(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Advanced Microdevices Manuals | Linear Circuits Manuals | Supertex Manuals | Sundry Manuals | Echelon Manuals | RCA Manuals | National Semiconductor Manuals | Hewlett Packard Manuals | Signetics Manuals | Fluke Manuals | Datel Manuals | Intersil Manuals | Zilog Manuals | Maxim Manuals | Dallas Semiconductor Manuals | Temperature Manuals | SGS Manuals | Quantum Electronics Manuals | STDBus Manuals | Texas Instruments Manuals | IBM Microsoft Manuals | Grammar Analysis | Harris Manuals | Arrow Manuals | Monolithic Memories Manuals | Intel Manuals | Fault Tolerance Manuals | Johns Hopkins University Commencement | PHOIBLE Online | International Rectifier Manuals | Rectifiers scrs Triacs Manuals | Standard Microsystems Manuals | Additional Collections | Control PID Fuzzy Logic Manuals | Densitron Manuals | Philips Manuals | The Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly Debates | Linear Technologies Manuals | Cermetek Manuals | Miscellaneous Manuals | Hitachi Manuals | The Video Box | Communication Manuals | Scenix Manuals | Motorola Manuals | Agilent Manuals
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Leigh's New Pocket Road-book of Ireland: Containing an Account of All the ..."

This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 



at jhttp : //books . qooqle . com/ 




B M 




■ iw wwi 



Tjubtluc ' §2EB 


"WD 


m 


r 

hub I 


a. 

I 


I 


3D. 






1 

* 


* 


* 

3f 




ARMAGH 


















Bantiy 


221 
















Belfast 


31 


244 












1 


Cailow 


107 


125 


119 










I 


Carrickfergus 


n» 


232 


8 


12: 










Cashel 


no 


84 


136 


46 










Charleville 


iro 


68 


192 


76 










Coleraine 


47 


278 


42 


183 










Cade 


186 


40 


206 


83 










Derrr 


06 


266 


36 


HC 










Donaghadee 


46 


239 


13 


133 








1 


Eivm'qi 


132 


109 


164 


06 










EumdaiLpn. 


41 


221 


73 


10a 










GeAwwr 


115 


138 


147 


93 










aSlkeasFr 


125 


107 


137 


lfl 










KHlala 


112 


200 


143 


136 










EUamev^ 


219 


42 


223 


122 










limerick 


148 


86 


171 


76 










Maryborough. 


105 


122 


122 


21 










Newrr 


13 


213 


30 


89 








1 


SKgo 


72 


213 


103 


n.7 










Ttalee 


iae 


36 


222 


128 * 


7 » 




■ 




Waterford 


140 


98 


131 


37 J 


5a 103 








Watford 


136 1 123 


123 


39 fl 


7 120 


25 


^^m 


J 










,« 


idtlMV 


!r«rv -fi> 


"}jBl«anu 


W 



LEIGH'S 
NEW POCKET ROAD-BOOK 

of 

IRELAND, 

CONTAINING AM ACCOUNT OF 

ALL THE DIRECT AND CROSS ROADS; 

TOGETHER WITH 

a Bmti$tion of ebn? He ntarfurtle flaw, 

ITS CURIOSITIES, MANUFACTURES, COMMERCE, POPULATION, INNS, 

MAIL COACH ROUTES, FAIRS, AND MARKET-DAYS; FORMING 

A COMPLETE GUIDE TO EVERY OBJECT WORTHY OF 

ATTENTION. 

ILLUSTRATED WITH 

A Map of Ireland, Plans of Dublin and its Curiosities, a Table of relative 
Distances, and a Map of the Lakes ofKUlarnep. 






r *auH*«,«.<>>^ 



CONSIDERABLY ENLARGED AND IMPROVED. 



ILotitam : 

PRINTED FOR LEIGH AND SON, 421, STRAND. 
REMOVED FROM 18, STRAND. 

MDCCCXXXV. 

Price 10*. 6d. bound. 






/fr67, •'J ••:'/. 4 a. 
{/*. &* sc Say 



LONDON: 
PRINTED BY T. BR1TTELL, RUPERT STREET, HAYMARKST. 



PREFACE TO THE FIRST EDITION. 



If, as has been well observed, the knowledge of the na- 
tural situation, the political institutions, and! the local 
advantages, even of a foreign nation, be an object of con- 
siderable magnitude, and a source of gratification to every 
enquiring and enlightened mind, surely as acquaintance 
with these relations, as they respect a country forming 
part of the same empire of which we ourselves are sub- 
jects, is of much greater importance, and much deeper in- 
terest. It is under a conviction of this truth that the fol- 
lowing pages have been written ; and should they be 
the means of exciting an interest respecting Ireland, 
amongst the gentry of England and Scotland, and of in- 
ducing them more frequently to visit their less wealthy 
but warm-hearted neighbours, my labours will be amply 
rewarded, their amusement greatly promoted, and Ireland 
essentially benefitted. 

That Ireland possesses many objects more worthy of 
notice than those frequently resorted to in other coun- 
tries, I do not hesitate to aver, after a long residence and 
an intimate acquaintance ; and I cannot help expressing 
my conviction, that the want of a good Guide to her beau- 
ties has been one of the principal reasons why they have 
not attracted the attention to which they are entitled. The 
Giants' Causeway, with the neighbouring coast, the Lakes 
of Killarney, and the mountain scenery 01 Wicklow, are 
unrivalled in their various styles of beauty, and cannot 
fail to gratify all who delight in the study of Nature, or 



iv PREFACE TO THE FIRST EDITION. 

admire the majesty and splendour in which her works 
are arrayed. 

In the compilation of this Guide, I have endeavoured 
to render it an appropriate companion to the " New Pocket 
Road- Book of England and Wales," on the plan of which 
it is modelled. For this purpose I have consulted all pre- 
vious publications on Ireland, correcting the errors which 
the lapse of time may have occasioned, and adding the re- 
sult of my own personal observations, so as to condense 
into a portable form whatever was calculated to interest 
the casual visitor, or the more curious traveller. 

The distances are given in Irish miles, eleven of which 
are equal to fourteen British. They are seldom reckoned 
in English miles, except in the vicinity of Dublin. 

To the Itinerary is prefixed a concise description of 
Dublin, as it is probable that most of the visiters to other 
parts of Ireland will first spend, a few days in viewing its 
splendid capital. 

A copious Index is appended, pointing out in what page 
of the work the direct road to any place is to be found, 
the descriptive account of it, and the cross-roads connected 
with it. 

In conclusion, I beg leave to acknowledge the kind- 
ness of those friends who have rendered me their assist- 
ance, and I shall feel obliged by any hints for the further 
improvement of the work, addressed to me at the 
Publisher's. 

Charles. C. Hamilton. 



ADVERTISEMENT TO THE THIRD EDITION. 



Convinced by the success of two former Editions, that 
this work deserves their utmost care, the Publishers have 
spared neither trouble nor expense to render the Third 
Edition authentic and complete. The additions, altera- 
tions, and corrections introduced, are numerous and im- 
portant, being the result of actual surveys, and diligent 
investigation. 

Amongst the persons to whom they are more particu- 
larly indebted for valuable information, the Publishers 
beg to mention Mr. 6. Mason, of Dublin. 

At a time when the state and welfare of Ireland engage 
so much of England's serious consideration, a general 
account of the condition and prospects of that island 
becomes indispensable. The Introduction to the present 
Edition has been written for this express purpose, and will 
be found replete with information. It is of course not to 
be expected, that general views and opinions, however 
well-founded, can ever meet with universal concurrence ; 
still, if new views, and bold suggestions, supported by 
examples as interesting as they are important, deserve 
approbation, the Publishers hope that this portion of the 
book will be considered a valuable addition to the work. 
The Publishers have further to return thanks for many 
a3 



Ti ADVERTISEMENT. 

valuable hints, and beg to refer to the candour with which 
they have been attended to, as the best proof of their 
appreciation of such communications ; and, relying on the 
talent and unremitting attention bestowed on this volume, 
they respectfully submit it to the public. 



Whenever (he asterisk * occurs in the Itinerary, it denotes that the 
place is described elsewhere. 



CONTENTS. 



Page 

Glossary - - - - ix 

Table of English and Irish Miles - - - xi 

General State of Ireland 1 

Its Society, Splendour, and Misery - - 4 

Landlord and Tenant — effects of the System - 6 

Instances of Improvement - - 1 1 

Various Public Insitutions - - 36 

Proposed Improvements - - 40 

Old and New Legislation compared - 46 

Statistical Notes - - - 47 

Geographical Account — 

Situation, Extent, Population, and Climate - 52 

Harbours and Rivers - - 53 

Canals, Lakes, Soil, Bogs, and Mountains 56 to 58 

Civil and Ecclesiastical Divisions - 59 to 61 

Passage to Ireland - - - - 62 



viii CONTENTS. 

Page 

Description of Dublin and its Edifices - 63 

Mail Coach Routes .... 99 

Ditto on Cross Roads - - - 103 

List of Bianconi's Mail Cars - - 108 

Itinerary of Ireland - - - - US 

Account of Cross Roads - 470 

Places where Assizes are held ... 487 

Branch Banks ..... 489 

Index to every Place mentioned in the Itinerary - 491 



GLOSSARY; 

Or, Explanation of some of the terms which occur in the 
following pages, either by themselves, or in connexion 
with other words. 



Agh, a field. 

Ana or Anagh, a river. 

Ard, an eminence, or rising ground. 

Ath, a ford. 

Awin, a river. 

BalUn or Bally, a town, or inclosed habitation. 

Baum, a fortified residence, or castle. 

Beg, little. 

Ben, the head or top of a mountain. 

Bun, a bottom, root, or foundation. 

Cahir or Car, a city. 

Cairn, or Cam, a sepulchral heap of stones or earth. 

Carrick, Carrig, Craig, or Carrow, a rock, or stony place. 

Clara, a plain. 

Clogh or Cfough, a great stone, or Druidical remain. 

Clon, a lawn, or level pasture. 

Clug or Cleugh, a valley. 

Col or Cul, a corner. 

Corcagh, Cork, or Curragh, a marsh, or swamp. 

Croghan or Croagh, a sharp-pointed hill. 

Derry, a clear, dry spot, in the middle of a marsh. 

Don or Dun, a height, hill, or fortress. 

Donagh, a church. 

Drum ox Drum, a lofty, narrow ridge of hills. 

Holm, an island. 

Inch, Inis, or Ennis, an island. 

Ken, a head. 



x GLOSSARY. 

Kill, a church or burying-ground. 

Knock, a hill or hillock. 

Lick, a flat stone. 

Lin, a pool, estuary, or lake. 

Lis, a fort, or strong hold 

Lough, a lake, pool, or inlet of the sea. 

Magh, a plain. 

Main, a number of hillocks. 

Moat, a mound surrounded by a ditch. 

More, great, large, frequently used as a termination to the 

name of a mountain. 
Mote, a small rath, or barrow. 
Rath, a mount, an entrenchment, an artificial mound for 

assemblies. 
Ross, a neck of land projecting into water, a peninsula. 
Shan, old. 
Sliebh or Slieve, a range of mountains, a hill covered with 

heath. 
Tach, a house. 
Temple, a church. 
Tholsel, town-house. 
Tobar or Tubber, a spring, or well. 
Tom or Toom, a bush. 
Tra, a strand. 

TuUagh, a common, or gently rising ground. 
Tully, a spot liable to inundations. 



TABLE 

FOB CONVERTING IRISH MILES INTO BRITISH MILKS. 
•* 



* 



IRISH. 



BRITISH. 



IRISH. 



BRITISH. 



And so on a similar 
repetition, 11 Irish be- 
ing equal to 14 English, 
22 to 28, 33 to 42, 44 to 
56, 55 to 70, 66 to 84, 
77 to 98, 88 to 112, and 
99 to 126. 



#- 



11 Irish Acres are about equal to 18 English. 



■4 5- 



*«* In consequence of the innumerable alterations in this Edition, an 
error has escaped correction in several instances, which requires to be 
noticed ; viz. whenever No. 98 is referred to in the Itinerary, it should 
have been No. 100 ; for example, see the first line in the following 

ERRATA. 

Page \55,for Dublin to Athlone, as at No. 98, read No. 100. 

— 137, — Rilbay Castle, read Kilbay. 

— 148, — Dublin to Arklow, as at 203, read 204. 

— 157, — Dawson Castle, read Castle Dawson. 

— 158, — Dublin to Athlone, as at 97, read 100. 

— 164, — Dublin to Ballynamore, as at 134, read 124. 

— 167, — Loughgule, read Loughgeell. 

— 174, — Ardfinkane, read Ardftnane. 

— 212, — Dublin to Balinagar, as at 100, read 102. 

— 276, — Anamult Castle, read Aanmult 

— 281, — Bungan Castle, read Bangan. 

— 350, — Kinnegad * a, read as at 100. 

— 387, — Carofin, read Curofin. 

— 446, — Bagnal's Town, as at 164, read 165. 



- GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND; 

ITS AGRICULTURAL, COMMERCIAL, AMD OTHER INSTITU- 
TIONS, AND PECULIARITIES, AND MEANS OF 
IMPROVEMENT. 



Perhaps no country ever excited a more intense per- 
manent interest than Ireland does with us. Of its popula- 
tion and its misery we have heard much ; much has been 
said of the causes of that misery, and not a little has been 
published on its fertility, its opportunities for commerce, 
the beauties of its scenery, and other advantages ; and yet 
it is acknowledged that the people of England really know 
nothing of Ireland. This proceeds from the partiality and 
extravagance of most accounts, which render it dangerous 
to receive information that it is so difficult to reduce to 
its real value: the want of judgment in almost every 
communicant has thwarted the great aim of patriotism and 
philosophy — Truth. 

These remarks are principally applicable to those books 
which have too often been most read, because most puffed, 
whilst the more valuable testimony contained in the works 
of Young, Newnham, Townshend, Chichester, Wakefield, 
and others, and in the reports of the various Parliamentary 
Commissions, is confined to the few who are disposed to 
study cause and effect at the expense of much time and 

B 



2 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

trouble. We hope, by reference to such sources, in 
addition to our own observations and experience, to arrive 
at sound conclusions, and to enable our countrymen 
to see, not only the real state of that island and its 
inhabitants ; but also the causes of that condition, and the 
means of improvement. 

If from the entrance of Dublin Bay we cast the mind's 
eye over Ireland, we behold an extent of more than 
20,000,000 English acres forming a vast tract of lowlands, 
girt by ridges of hill and mountain, and intersected by 
a belt of bogs that spread from near the capital to the 
shores of the Shannon, and beyond. The island thus con- 
tains about 18,000,000 English acres of cultivatable soil, and 
more than 2,300,000 of bog, with a population of 7,767,401. 

The indented shores of Ireland have always been 
admired for the numerous spacious and secure refuges 
they afford from the raging tempest Those to the east- 
ward, and even those of the north and south, entertain 
a constant communication with Scotland and England; 
the westward and southern harbours are particularly con- 
venient for distant commerce across the Atlantic 

The soil and climate of Ireland are peculiar, and 
peculiarly suited to each other. In almost every county, 
a light loam prevails on a rocky or calcareous substratum, 
and this soil is rendered fruitful by frequent and abundant 
rain ; sea-weed, and lime, which are both easily procured, 
constituting the principal part of the manure that a 
slovenly husbandry provides for its renovation. These 
characteristics of soil and climate have, together with other 
causes, greatly tended to the universal cultivation of 
potatoes ; but with due management, every kind of grain 
can be advantageously raised there, as well as clover and 
the various grasses, apples and other fruits, &c. ; and it is 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 3 

almost unnecessary to say, that few places are so favourable 
for the growth of timber, particularly oak and ash ; and from 
the mildness of its climate, the arbutus, the rhododendron, 
and the magnolia, attain to great perfection ; the cultiva- 
tion of flax has also long been successful. Such are the 
ascertained capabilities of the land. What it might pro- 
due© under good management and judicious culture, in 
a state of quiet and confidence, and mutual emulation 
instead of restless jealousies, we can only determine by 
comparing the too general condition of poverty and dis- 
satisfaction with the few instances to be met with of 
practical wisdom and forbearance ; of prudence and com~ 
fort. Such is the method we intend to pursue : to trace 
the general character of the country, and its inhabitants, 
of its institutions and habits ; and baring done this, to 
point out peculiarities and exceptions; and further, to 
enumerate various proposed means of improvement, with 
such remarks as we may think called for. 

One of the great advantages that Ireland derives from 
a moist climate, counteracted by a suitable soil, is an 
abundance of good rivers and fine lakes. We shall, 
by and bye, have to comment on the opportunities they 
afford to improvement, and proceed to the general state erf 
civilization. 

If, standing on the pier of Dublin, we look around, we 
behold a magnificent city, exhibiting every thing that 
denotes wealth and prosperity: splendid public buildings, 
and elegant private residences, edifices raised and main- 
tained by munificent charity, shops that darale with their 
splendour, and teem with every article that can minister to 
the comfort or luxury of the refined or the fastidious : 
glittering equipages, and all the distinctions of fashionable 
life abound, whilst the pier itself, and the ships that 



* GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

majestically sail past, seem to account for much of the 
wealth and bustle of the town. Its matchless custom- 
house, and its docks, attest the importance of its commerce, 
whilst in further proof thereof high along the coast, 
numerous villas, embedded in plantations, glitter in the 
sunshine. 

Such is the first aspect of the capital of Ireland ; and, 
upon a nearer view, its hospitals, its college, the literary 
and scientific institutions it contains, and the brilliant 
vivacity of its society, seem to confirm the first impression. 
It is not till we become accustomed to the charms of the 
place, that we perceive the gloomy side of the picture ; that 
whilst the eastern portion of the town looks like the queen 
of a happy land, westward, the superabundant population 
of a wretched agricultural district, encroaches on the 
domain of pomp and luxury. The eager rolling eye and 
haggard scowl are as common in Church Street, Barrack 
Street, and the adjoining courts, as heedless mirth about 
College Green or Merrion Square. The extremes of levity, 
and abject suffering, are both to be found in Dublin. 

Much of this is observable in every principal town 
along the coast of Ireland: Downpatrick, Waterford, 
Wexford, Cork, and Limerick, exhibit, in various propor- 
tions and degrees, the wealth and elegance consequent to 
commercial industry, contrasted with the despondence and 
excitement natural to ill-employed thousands. If there 
be any exceptions, Londonderry, and particularly Belfast, 
may claim the proud distinction. 

The incongruous opposition of showy splendour, and 
debasing poverty, is indeed the most hideous feature in 
Irish society. In the large towns, where misery is attracted 
in search of the crumbs that lie beneath the board of 
extravagance, its consequences are most obvious ; but the 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. * 

same improvidence, the same destitution, are discernible, 
with few exceptions, throughout the island. The land pro? 
prietor anticipates his revenue— the middleman squeezes 
from the poor tenant the last farthing that the ground will 
afford, regardless of the deterioration of the estate; and 
the labourer himself, should any fortunate chance put a 
pound or two in his way, will proceed, during the very time 
of harvest, to the coast, for the benefit of sea-bathing and 
recreation: nor is it muoh better in small towns, since 
every petty dealer is eager to start his horse and build his 
villa. It is not to be doubted that this, like every other 
peculiarity of character, is at once an effect and a cause*. 

Besides this contrast of useless display and poverty, 
there is another very important contrast in the buoyancy 
of commercial enterprize, and the pressure from a wretched 

a The general character might he worked upon by means of the 
exceptions, and it is quite clear that some of the Irish are capable of 
saving, and of fore-sight. The following instances may suffice. 

1. Some years back, a poor wretch who had crossed the Channel la 
quest of the means of paying his rent, was returning on board a steamer 
from Bristol, in so miserable a plight, that the gentlemen on board 
thought proper to purchase a pair of trousers for him of one of the 
sailors, and while he was putting them on, the captain kicked his rage 
overboard, to his utter dismay, for, if his shrieks, and bis tears,— his 
groans, and assertions, could be believed, no less than nineteen pound* 
were concealed in the tattered linings. 

2. Three young women, cousins, arrived in London from Ireland, hi 
hopes of procuring service : two of them soon secured situations, and 
they assisted the other until she also obtained one. At the end of 
throe or four years, two of them discovered that, at the instigation of 
an English lady, the other had placed the principal part of her wages 
in the savings-bank, and that it amounted to fifteen pounds. They 
endeavoured to persuade her to draw the amount, and spead it ia 
jewellery ; bat confident in the advice she had followed, she endured 
with many a tear the utmost of their sneers and jokes. Not long after, 
all three were deprived of their places, and then the providence of the 
one saved them all from ruin. 

B 3 



6 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

agricultural inertness. All experience proves that com- 
merce is the great secondary cause of improvement and 
civilization; it is therefore through its commerce with 
Britain, and other parts, that Ireland must improve and 
flourish, and in proportion to that commerce will it flourish. 
But commerce, however fostered, can only extend in the 
exact proportion of the internal industry and produce. 
Let us therefore take a general survey of the agriculture 
of Ireland, and the condition of landlord and tenant 

It is acknowledged on all hands, that the agriculture of 
Ireland is flu* inferior to that of England and Scotland, 
although its capabilities are considered equal to the former, 
and greatly superior to the latter : the best counties are 
Tipperary, King's County, and Queen's County ; and next 
to these, Kildare, part of Meath, West Meath, Kilkenny, 
Louth, and Fermanagh ; but amongst the worst cultivated 
are, Londonderry, Donegal, Tyrone, and part of Antrim ; 
whilst, along the banks of the Shannon, in parts of Cork, and 
other spots, the natural richness of the pastures diverts 
them from the improved culture of grain ; nor is the 
cultivation of grasses, clover, or turnips, to any extent, 
attended to in Ireland. Singular instances of mismanage- 
ment are found in the county of Roscommon, where the 
ignorant practice of yoking horses by the tail still prevails 
occasionally ; or in Wicklow and Wexford, where economy 
is so little understood, that three men are often seen to 
one plough, one sitting on it to keep it steady, whilst 
another leads the horses ; nor can we forget that as much 
of the manure of the streets of Dublin as is not carried 
away by Scotch ships, for the fields of a more thrifty 
peasantry, is thrown into the Lifiey as useless, notwith- 
standing so good a lesson from their more careful visitors. 
These and other instances of careless indifference are— 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 7 

the effects of an injurious system: they are found in 
Protestant as well as Catholic districts ; they are noticed 
generally near the abode of the resident gentry, as well as 
on the domain of the absentee : in some places the bad 
cultivation may proceed from utter poverty, in others it 
comes from absolute indifference ; but we believe that the 
principal cause depends on injudicious modes of letting 
the land, and we trust that some of the following remarks 
will be found as correct as they are new. Others, besides 
ourselves, have observed, that in some of the Protestant 
counties, agriculture is in a miserable state; others have 
also noticed, that it is often most difficult to distinguish 
between the property of a resident and the estate of an 
absentee. We do not pretend that the comparative paucity 
of holidays of the Protestant may not give him some 
advantage over his Catholic neighbour, and we are quite 
sure that there are cases where the presence of a benevo- 
lent landlord might prevent cruelty and injustice ; but we 
are prepared to show, that most of those who reside on 
their estates are, to all real purposes, nearly as much 
absentees as they who flutter about St James's, or who 
dance in the salons of Paris ; that they have no immediate 
interest in the improvement of the estate, whilst, on the 
other hand, the tenant looks only to the produce of the 
season, heedless of ultimate consequences. 

We need not look back to history for the origin of 
contending interests, and rival jealousies and antipa- 
thies, with which insecurity of property has always in 
past time been allied*. Without investigating the sources 

* Beside* confiscations, the Irish or Breton laws were a great cause 
of insecurity : under them, murder was not punished with death, and 
succession to property was in some measure elective : they remained 
in force, without the English pale, so late as the middle of the 
sixteenth century 



8 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

of injudicious systems in the letting of land, we proceed at 
once to the fact, that, almost without exception, lands have 
in Ireland been let on wrong principles, on conditions 
in every way calculated to lead to their deterioration and 
neglect Leases for twenty-one years and a life, for thirty* 
one years and three lives, and so on, take all real interest 
from the proprietor, without giving to the cultivator an 
attachment to the soil. Should he plant, who will reap the 
benefits thereof? If barns were built, and a durable 
drainage undertaken at his expense, all that remained at 
the end of the uncertain period of his lease, would be so 
much loss to his capital. Such terms are therefore not 
inviting to capitalists : it is, however, even worse, if pos- 
sible, as regards the original proprietor : when, at his father's 
death he inherits, he discovers that the inheritance is not 
in his own hands, that others hold it on lease, not only for 
a number of years, but beyond that, for one or three 
lives. Should he be in the prime of youth, and sanguine 
in his expectations, he will live beyond his present income 
in hope of a change that may never happen ; others will 
either remove to a distant land, where they may boast of 
their property, er remain spectators of the mismanagement 
of the estate, over which they, have no control ; and, in all 
cases, they are rather pensioners than landlords. The 
lands being let to men who have no capital, and whose 
object is to obtain an existence from year to year, who, 
if hedges and fences decay, will repair them ? If a tree 
fall, who will plant another? Who will supply the means 
of carrying out improved methods of husbandry, so as to 
keep pace with the skill of the age ? Can limited pen- 
sioners, and needy cultivators, maintain the expense of 
public works, or support the industry of an increasing 
population ? And if there be a check to industry, 
which is indeed the most precious of all commercial 



GENERAL 8TATE OF IRELAND. 9 

wealth, trade of every kind must be at a stand. We need 
not refer to facts to prove the truth of this in all relative 
proportions, but follow up some of the natural tendencies 
under such circumstances. 

When an individual without capital obtains a lease of a 
considerable extent of land, however cheap he may have it, 
being unable to stock it, he is under an absolute necessity 
of re-letting ; and as others are in similar circumstances 
with himself, unless he divide it in proportion to their very 
narrow means, they must in turn let off what they cannot 
stock; thus is a system of brokerage and interference 
established, middlemen becoming so deep one behind the 
other (the cultivator being answerable for each and for all), 
that security cannot be thought of; prudence gives way to 
reckless enjoyment of the present, as far as such a state of 
things can yield enjoyment*. 

Such is the simple working of the system from landlord 
to tenant ; but partly on account of the interference of the 
tithe proctor, and from various very natural causes, some 
middlemen, and even landlords, rather than not let the land 
at all, in the deficiency of capitalists, prefer letting out 
plots to several or many individuals, all bound for the 
amount of rent for each other. This system of partnership, 
under the name of con-acre, is spreading its baneful effects 
on all sides. In some cases the bargain is for a term of 
years, in others it is for the season, and not unfrequently 
the seed, as well as the manure, is supplied to the tenant. 
This system has been appropriately called "a principle 
of exhaustion, but indispensable :" one that leaves the land 
unfit for any other purpose than building. Hence an 
increase of cottages and population to the utmost possible 
extent of food. Under this practice, the competition is 

• Effects of this description, no doubt, lod to the system, on entailed 
estates, of not granting leases. One extreme keeps another in countenance. 



10 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

" incredible." " I do not know (said Mr. Clendnung, in 
his evidence, June 20th, 1833), whether I could name a 
sum that I would not be promised." In many cases the 
sum agreed upon (from eight to fourteen pounds per Irish 
acre), is a full third or one-half more than can be obtained ; 
hut this is winked at by the person who lets it, because it 
enables him to secure, not indeed the promised amount, 
but the last farthing that can be obtained. This is unfeel- 
ing, hut not more unjust and oppressive than another prac- 
tice which is gaining ground under the insidious mask of 
generous forbearance ; it consists in letting the tenant get 
into arrears of rent for six months, a year, or even two 
years : he is then a perfect slave. The worst effects of the 
con-acre system are— 1**. That it prevents independent 
exertion, personal confidence and security, by making each 
dependant on others, and answerable for their negligence 
and delinquencies, rather than accountable for his awn 
actions,— 2»%. It encourages improvidence, and an im» 
provident increase of the population; and — $rdiy. When 
once adopted, it can hardly be put an end to without creating 
such scenes of destitution and desperation as few can conr 
template without horror; for it can only be done by forcibly 
ejecting families, whieh, an leaving their wretched hovels, 
surrounded as they are by a superabundant population, 
verging on the same brink of famine that they have fallen 
from, find no roof to shelter them from the storm— no spot 
of earth where a few potatoes may be reared to quiet the 
cravings of hunger; whose only chance is to reach, at the 
end of a wearisome journey, by the help of precarious beg- 
gary, the abodes of filth and disease in the suburbs of some 
large town, and become additional competitors for the 
mouldy crust or half-gnaw' d bone. 

And is there no remedy for a system that inevitably leads 
to vice and wretchedness ? This is not the place for an 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 11 

answer to this important question; but we hope that a 
satisfactory one will be found in the sequel. After the 
above account, it would be almost superfluous to des- 
cant on the very great diminution of timber, even within 
the last sixty years ; whole counties, containing scarce any 
plantations, where formerly extensive forests covered the 
land. It has more than once been our lot to notice, that 
where commerce and manufactures sweep away forest trees, 
a fresh supply necessarily succeeds in the plantations that 
rise on all sides to satisfy the demand; but where want 
and negligence create devastation, no renovating care 
retrieves die desert prospect. 

Before we leave this subject, it will be proper to observe, 
that commerce and other causes have, in various parts, 
modified the condition and appearance. It w, indeed, 
generally supposed, that the north of Ireland is totally un- 
like the south ; that the Protestant counties of Ulster are 
as flourishing as the south of Scotland. If this can be said 
of any place, it is of the yeomanry of Fermanagh ; but 
when we consider that the 5000 freeholders of that county 
are all Protestants, none of the Catholic inhabitants hold- 
ing property, we perceive at once that the account is so 
for fallacious, and the appearance of wretched cabins con- 
firms our suspicion. Of Londonderry, Donegal, Tyrone, and 
part of Antrim, we have already stated that they are amongst 
the worst cultivated of all the counties. We will illustrate 
our assertion by the following extracts from the report of 
the deputation appointed to inspect the condition of the 
estate of Moneymore in Deny, at a time when (in 1818) it 
contained 1791 families, in the following proportions:— 

Church of England 034 

Presbyterian 4347 

Catholic 6850 

Total 10,740 Individuals. 



12 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

" Of that number, 5523 are reputed not to be in a con- 
dition to pay for medical or surgical aid if they should need 
it ; and it is estimated that there are 2419 children under 
about twelve years of age, whose parents are not in circum- 
stances to enable them to pay for any instruction for them." 
They also inform us that, " The three divisions of the pro- 
perty are inhabited by persons of three different descrip- 
tions (Scotch settlers anterior to the Reformation, original 
Irish, and Scotch settlers since the Reformation) : never- 
theless, the general habits of life, and mode of cultivation, 
are much alike in all of them. There is a cabin, and some- 
times two, upon each holding and subdivision of holding. 
These cabins are mere mud-huts, covered sometimes with 
straw, at other times with reeds or swards, and are rarely 
water-tight : the natural soil is the floor. Sometimes there 
is a hole in the roof to serve for a chimney ; at other times 
the door serves as the channel for the exit of the smoke, 
and generally, but not universally, there is a partition be* 
tween that part of the cabin which is devoted to the use of 
the family, and that part which is applied to the use of the 
horse, the cow, or the goat, and the pigs. Their furniture 
and clothing are bad : upon the second division they appear 
miserable in the extreme. None of the clothing appears 
to have been originally made of coarse materials adapted to 
the use of peasants, as in England, but to be patched cast-off 
clothes, for which object a considerable trade is carried on 
between Scotland and Ireland." 

" The families thus housed and clothed, with a horse, if 
they are able to keep one, severally do the whole work of 
a farm. They grow nothing but oats, potatoes, and flax. 
The course in which they follow each other seems rather to 
be accidental than regular." 

Omitting exceptions for the present, the above is a fair 
description of the vaunted estates in Derry, possessed on 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 18 

the grant of lames I. by the twelve great corporation! of 
the city of London : nay, more, it ig the property of the 
most libera] of those corporations, the Draper's Com- 
pany, who instituted the inquiry for the purpose of doing 
good, and who have since set an example by really doing 
good. We shall by and bye explain why, amidst so much 
poverty, the Catholics are even worse off than the 
Protestants. 

It may thus be perceived, that although much mischief is 
no doubt derived from contending opinions among men of 
different origins, persuasions, and prejudices, the great 
contrast is between the more liberal principles and ten- 
denciesof commerce, and the sordid or ill-judged proceedings 
of the agricultural proprietors. Whilst the spirit of com* 
merce tries to extend capital, and sustain itself by the pro- 
ceeds thereof, the clumsy regulations of the landlords and 
their dependants, annihilate its effects, and convert capital 
into unproductive revenue. Every shilling that is em- 
harked in trade is supposed to repay interest, and thereby 
to increase the means of further outlay and improvement : 
but Irish landlords and Irish cultivators carry off the very 
fund of nature's fertility, and restore neither interest nor 
capital 

In the tables of imports and exports at the end of this 
essay, items will be found that tend to prove that Ireland 
is really progressing, notwithstanding the above gloomy 
picture; and although this outline is a true portrait of the 
general character of Irish letting and sub-letting, and of 
the improvidence that ensues, we trust that the effects of 
British enterprise and Britain's example, with the attempts 
in progress to establish a better plan, and to create confi- 
dence and care, in Ireland itself, will soon efface the like- 
ness, and paint a smile where the scowl of despair is now 
c 



li GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

delineated. Till lately, the increase of exports and imports 
was nearly balanced by a fearful increase of unprovided inha- 
bitants ; poor lands are annually taken up and abandoned; 
and in many place*, manufactures that for a time appeared 
to flourish, find it impossible to compete with their rivals 
in Scotland and in England. 

Before we mention the various proposed improvements 
for Ireland, let us enjoy the contemplation of prosperous 
realities, of successful attempts to plant civilisation and 
comfort even amidst lawless misery. 

We have already noticed the estate of Moneymore, in 
Londonderry. In consequence of the report on its misery, 
and the recommendation of the deputation, the Draper's 
Company gave heed to the suggestion of laying out a large 
portion of its rent on real improvement, as it had been 
found that there was so great a deficiency of capital, that 
the houses of sixty-four persons were in an actually 
dangerous state, without any hope of remedy. 

A few years after, in the report of 18S2, we find that 
" the deputation were highly pleased with the state and 
general appearance of the town of Moneymore. Com- 
paring it with other towns through which they passed on 
their way from Dublin, and with those which they subse- 
quently visited on their return by way of Belfast, they 
cannot but congratulate the Court on the complete and 
entire success which has attended their plans adopted by 
the Company. It is difficult by any language" (say they) 
" to draw a picture which shall adequately convey to the 
mind a representation of the contrast between Moneymore, 
as it was less than fifteen years ago, and Moneymore as it 
now is : the few remains of wretched huts and cabins of the 
old town serving to render the contrast more striking, 
while they cannot fail to induce an anxiety, that the i 



GENERAL STATE OF IRE LAN a 15 

liberal spirit of improvement which bee done go much, may 
be long continued with equal success," 

" The deputation visited all the schools under the patro- 
nage of the Company* They were much gratified by the 
appearance and conduct of all of them (the children)." 

" The deputation, while at Draper's Town, witnessed the 
esteem, and even affection, with which all the neighbouring 
tenantry regard Mr. Savage* the surgeon of the dispensary 
mere ; as an instance of which, the labouring people in hia 
neighbourhood had, of their own accord, and without hia 
knowledge, shortly before the arrival of the deputation, 
gratuitously cut and housed the whole of hia harvest, 11 
We need only to add, as a proof of the good feeling of all 
concerned, that the Company paid proper attention to the 
former reports, by erecting a church, and in repairing Ca- 
tholic and Presbyterian chapels, and even by allowing 
stipends to the ministers thereof when they required it. 

If not the most instructive, probably the moat interesting 
evidence relative to a particular improvement, is contained 
in the answers of Mr. John Wiggins to the commissioners 
appointed to examine the state of the poor in Ireland. 
Mr. Wiggins, who gave his evidence in May 1830, had, 
for twenty-two years, managed the estate of Lord 
Headley, at Iveragh, in Kerry. His account of it is as 
follows i— • 

" It is in a very mountainous district by the sea-side, 
en the banks of the bay of Castlemain* There are about 
15,000 acres, English. In 1808, the population was an 
extremely savage one. It was an asylum for all the 
offenders, robbers, and murderers, in that part, and of the 
whole county ; it used to he the boast of the people, that 
no criminal was ever punished from it. The first time I 



16 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

visited the place, a major of the army waited upon me to 
say he was deputed as escort to collect some taxes, the 
hearth-money, I believe. He requested my influence, as 
the appointed agent, to dispose those people to pay ; for 
he said they had met him upon the bridge, or a small pass 
between the mountains, and they told him they would 
sacrifice him and his party of soldiers if he stirred another 
foot into that place, and he made a retreat, and called upon 
me to assist, which of course I declined ; and I believe they 
never paid any thing, whilst the rest of the country did 
pay. Shipwrecks called out a great many of their quali- 
ties of enterprise : they used to build their cabins upon the 
cliff, in order to have a good look out for the wrecks ; 
they considered them as part of their means of subsistence. 
Their habitations were very miserable, the very lowest 
kind of huts that are found in Ireland, without windows or 
chimneys. I recollect at that time there were about 1200 
cows upon those 15,000 acres, and the place was consider- 
ably overstocked, which is a very common fault of the 
cottier tenants of Ireland. The cattle were called lifters 
when they were so starved that they could not get up with- 
out lifting. They were constantly quarrelling ; it was a 
kind of sessions that one held in going there : they were 
coming to complain of each other, and constant assaults 
and fightings were taking place amongst them ; that a good 
deal arose from the partnership tenancy ; there were four- 
teen or fifteen people associated in one lease, and those 
people were constantly squabbling about the division of 
their little meadows, or the stocking of (the stock on) their 
little holdings. Very few wore shoes and stockings ; they 
were extremely ill clothed at the time. 

" There was one mountain road which passed at the side 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND* U 

of a very extraordinary cliff; like Penmanmaur, in Wales, 
and extremely rugged and rough ; it wm the only read in 
the district. There was not a single car at that time in 
the whole district : they had sticks placed with crowbars, 
and drawn upon the ends, bnt very seldom even that, for 
back-load horses with baskets were then used. 

" At the present moment it exhibits a very extraordinary 
contrast to the condition I have described : the people are 
now well clothed, they are extremely industrious and 
orderly, and I have seen them attending the chapel twice 
a-day, as well clothed, and as neat and orderly, and as well 
conducted, as you see in a country village in England. The 
houses are very considerably changed ; there are about 150 
new houses built upon the place, and they are as neat 
houses as you will see almost in England— -some of them 
are sixty feet in front, and the old cabins are converted 
into cow-houses- and places for cattle. The agriculture has 
considerably improved j they have got into the habit of 
using sea-sand, I gave them a small allowance fur the use 
of it at first, but 1 gradually reduced that;, and they now 
use an immense quantity without any allowance. We have 
had about 2000 acres of bog reclaimed since the year 1 808, 
and considerably improved. The original road has been 
converted, by a new line, into a fine mail-coach road ; but 
Lord Headley has made, at his own expense, about twelve 
miles of the other road fit for the purposes of the people. 
Almost every one of the principal farmers has- now a car. 
I conceive the state of Glenbegh to be now greatly superior 
to the neighbouring distriots, and really, to a stranger, 
affording a great contrast There was a great pressure 
upon parte of Kerry in 1921 j out of a population oi23<^000, 
170,000 were reported to have been destitute of the means 
of subsistence for the moment Instead of suffering from 
c 3 



18 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

want of food, the people of Glenbegfa were enabled to sell 
food to the rest of the country : of potatoes they sold a very 
considerable quantity. 

" The means adopted for the improvement of Glenbegh 
were, generally, an attention to the character of the people, 
and a constant desire on the part of the managers of the 
estate, to avail themselves of the disposition of the people 
to the improvement of the lands, and to the improvement 
of their habits and character generally. It was done with 
very little sacrifice of rent or of money, but a constant and 
earnest attention to the object of improving the estate by 
the industry of the people ; and whenever any particular 
instance of good management or industry, or of care to 
collect sand or sea-weed, or to reclaim or cultivate land, or 
to build a decent house, was evinced by any of the people, 
they were encouraged by some little emolument or atten- 
tion. I think the first system was, to allow the people 
half the value of the improvements made out of their rents ; 
but as those rents were very considerably higher than 
could have been paid, we conceived that the allowance was 
rather nominal than real, though it had the real effect of 
improving the estate. If the estate were to be sold now, I 
should say it would sell for many thousands of pounds more 
than it would have done before; even allowing for what 
would have been the natural progress of the estate without 
those attentions and urging. In fact, seeing the necessity 
of either abandoning the estate to waste, or of doing some- 
thing in the way of improvement, Lord Headley wished its 
improvement to be urged, and it was urged ; and his own 
personal attention had a great deal to do with it, 

" Every kind of legal process is now carried on there, I 
think, more easily than in any other part of the county. 
During the disturbances that occurred in its neighbour- 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 19 

hood, the inhabitants had a meeting, and passed resolu- 
tions in a style rather of superiority, disavowing any par- 
ticipation in those feelings, and stating that the reason 
they did not, was the attention that had been paid to them, 
and to their improvement, for so many years." 

The following evidence relates to a large extent of coast 
round the south of Ireland, from the Shannon westward, 
even to the Suir, to the south-east. It is taken from the 
answers of Mr. Barry, inspector-general of the fisheries for 
the south of Ireland, May 1830. That gentleman had 
then held the above office nearly eleven years. 

" A great many of the peasantry are employed in the 
fisheries; principally in and adjacent to the best harbours, 
Dungarvan, Kinsale, Youghal, Courtmashery, Glandore, 
Baltimore, Bantry, and Dingle. 

" The number of fishermen in the district was, by the 
last returns, about 25,000 persons. That number has 
been considerably augmented. Fisheries are at best but a 
precarious mode of subsistence ; however, they have given 
profitable occupation to a very large number, and have 
diffused a great deal of wealth among other classes, who 
derive the benefit of the industry of those people; that 
fact may be particularly illustrated by reference to the 
town of Dungarvan, which, from a miserable wretched 
village, is grown into a place of very considerable import- 
ance, chiefly from the fisheries. Every thing that the 
most beneficent individual could do to promote industry 
and improvement, has indeed been done by the noble pro- 
prietor (the Duke of Devonshire), and still more particu- 
larly by his invaluable representative, Colonel Currie j but 
their efforts have been very much aided by the fisheries. 
The general average of the wages of labour in the country 
is from 84. to 104. a day in that quarter ; I should think 



20 GENEBAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

that any industrious fisherman can, on an average, earn much 
more. I think the condition of the fishermen of Dungarvan is 
perhaps rather worse than that of ether fishermen, owing to 
the circumstance of their being exclusively dependent upon 
the one source of employment, and having generally no 
small spots of land upon which their families may raise 
potatoes. The clothing, and the furniture, and the com- 
forts of the houses of the fishermen generally, have 
decidedly improved. I think the progress of improvement 
in Ireland, both moral and practical, for the last ten years, 
has been exceedingly rapid ; I think there is a considerable 
diminution of crime, and a very gratifying submission to 
the laws; and there is, generally speaking, the highest 
gratification experienced by the peasantry, at the amazing 
alteration that has taken place in the administration of 
justice. I regret to say there ia& great general want of employ- 
ment, there being a considerable supply of labour over the 
demand. In those parts of the country with which I am 
best acquainted, means of employing that labour profit* 
ably, so as to yield an adequate return for the capital that 
may be engaged in the operation,, are afforded to an inde- 
finite degree by the contiguity of the sea. The Board 
under which I have acted, within a few years, adopted the 
plan of small loans, to enable the peasantry upon the coast 
to avail themselves of the advantage of their contiguity to 
the fisheries, that has worked admirably well ; many per- 
sons who were an incumbrance and burthen to society, no 
better than paupers, have become productive, useful, and 
industrious, and have repaid, with extraordinary punc- 
tuality, those small loans*. The idea of those loans owes 



* Such an arrangement, if between individual** might be oalled a 
natural combination of capital and industry. 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 21 

its origin to the judicfoui suggestions of the London com- 
mittee. It has been in operation since 1823, but not 
judiciously or efficiently worked longer than about three or 
four yean. The Fishery Board has also built small piers 
on different parts of the coast, principally for the fisheries, 
but also for landing sea manure, and for the general pur- 
poses of trade. In all places where such works have been 
erected, in consequence of applications from individuals 
who have contributed, they have been well executed, and 
are extremely useful. Some works were erected in the 
early part of the Board's operations, when the selection of 
sites was not judicious : they have been of little service. 
The condition that requires the pecuniary contributions of 
the party applying, has had a tendency to secure the pro- 
per selection of works, and a fair return upon capital 
invested. It is a principle I should be glad to see extended 
to almost all the public works of Ireland. I scarcely know 
any place in Ireland where the investment of capital, judi- 
ciously laid out, would not produce a profit far beyond the 
interest of the money expended. I should not conceive 
it advantageous to lay out money, either raised locally 
or from general taxation, that did not yield a profitable 
return. The difficulty that at present exists in prevent- 
ing such employment, is the want of capital, perhaps in 
the quarter where it could be most judiciously expended. 
Public works, if undertaken upon the aforesaid principles, 
entirely limited to works yielding a return, would afford 
the best, and, in my mind, the only effectual remedy for the 
disproportion that exists between the supply and the 
demand for labourers. 

" Agriculture has also been improved to a most astonish- 
ing degree, upon the opening of roads. All along those 
roads that have been lately laid down and executed, through 



22 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

remote and wild districts, there is an appearance of 
increasing civilization and improvement that is quite 
amazing, considering the very short time the; have been 
executed. I dank it is the first step towards inducing a 
better arrangement of the population, that every thing will 
follow as soon as those remote districts are rendered acces- 
sible by proper communication. Among the causes that 
prevent improvement are, very general distress among the 
owners and proprietors of land ; in some cases family entails, 
which prevent leases to enterprising persons with means, 
" Distress chiefly prevails in the manufacturing parte of 
the county of Cork; where there was greatest prosperity 
a few years ago, when our local manufactures flourished) 
there is now most distress. The towns of Bandon and 
Clonakilty are in a most miserable state of distress. I 
never saw things so heart-rending as one may witness 
there. That source of encouragement wbieh I think has 
been the most effectual in improving the fisheries, was the 
system of making loans for the purpose of enabling poor 
destitute persons on the sea-coast to avail themselves of the 
advantages of their contiguity to the sea. Xt has worked 
admirably well, and the repayment of the small loans has 
been uncommonly regular, considering the miserable state 
of destitution in which the persons were. The loans have 
been much more punctually repaid in the southern and the 
western districts than in the northern or the eastern. An 
interest of five per cent, is invariably charged and paid 
The Fishery Loan Fund has been arranged under a strict 
system of rigid superintendence, I consider that where- 
ever the fishermen have had small gardens, or parcels ef 
land, there has been generally least liability to sudden dis- 
tress. The possession of potatoe grounds, if carried too 
far, induces them to neglect their fishing ; but I do not 



GENERAL StATfc OP IRELAND. 3S 

think the cultivation of an acre would be considered form- 
ing; and of course there will be parts of the family not 
occupied in fishing, who could produce, through their own 
labour, a sufficiency of potatoes. The system of clearing 
estates is generally conducted in a manner very inconsist- 
ent with the principles of humanity. The lease of a pro- 
perty expiring, the landlord has found it to be his interest 
to remove what he considered the surplus population upon 
it, and to divide the land into a smaller number of large 
forms ; that system, accompanied by restriction upon the 
takers of those farms, on the subdividing or the giving any 
portion of them to the small tenantry, has obliged those 
persons to abandon the country, and flock into the towns. 

" There is a very considerable emigration to England at 
certain seasons of die year. Those who emigrate are gene- 
rally our best labourers. I attribute to the system of 
interchange between the two countries, and the habits of 
industry our labourers acquire in their occasional migra- 
tions to England, some of our greatest improvements*. 
They generally bring back money, and are certainly better 
disposed to take care of it, after having been in England 
than before. The late facilities given by steam navigation 
to the intercourse between the two countries, have pro- 
duced very considerable improvements in the habits of the 
Irish peasantry. I have also had an opportunity of wit- 
nessing the beneficial consequences resulting from the 
establishment of a department almost exclusively English, 
or Welsh; I mean the Coast-guard. Wherever they have 

* A gentleman, on trhose information tre have reason to rely, has 
rafotttMA ua> thai some yean ago «he number of Irish tanning labour- 
ers trhb annually visited us tras 80,000 ; and the average sum carried 
baok by each 71., aattttnung altogether to M0,000i. this has indeed 
dtainishetl, But ft has so fn consequence of the present great importa- 
tion of Irish provisions of all sorts. 



24 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

been stationed, the mott obvious improvement hai taken 
place in the neighbourhood. They are an extremely well* 
regulated, well-conducted class of persons; and the exam- 
ple they have shown has been productive of the most bene- 
ficial consequences. Not the slightest jealousy was ever 
manifested on the part of the people towards those 
strangers." 

The settlements of Iskerbane and Castle Sampson, on 
the estate of Lord Clonbrock, in Roscommon, are also very 
interesting. By an expenditure estimated at 1200/., sixty 
families have been settled in comfort, and a turbulent dis- 
trict rendered peaceable, whilst the return of six per cent, 
on the outlay proves it to be a wholesome speculation. 

A main feature in the plan was to assist drainage and 
irrigation, by completing the leading drain, leaving it 
to the settlers to make the small drains as they require 
them. Mr. Blacker's arrangements on Lord Gosford's 
estate have also been very successful. 

To the above evidence relative to improvement in tbe 
means of subsistence, and other opportunities of improve- 
ment among the peasantry of Ireland, we must add the 
case of the Barony of Forth, in Wexford, and Shanagolden, 
in Limerick, as well as Lismore, Besborough, Ballase- 
dere, and the estates of Lord Palmerston, near Sligo, and 
those of Lord Duncannon and Mr. Tighe, near Waterford. 

The Baronies of Forth and Bargie were originally a 
colony from Wales*, and are particularly remarkable for the 
good cultivation and neatness of their fields, and the steady 
propriety, and apparent comfort of the inhabitants, who 
have in the south of Ireland become proverbial for every 

• It is very surprising that this colony should, from the time of 
Henry II. hare remained distinct and peculiar : that it should hare 
retained its original language and manners to the present time. Whal 
a subject for investigation !— See Mrs. S. C. Hall's " Characteristics." 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 25 

thing commendable; living abstemiously, in order to pro- 
vide against probable difficulties, and exerting their utmost 
care and industry to render their homes worthy the good 
name of their society, and a valuable example to all around. 
If the influence of that example had extended over the 
whole island, there would be no complaint of misery 
in Ireland: but the effect has been but local, although 
all around them, the virtue of providence is more remark- 
able than in any other agricultural district in Ireland*. 
A superficial writer, who has monopolised too much of 
public attention, reproaches the " farmers of Wexford with 
living penuriously," in order to fortuning their daughters, 
as none will marry them without, it being usual to match 
acre for acre, or pound for pound. 

If this custom were a little more general, comfort and 
intelligence, sobriety and education, would also be more 
general,and that reckless improvidence which has ever been 
the unconquerable impediment to honourable civilization, 
would have been overcome. Neither the warmth of man- 
ner, the amusing incongruity of the Irish, nor their despe- 
rate misery, would indeed add zest and poignancy to our 
romances, but the work of legislation would be accomplished. 

Shanagolden was an instance of the same kind. A colony 
of Protestants from Germany having been settled there by 
Lord Southwell, at the beginning of the last century, the vil- 
lage and its neighbourhood improved to such a degree as to 
form a most cheerful contrast to other spots. It is situated 
a little to the south of the Shannon, half-way between the 
town of Limerick and the sea. It obtained the admira- 
tion of Arthur Young, in 1768 ; but we lament that its 
superiority is no longer conspicuous. 

The estates of the Duke of Devonshire and the Earl of 

* Might they not be located on portions of large estates, as examples 
and instructors to others? 

D 



26* GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

Fitzwilliam, are too well known to be amongst the best 
managed in Ireland to need a long comment. That of 
Lord Palmerston, near Sligo, is also remarkable for the 
liberality of its owner. Lord P. is said to spend the whole 
of its revenue on it* improvement Ballasadere, the seat 
of Sir Robert Gore Booth, in the same neighbourhood, or 
rather, we may say, between the Bay of Donegal and that 
of Sligo, on the shores of the Atlantic, is also a rather 
extraordinary instance of sudden improvement The 
above-mentioned domains belong to generous, liberal- 
minded absentees: Sir Robert is no longer so: having 
improved his taste by travel, he has returned home, in order 
to sweep away the unsightly hovel and slovenly cabin. 
The building of his new splendid mansion has given a sti- 
mulus to industry, and the neat cottages with which he is 
surrounding it, will probably create a taste for comfort, 
and a demand for further improvement Lord Besborough 
is renowned for having set a similar example at his fine 
estate at Carrick-on-Suir. There are other instances of 
noble attempts at improvement; and although some of the 
nobility and gentry have been hastily blamed for attempt- 
ing to improve their property by refusing small plots of 
ground to poor tenants, we feel assured that the contrary 
system is at least as injurious. Ireland does not want more 
tenants, but more capital ; not a greater number of wretched 
cabins* but an increase of comfort ; and before we have 
done, we hope to convince the candid and the intelligent, 
that excessive indulgence is as injurious, because more 
insidious, than open severity, and that nothing but an 
increase of liberality and security, which depend entirely on 
an equality of taxation, and not on bounties— on strict jus- 
tice, not on favour — on the judicious employment of a 
reproducing capital, and not on the thoughtless appliea- 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 27 

tion of revenue (which, however great, mutt always be 
exhaustible) — can raise Ireland to an equal participation of 
prosperity with England. Enough is, indeed, already evi- 
dent, to prove the correctness of this opinion. To build a 
palace may call forth industry, but it does not replace the 
amount lavished thereon; when other works succeed so as 
to employ the increased skill and industry, it may be called 
useful, otherwise it increases the supply beyond the de- 
mand ; but the erection of piers and construction of ports, 
the formation of roads and canals, the increase of fertility 
to the soil, repay the disbursement with interest, and is 
again, with increased means, employed in further and 
progressive improvement. 

We have now mentioned, first, the general state of 
agricultural Ireland, and the leading exceptions to that 
unhappy condition; we proceed to its commerce and 
manufactures. 

The manufactures, and much of the commerce of the 
island, used formerly to consist principally of linen. Lime- 
rick was an exception, so far as a considerable exportation 
of shoes and gloves. The manufacture of linen was, and is 
yet immense ; but depended not a little on the bountiea 
that so long were considered necessary to a trade which 
was nevertheless declared to be the most productive and 
secure; and even the natural source of its wealth*. The 
natural means of a country require no forcing stimulus,, 
and to force that which is not natural, is most unnatural 
and baneful. During the Irish Parliament, bounties were 
in fashion, and die effects plain and decisive* One mem- 
ber of that body received a handsome grant to build a 

* We allude not only to the actiyd bounties, but alio to toe indirect, 
such as the low modus of tithe, which promotes the cultivation of flax, 
in preference to corn, &c. 



28 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

pier t it was not long before the pier in question was found 
useless, and liable to destruction. Another was rewarded 
for his encouragement of the glass manufacture, or his 
enterprise in mining speculation. The main object 
(money) being thus obtained, the glass-works were closed, 
and the mining discontinued. Again : where large sums 
were expended in furtherance of the fisheries, the con- 
structions having been completed, and numbers of persons 
called off from their usual avocations, the undertaking 
proved abortive ; and the disappointed hundreds had again 
to seek the spade and the mattock, in worse condition than 
before, wondering what had become of the liberality of 
Parliament 

Another and a greater evil was, the bounty on Irish coal 
mines, to the ruin of its manufactures, and the discom- 
fort of its people. For the purpose of encouraging the 
working of those mines, a heavy duty was imposed on the 
importation of British coal. Now it is quite certain that 
Ireland, without this bounty, could not supply increasing 
manufactures with a sufficiency of fuel : even with it, the 
mines of Antrim and Kilkenny were unable to stand the 
competition, most of them being either totally abandoned, 
or greatly neglected. The inhabitants had therefore to 
buy coals imported from Britain, at a price greatly en- 
hanced by the tax. What could be more hurtful to their 
industry and comfort? How could cotton -spinners, even 
with lower wages, hope, with such impediments, to compete 
with Manchester and Glasgow ? Accordingly, the facto- 
ries at Wexford and other places are far from prosperous, 
and the miseries of Bandon need only to be mentioned. 
It is true, that Belfast rose superior to every difficulty, 
and stands pre-eminent in Ireland ; having, in conse- 
quence of its enfranchisement from the monopoly of 



GENERAL STATE OF UUEliAND. 39 

Carrickfergua, in 1637, proceeded in its forward course of 
steady improvement. There can be no doubt that much 
of its superiority over other towns in Ireland, depends 
on its situation, but much more on its liberal charac- 
ter. Having, as above mentioned, freed itself from the 
thraldom of a neighbouring town, its inhabitants have still 
more completely emancipated the town, by discontinuing 
the election of freemen with the customary fines. The 
Guilds, and the very Town house, have been suffered to &U 
into decay or oblivion. 

The same liberality was manifest at the introduction of 
the cotton manufacture by Messrs. Joy, M*Cabe, and 
M'Cracken, in 1771. Instead of affecting mystery, those 
gentlemen assisted all who desired to become acquainted 
with the process. The enterprise of Messrs. Wilson, and 
the talent of Mr. Grimshaw, are alike commendable ; and 
in less than forty years from the introduction of this manu- 
facture, the number of persons of all sorts, who derived 
employment therefrom, in Belfast and its neighbourhood, 
exceeded 26,000 ; nor can we doubt that the abolition of 
duties on coals and every other article for importation or 
exportation ; together with a similar abolition of bounties, 
will give to this manufacture a decided superiority over 
that of linen, and conduce to the cleanliness and comfort 
of all classes. 

Cotton factories have been established with various 
success, in Dublin, South Kildare, Wexford, Wicklow, 
Bandon, &c. While the Irish have exported nearly all {he 
linen on which there was a, bounty, they wear a good deal 
of cotton, on which there never was any t so that the people 
of England paid the bounties, not only on what they them- 
selves wore, but further, in order that the inhabitants of 
America, or of Spain, might obtain fine linen cheap, 
u 3 



30 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

It is woeful to find that another manufacture, far more 
injurious than the preceding, deserves, even more than that 
of linen, to be called the staple of the country : it is not 
confined to a few counties, hut in various degrees thrives 
in them all ; we allude to the distillation of whiskey*. The 
amount of legal distillation, that is, of spirit that pays the 
duty, has for years been above 8,000,000 gallons f, nine- 
tenths of which were for Ireland's own consumption, the 
remainder being either exported, or consumed on board 
ship ; but it is supposed that as much is produced from 
the illicit stills as that which pays duty, making together, 
at least 15,000,000 gallons: so that, deducting that which 
is exported, more than two gallons remained for each indi- 
vidual, old or young, man, woman, or child. That as much 
grain as might suffice a million of persons should be sacri- 
ficed in this way, is truly lamentable ; the only chance of a 
remedy appears to be in the reduction of the malt duty, 
and the consequent increase of breweries. The principal 
licensed distilleries are at Drogheda, Dublin, Ross, Cork, 
and Limerick; the breweries are chiefly in Antrim, Belfast, 
Roscommon, Fermanagh, Limerick, Dublin, Waterford, 
Cork, Dunnamore and Dungarrow, and consume twice as 
much malt as the licensed stills, Dublin porter having 
attained so high a reputation, as to compete successfully 
with the London. Poplins, coarse woollens, canvass and 
sail-cloth, potteries, glass, lead, and paper, make up the 
amount of Irish manufactures, which were some years ago, 
during the war, in a great measure sustained by the impe- 

* The high dnty on malt, prevents the licensed stills from fairly com- 
peting with their illicit rivals : to sell the spirit at an equally low price, 
the fair dealer is obliged to mix fire or six parts of unmalted grain 
with one of malt ; hence the inferiority of the produce, and the great 
demand for the smuggled article. 

t Now increased to 9,300,000. 






GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 31 

tus of government expeditions and shipments - t but which, 
it may be hoped, are now likely to depend on a better foun- 
dation — the improvement of agriculture, and a wholesome 
commerce ; and better yet, From, the amendment of internal 
regulations, 

I 1 ruin the evidence of Mr, Williams, in 1830, we learn, 
that the first steam vessel introduced on the Shannon, was lit 
] S27 : within three years, tbe tonnage of conveyance had 
increased from two thousand to fourteen thousand tons, or 
seven-fold. In place of casual and insufficient intercourse, 
daily communication for passengers and trade had been 
established for fifty miles above, and forty below Limerick ? 
a great expenditure had been made on ports, piers, cranes, 
&c, at the many stations along the shores of Lough Dergh: 
and many are tbe demands for an increase of tbe stations, 
in consequence of their effect on the condition of the people, 
and tbe prices of various articles, not only on those of home 
produce, but also on timber, iron, earthenware, glass, salt, 
implements of husbandry, &c. T from without* Formerly, 
from want of adequate communication, each spot along the 
banks of that noble river, bad its own peculiar superabun- 
dance of one article, and a miserable deficiency of many : 
but since tbe establishment of steam navigation, every 
thing finds its proper level, and a wholesome circuktioii 
spreads, on all sides, a due all a re of turf, liny, potatoes, 
coals, slates, manure, clay, lime -stone, brick, &c* 

* It must not, however, be supposed, that enough hfls been done : 
according to Mtflunfc Khndys and Birmingham, from the impediment** 
to iwiviptftirm at Battle-bridge, at Carrick, at Curna Carta, Jamc«To^n, 
Ktmky-hridflc, thence to Clondra, at Cbndra Canal and Ltuiesbormifdj, 
two Of three million acres of land arc precluded improvement, find ilie 
whole mnigation oftca roquin-a fifteen dut* Instead of Uvo. whllnt the 
toll due* along Hip course of the river uKcced ten nhillinas |icr ton % 
although Mr. William b declared, that " a few hundred in mi ids would 



32 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

Similar advantages have been derived from the Grand 
Canal and the Royal Canal, which connect the Shannon 
with the capital, passing through the very middle of the 
•island; and that from Ballinasioe to the Shannon. A rail- 
way has just been constructed from Dublin to Kingstown : 
the distance is only five miles and a quarter ; but the enter- 
prising landlord of Quin's hotel, at Bray, having offered a 
subscription of 5002. for that purpose, there is reason to 
hope that, in a short time, it will be continued to that 
place, as others will soon see the advantages of following 
his example. The great western railway to the Shannon 
is also likely to be effected. On this subject we must men- 
tion an extraordinary instance of speculative enterprise 
and judgment. Hitherto British capital has been looked 
to as the only means of enriching Ireland : it is at last dis- 
covered that a judicious reciprocity is available, and that 
Irish capital, expended in Britain, can also tend to the 
advancement of Ireland's best interests. We allude to the 
formation of a railway in Wales, by an Irish company. We 
believe that a distinguished Alderman of the city of Dublin 
is the great promoter of this undertaking. It proceeds 
from near Lake Cawmortbyn, above Festiniog, by the side 
of Moel Wyn Mountain, to Tremadoc, on die coast, a 
distance of near twelve miles, for the purpose of conveying 
the best Welsh slate, at a cost of probably less than two 
shillings per ton for carriage, in place of ten, as was for- 
merly charged. We know of few things more likely to 
improve Ireland : it is calculated to rouse its capitalists to 
exertion, and to introduce comfort to many a house that yet 

go a gnat way in effecting toe removal of shoal* and rock* ; the altera- 
tion of inconvenient bridges, improving the towing-path*, providing 
■mall harbour*, beacons, land-marks, buoys, and other improvements." 
Of oouae, supposing individuals to undertake it. 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 33 

wants it : tidy cottages are seldom found under a thatch 
roof; and the potatoe ground is less productive where the 
straw is so employed. But when better means are resorted 
to, the neatness of the dwelling, and the cleanliness of the 
pig- stye, will evince the consequence ; nor will any landlord 
ever think of binding a tenant to repair (thatch) the roof 
of his hut but once in three or in four years, lest he apply 
the straw to the protection of his family, at the expense of 
the land. The Irish may, by such proceedings, learn the 
value of intercourse with other and more favoured people ; 
they will find that a reciprocal exchange of advantage is 
the most productive, and the only permanent source of 
wealth and happiness. Proof of this may be found in the 
accounts of the intercourse by steam across the Irish chan- 
nel, and in the effects of the Manchester and Liverpool 
railway. From the Report of the Committee of the House 
of Commons, 1830, we learn, that a capital of 671,000/. was 
then engaged in steam navigation across the channel. The 
number of vessels employed were forty-two in number: 
that, in consequence, the supply of Irish produce to Eng- 
land had greatly increased, particularly as regards all those 
articles that the great English farmers affect to consider 
beneath their attention, fifty tons of eggs, and ten tons of 
poultry, being sometimes shipped from Dublin in a single 
day, the value of eggs exported from that harbour in six 
years amounting to no less than 173,000/. Live pigs, 
poultry, &c, are now conveyed to the Manchester market 
almost as easily as cotton. 

Diversity of religion does not of necessity induce poverty 
and inconvenience. History informs us, that, under a 
firm, good government, it may increase the energies and 
exertions of individuals and of nations. How has it been 
in Ireland ? The north of that island is said to be Pro- 



34 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

testant, and the south and west distinctly and geaefaJly 
Catholic ; and a marked difference is supposed to proceed 
from this distinction. Leinster is considered as divided 
between the two, and to form a kind of neutral aiate, pos- 
sessing some of the knowledge and industry of Ulster, with 
a mixture of Catholic indifference and poverty. If we wish 
to ascertain the real state of things, we shall first inquire 
]ju>w far Ulster is really more Protestant than Connaught 
and Munster, and in what it is more prosperous and happy. 
The Protestants in Ulster are very far from a majority of 
its population ; they do not, indeed, amount to one- third 
thereof, although, in some of the towns, such as London* 
deny, they are perhaps more numerous than the Catholics, 
Is Ulster richer than the other parts of Ireland? The 
merchants of Belfast, the capitalists of Deny, and a few 
other places, are well off; a few farmers hold decent por- 
tions of land, and dwell in comfortable abodes, particularly 
in Fermanagh ; but it would be ridiculous to assert that the 
mass of the population are not ill clothed) ill fed, ill provided 
with fuel, and miserably lodged. In the agricultural dis- 
tricts, ignorance and poverty are as strongly marked as in 
the provinces of Connaught and Munster. The great land- 
lords of this province are absentees; parish or partnership 
tenantry are increasing; potatoes form the bulk of the 
food of five- sixths of the inhabitants; illicit stills are in 
constant operation in all the mountainous districts, and 
unequal rights, as well as unequal taxation, are everywhere 
conspicuous. If we consult the Protestants in this district, 
they will no doubt boast, and not without cause, of their 
superior wealth and importance, of the advantages of their 
creed over the religious persuasion of the southern Irish ; 
they may prove that the tithes are collected among them 
with less difficulty and bloodshed ; and they will probably 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 35 

be right in so doing ; but it will really amount to nothing, 
when we consider that almost the whole of the pro- 
perty in Ulster belongs to Protestants, partly from royal 
grants, in consequence of rebellions and forfeitures ; partly 
from acquired possession , in times of famine and misery : 
from such causes the grand juries, as well as all other im- 
portant offices, are composed of Protestants: the civil and 
the military places of emolument are exclusively their 1 * j 
the bishops seosand deaneries, the tithes and the glebe lands, 
enrich another portion of the Protestants* and add to their 
general control ; Ulster is therefore so far essentially Pro- 
testant, and ought, accordingly, to be in a superior condi- 
tion*. In the south of Ireland, where a good deal of land is 
held by Catholics, tithe is exacted on potatoes j whilst, in 
Ulster, where it is all in the hands of Protestants, such 
produce is exempt, and therefore contests are less frequent. 
Still, the main difference between the inhabitants of the 
province itself is kept up ; for the Protestant maintains but 
one church ; the Catholic contributes to the support of two, 
and is therefore kept poorer than his neighbour : he does 
not indeed pay the tax out of his patch of potatoes, and he 
therefore takes best care of that produce, and neglects other 
cultivation that is subject to the unpleasant burthen. So 
much for bounties, of which Ulster has certainly had its 
full share* Bounties caused its inhabitants to rear flax and 
potatoes, instead of corn and cattle ; and bounties precluded 
die comfort of abundant fuel. The difference between the 
peasant in Ulster, who supports two religious instructors, 
and those of Munster and Connaught, scarcely averages the 
tithe on potatoes. 

Of the various public institutions in Irish towns, for the 

■ In tlie count v of Dowti payments are nn initially made in money, 
not in IfttaoiM^-an itnmenw advantage j I lie consequence of commerce. 



not in : 




36 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

care of the sick and maimed, ot those for the prevention of 
beggary, or the promotion of industry, for the dissemination 
of morality and religion, most of them are nearly similar to 
those of England, and, like them, are often either useless, su- 
perfluous, or injurious. Hospitals for accidental cases are 
indeed so necessary, that all countries that pretend to any 
share of humanity and civilization, have adopted them; 
but where they admit cases of a more doubtful nature than 
those that require surgical assistance, those who do not pos- 
sess a proper claim, are too often received, to the exclusion 
of the more needy and deserving. Infirmaries of various 
kinds are often very injurious, by exciting improvidence, 
and lowering the income of the persevering labourer to the 
reduced average of the careless and indifferent. But if these 
and many other charitable institutions are of doubtful effect, 
Savings* Banks, for the few years they have been established 
in Ireland, have done more to convince us of the practica- 
bility of improving the Irish character, and rendering the 
poor of that country industrious and thrifty, than all besides. 

The effect of loan funds, like that of a sinking fund, is 
deceptive in its amount, and places the poor man in the 
condition of a debtor : on the contrary, the depositor in a 
■savings bank takes pride in being a creditor : the one pays 
interest — the other receives it If money is to be advanced, 
let it be in the form of an improved cottage and barn, in 
cow-sheds and styes, in hedge-rows and drains : these will 
pay interest in the shape of rent, and a surplus will find its 
.way to the savings bank, to supply, in due time, improved 
stock, and a resource in bad seasons. 

The indiscriminate character of the Foundling Hospi- 
tals has, on the contrary, like those of the Continent, acted 
as a direct bounty on the worst kind of population, and on 
some of the worst feelings of humanity; improvidence, heed- 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 37 

lessness of character, and disregard of the natural feelings 
of parent and offspring. These effects have been partially 
discovered, and the supplies of money are accordingly 
dwindling. 

Of the institutions for employing the poor, or for sup- 
pressing mendicity, it is evident that they also have failed 
to produce the effect intended ; they have often caused dis- 
content, both to the poor wretches who have been inade- 
quately relieved, and to the humane supporters thereof. 
The funds thus ineffectually expended might be otherwise 
applied to very great advantage ; and it would be well for 
the liberal and charitable to learn, that partial remedies 
are but palliatives, and employment as a preventive far less 
Qostly than charity, in the same proportion that capital is 
more productive than revenue. 

Education is another important subject of consideration. 
In this, as in many other departments, there is of course 
considerable similarity between Ireland and England; an 
university for the rich, charity-schools for the poor, and 
grammar-schools for those of the middling class who enter- 
tain no objections to such education as was befitting three 
centuries ago, ere science invigorated the human mind. 

The number of schools in the island is tolerably suf- 
ficient, as our tables evince ; and we will venture to say, 
that an amount equal to the whole expense thereof, would- 
suffice to teach nine-tenths of the population, not only 
reading and writing, but what is even more important, the 
distinction of right and wrong; but this can hardly be 
accomplished by Government establishments, for they 
are neither economical, efficient, or adapted to the peculiar 
local wants ; neither can it be successfully performed by 
charitable or coerced instruction, for such means deprive 
the blossom of its fragrance, and the fruit of its sweetness* 
is 



3* GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

In opposition to moat of the above, are mechanics' insti- 
tutions ; they are not supported by charity, but depend on 
their absolute and immediate effects: juvenile schools are 
usually intended to engraft on the child manners and 
knowledge that constitute a perfect contrast to the sim- 
plicity or vulgarity of its home, where the work of the 
schoolmaster or mistress is defeated by example or ridicule : 
or, if a proud spirit occasionally rise superior to its less 
refined relatives ; discontent, indifference, and often mini 
are the consequences: but mechanics' institutions have a 
Afferent course, and other tendencies ; the father, instead 
of returning from the pot-house to disturb the slumbering 
children by his broils, has, at every leisure moment, some 
pleasing anecdote to relate ; either how the mighty. Newton 
rendered a soap bubble subservient to the' higher purposes 
of philosophy, or Franklin rose, by persevering talent, to 
a high rank amongst men. The incidents are discussed at 
the breakfast table, and repeated in his absence, and all* 
improve apace* This is the natural course where such 
institutions, arising frfcin the deficiency of other schools, 
supply the required communication of realities and not 
of words. Unfortunately this is not a full-length picture' 
of those institutions: they aim at accomplishments as well 
as &t knowledge : they seek to rival the old system as, much 
as to establish a new one ; and dancing, music, and foreign 
languages, are too often considered of equal value with » 
good insight to. the works of nature, and with it a proper 
sense of the Divine power and wisdom; they thus comma* 
nicate conventional with real information. In all legislation, 
these points should be borne in mind ; whilst direct interfe* 
rence ought to be carefully avoided, feiroppartupitiestathe 
industrious and the intelligent should be encouraged* 'and 
honour to merit. This can he done without cost ; for three* 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. M 

men of real talent would be thankful for that which ont 
pompous pretender is apt to despise. . 

The Brown Street School, Belfast, deserves also to be 
noticed for the good feeling that dictated the regulation, 
whereby each scholar is made to pay a trifle in order to 
disguise the charity, in the same way as the peimy-a-week 
dispensaries,, and, the more distinguished artists' and mu- 
sicians' benevolent funds in London. . On the part of the 
subscribers the intention is noble, but our experience leads 
us to fear, that even here the poison is not less effective 
because slow in its effects. We are conscious that know- 
ledge is, in a civilized state, as necessary as food ; but like 
food it should be wholesome, and the reward of toil and 
care, otherwise it bears too near a resemblance to the milk 
of an infected nurse. . These remarks are bold, and unless 
they be judicious they must.be considered rash ; but being 
founded on experience, We dread not the imputation : that 
which costs us little, excites our presumption and not our 
esteem^ 

In a country so divided by opposite interests and opinions, 
where diversity of religious sentiments, where hereditary 
antipathies and clanships, perpetuate suspicion between the 
rich and the poor, it is scarcely possible to regulate the 
magistracy and the courts of justice so that they obtain 
universal respect ; but in Ireland, preferments in those 
departments have usually been the reward of party politics, 
arid not of merit : it is therefore not wonderful that there 
should be but little of that confidence and veneration so 
conspicuous in the English courts : instead, the fear of 
punishment is the main check on desperate assertion and 
perjury, and this is so far from sufficient, that the hordes 
of witnesses, in all cases where party or family interests are 
at issue, afford ample scope to the shrewdness and finesse 



40 GENERAL STATE OP IRELAND. 

of the pleaders, who excel in florid rhetorical display and 
acute cross-questioning. The increase of comfort and 
industry, wherever the courts have been improved, points 
.out the importance of a better system. 

The above sketch of the various conditions and institutions 
of Ireland would not be complete, without a recapitulation 
of the complaints under which it suffers, and the methods 
already adopted to. palliate or remove them, besides an 
account of the panacea, as well as the judicious hints that 
have been suggested for that purpose. We therefore turn 
to this as a useful task. It has been seen that slovenly 
cultivation, want of capital, absenteeism, or the conversion 
of respectable land-proprietors into needy pensioners, are 
the natural consequences of the usual custom of long leases 
of uncertain duration ; that other grievous results necessarily 
follow, such as subletting, middlemen, partnership tenantry, 
with the customary squabbles about the division of fields, 
and the appropriation of stock ; and to conclude, an ill 
provided superabundance of population ; that is, numbers 
for whom no adequate means of productive labour and food 
are provided. It has been observed that entails are in many 
cases either the cause or the eflfect (sometimes both) of these 
evils : they often prohibit the adoption of improvements ; 
and where they interfere with the injurious plan of uncer- 
tain leases, it is usually to prevent all leases whatever, and 
thus adopt the opposite evil. 

We have also observed, that the recent practice of allowing 
arrears to accumulate, keeps up the nominal vahie of land 
at a fictitious price, and renders the tenant a perfect serf. 
It is plain, that wherever these injurious customs prevaij, 
whatever be the religion or peculiar advantages of the place, 
husbandry is in a very unsatisfactory condition. Benevolence 
aud individual exertion may occasionally interrupt the tide 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 41 

of mischief, but at length it mus* sweep all before it : thus 
Che counties of Ulster, with exceptions through commerce, 
are as badly cultivated as those in the south of the island. 
We have seen that there is no one to delight in the renewal 
of woodlands, when time, or the oft-repeated terrors of the 
tempest, level them whh the waste* Through want of interest, 
and insecurity of property, none can encounter the highly 
beneficial undertakings of constructing roads or canals, so 
as to favour the circulation of population, of food, of capital, 
and comfort ; wherefore unequal taxation, unequal rights, 
ignorance and prejudice endure, and smugglers and 
wreckers are protected* 

We have not failed to notice the failure of all systems of 
bounties ; that in spite of them, harbours have become 
choked up, piers been swept away; we have shown that 
lakes can be joined to each other, or made to communicate 
with the sea, and rendered eminently serviceable, not by 
grants, but by commerce, the ready attendant on security 
and industry. It has with reason been said by Mr. Williams 
(in evidence, 1830), that 100/. laid out by individuals would 
almost go as far as 1000/., if undertaken by Government, 
taking into consideration the charges of engineers, and the 
expensive machinery of a public establishment under 
a public board. We accordingly deprecate the direct 
meddling of Government : we are well aware that the ex* 
pettiency of loans has been recommended by several very 
ingenious men; but we have seen nothing, either in Ireland 
or abroad, to warrant its adoption. Swift was, we believe, 
•the first who attempted it; we esteem the intention, but 
experience should be consulted as to its benefits. In some 
recent cases, where loans assumed rather the appearance of 
partnership advances, it is said to have produced better 
effects, under a judicious and strict management ; but even 
e 3 



42 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

here, for one who has profited, ten have pined in disappoint* 
ment and hope deferred. Mr. Barry himself acknowledges, 
that all improvements are best when at the expense of those 
who, from local causes, have a real interest, and derive the 
natural reward from their well-considered outlay. Some 
writers have indeed recommended a choice of means to 
Government: — either to become themselves contractor*, 
manufacturers, and speculators, or to lend money to unsuc- 
cessful speculators, and thus reward men for their want of 
judgment and exertion. This appears almost too pre* 
posterous to have been written; and yet the idea is not 
only confidently put forth, but the system has often been 
adopted on the continent, by governments who shackle 
commerce because it is the foster parent of freedom. We 
know not whether the above-mentioned advisers ever, in 
the course of their travels, inquired into the effects of 
ministers of state and princes entering into mercantile spe- 
culations, but we will name a few of those of which we have 
some knowledge. Under Napoleon's government, Camba- 
ceres, who held first the high situation of Second Consul, 
and afterwards that of Arch- Chancellor to the Empire, was 
one of the proprietors of the coal-mining company of Anzin, 
which company had influence to prevent the mines of 
Picardy and some other provinces from being worked; 
Lebrun, the Third Consul, and subsequently Arch-Treasurer, 
was partner in one of the largest cotton-spinning manu- 
factories in France ; Chaptal, the celebrated chemist, was, 
whilst minister of the Interior, a dangerous rival to those 
manufacturers of chemical productions with whom he was 
not in partnership. In after times, under different govern- 
ments, the Prince of Orange went into partnership with the 
Cockerells ; and Lafitte as well as Perrier wielded admini- 
strative power and influence, without discontinuing com- 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 43 

mercial and manufacturing pursuits, subjecting the power 
of nations to the mercy of individual interests. The same 
system prevailed, as we have seen, with the Irish Parliament; 
but the reign of jobbing and monopoly is, with us, nearly at 
an end ; may it never revive ! for we need but appeal to 
such cases as the above to prove their mischief. Of the 
fine lakes and rivers in Ireland, we believe that, up to the 
present time, they have served to separate districts and 
communities, to interpose boundaries and obstacles to mu- 
tual approach, and create distrust and dislike : it is time 
that they should be made to serve a contrary purpose, by 
facilitating mutual intercourse and communication. Between 
barbarians, large bodies of water are amongst the most 
efficient bulwarks against hostile surprise and devastation ; 
but amidst civilized men, they unite them in friendly inter- 
course, tie them together by mutual interests, and facilitate 
commerce and good understanding. We entertain not a 
doubt, that if equality of rights and taxation were effected, 
and all laws that contract the circulation of property and 
capital were removed, commerce would soon do all that 
is wanted ; that the travellers of the various houses of 
Liverpool, Manchester, Sheffield, and Birmingham, would 
spread more knowledge in three years than all the public 
institutions in Ireland have done in twenty. The Irish 
have no wants : wants must be created. They are half their 
time in idleness ; toys, and trifles, and comforts, must be the 
means of exciting a wholesome remunerating industry. 
Security of home and existence, a knowledge of a well-de- 
fined mine and thine, will lead to this, and other knowledge 
will follow; and it is right that other knowledge should follow, 
and not precede the practical wisdom of right and wrong. 
Our conviction of the duties of the legislature may thus 
be summed up. Equalize all duties as far as possible in 



44 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

Ireland/ and between that country and Britain, and avoid 
bounties. Improve the courts and the magistracy, avoiding 
all political appointments, and rendering justice most 
available. Let means be devised to obviate the clauses in 
entails that prevent leases of property. May landlords at 
the same time see the importance of letting the lands in such 
portions as the tenantry can stock and cultivate, giving, 
however, a preference to those who, with an equally good 
character, are superior in capital : let them never lose sight 
of the advantages of security on either side, of constant 
occupancy and gradual improvement, both in the farm and 
the capital that supports the farm; and above all, give 
security to the tenant by a well-defined definite lease. It 
will then be unnecessary for government commissioners to 
encourage the fisheries by small loans, and the erection of 
piers. If such works are better managed when individuals 
participate in the risk and profit, they will be better still if 
left entirely to them. 

With regard to absenteeism, it is an evil proceeding from 
insecurity and want of comfort ; it will therefore diminish, 
whenever the jealousies and discontent are removed by 
good government, when misery and prejudice have been 
surmounted by commerce. If peace and goodwill were 
disseminated, no one would abandon a good estate to 
strangers; for absenteeism is the effect rather than the 
cause of evil; nor can any law be devised against it that 
would not prove ten times more injurious than die thing 
itself; and one of the very first effects would be to force the 
Duke of Devonshire, the Marquis of Lansdown, Earl 
Fitzwilliam, and every other English proprietor, to sell their 
estates, and give up all interest in the fate of Ireland. Some 
of the Irish capital would thus be withdrawn, and the tide 
of improvement be brought to an ebb : it is true that the 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 46 

diminished profit! would all be spent at home, but little of 
it would be applied to the wants of the estate, when the 
felling off of commerce reduced the value of exertion : then 
it would be felt that, as the means derived from capital 
tend constantly to increase, those that depend on revenue 
are for ever dwindling. No ! free and mutual intercourse 
with England, competition with the more advanced portion 
of the nation, and a full participation in its advantages, can 
alone raise Ireland to the desired level. Pass laws indeed 
to prevent Englishmen from vesting their capital in Irish 
estates ! The next thing would be to banish English inven- 
tions, and English enterprise ; to exclude coal and cotton, 
and suppress steam navigation and rail-ways. We, however, 
entertain no fear of the course to be pursued : there is too 
much good sense and goodwill on either side of the Channel 
to allow of a wrong, too much intelligence and liberality 
not to adopt a right one. 

Having thus advocated what we consider the best system, 
we are ready to acknowledge that, at the outset, an approxi- 
mation to perfection may be more practicable than the 
thing itself, When the Irish fisheries were promoted in 
1819, there was more good done than harm, for the exe- 
cution of the project appears to have been confided to 
gentlemen of candour and judgment : the formation of good 
roads has also assisted the general improvement; the same 
might be expected from judicious encouragement and 
assistance to internal navigation, and communication by 
canal. Such means may be necessary for a short time, by 
way of example ; but the sooner the Irish are forced upon 
their own exertion, and to rely entirely on their own 
energies, without apprehension of jobbing, the sooner their 
amelioration will be completed : nothing but bounties, 
monopolies, and unequal rights, can indeed prevent Ireland 



46 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

from acquiring its share of the general wealth : the case 
of Mr. Bianconi's establishment at Clonmel is a striking 
proof of the power of individual enterprise : a private 
unprivileged concern like his, must rise or fall in proportion 
to its management : economy, civility, and attention, will 
keep out rivalry ; hut the moment those essentials are 
neglected, competition will supply the deficiency; and we 
have no doubt whatever, that when Government has done 
its part, the press, by affording accurate information, will 
enable individuals to do their**: and we are quite sure that 
Government will— nay, that it has already advanced in the 
right course, and. as a proof of it we refer to the following 
contrast of former and recent legislation. 

In 1605, John Cutler and William Phillips, under the 
pretext of having discovered coal mines in Ireland, claimed 
a monopoly thereof. Accordingly, James I., " minding the 
good of his realm in Ireland/' granted them "sole licence 
to dig for and sell coals in Ireland or beyond sea." 

By 18th Charles II. c 2 (1678), the importation of cattle 
from Ireland was forbidden as a common nuisance, under 
penalty of forfeiture ; by 32nd Charles II. mutton, lambs, 
butter, and cheese, were prohibited in like manner. 

By 9th and 10th William III. c. 40, other means of 
repressing the manufacture of woollen cloths in Ireland 
having failed, the exportation of fullers earth and scouring 
clay from England to .that country was prohibited (it being 
supposed that Ireland had none), and in 1698, in accordance 
with adresses from both Houses of Parliament, his majesty 
was pleased to say in reply,—" I will do all that in me lies, 
to, discourage the woollen manufacture in Ireland." The 
measures soon after enacted, completely destroyed it. 
Catholics were in those days rendered incapable of holding 
property, or of receiving education. 



GENERAL STATE OF 1HKLAND. 47 

Such was the old ay stem ! is it tM much to suppose that 
the recent abolition of those jealous instances of legislation, 
the improvements of roads under government surveyors, 
the act of 1819 for encouraging fisheries, the Catholic 
emancipation bill, the increase of the number of its Mem* 
bers of Parliament, and the active investigation of Ireland's 
sufferings and her means of improvement, evince a better 
feeling, and foretell happier days t Do not the encourage- 
ment of schools, of maps, and other means of instruction, 
the improvement of harbours, &c. denote at least a wish to 
aunt Ireland 1 In 1834, the shipments for Liverpool 
alone amounted to nearly double the whole exports of Ire- 
land in 1E00: when, in addition to this most important 
fact, we find, that in the mean time the expenses of suitors 
in the various law- courts have been reduced thirty-five per 
cent, that security of circulation, and facilities of discount 
at reduced rates have been established; that increased 
confidence is shown in the augmentation of funded de- 
posits, and a still greater increase of the value of property, 
we can neither doubt the acceleration of prosperity, nor its 
cause ; and the commercial system having at length super- 
seded one of doubt and uncertainty, we feel assured that 
it will extend;; that as experience proves the necessity of 
other means, those other means will be resorted to, and 
amongst them, the laws and customs relative to landed 
property will no doubt bo attended to, 

The following statistical notes are explanatory of some 
of the above remarks ;— 

In 1800, the official value of all Exports from Ireland was 
4^350*6*0, arid the whole of its Imports, £, 4,667 *7B4. 
In IR20, the official amounts were— Exports £.5,79ft,5 8 2, 




48 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

and the Imports £.6,395,972 ; and they have proceeded at 
an increasing rate up to the present period, as indicated by 
the following return. 

TOTAL TONNAGE, entered inwards. 

Tom. 

In 1800 764,658 

„ 1820 961,884 

„ 1834 1,6*3,291 

CLEARED OUTWARDS. 

Ton*. 
In 1834 1,378,938 

Its exports to Liverpool alone exceeded in value 
£.8,000,000. The official returns of that particular part of 
the trade were 

For 1831 £.4,497,708 

„ 1838 4,581,313 

„ 1833 7,456,602 

showing a constant increase. 

TONNAGE ON THE GRAND AND THE ROYAL CANALS. 

Tons. Tons* 

moo * /Grand 140,239 IM9 _, /Grand 227,169 

1822-3 ^Hoyjj agjgQ 1832—3 ^y^.. .. .... u\#& 

Total- . 228,426. Total- 369,142 

CATTLE EXPORTED. 

In 1770 2127 In 1820 4487 

„ 1802, only.--.. 1669 „ 1826 72,162 

besides 65,919 pigs. 

Total quantity of grain and meal of all sorts, exported to 
Great Britain in the year ending October 1833 — 2,761,635 
quarters, instead of importing as formerly. 

Another branch of produce and industry is brought to 
our notice in the return of the Malt made in Ireland, and 
having paid duty. From the year 1804 to 1817 (from 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 



49 



ctbvious causes), it averaged, without any general increase, 
about 700,000 bushels per annum; but in IS 33 it stood 
thus : 1,983,532 bushels, paying a duty of £.247,954* 

From these returns we find, that the brewers alone 
consume 1,683,285 bushels, whilst the quantity of spirits 
legally distilled for home consumption amounted in 1832 
to 8,740,139 gallons, paying a duty of £.1,365,000, for 
which 718,900 bushels of malt were required* 



SUMS RAISED AT VARIOUS PERIODS BY GRAND JURIES, 
FOR ROADS, BRIDGES, &C, 

In 1776—79 £. 14,000 In 1800 ■■■ £.487,168 

„ 1803 , . 390,998 „ 1827 838.090 

Adranced by Government from the Consolidated Fund for Irish serrfce, 
since 1800 £.6 d gs.%543 

Of this has been repaid - - 2,004,089 



GRANTS. 

For Public Works, and the Employment of the Peer ■ ■ ■ . £.3,072.160 
For the Encouragement of Manufacture* and Commerce- - 1,340,421 
To Charitable nod Literary Institutions ■ ♦-♦..►. 4.22.5, 730 

Total-- £.8^038,331 



SCHOOLS IN IRELAND. 

Kttmbtr. Scholars 

la 1812 460ft biBtxuetinR 200,000 

„ 1824--. about 11,823 ,, £€8,964 
Add School* under the New Board. 

Grants made to tho*e in operation - 709 107,042 

Ditto to tho#e who* connexion with the 

Commissioners has ceased ♦--♦,-►.♦. $j ff omitted 

Ditto to those in progress .♦.►► * 100 „ 36,804 

Total--- 712,610 



50 GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 

It is however probable, that the actual number does not 
exceed 680,000, that is, more than one-eleventh of the whole 
population, or full one-half of the children between seven 
and twelve years of age. 

SAVINGS BANKS. 

NusHber of Depositors. Amount of Deposits* 

In 1830 34,201 £. 905,056 

„ 1831 38,999 1,042,338 

„ 1832 47,753 1,178,201 

„ 1833 49,170 1,327,122 

PARTICULARS, IN .1833. 

Depositors. 

23,600 

18,9*9 

65 16 ••• 5,57» 



£. 




£. 


s. 


Under 20 and 


averaging 


7 


6 


50 


,, 


30 


2 


100 


,, 


65 


16 


150 


„ 


119 


10 


„ 200 


, t 


161 





Above 200 


,, 


244 


4 



419 

68 

Total--.. 49,170 
WHOLE AMOUNT, £.1,327,122. 

THE POST OFFICE REVENUE, 

One of the best of all proofs of improvement in commerce, 
civilization, and comfort, is equally decisive. In 1785, 
it was no more than £.5,480 ;• in' 1805 it had risen to 
4.62,260, and in 1027* to £.236,648,- and like every other 
agency, it progresses rapidly : far more so than the increase 
of the population. 

CIRCULATION OF NOTES OF THE BAN* OP IRELAND. 
February 14th, 1833 •• • £.4,389,861. 



GENERAL STATE OF IRELAND. 51 

EXTENT OF INTERNAL NAVIGATION, 

FOIL 1JOATS OK 40 TONti. 

Shannon ► " • f*» t/. j . . j . j glO 

Oilier riTera ♦ . * < * 180 

t/anu la ■ » . . . . ,,. 2BU 

Total..-* BJO 

NUMBEa OF NEWSPAPER STAMPS PAID FOB. 
From Attril IB32 to April 1833 *. < fl,71 8,600. 

fONisUMPTrON OF SOAP I U FORTH D FilOM PRlTAlN. 
fftfffotti/ 11,350,761 lbs,. or li lb. each individual |>er annum 

INURE ASK TN TWELVE YEAMS. 

lit Population, 22 J per vtixt.— of PrOpt-rtv, l Jii \*:r cw.%. 



Besides the valuable information derived from the gentle- 
men whoie evidence is mentioned in these pages, we refer 
with particular satisfaction to that of Mr- Thomas WUe t 
junior. 




GEOGRAPHICAL ACCOUNT OF 
IRELAND. 



SITUATION AND EXTENT. 

Ireland is the roost westerly of the British Islands, and 
is separated from Great Britain by a channel, which varies 
in breadth from six to forty leagues. It is situated between 
51° W and 55* 2ST N. latitude, and between 5° W and 10° 
20' W. longitude. Its greatest length from north to south 
is about 235 Irish miles, and its greatest breadth about 182. 
In the narrowest part it is not more than 98 Irish miles in 
breadth ; and so irregular is the coast, and so deep are its 
bays, that there is no place in Ireland fifty miles from the 
sea. According to Mr. Wakefield, Ireland contains 82,201 
English square miles, which are equal to 12,722,615 Irish 
acres, or to 20,437,974 English acres. The population 
amounts to 7,767,401. Its shores are mostly bristled by 
lofty rocks or hills that tend to protect the interior from 
the hurricane's fury. 

CLIMATE. 

The climate of Ireland is variable, but not subject to 
extremes either of heat or cold. The mean temperature 
of the northern part is 48° of Fahrenheit, of the centre 50°, 
and of the southern portion 52° ; rarely falling below 20°, 



GEOGRAPHICAL ACCOUNT OF IRELAND. 53 

or rising beyond 80° ; being neither so warm as London in 
summer, nor so cold hi winter. High winds are frequent, 
with proportionally little thunder or lightning. The medium 
quantity of rain which falls annually is about thirty-four 
inches. At Dublin, and along the eastern coast, it does 
not exceed twenty-five inches ; but at Cork it is thirty- 
seven, and probably along the western coast, still more. 



HARB9URS. 

Few countries are so well provided with Harbours: 
there are no less than fourteen for ships of the line, seven- 
teen for frigates, and thirty- six for coasters. Those of 
Cork, Bantry, Dungarvan, Dingle, Kinsale, Youghall, 
Waterford, Wexford, Crookhaven, Kingstown, Donagh- 
adee, Belfast, Cavlingford, and Derry, are the most 
important 

RIVERS. 

Ireland is watered by 125 rivers, which flow directly 
into the -sea, besides numerous smaller streams. Many df 
these rivers are navigable, and form excellent harbours. 

The Shannon is the principal river of Ireland. It origi- 
nates in Lough Clean, in Lei trim, -fifteen miles from Sligo, 
and, after flowing a short distance, spreads into Lough 
Allen. Beyond this Lough it becomes a considerable 
stream, and passing through two other large lakes, Lough 
Ree and Lough Derg, extends below Limerick into a vast 
estuary or firth, about sixty' miles in length, and from three 
to ten in breadth. Its extreme course has been estimated 
f 3 



54 GEOGRAPHICAL ACCOUNT 

at 230 miles, and it is nearly seven miles broad at its 
mouth. It flows from the north, towards the south-west, 
and in its progress visits the following counties: Lei trim, 
Roscommon, Galway, Clare, Longford, Westmeath, King's 
County, Tipperary, Limerick, and Kerry, receiving the 
waters of seventy- six streams, five or six of which are 
navigable. This river is navigable for ships of five hundred 
tons, as far as the pool or harbour, within a mile of the 
town, and for those of three hundred up to the quays at 
Limerick, and is afterwards, with the assistance of a canal, 
navigable for small vessels* to Shannon Harbour, near 
Banagher, where it is joined by the Grand Canal from 
Dublin, and above for boats. 

The Barrow has its rise in the Slieve Bloom mountains, 
and in the bog of Allen, and flows south by A thy, Carlow, 
and New Ross, into Waterford Harbour. Its whole course 
is about one hundred miles, and in its progress it receives 
the Nore and the Suir. It is navigable from A thy to the 
sea, a distance of sixty-eight miles. Its scenery is beautiful. 

The Blackwaler, or Broadwater, rises in a bog near Castle 
Island, in Kerry, and flowing due east for about fifty 
miles, arrives at Cappoquin ; thence it turns to the south, 
and, proceeding about fifteen miles, falls into the sea at 
Youghal Bay. It is navigable from the sea to Cappoquin, 
and every where is skirted by fine prospects. 

The Nore rises in the Slieve Bloom mountains, and 
taking a south-east course, flows through the central part 
of Kilkenny. It then unites with the Barrow, two miles 
above New Ross, and thirty miles from the sea, from whfch 
place to Ihistioge it is navigable. 



OF IRELAND, 35 

The Suir rises in the north-east part of Tipperary, and 
passing by the town of Clonmell, separates the counties of 
Tipporary and Kilkenny from that of Waterford. In its 
progress it receives the Barrow. It is navigable for small 
vessels from Waterford Harbour to ClonmelL Its shores 
afford delightful prospects. 

The Slam\ or Slaney, rises in the south-west corner of 
Wicklow, and flowing through the counties of Carlow and 
Wexford, enters the sea at the town of Wexford. It is 
navigable for barges from Wexford to Enuiscorthy. 

The Ban, or Btmna, rises in the Mourn e mountains in 
Down, and soon becomes a stream of considerable size. It 
passes Portadown, where it is joined by the Newry canal, 
and, a short distance farther, falls into Lough Neagh, after 
a course of 30 miles. Thence it issues in a north-west 
direction, dividing the counties of Antrim and London- 
derry, and enters the sea near Coletaine. Its whole course 
is about ninety miles. The bleach grounds on its hanks 
are very extensive, though, owi ng to the adoption of chemical 
means that greatly reduce the time required for bleaching, 
they appear rather diminished than increased. 

The Bayne rises in Kildare, and, passing through Meath, 
and along the south border of Louth, enters the sea near 
Droghcda. Its course is about fifty miles. 

The Foi/le flows through the counties of Tyrone, Don- 
egal, and Londonderry ; it passes by the town of London^ 
deny t about four miles beyond which it forms a considerable 
estuary, called Lough Foyle. 




56 GEOGRAPHICAL ACCOUNT 

The Liffey is a river of inconsiderable size, but derives 
importance from being that on which the capital of Ireland 
is situated. It rises in Wicklow, about ten miles from 
Dublin. Mr. Robinson's iron-works and steam-engine 
manufactory are on the Liffey. 

The Bandon rises in the mountains of Carberry, and, 
passing Dunmanway, arrives at Inisheen. After passing 
Bandon, it proceeds to Inisbannon, near which it becomes 
navigable, and thence to Kinsale. 



CANALS. 

The Grand Canal commences at Dublin, and proceeds by 
Shannon Harbour, near Banagher, to Ballinaaloe. A branch 
proceeds by Portarlington to Athy, where it joins the 
Barrow. The tonnage on this canal in 1822 was 140,000, 
and in 1838, it had increased to 227,000. 

The Royal Canal commences at Dublin, and, passing by 
Mullingar, joins the Shannon near Lanesborough. These* 
canals convey corn and turf to the capital. They are- 
shallow in dry seasons. The conveyance by this canal was,, 
in 1822, only 88,000 tons, but in 1833 it amounted to, 
227,000. 

The Newry Canal, which extends along the west side of 
Down, connects Carlingford Bay with Lough Neagh, and 
affords a mode of conveyance for fuel from the Tyrone 
Collieries. This Canal is navigable for vessels of sixty 
tons. 



OF IRELAND. ©7 

The Balinculoe Canal, which extendi seven miles from 
the Shannon to that town, is a continuation of the Grand 
Canal. 

LAKES. 

The lakes, or loughs of Ireland are numerous, and some 
of them extensive. The term Lough is synonimous with 
the Scottish Loch, and is sometimes applied to an estuary, 
or to an inlet of the sea, such as the Foyle, the Swilly, 
Belfast Lough, Lough Strangford, &c 

Lough Erne, a remarkably fine expanse of fresh water, 
is composed of two lakes; one twelve miles long by 
eight, the other eight by four : both renowned for their 
beauty. The southern portion is connected with the 
northern by a narrow outlet about four miles in length. 

Lough Neagh, which is twenty-two miles in length, and 
twelve in breadth, is situated between the counties of 
Antrim, Londonderry, Tyrone, Armagh, and Down. Among 
the lakes of Europe it is next in expanse to that of Geneva. 

Lough Corrib, in Galway, is eighteen miles in length, and 
from six to eight in breadth. 

The other lakes of Ireland are Lough Ree, between Ros- 
common and Longford; Lough Derg, between Tipperary 
and Galway; the Lakes of KiUarney, in Kerry, so cele- 
brated for their scenery ; Lough Allen, in Leitrim ; Lough 
Oughter, in Cavan ; Lough Conn, in Mayo, &c. &c 

By far the greatest portion of the lakes lie in Ulster and 
in Connaught; for, if a line were drawn from Belfast to 
Bantry, the whole of them, almost without exception, would 
be found on the north-west side of such line. 



58 GEOGRAPHICAL ACCOUNT 



SOIL AND BOGS. 

Ireland does not afford much variety of soil, but the pre- 
vailing character of the surface is stony in the north and 
east : much of the central and south-western districts con- 
sist of a dry, mellow, sandy loam, or limestone. The stones 
which appear on the surface are generally calcareous, but 
do not injure the fertility of the land, its natural quality 
being considered superior to that of England, and well 
suited to its moist climate. 

The bogs of Ireland are said to occupy 2,900,000 acres, 
viz, 1,570,000, flat red bog, which is considered reclaimable 
for the plough; and 126,000 tops of hills, capable of plan- 
tation. The remaining 1,200,000 would not be available 
to cultivation. They are generally situated far above the 
level of the sea, and have usually an inequality of surface, 
which distinguishes them from the marshes of England. 
Their only produce is heath, bog myrtle, rushes, and sedgy 
grass ; the latter makes durable thatch, and -the moss is 
employed for fuel and manure. The black turf yields many 
ashes when burnt, but the red scarcely any. Various con- 
jectures as to their origin have been made, but «one have 
yet appeared conclusive. 

MOUNTAINS. 

The country is divided from the north-east to the south- 
west by a ridge, which gives rise to several rivers. The Irish 
hills generally form short lines, or detached groups. One 
group, of considerable elevation, appears on the west and 
south of the Lakes of Killarney, the principal of which is 
Mc. Gillicuddy's Reeks, 3390 feet high, 600 more than 



OP IRELAND. 59 

Mangerton. A small line of hills extends on the north-west 
of Ban try Bay, and passes to the east, tinder the name of the 
Shehy Mountains. To the north of this is the line of 
Sliblogher and Nagles, followed by the Galtee mountains ; 
and towards the east are those of Knockendown, which bend 
southwards as they approach Dungarvan Bay* South of Tra- 
lee is a small chain, and to the north-east of it is a small 
group. These comprise all the mountains of Munster. 

In the province of Leinster are, Leinster Mountain, the 
Slieve Bloom Range, and the Killure or Wicklow Moun- 
tains. The last form a group about thirty miles long and 
twelve broad, to the south of Dublin. The -highest is not 
much above 2000 feet high. 

In the south-east corner of Ulster are the mountains of 
Mourne, the principal of which is Mount Donard, 2810 
feet high. The Slieve Croob range forms tbe centre of the 
county of Down, and several hills are scattered over the east 
portion of Antrim. To the north-west of Lough Neagh are 
*he mountains of Carntogher and Slieve Gallon, and north- 
west of Lough Foyle is Slieve Snaght, from which other 
lines and groups extend towards Lough Erne. 

The eastern portion of Connaught presents but few 
mountains except those of Baughta, but the western side 
is one of the most mountainous regions. in Ireland. The 
principal eminences are, Knockna Mu'trea, 2729 feet high; 
€roagh-Patrick, south-east of Clew Bay, which rises 2666 
feet above the leVe) of the sea ; Mount Nephin, in Mayo, 
2639 ; the Eerriamobr Mountains north of; Loagh Mask, 
and the Twelve Pins near Ballinahinch. 

CIVIL DIVISIONS. 

Ireland is divided into four provinces, — namely, Ulste* 
to the north, Connaught to the west, Leinster to the east; 
and Munster to the south ; and these are subdivided into 



60 GEOGRAPHICAL ACCOUNT 

32 counties. The counties are again divided into 266 
baronies, and these into 2436 parishes. 

The Province of Ulster comprises the nine Counties of 

Antrim Fermanagh 

Armagh Londonderry 

Cavan Monaghan 

Donegal Tyrone. 
Down 

The Province of Connaught contains the five Counties of 

Galway Roscommon 

Leitrim Sligo. 

Mayo 

The Province of Leinster comprehends the twelve 
Counties of 



Carlow 


Louth 


Dublin 


Meath 


Kildare 


Queen's County 


Kilkenny 


West Meath 


King's County 


Wexford 


Longford 


Wicklow. 



The Province of Munster comprises the six Counties of 

Clare Limerick 

Cork Tipperary 

Kerry Waterford. 

These counties send each two members to the Imperial 
Parliament, viz. 64 members ; the electors thereof amount 
to 60,607 ; and for 34 cities and boroughs, 41 members 
are elected by 31,545. Totals, 105 members by 90,265 
electors. 



OF IRELAND. 



61 



ECCLESIASTICAL DIVISIONS. 

Ireland comprises four Archbishopricks, and fourteen 

Bishopricks. 

fClogher, 

Under the Archbishop of Ar- 
magh, who is styled the Lord 
Primate and Metropolitan of 
all Ireland, are the Bishops 
of 



Deny and Raphoe, 

Down and Connor, 

Dromore, 

Kilmore, 

Meath, and Clonmacnoise. 



Under the Arohbishop of Cashel 
are the Bishops of 



Under the Archbishop of Dub- C F ern8 an< i Leighlin, 
lin, who is styled the LordJ Kildare, 
Primate of Ireland, are the I Ossory. 
Bishops of 

fCloyne, 
Cork and Ross, 
1 Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clon- 
fert and Kilmacduagh, 
| Limerick, Ardfert, and 
Aghadae. 

Under the Archbishop of Tuam /Elphin, Killala, and 
is the Bishop of \ Achonry. 

Ireland contains 1456 benefices, and the revenues of the 
establishment amount to 731,0002. The Catholics have 
also an hierarchy, nearly similar to that of the Protestants : 
the number of their priests is 1994. There are also 839 
Presbyterian ministers, and 145 others. The income of 
the Dissenting clergy, including Roman Catholics, Presby- 
terians, and others, is supposed to be about 264,000/., of 
which sum, 15,000/. is granted by Government to the 
Presbyterians. 

a 



PASSAGE TO IRELAND. 



It may be useful to point out the various modes of 
proceeding from Great Britain to Ireland. 

From London, there are steam vessels to Dublin once or 
twice a week, touching at Plymouth and Falmouth, and 
usually performing the voyage in eighty hours. 

If, however, the travelled object to so long a sea voyage, 
he may proceed direct from London to Holyhead, through 
Coventry, Birmingham, Shrewsbury, and Bangor, 260 
miles; and thence cross the Channel- to. -Dublin, .-the 
distance is about 68 miles. The steam vessels, which 
start every morning, generally perform the voyage in six 
or seven. hours. _ -, 

Another mode is to go, from London to Liverpool, by 
Manchester and the Railway, 218 miles, and thence to 
Dublin. The distance across the Channel is about 126 
miles; and the steam .vessels generally make, the trip in 
fourteen hours. . . ,-.•. 

A fourth method is to embark 4k Bristol, which is 119 
miles from London. The distance from.thi* city to Dublin 
is about 220 miles ; and the passage by the steam vessels 
is never .effected in less than- treaty-four hour*. ( 

Persona in Scotland, who object to, a long voyage, may 
cross the Channel from Portpatrick to Donaghadee r the 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 61 

distance being only 23 miles. Four steam packets are 
constantly employed here, performing the voyage in two 
or three hours. 

There are also steam vessels from Glasgow to Belfast 
The distance is about 120 miles, and the voyage generally 
occupies fourteen or fifteen hours,- 

From Bristol there are steam vessels to Cork two or 
three times a week. The distance is about 230 miles, and 
the trip k accomplished in about thirty hours. 

There are also steam packets daily from Milford Haven, 
which is 256 miles from London, to Waterford. The' dis- 
tance is about 84 miles; and the voyage occupies from 
eight to twelve hours, according to the weather. 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

Dublin, the metropolis of Ireland, the chief town of 
the county* of the same name, in' the province of Leinster, 
is situated on the eastern coast of that country, in lat 
53° 21' N., and long. 6° 15' W. It is about a mile from 
the Bay of Dublin, a semicircular basin eight miles in 
diameter, celebrated for the beauty of its shores, and said 
to bear a considerable resemblance to the Bay of Naples. 
The north side of the harbour is sheltered by the HOI of 
Howth, on which there is a light-house, and the entrance 
to the city is defended by extensive moles. 

South of the town is seen, at a short distance beyond, gently 
rising meadows and pleasure grounds, a beautiful range of 
hills, of varied shape and considerable magnitude, which 
traverses the county of Wicklow, and bounds the coast 
running south-east from the city. To the north-east, the 



84 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

low. lands skirting tbe sea coast, leading to the fine promon- 
tory of Howth Head on the right hand, are covered with 
innumerable vistas of luxuriant trees, and appear like 
a continued wood, with a church tower, or a stately man- 
sion here and there rising above the foliage. 

The City of Dublin occupies a circular area of about three 
miles in diameter, and contains two Cathedrals, nineteen 
Churches, several Chapels of Ease, numerous Roman 
Catholic Chapels, a Calvinist's Church, a Danish and a 
Dutch Lutheran Chapel, a Synagogue, various Chapels 
of Presbyterians, Methodists, Baptists, Moravians, and 
Quakers, and several Roman Catholic Monastic Institu- 
tions. The number of inhabitants amounts to 204,155. 
The original name was Eblana: it is so called by Ptolemy, 
who wrote in the year a. d. 140. 

The river Liffey divides Dublin into two nearly equal 
portions, which may be denominated the north and south 
divisions. On the south side of the river is the old 
town, including the Castle, the Exchange, the Cathedrals, 
the Bank, formerly the Parliament House, and Trinity 
College, Stephen's Green, Merrion Square, Fitzwilliam 
Square, and the Mansion House. 

On the north of the Liffey is a regularly-built new 
town, of superior beauty and magnificence, including the 
Four Courts, the Post Office, Nelson's Pillar, and the 
Custom House ; in the northern quarter also are the 
Lying-in Hospital, the Royal Academy, the Rotunda, the 
House of Industry and Royal Barracks, Rutland Square, 
Mountjoy Square, Sackville Street, and some of the chief 
avenues of the metropolis. It is the residence of many of 
the nobility and gentry, and its best streets are not inter- 
sected by close lanes and small ancient houses, like those 
of the southern division. 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 65 

The Liffey is bounded on both sides by broad quays, 
which tend greatly to promote the beauty of the city, the 
purity of the air, and the health and comfort of the inha- 
bitants. They are constructed of granite, and beginning 
at Ringsend Point, where the river falls into die Bay, 
extend for a space of three miles. At Ringsend Point, the 
Dodder meets the Liffey as.it falls into the sea. Across 
the river are seven handsome stone bridges, and one of 
cast iron, besides Sarah Bridge, a little above the town. 

Two canals, the Royal and the Grand, which extend to 
the interior of Ireland, nearly surround Dublin, and ter- 
minate in docks on each side of the Liffey. They are 
navigable for barges, of sixty tons, and contribute- to the 
supply of the Dublin markets. 

The Corporation of Dublin consists of the Lord Mayor, 
twenty-four Aldermen, tw* Sheriffs, thirty-three Sheriff's 
Peers, who are members', for- Hfe, and ninety-six Common 
Councilraen, who are. the representatives of twenty*five 
guilds. It is divided into Mo parts, — the Board of Alder- 
men, of which the Lord Mayor is president; and the 
Commons, consisting of the.SherifTa Peers and Common 
Counciknen, over which the Sheriffs for the year preside. 
The Lord Mayor's jurisdiction extends over the eityahd 
a portion of the Bay. He tries all offenders in this city, 
except for murder! and treason;/ and also civil suits, for 
sums less* than twenty founds. The. city assembly-house 
is in William Street .. 

The Police Establishment consists of twelve Magistrates, 

four of whom are Aldermen, four Sheriff's Peers, and 

four Barristers ; eight of them, are selected by Government, 

and the other four. by the Common Council. There are. 

a 3 



66 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

also thirty Horse Patrole, 100 Foot Patrole, and 543 
Watchmen. 

The head police office is in Exchange Court; but 
there are three others, at Arran's Quay, College Street, 
and Henry Street 

DUBLIN CASTLE 

Is the chief residence of His Excellency the Lord Lieu- 
tenant of Ireland, and of the Irish Secretary. The Privy 
Council, when summoned by the Lord Lieutenant, meets 
in a council-chamber, above the archway, in the Upper 
Castle-yard In this Castle His Excellency holds his 
court and his levees. Here also two balls are given an- 
nually ; on the King's birth-day, and on St Patrick's Day. 
The Lord Lieutenant's household and guard includes a 
colonel and company of battle-axes, who do duty on state 
days in the apartments of the Castle ; a body-guard of 
horse, and a captain and company of foot soldiers. The 
Lord Lieutenant, besides his Chief Secretary, has a private 
Secretary, a Comptroller, Chamberlain, Gentleman Usher, 
Master of the Horse, Gentlemen of the Chamber, four 
Pages, eight Aides-de-Camp, and twenty-four Chaplains. 

The Castle was commenced in 1205, by Meyler Fitz- 
henry, a natural son of Henry II., and finished in 1220, 
by Henry de Loundres, Archbishop of Dublin, but did not 
become the Vice-Regal residence till the reign of Elizabeth. 
It is divided into two courts or yards, the upper con- 
taining the apartments of the Lord Lieutenant and his 
suite, and the Bedford tower; and the lower, the Trea- 
sury, Chapel, Ordnance Office, &c. The principal en- 
trance is from Cork Hill, and consists of a lofty arch, 
called the East Gate, over which is a statue of Justice. 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. «7 

The upper castle-yard is a quadrangle, 280 feet by 130, 
having on its north side a building of the Ionic order, 
crowned with a Corinthian tower and cupola. On one 
side of this building is the eastern gate already mentioned; 
and on the other is a corresponding archway, surmounted 
by a statue of Fortitude. The colonnade on the opposite 
side of the quadrangle leads to the vice regal apartments, 
behind which are the castle gardens. The presence 
chamber is fitted up with crimson velvet, and adorned with 
a splendid lustre. 

St. Patrick's hall is a noble room, 82 feet long, 41 broad, 
and 38 high. On its ceiling are three paintings, repre- 
senting George III. supported by Liberty and Justice ; the 
Conversion of the Druids by St Patrick t and the Submis- 
sion of the Kings of Ireland to Henry II. 

The chapel in the lower castle-yard is a beautiful edifice, 
of Gothic architecture, designed by Mr. Johnston, and com* 
pleted in 1814, at an expense of 40,000/. It consists of a 
simple choir, 73 feet long, and 35 broad, and has a ceiling 
of groined arches, supported by beautiful pillars. The 
east window is adorned with stained glass, representing 
Christ before Pilate, and the Four Evangelists. The 
front of the gallery and the pulpit are ornamented with 
carving. 

At the west end of the chapel is a circular edifice, called 
the Record Tower, the most ancient part of the Castle. 
It is connected with the Birmingham tower by a portion of 
the original city-wall. The Ordnance Office and the 
Treasury are also in the lower castle-yard. 

THE UNIVERSITY, OR TRINITY COLLEGE. 

This is the only Protestant college in Ireland, and by its 
immense endowments, one of the richest in Europe. It 



6» DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

was- originally projected in 1311, but did not -flourish till 
the reign of -Elizabeth, from whom Archbishop Usher 
obtained its charter.. Dr. Adam Loftus, Archbishop of 
Dublin, was the first provost, and Usher, Chaloner, and 
M oyne, were the first fellows. The establishment consists 
of a Chancellor, Vice-chancellor, Provost, Vice-Provost, 
twenty-four Fellows, five King's Professors of Divinity, 
Common Law, Civil Law, Physic, and Greek ; and about 
1600 students. There are also professors and lecturers in 
each department of science and literature, on the founda- 
tions of Erasmus Smyth and Archbishop King, and on the 
foundation of Archbishop Whately, a professor of political 
economy. The college lias the patronage of nineteen 
valuable livings,, to which the fellows who choose to accept 
them are appointed by seniority. The fellows are elected 
from the graduates, after an examination distinguished by 
a severity surpassing that at any other college. 

The buildings of the University are extensive and hand- 
some^ and consist of three squares. The principal front, 
which is of the Corinthian order, is towards College Green, 
and is 300 feet in length. An octagon vestibule leads to 
the Parliament Square, a quadrangle 316 feet by 212, built 
entirely of hewn stone. On the north side is the chapel, 
adorned with a portico, consisting of four Corinthian 
columns, supporting a pediment: the chancel is 80 feet 
long, exclusive of a recess at its extremity, 40 feet broad, 
and, 44 high. On the south side, corresponding in dimen- 
sions and external appearance, is the theatre, or examina- 
tion hall, ornamented with portraits of Queen Elizabeth, 
Archbishops Usher and King, Bishop Berkeley, W. Moly- 
neux, Esq., Dean Swift, Dr. Baldwin, and Mr. Speaker 
Forster. It contains a handsome monument, executed by 
Hewetson, in memory of Provost Baldwin, who left 80,000/. 
to the university ; also a fine organ presented by Queen 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 69 

Elizabeth, and said to have been taken from the Spanish 
Armada. 

Between the Parliament Square and the Library Square 
is the refectory, which is 70 feet long, 35 broad, and 35 
high. It is hung with portraits of Frederick Prince of 
Wales, Provost Baldwin, Archbishop Cox, Grattan, Flood, 
Hussey Burgh, Lord Avonmore, Lord Kilwarden, and 
Lord Downes. 

The Library Square is 265 feet in length, and 214 in 
breadth ; three sides of it are built of brick, but the fourth, 
containing the library, is of stone. This noble apartment 
is 210 feet in length, 40 in breadth, and 40 in height; and 
ie adorned with numerous busts. The number of volumes 
amounts to 150,000, in addition to which there is a second 
apartment, -called the Fagel Library, containing 20,000 
volumes, and over it a manuscript room. 

East of the Library Square is the College Park, com* 
prising about 20 acres. It contains a bowling-green and 
tennis-courts. To the right of the entrance to the park 
are the anatomical rooms and chemical laboratory, con- 
taining some very curious preparations and skeletons. 
Amongst the latter are M'Grath, the Iristi giant, Clarke, 
the ossified man of Cork, an entire whale, &c. There are 
also some wax models of the human figure. 

Opposite the anatomical rooms is the university printing 
office, and on the south side of the college, towards Grafton 
Street, stands the provost's house, erected from designs by 
the Earl of Burlington. 

North of the Library Square is the third quadrangle, 
called Botany Bay, the stone front of which, towards New 
Brunswick Street, is 270 feet in length. The museum, 
which occupies the centre of the main building, is 60 feet 
in length, and 40 in breadth ; it contains a large collection 



70 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

of minerals, curiosities from the South Sea Islands, a model 
of the Giant's Causeway, an antique Irish harp, &c &c 

STATUE OF WILLIAM III. 

Opposite to Trinity College, in College Green, stands a 
brass equestrian statue of William III., erected in 1700, in 
commemoration of the Revolution of 1688. The pedestal 
is of granite, and is decorated with trophies. 

THE BANK OF IRELAND, 

Formerly the parliament house, is situated in College 
Green, and is celebrated for ife elegant architecture. 
It is of a semicircular form, and occupies about an acre 
and a half. The first stone of the parliament house was 
laid in 1729, by Lord Carteret, the Lord Lieutenant, and 
the edifice was finished in 1789, from designs by Sir E. L. 
Pearce. This, however, being found too small, the east 
front was added in 1785, from designs by Mr. Gandon ; 
and in 1787, the west front was designed and executed by 
Mr. Park; and latterly a large sum has been expended in 
improving and strengthening it. 

The principal front, 147 feet in length, is a grand Ionic 
colonnade, forming three sides of a quadrangular court- 
yard, and resting on a floor, which is approached by a 
flight of steps. In the centre is a portico, adorned with the 
royal arms and statues of Hibernia, Fidelity, and Com- 
merce. The entrances from the street are formed by lofty 
archways on each side. The east front, towards College 
Street, presents a Corinthian portico, of six columns, on 
which are statues of Fortitude, Justice, and Liberty. The 
west front, towards Foster Place, has a portico of four 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 71 

columns, of the Ionic order ; and contiguous to it is a 
guard house, built from designs by Mr. Kirk. 

The interior of the bank, corresponds with the beauty 
of the external elevation, and the various, apartment* are 
well adapted to the purposes intended. , The. eash office, 
built by Mr Johnston, is a noble apartment, 70 feet loog, 
and 50 broad, crowned by a lofty lantern* and surrounded 
by fluted pillars of .the Ionic .order. The court of. proT 
prietors, formerly the house of lords, contains a statue of 
George III., by Bacon, junior; a bust of. the Duke of 
Wellington) by Turnerelli; and two pieces, of Dutch 
tapestry, representing die battle of the Boyne, and the 
siege of Londonderry. One of the apartments is occupied 
as an armoury, and in a room next to it is a. model of the 
bank, executed by Mr. Doolittle. The mashicery in the 
bank printing office, invented by Mr. Oldham, for the for- 
mation of bank-notes, and the prevention of forgery, is 
remarkably curious and extensive. 

The Bank of Ireland was incorporated in 1783 ; it has. a 
governor, deputy governor, and .fifteen directors. , The 
cash and bullion offices are open every day from ten to 
three. ,••.;.,. 

The other banks in Dublin are, Latouche's, in Castle 
Street;. Hibernian hank, in Castle Street; Ball and Co.'s, 
in Henry Street; Sir Robert Shaw and Qq*% in Foste* 
Place ; and Boyle, Low, and Pirn's, in College Green. 

THE ROYAL EXCHANGE. 

, This elegant structure occupies a conspicuous situation 
on , Cork Hill, near the castle. . It was <commenpe4 in 
1769, from designs by Mr. Cooley, and completed in .ten 



72 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

years. It forms a quadrangle of 100 feet, surmounted by 
a dome, and has three fronts, all of Portland stone. The 
north, or principal front, exhibits a portico of six Corin- 
thian columns, the entablature being continued along the 
other fronts, all of which are adorned with pilasters of the 
Corinthian order, and are surmounted by a balustrade. 

The interior of the Exchange is a rotunda, formed by 
twelve fluted Corinthian columns, 32 feet in height, and 
crowned by a dome, richly ornamented with stucco. In 
this room is a statue of George III., by Van Nost, pre- 
sented to the city by the Earl of Northumberland ; and 
on the staircase leading to the court of commissioners for 
bankrupts, and to the exchange coffee room, is a statue 
of Dr. Lucas, the patriotic representatiYe of Dublin in the 
Irish parliament, executed by E. Smyth. 

THE COMMERCIAL BUILDINGS 

Were erected in 1798, by a company of merchants, the 
Royal Exchange not being deemed sufficiently convenient 
for mercantile pursuits. They are situated on the north 
side of Dame Street, and form a handsome but simple edi- 
fice, comprising a spacious and lofty hall, an assurance and 
notary-public's office, an excellent coffee room, a stock 
exchange, and an hotel 

THE CORN EXCHANGE, 

On Burgh quay, is a handsome stone structure, containing 
a hall, 130 feet in length, surrounded by ambulatories, both 
being furnished with tables for the exhibition of samples of 
corn. 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 73 



THE POST OFFICE 

Is a superb stone edifice, situated in Sackville Street, 
and designed by Mr. Jobnston. The first stone was laid 
by Lord Whitworth, in 1814, and the building was com- 
pleted in 1818, at an expense of 50,000/. The front is 
220 feet in length, and in the centre is a noble portico, 
consisting of six fluted Ionic columns, supporting a pedi- 
ment with the royal arms. Over the pediment are statues 
of Mercury, Hibernia, and Fidelity, executed by J. Smyth. 
The interior is commodiously laid out : in the board room 
is a marble bust of Lord Whitworth, by Smyth. 

The establishment of a. separate post office for Ireland 
was first formed in 1784, under the government of two 
post-masters general ; and there are now upwards of 600 
places in Ireland at which this office delivers letters. The 
penny post, established in 1770, is also conducted in this 
building. Letters are delivered within the metropolis four 
times a day for one penny : the charge for those beyond 
the canals is twopence. Mail-coaches were first used here 
in 1790, six years after their introduction in England. 
They leave the post office gv c ty evening at seven o'clock 
and on Sundays at six, as no Irish letters are sent on that 
day. The London mail is dispatched every evening at six, 
and the Liverpool at four, p»nu 

NELSON'S MONUMENT 

Stands immediately opposite to the post office. It con- 
sists of a fluted Ionic column, erected in 1808, from designs 
by Wilkins, and surmounted by a colossal statue of Lord 
Nelson, 14 feet in height, executed by Kirk, when a pupil 

H 



74 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

in the Royal Dublin Society's Academy. On the pedestal 
are inscribed the names of Trafalgar, Vincent, Nile, and 
Copenhagen, with the dates of those actions. The entire 
height is 184 feet. 

THE ROTUNDA, 

At the end of Sackville Street, is an elegant circular 
building, in which concerts and assemblies are held. It 
comprises a great room, 80 feet in diameter, and 40 in 
height ; a card room, and a tea room, each 56 feet by 24 ; 
a ball room, 86 feet by 40 ; exhibition rooms, &c. The 
profits accruing from this establishment are devoted to the 
support of the lying-in hospital. 

THE CUSTOM HOUSE 

Is situated on Eden Quay, on, the north bank of the 
Liffey, near Carlisle Bridge, and is justly ranked as the 
second building in Dublin as to architectural appearance. 
It was commenced in 1781, from designs by Mr. Gandon, 
and was completed in ten years, at an expense of 260,000/. 
This magnificent edifice is 375 feet in length, and 200 
in depth, and has four fronts, all of stone. In the centre 
of the principal or south front, is a portico, consisting of 
four massive Doric columns, supporting a pediment, in 
which are represented Hibernia and Britannia embracing, 
and holding the emblems of Peace and Liberty, the whole 
executed in bold relief by J. Smyth. On the attic story 
are. four statues of Navigation, Commerce, Industry, and 
Wealth, by T. Banks. Above the portico rises a noble 
dome^ 26 feet in diameter, crowned by a statue of Hope, 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 75 

the head of which is 125 feet from the ground. The other 
fronts are handsome, but not so splendid as the principal. 

The only objects of the interior entitled to a stranger's 
attention, are the grand staircase, which is curiously con- 
structed, and the long room, a noble apartment 70 feet by 
65, the arched ceiling of which is supported by a range of 
composite columns. 

East of the custom house are extensive wet docks, and 
the King 1 a tobacco warehouse, a building of immense size, 
designed by Rennie. Its length is 500, and its breadth 
160 feet The- roof, the lanterns, and the pillars are of 
metal. 

THE FOUR COURTS. 

The present magnificent Courts of Law are situated on 
King's Inn's Quay, and occupy the site of the Friary of 
St Saviour, founded by William Mareschall, Earl of Pem- 
broke, in 1202. The first stone was laid by the Duke of 
Rutland in 1786, and the building was completed in twelve 
years. Mr. Cooley gave the design for it, but on his 
decease, Mr. Gandon undertook the superintendence. 

The front is 450 feet long, and the buildings are 170 
feet in depth. The great portico facing the river consists 
of six Corinthian columns supporting a massive pediment, 
above which are statues of Moses, Justice, and Mercy. At 
the corners of this portion of the edifice are two other 
statues of Wisdom and Authority. The wings are sepa- 
rated from the centre by large square areas, in front of 
which are arched screens, continuing the facade in a right 
line. 

In the centre of the building is the hall, a rotunda 64 
feet in diameter, from which the Courts of Chancery, 



76 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

King's Bench, Common Pleas, Exchequer, and Rolls Court, 
diverge, forming the sides of a square. The intervals 
between the courts are occupied by retiring rooms, jury 
rooms, &c. The upper part of the rotunda is a circular 
lantern, lighted by twelve windows, and ornamented with 
twenty-four fluted columns of the Corinthian order, the 
whole surmounted by a dome with a mosaic ceiling. On 
the panels over the entrances to the courts are basso- 
relievos, representing William I. instituting Norman courts ; 
John signing Magna Charta ; Henry II. granting a charter 
to the people of Dublin; and James I. abolishing, the 
Brehon laws, and granting a general amnesty. Above the 
roof of the hall, but beneath the external cupola, is the 
record chamber. 

There are several apartments underground, one of 
which is a coffee room. 



THE KING'S INNS. 

The Society of King's Inns assumed that appellation in 
1542, but the present edifice, at the end of Henrietta 
Street, was not erected till the close of the eighteenth cen- 
tury. The society had previously occupied premises where 
the Four Courts now stand. The front is of hewn stone, 
and presents a centre and two wings, which extend 110 
feet in depth. The central building is surmounted by a 
beautiful octangular cupola, beneath which is a lofty gateway 
with the royal arms. 

The King's Inns contain the record office, where wills 
and testamentary papers are deposited. The Prerogative 
Court occupies the south wing, and in the north is the 
dining room, containing a portrait of Lord Chancellor 
Manners. The library, which is over the ante-hall, pos- 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 77 

sesses a valuable collection of law books, as well as some 
curious MSS. 



THE ROYAL DUBLIN SOCIETY HOUSE 

Is situated in Kildare Street, and was formerly the town 
residence of the Duke of Leinster. The front, which is 
of the Corinthian order, is handsome, and behind the 
building is a lawn opening to Merrion Square. The hall 
is a lofty apartment, adorned with a copy of the Belvidere 
Apollo, and leads to the board room, news room, &c. 
On the next story is the library, containing about 12,000 
volumes, and a considerable number of MSS. The museum 
is disposed in six rooms on the same floor; it contains a 
very extensive collection of minerals* classified according to 
Werner, and numerous specimens of natural history, as 
well as some models. The chemical laboratory contains a 
valuable apparatus, and lectures are delivered here annually. 

The Dublin Society originated in 1781, and was entirely 
supported by the subscriptions of Dr. Madan, Dr. Prior, 
and a few other scientific gentlemen, till 1742, when it was 
incorporated as the Dublin Society for improving Husbandry 
and other useful Arts. It is governed by a president and 
six vice-presidents, and has a professor of botany and 
agriculture, of chemistry, of mineralogy and geology, 
and a lecturer on natural and experimental philosophy. 
There are also drawing masters for ornament and land- 
scape, the figure, architecture, sculpture, a librarian, 
gardener, &c. 

The society's botanic garden is at Glassnevin, about a 
mile from Dublin, where the traveller may spend a morning 
with much gratification, and where the botanic lectures are 
delivered during the summer, free to the public. 
h 3 



78 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

At the society house there is an annual exhibition of 
articles of Irish manufacture of all kinds, and premiums 
are awarded for the best articles exhibited. There is also 
an annual exhibition of live stock. This society has done 
much for Ireland, and is continuing to increase its usefulness 
in every department. 

The various departments of this valuable institution are 
open to the public on the following days : — 

The Museum, on Tuesday and Friday, from twelve to 
three ; the Statuary Rooms, on Wednesday and Saturday, 
from twelve to three; the Botanic Garden, Glassnevin, 
on Tuesday and Friday, from twelve to four. Parliament 
grants, 5300/. per annum. 

THE THEATRE ROYAL 

Is situated in Hawkins' Street, on the site of the Dublin 
Society's old house. It was built in 1821, by Mr. Harris, 
from designs by Mr. Beazeley. The front consists of a 
rusticated basement iu the form of an arcade, above which 
are columns and pilasters of the Ionic and Doric orders. 
The interior is well constructed, and tastefully ornamented. 

THE MANSION HOUSE 

Is an ancient edifice in Dawson Street, forming the 
residence of the Lord Mayor. The exterior is by no 
means prepossessing, but the interior presents several 
good apartments, the principal of which are, the round 
room, built expressly for the reception of his Majesty 
George IV. in 1821 ; the ball room, adorned with several 
portraits, amongst which are those of the Dukes of Cum- 
berland and Richmond, by Sir T. Lawrence ; the drawing 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 79 

room, containing several portraits ; and the sheriff's room, 
also ornamented with paintings. 

On a lawn, to the left of the mansion house, is an 
equestrian statue of George I, which formerly stood on 
Essex Bridge. 

THE LINEN AND YARN HALL 

Is situated in Linen-hall Street, and is the grand mart for 
the staple manufacture of Ireland. It covers three acres 
of ground, and contains nearly 600 apartments, in which 
linens and yarns are deposited. In the centre of the Linen 
Hall is a full-length statue of King George IV., in his 
robes, in marble, by Kirk, 7 feet in height, erected by 
subscription of the linen factors, in commemoration of the 
King's visit to the Hall in 1821. 

THE SESSIONS HOUSE 

Is situated in Green Street, and was built in 1797. The 
front is adorned with six columns supporting a pediment. 
The interior forms a lofty and spacious court, furnished 
with a gallery for the public. The quarter-sessions are 
opened by the Lord Mayor, who goes in procession for. 
the purpose. 

THE STAMP OFFICE, 

Formerly the residence of Viscount Powerscourt, was in 
a spacious building in William Street, but is now removed 
to the Custom House. The building in William Street was 
sold by Government to the highly respectable firm of 
Messrs. Ferrier and Pollock, wholesale merchants. 



80 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 



THE PHCENIX PARK 

Is a royal enclosure, situated at the west end of Dublin, 
and pleasantly diversified by woodland and rising grounds. 
It comprises 1758 acres, of which 1357 are open to the 
public : it is seven miles in circumference. The Lord 
Lieutenant's country residence, which is situated in this 
park, is a handsome building, and opposite to it is the 
mansion of the chief secretary. Near the side entrance 
to the former is a Corinthian column, surmounted by a 
Phoenix, erected in 1745 by Lord Chesterfield. 

At the entrance to the Park the Zoological Gardens, 
which were formed in 1831, are situated, and the spot 
selected is admirably suited for the purpose ; there is a 
large pond on one side, and the other parts are finely laid 
out in walks, with numerous rustic houses and cages for 
the animals, and already they possess a considerable number. 
The price of admission is only sixpence for each visitor. 
It is a fashionable promenade in summer. 

This park also contains the Royal Military Infirmary ; 
the Hibernian School, established by Lord Townshend, for 
the maintenance and education of soldiers' children; a 
chalybeate spa, surrounded by pleasing walks ; a powder 
magazine; and a large plain, on which the troops are 
occasionally reviewed. 

Here also, on an elevated situation, is the Wellington 
Testimonial, erected from a design by Sir R. Smirke. It 
consists of an obelisk, 205 feet in height, resting on a 
pedestal, 24 feet high and 56 square. The obelisk bears 
the names of the battles won by the Duke, and in front is 
intended to be placed an equestrian statue of His Grace. 



DESCRIPTION' OF DUBLIN. 81 



THE ROYAL BARRACKS 

Are situated on Harbour Hill, near Phoenix Park, and are 
capable of accommodating 2000 men. They were built 
in 1706, and consist of several spacious and handsome 
squares, built on three sides, and open on the fourth. For 
beauty of situation, and grandeur of appearance, they are 
unrivalled. 

SQUARES. 

St. Stephen's 'Green, at the south-east part of Dublin, is 
the largest and handsomest square in the city. It is rather 
more than a mile in circuit, and is surrounded by several 
noble mansions. The centre is an enclosure of 17 acres, 
planted with shrubs and evergreens, and having in the 
middle a brass equestrian statue of George II., executed 
by Van Nost On the west side of the square is Surgeon's 
Hall. 

Fitzwilliam Square is a short distance south-east of the 
preceding, and is about one-fourth the size, being rather 
less than a quarter of a mile in circumference. The interior 
is pleasingly laid out, and the houses are very neat. 

Merrion Square is situated to the east of St Stephen's 
Green, to which it ranks next in point of size. It is about 
half a mile in circuit, and in the centre are 12 acres of walks 
and shrubbery. The houses on the north side are remark- 
ably well built, and on the west side is the Dublin Society's 
house, having a spacious lawn. 

Rutland Square is situated at the back of the Lying-in 



82 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

Hospital and Rotunda Rooms, and is laid out with great 
taste. It is opened as a promenade during the summer 
evenings, when it is at times illuminated, and enlivened 
by music. The enclosure is nearly a quarter of a mile 
in circumference } and contains some stately timber. 

Mountjoy Square is situated to the north-east of Rutland 
Square, near the Circular Road. It is rather more than a 
quarter of a mile in circuit, and is surrounded by regularly- 
built houses. The centre encloses four acres, laid out in 
walks, and planted with shrubs. 

BRIDGES. 

Carlisle Bridge, connecting Westmoreland and Sackville 
Streets, is a handsome stone edifice of three arches, erected 
in 1791. It is 210 feet long, and 40 broad. The view 
from the bridge is truly beautiful. 

The Cast Iron, or the Wellington Bridge, between Carlisle 
and Essex Bridges, is a single arch, HO feet in the span, 
resting on stone buttresses. 

Essex Bridge, crossing the river from Parliament Street 
to Capel Street, was originally erected in 1676, but rebuilt 
in 1755, on the plan of Westminster Bridge. 

Richmond Bridge, connecting Wine-Tavern Street with 
King's- Inn Quay, was built in 1816, from designs by 
Mr. Savage. It consists of three stone arches, the centres 
of which are adorned with representations of Commerce,. 
Hibernia, and Peace, on one side ; and Plenty, the Liffey, 
and Industry, on the other. 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 88 

Whilworth Bridge was commenced in 1816, on the site 
of the old bridge, which was the oldest in the city. It 
resembles Richmond bridge, and connects the extremities 
of Merchants' and King's- Inn Quays. 

Queen's Bridge, connecting Bridgefoot Street and Queen 
Street, is 140 feet long, and 40 broad. It consists of three 
atone arches, erected in 1764, on the site of Arran Bridge. 

Bloody, or Barrack Bridge, is the oldest in Dublin, and 
is situated near the Royal Barracks. It is called Bloody, 
in consequence of a fatal encounter which occurred in 1671, 
between the Military and some Dublin apprentices, who 
wished to demolish a bridge near the JBarracks. 

Sarah's Bridge, or Sarah's Arch, at Island Bridge, about 
a mile from the City, is so called from Sarah, Countess of 
Westmoreland, who laid the first stone, in 1791. It is a 
beautiful structure, consisting of one stone arch, 104 feet 
in the span. 

The King's, or George the Fourth's Bridge, is a handsome 
structure, near the chief entrance to the Phoenix Park. 
It was erected in 1827, from a design by Papworth : it is of 
iron, cast at Robinson's Phoenix foundry. It cost 13,000/., 
raised by subscription. 

PROTESTANT CHURCHES. 

Dublin is the see of an Archbishop, and is remarkable for 
possessing two cathedrals. It has also nineteen churches. 
The following are most worthy of the stranger's attention : 

St. Patrick's Cathedral was founded in 1190, on the site 



84 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

of a chapel erected by St Patrick ; but it was not till 1370 
that the first stone of the present edifice was laid. This 
cathedral is of Gothic architecture, and is surmounted by 
a steeple and spire, the summit of which is 223 feet from 
the ground. The nave is 130 feet long, and is illumined 
by one large window at the west end ; it contains, amongst 
other monuments, those of the following remarkable per- 
sons : — Archbishops Smyth, Marsh, Talfot, and Tregury ; 
Bishop Meredyth, Dean Keating, Dean Swift, who was 
interred Oct 22, 1745; Mrs. Hester Johnson, well known 
as Swift's Stella; Richard Lambert, EarlofCavan; John 
Ball, Master in Chancery ; Richard Parsons, Earl of Rosse ; 
and A. M'Gee, a servant of Dean Swift The organ, which 
is the finest toned in Ireland, was built at Rotterdam, and 
given to the cathedral by the Duke of Ormond, who took 
it from the Spaniards at Vigo. 

The choir is extremely beautiful, and has an arched 
ceiling of stucco, which has replaced the ancient stone 
roof. It contains the stalls of the Knights of St Pa- 
trick, together with their helmets, swords, banners, &c. 
Amongst the monuments with which it is adorned, are 
those of Richard Boyle, Earl of Cork, and Catherine his 
wife; Elizabeth, Viscountess Doneraile ; the Duke of 
Schomberg, who was killed at the Boyne; Dr. Byttolph, 
Dean of Raphoe, and chaplain to Charles I. ; and Arch- 
bishop Jones. 

The Chapter House contains a statue of the Marquess of 
Buckingham ; and here also is preserved the skull of the 
Duke of Schomberg. 

In the Dean's House, in Kevin Street, are portraits of 
all the deans of St. Patrick's. The Archiepiscopal Palace 
has been transformed into barracks for the police. 

Near the cathedral is Archbishop Marsh s Library, which 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 85 

is open to the public. It contains the books of Dr. Stil- 
lingfleet, and some curious MSS. 

Christ Church Cathedral, formerly dedicated to the 
Blessed Trinity, was erected in 3038, on the site of a range 
of vaults, in which St Patrick first preached to the people 
of Dublin. The present choir, however, was not built till 
1658. This cathedral is situated near the centre of Dub- 
lin, not far from the castle. The exterior is in the Gothic 
style, but so dilapidated and disfigured by buttresses, that 
little of its original beauty remains*. The nave is 108 
feet long, and contains several monuments, particularly 
those of Thomas Prior, a zealous promoter of the manu- 
factures of Ireland ; Earl Strongbow, the first invader of 
Ireland, who died 1177 ; Lord Chancellor Bowes, who died 
in 1767; Lord Chancellor Lifford, buried in 1789; and 
Dr. Welbore Ellis, Bishop of Meath. 

The transept is 90 feet in length, and is principally of 
Saxon architecture. The choir is 104 feet by 28, and 
exhibits an incongruous mixture of several styles of archi- 
tecture : it contains monuments in memory of Robert, 
Earl of Kildare, Bishop Fletcher, and Dr. Woodward. 
In one of the aisles are statues of Charles II. and James II. 
Contiguous to the cathedral is St. Mary's Chapel, belong- 
ing to the dean and chapter. The whole has lately 
undergone considerable repair, which has taken away the 
Ancient and venerable appearance of the building. 

St. Andrew's, or the Round Church, contiguous to Dame 
Street, was built in 1793. It is of an elliptical form, and 
measures 80 feet by 60. Over the entrance in St An- 
drew's Street is a statue of the saint, by E. Smyth, and in 
the churchyard is an unfinished steeple, in the Gothic 
i 



86 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

style, designed by Mr. Johnston. The interior is light 
and elegant, and the capitals of the columns supporting 
the gallery are very beautiful. In the centre is a well- 
executed font of veined marble ; and over it hangs a 
lustre which formerly belonged to the Irish House of 
Commons. 

St. George 1 * Church, in Hardwicke Place, at the north 
extremity of Dublin, is a very handsome modern edifice, 
erected from designs by Mr. Johnston. The principal 
front is 92 feet in width, and consists of a noble portico 
of four fluted Ionic columns, the ascent to which is formed 
by a flight of steps 42 feet wide. Above it rises the 
steeple, a beautiful specimen of architecture, 200 feet in 
height, in which are a set of bells, presented by Mr. 
Johnston. The body of the church forms a square, having 
three fronts of the Ionic order. At the eastern extremity 
are the parish school and vestry-room. 

St. WerhurgVt Church, in Werburgh Street, is a large 
and elegant structure, erected in 1759, on the site of the 
original building, dedicated to the sainted daughter of 
Wulherus, king of Mercia. The front consists of several 
stories, the basement being Ionic, the second story 
Corinthian, and the third Composite. The spire, by 
which it was formerly surmounted, was taken down in 
1810. In this church, Sir James Ware, the antiquary, 
Edwin, the performer, and the unfortunate and misguided 
Lord Edward Fitzgerald, were interred. 

St. Michan's Church is situated in Church Street, on 
the north side of the Liffey. The body of the building is 
cruciform, and very ancient; but the steeple is more 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 87 

modem. Near the altar is an antique figure of a man in 
armour, but of whom is unknown. The vaults beneath 
this church are dry, and are remarkable for preserving 
bodies almost unaltered for a great many years. Some, 
that have been here centuries, still retain their features, 
In the churchyard is the monument of Dr. Lucas, who ' 
represented Dublin in Parliament, and died in 1771. 

St. Peter's, in Aungier Street, is the largest parish church 
in the city, and is noted as that in which the celebrated 
Dean Kirwan preached. Mr. Maturin, the author of 
u Bertram," was a curate of this parish. 

St. Thomas's Church, in Marlborough Street, opposite 
Gloucester Street, erected in 1758, from a design by 
Palladio. The interior is commodious and well designed. 

Our limits preclude our entering into the description of 
each of the other churches in Dublin. 

MEETING HOUSES. 

The places of worship in Dublin belonging to the dis- 
senters are numerous, but none of them are remarkable 
as buildings. 

The Presbyterians have Meeting Houses in Strand 
Street, Mary's Abbey, Eustace Street, Ushers Quay, and 
Lower Abbey Street ; the Independents, in D'Olier Street, 
Mary's Abbey, York Street, and King's Inn Street; the 
Methodists, Abbey Street, Cork Street, Hendrick Street, 
Whitefriar Street, South George's Street, and Langrishe 
Place; the Baptists, in 'Swift's Alley; the Moravians, in 
Bishop Street; the Quakers, in Eustace Street, and Meath 
Street ; the French Calvinists, in Peter Street ; and the 



88 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

Separatist CaknnisU, in Aungier Street, and North Great 
George Street There are also various other places of 
worship of minor importance. 

ROMAN CATHOLIC CHAPELS or CHURCHES. 

Dublin contains numerous places of worship in which 
service is performed according to the rites of the Romish 
church ; but the following are the principal ones entitled to 
notice : — 

The Metropolitan Roman Catholic Church, or Church of the 
Conception, situated in Marlborough Street, near Sackville 
Street, is a magnificent building in the Grecian style, the 
erection of which was begun in 1816. It is surmounted 
by a dome, and adorned with a noble portico, consisting of 
six columns of the Doric order. 

St. Michan's Chapel, in North Anne Street, is a hand- 
some stone edifice in the pointed style. Over the grand 
altar is an alto-relievo, representing our Saviour ; and above 
the side altars are paintings of St Francis and the Virgin. 

AUhallows, in Westland Row, immediately adjoining the 
entrance to the Kingstown Railway, is a large handsome 
building, in imitation of an edifice at Athens: it can 
accommodate 6000 persons, and cost 13,000/., raised by 
subscription. James Boulger, architect 

St. Michael's and St. John's, in Exchange Street, is an 
elegant modern building, in the pointed style, having two 
beautiful fronts of hewn stone. The interior is chaste, 
though richly ornamented. Over the altar is a painting 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 89 

of the Crucifixion, and on either side are windows of 
stained glass. The two smaller altars are adorned with 
paintings; one representing St John the Evangelist, by 
Del Frate ; and the other Michael and Satan, copied from 
Raphael. On one side of the chapel is a monument in 
memory of Dr. Betagh, executed by Turnerelli. The 
confessionals are very beautifully carved. 

The other Roman Catholic churches are, 

St. PauVs, in Arran Quay. 

St. Audeon'i, Cook Street. 

St. Nicholas, Francis Street. 

St. James, James Street . 

St. Catherine's, Meath Street 

Some of these, and indeed many of the Roman Catholic 
chapels throughout Ireland, are now so splendid that they 
are frequently called churches. 

CONVENTS AND NUNNERIES. 

The Augustmian Friary of St. John is situated in John 
Street, and has six clergymen; in the school fifty 
females are educated, and there is attached tfn asylum for 
old men, of which the Rev. P. Dowling is guardian. The 
celebrated Dr. Doyle was a member of this establish- 
ment 

The Dominican Convent, at Denmark-street Chapel, has 
six clergymen attached to it Here twenty-five orphan 
boys are supported and educated. 

The Franciscan Convent and Church, situated oa Mer- 
chant's Quay, has seven clergymen. The new church is 
a large building, dedicated to St Francis, of Asisium. 

The Jesuits' Church and Convent is situated in Upper 
Gardiner Street. The new church is a most elegant 
i3 



90 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

structure, dedicated to St. Francis Xavier : their school is 
in Hardwicke Street. 

The Capuchin Friary of Church Street Chapel has eight 
clergymen. Here seventy boys are educated. 

The Calced Carmelites, or Friary of St. Patrick, has six 
clergymen and a handsome chapel, in Whitefriar Street, 
erected in 1825, from designs by George Papworth, 
architect It is two hundred feet long, and thirty-four 
broad ; and the interior is tastefully fitted up. 

The DUcalced Carmelites, in Clarendon Street, have a 
spacious chapel, served by seven clergymen. 

The Sisters of Mercy are resident in Lower Baggot 
Street 

The Sisters of Charity are resident in Stanhope Street, 
Upper Gardiner Street, and Sandy-mount. 

The Poor Clares consist of seven nuns: their Nunnery is 
at Kingstown. 

The Ladies of the Presentation have a Nunnery at George's 
Hill, and educate three hundred girls, twenty of whom they 
clothe : they have also a Nunnery at Richmond, two miles 
from Dublin. 

The Poor Clares of Harold's Cross Nunnery, have an 
excellent house and a fine chapel. They clothe, educate, 
and support ninety female orphans. 

The Carmelite Nunnery, of the order of St Joseph, at 
Ranelagh, consists of seventeen nuns. They have a school 
house adjoining, where sixty girls are educated. 

The Carmelites have also Nunneries at Warrenmount, 
Firhouse, and Blancherstown, in the vicinity of Dublin, 
and also in North William Street 

The Ladies Dominicans have a Nunnery at Cabragh, 
three miles from Dublin. 

The Schools of the Christian Brothers are situated in 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 91 

Richmond Street North. The building was erected out of 
the funds of the late Catholic Association, about eight 
hundred boys are educated here. 

LITERARY SOCIETIES, &c. 

The Dublin Society has already been described. See 
page 77. 

The Zoological Society of Dublin, instituted in 1831, con- 
sists of a president, six vice-presidents, and a council of 
fifteen members. Ten pounds paid on admission consti- 
tute a member for life. The gardens, at the entrance to 
the park, are open every day, from nine in the morning till 
dusk. 

The Agricultural Society of Ireland, formed with a view 
to promote the improvement of agriculture and the growth 
of timber, is managed by a president, vice-president, and 
eighteen directors. 

The Royal Hibernian Academy of Painting, Sculpture, 
and Architecture, was incorporated in 1823, and has annual 
exhibitions of paintings in their hall ; it is an elegant 
modern building, situated in Lower Abbey Street, erected 
from the designs of Mr. Johnston, and at his own expense. 
Parliamentary annual grant 3002. 

The Royal Irish Institution, in College Street, founded in 
1813, for promoting the fine arts. It consists of a patron, 
vice-patron, president, ten vice-presidents, and twelve 
directors. 

The Royal Irish Academy was incorporated in 1786, for 
the purpose of promoting the study of polite Literature, 



92 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

Science, and Antiquities. It consists of a patron, visitor, 
president, four vice-presidents, two secretaries, a treasurer, 
and a council of twenty-one. The Society's house, which 
is in Grafton Street, contains a good library, and a large 
room where the members meet The Society gives prizes 
for the best eBsays on given subjects, and publishes its 
transactions. Receives an annual Parliament grant of 
800/. 

The Geological Society consists of a president, five vice- 
presidents, and a council of fifteen members. 

The Horticultural Society of Ireland consists of a president, 
ten vice-presidents, and a council of twenty-one members. 

The Society for Bettering the Condition of ike Poor of Ire- 
land, by encouraging the coast fishery, and the spinning of 
linen and woollen yarn. The society house is at No. 7, 
Lower Abbey Street 

The Protestant Colonization Society of Ireland, in Duke 
Street, for the purpose of checking Protestant emigration, 
by locating industrious persons on the waste lands of Ireland. 

The Dublin Library Society, in D'Olier Street, possesses 
a handsome house, containing a large and valuable library, 
and a news-room for the use of the subscribers. The sub- 
scription is only 11. per annum. 

MEDICAL AND SURGICAL INSTITUTIONS. 

The College of Physicians was incorporated in 1692, and 
consists of thirty-one fellows, one of whom is president, 
and another vice-president. Its objects are nearly similar 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 93 

to those of the College of Physicians in London, and its 
meetings are held in Sir Patrick Dunn's Hospital, where 
the College possesses a valuable library. 

TJie College of Surgeons was incorporated in 1784, and 
holds its sittings in a house built on purpose in St Stephen's 
Green. This edifice was erected in 1806, and comprises a 
library, a lecture-room, a museum, and a committee-room. 

The School of Physic consists of six professors, three of 
whom are on the establishment of the University, and three 
on the College of Physicians, on the foundation of Sir P. 
Dunn. The latter lecture at Sir Patrick Dunn's Hospital, 
and the former at Trinity College. 

Apothecaries 3 Hall, in Mary Street, was incorporated in 
1791, for the sale of medicines, the delivery of lectures, 
and the examination of persons who wish to practise as 
apothecaries. 

HOSPITALS, &c. 

The Royal Hospital at Kilmainham was erected in 1683, 
from designs by Sir C. Wren, for the reception of invalid 
and superannuated soldiers. It is well adapted for the pur- 
pose, and generally contains about 300 men. In the hall, 
which is 100 feet long and 50 broad, are about twenty 
portraits, and a collection of arms. The chapel is a vene- 
rable building, 80 feet by 40 : the east window is adorned 
with painted glass, and beneath it is the communion table, 
of carved Irish oak. 

The Blue-Coat Hospital, in Blackhall Street, was incor- 
porated by Charles II. in 1670, for the maintenance and 



94 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

education of the sons of reduced citizens of Dublin. The 
present hospital was erected in 1773, and is a noble edifice 
of Portland stone, consisting of a centre and wings extend- 
ing 300 feet It is capable of accommodating from 150 to 
200 boys. 

The Lying-in- Hospital, in Great Britain Street, was 
founded by Dr. Mosse, and was opened for the reception 
of patients in 1757. It is a handsome building, erected 
from designs by Mr. Cassels. The chapel is much ad- 
mired. Parliamentary grant 1200/. 

The Foundling Hospital, at the end of Thomas Street, 
for the reception of destitute orphans and deserted infants, 
was founded in 1704, and annually admitted about 1900 
children $ until, from the amazing increase, it was found 
necessary to issue an edict, in December 1880, that none 
should be admitted after the 5th of January following. The 
grant to this establishment by Parliament has been annually 
18,000/. 

The National Institution for the Education of Deaf and 
Dumb Children of the Poor, established in 1816, is situated 
at Claremont, near Glassnevin. 

The Richmond National Institution, 37, Sackville Street, 
for the instruction of the industrious blind. 

The House of Industry, in Brunswick Street, instituted in 
1773, is supported by Parliamentary grants, donations, and 
the profits arising from the labour of the poor. It is an 
extensive range of building, generally containing about 
1700 persons, whom age or sickness have rendered in- 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 95 

capable of earning a subsistence. There are separate asylums 
for lunatics and idiots. Parliamentary grant 21,000*. 

There are also four detached hospitals, assigned to the 
relief of fever, chronic and surgical patients, also a dis- 
pensary for the relief of the sick poor of the north-west 
district of the city, and an institution for the relief of the 
ruptured poor in Ireland. 

St. Patrick's, or Swift's Hospital, for Idiots and Lunatics, 
was founded in 1745 by Dean Swift, who bequeathed it 
£. 1 1,000. It will contain about 180 patients. 

The Mendicity House, in Usher's Island, was established 
in 1818, for the purpose of clearing the streets of Dublin 
of the numerous beggars with which they were infested. 

Amongst the other Charitable Institutions of Dublin 
are: — 

The County of Dublin, or Meath Hospital, in Long Lane, 
Stamer Street. 

The Fever Hospital, or House of Recovery, in Cork Street, 
with a Parliamentary grant of 3800/. 

Sir Patrick Dunn's Hospital, Grand Canal Street 

The Hibernian Marine School, on Sir John Rogerson's 
Quay. Parliamentary grant 4002, 

The Dublin General Dispensary, in Fleet Street 

The Hospital for Incurables, Donnybrook Road. Parlia- 
mentary grant 500/. 

Mercer's Hospital, in Stephen Street 

Magdalen Asylum, Leeson Street 

The Lock Penitentiary, Dorset Street 



96 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

The Westmoreland Lock Hospital, Townsend Street Par- 
liamentary grant 2913/. 

Simpson's Hospital, for the Blind, in Great Britain Street 

Steven's Hospital, in James Street Parliamentary grant 
1500/. 

Nicholas' Hospital, in Francis Street 

Coombe Lying-in Hospital, Coombe. 

Anglesea Lying-in Hospital, Bishop Street 

The Asylum for Aged Printers, Crumlin Street 

Pleasants Asylum in Cambden Street, for destitute Female 
Orphans. 

The Whitworth Hospital, Drumcondra. 

City of Dublin Hospital, Upper Baggot Street 

The Magdalen Asylum, in Townsend Street 

The Molyneaux Asylum, in Peter Street, for Blind 
Females. 

The Charitable Infirmary, in Jervis Street 

The Female Orphan House, in the North Circular Road, 
Parliamentary grant 1100/. 

The Old Men's Asylum, in Russell Place. 

The Asylum for Aged and Infirm Female Servants. 

The House of Refuge, in Stanhope Street 

General Female Orphan House, in Harolds Cross. 

The Protestant Orphan Society. 

Shelter for Females discharged from Prison, South Circular 
Road. 

The Scottish Benevolent Society of St. Andrew. 

The Society for the relief of sick and indigent Room-keepers. 

The Stranger's Friend Society. 

Sick Poor Institution, Meath Street 

Dublin Female Penitentiary, North Circular Road. 

Board of Charitable Bequests. Parliamentary grant 700/. 



DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 97 



PRISONS, HOUSES OF CORRECTION, &c. 

Newgate, the principal prison in Dublin, is situated in 
Green Street, and occupies a space of 170 feet by 130. It 
was built between 1773 and 1781, from designs by Mr. 
Cooley, and is fronted with granite. At the angles are 
round towers with loopholes. The interior is divided by 
a passage, having on each side wails with iron gates, 
through which visitors are allowed to speak to the pri- 
soners. 

Kilmainham, or the County Gaol, is situated near the 
Royal Hospital, and has a handsome Court House con- 
tiguous to it 

The Sheriff's Prison, in Green Street, was erected in 
1794. It forms three sides of a square, surrounding a 
court-yard, and generally contains about a hundred debtors, 

The City Marshalsea, in Green Street, is a prison for 
persons arrested for debts under ten pounds. 

The Richmond Bridewell, for the reformation of offenders 
of both sexes, is situated on the Circular Road, on the south 
side of the city. It was built in 1813, and occupies about 
five acres, including the garden. The building is of stone, 
and is entered by a massive gate, flanked by walls, and 
towers. The interior is divided into two courts, surrounded 
by buildings. 

The Richmond General Penitentiary, in Grange Gorman 
Lane, was built in 1812, from designs by Mr. Johnston. 

K 



98 DESCRIPTION OF DUBLIN. 

The front, which is 700 feet in length, has a very imposing 
appearance: it is built of black stone, and the centre is 
surmounted by a cupola. 

MANUFACTURES. 

These consist chiefly of Irish poplins, which are celebrated 
for their excellence, tabinets, silks, cottons, woollens, and 
hardware. The shops of Dublin are elegant, and well 
furnished with books, broadcloths, fruit, &c. imported from 
England, and fine linens, damasks, stockings, &c, of home 
manufacture. 

HOTELS. 

These are spacious and respectable. The stranger will 
have no difficulty in finding good accommodation. The 
principal are — Morrison's, TuthilTs, and the Hibernian, 
in Dawson Street; Gresham's, Tommey's, the Bilton, 
Odienne's, the Waterford, and Shadaccini's, in Sackville 
Street; also a large one opposite the post office, the Royal 
Hotel, College Green, and the Commercial on Usher's Quay, 
and others too numerous to mention. 

CLUB HOUSES. 

The Hibernian United Service, in Foster Place. 
The Kildare Street Club, in Kildare Street. 
The Friendly Brothers, in Upper Sackville Street. 
The Dawson Street Club, in Dawson Street. 
The Sackville Street Club, in Sackville Street^ 



MAIL COACH ROUTES, 
DIRECT FROM DUBLIN, 

WITH THE DISTANCES IN IRISH MILES, AND THE TIME ' 
EACH MAIL IS ON THE ROUTE. 



*»• The Irish Mail* leave Dublin every evening at 7, and on Sundays at 
6 o* clock. There is a day Mail to Belfast at 8 o'clock in the morning ; 
that to Kilkenny at half-past 8, and also to Cork, atlo' clods in the 
afternoon.— The Liverpool Mail starts at half-past 4 o'clock, and the 
London MaU at 6 o'clock every evening. 



1. DUBLIN to BELFAST, in 12 hours*. 

Miles. Miles. 

Ashbourne 10$ Newry 60 

Duleek 18J Loughbrickland 58* 

Drogheda 22) Banbridge 60* 

Dunleer 30 Dromore 66$ 

Castlebellingham 34 Hillrtx>ro» 70 

Lurgangreen 37 Liaburn 73$ 

Dnndalk 40 Belfast 80 

Flurrybrtdge • • • ^ «i 

• The Day Mail goes by the same route. 



100 



MAIL COACH ROUTES. 



2. DUBLIN to CORK, Night Mail, by Clonmel, 
in 20 hours. 

Miles. Miles. 

Bafhcoole 8 Callan 65* 

Naas 17} Clonmel 821 

Kilcollen 225 Clogheen 94 

Ballytore 281 Kilworth 106 

Castledennot 34 Fermoy 1061 

Carlow 39k Bathcormack 112 

Leighlinbridge 45 Riverstown 121* 

Kilkenny 571 Cork 126 



8. DUBLIN to CORK, Day Mail, by Cashel, 
in 20 hours. 



Miles. 



Rathcoole 

Naas 17$ Cashel 

Kilcullen 22} Caher 

Athy 331 Mitchelstown 

Stradbally 40 Fermoy 

Abbeyleix 49£ Bathcormack. 

Durrow 54£ Cork 

Johnstown 62 



Miles. 
Littleton 701 



79 
871 

101 

108} 

112} 

126 



4. DUBLIN to DERRY, in 18 hours. 



Miles. 

Ashbourne 10 

Bees Town 151 

Slane 22 

Dnunconra * 32 

Carrickmacross 40 

Castleblayney 491 

Monaghan 60} 



Miles. 

Emyrale 66 

Aughnacloy 701 

Ballygawley 74 

Omagh 86} 

Newtonstewart 941 

Strabane 102 

Deny 1131 



MAIL COACH ROUTES. 



101 



5. DUBLIN to ENNISKILLEN, in 13 hours. 



Miles. 

Clonee 7 Lavastrand • 

Dunshaughlin 13} Cavan 



Miles. 

•• 491 
• 06 . 



Kilcairne 23 

Navan 23 

Kells 31 

Virginia 40* 



Wattlebridge 63* 

Lisnaskea 7U 

Enniskfflen 80* 



6. DUBLIN to GALWAY, in 15| hours. 



Miles. 



Miles. 



Lncan • 
Leixlip 

Maynooth • Ill Thomastown 

Kilcork 14} Ballinasloe 

Enfield* 
Clonard 

Kinnegad 30 

Rochfort Bridge 
Tyrellspaw 



Kilbeggan 44* Gal way- 



Moate 62* 

Athlone GO 

65| 

TO 

20* Aughrim 76* 

26* Nogginstown 82 

Loughrea 87 

37 J Craughwell 

40* Oranmore 



100* 
104) 



7. DUBLIN to KILKENNY, Morning Mail, 
in 9 hours. 

Miles. Miles. 

Tallaght 5 Carlow 404 

Blessington 14 Bagnaktown 471 

Baltinglaas 29* Kilkenny 604 

Caatledermot 36} 

8. DUBLIN to LIMERICK, in 14 hours. 
Miles. • 



Rathcoole 8 

Naas 

Newbridge 

Kildare 

Monastereren 

Ballybrittas 

Emo 

Haryboro 

Mountrath 47 



Miles. 

Barns in-Ossory 63* 

16} Boecrea 69 

21 MoneygaU 66} 

26* Toomavara 69* 

30* Nenagh 74} 

33 Kilmastnlla 82} 

36 Sallymount 88* 

40* Limerick 93} 



K 3 



102 



MAIL COACH ROUTES. 



9. DUBLIN to SLIGO, in 15* hours. 



Miles. 

Kinnegad, » at No. 6. 30 

MnUingar 39 

Rathowen 49 

Edgeworthstown 52] 

Longford 59* 

Newton Forbes 62 

Bushy 64 

Dromod 69 



Miles. 

Dramsna 73 

Jamestown 7* 

Carrick-on-Shannon 76* 

Boyle '•• 84 

Colooney 96* 

Baltisodare 100* 

Sligp 104 



10. DUBLIN to WATERFORD, in 12* hours. 



Miles. 

Rathcoole 8 

Naas 15* 

Kilcullen 21* 

Athy 33* 

Castlecomer 46* 



Miles. 

Kilkenny 56* 

Thomastown 64J 

Mullinavat 74* 

Waterford 82 



11. DUBLIN to WEXFORD, in 12 hours. 



Miles. 

Bray * 10 Arklow • 

Delgany 15 Gorey--- 

Newton Mount Kennedy • • • • 17$ Camolin- 

Ashford 22 Ferns • • • 

Rathnew 



23* Ennisoorthy • 



Bathdrnm 30 Wexford 



Miles. 
... 391 
... 471 
... 53* 
... 56* 
... 62 
... 74 



MAIL COACHES ON CROSS ROADS 

IN IRELAND. 



*** This List wiU be found verp useful to the Traveller, as shewing the 
Mail Routes on the Cross Roads. It is arranged alphabetically, in 
the order of the Towns from which the Mails start/ the Distances are 
given in Irish mites, with the time each Mail is on the Route. 



1. BALLINA to CASTLEBAR, in 2| hours. 
Distance 17J miles. 

2. BALLINASLOE to WESTPORT, 
in 9 hours, 18 minutes. 



Miles. Miles. 

Sonnagh 5± Rowidfort 38J 

Ahaacragh 6* Hollymount 39f 

Castleblakeney 12 Ballyglaas-. 441 

Dangan 19| Lugafyle 30* 

Tuam 27 Castlebar 63* 

Blindwell 33 Wortport 62 



104 MAIL COACH ROUTES. 



3. BELFAST to DERRY, in 12* hours. 

Miles. Mile*. 

Templepatrick 10 Ballymoney 99 

Antrim 13* Coleraine 45* 

Bandalatown 17i Newton Limavady 57 

Ballymena 241 Deny 601 

Dnnloy 349 



4. BELFAST to ENNISKILLEN, in 14 hours. 

Miles. Miles. 

LUburn 6* Glasslongh 40 

Moira 13 Monaghan 45 

Lurgan 17 Clones 54J 

Portadown • 21* Newtonbutle* 59* 

Armagh 30* Lisnaalcea 65} 

Caledon 37 EnnisldUen 74i 



5. BELFAST to LARNE, in 3* hours. 

Miles. Miles. 
Carrickfergtu 8 Lame 18 



6. CORK to BANTRY, in 10$ hours. 

Miles. Miles. 

Inniahannon 12 Skibbereen 42 

Bandon ■•• 15} Dromore 49 

Cloghnakfity 25* Bantry 56ft 

Botcarberrj 32 



7. CORK to KINSALE, in 2| hours. 
Distance 15 miles. 



MAIL COACH ROUTES. 105 

8. CORK to TRALEE, in 10J hours. 

Mile*. Miles. 

Ballinoollig 4* Bft * n ** 

Shandy 1* KUlarney 48* 

Carrigadroed W Marshall* 57* 

Macroom 20* Tralee 64* 

Mfflstreet 31 

9. DERRY to SLIGO, in 12 hours. 

Maes. Miles. 

Strabane "* BallyBhannon 47 

Caakefin • 16* Bunduff Mi 

Stranorlar 22 Bunavally 61J 

Donegal 36 Sligo 68 

BalBntra 41 

10. DUNMORE to LIMERICK, in 11 hours. 

Miles. Miles. 

Waterford 9 Cahir 39* 

Carrick-on-Suir 21* Trpperary «* 

Clonmel 32 Limerick 69* 

11. ENNISKILLEN to BALLYSHANNON, 
in 3 hours, 40 minutes. 

Miles. Miles. 

Benmore 8 BallyBhannon 21* 

Cladagh 13* 

12. GAL WAY to LIMERICK, in 9 hours, 25 minutes. 

Miles. Miles. 

Ardrahan 12* Newmarket-on-Fergus 40 

Gort 18* Cratloecrow 4ft* 

Crnsheen 26J Limerick "* 

Ennia 33* 



106 MAIL COACH ROUTES. 

13. GALWAY to TUAM, in 3 hour*. 

Mile*. Mile*. 

Clare (Galway) 5* Tuam ltft 

Karanagh 1W 

14. KILLARNEY to CASTLE-ISLAND, 
in 1 hour, 53 minutes, 

MUer. Mile*. 
Scarth 4* Cartleialand 12 



15. LIMERICK to CORK, in 7* hours. 

MQet Mite*. 

BrulT 12 Mallow 34* 

Kllmallock 16 Ballinocane 394 

Charleville 21 Kilcrone 47* 

Bvttevant 28* Cork 51* 



16. LIMERICK to TRALEE, in 8 hours. 

MUes. Mil*. 

Adair » Abbayfeale r -30 

Batbkeale 13* Castleialand 41 

N«*cartle 20 Tralee 42 



17. NEWRY to COLERAINE, in 12J hours. 

MiU». Mtes. 

Markethill 10 Magherafelt 43* 

Armagh 15* Tubbermore 45 

»oy 21 Maghera 491 

Dtwgannon 251 Garragh 58* 

Stewartatown 3U Blackhill 61 

Cookttown 36* Colerame •••••• 67 

Moneymora • 321 



MAIL COACH ROUTES. 107 



18. SLIGO to BALLINA, in 4 hours, 40 minutes. 

Miles. MUes. 

Ballisodare 4 Easkey 19 

Skreen 11 Ballina 29 

Dromore West 17 

19. WATERFORD to CORK, in 10 J hours. 

Miles. Miles. 

Kilmacthomas 12 Castlemartyr 49| 

Dungarvan 22 Middleton 54 

Ballinaparka 31 Cork 64} 

Youghall 41 

20. WATERFORD to YOUGHALL, 

in 8 hours, 50 minutes. 

Miles. Miles. 

Kilmacthomas 12 Lkmere 34 

Dungarvan 22 Tallow 38} 

Cappoquin 30% Youghall 49 



A LIST 



BIANCONI'S ROYAL MAIL DAY CARS, 

PLYING TO AND FROM THE FOLLOWING TOWNS IN 

LEINSTER, M0NSTER, AND CONNAUGHT, WITH THE 

TIME OF DEPARTURE AND ARRIVAL STATED IN 

HOURS AND MINUTES. 



*»* The Day Cars do not travel on Sundays. 



To 

Ballinaslok • • Paroonstown • 

Burrobakank Boscrea 

Boyle Longford 

c . R , ow / Bom, every Tuesday, 

iarxow ^ Thursday t Saturday. 

Cashbl Waterfowl • • • 

. Limerick • • • 

Clonmbl Cork 

— Dnngarran- • - 

Enniscorthy • 

Kilkenny • • . 

— Limerick • • • 

Lismore 

Mallow 

. ... Boscrea 

_ — Thurles 

Tipperary • . • 

~ Waterford . • • 



Hour 
of despatch. 

6 a.m. — 

5 p.m. • •< 

6 a.m. 



l) 



la. m. 



7a.m. • •• 
10— 30 a.m. 
9— 15 a. m. 
3p.m. ... 
6a.m. ••• 
3 p.m. •■ 
9 a.m. 
3p.m. • •• 
9—15 a. m. 
9— 30 a. m. 
2p.m. ••• 
3 p. m. 
6 a. m. 



Hour 
of arrival. 
11 a.m. 

8 p. m. 
10—10 a. m. 

3 p.m. 

2—25 p. m. 
4— 30 p.m. 
5—20 p. m. 
7 p.m. 
5 p. m. 
7 p.m. 

4 p. m. 

9 p.m. 

5 p.m. 
7 p.m. 
7p.m. 
7 p.m. 

10 a.m. 



ROYAL MAIL CARS. 



109 



From 
Clonmkl ... 

Cork 

Duxgaayan 



Hour 
of despatch. 
Waterford 10a.m 



To 



Ejcniscorthy . 



KlLKMMKY 



KlLLARNBY 
KlLLBNAULB 



LlXBRICK • 



• Ditto 3p.m. ... 

• Wexford 6i.m. •••■ 

• Clonmol 6 a.m. 

• Fermoy 6 a. m 

• Kilkenny 6a.m. ••> 

• Limerick 6a.m. ••• 

• Waterford 6a.m. ••• 

• Clonmel • • • • • 6— 30 a. m. 

• Enniecorthy ....... 7 a. m. • • • 

• Lismore "*»• 7p.m. ••• 

• Waterford *+ 7a.m. ••• 

• Wexford 7».m. •••■ 

• Clonmel 8a.m. • •• 

• Lismore 6 a. m. 

• Waterford 8a.m. • •• 

• Carrick-<m-8uir 6a.m. • •• 

Cork-- 5a.m 

• Fermoy 5 a. m. 

• Killarney 5a.m. ... 

• Limerick 5 a. m. 

• Mallow 5 a. m. — 

• Maryboro 2p.m. ••• 

• Monntmellick 2p.m. • •• 

• Thnrles 6a.m. — 

• Tralee 5a.m. • •• 

• Waterford 6a.m. • ••• 

• Ditto 2 p. m. 

• Limerick 7a.m. •••• 

• Kilkenny 1—45 p. m. 

• Roacrea 1— 45p.m. 

• Clonmel 8a.m. ..... 

• Cork 9a.m. ••■■ 

• Fermoy 9a.m. ... 

• Kilkenny 8a.m. .... 

• Killarney 9— 30a.m. 

• Listowell 9— <30a.m. 

• Tralee 9— 30 a.m. 

• Waterford 8a.m. ... 



Hour 
of arrival. 

• • • 2—80 p. m. 
... 7p.m. 

... 6— 30p.m. 
... 9— 15p.m. 

• • 9a.m. 
... 7p.m. 
. . . 3 p. m. 

■ •• 7p.m. 
•• 10a.m. 
.. 5p.m. 

... 9p.m. 

• • • 11 a. m. 

••• ft— 30 p.m. 
••• 7p.m. 
... 9p.m. 
... 2— 30p.m. 

• •• 10a.m. 

- • • 5—20 p. m. 

... 2-30 p.m. 
I Stops a night at 
\ Limerick. 

■• 4— 20p.m. 

. . . 5 p. m. 

• • 6 p. m. 

• • • 8 p. m 

... U-40a.m. 
(Stopsaniffht *t 
X Limerick. 

• • 10 a. m. 

• • 7p.m. 

.. 3-30 p.m. 

• • 7— 30p\m. 
•• 7-*>p.m. 
.. 2-^0 p.m. 

• • 5— 90p.m. 
•-• 2-30p.m. 

■ •• 7p.m. 

.. 6— 15 p.m. 
.. 6p.m. 

• • 5— 80 p. m. 
... -7p.m. 



no 



ROYAL MAIL CARS. 



To 



LlSMOftl 



. Clonmel 
. Waterford • 
. Wexford .. 
. Limerick- • • 

. Boyle 

. Clonmel 
. Kilkenny • 

.. Waterford- 

Marybobo' — Kilkenny • < 

MOUNTM XLLTCK Ditto 

Parsonstowh Ballinaiiloe • 
■ Roacrea • ■• 



LlSTOWKLL. ■ 

Longford- •• 
Mallow ••• 



Boss- 



Robcbsa Burrotakane 

. Panonatown 

Thurlea 

Waterfoid 

/Carlo*, Monday* \ 
'\ Wednesday, Friday f 

Clonmel 

__ ............ Dnnffarran • • • • 

. Lismore 

Waterford. ••• 

Ditto 

Ditto 

Thomabtown • • Boas 

Wexford 

"Thubxss Clonmel 

Ditto 

■ .Kilkenny 

__ Killenaule • • • • 

_— — Limerick 

■ Roacrea 

Waterford-- •• 

TiPFSRARY .... Caahel 

___— — .... Clonmel 

■ , ....Ditto 

■ Kilkenny • * • 

— — ....Thvrles 

.... Waterford • • ■ • 

— *- Ditto 

Tbalr*., Killaraey •••• 



Hour Hour 

of despatch, of arrival. 

5a.m. 10— 30a.m. 

5 a.m. 10— 40a.m. 

5a.m 6-30p.nu 

6— 30a.m. •• 3— 30p.m. 

1— 30 p.m. -• 6 p.m. 

6— 30a.m. •• 2-r30p.m. 

6— 30a.m. •• 7p.m. 

6— 30a.m. •• 7 p.m. 

6a.m. 11a.m. 

5a.m. 11a.m. 

2p.m. .?•••• 7p.m. 

5p.m. 7p.m. 

6a.m. 9a.m. 

6a.m. 8a.m. 

5a. m. 8a.m. 

5a.m. 7p.m. 

8a. m 8 p.m. 

12 noon. 7p.m. 

12 noon. 7 P- m. 

12 noon. 9 p. m. 

7a.m. 9— 30p.m. 

12 noon. 2— 30p. m. 

5— 30 p.m. •• 8 p.m. 

4a.m. 7— 80a.m. 

4 a.m. 11a.m. 

5 a. m. 10 a. m. 

8— 80a.m. •• 2— 30p.m. 

2p.m. 7--30p. m. 

8— 20a.m. •• 10a.m. 

8— 80 a.m. •• 4 p.m. 

4 p.m. 7p-m. 

5a. m 2— 30p.m. 

lp. m 4 p.m. 

6a.m. 9— 30a.m. 

11— 30 a.m. •• 2— 30p.m. 

11— 30 a.m. •• 7 p.m. 

1 p. m. 7 p. m. 

6 a. m. 2—30 p. m. 

11— 30a.m. •• 7p.m. 

2— 30p.m. .. 6p.m. 



ROYAL MAIL CARS. 



Ill 



From 



Tralrk 

Waterkord 



Hour Hour 

of despatch. of arrival. 

7— 30a.m. •• 3-40p.m. 

.... 5a.m. 1p.m. 

.... 9a. m. 5p.m. 

• Clonmel f5&9a.m. At six miles an 

\ &3p. m. hour. 

•■Cork 5a.m. 6— 20p.m. 

• • Ennucorthy 11a.m. 5 p.m. 



To 

• Limerick* 

. Cashel.... 

• Ditto .. 



•Kilkenny 3p.'i 

Ditto 9a.m. 

• •Killamey 5a.m. . 

— — . .... Limerick 5 a. m. 

————— .... Lfemore 3p. m. 

• • • • • Mallow 5 a.m. 

• • Boacrea 5a. m. 

— ■ Boss ••• 3 p. m. 

Thurta 9a.m. 

*— Tralee 5a.m. . 

— • • Wexford 5 a. m. « 

Ditto 11 a. m. . 

Wexford .... Cork 7a. m. . 

— Limerick 7 a.m. • 

1 Kilkenny 7 a. m. < 

Hosa 8a.m. 

"— Ditto 2 p. m. < 

Thomastown 2 p. m. ■ 

Waterford 2 p. m. • 

Ditto 2p.m. • 



7p.m. . 
... 2 p. m. 
.(Stops one night 



4 p. m. 
9p.m. 
5— 20 p.m. 
7 p.m. 
5— JO p. m. 
7 p.m. 



/ Stops one night 
\ at I '--'-•- 



Limerick. 

11a.m. 

6— 30p.m. 

(Stops one night 
at Limerick. 

7p.ni. 

. . . . . 12 noon. 

5 p.m. 

8— 30 p.m. 

2— 30p.m. 

8 p. m. 



THE 

ITINERARY OF IRELAND. 



No. 1. From Dublin to ANTRIM. First Road. 
Through Drogheda, Banbridge, and Moira. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin CasOe to Miles. 

Drumcondm. * DundaHc 40J 

Saataj 3} Joneaboxough 45* 

Swords 7 Newry 50* 

Tu ^ey 9 SheepBridge 53* 

Man-of-Wai- J2| Loughbrioltland 68* 

Babnddery 14* Banbridge 60J 

Julianstown Bridge 20* Donaghcloney 66 

Drogheda 23J Magheralin 671 

Dunleer 30* Moir* 69* 

Castle Bellingham 34} Glenayy 76 

Lnrgan Green 37J Antrim 83 

DRUMCONDRA is a village which possesses many 
objects of attraction to the inhabitants of Dublin, as one 
of the most agreeable walks from town ; the entire road 
being thickly studded by villas and gardens. The bridge 
is thrown across the rural stream from Glassnevin, which, 
passing through Drumcondra and Ballybought, flows into 
the bay of Dublin. On the rivulet at the bridge foot are 
some flour mills, and adjoining is Belvidere, a fine square 
mansion, with a park enclosed by a high wall. The church 
of Drumcondra contains a monument, by Sheemackers, to 
the memory of Mr. Coghill, Chancellor of the Exchequer 
in the last century* Here also, in the church-yard, is the 
l3 



114 1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 

tomb of Grose, the antiquarian, so well known by his 
elegant and laborious illustrations of this kingdom. 
Pop. 590. 

SANTRY is a small village of Dublin, with a church, 
Roman Catholic chapel, and school. Santry House is 
spacious, and its park extensive : it is the residence of 
Sir Compton Domville. Beyond this pleasant spot is seen 
the church of Cloghran, situated on a height of lime rock, 
which commands a superb prospect of both sea and land. 
Pop. 125. 

SWORDS is a post town of Dublin, celebrated for its 
antiquities. Before the Union it was a borough. The 
black walls of its once stately castle are seen above the 
small houses of the long street; a square tower and various 
portions of ruin still remain. Here also are vestiges of 
the monastery founded by St Columb, in 512, as well as 
a nunnery, an old church, and a celebrated round tower, 
73 feet in height and 55 in girth : it is isolated from the 
walls of the church, and is of a ruder construction than 
many of the other Irish round towers. The horse and 
cattle fair is well attended by the holiday makers of Dublin. 
It has a handsome Gothic church, for the erection of which 
some of the ruins of the old abbey were removed ; a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a school house, a dispensary, and a large 
barrack. Pop. 2537. Fairs: March 17, May 9, July 12, 
September 10, and November 5. 

Two miles from Swords U Felttim, a village at the foot 
of a hill which commands a fine prospect. Feltrim Castle 
afforded an asylum to James II. after the battle of the 
Boyne, and the room in which he passed one night is still 
preserved. 



1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 115 

TURVEY is a small village of Dublin. Near it is 
Turvey Park, with a large mansion, the seat of Lord 
Trimleston, surrounded by fine woods and shrubberies. 
At some distance are the ruins of Grace Dieu Nunnery. 

MAN-OF-WAR was formerly a first stage from town, and 
well known for its excellent accommodation, but it has fallen 
to decay, in consequence of the high road being changed. 

BALRUDDERY is a small village of Dublin, a mile 
from the sea : it gives name to a barony. The church is a 
neat building. In the vicinity are Prospect Hall and 
Hampton Hall, two fine seats. Three miles and a half 
beyond this place is Gormanstown Castle, the seat of Viscount 
Gormanstown. Pop. 375. Fairs: May 6, and Aug. 12. 

DROGHEDA is situated on the Boyne, in Louth, but 
its liberties south of the river are in Eastmeath. This 
town is a county in itself, and sends a member to the 
Imperial Parliament: it is governed by a mayor and sheriffs. 
Drogheda is historically celebrated ; it gallantly resisted all 
the efforts of the Irish under Sir Phelim O'Neil, in 1641 ; 
and soon afterwards it was stormed by Cromwell, who put 
its defenders to the sword. In the valley of the Boyne, at 
Old Bridge, two miles from the town, and on an eminence, 
is the obelisk, which commemorates King William's deci- 
sive victory on the 1st of July, 1690; where also the brave 
Schomberg was killed by an accidental shot from one of his 
own men. The houses of Drogheda are large and handsome, 
and are built of brick ; and the public edifices are respectable ; 
but its suburbs consist of unsightly hovels. The Tholsel, 
in the main street, is a handsome building, with a tower, 
covered in by a small dome. The traveller may also notice, 



116 1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 

the linen hall, the corn market designed by Mr. John- 
ston, the custom house, the gaol erected in 1818, the 
Catholic chapel on the site of the old gaol, the county 
hospital in Great George Street, the theatre in William 
Street, the reading rooms on the quay, and the men- 
dicity establishment in William Street. There are also 
several meeting houses and charitable institutions. In 
its brave defence, in 1641, the town was commanded by 
Lord Moore, of Drogheda, ancestor of the Marquess of 
Drogheda. On an adjoining hill there is a small fort with 
a guard and cannon. 

The present prosperity and trade of the place give it a 
high rank among the towns in Ireland ; the linen manu- 
facture is very considerable. St Peter's church and spire, 
of hewn stone, erected from designs by Mr. Johnston ; 
St Mary's church, completed in 1810; the barracks, and 
the ancient steeples of the abbeys, transpierced by wide 
arches, in the direction of the cardinal points, are worthy 
of notice ; the latter suffered by the shot from Cromwell's 
batteries. Drogheda is seated in a valley, with a steep 
range of hills to the north, up which the road ascends just 
beyond the town; whence the various steeples appear above 
the low houses of the suburb, which extends nearly half a 
mile from the principal streets ; a fine coup d'oeil of the 
town is obtained from the hills. The sea and bay are above 
four miles east of the town ; yet, as the Boyne is navigable 
to the bridge, the port of Drogheda is favourable for a con- 
siderable commerce and coasting trade. There are steam 
packets to Dublin, Liverpool, and Belfast The salmon 
fishery is good* 

The following are the antiquities of the town and its 
vicinity: — the fine ruin of St. Mary's Church, close to which 
once stood a castle, south of the Boyne; an Augustine 



1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 117 

abbey ; a priory of St Laurence, near the gate of the same 
name; a Dominican friary, founded in 1224, on the north 
side of the Boyne, in which Richard II. received the per- 
sonal homage and fealty of several Irish princes ; St Mary's 
hospital, at the west gate; and other monastic houses, 
crosses, &c. Bevrac Mount, artificially raised, it is sup- 
posed as a barrow, is near the old chapel of St Mary. The 
town was formerly surrounded with walls, hut only one 
gateway (St Laurence's) is now standing. 

Terfeck an Castle, which was inhabited by the learned 
Usher, and the Archbishops of Armagh, is now a ruin, and 
is above three miles from Drogheda. The village of Ter- 
feckan, which is near the coast, is inhabited by fishermen. 
The parish church is situated on a rising ground, over the 
river, and has a good steeple and spire. Mellifont, a Cis- 
tercian abbey, is five miles to the west of Drogheda ; it was 
rounded by O' Carrol, in the twelfth century, and afterwards 
granted by Henry VIII. to the Moores, by whom it was 
repaired for a mansion; the baptistery and some other 
interesting vestiges of it are still to be seen. The demo- 
lition of its beautiful doorway occurred some years ago, in 
consequence of its then proprietor having staked it on 
a chance at cards. To the left of the north road, in a 
valley three miles from Drogheda, the traveller cannot fail 
to observe the great round tower at Monasterboice, dilapi- 
dated near the top, 110 feet high, and 51 in circumference ; 
at its foot are two sculptured crosses, of which St Boyne's 
Cross is 18 feet in height Two ancient chapels are all 
that remain of Monasterboice Abbey. At Orange, near 
Drogheda, is a famous excavated cavern of large dimen- 
sions, said, by Valancey, to be a heathen temple, being 
an antrum dedicated to superstitious rites; its vault is 



118 1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 

rudely covered in: some Roman coins were discovered in 
this cave. 

Pop. 17,365. The principal Inns are commodious, and 
well furnished; Market day: Saturday. Fairs: March 9, 
April 10, May 12, June 22, Aug. 26, Oct 29, Nov. 20, 
and Dec. 18. 

DUNLEER is a village of Louth, and post town. This 
county, which is entered at Drogheda, is the smallest of the 
kingdom, but is amongst the best cultivated, and is fertile ; 
it is bordered by precipitous broken hills to the north, and 
is embellished by a considerable growth of ash trees, which 
in many parts surround the villages or border the roads : it 
appears fortunate that this tree is so much favoured by the 
Irish, as its pendant and elegant branches are pleasing to 
the sight, and its wood is of constant utility to agricul- 
turists. Dunleer has a large church; it is a more seques- 
tered place, and exhibits less of commercial spirit and 
activity, or improvement, than might be expected in such 
a thoroughfare. It has good inns. Pop. 710. 

Seats.— Barmeath, the demesne of the Bellew family; 
Rokeby HaU, one mile distent, built from designs by Mr. 
Johnston, and formerly the mansion of the late Dr. Robin- 
son, Archbishop of Armagh, but now the seat of Count De 
Salis, the proprietor of the town, who has built a handsome 
dispensary, and promoted much improvement in it 

CASTLE BELLINGHAM is a beautiful post town of 
Louth, on the banks of the Lagan, which, at a short dis- 
tance to the east, falls into an open shallow bay of the Irish 
Channel. Here is a respectable inn, and the village fur- 
nishes excellent ale. The dispensary was established in 



1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 119 

1819. The school houses, built as Swiss cottages, by Sir 
Allen Bellingham, Bart, are remarkably neat, and their 
architecture a great ornament to the town. At the bend 
of the road, in the centre of Castle Bellingham, is a large 
elm tree. In the vicinity is Greenmount, on the summit of 
which is an earthen fort or encampment, commanding a fine - 
prospect In the middle is a large barrow, or tumulus. 
The church of Castle Bellingham is an ancient edifice, to 
which a new aisle has been added ; there is also a Roman 
Catholic chapel at a short distance from the town. Pop. 
611. Fairs: Easter Tuesday, and October 10. Distant 
one mile from this, is the sea-bathing village of Annagassan. 

LURGAN-GREEN is a small village and post town on 
the eastern coast of Louth, near the mouth of the little 
river Fane. Clermont demesne is one mile farther, and 
beyond it is the old church of Hainestown. The whole of 
the flat shore south of Dundalk is covered with various 
kinds of water-fowl ; barnacles are the most numerous, 
and the most highly esteemed, although here they are not 
considered to possess the fine flavour of the same bird either 
at Wexford or Deny. The stupendous barrier of the Car- 
lingford Hills skirts the opposite coast of this great bay, 
and has a direction from west to east Fain: May 21, 
July 25, and November 11. 

DUNDALK is an ancient and populous assize, borough, 
market, and post town of Louth, on the south side of the Cas- 
tletown river, and near the bay to which it gives name, and 
returns a member to the Imperial Parliament It was at 
this point the bulwark of the " English Pale," and was 
surrounded on all sides by strong castles, and castellated 
mansions of the English barons. Its fortifications were 



120 1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 

destroyed in 1641. It has a commodious but shallow har- 
bour, and a good roadstead, and its trade and manufactures 
are flourishing. The cambric manufacture has been intro- 
duced here, and continues to flourish. The town and public 
buildings have been erected in a good style ; the streets 
are regular, and of great length. In the market-place, 
which is spacious, is the sessions house, an edifice of 
truly classical architecture, completed in 1822. The facade 
is after the model of the Temple of Theseus, at Athens: 
the noble Doric columns in the portico are fluted, and, 
being in a double row, give a depth and stateliness to 
this edifice which is surpassed by few other court houses. 
Here are the remains of two ancient friaries, one of which, 
called the Grey Friars, has a large tower. The barracks, 
gaol, news and assembly rooms, linen hall, and a hand- 
some charter school, endowed by the Hamilton family, 
are good buildings. A fine and newly-erected county 
infirmary on the south side attracts attention. There 
are two Roman Catholic chapels, several meeting houses, 
a free school, and fever hospital. 

At some distance from Dundalk, but within sight of the 
town, are the castle and rath of Castletown, near which 
are the venerable walls of a church, clad with ivy. From 
the hill on which Castletown stands, is seen the seat of 
the Earls of Clanbrassil, who possessed likewise a good 
house in Dundalk; which mansions descended by inter- 
marriage to the Earl of Roden, together with a finely- 
planted demesne, and a large estate. In this old mansion 
are preserved fine portraits of Henry VIII., Anne Boleyn, 
and some of the Hamiltons. A handsome bridge was built 
across the river in 1822, a few yards farther from the 
head of the Bay than the ancient one, which was narrow, 
and in a dangerous condition. Dundalk market is plentit 



]. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 121 

folly supplied, particularly in the corn trade ; it is held on 
Monday, and is a lively scene of speculation and bustle. 
The approach to this town by the Dublin road is extremely 
beautiful : we pass along the side of a noble park on the 
left hand, and on the right hand a newly-built brick chimney, 
of great altitude, attracts our attention ; it belongs to the 
distillery. Races are held annually. Pop, 10,078. Market 
day: Monday. Fairs: principal on May 17; also on 
Feb. 22, July 5, Aug. 20, Oct 25, and Dec. 13. Inns: 
the King's Arms ; and the Coach and Horses, A steamer 
plies regularly to Liverpool. 

JONESBOROUGH, or FLURRYBR1DGE, by which 
latter name it is designated in the list of post towns, is in 
the county of Armagh. The road from Dundalk, after 
passing round the head of the bay, begins to ascend the 
mountains. To the right is Bellurgan Hill, an abrupt 
isolated precipice, at the foot of the Carlingford range ; it 
is situated upon the sea-shore, and its round, rocky top 
overshadows Ravensdale, in which is situated Ravensdale 
Park 9 and near it the villa of the late Baron M'Clelland. 
Ascending the pass, which, in consequence of numerous 
accidents to coaches, has been rendered more practicable 
by a new line of road, we have to the right the woods of 
Piedmont, Mr. Fortescue's, which in unbounded diversity 
skirt the brink of the romantic Jonesborough Rivulet, and 
cover the side of a stupendous height, the top of which 
contrasts by its red heath with the sylvan scene beneath t 
avenues through these delightful groves conduct directly 
up the hill. To the left of our route rise desolate summits, 
or craggy rocks, above the shells of numerous houses 
burned by the insurgents in 1798, which the present pro- 
prietor is, repairing: the neighbouring bill has also been 



122 1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 

recently planted. Jonesborough is a fine sporting station : 
it has an inn ; and its church closes the prospect of the 
most romantic mountains, which surround a wide elevated 
plain, consisting principally of a deep red moss, along the 
road to Newry. Of these mountains some are newly 
planted ; and Slieve GuUen, which has a small lake on its 
summit, frowns majestically above the dreary waste. Pop. 
174. 

NEWRY is a populous manufacturing town and port of 
Down, having two handsome bridges over the Newry- 
Water. The mail passes over a drawbridge on the canal, 
which is navigable for small sloops from Carlingford Bay to 
Lough Neagh. 

Newry is situated in a circuitous valley, and the en- 
trance to it from the Dublin road is formed by a long and 
steep descent. The prospect along the vale towards the 
Bay of Carlingford is sublime, presenting a full view of 
superb hills, and of a navigation winding around their 
base, with every feature which a spirited commerce can 
superadd to the romantic outline of this wild scenery. To 
the left the mountains of Killeny are still inhabited by a 
rude uncultivated peasantry, by whom the English language 
is but little known. The quay, and vessels floating along- 
side of it, form an interesting sight within the town itself; 
some of the streets are narrow and ill-built, but the style 
of the new buildings is greatly superior to the old town. 
The new church, with its elegant Gothic spire, cannot 
mil to excite admiration. The commerce and manufactures 
of Newry and its surrounding district, enable the highly 
respectable inhabitants and merchants to improve their 
town, in a degree, and with a rapidity, that was little to be 
expected: but for their excitement, the improvements of 



1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 123 

the last: thirty yean would not have been effected in 
a century. The old church, repaired in the time of 
Charles II., is conspicuous on the ridge of a hill which 
closes the north limits of the town. The abbey of Newry 
was founded by Mac Laughlin, an Irish monarch! in the 
12th century, and was endowed by Hugh de Lacy. In 
right of the abbacy, certain civil and ecclesiastical privileges 
are still enjoyed by the lay impropriator. The abbey stood 
on this hill, and was burned in the civil war. Newry has 
a court house, a sessions house, and gaol ; an exchange, 
with a news room, and ball-room; a custom house, a 
theatre, a market house, and several schools and meeting 
houses. The Roman Catholic chapel is probably the 
handsomest in Ireland, and is at once a beautiful and 
chaste specimen of the Gothic style. It is in the High 
Street, on the opposite side to the new church. In the 
burial ground of the Presbyterian meeting house is a 
handsome monument in memory of Dr. Malcolm. 

The retreating forces of James II. set fire to this town. 
It is now, however, the most flourishing place in the county 
of Down, which our road here first enters, and which 
throughout exhibits a diversity of hill and dale, from the 
smooth green knoll to the craggy tops of gigantic cliffs; 
whilst the perpetual recurrence of fresh or salt water 
loughs, and beautiful bays of the sea, aids powerfully the 
picturesque display of a county, which is also the favourite 
seat of enterprise and civilisation. East of Newry there 
is a rath distant one mile ; and at no great distance quarries 
of grey granite. Newry returns a member to the United 
Parliament, and is governed by a seneschal. Steamers ply 
regularly to Liverpool, Glasgow, and Dublin. 

Pop. 13,065. Market day: Thursday. Fairs: first 
Monday after Easter Sunday, and October 29. Inns; 



124 l. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 

King's Arms ; Black's Hotel ; the Crown ; the Shakespeare ; 
and the White Cross. 

The scenery between Newry andRostrevor, on the coast, 
is a combination of the wilder aspect of nature with all the 
charms consequent to wealth, cultivation, and taste. 

LOUGHBRICKLAND is a post town, in the county of 
Down. It is a straggling, but pleasant place, the name 
of which is said by Smith, in his account of Down, to mean 
the Lake of the Speckled Trout. The lake itself is close 
to the village, and its bleak shore is unprotected by any 
wood ; the winds sweeping down from the naked hill above 
it, often agitate the surface ; at a distance from the road, 
which winds along its shore, there is a cluster of trees 
which grow upon a diminutive islet emerging from the 
lough. The Protestants were here devoted to a horrible 
catastrophe in the great rebellion, having been driven upon 
the ice by their enemies, when it broke, they sunk to the 
bottom, no escape to the shore being possible. The lough 
is deep, and has a variety of fine fish. The church is 
small. There is a new and very neat Roman Catholic 
chapel on the left, passing from the south. Pop, 618. Fairs : 
Monthly. Inn: the Rising Sun. 

BANBRIDGE is a considerable market and post town 
of Down, on the river Bann. It is seated on a steep hill 
descending to the north, with a good bridge at the extre- 
mity of its wide street. Here the principal north roads 
divide, that by Lurgan branching off to the left. On the 
top of the hill stood the market house, which was removed on 
the cutting down of the road through the centre of the hill on 
which the town stands ; this operation is no doubt a great 
advantage to the traveller ; but the road running a depth 



1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 125 

of thirty feet below the level of the foundations of the 
houses in the principal street, which is thus divided by it, 
and its breadth much contracted, the inhabitants feel it as 
an inconvenience. A light bridge is thrown across it for 
communication between the two sides. A new market 
house is in progress, and the prosperity of the town seems 
to increase, there being two branches of banks lately 
established ; we may therefore suppose that the arduous 
operation of diminishing the elevation of this road, through 
the town, has been successful : roads for wheeled carriages 
still ascend the old hill on each side, past the doors of 
the houses; the masonry of unequal masses of black rock, 
of which the bridge is built, has that peculiar character 
which is familiar to the traveller in Ireland There is an 
excellent inn at the entrance from the south, with several 
good public-houses in the town. It is a place of much 
traffic, and a great thoroughfare. The bann side presents 
some very beautiful scenery ; a large quantity of yarn and 
fine webs is bought up throughout the adjacent country, 
and the loom is plied by most of the cottagers, who are 
industrious, and reap great advantage from the linen manu- 
facture. The church is a mile distant, but there are a Roman 
Catholic chapel, meeting houses, and a dispensary. 

Pop. 2469. Fairs: Jan. 12, for horses, March 10, 
June 9, July 26, Aug. 26, and Nov. 16. Market Day: 
Monday. Inn : the Downshire Arms. 

The vale from Banbridge to Moyallen, Lord Gilford's, 
is fertile and picturesque : wooded, hills, bleach grounds, 
and the winding stream, are its principal features. 

DONAGHCLONEY is a village in the county of 
Armagh. 

m3 



126 1. DUBLIN TO, ANTRIM. 

MAGHERALIN is a pretty village of Armagh, with 
a good parish church and glehe house. It is near the 
River Lagan, and at a short distance from it is Grace Hall, 
a pleasant residence. The Bishops of Dromore formerly 
inhabited a mansion at this place. 

MOIRA, in the county of Down. This post town was 
the property of the Rawdon family, and hence the Marquess 
of Hastings took the title of Earl Moira. The main street 
is wide, and well built, and there is a good market house. 
The church, which is of hewn stone, is seated on a hill, 
and is approached by an avenue of elms. The castle, built 
here by the Rawdons, was a stately residence ; it is now 
taken down, but the park is still an agreeable walk. Moira 
has an endowed school, a good parsonage, and two meeting 
houses. A mile from it is a large Roman Catholic chapel. 
Sir R. Bateson, Bart, is the proprietor of Moira. Pop- 
787. 

ANTRIM is a fair and post town, called the capital of 
the flourishing county of this name ; but although sessions 
are held here, the assizes for the county are at Carrick- 
fergus. It gives the title of Earl to the M'Donnell family. 
This was an Irish borough, but does not now return any 
member. The town is rapidly improving, for which it is 
partly indebted to the linen trade; the very beautiful 
adjacent district being filled with bleach- fields and beetling- 
mills. The land in the vicinity is fertile. The Six- Mile 
Water joins Lough Neagh near Antrim. The market 
house has been substantially repaired ; and there is an 
elegant Gothic church, with a steeple and spire, and several 
meeting houses, a dispensary, and schools. A well- 



1. DUBLIN TO ANTRIM. 127 

built Catholic chapel, with an image of the Virgin over the 
entrance, faces the park of Viscount Ferrard. His lodge 
within the town, is a small embattled gateway, conspicuous 
at the head of the street entering from ftandalstown. 
Antrim Castle, the seat of Viscount Massarene, stands 
amidst the plantations of the park, which lies on the 
banks of Lough Neagh. Beneath the shelter of the fine 
timber of this park are innumerable pheasants. Earl 
O'Neill was slain in 1798, in this town, being surrounded 
by a body of insurgents. 

The round tower, on a spacious plain, about half a 
mile from the town, is perfect, and is kept in repair ; its 
white side renders it conspicuous, but detracts from the 
gloomy antiquity of the more dilapidated towers of this 
kind ; it is ninety-five feet in height, and at one yard from 
the ground, fifty-three feet in circumference. The slated 
roofs in this country are often, in like manner, white, with 
a thin coat of mortar, from the erroneous notion that it 
strengthens the otherwise beautiful slates, against the heavy 
rains of this climate ; but a white roof invariably destroys 
the beauty of a landscape, or the appearance of a mansion 
or village. 

Pop. 2655. Market Day: Thursday. Fairs: Jan. 1, 
May 12, Aug; 3, and Nov. 12. Inns: the Antrim Arms; 
and the King's Arms. 



128 



No. 2. From Dudlik to ANTRIM. Second Road. 
Through Dkogheda, Banbhidge, and Lurgan. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Mile*. 

Banbridge*, as at No. 1 60* Ballinderry 741 

Hall'sMill 63* Crumlin 791 

Waringstown 663 Antrim 841 

Lurgan 683 

WARINGSTOWN is a pleasant village and post town 
in Down. The roof of the church is of Irish oak. In the 
vicinity is a Danish Rath, and the mansion of the Waring 
family. In the immediate neighbourhood are many exten- 
sive bleach greens. 

LURGAN, in the county of Armagh, is a pleasant 
town, situated at a short distance from the south-east point 
of Lough Neagh, of which it commands a good view ; but 
except near gentlemen's residences, the shores of this lake 
are generally boggy, bare of trees, and flat The principal 
street is wide, and the church has a fine spire. There are 
also a Roman Catholic chapel, several meeting houses, 
a court house, and a school. The linen manufacture 
flourishes here ; and there is a distillery, and two breweries. 
Near Lurgan is an elegant new mansion of Mr.Brownlow's. 
It is a manor house, in the Elizabethean style, surrounded 
by beautiful grounds. It is a post town, and has a branch 
of the provincial bank. Pop. 2842. Market Day: Friday. 
Fairs : Aug. 5, and Nov. 22. 

BALLINDERRY is a village and post town of Antrim. 
Half a mile from it is Portmore Castle, an ancient ruin on 



3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 120 

the side of Lough Neagh, which, with the fine park sur- 
rounding it, belongs to the Marquess of Hertford. Pop. 
410. 

CRUMLIN is a neat village and post town of Antrim. 
Here is an extensive flour mill, a meeting house, and a 
Roman Catholic chapel and school. Beyond Crumlin, on 
the lake, the round tower of Ram Island forms a marked 
object ; the distant shore towards Stewartstown can be traced 
in a clear atmosphere ; the Bay of Lurgan is to the left, and 
Slieve Gallion is seen near Lough Beg, or the lesser Lake. 
Few objects near Lough Neagh can compare with Longford 
Lodge, Colonel Packenham, with the delightful road called 
the Green Walk, its noble trees and pretty cascade : the 
walk leads from Crumlin to the ruins of a chapel. Pop, 
643. Fairs: Monthly. 



No. 3. From Dublin to ARDFERT. First Road. 
Through Kildare, Maryborough, Limerick, and 
Newcastle. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin CasUe to Miles. 

Rathcoole 7) Silrermines 77 

Johnstown 13} Shallee Turnpike 781 

Naas 164 Newport 86 

Newbridge 20) Limerick 94 

Kildare 243 Adair 108 

Monastereven 30 Rathkeale 108 

Emo 343 Newcastle 114* 

Maryborough 40 Coolnakenny 118J 

Mouutrath 46* Abbeyfeale 123* 

Castle-town 48* Listowell 131* 

Bunos-in-Ossory 53* Crotto 138* 

Roscrea 59* Abbey Odorney 140| 

Toomarara 69* Ardfert 144J 



ISO 3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 

RATHCOOLE, a post town in Dublin. The Cork 
mail coach road passes through Kilmainham, and at two 
miles from the capital, by a handsome bridge, crosses the 
grand canal. Leaving Clondalkin half a mile on the right, 
with its celebrated round tower, eighty-four feet high, 
we reach the village of Rathcoole ; it has a charter-school 
for female orphanVr^tWQjniles beyond it begins Kildare 
county. Pop. 602. 

Seats: Athgoe; Castle-Warden; and KiUeel Castle, 
about four miles from Rathcoole. 

JOHNSTOWN, in Kildare, is seated on the river Moral, 
where there is a good inn. Pop. 101. 

Seats: two miles before we come to Johnstown, is 
Bishop* s Court, the elegant mansion of Lord Ponsonby ; on 
a hill to the right is seen Oughterard church and tower. 
Pahnerstown, the ancient family mansion of the Earl of 
Mayo. 

NAAS, a borough, market, and post town, in Kildare, 
was once fortified with several strong castles, and is seated 
on a height. Assemblies of the States were long holden at 
Naas, antecedent to the ninth century ; its name signifies 
the place of the Elders. Naas was the residence of the 
Kings of Leinster. In all the civil wars this town was an 
object of severe contest; it was a scene of action in 1798, 
when one thousand insurgents were repulsed in the street, 
with considerable loss. At the foot of the rath at Naas 
was a cell for Augustine Eremities, or Friars, whose house 
here was founded in 1484: there is also an artificial moat 
raised at the opposite end of the town. The Dominican 
monastery is a ruin in the centre of the town ; it was founded 
by the family of Sir Edward Eustace, Lord Chancellor. 



3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 131 

There are barracks, a court house, a market house, and 
the county gaol ; also a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, 
and a dispensary. The grand canal passes within two 
miles, and there is a cut from it to the town. Here are 
also flour mills, and the corn market is conducted in an 
extensive manner. 

Pop. 3808. Market Day*: Monday an<f*Thursday. Fairs: 
Feb. 16, Mar. 17, May 8 and 19, Aug. 10, Oct 20, and 
Nov. 22. Inn : the King's Arms.' 

Seats: the Duke of Leinster has a ruined castle. 
Within half a mile south of Naas, is Jiggmstoum House, 
built by the Earl of Strafford, who was beheaded in the 
Teign of Charles I. : this palace fell into decay upon his 
attainder. Cradockstown, one mile distant. 

NEWBRIDGE, a post town in Kildare. This village 
receives its name from the bridge- across the River Liffey. 
♦See on the left hand Great Connell Abbey ; twenty years 
-after this magnificent abbey was built, its founder, Meyler 
Fitzhenry, natural son of Henry I., was interred in the 
«chapter-house, with this inscription : — 

Conduntur tnmulo Meyleri nobilis ossa, 
Indomita* domitor totfas gentia Hibernie. 

At Old Connell there is a handsome rath. Pop. 577. 
Fairs : May 3, and August 15. 

KILDARE is the county town of Kildare. The ap- 
proach to this town, so much celebrated in history, is across 
the Curragh, which is the most beautiful race-course in the 
kingdom. The King's plate is run for here in April, 
in June, and September. King George IV. visited this 
spot in 1821. The Curragh of Kildare comprises 3000 
-acres, and presents the remains of several barrows or raths, 



182 3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 

supposed to be Druidicai This ancient town long gave 
title to the Fitzgerald* ; in 1766, the Earl of Kildare was 
created Duke of Leinster. Chilledair, the Wood of Oaks* 
was a gloomy forest of great extent ; the arm of the Danish 
invaders severely depressed the rising town. Here may be 
seen the ruins of several abbeys. The nunnery was founded 
by St Bridget, about a.- d. 500 ; and within its walls she 
established a perpetual sacred fire, which was first extin- 
guished by Henry de Loundres, Archbishop of Dublin, in 1220, 
and, having been relighted, was continued till the disso- 
lution in the sixteenth century. The place where this relic 
of superstition was exhibited is now called the Fire House. 
Several famous princes of Ireland abdicated and became 
Abbots of Kildare : among others, Aod Dubh (black Hugh) 
king of Leinster, in 638. The Grey Friars and the White 
Friars were founded, the first in 1260, and the latter in 
1290, by William Lord de Vesci, Earl of Kildare. At 
Tully, near Kildare, are the ruins of an ancient abbey. 
The house of the Knights Hospitallers of Tully was made 
a grant of to Sir Henry Harrington : its estates are now 
held in commendam of the Bishop of Kildare. 

The beautiful and perfect round tower in the church- 
yard at Kildare is 130 feet in height; at the distance of 
fourteen feet from the foundation is the door ; which, being 
placed so high, is approached by steps on the outside. 
The basement beneath the door is of a white granite, 
and the upper part of the tower is dark, and surmounted by 
a battlement A part of the castle is in tolerable repair ; 
the cathedral is classed among the ruins ; but the choir is 
used as the parish church. The deanery of Christ Church 
forms the most valuable portion of the present diocese. 
There is a Roman Catholic chapel, and also a parish 
school The town suffered much during the last rebellion ; 



3, DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 133 

in former times its ramparts were sufficient to protect it 
from a minor force. It possesses some public buildings j 
amongst which are the county infirmary, the turf club 
house, and the market house, contiguous to which is a well. 
The town is governed by a Sovereign and a Recorder. 

In the vicinity is the Hill of Allen, a cave which is said 
to be the place of sepulture of Oscar and other Oarianic 
chiefs, this being formerly the Hill of Temora: this hill 
contains rich veins of copper, and gives name to the great 
Bog of Allen. Above a mile beyond Kildare is the ruin 
called Lackagh Castle. 

Seats: Moore Town; and Mount Rice. 

Pop. 1753. Market Day : Thursday. Fairs: Feb. 12. 
Easter Tuesday, May 12, June 29, Sept 19, and Oct 29. 
Inn : the Kildare Hotel. 

MONASTEREVEN is a market and post town in the 
county of Kildare, pleasantly situated on the Barrow, over 
which is a bridge of five arches. A south branch of the 
grand canal, in its course towards Athy, passes by this 
town. It has a modern church, a Roman Catholic 
chapel, a market house, a dispensary, and a seminary 
for the charter schools of Leinster : there is also an exten- 
sive brewery and distillery. The abbey, in which St Evan, 
in 620, placed monks from Munster, was formerly very 
magnificent. It was granted to Lord Audley ; and now 
belongs to the Marquess of Drogheda, whose mansion and 
demesne of Moore Abbey is on the Barrow river ; the park 
is beautifully laid out, and contains a fine lake skirted by a 
mountain. Three miles beyond this town is BaUybrittas, 
a village and post town; and near it ClanmalUere, the 
mansion and seat of the Dean of Kildare. 

Pop. 1441. Market Day: Saturday. Fairs: Mar. 28,. 

N 



134 & DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 

Whit Tuesday, July 31, and Dec. 6. Inn : the Drogheda 
Arms, by D. Fleming. 

EMO, a post town, in Queen's County. Seats : Daw- 
son's Court, Earl of Portarlington. This mansion is sur- 
rounded by a beautifully-wooded park, which contains some 
fine avenues. The groves skirt the border of a charming 
lake, the resort of a surprising assemblage of aquatic fowl. 
Beyond Emo are Rathkeen Castle andCommon, and on the right 
Sheen Castle, on a steep mountain. This old castle was an 
appurtenance of Dunamase, and was repaired and embel- 
lished by Dean Coote. Above two miles from Emo, to the 
left of the high road, is the ancient suin of Dunamase or 
Dun Mace Castle, upon a precipitous rock, once the fortified 
residence of Earl Strongbow: it was last dismantled by 
Cromwell Pop. 102. 

MARYBOROUGH, the capital of Queen's County, 
is a market and post town near the river Barrow. 
The county and county town alike receive name from 
Mary I., in whose reign their institution as such was 
granted. The castle of Maryborough, destroyed by Crom- 
well, although a ruin, has its constable. This town is 
governed by a burgomaster, and has a barrack : its situa- 
tion is in a charming and highly-embellished country. — • 
Here are a neat church, a handsome Roman Catholic 
chapel, a commodious gaol, school houses, a county infir- 
mary, and lunatic asylum. There is also a small manufactory 
of cottons and woollens. This place gives title of Baron 
to one of the Wellesley family. 

Pop. 3223. Market Day,: Thursday. Fairs: Jan. 1, 
Feb. 24, March 25, May 12, July 5, Sept 4, Oct. 23, 
and Dec 4. 



3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 136 

Seats: Rathleague, a fine seat of Sir Henry ParueU, 
Bart,: is half a mile beyond the town. Ballyfin Haute is a 
magnificent residence : the most distinguished objects of 
the park are the wide-expanding lake, and the large forest 
timber which shades its banks. 

MOUNTRATH, a market and post town in Queen's 
County, situated on the river Nore. In this small town, 
a woollen manufacture, a cotton factory, and several forges 
are established. The modem church has a handsome spire 
and clock. Here also are a Roman Catholic chapel, a 
Quakers' meeting house, Methodist chapels, a modern 
school house on the Lancasterian system, and a free 
school for Roman Catholics. The market house is a 
good structure ; and a handsome street, named Coote Street, 
is added to the old town. 

Pop. 2593. Market Day: Saturday. Fairs: Jan. 6, 
Feb. 17, Easter Monday, 2nd Thursday in May, June 20, 
Aug. 10, Sept. 29, and first Thursday in Nov. 

CASTLETOWN is a village of Queen's County, upon 
the river Nore. It has the ruins of a castle which once 
belonged to Sir Oliver Mac Morres, noted for his gigantic 
stature and surprising strength. Pop* 376. Fairs: May 1, 
June 29, and Oct. 18. 

BURROS-IN-OSSORY, in Queen's County, is a pretty 
village and post town. Three miles from Burros are the 
ruins of Ballaghmore Castle. Pop. 770. Fairs : nine in 
the year. 

ROSCREA is a post town in Tipperary, and has a 
considerable trade. The old church is a fine structure, 



136 3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 

the doors and mouldings of which are Saxon: near 
it is a large cross called St Cronan's Shrine, as well as a 
round tower, eighty feet high, having a pointed window. 
The castle is used as a barrack. There are many anti- 
quities in or near Roscrea, it having in early times been a 
bishop's see. Roscrea has also a church, erected in 1812, 
a Roman Catholic chapel, meeting houses, a market 
house, a bridewell, and a free school. The principal trade 
is the woollen manufacture. 

In Monela Bog, a branch of the Bog of Allen, three miles 
from Roscrea, are the ruins of a Culdean abbey, founded 
by St Columba, which still displays a grand Saxon arch, 
richly carved. A church and a chapel at this place stood 
on two islands. This bog, in early ages, was a lake. In 
Ledwich's antiquities there is an account of the Culdees of 
this abbey of Monaincha, a sect which opposed the Romish 
tenets. It was granted by Elizabeth to Sir Lucas Dillon. 
Some fine ash trees are growing upon its dilapidated 
walls. 

Pop. 5512. Market Days: Thursday and Saturday. 
Fairs: Mar. 25, May 7 and 13, June 21, Aug. 8, Oct 9, 
and Nov. 29. Inn: the White Hart 

Dunkerrin is a village in King's County, four and a half 
miles beyond Roscrea. It has a charter school, and a 
capacious church, built in 1818. Upon the road from 
Roscrea, the ruins of Rahanvegue Cattle are seen, about a 
mile from Dunkerrin. 

Moneygall, in King's County, is a post town, seven miles 
beyond Roscrea: with little to engage the traveller's 
attention. 

TOOMAVARA, in Tipperary. This village con- 
tains the ruins of a preceptory of the Knights Templars. 



3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 137 

Knockane Castle is at a short distance ; and beneath a lofty 
hill is the ruin of Blane Cattle. Pop. 790. 

SILVERMINES, in Tipperary. The lead mines of 
thia place have proved very valuable and productive. Near 
it are the ruins of Dunally Castle, Near this is Rilbay 
Castle, the seat of Lord Dunally. One mile and three 
quarters beyond Silvermines is Shallee turnpike. Pop. 
852. Fairs: April 27, last Thursday in May, July 2 J, 
and Oct 23. 

NEWPORT, in Tipperary, is a post town, pleasantly 
situated upon a stream which falls into the Shannon. The 
church has a square tower. To the left of the village is 
Derryleagh Castle, in ruins. Three miles from this is 
Castleconnell, a post town in Limerick, on the bank of the 
Shannon : it possesses the ruin of a castle : this famous 
fortress, situated upon a high and steep rock, was built 
by Connel the chieftain. There is an excellent spa, 
noted for the cure of scorbutic diseases and worms, a 
neat church, and a Roman Catholic chapel. The scenery 
here is beautiful : below the town commence the rapids of 
the Shannon ; above them, the water is forty feet deep, and 
about three hundred yards wide, making its way over rocks 
and stones for nearly half a mile. Castleconnell has an 
excellent inn. Pop. 1312. Fairs: April 20, June 1, July 
16, and Oct. 4. 

Annacotty, in Limerick, is a village on the road, within 
three miles of the city. To the right, on an island of the 
river Shannon, is Castle Trey, about a mile from Annacotty. 
To the left of the high-road is Newcastle, in which King 
William III. had his head-quarters. 

n3 



138 3. DUBLIN TO ARDtfERf. 

LIMERICK, which is reckoned the third city of Ireland, 
and gives name to one of the most extensive counties, is 
advantageously situated on the Shannon. It has its mayor, 
aldermen, sherifis, and recorder; and the garrison is 
commanded by a governor and a town major. It is a city 
returning two members to Parliament, and a bishop's see, 
united with Iniscarthy in the 12th century, and with 
Aghadoe and Ardfert in 1663. The town is styled a county 
in itself, and consists of three parts ; the English town, 
built on King's Island in the Shannon ; the Irish town ; 
and Newtown Pery, so named from the ancestor of the 
Earl of Limerick who planned it in 1769. The streets in 
this quarter are regular and handsome ; but those in the 
old town are narrow and gloomy. The bridge communi- 
cating with King's Island, consists of three wide arches. In 
1800 it had but 3000 houses ; but in 1831 there were 7800. 

The general style of the buildings is neat, and some of 
the public edifices are handsome : amongst them are the 
exchange, erected in 1777 ; the commercial buildings in 
Rutland Street; the new courthouse; the custom house; 
the linen hall ; the county gaol, built in 1822, and said 
to be the most perfect prison in Ireland ; the county infir- 
mary opposite to it ; the house of industry ; the lunatic 
asylum, and the barracks. A magnificent new bridge, 
with a drawbridge across the Shannon, from the New Town 
to the county of Clare, is completed ; of which the late 
celebrated Mr. Nimmo was engineer. It is called Wellesley 
Bridge ; and consists of five arches, each seventy feet span. 
This bridge, with the docks attached, have already cost 
upwards of 80,000/. ; and an Act has been lately passed, 
granting a further sum of 80,000/., for the purpose of form- 
ing an extensive floating dock, which when completed, will 
be one of the most useful undertakings in Ireland. A fine 



*. DUBLIN TO ARDFBRT, 189 

square has been marked out and planted, though not yet built 
upon, the centre of which is adorned with a fluted pillar, 
surmounted by a statue, executed by Kirk, of the Right 
Hon. Spring Rice, M.P., to whom the city is greatly in- 
its numerous improvements. 

The cathedral, dedicated to St Mary, is of Gothic 
architecture, with a handsome interior. It contains the 
tomb of the Thomonds, and part of a monument in honour 
of the Galway family : the tower commands a fine view of 
the town, and the river. The first episcopal church here 
was founded by St Munchin in the sixth century, and was 
destroyed by the Danes. There are several parish churches, 
as well as Roman Catholic chapels, friaries, a nunnery, 
and meeting houses, of the Wesleyans, Independents, and 
Quakers. The Dominican chapel is a handsome edifice in 
the Gothic style ; and the Augustine chapel in George 
Street, at one time the theatre, is worthy of notice. 

Thomond bridge is among the most curious of the 
ancient monuments of Limerick ; it is supposed to have 
been built about the year 1210, and consists of fourteen 
arches, of irregular construction. It crosses the main 
arm of the Shannon, from the north-east extremity of the 
debted for English town. 

Limerick possesses many charitable institutions: — 
amongst which may be mentioned the magdalen hospital, 
the foundling hospital, the fever and sick hospitals, and 
the Diocesan school: also Barrington's hospital, lately 
built at the sole expense of Sir J. Barrington, Bart and 
his sons. 

The town manufactures woollens, linen, thread lace, and 
paper; and there are several breweries and distilleries, 
tanneries, and salt works ; also a considerable manufac* 
tare of gloves. The trade of this port is considerable: 



140 3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 

ships of 850 tons being able to reach the quay. The 
principal exports are corn and butter, which have rapidly 
increased; the chief imports, provisions. A canal, on which 
steam-boats are established, forms a communication with 
Dublin. 

Limerick is very ancient: the Danes, about the year 
900, increased its commerce, and wine was imported in 
great quantities at that early period. The English acquired 
possession of Limerick in 1174: it has gained great histo- 
rical fame by its gallant resistance, when laid siege to, in 
both the civil wars. Ireton took the town in 1642; 
William III. in vain attempted its reduction in 1690 ; but 
his troops, under Ginkle, took it in 1691. Vestiges of the 
castle are seen on the river side, partly concealed by 
houses; but the fortifications and city gates have been 
demolished. There existed several monasteries, and a 
nunnery, founded by the Kings of Thomond and Limerick, 
or by citizens ; the ruins of some of them still endure ; 
namely, of a Dominican friary, founded in 1241, seen at 
the barrack and tanyard ; of the Grey Friars, the site of 
which is now occupied by the county court house, and its 
church is at present an hospital ; besides which there were 
two other monasteries and a nunnery, all of the order of 
St Augustine. 

The Shannon, on which Limerick is seated, deserves the 
noblest encomium for its picturesque variety, and its 
majesty, it being the broadest and principal river in Ire- 
land, and the most considerable in the British isles. Its 
whole course is about 234 miles ; and it washes the shores 
of no less than ten counties, Leitrim, Roscommon, Long- 
ford, Westmeath, King's County, Gal way, Tipperary, 
Clare, Limerick, and Kerry. Lough Allen, in Leitrim, 
supplied by several rivulets, or even Lough Clean, is the 



3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 141 

parent water from which the Shannon descends v near 
Lanesborough it is entered by the royal canal. The 
Shannon next fills the superb basin of Lough Ree ; below 
Banagher it is joined by the grand canal, and again 
expands into the beautiful Lough Derg. It thus separates 
the provinces of Connaught and Leinster, and serves to 
promote the commercial relations of the metropolis with 
all the centre of the kingdom : below Limerick it forms a 
great expanse, reaching northward to Ennis, while its 
powerful stream, generally three miles broad, pursues its 
course for above fifty miles, from Limerick to its em- 
bouchure betwixt Cape Lean in Clare, and Kerry Head, 
where it is nearly eight miles broad ; thus forming a superb 
western harbour. The beautiful islands and interesting 
antiquities which its waters embrace are regularly described 
in this volume. 

Seats on the Banks: (on the Limerick side), Mount 
Trenckard y Right Hon. Spring Rice, M.P. ; Castletown 
Demesne, and the fine ruin of Carrig-o-guncel Castle, (On 
the Clare side), the fine demesnes of Cahvicou, Cooper- 
hill, Tervac, and Bauratty Castle, 

Pop, 66,554. Market Days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs: Easter Tuesday, July 4, Aug. 4, and Dec. 12. 
Inns: the Clare; Swinburn's; Molony's; the Mail Coach ; 
and Glen's. 

Loughmore, in Limerick, is a village on the road, three 
miles from the city. Mungret Abbey is a mile to the right 
of Loughmore : the Psalter of Cashel records that this 
abbey had six churches, and 1500 religious; the royal 
author, M'Culinan, bequeathed to Mungret Abbey, in 908, 
three ounces of gold, a vest, and his blessing. The ruins 
are not such as would indicate any considerable monastic 
edifice. 



142 3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 

Patrick's Well is a long village and post town, two miles 
farther on this road. 

ADAIR, a post town, in Limerick, once of consequence, 
is now a picturesque village, embellished by the ruins of 
its interesting edifices. The monasteries were for Fran- 
ciscan friars, and were founded by the Earls of Kildare, in 
the reign of Edward I., in 1315, and in 1465. The first, 
dedicated to the Holy Trinity, has a tower resembling the 
keep of a castle, but built, like many Irish monastic steeples, 
over a groined arch ; it is on the south side of Adair. Here 
also we observe the Augustine friary, having a similar 
tower and arch, with a fine nave and cloisters. Ivy 
covers all the monasteries. The river Maig, which has 
here a bridge of nine arches, is navigable, and adds much 
to the beauty of Adair : on its bank is seated the ivy-clad 
castle, once strongly garrisoned by the Earl of Desmond, but 
reduced in 1641. Two miles beyond this charming spot 
is the ruin of Grannebrue Cattle, and, farther on, of Amigan 
Cattle. Near this is Adair Abbey, the mansion and demesne 
of the Earl of Dunraven; also Mount Shannon, Earl of 
Clare; and Curragh, the beautiful seat of Sir Aubrey De 
Vere. Pop. 766. Market Day: Saturday. Fairs: Jan. 20, 
Feb. 20, Mar. 27, April 27, May 27, Sept 15, Oct 14, 
and Dec. 15. 

RATH KE ALE is a market and post town, on the river 
Deel, in Limerick. It was once a fortified town, defended 
by a castle. It has a small church and a Roman Catholic 
chapel. Two great names, those of Sir Walter Raleigh, 
and Spencer, secretary to Lord Grey, are connected with 
the capture of Rathkeale by the troops of Elizabeth ; the 
generals ordered the massacre of the garrison in cold blood, 
and to the tender poet devolved the task of palliating this 



3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 143 

action, by denying that the lives of the sufferers had been 
secured by a convention. Here also are the ruins of an 
Augustine abbey ; and in one of its windows is the painted 
figure of a monk. Two miles beyond the town is Bally 
alena Castle. The gentlemen's Seats are numerous. The 
church of Cluancagh, near this town, was once a part of a 
monastery founded by St Maidoc, about 600. The name 
signifies the Rath in a wood. Pop. 4972. Market Day : 
Saturday. Fairs : Feb. 7, April 4, June 1 and 19, Aug. 
25, Sept 18, and Nov. 18. Inn: the King's Arms. 

NEWCASTLE, a post town in Limerick, is seated upon 
the Deel. Here is a fine park ; the district to the south 
is romantic, and the road conducts us over mountains. 
This town forms a square, and amongst its public buildings 
are some of remarkable beauty; the modern church has 
a square turret surmounted by a cupola and eight pinnacles ; 
here are also a Roman Catholic chapel, and a free school. 
The market house has been converted into barracks. 
Amongst the antiquities are the remains of the castellated 
mansion of the Knights Templars, a part of which is 
modernised. Many of the knights of this chivalric 
monastery here became the victims of the people, who, 
being excited against them, slew them by surprise. The 
ruins of their dwelling stand near the church. Pop. 2908. 
Fain: May 3, Aug. 20, and Oct 1. 

COOLNAKENNY, in Limerick, is a village, in a 
mountainous and dreary tract, which extends to Abbey- 
feale. 

ABBEYFEALE, a post town in Limerick, is seated on 
the Feale, which flows into the Cashin river, and joins 



144 3. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 

the Shannon at its mouth. The celebrated Cistercian 
abbey at this place was founded in 1188. Half a mile 
beyond the town is the rain of Purt Castle. For our pre- 
sent route by Listowel, turn to the right along the north 
side of the Feale ; six miles and a half from Abbeyfeale on 
the Feale, is the fine mansion of Woodford, Pop. 607- 
Fairs: June 29, and Oct 18. 

LISTOWELL, a post town in Kerry, is a small but neat 
town, on the Feale, with a tolerable inn. It possesses the 
remains of a justly celebrated castle, on the banks of the 
river. Lis signifies an earthen fort, and Tuathal was a 
renowned chief, according to the remote traditions of this 
country. The castle held out for Lord Kerry, with obsti- 
nacy, but was taken by Wilraot, in 1600, when the garrison 
were put to the sword. Listowell has a pretty church, with 
a spire, and a Roman Catholic chapel, both situated in a 
. neat square. Pop. 2289. Market Day : Saturday. Fairs : 
May 13, July 25, and Oct. 28. 

ABBEY ODORNEY, in Kerry. At this village are 
the ruins of the once celebrated abbey, built in 1154, upon 
the river Brick. Two miles and a half from it is Grotto, 
a very beautiful mansion of the Ponsonby family. 

Pop. MS. 

ARDFERT, a post town, the ancient capital of Kerry, 
once tthe seat of a bishop, and a famous university. This 
see has been held by the bishops of Limerick since 1663. 
St Brandon founded the ancient abbey in the sixth cen- 
tury; a curious sculpture of him, in alto-relievo, still 
exists in the .venerable ruins of the cathedral church, and 
a .still mere lasting memorial of him, Mount Brandon, is 



No. 4. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 145 

beheld across the bay. He was the disciple of St Ert, the 
first Bishop of Ardfert and Kerry. The great civil war in 
1641 caused the destruction of this magnificent church ; 
and the round tower, 120 feet high, also fell in 1771. In the 
church there is a fine monument of one of the bishops. 
Here are the ruins of a Franciscan abbey, founded in 1253, 
by Thomas, Lord Kerry; the cemetery was the burial- 
place of the celebrated Knights of Kerry. The former 
abbeys and the ancient city had previously, on several dis- 
putes, been laid waste with fire. There is a fine inscrip T 
tdon in an ancient, perhaps an unknown character, round 
an arch of an old ruin, near the mansion and delightful 
parks of the late Earl of Glandore (Crosby.) ' 

Beyond the fine strand of Ballyheigh Bay is the grand 
promontory called Kerry Heads about this rocky point are 
found violet and rose-coloured amethysts, or Kerry stones. 
This dreary coast is often assaulted by heavy swells and 
surges of the Atlantic sea, which, in bad weather, seem to 
thunder within Poulafooca and other large caverns; the 
mouth of the Shannon is eight miles across to the opposite 
cliffs of Cape Lean, and the river scene is truly sublime. 
The old fort at Ballengary is divided by the waves from the 
land precipice. Battykeal Castle, Ferrit Island, and the 
round tower of Bat too, . are also objects of interest Pop. 
717. Fairs, March 27, June 8, and July 9. 



No. 4. From Dublin to ARDFERT. Through Lwerick, 
Askeaton, Shanagolden, and Tarbert. 
Dublin Castte to Miles. Dublin Caste, to Miles. 

Limerick*, as at No. 3 .... 94 Tarbert .;....-. 124 

Askeaton 106} Ballylongfbrd 198 

Shanagolden ••• • 114 Listowell* 134} 

Glynn -- 121 Ardfert* v 147* 

o 



146 No. 4. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 

ASKEATON, a post town in Limerick. The old road 
is four miles longer through Adair and Stone Hall, to As- 
keaton. Near Stone Hall is a beautiful residence named 
Holly Park, where the finest holly trees are seen growing 
amongst rocks. Askeaton is upon the River Deel, and 
close to the Shannon. Until the Union, this now impo- 
verished town was a borough ; it possesses many ancient 
remains. Askeaton Castle is seen on an island ; it was a 
fortified mansion of the Earl of Desmond. Across the 
Deel are the magnificent ruins of a Franciscan abbey, the 
cloisters of which are remarkably beautiful, and are adorned 
with marble columns. Pop. 1515, Fairs, July 30, and Octo- 
ber 9. 

Seats : Ballymoat Court, Sir H. Harstonge. 

SHANAGOLDEN, a post town in Limerick. To this 
place the usual road is through Adair and Newbridge : it is a 
very pretty village of colonists from the Palatinate in Ger- 
many, whose improvements attracted the praise of the late 
Arthur Young. Shanagolden is a great thoroughfare ; the 
neighbouring seats are Abbey and Cappo. Near it is Kill- 
mulan church, and three miles and a half beyond is the 
castle and village of LoghilL Pop. 847. Fairs, first 
Wednesday after Trinity Sunday, and Sept. 4. 

GLYNN, a post town in Limerick, is a very romantic 
village, seated near a bay of the Shannon, commanding a 
noble view of the river. The church, on a neighbouring 
height, is a very pretty object; and there are a large Roman 
Catholic chapel, and a bridewell in the village. The his- 
tory of its ancient castle, obstinately defended in 1600 by 
the Knight of the Glynn, against the forces under Sir 
George Carew, gives a certain degree of interest to this 
retired spot; its brave garrison was put to the sword. The 
handsome residence of Mr. Fitzgerald, the Knight of 



1 



No. 4. DUBLIN TO ARDFERT. 147 

Glynn, with its fine woods, Is situated here. Pop. 1030. 
Fairs: second Wednesday in June, third Wednesday in 
September, and December 1. 

TARBERT is a small market and post town in Kerry, 
well known as possessing the best anchorage in this part 
of the Shannon. It has a harbour formed by Tarbert point, 
and from the opposite shore of the river a point also pro- 
jects, and narrows the stream. Steam vessels proceed 
every alternate day to Limerick ; the distance is 35 miles, 
and the fare only 4*. The church is handsome, and is 
built upon an eminence. Near it is the public school, and 
a mile distant is a Roman Catholic chapel. The inns are 
only tolerable. 

Seats: Leslie Lodge, Tarmons, and Tarbert House, which 
commands a grand view of the river, and is the mansion of 
Sir Edward Leslie, proprietor of this thriving town ; Fyr- 
mont, a villa so named from its fine chalybeate spring. 

The usual excursions from Tarbert are, to see Carrigfoile 
Castle, built by the O'Connors, in an island ; Inis-Scattery, 
an island in the Shannon, seven miles from its embouchure ; 
and the celebrated ruin of Beat Castle, with the inaccessible 
cliff called the Devil's Castle. The nearest point to Scat- 
tery Island is Kilrush, in the County Clare. Pop. 956. 
Market-day: Thursday. Fairs: Easter Monday, June 22, 
August 12, and December 1 1. Inns: the Leslie Arms, and 
M'Mahon's Hotel. 

BALLYLONGFORD, a post town in Kerry. This 
village has a neat church. Half a mile from it is the stately 
rain of Ltslaghiin Abbey, founded a. d. 1464, for Francis- 
can friars. From this place, the short road is by Listowell : 
it divides and conducts to Ardfert on the right, and toTra- 
lee on the left. There is also a circuitous route from Bal- 
fylongford to Ardfert, by the side of the Shannon, across to 



148 No. 6. DUBLIN TO ARMAGH. 

the village of Ballyheigh, and along the shore of Bally heigh 
Bay. Pop. 1300. 



No. 5. From Dublin to ARKLOW, through Bxackrock, 

Bray and Wicklow. 

MUet. 
Dublin to Arfdow, Mat No. 808 • • .- 36 



No. 6. From Dublin to ARMAGH. Firbt Road. 
Through Drogheda, Dundalk, and Newtown Ha* 

MILTON. 

Dublin QuOsU MUa. Dublin Cattle to MOet. 

Dnadalk*, watNo. 1 4ft} Blackbank » 

Johnston's Fews 60i Armagh 62i 

Newtown Hamilton 53 

JOHNSTON'S FEWS is a village in the wild and rug- 
ged district of the Fews. Seat: Roxburgh House, belonging 
to the Johnston family. Here also is a barrack. 

NEWTOWN HAMILTON is a village and post town 
of Armagh, in which one of the great O'Nials was slain in 
an encounter with another chieftain. Here is a neat church : 
near the village are entrenchments, supposed to have been 
a camp of Cromwell's army. Pop, 1020. Fain: monthly. 

BLACKJBANK, in Armagh. Hese are the remains of 
a castle ; fortified mansions appear to have been formerly 
the only safe dwelling in this mountainous neighbourhood. 
Much of the land is bare and unproductive. . 

ARMAGH is an archiepiscopal see, and a thriving city 
of the fertile and beautiful county bearing the same name. 
It stands on the side of a fine hill, at the foot of which the 
Callan flows, in its passage to the Blackwater. The envi- 



No. 6. DUBLIN TO ARMAGH. 149 

rons are pleasing, and well wooded, and the city exhibits 
many beautiful edifices. The ancient cathedral, on the 
summit of the eminence, is cruciform, and its tower rises 
above the intersection of the transept with the nave ; this 
edifice, rebuilt in 1260, is grand and conspicuous, from its 
elevated situation, and excites a peculiar interest, from 
its having been founded by St Patrick, in the fifth century; 
from the important character of its history and anti- 
quities, and from the distinguished conduct of many 
of its . prelates in religious and civil affairs, especially 
that of the pious dignitary Lord John Beresford, the 
present archbishop, who, at his sole expense, is almost 
rebuilding this venerable edifice. It became an arch- 
bishopric in 1142; its early chronicles, its churches, and 
the town itself, were destroyed by the Danes ; its history, 
however, we have not any occasion to narrate in this place, 
and shall be content to say,, that it became early a centre 
for our northern civilization, and the chief seat of learning 
and religion. Here also were buried many distinguished 
princes, Brian Boroimhe, and others. Archbishop Usher, 
who drew up articles for the Church of Ireland,, which were 
for some time conformed to, and whose learned works 
confer so much honour on this ancient city, ranks amongst 
the most celebrated of its archbishops. 

The Archbishop's palace at Armagh has long been noticed 
as a residence of great beauty. The grounds are laid out 
with much taste, and kept in excellent order; within the 
grounds there is. an obelisk of marble, 157 feet high : it 
was erected by Archbishop Robinson,, as a. means of em- 
ploying the poor. He also, at his sole expense, erected the 
palace, built and endowed the observatory, three churches, 
and a parish school, besides many other extensive improve- 
ments, munificently bestowed by this excellent prelate, 
o 3 



150 No. 6. DUBLIN TO ARMAGH. 

The new church, with a stately spire, the county court 
house, the college, library, observatory, and the market 
cross, are objects worthy of particular notice. Amongst 
the principal buildings are also, the charter school, the 
gaol, which is commodiously built, the large barrack, and 
the county infirmary. Armagh likewise possesses several 
meeting houses, a Roman Catholic chapel, a fever hospital, 
built and supported by the present archbishop, a savings' 
bank, and a news room. 

The town itself is regular and handsomely built, its chief 
improvements having commenced under the virtuous 
though eccentric primate Robinson (Lord Rokeby), above 
mentioned. The Augustine priory of St Peter and St. Paul 
was a highly celebrated monastic foundation, and Armagh 
was famous for the piety and doctrine of its clergy. The 
primacy was, about the period of the Reformation, granted 
to Browne, Archbishop of Dublin, in consequence of the 
resistance of Archbishop Dowdal, of Armagh, to the wishes 
of the Government in the establishment of the Protestant 
worship ; since which the metropolitan pre-eminence has 
been asserted by both prelates, with a slight variation of the 
title : the Archbishop of Armagh is styled the Primate of 
all Ireland. Armagh has long been a favoured residence 
of many gentlemen and eminent persons ; its manufacturers 
also rank high amongst the most spirited of our northern 
merchants ; it returns a member to Parliament, as one of 
the borough-towns of the Union. 

Pop. 9189. Market days: Tuesday for linen, Saturday 
for corn, &c. Fairs ; Monthly. Inns : Roger's, and 
Keenan's. 



151 



No. 7. Frcm Dublin to ARMAGH. Second Road. 
Through Drogheda, Collon, and Castleblayney. 

Dublin Cattle to Mikt. Dublin Castle to Mile*. 

Drogheda*, a» at No. 1 23* Peterborough 45* 

Collon ••• m Mullaghanee Bridge W 

Ardee • - 34* Castleblayney Ml 

Mill of Lonth ... 39i Keady 68* 

Corcieagh • ■•• 41| Armagh* 64f 

COLLON is a post town of Louth. Its Gothic church 
has a fine spire ; and the adjacent seat of Lord Oriel, whose 
father was Speaker of the Irish House of Commons, with 
a shaded demesne near a finely sloped mountain, has for 
a length of years given celebrity to Collon. That eminent 
senator greatly improved the town, and established a 
cotton-stocking manufacture here. The main street is 
wide, and enclosed by houses built in the old English 
style. Here is a Roman Catholic chapel, meeting houses, 
and a school on the foundation of Erasmus Smyth. The 
bridge across the river which flows through the village, 
and the neat white dwellings, have a cheerful look. From 
the Hill of Collon, which is skirted by fine plantations, we 
have a noble prospect of Monasterboice and the vale of 
Drogheda. On the left hand, the Mourne mountains 
. and a portion of the Bay of Carlingford are within view. 
The linen manufacture is considerable. Pop. 1153. Fairs: 
Second Monday in May, June 29, Oct 20, Nov. 4, and 24. 

ARDEE is a market and post town in Louth. It was 
once a walled town, and is seated on the Dee, which falls 
into the sea below Castle Bellingham. The gaol was 
formerly an extensive fortress. Peppard was the name of 
the ancient barons of this place ; they built a strong castle 
here, and founded the House of Crouched Friars in 1208 ; 
a Carmelite Friary was also founded by the same family. 



152 No. 7. DUBLIN TO ARMAGH. 

The Scottish army destroyed the church of the Carmelites, 
When many of the townspeople were sheltered within it. 
The great mount of Castle Guard is 90 feet in height, the table 
summit is 140 feet in circumference, and the foot of this 
fine artificial hill is 600 feet in girth ; it is tastefully 
planted, and surrounded by a deep trench. The last Prior 
of Ardee, George Dowdal, acquired the highest popularity 
with his countrymen, when Archbishop of Armagh ; on his 
surrender of the friary, its possessions were granted to Sir 
Garret Moore. Ardee has a handsome stone church, con- 
taining several monuments of the Ruxton family, a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a market house, a dispensary, and a free 
school. Charlestown Church is two miles from Ardee. 
Ardee gives the title of Baron to the Brabazon family — 
Earls of Meath. Pop. 3975. Market day : Tuesday. 
Fair $ : First Monday in March, April 10, June 6, July 7, 
Aug. 20, Oct 23, and Dec 17. Inn : the Ruxton's Arms. 

MILL OF LOUTH is a village built on the Lagan 
river. Thomastown, Mr. Tennison's, is a seat standing 
near a small lake. 

CORCREAGH. Immediately beyond this village we 
quit the county of Louth. 

CASTLE BLAYNEY, a post and market town in Mo- 
naghan, is pleasantly situated, with a handsome church, a 
neat stone market house, a Roman Catholic chapel, and 
meeting houses. The castle is the seat of Lord Blayney, 
in the grounds of which there is a profusion of evergreens, 
and a lake, with numerous islands. General Lord Blayney 
served against the insurgents in 1798, and was made 
prisoner in the Peninsular war. 

Pop. 1828. Market day: Wednesday. Fairs: First 
Wednesday of each month. Inns : the King's Arms, and 
the Blayney Arms. 



No. 9. DUBLIN TO ARMAGH. 153 

KE AD Y, a post town in the county of Armagh, is built 
near the river Callen. The bleaching-grounds on the 
banks of the Callen are numerous, and assist in giving an 
ah* of prosperity to this part of the county. There is also 
a mine of lead ore on the estate belonging to Trinity 
College, Dublin. Pop. 896. Fairs ; Second Friday, monthly. 



No. 8. From Dublin to ARMAGH. Third Road. 
Through Dundalk, Nswrt, and Markethill. 

Dublin Castle to MUet. Dublin CasOe to MUet. 

Newry* as at No. 1. 60ft Armagh* 62ft 

Markethill 60 

MARKETHILL is a market and post town of Armagh, 
on the Keadybeg stream. It has a neat sessions house, 
and a good inn. Pop. 1043. Market day : Friday. Fairs : 
monthly. 

Seat : Gotford Castle, a charming mansion, which, to- 
gether with Draper's Hill, is a name familiar to the readers 
of Swift's works; in this neighbourhood The Fewt, a 
mountainous and retired tract, is worthy the notice of 
those who seek for picturesque and romantic scenery. 



No. 9. From Dublin to ARMAGH. Fourth Road. 
Through Ashbourne, Slane, Carriokmacross, 
Castleblaynby, and Keady. 

Dublin Castle to MUet. Dublin CatOe to MUet. 

Ashbourne 10 Carrickmacroas *•• 40 

Slane SS Castleblayney 49 

Dnunconrta 31 Armagh • 61 

ASHBOURNE is a post town of Meath, in a fertile but 
uninteresting country. Close to it is a single square 



154 No. 0. DUBLIN TO ARMAGH. 

tower, of considerable altitude, and in tolerable repair, 
beyond which, in the distance, are seen the village of 
Katoathy and its rath with A table summit Pop. 473. 
Pairs ; Jan. 6, April 16, Saturday before Whit-Monday, 
July 29, and Oct. 51. 

SLANE is a village and post town of Meath, beautifully 
situated on the Boyne. Its church has a handsome steeple, 
built from designs by Mr. Johnston : here are also a Roman 
Catholic chapel ; and a circus of well-built houses in the 
centre of the town. Slane Abbey, a fine ruin, half a mile 
from the town, and the hermitage, are supposed to have 
been founded by Eiro, a bishop of Slane. 
- In approaching Slane, the tasteful plantations and rich 
valleys are the more effective, from the contrast between 
this scenery and the tame country about Ashbourne. 

Pap. 896. Fairs: April 2, June 2, Sept. 2, and Nov. 8. 

Seats: Slane Castle, Marquess of Conyngham, proprietor 
of the town, is a fine mansion built by Lord Slane: its well- 
wooded domains, watered by the Boyne, are justly admired. 
George IV. visited Slane Castle in 1821. On the banks 
of the river are extensive flour-mills, and in its course 
several islets ; one of its banks is skirted by crags. Con- 
tiguous to the castle is StackaUcu, the seat of Viscount 
Boyne, and two miles and a half distant, is Douth, a hand- 
some mansion belonging to Viscount Netterville. The 
battle of the Boyne was fought in the neighbourhood. 

At New Grange, near Slane, is a noted tumulus, con- 
taining a curious cave, lined with large slabs, and said to 
have been a Druidical temple ; by others supposed to be 
the mausoleum of the chief of a colony of Belgae* in remote 
times. 



155 



No. 10. From Dublin to ATHLONE. Through May- 

NOOTH, KlNNEOAD, and KlLBEGGAN. 

HUes. 
DabUntoAthkDe*,MBtNo.W. tt» 



No. 11. From Dublin to AUGHNACLOY. Through 
Armagh, Tynan, and Caledon. 

Dublin Onto to Miles. Dublin dude to Miles. 

Dundalk*, asatNo.1. •••• 40* Tynan* 68! 

Armagh*, as at No. ft. .... 62* Caledon* 70* 

Killyleagh 67 Aughnacloy* 76 



No. 12. From Dublin to BALBRIGGAN. Firs* 
Road. Through Balruddery. 

Dublin CasiU to MiUs. DubUn Cattle to Miles. 

Balruddery* as at No. 1. • • 14* Balbriggan • 15* 

BALBRIGGAN, a post town on the coast of the county 
of Dublin, having a good pier, and a small harbour. It has 
a church, and several schools. The cotton manufactures of 
Balbriggan are considerable; and some exceedingly 6ne 
stockings made here bear a high price. Several castles 
are in this vicinity : Bremore Cattle ruin is half a mile 
from the town; and on the coast is Baldungan Cattle, 
destroyed by the Parliamentarian army ; some of the 
towers, and the ivy-clad walls of the chapels, still remain : 
here also is an ancient cemetery. Pop* 8016. Fairt: 
April 29, and Sept. 29. 



156 

No. 13. From Dublin to. BALBRIGGAN. Second 
Road. Through Rush. 

DuWnCatUtto Milts. Dublin Cattle to Mile*. 

Turrey*, as at No. 1. 9 Sktniea 17 

L«k 11 Balbriggan 20* 

Roah 131 

LUSK, in Dublin, Is celebrated for its fine round tower 
and ancient church, in which are several monuments, and 
a curious vestige of antiquity, supposed to have been an 
idol belonging to the Danes. Near it is Whitestown 
church in ruins. 

Off the mouth of an inlet of the sea is seen the Island 
of Lambay, where there are quantities of rabbits and 
sea-fowl. During the summer this island is much fre- 
quented by parties of pleasure ; and on Trinity Sunday a 
great number of persons visit Holy Trinity Spring. Here 
also are the ruins of an old fort 

Pop. 924. Fairs : May 4, July 13, and November 25. 

RUSH is a fishing-town in Dublin, near a point of the 
coast. It is noted for curing ling, large quantities of which 
are exported. A mile farther is Bush Bouse, a good man- 
sion, and some old ruins. Lough Shinney, between Rush 
and Skerries, has a pier and a harbour. 

Pop. 2144. Fairs : May 1, and September 29. 

SKERRIES is a fishing-village of Dublin, opposite to 
which are three small rocks, called the Skerries Islands, 
One of them, named Holm Patrick, is said to have been 
the residence of St Patrick. Seat: Sheep Hill. 

Pop. 265$. Fairs: April 28, and August 10. 



157 



. No. 14. From Dublin to BELLAGHY (in Londonderry). 
Through Portadown and Magherafelt. 

Dublin Cattleto MO*. DmbknCastoto Mtiet. 

Newiy*, aa.at No. 1 604 Stewarf»toira» 78 

Points Pan 57 Moneymore* 84$ 

Tanderagee 61* Magherafelt* 88| 

Portadown* 60* Caatfe-Itaraon -... Wft 

Blackwater-foot 7«i Bellaghy .... 93* 

POINTZ PASS, in Armagh, is celebrated for the 
engagements fought here in the times of anarchy and 
civil war. It is now the property of Colonel Close who has 
built the most splendid mansion in the north of Ireland, 
at his demesne of Drumbanagher, in its neighbourhood. 
The architectural beauty and elegance .of this edifice are 
universally admired. 
Fop. 660. Fairs : 1st JSaturday, monthly. 
TANDERAGEE is a good market and post town of 
Armagh, seated on a high hill, commanding a fine prospect 
of several fertile Valleys. The church is a handsome Gothic 
edifice, rebuilt in 1812; and close to it is Lord Mande- 
vihV* delightful seat, erected on -the site of O'HaUan's 
Castle. The town also possesses a Roman Catholic chapel 
and a school house, endowed by Lady Mandeville, and 
♦there are two meeting houses at a little distance. Tande- 
•ragee is situated in the centre of the linen manufacture, 
and the sales here are considerable. The canal from Newry 
to Lough Neagh passes near the town. Sbats : There are 
-several fine seats, but the principal is Mr. Sparrow's. 
Pep. 1559. Market day: Wednesday. Fmrs .-First Wed- 
nesday, monthly. Inn : Hutchinson's. 

DAWSON-CASTLE, a post town ^Londonderry, on 
<the Mayola River, which soon after faHs into the north- 
Vest Bay of Lough Neagh. From : this a good Toad com* 



158 No. 15. DUBLIN TO BELLAGHY. 

munlcates by the bridge at Toome ferry with the county of 
Antrim. Pop. 674. Fairs; Jan. 1, Wednesday after 
Easter Tuesday, June 1, and Aug. 1. 

BELLAGHY is a small post town of Londonderry, in 
the midst of mountain scenery of the most romantic de- 
scription. Here several roads diverge to the neighbouring 
towns of Antrim and Londonderry. . The shore of Lough 
Beg is sandy ; but in winter the flood greatly exceeds the 
summer water-mark. Adjacent are some beautiful seats 
and diversified grounds. Fairs : First Monday of each 
month. 



No. 15. From Dublin to BALLAGHY (in Sligo). 
Through Athlone and Roscommon. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Athlone*, a* at No. 97, •••• 594 Looghglm 93 

Ballymurry 69} Kilkelly 101 

Roaoommon * 74| Ballaghy 105* 

Castlera 88* 

BALLYMURRY, a village in Roscommon, surrounded 
by some good country houses. Fairs: May 10, Aug. 15 
Oct. 22, and Dec. 16. 

ROSCOMMON is a market and post town, as well aa 
the county and assize town of Roscommon. Its antiquities; 
are worthy of inspection. An abbey for canons regular 
was founded here in the sixth century ; it was plundered in 
1134, and Roscommon was burnt in 1360. The friary of 
Dominicans was a stately edifice, founded in 1253 by 
Cathal O'Connor, king of Connaught, whose tomb of Irish 
marble may be seen in the aisle of these ruins; it exhibits 
some interesting sculptures. The castle is a noble ruin*, 
built in 1268 : this fortress was besieged in 1641. Ros-* 



No. 16. DUBLIN TO BALLYGLARE. 1*9 

common was a borough returning members to tbe Irish 
Parliament. The chief public buildings are, the church, 
the Roman Catholic chapel, the court house, erected in 
1826; the county infirmary; the gaol, built in 1819; and 
the lunatic asylum. 

Pop. 3306. Market day : Saturday, chiefly corn. Fairs : 
Whit-Monday, and Dec 5. Inns : Flynn's, and Mulranan's. 

Seats : Moate Park, Lord Crofton, two miles distant ; 
Clover Hill; Donamon Castle, a venerable castellated mansion, 
having small turrets above each corner of the edifice ; the 
entrance is by a lofty flight of steps ascending the exterior 
wall : this curious residence is seated on the banks of the 
river Suck. Clonthuskart Abbey is a small ruin, situated 
seven miles north-east from Roscommon. 

LOUGHGLIN, in Roscommon. Here is Loughglin 
Castle, the mansion of Viscount Dillon, seen across the 
waters of Lough-Glin. Pop. 254. Fairs : May 25, July 29, 
Sept 12, and Oct. 14. 

K1LKELLY is a village of Roscommon. Near it is a 
glen of remarkable beauty, through which flows a romantic 
meandering stream, amidst slopes of ash trees, thorn, and 
hollies. The echo in the heart of this glen repeats seven 
times. 



No. 16. From Dublin to BALL YCL ARE. 

Dublin Caste to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Banbridge*, as at No. 1. • > • • 60} Carnmoncy* 851 

Belfast*, as at No. 30. 80 Ballyclare 90 

BALLYCLARE is a beautiful village and post town of 
Antrim, having a market, and an ancient church and 
bridge over the Glenwhirry river. Here is a good hunting 
lodge and park of the Marquess of Donegal-; the village 



16* No. 17. DUBLIN TO BALLIMORE. 

of Ballynure is distant two miles, and Doagk at a like 
distance. 

A new road from Belfast sweeps round the foot of Cam- < 
money Hill by the Bea-shore, and ascends the broad Tale 
between that mountain and Agnew's Hill above Lame. 
This road is, however, two miles farther than the steep 
ascent of Carnmoney through the village. 

From Cott* Mountain, a mile above Ballyclare, on which 
is the hamlet of Tildarg, with some good bleach-greens, 
there is a very grand prospect of the Cave Hill near Bel- 
fast, the Lough, and the Down coast : few landscapes can 
exceed this superb view. From the summit of Colin, the 
eye ranges along the beautiful vale of Glenwhirry, the sides 
of which are cultivated, and afford green pasturage of 
excellent quality : on the farther slope is the great isolated 
rock of Slievemish, and along the valley flows a small 
stream. Pop. 133. Fairs : Last Tuesday in January, third 
Tuesday in May, July, August, and October, and last Tues- 
day in November. 



No. 17. From Dublin to BALLIMORE. Through 
Maynooth, Kinneoad, and Mullingar. 

Dublin Castle to MUet. Dublin Cattle to MUet. 

Kinnegad* aaatNo 98.---- 29} Ballimore 60} 

Mullingar* 38} 

BALLIMORE is a post town in the county of West- 
meath, pleasantly situated to the west of Lough Scudy. 
There is a well-built Roman Catholic chapel in the town, , 
and a neat church. The fort of Baltimore, on the side of 
the lake, was separated by moats and i n trench men ts from 
the shore, and was an important post. Pop, 663. Fairs : 
Whit-Monday, and October 14. Inn : Doyle's. 



161 



No. 18. From Dublin to BALLINAHINCH. Through 
Nbwry, Castlewellak, and Seaford. 

Dublin Quilt to MOa. Dublin Castic to Miles. 

Newry*. an at No. 1, «0i ClouRh* 69 

Rathfriland* *7i 8eaford 70 

Cartlewellan 65 Ballinahinch 71 

SEAFORD is a village in tjtke county of Down. Near 
it is the charming mansion of the Forde family, named 
Cattle Navan. 

Fairs : March 7, June 9, Sept 4, and Dec. 6. 

BALLINAHINCH is a market and post town of Down, 
situated at the junction of four roads, which meet near the 
market house. It has a well-built church, a handsome 
Roman Catholic chapel, two meetinghouses, and a good 
charter school. The action gained here, June 13, 1798, 
against the insurgents of the north, was gallantly contested, 
and the town was burnt : the royal forces were commanded 
by General Nugent The noble mansion of the Rawdon 
family, Montalto, is now the property of David Kerr, Esq., 
of Portavo. The hills surrounding Ballinahinch are craggy 
and rugged, but well ornamented, and tolerably cultivated. 
In the road which conducts to Castlewellan, and at the foot 
oiSlieve Croob Mountain, about two miles from Ballinahinch, 
is a chalybeate sulphureous spa. On the summit of Slieve 
Croob Mountain is a cairn 240 feet in circumference at the 
base, and 150 at the top ; and at Jnnadorn, in the immediate 
vicinity, is another with a rude stone chamber in the centre. 
Beyond the spa is a charming lake : to the south of which 
is Duumore village and church, distant two miles from 
Ballinahinch. 

- Pop. 970. Market day : Thursday. Fairs : First Thurs- 
day in January, March, April, and Oct.; Feb. 12, May 12, 
r 3 



162 No. 20. DUBLIN TO BALLINROBE. 

July 10, first Thursday in August and Nov. O. S. Inn : 
Ruddock's. 



No. 19. From Dublin to BALLINAKILL. Through 
Naas, Kilcullen Bridge, and Athy. 

D*Wh Castle to Miles. DttbUn CasOe to Miles. 

R&thcoole* 71 Athy* W 

Johnstown* ».. 131 Timohoe • •.- 41* 

Naas* 15ft BalHnakiTI 471 

81 



TIMOHOE is a village of Queen's County, in which 
there are some very interesting ruins of a castle dilapidated 
during the civil wars. The round tower and the ancient 
church are entitled to notice. Fairs : April 5, July 2, 
and Oct 18. 

BALLINAKILL is a market and post town in Queen's 
county. It has a handsome church and steeple,, and a 
Roman Catholic chapel. The castle is an interesting old 
fortress : after repeated sieges, it was stormed by the forces 
of Cromwell. This was a borough town sending repre- 
sentatives to the Irish Parliament. It is the property of 
the Stanhope family. 

Pop. 1927. Market-day: Saturday. Fairs: Monthly. 

Seat: Mr. Trench's mansion, Heywood, is generally 
admired. 



No. 20. From Dublin to BALLINROBE. First 
Road. Through Maymootm, Athlone, and Tuam. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Athlone*, an at No. 98. ... 59J Kilmain • 1041 

7uam«,ai«tNo. 124 03 JBallimobe ••• 1061 



No. 20. DUBLIN to BALLINROBE. 163 

KILMAIN is a village of Mayo, Near it are some 
church and other ruins, as well as a fine mansion of Lord 
Kilmain's. Fairs : July 12, and Oct 28. 

On the left hand of the Ballinrobe road is the Neale, 
a village with the seat of the Browne family. A few miles 
south-west of the Neale in a narrow tract between Lough 
Mask and the great expanse of Lough Corrib, is the village 
of Cong and the mansion of the Macnamara family, together 
with the remains of an abbey. Nearly in the centre of 
Lough Corrib is the island of Incheguile, which contains a 
monastery, the property of Sir Richard O'Donel, Bart. 
Here also is the Pigeon Hole, a subterraneous cavern of 
some length, traversed by a pellucid stream abounding with 
trout, which may be seen darting from side to side, and are 
only taken by landing-nets. The Pigeon Hole is entered 
by a descent of sixty-three steps. In this water ia a weir 
for eels. A stream issues from a sloping bank near Cong, 
and flows rapidly to Lough Corrib, one mile distant Cong was 
once an important place, and its abbey was celebrated. 

BALLINROBE is a large market and post town at the 
south extremity of the county of Mayo. It is built on the 
banks of the Robe, which flows westward, and empties 
itself into Lough Mask. The castle, formerly the residence 
of Lord Tyrawley, is* converted into barracks for the 
cavalry. There # are barracks also at this town for two 
companies of infantry. The abbey is a venerable Gothic 
ruin ; and near it is the school house. There is a market, 
and court house, a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and 
a brewery. The town is improving rapidly, and has a 
good inn. 

A mile eastward from Ballinrobe is situated Lough Shy, 
a mile in length, and only a quarter of a mile wide. The 
Robe is a stream which passes through the town of Ballin- 



164 No. 21. DUBLIN TO BALLINROBE. 

robe; the Moyne to the south separates Mayo from the 
county of Galway, and on the east, Mayo is in some places 
bounded by the Gara River, 

Pop. 2604. Market-day : Monday. Fairs : Whit-Mon- 
day, and Dec. 5. Jmu: The Tyrawley Hotel. 

Baltintobec Abbey is seen on the road to Castlebar. It is 
of a grand style of Gothic architecture, and the rafters 
were of massive hewn stone— a mode of roofing which, 
by its weight, sometimes hastens the decay of the edifice. 



No. 21. From Dublin to BALLINROBE. Second 
Road. Through Ballynamore, Kilkerrin, and 

HOLLYMOCNT. 

DuMin Cattle to jftfef. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Athlone* as at No. 08. .... 604 Domacraen 96 

Ballynamore*, as at No. 134. 74* Ballindangin ft* 

Kilkerrin 83* Holljmount* 1071 

Dunmore 91* Ballinrobe* 118 

KILKERRIN is a neat village of Galway. Within a 
mile, on the Ballynamore road, is an ancient castle ruin. 

DUNMORE is an ancient village and post town of 
Galway. On the site of the original church built by St 
Patrick, an abbey was founded in 1425 by the De Birming- 
hams, Lords of Atlienry. The parochial church is a portion 
of this abbey which belonged to the Augustines. At Dun- 
more is the elegant residence of the Earl of Ross ; whose 
title is derived from a barony of the county of Galway. 
Hence a road leads to the village of Ballindine* 

Pap. 847. Fairs: May 29, July 9, Oct 10, and Dec. 11. 

BALLINDANGIN is a village in the county of Mayo, 
which the road enters shortly after leaving Dunmore. One 
mile and a half farther is seen the stately mansion of Castle 



No. 23. DUBLIN TO BALLYCASTLE. IK 

3T Garrett : in this demesne there is some good timber. 
On the river side, one mfle to the left, are the ruins of an 
ancient castle. Fairs : May 28* July 22, Oct 1 1, and Dec 7. 
HOLLYMOUNT. Here the present route crosses the 
high road from Tuam to Castlebar. For Hollymount, see 
No. 124. 



No. 22. From Dublin to BALLYBOFEY. Through 

BALLY8HANNON, BALLINTRA, and TOWNAVILLY. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. DubUn Castle to Miles. 

Ballyshannon* as at No. 80. 101} Townavilly 114f 

Ballintra* 1051 BaUybofey* 123| 

TOWNAVILLY is a village of Donegal. Within one 
mile and a half of Townavilly on the left is Lough Esk, a 
considerable lake surrounded by mountains, on which there 
are red deer. In the lake is the Char, a delicate fish caught 
by nets. Four miles beyond Townavilly is Lough Mourn, 
one mile and a half in length, and half a mile broad, near 
the road which conducts the traveller across the Barnsmore 
mountains to Ballybofey. 



No. 23. From Dublin to BALLYCASTLE. First 
Road. Through Drogheda, Banbridge, Ballymena, 
and Arm ot. 

Dublin Castle to Mile*. DubHn Castle to Miles. 

Banbridge* as at No. 1. •• 60* Ballymena 93} 

Luigan* 07} Clongh 99} 

Glenavy 77 Loughgeell 106 

Antrim* 84 Annoy 109 

Kell» .. 89* Ballycartle 113} 

GLEN AVY is a village and post town of Antrim, with 
a handsome church and spire, and school house. There is 



16* No. 23. DUBLIN TO BALLYCASTLfi. 

another road near the shore of Lough Neagh, which, 
branching off at Lurgan, passes through BaUinderry and 
Crumlin, to Antrim, being about the same distance as by 
Glenavy. See No. 2. Fairs : May 14, Oct. 29. 

KELLS is a village of Antrim, situated on the Kells 
Water, over which it has a large bridge. Adjoining the 
bridge is a small moat, with an acclivity from the river; 
and a fine valley sweeps round to the Colin Hills. Several 
bleach-greens are seen at or near Kells. Here are also the 
ruins of an abbey, with a cemetery for the Catholics ; this 
is named Teihplemoyle, and perhaps formed part of the 
ecclesiastical edifices appertaining to the see of Connor. 
Pop. 220. Fairs: January 8, first Monday in March, 
June 10, and Sept. 14. 

BALLYMENA is a market and post town in Antrim, 
built on both sides of a branch of the Main, which directs 
its rapid course through a rich vale to Lough Neagh. 
Near the bridge is the pretty bleach hill of Mr. Geoghegan. 
The road passes by the moat of Ballykeel, beautifully 
planted, and by Bellee Hill, where the royal forces en- 
camped in 1798. The market house has a small tower ; 
the market is attended by the people of all the neighbouring 
country, for the sale of linen webs, pork, butter, &c. Here 
is a respectable inn (Courtney's) in the High Street, 
which is a hill ascending to the north ; on its summit is the 
church, which has a neat steeple; here also is a school 
house, a meeting house, two Presbyterian chapels, and 
an episcopal church and free school. Close to the town 
is a handsome mansion, and in Harryville, across the 
bridge, are some good houses inhabited by opulent persons. 

Two miles east of the town, on Crebilly Hill, is a Roman 
Catholic chapel, built by the Rev. John Fitzsimmons. 
Here is the mansion of the late John Hamilton O'Hara, 



No. 23. DUBLIN TO BALLYCASTLK. 167 

Esq., father of the author of this volume, surrounded by 
extensive plantations. 

One mile and a half from Ballymena is Grace HW t a 
thriving settlement of Moravians, founded in 1746. 

Pop. 4063. Market-days : Saturday for linen, Tuesday 
for pork, and Wednesday for corn. Fairs : July 26, and 
Oct. 21. Inns : Courtney's ; and Brangin's. 

CLOUGH is a village of Antrim, conspicuously seated 
on a hill. It has a large church" and chapel, and on the 
summit of the hill are the ruins of a small castle. At a 
short distance beyond the town are vestiges of another 
castle. The neigbouring mountains are craggy and ro- 
mantic Pop. 121. Fairs: Second Monday in Feb. and 
Nov., Easter Monday, May 27, Aug. 5, and Dec 10. 

LOUGHGULE is an interesting village, in a romantic 
district of Antrim. The church is situated near a lough, 
bounded on one side by rich plantations, and on the other 
by an extensive red moss. In the centre of the lough is a 
wooded islet, and on a rocky height above it is seen an old 
castle of the O'Hara's, the elegant retirement of Earl 
Macartney, who here passed many of his latter years in 
seclusion, and made many important improvements. The 
Corky Hills are high and rugged, and a rich tract, diversified 
by villas and ornamental demesnes, extends from this place 
to Dervock. Lissanoure Castle, late the Earl of Macart- 
ney's, is now the residence of J. Hume Macartney, Esq.: it 
is held of the possessors of the Crebilly estate. 

Fairs: Feb. 19, Aug. 19, and Nov. 19. 

ARMOY, a secluded village of Antrim, is seated on the 
steep banks of the beautiful river Bush. Near the church, 
surrounded by trees, is the lower half of a small round tower. 
The village inn occupies a picturesque site near the bridge. 
Near this place are the ruins of an ancient castle, and some 



16S No. 25. DUBLIN TO BALLYCASTLE. 

rich and varied landscapes of glen and mountain, watered 
by the meandering river, which sometimes swells to an 
impetuous torrent. Pap. 129. Fairs : Last Monday in 
January and March, Feb. 25, May 25, third Monday in 
August, Nov. 12, and Dec. 26. 

BALLYCASTLE is a sea-port and post town of Antrim, 
much celebrated for its beauty and the sublimity of die 
surrounding scenery. It is approached by a path clothed 
with luxuriant woods, in die descent from the mountainous 
district which skirts this extremity of the wide valley of the 
-river Bush. The entrance to the town is formed by a new 
street of neat dwellings with slated roofs, which are now 
superseding thatch in all the northern towns. The church 
is finely situated fronting the main street, and by the side 
of the crumbling walls of the ancient abbey ; it was built by 
Mr. Boyd, who was there buried the very day it was first 
opened for public service : it is surrounded by trees. Here 
«re also two meeting houses, and a Roman Catholic chapel. 
Close to the harbour is a long bridge across the mouth of 
theriver, which is formed fay the Carey and Ramoan streams 
^scm^iign^mtheravinesajidbleakgleiisofthemountain. 
An avenue of tall trees, a quarter of a mile in length, con- 
ducts from die church to the port, where there are some 
handsome houses belonging to the chief inhabitants, and 
barracks, formerly the custom house. The pier, which was 
erected at an immense expense, to defend die harbour from 
the north-west winds, has been swept away by the waves j 
and the port is choked with sand. Mr. Boyd obtained 30,000/. 
from the Irish Parliament for the promotion of this and 
other speculations in which he was engaged in the neigh* 
bourhood, such as mining and glass works ; they were, 
however, attended with little success. The deserted and 
dilapidated glass house is still perceptible near the bridge. 



No. 23, DUBLIN TO BALLYCASTLE. 1*9 

On th& beach ate several upright bold rocks. A large 
quantity of kelp is collected here, and burnt on the shore. 
The coast road sweeps round the rugged foot of the moun- 
tains through Cushendall to Glenarni, in the south-east, 
and the shore is rocky and dangerous. This road, now in 
progress, will be a chef d'ceuvre of road engineering, 
exhibiting the most picturesque coast in Ireland. 

This delightful town is seated in the centre of an 
amphitheatre of hills, surmounted by the round and beautiful 
summit of Knock Lade, described in another place. 

The collieries of Ballycastle, which have been worked 
for centuries, occupy the hills along the coast of the bay for 
about .a mile, but none of the pits are now worked. 

Of the neighbouring antiquities and natural curiosities, 
we shall speak more fully in their proper places. Close 
to the town are some castle ruins, raths, and the Abbey 
of Bonatnargey, as well as two mineral springs. 
- Pop. 1683. A market is held every three weeks, on 
Tuesday, for yarns and provisions. Fairs : Jan. 1, 
Shrove Tuesday, Easter Tuesday, last Tuesday in May, 
August, Oct, and Nov., and July 26. Inns: Fullerton's; 
and another, with respectable accommodation. 

Four miles from Ballycastle is the magnificent promon- 
tory of Fair Heod y or Benmore, overlooking the raging sea 
that divides it from Raghlin Island.' In order to reach it, 
-the tourist must proceed along the shore from the quay for 
about a mile, and then ascend the hill containing the 
collieries, whence Fair Head is constantly in view. This 
pathway commands a fine view of Raghlin Island, and 
even the isles of Scotland. 

This majestic promontory, the highest point of which 
rises 585 feet above the level of the sea, is composed of 
basaltic stones, and may be divided into two portions, die 
Q 



170 No. 24. DUBLIN TO BALLYCASTLB. 

base being an inclined plane strewed with Immense masses 
in the wildest confusion, and washed by the foaming ocean ; 
and the superstructure) consisting of perpendicular columns 
250 feet in height; the whole exhibiting one of the 
most extraordinary scenes that imagination can conceive. 
Amongst the objects pointed out as curiosities on Fair 
Head, is the Fhirleath or Grey Man's Path, a chasm 200 
feet in depth ; dividing the promontory in two. There are 
several places also where the tourist may, without danger, 
look down precipices of more than 240 feet. Near the 
summit is a curious cave called the Piet's House, and not 
far from it are two lakes, named Lough Caolin and Lough- 
na-Cresa, There is a village of about 250 houses, which 
throve for a moment through Mr. Boyd's speculations. It 
has fallen into decay. 



No. 24. From Dublin to BALLYCASTLE. Second 
Road. Through Drogheda, Belfast, and Kells. 

Dublin Castk to Miles. Dublin Castte to Milts. 

Banbridge*. asatNo. 1..... 601 Ballymena* 101 

Belfast*, as at No. 30. .... 80 Clough 107 

Cammoney 85} Clough Mills 109 

Doagh 90 Stranocknm 116 

Connor 96| Ballycastle* 194 

Kella* 97* 

CARNMONEY, in Antrim, is seated on the top of a 
remarkable mountain, forming a ridge between the Cave 
Hill near Belfast, and Agnew's Hill above Larne ; all three 
terminating in beautiful slopes to the sea shore. The 
valley towards Belfast is principally interesting for its lime- 
kilns, the quarries being on the Cave Hill. Here the 
mail-coach road ascends gradually. On the Larne side the 
broader valley is intersected by a sweeping level route, 



No. 24. DUBLIN TO BALLYCASTLE. 171 

recently completed, which, although two miles in its circuit 
towards Ballyclare, is surrounded by such verdant scenery 
as affords the traveller the highest delight Pass Mr. 
Grimshaw's great factory with a beautiful reservoir to turn 
the water-wheel. In the ascent to Carnmoney the straggling 
village of white cottages is seen scattered over the hill top, 
and the diminutive church is conspicuous from every 
quarter. After passing the avenues of trees beyond 
Carnmoney church, the road traverses a rough and less 
interesting country. Pop. 247. Fairs: Second Tuesday 
in May, and third Tuesday in November. 

DOA6H is a. village of Antrim, placed amidst gently 
swelling and verdant hills. The new road through Doagh 
is level, and its scenery resembles that of the beautiful new 
road on the banks of the Wye, between Bakewell and 
Matlock, in England. At Doagh the meeting and dinners 
of the Antrim Hunt are held. Here Is a respectable inn. 
Pop. 195. 

CONNOR, in Antrim, was formerly a place of import- 
ance, but is now a village of small cottages. The see of 
Connor is united with the bishopric of Down. In the 
cemetery of the cathedral, of which there still exists an 
appearance of the foundation-wall, is a white church, with 
a square steeple, environed by trees. The Kells Water 
flows beneath the small eminence on which the church is 
built, and has several old bridges across it ; the water is a 
strong chalybeate. Near this stream is the foundation of 
a tower, nine feet in height, and apparently repaired in 
late times : it is supposed to have been a residence of King 
Fergus and other princes of former days. The monastic 
ruins of Kells, and the foundations traceable throughout 
this vicinity, belonged to edifices inhabited not many cen- 
turies back,., coins of the Edwards having been found here. 



172T No. 25. DUBLIN TO BALLYMENA. 

The village is at the foot of a great hill, and the dope 
of Cairnanie, ascending in the direction of Templepatrick, 
although arduous, will compensate for the labour of an 
excursion. From this summit the eye ranges through 
a wide surrounding vale of great fertility, adorned 
with excellent houses, rapid torrents, long rows of ash 
trees and pines extending to the shore of Lough Neagh, 
which glitters like a sea in the distance ; the round towers 
of Ram Island and Antrim are also distinguished. In this 
mountain range are the scenes of some pathetic poems of 
Ossian ; and the tumuli on the south side of the mountain 
point out die field of traditionary combats. To the right 
of Parkgate, there is an elevated moat, above the village of 
Donegore. Pop. 289. Fairs : Feb. 1, May 1, August 2, 
and Oct 28. 

CLOU6H MILLS, a village two miles from Clough 
[described in No. 205] : it is seated upon a rapid stream 
called the Clough Water. 

STRANOCUM is a beautiful village of Antrim, seated 
on the river Bush. Close to this is Buthbank, the residence 
of the late James Hamilton, Esq., and now of Mr. Biggs: 
the grounds are truly agreeable. Pop, 182. Fain: April 20, 
and Dec. 29. 



No. 25. From Dublin to BALLYMENA. Through 
Belfast, Templepatrick, and Kells. 

Dublin CatUe to Mites. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Banbrklge* as at No. 1. -- 60* Parkgate-- 88 

Belfiist*, a» at No. 30. -•• 80 Connor* 96f 

Liale 85 Kelto* 9Jk 

Templepatrick -. 87 BaUymena* 101 

LISLE is a mountain hamlet of Antrim. Here is a 
large round hill) supposed to be artificial. Lisle Hill is . 



No. 26. DUBLIN TO BALLYMOTE. 173 

surrounded by stupendous mountains, but is conspicuous 
from every part of the wide and fertile intervening valleys. 
Here is a meeting house and two small inns. 

TEMPLEPATRICK is an extremely neat village of 
Antrim. Here is Castle Upton, the beautiful mansion of 
Viscount Templetown, with a demesne furnished with fine 
timber. The entrance to it is formed by an avenue of elms, 
leading from the castle-gate at a bend of two roads meeting 
in the village. The building is whitewashed, and the round 
turrets are covered by conical roofs. The rents are high 
in this beautiful valley; but the agriculture is excellent, 
and the produce corresponds to the industry exerted. 
Here are two bridges over a river well stocked with 
trout and perch. Pop. 814. Fairs ; First Tuesday in May, 
July 10, and last Tuesday in October. 

PARKGATE is a village of Antrim, built on the rise 
of the Cairnanie hills. It has a tolerable inn. To the 
left hand a road conducts to Donegore Moat and Antrim. 
Pop. 162. Fairs: Feb. 7, May 7, Aug. 7, and Nov. 4. 



No. 26. From Dublin to BALLYMOTE. Through 
Longford, Jamestown, and Boyle. 

Dublin amu to Miles. Dublin CasUe to Miles. 

Kinnegad*. as at No. 98... 39* Boyle* 84} 

Carrick-on-Shannon*, asat Ballinafad* 871 

No.185. 77 Balljmote 96 

AnUcanta Church 81} 

BALLYMOTE is an ancient market and post town in 
the county of Sligo, situated between Lough Arrow and the 
river Owenmore. Ballymote Castle, a square building of 150 
feet, and 60 feet in height, is supposed to have been con- 
structed A. d. 1300, by De Burgh, Earl of Ulster. During 
Q 3 



174 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

the civil wars it was captured by Ireton : it is still a con- 
siderable ruin. Here also stood a house of Franciscans, 
of which the few remaining walls and the east window are 
worthy of notice : it forms a cemetery ; and a portion now 
repaired is the Roman Catholic chapel. Distant one mile 
from town, is the church of Emlafad, having a beautiful 
spire ; the rector resides at Newbrook. The sessions are 
held in Ballymote court-house four times in the year. 
Pop. 875. Market day : Friday. Fairs : Last Monday in 
January, May 11, second Monday in June, Sept 3, third 
Monday in Nov., and Dec. 21. Inns : Farquhar's, and Finn's. 
Seat : Earlsfield, Major Bridgeham. 



No. 27. From Dublin to BALTIMORE. Through 
Carlow, Kilkenny, Clonmel, and Cork. 

Dublin Castle U> Mil*. DmbUnCasUeto Miles. 

Bafhcoole 71 Clonmel 81 1 

Johnatown* 13* Aidfinkaae 88}' 

Naai 15| Clogheen 83* 

Kilcullen 82 Kilworth 106 

Ballytore 99* Pennoy 108 

Cwtledermot S8| Bathcormack ■ • 112 

Carlow 80 Cork 126 

LefghHn Bridge 46 Bandon 1371 

Kilkenny 67ft OoghnaUlty 14ft 

Callan 65*' 81dbbereen 160* 

Nine-Mile-House 70| Baltimore 166! 

KILCULLEN, a market and post town of Kildare, is 
seated upon the river Liffey, on the hills north of which 
General Dundas defeated the insurgents in 1798. The 
ancient church to the left of the bridge, is that of New 
Abbey, built in 1460 by Sir Rowland Eustace; his fine- 
tomb in the abbey church was destroyed in 1784, when the. 



No. 27, DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 175 

Catholic chapel at this place was built This was the site 
of a monastery which dated from the .introduction of 
Christianity, and was first governed by St Heroin, a bishop, 
of the fifth century. A lease of the abbey and its lands 
was granted in 1582 to Spenser. In 1764 the steeple of 
New Abbey fell. These ruins give name to the modern 
mansion of New Abbey. An old castle is also super- 
seded by its neighbouring seat called Castle-Martin, 
Kilcullen has a neat church, built in 1815, a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a dispensary, and a fever hospital. 

Pop. 699. Market day ; Saturday. Fairs : February 2, 
March 25, June 11 and 22, Sept. 8, Oct. 2, and Dec. 8. 

Nearly three miles beyond the bridge is Old Kilcullen : 
a town once fortified with a wall and seven gates, only one 
of which, with a handsome arch, is standing. Here also 
are the ruins of an abbey, with several antique vestiges : 
the shaft of a cross in a single block, 10 feet high ; the 
pedestal of a second cross ; and an ancient round tower, 
now half its original height Three miles beyond this 
deserted town is the ruin of Black Hall Castle, 

Seats; Giltoum y Sir E. Burrows, Bart; Castle Fish; 
Ballyfax; Calverstown, near which a tomb was opened, 
containing a sitting skeleton, with an earthen urn or bowl, 
as if for provisions ; this is supposed to have been a Danish 
chieftain, BaUyshannon, Sir J. Palmer, Bart. Harristown, 
Sallymount, the demesne of the Cramer family. Castle 
Martin, which was occupied in 1798 as a barrack. 

BALLYTORE, a market and post town in Kildare, 
possessing the unusual accompaniment of orchards and 
gardens. Quakers settled this rural site on the banks of 
the river Griss, and, as in other Quakers' and Moravian 
settlements in this kingdom, they studied the neat improve- ' 
ments of hedge-row avenues, rising out of well-trimmed 



176 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

quickset fences, and surrounded their comfortable cottages 
with fruits and flowers. Here the eloquent Edmund 
Burke acquired the rudiments of learning; and Mary Lead- 
better was a native and resident of this town. Timolin 
church is on a height to the left; but the village is now 
fallen into decay. The ruins of Moone Abbey adjoin to 
Moone, a seat on the opposite bank of the Griss. 

Pop. 228. Market day: Monday. Fair*; March 10, 
Aug. 15, and Nov. 30. 

Seats: the Earl of Aldborough's house and demesne, 
Belan, is two miles farther. The castle of Belan was 
destroyed by Cromwell. In the old mansion afterwards 
built, James II. and King William successively slept; their 
bed is preserved. The present house was built in 1743: 
it contains a chapel, a theatre, and a green-house. Near 
it is a lake, as well as a spacious inn. There are six 
avenues, a mile in length, with porters' lodges at the ter- 
minations. 

CASTLEDERMOT, a post town in Kildare, formerly 
Tristle Dermot, or Disart Diarmuda, derived its name from 
St. Diermit, who founded the priory here in 500. The 
Dermots, kings of Leinster, had their residence in this 
ancient town, which was once strongly fortified. The castle 
is now a ruin. There are some interesting antiquities ; an 
ivy-clad round tower, employed as a belfry to the parish 
church ; two crosses, on which are inscribed some ancient 
characters, and three small pillars. Parliaments were 
holden here in the 14th and 15th centuries; the house 
of assembly became the chief inn of the town. There 
was once a mint at this place, which is now, however, 
a town of little importance. Castledermot is situated on 
the river Lane ; two miles farther we enter the county of 
Carlow. 



No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 177 

Pop. 1385. Fairs : Feb. 24, first Tuesday after Easter. 
Tuesday, May 24, August 4, Sept 29, and Dec. 19. 

Seats : Kilkea Cattle, two mile* before our arrival at 
Castledermot, we leave this ancient fortress on the right: 
it was formerly of great strength. It is a modernized 
residence, and from its walls is enjoyed the view of a rich 
landscape across the Griss river. Burton Hall is close to 
a stream which separates Kildare from Garlow : the park 
contains 200 acres, and .the beautiful avenue extends a 
mile in length ; the gardens are adorned with statues. 

C ARLOW is an assize, market, borough, and post town, 
and gives name to the county. It is seated on the navigable 
river Barrow, which affords an easy conveyance for Kil- 
kenny coal to various parts of the vicinity. The Barrow 
rises in the Slieve Bloom mountains in Queen's county, • 
and Carlow is much increased in prosperity and commercial 
importance by it: passing this town it continues it» 
winding and placid course to the Nore, near New Ross* 
Communication with Dublin is also greatly facilitated by 
the grand canaL The county town is governed by a sove- 
reign: it has a very cheerful aspect; all the way to Cas- 
tledermot or to Leighlin Bridge we remark the pleasant 
villas and white-fronted farm houses of the spirited culti- 
vators, who are rapidly improving the agriculture of this 
district. The prospects south of Carlow are picturesque 
and diversified ; the valley is of great width, but is bounded 
on each side by mountains and woodlands. The Black- 
stairs Hills are more rugged and less shaded by forest than 
the other mountains, which are occasionally planted nearly 
to the summit The coarse woollens of the Carlow manu- 
factures occasion some activity and attention to commerce, 
for which the town has- natural advantages. It has an 



178 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE, 

extensive corn and butter trade, which is mostly sent to 
Waterford for exportation; the butter is of the finest 
quality, and is much esteemed in the London market: 
about thirty thousand casks are exported annually. 

Carlow has a new court house, a barrack for cavalry, a 
handsome new Roman Catholic cathedral, and an extensive 
Roman Catholic college, which is situated in the centre of 
the town, but is secluded by high walls which surround h; 
the park is spacious, and well planted. This college has 
attained celebrity from its connection with the late Dr. 
Doyle. The dilapidated castle, so long a prominent feature 
of this town, on a late attempt to render it habitable, fell 
suddenly to the ground, and but little is left of it. The 
site was a height commanding the channel of the Barrow, 
and overlooks the town on the west side, close to Wellington 
Bridge, which crosses the Barrow here, and unites the 
county of Carlow with Queen's county ; whence its ancient 
name of Catheriough, the castle of the Lough ; it was an 
important bulwark of the old English Pale. Catheriough 
was built by King John when commanding in Ireland ; 
the historical anecdotes of its numerous sieges are inte- 
resting. It surrendered to General Ireton in 1650. In 
tlra last insurrection Carlow was attempted to be surprised 
before day-break ; a vigorous defence was made* and nearly 
500 of the insurgents fell in the action. The church is 
ancient Carlow. also possesses meeting houses, a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a nunnery with a handsome chapel 
adjoining, a modern church with a steeple, an infirmary 
dispensary, a fever hospital, a new gaol, a military hospital, 
magdalen and lunatic asylums, an assembly room, and a 
news room. This borough returns one member to Parliament. 
-Pop. 91H. Market day x; Monday and Thursday. Fairs i 



No. 25T. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 179 

May 4, June 22, Aug. 26, and Nov. 8. Inns : The King's 
Arms; Wheatsheaf; the Yellow Lion; Mail Coach Hotel, 
and Club House. 

Seats: Btllmont; Springhill; Oak Park. — Staples tam t 
a splendid mansion on the Burrin stream. Browne HUt, 
one mile distant Fiewmount, near Browne Hill. Borris 
Castle, 12 miles south of Carlow, is the seat of the Kavan- 
nagh family, and is the noblest mansion in the county of 
Carlow. It was built from designs by Messrs. Morrisons, 
and is a fine imitation of the style of architecture prevalent 
in the 16th century. 

LEIGHLIN BRIDGE is a market and post town in the 
county of Carlow, on the banks of the Barrow, over which 
is a bridge of nine arches. There is a considerable trade 
in corn and butter. One of the old ruins is a monastery 
of White Friars, founded by one of the family of Carew. 
The towers and battlements of the Black Castle, which 
extend along the Barrow, having a very imposing ap- 
pearance : this was a strong hold of the powerful De Lacys. 
Leighlin has a church situated on the west bank of the 
river, and two Roman Catholic chapels. The churchyard 
commands a fine view. 

Bally Ellen, Fenough, Ballylaghatt, Qarryhaddon, Bally- 
morn, and Clonmore, are all of them ancient castles in this 
district, but at considerable distances; they evince the 
warlike posture of the ancient lords. A still more important 
place is the city of Old Leighlin, now consisting of only a 
few dwellings in a valley of the neighbouring mountain ; 
its celebrated church was founded in 632 : thus the bishop's 
see is of early date ; the cathedral church was burnt by 
lightning in 1060. There is at present a small cathedral, 
so called, in tolerable repair; although the abbey of Old 
Leighlin, to which it is attached, is a ruin. This monastery 



180 Ma 27, DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

was founded by St Gobhan, and acquired a character of 
sanctity in early times; its legendary, history is curious. 
Near this is the Well of St. Lqfarien, much celebrated 
amongst the country people, with a cross near its brink. 
T^ighlin was incorporated with the see of Ferns in 1600. 

Pop. 2035. Market day*; Monday and Saturday. Fairs : 
Easter Monday, May 14, and Sept 25. Inn : the Swan. 

Seats: FontkiU: Killenane, Also Clogrennan Lodge, 
of which the sweetly-wooded uplands render it a charming 
demesne ; inspect this seat before you arrive at Leighlin 
Bridge. 

Royal Oak, between Leighlin Bridge and Kilkenny, is 
the name of a pleasant Tillage, with an excellent inn. 
There are extensive flour mills in this neighbourhood. 

KILKENNY, a city, assize, and market town, in the 
county of the same name, is esteemed to be the pleasantest 
town in Ireland; its handsome bridges of hewn stone 
stretch across the river Nore. The city is governed by a 
mayor, recorder, and sheriffs. The town is built on two 
hills, from which the obsolete distinction of the Irish and 
the English town. Kilkenny College was endowed in 
1682 by the Duke of Ormond, but the date of the present 
edifice is 1784. Many learned men have been educated 
here, among whom we may mention Swift, Congreve, and 
Berkley; the number of students is 70. There is also a 
free school for 60 boys. The female asylum is for 20 poor 
householders, allowed ten pounds a year each. In the 
Irish town, or St Canice, is the Gothic cathedral, com- 
menced in 1202, and completed in 1252. It is 226 feet in 
length, and is in the form of a cross. Columns of black 
marble separate the nave from the side aisles, and in the 
jcentre, where the nave and transept join, is a fine arch. 
The tomb of Nicholas Smyth, bishop of Ossory, murdered 



^ 



,. 'f 



No, 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 181 

by James Dallard, is of a single block of marble. The 
choir is beautiful, and the interior tastefully decorated. 
The stone chair of St. Kieran is worthy of notice. The 
round tower on the south side is in good preservation, and 
there is an extensive view from the terrace in the churchyard. 
The palace of the bishop is a commodious and elegant resi- 
dence ; it has a communication by a covered gallery with the 
cathedral. There are also two parish churches, St John's 
in St John's Street, modernized in 1817, having formerly 
belonged to the abbey of St John ; and St. Mary's in High 
Street, with a steeple, besides several Roman Catholic 
chapels and meeting houses. 

The court house is a handsome edifice, erected by Mr. 
Robertson on the site of an old building called Grace's 
Castle. Near the Tholsel, which is a good building, with 
a lofty steeple, there was formerly a handsome Gothic 
cross, similar to that of Coventry. Kilkenny possesses all 
the public buildings appropriate to a city; and of its forti- 
fications there are still to be seen part of the walls, and the' 
gates. The market place is spacious, and there are infantry 
barracks, the city gaol, the county gaol, a fever hospital, a 
house of correction, and a mendicity asylum. 

The priory of St. John was founded in 1211 by William 
Mareschal the elder, Earl of Pembroke ; it contains the 
marble tomb and effigies of prior Purcell. This priory, 
along with the other religious houses, was granted to the 
citizens by Henry VIII. The Black Abbey, founded by 
William Mareschal the younger, Earl of Pembroke, is a 
finer ruin than any of the rest Its noble founder was 
interred in it in 1231, as was his brother Richard Mare- 
schal, who received a mortal wound at the battle of the 
Curragh of Kildare, in 1234. In its church may be noticed 
a tomb, with a recumbent figure, and near it is a font cr 
a 



182 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

vase, with ancient characters carved round the border; 
The architectural embellishments of Black Abbey, situated 
in Irish town, were superb and costly ; it has been repaired, 
and is occupied by a Roman Catholic congregation. 

The monastery of St Francis, a light and elegant struc- 
ture, of which the tower is the principal vestige, is said to 
have many superb monuments covered by the ruins. The 
court of this Franciscan house was converted into cavalry 
barracks; and foot soldiers were quartered in St John's 
Priory : the latter is now an asylum for aged servants. 

The chalybeate and sulphureous spring, about one mile 
and a half from the city, is in great esteem with medical 
professors. The Kilkenny marble, of a black colour, 
adorns the private buildings in all the chief streets ; they 
are handsome, and one street is above a mile long.. The 
mills for sawing and polishing marble are near the main 
quarry, about a mile out of town, and situated by the river 
side, they are well worthy of a visit ; the marble is extremely 
beautiful. The Kilkenny coal is well known ; it is of the 
quality called stone-coal : it is generally sulphureous and 
expensive; and is therefore little used, except in the imme- 
diate neighbourhood : that imported from England being 
found even but a few miles from these mines; both cheaper 
and better. According to the proverb, Kilkenny boasts' 
— fire without smoke, water without mud, air without fog, 
and streets paved with marble. The editor, has heard, 
many Irish gentlemen declare they had no fogs in their 
counties, but has experienced many dense fogs arising from 
mountain and lake. The thick white fog. is, however, 
comparatively seldom known. The shaded public walks- 
form a most agreeable appurtenance to this delightful place. 
The city of Kilkenny returns a member to Parliament 
. Pop. 23,741. Market-day* : Wednesday and Saturday ;. 



No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 1M 

and for cattle, Tuesday and Friday. : Fairs : March 28, May 
29, June 11, Aug. 17, Sep. 12, and Nov. 9. Inns: The King's 
Arms, Bush, Eagle, Wheatsheaf, and the Hibernian Hotel 

Seats: Qrmond Castle, in Kilkenny, the seat of the 
Marquess of Ormond, was first constructed in 1192, 
upon the precipitous bank of the rapid Nore; its entrance 
towers are of unequal magnitude at each side of the gate. 
The castle is being rebuilt by the present earl, and it pro- 
mises to be a splendid object, In the presence chamber is 
a picture by Vandyck,. and the gallery contains a great 
many portraits. Several of the rooms command fine views. 
On the opposite side of the road, the stables of this ancient 
mansion form a grand appearance. Three miles from the 
town are seen the ruins of Bunmore Palace, belonging to 
the same family, and surrounded by fine woods. 
• Kilreen, Sir W. Montmorency ; Castle Blunden, Sir John 
Blunden ; Teina Park, near to which is the ruin of Castle 
Inch. 

, C A LL AN is a market and post town of Kilkenny, seated 
upon the King's River, and is governed by a sovereign. It 
was once populous, but never flourished since Cromwell's 
assault upon it j he destroyed all the. buildings, and the 
three castles. The tower of the Augustine abbey, founded 
about 1450, by the Ormond family, still remains. The 
rath, near Callan, is of large dimensions, and is 40 feet in 
height. The church tower is mantled with ivy. Here are 
two Roman Catholic chapels, a school on the Lancaster 
plan, a town dispensary, and several charity schools. 

Pop. of town and parish, 6111. Market-days: Tuesday 
and Saturday. Fairs : May 4, June 12, July 10, Aug. 21, 
Oct 10) Nov. 4, and Dec. 14. Many well-appointed Inns 
and Hotels. 

Seats : A mile and a half before arrival at Callan, is 



184 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

Dtsart, Lord Deaart's, a beautiful house, with very delight- 
ful grounds, on the right hand. Wettccurt ; Garryricken; 
three miles beyond the town. 

NINE-MILE HOUSE, on the confines of Kilkenny 
and Tipperary. Four miles beyond this, view Kilcash, a 
handsome mansion. Kilcash Hill enjoys a noble prospect, 
with Slievenaman to the right. Half a mile farther is the 
village of Ballypatrick. 

CLONMEL, the county town of Tipperary, is beautifully 
situated on the river Suir, and has three bridges across that 
river ; it is governed by a mayor and recorder. Its trade 
with Waterford, particularly in provisions and corn, is very 
great, and the lands in its vicinity are fertile and rich. In 
1269, the Dominican friary was founded here, and at the 
same time Otho de Grandison founded the Franciscan 
monastery ; its church afterwards became a place of wor- 
ship of the Dissenters. The town suffered greatly from 
Cromwell's army. Amongst the public buildings are, the 
church in Mary Street, the court house, the market house, 
the county gaol, the house of industry, a large lunatic 
asylum, about a quarter of a mile distant, the fever hos- 
pital, the dispensary, the artillery and foot barracks, and 
the butter market There are also Roman Catholic chapels, 
meeting houses, schools, a commercial room, and a news 
room. The manufactures are considerable, both in 
woollens and cottons. In one of its long regular-built 
streets may be seen the house in which Laurence Sterne 
was born, in -1713, a clergyman who was the Abbe Scarron 
of Ireland, a lasting satire upon his cloth, whose facetious 
pen widely diverged from the appropriate style of a com- 
poser of sermons, yet whose sermons are a model in his 
peculiar manner, and attracted crowded congregations to 
Hampstead church, near London. Sterne embodied the 



No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 184 

eomic diction and cunning genius of his compatriots ; this 
kingdom truly appears " native to famous wits." Clonmel 
returns a member to Parliament. 

The number of houses in Clonmel in 1800, was 1349 
it is now above 1620. 

• This town, and indeed the whole south of Ireland, is 
greatly- indebted to the spirited exertions of an Italian, 
Mr. Charles Bianconi, car proprietor; his excellent estab- 
lishment here r consists of nearly 600 horses and 200 cars, 
which travel in every direction. Mr. Bianconi is also the 
principal contractor for conveying the. mails on the cross 
roads in the south and west We have in this work given 
a detailed list of the principal routes he travels. 

The environs of Clonmel are very beautiful. From the 
top of Fairy hill, on the right bank of the river, and about 
half a mile from the town, a splendid view may be 
obtained of the valley of the Suir. 

Pap. 15,184. Market-days: Tuesday and Saturday. Fairs : 
First Wednesday in each, month, May 5, and Nov. 5. 
Inns : the Mail Coach,, the Great Globe, Ormond's, and 
Hearn's Hotel. 

Seats: Three miles before arrival at Clonmel, is 
Kilmore ; Newtovou, Sir T. Osborne ; near which is Chan- 
cellor's Town. Three miles beyond the town, is the splen- 
did mansion and grounds of Knocklqfty, Earl of Donough- 
more, and Kilmanaham Castle upon a rock at the bending 
of the river Suir. 

'- ARDF INANE, in Tipperary, is a pleasant and ancient 
village, with a bridge of 14 arches over the Suir. Of two 
castles in ruin, one built in 1184 by King John, upon a 
bold precipice by the river, commanded the town. It was 
battered by Cromwell, and made uninhabitable. The 
abbey was founded in 700 by St Finian. 

Pop. 316. Fairs; Feb 2, May 17, and Nov. 19. 
R 3 



186 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

CLOGHEEN is a small market and post town in Tip'' 
perary, carrying on a large trade in corn. Here the travel- 
ler arrives at the foot of the bleak summits of Knoekmeledoum 
Mountain, where a small torrent directs its course in search 
of the river Suir. A well-appointed mail car travels across 
this mountain to Lismore, a romantic and beautiful drive. 
The barriers of the Gal tees, and other great hills, bound the 
prospect The parish church of Clogheen has been newly 
built, one mile west of the town. There are also a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a court house, barracks for two troops of 
cavalry, and a fever hospital. At Clogheen you can take 
the road either of Carrick or Lismore. The mount, or 
fairy ring, of Kilshielan, is to be seen near this. 

Pop. 1928. Market-day: Saturday. Fairs; May 27, 
Whit-Monday, Aug. 1, Oct 28, and Dec. 10. Inn: 
M'Craith's. 

Seats : Shanbally Castle, the charming seat of Viscount 
Lismore, is near the old church of ShanraJiany, at a short 
distance from Clogheen. At Skeheewrinky is a cavern, 
which is entered by a cleft in a rock. It contains a natural 
vaulted chamber, 100 feet long and 70 high ; and lateral 
passages conduct through recesses of the earth, in which 
are stones, spars, and stalactitical pillars. 

Ballyporeen, in Tipperary, is a village three miles be- 
yond Clogheen. At a mile beyond this, leave the Mitchels- 
town- road to the right, and in another mile enter the. 
county of Cork. 

KILWORTH, a market and post town in the county of 
Cork, near the river Funcheon, noted for its excellent 
salmon and trout ; the Kilworth hills are a romantic range. 
The church is a fine old building, and at some distance 
from the town is a modern Roman Catholic chapel, 
and a school house. Here are some good flax and corn 
mills. 



No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 187 

Pop. 1965. Market-day: Friday. Fairs: January 2d, 
Easter Tuesday, 1st Tuesday after Trinity Sunday, Sept. 
11, Nov. 21, and Dec 10. 

Seats : Near Kilworth is Moore Park, the chief seat of 
the Earl of Mountcashell. This is an embellished mansion j 
and close to the park grounds the ruin of Cloughleagh 
Castle has its gloomy site on a precipice by the river side. 

FERMOY, a market and post town in the county of 
Cork, is seated on the Blackwater river. Its bridge has 
thirteen arches, and is very beautifully enveloped in ivy. 
The modern town, consisting of four handsome streets, 
crossing each other at right angles, was projected and com- 
pleted by the late John Anderson Esq., the patriotic con- 
tractor for the first southern mail coach establishment : 
by the river side is the house that he inhabited. The 
artillery barracks form a handsome quadrangle ; and north 
of the Blackwater are the new barracks, occupying twelve 
acres, enclosed by a wall and a drawbridge. On the hill in 
this town, opposite the market house, is a well-built 
church, and tower of some architectural elegance. Fer- 
moy also possesses a Roman Catholic chapel, and meeting 
houses, a brewery, flour and paper mills, coach manufactory, 
and a manufactory for farming implements ; a handsome 
courthouse, an endowed school house, and a military hos- 
pital. As a manufacturing place, Fermoy bids fair to 
arrive at a great degree of prosperity ; its trade in corn is 
very considerable. It is an important situation, for its 
numerous good roads to large towns render it a central 
stage for commercial travellers and tourists. 

In the vicinity are the ruins of Creg Cattle, Ballymac* 
patrick, Glanworth, and Carrickabrick castles. On the' 
highlands are various Druidical altars, erected by the chief 
Druid Mogruith, to whom Fermoy was granted in 524, as 



188 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE?. 

a possession dedicated to the Druidical worship, and thos* 
upright stones marked the boundary of this sacred tract, 
called Magh Feine ; the Druids occupying it were named 
Fear Magh Feine (Men of the Sacred Plain), modernized 
into Fermoy. 

Pop. 6976, Market-day: Saturday. Fain: June 21 , 
Aug. 20, and Nov. 7. Inns : The New Inn, and the 
King's Arms. 

Seats : Cattle Hyde, on the bank of the Blackwater. 
Cotwamore, the seat of Lord Ennismore, at some distance 
towards Mallow. This mansion contains a fine collection 
of pictures. 

RATHCORMACK, in Cork, is a neat post town on the 
river Bride, with a market house, a church, and a Roman 
Catholic chapel. Here is a beautiful mansion, Lisnagar, 
belonging to Lord Riversdale, with some other gentlemen's 
seats. But the mountains and antiquities form still more 
interesting objects ; the great range of Cairn Tierna, the 
Thane's Heap, is on the north, a mountain named from one 
of those justiciary heaps, whether of stones, as in this 
instance, or earthen raths, upon which the chiefs and their 
tribes assembled in high and conspicuous spots. Visit also 
the Hag's Bed, or LabacaUy Tomb, a stupendous monu- 
mental vault, formed of immense stones, of the dimensions 
of which Stonehenge alone can give the stranger an idea. 

Pop, 1574. Market' day : Thursday. Fairs: Aug. 12, 
and Oct. 29. Inn : the Riversdale Arms. 

About four miles beyond Rathcormack, is the village of 
Watergrass Hill, in which is a post office, said to stand on 
the highest cultivated ground in Ireland. It commands 
fine prospects. Pep, 538. 

CORK, the eapital of the county of the same name, is 
the second city of Ireland in point of magnitude, and a 



No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 189 

place of great commerce. It is a seaport on the sout h-east 
coast, situated near the mouth of the Lea, over which there 
are numerous bridges ; that called St. Patrick's is an ele- 
gant modern structure. This river divides, a short dis- 
tance above Cork, into two branches, which, again uniting, 
encircle a considerable portion of the city, formerly a 
swamp ; its smaller channels ran through many of the 
streets, like the canals in Dutch towns ; but they have 
been arched over, to the great improvement of the health, 
as well as the convenience of the inhabitants. Hence the 
ancient name; of the city, Coreagh, signifying a marsh, was 
derived. Cork was walled by the Danes and Ostmen in 
the ninth century, but was never strong, although it made 
some resistance to the Earl of Marlborough, who captured 
it in 1690. It is a corporation town, governed by its 
mayor, aldermen, burgesses, sheriffs, and recorder, and 
returns two members to parliament The county alto 
returns two, as do the other counties of Ireland. 

The principal streets are spacious and well built, but 
those of ancient date are narrow and irregular ; some of 
the lanes will barely admit of two persons abreast. Many 
of the houses are fronted with blue slates, giving them a 
singular appearance. On the grand parade is an eques- 
trian statue of George II. Amongst the public buildings 
may be noticed the exchange, erected in 1710 by an Italian 
architect, and adorned with Tuscan and Doric columns $ 
the custom house, of hewn stone, with a pediment exhibi- 
ting the arms of the United Kingdom ; the barracks for 
infantry and cavalry to the north-east of the city ; the cham- 
ber of commerce in Patrick Street ; the new city gaol ; the 
county gaol ; the court house, a splendid new building in 
George's Street; the market house, near the exchange ; the 
town-hall and the commercial rooms, the front of which 



190 No. 27, DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

is tastefully ornamented; the county club house, South 
Mail ; Daly's club house, on the Grand Parade ; the Grand 
Parade club house, in Tuckey Street* and the theatre, in 
George's Street The Mardyke walk, on the west side of 
the city, is a public promenade, planted with elms, about a 
mile long. Cork is a bishop's see. The cathedral, decuV 
cated to St. Finn Barr, is situated on an eminence, and has 
a lofty but inelegant spire. ' There are several churches ; 
the principal are, St, Mary Shandoa, St Anne, Christ 
Church, St. Nicholas, St. Paul, and St Peter; the 
Catholic chapel on Charlotte Quay, a very fine edifice, 
and many other Roman Catholic chapels, and meeting 
houses. 

Amongst the charitable institutions are, the house of 
industry, capable of .accommodating 700 persons; the 
lunatic asylum; the house of recovery from fever; the 
Magdalen asylum ; the foundling- hospital ; the lying-in 
hospital, and numerous schools. 

Cork possesses several establishments for the promo- 
tion of literature and science. The principal, are, the 
royal Cork literary institution, to which are attached a 
library, a museum of minerals, a botanical garden, and a 
collection of agricultural implements ; the society of arts, 
established in 1815 ; the Minerva reading rooms; the 
Cork library society; and the Cork institution for the 
application of science for the common purposes of life. 
Barry, the painter of the admirable pictures at the society 
of arts, London, was a native of Cork. 

The ancient abbeys have been employed as building 
materials for the modern city $ they are however of historic 
celebrity; in the abbey of St. Finn Barr, founded by that 
canonized saint in 606, seven hundred religious are related 
to have dwelt at one time ; it was, when rebuilt, named 



No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 101 

Gille Abbey, from its abbot's name, and was granted by 
Elizabeth to Sir Richard Greneville, in 1541. Grey abbey 
was built north of the city; the Dominican abbey of St. 
Mary of the Island once existed on Cross Gseen, south of 
the town. There are some remains of the Augustine 
friary, founded in 1420 by Lord Kinsale; it is. called Red 
Abbey, and has been converted into a sugar refinery. St 
Stephen's, an institution for the residence of lepers, became 
the site of the blue-coat hospital. The nunnery of St. John 
the Baptist stood near the market house. The residence 
of the Bishop of Cork, is at BaUinavptg, three miles out of 
town. 

Cork carries on an extensive trade, particularly in the 
export of superior linens, hides,' tallow, butter, beef, pork, 
cattle, sheep, pigs, corn, flour, and bacon* . It also imports 
grocery, earthenware,' ironmongery, cloth, coals, wines, 
brandy, oil, rum, sugar, flax seed, timber, tar, and tur- 
pentine. The chief -manufactures are paper, glass, leather, 
glue, sailcloth, coarse cloths, and whisky. There are 
numerous large distilleries and potter breweries ; . and the 
Lea flour mills are of great;extent ; the perfection of their 
machinery, and cleanliness, render them objects of great 
attraction; and in the neighbourhood is the only manufec- 
tory of gunpowder . in the island : it belongs to Govern- 
ment. The markets are abundantly supplied ; indeed there 
is a profusion of fish, poultry,,meat^ butter, and vegetables.. 
Craft of ISO tons can proceed up the river to the city of 
Cork. 

. Cove, or, as it is usually called, the. Cove of Cork, the 
great rendezvous of the West India fleets,- is situated seven 
miles from the city, in Great Island, which is about four, 
miles in length and two in breadth. Its situation for com- 
merce is excellent, as vessels of the> largest size can here 



192 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

unload, and the security of the haven renders it an impor- 
tant naval station. The harbour is formed by Great Island, 
and a bay of the opposite coast, and is capable of holding 
the whole navy of Britain. Cove has a handsome church, 
and fine quay, which is a good promenade, and commands 
an extensive view of the harbour and surrounding scenery. 
Cove is recommended as a mild and sheltered climate for 
invalids, and is the most fashionable sea-bathing place in 
the south of Ireland. There is an establishment connected 
with the imperial hotel, Cork, built for the summer season, 
close to the sea, on the artillery ground, from which a fine 
view may be obtained. 

The population of Great Island amounts to 1 1,000, about 
half of whom, consisting principally of seafaring men, pilots, 
and fishermen, reside in Cove. Near the town is a battery, 
consisting of three tiers of guns, one of them being afieur 
d'eau, and above it are barracks. The channel is also 
defended by Carlisle Fort The shores of the island are 
studded with villas, and the fishing banks off the coast 
yield a fine produce. An excursion by boats among the 
islands of Cork Harbour, will afford beautiful and diver- 
sified prospects. On the opposite side of the river is 
Passage-West, from which the distance to Cork by the 
southern road along the harbour is six miles. There are 
several yacht and boat clubs at Cove; and regattas are 
held annually, which attract numerous visitors. There 
are two good inns at Cove. Pop. of Cove 6966. Pop. of 
Passage-West 2141. 

The Environs of Cork present several objects of attention. 
Blackrocky situated on a peninsula of the Lea, three miles 
from Cork, abounds with villas ; and there is an extensive 
nunnery, which faces the river. Blarney Cattle, three miles 
distant, is situated on a rock, and consists of one massive 



No. 27- DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 193 

square tower: it was besieged and taken by William III., 
in the war of the revolution. Here is also the celebrated 
blarney stone, which gave rise to the Irish proverb of 
" kissing the blarney-stone." Ballyvelly Castle commands 
the north channel formed by Cove Island. In Barrymore 
Island is a stratum of limestone, found no where on the 
shore of the harbour. Giants Stairs, a natural production, 
attract the curious visitor. Carigrohan Castle is built on a 
precipice above the river Lea. At Ballyvacadane f four 
miles distant, are the remains of an abbey. Monkstoum 
Castle occupies the summit of a hill overgrown with trees 
and shrubs. Glanmire, five miles distant, is a charming 
village, situated in a beautiful glen on a narrow arm of the 
sea. It commands an extensive prospect 

Steamers ply several times, daily, between Cork and 
Cove. There are also steamers plying regularly to Bristol, 
Liverpool, London, Plymouth, and Dublin. 

Seats: Rostellan Castle, the Marquess of Thomond, 
surrounded by stately timber. Cork Beg, belonging to the 
Fitzgerald family. 

Pop. 107,016. Market Days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs: Trinity Monday, and October 1. Hotels: Commercial, 
Chamber of Commerce, Lloyd's, Imperial, Skibbereen, and 
Dublin. 

BANDON is a market and post town in Cork, upon the 
river Bandon, with an extensive quay, and is governed by a 
provost and burgesses. It has manufactures of cotton and 
camlets ; and is a borough, returning a member to Parlia- 
ment The Duke of Devonshire is the chief proprietor. 
The town of Bandon was built in 1610 by the Earl of Cork, 
who erected two churches and two handsome market houses, 
and surrounded it with walls ; the latter were destroyed in 
1689. Near it is a noted chalybeate spring, and Dvnda- 
s 



194 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

rene Castle. Military are regularly quartered in the bar-' 
racks of this town. 

The cotton spinning, corduroy, and linen manufacture, is 
extensive; but here, as in the neighbouring towns, they 
have been subject to great vicissitudes and excessive dis- 
tress. There are also large flour mills> breweries, and tan- 
yards. Bandon has a sessions house, a dispensary, an hospi- 
tal, several important schools, two Roman Catholic chapels, 
and several Dissenters' meeting houses. In the Wesleyan 
congregation's chapel is an excellent organ. A savings' 
bank is established here. 

Seats: Cattle Bernard, the Earl of Bandon (whose 
family name is Bernard). This fine mansion has two 
Corinthian fronts of Portland stone, and has an extensive - 
park. A mile to the south of this a beautiful mansion has 
been erected, in the pointed Gothic style, for the Hon. W. S. 
Bernard, brother to Lord Bandon : Bandon Bridge, the seat 
of the Earl of Cork and Orrery. 

Pop. 9917* Market Days : Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs : on Ascension Day, May 6, Oct 29, and Nov. 8. 
Inns; the Devonshire Arms, and the Shannon Arms. 

Innithannon is a manufiusturing and post town of Cork, 
having a good charter school. It is seated on the Bandon 
river, upon a road a little to the left of the shortest line' 
from Cork to Bandon, and three miles from the latter 
town. Innishannon communicates by the Bandon river 
with Kinsale, and has a small linen and cotton manufac- 
tory. This district is very mountainous. Pop. 653* 

CLOGHNAKILTY, a post town in Cork, is an ancient 
borough now disfranchised; it is governed by a sovereign 
and recorder, and has a considerable trade in the sale of 
linen and yarn. Its bay is rendered nearly useless by 
being choked up with sands. It has a good church in an 



No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 195 

elevated situation ; a Roman Catholic chapel, a Meeting 
house, barracks, a dispensary, a market house, and a 
school of industry. 

At Temple Brian, one mile to the north-east, are vestiges 
of a heathen temple. Above four miles south-east is Timo* 
league Gastle, and- an ancient abbey for Augustine monks, 
founded in 1350-; the tombs and the holy well are worthy 
of inspection; The promontory at the south point of this 
bay is hollowed out bythe sea into various extensive caverns j 
it is called Q alley Head, and its south-west coast turns in- 
land to Ross Bay, which is filled with sands. 

Pop. 8807. Market-day : Friday. Fairs : April 6, June 
SO, Aug. 1, Oct 10, and Nov. 12. 

ROSSCARBERY, formerly called Ross, a market and 
post .town, is situated upon the coast in Cork, seven miles 
from Cloghnakilty ; it stands on an elevation at the head 
of along narrow inlet of the sea, and is nearly surrounded by 
wood. This is the seat of a bishopric, -united with the see 
of Cork in 1586. The cathedral was founded in the 6th 
century by St. Pachttan ? it is of Gothic architecture, and 
although small, -cannot fail to excite the interest of the 
traveller who reflects that this place was an early school for 
divinity, and a university of great resort. The sea flows 
up to the wall of the cemetery, which is planted with trees; 
the square steeple has battlements, and there are large vaults 
or subterranean chambers adjoining the cathedral. There is 
also' a Roman Catholic chapel, a market house, and a 
barrack. A mile from the town are two pits, eighty yards 
deep, called East and West Pooladuff: the sea is observed 
to enter them by some cavern, although the cliff is 800 
yards distant. The river Rory -flows towards the sea at a 
short distance from the town. 

Seat : Castle Freke, the mansion of Lord Carbery, a 
handsome building in the castellated style. 



196 No. 27. DUBLIN TO BALTIMORE. 

Pop. 1522. Market day i Wednesday. Fairs: Sep. 19, 
and Dec 19. 

SKIBBEREEN is a thriving market and post town of 
Cork, upon the river Hen. The linen manufactures and 
cloths of Skibbereen have long been objects of extensive 
trade ; and a considerable yarn market is held here. 
The church is on the west Bide of the river. There are also 
a Roman Catholic chapel, a dispensary^ several charity 
schools, and a sessions house, as well as two flour- mills and 
a brewery. Abbey Throwry, near this town, was a priory, 
long used as a church, but now in ruins. About four miles 
distant, is the pleasant village of Castle Townsend, which 
has a good harbour. It is now much resorted to as a sea- 
bathing place, and a new custom house has been recently 
built ; here the collector and other officers of Baltimore 
harbour reside. It has a neat church situated in the fine 
demesne of Colonel Townsend. There are two rocks at 
the entrance of the harbour, called the Stags. 

Seat : New Court, Lord Riversdale. 

Pop. 4430. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: May 14, 
July 10, Aug. 2. Oct 12, Dec. 11, and 23. 

BALTIMORE, in Cork, is seated upon an excellent 
harbour, and is a port, having an establishment of the 
customs, the chief officers residing at Castle Townsend. It 
is a disfranchised borough, and was once a flourishing place : 
in 1631 it was plundered by Algerine pirates, and did not 
again recover its opulence. Here are vestiges of many 
strong castles, and the vicinity is rude and romantic. In 
one of the large islands which lie at the mouth of this fine 
port is Cape Clear, or Dunamore Castle, in tolerable preser- 
vation ; Cape Clear is the southernmost point of Ireland, 
Pop. 459. 



m 



No. 28. From Dublin to BANNOW. Through Ark- 
low, Kyle, and Wexford. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Mite*, 

Wexford*, as at No. 204. 66} Duncormack 764 

Baldwin's Town 74 Bannow 804 

BALDWIN'S TOWN is a village of the county of 
Wexford. 

DUNCORMACK is a Tillage situated on a bay of the 
Wexford coast. 

BANNOW, formerly a borough town, is situated on the 
east bank of the channel of Bannow Bay, at the head of 
which is the town of Clonmines. Earl Strongbow effected 
his landing at this place. It is commonly called the Irish 
Herculaneum. The town of Bannow was of great antiquity, 
and was overwhelmed with sea sand at some very remote 
period ; streets, houses, an extensive quay, and a church, 
with curious sculpture inside, are all to be seen, and much 
still remains to be discovered. 

The Saltees are small islands and rocks situated off this 
coast in Ballyteig Bay. St. Patrick's Bridge are rocks 
lying between the Saltee Islands and the coast 

The river Bannow flows into the bay of the same name. 
The Scare ferry is occasionally fbrdable, but is generally 
passed in the ferry-boat It is believed that silver mines 
were once worked to advantage by the Ostmen in this dis- 
trict; there are the appearances of a mine near the river 
Bannow, at Barrastoum. 



» 3 



198 

No. 29. From Dublin to BANTRY. Through Kil- 
kenny, Cork, and Bandon. 

Dublin Gutk to MUet. Dublin CattU to Mil*. 

Bandon *, as at No* 27> ' 13ft Dunmanway ♦» 151 

144* Bantiy 184* 



Desart Church, in Cork, is five miles beyond Bandon, and 
here is also Desart, the demesne of the Rev. Mr. Longfield. 

ENNISKEANE, a post town in Cork, is a village on the 
river Bandon, which divides it into two parts. On the north 
is Kineigh, or Kenith round tower, seventy feet high ; the 
first story is a hexagon, above which are five stories, all of 
them round ; this hexagonal basement is a singularity in the 
construction of such towers. It is 124 feet from the ruins 
of the church. Fairs : April 5, June 22, Aug. 1 2, and Oct 2* 

Seats; Fort Robert, Fergus O'Connor, M.P. 

DUNMANWAY, a post town in Cork. The linen 
manufacture was established here by Sir Richard Cox, who 
had a handsome residence, adorned with fine avenues. 
Here is a charter school. Dunmanway town is in a plea- 
sant valley on the banks of the Bandon river, a few miles 
from its sources ; hills surround the town, and a mile north 
is a long barrier of rugged rocks; in one place a yew grows 
from a fissure of the rock, with a stem seventeen feet in 
circumference. Kilbarry Church ruins are a mile and a 
half beyond this town. 

Pop. 2738. Fairs: May 4, June 16, Sep. 17, and Nov. 26. 

Dromaleague is a village on the road to Ban try. It is 
five miles beyond Dunmanway. The barony of Bantry is 
sterile and mountainous. 

BANTRY is a market, post, and sea-port town, situated 
at the head of Bantry Bay ; a fine harbour, which could 
contain the British navy, and sheltered by high mountains. 



No. 29. DUBLIN TO BANTRY. 199 

There are no remains of its Franciscan abbey. Iretoci 
built a fort farther north* and the inhabitants quitted 
Bantry to build the new town under its protection, but the 
fort is demolished, and the site abandoned. The bay is 
skirted by Hungra Hill, a barren mountain, sixteen miles 
from Bantry \ this hill slopes rapidly towards the shore, 
and from a lake on its summit descends a cataract of great 
height and sublimity. 

In the beautiful island of Whiddy, near Bantry town, 
there is a fine green hill, surmounted by a fort, in which a 
part of the military are stationed ; the bay is surrounded by 
the most romantic scenery, and the small bay of Glengariff 
is truly picturesque. In 16*89 Admiral Herbert defeated 
and captured a French fleet near Bantry, and in 1796 a 
French fleet, with an army under Hoche, overtaken by. 
storm near this harbour, was wrecked or.dispersed. 

The distance from Bantry to Glengariff is eleven miles ; 
the inn at Glengariff is finely situated at the head of a nar- 
row creek which runs up from the bay, and the scenery is 
beautiful and picturesque. From the demesne of Captain 
White, IiOrd Bantry's brother, fine views may be obtained. 
The Priest's Leap, and Clooneagh, are grand mountain 
scenes. 

A new road is now constructing between Bantry and 
Cork, by Glengariff and Kenmare, across the pass of the 
Esk: some striking views are obtained in crossing this 
mountain pass. This road will connect Killarney with 
Cork by a most interesting route. 

There is a considerable fishery, and the linen manufac- 
ture is carried on with great spirit Bantry has a hand- 
some Gothic church, also a Roman Catholic chapel, a 
Wesleyan meeting house, a Roman Catholic school, and 
a school house for die education of the sons of Protestants. 



200 No. SO. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 

Seat : Bantry. Hum, the mansion of the Earl of Bantry;. 
who is proprietor of the town, with delightful grounds, and 
a fine prospect of the bay, skirted by a range of lofty 
mountains. 

Pop. 4276. Market day: Saturday. Inn: The Bantry 
Arms. Fairs : June 9, Aug. 21, Oct. 1 5, and Dec. 1. 

BEARHAVEN, now Castletown, a post town, opposite 
to Bear Island, which lies in the mouth of Bantry Bay, and 
thereby forms two channels, one of which is called Bear- 
haven. Dunmanus Bay, with Mizen Head, are to the south- 
east. Crow Head, is at the extremity of the deeply- 
indented promontory which forms the opposite shore of 
Bantry Bay ; and Dursay Island, to the west, has some 
remains of a castle, beyond which are three high rocks* 
called Bull, Cow, and Calf. 



No. 30. From Dublin to BELFAST. First Road- 
Through Turvey, Drooheda, Dundalk, and Lis- 
burn. 

DUbUn Castle to Miles. Dublin CasOe to Milet. 

Banbridge*, as at No. 1 ...-60J Lisbon 73 

Dromore 66 Belfast - 80 

Hillsborough 69* 

DROMORE, in Down, is a retired town, built near the 
river Lagan, and surrounded by gently swelling hills. Jt 
is the see of a bishop, the church here having been founded 
by St. Colman, as well as an abbey, in the sixth century, 
and is remarkable for having been under the administra- 
tion of the eloquent Dr. Jeremy Taylor, and the late Dr. 
Percy. The bishopric is one of those to be sunk on a 
yaoaney. The cathedral, the bishop's residence, the school 



No. 30. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 201 

house, and the market house, which is built on arches, are 
the chief buildings. There are also several meeting houses, 
and a Roman Catholic chapel. The large rath, just be- 
yond the town, on the ridge of a hill (whence the names 
Drum Mor), has from it a curious passage, hollowed down 
to the river. South of Dromore, on the road towards Ban- 
bridge, is a square tower, now in a state of dilapidation. 
The market place is surrounded by neat white houses ; the 
market and fairs are brisk, and there is much traffic, both 
in linens and provisions. The bones of a large animal, 
together with fossil horns of the mouse deer, measuring 
14 feet 6 inches, were dug up here in 1783, and are now to 
be seen in the bishop's palace. 

Pop. 1942. Market Day: Saturday. Fairs: Feb, 2, 
Mar. 7, May 12, July 28, August 1, Oct 10, and Dec 12. 

HILLSBOROUGH, in Down, is a beautiful modern 
town, built on the face of a hill ascending to the south. It 
is named after the Hill family, and it must be confessed 
that the handsome new buildings, the grand plantations of 
trees, and the general agricultural improvement of the 
finely-cultivated environs, owe much of their beauty to the 
Marquess of Downshire. The church is an elegant build- 
ing, and is adorned with painted windows. It has an 
organ, a monument by Nollekens in memory of Arch- 
deacon Leslie, and a ring of nine bells: a fine avenue 
conducts from the road to the church door. There is a 
Roman Catholic chapel, and meeting houses, at a short 
distance from town, besides schools, and a dispensary. In 
Hillsborough castle it has been customary to form a deposit 
of arms. At the top of the hill is a handsome inn ; and 
adjoining it is the elegant market house, to the left of 
which is the gate of the Marquess of Downshire* s park. 
His castle and woods are well worthy of inspection. 



2OT No. SO. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 

Amidst the groves are numerous nests of cranes and 
rooks. The farmers and weavers in this district are in- 
dustrious and intelligent, and receive great encouragement 
from the resident landlords. The villas of the gentry are 
charming, and the white-washed cottages of the farmers of 
Down assimilate in their neat exterior with those seen in 
the best parts of Scotland, whence Abe ancestors of a large 
portion of the people in the north of Ireland were imported 
by the Scottish planters. The Maze Course is seen from 
the road, two miles north of Hillsborough. 

J*9p. 1*53. MarkttDay: Wednesday. Fairs: on the 
third Wednesday in Feb., May, Aug., and Nov. Inn: 
the Corporation Arms. 

LISBURN, in Antrim, is a well-built market and post 
tpwn, situated Upon the Lagan. It is a borough, re- 
turning a member to. Parliament. The damask manufactory 
(Messrs. Coulson's) is unrivalled. It is from this cele- 
brated house that the different emperors and kings of 
Europe have been supplied with this surpassing fabric. 
The nobility of Great Britain, generally,, patronize it The 
proprietors of the establishment (than which there is not 
one more worthy of inspection X are most polite in conduct- 
ing visitors through it, and explaining all the intricacies of 
the &r-famed machinery. The cambrics, muslins, and 
linens of the town. are. of excellent, quality, and highly 
celebrated* The market place is spacious, and the markets 
are well provided; the market house occupies an angle 
near the church, and the county infirmary is in Castle 
Street. The church at Lisburn has a large square tower, 
with a tapering spire ; it serves for a cathedral of the see 
of Down and Connor. Lisburn has also a linen-hall, a 
Catholic chapel, and several meeting houses and schools* 
A new corn market has been erected at the extremity of the 



No. 30. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 408 

town, on the Dublin road, and there is an extensive trade 
in corn. The dark red houses are generally well-built, and 
many of them are spacious. In the street descending to the 
bridge buik on the south side of Lisburn, are the gardens of 
the noble proprietor: the manorial house stands also in 
this street The fostering patronage of the tenantry by the 
Hertford family has greatly contributed to the embellish- 
ment of this fine town, and the prosperity of all the adja* 
cent district. : • 

The old town of Lfaugatvey was accidentally burnt, and 
Lisburn has risen on its site. The banks dfHhe Lagan 
river are picturesque, and its winding valley is fertile, and 
much adorned; the elegant residences, the hedge-rows, the 
raised footpaths, and numeroasrwoods and copses, the usual 
accompaniments of commercial -wealth, render Down; as 
well as many parts of Antrim, a country which might rival 
the well-cultivated counties of- the sister island. A long 
range of hills of great heigh* is seen to the north, skirting 
the level road, with a continuous summit, which extends to 
Belfast, and encircles the basin occupied by that great- 
town. The richt bleach-greens of Lfeburn and of Lafobeg, 
a pleasant village, with a pretty church beyond it on *he> 
Belfast side, together with the .mansions of dptilent linen* 
merchants, here' attract attention. L&mbeg haa also an' 
extensive manufacture of yar-ioUs' kinds' of paper, and* 
blankets have long been made in the neighbourhood. Lis- 
burn school is a celebrated establishment, and has long 
been frequented by the sons of the principal g^nfIemeri : of 
the neighbouring 'countieri.' In the vicinity is Ballydrain, 
a pleasant house, near a smail.lakef the Giartfs Rhg is an 
interesting Druidical monument, and- near it is- a round 
tower. . Pop. 5218. [ - Market Day : Tuesday. r Fair*: July 21 , 
and Oct 5. Itm* : the Hertford Arms ; and the King's Arms. '- 



204 No. 30. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 

Three miles from Lisburo, on the left, is the beautiful 
village of Dunmurry, where there are extensive flour and 
beetling mills. The neighbourhood is so richly studded 
with seats and improvements, as to present a rare and 
delightful prospect. 

BELFAST is a sea-port and post town of Antrim, 
situated near the entrance of the Lagan into Carrickfergus 
Lough. From its commerce and enterprise, this opulent 
town is generally called the Liverpool of Ireland. Its 
tonnage in shipping exceeds all others in Ireland, and 
since the opening of the trade to China and India, it 
has built and chartered several very fine ships for that 
destination. In 1800 it consisted of 3053 houses, and in 
1831 it contained 7750: its commerce and manufactures 
increase in proportion. Its spinning mills alone employ 
6000 persons, and the magnificent establishment of Messrs. 
Mulholland is well worthy of a visit The assembly rooms, 
the commercial buildings, where strangers are liberally 
permitted to read without any expense for eight days ; the 
linen hall, with an enclosed area, and an agreeable garden, 
which has an extensive library attached to it ; the academi- 
cal institution ; the splendid ranges of private edifices ; the 
new additions to the town, on an extensive and elegant 
scale ; are all evidences of the rapid progress which Belfast 
is making, as one of the principal seats of trade, manufac- 
tures, and learning, in this kingdom. The custom house- 
is on the quay, at the extremity of High Street; and the 
excise office is situated in Donegal Square. The govern- 
ment of the town is vested in the sovereign and twelve 
burgesses ; the resident magistrates attend daily to all 
business reported from the police office, in Rosemary 
Street, and the commissioners of police have also an office 
in Donegal Street The proprietor of Belfast is the Mar- 



No. 30. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 205 

quess of Donegal, who is Lord of the Cattle, of which he 
appoints a constable. His son has the title of Earl of 
Belfast The tenures are granted at the old rents, for long 
periods of time, by the levy of fines, a system which, 
although it depresses the rent-roll, is a great encourage- 
ment to the merchants and the speculators, in the mag- 
nificent enlargements of the town. 

The principal church is St. Anne's, in Donegal Street, in 
which is situated a well-regulated post office. There are 
also several meeting houses, a Quakers' and a Methodist 
meeting. At the rise of a gentle hill, forming the extremity 
of Donegal Street, is a newly-erected Catholic chapel. 
The Roman Catholic bishop resides in the town. Beyond 
this chapel is seen the asylum, a convenient building, with 
every advantage for the health, exercise, and comfort of 
aged men and women, and orphans. Belfast also possesses 
a fever hospital, a dispensary, a house of industry, and a 
house of correction, the front of which is 236 feet, adjoin- 
ing Henrietta Street. A chamber of commerce promotes 
the welfare of the mercantile interests; the exchange, 
built in 1770, by the Marquess of Donegal, stands at the 
angle of Donegal Street and North Street; above it is an 
assembly room, 60 feet in length. The north quay, extend- 
ing along the Carrickfergus shore, is bordered by good 
warehouses ; ships of 500 tons can lie alongside of it, and 
a crowd of vessels bound to London, Glasgow, New York, 
Liverpool, and of colliers for the supply of fuel from 
Greenock, and other Scottish ports, adds much to the 
variety and interest of this bustling scene. The most to 
be lamented of all exports, that of a manly, active, and 
enterprising body of emigrants, who quit Belfast every 
season for the United States, or for the British States of 

T 



206 No. 30. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 

North America, creates a constant supply of large, well- 
equipped passage ships. 

The advantage of the various hnen halls, the success of 
ite beneficial manufactures, and the spirit of the merchants 
generally, are evinced by the amount and nature of its ex- 
ports ; the provision trade in beef, pork, butter, &c, is 
considerable. The markets of Belfast are extensive, and 
are furnished with excellent meat and vegetables: the 
supply of turkeys is considerable ; of fish, mackarel are 
scarce, but salmon^ rock-cod, soles, brills, and other excel- 
lent fish, are plentiful. Wheaten bread here supplies the 
place of the dry sweet oat-cake, which in the north of 
Ireland, is the chief addition to potatoes, as the food of the 
labourer. 

The streets and squares of Belfast are of brick, and are 
well built, with copings, areas, iron railings, and all the 
accompaniments of the best style of town- buildings:. 
Donegal Place is wide and uniform:' Five newspapers are. 
printed at Belfast, and many useful and scientific works* 
are also occasionally published here. ■ The professors of the. 
academical institution, where the Irish Presbyterian clergy 
are educated, are men of talent, well qualified to forward the 
interests of this flourishing college. The physicians of 
Belfast are also eminent, both for their professional and 
their literary acquirements. At a short distance from the 
town is an extensive botanical garden. There are four 
banks in Belfast ; the Belfast banking company, and the 
Northern banking company, having each a capital of 
500,000/. ; also a branch of the Bank of Ireland, and one 
of the Provincial bank. 

It is beyond our limits to enumerate all the institutions, ' 
Sunday schools, charitable foundations, meeting houses, and 



No. 30. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 207 

the numerous seats of the resident gentry, whose orna- 
mental grounds give -the appearance of a continued park to 
the northern and other outlets of the town: its mechanics' 
institution, and Brown Street school, must not be forgotten. 
The dark impending mountains, which cast their long sha- 
dows oyer the shore of 'Belfast Bay, seem to limit the 
prospect from the town ; but as their sides are cultivated, 
and exhibit large mills, fine mansions, greens covered 
with linens, aud long plantations, they have of themselves 
a compensating interest. 

The suburb of BaUymacarret is entirely in the county of 
Down, and has a population -of 5168; it is separated from 
Belfast by the river Lagan, across which is the long 
bridge. 

About a .mile from Belfast, near the road to Antrim, is 
Devi* Mountain, [1550 feet] ; the summit of which is about 
four miles distant A mile beyond it is Cave Bill, 11 01 
feet high, surmounted by a mound, called M'Art's Fort, 
whence there is a noble view, embracing the lough of Bel- 
fast, Carrickfergus castle, and the town of Belfast ; whilst 
on the opposite side are seen the shore of Bangor, and* the 
hills of Down, the highest of which, Sliebh Donard, is 2810 
feet 

Steam boats ply regularly to Glasgow, London, Liver- 
pool, and Dublin. The borough of Belfast returns two 
members to Parliament 

Pop. 53,287; exclusive of a detachment of infantry, who 
have commodious barracks. Market Day : Friday. Fairs : 
August 12, and Nov. 8. Inns: Kern's Royal Hotel, Do- 
negal tlace; Sloane's; Commercial Hotel, Donegal Street; 
the Donegal Arms, in Castle Street; Campbell's; and 
Linn's, or the White Cross, in Castle Street 



208 



No. 31. From Dublin to BELFAST. Second Roar*. 
Through A«hborne, Drogheda, and Lisa urn. 

Dublin Castie to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Finglass* 3 Banbridge*, as at No. 1 604 

Ashbourne 12 Belfast*, as at No. 30 80 

Drogheda* 334 



No. 32. From Dublin to BELFAST. Third Road. 
Through Newry, Rathfriland, and Down Patrick. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Newry*,asatNo.l 604 Killyleagh 80 

Rathfriland ©74 Cross B*ads of Kfllinchy. •• • 844 

CastleweUan 66 Comber 89 

Clough 69 Belfast* 96 

Downpatrick 74 

RATHFRILAND, in Down, is a conspicuous town, 
seated on an eminence, on which four cross roads meet. 
It has a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, meeting 
houses, schools, and a dispensary. Here also are the old 
walls of the castle, built by the Magennis family, lords of 
Iveagh. Near four miles beyond the town is a lough, and 
a mansion of Lord Downshire's, called Bally money. The 
spa at Turkellyswell, two miles distant, is a chalybeate, 
used in scrofulous complaints. The river Bann, with the 
fine bleach-greens on its banks, is seen winding through 
the valley south of Rathfriland. Pop. 2001. Market Lay : 
Wednesday. Fairs ; Third Wednesday in February, April, 
O.S., September, the Wednesday after Trinity Sunday, the 
third Wednesday in July, and last in Nov. O.S. There is 
a good inn. 



No. 32. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 209 

CASTLE WELL AN, a market and post town in Down, 
with a good market house, surmounted by an elegant belfry. 
Here are two meeting houses and a dispensary. The church 
is at Kilmegan, nearly two miles distant, At Castlewellan 
are some fine bleach-greens, . and the linen manufacture 
flourishes in this vicinity. All this part of Down exhibits 
good finger-posts, directing to each town and village. 

Seat ; The Earl of Annesley' s richly-planted demesne and 
gardens close to a fine lake. On the coast, and three miles 
north of Castlewellan, is the very finely-situated village of 
Newcastle, much frequented as a watering place in summer. 
Jt is the property of Earl Annesley, who has expended a 
large sum in its improvement, and has built a good inn. 
His lordship has, also erected a lodge for his occasional 
residence, under. SJieve Donard Mountain. It may be 
classed among the most romantic seats in Ireland. There 
is also a church in the .village, built and supported by Lord 
Annesley. 

Pep. 729. Market Day: Monday, Fairs: Feb. 1, 
May 1, June 1, Sept 1, Nov, 13, and the Tuesday before 
Christmas. 

C LOUGH is a post town in Down.. The old castle is in 
ruins ; it was built on an. artificial mount, and has a deep 
surrounding moat At about an English mile to the left is 
seen the neat village, of Seaforde, the property of Colonel 
Forde, formerly one of the representatives of the county, 
whose fine seat is close beside it . 

Seat : Mount Panther ; this fine mansion is to the right 
ofClough. 

. DOWN, or DQWNPATRJCK, the county town of 

Down, is interesting, both from, its antiquities, and from 

its situation on the southern branch of Lough Strangford. 

This city derive* its , name from St, Patrick, who here 

t 3 



2tO No. 31 DUBLIN TO BELFAST: 

founded a celebrated abbey, in which he was interred, A* d. 
493 ; St Columb and St. Bridget were also buried here; 
The great Boone, or elevated rath, north of Downpatrick, 
is surrounded by three ramparts and terraces : its circum- 
ference is 2100 feet, and its height sixty feet; the tra- 
dition is, that a palace was built upon it Adjoining the 
abbey stood the round tower, which was sixty feet high, 
and forty-two in circumference; it was taken down in 1790, 
and beneath it appeared the foundation of some former 
stone building. The west end of the cathedral was en- 
larged on the removal of this tower: in the niches over the 
east window, it is said, were once placed statues of the three 
great saints buried here. This ancient edifice, which mea- 
sures one hundred and ten feet in length, is on the side of 
the hill, and contains some large and curious pillars. It 
was in the burying-ground of this cathedral that the 
nephew b of the bold De Courcy were killed, and himself 
betrayed, notwithstanding his slaughtering arm, in the 
reign of King John. The building was defaced by Lord 
Grey, in 1538, but since repaired by Dean Daniel. Con- 
nor was united with the see of Down in 1442. The 
town hall is elegant and commodious ; adjoining is the large 
house, called the hotel, built by the nobility and gentry of 
the county, who hold their meetings here during the assizes - 
and races, in which also is a ball room and grand jury room. 
Near it are the gaol, barracks, and school house ; also the 
church, rebuilt in 1735; the Roman Catholic chapel, a 
market house, a handsome hospital, endowed by the De 
Clifford family ; several schools, a public library, a county 
infirmary, a fever hospital, meeting houses, and chapels. 
There are four principal streets. 

In Init Courcy are the ruins of an abbey, near to Coil- 
bridge; the Quoil Quay is the port to this town, distant' 



,\ 



tto.32. DUBLIN TO BELFAST. 21 f 

nearly a mile. The land is rich and fertile, and the lough 
extremely beautiful, with some charming islands, well grown 
with wood. About a mile from the town is a good race- 
course. St Patrick's well is greatly frequented as a holy 
well. Near Struel, a mile from the town, are the ruins of 
the abbey of Saul, founded by St Patrick. The borough 
returns a member to Parliament 

Seats : Ballydugan House, and Holly mount. 

Pop. 4784. Market Day: Saturday. Fairs: second 
Thursday in Jan. Mar. 17, May 19, June 22, Oct. 29, 
and Nov. 19. Inns: the Downshire Arms; the Savage 
Arms ; and the Hope and Anchor. 

KILLYLEIGH is a post town of Down, built on a 
height clo3e to Lough Strangford. It has a handsome 
church, a Presbyterian chapel, barracks for the militia 
of this county, a large market-house, and a cotton factory ; 
and the linen trade is considerable. Killyleigh Castle, the 
seat of the family of Hamilton, is an ancient and splendid 
mansion, surrounded by some large trees. This family has 
long flourished here ; part of this town is the property of 
Viscount Dufferin. It was the birth-place of Sir Hans 
Sloane, the celebrated physician and naturalist. Pop. 1147. 

KILLINCHY, in Down, has a good parish church 
and parsonage. It is seated on a high hill, and is but a 
small village. Russell's inn furnishes good entertainment, 
and there is a fine prospect of the surrounding country. 
Pop. 199. 

COMBER is a flourishing post town in Down, situated 
near Lough Strangford. It has a church, meeting houses, 
a house of industry, flour mills, brewhouse, school houses, 
and a farming society, which, has done much to improve the 
district The linen manufacture is carried on here. The 
square and principal street have a respectable appearance, . 



212 No. 38. DUBLIN TO PARSONSTOWN. 

bet the outskirts consist of poor cottages. The old castle 
of Mount Alexander was the seat of the earls of that name. 
The abbey of Comber was built and endowed in 1199, by 
an ancestor of the O'Neils. This place is the property of 
the Marquess of Londonderry. 

Pop, 1377. Fairs : Jan. 5 and 15, April 7, June 30, 
and Oct. 20. 



No. 83. From Dublin to BIRR, or PARSONSTOWN. 
Through Maynooth, Philipstoww, «nd Eglish. 

DuMn Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Ballinagar*, as at No. 100- •• • 41 Frankfbrd 66 

KUleagh. 46 Eglish 615 

Mountbolus.. 53£ Parsonstown. 65 

MOUNTBOLUS is in King's County. Four miles 
from it, on the Killeigh road, is the church of Killurn. A 
mile before arriving at Mountbolus, is a Lough, one mile 
in length, on the Bank of which is the mansion of Mount 
Pleasant. Within half a mile of Mountbolus is Rothrobme, 
a good residence, and an ancient castle. . 

FRANKFORD is a market and post town in King's 
County,, situated on the Silver river, issuing from Lough 
Anna* in the barony of Ballyboy: Killinanij Castle is an 
ancient ruin on the shore of Lough Anna. This water 
divides . the King's and Queen's counties. This is a ro- 
mantic district .There is a handsome Roman Catholic 
chapel, a dispensary, and a modern church and school. A, 
mile beyond Frankfbrd is Brvghill Castle, 

Pop. 1112. Market-day : Saturday. Fairs : May 28, 
and Nov. 8. Inn: Delany's. 



No. 33. DUBLIN: TO PARSONSTOWN. 213 

EGLISH. Here is a handsome seat near the Church, 
and at Castle Eglish is a fine bleach-green. Eglish is a 
barony of King's County ; it is sequestered, and thinly 
peopled. 

PARSONSTOWN, a market and post town, near the 
verge of King's County, named after the family of 
Parsons, settled here. The Earl of Rosse is the proprietor 
of the town, and has an excellent castellated residence, Birr 
Castle, adjoining it Parsonstown is a commodious mo* 
dern-buUt town, with regular streets ; in Duke's square, 
on a Doric column 25 feet high, is a statue of the late Duke 
of Cumberland. The principal buildings are, the church, a 
handsome modern Gothic edifice, the Roman Catholic 
chapel, in the same style of architecture, the gaol, and the 
market house. There are also two Methodist chapels, 
several meeting houses, a fever hospital and dispensary* 
and schools. The castle of the Parsons family was once 
besieged by the celebrated General Sarsfield ; it has been 
recently improved from designs by Mr. Johnston, and is 
now a commodious residence. There are some other strong 
fortresses, now dilapidated, in this neighbourhood, particu- 
larly Leap Castle and Cangor Castle, At Parsonstown the 
roads to Burrisakane and Shannon Bridge cross the Birr 
River, and enter Tipperary. There are two distilleries 
and two breweries, and extensive barracks are situated 
about one mile from the town. 

Pop. 6594. Market-day: Saturday. Fairs: Feb. 11, 
May 5, Aug. 25, and Dec. 10. Inns : The King's Arms, 
and Parson's Arms. 

Seat : Syngefield, a beautiful house, near the river side, 
one mile from Birr. 



214 

No. 34. From Dublin to BRAY. First Road, 
Through Monkstown and Shanoanagh. 

Dublin Cattle to Mile*. Dublin Cattle to Milt*. 

Blackrock* 4 Shaaganagh* » 

Monkstown 6i Braj* 11 

Killiney 8 

Between Blackrock and Monkstown is Montpelier Castle, 
•unrounded by. pleasing grounds. 

MONKSTOWN, in the county of Dublin. The church 
» a fine building, of the Gothic style, rebuilt in 1833, and 
baa a fine organ. It belongs to the united parishes of 
Monkstown, Dalkey, and Killiney. Here is a fine seat, 
formerly belonging to Lord Ranelagh ; also a mansion, 
which was built on the site of a monastery, whence the 
name of Monkstown. Pop. 2029. 



No. 35. From Dublin to BRAY. Second Road. 
Through Blackrock, Rochestown, and Killiney. 

DubUn Cattle to Miles. Dublin CatOe to Mikr 

Blackrock* 4 Killiney*. 8 

Kill**.-* • •••• 6 Shanganagh*. 9 

Rochestown. ••• 7 B*ay 11 

ROCHESTOWN, in the county of Dublin, has an 
obelisk, which was erected by the late J. Mapas, Esq. In 
the neighbourhood is Sea Point. Half a mile from Roches- 
town is the village of Cabinteely, surrounded by some fin*, 
mansions. 



H15 

No. 36. From Dublin to BULLOCK. Through Blac*- 
rock and Monkstown. 

Dublin Castle to Mile*. Jtoblin Casti* to Milt*. 

Blackrock* 4 Bullock. H 

Monkatown* 5* 

BULLOCK is a sea-bathing village, of the county of 
Dublin, and is much frequented in summer* On the cliff 
is a very ancient and picturesque castle ; and in a delight- 
ful glen was lately to be seen a rocking-stone, or cromlech, 
supposed to have been placed in its position by Druids. 



No. 37. From Dublin to BORIUS-O-LEIGH. 
Through Kildare and Maryborough. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Roscrea* as at No. & 59$ Borris-o Leigh. 78* 

Templemore. 68 

TEMPLE MORE is a beautiful market and post town, 
in the county of Tipperary, which is highly celebrated for 
its rich harvests. The neighbourhood of Templemore i*. 
particularly fertile and delightful. Templemore church 
has an elegant spire, a fine organ, and a painted window, 
the subject of which is The Crucifixion. Here is a capital-' 
glebe of twenty acres, a good parsonage-house And gardens*; 
The school-house has a square tower ; it is on Erasmus 
Smyth's foundation, and 200 children are taught in it. The 
market-house, in which the petty sessions are held* is a 
conspicuous ornament to this town, and the barracks art 
commodious. Here also is a ball-room and a news-room* 



216 No. 38. DUBLIN TO CALEDON. 

Pop. 2936. Market-days : Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fain: Jan. SO, March 30, May 17, June 28, July 30, Sep. 
3, Oct. 21, and Dec. 7. Inn : The King's Arms. 

Seat : The Priory, the delightful mansion of Sir Henry 
Carden, Bart, the owner of Templemore, is one mile from 
the town ; there are also many pleasant houses of opulent 
gentlemen in the neighbourhood. 

BORRIS-O-LEIGH is a post-town in Tipperary, in the 
mountainous barony of Glankeen. The feeding of cattle 
forms the chief employment of the inhabitants of these 
rugged hills. Hence a road conducts to Silvermines. On 
the. road to Nenagh, which is ten miles and three-quarters 
distant, are the ruins of Latragh Castle, about four miles 
from Borris-o- Leigh. 

Pop. 1304. Fairs: June 9, Aug. 6, and Nov. 27. 



No. 38. From Dublin to CALEDON. Through Ar- 
dee, Ready, and Tynan. 

Dublin Castle to Miles, Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Drogheda* as at No. 1. 23* Tynan 66 

CartleBIayney* asatNo. 7-.. «1* Caledon <JG$ 

Keady*. «* 

TYNAN is a small post town in the county of Armagh, 
having a handsome church and spire. In the churchyard 
is a curious stone. Near this stands the fine seat of Sir 
James Stronge, Bart. Pop. 248. 

CALEDON, in Tyrone, is a post town, built near the 
Blackwater river. Fairs are held at Caledon almost every 
month. This is a remarkably neat town, with an excellent 



No. 39. DUBLIN TO CARLINGFORD. 217 

inn. Its noble proprietor, Lord Caledon, has built a 
market house and well constructed shambles : he has also 
built, at great expense, very extensive flour mills upon 
the most approved principle. There are only a few houses 
where whisky is allowed for sale in the town. On the 
whole, for so small a town, it impresses one with an idea of 
the comfort of the inhabitants, and the judicious care of 
its noble resident proprietor. Pop, 1079. Fairs : Second 
Saturday, monthly. Inn : Taylors. 

Seats : Caledon House, a fine mansion and demesne, the 
property of the Earl of Caledon. 



No. 39. From Dublin to CARLINGFORD. Through 
Droqheda, Castle Bellinoham, and Dundalk. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin CasOe to Mites. 
.Dundalk, as at No. I..--.-* 40} CarUngfard 62* 

Beyond Dundalk the traveller crosses the river Flurry, 
which abounds with trout and salmon. 

CARLINGFORD is a market and post town, in the 
county of Louth, situated on a bay three miles in length. 
The interior of the harbour is commodious and safe, but 
the entrance is rather dangerous, from rocks in the mid 
passage. The fishery is considerable, and the oysters of 
the bay are much esteemed. This town is not large, but 
was an Irish borough previous to the Union ; its govern- 
ment is in a sovereign. It has an ancient church, a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a dispensary, and some antique ruins. 
On the south side of the town is a monastery, founded by 
De Burgh, Earl of Ulster, in the beginning of the 14th 
century ; it was granted in perpetuity to Nicholas Bagnel, 
without any quit rent reserved; it is quite in a ruinous 
condition. 

v 



218 No. 40. DUBLIN TO CARLOW 

Carlingford Castle, built in 1210, by King John, occupies 
a bold and commanding site, on a rock projecting into the 
harbour; the remaining walls are of surprising solidity, 
being 11 feet thick. There are many vestiges of castellated 
dwellings throughout the headland on which Carlingford is 
built: this was a post of so much importance in early ages, 
that the passage of this water was everywhere defended by 
forts and towers from the inroads of the northern tribes. The 
fastnesses of the mountainous districts assisted in the 
defence of the English Pale, and the first settlers maintained 
their acquisitions by the sword and embattled dwellings. 
There are many foundations and walls of these strong 
buildings on the rocky promontory terminating in Cooly 
Point, and also some raths of the earlier inhabitants. 
A burial ground and old chapel crown the top of the hill 
near the town. The Carlingford range skirts the north 
shores of Dundalk bay, and presents a magnificent barrier, 
visible to a great distance from the Dublin road. These 
elevated mountains obscure the town so much, that the sun 
is hid at an early hour of the evening ; but the prospect 
eastward is unimpeded, so that the Isle of Man is oc- 
casionally seen in fine weather. The Mourne mountains 
across the harbour are equally majestic. Carlingford gives 
the title of Viscount to the family of Carpenter. 

Pop. 1319. Market day: Saturday. Fair: Oct 10. 



No. 40. From Dublin to CARLOW. Through Rath- 
coole, Naas, and Castledermot. 

Maes. 
Dublin to Carlow, as at No. 27- 39 



219 

No. 41. From Dublin to CARNEW. Through 
Rathdrum. 

Dublin Caste to Mile*. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Aghrim*, aaatNo. 206.... 32 Camew 44 

Tinnahely* 38 

CARNEW is a village and post station, in the county 
of Wicklow. Near it are some fine ruins of a castle. Two 
miles farther the Tinnahely joins its rapid stream with the 
Derry. Near this is the village of Shilelagh, which, 
with the barony, receives name from the ancient oak 
forest of this district Shilelagh is forty-five miles from 
Dublin, by a road through Tinnahely. The mountainous 
tracts of the baronies of Balinacor and Talbotstown are 
supposed to contain many mineral veins. 

Pop. 826. Fairs: Feb. 15, April 1, July 1, second 
Thursday in August, Oct 1, Nov. 19, and Dec. 22. 



No. 42. From Dublin to CARRICK on SHANNON. 
Through Mullingar, Longford, and Rusky 
Bridge. 

DubUn Caste to Milts. Dublin Caste to Miles. 

Kinnegad*, as at No. 98. • • 29J Carrick on Shannon*, as at 

No. 185 77 



No. 43. From Dublin to CARRICK on SUIR. First 
Road. Through Naas, Castle Dermot, and 
Gowran. 

Dublin Caste to Miles. Dublin Caste to Miles. 

Lefgfalin Bridge*, as at No. 27. 45 Carrfckon6uir*,asatNo.83. 74ft 



220 



No. 44. From Dublin to CARRICK-on-SUlR. Second 
Road. Through Naas, Athy, and Kilkenny. 

DuWnOutkio Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

KUciiUen*, watNo.27. -••• SI Kella 6\i 

Athy 32k Kflmagany* 67 

Castle Comer 45* Carrick-on-Suir* 74* 

Kilkenny* 65 

ATHY is a market and post town in Kildare, on the 
river Barrow, and is governed by a sovereign and bailiffs. 
Passage boats arrive at Athy daily, by the grand canal. 
The church was built in 1740. Here likewise is a county 
court house, with a gaol, the assizes being held here and 
at Naas alternately, and a handsome and spacious market 
house. There is also a Roman Catholic chapel, a Quaker's 
meeting house, a school and dispensary. The remains of 
Woodstock Castle and some monasteries are seen in the 
town. The Crutched friary was founded in the reign of 
John, and the Dominican friary, which stood east of the 
bridge, in 1253. The town is the property of the Duke of 
Leinster. 

On the brow of a hill three miles from Atby, on the 
Kilcullen road, is seen the Moat of Jrdskull, where the 
Scots, under Edward, the brother of Robert Bruce, ob- 
tained a victory in 1315. At Rheban, two miles distant, 
is a square entrenched mound; and there are several 
large raths in this neighbourhood. 

Above six miles beyond Athy is seen New Castle, in 
ruins, and three miles farther, Doonane coalpits. 

Pop. 4494. Market day: Tuesday. Fairs: March 17, 
April 25, June 9, July 25, Oct 10, and Dec. 11. Inn: 
The Leinster Arms. 

CASTLE COMER is a market and post town in 
Kilkenny. This town was partly burnt in 1798, and was 



No. 45. DUBLIN TO CASHEL. 221 

a scene of action during the rebellion. The pits of Kil- 
kenny coal at this place belong to the Hon. C. H. Butler 
Wandesford, and in the vicinity is his fine mansion, 
formerly the residence of Lady Ormond, surrounded by 
magnificent woods. The public buildings are the market 
house, a handsome church and steeple, a Roman Catholic 
chapel, an infirmary, extensive barracks, and a dispensary. 
Here is a court for the recovery of small debts, a savings 
bank, and a loan fund. This is a great market for butter 
and coals. In Castle Comer there is a respectable academy 
for young gentlemen. 

Pop. 2436. Market days: Tuesday, for butter, and 
Saturday, general. Fairs: March 27, May 3, June 21, 
Aug. 21, Sept 25, Oct. 28, and Dec. 14. Inn: the Wan- 
desford Inn. 

KELLS, in Kilkenny, is a pretty town, and was for- 
merly of much importance. The priory, of which vestiges 
still exist, was founded in the reign of Richard I. ; the 
prior of Kells, sat in the Irish house of peers previous to 
the Reformation. Pop. 482. Fair : July 13. 



No. 45. From Dublin to CASHEL. Through New- 
bridge, Maryborough, and Urlingford. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin CasUe to Miles. 
Maryborough*, as at No. 3. 40 Cashel* a* at No. 54. 76* 



u 3 



222 



No. 46. From Dublin to CASTLEBLANEY. Through 
Slane, Ardee, and Carrickmacross. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Slane*, as at No. 157. 24 Laggan Bridge 38* 

Orange Forteacue* 274 Carrickmacross* 42i 

Ardea* 33 Castleblaney* 51 

Clonkeen- 36 

Except for the intercourse of the inhabitants of these 
places, this road is seldom travelled. 



No. 47. From Dublin to CASTLE LAGHAN. Through 
Lanesborough, Ballaghy, and Belleek. 

Dublin Castle to Mdes. Dublin CasOe to Miles. 

Kinnegad*, as at No. 98. •• 29* Killala* as at No. 122. ••• • 127 
MuUingar* >■ 38* Castle Laghan 132* 

CASTLE LAGHAN is in a romantic and pleasant 
situation, near a haven on the coast of Mayo. Fair : Whit- 
Monday. 

On the road from Killala are the ruins of several mo- 
nasteries, and of Rathbran Abbey. At Castle Laghan is 
a fine villa of the Palmer family, and in the neighbourhood 
are several gentlemen's houses. Beyond the town, near 
the headland of Downpatrick, distant several miles, there 
is in the cliffs a fine arch, formed by the beating of the 
surge. Here also are vestiges of fortifications. 



223 

No. 48. From Dublin to CASTLE- MARTYR. First 
Road. Through Clonmel, Cafpoquin, Lismore, and 
Tallow. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Clonmel* m at No. 97 81| Aghadoe llli 

Tallow*, as at No. 68. .... 104i Killeagh 112 

Mount Uniacke 109 J Castle-Martyr 1141 

Castletown. •••••• 110 * 

CASTLETOWN, in Cork. Here and at Mount Uniacke 
are the seats of the Uniacke family. Pop, 314. Fairs : 
Jan. 1, Easter Tuesday, May 12, and Sept. 4. 

KILLEAGH, is a post town in the county of Cork. 
Pop. 698. Fairs : June 13, and Nov. 12. 

CASTLE- MARTYR, a post town in Cork, is a dis- 
franchised borough. It gives the title of Baron to the 
Boyle family. The Earl of Shannon has a magnificent 
seat here, with excellent gardens and green-house. An 
ancient castle is seen amidst the trees of the demesne. 
Castle- Martyr has a good charter school, founded by this 
noble family, a spinning school, a well-built and handsome 
church, and an alms house. Its manufactures are con- 
siderable. A canal nearly surrounds the town. 

Pop. 830. Market day : Saturday. Fairs : May 2, and 
Oct. 2. Inn : the Royal Hibernian Hotel. 



No. 49. From Dublin to CASTLE-MARTYR. Second 
Road. Through Clonmel, and Clooheen. 

Dublin Castte to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Fermoy*, as at No. 27. ••••108 Castle-Martyr* 123} 

Castle-Lyons Ill 

CASTLE-LYONS, a post town anciently named Castle 
Lehan, is a well-built market town of Cork, situated in the 



224 No. 50. DUBLIN TO CASTLE POLLARD. 

fertile vale on the banks of the Bride. The abbey founded 
here in 1307 is in ruins. The castle of the O'Lehans is 
demolished, and on its site is the antiquated mansion of 
the Barrymore family. David, the first Lord Barrymore, 
received the possessions of the abbey from the hands of 
his father-in-law, the Earl of Cork. The church is a 
handsome edifice, and in the churchyard is a marble statue 
of James, Earl of Barrymore, a distinguished nobleman of 
the time of Queen Anne. There is also a free school ; and 
half a mile distant is a Roman Catholic chapel. There is 
a considerable linen manufacture carried on here. 

Pop. 689. Fair* ; Jan. 1, Easter Tuesday, Whit-Monday, 
Aug. 28, Sept 29, and Nov. 16. 



No. 50. From Dublin to CASTLE POLLARD. 
Through Trim, Castletown Delvin, and May- 
pole. 

Dublin Castle to MOet. Dublin Cattle to MOet. 

Trim*, as at No. 186. S2| Maypole 47 

Castletown DeMn 35} Castle Pollard 49 

CASTLETOWN DELVIN is a post town of West- 
meath, having an ancient castle ruin and a moat ; a church, 
a Roman Catholic chapel, a market house, and a dispen- 
sary. The townlands in this vicinity are fertile and the 
crops productive and luxuriant Near Castletown Delvin 
is Clonyn, the seat of the Marquis of Westmeath. 

Pop. 419. Fairs: May 1, Aug. 1, and Dec. 1. 

CASTLE POLLARD is a small post town of West- 
meath. A mile from it is the fine seat of Lord Longford ( 
called Packenkom Hall, the family name of his lordship 
being Packenham. 



No. 53. DUBLIN TO CHARLEMONT. 225 

Pop. 1618. Fairs: May 21, Aug. 1, Oct 10, and 
Dec. 10. 

. Two miles from Castle Pollard is FOWRE, an ancient 
borough, famous, according to the popular tradition of the 
county, as a seat of learning. Here is Lough Lane, or 
Lene, with an island in it of some celebrity. Fairs : Jan. 
30, April 30, and August 24. 



No. 51. From Dublin to CAVAN. First Road. 
Through Dunshaughlin, Navan, and Kells. 

Mttes. 

Dublin to Cavan», as at No. 80 *4 



No. 52. From Dublin to CAVAN. Second Road. 
Through Trim, Athboy, and Ballinanaght. 

Dublin CastU to Miles. Dublin Castle to Mite 
Ballinanaght*, aa at No. 186. 54J Cavan* i 



No. 53. From Dublin to CHARLEMONT. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Dnndalk*, at at No. 1. 401 Rich-hill* 62* 

Hamilton's Bawn*, as at Loughgall 66 

No. 158. 60* Cnarlemont* 69* 

LOUGHGALL is a pleasing village and post town in 
the county of Armagh, having a well-built church. Two 
miles beyond it is the mansion of Summer Island ; cross the 
Callan river by a bridge on the road to Charlemont. 



226 No. 54. DUBLIN TO CHARLEVILLE. 

Pop. 325. Fairs : on Ascension-day, June 19, July 1, 
Sep. 4, and Dec. 29. 

CHARLEMONT, as at No. 61, is 68£ miles. To 
Charlemont by Rich-hill, the road is half a mile nearer 
than by Loughgall. 



No. 54. From Dublin to CHARLEVILLE. Through 
Kildaee, Maryborough, and Cashel. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Maryborough*, as at No. 3. • • 40 Thomastovn 81% 

Ballyroan 44} Tipperary 86f 

Durrow 51! Ballymanlagh 91t 

Urlingford 61} Knocklong 97* 

Ballymoreen 681 Kilmallock 103* 

Caehel 76} CharleYille 108 

BALLYROAN is a village in Queen's County, and has 
a charter school and church. Four miles farther see 
Abbey Leix, the beautiful mansion of Viscount de Vesci, on 
the banks of the river Nore ; the park abounds with fine 
timber. The village of Abbey Leix had a celebrated mo- 
nastery, founded in 1183, by O' Moore, the chief of a pow- 
erful sept. Of the cathedral of Aghaboe, near Abbey Leix, 
the chancel is the principal vestige. 

Pop. 714. Fairs : Jan. 6, April 2, May 15, 3rd Wed- 
nesday in July, Aug. 15, and Nov. 25. 

DURROW, is a post town of Kilkenny. The left-hand 
road at Ballyroan leads to the town of Ballinakill, which is 
three miles from Durrow ; by making this tetour, the road 
is half a mile longer than the first mentioned line to Dur- 
row. In the handsome town square is the entrance to the 
castle, the ancient residence of Lord Ashbrook, whose eldest 



No. 54. DUBLIN TO CHARLEVILLE. 227 

son, the Hon. Charles Flower Walker, resides there ; and 
near this is a Roman Catholic chapel. Durrow is celebra- 
ted for its excellent hotel, which is the largest country inn 
in Ireland, and has been fitted up in the most comfortable 
manner by its patron, the Hon. Mr. Walker ; being nearly 
central, and on the most direct line of road, it is considered 
the best halting place between Dublin and Cork. 

At Ballinakill, and again at Durrow, a road on the left 
hand conducts through the town of Ballyragget to Kil- 
kenny, a distance of fifteen miles. Durrow is seated on a 
stream called the Erkna, near which are extensive flour 
mills, and possesses very picturesque environs. It forms a 
portion of Kilkenny, lying within the boundary of Queen's 
County. 

Pop. 1298. Fairs : Feb. 2, March 4, April 16, on the 
2nd Thursdays O. S. in May, and November; also July 3, 
and Oct. 8. 

Seats : Water Castle ; Castle Wood. Also Castle Dur- 
row, the ancient and splendid residence of Viscount Ash- 
brooke. The woods of this fine demesne extend for three 
miles on the route to Urlingford. See the ruins oiMacklin 
Castle, and of Cullyhill Castle. At Fertagh, four miles and 
a half from Durrow, may be seen a high round tower, and 
a ruinous gothic church. 

Beggar's Inn, is a village in Kilkenny, six miles from 
Durrow. Ballyspellan chalybeate spa is to the left of this 
route, and has a great reputation. 

Johnstown, a post town in Kilkenny, is eight miles from 
Durrow, and scarcely two from Urlingford; it has some 
handsome houses for the accommodation of those who 
resort to Ballyspellan Spa. One mile from Johnstown is 
Fowkscourt, the seat of the Hely family. 

Pop. of Johnstown 875. 



228 No. 54. DUBLIN TO CHARLEVILLE. 

URLINGFORD, a post town in Kilkenny. At this 
town is an Augustine convent in ruins, founded in 1306. 
The course, on which races are held annually, surrounds 
a green knoll, from which there is a good view of the 
adjacent country, interspersed with large tracts of hog. 
One mile heyond Urlingford, entering Tipperary, across 
the Erkna rivulet, see the castle and church of Fennor, 
both in ruins. Two miles beyond Longford Pass, see the 
ruin of a church, and also a new-built church with a hand- 
some spire at Leigh. A road to the right leads to Thurles. 

Pop. 1366. Fairs: Monthly. 

BALLYMOREEN, in Tipperary, is a village with the 
ruin of a castle. In its neighbourhood are the ruins of 
Ballybeg Castle near Ballydaird, and of Moycarthy Castle. 

Killough Hill is very conspicuous at about three miles 
before arriving at Cashel ; see also Newpark, a very 
beautiful mansion and demesne. 

CASHEL, in Tipperary, once the capital of the kings of 
Munster, is an ancient city and post town, situated three 
miles from the river Suir. It is governed by a mayor, 
recorder, and bailiffs, and is a borough, returning a mem- 
ber to parliament. It has the remains of a venerable ca- 
thedral, abandoned in 1 750, when its roof was barbarously 
taken off The modern cathedral is a handsome edifice of 
Grecian architecture, and is adorned with a lofty spire. 
The Episcopal palace is of brick, and within its quadrangle 
the Archbishop hag a library, containing the celebrated 
Psalter of Cashel, in the Irish tongue, a chronicle which 
was compiled about A.D. 900, byCormac M'Culinan, King 
and Archbishop of Cashel. The beautiful chapel in which 
Cormac preached, is one of the earliest stone structures of 
this kingdom ; it is a ruin close to the ancient cathedral, 
which crowns the precipice of the rock. The founder of 



No. 54. DUBLIN TO CHARLEVILLE. 22d 

this splendid cathedral was Donald O'Brien, brother of 
Morough O'More, king of Munster, a.d. 1169. The 
architecture of both edifices, appears to be an imitation of 
some Grecian models, rather than Gothic. They were 
ornamented with fine tombs and sculptures : the mate- 
rial of the old cathedral was black marble. The labour 
of the antiquarian or admirer of the picturesque, in 
ascending, by a serpentine path, the Rock of Cashel, is 
well rewarded by viewing these magnificent buildings, 
with their picturesque accompaniments : he may also in* 
spect the pillared crypt, above 50 feet long, and a 
round tower, built of freestone. St. Patrick founded the 
first church on this rock. The Lia Fail, or coronation 
stone of the kings of Munster, is reported to have been 
sent from Cashel for the coronation of Fergus, King of 
Scotland, and was transferred from Scone to Westminster 
Abbey by king Edward T. Descend the rock to the mag- 
nificent ruin of Hore Abbey. In the town are the ruins of 
a friary of St Dominick, founded in 1243, the abbey of 
St. Francis, and the hospital of St. Nicholas. There are 
also considerable vestiges of the ancient city walls, and two 
gates. 

The public buildings of Cashel are, the church, the Roman 
Catholic chapel, Methodist chapel, infirmary, the barracks, 
the court house and prison, erected in 1818, the market 
house, and charter school. Cashel, besides having been a 
regal seat, was a very populous place ; its history is varied 
and interesting, and is filled with records of incendiary 
invasions. 

Athatsel Abbey, on the banks of the Suir, three miles 

from Cashel, was founded in 1200, by William Fitz- 

Adelm. The ruins are still extensive ; the nave and 

choir measured 117 feet in length. The tower is of con- 

x 



230 No. 54. DUBLIN TO CHARLEVILLE. 

siderable altitude, and tbe ruins of the cloisters and chapel 
excite admiration. Athassel was twice burned by an 
armed force. 

Emly, giving name to the adjunct see of this Arch- 
bishopric, was once a famous city, and the metropolitan 
church of Minister. Emly church was founded in the 
fifth century, by St Ailbe; in 1123 this city was burned 
by marauders ; it remained a place of note and opulence, 
until 1568, when the bishopric of Emly was united with 
the see of Cashel ; its situation is fourteen miles west of 
Cashel, on the verge of the county. The cloud-capped 
Galtees skirt the undulating plains of Cashel. 

Pop. 6971. Market-days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs: monthly; also March 26, Aug. 7, Sep. 9, and 
Nov. 8. Inns : Ryall's, and Ryan's. 

Golden, or Golden bridge, a post town in Tipperary, is a 
picturesque village, three miles and a half from Cashel, 
and a mile from the magnificent abbey of Athassel. Here 1 
is a ruined castle near the Suir. 

Seats : Lishean, Earl of Clanwilliam, whose fine stables 
are at Ballygriffin ; Suir Castle, Lord Massey's, a noble 
residence, is on the bank of the Suir. At Golden Bridge 
is the Castle Inn 

THOMASTOWN is a village in the county of Tip- 
perary. Here are ruins of two ancient castles, and the 
mansion of the Earl of Llandafij which, in the time of his 
Lordship's ancestor, Mr. Matthew, was esteemed the most 
splendid residence in the kingdom. The park is extremely 
beautiful, and consists of above 2000 acres, ornamented 
with old timber, and extensive plantations. Pop. 155. 

TIPPERARY, a thriving market and post town, in the 
county of Tipperary, agreeably situated, and within a few 



No. 54. DUBLIN TO CHARLEVILLE. 231 

miles of a range of hills which divide the counties of Tip- 
perary and Limerick, consists principally of one long 
street It has a very handsome modern church, with an 
elegant spire, a dispensary, and numerous schools. An 
Augustine monastery was founded here about 1230. 

Pop. 6972. Market-day : Thursday. Fairs : April 5, 
June 24, Oct.. 10, and Dec. 10. Inns: the King's Arms, 
and Globe. 

BALLYMANLAGH, in Tipperary. Two miles and a 
half farther, the traveller enters the county of Limerick. 

KNOCKLONG, in Limerick. Seats near this vil- 
lage : Castle Jane, Elton, Mount Coote, and a castle ruin. 

KILMALLOCK, a post town in Limerick, is a deserted 
city, near the river Maig ; it returned two members to the 
Irish parliament. It has been sometimes called the Balbec 
of Ireland, from its numerous remains, consisting of walls, 
gates, streets, castles, monasteries, and a round tower. It 
is sixteen miles from Limerick. 

Pop. 1213. Fairs : Feb. 21, March 25, Whit-Tuesday, 
June 12, July 6, Nov. 8, and Dec. 4. Inn : the Free- 
mason's Arms. 

CHARLEVILLE is a market and post town in Cork, 
and is a great thoroughfare between the important out- 
ports of Limerick and Cork. It was a borough until the 
Union. Part of the town is in Limerick, across a small 
river, which, for a short distance, divides the two counties. 
The objects worthy of notice are, the church, the charter 
school, the free school, and the cavalry barracks. The 
Protestant church is plain, and the Roman Catholic chapel 
is a large and commodious structure ; there is also an ex- 
tensive brewery. See the ruin of Cragane Castle, on the 
Rilmallock road. 

Pop. 4766. Market Day: Saturday. Fairs: Oct. 10, 
and Nov. 12. Inns : the King's Arms, and the New Inn. 



232 



No. 55. From Dublin to CLOUGH. Through Drog- 
heda, Newry, and Antrim. 

Dublin Castle to Milt*. Dublin Castle to Mile*. 

Antrim*,as at No. 1. 83 Broughshane 85 

Kella* 89) Clongh* 100* 

Craigbilly 93 

CRAIGBTLLY, in the county of Antrim, is seated on 
the summit of a hill, surrounded by a rich and fertile 
valley. Craigbilly wood was the last remaining portion of 
the old forests of this county, and consists now of a tract of 
pasture land and nut-bushes, washed at the foot of the de- 
clivity by the branch of the Main water, which flows from 
the Slemish mountain to Ballymena, and thence to Lough 
Neagh. Here is a Roman Catholic chapel, erected on 
ground granted by J. Hamilton O'Hara, Esq. The man- 
sion of Crebilly is surrounded by excellent gardens and 
plantations, and the hills of Cross, Dunivaddin, and 
Greenhill, form an amphitheatre above the hill of Crebilly. 

Fairs : June 26, and Aug. 21. 

BROUGH SHANE, is a neat village and post town of 
Antrim, having a small church and steeple, a bridge 
across the Main river, and some beetling-mills. From 
Broughshane to Ballymena, the nearest market is four 
miles by Crebilly ; but the distance on the level by the 
river and Ballygarvy, where there are two moats, 
is much shorter: there is a third road, still shorter, 
recently completed. Broughshane has a race-ground ; be- 
yond it, distant one mile and a half, is Skerries Hill, 
with a small ruin of a chapel, and a cemetery on the 
summit. 



Mo 57. DUBLIN TO CLONMEL. 233 

Seats : Tullymore Lodge, completely secluded by stately 
timber, the residence of the Hon. General J. B. O'Neill, 
M.P.; Whitehall, the mansion of Captain White. This is 
a good sporting country, and the cloud-capped summit of 
Slemish hill is seen in every variety of form above the 
valley. 

Pop. 828. Fain: June 17, Sept. 1. 



No. 56. From Dublin to CLOGHER. Through Ar- 

DEE, MONAGHAN, and AuGHER. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 
Drogheda*, asatNo. 1. •-.. 83ft Anghar*, as at No. 143..... 7«* 
Castleblayney*, as at No. 7 51ft Clogher 76| 

CLOGHER, an ancient episcopal see, and a post town 
of Tyrone, is now a mere village. The episcopal palace is 
the chief building. The see of Louth was united to Clogher 
in the eleventh century, and the cathedral has been con- 
verted into a parish church. In ancient times the Druids 
are supposed to have dwelt in this place. An ancient abbey 
here was consumed by fire in 1396. 

Pop. 628. Fairs: Monthly; also May 6 and July 26. 



No. 57. From Dublin to CLONMEL. Through Kil- 
dare, Maryborough, and Urlinoford. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Maryborough*, as at No. 3. 40 Fethard 78* 

Urlingford* as at No. 54. • • 61ft Ctanmel* 8ft 

Killynaule 72ft 

x 3 



234 No. 58. DUBLIN TO CLONMINES. 

KILLYNAULE, is a post town in Tipperary, half way 
between Cashel and Callan ; so that it is a considerable 
thoroughfare. It has a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, 
and a dispensary. The collieries are here worked to great 
advantage. The glebehouse of Killynaule parish is distant 
two miles, at Upkam, where there is an ancient castle ruin. 
Many handsome seats surround the town, and the town- 
lands adjacent are fertile and beautiful Pop. 1578. Fairs : 
Jan. 1, March 25, May 14, June 24, Aug. 14, Oct 15. Inn : 
the King's Arms. 

FETHARD is a market and post town in the county of 
Tipperary, with an ancient and handsome church, and a 
neat, modern, Gothic Roman Catholic chapel. There are 
remains of three gates, and of the high town walls \ and the 
Augustine abbey of Fethard is an elegant ancient structure, 
part of which is still used as a Catholic chapel The Pres- 
byterian meeting house, the school house, barracks, and a 
handsome Tholsel, are the other public edifices. Fethard 
is a corporate town, and returned members to the Irish 
Parliament; it is governed by a sovereign and recorder. 

Pop. 8405. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: April 20, 
Friday before Trinity Sunday, Sept. 7, Nov. 21. 

Seat : Grove, William Barton, Esq., proprietor of part 
of the town. Ancient Ruins: Kilnockin Cattle, near 
Killynaule ; and a castle ruin, distant two miles and a half, 
on the Clonmel road, in the midst of a plantation. 



No. 58. From Dublin to CLONMINES. Through 
Gorey, Kyle, and Wexford. 

Dublin Cattle to Milts. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Wexford*, as at No. 204 66} Clonmines 80} 

Baldwin's Town* 74 



Nd. £9> DUBLIN TO CLOUGH. 255 

• CLONMINES, or BANNOW, a post town in Wexford, 
situated at the head of Bannow Bay, was a borough town, 
returning members to the Irish parliament It has the 
ruins of an abbey, and vestiges of seven churches. Near 
Bridgetown, a village in the direction of Wexford, there is 
an old castle. Across the Scare ferry are several ruins of 
castles, built by the English adventurers. 



No. 59. From Dublin to CLOUGH. Through Drog- 

HEDA and DUNDALK. 

' Dublin Castle to Mile*. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Newry*, as at No 1 50i Annalong 69± 

Narrow-water 64} Newcastle 7H 

Wanre&'s Point* A6g Dundxum 781 

Rostreror tfi Clongh* 91 

Kilkeel 65 



NARROW-WATER, a neat village of Down, on the 
Newry river, serves as a port to the town of Newry. Near 
the ferry is Narrow-water Castle, built upon a bold rock. 
It belonged to the Knights Templars, and when in pre- 
servation, commanded this land-locked harbour. It was 
some time since converted into a salt work, and more 
recently into a kennel for a pack of hounds. Near, this 
place commences the canal which communicates with Lough 
Neagh. Fairs : Jan. 17, and Oct 2. 

ROSSTREVOR, in Down, is a post town and sea-bath- 
ing place of remarkable beauty, and is much frequented* 
This place was the seat of the Trevor family, but is now 
the property of David Ross, Esq. : hence, from the union 
of the families, it derives its name. It is situated at the 
north-east end of Carlingford Bay,, surrounded by groves 



236 No. 59. DUBLIN TO CLOUGH. 

and villas; the white cottages appear built on romantic 
levels, and the mountain, rising from the water's edge, is 
covered with oaks and ash-trees ; indeed, few objects can 
surpass Rosstrevor Hill for die beauty of its outline, and the 
interest of the surrounding prospects. Here is a fine an- 
chorage close to the shaded banks of the sheltered bay ; 
and hence may be seen the monument in honour of General 
Ross. The potteries and salt-pans are worthy of notice. 
From the quay is a favourite walk along the bay. There 
is a market house, and excellent hot and cold baths, situated 
on the quay. The church is a neat building in the Gothic 
style, with a tower; and. the Roman Catholic chapel is at 
the upper end of the town ; also a school house and library, 
besides several paper mills and bleach greens in the neigh- 
bourhood It has a good inn. Kilbreny is one mile 
distant ; and in this neighbourhood is the once-important 
hold called Green Castle, Rosstrevor is a delightful station 
for excursions amidst stupendous hills, of great interest to 
the painter and to the botanist. 

Pop. 996. Market Day: Tuesday. Fairs: Monday 
before Ash Wednesday, Easter Tuesday, Whit Tuesday, 
Aug. 1, Sept 19, Not. 1, Dec. 11. Itm: die King's Arms. 

KILKEEL is a post town of Down, situated near the 
coast. From the hills are fine prospects of the sea, the 
Isle of Man, and the heights of the Scottish and West- 
moreland coasts. It has been much improved by the pro- 
prietor, Lord Kilmorey, who has a summer residence in 
the vicinity. There is a handsome church, meeting house, 
' and Roman Catholie chapel. The light house on this 
coast is a fine building, 120 feet high. Pop. 1089. Fairs : 
first Tuesday in Feb. May, Aug. and Nov. 

ANNALONG in Down, is a village built near the 
sea-shore, on a rivulet 



No. 00. DUBLIN TO CLOYNE. 237 

NEWCASTLE is a small town of Down, on the south 
shore of Dundrum bay, and is much frequented for sea- 
bathing. It has cold and warm shower-baths. The sea 
prospect is delightful, and although the mountains in the 
vicinity are sterile, they are awfully grand. There is no 
district more sublime, or replete with romantic scenery, 
than the barony of Mourne. At the foot of Slieve Donard, 
a mountain, just above this village, is an old castle in ruin, 
vide page 208. Pop. 987. 

DUNDRUM is a village of Down, at the head of a wide 
bay of the same name. Upon a rock is the extensive ruin 
of the castle built by the powerful baron John de Courcy, 
who first undertook the conquest of Ulster. It was in the 
hands of the Knights Templars, and was granted by the 
crown to Thomas Lord Cromwell, whose son was Lord Le- 
cale, a title derived from the neighbouring barony. It stood 
several sieges, being garrisoned by the Magennises, but was 
finally dismantled by Oliver Cromwell's army. The Mar- 
quess of Downshire has erected baths here, and has also 
built an excellent inn, Fairs : May 12, Oct 10. 

At Slidderyfordy near Dundrum, is a Druidical circle. 



No. 60. From Dublin to CLOYNE. Through Clonmel, 
Fermoy, and Middleton. 

Dublin Cattle, to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Fermoy* as at No. 27. 108 Middleton 122 

Rathcormack* Ill Cloyne , 12&J 

MIDDLETON is a neat market and post town of Cork, 
and was formerly a borough, returning a member to the 
Irish parliament. It has a sovereign, bailiffs, and twelve 
burgesses. The modern edifices are well built and elegant 



238 No. 60. FROM DUBLIN TO CLOYNE. 

The free school, in which Curran received the rudiments 
of learning, the church, the Roman Catholic chapel, the mar- 
ket house, surmounted by a cupola, and the extensive bar- 
racks, formerly a cloth manufactory, but now the property 
of Lord Middleton, are the chief buildings. The castle of 
the Fitegeralds erected in 1645, is not in existence, but the 
splendid residence of the Marquess of Thomond, Rostellan 
castle, occupies its site. The neighbouring lands are exceed- 
ingly fertile, and limestone is found in the valleys. Near 
this town is a curious cave. Seat : Viscount Middleton's. 

Pop. 2084. Market Day : Saturday. Fairs : May 14, 
July 5, Oct. 10, Nov. 22. Inn: the King's Arms. 

CLOYNE, an ancient see, in the county of Cork, is a 
handsome market and post town. The venerable cathedral 
has a nave and side aisles, the former of which is one hun- 
dred and twenty feet in length. It contains an epitaph 
on Miss Adams, written by the late Mrs. Piozzi ; and a num- 
ber of ancient monuments. The rath at Cloyne is near the 
cathedral ; and there is also a round tower, ninety feet high. 
The bishoprick was once dependent upon that of Cork, but 
was disunited in 1638, and has since then had its own bishops. 
The episcopal residence is good. Many of the livings in 
this see have large revenues, through the union of several 
into one. The abbey was founded A.D. 707, and the first 
church was built here at the close of the sixth century. 

Seat: Castle Mary, one mile from Cloyne, is the man- 
sion of Mr. Longfield. Here may be seen a Druid's altar ; 
it is a stone fifteen feet long, eight broad, and nine high. 

Pop. 2227. Market Day: Saturday. Fairs: Feb. 24, 
Whit Tuesday, Dec. 5. Inn: the Three Tuns. 



239 



No. 61. From Dublin to COLERAINE. First Road. 
Through Charlemont, Moneymohe, and Maobera. 

DtOUnCasffeto Miles. Dublin Castle to MUefi 

Dundalk* aaatNo. I.--- 40} Desartmartin 88 

Armagh* as at No. 6 62} Tubbermore 90} 

Black-rater Town* 69} Maghera 92) 

Charlemont 68* Swatteragh 96) 

Killyman Church 7U Garvagh 100} 

Coal Island 74} A ghadoey Bridge 103* 

Stowartstown 77 Coleraine 1094 

Moneymore 83) 

CHARLEMONT is a market and corporate town of 
Armagh, and was formerly an Irish borough. The town 
is governed by a portreeve and twelve burgesses, and has 
a Methodist chapel, and a Sunday school. It is a military 
depot, and has barracks for infantry, as well as a fort, 
which is the residence of the governor. The linen manu- 
facture flourishes in the vicinity. 

Pop. 527. Market Day: Saturday. Fairs: May 12, 
Aug. 16, and Nov. 12. 

The traveller then crosses the Blackwater, which is 
navigable here, by a stone bridge of five arches, and 
enters Tyrone at MOY, which is a post town, and has a 
famous monthly fair for horses and cattle. The church, 
built in 1819, is a fine stone structure, with a handsome 
steeple; there are also meeting houses. The Roman 
Catholic chapel is at Gorestown, a mile distant. 

Pop. of Moy : 902. Fairs : first Friday monthly. 

COAL ISLAND is a post town of Tyrone, on the bank 
of the canal from Dungannon to Lough Neagh. Here 
are coalpits. A mile distant are the ruins of Roughan 
Castle. 



40 No. 61. DUBLIN TO COLERAINE. 

STEWARTSTOWN is a thriving market and post 
town of Tyrone. In the centre of the town is the market 
house ; and there is a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, 
and two meeting houses ; schools, and a dispensary. About 
two miles distant is Stewart Hall, the seat of the Earl of 
Castle Stewart, with a fine park. 

Pop. 1010. Market Day : Wednesday. Fairs: monthly. 

MONEYMORE is a town of Londonderry, between 
which and Lough Neagh is a great ridge, called the Slieve 
Gallion Mountain. Its dark-blue slopes are seen from the 
adjacent counties at a distance of forty miles. Money- 
more has been recently very much improved by the Dra-" 
pers' Company of London, ]to whom it belongs. It now 
possesses a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, a Presby- 
terian meeting house, two free schools, and a handsome 
market house, with ball and news rooms, and an admirable 
inn and dispensary. 

Pop. 1025. Market Day: Friday. Fairs: 21st of each 
month. Inn: the Draper's Arms. Seat : Springhill, with 
well-planted grounds. 

DESARTMARTIN is a village of Londonderry, near 
a small branch of the River Mayola. It has a good church. 
Two miles beyond it is the church and Glebe House of 
Kilcronaghan, Pop. 257. 

TUBBERMORE is a small post town, near the River 
Mayola. There are some good houses, amongst others 
Fort William and Clover Hill. Pop. 679. 

MAGHERA is a small post town of Londonderry. It 
has a stone church, built in 1820, a Lancasterian school, 
a meeting house, and barracks ; also a Roman Catholic 
chapel, about a mile from the town. The door-way of the 
old church, part of which still remains, is curiously sculp- 
tured. The Brae/ace, a tract of land on this side of 



No. 61. DUBLIN TO COLERAINE. 241 

Carntogher Mountains, is adorned with pretty cottages, 
and fine hawthorns, that tree is esteemed sacred by the 
peasantry, who dread the enmity of its guardian sprite, in 
case it be lopped or cut down. The valley of the Mayola is 
beautiful, and here are some moats and raths. 

Pop. 1154. Market Days: Tuesday; and Friday for corn. 
There are six fairs in the year. 

SWATTERAGH is a village in the county of Lon- 
donderry. 

Pop. 214. Fain : Mar. 3, May 17, July 17, and Dec. 3. 

GARVAGH, on the river Agivey, in Londonderry, is 
a post town in a charming situation. The Canning family, 
long settled here, has acquired the title of Garvagh ; and 
here is the handsome residence of Lord Garvagh. Bovaugh 
Castle is an ancient ruin on the side of the river ; it be- 
longs to the Beresford family. 

AGHADOEY BRIDGE has a church and glebe house, 
and many gentlemen's seats. Four miles beyond it, 
approaching Coleraine, is Maquasquin church. 

COLERAINE, a corporate, market, and post town, and 
barony of Londonderry, was formerly made a county in itself, 
by Sir John Perrot. The town is governed by a mayor, alder- 
men, and burgesses. Colonel Hanger, of eccentric and sport- 
ing fame, was Baron Coleraine : the title is now extinct It 
is a borough returning a member to Parliament, and is seated 
on the Bann, about four miles from its mouth. The current 
of this river is so strong, that the tide of the sea does not 
ascend far, nor is the navigation good, so that, as a port, 
Coleraine is inferior to Portrush, where the custom house 
is established. Coleraine is famous for the manufacture of 
linen, and is well known to travellers, as the chief town, 
within nine miles of the Giant's Causeway- There are 
several tan yards and soap works. About a mile distant is 



342 No. 61. DUBLIN TO COLERAINE. 

a celebrated Salmon Leap, near Mr. Richardson's mansion ; 
and from the bridge there is a fine view of the dilapidated 
house, called Jackson Hall. Coleraine has large barracks, 
a plain market house, above which the sessions are held, 
a small rath, and a church pleasantly situated ; meeting 
houses, a Roman Catholic chapel, and several schools. In 
the centre of the town is a handsome square, called the 
Diamond, where the markets are held. It formerly pos- 
sessed a castle, built in 1213 ; and St. Mary's Abbey was 
founded here in 1244. The vicinity of the town, particu- 
larly on the Antrim side of the river, is very pleasant. 
The salmon-fishing here begins in March, and continues 
till August. There are also two eel-fisheries on the Bann, 
beginning in September, and a steam vessel is intended to 
ply between this and Liverpool 

Porfrush, within a few miles of Coleraine, is much fre- 
quented as a bathing place. Portstewart also is a very 
pretty and flourishing place, three miles distant, and eight 
from the Giant* s Causeway, with a good inn. Portrush is 
situated under a promontory, and affords a most extensive 
view of the northern coast : the harbour is nearly com- 
pleted, and will be of great service to the trade of Cole- 
raine : it is intended to have a steamer between this and 
Glasgow. 

About two miles and a half from Coleraine is Craig-a- 
Hulier, a curious range of basaltic pillars. 

Pop. 5752. Market day: Saturday. Fain: May 12, July 
5, and the first Tuesday in November. Innt : the Corpo- 
poration Arms; the Mail Coach Hotel; and the Traveller's 
Home, all so comfortable that it is difficult to draw a dis- 
tinction. 



243 



No. 62. From Dublin to COLERAINE. Second Road. 
Through Armagh, Coagh, and Bovaugh Bridge. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle, to Miles. 

Dundalk* asatNo. 1 40} Magherafelt* 88 

Armagh*, as at No. 6 62} Kilrea* 102 

Charlemont* 68* Bovaugh Bridge 104* 

Stewartstown* 77 Cotanine 1114 

Coagh* - 82 

BOVAUGH BRIDGE, in the county of Tyrone. A 
mile from this village, on the River Agivey, is Bovaugh 
Castle, a mansion belonging to the Marquess of Waterford. 
At Bovaugh Bridge is another mansion of the Beresfords. 



No. 63. From Dublin to COLERAINE. Third Road. 
Through Dundalk, Antrim, and Randalstown. 

Dublin Castle to Mile*. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Banbridge*, asatNo. 1 •••• 60} Randalsto^m 88 

Lnrgan* 67} Ballymoney 107} 

Glenavy* 77 Coleraine* 114 

Antrim* 84 

RANDALSTOWN, a post town in Antrim, is a small 
but pretty place, with a stone-bridge of nine arches, over 
the Main, adjoining which is an extensive cotton mill and 
bleach field. It has a market house and assembly room, a 
church, a Roman Catholic chapel, meeting houses, a dis- 
pensary, and barracks. Near Randalstown is the finely- 
wooded demesne of Earl O'Neill; and two miles distant, on 
the shore of Lough Neagh, is Shane's Castle, which was 
burnt in 1816. It has since been repaired. 

Pop. 618. Market day: Wednesday. Fairs: July 16, 
Nov. 1. Inn: at the foot of the bridge. 



244 No. 63. DUBLIN TO COLERAINE. 

Lough Neagh is a beautiful sheet of water, eighteen miles* 
in length, and twelve in breadth, being as wide, though not 
so long, as the lake of Geneva : it is bounded by no less 
than five counties, Armagh, Tyrone, Londonderry, Down, 
and Antrim. The extent of its surface varies considerably, 
according to the season, but it is supposed to coyer gene- 
rally about 100,000 English acres. In summer its depth 
is about fifty feet, and in winter about seven feet more. It 
contains large quantities of shad, churl or bodach, pike, 
roach, bream, and trout, and is periodically visited by 
salmon and eels. The char is also found here. The strand 
abounds with beautiful pebbles, which take a high polish. 
The waters of Lough Neagh have been noted for their heal- 
ing and petrifying qualities ; but according to recent expe- 
riments, undeservedly. The Lough contains two small 
islands, Blackwater Island, at the mouth of the river of that 
name, and Ram'* Island, which is about three miles from 
the shore, which has been tastefully laid out by Lord 
O'Neill, who has also built on it a neat cottage. The latter 
contains a round tower, 40 feet high, and a cemetery. A 
boat to it may be obtained at the village of Crumlin. The 
scenery of the Lough is tame and monotonous, and the 
tourist must not expect to find in it the beauties of Killarney. 

BALLYMONE Y is a market, post, and sessions town of 
Antrim, with a market house, a church, a Roman Catholic 
chapel, meeting houses, and a school. A linen market is 
held on the first Thursday of each month, and there is a 
considerable trade in butter, for exportation from Belfast. 
Near this town, at the village of Agivey, is an iron sus- 
pension bridge, thrown across the Bann. Hence a road 
branches off to the Giant's Causeway, seven miles shorter 
than that through Coleraine. 

Seats : Leslie Hill, and O' Hard's Brook. 



No. 64. DUBLIN TO COLERAINE. 245 

Pop. 2222. Fairs : May 6, July 10, and Oct 7. inn ; 
the King's Arms. 



No. 64. From Dublin to COLERAINE. Fourth Road. 
Through Dundalk, Antrim, and Portglenone. 

Dublin Cagtte to Miles. Dublin Castle to Mile*. 

Antrim*, as at No. 1 83 Basharkan 102* 

Randalstown* .♦ 88 Vow Ferry House 106* 

Grange 93* Coleraine* llfi* 

Portglenone 97i 

THE GRANGE, in Antrim, is an extensive and fertile 
parish, in which a large quantity of poultry and turkeys is 
reared. 

PORTGLENONE is a market and post town of Antrim, 
situated on the Bann, over which is a stone bridge of seven 
arches. This river is broad and deep, and is the only 
stream that issues from Lough Beg and Lough Neagh. 
The late proprietor of this town, John Hamilton O'Hara, 
Esq., was interred in Portglenone church in 1822, which 
was built at the expense of his ancestor, Francis Hutchin- 
son, Bishop of Down and Connor. The mansion-house 
has been rebuilt, and the demesne, which extends along the 
river side, is covered by some large timber, and is now 
occupied by the Rt. Rev. N. Alexander, who rebuilt the 
house. Here are three meeting houses, and a good school 
house; the Catholic chapel is at some distance from the 
town. The views of the Derry mountains across the Bann 
are extremely striking and magnificent, whilst the imme- 
diate course of the valley along which this river winds is a 
rich undulating flat, finely varied. Eight neat cottages 
were built here for poor widows, by Charles Hamilton, Esq., 
who bequeathed a yearly maintenance for the inmates. 
y 3 



246 No. 65. DUBLIN TO COOTEH1LL. 

Pop. 773. Market day : Tuesday. Fairs : on the first 
Tuesday of each month. 

RASH ARK AN is a village of Antrim, with a handsome 
church. Fair: November 16. 



No. 65. From Dublin to COOTEHILL. Through 
Navan and Newcastle. 

Dublin CadU to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Nanm*,asatNo. 80 23| Newcastle; 36| 

Killberry 26* Kingscourt 381 

GairnhUl Turnpike 31* Shercock • 44| 

Nobber, 33J CotehiU* 52| 

KILBERRY, in Eastmeath. Two miles beyond the 
church in this village, there is an ancient ruin on the left 
hand of the road to Nobber. 

CATRNHILL TURNPIKE is half a mile beyond the 
church and glebe house of Castletown. 

NOBBER, in Eastmeath. In this post town the cele- 
brated blind bard, O'Carolan, was born in 1670. 

Pop. 371. Fairs: April 25, May 25, June 20, Aug. 15, 
Oct 13, and Nov. 14. 

NEWCASTLE is a small town of Eastmeath. Near it 
is a small Lough. Inisheene church is one mile and a 
quarter to the right of this road. 

KINGSCOURT is a post town of Cavan, and has a neat 
church with a tower, a Roman Catholic chapel, and a me- 
thodist meeting house, and a dispensary. The town consists 
of one long street, in the middle of which is the market 
house. 

. , Seats : Cormy Castle and Cabragk Castle, beautiful man* 
sions, about a mile distant on the north and south. 



No. 66. DUBLIN TO CORK. 247 

Drouglone Lough is to the left of the present road, at the 
distance of three miles from the village ; a small Lough is 
seen by the road side, one mile farther. 

Pop. 1616. Market Day: Tuesday. Fairs: Good Friday, 
May 23, June 18, Aug. 1, Sept 19, Nov. 8, Dec. 4 and 20. 

SHERCOCK is a small post town of Cavan. Here are 
two Lakes ; the larger of them is Lough Swillan, from which 
the river Annalee takes its rise, and flows in the direction 
of Coote Hill, passing the beautiful seats of Newgrove and 
Belle-Green. 

Pop. 348. Fairs : Feb. 4, April 4, Whit-Monday, July 
2, Aug. 22, Sept 28, Oct 29, and Dec. 14. 



No. 66. From Dublin to CORK. First Road. Through 
Kildarb, Maryborough, and Cashbl. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Maryborough*, as at No. 3-. 40 Clogheen* 92 

Cashel*, asatNo. 64 76* Cork* 1221 

Cahir 86} 

CAHIR is a market and post town, in the county of 
Tipperary, situated on the banks of the Suir. Across the 
river are the ruins of Cahir Abbey, built in the reign of 
King John; and in an island is Cahir Castle, originally 
built by Conan, King of Thomond, and monarch of Ireland. 
Cahir Castle, the mansion of the Earl of Glengall, whose 
demesne contains 560 acres, is situated upon the bank of 
the river: in one part of the grounds called Kilcommon, 
is the cottage, a spot of extraordinary beauty. 

Cahir contains a market house, a neat and well-propor- 
tioned gothic church, with a spire, erected in 1817, two 
Roman Catholic chapels, one large and splendid new ehapel 



248 No. 68. DUBLIN TO CORK. 

with a spire, a fever hospital, a dispensary, and a handsome 
school house, erected in 1818, near the church. Here is a 
factory for Tuscan straw bonnets. A weekly linen and 
yarn market was established in 1823, and large corn mills 
have lately been erected. Here also is a Dutch sieve ma- 
nufactory for cleaning flax seed, also a manufactory of 
straw-plat for bonnets. The cavalry barracks are situated 
a mile from Cahir. 

The environs of Cahir are delightful, and the florist will 
find much gratification in visiting the garden of Mr. Fennel, 
situated about four miles from the town. 

Seats : Lord Glengall's, with a beautiful and extensive 
park. 

Pop. 3408. Market day: Friday. Fairs: Feb. 8, 
April 12, May 26, July 20, Sept 18, Oct 20. and Dec. 7. 
Inn: the Glengall Arms. 



No. 67. From Dublin to CORK. Second Road. 
Through Carlow, Kilkenny, and Clonhel. 

MUet. 
Dublin to Cork*, as at No. 26 124* 



No. 68. From Dublin to CORK. Third Road. Through 
Kilkenny, Clonmel, and Lismore. 

Dublin CatOeto MUet. Dublin CatfU to MUet. 

Clonmel* m at No. 27 81| Tallow 1044 

Cappoquin 97i Wateigraw Hill 1171 

Lismore 100* Cork* 126* 

CAPPOQUIN, in Waterford, is a market and post town, 
on the Blackwater, over which it has a wooden bridge. It 
possesses some rich and picturesque scenery, and several 



No. 68. DUBLIN TO CORK. 249 

well-built villas. Here is a neat church, and a Roman 
Catholic chapel, and barracks. On the road from Clon- 
mel are Gkuha and Castle Coonagh, the ruins of old castles. 
The corn trade between this town and Youghal is extensive, 
the Blackwater being navigable for sloops. A mile from 
the town is Salti Bridge, the seat of Anthony Chearnley, 
Esq. Sir Richard Musgrave has also a mansion at Turin, 
on the Blackwater, two miles from Cappoquin. The at- 
tractions of the route by water from Cappoquin to Youg- 
hall, are very great In gliding down the river may be 
viewed Turin, the seat of Sir R. Musgrave ; Drumana, the 
fine demesne of Mr. H. V. Stuart; Camphier House, and 
Strancally Castle, the fine residence of John Reily, Esq., 
and many others. 

Pop. 2289. Market days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs : March 17, May 31, July 5, Sept. 20, Oct 14, and 29. 

LISMORE, a post town in Waterford, is beautifully 
situated upon the Blackwater. This once famous city had 
a university; the see of Lismore was united, in 1363, to. 
the bishopric of Waterford. The cathedral is small, but in 
good preservation. The name is composed of Lis, an 
earthern fort, and more, great ; from its strong moat, which 
was superseded by a castle, built by King John. Sir Walter. 
Raleigh was a proprietor of this fortress and of the manor. 
It was purchased by Sir Richard Boyle, who enlarged its. 
fortifications ; in 1641 it was successfully defended by Lord 
Broghill, son of the Earl of Cork. The philosophical 
Boyle was born in this castle in 1626, the very year that 
Lord Bacon died : he was the seventh son and the four- 
teenth child of Richard Earl of Cork; and it has been 
justly remarked of this great man, that he revived the 
memory of Lismore University. Congreve, the poet and dra- 
matist, is also said to have been born here, his father being 



250 No. 68. DUBLIN TO CORK. 

at the time steward to Lord Burlington's estate. The castle 
was, until lately, dilapidated; but the Duke of Devonshire 
has repaired it, and rendered it worthy of its ancient feme. 
The view from the great window is particularly beautiful. 
The pleasure grounds are beautifully laid out, and are re- 
markable for a double row of very ancient yews. In the 
gardens may be seen many choice shrubs and flowers, par- 
ticularly an arbutus, as large as a forest tree. 

Lismore is said to have chiefly consisted of the habita- 
tions of the most learned monks, of royal abbots, of saints, 
and of hermits. Here the ravages of the Danes, the con- 
flagrations in 1116 and 1207, the assaults by Earl Strong- 
bow's son in 1147, and by the Irish army in 1641, have 
occasioned this town to be repeatedly new built The 
bridge erected at the sole expense of the Duke of Devon- 
shire at the cost of 9000&, is handsome, consisting of four- 
teen stone arches, and commands a fine view. Here is a 
court house, a dispensary, and a fever hospital. There is 
an excellent salmon fishery at the weirs below Lismore. 
A navigation has also been opened from this place to 
Cappoquin, at the expense of the Duke of Devonshire. 
Six miles from Lismore is the establishment of the Trap- 
piste, the convent and adjoining buildings are nearly finished. 
They possess on a lease of 100 years, rent free, 570 acres, 
the property of Sir Richard Keane, and great progress has 
been made in cultivating this land. 

Seats : Castle Richard, three miles from the town, an 
elegant gothic mansion, and Qlencaim, the seat of Mrs. 
Bushe, on the right side of Blackwater ; also BaUysaggart* 
more Cattle, the fine residence of Arthur Reiley, Esq. on 
the North Bank, and about one mile west of Lismore. 

Pop. 2894. Fairs: May 25, Sept 25, and Nov. 12. 
Hotel : the Devonshire Arms* 



No. 70. DUBLIN TO DALKEY. 261 

TALLOW, is a market and post town of Waterfbrd, on 
the Bride. It has a market house and a church. This 
small town and Lismore were boroughs until the Union. 
Here are the ruins of Lufining Castle, an old fortress of the 
Earls of Desmond, and a barrack. On the road to Cork is 
Castle Connough, in ruins, also many modern mansions and 
parks. The road leads through Water Grass Hill turnpike, 
and Glanmire, a village four miles from Cork. 

Pop. 2998. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: March 1, 
Whit-Monday, Oct 10, and Dec. 8. Inn : Leahy's. 



No. 69. From Dublin to CUSHENDALL. Through 

Drogheda and Dundalk. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Banbridge»,a»atNo. 1 ...• 60* duhendaU* 10ft* 

Clough^watNo. 23 99i 



No. 70. From Dublin to DALKEY. 

Dublin Castle to MUes. Dublin Castle to Miles. 
MonkBtoira* 5± Dalkey 7* 

DALKEY, in Dublin, is a Tillage, celebrated for its 
ancient castles, the remains of two of which are still 
standing. On Dalkey Hill is a cromlech, and on the 
common are remains of a Druidical circle. Immediately 
above the village rises a mountain, and before it is a sound, 
or channel, with sufficient water for ships of burden, 
separating it from Dalkey Island. On this island, which 
consists of about eighteen acres of sweet herbage, may be, 
seen a Martello Tower, and a church in ruins.. Here, as 



252 No. 71. DUBLIN TO DINGLE. 

in many parts of Ireland, the people elect a king from 
among themselves, to whom, occasionally, they pay certain 
tributes. Pop. 544. 



No. 71. From Dublin to DINGLE. Through Kildare 
and Limerick. 

Dublin Caste to Miles. Dublin CastU to Mile*. 

Listowell* asatNo«3 131* Lispole 162* 

Tralee* 144* Dingle 166 

Bracktown Inn 158* 

DINGLE is a sea-port and post town of Kerry, and the 
most western town in Enrope. It has a considerable 
fishery. On the road to Dingle are the ruins oiAnnagh 
Church, two miles from Tralee; five and a half miles 
farther, Kilgobbin Church is to the right The ruin of 
Minard Castle is on the left, near the village of Lispole. 

Dingle Bay was formerly a great resort of merchants, 
and the privileges of this town, granted by Elizabeth and 
her successors, are considerable. The harbour is half a 
mile broad, and is well sheltered from the winds. Smerwick 
Harbour and Ventry Bay are dependant upon this port. 
There was a monastery in Dingle, and a part of its splen- 
did church, called St Mary's Chapel, is preserved in 
repair for divine worship. It is said that this church, and 
part of the town, is of Spanish erection, the houses having 
stone balconies. Upon the site of an ancient castle, built 
ki 1580, is the town Gaol. Dingle also possesses a 
Romans Catholic Chapel, and a Lancastrian School 

In the vicinity of Dingle are many interesting objects ; 
the ruins of Burnham Castle, and Burnham House, the 
mansion and demesne of Lord Ventry; also the village of 



No. 72. DUBLIN TO DONAGHADEE. 253 

Ventry> and the bay of the same name, at which are some 
Danish forts. Mount Brandon, a range of mountain of 
great height, is the chief land-mark for vessels entering 
the Shannon, and commands an exquisite prospect. Bun- 
more Head t the most western point of Ireland, is at the 
extremity of the promontory. Off this headland are 
situated the Blasques, or Ferriter's Islands. Innismore is 
three miles long, and is the largest of the Blasques. 
They are fertile islands, inhabited by a gentle race, and 
there are several very ancient and curious chapels built 
on them. 

Pep. 4327. Market Day: Saturday. Inn: Jeffcott's. 



No 72. From Dublin to DONAGHADEE. First 
Road. Through Drogheda, Belfast, and New- 
town Ards. 

Dublin CasOe to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Banbridge*, asatNo. 1 •••• 60i Newtown Ards 87* 

Belfast*, as at No 30 80 Donaghadee 94* 

The drive from Belfast to Newtown Ards is through 
a well-cultivated country. On leaving Belfast there is 
a long and narrow bridge across the Lagan, with numerous 
arches. Nearly two miles from town, on the summit of 
a hill, is the old church of Knockbreda, and near it a green 
artificial mound. At Dundonald, four miles from Belfast, 
there are a small church with a spire, a conspicuous moat, 
dissenters' meeting house, glebe house, and a few cottages. 
The former road to Newtown Ards was over hills, but a new 
level line has been recently completed. 

NEWTOWN ARDS is a handsome market and post 
town in Down, situated at the head of Lough Strangford, 
z 



254 No. 72. DUBLIN TO DONAGHADEE. 

near its north strand. It was a borough till the Union. 
The ancient town, built and settled by James Hamilton, 
Lord Claneboy and Clanbrassil, was burnt in the civil war, 
and the Scottish inhabitants slain. These were replaced 
by a fresh colony; but there are still a few of the ancient 
buildings. In High Street is the old cross, with the date 
1636; and near the town is the castle of the Montgome- 
ries, the gardens and outer inclosure of which remain. 
The town bears a new and elegant aspect, and the view 
of it obtained by ascending Scraba Hill is delightful. At 
one side of the great square is a large and commodious 
inn, and opposite is the market house. The old gothic 
church is venerable, but attracts less notice than the 
newly-erected parish church, which is an elegant building 
with a steeple and spire, and is fitted up with good taste. 
Here also are chapels of the Catholics, Presbyterians, 
Covenanters, and Methodists ; a house of industry, and 
schools. The town is the property of the Marquis of 
Londonderry, and is rapidly increasing. It has a consi- 
derable trade in linen. 

Pop. 4442. Market Day: Saturday. Fair*; Jan. 28, 
May 14, Sept 23. 

DONAGHADEE is a neat post town of Down, and is 
noted as the port of communication with the west of 
Scotland. The distance from this place to Port Patrick 
is computed at twenty miles, and steam-vessels perform the 
voyage in two hours and a half. The heavy waves on the 
coast, caused by the strong currents in this narrow strait 
between the Irish channel and north sea, frequently inter- 
cept the view of either shore from the mid-channel. The 
houses towards the shore are built in the form of an 
amphitheatre, and being white, produce a very pleasing 
effect At the north end of the town is a large bare 



No. 72. DUBLIN TO DONAGHADEE. 255 

rath, from the summit of which there is a fine view. The 
new harbour was commenced in 1821, from designs by 
Mr. Rennie ; it comprises seven acres, and is defended by 
extensive piers. Donaghadee is much frequented for sea- 
bathing, and possesses a handsome bath house. It has 
also a church, meeting houses, a Roman Catholic chapel, 
a dispensary, and schools. Cottons are manufactured 
here ; and there is also a species of goods called worked 
muslins, which are peculiar to this place, and have an 
extensive sale. 

The mail starts every morning for Belfast on the arrival 
of the mail-packet from Port Patrick, (which, in mild 
weather, averages between six and seven in the morning) ; 
and there the traveller joins the Dublin or Derry coaches, 
according to his destination. The steam-packet quits the 
harbour on the arrival of the mail from Belfast at half-past 
ten in the morning. 

In the vicinity of Donaghadee are the Copeland Tales, 
on one of which, called Cross Island, consisting of thirty 
acres, is a lighthouse. In another are the rums of a 
church, and a burying-ground, as well as several cairns. 
Between these islands and Donaghadee is a strait of 
smooth water, through which ships of burden can sail at 
a short distance from the harbour. 

Seats : BattyurilHam, one mile from the town ; Portavo, 
a beautiful mansion, in the direction of Groom's Port. 
At Temple Church, near Portavo, is the place where 
St Patrick landed in his second mission to Ireland. 

Pop. 2986. Market Day: Wednesday. Fairs: June 11, 
July 4, Aug. 16, Oct 12, and Dec. 4. Inn: the Down- 
shire Arms. 



256 



No. 73. From Dublin to DON AG HA DEE. Second 
Road. Through Drogiteda, Newry, and Down- 

PATRICK. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Newry*,aaatNo. 1 60J Strangford 80 

Rathfiiland* 57* Ferry oter to Portaferry. • • • 80) 

CMtleweUan* 66 Kirkcubbin 88} 

dongh* 69 GreyAbbey 89ft 

Downpatrick * 74 Donaghadee* 96 

Baholp 77 

RAHOLP is a village of Down. 

STRANGFORD is a small but very ancient post town 
of Down, and gives name to one of the most beautiful 
inlets of the sea, formerly called Lough Cone. The tide 
enters from the Bay of Strangford, the channel is of con- 
siderable length, and the current generally rapid. The 
Lough is seventeen miles in length, and five miles in its 
greatest width, and is covered with upwards of fifty fine 
islands, on one of which is a rabbit-warren ; it contains 
smelts and other excellent fish; and the herring shoaJs 
appear off the bar in August This bar is three miles 
below the town, and within it ships find a good harbour in 
foul weather ; those vessels sailing to the Lough avoid a 
rock in the mid-channel, which has deep water on either 
side of it. At Strangford is the charter school, founded 
by the Earl of Kildare. The custom house is situated on 
the quay, from which is a fine prospect of the surrounding 
country. The ruins of Walsh's Castle, Kilclief, and Audley 
Castle, should be visited. The latter commands an exten- 
sive view of the bay. About a mile distant is Castle 
lVara\ the seat of Lord Bangor, of which one facade is 
Grecian and another gothic. The park and gardens are 
extremely beautiful. 



No. 73. DUBLIN TO DONAGHADEE. 257 

Pop. 583. Fairs : Aug. 12, and Nov. 8. Inn : Halliday's. 

PORTAFERRY is a thriving market and post town of 
Down, situated on the north side of Strangford Bay, 
opposite to Strangford, with which it has a constant com- 
munication by means of ferry-boats. It has the remains 
of a castle, erected by the Savage family, long settled in 
tfiis county ; the present proprietor, A. Nugent, Esq., has 
a noble mansion adjoining the town, surrounded by charm- 
ing grounds, to a part of which there is a public entrance 
at the quay. Portaferry has a neat church and meeting 
houses, and half a mile distant is a Roman Catholic chapel, 
The town carries on a considerable trade in corn, and from 
June to September there is a productive herring fishery in 
the Lough and along the coast 

Near Kirkistown, four miles distant, is the old church of 
Slane, and Claneboy Cattle. 

Pop. 2203. Market day: Thursday. Fairs: Jan. 1, 
2nd Thursday in February, May, and November ; July 31, 
and Dec. 12. 

KIRKCUBBIN, in Down, is a neat post town of recent 
erection, on the east shore of the Lake of Strangford. Its 
chief buildings are' the linen hall, market house, meeting 
house, and the glebe house. 

Pop. 537. Fairs : April 28, May 28, August 28, and 
Nov. 28. 

Seats : Summer Hill, and Echlinville, the fine residence 
of John Echlin, Esq. Beyond this, on a hill, is Inishangie, 
and a ruined church ; and farther on, the parish church of 
St. Andrew. 

GREY ABBEY, is a post town in Down, on the east 
side of Lough Strangford, and celebrated for its monastery, 
which was built by John de Courcy, Earl of Ulster, and 
gives name to the place. De Cottrcy's monument, and that * 
% 3 



258 No. 74. DUBLIN TO DONAGHADEE. 

of bis lady, Africa, daughter of the King of Man, are seen 
here with their effigies sculptured. The arches of the 
abbey are still fine, but the roof is dilapidated ; its well, 
for the use of the monks, is filled by a fine spring. Op- 
posite to the abbey is the modern church. Black Abbey is 
another ruin, distant one mile, and near it is a moat 

Fairs: March 28, Whit-Tuesday, June 23, Oct 29, 
Nov. 27, and Dec. 7. 

Seats : Rosemount, William Montgomery, Esq. This is 
a mansion, with grounds well planted, in an excellent 
situation near the Lough, and possessing good gardens. A 
mile from Grey Abbey is Mount Stewart, the seat of the 
Marquess of Londonderry; it has a picture gallery and 
library: on a hill in the grounds is an imitation of the 
Athenian Temple of the Winds ; it is seen above the lake. 
The gardens and forcing-houses are worthy of notice. 



No. 74. From DUBLIN to DONAGHADEE. Third 
Road. Through Drooheda, Belfast, and Bangor. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Banbridge *, as at No. 1 60} Bangor 90 

Belfast*, as at No. 30 80 Donaghadee* 95 

Hollywood 84} 

HOLLYWOOD is an agreeable village and post town of 
Down, on the east shore of Belfast Lough, and is much 
frequented during the bathing season. The road to it is 
bounded by woods and parks, and there are some beautiful 
villas. Cultra is a pleasant mansion. A quantity of small 
shell-fish is dredged on this flat shore, and is a benefit to 
the cottagers. Hollywood commands a fine view of the 
Antrim Hills, seen across the bay, the surface of which is 



No. U. DUBLIN TO DONAGHADEE. 2to 

enlivened by the passage of merchant-vessels and steam- 
boats* At Castle Hillf in this parish, is a lime tree of 
extraordinary size. 

Pop. 1288. Fairs : are held quarterly. 

BANGOR is a post town at the mouth of Carrickfergu* 
Bay, in Down, and is frequented for sea-bathing. An 
abbey, founded in 555, is now a ruin close to the parish 
church, which was first constructed in 1623, and has a 
large handsome steeple; in this church are monuments 
of the Hamiltons, Earls of Clanbrassil* who settled or 
planted a numerous body of Scots in the Lordship of 
Claneboy, granted to James Hamilton, on the forfeiture of 
O'Neil, Earl of Tyrone. This property, with BaUyleidy 
House, passed by intermarriage to the Blackwood family, 
and is now the splendid seat of Lord Dufferin and Clane- 
boy. Bangor sent two members to the Irish parliament, 
but is not now a returning borough. The proprietor of 
this town is Viscount Bangor, whose family name is Ward ; 
his mansion and gardens are in the immediate vicinity. 
The harbour is safe, and there is a good pier, with quay, 
dock, and basin. Bangor also possesses two cotton factories 
worked by steam-engines; some chapels, a Presbyte- 
rian meeting house, and several schools. The county mili- 
tia is frequently quartered in Bangor. At Groom's Port, a 
fishing village one mile from Bangor, the army of Schom- 
berg disembarked. At Ballyholm Bay is a beautiful strand, 
on which races are occasionally held, the level beach being 
favourable. 

Pop. 2741. Fairs ; Jan. 12, May 1, Aug. 1, and Nov. 22. 



200 

No. 75. From Dublin to DOWNHILL or HERVEY'S 
HILL. Through Dundalk, Armagh, and Don- 
given. 
Dublin Castle to MUes. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Dandalk*,aaatN9.1 40* MoflUligan Church 112* 

Armagh*, as at No. 6 621 Craigtown Inn 1131 

Dungiven», asatNo. 145 •• 99 Downhill 117 

Newtown Limavady 106| 

NEWTOWN LIMAVADY is a market and post town 
of Londonderry, situated in a very interesting district on 
the banks of the Roe, over which is a stone bridge of six 
arches. It is surrounded by beautiful scenery, and the 
linen manufacture flourishes in the vicinity. It is a very 
handsome town, and possesses a corn market, a new as 
well as an old market house, on the first floor of which is 
held the town ball and assembly; a good subscription 
library; a brewery and distilleries. Newtown Limavady 
has also a well-built church, several meeting houses, a 
handsome Roman Catholic chapel, and a savings' bank. 
Dr. William Hamilton, esteemed for his learning and ac- 
complishments, was inhumanly murdered by the Insur- 
gents, when rector of this parish. His Letters on the ' 
North-East Coast of Antrim assisted to give a true notion 
of the extreme beauty and magnificence of the scenery of 
the north of Ireland. The River Roe empties its waters 
into the inlet of the sea called Lough Foyle. On the shore 
of.this Lough, near Magilligan; is a famous rabbit warren. 
This town was -a borough previous to the Union. 

Pop. 2428. Market day*: Monday; and for Grain; 
Tuesday and Friday. Fairs : 2nd Monday in Feb., March 
28, June 13, July 12, and Oct 29. Inns: the King's Arms, 
the Red Lion, and Wilson's Hotel. 

Seats : Daisy Hill, and Fruit Hill, are two good mansions, 
with charming grounds, about a mile from the town. 



261 



No. 76. From Dublin to DOWNPATRICK. Through 

Newry, Ratbfriland, and Clough. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

NewTy*, as at No. 1 50} Down, or Down patrick *, as 

at No. 32 74 



No. 77. From Dublin to DROGHEDA. First Road. 
Through Swords and Balruddery. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Swords* 7 Balruddery* 14* 

Man-of-War* 12* Drogheda*, asatNq. 1 • ••• 23* 



No. 78. From Dublin to DROGHEDA. Second 
Road. Through Naul. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Glastnevin 2 Naul 14 

Forest H Dardistown Bridge lft* 

Brackenstown 6± Drogheda* 22 

Ballybogblll 10* 

GLASSNEVIN is a village of Dublin. In the S. W. 
corner of the church-yard is a tablet in memory of Dr. 
Delaney, who resided at Delville, in this village, and was the 
intimate friend of Dean Swift. There is no spot in Ireland 
possesses so much of classic and historic interest as this, 
where Addison, Parnell, Steele, Swift, and the celebrated 
Stella, at different periods, resided. The " Drapier's Letters" 
were printed in the demesne of Delville, and the illustrious 
author of " Cato" composed several of his finest pieces 
here. There is a place called Addison's walk, formed of 
two rows of tall yews, said to have been planted by him- 



262 No. 79. DUBLIN TO DROGHEDA. 

self. The garden occupies a space of thirty acres, the 
river Tolka forming a boundary at one side. Tickell, tt*e 
poet, also resided here; but his house has been taken 
down, and the site occupied by the spacious and beautiful 
botanic gardens of the Dublin society, which have been 
improved very much under the superintendance of Mr. 
Nevin, the present curator. In the neighbourhood of 
Claremont is the National Institution for the education of 
deaf and dumb poor children. There is also an ex- 
tensive burying ground belonging to the Catholics, with a 
handsome gateway and temple for saying the funeral ser- 
vice : it is surrounded by walls, and has watch towers at 
each corner. — Pop. 559. ^ 

NAUL, a village in the County of Dublin, is remarkable 
for a celebrated glen abounding with craggy precipices: 
it has a church and a Roman Catholic chapel. The 
ancient ruin of Naul Castle is finely situated. A stream 
proceeding from the Roches cascade divides the county of 
Meath from that of Dublin ; this pretty fall of water is in 
the centre of the glen. Snowton Castle is a ruin beyond the 
Naul.-- Pop; 216. 



No. 79. Prom Dublin to DROGHEDA. Third Road. 
Through Finglass, Kilmoon Church, and Duleek. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. DuMin Castle to Miles. 

Kilmoon Church*, at at No. Duleek 80| 

1*7 W| Drogheda* 86 

DULEEK in Eastmeath, was once a famous episcopal 
city. It was also a returning borough previous to the Union, 
but is now a village. It has a neat church, with a spire of 
Gothic architecture ; and a handsome Roman Catholic chapel. 
There is also a large flour mill, a manufacture of ticken, 



No. 80. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 268 

and a good inn. The vicinity is very agreeable, and there 
are fine meadows close to the village. In the vicinity of 
the town is BeUew race-course, which is well attended. 
The races take place in the last week of June. There are 
some ruins of churches of remote antiquity. 

Pop. 1217. Fairs: March 25, May 3, June 24, and 
Oct. 18. 

Seats : Samerville, the residence of Sir Marcus Soiner- 
ville, on the hanks of the Nanny Water ; Athcame Castle, 
romantically situated in the midst of trees, is a large square 
building, and in good preservation. It is said King James 
slept in this castle on the night previous to the battle of 
the Boyne. 



No. 80. From Dublin to DUNFANAGHY. First 
Road. Through Cavan, Maqu ire's Bridge, and 

Enniskillen. 



DubUn Castle to Miles. 

Black Bull Inn* 10} 

Ten Mile Bush 11J 

Dunaaaughttn 14 

Tarah'Hill 19 

Doudstown 

Navan 

Kells 

Vbginia 

Bally James Duff .... 

Cavan 

Butlert Bridge 

Wattle Bridge 

Newtown Butler 

Ijanaakea 

llagttfrea Bitfge 

Lbbellaw 



... 90| 

... 23| 

... at 

... 40ft 

... 45* 

.. 54 

... 57 

... 63* 

... 65* 

... 70* 

... 72* 

.... 75* 

... 78* 

ChurohHUl 88* 



Dublin CasUs to Miles. 

BelleekTown 97* 

Ballyahannon 101ft 

Ballintra 105| 

Laghy 108ft 

Donegal HI 

Mount Charles 114 

Inver U7 

The Port 116ft 

Killybeg* 183* 

Ardara 131* 

Nartn 186* 

Steand 1381 

ShaUagan Bridge 144 

Gibbarrow River 146 

Dunglo 159 

GtaydoroBiver 1884 

Gortahuxk 168* 

Dunfanaghy W* 



264 No. 80. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 

TEN MILE BUSH is a village of East Meath. 

DUNSHAUGHLIN, a post town in Ea8t Meath. It 
has a church and a school. Two miles and a half from 
DunshaughKn is Killeen Cattle the seat of the Earl of 
FingaL The church of Killeen contains several monu- 
ments of the Plunkett family. One mile from Killeen is 
Dunsany Castle, the seat of Lord Dunsany. 

Pop. 918. Fairs: May 13, June 11, Oct. 14, and Nov. 10. 

TAR AH, in East Meath, is seated on a high hill 
commanding the adjacent plain. The village church is 
now the principal object. Tradition derives the name 
of this place from the palace of Ollamh Fodlha, a prince 
who reigned here at the time of the Republic of Rome, 
but some antiquaries insist that no palace ever existed on 
this spot. The Irish princes were formerly crowned at 
Tarah, and here the triennial assemblies of the states 
took place till the middle of the sixth century. On the 
south side of the hill is a moat or fort thrown up by Tur- 
gesius the Dane, from which strong position the rebels 
were driven with great loss in May, 1798. 

Seats : Newhall, Ardsalla, the seat of Earl Ludlow, 
and some other neat mansions adorn the adjacent district. 
Lismullen, the seat of the Dillon family, is two miles 
distant Beyond Tarah, and three miles from Navan, is 
Ballinter, situated on the south bank of the Boyne. 

NAVAN, a market and post town of East Meath, is 
pleasantly seated at the junction of the Blackwater and 
the Boyne. On the banks of the river is Blackcastle, the 
demesne of John Ruxton, Esq., and opposite are the 
extensive flax mills of Mr. Blundell. It is governed by a 
Portreve, and has a very handsome Tholsel. Two good 
stone bridges afford an easy communication between the 
different parts of the town, and the main streets cross 



No. 80. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 265 

each other. Tbe church is a beautiful modern structure, 
and there is a handsome Roman Catholic chapel, as well 
as a Catholic seminary, a county infirmary, and a court 
house. The barracks occupy the site of a house of regular 
canons, and in the abbey yard are some curious tombs 
with sculptured figures. This town was walled by Hugh 
de Lacy. It has a communication by canal with Drogheda, 
and carries on a considerable trade in corn and flour, and 
has several extensive flour mills. 

Near Navan are Athlumny church and castle; the 
latter is a splendid ruin, having been destroyed by fire 
during the civil wars. Two miles beyond Navan is Ard- 
braccan, with an episcopal palace, erected from designs by 
the late J. Wyatt : it is built of limestone found in the 
vicinity. Close to it is Liscartan Castle. In the burial 
ground of Ardbraccan church may be seen a tablet in 
memory of Bishop Pococke the traveller, and the tomb of 
Bishop Montgomery, with rudely- sculptured figures. One 
mile from Navan is Donaghmore church, and on an emi- 
nence there, near the road leading to Slieve, is a round 
tower 70 feet high, remarkable for a cross engraved on the 
keystone of the doorway. This singularity is an argument 
in favour of the supposition that these famous towers were 
dedicated to religious purposes. To the north-east of 
Navan is Dunmow Castle, originally built by De Lacy, 
and defended for the royal party by Captain Power, in 
1641.' Pop. 4416, Market days: Wednesday and Satur- 
day. Fairs : Easter Monday, Trinity Monday, Sept 14, 
and Dec. 7. Irms : the Ludlow Arms ; the Black Lion. 

KELLS is a market and post town of East Meath, 
pleasantly situated on the Blackwater. It is a very ancient 
town, and was early fortified by the English. Its govern- 
ment is vested in a sovereign, who appoints a deputy. 

A A 



No* 80. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 267 

Headfort the town is improving daily. Two miles beyond 
Virginia is Zurgan church. Pop. 930. Fairs : Jan. 24, 
March 6, May 11, July 9, Aug. 22, Sept. 23, Nov. 21, and 
Dec 20. 

BALLY JAMES DUFF is a neat village and post town 
of Cavan, near which is a lough. Pop, 863. Fairs: 
Monthly. 

CAVAN, the county town of Cavan, is seated on the 
river of the same name, and was formerly a borough re- 
turning one member to the Irish Parliament. It is 
governed by a sovereign, and deputy sovereign. It has a 
large school of royal endowment, a modern church, a 
Roman Catholic chapel and meeting house built by Lord 
Farnham the proprietor of the town, a town hall, a hand- 
some court house, a gaol, and barracks. Here also is the 
county infirmary. The gardens fronting the principal inn 
were designed and completed at the sole expense of the 
late Countess of Farnham, and evince very great taste. 
They are open to the public, except on Sunday; to the 
inhabitants. they afford a delightful promenade. 

Seat : Farnham, the residence of Lord Farnham, is a 
noble mansion two miles from Cavan ; it is surrounded by 
several lakes, the banks of which abound with romantic 
scenery. 

Kilmore, two miles south-west of Cavan, is the seat of 
the Bishop of Kilmore ; the cathedral is remarkable as the 
smallest in Ireland. Near it is Lough Outer, on a small 
island of which ore vestiges of an ancient castle, noted 

as the prison of Bishop Bedell during the rebellion in 

1641. The islands on this lake are covered with wood. 
Pop. 2031. Market day.: Tuesday. Fairs : Feb. 1, 

April 20, May 14, June 30, Aug. 14, Sept. 25, and Nov. 12. 

Itm : the Farnham Arms. 



268 No. 8a. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY, 

BUTLER'S BRIDGE is a village of Cavan, on the 
Ballyhays river. Pop. 211. Fairs: Monthly. 

WATTLE BRIDGE is a village of Fermanagh, on the 
bank of the Fin, near which, and opposite to the mansion 
of Castle Saunderson, are some Druidical stones. A mile 
beyond this village is the spire of St Mary's, and a short 
distance farther are two loughs. 

NEWTOWN BUTLER is a village of Fermanagh, in 
which the church is conspicuous. It gives the title of 
Baron to the Earl of Lanesborough. 

Pop. 412. Fair*: Monthly. 

LISNASKEA is a post town of Fermanagh, and is 
much improved by Mr. Creighton, the proprietor. 

Pop. 430. Fairs : Monday before Good Friday, Mon- 
day after Ascension, and Oct 10. 

MAGUIRE'S BRIDGE, a small market town in Fer- 
managh, stands on a stream running into Lough Erne from 
the north. In this lake, which is three miles distant, is 
seen Belittle, a beautiful mansion built on a large island, 
planted and embellished with great taste. From an 
elevated temple there is a noble prospect of the charming 
lake and its numerous islands. This town has a Pres- 
byterian and a Methodist meeting house, besides a Roman 
Catholic chapel. Four miles distant is the seat of Sir 
Henry Brooke of Colebrooke. 

Pop. 854. Market day : Wednesday, chiefly corn. Fairs : 
First Wednesday of every month. 

LISBELLAW, in Fermanagh, is a village seated upon 
a stream flowing from the north-east into Lough Erne. 
Castlecoole, the seat of the Earl of Belmore, considered the 
finest house in the modern style in Ireland, is situated 
between this and Enniskillen. 



No. 80. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 269 

Pop. 242L Fairs : May 11, June 20, July 20, Aug. 18, 
Oct 12, Nov. 10, sad Dec. 23. 

ENNISKIXLEN, the county town of Fermanagh, is 
pleasantly situated on the strait which connects the two divi- 
sions of Iiough Erne, a. lake which has been called the Wi- 
nandermere of Ireland. To the west of the town, Lough 
Maenean is also seen in the distance. The Emaiskillen 
dragoons were highly distinguished in the war of the 
Revolution, and their reputation has been maintained in 
recent times. The town was successfully maintained 
against the besieging army of James II. One of the re- 
doubts may still be seen. On the north and south sides 
of Ennisl^len are. handsome bridges connecting the town 
with the mainland at each end of the island, also the 
barracks, castle, county infirmary, county gaol, and market 
house, over which is a ball-room. The church is an 
ancient building with a tower ; and near the town, situated 
on Portora hill, is Eoniskillen school, a spacious building, , 
supported by a grant of King Charles I. of lands, amounting 
to nearly 3000/. per annum. There are also a Roman 
Catholic chapel, several meeting houses, and schools. This • 
town returns a member to parliament The Earl of Ennis- 
kulen's splendid 6eat, Florence Court, is noticed at No. 186. 

Enniskillen is governed by a provost and burgesses; it 
is rapidly improving, and its linen trade considerable ; no 
lesa than three newspapers are published here. 

Pop. 6056. Market day ; Thursday. Fairs : Oct. 26, 
and 10th of each month. Inns: the White Hart Hotel, 
and Bull's Hotel. 

This is an excellent station for the admirer of delightful 
scenery : by taking a boat here he may proceed on, either 
lake to the most interesting spots amidst the placid stillness 
of the waters. Devenish island and its antiquities may 

A A 3 



270 No. 80. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY, 

be surveyed ere the sun attain its meridian, when the em- 
bowered ruins of castle Hume will afford a shady retreat. 
The upper lake is more bold and effective ; but from its 
eastern banks, the lower has peculiar charms, when sinking' 
in the west, the sun imparts every warm tint to the glim- 
mering sky, whilst the blue haze, congenial to the lake, 
mistifies its fading shores. (See also Belturbet, No. 91.) 

CHURCH HILL is a post town of Fermanagh. The 
church has a good square steeple. On the shore of Lough 
Erne, a mile from this place, are some castle ruins ; and 
five miles distant is Castle Caldwell, a superb seat at the 
foot of a large mountain in the Turaw range. Fronting 
the castle is the promontory of Ross-a-Ooul, in a fine 
cduntry almost surrounded by mountains ; the vicinity ie 
richly wooded, and in the bays of the Lough are some fine 
islands. The octagon temple is seen from the water, with 
a great wood in the rear. A considerable butter market 
is held here which begins on the first Wednesday in July, 
and continues until Christmas. 

Pop. 175. Market day : Wednesday. Fairs : May 14, 
Aug. 30, and Nov. SO. 

B&LLEEK is a small town of Fermanagh, finely 
situated on the north of the great channel by which Lough 
Erne discharges its waters into the bay of Donegal. Here 
is a good bridge thrown across the river, which below 
Belleek town makes a fall of twenty feet, forming a most en- 
chanting prospect, enriched by trees and rocky precipices. 
Just beyond this town we enter the county of Donegal 

Pop. 260. Fairs : Feb. 3, May 17, June 19, Aug. 8, 
and Oct 10. 

BALLYSHANNON is a town of Donegal, situated on 
the river flowing out of Lough Erne, and built on 
heights both on the north and south side of the water. 



No. 80. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 271 

Its bridge of fourteen arches is magnificent, and the 
Bcenery of the vicinity is extremely picturesque. The 
ruined castle of the great O'Donnel is seen here. The 
famous salmon-leap of Ballyshannon is a fell of a wide 
body of water, twelve feet only in height, but very beauti- 
ful; large quantities of fish are caught, and the salmon 
fishery is farmed of the proprietor; the curing-house is 
seen on a rock in the centre of the stream. The views of 
the sea beheld in perspective between the hills and rocky 
banks of the river are grand, and the harbour below the 
town is good. Ballyshannon has handsome barracks, a 
market house, a neat church, a Roman Catholic chapel, 
and a dispensary. There is a large distillery in the town. 
It returned members to the Irish Parliament as an ancient 
borough. Ashroe Abbey, half a mile distant, is a fine ruin, 
with some remains of its cloisters. 

Pop, 3775. Market day: Friday. Fairs: Monthly. 
Inns : Cassidy*s, Boyle's, and Brown's. 

BALLINTRA is a small town of Donegal. Beyond it 
is Dromehome Church; and a mile from Ballintra is Brown 
Hall, with a truly-romantic demesne, in which a rapid 
torrent forces its obscure course through the earth with 
the hollow sound of subterraneous cascades. 

Pop. 439. Fairs: Feb. 1, March 25, May 20, July 31, 
Oct 31, and Nov. 24. 

DONEGAL, a post town of Donegal, was an Irish 
borough, but lost its elective franchise at the Union, and 
consequently something of its importance. The romantic 
scenery of its environs is, however, unimpaired. It lies 
in a hollow, among lofty hills, with lakes and fine old trees 
to enrich the scene. The old castle, once the O'Donnels', 
but now the property of the Earl of Arran, and the 
bridge across the stream flowing out of Lottgh Esk, are 



272 No. 8a DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 

worthy of notice. The market house is a good building t 
the church is erected on the site of the old abbey, and there 
is a Roman Catholic chapel, about a mile from the town. 

The river Eak issues from a lake about three mile* in 
length and one in breadth, hemmed in by Ross mountain, 
and other steep ridges ; it then takes its rapid course 
through a ravine between the high slopes of Barnmoo* 
and a heathy precipice on the opposite bank. Char are 
caught in the Lough and river. To the north are Loughs ; 
Eask and Mourne, and to the south-east the celebrated but 
dreary Lough Derg, with its island covered -with the ruins of 
chapels, and its purgatory, said to have been founded by 
St. Patrick ; it is a narrow cave, 16 feet in- length, by two 
in width, and so low that a tall man could not walk upright 
in it. This cave was shut up in 1630) but in the reign 
of James II. the spot was again resorted to, and a. new. 
one was excavated, which however was also closed in 1760, 
by order of the prior. The building now erected is the 
prison or chapel, used by the penitents. The station 
begins on the 1st of June, and continues till the 15th of 
August, and it is calculated that nearly 20,000 pilgrims 
visit this spot annually. The bay affords some exceedingly 
beautiful views, and is a good fishing station. Adjoining, 
Donegal, are the ruins of a Franciscan abbey, founded 
in 1474, and at a short distance is a noted Spa, said to 
resemble that of Harrowgate. 

Pop. 830. Market day : Saturday. Fairs : Last Wed- 
nesday in Jan. and Feb., March 17, April 9, May 5 and 29, 
July 9, Sept. 4 and 30, Oct 28, Nov. 25 and 28, and last 
Wednesday in Dec. Inn : Dillon's. 

MOUNT CHARLES is a pleasant village in Donegal, 
on the river Inver. Here is a fine seat of the Marquess 
of Conyngham. Pop. 508. 



No. 80. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 273 

INVER, on the river of this name, has a modern 
church and the ruins of an old abbey. 

KILLYBEGS is a post town of Donegal, with an 
excellent harbour, which is principally advantageous for 
the fishery, as great shoals of herrings visit the coast 
There is a church and a school house. A Franciscan 
house, founded by M 'Sweeney ; an ancient castle ; and the 
beauty of the coast, are the objects of greatest interest 

Pop. 724. Fairs: Jan. 15, Easter Monday, June 26, 
Aug. 12, and Nov. 12. 

ARD ARA is a village and post town of Donegal, at the 
head of a Bay. It has a good church. Pop. 456* 

NARIN is a village, built on a promontory of the Done- 
gal coast Off this shore is seen the Island of Enniskill, 
on which is an ancient chapel in ruins, and a holy well. 
Its founder, St Conal, was slain here in 590. Here a 
road traverses Donegal to the right by Fintown to 
Lifford, whilst the coast route to Gortahurk continues to 
present every variety of bay, green mountain, and rugged 
precipice. 

DUNGLO is a sequestered fishing village, situated in 
the Rosses, at the head of a creek, and chiefly known as 
the market for the supply of the town and Island of Rut- 
land, which being one of the north isles of Arran, is seen 
from this haven. The only buildings are a church, mill, 
and some convenient dwellings. The Island of Rutland 
which gives the name to a post town, is three miles from 
Dunglo. On this island were formerly many considerable 
works, but they are now almost covered with sand, and 
the post office is removed to the main land ; the attempt 
to improve the fishery under Parliamentary support having 
failed. 

GORTAHURK is a village of Donegal, at the head of 



274 No. 81. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 

a bay. In the offing there is a good view of Magheralin 
and Tory inlands ; there axe seven chapels, and the walla, 
of an abbey on Tory Island, distant nine miles from the 
coast Beyond Gortahurk is Cloghaneely church. 

DUNFANAGHY is a village of Donegal, seated on a 
cove of an extensive harbour called Sheephaven, and at a 
short distance from North Cape. Near it is Horn Head, 
where there is a natural perforation in the roof of a cava 
of the dins, which are sixty-two feet high. This funnel is 
called M'Swein's Gun, and the surge of the Atlantic ocean, 
when impelled in boisterous weather into this cavern, 
with a roar heard at a great distance, issues forth at the 
summit of the cliffy and often exhibits a curious water- 
spout of some elevation. The castle of M'Sweeny ia 
repaired and inhabited* 

Pep. 464. Fairs : Thursday after Whit-Sunday, Aug. 5, 
Oct 2, and Nov. 17. 



No. 81, From Dublin to DUNFANAGHY. Through 
DaooHEDA, Monaghan, and Raphoe. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle U> UXUs. 

Drogheda* atfctNo.l S3* Letterkenny 113* 

Cwtl*B]ajiMr*,aftatKo.7. *U KUmaciwnaii 118*- 

Liffoid* watNo.143 102* Glen 194* 

Raphoe 107 Dun|aiu«hj» 138* 

RAPHOE is a small and neat post town in Donegal; 
until lately it was a bishop's see, founded in the sixth cen- 
tury ; but, by the late Act reducing the number of prelates 
in the Protestant church, it is merged in Deny diocese. 
The cathedral is used as the parish church, and the episco- 
pal residence, formerly a castle, which was besieged in the 



No. 81. DUBLIN TO DUNFANAGHY. 275 

great rebellion of 1641, is now a beautiful mansion. An 
ancient abbey was founded here by St Golumb, and a round 
tower once stood upon the hill. The principal buildings 
are the market house, and a royal school, founded by King 
Charles I., which has an extensive library attached to it ; 
and there is an asylum, or widow's house, endowed by 
Bishop Foster, a meeting house, and a dispensary. Pop. 
1408. Market Day ; Saturday. Fairs : May 1, June 22, 
Aug. 27, and Nov. 4. 

LETTERKENNY is a market and post town of Done- 
gal, on the Swilly, which falls into the south end of Lough 
Swilly. The vicinity is picturesque, and there are moun- 
tains between this place and the north-west coast of the 
county. Letterkenny possesses a market house, a church, 
a Roman Catholic chapel, several meeting houses, and a 
dispensary. The town is the property of Lord Southwell, 
and has a good trade in corn, linen, and yarn. Pop. 2168. 
Market-day : Friday. Pairs : May 12, July 10, Aug. 14, 
and Nov. 8. 

KILMACRENAN is a post town of Donegal. The 
parish church is a portion of the abbey founded here by 
St Column. A stream passing this place joins Lough 
Swilly at Rathmelton. In the direction of Glen Inn is 
Lough Salt, singularly situated on the summit of a moun- 
tain, and surrounded with crags and rocks, 

GLEN, a post town, near the head of Sheep Haven, in 
Donegal. Two miles beyond the village are the ruins of a 
strong castle, and three miles farther is BaUymore church, 
«nd an old castle, near a mountain, about two miles from 
Duafanaghy. 



276 



No. 82. From Dublin to DUNGANNON. Through 
Dundalk, Market Hill, and Charlemont. 

Dublin CatUe to Miles. Dublin Castle to Mites'. 

Dundalk* as at No. 1. • •• 40| Charlemont* 68* 

Armagh *, as at No. 6 62i Dungannon* 78| 

Blackwater Town * 66* 



No. 83. From Dublin to DUNGARVAN. First 
Road. Through Carlow, Gowran, and Carrick- 
on-Suir. 

Dublin Cattle to MUa. Dublin Castle to MUa. 

Leighlin Bridge*, as at Kilmaganny 06& 

No. 27 45 Carrick-on-Suir 74* 

Gowran* 62 Kilmacthomas 82* 

Knocktopher 61 1 Dungarvan 96 

Newmarket 63} 

Bennet's Bridge, a village in Kilkenny, is five miles 
beyond Gowran, and is famed as the place where, in 1704, 
a great review was held by the Duke of Ormond, at which 
there was such a concourse of people, that numerous tents 
were erected in the fields for the gentry who flocked thither. 
Ballinabola Castle is seen in ruins two miles before Bennet's 
Bridge. Beyond Bennet's Bridge are Anamult Castle and 
Ennisnag Castle, also in ruins. Pop. 426. 

KNOCKTOPHER, a post town in Kilkenny, was a 
borough until the Union. It is pleasantly situated on a 
stream which flows into the Nore, and possesses some 
remains of an abbey founded in 1356. Pop. 475. Fair, 
on Whit-Monday. 

Seat: Mount Juliet, earl of Carrick. This splendid 
mansion is surrounded by a beautiful park, with extensive 



No. 83. DUBLIN TO DUNGARVAN. 277 

groves on the banks of the Nore river ; on a green hill are 
seen some artificial ruins ; and across the river is an old 
castle, also in ruins. 

NEWMARKET, in Kilkenny. A mile beyond this 
thriving village is Castle Morres, the demesne of the Mount- 
inorres family ; the grounds attached to this fine seat are 
well planted, and extensive. The house was built from 
designs by Mr. Bindon. At Aghavillar, in the vicinity, 
are the remains of a castle and an abt>ey. The latter con- 
tains the vault of the Mountmorres family. Pop. 110. 

K ILMAGANN Y is a village in. Kilkenny. Near it are 
the ruins of Cluan Castle. Pop. 514. Fairs : Easter Tues- 
day, and Sept 4. 

CARRICK-ON-SUIR is a market and post town of 
Tipperary ; but a portion of it is beyond the river, in the 
county of Waterford. Large sloops ascend the Suir to 
Carrick. Anciently there were town-walls to Carrick ; the 
old castle, erected on the site of a priory of St John the 
Evangelist, belonged to the Ormond family ; it is inhabited 
.by the sovereign of this town. The barracks are for two 
troops of cavalry. There is a considerable corn and butter 
trade. Some manufactories of coarse cloth, breweries and 
tanneries : it is rather a wealthy place, but for the last few 
years somewhat on the decline. There is a good market 
house, a handsome church, a Roman Catholic chapel, a 
nunnery, and a bridewell. In the church is a fine monu- 
ment of the earl of Tyrone. The environs abound with 
villas, mansions, and ornamental parks, and the ground is 
well cultivated ; the scenery is also romantic, and above 
the other lofty eminences is seen the towering summit of 
Slievnemon Mountain. The conventual Franciscan chapel, 
having a fine tower, is situated in Carrick-beg, (or Little 
Carrick), in the adjoining county; the bridge is ancient 



27* No. 83. DUBLIN TO DUNGARVAN. 

Pop. 9620. Market day*: Wednesday and Saturday. 
fairs: last Thursday in January, February, March, April, 
July, September, November, December, Whit-Tuesday, 
and Aug. If. 

Seats : Bessborough, die mansion of the earl of Bessbo- 
rough, is three miles and a half distant, and is surrounded 
by a park of 500 acres. The house was erected in 1743, 
from designs by Mr. Bindon, and contains a fine collection 
of pictures. The hall ia adorned with four fine columns of 
Kilkenny marble. His lordship has here set an example 
by building a number of pretty cottages for the peasantry, 
adorned with shrubs and flowers. Belline, one mile 
from Bessborough, was the seat of the late Mr. Walsh, 
a liberal patron of the arts. Three miles from Carrick-on- 
Suir is the neat village and post town of Pilltown in Kil- 
kenny, belonging to the Ponsonby family : it has a good 
market house, and behind it is a commodious quay and 
dock-yard, to which the navigation of the Pill extends, 
and from which the village takes its name. A bridge has 
been built over a small stream, which flows into the Pill, 
for the purpose of avoiding a hill on the Waterford road, 
which now runs on by the right-hand corner of the hotel. 
There is a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and school 
houses, and an excellent museum, founded by Mr. Anthony, 
the spirited proprietor of the hotel. 

KILMACTHOMAS, a post town in Waterford, is a 
village on the Maghan river. It has barracks, and an 
ancient castle, which belonged to the Power family, and a 
few miles beyond it are the ruins of Fat Cattle and Bally - 
cherogue Castle. Three miles from Kilmacthomas, a small 
coHege has been erected by Philip F. Barron, Esq., of 
Waterford, for the cultivation of the Irish language, and 
the ancient history of Ireland. This college is situated in 



No. 83. DUBLIN TO DUNGARVAN. 279 

a glen near the sea Bide, and is a neat Gothic building. 
There are also valuable copper mines, about four miles 
from the town. Pop. 982. Fairs: May 12, Aug. 12, and 
Dec. 6. 

DUNGARVAN, a post town in Waterford, is an ancient, 
and now a populous seaport, situated on Dungarvan Bay. 
The banks lying near this coast have always afforded faci- 
lities to the extensive fishery carried on by the townspeople. 
Dungarvan has a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, session* 
house and market house. The town is situated uponthe beach, 
and from the mountain above it appears as if it stood in 
the water; it is much resorted to for sea-bathing; the 
mountains extend to the verge of the county, near Youghali 
Bay. The corporation, governed by a sovereign, had some 
extensive privileges granted to it by James I. The remains 
of its extensive castle are converted into a barrack : here 
also are to be seen the ruins of several monasteries. Across 
the river is the ruined Augustine Friary, founded in 1295 ; 
its steeple is sixty feet in height; near the altar is seen the 
curious monument of Donald Magrath, buried in 1400, and 
the Gothic arch, which supports the tower, is worthy of 
notice. Dungarvan is a borough town, returning a mem- 
ber to parliament The bridge has been completed, but a, 
former expensive attempt, by the late Duke of Devonshire, 
to rebuild it, was frustrated, by the abutments and founda- 
tions failing. Pop. 6527. Market-days; Wednesday and 
Saturday. Fairs: Feb. 7, June 22, Aug. 27, and Nov. 8. 
Inn : the Devonshire Arms. 



280 

No. 84. From Dublin to DUNGARVAN. Second 
Road. Through Carlow and Waterford. 

Dublin Castle to Mile*. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Leigfalin Bridge*, as at Mullinavat 68 

No.27 45 Waterford 74* 

Oowmn 62 Kilmacthomaa* 86 

Thonuwtown 68| Dnngarran* 981 

GOWRAN, a post town in Kilkenny, situated on a 
river which joins the Barrow, is a borough, which formerly 
returned members. In the burial-ground of the church, 
which is in ruins, the officers of the castle, who were 
shot by order of Cromwell, for their brave defence, were 
interred. There are several ancient ruins near it 

Pop. 1009. Fairs: March 8, May 9, Aug. 10, Oct 6, 
and Dec. 8. 

Seat: Gowran Castle, Viscount Clifden, a handsome 
modern mansion, from designs by Mr. Robinson. 

THOMASTOWN is a small market and post town of 
Kilkenny, seated on the river Nore, over which is a hand- 
some bridge : it was a borough until the Union. In the 
ruined abbey there is a large tomb, said to be that of an 
Irish king; it is traditionally called the Giant's tomb : a fine 
tower of this abbey remains at one angle, and there are 
some beautiful arches ; the church is a portion of this 
ancient building, kept in repair. The castle built here in 
1180, belonged to Thomas Fitz Anthony, a baron of 
Henry II., and from him the town takes its name. Thomas- 
town possesses a Roman Catholic chapel, the altar of which 
was brought from Jerpoint Abbey ; a court house and gaol, 
and a free school, erected in 1824, by the Earl of Carrick. 
Pop. 2871. Market days: Monday and Friday. Fairs: 
March 17, May 25, June 29, and Sept 15. 

Seats: Mount Juliet, the Earl of Carrick ; and Kilfane , 



No. 84. DUBLIN TO DUNGARVON. 281 

Mr. Power ; both remarkable for the luxuriance of the 
evergreens which adorn the parks. At Kilfane are some 
very fine paintings. 

At Jerpoint, not quite one mile and a half beyond Tho- 
mastown, are the ruins of the magnificent abbey founded 
by O'Donoghue, King of Ossory, in 1180. From Jerpoint. 
it is eight miles, by the direct road, to Mullinavat ; but. 
there is a road to the right hand, a mile farther, proceeding 
from Jerpoint, through Ballyhale, to Mullinavat and 
Waterfbrd. 

MULLINAVAT. Half way to this village is the large 
ruin of Bungan Castle, and within two miles the ruins of 
another castle. 

WATERFORD is a city and large seaport, and is the 
capital of the county of Waterford. It is situated on the. 
south bank of the Suir, about four miles from its junction 
with the Barrow, and carries on a very extensive trade, 
particularly with Newfoundland, in the export of pork, 
bacon, butter, lard, corn, and flour. It is also noted for 
its manufacture of glass ; and has breweries, foundries, and 
salt-houses. The harbour is about eight miles long, and 
is about seven fathoms deep, and vessels of 800 tons may 
come up close to the quay. The entrance to the port is 
commanded by Duncannon Fort, situated towards the sea, 
about seven miles from the city, on the opposite shove of 
the harbour, and below the junction of the Barrow with the 
Suir, which river is, at full tide, nearly a quarter of a mile 
wide; its banks are beautified by villas and plantations, and 
Christendom church and the fine trees about it are reflected 
in its waters. 

The streets are in general narrow, but the quay is 
spacious, and is nearly a mile long; at its extremity is 
Reginald's Tower, supposed to have been erected by a 

BB 3 



282 No. 84. DUBLIN TO DUNGARVAN. 

Danish prince of that name in 1003; converted into a 
dungeon by Earl Strongbow in 1171; was the seat of a 
mint established by Edward IV. in 1463, and was bom- 
barded in 1643 by Cromwell, one of whose balls, it is said, 
is still visible near its summit. The form of this tower is 
circular : it constituted the east abutment of the city walls : 
it is now a polioe station. 

The principal public edifices are the Bishop's Palace, 
built of stone, the Exchange, the Town Hall, the County 
and City Prisons, and Court Houses, the Custom House, 
and the Bridge, 832 feet long, and forty wide, built 
of American oak, by Mr. Samuel Cox, architect, of Boston, 
in America. It crosses the river Suir, which divides 
Waterford from Kilkenny. Waterford is an episcopal see, 
to which that of Lismore has been united. The cathedral 
was founded by the Ostmen, but the present edifice is 
modern : it has a fine steeple, and the interior is hand- 
somely fitted up. There are also three parish churches, 
four Roman Catholic chapels, one of which, called the 
Trinity, is handsome ; several meeting houses, and nume- 
rous charitable institutions, including a fever hospital and 
a house of industry, a dispensary, and a mendicant asylum. 

Waterford formerly possessed several monastic buildings, 
the principal of which were the Priory of St John, founded 
in 1185, by King John, who had his residence in this city ; 
St Saviour's Friary, founded in 1226, and the Augustine 
Convent, of which the steeple remains, built by Hugh, Lord 
Purcel. There is an existing monastery. 

This city is governed by a mayor, recorder, and sheriffs, 
and returns two members to parliament. The elections for 
the county take place here. It was formerly strongly for- 
tified, but fell before the arms of Cromwell, and was also 
taken by William III. Waterford gives the title of Mar- 



No. 84. DUBLIN TO DUNGARVAN. 283 

quess to the Beresford family : Clonegan Tower, erected in 
Curraghmore park, to the memory of a brother of the late 
lord, is 72 feet high. 

Government steam mail packets start every morning at 
five from Dunmore east for Mil ford Haven, performing 
the passage in about twelve hours. The harbour at 
Dunmore East, the packet station, is very extensive ; it is 
enclosed by a pier about 1100 feet in length, stretching 
into the Atlantic. At the extremity of the quay is a hand- 
some light-house, the design of which is taken from the 
pillars of the Temple of Paestum. There are also steamers 
to Bristol and Liverpool twice a week, and to Cork and 
Dublin. The exports have greatly increased. 

Pop. 28,821. Market days : Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs : May 4, June 24, and Oct. 25. Hotels : Commin's ; 
the Commercial ; the Bridge ; the Chamber of Commerce ; 
and the Packet 

Seats : Curraghmore, Marquess of Waterford : this mag- 
nificent demesne is extremely picturesque, and commands a 
noble prospect of the Suir : it consists of 4500 acres, and 
has much fine timber. Strangers wishing to visit the grounds 
of Curraghmore, should not fail to procure an order for ad- 
mission from the agent of the Marquess at Waterford. His 
Lordship has caused designs to be prepared by F. Goodwin, 
for a splendid crescent, and other buildings. The village 
of Mayfield is situated three miles from Waterford, where 
also is the extensive cotton factory of Messrs. Malcolmson, 
which employs upwards of a thousand persons. 

New Geneva, Dunmore, the Hook Tower, on the Wexford 
point of the entrance to the harbour, and the sea-bathing 
town of Tramore, a post town, in the county of Waterford, 
are the usual excursions from Waterford, Tramore is a 
pleasant village, having assembly rooms, a market house, 



28* No. 86. DUBLIN TO DUNGLO. 

a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and convenient inns. 
It is seated on Tramore Bay, six miles from Water- 
ford. Grandison Castle, on the banks of the Suir, near 
Waterford, is a fine and picturesque ruin ; and the vale of 
Carnock is considered by some superior to any in Wales. 

Pop. 2224. Fairs are held at Tramore on May 3, July 
25, Oct 1, and Nov. 1. 



No. 85. From Dublin to DUNGARVAN. Third 
Road. Through Carlow and Clonmel. 
Dublin Castle to Mil*. Dublin Cattle to Miiet, 
Ckromel*, a* at No. 27 81) Dongai-ran* 100 



No. 86. From Dublin to DUNGLO. Through Stra- 
bane, Castle Fin, and Fin Town. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Drogheda* as at No. 1 23* Stranorlar 112* 

Castleblayney* a» at No. 7- • 61} Ballybofey 113* 

Strabane*, as at No. 143 • • • • 101ft Cloghan 118 J 

Liffoid* 102ft FlnTown 125| 

Castledn -•••• 107 Shallagan Bridge* 130ft 

KillygoTdon « 110 Dabglo* 138ft 

CASTLEFIN is a village and post town of Donegal, on 
the north bank of the River Fin. 

KILLYGORDON is in Donegal. A ruined castle is 
seen at the foot of a mountain, one mile and a quarter be- 
yond this village. 

Fairs: March 3, May 31, Aug. 31, Sept. 29, Noy. 10, 
and Dec. 1. 



No. 87. DUBLIN TO BNN1S. 285 

STRANORLAR is a pleasant market and post town of 
Donegal, on the north bank of the Fin. This fine stream 
runs parallel with the great road which traverses the centre 
of Donegal longitudinally from the lake near Fintown, as 
far as Lifford. It has a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, 
two meeting houses, a dispensary, and a school, and pos- 
sesses a good linen trade. At Stranorlar the road crosses 
the river to Ballybofey on the opposite side. 

Pop. 641. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: March 2jj, 
June 11, July 6, Aug. 12, Oct. 10, and Dec. 9. Inn : Greer's. 

BALLYBOFEY is a neat market town of Donegal, on 
the south bank of the Fin. Contiguous to the town are 
extensive bleach-works, and on the opposite side of the 
river is Drumbo Castle, a handsome modern mansion, be- 
longing to Sir S. Hayes. At a short distance also across 
the river is Wells Town. 

Pop. 874. Market day : Thursday. Fairs : on the last 
Thursday in January, February, and July ; Thursday be- 
fore Easter, May 21, and Dec. 21. Inn : Taylor's. 

CLOG HAN, a village and church, in the county of 
Donegal. 

FIN TOWN is a village of Donegal, situated near the 
egress of the river from Lough Fin. This lake is two miles 
in length ; and a mile from Fin Town is another small lake. 

Fairs: May 16, July 3, Sept. 3, and Nov. 3. 



No. 87. From Dublin to ENNIS. Fikst Road, 
Through Limerick. 

Dublin CasUe to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Limerick*, as at No. 3 94 Clare 1124 

Six-Mile Bridge 102} Ennis 1144 

Ardaallas • 106} 

Meelick Abbey, in Clare, is three miles and a quarter from 
Limerick. Bunratty CasHe is seen on the Shannon side ; 



286 No. 87. DUBLIN TO ENNIS. 

it was built in 1277, and belonged to the Earl of Thomand. 
tt was burnt in 1314, but is now restored and occupied bj 
Mr. Studdart. 

Pop. 1491. Fairs: May 6, June 19, and Dec* 5. 

SIX-MILE BRIDGE, in Clare, is a post town, on the 
small river Gearn, from which a road on the left-hand pro- 
ceeds through the village of Newmarket to Glare and Bonis, 
being three miles shorter than the old road through 
Ardsallas. 

AUDSALLAS, in Clare, is a neat village, with a castle 
in ruins. A mile from it are the elegant Gothic ruins of 
Quin Abbey, with handsome cloisters. 

Seat : Dromoland, Sir Edward O'Brien's, is situated close 
to the river Fergus : this fine mansion has very beautiful 
woods and a charming lake appertaining to it ; as well as 
a ruined castle, at the foot of a high hill. The Fergus is 
very broad at its junction with the Shannon. 

Fairs : May 12, and August 12. 

CLARE, giving name to the county, is a picturesque 
village, on the Fergus. On an island of this river is Clare 
Castle, used for a barrack. A mile farther is the venerable 
ruin of Clare Abbey, founded in 1195, by Donald O' Brien, 
King of Limerick. 

Pop. 1021. Fairs: Saturday before Whit-Sunday, Aug. 
17, Nov. 11. 

ENNIS, a post town, the capital of Clare, is situated on 
the Fergus. The church is a handsome modern structure, 
with a fine steeple, and close to it is the celebrated Francis- 
can Abbey, founded by O'Brien, Prince of Thomond, in 
1250, and considered the most elegant Gothic monastery in 
Ireland ; the windows are lofty, and are adorned with rich 
tracery. The other public buildings are the market house, 
town hall, court house : the Roman Catholic chapel, and 



No. 88. DUBLIN TO ENNIS. 287 

roethodist meeting house : the school on Erasmus Smith's 
foundation, the county gaol, the county infirmary, and the 
lunatic asylum. There is a considerable trade in corn, and 
the town has also a large flour mill and brewery, and exten- 
sive sales are made of linen and flannel, manufactured in 
the county. The town is governed by a provost, and 
returns one member to parliament 

At Callen Mountain, eight miles west of Ennis, may be 
seen the Oglamh or Druidical inscription : " Beneath this 
flag is interred Conan the turbulent and swift-footed," disco- 
vered in 1784, on a stone nearly eight feet long, by four 
broad, covering a tumulus. His death and burial are 
recorded by Ossian. 

The county of Clare was the ancient Thomond ; it is in 
the province of Munster, but once formed a part of Con- 
naught. Burr en, a post town, a barony in the north of the 
county, is exceedingly rocky. 

Pop. 7711. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: Saturday 
after Easter week, and Sept. 8. Inns: Stammer's and 
Carmody's. 



No. 88. From Dublin to ENNIS. Second Road. 
Through Shannon Bridge, Ballinaslob, and 
Louohrea. 
Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Casts to *«*• 

Kilbeggan*, as at No. 96-.- • 44* Aughrim 7& 

Ltaminy 46J Loughrea* $0 

Clara 48* Kilchreest 89 

Ballycamber oik Gort B9 

Ferbane 57 Tabberindonny 102* 

Shannon Bridge 65 Crusheen 105) 

Balliaatloe*. 7U Ennis* 112* 

L1SMINY is a village of King's County. On the road 
from Kilbeggan may be seen the ruin of Moycashitl Castle, 
and the River Brosna. 



288 No. 88. bUBLIN TO ENNIS. 

CLARA, in King's County, is a beautiful town by the 
Brosna, the banks of which are adorned by bleaching- 
greens. The chief objects in and near Clara are its church 
and the ancient castles of Erry and Kilcoursey, the latter 
being the name of the barony. In 1821, occurred in the 
vicinity of Clara, one of those extraordinary, phenomena 
termed moving bogs. The bog of KiimaXeady flowed in 
an uninterrupted course for three miles. 

Pop. 1149. Fairs: Feb. 1, May 12, July 25, and 
Nov. 1. 

BALLYCUMBER is a village in King's County, on 
the river Brosna. It has a church, and in the vicinity 
are several castellated ruins. 

Fairs : May 2, and Dec. 1. 

FERBANE is a post and fair town of King's County, 
pleasantly situated on the Brosna, and much celebrated 
for its antiquities. Cool Castle is seen near the Brosna 
River, on the road from Ballycumber; adjacent to Fer- 
bane also is the ruined castle of Killcolgan. The eccle- 
siastical remains at Clunmacnoise, and near Ferbane, 
have long engaged the attention of antiquaries. The 
cemetery, with the ruins of seven churches, is much 
famed as a holy place of sepulture, and contains tombs of 
many princes and chiefs, the ancient inscriptions of which 
are remarkable. The Abbey, built by St Kieran, is a 
ruin on an eminence, commanding a grand and delightful 
prospect of the Shannon ; this was in early ages the site 
of a. bishop's see, which now forms a part of the bishopric 
of Meath. The church of Feanpull Mac Dermot con- 
tains some remains of elegant architecture; its carved 
doors and statues, and its highly sculptured cross, in one 
block of stone fifteen feet in height, together with nume- 
rous monastic vestiges, deserve attention. There are 
several other ancient crosses : the shaft of the cross, in 



No. 88. DUBLIN TO ENNIS. 289 

two instances; is fixed in a square die of massive stone. 
Of the round towers near Ferbane and Clonmacnoise, the 
principal one is dilapidated ; it has its entrance twelve feet 
from the ground : the other round tower is small, but in 
•good* preservation. 

- Seats : Gallen, the fine demesne of A. Armstrong, Esq. j 
Kincor; Balylin ; Strawberry Hill, three miles distant, 
formerly the residence of Mr. Coghlan. 

Pop. 501. Fairs : Aug. 2, and Oct 20. 

SHANNON BRIDGE. Here King's County termi- 
nates, and is bounded by Galway and Roscommon. Near 
this place the river Suck falls into the Shannon. 
• AUGHRTM is a post town in the county of Galway, 
having a church and steeple, which are conspicuous on 
■all' sides from their fine situation. The priory of Aughrim, 
•for canons regular, was founded here in the thirteenth 
century, and was granted to Richard, Earl of Clanricarde. 
The battle of Aughrim, fought on the 12th of July, 1691, 
between General . Ginkell (afterwards created Earl of 
Athlone) and the Irish army, commanded by St Ruth, 
4i French. general, who was slain in the action, decided 
the contest, which had been prolonged with much spirit by 
the Irish after the flight of James II. from the Boyne. 
'The Irish army occupied a position upon Kilcommodon 
Hill. 

Pop. 587. Fain: May 9, June 21, Oct 14, Nov. 22, 
and Dec. 1. - . 

KILCHREE$T, in Galway, has a church. Near it are 
two old castles, one of which is two miles and a half distant 
'at KiUinan Church, 

Fain : Monday before Shrove Tuesday, May .1, June 24, 
and Oct 29. 

c c 



200 No. 89. DUBLIN TO ENN1S. 

GORT, inGalway, is a tfcwfving post town, the p roper ty 
of Visootmt Gort About two miles distant) attached t» 
the rained cathedral, which once was beautiful, is the 
jibbey of KiimocdmogK The see of Kilmacduagh is united 
with Clonfert The round tower, close to the cathedral, 
is 112 feet nigh, and 67 in circumference; it is above 
17 feet out of the perpendicular; and,, as a leaning towest, 
excites much observation. The Holy-well is surrounded 
by an inclosure. Gort also possesses a neat church, with 
a steeple, a Roman Catholic chapel, a court-house, and 
barracks. Three miles south-west is Lake Contra, one.ef 
most beautiful lakes in Ireland. 

The riveHsort is subterraneous, and there are several 
deep perforations of the earth filled by this stream r in 
one of which the water is above 60 feet in depth, and haw 
no outlet: the hollow, called the Churn, is also remark- 
able. Near it is Lough. Cooter Castle, the magnificent 
residence of Viscount Gort 

Pop, 3627* Market Day: Saturday. Mrs? May U>, 
Aug; 11, and Nov. 7. 

TUBBERINDONNY, a village in Galway. Near is 
are several ancient castles. 

Fairs : July 12, and Sept 90. 

CRUSHEEN, in Glare, has a lake, with a ruined castle 
at the extremity of the peninsula. 



No. 89. From Dublin to ENNIS. Third Road. 
Through Philipstown, Tullamoore, and Banagher. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Philipstown*, aa at No. 108- • 384 Pallas Inn* 51 

Ballintgar* 41 Frank**** 55$ 

TaUamoore* 46 Cloghan* «t 



No. 91. DUBLIN TO BNNISKILLBN. Stt 

JMafoCKilfeftt MUe$. iftittfe OMMe* Jftfaf. 
66* Oort» 100 



EyreCourt* 7H Tubberindonny * 104* 

Kilmure Bridge * T%\ Gnuheen *....«. .' M7I 

Longhrea* 88 EkaM •. Mis 

Kalohreetf' 91 



No. 90. From Dublin to ENNISKILLEN. Mail* 
Coach Road. Through Navan, Cavan, and J40- 

NASKEA,, 



Dublin to Knnfolrillen*, as at No. 80 



No. 91. From Dublin to ENNIg£ILLEN. Second 
Road. Through Nay an, Cavan, and Belturbet. 



DubHnOasOeta Jflfer. Dublin Castle to MUet. 

CaTan*,MatNo.80.— > 64 Callahill* 6f| 

Butler's Bridge* ™ w ... 67 EnnUkiUen* , 80 

Belturbet **~ 61* 

BEgSKHlBET, a post town in Cavan, is an ancient 
jMjpagh, disfranchised at the Union, and is governed by a 
provost. It is seated on the Erne River, not far from its 
influx into the upper lake ; and is an excellent situation 
for the traveller who wishes to visit the shores of Lough 
Erne, as both roads are at his choice. The church, having 
a tower with a spire, the barracks, and the town hall, are 
the modern edifices. There is also a Roman Catholic chapel 
a mile from the town, and a Methodist meeting-house, a 
flower-mill, a brewery, and a dispensary. There are ruins 
of the castle beyond Belturbet bridge, andof a fortification 



192 No. 91. DUBLIN TO ENNISKILLEN. 

beyond the church ; also an abbey on the bank of the river 
Erne, in the vicinity of the Lough. Great quantities of 
linen are made in the neighbourhood of Belturbet. The 
town is the property of the Earl of Lanesborough. 

Pop. 2026. Market Day : Thursday. Fairs: Ash 
Wednesday, May 21, Whit Tuesday, June 12, July 21, 
Sept 4. and Thursday after Nov. 12. 

Laugh Erne is a grand expanse of fresh water, divided 
into two parts, one forming a triangle fourteen miles by 
nine, the other being 1 Wn miles by six ; they are united by 
a crooked channel six miles long. Hundreds 6f islands, 
from a few yards in. extent, to several miles of surface, 
luxuriate in its waters, and hills that spring from the very 
bosom of the lake, rise on all sides, studded with gentle- 
men's residences, amidst rich plantations. Its effect is calm, 
cheerful? delicious : the epithet of Ireland's Windermere is 
not beyond its deserts. Its outlet is by a rapid stream, 
which at Ballyshannon tumbles over a ridge of rock into 
the sea. It possesses some extremely pretty islets at the 
southern extremity, and on every side receives rapid 
streams ; some of which are rendered the more interesting 
from having previously issued from Lough Machnean and 
other charming lakes : this great supply accounts naturally 
for the development of the lower lake, over a space of 
above twelve miles in width, after the tide has swept along 
in its narrow current past the town of Enniskillen. For 
its outlet, see the article on Ballyshannon. 

The celebrated islands of Lough Erne are well worthy 
of notice. The mansion of Bellisle possesses a charming 
island for a demesne ; and Castle Hume peers over its beau- 
tiful wood, surrounding a deep bay of the lake. Many 
islands, of either lake, exhibit very ancient monastic ruins. 
At Ittnis/naclisent, in the centre of twenty islands of Lough; 



No. 92. DUBLIN TO ENNISKILLEN. 298 

feme, was an abbey, founded by "St. Ninian ; another m 
CHnish Island; a third in Inniecawen; a fourth in Errois ; 
a fifth in Innis Rock; but the chief foundation was in 
Bevenish Island, near Enntskillen : this Augustine abbey 
was originally erected in the sixth century ; but, in conse- 
quence of destruction by fiTe, it was frequently re-built. 
St. Moylaise's House is an antique and arched building ; and 
his bed, so called, is also shown : adjoining, is Devenish 
round tower, built of hewn masses of black rock ; it is 70 
feet in height, and nearly 14 feet in diameter. 



No. 92. From Dublin to ENNISKILLEN. Third 
Road. Through Navan, Cavan, and Clones. 

DubUnCasOeta Miles, DubhnCasOsto Miles. 

Kells*, as at No. 80. 31} Drum - &W 

Moynalty 35* Clones 61* 

fcailieborough >•• 43 Borough 67$ 

Coronary * »• 47* EnnkkiUen* 79* 

CooteHiU 52* 

MOYNALTY, in Meath, is a village and post town, 
with a church, situated near a stream of the same name. 
Pop. 220. 

BAILIEBOROUOH, is a town of Cavan, on a branch 
of the river Blackw&ter. The dhurch commands a good 
view. Here is a Roman Catholic chapel, and meeting- 
houses, a sessions and market house, and a dispensary* 
On the side of a lough, at a short distance, is Baillie- 
borough Castle, and near it a chalybeate spring. 

Top. 1085. Market-day: Monday. Fairs: Feb. 17, 
May 17, June 15, August 17, Oct 14, and Nov. 17. 

CORONERY, is a village of Cavan. On the road side 
c c 3 



294 No* 92. DUBLIN TO ENN1SKILLEN: 

from Baitieborough are seen several pretty lakes ; and 
within a mile of Coronery, is Knockbride Bridge! its 
church is seen near another lough. 

COOTE-HILL is a market and post town of Cavan, 
seated on a river of the same name : it possesses a con- 
siderable linen manufacture, and has good breweries and 
distilleries, and an excellent inn. It has a neat market- 
house, a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and several 
meeting houses. 

Pop. 2239. Market Day : Friday. Fairs: monthly. 

Seats : BeUamount Forest, beautifully wooded, the de- 
mesne of Charles Coote, Esq. ; Dawson's Grove, a pleasant 
residence of Viscount Cremorne, surrounded by loughs ; 
iu the grounds is a stately mausoleum. 

DRUM is a village of Monaghan, one mile beyond the 
confines of Cavan : here are two loughs. About three 
miles beyond it is the church of Drumstoords. Fairs: 
monthly. 

CLONES, anciently pronounced Cluaneois, is a market 
and post town in Monaghan, possessing several interesting 
antiquities. Amongst them are the high rath, with a table 1 
top ; a second larger rath, now depressed, and of little ele- 
vation ; the ancient market cross ; the monuments in the 
abbey cemetery; the round tower, with walls four feet 
thick ; and the ruins of an Augustine abbey, once episco- 
pal, which was founded by St. Tigernach, a victim of the 
plague in 54-8. This abbey was rebuilt by the English in 
1212, and donnish castle was then erected. Clones has a 
handsome modern church, a Roman Catholic chapel, 
meeting houses, and a dispensary. Near the town is a. 
medicinal water, called the well of Granabuy, which cures 
the jaundice. There is a considerable and increasing trade, 
in corn. 



No. 93. DUBLIN TO ENNISTIMON. 29S 

/ty. 2381. Market-day: Thursday. . Fairs; last 
Thursday of each month. 

Seats: Lissnabruck is a mansion, near the lough side, 
on the road to Drumswords church ; Knock ballymore, 
Viscount Erne, is two miles from- Clones on the Donough 
road. ■ 

Donough is a village of Fermanagh, on a stream flowing 
into Lough Erne; here is a small lough, and a ruin of an 
ancient church. Fairs : July 10, and Aug. 26. 



No. 93. From Dublin to ENNISTIMON. First 
Road. Through Limerick and Ennim. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Limerick*, as at No. 3 94 Eniristimon 1274 

Ennis* as at No. 87 114} 

ENNISTIMON is a pleasant post town in Clare, situa- 
ted on a river of the same name, at the bottom of a bay 
on the western coast Close to it is a mansion of the 
O'Brien family. Three miles distant is Moyvore Castle'} 
near it also is IncJUquin Castle. Hag's Head Tromontory 
forms a stupendous land-mark on the coast of Clare. 
. Pop. 1430. Fairs : Mar. 25, May 15, July 2, Aug. 22 
Sep. 29, Nov. 19, and Dec. 12. 



396 No 94. DUBLIN TO ENNISTllfON. 



No. 94 From Dublin to ENNIST1MON. Second 
Road. Through Toomavara and Killaloe. 

DtfMn Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Toomarant* aaatNoa... 69* C&llaghan's Milk 96* 

Nenagh 7« Tulla 108 

Killaloe 86* Spancell Hill 107ft 

Bridgetown 901 Knnw* Ill 

BaUymalonj ffi* Ennktimon IB* 

Broadford 9fi* 

NENAGH is a market, post, and fair town of Tipperary, 
situated on a stream, which falls into Lough Derg. The 
castle, though in ruins, has still an appearance of strength, 
and its round keep is of solid masonry. Here also are the 
walls of the Franciscan monastery founded in the reign of 
Henry III., and of the ancient hospital, dedicated to St. 
John the Baptist. 

Nenagh has a neat church and Roman Catholic chapel, 
a court house, market house, barracks, and an endowed 
school. Outside the town, on the Dublin road, is a spring, 
over which is an inscription, commemorating the benevo- 
lence of the English nation to the poor of Ireland, in 
1822. 

Knochalion Cattle is a fine old building, two miles distant 
on the Toomavara road* 

Ppp.8406. Market-day : Thursday. Fair* s April 24, 
May 29, July 4, Sep. 4, Oct 10, and Nov. 1. Im: tat 
King's Arms. 

KILLALOE, a post town in Clare, is situated on the 
west bank of the Shannon, over -which is a bridge of nine- 
teen arches, forming an entrance to this ancient town. A 
ledge of rocks below the bridge interrupts the navigation, 
but there is a canal to facilitate the communication by 



No.. 04. DUBLIN TO ENNISTIMON. 297 

water between Limerick and Dublin. The vicinity is hilly, 
and a part of the town is built -on an eminence, occupying 
the western bank of this great river. The canal skirts the 
demesne of the Lord Bishop of Killaloe, whose palace and 
grounds are delightfully situated. The town has a fine 
salmon fishery, and is the head quarters of the Inland 
Steam Navigation Company, to whose enterprise the pros- 
perity of the town is much indebted ; there is a regular 
steam communication for goods and passengers up the 
Shannon, through Lough Derg, to Portumna, Banagher, 
and Athlone ; and by packet boat to Limerick, and from 
thence by steam to the sea. Still further accommodation 
js contemplated. . There are extensive slate quarries in 
the neighbourhood, well worthy of a visit The antiquities 
of Killaloe. deserve attention. It is a bishopric, to 
which the see of Ardfert is an adjunct The cathe- 
dral contaius many remarkable features of Gothic con- 
struction. The tower, from the. centre of the cross, sur- 
mounts transverse arches, a mode of building steeples well 
known throughout this kingdom, and of much architectural 
merit ; the cathedral is 200 feet in length, the great south 
door is very richly carved in Gothic mouldings, and the 
front is curious. Close to the cathedral is the Oratory of 
St Molna, built by the Danes previous to the year 800 ; it 
is of wood and stone. Another ancient edifice, of the same 
origin, is situated in an island of the Shannon ; its roof is 
formed of great slabs of stone which close at the ridge, and 
the entrance, similar to that of a Grecian cell, is likewise 
formed of solid squares. 

Lough Derg, at the south-west extremity of which Killaloe 
is situated, is highly interesting ; woody hills and ruined 
castles skirt the Clare side of the lake, and on that of Tip- 
perary extend fertile plains and rich meadows, besides the 



298 No. 96. DUBLIN TO F£iaf0¥. 

oak-coveted bright i£ Cattle Lough, that frowns oyer tfc# 
■bnd at its fane. O'Brien's fort, situated at the entrance, 
is a mount covered with trees. "On Holy Island, in Scariff 
Bay, are the round tower, 70 feet in height, and seven 
ancient chapels. The entrenchments of Brian Befesimhe 
are to he seen at Oancora, where was a royal residence. 
The ancient mausoleum of this "king is seen near the cathe- 
dra], at Killaloe. Derry Cattle, the residence of Captain 
Head, is a beautiful plaee, situated on the hank of die 
Shannon, on the Tipperary side j the views of this beauti- 
ful river, issuing from Lough Derg, are extremely inte- 
resting. 

Pop. 1411. Fairs: Easter-Tuesday, Whit-Tuesday, 
Sep. 3, and Oct. 20. 

BALLYMALONY and BROADFORD are Villages 
in Clare. 

TULLA, a post town in Chore. In the demesne of 
Mtltannan there Is a subterranean river. 

Pop. 874. Fain : May 13, Sep. 4, and Got. 1. 



No. 95. From Dublin to FERMOY. First Road. 
Through Kilkenny, Clqnmbl, and Cloghebn. 

Mites. 

Dublin to Feraoy*, as at No. 27- •• 106 



No. 96. From Dublin to FERMOY. Second J 

Through Kilkenny, Clonkel, axk&jxi&musm 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. IHiifiw f»Hfr U> MO*. 

Cloamel*, asatNo. 27 2U Item* 10Q| 

CappoQjua* -"-———. *7| Fennoy* 1I3J 



299 



No; 97. From Dublin to FETHARD. First Road. 
Through Garlow and New Ross. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Castle to MiUs. 

Leighlin Bridge*, as at No. Bonis •••• Mfc 

27 45 New Row m 

BoyalOak -..» 47 Fethaid 81 

fore's Bridge* Sl$ . 

BORRIS is a poet town in Carlow, situated a little below 
the junction of the river Nore with the Barrow*, 

Pop. 671. Fairs : Jan. 1, Feb. 5, May 1, July 2, Aug. 15> 
Oct 4, and Nov. 4. 

St Mulliiuiy in Carlow, six miles beyond Bonis, is an 
ancient hamlet, near the river Barrow, and is on the site of 
an old church, founded in the seventh century by St Mid* 
lins, bishop of Ferns ; a large cemetery surrounds the 
ruins. A little beyond this plaee a ruined castle ia seen 
across the Barrow, and we- enter the county of Wexford. 

NEW ROSS, commonly called Ross, is a market and 
post town, and sea-port, in the county of Wexford, situated 
t>n the Barrow, about a mile from its junction with the 
"Nore. Over the river is a wooden bridge, erected by Mr. 
Samuel Cox, Architect, of Boston in America, and Vessels 
of 400 tons can come up close to the quay. The Barrow is 
navigable from Ross to Athy, where it meets the canal from 
Dublin. There are extensive stores erected on both sides 
of the river, which have the appearance of public builfls&gs. 
Several roads meet at this town ; and the streets in general 
are tolerably well built. The church contains the monu- 
ment of Rose Macrae, adorned with a recumbent marble 
figure ; it once formed the east end of a monastery of St. 
Saviour^ founded by Sir John Devereux, for conventual 



300 No, 97. DUBLIN TO FETHARD. 

Franciscans. The site had previously been occupied by a 
house of Crutched Friars, which was demolished, and its 
inmates slaughtered by the people of Ross, in retaliation 
for the murder of a citizen by one of the friars. There was 
formerly, also, an Augustine Friary, founded in the time 
of Edward III. Amongst the public buildings are a .hand- 
some and commodious sessions house, a custom house, 
a corn market, two Roman Catholic chapels, several 
meeting houses, a nunnery, a fever hospital, Trinity hospi- 
tal for old housekeepers, a lying-in hospital, barracks, an 
endowed school, founded by Sir I. Ivory, in the reign of 
Queen Anne, and two charity schools. Three of the ancient 
town gates are still standing, and there is a curious 
antique cross. The parish church of St. Mary is a hand? 
wme edifice, erected in 1813, from designs by F, John? 
*ton, Esq, 

. New Ross is considered a staple port for wool and agrU 
cultural produce. It returns one member to parliament, 
and its corporation consists of a sovereign, bailiffs, and 
burgesses, with a recorder and town clerk. The town was 
once well fortified: in 1641, the Marquess of Ormond 
.gained a victory here, over the Irish troops, under Preston ; 
and in 1798 the insurgents received a signal defeat in their 
attack upon this town, and lost 3000 men. Lord Mount? 
joy was slain in this action. 

Mountgarrett, a lofty hill overlooking New Ross, is sur- 
mounted by the ruins of a castle, from which there is a fine 
view. 

Pop. 5011. Market-days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs: monthly. Inns: the New Ross Hotel, Cooper's 
Arms, and the Bee-hive. 

Whitechurch village and church is 4} miles beyond New 
Ross. Beyond it is a ruined castle, and Dunroby Abbey 



No. 98. DUBLIN TO FETHARD. 301 

on a fine bay of the Barrow ; these monastic ruins are 
grand and beautiful. 

FETHARD is a well-built post town, on the south-east 
coast of Wexford. It possesses the remains of three old 
castles, one of which has been modernized ; the consoles 
and embrasures of the large tower give additional interest 
to its battlements. Here also are some Danish raths. 
Proceeding a few miles across the neck of land, we arrive 
at Duncannon Fort, whence James II. set sail for France 
after his discomfiture. At the extreme point is the Hook 
Lighthouse, at the entrance to Waterford harbour. In 
this vicinity, also, is Loftus Hall, the seat of the Marquess 
of Ely. In Bally teig Bay, at a distance, but exactly 
opposite to Fethard, are small islands called the Saltees. 

Pop. 320. Fairs: Jan. 80, April 30, July 8, and 
Oct. 20. 



' No. 98. From Dublin to FETHARD. Second Road. 
Through Arklow, Kyle, and Wexford. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Wexford*, as at No. 204. • • G6h donmines* • • • 81' 

Baldwinrtown* 74 Tintern 844 

Dunconnack* 76$ Fethard*- •• 874 

• TINTERN is a village of Wexford, seated on an 
expansive inlet of the sea, and celebrated for the ruins of 
Tintern Abbey, erected by W. Mareschal, Earl of Pembroke, 
m consequence of a vow which he made in anticipation of 
shipwreck. The magnificence of this building reminds us 
of its prototype, the beautiful abbey in Monmouthshire, 
from which an abbot and monks were brought to this place 
by the. founder. A portion of the ' abbey is occupied by the 

DD 



302 No, 09. DUBLIN TO FRANK FORD. 

Colclough family, and oontaina some curieus old portrait^ 
The parish church is adorned with several handsome monu- 
ments. Fair*: March 24> May 12, and Oct. 2. 



No. 99. From Dublin to FRANK FORD. Through 
Naas, Kildare, and Mount Mei.i,i€*v 

D*Hin Castle to JKfe*. DuftKnOortfeto jtf<fer. 

Kildare', as at No. 3. .... 941 Mmnt MsttJclc 49 

Monastereven* 30 Boeenallis 46 

Lea 33i Clonaalie 49 

Pottaxiingtoa* 36* Fzankford* 57* 

LB A, in Queen's county, is noted for the remains of a 
castle, which was famous in the wars of the thirteenth 
century. This ancient fortress is situated on an eminence 
by the side of the Barrow, which formerly filled the ditch 
encompassing its walls. These were eight feet thick, and 
enclosed a space sixty feet by forty-six. All the arches 
seen in this, rain are semicircular. Near, the castle and. the 
church is a noble ash tree. 

MOUNT MELLICK is a well-built and agreeable 
market and post town of Queen's county, seated on die 
banks of the Owinass, flowing into the Barrow. It has a 
email church, a commodious Roman Catholic chapel, some 
meeting houses, a library, school houses, and breweries, 
a dispensary, and savings' bank. It is chiefly inhabited by 
Quakers, who support an excellent school here. 

Pop. 4577. Market day: Saturday. Fairs; Feb. 2, 
March 17* May 2 and 29, July 20, Aug. 26, Sept 29, 
Nor. 1* and Bee. 11. Inns.: Mount AffelUck inn; Shan- 
non's. 

ROSENAI/LIS is a village of Queen's county,, near 



Ha 100. DUBLIN TO GALWAY. 305 



which the Friends have atara§<gVMHHl In the vicinity 
are quarries of soft stone. 

Seat : Brittas, belonging to the Dunne family. 

CLONASLIE is a village and post town of Queen's 
county near which are some castellated ruins. The ruin 
of Castle Cuffe is two miles distant ; and near it is the 
glebe house of Anmghbraek. 

Pop* 5 14. Fairs : May 3, and Nov. 6 5 'and Castle Cttfie 
fair, Nov. 22. 



No. 100. From Dublin to GALWAY. Through Mat* 
nooth, Athlone, and Balunasloe. 

Dritin Caste ta m**. Dublin Cattle & Whu 

Lucaa ft Tyrellspasa .. 40 

Leixlip 8 Kilbeggan * 44* 

Ifraynooth Hi Moate 52 

Kikock 14| Atblone * *9i 

Ooncufry ••••• l«i Wttwlo* 711 

New Inn 20 Kilconnel 78* 

Clonard 20 New Inn 89 

Kfcnegftd 29J Athenry 01* 

FattofKilbride 33 Oranrno*© ..*..., 96 

Bocbfert Bridge 37 Galway 102| 

There are two roads to Lucan, first to Chapel Ixod 2| m. 
from town, and through Pahnerstown, 3f ; or from Chapel 
food, by Black Mitts, 4|, on the north side of the Liffey. 

CHAPEL IZOD, in Dublin, is pleasantly situated on 
the Liffey, and is noted for supplying the capital with 
strawberries. It has a church and school, artillery barracks, 
and an extensive mill for spinning flax. King William HI. 
resided here for several days, in the mansion which 
was afterwards occupied as a country-seat by the Viceroys 
dffiili il i>ap. 1682. 



304 No. 100. DUBLIN TO GALWAY. 

LUCAN is a small post town in the county of Dublin, 
situated on the banks of the .Liffey. It has several 
manufactories, iron-works, calico-printing mills, &c. The 
church, with a spire, is a handsome building. There is 
also a Roman Catholic chapel, and a dispensary. The 
vicinity is picturesque, and the hotel adjoining the chaly- 
beate spa is much frequented. . The charming grounds of 
Lucan House, the seat of Mr. Vesey, extend along the 
river in the direction of Leixlip. At the iron-mill, near 
the town, is a bridge across the Liffey. 

Pop. 1229. Inns: The Spa House; and the Vesey Arms. 

LEIXLIP is a market and post town in Kildare, one 
mile beyond the* verge of the county of Dublin. This 
romantic place is situated on the north bank of the Rye, 
pear its confluence with the Liffey, and has 4 handsome 
church and school. The groves and rocks of the glen are 
the constant theme of admiration ; and on the Liffey is a 
waterfall,, called, the Salmon Leap, which attracts numerous 
visitors in summer. A mile from the town is the park and 
mansion of Castletown, the seat of Colonel Conolly, M.P., 
one of the. most magnificent residences in this kingdom. 
Half a mile from Leixlip the royal canal passes over the 
Rye by means of a grand aqueduct, which' is raised 85 feet 
above the torrent The ancient castle at the end of the 
town is on an eminence, commanding fine views of the 
river, the waterfall, &c. The woollen manufacture is 
carried on here, and extensive flour mills have been 
erected. 

Pop. 1159. Market day: Saturday. Fairs; May 3, 
July 11, and Oct 9. Inn: Collin's. 

Beyond Leixlip, and about a mile from Maynooth, is 
Carton, the splendid mansion of the Duke of Leinster. It 
was built from designs by Cassels, and contains a good 



Ro. U». DUBLIN TO GALWAY. 005 

collection of pictures. The dining-room is a superb apart- 
ment, 52 feet by 24. In the park surrounding the house 
ire two ornamental pillars. 

MAYNOOTH, in Kildare, is a handsome post town. 
The market house, the ancient castle of the Fitzgeralds, 
and the Protestant charter school, founded in 1750 by the 
Earl of Kildare, all deserve notice. There is also a church and 
court house. St, Patrick's college, at Maynooth, is situated 
near the church, and is chiefly supported by an annual 
Parliamentary grant of 9000/. ; this is the chief seminary 
for the instruction of the Roman Catholic priesthood. The 
Duke of Leinster, who is proprietor of the town, granted 
a lease for ever of sixty acres for the college. In 1795 it 
was first opened for the admission of students, and pro- 
fessors were appointed. The number of students is 
about 400, who each pay a small entrance fee; the 
necessary expenditure of a young man educated at this 
establishment does not average above 20/. per annum. 
There had, for some centuries previously, existed a college 
at Maynooth, consisting of a provost and six priests, on 
the foundation of Gerald, Earl of Kildare, that prayers 
should be said for him and his countess. 

Pop, 2053. Fair* t May 4, and Sept 10. Inn : the 
Leinster Arms. 

KILCOCK is a market and post town of Kildare, situ- 
ated on the Royal Canal, by which passage-boats go to and 
from Dublin twice a day. It has a church, and a Roman 
Catholic chapel. Near it are Donadea Castle, Sir F. Aylmer, 
Bart, and the seat of Sir W. Hort, Bart The road runs 
for a considerable way near the south border of Meath, and 
that county is seen on the right hand. Races are held here 
annually on the 18th of August, and continue for a week: 
they are well attended. 

DD 3 



«06 Na. 100. DUBLIN TO GALWAYI 

. Pep. 1780. Market days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs : March 25, May 11, Aug. 1 1, and Sept. 29. 

CLONCURRY, in Kildare, has the ruins of an ancient 
.church. Above a inile before arrival, at Cloncurry, is 
Cappoge Hill, commanding a good prospect 

CLONARD, a post town in Meath, is situated on the 
fioyne. The church contains a font which formerly 
belonged to an abbey, founded here in 520. This Tillage 
gave name to a bishoprick, now incorporated with the see 
of Meath. Here also was a nunnery. Above a mile beyond 
the bridge is Tecroghan Abbey, with an old castle. At 
BaUybogan, on the Boyne, 2} miles from Clonard, art 
Vestiges of a priory, founded in the twelfth century. ' * 

KINNEGAD is a market and post town in West-Meath. 
It has a neat modern stone church, a market house, and a 
Roman Catholic chapel. A mile before arrival at this 
village, Ardmullen Cattle is seen on a hill. 
.- Pop. 670. Market day: Wednesday. Fair: May fc /»»„• 
Hoy's, an excellent one. 

PASS OF KILBRIDE, in West-Meath. Here may be 
seen the vestiges of a chapel, and of two castles. 

Seat : Gaulstown Park, the residence of Lord Kilmain. 
, ROCHFOftT-jBRIDGE, a post town in West-Meath. 
Haifa mile from this village is a castle ruin, Pop. 171. 
, TYRELL'S PASS is a post town of West-Meath, beyond 
which are the remains of a strong castle ; 2} miles farther 
is Garyduff Inn. 
k Pop. -537. Fairs: May 17, and Dec. 17. 

KILBEGGAN is a market and post town in West-. 
Meath, with a good bridge across the river Brusna. The 
abbey, and also a monastery, with their possessions, were 
surrendered to Henry VIII. The castle and village of 
Moycashell, 1£ mile from Kilbeggan, give. name to the 



No. 100. DUBLIN TO GAIrWAY.- 507 

barony. Kilbeggan is a borough, having a portreeve and 
burgesses, and formerly returned members to the Irish 
Parliament It has a good stone church and steeple, a 
Catholic chapel, a brewery, and a dispensary* Three miles 
beyond Kilbeggan is Horteleap church. 

Pop. 1085. Market day : Saturday. Fair$ : March 25, 
June 16, Aug 25, and Oct. 28. Inn: Whitfield's. 
: MO ATE is a post town of West-Meath. Its modern' 
church has a large square tower. In 1690 the forces of 
James II. were defeated in a skirmish at this place. Here 
is a considerable inn. Beyond the town are the ruins of 
some casdes. 

- i>«p. 1785. Fairs : April 25, July 22, Oct. 2, and Dec. 15; 
;. ATHLONE is an old market and post town, divided by 
the Shannon, across which. there is an old bridge, formerly; 
adorned with' a monument bearing the arms of Elizabeth. 
Part of this town is in West-Meath, but the further part 
is in Roscommon, and contains very extensive barracks 
for horse and foot, and there are two large distilleries and 
a brewery* The town is governed by a sovereign, deputy 
sovereign, and recorder, and the borough returns a member 
to parliament In the centre of the town is the ancient 
fortress which commanded the passage of the Shannon, and 
was burnt in 1641, when the town was also destroyed. 
Ginkle here effected the passage of the Shannon, which 
was contested by the army of James. He was created 
Earl of Athlone. Athlone possesses two churches, one of 
which is ancient ; two Roman Catholic chapels ; two con- 
vents ; and meeting houses. There were formerly several 
monastic foundations. Amongst the objects deserving 
notice are, the castle, in the midst of the town, the chaly- 
peake spring, and the floating bridge. This town is not 
very brilliant, but by means of the .river, which is here 



308 No. 100. DUBLIN TO GALWAY. 

from twenty to thirty feet deep, and by the grand canal, 
it carries on ft good trade With Limerick, and other distant 
places. It is an ancient borough, returning a member/ to 
parliament. Near Athlone is a weir for eels. The antique 
ruin of Garey Castle is distant 1 $ mile from Athlone, on the 
road from Moat. The great expansion of the Shannon 
above Athlone, called Lough Rec, is little inferior to its 
lower expansion, Lough Derg. It is intended to start a 
steamer between Athlone and Lanesboro', but boats can be 
easily had, and the tourist may enjoy a very pleasant day 
in an excursion on Lough Ree. 

Pop. 11,406. Market daps: Tuesday and Saturday. 
Fairs: Jan. 20, March 21, Wednesday before the Ascen- 
sion, and 1st Monday in Sept. Inns : the Sun Hotel ; and 
the Swan, both in Church Street 

BALLINASLOE, on the Suck, is a market and post 
town of Galway, on the confines of Roscommon, and is 
famous for its cattle fair, held here from Oct. 6 toOot 9. 
About 60,000 sheep and 8000 cattle are annually exposed for 
sale. It has a very handsome church, a Roman Catholic 
chapel, a meeting house, a dispensary, barracks, and two 
breweries. There is also a farming society, which aHows 
premiums at the cattle fair in October, and a savings' 
bank. Close to the river are the ruins of a castle, and 
at a short distance from BaMinasloe Bridge, near the junc- 
tion of several roads, stands Creagh church in Roscommon. 
The town belongs to Earl Clancarty, who does every thing 
m his power to promote its prosperity. 

Seats : Tutleigh, the residence of the St George family ; 
and, at a short distance beyond fialMnasloe, Cfortoty, the 
stately mansion of the Earl of Clancarty. 

There is a passage boat on the grand canal from Dublin 
to Ballinaslee, daily. 



No. 100. DUBLIN TO GALWAY. 509 

Pop. 4615. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: March 27, 
May 7, and Oct. 5 to 9. Hotels : Boyd's, and M'Loughlin's, 
both in the main street . 

KILCONNEL, in Galway, derives its name from St. 
Conal, who founded a magnificent abbey here in the 6th 
century. This was rebuilt in 1400, and some remains of 
it still exist Woodlaum is a handsome seat, the property 
of Lord Ashtown, three miles beyond Kilconnel. 

Fairs : May 9, Aug. 4, and Nov. 11. 

ATHENRY, in Galway, was fortified by the English 
in the 12th century, and still presents vestiges of the strong 
castle of the barons of the ancient Birmingham family. 
-The Dominican friary was founded here in the 18th cen- 
tury, by De Birmingham : of this abbey the old steeple, 
icloisters, and several beautiful Gothic windows, remain, 
although their appearance is much injured by the conver- 
sion -of a part of them into barracks. Beyond this town, 
in various directions, are still to be seen the ancient walls 
of many forts and castles. Dunsandle is the fine mansion 
and beautiful park of Mr. Daly. 
. Pop. 1319. Fairs : May 5, July 2, and Oct 28. 

ORANMORE is a small post town, seated on a fine 
cove of the Bay of Galway. Oranmore Castle is the ancient 
mansion of the Blake family ; and in the neighbourhood is 
the seat of Lord Wallscourt Pop. 673. Fairs : May 23, 
and October 20. 

GALWAY, the capital of the county of the same name! 
is advantageously situated on a neck of land, which sepa- 
rates the north coast of the Bay of Galway from the south 
shore of Lough Corrib. This lake extends thirty-two miles 
towards the north-west, is eight miles in width from Cong 
to Oughterard, and is said to cover 30,000 acres, embracing 
a course of fifty miles in extent, besides which*4ts islands 



MO No, WO. DUBLIN 90 GALWAY. 

contain about HMO acre* of pasture and cultivated tend ; 
its redundant waters are discharged into the Bay of Galway 
by a channel passing by the town. Corrib Head Hotel will 
be found very comfortable, and excellent head-quarters for 
excursions among the mountains of Cuanemara* On one 
of the islands are numerous deer, and on another a large 
rabbit warren. The lake is remarkable for Gillaroo trout ; 
but its shores lack trees, and possess nothing very striking. 

Galway is governed by a mayor, recorder, and sheriffs, 
and returns two members to parHament The ancient part 
of the town is gloomy, but remarkable for its resemblance 
to many towns in the south of Europe. Wide streets, 
extensive buildings, and solemnity of aspect in the inhabi- 
tants as well as the habitations, give tt a duB, but certainly 
an imposing effect; but the modern streets- are airy and 
wall built The principal public buildings aw, the church, 
a noble Gothic structure; the county court house; die 
town ball and court house ; the county -hospital ; the 
Bounty gaol at Nun's Island, and the town gaol adjoining 
it ; the infirmary, occupying an efcvated spot on the east 
aide of the town ; the new corn market in Eyre Square, 
over which is a ball-room; the charter school; Roman 
Catholic chapels ; pour house, or refuge for the desti- 
tute. There use also shambles, markets, barracks, several 
aonneries and monasteries, a dispensary, a branch, a 
mi sm i n iial, and savings' banks. A magnificent bridge has 
Jurt bet* feast after a davgndTlfr. Behans. 

The manm%e«BMaejf Galway consist principally in linens, 
and coarse woollen riMbv Tkm* are several breweries, 
distilleries, and flour mills; also « «*■** mill, and salt 
works, and several large stores, having file ajmvMMeeof 
pobik building*; and the town derives considerable Uui a l 
rron the^saJmou, herring, and eel fisheries. The fishermen 



No. TOO. DUBLIN TO GAL WAY. 3U 

Bve n that pact o£ the, town called Chidleaajh; they ane 
about 1700 in number: they and their families axe an 
industrious and. peculiar people, intermarrying esckisniety 
within their own society. 

Galway was formerly fortified, and celebrated in thenars 
of the revolution, but it is now completely dismantled. The 
harbour, however, is defended by a fort: an extensive 4ock 
is now constructing, which it is expected will add much to 
the prosperity of the town; abe a canal to connect Lough 
Corrib with Galway Bay. The prospect of the Atlantic is 
obstructed at a considerable .distance beyond the bay,, by 
the South Isles of Arran : these islands are inhabited by a 
hardy and simple race, who tend cattle. Along the coast 
of Galway, which extends north-west foam Greatman's Bay, 
are Beveral spacious inlets and bays, clustered with verdant 
islands. Galway is much resorted to in summer for sea 
bathing, and along the bay a great many houses have been 
erected for strangers.; it has more than doubled in thirty 
years, containing only. 1250 houses in 1300, and 4600, in 
1631. 

The county of Galway ia eighty-two miles in length, and 
contains about 140,000 inhabitants; it consist* principally 
of limestone strata, coveted by a fertile soil Near Galway 
are the villages o£ Clifden and Rouadstoue* the latter situ- 
ated on Birterfauy Bay, and founded, by. the*l«te celebrated 
engineer Mr. Nsmrod, hut it is. net. thriving.;, and' behind 
tins wllaget rises the mountain of Uruisbeg» well wartby «f 
a -visit GBfden is finely situated, at, the head of a.deep, 
maixow inlet of the sea, and nearly suronindad, by moun- 
tains. H has a handsome Gothic chuwsh, a Roman Catfeobc 
chapel, a fever hospital, a school house, and a good inn; 
also a brewery and distillery. It was founded by Mr. 
D'Arcy, of Clifden Castle, whose delightful residence is 



312 No. 101. DUBLIN TO GALWAT. 

«faout two miles from the town; it is a modern castellated 
mansion, not remarkable in itself, but, in point of situation, 
unrivalled. The marble quarries of Connemara may be 
visited from this point Pop. of Clifden 1257. 

Pop. 33,120. Market day*: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs: May 31, September 4 and 21, and October 21. 
Inns : O'Brien's, and Kilroy's, where there is a ball-room. 



No. 101. From DUBLIN to 6ALW AY. Second Road. 
Through Athlone and Castle Blakeney. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Athlone ♦, as at No. 100 . •• A91 Mylough 8& 

Ballinamore 74* Monro* m 

Cataagh 79 Galway* 102* 

Castle Blakeney 00} 

BALLINAMORE is a small village of Galway, on the 
river Suck. It has a handsome Roman Catholic chapel ; 
a small church ; a sessions house ; tan yards, and a flour 
mill. Near it is the demesne of Cattle Ffrench, the seat of 
Lord Ffrench. 

Pop. 800. Market day : Tuesday. Fair : Aug. 21. 

Caltraoh and Castle Blakeney are villages of Gal- 
way, with many handsome seats in their vicinity. 

MON1VEA is a pleasant village and post town of Gal- 
way, in a manufacturing district. It has a charter school, 
endowed by Robert Ffrench, Esq. On the Mylough side 
-are two ruins, and on the road to Galway are the remains 
- of many ancient castles. Fairs : May 1 2, and October 12* 



313 

No. 101 From Dublin to GALWAY. Third Road, 
and the most direct Through Philipstown, Bana- 

GHER, and LOUGHREA. 

Dublin Castle to MUes. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

New Inn •, as at No. 100 20 Bannagher 66* 

Johnstown Bridge 21 Eyre-Court 781 

Carbemry ••••• 26* Kilmure Bridge 781 

Kdenderry 29 Lough-Rea 88 

Philipstown 38J Cranghwell 94 

Ballinagar 41 Oranmore* 101J 

Tullaiaoore 46 Gal way* 106* 

Cloghan 69 

CARBERRYY a village in Kildare, has the remains of 
an ancient castle, built on a bold, rocky precipice, com- 
manding a good prospect Pop. 159. 

Seat : Carberry Castle, the seat of Viscount Harberton. 

EDENDERRY is a market and post town in King's 
County, inhabited principally by Quakers. The grand 
canal passes near it; and there is a considerable corn 
trade. The ruins of an ancient castle crown the top of the 
hill, and there are some remains of a monastery. Eden- 
derry also possesses a handsome church and tower, a 
Roman Catholic chapel, meeting houses, an almshouse for 
widows, a dispensary, and a school house. 

Pop. 1288. Market day : Saturday. Fairs : on Shrove- 
Tuesday, Whitsun Thursday, and Nov. 4. 

PHILIPSTOWN is a market and post town, named 
after Philip II., King of Spain, the consort of Mary; from 
whom also the shire is called King's County. It was the 
county town, but, by a recent Act, the assize is now 
held at Tullamoore: it has the advantage of the grand 
canal passing near it Philip II. visited this place, 
and lodged in the Forth Castle, which has since been 
repaired, and is now the mansion of Bernard Smith, Esq. 

EE 



314 No. 102. DUBLIN TO GALWAY. 

The town, it remarkably well built, and nayed; it has a 
free school, on Erasmus Smyth's foundation,; a neat church, 
a Roman Catholic chapel, cavalry barracks, and a commo- 
dious court house. Here also is the county gaol. Philips- 
town returned members to the Irish parliament, but is now 
disfranchised. There ace tmo passage-boats between Dub- 
lin, Tullamoore, and Shannsm Harbour, which arrive daily at 
Phihpstown. In the vicinity is Croghan Hill, clothed with 
.t£e most luxuriant verdure : at its base are the ruins of a 
church, and on the. summit is an ancient cemetery. This 
hill is mentioned by Spenser, in his " Faery Queene." 

Pop. 1454. Market day : Thursday. Fairs: January 3, 
March IS, May 16, June 14, August 17, October 18, and 
December 3. Inn : Murphy's. 

BALLIN AGAR* in King's County. Two miles beyond 
this place is the lofty ruin of Geashill Castle, which was 
(defended by a lady against CvomwsU. It is the property of 
Lord Digby. Here also is an ancient; abbey. The village 
.oftGeashill is noted for its pig fair. Pop, 153. 

^ULLAMOORE is a market, post, and assise town, of 
King's County, situated on the -Cladagh. It is also inter- 
sected by. the grand canal, by mean* of which passage- 
boats arrive twice a day from Dublin. It was burnt some 
year* ago, hut has been rebuilt in a handsome. style by its 
proprietor, Lord CharleviUe, and has been lately much im- 
proved. The streets are. spacious, and several of the 
buildings, but particularly the market house, the church, 
with a handsome ateeple, erected from designs by, Mr* 
Johnston, the barracks, and the Roman Catholic chapels, 
deserve notice. The new ©our^t house is a handsome build- 
ing. Here are also meeting houses, charity schools, a 
county infirmary, shambles, breweries, a dptiUary,. an&a 
small silk factory,;, anfl it has a good cotton . manufacture 



No, *08. DUUI/IN 90 GAXWAY, ftl* 

*ad Haefi trade, and extensive dealings In cerh, which, 
having been excited by the bounty on inland supply to the 
capital, continues to keep its advance in this and the neigh- 
bouring counties. On the banks of the canal, about * 
quarter of a mile distant, are the ruins of SHragh Gasffe, a 
curious square fort, erected in 1508, "by Briscoe, an officer 
of Queen Elizabeth's army. Near the town is Lord €ha*le- 
vQle's residence, a Gothic castle, buBt of limestone, «nd 
surrounded by well- planted grounds, adorned wifli cascades, 
grottofcs, bridges, &c. It was erected from a design by Mr, 
Johnston. One mile from Tullamoore are *e»tigeB'of BuMf- 
Ecouen Castle. 

Pop. 6942. Market-itoye: Tuesday and Saturday. Fobs: 
March 19, May 10, July 10, Oct. ,*1, and Dec. 19. Into: 
the Charleville Arms, and the Grand Canal Hotel. 

CLOGHAN is a small post town of King's County, in 
t&e vicinity of which are many picturesque landscapes. It 
has a stone church, and a Roman Catholic chapel. The 
Village of M&gstdum, with the elegant mansion of Colonel 
L* Estrange, on the banks of the river Jteusna, is one mile 
distant 

Pop. 40ft, Fain: Monthly. Aw» ; the Ceghlan Asm. * 
BANAGHER is an ancient market and post town of 
King's County, situated on the east bank of the Shannon, 
which is joined by the grand canal from DubKn, about 'two 
miles south of this place. Over the river is a stone bridge 
of eighteen arches, built m 1769, and at its foot, on the 
Galway side, are two towers, each mounting a twenty-four 
pounder. Here also is a battery, with a magazine beneath 
it The barracks occupy the she of an ancient nunnery. 
Banagher has a Ronton Catholic chapel, and a haadaome 
church. At Cuba Bout*, a quarter of a mile distant, in a 
celebrated royal charter school. The town carries on a 



316 No. 102. DUBUN TO GALWAY. 

considerable com trade. One mile south of Banagher is 
the ancient ruin called Garry Cattle, as well as the modern 
mansion, Garry Cattle House, the seat of Captain Thomas 
Armstrong. Packet-boat every day to Dublin. There is 
an excellent inn, the Harp, kept by £. Mann. 

Pop. 2636. Market Day: Friday. Fairs: May 1, four 
days, Sept. 15, Oct 28, and Nov. 8. 

EYRECOURT is a market and post town in Galway, 
seated on a hilL It has a good cburch and steeple, and a 
spacious Roman Catholic chapel. Over the court room of 
the sessions house there is a parochial school-room. The 
school house was built in 1777, and is endowed. 

Pop. 1789. Market day : Saturday. Fairs : First Mon- 
day after Easter, July 9, September 8, and December 21. 
Inn; Egan's. 

Seats: Eyrecourt Cattle, Colonel Eyre: it is a grand 
mansion, and has a curious and handsome staircase ; the 
•grounds are well planted, and contain an ancient moat, 
within which is a remarkable cave. Queentboroagh, dis- 
tant three miles. from Eyrecourt, was a mansion of the Earl 
of Louth. 

KILMURE BRIDGE, in Galway, crosses the Kilmure 
river. 

LOUGHREA is a handsome market and post town of 
Galway, with a modern church, a Roman Catholic chapel, 
an endowed school, barracks, a court house, a linen hall, 
and a dispensary. There is a considerable sale of oats, and 
the linen trade is increasing. On the north side of the town 
is a charming promenade, overshadowed by tall trees : and 
here also are vestiges of an ancient abbey, founded by R. de 
Burgh, about 1310, as well as of an old castle. Within two 
miles of the town is a race course. To the south is the 
beautiful Lough Rea, which agreeably varies the scenery. 



No. 103. DUBLIN TO GIANTS' CAUSEWAY. 317 

It extends over upwards of 1200 acres, and is said to be 
supplied by seven springs, called the Seven Sisters. The 
town is the property of the Marquess of Clanricarde, whose 
seat is at Portumna. 

Pop. 6268. Market days: Thursday and Saturday. Fairs: 
Feb. 11, May 25 and 26, Aug. 20, and Dec. 5, Inns: 
Beisher*s ; and Monaghan's. 

CRAUGHWELL is a village and post town of Galway: 
it has a church and Roman Catholic chapel, and school 
houses* Pop. 796. 

No. 103. From Dublin to the GIANTS' CAUSEWAY. 

First Road. Through Armagh, Stewart's Town, 

and Coleraine. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin CasUe to Miles. 

Dundalk* asatNo.l. 40} Magherafelt 88 

Armagh*, as at No. 6. 62* Kilrea MB 

Charlemont* 68* Coleraine* ••• • 114 

Stewart's Town* 77 Bushmills 120 

Coagh • 83 The Giants' Causeway 122 

COAGH is a village of Tyrone. Pop. 393. Fairs : Monthly. 

MAGHERAFELT is a market and post town in Derry, 
having a communication with the county of Antrim by the 
handsome bridge over the Bann, at Toome Ferry, five miles 
distant. It has a small endowed school ; a handsome 
church and spire; a Roman Catholic chapel; a Presby- 
terian meeting house; a market house, and a sessions 
house. The proprietors of this place are the Marquess of 
Londonderry and Sir Robert Bateson, Bart 

Pop. 1436. Market day : Thursday. Fairs : May 25, 
Aug. 25, and Oct. 29. 

Two miles north is Castledawson, a small post town, in 
which is an obelisk, built at the expense of the late Bishop 
of Derry. There is also a Presbyterian meeting house, 

EE 3 



318 No. 103. DUBLIN TO 

a free school, and an extensive cotton factory, distillery; 
and flour mill. A market is held on Saturday, and fairs on 
Jan. 1, Easter Wednesday, June 1, and Aug. 1. 

KILREA is a market and post town of Derry. It is 
a considerable market for linen, the manufacture of which 
flourishes in the neighbourhood. It has a neat church ; a 
school house, on the foundation of Erasmus Smyth ; and a 
large Presbyterian meeting house. The Roman Catholic 
chapel is nearly one mile from Kilrea. 

Pop. 1215. Market day: Wednesday. It has eight Fairs 
in the year. 

BUSHMILLS is a village and post town of Antrim, 
situated near the entrance of the river Bush into Balintrae 
bay. The windings of this rapid stream form an important 
feature in the rich and varied country which adorns its 
banks. 

Seat : Clogher, the spacious mansion of Sir Francis 

M'Naughten, Knight. 

Pop. 507. Fairs: March 28, June 26, Aug. 24, Oct 21, 
and Dec. 12. Here is an inn, which is the nearest 
accommodation of tolerable comfort for the tourist visiting 
the Giants' Causeway. r 

THE GIANTS* CAUSEWAY. 

In order to visit this celebrated natural curiosity, the 
tourist must engage, as a principal guide, one of the many 
.who will present themselves to his notice; and he will 
do well not to discourage the numerous peasants who 
will be pleased to assist him in his progress, and who 
will consider their labours amply recompensed by the 
purchase of some of the mineral specimens which they 
offer. 

If the tourist intend to visit the various bays and. caves 



THE GIANTS' CAUSEWAY. 31» 

of the coast, he must hire a boat, rowed by two or four 
men, which can be obtained at a moderate charge. 

As far as the spot called the Rock Heads, the tourist may. 
go either on horseback or in a carriage, but beyond that 
he must proceed on foot. The first object of curiosity is- 
Port Coon Cave, a. lofty and imposing excavation, noted 
for its echo, which is generally exhibited by discharging 
a gun, or sounding a musical instrument It is about 300 
feet in length, and may be approached either from sea or. 
land. 

Contiguous to this cave is the little Bay of Poi-t Coon,. 
formed by a whyndyke, consisting of seven walls, separated 
from the precipice by some convulsion of nature. In the. 
eentre of the bay is an insulated and pointed basaltic rock. 
Beyond Port Coon Cave is another whyndyke, forming 
one side of the bay of Port-na-Baw. 

To the west of Port Coon Cave is Dunkerry Cave, acr 
cessible only from the ocean. Its height is sixty feet, and 
its width twenty-six feet; but its length has not been, 
ascertained, as it contracts into a narrow cleft where n > 
boat can penetrate, and beyond which the waves may be 
heard rolling for a considerable distance. The entrance 
is between two walls of jet black rock, and is very regularly 
formed. The sides and roof are covered with green con- 
ferv* % -producing a beautiful effect; and just above the 
surface of the water is a zone, or bordering of marine 
plants. 

The tourist then lands, and proceeds to the Giants' 
Causeway, so called from a tradition among the natives 
that giants commenced it as a road to Scotland, but being 
expelled by the ancient Irish chiefs, left it unfinished. It 
has its direction almost due north, and the steep pro- 
montory, from which it projects into the sea, is called the 



&to No. IDS. DUBLIN TO 

Axfd Sfiodt. Dbwn the west side of thte gteeu precipice 
is a path practicable for hones and motes; but nigged 
and ctatttitous, and conducting only to the small bays, 
which on either side of the Causeway are narrowed by 
impassable ledges. 

To the left are the Stookini, projecting rocks dividing 
£ort-na-Baw from Port-na-Grange ; and farther to the 
West is an isolated rock, called Sea GttU Island. The 
Causeway projects into the sea, between Pott-na-Grange 
and Port N offer. It consists of three moles or piers, the 
middle and longest of which, catted the Ghtond Causeway, 
extends in a sloping direction from the base of a cliff 
About 360 feet in height, for a distance of 900 feet, when 
it is lost in the ocean. The others are not more than 600 
feet long. The pillars of which the Causeway consists are 
at least 30,000 in number, and are of different dimension*; 
they vary from 15 to 36 feet in height, and from 15 to 26 
inches in diameter. They also vary in form, having from 
three to nine sides, but are chiefly pentagonal or hexa- 
gonal; and are so closely Connected, that it would be 
difficult to insert the smallest substance between them, 
teach pillar consists of short joints or pieces, the ends of 
which are alternately concave and convex* The eoneave 
and convex portion is a circle bordered by polygonal sides, 
which are perfectly horizontal The pillars are a species 
of basaltes, of a dusky hue, contrasting finely with the 
surrounding verdant scenery, and extending, though with 
some interruptions, for about two miles along this coast 

About the middle of the causeway the pillars rise con* 
sVderabry, and this portion has been termed the Honey* 
tdmb. On the east side is the GiaHtS Loom, a colonnade 
about M feet in height, and on the opposite side, in the 
face 6f the clfflyis a eJttster of pillars, denominated the 



THE, GIANTS 1 CAVSEWAY. 3JI 

Organ, to which it bears considerable resemblance;- The 
tourist will also have pointed out to him the Giants* 
Well, a spring issuing from the interstices of the pillars, 
the Giants* Chair, &c. 

The Giants' Causeway is not the sole object of grea$ 
natural beauty in this district : the adjoining promonto- 
ries rival it in magnificence ; and of these, the principal 
are Pleaskin and Bengore Head. On a lofty cliff, towards 
the east, are the Chimney Tops, a few columns, which 
the Spaniards, in the celebrated Armada, are said to have 
mistaken for the chimney tops of a castle ; and near them 
is Port-na-Spagna, a small bay, so denominated in com- 
memoration of this event. In Port Noffer, which is 
situated between Port-na-Spagna and the Causeway, is 
a mass of basal tes called the Lion Rock; and here also 
are three whyndykes, the principal of which is the Rovin- 
valley Dyke, 

The best way of viewing the romantic coast, east of the 
Causeway, is to take a boat at Port-na-Baw, and sail 
along under Pleaskin to Bengore and return ; but if the 
tourist object to this mode, he may proceed on foot to 
Pleaskin, which is about one mile from the Rock Heads, 
and to Bengore, which is two miles from it. The bays 
present a curious appearance from the summit of the cliff, 
but the tourist should remember that the descent to them 
is dangerous. 

The perpendicular face of Pleaskin is of remarkable 
beauty, and is one of the most striking of all the semicir- 
cular precipices on this coast It is 354 feet in height, and 
exhibits various strata. Over a dark and rugged base, 
fringed with incessant foam, it lifts its verdant sides with 
a rapid slope to the height of nearly 200 feet, whence it 
rises perpendicularly. A sttatum of red ochre supports a 



Sft2 No. 195. DU&Litt TO 

lftagmffitferrtitfngfe of fcaSaftic 'rolumiftr 45 feet in heigfet ? 
dtove which is a bed of black, irregtifer rock, 60 feet *h ick, 
abounding with air holes ; and on this rests a grand gal- 
lery of basaltic columns, 60 feet in height; die whole 
forming a splendid amphitheatre of extraordinary beauty. 
Near the eastern 'side of 4he Pleaskin colonnade is a 
curious recess called the Pulpit, which is best seen from a 
boat; and jutting from the end of tire stratum of red ochre 
is a projection called the turn** Head. 

Bengote Heady about a mile from Pleaskin, is the most 
northern promontory of the county, ft is 328 feet in height, 
and bears considerable resemblance to Pleaskin, although 
its beauty is not so remarkable, nor are its strata vo dis- 
tinct Coal has been found here, but not in sufficient 
quantity to pay for the expense of working it 

The editor nas thus endeavoured to give ah accurate, 
though concise, account of the Giants' Causeway, and the 
other objects of curiosity in its vicinity. To those who 
wish for more minute information, he recommends the 
elegant "Guide to the Giants' Causeway,*' published by 
the Rev. G, N. Wright, and " Letters on the North-east 
coast of Antrim," by Dr. W. Hamilton. 

The formation of basaltes, of which this coast offers the 
'finest specimens in the world, has long been a subject of 
controversy. Numerous theories have been advanced 
respecting it; one party, called the Plutonian, attri- 
buting the origin of basalt to fire ; another, entitled the 
Neptunian, deducing it from water ; whilst a third is dis- 
posed to consider it the result of both these elements. 
Whatever may be its origin, its nature is not unknown. 
The Rev. G. N. Wright correctly describes it as " a hard, 
heavy stone, either black or green, consisting of prismatic 
crystals, the number of whose sides is uncertain. The 



THE GIANTS' CAUSEWAY. 521 

Ekiglirfh miner* caM it cockle, the Gerssan schorl; its 
specific gravity to that of water is 8000 or upwards, to 1<W>0. 
It frequently contains iron, and consists either of particles 
of an indeterminate figure, or of a spongy, fibrous, and 
striated texture. Jft has a, flinty hardness. Is insoluble by 
rods, and la fusiWe^hy fire*" 



From tjie Inn, aft Bush JM#is, <be tourist way: make, an 
excursion, to Jhmittee Castle, which is. five miles distanf;. 
This striking ruin is situated, on. an. isolated, abrupt rock^ 
And so, entirely, occupies its surfece, that the outer walls are 
in several places a continuation of the perpendicular side of 
the rock. The only approach, to it is,bjr a, wall, without a 
,parapet, which crosses a Lo% r#cky.cha6Qfe and is not more 
than two feet broad It is supposed^ have been founded by 
De Courcey, Earl of Ulster, afterwards enlarged by native 
chieftains, and, finally, by the M'Donalds, in the time of 
Elizabeth, One of the rooms is said to be inhabited by 
Maw Roe, a banshee or fairy, who sweeps it every night: 
this fiotion originates in the fact that the floor does always 
seem as if just swept, an appearance no doubt caused by 
the wind which rushes through tfeis as well as otfeer apart- 
ments of the building. Beneath the castle' is- a cave hol- 
lowed out of the rock by the wayes, and remarkable for an 
echo. From the walls, of. this ruin,, we. enjoy a. sgleiijUd 
piospect of the cliffs, with their alternate hues of Mack 
basalt and limestone of every sha.de. 



' ' 324 

No. 104. From Dublin to THE GIANTS' CAUSE- 
WAY. Second Road. Through Belfast, Port- 
glenone, and Dervock. 



Miles. Dublin Castle to 

. 601 Rasharkin* 

. 80 Ballymoney* 

• 92 Dervock 

• 94 Bush Milk* 

• 96 

• 105 



The Giants' Causeway* 



Mile*. 
■■ 110* 
•• 116| 
• • ISOf 

• 125 
.. 1*7 



Dublin Cattle to 
Banbridge* as at No. 1 
Belfast*, as at No. 30 •• 

Antrim*, 

Shane's Castle* 

Bandalstown* 

Portglenone* 

DERVOCK is a small market and post town of Antrim, 
with many new buildings. The church is a neat white 
edifice, near the bridge, across the Bush river. 

Here is a respectable inn. The land near this town is 
well cultivated and fertile. Horse fairs are held Jan. 12, 
Feb. 28, May 18, June 22, Aug. 12, and Oct 27. Pop. 362. 

Seats : Lisconnan, Dr. Samuel Allen ; Clover Hill and 
Belleisle are also mansions in this vicinity. 



No. 105. From Dublin to the GIANTS' CAUSEWAY. 
Third Road. Through Carrickfergus, Glen arm, 

and BALLYCA8TLE. 

Dublin Castle to MUes. Dublin Castle to* ' Miles. 

Banbridge* as at No. 1 •••• 00* Carnlough 108 

jBrifaat*, as at No. 30 • ... • . 80 Cushendall 1141 

Carrickfergus* • 88 Cushendun 118J 

Ballycarry*.... 92} BaUycastle* 12«fc 

♦Lame* .".. 974 BalHntoy •• I31± 

Cairncastle* 1004 Giants* Causeway * 137 

Glenarm* 105, 

* A Tery interesting way, only nine miles from Carrickfergus to 
Larne, is by the old western road, through Long Thome and the village 
of Glenoe, passing by Lough Mourne, and many agreeable ™flnnimu ; 
but as a road, it is hilly and ragged. 



No. 105. DUBLIN TO GIANTS' CAUSEWAY. 325 

CARNLOUOH is a village of Antrim, on a wide 
bay of the same name. The view from the hills across 
this bay includes some of the great mountains of Tsla 
and Jura. The mountain above Carnlough has a dismal 
black summit, which contrasts finely with the neat and 
comfortable villas situated beneath it upon the slopes 
descending to the sea. The inn has but poor accommoda- 
tion. The lime strata of some of the hills, for- there 
is an alternation of black basalt and brilliant time stone 
along the coasts of Antrim, when cut through by steep 
roads, are marked by an ascending Kne of white, being 
the route seen between the grassy slopes of the mountain. 
Pop. 213. 

Drumnasole is the beautiful mansion of Francis Turnly, 
Esq. and close to it is a large school house. Nothing can 
be more picturesque than the scenery of this . road for 
several miles. Beyond Knappan Lodge is Dunmaut Fort, 
with the remaina of an entrenchment and fosse: the land 
side is a verdant slope, whilst the precipice of this fine 
basaltic cliff rises 300 feet above the sea shore; its name 
is derived from Dun or Doon, a fortress, and Maul; said to 
designate the payment here of the black mail and the rent 
of the north. 

Near the shore, two miles from Carnlough, is Gerron 
Point, a low headland of considerable beauty and curious 
form, consisting of three columnar points, united by a 
natural curtain of basalt ; here also is the Foaran Path, 
an abrupt pass, on the road to the glens, so steep as to be' 
almost impracticable for horses unaccustomed to moun- 
tains. A new road of less difficulty has, however, been 
recently formed. 

A few yards from the Foaran Path, on the right, is seen 

FF 



326 No. 105, DUBLIN TO THE 

the Chmgkan Stooktn, a singularly-shaped limestone r#ck, 
one* supposed to be the most northern point of Ireland, 

The road then wind* along the shore of Red Bay, on 
which are seen enormous blocks of limestone, and piles qf 
aearwrapk collected for the manufacture of kelp. To. the 
left appear the hills of Carrig Murphy and Slievg Baragrha/l 
overhanging the road. 

The traveller soon arrives at Jrdtfinis, the only vesAjgp 
of which is an ancient chapel on the side of a lofty moun- 
tain.. A torrent from this rugged hill sinks into the 
ground, and seeks a subterranean course to the sea, 
' QltMtriff is a romantic vale seen in perspective as the 
traveller advances. It is formed by opposite slopes of -lajge 
hills, the rocks and crags of whose summits are evidently 
basaltic. Bay Lodge is a neat residence, built new 
the sandy shore of the. sea, at the opening of . GJen- 
ariff valley to the east In Glenariff the objects worthy, of 
observation are, the sharp conical top of Lwgejda** termi- 
nating the prospect to the north ; the great peal? of CreocA 
a Crue, hounding that towards the west* and. the Isnakara 
cascade, 1| mile distant, whose waters, joining, the 
Glenariff stream, seek the shore at the hamlet of Water- 
foot, near the beautiful caves of Red Bay. Of these cares 
there are three of tolerable si»e, one^of which is used as a 
blacksmith's shop. At the extreme end of the v south cliff 
stands die, ruined Cattkof Red Bay* buijt by the Bissets,, 
and sometimes called Castle Carey, The road.by. jhe .shore., 
passes under an arch cut through a hank of red clajt; and 
beyond this, the dreariness of. Glenariff changes for*, the 
rich and cultivated scenery in the vicinity of Newtown 
Glens. 
CUSHENDALli is a market and, post, town, rasaan- 



GlANfrS' CAUSfeWAY. ffl 

tieaftiy situated on the eoast of Antrim. It has a good 
km, and warm baths. The little cower, erected as a cage 
for rioters, has a carious appearance. The great Rath 
behind the village is supposed to have been occupied 
fcwnerty t>y the fortified residence of a northern chief. 
It was called Court M'Martin, in consequence of an ob- 
scure legend, and its site Was 160 feet in circumference.' 
The Rath is now surmounted by a school hoUae, built by 
frauds Tuittly, Esq., proprietor of this village. The 
neighbouring mountains are famous for a beautiful breed 
of ponies resembling the shelties of the Scottish side of 
the channel About a mile south of the village are the 
ruins of the chapel of Lade, said to have been founded 
by the M'Faili. 

Lurgeid&n, a high and beautiful mountain, is seen from 
this place, ft has a flat top, and near the summit is a 
mound named Dun Clatumourhe, once a fort occupied by 
Fm M'Comhal ; the local traditions of this vicinity coincide 
with the poems of Ossian. 

Pop. 481. Fairs: Feb. 14, Mar. 17, May 14, June 29, 
Aug. 14, Sept 29, Nov. 14, and Dec. 22. 

At Bttechat Bridge, on the road from Cushettdal^ 
through the Glens to Sallymena, in the centre of this fine 
county, is a beautiful cascade* which pours ever a perpen- 
dicular rock, and has a fell of 40 feet ; on each side is * 
range of basaltic columns, elevating their parallel summits 
to the height of the cascade. The geology of this curious 
district is diversified by whinsibne resting on strata of 
chalk, or limestone, and that unctuous earth known by the 
mime of red keiL A new read from Glenarm to Cushendall* 
skirting the romantic coast, and avoiding the steep and 
rugged hills, is new completed. It shows the scenery to 
advantage. 



tt*. No. 105. DUBLIN TO THE 

CUSHENDUN is a village of Antrim, with a bkek- 
house for the water-guard, and a few pretty cottages. It» 
inhabitants are fishermen; it has some curious caves. A 
new harbour is erecting at Cushendun. The following are 
the mo9t remarkable objects in this neighbourhood : the 
Cranagk Cliff, 123 feet high, above the caves of Cushendun ; 
the residence of Alexander M'Neil, Esq., near the northern 
bank of the river Dun; the remains of Castle Carra; 
Tevereagh, above Cushendall church; Glendun Fale ; and 
beyond it the dark summit of the Troetan Hill, 2,200 feet 
above the level of the sea. 

Tor Point, 5 miles beyond Cushendun, is about 18 miles 
from the coast of Cantyre in Scotland ; fires lighted by the 
early Scottish invaders on Tor Point, this being the 
narrowest portion of the channel, served as a signal 
to the inhabitants of the opposite coast whenever the 
Irish force was too strong for the followers of the 
M'Donnells, and were called the Scots' Warning Fires. 
Ancient mounds and forts are visible on Tar Head, which 
is a root of the Cushleak Hills. 

At Murloch Bay, a little beyond Tor, is a whin dyke, 
and to the north is DrunmakiU Mountain, consisting of a 
species of columnar greenstone, reclining in strata of 
various angles, and forming an interesting, although 
barren, conical hill. 

A road along the shore, of the utmost grandeur and 
beauty, but only passable for pedestrians, may be pursued 
to Ballycastle; or, near Cushendun, a road through the 
sequestered vale of Glendun, and over Grange Hill, con- 
ducts to the Carey mountains, and by Cutfeightrin church 
and the ancient Franciscan abbey of Bona Margy (founded 
in 1509 by M'Donnell), to the quay of Ballycastle, 'Which 
is about half a mile from Ballycastle. 



GIANTS* CAUSEWAY. Sfc§ 

BALLYCASTLE, as at No. 23. The Knock lade 
Mountain, at tbe base of which Ballycastle is situated, 
rises 1820 feet above the level of the sea, covered with 
verdure. It presents the same appearance in whatever 
direction it is viewed, and consists of three distinct strata, 
basaltic, calcareous, and schistose. On the summit is a 
mass of stones called Cairn-an-Truagh, said to be the 
burial-place of three Danish princesses. 

To the south of Knock Lade, towards Cnshendall, is the 
beautiful hill of Slieb, or Slieve-na-Aurtz, the summit of 
which is 1530 feet above the ocean. It has frequently 
been the scene of combat amongst the Irish chieftains, and 
on its top are two cairns, said to be the burying-place of 
O'Neil and one of his adherents. 

About three niiles from Ballycastle, on the road to 
Ballintoy, is the conspicuous promoritory of Kenbaan, or 
the White Head, so called from the chalky whiteness of its 
clifls. On its west side are the remains of Kenbaan Castle 
on a rock. Beneath Kenbaan are several interesting caves. 
The tourist should also visit Grace Staple* Cove, between 
Ballycastle and Kenbaan, and the chine called Bulif. 

BALLINTOY is a retired village on an eminence near 
the shore of the county of Antrim. Its church and spire, 
when seen from a vessel, form a beautiful land-mark, at 
the opening of a small bay. 

Pop. 278. Fairs : June 3, Sept. 4, and Oct 1*. 
A remarkable hill here, called Cruaghmore, is 471 feet 
in height; and near its summit are columns of basalt. 
The Cromlech, in the grounds of the Rev. Dr, Trail, at 
Mount Druid, near the village, is a massive slab) 6} feet 
long and 5} broad, placed oh the, top bf four others, and 
was formerly encircled by a ring of large stones, 33 feet 
ff 3 



?3Q No. 105. DUBLIN TO THE 

in diameter. Some of these stones still remain in their 
position. 

Near Ballintoy is a stratum of wood-coal, which was 
formerly worked; the veins are mixed with strata of 
basalt. The vein caught fire some time ago, and continued 
to burn for years, until the mass of basalt rock thus 
undermined fell in, and smothered the flames. Supported 
by the duty on foreign or British coal, and the attendant 
bounty, these mines used to furnish coal to Coleraine and 
Port Rush ; hut the competition is given up : they are no 
longer worked. Wood-coal is also found at Portmore, 
which is the chief bed of it ; at Killymurryt, near Dunloy, 
in the centre of the county; and at Portnofer, at the 
Giants' Causeway. 

The ancient Castles of Kenbaan and Dunteverick are 
romantically situated on the clins by the sea-shore, and 
some of the small bays are occupied by the houses of per- 
sons employed in the salmon and cod fisheries. The 
whole of this extraordinary line of coast may be seen by 
hiring a boat at the Giants' Causeway, and rowing to 
Ballycastle. It is varied by upright basaltic ranges of 
columns ; promontories of red keil, covered with herbage 
and sea-wrack ; a rocky beach, with here and there a bay 
of brilliant yellow sand ; isolated rocks of limestone, or 
chalk ; large caverns excavated by the waves ; and falls of 
water pouring over the mantling brows of the precipitous 
shore. 

Off this coast is Raghery, or linghUn Uland, containing 
about 2000 acres, and consisting of an irregular crescent, 
A" miles from horn to horn. The channel which separates 
it from the main land is called Slunk- na-Marra, and is 
about 3 1 miles across. The passage cannot always be 



GIANTS' CAUSEWAY. 33i 

effected, as the swell of the north sea currents is very 
heavy after a breeze, or at spring tides. A boat fit for the 
excursion may be hired at Ballycastle ; whence it is distant 
nearly 5 miles. Church Bay is the best landing-place, but 
there is neither village nor inn. The island is entirely 
the property of Mr. Gage, and is esteemed a pleasant 
residence by the inhabitants, who, with the exception of 
that portion employed in the fisheries, seldom visit Ireland. 
The coasts partake of the beautiful and basaltic character 
of the Antrim shore, and in several places rise more than 
300 feet above the level of the sea. At Doon Point, the 
basaltic columns have a very curious appearance. On the 
cliff, at the east end of the island, is Bruce' s Castle, so 
called from the gallant Robert Bruce, who fortified it and 
successfully resisted his enemies during the civil wars of 
Scotland. At the west end of the island are Bull Point, 
rising 270 feet, and Lough Cliggin ; and at the south 
extremity, near Ushet, is Lough Runaolin. The island 
contains a church, and a Roman Catholic chapel. Pop, 950. 

Off the Bay of Ball in toy, which is commodious for boats, 
is Sheep Island, capable of feeding with its fine herbage 
about ten sheep in the summer season. 

Close to the Antrim cliffs is the celebrated fishing-rock 
known by the name of Car Hcfc-a- Rede. A boat can pass 
between it and the opposite precipices, but the oars must 
be taken in, as the channel is so narrow, as only to allow 
the use of a boat-hook against the rocky sides; this 
passage is only practicable in a calm, as a boat would be 
lost here in rough gales. The rope-bridge, extending from 
cliff to cliff, 60 feet apart, is affixed to the top of the 
rocky points about 80 feet high, and is a favourite venture 
with enterprising travellers. It is only put up, how- 



332 No. 106. DUBLIN TO GLENARM. 

ever, during the fishing season. On the roes: is a seciifre 
fishing-house, which, from the water, seems perched 
in a nook. 



No. 106. From Dublin to GLENARM, First Roa*. 
through Drogheda, Belfast, and Larnb. 

Dublin Cattle to Mite. tittbli* CatM to Jfftar. 

BttWdge*, asatNo. 1 .... ffl>i Lame Sfri 

Belfast*, as at No. 30 80 Cairncastle 10«£ 

6arriclcfergus tf Glenarm 105i 

Ballycarr/ &j 

The road from Belfast to Carrickfergus passes along a 
level tract of land which has been recovered from the 
sea, and now bears luxuriant crops. On the right is 
Belfast Lough, which, at high water, presents a charming 
aspect ; and on the left are numerous villas and planta- 
tions, backed by Cave Hill, which is 1064 feet high, and is 
composed principally of limestone crowned by a mass of 
basalt 296 feet thick. The summit is called M c Art's 
Fort, and it affords a fine prospect of the bay and the 
Irish sea to the coast ot Scotland, as. well as the whole of 
the county of Down. It was on this shore, near White 
Abbey, that William III. landed. 

Belfast Lough, or Bay of Carrickfergus, is a beautiful ex- 
panse of water, at the mouth of the Lagan, extending 
twelve miles in length, and about five at its greatest 
breadth. It is almost free from rocks and shoals, and is 
constantly enlivened by the passage of shipping. About 
a mile from the south shore is a pool, where vessels may 
ride at anchor in low water, though the bank within a few 
yards is quite dry. At the entrance of the lough are the 
Copeland Islands. 



Kb. 106. DUBLIN TO GLEN ARM. 331 

CARRICKFERGUS, the county and assize town of 
Antrim, is situated on the north shore of Carrickfergus 
Bay. It is a county of itself, and a borough returning 
one member to parliament It was anciently walled and 
fortified, and had four gates, one of which only (the north 
gate) is standing. Its history is particularly interesting : 
it was taken by Robert Bruce in 1316 ; its governor, De 
Burgh, was murdered in 1333 ; the town was subsequently 
increased by the Scots, followers of M'Donnell of Glen- 
arm, and the Scotch quarter was built: the castle was 
taken and retaken by various commanders : in 1568, Sir 
H. Sidney landed here, and received the submission of 
O'Neil, the Irish chief: in 1689, it surrendered to Schom- 
berg : June 4th, 1690, William III. landed at the pier : in 
1770, the French, under Thurot, made a descent here, and 
surprised the castle ; and in 1778, the bay was visited by 
the celebrated Paul Jones. The castle is a magnificent 
object, situated on a rocky point of the bay ; it was founded 
in 1178 by Hugh de Lacy, Earl of Ulster, and re-erected 
by Sir H. Sidney about 1570. In 1790 it was repaired, 
and made a depot for arms and ammunition. The summit 
of the keep commands a fine view. The monastery of Car- 
rickfergus, founded by Hughde Lacy, in 1232, for Fran- 
ciscans, was granted to Sir £. Fitzgerald, and afterwards 
came into the hands of Sir A. Chichester, Lord Deputy, 
who erected a castle on its site. 

The church is an old and irregular edifice, containing 
some monuments of the Chichester family, a window of 
stained glass, representing the baptism of our Saviour, 
and several ancient tombs. Amongst the public buildings 
are the county sessions house, erected in 1778; conti- 
guous to which is the gaol, the town court house, and 
prison ; there are also two meeting houses, and near the 



1*4 No. 106. DUBLIN TO GLENARM. 

•own M a Roman Catholic chapel. Moot of the streets Are 
aanow, and many of the houses old and dismal, but it is 
improving, and rapidly increasing; for, in 1800, it had but 
47* bowses, and in 1831 they amounted to 1490, so that it 
will probably in the end gain more by the enftanehiscmctet 
of BeUaet, than it would otherwise have done. 

The corporation consists of a mayor, burgesses, sheriffs, 
and recorder. The town carries on very little trade, but 
has some mannlactories of linen and cotton ; and employs 
agreat number of hands in the fishery of die bay. It was 
the chief commercial town in these parts, up to 1640, hay- 
ing an overwhelming right of impost «n all goods issportcd 
m the district Bemwt having at that period, for the small 
sum of 2000/. liberated itself from its yoke, has, by a more 
liberal course, quite eclipsed it. The shores of Carrickfer- 
gus, being free from muddy oose, are well suited to bathing? 
on this account, the cottages along them are let in summer 
at very considerable rente. 

8bats: CmtU DMs, surrounded by trees, is the man- 
sion of Mr. Dobbe ; it is two miles and a half from the 
town } and beyond it is BelUMU, the residence of Harriot 
Dalway, esq. : the ancient castle of his ancestry is seen 
on the road side, in a lower site than the present mansion \ 
it has two towers, supporting an embattled gateway, and 
is in good condition. 

Pop. 8706. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: May 18, 
and Nov* 1. Inns : Anderson's and Hull's. 

A short distance from Carrickfergus, on the old road, 
towards Lame is Lough Mourns, which occupies ah emi- 
nence about 600 feet above the level of the sea, and is 
three miles in circumference. 

BALLYCARRY is a village of Antrim, at the head of 
Lough Lame ; it is incapable of much improvement and 



No. 100. DUBLIN TO GLENAitM. 533 

estension, being, Ul provided with water : at Us entrance on 
the right is Ttmpktfre* church in ruins t it belong to 
the Prebend of Kilroot, which Dean Swift resigned, on 
account of ite too great seclueioD, Beyond it is Bgd-MeM, 
the seat of the fete Richard Gervase Kerr, E94,, now the 
property of David fcerr, Eaq., of Portavo : here is a aubterv 
raneeuft river which descends into .the Salt Holt, but the 
agrees of the stream ia unknown. In the &9U B*k, the 
Scottish follower* of Jamea M'Sorley, M'Donuell, Earl of 
Antr^ lay ia ambush in 1507, for Sir John Chicbe#|«r> 
governor of Carrickfargua, who, being deceived by a pre* 
tended flight of hia adversaries, fell into the snare, and 
M'Donnell struck hia head off on a stone in the Gfy*m> 

ifa* 247. Fairs: June 21, Aug, 21, and Oct ft}. 

Frofn the Salt Hole to Larne the road ia hilly, but good, 
and about three miles from this place affords a beautifiil 
prospect. Near the village of Glynn t about a. mij* from 
Larne, are vestiges, of a chapel, supposed to have beep 
foundedby St. Patrick. 

LARNE isa.marj(*t and post town of Antrim, situated* 
oaa narrow. inje* .of- the sea, called Lama Lough, and ia a* 
clean and well-paved town, particularly the now. part The 
harbour, though swll* «the heat port between Belfast andt 
Deny, and ia surrounded by the moat romantic nwuAtajjt . 
scenery. Larne ia much frequented as a wa|erJng r pjUcer 
and. carries on considerate trade in provisions, linens, salt,, 
and- Unsv The- l i iym manuiactuce flourishes here, and, 
there are flour- mills,, salt works, and a cotton manufactory, 
at a little dis t a nce from, the town. The principal buUdinjp. 
are, the church a. fioman Catholic chapel, and several 
meeting houses. 

Pep. 2016. MmrltfJkw : Wednesday, and on the first 



336 No. 106. DUBLIN TO GLENARM* 

Monday of every month, for yarn, flax, and cattle. Pair* .' 
July 31, and Dec 1. Inns : the Antrim Arms, and the 
King's Arms. 

In the vicinity cf Larne are several objects worthy of 
notice. On the road from Larne, towards Ballynure, is 
Tubbermore Well, the waters of which turn two mills. At 
the extremity of a peninsula, called the Curraan, forming 
die north side of Larne Harbour, are the ruins of OUflett 
Castle, and on the road to it may be seen the remains of 
Clondmmale's Chapel. This castle was erected by one of the 
Bissets, who possessed the property in this vicinity in the 
time of Henry 1 II. It was here that Lord Edward Bruce, 
the brother of the Scottish king, landed in 1315, with the 
design of conquering Ireland, an attempt which created 
great misery, and was the cause of much bloodshed through- 
out the kingdom. 

From Oldfleet castle there is a ferry to the peninsula, 
improperly called Island Magee, as it is not separated from 
the main land. Having landed, the tourist will perceive 
two roads ; one of which, towards Brown's Bay, will be the 
best route. At a short distance is a Druidical Cromlech, 
and to the east of Brown's Bay is a rocking stone, called 
the Giant's Cradle. About two miles farther, beyond 
Portmuck, are the Gobbins, basaltic cliffij, 200 feet high, 
reaching as far as Black Cave Head. Over these heights 
were precipitated the bodies of thirty catholics, who had 
been cruelly massacred by Monroe, the Scottish commander 
of Carrickfergus castle, in the reign of Charles I., a 
period when cruelty and retaliation were often indulged in. 

At Portmuck are the ruins of a castle; and south of the 
Gobbins is Castle Chichester, beautifully situated. At the 
west end of Island Magee is Slaughter Fw4> a rivulet, so 



No. 106. DUBLIN TO GLEKARM. 337 

called in memory of the massacre above mentioned ; and 
a hill near it, surmounted by a lighthouse, is named Mur- 
der slay. 

The whole coast is rugged, and is lashed by the surges 
of a heavy current, which has, in several places, particu- 
larly beneath the Gobbins, perforated the dim) in the 
form of caves. Along the shore are gathered large quan- 
tities of the dullisk marine plant, which is a favourite 
article of food with the peasantry. Laver is also found 
and prepared here. The Gobbins are also frequented by 
various kinds of wild-fowl ; the most remarkable of which 
is the goss-hawk ; a pair of these birds was formerly 
the tribute, or rent, paid for the peninsula; and the 
festival of Hawk-lifting, on Midsummer-day, is still a lively 
scene of merriment The process of lifting the hawks, as 
the catching of them is termed, is performed by men 
who have ropes fastened round their waists, and are then 
lowered down the front of the cliffs to the nests of the 
birds. Kelp is made along the east coast of the peninsula ; 
and herrings, turbot, and blockens, are caught here in 
great quantities. 

In this peninsula, formerly stood the monastic houses 
of Kill Reran and White Kirk. Off the mouth of Old 
Fleet Harbour, and north of Magee Island, is a cluster of 
rocky islets, called the Maidens. 

Beyond Larne, the country is well cultivated, though not 
populous ; it is rather tame, but at the distance of about 
two miles on the left of the road towards Glenarm, is seen 
Agnew's Hill, one of the highest in the county, the summit 
being 1450 feet above the level of the sea. Here is Kill- 
water Cattle, the' splendid mansion of Mr. Agnew. All 
around, between the savage hills on one side, and the sea 
a g 



399 No. 106. DUBLIN TO GLENAKM. 

on the other, ia> with the exceptions of. KiUygJefle< church, 
ami hese and there a solitary hut, wild and bleak. 

CAIRNCASTLE is a village of Antrim, with a anail 
church, seen beneath the Sahh Br*e*—* range of precipi- 
tous bills composed of limestone a#4 basalt* siirmounted 
by turf. The old rain of Cairn Castles stands on an insulated 
rock at the foot of BtHygeiiy Promontory. Here the sea 
forma a fine open bay ; above which, on a rugged site, is 
Skm/f. Goatfe, the venerable mansion of the &feaw &pu»ly» 
East of the Salah Braes ia Kn*chD<», or the BJaek Hill, a 
conical maunfsui of gloomy appearance. As the roa4 
a p pp s n e h ea Glenana, it wmmaa4sa fine view. 

GL&NAR&f is a small peat town of Antrim, deugbtfuUy 
situated on a mountain stream, and encircled by/ high 
ridges, some of which are composed of lime) much uaeo> 
for manure as well as for inortar. The coast here is re- 
markably picturesque, a&4 the bay is much resorted to fee 
bathing. Near the beach is the church with i^cemetery, 
and. adjacent are the remains of the Franciscan friary, 
founded in U&>, by Robert Bissett, a Scotchman, who haoV 
fled from his own country for being concerned^ in the mur- 
der of the Dukeof AtboL Tto ineeting house, which was 
eraeted in 1762, af the expense of the Earl of Antrim, 
occupies a commanding eimneuee o^rarlootiwg t^e hay* 
There is also a market house, and. a new stone bri4gy. 
GUwrm. Castle, the modernised mansion of the Countess 
of Antrim, ia a noble building, surrounded by fine plp«f*T 
tiona. The little- deer park, oa tjb* south spde of thf bay- 
is a, scene well worthy, the $©i*i<s.. attention. The roaa\ 
leading into Gleaarm, .from. I*rne> ia- a^ present over a 
mountain of nearly twjo Iriek mike, steep and difficult of 
ascent* but the jiew coast road, by the hsae of tbe4»ountaia y 



No. 107. DUBLIN TO GLENARM. 339 

is almost finished. Its plane has been chiefly cut from the 
xooks whkhhang in apparent fearful suspense over the rotid. 
The barrier to protect the road from the Northern Sea 
storms, has several times been carried away, but is now held 
t# be capable of withstanding the severest shocks. No objeet 
can be more worthy attention than the bold design of tnis 
admirable road, by whioh the facility of seeing; this coast, 
unequalled in beauty, baa been so much increased. To the 
scientific traveller, a richer vein could scarcely he opened. 
Pop. 880. Fairs : May 26, and Oct 29. 



No. 107. From Dublin to GLENARM. Sbcoko 
Road. Through Dkogheda, Belfast, and Bal-» 
lywdre. 

toman £asw to mm. butotoCatiiuto urn. 

Banbridge«, as at No. 1. •• 60* BaUrmne 00* 

Belfast*, a«at No. 30. 80 Kilwaghter 95* 

Carompney* 86 Caitncartie* 98| 

Staid • 891 Gtenarttt* I03| 

8TRAID is a village of Antrim, on * bleak ridge of lew 
bills. 

BALLYNURE is a pleasant village of Antrim. Ap. 41*. 

KILLWAaHTBR k a village of Antrim* near Agritw's 
Hill. Here is a torrent bearing the satae name. 



340 



No. 10S. From Dublin to GLENDALOUGH, or the 
SEVEN CHURCHES. By the New Military Road. 

D^Hn Cattle to Mikt. Dublin Cattle to MOe*. 

lUthfamham 3 Glendataagfc M 

Togher Inn 18 

RATHFARNHAM is a viUage of Dublin. It has a 
church and a Roman Catholic chapel In the churchyard 
are deposited the remains of Lord Avonmore, the friend of 
Curran. 

Seats: Rathfarnham Cattle, the seat of the Loftus 
family, belongs to the Marquess of Ely. Buthy Park, the 
seat of Sir Robert Shaw, Bart 

The Military Road commences at Rathfarnham, and, 
crossing the central part of the mountainous district of 
Wicklow, forms a communication between Dublin and 
the interior and south-west parts of Ireland. It was 
constructed after the rebellion of 1798, and terminates 
at the Barracks of Agavanagh* 

Pop. 1572. Fair: July 10. 

GLENDALOUGH, or the SEVEN CHURCHES, as 
it is commonly called, is an ancient city, which enjoyed 
considerable celebrity in the early ages of Christianity, 
but now consists only of a few ruined edifices, seldom 
visited except by the curious traveller or the enthusiastic 
pilgrim. It is situated in the valley of Glendalough, 
amidst the mountain fastnesses of Wicklow, and is about 
five miles north-west of Rathdrum. This valley is about 
2} miles in length, and varies in breadth from 1000 to 
2000 yards. It is surrounded on every Bide, except that 
by which it is entered, by steep and lofty mountains, and 
presents a scene of striking grandeur and sublimity. 

St. Kevin, or Coemgene, who founded the first abbey 



No. 108. DUBLIN TO GLBNDALOUGH. 341 

in this romantic vale, was bora in 498, and upon taking 
the cowl is said to have retired to these wilds, where he 
wrote the Life qf St. Patrick f and other works; he died in 
618, at the great age of 120. Glendalough shortly after- 
wards became a bishop's see, and continued sq. till 1214, 
when it was united to the archbishoprick of Dublin. To 
this union, however, a long resistance was made, and it 
was not till 1497 that friar White made a formal sur- 
render of the see in St Patrick's cathedral, Dublin. 

A narrow road, but passable for carriages, commences 
at the east end of the valley, and leads to the ruins of the 
city, which. are about a mile from the entrance. The fast 
object that strikes the attention is the Ivy Church, so 
called from the vesture in which it is clad. This was a 
small chapel of rude execution, and is now quite in ruins. 
At one end of it were the remains of a round tower, but 
these fell down in 1818. About a quarter of a mile 
distant is the market place of the ancient city, whence a 
paved road, some portions of which are still visible, led to 
Hollywood, on the borders of Kildarev Near it is St. 
Kevin's rivulet, said to possess- miraculous healing powers 
on Sundays, Thursdays, and on the festival of the Saint, 
provided that the immersion take place before sun rise. 

The visitor then crosses the Glendason river by a series 
of stepping-stones, and arrives at the area in which the 
Seven Churches, properly so called, are situated. The 
entrance is formed by a stone archway 16 feet wide. The 
most prominent object is the cathedral, originally built 
by St Kevin. It is- in the Saxon style of architecture, and 
the have measures 47 feet by 30 : the east window is 
richly carved, and diminishes so much as to become a 
mere loop-hole ; beneath it are some curious sculptures* 
Near the cathedral are the ruins of a building called the 
gg 3 



342 No. 108. DUBLIN TO GLENDALOUGH. 

Pries? * Cell, and a stately tomb. In the churchyard art 
some remains of ancient crosses, one of which is an entire 
block 11 feet high. Here also is a round tower in ex- 
cellent preservation; it is 110 feet in height, and the 
circumference, at the base, is 52 feet 

Nearly parallel with the cathedral stands St. Kevin's 
Kitchen, the least decayed of the Seven Churches. It is 
roofed with thin stones, and at the west end is a circular 
steeple. The interior measures 23 feet by 15, and com- 
municates by an arch with a small chapel. To the west 
of the cathedral stood Our Lady's Church, now in a ruinous 
condition, and overgrown with ivy, but bearing indications 
of superior architectural taste and knowledge. 

The Rhefeart, or Sepulchre of Kings, celebrated as the 
burial place of the princes of the race of O'Toole, is 
situated on the other side of the stream which flows from 
the upper lake in the valley. The church itself is a shape- 
less ruin, and the cemetery is overgrown with brambles. 
Near the Rhefeart is a conical heap of stones, to which 
pilgrims resort to do penance. 

In a recess of Mount Lugduff are vestiges of Team- 
puU-na-SkelUg, or Priory of the Rock, or Temple of the 
Desart, and in a rocky projection near it is St. Kevin's 
Bed, a cave which is almost inaccessible. 

The Abbey, which is the most eastern church, was dedi- 
cated to St. Peter and St Paul, but is so ruinous as to 
have lost nearly all trace of architectural character. The 
sculptures with which it was adorned present, however, 
some very curious devices. Near it is a chapel or ora- 
tory, which contained the tomb of St Kevin. 

The two lakes, from which this valley derives its name, 
(Glendalough, i. e. Valley of the Two Lakes) are situated 
to the west of the cathedral, and are divided by a watery 



No/ 103. DUBLIN TO 0LENDALOUGH. 343 

meadow. Rocky eminences project boldly above these 
lakes, and afford the daring pedestrian prospects of awful 
sublimity. Superstition and legends are the natural pro- 
ductions of scenes of this character. 



Ascending the Avonbeg, about 4 miles south - west of Glen - 
dalough, we come to the Vale of Glenmalure, a wild district 
of considerable celebrity in Irish history, as the retreat of 
Teagh O'Byrn, in the time of Elizabeth. It is 4| miles in 
length, and is bounded by steep mountains, and almost 
inaccessible rocks of gloomy and frowning aspect The 
Avonbeg rises here, and flows down the centre of the 
valley, and the road runs parallel with it along the entire 
length. In the middle of the vale are Drumgoff Barrack*, 
capable of containing 300 men, and near it is a very 
comfortable inn. Here the traveller may procure a, guide 
to assist him in the ascent of Lugnaquilla, the highest 
mountain in Wicklow, being 3070 feet above the level of 
the sea, as well as to visit the lead mines of Ballinafinchogue*, 



From Glendalough the traveller may go to Wicklow, 
which is 1 1 miles distant, passing by the village of Derry- 
baun, with a lofty hill of the same name; Anamoe, where 
there is a tolerable inn for pedestrians ; near the Devil's 
Glen, one of the most picturesque dales of Wicklow; 
Glenmore Cattle; and thence by Newry Bridge to Wicklow. 



**4 



No. 109. From Dublin to HEADFORD. Tltrough 
Kin nec ad, Atiilone, and Tuam. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Caste to Miles. 

Athlon©*, aa at No. 100. ••• 59* Castle-Hackct 9/1 

Tinm«,asatNo. 1*4. 93 Hertford 109 

CASTLE HACKET, in Galway. At the foot of 
Knockmac Hill ; close to this place is a castle ruin. Three 
miles beyond the village is a small circular lough, with a 
church near its bank. Fair: Oct. 2. 

HEADFORD is a handsome post town of Galway, with 
a church and spire, a Roman Catholic chapel and school, 
and has a linen and woollen manufacture. Near it is a 
ntie ancient mansion of the St George family ; the demesne 
occupies about 2000 acres all inclosed, and commands 
magnificent views of the Connemara mountains, Lough 
Mask, Ross Castle, &c The river Blackwater flows from 
hence into Lough Corrib, passing in its course the beautiful 
rum «f Rbss Abbey, two miles west of Headford. This 
great lake is 32 miles long, and from six to eight in 
breadth ; it contains many beautiful islands. The GilTaroo 
trout are in great estimation. 

Pop. 1441. Fairs: May 11, and Oct 14. 



No. HO. From Dublin to HILLSBOROUGH. 
Through Swords, Newry, and Dromokis. 

Dublin Castle to Mites. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Batibridge*, aaatNol. 60} Hillsborough* 6S>J 

Dwmnon* C6 



845 



No. 111. From Dublin to HOWTH. 

DuMin CastU to Mites. Dublin Castle to Milts. 

Bauybonghbridge 1* Raheney Strand 4ft 

Fair View l| BaWoyle ft* 

ClontarfTown 2* Howth , 7 

8hedsofClontarf 2ft 

CLONTARF is a Tillage and sea-bathing place in the 
county of Dublin, situated on a delightful strand, and 
surrounded by fine groves, parks, and villas. It commands 
a fine view across the bay of Dublin, including the Wicklow 
mountains; the lighthouse, at the end of the long wall, 
and pier, Bray Head, the Sugar Loaves, the Scalp, the 
church of Irishtown, and the entire city of Dublin, with 
Nelson's pillar. On a moonlight night, when the silvery 
beam shoots across the rippling waters of the harbour, 
this extensive prospect is still more sublime than by day. 
The church was rebuilt in 1609 : it contains several monu- 
ments. There is also a Roman Catholic chapel, and a 
charter school. The castle is inhabited by the Vernon 
family, the proprietors of the town. The Greenlane, one 
of the avenues of the town, is .much admired and resorted 
to by visitors in the summer leason. Handsome baths are 
erected in various points near the north wall, &c, and the 
sea-water is likewise conveyed to baths in Dublin. In the 
battle of Clontarf, fought in 1014, against the Danes, fell 
the Irish heroic monarch, Brian Boroihme. Near this 
also, Alan, Archbisop of Dublin, was slain in a revolt of 
the ion of the Earl of Kildare. Pop. 1309. 

RAHENEY is a pleasant village of Dublin, surrounded 
by a beautiful tract of pasture; its church is on an emi- 
nence. All the roads from hence, through the peninsula, 
are extremely sequestered and picturesque. Pop. 282. 



34* No. 111. DUMA* TO HOWTTL 

BALDOYLE is a pleasant village and bathing-place 
beyond the North BuD, or bank of Shingles, forming the 
north side of the bay. The views of the promontory, the 
rocky isles, and the marine prospect, are deughtfui. The 
whole of this shore is extremely picturesque ; and is fre- 
quented by a great variety of birds. Pop. 1009. 

HOWTH is a port and post town of the county of 
Dublin, romantically mtmtted on the promontory, known 
by the appellation of the Hill of Howth, the highest point 
of which is 567 feet shore high-water mark. The mails 
ami psiscngna from Holyhead, which used to arrive here, 
have been removed to Kingstown harbour, which is found 
to he more certain and oonunodious. Many finning boats 
art kept by the inhabitants of wis interesting village. 
The lighthouse stands on the point calkd the Bailey; 
besides the ruin of Holm Patrick on Ireland's Bye, Howth 
itself ha* a fine specimen of antiquity in the remains of its 



Hmtfth Cattle is the much-admired seat of the Bad of 
Howth, whose fondly name is St. Lawrence; it is sur- 
rounded by richly-planted grounds, and has a noble view 
to the west of the Bay of Dublin. There is also a race- 
ceune made by Lord Howth. In the hall is preserved the 
sword of Sir Armoricns Tristram, an ancestor of the Barl 
of Howth, who fought gallantly against the Danes. Here 
also is a full-length portrait of Dean Swh% by Blade*. 

The pier was constructed at a considerable expense, 
under the direction of J. Rennie, Esq. Howth has an 
excellent lighthouse ; and to the south, at Kingstown, there 
is another, for the direction of ships sailing into Dublin 
Bay. The Protestant church, erected in 1816, is a good 
building, with a steeple. Howth has also a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a school, and several establishment* for the 



No. 114. DUBLIS TO KELLS. 347 

instruction of the children of Roman Catholics. The Ulan J 
if Intend** Eye* a nigged but picturesque rock, opposite 
the moutfo of the harbour, has an ancient chapel on it 

Pop. 797. The Hotel (McDowall's) is an excellent 
one; 



No. 112. From Dublin to IRVINESTOWN. Through 
Kells and Cavan. 
Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin arte to Wks. 
Etmidrillen*, as at No. 80 • • 79* Inineatown 87 

IRVINESTOWN is a market and post town, in the 
couaty of Fermanagh. The Gothic church has a square 
tower, and* there are two meeting houses. The school 
house is on. Erasmus Smith's foundation: 

P<p» 1047, Market daf: Wednesday. Fairs: die «rh 
of eaefr month. 

K$shi a pest' Dawn, is distant four miles and' a half; Tril- 
lick is five miles from Irraessonm. 



No. US: From Dublin to KELLS. First Ho ad. 
Through DunsKaughlin and Navan. 

Milts. 
DvMfet»Kftlb*,as*tl«».89 3tft 



No* 114? From Dublin to &ELLS. Second Road. 
Through Lucan, MXYNooTfc, and Trim. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Cqttls to Mil*. 

Kilcock*, at at No. 100 14$ Dunderry Bridge 88 

Summerhffl* 90 Kells* 30* 

Trim* v 25 



34* 



No. 115. From Dublin to KENMARE TOWN. First 
Road. Through Cork, Mac room, and Kilgarvan. 

Dublin Cattle to MUa. Dublin CutU to MUes. 

Cork*, as at No. 27 196 Knightsbridge 151 

Oren't Inn* 1304 Kilganran 162 

Ifacroom* 142} Kenmare 167* 

KNIGHTSBR1DGE, in Cork. Here is the mansion 
of Sir Nicholas Colthurst, Bart. Near it is the nunnery of 
BaUywmrney. 

KILGARVAN is a town of Kerry: Pop. 157. 

KENMARE is a well-built post town of Kerry, on the 
River Kenmare, which is thirty miles long, and near its 
mouth above three in breadth. The public buildings are, 
a modern church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and a bride- 
well. Lord Kenmare has a splendid mansion at Killarney. 
The seat at Kenmare Town is a lodge, belonging to the 
Marquess of Lansdown. On a height, on the bank of the 
river, there is a loose rock of limestone of great dimensions, 
although no other appearance of lime can be traced on the 
same side of the river. This beautiful inlet of the sea is 
hemmed in by mountains, some of which are conical, and 
have fine cultivated slopes. A new pier has been lately 
-constructed by the Marquess of Lansdown, and many 
excellent houses are building. There are several islands 
in the Kenmare river, one of which is named Ormond I$le. 
Ardea Castle is a ruin on a precipice close to the river side. 

Pop. 1072. Fain: March 15, May 22, July 1, Aug. 15, 
Sept. 26, Nov. 20, and Dec. 20. Inns: The Lansdown 
Arms, and the King's Arms. 



*4t 

No. 110. From Dublin to KENMARE TOWN. 
Second Road. Through Limerick, Rathkbale, 
Castle Island, and Killarney. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Mile*. 

Abbeyfeale*,a*atNo.3-.- 123* Hucruw* 1«* 

Cattle Island* : 133| Kenroare* 1M# 

Killarney* 143| 



No. 117. From Dublin to KILDARE. First Road. 

Through Naas and Newbridge. 

Miles. 

Dublin to Kildare* a* at No. 3 24| 



No. 118. From Dublin to KILDARE. Second Road. 
Through Luc an, Clajib, and Kilmeaqub. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Kilmeague», atatNo. 129 • 22* Kildare* 28* 

Bathbrlde 26* 

RATHBRIDfi is a village of Kildare. 



No. 119. From Dublin to KILKENNY. First Road, 
Through Castle Dermot and Leighlin Bridge. 

lfifer. 

Dublta to Kilkenny*, u at No. 27 «7* 



120. From Dublin to KILKENNY. Second Road. 
Through Naas, Kilcullen Bridge, and Athy. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin CastU to Miles. 

Kilcullen Bridge* at at Caatlecomer • 45* 

No.27 21 Kilkenny* ,■•• « 

Athy* 32* 



S50 

No. 121. From Dublin to KILKENNY. Third Road. 
Through Athy, Tiwohoe, and Ballynakill. 

DubHn Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles., 

KUdnllen* a»atNb.27—. 21 Batlinalrill* 471 

Athy» 32* BaUyragget 52j 

Ttuioboe* «. 41* Kilkenny* Gg* 

BALLYRAGGET is a small post town of Kilkenny, 
pleasantly situated near the river Nore. Near it is a 
handsome Stone bridge of ten arches across the Nor*. 
BaUyragget has the ruins of a castle, a neat Roman Catholic 
chapel, a dispensary, and a school house. 

Seat : the mansion-house of Thomas Kavanagh, Esq., 
on whose estate BaUyragget is situated. 

Pop. 1629. Fairs: Jan. 11, Feb. 20, April 20, May 9, 
June 22, July 22, Sept. 4, Oct 20, and Dec, 10. 



No. 122. From Dublin to KILLALA. First Roa». 
Through Mullingar, Lanesborouoh, and Ballina. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin CasOe to Mile*. 

Kinnegsd*, at 39* French Park 83* 

Mullingar* 38* Ballaghaderin ••• 89* 

KBfctittdra 44* Ballaghy v 971 

Moyr#f© 48 Strtaeferd • 103 

Ballymahon 62* Ballylaghan 110 

Lanesborough 62* Foxford 112* 

Strokestown 70 Ballina ••• 120* 

Tubk 75* KUlala •• 127 

Belanagar 81 

&AC0NDRA, in Westmeath, is a village, with a neat 
church. 

SEat : Me&re's Court, two miles distant 

MOYVORE, in Westmeath. Near this village is * fine 
■eat, called New Castle, and two and a half miles distant is 



No. 122. DUBLIN TO KILL A LA. Z&i 

Forgney church. Beyond Afoyvore we enter the county of 
Longford. Pop. 21$. Fairs : May 4, Aug 20, and Pep. 5. 

BALLYMAHQN is a well-buiH post towp tf Longford, 
iseated on the Inny, over which is a bridge of five .arches. 
The Shannon and the Royal Canal also pass near this 
place, and enable it to carry on a considerable trade. 
Ballymahon has a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and 
an old market house. The vjewp in the environ* are 
pleasing, and the banks of the Inny derive considerable 
interest from having been frequently visited by Oliver 
Goldsmith in his boyish days. At Pallas-more, 3 miles 
from Jtallymahon, is the house in which Oliver Goldsmith 
was bom. 

Seats : Castle Cor, said to have been built in imitation 
of the round tower at Windsor Castle. Ballypmlry, finely 
situated on the Inny. 

Pop. 1081. Fairs: Thursday before Ash Wednesday, 
March 1, May 11, Aug 11, and Nov. 21, 

^ANESBOROUGtf is a handsome market and post 
town of Longford. Jt was a borough until the union, 
but is now disfranchised. It has an excellent stone bridge 
across the Shannon. The Royal Canal joins the i?ver 
some miles above Lanesborough bridge, and at an equal 
distance below the town the Shannon forms the expanse of 
Lough Ree, in which are seen some very beautiful islands. 
The Earl of Lanesborough' s family name is Butler, but 
the place receives its name from the Lane frmily. Lanes- 
borough has a welJ-buUt church and cavalry barracks. Jt 
carries on an extensive trade in corn. On the banks of 
the Shannon, two miles distant, is the great hill pf/fatbjine, 
the summit of which commands a fine view. Here also 
is a very ancient castle, dismantled by Cromwell, as well 
as a village of the same name. 

Pop. 390. Market day: Wednesday. Fair: Feb. 12. 



332 No. 122. DUBLIN TO KILLALA 

STROKESTOWN is a market and pott town of Ros- 
common, with a modern gotbic church, a Roman Catholic 
chape], and a session house. Close to the town is the 
mansion of Mr. Mahon. A mile distant are annually held 
the races and cattle fair of BaUinafad, which take place on 
the 27th of August, and continue for a week. 

Pop. 1548. Market day: Friday. Fairs: third Tuesday 
in May, June, Oct., and Nov. 

TULSK is a village and post town of Roscommon. It 
is now a small place, but contains the ruins of some 
important edifices. The principal is the abbey, of which 
a square tower and various walls are standing. This was 
the seat of the O'Connors, whose strong castle is now 
a ruin. Tulsk is a disfranchised borough. 

Seat : Foxborough, one mile distant 

Fairs: Easter Monday, Friday before Whit-Sunday, 
Aug. 20, and Nov. 3. 

BELANAGAR is a village of Roscommon, with a 
ruined chapel. On the roadside, two miles distant, is an 
ancient church, and to the right is an abbey ruin. In the 
vicinity are several country seats. 

FRENCH PARK is a post town in Roscommon, and 
near it is the handsome mansion of Mr. French. At some 
distance beyond it is the church. The river Gara here 
forms the boundary of Roscommon. 

Pop. 447. Fain: May 21, July 12, and Sept 1. 

BALLAGHADERIN is a village and post town of 
Mayo, near the Gara river. It has an ancient castle. 

Pop. 1147. Fairs: monthly. 

BALLAGHY, in Mayo. Near it is an old barrack, 
and 2} miles beyond it is a castle ruin. Pop. 345. 

SWINEFORD is a market and post town of Mayo, and 
derives its name from a small stream which passes by the 
town, near which used to be held a considerable market for 



No. 122. DUBLIN TO KliLALA. 353 

pigs. It has a Gothic church, erected in 1810, which 
contains a handsome monument to one of the Brabazon 
femily, who are proprietors of the town. There are also a 
market house, over which is an assembly room; a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a school house, and a good inn. A .con- 
siderable trade in corn is carried on here. 

Seats: Newpark, Sir A. Brabazon, Bart.; Newcastle, 
belonging to the O'Donnels. 

Near the ruins of Melick church, 3& miles beyond 
Swineford, is a round tower in a perfect state. 

Pop. 813. Market day : Tuesday, fairs: May 20, 
July 2, Aug. 18, and Dec. 18. 

BALL YLAG HAN, in Mayo. Here is a ruin of tfee 
castle of Ballylaghan ; and on the Swineford road is a 
ruin called Temple Roe. 

FOXFORD is a post town of Mayo, on the eastern 
bank of the river Moy, over which is a goqd . bridge. It 
has an ancient castle and modern barracks; a handsome 
church and market house, and has an improving linen 
market The river joins another stream, and flows into 
Lough Conn, 1} mile from Foxford ; the lake is interspersed 
with islands, and furnishes the Gillaroo trout : it is nine 
miles long, and connected with lake Cattin, which is three 
miles over : there is a bridge across the channel that con- 
nects them. These lakes are not remarkable for beauty : 
they are said to ebb and flow. The west bank is shaded 
by the long steep side of Mount Nephin, one of the largest 
hills of Mayo : it is 2640 feet in height 

Seats : Moorefield and Keromore. 

Pop. 1068. Fairs : May 15, June 25, Oct 3, and 
Dec. 10. 

BALL IN A, in Mayo, is a well-built and flourishing 
post town, with good shops, on the Moy river, over which 
hh 3 



35* No 121 DUBLIN TO KILLALA. 

is a fine old bridge of sixteen arehes, connecting it with 
the village of Ardnaree. It contains a small church, with 
a neat modern spire ; and a splendid Catholic chapel, lately 
built; also breweries, flour mills, and a tannery. Its 
trade, particularly in grain, is considerable, and the salmon 
fishery is increasing. A mile from the town is a good 
quay by the Moy, which facilitates the communication 
with Killala. Colonel Gore has a handsome mansion near, 
the town. 

Pop. 5510. Market day: Monday. Fairs: May 12, 
and Aug. 12. Inn i Madden's. 

One mile beyond Ballina is a castle, on the edge of the 
river; and two miles beyond that, at the head of the 
bay, is seated Connor Castle, commanding a noble pros- 
pect; as well as another ruin, Roserk Abbey, in which the 
construction of a confessional of hewn stone is remarkable. 

KILLALA is a small sea-port and post town of Mayo, 
and was a bishop's see, to which that of Achonry, in 
Sligo, was united in 1607. The see has now merged in 
the arch-diocese of Tuam. The cathedral is now used as 
the parish church ; and the deanery house is in the town. 
There are manufactures of woollen and of coarse linen, 
as well as a considerable fishery. Of antiquities, the 
principal is the round tower, at the extremity of the town. 
The Moy here falls into the western ocean, and the bay 
exhibits some exquisite scenery. A French detachment, 
under General Humbert, landed here in August 1798, 
and possessed themselves of Killala and Ballina; their 
progress was stopped at Castlebar, and they surrendered 
at Ballynamuck to the king's forces; the rebels were 
routed near Killala. 

Pop, 1125. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: May 6, 
Aug. 17, and Nov. 8. 



J55 \< 

No. 123. From Dublin to KILLALA. Second 
Road. Through Mullinqar, Lanesborough, and 
Castlebar. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to AfjV^.;. 

Kinnegad*, as at No. 100 • • 29* Ballinlough 89ft 

Mullingar* 38* BaUyhaunis 93* 

Bacondra* ■•• 44* Ball 1©7* 

Ballymahon* 52* Miaola 169* 

Lanesborough* •• s 02* Castlebar 114* 

Strokestown* 70 Crossmolina 128ft 

Tulsk* 75* DeelCastle 131 

Castle Plmnket ~- 78ft KBlala* l#t 

Castlerea 84* 

CASTLE PLUNK ET is a town of Roscommon. South 
Park t a handsome residence, is three miles beyond it, and 
one mile farther on the road is the ruin of an abbey. 

Fairs: May 14, Aug. 13, and Oct. 11. 

CASTLEREA, is a pleasant market and post town in 
Roscommon. Here, on the site of an ancient castle, is an 
elegant house of Lord Mount Sandford, the proprietor of 
the town ; the river Suck flows through the grounds. The 
church of Castlerea is a handsome gothic structure. There 
are also a Roman Catholic chapel, a dispensary, some fine 
bleach-fields, flax- mills, and an ancient bridge. Cloonales, 
a seat of the O'Connor family, is one mile beyond 
Castlerea. 

Pop. 1172. Market days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs: May 23, June 21, Aug. 23, and Nov. 7. Inns: 
Two. 

BALLINLOUGH, in Roscommon, is a long straggling 
town. It has a neat church, and a tolerable inn. Near it 
is a chalybeate spring. Fair : Sept 29. 

BALLY HAUN IS is the first village on this route, in 
the county of Mayo. Here the scenery changes, and the 



*56 No. 123. DUBLIN TO KILLALA. 

ornamented landscapes of Rdscommon are succeeded by 
the verdant mountains of Mayo. The Augustine Abbey 
is a stately ruin, and about four miles beyond is a lake, 
with vestiges of an ancient castle. 

Fairs : June 1, July 2, Sept 22, and Oct. 29. 

BALL is a charming village of Mayo, near a rivulet 
Jt possesses the vestiges of a fine abbey, founded by St 
Mocha. The holy well is much frequented, and close to 
the village is a round tower of great height One mile 
and a half from Ball is Mayo, whence this county, the 
largest in extent in the whole kingdom, receives its name. 
It exhibits merely some foundations of a cathedral, an 
abbey, and other buildings. Its university was once cele- 
brated, and the old chroniclers notice how much it effected 
in the education of. the princes of Ireland and England, 
and in the dissemination of the Christian doctrine. 

Fairs : May 1 and 2, June 1 1, Aug. 12, Sept 24, Oct 15, 
and Nov. 7. 

Seat : Moat, which is the handsome residence of Sir 
R, B. Lynch, Bart 

MINOLA is a village of Mayo, with a small lough on 
either side of it It is seated near a fine stream. Three 
miles farther is the village of Breafy, with a .gentleman's 
seat adjacent 

Pop. 450. Fairs : June 2, and Nov. 3. 

CASTLE BAR, the county town of Mayo, was, pre- 
vious to the union, a borough, returning members ; but 
it is now disfranchised. This is a good town, and the 
inhabitants are respectable, wealthy, and industrious. The 
great street is a mile in length ; it has two good bridges 
across the river, which issues from Raheen Lake, a short 
distance south west of the town. In 1798, the French 
force, under Humbert, possessed themselves of the town, 



No. 124. DUBLIN TO KILL A LA. 857 

which they held from the 26th of August until the 4th of 
September. The old castle, which gives in part name to the 
place, is on an eminence, and serves for a barrack. The 
green area, in the midst of the town, is planted, and forms 
a beautiful mall. The court house is a good building, and 
here also is the county gaol. The Earl of Lucan, owner 
of the town, has endowed a charter school. His lordship's 
house stands on a commanding hill, with a lawn and grove, 
down to the river's edge. Castlebar has a church, a neat 
Roman Catholic chapel, Methodist meeting house, bar- 
racks, and infirmary, a distillery, brewery, and tannery, 
market shambles, and a linen hall. The dealings in linens 
form an important part of the busy market of this 
fine town. Loch Conn is about 7 miles from Castlebar, 
and is 10 miles in length, and from 1 to 8 miles in 
breadth. 

Pop. 6373. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: May II, 
July 9, Sept 16, and Nov. 18. The Inns, Foy*s and 
Sheridan's are respectable, and are situated in Market 
Street. 

CROSSMOLINA is a village of Mayo. The most 
remarkable object is the ruin of the abbey, dedicated to 
the Virgin Mary. 

Pop. 1481. Fairs: May 23, Sept 12, and Dec. 17. 



No. 124. From Dublin to KILLALA. Third Road. 

Through Athlone, Toam, and Castlebar. 

Dublin Casus to Miles. Dublin Castle t? Miles. 

Athlone*, a« at No. 100 50* Kilglasacn r 108* 

Ballymull&lon 64 Hollymonnt 106* 

Thomas Street 69* Balcarra 115 

BaUyftman 7U Cattlebar* 119* 

Ballynamore 74* Croumolina 134* 

Newtown Bellew 82* Killala* 143| 

Tuam 93 



$38 No, 124. DUBLIN TO KILL ALA. 

BALLYMULLALON is a village of Roscommon. On 
the river Cronaugh is an ancient castle, 1£ mile distant 
towards Athlone. 

THOMAS STREET, in Roscommon; 1* mile east is 
Dysent church, and a lough extends along the road to she 
right, within a mile of Thomas Street village. 

Seats : Ballyna and Cloonagh. 

BALLYFARNAN is a town of Roscommon, on the 
east side of the river Suck, over which is a good bridge* 

BALLYNAMORE is a village of Galway, on the 
river Suck, which the road crosses twice, between this 
place and Newtown Bellew. Here are many neat country 
seats. Fair; Aug. 21. 

NEWTOWN-BELLEW is a village in Galway. Near 
it is the ruin of Castle-Bellew ; and beyond it is seen 
Moylough church. Six miles beyond Newtown-Bellew is a 
castle ruin; and near Cattle Moyle, a handsome seat, is 
the ruin of a church. Farther on is Moyue Abbey, a stately 
edifice, founded in 1460 for Franciscans, on the bank of 
the river Moyne. The abbey has a handsome square 
tower, ascended by a flight of 101 steps ; the remaining 
cloisters are of superior workmanship, and the Gothic 
windows exhibit very beautiful tracery. 

Fairs : May 28, Oct 11, and Nov. 11. 

TUAM is a well-built post town of Galway, and is 
governed by a sovereign and burgesses. It is an archi- 
episcopal city, and was formerly a borough. An abbey, 
dedicated to the Blessed Virgin, was first founded here 
in 487; and in the ancient church of the Shrine, St. 
Jarleth was buried. There is a Roman Catholic college, 
a handsome chapel, and free school. The abbey church 
was converted into a cathedral in the sixth century. 
There were two other monastic foundations ; but the 



No. 124. DUBLIN TO KILLALA. 359 

churches were all burned in 1244. The present cathedral 
is a neat edifice, with a lofty spire ; and there is a spacious 
but antiquated palace for the archbishops. To this see, 
under the late arrangements, the suffragan bishoprick of 
Killala is added. The diocesan school is an excellent 
institution, and has a well-built school house. The trade 
and manufactures of this place are considerable, the in* 
habitants are opulent, and the market is well supplied. 
The market house stands on square pillars in the centre of 
the town, and all the streets and shops have a neat 
Appearance. The old castle of Claddagh was a fortress, 
romantically situated amongst hills. 

Pop. 6883. Market days : Friday for linen, and Satur- 
day. Fairs : May 10, July 4, Oct. 10 and 20, and Dec. 15. 
Inns : the Connaught Hotel ; the Mitre Hotel. 

KILGLASSAN is a village of Mayo. 

HOLLY MOUNT is a town of Mayo, on the river Robe. 
The church is handsome. 

SEAts : Adjoining is the mansion of Mr. Lindsey ; 4 
miles beyond Hollymount, to the left, was Newbrook House, 
the magnificent seat of Viscount Clanmorris. 

Two miles beyond Hollymount is the ruin of an ancient 
castle, and three miles farther are several small lakes. 
Lough Carra is a Very beautiful lake, surrounded by crags, 
and a rude, romantic district. 

• Fairs: May 16, and Dec. 11. 

BALCARRA is a village of Mayo, seated beneath a 
great mountain. Near a rapid stream, which falls into 
Lough Conn, Mount Nephin terminates the prospect with 
its grand outline, and on the west borders this great lake. 
Near it is Lord Tyrawley's mansion. Balcarra church is 
4 handsome building. 

* Fairs : Feb. 2, June 4, and Nov. 10. 



MO 



No. 125. From Dublin to KILL ALOE. Through 
Mountrath, Toomavara, and Nenagh. 

Dublin Castleto Miles. Dublin CastU to MOa. 

Toomavara*, as at No. 3. •• 694 Killaloe* 80* 

Nenagh* 7* 



No. 126. From Dublin to KILLARNEY. Firs? 
Road. Through Maryborough, Limerick, Abbt- 
feale, and Castle Island. 

Dublin Caste to MOet. Dublin CasUe to MO*. 

Abbeyfeale* aiatNo. 3. •■ 123ft Killaraey 14S| 

Caatie Island* 133| 

THE LAKES OF KILLARNEY. 

KILLARNEY, in the county of Kerry, is a market and 
post town celebrated for its mountains and the lakes in 
its vicinity. We shall proceed at once to notice briefly the 
most beautiful objects, recommending*those who wish for a 
more detailed description, to consult the excellent " Guide 
to Killaraey," by the Rev. N. G. Wright 

The town of Killaraey is situated in the barony of 
Mafunihy, and has a clean and cheerful appearance. It is 
most readily approached by the Cork road, as the mail 
from Dublin conveys the traveller to the southern capital 
most economically; and a convenient coach from Cork 
arrives at Killaraey in the afternoon ; by this course the 
visitor .can be refreshed after his journey, for the next 
morning's more arduous ramble. Killamey is well built, 
but none of the houses command any prospect of the 



No. 126. DUBLIN TO K1LLARNEY. 361 

jacent lake. In New Street is the Kenmare Arms Itm, 
d there are two other very respectable inns in the prin- 
pal street. The linen manufacture is making rapid 
rogress here, under the patronage of the noble proprietor, 
[ere also are three clubs and public reading-rooms, in 
toich travellers will be kindly received. The church 
ontains many handsome monuments, and the east window 
i painted. It is not a beautiful building, but the exterior 
las some degree of grandeur. The Protestant free school 
a new building, supported and patronized by the towns- 
people and neighbouring landholders. In New Street is 
the Roman Catholic chapel, containing the monument of 
Dr. Gerald Tahan, a prelate, who died in 1797. The 
titular bishop has a handsome residence adjoining this 
chapel. The Presentation convent in New Street has, 
by the gift of Lord Kenmare, a sum of one hundred 
pounds annually : this nobleman grants clothing for thirty 
of the girls educated at the convent ; and also clothes and 
apprentices twenty boys of the Catholic school. Quarter 
sessions are held in Killarney, and the manor court for 
the recovery of small sums is held by the seneschal once 
in each month. 

Pop. -7910, Market day : Saturday. Fairs : July <>, 
Aug. 10, Oct 7, Nov. 11 and 30, and Dec. 28. Inns: the 
Kenmare Arms ; and the Hibernia. 

Adjoining the town, on a marshy level, is the seat of 
Lord Kenmare, surrounded by avenues of large trees. 
At the rear of the house is a terrace, abruptly terminated 
by a wide ha-ha. The interior contains a private chapel, 
and some of the rooms are hjing with tapestry. In the 
ball room is a picture of Handel crowned by Apollo, 
and a table, made from a single plank of yew, three 
feet broad. Busts of George JI. and Grattan, from th# 
II 



362 No. 126. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 

chisel of Turnerelli, decorate the staircase. The hall is 
paved with beautiful marble, raised on the lands of Cahir* 
nane, and is ornamented with busts of Wellington and 
Blucher. This mansion has an excellent garden. 

In visiting the lake a considerable expense is incurred 
in hiring one of the boats which are kept in readiness for 
the tourist ; they are the property of Lord Kenmare, and 
can only be obtained at a stipulated price : in addition to 
which, each of the boatmen, of whom there are generally 
four, receives 2*. per day, as well as dinner, and a bottle 
of whiskey. The boat is also usually accompanied by a 
coxswain, a gunner, and a bugleman. The extent of the 
lakes is about ; — Lower lake 4} miles by 2, Turk lake 2 
by 1, Glena bay 1 by f , and Upper lake has an average, 
of very unequal proportions, of 1 J by half a mile in width* 

ROSS ISLAND. 

Ron Cattle is built on a point of land which advances 
into the Lower lake, and in the rainy season is insulated 
by the waters collecting in the marsh. In summer, how- 
ever, this peninsula, which the term Ross denotes, is con- 
nected with the shore by dry land, as the castle is by a 
bridge and causeway. It is named Ross Island, and is 
the largest on the lakes. Ross Castle has a military 
governor, and a small detachment of soldiers. It was 
strongly garrisoned during the civil war, and was besieged 
in 1652 by Ludlow, who succeeded Ireton in the command 
of the Parliament's forces in this kingdom. Having de- 
feated Lord Muskery, in the county of Cork (in which 
action M'Gillicuddy, an Irish colonel, was slain), Lord 
Broghill, the gallant son of the Earl of Cork, joined 
General Ludlow, and pursued the remnants of the Irish 



No. 126. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 86$ 

army to Ross Castle. Having conveyed his long boats from 
Castle Main with much difficulty, and launched them on 
the lake, Ludlow intimidated the garrison to a surrender. 
A new building is attached to the square ivy-mantled 
tower of the ruined castle, the battlements of which 
command a fine view of Mangerton, Turk, Glena, &c. 
The island is covered by young plantations, amongst 
which are many beautiful shrubs. The lead and copper 
mines of Ross Island are no longer worked. 

In Ross Bay is situated the boat-house. At the moment 
of embarkation the bugle is sometimes sounded, and an 
echo is heard as if proceeding from the castle, and more 
remotely from the slopes of Mangerton : this echo is the 
finest from the shores of the lakes, and is particularly 
beautiful if heard in the evening. 

o'donohue's prison, &c. 

O'Donokue's Prison is a steep rock, nearly 30 feet high, 
so called from a chieftain of gigantic stature, who is sup- 
posed to have consigned his enemies to this barren spot 
His celebrated white charger has also a local record in 
another rock, resembling a horse, close to the Mucruss 
shore, named O* Donahue's Horse. 

To the north ofO'Donohue's Prison are Heron and Lamb 
Islands, and farther to the west is Rabbit or Brown Island, 
containing quarries of limestone, which is burnt for agri- 
cultural purposes. 

Mouse Island, so called from its diminutive size, is a 
rock situated in the channel, between Ross and Jnnis- 
fallen. 



364 No. 126. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 



INNISFALLEN. 

The Island of Innisfallen is situated to the west of Ross 
Island, and is, as its name imports, a beautiful or healthy 
island. It has but two landing places, one of which has 
a mole where tourists disembark. This beautiful spot 
consists of 18 acres, laid out by nature in delightful variety 
of woodland, knoll, and lawn. The timber of Innisfallen 
consists of gigantic oak and ash trees, whilst the arbutus 
and the holly form the underwood. Amongst the curiosities 
pointed out to the visitor are, a holly 14 feet in circum- 
ference : a hawthorn growing through a tomb-stone near 
the abbey; a crab-tree, with an aperture through which 
the guide recommends ladies to pass ; and the Bed of 
Honour, a projecting rock shaded by an old yew, and so 
called from having been visited by the Duke of Rutland 
when he was Governor of Ireland. 

The abbey of Innisfallen was founded in the sixth 
century, by St Finian, but the ruins now visible are 
evidently of much later date. In 1180 tbe island was 
ravaged, the abbey plundered, and the priests slain, by 
Maolduin O'Donaghoe. The Annals of lnnisfallen y pre- 
served in Trinity College, Dublin, may be referred to by 
those who wish for more historical information. These 
MSS. comprise a history of the World, from the creation 
to a. d. 430, from which period to 1320, they refer solely 
to Ireland. At the south-east corner of the island is an 
ancient chapel, with a Saxon doorway; it is called the 
oratory, but has been fitted up by Lord Kenmare as a 
banqueting room, and commands a fine view. The pastu- 
rage in this island is celebrated for fattening cattle ; a few 
cows and a flock of sheep are taken care of by a resident 
family. 



No. 126. DUBLIN TO KLLLARNEY. 365 

TOMIE8 AND OLENA MOUNTAINS, o'SULLIVAN's 
CASCADE, &C 

Tomies and Glena are wooded promontories, whose 
rocky sides abruptly range along the water's edge, opposite 
to Innisfallen island. Their bleak mountain summits are 
seen beyond the forest, which grows on their slopes, and 
extends above five miles. Tomies mountain is about a 
mile and a half from Innisfallen. 

In Tomies bay is a rude quay, beyond which the tourist 
may proceed by a rugged path, along the side of a 
rapid stream, to O' Sullivan's Cascade, which descends a 
romantic ravine in three falls over ledges of rock. The 
roar of this grand cascade, as the water rushes into the 
cavities which it has formed, is terrific. In the grotto, 
formed beneath a rock projecting over the lower basin, 
is a stone seat, from which the sublime scene may be con- 
templated. 

Re-embarking at the quay, the tourist sails over deep 
water, at the bottom of which the peasantry assert car- 
buncles may be seen in clear weather. Pearls are also 
said to have been formerly found in the lake and in the 
river Lane. In the county of Kerry amethysts of some 
value have at various times been discovered. 

glena, &c. 

Coasting along towards the Upper lake, the tourist 
passes Stag Island, Burnt Island, and Darby's Garden, all 
situated near Glena Point ; and, leaving Castle Lough bay 
to the east, proceeds, beneath the woods of Glena, to 
Glena Bay, the scenery of which is as varied as it is 
beautiful. On its western shore are a holly, an oak, an 
n3 



366 No. 126. DUBLIN TO K1LLARNEY. 

ash, a hazel, a birch, and a thorn, so curiously incorporated, 
that they appear but one tree. 

Glena Bay is remarkable for an echo, and has an excel- 
lent fishery of trout, perch, and salmon. 

Parties resorting to the lake frequently dine at Glena 
Cottage, most beautifully situated at the base of Glena 
mountain, and sheltered by a hanging wood close to the lake. 
The salmon caught here are split from head to tail, and cut 
into pieces, which are pierced with skewers of arbutus wood, 
supposed to give them a peculiar flavour, and roasted over 
a turf fire. The peasant who takes care of the cottage, has 
a little hut behind it, and always gives visitors a welcome 
reception. 

Stag hunts occasionally take place, when the spectators 
wait in their boats to view the stag, pursued by hounds 
and huntsmen, merge from some bushy dingle of Glena 
forest, and take the water, where he is intercepted by the 
sportsmen, and borne to shore. The stag, or red deer, is 
still found in the woods surrounding these lakes. 

CASTLE LOUGH BAY, &C 

In Castle Lough Bay, between Ross Island and Mucruss 
promontory, is a good fishery. Here also, amongst others, 
are Cow Island, Friar's Island, Ash Island, and, close in 
with the shore of a cove beneath Mucruss Abbey, Sugar 
Island. At the mouth of this wide bay are Pigeon, Jack- 
daw, and Crow Islets, also a long strip of land named 
Coarse Island, and a pretty rock called Yew Island. 
Castle Lough is the seat of Dr. Lawler. The castle itself 
was nearly razed to the ground by Ludlow. The. vicinity 
of this bay is flat land. 



No. 126. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 367 



TURK LAKE, DINI8 ISLAND, TURK COTTAGE, 
AND CASCADE. 

The most beautiful entrance into Turk Lake is by the 
circuitous channel on the Glena side of Dinis Island ; but 
there is also an entrance on the other side of the same 
island, and another under Brickeen bridge. The tourist 
should land on Dinis Island, to survey the beautiful lawns 
and groves with which it is adorned. Here is a neat cot- 
tage, where parties frequently dine ; it commands a pleas- 
ing prospect of the whole lake, which is about two miles 
long, and one broad : as well as Turk and Mangerton moun- 
tains, and Turk cottage. Hence he may re-embark, and 
coasting along the south side of the lake, have a fine view 
of Turk Mountain, a beautiful conical hill, wooded to a con- 
siderable height, as well as of the opposite shore, which 
forms an excellent contrast 

At the east end of the lake is Turk Cottage, belonging 
to Mr. Herbert, and about a furlong behind it is a beauti- 
ful fall of 60 feet, called Turk Cascade, which is supplied 
from a lake on the summit of Mangerton. This small 
lake is denominated the Devil's Punch Bowl, and hence 
the rivulet which flows from it has the name of the Devil's 
Stream. The tourist should then sail round the east and 
north Bides of the lake, noticing the Devil* s Island, which 
appears to have been separated from the Mucruss shore by 
an earthquake, and, passing by Brickeen bridge, return 
to Dinis Island. 

MUCRUSS ABBEY, &C 

Leaving Killarney to the north, and proceeding towards 
Mangerton, the tourist passes by Woodlawn Cottage, On 



368 No. 12*. DUBLIN TO KILLABNEY. 

the river Flesk ; Cairnane, the seat of Mr. Herbert ; Lord 
Headley's Lodge, and Castle Lough. The river Flesk falls 
into the lake at the back of Ross Island, opposite to Pigeon 
Island. An avenue of lime-trees borders this road from 
Flesk Bridge to the village of Cfoghereen, which is two 
miles from Killarney, and forms the entrance to the beau- 
tiful demesne of Mucruss. 

Mucruss, or Irrelagh Abbey, is surrounded by fine trees. 
It was founded by Donald McCarthy, A.D. 1440, as a 
house for Conventual Franciscans, and further improved 
by him in 1468, a short time before his death. In 1602 it 
was rebuilt by the Roman Catholics, but was soon after 
allowed to decay. This beautiful edifice originally con- 
sisted of a nave, choir, transept, and cloisters, the remains 
of which are still very perfect. The tower, at the junction 
of the transept and nave, rests upon four narrow, but 
elegant Gothic arches, which are partially concealed by 
the shrubs rooted in the mouldings. The choir has a 
gloomy and solitary appearance, which is heightened by 
the numerous relics of mortality scattered about in every 
direction. On the floor is the tomb of the McCarthy 
Mores, and on the walls are several monuments of ancient 
date. The tracery of the great eastern window is parti- 
cularly beautiful. Adjoining the choir is a small chapel. 
The old bell of this abbey was found in the Lough some 
years ago. 

The cloisters, which are 40 feet square, are in good pre- 
servation, and exhibit various styles of architecture, some 
of the arches being Gothic, and others semicircular, or 
Saxon. The great yew tree in the centre spreads its 
boughs over the side-walls, and by its dark sepulchral 
foliage, adds much to the solemnity of the scene. The 
dormitory, kitchen, refectory, wine cellars, and other 



No. 126. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 360 

chambers, formerly tenanted by the monks, are still in 
tolerable preservation ; but the evidences of the ravages 
of death are too prominent to encourage very close in- 
spection. The thin deal coffins of the peasants are seldom 
sunk more than two feet below the surface. The cemetery 
south of the abbey is also crowded with tombs. 

Mucruss, the mansion of the Herbert family, is an old 
and plain building, but is advantageously situated, and 
commands a good view of the lake. The demesne is co- 
vered with wood, and is traversed by an interesting winding 
path, which extends as far as the extremity of Brickeen 
Island. The Peninsula and Brickeen Island are connected 
by a bridge erected by H. A. Herbert, Esq. : it consists of 
one arch, 17 feet high, and 27 in span. Mucruss Peninsula 
contains a quarry of beautiful marble. Iron ore and cop- 
per have also been obtained in it 

MANGERTON MOUNTAIN. 

This mountain is 2693 feet in height, and may be easily 
ascended from Cloghereen, either on horseback or on foot. 
At this village the tourist should procure a guide, who 
carries a horn, and is generally accompanied by a number 
of men and boys, who press themselves into the traveller's 
service, regardless of his entreaties to the contrary. In 
about half an hour, an elevation is obtained commanding a 
fine view of the lake and its islands, and beyond this the 
patli gradually increases in interest. Along the mountain 
may be seen the road between Manger ton and Turk, lead- 
ing to Nedheen, or Kenmore, which is 1 If miles from 
Killarney. The tourist soon arrives at the Devil's Punch 
Bowl, an oval basin about a quarter of a mile in diameter, 
the waters of which are very cold and dark, and supply 
the Turk Cascade already mentioned. It is supposed by 



370 No. 12*. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 

some to be the crater of an extinguished volcano. Here the 
guide blows his horn so as to produce an extraordinary effect. 

From the Bowl a path leads to the summit of Manger- 
ton, which, in fine weather, commands a most extensive 
prospect, embracing the course of the river Kenmare, the 
coast towards Bantry, the Reeks, and the Sugar Loaf, 
overlooking the bold Kerry shores distinguished by the 
improvements of Lord Headly, and the estates of Daniel 
O' Council, Esq. (Cahir Lieven), and the Knight of Kerry; 
whilst to the north west are seen the Tralee Mountains, as 
well as Castlemain, Dingle, and Miltown Bays. 

From Mangerton the tourist of stout nerves may de- 
scend the Glen of the Horse, or, as it is called by the 
mountain peasantry, Glen-na-Capull, this being a much 
more interesting, though more dangerous route, than that 
by which he ascended. The easiest entrance to it is by 
the opening through which the superfluous waters of the 
Bowl descend to Turk Cascade. One side of this soli- 
tary glen consists of craggy rocks, to which the mountain 
eagles resort as a secure retreat ; and at the bottom are 
two small loughs, on whose brink a few sheep and goats 
occasionally procure subsistence. The effect of the horn 
in this obscure glen is particularly fine. 

From the ridge between Glen-na-Capull and the Bowl 
may be seen several loughs, the most remarkable of which 
are Lough Na-Maraghnarig, in a very lofty situation, and 
lower, in Glan Flesk Mountain, Lough Kittane, which is 
2 miles long and 1 broad. 

If the traveller return from the summit of Mangerton 
by the same route as he ascended, he should entrust his 
torse to one of the numerous attendants by whom he will 
be accompanied, as the descent is performed much better 
on foot He may then ride back to Killarney. 



No. 1J0. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 371 

AGHADOE. 

Aghadoe cathedral church is a venerable ruin, 2} miles 
from Killarney, and is celebrated for its view of the lake, 
and of the lofty hills which are closed in by the reeks* 
The last half mile of the route is not passable for carriages, 
as the church is out of the high road. The abbey of 
Aghadoe appears to have been of considerable dimensions 
and antiquity ; the door is carved with rich Saxon orna- 
ments, and there were loop-holes in the east wall giving 
but a scanty light to the chancel. The cemetery of the 
Roman Catholics at this place is crowded with skulls, 
bones, &c, and is frequently very offensive. Near the 
church is a round tower, 20 feet in height) and here 
also is the pulpit, consisting of the remains of a round 
castle, 30 feet in height, and 25 in diameter. At the north 
west corner of the church is a rough stone, 7 feet long, 
with an Ogham inscription. The characters of which it is 
composed are 8£ inches long, and are formed of horizontal 
or of perpendicular lines, from which unequal but parallel 
direct lines project ; the measure of these causes variation, 
and they seem to bear an affinity to the simplest of the 
Chinese characters. The Ogham letters were used by the 
ancient Irish, but are now unintelligible cyphers. On the 
left of the road from Killarney to Aghadoe is Prospect 
Hail, from the grounds of which there is a charming view 
of the lakes. 

DtfNLOE CASTLE. 

This ancient castle is rather more than 2 miles beyond 
Aghadoe, and is situated near Laune- Bridge, which is 
built over a river of the same name. During the civil 



372 No. 126. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 

wars, in the time of Elizabeth and Cromwell, it formed a 
retreat for the chieftains of Kerry. It is now the resi- 
dence of Major Mahoney, having been modernized and 
fitted up in a commodious manner. The floors of some 
of the apartments are of yew. The battlements command 
a fine view of the surrounding country, which is thickly 
wooded. 

Beyond Dunloe Castle a narrow road leads to Durdoe 
Gap, a grand and romantic defile nearly four miles in 
length, situated between Tomies Mountains and M'Gilli- 
cuddy's Reeks. The hills at its entrance are called Holly 
Mountain and Bull Mountain, and their sides are almost 
perpendicular. Skirting the first part of the road is a 
small lake, reflecting the dark hue of the mountain hanging 
over it, and beyond this the scenery assumes an aspect 
truly appalling. At the extremity of the Gap is a road 
leading to Gher amine Cottage, the seat of Lord Brandon, 
surrounded by delightful grounds. Here also is the Valley 
of Comme Duff, at the west end of which is the Red 
Trout Lake. Almost opposite the end of the Gap is a 
cascade, the waters of which form several small lakes in 
the valleys, and finally enter the Upper lake at Cariguline. 

CARRAN TUAL. 

This is the highest peak in the vicinity of Killarney, 
being 3410 feet above the level of the sea, and is the most 
difficult of access. Its name, Car ran Tual, signifies " in- 
verted reaping hook/' to which the outline of the upper 
part is said to bear a strong resemblance. The excursion 
to Carran Tual is an undertaking requiring considerable 
strength and resolution, as at least seventeen hours will 
be necessary to go from and return to Killarney, fourteen 



No. 126. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 87$ 

of which must be occupied in active exertion. The tra- 
veller should ride from Killarney across Laune bridge, 
and turning to the right, beyond Dunloe Gate, will arrive 
at a small village at the foot of the Reeks, where he may 
hire a guide. Here he should leave his horse, or send it 
back to Killarney, having previously ordered a boat to meet 
him at the boat-house at the west end of the upper lake, 
and given directions for dinner at Ronan's Island. 

From the village a horse-path crosses the hills to Mr. 
Blennerhasset's Lodge, seated on the banks of the Giddah 
river, which is seen winding through the vale in its course 
to the Laune. The tourist then obtains a view of Dingle 
Bay from Lishbaun Mountain ; and crossing the Giddah, 
passes through a vale to the Hag's Glen. On the left are 
the precipitous sides of the Lower Reeks, and opposite to 
them appears Konnoc a Brianin, or the Hill of the Sheep 
Raddle. Here may be seen the Hag's Tooth, a conical 
rock projecting from the mountain, the Hag's Lough, with 
an island in the centre, the Devil's Lough, &c. Hence 
the ascent is prosecuted by the narrow channel of a moun- 
tain-torrent to the summit of a ridge, which leads to the 
highest peak. The view from this spot is very extensive, 
embracing the Tralee Mountains, Bantry Bay, the har- 
bours and rocky coast of Kerry, including the bays of 
Castlemaine and Dingle, together with an endless variety 
of nearer objects. Amongst the plants growing here, 
London Pride abounds. The principal stone found is 
sandstone. 

Along the ridge of the Reeks are seen several pools. 
The awful nature of the declivities is little understood 
when contemplated from this elevated position ; the Lower 
Reeks appear foreshortened, and seem to consist of 

KK 



374 No, 126. DUBLIN TO KlLLAttNETT. 

inclined pi anew, whilst the glaring expanse of the lakes is* 
often presented to the eye in a deceptive proximity. 

The tourist should now descend to the valley of Cnmme 
Duff, beyond which a rugged path of four miles will lead 
him to the boat-house on the Upper Lake, whence he 
will be conveyed to Kenan's Island. Me may then return 
to Killorncy. 

THE UPPER LAKE, 

The entrance to the Upper Luke from the Lower, or 
from TuTk Lake, is formed by a natural channel, bounded 
on the north-west by Glena and Long Range Mountains, 
and on the south-east, by the base of Turk and the droop- 
ing mountain. It is of unequal breadth, and about three 
miles in length. In this passage there are many fine views j 
t&e tourist should also notice O' Sullivan's Punch Bowl, an 
eddy near Old Weir Bridge, Plummet's Island, and a large 
mass of rock called the Man of War, to which it certainly 
bean considerable resemblance. The Eagle's Nest, which 
forms the prominent object in the passage, is a steep corn- 
eal rock, about 1300 feet in height, the base being covered 
with wood, and the tipper part adorned with a few moun- 
tain shrubs, which add greatly to its beauty. The nest, 
from which the mountain derives its name, is situated 
near the summit, and appears like a black spot Beneath 
the crags of the Eagle's Nest is an echo of extra- 
ordinary power, repeating the sound of a cannon like 
successive peals of thunder. Music also here produces a 
charming effect The Station for Music, as it is called, is 
on this side the river, and the Station for Audience on the 
other. Beyond the Eagle's Nest, the tourist passes 
numerous rocks and islands, amongst which are Holly 



No, 126. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. ZT* 

Island, the Four Friends, Newfoundland Mountain, &c. He 
then arrives at the passage into the Upper Lake, which is 
not more than 30 feet broad, and is called Coleman's Leap, 
tradition asserting that a man of this name once jumped 
across it The impression of his foot on the opposite rock 
is of course still visible. On the left is the peninsula 
called Coleman's Eye, 

The Upper Lake consists of about 720 acres, and is 
completely surrounded by mountains, which give it a sub- 
lime and picturesque aspect Its extreme length is about 
If mile, but its breadth varies greatly. The principal 
islands on its surface are Roman's Island, where parties 
occasionally dine, Duck Island, M'Carthy's Island, Arbutus 
Island, Rossburkie, or Oak Island, from the shores of which 
there is a splendid prospect, Knight of Kerry's Island, 
Eagle Island, and Stag Island. The tourist should visit 
Esknamucky Cascade, situated behind Cromiglaun, or the 
Drooping Mountain, which rises from the brink of the lake 
in majestic grandeur ; and a secluded cottage usually called 
Heyde's Cottage, which is situated up a beautiful green- 
bordered narrow arm of the lake, and for beauty of 
situation is unequalled. To the west of it is Derry-Cuniky, 
another cascade of great beauty. He should also ascend 
Cromiglaun, from the summit of which there is a fine view of 
the lake and its islands. 

From the Upper lake the tourist must return by the 
same channel as he entered, but his progress will be greatly 
facilitated, as the current will now be with, instead of 
against, him. The only unpleasant part of the passage is 
shooting old Weir Bridge, which should only be attempted 
by persons with good nerves. 



376 No. 126. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 

GENERAL TOUR OF THE LAKES. 

The Rev. N. G, Wright, in his interesting Guide already 
noticed, recommends the following tour of three days 
to travellers who are pressed for time ; those who have 
abundance of leisure will occupy at least a week in sur- 
veying the various beauties ef the lakes of Killarney. 

First day — Visit Mucruss, Mucruss Abbey, Mangerton, 
Devil 1 * Punch Bowl, Glen-na-Capu1 t and Lough Kittane. 

Second day — Lord Ken ma re's mansion and demesne, 
Kneckriur Hill, Boss Castle ; embark for Innisfallen, pro- 
ceed northward by boat to O'Sulliv,: li t s Cascade, Tomies 
Mountain, the Drinking Horse ; visit Turk Lake through 
Brickeen Bridge, Turk Cottage, and Cascade ; pass be- 
tween the foot of Turk Mountain and Dinis Island, walk 
across Dinis to O* Sullivan's Punch Bowl ; embark for 
Glena Bay, dine at Glena Cottage on salmon, &c, pass 
Darby's Garden, sound the bugle in Glena Bay, and 
again opposite to Ross Castle ; here land, and return to 
Killarney. 

Third day — Visit Aghadoe church, cross Beaufort 
Bridge to Dunloe Castle, thread the gorge of Dunloe Gap, 
descend into Comme Duff Valley, pass the Loughs, visit 
Gheramine Cottage ; embark for Ronan's Island for Derry 
Cunihy, pass by Coffin Point, Cromiglaun, Coleman's Eye, 
to the Esknamucky Cascade; enter the channel, pass 
Coleman's Leap, the Eagle's Nest — here listen to the dis- 
charge of a petararo and the echo ; shoot through old 
Weir Bridge, proceed to the Peninsula of Mucruss, pass 
Brickeen Bridge, inspect the shores of Mucruss, and the 
rocks and isles of O'Donohue's Table, Alexander's Rock, 
Cow Island, Jackdaw Island, Yew Island, and Rough 
Island; land under Ross Castle. 



377 



No. 127. From Dublin to KILLARNEY. Second 
' Road. Through Cork, Macroom, and Millstreet. 

Dublin Castle to Mile*. DuNin Cartle to Mite». 

Cork*, as at No. 27. 124* Macroom 143* 

Ballincollig 129 Millatreet 1534 

Ovens'Inn 130| Killanxey* 169f 

BALLINCOLLIG a post town in Cork. The castle, 
which belonged to the ancient family of Barrett, was 
a fine square fortress built on an abrupt precipice, and 
entirely commanded the circumjacent plain. It was 
occupied by a garrison in the civil wars. A considerable 
portion of this castle is still standing. Near Ballincollig 
is the ruin of Kilcrea Castle ; Kilcrea Abbey, founded by 
Connac M 'Car thy in 1456, has a steeple 80 feet high. 
The approach to the nave is formed by a gloomy footway 
between walls, composed of skulls and bones, and shaded 
Ivy lofty rows of oak trees. Pop, 875. 

OVENS is a small village, with an inn and a church. 
The cavern at this place is deserving of the tourist's 
inspection; it is of considerable length, and may be 
entered with safety ; the roof is incrusted with stalactites 
and spar. The rivers Lee and Bride unite close to this 
village. 

MACROOM is a market and post town of consider- 
able antiquity, in the interior of the county of Cork. It 
is seated on the Sullane. The castle, erected in the reign 
of King John, is modernised, and is the residence of the 
Eyre family ; it was burnt in 1641, but rebuilt by the Eark 
of Clancarty. Some persons have asserted, that Admiral 
Penn was born within the walls of this castle, but on his 
tombstone, at Bristol, it is stated that he was a native of 
that city. Here are two ancient towers, 60 feet in height, 

KK 3 



! 



378 No. 127. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 

as well as barracks; and opposite to the bridge is St. 
Colman's church, a very handsome edifice ; a Roman Ca- 
tholic chapel, a dispensary, and schools. On the edge of a 
moss, half a mile from Macroom, is a chalybeate spring ; 
and in the vicinity are various ancient buildings. The 
prospects are bounded by great mountain ridges. To the 
south are Driskane Castle, and some other handsome 
residences. To the west, at Carrigafouky, is CarrigadroMd, 
a castle of the M'Carthy's, in a most romantic situation on 
a rock, and near it is an altar supposed to have been raised 
by the Druids. Four miles farther, in this direction, from 
Macroom, is Bally vourney, celebrated for its ancient church, 
now ruined, and for its nunnery. Dunda Castle occupies 
a rocky height, six miles from Macroom. 

Pop. 2058. Market-day: Saturday. Fairs: 12th of 
May, July, Sep., and Nov. Inns : The King's Arms, and 
the Swan. 

MILLSTREET is a post town in Cork, on the mail 
coach line between Cork and Killarney, with a good inn. 
It has barracks, a church, and a Roman Catholic chapel 
The neighbourhood is highly romantic, and abounds with 
stupendous hills, amongst which are found many ancient 
remains and castles. The principal objects worthy the 
traveller's attention are, the Danish forts of Clondrohid, 
with an old church ruin; M'Swinney's Fortress, called 
Clodagh Castle ; the two beautiful mountains termed the 
Paps, with tumuli on the conical apex of each summit ; 
the wild district of O'Donohue's country, with his old 
castle; the brilliant rocks of Kilnamatery, resembling 
white battlements ; and the fine route to Killarney, with 
its cloud-capped hills. 

Pop. 1935. Fairs: March 1, June 1, Sept. 1, and Dec. 1. 



379 



No. 128. From Dublin to KILLARNEY. Third 
Road. Through Kilkenny, Clonmell, Doneraile, 
and Mallow. 

Dublin Castic to Miles. Dublin Castle to MOes* 

Clogheen* as at No. 27 93* Doneraile 113 

Ballyporeen 96* Mallow 118J 

Mitchelrtown 103 Mfflstreet* 136| 

Kildorerey* 107 Killarney* 1M 

MITCHELSTOWN is a pretty market and post town 
of Cork, which has been much improved under the aus- 
pices of the Kingston family. The demesne is very exten- 
sive and beautiful, and free admission is at all times per- 
mitted into the park. The splendid mansion, Mitchelstown 
Castle, the seat of the Earl of Kingston, by whom it was 
erected in 1823, is at this place, and here also is a college 
founded by Lord Kingston, for twelve decayed gentlemen 
and sixteen females : the residents have each a house, and 
a yearly allowance of 402. Mitchelstown contains a modern 
church, and a Roman Catholic chapel. In 1833, some sin- 
gular and extraordinary caves were discovered on the 
estate of Lord Kingston ; they are situated about 7} miles 
from the town, and are very interesting to the scientific 
traveller. Near this town are the ruins of Caherdriny and 
Carriganoura castles. A mile from Mitchelstown are the 
round tower and ruined church of Brigowne. On the Black- 
water, near Mitchelstown, is the beautiful mansion of 
Castle Hyde, Five miles from Mitchelstown, is Lord 
Kingston's mountain lodge, beautifully situated on a hill, 
surrounded by thick woods and mountains. 

Pop. 354$. Market day : Thursday. Fairs : Jan. 10, 
Mar. 25, May 23, July 30, Nov. 12, and Dec. 2. Inn : 
The Kingston Arms Hotel. 



380 No. 128. DUBLIN TO KILLARNEY. 

KILDOREREY, in Cork. In the neighbourhood of 
this Tillage are to be seen Ballmamama Castle, and WaWi 
Town Cattle, both in the direction of Doneraile. 

Pop. 576. Fairs: May 1, June 27, Sept. 3, and Nov. 27. 

DONERAILE is a market and post town of Cork, 
situated on the Aubeg, which flows southward, to join 
the Blackwater. The church has a lofty spire, and on 
the foundations of the old castle are barracks, and near 
them marble quarries. Here also are a Roman Catholic 
chapel and convent, and a free school. Two miles from 
Doneraile is Kilcoleman Castle, in which Spenser composed 
the Faerie Queen, now the seat of Adderly Beamish, Esq. 
there the poet was visited by Sir Walter Raleigh ; there he 
married a country girl ; but driven by Lord Tyrone from 
the estate of 3000 acres of forfeited lands that had been 
granted to him, he fled to England, where he died in po- 
verty. The mansion and grounds of Doneraile, the seat of 
Viscount Doneraile, are noted for their extraordinary 
beauty. At Castle Saffron, one mile distant, are several 
cascades. Buttevant is a post town, three miles from 
Doneraile, seated on the Aubeg. It has a modem church, 
and ruins of several monasteries : a curious tower, built by 
the Earl of Desmond, called Cullin, stands near one of the 
monasteries. The family of Barrymore derive the title of 
Viscount from this place. Their motto, Boutez em etwmi, 
explains the meaning of the name Buttevant. 

Pop. of Doneraile, 2652. Market day : Saturday. Fairs: 
Aug. 12, and Nov. 12. 

Pop. of Buttevant, 1536. Fairs : March 27, July 20, 
Oct 14, and Nov. 20. 

MALLOW, in Cork, is an agreeable post town and 
watering-place, situated on the banks of the Blackwater, 
a pretty river, which nearly intersects the province of 



No. 129. DUBLIN TO KILLEIGH. 881 

Munster, and is governed by a provost and burgesses. 
The medicinal spring, for which it is noted, issues from the 
limestone close to the town ; the water is hot, like the 
Bristol springs, and has been in estimation with the Irish 
gentry for a hundred years ; it is recommended for con- 
sumptive patients. The Spa house is a neat building. 
A pretty canal, bordered by poplars, leads to it from town, 
and on the south side is a sheltering rock of limestone. 
Two castles were built at Mallow, by Desmond, the noble 
chieftain ; one of them was demolished in the civil war, and 
the ruins of the other are still visible on an eminence 
overlooking the river. Mallow is a borough town, return- 
ing a member to parliament It has a church, a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a public reading room and library, 
meeting houses, market house, cavalry barracks, and a 
handsome bridge over the Blackwater. 

Pop, 5229. Market days: Tuesday and Saturday. Fairs: 
Jan. 1, Monday before Shrove Tuesday, May 11, July 25, 
and October 28. Inn : Carmichael's. 

Seat : Mr. Jephson's is a family mansion that has long 
been greatly admired ; it possesses a deer-park, gardens, 
and ornamental shrubbery. 



No 129. From Dublin to KILLEIGH. Through 
Lucan, Celbridge, and Portarlinoton. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Mil*. 

Palmerstown 3| Rathangan 88i 

Lucan* 6} Portarlington 36* 

Celbridge 99 Clonegowan 40* 

Clane 16} Kffleigh 461 

Kilmeague 22} 

' CELBRIDGE is a handsome village and post town 
in Kildare, pleasantly situated on the Lifley, over which is 



393 No. 129, DUBLIN TO KIL LEIGH. 

a stone bridge of six arches, connecting it with the read 
on the left shore. The church is a neat modern stone 
building at the end of the principal street ; it has a lower, 
and a painted window, and an interesting monument of the 
Conolly family. Here also are a Roman Catholic chapel, a 
dispensary, a fever hospital, and a savings' bank ; and about 
a quarter of a mile from the village is a school-house. 
The manufacture of woollens and cottons is carried on 
here to a considerable extent Celbridge has acquired 
considerable interest from having been the residence of 
Swift's Vanessa. She was the daughter of a Dutch mer- 
chant, and died here in 1723. Celbridge Abbey, which ia 
of Gothic architecture, has been repaired and rendered 
habitable. 

Seats: Castle Town, a very splendid mansion and de- 
mesne of the Conolly family; Killadoon, the Earl of 
Leitrim ; this handsome place is a mile beyond Celbridge. 

Pop. 1647. Market Day: Tuesday. Fairt ; Last 
Tuesday in April, Sept 8, and Nov. 7. 

Beyond Celbridge, and within a mile of Clane, is 
Castle Browne, a mansion belonging to the renovated 
society of Jesuits. 

Between Celbridge and Clane, also, on the banks of 
the Liffey, is Straffan, the seat of the Henry family. 

CLANE, is a village and post town of Kildare, built 
on the right bank of the Liffey, over which is a bridge 
of six arches : its church has a lofty steeple. Clane 
abbey is in ruins, close to the village. 

Pop. 1210. Fairs : April 28, July 25, and Oct 15. 

Beyond Clane the grand canal crosses the road, and at 
Millecent, a neat residence, is an aqueduct across the Lif. 
fey. Barber's Town Castle, a gentleman's seat, is three 
miles beyond Clane. 



No. 129. DUBLIN TO KtLLEIGH. 88S 

KILMEAGUE is a village hi KUdare* A nib beyond 
it is Allen, a hamlet that give* name to the most celebrated 
tract of bog in the kingdom, which extends into Kildare, 
Queen's county, King's county, Meath, Westmeath, Long- 
ford, Tipperary, and Galway. From the Hill of Allen, 
which is about 300 feet in height, there is an extensive 
prospect across the level of the moss. The grand canal 
passes through the Bog of Allen, and affords a constant 
drainage to a considerable portion of it. Fairs : May 24, 
and June 29. 

RAT HANG AN is a market and post town of Kildare* 
situated near the grand canal. Some of the inhabitants 
were massacred in 1798, and the town was pillaged. Ra* 
thangan has a stone church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and 
meeting houses. 

Pop. 1165. Market day: Monday. Fairs: WmVTues- 
day, Aug. 26, and Not. 12. 

PORT ARLINGTON is a borough, market, and post 
town, situated on the Barrow, which divides it into two un- 
equal parts ; the larger being in Queen's, and the smaller 
in King's County, The town is well built, and the princi- 
pal street is very handsome : it is governed by a ftoVMwtgn 
and recorder. It Was originally colonized by French emi* 
grants, whom the revocation of the edict of Nantes convr 
pelled to fly from their home ; hence French names, such 
us Comeille, Coigny, &c, are common in various towns of 
Ireland* Portarlington has always been noted for superior 
schools, for the education of youth of both sexes, particu- 
larly in the French language. The Marquess Wellesley 
and the Duke of Wellington were, in early boyhood, placed 
in one of these schools. Portarlington gives the title of 
Earl to the Dawson family; and returns a member to the 
Imperial Parliament. The church, erected in 1*10, Is a 



384 No. 130. DUBLIN TO KILLOUGH. 

neat building, with a lofty spire; there are also two 
meeting houses, a market house, and a celebrated spa, 
which is much frequented. 

Seats : Emo Park, formerly called Dawson's Grove, the 
mansion of the Earl of Portarlington, three miles distant 
Lansdown, a house belonging to the Gore family. 

Pop. 3091. Market days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs : Jan. 5, March 1, Easter- Monday, May 22, July 4, 
Sept 1, Oct. 12, and Nov. 23. Inn: the Crown. 

CLONEGOWAN is a village of King's county, with a 
mansion of the Meredith family. Fair : July 22. 

KILLEIGH is a pleasant town in King's county. At 
the foot of Killeigh Hill, close to the church, are the re- 
mains of an ancient abbey. Adjacent to the town is a good 
country house, called Millbrooke. 

Pop. 478. Fairs : June 1, and Oct 16. 



No. 130. From Dublin to KILLOUGH. First Road. 
Through Newry, Rathfriland, and Clough. 



eto Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Newry*, as at No. 1 50* Clough* 69 

Rathfriland* 57J Killough 761 

Castle wellan* 65 

KILLOUGH is a small sea-port and post town of Down, 
with a harbour, affording safe anchorage. The quay was 
designed by the late Alexander Nimmo, Esq., and erected 
at the expense of Lord Bangor. This is a good fishing 
station, and has a considerable export trade in corn. The 
shore is extremely agreeable, and in the cliff is a cavern, 
in which, at the flowing of the tide, or at high-water, there 
is a continued melodious echo, responding to the noise of 



No. 131. DUBLIN TO KILLOUGH. 385 

the surge. Killough has barracks for cavalry, and a large 
and well-built church. Near the school house is a mineral 
spring, and in the vicinity of the town are some ruins, 
called the Castles of Ardglass, and several curious caves. 

Pop. 1162. Fairs: 2nd Friday in Feb. and Aug., June 9, 
and Nov. 12. 



No. 131. From Dublin to KILLOUGH. Second Road. 
Through Rathfriland, Bryansford, andDuNDRUM. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Caslle to Miles. 

Newry* as at No. 1. 50} Dundrum* 68} 

Rathfriland* 57} Over the Strand to KUiough 75} 

Bryan's Ford 65 

[By Narrow-water it is two miles shorter.] 

BRYAN'S FORD is a village of Down, near to which 
is Tullymore Park, a fine residence, with well-planted 
grounds, belonging to the Earl of Roden, situated in a 
romantic and beautiful spot: it was the property of the 
Hamiltons of Tullymore, Earls of Clanbrassil. 

Pop. 185. Fair : June 3. 

The country between Bryan's Ford and Dundrum, in- 
cluding the park of Tullymore, is very romantic, and two 
mountain torrents precipitate themselves over ledges and 
crags, whilst the intervention of woodland scenery relieves 
the eye from the awful impression of the Mourne mountains, 
which form the background. 



386 

No. 132. From Dublin to KlLRUSH. First Road. 
Through Limerick and Clare. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Limerick* as at No. 3. ••• • 94 Kildysart l»l 

Six-Mile Bridge* • 1094 Kiknurrttf 129i 

ArdsaUaa* 108* Kilrnah 18ft 

Clare* 112J 

Redgate Inn is 6| miles beyond Clare. Near it are a 
ruined castle and church. The remarkable objects in the 
vicinity of the road are, an old castle, near the seat of New 
Hall, a mile from Clare ; handsome seats at Barn tick and 
Buncraggy, a mile farther; and Cragbrien, a beautiful 
mansion at the foot of a mountain three miles from Claw. 
The prospects are truly beautiful. In Canna Island is seen 
a ruined abbey. Paradise, a seat on the side of a beautiful 
hill, is a mile and a half from Redgate Inn ; and beyond 
this is an ancient castle. 

KILDYSART, a village in Clare, has the ruins of a 
castle. Pop. 337. Fairs t May 22, and Aug. 27. 

KlLMURRA Y, a post town in Clare. 

KILRUSH, a post town in Clare, is a thriving plaee, 
with an excellent harbour on the Shannon. It has a neat 
church, a Roman Catholic chapel, a meeting house, a court 
house, a market house, and a school, on the foundation 
of Erasmus Smyth. There is a considerable export trade 
in corn and butter, also slates and flag stones. Near Kil- 
rushis a lake, as well as a mansion, of the Yandeleur family. 
Beyond this, towards the mouth of the Shannon, are the 
villages of Moyarta and Querin. Steam vessels ply on the 
Shannon between this and Limerick. 

Pop. 3996. Market days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs: May 10, and Oct. 12. Inns: The Kilrush Hotel, 
and the Yandeleur Arms. 



917 



No. 133. From Dublin to KILRUSH. Sbcomp Road. 
Through Maynooth and Aghrim. 

Dublin Cattle to Mile*. Dublin Castie to MUet. 

Kilbeggan* as at No. 100- • 44* Caghryariff 125 

Oort», as at No. 88 96 Kilmurrjbricken 128f 

Tubberindonny* 102* Conlyclaro 136| 

Carofin 109* Ballyket HI 

Ennirtimon* 118* Kilrusb * 148 

CAROFIN is a large and pleasant village and post town 
in Clare, situated on a stream flowing from a lake in the 
vicinity. Distant a mile- and a half is Clifton, a fine seat, 
and near it is Inchiquin Lake, celebrated for its fish and ha 
picturesque views. Pop. 900. Fairs : May 26, and Nov. 22. 

CAGHRYARIFF is a village of Clare, near which » 
Anagh, a mansion of the Stackpoole family. 

Halfway between Ennistimon and Kilmurry is Miltown 
Malhay, which is an excellent summer resort for bathing, 
and has good baths, a handsome church, and Roman Catholic 
chapel ; it is a good fishing station. Pop. 726. Fairs : Feb. 1, 
March 9, May 4, June 20, Aug. 11, Oct. 18, and Dec. 9. 

Near this village is a celebrated cavern, called the 
Puffing Hole. 

Beyond the village of Dunbeg is a lighthouse, built upon 
Loop Head. 

KILMURRAY-BRICKEN is a village of Clare, which 
gives the title of Viscount Kilmorey to the Needham family. 
The cascades near this place are justly admired. 

Fairs : May 17, and Aug. 25. 

CONLYCLARE and BALLYKET are villages in the 
county of Clare, near which there are several neat villas, 
and some fine river scenery. Ballyket Fairs are held 
June 4, July 4, Aug. 17, and Dec. 1. 



588 



No. 184. From Dublin to KINGSTOWN. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to MUe*. 

Blackrock* 4 Kingstown, or Dunleary- ••• H 

KINGSTOWN, so named in honour of King George 
IVth's visit to Ireland, has a large and spacious harbour, 
and is a celebrated sea-bathing village of the county of 
Dublin. It is well built, and extremely agreeable; the 
pier adds greatly to its attractions ; it extends 2800 feet, 
and the quay is 50 feet wide. At the lowest tide there is 
24 feet depth of water close to the pier head, and about 
16 feet near the shore. There is a neat Roman Catholic 
chapel and church, and several excellent hotels. A rail- 
road, is completed, between this place and Dublin, which 
conveys passengers every half hour, to or from Dublin, in 
less than fifteen minutes, by locomotive engines: it also 
conveys the mails to and from Dublin. The mail packets, 
between Dublin and Liverpool, or Holyhead, now sail from, 
and arrive at, Kingstown Harbour, 

Kingstown possesses many fine houses, and beautiful 
villas, which are much resorted to in the summer season. 
Pop. 5736. 



No. 135. From Dublin to KINSALE. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Mites. 
ork», aaatNo. 27 126 Kinsale 138 

KINSALE, on the Bandon river, in Cork, is a borough 
returning a member to parliament, and is governed by a 
sovereign and a recorder. It has been noted from the 
earliest period in Irish history. Five thousand Spaniards 
took this sea-port in 1600; but they surrendered it in the 



No. 135. DUBLIN TO KINS ALE. 889 

same year to the Lord Deputy Mountgoy. Kinsale surren- 
dered to Cromwell in 1649. James II. effected his landing 
here in 1689 : his garrison in this fortress defended itself 
for nine days against Marlborough, but surrendered on the 
tenth. Upon this the fortifications were destroyed. Kin- 
sale is now esteemed a very strong fortress ; the citadel is 
on a rock, and the batteries are bomb-proof: the old block- 
house, which stood by the sea-side, is dismantled. Charles 
Fort, built in 1670, commands the narrow part of Kinsale 
harbour, which has a complete dock-yard, and a custom- 
house ; but the naval depot has been transferred to Cork. 
The town is above a mile in extent, round the head of the 
bay ; the houses have something of an antiquated appear- 
ance ; there are six parishes. The ruins of several monas- 
teries are still visible. There is a considerable fishery 
here; and in the town are two large porter breweries. 
Amongst the chief buildings are, the handsome market 
house, the barracks, the church, and the gaol. Here are 
also Roman Catholic chapels, meeting houses, a fever hos- 
pital, a dispensary, and a savings' bank. Near the centre 
of the town are assembly and reading rooms, and a beautiful 
promenade called the Bowling Green, which commands a 
fine view of the harbour. Kinsale is well adapted for sea- 
bathing, and has two bath houses, one in the town, and the 
other in the village of Scilly; these establishments are 
convenient for the beautiful scenery up the river. 

In the vicinity is Duncearma Castle, and a lighthouse on 
Old Head, which forms the north point of the extensive and 
romantic Bay of Courtmacsherry. Amongst the steep cliffs 
the osprey and the eagle are observed to build in safety. 
Compass Hill overlooks the town and harbour of in™^i« , 
the latter is completely sheltered from every wind, and in 
stormy weather is a safe retreat both for merchantmen and 
ll 3 



390 No. 158. DUBLIN TO LEIGHLIN BRIDGE. 

•hips of war ; there are two villages, called Cove and Scilly, 
built on the opposite shore of the bay. 

Pop. 7823. Fairs: May 4, Sept 4, and Nov. 21. Inn : 
The Kinsale Arms. 



No. 136. From Dublin to LEIGHLIN BRIDGE. First 
Road. Through Rathcoole, Naas, and Carlo w. 

Miles. 
Dublin to Leighlin Bridge », as at No. 27 45 



No. 137. From Dublin to LEIGHLIN BRIDGE. 
Second Road. Through Blessington, Baltinqlass, 
andTuLLOW. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin CasOe to MUes. 
Tallow*, as at No. 205 38 Leighlln Bridge * 471 



No. 138. From Dublin to LEIGHLIN BRIDGE. 
Third Road. Through Enniskerrt, Rathdrum, 
and Aghrim. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to MUes. 

Mflltown* 2* Kathdmm* "... 25* 

Churchtown g£ Aghrim* 32 

Dundram* 4 Hacketetown 41 i 

Kilternan* 7 Tullow* 49ft 

Enniskerry* 10 Leighlin Bridge • 59* 

FAWNEY, in Dublin, has an ancient and a modern 
church. The vicinity commands fine views. The old 
church is near the village of Dundrum, at a place called 
Churchtown. 



No. 141. DUBLIN TO LIMERICK. 391 

H ACKETSTOWN is an agreeable post town of Carlow. 
The church is handsome, with a tower, and stands on a fine 
eminence ; the modern Catholic chapel is also a great orna- 
ment The repulse of the insurgents at Hacketstown took 
place May 25, 1798. 

Pop. 715. Fairs: monthly. 



No. 139. From Dublin to LETTERKENNY. Through 
Lifford, Ballindrait, and Raphoe. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Drogheda* as at No. 1 234 Lifford*, as at No. 143 102* 

Castleblayney*, as at No. 7 51 J Letterkenny*, as at No. 81 113* 



No. 140. From Dublin to LIMERICK. First Road. 
Through Kildare and Roscrea. 

Miles 
Dublin to Limerick *, as at No. 3. 94 



No. 141. From Dublin to LIMERICK. Second Road. 
Through Nenagh and O'Brien's Bridge. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle U> Miles. 

Toomarara*, asatNo. 3 •• 69} O'Brien's Bridge 88 

Nenagh* ." 7* Parteen 93* 

Shallee Turnpike 79| Limerick* 98 

O'BRIEN'S BRIDGE, across the Shannon, consisting 
of thirteen arches, is interesting for its antiquity, and pre- 
sents a choice of roads on each side of the river to Limerick : 
that by Parteen is a quarter of a mile nearer than the road 



302 No. 1*3. DUBLIN TO LONDONDERRY. 

through thf beautiful village of Castle C<mneU t on the county 
of Limerick bank. Near O'Brien's Bridge is the Montpel- 
Kar spring. Three miles beyond it is Rhinrow Castle, a 
ruin; and in each county are several beautiful villas; the 
finest of these is Doonas, the seat of Sir H. D. Massy, Bart. 



No. 1*2. From Dublin to LIMERICK. Third Road. 
Through Maryborough, Rosen e a, and Killaloe. 

Dublin Castle to Mites. Dublin Castte to Miles. 

Toomamra*, BflfttNo,3* ■ (K>i Bridgetown. 90i 

Ncnagh* -"• * 73 Parteen 95 

KUUiae* (« OPJ Limerick * 971 



No. 143. From Dublin to LONDONDERRY. First 
Road. Through Aroee, Monaghan, and Lifford. 



Dttblin Castle to Mifa* 

Drosbeda * t *■ at No. 1. ■■- m 

CflJrtk'Vilajucy *, ns at 2*». 7- *>H 

Cl^iitibret Church - ■ ■ * B7£ 

Qpttc Shane - ■ ■ - ■ fiP£ 

Monaffli Htn + 021 

Cro&a Roads* or Grosborori^h 

Itin- 6G| 

Or ff&m Custfe s>. (!l .,- },$ 

Falkland* a mile nearer . ■ C f r,\ 

Bmj Vato< * 6C| 

EHgill Church ■ ► -- *. GQ| 



DwMra Cattle to Miles. 

Anther 75£ 

Bai|a£htiet-d Inn 78t 

Omagh 87* 

Newtown Stewart • • 94£ 

ftoug]aa Bridge »••• 97i 

Straliano 101| 

Ltfford 102* 

St. Johnstown 108J 

Catrigani 110 

Londonderry 114$ 



CASTLE SHANE is a neat village of Monaghan. Near 
it is a ruin called Rack Wallace ChurcK A fine seat of the 
Lucas family is seen to the right of the village. Fairs: 
May 21, June 21, July 21, Aug. 12, and Dec. 15. 



No. 143. DUBLIN TO LONDONDERRY. 393 

MONAGHAN, the county town of Monaghan, is an 
ancient place, which was once spelt Muinechan. The town 
is governed by a provost, burgesses, and freemen. The 
first abbey erected here was of a very early date, and was> 
pillaged ; it was rebuilt for conventual Franciscans, in 1462, 
but again demolished, and its site is now occupied by a 
castle of Lord Blayney's. Monaghan is a pleasant place, 
and has several public buildings, the principal of which are, 
the market house, erected by Lord Rossmore, in 1792, the 
courthouse, and church in Diamond Square; and, adjoining 
the town, is a Roman Catholic chapel, with an altar-piece, 
and a Presbyterian meeting house, in the new market ; the 
county infirmary, near the entrance to the town, by the old 
Dublin road, the diocesan school of Clogher, in Mill Street, 
the gaol, which cost upwards of 20,000/., and the cavalry 
barracks, at the north entrance of the town. Monaghan 
has also neat shambles, and several schools ; an extensive 
brewery, and a considerable linen trade. 

Adjoining this town is a fine seat of Mr. Hamilton's, and 
also the mansions of Lagacory and Falkland. 

The county of Monaghan is thirty miles in length, and 
is much benefited by the linen manufacture ; it has many 
beautiful lakes, of no great size ; and although the land is 
fertile, and covered by good cottages and villages, there arc 
many hills, and some extensive mosses. 

Pop. 3848. Market days : for corn, Saturday and Mon- 
day. Fairs: first Monday of each month. Inns: the 
King's Arms, the Westenra Arms, the Red Lion, and the 
Black Bull. 

EMY VALE is a neat village and post town of Mona- 
ghan, with many gentlemen's seats near it Three miles 
beyond it is Erigill Church, on the left. 

Pop. 571. Fairs: monthly. 

Seats: Ankettell's Grove, and Fort Singleton, 



m No. 143. DUBLIN TO LONDONDERRY, 

AUGHER, in Tyrone, was formerly a borough town, but 
is now a place of little note. It U seated on the Black* 
water, near to the town of Clogher. Fair* : March 23, 
May 12, Aug. 14, and Nov. 12. 

OM AGH, the county and assise town of Tyrone, Is 
pleasantly situated at the junction of the Drumraw and the 
Common, Its name signifies the ' Chief's Residence.' Of 
its castle only the ruins remain, and there are no vestiges 
of its abbey. The town was burnt in 1743, but has been 
neatly rebuilt, and the adjacent district possesses a flou- 
rishing linen manufacture. The principal public buildings 
are the court house, the county gaol, attached to which is 
a lunatic asylum, and the county infirmary. Omagh also 
possesses a neat stone church, a Roman Catholic chapel, 
meeting houses, a free school, and barracks. 

Pop. 2211. Market-day: Saturday. Fairs; Jan. 12, 
2nd Thursday in Feb., May, Aug., and Nov. (O. S.), 
April 5, 2nd Thursday after the 24th of June, Oct 2, and 
Nov. 3. Inns : the White Hart, and the Abercorn Arms. 

NEWTOWN STEWART is a market and post town of 
Tyrone, on the banks of the Strule. Near the church are 
the ruins of the ancient castle. There are also meeting 
houses, a Roman Catholic chapel, and a dispensary. 

Seat : Three miles distant is the Marquis of Abereorn's 
(Viscount Strabane, in Ireland) splendid mansion, Baron's 
Court, considered one of the finest in the kingdom; the 
park is also celebrated for its timber. In an island of 
the lake is a picturesque castle ruin. The neighbouring 
mountains are truly romantic. 

Pop. 1737. Market-day: Monday. Fairs: monthly. 
Inn: Hamilton's. 

DOUGLAS BRIDGE is a village of Tyrone, on the 
banks of the Foyle. Beyond it is Camus church, and a 
glebe house. 



No. 145. DUBLIN TO LONDONDERRY. 895 

STRABANE is a large post and market town of Tyrone, 
near the confluence of the Fin and the Mourne, and is 
governed by a provost and recorder. In 1615, James Ha- 
milton, Baron Strabane, built the town, castle, church, 
and school house. There are also a market house, a 
church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and meeting houses; 
barracks, a fever hospital, and a dispensary ; also schools, 
and savings bank. There is a good linen and butter trade 
carried on, and the town is improving rapidly. The inns 
are respectable, and the environs pleasing. Strabane is 
the property of the Marquis of Abercorn (Viscount Stra- 
bane). In the time of James I. and Charles II. the family 
of Hamilton of Strabane, and the Clanbrassil branch seated 
at Tullymore, Carnysure, and Coronery, acquired great 
possessions throughout the north of Ireland. A handsome 
bridge across the river communicates with Lifford on the 
Wdst bank. Hence a canal leads to the Foyle, four miles 
distant 

Pop. 4700. Market days : Tuesday and Saturday. Fairs : 
monthly. Inn: the Abercorn Arms. 

LIFFORD, the county and assize town of Donegal, is 
situated on the Foyle, and within view of Strabane. Both 
these towns, previous to the Union, were boroughs, return- 
ing members to the Irish parliament The situation is 
romantic, and the vicinity is embellished by numerous 
handsome seats. The principal buildings are, the market 
house, the gaol, the church, the court house, and the county 
infirmary. 

Pop. 1096. The fairs and market are held at Strabane. 
ST. JOHNSTOWN is a small town of Donegal, like- 
wise situated on the Foyle, across the wide channel of which 
is a prospect of the Tyrone hills. Fairs ; April 7, Aug. £, 
Oct 13, atid N<rt. 2*. ; 



396 No. 143. DUBLIN TO LONDONDERRY. 

CARRI6ANS is a small town of Donegal Beyond 
Prospect Hill the road enters the county of Londonderry. 

LONDONDERRY, or DERRY, forms a county in 
itself, distinct from that of which it is the capital. It is a 
place of great antiquity, St Columb having founded an 
abbey here in 546, and was colonized by Londoners, to 
whom James 1. granted a charter. It is celebrated for the 
gallant and successful defence which its inhabitants, under 
the direction of Mr. Walker, a clergyman, made against 
James II. in 1690. The siege lasted 105 days, during 
whieh -the garrison, which, at the beginning, mustered only 
7562 regimented defenders, was reduced to 4300, whilst 
the besieging army lost about 8000 men. 

This handsome city is seated on the Foyle, and is sur- 
rounded by ramparts about a mile in circumference, which 
form an excellent promenade. It is the only city in Ire- 
land perfectly surrounded by water. The streets are spa- 
cious, and the houses generally handsome. In the centre 
of the town is a fine square, called the Diamond, in the 
middle of which stands the exchange, a stately building, 
whence the four principal streets diverge to gates at their 
extremities. The cathedral is a noble Gothic edifice, occu- 
pying the summit of the eminence on which the city is built; 
it was erected in 1633, and has a lofty square tower and 
spire. The gardens of the episcopal palace, outside the 
walls, command fine prospects. The court house in Bishop 
Street is an elegant specimen of Grecian architecture, 
with a portico of four columns, surmounted by statues of 
Mercy and Justice, executed by Kirk, of Dublin. The other 
public buildings are, the county gaol, the front of which is 
120 feet long and 40 high; the linen hall ; and the theatre. 
The wooden bridge, made at Boston in America, by Samuel 
Cox, architect, and erected in 1790, is remarkable for its 



No. 143. DUBLIN TO LONDONDERRY. 307 

curious construction ; it is 1068 feet in length, and 40 in 
breadth, and has a drawbridge for the admission of vessels. 
The view of the city from this bridge is worthy of notice. 
There is also a handsome monument erected to the memory 
of the Rev. George Walker, who defended the city in 1690: 
it is a fluted column on a pedestal, surmounted by a statue. 

Londonderry also possesses a Roman Catholic chapel, an 
Episcopal chapel, meeting houses, a county infirmary, a 
fever hospital, a lunatic asylum, a mendicity society, poor- 
houses for the city and county, a dispensary, a savings' 
bank, and a news room and library. The city returns a 
member to parliament, and its corporation consists of a 
mayor, sheriffs, aldermen, and recorder. The linen manu- 
facture flourishes here, and an extensive trade is carried, on 
in the export of linen, butter, beef, pork, and meal ; and the 
import of tea, sugar, wine, brandy, timber, and flax-seed. 
There are several breweries and distilleries; the city is 
rapidly improving, and is lighted with gas. The ramparts 
of this town still remain ; they are from 20 to 35 feet high, 
and from 14 to 36 yards wide. The property of this town 
was given by James I. to the twelve great companies of the 
city of London, on condition of their colonizing and cul- 
tivating it 

The harbour is safe and capacious, and the quays are 
commodious : at high tides vessels of 600 tons burthen get 
up to them. The King's stores form a fine range of 
building; the guns are dismounted, but among them may 
be seen the Walker, a piece of ordnance 10 feet longi bear- 
ing the date 1642. Four miles below the city, the river 
falls into Lough Foyle, which communicates with the North 
Sea. Here stands Culmore Fort, of which the Governor of 
Derry is commandant, and at the mouth of the Lough is 
Green Cattle, The Lough is. a fine expanse of water, 

MM 



498 No. 144. DUBLIN TO LONDONDERRY. 

14 miles long, and 8 broad. Off its mouth is the Tounds 
Bank, and the sands stretch along the left of the channel 
into the bay, but the channel itself is free, and there is 
5 fathoms water close to the city. A steamer leaves the 
quay twice a day for Mobille, a watering place about 17 
miles from the city, on the bank of Lough Swilly ; twice a 
week there is a steamer to Port-rush and Port-stewart, two 
other thriving watering places on the north coast ; and 
once a week a steam vessel visits the Giants' Causeway. 
Steamers also ply regularly to Glasgow, Liverpool, Dublin, 
and Belfast. 

G. Farquhar, the dramatist, was born at Deny, in 1678. 

In the neighbourhood is Brook Hall, the seat of Sir 
George HilL 

Three miles north of Londonderry is Aileach Neid, an 
ancient rath or fortress of the O' Neils, destroyed by 
Murtogh O' Brian in 110L 

Pop. 10,130. Fairs: March 4, April 30, June 17, Sept 
4, and 18, and Oct. 17. Market-days : Wednesday and 
Saturday. Inns: the Commercial Hotel; the City Hotel; 
Boyle's; and the King's Arms. 



No. 144. From Dublin to LONDONDERRY. Se- 
cond Road. Through Ardee, Omagh, and Mount 
Hamilton. 

Dublin Quae to Miles. Dublin CatUe to MQa. 

Drogheda*, as at No. 1 • . • . 23* Ballymegarry 104 

Castleblayney*, as at No. 7 . 51 J Mount Hamilton 106* 

Omagh*, as at No. 143 87* Ferrybank 112* 

Newtown Stewart* 94 Londonderry* 113 

Strabane* 101* 



No. 145. DUBLIN TO LONDONDERRY. 399 

BALLYMEGARRY is a village of Tyrone. On the 
right, beyond it, is the church of Reekpatrick. 
Fairs: May 3, July 5, and Nov. 2. 
MOUNT HAMILTON is a village of Tyrone. 
Fairs: Jan. 4, March 3, June 4; and Oct. 4. 



No. 145. From Dublin to LONDONDERRY. Third 
Road. Through Armagh, Dungiven, and Cladt. 

Dublin CasOe to Miles. Dublin Cattle to MUes. 

Dundalk*, as at No. 1 40* Stramorelnn 91 

Armagh*, as at No. 6 62± Dungiven 99 

Blackwater Town 66} Banagher Church 101* 

Charlemont* 68* Clady 1071 

Dungannon* 72} Muff lilt 

NewMffls 75J Ferry Bank 114* 

Dunaghy* 78 Londonderry 115 

Cookstown* 81| * 

BLACKWATER TOWN is a small post town of Ar- 
magh, pleasantly situated on the Blackwater, over which is 
a handsome bridge. At Benburb, a village one mile distant, 
is the parish church of both towns. The Blackwater river 
divides Armagh and Tyrone. At the foot of the bridge, in 
the county of Tyrone, is Clonfeckle, a suburb, in which is a 
Roman Catholic chapel. 

Pop. 528. Fairs: Second Wednesday of each month. 

DUNGIVEN is a market and post town of Derry, which 
is approached by a road over a mountain. It is built in a 
rich valley, watered by the beautiful river Roe, which is 
joined by two tributary streams near this town. The sept 

* The mail-coach road is through Slane, Carrickmacroes, Castle- 
blayney, Monaghan, Emyrille, Aughnacloy, Omagh, Newtown Stewart, 
Strabane, and Derry— 11 3* miles. 



400 No. 146. DUBLIN TO LONGFORD. 

of O'Cahane was once powerful amidst the high range of 
hills in the vicinity, and O'Kane, a native chieftain who 
built a Friary here, was interred in the ancient cemetery, 
together with his seven sons. Here is a spacious mansion, 
somewhat dilapidated; the church, built near the road 
which conducts to Maghera, is cruciform ; and there is a 
Roman Catholic chapel beyond it Here is an extensive 
bleach green. Two miles east of Dungiven is Benbradagh 
Mountain, the summit of which is 1300 feet above the level 
of the sea. 

Pop. 1162. Market-day: Saturday. Fairs : Dungiven 
has nine in the course of the year. Inn : M'Quilkin's. 

BANAGHER CHURCH, in Derry, is on the left side 
of the road beyond Dungiven ; 3| miles beyond it is the 
village of Teeny t arid a mile farther is Slrdid church, in a 
dilapidated condition. 

CLAD Y is a pretty- village of Derry, built on the banks 
of the Faughan; distant 1£ mile is the ancient ruin of 
& Kane's Castle. 

Pop. 180. Fairs: May 17, and Nov. 17. 
. Seat: Beaufort Lodge. 

MUFF, is a village of Derry, situated close to the river 
Faughan. — Pop. 192. 

Seats : Beyond the Cross are Beech Hill and Ashbrook. 



No. 146. From Dublin to LONGFORD. Through 
Athboy, Finea, and Granard. 

Dublin Castle U> Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Athboj*, as at No. 186 28* Finea 471 

Clonmellon* 32J Gmnard W 

Crow Keys 37 Longford* 64 



No. 146. DUBLIN TO LONGFORD. 401 

CROSS KEYS is a village of Meathj 1J mile beyond .. 
it are a small lough and a ruined castle ; and within 2 miles 
of Finea is a race-course. 

FINE A is an agreeable place, situated in two counties, 
Westmeath and Cavan, which are separated by a small 
river) connecting lakes Shellin and Kennail. 

Fairs : June 5, July 27, Aug* 18,. Sept. 18, and Nov. 15. 

GRANARD is. a market and post town of Longford. 
It was a borough, but lost its elective franchise at the 
Union. Its public buildings are, a neat Gothic church, 
a Roman Catholic chapel, a parochial school, barracks for 
infantry, and a dispensary. The country between Granard 
and St Johnstown is mountainous, but is inhabited by 
many respectable gentlemen* At the- extremity of the 
principal street is the Moat of Granard, on the top of 
which is an ancient castle or fort, commanding a view of 
six counties. The Earl of Granard is of the family of 
Forbes. The linen manufacture flourishes here. 

In the vicinity are several interesting objects. Larra 
Abbey, said to have been founded by St. Patrick, is a beau- 
tiful ruin, 2 miles distant on the Finea side. Lough Shel- 
lin is 7 miles in. length, and 4 in breadth, and is connected 
with Lough Inny in the vicinity of Finea and Daly's 
Bridge ; it has some pretty islands, and a beautiful shore. 
The islands of Lough Garon contain some grand vestiges 
of monastic opulence : All Saints Abbey is seen rising 
above the waters on a delightful island, and in another isle 
is a second monastery. 

Seats : Spring Park and Tully, 2| miles beyond Granard. 
Pop. 2069. Market-day: Monday. Fairs .-Jan. 15, 
May 3, Aug. 15, and Oct. 1. Inns : The New Inn, and 
Granard Inn. 

mm 3 



402 



No. 147. From Dublin to LOUTH. Through Drog- 

HEDA and DUNLEER. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Drogheda*, as at No. 1 23* Louth 30 

Dunleer» 30J 

. LOUTH was an ancient town, giving name to the 
county of Louth ; it is a post town, but is much reduced. 
St. Patrick is said to have founded an abbey here, the 
site of which was afterwards occupied by a priory of 
Canons regular, but there are no vestiges of either. 

Seat : Louth Hall, three miles distant, the mansion of 
Lord Louth. 
Pop. 613. Fair: March 28. 



No. 148. From Dublin to LURGAN. Through 
Gilford. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miks. 

Loughbrickland*, as at No. 1. 68* Waringstown* 67 

Gilford 62* Lurgan* 69 

GILFORD is a post town in Down, having a fine 
bridge of numerous arches across the Bann. It is sur- 
rounded by bleach-fields ; and the scenery along the river 
is very interesting. Here is a chalybeate Spa. Gilford 
has a neat church, Roman Catholic chapel, and a meeting 
house. 

Fairs: June 21, and Nov. 21. 



403 

No. 149. From Dublin to MALAH1DE. Through 
St. Doulough's. 

Dublin Castle to Mile*. Dublin Castle to MOes. 

Fair View lj Belcamp 4 

Donnycarney 2 Belgriffin 4£ 

Artane 2} St. Doulough's Ah 

Coolock 3 Malahide 6} 

DONNY.CARNEY is a village of Dublin. Here is 
Marino, an excellent lodge, with finely -planted grounds, 
belonging to the Earl of Charlemont 

ARTANE and COOLOCK are villages in the county 
of Dublin. 

BELGRIFFIN. Near this village are many pleasant 
mansions of the nobility and gentry of the county of 
Dublin. 

ST. DOULOUGH'S, in Dublin, is remarkable for its 
antique church, situated on an eminence, and supposed to 
have been erected in the 9th century, in which, and the 
two succeeding centuries, other churches, also resembling 
the cells of Grecian temples, were built in this. kingdom, 
and adorned with rude columns. These edifices were only 
40 feet in length. Near St Catharine's Pond is a holy 
well, dedicated to the Virgin, which is the resort of 
numerous pilgrims. Pop. 345. 

MALAHIDE is a village and post town of Dublin, near 
an inlet of the sea. Malahide Castle, the seat of Lord 
Talbot de Malahide, is built on a beautiful peninsula, which 
contains limestone of various colours, and some veins of 
lead ore. The mansion is an extensive pile, with a 
modern Gothic porch, and is adorned with a fine collection 
of pictures. This demesne commands a grand sea view, 
as it is on a high, bold coast, and the woods and timber are 



404 No. 151. DUBLIN TO MALLOW. 

of great beauty. The manor and royalties extend far along 
the shore. In the village is a holy well, and a cotton 
manufacture has long been established here. Near Mala- 
hide is Seapark Court, an ancient mansion. Pop. 294. 



No. 150. From Dublin to MALLOW. First Road. 
Through Clogheen and Doner ail e. 

Dublin Castle to Miles, Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Clogheen*, Mat No. 27 93* Mallow*, aa at No. 129- • 1181 



No. 151. From Dublin to MALLOW. Second Road. 
Through Kil worth and Castle Roche. 

Dublin CasOe to MUu. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Kilworth*, as at No. 27- • • • • 106 Castletown Roche 115 

Fermoy Bridge End* 1071 Mallow* 121 J 

Ballyhooly Ill* 

BALLYHOOLY is a handsome village of Cork, situ- 
ated in a fine district, on the Blackwater. It has a well- 
built church. Fair : Aug. 26. 

CASTLETOWN ROCHE is a beautiful village of the 
county of Cork. On an eminence are the ruins of the old 
castle of the Roches, Lords of Fermoy, which was so nobly 
defended by Lady Roche against the forces of Cromwell. 
One mile from Castletown Roche, across the river, is the 
ancient castle of Carrignaconny. On the opposite side of 
the Blackwater, is the church of Monanimy, where there 
was a preceptory. At the junction of the River Aubeg 
with the Blackwater, is the fine ruin of Bridgetown Abbey. 



No. 154. DUBLIN TO MILL OF LOUTH. 405 

Pop. 1095. Fairs: May 25, July 27, Sept. 29, and 
Dec. 14. 

Seats: Glenamore, belonging to the Purcell family; 
Ann* s Grove: Ballygriffin ; and Rockforest, which is a very 
beautiful mansion on the Blackwater. 



No. 152. From Dublin to MIDDLETON. First 
Road. Through Kilkenny, Fermoy, and Rath- 
cormuck. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Fermoj*, as at No. 27 106 Middleton* 122 

Rathcormack* Ill 



No. 153. From Dublin to MIDDLETON. Second 
Road. Through Lismore, Tallow, and Killeaoh. 

Dublin CasOe to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Clonmell*, as at No. 27 81* Castletown* 110 

Cappoqnin* 97} Aghadoe 111} 

Lismore* 100} Killeagh* 112 

Tallow* 104} Middleton* 122 

Mount Uniacke* 109} 



No. 154. From Dublin to MILL OF LOUTH. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Dunleer* as at No. 1 30} Tallanstown 39* 

Braganstown 35} Mill of Louth* 40} 



406 



No. 155. From Dublin to MONAGHAN. First 
Road. Through Drogheda, Ardee, and Castle- 

BLAYNEY. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Diogheda*, asatNo. 1 23} Monaghan*, as at No. 143 • • 62} 

Castleblajney* as at No. 7 Mi 



No. 156. From Dublin to MONAGHAN. Second 
Road. Through Drooheda, Dundalk, and Cullo- 
ville. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Dundalk*, as at No. 1 40* Caatle-blayney* 63* 

Rochdale 45* Castle Shane* 61} 

Culloville 4ft* Monaghan* 61* 

Mullaghanee Bridge . 51} 

ROCHDALE, a village in Louth. Here are the ruins 
of Castle Roche. Fairs : June 20, and Oct 20. 

CULLOVILLE is a village of Armagh. Half a mile 
farther is Ardkirk, a handsome mansion. 

Fairs : April 26, and Oct 26. 



No. 157. From Dublin to MONAGHAN. Third 
Road. Through Slane, Ardee, and Carrickmacross. 
Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Finglass 3 Gxeenoge 9} 

Pass-if-you-can < 5} Curragha 13! 

St. Margaret's 5| Kilmoon Church 15* 

Chapel-midway 7* Black Lion 19 

KilsaUaghan 8* Slane < • 24 



No. 157. DUBLIN TO MONAGHAN. 407 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Cattie to Miles, 

Grange Fortescue * 271 Carrickmaciofw 42J 

Ardee* 33 Ballybay 63* 

Glonkeen 36 Tullyearbet • • B6k 



38* Monagfaan* 60* 

FINGLASS is a village of Dublin, with a mineral 
spring, which was formerly much celebrated. The church, 
rebuilt in 1609, occupies the site of an ancient abbey. 
One mile distant is the observatory belonging to Trinity 
College. Pop. 84Q. 

KILMOON CHURCH, in Meath. Near it is the ruin 
of Macetown Castle. 

At New Grange, near Slane, is a celebrated tumulus, 
in which is an ancient cave, lined with great slabs of 
stone. It is said to have been used by the Druids as a 
temple or heathen cell, but is supposed by some antiqua- 
ries to have been the mausoleum of the chief of a colony 
of Belgae, established here in remote ages. 

Pop. 896. Fairs: April 2, June 2, Sept 2, and Nov, 8. 

GRANGE FORTESCUE is a village of Meath. 

CLONKEEN CHURCH and village are in the county 

of Louth. The principal street, in the midst of which the 

market house stands, is wide and the houses generally 

good. 

CARRICKMACROSS is a market and post town of 
Monaghan, with a market house, built of the ruins of the. 
old castle, which was burnt during the rebellion of 1641, 
an endowed school, a neat modern church, a Roman Catholic 
chapel, and dispensary. It has manufactories of soap, can- 
dles, leather, coarse shoes, and hats ; and there is a large 
brewery and distillery. The corn market is one of the 
largest in the county. The glebe-house is seen on the left 
of the village ; and there are several gentlemen's seats. 
A mile and a half beyond it is the church of Dwmayne ; 



408 No. 158. DUBLIN TO MONEYMORE. 

and three miles from Carrickmacross is a pleasing lake. 
The inn is at the north entrance to. the town. 

Pop. 2979. Market-days : Thursday ; and Saturday for 
corn: Fairs: May 27, July 10,' Sept 27, Nov. 9, and 
Dec 10. Inn : the Shirley Arms. 

BALLY BAY is a post town of Monaghan, built on an 
elevated hill ; three miles farther a small stream communi- 
cates between two loughs on the right hand of the road. 
There is a neat Episcopal church, and several meeting 
houses. In the centre of the town is the market house, 
over which is the free school; also a subscription library, 
and a dispensary. There is a considerable linen manufac- 
tory, the flax market is most extensive; and in the 
vicinity are several large bleach greens. The town is 
rapidly improving. 

Pop. 1947. Market day : Saturday. Fairs: on the 
third Saturday of every month, for horses and cattle. 

TULLYCARBET church and village are in the county 
of Monaghan. 



No. 158. From Dublin to MONEYMORE. Through 
Drooheda and Dungannon. 

DtMinCasUeto Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Dundalk*, as at No. 1 40} Charlemont* 68} 

Forkhill • 45} Dungannon 72} 

Dromilly 50* New Mills 75* 

Mawhan 56£ Dunaghy 78 

Market-hill*.- 58 Cookstown 81| 

Hamilton's Bawn 60} Mone ymore * 85£ 

Bich-hill 62* 

FORKHILL is a post town of Armagh, with barracks : 
and the seat once belonging to Sir George Jackson, Bart. 
SUeve Gullen Mountain, at a short distance to the right, 



No. 158. DUBLIN TO MONEYMORE. 409 

is a celebrated hill of great height Its base covers a large 
extent, but its summit is the object of most interest : it 
exhibits a large pool or lake, with steps descending into a 
recess by the water's edge, which the neighbouring pea- 
santry suppose to be the resort of sprites and elves. 
. Pop. 152. Fairs : May 1, Aug 1, Sept 29, and Dec. 8. 

DROMILLY is a village of Armagh. Beyond it is 
Ballywire Church, 2J miles distant, and on its left is 
Ballemoyer Lodge. 

MA WHAN is a village of Armagh, on the Keadybeg 
stream. 

HAMILTON'S BA WN is a small but well-built town 
of Armagh, having a barrack. Near it is Dunnenaught, 
a pleasant residence. 

Pop. 245. Fairs: May 26, and Nov. 26. 
, RICH-HILL is a beautiful little post town of Armagh, 
with a market house, and a considerable linen trade. Castle 
Dillon, the seat of SirCapel Molyneux, Bart, is surrounded 
by a finely-wooded demesne, sheets of water, &c. In the 
grounds are two columns, raised in honour of the Order of 
St. Patrick, and of the volunteers of Ireland. Mr. 
Richardson's handsome seat is also close to the village. 

Pop. 937. Fairs : Monthly. 

DUNGANNON is one of the principal post towns 
of Tyrone, returns a member to parliament, and is 
governed by a provost and twelve burgesses. It was the 
ancient residence of the O'Neills, chieftains of the north j 
one of whom, the leader in the rebellion against Eliza- 
beth, was created Earl of Tyrone, or Tirowen, and re- 
tained his provincial rank as a native prince, by assuming 
the courtier in doing homage to the virgin queen, and 
the warrior in repelling the English forces from his ter-» 
ritory. His castle at Dungannon was afterwards razed, to 

N N 



410 No. 1*8. DUBLIN TO MONEYMORE. 

the ground by Ireton's troops. The monastery of Don- 
gannon was founded by the O'Neale family, and soon 
afterwards -granted to the Earl of Westmeath; by whom 
it was assigned to Sir A. Chichester. Vestiges of it still 
exist Dungannon possesses a yarn hall, erected in 1814, 
A modern church, a Roman Catholic chapel, meeting houses, 
gaol and court house, several schools, a savings' bank, and 
a dispensary; adjoining the town is an extensive brewery 
and distillery, — and the linen market is very considerable. 
The coalmines of this district are constantly worked, and 
the canal from this town, which passes by Coal Island, and 
enters ' Lough Neagh, affords it a communication with 
LUburn, Belfast, Newry, &c Dungannon park is a splen- 
did seat of the Earl of Ranfurly, who has done much to 
improve the town. 

Pop. 35 1 5. Market days : Monday, for grain ; Thursday, 
chiefly linen. Fairs : first Thursday of each month. Inns : 
The King's Arms; and the Northland' Arms. 

DUNAGHY is a village of Tyrone. Near it is Desart- 
creat church, as well as a good mansion and demesne. 

Fairs : Feb. 1 and 18, April 8, June 2, and Dec. 3. 

COOKSTOWN, in Tyrone, is an increasing market and 
post town, consisting principally of one well-built street, 
nearly a mile" in length, bordered by lofty trees on each 
side. It has a' good market, and carries on the linen 
manufacture. It has a neat Gothic church, erected in 1820., 
a Roman Catholic chapel, and several meeting houses. 
The cultivated vale, through which the Cookstown river 
flows, is bounded by lofty hills. 

Seat: Killymotme, the mansion of the Stewart family, 
adjoining the town, is esteemed one of the best situations 
in this county. 

Pap. 2883. Market days : Tuesday, for corn ; Saturday, 



No. 1*1. DUB-LIK TO NAVAN. 411 

for linen. Fairs: Feb. 8, March 28, May 8, June 16, 
Aug. 8, September 4, Oct. 10, and Nov. 8. Inns : The 
Stewart Arms, and the King's Arms. 



No. 159. From Dublin to MOUNT MELLICK. 
Through Luc an, Celbridge, and Portarlington. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin CasOe to Miles. 
Portarlington*, as at No. 129 36* Mount Mellick* 43} 



No. 160. From Dublin to MOY. Through Dundalk, 
Newtown-Hamilton, and Blackbank. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Dundalk*, as at No, 1 40* Moy* 68J 

Armagh*, aa at No. 6 ...... 62*- 



No. 161. From Dublin to NAVAN. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Cam to Miles. 

Cabragh 2 Doudsto wn • • • • • 23 

Batoath 12* Nayan* 26 

Skreen 19J ' 

RATOATH is a village of Eastmeath, formerly a 
borough. Its unadorned rath has a single tree growing on 
its summit, and forms a conspicuous object across the level 
plains of Eastmeath. Close to it are the foundations of an 
abbey, on the site of which the church is built The 
village is surrounded with trees. St John's Well is a 
resort of the peasantry towards the end of June. 

Pop. 552. Fairs: April 18, June 1, and Nov. 20. 



■ 



412 No, ib'2. DUBLIN TO NEWMARKET. 

SKREEN is a village of Eastmeaib. The church is 
situated to the right of the ancient walla of a dilapidated 
castle, and in the cemetery are some ancient crosses. The 
chapel is the place where service is performed, the re- 
mainder of the church bdug out of repair; over the door 
is a curious sculpture. The summit of Skreen Hill com- 
mands an extensive prospect, 

Fiirs; June 20, and Get. 12. 






No. 1G2. From Dublin to NEWMARKET. Through 



Callow, Kilkenny, and Mallow. 



f&i*. 



DuMh\ Quit* to Mite, Dublin Cattle to Mttu. 

Clogheen* as at No. S7 • ■*- IKty Kanturk ♦*♦... ,♦,, ■ 128 

Mai Jimr * , U at No. 120 , - - - 118* Newmarket ■ ■ ♦ 132 

KAN TURK is a market and post town of Cork, situ- 
ated on the Alio and D.illuo rivers. The castle, built in 
the reign of Elizabeth, hy M'Douough McCarthy, has been 
repaired by the Earl of Egmont Kanturk has a church, 
a Rom:in Catholic chapel, and a free school house. 

Pop* IS 49, Market duff- Saturday. Fairs: Mar. 17, 
May 4, July 4 T SepL 29, Nov. 3, and Dec, If« 

NEWMARKET is a small town of Cork, with a neat 
church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and barracks. At a 
small school here, Curran received the elements of learning, 
f ji the vicinity are the ancient castles of Carigacushtn and 
Mac Jtilife. It is a mountainous district, and contains 
bogs, limestone, and several beds of coal. 

Pop. 1437. Fair* .* June 8, Sept. 8, Oct. 10, and Nov, 
Inn : Hartncy's, 

Seat : The fine residence of H. R. Aid worth, Esq. 



413 



No. 163. From Dublin to NEWPORT. Through 
Matnooth, Mullingar, and Cabtlebar. 

Dublin QuOe to Miles. Dublin Caste to Mile*. 

Kinnegad*, aaatNo. 100.-. 29} Ballyhaunis* 93| 

8troke8town*,a»atNo. 122. 70 Ball* 107* 

Tol»k» •• • 7tt Mlnola* 109f 

Castle-Plunket* 78* Cutlebar* 114* 

Castlerea* 84J Newport 123* 

Tmiinlnngh 89| 

NEWPORl* is a sea-port town of Mayo : its commerce 
is inconsiderable, although it has an excellent harbour for 
large ships. Its rival, Westport, on the south cove of 
Clew Bay, appears more fortunate : the mountains, which 
are of great altitude in the surrounding district, interrupt 
the inland communications, and the course of trade appears 
to divide itself betwixt Killala and Westport. The mansion 
of Seamount is in a bold situation above the harbour. A 
small river takes its rise in the hills, and quickly dis- 
charges its rapid stream into the bay of Newport 

Pop. 1235. Fairs: June 8, Aug. 1, Nov. 11, and 
Dec. 20. 

Of the numerous and interesting islands in Clew Bay, 
which forms a deep gulf, the following are amongst the 
largest : — Inisline, Hanmore, Inishugh, Inisclare, and 
Inisturk. Off the mouth of this beautiful bay are the 
great Islands of Achitt, consisting of wild verdant hills : 
they are frequented by persons engaged in the pursuit of 
various species of fowl, and form an interesting excursion 
to the sportsman. 



NN 3 



414 



No. 164. From Dublin to NEW ROSS. First Road. 
Through Leighlin Bridge, Gore's Bridge, and 
Borris. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles, . 

Leighlin Bridge*, as at New Ross*, aa at No. 95. • • 67* 

No. 27- •••"••■' •••- 45 



No. 165. From Dublin to NEW ROSS. Second 
Road. Through Carlow, Bagnalstown, and Borris. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Carlow*, as at No. 27 39 Bagnalstown 47* 

Clonmulsh 43 Bonis* 54* 

Dnnleckney 46} NewBoss* 67 

CLONMULSH and DUNLECKNEY are villages of 
Carlow. 

BAGNALSTOWN is a post town of Carlow, on the 
Barrow, over which is a handsome bridge. Near this is 
the fine seat of the Bagnal family. 

Pop. 1315. 



No. 166. From Dublin to NEWRY. Through Drog- [ 
heda, Dundalk, and Carlingford. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin CasOe to Miles. 

Dundalk*, as at No. 1. •••• 40} Carlingford* 51} 

Ballymascanlan 40* Newry* 61* 

BALLYMASCANLAN is a village of Louth, on the 
Jonesborough river. A mile beyond it is the Giant**' 
Load — a mass of rock, 12 feet long, and 6 square, placed 
upon the top of three great stones. Near to Bellurgan 
Park, in the vicinity, is the ancient castle named Cattle 



No. 168. DUBLIN TO NEWTOWN BELLEW. 415 

Rath ; it is surrounded by some moats and raths, and close 
to it is a remarkable tumulus. A mile from Castle Rath, 
near the sea coast, is Baling Castle. 



No. 167. From Dublin to NEWTOWN ARDS. 
Dublin dude to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Banbridge* aaatNol. ... 601 Saintfield 78 

Dromore* 06 Comber* 84 

Ballinahmch* 74 Newtown Ards» 87* 

SAINTFIELD is a market and post town of Down. It 
was occupied in 1798 by the insurgents, after an action 
in which they gained a slight advantage. The condition 
ef this town is rapidly improving. It is governed by a 
seneschal. The public buildings are a market house, a 
church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and two meeting houses. 
Near it is Saintfield House, the residence of Nicholas 
Price, Esq., proprietor of the town. 

Pop. 1053. Market day: Monday. Fairs: Monthly. 

Another road conducts to Belfast, distant 10 miles, 
through the village of Newtown Breda, in which is a 
handsome church and steeple, 3 miles from Belfast, and 
near it is Belvoir, the mansion of Sir Robert Bateson, Bart; 
This entire district is fertile, and well cultivated, and is 
the seat of the linen and other manufactures. 



No. 168. From Dublin to NEWTOWN BELLEW. 
Through Kinneqad, Athlon £, and Ballinasloe. 

Dublin CasUe to Miles. Dublin CasUe to Miles, 

BaUmaaloe*, ai at No. 100. 7U Mount Bellew Bridge 85* 

Afaaacngh 784 Newtown Bellew* 87* 

Caltragh -H2 



416 No. 170. DUBLIN TO OMAGH. 

AHASCRAGH is a village and post town of Galway. 

Seat : Clonbrock, the charming residence of Lord 
Clonbrock, 2 miles distant. 

Pop. 851. Fairs: Easter Monday, Trinity Wednesday, 
Aug. 25, and Nov. 24. 

CALTRAGH is a small village in the county of Galway. 
Fairs : May 14, July 13, Sept 21, and Dec. 14. 

MOUNT BELLEW BRIDGE, in Galway. 

Seat : the mansion of Sir W. Bellew* 

Fairs : May 7, June 9, July 25, and Sept 29. 



No. 169. From Dublin to NEWTOWN MOUNT 
KENNEDY. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castk to Milts. 

Bmy* II Newtown Mount Kennedy 17 

NEWTOWN MOUNT KENNEDY is a «village and 
post station of Wicklow, situated in a very romantic dis- 
trict and flourishing in its appearance. See No. 204. 

Pop. 825. Fairs: Feb. 2, Easter Tuesday, June 29, 
Aug. 15, Oct 29, and Dec. 21. 



No. 170. From Dublin to OMAGH. First Road* 
Through Collon, Monaghan, and Aughek. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Drogheda* as at No. 1. ... . 23J Omagh* as at No. 143. .... 87* 
Castleblayney* as at No. 7. 51 J 



417 



No. 171. From Dublin to OMAGH. Second Road. 
Through Castle Shane, EtfY Vale, and Bally- 

OAWLEY. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Drogheda*, as at No. 1. • • • • 23} Anghnacloy 71 

Castleblayney* as at No. 7- «H Balljgawley 74* 

Emy Vale*, as at No. 143... 664 Omagh* 863 

AUGHNACLOY, in Tyrone, is an agreeable post 
and market town, built near the Blackwater, in which are 
found excellent trout. It is traversed by several roads 
from the principal towns in Tyrone. It has a handsome 
church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and meeting houses. 
This road to Omagh is half a mile nearer than by Augher. 
One mile -from Aughnacloy, in the direction of Augher, 
are the ruins of Lismore fort, once of considerable strength. 

Pop. 1742. Market day: Wednesday. Fairs: Monthly. 
Inn : the King's Arms. 

BALLYGAWLEY is a village and post town in Tyrone, 
with many neighbouring villas, and has an extensive 
manufactory of gloves. Four miles beyond it is the Starbog 
Spa, and there is a fine range of mountains in the vicinity. 

Pop. 972. Fairs: Monthly. 



No. 172. From Dublin to OMAGH. Third Road. 
Through Hamilton's Bawn, Dunqannoh, and 

DONAQHMORE. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Dundalk*,asatNo. 1.... 40* Nine-Mile House 84* 

Dungannon ♦, as at No. 158 72f Six-Mile Cross 8ft 

Donaghmore 70} Omagh* 94} 

Pomevoj 801 



418 No. 174. DUBLIN TO OUGHTERARD. 

DON AGHMORE is a village of Tyrone. Fairs.' First 
Tuesday of every month. Pop. 437. 

POMEROY is a village of Tyrone. Fairs: June 1, and 
Nov. H. 



No. 173. From Dublin to OMAGH. Fourth Road. 
Through Dungannon and Castle Cadlfield. 

DvbKnCastkto MQet. Dublin Out* to MUa. 

Dundalk* a* at No. 1. .... 40* BaUygawley*-. 83* 

Dungannon*, as at No. 158 72$ Omagh* 94* 

CastleCaulfleld 75* 

, CASTLE CAULFTELD is in Armagh. Here stood 
the castle of Lord Charlemont, which was destroyed in the 
great rebellion (1641), and its possessor slain. 



No. 174. From Dublin to OUGHTERARD. Through 
Philipstown, Banagher Locjghrea, and Galwat. 

Dublin Casik to Mile*. Dublin Castle to MOes. 

Galway*, asatNo. 100. .-1024 Oughterard 116* 

Dromcong 1094 

DRUMCONG is a village of Galway. 

OUGHTERARD is a post town in Galway, forming a 
good station for the intelligent traveller or painter who is 
willing to undertake the labour of penetrating into the 
mountainous region towards the west, in which is the cele- 
brated district of Cormemara, the property of T. Martin, 
Esq., M.P. Oughterard contains barracks for infantry; 
and near it, on the estate of T. H. O'Flahertie, Esq., of 
Lemonfield, is a chalybeate and ferruginous spa, which was 
highly recommended by the late Sir Humphrey Davy. Near 



No. 174. DUBLIN TO OUGHTERARD. 4lfr 

the barracks is a natural bridge. Above the village there 
is a succession of pretty rapids, and on a green bank at the 
foot of them stands a neat cottage, the property of Mr. 
Martin, pf Galway,. who calls- .it. his gatehouse; for from 
this spot the road passes through, hift estate to his house at 
Ballinahinch, a distance of twenty-six miles. Pearls are 
found in the little river which runs through Oughterard, 
specimens of which can easily he obtained. The indented 
coasts of the bays on the west side of the county of Galway 
are hemmed in by some very interesting islands, which are 
as little known as the beautiful and stupendous hills of the 
mainland. The inn is tolerable. . 

Pop. 640. 

Seats : Dangan, H. Reddington, Esq. ; Menlough Castle, 
"Sir J. Blake, Bart The lakes in this vicinity are exten- 
sive and beautiful. For a description of Lough Corrib, 
with its islands and fine mountain range, see the article on 
Galway. 

On the coast of Galway, beyond Oughterard, is the vil- 
lage of Feitrtnople. There is a Roman Catholic chapel 
lately built on the banks of the river, by the Rev. Dr. 
Kirwan; and in the barony of Ballinahinch is situated the 
small town of Ballinahinch, above which are seen the rocky 
precipices of Beannabeola, called the Twelve Pins, 

Pop. 1000. 

In this quarter, called Joyce's Country, are some beautiful 
lakes and streams. 

Beyond Ballinahinch the road is continued to Ballinakill, 
a village on a small estuary, opposite to the beautiful 
Island of Ennisbqfine. On the right of this rugged district, 
which abounds with green mountain heights of great eleva- 
tion,' and romantic winding valleys, a large stream, named 
the Owenreave River, divides Galway from the. county of 



420 No. 176. DUBLIN TO PORTADOWN. 

Mayo, and beyond is seen the range of the great Morisk 
Hills. This river falls into an open bay, to the south of 
Newport, or Clew Bay. 

Fairs are held at Ballinahinch, June 29, and Oct 20. 

Seat : The mansion of Thomas Martin, Esq., M. P. 



No. 175. From Dublin to PORTADOWN. First 
Road. Through Loughbrickland. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles, 

Loughbrickland*, asatNo. 1. 58* Moyallen 63* 

Gilford* 62* Portadown 65* 

MOYALLEN is a village of Down. 

PORTADOWN is a well-built market and post-town of 
Armagh, on the west side of the Bann, over which is a 
handsome stone bridge. In the town are two meeting 
houses. Half a mile from it is Drumcree church, and a 
Roman Catholic chapel. A mile above Portadown, the 
canal from Newry falls into the river Bann, and thus forms 
a communication with lough Neagh. The great market 
for grain gives a degree of activity to this little town, and 
the linen manufacture is also profitable to it 

Pop. 1591. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: First Sa- 
turday in each month, Easter- Monday, Whit-Monday, and 
Nov. 12. Inn: Walker's. 



No. 176. From Dublin to PORTADOWN. Second 
Road. Through Tanderagee. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin CasOe to Miles* 

Newry* as at No. 1 50* Portadown* •-• .65$ 

Tanderagee •• 61* 



No. 17*. DUBLIN TO PORTRUSH. 421 

. TANDERAGEE. See No. 14. One mile distant to- 
wards Newry is Clare Castle, and three miles towards 
Portadown is Dawson'* Grove, Mullyvilly church is half- 
way from Tanderagee to Portadown. 



No. 177. From Dublin to PORTAFERRY. Through 
Rathriland, Clough, and Downpatrick. 

Dublin CasUe to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Newry* as at No. 1. 50* Portaferry* 80* 

Strangford •; as at No. 73 80 



No. 178. From Dublin to PORTGLENONE. Through 
Lurgan, Antrim, and Randalstown. 

Dublin CasOe to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Antrim *, as at No. 1 83 Grange* 93 

Randalstown* ... 88 Portglenone* •- 97 



No. 179. From Dublin to PORTRUSH. Through 
Drogheda, Armagh, and Coleraine. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 
Dundalk », as at No. 1 . • • • • 40* Coleraine *, as at No. 61. • • • • 109* 
Armagh*, as at No. 6. ••• 62* Portrush 114 

PORTRUSH is a village of Antrim, with a custom 
house establishment and salt works. The yellow strand of 
Portrush and the distant prospect of the hold rocks along 
the coast are much admired. The alternate cliffs of lime, 
perforated by caverns formed by the waves, and rocks of 
oo 



*23 No. 180. DUBLIN TO PORTUMNA. 

whin-stone and basalt, furnish a varied line of coast; but 
the green summits of the gently swelling hills which form 
the back of the cliffs are generally destitute of trees. Near 
Portrush is the grand ruin of Dtmhfc* Cattle. Pop. S87. 



No. 180. From Dublin to PORTUMNA. First Road. 
Through Philipstown, Tullamore, and Birr. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Frankford*, aaatNo. 99.. 57* Panonstown«> 63J 

Eglfch* m Portwwia 744 

PORTUMNA is a pleasant village and post town of 
Galway, on the west side of the Shannon, across which is 
a ferry. The wooden bridge over the river was erected by 
Mr. Samuel Cox, architect, of Boston, in America. The 
ancient friary at Portumna was a cell to the Cistertian 
abbey at Dunbrody, in Wexford ; its remaining walls form 
an elegant ruin, and its choir has' been converted into a 
modern church. The new church is a fine building, at the 
south end of the town; and there is a Roman Catholic 
chapel, and a good inn. Here also are infantry barracks, 
and the ruins of the original castle, as well as the castle of 
the Marquess of Clanricarde, a noble mansion, of antique 
appearance. At Lorrah, on the Tipperary side, are some 
castle ruins. The remains of the palace castle, at Tynagh, 
are surrounded by wood. . . 

Pop. 1122. Fairs: Feb. 15, May 6, July 1, Aug. 15, 
Oct 17, and Nov. 15. 

Seat : Flower Hill, a beautiful mansion of Lord River- 
ston. 



423 



No. 181. From Dublin to. PORTUMNA. Second 
Road. Through Kjldare, Maryborough, and 
Rose RE A. 
Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Caste to Mile*. 

Boacrea* as at No. 3 69} Portumna* 79* 

Parsonstown* • 69} 



No. 182. From Dublin to ROSCOMMON. Through 
Lucan, Kinkegad, and Athlone. 

Dublin Caste to Miles. Dublin Caste to Miles. 

Athlone*, as at No. 100 ••-. 59} Roscommon* 741 

Ballymurrj* 69* 



No. 183. From Dublin to RUTLAND. Through 
Navan, Enniskillen, Donnegal, and Dunglo. 

Dublin Caste to Miles. Dublin Caste to Mites. 

Mount Charles*, as at No. 80. 114 River Gibbarrow 129 

Sir Albert's Bridge 120 Drnmlaghded Hill • 131 1 

Glenties 133 Diinglo* 13ft 

8haltagan Bridge 126 Rutland 139 

SIR ALBERT'S BRIDGE, in Donegal. One mile 
beyond Killiene Lough is Sir Albert's Well ; half a mile 
farther is Sir Albert's Bridge. Beyond which Drienlin 
Bridge is one mile distant ; two miles farther, there is a 
bridge across the Glenties-, or Onea River. 

GLENTIES is a village of Donegal, on the river 
Amdrass. 

Fairs : March 17, June 19, July 27, Aug. 12, Sept. 12, 
and Dec. 28. 

SHALTAGAN BRIDGE is a village of Donegal. 



424 



No. 185. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 



RUTLAND is a post town, and is noted for its fisheries, 
particularly of herrings, for the improvement of which 
Colonel Conyngham obtained a bounty of 20,000/.; but 
soon after the works were executed, it was found that the 
shoals had in a great measure abandoned the coast The 
island of Rutland contains 180 acres, and is situated off 
the mouth of a creek which runs up to Dungjo, in Donegal, 
and affords an excellent shelter for vessels engaged in the 
fisheries, which have here a secure roadstead in three 
fathoms water. Dunglo forms a market for Rutland, and 
is the great thoroughfare to it from the county of Donegal. 
— Vide page 273. 



No. 184. From Dublin to SCARVA. Through Drog- 

heda, Newry, and Loughbrickland. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Loughbrickland*, as at Scarva 60| 

No. 1 68} 

SCARVA is a pleasant village of Down, situated close 
to the Newry canal: it has a considerable salt work. 
Lough Shark is a small sheet of water near Scarva. 

Fairs: March 21, June 19, Sept 5, and Nov. 14. 



No. 185. From Dublin to SLIGO. Mail Coach Road. 
Through Mullingar, Longford, and Carrick-on- 
Shannon. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Kinnegad* as at No. 100- . • • 29* Edgeworth's Town ........ 52} 

Mullingar 38* Longford 58* 

Leny 44J Newtown Forbes 61 

Ballinalack 46} Ruaky Bridge 06} 



No. 185. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 42* 

Dublin CcutU to Miki. .. D*Uin CattU to MUt*. 

Dromod > .671 Boyle 844 

Dramma 72* Ballinafad • ••• 87* 

Jamestown 73| Coloone j 96| 

Carrick-on-Shannon 77 Ballwodare 100* 

Ardkarna Church 81| SUgo •' 108* 

MULLINGAR, a market and post town, and the county 
town of Westmeath, is almost surrounded by the canal 
which communicates with Dublin. It consists principally 
of one long street, from which others diverge. The chief 
public buildings are, the church, which is modern ; a Roman 
Catholic chapel, a meeting house, the barracks, the- gaol 
and court house, the infirmary, and the market house. 
The assizes for the county are held here. Here may be 
seen the ruins of two monasteries, founded in the thirteenth 
century, one of which, called the JEIouse of God, of Mul- 
lingar, was for Augustines ; the other was for Dominicans. 
The environs of Mullingar are pleasing, and are diversified 
by romantic sites, extensive lakes, and extensive man* 
sions. This town is an emporium for wool, and is noted 
for a horse and cattle fair. Near the town is Monte Video, 
the residence of Henry Wilton, Esq. * ' 

Pop. 4516. Market day: Thursday. Fairs: April 6, 
July 4, Aug. 29, and Nov. 11. Inn: Murray's. ' 

LENEY, in Westmeath, has a modem bulk church ; and 
on a hill, in the vicinity, is a school house. One mile and 
a half distant, between Lough Hoyle and Lough Deriporagh, 
is Wilton's Hospital, for the support of sixteen old men, and 
the education and maintenance of sixteen boys, natives of 
this county. 

Seat : Donore, a mansion of the Nugent family. 
BALLINALACK is a village of Westmeath, pleasantly 
situated on the Inny, which connects two beautiful loughs, 
oo 3 



420 No. 185. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 

Pop. 334. Fairs: Feb. 15, May 18, Oct. 2, and Dec. 20. 

Sba-t-: Tristernagh, the demesne of the Piers family. 

Near this mansion formerly stood the ruins of an abbey, 
founded shortly after the English invasion, by Sir Geoffrey 
Constance ; but these beautiful vestiges of monastic archi- 
tecture were entirely demolished in 1783. Near the 
entrance to Tristernagh are the ruins of Temple-cross 
chapel. 

EDGEWORTH'S-TOWN is a large and pleasant post 
town of Longford. It is remarkable as the residence of the 
Edgeworth family, so celebrated for its literary talents. 
The spire of the church, executed from a design by the 
late Mr. Edgeworth, is of cast-iron, covered with slate. 
There is also a Roman Catholic chapel, and a school for 
the education of the orphans o£ the established clergy. In 
the church-yard is the vault of the Edgeworth family, and 
the church contains, amongst other inscriptions, one in 
memory of the late R. L. Edgeworth, Esq. In the vicinity 
are quarries of slate. 

Pop. 1001. Fairs: March 2, May 5, July 2, Sept 12, 
Nov. 5, and Dec. 17. 

LONGFORD, the capital of the county of Longford, 
is a market and post town, situated on the Camlin, a small 
river which runs into the Shannon. The Packenham 
family, possessing the title of Baron Longford, is dis- 
tinguislied in our military annals. Longford has a church, 
a Roman Catholic chapel, and meeting houses, a county 
infirmary, a market house, a gaol, a court house, house of 
industry, barracks, a well-endowed school, and a savings* 
bank. It formerly possessed two religious houses, an 
abbey, founded by Idus, its first abbot, and a Dominican 
friary, erected in the 15th century. A branch of the grand 



No. 185. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 427 

canal has been extended to this town, which has very much 
increased its trade, and there are flour mills, and a brewery, 
in the town. 

Pop. 4516. Market day: Saturday. Fairs : March 26, 
June 10, Aug. 19, and Oct 22. Inns: The Longford 
Hotel, and Connor's Inn. 

NEWTOWN FORBES is a post town of Longford. A 
mile distant is Castle Forbes, the mansion of the Earl of 
Granard. 

Pop. 537. Fairs: Easter Tuesday, Sept. 4, and Oct 31. 

RUSKY BRIDGE, across the Shannon. At this village 
a small canal assists the navigation. 

DROMOD is a village and post town of Leitrim, near 
the river Shannon. Pop. 162. 

DRUMSNA is a village and post town in Leitrim, on 
the east side of the Shannon. The church is situated at 
Anaduff, about a mile from the town, and is a neat building,' 
with a square tower. In the vicinity are Mount Campbell, 
the seat of Admiral Sir J. Rowley; and Charlestoum, the 
seat of Sir Robert King. 

Pop. 427. Fairs : May 20, June 22, Aug. 25, Oct. 2, 
and Dec. 14. 

JAMESTOWN is a disfranchised borough and market 
town of Leitrim, situated near the Shannon, which the 
road crosses twice. It has barracks, a Roman Catholic 
chapel, and the ruins of a castle, of which the military tra- 
ditions possess interest There was a religious house at 
this place. 

Pop. 220. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: May 28, 
July 8, Sept 1, and Dec. 20. 

CARRICK-ON- SHANNON, the county town of Lei. 
trim, and formerly a borough, is built on the north side of 
the river, over which there is a stone bridge of eleven 



42S No. 185. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 

arches. It has spacious barracks, and a county gaol ; dose 
to which is a commodious court house of black stone, with 
a Doric portico. The other public buildings are, a church, 
a Roman Catholic chapel, meeting houses, a county infir- 
mary, and two school houses. 

Pop. 1870. Market day: Thursday. Fairs: Jan. 18, 
March 20, May 12, June 6, Aug. .11, Sept 14, Oct 22, 
Nov. 21, and Dec. 16. Inn: Church's. 

ARDKARNA CHURCH, in Roscommon. Above a 
mile from this place, adjacent to Lough Key, is Kingston 
Hall, Earl of Kingston's, surrounded by fine plantations. 

BOYLE, a market and post town of Roscommon, is 
seated on the Boyle, which is a tributary stream to the 
Shannon, and near the delicious Lough Key, amidst Lord 
Lorton'sfine woods. Over the river are two bridges; on 
one of which is a statue of William III. Boyle has a 
court house, a good church, a Roman Catholic chapel, a 
meeting house, a free school, a. dispensary, barracks, and 
a savings' bank, and is governed by a recorder. It is 
sometimes called Abbey- Boyle, from the Cistercian abbey, 
founded in 1148. This, was a.. cell of Mellefont abbey, and 
its beautiful remains may be seen in Kingston-Park, north 
of the river, overgrown with ivy, and a fine ash tree grow- 
ing within the walls. This abbey was frequently plundered 
by Irish chieftains, and in 1235 by Maurice Fitzgerald, the 
Justiciary. The Gothic steeple rests on transverse arches, 
which are supported by round and clustered columns: 
the cloisters remain, but have been converted into bar- 
racks. Adjacent to the abbey is the foundation of a 
round tower. Lough Key extends its .beautiful expanse of 
water to Boyle : on its islands are some castellated ruins, 
and lofty timber. Rockingham House, Lord Lorton's 
splendid demesne, is about 2 miles from Boyle, and is 



No. 185. DUBLIN TO 8LIGO. 429 

of great extent; the house is built solely of limestone, of 
which a highly polished specimen is seen on the great 
staircase. It was obtained from a quarry on his Lord- 
ship's estate. 

Pop, 3438. Market day : Saturday ; and Wednesday, 
for linen and butter. Fairs : March 6, April 3, May 9- 
and 30, July 9 and 25, Aug. 17, Oct. 1, and Nov. 25. 
Inns : Boyle's, and the Lorton Arms. • 

BALL1NAFAD is a small village of Sligo. The keep, 
forming part of the ruins of its ancient castle, command? 
a pleasing view. In the vicinity is Ballaghbuy Mountain, 
as well as Lough Arrow, a charming lake, with many 
beautiful islands. In a wild district, on its banks, are the 
remains of Ballindown Abbey, consisting principally of two* 
chapels, and a belfry, distinguished by this architectural 
peculiarity, — the east and west windows are pointed, and 
all the others elliptical. 

Seats: Hollybrook, finely situated on the banks of 
Lough Arrow, and the residence of Mr. Foliott. 

COLOONEY is a market and post town of Sligo,* 
seated on the river Colooney. It has a handsome church, 
in the Gothic style, dedicated to St. Paul, a Roman Catholic 
chapel, and a linen hall, erected by £. S. Cooper, Esq., 
who is a distinguished patron of this town. The linen 
manufacture flourishes here; and there are some fine 
bleach greens, and mills. The market is the greatest for 
linen and yarn in the county. The French, under General 
Humbert, obtained an advantage here in 1798, but the 
English being reinforced, they surrendered shortly after- 
wards at Ballinamuck. 

Seats: Markcrea Castle, the fine seat of E. S. Cooper, 
Esq., in which there is also an observatory. 



430 No. 185. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 

Pop. 553. Market day: Thursday. Fair*: May 3, 
June 1, Aug. 9, Sept 6, Nov. 23, and Dec. 16. 

BALLISODARE, in Sligo, is prettily seated on the 
Colooney Water, and is remarkable for its waterfall. Here 
is a stone bridge of seven arches ; also some flour mills, 
and a large bleach green. 

The principal objects near Ballisodare, are its lead 
mines, and its excellent stone or marble quarries, — also the 
cemetery and ivy-clothed abbey, near the mouth of the 
Colooney river. 

. Pop. 546. Fairs: Feb. 8, May 28, July 10, Aug. 4, 
Oct 4, Nov. 12, and Dec. 16. 

SLIGO, the shire and assize town of the county of the 
same name, is. pleasantly situated on the Garrogue, by 
means of which the waters of Lough Gill, situated to- 
wards the south east, are discharged into Sligo Bay. Over 
the river are two stone bridges, and vessels of 200 tons can 
come up to the quay ; the harbour has been improved 
by the erection of a pier outside the bar. Sligo returns a 
member to parliament, .and carries on an extensive trade, 
which is rapidly increasing, particularly in corn and butter. 
The public buildings are, the court house, the custom 
house, the county gaol, town hall, the old church, dedicated 
to St. John, the new church at the east end o£ the town, 
built of stone in the Gothic style, the barracks, the fever 
hospital, the charter school endowed by the Wynn family, 
and the infirmary. There are also two Roman Catholic 
chapels, one of which, dedicated to St Patrick, is a hand- 
some building, several meeting houses, and a public library. 

Of Sligo castle no vestiges remain, but close to the 
town, and pleasantly situated on the bank of the river, 
are the ruins of the abbey, founded by Maurice Fitzgerald 



No. 185. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 431 

in the 13th century, and rebuilt in a magnificent style 
during the 15th. They consist of the cloisters, which are 
richly ornamented ; the tower resting on a gothic arch, 
and dividing two chapels, and the walls of the church. 
The east window is particularly beautiful, and round the 
nave is a stone gallery. A few feet from the ground is 
the tomb of O'Connor, Lord of Sligo, on which he and 
his wife are represented kneeling at an altar. 

Near Sligo is Lugna Clogh, or the Giants' Grave, con- 
sisting of a number of stupendous stones placed on each 
other, like those of Stonehenge. From the English road, 
cut in 1822, there is a fine view of the town. 

The environs of Sligo are beautiful, in particular 
Lough Gill, which is about two miles distant, and is 
about eight miles in length, and two in breadth. Its 
banks abound with pleasing scenery, but its principal 
beauty is Hqzelwood, the seat of Mr. Wynn, situated at the 
end of -a peninsula, and adorned with charming grounds. 
There are magnificent ash, oak, and elm trees on the de- 
mesne, and very fine evergreens. The opposite side of 
the lake consists of rude mountains, which form a fine con- 
trast. The gten, a chasm in the side of Knock-naren, is 
nearly a mile long, well shaded with trees; its shrubs and 
its ivy,, the heath and fern; afford shelter to the eagle and 
the fox, and many- a channel has been furrowed by falling 
streams. 

The admirer of varied scenery will, from a hill called 
the Cairns, enjoy a rare treat On 'one side, Lough Gill, 
with the fine improvements of Hazlewood ; on the other, a 
scene of surpassing grandeur opens between Bulben and 
Knock- narea. Below, the Garrogue pours from the lake 
into the sea ; and beyond, the bay of Sligo leads the eye on 
to the ocean. The country around is interspersed with 



432 JNo. 186. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 

.villages and gentlemen's seats ; even the rocky shores of 
.Lissadel, at the foot of Ben Bulben, are decorated with the 
marble palace of Sir Robert Gore Booth (designed by 
Goodwin), and not less so by his tine groves and neat 
cottages; nor are the towns and its shipping devoid of 
lively interest 

Pop. 15,152. Fairs: May 27, July 6, Aug. 11, and 
Oct. 9. Market days: Saturday, for butter and corn, 
.Tuesday and Friday. Inns: The Nelson, Boyles, and 
Ross's. 



No. 186. From Dublin to SLJGO. Second Road. 
Through Clonmellon, Killeshanora, and Swan* 

LINBAR. 

' Dublin Castle to Mites. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

.Castle Knock 3f Ballinaoaght MJ 

Clone* 7 Crossdoney 56 

Black Bull Inn* 10* Killeshandra 60} 

Orange 18 Bawnboy 69} 

.Trim 22* Siranlinbar 74* 

.Athboy 28* Cross Roads (near Florence- 

Clonmellon 32* Court) 77J 

Ballynaganny 40* Largay 84* 

Oldcastle 41* Manor Hamilton 94* 

Daly'sBridge 46* Sligo* 1(»* 

Darien's Bridge 51* 

CASTLE KNOCK is a small and pleasant village of 
Dublin, with the ruins of a castle, built on a commanding 
'height by the English invaders, in the time of Henry II. 
At Dunsink, a little beyond this village, is an observatory 
on an eminence. Pop. 188. 

CLONEE, a post town in Dublin. A mile from the 
bridge, on the left, is seen Dunboyne church. 



No. 186. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 433 

GRANGE, in Meath, At this village is a cavern, in 
the form of a cross, supposed to have been dedicated to 
some superstitious rites of the Druids. 

TRIM, the county town of East Meath, is pleasantly 
situated on the Boyne. It is a market and post town, and 
till the time of the Union returned members to parlia- 
ment In the vicinity are the remains of several castel- 
lated and monastic buildings, the most remarkable of 
which are, Trim castle, on the banks of the river, where 
John, Lord of Ireland, resided ; and the abbey, founded 
by St Patrick, and afterwards rebuilt by De Lacy, Lord 
of Meath. Near the river, also, but half a mile from 
Trim, are the ruins of Newtown Abbey, forming a grand 
and picturesque object Trim formerly possessed a mint, 
and was the seat of parliament till near the close of the 
15th century. It was a walled town, and made defence 
against Cromwell. Amongst the public buildings are, a 
handsome modern church, two Roman Catholic chapels, 
a market house and court house for holding the assizes, a 
gaol with a tread mill, by means of which the criminals 
supply water to the prison, a charter school, and barracks. 
The pillar erected here, at the expense of the county, in 
1817, in honour of the Duke of Wellington, is of the 
Corinthian order, and is well situated. 

The principal objects worthy of notice in the environs 
of Trim are, Trimlestown Castle, the seat of Lord Trimles- 
town, two miles north-west of Trim ; the ruins of Bee- 
tine Abbey, situated on an eminence on the Boyne, three 
miles distant ; the ruins of the castle and church of 
Scur teg's Town, 2} miles from Trim, and Laracor, for many 
years the residence of Dean Swift, two miles south of the 
town. 

Pop. 3282. Market Day : Saturday. Fairs : March 27, 



434 No. 186. DUBLIN TO SL1GO. 

May 8, June 17, Oct 1, and Nov. 16. Inns : The O'Reilly 
Aims, and the Black Boy. 

AT H BOY is a market and post town of East Meath, 
pleasantly situated on a rivulet It was formerly a bo- 
rough, and had a house or cell for Carmelites. It consists 
principally of one spacious street, and has a market 
house, a church, and a Roman Catholic chapel, as 
well as two schools supported by the Darnley family, 
In the vicinity are several fine seats, particularly 
Ctifton Lodge, one mile distant, belonging to the Earl 
of Darnley, who is proprietor of the town ; Drew'* 
Town, BaUinhugh, and the extensive farm of Sir Thomas 
Chapman. 

Pop. 1959. Market day: Thursday, chiefly for corn. Fairs: 
Jan. 23, Mar. 13, May 4, Aug. 4, Sept. 25, and Nov. 7. 

CLON MELLON is a village of Westmeath. The 
church has a modern spire. In the vicinity is a small 
circular lough. Pop. 960. Fairs : Jan. 28, May 2, July 25, 
and Sept 29. 

DALY'S BRIDGE, or, MOUNTNUGENT, a post town 
in Cavan. One mile distant, is Lough Shealiin, or Sheck- 
lin, with several islands, in one of which are the ruins of an 
abbey. This lake is seven miles long, and four broad, and 
its banks are studded with cottages. On the south shore 
are remains of Ross Castle, with the hill, or Ben of Fore. 
Pop* 171. 

BALLINANAGHT is a considerable village of Cavan. 

CROSSDONEY, is a village and post town in Cavan, 
surrounded by many delightful country seats, and three 
diminutive loughs. Fain: April 5, May 27, Aug. 26, 
and Nov. 17. 

KILLESHANDRA is a market and post town of 
Cavan, pleasantly situated on the Croghan, which flows 



No. 166. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 4M 

into the Erne. It has a market house, a church, a Roman 
Catholic chapel, meetinghouses, a dispensary, and infantry 
barracks. The inhabitants are chiefly occupied in the 
manufacture of linen. On the banks of the river are the 
remains of a castle, and in the vicinity is the neat villa of 
Castle Hamilton. There is a good inn. 

Pop. 1 137. Fairs : Jan. 28, March 28, May 9, June 22, 
July 15, Aug. 20, Sept 28, and Nov. 8. 

B AWN BOY is a village of Cavan. Near it is a range 
of mountain called Sliebh Russel. Fairs : Monthly. 

SWANLINBAR, in Cavan, is an agreeable village, 
celebrated for its spa, which is much resorted to for its 
alterative and diaphoretic qualities. The well is within an 
ornamented enclosure, and is neatly laid out with walks 
and shrubberies. The church has a handsome spire. The 
borders of Fermanagh are marked by extensive hills, the 
principal of which is the Quilca Mountain, containing iron- 
mines. 

Pop. 398. Fairs: Feb. 2, March 30, May 18, June 29, 
July 27, Aug. 18, Sept. 14, Oct 30, Nov. 27, and Dec. 21. 

CROSS-ROADS, a little beyond Florence Court, the 
splendid mansion of the Earl of Enniskillen. The facade 
is of the Ionic order, and extends 260 feet. In front is a 
beautiful lawn, and around, groups of fine trees : mountain 
scenery and Lough Macknean bound the view to the west 

LARGY, in Cavan. Near the Black Lion inn are the 
walls of an ancient church. Lough Macknean, in which 
are three fertile islands, extends nearly to this place. 

Fairs : May 22, July 22, Sept 22, and Nov. 19. 

MANOR-HAMILTON is a market and post town of 
Leitrim, pleasantly situated on a rivulet It has a castle, 
erected in the time of Elizabeth, and is surrounded by 
romantic hills. There is a neat church with a spire, a 



4M No. 187. DUBLIN TO SLIGO. 

Roman Catholic chape), meeting houses, a sessions house, 
a dispensary, and free school. Above two miles distant is 
the picturesque ruin of Cor Cattle, Near this is the seat 
of the Earl of Leitrim. 

Pop. 1348. Market day: Thursday. Fairs: May 8, 
July 1, 1st Thursday in Aug., Oct. 7, and Nov. 19. 



Or, 

Dublin Castie to Miles. Dublin Castle to MUet. 

Kfflethandra, as before .... 609 Callahill 711 

Ballyconnel Oft Ohms Boads, as before 77* 

BALLYCONNEL is a village of Cavan, near the river 
Woodford. It has extensive flour-mills, and there is a 
handsome Gothic church, a Roman Catholic chapel, about 
half a mile from the town, and a dispensary. There is a 
small lake whose surface is 120 feet above the level of the 
sea. Pop. 453. Market day : Friday. Fairs : Monthly. 

CALLAHILL, in Fermanagh. Beyond the church is 
a castle in ruins. 



No. 187. From Dublin to SLIGO. Third Road. 
Through Mullinoar, Strokestown, and Elphin. 

Dublin CastU to Miles. Dublin Cattle to MUet. 

Kinnegad* aaatNo. 100.-. 29) Boyle* 84 

Lanesborough*, at at No. Ballinafad* 87i 

122. 62* Colooney* 93* 

Strokestown* 70 Ballifodaxe* 984 

Elpbin 7H SHgo* 103* 

ELPHIN is a beautiful post town of Roscommon, and 
is a bishop's see, founded by St Patrick. Its principal 
buildings are, the episcopal palace, the diocesan school 



No. 188. DUBLIN TO ABBEYLEIX. 437 

house, the public hospital, and the dispensary. It has 
also a modern church, and a Roman Catholic chapel. The 
town and abbey were destroyed by the English in 1177, 
and the remains of the collegiate church were converted 
into a parish church at the reformation, when the lands 
belonging to the monastery were granted to Terence 
O* Byrne. 

Pop. 1507. Fairs: May 3, June 29, Sept 29, and 
Dec. 10. Inn: Madden's. 



No. 188. From Dublin to STRADBALLY and 
ABBEYLEIX. 

Dublin Castle to Mile*. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

KilcuUen*, a* at No. 27. •• S3 Stradbally 38* 

Athy* 324 Abbeyleix-. 47* 

STRADBALLY is a market and post town in Queen's 
county, situated in a fertile and delightful country. Its 
public buildings are, a market house, a neat church and 
tower, a dispensary, cotton mills, and a chartered school 
for clothing, educating, and apprenticing sixty boys. This 
town is much resorted to in summer, as a watering place. 

Pop. 1799. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: May 6, 
July 10, Aug. 21, Sept 14, and Nov. 21. 

Seats : Stradbally Hall, the seat of Mr. Cosby, and 
Brockley Park, the Earl of Roden. 

ABBEYLEIX is a post town of Queen's county, situated 
pn the Nore. It has a church and Roman Catholic chapel; 
also a lace manufactory, and a good inn. It is on the 
mail road to Cork, by Cashel. 

Pop. 1009. Fairs: March 17, April 18, May 5, and 
:Nov. 4. 

p p 8 



438 



No. 189. From Dublin to STROKESTOWN. 

Dublin Cattlt to Mile*. Dublin CastU to MUa. 

Kinnegad», asatNo-lOO-. 29* Barry 64* 

Mullingar* 38* Kenagh 563 

Ballinacargy 45* Killashee 61 

Buck Houm Inn 47* Tannonbarry Bridge 64i 

Colehffl 61 Strokertown* 71* 

BALLINACARGY is a village and post town of West- 
meath. On the shore of a small lough, between this place 
and Mullingar, is a beautiful mansion called Sonnagh. In 
the same direction, but within a mile of Ballinacargy, is 
Baron's Town, a stone house, erected by the late Lord 
Sunderlin, a noble edifice 300 feet in length, and sur- 
rounded by a park and charming scenery ; it is now occu- 
pied by R. Malone, Esq. He also built a small but 
beautiful church at Kilbixy, in the vicinity. 

Pop. 308. Fairs : May 9 and 1 5, and Oct. 28. 

BUCK HOUSE INN. Near this is an ancient chapel 
ruin, and Newport, the seat of Mr. Blake, situated between 
two branches of the river Inny. Beyond this is a castle 
ruin. 

COLEHILL is a village and post town of Longford. 
Jn the vicinity is Tennelick, a fine mansion, built close to 
the river Inny, and near it are the walls of an ancient 
castle. On the road, a mile beyond this village, is Tashiny 
church. 

Tashiny Fairs are held March 27, May 28, July 9, and 
Sept 26. 

BARRY is a village of Longford : 2& miles beyond it, 
to the left of the road, is Kilcommack church. 

Fairs: at Barry, last Monday in January, April, July, 
and Oct 

KENAGH is a village of Longford, just beyond which 



No. 191. DUBLIN TO TAGHMON. 439 

the river Kenagh traverses the park belonging to the 
splendid mansion of Mosstoum. Two miles farther are the 
ruins of a castle and a church. 

Pop. Z96. Fain: Sept 10, and Oct 10. 

KILLASHEE is a large village of Longford, with a 
neat church. 

Fairs: March 8, May 24, Sept 29, and Dec. 1. 



No. 190. From Dublin to SUMMERHILL. 

Dublin Castle to MUes. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Lncan* 6* Kilcock* 14ft 

Leixlip* 8 Summerhffl 19* 

Maynooth* 11} 

SUMMERHILL is an extremely neat modern post 
town in Meath. It is built in the form of a square, 
having a green in the centre. Dangan, now the seat 
of Roger O'Connor, Esq., was the birth-place of the 
noble brothers, the Marquess of Wellesley, the Duke of 
Wellington, and Lord Maryborough. Near it is Summer- 
hill House, the residence of Lord Langford, the proprietor 
of this town. 

Pop. 331. Fairs: April 30, June 9, Sept 22, and 
Nov. 25. 



No. 191. From Dublin to TAGHMON. Through 
Blessington and Enniscobthy. 

Dublin CastU to MUes. Dublin Castle to MUct. 
Enniacorthy*, as at No. 205. 57 Taghmon 68 

TAGHMON is a market and post town of Wexford, 
on the road from Wexford to New Ross. It was a 
borough town until the Union. The principal buildings 



440 No. 192. DUBLIN TO THURLES. 

are, the church, a modern stone structure, the Roman 
Catholic chapel, and the dispensary. In the centre of the 
town are the remains of an ancient castle. 

Pop. 1109. Market days : Monday and Thursday. 
Fairs : Monthly ; the market for butter is considerable. 
Inns : The Ship, Red Lion, and Plough Inn. 



No. 192. From Dublin to THURLES. Through 
Maryborough, Durrow, and Johnstown. 

Amblin Castle to Miles. JSHMin CasUe to MOes. 

Maryborough* as at No. 3. 40 UrUngford* 61* 

Ballyroan* ,441 Longford Paw 68* 

Durrow* 51* Thurie* #* 

THURLES is a market and post town in Tipperary, 
pleasantly situated on the Suir, which crosses the main 
street .at rjght angles. It has a handsome sessions house, 
a large gaol, a neat church, a very spacious and handsome 
Catholic chapel, with a fine organ, and a Roman Catholic 
college, two convents, barracks occupying the mansion 
formerly belonging to the Matthew family, and a Lan- 
casterian school superintended by monks. A house of 
White Friars was founded here by the Butlers, at the 
commencement of the fourteenth century, the ancient 
tower and ruins of which stand east of the Suir. The 
adjacent country is rich, and the inhabitants are wealthy 
formers. 

About 3 miles from Thurles, on the road to Cashel, are 
extensive remains of Holy Cross Abbey, founded by Donogh, 
King of Limerick, in the twelfth century. 
. Pop. 7084. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: 1st Tues- 
day of every month, Easter Monday, Aug 21, and Dec. 21. 
Inns :. Quinlan's Hotel ; and the Star aud Garter. 



441 

No. 193. From Dublin to TIPPER ARY. First 
Road. Through Kildare, Maryborough, and 
Cashel. 
Dublin Cattle to MUet. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Maryborough* a* at No. 3. 40 Tipperary* as at No. 54. • • 891 



No. 194. From Dublin to TIPPERARY. Second 
Road. Through Thurles and Dundrum. 

Dublin Cattle to MUet. Dublin Cattle to Milet. 

Maryborough*, as at No. 3. 40 Longford Pass 634 

Ballyroan* 44} Thurles* 70* 

Durrow* 51) Dundrum 81} 

Uriingfbrd* 61* Tipperary* 871 



No. 195. From DUBLIN to TRALEE. First Road. 
Through Limerick and Listowell. 

Dublin Cattle to MUet. Dublin Cattle to MUet. 

Listowell*, as at No. 3. ••• 131* Tralee • 144* 

KILFIN, in Kerry, is a village 7 J miles beyond Listo- 
well. A mile to the right, near the river Brick, stands the 
decayed castle of Lixna, once the magnificent residence of 
the Earls of Kerry. A road from Lixna returns through 
the village of Ballydore to the right, across the Cashin 
river at a ferry. 

Fair* : May 1 1, July 8, Sept 8, Oct 7, and Nov. 5. 

TRALEE, the county town of Kerry, is situated at the 
extremity of a broad but shallow bay, surrounded by lofty 
hills, having Kerry Head at the mouth of the Shannon, 
to the north-west, and Brandon Head, forming the opposite 
extremity, to the south-west The court house and gaol 



442 No. 195. DUBLIN TO TRALEE. 

form one side of the square in the centre of the town. 
The other public buildings are, the market house, the 
church, which is a noble modern structure, two Roman 
Catholic chapels, the dispensary in Abbey Street, the 
county infirmary in High Street, the Methodist meeting 
house, and the Independent meeting house. On an emi- 
nence in the vicinity, are infantry barracks for 600 men. 
Large shoals of herrings are taken in the bay. There is a 
considerable trade in corn. 

The election of the county members is held here, and 
Tralee borough returns a member to Parliament The 
gentlemen of this county being remarkable for their 
opulence and public spirit, Tralee, upon many occasions, 
has a cheerful and fashionable appearance. It is governed 
by a provost and burgesses. The badness of the harbour, 
however, checks it as a place of trade. No vessels can 
approach nearer than Bhnnerville, which is a mile distant ; 
but a sbip canal is now in progress from the bay to the 
town. The history of Tralee is important : Lord John 
Fits Thomas founded here the Dominican monastery of the 
Holy Cross, and being slain, together with Maurice his son, 
in 1262, they were both interred here. There were 
several castles in Tralee, one of which, still existing, was 
the chief castle of the Earl of Desmond. In 1579, Sir 
Henry Danvers, with Justices Meade and Charters, were 
slain in this castle by the Earl's brother, for holding a 
session in Desmond's Palatinate : this brought on the 
civil war, and the destruction of this powerful family and 
their connexions. Elizabeth granted this castle and for- 
feiture to Sir Edward Denny, who is proprietor .of the 
town. Two miles from Tralee is a chalybeate spa much 
resorted to. 

Pop. 9562. Market day: Saturday. Fain: May 3, 



No. 196. DUBLIN TO TRALEE. 443 

Aug. 4, Oct 9, Nov. 7, and Dec. 13. Inns : The Crosby 
Arms, the Mail Coach, and Military Hotel. 

At Blennerville there are four fairs held, on May 9, 
Sept 15, Oct 25, and Dec. 19. 



No. 196. From Dublin to TRALEE. Second Road. 
Through Limerick, Abbeyfeale, and Castle 
Island. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Abbeyfeale* aaatNo.3. •• 123* Arbela 138* 

Castle Island 133§ Tralee* 142* 

CASTLE ISLAND, a post town in Kerry, formerly 
the castle of the island of Kerry, was once populous, and 
was the assize town of this county. Here are the ruins of 
a large castle, built in 1226 ; it was taken by Sir Ralph 
Ufibrd, in 1345, from the retainers of the Earl of Desmond, 
and its gallant defenders were put to death. The lordship 
of Castle Island, or seignory of Mount Eagle Royal, was 
granted by Elizabeth to the Herberts, a family still pos- 
sessing large estates in Kerry. Castle Island has a market 
house of the Tuscan order, and a barrack, both of them 
out of repair; a charter school, founded in 1762, a modern 
church, a Roman Catholic chapel, an assembly room, and 
a comfortable inn. 

Pop. 1569. Fairs: Jan. 1, Feb. 2, Mar. 17, April 20, 
May 20, June 24, Aug. X, and Oct 1. 

ARBELA, in Kerry. Ash Hill, at this place, as well 
as Elm Qrove, and Bally seedy, are mansions of the Blenner- 
hasset family. A mile from Arbela is the dilapidated 
castle of Ballycarthy. 



444 



No. 197. From Dublin to WARRENS-POINT. Through 
Drogheda and Dundalk. 

Dublin CastU to Mil*. Dublin Cattle to MVm. 
Newry» MatNo. 1 50ft WarreM-point Aft 

WARRENS-POINT, so called from a rabbit-warren on 
this site, is a small port and sea-bathing village of the 
county of Down, which is rapidly rising into importance. 
It is a sea-port and post town, and forms the point of com- 
munication between the vicinity of Newry and Liverpool, 
a steam-boat and other packets plying between that port, 
the Isle of Man, and Warrens-point The village has been 
built with a view to accommodate the numerous visitors 
who in summer frequent this romantic place. The pros- 
pects which it commands of Carlingford harbour, the 
mountains, and the lighthouse, are justly admired. Warrens- 
point has a handsome modern church, a Roman Catholic 
chapel, a meeting house, a dispensary, and hot and cold 
baths. Near it is Sea- view, a range of buildings erected as 
lodging-houses. Vessels of large burden can come up to 
the quay. Rottrevor is two miles distant 

Pop. 1856. Fairs: last Friday of every month. Imu: 
The Crown, and the King's Arms. 



No. 198. From Dublin to WATERFORD. Mail 
Coach Road. Through Carlow, Gowran, and 
Thomastown. 

Dublin QuOe to MUet. Dublin Cattle to Mil*. 

LdghlinBridge» fM atNo.«7. 45 Waterfowl*, at at No. 84. . . 74* 



445 

No. 199. Prom Dublin to WATERFORD. Second 
Road. Through Leighlin Bridge and Innistiogue. 

Dublin Outie to MUts. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Leighlin Bridge* asat No. 27. 49 Graig 571 

Royal Oak Inn * 47 Inntetiogue 63 

Gore's Bridge 51* Waterford* 76* 

GORE'S BRIDGE, a post town in Kilkenny, is seated 
on the Barrow, across which is seen the ruin of Ballyellan 
Castle, Pop. 634. Fairs: Jan. 18, and Dec. 18. 

Seat : Mount Loftus. 

GRAIG, a post town of Kilkenny, situated in a charm- 
ing valley, with a handsome bridge over the Barrow. Here 
are the ruins of a magnificent abbey, founded by William 
Mareschall, Earl of Pembroke, in 1212, in which was 
once deposited a Domesday Book of this kingdom, com- 
pleted by King John. The octagon tower remained until 
1774, and the walls of the abbey are still nearly perfect 
The abbey was granted to James Butler in 1556. 

Pop. (of Graig) 2130. Fairs: May 10, June 11, and 
Oct. 28. 

INNISTIOGUE is a post town of Kilkenny, consisting 
principally of one square, in the centre of which are the 
remains of a cross. There is a church and schools, and 
the salmon fishery of the Nore gives employment to many 
persons. It has vestiges of a monastery, founded in 1210. 
Over the river Nore is a handsome stone bridge of ten 
arches, built from designs by Mr. G. Smith. 

Pop. 906. Fairs: March 11, June 9, Oct 12, and 
Dec. 13. 

Seat : Woodstock, one of the noblest seats in the south 
of Ireland, with a fine wood covering 500 acres, and over- 
hanging the river, with many superb prospects. At this 
seat, Mrs. Tighe, the author of Psyche, expired; and 
QQ 



446 No. 201. DUBLIN TO WATERFORD. 

here a monument, by Flaxman, has been erected to her 
memory. About three miles south-east of Woodstock is Pu- 
lacuila, a romantic glen, adorned with a beautiful waterfall. 

The excursion by water from Inaistiogue to Waterford, 
particularly between the former place and JN*ew .Ross, 
exhibits some beautiful scenery, and numerous charming 
teats. 

There is another road from Gore's Bridge, through 
Thomastown to Innistiogue, by which the distance to 
Waterford is 76$ miles, as in the present route. 



No. 200. From Dublin to WATERFORD. Third 

Road. Through Carlow, Burris, and New Ross. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Carlow*, as at No. 27- 39 New Ross* 67 

Bagnahtown, as at No. 164 • • 47* Glamnore 7ft 

Boot* ••• Mk, Waterford* 83* 

GL AN MORE, in Kilkenny, is a neat village, with an 
ancient castle. Here is a steep and .beautiful glen. Going 
from New Ross to Waterford, this is the road usually 
taken. Returning from Waterford, by a shorter road, the 
river is crossed at Ballinlaw Ferry , from which there is a 
beautiful road to New Ross. 



No. 201. From Dublin to WATERFORD. Fourth 
Road. Through Wicklow, Enniscorthy, and 
Taghmon. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Gorej*, asatNo. 204 461 Taghmon* $1 

Clough Church 48 fookamij] 74* 

F«n»* .64 Passage-east 84 

.Bcarewalsh Bridge 57 Waterford* 89 

Enniscorthy* GO 



No. 303. DUBLIN TO WESTFORT. 447 

PASSAGE-EAST is situated on die entrance of the 
rhrers Barrow and Suir, in Waterford. The church is aeen 
on the top of a hill, which casts its broad shadow over this 
small town. At its pier, constructed on the foundation of 
a fort or block-house, passengers embark for Milford 
Haven. Pop. 658. Fairs : May 6, June 12, Sept. 9, and 
Nov. 12. 



No. 202. From Dublin to WATERFORD. Fifth 
Road. Through Baltinglass, Ennibcorthy, and 
New Ross. 
Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Mile*. 

KnnlKOrthy* aaatNo.SOfi.. 67 New Bom* 79 

Clonroch 63 Waterford* 88* 



No. 203. From Dublin to WESTPORT. Through 
Ballinamore, Ballinrobe, and Partree. 

Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Athlone*, asatNo. 100... 59J Ballinrobe* 112 

Tuarn*, as at No. 124 93 Partree. 117 

KUrnain* 104* Westport 187ft 

PARTREE is a village of Mayo, in a charming position, 
on the stream which connects Carra Lough with Lough 
Mask. The traveller passes this water by the bridge at 
Partree. In this vicinity he may visit the round tower, 
abbey, and hamlet of Jgltagower, on the Westport road, as 
well as the beautiful lakes, old castles, and the abbeys of 
Burriscarra and Ballintubber. The landscape painter may 
here meet with some romantic prospects. 

WESTPORT is a market and post town of Mayo, de- 
riving its name from its remote situation on the western 



448 No. 208. DUBLIN TO WESTPORT, 

shore of tbe kingdom. The harbour is a mile from the 
town, at the south corner of the head of Clew Bay, and is 
opposite to Newport, which is six miles distant. Westport 
is a well-built town, on the borders of a pretty river flowing 
through a fine vale into the bay. In the middle of the 
town there is a mall, with a pretty stream running in the 
centre of it, and with rows of fine trees on both sides. It 
possesses a neat market house, a linen hall, a court house, 
barracks, public schools, and hospital, and on the Mall a 
richly-constructed modern Roman Catholic chapel, of 
Gothic architecture. Its trade in grain is considerable, 
and there are extensive corn stores on the quay. 

This district is covered by stupendous hills, divided by 
charming dales and romantic ravines, and bordered by a 
grand and beautiful sea-shore ; the indented havens being 
spangled with a multitude of green or rocky isles, which 
afford shelter to those engaged in the fisheries. The esta- 
blishment of these flourishing ports cannot fail to be highly 
beneficial to the inhabitants of the mountainous portions 
of this province ; the commerce of Westport is already of 
some importance, and there is a rising spirit of enterprise 
in the townsmen. 

Westport House, the elegant mansion of the Marquess of 
Sligo, the noble proprietor of this town, is nearly half a 
mile distant, with a gate entrance from the Mall, and pos- 
sesses a rich library : in its charming demesne is a small 
parochial church. 

In the direction of Louisburgh, a village of the neigh- 
bouring coast, we pass the great Hill of Croagh Patrick, 
otherwise the Meek, a noble mountain, said to be 2666 feet 
above the level of the ocean. Here the popular tradition 
supposes that St Patrick collected all the reptiles, vipers, 
and venomous serpents, and cast them into the sea — a fable 



No. 204. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 44# 

which has its origin in the &ct, that poisonous reptiles do 
not exist in Ireland. There are great numbers ^who visit 
this place annually, to do penance. This is a conical bill, 
and serves as a landmark for vessels in the western seas. 

In Kittery Mountain, a slate quarry has been rendered 
productive by the exertions and encouragement of the 
Marquess of Sligo. The linen manufacture, which never 
succeeded so well here as eastward, is now fast declining. 
The herring fishery deserves great attention here ; large 
shoals of fish frequent the Bay of Killer y, which is on all 
sides bounded by the high range of the Morisk mountain, 
that in many places overhangs the sea-worn caves. On 
the opposite side of the Killery, in Mayo, the Marquess 
of Sligo owns a spot called Delphi, which lies in a beautiful 
situation, and the traveller may easily procure a boat to 
take him across. 

Leaving Westport, the tourist will pass on the left, a 
lough seven miles long, and a mile and a half wide, called 
Lough Dan, with cultivated banks and wooded islands. 

Pop. 4448. Market-day: Thursday. Fairs: Jan. 1, 
May 24, Aug. 6, and Nov. 1. Inn: Robinson's Hotel, 
considered the best in Ireland. 



No. 204. From Dublin to WEXFORD. First Road. 
Through Wicklow, Newborouoh, and the Broad 
Ferry. 

Dublin Cattle to Miles. Dublin Cattle to Miles. 

Donnybrook 2 Gorey. 45} 

gtiilorgan 4J Ballycanoe 49} 

Bray W Wells 54* 

Kiloool -. 16 Kyle 56 

Wicklow 24 Wexford 06* 

•Arldow * 

QQ 3 



450 No. 204. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 

DONNYBROOK, in the county of Dublin, is situated 
on the Dodder, and is celebrated for its great fair, which 
commences August 26th, and lasts for six days. Here the 
native humour of the Dublin citizens is annually displayed, 
when, after accustomed libations, the word is followed by 
the blow, a well tempered method of making good the most 
brilliant points of Irish wit and argument The sale of 
horses of every description adds considerably to the spirit 
of Donnybrook Fair. In this village are cotton-painting 
mills, and an hospital for incurables. The ancient church 
deserves notice. 
Fair: Aug. 26. 

Seats : Merville, Sans Souci, and 4 miles from Dublin, 
Mount Merrion. 

STILLORGAN, in Dublin. The church, and the fine 
prospect of Howth Hill, seen from the obelisk, a hundred 
feet high, are deserving of notice. There are also many 
gentlemen's seats. Pop. 650. 

KUmacudd, in the immediate vicinity, is noted as the 
birth-place of St Cuthbert 

BRAY is a post town and sea-bathing place of Wick- 
low, separated from the county of Dublin by the river 
Bray, which is famous for its trout Here the angler 
may pass his leisure hours amidst wooded glens and 
awful precipices. The vicinity, which is celebrated for its 
romantic scenery, abounds with gentlemen's seats; and 
near the bridge, on the Dublin side, is Ravenswell, for- 
merly the seat of the Rowley family. Bray has a court 
house, a neat church on an eminence by the river side, a 
Roman Catholic chapel, a meeting house, infantry barracks, 
a savings' bank, and charity schools, and there is an exten- 
sive brewery, and the remains of an old castle, near which 
a battle took place in 1690, between the forces of James II. 



No. 204. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 451 

and William III, Races are held annually on Bray 
common, which were formerly held at Wicklow. 

About a mile and a half distant is the rocky promon- 
tory called Bray Head, which rises 807 feet above the 
level of the sea. Its summit may be reached without 
much difficulty. Under Bray Head is a remarkable preci- 
pice, called the Smugglers' Glen. The white pebbles found 
on the shore beneath it are cut and polished, and are much 
prized. Along the coast to Dublin are several martello 
towers. 

Pop. 3758. Fairs : Mar. 1, May 1, July 1, Aug. 15, 
Sept 20, and Dec. 14. Inn : Quin's Hotel. 

Two miles beyond Bray is Kilruddery House, the seat of 
the Earl of Meatb. This noble mansion was commenced 
in 1820, on the site of the original buildings, and is sur- 
rounded by charming grounds. Two miles farther is the 
village of Kilnacarrick. 

K1LCOOL is a village of Wicklow, surrounded by 
many elegant seats. It has the ruins of a church, and a 
respectable inn. Between this place and the sea is the 
saltmarsh of Cooldross, to which the horses of the metro- 
polis, when ill, are sent to pasture. A mile beyond Kil- 
cool is the village of Newcastle. 

Pop, 469. Fairs: Whit Monday, and Sept 4. 
The Black Bull is an inn beyond Newcastle, where the 
road is joined by another, which the traveller left to 
the right on quitting Bray. This road, on the right, is 
more than a mile longer than the left, or coast road, but 
is extremely romantic, and requires notice, as it has been 
recently selected as the mail route. 

About 3$ miles from Bray is the Glen of the Downs, 
formed by two hills rising abruptly from twelve to thirteen 
hundred feet, and entirely covered with wood. Between 



462 No. 204. DUBLIN 1*0 WEXFORD. 

these there is just sufficient passage for the road, and for 
a small torrent, which runs parallel to it Here die tra- 
veller should notice Mrs. Latouche's cottage, at the north 
end of the glen, and above it the banquetting room, and 
the octagon temple. Belleview, the seat of the Latouche 
family, is a plain hut extensive building, commanding fine 
prospects, and surrounded by charming grounds. The 
conservatory is entitled to particular notice. A quarter 
of a mile east of Belleview gate is the pretty village of 
Delgany, with a Gothic church, built by P. Latouche, Esq. 
in 1789; it contains a splendid monument in honour of 
D. Latouche, Esq., executed by N. Hickey, an Irish 
sculptor. Two miles from Delgany, on the left, is Wood- 
wtoek, the villa of the Bishop of Clogher. 

The traveller then returns to the high road near the en- 
trance of the glen, and, three miles from Delany, 'arrives 
at the small but neat village of Newtown Mount Kennedy, 
which is 17| miles from Dublin. Here is a very 
comfortable inn, where the tourist might fix his head* 
quarters, as the scenery of the vicinity presents numerous 
objects worthy of a visit ; such as the DeviVsGien, where the 
Vartrey torrent forms a cascade 100 feet high, Ihmran, the 
seat of the Rev. Joseph Fletcher, Kiltymon Glen, Altadere, 
the seat of the Rev. Mr. Hepenstall, and Tenny Park, Mr. 
Jessop. The mansion and demesne of R. G. Cunningham, 
Esq., are particularly entitled to attention. A mile beyond 
Kiltymon is Ballycarry, the seat of Charles Tottenham, 
Esq., and Gkntnore Castle, F. Synge, Esq. 

Beyond Newtown is Mount Kennedy, and within two 
miles of Wicklow, Newry Bridge Inn; near which is 
Rosarma, noted as having been the residence of Mrs. Tighe, 
the authoress of Psyche. 

WICKLOW, the capital of the county of Wicklow, is 



No. 204. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 45JJ 

a post town, pleasantly situated on the sea-shore, at the 
mouth of the Leitrim ; over which is a stone bridge of 
eight arches. The river is shallow, having no more than 
seven or eight feet of water ; but there are about forty 
fishing vessels belonging to this port, and a considerable 
trade is carried on in exporting copper ore from the Wick- 
low mines, corn, hides, cattle, &c, and importing lime- 
stone, rock salt, coals, and slates. On a huge rock at the 
mouth of the river, are the remains of a singular fortifica- 
tion, called the Black Castle, consisting of a wall with bat- 
tlements and buttresses, erected by William Fitzwilliam in 
the 14th century. There are also, in a private garden, 
vestiges of a Franciscan monastery, founded in the reign 
of Henry HI. Wicklow has a church with a tower, on an 
eminence, a court house, a gaol, a market house, barracks, 
in the front part of which, it is said, James II. lodged after 
the battle of the Boyne, a Roman Catholic chapel,two Roman 
Catholic schools, and meeting houses for the independents, 
methodists, and quakers. On the bank, called the Mur- 
rough, extending for about six miles along the sea shore, 
is a course, where races were held annually, but are now 
held at Bray. The ale brewed here is much es- 
teemed. On Wicklow Head, about a mile distant, are three 
light houses, and at the base of this lofty promontory are 
some curious limestone caves. 

Pop. 2472. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: Mar. 28, 
May 1, Ascension day, Aug. 12, and Nov. 26. Inn*: 
Rogers' and Halpin's. 

ARKLOW, is a sea- port, market, and post town, situa- 
ted on the Ovoca, over which is a bridge of 19 arches. The 
harbour is unsafe, being surrounded by sand-banks, but it 
admits small vessels ; and upwards of 100 boats are en- 



*54 tio. 204. DUBLIN Tt) WEXFORD. 

gaged on this coast in taking herrings and oysters. At the 
upper end of the town are barracks, and near them 
the ruins of the castle, once the seat of the Earls of Or- 
mond, and formerly a place of considerable strength and 
importance. There are also vestiges, of a Dominican 
Friary, founded in the 13th century. Arklow possesses a 
modern stone church, built from designs by F. Johnston, 
Esq., a Roman Catholic chapel, a charter school, a Lancas- 
terian School, erected in 1823, by the Earl of Carysfort, a 
Roman Catholic school, a fever hospital, a dispensary, and 
a methodist meeting house. Here, on June 9, 1798, the 
rebel army, consisting of 20,000 men, was defeated by 
General Needham, whose forces did not muster more than 
2000 strong. On a lofty hill, near Arklow, is the Mauso- 
leum of the Howard family. A mile west of the town, on 
the bank of the Ovoca, is Shelton Abbey, the seat of the 
Earl of Wicklow, where James II. lodged one night, after 
the battle of the Boyne ; and opposite to it is Glenart Castle, 
the charming residence of the Earl of Carysfort In the 
vicinity is Ballyarthur, the handsome seat of the Rev. H. 
Bayley ; the prospect from which is very fine. 

In the parish of Arklow is Croghan Mountain, in which 
gold was discovered some years ago in large quantities. 
In 1796, the peasants obtained 2,666 ounces of gold 
in less than two months, and the mines were then taken 
possession of in the king's name. They have been since 
neglected. 

Pop. 4383. Market day: Thursday. Fairs: Jan. 11, 
Mar. 22, April 19, May 14, June 28, Aug. 9, Sep. 25, and 
Nov. 15. Inn: Sterne's. 

GOREY is a borough, market, and post town of Wex- 
ford, with extensive fisheries, and is governed by a sove- 
reign and recorder. It has a handsome stone church, a 



No. 204. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 45? 

Roman Catholic chapel, a market house, a sessions house, 
a fever hospital, a savings' bank, and several charitable 
institutions. 

About a quarter of a mile from Gorey is Mr. Ram's 
fine seat, called Ramsfort, which was burnt during the 
rebellion of 1798. In the deer park is seen Creagh Hill, 
from the summit of which there is a noble prospect. 
Courtown, the splendid seat of Lord Courtown, is on the 
sea-coast, and has a small fishing harbour. Camolin is a 
handsome village and post town, five miles from Gorey, 
and near it is Camolin Park, the seat of tqe Earl of Mount- 
Norris. Near the sea also is Clonathin, another seat of the 
Kara family. At Clogh village and church, two miles 
beyond the town, is a chalybeate water, called The Iron 
Well. 

Pop. 3044. Market Day: Saturday. Fairs: Jan. 1, 
Mar. 14, May 2, June 1, July 10, Aug. 31, and Oct. 27. 

KYLE is a small post town of Wexford, with the 
remains of a monastery, founded in 600. A mile beyond 
it is the inn at Olart. Near this place Major Lombard and 
one hundred militia-men were surrounded and slain in 1798. 
Four miles from Kyle we reach Castle Ellis church, and 
beyond it Castle Talbot, a handsome mansion. Still farther 
is the ruin of Garry lough Castle. 

WEXFORD is a handsome borough, market, and post 
town, giving name to the county of which it is the 
capital. It is situated on the Slaney, at its entrance into 
Wexford Bay. The harbour is protected by two points of 
land which approach each other, and nearly enclose a land- 
locked expanse, resembling a lake. Over the river, about 
three miles from the town, is a wooden bridge, called Ferry 
Carrig, 2100 feet in length, and 42 in breadth, allowing the 
passage of vessels in the centre, erected by Mr. Samuel 



456 No. 204. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 

Cox, architect, of Boston in America. The town consists 
principally of one long street, from which a few lanes 
diverge ; and there are several handsome public buildings ; 
the chief are, the court house and market house, both 
modern ; the barracks, partly built of stone from the walls 
of the old castle ; the county gaol, the church, which is 
handsome and modern ; the Roman Catholic chapel, and 
the county infirmary. Wexford also possesses a Roman 
Catholic college, a nunnery, a Lancasterian school, a house 
of industry, a subscription news room, a lunatic asylum, 
a fever hospital, a methodist chapel, and meeting houses. 
Near the west gate is a mineral spa. Amongst the mo- 
nastic vestiges entitled to notice, are the church and abbey 
of Selksar, or priory of St. Peter and St Paul, said to have 
been founded by the Danes, and the ruins of the church of 
St Mary, remarkable for its graceful arches, supported by 
round columns ; the choir is entered by a Saxon arch, and 
there are several tombs. This church, with several others, 
was destroyed by order of Cromwell, when in possession of 
the town, in 1649. Here also are remains of a house of the 
Knight's Templars, founded by William Marischall. The 
square tower, formerly attached to the priory, is in a high 
state of preservation ; adjoining which a church has lately 
been built 

Wexford has a mayor and recorder, and returns a 
member to parliament It was one of the earliest Eng- 
lish colonies, and its ancient castle was built by Fitz- 
Stephens in the time of Henry II., who embarked from 
this place, after receiving homage from most of the princes 
of Ireland. Wexford was the second object of Cromwell's 
assaults, who stormed it, and slaughtered Sir Edward 
Butler, and the entire garrison. In 1798, it was eva- 
cuated, and the rebels held possession of it : on retreating 



No. 204. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 457 

they killed 97 of the inhabitants on the bridge, and cast 
the bodies into the Slaney. 

The trade of the town is considerable, although none 
but small vessels can approach the quay and custom- 
house, on account of the sands and shallows. Its chief 
exports are corn and cattle. Manufactures, however, 
are in a flourishing condition. The oysters of Wexford are 
famous, and the coast abounds with wild fowl. 

On the road leading to the Barony of Forth, lies a range 
of rocks about a mile in length, and half a mile in breadth ; 
they are called Trespan Rocks, and are upwards of 60 feet 
in height. 

In the Barony of Forth, near Wexford, live the de- 
scendants of an ancient colony who were led over by the 
Welsh Barons, in the time of Henry II., to the assistance 
of King Dermod. They possess great simplicity of man- 
ners, have mixed but little with the natives, retain their 
native language, and are remarkably clean, sober, and in- 
dustrious. This district is particularly noted for its im- 
proved state of farming. 

Carrick Cattle, two miles north-west of Wexford, was the 
first military edifice erected by the Anglo-Normans in 
Ireland. Its remains are seated on a rock on the banks of 
the Slaney. Near Wexford also is Saunders Court, the seat 
of the Earl of Arran. 

Pop. 10,673. Market days: Wednesday and Saturday. 
Fairs: March 17, May 1, June 29, Aug. 24, and Nov. 1. 
Inns : White's, Sutherland's, and Furlong's. 



4*8. 



No. 205. From Dublin to WEXFORD. Second 
Road. Through Baltinqlass, Clonegall, and 
Enniscorthy. 

Dublin CastU to Mile*. Dublin Cattle to MOff. 
Tallaght 5 Clonegall 45 



sington 14 Enniscorthy* 57 

Baltinglaw 29 Wexford* 7W 

Tallow 38 

TALLAGHT, in Dublin, is an ancient village and post 
town, seated on a rivulet, which supplies many mills. The 
church has a remarkable steeple, and in the church-yard 
are several crosses. The Archbishop of Dublin's palace, 
here, is a fine old building, and has an excellent garden. 
Timon Castle, in this parish, is an ancient square tower 
seated on an eminence. Beyond this place is Tallagkt 
Mountain, which is barren, but affords a noble prospect 
from its summit Enter Wicklow county five miles be- 
yond Tallaght. Pop. 359. Fairs : July 7, and Nov. 9. 

BLESSINGTON is a pleasant market and post town of 
the county of Wicklow. The church has a high square 
steeple, with a good ring of bells, and contains a marble 
monument in memory of Archbishop Boyle, who built the 
cburcb, and was a great benefactor to the town. At the 
end of an avenue are the remains of his once magnificent 
seat, which was burnt in 1798 by the insurgents. There 
is a school supported by the Marquis of Downshire, and 
a dispensary. There is a manufactory of coarse cloth here. 

Pop. 426. Market day : Saturday. Fairs: May 12, 
July 5, and Nov. 12. Inns: The Blessington Inn, and the 
Downshire Hotel. 

Russborough, three miles beyond Blessington, is the Earl 
of Miltown's, a fine mansion built by Cassels ; it contains 
a good gallery, . including pictures of Poussin, Vernet, 



No. 205. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 4«9 

Guercino, Reynolds, and Barrett, an eminent native 
artist. 

Ballymore Eustace, in a part of the county of Dublin, 
has a handsome bridge across the Liffey ; this village is 
Dot so flourishing as when it formed the thoroughfare to 
the south. It is 3£ miles beyond Blessington : an ancient 
church steeple crowns the hill above the village. 

One mile from Ballymore Eustace, and about three 
miles beyond Russborough, is the grand waterfall of 
Pol a Pucha, formed by the river Liffey, taking its 
course through a gap of forty feet in a rugged rock ; the 
grounds near it are tastefully laid out. The three cas- 
cades, in regular continuation, fall for a space of 100 
feet. The arch of the intended bridge is to be 60 feet 
in span. Near it is Broomfield, the seat of the Earl of 
MountcashelL 

To the left of the road, between Blessington and Bal- 
tinglass, is Sliebh Gulh, or Church Mountain; on the top of 
which is a well, still frequented by pilgrims. It is sur- 
rounded by rude stone work. 

To the right of this road, and 26 J miles from Dublin, 
is STRATFORD-UPON-SLANEY, in Wicklow. This 
town was built by the Earl of Aldborough, and is well 
laid out It has manufactories of cotton and calico, a 
market house, and a church. Over the river is a bridge 
of four arches. The great hill above this town commands 
a view of ten counties. Two miles distant is Sounder* 
Grove. Pop. 1000. Fairs: of Stratford-on-Slaney, April 21, 
and Sept. 7. 

BALTINGLASS is a market and post town of Wick- 
low, seated on the Slaney, in a beautiful vale, called Vallu 
Salutti. It is very ancient, and was formerly a borough. 
Its name is derived from the Irish, and signifies Belus, or 



460 No. 205. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 

Baal's fires, in allusion to the worship of the Sun observed 
here by the Druids, of whose altars there are several in 
the vicinity. Its principal buildings are, the church, the 
court house, the gaol, the infirmary, and the Roman Catho- 
lic chapel In the Vallis Salutis are, the remains of the 
abbey of Saint Mary, founded in 1151, and an ancient 
castle belonging to Lord Aldborough, who is also pro- 
prietor of the town. Baltinglass has extensive manufac- 
tories of woollens, linens, and diapers. 

Pop. 1670. Market day: Friday. Fairs: Feb. 2, 
March 17, May 12, July 1, Sept 12, and Dec. 8. 

TULLOW is a post town of Carlow, pleasantly situated 
on the Slaney. Over the river is a stone bridge, and 
immediately adjoining* is an Augustine abbey in ruins. 
The castle, captured by Cromwell's army, has been con- 
verted into a barrack. Here also are a market house, and 
court house, a neat church, a Roman Catholic chapel, and 
a nunnery. This was once a walled town. It has a 
brewery, and some flour mills, and is a good market for 
corn and butter. 

Pop. 1929. Market day: Saturday. Fairs: Jan. 20, 
April 21, July 10, Sept 8, Oct 29, and Nov. 21. Inns : 
Bridge Inn ; and Cullen's. 

Seats : Mount Wollesley, the mansion of the Wollesley 
family. Adristan, Rathrush, three miles distant, and one 
mile from it Balynunnery. 

CLONEGAL is a small but neat market and post town 
of Wexford. The view from the church-yard is beautiful. 
Between it and Enniscorthy are the ruins of Castle Ryland, 
and Clohaman Castle, 

Pop, 500. Fairs: first Wednesday in Feb., March, May, 
June, and Dec; May 30, July 31, Nov. 12 and 22, and 
Dec. 11. 



No. 206. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 4*1 

NEWTOWN BARRY, in Wexford, is near to Clonegall, 
It is a small post town, situated near the junction of the 
rivers Slaney and Clody. The church was erected by 
Lord Famham, and the church-yard is one of peculiar 
beauty. There is a manufacture of frieze and Knen 
carried on here. 

Fairs: Jan. 4, March 1, April 29, June 17, Aug. 20, 
Sept. 14 and 26, Nov. 4, and Dec. 14. 

One road leads from Clonegall to Searewalsh Bridge, 
then crosses the Slaney to Enniscorthy; but a second 
road to Enniscorthy crosses the two streams near Clone- 
gall, to Newtown Barry. There is also a road from 
Tullow through Kilbride, by the west bank of the 
Slaney to Newtown Barry ; within half a mile of which 
town is seen the fine mansion of Carrickduff. Here, on 
the borders of Carlow, are beheld the Blacktteirs and 
Mount Leintter. Pop. 1430. 



No. 206. From Dublin to WEXFORD. Third 
Road. Through Enniskerry, Aghrim, and Ennis- 
corthy. 
Dublin Castle to Miles. Dublin Castle to Miles. 

Dundrum 33 Tinnahely 38 

TheScalp 8 Clonegall* 47* 

Enniskerry 10 Enniscorthy* 59i 

Rathdrum 251 Wexford* 72* 

Aghrim •' 32 

Miltoum is a village, with a church, 2 \ miles from 
Dublin Castle. Near it is Roebuck Castle, which was, for 
a long time, a seat of the Barons of Trimblestown. 

DUNDRUM, in Dublin, is a populous village, noted 
for its goats' whey, and its enchanting scenery. It has 
a handsome new church, and a Roman Catholic chapel. 
rr 3 



— ! 



462 No. 206. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 

Its old castle, situated on a steep hill, overlooks a beautiful 
glen. Near this truly picturesque route, about 1J mile 
beyond Dundrum, is Kilgobbin Castle, a ruin, belonging to 
Lord Powerscourt Pop. 680. 

Kilternan, in Dublin, is 7 miles from the city. After 
leaving this village, the road passes through the Scalp, 
which is so conspicuous from the bay of Dublin. This 
is a remarkable chasm in a mountain, which appears to 
have been rent asunder by an earthquake. Some have 
supposed it was cut out by human effort, forgetting that 
Celtic and northern tribes never performed such works. 
The barren sides of the sloping hills, for there is a 
shelving face rather than a precipice on either hand, 
present loose masses of stone, the largest fragments being 
the lowest The width of this defile at the foot is just 
sufficient for the passage of the road to the county of 
Wicklow, the charming scenery of which is enthusiastically 
admired by every real lover of nature. To the east of the 
Scalp is a lead mine, where numerous persons are em- 
ployed in smelting lead. 

ENNISKERRY is a village of Wicklow, delightfully 
situated on the side of a steep hill, at the base of which 
runs a mountain torrent It has school houses erected by 
Lord Powerscourt, to whom the village is indebted for 
many improvements. The air is remarkably good, and is 
recommended to those whose health is delicate. There 
are two good inns. Pop. 497. 

Nearly a mile from this village is Powerscourt, the 
celebrated seat of Viscount Powerscourt This mansion 
occupies a commanding situation on the right of the road 
from Dublin, and is surrounded by a demesne of great 
extent and beauty. It was built from designs by Cassels, 
and is almost square: in front is a beautiful lawn, sloping 



No. 206. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 463 

towards the river Glenislorean. The principal objects of 
attention are, the hall, 80 feet by 40, the grand ball-room, 
in which His late Majesty George IV. dined in 1821, the 
parlour at the end of the hall, containing two fine pictures, 
and the octagonal room, lined with cedar. 

Adjacent, but across the stream, are Char levi lie, the fine 
residence of the Earl of Rathdown, and Thmakinch, Mr. 
Grattan ; two beautiful villas, on the banks of the Dargle 
river. The grand Powerscourt Waterfall, 2§ miles from 
the mansion, the Douce Mountain, and the romantic 
winding Glen of the Dargle, have been the admiration of 
all visitors. Seen from a distance, this fall, in consequence 
of its great height, appears like a long white seam; but it 
assumes amazing grandeur, when, after rain, we con- 
template the impetuous rush from beneath. The pointed 
Sugar Loaf Mountains form the distant prospect, and are 
well worth a visit. The Dargle is about 12 miles from 
Dublin ; it is a delightful rural excursion. Mr. R. Twiss, 
in his tour, observes, " that it may justly vie with any 
part of Italy." A mile on this side of Rathdrum, the 
road passes a castle in ruins. 

RATHDRUM is a post town of Wicklow, situated on 
the Avon. There is a church with a spire, and a Roman 
Catholic chapel, and the only manufacture is flannels. On 
the summit of Rathdrum Hill is the flannel hall, a square 
building, 200 feet in length, erected by Earl Fitzwiliiam, 
A market for the sale of flannel is held here on the first 
Monday of each month, and about 4800 pieces are exposed 
for sale in the course of the year. 

Pop. 1054. Market day : Thursday. Fairs : first Mon- 
of each month, last Thursday in May and August, Oct. 10, 
and Dec. 11. Inn : Bates's. 

About a mile from Rathdrum, on the bunks of the Avon. 



464 No. 206. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 

is the beautiful demesne of Avondale Park, formerly the 
property of Mr. Hayes, and afterwards of Sir J. Parnell, 
to whose descendant it now belongs. 

Two miles and a half from Rathdrum, the Great and 
Lesser Avon form the Meeting of the Waters, the subject 
of Mr. Moore's beautiful ballad, commencing — 

There Is not in this wide world a valley so sweet 
As that Tale in whose bosom the bright waters meet 

The spot called the Meeting of the Waters is not the 
most beautiful part There is a bridge, and the meeting 
of the two streams, and wooded hills ; but, lower down the 
valley, there is more variety and beauty, particularly in 
the neighbourhood of Wooden Bridge Inn, three miles 
distant, which is very comfortable. 

Near the Meeting of the Waters is Castle Howard, the 
seat of Colonel Howard, through the grounds of which the 
stranger may obtain permission to drive. The road to this 
mansion is cut round a rock, and commands extensive and 
varied views. 

In this vicinity is the wild and romantic barony of Shile- 
lagh. After washing the base of the hill, whose summit is 
crowned by Castle Howard, the Ovoca flows between the 
mountains of Cronbane and Ballymurtagh, both of which 
contain copper mines. 

Fairs : June 22, Nov. 22, and Dec. 20 and 22. 
AGHRIM is a town of Wicklow, on the River Derry. 
Seats: Clone, one mile distant; Battymanus, one mile 
distant, and Ballybeg, four miles distant. 

TINNAHELY, a post town of Wicklow, seated on a 
small stream, over which is a bridge of two arches. It 
has a market house and sessions room, erected by Earl 
Fitzwilliam, whose seat, named Malton, is three miles 
distant Pop. 575, Fairs : Monthly. 



No. 207. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 465 

Hence to Clonegall, by the direct route, is nine and a 
quarter miles ; there is, however, a circuitous road turning 
to the left, beyond Tinnahely, which conducts through 
Carnew to Clonegall, on the right hand, or to Gorey on 
the left 

Seat : Coollatin Parky the residence of Earl Fitzwilliam. 



No. 207. From Dublin to WEXFORD. Fourth 
Road. Through Arklow, Newborough, and En- 

NISCORTHY. 

Dublin Castle to MUes. Dublin Cattle to Mile*. 

Blackrock- •• 4 Gorey* 40} 

Bray* 10 Ferns M 

Wteklow* 84 EnnuoorUiy GO 

Arklow* 36 Wexford* 73ft 

About two miles and a half from Dublin is Old Merrum; 
at which is Merrion Castle. A number of splendid seats 
and well-planted parks are seen from the road for several 
miles. 

Booterstoum, three miles and a quarter from Dublin. In 
Booterstoum Lane, on the right, is a Roman Catholic chapel, 
and a handsome church, with a steeple and spire. 

Williamstown is another of the villages on this route, 
which skirt the bay of Dublin. 

BLACKROCK, in Dublin, is the most celebrated sea- 
bathing place in the vicinity of the capital. The streets 
are rather confined, but the extraordinary beauty of the 
country residences, and of the sea-shore, secures to the 
Rock a long train of equestrian visitors and jaunting cars, 
which have, however, considerably decreased since the 
railway to Kingstown was established. There are several 
roads to Bray; by Killiney it is eleven miles from town. 

Pop. 2050. 



466 No. 207. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 

Seats : Maritimo, Lord Cloncurry, and that of Sir 
Harcourt Lees, Bart 

The coach road is through the village of Cabinteely; and 
here is Cabinteely House, the seat of Miss Byrne ; also Bre- 
nanstown House, the seat of George Pirn, Esq. 

Killiney Hill is eight miles from Dublin. On its summit 
is a conspicuous obelisk, whence the traveller may enjoy a 
rich reward for his toil in ascending the mountain, in the 
diversified prospects of sea and land which this situation 
commands. Hence may be seen the bays of Dublin and 
Killiney, the islands of Dalkey, Ireland's Eye, Lambay, 
and the peninsula of Howth. As the Rev. G. Wright 
justly observes, in his " Guide to the County of Wicklow," — 
" Description cannot convey an adequate idea of the beauti- 
ful disposition which nature has made of these numerous 
objects of her creation." It is supposed that many rich 
veins of lead exist here. Near the base of the hill is a 
monument, erected to the memory of the Duke of Dorset, 
who was unfortunately killed here while hunting. To the 
right is Mount Druid, a gentleman's mansion, so named 
from a much admired antiquity, called the Druid's Temple : 
here is a banquetting room. The church is in ruins. 

The road joins the direct road from Stillorgan, and passes 
by Loughlinstown to Shangenagh, a mile beyond Killiney. 

Seats : Shankhill, Mr. Roberts ; Old Connaught, Lord 
Plunkett; Shangenah, Sir George Cockburn ; and Cork 
Abbey, the Hon. Mr. Wingfield. 

FERNS, in Wexford, is situated near the small river 
Ban. This celebrated see was united with Leighlin in 
1600. Part of the cathedral is modernized, and is in good 
repair. It contains the remains of St. iEdan, the founder 
of the building. Some dilapidated monastic edifices are 
still to be seen, particularly the Augustine abbey, founded 



No. H>7. DUBLIN TO WEXFORD. 407 

by Diarmit M'Murchad, as an atonement for his having 
burnt the town: he was buried in it a. d. 1171. King 
Dermot built the castle, which is seen on an eminence on 
this town, and hither he retreated until the arrival of the 
English forces. There exist also the walls of an ancient 
church. The bishop's palace is a handsome building, sur- 
rounded by a beautiful park; and close to the cathedral is a 
holy well, dedicated to St Maidhog, the first bishop, who 
was consecrated a. d. 598. 

Pop. 571. Fairs: Feb. 11, March 25, May 12, June 29, 
Sept. 4, Oct 29, and Dec. 27. 

ENNISCORTHY is a market, post town, and corpo- 
rate borough of the county of Wexford, situated on the 
river Slaney, over which it has a bridge of six arches. 
Sloops traffic between this town and Wexford haven, as 
the Slaney is navigable, and a large trade is carried on in 
.corn. The town is principally on the right bank of the 
river, and Drumgold, with Temple Shannon, the suburbs, 
are beneath Vinegar Hill on the left. Enniscorthy Castle, 
built by the first English invaders, has been recently 
repaired, and is now occupied by the agent of Lord Ports- 
mouth. The abbey was granted to Spenser, the poet, in 
1581 : the friary was founded in 1460, and was granted to 
Sir H. Wallop. The church and town were much injured 
by the insurgents in 1798 : they occupied Enniscorthy, and 
had a camp on Vinegar Hill, where General Lake routed 
them, June 21, J 798. A fine view may be obtained from 
the top of this hill. The chief public buildings are, the old 
church, the Roman Catholic chapel, some meeting houses, 
a. Roman Catholic school, a Protestant free school, the dis- 
pensary, hospital, and a handsome sessions house. In the 
neighbourhood is a large brewery and distillery. Lord 
Portsmouth is proprietor o£ the town. 



*«S N8. 208, DUBLIN TO YOUGHALL. 

Pop. 6955. Market days ; Tuesday, Thursday, and Sa- 
turday. Fain: Jan. 21, Feb. 21, March 21, April 25, 
May 10, June 7, July 5, Aug. 26, Sept. 19, Oct 10, 
Nov. 15, and Dec 2L /mm: O'Toole's, Moriarty's, and 
Rudd's. 



No. 208. From Dublin to YOUGHALL. First Road. 

By Carlow and Aglish. 

Dublin CasUe to Jflfcfc Dublin CasGi to Jfflw. 

Clmine]* a*altf&,»7 m You«ball .Id 

Aguah ...» - Wi 

AGLISH is a decayed Tillage of Waterford, with a for- 
tress of very curious construction. J t is a quadrangular 
area, with four towers at the angles, connected by a curtain, 
in which are numerous loop-holes. The great gate was 
formerly fitted with a portcullis ; the large enclosure does 
not appear to have been built on, and the only apartments 
were in the angular towers. It is supposed to have been 
erected by John, Lord of Ireland, in the reign of his 
brother, Richard I. Aglteh abbey is a ruin, one mile dis- 
tant. Pop. 302. 

YOUGHALL is a sea-port, borough, and corporate 
town of Cork, seated at the base of a hi] J in YoughajJ Bay, 
at the mouth of the Black water, over which is a long wooden 
bridge- The entire course of this river, from Mallow to 
the sea, is beautiful. The bar off the harbour impedes the 
navigation, but the harbour itself is commodious, and 
affords deep anchorage. The interests of commerce are 
also promoted by quays, piers, and a custom house; 
Youghall is governed by a mayor, and returns a member 
to parliament- It consists chiefly of one street, about a 
mile in length, divided into two parts, called North and 



No. 208. DUBLIN TO YOUGHALL. 469 

South Main Streets, by the clock house, in which is the 
gaol. There is a handsome assembly room. The church 
is a venerable Cfothic structure, partly going to decay ; its 
nave is 132 feet long, and 66 broad, and on each side of it 
are six Gothic windows. The south transept is occupied 
as the vault of the Earl of Cork, and is adorned with a 
splendid monument, exhibiting in its inscriptions a com- 
plete history of the earl's family. In the churchyard are 
some very ancient and curious tombs. Youghall also pos- 
sesses a church, a Roman Catholic chapel, a convent, seve- 
ral meeting houses, a dispensary and barracks, and savings' 
bank, a free school, and an infirmary. The principal trade 
of the town is in corn and provisions, and it has manufac- 
tories of earthenware. The potatoe is said to have been 
first planted here, on its introduction by Sir W. Raleigh, 
who resided in a house still standing near the church, now 
called Myrtle Grove, and occupied by Colonel Fount, 
who is very obliging in showing it to strangers. The in- 
terior is of oak, and exhibits very fine specimens of ancient 
carving. 

The Earl of Desmond captured Youghall in 1570, and 
hanged the mayor; but the fortunes of his house soon 
after fell into utter ruin, and the Earl himself, with his 
general, Sir John Desmond, were compelled to seek refuge 
is. caves till the sword closed their lives and the war in the 
south of Ireland. Cromwell embarked at Youghall after 
his gallant achievements in this harassed kingdom. On 
the coast, four miles from Youghall, is the village of 
Ardmore, which has a perfect round tower, about 90 feet 
high. 

Pop, 9608. Fairs : Acension day, and Oct 18. Market 
days : Wednesday and Saturday. Inn : The Devonshire 
Arms. 



470 



CROSS-ROADS. 



Miles. 

ADAIR to ASKEATON 8J 

ANTRIM to 

Doagh 6 

BALLYCLARE.. 1\ 

ARDEE to 

. Dundalk lOJ 

CARLINGFORD 21f 

ARDEE to 

Kingscourt 10 

Muff 12J 

Bailieborough .... 15| 

Stradone 26 

CAVAN 30* 

ARKLOW to 

Ballyarfhur 3} 

Newbridge 4$ 

Kingston 6§ 

Rathdrum 8| 

6LENDALOUGH 13* 

ARMAGH to 

Hamilton's Bawn . . 3| 

Tanderagee 8§ 

GILFORD 11 

ARMAGH to 

Richhill 4 

Tanderagee 9 

GILFORD 11 J 

ARMAGH to 

Hamilton's Bawn . . 3$ 

Scarra .......... 10| 

Richhill 13* 

PORTADOWN .. 18| 



Mile*. 
ARMAGH to 

Hamilton's Bawn . • 3| 

Clare w.. 7| 

Scarva 10| 

Loughbrickland . . 12 j 

RATHFRILAND 19| 
ATHBOY to 

Mead Town 4 

Navan 9f 

Slane 15| 

DROGHEDA.... 22 J 
ATHBOY to 

Rathmore 2} 

Allen's Town 4 

Ardbraccan 7 

NAVAN 9 

ATHENRY to 

Monivae 4} 

TUAM 154 

ATHLONE to 

Baltimore 11| 

Racondra 17 

Mullingar 23 

Castletown Delvin . . 83 \ 

Athboy 40| 

Navan 50 J 

DROGHEDA (by 
Slane and N. side 

of the Boyne) .... 63 
ATHY to 

Kilberry Ruins .... 3 
MONASTEREVEN 9 



CROSS-ROADS. 



471 



Miles. 

ATHYto 

Stradbally 6} 

Maryborough .... 12£ 

Killeigh.... 26 

TULLAMOORE.. 30| 

AUGHER to 

Augbnacloy 5 J 

BALLYGAWLEY 10J 

AUGHNAqLOY to 

Carnteel If 

Castle Caulfield.... 7 

DUNGANNON . . 9* 

BAILIE BOROUGH to 

COOTEHILL.... 9| 

BALL, to SWINE- 
FORD 11| 

BALLAGHY(Mayo)to 

Tubercurry 5f 

Balcarra. 13$ 

COLOONEY .... 17 

BALLINA to 

Esky Bridge 13 

BALLISODARE 30 

BALLINAHINCH to 

Lisburn 7| 

HILLSBO- 
ROUGH 14f 

BALLINANAGHT to 

CAVAN .* 4J 

BALLINASLOE to 

Ahascragh 6} 

Ballynamore 11£ 

Ballinasloe to 

Kilkerrin 20* 

DUNMORE 28J 

BALLINKOBE to 

Ball 12 

Swineford 23$ 

Ballaghy 28| 

Tubercurry 34| 

SLIGO 51 



Miles. 

BALLYBOFEY to 

Killyock Church .. 5i 

Fin Town 12J 

SHALTAGAN 

BRIDGE 17 

BALLYCASTLE to 

Moss-Side 6 

Dervock 9| 

Coleraine 16j 

Newtown Limavady 26 1 

Ballykelly 2* 

Muff * 34 

LONDONDERRY 39} 

BALLYCLARE to 

Broughshane 10 

CLOUGH 15 

BALLYCONNEL to 

Callahill 4 

Cross Roads 10 

ENNISKILLEN 15 

BALLYGAWLEY to 

Castle-Caulfield .. 7 L 

DUNGANNON .. 9J 

BALLYMAHON to 
EDGEWORTH'S 

TOWN 9| 

BALLYMENA to 

Ballymoney 14$ 

Coleraine 2U| 

Newtown Lima- 
vady 31 

LONDONDERRY 43* 

BALLYMONEY to 

BALLYCASTLE 12 

BALLYMONEY to - 

Newtown Limavady lfi£ 

Dervock 21 J 

BUSHMILLS.... 27 J 

BALLYNAMORE to 

MounUTalbot .... 4 

Athleague 6| 



472 



CROSS-ROADS, 



Miles. 

Ballynamore to 

ROSCOMMON .. 10* 

BAN AGHER to 

Eyrecourt 5 

LOUGHREA .... 21* 

BANBRIDGE to 

Tanderagee 5 J 

Hamilton's Bawn.. 101 

ARMAGH 14 

BANDON to 

MACROOM 121 

BELFAST to 

ANTRIM 12 

BELFAST to 

Ballymena ........ 21 

Clough 27 

Clough Mills 29 

Ballymoney 35 1 

COLERAINE.... 41| 

BELFAST to 

Comber 6£ 

KILLYLEIGH .. 16 

BELLAGHY (Deny) to 

Kilrea 8 

Ahoghill, crossing 

the New Ferry . . 14 

MAGHERA 19| 

BELLEEK to 

PETTIGOE 9| 

BIRR to 

Roscrea 9\ 

Clonakinny ...... 14| 

Templemore 19| 

Thurles 27 J 

KILLYNAULE.. 36| 

BIRR to 

Portumna 1 If 

Tynagh 18| 

LOUGHREA .... 26 

BLACK BULL to 

KILCOCK 9I 1 



Miles. 

BLACK BULL to 

Ratoath * 

GARRISTOWN .. 7 J 

BLACK BULL to 

Ratoath 4 

KILMOON 7| 

BOYLE to 

Leitrim 8| 

Ballinamore ...... 18| 

Castle Carrigan. . . . 22f 

KILLESHAN- 

DRA 29J 

BOYLE to 

TUBERCURRY.. llf 

BROUGHSHANE to 

GLENARM 9 J 

BRUFF to 

NEWPORT 16| 

BURROS-IN-OSSORYto 

Aghaboe 4 J 

Durrow 10$ 

KILKENNY .... 24 

BUSHMILLS to 

Ballintoy 6 J 

BALLYCASTLE 10| 

CAHIR-MORRIS to 

Headford 4 

The Neale 12 

BALLINROBE .. l& 

CALEDON to 

Dungannon 9| 

AUGHNACLOY 15 

CARBERRY to 

KINNEGAD .... 7| 

CARLINGFORD to 

Newry 9| 

Market HiU 17 

ARMAGH 21 J 

CARLOW to 

Grange- Mellon. . . . 6 J 



CROSS-ROADS. 



473 



Miles. 

Carlow to 

Ardrie 8 

ATHY 9 

CARLOW to 

Bagnell's Arms 2 

Fenough Church . . 6 

Myshall 8 

NEWTOWN BARRY 12 

CARNMONEY to 

Straid 4$ 

Ballyclare 8| 

Doagh 12| 

KELLS 20* 

CASH to 

Derg Bridge 11 \ 

STRABANE .... 17* 

CASHEL to 

Killynaule 8* 

CALLAN 18| 

CASHEL to 

FETHARD 8 

CASHEL to 

KILLYNAULE.. 8* 

CASHEL to 

Holy Cross 7* 

Borris-o-leigh .... 14| 

NENAGH 25* 

CASTLEBAR to 

Crossmolina .... 15 

BALL1NA 21 J 

CASTLEBAR to 

Ballinrobe 14 

Headford 25 

Cahir Morris 29 

GALWAY 391 

CASTLEBAR to 

Partree « . 9 

Ballinrobe 14 

Kilmain 18 

Shrule 21| 



Miles, 

CASTLEBAR to •• 

Cahir Morris 28 

GALWAY 38| 

CASTLEBAR to 

Ballyvary 5| 

SWINEFORD.... 181 

CASTLEBLAYNEY to 

BALLYBAY .... 5* 

CASTLEMA1N to 

DINGLE 19| 

CASTLEPOLLARD to 

GRANARD 9 

CASTLEREA to 

Loughglin 5 

BALLAGHY .... 17 J 

CASTLEREA to 

FRENCHPARK.. 7 

CAVAN to 

Stradone 4* 

Bailieborough .... 14$~ 

Muff 18* 

Kingscourt 20* 

Drumcondra 2&\^ 

COLLON 34* 

CAVAN to 

Ballyhays 3* 

COOTEHILL . . . . 12* 

CAVAN to 

Ballyhays ?** 

Scots House 10 

Clones . 13| 

Smithsboroujrh * . . . 18 

MONAGHAN .... 23 

CAVAN to 

Ballinanaght 4 J 

Finea 13i" 

Castle-Pollard .... 20* 

Mullingar Sl£' 

Tyrell's. Pass. '...'.. &9\ 

PHILIPSTOWN 46* 

S 8 3 



474 



CROSS-ROADS. 



Miles. 
CAVAN to 

Crossdoney 4} 

Killyshandra 9\ 

SWANLINBAR.. 22| 
CHARLEVILLE to 

Ballingarry 10 

RATHKEALE .. 14* 
CLANE to 

Donadea 4* 

Horsland 6* 

DLONCURRY.... 9| 
CLARE-GALWAY to 

Shrule 6* 

KILMAIN 10 

CLARE-GALWAY to 

Tuam 10* 

CAHIR-MORRIS 16 
CLOUGH to 

Seaford 1 

BALLINAHINCH 6| 
CLOGHEEN to 

Cappoquin 10| 

DUNGARVAN .. 20* 
CLOGHER to 

Five-Mile Town . . 5 

Coltrain Church . . 8 
Brooksborough .... 10 
MAGUIRE'S 

BRIDGE 12 

CLOGHER to 

Five-Mile Town .. 5 

Coltrain Church . . 8 

Brooksborough . . 10 

Donough 16 

NEWTOWN 

BUTLER 184 

CLOGHER to 

OMAGH 11| 

CLOGHNAKILTY to 

DUNMANWAY.. 11J 



MiUi. 
CLONARD BRIDGE to 

Carberry 5 \ 

EDENDERRY .. 11* 
CLONEGAL to 

Carnew 6 

GOREY 14| 

CLONES to 

DONOUGH 6* 

CLONMEL to 

Ardfinane 6* 

CLOGHEEN .... 11* 
CLONMEL to 

Cashel 11 J 

Holy Cross 18* 

Borris-o-leigh .... 26 

Nenagh 36f 

BIRR 53* 

CLONMEL to 

Cahir 8* 

Tipperary 20 J 

Pallas 29| 

Cahirconlish 35* 

LIMERICK 42J 

CLOYNE to 

MIDDLETON .. 3J 
COLEHILL to 

LONGFORD .... 8| 
COLERAINE to 
NEWTOWN-LI- 

MAVADY .... 10J 
COLLON to 

DUNLEER 5 

COLLON to 

Drumcondra 8} 

KING'S-COURT 14* 
COLOONEY to 

Ballintogher 4* 

DROMAHAIR .. 7j 
COOKSTOWN to 
FREDERICKS- 
TOWN 11J 



CtlOSS-ftOADS. 



475 



Miles. 

COOfcSTOWN to 

Pomeroy 8 

Nine- Mile House.. 11$ 

Six- Mile Cross 14f 

Clogharney Church 17 

OMAGH 22 

COOTEHILL to 

Ballybay 8 

Rockcorry 13 

MONAGHAN.... 20* 

CORK to 

Middleton 11 1 

CLOYNE 154 

CORK to 

Douglas 1| 

Passage-east 5| 

COVE 7| 

CORK to 

Whitechurch 5\ 

Bally namona .... 12| 

Mallow 15$ 

DONERAILE.... 21 

CORK to 

Mallow 15* 

DONERAILE.... 21 

CORK to 

Whitechurch 5\ 

Bally namona 12 j 

Mallow 15* 

Buttevant 21 

Rathclare Inn .... 22 

Velvet's Town .... 23 

Charleville 284 

Kilmallock 33 

Bruff 37| 

Six- Mile Bridge .. 41 J 

Ballyneety 44| 

Borheen 47 i 

LIMERICK 49* 



Miles. 

CORK to 

Mill-Street 221 

Shane's Inn 26£ 

Castle Island 40 

TRALEE 48| 

CROSSDONEY to 

CAVAN 4* 

CROSS ROADS to 

ENNISKILLEN 9| 

DERVOCK to 

BALLYCASTLE &4 

DERVOCK to 

COLERA1NE .... 7* 

DESARTMARTIN to 

Mourne 13| 

NEWTOWN- 
STEWART.... 51J 

DONAGHMORE to 

Six- Mile Cross 12 

Omagh 19| 

Newtown- Stewart. . 26 J 

STRABANE .... 33| 

DONEGAL to 

Townavilly 3{ 

Ballybofey 12* 

Castlefin 18| 

Lifford 23 1 

STRABANE .... 244 

DOWNPATRICK to 

Ballinahinch* 7| 

Lisburn 15| 

Stoneyford 20 

ANTRIM 80 

DROGHEDA to 

CLOGHER-HEAD 6 
DROGHEDA to 

Collon 5| 

Ardee 11 

MILL OF 

LOUTH 16 



4* ! 



CROSS-ROADS. 



Miles. 

DROGHEDAtoSLANE 
On the north side 

of the Boyne.... Gf 
On the south side 

of the river •... 7£ 

DROMORE to 

CASTLEWELLAN 11 J 

DROMAHAIRto 

Manor- Hamilton * * 4§ 

Garrison ,...,,.* 12 

SLIGO 2]| 

DRUMKEERN to 

LARGY Ui 

DUN DAL K tu CAR- 

RICKMACROSS I6J 

DUNDALKto 

Ardee 10$ 

Carlanstown ., 22 J 

Kells 24^ 

Crossakeel, 29 J 

Maypole , Z7± 

MULUNGAR .. 4G 

DUNGANNON to 

Aughhadoy ...... 9£ 

BALLYGAWLEY 19 

BUN GANNON to 

EgHsh 3 

Dvon .*,* , . 7 

CALEDON n 

DUNGARVAN to 

Youghall 11| 

Kilkagh 17| 

Castle- Martyr- 20 

MiJdleton 25 

CORK ..... atij 

DUNG1VEN to 

Antrim . t . .. 28| 

BELFAST 40J 

DUNGTVEN to 

Maghera ., ., , ( .. 10 



DUNQiVEN tO 

Bellaghy ... 13* 

Randalstown 24 

Antrim , . . 2&4 

CARRICKFERGUS 43| 

DUNLAVIN to 

Rathsallagh , 2 

Griffinstown ...... 3 

Rathhrand 4 

Saunders ville 5 

Greenville ........ 7 

Hume wood ...... 9 

Highpark ........ 11 

HACKETSTOWN 13 

DUNLEERto 

Ardee .......... I 

Clonkeen 9 

CARR1CKMAC- 

ROSS 15* 

DUNLEERto 

Braganstown , , . . 5 

Tallanstown ...... 8| 

MILL OF LOUTH 10 

DUNMORE to 

Ballymoe 10| 

BALLINLOUGH 19 

DURROW to 
BURROS- 1 N- 

OSSORY , ]0J 

DURROW to 

Rathdowney 7 \ 

ROSCREA ...... 19 

EDGEWORTHS 
TOWN to 

Granard ..<*.,.. 8 

Ballinanagbt .. .. 17$ 

CAVAN 21 

EDGE WORTH'S 
TOWN to 

FIRMOUNT,,.. 3 



CROSS-ROADS. 



477 



Miles. 

ENNIS to 

Curofin 7| 

KILFENORA.... 14 

ENNIS to 

Clare 2 

Ardsallas 64 

SIX-MILE-BRIDGE 11| 

ENN1SCORTHY to 

BORRIS 14| 

ENNISCORTHY to 

Wexford ..' 11* 

ENNISCORTHY to 
NEWTOWN BARRY 9| 

ENNISKILLEN to 

Ballycashedy 3| 

Lisnarick 8£ 

Kish Hi 

Pettigoe 15J 

BELLEEKTOWN 254 

ENNISKILLEN to 

Ballymallart Church 5\ 

Trillick 9 

Drummore Church 124 

OMAGH 20 

ENNISKILLEN to 

Tempo 6 

Trillick 15 

Omagh 26 

Newtown-Stewart.. 33 

STRABANE .... 40J 

ENNISTlMONto 

KILFENORA.... 44 

FERBANE to 

Ballinahown 44 

ATHLONE 10 

FERMOYto 
CASTLETOWN 

ROCHE 74 

FETHARD to 

Cloneen 34 



Miles. 

Fethard to 

Mullinahone 7} 

CALLAN 12| 

GALWAY to 

MONIVAE 13J 

GALWAY to 

Tuam 16 

DUNMORE .... 23| 

GLENARM to 

Cairnlough 2\ 

Cushendall 10 

BALLYCASTLE 21 

GORT to 

Oranmore 13 

CLARE-GAL- 
WAY 18J 

GRANARD to 

Firmount 5 

Edgeworth's Town 8 

BALLYMAHON 17| 

GRANARD to 

Ballinanaght 9 \ 

CAVAN 13| 

GREY ABBEY to 

Newtown Ards .... 54 

BANGOR 8| 

HILLSBOROUGH to 

Moira 5 

Magheralin 64 

LURGAN 9 

HOLLYMOUNT to 

Ballindine 7| 

Ballinrobe 124 

BALL 21| 

INCHIGEELA to 

MACROOM 7 

KEADY to 

TYNAN 64 

KELLS (Antrim) to 

Ballynure 9| 

DOAGH 16| 



478 



CROSS-ROADS. 



Miles. 

KELLS (Meath) to 

Carlanstown 2\ 

ARDEE 14J 

KELLS (Meath) to 

SLANE li| 

KELLS (Meath) to 

OLD CASTLE .. 10 

KILBEGGAN to 

Ballymore 9 

• BALLYMAHON 14* 

KILBEGGAN to 

MULLINGAR .. 12 

KILDARE to 

Rathconnel 6 

,ATHY 11 

KILDARE to 

KILMEAGUE .. 6 

KtLFENORA to 

Ennistimon 6 

Caghryariff 12| 

Kilmurrybricken .. 16} 

Cpnlyclare 24* 

•KILRUSH 29| 

KILKENNY to 

, BALLYRAGGET 19* 

KILKENNY to 

Kells 6} 

Kilmagany 12 

CARRICK-ON- 

SUIR 19} 

KILKENNY to 

CASTLE COMER 9| 

KILKENNY to 

KNOCKTOPHER 9$ 

KILKENNY to 

Ballyfagget 9} 

Durrow 13$ 

Rathdowny 21 

Skirk 26 J 

ROSCREA 32* 



Miles. 

KILKENNY to 

Freshford 7* 

URLINGFORD.. 14 

KILKERRIN to 

BALLYMOE .... 10| 

KILLALA to 

CASTLELACKEN 6\ 

KILLARNEY to 

Milltown 8|r 

Castlemain 10|* 

Bracktown Inn. . . . 22$ 

DINGLE 30 

KILLARNEY to 

TRALEE 14 

KILLEIGH to 

Philips town 7| 

TULLAMOORE 11| 

KILLOUGH to 

Strangford 7| 

Grey Abbey 16 

Donaghadee 22 f 

BANGOR.. 27| 

KILLOUGH to 

Downpatrick 5 

Inch Church 7 

Everog Bridge .... 9| 

Saintfield 13J 

Newtown Breda .. 19| 

BELFAST 23 

KILLYLEIGH to 

BALLINAHINCH 8}' 

KILLYLEIGH to 

DOWNPATRICK 5 

KILLYNAULE to 

CASHEL 8* 

KILLYNAULE to 

! THURLES 9} 

KILLYBEGS to 

Ardara 8 



CftOSjS-ROADS. 



479 



Miles. 

KlLLYBEGS tO 

Enniskeel Church . . 1 2§ 

Shakaghan Bridge . 20 

Cloghanlea 28 J 

Gortahurk 451 

DUNFANAGHY. 52} 

KILMALLOCK to 

Bruff 4} 

Six-Mile Bridge . . 8} 

LIMERICK 16} 

KILREA to COLE- 

RAINE 11} 

KILRUSH to 

Kilraurray bricken . 13} 

ENNISTIMON ... 23| 

KING'S COURT to 

Bailiehorough .... 5f 

Stradone 15| 

CAVAN 20} 

KINSALE to 

Innishannon 6 

BANDON 9 

LANESBOROUGH to 

Killashee 4 

LONGFORD .... 8 

LARGY to ENNIS- 

KILLEN 51 

LEIGHLIN BRIDGE to 

Dunleckney 2 

Myshall... 7 

Cross Roads 9 

NEWTOWN 

BARRY. 11 

LEITRIM to 

Ballynamore 10} 

Castle Carrigan .... 14} 
KILLESHANDRA 21} 

LEIXLIPto 

Dunboyne 5 

£ LACK BULL.... 6} 



Miles. 
LIMERICK to 

Pallas 12} 

Tipperary 21 J 

Thomastown 26 

Golden ;; 27* 

CASHEL 30| 

LIMERICK to 

Six- Mile Bridge .. 8} 

Spancell Hill 16* 

Crusheen 23 

Tubberindonny .... 26 1 

Gort 31 

Oranmore 44 

GALWAY 48| 

LIMERICK to 
O'BRIEN'S 

BRIDGE 8 

LIMERICK to KIL- 

LALOE 11 

LISBURN to 

Tynan 31 

Caledon 32} 

Creely 35 J 

AUGHNACLOY.. 38 
LISBURN to BAL- 

LINDERRY:.. 22} 
LISBURN to 

. Tynan . 31 

Glasslough 33} 

Monaghan 38 j 

Rockcorry 46} 

Cootehill 51 

Ballinacargy 58} 

BALLYHAYS ... 60 
LISBURN to 

Armagh'. 24} 

Killyleagh 29} 

Tynan .' : 31 

Middleton 33 

CASTLE-SHANE 87} 



4S0 



CROSS-ROADS. 



Miles. 

LTSBURN to 

Moira 6} 

Magheralin 8 

Lurgan 10} 

Portadown 15} 

Loughgall 201 

CHARLEMONT . 24* 

LISBURN to GLE- 

NAVY 73 

LISBURN to 

Moira 6} 

Magheralin 8 

Lurgan 10} 

Portadown 15} 

Richhill 20} 

Armagh 24} 

KEADY 30} 

LISMORE to 
WATERGRASS- 

HILL 13 

LONDONDERRY to 

CLADY 7} 

LONDONDERRY to 
Newtown Cunning- 
ham 7 

Manor Cunningham 11} 

Letterkenny 16 

Kilmacrenan 21 

Glen 27 

Ballymore Church . . 33 

DUNFANAGHY. 35} 

LONDONDERRY to 

Muff . . . . : 5} 

Ballykelly 10} 

Newtown Lima- 

vady 12| 

Coleraine 23 

Bush Mills , 29* 

Ballintoy 36 

Ballycastle 39} 

Cushendhall 50} 



Miles. 

Londonderry to 

Cairnlough 58} 

GLENARM 60| 

LONDONDERRY to 

White Castle 10} 

Red Castle 13} 

GREEN CASTLE 20} 

LONGFORD to GRA- 
NARD 12 

LOUGHREA to 
ATHENRY 9 

LOUGHREA to 

Woodford lOf 

Mount Shannon ... 19 

Killaloe 30} 

Newport 38 

BRUFF 54| 

LOUGHREA to ORAN- 
MORE 13} 

LURGAN to 

Moira 4 

LISBURN 10} 

LURGAN to 
Stewart' s-Town, 
crossing the Ferries 14} 

MACROOM to 

Millstreet 10 

CASTLE ISLAND 28} 

MACROOM to 

Carrigneneelogh. . . 4| 
INCHIGEELA... 7 

MACROOM to 

Knightsbridge .... 8} 
KENMARE 24* 

MAGHERA to DUN- 
GIVEN 10 

MAGHERAFELT to 
MAGHERA 6 

MALLOW to 

Buttevant 5} 



CROSS-ROADS. 



481 



Miles. 

Mallow to 

CHARLEVILLE . 12| 

MALLOW to 

Castle-roche 6§ 

Glanworth l\\ 

MITCHEL'S- 

TOWN 15* 

MALLOW to 

Glanton 4f 

Newbridge 7| 

MILL-STREET . . 17| 

MALLOW to 

Liscarrol 8| 

Drumcolloher 14| 

NEWCASTLE ... 22| 

MALLOW to 

Kanturk 8 

NEWMARKET.. 11| 

MANOR HAMILTON to 

Killargs Church ... 4J 

Droraahair 8 

Ballintogher 11J 

COLOON Y 16 

MANOR HAMILTON to 

SLIGO 10| 

MARYBOROUGH to 

Mountmellick 5\ 

Rosenallis 8| 

FRANKFORD... 20* 

MARYBOROUGH to 
PORTARLING- 

TON 9| 

MARYBOROUGH to 

Clonegowan 9 \ 

Geashill Castle 13 

PHILIPSTOWN . 17 

MAYNOOTH to 

Barberstown • Z\ 

Clane 6| 

NAAS 11 



Mile*. 

MAYPOLE to 

Cross Keys 3| 

Crossakeel 7| 

KELLS 12J 

MILL-STREET to 

Macroom 10 

Kilmory 15| 

BANDON 22J 

MOIRA to 

Hillsborough 5 

Ballinahinch 12 

KILLYLE1GH ... 20| 

MONAGHAN to 

Smithsborough .... 5 

Clones 9| 

Donough 16 

Lisnaskea 19 

Maguire's Bridge . . 21} 

Lisbellaw 24 

ENNISKILLEN . 28 

MONAVER to 

KILLYNAULE.. 6| 

MOUNT TALBOT to 

Ballinamore 4 

AHASCRAGH... 9 

MULLINGAR to 

Racondra 6 

Ballymore Uf 

ATHLONE 23 

MULLINGAR to CAS- 

TLEPOLLARD . . 10| 

MULLINGAR to 

Pass-if-you-Can ... 2| 

Maypole 8f 

Crossakeel 16 J 

KELLS 21 J 

MULLINGAR to 

Clonlost 6} 

TRIM 21| 

MYLOUGH to 

Newtown- Bellew .. 4 

T 



483 



CROSS-ROADS. 



Miles. 

Mylouoh to 

KILKERRIN.... 7| 

NAAS toCARBERRY Hi 

NAAS to 

Clane 4} 

KILCOCK Hi 

NAAS to 

Newbridge Inn. ... 5 

Kildare $ 

Rathangan 13 

Clonbullock 16f 

Edenderry 21 1 

PHILIPSTQWN . 27} 

NAVAN to 

$Iane 6 

DROGHEDA.... 12f 

NAVAN to* 

Carlanstown 8| 

MOYNALTY.... 11} 

NAULEto 

DROGHEBA.... $ 

NENAGH to 

Borris-a-Kane .... 8 

PORTUMNA.... m 

NENAGH to 

Borris-o- Leigh .... 10| 

THURLES l$f 

NEWCASTLE to 

Castleweirah 3 

DROMORE 144 

NEWPORT to KXL- 

LALOE 7| 

NEW ROSS to EN- 

NISCORTHY.... 15 

NEW ROSS to 

FOOKSMILL.... 8} 

NEW ROSS to 

INNISTIOGTJE.. <tt 

NEW ROSS to 

Old Rosa.... 4* 

TAGHMON 12| 



Milt*. 

NEWRY to 

Market Hill 9 

ARMAGH 14f 

NEWRY to 

Qallymre Church.. 7} 
Newtown- Hamilton § 

Castleblayney 17 

BALLYBAY .... 22* 
NEWRY to 

BelleekTown .... $} 
NEWTOWN- 
HAMILTON .. 8} 
NEWTOWIJ-LJMA- 
VADY to 

Aghadoey 9f 

Cross Ferry .... 13 
BALLYMQNEY 15} 
NEWTOWN-MMA- 
VADYto 

Garvagh 10} 

Desart Church . . 12} 

K^REA 15} 

NEWTOWN-UMA- 
VADY to 

BailyfceHy 2| 

Muff 7| 

LONDO.NftBR&Y 12* 
NEWTOWN-LIMA- 
VADY to 

Garvagh 10} 

NEW FERRY . 21 
NEWTOWN-STEW- 
ART to 

Gortin 5 

Downgate Rock . M} 
COOKSTOWN . »i 
O'BRIEN'S BRIDGE to ' 
NENAGtt M| 



C&OSS-ROADS. 



48S' 



Miles. 

OMAGH to 

Clogharny Church 5 

Six-Mile Cross.... 7| 

Nine-Mile House.. 10 J 

Pomeroy 14 

Donaghmore 1$| 

DUNGANNON .. 22 

OMAGH to 

Fintona 7 

Tempo 14 

ENNISKILLEN 20 

OMAGH to 

Clogharny Church ' 5 

Six- Mile Cross.... 7 J 

Nine-Mile House 10 J 

Pomeroy 14 

Sandholes 19 

Dunaghy 20| 

STEWARTS- 
TOWN........ 22* 

PAfcTREE to 

CASTLEBAR.... 9 

PttlLIPSTOWN to 

Geashill Castle 4 

CLONEGOWAN 7* 

PttlLIPSTOWN to 

tflLBEGGAN.... 85* 

PHILIPSTOWN to 

Clonard Church .. 15 J 

Stoneyford 17 J 

TRIM 251 

PbMEROY to 

Cook's Town .... 8 
STEWART'S 

TOWN 16J 

POftTADOWN to 

LURGAN' ....... 5 l 

PbRTAFERRY to 

Baflyhdlbert 6 

Ballywalter ..♦,.. 9 

DONAGHADEE 13} 



_, . Miles. 

PORTAF&RRY to 

Qrey Abbey ...... 8| 

NEWTOWN- 

ARDES ...... 14 

PORTA RLINGTON to 

MARYBOROUGH 10 
PORTGLENONE to 

(GARVAGH 10 

PORTGLEN6NE to 
! Tamlagh Church 

Garvagh 

NEWTOWN-LI- 
MAVADX 
PORTUMNA to 

Ballinagar. . . . 

Derrybrian . . 

GORT 

RANDAL'S-TOWN 
', Toome Bridge 

MAGHERA 
RANDAL'S-TOWN to 

PORTGLENONE 9 
RASHARKAN to 

New Ferry 4 

COLERAINE.... 10J 
RATHFRILAND to 

BANBRIDGE .. 
RATHFRILAND to 

DROMORE .... 
RATHFRILAND to 
LOUGHBRICKLAND 7 
RATHKEALE to 

Ballingarry ...... 4} 

CHARLEVILLE 15 
ROSCOMMON to 

Athleague 4| 

Mount Talbot .... 7 

Balliriamore 11 

Abascragh. 1$ 

BALL1NASLOE 22| 



H 
10f 

2u| 

m 

22 
1** 



71 
10} : 



484 



CROSS-ROADS. 



Miles. 

ROSCOMMON to 

Tulsk 9 

Tuniquin 11 

Elphin 14| 

CARRICK-ON- 

SHANNON.... 22 

ROSCOMMON to 

Cloverhill 3 

Ballintobber 9} 

CASTLEREA.... 18} 

ROSCREA to 

Leap 4| 

BIRR 10} 

ROSENALL1S to 

KILLEIGH .... 5} 

ROSSTREVOR to 

Kilkeel 7} 

Annalong 1 1 1 

Newcastle 17| 

DUN DRUM .... 20| 

ROSSTREVOR to 

Dromore ........ 19 

LURGAN 25| 

ROSSTREVOR to 

Clanduff Church .. 5} 

Rathfriland 8 

Dromore 19 

MOIRA 24 

SAINTFIELD to 

L1SBURN 7} 

SHANNON-BRIDGE 

to BALL1NASLOE 6} 

SHILELAGH to 

TULLOW 7| 

SILVERMINES to 

NENAGH 7 

SK ERR IFF to 

Mountshannon .... 4 

Woodford 12} 

LOUGHREA .... 23 

SKREEN to NAVAN 6} 



Miles. 

SLANE to 

Collon 4} 

ARDEE 13| 

SLANE to KELLS 12 

SLANE to NAVAN 6 

SLIGO to 

Ballisodare 3f 

Strandhouse Inn . • 7$ 

Eaky Bridge 20} 

Grange Inn 21} 

Enniscrone Church 27 

BALLINA 35* 

SLIGO to 

Tobercorry 16$ 

Kilmatague ...... 23} 

Foxford 31} 

CASTLEBAR.... 42* 

SLIGO to 

Tubercurry 16} 

Swineford 27} 

CASTLEBAR.... 41} 

SLIGO to 

Half- Way House.. 11 

Ballyshann on .... 20} 

Ballintra 25} 

Townavilly 34} 

Ballybofey 43} 

Castlefin 49} 

LIFFORD 54} 

SLIGO to 

Ballybofey 48} 

Convoy 48} 

Raphoe 51 

St Johnstown .... 56} 

Carrigans 58} 

LONDONDERRY 62} 

STEWART'S TOWN to 

COOK'S TOWN.. 15} 

STEWART'S TOWN to 

Coagh 41 

MAGHERAFELT 11 



CltGSte-ROAbS. 



485' 



Miles. 

STRABANEto* 
Dunymanagh .... 6 
Donaghedy Church 7 
JCLADY 12f 

STRANORLAR to 

Convoy 5 

.RAPHOE.., Ill 

STRATFORD-UPON 
SLANEY to 
BALLYTORE.... 6 

STROKESTOWN to 
JAMESTOWN .. 8} 

STROKESTOWN to 
RUSKY BRIDGE 8| 

SUMMERHILL to 
TRIM 5 

TEMPLEPATRICK to 

Ballyclare 4} 

Ballynure 6| 

LARNE 13* 

THURLES to 

Cashel 12} 

CLONMEL 24 

THURLES to 

TEMPLEMORE.. 8 

TIPPERARY to 

CAHIR 12 

TIPPERARY to 

HOLY-CROSS .. 15* 

TIPPERARY to 

Pallas 9i 

Cahirconlish 15 

LIMERICK .... 21^ 

TIPPERARY to 

M1TCHELSTOWN 15f 

TRALEE to 

ARDFERT 4* 

TRIMtoKELLS .. 19* 

TRIM to MULLIN- 
GAR 21} 



Miles. , 

TRIM to NA VAN.. 7} 

TRIM to 

I Sfoneyford........ .. 8 

Clonard Bridge... . 11 

Edenderry 17} 

Clonbullock 22} 

PORTARLING- 

TON 30} 

TUAM to DUNMORE 7} 

TUAMto 

Clare 13f 

Ballaghy 27J 

Tubercurry 36 

Balcarra... 43| 

SLIGO 52| 

TULLAMOORE to 

Killeigh 4| 

Rosenallis 9f 

Mountmellick 12} 

MARYBOROUGH 18* 

TULLAMOORE to 

TYRELLSPASS 8 

TULLA toENNIS.. 9 

TULSK to 

Elphin 5| 

CARRICK 13 

TYNAN to 

Armagh 6} 

BLACKWATER- 

TOWN 13} 

TYRELLSPASS to 

MULLINGAR .. 8} 

WATERFORDtoCAR- 
RICK-ON-SUIR.. 

ByPortlaw 14} 

Or by Curraghraore 14} 

Or by Grany Ferry 13* 

WATERFORD to 

Drumcannon Church 4 

TRAMORE 6 

T T 3 



486 



CROSS-ROADS. 



Miles. 
WATERFORD to 

Kilmacthomas .... 11 1 

CAPPOQUIN.... 29J 
WESTPORT to 

NEWPORT 5* 

WEXFORD to 

Taghmon 7 

By Old Ross to 

NEW ROSS 19* 

WHITECASTLE to 

MALLIN 15 



Mxleu 

YOUGHALL to 

Carrigtoohill SJ 

Glanmire 7| 

CORK 11| 

YOUGHALL to 

Killeagh 5J 

Castle- Martyr .... 8$ 

Middleton IS 

CORK 2& 



APPENDIX. 



ASSIZES IN IRELAND. 



HOME CIRCUIT. 

County of Meath at Trim. 

County of Westmeath ... — Mullingar. 

King's County — Tullamoore. 

County of Carlow — Carlow. 

County of Ki.dare ... J-^^.— ' 



NORTH EAST. 

County of the Town of Drogheda at Drogheda. 

County of Louth — Dundalk. 

County of Monaghan .... — Monaghan. 

County of Armagh — Armagh. 

County of Antrim — Carrickfergus* 

County of the Town of Carrick-j __ Carrickfergug , 

County of Down — Downpatrick. 



488 



APPENDIX. 



NORTH WEST. 



County of Longford . 
County of Cavan . . 
County of Fermanagh 
County of Tyrone 
County of Donegal 



at Longford. 
— c-CavaYi. 

— Enniskillen. 

— Omagh. 

— Lifford. 



City and County of Londonderry' — Derry. 







LftlNStffift. 


County 


of Wicklow 


... at Wicklow. 


County 


of Wexford . 








— Wexford. 


County 


of Waterford 








-— Waterford. 


County 


of Kilkenny 








— Kilkenny. 


City of 


Kilkenny : 








— Kilkenny/' 


County 


of Tippewtry* 




. * . * ™" —* vylonnieT.* ■ 



CONNAUGHT. 

County of Roscommon ... at Roscommon. 
County of Leitrim .... — Carrick-on-Shannon. 

County of Sligo — Sligo. 

County of Mayo — Castlebar. 

County and Town of Galway — Galway. 



MUNSTER. 
County of Clare- . . -. . . at Ennis.^' 
County and City of Limerick — Limericfc^ 

County of Kerry — Tralee.'»'< 

County and City of Cork . . — . Cork. « 



APPENDIX. 



List of Towns in Ireland where Branch Bank* are- 
established. 



Armagh, Bank of Ireland and Provincial Bank. 

Athlone, Provincial Bank. 

Ballina, ditto. 

Ballymena, ditto. 

Banbridge, ditto. 

Bandon, Provincial and Agricultural Bank. 

Belfast, Bank of Ireland and Provincial. 

Carlow, ditto. 

Castlebar, Agricultural. 

Cavan, Provincial. 

Clonmel, Bank of Ireland and Provincial. 

Coleraine, Provincial. 

Cork, Bank of Ireland and Provincial. 

Cork, Agricultural. 

Deny, Bank of Ireland and Provincial. 

Down, Provincial. 

Drogheda, Bank of Ireland. 

Ennis, Agricultural. 

Enniscorthy, Agricultural. 

Enniskillen, Provincial. 

Galway, Bank of Ireland and Provincial. 

Kilkenny, Bank of Ireland and Provincial. 

Killarney, Agricultural. 

Limerick, Bank of Ireland, Provincial, and Agricultural. 

Longford, ditto. 

Lurgan, Provincial. 

Monaghan, ditto. 



499 



APPEND**. 



Nenagh, Agricultural. 

Newry, Bank of Ireland. 

New Rom, Agricultural. 

Omugh, Provincial. 

Parsonstown, ditto. 

Roscrea, Agricultural. 

Skibbereen, ditto. 

Sligo, Bank of Ireland and Provincial. 

Strabane, Agricultural. 

Tralee, Bank of Ireland and Provincial. 

Tuam, Agricultural. 

Waterford, Bank of Ireland and Provincial. 

Westport, Bank of Ireland. 

Wexford, Bank of Ireland and Provincial* 

Youghall, ditto, ditto. 



INDEX. 



A an mult Castle, 276 
Abbey, 146 
Abbeyfeale, 129 

, account of, 143 

^tyjeylei*, 437 

, ac, of t 437 

Abbey Leix (seat), 226 
Abbey Odorney, 129 

r- , ac. of, 144 

Abbey Throwry, 196 
Acbill, Islands of, 413 
Achonry, 354 
Adair, or Adare, 129 

-s , Oom, 470 

.-. , q* of, 142 

Adristan, 460 
Agavanagh barracks, 340 
Aghaboe, 226; Cross, 472 
Agbadoe (Kerry), 371 
Agbadoe (Cork), 223, 405 
Aghagower, -44-7 
Aghayanagh barracks, 340- 
Aghayillar, 277 
Aghrim, 390, 461, 464 
Aglish,4|6*; dfto/,W 
Agnew's Hijl, 3&7 
4hascn|g^ 415, 41$ 

, Qrw,Mh 4M, «* 

Ahoghill, Crw,, 47* 
AileachN<*id,.4ft3 



Aird Snout, 320 
Allen, 383 

Alien, Hill of, 133,383 
Allen's Town, Cross, 470 
All Saints abbey, 401 
Altadore, 452 
Amigan castle, 142 
Anagh, 387 
Anamoe, 343 
Ankettell's Grove, 393 
Anna, Lough, 212 
Annacotty, 137 
Annadorn, 161 
Annagassan, 119 
Annaghbrack, 303 
Annagh church, 252 
Annaloog, 233 ; Cross, 484 

, ac. of, 236 

Ann's Grove, 405 
Antrim, 113, 128, 165, 243f, 
324 

-, Cross, 470, 472>, 47*, 



476 6m 



.4U2* 



Arbela, 443 
Arbutus Island, 97*5 
Ardara, 263 ; CWur, 479 

, ac. of, 273' 

Ardbmoean, 265*; Onmr, 4Ttf 
Ardclinis> 386* 



492 



INDEX. 



Ardea castle, 348 

Ardee, 151, 222, 407 

— — , ac. of, 151 

, Cross, 470 bis, 475, 

476 bis, 478, 484 
Ardfert, 129, 145; Cross, 485 

, ac. of, 144 

Ardfinane, 174; Cross, 474* 

. , ac. of, 185 

Ardglass, castles of, 385 
Ardkarna church, 173, 425, 

428 
Ardkirk, 406 
Ardraore, 469 
Ardmullen castle, 306 
Ardnaree, 354 
Ardrie, Cross, 473 
Ardsalla, 264 
Ardsallas, 285, 386 

, Cross, 477 

, ac. of, 286 

Ardskull, 220 
Arklow, 148, 449, 465 

, Cross, 470 

, ac. of, 453 

Armagh, 148, 151, 153; Cross, 

470 bis, 472 bis, 479, 480, 

482, 485 

, ac. of, 148 

Armey, 165; ac. of, 167 
Arrow, Lough, 429 
Artane, 403 
Ashbourne, 153, 208 
-, tic. of 9 153 
Ashbrook, 400 
Ash Hill, 443 
Ash Island, 366 
Ashroe abbey, 271 
Askeaton, 145 ; Cross, 470 
, ac. of, 146 



Athassel abbey, 229 
Athboy, 432 ; Cross, 470 bis 

, ac. of, 434 

Athcarne castle, 263 
Athenry, 303 ; Cross, 470, 480 

, ac. of, 309 

Athgoe, 130 

Athleague, Cross, 472, 483 
Athlumny, 265 
Athlone, 155, 164, 303 

, Cross, 470, 477, 481 

-, ac. of, 307 

Athy, 162, 220, 349, 350, 

437 
, Cross, 470, 471, 478, 

478 

, ac. of, 220 

Avondale park, 464 
Aughadoey bridge, 239 

, Cross, 482 

, ac. of, 241 

Augher, 392; Cross, 471 

, ac. of, 894 

Aughnacloy, 155, 417 
, Cross, 471, 472, 

476, 479 

, ac. of, 417 

Aughrim, 287; ac. of, 289 
Bagnell's Arms, Cross, 473 
Bagnell's Town, 414, 446 
Baillieborough, 293 

, ac. of, 293 

t Cross, 470,471, 

473, 479 
Balbriggan, 155, 156 
— — -, ac. of, 155 
Balcarra, 857; Cross, 471, 485 

— , ac. of, 359 

Baldoyle, 345 ; ac. of, 346 
Baldungan castle, 155 



INDEX. 



493 



Baldwin?* Town, 197, 234, 

301 
Balinacor, 219 
Balintrae Bay, 318 
Ball, 355, 413 
— --, Cress, 471 bis, 477 

, ac. of, 356 

Ballaghaderin, 350 

, ac. of, 352 

Ballaghbuy mountain, 429 
Ballaghmore castle, 135 
Ballaghneed inn, 392 
Ballaghy (Mayo), 350, 852 
, Cross, 471 bis, 473, 

485 
Ballaghy (Sligo), 158 
Ballemoyer lodge, 409 
Ballengary, 145 
Baltimore, 160 ; Cross, 470 

, ac. of, 160 

Ballina, 350 

, Cross, 471, 473, 484 

, ac. of, 353 

Ballinabola castle, 276 
Ballinacargy, 438 ; Cross, 479 
Ballinafad (Sligo), 173, 425, 

436; ac. of, 429 
Ballinafad (Longford), 352 
Ballinafinchogue, 343 
BaUinagar, 290, 313 

-, Cross, 483 

, ac. of, 314 

Ballinahinch (Galway) 419, 

420 
Ballinahinch (Down), 161, 

415; Cross, 471, 474,475, 

478, 481 ; ac. of 161 
Ballinahown, Cross, 477 
Ballinakill (Galway), 419 



Ballinakill (Kilkenny), 226, 

227 
Ballinakill (Queen's county), 

162,350; ac.qf, 162 
Ballinalack, 424 ; ac. of, 425 
Ballinamana castle, 380 
Ballinamore, or Ballynamore, 

312 ; Cross, 472, 481, 483 ; 

ac. of 312 
Ballinanaght, 432, 434 
, Cross, 471, 473, 

476, 477 
Ballinasloe, 287, 303 
, Cross, 471, 483, 

484; ac. of, 308 
Ballinaspeg, 191 
Ballincollig, 377 ; ac. of, 377 
Ballindangin, 164; ac. of, 1§4 
Ballinderry, 128; Cross, 479 

, ac. of, 128 

Ballindine, 164; Cross, 477 
Ballindown abbey, 429 
Ballingarry, Cross, 474, 483 
Ballinlaw ferry, 446 
Ballinlough, 355, 413 
-, Cross, 476 



-, ac. of, 355 



Ballinlough (seat), 434 
Ballinrobe, 162, 164, 447 

-, Cross, 471, 472, 



473 bis, 477 ; ac. of, 163 
Ballinter, 264 
Ballintobber, Cross, 484 
Ballintobec abbey, 164 
Ballintogher, Cross, 474, 481 
Ballintoy, 324 ; Cross, 472, 480 

, ac. of, 329 

Ballintra, 165,263; Cross, 484 
, ac.qf, 271 



4ft4 



IND&K. 



BaJliatufeber, 447 
Ballisodare, 425, 436 

, CM*, 476, 484 

, ac. #/, 4&0 

Ballyaienan castle, 148 
Ballyarthur, 454; Cross, 470 
Ballybay, 407 

, Cross, 473, 475, 482 

, ac. of, 408 

Ballibeg castle, 228, 464 
Ballibofey, 165, 284 
, Cross, 471, 475, 

484 bit; ac. of, 285 
Ballybogan, 806 
Ballyboghill, 261 
Ballyboughbridge, 345 
Ballyboy, 212 
B&llybrittai, 133 
Ballyburris. See Bun-is 
Ballicanoe* 449 
Ballycarry, 324, 332 

« , ac. of, 334 

Ballkartby, 443 
Ballycashedy, Cross, 477 
Ballycastle, 165, 170, 324 
, Cross, 471 bis, 472, 

475,477,480; ac. of, 168 
Ballycheroge castle, 278 
Ballyclare, 159; Cross, 470, 

471,473,485; ac. of, 15fr 
Ballyconael, 4#6; C*w*,471 

, ac. of, 43* 

Ballycumber, 287 ; ac\ ef, $9& 
Ballycurry, 452 
Baity daird, 22^ 
BaHydore, 441 
Ballydrafey 209 
Baflidugan hetta*, ill 
Bally- Ec«u«voaalte> 3tfr 



BaHyelian casfle, 445 
Bally Ellen castle, 179 
Ballyfarnan, 357, 3fi?8 
Ballyfox, 175 
Ballifin house, 135 
Ballygawly, 417, 418 

, Cross, 471, 476 

, ac. if, 417 



Ballygelly promontory, 338 
Ballygriffin, 405 
Ballyhalbert, Cross, 488 
Ballyhale, 281 
Ballyhaunis, 355, 413 
-, ac. of, 855 



Ballyhays, Cross, 473 bis, 479 
Bally heigh Bay, 146 
Ballyhdlme Bay, 259 
Ballyhooly, 404; ac. if, 404 
Bally James Duff, 263 

-, ac. of, 267 



Bally keal castle, 145 
Ballykelly, Cross, 471, 480, 

482 
Ballyket, 387 

Ballylaghan, 350 ; ac. 6f, 353 
Ballylaghan castle, 179 
Ballyleidy house, 259 
Bailylongford, 145 ; ac. of, 147 
Ballymacarret, 207 
Ballvmacpatrick castle, 187 
Ballymahofi (Lohgfofd), 350, 

355; Cross, 471, 477, 478 
, ac. of, 3£f 



Ballymalony, 296, 298 
Baltymanlagft, 226; ac. of. 2tfl 
Btfllynfenus*, 4^4' 
Ballymasbanferi, 414*; at. of, 

414 
Ballyme^r^, 2M 



INDEX 



4«* 



Ballymena, 165, 170, 172 
Ballymena, Cross, 471, 472 

, ac. of, 166 

Ballymoat court, 146 
Ballymoe, Cross, 476, 478 
Ballynioney, 208, 243, 324 
, Cross, 471 bis, 

472,482; ac. of, 244 
Ballymore, Cross, 478, 481 
Ballymore church, 275 

, Cross, 480 

Ballymore Eustace, 459 
Ballymoreen, 226 ; ac. of, 228 
Ballymorn, 179 
Ballymote, 173; ac. of, 178 
Ballymullalon, 357, 358 
Ballymullart church,Crojf ,477 
Ballymulry, 351 
Ballymurry, 158, 423 

, ac. of, 158 

Ballymurtagh, 464 
Ballyna, 358 
Bally naganny, 432 
Ballynamona, Cross, 475 bis 
Ballynamore, 357 
, Cross, 471, 472, 

479 

, ac. of, 358 

Ballynamuck, 354 
Ballyneety, Cross, 475 
Ballynure, 160, 339 

_: , Cross, 477, 485 

Ballypatrick, 184 
Ballyporeen, 186, 379 
Ballyragget, 350 

, Cross 478 bU 

Ballyroan, 226, 440, 441 

, ac. of, 226 

Ballyaaggartmore castle, 250 



Ballyseedy, 443 

Ballyshannou, 263; Cross, 484- 

. — ,.oc of, 27.0 

Ballyshannon (seat), 175 
Ballyspellan, 227, 
Ballytore, 174; ac. of,. 175 

, Cross, 485 

Ballyleig Bay, 301 
Bally vacadane, 193 
Ballyvary, Cross, 473 
Ballyvelly cattle, 193. 
Bally vourney, 348, 378 
Ballywalter, Cross 9 483 
Ballywilliam, 255 
Ballywire, 409 ; Cross, 482 
Balruddery, 113, 155, 261 

, ac> of, 11£ 

Baltimore, 174 ; ac. of, 10ff* 
Baltinglass, 458 ; ac. of, 4$D, 
Bui tug castle, 415 
Balybeg, 464 
Balylin, 289 
Balynunnery, 460 
Banagher, 291, 313 

, Cross, 472. 

, ac. of, 315 

Banagher church, 399 ' 

1 ac.of 400 

Banbridge, 113, 172, 208 

, Cross, 472, 483 

, ac. of, 124 

Bandon, 174 

, Cross, 472* 479, 481 

-, ac. o/,193 



Bandon Bridge (Seat), 194m 
Bangan castle, 281 
Bangor, 259; Cross,, 477, 478 
-, at of, 259 



Bannow, 197; ac. of, 197 



496 



INDEX. 



Bantry, 198; ac. of 198 
Barber's Town castle, 382 

, Crow,481 

Barmeath, 118 
Bamtick, 386 
Baron's court, 394 
Baron's town, 438 
Barracks of Agavanagh, 340 
Barrastown, 197 
Barry, 438 

Barrymore Island, 193 
Bawnboy, 432 ; ac. of, 435 
Bauratty Castle, 141 
Bay lodge, 326 
Beal castle, 147 
Beannabeola, 419 
Bearhaven, 200 
Beaufort lodge, 406 
Bectire abbey, 433 
Bective castle, 266 
Beech-Hill, 400 
Beg lough, 158 
Beggar's inn, 227 
Belan, 176 

Belanagar, 350 ; ac, of 352 
Belcamp, 403 
Belfast, 200, 208 

, Cro«,472M*, 476, 478 

, ac, of 204 

Belfast Lough, 332 

Belgriffin, 403 

Bellaghy (Londonderry), 157 

, Cross, 472, 476 

, ac. of 158 

BellahHl, 334 
Bellamont forest, 294 
Belleek town, 263 

, Cross, 472, 477, 

482 ^ ac,of 270 



Belle Green, 24T 
Belleisle, 324 
Belleview, 452- 
Bellew, 263 
Belline, 278 
Bellisle, 268, 292 
Bellmont, 179 
Bellurgan hill, 121 
Belhirgan park, 414 
Belturbet, 291 ; ac. of, 297 
Belvidere, 113 
Belvoir, 415 

Benbradagh mountain, 400 
Ben Bulben, 432 
Benbvrb, 399 
Bengore Head, 322 
Benmore, 169 
Bennef s bridge, 276 
Bessborough, 278 
Bevrac mount 117 
Bianconi's Cars, 1 08 
Birr, or Parsonstown, 
422 423 

, Cross, 472 W*,474, 484 

, ac. of 213 

Birr Castle, 213 
Bishop's court, 130 
Black abbey, 258 
Blackbank, 148 ; ac. of, 148 
Black Bull Inn, 263, 432, 451 
— , Cross, 472 bis r 



212 r 



479 

Black castle, 264 
Black Hall castle, 175 
Black Lion, 406 
Black Mills, 303 
Blackrock (Cork), 192 
Blackrock (Dublin), 214, 215 r 

465; ac. </, 465 



INDEX- 



49* 



Black Stairs, 461 
Blackwaterfoot, 157 
Blackwater Island, 244 
Blackwater Town, 239, 276, . 

399 ; Crass, 485 

1 ac, qf 9 399 

Blane castle, 137 
Blarney castle, 192 
Blasques, 253 
Blennerville, 442 
Blessing ton,, 45 8; ac. of, 458, 
Bonamargey, abbey of, 169, 

328 
Booterstown, 465 
Borheen, Cross, 475 
Bonis, 299, 414, 446 

, Cross, 477 

,ac*of, 299 

Borris-a-Kane, 482 
Borris-o- Leigh, 215; ac. of, 

216; Cross, 473, 474,482 
Bonis castle, 179 
Bovaugh Bridge. 243 

, castle (ruin), 241 

, castle (seat), 243 

Boyle, 173, 425, 436 

, Cross, 472 bis 

, ac. of, 428 

Brackenstown, 261 
Bracktown, Inn, 252 

- , Cross,, 478 

Braeface, The, 240 
Braganstown, 405 ; Cross, 476 
Bray, 214, 416, 449, 465 

■ , ac. of, 450 

Bray Head, 451 
Breafy, 356 
Bremore castle, 155 . 
Bridgetown (Clare). 296, 392 
Bridgetown (Wexford), 235 



Bridgetown abbey*, 404v 
Brigowne»<379 
Brittas, 303 
Broadford, 296, 298 i 
Brockley Park, 437 
Broghill castle, 212 
Brook-hall, 398 
Brooksborough, 474 bis 
Broomfield, 459 
Broughshane, 232-, 

, Cross, 471, 472 

-, ac. of,S 



Brosna (river), 288 . 

Brown Hall, 271 

Brown Island, 363 

Brown Hill, 179 

Bruce' s castle, 331 

Bruff,CroM, 472, 475, 473,480 

Bryan's Ford, 385:; ac. of Ti Z%& - 

Buck House Inn, 438 . 

Bull, Cow, and Calf, 200. 

Bullock, 215; oc.o/,215 

Bull Point, 331 

Buly, 829 

Buncraggy, 386 

Bungan, or Bangan ca*tl« > 

(ruins), 281 
Bunratty castle, 285 
Burnham house, 252 . 

, castle, 252 

Burnt Island, 365 . 
Burren, 287 
Burriscarra, 447 
Burros-in-Ossory, 129 j 

,0<w* r 472, . 



476 



Burton hall, 177 
Bushbank, 172 . 
Bush mills, 317; 324 
u u 3 



-i <7C«^/" M 1S5^. 



408 



INDEX. 



Bush mills, Cross, 472 bis, 480 

, ac. of, 318 

Bushy park, 340 

Butler's Bridge, 263, 268, 

291 
Buttevant, 380 

, Cross, 475, 480 

Cabinteely, 214, 466 
Cabragh, 411 
Cabragh castle, 246 
Caghryariff, 387 ; Cross, 478 

, ac. of, 387 

Caherdriny, 879 

Cahir, 247 ; Cross, 474, 485 

, ac. of, 247 

Cahirconlish, Cross, 474, 485 
Cahir- Morris, Cross, 472, 473 

bis, 474 
Cahvicou, 141 
Cairnane, 368 
Cairnanie, 172 
Cairn an Truagh, 329 
Cairncastle, 324, 332, 339 

, ac. of, 338 

CairnhUl, 246 
Cairn Tierna, 188 
Caledon, 155, 216 

, Cross, 472, 476, 479 

■ , ac. of, 216 

Caledon house, 217 
Callaghan's mills, 296 
Callahill, 291, 436 ; Cross, 471 
Callan mountain, 287 
Callan, 174 ; Cross, 473, 477 

, ac. of, 183 

Caltragh, 312, 415 
Calverstown, 175 
Camolin, 455 
Camphier house, 249 



Camus, 394 
Cancora, 298 
Cangor castle, 21«f 
Canna Island, 386 
Caolin (Lough), 170* 
Cape Clear, 196 
Cappo, 146 
Cappoge Hill, 306 
Cappoquin, 248, 298, 405 

, Cross, 474, 486 

-, ac. of, 248 



Carberry, 313; Cross, 472, 

474, 482 
Carigacushen, 412 
Carigrohan castle, 193 
Carlanstown, Cross, 476, 478, 

482 
Carlingford, 217, 414 

, Cross, 470, 472 

, ac. of, 217 

Carlow, 174, 218 

, Cross, 473 bis 

, ac. of, 177 

Carncastle church. See 

Cairncastle 
Carnew, 219 ; Cross, 474 

, ac. of, 219 

Carnlough, 324 

, Cross, 477, 480 



-, ac. of, 325 



Carnmoney, 159, 170, 339 

, Cross, 473 

, ac. of, 170 



Carnock Vale, 284 
Carnteel, Cross, 471 
Carra (Lough), 359 
Carran Tual, 372 
Carrickabrick castle, 187 
Carrick a Rede, 331 



INDEX. 



499 



Carrick castle, 457 
Carrickduff, 461 
Carrickfergus, 324, 332 

, Cross, 476 

, ac. of, 333 

Carrickfergus Bay, 332 
Carrickmacross, 153, 222, 

407; Cross. 476 bis 

, ac. of, 407 

Carrick on Shannon, 219, 

425 ; Cross, 484, 485 

, ac. of, 427 

Carrick-on-Suir, 219, 220, 276 

, Cross, 478, 485 

, ac. of, 277 

Carrigadrohid, 378 
Carrigafouky, 878 
Carriganoura, 379 
Carrigans, 392, 396 

, Cross, 484 

Carrigfoile castle, 147 
Carrigmurphy, 326 
Carrignaconny, 404 
Carrigneneelogh, Cross, 480 
Carrig-o-Guncel Castle, 141 
Carrigtoohill, Cross, 486 
Carton, 304 
Cash, or Kish, 347 

, Cross, 473, 477 

Cashell, 221, 226; ac. of, 228 
, Cross, 473 bis, 474, 

478, 479, 485 
Castlebar, 355, 357, 413 
, Cross 473 bU, 483, 

484 bis; ac. of, 356 
Castle Bellew, 358 
Castle Bellingham, 113 

■« , ac. of, 118 

Castle Bernard, 194 



Castle Blakeney, 312 
Castleblayney, 151, 222, 406 
-, Cross, 473, 482 



— , ac. of, 152 



Castle Blunden, 183 

Castle Browne, 382 

Castle Caldwell, 270 

Castle Carey, 326 

Castle Carra, 328 

Castle Carrigan, Cross, 472, 

479 
Castle Caulfield, 418 

, Cross, 471 bis 

-, ac. of, 4ia 



Castle Chichester, 336 
Castle Comer, 220, 349; 
-, Cross, 478 
, ac. of, 220 



Castle Connell, 137, 392 

Castle Connough, 251 

Castlecoole, 268 

Castle Coonagh, 249 

Castle Cor, 351 

Castle Cuffe, 303 

Castle Dawson, 157 ; ac. of, 157 

Castlederraot, 174; ac. of, 176 

Castle Dillon, 409 

Castle Dobbs, 334 

Castle Durrow, 227 

Castle Eglish, 213 

Castle Ellis, 455 

Castlefin, 284; Cross, 475, 484 

, ac. of 284 

Castle Fish, 175 
Castle Freke, 195 
Castle Ffrench, 312 
Castle Gosford, 153 
Castle Guard, 152 
Castle Hacket, 344 



500 INDEX. 



Castle Hacket, ac. of, 544 
Castle Hamilton, 435 
Castle Hill, 259 
Castle Howard, 464 
Castle Hume, 292 
Castle Hyde, 188, 379 
Castle Inch, 183 
Castle Island, 349, 360 

9 Cross, 475, 480 

Castle Island (Kerry)' 443; 

, ac. of, 443 

Castle Jane, 231 
Castle Kieran, 266 
Castle Knock, 432 

- , ac. of 432 

Castlelacken, Cross, 478 
Castle Laghan, 222 

, ac. of 222 

Castle Lough, 366 
Castle Lough Bay, 366 
Castle Lyons, 223 ; ac. of, 223 
Castle M 'Garret, 164 
Castlemain, Cross, 473, 478 
Castle Martin, 175 
Castle Martyr, 223 

— : ,Cross, 476, 486 

« , ac. of 223 

Castle Mary, 238 
Castle Morres, 277 
Castle Moyle, 358 
Castle Navan, 161 
Castle Plunket, 355, 413 
Castle Pollard, 224 

, Cross, 473 bis, 

481 ; ac. of 224 
Castle Rath, 415 
Castlerea, 158, 355, 413 

, Cross, 473 bis? 484 

• , ac. of, 355 



Castle Richard, 250 
Castle Roche, 406 1 Cross, 481 
Castle Ryland, 460 
Castle Saffron, 380 
Castle Saunderson, 268 
Castle-Shane, 392, 406 

-, Cross, 47? 



Castle Talbot, 455 

Castletown, 141 

Castletown (Cork), 200, 223, 

405 
Castletown (Seat in Kildare), 

382 
Castletown (Queen's Co,) 129 
, ac. of, 135 



Castletown, near Dundalk, . 

120 
Castletown Delvin, 224 

, Cross, 470 

-, ac. of 224 



Castletown Park, 304 
Castletown Roche, 404 

■, Cross, 477 



Castle Townshend, 196 
Castle Troy, 137 
Castle Upton, 173 
Castle Ward, 256 
Castle Warden, 130 
Castlewellan, 161, 208, 256, 
384; Cross, 476, 482 . 
-, ac. of, 209 



Castle Wood, 227 
Cavan, 225, 263 

, Cross, 470, 471, 473 

bis, 474, 475, 476, 477, 479 

, ac. of, 267 

Cave Hil], 160, 207 
Celbridge, 381 ; ac.of 381 
Chancellor's Town, 185 „ 



inde/x. 



501 



Chapel Izod, 309 
Chapelmidway, 406 
Charlemont, 225, 239, 243, 

276, 317, 399, 408 

, Cross, 480 

, ac. of, 239 

Charles Fort, 389 
Charlestown, 152 
Charlestown (Lehrim), 427 
Charleville, 226 
, Cross, 474, 475, 

481,483; ac. of, 231 
Charleville (seat), 463 
Church Bay, 381 
Church Hill, 263; ac. of, 270 
Church Mountain, 459 
Churchtown, 390 
Claddagh castle, 359 
Clady, 399, 400 

, Cross, 480, 485 

Clanduff church, 484 
Clane, 381; Cross, 474, 481, 

482 

, ac. of, 882 

Claneboy castle, 257 
Clanmalliere, 133 
Clara, 287 ; ac. of, 288 
Clare (Armagh), Cross, 470 
Clare (Clare), 285, 386 ; 

, Cross, 477 

, ac. of, 286 

Clare (Mayo), Cross, 485 
Clare abbey, 286 
Clare castle (Armagh), 421 
Clare castle (Clare), 286 
Clare-Galway, Cross, 474 bis, 

477 
Clear, Cape, 196 
Clentibret church, 392 



Clermont, 119 
Clew Bay, 413 
Clifden, 311 
Clifden castle, 311 
Clifton, 387 
Clifton Lodge, 434 
Cliggin, Lough, 331 
Clinish Island, 293 
Clodagh castle, 378 
Clogh (Wexford), 455 
Cloghan (Donegal), 284 
Cloghan (King's Co.), 290, 

313; ac.of, 315 
Cloghaneeley, 274 
Cloghanlea, Cross, 479 
Clogheen, 174, 247 

, Cross, 474 bit 

, ac. of, 186 



Clogher, 233; Cross, 474 bis 
-, ac. of, 283 



Clogher (seat), 818 
Clogharney church, Cross, 475, 

483 bis 
Cloghereen, 368 
Clogher Head, Cross, 475 
Cloghnakilty, 174; Cross, 474 

, ac. of, 194 

Cloghran, 114 
Clogrennan lodge, 180 
Clohaman castle, 460 
Clonakinny, Cross, 472 
Clonard, 303; ac. of, 306 
Clonard Bridge, Cross, 474, 

485 
Clonard church, Cross, 483 
Clonaslee, 302 ; ac. of, 303 
Clonattin, 455 
Clonbrock, 416 
Clonbullock, Cross, 482, 485 



sox 



IKOE& 



Cloncurry, 303 ; Cross, i74 

, ac. of 3ptf 

Clondalkin, 130 
Clondrohid, 878 
CJondumales chapel, 336. 
Clone, 464 ' 

Clonee, 432 
Cloneen, Cross. 477 
Clonegall, 458, 46l.; Cross, 

474; ac. o/, 460 
Clonegowan, 381, 384 

, Cross, 481, 483 

Clones, 293 

, Cross, 473, 474, 481 

, ac. of, 294 

Clonfeckle, 399 
Clonkeen, 222, 407, 

, Cross, 476 

Clonlost, Cross, 4$i 
Clonmacnoise, 258 
Clonmell, 174, 2?3 

, Cross, 474 bis, 48$ 

« , ac. o/, 184 

Clonmellon, 400, 432 ' 

• , ac. of 484 

Cloumines, 197, 234, 301 

— : ,ac. of, 235 

Clonmore, 179 
Clonmulsh, 414 
Clonnish castle, 294 
Clonroch, 447 
Clontarf Sheds, 345 
Clontarf Town, 345 

— : , ac. of, 34^ 

Clonthuskart abbey,, 159 

Clonyn, 224 

Cloonagh, 3t>8 

Cloonales, 355 

Clough ( Antrim), 165,, 170 j 



Clough (Antrim), Cross, 471, 

472; ac.of, 167 
Clough (Down), 161, 2Q8> 

232,^235, 256, 3£4. 

, Cross, 474.* 

, ac. of, 209'. 



Clough church, 446, 
Clough Mills, 170; Qross,^^ 
, ac.of, 172 



Cloughleagh castle, 187 
Cloughan Stookeq, 326. 
Clover Hill (Antrim), 324 

(Londonderry), 240 

(Roscommop), 159 

•, Cross, 484 



Cloyne, 237; Cross % 4/4, 4tf$ 
, ac* of 238 



Cluancagh* 143 
Cluan castle, 277 
Cluaneoip, 294 
Coagh, 243, 317; qro##.4j84. 
Coal Island, 239 ; ac. of x 239 
Coarse Island, 366 
Coilbridge, 210 
Colehill, 438 ; Cross, 474 
Coleman's Leap, 375 
Coleraine, 239, 243 bis, 245, 
317 

, Cross, 47 J bis, 472, 



474, 475, 479, 480, 483 
-, ac. of, 241 



Colin mountain, 160 
Collon, 151 

; , Cross, 473, 474 bis, 

'475,484; ac. of, 151 
Colooney, 4£5, 436 

^ , Cross, 47 1 , 474 n 4$l 

, oc. of, 429 



Col train .church, 474 bis 



INDEX. 



£03 



Comber, 208,415; "acof 211 

, Cross, 472 

Comme Duff, Valley of, 87^ 

Compass Hill, 3B9 

Cong, 163 

Conlyclare, 887 ; Cross, 478 

Conn, Lough, 353 

Connell abbey, 131 

Connemara, 418 

Connor, 170, 172 ; ac. of, 17 1 

Connor castle, 354 

Convamore, 188 

Convoy, Cross, 484, 485 

Cookstown, 399, 408 

> Cross, 474, 475, 

482, 483, 484 ; ac. of, 410 
Coolcastle, 2&8 
Cooldross, 451 

Coblnakenriy, 129; ac.bf, 144 
Coolock, 403 
Coollatin park, 465 
Cooper hill, 141 
Cootehill, 246, 293 . 
, Cross, 471, 473; 

475, 47Sf; ac.of, 294 
Cdpeknd Isles*, 255, 332 
Cor castle, 486 
Corcreagh, 151, 152 
Catkf 174,247,2*8 
, Crossi 475 bis, 476, 456 

bis; ac. of % 188 

, Cove of, 191; Cross, 47 5 

, tfeg, tiff 

Cork abbey, 406 
Cormy castle, 246 
Coroner/, S#3 ? 

Corribi Ixnufa, 163*/ f 00, 

844 
Cove, 8W> 1 



Courtmacsherry, 389 
Courtown, 455 
Coutra, Lough, 290 
Cow Island, 366 , 
Cradockstown, 131 
Cragane castle, 231 
Cragbrien, 386 
Craig-a-Huller, 242 , . 
Craigbilly, 232 ; ac. of 232 
Craigtown Inn, 260 
Cranagh cliff, 328 
Craughwell, 313 
Creagh church, 308 . 
Crebilly Hill, 166, 232 
Creely, Cross, 47$ 
Creg castle; 187 » 

Croagh Patrick, Hill df, 448 
Croghan Hill, 314 ,., 
Croghah Mountain, 454 
Cromiglauh; 375 
Cronebane, 467 
Cross, The, or tfuff,.4QQ 
Crossakeel, Cross, 47*?, 431 Us 
Crossdoney, 432, 434 , . . 
, Cross, 474, 475* 



Cross Ferry, Cross, 482 
Cross Hill, 232 
Cross Keys', 400 ; tross, Hi 
--, ac. of, 401 



Crossniolina^ 355, 357 . 

,* Cross, 473 

-, ac. of; 357 



Cross Roads, 475 

-, or GrosWrbugh 



Inn, 392 _ 

-f^~ •» nejir Florence 

Court, -4552, 48 J; Crpss\ ff^ , : 
near JTewtown 



Barry, 479 



504 



INDEX. 



Crotto, 129; ac.of, 144 
Crow Head, 200 
Crow Islet, 366 
Cruach a Crue, 826 
Cruaghmore, 329 
Crumlin, 128; ac. of, 129 
Crusheen, 287, 290, 291 

, Cross 479 

Cuba house, 315 
CuJfeightrin church, 328 
Culloville, 406 
Cullyhill castle, 227 
Culmore fort, 397 
Cultra, 258 
Curofin, 387; Cross, 477 

, ac. of, 887 

Curragh, The, 131 
Curragha, 406 

Curraghmore, 283 ; Cross, 485 
Cushendall, 251, 324 

, Cross, 477, 480 

, ac. of, 826 

Cushendun, 324; ac. of, 328 
Daisy hill, 260 
Dalkey, 251 ; ac. of, 251 
Daly's bridge, 432, 434 
Dangan, 419, 439 
Darby's garden, 365 
Dardistown bridge, 261 
Dargle, Glen of the, 463 
Darien's bridge, 432 
Dawson. See Castle Dawson 
Dawson's court, 134 
Dawson's grove (Armagh), 
421 

(Cavan), 294 

(King's Co.) 384 

Deel castle, 395 
Delgany, 452 



Delphi, 449 
Delville, 261 
Derg bridge, Cross, 473 
Derg, Lough, 272, 297 
Derivaragh, 425 
Deny. See Londonderry 
Derrybaun, 343 
Derrybrian, Cross, 483 
Derry castle, 298 
Derry Cunihy, 375 
Derryleagh castle, 137 
Dervock, 324 

, Cross, 471W*, 475 bis 

, ac. of, 824 



Desart, 184 
Desart church, 198 

, Cross, 482 



Desartcreat, 410 
Desartmartin, 239; Crow, 475 

, ac. of, 240 

Devenish Island, 293 
Devil's castle, 147 
Devil's Glen, 343, 452 
Devil's Island, 367 
Devil's Lough, 373 
Devil's Punch Bowl, 367, 369 
Devil's Stream, 367 
Devis Mountain, 207 
Dingle, 252 ; Cross, 473, 478 
, ac. of, 252 



Dinis Island, 867 
Doagh, 170 

, Cross, 470, 478, 477 

, ac. of, 171 

Donadea castle, 805 

, Cross, 474 



Donaghadee, 258, 256, 258 

, Cross, 478, 483 

— — — , ac. of, 254 



INDEX. 



505 



Donaghcloney, 113 

— — , ac. of 125 

Donaghedy church, Cross, 485 
Donaghmore (Meath), 265 

(Tyrone), 417 

, ac. of, 418 

, Cross, 475, 483 

Donamon castle, 159 
Donegore moat, 173 
Doneraile, 379 ; Cross, 475 bis 

, ac. of, -380 

Donnegal, 263 ; Cross, 475 

, ac. of 271 

Donnybrook, 449 ; ac. of 450 
Donnycarney, 403 
Donore, 425 
Donough, 293 ; ac. of 295 

, Cross, 474 bis, 481 

Doonane, 220 
Doonas, 392 
Doon Point, 331 
Doudstown, 263,411 
Dough, 160. See also Doagh 
Douglas, Cross, 475 
Douglas Bridge, 392, 394 
Douth, or Dowth, 154 
Down. See Downpatrick 
Downgate Rock, Cross, 482 
Down Hill, 260 
Downpatrick, 208, 256, 261 
, Cross, 475, 478 

bis; ac. of, 209 
Draper's Hill, 153 
Drew's Town, 434 
Drienlin Bridge, 423 
Drimnakill mountain, 328 
Drishane castle, 378 
Drogheda, 113, 208, 261 bis, 

262; ac.of 115 



Drogheda, Cross, 470 bis, 475 

bis, 47 6, 482 bis 
Dromahair, Cross, 474, 476, 

481 
Dromaleague, 198 
Dromehome church, 271 
Dromilly, 408 
Dromod, 425, 427 
Dromoland, 286 
Dromore, 200, 344, 415 
, Cross, 476, 482, 

483, 484 bis ; ac. of 200 
Drooping mountain, 375 
Droughlone, Lough, 247 
Drum (Galway). See Drum- 

cong 

(Monaghan), 293 

, ac. of, 294 

Drumana, 249 
Drumbanagher, 157 
Drumbo castle, 285 
Drumcannon church, Cross, 

485 
Drumcolloher, Cross, 481 
Drumcondra, 113 

, Cross, 478, 474 

, ac. of, 113 

Drumcong, 418 
Drumcourra, 153 
Drumcree, 420 
Drumgoff barracks, 343 
Drumkeern, Cross, 476 
Drumlaghded hill, 423 
Drummore church, Cross, 477 
Drumnakill mountain. See 

Drimnakill 
Drumnasole, 325 
Drumsna, 425, 427 
Drumswords, 295 
x x 



506 



INDEX. 



Duck Island, 375 
Dublin, Situation and Extent 
of, 63 ; Corporation of, 65 ; 
Police, 65 ; Castle, 66 ; 
University, or Trinity Col- 
lege, 67 ; Statue of Wil- 
liam III., 70; Bank of 
Ireland, 70; Royal Ex- 
change, 71 ; Commercial 
Buildings, 72; Corn Ex- 
change, 72; Post Office, 
73; Nelson's Monument, 
73 ; Rotunda, 74 ; Custom 
House, 74; Four Courts, 
75 ; King's Inns, 76; Dub- 
lin Society's House, 77 ; 
Theatre Royal, 78; Man- 
sion House, 78; Linen and 
Yarn Hall, 79; Sessions 
House, 79 ; Stamp Office, 
79; Phcenix Park, 80; 
Royal Barracks, 81 ; 
Squares, 81; Bridges, 82; 
Protestant Churches, 83; 
Meeting Houses, 87 ; Ro- 
man Catholic Chapels, 88 ; 
Convents and Nunneries, 
89; Literary Societies, &c, 
91; Medical and Surgical 
Institutions, 92; Hospitals, 
&c, 93; Prisons, Houses 
of Correction, &c, 97; 
Manufactures, 98; Hotels, 
98 ; Club Houses, 98. 

Duleek, 262; ac. of, 262 

Dumacreen, 164 

Dunaghy, 408, 410 

, Cross, 483 

Dunally castle, 137 



Dunamase castle, 134 
Dunamore castle, 196 
Dunbeg, 387 

Dunboyne, 432; Cross, 479 
Dunbrody abbey, 300 
Duncannon fort, 301 
Duncearma castles, 389 
Dun Clanamourne, 327 
Duncormack, 197, 301 
Dunda castle, 378 
Dundalk, H3, 408, 414 

, Cross, 470, 476 bis 

, ac. of, 119 



Dundarene castle, 194 
Dunderry bridge, 347 
Dundonald, 253 
Dundrum (Down), 235, 385 

, Cross, 484 

, ac. of, 237 

(Dublin), 390, 461 

, ac. of, 461 

(Tipperary), 441 

Dimfanaghy, 263, 274 

, Cross, 479, 480 

, ac. of, 274 



Dungannon, 276, 399, 408 

, Cross, 471 bis, 



472, 476 bis, 483 

-, ac. of, 409 



Dungannon park, 410 
Dungarvan, 276, 280, 284 

, Cross, 474, 476 

, ac. of, 279 



Dungiven, 399 

, Cross, 476 bis, 480 

, ac. of, 399 

Dunglo, 263, 284, 423 

, ac. of, 273 

Dunivaddin hill, 232 



INDEX. 



*07 



Dunkerrin, 136 
Dunkerry cave, 319 
Dunlavin, Cross, 476 
Dunleary, or Kingstown, 388 

, ac. of, 388 

Dunleckney, 414; Cross, 479 
Dunleer, 113,402 

, Cross, 474, 476 bis 

,ac.of, 118 

Dunloe castle, 371 
Dunloe Gap, 372 
Dunloy, 330 
Dunluce castle, 323, 422 
Dun Mace. See Dunamase. 
Dunmanus Bay, 200 
Dunmanway, 198; Cross, 474 

, ac. of, 198 

Dunmaul Fort, 325 
Dunmayne, 407 
Dunmore (Down), 161 

(Galway), 164 

, Cross, 471, 476, 

477,485; ac. of, 164 

(Waterford), 283 

Head, 253 

Palace, 183 

Dunmow castle, 265 
Dunmurey, 204 
Dunnenaught, 409 
Dunran, 452 
Dunroby abbey. See Dun- 

brody. 
Dunsandle, 309 
Dunsany castle, 264 
Dunseverick castle, 330 
Dunshaughlin, 263 

, ac. of, 264 

Dunsink, 432 
Dunymanagh,. Cross, 485 



Durrow, 226, 440, 441 
, Cross, 472, 476 bis, , 

478 ; ac. of, 226 
Dursay Island, 200 
Dyon, Cross, 476 
Dysent, 358 
Eagle Island, 375 
Eagle's Nest, 374 
Earlsfield, 174 
Echlinville, 257 
Edenderry, 313 
, Cross, 474, 482, 

485; ac. of, 313 
Edgeworth's Town, 424 
, Cross, 471, 

476 bis, 477 ; ac. of, 426 
Eglish, 212, 422 ; Cross, 476 

, ac. of, 213 

Elm Grove, 443 

Elphin, 436; Cross, 484, 485 

, ac, of, 436 

Elton, 231 

Emlafad, 174 

Emly, 230 

Emo, 129; ac. of, 134 

Emo Park, 384 

Emy Vale, 392; ac. of, 393 

Ennis, 285, 287, 290, 291, 296 

, Cross, 477 bis, 485 

, ac. of, 286 

Ennisbofine, Island of, 419 
Enniscorthy, 446, 447, 458, 

461, 465 
, Cross, 477 bis, 

482; ac.of, 467 
Enniscrone church, Cross, 484 
Enniskeale, 198; ac. of, 198 
Enniskeel church, Cross, 479 
Enniskerry, 890, 461 



508 



INDEX. 



Enniskerry, ac. of, 462 
Enniskill, Island of, 273 
Enniskillen, 263, 291, 293 

. , Cross, 471, 475, 

477 bis, 479, 481, 483 
-, ac. of, 269 



Ennisnag castle, 276 
Ennistimon, 295, 296, 387 

, Cross, 477, 478, 

479 ; ac. of 395 
Ennistioge. See Tnnistiogue. 
Erigill church, 392 
Erne, Lough, 268, 291 
Errois, 293 
Erry castle, 288 
Esk, Lough, 165, 271, 272 
Esknamucky cascade, 375 
Esky bridge, Cross, 471, 484 
Estochar bridge, 327 
Everog bridge, Cross, 478 
Eyrecourt, 291, 813 

, Cross, 472 

, ac. of, 316 

Eyrecourt castle, 316 

Fair Head, 169 

Fair View, 345, 403 

Falkland, 392, 393 

Farnham, 267 

Feanpull M'Dermott, 288 

Fearmoyle, 419 

Feltrim, 114 

Feltrim castle, 1 14 

Fennor, 228 

Fenough, 179 

Fenough church, Cross, 473 

Ferbane, 287 ; Cross, 477 

Fermoy, 174, 298, 404, 405 

, Cross, 477 

, ac. of, 187 



Ferns, 446, 465 ; ac. of, 466 
Ferrit Island, 145 
Ferriter's Islands, 253 
Ferrybank, 398, 399 
Fertagh, 227 
Fethard (Tipperary), 233 

, Cross, 473, 477 

, ac. of, 234 

(Wexford), 299, 301 

, ac. of, 301 



Fews, The, 153 
Fhirleath, 170 
Finea,400; Cross, 473 

, ac. of, 401 

Finglass, 208, 406 ; ac. of, 407 
Fin, Lough, 285 
Fintona, Cross, 483 
Fin Town, 284; Cross, 471 
-, ac. of 285 



Firmount, Cross, 476, 477 
Five Mile Town, 474 bis 
Florence Court, 435 
Flower Hill, 422 
Flurry Bridge, 121 

, River, 217 

Foaran Path, 325 
Fon thill, 180 
Fooksmill, 274, 446 

, Cross, 482 

Forest, 261 
Forgney church, 351 
Forkhill, 408 
Forth, Barony of, 457 
Fort Robert, 198 
Fort Singleton, 393 
Fort William, 240 
Fowkscourt, 227 
Fowre, 225 
Foxborough, 352 



INDEX. 



509 



Fox castle, 278 
Foxford, 350 ; Cross, 484 

, ac. of, 353 

Foyle, Lough, 260 
Frankford, 212, 290, 802 

, ac.of, 212 

Frederick's Town, 474 
French Park, 350 ; Cross, 473 

, ac. of, 352 

Freshford, Cross, 478 
Friar's Island, 366 
Fruit Hill, 260 
Oallen, 289 
Galley Head, 195 
Galtees, The, 230 
Galway, 303, 312 

> Cross, 473 bis, 477 bis, 

479; oc.o/,309 
Gara, The, 164 
Garbally, 308 
Garey castle, 308 
Garon, Lough, 401 
Garrison, Cross, 476 
Garristown, Cross, 472 
Garry castle, 316 
Garryhaddon, 179 
Garrylough castle, 455 
Garryricken, 184 
Garvagh, 239 

, C«>m,482M*,483 6m 

, ac. of, 241 

Garyduff Inn, 306 
Gaulstown Park, 306 
Geashill, castle, 314 

, Cross, 481, 483 

Gerron Point, 825 
Gheramine Cottage, 372 
Giant's Causeway, 317, 324 bis 
-, ac. of, 318 



Giant's Chair, 321 
Giant's Grave, 431 
Giant's Load, 414 
Giant's Loom, 320 
Giant's Ring, 203 
Gianf s Stairs, 193 
Giant's Well, 321 
Gibbarrow River, 263, 423 
Gilford, 402, 420 ; Cross, 470 

: — , ac. of, 402 

Gill, Lough, 431 
Giltown, 175 

Glan Flesk mountain, 370 
Glanmire (Cork), 193 

-, Cross, 486 



Glanmore, 446 ; ac. of, 446 
Glanton, Cross, 481 
Glan worth castle, 187 
-, Cross, 481 



Glasha, 249 
Glasslough, Cross, 479 
Glassnevin, 261 ; ac. of, 261 
Glen, 274 ; Cross, 480 

, ac. of, 275 

Glen na Capull, 370 
Glen of the Downs, 451 
Glen of the Horse, 370 
Glena mountain, 365 
Glena Bay and Cottage, 365, 

366 
Glenamore, 405 
Glenariff, 326 
Glenarm, 324, 332, 339 

, Cross, 472, 477, 480 

, ac. of, 338 



Glenart castle, 454 
Glenavy, 113,165,243 

,ac.of,l65;Cross,480 



Glencairn, 250 
xx 3 



510 



INDEX. 



Glendalough, 340 ; Cross, 470 

, ac. of, 340 

Glendun Vale, 328 
GlengariffBay, 199 
Glenmalure, Vale of, 343 
Glenmore castle, 343, 452 
Glenties, 423 
Glynn (Antrim), 335 

, (Limerick), 145 

, ac. of, 146 

Gobbins, 336 

Golden, or Golden Bridge, 

230; Cross, 479 
Gore's bridge, 299, 445 
Gorestown, 239 
Gorey, 449, 465 ; Cross, 474 

, ac. of, 454 

Gormanstown, 115 
Gort, 287, 291 

, Cross, 477, 479, 483 

, ac. of, 290 

Gortahurk, 263 ; Cross, 479 

, ac. of, 273 

Gortin, Cross, 482 

Gosford castle, 153 

Gowran, 276, 280 ; ac. of, 280 

Gowran castle, 280 

Grace Dieu Nunnery, 115 

Grace Hall, 126 

Grace Hill, 167 

Grace Staples Cave, 329 

Graig, 445 ; ac. of 445 

Granabuy, 294 

Granard, 400 

, Cross, 478, 476, 477 

bis ; ac. of, 401 
Grandison castle, 285 
Grange (Antrim), 245, 421 
, ac. of, 245 



Grange (Loutb), 117 

(Meath), 432, 433 

Grange, New, 154, 407 
Grange, Fortescue, 222, 407 
Grange Hill, 328 
Grange Inn, Cross, 484 
Grange Mellon, Cross, 473 
Grannebrue castle, 142 
Gray Man's Path, 170 
Green castle (Down), 236 

(Londonderry), 



397; Cross, 480 
Greenmount, 119 
Greenoge, 406 
Greenville, Cross, 476 
Grey abbey, 256 

•, Cross, 477, 473, 



483; ac. of, 257 
Griffinstown, Cross, 476 
Groom's Port, 259 
Grosborough Inn, 392 
Grove, 234 
Guydore river, 263 
Hacketstown, 390 ; Cross, 476 

, ac. of, 391 

Hag's Bed, 188 
Hag's Glen, 373 
Hag's Head Promontory, 295 
Hag's Lough, Tooth, &c. 373 
Haines-Town, 119 
Half-way House, Crass, 484 
Hall's Mill, 128 
Hamilton's Bawn, 408 
, Cross, 470 

bis, 472 
Hampton Hall, 115 
Harris town, 175 
Harryville, 166 
Hazlewood, 431 



INDEX. 



511 



Headford, 344 

, Cross; 472, 473 

, ac. of, 344 

Heron Island, 363 
Heywood, 113, 162 
Highpark, Cross, 476 
Hillsborough, 200, 344 
, Cross, 471, 477, 

481 ; ac. of, 201 
Hill of Allen, 133 
HoUybrook, 429 
Hollymount (Down), 211 
(Mayo), 164, 165, 

357 ; Cross, 477 

-, ac. of, 359 



Holly Park, 146 
Hollywood, 258 ; ac. of, 258 
Holm Patrick, 156 
Holy Cross, Cross, 473, 474, 

485 
Holy Cross abbey, 440 
Hook Lighthouse, 301 
Hook Tower, 283 
Horn Head, 274 
Horseleap, 307 
Horsland, Cross, 474 
Howth, 345 : ac. of, 346 
Hoyle, Lough, 425 
Humewood, Cross, 476 
Hungra Hill, 199 
Ilanmore, 413 
Inch church, Cross, 478 
Incheguile, 163 
Inchigeela, Cross, 477, 480 
Inchiquin castle, 295 
Inchiquin lake, 387 
I nisei are, 413 
Inis Courcy, 210 
Inisfallen Island, 364 



Inishangie, 257 
Inisheene, 246 
Tnishugb, 413 
Inisline, 413 
Inis Scattery, 147 
Innismore, 253 
Innistiogue, 445 ; Cross, 482 
-, ac, of, 445 



Inisturk, 413 
Inniscawen, 293 
Innishannon, 194; Cross, 479 
Innismachsent, 292 
Innis Roch, 293 
Inny, Lough, 401 
Inver, 263 ; ac. of, 273 
Ireland, geographical account 

of, 52 
Ireland's Eye, 347 
Irrelagh abbey, 368 
Irvinestown, 347 ; ac. of, 347 
Island Magee, 336 
Isnaleara, 326 
Jackdaw Islet, 366 
Jamestown, 425 ; Cross, 485 

, ac. of, 427 

Jerpoint, 281 
Jigginstown house, 131 
Johnston's Fews, 148 

, ac. of 148 

Johnstown (KUdare), 129, 

162, 174; ac. of, 130 
Johnstown (Kilkenny), 227 
Johnstown bridge, 313 
Jonesborough, 113; ac. of, 1 2 1 
Joyce's Country, 419 
Julians town bridge, 113 
Kanturk, 412 ; Cross, 481 

, ac. of 412 

Keady (Armagh), 151, 216 



512 



INDEX. 



Keady (Armagh), Cross, 477, 

480 ; ac. of, 153 
Kells, (Antrim), 165, 170, 

172,232; Cross, 473, 477 

, ac. of, 166 

Kells (Kilkenny), 220 

, Cross, 478 ; ac. of, 221 

Kells (Meath), 263, 347 
, Cross, 476, 478 bis, 481 

bis, 484, 485 ; ac. of, 265 
Kenagh, 438 ; ac. of, 438 
Kenbaan, 329 
Kenbaan castle, 329, 330 
Kenmare, 348, 349 

, Cross, 480 

, ac. of, 348 

Keromore, 353 
Kerry Head, 145 
Key, Lough, 428 
Kilbarry church, 198 
Kilbay castle, 137 
Kilbeggan, 287, 303; Cross, 

478 bis, 483; ac. of, 306 
Kilberry ruins, Cross, 470 
Kilbixy, 438 
Kilbreny, 236 
Kilbride, 461 

-, Pass of, 303, 306 

Kilcash, 184 

Kilchreest, 287, 289, 291 
Kilcock, 303, 439 

, Cross, 472, 482 

, ac. of, 305 

Kilcoleman castle, 380 
Kilcommack, 438 
Kilcommodon Hill, 289 
Kilconnel, 303 ; ac. of, 309 
Kilcool, 449; ac. of, 451 
Kilcoursey castle, 288 



Kilcrea abbey, 377 
Kilcrea castle, 377 
Kilcronaghan, 240 
Kilcullen, 162, 174, 349 

,ac.of,\n 

-, Old, 175 



Kildare, 129, 349 

, Cross, 478 bis, 4S2 

, ac. of, 131 



Kildorery, 379 ; ac. of, 380 
Kildysart, 386 
Kilfane, 280, 281 
Kilfenora, Cross, 477 bis, 478 
Kilfin, 441 
Kilgarvan, 348 
Kilglassan, 357, 359 
Kilgobbin, 252 
Kilgobbin castle, 462 
Kilkea castle, 177 
Kilkeel, 235 ; Cross; 484 
., ac. of, 236 



Kilkelly, 158; ac. of, U9 
Kilkenny, 174, 220, 349 bis, 
350; Cross, 472, 478 bis 

, ac. of, 180 

Kilkerrin, 164 

, Cross, 471, 478,481 

, ac. of, 164 

Kill (Dublin), 214 

Kill (Kildare), Cross, 478 

Killadoon, 382 

Killala, 222, 350, 355, 357 

, Cross, 478; ac. of, 354 

Killaloe, 296, 360, 392 

, Cross, 479, 480, 482 

, ac. of, 296 

Killargs church, Cross, 481 
Killarney, 349, 360, 377, 379 
, Cross, 478 bis 



INDEX. 



513 



Killarney, ac. of, 360 
Killarney, Lakes of, 360 
Killashee, 438 ; Cross, 479 
Killberry, 246; ac. of, 246 
Killcolgan, 288 * 
Killeagh, 223, 405 

, Cross, 476, 486 

Killeen castle, 264 

Killeigh, 212, 381 

, Cross, 471, 478, 484, 

485 ; ac. of, 384 
Killenaule. See Killynaule 
Killeray bay and mountain, 

449 
Killeshandra, 432 
, Cross, 472, 474, 

479; ac. of, 434 
Killewater castle, 337 
Killiene, Lough, 423 
Killileigh. See Killyleigh. 
Killinan church, 289 
Killinane, 180 
Killinany castle, 212 
Killinchy, Cross Roads of, 208 

, ac. of, 211 

Killiney, 214 bis 
Killiney hill, 466 
Kill Keran, 337 
Killmulan, 146 
Killough, 384; Cross, 478 bis 

, ac. of, 384 

Killough hill, 228 
Killtymon Glen, 452 
Killurn, 212 

Killwaghter, 339; ac. of, 339 
Killybegs, 263; Cross, 478, 479 

, ac. of, 27» 

Killyglene church, 338 
Killygordon, 284; ac. of, 284 



Killyleigh (Armagh), 155 
, Cross, 479 



Killyleigh (Down), 208 

, Cross, 472, 478 bis, 



481 ;ac. of, 211 
Killyman church, 239 
Killymoone, 410 
Killymurrys, 330 
Killynaule, 233 ; ac. of, 234 
-,Cross,472,473bis, 



478 bis, 481 
Killyock church, Cross, 471 
Killyshandra. See Kille- 
shandra. 
Kilmacduagh, Abbey of, 290 
Kilmacrenan, 274; Cross, 480 
., ac. of, 275 



Kilmacthomas, 276, 280 

— : , Cross, 486 

, ac. of, 278 



Kilmacudd, 450 
Kilmaganny, 220, 276, 277 
, Cross, 478 



Kilmain, 162, 447 

, Cross, 473, 474 

•, ac. of, 163 



Kilmainham, 130 

Kilmaleady, 288 

Kilmallock, 226 

, Cross, 475, 479 

-,oc.o/,231 



Kilmanaham castle, 185 
Kilmatague, Cross, 484 
Kilmeague, 349, 381 

, Cross, 478 

, ac. of, 383 



Kilmoon church, 406 

, Cross, 472 



Kilmore (Cavan), 267 



514 



INDEX. 



Kihwore (seat). 185 

Kifanorr. Cross, 481 

Kifaninv bridge, 291, 313, S16 

kifanurnv, 386 

Kilmiinv-bricken, 387 

- , ac. of, 387 

, Cross, 478, 

479 

Kilnacarrick, 451 

Kflnamatery, 378 

Kimockin castle, 234 

Kihea, 243, 317; ac. of, 318 
, Cross, 471, 479, 482 

Kilreen, 183 

Kilrudderv house, 451 

Kihush, 386, 387 

> Cross, 478, 479 

, ac of, 386 

Kilsallaghan, 406 
KUshiebn, 186 
Kiltannan, 298 
Kihcd castle, 130 
Kilteroan, 390, 462 
Kihrorth, 174; ac of, 186 
Kincor, 2S9 
Kingsccurt, 246 ; ac. of, 246 

, Cross, 470, 473, 

474, 479 
Kingston, Cross, 470 
Kingston hall, 428 
Kingstown, 388; ac. of, 388 
Kinnegad, 222, 303,350,355, 
438; Cross, 472; acof, 306 
Kinsale, 388; ac. of, 388 



Knappan lodge, 325 
Knightsbridge, 348 

-, Cross, 480 



Kirkcubben, 256; 
Kirkistown, 257 
Kish, or Cash, 347 

, Cross, 473, 477 

Kittane, Lough, 370 



of, 257 



Knight of Kerry's Island, 375 
Knockalton castle, 296 
Knockane castle, 137 
Knockballymore, 295 
Knockbreda, 253 
Knockbride bridge, 294 
Knock Doo, 338 
Knock Lade mountain, 169, 

329 
Knocklofty, 185 
Knocklong, 226, 231 
Knock- naren, 431 
Knockmeledown mountain, 

186 
Knocktopher, 276; Cross, 478 
, ac. of, 276 



Konnoc a Briannin, 373 
Kyle, 449; ac of, 455 
LabacaUy tomb, 188 
Lackagh castle, 133 
Lade, 327 
Lagacory, 393 
Laggan bridge, 222, 407 
Laghy, 263 
Lake Coutra, 290 
Lakes of Killarney, 360 
Lamb Island, 363 
Lambay Island, 156 
Lambeg, 203 
Lane, Lough, 225 
Lanesborough, 350, 355 

, Cross, 479 

of, 351 



Lansdown, 384 

Laracor, 433 

Largy, 432; Cross, 476, 479 



INDEX. 



515 



Largy, ac. of, 435 

Lame, 324, 332 ; Cross, 485 

, ac. of, 335 

Larra abbey, 401 
Latragh castle, 216 
Lea, 302 ; ac. of, 302 
Leap, Cross, 484 
Leap castle, 213 
Leigh, 228 
Leighlin bridge, 174, 390 

, Cross, 479 

■, ac. of, 179 
Leighlin, Old, 179 
Leitrim, Cross, 472, 479 
Leixlip, 303, 439 

, Cross, 479 ; ac. of, 304 

Leny, 424 ; ac. of, 425 
Leslie hill, 244 
Leslie lodge, 147 
Letterkenny, 274, 391 

, Cross, 480 

, ac. of, 275 

Lifford, 284, 392 

, Cross, 475, 484 

, ac. of, 395 

Liffey, river, 64 

Limerick, 129, 295, 891, 392 

, Cross, 474, 475, 

479 bis, 485; ac. of, 138 
Lion's Head, 322 
Lion Rock, 321 
Lisbellaw, 263 ; Cross, 481 

, ac.^,268 

Lisburn, 200 

, Cross, 471, 475, 479 

bis, 484; ac. of, 202 
Liscarrol, Cross, 481 
Liscartan castle, 265 
Lisconnan, 324 



Lisfining castle, 251 
Lishbaun mountain, 373 
Lishean, 230 
Lislaghtin abbey, 147 
Lisle, 172; ac. of, 172 
Lisminy, 287 
Lismore, 248, 298, 405 

,CroM,480;ac.o/,249 



Lismullen, 264 
Lisnagur, 188 
Lisnarick, Cross, 477 
Lisnegarvey, 203 
Lisnaskea, 263, 268 ; Cross, W\ 
Lispole, 252 
Lissade), 432 
Lissanoure castle, 167 
Lissnabruck, 295 
Listowell, 129, 145 ; ac. of, 144 
Lixna castle, 441 
Loch Conn, 357 
Loftushall, 301 
Loghill, 146 

Londonderry, 392, 398, 399 
-, Cross, 471 bis, 



480 bis, 482, 484 ; ac. of, 396 
Longford, 400, 424 

, Cross, 474, 479, 480 

., ac. of, 426 



Longford lodge, 129 
Longford Pass, 228, 440 
Lorrah, 422 
Lough Anna, 212 
Loughbrickland, 113 

■, Cross, 470, 



483; ac.of 124 
Lough Carra, 359 
Lough Couter castle, 290 
Lough Derg, 272; ac. of, 297 
Lough Esk, 272 



516 



INDEX. 



Lough Garon, 401 
Lough Inny, 401 
Loughgall, 225 ; Cross, 480 

, ac. of, 225 

Loughgeell, 165; ac. of, 167 
Loughglin, 158; Cross, 473 

, ac. of, 159 

Loughglin castle, 159 
Loughlinstown, 466 
Loughmore, 141 
Lough Mourne, 272 
Lough-na-Cresa, 170 
Loughrea, 287, 291, 313 
, Cross, 472 bis, 480 

bis, 484; ac. of, 816' 
Lough Rea, 316 
Lough Ramor, 266 
Lough Shellin, 401 
Louisbourg, 448 
Louth, 402 ; ac. of, 402 
Louth hall, 402 
Lucan, 303, 381, 439 

, ac. of, 304 

Lugna Clogh, 431 
Lugnaquilla, 343 
Lurgan, 128, 165, 243, 402 
, Cross, 477, 480 bis, 

483,484; ac.of, 128 
Lurgan church, 267 
Lurgan green, 113 ; ac. of, 119 
Lurgeidan, 326; ac. of 326 
Lusk, 156; ac.of, 156 
Mac Auliffe, 412 
Mac Carthy's Island, 375 
Mac Swein's Gun, 274 
Macetown castle, 407 
Macklin castle, 227 
Macnean, Lough, 435 
Macroom, 348, 377 



Macroom, Cross, 472, 477, 

480 bis; ac, of, 377 
Magee, Island. See Island. 
Maghera, 239 

-, Cross, 471,476,480 



bis, 483 ; ac. of, 240 
Magherafelt (Londonderry), 

157, 248, 317 

, Cross, 480, 484 

, ac. of, 317 

Magheralin, 113 

-, Cross, 477, 480 



bis sac. of, 126 
Magilligan, 260 
Maguire's bridge, 263 

, ac. of, 268 

, Cross, 474, 

481 
Maidens, The, 337 
Mail-coach routes, 99 



roads, 103 
Malahide, 403 ; ac. of, 403 
Mallin, Cross, 486 
Mallow, 379, 404 

-, Cross, 475 bis, 480, 



481 bis; ac. of, 380 
Malton, 464 
Man-of-War, 113, 261 

1 ac.of, 115 

-, rock, 374 



Mangerton mountain, 369 
Manor Cunningham, Crof«,480 
Manor Hamilton, 432 

-, Cross, 476, 



481 bis; ac. of, 435 
Maquasquin, 241 
Marino, 403 
Markcrea castle, 429 



INDEX. 



517 



Market hill, 153, 408 

, Cross, 472, 482 

— — — , ac. of, 153 
Maryborough, 129 
, Cross, 471, 481 

bis, 483, 485 ; ac. of, 134 
Mask, Lough, 163 
Mawhan, 408 
Maynooth, 303, 439 

, Cross, 481 

, ac. of, 805 

Mayo, 356 

Maypole, 224 ; Cross, 476, 48 1 
Mead Town, Cross, 470 
Meare's Court, 350 
Meelick abbey, 285 
Meeting of the Waters, 464 
Melick church, 353 
Mellifont, 117 
Menlough castle, 419 
Merrion castle, 465 
Merrion, Old, 465 
Merville, 450 
Middleton, 237, 405 
, Cross, 474, 475, 

476,479,486;.ae.o/,237 
Military road, 340 
Millbrooke, 384 
Millecent, 382 
Mill of Louth, 151, 405 

, Cross, 475, 476 

, ac. of, 152 

Mill-street, 377, 379 
, Cross, 475, 480, 

4816**; ac, o/, 378 
Milltown, 390, 461 

, Cross, 478 

Mil town Malbay, 387 



Minard castle, 252 

Minola, 355, 413 ; ac. of, 356 

Mitchell's town, 379 

, Cross, 481, 



485 ; ac. of, 379 
Mizen Head, 200 
Moat (Mayo), 356 
Moat of Ardskull, 220 
Moat of Granard, 401 
Moate, 303 ; ac. of, 307 
Moate Park (Roscommon), 

159 
Moira, 113; Cross, 477, 480 

bis, 481,484; ac.of, 126 
Monaghan, 392, 406 bis 
, Cross, 473, 475, 

481 ; ac. of, 393 
Monanimy, 404 
Monasterboice, 117 
Monastereven, 129, 302 

, Cross, 470 

-,ac. of, 133 



Monaver, Cross, 481 
Monela bog, 136 
Monevgall, 136 
Moneymore, 157, 239, 408 
-, ac. of, 240 



Monivae, 812; Cross, 470, 

477; ac.of, 312 
Monkstown, 214, 215, 251 
-, ac. of, 214 



Monkstown castle, 193 
Montalto, 161 
Monte Video, 425 
Montpelier castle, 214 
Moone abbey, 176 
Moore abbey, 133 
Moorefield, 353 

Y Y 



518 



INDEX. 



Moore park, 187 
Moore, town, 133 
Moss side, Cross, 471 
Moss town, 439 
Mount Alexander, 212 
Mount Bellew bridge, 415 
Mount Bolus, 212 ; ac.of, 212 
Mount Brandon, 253 
Mount Campbell, 427 
Mount Charles, 263 

, ac. of, 272 

Mount Coote, 231 
Mount Druid (Antrim), 329 
Mount Druid (Dublin), 466 
Mountgarret, 300 
Mount Hamilton, 398, 399 
Mount Juliet, 276 
Mount Leinster, 461 
Mount Loftus, 445 
Mountmellick, 302, 411 

1 Cross, 48 1 , 485 

, ac. of, 302 

Mount Merrion, 450 
Mount Nephin, 353 
Mount Nugent, 434 
Mount Panther, 209 
Mount Pleasant, 212 
Mountrath, 129; ac.of, 135 
Mount Rice, 133 
Mount Shannon, 142 
, Cross, 480, 

484 
Mount Stewart, 258 
Mount Talbot, Cross, 472, 

481, 483 
Mount Trenckard, 141 
Mount Uniacke, 223, 405 
Mount Wollesley, 460 



Mourn, Lough (Donegal), 165 
Mourne, Lough (Antrim), 

334 
Mourne, Cross, 475 
Mourne mountains, 385 
Mouse island, 363 
Moy, 239, 411 
Moyallen, 420 
Moyarta, 386 
Moycarthy castle, 228 
Moycashell, 306 
Moycashill castle, 287 
Moylough, 358 
Moynalty, 293 ; ac. of, 293 

, Cross, 482 

Moyne, the, 164 
Moyne abbey, 358 
Moystown, 315 
Moyvore, 350 
Moyvore castle, 295 
Mucruss, 349, 369 
Mucruss abbey, 367 
Mucruss Peninsula, 369 
Muff, 399, 400 ; Cross, 470, 

471,473,480,482 
Mullaghanee bridge, 151, 406 
Mullinahone, Cross, 477 
Mullinavat, 280, 281 
Mullingar, 222, 350, 355, 424 
, Cross, 470, 473, 

476, 478, 481 bis, 485 bU 

, ac. of, 425 

Mullyvilly, 421 
Mungret abbey, 141 
Murderslay, 337 
Murlock bay, 328 
Mylough, 312 ; Cross, 482 
Myrtle Grove, 469 



INDEX. 



519 



Myshall, Cross, 473, 479 

Naas, 129, 162, 174 

, Cross, 481, 482 bis 

, ac. of, 130 

Na-cresa, lougb, 170 

Na-Maraghnarig, lough, 370 

Naren, 263 ; ac, of, 273 

Narrow- water, 235; ac. of, 235 

Navan, 263, 411 : ac, of, 264; 

, Cross, 470 bis, 482 bis, 

484 bis, 485 

Naule, 261 ; Cross, 482 

, ac. of, 262 

Neagh, Lough, 244 

Neale, The, 163; Crew*, 472 

Nenagh, 216, 296, 360, 391, 
392 ; Cross, 473, 474, 482 
bis, 484 ; ac, of, 296 

Naphin, Mount, 353 

New abbey, 174 

Newbridge (Kildare), 129 
■-, Cross, 482 



--, ac. of, 131 



Newbridge (Limerick), 146 

, Cross, 481 

Newbridge (Wicklow), Cross, 

470 
Newbrook, 174 
Newbrook House, 359 
Newcastle (Down), 235 

, Cross, 482, 484 

, ac. of, 237 

Newcastle (Kildare), 220 
Newcastle (Limerick), 129 

, Cross, 481 

, ac. of, 143 

Newcastle (near Limerick), 

137 
Newcastle (Mayo), 353 



Newcastle (East Meath), 246 
Newcastle (West Meath), 350 
Newcastle (Wicklow), 451 
New Court, 196 
New Ferry, Cross, 471, 482, 

483 
New Geneva, 283 
New Grange, 407 
Newgrove, 247 
New Hall (Clare), 386 
Newhall, 264 
New Inn (Galway), 303 
New Inn (Meath), 303 
Newmarket (Clare), 286 
Newmarket (Cork), 412 
— — — — , Cross, 481 
, ac, of, 412 



Newmarket (Kilkenny), 276, 

277 
New Mills, 399, 408 
Newpark (Mayo), 353 
Newpark (Tipperary) 228 
Newport (Longford), 438 
Newport (Tipperary), 129 

, Cross, 472, 480, 482 

, ac. of, 137 



Newport, 413 ; Cross, 486 
-, ac. of, 413 



New Ross, 299, 414, 446, 447 

, Cross, 482 bis, 486 

, ac. of, 299 



Newry, 113,414; Cross, 472, 

482 bis ; ac.of, 122 
Newry Bridge Inn, 343, 452 
Newtown (Seat), 185 
Newtown abbey, 433 
Newtown Ards, 253, 415 

9 Cro.w, 477, 483 

, ac. of, 253 

Newtown Barry, 461 



520 



INDEX. 



Newtown Barry, Cross, 473, 

477, 479 
Newtown Bellew, 357, 415 

, Cross, 481 

, ac. of, 358 

Newtown Breda, 415 

, Cross, 478 

Newtown Butler, 263 

, Cross, 474 

, ac. of, 268 

Newtown Cunningham, Cross, 

480 
Newtown Forbes, 424 

, ac. of, 427 

Newtown Glens. See Cus- 

hendall 
Newtown Hamilton, 148 
, Cross, 

482 bis ; ac. of, 148 
Newtown Limavady, 260 
— — — — — , Cross, 

471 bis, 474, 480, 482 bis, 

483 ; ac. of, 260 
Newtown Mount Kennedy, 

416, 452 
Newtown Stewart, 392, 398 
9 Cross, 475 

bis, 477, 482 ; ac. of, &94 
Nine Mile House, 174, 417 
f Cross, 475, 

483 6m; ac.of, 184 
Nobber, 246 ; ac. of, 246 
Oak Island, 375 
Oak Park, 179 
O'Brien's Bridge, 391 
1 Cross, 479, 

482 
O'Brien's Fort, 298 
O'Donohue's Prison, 363 



O'Donohue's Horse, 363 

O'Hara's Brook, 244 

O' Kane's castle, 400 

Olart, 455 

Old Bridge, 115 

Old Castle, 432; Cross, 478 

Old Connaught, 466 

Old Connell, 131 

OldHeet castle, 336 

Old Head, 389 

Old Leighlin. See Leighlin 

Old Merrion, 465 

Old Ross, Cross, 482 

Old Weir Bridge, 374 

Omagh, 392, 416, 417 bis 

-, Cross, 474, 475 bis, 



477 bis, 483 bis; ac.of, 394 
Oranmore, 303, 313 

, Cross, 477, 479, 



480; ac.of, 309 
Oranmore castle, 309 
Ormond castle, 183 
Ormond Isle, 348 
O'Sullivan's Cascade, 365 
O' Sullivan's Punch Bowl, 374 
Oughterard (Galway), 418 

— = , ac. of, 418 

Oughterard (Kildare) 130 
Our Lady's Church, 342 
Outer, Lough, 267 
Oven's Inn, 348, 377 
., ac. of, 377 



Owenreave river, 419 
Packenham Hall, 224 
Pallas, Cross, 474, 479, 485 
Pallas Inn, 290 
Pallas-more, 351 
Palmerstown (Dublin), 303, 
381 



INDEX. 



521 



Palmerstown(Kildare), 130 
Paps, The, 378 
Paradise, 386 
Parkgate, 172 ; ac. of, 173 
Parson's Town. See Birr 
Parteen, 391, 392 
Partree,447 ; Cross, 473, 483 

, ac. of, 447 * 

Passage- West, 192 

, Cross, 475 

Passage- East, 446 ; ac. of, 447 
Pass-if-you-can, 406 

, Cross, 481 

Patrick's Well, 142 
Peterborough, 151 
Pettigoe, Cross, 472, 477 
Philipstown, 313; Cross, 473, 

478, 481, 482, 483 Aw 

, ac. of, 313 

Pict's House, 170 
Piedmont, 121 
Pigeon Hole, 163 
Pigeon Islet, 366 
Pleaskin, 321 
Plummer's Island, 374 
Pointz Pass, 157 ; ac. of, 157 
Pol a Phuca, 459 
Pomeroy, 417, 418 

, Cross, 475, 483 bis 

Pooladuff, 195 
Port, The, 263 
Portadown, 157, 420 

, ac. of, 420 

, Cross, 470, 480 bis, 

483 
Portaferry, 256, 421 

, Cross, 483 bis 

, ac. of 257 

Portarlington, 302, 381 



Portarlington, Cross, 481, 483, 

485 ; ac. of, 383 
Portavo, 255 
Port Coon Bay, 319 
Port Coon Cave, 319 
Portglenone, 245, 324, 421 

, Cross, 483 

, ac. of, 245 



Portmore, 330 
Portmore castle, 128 
Port na Baw, 320 
Port na Spagna, 321 
Port Noffer, 821, 330 
Portrush, 421 ; ac. of, 421 
Portumna, 422, 423 

, Cross, 472, 482, 483 

, ac. of, 422 

Powerscourt, 462 
Priest's Cell, The, 342 
Priory, 216 
Prospect Hall (near Bal- 

ruddery) 115 
, (near Killar- 

ney) 371 
Prospect hill, 396 
Puffing Hole, 887 
Pulacuila, 446 
Purt castle, 144 
Pyrmont, 147 
Queensborough, 316 
Querin, 386 
Quilca mountain, 435 
Quin abbey, 286 
Rabbit Island, 363 
Rack Wallace church, 392 
Racondra,350, 355 ; Cross, 470 
Raghery, or Itaghlin Island, 

330 
Rahanvegue castle, 136 
y Y 3 



522 



INDEX. 



Raheney Strand, 345 

... t aCt f 345 

Raholp, 256 ; ac. of, 256 
Ram's Island, 244 
Ramor, Lough, 266 
Ramsfort, 455 
Randalstown, 243, 245, 324, 

421; Cross, 476, 483 bis 

, ac. of, 243 

Raphoe, 274 ; Cross, 484, 485 

, ac. of 274 

Rasharkan, 245, 324 

, Cross, 483 

, ac. of, 246 

Rathangan, 381 ; Cross, 482 

, ac. of 383 

Rathbran abbey, 222 
Rathbrand, Cross, 476 
Rathbride, 349 
Rathclare inn, Cross, 475 
Rathconnel, Cross, 478 
Rathcoole, 129, 162, 174 

, ac. of 130 

Rathcormack, 174, 237, 405 

, ac. of, 188 

Rathdowny, Cross, 476, 478 
Rathdrum, 390,461 ; Cross,470 

• , ac. of 463 

Rathfarnham, 340 ; ac. of 340 
Rathfriland, 161, 208, 256, 

384; Cross, 470, 483 bis, 484 

, ac. of 208 

Ratbkeale, 129 ; Cross, 474, 

483 ; ac. of 142 
Rathkeen castle and common, 

134 
Rathleague, 135 
Rathline, 351 



Rathmore, Cross, 47# 
Rathrobine, 212 
Rathrush, 460 
Rathsallagh, Cross, 476 
Ratoath, 154,411 

, Cross, 472 bis 

., ac. of, 411 



Rattoo, 145 
Ravensdale, 121 
Ravens well, 450 
Red Bay, 326 
Red castle, Cross, 480 
Redgateinn, 386 
Red hall, 335 
Red Trout Lake, 372 
Ree, Lougb, 351 
Reek, The, 448 
Reekpatrick, 399 
Rheban, 220 
Rhefeart, The, 342 
Rhinrow castle, 392 
Richhill, 226, 408 

, Cross, 470, 480 



Rilbay castle. See Kilbay 
Robe, The, 163 
Rochdale, 406 
Roches cascade, 262 
Rochestown, 214 ; ac. of 214 
Rochfort bridge, 303, 306 
Rockcorry, Cross, 475, 479 
Rockforest, 405 
Rock heads, 319, 321 
Rockingham house, 428 
Roebuck castle, 461 
Rokebyhall, 118 
Ronan's Island, 375 
Rosanna, 452 
Roscommon, 158, 423 



INDEX. 



523 



Roscommon, ac* of, 158 

-— , Cross, 472, 483, 

484 bis 

Roscrea, 129 ; ac. of, 135 

■ . Cross, 472,476, 478, 

484 

Rosemount, 258 

Rosenallis, 302 

,Cross, 481, 484,485 

, ac. of, 302 

Roserk abbey, 354 

Ross abbey, 344 

Rosscarberry (Cork), 195 

RossaGoul, 270 

Ross Bay, 363 

Rossburkie Island, 375 

Ross castle (Cavan), 434 

Ross castle (Killarney), 362 

Ross Island, 362 

Ross. See New and Old Ross 

Rosses, The, 273 

Rostellan castle, 193 
Rostrevor, 235, 444 

, Cross, 484 bis 

, ac. of, 235 

Roughan castle, 239 
Roundstone, 311 
Rovinvalley Dyke, 321 
Roxburgh house, 148 
Royal Oak inn, 180, 299, 445 
Runaolin, Lough, 331 
Rush, 156 ; ac. of, 156 
Rusky bridge, 424 ; Cross, 485 

, ac. of, 427 

Russborougb, 458 
Rutland, 423 ; ac. of 424 

, Island of, 273 

St Andrew, 257 
St. Doulough's, 403 



St. Doulough's, ac. of, 403 
Saintfield,415 ; Cross, 478, 484 
■, ac. of, 415 



Saintfield house, 415 
St. Johnstown, 392 

, Cross, 484 

■, ac. of, 395 



St Kevin's Bed, 342 
St Kevin's Kitchen, 342 
St Lafarien, Well of, 180 
St Margaret's, 406 
St Moylaise's house, 293 
St MullhVs, 299 
St Patrick's bridge, 197 
Salagh Braes, 338 
Sallymount, 175 
Saltees, 197, 301 
Salt hole, 335 
Salti bridge, 249 
Salt, Lough, 275 
Sandholes, Cross, 483 
Sans Souci, 450 
Santry, 113; ac. of, 114 
San try house, 114 
Saul abbey, 211 
Saunder's court, 457 
Saunder's grove, 459 
Saundersville, Cross, 476 
Scalp, The, 4&1 
Scarewalch bridge, 446, 461 
Scarva, 424; Cross, 470 bis 
Scilly, 390 

Scots house, Cross, 473 
Skreen, 411, Cross, 484 
-, ac. of, 412 



Scurlog's town, 433 
Seaford, 161 ; Cross, 474 
, ac. of, 161 



Seamount, 413 



524. 



INDEX. 



Seapark court, 404 
Sea point, 214 
Seven churches, 840 
Shallaghan bridge, 263, 284 

,Cross, 471,479 

Shallee Turnpike, 129, 137, 

391 
Shaltagan bridge, 423 
Shanagolden, 145 ; ac. of, 146 
Shanbally castle, 186 
Shane's castle, 243, 324 
Shane's inn, Cross , 475 
Shanganagh, 214 bis, 466 
ShankhUl, 466 
Shannon, The, 140 
Shannon bridge, 287, 289 

, Cross, 484 

Shanrahany, 186 
Shark, Lough, 424 
Shaw castle, 338 
Sheallin, Lough, 434 
Sheen castle, 134 
Sheep bridge, 113 
Sheep Island, 331 
Shellin, Lough, 401 
Shelton abbey, 454 
Shercock, 246; ac. of, 247 
Shilelagh, 219, 464 

, Cross, 484 
Shinney, Lough, 156 
Shragh castle, 173 
Shrule, Cross, 473, 474 
Shy, Lough, 163 
Silvermines, 129, 216 

, Cross, 484 

, ac. of, 137 

Sir Albert's bridge, 423 
Six Mile bridge, 285, 386 ; 



Six Mile Bridge, Cross, 475, 

477,479 bis; ac. of, 286 
Six Mile Cross, 417 

-, Cross, 475 bis, 



483 bis 
Skeheewrinky, 186 
Skerries, 156 ; ac. of, 156 
Skerries hill, 232 
Skerriff, Cross, 484 
Skibbereen, 174; ac. of, 196 
Skirk, Cross, 478 

Skryne. See Skreen. 
Slane, 153, 257, 406 

, ac. of, 154 

, Cross, 470, 476, 478, 

482, 484 bis 
Slane castle, 154 
Slaughter Ford, 336 
Slidderyford, 287 
Sliebh Guth, 459 
Sliebh Russell, 435 
Slieve Baraghad, 326 
Slieve Croob mountain, 161 
Slieve Donard, 237 
Slieve Gull en, 122, 408 
Slieve na Aura, 329 
Slievnemon mountain, 277 
Sligo, 425, 432, 436 
, Cross, 471, 476, 481, 

484 bis, 485 ; ac. of, 430 
Slunk na Marra, 330 
Smerwick Harbour, 252 
Smithsborough, Cross, 473, 

481 
Snowtown castle, 262 
Somerville, 263 
Sonnagh, 438 
South Park, 355 



INDEX. 



525 



Spancell Hill, 296 

, Cross, 479 

Springhill (Carlow), 179 
Springhill (Londonderry),240 
Spring Park, 401 
Stackallan, 154 
Stags, The, 196 
Stag Island, 365, 375 
Staplestown, 179 
Starbog Spa, 417 
Station for Audience, 374 
Station for Music, 374 
Stewart Hall, 240 
Stewartstown, 157, 239, 243, 
317; Cross, 480, 483 bis, 
484 bis; ac. of, 240 
Stillorgan, 449, 466 

, ac. of, 450 

Stonebrook, 266 
Stone Hall, 146 
Stoneyford, Cross, 475, 483, 
485 

Stookins, 320 

Strabane, or Strathbane, 392, 
398 ; Cross, 473, 475 bis, 
477, 485 ; ac. of, 395 

Stradbally, 437 ; Crossr 471 
, ac. of, 437 

Stradbally Hall, 437 

Stradone, Cross, 470, 473, 
479 

Straffan, 382 

Straid, 339,400; Cross, 473 

Stramore Inn, 399 

Strancally castle, 249 

Strand, 263 

Strandhouse Inn, Cross, 484 

Strangford, 256, 421 

, Cros*, 47a 



Strangford, ac of, 256 
Stranocum, 170; ac. of, 172 
Stranorlar, 284 ; Cross, 485 
-, ac. of, 285 



Stratford upon Slaney, 459 

., Cross, 485 



Strathbane. See Strabane 
Strawberry Hill, 289 
Strokestown, 350, 355, 436, 
438 ; Cross, 485 bis 
-, ac. of, 352 



Struel, 211 
Sugar Island, 366 
Sugar Loaf mountains, 463 
Suir castle, 230 
Summerhill (East Meath), 
347,439; Cross, 485 

., ac. of, 439 



Summer Hill (Seat), 257 
Summerhill house, 439 
Summer Island, 225 
Swanlinbar, 432; Cross, 474 
., ac. of, 435 



Swatteragh, 239; ac. of, 241 
Swillan, Lough, 247 
Swineford, 350 

., Cross, 471 bis, 473, 



484; ac. of, 352 
Swords, 113, 261 ; ac. of, 114 
Syngefield, 213 
Taghmon, 274, 439, 446 

, Cross, 482, 486 

., ac. of, 439 



Tallanstown, 405 

, Cross, 476 

Tallaght, 458 ; ac. of, 458 
Tallow, 248, 405; ac. of, 251 

ITamlagh church, Cross, 483 
Tanderagee, 157, 420, 421 



526 



INDEX. 



Tanderagee, Cross, 470 bis, 

472; ac. of, 157 
Tarah Hill, 268 ; ac. of, 264 
Tarbert, 145; ac. of 147 
Tarbert House, 147 
Tarmonbarry bridge, 438 
Tarmons, 147 
Tashiny, 438 
Tawney, 390 

Team-pull-na-Skellig, 342 
Tecroghan abbey, 306 
Teeny, 400 
Teina Park, 183 
Temora, Hill of, 133 
Temple Brian, 195 
Temple church, 255 
Temple Coran, 335 
Temple Cross chapel, 426 
Templemore, 215; Cross, 472, 

485; ac.of,215 
Templemoyle, 166 
Templepatrick, 172 

■ , Cross, 485 

1 aCt f 173 

Temple Roe, 353 
Tempo, Cross, 477, 483 
Ten Mile Bush, 263 
Tennelick, 438 
Tenny Park, 452 
Terfeckan castle, 117 
Tervac, 141 
Tevereagh, 328 
Thanes Heap, 188 
Thomas Street, 357, 358 
Thomastown (Louth), 152 
Thomastown (Kilkenny), 280 

, ac. of 280 

Thomastown (Tipperary), 226 
-, Cross, 479 



Thomastown, ac. of 230 
Thurles, 228, 440, 441 

, ac. of 440 

-, Cross, 472, 478, 482, 



J 



485 bis 
Tildarg, 160 
Timohoe, 162, 350 
■, ac. of 162 



Timoleague castle, 195 
Timolin church, 176 
Timon castle, 458 
Tinnahely, 219, 461 

, ac. of 464 

Tinnahinch, 463 
Tintern, 301 ; ac. of, 301 
Tipperary, 226, 441 bis 

-, Cross, 474, 479, 



485 bis; ac. of 230 j 
Togher Inn, 840 
Tomies mountain, 365 
Toomavara, 129, 296 

, ac. of 136 

Toome bridge, Cross, 483 
Toome Ferry, 317 
Tor Head, 328 
Tor Point, 328 
Tory Island, 274 
Townavilly, 165 

, Cross, 475, 484 

,ac.of 165 



Tralee, 252, 441,443 

, Cross, 475, 478, 485 

, ac. of 441 



Tramore, 283; Cross, 485 
Trespan Rocks, 457 
Trillick, 347 ; Cross, 477 hit 
Trim, 347, 432 

, Cross, 482, 483, 485 bis 

, ac. of 433 



INDEX. 



527 



Trimblestown, or Trimlestown 

castle, 433 
Tristernagh, 426 
Trostan Hill, 328 
Tuam, 357 

, Cross, 470, 474, 477, 

485 bis ; ac. of, 358 
Tubberindonny,287,291, 387 

, Cross, 479 

1 ac . f 290 

Tubbermore, 239; ac. of, 240 
Tubbermore Well, 336 
Tubercurry, Cross, 471 bis, 

472, 484 bis, 485 
Tulla, 296, 298 ; Cross, 485 
Tullamoore, 290, 313 

• , ac. of, 314 

, Cross, 471, 478, 

485 bis 
Tulleigh, 808 
Tullow, 390 bis, 458 

, Cross, 484 

, ac. of, 460 

Tully(Kildare), 132 

Tully (Longford), 401 

Tallycarbet, 407, 408 

Tullymore lodge, 233 

Tullymore park, 385 

Tulsk, 350, 355, 413 

, Cross, 484, 485 

, ac. of, 352 

Tuniquin, Cross, 48 4 

Turin, 249 

Turk cascade, 367 

Turk cottage, 367 

Turkelly's well, 208 

Turk lake, 367 

Turk mountain, 367 

Turvey, 113, 156; ac. of, 115 



Turveypark, 115 
Twelve Pins, 419 
Tynagh, 422; Cross, 472 
Tynan, 155, 216 

, Cross, 477, 479 bis, 



485 ; ac. of, 216 
TyrelPs Pass, 303, 306 
, Cross, 473, 485 



Upham, 234 
Urlingford, 226, 23fr, 440 
, Cross, 478 



, ac. of, 228 

Urrisbeg mountain, 311 
Vallis Salutis, 459 
Velvet's Town, Cross, 475 
Ventry, 253 
Ventry Bay, 252 
Viewmount, 179 
Virginia, 263 ; ac. of, 266 
Vow Ferry House, 245 
Wall's Town castle, 380 
Waringstown, 128, 402 

, ac. of, 128 

Warren's point, 235, 444 

, ac. of, 444 

Water castle, 227 
Waterford, 280, 444, 445, 

446 bis, 447 
Waterford, Cross, 485 bis, 486 
,ac. of, 281 



Waterfoot, 326 " 
Watergrass Hill, 188, 248 
— , Cross, 480 



Wattle bridge, 263 

, ac. of, 268 

Wells, 449 
Wells Town, 285 
Westcourt, 184 
Westport, 447 ; Cross, 486 



528 



INDEX. 



Westport, ac.'of 447 
Wexford, 449, 458, 461, 465 

— , ac. of, 455 
— —- , Cross, 486 
Whiddy, Island of, 199 
White abbey, S32 
White castle, Cross, 480, 486 
Whitechurch, 300 ; Cross, 47 5 
Whitehall, 233 
White Head, 329 
"Whitekirk, 337 
Whitestown, 156 
Wicklow, 449,465 ; ac. of ,452 



Williamstown, 465 
Wilson's Hospital, 425 
Woodford, 144 

-, Cross, 480, 484 



Woodlawn, 309 
Woodlawn cottage, 367 
Woodstock, 445, 452 
Woodstock castle, 220 
Yew Island, 366 
Youghall, 468, 469 

, Crow, 476, 486 

ac. of, 468 



: 



/ 



LONDON : 
f-RINTKD BY T. BRKTTBXL, RUPERT 8TRBET, HAYMARKKT. 



- 



J 



A l 




2U44 Udl d/ti BU6