one hundred 
and one feet in 
the nave, and 
eighty-six feet 
wide across 
transepts. The 
north aisle is 
used as a bap- 
t i s t e r y. The 

f nt s a 



St. Mary s Church, West Philadelphia. 

r i a 1 of Mr. 

Russel West. The windows in the baptistery are memorials of the Rev. 
Dr. Weller, the Rev. G. W. Natt, the Rev. Dr. P. Van Pelt, and the Rev. 
R. D. Hall, former rectors. There are other memorial windows in other 
parts of the building. The seating capacity is for eight hundred persons. 
The architect of this structure was Prof. T. W. Richards of Philadelphia. 
In addition to the Church, the parish has a Sunday-school building and a 
Rectory. 

The present rector, the Rev. Dr. Thomas C. Yarnall, has been in charge 
since April, 1844. He was made a Deacon in 1843, and after serving Christ 
Church, Williamsport, Penn., for a short time, came to this parish, where he 
has been for over forty-four years. The parish rejoices in having had a 
vested choir of thirty-six men and boys since Advent Sunday, 1884. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 143 

TRINITY CHURCH, Pittsburgh, Penn. The first record of any 
kind relating to its history is the deed of gift of two and a half lots of 
ground, on which the present Church edifice stands, and the adjoining 
burial-ground on the west and south. The deed is dated Sept. 24, 1787, 
and executed by "John Penn, jun., and John Penn of the city of Philadel 
phia, late proprietors of Pennsylvania, to the Hon. John Gibson, John 
Ormsby, Devereux Smith, and Dr. Nathaniel Bedford, all of the town of 
Pittsburgh, in the county of Westmoreland, trustees of the congregation 
of Episcopalian Protestant Church, commonly called the Church of Eng 
land, in trust forever, as a site for a house of religious worship, and a 
burial-place for the use of said religious society and their successors, and 
for no other use, intent, or purpose whatsoever." The opinion is very 
general that Church services had been held here occasionally prior to this 
date, although no proofs can be furnished to confirm such an opinion. The 
few Church-members living in Pittsburgh during the latter part of the last 
century manifested in many ways their love, loyalty, and self-denial for their 
dear spiritual mother the Church. At last it was granted them to reap the 
fruits of the graces they exercised so heroically under so many existing 
difficulties. In 1797, exactly ten years after the grant of land by the Penns, 
the little band of churchmen invited the Rev. John Taylor (familiarly and 
affectionately known as " Father Taylor ") to become their minister. Ser 
vices were held at first in the Court House and in public halls and private 
dwellings, as necessity and convenience demanded. On Sept. 3, 1805, a 
charter was granted by the Supreme Court, by virtue of which the minister, 
wardens, and vestrymen were constituted a corporation and body politic, in 
law and in fact, to have continuance forever, by the name, style, and title 
of "the minister, wardens, and vestrymen of Trinity Church in Pittsburgh." 
About this time a triangular piece of land at the intersection of Sixth 
Avenue with Wood and Liberty Streets, was purchased in consideration of 
the sum of four hundred dollars. A brick building, commonly known as 
"The Round Church/ was built on this property. After the resignation 
of the first rector of the parish in 1818, the vacancy was not filled until 
1821, when the Rev. William Thompson entered upon his duties for a 
period not embracing two years. It was during Mr. Thompson s rectorship 
that it was determined to erect a new Church where the present edifice now 
stands. While the parish was without a rector, John Henry Hopkins a 
young lawyer, a communicant of the Church, and one of the vestry volun 
teered to act as lay reader, and obtained his license from Bishop White. 
Abandoning his growing legal practice for the work of the ministry, he was 
admitted deacon in 1824, and at once entered upon pastoral duty in Trinity 
Church. From the time he began his labors, the parish was infused with 
new life, and entered upon its career of prosperity. He drew the plan of 



144 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHUXCHES. 

the new Church building, and the evidences of his ability as an architect 
and painter were seen in every part of the structure. On the I2th of June, 
1825, a beautiful Church, built under his supervision, was consecrated bv 
Bishop White. On July 17, 1831, Mr. Hopkins surrendered "the high and 
holy trust" committed to him for nearly eight years, in obedience to the 
call of duty which summoned him to another sphere, and subsequently to 
the episcopate. The Rev. George Upfold, D.D., became rector July 27, 
1831 ; and for a period of eighteen years, until his elevation to the bishopric 
of Indiana, ministered faithfully in the parish. In 1850 the Rev. Theodore 
B. Lyman, now bishop of North Carolina, became rector. His successor, 
in 1862, was the Rev. Cornelius E. Swope, who resigned in 1867. The Rev. 
John Scarborough was the next rector, from Oct. i, 1867, until Dec. 8, 1874, 
when he tendered his resignation, on acceptance of his election to the office 
of bishop of the diocese of New Jersey. During his rectorship, the present 
Church and Chapel were erected. On Jan. 19, 1875, tne Rev - William A. 
Hitchcock accepted the rectorship of the parish, and resigned Feb. 8, 1882. 
The present rector is the Rev. Samuel Maxwell, who entered upon his 
duties April i, 1883. 

Trinity Church will always be called the Mother Parish in Pittsburgh, 
and her right to the title . is undisputed. The parishes existing to-day 
throughout the city are her daughters, and feel a deep filial regard for their 
ecclesiastical mother. The remainder of this article must be devoted to 
a brief account of the present Church edifice, consecrated Jan. 25, 1872, by 
the Right Rev. John B. Kerfoot, D.D., the first bishop of the diocese of 
Pittsburgh. The style of architecture is Gothic. Trinity is the pride 
of the city, and not only the Church ornament of the West, but one of the 
most magnificent Church edifices of the whole land. The length of nave 
and chancel is 154 feet; width, 66 feet; across transepts, 88 feet; the 
chancel, 40 by 32 feet. There is a chime of ten bells. The white marble 
altar and reredos are most chaste and beautiful. The rich windows in 
the chancel are memorials to bishops departed. The windows on either 
side of the building are memorials to the loved ones who have gone before, 
some young in years, some in the midst of promise, some feeble with age, 
all are sweetly expressive of the sentiments of -Christian remembrance 
and affection. A passage-way connects the Church with a commodious 
Chapel for Sunday-school and week-day services. A tower and spire two 
hundred and sixteen feet from the ground crowns the imposing group of 
buildings, "poems in stone!" The praises of the sanctuary are led by 
a vested choir of forty voices. A parish building, for which contributions 
have been already made, is to be erected for the accommodation of Church 
societies. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES 145 




Trinity Church, Pittsburg, Penn. 



146 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

GRACE CHURCH, Newton, Mass. Newton is a city of twenty thou 
sand people, adjoining Boston. It is a place of residences rather than of 
business, and has a wide reputation for the beauty of its situation and the 
intelligence of its population. The handsome residences and grounds, the 
well-kept streets, the shaded sidewalks, and the numerous wooded fields 
and hills, give it the appearance of a great park. In few places is so much 
attention paid to popular education, the schools and library being sustained 
at a large outlay of money. For a long time the population of Newton 
constituted a distinctively Puritan community, the dominant form of faith 
being the Congregational. It was not until 1812 that the Episcopal Church 
gained a foothold. In that year old St. Mary s, Newton Lower Falls, was 
organized. 

Grace Church Parish, Newton, did not come into existence until 1855. 
The first services were held that year in the house of the parents of the 
present Bishop of Iowa, Dr. Perry. The officiating clergyman was the Rev. 
T. F. Fales of Waltham, who continued in charge until the Rev. J. S. Copley 
Greene was made the rector. The first building erected was a wooden 
chapel, which was used from 1858 to 1873. When it was necessary, on 
account of the growth of the congregation, to construct a new building, the 
old chapel, the rectory, and the grounds which had long been held for a 
large church, were sold, and a better location, on Eldredge and Church 
Streets, was bought. The plans for the present structure were drawn by 
the late A. R. Esty. The corner-stone was laid by the Rev. T. F. Fales, 
Sept. 4, 1872, assisted by the then rector, the Rev. Joseph S. Jenckes, jun. 
The building was first occupied for services on St. Andrew s Day, Nov. 30, 
1873. It was not consecrated until St. Andrew s Day, Nov. 30/1887, four 
teen years after it was first occupied, a heavy debt having delayed that 
important event. In 1884 the Parish erected a Chapel and Parish House on 
the north side of the Church, from plans of Mr. W. P. Wentworth, archi 
tect, Boston. This addition was paid for as soon as completed. Since the 
consecration of the Church the interior has been improved, and additions 
have been made to its adornments. The rectors of the parish have been the 
Rev. J. S. C. Greene, the Rev. Dr. P. H. Steenstra, the Rev. H. C. Mayer, the 
Rev. Dr. J. S. Jenckes, and since January, 1875, the Rev. Dr. G. W. Shinn. 
The three buildings, Church, Chapel, and Parish House, are connected. The 
Church .consists of chancel, nave, aisles, transepts, vestry-room, organ-room, 
tower, and porch. The outside length is one hundred and twenty-two feet, 
the width across the transepts is seventy-two feet. The ceiling is open to 
the roof, and is divided into panels by the open timbering. The clere-story 
is supported by columns of polished Belgium marble, with sandstone 
bases and capitals. The shafts supporting the stone arch of the chancel 
are of Lisbon marble. The columns in the transepts and chancel are of 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCPIES. 



147 



dove-colored Vermont marble. The outer walls are of Roxbury conglom 
erate stones, laid in rubble-work, with trimmings of sandstone. The tower 
is massive, and terminates in a graceful stone spire. The height from the 
ground to the top of the gilt cross is one hundred and thirty-six feet. The 
height of the west gable is fifty-two feet. All the windows are filled with 




Grace Church, Newton, Mass. 



rich, warm tints of stained glass. A number of them are memorials, the 
great west window commemorating Mr. George Linder, one of the first 
wardens, the window in the middle of the apse over the altar being in 
memory of the Rev. Mr. Greene, the first rector. Just after the consecra 
tion of the Church a memorial to Mr. H. H. Linder was placed in the 
north wall. It was through Mr. Linder s legacy that the impulse was given 



148 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

to the movement which culminated in the consecration of the Church. The 
wood-work of the interior the pews, wainscoting, etc. is of heavy black 
walnut. The altar and font are of Nova-Scotia stone, the latter having 
columns of marble for the support of the bowl. A brass eagle lectern of 
beautiful pattern and fine finish commemorates the Hon. William S. Gardner, 
a former warden. The seating capacity of the building is about seven 
hundred, but owing to the broad spaces in the passage-ways, etc., a hundred 
or so more can be accommodated on occasions. The Chapel is as interest 
ing as the Church. It is a proper chapel, fitted up with Caen-stone altar and 
reredos, brass chancel railing and lectern, stained-glass windows, and all 
the needed appliances for reverent worship. It has been purposely finished 
with light cypress wood and oak seats, to contrast with the darker finish of 
the Church. It is in frequent use for celebrations of the eucharist, for 
Lenten and other services, and for the opening and closing services of the 
Sunday school. The Parish House north of the Chapel consists of a two- 
story building, having on the first floor two parlors and a reading-room, on 
the second floor a refectory, two dressing-rooms, and a kitchen, beside 
closets, and other conveniences. It is used for Sunday-school purposes^ 
and for the various chapters of the Parish Guild. The Guild now numbers 
thirteen chapters, of which four are for aiding missionary work, one is a 
branch of the Girls Friendly, and the others are for general and special 
Church work. A chime of bells calls to prayer. 

The prosperity of Grace Church has been unusual, not only in the 
acquisition of such beautiful buildings, but in the numerous enterprises in 
which it has engaged. 

ST. MARK S CHURCH, San Antonio, Tex., was chosen and desig 
nated by Dr. Elliott, the first bishop of Western Texas, as his cathedral. 
The rector, wardens, and vestry assented, and the congregation, by a unani 
mous vote, ratified the arrangement. It was thus used as a cathedral during 
the life of Bishop Elliott, but with the coming of the present bishop the 
former agreement has, by mutual consent, been rescinded, and St. Mark s 
has resumed its original position as a Parish Church only. The first organi 
zation was effected by the Rev. J. F. Fish, chaplain U.S.A., July, 1850, 
under the title of Trinity Church. He was succeeded by the Rev. Charles F. 
Rottenstein, 1853-54, with whom was associated, as a missionary among the 
Germans, his father, the Rev. George H. Rottenstein. A Church building 
was begun, and considerable progress made towards its completion, when 
a vacancy in the rectorship, and mismanagement in some way, resulted in an 
entire loss of the property, and the extinction of the parochial organization. 
A new parish was organized on Easter Monday, 1858, under the title of 
St. Mark s Church, by the Rev. Lucius H. Jones. The corner-stone of the 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 149 

present building was laid December, 1859, and the work had progressed 
until the walls were about half-way up, when the war put a stop to it. 
Mr. Jones s successors in the rectorship, or in temporary charge, were, in 
the order named, the Rev. H. G. Batterson, Rev. W. T. Dickinson Dalzell, 
Rev. R. H. Murphy, Rev. Joseph J. Nicholson, Rt. Rev. Alexander Gregg, 
Rev. E. A. Wagner, the Rev. Melville D. Keith, and the present incum 
bent, the Rev. W. R. Richardson, who assumed the rectorship of the parish 
June i, A.D. 1868. The congregation was then worshipping in a rented 
schoolroom, on rough school benches, with unplastered walls, the upper 
floor not even laid, and with a canvas screen for vestry-room. The first 
step taken in advance was to purchase the building on very favorable terms, 
under a builder s lien, and to finish and furnish it neatly, using the upper 




St. Mark s Church, San Antonio, Tex. 

portion as a chapel, and renting the lower portion for school purposes. 
Meantime the unfinished walls of the Church, begun so long ago, had stood 
until they had grown quite gray under the influences of the climate, and 
were not unfrequently mistaken by the tourist and stranger for the ruins of 
some one of the old Spanish missions that dot the beautiful valley of the 
San Antonio. The narrow walls of the chapel soon began to cramp the 
growing congregation; and in July, 1873, work was resumed on the Church, 
and the opening services were held on Easter Day, 1875. It was not unt ^ 
six years afterwards that the Church, having been entirely finished and 
suitably furnished, and a debt of eight thousand dollars fully paid, was con 
secrated on St. Mark s Day, April 25, 1881. The congregation having thus 
taken possession of their larger quarters, the vestry deeded back to the 
bishop, for one-third what it had originally cost them, the school building, 
St. Mary s Hall, for its original purpose as a Diocesan Church school for 
girls. It may be well to add here that this building had been mainly built 



150 KIiVG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

with funds contributed by the late Mr. Wolfe, whose princely gifts for the 
cause of Christian education, together with those of his worthy daughter, 
the late Miss Catherine Wolfe, are so well known. 

The Church stands on historic, and, in a sense, almost consecrated 
ground, it having once belonged to the Mission of San Antonio de Valero, 
now known as the " Alamo," and having been granted by the Spanish Crown, 
upon the secularization of the Church property, to two of the converted 
Indians, who had been dependents of the said mission. The deed or patent 
is dated Oct. 28, 1793. The Church is built of a cream-colored limestone, 
after plans by the elder Upjohn, and in general style is Gothic, modified to 
meet the needs of a semi-tropical climate. The windows are very low and 
broad, with mullions and floriated heads. An entirely original and unique 
arrangement is found in the louvre openings under the window proper, and 
extending to the floor. The architectural effect outwardly is that of a 
deeply recessed panelling under the windows, while the practical benefit 
within is a direct and perfect ventilation, giving full play to the summer 
breezes, so necessary to comfort in this climate. The grounds have been 
laid off and beautified, so that now the Church is fairly embowered in trees 
and shrubbery, grapes and pomegranates, and the buttresses draped with 
bignonia, honeysuckle, and ivy, so that it is no wonder if, under the influ 
ence of the perfume and the droning of the humming-bird and bee, the more 
staid members of the Church, having full confidence in the orthodoxy of 
their rector, sometimes fall asleep. The dimensions of the Church are, 
length. 100 feet; breadth, 56 feet; seating capacity, 600. The roof is open- 
timbered, and done in polychrome. 

St. Mark s is peculiarly rich in memorials and thank-offerings; the 
windows, the font, the altar, with its vases and desk and festal hangings, 
memorials that tell of a " sorrow not without hope," and of " a hope that is full 
of immortality," and whisper of the " communion of saints." One window, 
especially, is a memorial of the Rev. Mr. Jones, the first rector and founder, 
and was given by the late Alonzo P. Jones of Boston, and other members 
of the family. It was made in Boston, where it was on exhibition several 
weeks, and is of the highest artistic merit and beauty. Most of the other 
windows are thank-offerings for great and wonderful mercies and deliver 
ances. Thus each has its story, and each and all have been planned and 
designed with reference to the circumstances under and because of which 
they were given. An exceedingly interesting historical relic is found in 
the bell, which hangs in the small bell-gable over the vestry-room door. 
This was cast from a cannon of nearly pure copper, found buried near the 
outer wall of the historic "Alamo," "the Thermopylae of Texas." The 
present number of communicants is 350: the value of Church property, 
$50,000. This includes, besides the Church building itself, a beautiful and 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 151 

commodious parish building, now nearly completed, for rectory, Sunday- 
school, and other Church purposes, to cost about $15,000. During the 
rectorship of Mr. Richardson two mission stations, organized under the 
auspices of St. Mark s, have become independent parishes, and still a 
fourth parish has been organized. in the city, all, of course, drawing some 
what from the membership of the mother parish, and also sharing in the 
natural growth of the city. As illustrative of the fluctuating character of 
the population in the past, the loss in communicants by removal only has 
been 555, and by death during the twenty years only 45; total loss of 
600. The city during the same period has grown from 9,000 to 45,000 
inhabitants. 

TRINITY CHURCH, Chicago, 111. In the winter of 1841-42 the 
parish was organized. Nineteen persons signed the following: " We, whose 
names are hereunto affixed, deeply impressed with the truth of the Christian 
religion, and sincerely desirous to promote its hoiy influences in the hearts 
and lives of ourselves and families, neighbors and friends, do hereby asso 
ciate and wish to be organized together under the name, style, and title of 
The Parish of Trinity Church, in the city of Chicago, in communion with 
the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Diocese of Illinois and of the 
United States, whose mode of worship, constitution, and canons we hereby 
adopt and promise to obey." At a later meeting .the organization was per 
fected by suitable resolutions, the election of vestry and wardens, who were 
also made trustees, and the adoption of the following : " Resolved, That the 
parish now organized be known under the name and style of Trinity Church." 
The parish consisted of about twenty-five families. From this time until 
August, 1843, Rev - Isaac Hallam seems to have officiated as minister, when 
Rev. W. F. Walker accepted the rectorship of Trinity Church in conjunc 
tion with that of St. James; and March 7, 1844, he became exclusively the 
rector of Trinity Church. The following clergymen have been rectors of 
the parish : the Rev. William Barlow, the Rev. Cornelius E. Swope, the 
Rev. Henry J. Whitehouse, D.D., the Rev. William A. Small wood, the Rev. 
Noah Hunt Schenck, the Rev. James Pratt, the Rev. George David Cum- 
mings, the Rev. R. J. Keeling, the Rev. Dr. Edward Sullivan, the Rev. Dr. 
R. A. Holland. In October, 1883, the Rev. Louis Shreve Osborne of Grace 
Church, Sandusky, O., was elected, being the twelfth in succession, and 
accepting entered upon his duties, Epiphany, Jan. 6, 1884. He is still in 
charge. 

On June 5, 1844, the corner-stone of the first Church edifice was laid by 
the Right Rev. Philander Chase, D.D., bishop of the tliocese, the location 
being on the north side of Madison Street, about eighty feet west of Clark 
Street. The building was a neat frame, and was first occupied on the 



152 



KING S HAAWBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



twelfth Sunday after Trinity, Aug. 25, 1844. A new site was obtained in 
June, 1860, on the south side of Jackson Street, between Wabash and Mich 
igan Avenues, and a stone edifice, with .two towers, erected there. It was 
first occupied for the annual parish meeting on Easter Monday, April i, 1861. 
The Jackson-street Church was destroyed Monday, Oct. 10, 1871, at about 
ten o clock A.M., by "the great fire of October, 1871." This conflagration 
swept away nearly all the buildings in the business portion of the city, lying 
north of Harrison Street, and all the buildings on the north side of the 




Trinity Church, Chicago, 111. 

Chicago River as far as Lincoln Park, and even beyond, and covering about 
twenty-six hundred acres. 

The parish soon rallied from this blow. The old site, where the armory 
of the First Regiment Infantry, Illinois National Guard, now stands, was sold, 
a new one purchased, and on July 16, 1873, its corner-stone was laid by the 
Right Rev. Henry J. Whitehouse, D.D., Bishop of Illinois, at the south-east 
corner of Michigan Avenue and Twenty-sixth Street. A new and handsome 
stone Church was erected, and occupied for the first service on Sunday, Nov. 
22, 1874. On Easter Day, 1882, the Church debt of about fifty thousand 
dollars was paid off. In June, 1884, the property on the corner of Indiana 
Avenue and Twenty-sixth Street, 100 feet front on Indiana Avenue and 189 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 153 

feet on Twenty-sixth Street, with the buildings thereon, and adjoining the 
Church property, was purchased for forty thousand dollars, and occupied by 
the rector in October of the same year. In December, 1884, the Working- 
men s Club of Trinity Church was organized, with the rector as president, 
and a free reading-room and library opened on Dearborn Street near Thirty- 
first Street. The care of this institution was assumed by the young men of 
the parish. About the same time in the winter of 1884-85, the Young Ladies 
Missionary Society was organized, with Mrs. L. S. Osborne as president, to 
foster an interest in the domestic and foreign missionary work of the Church. 
The old society, known as the Hospital and Aid Society, was re-organized 
on a new basis, to care for the needs of the poor of the parish, and to 
undertake the support of a bed and the endowment of a room in St. Luke s 
Hospital. A branch of the Woman s Auxiliary to the Board of Missions 
was organized in November, 1885, with Mrs. C. L. Raymond as president. 
A permanent home for these numerous societies being a necessity, in the 
summer of 1885, an unoccupied building upon the Church property, fronting 
on Twenty-sixth Street, between the Chapel and the Rectory, was remod 
elled and furnished at an expense of over a thousand dollars. Thus three 
desirable rooms were provided, the lower for the primary department of the 
Sunday school, the two upper for the Bible-classes on Sunday, and for the 
various guilds and societies during the week. This building was named 
"Trinity House." In June, 1886. Trinity Chapter No. 24, Brotherhood of 
St. Andrew, was established in the parish for the promotion of spiritual life 
among its members, and for the ingathering of young men into the Church. 
Henry Barrett Chamberlin was chosen director, and Frank M. S. Read 
secretary. In July and August, 1886, the Church, Chapel, Rectory, and 
Trinity House were subjected to an entire renovation within and without, 
during which months the Church was necessarily closed. On the first 
Sunday in September it was re-opened for Divine service. 

ST. JAMES CHURCH, Chicago, 111. The first service in what 
subsequently became the Parish of St. James was held by the Rev. Palmer 
Dyer, Oct. 12, 1834, in the Presbyterian house of worship. The following 
Sunday, the Rev. Isaac W. Hallam, a missionary of the Domestic Board, held 
a service in the Baptist house of worship. On the 26th of October, a parish 
was organized in an unfinished frame building on North Water Street. After 
worshipping there for some time, an auction store on the South Side w^as 
secured. Says Mr. Hallam, " The walls were covered with plats of towns 
that were to be; and we used to go early in the morning, and turn them to 
the wall, so that the attention of the people might not be directed to worldly 
business. There were very few chairs; and most of the congregation used 
to sit on barrels, boxes, and baskets, while I preached from the auctioneer s 



154 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

desk, where during the week town-lots were sold for five dollars apiece. 
Indians often came in during the services, and others looked in, but more 
passed the door." The first Church edifice was begun in 1835. The base 
ment was used fora while until the upper part was made ready. The first 
bell brought to Chicago was rung for the Christmas service of 1836. The 
building was consecrated by Bishop Chase, June 25, 1837. One feature of 
the old Church was a large mahogany pulpit, with screens on each side, 
before which stood the reading-desk, and still in front of the desk was the 
Holy Table. When Dr. Hallam resigned, in 1843, there were eighty-nine 
communicants. Dr. Hallam was succeeded by the Rev. W. F. Walker, 
and then by the Rev. S. B. Kellogg. The Rev. Robert H. Clarkson, after 
wards bishop of Nebraska, became rector while in deacon s orders in 1849, 
and under his vigorous administration the parish flourished abundantly, and 
grew rapidly in numbers and in influence. When he came to Chicago the 
city numbered only twenty-three thousand people; but he entered upon- his 
work in the parish just as the wonderful tide of enterprise and business-life 
was setting towards this metropolis of the West. It soon became necessary 
to enlarge the Church, and so some seven thousand dollars were spent for 
this purpose. Later on galleries were put in, and still the old building was 
too small. 

In 1856 a lot was bought at the corner of Cass and Huron Streets, and 
the corner-stone was laid June 21, 1856, of the building which was afterwards 
swept away by the dreadful fire of Oct. 9, 1871. This second edifice was a 
large and handsome stone Church, 72 by 148 feet, and presented much the 
same appearance that the present Church does, except that it was without 
transepts, vestibule, or tower. The first service was held in it Dec. 27, 1857. 
There was a heavy debt upon it, which for some time was so burdensome 
as to threaten the continuance of the parish ; but, after most vigorous 
efforts, the debt was all paid, and the building was consecrated May 19, 1864. 
During Dr. Clarkson s ministry a Rectory was built on Cass Street. It was 
afterwards removed to the rear of the Church. The fire of 1871 swept that 
away also. A hospital was another of Dr. Clarkson s good works. It was 
maintained from 1854 to 1858, when St. Luke s Hospital superseded it. 
Dr. Clarkson s rectorship, extending over a period of seventeen years, was 
a prosperous one, and was marked by great interest in the mission-work of 
the Church at large. The number of communicants grew from 116 to 324. 
The result of his labors was shown in a noble Church, surpassing then all 
others in the city in its beauty, in a large congregation gathered from all 
conditions of men, and in many charities set on foot and made useful to the 
bodies and souls of others. After Dr. Clarkson s elevation to the episco 
pate, the rectorship was filled by the Rev. Dr. J. H. Rylance, under whom 
large sums of money were spent in improving the property; $100,000 were 



K2 r JVC S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 155 




St. James Church, Chicago, 111. 



156 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

thus spent, making the cost altogether about $200,000. The Rev. Dr. Hugh 
Miller Thompson became rector in the summer of 1871, and had hardly 
begun his work when the awful conflagration of October swept Church and 
Rectory away. The members of the congregation, houseless and homeless, 
were scattered far and wide. Services, however, were held the following 
Sunday morning, in the open air, under the blackened and crumbling walls 
of the late grand edifice, and the rector made an address. With courageous 
spirit,, the little band of about fifty persons there assembled resolved that 
St. James Church, around which so many holy associations clustered, 
should, in the providence of God, arise again from its ashes. Dr. Thomp 
son, after encouraging the greatly afflicted parish, and securing considerable 
pecuniary aid for rebuilding the Church, resigned; and the Rev. Arthur 
Brooks took up the work April 28, 1872. A temporary place of worship 
was made by fitting up part of the front of the ruins. About 250 of the 
members attended the first service in this place, some of them coming from 
distances as great as twenty miles. Morning services were held in this 
temporary chapel until Nov. 2, 1873, when the basement was ready for 
occupation. The movement for re-erecting the upper part was in progress ; 
but an old debt of $40,000 remained yet unpaid, and the financial crisis of 
1873 checked all operations. 

It was not until 1875 that the Church was finished. When we consider 
the struggles of the people to rebuild their own homes and to recover from 
the effects of the great fire, we can measure in some degree their self-denial 
and generosity for the cause of Christ. The parish rapidly recuperated 
under the ministry of Mr. Brooks, so that when he resigned, in 1875, the 
number of actual communicants on the register was 325, nearly as large as 
in the former days of prosperity. Various parochial agencies were actively 
at work during the time of rebuilding; and the gifts to charitable and mis 
sionary work were large, considering how earnestly the people labored to 
re-erect their destroyed place of worship. The Rev. Dr. Samuel S. Harris, 
later on the bishop of Michigan, became rector Oct. i, 1875, and on the 
9th of that month a memorial thanksgiving service was held in the nave of 
the building, the first since the October of 1871. Once more the people 
assembled within the walls of their noble Church, now larger and more 
commodious than the former, and more beautifully adorned. The cost of 
the restoration was about $100,000; but it represented much self-denial and 
devotion. On Christmas Day, 1876, the tuneful chimes, given in memory of 
Mr. James Carter, were rung for the first time. Dr. Harris continued in 
the rectorship until Aug. n, 1879, when the Rev. Dr. Frederick Courtney 
succeeded him. The ministry of the latter was signalized by the removal 
of the debt: $35,000 was placed on the altar on Easter morning, 1884; and 
on May 31 the building was consecrated by Bishop McLaren. Dr. Courtney 



A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 157 

remained two years, when the present rector, the Rev. Dr. William H. 
Vibbert, entered upon the work. The parish is now in the full tide of 
prosperity. The semi-centennial anniversary of its organization was cele 
brated Oct. 26, 1884, on which occasion Dr. Vibbert delivered a historical 
discourse, recounting in detail the story of the trials and triumphs of the 
parish. It looms up to-day as a centre of noble Christian work and of 
consecrated energy. 

CHURCH OF THE ASCENSION, Washington, B.C. " In the 

autumn of 1843." said the first rector of the Parish of the Ascension in his 
farewell sermon, u the idea of establishing a fifth Protestant Episcopal 
Church as equidistant as practicable between St. John s and Trinity 
Churches suggested itself to .the mind of a gentleman, a communicant of 
the Church, living within the bounds just mentioned. The subject was 
brought by him to the attention of the neighboring clergy, the Rev. Drs. 
Hawley, Stringfellow, and French, who not only encouraged the enterprise, 
but by their urgent request prevailed upon the Rev. Lewis J. Gilliss to enter 
upon the heroic work of founding a new parish." He began on March 4, 

1844, in a small house on H Street, N.W., with afternoon services, and 
with but three families. The first meeting for organization was held May 7. 
By vote of the vestry, Mr. Gilliss became rector (1844-1854). It was 
determined to build a Church as soon as possible on a lot on H Street, 
between Ninth and Tenth, given by William Van Ness; and in December, 

1845, the building, though not completed, "admitted of Divine worship," 
and was entered by the congregation. The Rev. Henry Stanley became 
the next rector (1854-1857)$ and was succeeded by the Rev. William 
Pinkney, D.D. (1857-1869). Under his able, energetic, and loving ministry, 
the parish grew rapidly in. numbers and all the elements of strength. The 
Church building was improved by the addition of a chancel and changes in 
the interior, and the number of communicants increased to three hundred. 
In 1869 Dr. Pinkney was elected assistant bishop of Maryland, and the 
parish, which he at once resigned, was for about two years under the rector 
ship of the learned and godly Rev. Orlando Hutton, D.D. (1869-1872). In 
the autumn of 1872, Bishop Pinkney (1872-1883) was recalled to the rector 
ship, and accepted it on condition that he should have an associate : and in 
January, 1873, the Rev. John H. Elliott, S.T.D., entered on the duties of 
associate rector. 

For several years the feeling had grown, that the Parish Church was out of 
harmony with modern Washington, and was "lying waste," while many 
of the worshippers lived "in ceiled houses." On Easter Day, 1873, the 
offerings amounted to fifty thousand dollars. Other offerings followed. 
A beautiful site was purchased at the corner of Massachusetts Avenue and 



158 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

Twelfth Street, N.W. ; and on the second Sunday in Advent, 1875, just 
twenty months after the first spadeful of earth had been lifted, the congre 
gation entered the completed Church. On Easter Day, 1885, the indebted 
ness still remaining after several reductions was all provided for. The total 
cost in principal and interest, of lot, church, and furniture, was $205,000. 
Of this amount $12,000 came from the sale of the old lot, and Mr. 
W. W. Corcoran gave nearly $100,000. The gift of the remainder by a 
congregation not wealthy cost them great sacrifice. 

The dimensions of the Church are 86 feet 4 inches front on Massachu 
setts Avenue, with a depth on Twelfth Street of 135 feet 6 inches. The 
height to the spring of the curbing is 31 feet, and the entire height 74 feet. 
The architecture is mixed Gothic. The walls are of Maryland white marble 
in the rough, trimmed with light pink Ohio-stone. The tints of the two 
stones harmonize with beautiful effect. A tower of the same material as the 
Church rises at the south-east corner to the height of 90 feet, which is sur 
mounted by a slated spire 97 feet in height, surmounted by a cross gilt. The 
tower and the turret at the south-west corner are octagonal in form. The 
main entrance is a double Gothic doorway on the avenue front. The princi 
pal arch is of pink Missalon-stone, supported by three columns of gray 
stone, finely carved and graced with corbels. Over the entrance is a finely 
chiselled cross, subscribed with the monogram I. H. S. Above is a mul- 
lioned window with quatrefoil and trefoil ornaments, and glazed with stainecl 
glass. The entrance is approached by a flight of five granite steps from the 
terrace, which is reached by three steps from the sidewalk. On each side of 
the edifice are six twin mullioned windows, and the same number of small 
Gothic windows in the roof. On the Twelfth-street side is a porch of 
masonry for the entrance of the clergy, and affording an entrance to the 
basement. Over and back of this portion is a pinnacle supported by col 
umns, and containing a rose-window. There is a similar porch under the 
turret on the west side. In the rear of the edifice is a turret of masonry, 
and a window similar in some respects to that over the main entrance, but 
of more elaborate design. The ridge of the slated roof is adorned with a 
railing. Carved corbels, graceful scroll-work, and many beautiful little 
designs add a pleasing effect to the whole. 

To whatever degree one may be impressed with the imposing external 
appearance of the Church, he cannot help uttering an exclamation of sur 
prise and pleasure upon viewing the interior. An arch of pink and gray 
stone, springing to the height of forty-eight feet, spans the chancel; and 
within is an arch of raised plaster-work, finished in imitation of the outer one. 
The elegantly proportioned window in the rear of the building fourteen 
feet in width and twenty feet in height sheds a softened light, mingled 
with a myriad of colors from the stained glass, over the chancel. The rail 




Church of the Ascension, Washington, D.C. 



l6o A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

and all the furniture of the chancel are of walnut, carved in antique Gothic. 
Arches of stone spring up on either side of the chancel east and west of 
the space. At the sides of the chancel are the vestry and robing-rooms, 
each eighteen feet square. The interior walls of the Church are plastered, 
but the roof is of open woodwork, under which are Gothic arches of Florida 
pine, supported by slight iron columns, ornamented with fine scroll-work. 
The columns and their adornments are painted a dark brown, but the caps 
are tinged with gold. The panels in the ceilings and the timbers of the roof 
are frescoed with arabesque work on blue ground, bordered with gray and 
brown, and the sides of the edifice are frescoed in panels. The south end 
or front of the building is filled with a capacious organ-loft of hard wood, 
and Gothic in style, in harmony with its surroundings. The auditorium con 
tains one hundred and sixty-one pews, each nine feet in length, of hard 
wood finished with walnut, and upholstered with crimson rep. The audito* 
rium will seat about one thousand persons. The gas-jets, which are lighted 
by electricity, are situated principally at the head of the columns. The base 
ment is divided in four apartments, for the accommodation of the Sunday 
school, library, and furnaces. The architects were Dixon & Carson of 
Baltimore. The only change in the rectorship since 1873 is* that on the 
death of Bishop Pinkney in 1883, his associate, the Rev. John H. Elliott, 
S.T.D., became rector. The growth of the parish is gratifying. The 
number of communicants has grown from 280 to 760. 

ST. LUKE S CHURCH, Germantown, Penn. Germantown is one 
of the oldest towns in Pennsylvania, having been settled in 1683, one year 
later than Philadelphia itself. The original settlers were Germans, and 
were mainly Lutheran in religious belief. Very few services of the 
English Church were held in the town until families from the city began 
to make this beautiful place their summer residence. A congregation of 
Episcopalians was gathered in 1811, and services were held by different 
clergymen whose terms qf engagement covered periods from a few months 
to a few years. There were five of these clergymen from 1812 to 1825, 
the Rev. Messrs. Warren, Ward, Clay, Dupuy, and Lippitt. 

Properly speaking, the first rector was the Rev. John Rodney, for the 
parish was not duly incorporated until he assumed charge. The Rev. John 
Rodney became the rector Sept. 25, 1825, and thus began a pastorate which 
continued for sixty-one years. It is a most remarkable record, and well- 
nigh without parallel in the annals of the ministry in this country. Mr. 
Rodney s period of active service ran from 1825 to 1867, when he was made 
rector emeritus. He continued to hold this latter title, and to render 
occasional help until Sept. 28, 1886, when he passed away to his reward. 
The rectors of the parish have been men of distinguished ability : Rev. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. iQ[ 

B. W. Morris from 1867 to 1869, now bishop of Oregon ; Rev. A. Wadleigh 
from 1869 to 1873; Rev. Dr. W. H. Vibbert from 1873 to 1882; and the 
Rev. Dr. S. Upjohn, the present rector, from 1883. 

The parish has had three Church buildings. The first was erected in 
1818; the second was an enlargement of the first, and was completed 
in 1852. The corner-stone of the present noble building was laid June 26, 
1875. The consecration took place June 8, 1876. The Church stands back 
from the main street, and is partly hidden by the buildings in front. After 
passing up a long avenue, the graceful Church, the convenient Parish 
Building, and the quiet cemetery are before you. The Church is one of the 
best of Mr. H. M. Congdon s efforts. It js built of gray stone, with slated 




St. Luke s Church, Germantown, Penn. 

roof, and has cost thus far about $84,000. The tower, twenty feet square, 
is not yet completed, and the north transept is to be enlarged ; so that 
$16,000 will be required to finish the work. The whole length of the struc 
ture is 117 feet; the chancel is 25 feet deep; the nave is 35 feet wide, and 
the aisles 10 feet; the south transept is 30 feet deep. An organ-chamber 
is north, and a robing-room is south, of the chancel. The clere-story is 
supported by an arcade with moulded bases and caps ; the columns are 
rounded and massive. The windows are filled with richly stained glass. 
Under the chancel end, in a basement above ground, are rooms for Bible- 
classes, the choir, and for other purposes. 

While the outside of the building is unfinished, the interior is as com 
plete as it can be made, and presents a general effect that is a delight and 



1 62 A SA r G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

satisfaction. The decorator was Mr. E. J. N. Stent of New York. The wall 
and ceiling colors, although strong, are well blended ; the chancel, of course, 
being the culmination of the artist s best efforts. Without entering into a 
detailed description of Mr. Stent s work, it will suffice to say that he has 
made a most charming interior, and has helped, not marred, the architect s 
efforts. Two very noticeable memorials in the interior are the brass tablet 
to the Rev. John Rodney, and the brass lamp over the pulpit in memory of 
Mrs. Vibbert, the wife of the rector under whose ministry the Church was 
built. The statistics of the parish, in 1887, were as follows: communicants, 
61 1 ; public services, 410; Sunday school, 490; parish day school, 105; 
industrial school, 79; contributions to missions, the poor, etc., $6,412. This 
is exclusive of the parish expenses. The guild has many branches, includ 
ing St. Andrew s Brotherhood, a temperance society, mothers meeting, 
clothing club, etc. The choir of the parish consists of men and boys, and 
is one of the oldest, as well as one of the best, of the vested choirs in the 
vicinity. A very convenient stone building for parish purposes was erected 
in the churchyard in 1866, as "a thank-offering to God for the blessings 
of peace." A new Rectory has recently been purchased, and occupied 
October, 1888. 

ST. PAUL S CHURCH, Cleveland, O. The present building stands 
on a site two miles away from the location of the former St. Paul s. The 
parish was organized Oct. 26, 1846, at which time forty-six persons signed 
the Articles of Association. The first rector was the Rev. Dr. Gideon B. 
Perry, and services were held for a while in a room fitted up for the 
purposes of worship. In March, 1848, a lot was purchased on Euclid 
Avenue, a little east of the Public Square, and soon after the parish began 
the erection of a building, to cost five thousand dollars. As this building 
was approaching completion, in the summer of 1849, it was entirely destroyed 
by fire. To the young and struggling parish this was a sad blow, but a 
blow which was bravely borne, as the following resolution passed by the 
vestry almost immediately after the fire clearly indicates : "Resolved: That 
the parish of St. Paul s Church of Cleveland, O., proceed forthwith to build 
upon the church-lot on Euclid Avenue, a stone or brick edifice for the use 
of said parish, to be worth when completed eight thousand dollars, and to 
be finished in one year from this time." This resolution was so vigorously 
acted upon, that, before the end of the year 1850, the people of St. Paul s 
were worshipping in their new Church edifice. Dr. Perry was succeeded in 
1853 by the Rev. Dr. R. Bethel Claxton, who served until 1859. In l86 
Rev. Dr. W. F. Paddock became rector, holding the position until 1863. 
The Rev. Dr. J. H. Rylance was rector until 1867, when he was succeeded 
by the Rev. Frederick Brooks. Mr. Brooks took charge of the parish in 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 163 




164 A JWG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

November, 1867, and remained in charge till his death, Sept. 15, 1874. 
During the rectorship of Mr. Brooks, decisive steps were taken toward 
securing a more eligible situation for a Church and parish buildings. The 
"down town" lot was sold in March, 1874, and in the following November 
a lot was purchased on the corner of Euclid and Case streets, nearly two miles 
eastward from the old site, and on this lot the present St. Paul s Church was 
erected. Mr. Brooks was not permitted to see in the flesh the completion 
of that parish removal for which he had so zealously labored ; but many who 
wrought with him have been spared to see an equipment for work, and an 
enlargement of parish influence, far exceeding their most sanguine expecta 
tions. The Rev. C. M. Wines followed Mr. Brooks in the rectorship of 
St. Paul s, and remained in charge of the parish till May I, 1876. After the 
resignation of Mr. Wines, the Rev. Nelson S. Rulison was elected rector, 
taking charge of the parish Nov. 7, 1876. 

The present Church-building was first occupied for worship, Sunday, 
Dec. 24, 1876, and was consecrated Feb. I, 1877. The new parish position 
and equipment gave to Dr. Rulison an excellent opportunity for the exercise 
of his rare gifts ; and, assisted by the zealous co-operation of many faithful 
lay-helpers, he greatly increased the strength and influence of St. Paul s. 
Having been elected assistant bishop of Central Pennsylvania, Dr. Rulison 
resigned the rectorship of St. Paul s, Nov. 7, 1884; and in December, 1884, 
the Rev. Cyrus S. Bates, D.D., was called to the parish, and has been in 
charge of it since Feb. i, 1885. The plans for St. Paul s Church, Chapel, 
and Rectory were furnished by Mr. Lloyd, architect, of Detroit. The cost 
of the entire property has been about $170,000. The Church and Chapel 
have seating capacity for about 1,400 persons. The proportions of the 
Church interior, with its wide transepts, open Gothic ceiling, and large 
double-arched chancel, combine, in happy degree, architectural nobleness 
and good acoustic properties. Three memorial tablets have been placed 
in the Church, one for Rev. Dr. Claxton ; one for the Rev. Frederick 
Brooks ; and one for Mr. J. H. Devereux, who was for seventeen years a 
warden of the parish, and for several sessions a delegate from the diocese 
of Ohio to the General Convention. 

ALL SAINTS , Worcester, Mass. The city of Worcester, Mass., has 
a population of about seventy thousand. It is a manufacturing and railway 
centre, and is one of the most prosperous and energetic cities in the State. 
Within a short distance from the suburbs is Lake Quinsigamond, which is 
bordered by a public park. On one side of the city are the grounds and 
buildings of the new Clark University. Northward are the great iron wire 
works, employing many hundreds of workmen. 

The Episcopal Church has now four parishes in Worcester. The main 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 165 

parish is All Saints , the buildings for which are situated on Irving and 
Pleasant Streets. The first efforts at organizing a parish here were made 
in 1835, by the Rev. Thomas H. Vail, now bishop of Kansas. In 1837 they 
were continued by the Rev. Thomas H. Clark, now bishop of Rhode Island. 
It was not, however, until 1843 that the parish was fully organized, under 
the ministry of the Rev. Henry Blackaller. After a number of changes of 
ministers the Rev. William R. Huntington was called in 1862, and con 
tinued as rector until he became the rector of Grace Church, New York. 
The old All Saints Church stood on Pearl Street. It was built in 1846, 
from designs made by the elder Upjohn. It was a small wooden structure 
of graceful proportions. After various enlargements, it was accidentally 
destroyed by fire in 1874. 

After purchasing a new site the present building was begun in 1875. 
The architects were Earle & Fuller of Worcester. The corner-stone was 
laid by Bishop Huntington on the 25th of July. The building was finished 
in September, 1876, and was consecrated by Bishop Paddock, Jan. 24, 1877. 
The lot on which the building stands has a frontage of one hundred and 
forty feet on Irving Street and one hundred and fifty on Pleasant Street. 
The structure consists of Church, Chapel, and Parish Building, which are 
built connectedly. In the angle between the buildings is an open space 
about forty feet square; elsewhere there is a margin of from eight to ten 
feet of ground around the buildings, and all available space not needed for 
walks has been grassed. The foundations of the buildings are of granite 
from Millstone Hill, while all the exterior, from the ground to the capstone 
of the spire, is of brown-stone from East Longmeadow, Mass. This is 
mostly used in the rough, with the natural split faces, laid up in square 
mixed work, with joints of red mortar. Cut stone is sparingly used, but 
some bits of stone carving are not only very decorative in the general effect, 
but are in themselves objects of beauty, particularly the two roundels on the 
front, symbolizing All Saints by the representative heads of Anna and 
Simeon. At the most conspicuous corner of the Church, where the two 
streets meet, rise the tower and spire. The corner-stone, which is placed 
here, is marked on one side by the ancient monogram of the title of Christ, 
and on the other side by the cross and circle. Broad at the bottom, the 
first story of the tower makes a commodious porch, above which is a 
finished room, reached by a stone stairway in a corner turret. The stone 
spire rises to the height of one hundred and sixty-two feet from the side 
walk, and over all the cross, twelve feet more. This is of black iron, with 
parts of gilded brass. The Church is cruciform in plan, and the north 
transept gable forms one of its most prominent features on Pleasant Street. 
A porch and cloister are on one side of this, and the organ-chamber on the 
other, the latter occupying the angle between the transept and the Church. 



1 66 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

The Parish Building, which is in the rear of the Church and Chapel, and 
occupies the angle between them, is only observed from the street in its 
more prominent parts, the dormer windows and the bay-window gable. 
The Church has five entrances, three at the front and one at each transept. 
In the tower porch, built into the south wall, are two stones from Worcester 
Cathedral, and in connection with these has been placed, in compliance with 
a suggestion of the Dean of Worcester, a brass plate, bearing an inscription 
from his pen. 1 The interior of the Church comprises a nave forty-four feet 
wide, with aisles and clere-story ; transepts forty-four feet wide, with a total 
distance of eighty-two feet between transept end-walls ; and an apsidal 
chancel forty-four feet broad by thirty deep. The total length of the build 
ing is one hundred and thirty-three feet. The nave and transepts are 
arranged for about nine hundred sittings, leaving the aisles clear, to be 
hereafter appropriated to sittings when required. The clere-story is sup 
ported by arcades, with Nova-Scotia olive stone columns, having carved 
capitals of conventional foliage. The chancel arch is also of Nova-Scotia 
stone. The inside walls, which are of brick, separated by an air space from 
the outer walls, are plastered, and tinted in distemper, with simple decora 
tions of bands and stripes of color. The chancel is finished with a panelled 
and gabled wainscot of black walnut, the customary illuminated tablets 
forming the background. The organ presents one front of large pipes to 
the chancel, and another one in the north transept, all of them being "speak 
ing pipes." The pulpit and font are the same that did service in the old 
Church. The bronze eagle lectern, ^which stands at the centre of the 
chancel steps, was put in its place to signalize the success of the effort to 
pay the debt on the Church. Adjoining the chancel on the south is the 
vestry, a well-lighted room, with its chimney-corner and open fireplace of 
Caen-stone and tiles, also connecting closets, and a fire-proof safe for the 
preservation of Church records. An object of interest in the vestry is a 
charred wooden cross, which ornamented the south gable of the old Church 
throughout its whole history. It narrowly escaped destruction, as the 
blackened edges show. It stands on what was the credence-table of the 

1 These relics of architectural ornament once adorned 
the Lady Chapel of the Cathedral Church 

of Worcester, England, and are 
presented to the Church of All Saints, 

Worcester, Massachusetts, 

By the Dean and Chapter of the above Cathedral 
as a token of brotherly regard and 

Christian Unity. 

Built into the walls of the new All Saints , " these stones shall be for a memorial," not only of the 
friendly feeling that has long existed between the two cities, which in the Old England and the New 
bear a name in common, but also of the more sacred bond which unites both the givers and the 
receivers, in the fellowship of the Mother Church of our Anglo-Saxon race. 



KING S HANDBOOK Of EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



I6 7 



enlarged chancel of 1871. All the wood finish of the Church is of black 
walnut, and in this material a prominent feature is the glazed screen work 
which forms a vestibule at the east end. The floors generally are covered 




with carpets, but those of the porches and cloisters are laid with English 
tiles of rich patterns. Most of the windows are of cathedral glass, more 
or less decorated, though some of them are quite plain. These will probably 
be replaced by richer ones in the future. The other parts of the building 
communicate with the Church, first by the porch of the south transept, 



1 68 A JNG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

which connects with the main entrance to the chapel, and also by means of 
an archway in the south wall of the chancel, opening into a corridor which 
gives direct access to the vestry, parish library, chapel, and Sunday-school 
library. The chapel is thirty-four by forty-nine feet, with a recess at the 
west end seven by twenty-two feet. At the other end, separated by a roll 
ing wooden curtain, is the infant-class-room, with a seating capacity of 
about seventy-five. The wood finish of the chapel is of cherry. The walls 
and ceilings are decorated in water-color. The chapel presents an unusual 
feature in the arrangement of the organ, which is placed in the middle of 
the north side, bracketed out from the wall. Both the large Church organ 
and the small one are blown by water-motors. The Chapel is furnished 
with reversible settees, and will seat about two hundred and fifty persons. 
The part designated as the Parish Building is of two stories. In the first 
story is the parish library, a room which, in addition to its purposes as 
implied by the name, is used for business and social meetings of the parish 
and vestry, and as a general headquarters for the people of the Church. 
In the second story, over the parish library, are the rooms for the women s 
work, sunny, light, and airy, with ample accompanying closets and con 
veniences. The present rector is the Rev. A H. Vinton. 

ST. THOMAS CHURCH, Hanover, N.H. In the year 1830, the 
Rev. Dr. Hale, then professor of chemistry in Dartmouth College, began 
to hold evening services in his own parlor; he continued them until 1835, 
when, his course in this matter being obnoxious to the college fathers, they, 
having no power to remove him legally, abolished his professorship. Occa 
sional services were held until 1850, when the Rev. Dr. Bourns of Norwich 
University was invited to officiate at Hanover, and soon after the congrega 
tion that was gathered purchased the disused Methodist meeting-house ; he 
continued to minister faithfully and at much personal sacrifice until 1867. 
Soon after that time the Rev. James Haughton became rector; he was suc 
ceeded by the Rev. W. C. Dawson, who was succeeded in 1882 by the Rev. 
R. M. Berkeley, the present rector. 

Hanover is the home of Dartmouth College, where year by year are 
gathered some four hundred young men for instruction and training, which 
"to a great extent determines the character and abiding impressions of 
those whose voices are likely to be listened to on the great subjects of reli 
gion and morality." It was very important that the Church should be 
strongly and permanently planted here, not only to minister to her own sons, 
but to many young men who are drawn hither without any settled religious 
convictions. The necessity of having a substantial and dignified Church edi 
fice forced itself upon those to whom the care and welfare of the Church in 
New Hampshire is committed ; arid it was only after a struggle and labor, 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 1 69 

of which we cannot now tell, that the work was carried forward to its 
present condition. 

The Church was not built all at one time ; first the foundation was laid, 
and after waiting a year, the nave was added, the funds for this purpose 
being raised in Boston, Providence, New York, and elsewhere. " The 
principal donors desired a house worthy of the place," the largest giver 
stipulating that the building should cost not less than twenty thousand dol 
lars. In 1 876 the Church was completed, with the exception of the tower, 
the foundation of which, eleven feet deep of solid masonry, is ready and 
waiting. The Church is of stone, and was designed by Mr. Frederick C. 
Withers of New York ; it is ninety-nine feet long and thirty-six feet wide, 
and has seats for about three hundred persons. Its crowning beauty is the 
chancel, built about a year after the nave, at a cost of ten thousand dollars. 
It is large and seemly, twenty-six feet deep and twenty-four feet wide, with 
a noble arch of stone at its entrance. The east window is of very beautiful 
design, filled with stained glass, and tells the story of the Nativity, Crucifix 
ion, Resurrection, and Ascension; and directly under it is a stone belt, upon 
which is carved the following inscription : " To the glory of God, in memory 
of Jennie Tracy Harris, this chancel is erected A.D MDCCCLXXVI. 
The chancel was the gift of one lady, a memorial of a loved daughter, who 
had, during the summers spent at Lebanon, worshipped with her mother 
at the old Church in Hanover, and, having a great veneration and reverence 
for the house of God, she deplored its forlorn condition ; the dilapidated and 
weather-stained door attracted her notice, and she asked her mother if she 
might paint it with the first money she had, It was this touching reminis 
cence that prompted the mother, when learning of the Church at Hanover 
without a chancel, to erect it in memory of her loved child. During the 
month of September of the present year, great additions were made to the 
chancel by a gentleman of New York, who placed there a chaste and beauti 
ful altar and reredos in memory of his wife, the mother of the child of whom 
the chancel is a memorial. The altar and reredos, designed by Mr. With 
ers, architect of the Church, are of Caen-stone, with mensa and super-altar 
of white statuary marble, the mensa having the five crosses inlaid with red 
Tennessee marble. At the south end of the base of the altar is the inscription, 
" To the glory of God, and in loving memory of Caroline A. McConnell." 
Thus the memories of a loved child, and loving and beloved mother and 
wife, are linked together in the sanctuary and at the Table of the Lord. 
The altar was consecrated Oct. 2, 1887, by the Bishop of New Hampshire. 
The chancel was further improved by the gentleman who erected the altar 
and reredos, by laying an oak floor in the sanctuary and oak steps to the 
altar, and by placing a low rood screen across the chancel arch, and furnish 
ing an oak pulpit of exquisite design and workmanship, sedilia for the 



I/O KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 




sanctuary, and additional choir-stalls of oak ; the chancel was also decorated 
with warm colors in oil, and is now complete and every thing that could be 
wished for in taste and beauty. 

The Church itself is an inspiration to devotion and worship; and the 
congregation appreciate all that has been done, and are grateful to their 
generous benefactors. The students of Dartmouth College, attending upon 
the services and making a very important part of the congregation, are of 
moderate means, and require great economy to go 
through college The only way that the permanent 
maintenance of the services can be assured is by 
endowments, general and special. There are already 
small beginnings in this direction. The seed sown 
here may in God s time bring an abundant harvest. 
The work is important, even though it seem small. 
It has its burdens and cares. It has its encourage 
ments also. Some years ago, before the parish was 

blessed with its 
present beautiful 
Church, and 
while yet wor 
shipping in the 
"old meeting 
house," three 
young men, then 
under -graduates 
in Dartmouth 
College, had 
risen very early, 

and gone to prepare the Church for that day s services, and to try to coax 
some heat out of the well-nigh worn-out furnace. While waiting in the 
cellar for the fire to burn, they talked together regarding their future, and 
considered whether it would not, after all. be well to give up their former 
plans, and after graduation study for the holy ministry. These three men 
have all since been elected to the episcopate. 

TRINITY CHURCH, Boston, Mass. The first Episcopal Church 
built in Boston was King s Chapel, but in 1787 the congregation ceased to 
be in communion with the Episcopal body, having adopted Unitarian views. 
Trinity Parish was organized in 1728, and its first Church was built in 1735. 
This was a plain wooden building at the corner of Summer and Hawley 
Streets. The first rector was the Rev. Addington Davenport. In this 
wooden building the parish worshipped until 1828, when it was succeeded 




St Thomas Church, Hanover, N.H. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. I 




172 



A /JVG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



by the solid Gothic structure on Summer Street, which was used until 1872, 
when the great fire destroyed it. The movement for the construction of a 
new Church really began the winter before the old one was destroyed, but 
the fire hastened their decision. 




Interior of Trinity Church, Boston, Mass 

The new Church, situated at the intersection of Huntington Avenue, 
"Boylston, and Clarendon Streets, is one of the grandest buildings in the 
United States, and will long be a noble monument to its famous architect. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 1/3 

Henry H. Richardson. The style of the building^ and many of its details 
were at the time of its construction quite new in the architecture of this 
country. The Church resembles in some respects the cathedrals in the 
South of France and in Spain, and illustrates the architect s attempts to 
adapt this form of Romanesque architecture to this country. The finest 
view of the building is of the rear, taking in the semi-circular chancel and 
the great square central tower. The front is not yet finished according 
to the wishes of the architect, as he intended that there should be a very 
large and high porch at the west end. This and some better finish of the 
blunt tower ends may be accomplished at a future day. The interior is not 
yet entirely finished, some of the windows not having received their perma 
nent glass, and some of the wall-spaces being destined for further color- 
decoration and figure-paintings. The figure-paintings by Lafarge are a 
most interesting feature of the interior, and attract the attention of visitors, 
not so much by their drawing as by their wonderful coloring. The general 
effect of the interior is charming, owing to the happy combination of rich 
decoration and beautiful woodwork. The chancel is 57 by 52 feet ; the 
extreme width of the Church across the transepts is 121 feet, and the length 
is 1 60 feet; the great central tower or lantern is 46 feet square inside, and 
is, of course, a prominent feature, whether beheld from the inside or looked 
at from without. Two handsome pillared cloisters connect the Chapel with 
the Church. In the east one of these cloisters is part of the stone tracery 
of a window from the ancient Church of St. Botolph s, Old Boston, Eng. 
The chapel has two stories, the lower floor being devoted to various rooms 
for parish societies, etc., and the upper one to Sunday-school and other 
purposes. The cost of the whole structure was $750,000, not counting some 
additions made after the building was opened. The consecration took place 
Feb. 9, 1877. The present rector is the Rev. Dr. Phillips Brooks, under 
whose ministry the new Church was finished. Some of his predecessors in 
the ministry of the parish have been men of great distinction. Among 
them were Bishop Eastburn, Bishop Doane of New Jersey, Bishop Clarke 
of Rhode Island, Bishop Hopkins of Vermont, and Bishop Wainwright of 
New York. 

The present rector has a reputation as a preacher that is world-wide ; 
but the parish itself, as will be seen by the record of work given further on, 
is an exceedingly active one, given to good works. Much has been written 
concerning the great popularity of the rector, but the following by a recent 
writer sums up very happily the elements of his success : 

"It is from the threefold point of view of its effect upon the parish, the 
community, and the general progress of the day, that the work of Phillips Brooks 
must be estimated. His parish cannot be bounded by the local limits of Trinity. 



1/4 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

The ministry of the great preacher cannot be exclusively claimed by the Epis 
copal Church. His work is in those deeper regions of life and thought where 
differing opinions find a common basis, and where, because they rest on the 
universal, they show a true catholicity. This catholicity of Dr. Brooks is a posi 
tive force, deeply felt in his own parish, and one which is impressing itself upon 
the age. . . . 

" A great work is now being done by the rector of Trinity Church, one which 
is making itself so widely felt as a factor in human progress that men are asking 
afar and anear, what is the secret of this activity ? 

" The only secret is the simple, practical fulfilment of that gospel given eigh 
teen centuries ago. Dr. Brooks s method is to put the eternal truths of the gospel 
into modern circulation. His special gift, we may perhaps say, is to translate 
typical gospel history into the circumstances of our own lives and time, and apply 
them to our daily difficulties. 

" Religion, he teaches, only finds its completeness when the aspiration of the 
sanctuary has vitalized itself in acts. He preaches, in short, the gospel of 
character, as finding its only source and its only completion in God." 

Trinity has a Sunday school containing about five hundred pupils, con 
nected with the parish. It meets every Sunday morning in the Chapel. 
Members of Trinity Church will be found working actively in most of the 
benevolent associations of the city, but in the parish itself are several 
organizations which accomplish much good. The Employment Society 
furnishes sewing to many poor women. The Ladies Missionary Society 
and the Thursday evening class are interested in missionary work outside 
the parish. Trinity Club is an association of the young men of the parish, 
the object of which is to bring the young men of the Church together for 
mutual improvement and friendly intercourse. Trinity House, situated on 
Burroughs Place off Hollis Street, was opened a few years ago, to help the 
poor of that region in various ways. Here is a day-nursery where women 
may^ leave their young children while they go out to work. A laundry 
furnishes employment to women who can wash, and an employment society 
gives out sewing. Sewing, cooking, and housekeeping are taught, and 
classes of children ; and a temperance society holds out a helping^hand to 
men. The most important of these agencies is St. Andrew s Church, a 
mission of Trinity, under the charge of the Rev. Reuben Kidner, with 
property recently acquired at a cost of fifty thousand dollars, and with every 
needed equipment for successful work. 

There are two buildings. Facing the street is the Parish House, with 
basement and three floors containing numerous rooms, a hall, and all con 
veniences for work in the many channels of benevolence. Here are gath- 




St. Andrew s Church, Boston, Mass. 



1/6 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

ered classes for instruction in such branches as will enable them to earn a 
livelihood. Here are others for special training in religious knowledge, and 
occasionally there are large gatherings for recreation. This Parish House 
is the scene of much activity day by day. 

The other building is a beautiful Church situated in the rear and ap 
proached through the Parish House, and also by a side passage-way, as 
shown in the picture. The two structures offer facilities for reaching and 
helping large numbers of people. 

ST. SAVIOUR S, Bar Harbor, Me. Few Church buildings in the 
country have won the loving interest of its worshippers as has St. Saviour s, 
in its rough walls and rafters. " Its original quick uprising from the spon 
taneous efforts of prominent Church people from our great cities, its 
crowded attendance from the first, the marked pulpit talent evinced in 
summer visitations, then the sudden demand for a larger Church, and the 
funds immediately given for its construction, and the singularly unique 
character of the final building, these all, with the notable reverence 
of the large congregations, the orderly conduct of its services, and very 
full responses, have made St. Saviour s Church very dear to the hearts of 
thousands from all sections of the land." Every Sunday during the sea 
son, from eighteen hundred to two thousand crowd in at one or another 
of its services, of which there are five. During the season there is a cele 
bration of the Eucharist every Sunday morning at 7.30 o clock. Morning 
Prayer follows at 9.30. At 10.45 the third service begins, when often 
every seat is occupied, and hundreds of people are turned away. At 
five o clock there is Evening Prayer, and a night service at eight. To 
these services in the Church are added the work of two Sunday schools 
and a mission. 

The Rev. Christopher S. Leffingwell is in charge of the parish. The 
Church was originally built for summer use; but the present rector, when 
he took up his abode at Bar Harbor in 1879, instituted regular weekly 
services, and has kept them up ever since. Beginning with a handful, the 
number of resident communicants has grown to sixty. But the main work 
of the parish is in the summer season. The building originally accommo 
dated only 325, but has been enlarged so that now 800 can be crowded in. 
The walls are of red, untrimmed island granite, and are finished in the 
rough, both outside and inside. The roof and all the wood-work is stained 
a rich brown, that forms a pleasing contrast with the light tint of the stone 
work. The handsome Italian-marble altar is in memory of Mr. Gouverneur 
Morris Ogden, a vestryman of old Trinity, New York, and treasurer of the 
committee in charge of St. Saviour s. Mr. Ogden s remains are buried in 
the centre of the nave of St. Saviour s. The altar is the gift of Mrs. Ogden 



A /WS HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



and her children. There are 
also numerous other memorial 



or other gifts from summer 



guests, among them a brass 
tablet given by Mr. Gardiner 
Sherman, brass candelabra 
from Mr. John DeKoven, a 
beautiful stained-glass windo\v 
from Dr. W. T. Helmut h. 
Mr. and Mrs. Montgomery 
Sears of Boston have made 
, very generous gifts. Miss 
l|k Dodge, the family of Mr. 
S. K. Lyon, Mr. and Miss 
Washington, Mrs. Ogden. 




St. Saviour s Church, Bar Harbor, Me. 



1/8 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

and others have helped adorn the building by beautiful gifts. Mrs. W. H. 
Vanderbilt, Mr. James Woodward, Mrs. J. L. Sheldon, and many others 
have aided in various ways. The deep interest felt in the parish by 
both resident and temporary parishioners, the stirring services, the quaint 
building, the hallowed associations quickly formed by so many, make St. 
Saviour s unique among the many places of worship in our land. 

ST. LUKE S CHURCH, Washington, B.C. St. Luke s Church, 
Washington, D.C., is a congregation of colored people. Up to 1879 jt was 
known as St. Mary s, and was a flock worshipping in a Chapel of St. John s 
Church in that city. This Church came into existence in 1866 under the 




St. Luke s Church, Washington, D.C. 

fostering care of Rev. C. H. Hall, D.D., then rector of the Church of the 
Epiphany, Washington. Several colored people were then members of his 
Church ; and at the close of the war, when crowds of freedmen filled the 
capital, their numbers were increased. In order to meet the spiritual needs of 
these people, Dr. Hall established " cottage meetings " in different sections 
of the city, where he preached and prayed with different companies gathered 
in private rooms. After a while the work so enlarged that the desire was 
expressed for the organization of a Church of their own. At this time Dr. 
Hall was joined in his efforts by the Rev. J. Vaughan Lewis, then the rector 
of St. John s Church, Washington. The oldest documents relating to this 
organization are dated 1866, at which time a meeting of the colored mem 
bers of the Church of the Epiphany was held in the vestry-room of said 
Church, to take steps for the purchase of a lot upon which to erect a Church 
building for said people. 

An organization of colored Churchmen was made ; and soon afterwards 
n lot on Twenty-third Street, between G and H, was donated by Mrs. 



A /A G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

Parsons, a parishioner of St. John s Church, and a frame building was given 
by Secretary Stanton. Several clergymen officiated from 1867 to 1873. The 
Rev. Dr. Alex. Crummell took charge of the congregation on June 15, 1873 
In 1874, at the instance of Rev. J. V. Lewis, a regular canonical organiza 
tion was effected, and a vestry elected, and the Church was admitted to the 
Diocesan Convention. 

St. Luke s Church, partially finished, was opened in November, 1879, f r 
Divine service ; and a migration of the people of St. Mary s took place to 
the new Church edifice. During the rectorship of the present incumbent, 
St. Luke s Church has acquired most valuable property in the best quarter 
of the capital, on Fifteenth Street, near P, N.W. The site is a block of 
land, with an alley on one side, and Madison Street on the other, facing 
Fifteenth Street, comprising eighty-six feet front and one hundred feet in 
depth. The Church building is on the north side of the lot, and is sixtv 
feet front and one hundred feet in depth. The remaining portion of the lot 
(some twenty-six feet front) is held in reserve for a Chapel. The whole 
value of the property is estimated at forty-five thousand dollars ; but it has 
a lien upon it of seven thousand dollars, which the rector and people are 
endeavoring to pay off during the current year. The parish has nearly 
three hundred communicants, and about one hundred and thirty persons in 
its Sunday school. 

ST. AUGUSTINE S CHAPEL, New York, N.Y. Whether we con 
sider the structure itself, or the work for which it was designed, St. 
Augustine s commands attention. It stands on Houston Street, between 
Second Avenue and the Bowery, in the midst of a neighborhood given up 
almost entirely to the poor, and abounding in the criminal classes. Those 
to whose ears the sound of its bell is most familiar are the laborer and his 
family, living m the high tenement-house, the sewing-girls in dismal garrets, 
the people who swarm the crowded Bowery by day and by night, and the 
vicious, who find this neighborhood a congenial resort. It is not a pleasant 
field for those who seek to labor among cultured and gentle folk, but Trinity 
Parish, of which this is part, regards itself as having a mission to all sorts 
and conditions of men. In building this grand structure the Parish deter 
mined that nothing should be left undone to attract the poor and the lowly, 
if they could be drawn at all. The building consists of two parts. The 
ground upon which it stands is eighty-six feet in front, and then widens 
towards the rear to one hundred and fifty feet. It is two hundred and eighty 
feet deep. The frontage of the building fills all the space on that street, 
coming close to the houses on each side ; but there are open spaces all 
around the rear, which are beautifully laid out with grass and flower-beds. 
The front portion is the Mission House, while the Chapel is in the rear. 



180 A /A C S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 




St. Augustine s Chapel, New York, N.Y. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



181 



The tower and spire in front run up to a height of two hundred and seven 
feet, and terminate in a cross, which at night is lighted by electricity. You 
pass into the Chapel through a broad arched way, that runs through the 
middle of the first story of the Mission House. This arched way is beauti 
fully paved, lined with bricks and tiles, and heavily timbered overhead. It 




Interior St. Augustine s Chapel, New York, N.Y. 

is an inviting entrance to an interior even more attractive, for the Chapel is 
a blaze of rich colors, and abounds in graceful outlines. It must be almost 
heavenly to those whose days are passed in the squalor of tenement-houses, 
or in the grime and dust of the workshops. When lighted up and warmed, 
we can well fancy how the weary ones outside would be drawn by its 
radiancy and comfort. The architect of the building has certainly suc 
ceeded in designing an interior that is church-like, convenient, light, and 



1 82 A lJVG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

beautiful, and by putting in that indescribable something which makes it 
satisfying to the eye. In fact, it would be hard to excel it for comfort, 
convenience, and cheerfulness, and these were the three things the archi 
tect seems to have sought. " All the massive roof-timbers are visible, and 
are of a mahogany color, picked out with black. Above the wainscot a wide 
space of dark red, somewhat low in tone, is carried up about eight feet, and 
thence a greenish stone color reaches to the ceiling, wide bands of elaborate 
design separating the two body colors, and bringing them into stronger 
relief. The color of the choir and sanctuary is a buff, with stencilled pat 
terns in gold and yellow. The wainscoting, pews, and chancel furniture 
are of butternut. The carpets, hassocks, and cushions are red, and the gas- 
fixtures are polished brass." 

The Chapel, however, is only a part of the building. There are rooms 
and rooms, halls and halls, in an almost bewildering number and variety, for 
the Mission House has five floors. On the first floor is a parish room and 
various offices, beside the archway. On the second is a great hall, seventy- 
nine by fifty-six feet, with an ash ceiling twenty feet high. This hall is used 
for entertainments, for school and other purposes. On the next floor are 
the guild-rooms, and class-rooms for the day school. On the fourth are 
schoolrooms, and rooms for the clergy. At the top are quarters for the 
janitor. Electric bells and speaking-tubes and steam-pipes are found every 
where, so that, however tall the building, its work goes smoothly on. In the 
tower a great tank, holding four thousand gallons of water, provides against 
loss by fire, for pipes run from it to all the floors. 

One would infer that such conveniences would encourage the multipli 
cation of experiments, and it is so. It is a busy place, and almost bewilders 
a stranger who would keep the run of the many things going on from 
Sunday morning to Saturday night. In addition to its regular Sunday 
services, greatly aided by its vested choir, and its regular Sunday-school 
and Bible classes, the mission has a free parish day-school, a free indus 
trial school, clothing societies for the poor, and other societies for the 
welfare of the young people. The clergyman in charge, the Rev. Dr. 
Arthur C. Kimber, seems peculiarly well fitted for his work, which is of a 
very arduous and delicate character. 

ST. LUKE S CHURCH, Lebanon, Penn. Lebanon is a city of 
fifteen thousand inhabitants, about eighty miles north-west of Philadelphia 
and a hundred and twenty west of New-York City. The parish dates thirty 
years back, and the congregation originally worshipped in a small brick 
Chapel, now used as a Sunday-school room. The present building cost 
about $120,000. The corner-stone of the new Church was laid by the Right 
Rev. Dr. Howe, assisted by a number of neighboring clergy, Oct. 18, 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL C1/UKCI1ES. 183 

A.D. 1879, being the Feast of St. Luke the Evangelist; and the consecra 
tion was performed a year later by the same prelate, Oct. 18, 1880, assisted 
by three other bishops, twenty-four clergy, and a large congregation. The 
architect of the building was Mr. H. M. Congdon of New York. The rector 
of the parish is the Rev. Chandler 
Hare. In connection with the parish 
is a parish day-school, with four teach 
ers and a hundred and fifty pupils, 
tuition free to all. The day-school build 
ing is a large brick structure, about 




St. Luke s Church, Lebanon, Penn. 

a block from the Church. There is also a public reading-room open every 
evening, with a library attached to it. The Church Home, erected and 
chiefly supported by this Parish, under the care of Rev. A. M. Abel, is 
situated seven miles from town, and has twenty orphans in its charge. 
The day-school has been in existence eighteen years, the reading-room 
since A.D. 1881, and the Church Home was opened in December, 1881. 
The new Church is mainly built of native blue-stone, with buttresses, 



184 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOrAL CHURCHES. 

jambs, and coping of red sandstone and white Ohio free-stone for trim 
mings. The Church is built in form of a Latin cross. The length of the 
building on the outside is 116 feet, and breadth across the arms 75 feet. 
In the interior, the western or main portion of the cross is occupied 
by the congregation, being stocked with four rows of pews, sixty in 
number, and seating about three hundred persons ; the north arm or tran 
sept is filled with benches for the young people ; the south arm or transept 
is fitted up as a baptistery, with a font raised on a stone platform, and 
surrounded by benches on three sides ; and the east end is reserved for 
the chancel for the ministry. The chancel is very large, projecting about 
sixteen feet into the main Church, and extending twenty-two feet in the 
eastern recess, where is the sanctuary with the altar. The west front has 
a very fine central double doorway, deeply recessed, and surmounted by a 
set of concentric arches supported by nine polished granite columns. The 
main entrance is flanked by two substantial octagonal turrets, rising to 
the height of sixty-five feet from the pavement. Above the portal gable, 
and occupying almost the whole space between these flanking turrets, is a 
large rose or wheel window, eighteen feet in diameter, divided by seven 
mullions or stone spokes into eight compartments. On the south, on the 
Chestnut-street side, the tower, twenty-two feet square, is situated, being 
placed in the angle between the main building and south transept. The 
height of the tower is eighty-five feet from the pavement, and at its east 
side, against the transept, has a tower-turret rising a hundred and two feet, 
in which is situated the tower staircase, and from which there is an entrance 
at each stage into the tower. Both turret and tower terminate in a pierced 
battlement of massive red sandstone. The vestry or robing-room for the 
clergy is set in the angle between the south transept and chancel, and 
the library in the angle between the chancel and the north transept. A low 
ambulatory or cloister, extending around the rear of the chancel, connects 
by a passage these two rooms together. The vestry and library are each 
large rooms, nineteen by eleven feet, and the cloister is a polygonal passage 
way about eight feet broad by sixty feet in length. The ridge of the roof 
is fifty-six feet from the pavement, and forty-eight feet above the water- 
table, and rests on low side walls. The roof extends in one line to these 
walls, being broken by large dormer or clere-story windows. The heavy 
stone-work of these dormers, together with a large part of the weight of 
the roof, rests on stone arches, springing from large granite columns in the 
Church, which rows of columns, about eight feet inside from the walls, 
divide the Church into nave and side-aisles. The roof is covered with peach- 
blossom blue slate, very little red slate being used. Underneath the slating 
is laid double asphalt felting, and beneath this is pine-roofing with a space 
of two inches between the latter and the oak ceiling of the Church. The 



A /A G\S J/AA DBOOK OF ETISCO/ AL CHURCHES. 185 

tower being placed so near the middle line of the building, and the roofs 
of nave and transepts all coming together near this point, the effect is very 
good as of a building well grouped about a centre. On the south side of 
the tower, a fountain with a very massive bowl of Ohio-stone is erected 
in the wall, typical of the waters of the holy gospel ; and inside the tower, in 
the open vestibule on the wall, about eight feet from the floor, is set a large 
memorial tablet to St. Luke the Evangelist, in commemoration of whose 
virtues and services to the Church of God the Church is named. This 
tablet is of Ohio-stone, with Champlain-marble pillars each side, and sur 
mounted by a miniature gable with a cross above it. On the stone slab the 
inscription reads : 

TO THE GLORY OF 

GOD 
AND IN MEMORY OF 

HIS SERVANT, 

ST. LUKE EVANGELIST 

"The brother whose praise is m the gospel 

throughout the Churches." 

The masonry and all the other work of this edifice are of the most massive 
and enduring character. Wood is very little used, and that of the hard 
est and most substantial kind. The floors are tiled, and laid in mortar. 
Every thing that can attract or feed fire is avoided. Every protection 
against decay from the blasts of the elements, of wind and weather, has 
been enlisted. 

Entering the. Church, the observer is struck with the same substantial 
reality and completeness of detail gotten from an outside view. No paint, 
no plaster, and no superficial ornament or tinsel are to be found overlaying 
any thing, but on every side hard wood and brick and stone, and where orna 
ment is developed, which is very largely, it is always, whether in coloring 
or shape, developed in the substance of the material. The stone and wood 
are carved deeply, and the patterns and colors of the brick and tiles belong 
to each piece. The altar is not set against the east wall, but stands out on 
the chord of the apse, so as to be thrown forward in full view of the people. 
The rise to this is by two steps and a pace, and back of the altar is a hand 
some oaken screen or reredos in three divisions corresponding in inclination 
with the apsidal shape of the chancel wall behind. The three chancel win 
dows have double lights with stone mullions in the middle. The roof is an 
open oak roofing, all exposed to view, and showing a very fine finish, the 
eight principal rafters of the nave resting partly on the nave wall and granite 
columns and partly on the side or aisle walls. These are set on carved 
Ohio-stone corbels projecting from the nave and aisle walls. The walls are 
finished off all around in a broad oaken cornice about eighteen inches wide, 
and notched along its upper length. The interior walls are separated by a 



1 86 A /.VG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

two-inch air-space from the stone walls, to which they are bonded by occa 
sional bricks or irons. This air-space protects from all dampness in winter, 
and makes the building cool in summer. The walls are built of Peerless 
brick, a brick manufactured especially for interior and ornamental uses. 
These brick, about one hundred thousand of which are used in the edifice, 
are in three colors red, chocolate, and buff. There is a course of interior 
Ohio-stone along the base of the wall, at the line of the windows, and at other 
lines of the wall. The chocolate brick is used mostly in the lower part of 
the wall, and the lighter colors higher up, the buff being employed altogether 
in the upper portions of the wall. All the window sills and jambs are of the 
Ohio-stone, drove-worked, and with a broad splay in toward the Church, so 
as to diffuse the light. The window frames and mullions are also of stone, 
into which the glass and lead of the windows are let. St. Luke s Church 
has several points of interest in tiling, carving, and furniture, peculiar in this 
part of the country, which are worthy of attention. All the pavements of 
the three alleys of the new Church, also the whole of the two transepts and 
the chancel, together with the tower external vestibule, are laid in colored 
tiles from Valencia in Spain. 

The eagle lectern is made of polished bronze, and stands about six feet 
high. It rests on a heavy stone cross as its foot, of bluish marble, laid 
horizontally on the pavement. The altar is of carved oak, three feet and a 
quarter high, the front being in three panels of diapered work. The altar- 
top, or mensa, is a large slab of bluish marble, eight and one-half feet by 
two and one-quarter feet, with Italian-marble crosses sunk in near the four 
corners and in the centre. The altar-screen, set immediately back of the 
altar, and about four feet from the east wall, consists of five panels, two on 
each side of a central one. 

CHURCH OF THE REDEEMER, Bryn Mawr. Bryn Mawr, a few 
miles out from Philadelphia, has grown to be one of the most beautiful of 
the suburbs. A great many fine residences have been built, and the place 
has become very attractive to people of refinement. The Church has pros 
pered with this increase of population; and one result has been the con 
struction of a handsome stone edifice, after plans prepared by Mr. Charles 
M. Burns, jun., architect, Philadelphia. The building is situated on the 
highest point of land in the neighborhood, and so becomes a prominent 
object in all directions. The walls are of gray Fairmount stone, with trim 
mings of white and black bricks. There are a nave, aisles, chancel, and 
tower, the latter being very massive, but with pleasant outlines. The inte 
rior walls are not plastered, but are lined with bricks of buff, red, white, and 
black colors. The clere-story arches are of bricks, and rest upon granite 
and brick columns, the bands and capitals of marble. The clergy-stalls and 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 1 87 

pulpit are of oak. The altar and reredos are panelled with tiles, and are a 
memorial of the Rev. Edward S. Lycett, rector from 1856-78. The rood- 
screen is thought to be one of the finest pieces of metal-work ever done in 




Church of the Redeemer, Bryn Mawr. 



this country. The Church will seat about five hundred persons, the seats 
being comfortably arranged with plenty of space for kneeling. 

The churchyard was consecrated by Bishop Stevens at the same time 
the Church was consecrated, Oct. 6, 1881.- In this churchyard is a fine 
Ionic cross, in memory of Mr. Charles Wheeler, once a vestryman of this 



i88 



A /A G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



parish. It is a monolith of Indiana oolite, and stands twelve feet above the 
ground. In addition to the Church and cemetery, the parish has a Rectory, 
a school building, and a house for the sexton. All the buildings are of the 
same material, and are so constructed as to present a very harmonious effect. 
The present rector of the parish is the Rev. James Haughton. 



CHRIST CHURCH, Danville, Perm., Memorial of Mr. and Mrs. Peter 



Baldy. This has been pronounced one of the most 




satisfactory parish 
Churches in the 
United States. 
The architect was 
Mr. Henry M. 
Congdon of New 
York. The style 
is the English 
Gothic of the four 
teenth century. 
The length is one 
hundred feet, and 



the width across 
the transepts is 
eighty feet. The 
nave and aisles 
together are forty- 
four feet, and the 
transepts thirty 
feet. The tower 
is twenty-six feet 
square inside. It 
has heavy battle 
ments surmounted 
by a pyramidal 

roof, having clock faces on its four sides, and is surmounted by an iron 
cross. The extreme height is one hundred and fifty feet. Supporting 
buttress-like the north-east corner of the tower, is an ornamental octagonal 



Christ Church, Danville, Penn. 



A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 189 

turret up to the bell-deck, and containing a spiral staircase. The choristers 
room is at the north of the chancel, and has over it a space opening by 
an archway into the chancel, This space is intended for an orchestra on 
great festal occasions. The organ is built in a corresponding space on the 
south side, with some of the pipes towards the nave, and others on a heavy 
bracket towards the chancel. The tower, supporting the lantern, rests 
upon four massive piers, each five feet square, and rising up into four great 
arches. The stone used for the building is from the Shickshinny quarries, 
resembling the Westerly granite ; and the dressed work is from the Far- 
randsville quarries. All the windows are of rich tracery, cut in Ohio-stone, 
the glass being leaded into the stone without wood-work. The walls inside 
are of buff bricks, relieved by a few bands of red. No plaster is used. 
The tower piers are also of red and buff bricks, banded with slabs of 
Wyoming blue-stone. The arches are of bricks, with voussoirs and keys of 
Ohio-stone. The sacrarium occupies the head of the cross. The choir is 
on a platform extending under the lantern. A heavy timbered rood-screen 
divides the choir from the sacrarium. The reredos has four gables upon 
as many pillars of wood, with brass rods for dosel hangings. The win 
dows are filled with beautiful rich glass. On the north side of the west 
entrance is the baptistery, containing a richly carved font of Caen-stone. 
On the opposite side is a marble tablet, supported between two pillars of 
pink marble, inscribed as follows: "To the glory and worship of Almighty 
God, and in honor of his only Son, Christ the Lord, this Church is built by 
the pious bequest of His servant, Peter Baldy, for nearly fifty years Senior 
Warden of this parish, and as a memorial of him and Sarah Hurley, his 
wife." The entire cost, except the gift of the altar-cross, was defrayed 
within the Baldy family, being not far from one hundred thousand dollars. 
The aisles contain no seats, being left as ambulatories. The seating 
capacity in the nave and transepts is for five hundred ; all the seats have a 
full view of the altar. The acoustic properties of the building are perfect, 
and particular attention was given to the requirements for the musical ser 
vices which have been so prominent a feature in this parish for many years. 
The vested choir is the oldest in the State, and of marked efficiency. When 
in festal occasions, its forty voices were supported by the large organ and 
the parish orchestra, the effects were magnificent. 

The corner-stone was laid on St. John Baptist s Day, June 24, 1881 ; 
and the Church was consecrated at Easter-tide, 1883, by Bishop Howe. 
The rector of the parish at the time of the construction of the building 
was the Rev. J. Milton Peck, whose active interest and wise counsels had 
so much to do with its success. The present rector is the Rev. James L. 
Maxwell. 



KING S HAiVDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

ST. STEPHEN S CHURCH, Lynn, Mass. Lynn, a few miles from 
Boston, is a busy manufacturing place, employing many workers in its boot 
and shoe factories. 

When the first parish was organized in Lynn, in 1819, it was known as 
St. John s Church. In 1834 there was a re-organization under the name of 
Christ Church, and finally, in 1844, it became St. Stephen s. In this year 
it was incorporated, some of the corporators being prominent Church people 
of Boston and elsewhere, who spent their summers here. For twenty years 
the number of resident Churchmen was small, and but few of them in a 
condition to do any thing in a pecuniary way beyond what the most common 
necessities required, and so the parish had to rely largely upon the assistance 
received from friendly non-resident Churchmen. 

As Lynn increased in population after the war, the prospects of the parish 
began to brighten, but it remained for Mr. Enoch R. Mudge to lift it up to a 
condition of highest prominence and of greatly enlarged usefulness. It is 
not doing injustice to the valuable efforts of others, to speak thus of what 
this generous Christian gentleman did for St. Stephen s. 

The parish, for a long time, occupied an old frame building which had 
grown rather dilapidated. Mr. Mudge at first offered to put it in repair, but 
finally proposed to build a new Church at his own expense, provided the 
parish would secure a suitable lot. His original intention was to construct 
a neat, comfortable parish Church, to cost, perhaps, $40,000. The outcome 
was the present noble structure, which, with its adornments, has cost about 
$250,000. 

The corner-stone was laid by Bishop Paddock, May 19, 1881, and the 
consecration took place Nov. 2, iSSi. It was expected that this consecration 
service would be the first held in the new building, but on the 5th of Octo 
ber it was opened for the burial of its noble donor. That which he had 
builded as a memorial for others, thus became his own monument. His 
remains, with those of his wife and their two children Charles Redington 
and Fanny Olive, now repose in the garth between the Church and the 
Chapel. The son, partly in whose memory Mr. Mudge intended this struc 
ture, was Lieut.-Col. C. R. Mudge of the Second Massachusetts Infantry, who 
died at Gettysburg July 3, 1863. The rector of the parish, at the time of the 
building of the Church, was the Rev. Louis DeCormis. He was succeeded 
by the Rev. Dr. F. L. Norton, the present rector. 

The architects of the building were Ware & Van Brunt of Boston. The 
materials used are red granite, with facings and angles of red brick, with 
weatherings and carvings of Nova-Scotia free-stone. 

The plan of the Church proper is in the form of a Latin cross, the apse 
facing the east ; but the spaces in the angles of this cross are covered by 
aisle roofs, so that the whole area is included in the body of the building, 



KING S HANDBOOK OF ^EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



191 



thus presenting a rectangular auditorium sixty-eight feet from north to south, 
and ninety feet from the west wall to the arch of the apse. The nave and 
transepts are severally forty feet wide, and the latter are twelve and a half 
feet deep, the angles of the central crossing being marked by four clustered 
stone piers, from the capitals of which spring open timber trusses of Georgia 
pine, across nave and transepts and diagonally supporting the roof, which is 
visible in its structure to the apex. The two aisle spaces on the west are 




St. Stephen s Church, Lynn, Mass. 

occupied, the one as a baptistery and the other as a memorial to the children 
of Mr. Mudge ; in the corresponding spaces on the east are the organ and 
the sacristy. The tower, which is twenty-two feet square and one hundred 
and thirty feet high, without a spire, stands on the north-west corner, the 
lower story serving as the principal porch of the Church, the second as a 
chamber, furnished as a study for the rector, and the upper two-thirds as a 
belfry with open windows. These chambers are accessible by stairs, wind 
ing in a circular turret attached to the east side of the tower. The tower is 
finished with steep gables on the north and south sides, enriched with 
pinnacles and crockets, and surmounted on the north gable by a cross. 



192 A nVG S IIAXDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

From the tower porch the main approach to the interior is by an arch open 
ing into an ambulatory running along the west wall and separated from the 
Church proper by an ash panelled screen eight feet high, glazed with white 
glass and jewels, and pierced by three doorways opening into the central 
and the two side aisles. This ambulatory is paved with tiles. The floors 
are finished with polished parquetry, and the pews are of simple design with 
carved heads. They will accommodate six hundred worshippers, all having 
full view of the service at the altar. The choir occupies the space in the 
east arm of the cross ; it is forty-four feet wide and twenty feet deep, and is 
raised eighteen inches above the floor of the nave, from which it is separated 
by a low rood-wall of stone, pierced in the centre, and by the great stone 
arch of the choir: this latter is flanked on either side by half-arches cover 
ing the organ screen on one side and the sacristry screen on the other, the 
whole visible east wall of the Church being thus occupied by a great trefoil 
arch the entire width of the building. A wrought-iron rood-screen has lately 
been erected on the top of the rood-wall. The furniture of the choir is com 
posed of canopied clergy-stalls, and choir-stalls, with accommodations for 
thirty-six choristers. These stalls, together with the buffet of the organ in 
two faces, the sacristry screens, and the pulpit, are of dark oak, richly carved. 
The lectern is of wrought brass. The apse is semi-circular, is separated 
from the choir by a stone arch, and is surrounded by an aisle, which is 
divided from the sanctuary by a screen of seven stone arches, supported by 
polished New-Brunswick red granite columns. This aisle is paved with 
slabs of free-stone, and the sanctuary with tiles and a Roman mosaic pave 
ment in front of the altar. The altar rests upon a broad stone foot-pace 
approached by three stone steps, and is of Caen-stone enriched with the 
Agnus Dei and adoring seraphim in the three front panels, and with other 
sculptured emblems. In front is a kneeling-rail of wrought brass. The 
dome of the sanctuary is of gilded wood ; the roof-frame throughout is of 
Georgia pine, and visible ; it is sheathed with stained and decorated pine, 
and covered with an embroidery of heavily cusped and moulded ribs. The 
trusses are hammer-beam trusses coupled, the timber-heads being carved as 
angels, and from each hangs a lamp of antique brass. In the choir are two 
massive coronas of the same material. The extreme height of the nave 
within is forty-nine feet. On the south side of the Church, and approached 
from it by two cloisters, enclosing an open garth or area, is the Chapel 
building, one hundred and two feet by thirty-four feet, with infant-school and 
library, and the other usual appointments. There is a large parish parlor 
over the infant-school, and in the basement a series of furnished apartments, 
mainly for the charitable offices of the Society, with a separate entrance 
from the rear. The windows of the main Church are filled with a double 
glazing of a very brilliant opalescent and jewelled glass, forming pictures of 



A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



193 



transparent mosaic without the touch of the painter s brush. The south 
window is decorated with " The Annunciation," and the north with " The 
Ascension" the beginning and close of the life of Christ. The west win 
dow is emblazoned with the story of St. Stephen : the other windows are 
occupied with conventional decorative forms of the same material. The 
interior facing of the Church walls is of dressed free-stone from Nova-Scotia 
quarries. 

CHURCH OF THE HOLY SPIRIT, New York, N.Y. The visitor 
to New- York City, as he passes along the upper section, will be attracted by 
several buildings having very marked char 
acteristics, and bearing evidence of being 
the work of the same architect. This 
architect is Mr. R. H. Robinson of New 
York, and the Church of the Holy Spirit is 
one of these very striking edifices. What 
ever any one s preferences for some other 
style of architecture for ecclesiastical uses 
may be, he must admit that Mr. Robinson 




Church of the Holy Spirit, New York, N.Y. 

has succeeded in erecting a building that is decidedly religious in its gen 
eral tone and in all its features. Beside this it is most admirably fitted 
for its sacred uses. The best possible use has been made of the avail- 



i 9 4 



A /A r G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



able land, for there are, beside the large Church, seating nearly a thou 
sand, a chantry and a rectory. The stone walls are of a brownish tint, 
relieved by horizontal courses of stones of a lighter hue. The interior is 
most agreeable because of the harmonious coloring and the combination 
of graceful outlines. But this parish is not remarkable simply for having 
a group of such effective buildings. Much more remarkable is the fact that 
ten years ago there were no buildings, no parish, and no congregation. 

The Church of the Holy Spirit was not organized until 1878. The 
rector, the Rev. Edmund Guilbert, gathered the nucleus of a congregation 
in that year, and effected a parish organization. To-day the parish has one 
of the best locations in all the city, a group of fine buildings, a large 
congregation, and some very effective parochial societies. 

The statistics for 1886 show 450 communicants, 442 Sunday-school 
teachers and scholars, and offerings amounting to nearly $17,000, devoted 
to numerous objects, and a pew-rental of over $14,000. There are five 
services on Sunday, one of which is a beautiful choral service in the after 
noon, at which some most elaborate music is rendered, under the direction 
of Le Jeune the well-known musician. 



CHRIST CHURCH, 

George Massey Marsh of 
in which, after sundry 
part of his property to 
purchase a suitable lot 
city of Portsmouth, N.H., 
Church, to be called 
for the worship of Al 
mighty God, Father, 



Portsmouth, N.H. On Sept. 3, 1868, Mr. 
Portsmouth executed his last will and testament, 
legacies, he bequeathed the greater 
trustees for the following use : " To 
of land in the westerly part of the 
and to build thereon a stone or brick 
Christ Church, and to be used solely 




Christ Church, Portsmouth, N.H. 

Son, and Holy Ghost, according to the doctrines and discipline of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States of America, and for 
no other purpose whatever." 



A /A G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 195 

On Nov. 19, 1878, Mr. Marsh departed this life ; and shortly afterwards 
the trustees appointed by the will, with their successors, began the fulfilment 
of the sacred duties intrusted to them. Mr. Henry M. Congdon of New 
York was appointed architect of the building, and, upon the acceptance of 
his plans by the trustees, proposals for the work were invited by advertise 
ment, and the contract awarded to Messrs. Jeans and Taylor of New York. 
The work was done with care and thoroughness, and the Church completed 
in the autumn of 1882. It is in the Early English Pointed style, with a 
massive tower containing a chime of nine bells. The interior is light, 
roomy, and cheerful. The choir is ample in size, and the chancel well 
elevated, with an excellent rereclos. The Parish Building annexed has 
abundant conveniences in sacristy, choir-room, guild-room, and Sunday- 
school room. 

The parish was organized according to the laws of the State of New 
Hampshire, on March 25, 1883; and on April 10 of the same year, Rev. 
Henry E. Hovey, rector of St. John s Church, Portsmouth, was also elected 
rector of Christ Church, the two congregations being virtually the same. 
On St. John Baptist s Day, 1883, falling on a Sunday, the choir of men 
and boys, with the unanimous approval of the congregation, appeared in 
surplices, being the first surpliced choir in the Diocese. And on July 3 of 
the same year, by the Right Rev. William Woodruff Niles, D.D., Bishop 
of the Diocese, the Church was consecrated to the worship of Almighty 
God, in the presence of a large number of clergy and laity from all parts 
of the land; the day being chosen because it was the day preceding the 
decennial gathering of the Sons of Portsmouth in the city of their birth. 

ST. STEPHEN S CHURCH, Wilkes-Barre, Perm., Diocese of Central 
Pennsylvania. The city of Wilkes-Barre is situated in the far-famed 
Wyoming Valley, with a population of forty thousand. It is, however, the 
centre of a population of one hundred thousand souls, there being within 
a radius of three miles from the Wilkes-Barre court-house eight incorpo 
rated boroughs, with a population ranging from two thousand to ten thousand 
each. In this valley, twenty miles long by five wide, there are ten Episcopal 
Churches and mission stations, of which six are under the fostering care of 
St. Stephen s Church. St. Stephen s Church has had an organized exist 
ence of seventy-one years. The Rev. Bernard Page, of the Church of 
England, ordained by the Lord Bishop of London for " Wyoming Parish, 
Pennsylvania," Aug. 24, 1772, was the first Protestant Episcopal minister 
to officiate in this section. Owing to the great political disturbances of 
that date, Mr. Page did not long remain in the valley, but retired to 
Virginia, where he ministered as assistant to Rev. Bryan, Lord Fairfax. 
No other minister of the Church is known to have visited these parts until 



196 A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

1814, when that " Apostle of the North- West," Right Rev. Jackson Kemper, 
D.D., then chairman of the Committee on Missions in the Diocese of 
Pennsylvania, and assistant to Bishop White, held Divine service in the old 
Wilkes-Barre Academy, and stirred up the Church people of the village 
of Wilkes-Barre. The first baptism recorded was performed by him Dec. 8, 
*8t4. No definite steps were taken to organize a parish until Sept. 19, 1817, 
when the Church people met together, and elected the first vestry of St. 
Stephen s Church, applied for a charter, which was granted Oct. 7, 1817, and 
engaged the services of the Rev. Richard Sharpe Mason, D.D., then in dea 
con s orders. Among the subsequent rectors of the parish were the Rev. 
Samuel Bowman, who became the assistant bishop of Pennsylvania, the Rev. 
Dr. James May, so well known in later years as a professor in the Virginia 
Seminary, and the Rev. George D. Miles. In 1874 the Rev. Henry L. Jones 
became the rector, and during the fourteen years of his rectorate the Church 
has kept pace with the town, which has quadrupled its population in that 
period. During the past four years the contributions have averaged twenty 
thousand dollars a year. To carry on its extensive mission work in the 
vicinity, the rector has three assistants, and the parish aids in supporting six 
mission churches and Sunday schools within the limits of the Wyoming 
Valley. Five years ago the increased attendance at St. Stephen s Church 
was such as again to necessitate the enlargement of the building consecrated 
in 1855. With the vestry, to resolve was to act, and the work was immedi 
ately begun under Charles M. Burns, architect, Philadelphia, and M. B. 
Houpt, builder, Wilkes-Barre. The old Parish Church of St. Stephen s 
was what has been flippantly termed a "double-decker," a high basement 
below, used for Sunday-school purposes, and approached by a flight of out 
side and inside steps, through a central tower, and an upper story forming 
what is popularly termed the auditorium. 

The change which, in the last four years, has been effected in this 
arrangement, is so great that a stranger might be pardoned for not recog 
nizing the remodelled structure. The basement was abandoned, and the 
floor of the auditorium dropped six feet. On the vacant lot in the rear of 
the Church was built a commodious and convenient parish building, con 
taining all that is needful for the varied demands of Sunday-school and 
parochial work. This building, in a great measure, surrounds the new 
apsidal chancel, which, with its massive arch, is all finished and lined with 
party-colored brick-work, serving as a sort of culmination to the high dado 
of brick-work in the nave walls, the arrangement of color in which suggests 
a wall arcade, although only a flat surface. The side windows, which at 
first appear very high up, being at the top of this dado, are from time to 
time being occupied by handsome memorials in stained glass. The old 
plaster ceiling of the nave has been reconstructed, and now shows an entire 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



timber and boarded finish. A large transept has been added on the north 
side, within which has been placed a fine Hook & Hastings organ. By 
elongating the old nave about twenty feet 
towards the street, a number of additional 
sittings were obtained in the main auditorium. 
These, with the gain by the new transept, 
make the present seating capacity a trifle over 
eight hundred. The old central tower and 
the whole front having thus been torn down, 
the new front was built up of hard dark 
brick, in a style similar to some of the Lom 
bard buildings of Northern Italy. A prominent 




St. Stephen s Church, Wilkes-Barre, Penn. 

feature of the fagade is a very large circular window, formed in elaborate 
mouldings of brick-work. Below this is an arcaded porch, or narthex, which 
extends all the way across the front. This is paved with tiles, and the 
arches are closed in with cathedral glass. At the north end of this porch, 



198 A lXG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

and directly at the corner of the Church, stands the new " campanile, the 
lowest stage forming a sort of vestibule entrance to the Church. From a 
base, of which seventy feet is severely plain brick-work, there rises above 
the surrounding buildings an ornamental structure, which, with its double 
succession of columns and arcades, cornices and mouldings, recalls that 
great yellow tower of the " Podesta," in the old town of Pistoja, which John 
the Pisan adapted to become the campanile of the Cathedral of St. James. 
The acoustic properties of the new Church are perfect. During the present 
summer (1888) the interior walls of the Church edifice have been hand 
somely decorated by Messrs. Edward J. N. Stent & Co. of New York City. 

The Church will be further enriched by a massive bishop s-chair of 
antique oak and bronze, given in memory of Right Rev. William Bacon 
Stevens, D.D., etc., and an antique oak communion-table to correspond, 
both from the manufactory of J. & R. Lamb of New York City. The old 
pulpit will give place to an antique brass pulpit, from the same firm, in 
memory of the Hon. George W. Woodward, for years a vestryman of St. 
Stephen s Church. A brass memorial tablet to commemorate the Hon. 
John N. Conyngham, LL.D. (formerly half a century a vestryman and 
warden of the parish), and his wife, will be placed on the wall above the 
font, from the hands of Edward J. N. Stent & Co., who have also manufac 
tured several of the beautiful memorial windows now in the Church. There 
is also a remarkably fine memorial window, made by Charles Booth of 
London. Eng., representing Christ among the doctors in the temple, after 
Hoffman s celebrated picture. Other windows (from the La Farge Decorat 
ing Co. and Belcher & Co., New York, also Groves & Steil of Philadelphia) 
add to the attractiveness of the interior. 

The following clergymen of the Church have gone out from St. 
Stephen s, the Right Rev. Samuel Bowman, D.D., Revs. George C. 
Drake and Henry M. Denison, all of whom are now dead ; Revs. Alexander 
Shiras, D.D., of Washington, De Witt C. Loop of Hammonclton, N.J., James 
L. Maxwell of Danville, Penn., and the Rev. James Caird of Troy, N.Y. 
Among the lay readers of the parish were Judges Scott, Woodward, Conyng 
ham, and Dana. The officers of St. Stephen s Parish are : Rev. Henry L. 
Jones, rector; assistants to rector (in charge of mission work), Rev. Horace 
Edwin Hayden, Rev. Charles M. Carr, Rev. Thomas B. Angell. The 
branches of the Parish Guild are, Ladies Dorcas, Woman s Auxiliary, 
Young People s Auxiliary, Church Temperance Society, and Knights of 
Temperance. 

CHURCH OF THE ADVENT, Boston, Mass. In " A Century of 
Church Growth in Boston," in Bishop Perry s " History of the American 
Church," the following words occur : " This great movement this Catholic 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 1 99 

revival, as its earnest disciples love to call it was most natural. It was 
the protest and self-assertion of a partly neglected side of religious life ; 
it was a re-action against some of the dominant forms of religious thought 
which had become narrow and exclusive; it was the effort of the Church 




Church of the Advent, Boston, Mass. 

to complete the whole sphere of her life ; it was the expression of certain 
perpetual and ineradicable tendencies of the human soul. No wonder, 
therefore, that it was powerful. It made most enthusiastic devotees ; it 
organized new forms of life ; it created a new literature ; it found its way 
into the halls of legislation; it changed the aspect of whole regions of 
education. No wonder, also, that in a place so free-minded and devout as 



2OO KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

Boston, each one of the permanent tendencies of religious thought and 
expression should sooner or later seek for admission. Partly in echo, there 
fore, of what was going on in England, and partly as the simultaneous result 
of the same causes which had produced the movement there, it was not 
many years before the same school arose in the Episcopal Church in Amer 
ica; and it showed itself first in the organization of the Church of the 
Advent. . . . The feature made most prominent by its founders was that 
the Church was free. This, combined with its more frequent services, its 
daily public recitation of Morning and Evening Prayer, an increased atten 
tion to the details of worship, the lights on its stone altar, and its use of 
altar-cloths, were the visible signs which distinguished it from the other 
parishes in the town. The peculiarities of faith and worship of this parish 
have always made it a prominent and interesting object in the Church-life 
of Boston." 

When this parish was founded in 1844, there was no free Church in New 
England, and but very few in other parts of this country. There were in 
some Churches free seats in the galleries, and in others a few here and there 
on the main floor. The movement had not become popular then. In 1844, 
some laymen in Boston, who had grown interested in Church extension, 
resolved to establish a new parish, one feature of which should be free seats 
for all who would come. The new organization was not regarded with much 
favor by the great body of Churchmen ; for in addition to the free-seat fea 
ture, it incorporated others, which, however common they are now in other 
places, were not well known and were not approved in Boston and vicinity. 
Whatever other views were held, the Parish of the Advent stood for free 
seats, an open Church, into which any one could come for prayer and medi 
tation at any time of the day, a daily service, a weekly communion, and a 
due observance of all the festivals and fasts of the Church. At that time 
these features were regarded by some as antagonistic to the spirit of the 
Episcopal Church, and as likely to alienate the sympathy of the outside 
public. 

The services of the Advent were held at first in halls and upper rooms, 
until an old meeting-house on Green Street was secured. From there they 
were removed to the stone building on Bowdoin Street, which was occupied 
until the present fine brick structure at the corner of Brimmer and Mount 
Vernon Streets was built. The first rector of the parish was Dr. William 
Croswell, a man of fine ability, saintly character, and great earnestness of 
spirit. His successor was Bishop H. Southgate, who in turn was followed 
by the Rev. Dr. James A. Bolles. Among the interesting features which 
were introduced by Dr. Bolles was the choral service and the vested choir. 
The Advent maintains now, under the charge of Mr. S. B. Whitney, a noted 
organist and musician, one of the best choirs in the United States. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2OI 

The music at this Church is always interesting and often grand. At the 
festival services it is sometimes impossible to secure seats, so great is the 
desire to listen to the wonderful performances of a choir trained to the ren 
dering of the most difficult compositions. On great occasions the instru 
mental accompaniment of a full orchestra is added to the resources of the 
large organ. Dr. Bolles was succeeded by the Rev. O. S. Prescott as acting 
rector. 

The Rev. Charles C. Grafton, a member of the Order of St. John the 
Evangelist, became the rector in 1872. For reasons which need not be 
recounted here, Mr. Grafton withdrew from the Order after a time. He 
retained his rectorship of the parish, and, when the new Church was ready 
for occupancy, removed with a portion of the congregation to the new 
building. Nearly three hundred communicants, however, remained in the 
old Church, which came under the control of the Mission Priests of the 
Order of St. John the Evangelist, and is now used by them. It was thought 
at first that this controversy, and the loss of so many communicants, would 
seriously cripple the parish, especially as there was considerable debt left 
upon the new building. The result lias been, however, that the old Church 
has its large congregation to-day, and the new Church lias a congregation 
that often tests its seating capacity. The number of communicants of the 
Advent has grown from two hundred and fifty to six hundred in the past 
five years. 

The Church edifice is built of brick, with brown-stone trimmings. It is 
not yet entirely completed ; but when the tower and other additions are 
made, it will be one of the most beautiful structures in the country. The 
architect was the late Mr. John H. Sturgis, a member of the parish, who, 
with the rector, devoted much study to the perfecting of the design, and 
succeeded in producing a superb specimen of Norman Gothic. Upon enter 
ing the building two things attract the attention of the visitor: the first is 
the great height of the nave, some ninety feet, and the great size of the 
chancel. The latter is thirty feet wide and forty-eight feet deep, divided 
into choir and sanctuary, and is separated from the nave by a rood-screen of 
gilded iron-work. All the interior walls are of brick, with occasional spaces 
of brown-stone, some of which are elaborately carved, while others await 
their final decoration. There are some good specimens of stained glass 
already in position, but ether windows will be filled later on with bright 
colors. The use of brick-work for the interior shows what wonderful solid 
ity and beauty are possible by the judicious use of a material not yet well 
appreciated in this country. A Chapel for daily services is at the head of 
the south aisle. It is by the side of the choir, and on the opposite side of 
the choir is an organ, to which there are few superior. It was built espe 
cially for the musical needs of this parish, under Mr. Whitney s direction, 



202 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

by the firm of Hutchins & Plaisted of Boston. The altar is of marble, 
with a Caen-stone reredos. The altar-steps are of polished dark marble. 
On the super-altar is a wilderness of branching candelabra, and to the 
right and left are great tall ornamental posts of brass-work filled with 
lights. Seven brass lamps, shaded by colored glass, hang by ornamental 
chains from the chancel ceiling. Adjoining the Church on the north is 
a Parish Building, containing various rooms for the societies and 
organizations and the choir. Farther along Brimmer Street was the 
Sisters House, belonging to the " Sisterhood of the Holy Nativity," 
the members of which did most efficient work in the parish. The Rev. 
Mr. Grafton, after serving the parish from 1872, resigned in 1888, and 
since this sketch has been put into type he has been chosen Bishop of 
Fond-du-Lac. The present rector is the Rev. Wm. B. Frisby. 

ST. JAMES CHURCH, New York City (Madison Avenue at the 
Corner of Seventy-first Street). St. James Parish was founded in 1810, 
and occupies to-day the same hill upon which it was established. But all 
its surroundings have been changed. At first, there was a little old- 
fashioned frame Church, with its quaint belfry and horse-shed, five miles 
from the city. Now the great population of the metropolis has reached 
it, encompassed it, and passed five miles beyond. It is difficult for one 
who stands in the loggia of the present Parish Building and sees, in Madi 
son Avenue, a leading thoroughfare of one of the great cities of the 
world, to realize the quietness of the neighborhood on Thursday morning, 
May 17, 1810, when Bjshop Benjamin Moore, after an hour s rural drive, 
entered the recently erected Church and consecrated it, to bear the name 
of St. James. Should he now return to earth with the Rev. Mr. Harris, 
who read the morning prayer, and the Rev. Cave Jones (afterwards 
President of Columbia College), who preached the sermon, and should 
that triumvirate repeat the little journey of that day, what a transforma 
tion would meet their eyes in the drive from Trinity Church to Lenox 
Hill! 

In the early part of the present century, the neighborhood of Central 
Park became a favorite place for the modest country-seats of prominent 
New-Yorkers. Hitherto they had been satisfied to spend their summers 
in town, but the yellow-fever appearing for several years in succession, 
induced one wealthy family after another to build a house in the coun 
try, where they might be safe during the hot months. Some of them 
chose the shores of the East River, opposite Blackwell s Island, and 
some the banks of the Hudson. By a fortunate coincidence, the City 
Corporation in 1807 decided to improve the "common lands," which 
then extended over the tract, two miles long, now very nearly included 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2O3 




St. James Church. New York City. 



204 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

between Forty-fifth and Eighty-fifth Streets. In order to encourage the 
building of a village upon the site of the present Lenox Hill, they caused 
a map to be made, on which a public square was drawn, and on the very 
crest of the hill, close to an avenue marked as Hamilton Avenue, there 
was set apart a plot on which was printed, " A piece intended for a 
Church or Academy." The founders of St. James Parish made applica 
tion for this land and received it, fulfilling their part of the contract by 
building a Church, which remained until 1870. It became a landmark 
which, from its high position, was seen for a great distance, till it was 
gradually hidden by the long blocks of city houses. 

Although the parish was founded by men of wealth, its work has 
always been largely done among people of moderate means. Instead 
of being a mere " chapel-of-ease," it has sought to be the mother Church 
of its neighborhood ; and the affections of several generations have 
testified to the good work which, being well begun, is now continued 
upon a larger scale. The seven rectors of the parish have been the 
Rev. Samuel Farmar Jarvis, D.D.,Rev. William Richmond, Rev. James 
Cook Richmond, Rev. John Dowdney, Rev. Edwin Harwood, D.D., 
Rev. Peter Schermerhorn Chauncey, D.D., and the present rector, Rev. 
Cornelius B. Smith, D.D., who began his work in 1867. 

In 1869 a new Church of stone and brick was erected on Seventy- 
second Street, very near the old site, and was occupied for fifteen years. 
The present Church was built in 1884 at the corner of Madison Avenue 
and Seventy-first Street. The unique arrangement of the building, by 
which the chancel is placed at the side of the tower at the west end, 
secures the following advantages : the sun behind the eyes instead of 
before them, at the morning services ; a very large and thoroughly 
warmed ambulatory or vestibule hall, avoiding draughts near the en 
trances and furnishing easy communication with an ample wa-it ing-room, 
very useful at weddings and baptisms; chancel light, unobscured by build 
ings; direct access from the avenue to the vestry-room ; front exits for 
people who have occasion to go out during the service, and for funeral 
processions which leave the Church, without facing the congregation ; 
a tower-room opening directly upon the chancel from above, and reached 
by its own beautiful and retired stairway ; a large gallery opposite the 
chancel ; and a very beautiful outside effect, combining in one view two 
gables, two towers, an apse and loggia, with bold projections and inden 
tations, rich in light and shadow. The plan of the building further in 
cludes an interior finish in oak ; solid masonry partitions, plastered to 
avoid echoes, from which the edifice is singularly free; a deep chancel 
with two arches and an apsidal sanctuary ; two side exits for communi 
cants; ample stalls for vested choir; the organist s key-board adjoining 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



205 



the rector s seat, and behind the latter a special passageway to the 
vestry, which also gives ready and unnoticed access to the rector by 
the sexton, when summoned by the electric signal. There are two choir- 
rooms, a very large parish-room, a library, a guild-room, and a kitchen ; 
and a generous provision of closets and cases. The tower vestibule 
contains three large brasses in repousse work, having representations in 
relief of the two former Church buildings of the parish, and inscribed 
with the names of old citizens of New York who were members of St. 
James congregation. 

THE CHURCH OF GETHSEMANE, Minneapolis, Minn. The 
corner-stone of the first Church was laid August 5, 1856, and the 




Gethsemane Church, Minneapolis, Minn. 

first service held December 7 of the same year. It was consecrated a 
few days later by Bishop Kemper. Mr. D. B. Knickerbocker, .then a 
deacon, became its first rector, and remained twenty-seven years until 
elected bishop of Indiana, 1883. He was succeeded immediately by the 
present rector, Rev. Anson R. Graves, who had been -assistant in the 
parish in 1873-74. From the first the parish grew rapidly with the 
growth of the town, and soon began starting missions in other*parts of 



206 KING S HAXDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

the city. About 1862, a number of the parishioners colonized in St. 
Mark s Free Church, which up to that time had been a mission of 
Gethsemane, but is now a strong parish, In 1857 a mission was started 
in the north part of the city, which was organized as St. Andrew s 
Church in 1874. What is now All Saints Church was started as a 
mission in 1872; Grace Church in 1874; St. Luke s in 1885. Besides 
starting these Churches within the city, Gethsemane has a Chapel at 
Oak Grove, six miles out, another at Minnetonka Mills, twelve miles 
away, and another at Howard Lake, forty-five miles away. It has 
maintained services and helped to build Chapels at other points, and 
has supplied the county jail with a weekly service for the last seventeen 
years. Much of the above work was accomplished through the 
Brotherhood of Gethsemane, organized in 1869. This Brotherhood 
founded St. Barnabas Hospital and maintained it for twelve years, and 
then turned it over to a board of trustees with property valued at 
$30,000. Since entering the new Church in December, 1884, the parish 
has doubled in the number of its parishioners and communicants. In 
June, 1888, it reported 350 families and 756 communicants. 

In its history of thirty-two years there have been baptized, 1,767; 
confirmed, 979 ; married, 598 couples ; buried, 942. Ten from the parish 
have gone into the ministry. The Church since its first year has been 
maintained as a free Church, and to-day sittings are neither rented nor 
assigned. A surpliced choir was introduced in 1881. The average 
amount of money raised for the last five years has been $10,550 
yearly. In the thirty-two years there have been raised for all purposes 
$220,403. 

The building represented by the above cut was finished in the 
autumn of 1884, and the first service held December 7, 1884, just twenty- 
eight years after the first service was held in the old parish Church. 
It is located at the corner of Ninth Street and Fourth Avenue, south, 
near the centre of the city. It is built of cream-colored sandstone. 
The seating capacity is 650 in the body of the Church, with- room for 
250 sittings in the Chapel, which becomes a part of the Church by the 
opening of folding doors. The chancel is 30 by 28 feet. The altar and 
reredos are of carved oak. The organ-room is north of the chancel and 
contains a large Hook & Hastings organ. The font is very large and 
heavy, of a gray stone, and stands on a raised platform separate from 
the chancel, on the north side in front of the organ-room. The eagle 
lecturn is of brass, and serves also as a pulpit. South of the chancel are 
first, a robing-room for the clergy; second, a robing-room for the choir; 
and third, a guild-room or large parlor. The Church is furnished and 
finished throughout in polished white oak. The entire cost of land, 



A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2O/ 

building, and furnishings was $63,000. Its acoustic properties are per 
fect, and it is easily heated. 

ST. PAUL S CHURCH, Milwaukee, Wis. This is the pioneer 
Church in Wisconsin, and it has filled an important piace in the history 
of the city and the State. The parish was organized April, 1838, the 
Rev. Mr. Noble officiating. The first rector was the Rev. Lemuel B. 
Hull. The other rectors have been the Rev. Benjamin Akerley, the 
Rev. Wm. W. Arnett, the Rev. Jas. C. Richmond, the Rev. Dr. Wm. B. 
Ashley, and the Rev. Dr. John Fulton. The present rector is the Rev. 
Charles Stanley Lester, who entered upon his duties in September, 1880. 

The first building erected by the parish was a small wooden structure, 
finished in February, 1845. It. was frequently enlarged, and finally was 
taken down in 1884, after the erection of the new Church. The present 
building was constructed after plans of E. J. Mix & Co., of Milwaukee. 
The general style of the building is Norman, and the material Lake 
Superior red sandstone, rock-faced. The Church and Chapel fill three 
lots, 1 80 feet in depth, and, with the completed Rectory, will nearly fill a 
width of 127 feet. A high clerestory carries up the roof 67 feet, giving 
to the exterior a grand and imposing effect, which is relieved from 
heaviness by the graceful lines of the great transept windows and the 
rose-window in front, with their mullions of yellow sandstone. The 
deep recesses of the doorways, with their clustered columns of red 
granite, the rich carving abundantly bestowed, and the grand wrought- 
iron gate of the tower, produce an effect of solidity and reality not often 
seen in American Churches. Through the entrances in the tower one 
passes into the broad vestibule, which crosses the front of the Church. 
The tower, seventeen feet square in the interior, has a wainscoting of 
brown stone, seven feet high, above which the wall is carried up in 
red-face brick to a fine panelled ceiling in antique oak, from which 
hangs a graceful wrought-iron lantern opposite a beautiful mullioned 
window deeply recessed in the brown stone. The vestibule is plain and 
rich, with its woodwork of oak and pavement of square red tiles, bor 
dered with Connecticut brown stone. Three doors lead into the 
interior, the whole effect of which is one of richness and dignity. The 
beauty of the lines of the building, the quiet harmony of its colors, the 
reality and fitness of everything, give one a feeling of satisfaction, which 
disarms criticism. The woodwork is of black birch, finished in dark 
red ; the walls, a dark russet, relieved by a rich border of dead blue and 
green. Two rows of red-granite columns, their bases and elaborately 
carved capitals of yellow sandstone, support the high clerestory, on 
which rests the massive open-timbered roof, which, with its ceiling of 



208 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

wood, is finished in red. Looking up the main aisle, one sees across 
the front of the choir a screen of yellow sandstone, massive and beauti 
fully carved. It stands four feet above the Church floor, and is one of 
the finest decorations of the interior. In front of it, at the extreme 
left, is the stone pulpit, a hexagon of yellow sandstone, standing on a 
base of brown stone. The sides are cut into deep panels, filled with 
elaborate carving. With red-granite columns at the angles, with carved 
capitals and mouldings, the pulpit has a dignity and beauty which noth 
ing could replace. 

At the right of the centre of the choir-screen is the splendid brass 
eagle, a former gift to the Church. Four stone steps at the centre of the 
screen lead to the pavement of the choir, three more to the base of the 
altar. Upon the broad pavement of the choir stand, on either hand, the 
stalls for choir and clergy. Two broad steps lead from the rail to the 
beautiful altar of pure white marble, its columns of dark-red marble, its 
delicately carved panels enriched by a background of gold. 

Behind the altar, against the diaper work of the wall, stands the fine 
reredos, rising to a height of eighteen feet and extending beyond the 
altar on either side. The reredos is especially effective, its centre panels 
of dark red leather, diapered in gold, forming a fine background to the 
rich brass cross and vases of the Eldred memorial. On either side of 
the centre are three panels of gilded leather, with well-executed paint 
ings representing the Evangelists, with St. Peter and St. Paul. At the 
left of the altar stands the bishop s chair, very richly carved, and quite 
imposing with its high canopy after the ancient style. The chancel 
arch, forty-five feet high, is grand and imposing, and discloses, above 
the reredos, upon the amber background of the wall, three figures of an 
gels (in chiaro-oscuro, twenty-five feet in height, bearing a scroll with 
the message, " Behold, I bring you glad tidings of great joy "). The 
golden light, which streams into the chancel from side windows of gold 
glass, produces at all times a beautiful and happy effect. 

The Church is rich in magnificent windows. The grand rose-win 
dow in the facade is sixteen feet in diameter. Mullions of yellow 
sandstone divide it into a centre of five feet, with eight surrounding 
sections. The latter are filled with bluish-green rondels, around and 
through which runs a ribbon of deeper blue, the whole surface being 
sprinkled with broken jewels of amber. The centre is a very rich de 
sign, illustrating the two familiar lines : 

" And with the morn those angel faces smile, 
Which I have loved long since and lost awhile." 

The low r er part is occupied by four figures in the clouds. Above 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 209 




St. Paul s Church, Milwaukee, Wis. 



210 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

them, in the breaking light, is a radiant crown of stars, from which the 
light descends in rays upon the figures. Above the crown is a halo of 
stars. The whole composition is marvellous in color and shading, and 
wonderful in its execution. It is the work of Tiffany, and a gift to the 
Church from Mrs. E. H. Brodhead. The transepts contain each a grand 
window eighteen feet by twenty-five feet, divided by heavy stone mul- 
lions into elaborate tracery above, and three panels eighteen feet high. 
The east window was erected as a memorial to Bishop Kemper, and 
is one of the great windows of the world. The upper part shows a 
beautiful harmony of color, in which dark blue and amber are the pre 
vailing tones, while the whole of the lower part is occupied by a copy of 
Dore s painting of " Christ leaving the Praetorium." It is executed in a 
thoroughly artistic manner, each one of the two hundred faces being a 
real work of art, and the gorgeous coloring of the mosaic glass in the 
drapery producing most brilliant effects against the noble background 
of palace and temple. It was made by Tiffany, and is a marvellous 
result of patience, devotion, and true art. The centre panel of the west 
transept window is a splendid work by Messrs. Heaton, Butler & 
Bayne of London. The subject is " Easter Morn," and represents the 
meeting of the two Marys and the angel at the sepulchre. It is a true 
work of art, faultless in drawing, very rich in color, and showing a won 
derful elaborateness of detail. Another very fine window is in the west 
side-aisle, also by Tiffany, a copy of Murillo s " Annunciation," show 
ing a perfection in execution rarely equalled in glass. At the left of 
the chancel is a large and beautiful organ, built by Messrs. Hook & 
Hastings of Boston, and specially valued for the purity and smoothness 
of its tones. At the right of the chancel is the baptistery, with three 
small windows, exquisite in design and color ; while over the font hangs 
a fine old lamp, brought from a Church in Northern Italy. 

The Church and Chapel have cost, up to the present time, $190,000 
the tower and Rectory being yet unfinished. When all is finished it 
will present one of the finest groups of Church buildings in the country. 
The Church seats a thousand people, and is well filled, the recent intro 
duction of a well-trained choir of forty-three men and boys having 
added greatly to the beauty and reality of the service. 

BETHESDA CHURCH, Saratoga Springs, N. Y. One peculiarity 
of this parish is that while it is important at all times, there are some 
months in the year when its work reaches a very large number of people 
from all parts of the country. As a summer resort Saratoga keeps up 
its old-time popularity. Under the vigorous ministry of the Rev. Dr. 
Joseph Carey, the parish of Bethesda Church aims to meet, not only the 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



211 



needs of the large resident population, but of the crowds of people who 
flock here in the summer-time. 

Recently the old Church, built in 1841, has been very greatly im 
proved. In 1886 Mrs. Rockwell Putman offered to give the funds for 
the erection of a new tower in memory of her husband. Other generous 
contributions were made by other persons for the improvement fund, 
and many gifts were offered for the furnishing, so that when the build 
ing was reopened July 3, 1887, it was virtually new. The front has a 
central entrance-way through a Norman arch. This front is of rough 
ashlar with dressed stone for trimmings. The tower is blunt, and is 
surmounted by an iron cross. The stone-work of the tower and of the 
front is ended 

off with battle- , r 

ments. A fine 
clock with hands 
moved by elec 
tricity marks the 
golden hours on 
the tower face, 
and four sweet 
bells form the 
We st m inst er 
peal. The inte 
rior of the build 
ing is very pleas 
ing. The shape 
is rectangular, 
with a deep chan 
cel ; on the right 
is the organ, with 
a choir vestry 
back of it. On 

the left is a small Chapel, with the clergy-room back of that. The choir 
is seated for thirty-six singers, and on the occasion of the re-opening in 
1887 a vested choir was introduced. The exquisite altar is of polished 
French marble and mosaics. The reredos is of richly carved antique 
oak. The floors of the alley-ways are laid in tiles. The walls are tinted 
Pompeian red. There is a beautiful brass eagle lecturn, and a brass 
pulpit. The six standards for the chancel railing are of hammered 
antique brass, each with a bronze panel bearing a lily. 

The architect of the recent improvements is Mr. A. Page Brown, of 
New York. Among the persons contributing memorial and other gifts 




Bethesda Church, Saratoga Springs, N. Y. 



212 A M G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

are Mrs. Charles D. Slocum, Mrs. Joseph Cooke, Mrs. Katharine Y. 
Ehringer, Mrs. VVm. A. Sackett, Mrs. J. L. Perry, the family of Rev. 
Ur. Shackelford, and Mrs. Rockwell Putman. 

A writer says : " It is a restful change to step from the hurry and the 
heat, the glare and gayety of the street into the cool and seclusion of 
this Church, to see the form of angels on the painted glass, and to walk 
with reverent tread down the long alley towards the altar and the shin 
ing cross. All the decorations are rich and tasteful, but no discord of 
colors jars on the aesthetic sense. The chancel ornaments and furnish 
ings are specially fine, nearly all being memorial gifts from members of 
the parish. The chancel window is unique in design, and worthy of 
notice. The central figure, erect, the rays from whose body light the 
whole picture, is Christ the Divine Healer. At His feet, half-recumbent, 
is the cripple with uplifted hand. In the right panel is the figure of a 
young man kneeling for a blessing, while at the left an anxious mother 
brings her sick child to the Great Physician. In the tracery are 
glimpses of the firmament with stars, and in the foreground appears the 
pool of Bethesda, so well pictured that one can almost see the move 
ment of the waters." Dr. Carey has been in charge since 1873, and dur 
ing eleven of the fifteen years has been also the Archdeacon of Troy. 
The parish has six hundred communicants, a parish day-school, a hos 
pital, a House of the Good Shepherd, and a reading-room and library. 

CHURCH OF THE HOLY SPIRIT, Mattapan, Mass. This 
unique building was erected by Miss Annie Lawrence Rotch in memory 
of her father, the late Benjamin Smith Rotch. The plans were drawn 
by the firm of Rotch & Tilden, architects, Boston. The Church, in 
the form of a cross, with apsidal chancel, is built of moss-covered stones 
irregularly laid. The tower in the centre is supported by four massive 
stone pillars. The ceiling is finished with wood stained a cherry color. 
The pews and chancel furniture are of oak. The font is of oak with 
terra-cotta panels. The windows are filled with stained glass, those in 
the chancel representing the angel choir. The communion-vessels, the 
organ, the font, the bell, and other articles are memorials. 

The Church stands upon high ground, several rods back from the 
street, overlooking, through the vista of lofty trees, the placid waters of 
the Neponset, while a spacious lawn extends on all sides to the bounda 
ries of the grounds. The seating accomodation is for two hundred per 
sons, and all the seats are free. The gallery over the porch is shut in by 
means of glass partitions so that it can be used for week-day services, 
meetings for work, and for Sunday-school. The new parish is in charge 
of the Rev. John T. Magrath, and is in a prosperous condition. 



A ING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



2I 3 



CHRIST CHURCH, Poughkeepsie, N. Y. In the year 1756 the 
Rev. Samuel Seabury, father of him who afterwards became the first 
bishop of Connecticut, and who was then a missionary in charge of the 
Churches at Hempstead, Oyster Bay, and Huntington, "paid a visit to 
Dutchess County, eighty miles distant, at the request of the inhabitants, 
and held one or more services." During the ensuing decade services 
were occasionally held here and there in the county, but there is no 
record of date earlier than April 2, 1766, when a subscription-paper was 
passed around "for the purchase of a glebe in some convenient place in 
Poughkeepsie, Rombout, the Great Nine Partners, or Beekman." This 




Church of the Holy Spirit, Mattapan, Mass. 

paper states that there is "not any settled Church of England in the 
said county, by which means public worship according to the liturgy of 
said Church, is altogether neglected." On the twenty-third day of Octo 
ber, 1766, a meeting of the members of the Church of England in 
Dutchess County was held, and the Rev. John Beardsley of Groton, 
Conn., was duly invited to become their resident pastor. 

The first service was held in the house of William Humphrey, on the 
twenty-first day of December, 1766, Mr. Beardsley taking for his text 



214 A /.YG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

St. Luke ii. 32. On the ninth day of March, 1773, a Royal Charter was 
granted to " the Rector and inhabitants of Poughkeepsie, in Dutchess 
County, in communion with the Church of England," which title of in 
corporation was changed by the Legislature of New York during the 
session of 1791-92 to "the Rector and inhabitants of Poughkeepsie in 
communion with the Protestant Episcopal Church in the State of New 
York." The original charter granted by " George III., by the grace of 
God of Great Britain, France, and Ireland King, Defender of the Faith, 
and so forth," is still preserved in the archives of Christ Church. The 
total quantity of land conveyed to the two parishes of Poughkeepsie 
and Rombout (Fishkill) w r as two hundred and eighty-seven acres. Up 
to the year 1774 all services were held in private houses. 

In the year 1773 the erection of a Church was begun, but it was not 
under roof until late in the autumn of 1774. It was placed on a knoll at 
what is now known as the northeast corner of Market and Church Streets. 
It was built of stone, with a tower and spire at the west and on Market 
Street. The number of pews was forty-two, and the seating capacity about 
two hundred. Then came the troublous days of the Revolution. After the 
Revolution the rectors were the Rev. Henry Vandyck, the Rev. George 
H. Spieren, Rev. John J. Sayrs, Rev. Philander Chase, subsequently 
bishop of Ohio, Rev. Barzillai Bulkley, Rev. Dr. John Reed. During Dr. 
Reed s rectorship the first building was taken down, and a large brick 
edifice was built in its stead, and consecrated June 5, 1834. Dr. Reed 
was succeeded by Rev. Homer Wheaton. Then came the Rev. Dr- 
Samuel Bueland, followed in 1866 by the Rev. Dr. Philander K. Cady. 

The present rector is the Venerable Archdeacon, the Rev. Henry L. 
Zeigenfuss, who has been in charge since 1874. 

During the past fourteen years the parish has constantly grown in 
numbers as well as in beneficent activity. When it was deemed inexpedi 
ent to renovate the old building erected in 1833, or to rebuild on the 
same site, the vestry decided to erect a nevv^ structure on "the old Eng 
lish burying-ground," which embraces an entire block in the most de 
sirable part of the city. The plans presented by Mr. William A. Potter 
of New York City were at once accepted. Ground was broken July 19, 
1887, and the building was consecrated by Bishop Henry C. Potter on 
Tuesday, May 15, 1888. The style of the Church is pointed Gothic. It 
is built of Long Meadow brown stone, a sandstone of pinkish hue that 
has the merit of hardening by exposure. The Church is cruciform, the 
nave running east and west. The total length of the building is 148 feet. 
The nave is 112 feet in length and 51 feet in width. The depth 
of the chancel is 35 feet. The height of the side walls is 20 feet; 
to the top of the gables, 55 feet. The width in the transepts is 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 215 

no feet. To the south of the nave is an aisle separated from 
the former by an arcade of five arches. From both the lecturn and 
the pulpit every seat in the edifice is plainly visible. The organ-cham 
ber is to the north of the chancel, whilst south of it are the robing- 
room, 8 by 13 feet, and the rector s study, 16 by 27 feet. Underneath 
these two rooms is a choir-vestry, 20 by 34 feet. In the front, at the north 
west corner of the Church, is a baptistery 12 by 12 feet. The main en 
trance on the west side is through a narthex, 10 by 24 feet, which connects 




Christ Church, Poughkeepsie, N. Y. 

the Church and the tower. The latter, which is erected at the sole ex 
pense of Mr. Albert Tower, President of the Fallkill Iron Co., is 20 by 20 
feet at the base, and culminates in a spire at the height of 120 feet. This 
also is built of Longmeadow stone. Through the tower is an archway 
from which opens another door into the narthex. Two porches offer 
additional access to the transepts. On the north of the robing-room is 
a door for the rector s use. An appropriate scheme for stained-glass 
windows has been prepared by Messrs. Clayton & Bell of London. The 
chancel window is a memorial to Bishops Alonzo and Horatio Potter, 



2l6 



HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHUXCHES. 



who in early days, had close affiliations with this parish. In the organ- 
chamber is a superb three-manual instrument from the factory of Messrs. 
J. H. & C. S. Odell. The woodwork of the Church is antique oak. 

In the course of time it is purposed to add a Parish House and a Rec 
tory, connecting these with each other and with the Church by means of 
covered passages. The total cost of the structure, including the furnish 
ing of it, has so far been about $120,000. The builders are Messrs. 
George Mertz & Sons of Portchester, N. Y. 

THE PACKER MEMORIAL CHURCH (Lehigh University), 
South Bethlehem, Perm. The Hon. Asa Packer of Mauch Chunk ap 



propriated during 
for the purpose of 
To the end that 
the instruction to 
him "The Lehigh 
by the Legislature 
death, which oc- 




Packer Memorial Church, South Bethlehem, Pa. 

erected during his life, and had dedicated as 



his life nearly one million of dollars 
founding an institution of learning, 
it might be open to all, he declared 
be forever free. It was named by 
University," and was incorporated 
of Pennsylvania in 1866. After his 
curred on the I7th of May, 1879, it 
was found that 
he had b e - 
queathed to it 
by his will the 
sum of two 
millions of dol 
lars. Of this 
most generous 
bequest, a mil 
lion and a half 
were to be ap 
plied to the 
general endow 
ment of the 
University; and 
half a million 
to establish and 
maintain a Li 
brary, the beau 
tiful edifice for 
which he had 
caused to be 
memorial to his 



daughter, Mrs. Lucy Packer Linderman. On the 9th of October, 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2 \J 

1879, and every year since then, Founder s Day has been cele 
brated in memory of the munificence of Mr. Packer. Unusual interest 
was given to Founder s Day, 1885, by the impressive ceremony of laying 
the corner-stone of a new Church in memory of Asa Packer. The 
architect is Mr. Addison Hutton. On that occasion the Masonic body, 
the students, clergy, and citizens, formed a procession, and marched to 
the site of the new building, where, after the usage of the Masons, the f 
traditional builders of sacred edifices, and by the solemn ritual of the 
Church, the corner-stone was laid. In his address, Bishop Rulison said : 
" This Church will be the glory of this University, for by its teaching 
men will be influenced towards goodness and made strong. When I 
look around me, and see signs of the wisdom and beneficence of Asa 
Packer in these splendid buildings and spacious gardens, I thank God 
for this good example; and when I think of the meaning and far- 
reaching influence of this day s service and ceremony, I am profoundly 
grateful to her who, while she is living, is crowning her father s work 
and her mother s prayers in memory of them and to the glory of God." 

Founder s Day, 1887, was a day of great joy, for on that occasion 
Bishop Howe consecrated the completed building in the presence of 
a great gathering of people. The sermon was preached by Bishop 
Potter, who at its conclusion said : " That which lends an especial 
charm to the gift which is this day made to God, and to this University, 
is that it is a gift for the highest good of young men from a woman, 
and that even as a woman was honored and ennobled in giving to the 
race the Saviour whom we worship here, so a daughter of our Israel 
opens to her young; brothers within these courts a place of access to His 
presence." The Church edifice cost $250,000. It is one of the largest, 
as it is certainly one of the most elaborately finished, Churches in the 
Diocese of Central Pennsylvania. 

ST. PETER S CHURCH, Portchester, N. Y. Portchester is in 
Westchester County, near the Connecticut State line, on Long Island 
Sound. It is a beautiful place, and fast becoming a favorite summer resort. 
Some years ago the parish of St. Peter s met what seemed to be a great 
misfortune, viz., the loss of their Church building by fire ; but the energy 
and liberality of the people, combined with the skill of the architect, Mr. 
A. P. Brown of New York, have secured a building so unique in its ap 
pearance, so commodious in its seating space, and so well suited for its 
sacred uses, that the loss of the former building is not to be regretted. 
The new Church, a rectangle with no lateral projections, is 126 by 60 
feet, not including the tower. The tower is massive, and is intended 
to carry a chime of bells and a clock. It is arched on the first section, 



218 



A /A G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



so as to form a carriage-way to the door. There are three other main 
doorways in the front, leading into a vestibule, over which is a gallery. 
The walls outside are of blue stone and gray limestone ; inside they are 
finished with roughened plaster. There is a main alley-way and two 
side alleys. At the eastern end are three arches. On the south is the 
organ, and back of it the choir-vestry. On the north is a small Chapel, 
and back of that the rector s vestry. The sanctuary is between the two 
vestry-rooms, and in front of it is the space for the choir. There are no 
columns in the building, the roof being supported by heavy trusses. 
The ceiling is finished in wood, laid in panels. The seating space on the 
floor is for five hundred, and the gallery will seat perhaps one hundred 
more. 

The probable cost of the building when finished will be about $60,000. 
The present rector is the Rev. S. W. Young. The parish is very ener 
getic, and has a Sunday-school of three hundred members, and a list of 
communicants exceeding three hundred. 

ST. ANN S CHURCH, Kennebunk, Me. This building, at one 
of the most pleasant summer resorts on the coast of Maine, has been 



constructed to meet the needs 
mainly, some of whom are 
in other places, it may become 
gregation also. The architect 




St. Peter s Church, Portchester, N. Y. 



of the summer population 
Church people, although, as 
a home for a permanent cc-n- 
is Mr. H. P. Clark of Boston. 
It is built of 
shore rocks, ta 
ken from the 
shore directly 
where the 
Church build 
ing is located. 
They are very 
large rocks, and 
of various col 
ors and shapes. 
The walls are 
about three feet 



thick, and they show just the same on the inside as on the outside, except 
in the chancel, which is lined up with fire-bricks. The altar and re-table 
are built upon their foundations of brick, with slate-stone slabs on top. 
The windows for the chancel are of heavy lead and stained glass. The 
doors are of oak plank, bolted and hung with wrought-iron hinges. 
The roof is framed with hard pine. The trusses are semicircular arches 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2 19 

on knees and hammer-beams. The chancel arch is finished with stained 
shingles. The ceiling in the chancel is plastered, and will eventually be 
decorated in color. The stone font will stand in the tower vestibule. 
The corner-stone of the building was laid August 22, 1887, by Bishop 




St. Ann s Church, Kennebunk, Me. 

Neely. The Church stands east and west upon the solid rock of the 
coast. 

THE CHURCH OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD, Buffalo, N. Y. 
(The Ingersoll Memorial). The lot and the building are the gifts of Mr. 
Elam R. Jewett, and are in memory of the Rev. Dr. Edward Ingersoll, 
who for many years was the rector of Trinity Church, Buffalo. The 
Memorial is a Gothic building, 85 feet long and 52 feet across the 
transepts. It is built of blue-stone, and has a red-tiled roof. The 
chancel is eastward. The floor of the vestibule is of red and chocolate^- 
brown tiles. The interior of the Chapel is especially worthy of close 
attention. Here are already memorials to many departed friends, while 
the entire decorative scheme has been subordinated to the memorial 
character of the place. In general, the interior woodwork, the pews, 
and wainscotings, chancel furniture, etc., are of oak. The ceiling is 
carried to the roof timbers, which are finished in their natural color, as 
are the rounded timber arches which span the nave. The side walls 
are finished in rough plaster, which is carried up between the bents of 



220 A /.YG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

the roof. On this plaster ground-work has been wrought out an 
effective color scheme in oil, the tints passing from deep red on the 
side walls to olive and russet greens and quiet yellows overhead. The 
general tone of the chancel decorations is deeper than in the nave. A 
broad frieze, embracing in its designs various appropriate emblems, is 
carried around the walls, being broken wherever roof-timbers are 
encountered. The windows are bordered by decorative bands in har 
mony with the frieze. The principal window is a triplet in the chancel, 




Church of the Good Shepherd, Buffalo, N. Y. 



erected in memory of Mr. Elam R. Jewett. It is exceedingly beautiful 
in design and color. The middle portion represents the Good 
Shepherd. There are other memorial windows, and memorials of 
other kinds. The building is completely furnished, including a very 
sweet-toned organ. One of the most interesting features in the fur 
nishing of the building is the presence of some articles used in old 
Trinity when Dr. Ingersoll was its rector. These are the font and the 
pulpit and the Bible. The building was consecrated May 21, 1888, by 
Bishop Coxe. The Church has a seating capacity of three hundred. 
The new parish is in charge of the Rev. Thomas B. Berry. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 221 



ST. ANDREW S CHURCH, Jacksonville, Florida (A Memorial of 
Bishop Young). This new Church, after designs of Mr. R. L. Schuyler, 
architect, of Fernandina, Fla., is regarded as one of the most satis 
factory pieces of architecture in the South. It is built of pressed 
brick laid in black mortar, the trimmings being of stone. The ground 



plan is cruciform, the vestry- 
gan-chamber on the other form- 
and nave are separated by three 
eel, in addition to the usual 
choir of forty voices. The in- 
ing is of Florida pine, carefully 
together. The doors, a special 
hogany. The ceiling is panelled 
rises to a height of 120 feet, and 



room on one side and the or- 
ing the transepts. The chancel 
arches of masonry. The chan- 
furniture, has seats for a vested 
terior woodwork of the build- 
selected and as carefully put 
gift, are made of solid ma- 
with yellow pine. The tower 
is the highest now in the city. 




St. Andrew s Church, Jacksonville, Fla. 

ft 

The baptistery opposite the tower entrance is a pleasant feature of the 
building. The whole interior is very attractive. The seating capacity 
is for three hundred, but two hundred more can be crowded in. The 
building is a memorial of the late bishop of the diocese, who took a 
great interest in the work of the parish, which had sprung out of a 
mission of St. John s. This mission became independent in 1886 and 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

is now in a prosperous condition. It has over one hundred communi 
cants. The new Church was opened for the first time, Easter, 1888. 

THE CHAPEL OF ST. PETER AND ST. PAUL, at St. Paul s 
School, Concord, N. H. The old Chapel of St. Paul s School was a low 
brick building which answered the needs of the School in the early 
days of the enterprise, but which, as the School grew, became entirely 
too small. The interior was very attractive, but its overcrowded con 
dition compelled the erection of a new building. The Alumni of the 
School became very active in securing funds. Beginning in 1882, they 
reported in 1884 that they had raised by gifts and subscriptions $51,000, 
about half the needed amount. This fund grew slowly until 1886. 
Upon the thirtieth anniversary of Dr. Coit s mastership of the School in 
that year the committee reported that the sum proposed to be raised 
was now all pledged. 

The plans of Mr. Henry Vaughan, architect, of Boston, were adopted, 
and in July, 1886, ground was broken in the field between the School- 
house and the Lower School, Woodbury & Leighton of Boston being the 
contractors for the building, and Evans & Tombs for the woodwork. 
The corner-stone was laid by the bishop of the diocese and the honored 
founder, Dr. Geo. C. Shattuck, on St. Matthew s Day, September 21, 1886. 
The style of architecture is late decorated Gothic. The general arrange 
ment is like that of the great school and college Chapels of England. 
The plan consists of a chancel, choir, ante-chapel, organ-chamber, and 
vestries. The entire length inside measures 150 feet. The exterior is 
built of Eastern pressed brick and Springfield sandstone in about equal 
proportions. The window mullions and tracery are of stone. The 
tower at present is only carried up clear of the roof and temporarily 
covered in. When completed it will rise above the ridge 60 feet. The 
principal entrance is at the west end, and has a richly panelled interior 
oak porch which opens into the ante-chapel vestibule. This Chapel is 
separated from the choir by a richly carved open oak screen and gates. 
Over the screen is a gallery capable of accommodating fifty persons. At 
the west end of the Chapel stands the font, which is of pink Knoxville 
marble, octagonal in form ; the sides of bowl and pedestal are enriched 
with sunk traceried panels. The font stands upon a North River 
blue-stone platform, and has a carved oak pyramidal-shaped cover six 
feet in height. The cover is to be suspended from an ornamental 
wrought-iron crane. The choir is 78 feet 9 inches long by 31 feet 6 
inches wide, and 48 feet in height. The roof is boarded on the under 
side of the timbers, which are so arranged as to make the sides and 
angles of the polygonal soffit equal. The roof is of oak, and is divided 



JfAYG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 22$ 



into five bays by arched trusses springing from slender stone shafts ; 
these bays are again divided into square panels by moulded ribs with 
carved bosses at the intersection. The seats are arranged in the usual 
choir fashion, facing north and south, those at the back being raised 
higher than those in front. The stalls occupy the entire length of the 
walls and return against the west screen. The screen at the back of 
the stalls has a carved hood, and is like the west screen ; in fact, the de 
sign is carried around the three sides of the choir, the only difference 
being that the screen is open work and the back of the stalls is panelled. 
The chancel is 35 feet long by 25 feet 6 inches, and is 49 feet high from 




&;nUvv^;/,>u)))i^u ^ 
Chapel of St. Peter and St. Paul, St. Paul s School, Concord, N. H. 

the choir floor. It has a groined oak roof, the ribs of which spring 
from stone shafts. At the intersection of these ribs are large carved 
bosses. The altar is of pink Knoxville marble, and consists of a slab 9 
feet by 2 feet 10 inches, which projects from the base on three sides, 
the overhang being supported by six short octagonal columns with 
foliated caps. The lower part of the altar is decorated on the front and 
sides with square panelled compartments richly foliated, and each con 
taining a shield upon which emblems of the Passion are carved. The 
re-table, and what will be the base of the future reredos, are of red Eng 
lish Carlisle stone. The altar is raised three feet six inches above the 
choir floor on seven steps, the first being at the entrance of the chancel, 



224 A AVC S HAXDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

and the second at that of the sanctuary. The foot-pace and two top 
most steps are returned so as to form a base for the altar to stand upon. 
The steps are of North River blue-stone. The floor of the chancel, the 
centre passage of the choir, and the whole of the ante-chapel and vesti 
bule, are laid with red tiles. The windows, with the exception of the 
Paine memorial window, are filled with delicately tinted cathedral glass 
in diamond quarries. Over the altar hangs a dossal of deep olive plush, 
which is very effective. The altar cross, 39 inches in height, is of brass 
gilt, with medallions of the Agnus Dei in the centre, and the symbols 
of the Evangelists in the four corners. The candlesticks and altar desk 
are of the same material, and very beautiful in design. The bishop s 
chair is a Glastonbury chair of oak, richly carved, having a mitre in the 
centre. The credence and clergy bench are of oak, of simple but effec 
tive design. The lecturn, of oak, consists of a revolving double shelf 
upon^ a pedestal, with hexagonal base, all richly carved. A beautiful 
stained-glass window has been placed in the chancel opposite the organ 
by John and Ogle Tayloe Paine, as a memorial to their mother. It was 
made by Clayton & Bell of London, and its subject is the Noble Army 
of Martyrs. It contains figures of Joseph, Abel, Zacharius, Daniel, St. 
Sebastian, St. Stephen, St. James the Less, and St. Laurence. On the 
wall near by is a brass plate containing the words, "To the glory of 
God, and in memory of our mother, Julia Dickenson Paine. Entered 
into life February 25, 1872." The organ, which consists of great choir 
and swell organs, with forty speaking stops, built by Hutchings of 
Boston, is a memorial to Mr. Augustus Muhlenberg Swift, an "old 
boy," and for many years one of the masters. The erection of the 
memorial is mainly due to the efforts of his life-long friend, Mr. James 
C. Knox, the organist and choir-master of the School. The case is of 
oak, and has been carefully designed to harmonize with its surround 
ings. It consists of a central rectagonal tower, and two side square 
towers, beautifully carved, and, with the silvered pipes, it forms one of 
the most striking features of the interior. The instrument itself is, as 
those who have heard it can testify, superb, and all that one could de 
sire for the building in which it stands. Under the organ-chamber is 
the choir-vestry, where there are ample closets for the surplices of the 
choristers, and next it is the clergy-vestry. The gas-fixtures consist of 
simple long pendants with clusters of five lights, suspended from 
wrought-iron brackets, which spring from the stone shafts. The build 
ing is heated by steam, radiators being placed under the floor, and the 
steam being supplied from the boiler-house in the rear of the School- 
house. The special gifts, in addition to the stalls, the organ, and 
memorial window, are the altar, altar cross, altar desk, candlesticks, 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 22$ 

font, and bishop s chair. The V Form of 1887-88 are to put in a 
memorial window to three of their classmates, and the V Form of 1886- 
87 are to give the pulpit, while the V Form of 1884-86 have given the 
stalls for the rector and vice-rector. 

TRINITY PARISH, Portland, Oregon. This is the oldest of the 
many parishes in the Northwest, having been organized on Sunday, 
May 18, 1851, and from its size, wealth, and influence is the most im 
portant within the diocese of Oregon. The first consecration within 
the diocese, and, it is believed, the first on the Pacific Coast, was made 
in this parish on Sunday, September 24, 1854. As these facts are usually 
of more than passing interest to the churchman, a brief reference to 
its early history can hardly be deemed out of place. The most reliable 
information upon this subject is contained in a monograph prepared by 
Hon. Matthew P. Deady, United States District Judge, who has been 
for many years a vestryman of the parish. " Trinity Parish was organ 
ized by the election of wardens and vestrymen after the Morning 
Prayer on Sunday, May 18, 1851, at the Methodist House of Worship, 
at a meeting held for that purpose, and presided over by the Rev. 
William Richmond, it being the first parish organized in the diocese of 
Oregon and Washington. The first Church erected in Trinity Parish, 
situated on the northwest corner of Third and Oak Streets, was on Sun 
day, September 24, 1854, consecrated by the Right Rev. Thomas Field 
ing Scott, D.D., missionary bishop of the diocese, who administered 
the rite of confirmation therein to three persons. These were the first 
persons confirmed in the parish, and this was the first Church conse 
crated in the diocese, and, so far as understood, on the Pacific Coast. 
In January, 1853, the congregation comprised twenty-five persons, four 
of whom were communicants. The following are the names of the 
clergymen who have officiated in the parish from time to time since its 
organization to the present day: in 1851 to 1853, Rev. William Rich 
mond and Rev. St. Michael Facken ; 1853, Rev. John McCarty, D.D. ; 
1854, Rev. John McCarty and the Right Rev. Thomas Fielding Scott! 
D.D., first missionary bishop of the diocese of Oregon and Washing 
ton ; 1855, the Bishop and Rev. Johnston McCormac ; 1856, the Bishop, 
Rev. James L. Daly, and Rev. John Sellwood, B.D.; 1857 to 1860, Rev. 
John Selwood, B.D.; 1860. Rev. Carlton P. Maples and Rev. Peter E. 
Hyland ; 1861 to 1865, Rev. Peter E. Hyland ; 1866 to 1871, Rev. 
William Stoy, B.D.; 1871 to the present time, Rev. George Burton. As 
appears from the annual journal of the convocation of the diocese held 
in September, 1871, the congregation averaged two hundred persons, of 
whom eighty were communicants. In 1867, the growth of the Church 



226 J&WG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 




Trinity Church, Portland, Oregon. 



A /JVG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 22J 

requiring more spacious quarters, the wardens and vestry of the parish 
purchased the south half of Block 69 in the city of Portland, 200 by 
loo feet, situated on Oak Street between Fifth and Sixth Streets, two 
blocks west of the location of the old Church, for the sum of $3,000. Upon 
this ground the building of the present Church was commenced early 
in the year 1872, and the first service was held therein on July i, 1873. 
The Church is built of Oregon fir and cedar, is about no feet long, 
about 50 feet wide, and to the top of the steeple is about 160 feet high. 
It contained originally eighty-seven pews with a seating capacity of 
some five hundred persons; since then, however, some of the pews have, 
for convenience, been removed and the seating capacity reduced to some 
four hundred and fifty. The original cost of the Church, including the 
sum paid for the building site, amounted to $31,717.30. Since that 
time there have been various sums, aggregating a large amount, expended 
in repairs and improvements. In 1874 a memorial window to Bishop 
Scott was put in the east end of the Church over the chancel at a cost 
of some $1,220. Likewise in 1874 a Rectory was erected upon the ground 
at a cost of $5,000. In 1873 Col. Benjamin Stark of New London, 
Conn., formerly a resident and one of the original proprietors of 
the site of Portland and a member of the vestry, presented to the 
Church a fine bell made from a Spanish cannon manufactured in Seville 
in 1746. This bell came from the well-known establishment of Messrs. 
E. A. & G. R. Meneely at West Troy, N. Y. The pew-rents, which for 
the year ending June 30, 1874, amounted to $3,984.98, for the year end 
ing March 31, 1888, amounted to $4,548.10. There are two hun 
dred and four families within the parish, and the number of communi 
cants enrolled upon the register is about three hundred and fifty. The 
parish is out of debt, and generally the prospect for the future is bright. 
Since March 5, 1873, the parish has been incorporated under the title 
of " The Rector, Wardens, and Vestrymen of Trinity Parish, Portland." 
The following have been the rectors of the parish since 1872 : Rev. 
George Burton, Rev. Dr. Nevins, Rev. George Burton, Rev. George F. 
Plummer, 1875 to 1884; Rev. George W. Foote, 1884 to the present time. 

THE CHURCH OF THE PRINCE OF PEACE, Gettysburg;, 
Penn. Among the Churches which have a national interest is the one 
now in course of construction at Gettysburg, Penn. The corner-stone 
was laid July 2, 1888, the anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg. It is 
to be a memento of those who fought or fell on both sides in the late 
war, and as a nation s thank-offering for Peace and Union. The site 
selected is on the corner of Baltimore and High Streets, on the road to 
Gulp s Hill and the National Cemetery. The walls of the building will 



228 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHUXCHES. 




Prince of Peace Church, Gettysburg, Pa. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 22g 

be constructed of granite bowlders taken from Round Top and Devil s 
Den, the scene of part of the battle. The exterior walls will bear the 
names of the most prominent generals of the war ; the interior walls 
will be lined with tiles and stones bearing the names of soldiers who 
were in the three-days battle, and of others who took any part in the 
great struggle. 

The whole building will be a thank-offering for the return of peace, 
that " no more the sword bereaveth;" and as a token that this nation 
" shall not learn war any more." The memorial tiles, tablets, furniture, 
windows, etc., will not be confined to soldiers of the Union side, but the 
names of soldiers of the Confederate a^my are to be admitted, for it 
has been well said, that upon the loving unity of the Episcopal Church 
the civil war made no mark, and hence such a building may embrace 
the memorials of both sides in rearing a lasting temple to the Prince 
of Peace. 

There is no predicting the noble mission of such a building in 
cementing the bonds of peace between the now reunited sections of our 
country, as well as directing the thoughts of all men from earthly strife 
to the joy which shall come when His will is done on earth as it is in 
heaven. 

ST. PETER S CHURCH, Morristown, N. J. Morristown is, in 
the minds of most readers of American history, associated with Wash 
ington, being the place where he established his headquarters when 
some of the most stirring events of the war of the Revolution were in 
progress in 1781. It was here that the famous mutiny of his troops 
took place, because of their sufferings from lack of food and clothing. 
Of late years the beauty of the situation has attracted many new 
comers, so that this venerable town has grown to be a place of much 
wealth and earnestness. The old parish dates back to 1827, and the 
first Church was erected in 1828. The present rector is the Rev. Dr. R. 
N. Merritt, who has been the rector since September 28, 1853. 

The corner-stone of the present building was laid November i, 1887, 
and the work is in progress in sections; the first, containing the Chapel, 
transepts, and chancel, will be finished first, and the others are to follow 
when the means are provided. The architects are McKim, Mead & 
White of New York. The completed plans include a nave, aisles, 
tower, transepts, and chancel. The south transept is to form a Chapel, 
and the north transept will include two vestry rooms one for the choir 
and the other for the clergy. The tower in the middle of the west 
front occupies a considerable part of the space, and rises up in noble 
proportions, terminating in battlements, and with an octagonal turret 



230 



A AYG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



running up the south side and overtopping the battlements. The walls 
are of great blocks of square cut stones, and the whole effect of the 
building will be singularly massive and dignified. 

There are as yet but few of such Churches in this country, but many 
resembling this are to be seen in England, and from there the architects 
doubtless have received their suggestions. The portion now in course 
of erection will cost about $60,000, but the completed building will 
require a total outlay of over $110,000. This work is interesting, not 




St. Peter s Church, Morristown, N. J. 

only because of the character of the building, but because it illustrates 
how a parish can build by sections, and finish when the means are 
provided. In this way a far nobler building can sometimes be secured 
than if all were attempted at once. 

ST. STEPHEN S CHURCH, Olean, N. Y. The first historical 
record of any Church work in Olean was made upon the I7th of 
February, 1829, by the Rev. W. W. Bostwick, of Bath, who received 
into the Church by Baptism five persons. The first organized effort to 
establish a Church took place February 22, 1830. The Rev. J. W. 



A AVG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2^\ 

Ashton commenced his duties as rector on April i, 1883. The com 
mencement of his pastoral duties marked a new era in the history of the 
parish, which at that time was laboring under the discouragement of a 
heavy debt; but in a few months, owing to the generous liberality of the 
members of the Church (especially Mr. G. V. Forman and wife, who 
cancelled notes and mortgages against the Church amounting to 
$1,355) an d the energy of the rector, it was paid off. From that 
time the Church began to give evidence of new life. During the 
spring of 1884 the old building was renovated and beautified. For 




St. Stephen s Church, Clean, N. Y. 



the last five years the growth has been remarkable. Church work, 
directed by the rector, has been carried on, through the agencies of 
the various guilds, with unceasing energy, In May, 1884, a lot was 
purchased by the ladies of the Pastor s Guild, and upon which the 
old Church now stands, while the congregation wait for the com 
pletion of the new edifice. The Rectory has been improved under 
their auspices by the addition of many modern conveniences. At a 
meeting of the vestry held July u, 1887, it was voted unanimously 
that the vestry proceed to the erection of a new Church. The com 
mittee selected Mr. R. W. Gibson, of New York City, as the architect. 
The corner-stone was laid on August 6, 1888, by the rector, Rev. 
Jas. W. Ashton, in the absence of the bishop. 



232 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

This building is erected upon an advantageous site. The west 
front is toward a large open square, well adorned with trees. The 
style adopted is Gothic, adapted to modern Church requirements. 
The ground plan of the Church consists of chancel, nave, and side 
aisles, with shallow transepts. The side-aisles are reduced to a width 
of about four feet, so as to serve for passage-ways only, none of the 
congregation being seated behind pillars or other obstructions. This 
enables the pillars to be erected of a substantial design and size, giving 
the interior a dignified effect. The transepts are here introduced to 
give variety and picturesqueness to the design, as well as to enlarge 
the seating capacity near to the pulpit. The mason work of the interior 
is finished in plaster, ornamented with mouldings and carved capitals. 
The windows at the west end in the transepts and chancel are large 
tracery windows, while those in the nave aisles are comparatively small 
and simple. A clere-story gives a double window at each bay or 
division of the nave. The roof has open timber work of pointed 
arch form, all finished in wood, and stained. The roof work rests 
direct upon the pillars of the nave, which have no arches. This 
arrangement enables a clere-story to be used in a height which 
would not permit of it otherwise, with much more effect than is 
usually obtained at a moderate cost. Other features of the internal 
arrangements are the narthex, running completely across the west front 
and communicating with the two side aisles afore mentioned, with a 
large vestibule in the tower at the northwest corner. The vestries, 
rector s study, and choir rooms, with separate entrances, are at the sides 
of the chancel ; and on the north side a large Chapel or Sunday school 
room, so arranged as to be available for a Parish House or Public Hall, 
is added with convenient access. Externally the building has walls of 
Medina stone, of a rich brown color, with bold pointed arches and water 
tables, and other trimmings of cut stone of finest quality. A hand 
some square tower with open belfry stands at the northwest corner. 
It is finished with a battlemented coping and a pinnacle on one corner, 
but without a spire. The roofs are of dark slate, and with gables and 
dormers form a very picturesque group as seen from either side. The 
extreme length of the Church externally is about ninety-eight feet ; 
internally the nave is about fifty-five feet, and the chancel and sanctuary 
about thirty feet. The width of the nave to the centres of the pillars 
is about thirty-three feet, and the width inside across transepts fifty-one 
feet. The tower is about sixty feet from the ground to the top of the 
pinnacle, and the west gable forty-five feet. The Church will accom 
modate 423 persons, allowing liberally for seating space ; with seats 
arranged so closely as is sometimes done, the building will hold 520. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



233 



The chancel is a noble one, of a size sufficient to receive seats for a 
full choir, in case they should be needed. 

THE GEORGE W. SOUTH MEMORIAL CHURCH OF THE 
ADVOCATE, Philadelphia, Penn. Having recently begun its life in 
purely missionary ground, the history of this Church is necessarily 
brief. The Diamond Street Mission, as it was first called, was es 
tablished by the Northwest Convocation of Philadelphia. The Rev 
W. W. Silvester entered upon the rectorship May 22, 1887. The site of 




Church of the Advocate, Philadelphia, Pa. 

the buildings, with a frontage of 175 feet and extending back 222 feet, 
was purchased Nov. 26, 1886, by the two ladies who are building the 
Memorial in memory of their brother. The corner-stone of the Chapel 
was laid by the Rt. Rev. O. W. Whitakeron the 3oth of May, 1887. On 
Easter Day, April i, 1888, the Hall of the Parish House began to be used 
for the services. The Chapel was consecrated, Wednesday, May 30, 1888. 
The number of communicants is about 200, the families 225. The 
buildings represented in the engraving, which does not include the dwel 
ling of the rector, north of the Chapel on Eighteenth Street, are built of 
rock-faced Port Deposit granite ; the window traceries and all the 
weatherings and mouldings of Beaver County sandstone, hammer- 
dressed. On the northwest corner of the lot is the Parish House. On the 
lower floor are seven class rooms for Sunday-school purposes, divided 



234 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

by movable partitions or sashes of wood, capable of accommodating a 
school of six hundred. On the second iloor is a hall furnished with 500 
opera chairs. The third floor is to be fitted up for a gymnasium. The 
Church which is not yet built, is to occupy the front space, and run the 
entire distance from Eighteenth to Gratz Street. The hint for the design 
is the Cathedral of Amiens; the architect is Mr. Chas. M. Burns, jun. f 
of Philadelphia. This movement is remarkable, because the funds 
were supplied in such abundance by the sisters of Mr. South, and the 
plans for buildings and work were so wisely laid. What has thus far 
been done is the promise of one of the noblest of Church-extension 
enterprises, and indicates to wealthy persons a manner in which their 
means can be consecrated to the best uses. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Rochester, N. Y.-In 1855 there seemed to 
some of the people of St. Luke s an opportunity to establish a new 
parish on East Avenue. The Rev. Benjamin Watson, then the rector of 
St. Luke s, held the first service preliminary to organization. A lot was 
purchased in June, 1855, and a building was begun in September of that 
year. The first rector was the Rev. Henry A. Neely, now the Bishop of 
Maine. The other rectors have been the Rev. Dr. Anthony Schuyler, 
the Rev. Dr. Walton W. Battershall, the Rev. Joseph L. Tucker, and 
the Rev. Dr. W. D Orville Doty. The latter has been in charge since 
Dec. 2, 1877. The original building has been enlarged and improved, 
a Rectory and a Parish House have been built, and now the noble struc 
ture described below has been begun. Christ Church has been a vigor 
ous parish from its very beginning. Its rectors have been well fitted 
for their work, and so the parish has been steadily growing in vigor and 
usefulness, until now, under the present active management, it bids fair 
to spring into especial prominence. 

This fine structure (of which only a small portion is yet built) was 
designed by Mr. Robert W. Gibson, architect, of New York City, the 
designer of the Albany Cathedral. It has one feature in common 
with the Cathedral, which is found in nearly all Churches by this 
architect. This is the narrow side aisle used for passage only, and 
permitting the use of massive and impressive columns and arches to 
the nave without subjecting any member of the congregation to the 
discomfort of sitting behind a column. The building is 134 feet 
long by 70 feet wide outside the main walls. It consists of a noble nave 
88 feet long, 48 feet wide from centre to centre of pillars, and 76 feet high 
from floor to ridge. This contains all the seating space. The aisles add 
8 feet to the width on each side for passage-ways. The transepts project 
only to the aisle wall, and are introduced chiefly to permit of the great 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES, 235 



traceried window which opens into them. The Church being placed 
across the lot on which it is built, with the two ends almost touching 
the boundaries, and the sides turned toward the streets, prevent the reli 
able use of the customary large east and west windows. The transepts 
and windows therefore form useful as well as striking features in the de 
sign. The aisle windows are lancets of moderate size. The clere-story 
is large, with traceried windows in triple lights. A narthex across the 
west end of nave gives convenient access to both sides of the Church, 
and permits the main wall, being recessed, to be ornamented with a 




Christ Church, Rochester, N. Y. 

wheel window. The roof is an open one, of pointed arch form. The 
chancel is 33 feet deep and 36 wide, with octagonal ends. The panel at 
back of the altar has no window, but will support a lofty reredos. Tall 
mullioned windows fill the panels on either side. The style is geometri 
cal Gothic of a French character. The seating accommodation is seven 
hundred persons, including choir, and without galleries. The square 
tower rises with plain lower stories with very small openings to support 
a belfry of rich design. Small arches and shafts on each side subdivide 
a deep recessed single arch. There is a round turret at each corner, one 
containing the stair being larger than the others. A steep roof forming 



/CING S HANDBOOK OF 



EPISCOPAL 
% 



CHURCHES. 



an attic story above the parapet completes this very effective feature. 
The building stands so far back from the street, that advantage is taken 
of the space to form a kind of quadrangle or cloister ; the Church ap 
proach on one side and the Rectory on the other, with covered cloister* 
affording a. ready communication. The materials are the local Albion 
stone for walls and black slate for roofs. Christ Church is an unusually 
original and forcible design of a fine type of Gothic architecture. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Herkimer, N. Y. Herkimer, like most of the 
villages in the upper Mohawk Valley, was originally settled by the 



"Palatine Dutch" 
Palatinate of Bava- 
must have been the 
for some reason 
Dutch Reformed 
was the only de- 
village. Gradually, 
found elsewhere es- 
about 1 850 the Epis- 
gan to bestir them- 



Germans from the Rhenish 
ria. Lutheranism accordingly 
religion of the first settlers, but 
they became absorbed in the 
Church, which for many years 
nomination of Christians in the 
however, the various bodies 
tablished themselves here, and 
copaliansof the neighborhood be- 
selves. In 1855, though they had 




Christ Church, Herkimer, N. Y. 

only two communicant members at the time, they succeeded in erecting 
a frame Church of small size. From time to time additions were made, 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHUltCHES. 237 

and a Chapel and a Rectory were built. But for the past four years it 
has been clear that a new Church was sorely needed, and that the parish 
must secure a new site in a more central part of the village. 

In 1886 a lot 96 by 150 feet was bought in a most eligible location on 
the corner of the Main Street, immediately south of the Court House, 
and here a beautiful building is now in process of erection. The design 
is by Mr. R. W. Gibson, of New York. It embraces a Church with lofty 
tower, Parish Building, and Rectory, all of the handsome Higginsville 
blue sandstone, trimmed with Longmeadow. The upper stories of the 
Rectory are, however, of timber work, shingled. The Church is ecclesi 
astically correct, yet not without features of decided originality. The 
roof is supported mainly by the heavy outside buttresses and heavy 
brick pillars which rise from the floor to the roof within. The aisles 
thus formed are used simply as passage-ways, the seats being only in the 
nave. The chancel is deep twenty-six feet, and seated for a large 
choir. The roof is open to the peak, the rafters and braces showing 
within. The altar is well elevated, and triple lancets in the wall above are 
sufficiently high to allow for a reredos. The great west window is a 
striking and beautiful feature also. The Parish Building forms an L, 
running south from the chancel end of the Church, and contains a 
wainscoted guild-room below and a Sunday-school room above. The 
Rectory adjoins the Parish Building, with which it communicates on 
the east. Altogether, the whole group is wonderfully harmonious and 
picturesque. 

CHRIST CHURCH, Towanda, Penn. Towanda is a thriving town 
in the north-central part of Pennsylvania, on the Susquehanna River. 
The building, now in course of construction, is from the plans of Pierce 
& Dockstader, architects, Elmira, N. Y. A building was begun some 
years ago, and a great deal of money was spent in laying the foundations 
to adapt them to the peculiarities of the lot, but the work stopped and 
no progress toward completion was made for a long time. When the 
present architects began their labors they utilized as much as they 
could of the portion already begun. When finished the Church will be 
one of the most attractive buildings of moderate size in the State. The 
walls are of native white conglomerate rock, probably the most durable 
stone in the world. The roof is of Pennsylvania black slate with terra 
cotta crestings. The interior is finished in native oak on the grain, with 
plastered walls and ceilings. The basement contains the Chapel, with 
Bible-class rooms, library, vestry, choir-room, infant department, two 
parlors, two toilet-rooms, hall and three vestibules, with heating appa 
ratus in the sub-basement. This is possibly owing to the Church being 



2 3 S 



A /A G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



located on a very steep side-hill, with the rear three full stories high, 
while the front is on a level with the street. The first floor contains the 
nave, and side aisles, and chancel. The organ and robing-room are on 
opposite sides of the chancel, with vestibule at each side. The stairs 
give access from the robing-rooms and front vestibules to the basement, 
and the stair-turret gives access to the second story of the tower. The 

height of the interior corre 
sponds with that of the ex 
terior, finishing clear to the roof 
with Gothic open-timber con 
struction. The columns of the 
front porches are of polished 
granite, and the carved capitals 
are worked out of blue-stone. 
The rector is the Rev. Wm. Ed 
gar Wright. 




NOTES. 

i. The grouping of the par 
ishes included in this third di 
vision has been, as 
far as possible, ac 
cording to the dates 
of the construction 
of their present edi 
fices, and not accord 
ing to the organiza 
tion of the parishes 
themselves, or of 
their relative size. 

2. The selection of these parishes as notable must not be inter 
preted to the disadvantage of others. Some of the reasons for the 
selection of these as notable have already been given in the Preface ; 
and it is believed that each one has justly earned such a distinction, 
whether it be as the representative of a style of architecture, or of 
modes of work, or of a school of thought, or of some special influence 
in a community. At the same time it must be remembered that the 
American Church is happy in having several hundred other parishes 
which have achieved equal prominence in these respects. 



Christ Church, Towanda, Penn. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 239 




Catijetrrals antr 



THE BISHOPS CHURCH IN THE SEE CITY. THE DEVELOPMENT 
OF THE CATHEDRAL SYSTEM. 

CATHEDRAL is a bishop s Church. It 
may be a very grand structure or it may be 
very humble. Size, grandeur, costliness, do 
not make it a Cathedral. A log structure 
would be entitled to the name if it were 
adopted as the centre of diocesan interests, 
and especially controlled by the bishop as 
his Church. Most of the foreign Cathedrals 
are stately edifices, the chief glory of the 
places in which they stand. Their dimen 
sions are vast, their proportions graceful, and 
their carvings in wood and stone exquisite. 
Many years were spent, much skill was em 
ployed, and untold treasures were lavished in 
their construction. Nothing is more marked 

in the history of the English Church than the use which is made of its 
Cathedrals to-day. In the sluggish periods of the life of that Church 
they stood rather as the monuments of the piety and zeal of former gen 
erations than as helps for meeting the needs of the people. A great 
change has taken place, for now the Cathedrals are made again, as they 
were intended to be, most effective helps for influencing the religious 
life. To say nothing of the regular daily services of prayer and praise to 
which all are freely welcomed, and which are made attractive by the finest 
musical skill, the special sermons and lectures, by the best preaching 
talent in the land, draw together, at frequent intervals, crowds sufficient 
to fill all the seating capacity of some of the largest of these great 
buildings. The question has often been discussed as to whether the 
Cathedral and the Cathedral system should be adopted in this country. 
By some it is declared to be undesirable, but by others it is thought to 
have advantages of which the Church should avail itself. 

It is not the purpose of this book to argue the question, but simply to 






240 KIXG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

give illustrations of some of the Cathedrals already erected or in prog 
ress. There are now about sixteen Cathedrals and Pro-cathedrals in 
the United States, and others are in prospect. The most extensive of 
these movements is that in New York City, under the leadership of Bishop 
Potter. A splendid location has been secured, and large subscriptions 
have been offered for a Cathedral that shall be a credit to the great 
metropolis and to the strong Diocese of New York. No architectural 
plans have as yet been adopted. 

THE CATHEDRAL OF ST. PETER AND ST. PAUL, Chicago, 
111. This is the oldest Cathedral of the American Church in the United 
States. In his first address (1852), the second bishop of Illinois, the Rt. 
Rev. Henry J. Whitehouse, D.D., LL. D., brought the subject of a Cathe 
dral to the attention of the diocese. Property was subsequently pur 
chased in what is now the most busy portion of the city, but, owing to 
difficulties, it was not retained for Cathedral purposes. Subsequently a 
small stone Church with a wooden chancel, on the West Side, corner of 
Peoriaand West Washington Streets, known as the Church of the Atone 
ment, embarrassed with debt, and likely to fail, was bought, and on 
Easter, 1861, it was first occupied as "the Bishop s Chapel." Shortly 
after, thirty-nine feet were added to its length, and transepts were built. 
The Rev. John Wilkinson was the first chaplain, and he was succeeded 
by the Rev. S. B. Duffield. After Bishop Whitehouse s return from 
England in 1867, he appointed four canons the Revs. J. H. Knowles 
and G. C. Street, both still resident in Chicago, and the latter now an 
Honorary Canon ; George J. Magill, and C. P. Dorset. There was, how 
ever, no Chapter organized, nor has there been. The Cathedral is now 
working under a temporary code of statutes set forth by the present 
bishop. The Rev. J. H. Knowles was in charge at the time of the con 
secration of the Rt. Rev. William E. McLaren, D.D., D.C.L., as third 
bishop of Illinois (now bishop of Chicago), December 8, 1875, and re 
mained until 1884. Since then temporary engagements have been had, 
until in 1888 the Rev. Luther Pardee was appointed Dean. In 1876 the 
Cathedral, which was three feet below the new grade of the street, was 
raised sufficiently, and thereby greatly improved. About five years ago 
a Clergy and Choir House was built on an adjoining lot at an expense 
of about $20,000, which was donated by Dr. Tolman Wheeler. Mr. T. D. 
Lowther of Chicago has been a constant benefactor, and has given not 
far from $100,000, mostly in land, which, being within the city limits, will 
ultimately furnish an endowment for the Cathedral. Once in a " good 
quarter," it is now surrounded by business and boarding houses, and 
must have such a means of support in order to carry on its important 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 24! 

work. The Cathedral has been the recipient of many gifts as memorials, 
the most striking being the stone reredos and white marble altar. A 
surpliced choir has sung the Cathedral music for more than twenty years 




Cathedral of St. Peter and St. Paul, Chicago, 111. 



past. The Convention meets annually in the Cathedral, the Retreats 
and "Quiet Days " are held there, and ordinarily Ordinations take place 
there. 

DAVENPORT CATHEDRAL, Davenport, Iowa. The corner-stone 
of Davenport Cathedral was laid by the Rt. Rev. Henry Washington Lee, 
D.D., LL.D., first bishop of Iowa, June 27, 1867. It was consecrated by 
the same prelate, June 18, 1873, Bishop Whipple and Bishop Clarkson 
taking part in the services, the former preaching the sermon. The archi 
tect of the Cathedral was Mr. Edward T. Potter, brother of the Bishop 
of New York, and it is one of the most successful buildings to which his 
genius has given form. The extreme length is 142 feet, extreme breadth 
60 feet, the height to the top of the stone roof 56 feet. It is built of a 
gray native limestone faced with a yellowish limestone from Joliet, 111. 
The aisles are divided from the nave by a row of slender and widely 
spared iron columns, from which spring the arching timbers supporting 
the high open roof. The elaborate groining of these timbers, which are 



242 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



decorated in excellent taste, in colors and gold, produces an admirable 
effect as seen against the deep ultramarine of the ceiling. The windows 
are all filled with stained glass. The most of them are memorials. The 
large wheel-window fitly commemorates our first missionary bishop, Jack 
son Kemper. The deepapsidal chancel is lighted by nine beautiful lancet- 
windows. The woodwork of the Church, which is most carefully fin- 




Davenport Cathedral, Davenport, Iowa. 

ished, is of butternut. The lower stages of a tower are built, on which it 
is intended, one day, to place a stone spire. In his opening sermon, Bishop 
Whipple, reminding those who heard him that the service of the Church 
should, to have real value, express the feelings of hearts united to Christ, 
for otherwise the beautiful ritual would be in God s sight but as kingly 
garments upon a corpse, said : " The Cathedral Church gives the diocese 
what not every parish Church can give daily prayers and the weekly 
Eucharist. No day should ever dawn without the incense of daily prayer. 
The lonely missionary, the parish priest, and the faithful Christian hin- 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 243 

deredfrom such devotion, will be strengthened by the unceasing worship 
which here goes up to God. The Cathedral elevates the tone of worship 
throughout the diocese. There was a day when men revolted against 
superstition, and in the zeal for simplicity they stripped the Church to 
baldness. The King s daughter should be clothed in the garments of 
beauty. The graceful lines of architecture, the vaulted roof, the stained 
glass, the carving of the sanctuary, and the precious emblems of our 
faith, may all elevate our souls, and give us a deeper realization of God s 
presence in His Church." In Davenport Cathedral the daily prayers are 
said morning and evening throughout the year, without interim, and the 
Holy Communion is celebrated every Sunday, Wednesday, and Thursday, 
and on all holy-days. 

The Cathedral was erected at a cost of about $75,000, of which the 
late David J. Ely of Chicago and New York gave $15,000 to make a me 
morial of a beloved daughter, and the late John David Wolfe, and his 
daughter Miss Catharine Lorillard Wolfe, of New York, contributed 
$25,000. 

TRINITY CATHEDRAL, Omaha, Neb. Rt. Rev. Geo. Worthing- 
ton, D.D., Bishop of the Diocese ; Very Rev. C. H. Gardner, Dean of the 
Cathedral and Rector of the Parish ; Rev. Jas. Patterson and Rev. Robt. 
Doherty, D.D., Canons. As early as 1835, the spot where Omaha now 
stands was visited by the late Rev. Dr. Gregory, then chaplain in the 
U. S. Army, who was on his way with a regiment of soldiers from Fort 
Leavenworth to Fort Calhoun. There is, however, no record of his hav 
ing held services in this place at that time. The records show that in 
1855 Rev. Dr. Peet, then of Des Moines, Iowa, came to Omaha and held 
a service in the old Territorial court-house, In the following year 
Bishop Kemper, accompanied by Bishop Lee and the Rev. W. N. Irish, 
spent a Sunday here; and, besides holding services and preaching, they 
effected a parochial organization. The date of organization is July 
13, 1856. December 5 of that year Rev. Geo. W. Watson assumed the 
rectorship of the new parish. A lot was leased on the southwest corner 
of Ninth and Farnham Streets, and the first Church building was erected 
thereon. In July, 1860, Mr. Watson resigned his charge of the par 
ish, and was succeeded by Rev. John West, who served the parish 
about a year. After him came Rev. O. C. Dakes, whose ministry lasted 
until the opening of the year 1864. Rev. Wm. H.Van Antwerp was the next 
rector of the parish. By his efforts the lots on which the Cathedral 
now stands were purchased. By a curious condition of the lease, the 
Church building on the corner of Ninth and Farnham Streets was lost to 
the parish, and efforts being made towards the erection of a new Church, 



244 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 




KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 245 

a successful issue was reached in the autumn of 1867. This building, 
which cost $15,000, was destroyed by fire November 10, 1869. Upon the 
resignation of Mr. Van Antwerp in 1868, Rev. Geo. C. Betts became 
rector, and remained in charge one year. He was followed by the Rev. 
John G. Gassman, who remained three years as rector. It was during 
Mr. Gassman s rectorship that the second Church building was burned. 
In 1869 a very plain wooden Church was erected, which, after being 
twice enlarged (being moved on to the street when ground was broken 
for the present Cathedral), was used until May 14, 1882. At this time the 
basement of the present structure was roofed over and used as a place of 
worship. In 1868 the vestry of Trinity Parish had offered their Church 
to Bishop Clarkson, as his pro-Cathedral, which offer was accepted, and 
the arrangement held good until 1872, when the Cathedral system was 
established. In this year, Mr. Gassman having resigned, Rev. A. C. 
Garrett was called to the rectorship of the parish, and became the first 
Dean of the Cathedral. Upon the elevation of Mr. Garrett to the epis 
copate in 1874, Rev. John D. Easter received the appointment as Dean, 
which position he resigned after one year of service. In the autumn of 
1876, Rev. Frank R. Millspaugh was duly installed as Dean of the Cathe 
dral and rector of the parish, which position he held for upwards of ten 
years. 

As early as 1869 a fund was started having as its purpose the build 
ing of a permanent edifice in the name of the Holy Trinity, which should 
be at once a diocesan Church and the place of worship for the members 
of Trinity Parish, Omaha. Plans of the present Cathedral were drawn 
by Mr. H. G. Harrison, and finally, after some modifications, they were 
adopted. Ground was formally broken May 18, 1880, by Bishop Clark- 
son, assisted by others. May 26, 1880, the corner-stone was laid, and 
November 15, 1883, the sacred edifice was duly consecrated, several 
bishops and many other clergy being present. Trinity Cathedral, as it 
stands to-day, represents an expenditure of about $100,000. It is buiJt of 
blue limestone from Illinois. The architecture is Gothic, of the English 
pointed style. The building is cruciform, with nave, aisles, transepts, 
choir, and aclere-story. The chancel is apsidal. At the northwest corner 
of the Cathedral is a massive tower which, as it is now finished, dwarfs 
the building. In the original plan it was to have had a spire reaching 
two hundred feet upwards, but this feature has been omitted, and the 
tower has been finished a short distance above the bell-room. The in 
terior dimensions of the Cathedral are : length of nave and choir, 116 feet; 
width of nave, 46 feet. It has a seating capacity of between six and seven 
hundred. But the beauty of the Church is its interior. The carvings and 
brass-work are exceptionally fine. Nearly all the furniture, adornments, 



240 KSJVG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 




KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 247 

and windows are memorial gifts. Among these the most notable should 
be mentioned. The altar, which is surmounted and flanked by a hand 
somely carved reredos, is of carved oak with live panels in bronze, done 
in high relief by Sibell of New York. The workmanship of these bronzes 
is said to be extraordinarily good. The effect is certainly very striking. 
On the north end of the altar the panel represents the Annunciation; 
on the north front the subject is Gethsemane ; the centre panel is the 
Crucifixion ; the south front panel is the Resurrection ; while that on the 
south end depicts the Ascension. The pulpit and choir rail are of old 
oak superbly carved. Standing in* floriated niches on five sides of the 
pulpit are figures of our Saviour and the four Evangelists, in oak. The 
lecturn is of polished brass. The four large candelabra which rise from 
the chancel floor are also of polished brass. Lack of space forbids the 
mentioning in detail the other furnishings of the choir and chancel. It 
is noteworthy that the three great windows, one in each transept and one 
at the west end, are memorials of three great missionary bishops of the 
Church, viz., Selwyn, Patterson, and Kemper. A very sweet-toned chime 
of ten bells hang in the tower. Adjoining the Cathedral on the south a 
handsome stone Deanery has been built during the past year, at a cost of 
about $10,000. A short time after Dean Millspaugh s resignation Rev. 
C. H. Gardner of Utica, N. Y., was elected Dean and rector of Trinity 
Cathedral Parish, and entered into residence November i, 1886. There 
are about two hundred families and nearly five hundred communicants 
connected with the Cathedral. 

ST. MARK S CATHEDRAL, Salt Lake City, Utah. There was 
something heroic in planting this Cathedral here in the midst of Mor- 
mondom. The building is not much more than a parish Church, in fact 
is smaller and less ornate than many parish Churches ; but simply to call 
it a Cathedral was to dispute the false claims of the Mormon Bishops, 
and to announce that a true Bishop of the Church of God had taken up 
his residence among a deluded people. Mormonism has not yet been 
overcome, but some good has been done. There are disintegrating 
forces at work whose effects are beginning to be seen. The religious and 
educational work of the Episcopal Church and of other bodies of Chris 
tians, and the contact with the outside world, are bringing results. 
The Cathedral congregation is made up largely of the resident Gentile 
population (as it is called) and of visitors. It supports its own ministra 
tions and provides yearly for its sick and poor. The value of the present 
Cathedral property is now estimated at $i 15,000. There are about three 
hundred communicants and nearly four hundred persons in the Sunday 
school. In May, 1867, the beginnings of St. Mark s Parish were made 



248 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

by two young and energetic priests, Revs. Geo. W. Foote and Thos. W. 
Raskins. There were at that time three communicants of the Church 
in this city. These earnest men rented a small hall and started, together 
with the services of the Church, the school to-day known as St. 
Mark s. One of the most formidable foes that Christianity has to en 
counter in this Mormon country is ignorance. As there are no public 
schools worthy the name in Utah, wherever Christian missionaries have 
gone their earliest efforts have been to establish schools. In July Rt. 
Rev. D. S. Tuttle, the newly consecrated bishop of Montana, Idaho, and 
Utah, with the Rev. G. D. B. Miller, reached Salt Lake City. Both the 
mission and the school steadily grew, till at the end of three years the 
communicants numbered seventy-five, and two hundred and twenty-five 
scholars were enrolled in St. Mark s School. This rapid develop 
ment was felt to warrant the formation of a parish. In November, 1870, 
a parochial organization was perfected by the choice of two wardens and 
five vestrymen. Bishop Tuttle was elected rector. Rev. Mr. Foote re 
signed. The following year Rev. R. M. Kirby became assistant minister 
of the parish. The same autumn Rev. Mr. Haskins started St. Mark s 
School for Girls in the just-completed basement of the new Cathedral. 
This school was eminently v successful from the beginning, and has always 
been self-supporting. In 1872 St. Mark s Schoolhouse was built, a cen 
trally located and comfortable home for the school. This year was also 
marked by the completion of St. Mark s Cathedral and the foundation of 
St. Mark s Hospital, the first institution of its kind in the city. The need 
of a hospital is always a very pressing one in a mining community, as no 
class are more frequently exposed to danger from accident than miners. 
The institution has derived a large part of its financial support from reg 
ular subscriptions of one dollar per month, paid by miners, such regular 
payments entitling them when sick or disabled to receive care and 
treatment free of charge. 

Ascension Day, 1874, the debt having been entirely paid, St. Mark s 
Cathedral was consecrated. The Cathedral is a well-built, substantial 
edifice of rough-hewn brown sandstone, standing on rising ground a lit 
tle back from one of the principal streets. When entirely completed, 
the building will be cruciform in shape, with nave, east and west tran 
septs, and recess-chancel. Up to the present time, however, only the nave 
and east transept have been built. The chancel is handsomely furnished 
in black walnut, the bishop s chair being a remarkably fine piece of 
workmanship. The chancel window is a memorial of the Rev. Morelle 
Fowler, who was killed February 6, 1871, in a railroad accident while on 
his way to become assistant minister of the parish. After purchasing an 
organ, the ladies of the Cathedral congregation, never idle, decided to 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 249 

supply the need of a home for the pastor. At the end of over four years 
of labor, in May, 1887, they bought a house and lot directly adjoining the 
Cathedral on the east. The house was completely renovated and refitted 
at a considerable -expense, and now the new St. Mark s Rectory makes a 
most comfortable home for the pastor and his family. In the basement 




St. Mark s Cathedral, Salt Lake City, Utah. 



of the Rectory is the guild-room, extending the whole width of the house, 
and providing a place of meeting for the many societies and organizations 
of the parish. 

ST. LUKE S CATHEDRAL, Portland, Maine. At a Convention of 
the diocese of Maine, held October 31, 1866, the Rev. Henry Adams 
Neely, D.D., assistant minister of Trinity Parish, and in charge of Trin 
ity Chapel, New York, was elected bishop of the diocese, in succession to 



250 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES.- 

Bishop Burgess. The consecration of the new bishop took place Janu 
ary 25, 1867. He entered upon his duties as the rector of St. Luke s in 
May of that year. The parish having already engaged itself to build a 
Cathedral, sold its old building to St. Stephen s, and bought a new lot 
on State Street. The cornet-stone of the Cathedral was laid August 15, 
1867, by Bishop Neely. The building in an unfinished condition was 
occupied for the first time on Christmas Day, 1868. "The zeal of the 
congregation which assembled in the Cathedral that first winter was 
great, and if the bodies of the worshippers frequently shivered with cold, 
the cold did not penetrate to their hearts or affect the fervor of their souls, 
and the discomforts of the first few months were doubtless wonderful 
assistants to the offertory in causing those who suffered from these incon 
veniences, to contribute liberally towards their speedy removal." Nine 
years of earnest work and determined endeavor passed before the heavy 
debt incurred in building the Cathedral was extinguished. In 1876 a 
successful effort was made to pay off the then remaining $35,000, and 
the building was consecrated St. Luke s Day, October 18, 1877. The 
Instrument of Donation speaks of the three-fold character of this 
Church, i. // is a Parish Church for the congregation therein worship 
ping ; 2. It is a Cathedral as a permanent home official residence, and 
place of ordinary ministration of the Bishop of the diocese. 3. A free 
and open Church for all classes and conditions of men in which no pews 
should ever be leased or sold. Combining the Cathedral and parochial 
features its chapter duly incorporated reserves to the parishioners a full 
representation in that body, and their approval of appointments of cler 
gymen ministering in the Cathedral under the Bishop. 

The architect of this structure was Mr. C. C. Haight of New York. 
It occupies the whole breadth, in the rear, of a lot 140 feet by 150 feet 
deep; and as it now stands, comprises a Nave, Aisles, Chancel, Chapel, 
South and Southeast Porches, Clergy and Choristers Rooms, covering a 
space of 140 by 65 feet. The material is a dark blue limestone laid hori 
zontally, but not in courses, and not faced except on the State Street 
front, and the door and window-caps and sills, set-offs of buttresses, 
copings, and all other exterior finishing, are of a Nova Scotia free stone 
alternated in red and gray. The Nave and Chancel form a continuous 
roof 60 feet in height, the chancel-arch marked by the slender fleche or 
spire rising on eight pointed and gabled arches to a height of 100 feet. 
The west gable is crowned by a substantial stone cross rising ten feet 
above the roof, and the chancel-roof is further marked by an elaborate 
cresting of wrought iron. The Nave, 30 feet by 100, rises above the aisles 
in a lofty clerestory lighted by twelve triplet windows, and supported by 
broad arches resting on short circular columns, monoliths of Nova Sco- 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 251 

tia stone, whose capitals are left yet in block for future carving. The 
aisles are quite low, 13^ feet by 100, and lighted by short Early English 
windows in couplets. The general style of the building is Early Eng 
lish, with a free use, however, both of earlier and later details, the capi 
tals for instance being mostly of a late Norman or transition character, 
and the clerestory and great altar window more nearly of the I4th cen 
tury. One of the finest features of the interior is the great window at 
the west end of the Nave, of five separate lancets, from eighteen to thir 
ty-one feet in length by two and a half in width. This, like nearly all 




Interior, St. Luke s Cathedral, Portland, Me. 

the windows, is filled at present with plain cathedral glass with colored 
borders, and it is difficult to realize what it will be when its immense 
surface is made one grand picture of many hues. The nave and aisles 
are seated with substantial but movable benches of ash, of a simple and 
graceful design adapted from those in the choir of Ely Cathedral. The 
same wood (black ash, much resembling dark oak) is used throughout 
the interior, for the arches, cross-braces, collar-beams, rafters, purlines, 
and ceiling of the beautiful open roof, for window-sills, doors, wainscot, 
and furniture. From the aisles to the South and South East porches 
and Chapel, open broad, double, segmental-arched and deeply-panelled 
doors. The Chancel is separated from the nave by a lofty arch of twenty- 
jfour feet span, the responds quite plain, with capitals and bases some 
what like those of the nave-piers (one capital already carved in Early 



252 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES, 

English foliage), and by a low parapet wall of stone with a trefoiled cop 
ing, thrown out at the north end in a deep semicircular projection to 
form the yet unfinished pulpit, which is destined sometime to represent 
the Ambo or Gospel-desk of the Primitive Church. Its four circular 
panels are intended for bas-reliefs in Caen stone. The Chancel, 26 feet 
square, is divided about equally into choir and sanctuary, the former oc 
cupied by temporary seats for the Bishop, clergy, and choristers. The 
choir- pavement, three steps above the nave, is of encaustic tiles, alter 
nately plain and figured, in the centre the Evangelistic symbol of St. 
Luke. A broad curved stone step and simple open rail of ash, lead to 
the Sanctuary, and three more steps to the stone footpace of the altar. 
The pavement of the Sanctuary is of rich porcelain tiling, alternated on 
the lower step only with plain tiles. The altar with its re-table and 
reredos, all worthy of the noble church, represent three years offerings 
($1,500) of the children of the parish, being their part in the building of 
the Cathedral. The Altar itself is a massive table of white Italian mar 
ble, eight feet by three, marked by five inlaid crosses of red marble, and 
supported on a plinth of Caen stone with five deep trefoiled panels, and 
engaged corner-shafts with delicately wrought capitals of the Passion 
flower. The cornice, continuous around the front and ends, is of wheat 
and grapes alternated with foliage, all sharply undercut, and very grace 
ful, even where conventional in form. The reredos, ten feet in width, 
by seventeen in height above the altar-level, is of Nova Scotia stone up 
to and including the re-table, which is of the same length as the altar, 
and quite plain and massive. Above the re-table, the reredos is of Caen 
stone, in three unequal trefoiled pointed arches. 

ST. PAUL S PRO-CATHEDRAL, Springfield, 111. St. Paul s 
Parish, Springfield, 111., was organized in June, 1835, the same year that 
witnessed the organization of the old diocese of Illinois, and the election 
of the Right Rev. Philander Chase, D. D., to the bishopric of the 
diocese. It is consequently one of the oldest parishes in the State of 
Illinois. The preliminary meeting for organization was held on the 7th 
of June, 1835, Bishop Chase being present, and officiating at divine 
service at the residence of Mr. George Forquer, the house now used and 
occupied as the Orphanage of the Holy Child, of the Province of 
Illinois. On the iQth of June the parish organization was completed by 
the election of wardens and vestrymen. The Hon. S. H. Treat, then 
elected a warden, served continuously for nearly fifty-two years there 
after. The Rev. Samuel Chase was in charge of the parish for nearly 
two years ; then came in May, 1838, the Rev. Charles Dresser. Under 
his auspices a small frame building was erected for the use of the con- 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2$$ 

gregation. It was used for the first time on Sunday, September i, 1838. 
The parish then reported fifteen communicants, and about the same 
number of families. It is interesting to note that the first house occu 
pied as a Rectory of this parish, and built and owned by the first rector, 
was afterwards sold to Abraham Lincoln, and has become historic as the 
homestead of one of whom Springfield may justly feel proud. The Rev. 
Charles Dresser also performed the marriage ceremony of Abraham 
Lincoln to Mary Todd, the record of which is extant in the old parish 
register. During the Rev. Mr. Dresser s rectorship the present Church 
edifice (with the exception of the Chancel and Guild Hall) was built, 



I 




St. Paul s Cathedral, Springfield, 111. 

Mr. Henry Dresser, the rector s brother, being the architect, and the 
building was consecrated by Bishop Chase, June 25, 1848. The main 
portion of the present Rectory was also built by the same rector. This 
energetic pioneer and faithful priest resigned the rectorship eleven years 
before his death, but continued to reside in Springfield. He was laid to 
rest March 27, 1865. The following clergymen have successively been 
rectors of the parish : Rev. James W. Pierson, the Rev. Louis P. Clover, 
the Rev. W. F. B. Jackson, the Rev. Henry Niles Pierce, D. D., the 
Rev. F. M. Gregg. During this latter rectorship the Diocese of Spring 
field was organized, sixty southern counties of the State of Illinois being 
separated from the old diocese, with Springfield as the See City, and the 
Right Rev. Dr. George Franklin Seymour, New York, was consecrated 



254 A /A r G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

the first bishop of the diocese in Trinity Church, New York, on St. 
Barnabas Day, June 11, 1878. The bishop did not come to reside in 
Springfield until the summer of 1879; Rev. John W. Phillips held 
the rectorship from June, 1878, until September, 1879. In October, 
1879, the Rev. Edward A. Larrabee became rector. It was early in his 
rectorship that the parish building was made the bishop s Pro-Cathedral, 
and the bishop was, by action of the Vestry, accorded all the rights and 
privileges of a bishop in his own Cathedral Church, while the parochial 
constitution of the parish remained intact. The bishop s throne (a 
memorial of Bishop Chase) is in the chancel, and the Church is the 
bishop s home when he is not on visitation, and here the annual Diocesan 
Synod is held. The Rev. E. A. Larrabee was succeeded in the Fall of 
1884 by the Rev. S. Humphreys Gurteen, who resigned in August, 1886. 
The Rev. Frederick Wm. Taylor entered upon the rectorship, Septem 
ber, i, 1886, and is still discharging the duties of his office. He is 
assisted by the Rev. H. B. Goodyear, priest, and the Rev. Lloyd E. 
Johnston, deacon, who officiate principally at the two Mission Churches 
at the northern and southern extremes of the city, belonging to St. 
Paul s. The parish reports about 315 communicants, and with its 
missions, about 400. The Church building is a quaint-looking Gothic 
structure, the walls built of rough unhewn stone. The tower is square, 
battlemented, and pinnacled, and covered with a luxuriant growth of the 
Virginia creeper, or woodbine . The windows are large double lancets. 
The interior is spacious, with seating capacity for about four hundred. 
The altar is imposing, and handsomely adorned. The services are 
numerous, including daily Matins and Evensong (which has been the 
custom since All Saints Day, 1873), celebrations of the Holy Eucharist 
on every Sunday, Thursday, and Holy Day. There is a surpliced choir, 
and many of the Sunday services are full choral, with a somewhat com 
plete ritual, with the eucharistic vestments, altar lights, and other acces 
sories. The Church is situated near the public square, only one block 
removed from the busiest part of the city. 

ST. JOHN S CATHEDRAL, Denver, Col. The renascence of the 
Church in Denver dates from 1879, when that extraordinary " boom " first 
showed signs of vigor which has built a beautiful city on the wide expanse 
of prairie. Hitherto, for sixteen years, a little wooden Church seating 
some two hundred and fifty had been found sufficient for the Sunday 
needs of the Church folk. With the arrival of their new rector, the Rev. 
H. M. Hart, and inspirited by the growing prosperity of the place, the 
building of a new Church was at once undertaken. The bishop offered a 
site on condition that he should have certain diocesan rights in the new 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2$$ 

Church, so making it his Cathedral. Five years later these rights were 
more definitely expressed, and a satisfactory demarkation made between 
the Cathedral and the parish Church. The bishop s prerogative and dig 
nity are amply respected, and the rector, who is necessarily dean, has 
his position and rights satisfactorily conserved. It was quite evident 
that a great future was before the Church, and that to meet it a great 
Church must be built. But where were the funds to come from for such 
an undertaking ? There were then no rich men in the community ; every 
one had every dollar of his capital in vigorous use. The Church had had 




St. John s Cathedral, Denver, Col. 

550 "town lots," but by a culpable want of care and foresight all these but 
nine had been parted with. These nine were finally disposed of for $34,000, 
and, with but trifling help from the East, the people have subscribed the 
rest. And now a very novel problem presented itself, of which the pres 
ent structure is the attempted solution : Would it be possible to build an 
Interior? The conditions of the problem at once excluded " the Gothic 
style," and it was clear that the Cathedral must be Romanesque. Photos, 
etc., of the best specimens of Romanesque Churches in the Old World 
were procured, and these were adapted to one ground-plan by Messrs. 
Lloyd & Pearce of Detroit, the former of whom had made Romanesque 
architecture his study. The present structure is 140 feet long, and 100 



256 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

feet wide across the transepts ; it seats 1,200. The nave consists of five 
bays, and is 33 feet wide the width of the chancel between the pillars 
of the aisles; the arch of the roof is at its highest point 57 feet above 
the floor. The chancel, which is entered under a very fine wrought- 
iron and brass rood-screen, 26 feet high, is some 60 feet deep, the altar 
rail being the chord of the apse, in which it is terminated. The north 
side is the organ-chamber, which is lined with sonorous wood, concave 
at the top, and is of the same height as the roof. The south side is 
the lady choir. By this arrangement the chancel choir is augmented 
by thirty ladies, who form part of the choir and yet are not in the 
chancel. The dean s chair is against the north wall, immediately 
within the screen ; and close to his left hand is the organ console, 
the organist having his back to the organ and his face towards the choir, 
the decani boys and men being close to him. By this disposition a 
choir of sixty is accommodated, and all under the eye and immediate 
control of both organist and precentor. The windows are especially notice 
able. They are all, with one small exception, from the studio of Mr. Ed. 
Frampton, who is at the head of his profession in his successful use of 
brilliant color. Thirteen windows have been already filled with Raphael- 
esque glass. The east window is a copy of Vandyke s Christ, to which Mr. 
Frampton added the group at the foot of the cross. In the four apse 
windows are life-size figures of representative saints : Abel, Moses, 
Aaron, Isaiah, on the north ; St. Paul, St. John, Cranmer, Ridley and 
Latimer, and Bishops Selwyn and Randall, on the south. The windows 
have cost some $13,000 a very moderate cost. The present structure 
is of brick ; the walls are virtually the brick lining of the exterior stone 
walls. The design for the stone finish indicates that when completed the 
Cathedral will be an exceedingly satisfactory edifice, and notuncomparable 
with some of the ancient structures of the Old World. In future time it 
is contemplated to remove the present pillars, now constructed of wood 
and plaster, and replace them by either the rich red sandstone which is 
found in the mountains, or red marble : the clere-story will be then built of 
stone; the plaster of the roof will give way to red California cedar-wood, 
the present roof being permanently and strongly constructed. Beneath 
the Cathedral, in what may be called the crypt, is a Chapel and numerous 
rooms. The organ is a large and excellent instrument, manufactured by 
Hook & Hastings. There are 72 windows and 41 doors in the building. It 
cost, with windows and organ ($10,000), about $i 50,000. Bricks were then 
$6 per looo in the wall, and carpenters were earning 32 cents an hour. 
The Cathedral stands in a close, around which are placed the Deanery, the 
Theological College, where the bishop lives ; Matthews Hall, Jarvis Hall, 
the Cathedral Boys 1 School, the Principal s House, and a Gymnasium. 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. * 



These buildings will some day be connected by a cloister, and the close 
will be entered only by "the iron gate, which leadeth to the city." 

CATHEDRAL OF THE INCARNATION, Garden City, N. Y. 
The Cathedral of the Incarnation at Garden City, Long Island, New York, 
is a memorial of the late Mr. Alexan 
der T. Stewart of New York. Some 
time before his death Mr. Stewart 
bought a great tract of land on Hemp- 
stead Plains, and laid out a new 
place for settlement, which he named 




Chancel End Cathedral of the Incarnation, Garden City, L. I. 

Garden City. Large sums of money were spent in making improvements 
and in rendering the situation attractive to those who wanted to live out 
of the great city. It is thought by some that his plans contemplated a 
great educational centre, but he died before they were fully developed. 
Since his death, his widow and his executor, Judge Hilton, have carried 



258 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



forward some portions of his plans. Two schools are established St. 
Paul s for boys and St. Mary s for girls. The building provided for the 
former will accommodate 250. As yet the building for the girls has not 
been erected, the school meeting in temporary quarters. Before the 




Cathedral of the Incarnation, Garden City, L, I. 

Cathedral was consecrated, June 2, 1885, there was conveyed to the 
Diocese of Long Island the completed building, the school property, a 
tract of land, and an endowment. The estimated value of the property 
thus conveyed amounted to about two millions of dollars. The Cathedral 
is a highly decorated building of the Gothic order of architecture. It is 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 259 

not large, but it has been constructed without regard to expense. It seats 
about eight hundred persons. Its outline is broken by numerous pin 
nacles and the tall crocketed tower. Under the western portion is the 
crypt, in which rest the remains of Mr. Stewart. The crypt also provides 
a small Chapel, and other rooms for choristers, etc. Everything about 
the building is of the most elaborate and substantial character, so that in 
some respects it is the most complete edifice ever built in this country. 
The stained glass, the wood-carving, the tilings, the lighting and heating 
apparatus, all are of the best character. But the organ is the largest in this 
country : it comprises five distinct organs the chancel, the choir, the 
echo, the crypt, and the tower organs. Each can be played separately, or 
all combined. The music of the Cathedral choir, made up of the pupils 
from the Boys School and others, has already become famous. Besides the 
Cathedral and the schools, there is the See House for the bishop, and in 
course of time there may be other structures to meet other demands. It 
is a magnificent gift to the Diocese of Long Island, and has already ac 
complished much good, but it has possibilities of usefulness which will 
be developed as time goes on. It is expected that Garden City will be 
come a great educational and ecclesiastical centre, " around which will 
cluster a multitude of accessories that must make it in many respects one 
of the most attractive places of residence in the country. Church and 
State are here harmoniously united in the administration of affairs, and 
the whole influence of the princely endowment funds is in the direction 
of good order and for the best advantage of all concerned." 

CATHEDRAL CHRIST CHURCH, St. Louis, Missouri. This is 
the Mother Church of the Diocese of Missouri, and the first parish 
organized in all the vast region west of the Mississippi, a region that now 
comprehends many dioceses and missionary jurisdictions. Christ 
Church became the Cathedral of the Diocese in 1888. The first service 
in St. Louis was held by the Rev. John Ward, of Lexington, Kentucky, 
in October 24, 1819, when it was a town of only 4,000 people. The ser 
vice was held in a frame building, sometimes used for holding court and 
sometimes as a dancing room. The Articles of Association and the sub 
scription list bear date November i, 1819. Amongthe names of the sub 
scribers are important personages who became later on identified with 
the history of the country, among them the Hon. Thos. H. Benton. In 
1826, the Rev. Thos. Horrell of Virginia, after the rectorship had been 
vacant several years, began his work. In 1829 a Church costing $7,000 
was completed. It was consecrated in 1834 by Bishop Smith of Ken 
tucky and at the same time twenty-six persons were confirmed. This was 
the first consecration and the first confirmation west of the Mississippi. 



260 A LYG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

In 1835 when it was known that the Rev. Jackson Kemper had been 
selected as the Missionary Bishop of the Northwest the vestry of this 
parish resolved to call him to the rectorship of the parish, as it seemed 
most probable that St. Louis would be the place of his residence. When 
the bishop reached the city at the close of the year he found a Church 
capable of seating about 250 persons. It was well furnished and had a 
small organ. There were about 190 persons enrolled as members of the 
congregation, 45 of whom were communicants. The year 1836 witnessed 
the beginning of an unusual stir all over the country. The flood gates 
of emigration were opened, the spirit of speculation was excited, and 




Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis, Mo. 

there was a rapid increase in the business of the country as well as a 
rapid rise in the value of real estate. From 1830 to 1840 the population of 
the city grew from 7,000 to about 17,000. Under the impulse of the new life 
in business affairs, the Vestry in 1836 sold their old Church to a Baptist 
Society for $12,000, bought new lots at the corner of 5th and Chestnut 
streets, and started to build a new Church. On the 2oth of April, 1840, 
Bishop Kemper resigned his rectorship of the parish in consequence of 
the pressure of his episcopal duties in other places. He had been aided 
in his rectorship by assistant ministers, but even with their help the care 
of a parish was too great to allow full attention to the needs of the grow- 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



26l 



ing Northwest which was in his episcopal care. In 1840, the Primary 
Convention for Organizing the Diocese of Missouri under the presidency 
of Bishop Kemper was held in Christ Church. Eight clergymen were 




Interior, Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis, Mo. 

present and the lay delegates from four parishes. The first Bishop of 
the new Diocese of Missouri was the Rev. Cicero S. Hawks of Buffalo, 
New York. He was consecrated October 20, 1843, at the General Con- 



262 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

vention held in Philadelphia, and became the Rector of Christ Church 
St. Louis, from January i, 1844, being aided by assistant ministers. As 
early as 1853 the Bishop called attention to the necessity of building a 
new church. Bishop Hawks served for a little over ten years, when he 
resigned. The Rev. Dr. Montgomery Schuyler became rector, October 
i, 1854, and has served the parish ever since. The new building was not 
begun until 1859 when plans for the present structure were secured from 
Mr. Leopold Eidlitz, Architect, of New York. The estimated expense of 
the structure was $125,000. While the work was in progress the Civil 
War, and its horrors came, and no one had much heart to go on with any 
enterprise involving the expenditure of money. Property depreciated 
and business was almost suspended, It was not, however, until Christ 
mas Day, 1867, that the Church building could be used for services. The 
congregation increased greatly as soon as the new Church was opened. 
On the occasion of the celebration of the twenty-fifth Anniversary of his 
rectorship of the parish, October 5, 1879, the Rev. Dr. Schuyler delivered 
a Commemorative Discourse in which, after stating many interesting 
facts in the vestry of the parish during his rectorship, he presented the 
following statistics: In twenty-five years from 185410 1879 he baptized 
1505 persons, prepared 803 for confirmation, married 456 couples, buried 
768 persons, and admitted 1,224 to the communion. The total contribu 
tions of the parish for that period amounted to $371,728. The change 
from a parish Church to a Cathedral took place in 1888. A gift of 
$37,500 was made by a friend of the parish upon condition that $12,500 
should be added by the parish. This amount was raised, and the neces 
sary steps were taken to perfect the Cathedral organization. In an ad 
dress to the congregation explaining the changes, Dr. Schuyler said: 
"The fact that the Parish Church is to be changed into a Cathedral does 
not in any wise alter your relations to it. It is expected that those who 
occupy pews will retain them at their pleasure. The same relations of 
pastor and people will be maintained ; and the old and dear associations 
of the years gone by will not be disturbed. We hope by this change to 
have added numbers and strength ; because, with an increase of workers. 
a closer pastoral oversight may be exercised ; the careless and indifferent 
in this vicinity may be looked up and shepherded ; more frequent services 
may be held ; and a new life infused thereby. Besides, we shall have our 
noble bishop at our head, with his zeal and judgment to inspire and 
guide ; and when not engaged in official duty elsewhere, we shall have 
the privilege of listening to his eloquent instructions from the pulpit. 
The plan is cruciform, with shallow transept, an apsidal chancel with a 
Chapel attached at the southeast corner. The style of architecture is 
that which prevailed in the i4th Century technically termed " Second 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHUXCHES. 263 

Pointed " or " Early English Decorated." The Church is properly placed 
as regards orientation. The arrangement of the main Church consists 
of a nave and aisles. The nave is 121 feet long, divided into five bays, 
beside the large arches (60 feet high) across the transepts, and is 36 feet 
wide and 95 feet from floor to ridge of roof, or about 27 feet higher than 
Trinity Church, New York. The chancel is 37 feet deep by 36 feet wide 
and of the same height with the nave and separated therefrom by a mag 
nificent double arch. The aisles are each 68 feet by 36 feet and the 
transepts 18 feet by 36. The edifice throughout is an honest one not a 
sham in it, the walls, arches, window frames, mullions, and even down to 
the window-traceries, being of cut stone of a beautiful soft color much 
resembling Caen stone and all laid up in cement. The glass is set in lead 
The only wood about the Church is in the furnishing, which is of black 
walnut, and in the open timbered roof which is massive in its framing 
and is supported on stone corbels built in with, and forming part of, the 
clerestory walls. The roof of the chancel is also open timbered resting 
on short hammer beams supported on stone corbels and, like the roof of 
the nave and aisles, is decorated in polychrome and is enlivened with stars 
&n& fleur-de-lis in gold on an ultramarine blue field. Immediately back 
of the altar in the central panel and directly under the memorial window 
to the late Bishop Kemper, who at one time had charge of this parish, is 
painted on the wall a picture of the Crucifixion. The nave is divided 
from the aisles by bays, the columns of which are octagonal in shape and 
without capitals, the mouldings of the arches dying into the columns. 
All of the windows are of stained glass, nearly all of them memorials, by 
the late Mr. Owen Doremus, the ground work of which being of the rich 
est blue. All of these are figure windows of excellent design and gor 
geous coloring. 

ST. PAUL S CATHEDRAL, Fond du Lac, Wis. The present Ca 
thedral is the successor of the one which was destroyed by fire on St. 
Paul s Day, January 25th, 1884. The building thus consumed, was orig 
inally erected as a parish Church, and was handed over by the Corpo 
ration to the Rt. Rev. J. H. Hobart Brown, D.D., for Cathedral purposes, 
shortly after his consecration as the first bishop of Fond du Lac. The 
diocese of Fond du Lac had been formed by dividing off the northeast 
ern part of the state from the old diocese of Wisconsin. The destruction 
of the Cathedral in 1884, just after its deliverance from a heavy debt of 
long standing, was a great trial of faith to the bishop, the diocese at 
large, and especially to the congregation of Fond du Lac. The corner 
stone of the new edifice was laid on the Feast of SS. Simon and Jude, 
1885. As the walls of the old building had been left standing, and after 



264 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 




V 

KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHUXCHES. 26$ 

careful inspection, were pronounced safe and unimpaired, it was deter 
mined to utilize them in the new structure. These walls represent the 
nave of the present Cathedral. The transepts, chancel, side-chapel, 
choir-room, bishop s office, and sacristry are all perfectly new. The ex 
treme length of the original building from the altar to the porch was 
about 120 feet, while that of the present, is upwards of 190 feet. It is 
finished with open roof. The central aisle, the chancel aisle, and the 
centre sanctuary are laid with tiles. The rest of the floor is of maple, 
laid diagonally. The seats are of oak. Several valuable memorials have 
been already presented, and more have been promised. The Cathedral 
is built of limestone. The inside measurements are as follows : Length 
of nave from inside door to chancel arch 135 feet ; width 45 ; central aisle 
6 ; side aisles 2.6 each ; east transepts, depth 36, width 32 ; west tran 
sept, depth 1 8. width 32; depth of chancel from arch to sanctuary 36 ; 
depth of sanctuary 18; total 54. Width of chancel 30. The chancel is 
three steps higher than nave; sanctuary two steps higher than choir, 
and the altar stands on an elevation of three steps. The side Chapel (St. 
Augustine) is 54 by 18 ; organ-chamber 33 by 21 ; choir-room 36 by 18 ; 
bishop s office 21 by 12; sacristry 17 by 15. The total seating capacity 
is 1,200. Few of those who are in ignorance of the poverty and struggles 
of a newly formed diocese in the west, can appreciate the energy and 
persistency required to secure the erection of such a building as this. 
Bishop Brown evinced much moral heroism in the determination with 
which he faced almost insuperable difficulties. The people of Fond du 
Lac also deserve unbounded praise for the loyalty and generous contribu 
tions with which they supported the bishop in his efforts. These, sup 
plemented by some liberal gifts from the east, have supplied the means 
whereby this stately pile has been reared. It afforded the untiring 
bishop great joy to see the walls of his Cathedral rising, but before the 
completion of the edifice, they became his monument, for he rests be 
neath their shadow. His grave is in the sunniest part of the Cathedral 
Close. Just where the east transept meets the eastern side of the nave, 
and where in the angle formed by these two walls, the sun shines all day 
long, until it sinks behind the Cathedral, the bishop s remains await the 
realization of Christian faith, and the consummation of Christian hope 
in the " resurrection of the body and the life everlasting." 

GRACE CHURCH CATHEDRAL AND GUILD HALL, Topeka, 
Kansas, is to occupy that part of the grounds of Bethany College, corner 
of Eighth and Polk streets, which was deeded to the Cathedral author 
ities for this purpose measuring 320 by 200 feet. The Guild Hall is now 
being built of stone in the lower part, and frame construction above. 



266 A SA G S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

with slated roof. The first floor is given up to a large Sunday-school 
and infant class with class-rooms separated from main school by doors 
which slide upward, thus throwing all together when required. The 
front shows a roomy porch and vestibule, and staircase and hall leading 
to the upper floors which are devoted to bible class, rector s study, and 
work-rooms for the various guilds. The building is well-lighted and 
ventilated, and all connect with the Cathedral by a covered passage. 
The Cathedral is designed to be 190 feet long externally, by 58 feet 
across the nave and aisles, and 100 feet across transepts, The choir is 
spacious, giving accommodation for bishops and 38 clergy, and 49 sing 
ers, terminating in an apse dodecagonal in form, and the choir aisles are 
carried around it, forming an ambulatory. On the north side is a morn 
ing Chapel for early celebration, seating 54 people, and as it opens into 
the north transept, the accommodation can be greatly increased on oc 
casional crowded services. On the south side of the choir is the organ- 
transept, with the organ placed in a gallery, and the action brought 
down to keyboard in the choir. Opposite is a similar transept that can 
be used for another organ, or as a music gallery when required, or as a 
private gallery, and is approached by the staircase turret shown on plan, 
which also leads to the ringing chamber of tower. This latter is 34 feet 
square, and is placed at the intersection of nave and transept roofs, and 
the space beneath is lighted by windows on the north and south ob 
tained by the lower elevation of transept roofs. South of this choir are 
the retiring rooms for clergy and choir, with a library over the former 
36 by 17. Adjoining the south transept is the chapter-house 38 by 20, 
communicating with the retiring rooms, and approached from the south 
aisle through a cloister, enclosed on the south side of Cathedral, also 
giving external access to the chapter-house. North and south porches 
open on the grounds, and the western portal is spacious and effective, 
leading to an enclosed interior vestibule over which is a gallery. The 
west gable is flanked by turrets which contain stairs and also serve as 
ventilating shafts. A special baptistry is provided. The central tower 
dominates the mass, and is capped by a low pyramidal spire surmounted 
by the cross. The east end, which does not show in this view, is very 
effective, with heavy flying buttresses and pinnacles surrounding the ap- 
sidal end of choir. The interior effect will be simple, harmonious, and 
dignified, depending rather upon good effect in proportions than upon 
richness of detail. The altar being well elevated, will be the crowning 
feature. The bishop s seat will be at the east end of apse surrounded by 
his clergy, the stalls being carried around the surface of the apse. The 
south transept will be reserved according to the terms of the deed of the 
lot, for the students of Bethany College. The space in northwest cor- 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



26? 




268 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

ner of lot, shown in the foreground of picture, will be reserved for a fu 
ture episcopal residence. It is to be hoped that this stately and well- 
equipped building will not suffer for want of funds to carry it to a suc 
cessful conclusion, as it is a matter very near to the heart of the bishop 
of the diocese and his assistant. The architect is Mr. Henry M. Cong- 
don, of New York. 

ST. LUKE S CATHEDRAL, Atlanta, Ga., dates its beginning 
back to the war, when the Confederate forces under command of 
General Joseph E. Johnson were encamped in and around the city of 
Atlanta. Rev. Dr. C. T. Quintard,then a chaplain in "the Army of the 
Tennessee," now bishop of the diocese of Tennessee, secured the use of 
the Methodist Church building, which then stood on the corner ot 
Garnett and Forsyth Streets, assembled a congregation, held service, and 
thus instituted a work which has resulted in the establishment of this 
Cathedral Church. A suitable lot was soon obtained, and with the help 
of men detailed from the army, a building was speedily erected, 
wherein services was regularly held, Within the portals of this modest 
little building, devout worshippers were delighted to turn aside from the 
bloody strife of war and prostrate themselves before the Throne of 
Grace. Among them were many distinguished Confederate officers. 
Within its walls lay the remains of General Polk a bishop of the 
Church who had been killed at the front near Kennesaw Mountain, 
until removed to the City of Augusta for interment. Incident to the 
erection of this building was the establishment of hospitals and the 
execution of other works of charity and mercy. Its destruction by fire 
amid the common calamity that brought ruin and desolation to the 
homes and hearts of all its people, for a time seemed to paralyze all 
effort to rebuild it. But love of the parish, established under such cir 
cumstances, by such men, and for the work, prosecuted amid such 
scenes, survived the shock and constrained the survivors to assemble on 
the 2ist day of June, 1870. and make provision for a revival of the 
parish. A majority of those present determined to change the name 
of the parish to that of "St. Stephen s," in commemoration of the 
Right Rev. Stephen Elliot, the first Bishop of Georgia. Rev. Dr. 
Joseph Cross, was called to be rector. He accepted, and served 
acceptably until May 15, 1871. when he resigned. Rev. George 
Macauley was chosen as his successor, and accepted the call August 
21, 1871. At a meeting of the vestry held January 8, 1872, the former 
name of the Church, to wit. St. Luke s Church, was resumed. From 
the reorganization of the parish until the completion in 1875 of a building 
on the corner of Spring and Walton .Streets, services were held in the 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 269 




270 A JNG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

hall of the Masonic Orphan Building. Rev. C. J. Wingate succeeded 
Rev. Geo. Macauley as rector, in 1879, ar >d after serving only a few 
months, resigned August 7, 1879. Rev. Dr. W. C. Williams, was then 
called, and accepted. On April 5, 1880, the vestry requested the bishop 
to make St. Luke s Church the Cathedral Church of the diocese. This 
matter seems to have been held under consideration until June 6, 1881, 
when the bishop prescribed for the government of the Cathedral the 
necessary regulations. 

From the revival of this parish in 1870, until the Cathedral organiza 
tion, it was engaged in a constant and hard struggle for existence. Of 
its communicants who had survived the war, very few remained in the 
parish, and they were greatly impoverished. Their zeal greatly 
exceeded their ability to accomplish the work in hand. Numerically 
and financially they were weak, very weak. To purchase a lot and 
build a Church was a large undertaking for such a people, and 
involved them in a heavy debt, a large part of which was still un 
satisfied when the bishop took charge. Rev. Dr. W. C. Williams, rector, 
became, by appointment of the bishop, Priest in Charge, with Rev. C. 
M. Beckwith as his assistant. It then became apparent that a better 
location and a better building were essential to achieve the full measure 
of success contemplated. In numbers and resources they were still weak, 
but blessed with abundant faith and hope, they did not hesitate to 
attempt, what, to others, seemed must eventuate in failure. An eligible 
lot was at once secured, and the corner-stone of the edifice, now known 
as St. Luke s Cathedral Church, was laid by Rev. Dr. W. C. Williams, 
with appropriate ceremonies, in October, 1882. The work of erecting 
this building progressed satisfactorily to completion, and within the first 
year thereafter, was enlarged to a capacity of about 750 sittings. Con 
temporaneously with the work of building the Cathedral, two missions 
were established and are still sustained. In 1884, a great sorrow came 
to all the people of the congregation of the Cathedral. Their beloved 
pastor, Rev. Dr. Williams, was constrained by declining health to resign 
his office. He was succeeded by his assistant, Rev. C. M. Beckwith, 
who with great zeal and devotion continued in the service of the 
Cathedral and its people until September, 1886, when he resigned to 
accept repeated calls to the Diocese of Texas. In November following, 
,the bishop of the diocese and the board of curators united in a call to 
Rev. R. S. Barrett, of Henderson, Ky. Fortunately for the Cathedral 
and its people", this call was accepted. Under his vigorous leadership 
the work goes bravely on. Over 500 names now appear on its list of 
communicants. The income of the parish is over $7,000, and it is 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 



271 



confidently believed that ere long its influence as the Cathedral Church 
of the diocese will extend to all the borders thereof. 

ST. PAUL S CATHEDRAL CHURCH, Buffalo, N. Y. This 
edifice (sometimes called St. Paul s Cathedral Church) is now being 




Interior, St. Paul s Cathedral, Buffalo, N. Y. 

re-built, after its destruction by fire in the month of May, 1888. It was 
originally a building with stone walls, but with interior columns and 
arches, and open work of timber, all of which was entirely destroyed in 



272 XJJVG S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

a short space of time. The new structure will partly follow the lines of 
the old building, as it will stand upon the same foundations, and the 
greater part of the old walls will be retained. But considerable change 
will be made, and internally it will be quite another building. The work 
of designing has been entrusted to Mr. R. W. Gibson, of New York, the 
architect of the Albany Cathedral. All the design is of scholarly char 
acter, in pure English Gothic style, of the second or geometrical period. 
This is a little later in date than the old building was, in order to permit 
of the use of some beautiful traceried windows, which will add greatly to 
the effect of the plain lancet openings. Some windows remain of lancet 
form. The chancel will be re-built forty-one feet deep (about thirteen 
feet deeper than before), and will have a superb traceried stained-glass 
window over the altar. The chancel arch will be wider and higher. 
The nave will have only three clear columns and arches on each side. 
Near the chancel arch will be a transept on each side, with an arch of 
thirty feet clear span. This dispenses with two of the objectionable 
columns of the old building, and adds a beautiful feature to the Church, 
both internally and externally. The Chapel and extension at the side of 
the north aisle will be rebuilt with additional traceried windows. The 
columns will be of Scotch stone, with moulded bases and carved capitals. 
The arches will be of brick and stone, finished with stucco in rich Gothic 
mouldings, and all the walls and windows internally will be finished with 
stucco and plaster upon the fire-proof iron lath. It is intended to 
decorate the interior in color. Above the nave arches will rise a hand 
some clere-story, with a range of windows on each side, finished with 
columns and ornamental trefoil arches supporting the roof. The roof 
will be of timber, with hammer-beam trusses, in harmony with the 
clere-story. The open work of the roof is ornamented with tracery, and 
bold carved figures of angels holding scrolls ornament the hammer 
beams. The floors will be built fire- resisting, with iron lath for ceiling 
of basement, and cement floor under the wooden one. It is intended 
that the fate of the old Church shall be avoided in the new. Most of the 
windows will be filled with rich stained glass. With this in view, the 
large traceried windows before alluded to have been introduced. The 
organ will be placed in a chamber to the north of the chancel, and 
accommodation will be provided for the possible needs of the antiphonal 
choral service. A baptistery is placed near the north transept entrance, 
with large arches opening into the Church. The basement is re-built in 
improved form for the use of Sunday school and other organizations. 
The designs include also the erection of new porches to basement and 
north transept, and new vestry for rector. The handsome spire and 
tower were comparatively uninjured by the fire, and will be retained in 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2?$ 

exactly the original form. The materials of this Church are light red 
Medina or Albion stone, and black slate. It is a quiet, reposeful build 
ing, in excellent taste, reminding one of those of genuine mediaeval date, 
and is an eminently pleasing design. The dimensions are, internally: 
Length, 144 feet; width across nave and aisles or nave and transepts, 
62 feet ; width, including side chapel, 90 feet. Height, ridge of roof, 
61 feet. The seating accommodation, including choir, will be one 
thousand persons. No galleries will be used. 

ALL SAINTS CATHEDRAL, Albany, N. Y. Twenty-five years 
ago an old foundry building stood along the edge of a hill in Albany east 
of the Capitol. A small sum of money and a great deal of skill and 
good taste changed the foundry into a pro-Cathedral. It was used for 
services while Bishop Doane s plans for a permanent building were ma 
turing. Because of the great size and expense of a completed Cathedral 
it was deemed best to construct it by stages. The intermediate building 
which has succeeded the foundry is one stage. It is really the Cathedral 
with its proportions and accommodations, but only slightly developed. 
Its development and completion are the work of years. The description 
that follows will give some idea of the splendor of the great work when 
done. The selected design was chosen as a beautiful rendering of the 
early type of Gothic architecture, as well as for an eminently practical 
scheme for meeting immediate needs in the provisional building. It is 
the one submitted by Mr. R. W. Gibson, an architect then residing in Al 
bany, but now in New York. His previous training and experience is in 
some degree reflected in this work. The building is planned upon the 
general lines of an English Gothic Cathedral, as being the most natural 
and appropriate type. But there are several important modifications 
made to meet the altered circumstances of time and place and ritual ; 
most notable among them is the widening of the central nave at the 
expense of the side aisles. Architects have for some years been 
struggling with the problem how to retain the pillars and arches, which 
constitute the chief glory of a Gothic church, without submitting a large 
proportion of the congregation to the discomfort of having to sit behind 
columns which hinder sight and sound. In some other experiments the 
pillars have been shorn of almost all their strength and beauty, attenuated 
to mere posts with this object. In some modern churches the difficulty 
is simply ignored. The English school of architects had made some ex 
periments in the direction of narrow aisles, and the architect of the 
Albany Cathedral, with these experiments doubtless in view, has restored 
to the main arcade and pillars all their old-time magnitude and solidity, 
as being the m ost essential thing in Cathedral architecture. The side 



2/4 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

aisles being required for passage ways only, their seclusion by massive 
columns is an advantage rather than a detriment. The pillars are in the 
nave, seven feet across their greatest diameter, and the chief requisite in 
the design dignity is secured by imposing size. The nave is forty-four 
feet wide from centre to centre of columns, and every person in it is 
seated in full view of the pulpit and altar. The transepts with a width 
the same as that of the nave, are restrained for similar reasons to a mod 
erate depth, and have aisles on their west sides only, and in these the pillars 
are so arranged that the clear openings radiate from the position of the 
pulpit. The nave and crossing, together give a length of about 150 feet. 
The choir is about 90 feet long and a little narrower than the nave. The 
porches of the front add 20 feet and the ambulatory and east walls about 
16 feet, so that the total length of the building is 270 feet. When it is 
remembered that most of our large parish Churches are only about 90 or 
100 feet long it will be seen that this is indeed a noble size. It is, in fact, 
the maximum at which the whole space is serviceable. Additional length 
would be advantageous upon aesthetic ground only. If added to the nave 
the western end would be beyond hearing. If put on the choir the altar 
would be out of sight. The height of the vaults of the finished design 
will be about seventy feet, following the rule of proportion, discovered in 
the most beautiful ancient Gothic buildings. This rule determines the 
height by constructing an equilateral triangle upon a base equal to the 
extreme width at the level of the eye. Besides these primary dimen 
sions many secondary proportions are regulated by a similar rule, which 
is no doubt founded upon those limiting physically the angle of conve 
nient vision. The provisional building is nearly the same height inter 
nally, not having the double roof with spaces, which will in future be 
built. The interior has been first described, because Gothic is essentially 
an internal style. The inside of all the magnificent structures of the mid 
dle ages was carefully evolved and studied, while the outside generally 
was designed to meet the needs of the features within, and this has been 
done at Albany. The windows, for example, are placed and proportioned 
from within always. The buttresses have to follow and serve the arched 
and vaulted ceilings, and, in fact, exist only for them, and so on through 
out the body of the building. The towers and spires are external fea 
tures simply, and have little or no internal use. All Saints Cathedral 
has at the west end a pair of noble towers grouped with that old-time 
fitness which proclaims the chief portal between them. They will rise 
from foundations of unusual massiveness (each one more than 50 feet 
square), buttressed by piers 12 feet square at each angle. Upwards they 
diminish in studied proportion to the octagonal belfries and spires, 210 
feet high. These, with the triple portals across their bases, form the 



KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 2?$ 




Cathedral of All Saints, Albany, N. Y. 



2/6 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

most elaborate parts of the external design. The central doorway is 30 
feet high to the main arch, and is surmounted by a gable with carved 
cross 52 feet above the sidewalk. Behind this and over it the mam gable 
will rise to a height of 112 feet, ornamented by the great traceried rose 
window 25 feet in diameter. The rest of the design is less ornate, the 
principal feature being the central lantern covering and lighting the 
crossing. This rises above the roof in an imposing octagon 46 feet 
across, with a story of double windows, surmounted by a steep roof, not 
attempting spire-like character and not rivalling the western towers, but 
about 175 feet from the ground to the ornamental cross at the top. The 
architect has been consulted as to the possibility of increasing the height 
here to exceed that of the western spires, and it may possibly be so car 
ried out, as the reasons for its moderate height were practical rather than 
esthetic, and it affords an opportunity for a spire of unusual height and 

command. 

The east end is square, according, to the precedents of the ancu 
English custom, with a large and rich traceried window for stained glass 
over the altar. In style the building belongs to the first period of 
pointed or Gothic architecture. While this style was and is truly inter 
national, each country shows some variety of character due to differ 
ences of climate and habits. A somewhat Spanish character has been 
adopted in this design, for various reasons. In the first place, the in 
tense heat of the summer and the cold of the winter are best met in a 
building of massive construction with windows of moderate size; and in 
the second place, the necessity of economy pointed to a style where 
effect is obtained by dignified masses of material, rather than in elaborate 
ornament by high-priced skilled labor. And the Spanish is a very ap 
propriate and beautiful type of the early Gothic, nearly allied to the 
Romanesque, which has become a modern national type in America. 
This choice of style having been made, it was determined to concentrate 
the richness in certain places each one a focus, so to speak. For the 
exterior this is at the west end with an echo at the east or sanctuary end. 
Within, the choir is richer than the nave and transepts with the same 
feeling, and in the choir all the ornament leads up to the altar and rere- 
dos with the grand traceried east window. The style permits of con 
siderable richness in carved and moulded work, while it does not abso 
lutely demand them. Therefore it lent itself readily to the architect s 
scheme for building a provisional structure which should be a part 
of the future complete edifice, in such a way that very little would 
have to be taken down. This requirement has been ingeniously met as 
follows: First, all the foundations were laid, including those for the west 
ern towers. This was a considerable expense, as they are necessarily 



KINCS HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

proportioned for the complete structure. They are calculated to carry 
a total load of 28,000 tons. The cost was $52,774. Then the pillars and 
arches of solid cut stone were built, and the wall surmounting them up 
to the sill of the triforium. The triforium is the intermediate story un 
der the clere-story, and is an ornamental feature opposite the spaces of 
the side aisle roofs. The outside walls were all built to the same height ; 
all these walls, ranging from 3 to 3^ feet thick, are designed hollow, the 
outer portion of stone and the inner of brick, destined to have marble 
or mosaic or painted finish at some future day. Of the end walls of 
nave and transepts, only the inner or brick half is built, leaving buttresses 
and bonding places for the future addition of the outside stone. All of 
the western porches and towers were deferred. This completed a large 
portion of the internal stone work, and enclosed the whole building with 
walls. It cost $107,371. Then the outer half wall of the triforium was 
built (which is the brick part which will eventually be hidden by the 
aisle roofs), and the temporary aisle roofs were put on below it instead 
of above, and this triforium thus converted into a temporary clere-story 
of brick. Above this a temporary roof is put over the whole, with only 
a small ventilating fleche or spirelet by way of ornament. But this 
fleche, small as it looks, is, with the cross, 50 feet high above the roofs, 
and the top is 131 feet from the ground. The roof is of open timbers of 
simple but effective provisional construction. The temporary floor is 
also of wood. In the choir, however, the permanent fireproof floor of 
steel beams and brick arches with mosaic pavements is laid. The 
altar is one large block of Scotch stone 12 by 3^ by 2 feet. The 
altar pace and steps are of Tennessee marble. The seats will be chairs 
of special designs, arranged in rows so that crowding will be impossible. 
The building will be heated by two steam boilers in the basement. 
Other portions of the basement will be fitted for choir room, vestries, etc. 
The work of this, the last contract, will amount to about $75,000, and 
together with several special gifts will complete the provisional building 
ready for divine service. The stalls for the chief clergy in the choir are 
some beautiful carved antique work, brought from a Belgian Church and 
presented to the Cathedral. The rood-screen is the finest that has ever 
been made in this country. It is of iron and brass, upon a Scotch stone 
base. The height is 30 feet, with an ornamental cross rising to 40 feet 
above the floor. The choir has some superb stained-glass memorial 
windows. The nave aisle windows will in some cases be filled in similar 
style, but the windows in the ends of nave and transepts, instead of 
being the imposing ones of the complete designs, are reduced in size 
because of the lesser height of the walls, and so are not yet of proper 
proportions. The east window over the altar is so arranged that its 



2/8 KING S HANDBOOK OF EPISCOPAL CHURCHES, 

glass can be a part of the future and permanent window, so that stained 
glass may be used and afterwards transferred to the stone mullions. The 
seating accommodation is as follows: Stalls for clergy, 153; stalls for 
choir, 50; seats for congregation, 1,500 permanent, with possible increase 
for special needs to 2,300; total accommodation, 2,503. No galleries will 
be used. There will be several buildings partly detached around the 
eastern part of the Cathedral. The chapter house and clergy and choir 
room will be on opposite sides of a small cloister, and to the south the 
treasury and bishop s vestry. These are not yet built, and where they 
will be there are blank brick walls. But it will be seen that an enormous 
task has been accomplished in a very dignified way at a very moderate 
expense, and the persevering energy which has done this in the face of 
all difficulties may be trusted to supply one by one the things which are 
yet wanting, and to complete in grandeur and beauty this great American 
Cathedral. 



INDEX 



ABEL, Rev. A. M. 183 

Abraham, Woodward 19 

Advent, Church of the, Boston, Mass. 198202 

Akerley, Rev. Benjamin 207 

"Alamo," The, historic site 150 

Albany, N. Y., First services in 32 

Alexandria, Va. (Fairfax Parish) 37 

All Saints Cathedral, Albany, N. Y. 273-278 

All Saints (Henshaw Memorial), Providence, 

R. I. 116-118 

All Saints , Worcester, Mass. 164-1 6P 
Alsop, Rev. Dr. Reese F. in 112 
Altar-vessels given by William and Mary 37 
"America Dissected," by Dr. McSparren 16 
American Church, Bishop Perry s History of 40 
"American Magazine, The," Quotation from u 
American Prayer-Book 26 35 42 
Andrews, Rev. William 32 
Angell, Rev. Thomas B. 198 
Anstice, Rev. Dr. Henry 56 
Applegate, Rev. Octavius 47 
Appleton, Mrs. Thomas 19 
Apthorpe, Rev Mr., Cambridge, Mass. 35 
Architects: 

Brown, A. Page 211 217 

Burns, Charles M. 196 

Burns, Charles M., Jun. 186 234 

Clark, H. P. 218 

Condit, C. H. 90 

Condon, Henry M. 161 183 188 195 268 

Cram, A. B. 99 

Dixon & Carson 160 

Dresser, Henry 253 

Earle & Fuller 165 

Eidlitz Leopold 140 262 

Esty, A. R. 146 

Furness, Frank 51 

Ghequier, T. Buckler 86 

Gibson, Robert W. 231 234 237 272 273 

Haight, C. C. 130 250 

Harrison, H. G. 245 

Harrison, Peter 24 35 

Hutton, Addison 217 

Jordan & Anderson 97 

Latrobe, B. H. 43 

Littell. Emlen T. 123 133 

Lloyd, Mr., of Detroit, Mich. 164 

Lloyd & Pearce 255 

McKim, Mead & White 229 

Miller, C. C. 104 

Mix, E. J. & Co. 207 

Notman, Mr., Wilmington, Del. 123 

Pierce & Dockstader 237 

Potter, Edward T. 117 241 

Potter, William A. 214 

Richards, T. W. 142 

Richardson, H. H. 173 

Robinson, R. H. 193 

Rotch&Tilden 2 i2 

Schuvler, R. L. 221 

Strickland, William 49 

Sturgis, John H. 201 



Architects, continued: 

Upjohn, Richard 60 76 80 83 94 101 118 130 150 

Upjohn, R. M. 91 92 137 

Upjohn, R. & Son 96 108 

Vaughan, Henry 222 

Ware & Van Brunt 190 

Wentworth, W. P. 146 

Withers, Frederick C. 169 



Wren, James 37 
rmitage, Rev. William 



Armitage, ev. am 97 99 

Arnett, Rev. William W. 207 
Arthur, President Chester A. 44 
Ashley, Rev. Dr. William B. 207 
Ashton, Rev. Jas. W. 230 231 
Atkinson, Rev. Dr. Thomas, Bishop 109 
Atwill, Rev. Edvva d R., D.D. 106 
Auchmuty, Rev. Dr., in the Revolution 59 

BACHELORS Pews in a Church 90 

Baldwin, Rev. A. G. 133 

Baldwin, H. P., Esq. 97 99 

Baldy family, Munificence of 189 

Baldy, Rev. Hurley 118 

Barclay, Rev. Thomas 32 

Barlow, Rev. William 133 151 

Barr, Rev. David 12 

Barrett, Rev. R. S. 270 

Barstow, Rev. F. A. 113 

Bass, Bishop (of Massachusetts) 41 

Batchelor, Rev. C. R. " History of the Eastern 

Diocese " 40 

Bates, Rev. Cyrus S., D.D. 164 
Battershail, Rev. Dr. Walton W. 91 234 
Batterson, Rev. H. G. 149 
Baurman, Rev. John P. 122 
Beach, Rev. Amos B., D.D. 85 
Beardsley, Rev. John 213 214 
Beardsley, Mrs. Samuel 94 
Beasley, Rev. Frederick 91 
Beasley, Rev. Dr. F. W. 96 
Beck with, Rev. C. M. 270 
Beckwith, Rev. John W., D.D., Bishop 76 
Beers, Rev. H. W., D.D. 133 136 
Bell cast from copper cannon 150; from Spanish 

cannon 227 

Bend, Rev. Dr. J. G. J. 85 
Benedict, Rev. Dr. Samuel 73 74 
Benton, Hon. Thomas H. 259 
Berkeley, Bishop George 24 
Berkeley, Rev. R. M. 168 
" Berkeley organ, The," at Newport, R. I. 24 
Berkeley School for Boys 103 
Berrian," Rev. Dr. William 61 ; " fiPistory of 

Trinity Parish," 139 140 
Berry, Rev. Thomas B. 220 
Bethesda Church, Saratoga Springs, N. Y. 210 

211 212 

Belts, Rev. George C. 245 

Binney, Hon. Horace 35 

" Bishop s Chapel, The " 240 

Bishops, House of, at Baltimore 86 

Bishops, numerous, from same parish 75 



279 



280 



Black, Rev. ]. H. 25 

Blackaller, Rev. Henry 165 

Blanchard, Rev. Joseph N. 99 

Blount, Mrs. Mary S. 83 

Boardman, Hon. H. J. 18 

Bolles, Rev. Dr. James A. 200 

Book of Common Prayer, English and American 

42 ; Unitarian alterations in 40 
Booth, Rev. Robert C. 68 
Bostwick, Rev. W. W. 230 
Bourdillon, Rev. Benedict 85 
Bourns, Rev. Dr., of Norwich University 168 
Bowen, Rev. Dr. Nathaniel 63 
Bowman, Right Rev. Samuel, D.D., Bishop 

(Pennsylvania) 196 198 
Branclegee, Rev. John J. 94 
Breck, Rev. Charles, D.D. 123 
Brenton, Jahleel. clock given by 24 
Brewer, Rev. D. R. 25 
Brick interior, A 186 
Brooks, Rev. Arthur 156 
Brooks, Rev. Frederick 162 164 
Brooks, Rev. Phillips, D.D. 173 174 
Brown, A. Page 211 
Brown, Rev. John 45 47 
Brown, Right Rev. J. H. Hobart, D.D. 136 137 

263 265 

Brown, Rev. Dr. John W. 132 
Brown University, Providence 99 
Bueland, Rev. Samuel 214 
Buildings for religious uses, The earliest 9 
Bulkley, Rev. Bamllai 214 
Burd Asylum, Philadelphia 51 
Burd, Edward Sluppen 50 
Burd, Mrs. Eliza Howard 50 51 
Burd Memorial Chapel 50 51 
Burgess, Bishop (of Maine) 250 
Burnham, Rev. R. F. 118 
Burroughs, Rev. Dr. Henry 22 
Burton, Rev. J. G. 51 
Burton, Rev. George 225 227 
Bury, Rev. Richard 133 
Byles, Rev. Dr. Mather 22 

CABOT, John, accompanied by chaplain 9 

Cadle, Rev. Richard F. 121 122 

Cady, Rev. Dr. Philander K. 214 

Caird, Rev. James 198 

Calvary Church, New York City 132 133 

Cambridge, Mass. 35 36 

Cannon, " Alamo," bell made from 150; from a 

Spanish 227 
Cannon-ball, Revolutionary, cemented into 

Church wall 28 

Carey, Rev. Dr. Joseph 210 212 
Carr, Rev. Charles M. 198 
Carter, Rev. Lawson 133 
Cathedral of the Incarnation, Garden City, N. Y. 

257-259 

Cathedrals and Pro-Cathedrals 239 
" CathoLu: revival, The " 198-200 
" Century Magazine, The," Article in 38 
Chancel arrangement in old times 33 
Chapel of St. Peter and St. Paul, Concord, N. H. 

222-225 

Chapman, Rev. George T. 108 
Chase, Rev. Carlton, Bishop 108 
Chase, Henry S., Memorial 77 
Chase, Right Rev. Philander, D.D. 151 154214 

252 253 254 

Chase, Rev. Samuel 252 
Chase, Rev. Thomas 85 



Chauncey, Rev. Peter Schermerhorn, D.D. 204 
Chimes, noted 21 27 115 211 247 
Choirs, vested 60 68 70 90 113 117 123 128 129 137 
142 144 162 182 189 204206210211 215 224 

2 54 

Cholera in Philadelphia 67 
Choral service 194 200 
Christ Church, Alexandria, Va. 37 38 
Christ Church, Boston, Mass. 21-23 
Christ Church, Cambridge, Mass. 35-37 
Christ Church Cathedral, St Louis, Mo. 259-263. 
Christ Church (Baldy Memorial), Danville, Penn. 

1 88 189 

Christ Church, Elizabeth, N. J. 80-82 
Christ Church, Herkimer, N. Y. 236 237 
Christ-Church Hospital 27 
Christ Church, Louisville, Ky. 52 53 
Christ Church, Oswego, N. Y. 84 85 
Christ Church, Philadelphia 25-28 
Christ Church, Portsmouth, N. H. 194 195 
Christ Church, Poughkeepsie, N. Y. 213-216 
Christ Church, Raleigh, N. C. 82 
Christ Church, Rochester, N. Y. 234-236 
Christ Church, Towanda, Penn. 237 238 
"Church and Meeting-House before the Revolu 
tion " (Edward Eggleston) 38 
Church-building after the Revolution 42 
Church Home, Lebanon, Penn. 183 
Church of Our Merciful Saviour, The, 53 
Church of the Advocate (George W. South Me 
morial), Philadelphia 233 
Church of the Ascension, Washington, D.C. 157 

158-160 

Church of the Epiphany, Washington, D.C. 6465 
Church of the Good Shepherd, Buffalo, N. Y. 

2K; 220 

Church of the Good Shepherd, Hartford, Conn. 

123-127 

Church of the Holy Spirit, Mattapan, Mass. 212 
Church of the Holy Spirit, New York City 193 194 
Church of the Holy Trinity, New York City 106 

107 

Church of the Incarnation, Philadelphia 127-129 
Church of the Redeemer, Astoria, N. Y. 115 116 
Church of the Redeemer, Bryn Mawr 186-188 
Church of the Transfiguration, New York City 68 
Churches built more than half a century ago 41 
Churchmen, American, Patriotism of 41 
Cincinnati, Society of, monument to Anthony 

Wayne 20 

Claggett, Bishop (of Maryland) loS 
Clark, Rev. Jonas, of Lexington 22 
Clark, Rev. J. W. 73 
Clark, Rev. Orange 136 

Clark, Ri-ht Rev. Thomas M. 16 76 101 165 173 
Clarkson, Right Rev. Robert H. 154 241 245 
Claxton, Rev. Dr. R. Bethell 56 162 164 
Clayton, Rev. Mr. (of Philadelphia) 26 77 
Clothing-clubs, etc. 67 
Clover, Rev. Louis P. 253 
Cobb, Rev. Dr. N. H., Bishop 73 
Coit, Rev. Dr. (of Cambridge, Mass.) 37 
Coleman, Rev. Leighton, S. T. D., Bishop (Del 
aware) 96 105 1 06 118 
Collin, Hannah, Epitaph of 14 
Collin, Rev. Nicholas 14 
Colonists, The Virginia, Churchmen 9 
Colored people, Church for 178 
Colt, Mrs. Samuel, memorials 123 126 
Colonial churches 9 ; large number of 40; author 
ities respecting 40 
Colonial Architects 39 



INDEX. 



28l 



Columbia College, New York 19 

Colwell, Rev. James Winsor 101 

Common Prayer, Book of 26 35 42 

Conant, Colonel, and Paul Revere 22 

Coudit, C. H. 90 

Congress, First prayer in 26 

Connecticut militia quartered in Christ Church, 

Cambridge, Mass. 36 
Constitution of P. E. Church in U. S. 42 
Convention, The first general 26 
Convers, Rev. D. 89 
Coombe, Rev. Mr. (of Philadelphia) 34 
Cooper, Rev. Dr. Edmund D. 1 16 
Copp s Hill, Boston, Mass. 21 
Corcoran, W. W., munificence of 158 
Courtney, Right Rev. Dr. Frederick W., Bishop 

(Nova Scotia) 48 156 157 
Covey, Rev. Peregrine 91 
Cowley Fathers, The 89 
Cox, Rev. Samuel 73 

Coxe. Right Rev. A. C., D.D. 85 133 220 
Craik, Rev. Charles Ewell 53 
Craik, Rev. Dr. James 52 53 
Craik and Norton, Drs., Memorials of 53 
Crocker, Rev. Dr. (of Providence, R. I.) 100 
Croes, Bishop (of New Jersey) 41 in 
Cross, Rev. Joseph, D.D. 268 
Croswell, Rev. Dr. William 22 200 
Crummell, Rev. Dr. Alex. 179 
Cuming, Rev. Francis H., D.D. 54 56 122 

i3 2 r 33 

Cummins, Rev. Dr. George D. 109 151 
Custis, Mrs. Martha 14 15 
Cutler, Dr. Henry S., organist 60 
Cutler, Rev. Dr. Timothy 22 
Cutting, R. Fulton, Benefactions of in 

DADE, Rev. Townsend 37 

Dakes, Rev O. C. 243 

Daly, Rev. James L. 225 

Dalzell, Rev. W. T. Dickinson 149 

Dame, Rev. William M. 38 

Dana, Rev. Dr. 38 

Dartmouth College 168 170 

Dashiell, Rev. George 108 

Davenport, Rev. Addington 170 

Davenport Cathedral, Davenport, Iowa 241 

Davidson, Rev. C. B. 74 

Davis, Jefferson, Pew occupied by Edwin M. 

Stanton 64 

Davis, Rev. Thomas 28 
Davis, Rev. Dr. Thomas F. 35 
Davis, Rev. W. W. 113 114 
Dawson, Rev. W. C. 168 
Deaconess Fund 63 
Deady, Hon. Matthew P. 225 
Decorated Gothic 92 
De Cormis, Rev. Louis 190 
Dehon, Rev. Theodore 25 
De Lancey, Bishop (of Western N. Y.) 35 105 
Denison, Rev. Henry M. 198 
Distinguished men in Episcopal Church 42 43 
Dix, Rev. Dr. Morgan 61 
Doane, Rev. George W., Bishop 80 173 
Doane, William C., Bishop 91 273 
Dobb, Rev. Alexander F. 75 
Doherty, Rev. Robert, D.D. 243 



" Dominie s Bowery," The 59 
Doremus, Owen, Memorial Windo 



Dorr, Rev. Dr. Benjamin 28 
Dorset, Rev. C. P. 24 
Doty, Rev. John 32 



indows by 263 



Doty, Rev. Dr. W. D Orville 234 
" Double-decker," A 196 
Dowdney, Rev. John 204 
Drake, Rev. George C. 198 
Dresser, Rev. Charles 252 253 
Drums instead of church-bells 39 
Ducachet, Rev. Dr. Henry W. 50 51 
Duche, Rev. Mr. 26 33 34 
Duffee, Rev. Dr. Cornelius R. 132 
Duffield, Rev. S. B. 240 
Dunmore, Lord, at Norfolk, Va. 28. 
Dyer, Rev. Palmer 153 

EAMES, Rev. James H. 100 

Early English architecture 195 

Earp, Rev. Samuel, Ph. D. 122 

Eastburn, Rev. M., D.D., Bishop 76 173 

Easter, Rev. John D. 245 

Easton, Rev. Giles A. 113 

Eaton, Rev Dr. 22 

Egbert, Rev. John L. 17 

Eggleston, Edward 38 39 

Elliott, Rev. C. P. 83 

Elliott, Rev. John H., S. T. D. 74 157 160 

Elliott, Right Rev. Stephen 268 

Elliott, Bishop (of Western Texas) 148 

Ellison, Rev. Thomas 91 

Ely, David J., Memorial 243 

Epiphany, Washington 178 

Eucharist, Daily 70 103 

Evans, Rev. Evan 26 77 

FABRITIUS, Rev. John 13 

Facken, Rev. St. Michael 225 

Fairfax Parish, Virginia 37 

Fales, Rev. T. F., of Waltham, Mass. 146 

Fanning, Roberts., Memorial 116 

Fayerweather, Rev. Mr. (Wickford, Narragan- 

sett, R. I.) 16 
Field, Rev. C. N. 89 
Fire, The great, in Boston 172; in Chicago 152 

154 i5 6 
First church service in Virginia 10 ; illustration 

of 9 
" First ring cast for the British Empire in North 

America, The " 21 

Fish, Rev. J. F., Chaplain U. S. A. 148 
Fiske, Rev. George McCiellan, Bishop 101 
Fiske, Rev. William A. 73 
Flower, Henry Keep, Memorial 132 
Foggo, Dr. Edward A. 25 28 
Foote, Rev. George W. 227 248 
Foote, Rev. Henry W. 39 
Foot-stoves used in pews 39 
Forbidden degrees, Tables of 39 
Fowler, Rev. Morelle, Memorial window 248 
Fox, Captain Gustavus V., U. S. N. 44 
Franklin, Benjamin 26 27 33 
Franklin, Rev. Benjamin 127 
Free church system 81 200 
Freeman, Rev. G. W., Bishop 83 
Freeman, Rev. Silas W. 122 
Freeman, Rev. Mr. (of King s Chapel, Boston) 

alterations in Prayer-Book 40 
French, Rev. Dr. Jonathan W. 64 157 
Frisby, Rev. William B. 202 
Fulton, Rev. Dr. John 207 



GALLEHER, Rev. John N., S. T. D., Bishop 

(Louisiana) 76 
Gardner memorial 148 
Gardner, Very Rev. C H. 243 247 



282 



INDEX. 



Garrett, Rev. A. C. 245 

Gassman, Rev. John G. 245 

General Convention, Thtf first 26 

George II. of England 22 26 

George III., Charter granted by 214 

Gethsemane Church, Minneapolis, Minn. 205 

206 207 

Giesy, Rev. Samuel H., D.D. 64 65 
Gillespie, Rev. George D., Bishop (Western 

Michigan) D.D. 73 122 
Gillis, Rev. Lewis J. 157 
Glen, Mrs. Mary, First services in Frankford, 

Penn. 67 

Gloria Dei Church, Philadelphia 13 
Goodwin, Rev. D. 16 
Goodyear, Rev. H. B. 254 

Gothic architecture not favored in early times 39 
Gown and surplice, Black 33 39 
Grace Church Cathedral, Topeka, Kan. 265-268 
Grace Church, Newton, Mass. 146-148 
Grace Church, New York City 61-63 165 
Grace Church, Utica, N. Y. 94-96 
Graf ton, Rev. Charles C., Bishop 201 
Grammer, Rev. Julius E. 109 
Graves, Rev. Anson R. 205 
Gray, Rev. J. B. 113 
Grecian architecture 47 
Green, Rev. William Mercer, Bishop 82 
Greene, Rev. J. S. Copley 146 147 
Gregg, Right Rev. Alexander 149 
Gregg, Rev. F .M. 253 
Gregory, Rev. Dr., Chaplain U. S. A. 243 
Griswold, Rev. George 38 
Griswold, Rev. Dr., Bishop 100 
Guilbert, Rev. Edmund 194 
Gurteen, Rev. S. Humphreys 254 

HAIGHT, Rev. Benjamin I. 73 

Hale, Rev. Charles S. 108 

Hale, Rev. Dr., Hanover, N. H. 168 

Hall, Rev. Charles H., D.D. 64 178 

Hall, Rev. R. B. 25 

Hall, Rev. Wvllys, D.D. 122 

Hallam, Rev. Isaac W. 151 153 154 

Hare, Rev. Chandler 183 

Harris, Rev. Samuel S., D.D., LL.D., Bishop 

7.5 76 156 

Harris memorial 169 
Harris, Rev. Dr. William 19 202 
Harris, Rev. William R. 19 
Harrison, President W. H. H. 44 
Hart, Rev. H. M. 254 
Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass. 36 
Harwood, Rev. Edwin, D.D. 204 
Haskell, William, and wife 19 
Haskins, Rev. Thomas W. 248 
Haughton, Rev. James 168 188 
Hawks, Right Rev. Cicero S. 261 262 
Hawks, Rev. Dr. Francis L. 129 132 133 
Hawley, Rev. Dr. 157 
Hayden, Rev. Horace Edwin 198 
Heather, Rev. George A. 73 
Heating churches in colonial times 39 
Henry, Mrs. Pauline E. 96 97 
Henshaw, Rev. Daniel 117 
Henshaw, Rev. John Prentiss Hewley, D.D., 

Bishop 19 108 112 116-118 
Henshaw Memorial 116 
Hicks, Rev. John A. 88 
Hills, Ven. George Morgan, D. D., Historical 

Sketch 40 77 80 
Hitchcock, Rev. William A. 144 



Hobart, Bishop (of New York) 45 54 

Hobart Hall, Ann Arbor, Mich. 122 123 

Hodges, Rev. Dr. J. S. B. 85 

Hoffman, Rev. Eugene Augustus So 81 

Holden, Rev. William 44 

Holland, Rev. Dr. R. A. 151 

Homans, Rev. James A. 73 

Honeyman, Rev. Mr. 24 25 

Hooker, Rev. Dr. Herman 88 

Hooper, Rev. Jos. 85 

Hopkins, Rev. John Henry 143 144 

Hopkins, Bishop (of Vermont) 173 

Hopkinson, Francis 26 

Hoppin, Rev. Dr. (of Cambridge, Mass.) 37 

Horrell, Rev. Thomas 259 

Horton, Rev. Sanford J. 116 

Hospital, Epiphany (Washington) a 64 

Houghton, Rev. E. C. 70 

Houghton, Rev. Dr. George H. 69 70 

House built from materials of old church 28 

Hovey, Rev. Henry E. 195 

Howe, Bishop (Pennsylvania) 182 189217 

Hull, Rev. Lemuel B. 207 

Humphreys, Mary Gay, Description by n 

Hunt, Rev. Robert 10 n 

Huntington, Rev. Dr. William R. 63 165 

Huse, Rev. Mathew 133 

Hutchinson, Governor 37 

Hutton, Rev. Orlando, D.D. 157 

Hyland, Rev. Peter E. 225 

IMMANUEL Church, Bellows Falls, Vt. 107 108 

Indians, Conversion of 9 

Ingersoll Memorial, Buffalo, N. Y. 219220 

Inglis, Rev. Dr. Charles 59 60 

Ireland, Rev. John no 

Irish, Rev. W. N. 243 

" Iron Cross, Guild of the " 89 90 

JACKSON, Rev. William 29 52 

Jackson, Rev. W. F. B. 253 

Jaggar, Rev. Dr. Thomas A., Bishop 72 74 

Jamestown, Va., Settlement and ruins 10 

Jarvis, Rev. Samuel Farmar, D.D. 48 204 

Jenckes, Rev. Joseph S. 74 

Jenckes, Rev. Joseph S., Jun. 146 

Johns, Rev. H. V. D. 73 

Johnson, Rev. Samuel 73 

Johnson, Sir William 32 

ohnston, Gen. Joseph E. 268 

ohnston, Rev. Lloyd E. 254 

ones, Rev. Charles 133 

ones, Rev. Lucius H. 148 150 

ones, Rev. Cave 202 
_ ones, Rev. Henry L. 196 198 
Jones Memorial 150 

"KAY Chapel, The "25 

Kay, Nathaniel, School founded by 25 

Kearsley, Dr. John 27 

Keeling, Rev. George David 151 

Keith, Rev. Melville D. 149 

Keith, Rev. Dr. Reul 38 

Keith and Talbot, missionaries 77 78 

Keller, Rev. George A. 21 

Kellogg, Rev. S. B. 154 

Kemp, Rev. Dr. James, Bishop 85 

Kemper, Rev. Jackson, D.D., Bishop 88 196 

205 2IO 242 247 260 261 263 

Kerfoot, Rev. John B., D.D., Bishop 144 
Kidner, Rev. Reuben 174 
Kimber, Rev. Arthur C., D.D. 182 



INDEX. 



283 



King s Chapel, Boston 35 37 40 170 
Kinsolving, Rev. G. H. 74 
Kip, Bishop (of California) 113 
Kirby, Rev. R. M. 248 
Knickerbocker, Rev. D. B., Bishop 205 
Knowles, Rev. J. H. 240 

LADY-CHAPEL relics, Worcester, Mass. 166 

Lady choir 256 

La Farge, Decorations by 130 173 198 

Landmark on Broadway, New York 61 

Larrabee, Rev. Edward A. 254 

Langdon, Rev. Dr. (of Cambridge, Mass.) 37 

Lay work (at St. Mark s, Frankford, Philadel 
phia) 65 

Leffingwell, Rev. Christopher S. 176 

Lee, Rev. D. J. 113 

Lee, Rev. Henry W., D.D., Bishop 56 241 243 

Lee, Gen. Robert Edward, Memorial 38 

Leeds, Rev. George, D.D. 35 94 100 

Lehigh University (Packer Memorial) South Beth 
lehem, Perm. 216 217 

Lenthall Home for widows 65 

Leonard, W. A., D.D. 44 

Lester, Rev. Charles Stanley 207 

Lewis, Rev. J. Vaughan 178 179 

Lexington, Incidents before battle of 22 

Lincoln, Abraham, Incidents connected with 253 

Linder Memorial 148 

Linderman Memorial 216 

Lines, Rev. S. G. 113 

Littell, Rev. Thomas Gardiner, D.D. 123 

" Little Church Around the Corner, The, New 
York City 68-71 

Lockyear, Rev. Mr. (of Newport, R. I.) 24 

Lombardic architecture 197 

London, Bishop of, rector of Trinity, N. Y. 58 

Long rectorships 33 45 53 61 69 129 137 142 160 

Longfellow, H. W., "Old St. David s at Rad 
nor" 19 20; " Paul Revere s Ride " 23 

Longridge, Rev. W. H. 89 

Loop, Rev. Da Witt C. 198 

Lottery for church purposes 27 

Lumsden, Rev. David F. 122 

Lycett, Rev. Edward S., Memorial 187 

Lyman, Rev. Theodore B., Bishop 116 

MACAULEY, Rev. George 268270 

Madison, Bishop (of Virginia) 41 

Madison, President James 44 

Magee, James, Memorial window 51 

Magill, Rev. George J. 25 240 

Magrath, Rev. John T. 212 

Mahan, Rev. Dr. Milo 85 

Mann, Rev. Charles 38 

Maples, Rev. Carlton P. 225 

Marblehead, Mass., Ancient Church at 16-19 

Marks, Rev. Samuel 122 

Marsh, George Massev 194 195 

Marshall, Rev. Dr. M. M. 83 

Mason, Rev. Richard Sharpe, D,D. 83 196 

Maturin, Rev. B. W. 89 

Maxwell, Rev. James L. 189 198 

Maxwell, Rev. Samuel 144 

May, Rev. Dr. James 118 196 

Mayer, Rev. H. C. 146 

McCarty, Rev. John 84 

McCarty, Rev. John, D.D. 225 

McConnell, Rev. Dr. S. D. 52 

McConnell Memorial 169 



McCook, Rev. J. J. 99 
McCormac, Rev. Johnston 225 



McCroskey, Rev. Samuel A., Bishop 122 

McGuire, Rev. John 38 

Mcllvaine, Rev. Dr. Charles P., Bishop 103 

McKee, Rev. J. M. E. 44 

McKim, Rev. Randolph H., D.D. 38 76 

McLaren, William E., Bishop 156240 

McSparren, Rev. Dr 16 

Meade, Bishop (of Virginia) 38 40 

Meneely, E. A. & G. R. 227 

Mercer, Rev. Dr. A. G. 25 

Merritt, Rev. Dr. R. N. 229 

Miles, Rev. George D. 196 

Militia quartered m Christ Church, Cambridge. 

Mass. 36 

Miller, Rev. A. D. 113 
Miller, Rev. Dr. Daniel S. 67 68 
Miller, Rev. G. D. B. 248 
Millspaugh, Rev. Frank R. 245 247 
Milnor, Rev. Dr., remarkable ministry 140 
"Missionary Bishop of the North West, The " 

(Rev. Jackson Kemper) 88 
Missions, Old Spanish, Ruins of 149 
Monroe, President James 44 
Monroe, Rev. William H. 23 
Montgomery, Rev. James 49 63 
Moore, Rev. Benjamin, Bishop in 202 
Moore, Rev. Richard Channing 80 
Moore, Rev. Thoroughgood 91 
Morgan, Rev. P. B. 74 
Morgan, Rev. Dr. William F. 130 132 
Morris, Rev. B. W., Bishop (Oregon) 161 
Morris, Rev. Oliver 38 
Morrison, Rev. James D. 133 
Morrison, Rev. James H. 109 
Morton, Rev. Henry J. 137 
Mudge, Enoch R., Memorials 190 191 
Mulchahey, Rev. Dr. James 105 
Murphy, Rev. R. H. 149 

NEELY, Rev. Henry Adams, Bishop (Maine) 219 

234 249 250 

Nelson, Rev. Henry W. 127 
Neville, Rev. Dr. Edmund 130 132 
Nevins, Rev. Dr. 227 
Newport, R. L, Ancient church at 23 
Newlin, Rev. Dr. Joseph D. 128 
Newton, Rev. W. W. 48 
Nicholls, Rev. Dr. William F. 137 
Nicholson, Rev. Joseph T. 149 
Nicholson, Rev. Dr. William R. 73 
Niles, Rev. William Woodruff, Bishop 195 
Noble, Rev. Mr. (of Milwaukee, Wis.) 207 
Norfolk, Va., Borough of 28 
Norman Gothic no 
Norton, Rev. Dr. F. L. 87 190 
Norton, Rev, George H. 54 
Norton and Craik, Drs., Memorials of 53 
Noted men in civic life, Churchmen 42 43 

OBERLY, Rev. Henry H., M. A. 81 

Odenheimer, Bishop 35 80 
Ogden, Gouverneur Morris, Memorial 176 
Okeson, Nicholas Albertson, Rev. 30 
Old English architecture 132 
"Old Glebe Schoolhouse, The" 45 
"Old Narragansett Church" 15 
" Old Radnor " 19 20 

" Old St. David s," at Radnor (poem) 19 20 
Old Swedes Church, Philadelphia 13 ; at Wil 
mington, Del. 12 
Old-time usages 38 
Oldest church in North America n 



284 



INDEX. 



Oldest place of worship in Boston 21 

Oldest Protestant Church in North America n 

Oliver, Rev. Andrew 108 

Olmstead, Rev. Charles T. 94 96 

Onderdonk, Rev. Dr. H. U., Bishop, 54 112 

Order of St. John the Evangelist 89 

Organ, Largest, in this country 259 

Organ, The Berkeley 24 

Organs in colonial churches 39 

Organ builders : 

Appleton & Warren 55 

Hall & Erben 54 

Hook & Hastings 197 206 210 256 

Hutchings 224 

Hutchins & Plaisted 202 

Jardine & Sons 118 

Odell, J. H. & C. S. 74216 

Roosevelt 130 
Osborne, Louis Shreve 151 
Otis, Rev. George 37 

PACKER Memorial Church, South Bethlehem, 

Penn. 216 217 
Packer Memorials, St. Mark s, Mauch Chunk 

118-120 

Paddock, Rev. Dr. W. F. 162 
Paddock, Bishop (o$ Massachusetts) 165 190 
Page, Rev. Bernard 195 



Page, Rev. Dr. David C. 52 
"Palatine Dutch "236 



Palfrey, Colonel, at Cambridge, Mass. 37 

Pardee, Rev. Amos 84 

Pardee, Rev. Luther 240 

Paret, Rev. William, D.D., Bishop 64 

Parish Churches and Parish Buildings 57 

Parker, Rev. Stevens, D.D. 81 123 

Parker, Bishop (of Massachusetts) 41 

Parkman, Rev. C. M. 127 

Pasteur, James, House built by, from materials 

of old Church 28 

Paterson, Rev. Andrew B., D.D. 88 
Patriotism of American churchmen 41 
Patterson, Rev. Albert C. 94 
Patterson, Rev. Jas. 243 
Patterson, Bishop (of Minnesota) 247 
Pauiding, John, sexton of Christ Church 23 
Pawning articles to build church 13 
Payne, Rev. Dr. William 33 
Peake, Rev. E. S. 113 
Peck, Rev. J. Milton 189 
Peet, Rev. Dr. (of Des Moines, Iowa) 243 
Pendleton, Rev. J. P. B. 33 
Penn, William, his sons churchmen 33 
Perry, Rev. Dr. Gideon B. 162 
Perry, William Stevens, D.D., Bishop 42 146 

198 199 200 
Perry s "History of the American Church" 40 

198 199 200 

Peters, Rev. H. R. 133 
Peters, Rev. Dr. (of Philadelphia) 34 
Phillips, Rev. John W. 254 
Physician, Memorial of a 97 
Pierce, Rev. Henry N., D.D., LL.D., Bishop 

(Arkansas) 76 253 
Pierson, Rev. James W. 253 
Pinkney, Rev. William, Bishop 44 157 160 
Pitkin,"Rev. Dr. Thomas C. 52 56 
Plummer, Rev. George F. 227 
Polk, Rev. Leonidas, S. T. D., Bishop 75; gen 

eral in Confederate army, 268 
Popham colonists in Maine, 10 
Portsmouth Parish, Norfolk, Va. 28 



Potter, Rev. Alonzo, Bishop 32 48 215 217 

Potter, Rev. Dr. Henry C., Bishop 63 87 214 

Potter, Rev. Horatio, Bishop 91 130 215 240 241 

Pratt, Rev. James 151 

Prayer- Book copied by hand 18 

Prescott, Rev. O. H. 25 

Prescott, Rev. O. S. 201 

President of General Convention 53 

" President s Church," Washington 43 

Primitive Churches in Virginia 38 

Prince of Peace Church, Gettysburg, Penn. 227 

228 229 

Procession of dignitaries, A 33 
" Protestant Episcopal Church in the U. S.," 

Origin of 9 

Provoost, Dr. Samuel, Bishop 41 42 60 
Purviance, Rev. C. 127 
Pyne, Rev. C. M. 44 
Pyne, Rev. Smith 133 

QUAKERS at Burlington, N. J. 77; listening out 
side to church service at 26 
Quintard, Right Rev. Dr. C. T. 268 

RADNOR, Penn., Old Church at 19 

Rainsford, Rev. Dr. William S. 140 141 

Raleigh, Sir Walter, at Roanpke Island 9 

Randall, Bishop, memorial window 256 

Randolph, Rev. Dr. (of Alexandria, Va.) 38 

Randolph, Rev. F. L. 113 

Ravenscroft, Rev. John Stark, D.D., Bishop 

(North Carolina) 82 83 

Reculver, Kent, Eng., Rector in America 10 
Reed, Rev. Dr. John 214 
Revere, Paul, Signal lanterns 22 23 
Revolution, War of, effect of, on the Church 41 
Richardson, Rev. W. R. 149 151 
Richmond, Rev. Jas. C. 204 207 
Richmond, Rev. William 204 225 
Rideing, William H. 59 60 
Roads, Samuel, Jun., Marblehead 18 
Roanoke Island, Sir W. Raleigh at 9 
Roberts, Rev. Warren H. 108 
Rodney, Rev. John ito 162 
Romanesque Architecture 90 
Rood-screens 192 
Rottensteins, father and son 148 
Round Church 143 
Rouse, Rev. John H. 100 
Rudder, Rev. Dr. William 51 
Rulison, Rev. Nelson S., D.D. 164 217 
Russell, Rev. Peter 118 
Rylance, Rev. Dr. J. H. 154 162 

SANTA FE, Roman-Catholic Cathedral at n 

Satterlee, Rev. Henry G. 133 

Sayrs, Rev. John J. 214 

Scarborough, Rev. John 144 

Schenck, Rev. Dr. Noah Hunt 112 151 

Schuyler, Rev. Dr. Anthony, 234 

Schuyler, Rev. Dr. Montgomery 262 

Scott, Bishop, Or. 227 

Scott, Right Rev. Thomas Fielding 225 

Scott, Gen. Winfield, Memorial window 44 

" Scribner s Magazine, quotation from 59 

Seabury, Bishop (of Connecticut) 42 

Seabury, Rev- Samuel 213 

Searle, Rev. Addison 133 

Selwood, Rev. John, B.D. 225 

Selwyn, Bishop 247 256 

Senate window, St. Michael s, Marblehead 18 

Seymour, Right Rev. George Frank, D.D. 253 



INDEX. 



2S 5 



Shattuck, Dr. George C. 222 

Shaw, Rev. William 18 

Sheets, Rev. George 67 

Shinn, Rev. Dr. G. W. 146 

Shirass, Rev. Alexander, D.D. 198 , 

Sill, Rev. Frederick S., M. A. 137 

Silvester, Rev. W. W. 233 

Simes, Rev. Snyder B. 14 

Slaughter, Rev. Dr. Philip, quoted 10 

Small wood, Rev. William A. 15! 

Smedes, Rev. Albert 32 

Smith, Rev. Aristides 29 

Smith, Rev. Cornelius B., D.D. 204 

Smith, Captain John 10 

Smith, Rev. William, "Office of Institution" 16 

Smith, Bishop, at Marblehead, Mass. 19 

Smith, Bishop (of Kentucky) 259 

Smith, Dr. (provost Univ. of Pennsylvania) 33 

Snively, Rev. Thaddeus A. 87 

Southgate, Bishop H. 37 200 

Sotithgate, Rev. William S. 91 

Spackman, Rev. Henry S. 67, 89 

Spaulding, Rev. Dr. James F. 36 37 

Spieren, Rev. George H. 214 

Sprague, Col. Homer B., quotation from 113 

St. Andrew s, Ann Arbor, Mich. 121-123 

St. Andrew s, Boston 174-176 

St. Andrew s Brotherhood 96 

St. Andrew s, Jacksonville, Fla. 221 222 

St. Ann s, Brooklyn, N. Y. (the Old and the New) 

110-113 

St. Ann s, Kennebunk, Me. 218 219 
St. Anne s, Annapolis, Md. 90 91 
St. Augustine s Chapel, New York City 179-182 
St. Botolph s, Old Boston, Eng. 173 
St. Bride s Parish, Norfolk, Va. 28 
St. Clement s, Philadelphia 88-90 
St. David s, Radnor, Penn. 19-21 
St. Gaudens, Louis, decorations by 93 130 
St. George s, New York City 138-141 
St. George s, Schenectady, N. Y. 31-33 
St. George s Chapel, New York City 59 61 
St. George s Memorial House 140 141 
St. George s, Newburgh, N. Y. 45-47 
St. Tames , Chicago 151 153-157 
St. James , Philadelphia 137, 138 
St. James , New York City 202-205 
St. John s Cathedral, Denver, Col. 254-257 
St. John s, Cincinnati 72 73 
St. John s, Cohoes, N. Y. 136 137 
St. John s, Detroit, Mich. 97-99 
St. John s, Ogdensburg, N. Y. 133-136 
St. John s, Troy, N. Y. 86-88 
St. John s, Washington, D. C. 42-45 
St. John s, Wilmington, Del. 123 124 
St. John the Evangelist, Order of 201 
St. Luke s Memorial, Bustleton, Penn. 96 97 
St. Luke s Cathedral, Atlanta, Ga. 268-271 
St. Luke s Cathedral, Portland, Me. 249-252 
3t. Luke s, Germantown, Penn. 160-162 
St. Luke s, Lebanon, Penn. 182-186 
St. Luke s, Rochester, N. Y. 54-56 
St. Luke s, San Francisco, Cal. 113-115 
St. Luke s, Smithfield, Va. n 12 
St. Luke s, Washington, D. C. 178 179 
St. Mary s, Burlington, N.J. 77-80; History of 40 
St. Mary s, West Philadelphia 141 142 
St. Mark s Cathedral, Salt Lake City, Utah 247 

^48 249 

St. Mark s, Frankford, Philadelphia 65-68 
St. Mark s, Mauch Chunk, Penn. 118-120 
St Mark s. San Antonio. I ex. 14^-151 



St. Michael s, Marbl :head, Mass. 16-19 

St. Paul s Cathedral, toud du Lac, Wis. 263- 

St. Paul s Cathtdrai Church, Buffalo, N. Y. 2/1 

272 273 

St. Paul s House, Baltimore, Md. 85 
St. Paul s Pro-Cathedral, Springfield, 111. 252 

253 254 

St. Paul s, Baltimore, Md. 85 86 
St. Paul s, Boston 47-49 
St. Paul s, Brookline, Mass. 76 77 
St. Paul s (Old and New) Cincinnati 70-74 
St. Paul s, Cleveland, Ohio, 162-164 
St Paul s, Milwaukee, Wis. 207-210 
St. Paul s, Elizabeth River Parish, Norfolk, Va. 

2831 

St. Paul s, St. Paul, Minn. 88 
St. Paul s, Wickford, R. I. 15 16 
St. Peter and St. Paul, Cathedral of 240 241 
St. Peter s, Albany, N. Y. 91-94 
St. Peter s, Baltimore, Md. 108-110 
St. Peter s, Morristown, N. J. 229 230 
St. Peter s, Philadelphia 33-35 
St. Peter s, Portchester, N. Y. 217 218 
St. Peter s, White House, Va. 14 15 
St. Saviour s, Bar Harbor, Me. 176-178 
St. Stephen s, Lynn, Mass. 190-193 
St. Stephen s, Olean, N. Y. 230-233 
St. Stephen s, Philadelphia 49-52 
St. Stephen s, Providence, R. I. 99-103 
St. Stephen s, Wilkes-Barre, Penn. 195-198 
St. Thomas , Hanover, N. H. 168-170 
St. Thomas , New York City 129-132 
Stanley, Rev. Henry 157 
Stanton, Edwin M. 179; occupied Jefferson 

Davis pew 64 

Starkey, Rev. Dr., Bishop 64 
Steenstra, Rev. Dr. P. H. 146 
Steinhauser Memorial Sculptmes 41 50 
Stent, Edward J. N. & Co., Decorations by 118 

162 198 
Stevens, Right Rev. William Bacon, D.D. 118 

129 142 187 198 

Stewart, A. T., Memorial Church 257-259 
Stockton, Louise, quoted 26 33 
Stone, Rev. Dr. (of St. Paul s, Boston) 48 
Storrs, Rev. Leonard K. 77 
Stoy, Rev. William, B. D. 225 
Street, Rev. G. C. 240 
Stringfellow, Rev. Dr. 157 
Sullivan, Rev. Dr. Edward 151 
Surplice and gown, Black 33 39 
Suter, Rev. Henderson 38 
Swedes Church, Old, at Wilmington, Del. 12; 

at Philadelphia 13 
Swope, Rev. Cornelius E. 144 151 
" Sylvan City, A," Extract from 33 

TAI.BOT and Keith, missionaries 77 78 79 

Taylor, Rev. Charles C. 122 

Taylor, Rev. Frederick William 254 

Taylor, Rev. John (" Father Taylor ") 143 

Taylor, Rev. Dr. Thomas H. 63 

Taylor. President Zachary 44 

Thomas, Rev. Ehsha T.,"D.D. 88 

Thompson, Rev. Hugh Miller, S. T. D., LL.D., 

Bishop 76 156 

Thompson, Rev. William 143 
Tibbs, Rev. William 85 
Tiffany Glass Co. 210 
Tobacco paid for church 15; clergyman paid in 



236 



INDEX. 



Todd, Rev. Charles I. 133 

Todd, Mary, Marriage to Abraham Lincoln 253 

Tolman, Rev. Marcus Alden 118 120 

Tracv, Charles, Memorial 141 

Trafford, Cornelius R., Cliimes 115 

J ransfiguration, Church of the, New York City 

68-71 

Treat, Hon. S. H., church- warden 52 years 252 
Tremayne, Rev. Francis 133 
Trinity Cathedral, Omaha, Neb. 243-247 
Trinity House, Boston 174 
Trinity House, Chicago 153 
Trinity Parish, Portland, Ore. 225-227 
Trinity, Boston 170-176; tower of (illus.) 9 
Trinity, Buffalo, N. Y. 219 220 
Trinity, Chicago, 111. 109 151-153 
Trinity, New Orleans 74 
Trinity, New York City 57 105 139 140 176 179 

249 263 ; spire of (illustration) 9 
Trinity, Newport, R. I. 23 
Trinity, Oxford, Penn. 67 
Trinity, Pittsburgh, Penn. 143 
Trinity, Toledo, Q. 103 
Troops quartered in a church 36 
Truro Parish, Virginia 37 
Tucker, Rev. Beverly 30 
Tucker, Rev. Joseph L. 234 
"Tucker s Hymnal" 86 
Tuttle, Right Rev. D. S. 248 
Tyler, President John A. 44 
Tyng, Rev. Stephen H., D.D. 140 
Tyng, Dr. S. H., Jun. 106 

UNION College, Schenectady, N. Y. 31 32 

Unitarian Society, King s Chapel 40 

Upfold, Rev. George, D.D., Bishop (Indiana) 132 

Upjohn, Rev. Dr. S. 161 

VAIL, Rev. Thomas H., Bishop 37 165 

Van Antwerp, Rev. William H. 243 245 

Van Buren, President Martin 44 

Van Deusen, Rev. Edwin M. 94 

Van Rensselaer, Hon. Henry, Liberality of 133 

Vandyck, Rev. Henry 214 

Ventilation, Unique mode of 150 

Vesey, Rev. William 58 

Vestryman, Washington a 37 

Vibbert, Rev. Dr. William H. 157 161 

Vinton, Rev. Dr., Influence in Boston 48 49 

Vinton, Rev. Alexander H., D. D. 100 168 

Vinton, Rev. Francis, D.D. 25 too 

" Virginia, Old Churches and Old Families in " 

(Bishop Meade) 40 
Virginia, Primitive churches in 38 

WADLEIGH, Rev. A. 161 

Wagner, Rev. E. A. 149 

Wainwright, Rev. Dr. J. M., Bishop 63 173 

Walbridge, Rev. H. B. 104 105 

WaldeiCRev. Treadwell 48 

Walke, Rev. Lewis 29 

Walker, Rev. W. F. 151 154 

Walker, Rev. Dr. 38 

Walsh, Rev. Dr. Georsre H. 87 

Ward, Rev. Charles William 101 

Ward, Rev. John 259 

Ward, Rev. Julius H. IQ 

Warren, Rev. E. Walpole, a " missioner " 106 

Warren, Dr. Joseph, and Paul Revere 22 

Washburn, Rev. Edward A. 133 

" Washington Estate, The " 14 



Washington, George, Marriage of 14 15; wor 
shipped at Christ Church, Philadelphia 26; 
letter to, from Rev. Mr. Duche 34 ; at Cam 
bridge 36 ; vestryman and pew-owner, 
Christ Church, Alexandria, Va. 37 38; me 
morial tablet 38; at Morristown, N. J. 229 

Washington, Martha 14 15 37 

Waterman, Rev. Henry 100 101 102 

Watkins, Rev. W. F.,D.D. 64 

Watson, Rev. Dr. Benjamin 56 234 

Watson, Rev. George W. 243 

Watson, Rev. J. Henry 127 

Wayne, " Mad Anthony" 19 20 

Webster, Daniel, on building-committee 47 

Week-day visitors to Grace Church, New York 63 

Weeks, Rev. J. W. 18 

Welsh, Mr. and Mrs. William 67 

Welton, Rev. A. W. 54 121 

West, Rev. John 243 

West, Rev. Dr. William 85 

Wharton, Rev. Dr. 80 

Wheaton, Rev. Homer 214 

Wheaton, Rev. Salmon 25 

Wheeler, Charles, Memorial cross 187 188 

Whetmore, Rev. Robert 32 

Whipple, Right Rev. Henry B., D.D., LL. D. 
88241 242 

Whitaker, Right Rev. O. W., Bishop 233 

White, Rev. Dr. I. P. 25 

White, Rev. William, D.D., Bishop 26 28 34 35 
41 42 49 137 142 143 144 196 

White House, Va. 14 15 

Whitehouse, Rev. Henry J., D.D., Bishop 56 
130 132 151 152 240 

Whitney, S. B., organist 200 

Whittingham, Bishop 85 86 

" VVicaco Church, At the " 13 

Wilkinson, Rev. John 240 

Wickford, R. I., Old church near 15 

William and Mary, Altar vessels given by 37 

William, Mrs. James Watson 94 96 

Williams, Mr. and Mrs. George, Memorial 128 129 

Williams, Rev. Prof. George P. 122 

Willirms, Rev. John, Bishop 33 37 

Williams, Rev. Dr. W. C. 270 

Wilmer, Rev. Joseph P. B., D.D., Bishop 75 

Wilmington, Del., Old church at 12 

Wilson the ornithologist 14 

Windows, Memorial 18 19 75 88 212 

Wines, Rev. C. M. 164 

Wingate, Rev. C. J. 270 

Witherspoon, Rev. Orlando 73 

Wolfe, Miss Catharine L. 62 150 243 

Wolfe, John David 243 

Wood, Mr., organist 52 

Woodward Memorial 198 

Worcester, Dean of, Inscription by 166 

Workingman s Church, The 66 

Work-rooms, St. Augustine s, New York 182 

Worthington, Rev. George, D.D., Bishop 99 243 

Wren, Sir Christopher 21 

Wright, Rev. George no 

Wright, Rev. John 88 

Wright, Rev. William Edgar 238 

W T yatt, Rev. Dr. William E. 85 

" Wyoming Parish " 195 

YARNALL, Rev. Dr. Thomas C. 142 

Yellow fever at Norfolk, Va. 29; in New York 202 

Young, Bishop. Memorial Church 221 222 

ZEIGENFUSS, Ven. Archdeacon Henry L. ?. 4 



wife 



Date Due 









i 
I 


1 






^k 


feS 








i 

rr*