(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Landmarks of Canada : what art has done for Canadian history : a guide to the J. Ross Robertson Historical Collection in the Public Reference Library, Toronto, Canada"




-.ry 






LANDMARKS OF CANADA 



WHAT ART HAS DONE 
FOR CANADIAN HISTORY 



A GUIDE TO THE 



J. ROSS ROBERTSON 

HISTORICAL COLLECTION 



IN THE i 

PUBLIC REFERENCE LIBRARY 

TORONTO, CANADA 

r Voi. { -^ 

THIS CATALOGUE OF THE COLLECTION COVERS THREE THOUSAND 

SEVEN HUNDRED ILLUSTRATIONS AND INCLUDES ORIGINALS 

AND REPRODUCTIONS IN EVERY FORM OF ART OF ALL 

KNOWN PICTURES IN CONNECTION WITH CANADIAN 

HISTORY FROM THE LANDING OF WOLFE AT 

LOUISBURG IN 1758 TO THE PRESENT TIME. 



PRESENTED TO THE TRUSTEES OF THE PUBLIC LIBRARY 

BY J. ROSS ROBERTSON 



TORONTO, 

DECEMBER, 1917 





CONTENTS OF THIS VOLUME 



THIS COLLECTION, IN THE LOWER ART ROOM OF THE 
REFERENCE LIBRARY, COLLEGE ST., COMPRISES PAINTINGS, 
ENGRAVINGS, PORTRAITS, PRINTS, ETC., IN MEZZOTINT, 
LINE AND STIPPLE, BY AND AFTER PAINTERS AND EN- 
GRAVERS OF THE ENGLISH SCHOOL, WITH WATER COLORS, 
PASTELS, PENCIL, SEPIA AND WASH DRAWINGS, PEN AND 
INK SKETCHES, LITHOGRAPHS AND AQUATINTS BY WELL- 
KNOWN BRITISH AND CANADIAN ARTISTS ON SUBJECTS 
RELATING TO CANADA AND NEWFOUNDLAND WITH VIEWS 
OF NOTED LANDMARKS OF ALL PRINCIPAL CITIES AND 
TOWNS FROM THE ATLANTIC TO THE PACIFIC, AND PAR- 
TICULARLY THE LANDMARKS OF THE TOWN OF YORK, 
NOW TORONTO, THE CAPITAL OF ONTARIO. 



THE OVERFLOW OF THE HISTORICAL COLLECTION, CON- 
SISTING OF ABOUT ONE THOUSAND HISTORICAL PICTURES, 
NOT YET CATALOGUED, IS ON EXHIBITION IN THE UPPER 
ART ROOMS OF THE LIBRARY. IN THESE ROOMS MAY BE 
SEEN ALSO THE J. ROSS ROBERTSON ORNITHOLOGICAL COL- 
LECTION, EMBRACING THE POPE COLLECTION OF TWO 
HUNDRED AND TWENTY EXAMPLES IN WATER COLOR AND 
ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-FIVE PICTURES OF A SPECIAL 
COLLECTION ALL OF CANADIAN BIRDS. 



CONDITION FOR COPYING 

ANY OF THE PICTURES IN THE COLLECTIONS MAY BE 
COPIED ON CONDITION THAT PERMISSION IS GRANTED BY 
THE CHIEF LIBRARIAN AND THAT EACH REPRODUCTION IS 
CREDITED TO THE " J. ROSS ROBERTSON HISTORICAL COL- 
LECTION, PUBLIC LIBRARY, TORONTO." 



INTRODUCTORY 



In a young country, where the struggle for existence seems to be only 
too soon followed by the struggle for the mighty dollar, we are but little 
concerned with history. 

History is supposed to be the work of the teachers, the professors in 
the universities, the antiquarians and archivists. And yet, how are we to 
understand ourselves and our position as a nation unless there are pre- 
served the evidences of our growth and of the struggles of our fathers to 
the end that a strong nation might be established? And these evidences 
of struggle and growth, so eagerly sought after and so carefully preserved 
by 'the older nations of the world, are not revealed in books, but in repro- 
ductions of scenes of the times. These prints tell a story, by the side of 
which the printed word is cold and dead, and to see the faces of the men 
who accomplished great things for our country, and to see the pictures of 
the houses in which they lived and worked, and of the villages and towns 
as they were in those times, gives us a thrill of "ancestor worship" which 
a discovery in Debrett could never produce. 

The Dominion Government has recognized the necessity for the con- 
servation and preservation of historical documents by the establishment of 
the Archives Department, which is doing a work too little recognized. This 
is a great storehouse of national history, but it has the disadvantages of a 
storehouse in that its treasures cannot be accessible to all. 

Here and there in our country are persons who collect this historical 
material as an avocation or hobby, and among these stands pre-eminently 
Mr. J. Ross Robertson, whose interest in this intellectual pleasure is known 
to collectors the world over. Mr. Robertson believed that the value of 
such material lay, not in the hoarding of it, the mere possession of it, but 
in allowing all those who had similar interests to share in the pleasure of 
looking at and enjoying these illustrations of the age that has gone. 

The value in money expended on this collection is very considerable, 
as those know who are in the market for such illustrations as are trea- 
sured in this collection. These are exceedingly hard to obtain, and there 
are at least one hundred important exhibits in this collection which have 
not been on the London market in complete form for over twenty years, 
and dealers do not know where to look for them. 

The collection is impressive even to the man who thinks in dollars; 
it ^interesting to those who find in it scenes and persons familiar to them 
and recalling the early days of Canada; it is illuminating to the student 
of our history; but, above all, it is the national character of the collection 
that awakens the deepest emotions that here is the history of a young 
nation, the background of men and events which have brought us to this 
critical period in the world's history, and have made us active participators 
in the solution of a great world problem and crisis. 

To the boy and girl at school; to the young man and woman at college, 
whose knowledge of Canadian history is but an acquaintance with the dry 
details of a text-book; to the elderly man and woman, who can remember 
some of the people and some of the scenes depicted; and even to the people 
from other lands who have adopted this country as their home, and wish 
to know something of its history to all these the J. Ross Robertson 
Historical Collection will be a means of education as well as recreation, 
and the name of the donor will live in everlasting remembrance for this 
practical, local and national gift to the city of Toronto. 



The history of this collection is very interesting. In a letter to the 
Public Library Board in 1910, Mr. Robertson stated that for many years 
he had been collecting examples of the history of Canada from 1758 up to 
the present time as exhibits in pictorial form, and that he was anxious that 
the public should have the benefit of it. He knew of no more fitting place 
than the Public Library, and informed the Board that he was willing to 
instal this collection, and, eventually, to give to the Board another collec- 
tion of Canadian prints and photos contained in portfolios in his private 
library, numbering about 15,000 pieces, to be held by the Board in 
trust for the people of Canada. The only condition made by Mr. 
Robertson was that the pictures should be placed in a suitable room,, with 
skilled attendants, covered by insurance, catalogued, and that they should 
not be loaned to any person or persons, or removed from the Library 
building on College street. The collection was to be known as the "J. Ross 
Robertson Historical Collection," and if any one wished to copy a picture 
of the collection this might be done only on condition that permission to do 
so was obtained from the Librarian, and that the collection was given due 
credit on each copy of a picture made, or if published in book or other 
form, each reproduction should be credited to the collection. 

The formal opening took place 29th January, 1912. The collection at 
that time comprised 560 pictures, for these were all that were ready 
for hanging. Since then the growth has been marvellous, and to- 
day (1917) there are 3,700 pictures in the art room. Indeed, it is the 
largest collection of Canadian pictures gathered by any one person, and 
that a private person, and in many respects compares favorably with the 
sollection accumulated by Dr. Doughty, in the Dominion Archives at Ottawa. 

What might be called the central figure is the magnificent oil portrait 
of Governor Simcoe, by E. Wyly GrieT, showing the General in the uniform 
he wore during the time that he was Lieutenant-Governor (1792-6). It 
was fitting that this portrait should be unveiled by Sir John M. Gibson, 
Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario, when this collection was opened. 

A unique feature is the reproduction of about ninety pen and pencil 
drawings and water colors, made by Mrs. Simcoe. Were it not for the 
gifted hand of the wife of our first Governor, we would never have had the 
faithful pictures of places and scenes in Upper and Lower Canada from 
1791-6, nor of the early days of the Toronto, Niagara and Kingston settle- 
ments that were then, and are now, important places in the history of the 
Province of Upper Canada. 

The collection has been made up by levying upon practically all the 
print shops of the world, and while it covers all Canada it is particularly 
rich in the illustrations of Toronto and vicinity. This, of course can be 
well understood when one remembers that Mr. Robertson is a native of 
Toronto, and during his whole life has devoted a great deal of his wonder- 
ergy towards building up institutional work within the city. 

iI iS rfW 1 ?* 110 ^ 1 Gallery of Canada, where the pictures tell the 
stories and link together the men and events so that one can see the evolu- 
?*f I ^ T - h ! S is the visualiz ation of history, and is an endowment 
* f tO ' day Wh wil1 have an hi storical background to 
Perspective the national problems that will 



This is the outcome of the hobby of a great man. Hobbies are inci- 
th. nK, eal great " ess ' and whe these hobbies are socialized and applied 
e public good they are the greatest legacy one can leave to mankind 

GEO. H. LOCKE, 
December, 1917. Ch|ef Librarian< 



PORTRAITS 



Alderdice, D., Janitor U.C.C.... 3681 
Alderdice, .&.. Janitor U.C.C... 3680 
Alexander J. M., P. St. And. S. 980 
Alexander, Sir Wm., Colonizer 58 
Alexander, W., Pres. Stock Ex. 1080 
Allan, G. W., Mayor, Tor... 373, 956 
Allan, Hon. Wm., P.M., 610, 941 3541 

Allan, Mrs. Wm 595 

Allen, G. L., Chief Constable.. 777 
Allen, J. C., at Louisburg, 1758. 29 

Allen, Dr., M.O.H., Toronto 3223 

Allworth, J., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1029 
Ames, A. E., Pres. Stock Ex.'. . . . 1096 
Amherst, Gen. J., Gov. Can., 1691 3389 
Andrews, Capt. Lake Ont. Fleet 166* 
Arbuthnot, AdmL, Am. Station 3386 
Ardagh, R., Chief Fire Brigade. 3189 

Argyll, Duke of 155 

Armstrong, Sir R., Com. Forces 138 

Armstrong, Wm., C.E 649, 1116 

Arnold,, Col., at Quebec.. 1717, 1719 
Arthur, Sir G., Lt.-Gov. U.C.... 420 
Arthurs, Wm., P. St. And's Soc. 948 
Ashburton, Baron, Statesman. . 1721 
Ashfield, J., Engineer Fire Brig. 3188 
Auden, H. W., Principal U.C.C. 3657 
Austin, A. W., Pres. Con. Gas Co. 631 
Austin, Jas., Pres. Con. Gas Co. 627 

B 

Bagot, Sir C., Gov.-Gen. Canada 156 

Baigent, R., Master U.C.C 3699 

Bain, J., Ch. Librarian Tor., 645 977 
Baines, W. J., Pres. Stock Ex. . 1091 
Baker (Prof.) A., Master U.C.C. 3648 
Baldwin, Morgan, Harbor Mast. 592 
Baldwin, Hon. R.. 269,271,461, 1050 
Baldwin, W. W., U.C. Law Soc. 268 
Barber, G. A., Master U.C.C... 3687 
Barclay, Rev. J., Toronto, 2512, 3533 
Barclay, Rev. John, Kingston. 1204 

Barclay, Rev. Peter, Kettle 1205 

Barclay, Capt., Gt. Lakes 1201-3 

Barre, Rt. Hon., Adjt.-Genl . . . . 1711 
Barrett, Dr. M., Master U.C.C.. 3661 

Barrington, Adml. S 1681 

Barron, F. W., Principal U.C.C. 3651 

Bartlett, W. H.. Illustrator 1753 

Bayfield, Adml., Sur. Gt. Lakes 1666 
Baynes, Col., Mil. Sec. to Brock 1224 
Beachall, Jas., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1024 
Beard, J. G., Mayor, Toronto.. 372 



Beard, R., Engineer Fire Brig. 3187 
Beardmore, G. W., P. St. Geo. S. 1034 

Beatj*, J., Mayor, Toronto 385 

Beaty, J. W., Pres. Stock Ex.. 1095 

Beaty, R., Pres. Stock Ex 1088 

Begbie, Sir M. B., Judge, B.C.. 2751 
Begon, M., Intend. New France 1639 
Beikie, J., Sher. Home Dist 10, 897 
Bennett, J. H., City Engineer. . 2787 

Belford, Chas., Journalist 492 

Berczy, C. A., Postmaster. . . 612, 623 

Berthon, G. T., Artist 1142 

Bethune, Donald, Rl. Mail Line 1077 
Bertram, J. H., Coll. Customs. 3553 

Bidwell, M. S., M.L.A., U.C 1395 

Biggar, C. R. W., City Sol 3230 

Bilton, G., Pres, St. Geo. Soc.. 1005 

Black, Rev. Armstrong 3536 

Blackstock, J., 'Master U.C.C. . . 3686 
Blaikie, J. L., Pres. Con. Gas Co. 630 

Blevins, John, City Clerk 755 

Bolton, Duchess of 2100 

Boomer, Geo., Magistrate 601 

Booth, "Gen.," Founder S. Army 247 
Booth, Thos., City Engineer.. 2785 

Borden, Sir R. L., Premier 1610 

Bonnycastle, Sir R. H,, R.E... 460 
Boscawen, Adml., at Louisburg 1708 
Bosse, F. X., Apostolic Prefect 329 
Boswell, A. R., Mayor, Toronto 387 
Bouchette, Lt.-Col. J., Surveyor 215 
Bouchette, R. S. M., Com. Cus. 214 
Boulton, Rev. W., Master U.C.C. 3646 
Boulton, W. H., Mayor, Toronto 370 
Boulton, W. S., Civil Engineer. 3530 
Bourget, I., Bp. Montreal.. 321, 2827 
Bourinot, Sir J., Clk. Hse. Com. 3421 
Bowe.3, J. G., Mayor, Toronto. . 371 
Boyd, W. T., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1028 
Boys. Dr. Henry, Bursar, U.C.C. 3669 
Bradburne, E.. Pres. Stock Ex. 1082 

Bradshaw, T., City Treas 3559 

Brant, Jos., Capt 158-9, 1673-4 

Brant, Capt. J., Son Jos. Brant 1678 
Breboeuf, Jean de, Missionary. 1633 

Breynton, Rev. J., Halifax 2525 

Brock, Sir Isaac 410, 1225, 1690 

Brock, H., Master U.C.C 3692 

Broke, Sir P. B. V., of Shannon 1170 
Brough, R. J., City Engineer. . . 2790 

Brough, Judge Seeker 482 

Bro-use, W. H., Pres. Stock Ex. 1103 
Brown, Hon. Geo. . . . 475, 969, 3385 
Brown, Jas., Master U.CX) 3676 



VI. 



INDEX TO PORTRAITS. 



Brown, J. G., Liberal writer... 474 
Brown, Dr. J. N. E., Gen. Hos.. 621 
Brown, Peter, Father Hon. Geo. 294 

Brown, Mrs. Peter 295 

Brown, Thos., Pres. St. Geo. S. 1007 

Brown, Rev. T. Crawford 3537 

Browne, J., Pres. Stock Ex 1085 

Browne, Jas., Wharfinger 1143 

Browne, J. O., Dep. Prov. Sur.. 749 

Brunei, A., City Engineer 2786 

Buchan, David Bursar, U.C.C.. 3670 
Buchan, John, Principal U.C.C.. 3654 
Buchanan. Isaac, Merchant 942 1413 
Buchanan, J. O., Pres. Stock Ex. 1102 
Buller, Chas., Sec. Lord Durham 2734 

Burgess, Colin, Minstrel 893 

Burnett, Rev. R., Hamilton 2771 

Burns, Rev. R., Toronto 2514, 3523 
Burritt, A. P., Pres. Stock Ex.. IIOJ 
Bury, Viscount, Supt. Ind. Aff. 132 
Butler, Col. J., Butler's Rangers 1228 
By, Lt.-Col. J., Founder Ottawa 1391 

By, Mrs. John '. 1392 

Byron, Adml., Gov. Nfld 3384 

C 

Cameron, Col. Dune., York Mills 467 
Cameron, J., Commercial Bk. 583, 944 

Cameron, Mrs. John 584 

Cameron, Hon. J. H., St. And. S. 955 

Campbell, Sir A., Lt.-Gov 426 

Campbell, *J. L., Pres. Stock Ex. 1098 
Canniff, Dr., M.O.H. Toronto... 3222 
Capreol, F. C., O.S. & Huron Ry. 1113 
Carfrae, T., Coll. Customs 3543, 3604 

Carleton (Dorchester), Gov 3315 

Carnochan, Miss J., Niagara . . 1222 
Carpmael, C., Tor. Observatory 1067 
Carr, J., Mayor.. 378, 591, 752. 3513 
Cartier, Sir. Geo. E., Prov. Sec. 81 
Cartier, Jacques, Discoverer . . 1706 
Cartwright, Sir R., Min. of Fin. 1621 
Cassels, A., Pres. St. And's Soc. 964 
Cassels, R., Pres. St. And's Soc. 971 
Cassels, W. G., Pres. Stock Ex. 1084 
Cassels, W. G., Pres. Stock Ex. 1093 

Caswell, T., City Solicitor 3231 

Cathcart, Earl, Gov.-Gen 1606 

Cattenach, A. J., P. St. And. S. 953 
Caughey, Rev. J., Evangelist.. 2505 
Caven, Rev. Wm., Prin. Knox C. 3218 
Cayley, Rev. J. D., Toronto . . . 2518 
Chambers, C. E., Com. Parks. . 3585 

Chambers, J., Com. Parks 3583 

Champion, T., Merchant, Toronto 1136 

Champlain, Funder Quebec 1641 

Charbonnel, Rt. Rev., Bp. . 249, 2535 
Chauncey, Com. Capture York. 1147 
Checkley, Rev. F., Master U.C.C. 3679 



Cherriman, Prof., Tor. Obse-rv. 1065 

Chisholm, D., City Com 3517 

Chisholm, W. C., City Sol 3232 

Church, T. L., Mayor, Toronto. . 400 
Clark, Dr. D., Pres. St. And. S. 962 
Clark, Dr. E., Supt. Gen. Hos.. . 616 
Clark, Sir W. M., Lt.-Gov. 429, 967 

Clark, Lady 455 

Clarke, Sir A. Lt.-Gov. L.C.... 1718 
Clarke, Col., Cl. Assembly, Ont 3413 
Clarke, Dr., Supt. Gen. Hos.... 622 
Clarke, E. F., Mayor, Toronto. . 389 
Clarkson, T., Merchant, Toronto 792 
Clement, Mrs. John, Niagara.. 1249 
Clench, Lt.-Col., Judge, Niagara 2774 

Coady* R. T., City Treas 3557 

Coatsworth, E., Sr., City Com.. 3514 
Coatsworth, E., Mayor, Tor... 396 

Cockburn, G. R. R 629,966, 3653 

Cody, Rev. H. J., Toronto 2524 

Coffin, Sir I., Com. Navy Halifax 1729 

Colbert, J. B., Statesman 1699 

Colborne (Lord Seaton) 160, 417, 834 

Cole, Mrs. F. C., 3269 

Collier, Adml. Sir George 3319 

Collier, Lady (Elizabeth Fryer) 3320 

Conde, Prince de, Viceroy 1653 

Connaught, Duke of, Gov.-Gen. 169 
Connon, C. W., Master U.C.C... 3693 

Connor, Skeffington, Judge 634 

Cook, Capt, Explorer 1640 

Cooper, J., Pres. St. Geo. Soc.. 1010 
Copp, J. C., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1020 
Cornwallis, Hon. E., Fdr. Halifax 2193 
Cosby, A. M., Pres. St. And. Soc. 965 

Cosby, Adml. Phillips 2749 

Cotton, Major-Gen. Wm. H 609 

Cottrell, Mrs,, Shopkpr, Toronto 3696 
Cox, Hon. G. A., Pres. Can. Life 3605 

Craig, Sir Jas., Gov.-Gen 1605 

Crawford, Isabella V., Poetess 2742 
Crawford, Hon. J. W., Lt.-Gov./ 423 

Crease, Gen. A. R. V., R.E 3609 

Crickmore, J., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 991 
Crombie, M. C., Prin. Gram. S.. 2807 
Cronyn, Rt. Rev. B., Bp. Huron 2508 

Crooks, Hon. J., Legislator 1234 

Crookshank, G., Dep. Com Gen. 598 
Crookshank, Miss Rachel, York 307 
Cumberland, F. Barlow. . 1031, 3712 

Cumberland, K W 1004, 3711 

Cunard, Sir S., F. Steamship Co, 2738 
Cuningham, G. C., City Engineer 2793 

D 

Dade, Rev. C., Master U.C.C... 3662 

Dalhousie, Earl, Gov.-Gen 174 

Daly, Chas., City Clerk 751 

Daly, Sir D., Prov. Sec. L.C... 30 



INDEX TO PORTRAITS. 



VII. 



Damville due, Viceroy 1638 

Darling, Sir C., Gov. Nfld 37 

Darling, Rev. W. S., Toronto.. 2507 

Davidson, Lieut-Col. J. 1 978 

Daville, F. T., Sheriff York... 903 

Davison, Alex., of Quebec 171 

Day, J. E., Pres. St. Geo. Soc.. . 995 
Des Barres, Rev. T. C., Toronto 2523 
D'Estrades, Comte, Viceroy . . . 1646 

D'Estrees, Comte, Viceroy 1645 

De Gaspe, P. A., Author 1657 

De la Haye, J., Master U.C.C.. . 3658 

De Longueuil, Baroness 3281 

De Longueuil, Baroness 3280 

De Rottenburg, Baron 1688 

De Salaberry, Col 77 

De Salaberry, I.M.L.A 75 

De Salaberry, Madame 76 

De Soissons, Comte, Viceroy . . 1654 
Delorme, L., Clk. Assembly, Que. 3425 
Denison, Lieut.-Col., "Bellevue" 486 
Denison, Col., Magistrate... 485, 603 
Denison, Col. G. T., "Rusholme" 494 

Denison, Capt. J., York 493 

Denison, Lt.-Col. R. B 607 

Denison, Sir W. T., Engineer. . 173 
Desjardins, L. G., Clk. Assm., Q. 3426 

Dick, Capt. J., Mariner 3603 

Dick, Capt. Thos., Mariner 633 

Dickson, Geo., Prin. U.C. 3655 

Dickson, Hon. Wm., M.L.C., U.C. 1248 

Dodd, John, Master TJ.C.C 3701 

Dodgson, R., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1023 

Dorchester, Lady 3316 

Dorion, Sir A. A., Min. of Jus.. 2743 
Douglas, J., Coll. of Customs.. 3550 
Draper, Maj. F. C., Ch Constable 780 
Draper, Hon. W. H., P. St. G. S. 986 

Dray ton, H. L. (Sir) 3207 

Drayton, P. H., P. St. Geo. Soc. 999 
Drummond, Rev. D. R., Hamilton 2770 
Drummond, Sir G., Pres. U.C... 412 
Duckworth, Adml., Gov. Nfld... 2305 
Duggan, Hon. Geo., Recorder.. 313 
Duhamel, Mgr. J. T., Archbp.. 320 
Dumoulin, Rev. J. P., Bp. Niagara 320! 
Duncombe, Dr. C., Reform Ldr. 20 
Dunlop, Dr. W. of Canada Co.. . 3612 
Dunn, Col. A. R., at Balaclava. . 341 
Dunn, Hon. J. H., Rec.-G. U.C. 24, 244 

Durham, Earl, Gov.-Gen 1612 

Durnan, G., Lighthouse Toronto 4'76 

Durie, Lieut.-Col. W, S 60 

Dwight, H. P., Pres.. G.N.W. Tel. 201 



Eakin, Rev. T., St. And. Ch., Tor. 3638 
Eastwood, J., Fndr Todmorden. 361 
Edwards. Adml., Gov. Nfld.. . 225 



dwards, R., Sec. Mech. Inst.. 360 

Elgin, Earl, Gov.-Gen 172, 1600 

Elliot, R. W., P. St. Geo. Soc... 1032 
Esson, Rev. H., Prof. Knox Coll 3418 
3vans, G. M., Master UjC.C. . . 3674 
Ewart, J., Pres. St. And. Soc.. 957 



rabre, Mgr., Archbp. Montreal 319 

Falconbridge, Sir G., C.J 301 

Fergusson, G. T., P. Stock Ex. 1097 

itzgibbon, Col. Jas 1217,3406 

Fleming, J., Prov. Land Sur... 3590 

Meming, R. J., M'y'r, Tor. 390, 3)515, 71 
Fleming, Sir S. Engineer. 2748, 2826 
Flint, T. B., Clerk Hse. Com... 3422 
Forbes, H. R., Pres. Stock Ex.. 1089 

Forman, J. C., Assess. Com 3572 

Forster, Mrs., Toronto. . . 1124, 1139 
Fothergill, C., Pub. U.C. Gazette 3710 
Fotheringham, J. T., U.C.C. . . 3706 
Frankland, H. R., P. St. Geo. S. 1038 

Franklin, Sir. J., Explorer 21 

Fraser, Gen. Simon, Quebec, 1T&9 126 

Fraser, Simon, Explorer 2750 

Fraser, W. H., Master U.C.C.. . 3691 
Freeland, E. B., Pres. Stock Ex. 1105 
Freeland, P., Chandler, Toronto 597 
Frobisher, J., Fdr. N.W. Co. ... 2408 
Frobisher, Sir M., Navigator.. 1658 
Frontenac, Sister of Count de. 1728 

Frost, Geo., Janitor U.C.C 3683 

Fulford, Rev., Bp. Montreal.... 72 
Fuller, Rev. T. B., Bp Niagara. 2517 
Fullerton, J. S., Corp. Counsel. 3206 
Furrer E., Master U.O.O. 3702 



Gale, Rev. A., Hamilton.. 245, 2797 
Galissonniere, Comte de la 1634, 1644 
Gait, Sir A. T., Min. of Finance 2733 

Gait, John, Founder, Guelph 2741 

Gambier, Adml., Gov. Nlfd 2296 

Gamble, Mrs. John 791 

Gamble, J. Clark, City Sol. 2818, 3227 
Gander, J. M., Pres. St. Geo. S. 1035 
Gandier, Rev. A., Prin. Knox C. 3220 
Gardiner, Dr. C., Supt. Gen. H. 617 
Garneau, F. X., Can. Historian 1622 

Garrett, Lieut., 49th Regt 3364 

Geary, G. R., Mayor 398, 3208 

Geoffrion, L. P., Cl. Assm., Que. 3427 

George V., H. M 2009 

Gibson, Sir J. M., Lt.-Gov. Ont. 430 
Gilbert, Sir H., Colonist, N.A. . 54 
Gilkison, Capt., Fndr. Elora. . 1393-4 

Gill, Jas., Master U.C 3703 

Gillmor, Col., Cl. Assm., Ont... 3412 
Givins, G. E., son of Col. Givins 632 



VIII. 



INDEX TO PORTRAITS. 



Givins, Col. Supt. Ind. Aff. 1663-1671 
Givins, Miss M. A. A., of Toronto 3574 
Givins, Rev. S., St. Paul's, Tor. 2522 

Gooderham, Geo., Toronto 1048 

Gooderham, G. H., P. St. Geo. S. 1017 
Gooderham, Wm., sr., Toronto. 1046 
Gooderham, Wm., jr., Philantrpst 1047 
Goodwin, Lt.-Col. Fencing Master 647 
Gordon, Sir A., Lt.-Gov. N.B. . . 2223 
Gordon, D. G., Master U.C.C... 3707 
Gordon, J., Pres. St. And. Soc. 975 
Gore Lt.-Gov. U..C....362, 409, 1669 

Gosfbrd, Earl of. Gov.-Gen 1627 

Gowan, Ogle R 596 

Graham J., Pres. St. And. Soc. 9&2 
Graham, T., Fire Chief, Toronto 3190 
Granger, F. H., Scenic Artist.. 771 
Grant, Hon. A., Admin. U.C. 181, 408 
Grant. G. Monro, Prin. Queen's 2757 
Grant, Sir Wm., Atty.-Gen., Que. 170 
Grasett, Rev. H. J., Toronto 275, 3200 
Grasett, Lt.-Col., Chief Constable 781 
Gray, J., Pres-. Bk. Montreal... 3631 
Green, Rev. A., Pres. Can. Conf. 254 

Grey, Earl, Gov.-Gen 149 

Grey, Sir C., Com.-in-Chief 147 

Grey, C., Brit. Prime Minister. 151 

Grey, Sir C., Canada, 1839 150 

Grey, Rt. Hon. H., Under-Secy. 148 
Gurnett, Geo., Mayor, Tor... 366, 600 

Gwillim, Lt.-Col 3276 

Gzowski, C. S., Pres. Stock Ex. 1094 



Haliburton, Judge 2211, 2746 

Hamilton, A., York Pioneers.. 785 
Hamilton, G., Fndr. Hamilton. 3415 

Hamilton, Hon. R., Niagara 1306 

Hammond, Sir A. S., Gov. N.S. 2166 
Hammond, G., Br. Mm. to U.S.. 1687 
Hammond, H. C., P. Stock Ex.. 1092 
Hampton, Dr., Supt. Gen. Hos. 618 

Hardy, Adml. Sir Charles 1608 

Harman, D. M., P. St. Geo. Soc. 1037 
Harman, G. F., P. St. Geo. Soc. 1022 
Harman, S. B... 381, 1008, 3556, 3568 
Harper. J. Builder, Toronto... 3613 

Harris, Rev. Jas., Toronto 3522 

Harris, Mrs. J. 1137 

Harris, Rev. J., Prin. U.C.C 3649 

Harris, R. C. Com. Works 2796, 3516 

Harris, R. W., Merchant . 1414 

Harris, T. D., HarborMaster 590, 3186 
Harrison, T. H., City Engineer.. 2784 

Harvey, Sir J., Gov. N.S 185 

Harvie, J., Ont. S. & H. Ry 1078 

Hastings, Dr. C. J. O , Toronto 3225 
Head, Sir E. W., Gov.-Gen 1628 



Head, Sir F. B., Lt.-G. U.C. 179, 418 

Healey, Joe, Blood Indian 2454 

Hearne, S., Arctic Explorer 31, 2758 
Henderson, Wm., St. And. Soc. 959 

Hendrie, Miss Enid 3491 

Hendrie,, Sir J. S., Lt.-Gov., 431, 3490 

Hendrie, Lady 3489 

Hendrie, Wm., Hamilton 3497 

Henry, A., Fur Trader 2752 

Heward, Mrs. Stephen 599 

Hewitt, A., Mgr. Con. Gas Co. . . 582 
Higgins, W., Ch. Constable, Tor. 774 

Hillier, Mrs. (Miss Givins) 3589 

Hills, Rev. G., Bp. Columbia... 2526 

Hime, H. L. Pres. Stock Ex 1083 

Hind, Dr. H. Y., Geologist 650 

Hind, W. G. R., Artist 3250 

Hocken, H. C., Mayor, Toronto 399 

Hodder, Dr., Com. R.C.Y.C 604-5 

Holland, S., Surv.-Gen. Que>. . . 1677 

Holland, A. E. C 1679 

Holland, Major H 1685 

Holmes, R., Master U.'C.C 3695 

Hooper, E., druggist, Toronto.. 768 

Hooper, Mrs. E 769 

Hope, Col. Henry, Admin. Que. 2004 

Hope, Wm., Pres. Stock Ex 1087 

Horwood, G. C., N. Am. Hotel, Tor. 643 
Howard, J.G.835, '37, '41, '46, 3575, 3660 

Howard, Mrs. John G 831, 847 

Howard, J. S., Postmaster 611, 641 

Howard, Mrs. J. Scott 636, 640 

Howe, J., Prominent N. Scotian 1625 
Howe, M. Prin. Tor. Gram. Sch. 2808 
Howland, O. A., Mayor, Toronto 394 
Rowland, W. H., Mayor, Toronto 388 
Howland, W. P., Lt.-Gov. Ont.. 422 
Huckett, W. J., O.S. & H. Ry.. 3614 
Hudson, R. S., P. St. Geo. Soc.. 1036 
Humphries, J. D., Master U.C.C. 3697 
Huskisson, Wm., Statesman... 2737 
Hutchison, J., Mayor, Toronto.. 375 



Inglis, lit. Rev. has., Bp. N.S.. 2502 
Inglis, Rt. Rev. John, Bp. N.S.. 2501 
Isaacson, R. P., Montreal 100 



Jackes, F., Reeve York 1041 

Jackson, W. S., Master U.C.C.. 3689 

Jacobi, O. R., Pres. R.C.A 306 

James, C. C., Dom. Com. Agric. 3588 
Jameson, Mrs. Anna, Authoress 983 

Jameson, Hon. R. S 987 

Jarvis, F. W., Sheriff, York. . . 900 
Jarvis, Mrs. F. W . 3601 



INDEX TO PORTRAITS. 



IX. 



Jarvis, Lt.-Col. R.E.C 464 

Jarvis, Wm., Prov. Sec. U.C . . . 487 

Jarvis, W. B., Sheriff, H. Dist.. . 890 

Jarvis, W. D., Insp. N.W.M.P.. . 470 

Jenkins, Rev. J., Montreal 2756 

Jennings, Rev. J., Toronto 2532 

Jennings, W. T., City Engineer 2792 

Jervis, Adml., Earl St. Vincent 1716 

John, Katherine Brant 1695 

Johnson, Col. G., Supt. Ind. Dep. 136 

Johnson, Sir J., Supt. Ind. Af f . . 125 

Johnson, Lady 123 

Johnson, Sir Wm., Supt. Ind. Aff. 140 

Johnson, Petex, Son of Sir Wm. 343 

Johnson, Rev. Wm., Toronto... 2521 

Johnston, C. W., City Engineer 2788 

Johnston, W., City Solicitor.... 3233 

Jones, Rev. Peter, Missionary.. 282 

K 

Cean, E., as Huron Chief 1643 

Keating, E. H., City Engineer.. 2794 

Keats, Adml., Gov., Nfld 2265 

Keefer, S., Engineer 1278 

Keefer, T. C., Engineer -1390 

Kelly, W. M., Coll. Customs 3545 

Kennedy, G., P. St. And. Soc... 968 
Kennedy, W., Mayor, Toronto. . 391 
Kent, Duke of 152, 2464-5, 2472-5, 3630 

Kent, John, Master U.C.C 3704 

Kerr, Elizabeth (Brant) 3292 

Kerr, Dr. R., Army Surgeon ... 23 

Kerr, Capt. R., Mariner 2801 

Kerr, R., Pass. Traf. Mgr. C.P.R. 2802 

Kerr, Wm. John, Simcoe 1694 

Ketchum, Jesse 642 

Kidd, Rev. Adam 74 

Killaly, Hon. H. H., Bd. P. Wks. 788 

Killaly, Mrs. H. H 789 

Kingsford, W., City Engnr. 1026, 2783 
Kingsmill, G., Ch. Constable. . 775 
Kingston, Prof., Tor. Observ. . . 1066 
Kirby, Wm., Niagara ... 1229, 1232 
Kirkpatrick, Sir G. A., Lt.-Gov. 427 
Knowles, Adml. Sir C. Lo-uisburg 2446 



Lafleche, L.F., Bp. Three Riv.. 318 
Lafontaine, Sir L. H., Politician 119 
La Perouse, Jean, Navigator . . 28 
LaForce-Langevin, Mgr., Bishop 322 
Lanaudiere, Charles Tarieu de 1672 

Laroque, Mgr. J., Bishop 317 

Laurier, Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid.. 1613 
Laval, First R.C. Bp. Canada 248, 1650 
Leach, Rev. W. T., Toronto 2510, 3532 

Leacock, S., Master U.C.C 3677 

Lee, Graves Simcoe, Actor. . . 489-90 



Ld:roy, Capt., Tor. Observatory 1064 
Le Jeune, Father, Sup. Jesuits 1635 
LeMay, T. D., City Surveyor. . . 3578 

L'eMoine, Sir Jas., Author 197 

teo XIII 325 

Lessard, Major.Gen. F. L 638 

Lesslie, Jos., P. M. Toronto ... 613 
Lett, Rev. Stephen, Toronto . . . 2516 
Levis, Chevalier, at Quebec . . . 1722 

Lincoln, Gen. Benj., U.S 211 

Lindsay, W. B., sr., Clk. As. 3402, '10 
Lindsay, W. B., jr., Cl. H.C. 3411, 3419 

Lindsay, Wm. R., Clerk L.C 3401 

Lindsey, Chas., Journalist .... 477 

Lisgar, Baron, Gov.-Gen 3365 

Littlehales, Lt.-Col. E. B.. 180, 2844 
Littlejohn, W. A., City Clerk.. 756 

Livius, Peter, C.J. Quebec 1713 

Lorrain, N. Z., Bishop 328 

Louis XIV., King of France . . 1702 

Louis XV., King of France 1700 

Lymburner, Adam, Quebec . . . 2745 
Lynch, Rev. J. J., Archbp 2530 

Me 

McBride, J. P., St. And. Soc. . . . 970 
McBride, Sir R., Prem. B.C.... 1617 
McCaughan, Rev. W. J., Toronto 3535 
McCaul, Rev. J., Prin. U.C.C. . . 3650 
McCollum, Dr., Supt. Gen. Hos. 619 
McCord, A. T., City Treasurer. 3555 

McCowan A., Sheriff York 904 

McDermot, A., Manitoba Trader 2385 
McDonald, Hon. D., Can. Co. . . 3573 
McEvay, M. Re<v. F. P., Archbp. 2527 
McGill, Hon. James, Montreal. 102 
McGill, Hon. P. Mayor Montreal 3399 

McGill, Rev. R., Niagara 3371 

McGillivray, Simon, N.W. Co... 16 
McGillivray, Wm., Montreal ... 14 
McClain, Capt. Wm., Mariner. . 784 
McLean, Hon. A. P., St. And. S. 943 
McLean, D., Clk., Ass'bly U.C. 3404 
McLoughlin, Dr. J., H.B. Co... 2759 
McMahon, Rev. P., Quebec . . . 250 
McMaster, Capt. W. F., Tor. 1114, 3433 
McMurrich, G., P. St. And. Soc. 979 
McMurrich, W. B., Mayor. . 386, 949 
McNeil, Most Rev. N., Archbp.. 2528 
McWilliams, W. G., City Sol. . 3229 

Mac 

Macaulay, Hon. J. S...985, 1668, 3317 
Macaulay, Dr. J., Queen's Rgrs. 127 

Macaulay, Mrs. James 134 

Macdonald, A., P. St. And. Soc. 958 
Macdonald, Hon. D. A. Lt.-G. Ont. 424 



X 



INDEX TO PORTRAITS. 



Macdonald, E. A., Mayor, Tor. 393 
Macdonald, Rt. Hon. Sir J., 177, 1354 

Macdonell, Rev. A., R.C. Bp 2506 

Macdonell, Alex., Sheriff H. D. 896 
Macdonell, A., Cl. Assem. U.C. 3403 
Macdonell, Lt.-Col., Atty-Gen... 1277 
Macdonnell, Rev. D. J., Toronto 3534 

Mackenzie, Sir A., Explorer 2753 

Mackenzie, Rev. Delhoste, Tor. 2520 

Mackenzie, Wm. Lyon 256, 363 

Mackenzie, Mrs. Wm. Lyon. . . 1043 
Maclaren, Rev. W., Prin. Knox C. 3219 

MacMurchy, Archibald 2810 

MacNab, Sir A. N., Premier 26, 1388 
Macnab, Capt. A., at Waterloo 1686 

Macnabb, A., Magistrate 602 

Macpherson, Hon. Sir D. L 973 

M 

Maitland, Sir P., Lt.-Gov. Ont.. 416 

Manahan, A., Coll. Customs 3544 

Manning, A., Mayor, Toronto . . 383 

Marsh, H. T., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1012 

Marshall, J., Janitor U.C.C. . . . 3682 

Martland. J., Master U.C.C 3663 

Mary, Queen 2008 

Maseres, F., Atty. Gen., Que... 1620 

Mason, J. H., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 994 

Massey, H. A., Massey-H. Co.. 1045 

Mathews, Rev. C., Master U.C.C. 3708 

Matthews, Peter, of 1837 2800 

Maughan, N., Assess't Com. . . 3570 

Maxwell, Sir Murray 19 

Maynard, Rev. G., Master U.C.C. 3647 

Medcalfe, F. H., Mayor, Toronto 379 

Medley, Rt. Rev. J., Bishop... 255 

Meredith, Sir Wm. R 3205 

Merritt, Wm. Hamilton 1389 

Metcalfe, Sir C., Gov.-Gen.. 153, 1629 

Meikle, Jas 824 

Meudell, W. F., Coll. Customs. 3547 

Michie, G., Pres. St. And. Soc.. 961 

Michie, J., Pres. St. And. Soc.. 951 

Michie, J. F., Pres. St. And. S.. 981 

Miller, R. S., Pres. St. And. S.. 960 

Milloy, A., R, and O. Nav. Co.. 2727 

Milloy, Donald, Wharfinger . . 2724 

Milloy, Capt. Duncan 2722 

Milloy, Neil, Wharfinger 2725 

Milloy, Nicol, Rl. Mail Line... 2723 

Milloy, Capt. Peter 2721 

Milloy, Capt. W. A 2726 

Mitchell, Judge J., London 3373-4 

Moberley, C. W., Northern R.. 3714 

Monck, Viscount, Gov.-Gen 1616 

Monckton, Maj.-Gen., at Que.. 1651 

Monro, G., Mayor, Toronto 368 

Montcalm, Gen. Marquis de... 3430 

Montcalm, Descendant of Gen.. 98 



Montgomery, John, Toronto... 891 

Montgomery, Gen. Richard 1714, 1726 

Montmorency, Due de, Viceroy 1652 

Montresor, Col. J., Royal Eng. 1692 

Moore, Rev. R. J., Toronto.... 2519 

Moreau, Mgr. L. Z., Bishop.... 323 

Morgan, Peter, Revenue Insp. . 1110 

Mornay, L. F., Duplessis de 1630 

Morphy, Arnold, Bursar, U.C.C. 3672 

Morrison, A., Mayor, Tor 384, 947 

Morrison, D., Edit. Writer 483 

Morrison, Mrs. (Nickinson) . . . 483 

Morrison, D. T., Mayor, Toronto 365 

Morrison, Hon. J. C 946, 3518 

Mortimer, Herbert 1079 

Mount Stephen, Lord 2730 

Mountain, Rt. Rev. Jacob 2500 

Mowat, F., Sheriff, Toronto... 901 

Mowat, H. M., Pres. St. An. Soc. 982 

Mowat, Sir O., Lt.-Gov 428, 468 

Muir, A., Author "Maple Leaf" 652 

Muir, G. M., Clk. Assembly, Que. 3424 

Muir, John, Scarboro 653 

Murray, Sir G., Lt.-Gov.... 413, 1676 

Murray, Sir G., "Triton" 3295 

Murray, Gen. J., Gov. Canada.. 1604 

Musketoe;, J., Tutula Indian... 1662 

Musson, G., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1018 

N 

Nagle, Adml., Gov. Newfld 2249 

Nairn, A., Pres. St. And. Soc.. 976 

Nelson, Adml. Lord 141 

Nicholson, J., Pres. St. Geo. S.. 1039 

Nickinson, John, Actor. . . 585, 1121 

Nicol, Dr. W. B., Toronto 3587 



O'Connor, Rev. D., Archbishop. 2531 

O'Hara, Lt.-Col., Adjt.-Gen. U.C. 462-3 

O'Reilly, Dr. Chas., Gen. Hos.. 620 

Oates, Capt. E., "Richmond".. 466 
Oates, R. H., York Pioneer Soc. 312 

Ogden, L,, Sec. Stock Ex 1109 

Oliver, J., Mayor, Toronto .... 397 

Osborne, Catherine (Kerr) 1680 

Osgoode, Hon. Wm. C. J.. 300, 1684 

Osier, Sir E. B., P. St. Geo. S.. 1011 

Osier, Hon. F., P. St. Geo. S.. 1015 

Osier, F G., Pres. Stock Ex 1104 

Otter, Maj.-Gen. W. D... 608 



Padfield, W., Master U.C.C. 3675 

Palliser, Sir H., Gov. Newfld.. 2251 

Papineau, L. J 73 1675 

Parkin, G. R., Prin. U.C.C.. 3656 

Parsons, Rev. H. M., Toronto.. 3525 

Patterson, J., City Treas 3558 



INDEX TO PORTRAITS. 



XI. 



Patteson, T. C., Postmaster 614 

Patton, J., Coll. Customs. ...... 3551 

Patrick, A., Clk. -Hse. Com 3420 

Peacock, E. R., Master U.C.C.. 3705 
Pearson, W. H., Mgr. Gas Co.. . 581 
Pellatt, H., Sr., Pres. Stock Ex. 1086 
Pepperell, Sir W., at Louisburg 2449 
Phillips, C., Clk. Assembly L.C. 3400 
Phillips, T., H. D. Gram. Sch... 2806 

Phillips, Dr. Ziba, Mason 27 

Phipps, W. B., Pres. St. Geo. S.. 1025 

Pickering, T., U.S. Comr 210 

Pike, Gen. Zebulon 1148 

Pitt, Wm., Earl of Chatham.. 1720 

Plessis, J. O., Bishop 1661 

Plewes, D., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 998 
Plumptre, Rev. H. P., Toronto. 3204 
Pole, Adml., Sir C., Gov. Newfld. 2250 

Porteous, A., Montreal 101 

Postlethwaite, C. W., Toronto. . 593 
Powell, G., Clk. Assembly U.C. 3405 
Powell, J., Mayor, Toronto . . . 367 

Powell, Mrs. W. D 1044 

Power, Rt. Rev. M., Bishop... 2529 

Prescott, Gen. Robt 142, 1689 

Prevost, Sir George 1607, 1623 

Price, Hon. J. H., City Clerk 286, 750 

Prince, Col. J., Sandwich 3366 

Prince, Col. W. S., Constable.. 779 

Puisaye, Comte Jos. De 1214 ' 

Puisaye, Comtesse De 1215 



Racine, Mgr. A., Bishop 327 

Racine, D., Bishop 330 

Radcliffe, S., City Clerk 753 

Radstock, Lord 22 

Rae, Dr. John, Explorer 180 

Ramsay, W., Pres. St. And. Soc. 950 

Rankin, Col Arthur. 1667 

Ramsay, A. G., Pres. Can. Life. 3602 
Rawlinson, M., P. St. Geo. Soc. 1040 
Read. D. B., Mayor, Toronto. . . . 376 

Rees, Dr. Wm., Toronto 488 

Richardson, Capt. H., Hbr. Mas. 589 
Riddell, Lt. C. J. B., Tor. Obs.. 1063 
Ridout, G. P., P. St. Geo. Soc. 989 
Ridout, J. D., P. St. Geo. Soc.. 1003 
Ridout, P. F., P. St. Geo. Soc.. 1001 
Ridout, S, Sheriff, Home Dist. . 898 

Ridout, S. G., Assesst. Com 3569 

Ridout, Hon. T., Surv. Gen. U.C. 635 

Ridout, Thos. Gibbs 18 

Ridout, T. G., P. St. And. Soc. . 945 

Riel, Louis 3 

Rigney, T., Merchant, Toronto 578 
Rintoul, Rev. Wm... 2534, 3429, 3531 
Ritchey, J., Builder, Toronto.. 579 

Roaf, Rev. J., Toronto 2503 

Robertson, J. Ross.. . 3221 



Robertson, John, Merchant.... 478 

Robertson, Mrs. John 479 

Robinson, C., Cor. Counsel 3416 

Robinson, Sir F. P., Lt.-Gov 414 

Robinson, Sir J. B., Sol.-Gen. 315, 1683 
Robinson, Hon. J. B. . . 374, 425, 3228 

Robinson, Joel, Niagara 1216 

Robinson, Hon. P., Com. C. Lds. 637 

Robinson, W. B., Insp.-Gen 648 

Rochefoucauld-Liancourt, F. A. F. 139 

Roddy, R., City Clerk 754 

Rodney, Lord, Gov. Nfld 55 

Rogers, Major Robert 1725 

Rogers, T. H., Master U.C.C... 3673 

Rogers, W. B., Postmaster 615 

Rolette, Joe, Half-Breed Guide. 2313 

Rolph, Dr. John, Toronto 480 

Remain, C. E., Coll. Inland Rev. 790 
Ross, C. S., Ch'man Gen. Hos. 1042 

Rows>ell, H., Publisher 3709 

Rupert, Prince, Gov. H.B. Co... 1709 
Russell, Hon. P., Pres. U.C..., 407 

Rust, C. H., City Engineer 2795 

Ruttan, Rev. Chas., Toronto... *!515 
Rutherford, E. H., Pres. Gas Co. 626 

Ryerson, Rev. Egerton 2754-5 

Ryland, H. W., Civil Secy 120 



S 



3576 

184 

3542 

4 



Sankey, Villiers, City Surv.. 
Saunders, Sir C., at Quebec . 
Savage, Geo., Coll. Customs. 

Sawyer, Chief David 

Scadding, Rev. H. 314, 2509, 2511, 3695 

Scadding, John, jr 646 

Schank, Capt. John 60, 1682 

Scobie, Hugh, Publisher 481, 497 

Schrieber, Sir C., Engineer . . . 3511 
Schreiber, W. C., Nor. Ry.... .. 3512 

Scott, Hugh, Underwriter 3586 

Secord, Laura, Heroine, 1812.. 1324 
Selkirk, Earl, Colonizer 2354, 2365-7 

Shank, Lt.-Gen. David 1693 

Shanly, F M City Engineer 496, 2789 
Shanly, W., Railway Engineer. 495 
Shaw, Maj'.-Gen. Aeneas, York 1670 
Shaw, John, Mayor, Toronto... 392 
Shea, Rev. J. J., Toronto. ...... 3428 

Sheaffe, Sir R. H., Pres. U.C.. . 411 
Sheard, Dr. C., M.O.H. Toronto 3224 
Sheard, Joseph, Mayor, Toronto 382 
Shedden, J., Tor. Nipissing Ry. 3715 

Sheppard, G., Journalist 484 

Sherbrooke, Sir J. C., Gov 143 

Sherwood, H., Mayor, Toronto. 369 
Sherwood, S., Ch. Constable... 778 
Shipman, Paul, St. Catharines. 236 

Shipman, Mrs 237 

Simco-e, J. G., Lt.-Gov. U.C 

161, 406, 3265, 3370 



XII. 



INDEX TO PORTRAITS. 



Simcoe, Mrs. John Graves 3275 

Mrs. Simcoe, in Welsh Dress.. 3264 

Simcoe, Rev. H. A 3271 

Simcoe, Capt. J. K 3268 

Simcoe, Mrs. J. K., of Wolford 3314 
Simons, Col. T., Pub. Gazette.. 459 

Simmons, G., Janitor U.C.C 3684 

Simpson, Sir G., Supt. H. B. Co. 35 
Simpson, T., Arctic Explorer. . 7 
Small, C. C., Clk. Cr. and Pleas 651 

Small, Major John 586 

Small, Mrs. John 587 

Small, J., Coll. Customs, Tor... 3552 
Smart, Rev. Wm., Elizabethtown 15 

Smeulders, Dom Henri 324 

Smith, A. M., P. St. Ana. Soc 972 

Smith, Charlotte Brant 1696 

Smith, J. B., Bursar, U.C.C. . . . 3671 
Smith, J. E., Mayor, Tor. . . 380, 3549 
Smithj L., Pres. Con. Gas Co. . . 628 
Smith, R. A., Pres. Stock Ex... 1099 
Smith, Hon. S., Admin. U.C... 415 
Smith, W. J., Fire Chief, Tor.. 3192 

Smyth, Major-Gen. Sir J. C 1619 

Somerville, A., Journalist 588 

Sparling, G. B., Master U.C.C. . . 3678 

Spence, R., Coll. Customs 3548 

Spooner, J., P. St. Geo. Soc... 996 
Spratt, R., Pres. St. Geo. Soc.. 10L'7 

Sproatt, C., City Engineer 2791 

St. Remy, E., Master U.C.C 3659 

Stanway, G., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1016 

Stanton, R., Coll. Customs 3546 

Stark, J., Pres. Stock Ex 1090 

Stark, Rev. Mark Y., Dundas. . 2533 

Stegmann, J., Surveyor 770 

Stennett, Rev. W., Prin. U.'CjC. 3652 
Stevenson, A., Master U.C.C... 3688 
Stewart, Rt. Rev. C., Bishop... 2504 
Stikeman, J. C., Pres. Stock Ex. 1081 
Stisted, Maj.-Gen., Admin. Ont. 421 

Stitt, J., Chief Constable 776 

Stone, Col. J., Fndr. Gananoque J697 
Strachan, Bishop 252, 2732, 2805, 3199 

Strathcona, Lord 2739, 2744 

Strathcona, Baroness 2736 

Street, S., Niagara Falls 1281 

Street, T. C., Mem. Un. Parlt. 1280 
Strutt, W. G., Hon., Gov. Quebec 1997 
Stuart, Rev. G. O'Kill 2513, 2804, 3198 
Stupart, Sir R. F. Tor. Observ. 1068 

Sullivan, Rt. Rev. E., Bp 3202 

Sullivan, R. B., Mayor, Toronto. 364 
Sunday, Rev. J., Ind. Missionary 2450 

Swale, Mrs. Hogarth J 246 

Sydere, A. H,. Clk. Assem. Ont. 3414 
Symons, D. T., P. St. Geo. Soc. 1000 
Symons, H., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1033 



Tache, A., Bishop 1649 



Tache, Sir E. P., Politician . 



80 



Talbot, Col. Thomas ;.. 3343 

Talon, J. B., Intendant 1632 

Taflton, Lt.-Col 1730 

Taschereau, Archbishop 32>6, 1656 

Taylor, J., Pres. St. Geo. Soc.. 1019 

Tecumseh, Indian Chief 3368 

Temple, R. H., Pres. Stock Ex. 1100 



Thomas, Rev. R. T. 



2803 



Thomas, Wm., City Engr. 2777, 2782 
Thompson, C., Master U,.C. ... 3^94 
Thompson, H., Mgr. C. Gas. Co. 580 
Thompson, J., Ch. Tor. Fire Dept 3191 

Thomson, Col. E. W 465 

Thomson, Poulett, Gov.-Gen. 419, 1626 
Thorburn, Dr., J., P. St. And. S. 963 
Thornton, Lt.-Gen., Mil. Secy.. 118 

Tiffany, G., Publisher 1279 

Tillinghast, J., Railway Man... 3713 
Tippet, W. H., P. St. Geo. Soc.. 1021 

Topp, Rev. A., Toronto 3524 

Townsend, Marquis, at Quebec 157 

Trees, S., P. St. Geo. Soc 1013 

Tudhope, H. R., Pres. Stock Ex. Ili0'6 
Tupper, Rt. Hon. Sir Charles... 1624 
Turquand, B. G., Secy. P.G.L... 9 



Unwin, C., City Surveyor. . 787, 3577 
Urquhart, T., 'Mayor, Toronto. . . 395 



Vancouver, Com. G., Explorer. 36 

Van Home, Sir W 2735, 274iO 

Vansittart, Adml., Woodstock.. 1660 
Vaudreull, Marquis de (Elder) . 1631 
Vaudreuil-Cavagnal, Marquis de. 1636 

Verrazzano, Giovanni di 1698 

Vespucci, A., Discoverer. . . 1710 



Virtue, G., P. St. Geo. Soc. 



1030 



Vrooman, S., at Queenston 1313 

Vrooman, S. A., Queenston 1314 

W 

Wakefield, W., P. St. Geo. S. 988, 3376 

Walkem, C., Royal Surveyor ... 2779 

Walker, R., Golden Lion 1140 

Walsh, Most Rev. J., Archbp.. . 2536 

Walton, B., P. St. Geo. Soc 1014 

Warren, Adml. Sir Peter 2445 

Washington, G., Pres. U.S. 137, 209 

Wedd, W., Master U.C.C 3643 

Welch, Rev. Canon 3203 

Weller, W., Stage Owner 3610 

Wellington, Duke of 146 

Wellington, W. E., P. St. Geo. S. 997 

Wells, Ool. Hon. Joseph 984, 368 



INDEX TO PORTRAITS. 



XIII. 



Whetham, ., Master U.iCjC 3685 

Whittemo're, E. F., Pres. Gas. Co. 624 

Whitley, J., P. St. Geo. Soc 990 

White, G. Harlow, R.C.A 3182 

Wicher, T., Master U.C.C 3700 

Wickham, Mrs. (Barclay) 1206 

Wickson, Rev. A., Tor. Gram. Sc. 2809 
Widder, F., Pres. St. Geo. Soc. 1002 

Widdifield, J. H., Sheriff 902 

Wilkes, Rev. H., Montreal 2778 

Wilkie, D. R., Pres. Impl. (Bk. 639, 954 

Williams, H. B., Toronto 3508 

Williams, Sir W. F., Gov. N.S.. 183 

Willis, Rev. M., Prin. Knox 3217 

Willson, D., of "Davidites" 3600 

Wilson, Sir A., Mayor, Toronto. . 377 

Wilson, Dr. Sir Daniel 974 

Wilson, J., Com. Parks 3584 

Winchester Rev. A. B., Toronto 35<2'6 

Wolfe, Lt.-Col. Edward 2112 

Wolfe, Henrietta (Mrs.) 2101 



Wolfe, Maj.-Gen. James 2090, 2094, 

2102, 2107, 2114, 2126-8, 2132-4-2138 

Wood, S. G., P. St. Geo. Soc.. . . 993 

Worts, J. G. (Gooderham & W.) 1049 

Wright, F., P. St. Geo. Soc 1009 

Wright, E. Graves, Simcoe 644 



Yates, R., Pres. Con. Gas Co 625 

Yeo, Sir Jas. Lucas 1184 

Yonge, Rt. Hon Sir George 469 

York, Duke of, Gov. H. B. Co.. . 1637 

York, Duke of 1655 

Young, Prof. Master TJ-JCJC 3664 

Young, J. Pres. St. Geo. Soc. ... 992 
Young, T., City Engineer 2780 



Zimmerman, 9., Ry. Contractor. 243 



GENERAL INDEX 



Adelaide, School in Tp. of 3338 

Adolphustown, U.E.L., Mon... 1387 

Agricultural Ass'n Ticket 187 

Agricultural Soc. Badge 190 

American Regimental Colors.. 217 
Amherstburg, Christ Church.. 3333-4 

Amherstburg, Elliott Home 2992 

Amherstburg, Soldiers' Mon... 2994 

Amherst Harbor 1592 

Allumette Lake 1774 

Anderson's Fall, Gt. Slave Lake 3597 

Annapolis Basin, N.S 1760 

Annapolis, General's Bridge . . . 1744 
Annapolis Basin, Trap Rock. . 2153 

Annapolis Royal, N.S 1734, 2158 

Appanee River, Grist Mill at.. 3318 

Assembly, L.C., Clerks 3400-2 

Assembly, Ont, Clerks 3412-14 

Assembly, Que., Clerks ..... 3424-7 
Assembly, United Can., Clks.. 3410-11 

Assembly, U.C., Clerks 3403-6 

Assiniboine River 2410 

Autographs U. S. Commrs 212 

Aylmer, Crossing Lake 3595 

Aylmer, Que., Winter Scene. . . 1847 






B 



Bannatyne Home, Ft. Garry 2327 

Banff, Sulphur Springs 2857 

Barrie 3106 

Barrie, Ont, 1853 1401 

Barrie, Ont, 1867-8 3367 

Barrie, Ont, 1872 3148 

Barrie, Ont,, 1874 3105, 3109 

Barrie, Episcopal Church 3104 

Barrie, Log House Near 3102 

Barrie, Looking South. 3179 

Barrie Shore, 1870 3158 

Barrie, Town Hall 3103, 3375 

Barrie, Winter Scene Near 3041 

Bass Island, Lake Erie 3290 

Bathurst, N.B., 1834 1581 

Bathurst, N.B., Fishing Party. 2214 
Bays, Lake of. . 2976-7, 2979-80, 2982-3 
Beauharnois, Que., R. C. Church 1967 
Beauport, Ship Beached at. ... 2966 

Beaver Dams, Battlefield 1344-5 

Beaver Dams, Methodist Ch.. 1319-20 

Beaverton, Ont., 1890 1402 

Beaverton, Old Stone Ch. 1396-7, 1403 
Bedford Basin, N.S... 2183, 2205, 2460 



Bishops, Eccles. Prov. Que 317-30 

Blomidon, Cape 1761, 2142 

Blondin Crossing Niagara 1368 

Blue Whale, Vancouver Island. 279 
Bolton, Pass of, Quebec 1766-2018 

BOUNDARIES, CAN. AND U.S. 

At 49th Parallel, B.C 2297 

Cairn, East Kootenay, B.C... 2288 

Monument, N.B., 1817 2264 

Obelisk, Pt. Roberts 2307 

Post at St. Regis, Que 117 

Bowmanville, Ont, 1880 1899 

Bow River 2884 

Bracebridge, Ont 3173-5 

Bracebridge, Walk Near 3008 

Brantford, Mohawk Village 3294 

Brantford, Mohawk Church 1911 

Brant's Masonic Cert, (replica) 204 

Brewery Creek, Saw Mill 2913 

British Columbia Premiers 1618 

British Naval Estab., L. Ontario 1157 
British Navy Uniforms. 162-8, 1192-7 

B.N.A. Act, Making of 131 

British Regts., Canada.... 1464-1534 
British Resentment (Cartoon). 2444 
Brock, General's Cenotaph .... 1299 

Brock's Coat 1227 

Brock's Cocked Hat 1226 

Brock's Mon., St. Paul's, London 1286 

Brockton Post Office, 1863 872 

Brockton Toll Bar 932 

Brockville, U.C., 1828 192 

Brockville, 1839-41 1798 

Brockville, 1841.... 1369, 1375, 1384 

Brockville, 1851 1380 

Brockville, 1853 1383 

Brockville, 1876 2919 

Brockville, Gaol and C'rthouse 843 

Bruce Mines, Algoma 3010 

Bruce Mines, Indian Tepee . . . 3463 
Buckerall Parish Ch., Devon.. 3270 

Buffalo Grazing 2485 

Buffalo Herd on Prairies 3245 

Buffalo Hunting 2436 

Buggy, First, North York 264 

Burlington Bay 3309 

Burlington Bay, Entrance . . . 3306-7 

Burlington Bay, Waterfall 3308 

Burlington Canal Entrance . . . 1426 

Burlington Canal Lights 1254 

Burlington Heights, Bridges . . 1423 

Burns' Masonic Apron 17 

Bytown (Ottawa), First Bridge at 1794 



XVI. 



GENERAL, INDEX. 



Cabots, Leaving Bristol ...... 1703 

Cabot Flag, King Presents 1707 

Cabots, Photo Marble Group . . 1642 

Cabot Monument, Bristol 1704 

Caledonia, Ont., 1863 2867 

Calumet Falls, Timber Slides. 1898 
Canada, Arms of Provinces.. 3390-8 
Canada, Governors-General . . . 1602 
Canada, Consorts Gov.-Genls. . . 1603 

Canada Defence Commrs 1601 

Canada, Great Seal of 3407-9 

Canadas, "Sketches In" 1969 

Canada and U.S. Frontier 1758 

Canada and U.S. Bdry. view... 1827 
C.P.R. Driving Golden Spike. 2731 
Canadian Parents Mourning . . 176 
Canoe Building, Papper's Is. . . 1818 

Canso, Strait of 2188 

Cap Blanc, Old Houses at 2969 

Cap Tourmente, Que 1974, 2043 

Cape Baptiste, N.S- 2164 

Cape Breton, Exp'n Against. . 2437 

Cape Cove, C.E., 1834 1583 

Cape Diamond, Wolfe's Cove.. 89 
Cape Dore, N.S., Cliffs of 2140 

> Cape Rouge, St. Lawrence . . . 2085 

Cape Sante, Que., Rafts 1773 

Cape Split, N.S 1735 

Capilano Canyon, B.C 2888 

Carleton, C. E., 1834 1593 

Cartier-Breboeuf, Mon., Quebec 2000 

Oartier Visits Canada 1705 

Cascade Mountain, Banff 2887 

Cataraqui .Kingston), 1783 1355 

Cavell, Mount, Alta 2873 

Cedar Rapids, Quebec 1812 

Cedars Village, St. Lawrence.. 1822 
Cedars, Working Canoe up Rpds 1788 
Chambly Village, Que. . . 1836, 1999 

Champlain, Monument, Que. . . . 1938 

Charlotteville, U.C 3289 

Chateau Richer Street, 1880.. 1922 

Chatham, C. W 3352, 3360 

Chatham, Old Homes in 3350-1 

Chats the, From Pontiac 1892 

Chaudiere Bridge, near Quebec 1763 

Chaudiere Falls, Ottawa R..2024, 3135 
Ohaudiere Falls, 1405, 1567, 1820, 1903 
Chaudiere Falls, Big Kettle.... 1559 
Chaudiere Falls, Bridge.. . .1400 1794 
Chaudiere Falls, Chasm.. 1568, 1573 

Chaudiere Falls, Escape at 1409 

Chaudiere Falls, Susp. Bridge.. 1904 
Chaudiere Falls, Susp. Bridge.. 1564 

Chaudiere Falls, Que 1772, 2025 

Chaudiere Falls, Que., 1876.3095-6, '98 
Chaudiere Lake, Shanty on 1748 



Chaudiere River, 1876 3099 

Cliebucto Head, Halifax Hbr.. 2150 
Chippawa, Cummings (J.) Home 1300 
Chippawa, Cummings Home... 1296 

Chippawa, Trinity Ang. Ch 1295 

Coaticook Riv., Falls on 1560 

Cobaquid Mountains, N. S 2197 

Cobourg, C.W 1731, 3506 

Cobourg Harbor, 1880 2874 

Cobourg, Light Tower Near... 1740 

Coll'ingwood Harbor, 1880 2882 

Commons, Clerks House of. . 3419-22 

Confederation, Fathers of 130 

Confederation Medal 3423 

Confederation Tablet 129 

Coote's Paradise, Hamilton . . . 3305 

Copp's Ferry, George ville 1810 

Cornwall, District School 1596 

Cornwall, Duke and Duchess of 1112 

Cornwallis, N. S 2154 

Coteau du Lac, 1876 2951 

Cotterstock, Simcoe Memorial... 3272 
Couchiching Lake, Ont.. 2955-6, 2959 
Coteau Portage, Cascades at. . 2371 

Craighurst, Lumber Mill 3085 

Credit River, Near York 3284 

Cricket Match, Toronto, 1872.. 335-6 

Crysler's Farm, Monument 3356 

Crysler's House 3353 

Cumberland House 2346, 2387 

Curling Match, 1870, Toronto.. 1061 



Dalhousie, N. B., 1834 1580 

Danse Ronde, La.. 2037 

Dartmouth, N. S., 1846 2838 

Dartmouth Shore, N. S., 1786.. 2467 

Davenport Station, 1839-41 862 

Davis Clearing, Que 1796 

De Longueuil Home 1863 

Des Chats, Portage, 1839-41 1791 

Deschenes L., Squaw's Grave on 1828 

Detroit, 1820 144 

Dickinson's Landing, 1813 !!".!! 1374 

Wgby, N. S 2143 

Digby, Entrance to 38 

Dog Carriole, Travelling in 2351 

Dog Train, of Northwest 3255 

"Dorchester" Train 1862 

Doukhobor Garden, Veregin 2876 

Doukhobor House, Veregin 2869 

Doukhobor Woman 2872 

Drawing Wood, Quebec 1727 

Duck Shooting in N. W 3259 

Dufferin, Barrie Welcomes 3110 

Dundas G.W.R. Wreck, 1859.. 3344 

Dunkeswell Parish Ch 3262, 3277 



GENERAL, INDEX. 



Eastern Townships Scenery. . . 1553 
East River, Muskoka ..2988-9, 29SO-1 

Elora, Bridge at 3441 

"Empress of Ireland," Clock.. 2775 

Erie, Battle of Lake 1198 

Esquimaux, Interview With... 3593 

Esquimaux . . 3'59S 

Etchemin River, Que 2019 

Etchemin, Stream nr..2894, 2900, '42 
Eugenia, Ont 3089-90, 3092-3 



Fairfield Mill, Mill Creek 1351 

Fairford Lake, Manitoba 2382 

Fairy Lake, Ont. .. 3'019-23, 3025-30 

Falkland, N.S., Wharves 2168 

Farini Crossing, Niagara River. 3502 

Fergus, U.C 1051, 1053 

Fifteen-Mile Creek 3323 

Finback, Off B.C. Coast 277 

First Born in Settlement 3528 

Fishing Lakes 2403 

Fitzroy Harbor, Ont 1799 

FLesherton, Ont., 1875 3>088 

FORTS. 

Alexander 2404 

Carleton 1386 

Chambly . . .1835, 1942-5, 1965, 2042 

Chippawa, U.C., 1795 3312 

Daer and Pembina 2339 

Douglas (Winnipeg) 2372 

Douglas, Old Mill at 2289 

Edward, Windsor, N.S 3494 

Ellice, or St. Lazare 2411 

Erie, Welland Co 3313 

Frances, Rainy River 2320 

Frederick (Crown Pt.) 1712 

Garry (Winnipeg), 1840 .... 2376 

Garry, 1857 2388, 2401, 2428 

Garry, 1860 2292 

Garry, 1882 2377 

Garry, Bastion at 3239 

Garry, Stone Fort 2317, 2332-3 

Garry (Stone) Storehouse. . . 2325 

George or Astoria, B.C 2311 

George, Halifax, N.S 2176 

George, U.C..... 1213, 1220-1, 1236 

George, Storehouse 1207 

George, Thorn Trees 1287 

Macleod (Old), Alta 2417 

Maiden, Artillery Barn 3443 

Maiden Barracks 3450 

Mississaga at Niagara 232 

Mississaga, Fog Bell 1289 

Niagara, N.Y 233, 1239 

Niagara, N.Y., 1911 1263 

Old Fort, Toronto.. 663, 667, 671 



Oswego, Storming. .1168, 71, 74, 75 

Pembina 2291,2309,2390 

Prince of Wales 2368, 2384 

Prince of Wales, Ruins 3252 

Qu'Appelle 2308, 2334 

Tipperary, St. Andrew's, N.B. 2799 

Vancouver 11 

Victoria (Bastion) 3241 

William 2319, 2364, 2369 

William, 1861 2419 

York (York Factory) 2329 

Fox River, Que., 1834 1589 

FREDERICTON, N.B. 

Fredericton, 1839-41 1742, 1748 

Barracks and Market. 1964, 2225 

Elm Tree, Near 2269 

Government House.... 1759,2209 

Green, the, 1839-41 1756 

King's College 2233 

Looking Westward 2266 

N.B. "Fashionables" 2218 

Officers' Barracks 46 

Queen St., 1836 2829 

Winter Scene 2234 

French-Canadian Farm House . . 1659 

French Governors, Arms of ... 18? 



Gait, Ont, Central Pres. Ch... 2846 

Gaspe Basin, 1834 1576, 1587 

Gaspe Bay, 1758 2084 

Gaspe, Oil Wells at 1598 

Gaspe (Pye's Map of) 1588 

Gatineau and Ottawa Rivers... 1569 

George IV., Proclamation 3266 

Georgetown, G.T.R. Accident at 3359 

Georgeville, Que., 1839-41 1808 

Ghent, Signing Treaty 1614-15 

Gleiche-n, Alta., 1912 2885 

Gloucester Pool, Severn River. 3, C 28 

Gloucester Pool, Big Chute 3334 

Gloucester Pool, Little Chute.. 3327 

"Goose and Gridiron" 2438-41 

Grand Falls, N.B 2216, 2228 

Grand Falls, Camp at 2215 

Grand Greve, Que., 1834 1590 

Grand Lodge Canada, Arms of 122 

Grand Mere, Falls 2088 

Grand River, Que., 1834 1577 

Gravenhurst, Ont, 1873 3111 

Great Dog Portage 2395 

Great Eastern Memento 1118 

Greenspond, Nfld., 1846 2259 

Guelp'h, 1840 3336 

Guelph, 1862 3335 

Guelph, 1880 1897 

Gull Lake, Gravenhurst 3112 



XVIIL 



GENERAL, INDEX. 



Habitant, Quebec 1647 

Habitant, "Bien Comfortable". 1854 

Habitant and Child 1 

Habitant Going to Market 1870 

Habitant Oven, Quebec... 79, 1 

Habitant Woman 1648 

Habitant Woman in the sun.. 1868 
Haldimand, Arms of Sir Fred'k 1701 
Haldimand House, Montmorency 1957 

HALIFAX, N.S. 

Halifax, 1782 3638 

From Citadel, 1849 2155-6 

From Dartmouth, 1777 51 

From Dartmouth, 1839-41 1736 

From Dartmouth Cove.. 2195, 2819 

From Dartmouth Point 2203 

From Davies' Mill 2146 

From Eastern Passage 2139 

From Ft. Needham.,2149, 2152, 3635 

From George's Island 2148 

From Glacis, 1777 48, 52 

From Harbor 2163 

From Indian Encampment. . . 2208 

From McNab's Island 57 

From McNab's Island, 1838.. 2171 
From Red Mill, Dartmouth.. 2174 

Looking S.W., 1777 53 

Town and Harbor, 1777 49 

View on N.W. Arm 2182 

Harbor 2162 

Harbor, Entrance to 2169 

Harbor, Entrance, 1786 2458 

Buildings 

Dalhousie Coll. (first) 3619 

Garrison Chapel (Trin. Ch.) . 3624 

Government House 3640 

Govt. House, Ballroom 3641 

"Little Dutch Church" 3628 

Prince's Lodge 3623 

Prince's Lodge (Rotunda) . . . 3618 

Prince of Wales Tower 3626 

Province Bldg 3634, 3643 

St. George's Ch. (Round) 3611, 363 

St. Mary's (R.C. Cath.) 3629 

St. Mattfiew's Pres. Church . 3620 

St. Paul's Ch., 1916 3636 

St. Paul's (Nave) 3625 

St. Paul's Ch. and Parade. . . . 2199 

Miscellaneous 

Careening Yard, 1786 2456 

Citadel from Camp Hill 3507 

Cowie's Hill 2147 

Dock Yard, 1850 215 

Ferry Slip, George St 362' 

Hand Fire Engine 345 

Legis. Assembly Chamber... 364 
Legis. Council Chamber 363 



Memorial Tower *. 

Miller's Dock, 1888 

N. Brit., Highl'd Soc. Picnic, 

Old Spar House, 1888 

Old Wharf 

Old Wharf, 1888 

Pleasant St., 1838 

Regatta, 1838 

Rocking Stone, Near 

Sherbrooke Team Ferry 

Street Scene, 1888 

Town Clock 

Welsford-Parker Monument. 

Hallowell (Picton) 

Harrower's Distillery 

HAMILTON. 



Hamilton, 1845 

Hamilton, 1855 

Hamilton, 1857 
Hamilton, 1861-2 . . 
Hamilton, 1878 
From the Mountain 



2161 

178 

3637 

43 

2179 
175 
3622 
2852 
2196 
3621 
2180 
3617 
3633 
1831 
2020 



1437 
1419 
1418 
1424 
1433 
235 



Buildings 

"Auchmar House" 1429 

Central School 1435 

City Hall (Old) 1420 

Cline's Saw Mill 1422 

Crystal Palace 3369 

Dundurn Castle 1436 

Gore, Drinking Fountain 2840 

Great Western Ry. Wks 1421 

Police Office 1439 

St. Mary's Cathedral 1415-17 

St. Paul's (St. Andrew's) Ch. 2763-9 

Smith's Tavern 1412 

Wesleyan College 1431 

White's Block 1440 

Miscellaneous 

Business Centre 1425 

Desjardins Disaster, 1857... 241-2 

First Locomotive G.W.R 1438 

James St., 1855 1427 

James St., 1860 1428 

James St., W. Side 1432 

King St., N. Side 1434 

Mackay's Wharf 1411 

Market Day 3368 

Hembury Fort, Devon 3267 

Hoarfrost River, Portage 359G 

Holland Landing, Anchor at. . . 3505 

Homathca River, B.C 3064 

"Home Again" 3527 

"Homesteaders" 3520 

Horton Mts., N.S., View From... 2173 

House for Travellers 882 

House Harbor, C.E 1578 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Hull, Que., 1876 2911 

Hull, Timber Slide at 1566 

Hydro Electric Comm'n 54? 

Hydro Elec. Contract Signing. . 534 

Humber Bridge 819 

Humber, Duck's Hotel 571 

Humber, Lake Shore Road 559 

Humber, McLean's Tavern.... 821 

Humber, Mill on 3381 

Humber River, 1845 880 

Huntsville, Ont. . . 2996-9, 3002, 3006 

Huntsville, Bailey's Shanty. . . . 2995 

Huntsville, Beaver Meadow. . . . 3003 

Huntsville, Fallen Bridge 3005 

Huntsville, Hunt's Shanty 3004 

Huntsville, Settler's Home 3009 



INDIANS. 

Bartering 2435 

Blackfoot Burial Ground 2863 

Blackfoot Chiefs 2455 

Blackfoot Child 2871 

Blackfoot (Paul) 2870 

Blackfoot (Naomi) 2877 

Buffalo Hunting 2413 

Bunges (Manitoba) 3248 

Burial Places, Red River 2312, 2374 

Chippawas, Near Ft. Wm 2424 

Costumes 2046 

Deerfoot, Celebrated Runner. 257 

Encampment 2022 

Georgeville Camp 1817 

Hunters' Tents 2381 

Huron Chief, newly elected . . 121 

Huron Chiefs, Lorette 56 

Huron Indian 2447 

Huron Zitya 2448 

Indians of Lorette 1984 

Iroquois Chiefs 2033 

Manitoulin Census 2422 

Micmac, New Brunswick . . . 2187 

Micmac Encampment, N.B... 2200 

Micmac Squaws 2201 

Moose Hunters, N.B 2227 

New Brunswick Indians 3256 

Nootka Sound, Chiefs at 2463 

Ojibways, Ft. Frances 2328 

Ojibway Half-breed 2362 

Ojibway Squaw 2361 

Plain Cree Chief 2360. 

Prairie Camp 2412 

Rama, Ont., Basket-making. . 2954 

Rama, Chippawas 2957-8 

Red River Settlement 2303 

St. Regis Church 2003 

Sarnia, Chiefs at 3377 

Sioux, Clothing of 2356 

Souteaux 2350 

Swampy Cree (Susan) 2363 

Tomb . 12 



Western Pipes 2358-9 

Wigwam 1762 

Wigwam, Interior 2190 

Indian Cove, Que 2897 

Indian River, Falls 3032 

Indian Scene, St. Lawrence . . 1757 

Indian Town, N.B 1733 

Inglis Falls 1230, 3144, 3146 

Inkster's Farm, Seven Oaks... 2336 

Invitation of 1811 238 

Isle Haute 2141, 2145 

Islington Mission, Winnipeg Riv. 2331 



Jacques Cartier River, Bridge.. 2030 

Jaspar Lake, Alta 3058 

Johnstown, Loyalist Camp .... 2016 

K 

Kakabeka Falls 2330, 2398 

Kakabeka, Third Portage 2400 

Kaministiquia River 2399, 2406 

Kaministiquia R. Island No. 1. 2427 
Kaministiquia Riv., Poling Up 2294) 
Kaministiquia Riv. Portage . . 2397 

Kamloops, Blockhouse 2314 

Kausheshebogamog L. 3176-8, 3180-1 

Kempenfeldt Bay, Coves 3042 

Kennebacasis River 1966, 2263 

Kennebacasis, Travelling on. .. 2224 
Kent House, Montmorency Falls 1958 

Kentville, N.S 1737 

Kilborn's Mills, L.C 2073 

Killarney, Ont., 1880 1912 

King's Head Inn 3263, 3278 



KINGSTON. 

1794 

1819 

1839-41 

1851 . 



Kingston, 
Kingston, 
Kingston, 
Kingston, 

Kingston, 1860 

Kingston, 1862 

Kingston, 1876 

Kingston, 1880 

From Barriefield 

From Fort Henry 

From Fort Henry, 1828 
From Fort Henry, 1855. 
From Pt. Frederick.... 
On "King's River"..... 



Buildings 

Admiralty House 

Cartwright Home 1360, 

Cartwright Stables 

Fairfield House 

First Stone House 

Grass House 

House, Rideau St 



3321 
1376 
1846 
1356 

199 
1372 
2918 
1357 
1350 
1849 

193 
50 

2915 
1349 



1365 
1363 
1362 
1361 
1352 
1371 
1353 



XX. 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Miscellaneous 

Cataraqui Bridge 1373 

Citadel 1807 

Murney Tower 1348 

Naval Battle 1182 

Orange Arch, 1860 1370 

"Rooney Castle" 1364 

Kingston Mills, Mill at 1347 

Kootenay Lake, B.C 2865, 2881 



LABRADOR. 

Battle Harbor 2487, 2498 

Caribou 4 2471 

Cartwright 2499 

Eagle River 2492 

Eagle River, Falls 2490 

Eagle River Fishery 2482 

Forteau Bay Church 2495 

Hawk Island 2486 

Henley Island 2481 

Indian Procession 3235 

Indians, Making Map 3234 

Indian Winding Sheet 3251 

Mingan, 1861 2452 

Moisie River 3249, 3260 

Moisie, Second Gorge *. 3237 

Moisie Rapids 3236, 3246 

Montagnais Chief 3254, 3261 

Montagnais 3242, 3247 

Mosquito Lake 3238 

Nasquapee Indians 3257-8 

Ridge Portage 3423 

St. Francis Harbor 2488 

St. Lewis' Bay 2494 

St. Michael's Bay 2493 

Taylor's Gulch 2489 

Lachine, Que 3169 

Lachine Rapids 3166 

Lachine Road, Windmill on 2031 

Lacolle, One., Manor House . . 1934 

Lacole Mill and Blockhouse.... 1937 

Lambton, Check Toll Gate . 935 

Lambton Flour Mills 873 

Lambton, Howland's Store 883 

La Puce. Fall of 2021, 2023 

Les Chats, Falls at 1801 1892 

Les Chats. Timber Slides... 1771 

Levis. Que 2892-3, 2895-6, 2920 

Lily Lake, N.B 1 755 

Lmd (Jenny) Concert Ticket 303 

Lindsay, Ont., 1880 1915 

Little Dog Lake 2394 

Little Dog Portage, Falls.!.' 2396 

Little Dog River, Falls 2392 

Little Falls Portage, N.B.. . 2219 

Little Lake, Ont, Home Near.. 3107 



LOCOMOTIVES. 

"Countess of Dufferin" 2310, 2347 

"Lady Elgin," Toronto 1111 

"Toronto" 1115 

LONDON, ONT. 

London, >1837 1443 

London, 1840 1455, 1457, 1461 

London, 1842 1445, 1454 

London, 1843 1450-51 

London, 1844 1453 

London, 1846 1460 

' London, 1851 1462 

London, 1854 1446 

London, 1855 226 

London, 1857 1441 

London, 1870 1442, 1452 

London, 1872 1459 

Miscellaneous 

Free Press Office 1444 

G.W.R. Cove Bridge 1458 

G.W.R. Opening Section 1449, 1456 

G.W.R. Station, Old 1456 

"Princess Louise" 1448 

Steeplechase, 1843 216 

"Victoria," Wreck of Steamer 1447 

Longford, Ont 2962 

Long Sault Rapids 1848 

Long's Farm 2045 

Lorette, Que 1821, 2047, 2055 

Lorette, Falls of 1925 

LOUISBURG. 

Louisburg, 1731 2434 

Louisburg, 1758 2433 

Louisburg, 1760 2442 

Louisburg, 1777 2443 

Capture of, 1758 73 

Citadel, 1731 8 

Naval Battle, 1781 135 

Louise, Lake 2875 

Lundy's Lane, Battleground 1298 

Lundy's Lane, Monument 1332 

Lunenburg, N.S., St. John's Ch. 3644 
Lytton, B.C., Caribou Road 3051 

M 

Mackenzie River Mail 2462 

McLean's Bay, Sparrow Lake. 3325 

Macleod. Alta., Holy Cross Ch. 2420 

Mace, House of Commons 3504 

Mace Captured at York. 1107 

Mackinaw Island. 1837 213 

Maiden, or Amherstburg 3332 

Manitoba Penitentiary 2 

Manitoba Wheat Fields 2862 

Margaree Harbor 2497 

Mary Lake, Ont 3033-40 

Maskinonge, Bridge Over 3529 

Masonic Cert. John Lauchlin.. 3378 



GENERAL. INDEX. 



XXI. 



Masonic Certificate, Niagara.. 220 

Mass in Lumber Shanty 1894 

Massauwippi Lake 1552, 1767 

Massauwippi and St. Francis.. 1571 

Meaford, Ont 3100-01 

Memphremagog, Farm on 1768 

Memphremagog, Hut on 1789 

Memphremagog, L. 1574, 1777, '79, '87 

Memphremagog, L. Outlet 1786 

Mennonite Service 2841 

Metapedia, Que 1959 

Metapedia Intercol. Bridge 1947 

Mount Milton, Rocky. Mts 3048 

Minas, Entrance to Basin 2165 

Miner, B.C., 1864 32 

Minuets of Canadians 2026 

Miramichi Settlement 2221 

Mono Mills, Ont., Court Scene 3345-7 

Montcalm, Death of 1715 

Montcalm Monument, Quebec.. 1936 

Montcalm, Skull of 3442 

Montgomery Cove 1816 

Montgomery, Death of 1723-4 

Montgomery House, Quebec. . . 1940 
Montgomery, Where He Fell.. 1950 

Montmorency Bridge 1783 

Montmorency, Cone of . 92, 1998 

Montmorency Falls.. 1961, 2038, 2044 

Montmorency Falls, 1828 . 206 

Montmorency Falls, 1876.. 3094, '97 
Montmorency Falls and Quebec 93 
Montmorency Falls in Winter. . 2040 
Montmorency from St. Joseph's 1975 
Montmorency, from Summit . . 1782 
Montmorency Picnic. 1978-80, 1989-91 
Montmorency R. Natural Steps 1829 
Montmorency, Wolfe's Attack 65, 2082 

MONTREAL, QUE. 

Montreal.. 1745, 1861, '76, '81, 2035 

Montreal, 1839-41 1832 

Montreal, 1851 1874 

Montreal, 1876 3164, 3167 

Montreal and Longueuil 1865 

Montreal, East View 2053 

From Cote de Neiges 1941 

From Notre Dame 1886 

From St. Helen's 114, 203 

Harbor, 1830 Ill 

Harbor, 1880 1889 

Perspective View 2831 

Buildings 
Assembly Bldgs., Ruins, 1860 1939 

Chateau de Ramezay 1913 

Christ Ch. Cathedral 1747 

City Hall 1888 

Donegana's' Hotel 1951 

Grey Nunnery, Rear 2858 

Johnson, Home Sir J 124 

Notre Dame Ch...l746, 1764, 1803 



Notre Dame Pulpit 1887 

Notre Dame de Bonseco-urs . . 1926 

Notre Dame de Lourdes 3379 

Recollet Convent and Ch 2859 

St. Gabriel Pres. Church.... 2845 

Streets and Squares 

Champ de Mars 108, 1927 

McGill St 1928, 2854 

Notre Dame St 106, 110, 113 

Notre Dame St., 1832 2836 

Place d'Armes.109, 112, 1878, 2833 
St. James St 105, 107 

Miscellaneous 

Fire, 1852 1885 

Great Bell 1871, 1883 

Ice at Wharves . '. 1859 

Mount Royal 3165 

St. Helen's Island 1856, 1864 

Nelson' Column 1823 

Sledge Race 1857 

Steamboat Wharf 2851 

Victoria Bridge, 104, '15, 1866-7, 1981 

Moon Chute, Bala 2879 

Moore, Tom, Home of Ste. Anne 1924 

Moore, Trinity Church 3449 

Moose Deer 2034 

Moose Mountain 3012 

Moraviantown, Battleground . . 3355 

Morristown, N. Y 1377 

Mountain, Bishop, Canoe of . . . 2295 

Muskoka, 1872 3000 

Muskoka Clearing, 1875 3001 

Muskoka Club, 1866 1128 

Muskoka Lake 3113-6 

Muskoka R.. 3119, 3125-9, 3133, 3136 

Muskoka River Bridge 3007 

Muskoka River, Falls of 3120 

N 

Nameuken River, Falls 2402 

Nanaimo, B.C., 1862 2298 

Navy Island and Chippawa . . . 228 

Navy Island, 1839-41 1850 

Nelson, B.C., Oak Hall Mines.. 2886 
Neplgon River, Thunder Bay.. 3011 

Nepisiguit River, 1860 2229-30 

Nepowewin Mission 2416 

New Brunswick, Early Days in 1739 
New Carlisle, Que 1585 

NEWFOUNDLAND. 

Aquaforte, 1857 2285 

Bell Island Beach, 1857 2282 

Cremailliere Harbor 2281 

Petty Harbor, 1857 2275 

Placentia, 1786 2468 

Placentia Harbor, 1786 2457 

Placentia Naval Station.. . 2477 



XXII. 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Placentia, Town and Harbor 2476 

Portugal Cove, Church at 2280 

Quidi Vidi Lake, 1857 2279 

ST. JOHN'S, NFLD. 

St John's, 1750 2278 

St. John's, 1786 2466 

St. John's, 1798 42 

St. John's, 1811 41 

St John's, 1831 45 

St. John's, 1857 2276, 2277 

From Freshwater Road 2261 

From Govt. House 2256 

From Sea 2274 

Harbor 2258, 2469 

Harbor and Town 2300 

Harbor, Entrance 2459 

Harbor, Night View 2479 

Harbor, South View 2480 

Bank B.N.A 2293 

Cathedral 2271 

Colonial Bldg 2272 

Court House 2284 

Custom House 2283 

Free St. Andrew's Church... 2260 

French Disembarkation 2255 

Govt. House 2273 

St. Thomas' Church 2257 

St. Lawrence Harbors 2461 

Seven Islands, 1786 2483 

Ship Signals 133 

Stamps, Coronation George V. 2253 

Stamps, Tercentenary 2252 

Starve Harbor, 1857 2270 

Toad's Cove, 1857 2286 

Trinity, 1840 2478 

Trinity Bay, Tel. House 2262 

New Glasgow, N.S., 1876. 2186, 2206 

New Glasgow, 1880 3431 

Newtonbrook, Barrett's Hotel.. 763-4 
New Westminster, Church at.. 2287 

NIAGARA, ONT. 

Niagara, 1854 230 

Buildings 

Ball (G.) Home and Mill 1339 

Ball (Peter) Home 1297 

Bishop Home 1209 

Butler Home 1246 

Chapman Home 1247, 1259 

Court House, Old 1288-1294 

Field Home 1310 

Hamilton Home 1307 

Kirby (Wm.) Home 1233 

McFarland Home 1334 

Masonic Hall 1282 

Memorial Hall 1317 

Military Hospital 1260 

"Navy Hall" 1269, 3303 

Plumb (Senator) House... . 1242 



Puisaye, de, Home 1305 

St. Andrew's Church.. 1253, 1273 

St. Andrew's Interior 225 

St. Andrew's, Sexton's Hse.. 1240 

St. Mark's Church 231, 1274 

St. Mark's, Interior 1270 

Servos Farm, Palatine Hill . . 234 

Servos Grist Mill 1238, 1244 

Servos Home 1243, 1271 

Western Home 1261 

"Wilderness" 1272 

Smith (D. W.) Home 1255 

Miscellaneous 

Butler Graveyard 1264 

King St, 1839 1208, 1212 

Lighthouse 202 

Powder Magazine 1211 

Queen and Gate Sts... 1275, 1316 

Royal Coat of Arms 1257 

NIAGARA FALLS. 

Niagara Falls, 1711 239 

Niagara Falls, 1777 1262 

Niagara Falls, 1792 3300 

Niagara Falls, 1793 3298 

Niagara Falls, Spray, 1794... 3311 

Niagara Falls, 1828 200 

Niagara Falls, 1850 223, 1258 

Niagara Falls, 1871 3018 

By Moonlight 1245 

From Burch's Mills 1325 

From Ft. Schlosser 1235 

Horse Shoe Falls 198, 1752 

Horse Shoe Falls, 1872 3149 

Horse Shoe Falls, 1882 1210 

NIAGARA RIVER. 

Niagara River, 1837 221 

Niagara River, 1839-41 1811 

Entrance to, 1849 224 

Whirlpool 1223, 1838, 3301 

Miscellaneous 

Canal Boat 1337 

Clifton House. . . 1250, 1251-2, 1276 

Clifton House Bill 208 

Suspension Bridge 218, 2848 

Suspension Bridge (Ry.) 219 

Table Rock 1367 

Tubular Bridge, Proposed 227 

Upper Bridge 1241 

Water Wheel , 3606 

Whirlpool Tavern 1266 

North Falls 3122-3, 3130-1, 3138 

Northern Lights 2922 

North Saskatchewan River 2878 

North West Mounted Police 1054 

Norway House, Man 2316 

"Nova Scotia Illustrated".. . 2175 



GENERAL INDEX. 



XXIII. 



"Old Court," Gwillim Home 3279, 3282 
"Old Guard" Dinner, Ottawa.. 154 

ONTARIO. 

Arms of Province 542 

Government Dredger 3153 

Lacrosse Club, 1871 1062 

Legislatures 348-59 

Lake, Ice Hummocks on .... 822 

Lake, Near Port Hope 2914 

Lake, Map of, 1757 240 

Lieut-Governors 421-31 

Premiers 1611 

O.S.H. Ry., First Sod.. 263, 518, 782 

Orford Lake, Que 1778 

Orford Mountain 1776 

Orillia, 1864 3348 

Orillia, 1872 2952 

Orillia, Settlement Near 3134 



ORO TOWNSHIP, ONT. 

Oro, 1872 

Oro, 1873 

After a Storm 

At Play in a Log Pile 

Clearing the Land 

Corduroy Road 

Forest Shade 

Homeseeker's Clearing 

Log Bridge 

Log Chopper's Hut 

Making Shingles 2927, 

Old-Time Barn 

"Our Chicken Shanty" 

Snow Clad Stump 

Storm Conquered Pine 

Winter Scenes 2926,2936. 

When Evening Falls 

Woodland Creek . 



OTTAWA. 

Ottawa, 1855 

Ottawa, Lower Town 
Ottawa, Upper Town 
From Barrack Hill. . . 
Wellington St., 1880 

Parliament Buildings 

Commons Chamber 

From Main Entrance . . . 

From Major's Hill 

Library 

Main Building 

Parliament Bldgs., 1912.. 

Senate Chamber 

Tower, Eastern Block . . 

Walls 

Western Block 

Vice Regal Chair, Senate 



1565, 



2923 
2944 
2946 
2945 
2947 
2939 
2935 
2928 
2933 
2925 
2948 
2938 
2934 
2937 
2924 
2943 
2941 
2940 



1408 

205 

194 

1570 

1895 

3501 
1906 
1901 
2905 
1907 
2880 
3599 
1896 
3500 
1905 
1893 



Miscellaneous 
Approach to Susp. Bridge... 156S 

Curling Match 1057 

Old Houses 3061 

Postoffice 1902 

Rideau Hall 1890 

Rideau Hall, 1917 3499 

Rideau Rifle Ranges 1406 

Sapper's Bridge 1410 

Ottawa Lumbermen's Camp . . 1891 

Ottawa Lumber Trade 1900 

Ottawa River. 1562, 1775, 2903-4, 2912 
Ottawa R., "Breaking a Jam". . 1908 

Ottawa River, Burial Place 1844 

Ottawa River, Timber Raft 1407 

Ottawa River, Locks on 1556 

Ottawa R. Lumbermen's Homes 2906 

Ottawa River, Mill Site 2908 

Ottawa and St. Lawrence 1781 

Ottawa River, Storehouse 3091 

Ottawa Timber Slide 1806 

Owen Sound, Ont 3139-40 

Owen Sound Bay 3159 

Owen Sound, Rocks at... 3150, 3160 
Owen Sound, Rocks, 1874. 3141, '47 '57 

Owen Sound, Bridge 3156 

Owen Sound, Stream Near 3162 

Owl's Head Mountain 1557, 1597, 1784 



Pabineau Falls, Nepisiguit R. . 2226 

"Pacific," Rescue Crew 827 

Paris, C.W., 1853 3472 

Parry Sound, 1880 1166 

Partridge Island, N.S 2192 

Partridge Island, N.B 39 

Pas, or Cumberland Station... 2386 

Paspebiac, Que., 1834 1579 

Paspebiac, Fisheries. 1834, 1595, 1599 

Peace Riv., at Ft. Dunvegan 3057 

Peel Co., Old Log House 304 

Pembina, Dakota 2389 

Penetanguishene... 1358, 2984, 2987 
Penetanguishene, Nav. IDs-tab. . 3349 
Penetanguishene, Sawmill... 2985-6 

Peninsular Lake, 1875 3170-2 

Perce, Que., 1834 1582, 1586 

Perce Rock 1591 

Perth, U.C., 1853 1398 

Peterboro, Ont 1916 

Picton, Ont 3496, 3498 

Pictou, N.S 2170, 2177, 2181 

Pierced Island, Que 2081 

Pinnacle, From Little Lake 1572 

Point Au Bodet, 1792 3291 

Point du Chene, Sail. Fleet . . . 2246 

Point Levis, Que 2899, 2901 

Point Levis, Church at 1780 

Point Levis, Old Dwellings 2898 



XXIV. 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Point Levis, Old House at 2121 

Point Levis, Street View 2837 

Point Ogle, Thunderstorm 3594 

Point St. Charles, Windmill . . 2834 

Point St. Peter, Gaspe Bay 1584 

Portage La Prairie, 1857 2415 

Port Hope, 1851 1366 

Port Hope, 1851 1351, 1366 

Port Hope, 1876 2917 

Port Hope, G.T.R. Viaduct.... 1359 

Port Perry, 1853 3503 

Port Stanley, 1876 1463 

Pottawateamte River 3154, 3163 

Prairie Level 2340 

Prentice's Journey, 1781 61 

Prescott, 1839-41 1813 

Prescott, 1876 2921 

Prince of "Wales' Canoe 1956 

Prince of Wales, Car Used by. 3447 
Prince of Wales' Excursion... 1379 



QUEBEC. 

Quebec 63, 68, 2014 

Quebec, 1760 2013 

Quebec, 1836 1869 

Quebec, 1839-41 1814 

Quebec, 1850 1971 

Quebec, 1854 1970 

Below Cape Diamond 2069 

From the Basin 2083 

From Beach at Levis 2970 

From Beauport 2017 

From Beauport, 1855 103 

From Cape Diamond 2027 

From Chateau 1973 

From Chateau Frontenac 2883 

From Citadel, 1839 1793 

From Beauport 2039 

From Harbor 2041 

From Height of Levis 1809 

From Pt. Levis. 91, 1985, 1992, 2048 

From Pt. Levis, 1784 2007 

From Pt. Levis, 1828 207 

From Pt. Levis, 1832 2843 

From Pt. Levis, 1876 2964 

From Ramparts 2968 

From St. Charles Riv. . 1983, 2052 

From St. Lawrence 1968 

From "Vanguard" 2080 

From Wharves 1853 

Looking Across Esplanade.. 1921 

Lower Town 70, 88 

Lower Town, Modern View.. 2830 

Northwest Part of City 2049 

Southeast View 90 

Stormy Day, 1890 2839 

Upper Town 



Buildings 
Arnold's Headquarters ..... 1996 

Basilica 3296 

Basilica and Market Sq 2074-5 

Bishop's House 2050, 2061 

Cabinet Chamber 3488 

Cathedral, etc 2064 

Council Ch., City Hall 3492 

Custom House, 1880 1977 

English Cathedral 3607-8 

General Hospital 2002 

Intendant's Palace 2063 

Jesuits' Ch., Interior 2060 

Jesuts' Coll. and Church ... 2059 

Laval University, 1876 2971 

Laval University, Gate 1919 

Legislative Assembly Ch'br. 3495 
Legislative Council Ch'br . . . 3493 

Market and Cath. Church 1993 

Montcalm House 1952 

Notre Dame de la Victoire.. 2058 
Notre Dame des Victoires.. 1917 
Parliament, Home of, 1792.. 2820 

Recollet Friars' Church 2057 

Spencer Wood 1948, 3591 

Spencer Wood, Lodge at 2011 

St. Andrew's Church 2056 

Theatre Royal St. Louis 1995 

Treasury and Jesuits' Coll . . . 2062 

Ursuline Conv., Chapel 1976 

Ursuline Gardens 1918 

Ursuline Nunnery 2051 

Gates 

Dalhousie 2067, 2105 

Hope 2079 

Palace 2077 

Prescott 1792, 2068 

St. Louis , 2070 

St. John's 2065, 2076 

Pageant, 1908 

Arrival of Ursulines 94 

Champlain 82-3 

Champlain, Mme 95 

"Don de Dieu" 84 

Jacques Cartier 97 

Laval and De Tracy 86 

Return of Iroquois 96 

Review of Armies 85 

Miscellaneous 
Abraham, Hgts. of 1826, 2103, 2821 

"Break-Neck" Steps 1932 

Bridge, Near 1852 

Bigot, Ruins of Chateau 2001 

Chien d'Or 1935 

Citadel 1785, 2010 

Citadel and River Front 1982 

Driving Club Meeting 62 



GENERAL INDEX. 



XXV. 



Caleche, Modern 1953 

Cape Diamond 2823 

Champ de Mars 2072 

Champlain, Landing of 2828 

Champlain Market 2965 

Chateau St. Louis 3434-9 

Dufferin Terrace 2104 

Esplanade 2005, 2842 

First Parliament, 1792 2824-5 

Gate, Shield on, 1759 2071 

Hope Hill 2974 

Ice Pont, 1831 87 

Landing Place 2089 

Little Champlan St 1933. 2835 

Market Place 1790, 2849 

Martello Tower 1931 

Officers' Barracks 2066 

Place d'Armes 2006, 2850 

Plan of Operations, 1759 145 

Principal Square 71 

Ramparts 2832 

Recollets Street 69 

Scott, Thos., Grave of 1954 

Sous Le Cap Street 1920 

Timber Coves, 1862 1994 

Timber Depot 1795 

Wilson (John) Memorial .... 1955 

Queen's Own Mace 1133-4 

Q.O.R., Ridgeway Monument... 1548 

QUEENSTON. 

Queenston, 1839-41 1836 

Anglican Church 1318 

Battleground 1237 

Brock, House Where He Died. 1329 

Brock House (1913) 1330 

Brock's Monument 1839 

Eastham House 1291 

Brock's Spring 1308 

Hamilton (Alex.) House 1302 

Hamilton Wharf 1321 

Hamilton's Hotel 1304 

Heights, Battle of 229 

Lower Landing... 1312, 1326-7, 3297 

Lower Landing Road 1322 

Monument House 1338 

Old Pres. Church 1315 

Mackenzie's Printing Off. 1284. 1303 

Partition Street 1311 

Redan Battery, Site 1283 

Sheaffe's Pass 1292 

, Susp. Bridge, Fall of. . . 1309, 1342 

Tice, Home of Mrs 3304 

Simcoe, Camp of Mrs 3302 

Queen's Rangers' Huts 3299 

Quinte, Bay of, 1839-41 1834 



Rainy River, Falls on 2383 

"Ranston," Eng. (Baker House) 1665 



Rat Portage (Kenora), Falls at 2357 

Rat Portage, H. B. Post 2370 

"Raven Plume," Mss 276 

REBELLION, L.C. 

Gore's Operations (Plan) . . . 1873 

"Richelieu," Passage of 1879 

St. Charles, Attack on. . 1872, 1877 
St. Eustache, Ch. at... 1880, 1884 

Weatherall's Bivouac 1875 

Red Cross Flag, 1885 196 

Red Head Mountain, C.B 2207 

Red Lake Chief at Ft. Douglas 2348 
Red Lake Chief and Governor. . 2353 

RED RIVER. 

Acadamy, 1844 2301 

Bishop's Court, 1857 2302 

Carts, 1862-3 3253 

Freighter's Boat 2326 

From Stone Fort 2341 

From St. Andrew's Ch 2393 

Governor Canoeing 2352 

Governor Driving 2349 

Governor's House 2344 

Home of Chief Factor 2337 

Kildonan Pres. Church 2343 

Map of, 1819 33 

St. Andrew's Church 2322 

St. Andrew's Parsonage 2318 

St. John's Ch. and College . . . 2373 

St. Paul's Church 2335 

Regina, Sask., Parlt. Bldgs 2860 

Rideau Canal, 1839-41 1765, 1804 

Rideau Falls 1561 

Rideau River, Mill.. 1770, 2902, 2909 
Rideau, Nr. Billing' Bridge... 2910 

Rideau Riv. Pioneer Home 2907 

Ridgeway, Burial Men Killed at 783 

Riel, Louis, and Council .. 1 

Riviere de Loup Bridge 3540 

River Aux Rats, Trading Post. 2086 
Robson Peak, Canadian Rockies 3060 
Rocky Mountains, W. of Edson. 3063 

Rosie Pt, Near Shanty Bay 2932 

Royal Can. Yacht Club Flags.. 3066 
Royal Signatures 2012 

REGIMENTS CANADA 1757-1869. 

1st foot Guards 1465 

1st, Royal Scots 1464 

3rd, The Buffs 1466 

4th, King's Own 1467 

5th, Northum'ld Fusiliers... 1468 

6th, Royal Warwickshire.... 1469 

7th, Queen's Own Huzzars. . 1470 

7th, Royal Fusiliers 1471 

8th, King's 1472-3 

9th, East Norfolk 1474 

10th, North Lincoln 1475 



XXVI. 



GENERAL INDEX. 



llth, North Devonshire 1476 

13th, First Somersetshire . . 1477 

14th, Buckinghamshire 1478 

15th, Yorkshire 1479 

16th, Bedfordshire 1480 

17th, "Death or Glory" 1481 

17th, Leicestershire 1482 

18th, Royal Irish 1483 

19th, Droheda Light Horse . . 1484 

20th, East Devon 1485 

21st, Royal Scots Fusiliers . . 1486 

22nd, Cheshire 1487 

23rd, Royal Welsh Fus 1488 

24th (2nd Warwickshire)... 1489 

26th, Cameronians 1490 

27th, Inniskilling 1491 

28th, Gloucestershire 1492 

29th, Worcestershire ...*.. 1493 

30th, Cambridgeshire 1494 

30th, Imperial Officers 1551 

31st, Huntingdonshire 1495 

34th, Cumberland 1496 

35th, Royal Sussex 1497 

36th, Herefordshire 1498 

37th, North Hampshire 1499 

38th (1st Staffordshire) 1500 

39th, Dorsetshire 1501 

40th (2nd Somersetshire) .... 1502 

41st, Welsh 1503 

42nd, Royal Highland 1504 

43rd, Monmouthshire 1505 

44th, East Essex 1506 

45th, Nottinghamshire 1507 

46th, South Devonshire 1508 

47th, Lancashire 1509 

49th, Hertfordshire . 1510 

53rd, Shropshire 1511 

55th, Westmoreland 1512 

57th, West Middlesex 1513 

68th, Rutlandshire 1514 

60th, King's Rl. Rifle Corps.. 1515 

70th, Surrey 1516 

71st, Highland Light Infantry 1517 
74th, "Argyle" Highlanders. 1518 

76th, Hindostan 1519 

78th, "Fraser" Highlanders.. 1520 
79th, Cameron Highlanders.. 1521 

83rd, County of Dublin 1522 

84th, Rl. Highland Em. Corps 1523 
85th, King's Lt. Infantry.... 1524 

88th, Connaught Rangers 1525 

89th, Royal Irish Fus 1526 

90th, Perthshire Volunteers.. 1527 
93rd, Sutherland Highlanders 1528 

100th, Prince Regent's 1529 

101st, Duke of York's Irish.. 1530 
103rd, Regiment of Foot.... 1531 
104th, N.B. Fencible Infantry 1532 
Brit. Troops on March, 1837. 2238 

Coldstream Guards 1533 

Highland Co., Quebec, 1839.. 1545 



Light Inf. (43rd), Niag. Falls 1293 

Montreal Rifle Rangers 1544 

Prince of Wales' Leinster R, . 1120 
Pr. of Wales' Rl. Can. Regt.. 1127 
Quebec Light Infantry, 1839. . 1542 

Quebec Loyal Artificers 1546 

Quebec Rl. Eng. Rifles 1535 

Quebec Vol. Cavalry, 1839.. 1537 
Quebec Vol. "Frontispiece".. 1536 

Queen's Volunteers, Que 1538 

Queen's Own Lt. Inf., Que 1547 

Queen's Rangers, 1780 1539-41 

Rifle Brig.(Pr. Consort's Own) 1543 
Royal Que. Vol. Art'y, 1839.. 1549 
Sailors' Co. (Queen's Pets). 1550 
Scots Fusilier Guards 1534 

Robinson, Joel, Daring Act of. . 1218 



St. 



St. Andrew's, N.B., Blockhouse 2798 
St. And's, Greenock Pres. Ch. 2772-3 
St. And's, Town and Harb. 2220, 2267 

Ste. Anne de Beaupre, Que 2117 

St. Anne, Falls of, Que 1923 

St. Anne's Rapids, Ry. Bridge. 1858 

St. Boniface Nunnery 2355 

St. Catharines', U.C., 1850 1399 

St. Catharines, Shipyards 1404 

St. Charles and Lairet Rivers. . 1946 
St. Charles Lake, Nr. Quebec.. 2036 

St. Charles, Que., Valley of 2973 

St. David's, Masonic Mtg. PI.. 1256 
St. Foye Monument, Quebec... 1929 
St. Francis R., Que., 1554, '58, '75, 1769 
St. Francis and Magog Rivers. 1824 

St. George Accident, G.T.R 3388 

St. Hyacinth, Que 1963, 2029 

St. John, N.B 1743, 1750, 2268 

St. John, N.B., 1877, Great Fire 44 

St. John River, Falls on 40, 1732 

St. John's, Que 47, 1830, 1972 

St. John's, C.E. Barracks, 1846.. 2822 

ST. LAWRENCE RIVER. 

At Montreal, 1839-41 1833 

At Quebec 2054 

Cascades of 2032 

North Shore, 1839-41 1797 

Posting on 1960 

Rapids of 1882 

Sleigh Meeting on 59 

Sleighing on, 1841 116 

St. Mary's, N.B., Winter View. . 2236 

St. Maurice River, Forges 2087 

St. Paul's Bay, Que 2028 

St. Peter Lake, Raft on 1842 

St. Regis, Que., 1839-41 1841 

St. Thomas, Riviere de Sud... 66 



GENERAL, INDEX. 



XXVII. 



s 

Sable I., Wreckers' Den. . 2144, 2167 

Sacketts' Harbor 1167 

Sacksville, Ont, Christ Church 3354 

Salmon Cove, B.C 3049 

Salt Plains, Slave River 3592 

Sambro Lighthouse 2151, 2157 

Sandwich Barracks 3337 

Sandwich, Co. Treas. Office... 3456 
Sandwich, Home Col. J. Baby. . 3342 
Sandwich, Montreuil Windmill 3455 

Sandwich, Jesuit Mission 1381 

Sandwich, St. John's Church.. 3331 
Sandwich, Wilkinson Home... 3340 
Saskatchewan Riv., Grand Rap. 2414 

Saskatchewan Riv., South 3050 

Sault Ste. Marie, Ont 2426, 3013 

Sault Ste. Marie, U.S 2430 

Savona's Ferry, B.C 3056 

Scarboro Cent. Committee 191 

Secord, Home of David 1331 

Secord Cottage, Chippawa 1340 

Secord Dwelling, Queenston. . 1335-6 
Secord Mon't, Lundy's Lane.. 1341 
Secord, Laura, Plan of Walk. . 1328 

Secord, L., Eventful Walk 1333 

Schubenacadie, L., Scene Near 2204 

Scugog, 1853 2889 

Seal Hunting 3244 

Seigniorial Tenure Court 128 

Seven Oaks Mon't, Winnipeg.. 3240 

Severn Bridge, 1873 2949 

Severn Bridge, Near 2963 

Severn River, 1873 2975, 3024 

Shanty Bay 2931 

Shanty Bay, Home in 2930 

Shanty Bay "Woodlands" 3046 

Sharon Temperance Band 3440 

Sharon, Ont., Temple at 3560-7 

Shebandowan Lake, Ont 3015 

Shebanwanning, Ont 2418 

Shediac, N.B 2217, 2222 

Shediac, N.B., Oyster Mud 2248 

Shediac, N.B., Raking Oysters. 2247 

Sherbrooke, Que., 1880 3382 

Sherbrooke, Bridge at 1805 

Sherbrooke, Mills at 1800 

Sherbrooke, B.A., Land Co. Off. 2245 

Sillery, Home of Jesuits 1930 

Sillery, Road Leading to 2106 

Simcoe Chair 1268 

Simcoe Lake, 1872 3044-5 

Simcoe Marriage Certificate.. 3372 

Simcoe, Pioneer Home in 3108 

Simcoe Proclamation, 1792 3273 

Simpson, Sir G., on Insp. Tour 2470 

Skeena River, B.C 3059 

Slave ffells, Winnipeg River. . . 2405 

Sleighing in North America 222 

Smith (Prof. Goldwin), Birthpl. 786 



Snow Fighting, T.G. & B. Ry. . 3432 
Souris and Assiniboine Rivers. 2409 

Souris, Valley of 2378-80, 2407 

South Falls, Ont.... 3121, 3132, 3137 

South Falls, Road Near 3124 

Sparow Lake 2950, 3080, 3118 

Sparrow Lake, Chute Near 3326 

Sparrow Lake, McDonald's Rap. 3329 

Split Rock, N.B., 1839-41 1738 

Stamford Cottage 1267 

Stamford Meeting House 1265 

Stanley, N.B., 1835 2232 

Stanley, Building Camp 2235 

Stanley, Clearing Town Plot. . . 2237 

Stanley, Mill 2231, 2242-3 

Stanley, Surveying Party 2244 

Stanley Tavern 2241 

Stanstead, Que 1555 



Stephenson, R., Dinner Menu 
Stoney Creek Battleground... 
Stoney Ck. Monts.... 1285, 1301 
Sugar Loaf, View From 
Switzerville Methodist Church. 



259 
1290 
1323 
1594 
3341 



Sydenham Riv. 3142, '45, 3151-2, '5, '61 
Sydney (North), C.B 3479 



Tadousac, Que 1910 

Tanner's Rapid 2391 

Tecumseh, Birthplace of 3357 

Tecumseh Tablet, Moraviant'wn 3362 

Tecumseh Stone, Amherstburgh 3363 

Temperance Mon't, Near Levis 1949 

Tenth Royals, Colors 535 

Thompson River, B.C 3054 

Thompson Riv. (N.), B.C.. 3055, 3062 

Thorold, Ont., 1880 1173 

Thorold, DeCew House.. 1343, 1346 

Thorold, Lock 23 at 1180 

Thousand Islands, 1792 3293 

Thousand Islands, 1839-41 1851 

Thousand Islands, 1851 1385 

Thousand Islands, 1876.. 2916, 3168 

Thousand Islands, Engagement 1382 

Three Rivers, Que.. 1843, 1962, 2015 

Thunder Bay, Entrance to 3014 

Thunder Bay, Mem. Tablet 2453 

Thunder Cape, L. Superior 1914 

Trading Lake, Ont 2978, 2981 

Trapper, Near Quebec 1986-7 

Trenton, Ont., 1871 2993 

Turkey Point, Ont 1378 

Twenty-Mile Cr'k (Jordan, Ont.) 3322 

Two Mountains, Lake of 1825 

TORONTO. 

Toronto (York), 1810 3017 

Toronto (York), 1823 737 

Toronto, 1834 1131 

Toronto, 1851 341, 728, 889 



XXVIII. 



GENERAL, INDEX. 



Toronto, 1854- 338 

Toronto, 1871 3016 

Toronto, 1908 297-8 

Toronto Bay, fr. Brown's wh'rf 844 
Toronto Bay, Winter, 1835 . . 828, '42 

Toronto Bay, Winter, 1869 . . 736 

Toronto Harbor, Orig. en'ce. . 258 

Toronto (Centre) Island, 1880 731 

Toronto Island, 1866 733 

Toronto Island Sen 915 

Bay and City, 1876 3017 

Bay Shore, 1850 575 

From the Island. 1880 1130 

From Nor. Ry. Elevator 745 

Streets 

Bay and Wellington Sts 551 

Bay and Melinda Sts 574 

Front St., 1810 532 

Front St., 1820 544 

Front St., 1834 826 

Front St., 1873-4 569 

James St., 1845 864 

John St., 1852 793 

King St., 1835 825, 840 

King St., 1836 262 

King St., 1842 274 

King St., 1858 331 

King St., 1873-4 566 

King St., 1881 557 

King St. East, 1846.... 1122, 1132 

King St. East, 1866 939 

Knig St. West, 1846 796 

King St. West, 1856 808 

King St. West, 1866 871 

King and Bay Sts., 1864-5 573 

King and Bay Sts., 1868-76.. 918 

King and Bay Sts., 1898 930 

King and Frederick Sts., 1833 803 

King and York Sts., 1858 572 

Queen St. West, 1852 794 

Queen St. West, 1890 505 

Simcoe St., Old Residences. 820 

St. George St., 1890 732 

Toronto St., 1858 940 

Wellington and Scott, 1873.. 567 

Yonge St., 1850-70 79 

Yonge St., 1873 568 

Yonge and Adelaide, 1856... 565 

Yonge and College, 1864 767 

Yonge and Gerrard, 1881 .... 865 

Yonge and Gould Sts 700 

Yonge and King Sts., 1873.. 558 

Yonge and King Sts., 1873-4. 564 

Yonge and Richmond, 1888.. 810 

Buildings- 
Agricultural Hall 498 

"Aikinshaw" (Thomson H'ine) 928 

American Hotel g60 

Armory and Drill Shed ... 936 



Austin (Jas.) Residence 723 

Asylum, Queen St. . . 541, 548, 832 

Bain (James) Homestead 766 

Baines' Residence 267 

Baldwin Residences 662, 717 

Bank of B.N.A 550 

Bank of Montreal 799 

Bank of U.C 502, 522 

"Bellevue" (Denison Home) . 590 

Berczy Cottage 673 

"Berkeley" House (Small) 691, 693 

"Beverley" House 2760-2 

Bird, Lennox Hotel 686 

Bishop's (Paul) Cottage 705 

Bishop (Paul) Shop 719 

Black Bull Hotel, Queen St.. . 818 
Blockhouse, Sherbourne St.. 333 

Bloor's Brewery 807 

Blue School 929, 2812 

Bonnycastle Residence 562 

Bostwick House and Shop.. 927 

Brewery, First in York 876 

Bright House 909 

Bryan's Locksmith Shop.. 729-30 
"CaerHowell" (Powell Hse) 894-5 

Canada Co'y Office 523, 823' 

Canadian (Royal) Institute . . 760 
Campbell (Sir Wm.) Home. 806 
Castle Frank, Don River.... 3286 

Caulkins' Broom Factory 937 

City Halls 401-2 

City Hall, Opening 340 

Clark, Home of Sir W. M... 454 
Colborne Lodge (Howard Hse) 284 

Colborne Lodge, Entrance 833 

College Ave. Lodge, 1830 683 

Cooper Residence 879 

Court Houses 570, 576-7 

Crispin's Tavern 546 

Crookshank Farmhouse .... 881 
Crookshank Farm, House on. . .765 
Cruickshank, Beikie Houses. 555 

Crystal Palace 552 

Custom House, First 509 

Custom House, Second 515 

Custom House, Third 512 

Custom House, Fourth 510 

Custom House, Fifth 526 

Custom House, Sixth 513 

Custom House, Seventh 500 

Custom House, Eighth 516 

Denison (Lt.-Col. R. L.) Hse. 931 

Dennis, J. S., Home of 491 

Doel Home and Brewery.... 688 

Don River Bridge, 1796 3288 

"Dovercourt" 875 

Duggan (Col. G.) House.,..' 529 

Eastwood Home 9 . 744 

"Elmsley Villa" 288-9 

Farr's Brewery, 1819.. 795 



GENERAL INDEX. 



XXIX. 



First Stone House 817 

Fish Market, 1839-41 1845 

Fire Hall, First 802 

Freeland's Soap Factory .... 815 
Gamble Store, Btobicoke . . . 885 

Gardner's Arms Inn 664 

Gate House, Parliament St... 1108 

General Hospital, Old 908 

Givins Homestead 272, 280, 675, 681 
Givins Home, Drawing-room 680 

Globe Office, King St 707 

"Golden Lion" 805 

Govt. House, Designs 829, 836 

Grammar Schools, 1807-1917.2811-7 

"Grange," John St 283 

Great Western Ry. Station... 501 
Greenland Fisheries Tavern. 708 
Guild Hall, Design for, 1834. . 830 

Gwynne Cottage 933 

Hagerman, Hon. C. A., Res'dce 816 

Harper (Richard) House 687 

Harris (T. D.) Residence ... 762 
Helliwell (Don) Homestead. . 332 

Hillier Cottage 699 

Holland House 704, 722 

Holy Trinity Church . . . 265, 1119 

House of Providence 308 

House of Refuge 2776 

Jails, 1800-1917 711-14 

Jones' (Mercer) Villa 814 

Jordan's "York" Hotel 530 

Kearsney House (Dundonald) 924 

Ketchum (Jesse) House 682 

King's College 273, 2815 

Knox College, Homes of 3184, 3193-7 
Knox (Toronto) Academy . . 910 
-Lamb's Hotel, King St. W... 706 

Lighthouse, Island 472-3 

Lighthouse, Lakeside Home... 742 

Logan (John) House 676 

"Lyndhurst," Widder House. 884 
Macdonell (Bishop) Home of 925 
Mackenzie (Wm. Lyon) House 669 
Macnab (Sir Allan) House.. 867 
McDonald (Hon. D.) House. 878 

McGill Cottage 911 

McLean Homestead 698 

Market Places 695-7 

"Maryville Lodge" 521 

"Mashquoteh" Baldwin Hse. 920 

Masterson's Cottage 504 

Mead's Hotel, Island 868 

Mercer (Andrew) Cottage.. 525 

Metropolitan Church 2866 

Mirror Printing Office 531 

"Moss Park" (Allan Home) 305, 508 

Moss Park, Museum 874 

Mudge (Lieut.) Dwelling 506 

National Club, Old 922 

Northern Ry. Offices, First. . 877 



Northern Ry. Station 8'90 

"Oakhill" (Shaw House) 563 

Observatory Bldgs.. 1069-71, 1073-4 
Ontario (Wellington) House. 692 

Osgoode Hall 554 

Parliament Bldgs., 1835.. 292, 1060 
Parliament Bldgs., Third. 507, 519 

Peacock Tavern 914 

"Pinehurst" Seminary. 1123, 1125 

Postoffices 654-61 

Powell (Dr. Grant) Cottage. 471 

Powell (Justice) House 499 

Price's Mill, Site 907 

Privat's Hotel, Island 916 

Protestant Orphans' Home.. 934 

Red Lion Hotel 709-10 

Red Lion Hotel, Ballroom . . 718 
Red Lion Hotel, Bar-room . . 716 

Registry Office 1129 

Richards' (Judge) House . . . 457 
Richmond Methodist Church 725 
Richmond's Blacksmith Shop 677 
Ridout (Thos.) House. . 743, 747 

Ridout (Geo.) House 721 

Ritchey Terrace 870 

Robertson's (Chas.) Store... 812 
Robinson, Sir J. B., Law Office 813 

Rogers (Saml.) House 801 

R.C.Y.C. House 533, 741 

Rolling Mills, Cherry St.... 1058-9 
"Rosedale" ( Jarvis Home) . . 290 
"Roselands"(Saml. Ridout H.) 3615 

Rossin House, Burning of 1117 

"Rusholme" 869 

"Russell Abbey," Front St. . . 689 

"Russell Hill" 921 

Russell's Hotel 703 

St. Andrew's Ch., Adelaide St. 1138 

St. James' Rectory 798 

St. Lawrence Market 694, 701-2 

St. Patrick's Market 514 

St. Paul's Church 3380 

St. Paul's Hall 926 

St. Stephen's Church 260 

Scadding Bridge and House. . 739 

Scadding Homestead 804 

Scadding (Dr.) Home,. Int.. 594 
School House (First) Tor. Is. 915 

Scott (Jonathan) House 670 

Shakespeare Hotel 524 

"Sleepy Hollow" 917 

Sleigh (John) House 684 

Smith Homestead 674 

Smith (Wm.. Jr.) House... 724 
"Spadina" House (First) .... 715 
"Spadina" House (Second).. 720 
Sparks (Capt.) Log House.. 913 

Severn's Brewery 527 

Stanton House 800 

Stoyell (Dr.) House '811 



XXX. 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Strachan (Bishop) Residence 685 

Sun Tavern, Yonge and Queen 666 

Sword's Hotel 342 

Tattle Homestead 726 

Taylor Paper Mill 746 

"Tecumseh Wigwam" 665 

Theatres, 1820-74 849-58 

Townsley Residence 549 

Upper Canada College.. 270, 3666 

Union Station, 1859 291 

University of Toronto 511 

University, Design for, 1835. 838 

Ward Homestead, Island ... 727 
Ward (David, Sr.) Home. 887, 906 

Wells' Residence 859 

"West Lodge" 528 

Widmer (Dr.) House 503 

Williamson Home 866 

"Willows," The 458 

Wykeham Hall.... 537-8, 543, 553 

Zion Con. Church.. 761, 797, 1146 

Govt. House, 1828-62 285 

Govt. House, 1854 296 

Govt. House, 1867-1912 

Bird's-eye View 441 

From the South 436 

Front \iew 437 

Southwest View 447 

Bedroom of Lieut.-Gov 443 

Blue Guest Chamber 439 

Business Office 433 

Dance, Last 453 

Dinner, Last State 435 

Dining-room 452 

Drawing-room 442, 445 

Entrance Hall 449 

Family Group 444 

Green Guest Chamber 451 

Main Staircase 448, 450 

Morning Room 446 

Reception-room 438 

Reception and Ballroom 434 

Upper Hall 440 

Govt. House, Rosedale 

East Court and Terrace 3475 

From Circular Court 3468 

From Roxborough Drive 3460 

From South-west 3459 

From Western Approach . . . 3467 

Pathway of Stone 3476 

Ballroom 3462 

Ballroom, Alcove . . . ] ' 3455 

Corridor, Main 3477 

Bedroom, Duke of Connaught 3482 
Bedroom, Duchess of Conn'ght 3483 
Bedroom, Sir John Hendrie 3485 
Bedroom, Lady Hendrie.... 3486 

Billiard-room 34gO 

Blue Parlor [[ 3437 

Boudoir, Duchess of Conn'ght 3484 



Breakfast-room 3478 

Dining-room, State 3469, 3474 

Drawing-room 3457, 3466 

Grand Hall 3453, 3458, 3461 

Lieut.-Gov. at His Desk 3452 

Morning-room 3470 

Palm Room 3481 

Reception-room 3454 

Writing-room 3473 

Govt. House (Temporary) ... 456 
Miscellaneous 

Assessment Commrs 3568-72 

Bell's Bridge, Don River 912 

"Blind" Toll Gate 938 

Board of Trade, 1891 2747 

Board of Trade Officials ... 540 
Boustead Fire Engine. 3183, 3185 

Bus of 1849 3509 

Bus of 1850 3510 

Catholic Council, 1875 .. 253 

City Clerks, 1834-1917 750-6 

City Commissioners 3513-17 

City Council, 1896 3226 

City Council, 1899 773 

City Council, 1915 539 

City Engineers, 1840-1912.. 2780-95 

City Hall Souvenir 1052 

City Surveyors, 1843-1917... 3575-8 
City Treasurers, 1834-1917.. 3555-9 

Collectors of Customs 3541-54 

Comm'rs of Parks 3583-5 

Constables 774-81 

Consumers' Gas Co., Mgrs... 580-2 
Consumers' Gas Co., Pres'ts 623-31 

Corporation Counsel 3205-8 

Daily Mail, 1887 189 

Don Bridge, First 520 

Don Bridge, Third 748 

Don Bridge (Temporary) .... 3288 

Exhibition Park Wharf 2729 

Fancy Dress Ball, 1870 809 

Fire Department Chiefs . . 3186-92 

Fire Engines, Early 3209-16 

Gas Lamp, First (Proposed) 278 

General Hospital Supts 616-22 

Grammar School Principals 2804-10 

Grenadier Pond 845 

Hamilton's Wharf 345 

Harbor Masters 589-93 

Howard Tomb and Cairn . . 839 

Jail (Third) Key to 3383 

Knox College, Principals.. 3217-20 

Lacrosse Club, 1876 1055-6 

Maitland's Wharf 1840 

Mayors, Toronto 363-400 

Mechanics' Inst. Diploma 251 

Medical Officers of Health 3222-5 
Mil. Dist. No. 2, O.C.'s. 606-9, 638 
Model Gram. Sch. Row. Club . . 3690 
Murder Trial, 1841.. 287 



GENERAL INDEX. 



XXXI. 



Observatory Directors .... 1063-8 
Observatory, Site of First.. 1076 
Observatory, Transit Pillar. 1075 

Old Tree, Rosedale 334 

Old Fort 663, 667, 671 

Old Fort, 1832 863 

Old Fort, 1845-50 740 

Old Fort, 1879 344, 346 

Old Fort, Battery 672 

Old Fort, Blockhouse 678 

Old Fort, Main Entrance 668 

Playter's Bridge, Don 3285 

Police Magistrates 600-03 

Postmasters, 1816-1917 610-15 

Prince of Wales' Arch 316 

Provincial Fair, 1852 . . 3519, 3539 
Purchase (Toronto) Plan of. 261 

Queen's Park, 1879 347 

St. Andrew's Society, 1874-5. 339 
St. Andrew's Soc., Presdts 941-82 
St. George's Soc. Presdts 984-1040 
St. James' Ch. Rectors.. 3198-3204 

St. James' Ch. Pulpit 3387 

Sheriffs, 1792-1917 896-904 

Sleigh Scene on Bay 311 

Stock Exchange Presdts 1079-1106 
Street Ry. Tickets ...... 293, 337 

Toll Gate, Yonge. St 361 

United Pres. Church 919 

University Grounds 1072 

U.C.C. Bursars 3668-72 

U.C.C. Dejeuner 848 

U.C.C. Floor Plans 3665 

U.C.C. Janitors 3680-4 

U.C.C., Lord Elgin Visits 366 

U.C.C. Masters, 3645-8, 3658-64. 
3673-9, 3685-9, 3691-95, 3697-3708 

U.C.C. Principals 3649-5 

Victoria Rink 536 

White Bridge, Rosedale 560 

Yacht Club Flags 3067 

U 

Upper Can. Lt.-Governors 406-20 

Utterson, 1876 3031 



Vancouver, Big Tre-e 2855 

Vancouver, Fish Market 286 

Vancouver, From Harbor 286: 

Victoria, B.C., 1858 2306 

Victoria, B.C., 1860 

Victoria, B.C., 1862 34, 2338 

Victoria, B.C.. 1878 2f 

Victoria, H. B. Co. Estab't . . . 2345 

Victoria, Parliament Bldgs 2856 

Victoria, Yates St., 1862 229f 

Vernon Lake, 1875 . . 3069-72, 3078-8 
Vernon Riv., 1875. . 3068, 3073-4, 308 
Vespra Township 3083-4, 3086- 



^eterans of 1812 772 

ictoria (Queen), Inv'tn Com.. 1609 

STEAMERS SAILING VESSELS. 

Accommodation 2537 

Ada Alice 2700 

Admiral 2569 

A. J. Tymon-Jasmine 2707 

Alberta 2710 

Algoma 2708 

Algoma, City Toronto, Racine 2560 

Alma Munro 2644 

America 2606 

Anson Northrup 2375 

Arabian 2590 

Asia 2650 

Assiniboia 2712 

Athabasca 2709 

Atlantic (American) 2583 

Atlantic, 1882 2657 

Banshee 2597 

Bay of Quinte 2614 

Beaver, B.C., 1835-88.. 2304, 2720 
Beaver, L. Simcoe, 1845-55.. 2687 

Beckwith, Transport 1190 

Bohemian-Prescott 2626 

Bonetta, Sloop of War 1155 

Bouquet 2699 

Bowmanville 2603 

British Fleet, Lake Ontario . . . 1158 

British Queen 2577 

"Burlington Races," War 1812 1181 

Bytown 2553 

Campana 2646 

Canada, 1826 2544 

Canada, 1855-61 2605 

Canada-St. Irene 2632 

Canadian-Thistle 2703 

Caravels of Columbus 1187 

Car of Commerce 2538 

Carmona (Manitoba) 2639 

Carolina-Murray Bay 2655 

Caroline 2556 

Caroline, Burning of 1231 

Caspian 2578 

Cataract 2580 

Cayuga 2679 

Champion 2587 

Cherokee, H.M.S 2570 

"Ches'pke and Shan.". 1164, '9, '76-7 

Chesapeake, Boarding of 1172 

Chicora 2620 

Chicoutimi 2658 

Chief Justice Robinson.. 517, 2564 

Chippewa 2671 

Cibola 2660 

City of Collingwood 2670 

City of Hamilton 2589 

City of Midland 2667 

City of Ottawa 2640 



XXXII. 



GENERAL INDEX. 



City of Toronto 2559 

City of Toronto II 2622 

City of Toronto Sail'g Ship. 2601 

Clifton 2600 

Collingwood (Kaloolah) 2323 

Colonel Myers, Gun Boat 1189 

Columbian 2668 

Columbus ; 1988 

Comet-Mayflower 2582 

Confiance and Surprise 1178 

Corinthian 2621 

Corona 2673 

Corona, Side Launch of 1126 

Corsican 2637 

Cumberland 2642 

"Cutting-Out" Exploit, 1814.. 1163 

Dalhousie City 2682 

Detroit, Flag Ship 1185 

Discoverie (Hudson's) 1150 

Don de Dieu 84, 1161 

Duke of Gloucester 1159 

Eclipse 2572 

Emily May-Lady of the Lakes 2690 

Empress 2645 

Empress of Ft. William .... 2680 

Empress of India 2653 

Enterprise 2693 

Europa 2598 

Experiment 2555 

Fairy-Carrie Ella 2692 

Firefly 2698 

Frances Smith-Baltic 2631 

French Fleet, L. Ont, 1757.. 1154 

Frontenac 2539 

Garden City 2669 

George Moffatt 2596 

Germanic 2676 

Governor Simcoe 1191 

Great Britain 2547 

Grecian 2616 

Greyhound 2663 

Griffin 1162 

Hampnic 2681 

Hastings-Eurydice-Donelly . . . 2635 
Hercules, Launching of ... 1430 

Her Majesty 2615 

Highlander 2586 

Horse Boats 2694-5 

Ida Burton 2691 

Inkerman " 2602 

J r <iuois 2548 

Island Queen 2697 

Japan-City of Hamilton '..'.'.'. 2641 

J. C. Morrison 2689 

Jenny Lind 2 609 

gy - 2550 

Hanlan 2704 

McAdam 2451 

Munn 2557 

and Growler 1149 



John 
John 
John 
John 
Julia 



J. W. Steinhoff -Queen City. . 2654 

Kaloolah-Collingwood 2595 

Keewatin 2713 

Kingston-Bavarian-Algerian .. 2604 

Kingston 2677 

Knapp's Roller Boat 2674 

La Bouchere 2728 

Lady Elgin 2612 

Lady of Lake-Queen City 2568 

Lakeside 2661 

Letter B-Chicora 2619 

Lord Elgin 2592 

Luella 1 2702 

Macassa 2664 

Magnet at Oswego 1183 

Magnet-Hamilton 2581 

Maid of Mist (First) 2573 

Maid of Mist (Second) 1219 

Maid of Mist, 1854 2574 

Maid of Mist (American) 2576 

Maid of Mist (Canadian) 2575 

Majestic : 2672 

Manitoba 2711 

Martha Ogden 2545 

Mascotte 2705 

Matthew (Cabot's Ship) 1156 

Michigan-Wolverine 2571, 3471 

Modjeska . . . . 2665 

Mohawk 2567 

Monarch 2608 

Monarch, Wreck of 923 

Montreal 2613 

Morning 2688 

Nancy 1200 

Nelson 1165 

New Era-Empress 2585 

Niagara, Flagship 1188 

Niagara-Sovereign 2561 

Noronic 2683 

Norseman-North King 2633 

Northern Belle 2652 

North-west America 13 

Novelty-Cora Linn 2591 

Ocean 2643 

Ocean Wave 2588 

Ontario 2540 

Ontario 2648 

Ontario No. 2 2718 

Osprey 2625 

Passport-Picton 2579 

Peerless 2594 

Peerless and 'Star of South . . 734 

Pembroke, H.M.S 3274 

Persia 2647 

Peter Robinson 2686 

Phoenix 2607 

Pierpont 2638 

Ploughboy 2425, 2610 

Port Dalhousie 2684 

President Adams . . 1153 



GENERAL, INDEX. 



XXXIII. 



Primrose 2706 

Prince Regent 1160 

Prince of Wales 2565 

Princess Royal 2563 

Provincial 2611 

Prussian 2890 

Quebec, 1865 2627 

Quebec, 1874 2649 

Queen Charlotte 2541 

Queen City-Ongiara 2659 

Queenston 2543 

Queen Victoria 2618 

Rapid 2552 

Robb, Tug 3448 

Rosedale . 2662 

Rothesay Castle-South. Belle. 2623 

St. Jean Baptiste-Shamrock . . 2701 

St. Lawrence, Flagship 1186 

St. Lawrence, 1839 2558 

Sailing Ship at Levis 2891 

Sir John Colborne 2685 

Sir Isaac Brock 1152 

South'n Belle-Rothesay Castle 2624 

Sovereign 2666 

Spartan-Belleville 2629 

Speedy 1199 

Tinning's Cigar Boat 2584 

Toronto 2675 

Toronto Yacht 1151 

Traveller 2554 

Trois Rivieres 2636 

Turbinia 2678 

Union-Saguenay 2634 

United Empire-Saronic 2656 

United States 2549 

Van Dalia-Milwaukee 2562 

Victoria 2696 

Walk-in-the-Water 2542 

Waterloo 2546 

Waubuno 2628 

Welland, 1842-56 2566 

Welland, 1853 2593 

W. Grant Morden 2717 

William IV 2551 

W. T. Robb 2630 

Yachting on L. Ontario. . 735, 3065 

Zeeland 2651 

Zimmerman 2599 

R.C.Y.C. Launches 

Esperanza, First 2714 

Hiawatha, Second 2715 

Kwasind, Third 2716 

Rosamond 2617 

W 

Wadsworth Mill, Weston 561 

Washago-Gravenhurst Road 3117 

Washago, Home Near 2961 

Washago, Road to 2960 

Washago, Sawmill at, 1873 2953 

3 



Watkins-Harris Currency 302 

Welland Canal, Entrance to.. 1179 

Welland River, Mouth of 3310 

Weller Stage Line 888 

Wellington, U.C 1741 

Wentworth Court House, First . 3446 

West Flamboro, Crooks Home.. 3464 

Weston, Main Street 861 

Whitby, "Trafalgar Castle"... 3444 

White Earth Lake, Rapids 64 

White, Harlow, Camp of 2929 

White, Harlow, Home of 3043 

White River, Algoma Dist 892 

Wimbledon Riflemen, 1871 ... 299 

WINDSOR, N. S. 

Windsor, 1838 2178 

Windsor, 1838-41 1751 

From the Barracks 2198 

From Ferry Hill 2239 

From Retreat Farm 2184 

Avon, Bridge Over 2194 

Haliburton Home 1754 

Historic Willows 2160 

Duke of Kent's Lodge, Ruins . 2172 

King's College 2213 

Old Parish Church 2185, 2191 

"Retreat," The 2202 

St. Matthew's Chapel of Ease 2212 

Scott's Corner 2189 

Sleigh Leaving Town 2240 

Toll Bridge 2210 

Windsor, Ont., Baby Home 3330 

Windsor, Ont., Moy Home 3445 

WINNIPEG, MAN. 

Winnipeg, 1870 2294, 2342 

Winnipeg, 1881 2719 

From St. Boniface 2847 

From Union Bank Bldg 2868 

From Red River, 1872 2315 

Fort Osborne Barracks 6 

Main Street, 1880 2853 

McDermot's Store 2324 

"Nor' Wester" Office 2484 

St. Boniface Cath. and Nun'y 2321 

Wolfe's Cove, Quebec 1802 

Wolseley Exp.. 2421, 2423, 2429, 2431-2 

Wood Gatherers, Inglis Falls.. 3143 

Woodstock, De Blaquiere Hse.. 3339 

Woodstock, "The Poplars" 3361 

WOLFE. 

Autograph Letter 2095 

Bust, Wolford, Eng 2123 

Coffin Plate 2122 

Death of Wolfe 2129 

Design for Mon., Caricature. . 2130 

Field Canteen 2124-5 

Greenwich, Home at 2115 

Monuments, Que.. 1819, 2078, 2967 

Monument, Plains of Abr. . . 2972 



XXXIV. 



GENERAL, INDEX. 



National Mon., Westminster. 2097 
St. Alphege Church.. 2108-9, 2116 
St. Alphege Mem. Window.. 2098 
St. Alphege Ch., Tablet in.. 2092 

Short Sword or Hanger 2131 

Swords, Wolfe and Cook 2093 

Westerham, Wolfe's Birthpl. 2091 
Westerham, Baptismal Font. 2111 
Westerham, Baptismal Reg. 2113 
Westerham, Cenotaph at.% . . . 2120 
Westerham Ch. of St. Mary. . 2137 

Westerham, the Green 2096 

Westerham, Wolfe Home . . 2119 
Westerham Mem. Window.. 2099 
Westerham, Quebec Square. 2110 
Westerham, Statue of Wolfe. 2136 
Westerham, Vicarage. . 2118, 2135 
Writ of Summons, 1816 266 



Yale, B.C., 1876 3053 

Yale, B.C., 1880 2491 

Yellowhead Lake, B.C 3052 

Yellowhead Pass, B.C 3047 



YORK (TORONTO). 

York, 1810 54& 

York, 1813 90& 

York, 1820 1144 

York, 1823 737 

York, 1824 309-10 

York Harbor, 1820 281 

From Gibraltar Point 195 

Bay Front, 1820 556 

Garrison at, 1796 3287 

Harbor, 1793 738, 3283 

Mechanics' Institute 886 

Pioneers' Society, 1880 113J> 

Pioneers' Society, 1893 1145 

Pioneer and Hist. Soc., 1905. . 1141 

Pioneer and Hist. Soc., 1915.. 99 

Pioneer Soc., Dinner Ticket. 188 

Registry Offices (Co.) 757-9 

York Factory 249ft 

York Mills, St. John's Ch.. . 3579-82 

"Your Country Calls" 3521 



CATALOGUE OF THE COLLECTION 



1 LOUIS RIEL AND HIS COUNCIL AT FORT GARRY An insurrec- 
tionary council was created in the autumn of 1869, with John Bruce as 
president and Louis Kiel as secretary. The latter, however, was really the 
leading spirit of the movement, and was elected president of a "Provisional 
Government" the following February. The members of the council were: 
1, Le Roc; 2, Pierre de Lorme; 3, Thomas Bunn; 4, Xavier Page; 5, Andre 
Beauchemin; 6, Baptiste Tereaux; 7, Thomas Spence; 8, Pierre Poitras; 
9, John Bruce; 10, Louis Kiel; 11, W. B. O'Donoghue; 12, Francois Dau- 
phinais; 13, Bob O'Lane; 14, Paul Prue. Photograph, colored. Size 5x7. 

2 DOORWAY OF MANITOBA PENITENTIARY, 1887 Stoney Moun- 
tain, fourteen miles from Winnipeg. The group is composed of the fol- 
lowing: 1, Very Rev. Albert Lacombe, one of the first Roman Catholic 
missionaries in Manitoba; 2, Chief Little Bear; 3, Sam Bedson, warden of 
the penitentiary; 4, Rev. Father Clouthier, of Winnipeg; 5, Poundmaker, 
an Indian; 6, Priest, unknown. Photograph, colored. Size 5x6. 

3 RIEL, LOUIS, 1844-85 Leader of the Manitoba and Northwest Re- 
bellions. In October, 1869, he became Secretary of the Comite National 
des Metis, and the following December was elected President of Pro- 
visional Government at Fort Garry. He was returned by acclamation to the 
House of Commons for Provencher, Man., in 1873, but never allowed to 
take his seat. Appeared in 1884 in Saskatchewan district, resulting in 
breaking out of Northwest Rebellion. Taken prisoner after Batoche. Exe- 
cuted 16th Nov., 1885. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

4 CHIEF DAVID SAWYER OF THE CREDIT Painted by the Rev. 
James Spencer, M.A. Oil painting. Size 26 x 30. Head and shoulders. 

5 "VIEW OF VICTORIA, VANCOUVER ISLAND Drawn by H. O. 
Tiedemann. T. Picken, lith. London. Published by Day & Son, lithogra- 
phers to the Queen, June 13th, 1860." Victoria, on the Strait of Juan 
de Fuca, formerly the capital of Vancouver Island, and now of the 
Province of British Columbia, was named by the officers of the Hudson's 
Bay Company after her late Majesty, Queen Victoria. In the summer of 
1843, the building of the fort, which was the foundation of the future city 
of Victoria, was commenced. The place selected was known to the Indians 
as Camosun or Camosack. It was given the name of Fort Albert, then 
Fort Victoria, and finally in 1852, when the town site was laid out, the 
name Victoria obtained. The city was incorporated in 1862, and the old 
fort finally demolished in 1864. Chromo lithograph, with key. Size 8 x 34. 

6 FORT OSBORNE BARRACKS, WINNIPEG, MAN. A "Hut En- 
campment" of the old style. Built in 1873 on a site of slightly over fifteen 
acres. The barracks lie three-quarters of a mile due west of Main street 
and the Old Fort Garry site. All the buildings on the property are new, 
the last of the old structures having been destroyed in 1912. No. 1, in the 
sketch, was the commanding officer's quarters; 2, building set aside for 
>ther officers; 3, garrison hospital. Pen drawing. Size 8 x 17. 



2 

7 SIMPSON "Thomas Simpson, the Arctic Discoverer. G. P. Green, 
Jt~J Cook sculpt" Born in Scotland, 1808. Entered the service of 
le Hudson's Bay Company, and on arriving in Canada became secretary 
to his cousin Sir George Simpson, then Governor of the Company's terri- 
Jorfes OE the decision of the Honourable Adventurers to further explore 
the Arctic Coast, young Simpson was asked to undertake the arduous task. 
He accordingl^ kit out from Fort Garry in the winter of 1836-7, travelling 
on foot to Lake Athabasca, where he joined Peter Warren Dease In 
recognition of his valuable services on this expedition he was awarded a 
gold medal by the Royal Geographical Society, while the British Govern 
ment bestowed upon him a pension of 1M per annum Simpson s later 
discoveries far excelled his early ones. His death took place in 1840. 
Line engraving. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

g_THE CITADEL, LOUISBURG, 1731 Situated in the gorge of the 
King's Bastion. In the early days Louisburg was known as Havre a 
1'Anglois No important settlements, however, were made here until aft* 
the surrender of Newfoundland and Acadia to Great Britain by the Treaty 
of Utrecht when the French troops and inhabitants evacuated Placentia, 
Newfld., and came to Louisburg. In 1714 M. de St. Ovide de Brouillan was 
appointed Governor, and some six years later the fortress was com- 
menced. It was 350 feet long, built of solid masonry, and so constructed 
that in time of trouble it could be surrounded by walls and moats as means 
of defence. Duke d'Anville, who commanded the French Armada, 1746, 
was buried in the citadel, near the chapel. Copied from a plan in the 
National Library, Paris, France, by Albert Almon, of Glace Bay, N.S. 
Size 3x9. 

9_TURQUAND, BERNARD Although an Englishman by birth, he 
came of Huguenot stock. He was born in London, 2nd February, 1790, and 
came to Canada in 1820, holding office, under Hon. John Henry Dunn, in 
the Receiver-General's Department,* and, in later years, in the Crown Lands 
Department. He was Grand Secretary of Provincial Grand (Masonic) 
Lodge in U.C., 1822-42. Water color. Size 9 x 10. Head and shoulders. 

10 BEIKIE, JOHN He came to York (Toronto) at an early date, and 
from 1810-15 was Sheriff of the Home District. Elected a member of the 
Legislature, Upper Canada, 1813, and Clerk of the Executive Council, suc- 
ceeding John Small in 1832. For many years he attended St. James' 
Church (Anglican), Toronto. Mr. Beikie was a prominent member of the 
Masonic fraternity, serving as Deputy Grand Master, Second Provincial 
Grand Lodge, 1825-39. His death took place in March, 1839. Water color. 
Size 10 x 12. Head and shoulders. See 897. 

11 FORT VANCOUVER On the northern bank of the Columbia 
River, ninety miles inland from the sea. It was built in 1824-5 by John 
McLoughlin, first great leader of the Hudson's Bay Company in the Oregon. . 
Primarily the site of the fort was about a mile from the river. This 
location, however, was found to be disadvantageous to transport and com- 
munication, and after a few years a removal was made to within a quarter 
of a mile of the Columbia. For nearly a quarter of a century Fort Van- 
couver was an emporium of the Hudson's Bay Company; for its central 
location gave access to interior trade as well as sea traffic. In 1846, on 
the determination of the Oregon boundary question, this fort passed into 
American territory, but until 1849 remained as a post of the company. 
To-day (1917) the place, known as Vancouver, capital of Clarke County, 
Washington, is the headquarters of the military department of th< 
Columbia. Chromo lithograph. Size 8 x 12. 

12 INDIAN TOMB A memorial to the dead, erected by Indians in tht 
pioneer days of Canada. H. J. Warre, del.; Dickinson & Co., lith. Chromo 
lithograph. Size 7 x 12. 






13_"THE LAUNCH OF THE NORTHWEST AMERICA AT NOOTKA 
SOUND Being the first vessel that was ever built in that part of the 
globe. C. Metz, del. R. Pollard, sculpt. Publish'd Augt 16, 1790, by J. 
Walter & Son, No. 160 Piccadilly." The scene in picture took place in July, 
1788, at Nootka Sound, west coast of Vancouver Island, where Capt. 
Meares, who arrived at the sound the previous May, had the "Northwest 
America" built. It was the first vessel, other than natives' canoes, con- 
structed on the shores of what is now British Columbia. The word ? "Nootka" 
means "to go around," or "make a circuit." Line engraving. Size 8 x 10. 

14 McGILLIVRAY, WILLIAM, MONTREAL Elder brother of Simon 
McGillivray, and one of the founders of the Northwest Company. He was 
an active Mason in the early part of the nineteenth century, and from 
1823-26 was Provincial Grand Master of the Montreal and William Henry 
districts of the Grand (Masonic) Lodge of England. Water color. Size 
8 x 11. Head and shoulders. 

15 SMART, REV. WILLIAM Presbyterian missionary at Elizabeth- 
town (Brockville). Early in life he resolved to devote himself to mis- 
sionary work and became a student of the London Missionary Society. In 
April, 1811, in response to a petition from the inhabitants of Elizabethtown, 
Yonge and Augusta, he came to Canada, arriving at Elizabethtown (Brock- 
ville) in October following. For thirty-eight years he was pastor of the 
congregation of Brockville. He was an enthusiastic Free Mason and 
Grand Chaplain of the Second Provincial Grand Lodge of Upper Canada, 
1823-5. Mr. Smart died at Gananoque 9th Sept., 1876. Knox College, 
Toronto, has a collection of letters and papers presented by Mrs. Smart, 
which are of great interest in connection with the early Presbyterian 
Church in Canada. Water color. Size 10 x 12. Head and shoulders. 

16 McGILLIVRAY, SIMON London, Montreal and Toronto Born at 
Stratherrick, Inverness-shire, in 1783. About 1800 he emigrated to Canada, 
becoming actively interested in the North-West Company, gaining so much 
experience in connection with its business that he was entrusted with 
arranging the fusion of the Company with the Hudson's Bay Company. He 
was Provincial Grand Master of the Grand (Masonic) Lodge of Upper 
Canada, 1822-40. After the amalgamation of the North-West and Hudson's 
Bay Companies he joined the firm of McTavish, McGillivray & Co., of 
Montreal, returning to England when the firm retired from business. His 
death took place near London, England, in 1840. Water color from the 
original oil portrait in possession of the family of his son-in-law, the late 
Rear-Admiral Dawkins, of Stoke Gabriel, Devon, England. Size 9 x 10. 
Head and shoulders. 

17 FACSIMILE OF ROBERT BURNS' MASONIC APRON The apron 
is now in the possession of the Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge A.F. 
and A.M. of Scotland, at Edinburgh. It is made of lambskin, the flap em- 
broidered with blue thread, but both the face of the lambskin and the 
ornamental work are nearly all worn off. The celebrated Scottish bard 
was born at Kirk Alloway, near Ayr, January 25th, 1759. In 1781 he was 
initiated in St. David's Lodge (Masonic), Tarbolton; Deputy Master of the 
Lodge, July 27th, 1784. Affiliated with St. James' Lodge, Tarbolton. 
Exalted in St. Abbs R.A. Lodge, May 19th, 1787. Poet Laureate of Canon- 
gate Kilwinning Lodge, Edinburgh. Died July 21st, 1796. Photograph by 
W. E. Carnegie Dickson, son of R. W. Bro. G. Dickson, W.M. Lodge No. 1, 
Scotland; colored by Miss Bessie Dickson, daughter of the latter, pre- 
sented to M.W. Bro. J. Ross Robertson by R.W. Bro. Dickson. Size 9 x 12. 



18 RIDOUT, THOMAS GIBBS Second son of Hon. Thomas Ridout, 
oorn at Sorel, L.C., 1792, accompanying his parents to York in 179S. In 180f 

he was sent to school at Cornwall. From 1813-20 filled the position of 
Deputy Assisstant Commissary-General. He subsequently turned Ins atten- 
tion to banking, and after studying the system in New York and Boston, 
was appointed cashier of the Bank of Upper Canada. Ridout 
was the first president of the Mechanics' Institute, Toronto, and as presi- 
dent of St. Andrew's Society welcomed Lord Elgin on his arrival in 
Toronto in 1849. He was Deputy Grand Master of the Provincial Grand 
(Masonic) Lodge of Upper Canada, 1845-57, and Honorary Past Grand 
Master of the Grand Lodge of Canada, 1859-61. His death took place in the 
latter year. Water color. Size 8 x 10. Head and shoulders. 

19 MAXWELL "Sir Murray Maxwell, Kt., C.B., 1775-1831. Drawn 
and etch'd by Richd. Dighton. Pub'd by Humphrey, St. James's St." Born 
near Perth, Scotland, in 1775, the third son of Captain James Maxwell, of 
the 42nd Regiment. Entered the navy in 1790; accompanied Lord Amherst 
on his mission to China, exploring the Gulf of Pechili, west coast of Korea, 
and the Loo Choo Islands. In 1818 he received a knighthood. From 1821-2 
was captain of the "Bulwark," and in 1823 commanded the "Briton" on the 
South American Station. Appointed Lieutenant-Governor of Prince Edward 
Island, May, 1831, and was preparing for his depa'rture when he died sud- 
denly, July 26th of that year. Etching in color. Size 9 x 12. Full length. 

20 DUNCOMBE, DR. CHARLES As a man of education, a medical 
practitioner, a politician and a member of the Masonic Fraternity, he com- 
manded a prominent position in the western part of Upper Canada. He was 
born in Connecticut in 1794 and emigrated to Canada in 1820. Practised his 
profession in Burford, London and St. Thomas, and represented the County 
of Oxford in the Provincial Legislature. His influence was widespread as 
a leader of the Reform party. Forced on account of his views to leave the 
country in 1837, residing for many years in the United States. He died 
in Hicksville, California, 1st October, 1875. Water color. Size 8 x 10. 
Head and shoulders. 

21 FRANKLIN, SIR JOHN, 1786-1847 Distinguished navigator and 
Arctic Explorer He was born at Spilsby, Lincolnshire, Eng.; entered the 
navy as midshipman, about 1800. Served at Trafalgar in the Bellerophon. 
Franklin led his first overland expedition from York Factory, near the 
mouth of the Hayes River, to the Arctic Coast, in 1819-22; continued his 
explorations of the northern coast, 1825-7. He sailed with the "Terror" and 
"Erebus" in May, 1845, to make the North-West Passage, but never re- 
turned. Several expeditions were sent in search of him by England and 
America, without success. In the summer of 1859 a record, deposited by 
survivors of Franklin's party, was found in a cairn on the north-west shore 
ol King William Land. It was supposed to have been built there in 1831 by 
James Ross. The record, bearing date 25th April, 1848, stated that Sir John 
had died llth June, 1847, that the "Terror" and "Erebus" were abandoned 
22nd April, 1848, when the survivors, numbering about a hundred, started 
Great Fish River. They evidently perished after leaving the 
vessels. Photogravure from painting by T. Phillips, in National Portrait 
illery, London, Eng. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

LORD WILLIAM WALDEGRAVE, FIRST BARON 
\ Admiral of the White. From a Painting in Water 

Fph ifi I&IA i a, ^ -? Drawn and engraved by C. Wilkin. Published 
? o!i}l 10 ' ?/_* C , ade11 and w - Davies, Strand, London." Admiral in 

American privateer "Cumberland," and in the 



, 
of . mam> ' Accom Panied Admiral Darby to the relief 



* 

Mari " es ' 179 *; third in command off Cape St. 
rlV R ??' i ?^? ief Of Newfoundland, 1797-1800. G.C.B, 
. Born in 1753 and died in 1825. Engraving. Size 8x9. Head and shoulders. 






23 KERR, DR. ROBERT A connection of Sir Robert Ker, after- 
wards Duke of Roxburghe, in the peerage of Scotland. Was born in 1755. 
He was an army surgeon in Sir John Johnson's 2nd Battalion, and seeded at 
Niagara about 1789. Was judge of the Surrogate Court, Niagara, and 
served in War of 1812-15. Dr. Kerr was an active Mason in Niagara, and 
was Grand Master of the Provincial Grand Lodge, Niagara, 1807-20. Died 
in Albany, N.Y., 1824. Married Elizabeth, daughter of Molly Brant and Sir 
William Johnson, Bart. Water color from original miniature in possession 
of the Gillespie family, of Montreal, Que. Size 8 x 10. Head and shoulders. 

24 DUNN, HON. JOHN HENRY Born in St. Helena, 1794. Died in 
England, 21st April, 1854. Between 1817-20 he held an appointment in the 
Old East India Service Office, London, and in the latter year became Re- 
ceiver-General; was member of Executive and Legislative Councils of 
Upper Canada, 1820-41; Grand Treasurer of the Provincial Grand Lodge of 
Masons of Upper Canada, 1822-24. His son, Alex. Roberts, fought bravely 
at Balaclava, and on his return to Canada was presented with a sword of 
honor by the Corporation of Toronto. Water color by Lady Green, wife of 
Major-General Sir Henry Rodes Green, and daughter of Hon. John Henry 
Dunn, from afi oil painting in her possession. Size 6x8. Head and 
shoulders. See 244. 

25 "BIRD'S-EYE VIEW OF VICTORIA, VANCOUVER ISLAND, B.C., 

1878 Drawn by E. S. Glover. Published by M. W. Waitt & Co., Victoria, 
B.C. A. L. Bancroft & Co., lithographers, San Francisco, Cal., U.S. En- 
tered according to Act of Congress, in the year 1878, by E. S. Glover, in the 
office of the Librarian of Congress at Washington, D.C. Entered according 
to Act of Parliament of Canada, in the year 1878, by M. W. Waitt, in the 
office of the Minister of Agriculture." Chromo lithograph, with key. Size 
19 x 32. 

26 MACNAB, SIR ALLAN NAPIER Born at Niagara, 1798, died in 
Hamilton, August, 1862 Was educated at the Home District School in 
York. After the surrender of York, Macnab accompanied the retreating 
forces to Kingston. He joined the 100th Regiment under Col. Murray, and 
for his conduct in connection with the taking of Fort Niagara was honored 
with ensigncy in the 49th Regiment. He was Speaker of the Legislative 
Assembly, Upper Canada, 1837-41, and Speaker of the first Parliament of 
United Canada, and Prime Minister in 1854. He was knighted in 1838, 
created a baronet in 1856, and in 1857 retired from public life. He was 
Grand Master Provincial Grand (Masonic) Lodge, Canada West, 1845-57, 
and Grand Master Ancient Grand Lodge of Canada, 1857-8. Water color. 
Size 8 x 10. Head and shoulders. See 1388. 

27 PHILLIPS, DR. ZIBA MARCUS Born at Oswego, N.Y., in 1787, the 
son of a U.E. Loyalist, who settled subsequent to the Revolutionary War in 
the Township of Augusta. Practised medicine from about 1816. He fought 
at Queenston Heights and Lundy's Lane, and in 1842 was Lieut.-Colonel of 
the 2nd Regiment, Grenville County Militia. He was the leading Free- 
mason of Midland District, 1817-47. Died September, 1847, at Tin Cap, in 
Elizabethtown (Brockville). In St. Peter's Church. Brockville, is a mural 
Masonic tablet to his memory. Water color. Size 8 x 10. Head and 
shoulders. 

28 "LA PEROUSE From a miniature in possession of La Perouse's 
niece at Alby. Engraved by T. Woolnoth, under the superintendence of the 
Society for the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge. London. Published by 
Charles Knight, Ludgate street, and Pall Mall, East." Jean Francois Galoup 
de la Perouse, the eminent French navigator, was born at Albo (Tarn) in 
1741. In 1756 he entered the navy; became lieutenant, 1775. Fought against 
English in the American War, 1778-83. Was senior captain of the victorious 



French vessels in a naval battle with the English off Sydney Harbor 21st 
July 1781. In the following year captured the British Forts Churchill and 
York on the Hudson's Bay coast. While on an exploring expedition in 
1788 'he with his party, perished by shipwreck at Vamcoro (Wanicoro), an 
island in the Pacific. Size 4 x 5. Line engraving. Head and shoulders. 

29 ALLEN "John Carter Allen, Esqr., Admiral of the White Squadron. 
J Northcote, Pinxt. H. R. Cook, Sculp. Published March 31, 1810 by J. 
Gold Shoe Lane, Fleet Street." Present at capture of Louisburg, 1758; in 
command of the "Repulse," 32 guns, in the British fleet employed m the 
expedition against Martinique, 1762. Commanded the "Egremont," 74 
guns, in the action off Ushant, July, 1778, and at the relief of Gibraltar, 1782. 
Admiral of the White, 1799. His death took place in 1800. Line engrav- 
ing. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

30 DALY HON. SIR DOMINICK Lieutenant-Governor of Prince Ed- 
ward Island, 1854-9. Came to Canada as secretary to Sir Francis Burton. 
In 1827 became Provincial Secretary for L. C., and from the Union until 
1848 held the same office for Canada. He was born in Co. Galway, Ireland, 
in 1798. Died in South Australia, 1868, during his term as Governor there. 
Original silhouette taken at Saratoga, Sept. 1st, 1840. Size 6x9. Full length. 

31 H EARN E "Mr. Samuel Hearne, late Chief at Prince of Wales's 
Fort, Hudson's Bay" For several years a midshipman in the Royal Navy. 
He subsequently entered the service of the Hudson's Bay Company, and 
in 1769 was sent on an expedition to discover a North-West passage. 
Because of unsurmountable difficulties, the expedition was a failure, as 
was a second attempt In December, 1770, however, he made a third 
essay and was this time successful, being the first European to penetrate 
to the Arctic Ocean from the interior. In 1774 he established Cumberland 
House, on the west shore of Cumberland or Pine Island Lake. It is still 
in existence, and at one time was the chief depot or fort of the Cumberland 
District of the Hudson's Bay Company. In 1782 during Hearne's governor- 
ship of Fort Prince of Wales, on the Churchill River, and one of the most 
impregnable strongholds on the continent, the fort was attacked and taken 
by La Perouse. Hearne was born in London, Eng., 1745. Died in 1792. 
Line engraving. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. See '2758. 

32 BRITISH COLUMBIA MINER, 1864 The dress of early miners in 
British Columbia is here accurately represented. The only natives of B.C. 
at that time were Indians and half-breeds, the very earliest settlers being 
employes of the Hudson's Bay Company, many of whom married Indian 
women. The men who were working in the country at the date of 
painting, attracted by the discovery of gold, came from all parts of the 
world They were all adventurers and for the most part a superior class 
of men. In Cariboo one frequently met Oxford and Cambridge men. Most 
of the old-timers have passed away, and since the advent of the railways 
a new class has come in from all parts. The first Mines Report in 
British Columbia was published in 1874, so that it is difficult to estimate 
the number of miners in the country during the sixties, but it is said that 
there were about five hundred. To-day (1917) there are nearly ten 
thousand. Oil painting by William G. R. Hind. Size 3x5. Half length. 

33 IMPERIAL BLUE BOOK MAP, 1819 Facsimile of section show- 
ing important points in events in the Red River Settlement, 1812-18. 
A Seven Oaks, where massacre took place 19th June, 1816. B Point 
from which the "Metis" left for Frog Plain (Kildonan). C Kildonan, 
where Selkirk settlers from east coast of Sutherlandshire, Scotland, settled 

812 and later- E-F De Meuron settlers on the Seine River. They 



finally emigrated to United States in 1826- G French half-breed settle- 
ment and church (St. Boniface). H Fort Douglas, built 1813, mile below 
site of Fort Garry. I Colony Gardens, where Selkirk colonists settled 1812, 
and later now (1917) part of Winnipeg. J Fort Gibraltar, built 1806 
at forks of Red and Assiniboine. K Road followed by "Metis" at Frog 
Plain. L Plain rangers' dry cart trail, west of settlers' lots. Size 7x9. 

34 VICTORIA, B.C., 1862 To the left is the bridge leading to the 
Songhees Reserve, and towards the upper right-hand corner of picture 
the Victoria District Church. The paddle-wheel steamer with the two 
funnels is the "Labouchere" (H-B- Co.'s), and the other paddle-wheel 
steamer is the "Pacific," alongside of which may be seen the "Forward." 
It is a difficult matter, in fact, almost an impossibility, states Mr. Edgar 
Fawcett, of Victoria, to define correctly the various points in this picture, 
which was made from a sketch taken from several positions. Water 
color. Size 6x9. See 2306, 2338. 

35 SIMPSON "Sir George Simpson, K.B. Painted by Stephen Pearce. 
Engraved by James Scott. London: Published by Henry Graves & Compy. 
March 5th, 1857. Printsellers to the Queen; 6 Pall Mall." He was 
born in Ross-shire, Scotland, 1792, later removing to London. Entered the 
service of the Hudson's Bay Company,, and in 1820 left England to take 
up his duties in that connection in Canada. When the Hudson's Bay and 
North-West Companies coalesced, Simpson was made Governor of the 
Northern Department, later known as Rupert's Land, and general superin- 
tendent of the Hudson's Bay Company's affairs in North America- Active 
in exploring projects, and for his services in this respect he received a 
knighthood from Her Majesty Queen Victoria- He welcomed the Prince of 
Wales at Lachine, Que. (where Sir George latterly resided) in July, 1860. 
Died at Lachine in Sept. of that year. Engraving. Size 13 x 17. Half length. 

36 VANCOUVER, COMMANDER GEORGE, R.N., of H.M.S. DIS- 
COVERY Navigator, discoverer and surveyor. Born at King's Lynn, 
England, 1757. In 1771 entered the Navy and sailed with Cook on his 
second and third voyages. Appointed lieutenant on the "Martin" sloop, 
1780; removed to the "Fame" and sailed with Rodney for the West Indies, 
taking part in the victory over the French fleet, 12th April, 1782. In 
December, 1790, was promoted commander and given charge of the expedi- 
tion along the north-west coast of America- In 1792 he met at Nootka 
Captain Quadra, in the service of Spain, commandant of Nootka, to carry 
out certain provisions of the Britannic-Spanish agreement. As a compli- 
ment to him Vancouver named the largest island on west coast of America 
"Quadra and Vancouver." It is now, however, known as Vancouver. Van- 
couver's exploring survey, which lasted from 1792-94, was zealously carried 
on and most successful. His death occurred in 1798. Oil painting from 
original by Lemuel F. Abbott, in the National Portrait Gallery, London, 
Eng. Size 14 x 17. Half length. 

37 DARLING, SIR CHARLES HENRY "His Excellency Charles 
Henry Darling, Esquire (late Governor of New Foundland), Captain 
General and Governor in Chief of the Island of Jamaica and its Depen- 
dencies Governor of the Bay Islands, etc., etc., etc. Painted by Henry 
Phillips, London. Lith. of Sarony, Major and Knapp, 449 Broadway, N.Y." 
Born at Annapolis Royal, N.S., 1809, and educated at the Royal Military Col- 
lege, Sandhurst. In 1827 he was appointed assistant private secretary, and in 
1830 military secretary to his uncle, Lieut.-Gen. Ralph Darling, then 
Governor of New South Wales. In 1833 appointed to the staff of Sir 
Lionel Smith; Lieutenant-Governor of St. Lucia, 1847, and in 1851 Lieu- 
lenant-Governor of Cape Colony, in the absence on military duty of the 
Governor, Sir George Cathcart. Sent to administer the Government of 



8 

Newfoundland and to inaugurate the system of "responsible government'' 
there Afterwards served as Captain-General and Governor-m-Chief of 
Jamaica inSng the Government of the Honduras and the Bay Islands. 
In 1862 was made a K.C.B. in recognition of his long and effective public 
service Died in 1870 at Cheltenham, England. Lithograph. Size 12x18. 
Full length. 

38-"ENTRANCE TO DIGBY (N.S.) FROM THE NORTH-M G Hall, 
delt , Pendleton's Lithography, Boston." The view shows in the distance 
the Joggin shore and one of the entrances to the Bear River. Contiguous 
to where this picture was taken is the Gut of Digby. Chromo lithograph 
Size 6x9. See 2143. 

39_PARTRIDGE ISLAND AND THE HARBOUR OF ST. JOHN, N.B. 
M. G. Hall, delt. Pendleton's Lithography, Boston." A quarantine station. 
The beacon light seen in the view between the island and the city of St. 
John stands on the outer point of a natural bar, which at low water be- 
comes perfectly dry. The high lands of Nova Scotia are said to be dis- 
tinctly seen from this island, previous to a storm, or at low water. Chromo 
lithograph. Size 6x9. 

40 "FALLS OF THE ST. JOHN RIVER, NEAR INDIAN TOWN 
Taken from the Carleton side. M. G. Hall, delt. Pendleton's Lithography, 
Boston." These falls are occasioned by the compression of the river waters 
into the gorge near the city. The rush of the upward tide and the Falls, 
which become visible at low tide, fill the stream with eddies which render 
navigation impossible. At a certain stage of flood-tide, and for a few 
minutes only, the gorge may be passed by vessels. Chromo lithograph. Size 
6x9. See 1732. 

41 TOWN AND HARBOR OF ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUNDLAND, 

1811 (With key). Water color from old sketches, showing the town and 
harbor, made by J. W. Hayward, an old resident of the place. Original in 
possession of the late Archbishop Howley, of St. John's. Size 10 x 27. 

42 ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUNDLAND, 1798 From the south-east. (With 
key). A unique view of one of the pioneer towns of the British American 
continent. From a drawing in water color, by R. P. Brenton, in the British 
Museum. Size 10 x 14. 

43 OLD SPAR HOUSE AND DOCK, HALIFAX, N.S., 1888 Looking 
about north-north-west, towards the citadel. This view was evidently inspired 
by John Flemming's old spar yard, near what is now Geo. S. Camp- 
bell & Co.'s wharf, Lower Water street, near foot of Salter street. The 
spar house has been demolished. To be accurate topographically, the space 
below the citadel, in the distance to the right, should be shown filled with 
buildings, as here lies the heart of the city. For artistic purposes it has 
been left devoid of buildings. No such church is in the locality shown in 
background to the left; but the spire of St. Mary's Cathedral (R.C.) in that 
direction probably suggested its introduction. A most artistic pen drawing 
made for J. Ross Robertson, by F. Leo. Hunter, Ossining, N.Y. Size 14 x 24. 

44 "THE GREAT FIRE AT ST. JOHN, N.B., JUNE 20TH, 1877 The 
fire broke out on York Point at half-past two p.m. and burned furiously 
until after midnight, consuming several hundred buildings, among which 
were the Post Office, Custom House, Academy of Music, eleven churches, 
a number of hotels, banks and various public buildings, the entire business 
portion of the city, and vessels at the wharves. Thirteen lives were lost. 
The total loss is estimated at $25,000,000. Published by Currier & Ives, 116 
Nassau St., New York. Copyright, 1877, by Currier & Ives, N.Y." Chromo 
lithograph. Size 8 x 13. 



45 ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUNDLAND "To his Excellency Sir Thomas 
John Cochrane, Knt., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Island of 
Newfoundland, etc., etc. This plate of the town and harbor of St. John's, 
is, with permission, respectfully dedicated by his Excellency's obliged, 
humble servant, William Eagar. Taken from Signal Hill, June 1st, 1831. 
London: Pub'd for the Proprietor, 1831, by H. Pyall, 115 London road." 
The harbor is small, but deep, and so landlocked that the water is always 
smooth, while the entrance is so narrow that it bears the name, "Narrows." 
Signal Hill, on the north side of the channel, is the grand observatory of 
the country. Aquatint, in color. Size 16 x 23. 

46 "OFFICERS' BARRACKS AT FREDERICTON, WINTER, 1834 

W. P. Kay- delt., from a sketch by Captn. Campbell. S. Russell, lith. Day 
and Haghe, Lithrs. to the King." Up to the point marked on the picture 
these barracks, or officers' quarters, are still standing. A portion was re- 
built in stone some time previous to Confederation, and the intention was 
to have the remainder rebuilt. The British soldiers, having removed from 
the Province, the project was not proceeded with. Chromo lithograph. 
Size 7 x 12. 

47 ST. JOHN'S (PROVINCE OF QUEBEC) "A south-west view of 
St. John's, shewing the fort and the detach'd redoubt, with the blockhouse 
opposite. J. Peachey, Ensn. 60th Regt, from the original view taken by 
J. Hunter. R. Regt. Arty, (v) Montgomery's Mortar Battery; (vv) Mont- 
gomery's Battery for Guns; (a) South Redoubt and Commanding Officer's 
Quarters; (b) North Redoubt, Magazine & Artillery Storehouses; (c) De- 
tached Redoubt, Officers' and Soldiers' Barracks; (d) Market Place; 
(v) Inflexible; (vv) Royal George." Water color. Size 13 x 24. 

48 HALIFAX, N.S., FROM THE GLACIS LOOKING OVER THE 
HARBOR IN A NORTH-EASTERLY DIRECTION "To the Right Honour- 
able George Dunk, his Majesty's Principal Secretary of State, etc., etc., etc. 
This plate, representing part of the town and harbour of Halifax in Nova 
Scotia, looking down George street to the opposite shore, called Dartmouth, 
is most humbly inscribed by his Lordship's most devoted servant, R. Short. 
Serres, pinxit. R. Short, delint. Jas. Mason, sculpsit. Published Ap. 25th, 
1777, by John Boydell, engraver in Cheapside, London. 1. King's Yard; 
2, Barracks; 3, Printing House; 4, Pontack's." With key. Line engraving. 
Size 13 x 20. 

49 HALIFAX, N.S., AND THE HARBOUR FROM THE NORTH END 
OF GEORGE'S ISLAND, LOOKING NORTH-WESTWARD "To the Right 
Honourable George Dunk. Earl of Halifax, his Majesty's Principal Secretary 
of State, etc., etc., etc. This plate, representing the town and harbour of 
Halifax, in Nova Scotia, as it appears from George Island, looking up to the 
King's Yard and Bason, is most humbly inscribed by his Lordship's most 
devoted servant, R. Short. Serres, pinx. R. Short, delint. Jas. Mason, 
sculp. Published Ap. 25th, 1777, by John Boydell, engraver in Cheapside, 
London." With key. Line engraving. Size 13 x 20. 

50 "KINGSTON, CANADA WEST, FROM FORT HENRY. Drawn 
from nature by E. Whitefield, Kingston, published by E. Whitefield, 1855." 
With key. Lithograph. Size 20 x 34. 

51-HALIFAX, N.S., FROM THE DARTMOUTH SHORE, LOOKING 
WEST-SOUTH WEST "To the Rt. Honourable George Dunk, Earl of Halifax, 
his Majesty's Principal Secretary of State, etc., etc., 'etc. This plate, repre- 
senting the town and harbour of Halifax, in Nova Scotia, as they appear 
from the opposite shore, called Dartmouth, is most humbly inscribed by his 
Lordship's most devoted servant, R. Short. Serres, pinxt. R. Short, delint. 






10 

Mason sculp. Pushed ^J? . 

Place b George S reel 6. Duke Street. 7. Major's Houses 
* " 



et Pace eo . 

and Wharf 8 8 8 South Middle and North Batteries." Line engravmg. 

Size 13 x 20. 



engraver fn Cheapside, London. 1. Pontack's; 2. Governor's Summer House 
and Gardens; 3, Work House." Line engravmg. Size 13 x 20. 

53 HALIFAX N.S. View Looking Southwestward "To the Right 
Honourable George Dunk, Earl of Halifax, his Majesty's Principal Secretary 
of State etc., etc, etc. This plate, representing the Governors House and 
St Mather's Meeting House, in Holies street, also looking up George street, 
shews part of the Parade and Citadel Hill at Halifax in Nova Scotia, is 
must humbly inscribed by his Lordship's most devoted servant, R. Short. 
Serres pinx R. Short, delint. Aveline, sculp. Published Ap. 25th, 1777, 
by John Boydell, engraver in Cheapside, London." Line engraving. 
Size 13 x 20. 

54 GILBERT, SIR HUMPHREY Founder of the first British Colony in 
North America. Scion of an ancient Devonshire family and step-brother of Sir 
Walter Raleigh; born in 1539. Educated at Eton and Oxford; afterwards 
distinguished himself in several military enterprises. M.P. for Plymouth, 
1571 As Commander-in-Chief of the Province of Munster, Ireland, defeated 
the Spaniards off the Irish coast in 1579. Arrived at St. John's, Newfound- 
land, Aug. 5th, 1583, taking possession of the surrounding country in the 
name of Queen Elizabeth. Lost in a storm off the Southern Azores in 1583. 
Line engraving. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

55 RODNEY, LORD GEORGE BRYDGES Governor of Newfoundland, 
1748-9. Born at Walton-upon-Thames in 1718, and educated at Harrow, Eng- 
land, subsequently entering the Navy. Blockaded Havre, 1759-60; Com- 
mander-in-Chief of the Leeward Islands the following year. Reduced Mar- 
tinique, St. Lucia, Grenada and Cape St. Vincent, 1762. For five years was 
Governor of Greenwich Hospital. Represented Northampton, Eng., in 
Parliament, 1768. Commander-in-Chief at Jamaica from 1771-4. Defeated 
Spanish off Cape St. Vincent; captured St. Eustatius, and in 1782 defeated 
the French off Dominica. Sir Joshua Reynolds, pinxt. P. W. Tomkins, 
pupil of F. Bartolozzi, sculpt. Stipple engraving. Size 3x4. Head and 
shoulders. 

56 HURON CHIEFS AT LORETTE "Michel Tsioui, Teacheandale, 
Chief of the Warriors; Stanislas Coska, Aharathaha, Second Chief of the 
Council; Andre Remain, Tsouhahissen, Chief of the Council. Three Chiefs 
of the Huron Indians Residing at La Jeune Lorette, near Quebec, in their 
National Costume. From a painting by E. Chatfield. Printed by C. Hull- 
mandel. Published by J. Dickinson, 144 New Bond Street, 1825." The 
remnant. of the Hurqn tribe which survived the massacres of 1648-9, since 
1697, has made its home at Indian, or Jeune Lorette, some eight miles 
northwest of Quebec. The descendants of the ancient warlike tribe have 
largely intermarried with the French-Canadians, and French is the lan- 
guage principally spoken in the peaceful little village on the banks of the 
St. Charles. Lithograph, in color. Size 15 x 18. 



11 

57 "HALIFAX FROM McNAB'S ISLAND Drawn from nature by W. 
Lyttleton, S. W. Chandler and Bro., Lith. Boston. Published by E. G. Fuller, 
Halifax, N.S." The capital and largest city of Nova Scotia is situated on 
the south-east coast of the Province, on the slope of a rocky peninsula. It 
is enclosed by a splendid harbor six miles long and a mile wide. McNab's 
Island, from which this view was made in 1862, by Capt. Westcote W. 
Lyttleton, cf the 64th Regt., is three miles in length and lies at the mouth 
of Halifax Harbor, affording, with George's Island, an excellent shelter for 
it. On McNab's Island are Fort McNab and other batteries, which cross 
fire with that of York Redoubt on the west shore. Lithograph. Size 13 x 19. 

58 ALEXANDER, SIR WILLIAM "A true portrait of William, Earl 
of Stirling, at the age of fifty-seven. Published Novr. 1, 1795, by Wm. 
Richardson, No. 2 Castle street, Leicester Square." The celebrated poet, 
courtier and colonist was born in Scotland, near Stirling. The date of his 
birth is uncertain, some authorities giving 1567, and others, 1580. In 1621 
he became interested in colonization and persuaded James I. to grant him 
a charter covering a large territory in North America practically what is 
now Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island. The colony 
was named "New Scotland." Shortly after the accession to the throne of 
Charles I., Sir William was made a Privy Councillor and Secretary of 
State for Scotland, which offices he held until his death. Created a peer 
in 1630, under the title of Viscount of Stirling and Lord Alexander of 
Tullibody; three years later was raised to the dignity of Earl of Stirling. 
Viscount Canada, etc. He contributed largely to the literature of his 
time, first coming into prominence as the author of "The Tragedies of 
Darius." He also completed the version of the Psalms of David, under- 
taken by King James J. His death took place in 1640. Line engraving. 
Size 5x7. Head and shoulders. 

59 "SLEIGH MEETING ON THE ST. LAWRENCE Quebec in the 
distance. Wildrake, del. W. Radcliffe, sc. London. R. Ackermann, 191 
Regent St., Feby. 1, 1841." Chromo lithograph. Size 4x5. 

60 SCHANK "Captn. John Schank, Royal Navy. I. J. Masquerier, 
pinxt. C. Turner, sculpt. London, published Octr. 19, 1799, by C. Turner, 
No. 40 Castle St., Oxford Road." Born in Fifeshire, Scotland, 1740. En- 
tered the Navy in 1758, on board the "Duke." Promoted in 1776 to lieuten- 
ancy, and put in command of the "Canso," employed in the St. Lawrence. 
Fitted out several vessels on Canadian lakes, and had control of establish- 
ments at Quebec, St. John and Detroit. Built at Quebec the "Inflexible," 
commanding her on Lake Champlain, October, 1776. Schank, who was a 
talented seaman and engineer, retired in 1802, became Rear-Admiral, 1805, 
and in 1822 Admiral of the Blue. Died at Dawl^siv Devonshire, 1823. 
Photograph. Size 6x7. Head and shoulders. See 1682. ' 

61 PRENTICE'S PERILOUS JOURNEY FROM QUEBEC "The 

departure of S. W. Prentice, ensign of the 84th Regiment, and five others, 
from their shipwrecked companions in the depth of winter, 1781. Mr. 
Prentice was sent with public despatches from Govr. Haldiman at Quebec, 
to Sir Heny. Clinton at New York, who, with 18 seamen and passengers, 
were cast away on a desolate, uninhabited part of the Island of Cape 
Breton, Deer. 5, 1780. Five perished and several lost their fingers and toes 
by the severity of the cold. The survivors continued in this place several 
weeks, when Mr. Prentice and such as were able, embarked in a small, 
shatter'd boat to seek some inhabited country. They stopped the leakes of 
their boat by pouring water on its bottom till the holes were closed up with 
ice. During a voyage of two months, in which they suffered incredible 
hardships, and at length, worn out with fatigue, benumbed, diseased and 
famished, they were discovered by some of the native Indians. These 
friendly savages afterwards went to assist those who had been left at the 



12 

wreck of whom 5 only were found alive, and they had subsisted many days 
Tn the bodies of their dead companions. (See Ensign Prentice's Narra- 
t^ PMlyRo^SmiT^e. Engraved by Robt. Pollard Aquatinta by 
F Jukes London: Pub'd March 8, 1784, by R. Pollard, No. 15 Brayne's 
Row, Spa Fields, and R. Wilkinson, No. 58 Cornhill." Size 15 x 21. 

62 _THE QUEBEC DRIVING CLUB MEETING AT THE PLACE 
D'ARMES is humbly dedicated by permission to the Rt. Honourable the Earl 
of Dalhousie, Patron of the Club, by a member, his Lordship's most obedient 
and very humble servant, William Wallace, Ensign 71st Lt. Inf. Sketched 
by W Wallace Engraved by J. Smillie, Junr. Published by D. Smillie 
& Sons Quebec, 1826." The Place d'Armes, in the time of the French 
called the Grande Place, was the scene of military parades and a fashion- 
able promenade. It was the regular meeting place of the Tandem Club, 
which flourished in Quebec when it was a garrison town. In 1650, the 
Huron Indians, who had been driven from Lake Simcoe, encamped here. 
To the left of the picture (No. 2) is shown an old French building, used 
as militia headquarters, formerly a commissariat building, where in the 
early part of the century was kept the specie to be paid out to the troops 
and army contractors. The Church of England Cathedral is on the right, 
while in the foreground is the Place d'Armes. The habitant, in the lower 
left hand corner, is driving his sleigh exactly opposite the site of old Castle 
Haldimand. Photograph of an engraving. Size 6 x 10. 

63 "QUEBEC Engraved by permission, from the picture painted for 
Her Majesty, Queen Victoria, by L. R. O'Brien, President Royal Canadian 
Academy of Arts. Engraved by A. Willmore." Size 5x9. 

64 _RAPIDS OF WHITE EARTH LAKE, THUNDER BAY DISTRICT 
A picturesque spot. White Earth Lake, White Clay Lake and White 
Water Lake are all tributaries of the Ogoki River, which falls into the 
Albany River in the northern section of Thunder Bay District. These 
rapids are at the west end of White Earth Lake, about 160 miles north of 
Port Arthur. Water color. By Wm. Armstrong, C.E., 1869. Size 8 x 12. 

65 "A VIEW OF THE FALL AT MONTMORENCI, and the Attack 
made by Genl. Wolfe, on the French Intrenchments near Beauport, with the 
Grenadiers of the Army, July 31st, 1759. 1. Quebec. 2. Point Levy. 
3. Orleans. Capt. Smith, del. J. Smith, sculp. London. Printed for 
Robt. Sayer, Print and Mapseller, No. 53 Fleet street." Engraving, printed 
in color. Size 6 x 10. See 2082. 

66 "VIEW OF THE VILLAGE OF ST. THOMAS, RIVIERE DE SUD, 
AND REGENT'S BRIDGE J. Bouchette, Esqr., del. Engrav'd by W. J. 
Bennett." This place, now (1917) known as Montmagny, is the county 
town of Montmagny. Its proper designation is St. Thomas de Mont- 
magny. The town is one of the oldest on the banks of the St. Lawrence, 
a parish having been first established there in 1679. Many of the original 
inhabitants were Bretons. Riviere du Sud is a small but beautiful stream, 
rising in the hills to the south-west in Bellechasse Co., joining the St. 
Lawrence at Montmagny. Size 5x9. 

67 to 71 These pictures comprise views of Quebec, published in Ger- 
many about 1775 four engraved and printed in color by F. X. Habermann, 
acd one by B. F. Leizelt. They are imaginary, and were made 
for panoramic representation. No mention is made of these prints by P. 
Lee Phillips, F.R.G.S., of the Library of Congress, Washington, in his 
work cataloguing the maps, plans, etc., of America, while Dr. A. G. 
Doughty, Dominion Archivist, briefly catalogues them in his "Bibilography 
of the Siege of Quebec." Mr. Phileas Gagnon, however, the keeper of the 
Judicial Archives of Quebec, says with regard to them: "These very 
curious views are rather the fruit of an inventive imagination than pic- 



13 

tures of the localities indicated; but, in spite of this, they are desirable 
additions to a collection of Canadian views. Four views of Boston and two 
of New York, of a similar character to these, were made at the same time 
by the same German designers." The inscriptions on the pictures are in 
French and in German. 

67 "VIEW OF THE UPPER TOWN OF QUEBEC Showing the 
route leading to the Cavalier of the Windmill. Sold at Augsburg, at the 
general establishment of the Imperial Academy of Fine Arts, by the pri- 
vilege granted by his Imperial Majesty, and with a prohibition to make or 
sell copies. Engraved by Francois Xav. Habermann." Printed in color. 
Size 10 x 16. 

68 QUEBEC "A town of Canada in North America, near the left 
bank of the River St. Lawrence. It was the capital of New France, but 
the English took it in 1759, and by the treaty of peace which followed it 
was ceded to the Crown of England with whole of Canada. Sold at Augs- 
burg, at the general establishment of the Imperial Academy of Fine Arts, 
by the privilege granted by his Imperial Majesty, and with a prohibition 
to make or sell copies. Engraved by Balth. Frederic Leizelt." Mr. E. T. 
D. Chambers, of Quebec, thinks this is a "complete fake picture." None 
of the buildings can be identified, simply because they never existed, 
except in the imagination of the artist. Printed in color. Size 10 x 16. 

69 "VIEW OF THE RECOLLETS STREET IN THE UPPER TOWN 
OF QUEBEC Sold at Augsburg at the general establishment of the Im- 
perial Academy of Fine Arts, by the privilege granted by his Imperial 
Majesty, and with a prohibition to make or sell copies. Engraved by 
Francois Xav. Habermann." No record of any Recollets street can be 
found in Quebec. If the buildings in the picture bore any resemblance to 
the Recollets church or convent, which they do not, then the street would 
be Anne, but none of the buildings or surroundings as shown can be 
identified by views of the period. Printed in color. Size 10 x 16. 

70 "VIEW OF THE LOWER TOWN OF QUEBEC Near the St. 

Lawrence River. Sold at Augsburg, at the general establishment of the 
Imperial Academy of Fine Arts, by the privilege granted by his Imperial 
Majesty, and with a prohibition to make or sell copies. Engraved by 
Francois Xav. Habermann." No architecture of the magnificence shown 
in the picture ever marked the river front of Quebec in olden time. 
Printed in color. Size 10 x 16. 

71 "VIEW OF THE PRINCIPAL SQUARE IN THE LOWER TOWN 
OF QUEBEC Sold at Augsburg at the general establishment of the Im- 
perial Academy of Fine Arts by the privilege granted by his Imperial 
Majesty, and with a prohibition to make or sell copies. Engraved by 
Francois Xav. Habermann." The "Place Capitale" of the Lower Town in 
the eighteenth century was Sault au Matelot street, then, as now, little 
more than a narrow lane, and bearing no resemblance at all to this pic- 
ture. Printed in color. Size 10 x 16. 

72 FULFORD "Rt. Rev. Francis Fulford, D.D., Lord Bishop of Mont- 
real, 1850. Drawn, Engraved and Published July 15th, 1851, by Mr. 
Skelton, 118 Albany St., Regents Park." In 1850 Bishop Mountain's wish 
that Montreal should be formed into a separate diocese was realized. Rev. 
Francis Fulford, of Curzon Chapel, Mayfair, was chosen as the new bishop. 
His consecration took place in Westminster Abbey, in July, his enthrone- 
ment taking place 15th Sept., following, at Christ Church, Montreal, which 
thereafter became the Anglican Cathedral of the diocese. Bishop Fulford 
was a tireless worker. He endeavored to establish a church school for 



14 

^ i*t q to and delivered lectures to mechanics at 
girls in Montreal wrote letter to .a , ^^ the ftl meter y 



aonB. 

their institutes and ^.^^ ^^ that the entire ground be dedicated 
was set apart his Lordship adv ^? ting O n denominational lines. In 
to a common purpose Jj*"J^^^He was born at Sidmouth, 

js^iTue^^^^ 

Size'lO x 13. Half length. 



finding her aground was obliged to burn uer^P Q{ .^ ^ 






Line engraving. Size 14 x 23. See 
2433-4, 2442-3. 

7i_Kmn REV ADAM, 1802-31 Author of "The Huron Chief" and 

Water color. By E. H., 1828. Size 4x6. Half length. 

75-DE SALABERRY, IGNACE-MICHEL L.A.-Born at the Manor' 
House, Beauport, July, 1752, and educated In France. Bather of the "Hero 
of Chateauguay." He was a personal friend of the Duke of Kent duni 
?he Xtert sojourn in Canada with his regiment. M. de Salaberry died 
March 22nd, 1825. From silhouette in possession of M. Hertel La Rocque, 
Montreal. Size 3x5. Head and shoulders. 

76 DE SALABERRY, MADAME (Catherine^ Francois de Hertel)-- 
Wife of Ignace Michel L. A. de Salaberry, and mother of the Hero 
Chateauguay." Her death occurred at Beauport, Quebec, 1824. 
silhouette in possession of M. Hertel La Rocque, Montreal. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

77 DE SALABERRY, COL. HON. CHARLES MICHEL DMRUM- 
BERRY, C.B. Born at the Manor House of Beauport, Que., 1778; died at 
Chambly, 1829. Member of the Legislative Council, Quebec. Served in 
the West Indies under Prescott. Present at the conquest of Martinique, 
1794; stationed in Ireland, 1809, and in the following year took part in the 
Walcheren expedition. Returned to Canada in 1811, as aide-de-camp to 
Major-General de Rottenburg. Called the "Hero of Chateauguay" for his 
bravery on October 26th, 1813, when he defeated the United States troops 
under General Hampton. Photograph from a portrait in the Chateau de 
liamezay collection, Montreal. Size 6x7. Head and shoulders. 

A 

78 PAPINEAU, HON. LOUIS JOSEPH, 1 786-1 870^Drawn by Maurin. 
Lithographed by Maurin, Rue de Vaugirard, 72, Parig. Size 11 x 14. Head 
and shoulders. See 1675. 

' 79 HABITANT OVEN, 1860 Ovens similar to that shown in the 
picture are to be seen in the majority of French-Canadian parishes in the 
Province of Quebec, and are operated exactly as the ovens of professional 



15 

bakers in the towns. They are built of brick with an arched top. In fact, 
except that the bottom of the oven is flat, they are shaped like half an 
egg. They are covered with mortar or cement on the outside for better 
preservation of the structure, and have usually an outer wooden covering 
as shown in the picture. Almost every house is provided with one of 
these ovens. A fire of wood is made in the oven, and, when tne latter has 
become well heated, the fire is raked out, the oven carefully swept, and 
the loaves of dough inserted. The splendid home-made bread thus produced 
by a skilful housewife is baked through in about an hour. Water color, by 
Charles E. Moss, near Murray Bay, 1860. Size 10 x 13. See 1909. 

80 TACHE, SIR ETIENNE PASCAL Celebrated political leader 
prior to Confederation Born at St. Thomas, C.E., 1795. On the outbreak 
of hostilities in 1812 he entered the Incorporated Militia of Lower Canada 
as an ensign. During the war was promoted to a lieutenancy in the Cana- 
dian Chasseurs. When peace was declared young Tache studied medicine 
and practised his profession successfully until 1841. In that year he 
entered Parliament, and six years later was appointed Deputy Adjutant- 
General, holding that office until his entrance to the Lafontaine-Baldwin 
Ministry as Commissioner of Public Works, 1848. Became Receiver- 
General in 1849, and Speaker of the Legislative Council, 1856. In recogni- 
tion of his distinguished services received a knighthood in 1858. Aide-de- 
camp to her late Majesty Queen Victoria, and as such was attached to the 
suite of H.R.H. Prince of Wales during his tour through Canada, 1860. 
Lithograph. Size 7x9. Half length. 

81 CARTIER, SIR GEORGE ETIENNE Provincial Secretary in the 
Macnab-Tache Ministry. Born at St. Antoine, Vercheres Co., L.C., 1814. 
Educated at the College of St. Sulpice, Montreal. Studied law and suc- 
cessfully practised his profession in that city. Entered Parliament in 
1848, first representing Vercheres, and later Montreal. Assisted in carry- 
ing the bill for the abolition of seigniorial tenures. Died in London, Eng., 
1873. Lithograph. Size 7x9. Head and shoulders. 

82 QUEBEC PAGEANT, 1908 Samuel de Champlain, Governor of 
New France, 1612-29 and 1633-5, as represented at the Pageant. Repro- 
duction in color from sketch by George Agnew Reid, Toronto. Size 4x6. 
Full length. See 1641. 

83 QUEBEC PAGEANT, 1 908 Champlain at the Court of Henri IV. 
of France, 1603. Champlain had left Canada in August, 1603, for France, 
and while there visited Court, where he was always welcome. He made 
his report and presented maps in connection with his expedition, to the 
King, who at once recognized the importance of peopling the New World 
and securing rights already obtained by France. Reproduction in color by 
George Agnew Reid. Size 4x6. 

84 QUEBEC PAGEANT, 1908 Le Don de Dieu (the Gift of God), 
the ship in which Champlain came to Canada in 1608. Reproduction in 
color from sketch by George Agnew Reid, Toronto. Size 4x6. See 1161. 

85 QUEBEC PAGEANT, 1908 Review of the Historic Armies on the 
Plains of Abraham before H.R.H.' the Prince of Wales (King George V.), 
July, 1908. Reproduction in color from an oil painting in the Dominion 
Archives, by Frank Craig. Size 4x6. 

86 QUEBEC PAGEANT, 1908 Bishop Laval (first Roman Catholic 
Bishop of Quebec) receiving the Marquis de Tracey, and the Intendant 
Talon, 1665. Reproduction in color. Size 4x6. 

4 



16 

87 ICE PONT QUEBEC "This View of the Ice Pont formed between 
Quebec and Point Levi in the Year 1831, is by special permission dedicated 
to his Most Excellent Majesty William the Fourth. From a drawing by 
Lieut-Col. Cockburn. Engraved by J. Stewart. London. Pubd. 1833 by 
Ackermann & Co., 96 Strand. Plate 2." Line engraving. Size 17 x 27. 

88 LOWER CITY, QUEBEC "This View of the Lower City of Quebec 
from the parapet of the Upper City, is by special permission dedicated to 
his Most Excellent Majesty William the Fourth. t From a drawing by 
Lieut -Col Cockburn. Aquatint by C. Hunt. London. Pubd. 1833, by 
Ackermann & Co., 96 Strand. Plate 6." Engraving. Size 17 x 27. 

89 _CAPE DIAMOND AND WOLFE'S COVE "This View of Quebec, 
from Cape Diamond and Wolf's Cove from Point a Pizeau is by special 
permission dedicated to his Most Excellent Majesty William the Fourth. 
From a drawing by Lieut.-Col. Cockburn. Engraved by C. Hunt. London. 
Pubd. 1833, by Ackermann & Co., 96 Strand, Plate 1." Line engraving. 
Size 17 x 27. 

90SOUTHEAST VIEW OF QUEBEC Chromo xylograph from the 
Atlantic Neptune. Size 12 x 22. 

91_QUEBEC FROM PT. LEVI "This View of Quebec, from below 
Aubigny Church, Point Levi, is by special permission dedicated to his Most 
Excellent Majesty William the Fourth. From a drawing by Lieut.-Col. 
Cockburn. Engraved by H. Pyall. London: Pubd. 1833, by Ackermann & 
Co., 96 Strand. Plate 3." Line engraving. Size 17 x 27. 

92 CONE OF MONTMORENCY "This View of the Cone of Mont- 
morency, as it appeared in 1829, is by special permission dedicated to his 
Most Excellent Majesty William the Fourth. From a drawing by Lieut.-Col. 
Cockburn. Aquatint by C. Bently. London. Pubd., 1833, by Ackermann 
& Co., 96 Strand. Plate 5." The gentleman and lady in the centre are 
Lieut.-Col. and Mrs. Cockburn, and the two young men on the right and 
left are their sons. The features of the Color P! can be readUy distinguished 
with the aid of a glass. Line engraving. Size 17 x 27. See 1998. 

93 FALLS OF MONTMORENCY "This View of the Falls of Mont- 
morency (Quebec in the Distance), is by special permission dedicated to 
his Most Excellency Majesty William the Fourth. From a drawing by 
Lieut.-Col. Cockburn. Engraved by C. Hunt, London. Pnhrt.. 1833. by 
Ackermann & Co., 96 Strand. Plate 4th." Line engraving. Size 17 x 27. 
See 1961. 

94 QUEBEC PAGEANT, 1908 The arrival of the Ursulines at Que- 
bec, 1639. Madame de la Peltrie with two Ursulines from Tours, France, 
and one from Dieppe, sailed on 4th May, 1639, for Quebec, in company with 
the Hospitalieres. They arrived at Quebec, 1st August, and shortly after- 
wards were established on the banks of the St. Charles River. Their first 
convent was completed in 1641. The order was founded on St. Catharine's 
Day, 1537, and in 1544 its constitution was approved of by the Sovereign 
Pontiff, Paul III. Reproduction in color. Size 4x6. 

95 QUEBEC PAGEANT, 1908 Arrival of Madame de Champlain at 
Quebec in 1620 Helene Boulle, wife of the founder of Quebec and Mont- 
real, was the daughter of Nicholas Boulle, secretary of the King's Cham- 
ber. She was born in 1598, and in 1610 her marriage to Champlain took 
place. Owing to her extreme youth, however, she returned to her parents' 
home for a time. In 1620 she came to Quebec with her husband, remain- 
ing only four years in this country. Originally a Calvinist, she was 
converted to the Roman Catholic faith by her husband, and, after his 
death, entered the Monastery of St. Ursula, Paris. In 1648 she founded 
an Ursuline monastery at Meaux, where she died in 1654 Reproduction 
in color. Size 4x6. 



17 

96 QUEBEC PAGEANT, 1908 Return of the Iroquois from the 
Massacre at the Long Sault, 1660 In the spring of 1660 several hundred 
Iroquois gathered at the mouth of the Ottawa for the purpose of invading 
Montreal, Quebec and Three Rivers. Bollard, a young French officer, 
and a company of sixteen, joined by forty Hurons, determined to put up a 
defence at the Sault. Dollard and his companions were killed, but the 
Iroquois had received such a surprise that for the time being they gave up 
the project of invasion. Reproduction in color. Size 4x5. 

97 QUEBEC PAGEANT, 1908 Jacques Cartier recounting the story 
of his discoveries in Canada to Francis I., King of France, 1534. Repro- 
duction in color. Size 4x6. 

98 MONTCALM, M. DE Last descendant in a direct line of the great 
French General. In appreciation of the part taken by Hon. P. J. O. 
Chauveau at the inauguration of the St. Foye monument, 19th Oct., 1862, 
M. de Montcalm sent him a photograph. The writing on the left-hand card 
may be translated: "This portrait was given me by M. Quibusque in 
behalf of M. de Montcalm, who sent it in acknowledgment of my oratiqn 
at the laying of the corner-stone of the St. Foye monument and who 
placed his. autograph on the portrait." This monument was erected about 
a mile from the city by the St. Jean Baptiste Society of Quebec, to the 
memory of those who fell on both sides in the battle of St. Foye, 1760. 
The French were commanded by de Levis, and the English, who were 
defeated, by Murray. Photograph. Size 4x7. Full length. 

99 YORK PIONEER AND HISTORICAL SOCIETY, 1915 Photo, with 
key. Size 14 x 19. See 1135, 1141, 1145. 

100 ISAACSON, ROBERT PHILIP "Dolly of the Chop House, Mont- 
real. Lith. of Sarony and Major, New York." Isaacson, who was born in 
London, Eng., named his eating-house after "Dolly's Chop House" of that 
city. He kept his establishment, first on St. Francois-Xavier St., north 
side, opposite Hospital St. (1845-8), and later on the west side of St. 
James St., where the Royal Bank now stands, next door west of the old 
St. Lawrence Hotel. His Chop House was one of the popular resorts and 
the most famed of all Montreal restaurants down to his death, and a 
favorite resort of the officers of the large British Garrison. "Dolly" used 
to sit in front of his place and lay down the law a typical and very hand- 
some "John Bull," always dressed in knee breeches and suit of old-time 
cut. Chromo lithograph. Size 11 x 15. Full length, sitting. 

101 PORTEOUS, ANDREW -Postmaster of Montreal, 1832-43 He 
was born in 1780, and became a well-known merchant in Montreal; a 
partner in the firm of Porteous, Hancock and McGill (later Hon. Peter 
McGill). The last-named member of the firm was originally a McCutcheon, 
but assumed the surname of McGill in order to inherit the property of his 
uncle, Hon. Peter McGill. Mr. Porteous was one of the founders of St. 
Paul's Presbyterian Church, Montreal. His death occurred Dec. 16th, 
1849, in Toronto. Charles Morgan, of the Merchants' Bank, Montreal, is a 
grandson. Water color. Size B l / 2 x 4. Head and shoulders. 

102 McGILL, HON. JAMES, 1744-1813 Founder of McGill Univer- 
sity, Montreal At an early age he came to Canada from Scotland, engag- 
ing for some years in western fur trade. Represented Montreal in Parlia- 
ment of Lower Canada, and was a member of the Legislative and Execu- 
tive Councils. He was also an officer of the militia, rising to the rank of 
brigadier-general in the War of 1812. As a philanthropist and benefactor 



18 

Mr McGill was well known. He devoted a great deal of his wealth to insti- 
tution in Montreal, which owes much to his liberality in leaving property 
and money for the purpose of founding the college that bears his name. 
Photogravure from engraving in Library of McGill University, Montreal. 
Size 4x5. Half length. 

103 "QUEBEC FROM BEAUFORT Drawn from nature and on stone 
by E Whitefield. Printed in tint by Maclear & Co., Toronto, C.W. Pub- 
lished by E. Whitefield, 16 King St., Toronto., in 1855. Entered according 
to the Act of the Provincial Legislature in the year of our Lord, 1855, by 
Edwin Whitefield in the office of the Registrar of the Province of Canada." 
With key. Size 20 x 36. 

10 4 "VICTORIA BRIDGE, MONTREAL, CANADA Summer View 
to accompany Hunter's Hand Book of Victoria Bridge. Dedicated by per- 
mission to the Grand Trunk Railway Co., of Canada. W. S. Hunter, 
Del. Sarony, Major & Knapp, Liths., 449 Broadway, N.Y. Entered 
according to Act of Congress in the year 1860 by Sarony, Major & Knapp, 
in the Clerk's Office of the District Court of the Southern District of New 
York. Description Length of Bridge, 1% miles. Length of Tube, 6,600 
teet, 1^4 miles. Height of centre tubes, 22 feet. Height of end tubes, 19 
feet. Width of tubes, 16 feet. Length of side spans, 242 feet. Length of 
centre span, 330 feet. Number of spans, 25. Cost of bridge, $6,300,000." 
Lithograph, in color. Size 8 x 26. See 115, 1866-7. 

105 "SAINT JAMES'S STREET, MONTREAL R. A. Sproule, Belt. 
W. L. Leney, Sc. Published by A. Bourne, Montreal, 1830." Engraved in 
aquatint. Size 9 x 14. See 107. 

106 "NORTH-EAST VIEW, NOTRE DAME STREET, MONTREAL 

Drawn by John Murray. Bourne, Engr." One of the oldest streets in 
Montreal. The Parish Church of Ville Marie, the first Church of Notre 
Dame, formerly stood directly in the centre of Notre Dame Street, in 
front of the present Cathedral. To the left is seen Nelson's Column, 
erected by the English and French residents of the city in 1809 to the 
memory of the hero of Trafalgar. It is strange that the renowned Admiral 
has his back to the sea. Engraved and printed in color. Size 9 x 11. 
See 110, 113. 

107 "GREAT ST. JAMES STREET, MONTREAL Drawn by John 
Murray. Bourne, Engr." Dollier de Casson, first historian of Montreal, 
laid out the streets in 1672. St. James street, or Rue St. Jacques, was so 
named in honor of Jean Jacques Olier, a courtier abbe of Paris, who felt 
called to leave his social sphere in the gay city and found a mission in the 
Island of Montreal. He was one of the party who, with Maisonneuve, 
landed on 18th May, 1642, at Montreal. Engraved and printed in color. 
Size 9 x 11. See 105. 

108 "VIEW OF -THE CHAMP DE MARS, MONTREAL R. A. 

Sproule, Delt, W. L. Leney, Sc. Published by A. Bourne, Montreal, 1830." 
Engraved and printed 'in color. Size 9 x 14. 

109 "PLACE D'ARMES, MONTREAL R. A. Sproule, Delt. W. L. 
Leney, Sc. Published by A. Bourne, Montreal, 1830." In 1836 the City of 
Montreal purchased the ground from the gentlemen of the Seminary, and 
some years later the square was paved and enclosed. In tne centre is a 
bronze statue, erected in 1892, of Maisonneuve, the founder of the city. 
Facing the square is seen the parish church of Notre Dame, built in 1824 
to replace the church of 1672. The towers are 227 feet high and contain 
a magnificent set of bells, including "Le Gros Bourdon." Engraved and 
printed in color. Size 9 x 14. See 112 



19 

110 "NOTRE DAME STREET, MONTREAL R. A. Sproule, Belt. W. 
L. Leney, Sc. Published by A. Bourne, Montreal, 1830." Engraved and 
printed in color. Size 9 x 14. See 113. 

Ill "VIEW OF THE HARBOR, MONTREAL R. A. Sproule, Delt. 
W. L. Leney, Sc. Published by A. Bourne, Montreal, 1830." Engraved 
and printed in color. Size 9 x 14. 

112 "PLACE D'ARMES, MONTREAL Drawn by John Murray. 
Bourne, Engr." Engraved and printed in color. Size 9 x 10. See 109. 

113 "SOUTH-WEST VIEW NOTRE DAME STREET, MONTREAL 
Drawn by John Murray. Bourne, Engr." On the right is shown the 
Parish Church of Notre Dame, facing on the street; in the distance, to 
the left, is the old St. Gabriel Street Presbyterian Church, adjoining the 
Champ de Mars. This was the first Protestant church erected in Mont- 
real, having been built in 1792. A new church was afterwards built on 
St. Catharine street, the congregation holding their first service in it in 
1886. The old structure was demolished in 1903 to make room for an 
extension of the Court House. Engraved and printed in color. Size 9 x 11. 
See 110. 

114 "VIEW OF MONTREAL FROM SAINT HELEN'S ISLAND 
R. A. Sproule, Delt. W. L. Leney, Sc. Published by A. Bourne, Montreal, 
1830." Engraved and printed in color. Size 9 x 14. See 203. 

115 "VICTORIA BRIDGE, MONTREAL, CANADA Winter View- 
To Accompany Hunter's Hand Book of Victoria Bridge. Dedicated by per- 
mission to the Grand Trunk Railway Co., of Canada. W. S. Hunter, Del. 
Sarony, Major & Knapp, Liths., 449 Broadway, N.Y. Entered according 
to Act of Congress in the year 1860 by Sarony, Major & Knapp in the 
Clerk's Office of the District Court of the Southern District of N.Y." 
Lithograph in color. Size 8 x 26. See 104, 1866-7. 

116 "SLEIGHING IN CANADA On the River St. Lawrence, facing 
Montreal, 1841 No. 1, Captn. Sandeman; 2, Captn. Clitherow, A.D.C.; 3, 
Mr. Warre, A.D.C.; 4, Mr. Baring, A.D.C.; 5, Lt.Coll. Whyte, 7th Huzzars; 
6, Mrs. Murdock; 7, Mrs. Shirley; 8, Major Dickson, A. Adjt.-Genl.; 9, Mr. 
Raynier, Rl. Artly.; 10, Earl of Mulgrave, A.D.C.; 11, Coll. The Honble. 
C. Gore. Drawn by Mrs. Shirley and Mr. Warre, A.D.C. C. Warren, Lith." 
Chromo lithograph. Size 10 x 30. 

117 BOUNDARY BETWEEN UNITED STATES AND CANADA 
Iron Post at St. Regis, Que At St. Regis, in Huntingdon Co., Que., on the 
St. Lawrence and St. Regis Rivers, may be seen one of the cast iron 
obelisks, three and a half feet high, placed as boundary monuments at 
certain intervals along that frontier line. Upon the four sides of the obe- 
lisk were inscriptions in raised letters giving the name of the treaty, the 
date, and the names of the commissioners, and the fact that the obelisk 
marked the boundary between the United States and Canada. On the 
west face "Boundary, August 9, 1842"; on the east "Treaty of Washing- 
ton"; on 'the north, the name of the British Commissioner, "Lieutenant- 
Colonel J. B. B. Estcourt, H.B.M., Com."; on the south face, "Albert Smith, 
U.S. Com." Photograph, colored. Size 5x5. 

118 THORNTON, LT.-GEN. WILLIAM Military Secretary to Sir 
James H. Craig, Governor of Canada, 1807-11; elected M.P. for Woodstock, 
Eng., 1st October, 1812. Lithograph. Size 7x9. Half length. 



20 

HQ LAFONTAINE SIR L. H., BART., 1807-64 Of Lafontaine-Bald- 
win M^8try-He was born at Boucherville, Que, educated at the College 
SMonSS; studied law, the practice of which he began in Montreal. In 
1830 LaFontaine was elected a member of the Assembly for Terrebonne. 
He did not sympathize with the Rebellion; left the country, and on his 
return was arrested, but released without trial, as there were no legal 
grounds for his arrest. The union of the Provinces was strongly opposed 
by him He became Attorney-General of Lower Canada, formed with 
Baldwin the LaFontaine-Baldwin Administrations, the second of which 
was called the "great ministry." His efforts to carry a bill for redistribut- 
ing seats in the Legislature were unsuccessful. LaFontaine, who was re- 
sponsible for the introduction of the Rebellion Losses Bill, retired from 
public life in 1851, again taking up his profession. He was in 1853 ap- 
pointed Chief Justice, Court of Queen's Bench, L.C., and the following year 
created a baronet in recognition of his distinguished career. Died in Mont- 
real. Photogravure from a painting in the Chateau de Ramezay, Montreal. 
Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

12 o RYLAND, HERMAN WITSIUS Born in England in 1770. Took 
part in the American Revolutionary War, returning to England with Sir 
Guy Carleton. On the latter's appointment as Governor-General, Mr. 
Ryland, as Civil Secretary, accompanied him to Canada, filling the posi- 
tion, not only while Dorchester was in office, but during the terms of 
succeeding Governors. He resigned in 1811, continuing to fill, however, 
his position as Clerk of the Executive Council until his death in 1838. His 
son, George Herman Ryland, then held the office until the union of the 
Canadas. Photograph from a portrait in possession of his granddaughter, 
Mrs. Henry J. Low, Montreal. Size 9 x 12. Head and shoulders. 

121 PRESENTATION OF A NEWLY-ELECTED CHIEF OF THE 
HURON TRIBE, CANADA, 1839 "Dedicated by special permission to her 
Majesty Adelaide, the Queen Dowager (widow of William IV. of Great 
Britain) by her very grateful humble servant, H. D. Thielcke. H. D. 
Thielcke, pinxt., Historical-Portrait Painter to H.R.H. the late Duchess of 
York. On stone by H. Lynch. Day and Haghe, Lithrs. to the Queen. 
Published for the Proprietors by Messrs. Colnaghi & Puckle, Cockspur St., 
1st of July, 1841. Proof." The election of a white to the honorary chief- 
tainship of an Indian tribe is the highest honor his Indian friends can 
confer upon him. The election must be preceded by the adoption or cere- 
mony of giving the name. By this ceremonial the person becomes a 
member of the tribe and of a particular family of the tribe. Adoption of 
an honorary chief must have the unanimous consent of the chiefs present 
in council. Lithograph in color. Size 16 x 19. 

122 ARMS OF THE GRAND LODGE OF CANADA, A. F. and A. M., 
in the Province of Ontario Adopted 14th July, 1858, at the union of the 
Ancient Grand Lodge of Canada, of which Sir Allan Macnab was Grand 
Master, and the Grand Lodge of Canada, of which Col. Wm. Mercer Wilson 
was Grand Master. The arms are described: Per pale; dexter, per fesse; 
the upper part gules, a chevron between the castles, argent; on the 
chevron a pair of compasses extended, the lower part gules, a beaver pro- 
per; sinister, a cross (vert) voided argent, the field beneath the cross 
quartely azure and or; (1) a lion rampant; (2) ox passant; (3) a man with 
arms uplifted; (4) an eagle displayed. The dexter side of the shield is 
formed by ears of wheat, and the sinister by an olive branch. On a ribbon 
below, Audi, Vide, Tace (Hear, See, Be Silent). Crest: the Ark of the 
Covenant, over which two cherubs are bending, supporting two cherubim, 
each having one wing extended over the shield and crest. Between their 
wings, over the ark, are Hebrew letters, Legend: Grand Lodge of Ancient, 
Free and Accepted Masons of Canada. Original drawing in water color, 
1858. Size 11 x 12. 



21 

123 JOHNSON, LADY JOHN (Mary Watts) Daughter of John 
Watts, for some time President of the Council, New York. She was born 
in New York, 27th Oct., 1753. In 1773 married Sir John Johnson, Bart. 
Her death took place at Mount Johnson, near Montreal, 7th August, 1815. 
From original oil in possession of Sir Gordon Johnson, Bart., Montreal. 
.Size 8 x 10. Head and shoulders. 

124 RESIDENCE OF SIR JOHN JOHNSON, BART., MONTREAL 
St. Mary street, now Notre Dame In an old plan of Montreal, 1846, the 
house and grounds are shown opposite the Molson Distillery, but there is 
no trace of the Johnson home to-day, the grounds having been built upon. 
Sir John Johnson, Bart., had, before Simcoe's appointment as Lieut.- 
Oovernor of Upper Canada, been recommended by Dorchester for the posi- 
tion. Wash drawing in black and white. Size 6x8. 

125 JOHNSON, SIR JOHN, BART., 1742-1830 Son of Sir William 
Johnson, Bart. _, Served in the American Revolutionary War. After the 
war he became Superintendent of Indian Affairs in British North America, 
and member of the Legislative Council. He had been recommended by 
Lord Dorchester as first Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada, but his 
appointment, owing to his local interests and the policy of the British 
Government, was considered inadvisable. Sir John, who had been knighted 
during his father's lifetime, died at his seat, Mount Johnson, Montreal. 
Photograph of an engraving by H. Robinson. Published by Baldwin & 
Cradock, Paternoster Row, London, Eng., 1836. From the miniature by 
Abbott, 1793, drawn from original by W. Harvey. Size 4x6. 

126 FRASER, GENERAL SIMON Eldest son of Lord Lovat. In 1757 
he was nominated Colonel of the Second Highland Battalion, afterwards 
known as the 78th or Fraser's Highlanders, which served with distinction 
during the Seven Years' War, especially at Louisburg, C.B., where Fraser 
was wounded, and at the capture of Quebec. In 1762, when the French 
and Spanish troops invaded Portugal, one of the officers in command in 
the English army was the "Master of Lovat," at that time holding rank of 
Major-General. While in America he had been elected M.P. for Inverness, 
representing that place until his death in 1782. Although he raised the 
regiment of the 71st Highlanders at the outbreak of the Revolutionary 
War, he did not come to America. He had in 1772 petitioned the Govern- 
ment for the restoration of his ancestral estates, and his request was only 
to a certain extent granted, for the General had to pay thousands of pounds 
in legal and other expenses before he received his property. Water color 
from a copy of a picture in possession of Dr. Arthur Doughty, Dominion 
Archivist, Ottawa. Size 13 x 16. Head and shoulders. 

127 MACAULAY, DR. JAMES Born in Scotland in 1759; entered 
the Army as a surgeon to the 33rd Regiment about 1785. He came to 
Canada with the Queen's Rangers in 1792, and was stationed at Kingston 
and Niagara. Subsequently he received the appointment as Deputy In- 
spector-General of Hospitals. When Toronto became the seat of Govern- 
ment instead of Niagara, Dr. Macaulay settled in the former place with 
his family. Teraulay street, Toronto, preserved the last syllable of Hayter 
(his wife's name) and the two last syllables of Macaulay. Photo from an 
oil in possession of his grandaughters, the Misses Macaulay, Exmouth, 
Devon, Eng. Size 11 x 14. Half length. 

128 SEIGNIORIAL TENURE "View of the Special Court Assembled 
Under the Authority of the Seigniorial Act of the Provincial Parliament, 
1854, at its opening on the 4th day of September, 1855. Entered accord- 
ing to Act of the Provincial Legislature in the year 1856 by W. W. Smith, 
Esq., of St. John, L.C., editor and proprietor of the News, in the office of 
the registrar of the Province of Canada. Entered according to Act of 



22 



lly dedicated by his very obedient and humble servant, W. W. 
*ran of land in New France (Canada) was a modification 



rran o 

of the feudal system. Grants of land were made and held on condition 
nf navine fealty to the King. In 1854 the system of seigniorial tenure was 
aSed at a cost to the Government of Lower Canada of $2,500 000. The 
picture shows the faces of the men appointed by the Government to settle 
this vexed question. Lithograph. Size 16 x 31. 

129TABLET COMMEMORATING CONFEDERATION OF CANADA, 

1867 In the Westminster Palace Hotel, London, Eng. During the winter 
of 1866-7 delegates representing Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick 
assembled in conference at the Westminster Palace Hotel, for the purpose 
of framing the British North America Act, under which was formed the 
Dominion of Canada. In the room where they met a tablet was erected, 
with the following inscription: "Dominion of Canada. In this room in 
1866-7 delegates representing the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and 
New Brunswick, under the chairmanship of the late Right Hon. S John A. 
Macdonald, P.C., G.C.B., framed the Act of Union under which all British 
North America, except Newfoundland, is now united under one govern- 
ment as the Dominion of Canada. This tablet was affixed with the ap- 
proval of the Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Bart., P.C., G.C.M.G., C.B., one 
of the delegates from Nova Scotia, A.D. 1911." Photograph. Size 11 x 14. 
See 130, 131. 

130 FATHERS OF CONFEDERATION The question of a union be- 
tween the Provinces of British North America was first brought up in 
1808 by Robt. J. Uniacke, a member of the Nova Scotia Legislature. He 
was followed along similar lines by Chief Justice Sewell, of Quebec, in 
1814, Attorney-General John Beverley Robinson in 1822, and later by 
Robert Gourlay, Lord Durham, Sir A. T. Gait, and others. To Nova Scotia 
also belongs the honor of taking the first legislative action in tne matter by 
the passing in 1861 of a resolution in favor of federal union. Three years 
later the Maritime and Quebec conferences were held, and these paved 
the way for the conference at London, resulting in the framing of the 
British North America Act, under which the "Dominion of Canada" came 
into being. With the picture is a key giving the names of the states- 
men who inaugurated the union, July 1st, 1867. Lithograph. Size 19x34. 
See 129, 131. 

131 MAKING OF THE BRITISH NORTH AMERICA ACT, 1866-7 
The Conference Chamber in the Westminster Palace Hotel, London, Eng., 
in which the delegates to the London Council, assisted by the Colonial 
Secretary, the Earl of Carnarvon, his Excellency Lord Monck, Governor- 
General of Canada, and several law officers of the Crown, framed the 
British North America Act, under which was formed "The Dominion of 
Canada." A key gives the list of the delegates present. Hon. (Sir) J. A, 
Macdonald was chairman of the Conference. Photograph Size 12 x 14. 
See 129, 130. 

132 BURY, RT. HON. VISCOUNT WILLIAM CO UTTS Superinten- 
dent-General of Indian Affairs, Canada, 1854-6. Born in London, Eng., in 
1832, the only son of the Earl of Albermarle. Entered Scots Fusilier 
Guards, 1849, and served in India as aide-de-camp to Lord Frederic Fitz- 
clarence. Left the army, 1854; came to Canada in December of that year 
as Civil Secretary and Superintendent-General of Indian Affairs, and did 
much in his official capacity to better conditions among the Indians. He 






23 

was first returned to the Imperial Parliament at the General Election of 
1857, for the borough of Norwich. In conjunction with Mr. Roebuck 
brought the question of the Hudson's Bay Territory before the House of 
Commons. Appointed Treasurer to the Queen's Household, 1859. Viscount 
Bury is identified as the originator of the Canadian peerage scheme. His 
death occurred August 28th, 1894. Original drawing for "Vanity Fair" by 
C. Pelligrini (Ape) May 1st, 1875. Size 8 x 12. Full length. 

133 OLD CODE OF SHIP SIGNALS, ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUND- 
LAND, 1770 Made, it is said, by a Highlander of the 72nd Regiment, 
showing the flags of the mercantile firms of St. John's prior to 1800, as 
well as the signals used at the signal station. It was customary for a 
soldier on Southern Head (Fort Amherst), lighthouse and fort, to go be- 
tween the flagstaffs seen at the head of the picture, to the right, and with, 
a speaking trumpet (the present day megaphone) as vessels passed in the 
Narrows, ask the usual questions, "What ship is that?" etc. For instance, 
the brig shown is from Weymouth, Eng. The red burgee or pennant signi- 
fies that fact, which is repeated at the Signal Hill Block House. At that 
time the light at Fort Amherst was simply a couple of lanterns burning 
penny dips. By J. W. Hayward, St. John's, Newfoundland. Drawings in 
water color. Size 15 x 18. 

134 MAC'AULAY, MRS. (Elizabeth Tuck Hayter) Of Devonshire, 
Eng.j, who in 1790 became the first wife of Dr. James Macaulay, of the Queen's 
Rangers. She was an intimate friend of Mrs. Simcoe during the tetter's 
sojourn in both Niagara and York. Photo from an oil portrait in posses- 
sion of her granddaughters, the Misses Macaulay, Exmouth, Devon, Eng- 
land. Size 11 x 14. Half length. 

135 "NAVAL BATTLE, 21ST JULY, 1781 By M. de la Perouse, 
Captain of Tie Fleet. This engagement took place at Louisburg, between 
two frigates of the King, the 'Astree,' 26 guns, commanded by M. de la 
Perouse, captain of the fleet, and the 'Hermoine,' with same number of 
guns, in command of M. the Count de la Touche, also captain, against six 
English warships, of which one was taken. After having been dismasted, 
and having lowered his flag, the English commander made his escape in 
the darkness, and the enemy's convoy was put to flight. Engraved from 
the original picture, 5 feet long by 3^ feet high, belonging to the King, 
and forming part of the collection of eighteen sea battles of the last war. 
Painted by order of His Majesty, by Marquis Rossel, formerly captain of 
the fleet, Knight of the Royal and Military Order of St. Louis. Dedicated 
to the King. Rossel, Pinxt, 1788. Dequevauviller, Sculpt., 1790. A.P.D.R. 
(By the King's permission.) Pere Livraison, and to be found at Merigot's 
the younger, Paris. Publisher, 4 Quai des Augustins, at the corner of Rue 
Pavee No. 38. Printed by Robbe." This battle, fought off Sydney Harbor, 
was stubbornly contested. The "Little Jack," 6 guns, of the British fleet, 
surrendered, and the remainder of the fleet would have shared the same 
fate had it not been for the approach of night. Eighteen British were 
killed and twenty-eight wounded. Line engraving. Size 19 x 29. 

136 JOHNSON, COL. GUY Son-in-law of Sir William Johnson, 
Bart. Entered the Indian Department about 1756; accompanied Amherst 
up the lakes in 1759; appointed Deputy Superintendent of the Indian De- 
partment, 1761; succeeded his father-in-law as Superintendent, but this 
commission coming from the colony of New York and other colonies 
leagued together against the Indians, was dropped after the Revolutionary 
War. His property in the State of New York was confiscated by the Act 
of 1779. Born in Ireland; died in London, Eng., 5th March, 1788. Drawing 
in water color. Size 8 x 12. Head and shoulders. 



24 

137 WASHINGTON, GEORGE "Washington (Virginia). Com- 
mander-in-Chief of the American forces during the War of Independence; 
first President of the United States (from 16th April, 1789, to 4th March, 
1797) Painted from life by G. Stuart. Drawn by S. F. Dubourjal, Painter, 
in New York. Lithographed by Alophe. Paris and New York, Goupil, 
Vibert & Co., Publishers. Imp. Lith. by Cattier." Lithograph in color. Size 
9 x 11. Half length. See 209. 

138 ARMSTRONG, LIEUT-GEN. SIR RICHARD, COMMANDER OF 
THE FORCES IN UPPER CANADA He received rank of Major-General, 
Royal Canadian Regiment, in 1841, and in 1842 was at Kingston, U.C. 
Subsequently he was at Niagara, U.C., and Sorel, Que. In 1850 he became 
Major-General, and Lieutenant-General, llth November, 1851. Or- 
iginal silhouette taken by August Edouart at Saratoga, N.Y., 25th July, 
1844. Size 6x9. Full length. 

139ROCHEFOUCAULD-LIANCOURT "Francois Alexandra Fred- 
eric de la Rochefoucauld-Liancourt T. Goutiere, Sc." Born in 1747; died 
1827. A clever politician. On account of his loyalty to Louis XVI. he was 
compelled to leave France. Spent several years in England and America. 
Made a tour of Upper Canada, 1795. Visited Navy Hall, Niagara, June of 
that year, where he was warmly welcomed by Governor Simcoe. His ac- 
count of the visit was severely and justly criticized by (Sir) D. W. Smith, 
Surveyor-General of Upper Canada. Lord Dorchester, Governor-General, 
did not think it advisable to allow the Duke to visit Quebec on his tour. 
He returned to France under the Consulate, and was made a peer. Line 
engraving. Size 3x3. Head and shoulders. 

140 JOHNSON, SIR WILLIAM, BART., 1715-74 Warraghiyagey, as 
he was known to the Indians, came to America from Ireland in 1738. In 
November, 1747, he Tiad command of the northern frontier of New York, 
and in 1750 was appointed to a seat in His Majesty's Council for the 
Province of New York. Superintendent of Indian Affairs. Major-General 
in 1755, and created a baronet in November of the same year. He com- 
manded Fort Niagara in 1759, defeating the French under General D'Aubry. 
Johnstown, N.Y., formerly Caughnawaga, was founded by Sir William 
Johnson. Photo from line engraving by J. C. Buttre, N.Y. Size 4x6. 
Head and shoulders. 

141 NELSON "Admiral Lord Nelson. Painted by J. Hoppner, Esq., 
R.A., portrait painter to H.R.H. the Prince of Wales. Engraved by C. 
Turner." Went to sea about the age of thirteen; served several years in 
the East Indies, and took part in the Revolutionary War. Was at Quebec 
in 1782 in command of H.M.S. 'Albemarle.' Gained the decisive battle of 
the Nile in 1798, for which service he was rewarded with a pension and the 
title of. Baron Nelson of the Nile. Hostilities were renewed with France 
03, and Nelson took command of the Mediterranean fleet, failed to 
overtake the French; proposed "to suspend his active service, was re- 
appointed in 1805, and on 21st October of that year gained a complete 
victory at Trafalgar, over the combined French and Spanish fleets. He was, 
however, mortally wounded in the encounter. Mezzotint, printed in color 
Size 16 x 23. Full length. 

142 PRESCOTT, ROBERT, 1725-1815 "Robert Prescott, Esqr. 
Captain-General and Governor-in-Chief of the Provinces of Upper and 
Lower Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, etc., etc. General of 
his Majesty's Forces, Colonel of the 28th Regiment of Foot." He was 
born in Lancashire, Eng., where his family lost their estates owing to their 
opposition to the revolution of 1688; served in the expedition against 
Rochefort, 1757, and Louisburgh, 1758. He was ordered in 1793 to Bar- 
badoes, afterwards being appointed Civil Governor of the island. In April, 



25 

1796, he received instructions to succeed Lord Dorchester as Governor- 
General of Canada. The latter did not know he was to be recalled until 
Prescott arrived in Quebec. General Prescott made considerable additions 
to the fortifications of Quebec, and in 1797 was appointed Governor of 
fova Scotia, remaining at the head of the Government of that colony as 
rell as of Canada and New Brunswick till 1799, when he returned to Eng- 
ind. He, however, continued to hold office as Governor until 1807. His 
leath took place at Battle, Sussex, Dec., 1815. Mezzotint engraving. Size 
x 10. Half length, oval. See 1689. 

143 SHERBROOKE, SIR JOHN COAPE Born in England, 1764, the 
son of William Coape, J.P., who on his marriage had taken his wife's name 
of Sherbrooke. Young Sherbrooke entered the army and was subse- 
quently in Canada with the 33rd Foot. In 1794 he became second Lieuten- 
ant-Colonel of the regiment, and served under the Duke of York in the 
latter part of the campaign in the Netherlands the same year. In 1796 
the 33rd went to the Cape, and thence to India, taking part in the Mysore 
War of 1799. In 1805, Sherbrooke was sent to Sicily, where he was given 
command of the troops at Messina. Two years later went to Egypt to 
negotiate with the Beys, after the failure of Fraser's expedition. In 1810, 
after a further varied military career, he returned to England, broken in 
health, but the next year he received the appointment of Lieutenant- 
Governor of Nova Scotia, and in 1816 he was appointed Governor-in-Chief 
of 'Canada. His arduous duties told on him severely, and in 1818 he suf- 
fered a paralytic stroke, which forced him to resign. The rest of his life 
was spent in retirement at Calverton, Nottinghamshire, Eng., where he 
died in 1830. Line engraving. Size 9 x 13. Full length. 

144 "DETROIT IN 1820, WITH A VIEW OF 'WALK-IN-THE-WATER' 

The vessel from an original painting. Corrie's Lithographic Office, De- 
troit. The "WaJk-in-the-Water," built at Buffalo, was the first steamboat 
to ply on Lake Erie. Lithograph. Size 15 x 22. 

145 "PLAN OF THE MILITARY AND NAVAL OPERATIONS BE- 
FORE QUEBEC Under the command of the immortal Wolfe and Vice- 
Admiral Saunders. To the members of the United Services of the British 
Empire, whose daring achievements this plan is designed to commemorate 
and honor, and to whom it is respectfully dedicated by their obedient 
servant, Alfred Hawkins, Quebec, 1841. J. Wyld, Sculp. London. Pub- 
lished by Jas. vvyld, Geographer to the Queen, and to H.R.H. Prince Albert, 
Charing Cross East, May 1st, 1841, for Alfred Hawkins, Esqe., Quebec. 
Proof." The plan gives a list of the defences of Quebec, the names of the 
ships in the British naval force under Admiral Saunders, and the British 
military force under command of Major-General Wolfe, with the com- 
manding officers of the three brigades, etc. There is also a list of the 
encampments with defences at Montmorency, 9th July, encampment upon 
the point of Orleans, 29th June, and encampment upon Point Levy, 30th 
June, with batteries and works at and near the Point Des Peres. In the 
lower centre of the plan is a "detail of the action fought on the Plains of 
Abraham, Sept. 13th, 1759." To the right is a vignette showing Britannia 
standing by the monument in honor of Wolfe and Montcalm. To the left 
of the picture the vignette shows the Highlanders scaling the cliffs. At the 
top of the plan is a vignette of West's "Death of Wolfe." Size 24 x 30. 

146 WELLINGTON "Field Marshal the Duke of Wellington. From 
the original picture presented by His Grace to his distinguished friend 
and companion in arms, the Marquis of Anglesey. Painted and engraved 
by John Lucas. London. Published, 1854, by Thos. McLean, 26 Hay- 
market." Arthur Wellesley, first Duke of Wellington, the celebrated 
British General and statesman, was born in Ireland in 1769. Educated at 



26 

Eton and at a military academy in France, and received in 1787 an en- 
sign's commission in the 73rd Regiment of Foot Returned to the House 
of Commons for the borough of Rye in 1806, and appointed Chief Secre- 
% tary for Ireland in 1807. He was most successful in the Wars of the 
Peninsula, the culminating victory, of course, being that of Waterloo on 
18th June 1815. His character presents a striking contrast to that of his 
great antagonist, Napoleon, in that he never indulged in the slightest mis- 
representation, even to save his own fame. It is a coincidence that both 
were born in the same year. The "Iron Duke" died in 1852. Mezzotint, 
printed in color. Size 18 x 28. Full length. 

147 GREY "Sir Charles Grey, K.B. Painted by T. Lawrence, R.A., 

Principal Painter in Ordinary to His Majesty. Engraved by J. Collyer, 
ARA, Portrait Engraver to Her Majesty. Published as the Act directs, 
29 May, 1797, by Wm. Austin, Drawing Master at Turnham Green." Sir 
Charles! the first Earl Grey, and great-grandfather of the fourth earl, who 
was Governor-General of Cajiada, 1904-11, was born at Howick, England, 
in 1729, and died there, 1807. He was actively engaged in the Revolution- 
ary War; returned to England in 1782, and was appointed Commander-in- 
Chief in America, an appointment, however, which was rendered inopera- 
tive owing to the close of the war. In 1793, appointed with Jervis (subse- 
quently Earl St. Vincent), Commander of an expedition to the French 
West Indies. Stipple engraving. Size 12 x 15. Half length. 

148 GREY, RIGHT HON. HENRY, K.G., THIRD EARL AND VIS- 
COUNT HOWICK The eldest son of the second Earl Grey, born, 1802. 
In 1832 took his seat in the Reformed House of Commons for North North- 
umberland, and was appointed Under Secretary for the Colonies. Became 
Minister at War, 1835, and from 1846-52 was Secretary of State for the 
Colonies. His death occurred in 1894. Photograph from a portrait at 
Howick House, Lesbury, England. Size 9 x 11. Head and shoulders. 

149 GREY, RIGHT HON. ALBERT HENRY GEORG'E, 4TH EARL 

In Sept., 1904, he received his commission as Governor-General of Canada. 
His term expired, therefore, in 1909, but various circumstances caused an 
extension in his governorship, which ended in Sept., 1911; Administrator 
of Rhodesia, 1896-97; Director of British South Africa Company, 1898-1904. 
During his stay in Canada he travelled from coast to coast, became 
thoroughly conversant with men and affairs. In fact, it is said that no man 
of the time knew as much of Canada as the former Governor-General whose 
career in the Dominion was successful in the highest sense of the term. He 
was born Nov. 28th, 1851. Died Aug. 29th, 1917. Re-plica of crayon by 
John S. Sargent; autographed. Size 9 x 12. Head and shoulders. 

150 GREY, MAJOR-GENERAL SIR CHARLES Second son of 
Charles, second Earl Grey, whose character he was supposed to resemble, 
and father of fourth Earl; was born in 1804, and in 1839 was quartered in 
Canada. He was sent by Lord Durham to Washington to complain of the 
action of the United States Government in not keeping in order the unruly 
spirits who were at the time causing annoyance to his Majesty's subjects 
on the frontier. His knowledge of By town (Ottawa) and its qualifications 
s a federal capital were probably communicated to the Prince Consort, 
whose private secretary General Grey was. Head in profile, with fac- 
simile of autograph. Drawn by G. Thomas. On stone by J. Bacon. Size 6x8. 

C A 5 \T G ^ E T' CHARLES Second Earl Grey and Viscount Howick, 

*45. Entered Parliament, 1786; Prime Minister, Great Britain, 1830; 

eldest son of first Earl Grey. He became First Lord of the Admiralty under 

?MM i n ^ n 1833 he Carried a bil1 Polishing slavery throughout 

British Empire, and in 1834 passed the Poor Law Amendment Act. 

Painted by J. Jackson. Engraved by J. Ward. Size 8 x 10. Head and 






27 

152 "HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS PRINCE EDWARD, Duke of Kent and 
Strathearn, Earl of Dublin, Field Marshal of his Majesty's Forces, K.G., 
G.C.B., K.S.P., Governor of Gibraltar and Colonel of the 1st or the Royal 
Scots Regiment of Foot, etc., etc., etc. Painted by Sir Willm. Beechey, 
R.A., Portrait Painter to her Majesty. Engraved by Willm. Skelton. Pub- 
lished Novr. 1, 1816, by W. Skelton, 1 Stafford place, Pimlico." Line en- 
graving. Size 11 x 12. Half length. See 2464-5, 2472-5. 

153 METCALFE, SIR CHARLES THEOPHILUS "The Rt. Honble. 
Charles Theophilus, Baron Metcalfe, G.C.B., Captain-General and Governor 
of Canada. Bengal Civil Service. From the picture by F. R. Say, Esqr. 
Painted for the Oriental Club. Engraved by F. C. Lewis, Esqr., Engraver 
to the Queen, 53 Charlotte Street, London. Published for the Proprietor by 
W. W. Watson on Vere Street, 1845." From March 30th, 1843, to November 
26th, 1845, he was Governor-General of Canada. Born in Calcutta, India, 
30th Jan., 1785, was educated at Eton and subsequently entered the service 
of the East India Company as a writer. He was a member of the Superior 
Council of Bengal, Resident of Delhi, 1811-20, and Resident of Hyderabad, 
1820-27. Returned to England in 1837, and two years later was appointed 
Governor of Jamaica. Resigned the Governor-Generalship of Canada owing 
to ill-health. Died at Basingstoke, Eng., Sept., 1846. Line engraving. Size 
16 x 2.6. Full length. See 1629. 

154 SOCIAL GATHERING OF SIR JOHN A. MACDONALD'S SUP- 
PORTERS The Dinner of the "Old Guard" at Ottawa, Ont, 4th May, 1882 
With key. A reunion of those Liberal-Conservative members of the House 
of Commons in 1882, who were also members during the period the party 
was in Opposition (1874-1878), was held in the House of Commons Res- 
taurant, Ottawa, on the evening of the 4th of May, 1882. The gathering 
was a large one, including many ladies. Sir John A. Macdonald proposed a 
toast to the "Old Guard," to which Mr. Alonzo Wright and Mr. J. B. Plumb 
responded. This photograph is a fine production by Topley, of Ottawa, and 
is a composite picture, from individual photographs which were afterwards 
rephotographed. Size 17 x 32. 

155 ARGYLL John Douglas Sutherland Campbell, 9th Duke of Argyll, 
K.G., K.T., P.C., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., LL.D. Born Aug. 6th, 1845, at Stafford 
House, London, Eng., and educated at Eton and at Trinity College, Cam- 
bridge. In 1871 he married H.R.H. Princess Louise, fourth daughter of H.M. 
Queen Victoria. A State Councillor for Scotland; Lord-Lieutenant of the 
County of Argyll; Governor-General of the Dominion of Canada, 1878-83; 
Governor and Constable of Windsor Castle, 1892-1914. From 1868-78 he was 
M.P. for Argyllshire, and from 1895-1900 represented South Manchester in 
Parliament. At the coronation of Edward VII. and George V., in 1902 and 
1911 respectively, his Grace bore the King's sceptre with the Cross. His 
death occurred May 2nd, 1914. Line engraving. Size 12 x 16. Half length. 

156 BAGOT "The Right Honble. Sir Charles Bagot, G.C.B. Late 
Governor-General of Canada, etc., etc., etc. Published by J. Ryman, 
Oxford, March 1, 1844. H. W. Pickersgill, R.A. J. Burnet, F.R.S." Born 
in Staffordshire, Eng., 1781. Educated at Rugby and Oxford. Admitted to 
Lincoln's Inn, Nov. 12th, 1801. In 1807 entered Parliament, becoming 
Under-Secretary for Foreign Affairs under Canning. Minister Plenipo- 
tentiary to France, 1814, and to the United States, 1815-20. Privy Coun- 
cillor in 1815. In 1820 Sir Charles was appointed Ambassador to St. 
Petersburg (Petrograd), and to The Hague, four years later. Declined 
Governor-Generalship of India, in succession to Lord Amherst, 1828. 
Governor-General of Canada, 1841-3. His death occurred at Kingston, U.C,, 
May 19th, 1843. Besides settling the irritation consequent on the War of 
1812-14, and improving trade relations between the United States and 
British Provinces, Bagot secured the neutrality of the Great Lakes. 
Mezzotint engraving. Size 13 x 16. Three-quarter length. 



28 

157 TOWN SH END "The Most Noble George, Marquis Townshend, 
Field Marshall of his Majesty's Forces, Colonel of the 2nd Regiment of Dra- 
goon Guards, Governor of Jersey, Steward of Tamworth and Yarmouth, 
Lord-Lieutenant and Vice-Admiral of the County of Norfolk, etc., etc., etc. 
Painted by Sir Jos'a Reynolds. Engraved by C. Turner. London: Published 
Jan 1 1801, for the proprietor by Charles Turner, No. 30 Warren Street, 
Surrey Square." Born 1724, died 1807. Succeeded Gen. Wolfe as Com- 
mander-in-Chie'f at Quebec when the latter was killed. Line engraving. 
Size 15 x 24. Full length. 

158 BRANT "Joseph Tayadaneega, called the Brant, the Great Cap- 
tain of the Six Nations. Engraved from an original painting of G. Romney, 
in the collection of the Right Honble. the Earl of Warwick, by J. R. Smith." 
He was born on the banks of the Ohio in 1742. His father, a full-blooded 
Mohawk of the Wolf tribe, died when the lad was quite young. The widow 
married a second time, an Indian whose Christian name was Barnet, hence 
the contraction Brant. Joseph was educated at "Moor Charity School," in 
Lebanon, Conn. Accompanied Sir William Johnson during several expedi- 
tions against the French, and took part in many of the encounters between 
the revolutionists and Indians. His allegiance to Britain so provoked the 
Americans that the valley of the Mohawks, the original home of his people, 
suffered more than any other part of the country during the war. In 1776 
he visited England and was presented at court. He proudly declined to 
kiss the King's hand, but remarked that he would gladly thus salute the 
Queen. While in England he was initiated into Freemasonry in "the Falcon 
Lodge," in Princess Street, Leicester Fields, London, and presented by 
George III. with a Masonic apron. After the war, he, with the greater part 
of the Mohawks, and a number of Indians from the other five tribes, with- 
drew to Canada, where the Six Nations subsequently received grants of 
land near Wellington Square, now Burlington, Ont. Here he built a dwell- 
ing long known as Brant House. In 1785, through his efforts, a wooden 
church was erected at the Mohawk village, near Brantford, where was 
placed the first "Church-going bell" that ever tolled in Upper Canada. He 
died in Brant House, 24th Nov., 1807, and his remains were interred in a 
vault at the Mohawk church on the Grand River. Brant, although a chief 
by courtesy and ability, and always so called, was not such by descent. A 
very rare mezzotint. Size 14 x 18. Three-quarter length. See 159, 1673-4. 

159 BRANT Joseph Tayadaneega, called the Brant, the Great Cap- 
tain of the Six Nations. Water "color of original painting of G. Romney in 
the collection of the Right Honble. the Earl of Warwick. Size 14 x 18. 
Three-quarter length. See 158, 1673-4. 

160 SEATON "Field Marshal Lord Seaton, G.C.B., G.C.H., G.C.M.B.; 
Colonel of the 2nd Life Guards; Colonel-in-Chief of the Rifle Brigade; 
Governor-General and Commander of the Forces in British North America; 
Lord High Commissioner of the Ionian Islands, and Commander of the 
Forces in Ireland. Engraved from the original picture painted for and dedi- 
cated to the members of the United Service Club. Painted by G. W. Fisher, 
Esqr. Engraved by James Scott. London: Published April llth, 1864, by 
Henry Graves & Co., the Proprietors, Publishers to the Queen, 6 Pall Mall." 
Line engraving. Size 15 x 24. Full length. See 417, 834. 

161 SIMCOE, MAJOR-GENERAL JOHN GRAVES First Lieut.-Gov- 
ernor of Upper Canada, 1792-96. Life size oil painting by E. Wyly Grier, 
ex-President Ontario Society of Artists, and R.C.A. Size 54 x 94 Full 
length. See 406, 3265, 3370. 



=Mcx WORN BY OFFICERS AND SEAMEN OF THE 

BRITISH NAVY FROM 1748-68 This is a companion set to the drawings in 
To n of the 1768 ' 86 Period. The uniforms of British naval officers, 
68, never having been made in one set, Mr. Robertson secured the ser- 



29 

vices of Commander Charles N. Robinson, editor of the Army and Navy 
Gazette. Under his careful direction and by aid of old prints, the naval 
drawings of this period are given. The first uniform for the executive 
officers of the Royal Navy was prescribed by regulations issued 13th April, 
1748. Only patterns were issued, however, but it is known from portraits 
of Anson and other admirals, that the full dress was ornamental and expen- 
sive. In 1767 new regulations were issued, discontinuing the full dress, 
altering the "frock uniform cloathing," or what would now be called un- 
dress, and making this the only uniform to be worn. In 1768 and 1774 some 
further alterations were made. The uniforms of the Post Captain of over 
three years' standing, and Junior Captain, were copied from coats and 
waistcoats in the Royal United Service Institution, Whitehall, Ixmdon, 
The uniforms worn by the British navy at Quebec under Admiral Saunders 
in 1758 were the same as here shown. Water colors. Size of each pic- 
ture 7x7. Full length. See 1192-7. 

169 CONNAUGHT AND STRATHEARN, H. R. H., DUKE OF 
Prince Arthur William Patrick Albert, K.G., P.C., K.T., K.P., etc., etc., 
Governor-General of Canada, 1911-16, son of Queen Victoria and uncle of 
George V., was born 1st May, 1850, appointed lieutenant Royal Engineers, 
1868, became general in 1893, and field marshal in 1902. He served during 
the Fenian Raid in Canada, 1870; was with Egyptian Expeditionary Force, 
1882; Commander-in-Chief in Bombay Presidency in 1886-90, and in Ireland, 
1900-1. Was a personal aide-de-camp to her late Majesty, Queen Victoria; 
initiated into Freemasonry 19th March, 1874, by his brother, the late King 
Edward, then Prince of Wales, and in 1901 H.R.H. Duke of Connaught 
became Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of England. Published by George 
Kenning & Son, London, Liverpool, Glasgow, Manchester. Photogravure. 
Size 15 x 22. Three-quarter length. 

170 GRANT, SIR WILLIAM "The Right Hon. Sir William Grant, 
Master of the Rolls. From the portrait painted by Sir Thomas Lawrence, 
P.R.A., for the gentlemen of the Chancery Bar. Ric. Golding, Sc." He was 
descended from the Grants of Beldornie, so long distinguished in the his- 
tory of Scotland; born in 1754 at Elchies, on the banks of the Spey; ap- 
pointed third Attorney-General of Quebec, 10th May, 1776. His talents wer% 
generally recognized, on one occasion in particular, when the question of a 
new code of laws for Quebec was under discussion. He distinguished him- 
self in 1791 in the great debate relating to the laws of Canada; Master of 
the Rolls, 1801-17. Died 25th May, 1832, at Barton House, Dawlish, Eng., 
the home of his sister, the widow of Admiral Schank. Line engraving. Size 
14 x 22. Full length. 

171 DAY I SON "Alexander Davison, Esqr. L. F. Abbott, Pinxt, 1797. 
Engraved by W. Barnard. Published June 15, 1804, by G. Andrews, No. 7 
Charing Cross, London." Davison was the intimate friend of Lord Nelson. 
This life-long friendship was formed in Quebec, when he was the head of 
the firm of Davison & Lees, and Nelson was captain of H.M.S. "Albemarle," 
of 24 guns, in 1782. Davison, who is supposed to have had a distrust of 
marriage in general, interfered with Nelson's love affair with Mary Simp- 
son, a Quebec belle of the period. Line engraving. Size 14 x 17. Half length. 

172 ELGIN Rt. Hon. James Bruce, Earl of Elgin and Kincardine, 
1811-63. Governor of Jamaica, 1842-6, and Governor-General of Canada, 
1847-54. It was, therefore, during his term of office in Canada that the 
Reciprocity Treaty with the United States, signed June 5th, 1854, by Lord 
Elgin and Hon. W. L. Marcy, to continue in force for ten years from March, 
1855, terminable on twelve months' notice from either party, was passed. 
Painted by F. Grant, R.A. Engraved by James Faed. London: Published 
June 7th, 1864, by Henry Graves & Co., the Proprietors, Publishers to the 
Queen, 6 Pall Mall. Line engraving. Size 16 x 26. Full length. See 1600. 






30 

173-DENISON, SIR WILLIAM THOMAS, 1804-71 Born in London 
Eng., entered the Royal Military Academy at Woolwich 1819, and passed 
for the Royal Engineers in 1823. He was sent to Canada in 1827, being 
employed during the next four years in the construction of the Rideau 
Canal His headquarters were at Ottawa. During this time he made a 
series of experiments for the purpose of testing the strength of various 
kinds of American timber. Originated the publication of the professional 
papers of the Royal Engineers, and in 1846, for his services under the Ad- 
miralty was knighted. In 1866 he returned to England from Madras, where 
he had filled the office of Lieutenant-Governor since 1861. Died at East 
Sheen, Eng., 19th January, 1871. Painted by Fredk. R. Say, Esqr. Engraved 
by W. Giller. Proof. Size 14 x 23. Full length. 

174 DALHOUSIE "George, Earl of Dalhousie, etc., G.C.B. Captain- 
General Royal Company of Archers, the King's Body Guard for Scotland. 
As he appeared on 23rd July, 1832, when he received for the Royal Company 
two standards, the gift of his Majesty King William the Fourth. Engraved 
from a portrait painted at the request of the Royal Company, and dedicated 
by generous permission to his Majesty by his dutiful subject and servant, 
Alexr. Hill. Painted by John Watson Gordon, S.A. Engraved by Thomas 
Lupton, 4 Leigh Street, Burton Crescent. Published by Alexr. Hill, 50 
Princes Street, Edinburgh. Proof." Governor-General of Canada, June 
19th, 1820-Sept 8th, 1828. Born in 1770 and succeeded to the Earldom of 
Dalhousie, 1787; in the same year entered the army as cornet in the 3rd 
Dragoon Guards. Commanded the 2nd Foot at Martinique, 1792. After a 
varied service at home and abroad Lord Dalhousie was appointed ta 
Wellington's staff in the Peninsula. Served with distinction at Vittoria, the 
battle of the Pyrenees, Waterloo, and elsewhere. In 1816 was appointed 
lieutenant-general commanding in Nova Scotia. Afterwards became com- 
mand er-in-chief in the East Indies. His death occurred at Dalhousie Castle, 
Scotland, March 21st, 1838. Mezzotint engraving. Size 17 x 25. Full 
length. 

175 OLD-TIME WHARF ON THE HARBOR FRONT, HALIFAX, N.S., 
1888 The place of business of John Fleming, mast and spar maker, is here 
shown. It formerly stood on what was then known as Corbett's south 
wharf, on Lower Water Street. The old building has since been demolished 
and the whole character of the water front has changed since the picture 
was made in 1888. Original etching by F. Leo Hunter, Ossining, N.Y. 
Size 15 x 21. 

176 "CANADIAN PARENTS AT THEIR CHILD'S GRAVE A scene 
in the early days, when husband and wife visited the grave of a child, and 
the mother, after six months, pours out her tears, while the milk flows 
again from her breasts. Painted by Le Barbier, Sen., Painter to the King, 
1781. Engraved by Ingouf, Jun., 1786. At Paris, in the author's home, rue 
Poupee St. Andre, No. 5. Beauble, Scrip. Lithographed by Sampier. Philo- 
sophical and Political History, Geneva edition. T. 8, page 43." Size 14 x 18. 

177 MACDONALD, RT. HON. SIR JOHN ALEXANDER, G.C.B., 
D.C.L., Q.C. Born in Glasgow, llth Jan., 1815; came to Canada with his 
parents five years later. Called to the bar in 1836; elected member for 
Kingston in the second Parliament of United Canada, 1844. Receiver- 
General in 1847; Attorney-General, Upper Canada, 1854-62, 1864-7; Govern- 
ment Leader in the Assembly, 1864-7. On 1st July, 1867, when the new 
constitution came into force, having been elected to the Parliament of 
Canada for Kingston, he was called upon to form the first Government for 
the Dominion, and appointed Minister, of Justice and Attorney-General of 
Canada, and held office until 1873. In 1878 he formed the new Government, 
being Premier and Minister of the Interior. The latter office he exchanged 



i 



31 

for the Presidency of the Council and Superintendent-Generalship of 
Indian Affairs, 1883. Died at Ottawa, 6th June, 1891. Engraved from the 
painting by A. D. Patterson, 1886. Photogravure, Goupil & Co. Size 11 x 15. 
Half length. See 1354. 

*" 178 MILLER'S DOCK AND MORAN'S WHARF, HALIFAX, N.S., 1888 

It is almost impossible to identify positively the locality as so many 
changes" have taken place along the water front since 1888, but Mr. Harry 
Piers, of the Provincial Museum, Halifax, is of the opinion that the scene 
depicted is at the foot of Stevens' Lane, showing the extreme south end of 
Lower Water Street, adjoining H. M. Lumber Yard. A number of years ago 
all the buildings there were razed, and the southern portion of the Halifax 
Electric Tram Company's car shed occupies the site. Original etching by 
Leo Hunter, Ossining, N.Y. Size 15 x 21. 

179 HEAD "His Excellency Sir Francis Bond Head, Bart., K.C.H., 
Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada., etc., etc., etc. From an original 
picture painted at the solicitation of the inhabitants of the City of Toronto. 
This plate is respectfully dedicated to her Most Gracious Majesty's loyal 
Canadian subjects by their fellow citizen and most obt. hum'le servt, 
Frederick Chase Capreol. Painted by Nelson Cook, Esqre. Engraved by 
C. Turner, A.R.A." Appointed by the Melbourne ministry to succeed Sir 
John Colborne as Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada. He entered mili- 
tary service at an early age in the Royal Engineers; was at Waterloo, and 
subsequently made a tour of exploration in South Africa. In 1836 he ar- 
rived in Toronto; resigned his office in 1837, though he administered the 
affairs of the Province till March, 1838. He was created a member of the 
Privy Council in order to assist in connection with the British North 
America Act. Line engraving. Size 10 x 12. Half length. See 418. 

180 RAE, JOHN "This portrait of Dr. Rae, F.R.G.S., Chief Factor, 
etc., etc., etc., is respectfully dedicated by permission to the Hudson's Bay 
Company by their obedient servants, Henry Graves & Compy. Painted by 
Stephen Pearce. Engraved by James Scott. London: Published by Henry 
Graves & Compy., Jany. 26, 1858, printsellers to the Queen, 6 Pall Mall." 
Arctic explorer, born near Stromness, in the Orkney Islands, 30th Sept., 
1813. Studied medicine in Edinburgh, and in 1833 was appointed surgeon 
to the Hudson's Bay Company's ship which visited Moose Factory every 
year. From 1835-45 he was the Company's resident surgeon at Moose 
Fort. In June, 1846, he set out on his first journey of exploration, and the 
following year joined the first land expedition in quest of Sir John Frank- 
lin. The coast between the Mackenzie and Coppermine Rivers was searched 
in vain. A second expedition, in 1850, was also unsuccessful. For geo- 
graphical results of the latter expedition and for the survey of 1847, Dr. 
Rae was in 1852 awarded the Founder's Gold Medal of the Royal Geographi- 
cal Society. He later proposed to the Hudson's Bay Co. that the survey of 
the northern coasts of America should be completed, and In 1853 undertook 
the expedition. In 1858 he walked from Hamilton to Toronto on snow shoes 
in seven hours, and showed no signs of fatigue. Conducted in 1864 a diffi- 
cult telegraph survey from Winnipeg across the Rocky Mountains to the 
Pacific Coast. Died 22nd July, 1893, at his home in London, Eng. Line 
engraving. Size 9 x 11. Head and shoulders. 

181 GRANT, HON. ALEXANDER, 1734-1813 Commodore British 
armed vessels between Niagara and Mackinaw. Water color from an oil 
painting from life, in possession of Ian Robert James Murray Grant, the 
Chief of the Clan, of Glenmoriston, Inverness-shire, Scotland. Size 13 x 15. 
Three-quarter length. See 408. 

5 



32 

189 ARMS AND AUTOGRAPHS OF FRENCH GOVERNORS OF 
CANADA-From Champlain, 15th Oct., 1612~20th July, 1629 and 23rd May 
1633 till his death, 1635, to Pierre Rigaud, Marquis de Vaudreuil-Cavagnal. . 
last French Governor, 1st Jan, 1755-8th Sept, 1760. Painted by the late 
Alfred Sandham, in water color, and presented by him to the Toronto 
Public Library. Size of each Coat of Arms, 3x4. 

183 WILLIAMS, WM. FEN WICK "Major-General Sir William Fen- 
wick Williams, of Kars, Bart, K.C.B, M.P. for Calne etc. Dedicated by 
special permission to her Most Gracious Majesty. London, 18th March, 
1857 W Walker, Bxcudit, 64 Margaret St., Cavendish Square. Engraved 
by W Walker from a photograph by John Watkins. Enlarged and com- 
pleted by the engraver from subsequent sittings." Second son of Commis- 
sary-General Thomas Williams, barrack master at Nova Scotia, born at 
Annapolis N S , 4th Dec, 1800. He entered the Royal Military Academy at 
Woolwich in 1815, and became lieutenant in Royal Artillery, 1827. Was 
elected for post of British Commissioner with the Turkish Army in Anatolia, 
visited Kars, Sept, 1854, and the following January was made a ferik, or 
Lieut -General in the Turkish Army, and also a pasha. The Russians were 
repulsed in their attack on Kars, 15th June, 1855, but succeeded in establish- 
ing a blockade of the fortress. In September, General Williams gave battle 
to his besiegers, defeating them. He became known as the "hero of Kars," 
and almost immediately gazetted a Knight Commander of the Bath. He 
accepted in 1858 the position of Commander-in-Chief of the Forces in Brit- 
ish North America, and from 12th Oct., 1860, to 22nd Jan, 1861, admin- 
istered the Government of Canada during the absence of Sir Edmund W. 
Head. In 1865 he was given the Governorship of Nova Scotia, and in 1870 
made Governor and Commander-in-Chief of Gibraltar. Died 26th July, 1883. 
Line engraving. Size 13 x 17. Three-quarter length, sitting. 

184 SAUNDERS, SIR CHARLES "Charles Saunders, Esqr, Vice- 
Adml. of the Blue Squadron of his Majesty's Fleet, and Lieutt.-General of 
his Majesty's Marine Forces. J. Reynolds, pinxt. Js. McArdell, fecit." 
First won' distinction in action off Cape Finisterre, 1747. Five years later 
went out in Penzance for protection of Newfoundland Fishery. Rear- 
Admiral of the Blue, 1756; Admiral, 1759. Commanded squadron acting 
with British army at Quebec, 1759, when the fleet rendered valuable ser- 
vice to Wolfe. Vice-Admiral of the White, 1762; four years later sworn in 
Privy Council and appointed First Lord of the Admiralty. Admiral of 
the White, 1770. Died 1775. Line engraving. Size 11 x 14. Half length. 

185 HARVEY "His Excellency Lieut.-Gen. Sir John Harvey, K.C.B., 
K.C.H. Colonel of Her Majesty's 59th Regt. and Governor and Commander- 
in-Chief of Nova Scotia and its dependencies, etc." Entered the army as an 
ensign in the 80th Regiment. In June, 1812, he was appointed Deputy 
Adjutant-General to the army in Canada, with the rank of Lieutenant- 
Colonel, and during the War of 1812-15 served with distinction, his advice 
regarding methods of defence being followed with success in almost every 
instance. In 1841 he became Governor and Commander-in-Chief of New- 
foundland, and from 1846-52 was Governor of Nova Scotia. Original litho- 
graph. Size 12 x 14. Head and shoulders. 

186 LITTLEHALES, LIEUT.-COL. E. B. (SIR EDWARD BAKER 
BAKER), 1763-1825 Crayon, from a portrait from life in the possession of 
his grandson, Sir Randolph Littlehales Baker, Bart, Dorset, Eng. Size 13 x 
16. Head and shoulders. See 2844. 

187 AGRICULTURAL ASSOCIATION OF UPPER CANADA Mem- 
ber's Tiket to Exhibition, Kingston, Sept. 27th-30th, 1859 Signed by 
William Ferguson, President The Provincial Agricultural Association 
and Board of Agriculture for Upper Canada was formed in 1846, with E. 



33 

W. (Col.) Thompson as president. The first exhibition was held in To- 
ronto, 22nd October, of that year, in the grounds attached to the old 
Government House, several of the exhibits being located in the House 
itself. Fairs, at which one saw almost every conceivable article used in 
Canada, were held at different places, and' with great success. The 
present Canadian National Exhibition, in the erection of the old Crystal 
Palace, 1858, on Garrison Commons, had its beginnings in the Provincial 
Agricultural Association and Board of Agriculture for Upper Canada. 
(Nos. 187 to 190 are in one frame). 

188 TICKET OF ADMISSION TO DINNER OF THE YORK 
PIONEER SOCIETY, 17TH APRIL, 1871 Held in St. Lawrence Hall, to 
celebrate the formation of the Society, the oldest of its kind in Canada. 
The first meeting was held 17th April, 1869, in the Mechanics' Institute 
Building, corner Church and Adelaide streets. 

189 MINIATURE PAGE OF TORONTO DAILY MAIL, 30TH 
AUGUST, 1887 The Mail, now (1917) The Mail and Empire, founded in 
1872, is an organ of the Conservative Party. It publishes a morning edi- 
tion, which has a large local and provincial circulation. Size 6x8. 

190 AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY Member's Badge, Provincial Agri- 
cultural Exhibition, Brantford, C.W. 1857. 

191 SCARBORO CENTENNIAL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, 1896 
This executive was formed for the purpose of producing a history of the 
township of Scarboro, and the preparation of a fitting celebration of the 
hundredth anniversary of the settlement of the township, June, 1896. The 
first actual settler was David Thomson, who, in 1795, came with his wife 
from Scotland to Canada, and a few months later took up land in the valley 
of Highland Creek, about two miles from the lake shore. To this day Mrs. 
Thomson is called "The Mother of Scarboro." Photo. Size 8 x 10. 

192 "A VIEW OF BROCKVILLE, UPPER CANADA, FROM UM- 
BRELLA ISLAND Respectfully dedicated to his patrons, Sir Peregrine 
Maitland, Lt.-Governor, and the gentlemen of Upper Canada, by their 
obedient servt., James Gray. Drawn by J. Gray; outlined by J. Allen; 
aquatinted by J. Pyall, London: Published by Willett & Blandford. 
Bouverie Street, Fleet Street, 1828." The town of Brockville was founded 
in 1785, when William Buell, senior, a U.E.L., received from the Crown a 
grant of land, on which he settled. He erected the first house in what at 
that time was a veritable wilderness, but which subsequently became the 
central portion of Brockville. Size 12 x 22. 

193 "KINGSTON, FROM FORT H EN ERY Respectfully dedicated to 
his Patrons, Sir Peregrine Maitland, Lt.-Governor, and the Gentlemen of 
Upper Canada by their obedient servt., James Gray. Drawn by J. Gray; 
aquatinted by J. Gleadah, London; published by J. Willett and Blandford, 
Bouverie Street, Fleet Street. Deer. 1st, 1828." Size 12 x 22. 

194 "OTTAWA CITY, CANADA WEST (LATE BYTOWN) View of 
the Uppertown, looking up the Ottawa River from Government Hill. 
Drawn from nature by E. Whitefield. Lith. of Endicott & Co., New York. 
Ottawa. Published by E. Whitefield, 1855. Copyright secured. 1. French 
Church. 2. English Church. 3. Timber Slide. 4. Suspension Bridge and 
Chaudiere Falls. 5. Hull." Size 20 x 36. 

195 "YORK From Gibraltar Point. Respectfully dedicated to his 
patrons, Sir Peregrine Maitland, Lt.-Governor, and the gentlemen of 
Upper Canada, by their obedient servt., James Gray. Drawn by J. Gray. 
Aquatinted by J. Gleadah. London: Published Deer. 1st, 1828, by J. Willett 



34 

and Blandford, Bouverie Street, Fleet Street." The present Hanlan's 
Point Toronto Island, was in the early days known as Gibraltar Point, 
and is so designated in all Government maps from 1796. Governor Simcoe 
gave the point the name. Size 11 x 22. 

196 RED CROSS FLAG Improvised during the Northwest Rebellion 
hv c-nrjrpon-General G Sterling Ryerson, M.D., M.L.A., and used at the 
eLagemTnts at Fish Creek, 24th April, and Batoche, 9th-12th May, 1885. Pre- 
sented by Dr. Ryerson, 1887, to the Public Library. 

197LE MOINE, SIR JAMES MACPHERSON, KT., with Autograph- 
Born in the city of Quebec, 1825. Called to the bar in 1850, and success- 
fully practised his profession. In 1869 he was appointed Inspector of 
Inland Revenue, District of Quebec, retiring from that position in 1899. 
Author of many books relating to his native city, notable among them 
being "Picturesque Quebec." Knighted in 1897 for his literary services. 
One of the original members of the Royal Society of Canada, selected by 
the Marquis of Lome (Duke of Argyll). His death occurred at "Spencer 
Grange," Quebec, Feb. 5th, 1912. Lithograph. Size 13 x 16. Three-quarter 
length, sitting. 

19 8_"HORSESHOE FALL OF FALLS OF NIAGARA From the 
Upper Bank of the British shore. Respectfully dedicated to his patrons, 
Sir. Peregrine Maitland, Lt.-Governor, and the gentlemen of Upper Canada, 
by their obedient servt, James Gray. Drawn by J. Gray; aquatinted by J. 
Gleadah. London. Published Deer. 1st, 1828, by J. Willett & Blandford, 
Bouverie St., Fleet St." By the interposition of two islands the River 
Niagara is separated into three falls, that of the Great Horseshoe, on the 
west or British side, and those of Fort Schlosser and Montmorency, on 
the eastern or American side. The three falls, with the islands describe 
a crescent. Size 12 x 22. 

199 KINGSTON, ONT., 1860^-View from the harbor, with key. Line 
engraving. Size 7 x 25. 

200 "GENERAL VIEW OF THE FALLS OF NIAGARA From the 

British shore. Respectfully dedicated to his patrons, Sir Peregrine Mait- 
land, Lt.-Governor, and the gentlemen of Upper Canada, by their obedient 
servt., James Gray. Drawn by J. Gray. Aquatinted by J. Gleadah. Lon- 
don: Published Deer. 1st, 1828, by Willett & Blandford, Bouverie Street, 
Fleet Street." The. height of the American Falls is about 167 feet, while 
the perpendicular descent of the Horseshoe Falls is 158 feet. Size 11 x 21. 

201 DWIGHT, HARVEY PRENTICE, 1828-1913 President Great 
North-Western Telegraph Co. Born in Belleville, Jefferson County, N.Y. 
Came to Canada in 1847 and entered the service of the Montreal Telegraph 
Co., remaining in the employ of that company until 1881. In the latter year 
he became associated with the Great North-Western, as general manager, 
becoming president in 1892. During the North-West Rebellion rendered 
the Government signal service, which was acknowledged in Parliament by 
the Minister of Militia. He died in Toronto. Lithograph. Size 11 x 13. 
Head and shoulders. 

202 LIGHTHOUSE AT MISSISSAGUA POINT, NIAGARA Plan, 
Elevation and Section In 1803 an Act was passed by the Provincial As- 
sembly at York (Toronto) to erect a lighthouse at this point. Dominic 
Henry, a veteran of the 4th Battalion, Royal Artillery of Cornwallis, was 
keeper up to 1814, when the beacon was taken down. It is said that Fort 
Mississagua was built from the ruins of Fort Niagara and the material of 
the lighthouse. Size 12 x 14. 



35 

203 "MONTREAL, FROM ST. HELEN'S ISLAND Respectfully 
dedicated to his patrons, Sir Peregrine Maitland, Lt.-Governor, and the 
gentlemen of Upper Canada, by their obedient servt, James Gray. Drawn 
by J. Gray. Aquatinted by J. Gleadah. London: Published Deer. 1, 1828, 
by Willett & Blandford, Bouverie Street, Fleet Street." The picture is 
taken from opposite the east end of the city. Size 12 x 21. See 114. 

204 REPLICA OF JOSEPH BRANT'S MASONIC CERTIFICATE 

Captain Brant (Thayendanegea) visited England in 1776, and on 26th 
April was initiated into Masonry in "The Falcon Lodge," London. On the 
certificate is inscribed the following: "These, are to certify that Brother 
Joseph Thayeadanegee was made a Mason and admitted to the third de- 
gree of Masonry as appears by the Register of the Lodge of Free and 
Accepted Masons, regularly constituted and meeting at the Falcon, 
Princess Street, Leicester Fields. Signed by the Master, Wardens and 
Secretary of the said Lodge hereunto annexed and you are desired to 
receive him as a Brother after due examination. Given under the Seal of 
the Grand Lodge. Jas. Heseltine. Grand Secretary, London, 26th April, 
A. 5776, D. 1776." Photograph of certificate in possession of his great- 
granddaughter, Mrs. Donald Kerby, Morden, Man. 

205 "OTTAWA CITY, CANADA WEST (LOWER TOWN) From 
Government Hill, looking down the Ottawa River, showing the locks of 
the Rideau Canal. Drawn from nature by E. Whitefield. Lith. of Endi- 
cott & Co., N.Y., Ottawa. Published by E. Whitefield. 1855. Copyright 
secured." The picture gives a key of the principal buildings. Lithograph. 
Size 20 x 36. 

206 "FALLS OF MONTMORENCI From the East Bank. Respect- 
fully dedicated to his patrons, Sir Peregrine Maitland, Lt.-Governor, and 
the gentlemen of Upper Canada, by their obedient servt., James Gray. 
Drawn by J. Gray; aquatinted by J. Gleadah. London: Published Deer. 1, 
1828, by J. Willett and J. Blandford, Bouverie Street, Fleet Street." A 
beautiful spot, about eight miles northeast of Quebec. Although higher 
than Niagara, it has nothing of the latter's grandeur, on account of its 
narrowness. Prince Edward, afterwards Duke of Kent, made the Mont- 
morency House, in the vicinity of the Falls, his home during the summers 
of 1791-4. Now Kent House (as the old-time mansion is known), is a 
summer hotel, the home of many a tourist who visits the rushing waters 
of the Montmorency. Size 12 x 22. 

207 "QUEBEC, FROM POINT LEVI Respectfully dedicated to his 
patrons, Sir Peregrine Maitland, Lt.-Governor, and the gentlemen of 
Upper Canada, by their obedient servt., James Gray. Drawn by J. Gray. 
Aquatinted by J. Gleadah. London: Published Deer. 1st, 1828, by J. Willett 
and J. Blandford, Bouverie Street, Fleet Street." Size 12 x 22. 

208 AN OLD GUEST BILL This bill against a guest for a two days' 
stay at the Clifton House, Niagara Falls, Ont., in May, 1853, was signed by 
Samuel Shears, brother of George P. Shears, proprietor of the hostelry 
from 1850-7. 

209 WASHINGTON, GEORGE First President of the United 
States, 1789-97. Wood engraving. Size 5 x 6. Head and shoulders. See 137. 

210 PICKERING, TIMOTHY An American statesman, born in 
Massachusetts. July, 1745. He graduated at Harvard in 1763, and became 
Judge of the Common Pleas in 1775. Joined the army of Washington in 
1776, and took part in the battles of Brandywine and Germantown. Ap- 
pointed Postmaster-General of the United States by Washington, 1791, 
Commissioner Indian Boundary, Niagara, 1793, and Secretary of War, 1794. 
From 1814-1817 he was a member of the National House of Representatives. 
Line engraving. Size 2% x 4. Head and shoulders. 



36 

211 LINCOLN, GENERAL BENJAMIN, 1733-1810 U.S. Commis- 
sioner Indian Boundary, Niagara, 1793 Born in Massachusetts. He was a 
member of the Provincial Congress, assembled in 1775 at Cambridge and 
Watertown, and one of the secretaries of that body. In 1776, appointed 
a Major-General of Militia, and joined the army of Washington in 1777. 
Appointed to the chief command of the Southern Department, 1778, and 
defended Charleston against Prevost the following year. Later besieged 
by Sir Henry Clinton in that place and compelled to surrender. From 
1781-4 was Secretary of War, and Lieutenant-Governor of Massachusetts, 
1787. Line engraving. Size 4x4. Three-quarter length. 

212 AUTOGRAPHS of President Washington and Secretaries 
Pickering and Lincoln. 

213 MACKINAW ISLAND, 1837 "Indian Lodges on the Beach of the 
Island of Mackinaw. Anna Jameson, fecit." This view, at the northwest 
extremity of Lake Huron, was taken by Anna Jameson, artist and 
authoress, and wife of Chancellor Robert Jameson. In the summer of 
her sojourn in Canada the lady ventured on an expedition up 
Lake Huron, making her way to Sault Ste. Marie. The trip occupied two 
months, and during this time Mrs. Jameson saw a good deal of freedom 
and roughness of life amongst the Indians. One of her achievements was 
the shooting of the rapids of Sault Ste. Marie in an Indian birch bark 
canoe. Pen drawing. Size 6x8. 

214 BOUCHETTE, R. S. M. Son of Col. Joseph Bouchette. Took an 
active part in the suppression of the Lower Canada insurrection. On his 
return to Canada held office as Commissioner of Customs until 1875. Pri- 
vate plate, with autograph, from a painting by Arminius Meyer, R.A.. 
London, Eng., 1832. Line engraving. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

215 BOUCHETTE, LIEUT.-COLONEL JOSEPH Born in Canada, 
1774, the son of Commodore Jean Bouchette. As early as 1790 Joseph was 
employed as a draftsman in the office of his uncle, the Hon. Major Holland, 
then Surveyor-General of British North America. The following year he 
entered the provincial navy, sailing the Great Lakes until 1796. Surveyed 
the harbor of Toronto in 1793. The following year succeeded in raising 
H.M. war vessel "Onondaga," 14 guns, which had been cast away in 
York (Toronto) harbor and abandoned; taking command ne sailed with 
her to Niagara. This service elicited the unqualified approbation of Lord 
Dorchester, and Bouchette was raised to the rank of second-lieutenant. On 
the reduction of the navy he obtained a lieutenancy in the Royal Canadian 
Volunteers. In 1803 he was appointed Deputy Surveyor-General, and the 
ensuing year Surveyor-General of Lower Canada. Served with merit in 
the War of 1812. Besides publishing maps of Canada he was the author 
of a "Topography of Lower Canada," London, 1815, and "Topography of 
the British Dominions in North America," London, 1831-2. The boundary 
line between Canada and the United States, as laid down By Col. Bouchette, 
is generally conceded to be a much fairer one than that determined by the 
Ashburton Treaty. His death occurred at Montreal, April 9th, 1841. 
Englehart, pinxt. J. Thomson, sc. Line engraving. Size 6x8. Head and 
shoulders. 

216 "GRAND MILITARY STEEPLECHASE AT LONDON, CANADA 

aT, 9 \ MAY, 1843 Lt. Burnaby, R.E., on Fanny, pink and white; Lt. 

4th Regt., on Moose, blue and white; Lt. Anderson, 83rd Regt, 

on Murat, black and blue; Lt. Patton, on Francis, It. blue; Lt Windham, 

loyals, on Wild Boy, purple and black; Lt. Lysons, Royals, on Red Indian, 

rtmson and blue. Stewards Capt. Davenport, Royal Regt.; Lieut. Fisher, 

K.A.; Laeut. Douglas, 14th Regt., to whom this print is most respectfully 

idicated by their obliged and obedient servant, R. Ackermann. Drawn 

o^ y r a ,o y ,r f xander> En S r aved by J. Harris. London: Published February 

Jljt, 1*45, for the Proprietor by Rudolph Ackermann, 191 Regent Street." 

Lithograph in color. Size 14 x 20 



37 

217 AMERICAN REGIMENTAL COLORS Taken by the British 
forces in the War of 1812-14. That on the left was captured, with others, 
at Fort Detroit, Aug. 16th, 1812. It bears the arms of the United States, 
and the words, "4th Regiment of Infantry,"' and was the national color of 
that regiment. That on the right was taken at Queenston Heights, Opt. 
13th, 1812. It bears on one side the arms of the United States, and on the 
other (shown above) the arms of New York, with its motto, "Excelsior" 
the colors of a New York regiment (militia). These colors were 
sent to England, and placed in the Chapel Royal, Whitehall, London, whence 
all trophies French eagles, standards and colors were by order of 
the King, transferred to the Royal Hospital, Chelsea, in 1834. The original 
water color was copied by the kind permission of Mrs. Robinson, widow 
of the late Christopher Robinson, K.C., third son of the Chief Justice. The 
late Sir John Beverley Robinson, Bart, as a lieutenant of volunteers, was 
present in 1812 at the capture of both these colors. Water color. Size 9 x 13. 

218 "SKETCH OF THE NIAGARA FALLS SUSPENSION BRIDGE 

(Now in progress) Shewing the Basket Ferry and the Temporary Towers 
of the Foot Bridge. Span 800 ft. Height 230 ft. Hall & Mooney, Lith., 
Buffalo. Entered according to Act of Congress, A.D. 1848, by Henry Filkins 
in the Clerk's Office of the Northern District of New York. Halloway, 
del." Lithograph in color. With description of bridge. Size 9 x 14. 

219 "THE RAILROAD SUSPENSION BRIDGE, NEAR NIAGARA 
FALLS John A. Roebling, Esqre., Engineer. Length of bridge 822 feet. 
Height above water "2TO feet. Entered according to Act of Congress in the 
year 1856 by N. Currier, in the Clerk's Office of the District of the South- 
ern District of New York. C. Parsons, del. Published by N. Currier, 152 
Nassau Street, New York." The bridge is in full view of the Falls, connect- 
jng the U.S. and Canada, the New York Central and Great Western Rail- 
ways. Chromo lithograph. Size 10 x 15. 

220 OLD MASONIC CERTIFICATE Issued at Niagara in 1787. 
This is a photo copy of the oldest Masonic certificate known in Upper 
Canada. It was issued to John Wrong, July 1st, 1787, by Freemasons' 
Lodge No. 322, "of the Registry of Ireland, held in his Majesty's twenty- 
ninth Regiment of Foot," stationed at that day in Niagara. The certificate 
is the property of J. E. Wrong, Niagara Falls, Ont., a great-grandson of 
Brother John Wrong. 

221 "A BIRDSEYE VIEW OF THE RIVER NIAGARA From Lake 
Erie to Lake Ontario, shewing the situation and extent of Navy Island, 
and the towns and villages on the banks of the river, in Canada and the 
United States, with the situation of the Caroline steamboat off Schlosser. 
From a drawing by W. R. Callington, engineer, Boston, from an actual 
survey made in 1837. Published by J. Robins, Bride Court, Fleet Street, 
London." With key. Lithograph in color. Size 9 x 15. 

222 SLEIGHING IN NORTH AMERICA London, published by G. S. 
Tregear, 96 Cheapside. Aquatint in color. Size 8 x 11. 

223 NIAGARA FALLS, 1850 With river bank in foreground. Water 
color by Gen. A. R. V. Crease, R.E. Size 7 x 11. 

224 ENTRANCE TO THE NIAGARA RIVER FROM THE CANADIAN 
FORT, 1849 The steamer shown is the Chief Justice Robinson, 400 tons, 
owned and commanded by Capt. Hugh Richardson; was built at Niagara 
in 1842, and for many years was on the route between Lewiston and To- 
ronto. Water color by Gen. A. R. V. Crease, R.E. Size 7 x 10. 



38 

225 INTERIOR OF ST. ANDREW'S PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, 
NIAGARA Water color, by Owen Staples. Size 20 x 26. See 1253, 1273. 

226 "LONDON, CANADA WEST Drawn from nature by E. White- 
field London. Published by E. Whitefield, 1855. Entered according to Act 
of Congress in the year 1855 by E. Whitefield, in the clerk's office of the 
district court of New York." Lithograph with key. Size 20 x 36. 

2 27_"PROPOSED TUBULAR BRIDGE FOR CROSSING THE 
NIAGARA GORGE S. Russel, Del.. Kell Bros., Lithrs., Castle St., Hoi- 
born. Published by John Weale, London, 1860." The proposed bridge was 
never erected. Chromo lithograph. Size 14 x 20. 

228 "NAVY ISLAND AND THE VILLAGE OF CHIPPEWA Looking 
towards the Falls of Niagara, Chippewa Village, Niagara Falls and Goat 
Island, Navy Island. G. Tattersall. G. Barnard, lit." Navy Island is situ- 
ated just above the mouth of the Chippawa River. The village is at the 
confluence of the Chippawa River with the Niagara, and is memorable for 
the battle fought there, July 5th, 1814, between the British and Americans. 
Lithograph. Size 11 x 14. 

229 "THE BATTLE OF QUEENSTON, 13TH OCT., 1812 Which 
ended in a complete victory on the part of the British, having captured 
927 men, killed or wounded about 500, taken 1,400 stand of arms, a six- 
pounder and a stand of colours. Drawn by Major Dennis. Engraved by T. 
Sutherland. London: Pubd. April 12th, 1836, for I. W. Laird's Martial 
Achievements, at 1 Leadenhall Street." Line engraving. Size 13 x 19. 

230 NIAGARA, 1854 With key. The "Chief Justice Robinson," which 
for a number of years plied between Toronto and Lewiston, is seen enter- 
ing the river. Water color by F. H. Granger. Size 7 x 24. 

231 ST. MARK'S ANGLICAN CHURCH, NIAGARA, 1834 The first 
church was opened in 1809, destroyed by Americans in 1813, rebuilt later, 
and transepts added in 1843. The steamer in the river is the "Queenston," 
built in 1824, and continued as a regular packet between that point, To- 
ronto and Prescott until 1831. Drawn from nature and on stone by G. 
D'Almaine. In color. Size 11 x 17. See 1270, 1274. 

232 FORT MISSISSAGA, NIAGARA On west side of the entrance 
to Niagara River. Little but the ramparts, tower and magazines remain 
of this fort, the earthworks of which were erected about 1793. At different 
points where there were batteries during the War of 1812, and after the 
war, the fort was constructed, the walls being built of bricks brought from 
the ruins of the town. For many years the fort and buildings within the 
enclosure were occupied by British soldiers. Water color by Gen. A. R. V. 
Crease. Size 6x9. 

233 FORT NIAGARA, N.Y. Built by De Nonville in 1687, abandoned 
a year later. In 1716 a recommendation- for a fort at Niagara was sent 
from Quebec to France, and the French in 1725 built the first permanent 
.t was besieged by the British in 1759, and captured by Sir William 
Johnson. At the end of the "hold over" period, 1796, the fort was given 
up by the British to the United States. Water color by Gen A R V 
Crease. Size 6x9. 

234 SERVOS FARM, PALATINE HhLL, NIAGARA TOWNSHIP, 1910 
:om the site of the Servos Mill, the first Government grist mill, erected 
the Servos farm about 1777. The Four-Mile Creek is shown in the fore- 
' a 29 FUnning into the P ict ure. Water color by Owen Staples. 



39 

235 "HAMILTON, CANADA WEST, FROM THE MOUNTAIN 
Drawn from nature by E. Whitefield, Hamilton. Published by E. White- 
field, Hamilton, 1854. Lith. of Endicott & Co., N.Y. Entered according to 
Act of Congress in the year 1854, by E. Whitefield, in the clerk's office 
of the district court of the southern district of N.Y: Lithograph with key. 
Size 20 x 35. 

236 SHI PM AN, PAUL, 1756-1825 Son of Paul Shipman, who, with 
ten other members of the family, fought in the Revolutionary War. Paul 
Shipman, jun., emigrated to Canada, settling at "The Twelve" (St. 
Catharines). The first tavern in the place was built by George Adams 
in 1797, at what is now the junction of Ontario and St. Paul streets. He 
owned it for a considerable time, but Shipman, shortly after his arrival, 
acquired it, and St. Catharines, which had been so named on its first 
survey in 1809, bore the name "Shipman's Corners" for a time. In the 
early days Shipman's Tavern was a favorite rendezvous and pleasure re- 
sort. A tablet to the memory of Paul Shipman is in St. George's Church, 
St. Catharines. From a silhouette in possession of his great-granddaughter, 
Mrs. C. Van Auda, New York. Size 3x4. Head, in profile. See 237. 

237 SHIPMAN, MRS. ELIZABETH Wife of Paul Shipman, a St. 
Catharines pioneer. From a silhouette in possession of her great-grand- 
daughter, Mrs. C. Van Auda, New York. Size 3x4. Head, in profile. 

238 ANCIENT INVITATION Reproduction of an invitation to Miss 
Catharine Rodman Prendergast, daughter of Dr. Prendergast, one of the 
earliest physicians on the Niagara peninsula, to attend a ball at Shipman's 
Tavern, Twelve-Mile Creek (now St. Catharines. Ont), 18th Feb., 1811. Miss 
Prendergast afterwards became the wife of Hon. Wm. Hamilton Merritt, 
who in 1816 purchased the greater part of the land upon which the present 
city of St. Catharines is built. From original in possession of her grand- 
daughter, Miss Merritt, St. Catharines. 

239 NIAGARA FALLS Canada This view of the Falls was engraved 
from a "Map of the Dominions of the King of Great Britain in North 
America," by Herman Moll, geographer, 1711. From an old engraving in 
the British Museum, London, England, with description. Size 9x9. 

240 -MAP OF LAKE ONTARIO With English and French Fleets in 
1757 The original by Labroquerie, a French engineer at Fort Frontenc 
(Kingston, U.C.), 4th Oct., 1757, is the first hand-made map of Lake Ontario, 
and gives not only the principal ports and places from east to west on both 
sides of the lake, but also pictures of the English and French fleets. A 
full description of the map, with ports and* places, and the fleets will be 
found in Robertson's Landmarks of Toronto, Vol. III., pp. 88-90. Labroquerie 
(La Broquerie) died in 1762 at Boucherville, Que. Reproduction from 
original in the King's Library, British Museum. Size 9 x 11. 

241 "VIEW OF THE RAILWAY DISASTER AT HAMILTON, C.W., 
on Thursday Evn., March 12th, 1857 Drawn & Lith. by H. Gregory, 
Hamilton, from a daguerreotype by D. Preston." Size 11 x 15. See 242. 

242 SCENE OF THE GREAT WESTERN RAILWAY ACCIDENT, 
12TH MARCH, 1857 A passenger train proceeding from Toronto to 
Hamilton crashed through the bridge over the Desjardins Canal, near 
Hamilton, and, 3,3 a result, seventy lives were lost. This was the first 
serious railway accident that had ever occurred in the Province of Ontario. 
The accident was caused by the deck or flooring of the bridge giving way. 
A steel structure stands here to-day (1917). Wood engraving. Size 6 x 10. 
See 241. 



40 

243-ZIMMERMAN, SAMUEL-In 1842 came to Canada from Pennsyl- 
vania, where he was born in 1815. Settled at Thorold and became a cele- 
brated financier and railway contractor, building 120 miles of the Great 
Western Railway, as well as several other railways in Canada. Also 
constructed four locks and an aqueduct on the Welland Canal. He lost his 
life on the Desjardins Canal accident, March 12th, 1857. Lithograph. Size 
8x9. Head and shoulders. 

244 DUNN, HON*. JOHN HENRY, 1794-1854 Water color, by hi_ 
daughter Lady Green, wife of Major-General Sir Henry Rodes Green, of 
London, from an oil painting made about 1834. Size 9. x 11. Head and 
shoulders. See 24. 

245 GALE "Revd. Alexander Gale, First Presbyterian Minister of 
Hamilton Canada West. Obt. 6 April, 1854. Aet. 54. From a daguerreo- 
type by A. Hoenisch. Schenck & McFarlane, lithographers, Edinburgh." 
He was a native of Coldstone, Aberdeenshire, Scotland; came to Lower 
Canada in 1827, and subsequently settled as minister in Amherstburgh, 
U.C., where he remained three years. From 1833-46 he was in Hamilton, 
and was then called to occupy the positions of principal of the Toronto 
Academy and classical professor in Knox College. Lived at Logie-on-the- 
Mountain, near Cook's Mills, where for some years he had a private school. 
He died there 6th April, 1854. Lithograph. Size 6x7. Head and 
shoulders. See 2797. 

246 SWALE, MRS. HOGARTH J. Foundress of Holy Trinity Church, 
Toronto. In 1845 Mrs. Swale, who resided in England, through the Bishop 
of Ripon, afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury, gave 5,000 sterling to 
Bishop Strachan for the purpose of erecting a church in his diocese. Her 
express conditions were that the church be called the "Church of the Holy 
Trinity," that the seats be "free and unappropriated forever," and that her 
name remain secret. The church was opened and consecrated in 1847. 
For nearly fifty years the secret of who built Holy Trinity Church was well 
kept, but about 1894 the name became known, and in 1897 the church- 
wardens, feeling it was then no breach of confidence, alluded to the matter 
in most fitting terms in their report. Water color from the original in 
England. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

247 BOOTH, REV. WILLIAM ("GENERAL"), 182^1912 Founder 
of the Salvation Army. He was born in Nottingham, England, and at an 
early age became a member of the Methodist Church. Was much interested 
in evangelistic work, continuing it after his ordination as minister. In 
1865 he formed the Christian Mission, which developed into a large organi- 
zation on military lines, and in 1878 became known as the Salvation Army. 
Mr. Booth, commonly called "General," was an indefatigable worker and 
organizer, and kept constantly in touch with the international work of 
the Army, established the "War Cry" in 1880, and ten years later pub- 
lished "Darkest England and the Way Out." In 1907, Oxford conferred 
upon him the degree of D.C.L. In Washington he was invited to open the 
U.S. Senate with prayer, and, as a mark of honor, the City of London pre- 
sented him with its freedom. His death took place in London, England. 
Original drawing for "Vanity Fair," by L. Ward (Spy), Nov. 25th, 1882. 
Size 8 x 12. Full length. 

248 LAVAL, HIS GRACE FRANCOIS DE, 1622-1708 First Romai 
Catholic Bishop of Canada (Quebec) He was ordained priest at Paris 
23rd Sept., 1645, and made Archdeacon of Evreux in 1653. Appointed Vicar 
Apostolic of Nouvelle France, by Pope Alexander VII., 5th July, 1658. He 
arrived in Canada the following June, founded the Seminary of Quebec, 
consecrated the Parochial Church of Quebec, and in 1674 returned to 



41 

France, when he was named Bishop of Quebec, a suffragan Bishop of the 
Holy See. His Grace de Laval resigned his Bishopric of Quebec in Paris, 
24th Jan., 1688 (he had visited France several times since 1659), and left 
that city some time after for Quebec. He afterwards retired to his Semin- 
ary, to which he made over his entire effects. Line engraving. Size 4x5. 
Head and shoulders. See 1650. 

249 CHARBONNEL, THE RT. REV. ARMAND FRANCIS MARIE, 
COMTE DE Second Roman Catholic Bishop of Toronto, 1850-60. Belonged 
to an old and illustrious family; was born 1st December, 1802, near 
Monistrol-sur-Loire, France; ordained priest in 1825; entered Society of 
St. Sulpice the following year. He came to Canada in 1839. During the 
succeeding years he was frequently offered episcopal honors, which he 
declined. In 1850 Father Charbonnel, as successor to Bishop Power, was 
consecrated Bishop of Toronto by Pope Pius IX., taking formal possession 
of the See in September of that year. During his episcopate the House of 
Providence, Toronto, was founded, and the Diocese of Hamilton and London 
erected. His repeated appeal that he be allowed to resign was at last 
sustained, and in 1860 he returned to France. Died 29th March, 1891. 
Photo from lithograph. Size 7x9. Head and shoulders. See 2535. 

250 McMAHON, REV. PATRICK Founder of St. Patrick's Church, 
Quebec He was born at Abbeylix, Ireland. Came to Canada in 1818, and 
was ordained by Mgr. Plessis, 6th Oct., 1822. In 1825 he labored as a 
missionary at St. John, N.B., but was recalled to Quebec three years later 
to minister to the Irish Catholics of that city. Accommodation offered in 
Church of Notre Dame des Victoires, in which Father McMahon held spe- 
cial services was totally inadequate, so that subscriptions were taken up 
for construction of an independent church. To this fund the Protestants 
of the city liberally subscribed. On 7th July, 1833, the first service was 
held in St. Patrick's. Father McMahon, who died 3rd October^ 1851, is the 
only individual honored by burial in the church, which also contains a 
mural monument to his memory. Lithograph. Size 13 x 21. Full length. 

251 MECHANICS' INSTITUTE DIPLOMA The Mechanics' Institute, 
fashioned after the Mechanics' Institute in Edinburgh and London, was in 
1830 established in York (Toronto) under the title of the York Mechanics' 
Institute. Its object was the mutual improvement of mechanics and others 
who were members, and, with this end in view, annual exhibitions were 
held by the Institute, at which the best efforts of manufacturers were 
shown. The first exhibition was held in 1848. The honors awarded were 
diplomas, those in 1850 being made by Scobie & Balfour's lithographing 
and printing establishment, Toronto, and designed and lithographed by 
Sandford Fleming (late Sir Sandford Fleming), Land Surveyor, on stone. 
The diploma shown was won by W. & R. Edwards, saddlers, on Yonge 
street, near Temperance street. 

252 STRACHAN, BISHOP "The Honourable and Right Rev. John 
Strachan, D.D., Lord Bishop of Toronto. To the Clergy and Laity of the 
United Church of England and Ireland and Canada, this engraving is most 
respectfully dedicated by the publisher, Henry Rowsell, Toronto. Painted 
by Berthon. Engraved by Warner. Proof." Born in Aberdeen, 1778; 
entered the university of that place in 1794. Through the late Hon. 
Richard Cartwright and Hon. Robert Hamilton, he received an offer to 
come to Canada, which he did in 1799. Opened a school at Kingston, and, 
subsequently, resolved to enter the Church of England (he was of the 
Presbyterian faith). ^Accordingly he was ordained deacon by Bishop Moun- 
tain, and appointed to the Mission of Cornwall. In 1812 he became rector 
of York. Member Executive and Legislative Councils. In the summer of 
that year he was consecrated first Bishop of Toronto, a diocese comprising 
the whole of Upper Canada. He labored in this field until the western 



42 

division of the province was erected into a diocese, under Rev. Dr Cronyn. 
Bishop Strachan passed away on 1st November 1867 m Toronto Line 
engraving. Size 10 x 12. Half length, sitting. See 2732, 2805, 3199. 

253 FtRST CATHOLIC PROVINCIAL COUNCIL OF FATHERS AND 
THEOLOGIANS, HELD IN ST. MICHAEL'S PALACE TORONTO, 187*- 
The object of the Council was to lay down rules in directing priests in 
their general administration and to regulate their lives in keeping with 
their sacred calling. Jhe following key gives the names of those present: 
1 Right Rev P~T Crinnon, D.D., Bp. of Hamilton. 2, Right Rev. John 
Walsh D D Bp of London. 3, Most Rev. John Jos. Lynch, D.D., Archbp. 
of Toronto ' 4 Right Rev. J. F. Jamol, D.D., Bp. of Peterborough. 5, Right 
Rev John O'Brien, D.D., Bp. of Kingston. 6, Rev. Father Williams, of 
Kingston 7 Rev. Dr. Chisholm, of Kingston. 8, Rev. Father Stafford, of 
Kingston 9, Very Rev. Father J. Farley, V.G., of Kingston. 10, Rev. C. 
Rouman, S.J. 11, Rev. Father J. M. Laurent, of Toronto. 12, Very Rev. 
F. C. Rooney, V.G., Toronto. 13, Very Rev. Laurent, V.G., London. 14, 
Very Rev. E. Funcken, Supt. St. Jerome's, (Berlin) College. 15, Very Rev. 
Heenan, V.G., Hamilton. 16, Rev. John Furlong, Sacristan, Toronto. 17, 
Rev. F. F. Rohleder, Toronto. 18, Rev. J. J. McEntee, Toronto. 19, Very 
Rev. Bruyere, V.G., Hamilton. 20, Rev. J. B. Proux, Toronto. 21, Rev. 
John Shea, Toronto. 22, Rev. P. Conway, Toronto. 23, Very Rev. C. 
Vincent, Supt. St. Michael's College. Photograph, hand colored. Size 
3 x 14. 

254 GREEN "Revd. Anson Green, D.D., President of the Canada 
Conference in 1842. Painted by W. Gush, Esq. Engraved by J. Cochran." 
Entered the work of the Methodist ministry in 1824, and ordained at 
Ancaster three years later. For many years he labored in various Ontario 
circuits, and in 1854 was superannuated. He, however, resumed active 
work, being -finally superannuated in 1865. Elected President of the Can- 
ada Conference in 1842, and in 1846 and 1854 acted as representative to 
the British Conference. Dr. Green was from 1845-53 Book Steward of the 
Methodist Book Room, King street east, Toronto, and again from 1859-64. 
He died February, 1879. Line engraving. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

255 MEDLEY "The Right Revd. the Lord Bishop of Fredericton. 
Painted by John Bridges. Engraved by Saml. Bellin. Published Augt. 1st, 
1849, by J. Hogarth, 5 Haymarket, London. H. J. Wallace, Exeter. Printed 
by W. Hatton. Proof." Most Rev. John Medley, D.D., was born in London, 
Eng., 19th Dec., 1804; educated at Wadham College, Oxford, graduating 
with honors, 1826. In 1828 he was ordained deacon, and priest in 1829. He 
became incumbent of St. John's Chapel, Truro, Cornwall, 1831, seven 
years later being transferred to Exeter, where in 1842 he became prebend- 
ary of Exeter Cathedral. When the Diocese of Fredericton, N.B., was 
formed in 1845, the Archbishop of Canterbury appointed Dr. Medley as 
first Bishop, his See to comprise the whole Province of New Brunswick. 
For many years he labored diligently, seldom leaving his diocese. In 
1879, as oldest Bishop in the Dominion, he became Metropolitan of Canada. 
Bishop Medley wrote several books of a religious character. He died 9th 
Sept., 1892. Line engraving. Size 12 x 16. Three-quarter length, sitting. 

256 MACKENZIE, WILLIAM LYON, 1795-1864 Photo from a portrait 
by J. W. L. Forster. Size 12 x 16. Head and shoulders. See 363. 

257 HUT-GOH-SO-DO-NEH (LEWIS BENNETT) Known as Deer- 
foot, the Seneca Indian runner. He was born in 1830 at the Cattaraugus 
Reserve, a few miles southwest of Buffalo, N.Y. In 1865-6 he toured Eng- 
land, and in 1871 ran at Listowel, Ont. In England and occasionally in the 
States he ran in moccasins and Indian head-dress, but perrormed best in 
the regulation costume, the moccasins and feathers being worn for the 



43 

entertainment of the spectators to whom he was somewhat of a circus 
sensation. He ran with the "flat-footed" action common to the Indians, 
but it was not as pronounced as the "shamble" of the Canadian runner, 
Tom Longboat. Bennett's death occurred in 1896 at the Cattaraugus 
Reservation. The name, "Deerfoot," was given to Bennett because of his 
prowess in running down and killing deer when the hard crust of the 
winter's snow was softened by the sun and the speed of the quarry thus 
retarded. London: Published November 9th, 1861, by Geo. Newbold, 303 
and 304 Strand, W.C. Lithograph. Size 12 x 16. Full length. 

258 TORONTO HARBOR Original entrance at Queen's Wharf, north 
Channel, at west end of Bay, in use from 1790-1911. A new channel from 
the lake is now cut about 1,000 feet south, and is the regular steamer chan- 
nel. Chromo lithograph, by Coke Smyth. Size 11 x 15. 

259 MENU OF DINNER TO ROBERT STEPHENSON, C.E., M.P., 
D.C.L., F.R.S. Son of George Stephenson, who built the first locomotive. 
Born in England, 1803. After studying at the University of Edinburgh for 
one session he assisted his father in the construction cf the Stockton and 
Darlington Railway, and in the manufacture of locomotives. In 1824 he 
went to South America to examine gold and silver mines there. Was the 
designer of the Victoria Bridge, Montreal, which was first opened for 
traffic in 1860. Completed the 140 miles of railway between Cairo and 
Alexandria, with two tubular bridges, and also constructed an immense 
bridge across the Nile. Represented Whitby, Yorkshire, in Parliament 
from 1847 until his death, in 1859. When in Canada in 1853 he visited 
Toronto, and was entertained by the engineering profession at a dinner 
held in the Parliament Buildings, August 26th, 1853. The guests were 
received in the Legislative Assembly Chamber, and the dinner was held 
in the Council Chamber. In the chair was the Hon. H. H. Killaly, then 
Assistant Commissioner of the Board of Public Works. 

260 ST. STEPHEN'S CHURCH (ANGLICAN) "N.E. View of the 
Church of S. Stephen, Toronto, Canada, W. To Robert Brittain Denison, 
Esq., of Toronto. This view is dedicated by his faithful servant, the Archi- 
tect. T. Fuller, Architect, Toronto. Fuller & Bencke, Lithographers, 
Victoria Hall, Toronto." The church, which was erected by Lieut.-Col. 
R. B. Denison, at the corner of Bellevue avenue and College street, was 
opened for service November 28th, 1858, and was the first church in the 
city west of Spadina avenue. In 1865 it was destroyed by fire, but was 
immediately rebuilt, and has since been enlarged several times. It is of 
red brick with stone facings, and is designed after the Early English 
Gothic style of architecture. The first rector was the Rev. J. H. McCollum, 
who had charge from 1858-61, when he was succeeded by the Rev. A. J. 
Broughall, rector, 1861-98. The present (1916) incumbent is the Rev. 
Thos. G. Wallace. Lieut.-Col. Denison, the donor, was also one of the first 
Church Wardens of St. Stephen's. Lithograph in color. Size 16 x 20. 

261 ORIGINAL PLAN OF TORONTO PURCHASE FROM THE 
INDIANS, 1787-1805 The site on 'which Toronto stands was sold by the 
Mississaga Indians to the Crown. There were two interviews in connec- 
tion with the sale, the first in September, 1787, when the purchase was 
formally discussed, and at the second meeting, 1st August, 1805, the bar- 
gain was completed. For the sum of $9,500 the extent of 250,808 acres 
were sold, of which Toronto at present (1916) occupies 25,330.4 acres. Of 
this, 20,418.8 acres is land, and 4,911.6 is water. The latter is made up of 
harbor area, 1,759.5 acres, Ashbridge's Bay, 1,385 acres, and other waters. 
Pen and ink drawing from original in Crown Lands Dept. Size 12 x 18. 



44 

262 KING STREET, TORONTO, 1836 Depicting the north side of 
the street between Toronto and Church, and the south side from opposite 
the south 'end of Toronto street, to East Market street. Among the build- 
inzs shown are St. James' Church (Cathedral), northeast corner of King 
and Church, built 1831, destroyed by fire, 1839; the Court House, Jail and 
Market House. (See key to picture). T. Young, Archt. Belt. Bufford, on 
stone. N. Currier's Lith., No. 1 Wall St., N.Y. Size 12 x 18. 

263 LADY ELGIN CUTTING THE FIRST SOD OF THE ONTARIO, 
SIMCOE AND HURON RAILWAY The late F. C. Capreol, of Toronto, 
conceived the idea of carrying through a railroad from Toronto to Lake 
Huron. He met with many obstacles and difficulties in his plans. Nothing 
daunted, however, he persevered, and, finally, on the 15th October, 1851, 
Lady Elgin, wife of the then Governor-General, in the presence of a large 
number of people on the south side of Front street, just west of Simcoe 
street, opposite the old Parliament Buildings, turned the first sod of 
Canada's first railroad. The scene was a gala one. Flags floated, banners 
flew, while Mayor Bowes was resplendent in cocked hat, knee breeches, 
silk stockings, and shoes with silver buckles. In 1859 the system was known 
as the Northern Railway. On amalgamation with the Hamilton and North 
Western Railway, the company in 1888 became the Grand Trunk. Water 
color by Gen. A. R. V. Crease, R.E. Size 12 x 25. See 518, 782. 

264 OLD-TIME BUGGY The first constructed in North York. It 
was made early in 1844 by James Charles and the Wilkins Brothers, at 
Cosford's Corners, about a mile and a half north of present (1916) 
Wellington street, Aurora. Seth Heacock, members of whose family 
lived on farm lots 29, 27, concession 3, King Township, from 1806-1910, 
owned the vehicle, which was considered a fine one and figured in many 
weddings of the countryside. It was presented in 1910 to the York Pioneer 
Society, by G. W. and F. W. Heacock. The vehicle known as the "buggy" 
had its origin in India. The name comes from the Hindustani "baggi." In 
India it was a two-wheeled vehicle with a hood, in England the same, with 
or without a hood, and in the United States and Canada a four-wheeled 
vehicle with one seat, with or without a hood. Drawing in water color. 
Size 5x7. 

265 CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY, TORONTO Interior View. 

In 1835 the locality of Holy Trinity Church was known as "the fields," and 
comprised the garden and clear space around the residence of Dr. James 
Macaulay, formerly of the Queen's Rangers. Through funds supplied by 
Mrs. Hogarth J. Swale (see No. 246), the church was built on a site given 
by Col. John Simcoe Macaulay, son of Dr. Macaulay. The building is a 
large brick structure, cruciform in shape, with two narrow transepts 
adjoining the chancel. It runs east and west. The foundation stone was 
laid 1st July, 1846, and the church opened and consecrated, 1847. The 
Church of the Holy Trinity still (1917) stands, enclosed on all sides by 
buildings, within a few rods of Yonge street, one of Toronto's busiest 
thoroughfares. Sketch plan by C. E. Thomas, son of Wm. Thomas, the 
architect. Size 6x8. 

266 WRIT OF SUMMONS, 1816 This writ, which is now (1916) in. 
the office of Sheriff Mowat, of Toronto, was issued against Donald Mc- 
Arthur, a merchant of the town of York, on complaint of Michael Stoben, 
for trespass. It is signed by John Small, Clerk of Crown and Pleas, 
1806-25. Samuel Jarvis, a cousin of William Botsford Jarvis, was the plain- 
tiff's attorney. Photograph. 

267 BAIN ES RESIDENCE The dwelling, which stood on the wt ... 
side of Simcoe street, on what is now the site of No. 190 (AB) 192-6, was 
the home of Thomas Baines, of Baines and Thompson, brewers, 1850- 



45 

Queen street west. Mr. Baines was the father of Dr. Allen Baines, of 
Toronto. The view shown is from the garden at the rear of the house. 
Pen drawing. Size 6x9. 

268 BALDWIN, HON. W. W. "William Warren Baldwin, of Spadina, 
in the County of York, Upper Canada. Formerly M.P. for the United 
Counties of York and Simcoe, and afterwards for the County of Norfolk in 
the Parliament of Upper Canada, and many years Treasurer of the Honour- 
able the Law Society of that section of the Province. To the Treasurer 
and Benchers of which Society this plate, taken by their permission from 
the original in their Convocation Chambers at Osgoode Hall, is most re- 
spectfully dedicated by their most obedt. servt, the Publisher. Painted 
by Theople. Hamel. Printed by Nagel & Weingaertner, N.Y. F. Davignon, 
Lithr., 323 Broadway." Lithograph. Size 10 x 12. Head and shoulders. 

269 BALDWIN, HON. ROBT. "Robert Baldwin, of Spadina, in the 
County of York, Upper Canada. Her Majesty's Attorney-General for 
Upper Canada, and P.M. for the North Riding of the County of York in 
the Parliament of 'Canada. Painted by Theophle. Hamel." Lithograph. 
Size 11 x 13. Half length, sitting. See 271, 461, 1050. 

270 UPPER CANADA COLLEGE, TORONTO This institution was 
founded by Sir John Colborne in 1829. The ground on which the buildings 
were erected was known as Russell Square, bounded by John, King, Simcoe 
and Adelaide streets. During erection, classes were held in the "Old Blue 
School," in the block directly north of St. James' Cathedral. On 8th Jan., 
1830, the buildings on King street west were opened, and in 1876-77 addi- 
tions were made. The College moved into the present (1917) buildings,. 
Deer Park, Toronto, in 1891. Water color. Size 6x8. See 3666. 

271 BALDWIN, HON. ROBERT, 1804-58 "This portrait of the Hon- 
orable Robt. Baldwin is dedicated to the Reformers of Canada by their 
obt. servant, H. Meyer. Painted and engraved by Hoppner Meyer." Size 
9 x 10. Head and shoulders. See 269, 461, 1050. 

272 GIVINS HOMESTEAD, "PINE GROVE" Rear view. The resi- 
dence was situated near North road, now Givens street. Etching by Wm. 
J. Thomson. Size 4x6. See 280, 675, 681. 

273 KING'S COLLEGE, TORONTO Bast side of Queen's Park, 
present site of east wing of Legislative Buildings. The charter was granted 
in 1827 and the building erected 1842-3, but not occupied till 1845. While 
it was in the process of erection the first sessions of the University were 
held in the Parliament Buildings, Front street. The structure shown was 
occupied from 1845-53. A second charter was issued in 1849, and the in- 
stitution became the University of Toronto, the faculty of divinity being 
abolished. In 1853 the faculties of law and medicine were also abolished, 
and in the same year the site of this hall of learning was appropriated for 
the Parliament of Upper and Lower Canada. The University was thus 
compelled to again hold lectures in their old quarters on Front street, but 
in 1855 they returned to the Medical Building, on the site now (1917) 
occupied by the Biological Department. Two years later they removed to 
the new University Buildings. Water color. Size 5x7. See 2815. 

274 TORONTO IN 1841-3 "To the Right Honorable Lord Stanley, her 
Majesty's Principal Secretary of State for the Colonies, etc., etc., etc. This 
print of the west view of the city of Toronto, in the Province of Canada, is 
most respectfully dedicated by his Lordship's very obedient and humble 
servant, the Publisher. Drawn by John Gilespie, Toronto. Dodson, Lith. 
Day & Haghe, Lithrs. to the Queen, London: Published by F. C. Capreol, 



46 

24th Jany , 1842." With key. The picture gives a glimpse of King street 
from Leslie Bros.' Building, site (1917), north-east corner of Victoria and 
King Sts Lord Stanley was in 1833-4 and from 1841-5 Colonial Secretary. 
He was created Baron Stanley in 1844. Lithograph. Size 13 x 24. 

275 GRASETT "Rev. Henry James Grasett, Rector of St. James' 
Church Toronto, C.W." Son of Dr. Grasett, of the 48th Northamptonshire 
Regiment, was born at Gibraltar, 18th June, 1808. He entered St. John's 
College Cambridge, in 1831, took his B.A. in 1834, and M.A. eight years 
later and D D in 1869. His first charge was in Quebec, after being or- 
dained deacon 'by Bishop Stewart. In 1835 he was appointed assistant to 
Archdeacon Strachan at St. James' Church, Toronto. The latter in 1839 
became first Anglican Bishop of Toronto, but remained rector of St. 
James' until 1847, when Mr. Grasett succeeded him. For many years he 
was examining and domestic chaplain and private secretary to the Bishop. 
Became first Dean of Toronto, 1867. He died in 1882 and was buried in 
the chancel of the church where for so many years he had ministered. 
Lithograph. Size 12 x 15. Head and shoulders. See 3200. 

276 RAVEN PLUME The first bazaar in York (Toronto) was held 
27th December, 1833, under the patronage of Lady Colborne, and was given 
to obtain funds for the relief of distress occasioned by a recent visitation 
of cholera. The "Raven Plume" was written for the York Bazaar and sung 
on that occasion by J. E. Goodson, Esq. The song, a romance from a 
Welsh legendary tale, was dedicated to Miss Mary Powell, and was com- 
posed by Mr. I. W. Cawdell, who later was librarian and secretary to the 
Law Society of Upper Canada at Osgoode Hall. Original MSS of music. 

277 A LEAPING FIN-BACK Whaling off the British Columbia Coast, 
1912 The artist, who spent some time with the whalers on the north 
coast of Vancouver Island, has here depicted a seventy-foot fin-back whale 
leaping into the air after having been harpooned. These fin-backs average 
seventy feet in length, yielding some forty barrels of oil. During the 
whaling season, which covers nine months of the year, a fleet of small 
vessels is employed, bringing in as many as a dozen prizes a day. Oil, in 
Jblack and white, by Arthur Heming, Toronto. Size 14 x 21. 

278 PROPOSED FIRST GAS LAMP, TORONTO, 1840 "To the Right 
Honorable the Mayor, Aldermen and Common Council of the City of To- 
ronto, this elevation of an obelisk suggested to be erected at the junction 
of King and Yonge Streets, is most respectfully inscribed by their obedient 
humble servant, Thomas Glegg, Architect, July, 1840. It is proposed that 
this obelisk be lighted with oil until it is decided to introduce gas into 
the city. The requisite number, of lamps similar to the ^bove to be made 
and the lamp posts to be cast of a pattern as near as possible to agree in 
design with the obelisk." This lamp post was never erected. Toronto's 
streets were first lighted with gas on 28th Dec., 1841. Photograph from 
original in Board of Works Office, City Hall. Size 10 x 13. 

279 -CUTTING UP A BLUE WHALE At Kyuquot, Vancouver Island, 
1912 The men at the whaling station, the most weasterly on the island 
are engaged in cutting up the bone taken from the skull of an eighty-two 
foot blue whale, captured by a whaling party which Mr. Heming accom- 
panied. The blubber is first stripped off, cut into pieces about a foot 
square, thrown into a chopping machine and ^he minced fat carried to the 
rendering tanks. It is then boiled in these steam tanks, allowed to settle 
and cool, filtered and barrelled. The sediment, or stearine remaining, 
which resembles lard, is valuable in the making of soap and candles. The 
flesh is cooked, dried, screened and blown into sacks, to be sold as 
fertilizer. The bones, after having been boiled, are broken up, dried and 
pounded fine, and then also sold as fertilizer. Oil, in black and white, by 
Arthur Heming, Toronto. Size 14 x 22. 



47 

280 GIVINS HOMESTEAD Front view, 1888 There is some doubt 
as to when this house was built by Col. James Givins, Supt. Indian De- 
partment, Upper Canada, who bought the land, one of twentyeight park 
lots, consisting of one hundred acres each, from Col. Joseph Bouchette in 
1802. The homestead was situated on what was known as Pine Grove, 
North road, and the house was reached from Dundas street, north of Queen, 
east side, near the first turn. It was demolished in 1891, and the site is 
now (1916) 28 Halton street, while the property at the back, on the south 
side of Arthur street, is occupied by houses Nos. 259-279, opposite 
North Givins street. Givins street, north of College, is now Roxton road. 
Pen drawing by Owen Staples. Size 10 x 15. See 272, 675, 681. 

281 "TORONTO HARBOUR IN 1820 Facsimile of an original draw- 
ing by Sir Peregrine Maitland, K.C.B., Lieutt.-Governor of Upper Canada. 
W. C. Chewett & Co., Litho., Toronto." Size 5 x 10. 

282 JONES, REV. PETER "Kahkewaquonaby, Peter Jones. Painted 
by Matilda Jones. Engraved by T. A. Dean. Published by Mason, 14 
City Road and 66 Paternoster Row." An Ojibway missionary and chief, 
who for thirty-one years labored in the ministry of the Wesleyan Method- 
ist Church. Born January 1st, 1802, in the woods at Burlington Heights, 
C.W. His father, Augustus Jones, who was of Welsh extraction, is notable 
as the man who made the earliest surveys in Northumberland County. 
Peter, or, according to his Indian designation, Kahkewaquonaby (Sacred 
Waving Feathers), until he reached the age of fourteen, was brought up in 
the customs and superstitutions of his Indian mother. His death occurred 
in Toronto, June 29th, 1856. Line engraving. Size 4x5. Half length. 

283 THE GRANGE Head of John street, Toronto The main build- 
ing was erected about 1820 by D'Arcy Boulton, eldest son of Justice Boul- 
ton. The gate, now crowded back to the head of John street, was origin- 
ally at Queen street, and the house was reached by a central drive through 
the grounds, beginning at the east side of McCaul street. In the social 
life of York and Toronto the Grange played an important part, many 
notables having been entertained there. After the death of D'Arcy Boul- 
ton in 1844, his widow continued to reside there with her eldest son, 
William Henry Boulton. The widow of the latter married Prof. Goldwin 
Smith. Mrs. Smith died 9th Sept., 1909, and her husband in 1910. By the 
terms of her will, The Grange passed to the recently-formed Art Museum 
of Toronto. Etching by Henry S. Rowland, jr., 1887. Size 5x8. 

284 COLBORNE LODGE, HIGH PARK Residence of J. G. Howard, 
architect and surveyor; one of the early settlers of York. Pen drawing 
by Owen Staples. Size 10 x 16. 

285 GOVERNMENT HOUSE, TORONTO, C.W., 1 828-62 Southwest 
corner King and Simcoe streets. Water color. Size 12 x 19. See 296. 

286 PRICE "The Hon. James Hervey Price, M.P. for the South Rid- 
ing of York, and her Majesty's Commissioner of Crown Lands, Canada. 
First City Clerk of Toronto in the Year of its Incorporation, 1834. Painted 
by Theople. Hamel. Lith. by F. Davignon. Print by Nagel, N.Y." Size 
10 x 10. Half length. See 750. 

287 CELEBRATED MURDER TRIAL Grace Marks, alias Mary 
Whitney, and James McDermott, as they appeared in the Court House, 
Church street, Toronto, 3rd Nov., 1841, accused of murdering Mr. Thomas 
Kinnear, a resident of Yonge street road, near Richmond Hill, and his 
housekeeper, Nancy Montgomery. Reproduction of pen sketches made at 
trial. Size 5x6. 



48 

288 ELMSLEY VILLA, TORONTO Situated on what Is now the 
northwest corner of Grosvenor and St. Vincent streets. View looking east 
and north This charming roughcast villa was built, 1839-40, by Hon. John 
Simcoe Macaulay, and during Lord Elgin's residence in Toronto, 1849-54, 
was used for the gubernatorial mansion, as the real Government House 
was at that time undergoing extensive repairs. Lord Elgin was particularly 
attracted by the surroundings of Elmsley Villa, and when he came from 
Montreal in the autumn of 1849 expressed himself as highly pleased with 
his new home. From 1855-75 Knox College held its sessions here, and a 
considerable addition was made to the original building to provide dormi- 
tories for the students. Finally the site was occupied by the Central 
(Grosvenor Street) Presbyterian Church, which, in 1916, is still standing. 
Photo of pencil drawing in possession of the Misses Macaulay, Exmouth, 
England. Size 5x8. See 289. 

289 ELMSLEY VILLA View looking west. Photo of pencil drawing 
in possession of the Misses Macauley, Exmouth, Eng. Size 6x8. See 288. 

290 "ROSEDALE," TORONTO The residence of Sheriff Wm. Bots- 
ford Jarvis. Built in 1821 by Hon. J. E. Small, on the north side of Rose- 
dale Ravine, opposite the "white bridge," which crossed the ravine from 
the northerly limit of Gwynne St. (Park Road), where it united with 
Little James St. (Collier). The property was purchased In 1824 by the 
late Sheriff Wm. Botsford Jarvis. At that time the hillsides thereabout 
were covered with roses, hence the origin of the name, "Rosedale," which 
was given by Mrs. Jarvis, who was a granddaughter of Chief Justice 
Powell. During Sheriff Jarvis' occupation of the house, verandahs and a 
conservatory were added and extensions made. All this, however, was 
subsequently removed. A part of the house was moved *and 
made into a dwelling on Roxboro St. E., but this has also disappeared. The 
main entrance to the Jarvis property to-day is No. 12 Rosedale Road. 
Original water color by James Hamilton, London, Ont. Size 9 x 14. 

291 UNION STATION, TORONTO, 1859 In 1858 the original Union 
Station, a frame building, situated about 200 feet west of the west line of 
York St., below Front, was opened. It was considered a fine depot for 
those days. The old station at the corner of Bay and Front streets was 
torn down, all tracks moved from the bay shore bank and the new building 
at the foot of York street made the Union Station for the Grand Trunk, 
Great Western and Northern Railways. In 1871 it was demolished and a 
temporary shed put up at the western side of Simcoe street for the accom- 
modation of passengers until the completion of the second Union Station, 
which was opened on Dominion Day, 1873. The present (1916) structure 
was built, 1896. Water color by William Armstrong. Size 15 x 22. 

292 "HOUSES OF PARLIAMENT AND GOVERNMENT OFFICES, 
FRONT STREET, WEST, TORONTO, U.C., 1835 To his Excellency Major- 
General Sir John Colborne, K.C.B., etc., etc., etc., Governor of Upper Can- 
ada. This plate is by permission inscribed by his obt. hble. servant, 
Thomas Young, archt. delt. Toronto, U.C., 1835. W. K. Hewitt, delt., on 
stone. N. Currier's lith., No. 1 Wall St., N.Y." Size 8 x 18. See 1060. 

293 TORONTO STREET RAILWAY TICKETS The first tickets for 
the Sunday service, inaugurated Sunday, May 23, 1897. 

294 BROWN, PETER, 1800-63 Came to America from Edinburgh in 

He was an accomplished writer and a keen politician on the side 

-.iberalism; edited for a time the British Chronicle, New York; resided 

Toronto for many years, where he continued the publication of the 

,^ er m r hi ^ son ' the late Hon - George Brown, assumed managership 

the Toronto Globe in March, 1844. Photo, hand colored, from a portrait 

in possession of his grandson, E. B. Brown, K.C., Toronto 






49 

295 BROWN, MRS. PETER (Marianne Mackenzie) Only daughter 
of George Mackenzie, of Stornoway, in the Island of Lewis, Scotland. 
Died in 1861. Photo, hand colored, from a portrait in possession of her 
grandson, E. B. Brown, K.C., Toronto. Size 8 x 10. (Including foregoing) . 
Half length. 

296 "GOVERNMENT HOUSE AND GROUNDS, TORONTO, C.W., 
ON THE QUEEN'S BIRTHDAY, 1854 Lucius O'Brien, del. Litho., J. 
Ellis, King St., Toronto." Government House, southwest corner King and 
Simcoe Streets, Toronto, was built in 1828; burnt Jan., 1862; rebuilt 1867, 
and finally demolished in 1912 to make room for C.P.R. freight sheds and 
offices. On 24th May, 1854, a procession was formed at the City Hall, 
headed by police, members of the corporation, fire brigade, national socie- 
ties, and the citizens generally. The procession was escorted by Col. 
Denison's demi-troop of Provincial Cavalry. Triumphal arches were erected 
at different points on King Street. On arrival at Government House 
grounds a public meeting was held, presided over by the Mayor. Sheriff 
Jarvis, Henry Sherwood, M.P.P., Hon. J. H. Cameron, G. P. Ridout, M.P.P., 
Dr. McCaul, William Cawthra and other prominent citizens were present, 
and an address to the Queen was prepared for presentation. Over 5,000 
persons were present, and great enthusiasm prevailed. At the conclusion 
cheers were given for the Queen, the Emperor of the French and the 
Turks. The Crimean War was on at the time. Lithograph. Size 17 x 23. 
See 285. 

297 TORONTO IN 1908 Key to. See 298. 

298 TORONTO IN 1908 From an oil painting in the J. Ross Robert- 
son collection of pictures of Toronto in the City Hall, by Owen Staples, 
O.S.A. Water color copy. Size 14 x 60. See 297. 

299 THE PIONEER WIMBLEDON RIFLEMEN, 1871 First team to 
represent Canada in England with key. The first Wimbledon Team was 
financed by private subscriptions from military men all over Ontario. 
Col. Skinner, of Hamilton, was largely responsible for assembling the 
team. The members were chosen by competition at their own head- 
quarters, and were then sent to Hamilton to shoot for position on the team 
at the Victoria Rifle Range of the 13th Battalion. Photograph, colored, 
from a half-tone. Size 6 x 12. 

300 OSGOODE "Hon. William Osgoode, First Chief Justice of 
Upper Canada. British American Bank Note Co., Montreal." Line en- 
graving. Size 4x4. Head and shoulders. See lb4. 

301 FALCONBRIDGE, CHIEF JUSTICE HON. SIR WILLIAM GLEN- 
HOLME Born at Drummondville, Ont. 1846. Educated at Barrie Grammar 
School, U. C. Model Grammar School and the University of Toronto; gold 
medalist in moderns. Became a barrister in 1871, and as a member of the 
firm of Harrison, Osier & Moss successfully practised his profession here. 
Appointed Registrar of Toronto University, 1872, and subsequently a sen- 
ator. K.C., 1885. In Nov., 1887, was appointed Judge of the Queen's 
Bench Division of the Supreme Court of Judicature, Ontario. In 1900 
elevated to the Chief Justiceship. Was a member of the commission ap- 
pointed in 1896 to revise the Statutes of Ontario, and of the commission 
chosen in 1901 to collect and revise the Imperial Statute's affecting civil 
rights in the Province. Knighted in 1908. President High Court of Justice, 
1916. Has written metrical translations of the Latin and German poets. 
Photograph. Size 4x5. Three-quarter length, sitting. 

302 WATKINS AND HARRIS CURRENCY, TORONTO In 1838-9 
Upper Canada suffered great inconvenience from the scarcity of fractional 
currency, caused by the suspension of specie payments in consequence of 
the Rebellion. Due bills of merchants increased to such an extent that 



50 ..- 

people became shy of accepting them. Mr. T. D. Harris, of the hardware 
firm of Watkins & Harris, King street east, on permission of the Mayor, 
issued fractional currency, an example of which is here given. The bills 
were redeemable at the "Sign of the Anvil and Sledge," the well-known sign 
of the firm, and were guaranteed. The total amount put out was several 
thousand dollars. Mr. Watkins subsequently sold his share in the business, 
which was commenced in 1829, and discontinued in 1860. The place of 
occupancy during that time was a brick building, No. 158 King street east 
It was destroyed by fire, and when re-built became the Clyde Hotel. 

303 TICKET OF ADMISSION TO JENNY LIND CONCERT IN ST. 
LAWRENCE HALL, TORONTO, 21ST OCT., 1851 Jenny Lind was a 
Swedish vocalist of exceptional ability, who began to sing on the stage at 
ten years of age. In 1850-2 she toured the United States and Canada, and 
then returned to Europe. When she visited Toronto she gave a concert in 
St. Lawrence Hall, the proceeds of which were to be devoted to the found- 
ing of some charity commemorative of the event. The Protestant Orphans' 
Home was the result. 

004 OLDEST LOG HOUSE IN PEEL COUNTY, ONT., 13421916' 
Home of Miss Margaret Higgiston, picturesquely situated on the second 
concession, Caledon Township, near Inglewood, and built by Malcolm Hig- 
giston, who emigrated from Scotland in the early thirties. The quaint old 
cottage, which was altered and repaired in the summer of 1912, was occu- 
pied by Miss Higgiston until her death in March, 1916. Water color by 
Owen Staples. Size 13 x 20. 

305 MOSS PARK. TORONTO Residence of the late Hon. G. W. Allan. 
Original pen drawing, made in 1842. Size 10 x 16. See 508. 

306 JACOBI, OTTO R., 1812-1901 President Royal Canadian Aca- 
demy Born in Koenigsburg, Prussia. At an early age devoted himself to 
art, and for twenty years held the position of court painter at Wiesbaden. 
In 1860 he was invited to Canada to paint a picture of Shawinigan Falls', to 
be used in connection with the reception of the Prince of Wales. On the 
organization of the Royal Canadian Academy of Art, 1880, Mr. Jacobi was 
chosen as one of the first members of that body by the Marquis of Lome, 
and in 1891 was elected President. Photo. Size 4x5. Pull length, sitting. 

307 CROOKSHANK, RACHEL Sister of Hon. George Crookshank, 
Commissary-General, second wife (1817) of Dr. James Macaulay, of the 
Queen's Rangers. Miss Crookshank was an intimate friend of Mrs. Simcoe. 
From a silhouette in possession of her niece, the late Mrs. Stephen Reward, 
daughter of the Hon. George Crookshank. Size 3x4. Head, in profile. 

308 "HOUSE OF PROVIDENCE, TORONTO, CANADA WEST T.ith. 
par Courtois, Imp. Villain, 45 rue de Sevres, Paris, 1855. Wm. Hay, Archi- 
tect." One of the largest charitable institutions in the Province of Ontario 
is that known as the House of Providence, Power St., Toronto. It is an 
imposing ^difice, the main building being 130 x 60 feet and four storeys 
high, founded by Mgr. Armand, Comte de Charbonnel, second Roman 
Catholic Bishop of Toronto. In 1857 the building was opened under the 

ction and management of the Sisters of St. Joseph for the care of the 

aged and infirm of both sexes. Becoming overcrowded, the Sisters erected 

a ^ e l Wing in 1874 ' and in 1881 built a chapel. Later a large wing was 

I to the south, together with a Community House. Again to relieve 

congested condition of the house it became necessary, in 1906, to 
fnfan ^addition on the east side for the accommodation of neglected 



309-YORK (TORONTO), 1824 Key to. See 310. 




51 

310 YORK (TORONTO), 1824 From a water color by a British army 
officer stationed in York at that time. View shows from the north-east corner 
of East Market Square (Jarvis St.) and east along Palace (Front St.) to 
Parliament, afterwards known as Berkeley St. In 1824 Parliament ran 
from Palace to King St. Water color copy by Owen Staples. Size 16 x 40 
See 309. 

311 "SLEIGH SCENE, TORONTO BAY, CANADA WEST This print 
is dedicated by permission to the officers of the 83rd Regiment by the 
artist. Painted by Mr. J. T. Downman. Lithographed by Mr. E. Walker, 
London. Published by the proprietor, March 26^ 1853 (private plate), 
Ackermann & Co., Direxnt. Printed by Day & Son/Lithrs. to the Queen." 
The picture depicts a scene between Yonge street and the Garrison, when 
the 83rd Regiment was stationd at the Old Fort. The foreground, showing 
the Bay, is correct, and is the only part of the drawing made by Downman. 
The picture was finished in England, and the background north from the 
shore line faked that is, it was drawn from memory, and is in no particu- 
lar like Front street, Toronto, or the city in 1841-2. Lithograph in color. 
Size 21 x 31. 

312 GATES, RICHARD H. Born in Belfast, Ireland, in 1809. Came to 
Canada in 1817. Educated here and in England. Subsequently entered the 
millstone business at Bradford. It was he who in 1868 conceived the idea 
of forming the York Pioneer Society, the first meeting of which was held 
on April 17th of the following year. Mr. Gates was a son of Captain 
Edward Gates, and a direct descendant of John Hampden, the great Eng- 
lish political reformer in the reign of Charles I. He died in 1881. Line 
engraving. Size 4 x~4. Head and shoulders. 

313 DUGGAN, HON. GEORGE, 1813-76 Born in Malon, Ireland; 
studied law in Canada. At the time of the Rebellion in 1837 he was in 
charge of some troops at Toronto, and upon going out to reconnoitre was 
taken prisoner. Represented 2nd Riding of York, 1841-44. While Recorder 
of the City of Toronto in 1865 he tried the celebrated case of Bennett G. 
Burley lor extradition to United States. In IboS received appointment as 
Senior Judge of the County of York. From a portrait in possession of his 
son, Henry Duggan, Clerk 10th Division Court, Toronto. Size 5 x 6. Head 
and shoulders. 

314 SCADDING, REV. HENRY, D.D., 1813-1901 Third son of John 
Scadding; born in Devonshire, Eng.; came to Canada, 1824. Educated at 
U. C. C., Toronto, and a graduate of St. John's College, Cambridge, 1837. 
Classical master, U. C. C., 1838-62; rector of Holy Trinity Church, Toronto, 
1847-75. Photograph. Size 7 x 10. Three-quarteT length, sitting. See 2509, 
2511, 3698. 

315 ROBINSON, SIR JOHN BEVERLEY, Bart., D.C.L. Second son of 
Christopher Robinson, born at Berthier, L.C., July, 1791; died at Toronto, 
January 1863. He served under General Brock at Detroit and Queenston 
Heights, and in the same year was appointed Acting Attorney-General of 
Upper Canada, and subsequently became Solicitor-General and Attorney- 
General of the Province. In 1821 became first representative of York in 
Provincial Legislature. Chief Justice of Upper Canada, 1829-63. From 
the first sketch for an oil painted in 1856 by James Richmond, a celebrated 
British artist. Size 12 x 16. Head and shoulders. See 1683. 

316 DESIGN OF PRINCE OF WALES' ARCH At foot of John St., 
Toronto, 1860, to welcome H.R.H. The late King Edward, when Prince of 
Wales, visited Canada in the summer of 1860. From Brockville his party 
sailed in the steamer Kingston, and after touching at several places en 
route, arrived in Toronto on 7th September. The steamer landed at a 
dock at the foot of John St. Near the edge of the bank at the foot of the 



52 

street was erected a handsome arch, under which the procession which 
received the Prince passed on its way to Government House, corner Simcoe 
and King streets, where H.R.H. sojourned during his stay in Toronto. 
Original water color. Size 18 x 26. 

317 to 330-"BISHOPS OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PROVINCE OF 
QUEBEC 1884 Public par Asselin & Dumont, Manchester, N.H. Copy- 
righted 1884 by Asselin & Dumont at Washington, B.C. S. C. Carbee, 
England, 576 Washington St., Boston, Mass., U.S.A." Lithograph. Size 5 
x24. 

317LAROQUE, S.G./MGR. JOSEPH Bishop of Germanicopolis. Born 
at Chambly, Que., Aug. 28th, 1808. Ordained to the priesthood, 1835, and 
consecrated titulary Bishop of Cydonia, 1852; Coadjutor of Montreal; trans- 
ferred to St. Hyacinthe, 1860. In 1865 he resigned and two years later was 
named Titulary Bishop of Germanicopolis. Died Nov. 18th, 1887. Head 
and* shoulders. 

318 LAFLECHE, S.G., MGR. LOUIS FRANCOIS, D.D. Second Bishop 
of Three Rivers. Born at Ste. Anne de la Perade, Que., 1818, and educated 
at the Seminary, Nicolet; ordained at Quebec, 1844. For a time he labored 
as a missionary among the Indians of the North-West and later occupied 
the chair of Mathematics and Philosophy at Nicolet, eventually becoming 
prefect of studies and Superior of the College. In 1861 he was appointed 
Vicar-General of the Diocese. Created titulary Bishop or Anthedon and 
at the same time named Coadjutor to Mgr. Cooke, Bishop of Three Rivers. 
He subsequently became Administrator of the Diocese, and succeeded to 
the Bishopric, April 30th, 1870. His death occurred July 14, 1898. Head 
and shoulders. 

319_ FA BRE, S.G., MGR. EDOUARD CHARLES, D.D. First Archbishop 
of Montreal. Born at Montreal, Feb. 28th, 1827; ordained a priest, 1850. 
In 1873 appointed Coadjutor-Bishop cum jure successionis of Montreal, and ii 
the same year consecrated titulary Bishop of Gratianopolis. Bishop 
Montreal, May llth, 1876, and raised to the Archiepiscopal dignity, Jui 
8th, 1886. His death occurred December 30th, 1896. Head and shoulders. 

320 DU HAM EL, S.G., MGR. JOSEPH THOMAS, D.D. Archbishop 
Ottawa. He was born at Contrecoeur, Que., in 1841, but shortly afterwards 
removed with his parents to Ottawa. Educated at St. Joseph's College in 
that city, and ordained to the priesthood in 1863. Consecrated second R.( 
Bishop of Ottawa, Oct. 28th, 1874. In 1886 he was made Archbishop, ai 
Metropolitan of the Ecclesiastical Province of Ottawa the following year. 
Was the means of securing for the College of Ottawa the powers of a 
Catholic University, and also established "Les Conferences Ecclesiastiques" 
for the better management of the affairs of the diocese. Died June 5th, 1909. 
Head and shoulders. 

321 BOURGET, S.G., MGR. IGNACE, D.D Archbishop of Martianopolis 
Born at Pointe Levis, 1799. Educated at Nicolet and Seminary of Quebec. 
Subsequent to his ordination appointed Vicar-General and in 1837 nominate*: 
Coadjutor Bishop of Montreal, with the title of Bishop of Telmessa. Becaim 
Bishop of Montreal, 19th April, 1840. In 1862 he was created a Roma 
Count and Assistant at the Pontifical throne. Raised to the rank of Arch- 
bishop of Martianopolis. His closing years were spent at Sault au Recollet 
where he died, June 8th, 1885. Head and shoulders. See 2827. 

322 LAFORCE-LANGEVIN, S.G., MGR. JEAN PIERRE FRANCOI 
Bishop of Rimouski. Born at Quebec, Sept. 22, 1821. Ordained to th< 

sthood, 1844, and consecrated first Bishop of Saint Germain d 
Rimouski May 1st, 1867; resigned and was nominated Archbishop o 
sl e ould P rs He dled in January of tlie following year. Head ahc 



53 

323 MOREAU, S.G., MGR. LOUIS ZEPHlR IN Bishop of St. 

Hyacinthe. He was born at Becancourt (Nicolet), Que., April 1st 1824, and 
educated at the Seminary, Nicolet. After his ordination to the priesthood 
became Assistant Secretary and Master of Ceremonies at the Bishop's 
Palace, Montreal. In 1852 he accompanied Mgr. Prince to St. Hyacinthe 
as Secretary, and was later appointed Vicar-General of that diocese. Raised 
to the episcopate as fourth Bishop of St. Hyacinthe, 1875. His death took 
place May 24th, 1901. Head and shoulders. 

324 SMEULDERS, S. E., DOM HENRI Apostolic Delegate. A Bel- 
gian ecclesiastic. He was appointed Apostolic Delegate to Canada by 
Pope Leo XIII., to report upon matters affecting University education in 
Quebec, chiefly in connection with Laval, and also to investigate certain 
diocesan difficulties which had arisen. The result of his mission has 
never been made public. Head and shoulders. 

325 S. S. POPE LEO XIII. Born at Carpineto, Diocese of Anagni, in 
the Papal States, March 2nd, 1810. He was the son of Count Louis Pecci, 
a scion of an ancient noble house of Sienna. In 1818 he was sent with his 
oldest brother to the College of the Jesuits in Viterbo, and later studied at 
Rome. Afterwards studied law and diplomacy at the Academy of Noble 
Ecclesiastics. In 1837 he was named by Gregory XVI. Prelate of his house- 
hold and Referendary of the Segnatura. After a somewhat varied career 
he was preconized Archbishop of Dalmatia in partibus, and sent in the 
quality of apostolic nuncio to the Court of Belgium. Preconized Bishop of 
Perugia in 1846, and at the same time named a Cardinal. On the death of 
Pius IX. in 1878 he became Pope, with the title of Leo XIII. Died 1903. Half 
length. 

326 TASCHEREAU, S.G., MGR. ELZEAR ALEXANDRE, D.D. 

Archbishop of Quebec. Born in 1820 at Ste. Marie de la Beauce, Que., and 
educated at the Quebec Seminary and the Grand Seminary. Ordained to 
the priesthood, 1842. Elected Superior, 1860. Became Vicar-General of the 
Archdiocese, 1862, and consecrated sixteenth Archbishop of Quebec, March 
19th, 1871. Founder of the Hotel Dieu du Sacre-Coeur, Quebec. In 1886 
created a Cardinal Priest of the Holy Roman Church, being the first 
Canadian to be elevated to the Sacred College. He retired from active 
work in 1894, and died four years later. Head and shoulders. See 1656. 

327 RACINE, S.G., MGR. ANTOINE, D.D. First Bishop of Sher- 
brooke. He was born at St. Ambroise de la Jeune Lorette, Que., January 
26th, 1822. On completing his studies he was ordained to the priesthood 
in September, 1844. Consecrated first Bishop of Sherbrooke, October 18th, 
1874. His death took place in 1893. Head and shoulders. 

328 LORRAIN, S.G., MGR. NARCISSE ZEPHIRIN, D.D. Titulary 
Bishop of Cythere. Received his education at the College of Ste. Therese 
and at Laval University (B.Sc., 1864). Ordained a priest three years later, 
and became assistant director at Ste. Therese. Appointed Vicar-General 
of the Diocese of Montreal, 1880. On erection of the new Vicariate- 
Apostolic of Pontiac, 1882, he was consecrated to it. Received the degree 
of DJ). from Rome in the same year. In 1898 the Diocese of Pembroke 
was formed from the Apostolic Vicariate of Pontiac, and he became Bishop 
of Pembroke. He was born at St. Martin, Que., in 1842. His death took 
place at Pembroke, Dec. 17th, 1915. Head and shoulders. 

329 BOSSE, MGR. FRANCOIS XAV I ER Apostolic Prefect of the 
Gulf of St. Lawrence. Born at Ste. Anne de Lapocatiere, Kamouraska Co., 
Que., 6th September, 1838; ordained to the priesthood, 4th October, 1863. 
In 1895 the Apostolic Prefecture became the Vicariate-Apostolic of the 
Gulf of St. Lawrence. Head and shoulders. 



54 

330 RACINE, S.G., MGR. DOMINIQUE, D.D. Bishop of Chicoutimi 
Consecrated Bishop, August 4th, 1878, by Mgr. Taschereau He was bor 
at Saint Ambroise de la Jeune Lorette, Que January 24th, 1828 Ordamc 
to the priesthood in 1853. Died January 28th, 1888. Head and shoulders. 

331 SOUTH SIDE KING STREET EAST, TORONTO, 1858 FroL 
store of A & S. Nordheimer, No. 14 King street east to St. Lawrence 
Market The stores shown are those of A. & S. Nordheimer, Maclear & Co., 
Wylie & Murray, Thomas & Arthurs, J. W. Skelton, Merrick & Wilson, 
Robert Walker & Son, J. C. Collins and Charles Cook. Chromolithograph. 
Size 3x5. 

332 HOMESTEAD OF THE HELLIWELL FAMILY, YORK, (T< 
RONTO) On the bank of the Don, north of Taylor's Mills. The house 
fv-as built by Thomas Helliwell in 1820, and is still in a good state of preser 
vation Mr. Helliwell came to this country in 1818, and for a time residei 
at Lundy's Lane. He determined, however, to settle at York, and in 1820, 
built a brewery and distillery on the Don. Pencil drawing in color, by Owei 
Staples. Size 5x8. 

333 BLOCKHOUSE AT THE HEAD OF SHERBOURNE STREET, 
TORONTO This was one of three modern blockhouses (the others being 
at College st. and Spadina ave., and at Yorkville, east of Yonge st.) 
which surrounded the city. It stood on the exact line of Bloor street, going 
east, at the east end of this road, and in the middle just over the steep descent 
to the valley of the Don, to avoid which precipitous descent the road turned 
aside southwards towards Sherbourne street. Mr. Hirschfelder's house am" 
grounds were immediately south of this blockhouse. It was built 1837-8, at 
time of the rebellion troubles, in order to protect the city from the north, anc 
was demolished in 1875. Water color by Henry Perre, of Toronto, 1863. 
Size 5x7. 

334 OLDEST PLANTED TREE IN TORONTO A native white elm- 
This noted landmark of the northern part of Toronto stands in the grounds 
of Rosedale House, residence of the late Wm. Botsford Jarvis, who froi 
1827-56 was Sheriff of the Home District. It was two years old wh< 
planted, on 24th May, 1822, by Amelia Jarvis, eldest daughter of Fredericl 
Starr Jarvis, a brother of the Sheriff. The event commemorated the birth- 
day of Princess Victoria (her Majesty Queen Victoria), 24th May, 1819, 
which was also the birthday of Amelia Jarvis. The fused tree, which 
comes from one root, has the remarkable girth of 26 feet, due to branching 
very low. This measurement includes the main trunk, (1) which is by 
itself 21 * feet, and a branch, (2) by itself of 8 feet. The crown is 
tremely broad, having a sweep greater than the height of the tree, whicl 
is 75 feet. The average increase in radius of half an inch a year shows 
that its age is 95 years. The main entrance to the Jarvis property to-day 
is No. 12 Rosedale road. The original residence was demolished mai 
years ago and nothing remains (1916) to mark the site except a few oul 
houses. Photograph, colored. Size 5x7. 

335 "THE CRICKET MATCH PLAYED AT TORONTO, CANADA 
ON THE 2ND AND 3RD OF SEPTEMBER, 1872 Between Twelve of th< 
Gentlemen of England and Twenty-two of the Toronto Club. Dedicated b] 
permission to T. C. Patteson, Esq., the Originator and Promoter of th< 
Expedition. Designed and lithographed by Rolph, Smith & Co., Toront 
Entered according to Act of Parliament of Canada in the year one thousan< 
eight hundred and seventy-five, by Rolph, Smith & Co., in the office of th( 
Minister of Agriculture." This picture was presented to J. Ross Robertsoi 
by the William Rennie Co., Limited, 130-6 Adelaide street east, Toronl 
Lithograph. Size 20 x 35. See 336. 



55 

336 CRICKET MATCH, TORONTO, SEPT. 2ND AND 3RD, 1872 
Between the Gentlemen of England and Twenty-two of the Toronto Club. 
Key. It will be noted that N. Kirchhoffer appears twice in the key, Nos. 
23 and 60. The former number shows him fielding and the latter gives his 
full portrait. See 335. 

337 TORONTO STREET R. R. TICKETS Set of first of each class 
of street railway tickets issued in Toronto when city assumed possession 
of street railway, 19th May, 1891; and also first of each series issued by 
the Kiely and Everitt Syndicate the following August. 

338 "TORONTO, CANADA WEST, FROM THE TOP OF THE JAIL 

Drawn from nature by E. Whitefield. Lith. of Endicott & Co., N.Y. En- 
tered according to Act of Congress in the year 1854, by E. Whitefield, in 
the Clerk's Office of the District Court of the Southern District of New 
York." The jail, which was the third structure of the kind in Toronto, was 
built in 1840, near the corner of Front and Berkeley streets, the entrance 
being on the north from Front street. It overlooked the harbor, and a 
green running to the water's edge was a favorite playground for the boys 
of Toronto sixty years ago. Several of the city's principal educational and 
ecclesiastical buildings of the period are shown, and indeed some of them 
may be seen to-day (1917) as they appeared in 1854. The buildings indi- 
cated are: 1. City Hall. 2. Lunatic Asylum. 3. Trinity College. 4. Os- 
goode Hall. 5. St. Lawrence Hall. 6. St. James' Cathedral. 7. Congrega- 
tional Church. 8. St. Andrew's Church. 9. United Presbyterian Church. 
10. St. George's Church. 11. Knox Church. 12. Mechanics' Institute. 13. 
Holy Trinity Church. - 14. St. Michael's Cathedral. 15. Normal School. 
16, Unitarian Church. Lithograph. Size 20 x 36. 

339 MEMBERS OF ST. ANDREW'S SOCIETY, TORONTO, 1874-75 
With key. The Society was founded in May, 1836, with Hon. Wm. Allan 
as President. As early as 1822, however, Scotsmen in York (Toronto) met 
in reunion on St. Andrew's Day, for in the Upper Canada Gazette of 12th 
Dec., 1822, is the following: "The Sons of St. Andrew, residing in York, 
celebrated the anniversary of the Saint by giving a dinner to the principal 
gentlemen of the place on the 30th ult. The Company, consisting of nearly 
forty persons, sat down to an elegant dinner at Forest's Hotel, about six 
o'clock, the Venerable Chief Justice Scott in the chair, having the Hon. 
Chief Justice Powell and the Hon. James Baby on the left and right hands." 
The Portrait gives as many members as it was possible to assemble to- 
gether at the time. Mr. John MacKenzie, Toronto, prepared the key, 
which gives the years of joining. The names marked (x) indicate those 
who were alive in 1913, and the blanks are unknown. Col. J. Forbes 
Michie is President, 1913-16. Photograph. Size 13 x 18. 

340 OPENING OF CITY HALL, QUEEN STREET WEST, TORONTO 

The present City Hall, on Queen street west, at the head of Bay, wa& 
formally opened, September 18th, 1899, Mayor John Shaw presiding. The 
key accompanying the picture gives the names of the City Council, offi- 
cials of the Corporation, and a large number of leading citizens who were 
photographed immediately after the close of the proceedings. Photograph. 
Size 15x18. 

341 TORONTO, C.W., IN THE SUMMER OF 1851 From Gooder- 
ham's Windmill at the east end of the city, showing Palace (Front) street 
and Front west to the Old Fort, the then western limit of Toronto, with 
key to picture. W T ater color, made on the spot, by Frederick H. Granger, 
scenic artist of the Royal Lyceum Theatre, Toronto. Size 17 x 54. 



56 

342 "SWORDS' HOTEL Front street, Toronto, between York and 
Bav streets P Swords, Proprietor." The buildings in the picture were 
four dwelling houses, called the Ontario Terrace, erected about 1845, on 
the north side of Front, between York and Bay streets. They were occu- 
Died from 1848-53 by Knox College, and a year later became Swords Hotel, 
under the proprietorship of P. Swords. From 1860-62 the business was 
carried on by J. B. Riley, as the Revere House. Since 1862 the hotel has 
been known as the Queen's under the proprietorship of Capt. Thos. Dick 
up to 1874, McGaw and Irish, 1875, and 1876-1916 McGaw and Winnett. 
Lithographed by Maclear & Co., Toronto. Size 19 x 29. 

343 JOHNSON, PETER Eldest son of Sir William Johnson, Bart., 
and Molly Brant, sister of Captain Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea). Oil 
painting. Size 23 x 30. Half length. 

344 OLD FORT, TORONTO, 1879 Showing officers' house and offi< 
of Lieut -Col. William S. Durie, who from 1868-80 was Deputy Adjutant- 
General, Military District No. 2. This sketch was begun in 1878 and fin- 
ished some months later, after a storm had knocked off the top of the 
poplar tree shown. Sepia drawing by J. O. Fowler. Size 7x8. 

345 HAMILTON'S WHARF, FOOT OF SCOTT STREET, TORONTO, 
1879 The city map of 1842 shows seven wharves, one of which was that 
owned by James Browne, east of Scott street. In 1840-56 the Royal Mail 
steamers sailed from this wharf, which has been leased to Mr. J. Borst & 
Co., Robert Hamilton and others. It is now (1917) the Toronto Electric 
Light Company's wharf, but when the harbor improvements are made these 
works will be removed. Sepia drawing by J. O. Fowler. Size 7x8. 

346 OLD FORT, TORONTO, 1879 The blockhouse shown was built 
by Gov. Simcoe when the Fort was laid out. It was in the centre of the 
Old Fort, and at the west end of Front street. In 1813 it was destroyed by 
the Americans, but was rebuilt two years later, and between 1820-25 a 
second blockhouse, to the east of the first one, was erected. The "Old 
Well" of the Fort, used in 1812-13, is also shown. Sepia drawing by J. O. 
Fowler. Size 7x9. 

347 QUEEN'S PARK, TORONTO, 1879 South of the culvert leading 
to the little streamlet that emptied into the pool east of the University. 
A miniature lake was constructed in the ravine, and remained in existence 
for some time, but finally, the water becoming stagnant, it was drained off 
and. the ravine regained its former appearance. Sepia drawing by J. O. 
Fowler. Size 7x8. 

348-59 LEGISLATURES OF ONTARIO With keys. First Legisla- 
ture, 1867-71; Second, 1871-4; Third, 1875-9; Fourth, 1879-83; Fifth, 1883-6; 
Sixth, 1886-90, met in the old Parliament Buildings, Front street west, To- 
ronto. The sessions of 1890-92 of the Seventh Legislature also met on 
Front street, while those of 1893-94 were held in Queen's Park. The 
Eighth Legislature, 1894-98; Ninth, 1898-1902; Tenth, 1902-4; Eleventh, 
1905-8; Twelfth, 1908-11; Thirteenth, 1911-14, have met in the Parliament 
Buildings, Queen's Park, Toronto. In 1867 when Confederation became 
an accomplished fact, Provincial Legislatures were again organized, and 
The Sixth Parliamentary era began. Ontario was divided into eighty-two 
electoral districts, with the same number of representatives. To-day 
(1916) there are a hundred and eleven members with a hundred and seven 
constituencies. From 1867-92 the sessions of the Ontario Legislature were 
held in the old Front street Parliament Buildings, and on April 4th, of the 
latter year, the formal opening of the building in Queen's Park took place. 
This series gives~EHe members of the different Legislatures since 1867, 



57 

with the exception of the fifth, 1883-6, which is unobtainable, and it is be- 
lieved, never photographed. With regard to the Second Legislature, the 
closing is given, 12th Nov., 1874. It is noteworthy that many of Toronto's 
prominent women are in this picture. 

348 FIRST LEGISLATURE, 1867-71 Photograph. Size 12 x 20. 

349 SECOND LEGISLATURE Closing of 12th Nov., 1874 Photo- 
graph. Size 10 x 16. 

350 THIRD LEGISLATURE, 1875-9 Photograph. Size 9 x 20. 
351 FOURTH LEGISLATURE, 1879-83 Photograph. Size 14 x 18. 
352 SIXTH LEGISLATURE, 1886-90 Photograph. Size 16 x 20. 
353 SEVENTH LEGISLATURE, 1890-4 Photograph. Size 15 x 20. 
354 EIGHTH LEGISLATURE, 1894-8 Photograph. Size 15 x 19. 
355 NINTH LEGISLATURE 1898-1902 Photograph. Size 13 x 17. 
356 TENTH LEGISLATURE, 1902-4 Photograph. Size 15 x 19. 
357 ELEVENTH LEGISLATURE, 1905-8 Photograph. Size 15 x 20. 
358TWELFTH LEGISLATURE, 1908-11 Photograph. Size 16 x 20. 
359 THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE, 1911-14 Photograph. Size 15 x 19. 

360 EDWARDS, ROBERT Secretary, 1848-58, of the old Mechanics' 
Institute, now Toronto Public Library. After his death in 1858 the mem- 
bers of the Institute subscribed for a memorial portrait. This portrait, 
until 1883, hung in the reading-room of the Institute. When the Institute was 
merged into the Public Library, the directors presented the portrait to Mr. 
William Edwards, brother of the late Robert Edwards, and himself a 
former secretary. Shortly afterwards he offered the portrait to the Public 
Library, who accepted the offer gratefully. Oil painting. Artist unknown. 
Size 29 x 35. Half length, sitting. 

361 SECOND TOLL GATE, ON YONGE STREET, TORONTO, 1870 
View looking south, near Hogg's Hollow Hill. The toll house stood on the 
left or east side of Yonge street, and the gateway, which was a covered 
one, was on the right or west side. The house to the right of the picture 
was the dwelling of the gatekeeper, while a lean-to is seen on the left. 
About 1883 this gate was removed. W. J. Hill, Reeve of York Township, 
moved in York County Council, in 1896, a by-law for the abolition of toll 
gates. It was passed, and the by-law came into effect 31st December, 1896. 
This was done by the County Council in consideration of the City Council 
abolishing market fees of the farmers. Oil painting by J. McPherson 
Ross, Toronto. Size 27 x 36. 

362 GORE, FRANCIS LIEUT.-GOVERNOR UPPER CANADA 

Aug. 25th, 1806-Oct. 9th, 1811, and from Sept. 21st, 1815-Jan. 6th, 1818 
This picture is said to have been painted by Thomas (Sir) Lawrence in 
1814, and, it is claimed, was brought to Canada in 1815 and presented to 
Col. James Givins when Gov. Gore returned to England. It hung for about 
forty-five years on the walls, of the drawing-room of the Givins Cottage, 
known as "Pine Grove," near North road (Givins street). After the death 
of Miss Cecil Givins, daughter of the Colonel, the portrait, a fine piece of 
artistic work, was given to the Mechanics' Institute, now the Toronto Public 
Library. Oil portrait. Size 25 x 30. Head and shoulders. See 409, 1669. 



58 

363 to 400 MAYORS OF TORONTO, since its incorporation in 1834, 
to 1916: 

363 MACKENZIE, WILLIAM LYON Mayor of Toronto, 1834 A 
Scotsman born near Dundee, Forfarshire, Scotland, 1795. Came to Canada 
as a voung man settling in York (Toronto), and in 1829 was elected mem- 
ber of the Provincial Legislature. He was a prominent figure in the 
Rebellion of 1837, after which he left the country, and was unable to return 
until the general amnesty in 1849. About 1850 he again obtained a seat 
in Parliament Died in Toronto, 28th August, 1861. Mr. Mackenzie was 
first Mayor, not only of Toronto, but in. the Province. Water color. Size 
5x6. Head and shoulders. See 256. 

364 SULLIVAN, ROBERT BALDWIN Mayor of Toronto, 1835 
Barrister-at-law. Born at Bandon, near Cork, Ireland, 1802. Appointed to 
the Executive Council, U.C., 1836, and was a member of the first Executive 
Council formed after the Union; Justice, Court of Queen's Bench, 1848, and 
subsequently transferred to the Common Pleas. Judge Sullivan was dis- 
tinguished as a lawyer, statesman and orator. Died at Toronto, 1853. 
Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

365 MORRISON, DAVID THOMAS Mayor of Toronto, 1836 Born 
at Quebec, 1796; died at Toronto, 1856. He was the only medical man who 
has ever occupied the Mayor's chair in Toronto. In the early days he was 
clerk in the Surveyor-General's Office; vice-president of the Bible Society, 
1831; member of the first Municipal Council, and an active politician. Was 
compelled to leave Canada after the Rebellion of 1837, but returned to 
Toronto in 1843. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

366 GURNETT, GEORGE Mayor of Toronto, 1837, 1848-50 Proprietor 
and editor of the "Courier," in the early thirties. Entered the City Council 
as Councilman for St. George's Ward in 1834; became alderman in 1835. 
To Mr. Gurnett belongs the honor of having had the longest period of 
uninterrupted municipal service in the city. Accepted position of Police 
Magistrate in 1851. He was born at Horsham, Sussex, England, in 1791. 
Died at Toronto, 17th November, 1861. Water color. Size 5x6. Head 
and shoulders. See 600. 

367 POWELL, JOHN Mayor of Toronto, 1838-40 Son of Chief Jus- 
tice Powell. Born at Niagara, U.C., 19th June, 1809. He was a barrister, 
practising in Toronto. Alderman for St. Andrew's Ward, 1837-41. He took 
active part in Rebellion of 1837. As Registrar of the County of Lincoln, he 
lived at Niagara and St. Catharines. Died at the latter place, 24th 
February, 1881. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

368 MONRO, GEORGE Mayor of Toronto, 1841 Came to Canada in 
1814 from Scotland, where he was born 1801. He carried on a wholesale 
business, southwest corner King and George streets. Was a member of 
the first City Council, represented St. Lawrence Ward almost uninterruptedly 
from 1834-45. Retired in 1857. Died in Toronto, 5th January, 1878. Water 
color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

369 SHERWOOD, HENRY Mayor of Toronto, 1842-44 He was a son 
of Judge Livius Peters Sherwood, of Brockville, Ont. Entered politics 
early m life, first representing Brockville and then Toronto in the old 
Parliament of Canada. He was successively Solicitor and Attorney-General 
I JA a S 7> res P ecti vely. Was a member of the City Council from 
49. Born at Augusta, Co. Leeds, Ont., July, 1809. Died at Kissingen, 
, m the late fifties. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 



59 

370 BOULTON, WILLIAM HENRY Mayor of Toronto, 1845-7 and 
1858 Born at York (Toronto), 19th April, 1812. He was an enthusiastic 
sportsman. Represented Toronto in Parliament continuously from 1844-53. 
Alderman for St. Patrick's Ward, 1838-1842, and again in 1844. Mr. Boulton 
was largely instrumental in building St. George's Anglican Church. Toron- 
to. Retired from municipal politics, 1858. Died in Toronto, 1st February, 
1873. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

371 BOWES, JOHN GEORGE Mayor of Toronto, 1851-3 and 1861-3 
His birthplace was Clones, Ireland, 1812. Came to Canada in 1840, settling 
in Toronto, where he carried on business as a wholesale and retail mer- 
chant. Represented Toronto in the Canadian Parliament, 1854-8. During 
his first term of office of Mayor, the first sod of the Ontario, S'mcoe & 
Huron, afterwards the Northern Railway, was turned by Lady Elgin. Mr. 
Bowes died at Toronto, 20th May, 1864. Water color. Size 5 x 6. Head 
and shoulders. 

372 BEARD, JOSHUA GEORGE Mayor of Toronto, 1854 With the 
exception of the years 1848 and 1853, he sat in the Council either as alder- 
man or councilman for St. Lawrence Ward since 1834. He was an iron 
founder, had an interest in Beard's Hotel, and was a considerable property- 
holder in the city. He also for many years filled the position of Clerk to 
the Sheriff of York. Retired from municipal life on expiration of his term 
as Mayor. He was born in England, 1797, and died in Toronto 9th Novem- 
ber, 1866. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

' 373 ALLAN, GEORGE WILLIAM Mayor of Toronto, 1855 He was 
a son of Hon. Wm. Allan, an early postmaster of York. Born in York (To- 
ronto), 1822, and one of the first pupils in Upper Canada College. In 1849, 
and again in 1855, was elected alderman for St. David's Ward; from 1858-67 
a member of the Legislative Council; at Confederation was selected for the 
Senate of the Dominion. Chancellor Trinity University, 1877-1901. His 
death took place in Toronto, 27th July, 1901. Water color. Size 5x6. 
Head and shoulders. See 956. 

374 ROBINSON, (HON.) JOHN BEVERLEY Mayor of Toronto, 1856 
Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. See 425, 1006, 3228. 

375 HUTCHISON, JOHN Mayor of Toronto, 1857 He was born in 
Ayrshire, Scotland, in 1817. Came to Toronto in 1851, and was associated 
with Mr. H. Black, of Montreal, as commission merchant, under the name 
of Hutchison, Black & Co. Their place of business was en the east side 
of Church, near Front street. Later Mr. Hutchinson moved to Wellington 
street, where he went into a more extensive business. He was alderman 
for St. James' Ward, 1852-3 and 1856-7. After his retirement from politics 
he removed to Montreal. He died at Metis, on the St. Lawrence, 2nd July, 
1863. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

376 READ, DAVID BREAK EN RIDGE Mayor of Toronto, 8th Novem- 
ber to 31st December, 1858, on the resignation of W. H. Boulton Called to 
the bar 1845. Appointed a commissioner for the revision of the Consoli- 
dated Statutes of Canada and Upper Canada, 1856. Created a Q.C. in 1858. 
Author of works of a biographical and historical nature. He was of U.E.L. 
descent. Born at Augusta, County of Leeds, Ontario, in 1823. Died at 
Toronto, llth May, 1904. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

377 WILSON (SIR) ADAM, Q.C. Mayor of Toronto, 1859-60 He was 
the first mayor who had the honor of being elected by the people. He was 
a well-known barrister, and afterwards raised to the justiciary as Chief 
Justice of the Court of Queen's Bench. First elected to the Council as 
alderman for St. Patrick's Ward, 1858. As mayor, received H.R.H. the 



60 

Prince of Wales (King Edward VII) on his visit to Toronto in 1860. 
Knighted in 1888. Sir Adam was a Scotsman, born in Edinburgh, 1813. 
Died at Toronto, 28th December, 1891. Water color. Size 5x6. Head 
and shoulders. 

378 CAR R, JOHN Mayor of Toronto, 1860 Born in Ireland in 1813, 
and came to Canada in 1836. For a number of years he took an active part 
in the civic affairs of Toronto, and in 1860 became President of the Coun- 
cil, in the absence of Mayor Adam Wilson, in Parliament. From 1865-71 
he' acted as City Clerk, and from 1871-2 City Commissioner. His death 
occurred in Toronto in 1881. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 
See 591, 752, 3513. 

379_MEDCALF, FRANCIS H Mayor of Toronto, 1864-6, and 1874-5 
Carried on business as an iron founder, north side of King street, just 
west of Don bridge, Mr. Medcalf was a prominent member of the Orange 
Order. He was of Irish birth, having been born in County Wicklow, Ire- 
land, 1803. First entered the City Council as alderman for St. Lawrence 
Ward, 1860. Represented St. David's Ward, 1863, and St. John's Ward in 
1870-71. Died at Toronto, 26th March, 1880. Water color. Size 5x6. 
Head and shoulders. 

380 SMITH, JAS. EDWARD Mayor of Toronto 1867-8 Wholesale 
grocer For many years he was manager of the British Empire Life Insur- 
ance Co. Came to Toronto at an early age from London, England, where he 
was born 25th December, 1831. Sat for St. John's Ward from 1857-67. 
After filling the office of Mayor, he again was elected an alderman for St. 
John's Ward. Remained in Council until 1870. Died in Toronto, 9th March, 
1892. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. See 3549. 

381 HARM AN, SAMUEL BICKERTON Mayor of Toronto, 1869-70 
Was born in Brompton, west of London, Eng., 1819. Spent a large portion 
of his early life in Antigua, B.W.I., where his father was Chief Baron of 
the Court of Exchequer. Studied law, practised in Toronto, holding, among 
other appointments, that of Chancellor of the Diocese of Toronto. Assess- 
ment Commissioner 1873-4, and City Treasurer from 1874-88. Died at 
Toronto, 26th March, 1892. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 
See 1008, 3556, 3568. 

382 SHEARD, JOSEPH Mayor of Toronto, 1871-2 He was born in 
Yorkshire, England, 1813, coming to York (Toronto) in 1832, where for 
many years he carried on business as a contractor. Mr. Sheard first en- 
tered the Council as an alderman for St. Patrick's Ward in 1851. Sat for 
St. John's Ward 1854-5, and for St. James' Ward in 1859, and from 1865-70. 
Withdrew from municipal life in 1877. His death took place at Toronto, 
30th August, 1883. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

383 MANNING, ALEXANDER Mayor of Toronto, 1873 and 1885 
His municipal career extended over a period of thirty years. Elected 
alderman for St. Lawrence Ward in 1856, continuing to sit for that consti- 
tuency, though with several absences, until 1872. After his second term 
as , mayor (1885) he retired. Mr. Manning was born in Dublin, Ireland, 
1819. As a contractor he was engaged in the erection of the Lambton 
Flour Mills, the Normal School, Toronto, and a portion of the Parliament 
Buildings, Ottawa. He also had a part in the construction of the Welland 
Canal, 1842-3. Died at Toronto, 20th October, 1903. Water color. Size 
5x6. Head and shoulders. 

384 MORRISON, ANGUS, Q.C. Mayor of Toronto, 1876-8 Repre- 
nted Simcoe (N. R.) three times in the United Parliament, and was mem- 
for Niagara in 1864. In 1853 he entered the Town Council as alderman ' 



61 

for St. James' Ward, and was re-elected the ensuing year. Twenty-two 
years later he became Mayor. He was born in Scotland in 1820. His 
death occurred in Toronto, 1882. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and 
shoulders. See 947. 

385 BEATY, JAMES Mayor of Toronto, 1879-80 A lawyer by pro- 
fession. Elected to the Council as alderman for St. James' Ward in 1877. 
On the expiration of his second year as mayor, he retired from municipal 
life. Mr. Beaty was prominent in political circles, and represented West 
Toronto in the Dominion Parliament, being elected in 1880 and again in 
1882. Beaty avenue, Toronto, is called after his family. He was born in 
Halton County, 1831, and died at Toronto, 1899. Water color. Size 5x6. 
Head and shoulders. 

386 McMURRICH, WILLIAM BARCLAY Mayor of Toronto, 1881-2 
A barrister. Born in Toronto in 1842, the eldest son of Hon. John Mc- 
Murrich. He was educated at Upper Canada College and Toronto Univer- 
sity, and was called to the bar in 1866. In 1879 he was chosen to represent 
St. Patrick's Ward, which he did until his election to the mayoralty. 
During his term of office he had the honor of receiving H.R.H. Princess 
Louise and the Marquis of Lome, on their first official visit to the city. 
His death took place in 1908. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 
See 949. 

387 BOSWELL, ARTHUR RADCLIFFE, K.C. Mayor of Toronto, 
1883-4 A son of the late Judge Boswell, of the County Court of Northum- 
berland. He was called to the bar in 1865, and was twice chairman of the 
Public Library Board. In 1877 he became a member of the City Council, 
and in 1883 was elected as Mayor. In 1911 appointed Superintendent of 
Insurance for Ontario and Registrar of Loan Companies. He was born in 
Cobourg.. Ont, in 1838. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

388 HOWLAND, WILLIAM HOLMES Mayor of Toronto, 1886-7 
Elected to the mayoralty on the temperance platform; was largely instru- 
mental in having the work of straightening the Don commenced. He was 
the eldest son of Sir William Pearce Howland, Lieutenant-Governor of 
Ontario, and was born at Lambton Mills, Ont., in 1844. His death occurred 
in Toronto, 1893. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

389 CLARKE, EDWARD FREDERICK Mayor of Toronto, 1888-91 
Born at Bailieboro', County Cavan, Ireland, 1850. On coming to Canada he 
learned the printing trade on the Globe. Subsequently he became editor 
of the Orange Sentinel, and in 1887 was elected D.G.M. of the Orange 
Order, British North America. From 1886 to 1894 he sat in the Provincial 
House for one of the Toronto constituencies, and from 1896, until 1905 (the 
year of his death) represented West Toronto in the Dominion House. 
Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

390 FLEMING, ROBERT JOHN Mayor of Toronto, 1892-3 and 
1896-7 Entered the City Council in 1886, representing St. David's Ward. In 
August, 1897, he became Assessment Commissioner, holding that position 
until 1905, when he resigned to accept the managership of the Toronto 
Street Railway Company, a position he still (1917) holds. He was born 
in Toronto in 1854. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. See 
3515, 3571. 

391 KENNEDY, WARRING Mayor of Toronto, 1894-5 Born at 
Waterask, County Down, Ireland, in 1827. Came to Toronto in 1858, and 
established in 1869 the wholesale dry goods firm of Samson, Kennedy & 
Gemmell. Opposed Angus Morrison for the mayoralty in 1877, but was 
defeated, winning over R. J. Fleming, however, in 1894-5. He died in To- 
ronto in 1904. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 



62 

392 SHAW, JOHN Mayor of Toronto, 1897-9 When Mayor Fleming 
resigned to accept the Assessment Commissionership, he was succeeded 
by John Shaw, a lawyer. The latter sat in the Council continuously from 
1884 to 1900, with the exception of the year 1896, when he ran unsuccess- 
fully for Mayor. In 1904-5 he was elected controller, and in 1908 was re- 
turned to the Provincial Legislature, representing North Toronto. Water 
color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

393 MAC DONALD, ERNEST ALBERT Mayor of Toronto, 1900 
Born in Oswego, N.Y., in 1858, but removed to Brockville when very young, 
later coming to Toronto and taking part in the boom of the "eighties." 
Through his instrumentality sections of Riverdale and Chester were 
opened up. For several years he sat in the City Council as representa- 
tive of St. Matthew's Ward, St. James' Ward and Ward One, and was elected 
mayor in 1900. His death took place in 1902. Water color. Size 5x6. 
Head and shoulders. 

394 HOWLAND, OLIVER AIKEN, K.C., C.M.G. Mayor of Toronto, 
1901-2 Second son of Sir William P. Howland and brother of W. H. How- 
land (mayor 1886-7). Was called to the bar in 1875, and in 1894 defeated 
Sir Charles Moss in South Toronto in the Provincial elections. On the 
occasion of the visit of the Prince and Princess of Wales, in 1902, he was 
created a C.M.G. He was born at Lambton Mills, Ont., in 1847, and died in 
Toronto in 1905. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

395 URQUHART, THOMAS Mayor of Toronto, 1903-5 Born in 
Wallacetown, Elgin Co., Ont., in 1858; became Township Clerk of Dunwich 
at the age of 21, and in 1886 was called to the bar, subsequently practising 
in Toronto. He represented Ward Four from 1900-2, and in the following 
year defeated Daniel Lamb and O. A. Howland in the mayoralty race. In 
1903 he ran for North Toronto in the Dominion elections, but was defeated 
by Hon. Geo. E. Foster. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

396 COATSWORTH, EMERSON Mayor of Toronto, 1906-7 A son 
of City Commissioner Emerson Coatsworth; born in 1854. Subsequent to 
learning the carpentering trade he studied law, and in 1875 was called to 
the bar. He represented East Toronto in the Dominion Parliament from 
1891-6, was elected to the City Council in 1904-5. In 1909 he was appointed 
chairman of the Board of License Commissioners by the Provincial Gov- 
ernment. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

397 OLIVER, JOSEPH Mayor of Toronto, 1908-9 Born in Erin, 
Ont., in 1852, but removed to Toronto three years later. Early in life he 
entered the lumber business, and in 1885 he became a member of the 
School Board. Ten years later he was elected to the City Council, and was 
again chosen in 1901, serving until 1904, and being on the Board of Control 
in the latter year. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

398 GEARY, GEORGE REGINALD, K.C. Mayor of Toronto, 1910-12 
-Born in Strathroy, Ont., 1873, son of Theophilus Jones Geary; educated 
at -Upper Canada College and Toronto University, subsequently studying 
law and successfully practising in Toronto. Represented Ontario in the 
Insurance investigation ordered by the Dominion Government. He was 
elected to the School Board in 1903, and represented Ward Three from 
>4-7; became controller in 1909. At the funeral of Edward VII., and 
sr at the coronation of King George V., he represented the city of To- 
911 he was appointed a member of the Toronto Power Com- 
mission, and in October of the following year resigned from the mayoralty 
to become Corporation Counsel for Toronto. Water color. Size 5 : 
Head and shoulders. See 3208. 



63 

39 HOCKEN, HORATIO CLARENCE Mayor of Toronto, 1912-14, 
following Mayor Geary's resignation to become Corporation Counsel He 
learned the trade of compositor at the Globe, later going with the Evening 
News, where he became successively foreman compositor, municipal re- 
porter and managing editor. He was owner and manager of the Orange 
Sentinel. In 1907 he became controller, and was re-elected in 1908-9 and 
1911-12. Water color. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

400 CHURCH, THOMAS LANGTON Mayor of Toronto, 1915-16 Born 
in the city of Toronto, 1872, of Irish parentage. Educated in the Public 
schools here, Jarvis Collegiate and Toronto and Trinity Universities 
(B.C.L.) Studied law and was called to the bar in 1897, subsequently suc- 
cessfully practising his profession in the city of his birth. Interested in 
civic affairs; elected alderman in Ward Two, 1905-9; controller, 1910-14. 
In 1915 became mayor of Toronto by a large majority. A member qf the 
Harbor Commission since 1905; vice-president of Hydro Radial Union, and 
of Great Waterways Union; president Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Im- 
provement Association. Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

401 SECOND MEETING PLACE OF TORONTO'S MUNICIPAL 
FATHERS The old City Hall on the south side of Front street, between 
Jarvis and West Market streets. The building, designed by J. G. Howard 
after the Italian style of architecture, was erected in 1844, altered in 1851, 
occupied until 1899, and demolished in 1901. The South St. Lawrence or 
Lower Market now (1917) stands' on the site. In 1833 a market building 
and town hall of brick was erected on the King street front to replace the 
frame structure in the market square, set apart previously for municipal 
and market purposes. The upper rooms of the new building were used as 
city offices and by the City Council for meetings. This building was burnt 
in the great fire of 1849. Water color. Size 10 x 12. 

402 THE CITY HALL, 1912 Situated on Queen street west, at the 
head of Bay street. On 21st November, 1891, the foundation stone was 
laid, and the building was completed and declared open 18th September, 
1899. It is built of stone and occupies the square bounded on the north 
by Albert street, south by Queen, east by James, and west by Teraulay. 
Platinum print, hand colored. Size 10 x 12. 

403 For future Mayor. 
404 For future Mayor. 
405 For future Mayor. 

406 to 431 LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS OF UPPER CANADA, 1792- 
1841, AND OF ONTARIO, 1867-1917 Two portraits are missing, those of 
Peter Hunter, the first regularly appointed Lieut.-Covernor to succeed 
Simcoe, and Major-General de Rottenburg, who from June-December, 1813, 
acted as Administrator. It is supposed that no portraits of these men are in 
existence. From the Union until Confederation Upper Canada was without a 
Lieutenant-Governor. The two provinces were governed by a Governor- 
General, and the seat of Government changed from place to place. From 
1867, however, the Federal Government had the power of appointing 
lieutenant-governors of the provinces, and in July of that year Major- 
General Henry Stisted held the reins of office for Ontario. These portraits, 
with the exceptions of Hon. Alex. Grant and Sir J. M. Gibson, are water 
colors from oil paintings in Government House, Toronto. 

406 SIMCOE, GEN. JOHN GRAVES First Lieut.-Governor Upper 
Canada, 8th July, 1792-20th July, 1796 Son of Captain John Simcoe, R.N. 
Was born at Cotterstock, England, in 1752. In 1771 he entered the army as 
an ensign in the 35th Regiment of Foot, afterwards purchasing a captaincy 

7 



64 

in the 40th Regiment. From 1777 he was in command of the Queen's 
Rangers, in the War of the Revolution, receiving the rank of lieutenant- 
colonel in the army. After the war he returned to England, but in 1792 
e to Canada as the first Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada, his 
term of office extending until 1796, when in the usual form of "leave of 
absence" he again went to England. In 1796 he was appointed Civil 
Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the British Forces in San Domingo. 
In 1801 he was gazetted as "lieutenant-general in the army," and in 1806 
was directed to join Earl St. Vincent at Lisbon. He was taken ill on 
the voyage brought back to England, where he died, at Exeter, 26th 
October. Water color from painting by G. T. Berthon. Size 6x8. Half 
length. See 161, 3265, 3370. 

407RUSSELL, HON. PETER President and Administrator Upper 
Canada 20th July, 1796-17th Aug., 1799 Was a member of the Irish 
branch of the family of Russell, of which the Duke of Bedford was the head. 
He was educated for the church, but preferred to enter the army. He 
served as secretary to Sir Henry Clinton during the Revolutionary War, 
after which he returned to England. He came to Upper Canada as 
Inspector-General of the Province in 1792. When Governor Simcoe re- 
turned to England, Hon. Peter Russell succeeded him as Administrator, 
convening the first Parliament held at York, 1st June 1797. The govern- 
ment of the province was handed over by President Russell to Governor 
Hunter in 1799. Water color from painting by G. T. Berthon. Size 6x8. 
Half length, sitting. 

408 GRANT (COMMODORE), HON, ALEXANDER President and 

Administrator Upper Canada, llth Sept., 1805-25th Aug., 1806, during the 
interval between Lieut-Governor Hunter and Lieut-Governor Gore. He 
was second son of Patrick, 8th Laird of Grant of Glenmoriston, Inverness- 
shire. Born in 1734. Served in the Royal Navy as a midshipman, and was 
with Amherst in the Lake Champlain expedition in the Seven Years' War. 
Later he was placed in command of lake vessels from Niagara to Mack- 
inaw, and was known as Commodore Grant. He was a member of the first 
Executive and Legislative Council. The Commodore's death took place in 
May, 1813, at his residence, Grant Castle, at Grosse Point, on Lake St. 
Clair. Photograph colored by White, Inverness, Scotland, from oil por- 
trait in possession of Ian Robert James Murray Grant, the chief of the Clan, 
of Glenmoriston, Inverness-shire, Scotland. Size 6x7. Three-quarter 
length. See 181. 

409 GORE, FRANCIS Lieut-Governor Upper Canada, Aug. 25th, 
1806-Oct 9th, 1811, and Sept. 21st, 1815-Jan. 6th, 1818 Succeeded Gen- 
eral Peter Hunter. He held a commission in the 47th Regiment in 1787; 
was in service on the continent in 1794. On the recommendation of George 
III. in 1804, became Governor of Bermuda, retaining that office until his 
appointment in Canada, 1806. So severely attacked by the House of Com- 
mons in 1810, in connection with a Militia Act previously passed in the 
Provinces, that he asked for leave of absence, and went to England the 
following year. He, however, returned to Canada in 1815, his second ad- 
ministration terminating in 1818, although he left the country earlier. 
Water color from a painting by Lawrence. Size 6x8. Half length, sitting. 
See 362, 1669. 

410 BROCK, GENERAL SIR ISAAC, K.B. President and Adminis- 
trator Upper Canada, 9th October, 1811-Oct. 13th, 1812 Eighth son of 
John Brock, was born at St. Peter's Port, Guernsey, 1769. When sixteen 
years of age he received a commission as ensign in 8th Regiment, f 
obtaining his lieutenancy he exchanged into the 49th, and was with it 
Copenhagen, after which he received orders to proceed to Canada. 



65 

tioned at York 1803. Returned to England on leave. Came again to 
Canada, and was given command of the troops in both provinces. Built 
dock-yards at York. Planned new Parliament Buildings; prepared town- 
ship maps showing state of roads and bridges. War with the United States 
was inevitable, so Brock had many problems to solve, chief of which were 
the defence of the frontier and the Indian question. On 12th June, 1812, 
war was declared. Brock took Detroit the following August (gold medal), 
and on 13th Oct., 1812, fell at Queenston Heights. Water color from paint- 
ing by G. T. Berthon. Size 6x8. See 1225, 1690. 

411 SHEAFFE, MAJOR-GENERAL SIR ROGER HALE President 
and Administrator Upper Canada, 20th Oct., 1812-June 19th, 1813 He was 
born in 1763 in Boston, and was a son of William Sheaffe, Deputy Collector 
of Customs at that port. Entered the army as an ensign in 1778, and rose 
to rank of lieutenant in 1780. Served in Canada from 1787-97, having been 
made a captain in 1795. In 1811 he became Major-General, and in recog- 
nition of his services at Queenston Heights was made a Baronet. He was 
in command at York in April, 1813, and was severely, and, in th-e opinion of 
many, justly, criticized for his conduct in not remaining at the town in 
order to assist the local militia. Made a General in 1828. His death took 
place in Edinburgh, 1851. Water color from painting by G. T. Berthon. 
Size 4x6. Half length, sitting. 

412 DRUM MONO, LIEUT.-GENERAL SIR GORDON, K.B. President 
and Administrator, Upper Canada, 13th Dec., 1813-25th April, 1815 Born 
in Quebec, 1771, where his father held position of Paymaster-General of 
the Forces. He entered the Army in 1789 and became lieutenant-colonel 
in 1794. In 1805 he was second in command in Jamaica. He performed 
important service in Ireland in 1812, and in 1813, still retaining his post 
on the staff in Ireland, was sent to Canada as second in command to Lieut.- 
General Sir George Prevost. General Drummond was in command at 
Lundy's Lane, 25th July, 1814, and in August attacked Fort Erie. Late in 
the year he succeeded Prevost as Commander-in-Chief, and became 
Administrator-in-Chief of Upper and Lower Canada. He asked to be re- 
called to England in 1816, and died in London in 1854. Water color from 
painting by G. T. Berthon, Toronto. Size 6x8. Half length. 

413 MURRAY, GENERAL SIR GEORGE, G.C.B., G.C.H. Provisional 
Lieut.-Governor Upper Canada, 25th April, 1815-lst July, 1815 Served 
in Flanders, 1793, and in Egypt, 1801; went as quartermaster-general to 
Portugal with Sir John Moore, in 1808. Was made Major-General, 1812; 
appointed Adjutant-General to the Forces in Ireland, 1814, and subsequently 
sent to Canada. Whether he was entitled to rank of Lieutenant-Governor 
does not seem clear, for Governor Gore was still acting. Soon after 
Murray's arrival in York he heard of Napoleon's escape from Elba, and, 
applying for active service, left the country without having met the Legis- 
lature of the Province. General Murray was born at Ochtertyre, Perth- 
shire, Scotland, 6th Feb., 1772, and died in London, Eng., July, 1846. Water 
color from a painting by G. T. Berthon. Size 6x8. Half length. See 1676. 

414 ROBINSON, MAJOR-GENERAL SIR FREDERICK PHILIPSE 

Provisional Lieutenant-Governor Upper Canada, 1st July, 1815-21st Sept., 
1815 A son of Col. Beverley Robinson of New York, who in the Revolu- 
tionary War raised a regiment called "The King's Loyal Americans." Sir 
Frederick entered the army in 1777 as ensign in his father's regiment. He 
served with distinction in West Indies and in Peninsular campaign, com- 
manding a brigade at Vittoria. The short period of his governorship did 
not give opportunity for administrative action. In 1838 he was nominated 
Knight Grand Cross of the Bath, and in 1846 became lieutenant-general. 
He died in England, 1852. Water color from a painting by G. T. Berthon. 
Size 6x8. Half length. 



66 

415 SMITH LT.-COL. HON. S A M U E L Administrator Upper Canada, 
June Tilth 1817-Aug. 12th, 1818, and March 8th-June 30th, 1820-Joined the 
Rangers during the Revolutionary War, subsequently becoming captain 
At the close O the war he retired to New Brunswick. In 1792 he joined 
the new regiment of Rangers, under Simcoe, being with the Lieut-Governor 
at Niagara and York, later becoming colonel. In Oct., 1815, he was ap- 
pointed a member of the Executive Council, and on the retirement of 
Governor Gore became Administrator of the Province. He opened the 
second session of Parliament in Feb., 1818, which dealt chiefly with acts 
on inland revenue. During Governor Maitland's absence he was again 
Administrator for a short time. Col. Smith was born in 1756 and died at 
Toronto, 20th Oct., 1826. Water color. From a painting by G. T. Berthon, 
Toronto.' Size 6x8. Half length. 

416 MAITLAND, MAJOR-GENERAL SIR PEREGRINE, K.C.B. 

Lieut -Governor Upper Canada, 13th Aug., 1818-23rd Aug., 1828 Born in 
Hampshire, Eng., 1777. He served throughout the campaign in Flanders. 
In 1803 became lieutenant-colonel, and major-general in 1814. At Waterloo 
commanded 2nd and 3rd Battalions of 1st Foot Guards. Through the influ- 
ence of his father-in-law, the Duke of Richmond, he received the appoint- 
ment of Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada in 1818. During his ad- 
ministration both Gourlay and Mackenzie were to the fore. Sir Peregrine 
was criticized for his action in refusing to allow the Superintendent of 
Indian Affairs and the Adjutant-General to give evidence before a com- 
mittee of the House of Assembly, for which he had not much respect. In 
1820 he acted as Commander-in-Chief of the Forces for three months. He 
was recalled in 1828, filled several appointments subsequently, and died 
in London, Eng., 30th May, 1854. Water color from painting by G. T. 
Berthon, Toronto. Size 6x8. Half length. 

417 COLBORNE, SIR JOHN, G.C.B., G.C.H. (LORD SEATON) 

Lieut-Governor Upper Canada, 4th Nov., 1828-30th Nov. 1835 Born in 
England, 1778. Served in Egypt, 1801; in Sicily, 1808; joined Wellington's 
Army and was present at the Battle of Ocana, Nov., 1809. He led the 
attack of the 52nd Light Infantry on Marshal Soult's position at the Battle 
of Orthes in 1814, and at Waterloo was in command of his old regiment, 
the 52nd. Founded Upper Canada College, Toronto, and was the means of 
having new Parliament Buildings erected in York. Sir John Colborne was 
deeply interested in everything pertaining to the benefit of the Province, 
and never over-stepped the bounds of constitution under which the Pro- 
vince was governed. Although his term expired in 1835 he remained in 
Toronto until after the new House met in January, 1836. He was appointed 
Commander-in-Chief of the two Provinces, suppressed the rebellion in 
Lower Canada, remained as Administrator and acted as Governor froi 
Jan.-Oct, 1839, when he returned to England, and was created Lord Seatoi 
He died in 1863. Water color from painting by G. T. Berthon. Size 6 x 
Half length. See 160, 834. 

418 HEAD, SIR FRANCIS BOND Lieut-Governor Upper Canada, 
25th Jan., 1836-23rd March, 1838 He entered military service at an early 
age, serving in the Royal Engineers. Was at Waterloo, and subsequently 
made a tour of exploration in South Africa. His appointment by the Mel- 
bourne Ministry as Lieut-Governor was entirely unsolicited, and came as i 
surprise. In 1836 he arrived in Toronto; resigned his office in 1837, thougl 
he administered the affairs of the Province till March, 1838. On the out 
break of the Rebellion of 1837 advanced to meet the rebels, and succeed* 
in quelling the rising, so far as the Toronto district was concerned, wit 
little difficulty. He was created a member of the Privy Council in order t( 
assist in framing the British North America Act. Sir Francis wrote sev 
eral books, amongst the number being "The Emigrant" and "A Fortnight 



67 

in Ireland." He was born in Kent, Eng., 1793, and died at Croydon, 20th 
July, 1875. Water color from painting by G. T. Berthon. Size 6x8. Half 
length. See 179. 

419 THOMSON, RT. HON. CHARLES EDWARD POULETT (BARON 
SYDENHAM) Acting Lieut-Governor Upper Canada, Nov. 22nd, 1839- 
18th Feb., 1840, during his term as Governor-General He entered political 
life in 1826, becoming in 1830 Vice-President of the Board of Trade in Lord 
Grey's Ministry. Was appointed Gov-General, October, 1839. Arrived in 
Toronto in November; opened the Legislature on 3rd December. His 
Government introduced the Union resolutions, which were carried. His 
next stej) was to settle the Clergy Reserves question, his measure being 
subsequently adopted by the Imperial Parliament. He saw the importance 
of establishing local or municipal government. While dealing with the 
politicians of Upper Canada he endeavored to steer a middle course; was 
elevated to the peerage in 1840; made the proclamation of the Union 1841, 
and opened the first Parliament of the United Canadas at Kingston. He 
resigned in July, 1841, and died the following September, from injuries 
received by being thrown from his horse. Water color from painting by 
G. T. Berthon. Size 6x8. Three-quarter length, sitting. See 1626. 

420 ARTHUR, COL. SIR GEORGE Lieut-Governor Upper Canada, 
23rd March, 1838-9th Feb., 1841 He was born in 1784, ana entered the 
army twenty years later, in the 91st Highlanders. Promoted to a lieuten- 
ancy in the 35th Foot, serving with that regiment in Italy in 1806. In 1808 
he served as a captain in Sicily, and in 1809 in the expedition to Walch- 
eren; was employed in the attack upon Flushing, and for his services on 
this occasion was thanked in general orders. He recommended the settle- 
ment of Clergy Reserves in Canada and the promotion of education by im- 
provement in the Common; School System. In 1841 the two Provinces 
were united under Lord Sydenham, then Governor-General, at whose re- 
quest Sir George Arthur continued for a time to conduct the administration 
of Upper Canada. His services in Canada were rewarded with a baronetcy 
shortly after his return to England in the summer of 1841. Water color 
from a painting by G. T. Berthon. Size 6x8, Three-quarter length, sitting. 

421 STISTED, MAJOR-GENERAL HENRY WILLIAM First Lieut- 
Governor (Provisional) Ontario, 8th July, 1867-14th July, 1868 Served with 
the 78th Highlanders in the Persian War, 1857; was at the Relief of Luck- 
now, holding the command of the 1st Brigade during the defence of the 
Residency. In 1864 he was made Major-General, and in the latter part of 
1866 was given divisional command of Upper Canada. From the Union of 
the Canadas in 1841 to Confederation, Upper Canada was without a Lieut- 
Governor, as both Provinces were under the jurisdiction of the Governor- 
General. In 1867 General Stisted was made provisional Lieut.-Governor of 
Ontario. His term of office lasted a year, during which he presided over 
the first Parliament of Ontario, which dealt with the Act regarding free 
grants and homesteads. Died in England, 10th Dec., 1875. Water color 
from painting by G. T. Berthon. Size 6x8. Half length, sitting. 

422 HOWLAND, HON. SIR WILLIAM PE A RCE Lieut-Governor On- 
tario, 22nd July, 1868-llth Nov., 1873 Born in Paulings, N.Y., 1811. In 
1830 he came to Canada, settling at Cooksville, where he assisted in a 
general store. His next venture was a business in partnership with his 
brother, Peleg Howland. Although a prominent man in Toronto at the 
time of the Rebellion, he took no part in it. In 1841 he became naturalized, 
interested himself in the election of 1848, was a firm believer in reform, 
and at the general election of 1857 was returned to the Assembly as repre- 
sentative of West York. He succeeded Hon. Oliver Mowat as Postmaster- 
General, and became a member of the Executive Council. On the forma- 
tion of the first Dominion Government, 1st July, 1867, he was appointed a 



68 

member of the Privy Council and Minister of Inland Revenue. He was a 
firm supporter of the scheme to attain Confederation. July, 1868, saw his 
retirement from the Government and his appointment as Lieutenant- 
Governor of Ontario. On 24th May, 1879, he was created a Knight of the 
Order of St. Michael and St. George. Water color from a painting by 
Berthon. Size 6x8. Half length. 

423 CRAWFORD, HON. JOHN WILLO UGH BY Lieut-Governor 
Ontario, 12th Nov., 1873-13th May, 1875 Came to Canada from Ireland 
when seven years of age, having been born at Manor Hamilton, County 
Leitrim, 1817. Educated in Toronto, and called to the bar in 1839; applied 
himself especially to banking and commercial law. He was Lieutenant- 
Colonel of the 5th Battalion, Canadian Militia, President of the Toronto 
and Nipissing Railway, and President of the Royal Canadian Bank. In 
1861 he was elected for East Toronto, representing this constituency until 
the general election in 1863. After Confederation he represented South 
Leeds, until Nov. 5th, 1873, when he was appointed Lieut.-Governor of 
Ontario. He died at Government House, 13th May, 1875. Water color. 
Size 5x6. Half length sitting. 

424 MACDONALD, HON. DONALD ALEXANDER Lieut.-Governor 
Ontario, 21st May, 1875-29th June, 1880 Was born at St. Raphael's, Que- 
bec, in 1816. He entered Parliament in 1835, being returned for the County 
of Glengarry as member to the Upper Canada House of Assembly, retain- 
ing his seat until the Union in 1841. After Confederation he was in 1867 
and again in 1872 elected to represent Glengarry in the Commons. In 
the latter year he was appointed Postmaster-General, holding the position 
until 1875, when he was offered the Lieutenant-Governorship of Ontario, 
which he accepted. His appointment was a popular one with all classes, 
and at the end of his term he left Government House with the respect of 
the community. His death took place in Montreal, 10th June, 1896. Water 
color from painting by G. T. Berthon. Size 6x8. Half length, sitting. 

425 ROBINSON, HON. JOHN B EVE RLEY Lieut.-Governor Ontario, 
July 8th, 1880-May 31st, 1887 The second son of Sir John Beverley Robinson, 
Chief Justice of Ontario. Born in Toronto in 1820 and received his educa- 
tion at Upper Canada College. In 1837 he was appointed aide-de-camp to 
Sir Francis Bond Head, and as such took part in the Rebellion. On its sup- 
pression young Robinson began the study of law, and was called to the 
bar in 1844. In 1858 was elected to represent one of the Toronto divisions 
in Parliament, and from 1872-8 sat for Algoma. In the latter year he was 
again returned for Toronto. He was also City Solicitor for the city of his 
birth from 1864-80. Continued to represent West Toronto until his appoint- 
ment as Lieutenant-Governor. His death occurred suddenly while he was 
attending a political meeting in Toronto in 1896. Water color from a 
painting by Berthon. Size 5x7. Head and shoulders. See 374, 1006. 

426 CAMPBELL, HON. SIR ALEXANDER, K.C.M.G. Lieut.Governor 

Ontario, 1st June, 1887-24th May, 1892 When two years of age he came 

Canada from England, with his parents, and settled near Montreal. 

Studied law and was called to the bar in 1843. Became a partner of Sir 
John A. Macdonald. In 1858 he was elected to the Legislative Council of 
the Cataraqui Division, and Speaker in 1863. Mr. Campbell was a staunch 
advocate of Confederation, and in recognition of his services in the cause, 
elected to the Senate, sworn in the Privy Council, 1st July, 1867, and took 

ffice as Postmaster-General. Six years later he became first Minister of 
the Department of the Interior. In 1880 he accepted office of Minister of 
Militia. Died at Government House, Toronto, 24th May, 1892. Water color 
from painting by Robert Harris. Size 6x8. Three-quarter length, sitting. 






69 

427 KIRKPATRICK, HON. SIR GEORGE AIREY Lieut-Governor 
Ontario, 1st June, 1892-Nov. 18th, 1897 Canadian by birth, a son of Thomas 
Kirkpatrick, Q.C., of Kingston, Ont. Studied law, and was called to the 
bar in 1865. He was an ardent supporter of the Volunteer Militia, and 
served during the Fenian Raid; became Lieut.-Colonel of the 47th Battalion 
in 1872. Represented the County of Frontenac for many years; was Chair- 
man of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts, and Speaker of the 
House of Commons, 1883-7. Interests of sailors were watched by him 
while in the House, and in educational matters he always took an active 
part. His appointment as Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario was well re- 
ceived by all parties. Sir George's death took place in Toronto, 13th 
December, 1899. Water color from painting by A. D. Patterson. Size 
6x8. Half length. i \ . . | jj 

428 MOWAT, HON. SIR OLIVER Lieut-Governor Ontario, 18th 
Nov., 1897-19th April, 1903 Received his early education in Kingston, 
Ont. He entered the office of John A. Macdonald as a law student; studied 
with him for four years, and was called to the bar in 1841. Shortly after 
this he came to Toronto; created a Q.C. in 1855, and afterwards elected a 
Bencher of the Law Society. He was elected to Parliament in 1857 as 
representative for South Ontario, continuing to represent that constituency 
until 1864. Was one of the "Fathers of Confederation." In 1872 he suc- 
ceeded Mr. Blake as Premier, and from that time until 1896 was also 
Attorney-General. He did much towards shaping the laws of Ontario, 
while his success in obtaining a large increase of territory for this Pro- 
vince is a monument to his administration. In 1896 he resigned his seat 
in the Provincial House, and was elected to the Dominion Parliament by 
North Oxford. Sir Oliver was born in Kingston, 1820, and died at To- 
ronto, April 19th, 1903. Water color from painting by J. W. L. Forster. 
Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. See 468. 

429 CLARK, HON. SIR WM. MORTIMER, K.C. Lieut-Governor On- 
tario, 20th April, 1903-21st Sept., 1908 He was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, 
24th May, 1836, and educated in Scotland. Practised law in Toronto; was 
one of the founders and first directors of St. Andrew's College for Boys. 
He was in 1878-9 President of the County York Law Association, and 
formerly a vice-president of the "Equal Rights" Association. In 1907 he 
was knighted. His interests educationally and in the business sphere were 
broad and varied. Sir Mortimer wrote several sketches of travel in Europe 
and the East. His death took place Aug. 10th, 1917, at Prout's Neck, Me., 
where he had been summering. Water color from painting by J. W. L. 
Forster. Size 6x8. Half length, sitting. See 967. 

430 GIBSON, HON. SIR JOHN MORISON, K.C.M.G. Lieut.-Governor 
Ontario, 22nd Sept., 1908-24th Sept., 1914 Born in Township of Toronto, 
Peel Co., in 1842; a graduate of Toronto University; M.A. In 1864; prac- 
tised his profession of law in Hamilton for many years; a bencher of the 
Law Society of Upper Canada, 1899. Chairman Hamilton Board of Educa- 
tion; -was an active member of the 13th Regiment, Hamilton, from 1860-95, 
being appointed in that year Hon. Lieut.-Colonel, and in 1901 Hon. Colonel. 
Served at Ridgeway in 1866; a fine rifle shot, having been a member of 
Canadian Wimbledon Teams for several years, winning in 1879 the Prince 
of Wales Prize. He was Provincial Secretary, 1889-96. Commissioner of 
Crown Lands, 1896-9, and Attorney-General, 1899-1905. Was Grand Master 
of Grand Lodge of Canada, 1892-4. An honorary A.D.C. to the Gov.-General. 
Platinum print from life, hand colored. Size 5x8. Full length. 

431 HENDRIE, LIEUT-COL., HON. SIR JOHN STRATHEARN 

Lieut.-Governor Ontario, Sept 25th, 1914 Born at Hamilton, Ont., 1857; 
educated at a private school, Hamilton Grammar School and Upper Canada 
College, Toronto. Was Mayor of Hamilton, 1901-3; elected to represent 
that city in the Provincial House, 1902. Minister without portfolio in the 



70 

Whitney Administration from its formation; appointed member of the 
Roval Hvdro-Electric Commission, 1906. Commanded the Canadian Artil- 
lery on the occasion of Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee, London, Eng- 
land" holds long service decoration. Water color from painting by E. 
Wyly Grier. Size 5x8. Half length, sitting. See 3490. 

432 For future Lieut.-Governor. 

433 to 453 GOVERNMENT HOUSE, TORONTO, 1867-1912 Views, 
interior and exterior, of the old Government House, Simcoe, Dorset, King 
and Wellington streets. The gubernatorial residence was built in 1 
destroyed by fire in 1862, and rebuilt, as it is shown in the series, in 1867. 
In 1912 the mansion was torn down to make way for the railways, the 
district in which it was situated having long ceased to be a residential 
one Prior to the completion of the palatial structure in Rosedale, the 
Lieutenant-Governor's household took up temporary residence at the 
north-east corner of College and St. George streets. Sir John Morison 
Gibson was the last administrator to occupy the Simcoe street mansion, 
leaving it in 1912. 

433 BUSINESS OFFICE OF THE LIEUTENANT-GOVERNOR 
North-east corner of the ground floor. This is the first room to the right 
on coming in through the principal entrance. Through the open doorway 
one catches a glimpse of the small reception room across the hall. Platinum 
print in color. Size 8 x 10. 

434 PRINCIPAL RECEPTION AND BALLROOM At the west end 
may be seen the coat of arms of the Province of Ontario. On the left are 
the conservatory openings, and on the right the table is set for a small 
reception. In this apartment the State dinners were given, as was also 
the last dance, held on the evening of the dinner in honor of the descend- 
ants and connections of former Lieutenant-Governors, April 29th, 1912. 
Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 

435 LAST STATE DINNER GIVEN AT THE OLD GOVERNMENT 
HOUSE, April 29th, 1912 The dinner was served in the dining-room at 
the end of the west or right side of the main entrance hall. The guests on 
the right hand or east side of the table, reading from right to left, were: 
1, Dr. Goldwin Rowland; 2, Mrs. D. D. Young; 3, Mr. H. M. Mowat; 4, Mrs. 
Harcourt Vernon; 5, Mr. W. M. Kirkpatrick; 6, Mrs. Wallace Jones; 7, Sir 
John Beverley Robinson; 8, Mrs. Law; 9, Sir John M. Gibson; 10, Lady 
Clark; 11, Mr. George S. Crawford; 12, Mrs. Forsyth Grant; 13, Mr. J. Ross 
Robertson; 14, Miss Mowat; 15, Capt. Forsyth Grant; 16, Mrs. Henry 
Watson; 17, Lieut.-Col. Macdonald; 18, Miss Elise Clark; 19, Mr. Hope 
Gibson, A.D.C., at end of table. The guests on the left hand, or west side 
of the table, reading from right to left, were: 1, Mrs. H. M. Mowat; 2, 
Capt. D. D. Young; 3, Miss Clark; 4, Mr. Wallace Jones; 5, Miss Gibson; 
6, Sheriff Mowat; 7, Lady Robinson; 8, Hon. J. O. Reaume; 9, Lady Gibson; 
10, Sir Mortimer Clark; 11, Mrs. George S. Crawford; 12, Prof. Ramsay 
Wright; 13, Mrs. A. S. Hardy; 14, Commander Law; 15, Mrs. Ramsay 
Wright; 16, Mr. Henry Watson; 17, Miss Meta Gibson; 18, Mr. Harcourt 
Vernon; 19, Mr. Fellowes, A.D.C., at end of table. Photograph. Size 10 x 13. 

436 GOVERNMENT HOUSE View from the south, showing the 
mansion, driveway, grounds, conservatories and flower beds. Platinum 
print, ia color. Size 6x8. 

437 GOVERNMENT HOUSE, 1867-1912 Front view, facing Simcoe 
street, from the south-east.The fine old mansion of red brick with stone 
facings was a reminder of the days when the neighborhood, now given over 
to manufacturers and railroads, was the aristocratic section of the Queen 
City. Platinum print, in color. Size 6x9. 







71 

438 RECEPTION ROOM On the south-east corner, on the left of 

the entrance hall, ground floor. Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 

439 BLUE GUEST CHAMBER North side of the upper hall. Her 
Majesty Queen Mary occupied this room during her visit to Toronto as 
Duchess of York. Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 

440 VIEW OF THE EAST END OF THE UPPER HALL With the 

staircase leading to the second floor at the west. The first door on the 
right opens into the room occupied by Her Majesty Queen Mary as Duchess 
of York, during her visit to Toronto in 1901. Adjoining are toilet and dress- 
ing rooms. The first apartment on the left was the morning-room used as 
a sitting-room by Lady Aberdeen, Lady Grey and the Duchess of Con- 
naught. The last door on the left, near the staircase, opens into the green 
guest chamber. Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 

441 GOVERNMENT HOUSE A bird's-eye view of the south-east side 
of the residence and grounds from the entrance on Simcoe street. At right 
angles to Simcoe street is seen King street, with its large factory buildings. 
Platinum print, in color. Size 6x8. 

442 EAST END OF THE DRAWING-ROOM Windows looking south. 
The mantel was a unique piece of marble work. Platinum print, in color. 
Size 8 x 10. 

443 BEDROOM OF HIS HONOR THE LI EUT.-GOVERN OR North- 
east corner of the upper hall. This room was occupied by Sir William 
Mortimer Clark, and also as the chamber of the Duke of York (His Maj- 
esty George V.) during his visit to Toronto in 1901. Platinum print, in 
color. Size 8 x 10. 

444 FAMILY GROUP Miss Margaret (Meta) Gibson, now Mrs. Rob- 
ert Waldie (1); Miss Eugenia (2); Sir John Morison Gibson (3); Lady 
Gibson (4); Mr. Hope Gibson (5). Taken in May, 1912. Platinum print, in 
color. Size 8 x 12. 

445 SPACIOUS DRAWING-ROOM Looking west into the conserva- 
tories. The picture is from the east, on the south or left side of the 
entrance hall. All the New Year's receptions and also those prior to 
State dinners were held in this room. Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 

446 MORNING-ROOM On the south side of the upper hall The 
windows are not shown; a favorite sittingroom of H.R.H. Princess Louise, 
Marchioness of Lome. Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 

447 GOVERNMENT HOUSE South-west view showing the grounds 
from Wellington Street, St. Andrew's Church, Simcoe Street (Presby- 
terian), is shown to the right of the picture. Platinum print, in color. 
Size 6x8. 

448 MAIN STAIRCASE At the west end of the entrance hall, leading 
to the first floor. The door to the left, at the foot of the staircase, is that 
of the dining-room. Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 

449 ENTRANCE HALL Ground floor, looking west from the official 
entrance on Simcoe Street, and showing the main staircase. The first door 
on the right (not shown) opens into the office of his Honor the Lieutenant- 
Governor; the second door to the right leads to the steward's office and 
the private entrance from King Street, the third into the private dining- 
room. The first door to the left (not shown) opens into a small reception 
room ; the second leads to the east end of the principal drawing and 
reception room; while the fourth opens into a small sitting-room, connected 
on the north with the drawing-room and on the south with the conserva- 
tories. Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 






72 :. 

r ~ 4*0 MAIN STAIRCASE Looking down the main hall to the principal 
entrance SI the Lieutenant-Governor's residence. Platinum print, in color. 
Size 8 x 10. 

4*1 GREEN GUEST CHAMBER In the south-west corner of the 
upper hall, occupied by Lady Grey and the Duchess of Connaught when 
visiting Toronto. Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 

452 DINING-ROOM At the end of the west or right side of the 
entrance hall, windows looking north; used as a private dining-room or for 
small State dinners. The table is shown laid for the last official dinner, 
29th April 1912, at the old gubernatorial mansion to descendants and 
connections of its former occupants. On the wall are seen the portraits 
of some of the early Lieutenant-Governors and Administrators of Ontario. 
Platinum print, in color. Size 8 x 10. 

45 3_LAST DANCE" IN OLD GOVERNMENT HOUSE, 29TH APRIL, 
1912 Held in the principal reception and ballroom at the west end of the 
main entrance to Government House, and in which large dances and State 
dinners were held. The group in the foreground is composed of (1) Lady 
Gibson, (2) Mr. J. Ross Robertson, (3) Mrs. John King, daughter of the 
late Wm. Lyon Mackenzie. (4) Sir John Morison Gibson. Photograph. 
Size 10 x 13. 

454 RESIDENCE OF SIR WILLIAM MORTIMER CLARK, WELL- 
INGTON STREET WEST, TORONTO This handsome residence was 
erected about 1871 by Mr. John Gordon, brother of the late Lady Clark, 
but never occupied until purchased from his executors by Sir Mortimer 
Clark (then Mr. Clark) in 1884. During the period that Government House 
was being renovated, the Clarks resided in the old mansion. Demolished 
in 1913 to make room for railways. Photograph, colored. Size 7x9. 

455 CLARK, LADY (HELEN GORDON) Wife of Sir William Mor- 
timer Clark, K.C., Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario, 1903-8. Born in Caith- 
ness, Scotland, in 1839, the daughter of Gilbert Gordon, and sister of John 
Gordon, of Gordon, Mackay & Co., Toronto. In 1866 she married Sir Wil- 
liam Mortimer Clark, who was knighted in 1907. Lady Clark was one of 
the promoters of the Female Immigrants' Receiving Home, and first direct- 
ress of the Home for Incurables, the success of the latter charity being largely 
due to her efforts. She died in Toronto, 1913. Photograph, colored. Size 
6x9. Full length, sitting. 

456 GOVERNMENT HOUSE, TORONTO, 1912-15 North-east corner 
College and St. George streets. The residence was erected by Lieut.-Col. 
Frederick W. Cumberland, well-known engineer and architect, and occupied 
by him from 1861 until his death in 1881. It subsequently passed into the 
hands of Alfred Cosby, and from 1905 to 1912 was occupied by Walter D. 
Beardmore. In May of the latter year it became the residence of Sir John 
M. Gibson, Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario, 1908-14, the old Government 
House at the south-west corner of King and Simcoe streets being demolished 
at that time. In December, 1915, Sir John Strathearn Hendrie, Sir John 
Gibson's successor in office, removed to the handsome new gubernatorial 
mansion in Rosedale and now (1916) Mrs. Walter D. Beardmore has 
resumed occupancy of the College street residence. Photograph, colored. 
Size 5x7. 

457 HOME OF JUDGE (SIR) WM. BUELL RICHARDS South-east 
corner Ann and Yonge sts., Toronto Erected about 1845 by Mr. John 
Willoughby Crawford (afterwards Lieut-Governor of Ontario), and sold 
by him to Judge Richards in 1850. The latter lived there during the whole^ 
of his residence in Toronto. The large, frame, roughcast house was. at the' 



73 

time of its erection, quite in the country^but many years ago it was torn 
down to make way for stores. Judge Richards, a native of Brockville, 
entered Parliament in 1848 as member for Leeds County. Held post of 
Attorney-General, U.C., in Hincks-Morin Ministry, retiring to take a puisne 
judgeship in the Court of Common Pleas. Succeeded Chief Justice Draper 
in same court, and again succeeded him when Draper was transferred from 
the Queen's Bench to the Court of Appeal. On the creation of the Supreme 
Court of Canada, 1875, Richards was appointed Chief Justice of that court. 
Knighted, 1877; retired two years later. Died, 1889. Water color. Size 5x7. 

458 "WILLOWS," TORONTO, 1908 Built by James McDonell, a son 
of Hon. Alexander McDonell, member of the Legislative Council of Upper 
Canada. The "Willows," so called because the grounds surrounding it 
were covered with willow trees, was the first substantial house on Bathurst 
street, north of Queen. It was erected in 1853-4, and in its day was one of 
the best residences of Toronto. The property was leased by the Western 
Hospital, 1899, and purchased in 1903. To-day (1917) the "Willows" stands 
in rear of the new hospital, opened November, 1911, and is still used for 
the care of patients. Water color. Size 5x7. 

459 SIMONS, COL. TITUS GEER Son of Titus Simons, who after the 
Revolutionary War settled at Kingston and then at Niagara, York and 
Flamboro West, U.C., successively. The younger Simons had a distin- 
guished career in the war of 1812, although, strange to say, his name has 
not been mentioned by historians. He was in command of the volunteer 
armed militia at the burning of Black Rock, December 29th, 1813, and was 
severely wounded at Lundy's Lane. Became colonel of the 2nd Gore 
Militia 1824. In 1797 Col. Simons purchased the Upper Canada Gazette 
from the Tiffanys at Niagara and shortly afterwards, with William Waters 
as partner, published the first Gazette in York. He died at Flamboro 
West, U.C., August 20th, 1829. Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

460 BONNYCASTLE, SIR RICHARD H., 1791-1847 Served in the 
War of 1812-15 In 1825 became a captain in the Royal Engineers; com- 
manding Royal Engineer in Canada West, 1837-9; knighted for services in 
connection with the defence of Kingston, 1837, and was subsequently 
commanding Royal Engineer in Newfoundland. Water color from a 
miniature. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

461 BALDWIN, HON. ROBERT, 1804-58 Closely associated with 
Responsible Government of Canada, eldest son of Dr. William Warren 
Baldwin; in 1819 began the study of law and elected a Bencher in 1830. In 
January of that year he took his seat in Parliament, and ten years later 
became Solicitor-General. In 1842 the Hincks-Baldwin Administration 
came into existence, and in 1847 the Baldwin-Lafontaine Administration 
was formed. Mr. Baldwin held office for eleven years, laboring enthusi- 
astically in the cause of reform. He contributed largely to the establish- 
ment of the municipal system, remodelled the Law Courts, and aided 
materially in University reform. In 1854 Queen Victoria conferred upon 
him the degree of Companion of the Bath. His death occurred in 1858 at 
his residence, "Spadina," Toronto. Water color from an oil portrait by T. 
Hamel, in possession of his grandson, Robert W. Y. Baldwin, Paris, Ont. 
Size 4x6. Head and shoulders. See 269, 271, 1050. 

462 O'HARA, LIEUT.-COL. WALTER At Twenty-two Years of 
Age Born 3rd Feb., 1787, in Dublin, Ireland; died in Toronto, 13th Jan., 
1874; educated at Trinity College, Dublin, and afterwards studied for the 
Bar at the Inner Temple, London. In 1806 he accepted an Ensigncy in 
the 91st Regiment, and subsequently obtained a Captaincy in the 47th. In 
L808, O'Hara accompanied Walter Savage Landor to Spain. He was ' 
selected to serve, with rank of Major, in the Portuguese army and at- 
tached to the 6th Cacadores. His Peninsular career included all the great 






74 

actions and for his services he received the Order of the Tower and 
Sword, 'and the Peninsula medal with eight clasps. He emigrated to Can- 
ada in 1831, holding the post for several years of Adjutant-General, Upper 
Canada. For many years he resided in Toronto. Water color from a 
miniature by Sir Wm. Charles Ross, R.A., in possession of his daughter. 
Miss Mary O'Hara, Toronto, Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. See 463. 

463 O'HARA, LIEUT.-COL. WALTER At Eighty-two Years of 
Age Water color from a portrait in possession of his daughter, Miss Mary 
O'Hara, Toronto. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. See 462. 

464 JARVIS, LIEUT.-COL. R. E. COLBORNE Youngest son of Wil- 
liam Botsford Jarvis, born in Toronto, 1842, and educated at Upper Canada 
College. Entered army as ensign in 100th Prince of Wales' Regiment, 
Royal Canadians (now Leinster Regiment) in 1859; subsequently joined 
69th. Served with distinction throughout Franco-Prussian War in Red 
Cross Ambulance Corps, receiving a decoration. After passing through 
the Staff College at Sandhurst, served in Afghan War, 1878-80. Accom- 
panied the late L^ord Roberts in march from,Cabul to Khandahar. Mentioned 
in despatches. On his retirement in 1882, returned to Canada, where he 
died in 1903. Water color. Size 4 x 5. Head and shoulders. 

4 65 _ T HOMSON, COL. E. W., 1794-1865 Son of Archibald Thomson, 
of Kingston; served in the War of 1812-15. He was elected a member of 
the Provincial Legislature, for the Second Riding of York, 1836, but was 
more interested in agriculture than politics. First President of the Pro- 
vincial Agricultural Association and Board of Agriculture for Upper Can- 
ada. His farm, known as Aikinshaw, was on the Dundas road, the eastern 
boundary being the concession, now (1917) Keele street, West Toronto. 
Col. Thomson resided here from 1844-65. Water color. Size 4x7. Full length. 

466 OAT ES, CAPT. EDWARD Born near Cork, Ireland, 1772. Cap- 
tain in the naval service of Great Britain; was captured by a French pri- 
vateer in the Mediterranean and carried as a prisoner of war to Algiers. 
He was subsequently ordered to Quebec, and in 1817 finally settled in 
Canada. Commanded the "Richmond," a sloop of 100 tons burthen, which 
ran between York and Niagara, and which was built by Oates himself. It 
was launched in 1820, and wrecked six years later. Capt. Oates died at 
Port Dalhousie, Ont., in 1827. He was a cousin of Hon. Peter Russell, 
Administrator of Upper Canada, 1796-9. Water color from photograph in 
Niagara Historical Museum. Size 7 x 10. Head and shoulders. 

467 CAMERON, DUNCAN, C.B., 1775-1842 Born at Camisky, Inver- 
ness-shire, Scotland. Received commission as ensign in 79th, or Cameron 
Highlanders, 1798, and was continuously engaged in campaigns in Europe 
until after Waterloo. Was severely wounded at Quatre Bras. Came to 
Canada in 1835, on the recommendation of his cousin, Bishop Macdonell, 
and settled on a farm on Yonge street, near York Mills. From 1838-41 
was colonel of First Regiment of North York Militia. Water color from 
a miniature in Windsor, N.S. Size 4x6. Head and shoulders. 

468 MO WAT, SIR OLIVER, 1 820-1 903 Water color by F V Poole 
Size 12 x 12. Half length, sitting. See 428. 

469 YONGE "The Right Honorable Sr. George Yonge, Bt, Secretary 
at War, Knight of the Bath, one of His Majesty's Most Honorable Privy 
Council, P.R.S., F.A.S. and M.P. Mather Brown, pinxt. E. Scott, sculpt., 
Engraver to the Duke of York and Prince Edward. Published May 1, 1792, 
by S. W. Fores, No. 3 Piccadilly." Born in 1732. Died 1812. Was thd 
representative of an ancient Devonshire family, and sat in Parlia- 



75 

ment for the borough of Honiton, England, from 1754-96; was Secretary at 
War 1782-94. In 1797 he became Governor and Commander-in-Chief at 
Cape of Good Hope. Governor Simcoe gave the name Yonge (now Yonge 
street, Toronto), to the road hewn out in 1793-1800, through the woods 
from Lake Ontario to Lake Huron, as a compliment to the Secretary at 
War, who was an authority on Roman roads. Stipple engraving, printed 
in color. Size 7x9. Half length. 

470 JARVIS, WILLIAM DUMMER Born 4th Aug., 1834, the eldest 
son of William Botsford Jarvis. Became lieutenant in the 12th Regiment, 
and later lieut.-colonel in the 12th York Rangers. Resided for a time in 
Toronto, but subsequently removed to Manitoba, where he acted as In- 
spector of the Northwest Mounted Police. He now (1917) resides in Nel- 
son, B.C. Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

471 DR. GRANT POWELL'S COTTAGE, TORONTO, 1826-59 North, 
side of Richmond street, east of Simcoe. Dr. Powell, third son of Chief 
Justice William Dummer Powell, was educated in England and afterwards 
migrated to the United States, settling at Stillwater, N.Y., and practising 
his profession there until 1811, when he removed to Montreal. The follow- 
ing year he settled in York and was subsequently appointed surgeon in 
charge of all hospital arrangements on the Niagara frontier. At the close 
of the war Dr. Powell resumed the practice of his profession in York, and 
some years later was. appointed Clerk of the Assembly and Judge of the 
Home District Court. In 1828 he became Clerk of the Legislative Council. 
On receiving these appointments he transferred his medical practice to 
Dr. Widmer. Dr. Powell also had the direction of the building of the old 
General Hospital, corner of King and John streets. On his death the Rich- 
mond street house was occupied until 1859 by Mrs. Seymour, daughter of 
Dr. Powell, and widow of Charles Seymour. The late Mr. Grant Seymour, 
of Ottawa, a Government official, was a grandson of the well-known 
physician. Water color. Size 5x7. 

472 LIGHTHOUSE, TORONTO ISLAND A dignified landmark^ 
1809-1917 In 1803 an Act was passed providing for a lighthouse on what 
was then York Peninsula, and in 1809 the present hexagonal structure 
was built of limestone, brought from Queenston for the purpose. When 
first built it was 52 feet in height, but in 1832 the Government added twelve 
feet of Kingston stone, built in cement. Above the stone work is the 
lantern cage with gallery surrounding it, and a weather vane, making the 
actual height of the lighthouse 82 feet. To the left is the Lakeside Home 
for Little Children, the summer sanitarium of the Hospital for Sick Chil- 
dren, Toronto. Water color. Size 6x7. 

473 LIGHTHOUSE, TORONTO ISLAND, 1809-1917 Overlooking 
Lake Ontario. The several buildings shown are: 1, The lighthouse; 2, 
Keeper's dwelling, built as a one-storey cottage in 1838, and made a two- 
storey house in 1875. It was first occupied by James Durnan. 3, One- 
storey dwelling of plank, the oldest house in Toronto still standing, built 
1809, for the first lightkeeper, J. P. Radenmuller; 4, Workshop built by the 
late George Durnan. These buildings all face south. Water color. Size 5x7. 

474 BROWN, JOHN GORDON Born in Alloa, Clackmannanshire, 
Scotland, 16th Nov., 1827. Youngest son of Peter Brown, and brother of 
Hon. George Brown; was managing editor of Globe for many years; a 
leading Liberal writer; subsequently appointed registrar Surrogate Court 
of Toronto. Died 13th June, 1896. From a portrait in possession of his 
son, E. B. Brown, K.C., Toronto. Size 6x8. Head and shoulders. 



76 

475 BROWN, HON. GEORGE Eldest son of Peter Brown; born in 
Edinburgh 1818 In 1838 he emigrated to America with his father, settling 
in New York where in 1842 they published the British Chronicle. The 
following year Mr. Brown, Jr., visited Canada for the purpose of advertising 
and obtaining support for the paper. During his visit he came into con- 
tact with leading Liberals of Upper Canada, and m 1843 he and his father 
came to Toronto, commencing the publication of the Banner, a weekly 
paper of the Free Church party. George Brown was, however, pressed to 
publish a purely political paper, the outcome being the appearance of the 
Globe 5th March, 1844. He entered Parliament in 1852 for Haldimand, 
defeating William Lyon Mackenzie, and during his Parliamentary career 
favored all reform. Entered the Coalition Government for the purpose of 
accomplishing Confederation, but subsequently resigned. In 1873 he was 
called to the Senate. A discharged employe of the Globe shot him, 25th 
March, 1880, resulting in his death, 9th May. Photograph. Size 9 x 13. 
Half length. See 969, 3385. 

476 DURNAN, GEORGE Lighthouse-keeper at Toronto Island, 1853- 
1905, being interviewed in June, 1907, by J. Ross Robertson, when writing 
a history of the lighthouse for "Robertson's Landmarks" of Toronto. It 
is a coincidence that Mr. Durnan, during the interview, happened to sit in 
front of a picture of Toronto, showing the lighthouse, in the art room of 
The Evening Telegram. Photograph. Size '4% x 5. 

477_L|NDSEY, CHARLES Born in Lincoln, Eng., 1820, died in To- 
ronto, 1908. Arrived in Canada, 1842. Editor of Toronto Examiner; started 
Canadian Farmer with Hon. Win. Macdougall, 1848; wrote History of 
Clergy Reserves, 1851; editor of Toronto Leader, 1853-67; wrote Life of 
William Lyon Mackenzie, whose eldest daughter he married; wrote Rome 
in Canada, 1877; contributed to The Nation, Canadian Monthly, and 
other publications. One of the leading writers on the Conservative press 
for many years. In 1867 he was appointed Registrar of Deeds for the City 
of Toronto. Photograph from a portrait in possession of his son, G. G. S. 
Lindsey, barrister, Toronto. Size 5^ x 6. Head and shoulders. 

478 ROBERTSON, JOHN, 1802-75 A well known Scotsman of To- 
ronto Born in Moraystown, Parish of Petty, Nairnshire, Scotland. He 
emigrated to Canada in 1832, and was a prominent wholesale dry goods 
merchant on the west side of Yonge street, near the corner of Melinda, 
from 1839-75. He was a member of St. Andrew's Society, a Vice-President 
of the Board of Trade, a leading member of the Clan Donnachaidh 
(Robertson) in Toronto, and a descendant of Struan Robertson, Chief of 
the, Clan. Mr. Robertson's eldest son, J. Ross Robertson, proprietor of 
The Evening Telegram, Toronto, is the only member of the family living 
in 1917. Photograph, colored, from a portrait in possession of his son, 
J. Ross Robertson, Toronto. Size 3x6. Full length. 

479 ROBERTSON, MARGARET SINCLAIR, WIFE OF JOHN 
ROBERTSON She was the daughter of Hector Sinclair, of Kerrowaird, in 
the Parish of Petty, Nairnshire, born in 1810 at the farm of Goathill, near 
Stornoway, Scotland. Her marriage to John Robertson took place in 
1841, and in the same year she came to Canada with him, residing in 
Toronto until her death in 1865. Photograph, colored, from a portrait in 
possession of her son, J. Ross Robertson, Toronto. Size 3x6. Full length. 

480 ROLPH, DR. JOHN, 1793-1870 Born at Thornbury, Gloucester- 
shire, Eng. Came to Canada at the beginning of the War of 1812, during 
which he acted as paymaster in the London District. After the War he 
returned to England, engaging in the study of law and medicine. He be- 
came a member of the Royal College of Surgeons, England, and in 1821- 
was called to the Bar of Upper Canada. For a time he resided in the town- 



77 

ship of Charlotteville, then in the Talbot District, and at the general elec- 
tions of 1824 became a member for Middlesex. About this time he removed 
to Dundas, whence he came to Toronto in 1831, a year later abandoning 
law for medicine. Dr. Rolph was elected one of the first aldermen of the 
city on its incorporation. Becoming involved in the Rebellion of 1837, he 
was compelled to leave Canada. Subsequent to his return, he formed 
"Rolph's School," which in 1853 was incorporated as the "Toronto School 
of Medicine." From 1851-4 he was a member of Hon. Francis Hinck's Ad- 
ministration. His death took place at Mitchell, Ont. Photograph, colored. 
Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

481 SCO B IE, HUGH Editor of "The British Colonist" Mr. Scobie, 
a son of Capt. James Scobie, 93rd Highlanders, was born at Fort George, 
Inverness-shire, Scotland, April 29th, 1811. Educated at the Academy of 
Tain, subsequently engaging in the office of Messrs. Gordon and Stuart, 
Writers to the Signet, Edinburgh. In 1832 he came to Canada, shortly 
afterwards purchasing a farm in West Gwillimbury. Acted as agent of Dr. 
Bartlett, for the New York Albion, until 1837, when he started the Scotsman, 
which, after two numbers, became the British Colonist. Mr. Scobie con- 
tinued the publication of the journal until his death, which occurred in 
Toronto, Dec. 4th, 1853. Water color from original by Hoppner Meyer, in 
possession of Mr. Scobie's granddaughter, Mrs. Calderwood, Barrie, Ont. 
Size 6x8. Head and shoulders. See 497. 

482 B ROUGH, SECKER, 1813-79 Born in Ireland and educated at 
Trinity College Dublin. While a young man he emigrated to Canada, join- 
ing his uncle, Gen. Brough, R.A., Commandant at Halifax. He afterwards 
came to Toronto and entered the office of Messrs. Hagerman and Draper; 
called to the Bar, 1840, and later Mr. Draper's partner. On the establish- 
ment of the Court of Probate for Upper Canada he was appointed Judge, 
continuing to hold the office until the abolition of the Court. For several 
years Mr. Brough had one of the most extensive practices at the Chancery 
Bar, and took a very active and prominent part as a Bencher of the Law 
Society. In 1859 he was made Queen's Counsel, and in 1866 became Judge 
of the County Court of Huron. Owing to ill-health he resigned his position 
eleven years later. His death occurred at Goderich, Ont., in 1879. Water 
color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

483 MORRISON, MR. AND MRS. DANIEL Mr. Morrison, one of the 
most brilliant editorial writers on the Canadian press from about 1853-69, 
was born in Inverness, Scotland, 1827, the son of the Rev. Mr. Morrison. 
In the early fifties he emigrated to Canada, engaging in rarmlng for a 
time, and later editing the Dundas (Ont.) Warder in conjunction with 
S. T. Jones. In 1854 he assumed the editorship of the Toronto Leader; 
three years later became editor of the Toronto Daily Colonist, and in 1859 
was appointed by the Government as a Provincial Arbitrator in connec- 
tion with the Public Works Department, resigning the following year to 
become editor of the Quebec Morning Chronicle. In 1861 he edited the- 
London Prototype, and then joined the staff of the New York Times. Re- 
turned to Toronto in 1868 and became editor of the Toronto Daily Tele= 
graph, remaining with that paper until his death in 1870. In 1858 he mar- 
ried Miss Charlotte Nickinson, the celebrated and accomplished actress 
and daughter of the well-known actor, John Nickinson. Water color from 
a daguerreotype in possession of their daughter, Mrs. Edward B. Brown, 
Toronto. Size 5x6. Half length, sitting. 

484 SHEPPARD, GEORGE In 1859 Mr. Sheppard was on the To- 
>nto Globe, but subsequently joined the editorial staffs of the Toronto 
Colonist and Leader. From 1863-80 also he was editor of the New York 
Times. The celebrated article, "Whither Are We Drifting?" which created 
considerable discussion at the time of its appearance, was written by Mr. 
Sheppard. He at one time, too, did actuarial work for the Canada Life 



78 

Assurance Company. Born at Newark-on-Trent, Eng., in 1819. His death 
occurred in 1912 at Jamaica Plain, near Boston. Photograph. Size 5 x 1. 
Head and Phoulders. 

485 DENISON, COLONEL GEORGE TAYLOR, HEYDON VILLA, 
TORONTO, 1839-1916 Water color from oil portrait in Heydon Villa. Size 
5x7. Half length. See 603. 

486 DENISON, LIEUT.-COL. GEORGE TAYLOR, BELLEVUE, TO- 
RONTOA son of Captain John Denison, in whose company of the 3rd 
Regiment of York Militia he served as sergeant in 1812, later joining 
Ridout's Company. In the Rebellion of 1837 he commanded the volunteer 
cavalry troop organized by him, and now known as the Governor General's 
Body Guard. Colonel Denison was a member of the first City Council of 
Toronto. His property, Bellevue, purchased by him in 1815, consisted of 
park lot 17 and half of lot 18. The original drive is now known as Denison 
avenue, Toronto. Water color from an oil portrait in possession of his 
grandson, Colonel George Taylor Denison, Heydon Villa, Toronto. Size 
5x7. Half length. 

487 JARVIS, WILLIAM First Provincial Secretary, Upper Canada. 
He was born in Stamford, Conn., llth September, 1756, and died in York 
(Toronto), 13th August, 1817. At an early age he was sent to England, 
where he received his education. He was a cornet in the Queen's Rangers, 
commanded by Lieut.-Col. Simcoe (first Lieut-Governor of Upper Canada, 
1792-6) ; served in the Revolutionary War, and in 1785 again went to Eng- 
land. In 1789 Jarvis was commissioned as a lieutenant in the "Western 
Regiment ^Militia" in Middlesex, Eng., and on 1st January, 1791, as a 
captain in the same regiment. In March, 1792, he was appointed Provin- 
cial Grand Master of Masons in Upper Canada, having been made a Mason 
the month previous, and later in the same year he came to Canada as 
"Secretary and Registrar of the Records of the Province of Upper Canada," 
which position he held until his death. Water color from an oil painting 
in possession of his grandson, Aemilius Jarvis, Toronto. Size 4x5. Head 
and shoulders. 

488 REES, DR. WILLIAM First Superintendent Provincial Lunatic 
Asylum, Toronto, 1841-4 Came from England, 1819; practised in Quebec, 
removing to York toward the close of 1829, where he purchased Dr. Daly's 
practice. Some years later he was made surgeon to the 1st West York 
Battalion. As a result of his efforts the old jail near the northwest corner 
of King and Toronto streets was acquired by the Provincial authorities for 
the reception of the insane, there being no such institution in Upper Canada 
up to 1841. Further accommodation was soon required, and the eastern 
wing of the Parliament Buildings appropriated. Dr. Rees constructed a 
wharf at the foot of Graves (Simcoe) street, which was known for many 
years as Rees' Wharf. Water color from original portrait. Size 4x5. 
Head and shoulders. 

489 LEE, GRAVES SIMCOE, 1829-1912 A well-known Canadian 
actor, as he appeared at twenty-four years of age. The son of Dr. Hiram 
Davis Lee, of London, Ont. Young Lee became enamored of the stage 
through the private theatricals which were a favorite pastime in the mili- 
tary circles of the day in London. He subsequently adopted acting as a 
profession, and in 1855 was a popular member of John Nickinson's Stock 
Company, which played in the Royal Lyceum, Toronto, and drew enthusi- 
astic audiences while here. Lee afterwards starred in various parts of the 
United States. In 1892 he retired. Water color from a daguerreotype in 
possession of his niece, Miss A. Daly, Kingston, Ont. Size 4x5. Head 
and shoulders. See 490. 






79 

490 LEE, GRAVES SIMCOE, AT SEVENTY YEARS OF AGE Water 
color from a portrait in possession of his sister, Mrs. J. B. Strathy, To- 
ronto. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. See 489. 

491 DENNIS HOUSE, YORK (TORONTO) Northeast corner King 
and Yonge streets The cottage was a frame structure, painted white, 
with a paling in front, and shaded by large willow trees; erected about 
1820 and enlarged 1823. It was demolished about 1830, and superseded 
by a four-storey red brick building, occupied for forty years by Ridout 
Bros., and afterwards the office of the Cunard Steamship Company. John 
Dennis, a U.B. Loyalist, was, prior to his removal to York, superintendent 
of the dockyard at Kingston. The site of the Dennis cottage is now (1916) 
occupied by the Royal Bank building. Water color. Size 5x7. 

492 ' BEL FORD, CHARLES Editor Toronto Leader Born in the 
city of Cork, Ireland, April 25th, 1837; educated on the Island of Valentia. 
In 1856 Mr. Belford came to Canada, joining the staff of the Toronto Leader 
the following year. On the retirement of Mr. Charles Lindsey, in 1867, was 
appointed editor-in-chief, resigning Oct. 4th, 1871. Editor of the first issue 
of the Toronto Mail, March, 1872. His death took place at Ottawa, Ont., 
December 19th, 1880. Water color from portrait in possession of his son, 
Mr. C. A. Belford, Ottawa. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

493 DENISON, CAPTAIN JOHN, 1754-1824 An officer in 2nd West 
York Regiment, England. Was induced to come to Canada from Heydon, 
Yorkshire, in 1792, by his friend, Hon. Peter Russell. He first settled in 
Kingston, but four years later came to York, living at Castle Frank for a 
time, by permission of Hon. Mr. Russell, the Administrator, U.C. He after- 
wards lived on Front street, near Bay, and at Petersfield, north side of 
what is now (1916) Queen street, near Soho. In the War of 1812 he was 
captain of the 3rd Regiment of York Militia. Water color from a portrait 
in possession of his great-grandson, Colonel George Taylor Denison, Hey- 
don Villa, Toronto. Size 5x7. Half length. 

494 DENISON, COLONEL GEORGE TAYLOR, RUSHOLME, TO- 
RONTO Born in 1816, the son of George Taylor Denison, of Bellevue. 
Although a lawyer by profession, he devoted his energies chiefly to the 
Canadian volunteer service. In 1838 he was appointed lieutenant in the 
Governor-General's Body Guard, then commanded by his father, and in 
1846 obtained command of the troop. Colonel Denison may be called the 
founder of the militia in Toronto, having organized cavalry, artillery and 
rifles, including the Queen's Own Corps, the second battalion of Volunteer 
Militia Rifles of Canada, in 1860. He was also for some time alderman for 
St. Patrick's Ward. In 1839 he built Rusholme, a handsome roughcast 
house on Dundas street, and here he resided until his death in 1873. Water 
color from an oil portrait in possession of his son, Col. G. T. Denison, 
Heydon Villa, Toronto. Size 6x8. Half length. 

495 SHAN LY, WALTER, C.E., 1817-99 A prominent engineer on 
railway works. He was a son of James Shanly, Norman's Grove, near 
Dublin, Ireland; a brother of James Shanly, London, Ont., Master in- 
Chancery, and of Francis Shanly, C.E., one-time City Engineer for Toronto. 
As a young man Walte Shanly was employed by the Government on the 
Beauharnois and Welland Canals; in 1851-3 was engineer of the Ottawa 
and Prescott Railway, and of the Western Division of the Grand Trunk, 
1851-9. He was also general manager of the latter from 1858-62. His most 
important work as a railway contractor was the Hoosac Mountain Tunnel, 
Massachusetts, which he, in conjunction with his brother, Francis, success- 



80 

fully constructed, 1869-75. From 1863-7 he sat in the old Parliament 
Canada, and also in the House of Commons after Confederation. Wat 
color. Size 5x7. Head and shoulders. 

496 SHAN LY, FRANCIS, C.E., 1820-82 From 1875-80 he was Ci1 
Engineer of Toronto. In conjunction with his brother, Walter Shanly, 
successfully constructed the Hoosac Mountain Tunnel, Massachusetts, 
1869-75; also engaged on the Grand Trunk Railway from Toronto to 
Guelph. He was a son of James Shanly, a member of the Irish Bar, who 
came to Canada in 1836, from Norman's Grove, near Dublin, and settled 
with his family in the vicinity of London, C.W., in Co. Middlesex. Water 
color. Size 5x7. Head and shoulders. See 2789. 

497 SCO B IE, HUGH, 1811-53 Well-known newspaper man of the 
early days, and editor of "The British Colonist." Water color from minia- 
ture in possession of his granddaughter, Mrs. Calderwood, Barrie, Ont. 
Size 4x5. See 481. 

498 AGRICULTURAL HALL, TORONTO This building occupied the 
lot on the northwest corner of Queen and Yonge streets. It was a noted 
site from 1830. The commodious frame building which stood there was 
known as the "Sun" Tavern, and later as the "Craven Heifer." About 1857 
the building was burned, and some years later the Government purchased 
the land, and in 1866 the Board of Agriculture erected what was known 
as the Agricultural Hall. The tenants of the stores on the Yonge street 
front were James Fleming & Co., the well-known seedsmen, and WilHam 
Bilton, an oyster and fruit dealer. The building was subsequently re- 
modelled for Philip Jamieson, tailor, and is now (1917) occupied by the 
F. W. Woolworth Company. Water color. Size 4x5. 

499 JUSTICE POWELL'S HOUSE, TORONTO A two-storey, whil 
frame dwelling, erected about 1812, on the east side of York street, near 
Front, and occupied by Chief Justice William Dummer Powell from 1820. 
The Chief Justice died in 1834, but his wife survived him until 1849. Dr. 
Gwynne afterwards occupied the residence, which later became a cheap 
lodging house, and was eventually purchased by Mr. Verral, a one-time 
alderman of the city, who had it demolished in 1894 to make way for the 
stables of the Verral Transfer Company. Water color. Size 6x8. 

500 SEVENTH CUSTOM HOUSE,; TORONTO, 1870-6 When the 
sixth Custom House was burned the Government rented the large three- 
storey brick building which stood at about No. 26 Front street west. It 
had been built as a residence by Judge Jones, and later turned into a 
hotel known as the Rochester House, by John Hanlan, an uncle of the 
famous oarsman, Ned Hanlan. In this building the customs business was 
carried on until 1876, when the present structure was completed on the 
site of the sixth Custom House, southwest corner Fron* and Yon^e streets. 
The site of the Rochester House is now (1917) a fine business block. 
Water color. Size 5x6. 



501 GREAT WESTERN RAILWAY STATION, TORONTO In 1834 
an Act was passed by the Legislature to incorporate the "London and 
Gore Railway Company." Nothing, however, being accomplished until 
1845, a second Act reviving that of 1834 was passed, with an amendment 
to change the name of the railway to the Great Western. A reorganization 
of the company took place, and on 3rd December, 1855, the Toronto and 
Hamilton branch of the line was opened for traffic. For a time the Great 



81 

Western used the Union Station at the foot of York street. In March, 
1866, their own depot at the eastern angle of -Esplanade and Yonge street 
was opened. On llth August, 1882, the Great Western amalgamated with 
the Grand Trunk. The old station of the former is now (1917) used as the 
G.T.R. fruit depot. Water color. Size 5x7. 

502 BANK OF UPPER CANADA, TORONTO, 1822-30 Situated on 
the southeast corner of King and Frederick streets; demolished in 1915, 
and now site of the warehouse of A. Muirhead & Co., Ltd. Although an 
Act was passed in 1819 for the institution of a bank in York, the Bank of 
Upper Canada did not commence operations until about 1822. For many 
years it did a flourishing business, but finally became embarrassed, 
burdened with unsaleable lanji^ taken as security, and in 1866 failed. Hon. 
William Allan, one of the incorporators, was the first president, and it was 
in the substantial brick building erected by him in 1818, at the corner of 
King and Frederick streets, that the bank for a number of years did busi- 
ness, removing from there about 1830 to the northeast corner Duke and 
George, and in the early sixties to the southeast corner of Yonge and 
Colborne streets. Water color. Size 6x7. See 522. 

503 DR. WIDMER'S HOUSE, TORONTO North side of Front street 
east, now (1916) the site of Nos. 228-32. After living for many years on 
King street, nearly opposite Ontario, Dr. Christopher Widmer, an eminent 
physician and surgeon of York in the early days, erected on the lower part 
of his lot the dwelling shown in the picture. It was a commodious, double- 
gabled, red brick two-storey dwelling, with a large wing at the west side. 
After Dr. Widmer's death in 1858 the Front street residence became the 
home of his son-in-law, Captain John Clarke, well-known as an officer of 
the 100th Regiment, and also of the Royal Canadian Rifles. It was torn 
down in 1900 and is now part of the site of the Copland Brewery plant. 
Water color. Size 5x7. 

504 COTTAGE HOME ON THE BEACH AT THE FOOT OF BAY 
STREET, TORONTO Here lived Michael, popularly known as "Fisty," 
Masterson and his wife. From 1847-62 they kept boats for hire and were 
well patronized by the boys of Upper Canada College, which was then on 
King street. Masterson had a small schooner, the "Christina," with which 
he is said to have done considerable smuggling in the early days. His 
nickname originated from the fact that he lost his left arm while firing a 
salute at Kingston on the Queen's Birthday. Water color. Size 5x7. 

505 QUEEN STREET WEST, TORONTO, 1890 North side, from 
James to Teraulay streets. With key. Water color. Size 7 x 11. 

506 DWELLING OF LIEUT. ZACHARIAH MUDGE, YORK (TO- 
RONTO) West side of Emily street, near Wellington. The cottage was 
one of the early houses in York, being considered quite an old house in 
1825. In its latter days it was used as a barn. For some years the cottage 
was occupied by Lieut. Mudge, an artillery officer, and one of the aides-de- 
camp of Sir John Colborne, K.C.B., Lieut-Governor of Upper Canada, 1828- 
1836. Water color. Size 6x7. 

507 THIRD PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS View of rear from north- 
east corner Simcoe and Wellington streets. The buildings were com- 
menced in 1826, and from 1832-41 were occupied by the Legislature. At 
different times until 1867 they were used as a court of law, university, 
asylum and military barracks. In 1867 the sessions of the Ontario Legisla- 
ture met within the walls of the red brick pile, continuing to do so until 



82 

1892 the 100th anniversary of the first Parliament of old Upper Canada. 
The 'buildings were demolished in 1903, and the site is now occupied by 
freight sheds of the G.T.R. Water color by W. J. Thomson. Size 8 x 11. 
See 519. 

508MOSS PARK, TORONTO Residence of the Hon. William Allan, 
at one time Postmaster of York (Toronto), and of his son, Hon. G. W. 
Allan. The old brick mansion was situated on the west side of Sherbourne 
street, between Queen and Shuter, and was occupied for many years by 
the Allans. In 1904 the city purchased the property; the house was de- 
molished and the land used for a public square. Water color, from a pen 
drawing in 1842. Size 7 x 10. See 305. 

509 FIRST CUSTOM HOUSE, YORK (TORONTO), 1801-20 When 
York was made a customs port in 1801 Col. (Hon.) William Allan was ap- 
pointed first customs collector, and in a small, one-storey frame building on 
the east side of Frederick street, south of King, established his official 
headquarters. Mr. Allan later removed the custom house to the Merchants' 
Wharf, at the foot of Frederick street, on the bay front. Water color. 
Size 4x7. 

510 FOURTH CUSTOM HOUSE, YORK, 1829-35 Scott street, near 
Wellington. In 1829 Mr. George Savage removed the custom offices from 
the temporary quarters in Isaac Columbus' shop to the Drlck cottage of 
Mr. Thomas Carfrae on the east side of Scott street. The latter occupied 
one end of the cottage as a dwelling, while the other end was used as the 
custom house. Mr. Carfrae himself afterwards became customs collector 
Water color. Size 5x7. 

511 UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO, 1862 With the expropriation of 
old King's College in 1853 it became necessary to provide proper accom- 
modation for University College, the name given by legislation to the Arts 
teaching faculty of the University in that year. In 1858 the handsome 
freestone pile, of Norman architecture, was completed, but, unfortunately, 
the February of 1890 saw its destruction by fire. It was rebuilt, however, 
in 1890-2 in practically the same external form as it stands to-day (1917), 
but with various internal changes. The main doorway, which is a copy of 
an ancient English entrance, is said to be the most perfect example of 
Norman architecture on the continent. Water color. Size 5x7. 

512 THIRD CUSTOM HOUSE, YORK, 1828-9 The second collector 
of the port of York was Mr. George Savage, who received his appointment 
in 1828. He established a temporary office in the shop of Isaac Columbus, 
the well-known gunsmith, on the southeast corner of Duke and Caroline 
(Sherbourne) streets, afterwards removing to Scott, near Wellington. 
Water color. Size 5x7. 

513 SIXTH CUSTOM HOUSE, TORONTO, 1841-70 Southwest corner 
of Front and Yonge streets. A brick structure erected by tne Government 
after the plans of Kivas Tully, the Toronto architect and civil engineer. 
In 1870 the building was destroyed by fire. Mr. Carfrae was succeeded in 
the collectorship by William Moore Kelly. In 1843 Mr. Kelly was followed 
by Robert Stanton, who resigned 1849. William F. Meudell was appointed 
collector in 1850, remaining in office eight years, when he was succeeded 
by Robert Spence, who acted until his death in 1868. James E. Smith was 
then appointed and continued in the position until 1879. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

514 ST. PATRICK'S MARKET, TORONTO, 1836-1912 In 1836 Mr. 
D'Arcy Boulton presented to the city the land on which St. Patrick's 
Market now stands, on condition that the corporation should erect a market 
there, and that it should be maintained as such perpetually. Just after 



83 

the presentation a frame building was erected on the site. About 1854 it 
fell into decay and was replaced by a white brick structure two storeys 
high in front and surmounted by a tower. This building was demolished 
in 1912, and the present market erected in 1913. Water color by F. V. 
Poole. Size 6 x 10. 

515 SECOND CUSTOM HOUSE, YORK, 1820-8 It was established 
by Col. (Hon.) William Allan, first customs collector of York, in a frame 
storehouse erected by him on the Merchants' Wharf. This wharf, at the 
foot of Frederick street, was one of the earliest landing places for the 
larger lake craft, and belonged to Mr. Allan. The storehouse in question 
was subsequently used as a malt house. Water color. Size 5x6. 

516 EIGHTH CUSTOM HOUSE, TORONTO, 1876-1916 Erected at the 
southwest corner of Front and Yonge streets, facing the former, on the site 
of the sixth custom house, which was severely damaged by fire in 1870. The 
structure, which is of stone, is designed after the Renaissance style of 
architecture, and was first occupied November, 1876. The vacant lot 
west of the building was purchased by the Government as a protective 
measure. Mr. John Bertram, who succeeded the late John Small, is the 
present (1917) customs collector. Photograph, colored. Size 6x7. 

517 STEAMER CHIEF JUSTICE ROBINSON Landing her passen- 
gers in the winter of 1852-3 on the ice in Toronto Bay, east of Queen's 
Wharf, and about 1,500 feet south of the then north shore of Toronto Bay. 
The route from Toronto to Montreal in 1852 was by boat to a point on 
the Niagara River, probably Lewiston; rail, Niagara Falls to Whitehall 
via Albany; boat, Plattsburg; rail to Caughnawaga via West Chazy, Moore's 
Junction and St. Isidore Junction; ferry to Lachine, and rail to Montreal. 
At that time there were nine railway lines used from Montreal to Niagara 
Falls, several of which were consolidated into the New York Central in 
1853. The "Chief Justice Robinson," 400 tons burthen, was built at 
Niagara, 1842. She was owned and commanded by Captain Hugh Richard- 
son, and was a well-known packet on the route between Lewiston and 
Toronto for several years. Subsequently she was sold, her engine eventu- 
ally being put into a new steamer, the "Marine City." Water color by Wm. 
Armstrong, C.E., Toronto. Size 8 x 13. 

518 SCENE AT CUTTING OF FIRST SOD OF THE ONTARIO, 
SIMCOE AND HURON RAILWAY, TORONTO, 15TH OCT., 1851 Water 
color by General A. R. V. Crease, taken from a window on the west side 
of John street. Size 7 x 11. See 263, 782. 

519 THIRD PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, TORONTO View of rear 
from northwest* corner of John and Wellington streets. Water color by 
W. J. Thomson. Size 7 x 13. See 507. 

520 FIRST BRIDGE OVER THE DON RIVER, TORONTO, 1803 
Erected by the Government of Upper Canada at the east end of King 
street. William Smith, an early settler of York, was the contractor. 
Water color. Size 6 x 11. 

521 MARYVILLE LODGE, YORK (TORONTO), 1794-1854 The 
home of Surveyor-General (Sir) David W. Smith, who came to York in 
the train of Governor Simcoe. Mr. Smith, who was a member of the 
Executive Council and Surveyor-General of Upper Canada, became the 
possessor of some 20,000 acres in the Province, and was the original owner 
of the park lot which constituted the Moss Park estate. Maryville Lodge 
was a one-storey frame structure, facing the north side of King street, 
near the northeast corner of King and Ontario streets. At one end was 
Mr. Smith's office. From the fact that the house was painted yellow it 



84 

acquired the appellation of "The Yellow House." It subsequently became 
a school and now (1916) stores occupy the site. Water color by F. V. 
Poole. Size 3x7. 

522 BANK OF UPPER CANADA, TORONTO, 1830-66 On the north- 
east corner of Duke and George streets. The building is now (1917) a 
part of the De La Salle Institute. Water color. Size 5x6. See 502. 

523 CANADA COMPANY'S OFFICE, YORK (TORONTO) North- 
east corner of King and Frederick streets. The building was erected in 
1807 by Quetton St. George, who in 1805 established himself in business in 
York. For its construction Mr. St. George brought from Oswego or 
Rochester the first bricks ever seen in York. The ground floor and part 
of the cellar were used by the builder for carrying on his general mercan- 
tile business, while the remainder of the building was occupied as a resi- 
dence. In 1817 Mr. St. George transferred this property to Mr. John 
Spread Baldwin, who conducted the business for a number of years. Sub- 
sequently the corner came into possession of the Canada Company, which 
was established in York in 1826, its first office being a room in the Steam- 
boat Hotel, east of the market block in Front street. In the colonization 
of Canada this company played an important part. The site of the old 
Canada Company's Building is (1917) occupied by Adams Bros., saddlers, 
Water color. Size 5x7. See 823. 

524 SHAKESPEARE HOTEL, TORONTO, 1831-70 It was a medium- 
sized, two-storey, white frame structure, on the north-east corner of 
York and King streets, fronting on York street. It was occupied as a 
Mechanics' Boarding House till 1843, when James Mirfield, an Englishman, 
kept it as the Shakespeare Hotel. After his death Mr. Thomas Kerr, an 
enterprising citizen, was the landlord. The house was patronized largely 
by the theatrical profession. For a time plays were put on in a small 
frame theatre at the rear and east of the hotel, entrance to which was 
gained by a lane from King street. It continued open until John Ritchey 
built the Royal Lyceum on the south side of King street. The hotel was 
demolished about 1870 and later rebuilt. It continued as an hotel under 
various names for 45 years, and was last known as the Imperial. It is now 
(1917) vacant. Water color. Size 5x7. 

525 ANDREW MERCER'S COTTAGE, YORK (TORONTO) At the 

south-east corner of Bay and Wellington streets, erected about 1811-12 by 
Andrew Mercer, who came to York with Chief Justice Scott, acquiring 
large tracts of land from the Crown. During the War of 1812 the printing 
office of the Upper Canada Gazette was removed to this house, and for a 
time Mr. Mercer had charge of the publication of the paper. On the occu- 
pation of York by the Americans the place was entered and the printing 
press demolished. At Mr. Mercer's death, in 1871, a legal dispute arose 
regarding the validity of the will purported to have been made by him, 
and the result was that the valuable properties were escheated to the 
Crown. The Ogilvie Building now (1917) stands on the site of the old 
cottage. Water color. Size 5x7. 

526 FIFTH CUSTOM HOUSE (TORONTO'S FIRST), 1835-41 A 
small, one-storey, hip-roofed, brick building, on the north side of Front 
street, east of Scott, between the Coffin Block and the Newbigging House, 
now (1917) the site of the rear of John Macdonald & Co.'s warehouse, 32-6 
Front street east. In 1835 Mr. Thomas Carfrae succeeded Mr. George 
Savage as collector of customs. He will be remembered as the originator 
of the Potter's Field in Toronto. Water color. Size 6x7 



85 

527 SEVERN'S BREWERY, YORKVILLE On the east side of 
Yonge street, just north of Davenport road. In 1835 John Severn, a York 
blacksmith, removed to Yorkville, establishing there a smithy in which he 
worked for a short time prior to his taking over the brick and stone 
brewery erected by John Baxter. The brewery was enlarged from time 
to time by Severn, and on his death by his son George, who conducted the 
business until 1890. John Severn was one of the first five councillors or 
aldermen of Yorkville at the time of its incorporation in 1853. Water 
color. Size 5 x 7. 

528 WEST LODGE, TORONTO The residence of Lieutenant-Colonel 
Walter O'Hara; built in 1832, on "the lake shore road," now (1917) West 
Lodge avenue. Several additions have been made to the original red 
brick house. The building is now occupied by the Monastery of Our Lady 
of Charity. Lieut.-Col. O'Hara, for many years a well-known citizen of 
Toronto, served with distinction throughout the whole of the Peninsular 
Campaign, and for a time was in the Canadian Militia. From a water 
color by his son, Robert O'Hara, and now in possession of Miss Mary 
O'Hara, a daughter of the first owner of West Lodge. Size 6x9. 

529 GEORGE DUGGAN'S STORE, TORONTO About 1805 the Rev. 
George O'Kill Stewart, first rector of St. James' Church (Cathedral), 
erected on the south-east corner of King and George streets a small frame 
residence as a rectory. Attached to it he constructed a small stone build- 
ing, afterwards clapboarded, and in this unpretentious place the first Dis- 
trict school in York was conducted from 1807-13. In that year, on Dr. 
Stewart's removal to Kingston, Mr. George Duggan, father of Recorder 
Duggan, became the occupant of the old rectory, keeping a general store 
there. With him resided his brother, Dr. Thos. Duggan, a well-known 
York physician. At a later date, Hughes Bros., clothiers, occupied the 
building. From 1856 until the early seventies, when the building 
was demolished, John Kitson and others conducted a tavern there. A 
brick hostelry, the York Hotel, now (1917) stands on the site. Water color. 
Size 5x6. 

530 JORDAN'S "YORK" HOTEL, TORONTO South side of King, 
between Princes street to the west and Berkeley street to the east. 
Firstbrook's Box Factory, 283 King east, is now located on the site. It 
was a storey and a half frame building, with dormer windows along its 
roof, and in the early days was the first-class hotel, not only of York, but 
of all Upper Canada. It was one of the oldest houses in York, and as far 
back as 1820 presented a dilapidated appearance. Before the completion of 
the Legislative Buildings which succeeded those burned by the Americans 
when they occupied York in 1813, the Parliament of U.C. met for one 
session in the ball room of the hotel, and here also public dinners and 
assemblies were held. John Jordan was a pew holder in St. James' Church 
(Cathedral) from its inception, and was one of the signatories to a con- 
gratulatory address presented to Lieut.-Governor Sir Francis Gore on his 
return from England in 1815. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 6x8. 

531 MIRROR PRINTING OFFICE, TORONTO, 1856 Erected by 
Joshua G. Beard about 1825, on the south-east corner of King and East 
Market streets. For about ten years the ground floor was used as a com- 
bined tailoring establishment and tavern, known as the Crown Inn, and 
conducted by Thomas Moore. During his occupancy the upper floor was 
the office of the Courier, edited by George Gurnett, and from 1836-58 the 
Mirror was published there by Charles Donlevy. On Moore's removal the 
ground floor was occupied as a grocery store by William Henderson. The 
second door south on East Market street was William Gibson's saddlery, the 
third was Thomas Berkinshaw's grocery, and at the right of the picture 
is shown the Albion Hotel, kept by George Platt. Water color. Size 4x6. 



86 

532 NORTH SIDE OF FRONT STREET, FROM PETER TO JOHN 
STREETS, YORK (TORONTO) 1810 The picture shows the home (two 
views) of Hon. George Cruickshank, Deputy Commissary-General, a colonial 
cottage building, built about 1800, and a two-storey frame building filled in 
with brick, erected in front of the cottage, 1821. Both houses were demolished 
in 1881. In the centre of the picture may be seen the home of John Beikie, 
Clerk of the Executive Council. The Commissariat, or military storehouse, 
on the bay shore, a frame building, painted in ordnance grey and contain- 
ing militia stores, and the Half-Way House, a resort for soldiers from the 
garrison, are on extreme right. Water color, by E. Wyly Grier, from or- 
iginal in possession of the late Mrs. Stephen Heward, Toronto. Size 13 x 20. 

533 VIEW FROM SOUTH SIDE OF FIRST ROYAL CANADIAN 
YACHT CLUB HOUSE, TORONTO ISLAND To the left of the picture 
is shown the city. The water in the foreground is the deep lagoon south 
of the Yacht Club grounds, now used as a slip for the yachts. Water color 
by J. T. Rolph, Toronto. Size 11 x 14. See 741. 

534 SIGNING OF THE ONTARIO HYDRO-ELECTRIC POWER 
CONTRACT The contract for 10,000 h.p. for 30 years was between the 
City of Toronto and the Ontario Hydro-Electric Power Commission, of 
which Hon. Adam Beck was chairman. He signed on Tuesday, 5th May, 
1908. The picture shows those present at the signing of the contract by 
the Mayor and City Treasurer on 7th May, 1908. 1, Joseph Oliver, Mayor 
of Toronto. 2, R. T. Coady, Treasurer of Toronto. 3, Controller Jlocken. 
4, Robert Staton, City Contract Clerk. 5, Controller Church. 6, Wm. A. 
Littlejohn, City Clerk. 7, A. F. Lobb, Solicitor, Ontario Hydro Commission. 
8, Controller F. S. Spence. Photograph, colored. Size 6x9. 

535 TENTH ROYALS REGIMENT, TORONTO Presentation of 
Colors, 1863 F. W. Cumberland (afterwards Lieut.-Colonel), Managing 
Director of the Northern Railway, organized the Tenth Royals in 1861-2. 
Early in January, 1862, drill began for the officers, and in March the offi- 
cial list of appointments was compiled. On 6th July, 1863, a set of colors 
was presented by the ladies of Toronto, the event taking place on the 
commons which were in those days bounded by Spadina avenue, College, 
Cecil and Huron streets. Mrs. Cumberland read the presentation address, 
after which Col. Robertson, commandant of the garrison, handed first the 
Queen's and then the regimental colors to her. She in turn presented them 
to the ensigns, who received them kneeling. Rev. Dr. McCaul, President of 
Toronto University, consecrated the colors. The regimental color is of 
heavy blue silk; near the top is a crown beautifully embroidered with the 
motto, "Ready, aye ready." The number of the regiment is encircled by 
a beautiful wreath in appropriate colors and composed of the Rose, 
Thistle, Shamrock and Maple Leaf, while underneath are the words 
* Tenth Royal Regiment T.V." On the Union Jack is a crown of bullion, 
with "X Regiment T.V. Canada" of the same material. The staff of each 
color is surmounted by a lion and crown in solid silver, and a shield in- 
serted into each staff contains the legend that the colors were "Presented 
to the Tenth Royals by the Ladies of Toronto." The Tenth Royals in 1881 
became known as Tenth Battalion Royal Grenadiers. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 



53 tr P ' NEER SKATING RNK OF TORONTO-THE VICTORIA 

The rmk was located at the south-west corner of Gerrard and Sher- 
borne streets opposite the Horticultural Gardens (Allan Gardens), and 
was built by P. Arnold and Orin Wardell. It extended west on Gerrard to 
Pembroke st and 120 feet south on Sherbourne. The picture was made 
w^ o 7 I, o wh ^ n a grand prize skating match came off. Miss Alice 
(Mrs. E. Strachan Cox), a daughter of Mr. James Worts, won the first ] 



87 

prize, and Miss Elliot, daughter of Mr. Wm. Elliot, the second. The 
Gardens are shown to the north, and to the left in the Gardens may be 
seen the original pavilion and the caretaker's house. Water color. 
Size 5x6. 

5 37_WYKEHAM HALL, BISHOP STRACHAN SCHOOL FOR GIRLS, 
COLLEGE ST., TORONTO A view of the main hallway in the spring of 
1915 Photograph, colored. Size 5x7. See 538, 543, 553. 

53 8 _WYKEHAM HALL, BISHOP STRACHAN SCHOOL FOR GIRLS, 
COLLEGE ST., TORONTO A view of the drawing room in the spring of 
1915. Photograph, colored. Size 5x7. See 537, 543, 553. 

539 INAUGURAL MEETING OF THE TORONTO CITY COUNCIL, 
CITY HALL, JANUARY 11TH, 1915 The following ladies and gentlemen 
were present: 1, Mayor T. L. Church. Controllers 2, J. E. Thompson; 3, 
Thomas Foster; 4, John O'Neill, jun.; 5, F. S. Spence. Aldermen 6, R. H. 
Cameron; 7, L. M. Singer; 8, S. M. Wickett; 9, W. H. Weir; 10, Sam Ryding; 
11, J. W. Meredith; 12, John Dunn; 13, J. G. Ramsden; 14, Sam McBride; 
15, D. Spence; 16, W. D. Robbins; 17, J. J. Gibbons; 18, John Cowan; 19, 
C. A. Maguire; 20, H. H. Ball; 21, C. A. Risk; 22, J. W. Somers, Chief 
Clerk; 23, Thomas Sanderson, Assistant City Clerk; 24, W. A. Littlejohn, 
City Clerk; 25, Albert Smart, Clerk; 26, The Press Table. The Mayor's 
sisters 27, Miss Rebecca Church; 28, Mrs. Scadding; 29, Mrs. Byfield. 
Aldermen A. E. Walton, R. M. Yeomans, J. M. Warren and Thomas Roden, 
who were present, are not in the picture, as they were sitting outside the 
range of the camera. Photograph. Size 13 x 20. 

540 TORONTO BOARD OF TRADE Members representing the Council 
and other officers of the Board, 1888. The Act incorporating the Board of 
Trade of the City of Toronto was passed by the Legislature of Canada on 
the 10th of February, 1845. George Percival Ridout, the first President, 
continued in office until 1851. In 1884 the Toronto Corn Exchange amal- 
gamated with the Board of Trade by Act of Parliament. Two years later 
negotiations were entered into for the purchase of a building site, and on 
29th January, 1891, the annual meeting was held in the new home of the 
Board, corner Front and Yonge streets. They removed to the Royal Bank 
Building in 1915. It is a noteworthy fact that the Toronto Board of Trade 
has not only played a part in the legislation of the country, but conserves 
the local interests of the people. The present President (1917) Is Mr. 
Arthur Hewitt, manager of the Consumers' Gas Co. Photograph, colored. 
Size 8 x 12. 

541 PROVINCIAL LUNATIC ASYLUM, QUEEN STREET WEST, 
TORONTO "North view. J. G. Howard, Architect. On stone by J. 
Johnston. Scobie and Balfour, Lith." The building was begun in 1846 
and the print, showing it as Mr. Howard primarily planned it, was made 
about 1847. In the actual erection, however, the original scheme was not 
strictly adhered to. This was the first institution of its kind to be built 
in Western Canada. Previous to its erection the insane were housed in 
the old jail near the north-west corner of King and Toronto streets, and in 
a wing of the Parliament Buildings, Front street. Lithograph. Size 5x8. 
See 548, 832. 

542 ARMS OF ONTARIO " 'Ut incepit fidelis sic permanet' the 

armorial bearing of the Province of Ontario in the Dominion of Canada. 
College of Arms, London, 22nd March, 1909. Charles H. Athell, Richmond 
Herald." Upon a wreath of the colors a bear passant sable, and 
the supporters on the dexter side a moose, and on the sinister side the 
Canadian deer, both proper, together with the motto quoted above, the 
translation of which is, "As loyal she began, so loyal she remains." More 
freely, but not so accurately, "Loyal in the beginning, loyal still." Print 
in color. Size 7 x 10. See 3394. 



88 

543 WYKEHAM HALL, BISHOP STRACHAN SCHOOL FOR GIRLS, 
COLLEGE ST., TORONTO Rear view. Photograph, colored. Size 5x7. 
See 537-8, 553. 

544 FRONT STREET, TORONTO, 1820 From the Bay, showing the 

Garrison, on the west, to Parliament Buildings, on the east. Water color 
by E. Wyly Grier, Toronto, from the original in possession of the late 
Mrs. Stephen Heward, Toronto, daughter of the late Hon. George Cruick- 
shank. Size 7 x 34. 

545 EASTERN VIEW OF YORK (TORONTO), 1810 Showing block- 
house destroyed by Americans in 1813. There has been some dispute as 
to the exact spot on which this blockhouse stood. Some writers claim that 
it was on the east side of the Don, but the best authorities state that it 
was on the west side of "The Little Don," for, in 1796-1815, the river was 
a delta at its mouth, one entrance being known as "The Little Don," and 
the other as "The Don." The blockhouse stood east of Berkeley street, 
south of Palace (Front) street, near the point where the Little Don entered 
the Bay. It was designed to protect the road or track leading to the 
peninsula, where there was a landing place on the south shore. There is 
now no double entrance or delta, as the river, by dredging, nas been made 
to flow in one stream into Toronto Bay. Water color by E. Wyly Grier. 
Size 13 x 17. 

546 CRISPIN'S TAVERN, NORTH-EAST CORNER YORK AND 
RICHMOND STREETS This was a popular place of resort for many years, 
kept by Richard Crispin, first as a grocery shop, and about 1836 converted 
into a tavern. The house, a one and a half storey structure, with entrance 
on Richmond street, at that time known as Hospital street, was built on the 
corner of a plot of ground owned by John Long. Crispin, who had come 
to York in 1828 with Sir John Colborne, as his coachman, was a well-known, 
genial character in the locality, and was familiarly called "Coachman 
Crispin." The tavern, after his death, again became a shop. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

547 ONTARIO HYDRO-ELECTRIC POWER COMMISSION Con- 
tract between them and the City of Toronto. Photograph of the last page 
of the contract containing the signature of Hon. (Sir) Adam Beck, chairman 
of commission, who signed Tuesday, 5th May, 1908; Joseph Oliver, Mayor 
of Toronto, and R. T. Coady, Treasurer of Toronto. The two latter signed 
on Thursday, 7th May, 1908. Size 6x9. 

548 PROVINCIAL LUNATIC ASYLUM, TORONTO "South view. 
J. G. Howard, Architect. On stone by J. Johnston. Scobie and Balfour, 
Lith." Size 5x8. See 541, 832. 

549 TOWNSLEY HOME, ROXBOROUGH ST., TORONTO, 1850 
Away back about the mid-forties Mr. James Townsley, who owned the 
large brickyards in Tannery Hollow, on Yonge street, built for himself a 
brick dwelling. The picture shows the rear of the residence and property 
on Roxborough street, at the south-west corner of Yonge. The buildings 
at the corner are now (1917) 1086-88 Yonge. The dwelling does not face 
Yonge; its front is on a lane which runs east and west, with the front 
>okmg south. Water color by J. T. Rolph, Toronto. Size 10 x 14. 

550 BANK OF BRITISH NORTH AMERICA, TORONTO The first 
>ronto branch of this bank was established in 1837 at the south-east 
>rner of King and Frederick streets, in the old Bank of Upper Canada 
building. The structure in the picture was erected in 1843 at the north- 
east corner of Yonge and Wellington streets. In 1871 it was torn down 
rebuilt as it stands to-day (1917). Water color by F. V. Poole. 
5x7. 



89 

551 SOUTH-WEST CORNER OF BAY AND WELLINGTON 
STREETS, TORONTO, 1843-78 The building on the corner was the resi- 
dence of Chancellor Blake from 1849-57. It was then occupied by John 
Salt, a Toronto hatter, and from 1865-75 by a branch of the City Bank of 
Montreal. The building to the south was the residence of Dr. Adams, 
1855-65. It was afterwards, until 1873, occupied by the Grand Trunk Rail- 
way. Both buildings were demolished in 1878 to make way for W. R. 
Brock & Co.'s warehouse, which was destroyed by fire in 1904, but re- 
erected on the same site. Water color. Size' 5x6. 

552 OLD CRYSTAL PALACE, TORONTO, 1858-66 It was the first 
permanent Exhibition building, and stood on what was then known as 
Garrison Common, just south of the Provincial Lunatic Asylum. It was 
erected for the housing of exhibits other than live stock or heavy agricul- 
tural implements. When H.R.II. the Prince of Wales (King Edward VII.) 
visited Toronto during the Exhibition of 1860, a ball was held in this build- 
ing in his honor. The site is now (1917) occupied by manufacturing firms 
and the C.P.R. yards. Water color. Size 4 x t>. 

553_WYKEHAM HALL (WICKHAM LODGE), TORONTO Residence 
of Hon. James B. Macaulay, and later the Bishop Strachan School for Girls 
This brick residence on the south side of College street, near the present 
Yonge street, was erected about 1843 by Chief Justice Macaulay and by him 
called Wickham Lodge, after the village of Wickham, in Hampshire, Eng., 
where some of his relatives lived. Lady Macaulay adopted the spelling 
"Wykeham," which obtains to-day (1917). From 1869-1915 the building 
was occupied by the Bishop Strachan School, founded in 1867, for a time 
held at "Pinehurst," Grange road, and then in the Palace, residence of 
Bishop Strachan, Front street. The old home of the Chief Justice has 
been altered and enlarged considerably. The entire property, from it^ 
eastern extremity, west of Yonge, to its western boundary at Teraulay 
street, was sold in 1914 for business purposes, the school retaining the use 
of the buildings till the completion of their new structure on Russell Hill 
road, Toronto. The building is now a Military Convalescent Hospital. 
Water color. Size 6x7. See 537-8, 543.' 

554 OSGOODE HALL, TORONTO Home of the Superior Courts of 
Ontario In 1826 the Law Society of Upper Canada (incorporated 1797) 
purchased from Attorney-General Sir John Beverley Robinson six acres of 
land, at what is now (1917) the n.e. corner of Queen street and University 
avenue. In the midst of this plot, and facing Queen street, stands Osgoode 
Hall, named in honor of Hon. Wm. Osgoode, first Chief Justice of Upper 
Canada. The east wing, a square, brick, two-and-a-half storey structure, 
was begun in 1829, under supervision of Dr. Wm. Warren Baldwin, then 
treasurer of the Law Society, and completed in 1832. In 1844-6 a corre- 
sponding wing was built to the west, and the two buildings connected by a 
dome surmounted structure. In 1857-60 the entire edifice was renovated, 
the dome removed, a handsome facade of cut stone, inner area of Caen 
stone, court rooms, library and offices added. From time to time since, 
further additions have been made at the rear, and other improvements 
effected. On the occasion of the Prince of Wales' visit to Toronto in 1860 
an entertainment was given in his honor at Osgoode Hall, when the 
architectural lines of the exterior were brilliantly marked out by rows of 
minute gas-jets. The fence classical in design enclosing the grounds 
was erected just before the Prince's visit, and is one of the best pieces 
of iron work in Toronto. The entrance gate faces the Queen street front- 
age of 495 feet; the two flanks on University and Chestnut streets each 
measure 163 feet. The cost of the fence was approximately $20 a running 
foot, and $40 for each post, making a total of about $20,000, there being 16 
posts on each flank and 50 on the front. Water colors (three in one frame). 
Sizes buildings, 4x7; gates and fence, 5x6. 



90 

555 CRUICKSHANK (CROOKSHANK) AND BEIKiE RESIDENCES, 
YORK (TORONTO), 1821 On Front street, between Peter and Windsor 
streets At that date these two residences were the most prominent build- 
ings on Front street. The Cruickshank house, used by invading officers 
during the occupation of York by the Americans, became the rear part of 
the later and more commodious residence shown in the picture. In 1863 
the house was divided into two dwellings, and in 1881 was finally demol- 
ished The builder, Hon. George Cruickshank, was Deputy Commissary- 
General of U.C. from 1797-1815. The residence to the right, behind the 
poplars was that of John Beikie, Clerk of the Executive Council of Upper 
Canada, 1820-37. This site is now (1917) occupied as railway yards. 
Pen drawing, colored. Size 6 x 10. See 532, 55ti. 

556 BAY FRONT, YORK (TORONTO), 1820 Showing some noted 
houses of the early days. The view shows Front street to the water's 
edge, from Peter street to within a hundred feet of John street: 1, The 
original (1800) Cruickshank House before it was moved back and a new 
dwelling erected in front in 1821. 2, The John Beikie residence, of frame, 
where Windsor street opens. 3, The military storehouse. 4, The Half-Way 
Tavern, a popular resort of the soldiers from the fort. The site is now 
(1917) part of the G.T.R. freight yards. Pen drawing, colored. Size 6 x 10. 
See 532, 655. 

557 KING STREET, TORONTO, FROM TORONTO STREET TO 
YONGE, 1881 To the left, on the south side of the street, is the old build- 
ing of the business office of the Leader, a daily paper that ceased publica- 
tion about 1872. Standing out in relief is Glover Harrison's China Hall, 
No. 49 King east, and the "Golden Lion" dry goods emporium, Nos. 33-7. 
In the distance, on the south-east corner of King and Yonge streets, John 
Kay's dry goods and carpet establishment is shown. The business has 
since been amalgamated with that of W. A. Murray & Company, now 
(1917) the Murray-Kay Co., dry goods merchants, 17 King east and 36 
King west. To the right of the picture, north side of King, is the Birming- 
ham House and Rice Lewis & Son, Nos. 52-4. At the north-west corner of 
Toronto and King streets is the exchange office of C. S. Gzowski, jr. 
West, toward Yonge street, is the Globe office and stores to No. 24, Pater- 
son & Sons, hardware merchants. Drawing in water color. Size 7 x 10. 

558 SOUTH-WEST AND SOUTH-EAST CORNERS YONGE AND 
KING STREETS, TORONTO, 1873-4 The south-west corner shows part 
of the Yonge street side of the W. H. Dow building; next south, Bacon and 
Phillips, and the St. Charles Restaurant, then kept by Geo. Brown. South 
across Melinda street, at the corner, was No. 62, Hughes Bros. The 
south-east corner of Yonge and King shows the Yonge street side of John 
Kay's and several leading mercantile establishments down to Bank of 
British North America, north-east corner Wellington street. Across 
Wellington at south-east corner of Yonge is the Royal Insurance building, 
now (1917) the Gutta Percha Company. Drawing in water color. Size 8 x 10. 

559 LAKE SHORE ROAD AT THE HUMBER RIVER, 1875 With 
key Near the Humber River bridge Where the solitary apple tree 
stands on One-Tree Point (near the ship) is now (1917) the village of 
Mimico (the Indian equivalent for "flying pigeon"). The shore around 
the river mouth was yellow sand, and boats could unload here. In 
Gamble's storehouse flour and lumber were stored. Captain James Mc- 
Lean, owner of the vessel "Indian Chief," carried on extensive trading 
here with the Indians. Water color, from a drawing by Rev. W. Johnston, 
Weston. Size 6 x 10. 



91 

560 VIEW OF THE OLD WHITE BRIDGE, ROSEDALE, TORONTO, 
1854-78 It crossed the Rosedale Ravine from the northerly limit of 
Gwynne street (Park road), where it unites with James, now Collier street. 
To the left, north-east of the bridge, may be seen the house of Charles 
Jarvis near the site of the present Cawthra House, Huntley street. On 
the hill to the right, at the south-east corner of James street and Gwynne 
street, stood the residence of Chief Justice Draper. The shack to the 
right in the foreground was the boathouse of Charles Thorn, a well-known 
rifle shot in the early days. The water was known as Severn Creek, and 
the west end of it as Bloor Pond. The entire front of the pond is now 
(1917) filled up, the hill to the left terraced and the site of the handsome 
residence of Mr. Cawthra. Water color. Size 6 x 11. 

561 OLD WADSWORTH MILL, WESTON, ONT., 1854-1917 The vil- 
lage of Weston, on the Humber River, was practically founded during the 
War of 1812-14 by the Government, which erected a mill there for the pur- 
pose of providing flour for the troops in active service. In 1814 the mill 
was leased by James Farr, and in turn transferred by him to Charles and 
William Wadsworth, in 1828. Subsequently the Wadsworth brothers pur- 
chased the freehold of the property from the Government. A second mill, 
the present (1917), was erected in 1854, four miles from the Humber's 
mouth as the crow flies. The first had four run of Burr millstones, while 
the present was designed for eight run of Burr stones. Water color by 
J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

562 BONNYCASTLE RESIDENCE, YORK (TORONTO) Opposite 

the south-west corner of Front and Peter streets. This old-time house 
was in turn the residence of Colonel N. Coffin, Captain Philpotts, 
Captain Bonnycastle (afterwards Sir Richard, author of "Canada 
and the Canadians in 1846" and "Canada As It Was, Is and 
May Be,") and Raymond Baby, .all of whom were military officials. It 
was used by the Royal Engineers as an office for a time. During Captain 
Bonnycastle's residence here in the forties, the beach below the house on 
the bay shore was the favorite bathing spot for the boys of Upper Canada 
College. About 1857 the dwelling was torn down. The land on which this 
residence stood was originally part of Front street, south of the south line 
of the street, where the Esplanade was made in 1854-7. The part south 
of Front street was cut away down to the level of the Esplanade. It is 
now part of the railway yards. Pen drawing, colored. Size 4 x 10. 

563 OAKHILL, YORK (TORONTO) The little log building was one 
of the earliest houses in York. It stood about half a mile north of what 
is now Queen street, a short distance northwest of the present (1917) site 
of Trinity College, and was built by Captain (Major-General) Aeneas Shaw, 
a member of the Executive Council of Upper Canada, shortly after he 
settled in York in 1793. It was in this log cabin that Major-Gen. Shaw 
had the honor of entertaining H.R.H. the Duke of Kent, father of Queen 
Victoria, on the occasion of his visit to York. A larger and more pre- 
tentious residence, said to have been the first private house of frame 
erected in York, was afterwards built, a little to the west of the log house. 
Up to 1871 Oakhill was occupied by Capt. Alexander Shaw, a descendant 
of the first owner. Water color. Size 5x7. 

564 NORTH-WEST AND SOUTH-WEST CORNERS YONGE AND 
KING STREETS, TORONTO, 1873-4 This view does not take in the actual 
corner, but within thirty feet of it. On the north side to the right are 
stores of M. Staunton, Joseph McCausland and Edward Bach, and west in 
the distance is the English Chop House. On the south side to the left is 
the shop of Fulton, Michie & Co. (now, 1917, Michie & Co.), the Royal 
Saloon, next west, R. T. Pocknell, confectioner, Felix Drouillard and the 
Sheffield House of Joseph Robinson (now site of Standard Bank Build- 
ing). Drawing in water color. Size 7 x 10. 



92 

565 NORTH-WEST AND NORTH-EAST CORNERS YONGE AND 
ADELAIDE STREETS, TORONTO, 1856 The block on the west side of 
Yonge street extending from Adelaide almost to Temperance, was known 
as the Elgin Buildings. The picture shows from No. 79, J. & W. McDonald, 
dry goods to No. 93, J. Belton, boot and shoe maker, across Temperance 
street On the east side of Yonge are shown the stores from No. 78, S. 
Shaw'fe Son, hardware, to No. 88, C. Mabley, tailor. The corner is now 
occupied by the Lumsden Building. Water color. Size 8 x 13. 

566 SOUTH SIDE KING STREET, EAST OF CHURCH, TORONTO, 

1873-4 The stores at the south-east corner of Church and King streets are 

not in picture. With this exception the entire block, from No. 109, J. H. 
Rogers, hatter, to No. 153, Latham, Trebilcock & Liddell, dry goods, at 
south-west corner of West Market street, is given. Across West Market 
is the St. Lawrence Hall, with shops of Lyman Bros., C. A. Backas, Shaver 
& Bell, and the Toronto Tea Co. Drawing in water color. Size 7 x 10. 

567 FOUR CORNERS OF WELLINGTON AND SCOTT STREETS, 
TORONTO, 1873 On the north side of Wellington street, to right of pic- 
ture, was the wholesale grocery establishment of Robert Jordan & Co. and 
Molsons Bank. The Cooper's Arms Tavern was in those days situated on 
the north-west corner of Scott and Wellington, now the site of the Western 
Insurance building. On the east side of Wellington, to the left of the pic- 
ture, was the four-storey building of John Macdonald & Co., and on the 
south-west corner of Wellington and Scott the Montreal Teletrra^h build- 
ing, now (1917) that of the Great North-Western Company. Water color. 
Size 7 x 10. 

568 YONGE STREET, FROM FRONT TO WELLINGTON, TO- 
RONTO, 1873-4 The actual north-east corner of Front is not shown, but is 
the American Hotel, remembered as the stopping-place of Charles Dickens 
when he visited Toronto. North of the hostelry are the stores of G. W. 
Smith, H. Shorey, Joseph Wey & Co., Dunn, Cowan & Co., Hodgson & 
Boyd, T. Brownlow, W. Myles and R. C. Brayley. On south-east corner of 
Yonge and Wellington stood the Royal Insurance Co., while the Bank of 
British North America occupied the north-east corner, as it still (1917) 
does. The Gutta Percha Co. is now on site of the old Royal Insurance Co. 
On the west side of Yonge, to the left of the picture, are stores from No. 
34, Bryce, McMurrich & Co., to No. 46, J. C. Joseph & Co., at the south- 
west, and Robt. Wilkes, 48-50, at the north-west corner of Wellington and 
Yonge. The offices of the Richelieu & Ontario Navigation and the 
Dominion Express Companies occupy these sites. Drawing in water color. 
Size 6 x 10. 

569 FRONT STREET, AT THE JUNCTION OF CHURCH AND 
WELLINGTON, TORONTO, 1873-4 In the centre stands the Coffin 
Block, so called from its shape, in which were the original offices of the 
Montreal and of the Dominion Telegraph Companies. The north-east 
corner of Front and Church was No. 62, W. & R. Griffith & Co., wholesale 
grocers, and across the road, No. 58, the Bank of Toronto; further west 
was a vacant lot, and adjoining, warehouses, the Toronto Exchange build- 
ing, which after entire remodelling is now (1917) the head office of the 
Imperial Bank. Water color. Size 5x9. 

570 FIRST COURT HOUSE, YORK (TORONTO) West and north 
of the north-west corner of Richmond and Upper George (Victoria) streets, 
and approached from Richmond, although nearer Queen. After the de- 
struction in 1813, by the Americans, of the Government buildings at York, 
the Court House was removed to the building shown in picture, a plaii 
two-storey structure, previously occupied as a residence by Alexandel 
Montgomery. On being abandoned as a Court House it was used occasion- 



93 

ally for religious purposes, "The Children of Peace" utilizing it as a place 
of worship. Later it became the House of Industry. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

571 DUCK'S HOTEL AT THE HUMBER, 1873-1912 This popular 
roadhouse was originally on a part of the Gamble estate, from which it 
was purchased by John Strathy. Until its disposal by Mr. Strathy to John 
Duck in 1873 it was tenanted by Shepherd, the shoemaker. Duck con- 
ducted it as a tavern until his death in 1891, and for two years afterwards 
his widow carried on the business. During the next eight years it was run 
by various persons, and in 1901 was converted into a tenement house by 
Richard West, who in 1910 transferred it to Mrs. Crow. It was destroyed 
by fire in 1912. The entire vicinity has been entirely changed by the erec- 
tion of new buildings and other improvements. Water color. Size 5x9. 

572 NORTH-EAST COR. KING AND YORK STS., TORONTO, 1858 
On the corner, to the right of the picture, stood the Shakespeare Hotel, 
once a favorite .rendezvous of actors playing in Toronto. The Imperial 
Hotel, 144 King west, now (1917) vacant, occupies the site. The row of 
buildings seen in the background is Ritchey's Terrace, Adelaide street, 
built in 1854. Water color. Size 6 x 10. 

573 FOUR CORNERS OF KING AND BAY STREETS, TORONTO, 

1864-5 On the north side of King street, to right of picture, was the shop 
of Charles Baker, and the King street side of Wm. Cawthra's residence, 
which faced on Bay street, while on the north-west corner Bay and King 
was the Metropolitan Hotel, now the site of the Mail Building. On the 
south side of King, to the left of the picture, are the stores of Philip 
Jacobi, Thos. Flynn, R. S. Thompson, D. S. & B. Adams, and Jacques & 
Hay (Union Bank of Canada). Across Bay street, on the south-west corner 
of King, is the grocery of Robert Davis & Co., now (1917) site of the Bank 
of Toronto building. Water color. Size 7 x 10. 

574 SOUTH-EAST CORNER OF BAY AND MELINDA STREETS, 
TORONTO Now (1917) the site of The Evening Telegram building. The 
dwellings shown were built in 1841, and used as such until the eighties, 
when they were converted into places of business. The Telegram building 
was erected on the site in 1900, when the office of that journal was re- 
moved from the south-west corner of King and Bay streets. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

575 ON THE BAY SHORE, TORONTO, 1850 View from the north- 
east corner of Front and Peter streets^ No. 1 is the guardhouse; No. 2, 
military storehouse. In the distance to the right is the lighthouse on To- 
ronto Island. The locality, in the early days a residential district of the 
city, is now (1917) a part of the Grand Trunk Railway property. Water 
color. Size 6x7. 

576 SECOND COURT HOUSE, YORK (TORONTO), 1824-52 Situated 
on Church street, near the north-west corner of King, in what was 
at the time of its erection known as Court House Square. It was built 
in 1824, at the same time as the second York Jail, n.e. corner King and 
Toronto streets, sixty feet north of the King street line. Both buildings 
were of red brick with stone trimmings, two storeys in height and in 
exactly the same style of architecture. After the erection of the new 
Court House on Adelaide street, in 1852, the old Court Room was used as 
an assembly room by teachers of dancing. Two well-known professors of 
the terpsichorean art, Mr. Mclndoe and Mr. James Thomson, taught from 
1852-58. The Church street front of the building was in the sixties ex- 
tended to the street line, and is now (1917) shops and offices. The north 



94 

gable can yet be seen on Court street. To the left of picture will be 
observed a small cabin with a woman sitting m it. She is m the stocks, 
punished for disorderly conduct, and was the last person m Toronto, so the 
late Rev. Dr. Henry Scadding informed Mr. Robertson, to suffer that kind 
of punishment. Water color. Size 5x7. 

5 77__THIRD COURT HOUSE, TORONTO, 1853-1900 South side of 
Adelaide street east, Nos. 57-65. A substantial building with cut stone 
dressings erected in 1852-3 and used until 1900, when the courts were trans- 
ferred to the present (1917) City Hall, Queen street west, the architect of 
which was Fred Cumberland, father of the late Barlow Cumberland. The 
building on Adelaide street is now York County Municipal Hall and other 
offices. Water color. Size 5x7. 

578 RIGNEY, THOMAS An old-time merchant of Toronto He was 
born in Ferbane, King's Co., Ireland, and at an early age came to Canada. 
He was with Levi, Cook & Co., in Montreal, and in 1837 carried on a whole- 
sale comb factory and fancy store at the corner of King and Toronto 
streets, and later, on the same site, occupied the first four-storey business 
building in the city. Mr. Rigney- subsequently, as a produce merchant, was 
at the north-east corner of Yonge and Wellington streets, in the British 
North America Bank building. He was also interested in business in 
New York from the early fifties, and at the time of his death in 1900 was 
the oldest member of the New York Produce Exchange. Photograph, 
colored. Size 4x9. Head and shoulders. 

579_RITCHEY, JOHN, 1796-1866 A pioneer builder and contractor 
in Toronto He came to Canada from Ireland in 1819. In the early days 
he did a good deal of Government work, including the Lount and Matthews 
gallows. Many buildings in Toronto were erected by him, amongst them 
St. George's and Trinity Anglican Churches, the Court House and Ritchey's 
Terrace, both on Newgate (now Adelaide) street, a row of houses on the 
east and west sides of Bay street, south of the present Telegram Office, 
and the Royal Lyceum, ninth playhouse in Toronto. The residences in 
Ritchey's Terrace were some years ago converted into factories and are 
used to-day as such. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

580-82 Managers of Consumers' Gas Company, Toronto, 1849-1916. 

580 THOMPSON, HENRY Manager Consumers' Gas Company, 1849- 
75 He came to Canada in 1834, first going to Stratford. On locating in 
Toronto he entered the employ of Benjamin Thome & Co., importers of 
oils, 38-40 Front street, and for some years was junior partner. He was 
born in London, Eng., 1814. Died in Toronto, 19th Nov., 1880. A younger 
brother of Mr. Thompson was Christopher Thompson, a well-known Eng- 
lish and writing master of Upper Canada College. Photograph, colored. 
Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

581 PEARSON, WILLIAM H. Manager Consumers' Gas Company, 
1875-1909 He was born in 1831 in London, Eng. In his youthful days was 
a post office employe, under Charles Berczy; entered the Gas Company's 
service as clerk, 1854; appointed secretary, 1874. As secretary he managed 
the affairs of the company until 1888, the title of general manager then 
being added. He retired in 1909, and still (1917) resides in Toronto. 
Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

582 HEWITT, ARTHUR Manager Consumers' Gas Company, 1909-16 
-He was born in Wolverhampton, Eng., 18th August, 1868, educated there 
and m Toronto. Became secretary to Mr. W. H. Pearson in 1886; was ap- 
pointed chief clerk and accountant four years later; assistant general 
manager in 1907, and general manager 1909. President Board of Trade,' 
)16. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 



95 

583 CAMERON, JOHN, 1810-67 Manager Commercial Bank of Mid- 
land District, later called the Merchants' Bank. While connected with 
that institution was stationed at Kingston and Toronto. Water color from 
portrait in possession of his daughter, Mrs. Gamsby, Ocala, Fla. Size 4x6. 
Head and shoulders. See 944. 

584 CAMERON, MRS. JOHN (ROSA ROGERS) The daughter of an 
Englishman, she was born in Schenectady, N.Y., in 1814, and married, at 
Niagara, Mr. Cameron, of the Commercial Bank. For a time they lived 
in Kingston, and later came to Toronto, where Mrs. Cameron died Novem- 
ber 23rd, 1890. Water color from an oil painting in possession of her 
daughter, Mrs. Gamsby, Ocala, Fla. Size 4x6. Head and shoulders. 

585 NICK IN SON, JOHN Born in London, Eng., in 1808; at an early 
age he enlisted in the 24th Regiment, receiving his discharge with the 
rank of color-sergeant in 1835. He thereupon entered the theatrical pro- 
fession, his first engagement being at Albany, N.Y. He then went to New 
York City, where he remained for several years, coming to Canada in 
1852. From 1853-8 he managed the Royal Lyceum, King street west, To- 
ronto. Mr. Nickinson possessed histrionic ability of a high character, and 
displayed wonderful versatility. He died in 1864 in Cincinnati, Ohio. His 
only son, John, an American Custom House official, died in New York in 
1916. His eldest daughter, Charlotte, married Daniel Morrison, and his two 
granddaughters, Miss Charlotte Morrison and Miss Agnes Morrison, married 
Mr. E. B. Brown, son of the late Gordon Brown, and the late Mr. Raynald 
Gamble, of the Dominion Bank, respectively. Photograph, colored. Size 
4x5. Head and shoulders. See 1121. 

586 SMALL, MAJOR JOHN Born in Gloucestershire, Eng., 1746. 
Came to Canada about 1792, filling the position of first Clerk of the 
Executive Council of Upper Canada, 1793-1831. He was also Clerk of the 
Crown and Pleas, 1806-25, retiring from the duties of the latter position at 
his own request. Married Eliza Goldsmith, a native of the County of 
Kent, Eng. Major Small died at Berkeley House, York (Toronto), 18th 
July, 1831. Water color from an oil painting in possession of Mrs. Small, 
Berkeley House, Toronto. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

587 SMALL, MRS. JOHN (ELIZA GOLDSMITH) Born in Kent, 
England, 30th April, 1760. Lived for many years in York (Toronto). She 
was the grandmother of the late John Small, Collector of Customs, Toronto. 
Died at Berkeley House, 31st May, 1837. Water color from an oil painting 
in possession of Mrs. Small, widow of the late collector, Berkeley House, 
Toronto. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

588 SOMERVILLE, ALEXANDER "The Whistler at the Plough" 
Born at Springfield, Scotland, 1811. He began life as a cowherd, but early 
became interested in political questions, and in 1831 published his first 
letter in a newspaper. In 1832 he joined the Scots Greys. They received 
instructions to leave Birmingham for London to quell the Reform Riots, 
and Somerville, protesting strongly, was flogged. However, those who had 
ordered the punishment were reprimanded. In 1835 he took service in the 
British Legion in Spain, under Sir George de Lacy Evans, serving with 
credit for two years. On his return to England he contributed letters to 
the London Morning Chronicle, thus attracting the notice of Cobden, who 
sent him through the country districts of England to collect information 
for the Anti-Corn Law League. In 1844 Somerville became correspondent 
for the Manchester Examiner. Came to Canada in 1858 and engaged in 
journalistic work, for a time editing the Canadian Illustrated News at 
Hamilton. Amongst his writings are "Autobiography of a Working Man" and 
"Canada as a Battle Ground." His death occurred in Toronto, 17th June, 
1885. Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 



96 
589-93 Harbor Masters of Toronto, 185CM917. 

589 RICHARDSON, CAPT. HUGH Harbor Master, 1850-69 Born in 
London Eng., in 1784, the son of Thomas Richardson, a West India 
merchant; came to Canada in 1820. Six years later he became captain of 
the "Canada" a vessel plying, between York and Niagara, planned and 
constructed by Richardson. The "U. E. Loyalist" of 12th Aug., 1826, states 
that "The new steamboat, 'Canada,' Capt. Richardson, made her first trip 
to Niagara on Monday last, and went out of the harbor in fine style." 
Capt. Richardson's death occurred in Toronto, 2nd August, 1870. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

590 HARRIS, THOMAS D EN N IE Harbor Master, 1870-2 He was 
at one time engaged in the hardware business on the north side of King 
street, east of St. James' Cathedral, and was well-known in Toronto busi- 
ness circles. From 1838-41 he was chief engineer of the fire brigade. His 
death took place in Toronto, 18th Jan., 1873. Photograph, colored. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. See 3186. 

591 CARR, JOHN Harbor Master, 1873-9. Photograph, colored. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. See 378, 752, 3513. 

592 BALDWIN, MORGAN Harbor Master, 1880-96 A son of John 
Spread Baldwin; born in Toronto in 1834 and received his education at 
Upper Canada College. He died in the city of his birth, March 15th, 1898. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

593_POSTLETHWAITE, COLIN W. Harbor Master, 1896-1917 
Came to Canada in 1857, and was for some time private secretary to the 
general manager of the Grand Trunk Railway. From 1862-83 he was pur- 
chasing agent for the Northern Railway, and in 1884 received the appoint- 
ment of Deputy Harbor Master. He is an Irishman by birth, first seeing 
the light of day at Manor-Hamilton, November 29th, 1836. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

594 RESIDENCE OF REV. HENRY SCADDING, D.D., TORONTO 

View of study and library He resided for many years on the north side 
of Trinity street, in the district at one time known as Macaulay Town, so 
called from Dr. James Macaulay, of the Queen's Rangers. It was in the 
room shown that Dr. Scadding wrote "Toronto of Old." Water color. Size 
5x7. 

595 ALLAN, MRS. WILLIAM (LEAH TYRER GAMBLE) She was 
born in New Brunswick, 1790, the daughter of John Gamble, M.D., who 
came to America in 1799, serving as a regimental surgeon during the 
Revolutionary War. He settled in New Brunswick in 1783, and resided 
there until his appointment to the Queen's Rangers. In 1809 Miss Gamble 
married Hon. William Allan at Kingston. Hon. George W. Allan was a 
son of this marriage. Mrs. Allan died in Toronto, October 20th, 1848. 
Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

596 GOWAN, OGLE R. Founder of Orangeism in America Born at 
Mount Nebo, Co, Wexford, Ireland, 13th July, 1803. For a time he edited 
a political newspaper known as the Antidote, published in the city of 
Dublin. Emigrated to Canada with his family about 1829, settling at Escott 
Park, Leeds Co. He was four times elected to Parliament for that county, 
and subsequently represented Leeds and Grenville. On the outbreak of the 
Rebellion of 1837 appointed captain in the 2nd Regiment of Leeds Militia 
by Sir Francis Bond Head; subsequently was promoted by Lord Seaton to a 
company in the Queen's Own Rifles. In the same year he was appointed 
to command the ninth provisional battalion of embodied militia, as lieu- 
tenant-colonel. Was present at the engagement at the "Windmill," near 






97 

Prescott, November, 1838; subsequently commanded the 2nd Regiment of 
Leeds Militia. Again sat in Parliament, finally retiring in 1861, as "the 
father of the House." Held various public positions. Organized the Grand 
Lodge of British North America (Orange) at Brockville in 1830. Died in 
1876. Two of his grandsons are T. R. Ferguson. K.C., and Judge Ferguson, 
of Toronto, and a granddaughter is Mrs. Murphy ("Janey Canuck"), 
Edmonton, Alta. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

597 FREELAND, PETER A native of Glasgow, Scotland, he emi- 
grated to America in 1819, crossing the Atlantic in the first passenger ship 
run by the Allan line of steamships. Shortly after his arrival at New 
York he went on to Montreal, where he and his brother, Mr. William 
Freeland, conducted a soap and candle business. In 1830 the former re- 
moved to York, erecting a large and well-appointed factory on the wharf at 
the foot of Yonge street. Mr. Freeland was one of the originators of Con- 
gregationalism in Toronto. His death occurred here in 1861. Water color, 
Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

598 CROOKSHANK, HON. GEORGE, 1763-1859 Born in New York, 
of Scottish parentage. At the conclusion of the American Revolutionary 
War the family emigrated to New Brunswick, and later settled in York 
(Toronto), where Mr. Crookshank received a grant of three hundred acres 
of land, and where, during his term in the commissariat, he had charge of 
the building of the fort. He was Deputy Commissary-General from 1796 
until the end of the War of 1812, when he retired on half-pay. During the 
occupation of York by the Americans in 1813 the Crookshank home, Front 
and Peter streets, was used by American officers. Mr. Crookshank was a 
member of the Legislative Council of Upper Canada. His death took place 
in Toronto. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

599 HEWARD, MRS. STEPHEN (Catherine Crookshank) Only 

daughter of Hon. George Crookshank, Deputy Commissary-General during 
the War of 1812. She was born at her mother's (Sarah Susannah Lambert) 
home, Wilton, Conn., in 1829, was educated in Toronto, residing there al- 
most all her life, in Front street, and subsequently Peter street. Misa 
Crookshank married in 1858 Mr. Stephen Reward, of Toronto. Her death 
took place llth Jan., 1917. Mrs. John McGill, aunt of Catherine Crook- 
shank, was a personal friend of Mrs. Simcoe during the latter's sojourn in 
York. Water color from portrait in possession of her son, C. E. Heward, 
Toronto. Size 4x5. Three-quarter length, sitting. 

600-03 Police Magistrates of Toronto, 1851-1917. 

600 GURNETT, GEORGE Police Magistrate, 1851-61. Water color. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 366. 

601 BOOMER, GEORGE Police Magistrate, 1862-5 Born at Hill 
Hall, near Lisburn, Co. Down, Ireland, in 1819, the son of George Boomer. 
About 1832 he came to Canada; studied law, subsequently entering into 
partnership with Richard Miller, of the then County Town of Niagara. He 
practised his profession there until the firm moved to St. Catharines. 
Later he removed to Toronto, where he became a partner of Skeffington 
Connor (afterwards Judge). His death occurred in Toronto in 1866. Water 
color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

602 MACNABB, ALEXANDER Police Magistrate, 1866-77 The son 
of Donald MacNabb, a non-commissioned officer in the 71st Highlanders. 
Born in Barracks at Fort George, Niagara, U.C., in 1830. After graduating 
from Toronto University he studied law in the office of Henry Eccles, a 
prominent Toronto attorney, and on being called to the bar in 1853, 



98 

commenced the practice of law on his own account. After holding the 
office of Police Magistrate for eleven years he resumed the practice of his 
profession, finally retiring in 1887, and removing to San Angelo, Texas. In 
1902 he again changed his residence, going to Los Angeles, Gal., where his 
death took place in 1907. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and 
shoulders. 

603 DENISON, COL. GEORGE TAYLOR Police Magistrate, 1878- 
1917 Born in Toronto in 1839, and educated at Upper Canada College and 
Toronto University. Became a barrister in 1861, and successfully prac- 
tised his profession in Toronto, in partnership with his brother, the late 
Col. F. C. Denison. In 1872-3 he acted as special Immigration Commis- 
sioner from Ontario to Great Britain. He is one o'f the oldest living officers 
in the Canadian volunteer militia service, having entered the Governor- 
General's Body Guard as a Cornet in 1855, and becoming Colonel in 1907. 
He was on active service in the Fenian Raid, 1866, and again in the North- 
West Rebellion of 1885, and is well known as a contributor to military 
literature. He still (1917) continues to hold office as Police Magistrate. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 485. 

604 HODDER, EDWARD MULBERRY, M.D. Born in England, 30th 
Dec., 1810; son of Capt. Hodder, R.N. He entered the navy in 1822 as a 
midshipman under his father, but left the service, preferring the medical 
profession. Studied in England, France and Scotland, and in 1835 visited 
Canada. Three years later he returned, determining to settle here. He 
made his home near Queenston, where he remained five years, removing 
in 1843 to Toronto. He established in 1850, with Dr. Bovell, the Upper 
Canada School of Medicine, which in that year became the medical depart- 
ment of Trinity College; was a member of the active staff of the Toronto 
General Hospital, and in 1875 was president of the Canada Medical Associa- 
tion. Dr. Hodder was one of the founders of the Toronto Boat Club, after- 
wards the Royal Canadian Yacht Club, and the latter's third commodore, 
serving in that capacity from 1856-9 continuously, and at different periods 
from 1862-77. He died Feb. 20th, 1878. Water color from portrait in 
possession of his youngest daughter, Miss Olivia Hodder, Jersey, Channel 
Islands. Size 4x5. Three-quarter length, sitting. See 605. 

605 HODDER, EDWARD MULBERRY, M.D., 1810-78 Commodore 
R.C.Y.C., Toronto. Water color from a portrait in possession of his young- 
est daughter, Miss Olivia Hodder, Jersey, Channel Islands. Size 4x5. 
Three-quarter length, sitting. See 604. 

606-09 and 638 Officers Commanding Toronto Military District, 1868- 
1914 Previous to Confederation there was no militia officer in command 
in a district or area in Canada, although in 1862 an amendment of the 
Militia Act divided the country into brigade divisions, a brigade major 
being appointed for each division. These brigade majors, however, were 
not given command, but were merely staff officers. In 1868 a consolidated 
Militia Act was passed for the Dominion, dividing the country into mili- 
tary districts, and providing for the appointment of a deputy adjutant- 
general for each district. Under this authority the counties and cities in 
the vicinity of Toronto were created the 2nd Military District. 

606 DURIE, LIEUT.-COL. WILLIAM SMITH Deputy Adjutant- 
General, Military District No. 2, 1868-80. The son of William Durie, K.H., 
Inspector-General of Hospitals, Woolwich, Eng. He was born at Gibraltar, 
and after his military training at Sandhurst received a commission in the 
1th Regiment of Foot. In 1838 he came to Canada and was appointed 
adjutant, with the rank of captain in the militia. He subsequently raised 
the Barne Rifles, commanding that regiment until he was appointed First 



99 

Commanding Officer of the Queen's Own Rifles in 1860. In 1864 he was 
appointed to serve with the 2nd Administrative Battalion on me Niagara 
Frontier, and the following year was made D.A.G. at Toronto. He died in 
Toronto in 1885. Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

607 DEN I SON, LIEUT.-COL. ROBERT BRITTA IN Deputy Adjutant- 
General, Military District No. 2, 1881-6. Born at York (Toronto) in 1821, 
the third son of Lieut.-Col. George Taylor Denison, of Bellevue. In 1843 
he joined Denison's troop as Cornet, and in 1857 became Major, command- 
ing the Toronto Field Battery in that year. In 1862 he became Brigade- 
Major of the 10th Military District, and was commander of a provisional 
battalion at Clifton during the Fenian Raid in 1866. His death occurred 
4th Aug., 1900. Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

608 OTTER, MAJOR-GENERAL WILLIAM DILLON Inspector- 
General Canadian Militia, 1910-12 Born near Clinton, Ont; in 1843; he 
entered the volunteer militia service in 1861, and in the winter of 1864-5 
served as Lieutenant in 2nd Administrative Battalion on Niagara frontier; 
saw active service also in the Fenian Raid. In 1875 he commanded his 
regiment in the "Pilgrimage Riots," Toronto, and two years later in the 
Grand Trunk Ry. Riots, Belleville. He also went through the Riel and North- 
West Rebellions. From 1886-1908 was Deputy Adjt.-Gen., Military District 
No. 2. Served in South African War, 1899-1900; mentioned in the de- 
spatches twice; C.B.; Queen's medal with four clasps. From 1908-10 was 
chief of the general staff at headquarters, and in 1910 was made Major- 
General; K.C.B., 1913. Water color on platinum. Size 4x5. Head and 
shoulders. 

609 COTTON, MAJOR-GENERAL WILLIAM HENRY Inspector- 
General Canadian Militia, 1912-14 Son of Henry Cotton, chief clerk of the 
Governor-General's office in the days of Lord Monck, 1867-8. He was born 
in Montreal, Que., in 1848, and at the age of eighteen was gazetted Lieuten- 
ant in the Quebec Garrison Artillery. In 1866 served in the Fenian Raid, 
and again saw active service at the Riel Rebellion, 1870. Received general 
service medal with two clasps. From 1908-12 he was G.O.C. for Western 
Ontario, including 2nd Military District, vacating this appointment to 
become Inspector-General. His death took place in 1914. Water color on 
platinum. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

610-15 Postmasters of York and Toronto, 1816-1917. 

610 ALLAN (HON.) WILLIAM Postmaster, 1816-27. Water color. 
Size 3% x 4. Head and shoulders. See 941, 3541. 

611 HOWARD, JAMES SCOTT Postmaster, York (Toronto), 
1827-38 Born at Bandon, Co. Cork, Ireland, in 1798, of Huguenot ancestry. 
At the age of twenty-one he left Ireland, accompanying Chief Justice 
Sullivan to Canada, and settling in Fredericton, N.B. Later he removed 
to York (Toronto), where he held office under the Hon. William Allan, 
and on the latter's retirement, succeeded him as Postmaster. Was Trea- 
surer of the Home District, 1842, and subsequently of the Counties of York 
and Peel. He was also for several years a corresponding secretary of the 
U.C. Bible Society. Died 1866. Water color. Size 3% x 4. Head and 
shoulders. See 641. 



612 BERCZY, CHARLES ALBERT Postmaster 1839-53 Son of 
William Berzcy, who by arrangement with Governor Simcoe made settle- 
ments in the township of Markham, U.C. Was born at Niagara in 1794. 
During the War of 1812 he entered the Commissariat, rising to the posi- 
tion of Acting Deputy Assistant Commissary-General. For a time he acted 






100 

as Justice of the Peace, and was also one of the projectors of the Northern 
Railway Died in Toronto, 1858. Pencil drawing,, in color, from a portrait 
in possession of Mrs. Charles de Moll Berczy, Fort Scott, Kansas. Size 
3M$x4. Head and shoulders. See 623. 

613 LESSLIE, JOSEPH Postmaster, 1853-79 Born at Dundee, Scot- 
land, in 1813; came to Canada with his father, Edward Lesslie, when nine 
years of age, and subsequently engaged in the drug and stationery busi- 
ness with his father and brothers. He died in Toronto, January 6th, 1904. 
Water color. Size 3 Ms x 4. Head and shoulders. 

614 PATTESON, THOMAS CHARLES Postmaster, 1879-1907 
Born at Patney, Wilts, Eng., 1836; educated at Eton and Merton College, 
Oxford. Won an open postmastership at the latter and graduated with 
honors in 1858. Came to Canada immediately afterwards; studied law, 
first in the office of the Hon. J. H. Cameron, and later with the Hon. James 
Cockburn at Cobourg. In 1863 he was called to the bar, and afterwards 
formed a partnership with the Hon. John Ross. Four years later was 
appointed Assistant Provincial Secretary for Ontario, but on establish- 
ment of the Mail in 1872 resigned office to become manager. This posi- 
tion he occupied until his appointment as Postmaster. He died in Toronto 
in 1907. Photograph, colored. Size 3% x 3. Head and shoulders. 

615 ROGERS, WILLIAM BROWN Postmaster, 1908-1917 Son of 
Charles Rogers, a Scotsman; born in Toronto in 1852, and educated at the 
Public and Model schools and Upper Canada College. Entered the service 
of Rice Lewis & Co., hardware merchants, Toronto, and later the Upper 
Canada Furniture Co. For twenty-three years was a member of the firm 
of Charles" Rogers & Sons Co., furniture manufacturers; was one of the 
originators of the Penny Bank. He still (1916) holds the position of Post- 
master in the city of his birth. Photograph, colored. Size 3% x 4. Head 
and shoulders. 

616-22 Superintendents of Toronto General Hospital, 1848-1917. 

616 CLARK, DR. EDWARD Superintendent, 1848-56 Born at Bel- 
turbet, Co. Cavan, Ireland, in 1814, the son of Lieut. Clark. Studied medi- 
cine at Trinity College, Dublin, and came to Canada when about twenty- 
one years of age. In 1848 was appointed Resident Surgeon and Superin- 
tendent of the Toronto General Hospital, and was also Secretary of the 
Medical Board of Canada West. His death occurred in Toronto, 17th Oct., 
1856. Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

617 GARDINER, DR. CHARLES Superintendent, 1857-63 Born in 
England about 3823; subsequently came to Canada and was appointed 
assistant at the Toronto General Hospital. Two years later became Resi- 
dent Surgeon and Superintendent. His death took place in Toronto in 
1863. He was an uncle of Dr. W. B. Hampton, who succeeded him as 
Superintendent. Water color from a painting by C. G. Goeffler. Size 4x5. 
Head and shoulders. 

618 HAMPTON, DR. WILLIAM B. Superintendent, 1864-71 Succeeded 
his uncle, Dr. Charles Gardiner, as Superintendent of the Toronto General 
Hospital. Was born in Canada and studied the profession of medicine in 
Toronto. Married Miss Taylor, daughter of John Taylor, of the Don Mills. 
Died when only twenty-nine years of age. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. 
Head and shoulders. 

619 McCOLLUM, DR. JOHN HENRY Superintendent, 1871-5 Born 
in Tullamore, Chinguacousy Township, near Bramptcn, in 1841. Prose- 

L his medical studies at Toronto University, graduating with honors. 
After practising in his native village for two years,, came to Toronto to 
take up work at the General Hospital, resigning the position in 1875 to 



101 
vote his entire attention to his private practice. For many years he 
is regimental surgeon for the Royal Grenadiers. His death took place 
Toronto in 1888. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

620 O'REILLY, DR. CHARLES Superintendent, 1876-1905 Born in 
Hamilton, Ont, 1846; received his education in that city and at McGill 
University (M.D., C.M., 1867). From 1867-75 was resident physician in the 
Hamilton City Hospital. He effected many reforms and improvements in 
the General Hospital, Toronto. During the Rebellion of 1885 organized and 
sent to the front the Toronto General Hospital Ambulance Corps. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

621 BROWN, DR. J. N. E. Superintendent, 1905-11 Born in 1864 at 
Nissouri, Oxford Co., of U.E. Loyalist descent; received his education at 
St. Mary's High School and later at Toronto University, winning his M.B., 
with a silver medal, in 1892. Six years later was appointed by the Do- 
minion Government to accompany Governor Ogilvie to the Yukon, filling 
the office of Territorial Secretary and later Medical Health Officer in that 
country. In 1912 he was appointed Superintendent of the Detroit General 
Hospital, which on 28th June, 1914, was taken over by Henry Ford. Dr. 
Brown was transferred with the Hospital, and still (1917) retains the 
superintendency. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

622 CLARKE, DR. CHARLES KIRK Superintendent, appointed 
1911 Born at Elora, Ont., in 1857; studied medicine at Toronto University, 
graduating in 1879. Became Medical Superintendent of the Hamilton In- 
sane Asylum the following year, and from 1885-1905 was at Rockwood, 
Kingston, establishing there a convalescent and nurses' home. In 1905 
received the appointment of Medical Superintendent of the Toro*nto 
Asylum, resigning six years later to accept the General Hospital position. 
Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

623-31 Presidents of Consumers' Gas Company, Toronto, 1847-1917 
Gas was first supplied in Toronto in 1841 by Mr. Albert Furniss, under the 
name "The City of Toronto Gas, Light and Water Company." In 1847 a 
new company known as "The Consumers' Gas Company," was founded, 
with Mr. Charles Berczy as President, and the following March was incor- 
porated. Subsequently negotiations with Mr. Furniss were entered into, 
and his works purchased in June, 1848. To-day (1917) the Consumers' Gas 
Co. is known as one of the most successful on this continent. 

623 BERCZY, CHARLES ALBERT President Consumers' Gas Com- 
pany, 1847-56 Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. See 612. 

624 WHITTEMORE, E.F. President Consumers' Gas Company, 1856-9 
In 1846 he was a member of the firm of Thomas Rigney & Co., wholesale 
merchants, north-west corner King and Toronto streets. About 1850 he 
became principal partner of Whittemore, Rutherford (E. H.) & Co. in the 
old Rigney premises. The firm dissolved in 1855, Mr. Rutherford retiring, 
and the business was carried on by E. F. Whittemore & Co., bankers and 
brokers. Mr. Whittemore died in Toronto, 19th February, 1859. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

625 YATES, RICH ARD President Consumers' Gas Company, 1859-67 
He was a well-known tea merchant, whose place of business in 1846 was 
No. 52 King street east, Toronto, about the present (1917) 71-3 King street 
east. A familiar sign in his "East India Tea House" was a Chinese man- 
darin, who in a friendly manner continually bowed to passersby. Mr. 
Yates retired from business about 1860. He died in Toronto, llth March, 
1S67. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

626 RUTHERFORD, E. H. President Consumers' Gas Company, 
1867-74 His birthplace was Manor-Hamilton, Co. Leitrim, Ireland, 15th 
May, 1820. Educated in Toronto and Ireland. From 1850 he was the 
junior -partner of the firm of Whittemore, Rutherford & Co., Toronto. 



102 

Was vice-president of tlxe Bank of Upper Canada, an active member of 
the House of Industry Board, and a director of the Canada Permanent 
Building Society. Died 30th September, 1885. Photograph, colored. Size 
4x5. Head and shoulders. 

627 AUSTIN, JAMES President Consumers' Gas Company, 1874-97 
He was born at Tanderagee, Ireland, 6th March, 1814, and for many years 
resided in Toronto, where he died 27th Feb., 1897. He was fifth president 
of the Gas Company, which position he held for twenty-three years. He 
was a pioneer merchant of Toronto, for many years in the firm of Foy & 
Austin, north-east corner Nelson (Jarvis) and King streets. From 1871-97 
lie was president of the Dominion Bank. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. 
Head and shoulders. 

628 SMITH, LARRATT WILLIAM President Consumers' Gas Com- 
pany, 1897-1905 Born at Stonehouse, Devon, Eng., 29th November, 1820. 
He was educated at Upper Canada College and King's College, Toronto 
(B.C.L., 1848; D.C.L., 1858), and was called to the bar in 1843, practising in 
Toronto. He served as a lieutenant in the North York militia during the 
Rebellion of 1837, and later became major of the Reserve Militia. In 1876 
he acted as chairman of a Royal Commission appointed to enquire into the 
affairs of the Northern Railway. Died 18th September, 1905. Photograph, 
colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

629 COCKBURN, GEORGE R. R. President Consumers' Gas Com- 
pany, 1905-6 He was a Scotchman, born in Edinburgh; educated at Edin- 
burgh High school and University (M.A. and Stratton prizeman, 1857). In 
186JL he was appointed principal of Upper Canada College and a senator of 
Toronto University. Represented Centre Toronto in House of Commons 
from 1887-96. He was a warm supporter of Imperial Federation. Elected 
president of the Ontario Bank in 1894. Died ir London. Eng., 18th Janu- 
ary, 1912. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. See 
966, 3653. 

630 BLAIKIE, JOHN LANG President Consumers' Gas Company, 
1906-12 A Scot, born near St. Boawell's, Roxburghshire, Scotland, re- 
ceiving his early education at Melrose and Edinburgh. Came to Canada in 
1858, and established in Toronto the financial brokerage firm of Blaikie & 
Alexander. From 1871 until his death in February, 1912, he was president 
of the Canada Landed and National Investment Co. Photograph, colored. 
Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

631 AUSTIN, ALBERT W. President Consumers' Gas Company, 
1912-16 He was born in Toronto, 27th March, 1857, and educated at Upper 
Canada College, is a director of the Dominion Bank, and present president 
of the Gas Company. Mr. Austin is a son of James Austin, a former presi- 
dent of the Gas Company, and is also engaged in financial business in 
Toronto. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Half length. 

632 GIVINS, GEORGE EDWARD Youngest son of Colonel James 
Givins, Superintendent of Indian Affairs. He was on the medical staff in 
India for many years, and died in Toronto In the sixties. Photograph, col- 
ored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

633 DICK, CAPTAIN THOMAS, 1809-74 A well-known lake mariner. 
Captain Dick from the early forties plied to and fro on Lake Ontario, hav- 
ing had command of various vessels prominent in lake shipping, such as 
the "Chief Justice Robinson," and from 1852-8 the "Peerless," which after- 
wards became a transport in the Civil War, and in November, 1861, was 
wrecked off Cape Hatteras. Captain Dick retired about 1860, and two 
years later became proprietor of the Queen's Hotel r originally Swords'), 
Toronto, conducting the hostelry until his death in 1874 Photograph col- 
ored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 






103 

634 CONNOR, HON. GEORGE SKEFFINGTON, 1810-63 Born in 
Dublin, Ireland; took his D.L. degree at Trinity College, there. In 1832 
he emigrated to Canada with William Hume Blake (afterwards Chan- 
cellor), first settling in Oro Township. He was called to the Canadian 
Bar in 1842, and some time afterwards became a partner in the firm, 
Blake, Morrison and Connor. Later he formed a partnership with Mr. 
George Boomer, afterwards Police Magistrate. Dr. Connor was one of the 
Commissioners appointed for consolidating the Statutes of Canada and 
Upper Canada in 1858. On that Commission he made it a specialty to 
consolidate and revise the Real Property Acts. In 1848 he was lecturer in 
law in Toronto University, and ten years later received appointment of 
Solicitor-General. From 1858-62 represented Oxford in Parliament. In 
January, 1863, he accepted a puisne judgeship of the Court of Queen's 
Bench, and a few months later died at his residence in Toronto. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

635 RIDOUT, HON. THOMAS, 1754-1829 Born in Sherborne, Dorset- 
shire, Eng., 1754. When twenty years of age he emigrated to America, 
proceeding to Annapolis, Md. f where ao older brother had already settled. 
In 1788 he came to Montreal and determined to settle in Canada. Became 
Sergeant-at-Arms, House of Assembly, 1794; two years later Registrar for 
the County of York; Clerk of the Peace, Home District, 1800; Surveyor- 
General, 1810; M.P.P., West York, 1812, and a member of the Legislative 
Council, 1824. His death occurred at York in 1829. Water color. Size 
4x5. Head and shoulders. 

636 HOWARD, MRS. JAMES SCOTT (SALOME MACLEAN) A 

daughter of Captain Maclean, of the New York Loyalist Corps; born at 
Nashwaak, York Co., N.B. She subsequently married Mr. J. S. Howard, in 
Fredericton, N.B., where he settled in 1819. They later resided in Toronto 
for many years. Mrs. Howard's death took place here in 1857. The late 
Allan Maclean-Howard, clerk of the Division Court, was a son. Water 
color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 640. 

637 ROBINSON, HON. PETER Eldest son of Christopher Robinson, 
of the Queen's Rangers, and brother of Sir John Beverley Robinson, Bart, 
Chief Justice; was born in New Brunswick, 1785. He commanded a volun- 
teer rifle company at the capture of Detroit in 1812; was representative of 
East Riding of York in Provincial Legislature, 1817-20, and afterwards 
member of Legislative Council. In 1827 was appointed Commissioner of 
Crown Lands, which position he held until his death in Toronto in 1838. 
Hon. Peter Robinson had a great deal to do with the settlement of Peter- 
boro, Ont, which is named after him. From silhouette in color, in posses- 
sion of Mrs. Christopher Robinson, Toronto. Size 4x5. Head, in profile. 

638 LESSARD, MAJOR-GENERAL FRANCOIS LOUIS Inspector- 
General Eastern Canadian Forces, 1915 Born in Quebec, 1860; educated at 
St. Thomas' College and the Commercial Academy at Quebec. In 1878 he 
entered the volunteer militia as a private in the Queen's Own Canadian 
Hussars at Quebec; gazetted as a lieutenant in the Quebec Garrison 
Artillery, 1879; from there transferred to the 65th Regiment of Montreal, 
1884. Four years later he entered the Royal Canadian Dragoons as cap- 
tain. In 1907 was made Substantive-Colonel and Brigadier-General, 1911. 
Served in the North-west Rebellion in 1885, and commanded the Royal 
Canadian Dragoons in the South African War; present at the relief o/f 
Kimberley. Received Queen's medal with five clasps. Promoted to be 
Major-General, and made Commander of the 2nd Military Divisional Area, 
Dec., 1912. On January 1st, 1915, received appointment as Inspector-General 
of the Eastern Canadian Forces. Chief staff officer Quebec Tercentenary 
Celebration, 1908, when he was presented to his Majesty King George V. 
Water color on platinum. Size 3^ x 4. Head and shoulders. 

639 WILKIE, D. R., 1846-1914 President Imperial Bank, Toronto. 
Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. See 954. 



104 

640 HOWARD, MRS, JAMES SCOTT Water color. Size 4x5. 
Head and shoulders. See 636. 

641 HOWARD, JAMES SCOTT, 1798-1866 Treasurer Home District 
and United Counties of York and Peel. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and 
shoulders. See 611. 

642 KETCHUM, JESSE, 1782-1867 "The Children's Friend" was born 
at Spencetown, N.Y.; came to York (Toronto) when a young man and 
engaged in the tannery business at the s.w. corner of Newgate (Adelaide) 
and Yonge streets. Mr. Ketchum was a most liberal citizen, especially in 
matters pertaining to secular education and religious instruction. The 
Bible and Tract Society owes a great deal to his generosity; he also gave 
the old Queen street site to Knox church, and very largely assisted in the 
building of the edifice. Several acres of land were given, too, by Mr. 
Ketchum for a children's park -at Yorkville, in the neighborhood of the 
present Jesse Ketchum school. As a result of his bounty books are annu- 
ally distributed in the Public and Sunday schools of the city. In 1845 he 
removed to Buffalo, where he continued his interest in children until his 
death in 1867. Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

643 HORWOOD, GEORGE C. He was born in 1808 and spent his 
early days in the Royal Navy. In 1840 he came to Toronto, and some two 
years later built the North American Hotel, a leading hostelry of the day, 
on Front street, near Scott. This establishment he conducted until 1855. 
It is now (1917) the site of the Pacific building and the John Macdonald 
warehouse. Mr^^Horwood's death occurred in 1856. Water color. Size 
4x5. Head and shoulders. 

644 WRIGHT, EDWARD GRAVES SIMCOE First white child born at 
York (Toronto), 1794. Son of Edward Wright, of the Queen's Rangers, 
Niagara and York, 1792-1802, who emigrated to America before the Revolu- 
tionary War. On its expiration he returned to the old land, where he re- 
mained for several years, but in 1792 came to Canada with the Queen's 
Rangers. His son, Edward Graves Simcoe Wright, in after years kept the 
Greenland Fisheries Tavern, north-west corner of Front and John streets, 
Toronto. Water color, from an oil in possession of his great-grandson, 
Edward H. Rodden, Toronto. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

645 BAIN, JAMES, D.C.L. Chief Librarian, Toronto Public Library, 
1883-1908 Photograph, colored, from portrait in possession of his son, 
Prof. J. Watson Bain, Toronto. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. See 977. 

646 SCADDING, JOHN, JR. Eldest son of John Scadding, Sr., of 
Wolford, Devon, who emigrated to Canada in 1792. The Scadding home in 
York was just over the Don. The late Rev. Dr. Henry Scadding was a 
brother of John Scadding, Jr., while H. Crawford Scadding, M.D., of To- 
ronto, is his grand-nephew. Water color from a portrait in possession of 
Dr. H. Crawford Scadding, Toronto. Size 3% x 4. Head and shoulders. 

647 GOODWIN, LT.-COL. HENRY Born in Ireland in 1794. Enlisted 
in the army and served in Bull's Brigade, Royal Horse Artillery, at Quatre 
Bras and Waterloo. He afterwards came to Canada, and on the formation 
of the County of York Volunteer Militia Field Battery, December. 1856. 
was_appointed sergeant-major and drill instructor. From 1855-65 he was 
fencing master at Upper Canada College, and was a member of the 
Queen's Own Rifles. His death occurred at the Old Fort Toronto, February 
17th, 1877. Photograph, colored. Size 4x6. Full length. 

648 ROBINSON, WILLIAM B., M. P.P. Third son of Christopher 
Robinson, of Queen's Rangers, and brother of Sir John Beverley Robinson, 
Bart., Chief Justice; born at Kingston, Upper Canada, 22nd December, 1797. 
He represented the county of Simcoe in House of Assembly for twenty-five 
years, was Inspector-General for Canada with a seat in the Executive* 



105 

Council. Held the office of Chief Commissioner of Public Works, 1846-7. 
Also a commissioner of the Canada Company. Died at Toronto in 1873. 
Water color from a portrait in possession of Mrs. Christopher Robinson, 
Toronto. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

649 ARMSTRONG, WILLIAM, C.E. In 1851 Mr. Armstrong, then a 
young man, thirty years of age, came to Canada from Dublin, his native 
place, and settled in Toronto. Under Mr. A. M. Ross he was one of the 
engineers employed in connection with the narrow gauge Grand Trunk 
Railway. In 1870 he went out as chief engineer with the Wolseley expe- 
dition, and while a member of the party made many sketches. Mr. Arm- 
strong was one of the early members 6"f the Canadian Yacht Club, which 
afterwards became the Royal Canadian Yacht Club, and was for many 
years a moving spirit in that organization. In addition to his work as an 
engineer, William Armstrong was an artist of considerable merit. His 
death occurred at his residence, the "Priory," Augusta avenue (formerly 
Esther street), Toronto, 1914. Water color. Size 3x4. Three-quarter 
length, sitting. See 1116. 

650 HIND L DR. HENRY YOULE. 1823-1908 He was born in Notting- 
ham, England, and came to Canada in 1846. In 1848 he was appointed 
mathematical master and lecturer in chemistry in the Normal School, 
Toronto, and later professor of chemistry and geology, Trinity University, 
Toronto. While still a professor at Trinity, he was in 1857 named by the 
Canadian Government as geologist to the first Red River Expedition, and 
the following year placed in command of the Assiniboine and Saskatchewan 
exploring expedition. He explored part of Labrador, made a survey of 
New Brunswick, examined gold districts of Nova Scotia and the mineral 
field of the north-eastern part of Newfoundland. He wrote many books; 
was granted the degree of D.C.L., by King's College, Windsor, in 1890. His 
death took place at Windsor, N.S. Photograph, colored, from a portrait in 
possession of his daughter, Miss Margaret Hind, Windsor, N.S. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. ; I , ; | |i 

651 SMALL, CHARLES COXWELL Son of Major John Small: was 
born at York (Toronto), in 1800. In 1825 he succeeded his father as clerk 
of the Crown and Pleas. He was a member of the Agricultural Society of 
York County, and was connected with the militia of the county, being for 
many years colonel of the Fourth Regiment of North York Militia. His 
death took place at Berkeley House, Toronto, 17th March, 1864. Water 
color from a drawing in possession of Mrs. Small, Berkeley House, Toronto. 
Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

652 MUIR, ALEXANDER Author of "The Maple Leaf He was born 
in Lesmahagow, Lanarkshire, Scotland, 5th April, 1830; died in Toronto, 
26th June, 1906. His parents emigrated to Canada in 1834. Alexander 
received his early training in his father's school in Scarboro township, 
attended Queen's College, Kingston, from 1847-50, receiving his degree of 
B.A. there in April, 1851. He taught in Scarboro, Newmarket, Beaverton 
and Toronto; was extremely patriotic and very fond of sports. Water color. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

653 MUIR, JOHN, 1802-65 Father of Alexander Muir, author of "The 
Maple Leaf Forever" John Muir was born in the village of Crawford- 
John, Lanarkshire, Scotland. He, however, removed to Lesmahagow, or, 
as it is also known, Abbey Green. For some years he taught school near 
here, and in 1833 emigrated to Canada, with his wife and children. He 
settled in the Township of Scarboro, where he followed his profession, 
teaching first in a log building erected in 1817, on lot 31, concession 3, of 
the township. He retired about 1855. Mr. Muir was fond of quoits, an 
enthusiastic checker player, and at one time was captain of the Scarboro 



106 

Cricket Club The pupils of his early schools, as a token of their regard 
and respect, erected in the churchyard of St. Andrew's, Scarboro, a monu- 
ment to his memory. Water color from a daguerreotype in possession of 
Mrs. Muir, widow of Alexander Muir. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

654-661 Post Offices, York and Toronto, 1816-1917. 

654 FIRST POST OFFICE, 1816-27 A small, unpretentious log house 
on the east side of Frederick street, south of King. Hon. William Allan was 
the first postmaster. In the early days the mails were extremely irregular, 
communication being by stage and sailing vessel only, and letters and 
papers mailed in England in November did not arrive in York until the 
following spring. Water color. Size 5x7. 

655 SECOND POST OFFICE, 1828-9 On the south side of Duke, be- 
tween George and New (Jarvis) streets. On the retirement of Mr. Allan 
from the Postmastership in 1828, James Scott Howard, father of Allan 
McLean Howard, was appointed in his stead. Pending tne completion of 
Mr. Howard's new residence on the west side of George street, the post 
office was removed temporarily to the small one-storey house on Duke 
street, shown in the picture. The site is now Nos. 9 and 11 Duke, Toronto. 
Water color. Size 5x7. , i i 

656 THIRD POST OFFICE, 1830-4 When Mr. Howard's new resi- 
dence was completed, about 1830, the post office was transferred to it. The 
new building was a commodious two-storey one on the west side of George 
street, a little below Duke, just behind the Nipissing Hotel. The south end 
was used as the post office, while the Howard family resided in the 
remainder of the house. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size Qy 2 x 7. 

657 FOURTH POST OFFICE, 1836-38 North side of Duke street, a 
little east of George, and just east of the Bank of Upper Canada. It was 
built by Mr. Howard about 1834, as a private residence, and the post office 
removed from George street to the east corner of the new dwelling about 
1836. On Mr. Howard's resignation from the postmastership the family 
discontinued residence here. The house is now the east part of De La Salle 
Institute, Toronto. Water color. Size 5x7. 

658 FIFTH POST OFFICE, 1839-45 On the north-west corner of 
Yonge and Front streets. When Mr. Charles Berczy became postmaster 
he established the post office in a one-storey structure, occupying as a 
residence a red brick building immediately west, and in off the street about 
fifty feet. This was previously the residence of Chief Justice Macaulay. 
In 1845 the site was purchased by the Bank of Montreal and the first bank 
building erected there. It was subsequently demolished and. the present 
(1917) structure built. Water color. Size 4x7. 

659 SIXTH POST OFFICE, 1845-52 Situated on the north side of" 
Wellington street east, west of Berczy street, now Leader lane. It was a 
one-storey white brick building, afterwards painted red; two storeys of 
red brick were also added subsequently. A part of the Imperial Bank now 
occupies the site. Up to 1852 the Post Office Department was under the 
Imperial Government, but almost simultaneously with the introduction of 
the bonding system through the United States the business was trans- 
ferred to the Canadian Government and the mails began to arrive once a 
week via Boston and New York, alternately. Water color. Size 4% x 5. 

660 SEVENTH POST OFFICE, 1852-73 On the appointment of Mr. 
Joseph Lesslie as postmaster, the post office was removed to the hand- 
some new structure with cut stone front, built after the Ionic style of 
architecture, on the west side of Toronto street. Although the building 
was larger than its predecessors it was soon tried to its utmost capacity. 
Water color. Size 5x7. 



107 >'; , 

661 EIGHTH POST OFFICE, 1873-1917 Nos. 36-42 Adelaide, at the 
head of Toronto street. It was erected in 1873, during the postmastership 
of Mr. Joseph Lesslie, and is of white brick, faced with cut stone. Although 
almost doubled in size on the north, or Lombard street side, it is quite 
inadequate to the present needs of Toronto and a new building is being 
projected (1917). Water color. Size 6x8. 

662 BALDWIN RESIDENCE, YORK (TORONTO), 1 804-1 3 North- 
west corner of Front (Palace) and Frederick streets The property origin- 
ally belonged to the Hon. Peter Russell, and was for some time occupied 
by Captain John Denison, the first of the Denison family to settle in Can- 
ada. The house shown in the picture became the home of Dr. William 
Warren Baldwin in 1804, and in that year his son, Hon. Robert Baldwin, 
was born there. At a later date the house was the printing office of 
William Lyon Mackenzie, when he published the Colonial Advocate. Water 
color by D. M. G. Whyte. Size 5% x 6. See 717. 

663 OLD FORT, YORK (TORONTO) View looking towards the 
north-west. During Governor Simcoe's administration a fort was built at 
York by the Queen's Rangers, the first regiment to be quartered at the 
garrison. It was situated on the west side of Garrison Creek, east of the 
site of old Fort Toronto, or as its official name was, Fort Rouille, built by 
order of Louis XV. The large frame building shown was used as barracks 
for the soldiers, while the officers were quartered in the brick cottages. 
Water color. Size 5x9. 

664 GARDENER'S ARMS INN, YORK (TORONTO) Second build- 
ing east side of Yonge street, below Charles. The land on which the 
hostelry was built was originally a part of the Elmsley estate, and was a 
two-storey frame structure, having a narrow one-storey extension in front 
and a small wing at the northern end. Just north of it, and conducted in 
connection with the inn, was the "Vauxhall Gardens," deriving its name 
from the famous London resort. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 5x7. 

665 TECUMSEH WIGWAM, TORONTO A small one-storey log 
cabin on the north-west corner of Bloor street and Avenue road. It was 
built about 1850 by David King, a Yorkville laborer, and for many years 
was a popular drinking place. It was demolished in 1874 and the Albert 
Nordheimer residence erected on the site. Now (1917), however, the lot 
is vacant. Water color. Size 5x7. 

666 SUN TAVERN, TORONTO About 1825 John Mclntosh, one of 
three brothers, each of whom commanded a vessel on the Great Lakes, 
erected as a hotel a large square, white frame structure at the north-west 
corner of Yonge and Queen streets, opposite Good's foundry. It was at 
first known as the "Sun Tavern," and occupied successively by Charles 
Thompson and a Mr. Wilson. About 1830 the builder's brother-in-law, 
Thomas Elliott, assumed management. It did a thriving business and 
became the headquarters of the leaders of the Radical party, Mclntosh 
being a brother-in-law of William Lyon Mackenzie. The name of the inn 
was later changed to the "Falcon," and then to the "Craven Heifer." In 
1855, while under the proprietorship of Mr. Henry Fulljames, it was de- 
stroyed by fire. Water color. Size 5x7. 

667 OLD FORT View at the west end about 1860 The cottages 
shown north and south of the gateway were for the accommodation of the 
officers of the regiments stationed in the Fort from 1816-70. The gate at 
which the people are standing is the western entrance. Water color. 
Size 5 x 10. 






108 

668 EASTERN AND MAIN ENTRANCE TO THE OLD FORT, YORK 
(TORONTO) 1796-1812 It was reached by an ascent from the Garrison 
Creek Ravine. Strong, iron-studded portals protected the arched gateway. 
The Queen's Rangers' Masonic Lodge (Lodge No. 3 of Ancient York 
Masons) met from 1799-1800 in the southernmost of the row of log houses, 
near the flagstaff. When York was occupied by the Americans in 1813 
these houses were unharmed. Water color. Size 4x7. 

669 _HOME OF WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE On the west side of 
York street, half way between Queen and Richmond, Toronto In this 
modest two-storey, red brick dwelling William Lyon Mackenzie lived dur- 
ing the stormiest part of his career. It was the home of Mackenzie and 
his family from early in 1836, and it was here that he edited "The Consti- 
tution." Here also the Rebellion of 1837 was planned. On the collapse of 
the uprising Mackenzie fled to the United States. The family, however, 
remained in the house for a short time, Mrs. Mackenzie joining her hus- 
band at Navy Island, 29th Dec., 1837. The York street house was for a 
time occupied by Andrew Patton, Barrack Master, and father of the late 
Hon. James Patton. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 6x7. 

670 JONATHAN SCOTT'S HOUSE, TORONTO It was built about 
1825 by Jonathan Scott, a butcher in the market, and was situated at what 
is now the south-east corner of Yonge and McGill (Magill) streets, on land 
purchased by Mr. Scott from Capt. John McGill, whose name is perpetuated 
in McGill street. The Scott home was the only house of any size, for a 
time, between the Green Bush Tavern, Yonge and Shuter streets, and the 
Red Lion Hotel, Yorkville. It was torn down to make room for the old 
Y.M.C.A. building, erected 1888, used at present as a store and office build- 
ing. A new Y.M.C.A. building was opened in October, 1913, on College 
street. Water color. Size 6x7. 

671 OLD FORT, YORK (TORONTO) View from the west side 
The two blockhouses in the picture were built in 1816. The battery on the 
south, or lake side, is also shown. Water color. Size 6 x 10. 

672 BATTERY ON THE SOUTH SIDE OF OLD FORT, YORK (TO- 

RONTO) Overlooking Lake Ontario. The guns shown were not those 
used during the War of 1812-15. About 1860 they were removed to 
Kingston. Water color. Size 4x8. 

673 BERCZY COTTAGE, TORONTO It was situated on the north 
side of Carlton street, just east of Yonge street. The cottage itself was 
destroyed about 1870, but the foundations have been rebuilt upon and Nos. 
6 and 8 Carlton stand on site. Mr. Berczy, third postmaster of Toronto, 
was the son of William Berczy, who took an active part in connection with 
the settlement of Markham, Ont. Water color from a photo in possession 
of Mrs. Charles de Moll Berczy, Fort Scott, Kansas. Size 4x6. 

674 SMITH HOMESTEAD TORONTO (YORK), 1794 North-east 
corner Duke (King) and Caroline (Sherbourne) streets. About the time 

Crovernor Simcoe's arrival from Niagara, William Smith, Sr., an experi- 

ced builder, settled in Toronto. He assisted in laying out the town and 

was one of the first to draw a building lot, erecting thereon a log cabin, 

which shortly afterwards was pulled down and a frame dwelling built. 



. 

i many f the earlier houses in York ' lived here until 
Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 5x7. 



w a t! 75 ~i GIVI c- S HOM E STEAD, "PINE GROVE," 1804-91-Front view. 
Water color. Size 6x8. See 272, 280, 681. 



109 

676 HOME OF JOHN LOGAN, A PIONEER TORONTO FLORIST 

It was a small, picturesque, one-storey-and-a-half cottage, the first dwelling 
erected at the north-east corner of Church and Shuter. In the garden at 
the rear Logan cultivated vegetables and flowers, while his wife sold the 
produce at the market. Subsequently the cottage fell into decay and was 
replaced by a storey-and-a-half building, occupied for a number of years as 
a saloon by John Elliott. This, however, was demolished many years ago 
and a brick residence erected by the late Dr. J. F. W. Ross. Water color. 
Size 4x7. 

677 RICH MONDS' BLACKSMITH SHOP North-east corner of 
Queen and William (Simcoe) streets, Toronto It was owned by William 
Richmond, wheelwright, and Robert Richmond, blacksmith, from 1850-60. 
The site is now (1917) occupied by Nos. 170-2 Queen street west. It was 
within a few yards of the old shop that the celebrated Brown-Cameron 
election riot took place in 1858. Water color by P. V. Poole. Size 5x7. 

678 BLOCKHOUSE AND ENTRANCE TO OLD FORT, YORK (TO- 
RONTO) The row of buildings to the right of picture were guard houses, 
occupied by the military from 1816-69. The large blockhouse stood in the 
centre of the parade ground. The entire front outside of the pickets has 
been completely changed since 1870. Water color. Size 5x7. 

679 YONGE STREET, BELOW KING, TORONTO, 1850K70 View 

of part of the west side, north from Melinda street. The buildings shown 
are the commercial salesrooms of F. C. Capreol (now site of south end of 
Dominion Bank building), the wholesale dry goods warehouse of John 
Robertson, father of J. Ross Robertson, and the auction rooms of Andrew 
Henderson, father of Charles M. Henderson, the well-known Toronto 
auctioneer. The Robertson building was afterwards a part of the St. 
Charles, with its front remodelled, and the Henderson building became 
the southern portion of the old Dominion Bank building. The new (1917) 
structure of the Dominion Bank occupies the whole of the Yonge street 
block from King to Melinda streets. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 4x7. 

680 GIVINS HOMESTEAD, TORONTO View of the drawing-room 
To the left is seen Miss Cecil Givins, in the early days one of the belles 
of York military and Government circles, a daughter of Col. James Givins, 
and a sister of the Rev. Saltern Givins. She was a life-long resident of 
the old homestead. Resting on the ottoman to the right of the picture is 
Col. Givins' sword, worn by him on April 27th, 1813, when at the head of 
a force of sixty Glengarry Fencibles and a few Indians he ineffectually 
strove to stem the tide of the American invasion. It is said that more 
dignitaries visited this cottage from 1804-30 than any other home in York. 
Water color. Size e 1 /^ x 7. 

681 GIVINS HOMESTEAD, "PINE GROVE" Rear view. Water 
color. Size 5x7. See 272, 280, 675. 

682 JESSE KETCHUM'S HOUSE, YORK (TORONTO) Opposite 
his tannery, which stood on the south-east corner of Newgate (Adelaide) 
street and Yonge. Mr. Jesse Ketchum erected a large, white frame, square- 
turreted residence after the American style. The exact date of building 
is unknown, but it was probably 1813-14. About 1838-9 the dwelling was 
destroyed and the site cut up into building lots. The site is now the row 
of brick stores on the west side of Yonge from Adelaide to Temperance 
streets. Water color. Size 5x7. 

683 COLLEGE AVENUE LODGE, TORONTO, 1830 One of four 
lodges of similar design erected by John G. Howard, the well-known To- 
ronto architect. It stood on the north side of Queen street, at the corner 






110 

of College avenue (west side of the present University avenue), and was 
occupied for many years by Mark Fitzpatrick, a one-time caretaker of the 
University property, and afterwards by his widow. Water color. Size 4x7. 

684 JOHN SLEIGH'S HOUSE, TORONTO This two-storey rough- 
cast house on the north side of Duke street, between George and Caroline 
(Sherbourne), was erected in 1835 by John Sleigh, one of the best-known 
local cattlemen and butchers of his time. About 1870 he removed to 
Yorkville, where he died some years later. The house was demolished in 
1912. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 5x6. 

685 BISHOP STRACHAN'S RESIDENCE, YORK (TORONTO), 
1818-1900 Front street west, directly opposite the main entrance of the 
Union Station. The "Palace," a handsome structure of red brick, occupy- 
ing, with its grounds, the entire square bounded by Graves (Simcoe), 
Market (Wellington), York and Palace (Front) streets, was the third 
brick building in York, the first being the Parliament buildings, and the 
second the St. George, or Canada Company building, n.e. corner King and 
Frederick streets. The residence was built by Rev. John Strachan, first 
Anglican Bishop of Toronto, and occupied by him until his death in 1867, 
then being rented for a boarding house. About 1900 it was demolished to 
make way for warehouses. Mr. J. Ross Robertson had a chair made of the 
oak threshold of the Bishop's home, and in 1904 presented it to the Uni- 
versity of Trinity College, which was founded by Bishop Strachan. The 
chair stands in the Convocation Hall of the College. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

686 BIRD, LENNOX AND CHARLTON HOTEL, TORONTO A 
Queen street view It was a frame building, situated between James and 
Teraulay streets, and erected in 1827 by John Bird, who occupied it as a 
store and residence. After Mr. Bird's death the property became a tavern, 
and was kept by his son, Joseph, for some years. It subsequently 
passed through various hands, and finally came into the possession of 
William Charlton, who continued the business until about 1860. After his 
decease his widow carried it on for two years, when she remarried and 
transferred the property to James Spence, who in turn conveyed it to 
James Lennox. The site is now a part of the City Hall Square. Water 
color. Size 5x7. 

687 RICHARD HARPER'S HOUSE A pioneer Toronto residence, 
south-east corner Queen and Simcoe streets. Richard Harper, with his 
son John, came to York in 1818, and on his arrival purchased an acre of 
land at the s.e. cor. Lot (Queen) and Graves (Simcoe) streets. Some time 
afterwards he erected the frame dwelling shown in the picture, which, for 
a time, was the residence of the Rev. Joseph Hudson, chaplain to the 
forces. At a later date it served as the home of the Rev. John Wenham, 
curate of St. James' Church (Cathedral), and in 1849-51 was occupied by 
Mr. Owen, of the firm of Owen, Miller & Mills, King street, carriage manu- 
facturers. About 1855 the dwelling was converted into a shop. It was 
altered considerably in the summer of 1912, and now is a gents' furnishing 
store. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 5x7. 

688 DOEL'S HOMESTEAD AND BREWERY, YORK (TORONTO) 

In 1827 John Doel, an Englishman who came to York from the United 

States in 1818, erected a two-storey frame residence at the north-west 

corner of Bay and Adelaide streets. At the rear he built a frame 

L"-shaped structure which was used as a brewery until 1847, when it 

was burned. Mr. Doel was associated with the leaders of the Reform 

rty, and during the exciting days preceding the Rebellion of 1837 the 

house and brewery formed the principal rendezvous of the agitators. Doel 

and Mackenzie, however, disagreed as to the method of procedure, and 

noi7? ri f e ^ Wit ^ reW his su PP rt from the party. The residence still 
(1917) stands. Water color by F. V. Poole Size 4x7 



Ill 

689 HOME OF HON. PETER RUSSELL, YORK (TORONTO) 

Russell Abbey, as the charming one-storey frame dwelling was known, 
was built in 1798, near the bay shore, on Palace (Front) street, at the 
foot of what is now (1917) Princess street (formerly Princes). Here Mr. 
Russell, who was Administrator of Upper Canada from 1796-99, died in 
1808. The residence was afterwards for many years occupied by his 
sister, Miss Elizabeth Russell. She in turn willed the entire property of 
her late brother, to her cousins, the daughters of Wm. Willcocks, one of 
whom was the wife of Dr. William Warren Baldwin. After Miss Russell's 
death the house became the residence of Bishop Macdonell, and then ot 
Dr. Bradley, immigration agent. When the latter vacated it a negro family 
named Truss came into possession, carrying on a shoemaking business 
there. The Abbey was burned October, 1856. Water color. Size 4x7. 

690 BELLEVUE HOMESTEAD, TORONTO An early residence of 
the Denison family. In 1815 Lieut.-Colonel George Taylor Denison, son of 
Captain John Denison, purchased park lot 17 and part of 18, adjoining 
"Petersfield," the property of the Hon. Peter Russell, and occupied by 
Captain John Denison. On the land (part of Bellevue square) purchased 
by the younger Denison, "Bellevue" was built. It was a large, comfortable 
house, lying far back from Queen street, but visible from it through the 
trees. The present (1917) Denison avenue was originally the drive up to 
the old residence. Water color. Size 6x7. 

691 BERKELEY HOUSE, TORONTO Homestead of the Small fam- 
ily, south-west corner King arid Berkeley streets. The homestead was 
originally built of hewn timber by Major John Small, first Clerk of Execu- 
tive Council, U.C., and was one of the earliest dwellings in York (Toronto). 
It was subsequently re-constructed by Major Small's son, Charles Coxwell 
Small, and although elevated and enlarged, the design and even a portion 
of the inner substance of the original structure was preserved. The resi- 
dence, known as Berkeley House, was later converted into three dwellings, 
the central one containing the remains of the original log house. It still 
(1917) stands. Water color. Size 5x7. See 693. 

692 ONTARIO HOUSE North-west corner Church and Market 
(Wellington) streets, York (Toronto) In 1834 it was conducted by Wil- 
liam Campbell, who at one time kept the North American Hotel, Front 
street. In 1845 the Ontario House became the Wellington Hotel, with 
Russel Inglis as proprietor. It is said that the first room William Lyon 
Mackenzie entered on his return to Toronto from exile was the private 
sitting-room of this hostelry. Under Mr. Inglis' management the Welling- 
ton became so popular that he was forced to rent the two upper floors 
of the Coffin House Block, at the gore formed by Wellington, Front and 
Church streets, to supply adequate accommodation for his patrons. After 
giving up the Wellington, Mr. Inglis for a long time conducted the Western 
Hotel, north side of Wellington, between Scott and Yonge streets. His 
former hostelry became a tenement house and was eventually demolished 
to make way for the Bank of Toronto. Water color; Size 5x6. 

693 BERKELEY HOUSE Residence of the Small family. Water 
color from an old sketch. Size 4x7. See 691. 

694 OLD ST. LAWRENCE MARKET, TORONTO Front Street En- 
trance The St. Lawrence Market was first opened for business in April, 
1851. The main entrance was then in the centre of the frontage on King 
street, and consisted of a corridor with a line of shops stretching to the 
east and west on "Both sides through to Front. In addition there was a 
transverse piazza, one hundred feet deep, over which, on the first floor, 
were various public rooms. In 1904 the present market south of Front 
was completed and the lower part of the market remodelled, the shops 

10 






112 

being removed and made into an arena. In 1912 the arena was altered and 
portions rented on the east and west sides to meat companies, and used 
by farmers' wagons on market days. Water color. Size 5x6. See 701-2. 

6 95. 7 _Market Places of York and Toronto, 1803-1917. 

695 FIRST MARKET PLACE, YORK (TORONTO), 1803-31 On the 
site of the present St. Lawrence Hall and Upper Market. The first 
market, which was established by Lieutenant-Governor Peter Hunter in 
1803, was simply wooden shambles, forty-five feet long and thirty feet 
wide, running north and south, and situated in the middle of the block 
now occupied by the north part of the present (1917) St. Lawrence Market. 
In 1807 the Market Square was enclosed on the east, west and south sides 
with a picketing and oak ribbon, and in 1831 the building was demolished. 
Water color from a pen drawing by Rev. Dr. Henry Scadding, Toronto. 
Size 4x7. 

696 SECOND MARKET PLACE, YORK (TORONTO), 1831-49 On 
the north part of the block facing King street, and now (1917) occupied 
by the St. Lawrence Hall and Upper Market. It was a quadrangular brick 
building, which was completed in 1833. Around all four sides of it, 
above the butchers' stalls, ran a wooden gallery, which at a political meet- 
ing in 1834 was so overcrowded that a portion of it fell, resulting in loss 
of life and severe injuries to numbers of the audience. The front of the 
building was destroyed in the great fire of 1849, and this led to the de- 
molition of the entire market. Water color from a pen drawing made in 
1848 by Rev. Dr. Henry Scadding. Size 5x7. 

697 THIRD MARKET PLACE, 1851-1917 After the great fire ef 
1849, in which the front portion of the second market was destroyed, the 
present (1917) St. Lawrence Hall and Market was built, occupying the 
entire square bounded by King, Jarvis, Front and West Market streets. 
The St. Lawrence Hall was from its erection the finest hall in Toronto. 
Every public meeting, concert, oratorio, ball, bazaar, minstrel show, soiree, 
panorama, assembly or public dinner, down to 1871, was held in this hall. 
Great singers and speakers have also -been heard within its walls Jenny 
Lind, Mile. Piccolomini, Anna Bishop, Adelina Patti, Elihu Burritt, "the 
learned blacksmith," Horace Greeley, D'Arcy McGee, Sir John A. Mac- 
donald, George Brown, Bayard Taylor. The upper market, built 1902-3, 
in rear of the main structure on King street, is now used for farmers' 
wagons, while the butchers' stalls have been removed to the new or Lower 
Market, south of Front street, which was commenced in the summer of 
1899 and completed in 1901. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 6x7. 

698 MCLEAN HOMESTEAD, YORK (TORONTO) Formerly known 

as Dunnstable. About 1820 the Hon. John Henry Dunn, Receiver-General 
of Upper Canada, built the two-storey red brick mansion of the picture at 
the head of Catharine street (Richmond), and here he lived until the death 
of his wife. In 1837 Chief Justice McLean, who had come to York from 
Cornwall, bought the residence, occupying it until his death in 1865, when 
it became the home of his son, Mr. A. G. McLean. In 1900 it 
was demolished, and Catharine street, which ran along the south side of 
the property, was opened up, connecting Richmond with Spadina avenue. 
Water color. Size 5x6. 

699 HOME OF MAJOR HILLIER, YORK (TORONTO) An English 

rustic cottage at the north-east corner of Bay and Front streets. Major 

llier, who was attached to the 74th Regiment, was aide-de-camp and 

military secretary to Sir Peregrine Maitland. He also Belonged to the 

Masonic Order, being a well-known member of St. Andrew's Lodge. The 

J2; ?? Was ori S inall y a part of the property of the Hon. Peter Russell; in 

Dr. W. Warren Baldwin erected his town residence on the site, and 



113 

this dwelling was subsequently conducted as a private hotel by Mrs. John 
Ellah; from 1863-4 it was used as a military hospital, and afterwards as 
offices for the Toronto, Grey, Bruce and Nipissing Railroad. Later it was 
the site of a large Warehouse, destroyed in the great fire of 1904, and since 
that date has been vacant. Water color. Size 4x7. 

700 SOUTH-EAST CORNER YONGE AND GOULD STREETS, 
TORONTO About 1834 the two-storey brick building at the corner, on 
part of the McCutcheon property, was erected by John Wesley, who kept a 
seed store there for several years. The property was subsquently pur- 
chased by William Reynolds, a baker. Since then it has passed through 
various hands, as have the two brick buildings south of and adjoining the 
corner, also erected by Mr. Reynolds about 1848. In 1889 these buildings 
were demolished, and a hotel and several stores now (1917) occupy the 
site, water color. Size 5x7. 

701 OLD ST. LAWRENCE MARKET ARCADE, 1851-1904 Looking 
north from Front street. One of the most attractive features of the old 
market was the arcade, two hundred feet long by twenty feet wide. On 
both sides, running north and south from King to Front, were fruit and 
fancy shops at the north end, and butcher shops at" the south. At the 
Christmas season during the fifties the arcade was one of the sights of 
Toronto, with its glittering toy stalls, profusion of evergreens and well- 
stocked, gaily decorated butcher shops. In 1904 the old market was con- 
verted into an arena, and is now used for farmers' wagons and the butcher 
shops were removed to the new building south of Front. Water color. 
Size 4x7. See 694, 702. 

702 OLD ST. LAWRENCE MARKET View on East Market (Jarvis) 
street. Water color. Size 5x7. See 694, 701. 

703 RUSSELL'S HOTEL A pioneer Toronto hostelry at the north- 
east corner of Church and Colborne streets. In the early days there stood 
at this corner a frame hotel kept by a colored man named Snow; but 
about 1848 the frame building was demolished and a brick structure erected 
by Joshua Beard, a one-time Mayor of Toronto. The new hotel was occu- 
pied successively by Snow & Wright, Robert Beard, Azro Russell and 
John Montgomery, proprietor of the famous Montgomery's Tavern of 
Rebellion times. During the tenancy of Beard and Russell the upper 
floors of the building were occupied by the Masonic and Orange Orders. 
Subsequent to Montgomery's retirement the structure was converted into 
stores. Water color. Size 6x7. 

704 HOLLAND HOUSE Wellington street west, Toronto View 
from the garden. Water color. Size 5x7. See 722. 

705 HOUSE OF PAUL BISHOP, TORONTO Paul L'Eveque, or 
Bishop (the name having been Anglicized in Upper Canada), was a skilled 
French-Canadian mechanic, accounted the best lock-maker in Canada. It 
was he who built for Thornton Blackburn the first cab in Upper Canada. 
The Bishop cottage was a small red brick dwelling on the south side of 
Duke, a hundred feet east of Caroline (Sherbourne) streets. Water color 
by D. M. G. Whyte. Size 6x7. 

706 LAMB'S HOTEL, TORONTO, 1855-8 North side King street 
west This was one of the popular hotels of the city for a number of 
years. The buildings shown are William Harris' china shop, 1851-5, Angus 
Blue's house, in rear of which was his bath house, and the Racquet Court, 
of which he was manager. Mr. Thomas Lamb, after 1858, kept the Foun- 
tain restaurant on King street west. Water color. Size 6x8. 






114 

707 GLOBE OFFICE, TORONTO, 1853-60 King street west, on the 
site of the present (1917) Bank of Commerce. The building was origin- 
ally the home of the old Commercial Bank of the Midland District (now 
the Merchants'), and then became the third office of the Globe. The first 
office of the Globe was on Yonge street, west side, next door to its present 
building. The second office was over the Nordheimer music store, King 
east. The fourth is on the south-west corner of Yonge and Melinda streets. 
During the Globe regime the east end of the King west structure was 
occupied by Angus Dallas, woodenware dealer, the outbuilding to the left, 
or east, by L. D. Campbell, an American, who established the first news 
depot in Toronto, and Wm. Faulkner, shoe dealer. The store to the west 
was that of John Goedike, grocer. Water color. Size 7x7. 

708 GREENLAND FISHERIES TAVERN North-west corner Front 
and John streets, York (Toronto). The tavern, erected in 1825, was con- 
ducted for many years by Edward Graves Simcoe Wright, who was the 
first white child born in York, and who afterwards became one of the first 
aldermen of the corporation, when the town of York became the City of 
Toronto. Subsequent to its construction, the hostelry was renovated 
throughout and somewhat enlarged. It was latterly known as the Beau- 
champ House. riTl902 it was demolished, the site now being part of the 
G.T.R. freight yards. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 5x7. 

709 RED LION HOTEL, YORK (TORONTO) A rear view of the old 
building, showing the yard used by the farmers and their wagons on their 
way to and from the city. Water color. Size 5x8. See 710, 716, 718. 

710 RED LION HOTEL, YORK (TORONTO) On the east side of 
Yonge street, just north of Bloor, now Nos. 749-63. It was a large, white 
stuccoed building, originally clap-boarded, and was the first place for the 
accommodation of travellers in the district, subsequently known as York- 
ville, being built some time between 1808-10 by Daniel Tiers, and very 
popular as a meeting room and ball room for more than a quarter of a 
century. The old hostelry continued its hospitality for nearly eighty years, 
passing through many hands during its long period of usefulness. Water 
color. Size 6x7. See 709, 716, 718. 

711-14 Jails of York and Toronto, from 1800-1917. 

711 FIRST JAIL, 1800-24 Situated on the south side of King street, 
at the corner of Leader lane. "It was," says Dr. Scadding in "Toronto of 
Old," "a squat, unpainted, wooden building with hipped roof concealed from 
persons passing in the street by a tall cedar stockade, such as those we 
see surrounding a Hudson's Bay post or a military woodyard." On dif- 
ferent occasions the sheriff complained that the condition of the building 
was detrimental to the health of the persons confined there, and in 1824 a 
new jail was built. The brick buildings, erected about 1840, now (1917) 
occupy the site of the first jail, as does Leader lane, which runs south 
from King street. Water color. Size 4x7. 

712 SECOND JAIL, 1824-40 A plain, substantial, two-storeyed red 
brick building, near the north-east corner of King and Toronto streets, at 
what would now be the corner of Toronto and Court streets. On three 
sides it was enclosed by a fifteen-foot picket fence, and in the jail yard so 
formed was erected the gallows on which Lount and Matthews were hanged 
in 1838. The gallows stood to the east of the building, and just about thirty 
feet south of the south line of the present Court street. A Court House was 
also built in 1824, the corner-stones of bo-th it and the Jail being laid by the 
Lieut.-Governor on the same date. The former stood on the northwest 
corner of King and Church streets, about a hundred feet north of King The 
i stocks stood just west of the Court House. The Jail building was 
remodelled, and is now (1917) the York Chambers, Toronto and Court 
streets. Water color from a drawing by J. G. Howard Size 5x7 



115 

713 THIRD JAIL, 1840-60 The large, new jail, built of Kingston 
grey cut limestone, and surrounded by a stone wall about twelve feet high, 
was situated on Palace street (Front east), at the foot of Berkeley, the latter 
street being in those days continued down to the waterside in a narrow 
road. It was almost on the site of the third jail that the first frame build- 
ings in York were erected before the end of the eighteenth century for the 
use of Parliament and the Law Courts. These buildings, with the books, 
documents and records contained in them, were destroyed in 1813, when 
the town was captured by the Americans. Five years later a plain, cubical, 
brick block was erected on the same site for the use of the Legislature, 
but this was accidentally destroyed by fire in 1824. The third jail, after 
being superseded, was occupied by a safe manufacturing company for a 
time, later being purchased by the Consumers' Gas Company and new 
buildings erected on the site. Water color. Size 7x8. 

714 FOURTH JAIL, 1865-1917 On the north side of Gerrard street 
east, at Riverdale Park, just east of the Don. It is a massive-looking 
structure of white brick and cut stone, and is (1917) still in use. It was in the 
process of erection in 1858, but partly burned five years later, before being 
completed, and was not occupied as a jail until 1865. Water color. 
Size 6x7. 

715 FIRST SPADINA HOUSE, RUSSELL HILL, YORK (TORONTO), 

1830-37 Built in 1830 by the late Dr. William Warren Baldwin, surgeon-in- 
chief of the military forces in 1812. The property originally belonged to 
Hon. Peter Russell, Administrator of Upper Canada on Simcoe's return to 
England. On his death it came into possession of his sister. The estate 
finally became Dr. Baldwin's, through his wife and her sister, cousins of 
Miss Russell. Soon after falling heir to the estate, Dr. Baldwin laid out 
Spadina on a large scale, and on the hill, nearly three miles from the 
lake, he built his new home. The house was destroyed by fire in 1837 and 
rebuilt the following year. "Spadina" is an Indian word, signifying "A 
view from the hill." Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 6x7. See 720. 

716 RED LION HOTEL, YORK (TORONTO) A view of the bar- 
room. Water color. Size 4x7. See 709, 710, 718. 

717 BALDWIN RESIDENCE, TORONTO, 1838 Finding it incon- 
venient at certain seasons of the year to reside at "Spadina," Dr. William 
Warren Baldwin erected as a town house a substantial brick mansion at 
the norith-east corner of Front and Bay streets, on the site of the pic- 
turesque old cottage occupied by Major Hillier. Hon. Robert Baldwin also 
occupied the paternal residence, and later the dwelling became in turn 
Ellah's Hotel, a military hospital, and the offices of the Toronto, Grey, 
Bruce and Nipissing R.R. It was demolished about 1884. A large ware- 
house stood on the site until the great fire, of 1904, when it was destroyed, 
and up to 1917 has not been rebuilt. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 
6x8. See 662. 

718 RED LION HOTEL, YORK (TORONTO) Ballroom and public 
room The great, old-fashioned assembly-room was a favorite social 
rendezvous for the young people of the day. It was in this room that 
William Lyon Mackenzie was presented with a cable chain and medal of 
gold, Jan. 2nd, 1832, by his admirers, in approbation of his political career. 
Water color. Size 5x7. See 709-10-16. 

719 SHOP OF PAUL BISHOP, TORONTO It was a large frame 
building, a little distance back from the street, and fronting southward on 
Duke, at the north-east corner of Duke and Caroline (Sherbourne) streets. 
Here Bishop plied his trade as a blacksmith for many years. When T. D. 
Harris came into possession of the property he enlarged and remodelled 
the shop, moving it to the street line and dividing it into two two-storey 
dwellings. Water color by D. M. G. Whyte. Size 6x8. 



116 

720 SECOND SPADINA HOUSE, RUSSELL HILL, TORONTO, 
1838-66 Subsequent to the death of Dr. William Warren Baldwin, "Spa- 
dina" passed into the hands of his sons, Hon. Robert Baldwin and Captain 
Augustus Baldwin. The former died there in 1858. It is somewhat of a 
coincidence that Dr. Baldwin wished to establish a family in Canada 
whose head was to be maintained by the proceeds of an entailed estate, and 
his son, Hon. Robert Baldwin, carried through the Legislature of Canada 
the abolition of the rights of primogeniture. In 1866 the property was pur- 
chased by the late James Austin, president of the Dominion Bank and of 
the Consumers' Gas Company. Water color. Size 5x7. See 715. 

721 GEORGE RIDOUT'S RESIDENCE, 1820 North-west corner of 
Dorset and Wellington streets, York, (Toronto) The house, in its day 
considered a very stately mansion, was built by Mr. Ridout in the centre 
of a large block of beautifully wooded land. On Mr. Ridout's disposing of 
the property, it became the home of Bishop Stewart, second bishop of 
Quebec. Later Capt. Philpotts, R.B., Judge Jones, Dr. Boys, Bursar ef 
King's College, and Samuel Sherwood, City Registrar, lived there. The 
mansion eventually became a lodging house, and in 1887 was demolished. 
The C.P.R. freight yards now occupy the site. Water color. Size 5x7. 

722 HOLLAND HOUSE, TORONTO South side of Wellington street 
west, now (1917) No. 63. Built in 1831 by the Hon. Henry John Boulton, 
and named after Holland House, Kensington, London, Eng., where the 
Hon. Mr. Boulton was born. The Toronto mansion was a large, turreted, 
castle-like building, stuccoed and lined in imitation of brownstone. Mr. 
Boulton was from 1831-2 Solicitor-General for U.C., and in 1833 was ap- 
pointed Chief Justice of Newfoundland. On his departure from Toronto, 
Holland House became the residence of Mr. Truscott, the first private 
banker of Toronto, and afterwards of the Elmsley and Sherwood families. 
It was then sold by the Boultons to Alexander Manning, ana subsequently 
became the quarters of the Reform Club. In 1904 it was demolished. 
When the Earl and Countess Dufferin were in Toronto in 1872 they stayed 
at Holland House. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 5x7. See 704. 

723 RESIDENCE OF JAMES AUSTIN, TORONTO When the late 
Mr. James Austin took possession of "Spadina" in 1866 the property in- 
cluded eighty acres of land, used chiefly for farming. The house was 
almost entirely demolished and rebuilt on the old foundations. In the 
eighties Mr. Austin disposed of the western half of "Spadina," his son, A. 
W. Austin, and daughter, Mrs. G. A. Arthurs, inheriting the remainder. Sir 
John Eaton now (1917) occupies a new residence on the site of Mrs. 
Arthurs' home, while to the west of the Austin house, enlarged and occu- 
pied by Mr. A. W. Austin, is "Casa Loma," residence of Sir Henry Pellatt. 
The view gives the homestead during the lifetime of Mr. James Austin. 
Photograph, colored. Size 5x7. 

724 HOME OF WILLIAM SMITH, JR., ON THE DON Queen street 
east, near the Don Bridge, Toronto. William Smith, Jr., acquired the 
western portion of his father's lot at the north-east corner of Duke (King) 
and Caroline (Sherbourne) streets, and built a frame addition to his 
father's house. After the latter's death in 1819, the son occupied the pro- 
perty until 1832. In the meantime George Playter had erected a dwelling 
near the Don, and this was purchased by William Smith, Jr., who moved 
it across the road to land bought from John Scadding. An addition was 
made to the house for the accommodation of employes of a tannery erected 
by Mr. Smith, and when he decided to remove from King street, another 
addition was made on the east side. John Smith came into possession of 
the property on his father's death. Water color. Size 6x7. 






117 

725 "CATHEDRAL OF METHODISM" IN UPPER CANADA South 
side Richmond street, between Yonge and Bay, Toronto The corner-stone 
of Richmond Street Methodist Church was laid 20th August, 1844, and the 
dedication took place 29th June, 1845. It was a plain structure, the unique 
portico with four pillars being its only external ornamentation. In 1888 
the building was dismantled, and since 1890 has been occupied with addi- 
tions by the Methodist Book Room. The site is now (1917) Nos. 29-33 
Richmond street west. This old place of worship was succeeded by "New 
Richmond," or "McCaul Street Church." Water color. Size 6x7. 

726 TATTLE HOMESTEAD, % TORONTO South side of St. Clair 
avenue, opposite Forest Hill road? Mr. George Tattle, in 1839, bought a 
ten-acre lot on the south side of St. Clair avenue from a Mr. Burns, at that 
time a market gardener on the south-east corner of Bloor street and Spa- 
dina road. The property, on part of which the Tattle homestead was built, 
extended from Avenue road on the east, to Poplar Plains road on the west. 
In 1880 Mrs. Tattle, who survived her husband quite a number of years, 
sold the property to Joseph Francis, a son-in-law, who in 1907 laid it out 
in building lots, and on it now stand the homes of some of Toronto's most 
prominent citizens. Water color by J. T. Rolph. Size 7 x 14. 

727 HOMESTEAD OF WILLIAM WARD, 1871 Rear view from 
Island Park William Ward was the second son of David Ward, Sr., a 
pitmeer settler on Toronto Island. The homestead in picture was built in 
1870 and demolished about 1885. In the latter year William Ward bought 
the frame building of the Parkdale Canoe Club at Parkdale, removed it to 
the Island, and re-erected it on the site of his old home. It is now (1917) 
a restaurant. Mr. Ward died in Toronto, 1912. Water color. Size 7x12. 

728 TORONTO, C.W., 1851 View of west end of city from the light- 
house on the peninsula (now Toronto Island). Water color by Wm. Arm- 
strong, Toronto. Size 13 x 26. 

729 THOMAS BRYAN'S LOCKSMITH SHOP, TORONTO, 1881 
Froni- view Colborne street, head of Scott street; built about 1859. A 
unique sign over the doorway told the passers-by that all business received 
attention on "the shortest notice." Water color by George Barker. Size 
7x9. See 730. 

730 THOMAS BRYAN'S LOCKSMITH SHOP, TORONTO Rear 

view, 1881. Water color by George Barker. Size 6x9. See 729. 

731 TORONTO (CENTRE) ISLAND, 1880 View of Long Pond and 
the first bridge erected crossing it, just west of John Hanlan's boathouse. 
The eastern part of the Island is shown, and behind it is the city, seen 
above the bridge at the left side of the picture. The bridge was a wooden 
one, built by the city, to replace a crossing of planks, used to provide a 
passage over the marsh at the east end of Long Pond before the place 
was dredged deep. It was in turn replaced by the present Hallam's Bridge 
in 1893. To the right of the picture is a two-storey house with a flat roof, 
built about 1879, and at one time owned by Patrick Gray, who lived at 
Hanlan's Point, and also had an hotel there. The house was torn down 
about 1894, and on its site the city built a house for the superintendent of 
Island Park. The small white cottage to the right of the Gray house was 
a fowl house for the swans at the pond in Island Park. Water color by 
J. T. Rolph, Toronto. Size 7 x 10. 

732 HEAD OF ST. GEORGE STREET, TORONTO, 1890 West side, 
between Davenport road and Bernard avenue. To the left may be seen 
the tower of the Church of the Messiah, built in 1890. The buildings with 
the gables were on Davenport road. Water color by J. T. Rolph, Toronto. 
Size 11 x 14. 



118 

733 TORONTO ISLAND, 1866 Showing schooner "Sophia" at 
Gray's Wharf. Gray's, afterwards Heber's, Wharf, was situated in Block- 
house Bay, Toronto Island, where the schooner "Sophia," of which James 
Kidd was master in the fifties, was dismantled in 1864. Immediately to 
the south of the wharf, which has not been in existence for several years, 
is situated (1917) the City Park Department boathouge. Water color by 
Wm. Armstrong. Size 11 x 16. 

734 COLLISION OF THE OLD TORONTO STEAMER "PEERLESS" 
WITH THE "STAR OF THE SOUTH" In 1852 the "Peerless" was built 
on the Clyde, and launched 6th Jan., 1853. In the following June she com- 
menced daily trips to Niagara and return. She left Toronto on 10th May, 
1861, under Capt. Robert Kerr, having been purchased by J. T. Wright, of 
New York. Eventually she became a transport vessel in me Civil War, 
one of the Burnside expedition; was on 2nd Nov., 1861, while laden with 
cattle, caught in a gale off Hatteras, and the "Star of the South," in com- 
ing to her aid, ran too close, and collided, resulting in the wreck of the 
"Peerless." Water color from a sketch by an artist of Frank Leslie's 
Weekly, N.Y., on board "Star of the South." Size 6 x 12. 

735 YACHTING ON LAKE ONTARIO, isso -showing the "Arrow" 

and "Gorilla," of the R.C.Y.C. fleet. The "Arrow" was a contestant in the 
famous regatta of 1860 in honor of the visit to Toronto of the late King 
Edward VII., then Prince of Wales. During his visit H.R.H. presented the 
R.C.Y.C. with a handsome champion cup, which is still styled the Prince 
of Wales' Cup, and sailed for annually. In 1865 the "Arrow" won the cup, 
her owner at that time being G. H. Wyatt, of Toronto. She was later 
owned by the late Judge Hamilton, of Kingston. The "Gorilla" was winner 
of the Prince of Wales' Cup in 1862-3-4, R. W. Standley being her owner in 
those years, and in 1872 she again appears as winner under the ownership 
of Capt. Gifford, of Cobourg. She was originally the American yacht 
"George Steers," designed by and named after the designer of the famous 
schooner "America," and for several years was one of the fastest yachts 
on Lake Ontario. Water color by Wm. Armstrong, C.E., Toronto. 
Size 10 x 14. 

736 WINTER SCENE ON TORONTO BAY, 1869 Showing wreck of 
old "Provincial," formerly a freight steamer. She was sold to the. R.C.Y.C. 
in 1860, fitted up as a clubhouse, and moored on the bay shore near the 
foot of Simcoe street. In the winter of 1869 she broke away from her 
moorings jind was frozen in the bay, becoming a wreck, which was blown 
up by order of the Corporation. Water color by Wm. Armstrong, C.E., 
Toronto. Size 9 x 13. 

737 YORK (TORONTO), 1823 Showing Palace (now Front street 
east) from the corner of Front and East Market Square, down to the old 
blockhouse that stood near the jail at the foot of Palace street. Water 
color copy, by E. Wyly Grier, of a sketch by an army officer of H.M. forces, 
stationed in York. Size 4 x 10. 



, ( TORONT ) HARBOR, 1793-North side of the bay, 
Mr" S^mcoe SteN ^^ C0l r ' * 7 E ' Wyly rler> fr m & drawing by 



a T BRIDGE AND HOUSE ON THE DON RIVER, 

YURK, 1794 John Scadding, Sr., the manager of Wolford, the Simcoe 
estate near Honiton, Devon, emigrated to Canada in 1792, his home or 
farm being just east of the Don River, near the Queen street crossing, 
' ' mC e ' in her diary ' writes of tnis nouse bein S burned in 






119 

740 GARRISON (OLD FORT), TORONTO, 1 845-50 From a picture 
by J. Passmore; lithographed by Hugh Scobie. Water color by B. Wyly 
Grier, Toronto. Size 6 x 14. 

741 FIRST ROYAL CANADIAN YACHT CLUB HOUSE, TORONTO 
ISLAND Showing outbuildings on edge of pond. This club house was 
built in 1880, burned in 1904, and the present institution erected a year 
later. Water color by J. T. Rolph, Toronto. Size 10 x 13. See 533. 

742 LIGHTHOUSE AND THE LAKESIDE HOME FOR LITTLE 
CHILDREN, TORONTO ISLAND, 1892 The Lighthouse, erected on Light- 
house Point, 1809, is the first and only example of a stone and mortar 
structure, that remains intact, of pioneer labor in York. Queenston and 
Kingston stone were the materials used. The Lakeside Home for 
Little Children, the summer sanitarium of the Hospital for Sick Chil- 
dren. Toronto, was founded in 1882, by J. Ross Robertson, and in July of 
that year the first detachment of convalescents from the mother hospital 
(then on Elizabeth street) was sent over. In 1891 a new up-to-date 
home was erected by Mr. Robertson, and on the 5th September formally 
transferred to the trustees of the Hospital for Sick Children. Since that 
time thousands of Ontario's little ones have been placed on the road to 
health by their summer stay at the Lakeside Home. The main building was 
destroyed by fire, April 22nd, 1915, and later rebuilt. Water color by J. T. 
Rolph, Toronto. Size 9 x 11. 

743 REAR VIEW OF THE RIDOUT HOMESTEAD, YORK (TO- 
RONTO) South side of Duchess street, between Ontario and Caroline 
(Sherbourne) streets, 1804-58. Mr. Thomas Ridout, who came to this 
country about 1788, was in 1810 appointed Surveyor-General of Upper 
Canada. Water color copy by E. Wyly Grier, Toronto, from original, by 
Gen. A. R. V. Crease, R.E. Size 14 x 18. See 747. 

744 EASTWOOD HOUSE, TORONTO A stone dwelling, built by 
John Eastwood, opposite the present (1917) Todmorden Hotel, on the old 
Mill road leading to the Don Paper Mills, and now known as Broadview 
avenue. After the death of Parshall Terry, in 1808, his grist mills came 
into possession of Colin Skinner and John Eastwood, brother-in-law of the 
Helliwells, and in 1825, in addition to the grist mills erected by Terry, 
Skinner and Eastwood started a paper mill, the only one in Upper Canada, 
with the exception of that of Matthew Crooks at Flamboro'. It was 
Mr. Eastwood who gave the English name of Todmorden to the village 
overlooking the mills. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 12 x 14. 

745 "CITY OF TORONTO From the Northern Railway Eleva-tor." 
Lithographed by Alexander Craig, Toronto. The key which accompanies 
the picture gives some of the main points in 1873. Lithograph. Size 13, 
x28. 

746 TAYLOR PAPER MILL ON DON RIVER, TORONTO The mill, 
primarily a grist mill, built in 1794, is just below Todmorden, on lot 13, 
township of East York. It was operated by Mr. Timothy Skinner for some 
years, and then Mr. Colin Skinner, who took Mr. John Eastwood into part- 
nership; they used the building as a paper mill. It is said that the 
first paper in Upper Canada was made in this mill in 1826. The Flamboro' 
mill also claimed the prize offered by the Provincial Government, and the 
claim was compromised by a division of the money. In 1847 the property 
passed into the hands of the Taylor Bros. During their time it was twice 
destroyed by fire, and once during the ownership of the present owner, 
Mr. Robert Davies. The walls, which were of stone, stood, however, and 
a new roof and floors made the building as it was first built. Water color, 
by Owen Staples, Toronto. Size 18 x 22. 



120 

747 RIDOUT HOMESTEAD AND GROUNDS, YORK (TORONTO), 

1804-58 Fronting on the north side of Duke street, a little east of the head 
of Princess (Princes street). On the right of the property was the old 
Indian burial ground, on the bank of the stream running through the valley 
from Moss Park. Water color copy by E. Wyly Grier, Toronto, from 
original by Gen. A. R. V. Crease, R.B. Size 13 x 18. See 743. 

74g THIRD DON BRIDGE, TORONTO Erected 1851, and covered in 

twenty years later. In 1878 it was swept away, and in October of the same 
year an iron bridge constructed, which was partially rebuilt and strength- 
ened in 1893. In 1910 this bridge was removed about sixty feet south, and 
a new one erected on its site. Water color by R. Baigent. Size 10 x 14. 

749_BROWNE, JOHN OLDSWORTH, F.S.A. Civil Engineer and 
Deputy Provincial Surveyor, was born in Norwich, England, 1808, and 
came to Toronto in 1849. Was engaged in pioneer railway work in this 
country. In 1852 he published a fine map of the township of York, and 
did a large amount of survey work in and for the City of Toronto. In 1850 
he delivered a lecture on railways in the old Mechanics' Institute, Court 
street, exhibiting a complete miniature locomotive made by Parks & 
Brothers, iron founders. Mr. Browne was one of the best-known surveyors 
in Canada West. He died in Toronto, 7th April, 1881. Photograph, colored. 
Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

750-6 City Clerks of Toronto, 1834-1917. 

750 PRICE (HON.) JAMES HERVEY City Clerk, 1834 In 1828 he 
came to Canada from England, first settling in Dundas, U.C., but subse- 
quently removing to Toronto, where he entered into a law partnership 
with John Roaf. In 1834 he acted as City Clerk, and in 1841 was elected 
by the Reformers to represent York in the United Parliament of Canada, 
being returned three times. Appointed, 1848, a member of the Executive 
Council of the Province of Canada, and also Commissioner of Crown 
Lands. Later he returned to England, where he died in 1882, at Shirley, 
Southampton. He was born in Wiltshire In 1799. Photograph, colored. 
Size %y 2 x 4. Head and shoulders. See 286. 

751 DALY, CHARLES City Clerk, 1835-64 Born in Ireland in 1808, 
and received his education in Belgium and France. For a time he was 
engaged in library work at the Athenaeum, London. Came to Canada 
early in life. In 1835 he became City Clerk of Toronto, holding that posi- 
tion until his death in 1864. Silhouette. Size 3% x 4. 

7*52 CARR, JOHN City Clerk, 1865-71. Photograph, colored. Size 
3 Ms x 4. Head and shoulders. See 378, 591, 3513. 

753 RADCLIFFE, STEPHEN City Clerk, 1871-6 He was born in 
the township of Adelaide, Middlesex County, Ont., in 1837, and was the 
son of Colonel Hon. Thomas Radcliffe, of the 27th Inniskillen Regi- 
ment. Subsequently came to Toronto, and cheered die ser/ice of the 
Corporation in 1851. In 1871 received the appointment of City Clerk, 
which office he held until his death in 1876. Photograph, colored. Size 
3% x 4. Head and shoulders. 

754 RODDY, ROBERT City Clerk, 1876-84 Entered the service of 
the City of Toronto in 1852, and for two years prior to his appointment as 
City Clerk acted as Assistant Clerk. He was born in Toronto in 1837, and 
was a son of Charles Roddy, of Clones, Monaghan, Ireland. He died in 
the city of his birth in 1885. Photograph, colored. Size 3^x4. Head and 
shoulders. 



121 

755 B LEVINS, JOHN City Clerk, 1885-1900 The fifth City Clerk 
was a barrister, having been called to the bar in 1854. Twenty years later 
he was elected to represent St. David's Ward, continuing to do so until 
1884. He was born in 1822, and died in Toronto, January 9th, 1900. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3% x 4. Head and shoulders. 

756 LITTLEJOHN, WILLIAM A. City Clerk, 190'0-17 The son of 
John Wilson Littlejohn, born in Plymouth, North Carolina/ U.S.A., his 
ancestors having immigrated to Carolina from Inverness, Scotland, in the 
eighteenth century. Came to Canada when nine years of age, and for a 
time lived at Oil Springs, near Sarnia, removing in 1869 to Toronto. Here 
he received his education in the Public schools and at Upper Canada Col- 
lege. In 1874 he entered the service of the Corporation of Toronto and has 
been connected with it ever since. Photograph, colored. Size 3% x 4. 
Head and shoulders. 

757-9 Registry Offices, County of York, 1829-1917. 

757 REGISTRY OFFICE, COUNTY OF YORK, 1829-50 In 1796 a regis- 
try office was established for the Home District there was no County of 
York at the time and Mr. Thomas Ridout appointed first registrar. Dur- 
ing his term of office and that of his immediate successors the records 
were kept in private dwellings. Later Samuel Ridout, too, conducted affairs 
of the registry office in private houses for a time, but in 1829 built at his 
own expense a small brick building at 18 Newgate street, north side, now 
(1917) No. 102 Adelaide street east. A law was passed in 1849 that the 
registry office should no longer be kept in a private residence, but must be 
maintained in a public building, and at the same time the office was estab- 
lished as the county registry. The cottage in rear of the Newgate street 
building was that of Henry Mulholland, caretaker. Water color by John 
W. Cotton. Size 5x6. 

758 REGISTRY OFFICE, COUNTY OF YORK, 1850-75 In accord- 
ance with the Act of 1849, the county built this one-storey, stone, fireproof 
building next and north of the present (1917) office of the Gas Company, 
on the east side of Toronto street, just north of Court street. The county 
and city registrarships were divided in 1859, when the office of the latter 
was removed to the Royal Insurance building, southeast corner Wellington 
and Yonge streets. Water color by John W. Cotton. Size 5x6. 

759 REGISTRY OFFICE, COUNTY OF YORK, 1875-1917 A brick 
building erected at the northeast corner of Richmond and Clare (Berti) 
streets. The first registrar in this building was John Ridout, his term of 
office extending from 1855-94. His successors have been J. T. Gilmour, 
1894-6; James Massie, 1896-1904, and W. J. Hill, 1904 to date. Water color. 
Size 5x6. 

760 CANADIAN (ROYAL) INSTITUTE, TORONTO North-west cor- 
ner of Richmond and Berti (Clare) streets. In 1849 a number of gentle- 
men, chiefly architects, land surveyors and civil engineers, met in the 
office of Kivas Tully to consider the advisability of forming an organiza- 
tion which would unite the three professions throughout the country. In 
1850 a constitution was adopted, Mr. (Sir) Sandford Fleming and Mr. E. R. 
Passmore being the leading organizing spirits. From 1864-76 the Cana- 
dian Institute so formed met in the building shown in the picture. It was 
built in 1850 by George Bilton, and first occupied by Dr. Primrose, who 
was followed by Thos. Haworth, hardware merchant. In 1876 it was torn 
down and a brick building erected, which was used by the institute until 
1905. When the latter removed to its present (1917) home, 198 College 
street, in order to make its valuable library more accessible to the Univer- 
sity professors and students, the old property was sold to the Sons of 
England. On April 2nd, 1914, the institute had its title formally changed 
to "Royal Canadian Institute." Water color. Size 4x7. 



122 

761 "ZION CHAPEL, ADELAIDE ST., TORONTO Wm., Thomas 
architect. Printed in colours by Maclear & Co., King St., Toronto." Zion 
Congregational church (second) stood on the north-east corner of Bay and 
Adelaide streets, on the same site as the first church, burned in February, 
1855; was dedicated 26th September, 1856. It had a spire (its predecessor 
having had a tower) which was blown down about two o'clock on the after- 
noon of the 12th April, 1865, in a terrific wind storm that swept Toronto. 
The spire was not rebuilt, but replaced by the lower portion being made 
into a square tower. The last service in the old church was held 3rd 
Dec., 1882, and the following March the congregation moved to College 
street, near Elizabeth. The Bay street building was used by a lithograph- 
ing company, and as a theatre, until 1884. It was then demolished. The 
site is now (1917) an office building. Lithograph in color. Size 11 x 15. 
See 797, 1146. 

762 RESIDENCE OF T. D. HARRIS, TORONTO When Duke street - 
was fashionable In 1832, Mr. J. S. Howard, at that time postmaster of 
York (Toronto), built, as a residence for himself, a large three-storey red 
brick building on the north side of Duke street, No. 28, just east of George 
street. For a time part of the building was used as a post office. Mr. 
Howard vacated about 1838, and Mr. M. Davidson Murray lived there until 
1845. Later, Mr. T. D. Harris occupied the residence, which was one of 
the best equipped of early Toronto homes. Mr. Harris was prominent in 
civic matters. He was chief engineer of the fire brigade, 1838-41; carried 
on the leading hardware business in Toronto, and from 1870-2, after his ' 
retirement, filled the position of harbor master. His death took place in 
January, 1873. The old residence is still standing (1917) as No. 42 Duke 
street, a part of De La Salle Institute. Water color. Size 4x5. 

763 BARRETT'S HOTEL, NEWTON BROOK, 1790 On the south-east 
corner of lot 30, west side of Yonge street, near Thornhill. 'In the early 
part of 1811 Royal Arch Lodge No. 16 and its chapter removed from York 
to "Yonge street," selecting. as a meeting place the home of Bro. Alfred 
Barrett, which was used as a tavern and frequented by farmers on their 
way to and from the town. It is not improbable that the anticipated 
trouble with the United States had something to do with the removal of 
the lodge from York; also a large proportion of the brethren lived on 
Yonge street. The old tavern was altered and improved in 1840, and until 
1856 the lodge room was in existence. Now (1917) the site is vacant. 
Water color by John W. Cotton. Size 4x7. See 764. 

764 BARRETT'S HOTEL, NEWTONBROOK, 1790 Interior of the 
lodge room of Royal Arch Lodge, No. 16. The room was in existence as 
late as 1856. The benches still remained around the room, as did the 
raised platforms at the stations of the Worshipful Master, Senior Warden 
and Junior Warden. Water color by John W. Cotton. Size 4x6. See 763. 

765 OLD HOUSE ON CROOKSHANK'S FARM, TORONTO Mr. 

Arthur Coffin lived in the cottage for over sixty years. It was built about 
1820 on the west side of Crookshank's lane, now Bathurst street, at what 
would now be the south-west corner of Bathurst and Herrick streets. The 
Hon. George Crookshank (Cruickshank) owned property extending 
from Queen street to the north of Davenport road, which remained in his 
possession until 1851. Drawing in water color by J. O. Fowler, 1871. Size 
6x8. 

766 BAIN HOMESTEAD, SHERBOURNE ST., TORONTO View in 
1870 This pretty roughcast residence was built in 1851 by the late James 
Bain, bookseller, who died in 1908. It stood on the east side of Sherbourne 
street on a plot of ground between the n.e. and s.e. corners of Sherbourne 
street and the present Wilton avenue. Beech street (Wilton avenue) was 
extended from Seaton to Sherbourne, according to a plan dated 1857, and 
filed in the registry office. The property for this extension had been pur- 



123 

chased, one parcel from James Bain on 13th Oct., 1855, and the rest from 
James Humphrey on 23rd Nov. of the same year. The Bain residence 
was moved about 50 feet to the n.e. corner of Beech and Sherbourne, and 
was occupied by Mr. Bain until 1900, when he moved to Kew Beach. In 
1878 a by-law was passed changing Crookshank street, which ran from 
Yonge to George streets, and Beech street, running east from Sherbourne, 
to Wilton avenue. Wilton crescent, which connected Crookshank and 
Beech streets, was always known by that name. Mr. Bain sold the re- 
mainder of his property in 1906. Three years later the house was demol- 
ished and an apartment house erected on the site. During Mr. Bain's resi- 
dence in the old house the garden at the south side was much admired, 
for he was a master florist and an expert in horticulture. Water color. 
Size 6x8. 

767 NORTH-WEST CORNER YONGE AND COLLEGE STS., TO- 
RONTO, 1864 The old gates and caretaker's lodge Under the lease in 
1859, between the trustees of the University and the Corporation of To- 
ronto, College street and University avenue were* protected by gates to 
prevent these streets from being used as public thoroughfares. With the 
agreement of 2nd March, 1889, however, the gates were removed and the 
two main approaches to Queen's Park dedicated to the city as public 
streets. Although not stipulated in the agreement, it is understood that 
the reserved rights of the University apply on both sides of University 
avenue, from Queen to Bloor streets, and on both sides of College street, 
from Yonge street to a point a short distance east of Beverley street. In 
the foreground , of the picture is seen the street railway track on Yonge 
street, constructed in 1861. The rails on College street were put down in 
1869. Water color. Size 5x6. 

768 HOOPER, EDWARD, 1808-1900 Proprietor of the oldest drug 

store in Toronto Born in London, Eng., came to Canada in 1832, settling 
first in Kingston and then in Toronto, where he began his business career 
with Mr. Joseph Beckett, druggist, south side King street, Just east of 
Jordan. When Mr. Beckett retired the firm name was changed to E. 
Hooper & Co. Mr. Hooper was on the Board of the Canada Permanent 
Society for years, and was one of the first members of the Board of the 
Confederation Life, and its vice-president until his death. Photograph, 
colored. Size 4x5. Head >and shoulders. 

769 HOOPER, MRS. EDWARD She was a resident of Kingston and 
then of Toronto, where in 1836 she married (as Mrs. Binley) Edward 
Hooper, of the firm of J. G. Beckett & Co., druggists. Mrs. Hooper died in 
Toronto, 1893. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

770 STEGMANN, JOHN Born in Germany, 1754, and came to 
America in 1776 with the Hanoverian troops. About 1800 he removed to 
York; commenced a survey of the town and township of York. He lost 
his life in the wreck of the schooner "Speedy," which went down off 
Presqu' Isle in October, 1804. The late John Stegmann, an official in the 
Courts of Assize, Toronto, was a grandson. Water color. Size 4x5. Head 
and shoulders. 

771 GRANGER, FRANCIS HINCKS, 1829-1906 A well-known scenic 
artist in Toronto. He was born in Toronto, where for several years he 
was scenic artist at the Royal Lyceum Theatre, King street. He made an 
excellent water color of the city's water front, 1849-50, which has been 
reproduced in oils and presented to the Corporation of Toronto. During 
his residence in Niagara, from 1856, Granger did many pictures of the old 
town and surrounding district. Unfortunately, however, most of these 
were destroyed after his death, which took place at Niagara in 1906. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 



124 

772 VETERANS OF 1812 On the lawn of Sheriff Wm. Bots- 

ford Jarvis' house in Rosedale, Oct. 23rd, 1861. The occasion was the 
distribution of prizes of the Fifth Militia District Rifle Association, by 
Gen Williams, "Hero of Kars." Reading from left to right, the group con- 
sists of: Col. George Duggan, who at one time conducted a general store, 
corner King and George streets. Served in the militia; member of the 
first City Council. Died in Toronto, 1863. Rev. George Ryerson, lieutenant 
in First Norfolk Regiment. Captured at Detroit under Brock; later joined 
Incorporated Militia of U.C. as lieutenant; present at Stoney Creek, 
Beaver Dams, Lundy's Lane, and attack on Fort Erie. Also served in 
Rebellion of 1837. Died in 1882. Wm. Roe, a Toronto confectioner. Saved 
from capture a considerable portion of the public funds on taking of York 
by Americans, 1813, being at the time an employe in the Receiver-General's 
office. Jacob Snyder. Born in New Brunswick, 1790. With Brock at De- 
troit. Prominent in pressing into service teams of horses for conveying 
stores, ammunition and troops to Holland Landing and other points where 
it was feared Americans might attempt to land. Died 1879. Rev. Jas. 
Richardson. Born in Kingston, 1791. Master of warship in attack on 
Oswego. Afterwards became a bishop of the M.B. Church. Died 1875. 
Joseph Dennis, son of a U.E. Loyalist; owned and commanded a vessel on 
Lake Ontario in 1812. At the outbreak of the war his ship was attached 
to the Provincial marine, and subsequently captured by the enemy. Dennis 
was made a prisoner of war and held for fifteen months. Wm. J. Woodall 
came from England in 1807, settled in Kingston in 1825, and later in York. 
In Irish Dragoons for a number of years; was at Queenston Heights and 
served in Rebellion of 1837. Died in 1862. James Ross. Taken prisoner 
at capture of York, 1813. Afterwards settled in York Township. Removed 
to Toronto in 1858, and died at Newmarket ten years later. Col. Bridge- 
ford, of Richmond Hill, came to Canada as a child. Colonel of the sedent- 
ary militia and captain in 3rd Incorporated Militia. Served at Lundy's 
Lane, Chippawa, Fort Erie, Detroit and Little York. Took part in Rebel- 
lion of 1837, and was made prisoner by Wm. Lyon Mackenzie. George 
Ridout was born in 1791; second son of Hon. Thos. Ridout. At Queenston 
Heights. Taken prisoner at capitulation of York, 1813. Died at Clinton, 
1871. Tempera painting by Owen Staples from small photograph. Size 12 x 24. 

773 LAST MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL (TORONTO) IN 
THE OLD CITY HALL The former municipal building was on Front 
street, opposite the St. Lawrence Market. The last meeting in it was held 
on July 10th, 1899 Mayor John Shaw in the chair. With key. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 13 x 20. 

774-81 High Constables and Chief Constables of Toronto, 1834-1917. 

774 HIGGINS, WILLIAM High Constable, 1834 Born in the north 
of Ireland, 1794, came to Canada at an early age. He was high constable 
of the town of York from about 1825, and of Toronto in 1834. Subsequently 
he acted as high constable for the County of York for many years. His 
death took place 24th Sept., 1871, at his home, Kingston road, near Toronto. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

775 KINGSMILL, GEORGE High Constable, 1835 and 1837-46 Emi- 
grated to Canada about 1830, from his birthplace, Queen's Co., Ireland. 
For a number of years he was connected with the old Crown Lands De- 
partment of Upper Canada, but subsequently carried on an extensive pro- 
vision business, supplying many of the principal sailing vessels and 
steamers trading at Toronto. Appointed high constable in 1835, being suc- 
ceeded in that office by James Stitt. On the latter's resignation Kingsmill 
was again appointed, holding the position from 1837-46. Retired from busi- 
ffess in 1847. Was born in 1808, and died at Gait, Ont, 1852. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 



125 

776 STITT, JAMES High Constable, 1836 He was born in Ireland, 
1804, emigrated to Canada about 1830, and was engaged for some years in 
general business. Subsequent to his retirement as high constable he went 
into the cartage business. About 1850 he was appointed locker in her 
Majesty's Customs at Toronto, and held office until 1874. He died 23rd 
November, 1891, and was buried in the Toronto Necropolis. Later his 
remains were removed to Mount Pleasant Cemetery. Photograph, colored. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

777 ALLEN, GEORGE LITTLETON High Constable, 1847-52 Born 
in Sligo, Ireland, 1811, son of Wm. Allen, for forty years recorder of the 
city of Sligo. His mother was Anne Cartwright, daughter of Col. W. Cart- 
wright. His father's mother was Anne French, sister of John French, of 
Rosscommon, Ireland, grandfather of General Sir John French, com- 
mander of the British Forces in France, 1915-16, through whom he was 
also related to Edmund Burke, the Irish orator. He arrived in New York, 
aged fifteen, and was employed for a time in a wholesale house in Fulton 
street. Later came to Toronto. On his retirement as high constable he 
became governor of the jail, retaining the position until 1872. His death 
took place in 1882. Mr. Allen's son, Thomas, was for some years in the 
office of Sir John A. Macdonald in Ottawa. Water color. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

778 SHERWOOD, SAMUEL Chief Constable, 1852-8 He was a son of 
Judge Livius Peters Sherwood, who in 1841 was elected Speaker of the Legis- 
lative Council; born in Brockville, U.C., 1819; died in 1867. He married a 
daughter of Capt. Hugh Richardson, who in 1850-69 was harbor master of 
Toronto. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

779 PRINCE, CAPT. WM. STRATTON Chief Constable, 1859-73 He 
was a son of John (Col.) Prince, barrister, of Cheltenham, Eng., who emi- 
grated with his family to Canada in 1833 and settled on the Park Farm, 
near Sandwich. William Stratton Prince joined the army in 1837 and 
went to England, where he received a commission in the 71st Regiment of 
Light Infantry. He was in the Crimea, invalided home in 1854, returning 
to Canada two years later. After his retirement as chief constable he 
became warden of the Central prison, Toronto, which position he held 
until 1881. He married Charlotte, daughter of Samuel Risley, Govern- 
ment inspector of steamboats on the lakes. Capt. Prince died in Toronto,. 
1881. His father was a member of the Legislature of Upper Canada, and 
also of the United Parliament. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head 
and shoulders. 

780 DRAPER, MAJOR FRANK C. Chief Constable, 1874-86 He 
was educated at Upper Canada College and at Troy, N.Y. He commanded 
the Upper Canada College company, attached to the Queen's Own Rifles, 
of which he was a member. In 1874 Major Draper, who was a barrister by 
profession, succeeded Capt. W. S. Prince as chief constable. During the 
term of the former, "Orders and Regulations of the Toronto Police Force" 
were published and distributed for the information and guidance of the 
members of the force. Owing to ill-health Major Draper resigned. He 
was a son of Chief Justice Draper, born at "The Lawn," a quaint old cot- 
tage at the n.w. corner Wellington and York streets, Toronto. Died 2nd 
July, 1894. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

781 GRASETT, LT.-COL. HENRY JAMES Chief Constable, 1886- 
1916 A son of the late Dean Grasett, Toronto; born here, June 18th, 1847, 
and educated at Leamington College, England. In 1857 entered H.M. 
100th Regiment (Royal Canadians), retiring as lieutenant in 1875. Gazetted 
lieutenant-colonel lOtH Royal Grenadiers, Toronto, 1880, and commanded 
that regiment in the North-west Rebellion of 1885; present at Fish Creek, 



126 

Batoche, and in operations against Chief Big Bear's band. (Despatches; 
medal and clasp). In Fenian Raid, 1866, served with the Queen's Own 
Rifles; at Limeridge. (General service medal with one clasp). In 1886 
he was appointed chief constable. Toronto, which office he still holds. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

782 FIRST RAILWAY SOD TURNED IN CANADA WEST Inaugura- 
tion of Ontario, Simcoe and Huron Railway, Oct. 15th, 1851, at Toronto. 
Water color from an old print. Size 5x7. See 263, 518. 

783 BURIAL OF THE DEAD FROM RIDGEWAY Some of the 
Queen's Own in Fenian Raid, 2nd June, 1866 Corporal Mark Defries, of 
No. 3 Company, and Private Christopher Alderson, of No. 7 Company, were 
buried in St. James' Cemetery, Toronto, 5th June, 1866. The bodies of 
Ensign Malcolm McEachern, No. 5 Company, and Private W. F. Tempest, 
No. 9 Company, were, after the service at St. James', sent to the Necro- 
polis. Rev. H. J. Grasett, assisted by Rev. Alexander Williams, chaplain 
of the forces, officiated. The remains were escorted to the cemetery by 
the Provincial Battalion of Volunteers of the 5th Military District. Col. 
George T. Denison was in command. Gen. Napier and Lieut.-Col. Durie 
were present. The engagement between the Fenians and the Canadians, 
was sharp and severe while it lasted, until finally the latter were forced 
to retire, hotly pursued to the Ridgeway station by the Fenians. In the 
years that have elapsed blame for the mistake in command, which for a 
time caused confusion in the ranks, has never been placed. Water color 
from old print. Size 5x7. 

784 McCLAIN, CAPT. WILLIAM A pioneer of the Great Lakes- 
He was born in County Monaghan, Ireland, 1823, and came to Canada in 
1827. When quite a lad he shipped as cook on the old schooner "Plough- 
boy," Not for long did he stay, however, but went on the "Lord Nelson," 
a "big vessel" for her day. After that he sailed in the "Columbus," of Cleve- 
land, and in 1844 launched out for himself in the "Jane Harper," which 
he bought from John Harper, Toronto. In 1848, Capt. McClain and Capt. 
Archibald Taylor bought the "Clarissa," another of the old-time "topsail 
schooners," and carried stone in her from Cleveland for the building of St 
James' church, Toronto. In the mid-fifties, Capt. McClain took up farming 
in Essa Township, Simcoe County. Shortly afterwards he was appointed 
a magistrate, and in 1857 received a captaincy in the second battalion 
Simcoe Militia, followed by the appointment as major in the ninth Simcoe 
Militia. For many years after his retirement Capt. McClain lived in To- 
ronto, where he was well known in marine circles. Fis death took place 
in winter of 1914. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders 

785 HAMILTON, ALEXANDER First Secretary of the York Pioneer 
Society. Born in County Cavan, Ireland, 1802, coming to 'Canada as an 
infant, with his parents. For many years he conducted a flourishing busi- 
ness as a decorator in Toronto. In 1832 he was on Newgate (Adelaide) 
street, north side, nearly opposite George (Toronto st. was then known as 
George, or Upper George). In 1856 his place of business was on Church 
street, near the corner of Court, and later on King near George. From 
1840-2 he represented St. David's Ward as Councillor. His death took place 
in Toronto, 1883. Water color. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

786 BIRTHPLACE OF PROF. GOLDWIN SMITH No. 15 Friar Street, 
Reading, England The building with the entrance was the residence of Dr. 
Smith father of Prof. Goldwin Smith. It is an old-fashioned, plain, red 
brick dwelling, partly covered with ivy, on one of the principal streets of 
leading. It is commodious and in excellent condition, and is now (1917) 
occupied by the Reading Agency of the Royal Insurance Company of Eng- 
land Mr Smith resided in Toronto from 1871 until his death in 1910. 
Photograph, colored. Size 5x6 



127 

787 UNWIN, CHARLES, O.L.S. Born at Mansfield, Eng., in 1829. 
In 1843 he came to Canada, his uncle, Charles Unwin, being at that time 
a clerk in the Toronto Registry Office. Subsequent to his coming to Can- 
ada, young Unwin attended Upper Canada College for several years, and 
on leaving that institution, went to Weston to learn surveying with Colonel 
John Stoughton Dennis. In 1877 he was appointed attorney for the city 
to settle disputes between the corporation and property owners, with re- 
ference to the boundary between the Marsh, a survey of which he had 
made in 1872, and the broken front lots. From 1872-1905 he held the posi- 
tion of assessor, and city surveyor, 1905-10. He still (1917) resides 
in Toronto. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Three-quarter length, sitting. 
See 3577. 

788 KILLALY, HON. HAMILTON H. Born in Dublin, Ireland, 
January 2nd, 1800, and educated at Trinity College, being a gold medalist 
of that institution. In 1829 he came to Canada, where he pursued his call- 
ing of civil engineer. First lived in London and St. Catharines, Ont.; came 
to Toronto in 1853. From 1841-3 he was a member of the Executive Coun- 
cil and represented London, Ont., in the first Parliament of United Canada. 
Was President of the Board of Public Works, 1841-6, and Assistant Com- 
missioner of Public Works, 1851-8. Engineer Welland Canal and Inspector 
of Railways, 1859. His death took place at Picton. Ont., March 28th, 1874. 
/Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

789 KILLALY, MRS (MARTHA JANE HANDY) Born 8th Nov., 
1808, at Bellbrook House, Abbeylix, Queen's County, Ireland. She subse- 
quently married Hamilton H. Killaly (afterwards Hon. H. H. Killaly) and 
came to Canada with him in 1829. Her death occurred January 9th, 1906. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

790 ROMAIN, CHARLES EDWARD Of Italian descent, the son of 
Pierre Remain, he was born at Point Levis, Que., in 1820. The family 
subsequently removed to Toronto, and young Remain received his educa- 
tion at Upper Canada College. For some time he conducted business at 
Cooksville, Ont., as general merchant and grain dealer, later returning to 
Toronto. He took an active interest in civic affairs, sitting in the Council 
as councillor, and from 1854-5 as alderman. The Remain building, now 
(1916) 83-93 King street west, was erected by him in 1857. Later, on his 
removal to Guelph, he was appointed collector of inland revenue, and after- 
wards inspector. His death occurred in Guelph, Ont., in 1902. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size S 1 ^ x 4. Head and shoulders. 

791 GAMBLE, MRS. JOHN (ISABELLA ELIZABETH CLARKE) 
She was born at Stratford, Conn., 24th Oct., 1767, a daughter of Dr. Joseph 
Clarke, who in 1776 joined the British army in New York, and at the close 
of the Revolutionary War removed to New Brunswick (then a part of 
Acadia). In 1783 Miss Clarke married Dr. John Gamble, who ten years 
later went to Niagara as assistant surgeon in the Queen's Rangers, Mrs. 
Gamble remaining with her father until 1798. In that year she joined her 
husband at York, he having become surgeon of his regiment. When the 
Queen's Rangers were disbanded in 1802, Dr. and Mrs. Gamble went to 
Kingston. She remained there for some years after her husband's death, 
and then came to York (Toronto), where she died, 9th March, 1859. Water 
color, oval. Size 4x5. 

792 CLARKSON, THOMAS, 1798-1872 A pioneer Toronto merchant. 
In 1835 he emigrated to Canada from England, where he was born, near 
Hull, Yorkshire, and settled in Toronto. Here he married Miss Sara Helli- 
well, daughter of Thomas Helliwell, of the Don Mills. Mr. Clarkson was 
engaged in the grain trade and shipping and was at one time a partner 
of Thomas Brunskill. From 1852-8 he was president of the Toronto 
Board of Trade. Mr. E. R. C. Clarkson, of the firm of E. R. C. Clarkson & 
Sons, is a son. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 
11 



128 

793 JOHN STREET, TORONTO, 1852 From north-west and north- 
east corners of Queen street. The water color shows St. George's church, 
built 1845, and "The Grange," at the head of John street, residence of W. 
H Boulton Mayor of Toronto, 1845-6-7 and 1858. Commencing at the lane 
on the east or right of picture is the cottage of William Armstrong, C.E., 
a well-known artist. Then north are the residences of James Browne, 
Bank of Upper Canada; William Stanton, Commissariat Department; the 
third is vacant; then James Nation, Bank of Upper Canada; James Bo veil, 
surgeon; Thos. Metcalfe, bailiff. The house on the north-west corner of 
Queen and John was Lord Nelson Inn, kept by Jane Dill. Water color by 
General A. R. V. Crease, R.E. Size 6 x 11. 

794 QUEEN STREET WEST, TORONTO, 1852 St. Patrick's Market 
was built in 1836-7 on land granted by D'Arcy Boulton of "The Grange." The 
occupants of houses to the west on the north side of Queen street were W. 
H. Bray ley, grocer; Daniel Bell, tailor; W. H. Smith, druggist; Arthur 
Farrall, cabinetmaker; Wm. Siver, shoemaker; Richard Brown (colored), 
shoemaker. The buildings on the south-east corner of Queen and John 
streets were the stables of Beverley House, the residence of Chief Justice 
J. B. Robinson. Water color by General A. R. V. Crease, R.E. Size 6 x 10. 

795 JOHN FARR'S BREWERY, YORK (TORONTO), 1819 On the 
south side of Queen street west, just west of Bellwoods avenue, in the 
valley of the Garrison Creek, which at this point was called Gore Vale 
Brook. It was a long, low, dingy-looking building of hewn logs, built about 
1817 by John Farr, a widely-respected Englishman, who, after having con- 
ducted the business for many years, retired, transferring his interests to 
Wallis & Moss. Moss died in 1866, and in his stead John Wallis, who once 
represented West Toronto in the Dominion Parliament, took into partner- 
ship John Cornell. Wallis' death occurred in 1872,- but his partner con- 
tinued to conduct the business until his decease in 1879. The building, 
which had, some time subsequent to its erection, been rebuilt of brick, was 
left vacant and was demolished in 1887-8. The site is now (1917) occupied 
by' a row of brick stores. To the left of the picture is seen the residence 
of Mr. Cornell. The Farr descendants live in Guelph. Water color. 
Size 4x7. 

796 SOUTH SIDE KING STREET WEST, TORONTO, 1846 Built 
1842-3, and in 1843-5 the hotel in the centre of the block, known as tjhe 
Waterloo buildings, was occupied by Mr. J. Stone. In 1844 it was called 
Macdonald's Hotel. The buildings extended from No. 68 (now No. 77), R. 
Score & Son, Limited, to No. 80 (now No. 101), F. W. Lyonde, and the 
"stables" were those in rear of the hotel. At the south end of the entrance 
at the west under "stables" the Royal Lyceum was erected in 1849. From 
68-74 are now (1917) situated the Remain buildings erected in 1856 by the 
late Charles E. Remain. Drawing in water color. Size 4x9. 

797 ZION CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, 1839-55 North-east corner 
Adelaide and Bay streets, Toronto The first house north of the church 
was the residence of Thomas Harding, and the next building, the fire hall 
of No. 6 Provincial Fire Engine Co. (south door), and No. 3 British 
America Fire Company (centre door) and station of the hose company 
(north door). The church with the square tower, south-east corner Bay 
and Richmond str-eets, was the United Presbyterian church. Drawing in 
water color. Size 6x6. See 761, 1146. 

798 ST. JAMES' RECTORY, TORONTO, 1825-1903 It was an old- 
fashioned red brick house of two storeys, on the south side of Adelaide 
west of Jarvis street, built, it is said, for an hotel. From 1837-82 Rev 
Henry J. Grasett, who became rector of St. James' Church in 1847 and first 
Dean of Toronto, 1867, resided here. In the spring of 1903 the building was 



129 

demolished and the new building completed on the same site in 1904. It is 
still the home of the rectors of St. James', the present (1917) occupant 
being Rev. Canon Plumptre. Water color. Size 5x7. 

7 99_BANK OF MONTREAL, TORONTO, 1842-5 North-west corner 
King and Bay streets. This was originally the Bank of the People, one of 
the earliest financial institutions in Upper Canada. About 1840 the Bank 
of Montreal purchased the charter of the sister bank, converting the latter 
into one of its branches in 1842. After the institution's removal to its 
present headquarters, north-east corner of Front and Yonge streets, in 
1845, the old building was used as club chambers, and later as law offices. 
It was afterwards known as the Metropolitan Hotel, subsequently being 
leased by the Mail Printing Co'y. The building of the Mail and Empire 
is on the site. Water color. Size 5x6. 

800 STANTON HOUSE, YORK (TORONTO) Built by Robert Stan- 
ton, the son of a British naval officer, and one of the pioneers of Upper 
Canada. His residence, which stood on the west side of Peter street at the 
head of Hospital (Richmond), w^s a substantial building of the secondary 
brick period of York. For many years Mr. Stanton was King's Printer, 
with office on Kingfc street, now the site of the Canada Life building. He 
also edited the U.C. Gazette and U.E. Loyalist, and afterwards became 
collector of customs. Up to the time of his death he occupied the Peter 
street residence, which then became the home of Mr. Charles Magrath, 
barrister, who married his widow. The house is now the site of a factory. 
Water color. Size 5x6. 

801 HOME OF SAMUEL ROGERS On the east side of Bay street, 
north of the north-east corner of King, next to the Sterling Bank. The old- 
time cottage was erected 1840-1 by Samuel Rogers, who resided here until 
his death. Rogers was a painter, a tradesman of the old school, and highly 
respected by his fellow-citizens. The dwelling was demolished in 1876 to 
make way for the Jarvis Building, 99-103 Bay street, which still (1917) 
stands. Water color. Size 5x6. 

802 FIRST FIRE HALL, YORK (TORONTO), 1831 West side of 
Church street, between Court and Adelaide. On the north-west -corner of 
Court and Church is shown the British America Insurance building. Next 
north is the two-storey brick fire hall of the first engine company of York, 
instituted in 1826 by Mr. Carfrae, Jr., who was captain for the six 
years he remained in the company. To the right of the picture is the old 
Scottish Kirk of St. Andrew's, south-west corner of Church and Adelaide. 
The buildings to the south have been converted into offices. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

803 MERCANTILE ROW IN YORK (TORONTO), 1833 South-west 
corner of King and Frederick streets. In the thirties this part of King 
east was a busy thoroughfare. William Proudfoot, No. 45 King street east; 
Robert McKay, No. 51, and John Sproule, No. 53, did about the best retail 
trade in Toronto. The last named was also a Government contractor. On 
the floor above the Proudfoot shop was Clarke Gamble's law office. Water 
color by F. V. Poole. Size 6 x 10. 

804 SCADDING HOMESTEAD East side of the River Don, near 
Gerrard street, Toronto. John Scadding, Sr., came to Canada in 1792 from 
Wolford, the estate of Governor Simcoe, in Devonshire, Eng., where prior 
to coming to Canada he had been manager. The Scadding farm originally 
consisted of a lot extending from the water's edge of the bay to the present 
Danforth avenue, and was bounded on the east by the present Broadview 
avenue, formerly known as the Mill road, and on the western side by the 
River Don. The dwelling shown in the picture was the second erected by 



130 

Mr Scadding the first having been a log house adjacent to the Kingston 
road The lean-to shown at the rear of the house was constructed from 
plank and flooring taken from Castle Frank, the Simcoe summer home 
en the Don. Water color. Size 4x5. 

805 "GOLDEN LION" King street east, Nos. 33-7, on site now (1917) 
occupied by the King Edward Hotel and Victoria street extended. In 1846 
Robert Walker in conjunction with Thomas Hutchinson, founded the dry 
goods firm of Walker & Hutchinson. In 1853 the partnership was dissolved 
and Hutchinson opened a rival store several doors below, known a_s the 
"Pantechnetheca," the Walker store being known as the "Golden Lion." 
About 1859 the firm of Robert Walker & Son was formed. In 1898 the 
business was closed. Water color. Size 6x7. 

806 HOME OF CHIEF JUSTICE SIR WILLIAM CAMPBELL, YORK 
(TORONTO), 1822-34 A large red brick mansion on Duke street, at the 
head of Frederick, erected by Sir William Campbell, after the colonial style 
of architecture prevailing in York from about 1807-25. He was a Scots- 
man who emigrated to Nova Scotia in 1783, and in 1811 became Chief 
Justice of Upper Canada. On his death the house became the property of 
Hon. James Gordon,"lormerly of Amherstburg, and was his home for many 
years. After his death it was occupied by various tenants, and thirty years 
later was purchased by John Strathy, who resided there until his death. 
It was sold to Mr. John Fensom for elevator factory purposes, and is now 
the works of the Capewell Horse Nail Company. Water color. Size 6x7.; 

807 BLOOR'S BREWERY, YORK (TORONTO) Established by 
Joseph Bloor, 1830, in the ravine north of the first concession line, now 
Bloor street, and just east of Yonge street. The brewery was reached by a 
roadway running down the ravine from Bloor street at the head of Huntley 
street. After being given up by its original occupant, the business was 
conducted for a time as Castle Frank Brewery, under the proprietorship of 
Mr. John Rose. About 1864 brewing was discontinued there, and the east 
end of the building was tenanted by an old Irishman, and after him by 
an old negro named Cassidy. It was torn down about 1875. Water color, 
by R. Baigent, 1865. Size 9 x 13. 

808-^KING STREET WEST, TORONTO, 1856 North side, from Yonge 
to Bay streets Showing King street west, from the north-west corner of 
Yonge, now (1917) the Grand Trunk Railway offices, to the residence of 
the late William Cawthra, now the Sterling Bank, at the north-east corner, 
of Bay and King. The cottage, No. 11, is site of Star newspaper building. 
The Davis (No. 17), and Wilson (No. 19) buildings are site of Manning 
Arcade, and the Pagerit building (in which was located the English Chop 
House) is present Hotel Teck. .The Baker, Hickman and Lasher stores, 
immediately west, are the site of the Murray-Kay building and the Canada 
Life. The Chop House and Cawthra residence are the only two buildings 
extant in 1917. Water color. Size 5 x 25. 

809 FANCY DRESS BALL, 19TH APRIL, 1870 With key. The ball, 
a brilliant gathering of Toronto's leading citizens, was held in the Music 
Hall (later the Public Library building), north-east corner of Church and 
Adelaide streets, in aid of the Protestant Orphans' Home. The home, then 
on Sullivan street, and now on Dovercourt road, was founded in com- 
memoration of Jenny Lind's visit to Toronto in 1851. About two hundred 
couples were present at the ball, ninety of whom have been identified. (See 
key). Financially the function was most successful. Photograph colored. 
Size 14 x 20. 

810 NORTH-EAST CORNER YONGE AND RICHMOND STREETS, 
TORONTO, 1888 The view shows the buildings almost to Queen street, 
and along the north side of Richmond to Victoria. Those shown on Yonge 



131 

street, up to the Globe Hotel (now the Tremont House), were erected in 
1841, and in 1890 together with property on Richmond, were torn down to 
make way for the Confederation Life building. Water color. Size 5 x 10. 

811 DR. STOYELL'S HOUSE, YORK (TORONTO) On the north 
side of King street, east of Ontario. Dr. Thomas Stoyell came to York 
from the United States, where he had received his degree. He never prac- 
tised his profession here, however. For some time an innkeeper in York, 
afterwards conducting a brewery at the south-east corner of Sherbourne 
and Duchess streets. At an early date he built for himself a frame dwell- 
ing on the King street site, but about 1829 had the old building torn down 
and on almost the exact site erected a more commodious, two-storey brick 
residence. On Dr. Stoyell's death the house was occupied by a Roman 
Catholic priest until its purchase by Mr. Thomas Helliwell, who made it 
his residence. The Victor Inn, No. 282A King street east, is now 
(1917) on the site. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 4x5. 

812 CHARLES ROBERTSON'S STORE South side of King 
street (No. 42), Toronto Charles Robertson, who was the younger 
brother of John Robertson, the Yonge street dry goods merchant, and 
uncle of J. Ross Robertson, erected the King street store in 1850, and 
there for many years carried on a dry goods business. On his retirement 
he removed to Sharon, where he died in 1871. The building was most at- 
tractive and was about the first new one from 1840-51, in the block from 
Leader lane to Yonge street. It was demolished in 1894, and the site is 
now (1917) No. 61, the eastern portion of Catto's dry goods establishment. 
Water color. Size 4x6. 

813 OLD LAW OFFICE, YORK (TORONTO) North side of Front 
street, west of Sherbourne This two-storey brick building, with gable 
roof, was the office of Hon. (Sir) John Beverley Robinson during his term 
of office as Attorney-General of Upper Canada, 1818-28. The blacksmith 
shop shown on the right was erected many years later. The site 
is now (1917) ^occupied by Toronto Street Railway buildings. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

814 THOMAS MERCER JONES' VILLA, YORK (TORONTO), 
1833-93 North-west corner Front and York streets. The picturesque old 
residence was designed by John G. Howard for Mr. Jones, who lived here 
for a time. The property afterwards passed into the hands of Captain James 
McGill Strachan, son of Bishop Strachan, and was occupied as a residence 
by him until about 1860, when it was purchased by John Skae, who in 1887 
sold out to David Walker. It is now the site of W. R. Johnson & Co., 
Limited. Water color. Size 5x7. 

815 FREELAND'S SOAP FACTORY, 1 832-65 Shortly after his ar- 
rival in York (Toronto), Peter Freeland erected a factory for the manu- 
facture of soap, at the foot of Yonge street on the east side, on 
property purchased from Judge Sherwood and Peter McDougall. Owing 
to the fact that almost the whole property was land covered with water, 
the soap works had to be built on cribs sunk with stone. On the death of 
the first owner, in 1861, the business was carried on by Robert Freeland, a 
son, until the demolition of the. building in 1865 to make room for the 
Great Western Railway passenger station, which is now (1917) the Grand 
Trunk fruit depot. "Water color. Size 5x7. 

816 RESIDENCE OF HON. C. A. HAGERMAN, NORTH-EAST COR- 
NER OF WELLINGTON AND SIMCOE STREETS, TORONTO York 

House, the main building to the right of the picture, was built by Hon. 
C. A. Hagerman shortly before the Rebellion of 1837, and was used as the 
family residence, while the addition was Mr. Hagerman's law office. Mr. 



132 

Nanton a rich West Indian, later occupied the mansion until his decease 
in 1847 Mr. Hagerman moving into the next house east on Wellington 
street, where he died shortly afterwards. York House subsequently came 
into the possession of Hon. John Willoughby Crawford, one-time partner 
of Chief Justice Hagarty. Mr. Crawford resided there until his appoint- 
ment as Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario, 1873, and on his removal to 
Government House transferred the old mansion to the Provincial Govern- 
ment. For some years the property was used as the Attorney-General's 
office and immigration bureau. It was demolished in 1906. The Randall- 
Johnston building now (1917) occupies the site. Water color by F. V. 
Poole. Size 5x7. 

817 FIRST STONE HOUSE IN YORK (TORONTO) Built in 1820 
at the north-west corner of Church and March (Lombard) streets, and 
first occupied by James Hunter, a tailor. Then Dr. Macaulay resided there. 
Later it became the home of the Rev. Thomas Phillips, D.D., headmaster 
of the Home District school, 1823-30, and subsequently of Weston. In 1834 
Dr. Daly occupied the dwelling, and for a time it was used as an hotel, 
known as the Kingston House. The site is now (1917) No. 114 Church 
street. Water color. Size 5x7. 

818 BLACK BULL HOTEL, TORONTO An old inn at the north-east 
corner of Queen and Maria (Soho) streets. Originally a frame building, 
but later succeeded by one of brick, bearing the same name far 
a time, and 'afterwards the Clifton Hotel. It was a favorite stopping-place 
for farmers on their way to town from the west and north-west. The land 
originally was part of lot No. 14, patented to Hon. Peter Russell in 1798. 
Water color. Size 5x6. 

819 HUMBER BRIDGE AND NURSE'S HOTEL (TORONTO), 1883 
Lake Shore road. On the south side of the road (left of picture) is Nurse's 
Hotel, built by Charles Nurse, 1874-5, and destroyed by fire in 1912. The 
bridge shown spanning the Humber was erected in 1874, and in that year 
also Mr. O. L. Hicks built boathouses shown, which from time to time were 
torn down and enlarged. In 1893 Mr. Hicks sold out to his brother, Samuel 
Hicks, who five years later transferred them to Capt. Robert Maw. A 
number of years ago the present (1917) owner, Mr. I. N. Devins, pur- 
chased them. In the distance to the right is seen the peak of the hotel 
built by John McDowell, 1852-3. On McDowell's death, in 1870, the hostelry 
came into the possession of his son, William, and since has passed through 
many hands. The G.T.R. acquired the property in 1911. The railway and 
other improvements have entirely changed the appearance of this vicinity. 
Water color. Size 7 x 10. 

820 OLD-TIME RESIDENCES ON EAST SIDE OF SIMCOE STREET, 
NEAR QUEEN, TORONTO The house with the arched doorway was the 
home of John Joseph, Clerk of the Executive Council, and the birthplace in 
1838 of Frank Joseph. Mr. Joseph, sr., was at one time private secretary 
to the philanthropist, William Wilberforce. In 1836 he came to Canada 
with Sir Francis Bond Head as private secretary. From 1841-50 the house 
was occupied by Mr. John Robertson, dry goods merchant, and father of 
Mr. John Ross Robertson. Here the latter was born, Dec. 28th, 1841. The 
family removed to the next house north (shown in the picture), remaining 
there until their removal in 1857 to John street. From 1851-4 Col. Page, of 
the Royal Engineers, and from 1854-5, Mrs. Justina Scobie, widow of Hugh 
Scobie, the well-known publisher of the British Colonist, occupied the first- 
mentioned Simcoe street residence. It then became the home of Dr. 
Lucius O'Brien, and is now (1917) an express office. Water color. Size 5x7. 



133 

821 MRS. McLEAN'S TAVERN, 1851 The quaint old "Inn," popularly 
known as "Mother" McLean's Tavern, stood on the east side of the, 
Humber River, at its junction with the Lake Shore road, Mrs. Margaret 
McLean having been granted lot 40 and the west part of lot 39 of the 
broken front by the Crown. The road allowance in the rear of the broken 
front would now (1917) be Queen street, if extended that far. Water color 
from original drawing by F. H. Granger. Size 5x9. 

822 ICE HUMMOCKS ON THE LAKE View of the Lake Shore road 
in front of High Park, Toronto. Through the trees may be seen Colborne 
Lodge, the home of Mr. J. G. Howard, and to the left is the Great Western 
Railway (now the G.T.R.) train going east towards the city. The large 
ice cone shown is eleven feet high. Water color from the original by J. G. 
Howard, in the City Hall, Toronto. Size 5x8. 

823 CANADA COMPANY BUILDING N.E. corner King and Fred- 
erick streets, now site of Adams Bros.' building. Water color from the 
original by J. G. Howard, in the City Hall, Toronto. Size 5x8. See 523. 

824 MEIKLE, JAMES The father of Miss Jemima Frances Meikle, 
who became the wife of Mr. John G. Howard. Water color from portrait 
by Hoppner Meyer, in City Hall, Toronto. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

825 KING STREET, TORONTO, 1835 Looking east from west of 
York street 1. Fence of King's College Land Office, n.w. cor. York and 
King. 2. Shakespeare Inn, n.e. cor. King and York streets, partly de- 
stroyed by fire, 1843. 3. The stores east on King street were occupied by 
John G. Howard, surveyor; Richard Turton, chemist; Henry Searle, paper- 
hanger; George Walton, clerk of peace; Thomas Dalton, publisher of the 
"Patriot"; Dr. Wood, dentist, and others. 4. Chewett's buildings (now, 1916, 
site of Prince George Hotel), the block at south-east corner of King and 
York streets, which included the British Coffee House, with its entrance 
on York street. 5. The British Coffee House. 6. South-west corner of 
King and York streets. Water color from the original by J. G. Howard, 
in the City Hall, Toronto. Size 5x8. 

826 FRONT STREET, YORK (TORONTO), 1834 Looking north- 
west from the corner of Front and Simcoe streets. 1. Immigration Sheds. 

2. Creek, which had its origin in the north-west part of York (Toronto), be- 
yond College and Spadina. It passed in a south-east direction to Queen 
and the corner of John, then through the Macdonell property, the Upper 
Canada College and Government House grounds, along the east side of 
the Parliament Buildings, and then emptied into the bay at Front street. 

3. Greenland Fisheries Tavern, north-west corner Front and John streets, 
1825. 4. Third Parliament Buildings. Centre buildings erected 1829-31; 
east and west wings erected 1833. Vacated .1892. Now the site of the 
Grand Trunk Railway freight sheds. 5. Simcoe street. Water color from 
the original, by J. G. Howard, in the City Hall, Toronto. Size 5 x. 8. 

827 A GALLANT RESCUE, DECEMBER, 1861 On Lake Ontario, 
between Sunnyside and Humber Bay, Toronto. This view was made from 
the lake shore by Mr. J. G. Howard, donor of High Park, and shows Thomas 
Tinning, a well-known Toronto oarsman, rescuing the crew from the 
wrecked schooner " Pacific." In the distance may be seen the lighthouse 
on Toronto Island. Water color from original, by J. G. Howard, in City 
Hall, Toronto. Size 5x8. 

828 WINTER SCENE ON TORONTO BAY, 1835 In the background 
of picture may be seen: 1. Residence of Bishop Strachan, Front street. 
2. Parliament Buildings. 3. Greenland Fisheries Tavern, north-west corner 
Front and John. 4. Home of John Beikie, just east of Windsor street. 5. 






134 

Military storehouse wharf. 6. Hon. Geo. Cruickshank's house, north-east 
corner Front and Peter. 7. Government wood yards. 8. 8. 8. Buildings of 
old Fort. 9. Queen's Wharf. Water color from original, by J. G. Howard, 
in City Hall, Toronto. Size 5x8. 

829 FIRST DESIGN FOR A GOVERNMENT HOUSE Although this 
building was not nearly so large or so elaborate, in elevation, the estimated 
cost of erection, $50,000, was the same as a later design, also by J. G. 
Howard. The building was never erected. Water color from the original, 
by J. G. Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. Size 6x8. 

830 DESIGN FOR GUILD HALL, 1834 The design covered the entire 

plot on the north side of King street east, Toronto, between Toronto and 
Church streets, and provided for the erection of a Guild Hall, Court House, 
Post Office, Public Library and Merchants' Exchange. Had these plans 
been carried out the old jail and court house on the north-east corner of 
King and Toronto, and the north-west corner of King and Church streets, 
respectively, erected in 1824, were to have been converted into the city 
and district jails, police office, and temporary lock-up room. The estimated 
cost of erecting the buildings was 60,000. About 1842 the open space 
known as Court House Square, between King, Toronto, Church and Court 
streets, was sold and shops built thereon. Water color from original, by 
J. G. Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. Size 4x8. 

831 HOWARD, MRS. JOHN G. (JEMIMA FRANCES MEIKLE) A 

Scotswoman, born 18th August, 1802. In 1827 she married Mr. John G. 
Howard, and emigrated to Canada with her husband in 1832. Her death 
took place at Colborne Lodge, High Park, Toronto, 1st September, 1877. 
Water color from portrait in City Hall, Toronto. Size 3x4. Head and 
;houlders. See 847. 

832 PROVINCIAL LUNATIC ASYLUM, TORONTO North view- 
Water color from original, by J. G. Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. Size 
4x8. See 541. 

833 ENTRANCE GATE TO COLBORNE LODGE, TORONTO, 1870 In 
1836 Mr. John G. Howard purchased one hundred and sixty-five acres of 
land on the east bank of the Humber River, giving his property the name 
of High Park. On the western side of this piece of land he erected in the 
same year, Colborne Lodge, so named after Sir John Colborne, Lieutenant- 
Governor of Upper Canada, 1828-35, and Mr. Howard's first benefactor and 
friend in York. On the 23rd December, 1837, Mr. Howard moved from 
Chewett's building, King street, to his new abode, where he lived for 
many years. Water color from original, by J. G. Howard, in City Hall, 
Toronto. Size 5x8. 

834 COLBORNE, MAJOR-GENERAL SIR JOHN After suppressing 
the rebellion in Lower Canada, and on the retirement of Lord Durham, 
Sir John Colborne remained as Administrator of Lower Canada, acting for 
a time as Governor. Upon his return to England he was created Lord 
Seaton. Water color from original oil, by Berthon, in the Howard Collec- 
tion. Size 11 x 18. Full length. See 160, 417. 

835 HOWARD, J. G. Making a survey in front of the Parliament 
Buildings, foot of Simcoe street. The columns shown in centre of the 
building were never erected. In the left is seen the Greenland Fisheries 
Tavern, north-west corner of Front and John streets. Many plans and 
surveys stand to the credit of Mr. Howard, notable among the latter being 
a "Chart of the North Shore of Toronto Harbour" in 1846. Water color 
from original, in the City Hall. Portrait by D'Almaine, landscape by 
Howard. Size 6x7. See 837, 841, 846, 2781, 3575, 3660. 



135 

836 DESIGN FOR A GOVERNMENT HOUSE AT YORK (TORONTO), 
1833 At this date the "Governor's Residence," as it was called, was situ- 
ated at the south-west corner of King and Simcoe streets, being originally 
the home of Chief Justice Blmsley, and subsequently purchased by the 
Government. The design shown was made in 1833 by John G. Howard, 
the well-known Toronto architect, and was intended "for the information 
of Sir John Colborne to shew the impropriety of spending money in repair- 
ing the old Government House." The site suggested was on "the military 
reserve to the west of Peter street, on Front street," and the estimated 
cost of erection was 50,000. The structure shown was never erected. 
Water color from original, by J. G. Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. 
Size 4x8. 

837 HOWARD, JOHN G., R.C.A., 1803-90 Born near London, Eng. 
At the age of fifteen was sent to sea, but compelled to abandon the life; 
took up land surveying, engineering and architecture. In 1832 emigrated 
to Canada, with his wife, settling in York. The following year Sir John 
Colborne obtained for Mr. Howard the appointment of drawing master at 
U.C.C., and in 1843 he was appointed City Surveyor, subsequently becom- 
ing City Engineer. Laid out the Island in 1846, and also surveyed the 
ground and made plans for St. James' Cemetery. In 1873 Mr. Howard 
conveyed 120 acres of High Park to the Corporation of Toronto by gift as a 
public park forever, and the remaining 45 acres of his estate were added 
after his death. He was buried with Masonic honors in High Park. Water 
color from portrait in City Hall, Toronto. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 
See 835, 841, 846, 2781, 3575, 366Q. 

838 DESIGN FOR UNIVERSITY, 1835 The plan was drawn by Mr. 
John G. Howard, the Toronto architect, and presented by him to Sir John 
Colborne, K.C.B., Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada, 1828-35. It was 
intended for King's College, to be erected in Queen's Park, Toronto. With 
some alterations it gained the 50 premium in competition for Queen's 
College, Kingston, but was not adopted. Water color from original, by 
J. G. Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. Size 5x8. 

839 HOWARD TOMB AND CAIRN North view. In a reserved por- 
tion of High Park, Toronto, Mr. J. G. Howard erected a tomb and cairn in 
memory of his wife, whose death occurred in 1877. He himself was also 
buried there in 1890. The cairn is situated a little to the north-west of 
Colborne Lodge, at the summit of a picturesque ravine. It is constructed 
of granite boulders bedded in Portland cement, topped with a double 
pedestal which terminated in a Maltese cross. On the north side of this 
bit of consecrated ground is a portion of the iron railing which for one 
hundred and sixty years surrounded St. Paul's Cathedral, London, Eng. 
Water color from original, by J. G. Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. 
Size 5 x 87 

840 KING STREET, TORONTO, 1835 Looking north from south 
side of King street. 1. Second jail, n.e. cor. King and Toronto streets, 
1824-40. 2. First fire hall, situated just south of St. Andrew's church, west 
side of Church street, near Adelaide, 1831-77. 3. Second Court House, 
north-west corner King and Church streets, 1824-53. 4. Church street, 
running north between the Court House and St. Andrew's church. 5. 
Second St. James' church (Cathedral), north-east corner King and Church 
streets, 1830-9. Water color from original, by John G. Howard, in the City 
Hall, Toronto. Size 5x8. Ill 

841 HOWARD, J. G. In his eightieth year. The cloak shown in the 
portrait is one which the venerable surveyor wore for fifty years. Water 
olor from portrait in Howard Collection. Size 4x7. Full length. See 
835, 837, 846, 2781, 3575, 3660. 






136 

842 WINTER SCENE ON TORONTO BAY, 1835 View from 
Taylor's Wharf, south side Palace street. The principal points shown 
are- 1 Houses on Dr. Widmer's property. 2. Dr. Widmer's dwelling, north 
side Palace (Front) street, just east of Ontario. 3. Taylor's Wharf. 4. 
Windmill (Gooderham's). 5, Ashbridge's Bay. Water color from original, 
by J. G. Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. Size 6x8. 

843 GAOL AND COURT HOUSE, BROCKVILLE, ONT. Erected in 
1841-3 from a plan by J. G. Howard, the well-known Toronto architect. 
Mr. Howard also superintended the building of the structure, which re- 
placed the second Brockville Court House, a brick edifice erected in 1824. 
The naming of the figure of Justice, which surmounts the present building, 
is an amusing incident. Among the crowd assembled to see the figure 
raised, were Major Alexander Grant, a man about 6 ft. 5 in. in height, and 
otherwise large in proportion, and Paul Glassford, small of stature, who 
had been chairman of the Building Committee. The former was a practi- 
cal joker and liked nothing better than to have a joke on Glassford. He 
laughingly called the crowd's attention to the difference in size between 
Mr. Glassford and his "child." But, when the figure was in position, Mr. 
Glassford, in response to the cry, "name, name," looked at it, then at 
Major Grant, and, touching his hat, said, "Her .name is Sally Grant." The 
joke was turned on the notorious joker, and through the heat of summer 
and snows of winter "Sally Grant" has held the scales of justice on 
Brockville's Court House since 1845. Water color from original, by J. G. 
Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. Size 5x8. 

844 TORONTO BAY From Browne's Wharf, 1835 The wharf, which 
was owned by James Browne, a prominent Toronto business man and 
wharfinger, was situated between Church and Scott streets, and was a 
landing place for the Royal Mail steamers. This view shows a typical 
winter scene on the bay in the thirties. At the west end of the peninsula, 
now Toronto Island, is the lighthouse, while at the east end are some 
fishermen's dwellings. Water color from original, by J. G. Howard, in 
City Hall, Toronto. Size 6x8. 

845 GRENADIER POND, HIGH PARK, TORONTO View from the 
east This pond, one of the ancient outlets of the Humber River, lies in a 
valley towards the west side of High Park, and in winter is a favorite 
skating resort for the young people of the city. Water color from original, 
by J. G. Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. Size 5x8. 

846 HOWARD, JOHN G. At the age of forty-five. Water color from 
a miniature, by Thomas H. Stevenson, in Howard Collection. Size 4% x 5. 
Half length. See 835, 837, 841, 2781, 3575, 3660. 

847 HOWARD, MRS. J. G. At forty-five. Water color from a minia- 
ture, by Thomas H. Stevenson, in Howard Collection. Size 4% x 5. 
Half length. See 831. 

848 DEJEUNER AT UPPER CANADA COLLEGE, TORONTO On 

the occasion of the laying of the foundation stone of King's College in 
Queen's Park, by his Excellency, Sir Charles Bagot, Governor-General of 
the United Canadas and Chancellor of the University, a dejeuner was given 
in the Prayer Hall of Upper Canada College, April 23rd, 1842. The east 
wing of the Legislative Buildings is now (1917) on the site of old King's 
College. Water color from original, by J. G. Howard, in City Hall, Toronto. 
Size 5 x 10. 

849-58 Theatres of York and Toronto, 1820-74. 

849 FIRST THEATRE, 1820-29 The first theatrical performance in 
York was given in the ball room of Frank's Hotel, a two-storey frame 
building on the north-west corner of West Market street and Market lane 



137 

(Colborne street). Mr. Allan Macnab, afterwards Sir Allan, was one of 
the amateur performers in the pioneer theatre, acquitting himself so well 
that he was seriously advised to become a professional actor. The play- 
house, although its appointments were of the most unpretentious character, 
was very popular. Water color, by F. V. Poole. Size 4x4. 

850 SECOND THEATRE, 1829-34 On the north side of Colborne 
street, west of the St. Lawrence Market. It was a two-storey frame build- 
ing, the ground floor of which was used as a shop, while the upper part 
was fitted up as a theatre about 1829. Performances were given here by 
a local amateur club. Water color, by F. V. Poole. Size 3^x4. 

851 THIRD THEATRE, 1834-7 South side King street, west of 
Jordan, on part of site of Bank of Commerce. It was a frame building 
40 x 60, erected in 1818, by Mr. Fetch, as the first place of public worship 
of the Wesleyan Methodists in York. In the same building where the 
eloquence of early Methodist ministers resounded, playgoers of York also 
attended ere long, for on the completion of the Adelaide Street Methodist 
church, Waugh Bros., confectioners on King street, obtained possession 
of the old chapel and fitted it up as a place of amusement. The first repre- 
sentation given here was a panorama of the "Burning of Moscow," exhibited 
in the latter part of 1834. Water color, by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

852 FOURTH THEATRE, 1834-8 From time to time theatrical per- 
formances were given in a barn-like frame building, some sixty feet long, 
situated on the north side of Front street, east of Church. There was no 
gallery, but the ground floor seated an audience of between two and three 
hundred. The appointments of the place were of the most primitive sort, 
candles being the illuminants; nevertheless the acting was at times very 
Good. Mr. and Mrs. Thorne, who played comedy here, were favorites and 
always drew full houses. Water color. Size 3^ x4. 

853 FIFTH THEATRE, 1836-40 On the north side of King street, 
near York, on the lot adjoining the Shakespeare Hotel, n.e. corner of King 
and York. The Theatre Royal, as the new playhouse was named, was of a 
more pretentious character than its predecessors. It was a large frame 
structure, erected shortly before the Mackenzie Rebellion of 1837, and was 
originally a cabinet or carpenter workshop. The seats were arranged in 
tiers, in much the same fashion as they are at the present day. The 
popular Thornes graced the boards at this theatre also. In the days of the 
old Royal ladies had not begun to frequent theatres much. Water color, by 
F. V. Poole. Size 5x7. 

854 SIXTH THEATRE, 1841-3 This theatre, known as Deering's, 
was owned by the then proprietor of the Ontario House. It was situated 
on the east side of Scott, and extended from Front to Wellington streets, 
the main entrance being on Front street. The building, which was of 
frame, was well patronized, but its existence as a playhouse was short. It 
was used subsequently as an immigration office and later became a 
tavern. Water color. Size 5x7. 

855 SEVENTH THEATRE, 1840-50 On the west side of William street, 
above Queen. A company of amateurs, notable among them being Alex- 
ander Jacques, printer, fitted up an old barn for theatrical performances, 
giving various plays there for about four years. This theatre had its in- 
ception in an old barn on Colborne street, near the corner of Leader lane, 
owned by Mr. John Munn, but this building was destroyed by fire, and the 
company had to seek quarters elsewhere. From 1845 the William street 
theatre was used for local negro minstrel shows. Water color. Size 5x7. 



138 

856 EIGHTH THEATRE, 1849-53 This theatre, a frame building, 
about seventy feet long, and having a lean-to at the south end to make 
room for the stage, had been used as a coach and guard house for Govern- 
ment House. It was situated on the south side of King street west, near 
the ravine or creek that at one time crossed between Simcoe and John 
streets, and was managed by T. P. Besnard, subsequently manager of the 
Royal Lyceum. A number of performances were given in this building 
by the Garrison amateurs; but it never became popular, being too far 
from the town of those days. Water color. Size 5x7. 

857 NINTH THEATRE, 1 848-73 Known as the Royal Lyceum, 
south side King street, between Bay and York. It was built by John 
Ritchey, the first occupant being John S. Potter. About 1850 T. P. Besnard 
undertook the management of the house. He persuaded John Nickinson 
and his daughters to come over from Buffalo. A managerial partnership 
was entered into between Mr. Besnard and Mr. Nickinson, the latter in 
1853 assuming sole management of the Royal Lyceum, which he consider- 
ably altered and improved. He it was who induced the great actors of the 
day to visit Toronto. In 1872 Mrs. Morrison (Charlotte Nickinson) took 
the management of the Lyceum. About a year later the building was 
burned, but was rebuilt. During Mrs. Morrison's management many stars 
played here. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

858 TENTH THEATRE, 1874 North side King street west, between 
Bay and York, now (1917) Nos. 90-4, about a hundred feet back from the 
street. It was reached by a passageway nearly opposite that leading to 
the Royal Lyceum. The playhouse shown, in which were seen some good 
performances, was known as the Queen's Theatre. Tom C. King, a great 
Macbeth, played there in tragedy. Water color. Size 5x7. 

859 WELLS RESIDENCE, TORONTO The comfortable, old- 
fashioned residence on the high ground overlooking Davenport road, just 
north-east of Bathurst, was erected by Col. Joseph Wells, of the 43rd Mon- 
mouthshire Regiment, and a veteran of the Peninsular War. It was built 
on the site of a smaller dwelling purchased by Colonel Wells in 1820, and, 
after his retirement from the army, he lived here until his death in 1853. 
Until 1873 Colonel Frederick Wells, a son, occupied the residence, which 
afterwards passed into the hands of the second occupant's daughter, Mrs. 
De Pencier. Water color. Size 5x7. 

860 AMERICAN HOTEL, TORONTO, 1 841 -89 About 1840 Mr. 
Rennie purchased the north-east corner of Front and Yonge streets, form- 
erly owned by the late Chief Justice Scott, erecting thereon a brick 
building. It was known for many years as the American Hotel, and was 
one of the best-known hostelries in Canada until its demolition in 1889 to 
make room for the Board of Trade building. When Charles Dickens 
visited Toronto in 1842 he was a guest in this house. Mr. Pearson, an 
American, was the popular landlord for many years, and he was succeeded 
Ly the late David Walker, before the days of the Walker House. Pen draw- 
ing, colored. Size 5x7. 

861 MAIN STREET, WESTON, 1908 Looking west. The town, 
which is situated on the Humber River, several miles north-west of the 
City of Toronto, was founded by the Government in 1813. This view shows 
the present Eagle House, built in 1870 by the late John Eagle. It was 
formerly known as Bellis' Hotel. West of the Eagle House is the Assembly 
Room, erected 1849-50. Pen drawing, colored. Size 5x7. 

862 DAVENPORT STATION ON THE NORTHERN RAILWAY," 

1857 This was one of the prettiest stations on the old Northern Railway, 
now the Grand Trunk. It stood almost in the woods when it was built in 



139 

1857, and a couple of miles outside the then city limits of Toronto. To-day, 
however, commerce has made sad havoc with the beautiful surroundings 
of nearly sixty years ago, for the station is now (1917) in the city limits, 
on the north side of Davenport road. It faces west, and Station street 
runs north and south behind the building, while to the north is St. Clair 
avenue. Near the station are the works of the Canada Foundry. Water 
color. Size 4x7. 

863 OLD FORT, YORK (TORONTO), 1832 Situated at the western 
part of the town. The view shows: 1. The eastern entrance to fort. 
2. Cutting at the entrance. 3. Blockhouse erected after War of 1812. 4. 
Blockhouse in centre of parade ground, also erected after the war. 5. Row 
of buildings used by officers. 6. Barracks for soldiers. To the left is a 
portion of Queen's Wharf, and in the background the lighthouse on Toronto 
Island is seen. ~The~foreground has been entirely altered in appearance 
by railways and manufacturing buildings. Drawing in water color by 
James Hamilton, London, C. W. Size 5 x 18. 

864 OLD ROW OF BRICK HOUSES Bast side of James street, 
Toronto, 1845 This row of two-storey brick dwellings was erected about 
1842. Reading from right to left, the occupants at the time of the picture 
were: No. 4, Hugh Reid; No. 6, Robert Kerr, captain of the steamer 
"America," and father of Mr. Robert Kerr, of Toronto, late traffic manager 
of the C.P.R.; No. 8, Anthony Blachford, whose descendants are the well- 
known shoe firm of Toronto; No. 10, William Forbes. Part of the T. 
Eaton Co. store now (1917) stands on the site of the old-time row. Draw- 
ing in water color. Size 5x7. 

865 SOUTH-EAST CORNER YO.NGE AND GERRARD STREETS, 
TORONTO, 1881 An old-time business row These buildings, originally 
of frame, but in later years roughcast, were all erected between 1840-50, 
and in 1917 some of those, from 389 to 367, are still standing. The Forum 
building, erected in 1890, occupies the site of Nos. 391-5. With key. Water 
color. Size 6 x 10. 

866 HOME OF DAVID WILLIAMSON An East End landmark of 
Toronto Typical workingman's home of the day. It was situated at the 
north-east corner of South Park (now Eastern avenue) and Trinity street, 
and was occupied by David Williamson, known as "Long Davy," a carter, 
who worked for ,Gooderham & Worts. Williamson was accidentally killed 
many years ago at the Pape avenue crossing of the G.T.R. The old dwelling 
was torn down in 1880. Sketch in water color by J. O. Fowler, 1871. 
Size 7x9.. 

867 HOME OF (SIR) ALLAN NAPIER MACNAB, YORK (TORONTO) 
North side of King street, near its intersection with Queen, now Nos. 
520-522 King street east. It was in this house that Lieutenant MacNab, 
formerly of the Queen's Rangers, and father of the eminent Sir Allan 
Napier MacNab, first Queen's Counsel in Canada, lived for some years 
after leaving Niagara, and here also the future Sir Allan spent the greater 
part of his early days. Water color. Size 5x8. 

868 MEAD'S HOTEL, TORONTO ISLAND, 1882 About 1850 Reuben 
Parkinson, a carriage builder, built a hotel at Maskelonge Point (Mugg's 
Landing), Toronto Island, moving it some three years later to the west 
side of the Privat Hotel grounds. This hotel was washed away, and about 
1859 Mrs. Parkinson erected a hostelry on what is now part of Island 
Park. In 1873 Mrs. Parkinson assigned her lease to Robert Mead, and on 
the latter's death the business was carried on by his widow. In 1887 the 
city purchased Mrs. Mead's holdings, consisting of twelve acres, and incor- 
porated them in the park. The wharf shown ran in a northwesterly direc- 
tion, into the bay, a distance of 283 feet, the end being opposite the ex- 
tremity of the present (1917) Island ferry. Water color by W. J. Thomson. 
Size 12 x 18. 



140 

ggg RUSHOLME North-west corner Dundas street and Rusholme 

road Toronto Erected of roughcast, in 1839, by George Taylor (Colonel) 
Denison, son of Lieut-Col. George Taylor Denison, of Bellevue. The resi- 
dence was subsequently enlarged by Colonel Denison, who occupied it 
until his decease in 1873. It is still (1917) standing. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

870 RITCHEY TERRACE, TORONTO North side of Adelaide, near 
York street. In 1856 John Ritchey erected the six fine white brick houses 
known as Ritchey Terrace, adjoining his own residence. Some years ago 
the dwellings wee remodelled and are now (1917) used as factories and 
warehouses, Nos. 112-22. The walls, ceilings, roof joists, doors and stair- 
ways have stood the test of time so well that they will bear the weight of 
machinery as present-day residences will not do. Only one of the houses 
has been torn down, its site being occupied by the factory of Douglas 
Brothers, No. 124 Adelaide street. John Ritchey was the builder who 
erected the spire of the first St. Paul's church, Bloor street, and the original 
row of brick buildings on the east side of Bay, between Melinda and 
Wellington streets. Pen drawing, colored. Size 5x7. 

871 SOUTH SIDE OF KING STREET WEST, TORONTO, 1866 The 
view gives a part of King street, between Bay and York, and shows the 
west end of No. 73, Edward Dack, boot shop; No. 75, D. W. Smith, Toronto 
Dye Works; No. 77, George Harding, plumber; No. 79, R. W. Laird, gilder. 
Nos. 81-93 are the Romain buildings, erected in 1856 by Charles E. Remain. 
The shopkeepers in the buildings at this period were: No. 81, H. J. 
Kerby, restaurant; No. 83-5, Walter Rose, dry goods; No. 87, C. S. Gzowski 
& Co. and D. L. McPherson's office, upper floors; No. 89, B. Saunders, 
tailor; No. 93, A. K. Boomer. In the distance is the Rossin House. Water 
color. Size 5x6. 

872 BROCKTON POST OFFICE, 1853 It was first known as Denison 
Terrace Office, then as Lippincott, and finally as Brockton. A Mrs. 
Larkin, who kept a small general store, was also postmistress. The old 
building stood on the south side of Dundas street. Toronto, nearly opposite 
the Appii Forum, or Three Taverns, Collard's, Church's and James', but 
it is almost impossible to identify the exact site now as the entire locality 
has changed. It was probably about the present (1917) Nos. 577-583 Dundas 
street. Church's Hotel is still standing, as is also a portion of Collard's. 
Water color. Size 5x7. 

873 LAMBTON FLOUR MILLS, 1843 At Lambton Mills, on the 
Humber; the second erected in Toronto Township. The original mills, 
which were very primitive, being almost entirely of wood with an under- 
shot wheel, were the property of Thomas Cooper, who at one time owned 
a wharf in Toronto. In 1843 they were purchased by Mr. (Sir) William 
Pearce Rowland, and practically rebuilt by him. Ten years afterwards Mr. 
Peleg Rowland entered the business, which was conducted under the firm 
name of P. & W. P. Rowland. Two years later Mr. F. A. Rowland purchased 
Sir W. P. Rowland's interest, and the firm name became P. & F. A. Rowland. 
The senior member died in 1882 and the mills were continued by Mr. F. A. 
Rowland until his death in 1885. The first purchaser and Thomas Elliott 
succeeded to the business the following year, the firm being then known 
as Rowland and Elliott. In 1895 Mr. Elliott purchased his partner's interest, 
but kept the old firm name. The property was sold in 1909 to Mr. Home 
Smith, and the next year~ the business passed into the hands of Mr. H. 
Phillips. The old mill had been converted by Mr. Home Smith into a. 
restaurant, patronized principally by Toronto motorists. It was burnt down 
in 1916. Pen drawing, colored. Size 4x6. 



141 

874 MUSEUM IN AN OLD TORONTO MANSION For some time 
the apartment, originally the dining-room of Hon. William Allan's resi- 
dence, Moss Park, Sherbourne street, was used as an ornithological 
museum. The flags shown in the picture belonged to the Third Regiment, 
East York Militia, and were carried by that regiment in the War of 1812. 
Only a corner of the room is depicted. Water color by Owen Staples 
Size 5x7. 

875 DOVERCOURT, TORONTO Second residence of Lieut.-Col. 
Richard Lippincott Denison, now (1917) No. 36 Churchill avenue, looking 
down Lakeview avenue. A lane, now Ossington avenue, once led through 
the woods and fields to Dovercourt, which was erected in 1853. Col. R. L. 
Denison was the eldest son of Lieut.-Col. George T. Denison (1st) of 
"Bellevue," Toronto. Water color. Size 5x7. 

876 FIRST BREWERY, YORK (TORONTO) South-east corner 

Sherbourne and Duchess streets In 1815 the brewery was erected by one 
Henderson. It consisted, in 1820, of a stone malt house and granary (this, 
the only building remaining, is shown in picture), a range of small frame 
buildings along Duchess street, where the malt was ground in a handmill, 
and a row of arches dug in the bank, finished with masonry and covered 
with earth. These arches, which extended fifty feet along the south side 
of the lot, were used for storing the beer and fermenting tubs. Just south 
of the granary, on Sherbourne street, was the entrance to the brewery yard. 
The property passed through various hands during its long existence. Dr. 
Thos. Stoyell took it over in 1822, but only retained it for two or three 
years. John Doel, prior to the erection of the brewery adjoining his house f 
corner Bay and Adelaide streets, carried on the Sherbourne street business. 
The granary, years later, was used as a storehouse by John Walz & Co., 
brewers. It is (1917) used as an automobile supply shop. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

877 NORTHERN RAILWAY OFFICES, TORONTO Situated on the 

north-west corner of Front and Brock streets (Spadina avenue) The first 
offices of the railway, in 1853 (then the Ontario, Simcoe & Huron), were 
at 52 Bay street (west side), near Front. In 1864 the company, which had 
become the Northern in 1859, erected the handsome brick building shown 
in picture. It was vacated in 1889, about a ye"ar after -the amalgamation of 
the Northern and North Western with the Grand Trunk, used for a time 
by the Y.M.C.A. for railway men, afterwards becoming the British Welcome 
League. Water color. Size 5x6. 

878 HOME OF HON. DONALD McDONALD A popular Toronto 
residence on the south side of Queen street, west of Spadina avenue. It 
was a roughcast frame building, erected by William Botsford Jarvis in 
1836, and occupied successively by R. G. Turner, W. B. Jarvis and Hon. 
Donald McDonald, a member of the Legislative Council. The last-named 
and his wife were noted for their hospitality, and in the fifties and sixties 
entertained many military men, politicians and other celebrities. After 
Mr. McDonald's death his widow continued to reside in the house for a 
time. On her departure for California from Toronto it was put to various 
uses, and in 1887 was demolished. Water color. Size 4x6. 

879 COOPER RESIDENCE. TORONTO About 1853 Mr. George 
Cooper, a well-known resident of north-west York in the early days, and 
one of the contractors who took down the Island blockhouse in 1818, 
erected a large brick residence, north of Davenport road, on the hill over- 
looking the Davenport Station, on the then Northern, now the northern 
division of the Grand Trunk Railway. In this house, after a long and 
useful career, Mr. Cooper died. Water color. Size 5x7. 



142 

ggOAT THE NUMBER RIVER, 1845 The Lake Shore road is here 
shown just east of the bridge. The building beyond the bridge and on the 
west side of the Humber. was the storehouse of William Gamble, who 
owned the mills on the river, built previous to 1830 by Thomas Fisher. The 
schooners are lying at the entrance to the Humber. The sheds to the left 
are in the rear of Mother McLean's tavern, which stood behind the willow 
tree. Water color from a drawing by J. Gillespie, 1845. Size 4x7. 

88 1_ TH E CROOKSHANK FARM HOUSE, YORK (TORONTO) 

Crookshank's lane (Bathurst street) The lane was a semi-private 
thoroughfare, connecting the farm with York. Its southerly portion re- 
ceived the name of Bathurst street, in honor of Earl Bathurst, Secretary 
for the Colonies during George IV.'s reign. Even up to 1860, however, the 
upper part was known as Crookshank's lane. The farm extended from 
Queen street to the north of Davenport road, the present Bathurst street 
running through the eastern half. The house shown in the picture dated 
from before the War of 1812, and was occupied by Mr. George Crookshank 
(Cruickshank) prior to the erection of his Front street residence, and the 
property remained in his hands until 1851. In 1864 the house was moved 
eastward and enlarged. In 1900 it was demolished. Water color. Size 5x7. 

882 HOUSE FOR TRAVELLERS, RIVER CREDIT, U.C. Built by 
the Government in 1793, as a military storehouse and barracks, and for 
the accommodation of travellers passing to and from Niagara and York, 
through the Mississauga tract of land. It was a one-storey structure, built 
of logs, clap-boarded, and stood about thirty yards from the River Credit. 
It subsequently became a tavern and was conducted as such for many 
years. In 1861 the house was pulled down and rebuilt on a farm about a 
mile and a half north of Port Credit, but was destroyed by fire eighteen 
months later. Pen drawing, colored. Size 4* x 5. 

883 COUNTRY STORE OF W. P. HOWLAND A Lambton Mills 
Landmark Erected in the early forties by W. P. Rowland (knighted May 
24th, 1879). The store, which also served as a post office, was conducted 
under the firm name of Peleg and W. P. Rowland. In 1855 the firm became 
P. and P. A. Rowland, and on the death of these two gentlemen, Sir W. P. 
Howland and Thomas Elliott succeeded to the business in 1886. Some 
years later Elliott bought it, and in 1909 it was purchased by Home 
Smith, who in turn sold out to H. Phillips. The first mill at Lambton was 
just west of this store, and was owned by Robert Cooper. It was built 
some years prior to Rowland's coming. Subsequently the Cooper property 
also passed into the Rowlands' hands. The old store was burned in the 
summer of 1915. Pen drawing, colored. Size 5x6. 

884 LYNDHURST The Widder Residence, Toronto, 1845-65 Me. 
Frederick Widder, a director of the Canada Company, came to Toronto in 
1845 as commissioner of the company, and took up residence at "Lynd- 
hurst." The entrance to this stately mansion was on Wellington place, 
the grounds extending south to Front, west of Brock street. The view 
given is that of the drawing-room, looking west. Mr. and Mrs. Widder 
were widely known for their hospitality, and entertained lavishly here 
until Mr. Widder's resignation from the Canada Company in 1865. The 
building has been for many years, and still (1917) is, the home of Loretto 
Abbey, Wellington street, west of Brock (Spadina) avenue. This part of 
Wellington street was known as Wellington place up to 1910. Pen draw 
ing, colored. Size 5x7. 

885 WILLIAM GAMBLE'S STORE, ETOBICOKE, 1888 Also known 
as Milton Mills Depot. The building, situated on Etobicoke side of tho 
village, on the north side of Dundas street, half way up the hill from the 
Humber River, was originally owned by William Gamble, who gave up 



143 

business in 1856, and was succeeded by Charles Bell and others. It was 
during the occupancy of J. G. Rogers, who conducted the business from 
1888-98, that this picture was taken. Since 1902 the business has been 
carried on by Fitzpatrick & Co. The post office used to be kept in this 
store, and was called Etobicoke. Pen drawing, colored. Size 5x6. 

886 YORK MECHANICS' INSTITUTE North-east corner Church and 
Adelaide streets, York (Toronto). The York Mechanics' Institute, or Society 
for Mutual Improvement in the Arts and Sciences, was established in 1830, 
and was organized on the principle of the Mechanics' Institutes of Edin- 
burgh and London. "The object of this society," the organizers announced, 
"shall be the mutual improvement of mechanics and others who become 
members of the society in arts and sciences by the formation of a library 
of reference and circulation, by the delivery of lectures on scientific and 
mechanical subjects, the establishment of classes for the instruction of 
members in the various branches of study and for conversation on subjects 
embraced by this constitution from which all discussion on political or 
religious matters is to be carefully excluded." The first meetings of the 
Institute were held in the old Masonic Hall, on Colborne street, near 
Church. Later the police building on Court street was used. About 1856, 
however, the Institute removed to the building shown in the picture, which 
is the front part of the present Central Public Library. On the passing of 
the Free Library By-law, January 1st, 1883, the Mechanics' Institute was 
merged with the Public Library. Water color. Size 5x7. 

887 HOMESTEAD OF DAVID WARD, SR., TORONTO ISLAND 

Rear view from the Bay side, showing also the outbuildings The original 
homestead was built about 1839 and washed away in 1855. The following 
year John Quinn built the present dwelling, which stands 1,500 feet north 
of the old site. The water shown in the foreground has been cleaned and 
dredged, and is now used as a waterway for boats. In the early days if the 
weather was bad and the bay could not be crossed by boats, Ward would 
hitch his horse to a little waggon and drive around the east end of the 
peninsula (now Toronto Island) and by way of Woodbine avenue reach the 
city. William Ward, second son of David Ward, Sr., was born in the first 
homestead and died in Toronto, 24th January, 1912. David Ward, Jr., 
died 18th February, 1912. Water color by J. T. Rolph, Toronto. Size 10 x 12. 
See 91)6. 

888 WELLER STAGE LINE FROM YORK TO KINGSTON, 1829 

Founded by William Weller According to a notice in the Upper Canada 
Gazette of January 14th, 1830, the Weller stages left York and Kingston 
at noon on Mondays and Thursdays, arriving on Wednesdays and Satur- 
days. In 1834 they left the coach office in the east end of the old Coffin 
Block, corner of Front and Market (Wellington) streets, for Cobourg and 
the Carrying Place. A steamboat met the stage to and from Kingston at 
the Carrying Place, which was at a point five miles from Trenton, Ont, 
between the head of the Bay of Quinte and Weller's Bay. The stage ser- 
vice was discontinued in 1856, after the opening of the Grand Trunk Rail- 
way. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 7x9. 

889 "TORONTO Drawn from nature by Aug. Kollner. Lith. by 
Deroy. Printed by Jacomme & Co., New York and Paris. Published by 
Goupil & Co. Entered according to Act of Congress in the year 1851 by 
William Schaus in the clerk's office of the district court for the southern 
district of New York." This is one of a series of pictures of British and 
American cities by Kollner. Lithograph, in color. Size 7 x 11. 

890 NORTHERN RAILWAY PASSENGER AND FREIGHT STATION 
Foot of Brock street (Spadina avenue), Toronto The buildings, which 
were erected in 1856, stood on the land below the embankment, Brock 
12 



144 

afreet In 1868 the passenger station was removed to the foot of West 
Market street but after the amalgamation with the Grand Trunk, in 1888, 
^e trains ran' from the Union Station. Water color. Size 5 x 9. 

89 1_MONTGOMERY, JOHN, 1784-1879 Prominent in Rebellion of 
1837 He was of Scottish descent, a son of Alexander Montgomery, who 
emigrated' from the neighborhood of Inverness, Scotland, to Stamford, 
C?nn AfterThe Revolutionary War he settled at Gagetown, N.B, and 
here his son, John, was born. The family removed to York (Toronto) m 
1798 John Montgomery served on the Niagara frontier during the War of 
1812* He succeeded his father in the hotel business on Yonge street, near 
the present Newtonbrook, and later moved to what is now Eglinton. Here 
he built the hotel which figured so prominently in the rebellion, and which 
was burned to the ground. Montgomery was identified with the cause, 
arrested, taken to Kingston, and, with others, imprisoned at Fort Henry. 
He escaped resided at Rochester for some years, but returned to Canada 
after the passing of the Amnesty Act. His death took place at Barrie, Ont. 
Water color. Size 3x4. 

892WHITE RIVER, ALGOMA DISTRICT A cold spot in winter and 
hot in summer White River, a post village of Northern Ontario, about 
three hundred miles east of Sudbury, is frequently quoted in the official 
weather reports, for the thermometer at times registers about 95 in summer 
and 59 below in winter. It is a divisional point on the C.P.R. (the head- 
quarters are at Schreiber), and is in district No. 3 of the Lake Superior 
division, which runs from White River to Fort William. Water color. 
Size 4x9. 

893 BURGESS, COLIN (COOL) Famous Canadian minstrel and 
comedian He was the pioneer in blackface monologue, his first appear- 
ance, travelling with the minstrels, being in the fall of 1858, when he 
toured with Denman Thompson, Pat Redmond, Harry Collins, and others. 
When at the height of his career he received a salary of $350 a week. 
Born in Toronto, 20th Dec., 1840; his death occurred in his native city, 20th 
Oct., 1905. Water color from original portrait made in 1878. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

894 CAER HOWELL, TORONTO Home of Chief Justice William 
Dummer Powell. Water color. Size 5x6. See 895. 

895 CAER HOWELL First house on Queen street avenue Home of 
Chief Justice Powell On 1st May, 1798, park lot No. 12, consisting of 100 
acres, west side of Queen's avenue, bounded on the south by Queen street, 
and on the north by College, was granted to Hon. William Dummer 
Powell. The house in picture is said to have been built in 1810, and occu- 
pied by the Chief Justice until 1820, when he removed to the north-east 
corner of York and Front streets. As early as 1845, Henry Layton kept an 
hotel at Caer Howell, the old Powell home forming a part of it. In later 
years this house was remodelled and eventually rebuilt. The portion of 
the property on which Caer Howell Hotel stood, was sold in June, 1911, by 
a descendant of Henry Layton, and resold the following November. The 
old building, the site of which was north of the present Orde street, was 
demolished in 1915. Pencil and pen drawing by William D. Powell, grand- 
son of Chief Justice Powell. Size 10 x 14. 

896-904 Sheriffs of Home District, Toronto and York, 
1792-1917 The Home District was formerly Nassau, Que., constituted by 
Lord Dorchester's Proclamation of 24th July, 1788. In 1792 the Home Dis- 
trict was organized and described as being between the Bay of Quinte and 
Long Point, Lake Erie. D. W. Smith, in his "Gazetteer of the Province of" 
Upper Canada," 1813, says, with regard to the district, that it "Is now' 



145 

bounded easterly by a line running northward from between Whitby and 
Darlington townships, on the Lake Ontario, to Talbot River, and from 
thence to the Lake Nipissing, westerly by the London district, and on the 
south by the district of Niagara and the Lake Ontario." From time to 
time the union of the various counties was dissolved, Simcoe leaving in 
1843, Ontario in 1853, and Peel in 1867, and independent corporations 
formed, until in 1887 York and Toronto separated, with Mr. Frederick 
Mowat as sheriff of the city. It has been impossible up to the present 
(1917) to locate portraits of Joseph Willcocks, sheriff of the Home District, 
1804-09, and his successor, Miles Macdonell, 1809-10. 

896 MAC DO NELL, ALEXANDER (HON.) Sheriff Home District, 
1792-1804 He was second son of Allan Macdonell, of Collachie, and was 
born at Fort Augustus, in Glengarry, Scotland, 1762. Served as lieutenant 
in Butler's Rangers during the Revolutionary War, member of the Legisla- 
tive Assembly for Glengarry and Prescott, 1800-1804, and Speaker, 1805. 
After his retirement as Sheriff of the Home District, he became agent for 
Lord Selkirk in establishing a Highland settlement at the Red River. In 
1812 he was Colonel of Militia, Deputy Paymaster-General, and later 
Assistant Secretary Indian Department. His death took place 18th March, 
1842. Water color from a portrait in possession of his grandson, Claude 
Macdonell, K.C., Toronto. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

897 BEIKIE, JOHN Sheriff, Home District, 1810-15 Water color. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 10. 

898 RIDOUT, S A M U E L Sheriff , Home District, 1815-27 Eldest son 
of Hon. Thomas Ridout, was born 7th Sept., 1778, in Hancock, Va., and, 
educated there. He came to Canada in 1797. His father, who was a 
junior official in the Government and later Surveyor-General of Upper 
Canada, obtained for him a post in the Surveyor-General's office, where he 
served many years. About 1800 Mr. Ridout bought for $2,400 the park lot 
of 200 acres between what is now Seaton, Sherbourne, Queen and Bloor 
streets, and sold the west half to his brother, Thomas Gibbs Ridout. The 
old home of the Ridouts was "Sherborne," in Dorset, Eng., hence the 
name of the street that bounded the west side of the park lot "Sherbourne" 
street. In 1827 Sheriff Ridout succeeded Col. Stephen Jarvis as registrar 
of the Home District, retaining the position until his death in 1855. Water 
color from a daguerreotype in possession of J. Grant Ridout, Toronto. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

899 JARVIS, WILLIAM BOTS FORD Sheriff, Home District (York, 
Simcoe, Ontario), 1827-56 Commanded a regiment of militia during the 
Rebellion of 1837, married in 1829 Mary Boyles Powell, granddaughter of 
Chief Justice Wm. Dummer Powell, and for many years resided at "Rose- 
dale," on the north side of Rosedale ravine, Toronto. Colonel Jarvis, who 
was the third son of Col. Stephen Jarvis, was born 4th May, 1799, and died 
26th July, 1864. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

900 JARVIS, FREDERICK W. Sheriff, Counties York and Peel, 
1857-67, and of York until 1887 Eldest son of Frederick Starr Jarvis, born 
7th Feb., 1818. Died April, 1887. He was deputy sheriff to his uncle, 
W. B. Jarvis, whom he succeeded as sheriff of the united counties of 
York and Peel. Simcoe and Ontario had in 1843 and 1853, respectively, 
left the union of the counties. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and 
shoulders. 

901 MOWAT, FREDERICK Sheriff, City of Toronto, 1887-1916 In 
1867 the Corporation of the County of Peel met for the first time, and in 
1887 York and Toronto divided, with Mr. Mowat as first sheriff of the city. 
He is a son of the late Sir Oliver Mowat, Lieut.-Governor of Ontario, 1897- 
1903, and was born at Toronto, 23rd Feb., 1851, educated at Upper Canada 
College, Toronto, and Gait Grammar School. Photograph, colored. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 



146 

902- -WIDDIFIELD JOSEPH H^ Sheriff of York, 1888-1906 Bora 
on lot 32, concession 3, Whitchurch County, 12th June, 1845; a graduate in 
medicine of Victoria University, 1869, of the Royal College of Surgeons, 
London, Eng., 1870, and of the Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh, 
the same year. From that time until 1888 he practised in Newmarket, 
Ont. As Liberal member for North York, Dr. Widdifield was elected in 
1875 and re-elected 1880, '84 and '87. For seven years he was Parliament- 
ary whip. His death occurred 2nd June, 1906. Photograph, colored, from a 
portrait in possession of his brother, W. C. Widdifield, Newmarket. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

903 DAVILJ.E, FRANK TURNER Sheriff of York, 1906-1913 He 
was born at Middleport, Welland County, 8th May, 1846, educated there, 
and subsequently became engaged in the tannery business. His death 
took place in Toronto, 27th June, 1913. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

904 McCOWAN, ALEXANDER Sheriff of York, 1913-17 He was 
born 27th May, 1853, in the township of Scarboro, first concession, lot 32, 
and was educated at Section No. 8 school, there. For many years he led 
the life of a farmer. He was in 1905 elected member for East York in the 
Ontario Legislature, resigning in 1913 to take the position of Sheriff of 
York. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

905 YORK, U.C. (TORONTO), APRIL 27TH, 1813 The picture 
shows the American fleet, commanded by Commodore Isaac Chauncey, 
landing troops prior to the bombardment of the Fort, at the west end of 
the to~w n, on the day of the capture of York. A detailed key gives the pro- 
perties of many of the principal residents of York at that time; also the 
location of all the military buildings and the residences of private citizens 
on the day of capitulation. The drawings of the United States armed 
vessels shown in the picture are exact in every detail, having been copied 
from originals in possession of the U.S. naval authorities at Annapolis, Md., 
and in Washington, D.C. Water color. Size 18 x 24. 

906 HOMESTEAD OF DAVID WARD, SR., TORONTO ISLAND 

Rear view from Lake Ontario side This dwelling, the second Ward home- 
stead, was built in 1856, and is still (1917) standing. Water color by J. T. 
Rolph, Toronto. Size 10 x 13. See 887. 

907 SITE OF PRICE'S MILL, ROXBOROUGH STREET, TORONTO 

The artist chose a pretty subject when he selected a spot near the ravine 
drive, RoSedale, where a bridge, which crosses Price's Creek, leads the 
pedestrian up the road to Toronto Lacrosse Grounds. The picture shows 
at the left hand corner the site of Price's old mill, and its water wheel, 
just east of where Roxborough street turns east to descend Mather's Hill. 
The creek was called Price's because it ran through the grounds of the late 
Hon. James Hervey Price, north of the Toronto Waterworks Reservoir, 
crossing Yonge street at Mount Pleasant Cemetery, and then finding its 
way through the Rosedale ravine. Water color by J. T. Rolph, Toronto^ 
Size 10 x 14. I i i 

908 OLD GENERAL HOSPITAL, YORK (TORONTO) About 1820 
a General Hospital was built in York from funds supplied by the Loyal and 
Patriotic Society of Upper Canada. It was a large, two-storey, brick struc- 
ture, situated at the north-west corner of King and John streets. At a 
subsequent date two other buildings, in the rear of the main structure, 
were added for fever patients. After the Houses of Parliament were 
burned in 1824 the Legislature met in the hospital until 1828, and from 
L856-9 it was used as Government offices. It was then unoccupied for 
several years, and in 1862 torn down and replaced by a row of brick 
dwellings. These were converted into the Arlington Hotel, which still 
(1917) stands. Pen drawing. Size 5x7. 






147 

909 BRIGHT HOUSE, TORONTO, 1820-94--The home of a York 
pioneer on Queen street east. The site is now (1917) occupied by Nos. 
696-712 Queen east. For nearly sixty years the old one-storey frame 
dwelling was the home of John Bright, a veteran of the War of 1812, and 
at the time of his death, in 1885, the oldest inhabitant of Toronto. Early 
in life he acquired the plot of land on the north-west corner of Yonge 
street, which he afterwards traded for the lot on which the house shown 
in the picture was built. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

910 KNOX, OR TORONTO ACADEMY It was a frame structure at 
the rear of the third home of Knox College, now (1917) the site of the 
Queen's Hotel, Front street west, and was intended as preparatory for 
Knox College. In 1846 the first principal of the academy was appointed in 
the person of the Rev. Alexander Gale, an eminent Presbyterian clergy- 
man, who afterwards kept a school at Logie Farm, Cook's Mills, six miles- 
south-east of Hamilton, for many years. When Knox College was removed 
to Elmsley Villa thelicademy building was moved still further to the rear 
and was used as an outhouse, storeroom and kitchen for the hotel con- 
ducted by Mr. P. Swords. Water color. Size 4x5. 

911 McGILL COTTAGE, TORONTO, 1803-68 At an early date Capt. 
John McGill obtained the park lot just east of Yonge street on part of 
which the Metropolitan Methodist Church and St. Michael's R.C. Cathedral 
now (1917) stand, the former on what was known as McGill Square, which 
was bounded by Church, Queen, Shuter and Bond streets. In this square 
Capt. McGill built the residence shown in picture. For a long period it was 
occupied by' Mr. McCutcheon, who, in accordance with his uncle's (Peter 
McGill) will, assumed the name of McGill. Further north, running east from 
Yonge street, is McGill street, named after the original owner of the pro- 
perty. Capt. John McGill was an officer of the Queen's Rangers, the corps 
commanded by Lieut.-Col. Simcoe. afterwards first Lieut-Governor of 
Upper Canada, and was with that corps during the American Revolutionary 
War. He became Commissioner of Stores for Upper Canada, 1793. In 1805 
he was Inspector-General for Provincial Parliament accounts, and in 1818 
Receiver-General and Auditor-General of Land Patents. Water color. 
Size 5 x 7. 

912 BELL'S (GERRARD STREET) BRIDGE OVER THE DON, 1860 

Below the Riverdale bridge, on the west side of the river, looking south- 
east. The structure received its name from Mr. John Bell, Q.C., of the 
firm of Bell & Crowther, and a director of the Don & Danforth Road Co. 
He was the owner of the property on the west side of Don street, facing 
the river, and was the moving spirit in having the bridge erected. The 
building, with the smoke stack, to the right, was William Parsons' oil 
refinery, No. 9 Don street, now (1917) the site of the Kemp Mfg. Company. 
The houses to the south were on Don street, in the vicinity of the present 
Munro and Hamilton streets. In the immediate foreground is a marsh. 
When Bell's bridge was erected, Gerrard, from Parliament to the Don, was 
known as Don street. Water color by J. Hoch, Toronto. Size 6 x 13. 

913 OLD LOG DWELLING, YORK (TORONTO) West side of 
Broadview avenue, north of Queen street It was at the time of its de- 
molition, in 1894^ one of the oldest houses in Toronto, and for forty-two 
years the residence of Captain James Sparks, who purchased the unpre- 
tentious, one-and-a-half-storey, low dwelling in 1840, clap-boarding it a few 
years later. There is a tradition which fixes the date of its erection at or 
about the same time as that of Castle Frank, one-time residence of 
Governor Simcoe. Captain Sparks, a Scotsman, emigrated to Canada in 
1818, and at an early age began work as a sailor on Lake Ontario, continu- 
ing that calling until his retirement. In his day he commanded many lake 
schooners, his last being the "Beaver," which was wrecked at Rochester 






148 

about 1865. For many years during the winter months, especially from 
1822-50 Capt. Sparks acted as tyler for the Masonic Lodge meeting in the 
Market Lane Hall. Water color. Size 5x6. 

914 OLD PEACOCK TAVERN, TORONTO It was a popular stopping- 
place for farmers on their way to and from the city, and was 
built about 1845 on Dundas street, near the red brick cottage of Mr. John 
Scarlett "father" of West Toronto Junction. It was long ago torn down 
and replaced by an hotel of the same name, corner Bradd and Dundas 
streets. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

915_FIRST SCHOOLHOUSE ON TORONTO ISLAND This view 
is from the east of the lighthouse, on the ridge east of the Public school; 
built 1888 burnt, 24th May, 1909, and rebuilt the same year a short distance 
west of the old site. Water color by J. T. Rolph, Toronto. Size 4% x 5. 

91 6 _ PR IVAT'S HOTEL, TORONTO ISLAND In 1843 Louis Privat 
opened as a hotel the summer residence built on the Island by Lord Syden- 
ham in 1839. A year later he was joined by his brother, Louis Joseph 
Privat, with his family. In connection with the hotel the brothers operated 
the "Peninsula Packet," invariably known simply as "the horse boat," 
and later the "Victoria," with a steam engine of 25 h.p., was built. In 1853 
Louis Privat removed to Durham, Grey County, where he kept a hotel 
until his death in 1860; and toward the end of 1855 his brother migrated 
to Bentinck Township, County Grey. When the brothers left the Island 
they were succeeded by John Quinn; but the site on which their house- 
stood is now covered by the waters of the eastern entrance to Tqronto 
Bay. Water color. Size 5x7. 

917 SLEEPY HOLLOW, TORONTO The home of Hon. John 
Beverley Robinson, built by him in 1849. It was a white, frame, roughcast 
house, surrounded by woods stretching down to Caer-Howell, and was situ- 
ated on the south-west corner of College street and University avenue. 
With the exception of the years of his term as Lieutenant-Governor of 
Ontario, 1880-7, Mr. Robinson occupied Sleepy Hollow from 1849 until his 
death in 1895. The old residence stood west of the present (1917) Toronto 
Conservatory of Music. Water color. Size 5x7. 

918 SOUTH-EAST CORNER KING AND BAY STREETS, TORONTO, 
1868-76 A business centre from the early days. In 1820 Jordan Post, 
watchmaker, had his store on this corner. From 1840-67 Jacques & Hay 
occupied a warehouse on site. Then James W. Gale, gents' furnishings, and 
R. Phillips, carver, carried on business, and rear of building, on Bay street, 
was used by Wm. Halley as a printers' emporium. These buildings were 
torn down in 1876. others erected, and in turn demolished. The Union 
Bank now (1917) stands on the corner. Water color. Size 5x7. 

919 UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, TORONTO South-east 

corner Bay and Richmond streets. The congregation met first in the 
March or Stanley (Lombard) Street Baptist Chapel, up to 1840. In 1841 
they purchased the Methodise Episcopal Chapel, Richmond street, and in 
1848 the new church at the corner of Bay and Richmond streets was 
erected. Rev. John Jennings, who came to Canada in 1838, was inducted 
pastor, 9th July, 1839. He resigned his pastorate in 1874. The church was 
in the perpendicular English Gothic style of architecture, of white brick 
with cut stone facings, having a square tower at the went end. William 
Thomas was the architect. In 1880 the property was sold to the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons, who installed offices therein. It was demol- 
ished in 1886 to make room for a new building, which was occupied by the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons, and also as an office building. In 1907 
it passed into the hands of the Continental Life Co., some storeys were 
added, and the structure became a prominent office building. Water color 
by F. V. Poole. Size 6x7. 



149 

920 MASH QUOTE H (FIRST) HOUSE, TORONTO This residence, 
built by William Augustus Baldwin in 1851, stood on what is now (1917) 
Avenue road, just south of Heath street. The building, demolished in 
1890, was of hewn timber, from the Baldwin estate, filled in with brick and 
roughcast. An elm tree, which stands in front of the site of the house, had 
a chain attached to a staple driven into the tree, to which horses were 
tethered. The chain was about a foot long when placed there about fifty 
years ago. To-day the tree has grown round all the links save one, which 
may still be seen by passers-by. "Mashquoteh" means in the original 
Indian, "a meadow," or "a clearing in the forest." Water color. Size 4x6. 

921 RUSSELL HILL, TORONTO Home of Captain (Admiral) 
Augustus Baldwin The residence shown was built by Captain Baldwin 
in the forties, on the west side of what is now (1917) Poplar Plains road, 
and on the site of the Nordheimer home. Augustus Baldwin entered the 
Royal Navy in 1794; was at Copenhagen, 1807; appointed to the "Tyrian" 
brig in 1812. On his retirement, in 1846, settled at Toronto, where he built 
Russell Hill. Water color. Size 5x6. 

922 OLD NATIONAL CLUB, TORONTO On the west side of Bay 
street, south of King. The club was originally organized, and headquarters 
established, to give the "Canada First" party a local "habitation." In July, 
1874, the charter was issued, the club rooms being opened the following 
March, with Prof. Goldwin Smith as first president. Membership increased 
to such an extent that new club rooms became necessary, and the Robinson 
House property, on the east side of Bay street, north of King, was pur- 
chased. The present building was erected there, the club formally taking 
possession on December 17th, 1907. Water color. Size 5 x 7. 

923 WRECK OF THE "MONARCH" The disaster occurred off Toronto 
Island about five o'clock in the morning of Saturday, November 29th, 1856. 
A heavy storm had arisen, and, in the darkness, Captain Sinclair, misjudg- 
ing his position, turned the vessel towards the city. Discovering his mis- 
take, he endeavored to turn out towards the lake again, but a heavy sea 
drove the freighter on to the shelving clay in rear of Privat's Hotel, not 
more than fifteen yards from the beach, and she stuck fast. Her deck load 
was completely washed off, the hold filled with water, and it was with ' 
difficulty that the crew got ashore. On the Tuesday and Wednesday fol- 
lowing a violent storm broke the "Monarch's" hull in three places and all 
hope of saving her was abandoned. A part of her machinery was re- 
moved, but the cargo was almost a total loss. In 1862 Captain Hugh 
Richardson, then Harbor Master, reported that the breach in the late 
peninsula was about half a mile wide, and that the old line of the beach 
had moved so far that the boiler of the wrecked "Monarch," once high and 
dry on the beach, was then in deep water about one hundred yards out in 
the lake. The "Monarch" was a new freight and passenger steamer, plying 
between Montreal and Hamilton, stopping at Toronto. With key. Water 
color. Size 9 x 11. 

924 KEARSNEY HOUSE ("DUNDONALD"), TORONTO East side 
of Yonge street, north of Wellesley Built in 1848 by the late William 
Proudfoot, a prominent merchant in Toronto, and president of the old Bank 
of Upper Canada. It was a large white brick residence, always noted for 
hearty hospitality and sumptuous entertainments. On one occasion Mr. 
Proudfoot presided over quite an extensive fancy fair, which was held in 
the drawing-room, a magnificent apartment, seventy-five feet in length by 
twenty-five feet wide. In 1862 Mr. Robert Cassels acquired the property, 
disposing of it in 1869 to Mr. Donald Mackay, who renamed the house 
"Dundonald." During the latter's occupancy the members of the General 
Assembly of the Church of Scotland in Canada were entertained there. In 
June, 1904, on the opening ofTine street now known as Dundonald, the 
dwelling was demolished. Water color. Size 5x7. 



150 

925 BISHOP MACDON ELL'S HOUSE, YORK (TORONTO) For 

some years after Miss Russell's death (sister of Hon. Peter Russell) her 
home on Palace (Front) street was occupied by Hon. and Right Rev. 
Alexander Macdonell, first Roman Catholic Bishop of Upper Canada. On 
his return from Europe in 1826 the brick dwelling on the south-east corner 
of Jarvis and Duchess streets became his residence. His private chapel, 
once renowned as the "soup kitchen," was a large frame building nearly 
opposite. The old house, which faces on Jarvis street, is still (1917) 
standing. Water color. Size 5x7. 

926 ST. PAUL'S HALL The old Town Hall of Yorkville On the 
west side of Yonge street, north of Bloor; erected 1859-60 by William Hay, 
architect, and William McGinnis, contractor. Until February, 1883, the 
municipal offices and Council Chamber were in use as such, but at that 
date Yorkville was incorporated with Toronto, being designated as St. 
Paul's Ward. From 1884 until 1907, when the new library building on 
Yorkville avenue was completed, the Council room was used as a public 
library. The clock in the tower was installed in 1889. Now (1917) the 
south wing, No. 856 Yonge street, is Dobson's stationery store; No. 858 is 
St. Paul's Hall, and 860, Police Station No. 5. Water color. Size 4x7. 

927 BOSTWICK HOUSE AND WAGON SHOP On what is now To- 
ronto's busiest thoroughfare Mr. Lardner Bostwick, a U.E.L., came to 
Canada from Baltimore in 1810, settling in York. He purchased, shortly 
after his arrival, about two acres on the south-east corner of King and 
Yonge streets, extending from King to Colborne, and from Yonge to the 
site of the King Edward Hotel. On part of this property, the present site 
of the hotel, his residence and wagon shop were located. Both 
buildings were of frame. Mr. Bostwick in his business did for the 
farmers of Upper Canada what in later years the Speight Co., of Markham, 
and the Bain Wagon Co., of Woodstock, did for the farmers of their day in 
Ontario. Water color by F. V. Poole. Size 5x7. 

928 AIKINSH AW Residence of Col. E. W. Thomson. It was occu- 
pied by Col. Thomson, a veteran of the War of 1812, from 1844-65. and 
enjoyed the distinction of being the first brick house built on Dundas road 
(street) between Toronto and the Humber. What is now Keele street ran 
as a concession from the present St. Clair avenue, west to Dundas, forming 
the eastern boundary of the farm of Aikinshaw. Water color. Size 5x7. 

929 OLD BLUE SCHOOL, YORK (TORONTO) Centre "Block D," 
built 1816. In April, 1807, after the passing of "An Act to establish Public 
Schools in each and every district of this Province," the Home District 
school was opened in York, at s.e. corner George and King streets. In 1813 
it was removed to a barn, corner King and Yonge streets, Dr. Strachan 
taking charge. A new building became necessary, and in 1816 the school 
was removed to the centre of College Square, north of present St. James' 
Cathedral. It was painted a bluish color, and for this reason was known 
as the Old Blue School, afterwards the Toronto Grammar School. In 1829 
the building was removed to the s.e. corner of New (Jarvis) and March 
(Lombard) streets, and used by Upper Canada College until 1831. The 
Grammar School was closed for some years and re-opened in 1834 in the 
old building. In January, 1864, it was held on the east side of Dalhousie 
street, just north of Gould, and in 1870 in old King's College, Queen's Park. 
The school was opened in 1871 in a new building on Jarvis street, now 
(1917) Jarvis Street Collegiate Institute. Water color. Size 5x6. See 2812. 

930 SOUTH-WEST CORNER KING AND BAY STREETS, TORONTO, 
1898 No. 55 King street, corner of Bay, is The Evening Telegram; No. 57, * 
George Harcourt & Sons, tailors; 59, R. Parker & Co., dyers; 61, National 
Watch Co.; 63, Mcllroy & Co., tailors; 65, P. Dwyer, tailor; 67, J. Hunter 



151 

& Co., tailors; 69, Bilton Bros., tailors; 71, R. Back & Son, boots and shoes. 
South of The Telegram building, on Bay street, was The Telegram Annex 
(the McGinn Restaurant), No. 102; then the old National Club, No. 98. J. 
H. Ames, tailor, was No. 96. Immediately south, No. 94, was vacant, and 
the Toronto Engraving Company occupied No. 92. The Bank of Toronto 
Is now (1917) built upon the site of the old building of The Telegram and 
adjoining properties on Bay and King streets. Water color. Size 9x12. 

931 FIRST RESIDENCE OF LIEUT.-COL. R. L. DEN I SON North- 
west corner Dundas street and Ossington avenue, Toronto. It was a pretty 
roughcast cottage, with verandah, facing on Dundas street, and occupied 
by Lieut.-Col. Richard Lippincott Denison until the completion of Dover- 
court in 1853. The old homestead was afterwards the residence of Dr. 
Thomas Savage for several years. Stores, Nos. 216-20 Dundas street, now 
(1917) stand on the site. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

932 BROCKTON TOLL BAR, TORONTO, 1852 North side of Dun- 
das street, between the present (1917) Sheridan and Brock avenues, close 
to the line between park lots 29 and 30. It disappeared when the boun- 
daries of the city were extended to the north-west. The first owner of 
the land on the north-eastern side of Dundas street, from Ossington to 
Brock avenues, was Lieut.-Col. G. T. Denison, of Bellevue, Toronto. Water 
color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

933 GWYNNE COTTAGE, TORONTO, 1848 Dr. W. C. Gwynne, an 
Irishman by birth, was, during the Rebellion of 1837, surgeon to one of the 
regiments of incorporated militia here, and for many years took an active 
interest in the medical department of Toronto University. The picturesque 
one-and-a-half-storey cottage shown in the picture was erected by him on 
the west side of Dufferin street, below .King. In style it resembled an 
Indian bungalow. Here Dr. Gwynne died in 1875, and his widow eight 
years later. A daughter, Miss Gwynne, died in the old homestead in 1910. 
The cottage was demolished in July, 1917. Water color. Size 5x7. 

934 PROTESTANT ORPHANS' HOME, TORONTO, 1864 When 

Jenny Lind visited Toronto in 1851, she gave a concert in St. Lawrence 
Hall, the proceeds of which were to be devoted to some charity com- 
memorative of the event. After some deliberation it was decided to found 
the Protestant Orphans' Home, and in 1854 a permanent site on Sullivan 
street was presented by Hon. Robert Baldwin and Hon. William Cayley, 
and a building erected. Rev. Stephen Lett, rector of St. George's Anglican 
church, and Dr. Rees, at one time Superintendent of the Hospital for the 
Insane, were among the founders of the institution. In 1882 the home was 
removed to Dovercourt road, and dwellings were built on the Sullivan 
street property. Pen drawing, colored. Size 5x7. 

935 CHECK TOLL GATE, 1857 It was one of the four toll gates on 
Dundas street, and for forty years stood on the north side of that highway 
at its junction with the concession now known as St. Glair avenue west, 
which extends from Dundas on the west to Yonge street on the east. In 
1894 the toll system was abolished in Ontario, and three years later the 
old check gate at Lambton disappeared. Water color. Size 5x6. 

936 OLD ARMORY AND DRILL SHED, TORONTO East side of 
West Market street, south of Front. When the old drill shed on the east 
side of Simcoe, which had its entrance from Wellington street, fell down 
about 1875, a movement to erect a new armory took definite form. In 
1877 the Queen's Own and 10th Royals (Grenadiers) used the West Market 
street building until the completion in 1895 of the present (-1917) Armories 
on University avenue, to the rear of Osgoode Hall. Pen drawing, colored. 
Size 5x7. 



152 

937 RESIDENCE AND BROOM FACTORY OF J. B. CAULKINS, 
TORONTO West side of Yonge street, near College, 1865. The site 
formerly belonged to Dr. James Macaulay, as did all the land on the west 
side of Yonge street from Lot (Queen) street to College. On his death it 
was sold to Dr. Clark, Yonge street, who built the substantial brick struc- 
ture shown in the picture, selling it almost immediately after its comple- 
tion to J. B. Caulkins, of Smith and Caulkins, brush and broom manufac- 
turers. Later the firm, which carried on an extensive business, became 
Caulkins and Sanderson. Stores now (1917) occupy the site. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

933 "BLIND" TOLL GATE, TORONTO North-east corner of Dundas 

street and the concession now (1917) known as Bloor street. It was a 
peculiar two-storey structure, with a covered way extending across Dundas 
street. Tolls were never exacted here from teams proceeding direct along 
Dundas, the gate having been erected for the purpose of catching people 
who drove along Dufferin street, north to the concession, thence proceed- 
ing west to Dundas on their way from Toronto, and thus avoiding the 
Brockton gate. With the extension of the city the "blind" toll gate dis- 
appeared. Water color. Size 5x7. 

939 NORTH SIDE OF KING STREET EAST, TORONTO, 1866 This 
view shows No. 24, the store of P. Paterson & Sons, hardware merchants; 
No. 26-8, the Globe office; No. 30, Forbes & King, exchange office; No. 34, 
J. B. Spafford, sewing machines. In the first floor of No. 34 were the 
rooms of the Y.M.C.A. in 1866. No. 36-8 were Lyman & Macnab, general 
hardware; No. 40, E. Harris, chinaware. The site is now (1917) Nos. 26-38 
King street east. Water color. Size 5x6. 

940 WEST SIDE OF TORONTO STREET, TORONTO, 1858 Show- 
ing the Post Office and Canada Permanent buildings. The structure with 
the Ionic columns was the seventh Post Office, 1852-73. The next building 
to the north is that of the Canada Permanent, the ground floor of which is 
now occupied by financial offices, and from 1857-98 the upper floor was 
used as a Masonic Hall. The red brick buildings to the north were the 
offices of the Toronto Mutual Fire Insurance Co. and F. P. Stow, broker. 
The Excelsior Life Co. building now (1917) occupies the site of the build- 
ings up to the s.w. corner of Toronto and Adelaide streets. Water color. 
Size 5x6. 

941-82 Presidents of the St. Andrew's Society, Toronto, 1836-1917. 

941 ALLAN, HON. WILLIAM President St. Andrew's Society, 1836-7 
Born at Moss Farm, near Huntley, Scotland, in 1770. On coming to 
Canada he settled at Niagara, but removed to York (Toronto) during the 
Simcoe regime. He was Post Master of York, 1816-27, and also fulfilled 
the duties of Collector of Customs. When the British America Assurance 
Company was incorporated in 1833 the first governor to be elected was 
the Hon. Mr. Allan. In the War of 1812-14 he served as lieut.-colonel in 
the militia. Was a member of the Legislature for many years, and of the 
Executive Council, 1837-8. He died in Toronto in 1853. Photograph, col- 
ored. Size 3x4. See 610, 3541. 

942 BUCHANAN, ISAAC President St. Andrew's Society, 1837-8, 
1840-1 Born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1810, came to Canada twenty years 
later, as a partner of the firm William Guild, Jr., Sons & Co. He was very 
much interested in reform, and as a Reformer was elected to a Toronto 
seat in the Legislature in 1841. He was well-known as a member of the 
firm Buchanan, Harris & Co., wholesale dry goods, of Hamilton, Montreal 
and Liverpool, which he established in Hamilton early in the forties. In 
1858, 1861 and 1863 'Mr. Buchanan represented the constituency of Hamil- 
ton in the United Parliament of Canada. His death occurred in Hamilton, 
Ont, in 1883. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 
1413. 



153 

943 McLEAN, HON. ARCHIBALD President St. Andrew's Society, 
1838-40, 1841-6 Came to York (Toronto) in 1808 to study law, and pursued 
his studies until the outbreak of the War of 1812, when he received a 
commission in the 3rd York Militia; fought at Queenston Heights and 
Lundy's Lane. Called to the bar in 1815, afterwards returning to Corn- 
wall, where he had received his early education, and practised there until 
1837. In 1820 he was elected to represent Stormont in the Legislative 
Assembly. He took up the duties of Puisne Judge of the King's Bench in 
March, 1837; in 1850 became Puisne Judge in the Common Pleas Court, 
but six years later returned to the Court of the Queen's Bench, becoming 
Chief Justice in 1862. He was born in St. Andrew's, Stormont. son of Col. 
Neil McLean, a noted soldier of Scottish birth. Judge McLean died in 1865. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

944 CAMERON, JOHN President St. Andrew's Society, 1846-8 
Born at Berwick-on-Tweed in 1810, of Scottish parents, his father being of 
the Clan Cameron of Lochiel. Subsequent to his emigrating to Canada he 
was teller in the Commercial Bank at Kingston, Ont., later coming to 
Toronto as first manager of that bank here. His death occurred in 1867. 
Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 583. 

945 RIDOUT, THOMAS GIBBS President St. Andrew's Society, 
1848-50 Born at Sorel, L.C., in 1792, and came to York (Toronto) with his 
parents four years later. In 1813 he became Deputy Assistant Commissary- 
General, holding that position until 1820; was one of the organizers of the 
Bank of Upper Canada, and filled the position of cashier in the bank. He 
was also the first president of the Mechanics' Institute, which later be- 
came the Toronto Public Library. Died in 1861. Water color. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

946 MORRISON, HON. JOSEPH CUR RAN President St. Andrew's 
Society, 1850-2 Studied law as a fellow student of Chancellor Blake, sub- 
sequently forming a partnership with him, which continued until Mr. 
Blake's elevation to the Bench in 1846. In 1843 Mr. Morrison became 
Clerk of the Executive Council, and was prominent in Political Reform 
circles. In 1853 he was appointed Solicitor-General for Upper Canada, and 
in 1856, Receiver-General. Made Registrar of Toronto, 1859, and three 
years later became Puisne Judge of the Common Pleas, being transferred 
to the Queen's Bench the following year. Mr. Morrison was born in Ire- 
land, 1816, though, of Scottish descent. Died in Toronto, 1885. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 3518. 

947 MORRISON, ANGUS President St. Andrew's Society, 1852-4 
Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1820. Was well-known lawyer in Toronto, 
and Mayor of the city from 1876-8. Previous to Confederation he sat in 
the Parliament of Canada as member for North Simcoe and Niagara. His 
death took place in Toronto in 1882. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head 
and shoulders. See 384. 

948 ARTHURS, WILLIAM President St. Andrew's Society, 1874-8 
He was born in Toronto in 1832, and on arriving at maturity became a 
member of the firm of Thomas & Arthurs, dry goods merchants. He was 
active in local militia circles, being made ensign in the Queen's Own Rifles 
in 1865, and retiring as brevet lieutenant-colonel in 1881, having attained 
that rank some years previously. During the Fenian Raid Mr. Arthurs 
saw active service. His death occurred in 1887. Photograph, colored. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

949 McMURRlCH, WILLIAM BARCLAY President St. Andrew's 

Society, 1876-8 Born in Toronto in 1842, the eldest son of the Hon. John 

I McMurrich. In 1866 he was called to the bar, and in 1879 represented St. 



154 

Patrick's Ward in the City Council; two years afterwards became Mayor 
for two terms. During his mayoralty he had the municipal by-laws con- 
solidated, and it was he who instituted the system of deposits by contrac- 
tors and duplicate contracts .as a guarantee. At the time of the Trent 
affair he joined the volunteer militia, and afterwards became captain of 
the Toronto Garrison Artillery. His death occurred in 1908. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 386. 

950 RAMSAY, WILLIAM President St. Andrew's Society, 1879-81 
Born at Dalkeith, near Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1835; came to Canada in 
1854, and carried on business as a wholesale grocer in Toronto. In 1882 
he retired and returned to Scotland, where he now (1917) resides. He was 
vice-president of the Toronto, Grey and Bruce Railway, which later merged 
with the C.P.R., and was also a director of the Imperial Bank. During his 
residence in Canada he took an active part in military matters. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

951 MICH IE, JAMES President St. Andrew's Society, 1881-3 Born 
in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, in 1828; he later came to Canada and entered 
the service of Alexander Ogilvie & Company, wholesale grocers, on King 
street west, Toronto, becoming a partner in the firm in 1852. Mr. Michie's 
name was prominently associated with the progress and development of 
the Toronto of his time. Founded the Home for Incurables here, and was 
also a member of the Council of Queen's College. Kingston. He died in 
1883'. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

952 GRAHAM, JAMES President St. Andrew's Society, 1S83-4 Born 
in Scotland and returned to that country about 1886. He was for many 
years manager of the Toronto agency of the City Bank of Montreal. His 
death occurred in Edinburgh, Scotland. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

953 C ATT EN AC H, A. J. President St. Andrew's Society, 1884-7 
Born at Laggan, Glengarry, Ont.; educated at L'Orignal, Que., and the 
University of Toronto. He studied for the bar, and from 1859-83 was a. 
member of the law firm of Crooks, Kingsmill & Cattenach, and later of 
Kingsmill, Cattenach & Symonds. In 1889 he was made a Queen's Counsel. 
Died 1890. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

954 WILKIE, DANIEL ROBERT President St. Andrew's Society, 
1887-9 Born in Quebec in 1846. In 1862 he entered the service of the 
Quebec Bank, becoming manager of the St. Catharines branch, 1867, and 
of the Toronto branch in 1872. On the foundation of the Imperial Bank ol 
Canada in 1875 he was made general manager, and in 1906 was elected 
president. He also acted as president and vice-president of the Canadian 
Bankers' Association, and president of the Toronto Board of Trade; was 
prominent in advocating^the establishment of a branch of the Royal Mint 
in Canada. During the Trent affair served in the volunteer militia. His 
death occurred in Toronto, Nov. 17th, 1914. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. See 639. 

955 CAMERON, HON. J. H I LLYARD President St. Andrew's So- 
ciety, 1854-5 Served with the militia on the Niagara frontier in 1837-8; 
was called to the bar in the latter year, and became reporter in the Court 
of the Queen's Bench in 1843. Three years later he became Queen's 
Counsel and Solicitor-General in Upper Canada, and from 1854-7 sat in 
Parliament as a member for Toronto. When Trinity University was 
founded, Mr. Cameron was appointed to the Faculty of Law. He was also 
president of the Provincial Insurance Co., of Canada. Born at Beaucaire, 
Languedoc, France, in 1817; died in Toronto in 1876. Photograph, colored. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 






. 155 

956 ALLAN, (HON.) GEORGE WILLIAM President St. Andrew's 
Society, 1855-6 Born in York (Toronto), 1822; a son of Hon. William 
Allan. Called to the bar in 1846. Elected Mayor of Toronto, 1855, and 
from 1858-67 was member for York Division in Legislative Council of old 
Canada. In the latter year he was called to the Senate. He was also 
Chancellor of the University of Trinity College from 1877-1901, and one of 
the original members of the Canadian Institute (Royal Canadian Institute, 
1914). Filled the position of chief commissioner of the Canada Company. 
Died in 1901. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 373. 

957 EWART, JOHN President St. Andrew's Society, 1856-7 Born 
at York (Toronto), 25th Feb., 1822. Died 2nd July, 1861. Educated at 
Market Lane Private School and Upper Canada College, of which he was 
head boy in his final year. He presented St. Andrew's Society, when 
president, with a ram's head snuff mull, which is still (1917) in use at 
lie society's" dinners. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

958 MACDONALD, ALEXANDER President St. Andrew's Society, 
1857-8 He was born in Ross-shire, Scotland, 1810, the oldest son of Hugh 
Macdonald; graduated from Aberdeen and Glasgow Universities, and in 
1835 came to this country as solicitor for the Canada Company. For some 
years he was a member of the firm of Macdonald & Brother, north-west 
corner King and Bay streets, Toronto, site of the present Mail building. 
Died Feb., 1863. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

959 HENDERSON, WILLIAM President St. Andrew's Society, 1858-9 
Carried on a grocery business in Toronto, and for some years acted as 
representative of the Hartford Fire Insurance Co. in Canada. In 1855-6 
represented St. David's Ward in the City Council. He was born in Halkirk, 
Scotland, in 1815, and in 1833 he emigrated to Canada. His death occurred 
in October, 1891. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

J 

960 MILLER, ROBERT SC HAW President St. Andrew's Society, 
1859-61 Son of John Miller, Alloa, a small town on the River Forth, Scot- 
land. Jn 1841, when quite a young man, he emigrated to Canada, and for a 
time was in the employ of Messrs. Cavillier & Sons, Montreal. Four years 
later he entered the service of J. D. Bernard, commission merchant, sub- 
sequently removing to Toronto, where he became a member of the firm 
of Miller & Foulds, wholesale dry goods merchants, Wellington street 
east. He died In Montreal in 1862. His son is Sir John O. Miller, Arkley, 
Herts. Eng. His eldest grandson, Godfrey Lyall Miller, of the Royal 
Engineers, King's Medalist at Woolwich, was killed at the Battle of the 
Aisne, Sept. 14, 1914. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

961 MICH IE, GEORGE President St. Andrew's Society, 1861-2 Born 
in Scotland in 1811, subsequently came to Canada, settling in Toronto. In 
1840 he became a partner in the business of Alexander Ogilvie & Co., the 
firm later becoming George Michie & Company, now (1917) known as 
Michie & Company, Limited. Mr. Michie's death occurred in London, Eng- 
land, in 1866. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

962 CLARK, DR. DANIEL President St. Andrew's Society, 1889-91 
Born at Granton, Inverness-shire, Scotland, in 1835, and came to Canada 
in 1841. Studied medicine and practised at Princeton, Ont., having previ- 
ously been a volunteer surgeon in the army of Potomac, under General 
Grant, during a part of the American Civil War. From 1875 until 1905 he 
was superintendent of the Provincial Lunatic Asylum at Toronto. He also 
wrote a number of books on medical and other subjects. Died in 1912, 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 



156 

963 THORBURN, DR. JAMES President St. Andrew's Society, 1891-3 
Born at Queenston, U.C., in 1830; studied at Toronto and Edinburgh 
Universities, graduating from the latter institution in 1855, and practising 
medicine subsequently in Toronto. Was at Ridgeway in 1866 with the 
Queen's Own Rifles, in the capacity of surgeon, and retired as surgeon- 
major in 1879. In 1895 he was elected president of the Canadian Medical 
Association, and two years later became nresldent of the Ontario Medical 
Council. His death took place in 1905. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

964 CASSELS, ALLAN President St. Andrew's Society, 1893-5 
Born in Quebec in 1847, the son of Robert Cassels, banker; called to the 
bar in 1871, and for a number of years was a member of the legal firm of 
Beaty, Hamilton & Cassels, later becoming senior partner in the firm of 
Cassels & Standish. His death occurred in Toronto in 1909. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

965 COSBY, ALFRED MORGAN President St. Andrew's Society, 
1895-7 Born in Pelham, Welland County, Ontario, in 1840, of U.E. Loyalist 
stock. In 1861 he entered the service of the Bank of Toronto and became 
manager of the Port Hope branch, but resigned in 1876 to become manag- 
ing director of the London and Ontario Investment Co. In 1882 he was also 
one of the charter directors of the Gooderham & Worts Co. He aided in 
the raising of the 48th Highlanders in 1891, and held the rank of senior 
major of the regiment from its formation. His death took place in Toronto 
in 1900. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

966 COCKBURN, G. R. R. President St. Andrew's Society, 1897-9 
Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1834; educated at Edinburgh University, 
continuing his classical studies in France and Germany. In 1858 he became 
rector of the Model Grammar School for Upper Canada. Shortly afterwards 
he was appointed to inspect the higher educational institutions of Ontario. 
In 1861 became president of Toronto University, which position he held for 
over twenty years. From 1887-96 he sat for Centre Toronto in Dominion 
Parliament. At the World's Fair. Chicago, 1893, represented Canada as 
Chief Commissioner, and the following year became president of the 
Ontario Bank. He died in London, England, in 1912. Photograph, colored. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 629, 3653. 

967 CLARK, SIR WILLIAM MORTIMER President St. Andrew's 
Society, 1899-1901 Born in Aberdeen, Scotland, son of John C. Clark, 
general manager of the Scottish Providential Assurance Co.; educated at 
Aberdeen and Edinburgh Universities, became a barrister in 1861, and a 
Q.C. in 1887; was one of the founders and first directors of St. Andrew's 
College for Boys, Toronto; was also director of the Metropolitan Bank, 
Consumers' Gas Co., and the Canadian General Electric Co. From 1903-8 
he served as Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario, and in 1907 received a 
knighthood. His death occurred Aug. 10th, 1917, at Prout's Nek, Me. 
where he was spending the summer. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. See 429. 

968 KENNEDY, GEORGE President St. Andrew's Society, 1901-3 
Born at By-town (Ottawa) in 1838; graduated from Toronto University in 
1857, and was called to the bar in 1865, practising his profession in 
Ottawa, and becoming a K.C. in 1902. In 1872 he received the appointment 
of law clerk in the Department of Crown Lands, Ontario, which position 
he held until his death in 1916. Dr. Kennedy wrote various works, "The 
Relation of Law to Science" being one of them. Photograph, colored. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

969 BROWN, HON GEORGE President St. Andrew's Society. 1862-4, 
1878-9 Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 475, 3386. 



i 



.157 

970 McBRIDE, JOHN President St. Andrew's Society, 1864-5 Born 
at Prescott, Ont., in 1836; studied law and was called to the bar in 
1855, subsequently practising his profession in Toronto until his decease 
in 1878. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

971 CASSELS, ROBERT President St. Andrew's Society, 1865-6 
Born in Quebec in 1843; died in Toronto, 18th Feb., 1882. Was called to 
the bar in Lower Canada in 1864, and two years later called to the bar 
of Upper Canada. On the organization of the Supreme Court of Canada in 
1875, he was appointed its registrar, and a decade afterwards became a 
Queen's, Counsel. He was one of the founders of St. Luke's Hospital, 
Ottawa. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

972 SMITH, ALEXANDER MORTIMER President St. Andrew's So- 
ciety, 1866-7 Carried on business as wholesale grocer in Toronto for many 
years, and was also well known in banking circles. Sat in the Parliament 
of Canada in 1862 as representative of East Toronto. Died in 1895. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

973 MACPHERSON, (HON. SIR) DAVID LEWIS President St. 
Andrew's Society, 1867-70 Born in Inverness-shire, Scotland, in 1818; 
came to Canada in 1835. He represented Saugeen Division, L.C., from 1864 
until 1867, when he was called to the Senate. In 1883 became Minister of 
the Interior, resigning in 1885. In 1868 he was appointed arbitrator for 
Ontario under the British North America Act, for the division and adjust- 
ment of debts, credits, liabilities and properties of Upper and Lower Can- 
ada, and in 1884 was created a K.C.M.G. He was also a director of Molson'g 
Bank, of Western Canada Permanent Loan & Savings, president of the 
Inter-Oceanic Railway Co., and a member of the firm of Gzowski & Co. 
Died 1896. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

974 WILSON, DR. (SIR) DANIEL President St. Andrew's Society, 
1870-2 Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1816; died in Toronto in 1892. In 
1843 he came to Canada and was appointed to the chair of history and 
English literature in Toronto University, becoming president of that insti- 
tution in 1881. Seven years later he was knighted. Sir Daniel was well- 
known as a writer of books, and was also prominent in philanthropic 
circles, the Newsboys' Home, Toronto, having originated with him. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

975 GORDON, JOHN President St. Andrew's Society, 1872-4 Born 
at Latheron, Caithness, Scotland, in 1822, but came to Canada when thir- 
teen years of age, settling in Grenville and then in Peterboro. Later he 
moved to Hamilton and established a wholesale dry goods business there, 
subsequently taking his uncle into partnership with him, the firm being 
known as Gordon, Mackay & Co. Later the business was moved to Toronto. 
Mr. Gordon was the first to establish cotton manufacturing in Canada, and 
was the founder of the Lybster Cotton Mills at Welland. He was also presi- 
dent of the Toronto, Grey & Bruce Railway, and director of many public 
companies. His death occurred in Paris, France, in 1875. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

976 NAIRN, ALEXANDER President St. Andrew's Society, 1903-5 
Born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1832. On the death of his father in 1851 he 
conducted the paternal business for several years, and in 1857 came to 
Canada. The following year he commenced business as grain commis- 
sioner and general merchant at Rockwood, Wellington County, Ont., and 
in 1874 removed to Toronto, four years later forming a partnership with 
his brother, the firm being known as A. & S. Nairn, wharfingers and coal 
merchants. In 1884 the partnership was dissolved, and Mr. Alex. Nairn 
practically retired from active business. In encouraging the development 
of the country and the promotion of branch railways, he was active, being 



158 

one of the first to ship grain over the Wellington County section of the 
Grand Trunk. He died in June, 1914. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

977_BAIN, JAMES President St. Andrew's Society, 1905-7 Born in 
London, Eng., in 1842, of Scottish parents; came to Canada with them 
early in life. Later joined firm of John Nimmo & Son, which became 
Nimmo & Bain, publishers, London, England. On the dissolution of the 
firm in 1882 he returned to Toronto, becoming first Chief Librarian of the 
Toronto Public Library a year later. He died in Toronto in 1908. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 645. 

978DAVIDSON, LIEUT-COL. JOHN I. President St. Andrew's So- 
ciety, 1907-9 Born in 1854 at Wartle, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, the son of 
Dr. Samuel Davidson. He came to Canada in his early days and subse- 
quently became senior partner in the firm of Davidson & Hay, wholesale 
grocers, Toronto; was president of the Toronto Board of Trade, 1890-91. In 
1891 was appointed to the command of the 48th Highlanders with rank of 
lieutenant-colonel, having organized the regiment. He died in Toronto in 
1910. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

979 McMURRICH, GEORGE President St. Andrew's Society, 1909-11 
Born in Toronto in 1844, the second son of the Hon. John McMurrich, and 
was engaged in the fire insurance business for the greater part of his life. 
From 1891-1913 he sat almost continuously in the City Council, and was for a 
time a member of the Technical School Board. His death occurred in 
Toronto in 1913. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

980 ALEXANDER, JAMES MACKENZIE President St. Andrew's 
Society, 1911-13 Born in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, in 1840, and subse- 
quently removed to Glasgow, where he was for a time employed in several 
large mercantile houses. At close of the American Civil War he emi- 
grated to Boston, Mass., later coming to Canada and carrying on a dry 
goods business in Cobourg and Brantford. Afterwards he became associ- 
ated with a wholesale millinery business, known as Alexander & Reid. 
Some time later Mr. Alexander formed a connection with S. F. McKinnon 
Co., Ltd.; president until his death, Sept. 19th, 1917. Photograph, colored. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

981 MICH IE, HON. LIEUT.-COL. J. FORBES President St. Andrew' 
Society, 1913-16 Born at Strathdon, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, 1867; cam 
to Canada in 1889, joining his brothers in the business of Michie & Com 
pany. On incorporation of the company in 1905 he became president 
Following the formation of the 48th Highlanders, in 1891, he was appointe< 
an officer, becoming hon. lieutenant-colonel in 1913. In 1911 was granted 
the Colonial and Auxiliary Forces Long Service Medal, ana In the follow 
ing year received the Colonial and Auxiliary Forces Officers' decoration 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

982 MOWAT, HERBERT M. President St. Andrew's Society, 1916-1 
Son of Rev. Prof. J. B. Mowat, of Queen's University. Born in Kingston 
April 9th, 1860; educated at Queen's (B.A., 1881; LL.B., 1886). Called to 
the bar, 1886; Q.C., 1899. Practises his profession in Toronto, and, for a 
time, was Assistant City Solicitor. Vice-President Crown Life Insurance 
Co. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

983 JAMESON, MRS. (ANNA BROWN ELL MURPHY) Distinguished 
authoress Born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1794; eldest daughter of D. 
Brownell Murphy, a miniature painter. She labored for the development 
of usefulness and mental culture of women in England, wrote many books 
and essays, chief amongst which are "Companion to the Public Picture 






159 

Galleries of London" and "Sacred and Legendary Art," and was herself an 
excellent artist. She married, about 1822, Robert S. Jameson, a barrister, 
who in 1833 became Speaker of the Legislature, Upper Canada,, was ap- 
pointed Attorney-General of the Province, and subsequently Vice-Chan- 
cellor. Mrs. Jameson joined him in Toronto, 1836, their home being on the 
west corner of Brock and Front streets. In 1838 they separated, and after 
travelling through United States and on the continent, Mrs. Jameson re- 
turned to England, where she died in 1860. Drawing in water color from a 
photograph in the Niagara Historical Museum. Size 7x9. Half length. 

984-1040 Presidents St. George's Society, 1835-1917 According to 
Walton's Directory of Toronto, 1837, the society was "instituted in 1835," 
and in that year Col. Joseph Wells became president. In 1824, however, 
the Festival of St. George was celebrated in York by a ball and supper at 
Thompson's Hotel, "numerously attended, nearly 200 ladies and gentle- 
men being present." (U.C. Gazette, April 29th, 1824). From small begin- 
nings the society is now (1917) a power amongst Englishmen in Canada. 

984 WELLS, (COL.) HON. JOSEPH President St. George's Society, 
1835 Born in England in 1773, and entered the 43rd Regiment of Foot 
when very young, serving in the Peninsular War and coming to Canada 
after the Battle of Waterloo. On retiring from the army he was appointed 
Bursar to Upper Canada College, and was also a member of the Legislative 
Council previous to the union of the Canadas in 1841. His death occurred 
in 1853. Water color from portrait by Hoppner Meyer, in possession of his 
granddaughter, Mrs. A. U. de Pencier, Vancouver, B.C. Size 3x4. Head 
and shoulders. See 3668. 

985 MACAU LAY, CAPT. (COL.) JOHN SI M CO E President St. 
George's Society, 1836 Born in London, Eng., 13th Oct., 1791, the eldest 
son of Dr. James Macaulay, a Scotsman, who came to Canada about 1792 
with the Queen's Rangers, and when York (Toronto) became the seat of 
Government instead of Niagara, settled in the former place. The son served 
in the Peninsular War at the sieges of Cadiz and Badajoz and Battle of 
Barrosa; became a colonel in^he Royal Engineers, and afterwards a mem- 
ber of the Legislative Council of Upper Canada. He died, December, 1855. 
Water color from a portrait in possession of his daughters, the Misses 
Macaulay, Exmouth, Eng. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 1668, 3317. 

986 DRAPER.. HON. WILLIAM HENRY President St. George's 
Society, 1837-8 Born in London, Eng., 1801. Nineteen years later he came 
to Canada, and prior to taking up the study of law taught school. In 1828 
he was called to the bar and the following year appointed reporter of 
the King's Bench. In 1837 he became Solicitor-General, afterwards achiev- 
ing the office of Attorney-General, U.C. Mr. Draper's Parliamentary career 
commenced in 1836, and he continued to take an active interest in political 
matters until 1847, in which year he became a puisne judge of the Queen's 
Bench. In 1854 he was created a Companion of the Bath; in 1856 became 
Chief Justice of the Common Pleas, and later Chief Justice of the Queen's 
Bench. His death occurred at Yorkville in 1877. Photograph, colored. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

987 JAMESON, HON. R. S. President St. George's Society, 1839-41 
and 1848 Admitted into the Society of the Middle Temple in 1818, and in 
1824 was appointed as a reporter in Lord Eldon's Court, five years later 
accepting a puisne judgeship in the Island of Dominica, B.W.I. Mr. 
Jameson married in 1826, Anna Murphy, daughter of an Irish artist. In 
1833 he removed to Upper Canada, having been appointed Attorney-General 
of the Province, and four years later became Vice-Chancellor. Died in 
Toronto in 1854. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

13 



160 

988 WAKE FIELD, WILLIAM President St. George's Society, 1842- 

44 Born in England in 1802, he later came to Canada and was one of the 

pioneer auctioneers of Toronto, his establishment for some years being at 
40 King street east, on what is now (1917) the site of the store occupied 
by John Catto & Sons, dry goods merchants. Mr. Wakefield's death oc- 
curred at Beechgrove Grange, Weston, Ont., 31st August, 1873. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 3376. 

989RJDOUT, GEORGE PERCEVAL President St. George's Society, 
1845-7 Born in Bristol, Eng., in 1807. He came to America in 1820 with 
his father, residing for a time in Philadelphia and New York, forming in 
the latter city a partnership in the hardware business with his brother and 
Messrs. Tarratt, of Wolverhampton, Eng. He afterwards came to York 
(Toronto), taking an active part in the Rebellion of 1837, and was captain, 
later becoming colonel of the 7th Battalion York Volunteers. From 1851-3 
he represented Toronto in Parliament. He was also one of the founders 
and a president of the Toronto Board of Trade. His death occurred in 
1873. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

990 WHITLEY, JOHN President St. George's Society, 1867 Prac- 
tised the profession of law in Toronto, being a member of the firm of 
Whitley & Esten, with offices on Church street. He subsequently removed 
to Denver, Col., and died there in 1892. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

991 CR1CKMORE, JOHN President St. George's Society, 1868 The 
Parish of Hales, Norfolk Co., England, was his birthplace in 1815. He sub- 
sequently came to Canada, and, after studying law, was called to the 
bar at Toronto in 1846, becoming prominent in legal circles here. His 
death occurred at Lakefield, Ont, on January 25th, 1894. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

992 YOUNG, JAMES President St. George's Society, 1869 He came 
to Canada from England, having been born at Bury Saint Edmunds, Eng., 
in 1821. Subsequently he became a produce and commission merchant on 
Wellington street east, Toronto, and died in this city in 1906. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

993 WOOD, SAMUEL GEORGE President St. George's Society, 1870 
Born 10th May, 1835, at Three Rivers, Que., where his father, the Rev. 
S. S. Wood, M.A., was rector. He was educated at Richmond Grammar 
School, Yorkshire, and at Trinity College, Toronto. Subsequently became 
a barrister, for many years being in partnership with Larratt Smith. Re- 
ceived LL.D., Toronto University. He died in Toronto in 1906. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

994 MASON, J. HERBERT President St. George's Society, 1871 and 
1891-2 Son of Thomas Mason; he came to Canada with his parents in 
1842, and was for some years an accountant with the Farmers' and 
Mechanics' Building Society, Toronto. In 1855 he organized the Canada 
Permanent Loan & Savings Co., eventually becoming president of that 
organization. He took a prominent part in the organization of the Canada 
Land Law Amendment Association, of which he was elected president in 
1883, and was a councillor of the Toronto Board of Trade for some years. 
He was born at Ivy Bridge, Devon, Eng., in 1827, and died in Toronto in 
1911. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

995 DAY, JAMES E. President St. George's Society, 1872 London, 
Eng., was his birthplace in 1825. A quarter of a century later he came to 
Canada, settling first in Hamilton, where he remained for about fifteen 
years, being secretary of the Hamilton Waterworks for the greater part 
of that time. In Toronto he was well known as the proprietor of Day's 
Commercial College. His death occurred in November, 1890. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 



161 

996 SPOON ER, JAMES President St. George's Society, 1888 Eng- 
land was the land of his birth in 1823. He subsequently came to Canada, 
being a pioneer tobacconist in Toronto, and in art circles had a reputation 
as an excellent judge of pictures. He died! in Toronto in 1907. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

997 WELLINGTON, W. E. President St. George's Society, 1889 
Born in Oshawa, Ont., in 1856. He formed the firm of Stone & Wellington, 
now carried on by his sons, in Toronto. He also took a military course 
and served in both the Fenian Raid and North-west Rebellion. Died in 
Toronto in 1910. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

998 PLEWS, DAVID President St. George's Society, 1890 He was 
born in 1846, and died in Toronto in 1910, as the result of injuries received 
in a street car accident. At one time he was a pumpmaker, and later 
became comxected with the Post Office Department. Photograph, colored. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

999 DRAYTON, PHILIP HENRY President St. George's Society, 
1893 The son of English parents, born in Barbadoes, B.W.I., in 1846; edu- 
cated at Cheltenham College and the Royal Military College, England. He 
was formerly an officer in the 16th Regiment, later becoming attached to 
the Royal Canadian Rifles and H.M. 76th Regiment. After completing his 
law studies in the firm of Bethune, Osier & Moss, Toronto, he was admitted 
to the bar in 1881. In 1907 he was appointed official arbitrator and referee 
for Ontario, which position he still (1917) holds, and is also Chairman of 
the Court of Revision. Appointed K.C., 1908. His son is Sir Henry L. 
Drayton. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1000 DAVID T. SYMONS President St. George's Society, 1894 He 
was born in 1862, and was the son of John Symons, founder of the Canada 
Landed Credit Company. He studied law, was admitted to the Ontario 
bar, and is now (1917) a member of the firm of Kingstone & Symons, 
barristers, Toronto. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1001 RIDOUT, PERCIVAL F. President St. George's Society, 1895-6 
Born in Toronto in 1856, the son of George Ridout. He was educated at 
Upper Canada College, and subsequently married a daughter of Sir David 
L. Macpherson, at one time a member of the Executive Council of Lower 
Canada. After a banking career, he retired, and now resides in London, 
England. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1002 WIDDER, FREDERICK President St. George's Society, 1849-50 
He was born in England in 1801, and came to Canada about 1845 as com- 
missioner of the Canada Company, of which company his father, Charles 
Ignatius Widder, was a director, and the offices of which were situated at 
the north-east corner of King and Frederick streets. Mr. Widder's death 
occurred in Montreal in 1865. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1003 RIDOUT, JOSEPH D. President St. George's Society, 1851-4 
Born in Bristol, Eng., in 1809. In 1831 he came to York (Toronto), and 
the following year became a partner with his brother, George Perceval 
Ridout, and Messrs. Tarratt, of Wolverhampton, Eng. On the retirement 
of his brother, James Aikenhead and Alexander Crombie were taken into 
the firm, and in T876 he himself retired. He was associated with the 
founding of the Toronto Board of Trade, and was vice-president of the 
Farmers' and Mechanics' Building Society, which closed its business suc- 
cessfully in 1853, and from which originated the Canada Permanent Loan 
& Savings Co. From 1833-67 he was an officer in the East York Militia, 
retiring as major. His death took place in 1884. Photograph, colored. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 



162 

1004 CUMBERLAND, LIEUT-COL. FREDERICK W. President St. 
George's Society, 1855-6 Born April 10th, 1821, and came to Canada in 
1847; was well known as an engineer and architect. He was for many years 
managing director of the Northern Railway, and from 1867-71 represented 
Algoma in the Provincial Legislature. He also held the rank of lieutenant- 
colonel in the 10th Royals, being the first to do so. His death occurred in 
Toronto Aug 5th, 1881, at his residence, north-east corner College and St, 
George streets, used 1912-15 as a temporary Government House. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 3711. 

1005 BILTON, GEORGE President St. George's Society, 1857 Born 
in York, England, in 1800, and subsequently came to Toronto, where h< 
and his brother, Thomas, commenced a tailoring business on King stree 
east about 1835. On the partnership being dissolved, George Bilton opene< 
a dry goods business, known as the "Golden Fleece," at the corner o 
Yonge and Richmond streets, now (1917) the site of Childs' Restaurant 
After conducting the business alone for some years he formed a partner 
ship, the firm becoming Bilton & Blakely. He died in Toronto in 1858 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1006 ROBINSON, HON. JOHN B EVER LEY President St. George' 
Society, 1858 Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 
374, 425, 3228. 

1007 BROWN, THOMAS President St. George's Society, 1859 Bom 
in Leeds, Eng., 1824^ died in 1875. Came to Canada early in life, entering 
the employ of the Furniss Waterworks and becoming secretary of tha 
company. About 1852 he engaged in the wholesale and retail grocery 
business, entering into partnership with Albert Berczy, the firm beini 
known as Thomas Brown & Co. Later he opened the Metropolitan Hotel 
King and Bay streets, Toronto, and in 1871 moved to the old Palaee Hote 
on Front street west. From 1858-9 he was a member of the Public Schoo 
Board; also president of the West Toronto Conservative Association fo 
several years. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1008 HARMAN, SAMUEL BICKERTON President St. George's 
Society, 1860. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 
381, 3556, 3568. 

1009 WRIGHT, FREDERICK President St. George's Society, 1873 
Eldest son of Capt. Francis Wright, Walworth Manor, Surrey, Eng.; born 
at Walworth Manor in 1822, and educated for the East Indian service; \ 
came to Canada when a lad with his parents, settling near Belleville.! 
Entered as a solicitor, May 26th, 1866, and called to the bar, Sept. 4th, 1880. | 
Died in Toronto in 1893, after having practised his profession here for a? 
number of years. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1010 COOPER, JAMES President St. George's Society, 1874 Came 
to Canada in 1847 from England, where he was born at Gainsborough,: 
Lincolnshire, in 1825. For a time he lived in Quebec, later removing to 
Toronto. Became a partner in the firm of Sessions, Turner & Cooper,! 
which eventually became Cooper & Smith, with branches in Montreal and 
Quebec. Afterwards returned to the land of his birth, residing for many 
years in Boston, Eng., where he died in October. 1915. Until his death he 
retained his membership in the Toronto Board of Trade. Photograph, col- 
ored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulderB. 

1011 OSLER, (SIR) EDMUND BOYD President St. George's Society 
1875 Born in Tecumseh, Simcoe County, Ont, in 1845. He commenced 
his business career in the Bank of Upper Canada, and on the failure oi 
the institution entered into partnership with Henry Pellatt, father of Sir 






163 

Henry Pellatt. Later he formed the firm of Osier & Hammond, financiers 
and stock brokers. He was president of the Toronto Board of Trade in 
1896, and has sat for Toronto in the House of Commons since that year. 
He received a knighthood in 1912. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head 
and shoulders. 

1012 MARSH, HERBERT T. President St. George's Society, 1876 
Born in Hamilton, Ont, in 1849, the son of the Rev. Thomas Marsh, of 
Norval, Ont. He was for a time a member of the hardware firm of McNab, 
Marsh & Coen, who in 1876 did business on Front street, Toronto. He 
now (1917) resides in England, where he is in business in London. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1013 TREES, SAMUEL President St. George's Society, 1877 Born 
in Walsall, Staffordshire, England, in 1838, and came to Canada in 1866, 
immediately engaging in the saddlery business. From 1880-3 he repre- 
sented St. Thomas' Ward in the City Council. He has also been actively 
connected with many financial organizations In Toronto. Photograph, col- 
ored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1014 WALTON, BENJAMIN President St. George's Society, 1878 
He was the son of the Rev. Jonathan Walton; born at Huddersfield, Eng., 
in 1819, and died in 1885. On coming to Canada, he successfully engaged 
as a builder and stonecutter, erecting amongst other Toronto buildings, the 
Customs House of 1841, the Bank of British North America, and a con- 
siderable portion of St. James' Cathedral. He also developed the Mel- 
bourne Slate Quarries in Quebec Province. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

1015 OSLER, HON. FEATHERSTON President St. George's Society, 
1880 Born at Newmarket, Ont., in 1838. In 1860 he became a barrister 
and fifteen years later a bencher of the Law Society. From 1879-83 he 
was puisne judge of the Common Pleas Court, and from 1883 until his 
retirement from the bench, in 1910, was a justice in the Court of Appeal. 
He was also appointed as a commissioner for the revision of the Ontario 
Statutes, 1885 and 1896. He still (1917) resides in Toronto. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1016 STAN WAY, GEORGE President St. George's Society, 1897 
Stoke-upon-Trent, Staffordshire, Eng., was his birthplace, in 1846. In 
1858 he emigrated to Montreal with his father; later engaged in the whole- 
sale grocery brokerage business, and in 1867 opened a branch in connection 
with his father's firm in Toronto. He continued to be identified with the 
concern until his decease in 1913. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head 
and shoulders. 

1017 GOODERHAM, GEORGE H. President St. George's Society, 
1898 Born in Toronto in 1868. During an active business life he has been 
connected with many of the financial institutions of the city. Commodore 
Royal Canadian Yacht Club, 1900-03, and subsequently vice-commodore. 
From 1899-1903 he was a member of the Public School Board, and since 
1908 has sat in the Provincial House as representative for South Toronto, 
seat "A," Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1018 MUSSON, GEORGE President St. George's Society, 1899-1900 
He was born in Toronto in 1836 and received his education at Toronto 
Academy and Upper Canada College. He is interested in military matters, 
being at one time a captain in the 10th Royals. In 1887 was appointed 
Vice-Consul for Brazil, and in 1898 became president of the "Veterans of 
1866 Association." Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 



164 

1019 TAYLOR, JOHN President St. George's Society, 1901-2 His 

birth occurred in 1840, and he died in 1908. For many years he was the 
head of the well-known firm of John Taylor & Company, Limited, manu- 
facturers of soaps and perfumes. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head 
and shoulders. 

1020 COPP, JOHN CHARLES President St. George's Society, 1903 

Born in Great Torrington, England, in 1839, and came to Canada with 

his parents in 1842, settling with them in Toronto. He was for many years 
connected with the firm of Jacques & Hay, and in 1884 became secretary- 
treasurer of the Toronto Silver Plate Co., resigning from the latter com- 
pany eleven years later to become manager of the Toronto Land & Invest- 
ment Corporation. This position he held until his death in 1904. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1021 TIPPET, WILLIAM H. President St. George's Society, 1904 
Born in 1851 at Bear Island, York County, New Brunswick, the fourth son 
of the rector of the Parish of Queensbury, Rev. W. H. Tippet. He was 
engaged in various mercantile pursuits in Canada and England, and also 
in Central America. In 1892 he was made and still (1917) is Toronto 
representative of the firm of Arthur P. Tippet & Company, Montreal. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1022 HARMAN, GEORGE F. President St. George's Society, 1905-6 
Came to Toronto with his parents shortly after his birth in the Island of 
Grenada, B.W.I. He was educated at Trinity College, Toronto, and subse- 
quently called to the bar. During the lifetime of his father, Samuel B. 
Harman, he was associated with him in the practice of his profession; 
took part in the revision of the Statutes of Ontario. He still (1917) 
resides in Toronto. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1023 DODGSON, ROBERT President St. George's Society, 1861 
Was born in Carlisle, Cumberland, Eng., in 1832. From 1853-68 he was 
prominent in Toronto business circles, being a member of the firm of 
Dodgson, Shields & Morton, grocers and confectioners, south-west corner 
of Yonge and Temperance streets. He died in England in 1889. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1024 BEACH ALL, JAMES President St. George's Society, 1862 He 
was born in England in 1810, and subsequently came to Toronto where he 
was engaged as a railway contractor for many years. His death occurred 
in Toronto, 17th May, 1867. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1025 PHI PPS, WILLIAM B.^President St. George's Society, 1863 
He was the son of Thomas Phipps, a York pioneer, and was well known 
as a banker and exchange broker on Toronto street, Toronto, conducting 
his business at the old York Chambers, ODDosite the Quebec Bank. He 
was born in 1808, and died in Toronto in 1881. Photograph, colored. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1026 KINGSFORD. WILLIAM President St. George's Society, 1864 
Born in London, Eng., 1819. Came to Canada with 1st Dragoon Guards. In 
1841 he left the army and became attached to the City Surveyor's office, 
Montreal, subsequently becoming Deputy City Surveyor, which position he 
held for three years. For a time he was part proprietor of the Montreal 
Times, and on its discontinuance, was for two years on the engineering 
staff of the Department of Public Works, during this time completing an 
important survey in connection with the Lachine Canal. In 1849 he went 
to the United States, and, on his return to Canada, entered the service of 
the Grand Trunk, resigning to become Chief Engineer of Toronto. A few 
months later, however, he returned to the Grand Trunk. For some years 



I 



165 

he had charge of the harbors of Ontario and Quebec. Wrote a history of 
Canada in ten volumes^ and a number of other works. Died in 1898. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 2783. 

1027 SPR ATT, ROBERT President St. George's Society, 1865 and 
1879 Born in 1821. For some years conducted business as a flour dealer 
and commission merchant on Church street, Toronto, and also was a mem- 
ber of the Board of Trade. His death occurred In Toronto in 1899. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1028 BO YD, WILLIAM THOMAS President St. George's Society, 
1866 He was a native of England, being born there in 1829, and came to 
Canada with his parents about 1836. Received his education at Upper 
Canada College, and later at Toronto University. Took up the study of 
law, and called to the bar in Hilary term, 1857. Mr. Boyd's death occurred 
ia Toronto, Aug. 23rd, 1916. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and 
shoulders. 

1029 ALLWORTH, JOHN J. President St. George's Society, 1881 
His birthplace was Greenwich, County of Kent, England, where he first 
saw the light of day in 1821. He subsequently came to Canada and engaged 
in business in Bond street, Toronto, as a publisher and bookseller. His 
death occurred in Toronto in May, 1900. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

1030 VIRTUE, GEORGE President St. George's Society, 1882 He 
came to America in 1870, and engaged in the publishing business in New 
York. Later removed to Toronto, following the same line of business here, 
and continuing it until his death in March, 1894. He was born at Bristol, 
Eng., in 1828. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head! and shoulders. 

1031 CUMBERLAND, F. BARLOW President St. George's Society, 
1883 Son of Lieut.-Col. F. W. Cumberland, was born in Portsmouth, Eng., 
1846, and came to Canada with his parents in 1847; studied law, but aban- 
doned it for a business career in 1870. He was one of the founders of the 
Niagara Navigation Co. in 1880, and was for some years in the service of 
the Great Western Railway, later becoming freight and passenger agent 
for the Northern Railway, and traffic manager of the Lake Superior Steam- 
ship Line (afterwards amalgamated with the C.P.R.) ; served during the 
Fenian Raid, and was a captain in 10th Royals. He was the author of 
"The Northern Lakes of Canada," "History of the Union Jack," and "Flags 
of the Empire." His death occurred in 1914. Photograph, colored. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. See"3712. 

1032 ELLIOT, ROBERT WATT President St. George's Society, 
1884 He was the eldest son of William Elliot, and was born in 1835 in 
the Township of Eramosa, in what was then known as Canada West* His 
education was received at the Dundas Academy and Toronto Medical 
School. For many years he was a member of the firm of Elliot & Com- 
pany, druggists. He died in Toronto in 1905. Photo-graph, colored. Sizo 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1033 SYMONS, HARRY President St. George's Society, 1885-6 He 
was born at Dartmouth, Devon, Eng., in 1854, and was educated in England 
and at the York County Grammar School; studied law, and in 1875 was 
called to the Ontario bar, becoming advocate in the North-west Terri- 
tories in 1890. For a number of years he practised his profession in 
Toronto, and was at one time M.P. for Stratford, Ont. He was also presi- 
dent of the National Agency Co., and of the Niagara Welland Power Co., 
and an officer in the 10th Royals. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head 
and shoulders. 



166 

1034 BEARDMORE, GEO. W. President St. George's Society, 1887 
He was born in Hamilton, Ont., in 1851, and was educated at Upper Canada 
College and in England. He was one of the originators and a director of 
the National Life Assurance Co., which was organized in 1899. He was 
also a promoter of the Ottawa & French River Railway, and a promoter 
and director of the Ontario Jockey Club. He still (1917) resides in To- 
ronto. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1035 GANDER, JOHN M President St. George's Society, 1907-8 
He was born in London, Eng., 1844, and came to Toronto in 1870. Seven 
years later returned to England, but after spending a decade in the Old 
Land removed again to Toronto. President Toronto Builders' Exchange 
and a trustee of the Technical School. He died at Bournemouth in 1910. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1036 HUDSON, R. S. President St. George's Society, 1909-10 Born 
at Chelsea, Que., in 1843, of U.E. Loyalist ancestry; educated at U.C.C. and 
Toronto University. Mathematical master at Brockville Grammar School, 
and, later, head master at Lyn school, and manager of the Lyn Tannery 
and Mills. Subsequently superintendent of the Canada Permanent Loan & 
Savings Co., and now (1917) is joint general manager of the Canada 
Permanent. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1037 HARM AN, DAVIDSON M. President St. George's Society, 
1911-12 Born at Croydon, Surrey, Eng.; educated at U.C.C. , and served 
with the Q.O.R. during the Fenian Raid. Now (1917) he is associated with 
the firm of Osier & Hammond, stock brokers, Toronto. Photograph, col- 
ored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1038 FRAN KLAND, H. R. President St. George's Society, 1913-14 
Born in Collingwood, Ont., 1858, and educated at Collingwood Grammar 
School and Todmorden Public school. For some time engaged in the whole- 
sale butcher and cattle business, but since 1899 has been collector of Inland 
Revenue, Toronto. Photo-graph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1039 NICHOLSON, JAMES President St. George's Society, 1915-16 
Born in Liverpool, England, 1861; educated at a private school in Cheshire. 
Came to Canada in 1891, four years later locating in Toronto, where he still 
resides. He is (1917) head of the firm of Nicholson & Brock. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1040 RAWLINSON, MARMADUKE President St. George's Society, 
1917 Born at Sepsey, Lincolnshire, Eng., May 5th, 1853; educated at a 
Church school, Mintin Park, near Lincoln. In 1883 came to Canada, 
settling in Toronto, where he commenced his present (1917) cartage and 
storage business. Elected to the Board of Education, 1901, continuing on 
the Board for nine years. Member City Council, 1912-13. Water color. 
Size_3 x 4. Head and shoulders. 

1041 JACKES, FRANKLIN, YORK (TORONTO) 1804-52 In 1824 Mr. 
Jackes emigrated from England to York. Removed to Eglinton twelve years 
later. In 1834 represented St. David's Ward as alderman, and on taking up 
residence in Eglinton became Reeve of York Township, Warden of the 
County, and in 1837 Justice of the Peace. Water color. Size 3x4. Half length. 

1042 ROSS, CHARLES SMITH, 1815-76 For many years cashier and 
manager of the Commercial Bank, Kingston, and from 1871-6 held the ap- 
pointment of Asst. Receiver-General at Toronto. During his term the Pro- 
vincial Government was -given control of the management of the Toronto 
General Hospital, and Mr. Ross became a member of the Board of Trustees. 
In 1875 he assumed the chairmanship. Amongst other things, he decided 
that municipalities must pay a daily rate, allotted a certain number of free 
beds and induced the Ontario Government to give a per diem grant. After 



167 

the death of Mr. Ross his colleagues adopted his policy, which had proven 
very satisfactory. Water color from a portrait in possession of his son, 
Charles Ro'ss, oF"Newmarket, Ont. Size 3y 2 x 4. Head and shoulders. 

1043 MACKENZIE, MRS. WM. LYON (ISABEL BAXTER), 1802-73 
A native of Dundee, Scotland In 1822 she came to Canada, and that same 
year married, at Montreal, Wm. Lyon Mackenzie, then of the firm of Mac- 
kenzie & Lesslie, Dundas, U.C. When the storm of the Rebellion of 1837-8 
burst, and Mackenzie and his fellow insurgents ensconced themselves on 
Navy Island, Mrs. Mackenzie joined her husband, being the only woman on 
the island. She arrived there shortly before the destruction of the steamer 
"Caroline," and for a time made cartridges for the rebels with her own 
hands. In 1868 the Ontario Legislature voted Mrs. Mackenzie, then a widow, 
$4,000 in payment of a debt due her late husband by the old Province of 
Upper Canada. Water color from oil in possession of her daughter, Mrs. 
John King, Toronto. Size 5x7. Head and shoulders. 

1044 POWELL, MRS. WILLIAM DUMMER (ANN MURRAY) Born 
in 1758, the daughter of Dr. J. Murray, Norwich, Eng., of the family of 
Murray, of Philiphaugh. In 1773 she married Wm. Dummer Powell (Chief 
Justice). During Mrs. Simcoe's sojourn at Niagara she and Mrs. Powell 
were personal friends. For many years the latter resided in Toronto. Died 
6th March, 1849. Water color from portrait in possession of her great- 
grandson, Aemilius Jarvis, Toronto. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

1045 MASSEY, HART A., 1823-96 -Founder and donor of Massey 
Music Hall, Toronto Born in Township of Haldimand, Northumberland 
County, Ont. At the age of nineteen entered Victoria College, and two 
years later took charge of his father's extensive farm, teaching during the 
winter. In 1851 he became superintendent of the agricultural implement 
works of his father, Newcastle, Ont., and on the retirement of Mr. Massey, 
sr., in 1855, sole proprietor. In 1870 he was made president of the Massey 
Manufacturing Co., incorporated that year. The entire business was re- 
moved to Toronto in 1879, and in 1891 the firm became the Massey-Harris 
Co., Ltd., Mr. Massey still retaining the presidency. The first mowing 
machine manufactured in Canada was produced at the Newcastle works in 
1852, as were the first self-rake reaper and first automatic self-dumping 
horse-rake several years later. Mr. Massey was a munificent philanthropist. 
Water color from portrait in possession of his son, Chester D. Massey, 
Toronto. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1046 GOODERHAM, WILLIAM, SR., 1790-1881 A native of Scole, 
Norfolk, Eng., but spent his early days under the care of a relative engaged 
in the East India trade in London. As a young man, enlisted in the Royal 
York Rangers, and went with that regiment to the West Indies; at Martin- 
ique and Guadaloupe. On leaving the army in 1832, emigrated to Canada. 
Almost immediately formed a~l>artnership in York, with his brother-in-law, 
Jas. Worts. After the death of the latter he took into partnership James G. 
Worts, son of his first partner, and this connection continued until Mr. 
Gooderham's death. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1047 GOODERHAM, WM., JR. Born in England, April 14th, 1824; 
came to York (Toronto) with his father. Was engaged in various business 
enterprises. For a time managing director of the Toronto & Nipissing 
(Midland) Railway, but devoted his later years entirely to religious and 
philanthropic work. On his death, Sept. 12th, 1889, he left his entire 
estate for charitable purposes. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1048 GOODERHAM, GEORGE Born in Norfolk, Eng., March 14th, 
1830, third son of William Gooderham, sr. At an early age entered the 
employ of the firm of Gooderham & Worts, millers and distillers, and 
after the firm was made a joint stock company he became president. 
Elected president of the Bank of Toronto, 1882; also connected with 



168 

various other financial concerns. An enthusiastic yachtsman; one of the 
owners of the "Canada," which won the international championship at 
Water color. Size 3x 4. Head and shoulders. 

1049 WORTS, JAMES G. Born in England in 1818; came to Canada 
with his father in 1831, and from 1845 until his death was an active member 
of the firm of Gooderham & Worts, millers and distillers. For many years 
he was vestry clerk of Trinity (Anglican) Church, King street east. Served 
also as Harbor Commissioner for a time. Died, 1882. Water color. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1050 BALDWIN, HON. ROBERT, 1 804-58 "Father of Responsible 
Government" in Canada Photogravure from a contemporary photograph. 
Size 5x6. Oval. See 269, 271, 461. 

1051 FERGUS, U.C. This view was made in 1835 from the large 
field, now owned by Mr. Robert Monro. The positions are not exact. For 
instance, St. Andrew street runs along the front of the building marked 4, 
while St. Patrick street is above the figure 8. The key, kindly made by 
Mr. J. C. Templin, Fergus, gives the principal buildings at the period: 1, 
Mill; 2, Distillery; 3, Dry kiln; 4, Storehouse and granary; 5, Webster's 
home; 6, Peter McLaren's; 7, Hedley and Dryden's houses; 8, Mathews' 
house; 9, Morrison's (tailor) house; 10, Archie Patterson's; 11, Baker 
Walker's; 12, Watts', Grant's and school close to church; 13, St. Andrew's 
Church; 14, James Edwards' and Sergt. Matthew's; 15, St. Andrew's Manse; 
16, Provost Buist's farm. From a drawing by Miss J. D. Fordyce. Litho- 
graphed by Forrester & Nichol, Edinburgh. In color. Size 8 x 13. 

1052 SOUVENIR BADGE Designed for the occasion of the laying 
of the cornerstone of the Municipal Buildings, Toronto, Nov. 21st, 1891 
The present (1917) Municipal Buildings on Queen street, at the head of 
Bay, were erected between 1891 and 1900, E. J. Lennox being the architect. 
The corner-stone was laid by Edward F. Clarke, M.P., then Mayor. On 
Sept. 18th, 1899, the building was formally opened, and in 1901 the old City 
Hall on Front street was vacated. 

1053 FERGUS, U.C., 1837 From "Belsyde," Union street "Belsyde," 
the point from which the picture was made, was formerly the property of 
the late A. D. Ferrier and John Beattie, and now owned by E. C. Robarts, 
manager Imperial Bank, Fergus. The village of Fergus is situated on the 
Grand River, in Wellington County, sixteen miles north of Guelph. A key 
to the picture gives the principal points, as follows: 1, Farm barn; 2, St. 
Andrew's Hotel; 3, Mill on Grand River; 4, Watt's house; 5, Granary, St. 
Andrew street; 6, Schoolhouse; 7, Houston's; 8, James Morrison's (tailor); 
9, St. Andrew's Church on George street; 10, Frame of barn; 11, Cooper's 
shop, St. Andrew street; 12, Grant's house; 13, Walker's (baker) house in 
Provost lane; 14, Mennie's house; 15, Home of James Edwards; 16, 
Brewery; 17, Provost Buist's; 18, Owen Sound road; 19, A. D. Ferrier's. 
Water color. Size 6 x 11. 

1054 NORTH-WEST MOUNTED POLICE, 1880 In the summer of 
1872 Col. Robertson-Ross, adjutant-general, was despatched by the Cana- 
dian Government to make "a reconnaissance of the North-west provinces 
and Indian territories of the Dominion," and in the following year a bill 
was introduced in the Dominion Parliament by Sir John A. Macdonald, 
respecting "the administration of justice and the establishment of a police 
force in the North-West Territories." Recruiting for the North- West Mounted 
Police was begun in the autumn of 1873, and in 1874, with Lieut.-Col. 
George A. French commanding, the force commenced operations. A whole- 
some respect for these "riders) of the plains" was speedily instilled in the 
minds of Indian and white man, and the force became a power for law and 



169 

order in the prairie lands. In 1904 the title "Royal" was conferred upon 
the N.W.M.P. Water color from original drawing by Schell and Hogan, for 
"Picturesque Canada." Size 5x7. 

1055 TORONTO LACROSSE CLUB With key "The Toronto La- 
crosse Club. Champions of Canada. General view of the Lacrosse Grounds, 
Canadian Illustrated News, 25th March, 1876." It was founded in June, 
1867, by Mr. George Massey, the first meeting being held in the old Vic- 
toria Rink at the south-west corner of Sherbourne and Gerrard streets. 
Mr. (Sir) William D. Otter was the first president. The old club was a 
strictly amateur one, all the members paying their own expenses while 
travelling. They originally played in Queen's Park, where the present 
(1917) Parliament Buildings stand, afterwards using the Toronto Cricket 
Grounds, on College street, which ran from Beverley to McCaul. Later 
they played on the Jarvis Street Lacrosse Grounds (shown in the picture). 
They then removed to South Rosedale, and eventually purchased the 
present Rosedale grounds. The team was afterwards a professional one, 
known as the Toronto Lacrosse and Athletic Association. Pen drawing, col- 
ored. Size 9 x 13. See 1056. 

1056 TORONTO LACROSSE CLUB Key to: 1, Col. W. D. 
Otter, C.M.G.; 2, Geo. Massey (father and founder of the T.L.C.) ; 3, C. E. 
Robinson; 4, C. H. Nelson; 5, J. Massey; 6, J. B. Henderson; 7, Col. J. L. 
Hughes; 8, Col. R. B. Hamilton; 9, T. Mitchell; 10, W. O. Ross; 11, H. E. 
Suckling; 12, C. McVittie; 13, T. Hodgetts; 14, J. McEachren; 15, Henry 
Langlois; 16, F. B. Ross; 17, H. Ross; 18, F. Peters; 19, R. H. Mitchell; 20, 
Henry Alexander; 21, H. Larmie; 22, E. Brown; 23, R. Wells; 24, K. 
Edwards; 25, "Tiny" Ellis; 26, R. Conron; 27, J. B. Boustead; 28, Geo. 
Wheeler; 29, J. L. Blaikie; 30, J. Crowther; 31, T. LownsDorough; 32, A. 
Muirhead; 33, George Milligan; 34, J. Pearson; 35, R. Pearson; 36, R. H. 
Bowes; 37, R. McKinley; 38, Major Foster; 39, J. Earskin; 40, J. Kniften; 
41, R. Patton; 42, R. Duff; 43, Geo. Suckling; 44, R. Steele; 45, Prof. Tor- 
rington; 46, J. Davis; 47, Michael Sutherland; 48, D. Ross; 49, W. Bonnell; 
50, R. W. Sutherland; 51, D. Hogg; 52, C. Cobban; 53, T. 
Rolph; 54, A. Boyd; 55, Nicholson Henderson; 56, Colonel 
Sherwood; 57, E. Butler; 58, James Boomer; 59, H. Leech; 60, F. 
Lord; 61, George Boyd; 62, R. Inglis; 63, W. J. Suckling, president 1889-93, 
1895-7; 64, W. H. Lowe; 65, D. Denison; 66, A. Nordheimer; 67, E. S. Cox; 
68, F. Stewart; 69, J. Longley; 70, J. Leask; 72, Fred. Menette; 73, Deputy 
Chief Stewart. See 1055. 

1057 WINTER PASTIMES AT RIDEAU HALL, OTTAWA, 1876 

Showing Earl Dufferin, Governor-General of Canada, 1872-8, and his house 
party engaged in a curling match. The following people are shown: 
1, Archibald J. L. Temple, Viscount Clandeboye, eldest son of Lord and 
Lady Dufferin. 2, Mrs. Stephenson, sister of Lady Dufferin. 3, Lady 
Helen Blackwood, eldest daughter of Lord and Lady Dufferin. Her hus- 
band, the Rt. Hon. Munro Ferguson, was appointed Governor-General 
of Australia in 1913. 4, Lady Dufferin. 4a, Lady Victoria Alex- 
andrina Blackwood, youngest daughter of Lord and Lady Dufferin. 
She married Lord Plunkett, Governor-General of New Zealand, 
1904-10, and is now (1917) residing in Ireland. 5, Mrs. Littleton, 
wife of Col. Littleton. 6, Major Hamilton, brother of Lady Dufferin. 7, 
Lord Dufferin, Governor-General of Canada, 1872-78. 8, Col. Littleton, 
Military Secretary, who succeeded Col. Fletcher. 9, Col. Stephenson, who 
spent a good deal of time at Rideau Hall as A.D.C. 10, Fred Knowles, per- 
sonal attendant. 11, W. R. Baker. 12, Capt. Hamilton, A.D.C., brother of 
Lady Dufferin. 13, F. A. Dixon, tutor to the children of Lord Dufferin. 
He is at present (1917) in the Railway Department, Ottawa. 14, Capt. 
Ward, A.D.C. Photograph, colored. Size 7 x 16. 



170 

1058 TORONTO ROLLING MILLS, 1863-9 Between East (Cherry) 
street and Water street, prolonged, at intersection on the south side of 
Mill street. Photograph of pastel by William Armstrong, C.E., 1864. Size 
6x9. See 1059. 

1059 TORONTO ROLLING MILLS, 1863-9 Between East (Cherry) 
street and Water street, prolonged, at intersection on the south side of 
Mill street. They were built and managed by C. S. (afterwards Sir 
Casimir Gzowski in the interests of his partners, D. L. (late Sir David) 
Macpherson, R. C. Pomeroy, of Pittsfield, Mass., and Montreal capitalists. 
The mills were the largest manufacturing industry in Toronto in their 
day, and the largest iron mills in Canada. Iron rails were manufactured 
here for the Grand Trunk Railway, but in 1869, when steel rails were being 
imported from England, the company concluded that they could not com- 
pete, and, rather than make the changes in the plant necessary for the 
production of steel rails, the place was dismantled. The Rolling Mills 
wharf stood on the south side of the present (1917) Esplanade at the foot 
of the then East street, bordering on the north bank of the Don River 
(previous to its deviation by the Corporation). The property is now occu- 
pied by the Grand Trunk Railway and the Standard Fuel Company, a 
tenant of the railway. Pastel, made in 1864 by William Armstrong, C.E., 
Toronto, and presented in 1914 to J. Ross Robertson by Mr. C. S. Gzowski, 
eldest son of the late Sir Casimir Gzowski. Size 27 x 40. See 1058. 

1060 "HOUSES OF PARLIAMENT AND GOVERNMENT OFFICES, 
FRONT STREET WEST, TORONTO, U.C. 1835 To his Excellency 
Major-General Sir John Colborne, K.C.B., etc., etc., etc., Governor of 
Upper Canada. This plate is by permission inscribed by his obt. hble. 
servant, Thomas Young. Thomas Young, Archt. Delt, Toronto, U.C., 
1835. W. K. Hewitt, Delt., on stone. N. Currier's Lith., No. 1 Wall St., 
N.Y." No. 1 shows the West Wing Departmental Offices. 2. Legislative 
Council Chamber, west of portico. 3, Main Entrance, Front street portico, 
with columns, which were never erected. 4, Legislative Assembly Chamber, 
east of portico. 5, East Wing Departmental Offices. 6, Spire of St. Andrew's 
Presbyterian church (first), corner Church and Adelaide streets. 7, Resi- 
dence of Bishop Strachan, Front street, between Simcoe and York. 8, The 
Baldwin Residence, north-east corner Front and Bay streets. 9, Daily 
Guard of 66th Regiment of Infantry, serving in York, proceeding to Gov- 
ernment House. 10, Green sward in front of Parliament Buildings on bay 
shore, now (1917) Esplanade property. The buildings were demolished in 
1902. In 1903 the south sheds of the G.T.R. were erected, and in the follow- 
ing year those to the north. Lithograph in color. Size 9 x 18. See 292. 

1061 RED JACKETS AND CALEDONIAN CURLING MATCH 
Played on the Don River, Toronto, 1870. The players were: 1, Mr. Garvey; 
2, Duncan Forbes, roofer; 3, Capt. J. T. Douglas, marine inspector; 4, Capt. 
Chas. Perry, commission merchant; 5, Charles G. Fortier, marine insurance 
inspector; 6, Major Gray, of No. 1 Rifle Co., Hamilton, subsequently in 
Customs Department, Toronto; 7, David Walker, of the American Hotel, 
later of the Walker House, Toronto; 8, T. McGaw, of the Queen's Hotel; 9, 
J. Pringle, insurance agent; 10, John O. He ward, who resided on Bloor 
street, opposite Church; 11, R. H. Ramsay, produce dealer. An expert 
curler in looking at the picture said: "It appears like a good end, for the 
stones are all in the house." Photograph, colored. Size 9 x 12. 

1062 ONTARIO LACROSSE CLUB, 1871 With the City Champion- 
ship Medal In 1867 the Ontario Lacrosse Club came into being, but it 
was not destined to be very long lived, for it went out of existence in 1876. 
The medal shown was won in 1871 by the team, which for a number of 
years was Toronto's keen local opposition. The key to the picture is as 
follows: Top Row W. Pearson, Jas. Carruthers, Thos. Brown, J. Sullivan, 



171 

A. Patterson. Centre Row Chas. H. Varcoe, W. K. McNaught, Col. 
Arthurs, Q.O.R. (vice-president), Jas. Michie (president), Chas. Pearson, 
John Innes. Bottom Row Col. Bruce, Fred. Walker, White Miller, John 
F. Scholes, W. Witeman. Photograph, colored. Size 9 x 12. 

1063-68 Directors of Toronto Magnetic and Meteorological Observatory, 
1840-1917. 

1063 RIDDELL, LIEUT. (MAJOR-GENERAL) C. J. BUCHANAN, R.A. 

Director Toronto Observatory, 1840-1 He was born at Riddell, Rox- 
burghshire, 19th Nov., 1817, third son of Sir John B. Riddell, Bart. Entered 
Royal Military Academy at Woolwich, 1832; appointed to his first station 
abroad at Quebec, 1835, and in 1837 was promoted to first liuetenant. Sub- 
sequently Lieut. Riddell was selected for the post of Superintendent of 
the 'Observatory at Toronto, where he directed the erection of the first 
building. Owing to ill-health he was compelled to resign in 1841 and 
returned to England. Later he obtained the position of Assistant Superin- 
tendent of Ordnance Magnetic Observatories at the "Royal Military Reposi- 
tory at Woolwich, and while there compiled a "Magnetical Instruction for 
the Use of Portable Instruments." He retired from active service with the 
rank of major-general. On 25th Jan., 1903, his death took place at Chudleigh, 
Devonshire. Water color from a portrait in possession of Capt. E. W. 
Creak, F.R.S., England. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

1064 LEFROY, CAPT. (GENERAL SIR) HENRY Director Toronto 
Magnetic Observatory, 1842-53 He was an English soldier and scientist; 
'born 28th Jan., 1817, at Ashe, Hampshire, Eng. From 1840-2 he was occu- 
pied in taking magnetic observations at St. Helena. From there Lefroy 
was transferred to Toronto for the purpose of making a magnetic survey 
of British North America. In 1843-4 he travelled to Hudson's Bay in order 
to observe magnetic phenomena, obtaining valuable results. Capt. Lefroy 
returned to England in 1853, and four years later was made inspector- 
general of army schools there, and director-general of ordnance in 1868. 
He wrote extensively on military affairs and scientific matters. He died 
at Lewarne. Water color from a portrait in the Royal Canadian Institute, 
Toronto. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

1065 CHERRIMAN, PROF. JOHN BRADFORD Director Toronto 
Magnetic Observatory, 1853-5 Born in Yorkshire, Eng., 1826, was Sixtn 
Wrangler and Fellow of St. John's College, Cambridge. He became Pro- 
fessor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy in the University of To- 
ronto, 1855, holding the* position until 1875. In the latter year he resigned 
to accept appointment of Inspector of Insurance at Ottawa. He was major 
of the University Company, Q.O.R. , and served at Ridgeway. Prof. Cherri- 
man wrote several books on mathematical subjects. He returned to Eng- 
land in 1885, and died there in 1908. Photograph, 1901, colored. Size 4x5. 
Head and shoulders. 

1066 KINGSTON, PROF. GEORGE T EM PL EM AN Director Toronto 
Magnetic Observatory and Dominion Meteorological Service, 1855-80 He 
entered the navy as a midshipman, but on account of ill-health was com- 
pelled to give up the life. He then went to Caius College, Cambridge, and 
was M.A., and Tenth Wrangler about 1848. Became head of Naval College, 
Quebec, in 1853, two years later receiving appointment as Professor of 
Mathematics and Natural Science at Toronto University. He, however, 
exchanged with Prof. Cherriman, then Director of the Magnetic Observa- 
tory, who became Professor of Mathematics, Mr. Kingston becoming 
Director of the Observatory. Through his efforts a meteorological service 
was established in Canada, with headquarters at Toronto. On 31st Jan., 
1880, Prof. Kingston resigned, leaving the service thoroughly organized. 
He was born in Portugal, 1816, and died at Toronto, 1886. Photograph, 
colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 



172 

1067 CARP MA EL, CHARLES, F.R.C.S. Director Toronto Magnetic 

Observatory and Dominion Meteorological Service, 1880-94 Born Sept. 19, 
1846, at Streatham Hill, Surrey, Eng. In 1865 he obtained a scholarship at 
St. John's College, Cambridge, devoting his attention almost entirely to the 
study of mathematics and natural and experimental sciences. Entered for 
the mathematical tripos and classed sixth in the list of wranglers, 1869. 
In 1870, Mr. Carpmael was elected Fellow of St. John's College, and the 
same year became a member of the British Eclipse Expedition to Spain. 
He was on the first council of the Royal Society of Canada, and in 1888 
appointed president of the Canadian Institute. His death took place in 
1894. While in charge of the metorological service he increased its effici- 
ency, and also added to the number of storm signal display stations. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

1068 STUPART, SIR ROBERT FREDERIC, K.B. Director Toronto 
Magnetic Observatory and Dominion Meteorological Service, 1894-1917. Son 
of the late Capt. R. D. Stupart, R.N., born near Toronto, 24th Oct., 1857; edu- 
cated at Upper Canada College. He entered the Canadian Meteorological 
Service in 1872; had charge of the chief station in Hudson's Straits in con- 
nection with the Canadian Expedition for reporting on navigation of the 
Straits, 1884-5. He was president of the Royal Astronomical Society of 
Canada, 1902-3, and of the Canadian Institute, 1906-7; elected a member of 
the International Meteorological Committee, 1907. Knighted June, 1916. 
Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

1069 to 1076 Magnetical and Meteorological Observatory, University 
Grounds, Toronto, 1840-1917 In 1839 magnetical observatories were estabv 
lished by the Imperial Government at St. Helena, Cape Town and Toronto. 
As superintendent of the observatory at Toronto, Lieut. C. J. B. Riddell 
was chosen. The Council of the University of King's College (Toronto 
University) offered the Government a grant of Two and a half acres of 
ground, on condition that the buildings erected should be used for no other 
purpose than that of an observatory, and revert to the college when the 
observatory should be discontinued. The sanction of the Governor-General 
was received in 1840, and the building, erected under the direction of Lieut. 
Riddell, was completed in September of that year. 

1069 FIRST OBSERVATORY BUILDING, TORONTO Erected 1840 
It was built of twelve-inch logs, roughcast on the outside and plastered on 
the inside, the laths being attached to battens projecting two inches from 
the logs so as to leave a stratum of air between the logs and plaster. No 
iron was used, the nails being copper and locks of brass. The establish- 
ment consisted of: 1, Observatory; 2, The anemometer house; 3, De- 
tached building for experimental determination; 4, Small shed, behind 
fence, for inclination circle; 5, Barracks for officers. The latter build- 
ing stands (1917) west of the Physics building, University crescent, and 
was used as a printing office by the University. Water color. Size 5x7. 

1070 SECOND OBSERVATORY BUILDING, TORONTO, ERECTED 

1855 The picture shows: 1, Observatory on site of first building. 2, 
Weather or meteorological office. These were both removed to make room 
for the Physics building and Convocation Hall. 3, Self-recording magnetic 
instruments. 4, Stone Transit building, covering the pillar standing near 
present (1917) Physics building. The dome to main building was added in 
1882. Water color. Size 5x7. 

1071 SECOND OBSERVATORY BUILDING, RECONSTRUCTED 
It stands at the east end of the main building of the University; was 
constructed with the same stone and restored to its original elevation 
nearly as possible. The tower* however, in the reconstruction was placed at 
the south instead of the north end of the Observatory of 1855, otherwise al 
the old building, except the wooden addition, which contained the instru- 



173 

ments, is in the present structure, and is now (1917) the astronomical 
observatory in connection with the University. Photograph, colored. Size 
5x7. 

1072 HISTORIC SECTION OF TORONTO UNIVERSITY GROUNDS 

To right of picture is the Physics building (1), and to the left the Faculty 
of Applied Science building (2). Bordering the roadway is a pillar (3), 
which from 1854-1902 served as the support, in one of the Observatory 
buildings, for the transit instrument used in the time service of the Ob- 
servatory. 4, Bronze tablet stone marking the site upon which stood one 
of the three magnetic observatories erected by the Imperial Government 
in 1840. 5, College street. 6, University crescent. Photograph, colored. 
Size 5x7. 

1073 HEADQUARTERS METEOROLOGICAL SERVICE, BLOOR ST., 
TORONTO Erected 1909 Owing to the expansion of the University of 
Toronto, it was decided in 1907 to .remove the Meteorological Office. Tem- 
porary quarters were occupied until September, 1909, when the new 
premises at the south-west corner of Bloor street and Devonshire place 
were ready. In the new building provision has been made for a library, 
also for a laboratory, to be used in research work in connection with 
atmospheric physics. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 6x7. 

1074 BARRACKS FOR OFFICER AND DETACHMENT, TORONTO 
OBSERVATORY Situated at the western end of the Observatory, the 
buildings of which were originally enclosed by a picketing. It now (1917) 
stands west of the Physics building, and was used as a printing office by 
the University. Photograph, colored. Size 5x7. 

1075 TRANSIT PILLAR, TORpNTO UNIVERSITY GROUNDS 

Formerly in one of the Observatory buildings. It stands east of the Physics 
building; was in 1854 placed in one of the buildings of the Magnetic Ob- 
servatory, built 1840. Until 1908 it served as the support for the transit 
instrument used in the time service of the Observatory, but was no longer 
required when the present headquarters of the Meteorological Service were 
erected. Photograph, colored. Size 5x7. 

1076 SITE OF FIRST OBSERVATORY, TORONTO, 1840 Where 
meteorological observations were recorded for many years The first 
Observatory, of logs, roughcast on the outside, was erected under the 
direction of Lieut. (Major-General) Riddell, R.A. Here meteorological 
observations were recorded continuously for sixty-eight years. Later the 
old building was succeeded by one of stone, which in turn was torn down 
and re-erected, 1908, at the east end of the main building of Toronto Uni- 
versity. On its re-erection, however, it was no longer used for meteorologi- 
cal purposes. The site of the building of 1840 is marked by a stone upon 
which an inscribed plate recording the fact was placed in 1910. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 5% x 6. , , t 

1077 BETH UN E, DONALD One of the owners of the Royal Mail 
Line. Born at Charlottenburg, near Cornwall, U.C., July 4th, 1802, the 
youngest son of a U. E. Loyalist, Rev. John Bethune, who held the first 
Presbyterian service in Montreal in 1786, settling in Williamstown the fol- 
lowing year, and founding a Presbyterian congregation there. Donald 
Bethune was a lawyer by profession. For a time was interested in the 
steamboat business, being owner of the Royal Mail Line in conjunction 
with Andrew Heron and Capt. Thomas Dick. He retired, however, in 1864, 
removing to Port Hope, where he resumed the practice of law. In 1868 
came to Toronto. Died here June 29th, 1869, at the residence of his brother, 
the second Anglican Bishop of Toronto. Water color from oil in posses- 
sion of his grandniece, Miss M. L. Bethune, Toronto. Size 6x8. Three- 
quarter length. 



174 

1078 HARVIE, JOHN First passenger conductor on Ontario, Simcoe 

and Huron Railway He was born at Campbelltown, Argyllshire, Scotland, 
12th April, 1833, educated at the Grammar School there, and in 1851 emi- 
grated to New York, later settling at Toledo, Ohio, where he became con- 
nected with the Michigan Southern and Northern Indiana Railway. He 
came to Toronto and was engaged by Superintendent Alfred Brunei as 
conductor in charge of the first passenger train of the Ontario, Simcoe 
and Huron Railway, 16th May, 1853, running from Toronto to Machell's 
Corners, now Aurora, Ont. He was appointed to fill vacancies at way 
stations, and was agent at Collingwood during 1865. Later he became 
traffic manager, acting as such for many years. In 1881 he retired from 
railway work, and resided in Toronto until a short time before his death, 
Sept. 6th, 1917. Mr. Harvie was a director of the Upper Canada Bible 
Society and of the Toronto General Burying Grounds Trust. Photograph, 
colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

1079-1106 Presidents Toronto Stock Exchange In 1852 a number of 
Toronto business men held a meeting, with Mr. George Barrow presiding, 
and Mr. James Fraser as secretary, to discuss the question of forming an 
association of brokers. The outcome of the meeting was the passing of a 
resolution to proceed with the organization which has now developed into 
the second most important Exchange in the Dominion, the one in Montreal 
ranking as leader. For some nine years after its organization the Exchange 
held no regular sessions, the members going to each other's offices for the 
transaction of business. In Oct., 1865, a reorganization was effected, and 
an arrangement made whereby the daily meetings were regularly held in 
the office of the late Humphrey L. Hime, president of the Stock Exchange, 
1868-70, 1888-9. In 1878 an act was passed by the Ontario Legislature in- 
corporating the Exchange. On Jan. 2nd, 1914, it removed to a modern 
building, 82-6 Bay street. 

1079 MORTIMER, HERBERT President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1861-3 and 1867 He was a son of Rev. G. Mortimer, of Vicarage Madeley, 
Shropshire, Eng. Came to Canada in 1832, completing his education here 
under his father, who was at that time rector of Thornhill. Mr. Herbert 
Mortimer engaged in farming for some years near Bond Head. He removed 
to Toronto in 1851, where he became a broker. His death took place in 
Toronto, 19th April, 1893. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1080 ALEXANDER, WILLIAM President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1864 A Scotsman, born September, 1826, in Montrose, Forfarshire, and 
educated at Montrose Academy. He came to Toronto in 1857, the firm of 
Blaikie and Alexander being formed the following year. In 1884 he re- 
moved to Santa Barbara, Cal., where his death occurred, 6th Jan., 1910. 
Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1081 STIKEMAN, JOHN C. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1865 
He was for many years travelling agent of the Canada Life Assurance 
Co. of Hamilton, Ont., and later became manager of the North British 
Insurance Company, Toronto. Mr. Stikeman was born in 182~2, and died 
at Carillon, on the Ottawa, in 1868. A son, F. H. Stikeman, now (1917) 
resides in Santa Cruz, Cal. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1082 BRADBURNE, EDMUND President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1866 He was born in England, 1817; caine to Toronto about 1845, and 
acted as agent of the Canada Life Assurance Company from 1848-68. In 
the latter year he was manager in Toronto of the Provincial Permanent 
Building Society. Mr. Bradburne, who was well known in cricket circles, 
was a member of the original Toronto Club. He married Miss Anne Camp- 
bell, daughter of T. D. Campbell, clerk of the County Court and deputy 
clerk of the Crown in Brockville for the counties of Leeds and Grenville. 
In 1874 Mr. Bradburne returned to England, where his death took place a 
year later. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 






175 

1083 HI ME, HUMPHREY L. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1868-70, 1888-9 Born in 1834 at Newtown Mount Kennedy, Ireland. In 1855 he 
came to Canada, and for a time was engaged in survey work in the North- 
west. From 1860 carried on a brokerage, estate and insurance business. 
In partnership with Christopher C. Baines, 1866-72, previously and subse- 
quently carrying on business under the firm name of H. L. Hime & Co. 
Alderman for St. Patrick's Ward in the City Council, 1873. He was one of 
the founders of the Toronto Stock Exchange, and for a time the meetings 
of the organization were held in his office. Mr. Hime died in Toronto, 1903. 
Sir Albert Hime is a brother. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1084 C ASS ELS, W. G. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1871-2 
Came to Canada in 1845; joined the staff of the Bank of British North 
America, later becoming general manager of the Gore Bank of Hamilton. 
In 1866 he entered into partnership as a stock broker with the late C. J. 
Campbell, and was a charter member of the Stock Exchange. Mr. Cassels, 
who died in 1890, was born in Leith, Scotland, 30th March, 1811. Water 
color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1085 BROWNE, JAMES President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1873-5 
Mr. Browne, was born at Lambeth, Surrey, Eng., Nov. 12th, 1819. Came to 
Canada about 1860, and for some years was a member of the firm of 
Philip Browne & Co., bankers and stock brokers, 67 Yonge street, Toronto. 
Prior to this connection, both brothers were with the Bank of Upper 
Canada. James Browne's death took place in Toronto, March 18th, 1887. 
In St. Philip's (Anglican) Church, Toronto, is a tablet erected to the 
brothers, James and Philip, "by their friends of the Toronto Stock Ex- 
change," both having been founders of that body. Water color. Size 3x4. 
Head and shoulders. 

1086 PELL ATT, HENRY, SR. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1876-80 He was born in Glasgow, Scotland, 25th Feb., 1830; educated in 
England; came to Canada in 1852, settling first in Kingston. In 1859 he 
came to Toronto, and the following year commenced the brokerage busi- 
ness. For a time he conducted his business alone, but afterwards became 
connected with Sir E. B. Osier, and later with his son, Sir Henry Pellatt. 
Mr. Pellatt's death took place in Orillia, Ont, 23rd July, 1909. Water color. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1087 HOPE, WILLIAM President Stock Exchange, 1881 Son of the 
Rev. Henry Hope, at one time editor of the Old Countryman. For a num- 
ber of years Mr. William Hope was in the land agency business, but subse- 
quently became a partner in the firm of Hope & Temple, stock brokers, 
18 King street east. He was born in Thorford, Eng., 14th Dec., 1839; died 
in Toronto, 8th May, 1894. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1088 BEATY, ROBERT President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1882-3 
Born near Milton, County of Haltoh, 28th July, 1824. He was educated at 
Upper Canada College. Mr^JBeaty followed the profession of banker and 
broker in Toronto, being head "oT the firm of Robert Beaty & Co. Water 
color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1089 FORBES, HARRISON R. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1884 He was an American, born in 1835; came to Toronto about 1859, and 
for a time carried on business as a broker under style of H. R. Forbes & 
Co. Later he was a partner in the firm of Forbes & King and the firm of 
Forbes & Lownsbrough. The latter was dissolved in the eighties, and Mr. 
Forbes returned to the States. He died at San Angelo, Texas, September 
20th, 1913. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1090 STARK, JOHN President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1885 and 

)3-4 Born in Bridgewater, Eng., 1837. Educated there, and came to 

Canada in 1857, becoming in due course the head of the stock-broking firm 

14 



176 

of John Stark & Co. In 1881 he was elected a member of the Toronto 
Stock Exchange, and later elected president. He was a director of the 
Canada Landed and National Investment Co. Died in Toronto, June, 1912. 
Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1091 BAINES, W. J. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1886 

Eldest son of Mr. Thomas Baines, at one time Crown Lands Agent for 
Upper Canada; born in Toronto, 1838; educated at U. C. College. For 
years he was engaged in the stock brokerage business. Died in Toronto, 
1895. Dr. Allen Baines, of Toronto, is (1917) the only brother living. 
Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1092 HAMMOND, H. C. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1887 
His birthplace was Grafton, Ont, 19th Oct., 1844. He was educated at 
Cobourg Grammar School and Upper Canada College, and on leaving school 
entered the Bank of Montreal in Cobourg. He later joined the staff of the 
Quebec Bank; on the organization of the Bank of Hamilton, was appointed 
cashier. Subsequently he became a partner of E. B. (Sir Edmund) Osier, 
remaining a member of the firm until his death in January, 1909. Water 
color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1093 c ASS ELS, W. GIBSON President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1890-91 He was born at Ottawa, 28th Sept., 1852, and educated at the Quebec 
High School and Morin College. After having been engaged in business in 
Montreal for some years, he joined his father in 1877 in Toronto. The firm 
is known (1917) as Cassels, Son & Co. Water color. Size 3x4. Head 
and shoulders. 

1094 GZOWSKI, C. S. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1892 He 
was born in Toronto, 2nd Dec., 1847, eldest son of Sir Casimir Gzowski. 
Educated at Leamington College, Warwickshire, Eng. Engaged in banking; 
joined the ' Toronto Stock Exchange in 1871. Water color. Size 3 x 4. 
Head and shoulders. 

1095 BEAT Y, JOHN W. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1895 
Son of the late Robert Beaty, broker; born at Toronto, 7th Dec., 1853, and 
educated at Upper Canada College. After leaving school he entered the 
banking and brokerage firm of his father, later becoming a member. In 
1901 Mr. Robert Beaty died, his son continuing in business until 1904. He 
has since lived retired. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1096 AMES. A. E. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1896-7 Well 
known in Canadian financial circles. In 1889 established the firm of A. E. 
Ames & Co., investment bankers, 53 King street west, Toronto. He was 
born at Lambeth, Ont., in 1866, and educated in the public schools and 
Brantford Collegiate. In 1881 entered the Owen Sound branch of the 
Merchants' Bank of Canada, and afterwards entered the service of the 
Imperial Bank of Canada. Acting accountant, Ontario Bank, Peterboro, 
1885, and later manager of the Mount Forest and Lindsay branches of that 
institution. President Toronto Board of Trade, 1901-2. First chairman 
Timiskaming and Northern Ontario Railway Commission, 1902-4. Water 
color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1097 FERGUSSON, G. TOWER President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1898-9 and 1915 Son of the late Geo. D. Fergusson, of Fergus, Ont., and a 
grandson of the Hon. Adam Fergusson, of Woodhill. Born at Fergus, Sept., 
1856, he was educated at the Gait Grammar School, under the late Dr. 
William Tassie, and commenced business in Toronto as a stock broker 
and investment agent. He has taken a prominent part in connection with 
the Christian Endeavor movement. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and 
shoulders. 



177 

1098 CAMPBELL, J. LORNE President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1900-1 Born in Simco-e, Ont., 22nd April, 1857, and educated at Upper 
Canada College. Entered the Canadian Bank of Commerce, where he was a 
member of the staff for some years. In 1892 became a member of the 
Stock Exchange. Died in 1917. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1099 SMITH, ROBERT A. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1902-3 
Born in Scotland, 1859, and educated there. He was elected to Toronto 
Stock Exchange in 1896, and joined the firm of Osier & Hammond. Be- 
came a director of the Commercial Cable Board, also of the Mackay 
Company. He was secretary-treasurer of the Toronto Ferry Company, and 
a promoter of Toronto Hunt Club. His death took place, 17th July, 1912. 
Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1100 TEMPLE, ROBERT H. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1904-5 Born at Quebec, 16th Feb., 1841; entered the civil service in the De- 
partment of Crown Lands at Quebec, 1862, and at the time of Confederation 
removed tc Ottawa, where he continued that employment. Shortly after- 
wards he came to Toronto, and entered the brokerage business. Water 
color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1101 BUR RITT, AUGUSTUS P. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1906-7 Son of H. O. Burritt, of Ottawa, Ont.; born there January, 1867; 
educated in Ottawa and Gait. He is head of the firm of A. P. Burritt & Co., 
stock brokers, founded by him in 1892. Has been treasurer and vice-presi- 
dent of the Toronto Stock Exchange, and for years has taken a deep 
interest in aquatic sports. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1102 BUCHANAN, J. O. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1908-9 
Educated at McGill University, Montreal, whence he entered the service of 
the Bank of Montreal. In 1888 he became a stock broker, commencing 
business on his own account. Mr. Buchanan was born at Drummondville, 
Ont., 29th Nov., 1849. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1103 B ROUSE, WILLIAM H. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1910-11 His birthplace was Prescott, Ont., 26th May, 1859. Called to the 
Ontario Bar in 1882, he successfully practised his profession as a member 
of the firm Beatty, Blackstock & Co., Toronto, until 1887. He is head of 
the firm Brouse, Mitchell & Co., bond and investment brokers, Toronto. 
Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1104 OSLER, F. GORDON President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1912-13 He was born in Toronto, educated at Trinity College School, Port 
Hope, and at Trinity University. In 1895 he entered the office of Messrs. 
Osier & Hammond, becoming a member of the firm four years later, and 
of the Stock Exchange in 1901. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1105 FRE ELAND, EDWARD B. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1914 Born in Toronto, 13th Nov., 1860. He received his education at Upper 
Canada College. For some years he was with the Scottish Commercial In- 
surance Company and the Federal Bank, later becoming accountant with 
John Stark & Co. Since 1893 he has been a partner in the firm. Mr. Free- 
land was selected for service in North-west Rebellion, 1885. Water color. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1106 TUD HOPE, H. R. President Toronto Stock Exchange, 1917 
Born at Orillia, Ont., Aug. 3rd, 1877. Three years later removed, with his 
parents, to Gravenhurst and was educated in the Public and High schools 
there. In 1894 came to Toronto; entered the employ of the Ontario Acci- 
dent Insurance Company, remaining there for about two years, and then 
joining the staff of A. E. Ames Company; became 1 a partner in 1898. Water 
color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 



178 

1107 MACE OF THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Taken by Ameri- 
cans at York April 27th, 1813 The mace, removed from the old Parliament 
Buildings west of the Don, on site of part of present (1917) gas works, is 
preserved in the library of the Naval Academy, Annapolis, Md., and is in 
much the same condition as at the- time of its seizure. The head, or crown, 
has been cleaned and the gilding on the shaft is fairly well preserved. From 
crown to head of shaft it measures 10^4 inches; from head of shaft to end, 
2 feet 11 inches, and from the lower end of the shaft to the turned and 
pointed end is 9*4 inches, bringing the entire length to 4 feet 6% inches. It 
is similar "in size to the mac used in the House at Ottawa and destroyed 
when the Administrative Buildings were burned in 1916. The Ottawa mace 
was, of course, much more elaborate. Water color. Size 6 x 30. 

1108 PIONEER GATE HOUSE A landmark of Parliament street, 
1818-1914 About 1795 a land grant of considerable acreage in York town- 
ship, comprising township lot No. 20, ^econd concession, east side of 
Yonge and north of Bloor, was made to Captain George Playter. The 
pretty cottage at the entrance to the grounds, at the head of Parliament 
street, was erected by Captain Playter about 1818, for his gatekeeper. In 
1831 Mr. John Cayley, brother of Hon. William Cayley, purchased the pro- 
perty, and in 1874 a portion of the land, about 34 acres, was bought by Mr. 
M. B. Jackson, Clerk of the Crown at psgoode Hall. The cottage, a pic- 
turesque little building, was for years used as a studio by Mr. Frank 
Cayley, an artist, and brother of the owner. It was demolished in 1914. 
Water color. Size 10 x 14. 

1109 OGDEN, LYNDHURST Secretary Toronto Stock Exchange, 
1881-1914 Born 12th March, 1847, at Kirby, Douglas, Isle of Man; educated 
at the Charterhouse, London, and Trinity College, Cambridge. He lived 
in Chili and Peru from 1869 to 1876. In the latter year Mr. Ogden came 
to Toronto. He was secretary of the Toronto Club for a time, and in 1881 
became secretary of Toronto Stock Exchange, which position he held for 
thirty-three years. Died at Toronto, 26th April, 1915. Water color. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1110 MORGAN, PETER A well-known citizen of Toronto from 1846- 
60, and a prominent member of St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church, Church 
and Adelaide sts. Be was born in Edinburgh in 1807, came to Canada in 
1832, and was Cornet in the Queen's Light Dragoons of Montreal, retiring 
with the rank of Lieutenant. In 1846 he moved to Toronto, and was, with 
James McDonell and John Rose, a Government revenue inspector. Mr. 
Morgan's eldest son, Charles, is in the Merchants' Bank of Canada at Mon- 
treal. Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1111 "THE LADY ELGIN" The first locomotive in Ontario as it 
appeared in 1881, in the Northern Railway yard at the foot of Brock street. 
Toronto. Built in Portland, Me., in 1851-2, for the Ontario, Simcoe and" 
Huron Railroad Union Company, incorporated in 1849, became the Northern 
in 1859, and in 1884 amalgamated with the Hamilton and North-Western 
Railway. In 1888 the two latter, with the Northern, were merged into the 
Grand Trunk system. This engine was used in the construction of the 
railway and occasionally handled passenger trains, and later freight trains. 
Finally it was used for shunting purposes, and was broken up in 1881. On 
the left, near the fender, is John Harvie, the first passenger conductor on 
the road, and, on the right, sitting on the step of the tender, W. H. Adam- 
son, secretary to F. W. Cumberland, managing director of the railway. 
Carlos McColl was the driver of the first train, and Joseph Lopez was the 
fireman. Water color from photograph. Size 7 x 13. 

1112 VISIT OF THEIR ROYAL HIGHNESSES, THE DUKE AND 
DUCHESS OF CORNWALL AND YORK (King George and Queen Mary), 
to Canada Royal party at Government House, Toronto. During their tour N 






179 

of Canada Their Royal Highnesses spent a few days in Toronto, and while 
here were the guests of his Honor Sir Oliver Mowat, the Lieut.-Governor, 
at old Government House, southwest corner King and Simcoe streets. 
Photo taken llth Oct., 1901. With key. Size 11 x 14. 

1113 CAPREOL, FREDERICK CHASE, 1803-86 Second son of 
Thomas Capreol, Hertfordshire, Eng. In 1828 he came to Canada to assist 
in settling the affairs of the old North-West Fur Company, returning to 
England on the conclusion of his business in 1830. Three years later, how- 
ever, he returned, settling in York (Toronto), and buying a large tract of 
land at the Credit, where he lived for a time. Mr. Capreol was the pro- 
jector and promoter of the Ontario, Simcoe and Huron Railway, afterwards 
the Northern, and was presented with a handsome service of plate of 
seventeen pieces, by the citizens of Toronto, in recognition of his services. 
He afterwards received authority from the Legislature to sell his lands 
at the Credit by lottery, and, with the money obtained, to erect a large 
cotton factory. This idea was abandoned, however, and Mr. Capreol turned 
his attention to the construction of a canal between Lakes Huron and 
Ontario. Ground was broken for the canal, Sept. 17th, 1866, but the 
project was never carried to completion. Mr. Capreol died in Toronto. 
Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1114 McMASTER, CAPTAIN WILLIAM FENTON Born at Omagh, 
County Tyrone, Ireland, Sept. 1st, 1822. Came to Canada about 1838. Was 
employed in the wholesale dry goods business of his uncle (Hon.) Wm. 
McMaster, and subsequently a partner, with his brother, in the firm of 
A. R. McMaster & Bro., successors to the old business of Wm. McMaster. 
In 1886 entered the civil service, where he remained until his death in Janu- 
ary, 1907. President of the Board of Trade, 1876. He was in 1866 Captain of 
the Naval Brigade. Water color from portrait in possession of ?iis 
daughter, Mrs. Hertzberg, Toronto. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1115 "THE TORONTO" The second locomotive in Ontario and the 
first passenger engine of the Ontario, Simcoe and Huron Railroad Union 
Company. Built by James Good, Toronto, in 1852-3. It hauled the first 
passenger train from the shed station, south side of Front street, a few 
hundred feet east of the Queen's Hotel, 16th May, 1853, with the late Wil- 
liam Huckett, master mechanic of the company, as engineer for the trip, 
and John Harvie as conductor. The first trip was to Machell's Corners, 
now Aurora, Ont. The picture, which was made in the railway yards, foot 
of Brock street, west of the bridge, shows: 1, W. H. Adamson, secretary 
to F. W. Cumberland, managing director. 2, John Broughton, machinist. 
3, Joseph Benson, caretaker of the yards. 4, Daniel Sheehy, an engineer. 
5, James Armitage, foreman mechanical department. 6, Joshua Metzler, in 
cab window. 7, James Phillips, standing on tender. 8, John Harvie. 9, 
Charles Storey, conductor. 10, Thomas Peters, who ran the stationary en- 
gine in the machine shop. Water color from photograph. Size 7 x 13. 

1116 ARMSTRONG, WILLIAM, C.E., 1821-1914-^Tinted photograph 
made in 1863. Presented to J. Ross Robertson by S. H. Fleming, Ottawa. 
Size 3x4.' See 649. 

1117 BURNING OF THE ROSSIN HOUSE, TORONTO A well-known 
hostelry Erected in 1856-7 on the south-east corner of King and York 
streets by Messrs. Marcus and Samuel Rossin; William Kaufmann, archi- 
tect, and A. C. Joslin, lessee. The principal entrance faced on York street. 
In November, 1862, the hotel was burned and rebuilt the following year. 
The buildings to the south, on the east side of York, (1) the Club Cham- 
bers, kept by Henry Beverley, and (2) the Toronto Club, were saved. The 
Rossin is now (1917) the Prince George Hotel. Water color from old 
print. Size 5x6. 



180 

1118 THE "GREAT EASTERN" IN CANADA, 1861 An excursion to 

Quebec When the "Great Eastern" steamship was at Quebec in the sum- 
mer of 1861, excursions by rail and water were held from all parts of Can- 
ada to the ancient city. The late Capt. Charles Perry, of Toronto, was in 
command of the "Bowmanville," which carried an excursion party of some 
hundreds to Quebec. At the conclusion of the trip the passengers presented 
the captain with a handsome solid silver cup and salver, inscribed as 
follows- "Presented to Captn. Chas. Perry, of the steamer 'Bowmanville' 
by the passengers on the excursion trip to visit the 'Great Eastern,' as a 
token of acknowledgment for his kindness and attention, July, 1861." This 
once-famed steamship was launched in 1858. She was 679 feet long, 83 
feet broad, 48 feet depe and 18,915 tons. Commercially she was never a 
success and underwent sales periodically, the last time being purchased by 
a firm of ship breakers and broken up at New Ferry, on the banks of the 
Mersey, in 1890. Photograph, colored, of the testimonials, which are in 
possession of Capt. Perry's daughter, Mrs. John A. Murray, of Toronto. 
Size 6x6. 

H19_HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, TORONTO Interior view, 1913 
The "Church of the Holy Trinity," situated in the court formerly known 
as "The Fields," now called Trinity Square, was built in 1846, and opened 
and consecrated by the Right Rev. John Strachan, Bishop of Toronto, 27th 
Oct., 1847. The view shows the nave and chancel. At the north-west cor- 
ner of the latter is seen the organ, and above the altar a large, variegated 
stained glass window, representing the four evangelists and four major 
prophets. The ceiling is buttressed directly from the walls, so that no 
pillars obstruct the view. Photograph, colored. Size 8 x 10. 

1120 PRINCE OF WALES' LEINSTER REGIMENT Formed 1st 
July,, 1881, from the 100th or Prince of Wales' Royal Canadians, and the 
109th, originally the Hon. East India Company's 3rd Bombay European In- 
fantry, the former becoming the first battalion and the latter the second. 
Major-General Sir Alexander Hamilton Gordon, K.C.B., was colonel-in-chief 
of the new regiment in 1881, and Lieut-Col. Richard Doyle commanded it. 
Original lithograph in color by R. Simpkin. Published by George Ber- 
ridge & Co., 179 and 180 Upper Thames st, London, E.G., Eng. Size 9 x 10. 

1121 NICKINSON, JOHN In "The Old Guard" Mr. Nickinson was 
the pioneer in theatrical management in Toronto, and was the manager of 
the Royal Lyceum, Toronto, from 1853-8. He was an actor of high reputa- 
tion. The picture shows him as "Havresack" in the play of "The Old 
Guard." Mr. Nickinson acted the part in 1848-52 in the Olympic Theatre, 
New York, and at various times between 1853-8, when manager of the 
Lyceum, Toronto. Miss Charlotte Nickinson (Mrs. Daniel Morrison), his 
eldest daughter, an accomplished actress, acted the part of "Melanie" in 
the piece. Mr. Nickinson's death took place in Cincinnati, Ohio, 1864. "The 
Old Guard" was produced at the Princess', London, in 1844, and was first 
performed in America at the Chatham Theatre, 1845. Water color by John 
Fraser, presented to J. Ross Robertson by Mr. Nickinson's granddaughter, 
Mrs- Raynald Gamble, Toronto. Size 11 x 14. Full length, sitting. See 585. 

1122 SECTION OF THE NORTH SIDE OF KING ST. EAST, TO- 
RONTO, 1846 From one door east of n.e. corner of Yonge and King to 
the east side of the grounds of St. James' church at the north-east corner of 
King and Church. With key. Water color from a drawing made originally for 
Mr. F. C. Capreol, and which appeared in the "Illustrated London News" in 
1847. Size 11x18. 

1123 "PINEHURST," GRANGE ROAD, TORONTO Mrs. Forster's 
School, a popular .ladies' seminary, 1853-66 Situated on Grange road, just 
east of "The Grange," stood for many years a commodious building known 
as "Pinehurst." It was originally the residence of Mr. Clarke Gamble, who 



181 

built it in 1840. In 1850 he rented it to M. and Mme. Des Landes as a 
ladies' school. Three years later they were succeeded by Mrs. Forster, an 
accomplished schoolmistress and charming woman. She had been the wife 
of an English army officer. From 1853-66 the school continued as a 
fashionable seminary, the daughters of many prominent Canadians having 
been educated there. On the retirement of Mrs. Forster in 1866, the 
Bishop Strachan School for Girls occupied "Pinehurst," for a year. The 
building was pulled down in the eighties to make way for the extension of 
McCaul street to College street. The picture, with key, shows a number of 
the pupils with Mrs. Forster and some of the teachers, in the summer of 
1864. Photograph, colored. Size 9 x 12. See 1125. 

1124 FORSTER, MRS. AUGUSTA A. Mistress of "Pinehurst,' : Grange 
road, Toronto In 1853 Mrs. Forster, widow of an English army officer and 
a cousin of Rev. Thomas Smith Kennedy, at one time secretary of the 
Toronto Church Society, succeeded M. and Mme. Des Landes at "Pine- 
hurst," The seminary continued until 1866 under Mrs. Forster, an accom- 
plished schoolmistress and charming woman, well liked and respected by 
her pupils. In that year, owing to ill-health, she was compelled to give up 
her duties, and on May 20th, 1886, died in Toronto. The picture shows 
Mrs. Forster in 1863. Photograph, colored. Size 4x7. Half length. See 1139. 

1125 "PINEHURST," GRANGE ROAD, TORONTO Mrs. Forster's 
school, a popular ladies' seminary, 1853-66. Photograph, colored. Size 
9x12. See 1123. 

1126 SIDE-LAUNCH OF S. S. "CORONA," TORONTO, 23RD MAY, 

1896 With key. Designed by A. Angstrom and built by Bertram Engine 
Works Co. for the Niagara Navigation Company, Toronto, to replace the 
"Cibola," which had been burned at Lewiston Dock, N.Y., loth July, 1895. 
The "Corona" is still (1917) in commission. Wash drawing. Size 12 x 30. 

1127 100TH REGIMENT "Her Majesty's 100th Regiment (Prince of 
Wales' Royal Canadian). W. Sharpe, del. et lith. M. and N. Hanhart, lith. 
impt. London: Publish'd June 1st, 1859, by E. Gambart & Co., 25 Berners 
St., Oxford St., and 8 Rue de Bruxelles, Paris." With key, indicating the 
various uniforms. Raised during the Indian Mutiny by a number of offi- 
cers of the Canadian volunteers for service in India. Baron de Rottenburg, 
son of Gen. de Rottenburg, Administrator of Upper Canada, and Alexander 
Roberts Dunn, of Toronto, son of Receiver-General Dunn, were appointed 
lieutenant-colonel and major, respectively. Recruiting began in April, 
1858, and at the end of May the regiment was quartered in the citadel of 
Quebec, preparatory to embarkation for England. While they were sta- 
tioned at Shorncliffe, Eng., the Mutiny ended and the Royal Canadians were 
ordered to Gibraltar. As the 100th (Prince Regent's County of Dublin) the 
regiment had done good work on the Niagara frontier, 1812-14, and in 
commemoration of this, H.R.H. presented them, before leaving Shorncliffe, 
with colors inscribed "Niagara." With the 109th, which originally was the 
Hon. East India Company's 3rd Bombay European Infantry, the 100th 
Prince of Wales' Royal Canadians became the Royal Lemster Regiment, 
1st July, 1881. The 100th composed the first battalion and the second 
battalion was made up of the 109th Foot. Chromo lithograpn. Size 11 x 18. 

1128 MUSKOKA CLUB, 1866 With key In 1860 three young Toronto 
men in Orillia, having heard of Muskoka, resolved to investigate, going as 
far as Muskoka Bay. The following summer a party of six set out to 
explore the new land, and for a time camped on the present (1916) site of 
Port Sandfield. For several years an island at the head of Lake Joseph 
was the camping spot. In time a group of islands was purchased by five 
of those who had visited Muskoka Lakes, viz., Prof. Geo. Paxton Young, 
William H. Rowland, Montgomery Cumning, John Campbell, and James 
Bain. The largest island was called Yohocucabah, from the first two letters 
of the surnames, the "h" being added to give an Indian pronunciation. 



182 

Proving rather cumbersome, the name soon became shortened to Yoho. 
Subsequently the islands were purchased by Prof. Campbell, whose 
hospitality was unbounded and is remembered by many who had the 
privilege of being his guests. Two of the five islands were afterwards sold 
by Prof. Campbell to W. B. McMurrich. Photograph, colored- Size 6x6. 

1129 NEW REGISTRY OFFICE, TORONTO Corner Albert and 
Elizabeth streets The corner-stone was laid April 14th, 1935, by his Wor- 
ship Mayor Thos. L. Church, who, when he had performed the ceremony 
and given an address, called upon Mr. J. Ross Robertson to say a few words 
about the history of the city and county registry offices. The gentlemen 
shown in the front row are: 1, W. H. Bennett; 2, The Mayor; 3, John 
'T. Scott; 4, J. Ross Robertson; 5, Alderman John Dunn Photograph, 
colored. Size 5x7. 

H30 TORONTO FROM THE ISLAND This view was made in the 
summer of 1880, near Hanlan's Point, in early days known as Gibraltar 
Point. The bay, especially near the Island, presents a gala appearance 
with sailing and rowing craft. To the left of picture, in background, is 
seen the Northern elevators at foot of Brock street (Spadina avenue). 
Towards the centre and also to the right are the tower of the old Union 
Station, the spires of the Metropolitan Church, St. Michael's Cathedral and 
St. James' Church. Water color from original drawing by Schell and 
Hogan, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 5x7. 

1131 TORONTO, 1834 With key The picture was made from two 
original sketches, one of which gave the city east as far as Parliament 
street, the other showing the waterfront west of Parliament. It is the 
first picture of Toronto which gives the Worts and Gooderham windmill. 
For a more detailed key and comprehensive description, see Robertson's 
Landmarks of Toronto, Vol. V., pp. 583-5. Water color. Size 12 x 30. 

1132 A SECTION OF THE SOUTH SIDE OF KING ST. EAST, TO- 
RONTO, 1846 From No. 38, just east of the King Edward Hotel, to No. 
104, south-west corner of King and West Market streets. With key. Water 
color from a drawing made originally for Mr. F. C. Capreol, and which 
appeared in the "Illustrated London News" in 1847. Size 10 x 18. 

1133 QUEEN'S OWN REGIMENTAL MACE OR BATON Presented 
on 25th May, 1863, by the ladies of Toronto It is fifty-eight inches long, 
with a massive silver circular head, which joins the staff eight inches below 
the head. The staff is of Canadian oak. The head is topped with a Vic- 
torian crown, and on the plate which surrounds the crown are the words 
"Presented to the 2nd Battalion Vol. Mil. of Canada, the Queen's Own 
Rifles of Toronto, by the ladies, the friends and relatives of the officers of 
the corps, in testimony of their warm interest in the welfare of the bat- 
talion, 24th May, 1863." Just above where the staff joins the headpiece on 
one side of the plate, is an oval shield with the worlds, "Queen's Own 
Rifles" around a figure "2" denoting the official number of the corps, and 
on the other side a maple leaf in silver and the initials "V.R." spread 
thereon. Two bands of silver encircle the staff, one a few inches below 
the head, and another about midway. From the centre band to within 14 
inches of the staff is twined with silver cord, and the fourteen inches has 
a covering of brass which reaches down to the end of tlie ferule. The 
mace is now (1917) in the Queen's Own Armory, Toronto. Water color 
from old drawing. Size 3x6. See 1134. 

1134 SCENE AT PRESENTATION OF MACE TO QUEEN'S OWN 
RIFLES, TORONTO On the morning of 25th May, 1863, the Queen's birth- 
day falling on Sunday, the Queen's Own paraded on the lawn on the west, 
or Victoria street side of the Normal School building, St. James' Square, 
when Mrs. Draper, wife of Hon. Wm. H. Draper, Chief Justice of the Court 
of Common Pleas, in presence of a large concourse of citizens, presented 






183 

the battalion with a handsome silver mace for the use of the band. On 
behalf of the battalion, Lieut.-Col. Durie, who was the first officer in com- 
mand of the Rifles, gracefully accepted the mace, which is fittingly in- 
scribed. Water color from old drawing. Size 5x6. See 1133. 

1135 YORK PIONEERS' SOCIETY, 1880 Richard H. Gates was the 
founder of the society, the oldest of its kind in Canada, and in 1868 fre- 
quent meetings were held at his home in Isabella street, and also in the 
office of Alexander Hamilton, King street, to discuss the formation of a 
York Pioneers' Society. The first meeting was held, 17th April, 1869, in 
the Mechanics' Institute, later the Toronto Public Library, corner Church 
and Adelaide streets, Toronto, with Col. R. L. Denison, president; R. W. 
Phipps, treasurer, and Alexander Hamilton, secretary. In 1891 the society 
was incorporated under the name of "York Pioneer and Historical Society." 
From 1870 until 1905 meetings were held in the Canadian Institute build- 
ing, Richmond street, but the institute, having sold this property, and 
bought 198 College street, the Pioneers also moved, and on 5th Dec., 1905, 
held their first meeting in thie new quarters. Photo, with key. Size 12 x 20. 
See 99, 1141, 1145. 

1136 CHAMPION, THOMAS, 1809-54 First rector's warden, Holy 
Trinity Church, Toronto He was born in Sheffield, Eng., and came to 
Toronto in 1836, where he established the hardware firm of Champion 
Bros., north-east corner Yonge and Adelaide streets. "Champions' Axes" 
were noted. In 1843 Mr. Champion retired from business, and the following 
year became assistant secretary of the Church Society. Edited the 
"Church" newspaper, 1845-52. He was also connected with the Toronto 
Leader and Patriot. The late Thomas E. Champion, Toronto, was a son. 
Photograph from painting. Size 4x6. Head and shoulders. 

1137 HARRIS, MRS. JAMES (FIDELIA KETCHUM), 1808-74 She 
was the second daughter of Jesse Ketchum, so well known as "The Chil- 
dren's Friend"; married Rev. James Harris, first pastor of Knox church, 
York (Toronto), and for several years lived at the Manse on Bay street. 
After the retirement of Mr. Harris, in 1844, they resided at Eglinton, Ont., 
the birthplace of Mrs. Harris. Water color. Size 3x3. Head and shoulders. 

1138 ST. ANDREW'S PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, YORK AND TO- 
RONTO South-west corner Church and Adelaide streets It was the 
second Presbyterian church in York, the first congregation of the denom- 
ination, Knox, having been formed in 1820, although not receiving the name 
of Knox until 1844, when some members of St. Andrew's united with it. In 
1830-1 St. Andrew's was built. The tower and spire were added in 1850, 
and the church demolished in 1877. This church was the predecessor of 
St. Andrew's, corner King and Simcoe streets, and St. Andrew's, corner 
Carlton and Jarvis streets, two congregations having been formed out of 
the original one about 1875. St. Andrew's was the first Presbyterian 
church to introduce instrumental music in its service, not only in Toronto,, 
but in Canada. In 1852 the band of the 71st Highland Light Infantry fur- 
nished music at the morning service, and the following year a choir was 
formed and a melod'eon purchased. This drawing in water color by J. G, 
Howard, architect, was made in 1840, ten years before the addition of tower 
and spire. Size 10 x 14. 

1139 FORSTER, MRS. AUGUSTA A. Mistress of "Pinehurst," 
Grange road, Toronto. Photograph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoul- 
ders. See 1124. 

1140 WALKER, ROBERT, 1809-85 A prominent dry goods merchant 
in Toronto He was born in Carlisle, Eng.; came to York (Toronto) in 
1828. Entered business as manager and then as partner with Thomas 
Lawson, a well-known clothier, on the south side of King street east. 
In 1846 became a partner of Thomas Hutchinson (Walker & Hutchinson), 



184 

10 King street east, and this firm continued for about eight years, when 
Mr Hutchinson withdrew and Mr. Walker carried on the business in his 
own name. Mr. Hutchinson also had a dry goods shop on King street. 
About 1859 the firm of Robert Walker & Son was formed, and later his 
other sons were partners. The Walker store was known as the "Golden 
Lion" from about 1850, and the Hutchinson store as "Pantechnetheca"- 
later the site of China Hall. Mr. Walker was a Primitive Methodist, and 
his marble bust is in Carlton Street Methodist church, Toronto. Water 
color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1141 YORK PIONEER AND HISTORICAL SOCIETY, 1905 Photo, 
with key. Size 11 x 18. See 99, 1135, 1145. 

1142 BERTHON, GEORGE THEODORE, 1806-92 A distinguished 
portrait painter in Canada. He was born of French parents in Vienna, 
Austria, May 3rd, 1806. His father, Rene Berthon, was Court painter dur- 
ing the Napoleon regime. In 1844 the son, a true master of his art, 
settled in Toronto. The finest portraits of the public men of his time are 
from his brush, and are to be found in the Senate Chamber, Ottawa, 
Osgoode Hall, and Government House, Toronto, and the City Halls of To- 
ronto and Kingston. Mr. Berthon was a member of the Ontario and the 
Royal Canadian Society of Artists. His death took place, January 18th, 
1892. Water color from a portrait by himself in possession of Miss Claire 
Berthon, his eldest daughter. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1143 BROWNE, JAMES, 1802-52 A well-known pioneer wharfinger- 
He was an Irishman, having been born in Abington, Co. Limerick. In 
1835 he emigrated to Canada, settling in Toronto. The wharf at the foot 
of Scott street, well-known for many years as Browne's Wharf, now the 
Toronto Electric Light property, was built by Mr. Browne, and relatives of 
his in Hamilton were owners of some of the principal wharves of that city. 
His death occurred in Toronto. Water color from miniature in possession 
of his grandson, Roden Kingsmill, Toronto. Size 4x5. Half length, sitting. 

1144 YORK (TORONTO), 1820 Showing the peninsula which joined 
the mainland at the foot of Woodbine avenue, Toronto, and through which 
the waters of Lake Ontario broke in 1854, creating the present Island. In 
the picture are also shown the second Parliament Buildings in York, erected 
on Palace (Front) street, in 1818, at foot of Berkeley. The buildings were 
two in number, two storeys in height, the north one being used for Gov- 
ernment offices and the south building as the Legislative Chambers. On 
20th December, 1824, the latter was destroyed by fire. Water color from 
original oil in possession of the late Mrs. Stephen Heward, Toronto, painted 
by Mr. Irvine, a Scotch artist, who, prior to 1821, was a visitor in York. 
He was a cousin of Hon. George Cruickshank. Water color. Size 18 x 34. 

1145 YORK PIONEERS' SOCIETY, 1893 Photo, with key. Size 
12 x 18. See 99, 1135, 1141. 

1146 ZION CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH (FIRST) North-east cor- 
ner of Bay and Newgate (Adelaide) streets, Toronto Built in 1839 and 
opened for worship, January 1st, 1840. Rev. John Roaf was pastor until 
15th June, 1855. On 26th February, of that year, the church was destroyed 
by fire and re-erected on the same site. The first house north of Zion 
church was the residence of Thomas Harding, and next building, the Fire 
Hall of No. 6 "Provincial" (south door), and No. 3 "British America" 
(centre door), and station of hose company (north door). The church 
with square tower, south-east corner of Bay and Richmond, was the United 
Presbyterian church, of which Rev. John. Jennings was pastor. Litho- 
graph, in color. H. Martin, del. Size 10 x 14. See 761, 797. 

1147 CHAUNCEY, COMMODORE "Isaac Chauncey, Esqr. of the 
United States Navy. J. Wood, pinxt. D. Edwin, sc." Born in Connecticut 






185 

about 1772. In 1806 obtained the rank of captain in the American navy, 
and in 1812 was appointed commander of the U.S. naval forces on the 
northern Great Lakes. His squadron, with land forces, captured York 
(Toronto), April 27th, 1813. An interesting incident in connection with 
Chauncey is related by Mr. C. H. J. Snider in his book, "In the Wake of 
the Eighteen-Twelvers." The British brig-of-war "Earl of Moira" was in- 
tercepted by Chauncey's flagship, the "Oneida," while convoying the effects 
of General Sir Isaac Brock, who had shortly before lost his life at Queenston 
Heights./ On learning of the "Moira's" task, the "Oneida" gave the reply: 
"The Commodore's compliments, and if you are convoying the effects of 
the late General, pass on. We'll meet again." Stipple engraving. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1148 PIKE, GENERAL ZEBULON MONTGOMERY, 1779-1813 
"General Pike. T. Gimbrede, Sc., N.Y." An American officer and tra- 
veller, born in New Jersey. In 1805 he set out to explore the sources of 
the Mississippi. Rose to rank of brigadier-general in War of 1812. Com- 
manded the land forces that captured York (Toronto), 27th April, 1813, and 
was killed in that action by the explosion of a magazine. Stipple engrav- 
ing. Size 4% x 5. Head and shoulders. 

1149 CAPTURE OF THE UNITED STATES' SCHOONERS "JULIA" 
AND "GROWLER" Six British vessels of Sir James Lucas Yeo's squadron 
on the 10th of August, 1813, encountered the American fleet of eleven off 
Niagara, and, after a running fight, captured the "Julia," the first schooner 
the Americans had armed for the war, and the "Growler," each of 80 tons, 
and armed with four guns. They had been separated from their main 
body. As prize ships the schooners became the British transports "Con- 
fiance" and "Hamilton." They were, however, recaptured off the Ducks, 
Lake Ontario, by Commodore Isaac Chauncey, October 6th, 1813, but the 
"Growler" was again taken by the British at Oswego, May 6th, 1814. Water 
color on pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 6 x 20. 

J1150 THE "DISCOVERIE," 1611 Captain Henry Hudson's last ship. 
In the summer of 1610, while searching for the North-west Passage to 
India, Hudson discovered the bay which bears his name. Provisions ran 
short, and his crew, fearing that he would persist in his search until they 
all perished, mutinied in 1611, casting him and -eight others adrift, with 
hardly any arms or provisions, in the shallop towing astern. They were 
never found. This picture is based on details supplied by the replica of 
Hudson's preceding ship, the "Half Moon," in which he discovered the 
Hudson River, 1609. Water color on pencil sketch, by C. H. J. Snider. 
Size 11 x 14. 

1151 THE "TORONTO" YACHT This was a small, fast-sailing 
vessel, built in 1799, for Government service, by John Dennis, master 
builder, at the Humber River mouth, on Lake Ontario. She was used for 
carrying passengers, despatches, and a limited amount of freight. Lieut.- 
Governor Peter Hunter and his suite used her frequently between York 
(Toronto), Niagara and Kingston. The "Toronto" was wrecked on the 
shore of Toronto Island early in 1812, and for many years her ribs bleached 
on the sandbar. The picture shows her outward bound, off the lighthouse 
built on Toronto Island, 1809. Water color on pencil sketch by C. H. J. 
Snider. Size 8 x 10. 

1152 HIS MAJESTY'S SLOOP OF WAR "SIR ISAAC BROCK" On 

the stocks at York (Toronto), April, 1813. Built during the winter of 
1812-13 at the Government shipyard in York (Toronto), probably at the foot 
of Yonge street, but burned before her completion, by General Sheaffe, the 
British commander, to prevent her capture by the Americans at the taking 
of York, April 27th, 1813. 'She was to have had at least 30 guns, but her 
armament was frozen in the shipyard mud at the time of the capture, and 



186 

BO useless The dismantled schooner, "Duke of Gloucester," in the back- 
ground was captured by the Americans. The masts showing beyond her 
were those of the schooner "Prince Regent," which had sailed, for Kingston 
just before the Americans arrived. Water color on pencil sketch by 
C. H. J. Snider. Size 8 x 10. 

U53 PRIZE BRIG "PRESIDENT ADAMS" An American vessel cap- 
tured by Brock at Detroit, August 16th, 1812. She was re-named the 
"Detroit," in honor of the taking of that place, armed witn six guns and 
sent to Fort Erie, opposite Buffalo. Subsequently recaptured by the 
Americans" and burned by them Oct. 9th, 1812, to prevent the British from 
regaining her. The picture shows the vessel in the act of weighing anchor 
for her last voyage under British colors to Fort Erie. Water color oa 
pencil sketch by C. H. J. Snider. Size 8 x 10. 

1154 FRENCH FLEET ON LAKE ONTARIO, 1757 With vessels 
beating off the Niagara River At this time Fort Niagara, built 1725-6, was 
in possession of the French. At the left of the fleet is a topsail schooner, 
"La Marquise de Vaudreuil," flagship. Her side shows seven gunports, 
A smaller schooner, "La Huzalt," of similar rig, showing six gunports, 
appears to her right, and a still smaller schooner, with four ports in her 
side and without topsails, is next. She is "La Louise." At the extreme 
right is "Le Victort." She had six guns, three to a side. The craft ranged 
in size from 40 to 70 feet in length on deck. This picture and that of the 
British fleet (No. 1158) are the first known of vessels on Lake Ontario. 
Wash drawing from original in the Royal Library, British Museum, made 
by Labroquerie, a French engineer at Fort Frontenac (Kingston, U.C.), 
4th October, 1757. Size 10 x 27. 

1155 SLOOP OF WAR "BON ETTA" She was in the attack on Fort 
Baccurano, near Havana, when, on Aug. 14th, 1762, that fort was captured 
from the Spaniards and nine ships taken by Lord Albemarle. Sir George 
Pocock and Hon. Augustine Keppel, Lieutenant-Colonel John Graves 
Simcoe, of the Queen's Rangers, and subsequently first Lieutenant- 
Governor of Upper Canada, 1792-6, sailed for New York in the "Bonetta" 
after the surrender of Yorktown, Va., by Lord Cornwall! s, Oct. 19th, 1781. 
The vessel carried fourteen guns. Water color on pen drawing by C. H. J. 
Snider. Size 11 x 14. 

1156 THE "MATTHEW" OF BRISTOL, ENG., 1497 John Cabot's 
ship on his first voyage of discovery. With his son, Sebastian, and a crew 
of eighteen men, Cabot set sail in the "Matthew" from Bristol, May 2nd, 
1497. On June 24th he sighted Newfoundland, probably at Cape Bonavista, 
thereby establishing a claim to the discovery of the northern half of the 
American continent. Returned to Bristol, August 6th, 1497, and the follow- 
ing year, having interested Henry VII. in his expedition, again set sail 
for the "New Found Land," this time with a fleet of five vessels. Water 
color on pencil sketch by C. H. J. Snider. Size 8 x 10. 

1157 BRITISH NAVAL ESTABLISHMENT ON LAKE ONTARIO, 
1792 The naval service on Lake Ontario in 1792 consisted of the gunboats 
"Beaver" and "Buffalo," the schooners "Onondaga" and "Mississaga," and 
sloop "Caldwell." The gunboats carried one cannon and the schooners six 
guns each, although the latter were pierced for twelve. All of these vessels 
transported troops and provisions from Kingston to York and Niagara, and 
supplies for Fort Erie and Detroit were portaged from the Niagara River 
at Queenston to Fort Chippawa, three miles above the Falls, and then by 
boats and batteaux eighteen miles to Fort Erie, and then to Detroit. Water 
color from the original drawings in the J. Ross Robertson "Simcoe" collec- 
tion. Size 10 x 16. 



187 

1158 BRITISH FLEET ON LAKE ONTARIO, 1757 Showing vessels, 
schooners and brigs of the early days In the foreground are two small, 
unarmed schooners, probably used as tenders. Labroquerie gives them 
one name, the two "Livelies." In the centre of the picture is the "Mont- 
calm," a brig pierced for nine guns on each side. To her right is a 
brigantine or ketch, the "George," showing eight guns to a side. To the 
extreme left is a schooner, the "Lactraguence." Her side shows five gun- 
ports. At the extreme right is a sloop, with four gunports, called the 
"Ontario." In the background is a large sloop of similar rig, but with five 
guns to a side, called the "Vigilant." The high sterns of all the vessels and 
antiquated watersails hanging from the bowsprits of the two brigs mark a 
vanished type of ship. Wash drawing from original in the Royal Library, 
British Museum, made by Labroquerie, a French engineer at Fort Fron- 
tenac (Kingston, U.C.), 4th October, 1757. Size 10x27. 

1159 THE "DUKE OF GLOUCESTER" British armed vessel on 
Lake Ontario, captured by the Americans at York (Toronto), April 27th, 
1813; taken to Sackett's Harbour as a prize, and refitted for the American 
fleet as the "York." She was twice set on fire, once at York, to prevent 
her falling into the hands of the enemy, and again at Sackett's Harbour, 
May 29th, 1813, when the British attacked that place. She was originally 
armed with six guns, and early in the War of 1812 served as a prison ship. 
When captured by the Americans she was a sheer hulk, stripped of guns 
and spars, and being rebuilt for transport service. The "Prince Regent" 
had been stripped of her guns to fit out the "Brock" and the "Gloucester's" 
armament was "being used to replace them. Her rig has been variously 
described. Commodore Chauncey says she was a schooner, intended for 
sixteen guns, and she is so shown in this picture. Water color on pencil 
drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 8 x 10. 

1160 HIS MAJESTY'S SCHOONER "PRINCE REGENT" A mem- 
ber of Sir James Yeo's fleet. She was built at York (Toronto), and 
launched early in July, 1812. The following year she became the "General 
Beresford," and again in 1814 re-named "Netley." Her armament consisted 
of twelve guns, and as one of the vessels in Sir James Lucas Yeo's fleet, 
took part in many of the engagements on Lake Ontario, including the 
attack on Sackett's Harbour, the American camp at Stoney Creek and the 
so-called "Burlington Races." Water color on pencil drawing by C. H. J. 
Snider. Size 8 x 10. 

1161 LE "DON DE DIEU" (GIFT OF GOD) The vessel in which 
Samuel de Champlain, with his courageous band of twenty-eight, crossed 
the Atlantic in 1608, ascending the St. Lawrence and founding the City of 
Quebec (Stadacona), July 3rd of that year. The picture is from the repro- 
duction of the original vessel, built for the Champlain Tercentenary at 
Quebec, 1908. Water color on pencil drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 
8x10. See 84. 

1162 THE BARQUE "GRIFFIN" OF LA SALLE Lake Erie's first 
vessel. Built in 1678 by La Salle (the first white man to explore the 
Niagara River), at Cayuga Creek, above the Falls on the American side of 
the Niagara River. She was a high-ended craft of forty-five tons, rigged 
as a galliot or brigantine, with an armament of five small cannon. La 
Salle, accompanied by Father Hennepin, of the Recollets, ascended the 
waterways of the Great Lakes and reached Green Bay, Lake Michigan, in 
her. in 1679, after having encountered many trials and storms. From 
Green Bay she was sent back with a cargo of furs, and was never heard of 
again. On the quarter deck in the picture may be seen Father Hennepin. 
The more common modern mode of spelling the name of the historic vessel 
is "Griffon," but Hennepin spelled it "Griffin," as did Parkman. the his- 
torian. Water color on pencil drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 10 x 14. 



188 

1163 "CUTTING-OUT" EXPLOIT, 1814 One of the brilliant events 
of the War of 1812-14 was the British capture of two out of three American 
schooners anchored under the batteries of Fort Erie, in tne Niagara River, 
on the night of August 12th, 1814. Lieuts. Alex. Dobbs, of the "Charwell," 
and Copleston Radcliffe, of the "Netley," had a ship's boat carried all the 
way from Queenston seventeen milesthere being no British vessels at 
the time above the Falls of Niagara. With this gig and some flat boats 
they found, they carried the American vessels by boarding, after a fierce 
conflict, in which Lieut. Radcliffe was slain. A third American vessel, the 
"Porcupine," shown to the left of the picture, escaped in the dark. In the 
foreground is the captured "Somers," and to the right is the "Ohio," also 
captured. Water color on pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 6 x 20. 

1164 "CHESAPEAKE" AND "SHANNON" NAVAL BATTLE "To 

Captain Sir Philip Bowes Vere Broke, Bart, and K.C.B., this representation 
of H.M.S. 'Shannon' commencing battle with the American frigate 
'Chesapeake,' on the 1st June, 1813, is dedicated by his obliged and most 
grateful servant, R. H. King. Painted by J. C. Schetky, Esqre., and on 
stone by L. Haghe. Designed by Captn. R. H. King, R.N. London: Pubd. 
by Smith, Elder & Co., 65 Cornhill." On March 21st, 1813, the British ships 
"Shannon" and "Tenedos" sailed from Halifax to blockade the Port of 
Boston. The blockade continued until June 1st, when the "Shannon" and 
"Chesapeake" engaged in action, resulting in the capture of the latter. She 
was taken to Halifax and later to England, but in 1820 was sold to a ship 
broker. India proof. Size 12 x 17. See 1169, 1176, 1177. 

1165 BRITISH SCHOONER "NELSON" An innocent accessory of 
the War of 1812. The "Lord Nelson" was built at Niagara in 1811, and 
was owned by Messrs. James and William Crooks. The seizure of her 
was made under the Embargo Act, by the American brig-of-war "Oneida," 
on Lake Ontario, June 5th, 1812, just two weeks before the War of 1812 
was declared, the "Nelson" being a British ship in American waters, off 
Niagara. The seizure was ultimately declared illegal, but, in the mean- 
time, the "Nelson" had been condemned, sold as a prize, and, after being 
fitted as an American war schooner, renamed the "Scourge." She foun- 
dered in a squall off Niagara, August 8th, 1813. The award of $5,000, made 
to her owners in 1817 for her illegal seizure, was never paid, a clerk ab- 
sconding with the funds. One hundred and one years after the seizure 
the claim of the heirs of the owners for damages came up at the Arbitra- 
tion Court, at Washington, and they were awarded $33,000. The picture, 
drawn from a careful study of the records of the vessel, both as the "Lord 
Nelson" and the "Scourge," shows the schooner at the moment of her 
capture by the "Oneida." Water color on pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. 
Size 11 x 14. 

1166 PARRY SOUND, EAST COAST OF GEORGIAN BAY, 1880 The 
place received its name from Parry Sound (known also as Melville Sound), 
in the polar regions of the north. The Arctic Parry Sound was called after 
Capt. Parry (Sir William Edward Parry), who made several voyages in 
search of the North-west Passage. The view shows: 1, Conger Lumber 
Co.'s stables; 2, Parry Sound Lumber Co.'s lumber piles; 3, Pond, since 
filled in, and now (1917) a lumber yard; 4, Government Signal removed 
subsequently to another site; 5, Methodist Church, demolished long since; 
6, Parry Sound Lumber Co.'s burners; 7, J. C. Miller residence, now Gen- 
eral Hospital; 8, Road between Parry Sound and Parry Harbor; 9, Belvidere 
Hotel; 10, Conger Mill, replaced by a new building. The town is capital 
of Parry Sound District, and an extensive lumber centre. Water color from 
original drawing by Schell and Hogan for "Picturesque Canada." Size 3x7. 

1167 "SACK ETT'S HARBOUR On Lake Ontario. Pub. 31 Oct., 1818, 
by J. Gold, 103 Shoe Lane, Juvenal. PI. 519. Baily, Sc." Sackett's Harbour, 
m Jefferson County, N.Y., directly over against Kingston, was, during the 
War of 1812-14, to the Americans the most vital point on Lake Ontario, as 



189 

Kingston was to the British. In May, 1813, the British forces, accompanied 
by Sir George Prevost, but under the immediate command of Colonel 
Baynes, his adjutant-general, made an attack upon it, but were repulsed by 
a superior force, commanded by Major-General Brown. Size 6 x 10. 

1168 "STORMING FORT OSWEGO, ON LAKE ONTARIO, NORTH 
AMERICA, MAY 6TH, 1814 Drawn by Captn. Steele. Engraved by R. 
Havell, etc." Engraved in aquatint and printed in color. Size 11 x 16. See 
1171, 1174, 1175. 

1169 "CHESAPEAKE" AND "SHANNON" NAVAL BATTLE "To 

Captain Sir Philip Bowes Vere Broke, Bart, and K.C.B., this representation 
of the American frigate 'Chesapeake,' crippled and thrown into utter dis- 
order by the two first broadsides fired by H.M.S. 'Shannon,' is dedicated by 
his obliged and most grateful servant, R. H. King. Painted by J. C. 
Schetky, Esqre., and on stone by L. Haghe. Designed by Capt. R. H. 
King, R. N. London: Pubd. by Smith, Elder & Co., 65 Cornhill." India 
proof. Size 12 x 17. 

1170 BROKE, SIR PHILIP BOWES VERE, 1776-1841 Commander 
H.M.S. "Shannon" Sir Philip, who eventually became a British rear- 
admiral, was educated at the Royal Naval Academy, Portsmouth, Eng. In 
August, 1811, after a five years' cruise in the Arctic, sailed for Halifax 
with his third command, H.M.S. "Shannon." Blockaded the Port of Boston, 
1813, and on June 1st of that year engaged in combat with the American 
frigate "Chesapeake, commanded by Lawrence. After an engagement ex- 
tending over a period of only fifteen minutes, the "Chesapeake" was cap- 
tured by Broke, taken to Halifax, and eventually to England. Sir Philip 
was made a K.C.B. in 1815 and died in 1841. Engraved by W. Greatbatch. 
London: Richard Bentley, 1836. Size 3x4. Half length. 

1171 "STORMING FORT OSWEGO BY 2ND BATTALION ROYAL 
MARINES AND A PARTY OF SEAMEN; 15 M. PAST TWELVE AT 
NOON Dedicated to his Majesty's Royal Marine Forces and those em- 
ployed on the Expepdition. Drawn by J. Hewett, Lieut., Royal Marines. En- 
graved by R. Havell." With key. In the summer of 1813 the De Watteville 
Regiment arrived in Canada, and was immediately sent to the front. On 
4th May, 1814, an expedition under command of Sir Gordon Drummond left 
Kingston, the fleet which formed a part of it arriving before Oswego the 
next day. On the morning of the 6th, part of the land forces and seamen, 
under command of Lieut.-Col. Fischer, of the De Wattevilles, embarked in 
boats. The "Montreal" and "Niagara," shown in the picture, cannonaded 
the battery, a landing was effected, and the fort, which the Americana 
abandoned, occupied by the British. Lieut. Hewett, of the Royal Marines, 
by whom the picture was drawn, climbed up the flagstaff, under fire of 
the retreating force, and tore down the colors, which had been nailed to it. 
Engraved in aquatint and printed in color. Size 14 x 21. See 1168, 1174-5. 

1172 "BOARDING AND TAKING THE AMERICAN SHIP 'CHESA- 
PEAKE' by the officers and crew of H.M. ship 'Shannon," commanded by 
Capt. Broke, June, 1813. Heath, delt. M. Dubourg, sculpt. Published and 
sold July 1, 1816, by Edwd. Orme, Publisher to His Majesty and the Prince 
Regent, Bond Street, corner of Brook Street, London." Lithograph in 
color. Size 8 x 11. See 1176- 

1173 THOROLD, ONT., 1880 On the Welland Canal Three canals 
have been built, and a fourth, the Welland Ship Canal, is (1917) under con- 
struction. The view shows. 1, Oddfellows' Hall; 2, Masonic Hall; 3, Fire 
Hall; 4, Grist mill, built 1827 by George Keefer. "So long as grass grows 
and water runs" it has free water for power. To-day (1917) the Foley- 
Riger Co., Ltd., operate it as a pulp mill. 5, Entrance first Welland Canal. 
When the Government took over the holdings of the original company Mr. 



190 

George Reefer gave the proceeds of his shares to King's College, Toronto, 
thus forming a fund for the Wellington (the Duke of Wellington was a 
shareholder in the company), scholarship at Toronto University. 6, Canal 
of 1845; 7, Vessel in lock 24. Water color from original drawing by Schell 
and Hogan, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 4x7. 

1174 ATTACK ON FORT -ONTARIO (OSWEGO), 1814 The attack 
on Fort Ontario, the fortification built on the north side of the River 
Oswegatchie for the protection of the village of Oswego, was one of the 
minor affairs of the War of 1812-15. The fort was on a bluff overlooking 
the village, and was partly built on colonial lines, spacious, but not strong. 
The attack was made on 6th May. The British fleet was under the com- 
mand of Sir James Yeo with a force of 1,200. They landed near where the 
City Hospital now (1917) stands, and the battle took place in rear of it. 
The British ascended the long, steep hill, and by their attack compelled 
the Americans to evacuate. Mitchell, the American commander, retreated 
up the river. Water color from old print. Size 4x7. See 1168, 1171, 1175. 

1175 "STORMING FORT OSWEGO, ON LAKE ONTARIO, NORTH 
AMERICA, MAY 6TH, 1814 Drawn by Captn. Steele. Engraved by R. 
Havell, etc." Engraved in aquatint and printed in color. Size 11 x 16. See 
1168, 1171, 1174. 

1 176 _CHESAPEAKE" AND "SHANNON" NAVAL BATTLE "To 

Captain Sir Philip Bowes Vere Broke, Bart, and K.C.B., this representation 
of H.M.S. 'Shannon' carrying by boarding the American frigate 'Chesapeake' 
after a cannonade of five minutes on the 1st of June, 1813, is dedicated by 
his obliged and most grateful servant, R. H. King. Painted by J. C. 
Schetky, Esqre., and on stone by L. Haghe. Designed by Capt. R. H. King, 
R.N., London: Pubd. by Smith, Elder & Co., 65 Cornhill." India proof. 
Size 13 x 17. See 1172. 

1177 "CHESAPEAKE" AND "SHANNON" NAVAL BATTLE "To 

Captain Sir Philip Bowes Vere Broke, Bart, and K.C.B., this representation 
of H.M.S. 'Shannon' leading her prize, the American frigate 'Chesapeake,' 
into Halifax harbour on the 6th June, 1813, is dedicated by his obliged and 
most grateful servant, R. H. King. Painted by J. C. Schetky, Esqre., ane 
on stone by L. Haghe. Designed by Captn. R. H. King, R.N. Londc 
Pubd. by Smith, Elder & Co., 65 Cornhill." India proof. Size 12 x 17. 

1178 H.M. SCHOONERS "CONFIANCE" AND "SURPRISE," SEPT. 
5TH, 1814 The two .vessels are shown beating up for Michillimackinac, 
after their capture by Lieut. Miller Worsley. Originally the U.S. schooners 
"Scorpion" and "Tigress." They destroyed Lieut. Worsley's schooner, the 
"Nancy," in the Nottawasaga River, Aug. 14th, 1814. Worsley, escaping, 
secured boats at Fort Michillimackinac, boarded the "Tigress" as she lay 
at anchor in the Detour Passage in the night of Sept. 3rd, and captured 
her after a gallant struggle. At dawn on Sept. 6th he sailed up to her con- 
sort, the "Scorpion," and carried her by boarding, her crew being entirely 
ignorant of the fate which had befallen their comrades. Both vessels had 
been in the Battle of Put-in-Bay, Lake Erie, the year before, where the 
"Scorpion" fired the first and last gun in the contest. They formed part 
of the American expedition against Michillimackinac in 1814, when they 
destroyed the schooner "Perseverance," captured the "Mink," and block- 
aded and burned the "Nancy." The schooners wefre left to blockade the 
Nottawasaga River, so that no supplies might reach the British garrison 
at Michillimackinac. Worsley renamed the pair "Surprise" and "Confi- 
ance," carried their crews prisoners in them to the Nottawasaga, and sailed 
back to Michillimackinac. The vessels became the nucleus of a new British 
navy for the Upper Lakes. The pen drawing by Mr. C. H. J. Snider, in 
which the "Confiance" is to the left and the "Surprise" to the right, is 






191 

based upon the details shown in a naval officer's painting of Penetangui- 
shene, about 1819, a water color found in London by the late James Bain 
when head of the Toronto Public Library; descriptions of both vessels 
given by Lieut. Worsley in his despatches; and careful examination and 
measurements of the hull of the "Confiance," sunk in Penetanguishene 
Harbor. Size 9 x 10. 

H79_ENTRANCE TO WELLAND CANAL View at Port Colborne, 
1880 On 30th Nov., 1829, the first Welland Canal, which then was only 
built to Port Robinson and thence via Chippawa, was formally opened. In 
1842 the shareholders were bought out by the Government, which assumed 
entire control. The channel was enlarged and a new waterway made from 
Welland Junction to Port Colborne, the latter place being bisected by the 
canal, which formed the first direct all-canal connection between Lakes 
Erie and Ontario. To the left of picture, in background, is the old G.T.R. 
elevator for lightering vessels of grain coming from the Upper Lakes, and 
on the right is the business part of Port Colborne. Water color from 
original drawing by Schell and Hogan for "Picturesque Canada." Size 4x7. 

1180 LOCK 23, THOROLD, ONT., 1880 The Welland Canal in picture 
was that commenced in 1870 and completed 1884. It lies about a hundred 
yards east of the 1829 and 1845 waterways. 1, Lock 23; 2, Anglican Church, 
built by the Rev. T. Fuller (afterwards Bishop of Niagara), when rector of 
Thorold; 3, Bank cut away in 1915 for canal under construction. Single 
lock No. 7 and triple locks Nos. 6 and 5, in flight, have been excavated in 
the rock under this embankment. These locks have thirty feet of water 
on the sill. They are 800 feet long and 80 feet wide and are 
the first locks to have the single gates. not double as the Soo or 
Panama Canals. Water color from original drawing by Schell and Hogan, 
for "Picturesque Canada." Size 5x6. 

1181 "BURLINGTON RACES," LAKE ONTARIO, SEPT. 28TH, 1813 
With key. This four-hour runnin g fight, from York - (Toronto) to 
Burlington (near Hamilton), was a drawn battle between Sir James Yeo's 
British squadron of six vessels, and the American Commodore Chauncey's 
squadron of eight. The American sought shelter from the rising gale in 
Niagara River, and the British rode it out in Burlington Bay. Water color 
on pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 6 x 20. 

1182 NAVAL ENGAGEMENT OFF KINGSTON, C.W. Commodore 
Chauncey in pursuit of the British, Nov. 9th, 1812 The British sloop of war, 
"Royal George," was pursued into Kingston harbor by Chauncey in the 
American brig "Oneida" and several schooners. These used sweeps and 
fired repeatedly on the British ship at long range, finally coming into close 
action, when she anchored under the shelter of the batteries. In the even- 
Ing the Americans, who had kept up the bombardment for hours, were 
forced to withdraw to Four-Mile Point, opposite Kingston. Water color on 
pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 8 x 10. 

1183 HIS MAJESTY'S BRIG "MAGNET" Originally the schooner 
"Sir Sydney Smith," armed with twelve guns, but in 1814 altered to a brig, 
given fourteen guns and re-named the "Magnet." As one of Sir James 
Yeo's squadron, she took part in most of the naval engagements of the 
War of 1812-14. Was at the storming of Oswego, May 6th, 1814. In the 
August of that year ran ashore at Ten-Mile Creek, west of Niagara, and 
was burned to avoid capture by the Americans. Water color on pencil 
drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 10 x 10. 

1184 YEO "Captn. Sir James Lucas Yeo, Knt. A. Buck, pinxt. H. 

1. Cook, Sculp. Published Nov., 1810, by J. Gold, No. 103 Shoe Lane, 

Fleet St." Born in 1782, entered the navy, 1793. Took part in the siege of 

15 



192 

Genoa, 1800; captured Cayenne nine years later. Served in the West 
Indies, 1811, and arrived at Quebec from England, May, 1813, to take com- 
mand on the Great Lakes. In command at the "Burlington Races" and the 
"Niagara Sweepstakes." Blockaded Sackett's Harbour; took Oswego, 1814. 
Commander-in-chief at Jamaica, 1817. His death occurred the following 
year while he was on a voyage from the coast of Africa. Line engraving. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1185 CAPT. R. H. BARCLAY'S FLAGSHIP "DETROIT," 1813 The 
second unlucky British ship of that name. Built at Maiden, near Amherst- 
burg, N.C., and named in honor of Brock's victory at Detroit. In order to 
supply her with guns Barclay dismantled Fort Maiden and gathered up the 
field guns and battery artillery which had been used at the attack in Fort 
Meigs, mustering in all nineteen cannon, of six different calibres. Some 
pieces of the armament could only be discharged by flashing pistols at 
their touch-holes. The "Detroit" was in the disastrous Battle of Lake 
Erie, Sept. 10th, 1813, and was afterwards dismantled by her American 
captors and sent over the Falls of Niagara. Water color on pencil draw/- 
ing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 11x14. 

1186 SIR JAMES LUCAS YEO'S FLAGSHIP "ST. LAWRENCE," 
LAKE ONTARIO, 1814 The "St. Lawrence" was the largest warship ever 
floated on the Great Lakes. Built at Kingston and launched in September, 
1814. She was alone more powerful than the combined American fleet, and 
Commodore Chauncey withdrew his vessels to Sackett's Harbour and began 
building a ship to match her. Ere this vessel was launched peace was 
declared. The "St. Lawrence," manned by 1,000 men, carried 102 guns, 
arranged in two tiers. Her main dimensions were, approximately, 190 
feet length of keel, 60 feet beam, and 23 feet draught. She made two 
voyages to Niagara with troops and stores in the autumn of 1814, and after 
peace was declared, was used as a floating barracks at Kingston, but was 
eventually sunk in Kingston Harbor. To the left of the picture is shown 
one of the lugger-rigged gunboats, stationed at Kingston in 1814, the 
"Buffalo," and to the right, the tender-schooner "Vincent." Water color 
on pencil drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 9 x 10. 

1187 REPRODUCTIONS OF CARAVELS OF COLUMBUS Vessels 
under full sail. They were reproduced in Spain with great accuracy of 
detail for the Chicago World's Fair in 1893. In the centre is shown Col- 
umbus' own ship, the "Santa Maria," which was ninety feet long and drew 
eight feet of water. To the left of the picture is the "Nina," a smaller 
.caravel, rigged like a felucca, and to the right is the "Pinta," which is 
sometimes credited with being the first to sight the new world the Island 
of San Salvador, in the Bahamas, 12th October, 1492. The reproductions of 
the caravels were towed across the Atlantic and up the Great Lakes in 
1893, and in 1913 made an exhibition voyage from Chicago to Detroi 
Water color on pencil drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 10 x 14. 

1188 COMMODORE PERRY'S FLAGSHIP "NIAGARA" At Perry's 
Lookout, the "Needle's Eye," Put-in-Bay, Lake Erie. Commodore Perry's 
second flagship in the famous Battle of Put-in-Bay, Sept. 10th, 1813. After 
the peace of 1815 she was dismantled, and in 1825 sunk at her moorings at 
Erie, Pa. In March, 1913, she was raised, completely refitted, and taken 
on a triumphal tour of the Great Lakes during the summer of 1913. The 
picture, drawn on the spot, shows her at anchor in the very anchorage 
where she "put in" among the Bass Islands, a hundred years before, after 
the great Battle of Lake Erie, usually called the Battle of Put-in-Bay. Water 
color on pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 11 x 14. 

1189 "COLONEL MYERS" This vessel, a British schooner-rigged 
gunboat, was used in the spring of 1813 at the siege of Fort Meigs, built 
by General Harrison at the foot of the rapids some twelve miles from the 



193 

mouth of the Maumee. The British, under Proctor, abandoned the siege, 
however, and in the autumn of 1813 the Myers was burned and sunk in the 
Thames, near Chatham, to avoid capture. In the summer of 1900 it was 
accidentally found, the presence of cannon balls determining the nature 
of its timbers, and the sunken hull raised the following year, through the 
efforts of Lieut.-Col. J. S. Black. It was taken to Chatnam, where it re- 
mained high and dry in Tecumseh Park until 1912, when the old warrior 
gunboat was broken up as souvenirs. The vessel was named after Col. 
Christopher Myers, quartermaster-general of the British Forces in Canada 
in 1812. Water color on pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 8 x 12. 

1190 TRANSPORT "BECKWITH" AND BATTEAUX, LAKE ON- 
TARIO, 1816 The "Beckwith" was launched from Kingston Navy Yard, 
July 8th, 1816, and was used for carrying troops and military stores. These 
were transferred from the ship to the shore in flat-bottomed boats called 
batteaux. Both the ship and the boats are drawn from their original 
designer's lines. Water color on pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 10 x 13. 

1191 THE "GOVERNOR SIMCOE" RUNNING THE GAUNTLET 

While endeavoring to make Kingston in a strong breeze, Capt. James 
Richardson (father of the Capt. Jas. Richardson who commanded the 
"Moira," and afterwards served in the Rebellion of 1837), in command of 
the British Government schooner "Governor Simcoe," when intercepted by 
the American fleet, Nov. 10th, 1812, drove his vessel over Seven-Acre 
Shoal at the entrance to the harbor. The Americans were unable to cross 
the shallows, but just as the "Simcoe" had cleared the reef and was gaining 
the deep water inside, the foe fired a broadside which passed through the 
"Simcoe's" starboard quarter and came out under her bows. She sank 
with colors flying, settling in four fathoms of water. Boats from the 
garrison rescued the crew. The "Governor Simcoe," the first vessel built 
for trade on Lake Ontario, was subsequently raised and for many years 
sailed the Great Lakes. Water color on pen drawing by C. H. J. 
Snider. Size 8 x 11. 

1192-7 UNIFORMS WORN BY OFFICERS AND SEAMEN OF THE 
BRITISH NAVY FROM 1768-86 The only set of these drawings known 
was bequeathed in May, 1913, to the Trustees of Greenwich Hospital, under 
the will of the late Henry Cooper Henderson, of Ramsgate. They were, by 
special permission of the Secretary of the Navy, copied for J. Ross Robert- 
son, in September, 1913, by an artist whose specialty is British naval and 
military uniforms. The .drawings are of interest on this continent, show- 
ing as they do the uniform worn by officers of the fleet under such men 
as Howe, Boscawen, Saunders, Byron, Parker, Rodney and others. Water 
color reproductions of drawings by Dominic Serres, who in 1790 became 
marine painter to George III., and later librarian to the Royal Academy. His 
prints are inscribed: "Published as the Act directs by D. Serres, in 
Warwick street, Golden Square, 1777." Size of each picture (six in set) 
7 x 10. See 162-8. 

1198 CRISIS IN THE BATTLE OF LAKE ERIE Off Put-in-Bay, 
Ohio, Sept. 10th, 1813 In this battle, between Commander Perry's Ameri- 
can fleet of nine vessels and six British vessels, under Commander Robert 
H. Barclay, R.N., "the superiority of the Americans in long gun metal," 
says Theodore Roosevelt, "was as 3 is to 2, and in carronade metal 
greater than 2 is to 1." Barclay had but 55 man-o'-warsmen in his fleet; 
nevertheless he fought with such desperate valor that Capt. Perry was 
beaten out of his flagship, the "Lawrence." Perry won the day by bring- 
ing up a fresh flagship, the "Niagara." The entire British fleet, helpless 
through lack of sailors, was captured. The picture shows the "Niagara" 
coming into action. Water color on pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. 
Size 6 x 19. 



194 

1199 HIS BRITANNIC MAJESTY'S SCHOONER "SPEEDY" Lost 

off Presqu' Isle, Lake Ontario, Oct. 8th, 1804. The "Speedy" left York 
(Toronto) on Sunday, Oct. 7th, bound for Presqu' Isle, with distinguished 
passengers including Mr. Justice Cochrane, Solicitor-General Gray, High 
Constable Fisk, Angus Macdonald, member of the House of Assembly; 
George Cowan, Indian interpreter, and a Chippewa Indian who was to be 
tried for murder at Presqu' Isle. She was sighted off that port the follow- 
ing evening, but foundered in a heavy snowstorm which set in ere she could 
enter the harbor. All on board, thirty or forty persons, perished. Water 
color on pencil drawing by C. H. J. Snider. Size 9 x 12. 

1200 ARMED BRITISH SCHOONER "NANCY" Commanded toy 
Lieutenant Miller Worsley, 1814 She was built in 1789 by Forsyth Rich- 
ardson & Co., at Detroit, for a Montreal trading firm, and later taken over 
for service in the War of 1812-14. After their repulse at Michillimackinac 
the Americans chased the vessel into the Nottawasaga River, and there 
destroyed her, August 14th, 1814. Lieutenant Worsley, however, captured 
within twenty days the "Tigress" and "Scorpion" (afterwards the British 
vessels "Surprise" and "Confiance"), which had destroyed the "Nancy," 
and sent them back to the mouth of the Nottawasaga, with their original 
crews in their holds as prisoners of war. The prisoners were then trans- 
ported to Quebec. Water color on pen drawing by C. H. J. Snider. 
Size 6x9. 

1201 BARCLAY, LIEUT. ROBERT H., 1805 In undress uniform of 
the period. Water color. Size 5x6. Half length. See 1202-3. 

1202 BARCLAY, CAPTAIN ROBERT H., 1814 In uniform of period. 
Water color. Size 4x6. Head and shoulders. See 1201, 1203. 

1203 BARCLAY, LIEUT. ROBERT H., 1809 In full uniform of period. 
Born at Kettle, Fifeshire, Scotland, 1785. Entered naval service in 1798, 
and shortly afterwards was rated as midshipman in the "Anson"; became 
lieutenant, and as such served at Trafalgar in the "Swiftsure." Com- 
manded British flotilla on Great Lakes in the War of 1812. On Sept. 10th, 
1813, was defeated in action with a superior American squadron under 
Commodore P,erry on Lake Erie, and severely wounded in the thigh and 
only remaining arm. It has been stated that he lost his left arm at 
Trafalgar; but this was not the case. His loss occurred several years later 
at Moir Montier Roads. Tried by court-martial for the loss of his flotilla, 
but fully and honorably acquitted. In 1814 was promoted to a captaincy. 
His death occurred at Edinburgh, 1837- Water color. Size 5x6.. Half 
length. See 1201-02. 

1204 BARCLAY, REV. JOHN First pastor of St. Andrew's Presby- 
terian church, Kingston, U.C. He was a native of Kettle, Scotland, and a 
brother of Capt. Robert H. Barclay, who took a prominent part in the naval 
engagements during the War of 1812-14. The Rev. Mr. Barclay was edu- 
cated at Edinburgh University, afterwards becoming assistant at Collessie, 
where he remained for two years. Ordained to the charge of St. Andrew's, 
Kingston, Sept. 26th, 1821, arriving there in 1822. He died five years later, 
and a memorial was erected in the old Presbyterian burying ground at 
Kingston. Mr. Barclay was highly esteemed by his people, "as a pious and 
devoted minister." Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1205 BARCLAY, REV. PETER, D.D. Father of Captain Robert H. 
Barclay and Rev. John Barclay, of Kingston. He was twentieth in descent 
from John, second son of the first Earl of Berkeley, the family later being 
known as Barclay. Became minister of Kettle parish church, Scotland, 
and remained there for seventy-two years. He was a personal friend of 
John Strachan, teacher in the parish school at Kettle, from 1797-9, and 
afterwards first Anglican Bishop of Toronto. Rev. Mr. Barclay died in the 
parish where he so long ministered, at the age of ninety-three. Water 
color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 



195 

1206 WICK HAM, MRS. BENJAMIN (MARGARET ANN BARCLAY) 
Eldest daughter of Capt. Robert H. Barclay, R.N., and granddaughter of 
Rev. Peter Barclay, of Kettle, Scotland. She married Benjamin Wickham, 
R.N.. Governor of the Ascension Isles for five years, and then Purser in 
the Navy. Mrs. Wickham died when over eighty years of age at Dawlish, 
Devonshire, Eng. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1207 STOREHOUSE IN FORT GEORGE GROUNDS, NIAGARA 

The centre part, with chimney, was standing after the War of 1812-15. 
It was occupied by the Military Guard during and after the war. Near this 
spot Sir Isaac Brock and his aide, Col. John Macdonell, were buried, 
October 16th, 1812. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 20 x 26. 

1208 FOOT OF KING STREET, NIAGARA From the river, 1839. 
Showing Mrs. Elliott's house, built 1838, and the guard-house, Gleaner 
office. Gates' tavern. Dugdale's soap factory, and Fort Mississaga. Water 
color by Owen Staples from a pencil sketch by F. H. Granger. Size 15 x 21. 

1209 BISHOP HOUSE, NIAGARA One of the oldest buildings at 
Niagara; built about 1800, and now in a dilapidated condition. It is con- 
structed of logs and covered with clapboard, with a wing built partly of 
stone. The house, which was formerly occupied bv Mr. McMullen. is now 
owned bv the Bishop family. Water color by Owen Staples, Toronto. 
Size 19x25. 

1210 HORSESHOE FALLS, NIAGARA, 1882 Water color by H.R.H. 
Princess Louise (wife of the late Marquis of Lome) during her residence in 
Canada, 1878-1883. Size 18 x 26. 

1211 POWDER MAGAZINE, NIAGARA Built near Fort George by 
Governor Simcoe, 1796. Water color by Owen Staples, Toronto. Size 19 x 25. 

1212 FOOT OF KING STREET. NIAGARA Looking towards Old 
Fort Niagara, 1839 Showing Dugdale's soap factory, the Gleaner office. 
Gates' tavern, the Guard House, Mrs. Elliott's house, built in 1838. and 
Andrew Heron's house. Fort Niagara, N.Y., is seen in the distance. Water 
color bv Owen Staples from a pencil sketch by F. H. Granger. Size 15 x 21. 
See 1208. 

1213 FORT GEORGE, U.C. View from Old Fort Niagara, N.Y., 1800 
The original is said to have been made by an officer of the 49th Regi- 
ment. Water color. Size 14 x 19. 

1214 PUISAYE. COMTE JOSEPH DE Born at Montagne. 1755, the 
youngest son of a noble family. He was intended for the church, but 
entered the army and was raised to the rank of maior-areneral in 1791. In 
1797 he applied to the British Government to found a Rovalist settlement 
in Canada, having previously failed in his efforts in the Rovalist cause in 
France, and generallv blamed for the disastrous result of the Quiberon 
expedition. He and his nartv arrived in Canada in the autumn of 1798; 
a settlement was founded on Yonge street, near Markham, and the follow- 
ing year the Count settled at Niagara, where he lived for some years. He 
was never allowed to return to France, and died in England, near Hammer- 
smith, Middlesex, in 1827. Chalk drawing by Owen Staples from a portrait 
in Niagara Historical Museum. Size 5x7. Half length. 

1215 PUISAYE. COMTESSE DE (SUSANNE SMITHERS) Tt is not 
supnosed that she ever came to Canada, but died previous to 1798. Her 
mother, however, resided at Niagara with Comte de Puisave. Chalk draw- 
ing bv Owen Stanley from a portrait in the Niagara Historical Museum. 
Size 5x7. Head and shoulders. 



196 

1216 ROBINSON, JOEL R., 1809-63 One of the best-known men on 
the Niagara River He was born in Boston, Mass., and about 1847 came to 
Niagara Falls, N.Y. By trade he was an expert machinist and engineer, 
and held that position on both the first and second "Maid of the Mist," the 
river ferry boats so well known to tourists. In the summer of 1860 Robin- 
son in a spirit of daring, walked out in the water about 150 feet from the 
shore of Luna Island, at the south end of the American Falls. It was he 
who, in June, 1861, had the courage to run the second "Maid of the Mist" 
through the rapids and the whirlpool to save her from seizure by the 
sheriff at Niagara Falls, N.Y. During his residence at Niagara Falls, 
Robinson made several rescues of persons caught in the upper rapids, who 
otherwise would have perished. He died at Niagara Falls, N.Y., 30th June, 
1863. Water color. Size 3 x 4. Head and shoulders. See 1218. 

1217 FITZG1BBON, COLONEL JAMES A veteran of the War of 
1812-15 At age of seventeen he enlisted in 49th Regiment, and almost 
immediately fought under Brock at Egmont-op-Zee. Appointed sergeant- 
major, 1801; saw service in Canada at Stoney Creek, Fort George, Fort 
Erie and Beaver Dams, and, on the conclusion of the war, settled in this 
country. In 1820 he was appointed one of the Justices of the Peace in the 
Home District; became assistant adjutant-general, 1826, and later adjutant- 
general. Took an active part in the Rebellion of 1837, in Toronto. Col. 
Fitzgibbon was born in Ireland, 1780. Died in London, 1863. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 340*6. 

1218 DARING ACT AT NIAGARA FALLS, N.Y. Joel Robinson, in 
the summer of 1860, walked out into the water about 150 feet from the 
shore of Luna Island, at the south end of the American Falls, and stood 
looking over the edge of the Falls, 100 feet from the brink. He wore felt 
shoes, such as are worn by visitors to the Cave of the Winds, and used a 
wooden staff with a sharp iron point to steady himself. As soon as he was 
photographed he returned to shore. The following summer he took the 
second "Maid of the Mist" through the rapids and whirlpool, landing at 
Queenston. Robinson was born at Boston, and died at Niagara Falls, N.Y. 
Water color from a photograph in possession of the Hon. Peter A. Porter, 
Niagara Falls, N.Y. Size 4x5. See 1216. 

1219 SECOND "MAID OF THE MIST," NIAGARA FALLS The first 
"Maid of the Mist" was built in 1846, and the second, 1854. In 1861 the 
owners of the latter, who were in financial trouble, determined to run 
down the river in order to avoid seizure by the sheriff of Niagara Falls, 
N.Y. On June 6th, the boat, in command of Captain Joel Robinson, com- 
menced the terrifying journey through the rapids and whirlpool, shortly 
afterwards landing at Queenston, where the Collector of Customs insisted 
on fees for landing and clearing to Lake Ontario. The vessel then sailed 
to Port Dalhousie, where she was placed in dry dock and repaired. Subse- 
quently she was re-named the "Maid of Orleans," and for several years did 
service as a ferry boat between Quebec and the Island of Orleans, on the 
St. Lawrence. The picture shows the "Maid" making her perilous descent 
down the Niagara River. Water color from an old print. Size 4x7. 

1220 FORT GEORGE, U.C. A view from Old Fort Niagara, N.Y., 
1812 Fort George stood on the heights above Navy Hall, at the entrance 
to the Niagara River. It partly commanded Fort Niagara, but was in turn 
commanded by the elevation near Youngstown. As a port of defence, it 
was very effective. On 27th May, 1813, it was attacked by the Americans. 
A close fight ensued, but General Vincent, feeling the Fort could not be 
saved, ordered its destruction. This, however, was not entirely completed 
before the arrival of Colonel Winfield Scott. Although the Battle of Fort 
George may be said to have resulted in a victory for the Americans, yet 
their success was incomplete. Aquatint, printed in color, by Ackermann. 
Size 5x8. See 1221. 



197 

1221 "BRITISH FORT AT NIAGARA Taken from the East Bank of 
the St. Lawrence (Niagara). G. Heriot, Esqr., pinxt. F. C. Lewis, sculp. 
Printed for Richard Phillips, 6 New Bridge Street, London, 1807." Aqua- 
tint, printed in color. Size 6x8. See 1220, 1236. 

1222 CARNOCHAN, MISS JANET Historian of Niagara Born at 
Stamford, Ont., Nov. 14th, 1839, of Scottish Covenanting stock. Educated 
at Niagara. Taught in Brantford, Kingston and Peterboro, and for twenty- 
three years in Niagara High School. Since her retirement from profes- 
sional life has devoted herself to historical research work, chiefly in con- 
nection with Niagara. Her "History of Niagara" is the authoritative work 
on all pertaining to the early days of the town, and she has also written 
many pamphlets and articles throwing fresh and important light on its 
history. Miss Carnochan is the president of the Niagara Historical Society, 
and it was through her indefatigable efforts that the 'Niagara Memorial 
Hall, opened to the public in 1907, and containing an invaluable collection 
of manuscripts, books, pamphlets portraits and other relics, was erected. 
Since its opening she has acted as curator of the museum without re- 
muneration. Miss Caiochan is also secretary of the Niagara Public 
Library. Water color. Size 4x5. Half length. 

1223 "THE WHIRLPOOL OF THE ST. LAWRENCE (NIAGARA 
RIVER) G. Heriot, Esqr., pinxt. F. C. Lewis, sculp. Printed for Richard 
Phillips, 6 New Bridge Street. London. 1807." The Whirlpool is situated 
at the southern extremity of the first rapids, two miles below Niagara 
Falls. Aquatint, printed in color. Size 6x8. . 

1224 BAYNES, COLONEL (MAJOR-GENERAL) EDWARD Military 
secretary to General Sir Isaac Brock He entered the army in May, 1783, 
was made lieutenant in 32nd, August, 1790, and four years later became 
aide-de-camp to Sir James Craig. In 1807 he was appointed Adjutant- 
General North America, and Colonel Nova Scotia Fencibles from the 4th 
Garrison Battalion. Became Colonel of Glengarry Light Infantry in 1812. 
Col. Baynes died at Sidmouth, Eng., March, 1829. Water color from a 
miniature in possession of his grandson O'Hara Baynes, B.C.L., Montreal. 
Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

1225 BROCK, MAJOR-GENERAL SIR ISAAC Water color from a 
portrait, artist, unknown, in possession of his great-grandniece, Miss May 
Carey, Guernsey, Channel Islands. Size 5x7. Head and shoulders. 
See 410, 1690. 

1226 COCKED HAT OF MAJOR-GENERAL SIR ISAAC BROCK It 

was sent to Canada by his brother, Irving, but did not arrive until shortly 
after the General's death. The hat measures twenty-four inches inside, 
and was used at the re-interments of Brock at Queenston Heights in 1824 
and 1853, when many old soldiers were allowed to try it on. It is amongst 
the relics of the War of 1812 in the Niagara Historical Society Museum. 
Water color. Size 4x6. 

1227 COAT WORN BY MAJOR-GENERAL SIR ISAAC BROCK AT 
QUEENSTON HEIGHTS It shows on the breast the hole made by the 
entry of the bullet, when Brock, on the morning of the 13th Oct., 1812, was 
shot by, it is supposed, an Ohio scout named Wilklow, one of Moseley's 
riflemen. The coat is in the Dominion Archives. Water color. Size 3x6. 

1228 BUTLER, COLONEL JOHN Born in New London, Conn., in 
1725, his father, an Irish officer, having come to the North American 
colonies with his regiment about 1711. Butler's first service was as a 
captain in the Indian Department in the expedition against Crown Point 
under Sir William Johnson, where he greatly distinguished himself. He 
also served under Abercrombie at Ticonderoga, and with Bradstreet at the 



198 

capture of Fort Frontenac. He accompanied Johnson against Fort Niagara 
as second in command of the Indians, and after Gen. Prideaux's death 
followed him in the command. He afterwards served through the revolu- 
tionary war at the head of the famous corps of "Bangers" bearing his 
name. This corps was disbanded June, 1784. Butler, after the war, was 
appointed Deputy Superintendent of the Indians. He was Senior Grand 
Warden of the Grand (Masonic) Lodge, Niagara, 1791. Died at Niagara, 
1796. Water color from original in Dominion Archives. Size 9 x 12. Head 
and shoulders. 

1229 KIRBY, WILLIAM, F.R.S.C., 1817-1906 Author of "Le Chien 
d'Or" ("The Golden Dog") Photogravure from painting by J. W. L. 
Forster. Size 5x6. Half length, sitting. See 1232. 

1230 INGLIS FALLS, 1880 Showing the old-time mill. Water color 
from original drawing by L. R. O'Brien, for "Picturesque Canada." Size 

5x7. 

1231 BURNING OF THE "CAROLINE" "From a Sketch by W. R. 
Callington, Engineer, Boston. The American Steam Packet 'Caroline,' 
descending the Great Falls of Niagara after being set on fire by the Brit- 
ish, Deer. 29th, 1837, with a distant view of Navy Island, Chippewa and 
Schlosser. J. Grieve, litho., 33 Nicholas Lane, Lombard St. Published by 
J. Robins, Bride Court, Fleet Street." The "Caroline" had been engaged 
by the rebels in 1837, to carry men and stores to Navy Island, where Wil- 
liam Lyon Mackenzie's followers were ensconced. Lieutenant Drew (after- 
wards admiral), of the Royal Navy, was ordered by Col. McNab to "cut 
the vessel out," and, accordingly, set out secretly with seven boats, each 
containing four men to row and three or four to be available for the attack. 
The "Caroline" was boarded, fired in four places and set adrift in the 
rapids above the Falls. Drew's undertaking was extremely hazardous and 
its successful completion exceeded McNab's most sanguine hopes. This 
capture opened the eyes of the people of the United States to the real 
sentiment of Canada, which had been represented by the instigators of the 
rebellion as one of seething dissatisfaction towards the existing form of 
government. Lithograph in color. Size 9 x 15. 

1232 KIRBY, WILLIAM, F.R.S.C. Born in Hull, Yorkshire, Eng., ii 
1817, but when a lad emigrated to the United States; educated at the 
Cincinnati Academy. In 1838 young Kirby removed to Canada, and in 1850 
settled at Niagara, having previously lived at St. David's. Became editor 
of the Niagara Mail, and from 1871-95 was Collector of Customs. He was 
one of the first members of the Royal Society of Canada, and an author of 
considerable repute, his chief work "Le Chien d'Or" ("The Golden Dog") 
being considered one of the greatest of Canadian historical novels. Mr. 
Kirby's death occurred at Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont., in 1906. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. See 1229. 

1233 HOME OF WILLIAM KIRBY, F.R.S.C., NIAGARA-ON-THE- 
LAKE, ONT. The house, built 1849-50, is on lot 11, Front street, opposite 
the Queen's Royal. Mr. Kirby, who is widely known as the author of the 
historical novel, 'Le Chien d'Or" ("The Golden Dog") and "Canadian 
Idylls," giving many events in Canadian history, lived here from 1850 until 
his death in 1906. Water color. Size 5x6. 

1234 CROOKS, HON. JAMES, 1778-1860 Came to Niagara about 1791, 
residing there until after the War of 1812. Served in the 1st Regiment of 
Lincoln Militia, becoming lieutenant in 1797 and captain, 1807. Was pres- 
ent at Queenston; taken prisoner in 1813, and detained at Burlington, Ver- 
mont. After the cessation of hostilities, Mr. Crooks settled in West Flam- 
boro', where he operated paper and grist mills. The .paper mill, like that 
on the Don River, claimed the honor of making the first sheet of paper in 



199 

Upper Canada. The race was such a close one that the prize offered by 
the Provincial Government was divided between the two mills. Mr. Crooks 
shipped the first load of flour and wheat from Upper Canada to Montreal. 
He was a member of the Legislative Assembly in 1820, and afterwards a 
Legislative Councillor. His death occurred at West Flamboro', 2nd March, 
1860. Photograph, colored- Size 4 x 5. Head and shoulders. 

1235 NIAGARA FALLS "View of the Falls of Niagara from beneath 
the bank on the Fort Slausser (Schlosser) side. G. Heriot, Esqr., delint. 
F. C. Lewis, sculp. Printed for Richard Phillips, 6 New Bridge Street, 
London, 1807." On the American shore, almost opposite Chippawa. Fort 
Schlosser was built in 1760 by a British army colonel of that name, to re- 
place the second Fort Little Niagara, which had been burned by General 
Pouchot, commander of Fort Niagara, in 1759. Fort Schlosser was never 
a strong fort, and nothing whatever now remains of it. A stone chimney, 
however, which stood a short distance away, is still in existence. It was 
attached to the barracks which the French built for Fort Little Niagara, 
and later to the mess house which the British constructed in connection 
with Fort Schlosser. Aquatint, printed in color. Size 6x8. 

1236 FORT GEORGE, NIAGARA, 1805 This picture is enlarged from 
one by Heriot, published in his "Travels in Canada," 1807, and from Acker- 
mann's (London) picture of Fort George, taken about 1800. The combina- 
tion gives an excellent picture of Fort George and Niagara, before the, 
War of 1812-15. Water color by E. Wyly Grier. Size 12 x 18. 

1237 QUEENSTON HEIGHTS The battle ground as it appeared in 
July, 1897. After the capture in August, 1812, of Detroit by Brock, the 
Americans began preparations for a second attack on Canada. This was 
made in October, and on the 13th the famous Battle of Queenston Heights 
was fought. Colonel Winfield Scott, an able^ officer, and General Brock 
commanding the respective forces. Several attempts by the British to 
storm the heights were unsuccessful, but they eventually, through Sheaffe's 
movement, along what is now the Queenston and Grimsby Stone road, 
gained the summit. The encounter was sharp while it lasted, and soon 
one more victory \vas added to the British list. Gen. Brock was killed dur- 
ing the morning, and his aide, Col. Macdonell, received a wound from which 
he died next day. Water color by E. Wyly Grier. Size 14 x 18. 

1238 THIRD SERVOS GRIST MILL Palatine Hill, Four-Mile Creek, 
Niagara Township The first mill did service as a saw and grist mill in 
connection with which Government records show that the Home Govern- 
ment sent machinery to help, and that early settlers in the district came 
for miles with their grain. An old account book, bearing date 1779, is 
exceedingly interesting in its curious particulars. The second mill was 
burnt during the bombardment of Niagara, 1813, and a third, built in 1820 
by the late Col. John D. Servos. Some of the timbers, blackened with 
smoke, were used in the present building. Water color by Owen Staples, 
Toronto. Size 18 x 22. See 1244. 

1239 AMERICAN FORT Niagara River (N.Y.) Lithograph in color 
by Coke Smyth. Size 11 x 15. 

1240 SEXTON'S HOUSE, ST. ANDREW'S PRESBYTERIAN 
CHURCH, NIAGARA This house was, before the War of 1812-14, a 
schoolhouse for the church. In 1818 it was repaired, as part had been left 
unburned, and was used till 1831 for church services. Here the first Sunday 
school in the town was held, a union Sunday school, with John Crooks as 
superintendent. The building was subsequently used as a school, under 
the charge of St. Andrew's church, and upstairs a school for colored chil- 
dren was kept. Pen drawing, colored, by Owen Staples. Size 10 x 12. 



200 

1241 "UPPER BRIDGE," NIAGARA FALLS Near the Clifton Hotel. 
It was a suspension bridge, erected 1867-8, by Samuel Keefer, C.E. From 
centre to centre it measured 1,260 feet. In 1888 the structure was rebuilt 
and widened, but on January 5th, of the following year, was blown down. 
Work was immediately commenced on a new suspension bridge, with steel 
cables, towers and stiffening trusses. This, in turn, was in 1899 superseded 
by the present steel arch. Water color. Size 7x9. 

1242 PLUMB HOUSE, NIAGARA, 1911 This house was built prior 

to 1830 by Judge Campbell, son of Fort Major Duncan Campbell, who was 
with Cornwallis in 1781 at Yorktown, and subsequently fort major at Fort 
George. Since Judge Campbell's death, in 1860, the property has been 
owned by several people Mr. Allan, Senator Plumb (who enlarged and 
altered the house), Mr. Sayer, Mr. Carnochan and Mr. Hewitt, the present 
owner. Pen drawing, colored, by Owen Staples. Size 10 x 13. - 

1243 HOMESTEAD OF MAJOR DANIEL SERVOS Palatine Hill, 
Niagara Township This house, probably the oldest in the township, is 
built on an eminence commanding a view of the Four-Mile Creek, now 
Virgil, Ont. The house has been altered, but the principal room, with its 
heavy rafters, dates back to 1783. It was used at one time as a Govern- 
ment store. The Servos family were of Prussian origin. Some of the sons 
were present at the Siege of Niagara, 1759, while grandsons served in 
Butler's Rangers. Four generations of the Servos family have served in 
capacities as ensign, lieutenant, captain and colonel. In 1779, Governor 
Haldimand gave Daniel Servos a commission as lieutenant in Colonel 
Johnson's company of North American Indians, and in 1788 he received 
a commission from Lord Dorchester to be captain of the first regiment of 
militia in the district of Nassau. Mrs. Jarvis, wife of William Jarvis, Pro- 
vincial Secretary, 1792-1817, writes of the Four-Mile Creek: "There is a 
great mill upon it, and the family that it belongs to are Dutch." The house 
is now (1917) occupied by Miss Mary Servos, great-granddaughter of Major 
Daniel Servos. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 22 x 28. See 1271. 

1244 THIRD SERVOS GRIST MILL Palatine Hill, Niagara Town- 
ship. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 17 x 24. See 1238. 

1245 FALLS OF NIAGARA Moonlight scene. Lithograph in color 
by Coke Smyth. Size 11 x 15. 

1246 BUTLER HOUSE, NIAGARA Now occupied by Mr. Nelson 
Bissell; was the property of Col. John Butler, of Butler's Rangers; then 
Andrew Butler, his son, 1802; then Joseph Butler, 1821. Sheriff Mercer 
subsequently owned the property. Mr. Bissell, an uncle of Mr. Nelson 
Bissell, who lived to be almost a hundred years of age, said that he remem- 
bered the house before the Battle of Queenston Heights. The dwelling 
contains some interesting colonial woodwork. Water color by Owen 
Staples. Size 11 x 15. 

1247 CHAPMAN HOUSE, NIAGARA Interior view, showing old 
fireplace and oven. Pen drawing, colored, by Owen Staples. Size 10 x 14. 
See 1259. 

1248 DICKSON. HON/WM., NIAGARA Born in Dumfries, Scotland, 
1769; came to Canada, 1792, settling in Niagara, and began the practice of 
law there. He took an active part in the War of 1812, was taken prisoner 
and sent to Greenbush. N.Y., but was subsequently released. In 1816 Mr. 
Dickson founded the Township of Dumfries, Ont., and in that year became 
a member of the Legislative Council of Upper Canada. He lived for a 
time in Gait, but in 1836 returned to Niagara, where he died ten years 
later. Facsimile water color from original by Hoppner Meyer. Size 8 x 10. 
Half length. 



201 

1249 CLEMENT, MRS. JOHN (MARY BALL) Daughter of Jacob 
Ball, who, in 1780, was a member of Butler's Rangers. She married 
Captain John Clement, of Niagara, an active leader of the Northern Con- 
federate Indians, 1812-15, popularly known as "Banger John." Facsimile 
water color from original by Hoppner Meyer. Size 8 x 10. Half length. 

1250 CLIFTON HOUSE, NIAGARA FALLS, C.W. Rear view in De- 
cember, 1850. Water color, made on the spot, by Gen. A. R. V. Crease, 
R.E. Size 7 x 10. See 1251-2, 1276. 

1251 CLIFTON HOUSE, NIAGARA FALLS, ONT. Scene at the 
burning of the hotel, at 1.30 p.m., June 26th, 1898 The building was en- 
tirely destroyed. Water color from a photograph by Mr. Harry Brown, of 
Niagara Falls, now of St. Augustine, Fla. Size 6x8. See 1250, 1252, 1276. 

1252 CLIFTON HOUSE, NIAGARA FALLS, C.W. This hostelry, 
which stood on the west side of the Niagara River, opposite the Falls, was 
erected in 1835 by Harmanus Crysler. On June 26th, 1898, it was destroyed 
by fire, and rebuilt as the Clifton Hotel in 1905. Water color. Size 7x9. 
See 1250-1, 1276. 

1253 ST. ANDREW'S First Presbyterian Church at Niagara, U.C. 
Built, 1794; burned during War of 1812-14; rebuilt, as shown in picture, 
1831. Water color. Size 6x9. See 225, 1273. 

1254 BURLINGTON CANAL RANGE LIGHTS These lighthouses 
mark the entrance to Burlington Bay from Lake Ontario. The smaller is 
called the Pier Head Light, and the larger one the Main Light. Both are 
situated on the south side of the channel. The view is north-eastward 
toward Toronto, and the steamer is coming in from the lake en route to 
Hamilton. Water color from original drawing by F. B. Schell, for "Pic- 
turesque Canada," 1880. Size 4 x 7. 

1255 RESIDENCE OF D. W. (SIR) SMITH, NIAGARA, U.C. D. W. 
Smith, Surveyor-General, Upper Canada, owned what is now (1917) Court 
House Square, or Market Square, Niagara, his house being situated on the 
west side of King street, between Queen and Johnson. In 1798 it was 
offered for sale as a free Grammar School, with four acres as endowment, 
and again in 1800 at a reduced price. Governor Hunter, however, opposed 
the purchase, on the ground that position was too exposed, being opposite 
Fort Niagara. Miss Carnochan, historian of old Niagara, says it is not 
known what became of the house, but its site was occupied in 1812 by the 
Government House, which was burned in 1813. La Rochefoucauld, in his 
"Tour Through Upper Canada," in 1795, states that the dwelling "consists 
of joiners' work, but is constructed, embellished and painted in the best 
style; the yard, garden and court are surrounded with railings, made and 
painted as elegantly as they could be in England." Water color from a 
drawing by Mrs. Simcoe. Size 5x6. 

1256 AN OLD MASONIC MEETING PLACE, ST. DAVID'S, NIAGARA 
TOWNSHIP The meeting place, 1811-19, of Masonic Lodge No. 2 of the 
Provincial Grand Lodge. The minutes of the P.G.L., 1798, show that the 
lodge met at Niagara, in 1799 at Queenston, and in 1811 at St. David's, 
Niagara Township. The village of St. David's is built on lot No. 90 in the 
Township of Niagara, part of which lot is the north-west corner of Main 
street and the Queenston and Grimsby macadamized road, in St. David's. 
Water coldr by Mrs. E. Currie, St. Catharines, Ont. Size 8 x 12. 

1257 ROYAL COAT-OF-ARMS, NIAGARA A copy of the orginal 
oil painting of the Royal Coat-of-Arms, which from 1817-47 decorated the 
upper part of the north wall over the judge's seat in the old Court House, 
Niagara, Upper Canada. The original painting was removed to the new 



202 

Court House on Queen street, in 1847, and occupies the same position over 
the judge's seat as in the old Court House. Water color by Owen Staples, 
copied from original oil. Size 15 x 20. 

1258 NIAGARA FALLS, FROM GOAT ISLAND, 1850 The picture 
shows the bridge joining Goat Island on the American side to the Terrapin 
Rock. On the brink of the Falls in 1833 the Terrapin Tower was erected 
by Judge Porter. For many years this tower was a point of interest at 
Niagara Falls, but in 1873 it was blown up by persons unknown, whom, it 
is said, were of opinion it might rival Prospect Point in attraction. Water 
color by Wm. Armstrong, C.E., Toronto. Size 10 x 14. See 1752. 

1259 CHAPMAN HOUSE, NIAGARA Built in 1815 by George Young, 
master builder, who in that year was employed by the Government in the 
construction of the forts. It was occupied by Jacob Putnam In 1825, and 
Mr. George Putnam, of Buffalo, was born here in 1830. Pen drawing, 
colored, by Owen Staples. Size 10 x 14. See 1247. 

1260 OLD MILITARY HOSPITAL, NIAGARA In a map of 1799 is 
given the position of the Indian Council House, which in a map of 1822 is 
the site of the hospital. The latter, however, was not the first hospital at 
Fort George; there was one there at an earlier date. The structure shown 
in the picture was burned in 1882. The sycamore tree to the left in the 
background, stood close to the ramparts of Fort George. Water color by 
J. W. Cotton from a sketch by F. H. Granger, 1864. Size 8 x 12. 

1261 WESTERN HOME FOR GIRLS, NIAGARA This building was 
used in 1817 as a jail and Court House, and discontinued as the latter in 
1847, when the present Court House was built. Later, on the removal of 
the jail to St. Catharines, it was unoccupied for several years. Miss Rye 
purchased it in 1869, and the place was a home for orphan children. For 
the past twenty-five years it has been known as the Western Home for 
Girls. Pen drawing, colored, by Owen Staples. Size 11 x 14. 

1262 "THE WATERFALL OF NIAGARA, IN NORTH AMERICA This 

most surprizing Cataract of Nature is 137 feet high and its breadth about 
360 yards. The Island in the middle is about 420 yards long and 40 yards 
broad at its lower end. The water, on its approaching the said Island, 
becomes so rapid as almost to exceed an arrow in swiftness, 'till it comes 
to the Fall; where it reascends into the air, foaming as white as milk, and 
all in motion like a boiling cauldron; its noise may be heard 15 leagues 
off, and in calm weather its vapours rise a great hight into the air, and may 
be seen like a thick smoak at 30 miles distance. R. Hancock, fecit." This 
view of the Falls was engraved for Middleton's (Charles Theodore) Com- 
plete System of Geography, two volumes, published in London, Eng., 1777. 
The picture appeared in Vol. II.. the date of which is 1778. Engraving, 
colored. Size 10 x 15. 

1263 FORT NIAGARA, N.Y., 1911 From the foot of King street, 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 10 x 14. 

1264 BUTLER FAMILY GRAVEYARD, NIAGARA, U.C. Situated 
about a mile from the town, at the west end, originally a part of the farm 
of Colonel John Butler, who, during the Revolutionary War, commanded 
the corps of Rangers bearing his name. The burial plot, consisting of half 
an acre, stands in the centre of the farm, which was divided and sold some 
years ago. The boundary line between the two sections runs exactly 
through the middle of the plot, No stone marks the spot where Colonel 
Butler lies, although an attempt was made to locate the grave and re-inter 
the remains in St. Mark's churchyard. The search was, however, aban- 
doned. Water color. Size 3x7. 



203 

1265 OLD RED MEETING HOUSE Township of Stamford It was 
erected about 1800 on lot 130, at the west end of Lundy's Lane, and opposite 
the old Lundy's Lane House. Here the "Lodge of Friends," or No. 12 
Stamford, met until 1818, when they removed to quarters on lot No. 95, 
Township of Stamford. The site is now (1917) occupied by the Lundy's 
Lane schoolhouse. Water color. Size 4x7. 

1266 TAVERN AT THE WHIRLPOOL, NEAR NIAGARA FALLS, 
ONT. Situated a mile west of the Whirlpool, on the west side of the 
bridge, on the road leading from Queenston Heights to Lundy's Lane. It 
was built about 1816 by Andrew Rosebank, and was a favorite resort in 
the early days for the Freemasons of the Niagara District. In 1914 the old- 
time tavern was converted into a double dwelling, without, However, any 
marked change in the exterior of the building. Water color. Size 4x7. 

1267 STAMFORD COTTAGE The residence of Sir Peregrine Mait- 
land, Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada from 1819-28. It was situated 
in a large park at Stamford, three miles west of Niagara Falls. Here Sir 
Peregrine and Lady Maitland, during their stay in Canada, dispensed hos- 
pitality to many members of the English nobility and others of note from 
the Old Land. Stamford Cottage was destroyed by fire many years ago, 
and the grounds adjoining have been turned into a sand pit. Water color. 
Size 4x6. 

1268 GOVERNOR SIMCOE'S CHAIR A relic of Navy Hall, Niagara 
Used by the first Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada during his stay 
at Navy Hall, 1792-6. It was subsequently brought to York (Toronto) by 
Lieutenant (Colonel) James Givins, Superintendent of Indian Affairs, and 
finally became the property of the York Pioneers. For years it has stood 
in the old log cabin at the Exhibition Grounds. Toronto. Water color. 
Size 4% x 5. 

1269 "NAVY HALL," NIAGARA It is claimed by local historians that 
the building shown in picture was one of a group of three or four buildings 
on the bank of the Niagara River, occupied by Gov. Simcoe and his suite 
from 1792-6. It is asserted, however, by others, that the buildings of the 
Simcoe group were burnt by the Americans in May, 1813. An examination 
of the records and plans of the original Navy Hall buildings fails to show 
any ol : the same dimensions as that in picture, and for that reason doubt 
is expressed as to the date of its erection. A further claim, and one that 
has the support of documentary evidence, is made that the building was 
not erected until 1815-17. Its exact location is shown in a map of 2nd 
May, 1817, signed by Lieut. Willson, R.E., and used in a plan by Lieut.-Col. 
Durnford in 1823, showing the actual elevation of the building, described 
as "the Commissariat Store-house at Navy Hall." In 1862, when the 
terminus of the Southern Railway (now the Michigan Central) was to be 
changed, it was found that the tracks would go partly through the oak 
grove and this old structure and, to save the relic, the Government per- 
mitted the removal of the building to its present location. There is so 
far no documentary evidence in proof of the claim that any of the 
buildings at Navy Hall were used for legislative purposes. Indeed, the 
first meeting was held in Freemasons' Hall, and later meetings, beyond 
doubt, in Butler's Barracks, which had been enlarged to accommodate the 
Legislature. The building in picture, which for some time had been in a 
dilapidated condition, was in 1912 restored by the Dominion Government 
by petition of the Niagara Historical Society. Water color by Owen 
Staples. Size 19 x 25. See 3303. 

1270 ST. MARK'S ANGLICAN CHURCH, NIAGARA Pulpit and 
Chancel Water color by Owen Staples. Size 20 x 28. See 1274. 

1271 INTERIOR OF SERVOS HOMESTEAD Home of Major Daniel 
Servos, of Palatine Hill, Four-Mile Creek, Niagara Township. Water color 
by Owen Staples. Size 18 x 22. See 1243. 



204 

1272 "THE WILDERNESS," KING STREET, NIAGARA The pro- 
perty consisted primarily of lots 235, 236, 237, 238, Niagara, being con- 
veyed to Ann Glaus (daughter of Sir William Johnson), on 3rd December, 
1799, she obtaining it from Robert Pilkington. It was also the home of 
Col.' William Glaus (son of Col. Daniel Glaus and Ann Johnson), who 
served as an officer in the 60th Regiment, and was in 1796 Deputy Super- 
intendent of Indian Affairs at Niagara. The house is now occupied by 
Major and Mrs. Evans. The latter is a great-granddaughter of Col. Daniel 
Glaus. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 20 x 28. 

1273 ST. ANDREW'S PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, NIAGARA 

In 1794 the erection of the first church at Niagara subsequently known 
as St. Andrew's Presbyterian was begun. An old record book of the 
church gives many interesting incidents in connection with its early his- 
tory, of efforts for religious liberty, of encouragement and difficul- 
ties, of generous offerings, and of poverty in the struggle made by the 
handful of people who formed the congregation in its pioneer days. Dur- 
ing the War of 1812-14 the church was burnt, and in 1831 the present struc- 
ture built. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 15 x 21. See 225, 1253. 

1274 ST. MARK'S ANGLICAN CHURCH, NIAGARA Rev. Robert 
Addison, first incumbent of the church, was sent to Canada in 1792 by the 
Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. Before the erection of the 
church the congregation met in the Court House, near the site of the 
present one, Niagara, but in 1805 building was begun, and in August, 1809, 
service was held in the primitive place of worship. In a letter written by 
Mr. Addison in January, 1811, he stated that "The church is now very nearly 
finished, except some seats in the gallery, and the congregation, which is 
large, is well accommodated for public worship." In the winter of 1813, 
however, the church was destroyed by the Americans, only its stone walls 
remaining. The re-building took place between 1816-18, and an addition 
forming the transepts was made in 1843. The Hon. and Rt. Rev. Charles 
James Stewart, Lord Bishop of Quebec, consecrated the church on 3rd 
August, 1828. With its registers dating back to 1792, its tablets and tomb- 
stones, the place teems with the pioneer life, history and military occupa- 
tion of old Niagara. Water color by Owen Staples, Toronto. Size 19 x 25. 
See 1270. 

1275 NORTHWEST CORNER QUEEN AND GATE STREETS, 
NIAGARA, ONT., 18601, Gibson's furniture store, in upper storey of 
which Niagara Masons met for some time. It was burned 1860. 2, Resi- 
dence of Dr. D. Campbell. 3, Residence of John Crooks. 4, House and 
barns of David Talbot. 5, Occupied by Mr. Savage and also Ralph Clench. 
6, Home of F. H. Granger's brother. F. H. Granger made the original sketch 
of this picture. The property at the corner is now (1917) residential, 
owned by Mrs. Riggs. Water color. Size 4x7. See 1316. 

1276 CLIFTON HOUSE, NIAGARA FALLS, C.W., 1835-98 Water 
color. Size 7x7. See 1250-1-2. 

1277 MACDONELL, LIEUTENANT-COLONEL HON. JOHN Killed 

at Queenston Heights Son of Lieut.-Col. Alexander Macdonell, 1st Glen- 
garry Militia, and nephew of Lieut.-Col. John Macdonell, Speaker of the 
first House of Assembly, Upper Canada; Provincial A.D.C., 15th April, 
1812; was at the taking of Detroit the following August, and awarded a 
gold medal. At Queenston Heights, he, with Brock, was mortally wounded, 
and the two were subsequently buried side by side. Col. Macdonell was 
at the time of his death Attorney-General of Upper Canada. M.P. for Glen- 
garry, 1812. From a silhouette in possession of his grand-nephew, J. A. 
Macdonell, K.C., Alexandria, Ont. Size 2x4. 






205 

1278 KEEPER, SAMUEL, C.E., 1811-90 A noted Canadian surveyor 
and engineer In 1833 appointed secretary of the Board of Canal Com- 
missioners for the improvement of the navigation of the St. Lawrence. 
Became assistant engineer on the Cornwall Canal, 1834; five years later 
made secretary of the Board of Works, then established for Lower Canada, 
and on the union of the provinces appointed chief engineer to the Depart- 
ment of Public Works, holding that position until 1853. Surveyed and 
established the line of the Beauharnois Canal, and was the engineer of 
the Suspension Bridge over the Chaudiere Falls at Ottawa, the first bridge 
of the kind in Canada. In 1853 accepted an appointment with the Grand 
Trunk Railway, and fixed the line of the Victoria Bridge, Montreal, where 
it now (1917) stands. From 1857-64 Mr. Keefer was Government Inspector 
of Railways. He was born at Thorold, Ont. Photograph, colored. Size 
4x5. Head and shoulders. 

1279 TIFFANY, GIDEON, 1774-1854 An early Upper Canada journal- 
ist The Tiffanys, Silvester and Gideon, were direct descendants of 
Humphrey Tiffany, the founder of the American branch of the family, who 
emigrated to America about 1660, settling at Massachusetts Bay. Their 
father was Dr. Gideon Tiffany, of Attleboro, Mass. Subsequent to graduat- 
ing from Dartmouth College, N.H., Gideon was associated with his brother 
in the publication of the first newspaper in Upper Canada, the Upper Can- 
ada Gazette, or American Oracle, at Niagara (Newark), 1793, in succession 
to Louis Roy. In 1800 the brothers published "The Canadian Constella- 
tion." The following year, however, Gideon decided to abandon journalism 
for agriculture, and settled in Middlesex County, Ont. Here he operated 
successfully until his death at Delaware, Middlesex County. The late Mr. 
E. H. Tiffany, K.C., of Alexandria, Ont., was a grand-nephew. Photograph,, 
colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

1280 STREET, THOMAS CLARK Son of Samuel Street, Niagara 
Falls Born at Bridgewater, near Niagara Falls, in 1814.- Studied law, 
and in 1838 was admitted to the bar. From 1851-4, and again from 1861-7, 
represented Welland in the United Parliament of Canada. He was also a 
lieutenant-colonel in the Militia. His death took place at Clark Hill, Ont. 
in 1872. Rev. Sutherland Macklem, of Toronto, is a nephew. Photograph, 
colored. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders- 

1281 STREET, SAMUEL An old-time resident of Niagara Falls, and 
a U.E. Loyalist. Born at Farmington, Connecticut, in 1775, the eldest son 
of Nehemiah Street, a fur-trader, who in 1787 was murdered near Lewiston, 
N.Y., and grandson of the Rev. Nicholas Street, who emigrated from Eng- 
land to America in 1630. During the War of 1812, Samuel served as a 
colonel of militia. He was for many years engaged in an extensive busi- 
ness as miller and general merchant at Niagara Falls. His death occurred 
at Port Robinson, Thorold Township, in 1844. Water color from a minia- 
ture in possession of his grandson, Rev. Sutherland Macklem, Toronto. Size 
3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1282 MASONIC HALL, NIAGARA, ONT. Northwest corner of King 
and Prideaux streets, lot 33. As early as 1791 there was a Freemasons' 
Hall on this site, and in the Crown Lands Department, Ontario, lot No. 33. 
was marked in 1795 as Freemasons' Lodge. The present building, was 
erected about 1817-18, used at different times as a store, for the military, 
a school, called the "Stone Barracks," and, finally, bought by the Masons- 
Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

1283 SITE OF REDAN BATTERY On the slope of the hill below 
Queenston Heights It was near this spot that Lieut.-Col. John Macdonell, 
Provincial Aide-de-Camp to Brock, and Attorney-General of Upper Canada, 
was mortally wounded, October 13th, 1812. Lieut.-Col. Macdonell was a 
nephew of the Speaker of the first House of Assembly of Upper Canada. 



206 

Near this same redan battery, too, Sir Isaac Brock fell while leading 
his men up the Heights. The memorial on the site was erected in 1906 by 
the Lundy's Lane Historical Society. Water color. Size 6x7. 

1284 RUINS OF WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE'S PRINTING 
OFFICE, QU E EN STON Water color. Size 6x9. See 1303. 

1285 MONUMENT AT STONEY CREEK Erected in 1908 through 
the united efforts of the Women's Wentworth Historical Society and 
the County of Wentworth Veterans' Association, as a memorial 
to those who died and were buried on this knoll. The engagement at 
Stoney Creek took place on the night of June 6th, 1813, between Col. 
Harvey, who acted as Dep. Adjt.-Gen. to Vincent's army, and the Ameri- 
cans under Generals Chandler and Winder. The latter were defeated. 
Water color. Size 5x7. % 

1286 BROCK'S MONUMENT IN ST. PAUL'S CATHEDRAL, LON- 
DON, ENG. "Erected a^ the Public Expense to the Memory of Major- 
General Sir Isaac Brock, Who Gloriously Fell on the 13th of October, 
MDCCCXII in Resisting an Attack on Queenston in Upper Canada." 
Photograph. Size 6x9. 

1287 A GROUP OF HISTORIC THORN TREES Near Fort George, 
Niagara. The tradition is that these interlaced, gnarled old trees were 
planted by French officers stationed at Fort Niagara, who had brought the 
slips from France. The fragrant blossoms now grow in profusion on the 
commons, near Fort George, an old-time military post on the heights above 
Navy Hall. Water color. Size % x 7. 

1288 OLD COURT HOUSE, NIAGARA Built in 1817 as a jail and 
court house. In this building many remarkable trials took place, notably 
that of Robert Gourlay. The present court house, Niagara, was erected 
in 1847, and the historic house of 1817 was used only as a jail until that 
in St. Catharines was erected, in 1864. In many books of travel in Canada 
from 1820-1830 the jail and court house, Niagara, is spoken of as the hand- 
somest building in Upper Canada. Water color. Size 13 x 15. See 1294. 

1289 FOG BELL, FORT MISSISSAGUA, 1880-9 This bell, which 
was erected about 1880, was used to warn steamers and other craft enter- 
ing the Niagara River. It was situated on the rampart surrounding the 
tower known as Fort Mississagua, and was wound up by hand, the bell 
ringing until it ran down. It was blown down during a violent storm, 
January 10th, 1889, and never re-erected. In 1904 a foghorn was placed 
near the landing-place at Niagara, and at the same time two lighthouses 
were erected on the wharf. By this means vessels are now guided while 
coming in at night. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 6 x 10. 

1290 STONEY CREEK BATTLEGROUND Rear view from Hamilton 
and Niagara main road. Photograph, colored. Size 6 x 10. See 1301- 

1291 EASTHAM HOUSE, QUEENSTON, 1817-35 North-east corner 
Queen and Highland streets. Thomas Eastham, a driver in H.M. Royal 
Artillery, was General Brock's trumpeter at the Battle of Queenston 
Heights. His hotel, in its day the best in the village, was kept for several 
years by Mrs. Eastham after her husband's death. It was built of frame 
and demolished many years ago. The sign shown portrayed the death of 
Brock. Water color. Size 7x9. 

1292 SHEAFFE'S PASS West of Queenston, near St. David's, U.C. 
General Sheaffe's "path to victory," October 13th, 1812, is on the Queenston 
and Grimsby Stone road, between lots 44-9, and between concessions 2-3 
of Niagara Township. Over this road Sheaffe's troops marched to victory, 
driving the American forces from the Heights into the river. Water color. 
Size 7x9. 



207 

1293 "THE 43 RD LIGHT INFANTRY As they turn out in their sleighs 
at the Falls of Niagara, 1839. R. G. A. Levinge, 43rd, 1839. Ackermann, 
dirext." With key In 1741, what was known as the 54th Regiment of 
Foot, was formed in England. On the Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle, October, 
1748, several corps were disbanded and the title of the regiment changed 
to the 43rd. Sailed for Halifax in 1757; was at Quebec, 1759; took part in 
American Revolutionary War and in Peninsular War. In 1835 embarked 
again for Canada, being stationed in New Brunswick. The famous march 
across the portage of the Madawaska to Quebec took place in 1837, and in 
1839 the 43rd was on the Niagara frontier. The regiment left Canada in 
1846. The picture shows a number of the regiment in one of their winter 
pastimes on the Niagara River, near the Falls. It was drawn by Sir 
Richard George Augustus Levinge, who, in 1839, was lieutenant in the 
43rd. Lithograph in color. Size 15 x 25. 

1294 OLD COURT HOUSE, NIAGARA View of the court room as 
in 1877. An old and historic building. When Niagara ceased to be the 
county town, the career of the old jail and Court House, as the former, 
ended, for since 1847 courts had been held in the new building. For several 
years the place was unoccupied, when in 1869 it was purchased by Miss 
Rye, altered and beautified. It is now known as the Western Home for 
Girls. Water color. Size 14 x 15. See 1288. 

1295 TRINITY (ANGLICAN) CHURCH AND SUNDAY SCHOOL, 
BRIDGEWATER STREET, CHIPPAWA, ONT. Erected in 1842, to replace 
the first church which was built in the early part of the nineteenth cen- 
tury and burned by rebel sympathizers in 1837. The graveyard about the 
church is evidently ancient also, as around the three sides may be seen 
the stumps of rows of great trees which from their weather-worn appear- 
ance, must have been cut down long ago. From the fact that this district 
was the site of a battle, it might be assumed that in this old-time cemetery 
would be found military graves, but such is not the case. The present 
edifice has had within its walls as worshippers, his Majesty King Edward 
VII., Jenny Lind, the Swedish singer, and Laura Secord, the heroine of 
Beaver Dams. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x6. 

1296 RESIDENCE OF JAMES H. CUMMINGS, CHIPPAWA, ONT. 

On Queen Victoria Park Boulevard. It was erected about 1845 for James 
H. Cumniings by his father, James Cummings, who represented Lincoln 
(S. R.) in the United Parliament of Canada in 1844. The younger Cum- 
mings, however, only occupied the residence for a year, and the property 
subsequently passed into the possession of Dr. T. C. Macklem, who resided 
there until 1859. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

1297 PETER BALL'S HOUSE,. NIAGARA The dwelling of an old 
pioneer. It was built in 1816, and stood two and a half miles south-west of 
Niagara, on the south side of the Niagara and St. Catharines stone road. 
Peter Ball was a son of Jacob Ball, a captain in Butler's Rangers, who 
settled at Niagara in 1782, bringing with him some forty immigrants. About 
twenty years ago the old house was removed from its original site and 
used as a fruit-packing house. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

1298 BATTLE GROUND AT LUNDY'S LANE Township of Stam- 
fordThe picture gives the battlefield as it was in July, 1897, and shows 
interesting and historical spots, such as Brock's Monument, Lundy's Lane 
and Old Burial Ground. The battle, fought on 25th July, 1814, was one of 
the most stubbornly contested engagements fought during the war. It 
resulted in a victory for the British. Sometimes it is styled by American 
writers as that of Bridgewater, or Niagara Falls, but Canadians usually 
speak of it as "Lundy's Lane." Water color made on the spot for J. Ross 
Robertson by E. Wyly Grier. Size 7 x 40. 

16 



208 

1299 WHERE GENERAL BROCK FELL The cenotaph which marks 
the spot stands just below the escarpment or hill where the present monu- 
ment stands and was erected in 1860 by the Provincial Government. 
H R H the Prince of Wales (King Edward VII.) laid the corner-stone dur- 
ing his visit here in September, 1860. The inscription reads: "Near this 
spot Major-General Sir Isaac Brock, K.C.B., Provisional Lieutenant-Gover- 
nor of Upper Canada, fell on 13th October, 1812, while advancing to repel 
the invading enemy." Water color by Owen Staples. Size 6 x 10. 

1300 OLD CUMMINGS RESIDENCE, CH1PPAWA, ONT. It was 
erected in 1840 by James Cummings, a member of the United Parliament 
of Canada; elected in 1844. He resided in the house, which is at the 
north-east end of the village, on Water street, until his death in 1860. The 
property came into possession of James Francis Macklem about 1865, but 
the latter never lived in it. It has been leased since that date. Water 
color by Owen Staples. Size 5x7. 

1301 GAGE HOMESTEAD AND MONUMENT View looking from 
the north, showing the rear of the old dwelling and the monument on a 
hill, a few hundred feet to the southwest. The night of 5th June, 1813, 
was one of ill-omen for the American forces under Generals Chandler and 
Winder, who lay encamped west of Stoney Creek, with about 3,500 men. 
The British, about 700 strong, under Gen. Vincent and Col. Harvey, attacked 
the Americans, who were surprised and routed. The American generals 
were captured in the action, which lasted an hour and a half. Photograph, 
colored. Size 6 x 10. See 1290. 

1302 ALEXANDER HAMILTON HOUSE, QUEENSTON, 1834 On 
the Niagara River road. The original Hamilton house was erected about 
1789 by the Hon. Robert Hamilton, but on the day of the Battle of Queens- 
ton Heights, Oct. 13th, 1812, was destroyed by fire. Alexander Hamilton, 
a son of the Hon. Robert Hamilton, erected a colonial residence a little 
higher up and further from the river, about seven miles from Niagara. In 
1831 Alexander Hamilton was postmaster of Queenston. Water color by 
Owen Staples. Size 7 x 10. 

1303 WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE'S PRINTING OFFICE, QUEENS- 
TON Corner of York and Clarence streets, lots 26-7-8. The noted build- 
ing, which was of stone, stood below the Heights of Queenston, and was in 
1824 the printing office of William Lyon Mackenzie. From May 18th to 
November 18th, 1824, the Colonial Advocate was printed there. Mackenzie 
then removed to York (Toronto). From 1848-55 the house was occupied 
by Charles Bradley. In the late thirties Mr. Wynne lived in the small 
dwelling to the left. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 6x9. See 1284. 

1304 HAMILTON'S HOTEL, QUEENSTON, 1830 On Queen 
street, Niagara River road. The old building, which still (1917) stands, 
was erected about 1825 on the estate of the Hon. Robert Hamilton, and 
owned by his son, Alexander. The old-time gateway shown to the right is 
the entrance to the original Hamilton estate. Water color by Owen 
Staples. Size 6x8. 

1305 HOME OF COMPTE JOSEPH DE PUISAYE On Farm No. 19, 
Niagara and Queenston River road. The Count came to Canada for the 
purpose of founding a Royalist settlement. About 1798 he settled at 
Niagara, building for himself a long, low dwelling, with dormer windows 
and steep, sharply sloping roof, after the style of the Norman French 
houses. Here de Puisaye lived for many years. His closing days were 
spent in England, where he died in 1827. During the War of 1812 his 
chateau, which still (1917) stands, was used as a hospital, as were many 
other Niagara houses of the time. To the left may be seen an old powder 
magazine. Water color. Size 5x7. 



209 

1306 HAMILTON, HON. ROBERT Prominent in mercantile and of- 
ficial life in Niagara District. Shortly after the close of the Revolutionary 
war, Mr. Hamilton removed to Queenstown (Queenston), U.C., from 
Carleton Island, where, in partnership with Richard (Hon.) Cartwright, he 
had carried on an extensive trade with the Indians. He built a brewery, 
wharves and warehouses at Queenston, and soon became prominent in that 
part of Upper Canada. He was a member of the Land Board, and was 
also first judge of the District of Nassau. Under William Jarvis he became 
Deputy Provincial Grand Master of tjie First Provincial Grand Lodge of 
Freemasons, and in 1797 was elected Grand Master in place of Jarvis. For 
some time he distinguished himself in connection with his former partner, 
Mr. Cartwright, by opposing Government measures, thereby incurring 
Governor Simcoe's displeasure. The latter received from Hon. Robert 
Hamilton much valuable information respecting the commerce of the coun- 
try, and particularly the Indian trade. His death took place at Queenston, 
8th March, 1809. Water* color from a miniature in possession of his grand- 
son, Clark Hamilton, Kingston, Ont. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1307 RESIDENCE OF HON. ROBERT HAMILTON, QUEENSTOWN 
(QUEENSTON), U. C It was a substantial stone house on the 
Niagara River road, erected by Mr. Hamilton, who settled at Queenston at 
the close of the Revolutionary War. Mrs. Simcoe, wife of the first Lieut.- 
Governor of Upper Canada, during her stay at Niagara, frequently visited 
the Hamilton home, noted for its hospitality. In her diary she writes of it 
as " a very good stone house, the back rooms overlooking on the river. A 
gallery, the length of the house, is a delightful covered walk, both below 
and above, in all weather." Water color, from a drawing by Mrs. Simcoe, 
July, 1792. Size 5x6. 

1308 BROCK'S SPRING, QUEENSTON HEIGHTS Used by the Brit- 
ish troops during the War of 1812-14. The spring is situated in the Brock 
Monument ground, Queenston Heights, on the edge of the escarpment, about 
three hundred yards west of the present Brock's Monument. The water is 
excellent, and is still (1917) used for drinking purposes. Water color. 
Size 6x7. 

1309 FALL OF QUEENSTON SUSPENSION BRIDGE, 1864 The 
bridge, which crossed the Niagara River between Queenston and Lewiston, 
six miles lower down the river than the first Suspension Bridge, originally 
used by the old Great Western Railway of Canada, was 800 feet long, 20 
feet wide and 200 feet above the water surface. During the January of 
1864 the torrent brought down the floating ice, which wedged and piled 
into a barrier, 60 feet in height, from shore to shore, some distance above 
the bridge. The descending ice wedged the barrier higher and higher until 
on the morning of Feb. 1st the bridge was swept away, as shown in the 
picture, taken a week before the disaster. The bridge was rebuilt in 1899, 
partly from material the gale had left, and partly from that of the dis- 
carded "Upper Bridge." Water color from old print. Size 5x9. See 1342. 

1310 RESIDENCE OF THE FIELD FAMILY This century-old house 
stands on the west side of the Niagara River road, some four miles from 
the Town of Niagara, and was built by Gilbert Field, who died in 1815. 
The structure, which is of brick, originally had a high, sloping roof, but 
this was burned about fifty years ago and replaced by the present (1917) 
lower roof. In the War of 1812 a cannon ball, fired from the American side 
of the Niagara River, penetrated the wall of the house. For some time the 
old homestead was used as a hospital, as were many of the dwellings of 
the day. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 

1311 PARTITION STREET, QUEENSTON, ONT. View looking 
towards the Niagara River The old Forest Hotel, of which Joseph Wynn 
was proprietor in 1832, is shown in the picture, and adjoining, to the left, 



210 

are buildings on the Chubbuck property. Prior to the opening of the first 
Queenston Bridge, in 1852, Job Chubbuck operated a horse ferry from 
Queenston to Lewiston. The scene is as it appeared in the autumn of 
1913. Water color by Owen Staples. Size 6x9. 

1312 QUEENSTON (THE LOWER LANDING), U.C., 1792 View 
from Vrooman's Point The old log house in foreground was built in 1784 
by Adam Vrooman, a sergeant in Butler's Rangers. At this point about 
half a mile from Queenston a battery operated by his son, Solomon, a 
militiaman during the War of 1812, supported the British garrison in dis- 
comfiting the crossing of the Americans at the Battle of Queenston 
Heights Midway between Vrooman's and the Queen's Rangers' huts in 
the distance, may be seen the Hamilton wharf and warehouses. Water 
color. Size 7 x 10. 

1313 VROOMAN, SOLOMON S., 1783-1874 Active in annoying the 
crossing of the Americans at Queenston He was a militiaman during the 
War of 1812-14, and the son of Sergeant Adam Vrooman, of Butler's 
Rangers. When the original gunners abandoned the battery at Vrooman's 
Point, half a mile from Queenston, on October 13th, 1812, Vrooman took 
command with Lewis Clement and James Durham, and with two twenty- 
four-pounders sank the American rowboats in the Niagara River. The 
position of Vrooman's battery is still pointed out. Photograph, colored. 
Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1314 VROOMAN, SOLOMON A., 1829-1913 A lifelong resident of 
Queenston, Ont. He was a son of Solomon S.- Vrooman, who at the Battle 
of Queenston Heights, October 13th, 1812, took a prominent part in harass- 
ing the Americans crossing the river. In 1853 the younger Vrooman erected 
two hundred feet of scaffold for the present (1917) Brock's Monument. 
Died at Queenston. Photograph, colored. Size 3x4. Half length. 

1315 OLD PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, QUEENSTON On lot 6, on the 

west side of the Niagara River road, Niagara Township Chiefly through 
the efforts of Mrs. John Hamilton, daughter-in-law of the Hon. Robert 
Hamilton, this pioneer place of worship was erected on property belonging 
to the Hamilton family. It was subsequently used for some years by the 
Methodists, but in 1875 was turned into a residence^by Jarvis Hamilton. In 
1905 it was purchased by Major Shepherd, who had it demolished, and in 
1906, built the house now (1917) standing on the site. Water color by J. 
W. Cotton from an old sketch. Size 5x7. 

1316 NORTH-WEST CORNER QUEEN AND GATE STREETS, 
NIAGARA, U.C., 1832 The store of R. and J. Crysler, members of one of 
Niagara's pioneer families, is shown. It afterwards became Gibson's furni- 
ture wareroom. In the upper storey of the old building the Niagara 
Masons met at one time. When the structure was destroyed by fire in 
1860 they lost their regalia and records. Water color. Size 5x7. See 1275. 

1317 MEMORIAL HALL, NIAGARA HISTORICAL SOCIETY, 
NIAGARA-ON-THE-LAKE, ONT. The society was founded in 1895, and in 
April, 1906, work was commenced on the present museum, which was 
formally opened, June 4th, 1907. It contains over five thousand articles, 
which have been labelled and catalogued. The president of the Niagara 
Historical Society is Miss Janet Carnochan, author of the "History of 
Niagara," who acts as curator and editor from love of the work. The 
society's anniversary is held on September 17th, to celebrate the meeting 
of the first Parliament of Upper Canada at Niagara (then Newark), 1792, 
and the annual meeting takes place on Oct. 13th, the anniversary of the 
Battle of Queenston Heights. Photograph, colored. Size 4x6. 



211 

1318 ANGLICAN CHURCH AT QUEENSTON, ONT. This pioneer 
church, south side Queenston and St. Catharines stone road, erected in 1818, 
was the first Anglican place of worship in Queenston. The earliest record 
is of a communion service in 1820, held by Rev. B. B. Stevens, M.A., chap- 
lain of H.M. Forces. The church stood on the slope of the hill, overlooking 
Queenston, below the heights, and west of the W. L. Mackenzie printing 
office. After the demolition of the church the congregation met in the 
Methodist church in 1875. The present St. Saviour's church was erected 
1877-79. Part of the foundation of the old church is still (1916) standing. 
Water color by J. W. Cotton from an old drawing. Size 5x6. 

1319 METHODIST CHURCH AT BEAVER DAMS Exterior view- 
Situated on the south side of the Hamilton to the Falls Indian trail, lot 51, 
Thorold Township. In 1832 the Trustee Board of the Methodist Church 
for the Niagara District, purchased from Hiram Swayze an acre of land, 
and here the frame building shown in the picture was erected. It had a 
gallery at the two sides and north end, until 1868, when being no longer 
required for use, it was shut off by a ceiling. In 1879 repairs were made 
and the church re-dedicated by Rev. Wm. S. Griffin. Since 1890 no regular 
services have been held in the church, which for many years had had large 
congregations. Amongst prominent ministers who preached in the old 
church were Dr. Egerton Ryerson and Rev. Nathan Bangs, who was after- 
wards editor of a Methodist Episcopal journal in New York. Water color 
by J. W. Cotton from an old drawing. Size 5x6. See 1320. 

1320 METHODIST CHURCH AT BEAVER DAMS Interior view- 
Water color by J. W. Cotton, from an old drawing. Size 5x6. See 1319. 

1321 HAMILTON WHARF AND LANDING, QUEENSTON, U.C., 1789 
Situated at what is now (1917) known as Deep Hollow, below the present 
steamboat landing, opposite Lewiston. The wharves and storehouses at 
Queenston were erected by Hon. Robert Hamilton, a member of the Legis- 
lative Council for the new Province of Upper Canada from 1792 until his 
death. Mr. Hamilton carried on extensive trading operations, and was one 
of the prominent men of the community. Water color by Owen Staples, 
from an old drawing. Size 6x9. 

1322 OLD LOWER LANDING ROAD AT QUEENSTON Leading 
from the Hamilton wharf and storehouses It was used by the troops in 
the War of 1812-14; is at the north end of Queenston, opposite the Hamilton 
estate, and is now (1917) known as Deep Hollow. In the old days Queens- 
ton and Lewiston were called Lower Landings, and Chippawa and Schlosser 
the Upper Landings, on the Canadian and American sides, respectively. 
Water color. Size 7x9. 

1323 STONE Y CREEK MONUMENT Unveiled by electricity, June 
6th, 1913, by her Majesty Queen Mary from Buckingham Palace, and erected 
by the people of Canada through representations and under the direction 
of the Women's Wentworth Historical Society, to commemorate the Battle 
of Stoney Creek, June 6th, 1813. In 1899 the Women's Wentworth Histori- 
cal Society purchased a portion of the battlefield of Stoney Creek, including 
the site presented to the Government for this monument, and on Oct. 17th 
the ground was declared open as a public park by the Countess of Aber- 
deen. In 1910 the society made an additional purchase; so that in all 17% 
acres of this historic ground have been preserved to the people of Canada. 
On May 26th, 1909, the Countess Grey turned the first sod on the site of 
this monument, and on May 28th, 1910, Lieut.-General Sir John D. P. 
French, K.C.B., K.C-M.G., laid the corner-stone. Photograph, colored. 
Size 5x9. 



212 

1324 SECORD, LAURA (INGERSOLL), 1775-1868 Heroine of the 
War of 1812, daughter of Thomas Ingersoll, founder of the town of that 
name, who removed to Canada at the close of the Revolutionary War. 
Her husband, James Secord, of Huguenot descent, was, like her father, a 
U.E. Loyalist. Secord had been severely wounded at Queenston Heights, 
and while home under parole, American soldiers domiciled themselves in 
his house. It was here that hints of the intended night surprise on Beaver 
Dams were dropped. To take this post would be to open up the whole 
peninsula. Lieut. Fitzgibbon, of the 49th, was stationed at the cross roads 
at Beaver Dams, in DeCew's house, and to warn him of the intended attack, 
Laura Secord, on 23rd June, 1813, walked twenty miles by a circuitous 
route from Queenston, through swamp and forest. Her trying experiences 
and Fitzgibbon's success owing to the - timely warning he received, are 
well known in Canadian history. A monument to Mrs. Secord's memory 
has been erected in the cemetery at Lundy's" Lane, and through the inde- 
fatigable efforts of the late Mrs. E. A. Currie, of St. Catharines, a fitting 
memorial was placed on Queenston Heights, June, 1911. Water color from 
the portrait in Niagara Historical Museum. Size 5x6. Head and shoulders. 

1325 NIAGARA FALLS "View of the Falls of Niagara from the 
bank near Birche's Mills. G. Heriot, Esqr., pinxt. F. C. Lewis, sculp. 
Printed for Richard Phillips, 6 New Bridge street, London, 1807." As far 
back as 1786 John Burch owned a saw and grist mill, about two miles 
above Niagara Falls, lot 174, Township No. 2. He was a prominent pioneer, 
being a member of the Land Board in 1791, and four years later acting as 
Justice of the Peace. His son, John Burch, Jr., was Grand Secretary of the 
Provincial Grand Lodge of Freemasons of Upper Canada, 1817-19. From 
the settlement known as Burch's Mills an excellent view of the rapids is 
obtained. Aquatint, printed in color. Size 5x8. 

1326 QUEENSTON (LOWER LANDING), U.C., 1834 View looking 
north, and showing: 1, Old Brock Monument, built 1824, shattered 1840. 
2a, Old Barracks, 1812, near spot where Macdonell fell. 2b, William Rees' 
house, 1832. 3, Government storehouse. 4, Barracks. 5, Storehouse. 6, 
Mr. Kitson's, cabinetmaker. 7, Loghouse and barn 'of Joseph Wynn, Sr. 
8, Stone house belonging to Major Adam Brown. 9, Monument House. 
10, Joseph Wynn's hotel (Forest House). 11, Zimmerman's Bank. 12, 
Ross' clothing and dry goods store. 13, Post office. 14, Stone barracks. 
15, Old stone house and barn. 16. Eastham Hotel. 17. Chester Wadsworth's 
Hotel. 18, Old hotel on Hamilton property. 19, Alexander Hamilton's 
house. 20, Custom House, afterwards Customs and Post Office, on site of 
Hon. Robert Hamilton's house, now occupied by R. K. Noyes. 21, Below 
here, in what is called the deep hollow, Robert Hamilton erected store- 
houses and wharves in 1789. 22, Vrooman's Point, where battery of two 
24-pounders was mounted in 1812. 23, Lewiston, N.Y. Oil. Size 10x13. 
See 1327. 

1327 QUEENSTON (LOWER LANDING), U.C., 1834 View from the 
Hamilton estate, looking south 1, Shows old Brock Monument, built 1824; 
shattered 1840. 2a, Old Barracks, 1812, near spot where Macdonell fell. 
2b, William Rees' house, 1832. 3, Government storehouse. 4, Barracks. 
5, Storehouse. 6, Mr. Kitson's, cabinetmaker. 7, Log house and barn of 
Joseph Wynn, Sr. 8, Stone house belonging to Major Adam Brown. 9, 
Monument House. 10, Joseph Wynn's hotel (Forest House), 11, Zimmer- 
man's Bank. 12, Ross' clothing and dry goods store. 13, Post office. 
14, Fennimore, the ferryman's house. 15, Fort Porter battery. Oil. Size 
10x13. See 1326. 

1328 PLAN OF LAURA SECORD'S HEROIC WALK FROM 
QUEENSTON TO DECEW FALLS, 23RD JUNE, 1813 With Key This 
map or plan is absolutely accurate and shows the exact path Mrs. Secord 






213 

travelled from Queenston Heights to Beaver Dams, to warn Lieut. Fitz- 
gibbon of the intended American attack. The artist walked over the route 
and verified, by the aid of notes and interviews with old inhabitants, every 
foot of the route. Size 12 x 16. 

1329 STONE HOUSE AT QUEENSTON WHERE GEN. BROCK 
DIED Southeast corner Queen and Partition streets, lot 4, Township of 
Niagara As it appeared in 1812-15 It was occupied in 1813 by a woman 
who had a servant named Christine de Chambers. The latter stated to Major 
Sheppard, a resident of Queenston, that she remembered perfectly the day 
of battle, for she was in the house at the time the British officers carried 
in the body of Gen. Brock and laid it on a lounge in the front room. The 
body was later carried to Government House, Niagara, and buried under 
north-east bastion, Fort George, where it remained until re-interred under the 
first monument erected in 1824, destroyed in 1840, and the present monu- 
ment built in 1853. Water color. Size 5x8. 

1330 STONE HOUSE AT QUEENSTON, WHERE GEN. BROCK 
DIED As it appeared in 1913 The old-time dwelling is now (1917) falling 
info decay. Water color. Size 5x8. 

1331 DAVID SECORD'S HOUSE, ST. DAVID'S, U.C. The only 
dwelling left in the town after its burning in 1813 It is of stone, plastered 
in roughcast and still (1917) standing. In 1813 it was occupied by the 
widow of Stephen Secord, and Laura Secord's brother, Charles Ingersoll, 
also resided there. The heroine of Beaver Dams wished this brother to 
warn Lieut. Fitzgibbon of the contemplated American attack, but he was 
ill, and she proceeded alone to the British encampment. After the war the 
house became the home of David Secord, brother of James Secord, who 
married Laura Ingersoll. Water color by Owen* Staples. Size 7x9. 

1332 MONUMENT AT LUNDY'S LANE Erected to commemorate 
the victory of July 25th, 1814 The battle was one of the most stubbornly 
contested in the War of 1812. This spot, at one time a neglected graveyard, 
is now well and properly kept. The obelisk was erected in 1895 by the 
Dominion Government, through the persistent efforts of the Lundy's Lane 
Historical Society, with Rev. Canon Bull as President. It bears the follow- 
ing inscription: "Erected by the Canadian Parliament in honor of the 
victory gained on 25th July, 1814, by the British and Canadian forces, and 
in grateful remembrance of the brave men who died on the field of battle 
fighting for the unity of the British Empire." Water color by J. W. Cotton. 
Size 6x9. 

1333 LAURA SECORD'S EVENTFUL WALK Where the heroine 
crossed the Twelve-Mile Creek In her wanderings on June 23rd, 
1813, Mrs. Secord crossed the Twelve-Mile Creek at St. Catharines. Dis- 
covering that she had gone too far, she recrossed by means of a fallen 
tree, at the Boyle farm, near the junction of the present (1917) Pelham 
and Boyle roads, below De Cew Falls. Water color by J. W. Cotton. 
Size 5x6. 

1334 HOMESTEAD OF JAMES McFARLAND, NIAGARA, U.C. An 

historic house, situated on the banks of the Niagara River, about two 
miles south of Niagara It was built in 1800, and was one of the largest 
and most comfortable houses in the district. During the War of 1812-14 it 
was used, as were many Niagara houses, for hospital by both British and 
Americans. A battery was built on the bank behind the house, and a 
little to the north is the ravine, in which were concealed the boats used in 
taking Fort Niagara, Dec. 10th, 1813. Water color. Size 5x6. 



214 

1335 LAURA SECORD'S DWELLING, QUEENSTON, 1800 Exterior 
v j ew it was in this house, which is on the north-west corner of Queen 
and Partition streets, lots 92-3, that Mrs. Secord overheard the American 
officers discussing the proposed attack on the British force under Lieut. 
Fitzgibbon at Beaver Dams. To warn the latter Mrs. Secord tramped 
twenty miles through bush and swamp. The result of her warning was 
that Col. Boerstler, the American commander, surrendered, accepting 
Lieut. (Col.) Fitzgibbon's story that, owing to the strength of the British 
force, attack was useless. This was the great event of Fitzgibbon's life. 
The Secord house is still (1917) standing oh its original foundation. The 
exterior has been altered, but the interior the sitting-room and bedroom 
occupied by Lieut. Fitzgibbon are still unaltered. The historic house is 
now occupied by Mr. F. H. Sheppard. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 
5x7. See 1336. 

1336 LAURA SECORD'S DWELLING, QUEENSTON, 1800 Living- 
room. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. See 1335. 

1337 CANAL BOAT ON EDGE OF HORSESHOE FALLS, 1850-rIn 
the last week of June, 1850, a canal boat, laden with pork and whiskey, but 
with no one on board, broke loose from the harbor of Chippawa, C.W., at 
the confluence of the Niagara and Welland Rivers, two and a half miles 
from the Falls, and was carried down the river and lodged on a rock at 
the verge of the Falls. She remained in that position for six weeks, and 
was eventually swept over. It was a great attraction for thousands of 
visitors from Canada and the United States. Water color from print in 
Illustrated London News. Size 4x6. 

1338 MONUMENT HOUSE South-west corner of Front and Partition 
streets, Queenston, Ont. It was built in 1834 by Thomas Humphries, and 
subsequently run by Win. Palmer, O. Hudson, Isaac Upper, and others. 
When local option came into force in that district, May, 1904, the hotel 
was closed, and afterwards used as a store and dwelling until its destruc- 
tion by fire, August 19th, 1906. In this old hostelry was a beautifully 
carved stone mantel, showing the fruits grown in the district, and executed 
by the men who did the ornamentation on the present Brock Monument on 
Queenston Heights. Water color. Size 5x6. 

1339 HOME AND GRIST MILL OF GEORGE BALL, TWENTY-MILE 
CREEK (JORDAN, ONT.) George Ball, youngest son of Jacob Ball, who 
fought in Queen's and Butler's Rangers through the Revolutionary War, 
erected here in 1784, a house and three mills. In 1812 a portion of the 104th 
British Regiment was stationed there to protect the property, with Captains 
Brock (nephew of General Sir Isaac Brock) and Vavasour in command, 
and for many years a verse in red chalk was distinctly visible in the old 
Ball house: 

"The blessing of God attend this house 
For kindness they have shown, 
To the 104th when stationed here 
The country to defend." 

Brock's cocked hat, which came from England after the General's death, 
was presented by Captain Brock to George Ball. It is now in the Niagara 
Historical Society Museum. Mr. Mortimer Ball, barrister, County Clerk 
of Louth, resides in a handsome brick residence on the site of the old log 
homestead Twenty-Mile Creek, lot 22, concession 5, Township of Louth, 
Lincoln County. Water color by J. W. Cotton, from an old sketch. 
Size 5x6. 



215 

1340 LAURA SECORD'S COTTAGE, CH I PPAWA Corner Water and 
Adelaide streets, lots 108-9 In this quaint little cottage Mrs. Secord re- 
sided from 1830 until her death in October, 1868. She and her daughter, 
Mrs. Smith, for some years conducted a private school there. The house 
still (1917) stands. Water color. Size 5x6. 

1341 MONUMENT ON THE GRAVE OF LAURA SECORD Lundy's 

Lane Burying Ground, Niagara Falls South, Ont. The inscription reads: 
"To perpetuate the name and fame of Laura Secord, who walked alone 
nearly 20 miles by a circuitous, difficult and perilous route, through woods 
and swamps and over miry roads, to warn a British outpost at De Cew's 
Falls of an intended attack, and thereby enabled Lieut. Fitzgibbon on the 
24th June, 1813, with less than 50 men of H.M. 49th Regiment, about 15 
militiamen, and a small force of Six Nation and other Indians, under Cap- 
tain* William Johnson Kerr and Domenique Ducharme, to surprise and 
attack the enemy at Beechwoods (or Beaver Dams), and after a short 
engagement to capture Col. Boerstler of the U.S. Army and his entire 
force of 542 men with two field pieces. This monument, erected by the 
Ontario Historical Society from contributions of schools, societies, Her 
Majesty's 49th Regiment, and other militia organizations and private indivi- 
duals, was unveiled 22nd of June, 1901." Water color. Size 4x6. 

1342 THE FIRST LEWISTON AND QUEENSTON SUSPENSION: 
BRIDGE, 1850-64 The project of erecting a chain suspension bridge at 
Queenston had been set on foot in 1836; but building was not commenced 
until 1850. On March 19th, 1851, the structure, designed and built by 
Edward W. Serrell, C.E., was opened at Queenston, and a few days later 
at Lewiston. In 1864, for fear of an ice jam, the guys were taken down, 
and not being replaced, a storm wrecked the bridge on Feb. 1st. The 
cables and towers remained intact, but were never used again. The bridge 
was reconstructed in 1899, the material used being partly that which the 
gale had left and partly that of the discarded "Upper Bridge," replaced by 
the present upper steel arch structure. The total length of the cable in 
the first Queenston bridge was 1,245 feet, and the length of roadway 849 
feet. Old engraving, colored. Size 6 x 12. See 1309. 

1343 DE CEW HOUSE, LOT 40, THOROLD TOWNSHIP, 1809-1917 
Here Lieut (Colonel) James Fitzgibbon had his headquarters while at 
Beaver Dams. Laura Secord, wife of Sergeant Secord, having heard that 
the Americans proposed attacking Fitzgibbon, walked from Queenston by 
a circuitous route for about twenty miles, through bush and swamp, to 
De Cew's and notified Fitzgibbon, who was stationed there with a 
detachment of the 49th and a party of Indians. He bluffed Lieut.-Col. 
Boerstler, the American commander, into the belief that the British force 
was so strong it would be useless bloodshed to fight, and demanded sur- 
render. Consequently Boerstler surrendered his force of 519 men and 25 
officers. This stone house, built by Capt. John De Cew, still (1917) stands, 
the same outwardly as a hundred years ago, though the interior has been 
somewhat modernized. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x6. See 1346. 

1344 BEAVER DAMS BATTLEFIELD Situated about a mile east of 
the present village, close to the Welland Canal The monument stands 
near the Niagara Falls and St. Catharines trolley line steel bridge, over a 
grave which contains the remains of a number of American soldiers who 
fell during the War of 1812-14. The inscription on the stone reads simply 
"Beaver Dams, June 24th, 1813." Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x7. 
See 1345. 

1345 MONUMENT AT BEAVER DAMS Tnorold Township, Welland 
>unty, Ont. Erected by the Wentworth Historical Society to commemor- 
ite the surrender of Lieut.-Col. Boerstler and the American troops to 



216 

Lieut. (Colonel) Fitzgibbon, of the 49th Regiment. It stands close to the 
east side of the present Welland Canal. There are no landmarks to show 
the precise spot of the surrender. Water color. Size 3x5. See 1344. 

1346 ROOM IN OLD STONE HOUSE AT DE CEW'S View showing 
the fireplace It was in this house, which is situated on lot 40, about three 
miles west of the present Town of Thorold, Ont, that Lieut. (Colonel) 
James Fitzgibbon, with his band of scouts, had taken up headquarters 
before the memorable skirmish at the Beechwoods, more familiarly known 
as the Battle of Beaver Dams, June 24th, 1813. The old house was erected 
1808-9 by Captain John De Cew, and is now occupied by Mr. Michael J. 
Griffiths. Water color by J. W. Cotton. Size 5x6. See 1343. 

1347 OLD STONE MILL, KINGSTON MILLS, ONT. Site of the first 
Government grist mill in Upper Canada, erected 1782-3 by Robert Clark, a 
well-known U.E. Loyalist. It was situated on the Cataraqui River, five 
miles from Kingston, where the first locks of the Rideau Canal now 
stand. Farmers brought their grist from Cornwall in the east and the 
settlements about the Bay of Quinte. Water color from picture in posses- 
sion of Dr. C. K. Clarke, Toronto. Size 8 x 10. 

1348 M URN EY MARTELLO TOWER, KINGSTON, U.C. One of the 
four Martello towers, which in early days formed part of Kingston's fortifi- 
cations. It was a loop-holed guardhouse, built 1837, situated on the lake 
shore at the west end of the town, south-west corner Macdonald Park. It 
was built by Contractor Murney, of Belleville, after whom it is named. 
Water color from picture in possession of Dr. C. K. Clarke, Toronto. 
Size 6 x 11. 

1349 "KINGSTON, ON KING'S RIVER Drawn from nature by Aug. 
Kollner. Lith. by Deroy. Printed by Jacomme & Co. in 1849." This pic- 
ture is from the north-easterly end of Fort Henry, overlooking Navy Bay. 
The main features in the picture are: 1, The stone frigate in the Royal 
Navy Yard, now the site of the Royal Military College. 2, Tete du Pont 
Barracks. 3, Cataraqui Bridge. 4, St. Mary's Cathedral. 5, Regiopolis 
College. 6, Tower of St. Andrew's Church. 7, Martello tower in the har- 
bor. 8, Murney tower, now in Macdonald Park. 9, City Hall. 10, Navy 
Bay. The term, "King's River," was in all probability a creation, as there 
is no historical foundation for the Cataraqui having ever been known as 
such. Chromo lithograph. See 7 x 11. See 1350, 1355, 1372, 1376. 

1350 KINGSTON, U.C., 1827 View from Barriefield, showing: 1, 
H.M.S. "Grampus"; 2, Stone Frigate, now the site of the Royal Military 
College; 3, Fort Frederick; 4, Commodore Barry's residence; 5, Marine 
Cottages; 6, Marine Hospital; 7, St. George's (Anglican) Church; 8, Mar- 
ket house; 9, Dean's schoolhouse; 10, Ordnance Stores; 11, Cataraqui 
Bridge, connecting Kingston and Barriefield. Lithograph. Size 6x12. 
See 1349, 1355, 1372. 

1351 FAIRFIELD MILL AT MILL CREEK, NOW FLOATING 
BRIDGE Built by Harmon Fairfield, grandson of William Fairfield. 
Water color from picture in possession of Dr. C. K. Clarke, Toronto. 
Size 11 x 14. 

1352 FIRST STONE HOUSE ERECTED IN KINGSTON, U.C. It 
stands on the corner of Queen and Ontario streets, was built for a commis- 
sariat department, and used as such for many years while the British 
troops were stationed in Kingston. It was subsequently changed into an 
hotel, continuing as such until recently, when it became a bottling works. 
It is in excellent state of preservation. Photograph, colored. Size 7x9. 



217 

1353 ONE OF KINGSTON'S OLD HOUSES Stone house, Rideau 
street, overlooking Cataraqui Bay, built about 1800; occupied for many 
years by Col. McLean, a retired English officer. The house, which is still 
standing, is near the Kingston & Pembroke Ry. Roundhouse, and is the 
property of the company. Water color from picture in possession of Dr. 
C. K. Clarke, Toronto. Size 9 x 10. 

1354 BUST OF SIR JOHN A. MACDONALD In the crypt of St. 
Paul's Cathedral, London, England. Photograph. Size 7 x 10. See 177. 

1355 CATARAQUI (KINGSTON) A south-east view, 1783, with key 
This is the first picture of Cataraqui, showing what was left of Fort 
Frontenac in that year. The city of Kingston is situated at the head of 
the St. Lawrence, at the outlet of Lake Ontario. The harbor is an excellent 
one, and ships of any size can be accommodated in perfect safety. In 1671 
the place was known as Cataraqui, and visited by De Courcelles, the 
Governor of New France. He was succeeded by Count Frontenac, and the 
fort was built by him, and named in his honor. The fort was held by the 
French until 1758, when it fell into the hands of the British under Colonel 
Bradstreet. In 1783 a number of Loyalist emigrants under Captain Michael 
Grass settled in what is now the township of Kingston. Water color by 
James Peachey, ensign, 60th Regiment. Taken by Louis Kotte, 
Size 11 x 21. See 1349, 1350, 1372. 

1356 KINGSTON, C.W., 1851 From Fort Henry Hill, north-east of 
Main Gate. The view shows: 1. Dockyards, now (1917) site of Royal 
Military College. 2. Sydenham Street Methodist Church. 3. St. George's 
Anglican Church (Cathedral). 4. City Hall.. 5. Regiopolis (R. C.) College, 
founded about 1850. 6. St. Mary's (R.C.) Cathedral. 7. Tete du Pont Bar- 
racks. 8. St. Andrew's (Presbyterian) Church. 9. Cataraqui bridge. 
Water color. Size 5x7. 

1357 KINGSTON, ONT., 1880 View from Barriefield Common, East 
of city The picture shows: 1. North-easterly end of Barriefield Common. 

2. Wood scow coming down from Rideau Canal. 3. M. Strachan's sawmill. 
4. Steamer "Firefly," a Rideau Canal-er. 5. Sydenham Street Methodist 
Church. 6. St. Mary's Cathedral. 7. Old St. Andrew's Church. Water 
color, from original drawing by Lucius Richard O'Brien, for "Picturesque 
Canada." Size 5x7. 

1358 PENETANGUISHENE, ON AN ARM OF GEORGIAN BAY 

View taken from the east wing (removed in 1892) of Georgian Bay Hotel, 
looking n.w. across Roberts and Peel streets and harbor. The main build- 
ing of hotel is on n.e. cor. of Main and Roberts streets. Key: 1. Beck & 
Co.'s sawmill and lumber yards. 2. Penetanguishene or Main street. 

3. Original Methodist Church, built 1833. 4. "Canada House," sheds and 
stables. 5. Post-office block. 6. Peel street. 7. All Saints' Church (Angli- 
can), built 1874. 8. Church street. 9. Brick chimney for glass furnace and 
manufactory, erected 1879-80. 10. Buchanan's carriage shop, burned 1884, 
replaced by residence of Dr. A. P. McDonald. 11. W. F. H. Thompson's 
general store, frame skeleton, Main street. 12. Building of H. H. Thompson, 
general merchant. 13. Residence of Dr. Spohn, formerly home of A. A. 
Thompson first brick building in Penetang, erected 1835. Water color, 
from original drawing by Schell & Hogan for "Picturesque Canada," 1880. 
Size 3x7. 

1359 GRAND TRUNK RY. VIADUCT^PORT HOPE It was known as 
the Albert Bridge, so named in honor of the Prince Consort. A coincidence 
in connection with the viaduct is that it was built in 1856, measured 1856 
feet, and rested on 56 piers. The Grand Trunk, 1887-93, replaced it by a 
double track structure on large stone piers, and in 1906 put in new heavy 



218 

girders The view shows in addition to the viaduct: 1. Midland Railway 
elevator since torn down. 2. Roman Catholic Church. 3. St. John's 
(Anglican) Church 4. Baptist Church. 5. Chimney of car factory. 6. Town 
Hall destroyed by fire and rebuilt. 7. St. Mark's (Anglican) Church. 
8 Elevator, still (1916) in existence. 9. Dock. 10. Harbor. Water color, 
from original drawing by F. E. Lummis, for "Picturesque Canada," 1880. 
Size 5x7. 

1360 "ROCKWOOD," KINGSTON, U.C. View from the grounds. 
Photograph, colored, from picture in possession of Dr. C. K. Clarke. 
Toronto. Size 7 x 12. See 1363. 

1361 _FAIRFIELD HOUSE, KINGSTON, U.C. This quaint U. E. L. 
dwelling on Bath road was built in 1793 by William Fairfield. It is still in 
a fine state of preservation, and has been occupied by four generations. 
Stephen Fairfield succeeded his father. Harmon Fairfield succeeded 
Stephen, and the present occupant, Thomas D., is the son of Harmon Fair- 
field. Wm. Fairfield, who was one of the pioneers of Ernestown, succeeded 
Christopher Robinson as a member of the Second Legislature for Addington 
and Ontario. Water color from picture in possession of Dr. C. K. Clarke, 
Toronto. Size 10 x 10. 

1362 CART WRIGHT STABLES, KINGSTON, U.C. At Rockwood, 
afterwards first asylum in Upper Canada. Of these stables Dr. Sampson, 
a leading physician of the town, remarked on one occasion, in passing with 
a friend: 

"Oh, much I wish that I were able 
To build a house like Cartwright's stable, 
For it doth cause me great remorse 
To be worse lodged than Cartwright's horse." 

Water color from picture in possession of Dr. C. K. Clarke, Toronto. 
Size 8x9. 

1363 "ROCKWOOD," THE CARTWRIGHT RESIDENCE, KINGSTON, 

U.C. Built about 1837 by J. S. Cartwright, son of Hon. Richard Cartwright, 
a one-time member of the Legislative Council of Upper Canada, on his 
property at Rockwood. A few hundred feet south, on the right hand side, 
towards the lake, stood "Rockwood Cottage," the home of Sir Richard 
Cartwright, in his boyhood. "Rockwood" is now the residence of the 
Superintendent of the Hospital for Insane, Kingston. Photograph, colored, 
from picture in possession of Dr. C. K. Clarke, Toronto. Size 7x9- See 1360. 
7x9. See 1360. 

1364 AN OLD BLOCK HOUSE, KINGSTON, U.C. Rooney Castle, at 
the north-easterly end of Sydenham street, overlooking the quarries be- 
tween it and Montreal street. It was one of the five blockhouses built 
soon after the War of 1812 as a defence around the limits of the town. 
These blockhouses were originally connected by a high stockade, and 
Rooney Castle was the last to remain. For many years it was occupied, 
but was abandoned about 1900, and in 1909 was demolished. Water color 
from picture in possession of Dr. C. K. Clarke, Toronto. Size 6 x 10. 

1365 "THE ADMIRALTY HOUSE, KINGSTON, CANADA WEST 
Late residence of Captain Fowell, of H.M.S. Cherokee. J. Gillespie, del. 
Scobie & Balfour, lith., Toronto." Opposite the house is the man-of-war 
"Cherokee." The Admiralty House, also known as the Commodore House, 
was on the Royal Military College grounds in front of the present residence 
of the Commandant. It was torn down to make room for the new building. 
When the forces were removed to England the Admiralty House was aban- 
doned as naval headquarters. The "Cherokee" was built at Kingston in 



219 

1843-4. She was of wood, schooner rigged, 800 tons burden, disarmed about 
1860, and ran for years as a passenger steamer between Halifax and St. 
John. Lithograph. Size 10 x 14. 

1366 PORT HOPE, C.W., 1851 View taken from the south-west, with 
key. Water color. Size 5x7. 

1367 FALL OF TABLE ROCK On June 25th, 1850, the great over- 
hanging mass known as Table Rock, on the Canadian side of Niagara 
Falls, crashed into the abyss below, leaving only a narrow bench along 
the bank. It fell at noon, when few people were in the vicinity, and no 
lives were lost. The driver of a local omnibus had just taken off his 
horses for their mid-day meal, and was washing his vehicle, when he felt 
a preliminary cracking. He was able to escape, but the omnibus was 
plunged into the gulf beneath. For miles around the sound of crashing 
rock was heard, the ledge being of immense proportions two hundred 
feet long, sixty feet wide, and a hundred feet deep. This was not (the 
first fall of rock here, fragments having broken off previous to 1750 and 
on several subsequent occasions. The name, "Table Rock," still adheres 
to the place. Water color. Size 4x7. 

1368 BLONDIN CROSSING THE NIAGARA RIVER ON A ROPE 

With a man on his back Blondin, the noted tightrope walker (whose real 
name was Jean Francois Gravelet), was born in Hesden, France, 1824.- On 
August 17th, 1859, he crossed the Niagara River on a rope two inches in 
diameter, just below the railway suspension bridge, carrying his agent, 
Henry Colcord, on his back. Five times in crossing they stopped to rest, 
Mr. Colcord dismounting each time. The perilous trip occupied forty-two 
minutes. Among Blondin's other feats were balancing on a cable, hanging 
from it by his hands and feet, standing on his head, and lowering himself 
to the surface of the water. He also trundled a loaded wheelbarrow across, 
and walked in a sack. In 1860 Blondin gave a special performance in honor 
of the Prince of Wales. His death occurred in 1897. Water color. Size 4x7. 

1369 BROCKVILLE, U.C., 1841 Sketch from above the town off 
what is now called Refugee Island. The "Three Sisters," below the town, 
are in the centre of picture; Morristown, in New York State, on the right. 
St. Peter's Church, Blockhouse Island, and the Jones Wharf, with vessels 
moored to it, are conspicuous. The buildings shown immediately to the 
left of the Blockhouse are "Cotton's Foundry"; the warehouse of Sydney 
and Henry Jones, a building since incorporated in the C.P.R. freight shed; 
and Flint's Hotel. The commanding position of St. Peter's Church has 
often been noticed from the river, as shown in picture. Pencil drawing 
by Frederick Holloway- Size 7 x 11. The views of Brockvilyle, Nos. 
1375, 1384. and that of Morristown, were a gift of Rev. H. Bedford- Jones, 
Brockville, to J. Ross Robertson. 

1370 ORANGE ARCH ERECTED ON PRINCESS STREET, KINGS- 
TON, ONT., 1860 In honor of H. R. H. Prince of Wales Because of the 
demonstrations and special preparations made by Orangemen in Kingston 
and Belleville, H.R.H. Prince of Wales (late King Edward), on the advice 
of the Duke of Newcastle, declined to land at these places in September, 
1860. One of the Orange arches erected in Kingston was on Princess street, 
facing southerly and adjacent to King street. The picture shows: 1, The 
News office. 2. Dr. Sullivan's. 3. Arch. 4. McGuire's wharf. 5, The 
harbor. 6, Fern's building in 1860, occupied as a shoe store. The buildings 
have been slightly changed for business purposes. Water color. Size 6x8. 

1371 GRASS HOUSE Four miles from Kingston, on shore of Lake 
Ontario; built 1783-4 by Capt. Michael Grass, a U.E. Loyalist, who had 
owned a farm near New York; was a British prisoner of war with the 
French at Fort Frontenac for a time; refused a captaincy in Republican 



220 

service during Revolutionary War. At the close of the war he commanded 
a party of Loyalists, who settled in the Township of Kingston. Water 
color from original in possession of Dr. C. K. Clarke, Superintendent To- 
ronto General Hospital. Size 5x6. 

1372 KINGSTON, C.W., IN 1862 The place was known in 1671 as 
Cataraqui, and visited by De Courcelles, Governor of New France. He was 
succeeded by Frontenac, who built the fort named in his honor, and which 
the French held until 1758. It then fell into the hands of the British under 
Col. Bradstreet. In 1783 a number of Loyalists, under Captain Michael 
Grass, settled in what afterwards became the Township of Kingston, and 
the town plot was laid out in that year. About 1788 Kingston was selected 
by the British Government as a military and naval station. The Legisla- 
ture of the Province of Canada, after the Act of Union, held three sessions 
in Kingston, from 1841-44, when the seat of Government was removed to 
Montreal. The picture shows: 1, Ontario street, in front of City Hall; 2, 
City Hall tower; 3, Sydenham Street Methodist Church; 4, Swift's Wharf; 
5, The harbor. Water color from a sketch by G. H. Andrews, of the London 
Illustrated News. Size 5x9. See 1349-50, 1355, 1376. 

1373 CATARAQUI BRIDGE, KINGSTON, U.C., SHOWING TOLL 
HOUSE The bridge, which was formally opened, August 5th, 1829, was 
erected to supersede the ferry established about 1789, and running from 
Fort Frontenac (Kingston) to the Pittsburg shore. It is still in a good 
state of repair. Water color by Miss E. Fraser, Kingston. Size 7 x 14. 

1374 ENGAGEMENT AT DICKINSON'S LANDING, 10TH NOV., 1813 
This engagement is identical with Hoople's Creek, a quarter of a mile west 
of where Dickinson's Landing is to-day (1917). The Americans came from 
Ogdensburg and were met by the Grenville and Dundas militia and by them 
defeated. Hoople's Creek was so called because Hoople got from the 
Government in 1797-8 a grant of land here. Lithograph in color by Coke 
Smyth. Size 11 x 15. 

1375 BROCKVILLE, U.C., 1841 From a point in the river opposite- 
It shows St. Peter's Anglican Church to the right on the hill and the block- 
house on island in centre. On the extreme left of picture- the house with 
trees behind was built probably about 1815-18 by a Mr. Fraser, Collector of 
Customs. In the centre is the old Court House, of brick, built 1824. To 
the immediate left of the Court House is the first Presbyterian Church 
building in Brockville, afterwards destroyed by fire, while the first Method- 
ist Church building is seen to the right of the Court House. Pencil draw- 
ing by Frederick Holloway. Size 7 x 11. 

1376 KINGSTON, U.C., 1819 The sketch, of which this picture is a 
copy, was made by Cadet Bayfield, R.N., afterwards Admiral Bayfield. It 
came into possession of, Major-General Cameron, R.M.C. At the dockyard 
are shown several frigates which had been active in the War of 1812, one 
being the Princess Charlotte, 102 guns. The fortification shown to the left 
of picture is Fort Henry, successor to old Fort Frontenac. In 1820 
barracks were added to the fort, and in 1832 the modern defence erected. 
The trees on the right of the foreground are on Barriefield Heights. Water 
color. Size 10 x 27. See 1349, 1350, 1355. 

1377 MORRISTOWN VILLAGE, ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY, N.Y. 

This sketch of Morristown is taken from one of the "Three Sisters," and 
shows the head of one of the other islands. The Protestant Episcopal 
Church is visible near the centre. The building more to the left, with 
tower, is the Methodist Chapel, and on the extreme left is the old windmill, 
used at times as a jail. On the right, near the well-known Ford family 
house, is shown an old mill which has disappeared. The view looks into 
the bay, into which the little creek shown flows. Pencil drawing by 
Frederick Holloway, 1841. Size 6 x 10. 



221 

1378 TURKEY POINT, REMAINS OF EARTHWORKS AT From the 
site of the old town of Charlotteville, Norfolk County. Turkey Point was 
first settled in 1793, and was visited two years later by Governor Simcoe, 
who reserved near there the town-site of Charlotteville. It is said that the 
Governor purposed founding here the commercial and governmental metro- 
polis of Upper Canada. From 1802-15 the District Courts were held at 
Charlotteville. After the war, however, they were removed to Vittoria, 
and the town relapsed once more into Turkey Point. When hostilities 
broke out in 1812, the Court House was used for barracks purposes, and a 
substantial fort erected, known as Fort Norfolk. The Americans, with 
three schooners, attempted to make a landing here, but were forced to 
retreat up the lake by the four hundred British and colonial troops defend- 
ing the fort. No traces save the trenches now remain of the old-time judi- 
cial metropolis. Water color by W. Edgar Cantelon. Size 6 x 11. 

1379 PRINCE OF WALES' EXCURSION DOWN THE RAPIDS OF 
THE ST. LAWRENCE RIVER, 1860 During the visit of the Prince of 
Wales to Canada he had many enjoyable outings, one of which was that 
of running the rapids. On the 28th of August the Royal party, with Sir 
Edmund Walker Head, Governor-General, the Commander-in-Chief of the 
Forces, and other distinguished Canadians, left Montreal at 11 a.m. by rail 
for Dickinson's Landing, where they embarked on the steamer Kingston 
of the Royal Mail Line and steamed down the rapids of the Long Sault, 
Coteau. Cedars, Cascades and Lachine, arriving at Montreal at 7 p.m. The 
Prince in after life frequently alluded to this trip. Water color from the 
original by George H. Andrews, of the Royal Water Color Society of Great 
Britain. Size 10 x 20. 

1380 BROCKVILLE, C.W., 1851 From Old Man's Island, opposite town. 
With key. Water color. Size 5x7. 

1381 OLD JESUIT MISSION, SANDWICH, U.C. It was situated on 
part of lot 63, town of Sandwich, and formed a portion of the Assomption 
Church property. The Jesuit Fathers first landed at Sandwich in 1728, 
when Father Armand de la Richardie became a missionary to the Hurons. 
He labored with zeal and success, and in 1746 built a church and mission 
house. The remaining part of the latter, which stood on the church pro- 
perty on a splendid elevation overlooking the Detroit River, was destroyed 
by fire, 29th June, 1912. A wine cellar was erected on the site, and the 
property is now (1917) owned by Messrs. Gordon Wickett and W. C. 
Kennedy, of Windsor. Water color. Size 4x6. 

1382 ENGAGEMENT IN THE THOUSAND ISLANDS, RIVER ST. 
LAWRENCE The Americans went down the river in boats, the Canadians 
following, llth November, 1813. The latter were victorious in the en- 
counter, which took place near Ogden's and Touissaint's (All Saints') 
Island. The next day was fought the battle of Crysler's Farm. Lithograph 
in color by Coke Smyth. Size 11 x 15. 

1383 BROCKVILLE, U.C., 1853 With key From the west of Brock- 
ville, looking across the old Mill Pond, through which ran a creek, now 
much contracted by straightening. The road on which the houses in the 
centre front is King street, the chief business street in Brockville. Water 
color by Gen. A. R. V. Crease, R.E. Size 6 x 10. 

1384 BROCKVILLE, U.C., 1841 Looking up the river from below 
King street St. Peter's Church, the first ecclesiastical building to be 
erected in Brockville, 1826, is shown in its original, unenlarged condition. 
The first enlargement was made a few years later. To the left of the pic- 
ture is shown the Island, with blockhouse on it, and a wharf, near which 
stood Flint's Hotel. Beyond them is a group of islands, a number of which 



222 

have been sold. Others are leased by the town of Brockville as a park. 
The spire of what was the first Presbyterian Church is seen to the right 
about the trees. Pencil drawing by Frederick Holloway. Size 7 x 11. 

1385 "THOUSAND ISLANDS (LAKE ONTARIO AND RIVER ST. 
LAWRENCE) Drawn from nature by Aug. Kollner. Lith. by Deroy. 
Printed by Jacomme & Co. New York and Paris, published by Goupil & 
Co. Entered according to Act of Congress in the year 1851 by Wm. Schaus 
in the Clerk's Office of the District Court for the Southern District of 
New York." Lithograph. Size 9 x 12. 

1386 FORT CARLETON, NEAR KINGSTON, U.C. A fortification of 
pre-conquest days Carleton Island, named after Sir Guy Carleton (Lord 
Dorchester), lies near Grand Island, opposite Kingston, nearest the south 
shore, where Lake Ontario descends into the St. Lawrence. It is not known 
when the first fortifications were erected, but probably by the French as 
the British found the place strongly fortified at the time of the conquest. 
As it commanded the main channel of the St. Lawrence, they greatly 
strengthened it. Sir John Johnson and Col. John Butler, of the "Rangers," 
encamped with the Indians from the Mohawk Valley, on Carleton Island, 
in 1775, when on their way to join the British in Montreal. Long, in his 
"Voyages," published in 1791, says it had an excellent harbor, with strong 
fortifications and well garrisoned. Before the War of 1812 the island was 
guarded by a military detachment from Kingston. After the war, however, 
it formed a part of Cape Vincent Township, Jefferson County, N.Y. The 
moat that surrounded the fort was dug in the rock, and so was the well in 
the north-western portion of the works. North of the fort lay the garrison 
cemetery, and beyond the ramparts an Indian burial ground. The view is 
from the n.n.e. point of the fort. Water "color. Size 3x6. 

1387 UNITED EMPIRE LOYALIST MONUMENT, ADOLPHUS- 
TOWN, COUNTY LENNOX, ONTARIO It stands in what is known as 
the U.E. Loyalist Burying Ground, on the farm of Nicholas Hagerman. 
Here on their arrival from the United States in 1784, the Loyalists knelt in 
thanksgiving and celebrated their first communion on top of an over- 
turned canoe. On 16th June, 1884, to commemorate the centennial celebra- 
tion of the landing of the Loyalists, the corner-stone of the monument was 
laid with Masonic honors. Patriotic addresses were delivered, one of 
which was given by L. L. Bogart, then over eighty years of age, and the 
oldest living male representative of the U.E.L. band. The inscription on 
the monument reads: "In memory of the U.E. Loyalists, who, through 
loyalty to British institutions, left the United States and landed on these 
shores on the 16th. of June, A.D. 1784." On a hill a short distance to the 
right of the steamboat landing in Adolphustown the St. Alban's Anglican 
Memorial church contains a brass tablet bearing the following inscription: 
"One hundred years after the landing of the United Empire Loyalists on 
these shores, this Church of St. Alban the Martyr is built in proud memory 
of those patriots who became the founders of the Province of Ontario, in 
Honor, Loyalty and Fear of God, 1884." Photograph, colored. Size 5x6. 

1388 MACNAB, SIR ALLAN NAPIER, 1798-1862 Photograph from 
the painting in Senate corridor, Parliament Buildings, Ottawa. Size 6x7. 
Half length. See 26. 

1389 MERRITT, HON. WM. HAMILTON Projector of the Welland 
Canal Born in Bedford, N.Y. At an early age came to Upper Canada with 
his parents, who settled at the Twelve-Mile Creek (St. Catharines). Served 
in the War of 1812-14 V In 1816 purchased from the Hamilton estate a 
large portion of the land upon which the city of St. Catharines now 
stands. In 1818 assisted in making the first survey of the Welland Canal. 
He drew up a memorial to the Legislature, and the foundation for one of 



223 

the greatest waterways in the world was laid. In 27th November, 1829, 
the first vessels passed through the canal. Mr. Merritt was elected mem- 
ber for Haldimand in 1833. Declined twice the office of Inspector-General. 
On 29th Sept., 1860, was elected by acclamation to the Legislative Council. 
Interested in the trade and navigation of the St. Lawrence, and had several 
interviews with the Government relative to deepening the river. His 
death took place 5th July, 1862. Water color from a portrait in possession 
of his granddaughter, Miss Catharine Welland Merritt, St. Catharines, Ont. 
Water color. Size 5x7. Head and shoulders. 

1390 KEEPER, THOMAS COLTRIN, C.M.G., 1821-1915 A founder of 
the Canadian Society of Civil Engineers Born at Thorold, Ont., and edu- 
cated at Upper Canada College. In 1838 he began his career as an engi- 
neer, his first employment being on the Erie Canal. He was subsequently 
engaged on the Welland Canal, and then as chief engineer of the Ottawa 
River works. Victoria Bridge, Montreal, is the outcome of plans of Mr. 
Keefer. He also constructed waterworks at Montreal, Hamilton, Ottawa 
and other cities, and for a time was Chief Engineer of Railways in Upper 
and Lower Canada. In 1847 he commenced the advocacy of the Grand 
Trunk Railway, and in 1869, of the Canadian Pacific. Mr. Keefer was the 
author of a brilliant essay entitled "The Philosophy of Railroads," which 
attracted much attention. He was a brother of Samuel Keefer, C.E. Photo- 
graph, colored. Size 4x5. Head and shoulders. 

1391 BY, LIEUT-COL. JOHN, R.E., 1780-1853 The founder of Ottawa, 
known in the early days as Bytown Came to Canada in 1800 as a lieuten- 
ant in the Royal Engineers, and shortly after his arrival was entrusted 
with the construction of the boat canal at the Cascades above Montreal. 
On successfully completing this undertaking he was removed to Quebec, 
where he superintended the building of the four martello towers outside 
the walls of that city. In 1811 went to England, but returned to Canada 
fifteen years later to construct the Rideau Canal. It was during the time 
that the canal was being built that the first huts were raised by Colonel 
By on the site of the present city of Ottawa. In 1832 the Colonel returned 
to England. Copy of silhouette in possession of Sir Frederick Williams- 
Taylor, Montreal. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders 1 , in profile. 

1392 BY, MRS. JOHN Wife of Lieut.-Col. By, R.E., founder of the 
city of Ottawa and builder of the Rideau Canal. Copy of silhouette in 
possession of Sir Frederick Williams-Taylor, Montreal. Size 3x4. Head 
and shoulders, in profile. 

1393 GILKISON, CAPTAIN WILLIAM Born at Irvine, Ayrshire, Scot- 
land, March 9th, 1777. In 1796 he emigrated to New York, and was given 
command of a schooner employed in the North-west Company's service on 
Lake Erie, by John Jacob Astor. Married at Amherstburg, in 1803, Isabella, 
daughter of Commodore the Hon. Alexander Grant. During the War of 
1812 was appointed Field Quartermaster-General, with rank of captain, by 
Major-General Sir Isaac Brock. Captain Gilkison took part in the battle of 
Crysler's Farm, August, 1813, and on that occasion carried off the field 
the wounded Major Duncan Fraser. In 1815 returned to Scotland to edu 
cate his family. Came to Canada again in 1829, purchasing a large tract 
of land in Brantford, where he settled. Founded and named the town of 
Elora, 1832. Died near Onondaga, April 25th, 1833, and is buried in the 
old Mohawk Churchyard, Brantford. Water color from portrait in posses- 
sion of his granddaughter, Miss A. I. Grant Gilkison, of Brantford. Size 
3x3y 2 . See 1394. 

1394 GILKISON. CAPTAIN WILLIAM, 1777-1833 Silhouette. Size 
3x4. See 1393. 

17 



224 

1395 BIDWELL, MARSHALL SPRING Member Legislative As- 
sembly, U.C., 1824-36 He was born in Massachusetts, 1799; came to 
Canada with his father, Barnabas Bidwell, who became first master of the 
Bath Academy. The son studied law, practising in Kingston. Represented 
Lennox and Addington for thirteen consecutive sessions, during four 
of which he was Speaker. Bidwell, who was defeated in the general elec- 
tion of 1836, tried to secure the passing of an Act to abolish the law of 
primogeniture, and strongly championed Responsible Government. Al- 
though in sympathy with the Rebellion, he did not advise violence in any 
degree. Was, however, compelled to leave the country, going to New 
York, where he was admitted to the bar, and soon became recognized as a 
scholarly member of the profession. On his death in New York, 24th Dec., 
1872, Judge Daniel P. Ingraham said, "A more learned lawyer never prac- 
tised in our courts." Water color. Size 3x4. Head and shoulders. 

1396 PULPIT AND PRECENTOR'S BOX, "OLD STONE CHURCH," 
BEAVERTON, ONT. The rails of the square enclosure where the choir 
sat immediately behind the high pulpit with their backs to the congrega- 
tion, the precentor's box and the pulpit balustrade, with its carved newel 
top carved from a solid block of oak, are now faded, like the pulpit uphol- 
stery, to the color of the pine pews- Drawing in water color by Owen 
Staples. Size 4x6. See 1397, 1403. 

1397_PIONEER STOVES IN "OLD STONE CHURCH," BEAVERTON. 
ONT. About 1855 the stoves shown were procured for the church. They 
are big cast iron box affairs, four and a half feet wide ana five feet long. 
They stand yet (1917) in the rear of the building, with doors opening 
through a low bricked arch, furnace like, into the vestibule, from where 
they were fired with four-foot logs. Drawing in water color by Owen 
Staples. Size 4x6. See 1396, 1403. 

1398 PERTH, U.C., 1853 Situated on the River Tay. The original 
picture was made from the brow of the hill near the residence of the late 
Dr. Thorn, which at the time was the only residence in that part of the 
town, all the land being an extensive farm. The section is now well built. 
The principal buildings shown are still standing, as are also some of the 
old shacks in the foreground. In 1853 the portion of the town in the 
neighborhood given was the hub; now it has changed westward. Sixty 
years ago. a great deal of timber floated down the River Tay, which later 
became the Tay Canal. The stone bridge crossing the river was torn 
down in order to build a swing bridge over the canal. The key gives main 
points in picture. From an oil painting by Mr. Field, of Perth. Size 7 x 14. 

1399 ST. CATHARINES, U.C., 1850 View from the south bank of 
the Twelve-Mile Creek The mills shown are the old Norris grist mills, 
now the Kinleith paper mills, and the green sward is the side of the hill 
leading down to the Twelve-Mile Creek, now part of the old, or first 
Welland Canal. To the left of the picture, the steep hill is part of the 
Merritt property, owned by Dr. W. H. Merritt. Between this incline 
and the bank where the Stephenson House stands, is part of the old 
Welland Canal. The greater part of the land on which the city of St. 
Catharines is built, was purchased in 1816 by the Hon. W. H. Merritt from 
the Hon. Robert Hamilton, of Queenston. The purchase consisted of about 
400 acres, the larger portion being a level plateau, on the south of which 
is the ridge commonly known as "the mountain." A patent had been 
granted to Hon. Robert Hamilton, who, on the first survey of the place in 
1809, named it in honor of his wife, Catharine Askin. "St. Catharines," 
however, was not universally used until after the purchase by Hon. W. H. 
Merritt in 1816, when, as a compliment to his wife, also called Catharine, 
the name was permanently established. Water color from a drawing in 
possession of Miss C. Welland Merritt, St. Catharines. With key. Size 11x15. 



225 

1400 BRIDGE OVER THE CHAUDIERE FALLS, OTTAWA "Plan, 

Elevation and Section of the Truss Bridge, 212 feet Span, over the Chau- 
diere Falls, Ottawa River. Designed and executed under the direction of 
Lt. Coll. John By, Commanding Royal Engineer, flideau Canal. Finished, 
1828. C. Hullmandel's Lithography." The structure was commenced in 
1827 and carried away by a windstorm the following year. A new bridge, 
erected 1829, met the same fate, and the third, destroyed by fire in 1900, 
was the next year replaced by a steel structure. Lithograph. Size 15 x 24, 
See 1794. 

1401 "BAR RIE On Lake Simcoe, Canada West View from the 
south-east Drawn by Captn. W. H. Grubbe, Hone. East India Compy. 
Artilly., October, 1853. H. Scobie, Lith., Toronto. W. H. Grubbe." With 
key. Size 8 x 24. 

1402 BEAVERTON, ONTARIO COUNTY, 1890 View from St. 
Andrew's Church: 1, Knox Church; 2, Planing Mills and Factory; 3, 
Public School; 4, Thorah Island and Lake Simcoe; 5, Phoenix Foundry; 
6, John Proctor's Residence; 7, Harbor; 8, Dobson's Flour Mill; 9, Victoria 
Park; 10, Hamilton House; 11, Ethel Park; 12, Dr. A. Grant's Residence; 
13, McMillan Bros.' Rink and Carriage Works; 14, A. P. Cockburn's Resi- 
dence; 15, G. R. ProctoVs Residence; 16, Old School Ground; 17, Telegraph 
Office; 18, Dr. A. McKay's Residence. The second building is to the north 
of No. 6. The building is not shown in this picture. The Street north of 
No. 18 is Simcoe street. Drawing in water color. Size 7 x 18. 

1403 "OLD STONE CHURCH" (ST. ANDREW'S PRESBYTERIAN), 
BEAVERTON, ONT. Away back in 1832 a few Glengarry folk, who came 
to Canada from Islay, Scotland, settled on the eastern shores of Lake 
Simcoe. Soon the need of a place of worship was felt. St. Andrew's 
congregation was founded and the building of the old kirk commenced 
shortly afterwards. It was constructed of grey limestone, by heroic pio- 
neers of the neighboring country, and in 1840 neared completion. Fqr ten 
years the people worshipped in the unfinished church without floor or 
pew. The first minister, a graduate of Queen's University, was Rev. David 
Watson, A.M., D.D., who from 1853-98 carried on the work. The old and 
much-loved clergyman died in Beaverton, December, 1903, and to mark the 
fiftieth anniversary of his ordination, a memorial window was put in new 
St. Andrew's, Beaverton, and a brass tablet erected in the "Old Stone 
Church." Water color. Size 6x7. See 1396, 1397. 

1404 SHICKLUNA'S (SHICALUNA'S) SHIPYARDS, ST. CATH- 
ARINES, U.C., 1860 At foot of old Welland Canal, showing sailing vessels. 
Water color from original in possession of Miss Catherine Welland Merritt, 
St. Catharines. Size 4* x 5. 

1405 "CHAUDIERE FALLS, OTTAWA RIVER, UPPER CANADA 
From a sketch by an officer of the Royal Staff Corps prior to the erection 
of the bridges thrown over the Falls in 1827 by Lieut.-Colonel J. By, Comr. 
Royal Engrs. Rideau Canal, Upper Canada. Lithographed by C. Ingrey, 
310 Strand, London." Lithograph in color. Size 9x15. 

1406 RIDEAU RIFLE RANGES, OTTAWA, 1876 Picturesquely situ- 
ated on the bank of the Rideau River, immediately south of what is now 
(1917) Laurier avenue, Ottawa. The ranges were abandoned as such in 
1897, and the land has become Strathcona Park. Water color. Size 11 x 15. 

1407 LAST RAFT OF SQUARE TIMBER FLOATED DOWN THE 
OTTAWA RIVER The photograph from which this picture is made was 
taken in 1901, from Queen's Wharf, Ottawa. It shows Nepean Point, a 
rocky promontory overlooking the river, and one of the piers of the Inter- 



226 

Drovincial Bridge, then in course of erection, finished in 1903. The raft is 
nearly completed. It was the last to float down the Ottawa River, over the 
slides at Ottawa and thence down the St. Lawrence to Quebec. The rafts- 
men slept in the small house, and the large caboose was used for cooking. 
Near at hand is seen the tug in readiness to tow the timber to Quebec for 
shipment to England. Water color. Size 6x9. 

140 8 OTTAWA, C.W., 1855 Now the capital of Canada On the 

Ottawa River 87 miles from its confluence with the St. Lawrence, and at 
the mouth of the Rideau River. Founded by Col. By, of the Royal Engi- 
neers, commissioned in 1827 to construct the Rideau Canal. In 1854 
Bytown, named after its founder, was created a city and its name changed 
to Ottawa. The canal divided the city into the Upper and Lower Towns. 
In 1857 it was selected by Queen Victoria as the capital of the Dominion 
of Canada. The corner-stone of the Parliament Buildings was laid by King 
Edward VII., then Prince of Wales, in 1860, and the first Parliament of 
the Dominion was held there in 1867. The picture is taken from the east 
side of the Military Barracks, which stood on the site of the present Parlia- 
ment Buildings, and shows that part of the old town bounded on the north 
by the Ottawa River, on the east by Sussex street, on the south by Rideau 
street, and on the west by the Rideau Canal and Ottawa River. With 
key. Water color. Size 5x9. 

1409 NARROW ESCAPE AT THE CHAUDIERE FALLS Lives of 

nine men saved The accident occurred at night, in the summer of 1853, 
at the Chaudiere Falls, where the crib or raft, missed the slide and was 
carried to the edge of the Fall, and held there on the point of a projecting 
rock. Early in the morning the perilous situation of the men was observed 
and nearly everyone in Ottawa was at the river side, at every point of 
vantage, watching the work of the rescuers. Mr. Charles B. Wright, father 
of Sheriff Wright, of Hull, managed the rescue. It was impossible to get 
a rocket to carry a light rope across, so Mr. Wright tied a light cord to a 
stone, and, after several attempts, landed the stone with the cord at- 
tached. A smaller rope was drawn over, and then a heavy rope or cable; 
this was made fast to a gin pole on the rock, and tightened by a crab or 
wrench. Then Wright and his fellow rescuers rigged up a sling similar to 
those used in rescuing people from vessels. The first man to come across 
was the heaviest of the nine on the raft, and to prove to his comrades that 
the arrangement was safe he went back to the crib and was the last man 
to be hauled across. Even food and utensils were saved. The rescuers are 
on a rock to the east of the Falls. This rock forms part of the mainland 
on the Hull side of the river, where the Eddy Mill now (1917) stands. The 
people in the foreground are standing on a small island near the Ottawa 
shore, and to the north of this are the slides through which the raft should 
have passed if properly guided. Water color. Size 7 x 10. 

1410 SAPPER'S BRIDGE, OTTAWA, 1867 View looking south. The 
bridge, which connects Sparks and Rideau streets, was built in 1832 by 
the British Government in connection with the Rideau Canal, and rebuilt 
along with the Dufferin Bridge, 1873-4. Sapper's Bridge was demolished 
in 1912, and the space between it and Dufferin bridge converted into a 
wide plaza with the Post Office as the base. Water color by Henry 
Cotton. Size 7 x 10. 

1411 MAC KAY'S WHARF AND WAREHOUSES, HAMILTON, C.W., 
1864 For the accommodation of the merchants and marine trade of the 
city, Aeneas Donald Mackay, an enterprising pioneer citizen of Hamilton, 
who emigrated from Golspie, Sutherlandshire, Scotland, in 1849, built on 
Burlington Bay front, at the foot of James street, the wharf and warehouses 
shown in the picture. Since 1860 all the large lake steamers have used 
this wharf, which is now (1917) the property of the Canada Steamship 
Lines. Water color. Size 4x6. 



227 , 

1412 SMITH'S TAVERN, HAMILTON, C.W., 1850 An early Masonic 
meeting place The original building in which Barton Lodge met from 
January, 1796, to November, 1797, was of log construction, situated in the 
Township of Barton, now the north-west corner of King and Wellington 
streets, Hamilton. As seen by the picture, this pioneer tavern was more 
extensive in 1850 than in 1797. The log house had practically disappeared; 
for it had been covered with a sheeting of clapboard about 1830 when the 
two-storey building to the left and the driving shed on the right of view, 
were erected. In 1840 the tavern and surrounding grounds were known 
as "Victoria Gardens." The front door of the original tavern was 80 feet 
west of Wellington street and the same distance north of King street, 
Hamilton. There are now three buildings on the old site, the east end 
branch of the Bank of Hamilton being on the corner. Drawing in color. 
Size 4x6. 

1413 BUCHANAN, ISAAC, 1810-88 Member of the old-time dry 
goods firm of Buchanan, Harris & Co., Hamilton, Montreal and Liverpool. 
Photograph, colored. Size 3x3. Head and shoulders. See 942. 

1414 HARRIS, ROBERT W., 1808-61 Born in County Antrim, Ire- 
land. Came to Canada about 1830. He was a captain of militia in Toronto 
during the Rebellion of 1837, and early in the forties became a partner in 
Hamilton of the dry goods firm of Buchanan, Harris & Co., of Hamilton, 
Montreal and Liverpool. He was president of the Great Western Railway 
Co. from 1855 until shortly before his death, and the town of Harrisburg, 
Ont, on the line of that road is named after him. Water color. Size 3x3. 
Head and shoulders. 

1415 ALTAR, ST. MARY'S CATHEDRAL (R.C.), HAMILTON, C.W., 
1863 It was erected after the Gothic style of architecture by M. Zepher 
Perrault, of Montreal, with a height of 48 feet and width 20 feet, the front 
elaborately carved and finished in white, tipped with gold leaf. A statue 
of the Virgin Mary and Child was placed in the centre, and at the sides, 
finished in oak, were figures of the twelve Apostles. The Bishop's Throne, 
surmounted by a richly carved canopy, is shown to the left, and imme- 
diately opposite is a niche containing a beautiful group representing the 
Holy Family, and a scene of the crucifixion, which, however, is not shown 
in picture. Neither does the picture show the pulpit or the side altars in 
the wings, which were added later. The main altar, too, has been en- 
larged and the whole finished beautifully in white tipped with gold. St. 
Mary's Cathedral, which succeeded the old church built in 1838, faces north, 
on the corner of Park and Sheaffe streets. Water color. Size 4 x 6. 

1416- -ST. MARY'S CHURCH (R.C.), HAMILTON, C.W. View of first 
church The first St. Mary's, a frame structure, was opened in November, 
1838, and destroyed by fire in 1859. The present cathedral, of red brick, 
erected in 1862, stands at the corner of Park and Sheaffe streets, facing 
north, a short distance west of its predecessor. Water color. Size 5x6. 
See 1415, 1417. 

1417 ST. MARY'S (R.C.) CATHEDRAL, HAMILTON Corner Park 
and Sheaffs streets. Water color. Size 5x6. See 1415, 1416. 

1418 HAMILTON, ONT., 1857 View from foot of Mountain, head of 
James street In the foreground is the road near the base of the Mountain, 
leading to (1) James street, (2) Macnab street. The entire wooded space 
is now (1917) occupied by residences; (3) Residence of T. C. Kerr, corner 
of James and Aberdeen streets (now occupied by Wm. J. Southam) ; (4) Re- 
sidence of Peter Hamilton, on east side of James street, foot of the Moun- 
tain; (5) Burlington Bay; (6-7) Wentworth and Halton Counties; (8) Beach 
and Burlington Canal. Water color from original oil by Robert Whale, 
A.R.C.A., and presented to the city of Hamilton by John Brown, of Kerr, 
Brown & Co., merchants. Size 7 x 12. 



.- 228 

1419 HAMILTON, C.W., 1855 Prom the south end of Upper John 
street With key. Founded in 1813 by Hon. George Hamilton, son of Hon. 
Robert Hamilton, of Niagara. The former was for many years member of 
Parliament for Gore district. The city is attractively situated at the south- 
western extremity of Burlington Bay, on land which rises gradually from 
the bay to "The Mountain." This picture, one of the earliest views of the 
city, gives a fair idea of its area at the time. Water color from old print. 
Size 7x12. 

1420 OLD CITY HALL, HAMILTON, ONT., 1839-88 This view shows 
the hall in 1872 and section of the west side of James street, 
south of Merrick street, as far as St. Paul's, formerly St. Andrew's Pres- 
byterian church. On, the south-west corner of Market Square is the Stuart 
store, and on the north-west corner the Murphy store. The hall, as 
shown, was built in 1839. In 1873 a high clock tower was erected in front 
of its centre, and the dome and the small tower removed. The present 
edifice was constructed after the demolition of the old building and clock 
tower in 1888. Water color. Size 6x8. 

1421 GREAT WESTERN RAILWAY WORKS, HAMILTON, C.W., 
1g63 The buildings, the first large equipment of the kind in Canada West, 
were the property of the Great Western Railway of Canada. They are of 
stone, with slate roof, and stand on the Hamilton Bay front, at the west 
end of Stuart street, where it joins the old Station street, now Queen. The 
entrance on the south side is by a bridge from the foot of Locomotive 
street, which crossed Concession street, now Barton. A stairway led down 
to the shops. Key: 1, High level bridge for waggon traffic over the 
Desjardins Canal; 2, Desjardins Railway bridge; 3, Boiler shop; 4, Tender 
shop; 5, Erecting shop; 6, Machine shop; 7, Engine house; 8, Elevator, 
afterwards burned down; 9, Storehouse; 10, Roundhouse, with twelve 
stalls for engines; 11, Immigrant sheds; 12, Immigrant wharf. Water 
color from print. Size 3 x 10. 

1422 CLINE'S SAWMILL, HAMILTON This old-time sawmill 
was situated at the south-westerly limits of the city of Hamilton, on what 
is now known as Cline's Park, opposite Ainslie Wood halfway to Dundas, 
and at the base of the mountain. It was demolished many years ago. The 
water color, of which this is a reproduction, was made by Captain Caddy, 
and was awarded the first prize at the Provincial Exhibition, Hamilton, in 
1860, as the best water color shown there of Canadian scenery. Size 5x6. 

1423 STEEL SUSPENSION AND SWING BRIDGES, BURLINGTON 
HEIGHTS, 1854 A steel suspension bridge (upper elevation in picture) 
joining the township of Barton and the city of Hamilton, was built in 1854, 
blown down in 1874 and replaced by a whipple truss bridge at the lower 
level highway. This whipple truss stood until 1897, when it was removed 
to make room for the present high level steel arch erected by the C.P.R. 
to connect Hamilton with the G.T.R. at this point. In 1896 the former 
railway had obtained running rights over the Toronto-Hamilton rails of 
the G.T.R. (the old G.W.R.), carrying its trains from the G.T.R., Toronto, 
to the C.P.R. station at the corner of James and Hunter streets, Hamilton. 
The Great Western in 1853 erected a swing bridge east of the high level 
bridge, but only at half the elevation above the water level. Here a seri- 
ous railway accident took place in March, 1857, when the deck or flooring 
alone failed and the engines and cars left the rails. As the ties in those 
days were spaced four feet apart, the wheels would shove the ties ahead of 
them and thus cause everything to drop through to the river below. This 
bridge, reconstructed, was replaced by one of iron, which stood until 1886 
and was then replaced by the steel structure at present in use. Water 
color from print. Size 5x8. 



229 

1424 HAMILTON, ONT., 1861-2 View from below Chedoke The 
Chedoke is a small stream running down the mountain two miles from James 
st, west of Garth, now (1917) Dundurn st, Hamilton. (1) Farm of late 
Capt. Nicholls, Chief of Police. The land has been laid out in streets and 
built up with dwellings and factories, such as the Zimmerman Knitting Co. 
and Weetinghouse Works. (2) Old Crystal Palace, Victoria Park, between 
King and York streets; building demolished, and the park used for public 
purposes. Water color from original by Miss Bourne. Size 7 x 12. 

1425 BUSINESS CENTRE OF HAMILTON, C.W. The Gore Park, 
1863 With key The open space, now known as the Gore Park, Hamilton, 
was nothing but a grass plot up to 1860. In that year it was enclosed with 
an iron fence. A drinking fountain was erected in the centre. Plots of 
flowers were laid out and seats placed throughout, so that this little park, 
in the midst of Hamilton's business section, is to-day not only a breathing 
spot, but a resting place for the enjoyment of the people of the "Ambitious 
City." The picture shows warehouses and business places on the surround- 
ing streets. Water color from print. Size 7 x 19. 

1426 ORIGINAL ENTRANCE TO BURLINGTON CANAL, HAMIL- 
TON, ONT. On 30th Jan., 1826, an Act was passed by the Legislature of 
Upper Canada, incorporating a company with authority to build a canal 
from Burlington Bay to the village of Coote's Paradise (Dundas). The 
work afterwards became known as Desjardins Canal, called after Peter 
Desjardins, and extended from the head of Burlington Bay to the town of 
Dundas. On 16th Aug., 1837, the canal, nearly four miles in length, was 
opened for vessels drawing 7^ feet of water. The entrance was not where 
it is at the present time, but followed the old channel of the river as 
shown. In 1854 a new cut, that in use at the present time, was made. Map. 
Size 13 x 17. 

1427 JAMES STREET, HAMILTON, C.W., 1855 A reproduction of 
a very rare picture, showing a part of James street, Hamilton, with the old 
City Hotel on the south-west corner of James and Merrick streets, of 
which Thomas Davidson was the proprietor. It was the popular hotel of 
the fifties and early sixties. MacQuesten & Co., on the north-west corner 
of these streets, were foundrymen, and carried on an extensive and profit- 
able business. 'They retired many years ago. The site of this foundry is 
now the Royal Hotel. Photograph from a lithograph. Size 8 x 12. 

1428 JAMES STREET, HAMILTON, 1860^THE GORE OR PUBLIC 
PARK This is a view of the west side of James street, from the south- 
west corner of James and King, to the R. Juson & Co.'s hardware building. 
(1) The foreground shows the Gore or Public Park, which extended in 1861 
from James street to Hughson, and now (1917) to John street. The stores 
on the south-east corner of James and King are those of (2) Brown, Gil- 
lespie & Co., and the former hardware store of Daniel Macnab (3). Water 
color. Size 5x8. 

1429 AUCHMAR HOUSE, CLAIRMONT PARK, HAMILTON, C.W., 
1863 Residence of Hon. Isaac Buchanan This residence, one of the finest 
in Canada at the time of its erection, was built by the late Hon. Isaac 
Buchanan, of the firm Buchanan, Harris & Co., the most prominent dry 
goods house of Jts day in Western Canada. The residence was originally 
red brick, two storeys in height, but some years after it was roughcast 
with white lime, pebbles and cement. It was called "Auchmar," after the 
name of the ancient seat of the Buchanans in Stirlingshire, Scotland, and 
the part of 100 acres surrounding it was known as "Clairmont Park." A 
portion of the property w,as subsequently sold to the Ontario Government 
for use as an institution for inebriates, although instead the site became 
a Hospital for Insane. Miss Buchanan now (1917) resides at Auchmar. 



230 

The firm of Buchanan, Harris & Co., in Hamilton, was succeeded by 
Buchanan Hope & Co., which went out of existence in 1867. The latter in 
turn became Buchanan & Co., and afterwards Buchanan, Binny & Mc- 
Kenzie In Montreal the firm Buchanan, Harris & Co. also went out of 
existence on the death of Mr. Harris in 1861, successively becoming Isaac 
Buchanan & Co., Buchanan, Leckie & Co., and Leckie, Matthews & Com- 
pany. Drawing in water color. Size 5x7. 

1430 LAUNCHING OF THE SCHOONER "HERCULES" AT HAMIL- 
TON, C.W., 1863 The schooner, which was the property of Edward Zee- 
land/ Jr.', was launched from Zeeland's Wharf, on the Burlington Bay front, 
August 6th, 1863, in the presence of a large concourse of citizens. It was 
an excellent specimen of marine architecture, measuring 111 feet in 
length, beam 25 feet 10 inches, and depth of hold at fore of hatch, 12 feet. 
For many years the vessel carried freight between Hamilton and other 
Lake Ontario ports. She was lost in the St. Clair River. Water color. 
Size 4x7. 

1431 WESLEYAN LADIES' COLLEGE, HAMILTON, C.W., 1863 In 
1860 the Anglo-American Hotel, a fine structure, with 170 apartments, was 
erected at a cost of $100,000 on the south side of King street east, Nos. 
100-10, between John and Catherine streets, Hamilton. It became vacant 
and was sold to the Wesleyans for $24,000. The college was opened in 1861 
as the Hamilton Wesleyan Female College, and closed in 1898 after the 
death of Rev. Dr. Burns, of Hamilton. The following year it was again 
hotel property, known as the "Waldorf." This hotel in 1914 went out of 
business. The building was subsequently demolished and the property 
sold to the proprietor of a new hotel which in 1915-16 is in process of erec- 
tion on the site. Drawing in water color. Size 6x6. 

1432 SECTION OF WEST SIDE OF JAMES ST., HAMILTON, 1860 
From near south-west corner of King street. With key. Water color. 
Size 5x7. 

1433 HAMILTON, WENTWORTH CO., ONT., 1878 View from the 
head of Macnab street. With key. Water color. Size 6 x 12. 

1434 HAMILTON, ONT., 1860 North side of King street, looking west 
from the Gore The view was taken shortly after the opening of the Gore 
or Public Park, which then extended on King street from James to Hugh- 
son. About 1904 it was extended to John street. To the west is row of 
stores (1^ China Bazaar, north of James street, at corner of King, and south 

(2) Osborne's and other stores. On north-west corner of King and James 

(3) Hamilton's Medical Laboratory, and the north-east corner of King (4) 
Lawson's clothing store; (5) McCrea, dry goods; (6) Bickle & Son, drug- 
gists; (7) A. Murray & Co. The Gore at this time had an iron fence around 
it, and gates at four corners, but later the fence and gates were removed. 
Water color. Size 7 x 12. 

1435 CENTRAL SCHOOL, HAMILTON, 1853 and 1903 Erected on an 
elevated site, covering two acres, bounded on the north by Bold street, on 
the south by Hunter, on the east by Park, and on the west by Queen street. 
At the time of its opening, May 2nd, 1853, this was the central portion of 
Hamilton hence the appellation, "Central," which is still (1917) retained 
Some years ago it was suggested that the building be transformed into a 
modern collegiate, but to this there was strong opposition, especially from 
those who formerly attended the school. Finally it was decided that it be 
remodelled and made into a first-class school. This was done, and Central 
School is now, as it always has been, the great Public school of Hamilton. 
Here many of Canada's prominent men received their early education. Dr. 
John Herbert Sangster was the first principal. Photograph, colored. Size 
(each) 5x7. 



231 

1436 DUNDURN CASTLE, HAMILTON, ONT. Richard Beasley, one 
of the earliest settlers at the "head of the lake," was original owner of what 
is now (1917) Dundurn Park. He built, about 1800, a part of the "Castle," 
at that time the only brick house in Wentworth County, and around this 
dwelling Allan (Sir) Macnab erected his mansion thirty years later. After 
his death it was used as an institute for the Deaf, Dumb and Blind. Sub- 
sequently Dundurn Castle became the property of Senator Mclnnes, who 
made some additions, and in 1899 the city of Hamilton acquired it. In the 
historic pile at Dundurn, surrounded by a park of thirty-one acres, an his- 
torical museum was opened in 1902. Water color. Size 5x7. 

1437 HAMILTON, ONT., 1845 Head of John street, east of Mountain 
View Hotel The picture is not carefully drawn. Christ Church spire 
(James street) is shown far east of its locatfon. In 1845 the church had a 
spire, but it was later removed. Burlington Bay, with sailing craft and 
steamers, is in evidence, and in the background are Wentworth and Halton 
counties. There is too much sameness in all the buildings shown to make 
it possible for old inhabitants (in 1917) to identify them. Water color. 
Size 6 x 12. 

1438 FIRST LOCOMOTIVE BUILT IN HAMILTON, C.W., 1860 The 
"George Stephenson," built by the Great Western Railway at their works 
in Hamilton It was named after the "father of railways," and was on 
the road in September, 1860. 1, Standing on the front part of the fender 
may be seen F. W. Gates, a director of the road; 2, Thomas Reynolds, 
financial director; 3, C. J. Brydges, managing director; 4, G. H. Mingate, 
paymaster; 5, R. Eaton, locomotive superintendent, formerly of the Lon- 
don and South-western Railway, standing on the foot plate of the engine; 
6, A. Ayres, mechanical draughtsman; 7, W. G. Stephens; 8, G. F. Forsyth, 
foreman of the machine shops. He is in front, with his hands in the 
pockets of his velveteen jacket. Drawing in water color. Size 4x8- 

1439 POLICE OFFICE, HAMILTON, C.W., 1841 The police office, 
a pioneer building in Hamilton, was a two-storey structure of red brick, 
on the north side of King William street, between Hughson and John 
streets, the present site of the central fire station, of which it forms a part. 
It was originally built for a market house and remodelled. The engine 
station w r as on the ground floor, J;he police office on the second, and the 
market in the basement. Barton Masonic Lodge held meetings in the 
police office on the 8th and 24tlTNovember, 1841. At the last meeting it 
was resolved that the thanks of this meeting (lodge) be given to Bro. R. O. 
Duggan and the members of the Board of Police for their kindness in 
offering us the temporary use of their room." Drawing in water color. 
Size 5x6. 

1440 WHITE'S BLOCK, HAMILTON, C.W., 1863 An old-time busi- 
ness centre This block of stores, built of fine cut Hamilton Mountain 
stone, by the late John White, M.P., of Halton County, in 1853-4, stands on 
the north side of King street midway between James and Hughson streets, 
in front of the Gore. Some of Hamilton's well-known merchants were 
tenants. To the_ right or west was the store of Alexander Murray & Co., 
dry goods, brother of W. A. Murray, of Toronto. East of this the store 
of John Eastwood, the pioneer bookseller, D. B. McDonald & Co., drugs, 
and Taylor and Grannis, fruit store. There were originally four stores in 
the block, but these were reduced to three, as a staircase was erected in 
the middle of the block for the use of the upper tenants. The property is 
now part of the. White estate. Drawing in water color. Size 4x6. 

1441 LONDON, C.W., 1857 View from the north-west looking south- 
east 1, House of George Murray, miller for Dennis O'Brien. O'Brien had 
a flour mill on west side of Ridout street. During the Rebellion of 1837 
he held lucrative contracts for conveying goods and material for the mili- 



232 

tary authorities. 2, The toll gate, east side of Blackfriars' Bridge. 3, 
Blackfriars' Bridge, Ridout street. The old bridge was replaced by an iron 
bridge in 1875 on same site. The district to the south-west, that is to 
right of picture, is (1917) occupied by dwellings and factories. To the east 
(left of picture), on the flats, is the Harris property. Water color from 
original painting by the late James Hamilton. Size 7 x 10. 

1442 LONDON, ONT., 1870 Richmond street, looking north from 

the corner of Dundas street 1, John Siddons' Prototype office, s.w. corner 
Dundas and Richmond, now (1917) C.P.R. office building altered. 2, 
Palmer block, n.w. corner Dundas and Richmond. 3, J. Barkie, fruit store. 
4, W. L. Carrie, stationery. 5, Hugh S. Murray, jeweller. 6, Harry Beeton, 
hatter. 7, J. Peacock, fancy goods. 8, E. A. Taylor, booKs. 9, Carling 
street. 10, Carling block, n.w. corner Richmond. 11, Post office. 12, 
Queen's avenue. 13, Part of tower of St. Paul's Cathedral. 14, F. Row- 
land, hardware. 15, Rowland & Jewell, grocers. 16, E. Rowland, Montreal 
store. 17, Whycoff, jeweller, Dundas street, opposite E. Rowland. 18, 
south east corner Richmond and Dundas streets, fruit and oyster depot; 
John Cruikshank, cigars. The Grand Trunk Railway ticket office has been 
built on this site. Water color from an old view. Size 5x8. 

1443 LONDON, C.W., 1837 North branch of the Thames River, look- 
ing south from Blackfriars' Bridge 1, Wooden bridge leading from Ridout 
street over the head race of Dennis O'Brien's grist mill to John Jennings' 
distillery. 2, Fowler's house, Ridout street. 3, Eldon House, built 1835, by 
John P. Harris. 4.. Distillery of John Jennings, on the flats, built 1836, 
later destroyed by Tfghtning. 5, North branch Thames River. From a 
water color sketch in possession of Mr. George B. Harris, London. Ont. 
Size 6x9. 

1444 LONDON, ONT., 1870 Free Press office, on Carling street 
The journal was founded by William Sutherland in 1849 as a weekly, and 
for seven years was run as such. In 1852 Mr. Sutherland sold out to 
Josiah Blackburn. Four years later Stephen Blackburn arrived at London 
and was taken into partnership, the firm then being known as J. & S. 
Blackburn. The first office of the Free Press was on Talbot street, the 
second (shown in the picture) on the site of the present Queen's Hotel, 
Carling street, the original North street. The old barn and property to 
the right was destroyed by fire in 1878. The building now standing on the 
site is occupied by Messrs. Blackburn & Weeks, barristers. Water 
color from photograph. Size 5x8. 

1445 LONDON, C.W., 1842 North branch of the Thames River, look- 
ing^prth 1, John Jennings' distillery, built 1836, on the flats south of 
Blackfriars' Bridge, later destroyed by lightning. 2, John Plummer's resi- 
dence, Ridout street. 3, John Pacey, waggonmaker, Ridout street. 4, 
Eldon House, built 1835, by John P. Harris, now (1917) occupied by his 
son, George B. Harris. It was a social centre in London in the early days. 
The flats below are the property of Geo. B. Harris. Water color from 
original painting by the late James Hamilton, of London. Size 6x9. 

1446 LONDON, C.W., 1854 From the hill near Wortley road, looking 
north-east on the south branch of the River Thames To right is southern 
part of town, a district now (1917) devoted to manufacturing establish- 
ments. The original picture was made during the grading of the Great 
Western Railway. Points of interest shown are: 1, Court House, Dundas 
and Ridout street. 2^ St. Paul's Cathedral, east side Richmond st, north 
of Queen's ave., built 1846. 3, Old Grammar School, King St., s.w. cor. 
Court House Square. 4, York st., south side of which is the London Elec- 
tric Power Company. 5, The present Grand Trunk Railway bridge crosses 
river at this point, completely changing the view. Water color from original 
painting by the late James Hamilton, of London. Size 5 x 10. 



233 

1447 WRECK OF THE STEAMER "VICTORIA" On the Thames 
River, near London, Ont. The "Victoria" was one of three craft plying 
between London and Springbank, a charming natural park, five miles from 
London, and was simply a flat-bottomed scow, some sixty feet long with 
upper and lower decks, the latter having a canopy. On May 24th, 1881, 
while returning overladen with passengers from Springbank, the boat sud- 
denly listed to one side and sank in ten feet of water, near Cove Bridge, a 
mile below London. The portable engine broke from its moorings, and 
rolled off the craft, carrying away the supports of the upper deck. The 
canopy top of the latter came down upon the crowd and held them in the 
water, with the result that one hundred and eighty-two people were 
drowned in the catastrophe. Water color from old print. Size 6 x 10. 

1448 STEAMER "PRINCESS LOUISE" The picture shows the 
"Princess Louise," sister steamer of the "Victoria," at the accident to the 
latter near London, Ont., 24th May, 1881. The "Louise" hurried down the 
river and took on board those who had been rescued and about a hundred 
bodies. The railway bridge to the right is that of the Sarnia branch of 
the Grand Trunk. Water color from old print. Size 6 x 10. 

1449 OPENING OF CENTRAL SECTION OF GREAT WESTERN 
RAILWAY London, C.W. (Ontario), 15th Dec., 1853 The view shows the 
train passing the old freight sheds on her approach" to the station. Drawing 
in color. Size 4 x 9. See 1456. 

1450 LONDON, C.W., 1843 From the north-east, looking south-west, 
and showing an old-time hostelry 1, Clark's Bridge, built of wood, so 
called after a farmer named Clark who owned a farm on Wellington road, 
outside of London. 2, Forest to the south-east of the bridge is site of W. T. 
Parsons' dwelling and shoe shop, built 1876. 3, The Junction of Wellington 
road (Wellington street) and High street. 4, Westminster Abbey Hotel, 
kept in the early days by a man named Dawson. The building still stands, 
used as a private dwelling. Water color from the original painting by the 
late James Hamilton, of London. Size 7 x 10. 

1451 LONDON, C.W., 1843 Waters' Mill View from Blackfriars' 
Bridge, north branch of the Thames River 1, Property of Samuel Peters, 
west side of the river, called Petersville, after him. He was a butcher, 
ran a distillery, and later became a magistrate. 2, Waters' Mill, Carling's 
Creek. Building removed years ago. Thomas Waters, a U.B.L. from New 
Brunswick, came to Westminster, 1820, and was first owner of the pond 
mills, subsequently taking up land along Carling's Creek. 3, Where the 
Carling Malting and Brewing Co. now (1917) stands, covering west side 
of Talbot ^treet, north of the creek. 4, Cribwork of old Blackfriars' Bridge 
(first). Water color from the original by the late James Hamilton in 
possession of Mr. Geo. B. Harris, London, Ont. Size 6 x 10. 

1452 LONDON, ONT., 1870 View looking south, showing Covent 
Garden Market 1, Hotel kept by Bartholomew Drake, and old market 
stores. Removed about 1884. 2, Old fish market, also removed. 3, Coomb's 
furniture factory. 4, Tecumseh House, erected 1858, south-west corner 
York and Richmond streets. 5, Fish store of F. S. Onn. 6, F. W. Silver- 
woods, poultry. 7, R. Hookway, flour and feed. 8, Chas. Rudd, veterinary 
/establishment. 9, Benjamin Shaw, wool. 10, Ontario House, Edward 
Hodgins, proprietor. 11, Old Market House (still in existence). Old build 
ings to left of picture have been removed to enlarge the market space. 
Water color from an old view. Size 7 x 10. 

1453 LONDON, C.W., 1844 View looking towards the south-west 
1, First brick block in London. 2, A corner of the Court House shows 
behind the wooden building. 3, The residence on Wortley road of Judge 



234 

John Wilson, a Scotsman who settled in London in 1834. 4, Second West- 
minster Bridge ovr the Thames at York street. 5, Burwell 
Park, named after Mahlon Burwell, who settled in Middlesex 
County in 1809. 6, Residence on York street of the late Judge 
Givins. House still stands and is used as a dwelling. 7, 
Thames street, which runs parallel with the river, and with Wortley 
road. The old buildings in the foreground are east of the Court House and 
west of Ridout street, on Dundas street, at present the Court House Square. 
Original water color by the late James Hamilton, of London. Size 12 x 20. 

1454 LONDON, C.W., 1842 View looking west, with the old West- 
minster Bridge in the foreground 1, The Jail. 2, Court House. 3, Old 
Grammar School, built of frame, and still standing. 4, King street. Runs 
east and west. Eastern end has business houses and the western, resi- 
dences. 5, Residence of the late Rev. Benjamin Cronyn. 6, Soap Works 
of J. D. Dalton, York street and Thames street. Moved years ago. 7, York 
street. 8, Thames street runs north and south at right angles to the river. 
9, Residence on Bathurst street of Hon. George Jarvis Goodhue. Destroyed 
by fire. 10, Westminster bridge. The railway crosses the river a few 
hundred yards south of the old bridge. 11, Right foreground site occupied 
by residence of the late C. H. Hutchinson, County Crown Attorney. Original 
water color by Capt. F. H. Caddy, of the Royal Artillery, and of London. 
Size 10x16. 

1455 LONDON, C.W., 1840 Looking east, from the main branch of 
the River Thames 1, Bank of Upper Canada (second), Ridout street, now 
(1917) No. 445. A branch of this bank was first opened in 1835 at King 
and Ridout streets, with Richard Richardson as manager. Later, while 
James Hamilton was manager, it was moved to Ridout street, north of 
Dundas. Mr. Hamilton lived in the building, which is at present occupied 
by Mr. Rowland Harris, son of George B. Harris. Ridout street runs along 
the crest of the bank of the north fork of the river, and continues southerly. 
Original oil by the late James Hamilton, of London, Ont. Size 10 x 14. 

1456 OLD GREAT WESTERN RAILWAY STATION, LONDON, 
C.W., 1858 In 1845 an Act was passed reviving that of the Canadian 
Legislature in 1834 with amendments to incorporate the London and Gore 
Railroad Company. One amendment was to change the name to "The 
Great Western Railway Company." The central section of the latter was 
opened at London, 15th December, 1853, and the Toronto and Hamilton 
branch was opened for traffic 3rd December, 1855. The picture shows the 
old station at London in the summer of 1858, and in the distance is given 
the Tecumseh Hotel, erected in that year. It stands on the south-west 
corner of York and Richmond streets, opposite the Grand Trunk Railway 
station. The engine house in connection with the old Great Western 
station was only pulled down in 1905, after half a century of service. Water 
color from an oil in possession of C. H. Peacock, London, Ont. Size 7 x 10. 

See 1449. 

% 

1457 LONDON, C.W., 1840 Looking south-east across the river, and 
showing some of the principal buildings of the period 1, First red brick 
block of three stores in London. 2, Court House, s.w. cor. Dundas and 
Ridout streets, completed 1829. 3, Magazine used by the military, 1840. 
4, Wilson & Hughes' law office. 5, Mechanics' Institute, Court Hou 
Square. Burned 1845. 6, Residence about 1833 of Rev. Benjamin Cronyn, 
D.D. 7, Residence of John Jennings, first town warden of London. 8, J. 
D. Dalton's soap factory, Thames street. 9, York street, Westminster 
Bridge, first bridge over the river at that point, built by Levi Merrick in 
1826. 10, House of Rev. Francis Wright, Thames street, first principal of 
the Grammar School. Water color from the original by the late James 
Hamilton, of London. Size 5 x 10. 



235 

1458 LONDON, C.W., 1874 Great Western Railway Cove Bridge 
View looking south-west 1, Bridge over Thames River, where the railway 
crosses, south-west of London, near what is now (1917) Railway street. 
The bridge was altered and raised eighteen feet in 1906. 2, Overhead 
bridge for traffic, on the river road. The opening of the central section 
of the Great Western Railway of Canada took place at London on 15th 
Dec., 1854. Original water color by the late James Hamilton, of London. 
Size 7 x 12. 

1459 LONDON, ONT., 1872 Looking east from the main branch of 
the Thames, west of the Forks 1, St. Paul's Anglican Cathedral, Richmond 
st. and Queen's ave. 2, Eldon House, Ridout st. 3, Bank of Upper Canada, 
Ridout st. 4, Dundas st. bridge. 5, Royal Exchange, n.w. cor. Ridout and 
Dundas sts. 6, Robinson Hall, named after Chief Justice Robinson. It 
was the principal hotel in London in 1845, the year of the great fire, which 
started in this building. It still stands as an office and tenement building. 
7, Court House and Jail. At first there was no separate jail, and criminals 
were locked in a cell underground. 8, Old Grammar School, which in 1827 
was used as a Court House. 9, Sulphur Springs, at present the London 
Mineral Baths. Original water color by the late James Hamilton, of Lon- 
don. Size 8 x 15. 

1460 LONDON, C.W., 1846 View west of the Forks, looking east 
from the main branch of the River Thames 1, St. Paul's Cathedral (sec- 
ond building), Richmond street, just north of Queen's Avenue. 2, Eldon 
House, built 1835, by Mr. John Harris. 3, Bank of Upper Canada, where 
late James Hamilton was manager. 4, Dennis O'Brien block, built 1837; 
first brick block in London. It comprised three stores. 5, Robinson Hall, 
the principal hotel in London in 1845. It still (1917) stands as an office 
and tenement building. 6, Court House, south-west cor. Dundas and 
Ridout sts. Original water color by the late James Hamilton, of London. 
Size 6 x 11. 

1461 LONDON, C.W., 1840 With detailed key Dundas street View 
looking west from Wellington to Ridout sts. The stumps to the left of the 
picture are on the site of what is now Federal Square, where the Munici- 
pal Buildings are to be erected. The McCormack biscuit factory was torn 
down and the land taken over by fhe city for a new City Hall and square. 
Dundas st. is one of the pioneer thoroughfares of London. Water color 
from original by James Hamilton, London. ' Size 5 x 10. 

1462 LONDON, C.W., 1851 From the south-west, showing branches 
or forks of the River Thames 1, Dundas street bridge a temporary bridge 
of the north branch. 2, The jail on Dundas st. 3, Court House. 4, Grammar 
School. A temporary frame building was erected on the north-east corner 
of Court House Square, and the first Court of Quarter Sessions was held 
Jan. 9th, 1827, Col. Ryerse as chairman. 5, Thames st. 6, The branches 
of forks of the river, with the present (1917) bowling green to the west. 
Water color from original painting by the late James Hamilton. Size 4 x 10. 

1463 PORT STANLEY EAST, ONT., 1876 View from the mill cutting 
With key Port Stanley, on Lake Erie, twenty-four miles south of Lon- 
don, is the terminus of the London and Port Stanley Division of the Pere 
Marquette Railway. Original water color by the late James Hamilton, of 
London. Size 7 x 12. 

1464 THE 1ST OR ROYAL REGIMENT OF FOOT (ROYAL SCOTS) 

Captain and private, Canada, 1757-60, 1812 and 1837 Formed during the 
reign of James VI. of Scotland, and in 1633 was constituted a regiirfent 
under Sir John Hepburn. From llth Feb., 1812, it was known as "The 
First Regiment of Foot, or Royal Scots." They were at Louisburg, Ticon- 



236 

deroga, and in 1760 at the conquest of Montreal. On 7th Dec., 1812, the 
Grenadier and one battalion company marched towards Niagara from 
Burlington, the Grenadiers assisting at the capture of Port Niagara. On 
29th Dec. five companies of the first battalion, under Lieut.-Col. John 
Gordon, were employed in storming the American batteries at Black Rock 
and Buffalo. The regiment also saw service at Chippawa, Lundy's Lane 
and Fort Erie. In 1836 the second battalion was divided into six service and 
four depot companies, the former leaving for Canada in July. They took 
part in different actions under Lieut.-Col. Wetherall in Lower Canada. 
1837. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1465 THE 1ST OR GRENADIER REGIMENT OF FOOT GUARDS 

Captain and private, Canada, 1838 Raised in Flanders, 1656, by Charles 
II., with Lord Wentworth as colonel. A Grenadier company was first 
added in April, 1678, and in 1815 H.R.H. the Prince Regent was pleased to 
have the regiment known as the "First, or Grenadier Regiment of Foot 
Guards," in commemoration of its services at Waterloo. The second bat- 
talion was ordered to Canada at the time of the Rebellion, and landed at 
Quebec, 9th May, 1838. In the autumn of the same year it took part at 
St. Ours, La Prairie, and St. Charles; was at Montreal, April, 1840. The 
battalion left Canada in 1842. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1466 THE 3RD (THE BUFFS) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain and 

private, Canada, 1813-14 In the spring of 1572 the third (the Buffs) was 
formed by the London Guilds, under command of Capt. Thomas Morgan. 
In 1814 the first battalion proceeded to America. Arrived in Lower Can- 
ada in May, being formed in brigade with the 5th, 27th and 58th, com- 
manded by Major-General Sir Manley Power. The forces of which the 
Buffs were a part assembled, and in September, 1814, took part in the 
attack on Plattsburg. The battalion remained in Lower Canada during the 
succeeding winter, embarking from Quebec for Europe, 4th June, 1815. 
On the restoration of peace the second battalion, which had been in Eng- 
land since 1807, transferred the whole of its men who were fit for active 
service to the first, and was disbanded at Hythe, 24th Dec., 1815. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1467 THE 4TH (KING'S OWN) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain and 
private, Canada, 1787-93 The old "Fourth King's Own" was raised chiefly 
in West of England under royal authority to Charles Fitzcharles, Earl of 
Plymouth, dated 13th July, 1680. It ceased in 1710 to be a marine corps, 
but before as well as after thai date it saw service on coast of France, in 
Nova Scotia, and in the fruitless attempt on Quebec, 1711. The regiment 
received from George I. in 1715 the title "King's Own." It was in Halifax, 
1776, and during the first three years of the American Revolutionary War 
took part in the princfpal actions; returned home and from 1787-93 was in 
Canada and Newfoundland. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1468 THE 5TH (NORTHUMBERLAND FUSILIERS) REGIMENT 
OF FOOT Captain and private, Canada, 1787-97 This regiment, formed 
in 1674, was in 1782 given its county title. From 1792-6 it was at Niagara, 
and in August, 1792, was reviewed by Princf Edward (Duke of Kent), who 
reported it as "most fit for actual service." After its return to England a 
second battalion was raised. The first battalion came to Canada in 1814; 
served at Plattsburg, and later stationed at La Prairie and Coteau-du-Lac. 
Embarked for Europe, June, 1815. William IV. commanded that the regi- 
ment should be made fusiliers, and thenceforward known as the Fifth 
(Northumberland) Regiment of Foot. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1469 THE 6TH ROYAL WARWICKSHIRE REGIMENT OF FOOT 
Captain and private, Canada, 1813-14 Founded 1673; in Nova Scotia, 1786, 
and in 1793 left for the West Indies. The regiment returned to Canada in 



237 

1799, and was stationed at Quebec, Montreal and Kingston. The first bat- 
talion returned to England in 1806. After having served with distinction 
in Peninsular War the regiment embarked from Bordeaux, 5th May, 1814. 
With the 82nd it formed General Brisbane's brigade and took part in the 
sortie, Fort Erie. For their gallantry they had permission to use "Niagara" 
on their colors. Left Canada, July, 1815. A second, or "reserve," battalion 
was sent to the Red River during the dispute with the States respecting 
the Oregon territory in 1846, to defend the British settlements in what was 
at that time known as Rupert's Land, in event of hostilities. Water color. 
Size (each) 5x9. 

1470 THE 7TH, OR QUEEN'S OWN H UZZ A RS Captain and ser- 
geant, Canada, 1837-42 The regiment was originally a corps of heavy 
cavalry, raised in Scotland, 1688. In the spring of 1838 orders were re- 
ceived for the regiment to transfer its services to Canada, and it was 
divided into four service and two depot troops. The former embarked at 
Cork, 1st May, 1838, arrived in Montreal in June, and in November were 
employed against insurgents in Lower Canada. One troop was similarly 
employed in January, 1839. From 1839-41 the service troops were stationed 
at Montreal and Laprairie. Returned to England the following year. Water 
color. Size (each) 6x9. 

1471 THE 7TH (ROYAL FUSILIERS) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1775 and 1791-1801 Raised in 1685 by James 
II., and known as the Ordnance Regiment, whose men carried a long musket 
called a "fusil." In patronizing this regiment the King styled them the 
Royal Fusiliers. Proceeded to Canada in April, 1773, and were stationed 
at Quebec, Montreal and St. John's; fought during the War of the Revolu- 
tion. In 1791 the regiment was again in Canada, under command, until 
1801, of Prince Edward (Duke of Kent). Embarked for England, 1810, 
from the West Indies. A second battalion, raised 1858, served some time 
at Gibraltar, Malta, and in Canada, whence it returned home, 1867. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1472 THE 8TH (KING'S) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain, sergeant, 
private and drummer, Canada, 1812-15 Formed in England, 1685, under 
title of "The Princess Anne of Denmark's Regiment of Foot." In 1751 it 
was designated "the 8th," or "King's Regiment," and embarked for 
America in 1768. Took active part in Revolutionary War, returning to 
England in 1785. In 1803 the regiment, which at ^hat time consisted of 
one battalion, again landed at Halifax, and the following year a second 
battalion was formed. In nearly all the battles of the Niagara frontier 
the 8th was engaged during the War of 1812-15. For fts gallantry it was 
allowed to use the word "Niagara" on its colors. The first record of 
Masonry in Upper Canada is the original Mss. certificate, dated 1780, 
issued by Lodge No. 156, E.R., in the King's or 8th Regiment of Foot. The 
lodge met in the old stone building or castle which still (1917) stands 
within the precincts of Fort Niagara, N.Y. Both battalions embarked for 
England in June, 1815. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1473 THE 8TH (KING'S) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain and pri- 
vate, Canada, 1768-85 In May, 1768, the regiment embarked for North 
America to relieve the 15th. After passing several years at Quebec, Mont- 
real and Chambly, it was in 1773 ordered to Upper Canada. One division 
landed at Fort Niagara, occupyying the fort on the east side of the river 
and the town on the west side. Different detachments were in the expedi- 
tion against Fort Stanwix, Cherry Valley, and in the raid down the Mohawk 
Valley. After the winter of 1776 a part of the regiment was sent to Lower 
Canada, and in 1785 the 8th, on the arrival of the 65th, returned to England. 
Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 



238 

1474 THE 9TH (EAST NORFOLK) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1814-15 The Norfolk Regiment was raised in 
Gloucestershire, Eng., by Capt. Henry Cornwall, in 1685. At outbreak of 
American War it embarked for Canada, and was with Gen. Burgoyne at 
Saratoga. In 1782, after its return to England, the regiment was directed 
to style itself the 9th, or East Norfolk Regiment of Foot. From the South 
of France the" 2nd battalion arrived in -Canada, August, 1814. In September 
it was stationed near Fort Wellington (Prescott, U.C.), and in October at 
Kingston, where it remained until June, 1815. The 9th proceeded to the 
Crimea in 1854, and afterwards to Canada, returning to England in 1857. 
Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1 475_ T HE 10TH (NORTH LINCOLN) REGIMENT OF FOOT Cap- 
tain and private, Canada, 1776 The origin of this regiment is traced to an 
Independent Company of Foot, garrisoned at Plymouth for some time, and 
which was expanded into a regiment of ten companies in 1685. It came 
to America in 1767, was in Halifax, and at Boston on the outbreak of the 
Revolutionary War; took part in engagements at Bunker's Hill, Brandy- 
wine and Germantown. The tenth fought in the Peninsular War and the 
first Sikh War, and has been stationed in various parts of the world. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1476 THE 11TH (NORTH DEVONSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada. 1837-8 Formed at Bristol, Eng.; sailed for 
Canada with the troops that took part in disastrous attempt upon Quebec, 
1711. In 1838, on arrival of the regiment at Gibraltar, orders were received 
to proceed to North America. It landed at Halifax, was at Quebec, Sorel 
and St. John's, L.C., and in the Madawaska territory during negotiations 
for settlement of the international boundary question, which was decided 
by the Ashburton Treaty, 1842. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1477 THE 13TH (1ST SOMERSETSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 
Captain and private, Canada, 1813-14 The old Thirteenth Foot, like the 
other regiments standing immediately before it on the rolls, dates its 
existence from 1685. It received the appellation "1st Somersetshire" in 
1782. In June, 1813, the regiment, under Lieut.-Colonel William Williams, 
arrived at Quebec from Port Royal, Martinique, returning to Portsmouth 
15th July, 1815. It served entirely in Lower Canada, taking part at Platts- 
burg, Odelltown and La Colle. A second battalion, the first the regiment 
ever had, was formed in 1858. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1478 THE 14TH (BUCKINGHAMSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 
Captain and private, Canada, 1841-8 The "Old Fourteenth" was in 1685 
formed at Canterbury by Sir Edward Hales, of Woodcot, from companies 
raised in different parts of Kent. In 1766 the regiment went to America 
and served there till 1771. As a single battalion, like many other line 
regiments, after the Peninsular War/ the 14th served in West Indies from 
1836-41. and in Canada and Nova Scotia, 1841-8. In 1876 her Majesty's 
command was that the 14th (Buckinghamshire) Regiment should hefeafter 
be known as 14th (Prince of Wales) Own Buckinghamshire Regiment of 
Foot. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1479 THE 15TH, OR YORKSHIRE (EAST RIDING) REGIMENT 
OF FOOT Captain and private, Canada, 1758-60 This corps was raised in 
Nottinghamshire, Eng., and surrounding counties, 1685, by Sir Wm. Clifton 
and others. The King (James II.) fixed its establishment by warrant, Is 
Jan., 1685-6. In 1757 the Fifteenth sailed for America, and took part in 
the siege of Louisburg. From there the regiment joined the expedition 
against Quebec, and fought on the Heights of Abraham. In 1760 it was 
sent against Montreal under Gen. Murray, and was stationed there unti 
April, 1761. Served in Cuba; was at Quebec and Montreal, 1827. Returned 
to England in 1838, after having served in the War of Insurrection. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 



239 

1480 THE 16TH (BEDFORDSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 

and private, Canada, 1814-15 Raised in 1688 in southern counties of Eng- 
land. The Sixteenth went to Nova Scotia in 1790, where it remained until 
the following year. In May, 1814, it embarked in Ireland for Quebec, and 
was stationed there as well as at Chambly, Montreal and Fort Wellington 
(near Prescott, U.C.) Again, at the "Trent" difficulty, 1861, the regiment 
was sent to Canada, serving in North America and Bermuda until 1870. 
when it returned to England from Nova Scotia. Water color. Size (each) 
5x9. 

1481 THE 17TH LIGHT DRAGOONS, "DEATH OR GLORY" Cap- 
tain and private, Canada, 1776 Under warrant 7th Nov., 1759, by Lieut.- 
Col. Hale, who brought home the despatches announcing the capture of 
Quebec, the 17th, originally called the 18th Light Dragoons, was raised. 
On the breaking out of hostilities in America the 17th was the first cavalry 
corps to cross the Atlantic, and was at Bunker's Hill. The regiment, on 
the evacuation of Boston, proceeded to Halifax, whence in June, 1776. it 
joined the British force in Staten Island. It was in several engagements 
during the Revolutionary War. Water color. Size (each) 10 x 10. 

1482 THE 17TH (LEICESTERSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1757-60 and 1861 In 1688 the regiment was 
formed in vicinity of London. Sailed to Halifax, June, 1757. Was with 
Amherst in expedition against Cape Breton, and engaged in Siege of Louis- 
burg. In 1759 was at Siege of Ticonderoga and proceeded to Crown Point. 
Advanced upon Montreal, 1760. Returned to England, 1767, and came back 
to America, 1775, to take part in Revolutionary War. From 1783-88 the 
Seventeenth was stationed in Nova Scotia and Newfoundland. Her 
Majesty Queen Victoria conferred the Colonelcy of the regiment on Lieut.- 
General Sir Peregrine Maitland, at one time Lieutenant-Governor of Upper 
Canada. The Second Battalion was disbanded after Peace of Amiens, and 
the single battalion served in Canada from 1855-65. A second battalion 
was again added in 1858 and stationed in Quebec, Montreal and Toronto, 
returning to England in 1868. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1483 THE 18TH (ROYAL IRISH) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1776 The regiment fought for King William at the 
Battle of the Boyne and throughout the Irish campaigns down to the fall 
of Limerick. It was at home during the Seven Years' War; went to 
America in 1767, and was at Boston at the outbreak of the War of Inde- 
pendence. The 18th was present at the Battle of Bunker's Hill, but left 
Boston for Nova Scotia, and returned to England in July, 1776. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1484 THE 19TH (DROGHEDA LIGHT HORSE) LIGHT DRAGOONS 
Captain and private, Canada, 1813-14 Four British cavalry regiments 
have in succession been numbered the Nineteenth. The Drogheda Light 
Horse, as it was popularly called, was raised in Ireland, 1759-60 as the 19th 
Light Dragoons. Under Lieut.-Col. the Honble. J. B. R. O'Neill it served 
in Canada, taking part at the capture of Fort Niagara by assault, the 
Battles of Chippawa and Lundy's Lane. It was granted the badge "Niagara" 
for its distinguished conduct. The regiment was also represented at 
Plattsburg. In 1821 this 19th was disbanded in England. Water color. Size 
(each) 10x10. 

1485 THE 20TH (EAST DEVON) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1789-92 At the beginning of the Seven Years' War 
the regiment which distinguished itself at the Boyne, raised a second 
battalion, known as the 67th Foot, with Wolfe as its first Colonel. The 
regiment was among the troops sent to the relief of Quebec at the out- 
break of the American War; served under Burgoyne, and after being 
"interned" in America for some time, returned to England in 1781. From 
1789-92 it was at Halifax, N.S. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

18 



240 

i486 THE 21ST (ROYAL SCOTS FUSILIERS) REGIMENT OF 
POOT Captain and private, Canada, 1776-81 Raised for the King's ser- 
vice in Scotland, during the reign of Charles II. It served at the Siege of 
Belle Isle in 1761, was sent to the relief of Quebec in 1776, and took part 
in the campaigns under Burgoyne down to the disaster at Saratoga, 1777. 
From 1789-93 it was in Nova Scotia, went through some hard fighting in 
West Indies, for which it was commended by General Prescott. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1487 THE 22ND, OR CHESHIRE REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain and 
private, Canada, 1757-60 Formed in 1689 by the Duke of Norfolk. Served 
at the Battle of the Boyne and Siege of Limerick. In 1756 the regiment 
embarked for America from Ireland, was engaged at the Siege of Louis- 
burg and Capture of Cape Breton, and in 1759 took part at Quebec. The 
following spring^ it advanced to Montreal. In 1765 returned to England, 
and ten years later embarked again for America; saw active service in 
War of Revolution. Major-General John Graves Simcoe (first Lieut.-Gov. 
Upper Canada) succeeded Major-General Crosbie in command In 1798. The 
regiment went abroad again in 1860 and erved in Malta and North America 
until 1869, when it returned home from New Brunswick. Water color. 
Size (each) 5x9. 

1488 THE 23RD (ROYAL WELSH FUSILIERS) REGIMENT OF 
FOOT Captain and private, Canada, 1838-48 This renowned regiment 
formed in 1689, fought and lost heavily at Bunker's Hill. It served under 
Howe, Clinton and Cornwallis, being, in the words of an American writer, 
everywhere distinguished "by its gallantry and heavy losses." The first 
battalion of the Royal Welsh Fusiliers was in Nova Scotia, 1808, and again 
in 1810. From 1838-48 the regiment served on this continent, and, subse- 
quently, a battalion, raised at Cardiff in 1858, came to Canada. Note "the 
flash," a bow of black silk ribbon, with long ends, attached to the back of 
the tunic collar of officers and sergeants. There is no authentic explana- 
tion of the origin of "the flash." Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1489 THE 24TH (2ND WARWICKSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 
Captain and private, Canada, 1776-7 In 1776 the regiment was among the 
reinforcements sent to Canada, serving under Gen. Burgoyne down to the 
surrender of Saratoga. It was then "interned" until the peace. The 2nd 
Warwickshire again proceeded to Nova Scotia and Canada in 1789, and it 
Is said that a part of the regiment left Halifax, N.S., to assist in quelling 
an uprising of the blacks in Sierra Leone. The first battalion a second 
had been formed after the Peace of Amiens was stationed in Canada 
during the Rebellion of 1837-8. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1490 THE 26TH (CAMERONIANS) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1767-76 The regiment was at home during the Seven 
Years' War. In 1767 it embarked for Canada, and on outbreak of American 
War was sent from Montreal, where it had been stationed, and took part 
in the defence of Quebec. It also was active along the frontier, then went 
to New York, serving under Clinton until 1780. The title of "Cameronians," 
by which the regiment was originally known, became obsolete. From 
1787-1800 the 26th was stationed in Canada and Nova Scotia. The staunch 
old corps which afterwards formed the first battalion of the Cameronians. 
was embodied at Douglas, Scotland, 1689, and first fought at Dunkeld. 
Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1491 THE 27TH (INNISKILLING) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1757-60 Formed from three regiments of the Innis- 
killing Forces, 1689. Col. Tiffen's, as the regiment was first called, fought 
with bravery throughout King William's Irish campaign, rrom the passage 
of the Boyne to the fall of Limerick. At beginning of Seven Years' War 






241 

the 27th came to Canada, served in the operations at Ticonderoga and 
Crown Point, and subsequently in expedition to Montreal. Removed to 
Nova Scotia, 1761^ was at siege and conquest of Havana. Returned to 
England, 1767. Again in America during Revolutionary War. In the War 
of 1812-14 the first and third battalions were in expedition to Lake Cham- 
plain. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1492 THE 28TH (NORTH GLOUCESTERSHIRE) REGIMENT OF 
FOOT Captain and private, Canada, 1757-60 Formed 1694. Little can be 
gleaned of its early history, but it was employed in the West Indies and 
Newfoundland. Ordered by Pitt to Canada, 1757; was at Louisburg, Que- 
bec, Sillery and Martinique. Wolfe received his mortal wound at the head 
of the 28th (Bragg's, so named from the Colonel, 1734-51), and a provisional 
battalion formed of the Grenadier companies of various regiments. After- 
wards the regiment took part in the defence of Quebec, expedition against 
Montreal, and in siege and conquest of Havana. In America during Revo- 
lutionary War. The second battalion, 61st (South Gloucestershire) served 
in Bermuda and Nova Scotia, 1866-72. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1493 THE 29TH (WORCESTERSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1814-15 Raised in 1694 by Col. Thomas Far- 
rington. From Gibraltar in 1745 the regiment sailed for Louisburg, where 
it remained until 1749. In the latter year it left for Chebucto Harbor, N.S., 
and was employed in clearing the site of the present City of Halifax. It 
returned to England in 1773 from Florida, but three years later embarked 
for Quebec, which was at that time besieged by the Americans. "The Worces- 
tershire Regiment" was given the title 29th Foot in 1782. From 1802-07 the 
regiment was in Halifax, and also in 1814,. when it joined the expedition up 
the Penobscot River. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1494 THE 30TH (CAMBRIDGESHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1860-70 The first battalion of this regiment 
was chiefly recruited in Lincolnshire, and on the Tyne, England, and a 
second battalion formed from men enrolled under the Defence Acts, was 
raised in Huntingdonshire. Both battalions saw service in . different parts 
of the world, and as a single battalion corps the 30th served in the Medi- 
terranean, Bermuda and Canada from 1834-45. Again from 1860-70 it was 
stationed in Canada and Nova Scotia. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1495 THE 31ST (HUNTINGDONSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1776-87 The regiment, long known as the 
31st, was originally a marine corps. At the peace of 1715 it was disbanded, 
but afterwards restored as a regiment of Foot. It served in various parts 
of the world, and in 1776 arrived in Canada, where it helped to garrison 
Quebec during the Revolutionary War. The flank companies, with Bur- 
goyne, surrendered at Saratoga. After eleven years' service in Canada, 
receiving in the interval the title of "Huntingdonshire," the regiment re- 
turned to England. The second battalion (the 70th) was in Nova Scotia, 
1778-82, and during the War of 1812 saw service in Upper Canada. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1496 THE 34TH (CUMBERLAND) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 

and private, Canada. 1757-60 The old 34th Foot was recruited from the 
eastern counties of England, 1702. The second battalion was in Canada 
during the Seven Years' War. at the capture of Montreal, and the final 
conquest of the Canadas. 1760. In the War of Independence the first bat- 
talion saw hard service in the backwoods, and the flank companies were 
with Burgoyne at Saratoga. After spending some years at home the 34th 
served in North America from 1830-40, and in the disturbances in Lower 
Canada was one of the regiments despatched on horse sleighs from New 
Brunswick. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 



242 

1497 THE 35TH (ROYAL SUSSEX) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1757-60 The old 35th Regiment was raised in Belfast, 
by Arthur Chichester, third Earl of Donegal, in 1701, and received their 
orange facings as a special favor from William of Orange. The "Orange 
Lilies," as they were then facetiously styled, were among the troops sent 
out to Nova Scotia in 1756 under General Hopson,and took part in the 
capture of Louisburg, C.B., and afterwards were with Wolfe at Quebec 
and Murray at defence of Quebec and capture of Montreal, leaving Canada 
in 1760. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1498 THE 36TH (HEREFORDSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT Cap- 
tain and private, Canada, 1838-42 This brave old corps was raised in Ire- 
land by Viscount Charlemont in 1701. In 1705 it went to Spain, and, hav- 
ing re-formed in England, left for Nova Scotia, and was engaged against 
Quebec, 1711. During the American War the 36th received the county title 
"Herefordshire." For some years the regiment served in the West Indies 
and North America. The 1st battalion, 29th (Worcestershire) was previ- 
ously at Louisburg and at Halifax. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

149 9_ T HE 37TH (NORTH HAMPSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1814-26 Raised in Ireland, 1792, by Colonel 
Thomas Meredith. At the commencement of the Seven Years' War a 
second battalion was formed. The 37th was sent to America at the begin- 
ning of the Revolutionary War, and was at Charleston and the expedition 
to Philadelphia. The first battalion left Bordeaux for Pouliac in 1814, 
embarking with reinforcements for Upper Canada, serving there until 1826. 
As a single battalion corps the regiment was in North America from 
1830-42, returning to England from Nova Scotia in the latter year. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1500 THE 38TH (1ST STAFFORDSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1842-50 At the commencement of the Revo- 
lutionary War the 38th was one of the first corps to be despatched from 
Ireland to America. It was at Bunker's Hill, and afterwards stationed at 
New York, where in 1782 it received the county title of the "1st Stafford- 
shire." After peace was declared the regiment remained in Nova Scotia 
for some years. It served under Sir Ralph Abercromby, in 1796; and did duty 
in the Ionian Islands, at Gibraltar, in Jamaica and Nova Scotia. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1501 THE 39TH (DORSETSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 

and private, Canada, 1814-15 Col. Richard Coote, under warrant dated 13th 
February, 1702, raised the old 39th in Ireland. It served in Portugal, 
Spain, India and Gibraltar, and whilst at the latter place received its first 
county title of the "East Middlesex Regiment." On the renewal of the 
French Revolutionary War it was called "Dorsetshire." From the south 
of France the regiment went to Canada and served in the unsuccessful 
expedition against Plattsburg. Subsequently it was stationed in Canada 
and Bermuda, returning to England from the latter station in 1864. In the 
early fifties the second battalion (54th) was in Canada. Water color. 
Size (each) 5x9. 

1502 THE 40TH REGIMENT OF FOOT, OR SECOND SOMERSET- 
SHIRE Captain^ and private, Canada, 1757-60 Formed August 25th, 1717, 
from Col. Richard Philipps' four independent companies of foot serving at 
Annapolis Royal, N.S., and four independent companies at Placentia, New- 
foundland. In 1751 the regiment was given its number. Concentrated at 
Halifax, 1758, and despatched to Louisburg with other troops. Took part 
in the expedition against Quebec under Wolfe, 1759. Participated in attack 
on Montreal, 1760. Later saw service in Barbadoes, in operations against 
Havana. Returned to Nova Scotia in 1763. and transferred to Ireland the 
following year. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 



243 

1503 THE 41ST (THE WELSH) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1812-14 Founded by royal warrant in 1719 and re- 
cruited from old soldiers of the Guards, horse and foot, at Chelsea Hospital, 
near London, at which time it was known as the Regiment of Invalids. In 
1798 the regiment was in Ireland, and in 1800 embarked for Upper Canada. 
It saw service at Detroit, Queenston, Miami, Fort George and other places, 
and has the honor of bearing "Fort Detroit, Queenston, Miami and Niagara" 
on its colors. Leaving Quebec in 1815, the 41st arrived at Ostend a month 
after the Battle of Waterloo. A second battalion, formed in England during 
the war, was reduced after peace. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1504 THE 42ND (ROYAL HIGHLAND) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1759-60 This corps traces its origin to six 
independent companies of Highlanders raised for service in Scotland, 
1725-29. The name "Black Watch" was given to them. At the beginning 
of the Seven Years' War, the 42nd, as the regiment had become, embarked 
for America, and distinguished itself at Ticonderoga, July, 1758. A second 
battalion (subsequently the 73rd) was formed at this time and joined the 
forces on Lake Ontario in 1759. The two battalions were employed in 
operations which ended with the capture of Montreal and final conquest 
of the Canadas in 1760. In 1787 the regiment returned to England from 
Cape Breton. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1505 THE 43RD (MONMOUTHSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1757-60 and 1835-46 Under a Letter of Ser- 
vice, dated 3rd Jan., 1741, this regiment was raised by Colonel (afterwards 
General) Fowke, who had for some years commanded the 7th Dragoons. 
At the outbreak of the Seven Years' War the 43rd embarked for North 
America. It was employed in Nova Scotia in 1757-8, and the following 
year fought under Wolfe at Quebec, subsequently serving under Murray 
at the defence of that place. It returned home in 1764, came to America 
on the outbreak of the Revolutionary War, and again after a term of home 
service embarkecf for New Brunswick in 1835. On the occasion of the 
insurrection in Lower Canada it was one of the regiments despatched from 
New Brunswick to Quebec on horse-sleighs in the depth of winter. It 
removed to Nova Scotia, remaining there for two years. A second battalion 
was raised as the 54th Foot in 1755, by Colonel Hedworth Lambton. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1506 THE 44TH (EAST ESSEX) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 

and private, Canada, 1755-65 The 55th, as the regiment then was, served 
with Sir John Cope in 1745. Ten years later, as the 44th, it came with 
reinforcements to North America, was at Fort du Quesne, Ticonderoga, 
and Fort Niagara, and in the expedition against Montreal. It returned to 
England from Canada In 1765. When the Revolutionary War broke out the 
44th embarked for Boston, arriving just after the Battle of Bunker's Hill. 
It took part in other engagements during the campaign, coming to Canada 
in 1780, where it remained until 1786. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1507 THE 45TH (NOTTINGHAMSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and privale, Canada. 1757-66 The position of the 45th Regiment 
of British Foot was from 1741-8 held by Frazer's, or the 2nd Marines, 
called the "Green Marines," from the color of their facings and caps. They 
were, like other marine regiments, disbanded in 1748, when their place 
was taken by the 1st Sherwood Foresters, raised in 1741 by Col. D. Hough- 
ton. The regiment was sent to Gibraltar, and afterwards to America in 
1746, to assist the New Englanders against Cape Breton. It was withdrawn 
from Louisburg to Nova Scotia, and was there on the outbreak of the 
Seven Years' War. After the capture of Louisburg it remained stationed 
in Cape Breton and Nova Scotia until 1766, when it returned home. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 



244 

1508 THE 46TH (SOUTH DEVONSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 
Captain and private, Canada, 1757-60 Under a Royal Warrant, dated 13th 
January, 1741, this regiment was raised by Colonel John Price. After 
fourteen years' home service it went to America, suffering heavy loss in 
the attempt on Ticonderoga, at that time headquarters of the French under 
Montcalm. It was in the expedition against Fort Niagara and other en- 
gagements ending in the conquest of the Canadas/ The 46th saw hard 
service during the early part of the War of Independence. It was not until 
1782 that the county title of "South Devonshire" was conferred. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

15 09 THE 47TH (LANCASHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1757-60 and 1858-67 Took part in siege and capture 
of Louisburg, June, 1758, and went with Wolfe to Quebec the following 
year, forming with the 43rd the centre of the front line on the Plains of 
Abraham. It served at the winter defence of Quebec under Murray, as 
well as in the expedition against Montreal, 1760. It was in America during 
the Revolutionary War, and, upon returning to England, received the 
county title of the Lancashire Regiment. In April, 1861, the regiment re- 
embarked to Canada. Up to 1865 it was stationed in Montreal, London, 
Hamilton, and in the spring of that year moved to Toronto, with head- 
quarters in the Old Parliament Buildings and Old Fort. During the Fenian 
Raid the 47th was on the Niagara frontier, where it did good service. 
Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1510THE 49TH (HERTFORDSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1803-15 In army lists of 1742-8 the place of 
the 49th Foot is filled by the 6th or Cotterill's Marines. On the disband- 
ment of marines and other corps at peace of 1748 the companies regimented 
in 1744 by Gov. Trelawney, of Jamaica, became the 49th Foot. It was sent 
to America under Howe in 1776, and fought in various engagements. When 
county titles were bestowed in 1782 the 49th became the "Hertfordshire" 
Regiment of Foot. It was Brock's regiment, commanded successively by 
him, Sheaffe and Vincent. The 49th was actively engaged in Canada 
during the War of 1812, including the Battle of Queenston Heights (it bears 
the name "Queenston" on its flag) and Beaver Dams. Other actions in 
which it took part are York, Fort George, Black Rock and Crysler's Farm. 
Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1511 THE 53RD (SHROPSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1776-7 and 1866-9 This regiment (1st battalion), 
raised in 1755, was sent to Gibraltar soon after its formation, remaining in 
that fortress until the end of the war. In 1776 the 53rd came to America. 
Its flank companies were with, Burgoyne at Saratoga, but the rest of the 
regiment remained in Canada, where it stayed until 1787. It saw service 
in various parts of the world until 1866, when it came again to Canada, 
stationed at London, C.W., and Quebec, and was here until the withdrawal 
of the line regiments from the Dominion. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

'1512 THE 55TH (WESTMORELAND) REGIMENT OF FOOT Cap- 
tain and private, Canada, 1757-60 The original warrant was dated Decem- 
ber, 1755. Shortly after, the regiment left Cork under General Hopson for 
an attack upon Cape Breton. The enterprise, however, was abandoned for 
the time being and the regiment wintered in Nova Scotia. Next year it 
served in the attack on Ticonderoga, then went to Niagara with Gen. 
Prideaux, and was employed subsequently in various operations in connec- 
tion with the conquest of the Canadas. Returned to England, but was again in 
America during early part of the Revolutionary War, during which it re- 
ceived its county title of the "Westmoreland" Regimenjt. Water color. Size 
(each) 5x9. 



245 

1513 THE 57TH (WEST MIDDLESEX) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1783-91 This regiment, which became the 
57th in 1757, was raised as the 59th Foot by Lieut.-Colonel John Arabin in 
Somersetshire and Gloucestershire, Eng. It became the West Middlesex 
in 1783, embarked for Nova Scotia the following year, being quartered at 
Annapolis Royal and Fort Howe. Two companies assisted in building 
Frederick Town (Fredericton). The regiment returned to England in 
1791. Again it came to Canada. During the expedition against Plattsburg 
it was at Montreal, and was afterwards stationed at Brockville and Johns- 
town, U.C. Under direction of Col. Arbuthnot a substantial stockade arid 
blockhouse were erected at the former place. In the summer of 1815 the 
'57th returned to England. The second battalion, 77th (East Middlesex), 
from 1837-48, served in the Mediterranean, West Indies and North America. 
Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1514 THE 58TH (RUTLANDSHIRE) REGIMENT OF FOOT Cap- 
tain and private, Canada, 1757-60 The first battalion served in expedition 
against Fort Duquesne, under Braddock, and later at Louisburg and Quebec. 
Returned to England on peace of 1763; was in America during Revolution- 
ary War, when it received title of Northamptonshire Regiment, and in 1814 
took part in expedition to Plattsburg. The second battalion (Rutland- 
shire), raised as the 60th in 1755, was also at Louisburg and Quebec, and 
in advance on Montreal. It was stationed for a time on the lakes, subse- 
quently assisting in Havana Expedition. After Cuba was restored to Spain 
the regiment returned to^reland. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1515 THE ROYAL AMERICAN REGIMENT OF FOOT 60th King's 
Royal Rifle Corps Captain and private, Canada, 1757-.60 Raised in 1755-6 
in Pennsylvania, with Lord Loudoun as Colonel-in-Chief. In 1758 Col. 
Jeffery Amherst had charge of the siege of Louisburg, in which the 2nd 
and 3rd battalions of the 60th took part. They were with Wolfe at Quebec, 
1759, and present when the British ensign was hoisted over the captured 
city by an officer of the Royal Artillery; and in November, 1871, a detach- 
ment of the 1st battalion of the 60th, consigned the Imperial flag to the 
keeping of another artillery officer, whilst the flag of the Dominion of 
Canada was hoisted in its stead. Part of the regiment fought in the Revo- 
lutionary War. The 1st battalion was in Toronto in 1869, and from May 
till October, 1870, was with Wolseley in the Red River Expedition. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1516 THE 70TH (SURREY) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain and 
private, Canada, 1813-14 At the beginning of the Seven Years' War, the 
31st (Huntingdonshire) Foot raised a second battalion, which in 1758 
became the 70th. It was recruited chiefly in Glasgow. In 1813 the regi- 
ment was styled "The Glasgow Lowland Regiment," and in August of that 
year left Ireland for Canada, where it was stationed during the war. 
Returned home in 1828. It was again in Canada from 1841 to 1843. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1517 THE 71ST HIGHLAND LIGHT INFANTRY Captain and pri- 
vate, Canada, 1842-54 Embarked for North America in May, 1824. Detach- 
ments were stationed during the summer of 1826 at Sorel and Three 
Rivers. In 1827 the headquarters division of the 71st was at Montreal, and 
subsequently at Kingston and York (Toronto), one company from the 
latter place being detached. to Niagara, Amherstburg. and Penetanguishene 
for two years. In 1842 a "reserve" battalion landed at Montreal, where 
the 1st battalion was stationed, and from there marched to Chambly in 
1843, going to Kingston in 1845. The headquarters and two companies of 
the reserve battalion arrived in Toronto, 23rd May, 1850, from St. John's 
and Chambly, and during 1851 the reserve continued at Toronto, where 
Lieut.-Col. Sir Hew Dalrymple was very popular. In 1854 the regiment left 
Canada. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 



246 

1518 THE 74TH REGIMENT OF FOOT, OR "ARGYLE" HIGH- 
LANDERS Captain and private, Canada, 1777-83 As the 74th Foot this 
battalion stood third in a series of regiments so numbered. It was raised 
by Col. John Campbell, a veteran of the old 78th, or Fraser Highlanders, 
of 1756-63, and was distinguished by its defence of Penobscot against an 
American squadron under Commodore Saltanstat. The flank companies 
were employed in Carolina. The regiment was disbanded at Stirling in 
1783. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

15 19_ T HE 76TH (HINDOSTAN) REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain 
and private, Canada, 1814-27 This is the third regiment in succession 
which has ranked as the 76th of the British Line. Raised at expense of 
the East India Company, 1787. Left India in 1807. From the South of 
France it came to Canada, 1814, and was employed in the unsuccessful 
expedition to Plattsburg, on Lake Champlain, after which it remained in 
the country for thirteen years. It afterwards served in Canada, from 1834-73, 
and in North America, from 1848-57. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1520 THE OLD 78TH REGIMENT OF FOOT, OR "FRASER" HIGH- 
LANDERS Captain and private, Canada, 1758-9 This famous corps was 
raised by Simon Fraser, Master of Lovat. It was first known as the 2nd 
Highland Battalion. It won fame (as 78th) at Louisburg, Montmorenci 
and Quebec, and was highly praised by Wolfe. Subsequently the regiment 
was at the defence of Quebec and in the expedition against Montreal. It 
was sent in 1762 to re-take St. John's, Newfoundland, which had been cap- 
tured by the French. At the peace of 1763 it was disbanded, large numbers 
of the officers and men receiving grants of land in America. Water color. 
Size (each) 5x9. 

1521 THE 79TH (CAMERON HIGHLANDERS) REGIMENT OF 
FOOT Captain and private, Canada, 1825-36 This regiment, the junior 
of three which in succession have ranked as the 79th Regiment of British 
Fodt, was raised by Alan Cameron, of Erracht, in 1793. In April, 1825, it 
was augmented from eight to ten companies, and in August the six service 
companies embarked for Canada. On the anniversary of Waterloo, 18th 
June, 1828, the 79th, which had been removed to Montreal, was presented 
with new colors; embarked for England 1836. Again the Camerons were 
in Canada, coming from Gibraltar in 1848, and leaving for home in 1852. 
Col. Duncan B. Cameron, C.B., of York Mills, near Toronto, was its Colonel 
during part of Peninsular War. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1522 THE 83RD (COUNTY OF DUBLIN) REGIMENT OF FOOT 
Captain and private, Canada, 1838-9 This corps, the third regiment in 
succession which has ranked as the 83rd Foot, was embodied in Dublin, 
1793, by Col. William Fitch. Popularly ij was known as "Fitch's Grena- 
diers" from the diminutive stature of the men. In 1831-4 it (the first 
battalion) was stationed in Scotland, whence it proceeded to Halifax, N.S., 
remaining until June, 1837, then moving to Lower Canada, where it served 
during the operations under Sir John Colborne, and also at Prescott, U.C. 
Returned to England, July, 1843. In 1881 the 83rd became 1st Battalion 
Royal Irish Rifles. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1523 THE 84TH ROYAL HIGHLAND EMIGRANT CORPS Captain 
and private, Canada, 1763-84 Three regiments have ranked as the 84th 
Foot. The picture shows the second raised at outbreak of War of Inde- 
pendence, and which was known first as the Royal Highland Emigrant 
Corps, and later as the 84th (Royal Highland Emigrants) Regiment of Foot. 
The first battalion was raised in Canada by Col. Allan Maclean, of the old 
114th Royal Highland Volunteers of 1763, from families of soldiers of the 
42nd, 77th and 78th Highlanders, who at the peace of 1763 had settled in 
Canada. It defended Quebec against the Americans under Arnold, and 



247 

was afterwards on the frontier. The second battalion, raised from settlers 
in Nova Scotia, served there and in Carolina and Virginia. These battalions 
were disbanded in Canada, 1784. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1524 THE 85TH (KING'S LIGHT INFANTRY) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1835-42 The old 85th Light Infantry, the 
2nd battalion of the 53rd (Shropshire), was the first light infantry regi- 
ment formed in the British Army. The present regiment was raised in 
1794. It served in Malta and at Gibraltar from 1821-32, and in North 
America from 1835-42, during which time it was one of the regiments 
despatched on horse-sleighs from New Brunswick to Quebec in the Rebel- 
lion of 1837. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1525 THE 88TH (CONNAUGHT RANGERS) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1814-15 This corps was raised by Colonel 
the Hon. Thomas De Burgh, subsequently Earl of Clanicarde, under an 
order dated 25th Sept., 1793. As it was recruited chiefly in Connaught, it 
was styled the Connaught Rangers, and shortly afterwards took rank as the 
88th Foot. It disembarked at Quebec, 3rd Aug., 1814, having sailed from 
France. Was at Plattsburg; stationed on the banks of the Richelieu. Served 
eleven months, during which period not one man deserted Returned to 
Europe, landing at Ostend a month after the Battle of Waterloo, and 
marched to join the army at Paris. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1526 THE 89TH (ROYAL IRISH FUSILIERS) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1814 The uniform depicted is that of the 
third 89th Regiment, raised in 1793-4 by Colonel (afterwards Lieutenant- 
General) Crosbie. It was in Ireland 1798, and later in Malta. A second 
battalion subsequently raised in Ireland, arrived at Quebec 7th Aug., 1814; 
took part at Lundy's Lane, Crysler's Farm, Fort Erie (assault). Returned 
home after peace was declared. Disbanded 24th Nov., 1816. It is author- 
ized to carry "Niagara" on its colors. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1527THE 90TH (PERTHSHIRE VOLUNTEERS) REGIMENT OF 
FOOT Captain and private, Canada, 1814-15 This, the third regiment 
bearing the number 90, was raised in 1794, as the "Perthshire Volunteers," 
and formed into a "Light Infantry" corps. In 1804 the 90th, then in Ireland, 
raised a second battalion from men enrolled in Scotland under the Defence 
Acts. The first battalion embarked for West Indies, and in 1814 was re- 
moved from there to Canada. It was sent to Montreal, and after the 
declaration of peace embarked for Ostend. Some of its companies were 
quartered at Coteau du Lac. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1528 THE 93RD (SUTHERLAND HIGHLANDERS) REGIMENT OF 
FOOT Captain and private, Canada, 1838-48 Four regiments in succession 
have ranked as the 93rd Foot. Amongst the regiments of Fencible Infantry, 
raised in 1793, was a Sutherland Regiment, commanded by Col. Wemys. 
In 1814 it sailed with the expedition against New Orleans, and a second 
battalion, which had been raised for the regiment the same year, was on 
duty in Newfoundland for sixteen months. It was then brought home: 
and disbanded. During the insurrection of 1838 the 93rd was in Canada* 
and served in North America until 1848. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1529 THE 100TH (THE PRINCE REGENT'S) REGIMENT OF FOOT 
Captain and private, Canada, 1813 No fewer than six different regi- 
ments have borne the number 100; this is the fourth, raised in 1805. It 
was recruited chiefly in the North of Ireland. A wing of the regiment 
perished on the coast of Newfoundland, 21st Oct., 1805, en route to Quebec. 
During War of 1812-14 the 100th did good service on Niagara frontier; was 
at Sackett's Harbour, Plattsburg, Chippawa, and acted as marines on the 
"Wolfe" and "Melville." It was re-numbered the "99th," and as such was 
disbanded at Chatham in 1818. Its successor was the Prince of Wales' 
Royal Canadian Regiment, formed after the outbreak of the Indian Mutiny. 
Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 



248 

1530 THE 101ST (DUKE OF YORK'S IRISH) REGIMENT OF FOOT 

Captain and private, Canada, 1813-14 In 1761 a 101st Regiment of Foot 

first appeared on the rolls of the British army. Another 101st appeared 
in 1791, but was speedily "drafted." In 1806, the number having then been 
vacant about ten years, this corps was raised. It served in the West Indies 
and on the Canadian frontier during 1813-14, and was disbanded at Haslar, 
1st January, 1817. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1531 THE 103RD REGIMENT OF FOOT Captain and private, Can- 
ada, 1813-14 The number 103 has been borne by several corps, the earliest 
bearing date 1761. The regiment represented was raised In 1805, and in 
1812 a General Order gave Col. Scott authority to add two militia com- 
panies to its strength. A bounty of $17 was offered to recruits, the length 
of service to be for a period of eighteen months, restricted to Canada. The 
103rd fought at Sackett's Harbour, Plattsburg, Lundy's Lane and Fort 
Erie (assault). It was authorized to bear "Niagara" on its colors. After 
giving volunteers to other corps, the six surviving companies of this regi- 
ment were disbanded in 1817. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1532 THE 104TH REGIMENT OF FOOT (NEW BRUNSWICK 
FENCIBLE INFANTRY) Captain and private, Canada, 1812-17 Various 
regiments have been numbered as the 104th, from 1761. This one was 
raised by Gen. M. Hunter in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, in 1803. In 
1810 it was taken into the line as the 104th, and during the winter of 1812-13 
performed a memorable forced march on snowshoes, through the back- 
woods, from St. John, N.B., to Quebec, arriving there on 15th March. The 
104th was^at Sackett's Harbour, Fort George, Lundy's Lane and Fort Brie 
(assault), and for its services had the honor of bearing "Niagara" on its 
colors. Disbanded at Montreal, 1817. Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1533 REGIMENT OF COLDSTREAM GUARDS Captain and private, 
Canada, 1838 Before marching from Scotland into England to restore 
Charles II., Gen. Monk (Monck) raised this regiment, at Coldstream, Ber- 
wickshire, Scotland, 1660. For its services in suppressing Venner's insur- 
rection in 1661 it was not disbanded, but constituted the Second Regiment 
of Foot Guards. The Coldstreams embarked for Canada on 17th April, 
1838, served in the campaign along the Richelieu, and returned to England 
in 1842, with the First or Grenadier Regiment of Foot Guards. Water 
color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1534 THE SCOTS FUSILIER GUARDS (SCOTS GUARDS) Captain 
and private, Canada, 1862-4 The Scots Guards were raised in 1660. With 
James Earl Douglas as Colonel, they declared for William of Orange, and 
fought in the campaign in Flanders. The first and second companies were 
at Brooklyn, Brandywine and Germantown in American Revolutionary 
War. On 22nd April, 1831, the regiment received from William IV. the 
title of "Scots Fusilier Guards." The 2nd battalion was sent to Canada 
in 1861, remaining until 1864. The regiment, which since its inception had 
borne various names, was in 1877 again given its ancient title "Scots 
Guards." Water color. Size (each) 5x9. 

1535 QUEBEC ROYAL ENGINEER RIFLES, 1ST AND 2ND COM- 
PANIES, 1839 Formed 1837 The corps consisted of two companies, 
which in 1837 were placed under the command (as Major) of Lieut. George 
H. Vincent Whitmore, of the Royal Engineers. The picture shows the 
uniform, white blanket frock coat, red shoulder straps, blue collar and 
cuffs, blue cap with red band and blue breeches with red stripe. Litho- 
graph in color. Size 8 x 10. 



249 

1536 "THE QUEBEC VOLUNTEERS Quebec. Printed and pub- 
lished by Peregrine Pouchbelt and Roderick Ramrod, No. 32 Carronade 
Square, 1839." Title page of publication containing set of nine representa- 
tives of volunteer corps of Quebec, 1839. The pictures, said to be from 
life, are by an artist, Rollo, clerk in the office of the late Hon. Matthew 
Bell, of Three Rivers and Quebec. Names of printer and publisher are 
noms de plume. The Palace Gate, Quebec, through which a corps is 
marching, was so called because the highway led to the residence of the 
Intendants. It was built during French regime, razed 1791, and a new 
structure erected 1830, which, in turn, was demolished, 1874. In Dec., 
1837, the garrison of Quebec having been reduced to one company of the 
Royal Artillery, in consequence of the hurried drafting away of the Imperial 
troops to the various scenes of disorder, created by the rebels of the period, 
the volunteers of Quebec were employed to garrison the citadel and other 
portions of the fortress. Size 8 x 10. 

1537 QUEBEC VOLUNTEER CAVALRY, 1839