(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Maine : a history"



k 















4 Tfr 
I 









Presented to the 
LIBRARY o/^e 

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO 

h 

Ontario 
Legislative Library 




















V 




























% 













4-- 










:, 

* I ' . 



T 



MAINE 

A HISTORY 



CENTENNIAL EDITION 



BIOGRAPHICAL 




THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

NEW YORK 

1919 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



MI:.- 11 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



MELVILLE W. FULLER The qualities 
which advanced Melville W. Fuller to the head 
of the United States Supreme Court were in- 
herited from a long line of noble ancestors, in- 
cluding two of the most important families of 
the Plymouth Colony, numbering among his 
forebears lawyers and jurists of marked ability. 

The ancient seat of the family was in the 
parish of Redenhall, County Norfolk, England. 
Edward and Samuel Fuller were passengers on 
the historic Mayflower, and settled in Plymouth, 
Massachusetts. Edward Fuller, the son of Rob- 
ert Fuller, was one of the signers of the compact 
on board the Mayflower before landing. Both 
he and his wife died early in 1621, leaving a son 
Samuel. This Samuel, early left an orphan, lived 
with his uncle, Dr. Samuel Fuller, who was the 
first physician at Plymouth, and of whose will 
he was executor. He married Jane, daughter of 
Rev. John Lathrop, and had nine children, among 
whom was Samuel Fuller. He married 
cousin Anna, daughter of Captain M;itt'" 
ler, who also came in the Mayflower, but after 
the death of his parents returned to Englaml 
Matthew Fuller, eldest son of Samuel aiui Aura 
Fuller, was born at Barnstable, and died in Col- 
chester, Connecticut, where he settled in 1713. 
He married Patience Young, daughter of George 
and Hannah (Pinson) Young, of Scituate. Their 
third son, Young Fuller, married Jerusha, daugh- 
ter of Jonathan and Bridget (Brockway) Beebe, 
of East Haddam, Connecticut. Their third son, 
Caleb Fuller, born in 1735, in Colchester f 
uated from Yale College in 1758, and received the 
degree of Master of Arts in 1762. He rcsid> 
Ellington, Connecticut, and married Hannah, 
daughter of Rev. Habijah Weld, the famous min- 
ister who preached forty-five years ago at 
boro, Massachusetts, a son of Rev. Thoinri 
Weld, the first minister of Dunstable, and great- 
grandson of Rev. Thomas Weld, the first minister 
of Roxbury, Massachusetts. Caleb Fuller re- 
moved to Middletown, Connecticut, and later to 
Hanover, New Hampshire. His son, C:i]> 
Henry Weld Fuller, graduated from Dartmoi:;' 
College, studied law, and settled in practi 
Augusta, Maine, in 1803. He married Esthe' 
Gould, daughter of Captain Benjamin Gould, of 



Newburyport, Massachusetts, who led a company 
of thirty minute-men from Topsfield to Lexing- 
ton on the alarm of 1775, and received a wound 
in that battle, which left a scar upon his cheek 
for life. He was later a captain in the Continen- 
tal army, and was the last man to cross Charles- 
town Neck on the retreat from Bunker Hill. He 
participated in the battles of White Plains, Ben- 
nington and Stillwater, and commanded the main 
guard at West Point when Arnold fled after the 
capture of Major Andre. Frederick Augustus 
Fuller, son of Henry Weld and Esther (Gould) 
Fuller, was born October 5, 1806, in Augusta, 
read law with his father, was admitted to the bar, 
practiced at Augusta and Orono, Maine, and was 
chairman of the board of county commissioner* 
of Penobscot county. He died January 29, 1841. 
He married Catherine Martin, daughter of 
Nathan and Pauline Bass (Cony) Weston, of 
Augusta. Nathan Weston was the second Chief 
Justice of Maine, a son of Daniel Weston, who 
was a jurist of note. 

Chief Justice Melville Weston Fuller, son of 
Frederick Augustus and Catherine Martin (Wes- 
ton) Fuller, was born in Augusta, Maine, Feb- 
ruary ii, 1833. He was prepared for college at 
Augusta, and went to Bowdoin College in 1849, 
from which he graduated in 1853, afterward en- 
tering the Dane Law School of Harvard Uni- 
versity, and receiving his degree of Bachelor of 
Laws in 1855. He entered upon practice in 
Augusta, and while waiting for clients employed 
his spare time in newspaper work, a circum- 
stance to which is doubtless due somewhat of 
the literary facility which formed a marked fea- 
ture in his career. 

While Mr. Fuller was acting as reporter for 
the Augusta Age (of which his uncle, B. A. C. 
Fuller, and himself were publishers) in the Maine 
House of Representatives, James G.. Blaine wa 
engaged in a similar capacity in the Senate for 
the Kennebec Journal. Through political oppo- 
nents, then and in after life, the two were always 
personal friends, and at last by curious coinci- 
dence, found themselves together in Washington 
the one as Chief Justice of the United States, 
and the other as Secretary of State. 

Mr. Fuller, while practicing in Augusta, was. 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



elected city attorney at the age of twenty-three, 
and also president of the Common Council. In 
1856 he visited Chicago, where he met Mr. S. K. 
Dow, from New York county, Maine, a practic- 
ing lawyer. A partner of Mr. Dow was retiring 
from the firm, and Mr. Dow offered Mr. Fuller 
a place in his office, either as partner, or clerk, 
at the salary of fifty dollars a month. He chose 
the latter, and worked on those terms for five 
months, living within his income. Before a 
year he enjoyed a considerable business, in which 
he continued until he left the bar for the Su- 
preme Court. His 'legal career was strongly 
marked with industry, persistency and brilliant 
success. During his thirty years' practice he 
was engaged in as many as three thousand cases 
at the Chicago bar. He affected no specialty, 
conducting a general practice, practically exclud- 
ing divorce law and criminal law, in which class 
of cases his name scarcely appears. Mr. Ful- 
ler's partnership with Mr. Dow continued until 
1860. From 1862 to 1864 his firm was Fuller 
& Ham, then Fuller, Ham & Shepard for two 
years, and for two years thereafter Fuller & 
Shepard. In 1869 he received as partner his 
cousin, Joseph E. Smith, son of Governor Smith, 
of Maine. This was terminated in 1877, after 
which he was alone. His business was only such 
as he cared to accept, and his professional in- 
come during his later practicing years was esti- 
mated at twenty to thirty thousand dollars per 
annum. 

A staunch Democrat, Mr. Fuller became by 
sympathy and personal regard an earnest adher- 
ent of Senator Stephen A. Douglas, and on the 
death of the great statesman, June 3, 1861, he 
was made a member of the committee having 
charge of the funeral ceremonies. In 1862 Mr. 
Fuller was elected a member of the Illinois Con- 
stitutional Convention. He reported to that 
body the resolutions in memory of Senator 
Douglas, and made one of the opening addresses 
on that occasion. In 1864 he was elected to the 
Illinois Legislature, and as a Unionist (not a 
Republican or anti-slaveryite) gave support to 
the National Government. He was a delegate 
to the Democratic National Conventions of 1864, 
1872, 1876 and 1880, always taking an active in- 
terest. Immediately after the election of Mr. 
Cleveland as President for his first term, Mr. 
Fuller called upon him in Albany, and Mr. 
Cleveland at once conceived for him high appre- 
ciation. On the death of Chief Justice Waite, it 
seemed desirable that his successor should be 
taken from the West, and Mr. Fuller's liberal 



education, high legislative ability, lofty profes- 
sional standard, marked industry and command 
of languages all these, combined with his de- 
votion to the principles of the party of which 
President Cleveland was the chosen exponent 
for the Nation, made him a logical nominee for 
the position, which was accordingly offered him. 
Mr. Fuller, highly appreciating the high and un- 
expected honor, hesitated. He was not ambi- 
tious of distinction, and his large family necessi- 
tated his most careful consideration as to 
whether he could afford a position which would 
reward him less liberally than did his profes- 
sion. He, however, consented, and on April 
30, 1888, President Cleveland nominated him for 
Chief Justice of the United States, and he was 
confirmed by the Senate on July 20, and took the 
oath of office October 8, 1888. 

Mr. Fuller received the degree of Doctor of 
Laws from the Northwestern University and 
from Bowdoin University in 1888; from Harvard 
in 1890, and from Yale and Dartmouth in 1901. 
He was chancellor of the Smithsonian Institu- 
tion; chairman of the board of trustees of Bow- 
doin College. He was one of the arbitrators to 
settle the boundary line between Venezuela and 
British Guinea, Paris, 1899; was a member of 
the arbitral tribunal in the matter of the Muscar 
Downs, The Hague, 1905; a member of the per- 
manent Court of Arbitration, The Hague; and 
received the thanks of Congress, December 20, 
1889. As Chief Justice, he administered the of- 
ficial oath to Presidents Harrison, Cleveland, Mc- 
Kinley and Taft, and died during the administra- 
tion of the latter, July 4, 1910. 

Mr. Fuller married (first) in 1858, Calista O., 
daughter of Eri Reynolds; and (second) May 30, 
1866, Mary E., daughter of William F. Cool- 
baugh, a leading citizen of Chicago. She died 
April 17, 1904, when Chief Justice Fuller prac- 
tically retired from society. 



EUGENE HALE The name of Hale will 
ever honor the history of Maine, as it does that 
of the United States. It is identified with pa- 
triotism and public service. Eugene Hale de- 
scended from worthy American ancestors. The 
name under the different forms of de la Hale, 
at-Hale, Hales and Hale, has been abundant in 
Hertfordshire, England, since the early part 
of the thirteenth century. No evidence appears 
that any of the name were above the rank of 
yeoman before 1560. The name also early pre- 
vailed and is probably still found in a dozen 
other counties in England. Of the Hales of 




> 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



Gloucestershire, to which family belonged the 
illustrious Sir Matthew Hale, Lord Chief Jus- 
tice, Atkyns, in his history of that county, says: 
"The family of Hale has been of ancient stand- 
ing in this county, and always esteemed for their 
probity and charity." Within the first fifty years 
after the settlement of Massachusetts Bay, at 
least eight emigrants of the name of Hale, and 
perhaps two or three more, settled in that col- 
ony and in Connecticut, descendants of five of 
whom are traced to the present time. There is 
no evidence that any of these were of kin to 
Thomas Hale, of N'ewbury, the immigrant an- 
cestor of the line of which this article treats. 
The name was also found among the early set- 
tlers of Virginia and Maryland, and their de- 
scendants bearing the cognomen are still found 
in the Southern States. In New England the 
name has been brought into prominence by 
Nathan Hale, the patriot by John P. Hale, the 
distinguished statesman of New Hampshire; 
Senator Eugene Hale, of Maine, and others. 

Thomas Hale, the earliest known progenitor 
of the family herein considered, was of the par- 
ish of Walton-at-Stone, in Hertfordshire, Eng- 
land. No record of his birth is found, but the 
parish register, which styles him "Thomas Hale, 
Senior," shows that he was buried October 19, 
1630. He left a will bearing date October 1 1, 
1630, proved December 9, 1630, in the court of 
the Archdeaconry of Hitchin, in the County of 
Herts, the original of which is still on file among 
the records of the court. After the usual pious 
profession of faith, thanks to God, committal 
of his soul to its creator and his body to burial, 
he disposes of his personal property and his 
real estate consisting of eleven, and perhaps 
twelve, distinct parcels. Among those desig- 
nated are the house close, the backside close, 
the hill close, and the meadow and rye close. 
From the brief record, it is apparent that he was 
of the rank of yeoman of the smaller class as to 
property, but marked by thrift, respectability, 
honesty, piety, and prudent foresight. It is im- 
possible to determine the value of the estate 
which he left, but it was evidently not large, 
perhaps worth an annual rental of four or five 
hundred dollars. He married Joan Kirby, who 
was of the parish of Little Munden, Herts, which 
was probably the place of her birth and their 
marriage. They were the parents of five chil- 
dren: Dionis, Thomas, Mary, Dorothy and 
Elizabeth. At some time between her husband's 
death and June, 1637, Joan, widow of Thomas 
Hale, married a Bydes, or Bides, probably John, 



and was still living in October, 1640, the date 
of her mother's will, but was probably dead be- 
fore 1660. 

The only son, Thomas Hale, was born in 1606, 
in the parish of Walton-at-Stone, and baptized 
there June 15, 1606. In 1635 he settled in New- 
bury, Massachusetts, with his wife, Thomasine, 
locating on what is now called the Parker river. 
Ten years later he removed to Haverhill, same 
colony, where he was a landholder, a prominent 
citizen, a magistrate, serving in various official 
capacities, and upon important committees. 
Many conveyances of real estate, in which he is 
described as "glover," "yeoman," or "leather- 
dresser," appear in his name. He died in New- 
bury, December 21, 1682, and his widow, January 
30, 1683. 

Their eldest child, Thomas Hale, was born 
November 18, 1633, in England, and died Octo- 
ber 22, 1688, in Newbury. He was almost con- 
tinuously in the town service, as an official or 
on important committees. He married at Salem, 
May 26, 1657, Mary, daughter of Richard and 
Alice (Bosworth) Hutchinson, of that town, bap- 
tized December 28, 1630, at Muskham, County 
Notts, England, died December 8, 1715, in Box- 
ford. She was the executrix of his will, which 
disposed of property valued at 505, 6s. and 8d. 

Their third son was Captain Joseph Hale, born 
February 20, 1671, in N'ewbury, died February 
13, 1761, in Boxford, one week short of ninety 
years old. He was a man of means, and served 
the town in both civil and military capacities. 
He married, November 15, 1693, Mary, daughter 
of William and Sarah (Perley) Watson, of Box- 
ford. She died February I, 1708. 

They were the parents of Ambrose Male, thin] 
son, born July 16, 1699, in Boxford, died April 13, 
1767, in Harvard, Massachusetts. He was a 
Colonial soldier in 1759 from Harvard, where he 
settled about 1742. He married, in Boxford, De- 
cember n, 1722, Joanna Dodge, born July 15, 
1702, died February 10, 1732, daughter of Antipas 
and Joanna (Low) Dodge, of Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts. 

Their second son was Benjamin Hale, born 
March 14, 1728, in Boxford, died September 20, 
1771, in Harvard. In 1757-58 he was a soldier 
of the French War, a corporal in Captain Has- 
kell's company, which marched from Harvard to 
Fort William Henry in 1757. His estate was 
valued at 405, 45. lod. He married in Harvard, 
October 6, 1757, Mary Taylor, born March 12, 
'733i in that town, who survived him, daughter 
of Israel and Rachel (Wheeler) Taylor. 



li 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Their youngest child, David Hale, was born 
March 22, 1772, in Harvard, lived some years at 
Rutland, Massachusetts, whence he removed to 
Turner, Maine, and died there February 6, 1846. 
His homestead farm is still in possession of the 
family. He married in Ellington, Connecticut, 
October 5, 1794, Sarah Kingsbury of that town, 
born 1766, died May 7, 1847, daughter of Simon 
and Deliverance (Cady), Kingsbury, of Elling- 
ton Connecticut. 

Their second son, James Sullivan Hale, born 
December 13, 1806, in Turner, died there De- 
cember 17, 1880. He was a well-to-do farmer, 
a man of marked individuality of character, with 
a keen sense of humor. He married February 
ii, 1835, Betsey Staples, born October 16, 1808, 
died December 5, 1881, eldest child of John and 
Betsey (Young) Staples, of Turner. Two of 
their sons attained high distinction in their native 
State. 

Eugene Hale, eldest child of James Sullivan 
Hale, was born June 9, 1836, in Turner, and 
grew up on the paternal farm, carrying his part 
in its labors, while attaining his primary edu- 
cation in the district and grammar schools of 
the town. After a course at Hebron Academy, 
he entered the office of Howard & Strout in 
Portland, where he studied law and was admitted 
to the bar in January, 1857, before the completion 
of his twenty-first year. He immediately began 
practice of law in Orland, Maine, removing soon 
afterward to Ellsworth, becoming a member of 
the law firm of Robinson & Hale. The senior 
member died soon after, and for ten years Mr. 
Hale continued there in independent practice, de- 
veloping great ability and success as a lawyer. 
For nine consecutive years he served Hancock 
county as attorney, and was long associated un- 
der the firm name of Hale & Emery with Lu- 
cilius Alonzo Emery, recently retired from the 
Supreme Bench of the State. After the latter's 
elevation to the bench, Mr. Hale was associated 
with Hannibal E. Hamlin, son of the venerable 
Hannibal Hamlin, Vice-President of the United 
States under Abraham Lincoln. Very early Mr. 
Hale became active in political matters, and in 
1867, 1868 and 1880 was a member of the State 
Legislature. He was remarkably well versed in 
political questions, a ready and able debater, and 
quickly gained prominence in legislative matters. 
During his last term he was chairman of the 
committee of the Legislature to investigate what 
has since become familiarly known as the "State 
Steal," and largely through his efforts this 
scheme was exposed and thwarted. In 1868 he 



was elected to the Forty-first Congress, and by 
reelection served in the Forty-second and Forty- 
third Congresses. In 1874 President Grant ten- 
dered him the office of postmaster-general, which 
he declined. By reelection he served in the 
Forty-fourth and Forty-fifth Congresses, and was 
chairman of the Republican Congressional Com- 
mittee in the last. President Hayes offered him 
the appointment of Secretary of the Navy, but 
this he also declined. In 1868 he was a delegate 
to the National Republican Convention, and 
again in 1876 and 1880. In the last two he was 
a leader of the Blaine forces. On the retire- 
ment of Hannibal Hamlin from the United States 
Senate, Mr. Hale was elected to succeed him, 
and took his seat March 4, 1881. By subsequent 
reelections he was chosen for a period of thirty 
years. In all of these he received the unanimous 
vote of his party in the Legislature. While in 
the House of Representatives he was a member 
of the Committee on Appropriations, the Com- 
mittee on Naval Affairs and other important 
committees, and when he entered the Senate 
was placed on the Committees on Appropriations 
and N'aval Affairs. In 1919 the Government 
caused one of its new naval ships, a destroyer, 
to be named the "Eugene Hale" in memory of 
his services for the American Navy, the leading 
naval authorities agreeing that his constructive 
hand had more to do with the building up of 
our navy than that of any other statesman of 
his generation. In his long service in the Sen- 
ate he took a leading position, was chairman of 
the Committee on Census until 1893, when the 
Democrats gained control of the Senate. He 
served as chairman of the committees on Ap- 
propriations and Naval Affairs, and as member 
of the Finance, Philippine Census, Canadian re- 
lations, and Private Land Claims committees, 
and in the last term was chairman of the Re- 
publican Conference of the Senate, and of the 
Republican steering committee and was the floor 
leader of the Republicans. Many of the most 
important appropriation bills were passed under 
his management. Among these were the bills 
passed in the Senate for the construction of a 
new navy. He introduced the first amendment 
favoring reciprocity with the countries of Cen- 
tral and South America, which he supported with 
speeches that received a wide circulation. While 
his addresses were delivered with telling force, 
and made keen thrusts at his adversaries, they 
were never ill-natured. During the campaign 
of 1882 his speech upon the free trade attitude 
of the Democratic Convention of that year was 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



the Republican keynote speech and was very 
widely circulated. Mr. Hale was ever active in 
securing efficient and proper government of 
the District of Columbia. Both in the practice 
of law and in the conduct of party politics he 
was always recognized as the wise counsellor. 

He was a wide reader, delighting especially in 
poetry. His style was based on the best models 
in English literature. He could quote accu- 
rately from almost all the standard works of fic- 
tion and poetry. A contemporary recalls an 
instance where Senator Hale once heard a chance 
quotation from Scott's 'Lady of the Lake"; he 
immediately recited the whole battle scene, giv- 
ing the charge of the royal archers through the 
glen, and the rush of the clansmen under 
Roderick Dhu. With words carefully selected 
he was an easy and forcible speaker, and his 
extemporaneous addresses required no revision. 
As an after-dinner speaker he was always ef- 
fective and interesting, whether his remarks 
treated of great subjects or were on occasions 
where wit and merriment abounded. The prin- 
cipal educational institutions of Maine Bowdoin, 
Bates and Colby colleges, conferred upon him 
the degree of LL.D. Mr. Hale had great faith 
in the resources and prospects of his native State, 
and his investments were made in her industries. 
He erected a beautiful home called "The Pines" 
on the heights at Ellsworth, surrounded by sev- 
eral hundred acres of field and woodland. He 
was an extensive purchaser of timber lands and 
of seashore property, and invested in cotton, 
woolen and pulp mills of Maine. Wherever 
known, Mr. Hale was recognized as a man of 
culture, of broad and genial nature, and drew 
about himself cordial friends and few enemies. 
He was a liberal entertainer, both at Washing- 
ton and in his home at Ellsworth, where, dur- 
ing the summer vacations, many friends from 
within and without the State gladly accepted his 
hospitality. In these entertainments he was ably 
seconded by his wife, an accomplished hostess, 
delighting in nothing more than looking after a 
house full of friends. 

Mr. Hale was married in December, 1871, at 
Washington, to Mary Douglas Chandler, only 
daughter of Hon. Zachariah Chandler, long a 
Senator from Michigan, and afterwards Secre- 
tary of the Interior. Mrs. Hale inherited many 
of the great qualities of her eminent father. 
She was a woman of rare endowments and char- 
acter, and a source of helpfulness to her distin- 
guished husband through life. They had three 
sons: Chandler, Frederick and Eugene. Fred- 



erick Hale, the second son, now occupies a seat 
in the United States Senate, a worthy son of an 
eminent father. He was elected to the Senate 
in 1916, his father having retired in 1911. 

Mr. Hale, the subject of this sketch, died Oc- 
tober 27, ?9i8. 



HON. JOSEPH PARKER BASS was a 
lineal descendant of Pilgrim and Puritan an- 
cestry. His paternal ancestor was Deacon Sam- 
uel Bass, who, with his wife Anne, came to 
New England in Governor Winthrop's company, 
in 1630. He removed with his family, in 1640, 
to Braintree (now Quincy), and represented the 
town in the General Court for twelve years. 
Historians credit him as being a man of strong 
and vigorous mind and as one of the leading 
men of the Massachusetts Bay Colony. His son, 
John Bass, was born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, 
in 1632, and married, December 3, 1657, Ruth 
Alden, a daughter of John and Priscilla (Mul- 
lins) Alden, characters that have been made 
famous by Longfellow's poem, "The Courtship of 
Myles Standish." John Bass, the son of John 
and Ruth (Alden) Bass, married Abigail Adams, 
a daughter of Joseph and Abigail Adams. Her 
father was an uncle of John Adams, the second 
President of the United States. 

The line of descent for five generations is as 
follows: Samuel Bass, son of John and Abigail 
(Adams) Bass, married Sarah Savil, and their 
only son, Samuel (2) Bass, married Anna Raw- 
son. Samuel (3) Bass, son of Samuel and Anna 
(Rawson) Bass, was born August 22, 1747, and 
died in February, 1840. He married, September 
29, 1772, Elizabeth Brackett, and their son, 
Samuel (4) Bass, born in Braintree, Massachu- 
setts, in 1777, married Polly Belcher. Samuel (5) 
Bass, son of Samuel (4) and Polly (Belcher) 
Bass, was born in Braintree, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 15, 1805, and died in Randolph, Vermont, 
October 17, 1861. He married Margaret Parker, 
a daughter of Joseph Parker, of Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, and the issue of this marriage was 
two sons, Samuel (6), born October II, 1833, 
and Joseph Parker. 

Joseph Parker Bass was born at Randolph, 
Vermont, September 24, 1835. He received hit 
education in the common schools and academy 
located in his native town. Arriving at the age 
of eighteen years, he went to Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, turned his attention to commercial busi- 
ness, and was employed as a clerk in a dry goods 
store there. Seven years later he engaged in the 
same business in that city for himself, and in the 



8 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



fall of 1863 removed to Bangor, Maine, where 
he continued the dry goods business until 1870. 
He then turned his attention to larger fields of 
enterprise, and engaged quite extensively in buy- 
ing and selling timber lands and city real estate. 
Mr. Bass, from an early age, was interested in 
political matters, and he became a familiar figure 
at the sessions of the Maine Legislature. It is 
an interesting fact that his first appearance her- 
alded the memorable senatorial contest of 1869 
between Hannibal Hamlin and Lot M. Morrill, 
in which the latter was defeated by one vote. 
This result was obtained by a member from 
Aroostook county, who cast a blank ballot, and 
the efforts of Mr. Bass, in connection with other 
Bangor citizens, were directed to keep the east- 
ern members in line for Mr. Hamlin. Although 
Mr. Bass was originally a Republican, and sup- 
ported General Grant for the Presidency in 1872, 
the following year he accepted a nomination for 
mayor of Bangor on a Citizens' ticket, and de- 
feated his Republican opponent by a majority of 
405 votes. In entering on his duties as the chief 
municipal officer of the city, there were many 
important matters for consideration. A man of 
strong convictions, Mr. Bass would not yield to 
coercion. The custom of cities loaning funds for 
the building of railroads had become ruinous to 
the city's finances, and the newly elected Mayor 
vigorously protested a loan for the construction 
of a railroad from Bangor to Calais. The matter 
was to be voted upon by the people at a special 
meeting, and the parties interested, having the 
support of the Board of Aldermen, attempted to 
have a special meeting of the board called to 
postpone the meeting of the voters, but this 
Mayor Bass declined to do, and on the date 
appointed the loan project was defeated. Through 
his efforts during a smallpox epidemic, free vac- 
cination and the isolation of patients were estab- 
lished. In the case of an afflicted child, the 
father resisted its removal to the pest house, 
threatening death to anyone attempting its re- 
moval. The policemen being afraid to do their 
duty, Mayor Bass took the initiative, and directed 
the removal of the child. The child died and the 
father brought suit against the mayor for $10,- 
ooo, but the latter was sustained by the courts, 
and the decision has often been quoted as author- 
ity in establishing the rights of municipal offi- 
cers in handling contagious diseases. Partisan- 
ship was at the extreme point during Mayor 
Bass' administration. His erection of a building 
to house the city carts was criticised; it was 
charged by his political opponents that the con- 



struction was without any authority of the City 
Council. This was, however, contradicted by a 
member of the finance committee of the Council, 
and though the new City Council ordered Mr. 
Bass to remove the building, the city solicitor 
decided that the erection of the building was 
legal. 

An interesting episode of Mayor Bass' admin- 
istration was the visit of President Grant and a 
distinguished party to Bangor, in August, 1873. 
Members of the Republican party determined 
that the Mayor should take no part in the recep- 
tion of the Presidential party, but he outwitted 
his opponents, captured the party, gave them *. 
ride of several hours' duration, entertained them 
at lunch, and carried off all the honors of the 
reception. This was President Grant's second 
visit to Bangor, as he was in the city at the 
great celebration held at the time of the opening 
of the European & North American Railway, 
October 18 and 19, 1871, to mark the establish- 
ment of direct rail line between New York City 
and Halifax, Nova Scotia. 

It was during his mayoralty administration that 
Mr. Bass interested himself in the State Fair. 
In 1873 the City Council voted an appropriation 
if the fair was held at Bangor, with a contingent 
appropriation if held there the following year. 
The fair officials, in violation of their agreement, 
decided to hold the fair in 1874 in another local- 
ity, and though the Mayor vetoed a resolution 
of the City Council to pay the contingent appro- 
priation, the new incoming administration paid 
the amount. The position taken by Mr. Bass 
worked against his re-election for Mayor, but 
afterwards he was commended for the position 
he had taken in the transaction. This unfair 
treatment by the trustees of the Maine State Fair 
in discriminating against Bangor induced Mr. 
Bass, in connection with F. O. Beal and Ezra L. 
Sterns, to promote the Eastern Maine State Fair. 
This was a private organization, and the first fair 
was held in 1883, and for twelve years Mr. Bass 
was president of the association, a corporation 
having been formed, and successful exhibitions 
were given. The exhibition of 1887 rivaled even 
the cattle shows in England, and in many respects 
fairly equalled the Royal Exhibition in that coun- 
try. The following year the great feature was 
the exhibit by the New Brunswick government 
of twenty carloads of Percherons, Clydesdales 
stallions and brood mares. In 1889 a controversy 
arose between Mr. Bass and his colleagues, the 
latter demanding they should receive compensa- 
tion for their services. As Mr. Bass had fur- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



g 



nished the financial backing and the exhibition 
grounds free, he immediately took possession of 
the real estate, and for the next six years it 
was conducted under his sole management. The 
great attraction of the fair in 1890 was the stal- 
lion Nelson, who made the world's record 2.ISJ4, 
hitched to high sulky on a half-mile track. The 
stallion had been suspended by the National 
Trotting Association, of which the Eastern Maine 
State Fair was a member, and on the refusal of 
the parent organization to allow the Maine horse 
to exhibit, the Eastern Maine State Fair with- 
drew its membership. Mr. Bass, however, se- 
cured an act of the Legislature to allow Maine 
agricultural societies to enforce the rules of the 
National Trotting Association when not conflict- 
ing with the laws of the State. 

A suit in equity was brought by Messrs. Beal 
and Sterns against Mr. Bass, claiming he was 
profiting by the fair, and that the corporation not 
being legally formed, was a partnership. The 
courts decided it was a legally organized cor- 
poration, but in 1894 Mr. Bass, owing to the 
divided support of the citizens of Bangor, decided 
to withdraw from his connection with the fair, 
and on payment of a certain amount by the 
plaintiffs in the suit, made a new lease of the 
exhibition grounds, and withdrew from any con- 
nection with the enterprise. 

Mr. Bass was a member of the Legislature of 
1876; he succeeded in obtaining the passage of 
an amendment to the law relating to the liabili- 
ties of municipalities for personal damages on 
the public sidewalks and highways. He also in- 
troduced an order for investigation of the sale 
of Stnte lands for the benefit of the agricultural 
college at Orono, which had been disposed of at 
a ruinous price, much below that of other States. 
He always remained a warm advocate for appro- 
priations for the State College, which he felt 
thus suffered at the hands of the State. Though 
the inquiry was held, it was difficult to obtain 
facts, and no redress could be obtained from the 
purchasers of the lands. He took an active in- 
terest in the legislation to allow the University 
of Maine to confer the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts, which met with strong opposition from 
Bowdoin College, but it was finally passed by 
the Legislature of 1007. He took an early stand 
in favor of the non-taxation of mortgages, which 
finally became a law in 1911, and though at- 
tempts have been made to repeal it, it is still a 
law of the State. It was largely through his 
endeavors that a State hospital was finally located 
at Bangor. In 1897 he introduced a bill to take 



poultry and poultry products from the taxable 
list, and through his appearance before the com- 
mittee, and earnest endeavors, the bill was passed. 
The valuation of this product was more than 
doubled in the next fifteen years. He advocated 
the same law for cattle, sheep and swine, and 
succeeded in the passage of a measure, in 1915, 
exempting them from taxation, but by an amend- 
ment passed in 1917, the wise law became in- 
operative. Mr. Bass' interest in legislative mat- 
ters was always for the advancement of the State, 
and he never benefited by one dollar in the pas- 
sage of any legislative enactment. 

One of Mr. Bass' principal interests was in the 
timber lands of Maine. Over a long period of 
years there were various attempts made to in- 
crease the taxation on timber lands; this was not 
objected to by the owners if the money be used 
for protection against forest fires. Mr. Bass was 
chairman of the legislative committee for the 
Maine timber land owners for over thirty years. 
At the legislative session of 1905 a resolution 
was introduced for a constitutional amendment 
authorizing the Legislature to assess taxes on 
all timber lands in unorganized townships equal 
to that of organized towns and cities, and even 
did not relieve the timber land owners of a road 
tax. The supporters of the bill argued that these 
taxes should be used for the support of State 
institutions and public purposes. Mr. Bass, as 
chairman of the committee of timber land own- 
ers, was supported by influential citizens of the 
State, and after a hearing before the committee 
to which it was assigned, so convincing were the 
arguments against the bill, the committee unani- 
mously reported that the amendment ought not 
to pass. 

In 1883 the Maine Central railroad leased the 
European & North American railway. There 
was quite a large amount of European stock 
owned in Bangor, and the city received from the 
State treasurer, under the gross transportation 
law, a rebate of several thousand dollars on stock 
owned in Bangor. A Bangor member of the 
Governor's Council was able to induce the Coun- 
cil to refuse to grant the rebate to municipali- 
ties where stock was owned, for the reason that 
the road had been leased to the Maine Central. 
Mr. Bass took this matter up before the legisla- 
tive committee and cited legal opinions, taking 
the ground that the executive council could either 
retain this money in the treasury or deliver 
it to the municipalities where stock was owned, 
as before the road was leased. Mr. Bass had 
an act introduced in the Legislature directing 



10 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



that this rebate money be paid to municipalities 
where the stock was owned, leased roads as well 
as others, which act was finally passed. After 
the passage of the act, there were three years 
that the money was retained in the State treasury. 
Mr. Bass had another act introduced, ordering 
the State to pay over to the municipalities the 
amount of rebate retained for the three years, 
which was passed. Various attempts have been 
made to secure the repeal of this rebate law, 
but they have been defeated, with Mr. Bass lead- 
ing the opposition. In the formation of the 
Bangor & Aroostook railroad, Mr. Bass was 
active in securing rights-of-way and necessary 
legislation, and was the first person to subscribe 
to the stock, taking $52,500. On the organization 
of the company he was chosen one of the di- 
rectors. Through his instrumentality the bequest 
left by Gen. S. F. Hersey to the City of Bangor 
was largely augmented. The principal of the 
bequest was to be paid in 1900, and the trustees 
of the estate had made a previous settlement of 
$100,000 cash with the City Council. Mr. Bass, 
not satisfied with this settlement, urged the City 
Council, in 1900, to make further demands of 
the trustees, and eventually through his efforts 
another $50,000 was obtained from the trustees 
of the estate. 

Bangor, in 1911, suffered from a great fire, and 
the question of civic improvement became a lead- 
ing question. The appointment of Mr. Bass as a 
member of the Committee of Safety, brought 
him in touch with the situation. He strongly 
advocated the building of the public library on 
its present location, and also the erection of the 
high school building on its former lot in Abbott 
Square, and opposed the movement to build the 
post office in Centre Park. He was successful 
in opposing, in Bangor, the establishment of the 
commission form of government. 

For over forty years Mr. Bass was the owner 
of the Bangor Daily Commercial, and, like a 
number of newspaper proprietors, was called 
upon to defend himself in libel suits, and he suc- 
cessfully combatted these suits, the costs being 
assessed to the plaintiffs. A corporation was 
formed in 1905, known as the J. P. Bass Pub- 
lishing Company, for the publication of the Daily 
and Weekly Commercial. 

Mr. Bass attended the National Democratic 
Convention held in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1880, and 
his prominence in Maine politics, even at that 
time, was recognized by William H. Barnum, 
chairman of the Democratic National Committee. 
In discussing plans for the Democratic cam- 



paign in Maine, Mr. Bass advised a general 
reorganization, with new committees in each 
Congressional district, arguing that on these 
conditions there would be good prospects of 
success. He was afterwards invited for a con- 
ference at New York City, when plans were 
formulated for the Maine compaign, the National 
Committee agreeing to duplicate any amount of 
money raised in each Congressional district. The 
fusion of the Democrats and Greenbackers re- 
sulted in the election of Gen. Harris M. Plaisted 
as Governor, though the Republican presidential 
candidate, General Garfielcl, carried the State. 

Mr. Bass was chairman of the executive com- 
mittee for Maine of the World's Fair Commis- 
sion, held at Chicago, Illinois, in 1893. He was 
successful in obtaining private subscriptions to 
augment the State appropriation of $10,000, and 
a building was erected at the cost of $30,000, 
which was pronounced by President Palmer of 
the Exposition as "the best building on the 
grounds except for size." The building after 
the Exposition was removed and rebuilt at Po- 
land Spring, Maine, where it is still preserved. 
Mr. Bass was a member of the Society of May- 
flower Descendants of Massachusetts and Maine 
and a member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. 

Mr. Bass married, in 1866, Mary L. March, 
daughter of Leonard and Martha L. March, 
prominent residents of Bangor, Maine. Mrs. 
Bass died in 1899. 

Honorable Joseph Parker Bass died at his 
home in Bangor, Maine, March 27, 1919, at the 
age of eighty-three years, six months and three 
days. He had been suffering for several weeks 
from obstruction to the circulation in his left 
leg, and it was hoped that he might obtain 
relief from an operation, which was performed 
by Dr. C. A. Porter, of Boston, but a clot of 
blood went to the heart and death came sud- 
denly. Mr. Bass left a large property and made 
a number of public bequests. He gave Maple- 
wood Park to Bangor for a public park, to be 
named Bass Park, and among other bequests 
was a gift of $25,000 to the Eastern Maine Gen- 
eral Hospital, and a liberal annuity for the 
Bangor Children's Home. 



GEORGE COLBY CHASE From most 
worthy Quaker ancestry, President Chase in- 
herited those qualities that placed him where he 
was at the time of his death. 

(I) The first of his family in this country was 
William Chase, born in 1595, who came in Win- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



11 



throp's fleet in 1630 with his wife, Mary, and son, 
William Chase. It has been claimed by some 
that he was related to Aquila Chase, who set- 
tled in Northeastern Massachusetts, but no such 
relationship has ever been proved. He settled 
at Roxbury, was a member of the Apostle Eliot's 
church, and was made freeman, May 14, 1634. 
In 1637 he was a member of the company that 
settled at Yarmouth, Massachusetts, where he 
died in May, 1659. His wife died in the follow- 
ing October. He was a soldier against the Nar- 
ragansett Indians in 1645. 

(II) William (2) Chase, son of William (l) 
Chase, born about 1622, who accompanied his 
father from England, lived in Yarmouth, where 
he died February 27, 1685. There is no record 
of his wife. Several of his sons were identified 
with the Society of Friends. They lived for 
some years in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, and 
removed thence to Swansea, Massachusetts. 

(III) Joseph Chase, fifth son of William (2) 
Chase, married, February 28, 1695, Sarah Sher- 
man, of Swansea, daughter of Sampson and Isa- 
belle (Tripp) Sherman, born September 24, 1677- 
The Shermans were also identified with the 
Friends, of whom there was a considerable col- 
ony in Swansea. 

(IV) Stephen Chase, fourth son of Joseph 
Chase, was born May 2, 1709, in Swansea, and 
died June 22, 1700. He married Esther Buf- 
fington, who was born August 12, 1712, and died 
May 14, 1750. The Buffingtons settled in Salem 
and Lynn, Massachusetts, and were among the 
early residents of Swansea, the first of the 
name, Thomas Bovanton, lived in Salem, where 
he married, December 30, 1671, Sarah South- 
wick, probably a granddaughter of Lawrence 
Southwick, and a niece of Whittier's Cassandra 
Southwick, of Salem. They were the parents of 
Benjamin Buffington, who was born 1675, in 
Salem, lived for a time in Lynn, and settled in 
Southeastern Massachusetts within the bounds 
of the Swansea Monthly Meeting Society of 
Friends, of which he became a member. The 
Puritan officials of Massachusetts were wont to 
ignore the Quakers, and the town records fail 
to give any information concerning the early 
Quaker families. It is probable that Esther Buf- 
fington, above mentioned, was a daughter of Ben- 
jamin Buffington. 

(V) Stephen (2) Chase, sixth son of Stephen 
(i) and Esther (Buffington) Chase, was born 
February 3, 1740, in the vicinity of Swansea, 
and died December 18, 1821, in Unity, Maine. 
He began the settlement of that town in 1775, 



probably traveling by water from his native lo- 
cality in Massachusetts; proceeded first to Dur- 
ham, Maine, and thence up the Kennebec river 
and its tributaries to Unity Pond, and on a com- 
manding eminence, overlooking that water, 
built a log house. His wife, Hannah (Blethen) 
Chase, born May 27, 1739, in Swansea, died in 
Unity, June 2, 1845, at the age of one hundred 
and six years. The Blethens were also a Quaker 
family that was numerously represented in and 
about Swansea. 

(VI) Hezekiah Chase, son of Stephen (2) and 
Hannah (Blethen) Chase, was born October 27, 
1774, and was an infant when his parent- located 
in Unity. He was one of the best known men 
of that town, and died there April 9, 1848. He 
was often the representative of the town in the 
State Legislature, and also served as judge of 
probate for Waldo county. His wife, Sarah 
(Gilkey) Chase, was born in Unity, September 
27, 1779. and died March 18, 1833. 

(VII) Joseph Chase, son of Hezekiah Chase, 
was born October 22, 1804, in Unity. He was 
an industrious farmer, recognized by his towns- 
men as a man of strict integrity, and popularly 
known as "the honest man." He was a great 
lover of books, his knowledge of the Bible and 
of general history surpassing that of most pro- 
fessional students. He died at his son's home 
in Lewiston, September 24, 1876. He married, 
July 4, 1842, Jane Chase Dyer, born in Thorn - 
dike, April 4, 1815, died in Lewiston, August 18, 
1887. She was a woman of superior intellect 
and encouraged her children in the pursuit of 
knowledge. Her mother was one of nine sisters, 
whose descendants have been characterized by 
public spirit and enterprise. One of them was 
the mother of Rev. Elijah P. and Hon. Owen 
Lovejoy, the former the first martyr in the cause 
of Anti-Slavery. 

(VIII) George Colby Chase, son of Joseph 
Chase, was born March 15, 1844, in Unity, and 
passed through the usual experiences of a farm- 
er's son in Maine. He was early introduced to 
rigorous farm labor, and previous to the age of 
twelve years attended the district schools in 
winter only, with the exception of a few weeks 
in summer. After he was twelve years old his 
school privileges were entirely limited to the 
winter term, with the exception of a few weeks 
in the old-fashioned high school. When sixteen 
years old, through the influence of his mother, 
he was permitted to spend a term at the Maine 
State Seminary. Principal Cheney, his teacher 
in Latin, especially urged upon the boy's parents 



12 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



his continuance in school, but circumstances pre- 
vented his return to the seminary for more than 
two years. During much of this time the severe 
illness of his father left the entire care of the 
family on this youth of sixteen. In the succeed- 
ing four years, beginning at the age of seven- 
teen, he taught winter schools and had an occa- 
sional term at the seminary, but was busily en- 
gaged most of the time in farm labor. At the 
age of twenty he graduated from the preparatory 
department of the seminary, at the head of his 
class, and in the following autumn entered Bates 
College. Poor health and the necessity of earn- 
ing the expenses of his education somewhat re- 
tarded his progress, but he persevered, was ac- 
tive in the religious work of the college and 
in the debates of his literary society. In 1868 
he graduated at the head of his class, having re- 
ceived in his sophomore year the prize for the 
first public debate held in the college. 

His friends had always expected that he would 
enter the ministry, but he was hesitant, not feel- 
ing sure that he was called to preach. In his 
uncertainty respecting duty, he declined an op- 
portunity to remain at Bates as a teacher with 
the prospect of a permanent position in the 
college. About this time he also declined the 
principalship of the Maine Central Institute and 
a promising position in Rhode Island. He be- 
came instructor in Greek, Latin, Mental and 
Moral Philosophy in the New Hampton Literary 
Institution, where at the end of his second year 
the examination of his classes was attended by 
President Cheney and Professor Stanton of Bates. 
Upon their urgent request that he return to his 
alma mater, he decided to attend the Theological 
School at Bates, and at the same time to act as 
tutor in the college. Here from 1870 to 1871 he 
studied Theology and taught Greek to the fresh- 
man class. At the end of the year he was unani- 
mously elected to the Chair of Rhetoric and Eng- 
lish Literature in Bates, and spent the following 
year in graduate work at Harvard University 
in special preparation for his duties. Among 
his instructors were Professors James Russell 
Lowell, Ezra Abbott, Francis J. Child and E. A. 
Sophocles. In 1872 he began his work at Bates. 
Practically nothing had been attempted pre- 
viously in his department. The organization of 
the work in English at Bates is therefore to be 
credited wholly to President Chase. His work 
in the early years was extremely laborious, in- 
cluding not only lectures and recitations, but the 
correction of all student themes and the care 
of all class and public speaking. For several 



years he gave declamation drill during each term 
to every student in the college. His hours of 
labor were longer than those of almost any un- 
skilled workman in the State. The condition of 
the college also demanded that he assist in other 
departments and a part of the work in his own 
department was necessarily given over to tutors 
and instructors. For some years he taught the 
freshman class in Greek, and in 1873-74, during 
the absence of Professor Hayes in Europe, he 
taught the latter's classes in exegesis of the 
Greek Testament, and Botany. In the follow- 
ing year, during the absence of Professor Stan- 
ton, besides carrying a large share of his own 
work, he taught all the Greek and Latin in the 
curriculum, except the freshman Latin. 

As the college grew and prospered, Pro- 
fessor Chase was enabled to give most of his 
attention to his own department. In 1881, after 
Bates had suffered serious financial losses, Pro- 
fessor Chase was chosen to act in association 
with President Cheney in the endeavor to in- 
crease the college fund. Beginning in the win- 
ter of 1881-82 he continued for ten years to de- 
vote nearly all of his vacations and, in addition, 
two whole terms to the work of raising money. 
Through his efforts the college received for cur- 
rent needs and for its fund about one hundred 
and forty thousand dollars ($140,000). He was 
wont after completing a term to leave Lewiston 
on the first outgoing train, often taking with him 
essays to be corrected during his leisure mo- 
ments or while pursuing his journey. During 
these years Professor Chase had been very active 
in increasing the college library and received in 
a single year more than one thousand choice 
volumes in its behalf. His labors in behalf of 
the college brought him into relation with many 
leading people, and he made for it many friends 
among wealthy and eminent men. 

President Chase was always a student of edu- 
cation and educational methods. In preparing 
students for Bates, Dartmouth, and Brown at 
the New Hampton Literary Institution, he 
gained a large insight into the work of second- 
ary schools. No student whom he fitted for 
college was ever conditioned at admission, and 
Dartmouth gave him the credit of furnishing 
some of the best prepared members of a class 
of eighty. For many years President Chase 
was a director of the Latin School of Lewiston. 
For sixteen years he was a member of the 
Lewiston School Board during two years of 
that time its president. He declined a reelec- 
tion to the Board in 1891. Much of the effi- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



13 



ciency of the Lewiston schools may be credited 
to his wise influence and judicious action. 

Persistence in such arduous labors naturally 
made great inroads upon his health, and in the 
summer of 1891 the trustees sent him abroad to 
obtain a much-needed rest. Accompanied by his 
wife, he spent six months in general travel, in- 
cluding some six weeks in exploration of the 
English Lake District and about three months 
in London, where he attended lectures in the 
London University College and studied in the 
British Museums. He also gave considerable 
attention to German educational methods. 

In 1894 he was made president of the college, 
with the title of President and Professor of Psy- 
chology and Logic, and he continued in that ca- 
pacity to the time of his death. President Chase 
was essentially a college man and had relatively 
little time to devote to other interests or other 
lines of public service. He occasionally made 
public addresses, but was obliged to decline many 
invitations to lecture at various institutions in 
New England. On two different occasions he 
declined to consider other positions which prom- 
ised to treble his salary. 

In addition to his Inaugural, he has published 
two addresses before the committee on educa- 
tion of the Maine Legislature, two before the 
American Institute of Instruction, an address at 
the Centennial Celebration of Unity, in 1904, one 
before the Northern Baptist Convention on the 
Religion of a College Student, a monograph on 
the Disruption of the Home, a sermon on Al- 
truism (published by Funk and Wagnalls in Mod- 
ern Sermons by World Scholars), an address 
on Higher Education, and numerous papers upon 
various educational subjects. 

The growth and progress of Bates under the 
administration of President Chase are in large 
measure an index to what he has accomplished 
in the 25 years since he was inaugurated. At 
the close of 1894 Bates had 585 graduates, 167 
students, 9 officers and instructors, and 55 
courses of study (15 elective and 40 required). 
At the close of 1919 she will have 2,376 grad- 
uates, more than 400 students (after a shrink- 
age from nearly 500 due to war conditions), 40 
officers and instructors, and 190 courses of study. 
In 1894 the college had 5 buildings. In 1919 
it has, including one in process, of erection, 17. 
In 1894 the Bates Library contained 11,639 vol- 
umes; in 1919, 47,000 volumes. In 1894 the 
fund as shown by the treasurer's report was 
$3171850. In 1919 it is nearly $1,200,000; and the 
total assets of the institution are more than $l,- 



700,000. In 1894 Bates was scarcely known out- 
side of New England. In 1919 her contributions 
to the faculties of American colleges and univer- 
sities, including Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Co- 
lumbia, Cornell, Johns Hopkins, and most of 
the great universities of the West, have been 
more than 90, distributed among more than 60 
institutions. 

George Colby Chase was married June 12, 
1872, to Emma F. Millett, born June 27, 1845, 
in Norway, Maine, daughter of Joel and Betsy 
(Parsons) Millett. The family of President and 
Mrs. Chase includes one son and four daughters. 
President Chase died at his home. May 27, 1919. 



ARTHUR SEWALL, third son of William 
Dunning and Rachael (Trufant) Sewall, was 
born in Bath, Maine, Thanksgiving Day, 1835. 
His father was one of the prominent shipbuild- 
ers of Maine, and Senator in the Legislature of 
his State. He was the grandson of Colonel 
Dummer Sewall, of the Revolutionary army, who 
was the fifth generation in lineal descent from 
Henry Sewall, sometime mayor of Coventry, 
Great Britain. Henry Sewall's grandson 
(Henry) married Jane Dummer, and emigrated 
to Newbury, Massachusetts, in 1634. 

Noble descent is claimed for the family, but if 
it cannot boast of that in its ancient home, it 
did not take long to attain prominence in the 
new. There is no family more conspicuous in 
early New England history. Three of the lineal 
descendants of Henry Sewall became chief jus- 
tices of Massachusetts, and two others were 
judges of the highest court of the province and 
the commonwealth. 

Attorney-General Jonathan Sewall, of the Co- 
lonial and Revolutionary period, was a great- 
grandson of Henry Sewall, and a cousin of Jona- 
than Sewall, who was the poet of the Revolution 
(Jonathan Mitchell Sewall). A son of Attorney- 
General Jonathan Sewall, who was a Royalist 
Refugee, became Chief Justice of Quebec in 1789. 
Of all these, the most famous was. Samuel Sewall, 
the first Chief Justice, the "Good-and-Wise" of 
Whittier's line, who, carried away by the pre- 
vailing delusion on the subject of witchcraft, 
joined with members of his Court in condemn- 
ing several accused persons, but unlike others 
made a public confession of his error in the Old 
South Church. His son, the Rev. Joseph Sewall, 
was long pastor of the Old South Church, and 
was elected president of Harvard College, but 
declined. Of the other children of Henry, 
Anne married William Longfellow, and was the 



14 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



direct ancestress of the poet, and from Stephen 
was descended Grover Cleveland, President of 
the United States. The family of Sewall is con- 
nected with nearly every prominent family of 
New England. 

John Sewall, brother of Samuel and Anne 
Sewall, who married Hannah Fessenden, of Cam- 
bridge, was the ancestor of the Sewalls of Maine. 
His son, Samuel, settled in York in 1708. 

David Sewall, a son of the preceding, was a 
classmate at Harvard of John Adams, and was 
appointed by Washington (1789) the first United 
States Judge for the District of Maine, having 
previously served on the Supreme Bench of Mas- 
sachusetts. He filled these positions "For forty 
years without one failure of attendance," until 
he retired from public life in 1818. 

David Sewall's brother, Dummer Sewall, set- 
tled in Bath in 1764, and was the great-grand- 
father of Arthur Sewall. At the age of twenty- 
one, Dummer Sewall enlisted in the Provincial 
army, raised to operate against the French in 
North America, and served at Louisburg, where 
he was appointed an ensign. Upon his return, 
the following year, he was appointed lieutenant, 
and ordered to the army for the invasion of 
Canada under General Amherst, and served until 
the fall of Montreal, at which he was present. 
As soon as hostilities were threatened by Great 
Britain, he was elected by the people of the 
district as one of the committee of safety. In 
April, 1775, he led the men of Georgetown (now 
Bath), to drive off the King's spar-makers, and 
arrested the King's agent, it being the first act 
of resistance to British authority in the District 
of Maine. He was a delegate to the Provincial 
Congress, which assembled at Watertown; and 
by the council then administering the executive 
affairs of the State he was appointed lieutenant- 
colonel of a regiment, with which he marched to 
Cambridge and joined the Continental army un- 
der General Washington. He was a magistrate 
for his county of Lincoln, appointed by the first 
Government established by the people of Massa- 
chusetts; and soon after the adoption of the 
Constitution of Massachusetts, he was elected a 
Senator from the District of Maine. 

Arthur Sewall was educated in the common 
schools of Bath. At an early age he went to 
Prince Edward Island, trading and securing ship 
timber that he sent to the ship yards along the 
Kennebec. Returning, when less than twenty 
years of age, he entered the employ of his 
father's firm (Clark & Sewall). 

Dummer Sewall, himself, had built some small 



vessels in conjunction with others, as also Jo- 
seph, his son, the grandfather of Arthur Sewall, 
but the Sewall firm really had its beginning in 
1823, when William D. Sewall launched the brig 
Diana of but one hundred and ninety-nine tons 
burden. From that time, without interruption, 
this firm continued to build vessels, in the most 
of which it held a controlling interest, upon 
land taken up by Dummer Sewall upon his ar- 
rival in Bath, and which had been continuously 
in the ownership of the family and is today. 

In 1854, Arthur Sewall formed a partnership 
with his senior brother Edward, under the firm 
name of E. & A. Sewall, taking over the business 
of the old firm of William D. Sewall and Clark 
& Sewall. In January, 1855, the two brothers 
(Arthur and Edward) launched their first ship, 
the Holyhead, of over one thousand tons burden, 
a large ship, in those days, followed the same 
year by another. Every year since then, until 
three years after the death of Arthur Sewall, this 
firm built on an average a ship a year, most of 
them of large tonnage for their era. 

A recapitulation of the names of some of the 
most famous ships built by the Sewall Brothers 
recalls a glorious chapter of our early Merchant 
Marine: the Hellespont, Leander, Valencia, Vigi- 
lant, Villa Franca, Ocean Scud, Vancouver, Vicks- 
burg, Intrepid, Volant, Ocean Signal, and the 
bark Frank Marion. Then, in 1869, a group of 
three noted vessels, Undaunted, Eric the Red and 
El Capitan. Then the Occidental, Oriental and 
Continental. Then the harvest group, Har- 
vester, Reaper, Thrasher and Granger. The In- 
diana was launched during the exciting days of 
the Tilden campaign, in anticipation that the 
State of Indiana would go Democratic. (For Mr. 
Sewall was an admirer of Tilden, and thorough- 
ly believed in his election in 1876.) 

In 1879, upon the death of the elder brother, 
Edward, the firm name was changed to that of 
Arthur Sewall & Company; and associated with 
Arthur was his second son, William D., and his 
nephew, Samuel S. Sewall. The building activ- 
ity of this firm continued on an increasing scale. 
In 1890 they launched the ship Rappahannock, of 
over three thousand tons burden, then the larg- 
est wooden ship afloat. While this ship was on 
the stocks, President Benjamin Harrison visited 
Bath as the guest of Mr. Sewall, and walked 
along the keel of this ship. The coincidence 
was noted that Mr. Sewall's father had, in 1841, 
during the presidency of the elder Harrison, 
launched another ship Rappahannock, then of 
only a little over one thousand tons burden, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



15 



which was at that time the largest wooden ship 
afloat. In December of the same year (1890) 
the firm launched the ship Shenandoah, still 
larger. In September, 1891, they launched the 
Susquehannah, and in August, 1892, the Roanoke, 
which was then the largest wooden ship afloat, 
and holds the record today of being the largest 
wooden sailing ship ever built. 

It had been demonstrated, however, that the 
limit of size had been reached in these vessels, 
beyond which wooden construction could not 
go, as it was impossible to build to such dimen- 
sions of wood and have the vessels withstand 
the strain. So, in the spring of 1893, Arthur 
Sewall, having made a tour of the shipyards of 
the world, began the equipment of his yard 
for the complete construction of steel sailing ves- 
sels, and the first result of this was the steel 
ship Dirigo, the first steel sailing ship ever built 
in the United States. A steel fleet followed, 
some for outside ownership. Those that were 
built and owned by this firm were the Arthur 
Sewall, Erskine M. Phelps (known as the White 
Flier), Edward Sewall, five-master schooner 
Kineo, and the most famous of the group, though 
not launched until after the death of the senior 
partner, the William P. Frye, which has the dis- 
tinction of being the first American ship sunk 
by Germany, bombed by the German cruiser, 
Prince Eitel Friedrich, on January 28, 1915. Cu- 
riously enough the Senator for whom this ship 
was named was the boldest in his denunciation 
of the action of Germany in the Samoan affair, 
when first the cloven foot of German diplomacy 
was shown in her relations with the United 
States. For, she demonstrated there, in that 
small theatre, the same disregard of treaties, in- 
solence toward the United States, and brutality 
toward a weak people, which she has now so 
demonstrated before the entire world. In the 
possession of this fleet of wood and steel, the 
Sewall firm controlled the largest fleet of sailing 
ships in the United States. It is doubtful if 
any larger amount of similar tonnage was con- 
trolled by any other partnership in the world. 

It was in his career as a builder of ships that 
Arthur Sewall took his greatest pride. There 
was sentiment in his work, as shown in the 
choice of names; there was family pride, in ex- 
panding an industry that had come down to him 
for generations; and there was patriotic pride, 
in keeping afloat the American flag. For he 
was an intense American. In times of war, 
nothing could induce him to disguise or prepare 
his ships against possible capture; and the Stars 



and Stripes and the flag of the Sewalls continued 
to fly from his ships during the entire Civil 
War. One of his best, the Vigilant, was cap- 
tured by the Confederate gunboat, Sutnter, when 
she was but fairly out upon the high seas. 
There was also a professional pride, for he 
watched every part of a ship's construction; and 
there was nothing connected with it of which 
he was not capable of manually performing. 
Those were days of relations of mutual helpful- 
ness between employer and employe. There 
was an esprit de corps in the Sewall yard that 
could only be found in a small community where 
the workmen were resident, and self-respecting 
and respected citizens. 

Mr. Sewall took equal pride in his work after 
a ship had sailed out of the still waters of the 
Kennebec and began to make a record for her- 
self upon the high seas. Almost all of the 
Sewall vessels were officered from the banks of 
the Kennebec, with a preference given to the 
boys of Bath. For many years there was no 
field more promising for a young man to fol- 
low. The best blood of Maine has proudly 
walked the quarter-deck of Bath-built vessels, 
and it is hardly an exaggeration to say that at 
least every family on the river has contributed 
one son to the service of the Merchant Marine. 

If Mr. Sewall could have had his way, and 
had the conditions been favorable, he would 
gladly have devoted all his time to the building 
of ships. But his capabilities as a man of af- 
fairs drew him into other work. His father 
had been a director of the Portland & Kennebec 
Railroad, and when this road was made a part 
of the Maine Central Railroad system, a system 
comprising nearly all of the railroad mileage of 
the State, Mr. Sewall became a director of, and 
later in 1865, the president of the corporation, 
which position he held for nine years, a term 
longer than that of any other previous incum- 
bent, and during which the condition and the ex- 
tensions of the road made their greatest progress. 
He would have continued longer in the office of 
president had his nature been one of subservi- 
ency. He was also a director of the Eastern 
Railroad, and was its president before it became 
merged into the Boston & Maine. He had ex- 
tensive connections with other roads, not only 
in Maine but also in the Western States and in 
Mexico. He was the third president of the 
Bath National Bank, the first president of which 
had been his father's partner, and the control 
of which had remained in the Sewall family. He 
was also a factor in the establishment of the 



16 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Bath Iron Works. Arthur Sewall was a man of 
marked executive ability and capacity, business 
judgment, and a safe counsellor in business en- 
terprises. It was due to these qualities, rather 
than to any large holdings of stock, that he was 
called to the numerous corporate positions that 
he filled. 

All his life Mr. Sewall was keenly interested 
in the political affairs of his country, but never 
was he a seeker of political honors. He regu- 
larly and conscientiously discharged his duty as 
a citizen at the polls, and was a man of decided 
opinions, which he was ever ready to avow, 
however unpopular they might be. Mr. Sewall 
was a Democrat from conviction, and in this con- 
viction he never wavered, which fact closed to 
him every avenue of political preferment in 
Maine. He was councilman, and in 1876-77 
alderman of his city, and these are the highesc 
and the only elective political offices he ever 
held. Within his party, however, he occupied a 
position of enviable prominence for many years. 

He was a delegate to the National Democratic 
Convention at Baltimore that nominated Horace 
Greeley in 1872; and again to that in Cincinnati, 
which nominated Hancock in 1880. He was also 
* delegate-at-large to the convention that nomi- 
nated Cleveland in 1884. In 1888, he was pres- 
ent at the National Democratic Convention in 
St. Louis, and was then elected a member of 
the National Democratic Committee, and was 
also a member of the executive committee of 
that organization for the campaign of that year. 
He attended the National Democratic Conven- 
tion in Chicago in 1892, and again elected to the 
National Committee, and made a member of the 
executive committee. In 1893, he was the nom- 
inee of his party for the United States Senate 
against the Hon. Eugene Hale. Mr. Sewall's 
Democracy, like himself, was virile and robust; 
but sometimes it seemed as if his political faith 
was fashioned on what he thought the Demo- 
cratic party ought to be, rather than what it 
was in fact. On leading issues his party faith 
seemed overshadowed by his Americanism. He 
was not a Free Trade Democrat, and was a fol- 
lower of Randall rather than of Carlisle. With 
regard to the tariff, he would have used it so 
far as necessary to raise revenue, as a weapon 
against other Nations, a weapon of defense to 
our industries, as well as a weapon of action to 
force from other Nations a return for every 
concession that we made to them. To this 
extent he sympathized with the reciprocity meas- 
ures of Elaine, and was a believer in discriminat- 



ing duties in favor of Amercan tonnage as ad- 
vocated by Jefferson. When this measure failed 
he stood strongly for the different ship-subsidy 
bills fathered by the Republican party, for which 
he found little favor in his own. He thought 
it not only humiliating and costly but also dan- 
gerous, as recent events have proved, that we 
should be dependent upon foreign tonnage to 
carry our own commerce. In this, he saw, with 
the prescience that was one of his marked char- 
acteristics, the situation with which we had to 
deal in the World War. 

In line with his views on the tariff, he be- 
lieved that through the power of commercial dis- 
crimination and retaliation, our Government had 
nothing to fear from any Nation of Europe; and 
with such a weapon we required no great navy. 
He was an advocate of a vigorous foreign policy. 
With regard to our relations with Canada, he 
would have had us deal with her so as to force 
her to realize her disadvantage as a British de- 
pendency. He favored the annexation of Ha- 
waii; the maintenance of our influence in Samoa; 
and the independence of Cuba. He was a warm 
admirer of the ability and vigor of Cleveland's 
Secretary of State, Mr. Olney, especially as dis- 
played in the defense of the Monroe Doctrine, 
in which he firmly believed. From the time that 
the free coinage of silver attained any place in 
public discussion, Mr. Sewall had been its ardent 
and outspoken champion. In 1893, he wrote to 
William L. Putnam, his intimate friend from 
boyhood, and one of the leading lawyers and 
Democrats of New England, as follows: 

Our President, In supporting his Single Gold theory, 
remarked in his Interview with Governor Northen that 
lie was desirous, as far as in his power, not to les- 
sen the purchasing power of our money, intimating 
that he would rather see it increased so that the la- 
borer and the farmer would buy as much or more 
with his dollar than he ever had heretofore. H 
seems to overlook the fact that the laborer and th 
farmer have first to buy their dollar with their labor 
and their products before they can come to the proc- 
ess of spending it and realize its high purchasing 
power. . . . 

It seems to me that establishing and continuing 
this Single Gold Standard is equivalent to our Gov- 
ernment furnishing new measures of value, which giv 
the purchaser much more for his money than ever 
before; or, which would be like furnishing the fanner, 
to measure his grain when selling, with a new half- 
bushel measure that would hold three pecks. Th 
country cannot prosper under this system. The re- 
peal of the Sherman Purchasing Clause will restore 
fully confidence in our money, and if we would con- 
tinue on that line and contract our currency to noth- 
ing but Gold, that confidence in our money would b 
still greater; but this remedy will not restore confi- 
dence in business and confidence in new industries 
and enterprises. Before that is fully restored, we 
have got to so modify and change our system of money 
that we may be free in the future, as far as pos- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



17 



sible, from these extreme fluctuations and have such 
a system that will treat capital and labor alike- 
other words, that while the dollar will purchase Hi 
bushel of wheat as heretofore, the farmer will also 
be protected and will not be subjected by any com- 
bination to be forced to sell his wheat at an under 
value. . . . 

The recent panic, from which we are about recover- 
ing, has proven, I think, to many minds, that the 
material defect in our financial system was not th 
operation of the Sherman Purchasing Law, for the 
repeal of which there Is now such a clamor and such 
an effort being made by the Administration. That, 
no doubt, contributed very largely to the general 
scare and unsettled feeling that brought about th 
panic; but, the ripening process of the Single Gold 
Standard, under which we have lived since 1873, had, 
to my mind, more to do with It than the purchase of 
silver. This panic was a "Money" and "Banker's" 
panic, the one to follow, unless we remedy our finan- 
cial system, and furnish a stable, bl-metallic basis for 
our currency, will be a commercial panic, far mor 
serious and more disastrous In its effect than the re- 
cent one. I assume, and I think the statistics con- 
firm the conclusion, that we have not gold enough In 
the world for all the important nations to base their 
financial systems upon the Single Gold Standard. 

At the National Democratic Convention in 
Chicago in 1896, the natural firmness and power 
of decision that characterized Arthur Sewall, to- 
gether with his warm advocacy of silver, brought 
him at once into prominence. In the National 
Committee, he opposed the Gold men at every 
point in the preliminary organization of that 
convention, and voted for Daniels as against 
Hill for temporary chairman. He did this with 
full knowledge that his action would be resented 
by the delegation from Maine, where the silver 
sentiment had not developed, and in consequence 
of his action he was dropped by the Maine dele- 
gation from the National Committee. On the 
same day he telegraphed his wife that he was 
now out of politics forever and for good. With- 
in thirty-six hours he was nominated for the sec- 
ond highest position within the gift of his party. 
His nomination took place on the fifth ballot. 
Sibley, of Pennsylvania, McLean, of Ohio, Wil- 
liams, of Massachusetts, and Bland, of Missouri, 
were his leading opponents. Mr. Sewall received 
568 out of a total of 679 votes. A writer of 
the time affirms that: 

It was the executive ability of men like Sewall that 
prevented riot, and a demonstration of mob rule, at 
that convention, when the Radicals, In their hour or 
triumph, came near to losing their advantage by par- 
liamentary indiscretion. When regularity was brought 
out of that political chaos, Sewall was placed on tin 
National ticket with Bryan . . . for his demon- 
strated ability, and exhibition of love for fair play. 

Upon his return to his native city he was wel- 
comed by such a joyous outpouring of its citi- 
zens as Bath had never before seen. Mr. Sewall 
accepted the nomination for vice-president in the 
full belief that in doing so he was performing 

ME. 12 



a sacred duty. In his speech of formal accept- 
ance at Madison Square Garden, on the evening 
of August 12, he said: 

Our Party, and we, believe that a great majority of 
the American people are convinced that the legislation 
of '73. demonltizlng silver, was a wrong inflicted upon 
our country that should and must be righted. W 
believe that the Single Gold Standard has so nar- 
rowed the base of our monetary structure that it Is 
unstable and unsafe; and so dwarfed it. In Its develop- 
ment and In its power to furnish the necessary finan- 
cial blood to the Nation, that commercial and Indus- 
trial paralysis has followed. We believe that we need, 
and must have, the broad and expanding fountain of 
both gold and silver to support a monetary system 
strong enough, stable enough, and capable of meeting 
the demand of a growing country and enterprising 
people a system that will not be weakened and panic- 
stricken by every foreign draft upon us; a system 
that will maintain a parity of just values and the 
Nation's money, and protect us from the frequent 
fluctuations of today so disastrous to every business 
and industry of the land. We demand the free coin- 
age of silver; the opening of our mints to both money 
metals, without discrimination; the return to the 
money of our fathers; the money of the Constitution 
Gold and Silver. We believe this is the remedy, and 
the only remedy, for the evil from which we are now 
suffering the evil that is now so fast devastating and 
impoverishing our land and our people, bringing pov- 
erty to our homes, and bankruptcy to our business, 
which if allowed to continue will grow until our very 
institutions are threatened. The demonetization of 
silver has thrown the whole primary money function 
on Gold, appreciating its value and purchasing power. 
Restore the money function to silver, and silver will 
appreciate, and Its purchasing power increase. Take 
from Gold its monopoly, its value will be reduced; 
and in due course, the parity of the two metals will 
again obtain under natural causes. We shall then 
have a broad and unlimited foundation for a mone- 
tary system, commensurate with our country's needi 
and future development; not the unsafe basis of to- 
day, reduced by half, by the removal of silver, and 
continually undermined by foreigners carrying from ut 
our Gold. This is the reform to which we are 
pledged the reform the people demand the return to 
the monetary system of over eighty years of our 
National existence. The Democratic party has al- 
ready given its approval, and its pledge; our oppo- 
nents admit the wisdom of the principle for which 
we contend, but ask us to await permission and co- 
operation of other Nations. Our people will not wait; 
they will not ask permission of any Nation on earth, 
to relieve themselves of the cause of their distress. 
The issue has been made; the people stand ready to 

render their verdict next November 

I accept the nomination, and with the people's con- 
firmation, every effort of which God shall render m 
capable will be exerted In support of the principles 
Involved. 

On September 24, following, Mr. Sewall ad- 
dressed to Stephen M. White, chairman, and 
members of the notification committee the fol- 
lowing: 

W have rescued our party from those who under 
the Influence of the money-power have controlled and 
debased it. Our mission now is to rescue from thil 
ame power and its foreign ally, our own beloved 
country. . . . 

The test of party principles is the Government they 
assure. The proof of good Government ia a con- 
tented and happy people; and the supreme test of 
both is the ability to guide th country through a 



18 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



crisis such as the people of all Nations periodically 
have to face. Our people now face a crisis a crisis 
more serious than any since the war. To what party 
shall they turn, in their dire emergency ? It is true 
that the present crisis may not Involve all equally; 
that there are those who do not suffer now who may 
not suffer should the crisis threatened by the Gold 
Standard come upon us in all its fury. Human sel- 
fishness makes these deaf to all appeals. But to these, 
fortunately, the Democratic party has never needed 
to appeal to win its battles; nor, does it now, save 
as there are some among them who ciin rise superior 
to self in the sacrifice that such a crisis demands of 
every patriot. 

We are told that the country has prospered under 
the present monetary standard; that its wealth has 
enormously Increased. Granted, but in whose hands? 
In the hands of the toilers, the producers, the farm- 
ers, the miners, the fabricators in the factories, the 
creators of the Nation's wealth in peace, its defenders 
in war? Have they the prosperity that was theirs so 
late even as twenty years ago? I deny it; they deny 
it. None affirm it, save those whose interests It is 
to do so whose profits would diminish as prosperity 
returns to those off whose distress they thrive. 

All is indeed right between capital and labor. The 
"best money in the world" is none too good for those 
who have got it; but how about the 90 per cent, of 
our people who "have got it to get?" How is it 
with those who must buy this "best money in the 
world" with the products of their own labor? These 
are the people for whom the Democratic party would 
legislate. What is the best money for these, is the ques- 
tion for all to ask who really love this land. Is it a fair 
measure of values, that fifteen bushels of potatoes must 
be paid for a dollar; ten bushels of oats for a dollar; 
three bushels of wheat; and all other products of the 
soil and mines; and the labor of all wage earners at the 
same ration? Does any fair mind say this is honest 
money that forces such an exchange? And If it la 
not a fair exchange, is it honest? Is it less than rob- 
bery? 

This is the condition to which the Single Gold 
Standard has brought us; under it, the appreciation of 
the "best money in the world" has increased the wealth 
of the rich; and for the same reason has increased 
the debt of the debtor. So it has been; so, under 
the present standard, it must continue to be. 

With these object lessons about us, little need have 
we for history and statistics, and the researches of 
scholars. Little satisfaction it is to us, that they 
have warned us long since of the deadly evil of the 
Gold Standard. It has brought us at last to the part- 
ing of the ways. Whither shall the people go? In 
the way that has led to their enslavement? Or, In 
that which offers them their only chance to regain 
individual liberty, lasting prosperity, and happiness? 
Let not our opponents charge us with creating class 
distinctions. Alas, for the Republic, they are already 
here, created by the Republican party and policy of 
the last thirty years created by the very system we 
now overthrow and destroy. 

_Xor do we raise a sectional Issue. The nomina- 

11 you tender repels tlie charge; none know better 

ban I, that this nomination is meant as no personal 

rlbute, but fresh assurance that our party remains 

trur. to its historic character the non-sectional party 

of our country. Not by our policy, but only by the 

continuance of the Gold Standard ran sectionalism 

i revived sectionalism that under the Kepiiblican 
rule hung as a heavy curse over the land, sectional- 
Ism that it is the glory of the Democratic party at 
last to have destroyed. 

Neither shall our opponents lie permitted to terrify 

e people by predictions that temporary disturbance 
or panic will come from the policy we propose The 
American people will be loyal to the Nations money; 



will stand behind it; and will maintain it at whatever 
value they themselves may place upon it. ... 

Neither let us be slandered from our duty by false 
accusations against us; let us have faith that right 
makes might; and in that faith let us to the end dare 
to do our duty as we understand it. We know well 
the nature of the struggle in which we are engaged, 
we are anxious only that the people of the land shall 
understand it; and then our battle is won. Behind 
all the intrenchment of the Gold Standard are gathered 
those favored classes It has fostered and nourished 
the only "dangerous" classes of the land. Avarice 
and unholy greed are there; every trust and combina- 
tion are there; every monopoly is there, led by the 
greatest monopoly of all, the monopoly of the power of 
Gold. 

With us, in our assault upon these intrenchments, 
are all those unselfish men, who, not now suffering 
themselves, cannot rest content with conditions so 
full of suffering for others; and that vaster number 
of our people who have been sacrificed to the small 
and selfish class who now resist the attempts to re- 
gain their ancient rights and liberties. These are 
the patriots of 1896 the foes of a "dishonest" dollar, 
which enriches 10 per cent, of our people to rob the 
rest the defenders of the homes of the land, of pub- 
lic morals, and the public faith, nil of which alike 
forbid the payment of Government obligations in a 
coin costlier to those who are obliged to pny more 
than what the contract calls for the defenders of the 
honor of the Nation, whose most sacred charge it is to 
care for the welfare of all of its citizens. 

The election resulted in giving Mr. Bryan a 
popular vote of 6,500,000 the largest vote he had 
at any time received as a candidate. He re- 
ceived 176 electoral votes; Mr. Sewall, 149; and 
Mr. Watson, of Georgia, who was put in the field 
by the Populist party to defeat Mr. Sewall, 27. 
Had the election taken place in September, it 
is the conviction of Mr. Bryan, which he has 
steadfastly maintained, that he and Mr. Sewall 
would have been elected. After his defeat, Mr. 
Sewall continued actively in his business of ship- 
building, and traveled extensively. Mr. Sewall 
was a member of the New Church (Swedbor- 
gian). 

In 1859, he married Emma Duncan Crocker, 
daughter of Charles Crooker, Esq., an old-time 
shipbuilder. Mrs. Sewall's mother (Rachael 
Sewall) was descended from the Samuel Sewall, 
who came to York. Arthur Sewall died on Sep- 
tember 5, 1900, at Small Point, Maine, his sum- 
mer home. His widow still survives him. He 
had three sons: Harold Marsh; William Dun- 
ning, his business successor; and Dumjner, who 
died in infancy. Arthur Sewall's grandchildren 
are: Captain Loyall Farragut Sewall, late Tank 
Corps, A. E. F.; Ensign Arthur Sewall, 2d, U. S. 
N. R. F.; Emma Kaiulani Sewall; and Camila 
Loyall Ashe Sewall, all children of Harold 
Marsh Sewall; also Arthur; Margaret (Mrs. F. 
M. Hector); Dorothy Sumner; and Lieutenant 
Suniner Sewall, late Aviation Corps (American 
Ace), children of William D. Sewall. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



19 



HAROLD MARSH SEWALL was born in 
Bath, Maine, January 3, 1860, son of Arthur and 
Emma Duncan (Crocker) Sewall. He received 
from Harvard the degrees of A.B., 1882; LL.B., 
1885, and from Bowdoin College in 1919, the 
honorary degree of Master of Arts Mr. Sewall 
married, September 14, 1893, Camilla Loyall Ashe, 
of San Francisco, daughter of Richard Porter and 
Caroline Loyall Ashe. Mr. Sewall was vice-consul 
at Liverpool, 1885-87; consul-general at Samoa, 
1887-89; opposed German pretensions at Samoa; 
attache of commission that negotiated Berlin 
Treaty of 1889, for Joint Government of Samoa 
by the Powers; reappointed consul-general at 
Samoa, 1889-92; secured site to Naval Station 
at Pago-Pago; admitted to Maine bar, 1892; 
chairman of Maine Republican State Conven- 
tion, 1896; delegate to Republican National Con- 
vention, 1896; member of Maine House of Rep- 
resentatives, 1896; United States Minister to Ha- 
waii, 1897; received transfer Sovereignty of 
Islands, 1898; special agent of United States until 
organization of the Territory; first member of 
the Republican National Committee for Hawaii; 
member of M-aine House of Representatives, 
1003-07; Maine Senate, 1907-09; Republican' can- 
didate for Congress, 1914; delegate-at-large to 
Republican National Coavention, 1916; chairman 
of Maine Committee of Public Safety through- 
out the War with Germany. 



CHARLES ALLCOTT FLAGG The literate 
of the world are indebted to the painstaking 
labors and industries of the librarians of the 
country. Among the latter none have been more 
prominently identified with genealogical and his- 
torical researches than Charles Allcott Flagg. 
He was born at Sandwich, Massachusetts, Octo- 
ber i, 1870, the son of Samuel Benjamin and 
Anna Bigelow (Allcott) Flagg. 

His early education was obtained at the pub- 
lic schools, he was fitted for college and grad- 
uated A.B. from Bowdoin College in the class 
of 1894. In that year he turned his attention to 
teaching and for one year was principal of the 
High School at Hopedale, Massachusetts. At 
this period Mr. Flagg commenced his life's work 
as librarian, entering the New York State Li- 
brary School at Albany, the first school for li- 
brarians ever established. In 1896, after civil 
service examinations, he became assistant and 
later sub-librarian in charge of history and 
genealogy at the New York State Library at 
Albany, New York. He resigned this position 
in 1000 to accept the charge of American His- 



tory in the Catalogue Division of the Library 
of Congress, Washington, District of Columbia. 
Here he remained until 1913, when he was called 
to assume charge of the Public Library of Ban- 
gor, Maine, which was soon to remove into its 
new and attractive building. The task of re- 
building a library which had been destroyed 
by fire was a herculean one, but Mr. Flagg was 
equal to the occasion and through his efforts the 
library is already second in size and circulation 
among the public libraries of the State; and, be- 
ing exceptionally strong in reference material, 
has extended its usefulness all over Eastern 
Maine. 

The breadth of his interest in library matters 
is shown by the fact that he has been for several 
\ears a member of the Maine Library Commis- 
sion, and an active member of the Maine Library 
Association, having served the latter as its presi- 
dent. 

Mr. Flagg received the degree of B.L.S. in 
1899 from the New York State Library School, 
and in 1902 the George Washington University 
conferred on him the degree of M.A. He is a 
member of the American Library Association, 
the New England Historic and Genealogical So- 
ciety, the American Historical Association, mem- 
ber of standing committees of Maine Historical 
Society and Bangor Historical Society, and a 
member of the college fraternities, Delta Kappa 
Epsilon and Phi Beta Kappa. A Republican in 
his political affiliations, he has never been an 
aspirant for civic honors. He is an attendant of 
the Unitarian church. 

Mr. Flagg married at Washington, District of 
Columbia, February 18, 1909, Ethel M. Flincler, 
a resident of that city. 



HUGH J. CHISHOLM Among the names of 
the great leaders and captains of industry asso- 
ciated with the material development of Maine 
during the generation just passed, none holds a 
more prominent place than that of Hugh J. 
Chisholm, whose activities seemed ever to be di- 
rected more to the advancement of the welfare 
of the community than to the accomplishment 
of his own advantage, and who came to be re- 
garded by all who came in contact with him 
with feelings of affection and veneration, not 
often the lot of men. Mr. Chisholm was a mem- 
ber of one of the old noble families of Scotland, 
his ancestors having been the Chisholms of 
Eichless Castle, in Inverncsshire, who bore the 
following arms- 



20 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Arms Gules, a boar's head erased argent. 

Crest A dexter hand holding a dagger erect 
proper, on the point a boar's head couped gules. 

Supporters Two naked men wreathed about, the 
loins, with clubs on their shoulders proper. 

Mottoes Vvtut Virtue, and above the crest, 
Feros Feris. 

The line of descent of the Chisholm family 
may be traced back unbrokenly to the year 1300, 
at which time the Clan Chisholm made their 
headquarters at Strathglass in the Scottish High- 
lands, and the family is still powerful and 
numerous in that part of the old country. 

The American branch of the family was 
founded by Alexander Chisholm, who was born 
in the town of Inverness, Scotland, April 9, 1810, 
and came 'to Canada early in his youth. He 
eventually settled in the town of Niagara Falls 
on the Canadian side of the border between that 
country and the United States, and there con- 
tinued to make his home until the close of his 
life. He married there, Mary Margaret Phelan, 
a native of the town, born March 18, 1822. 

Born May 2, 1847, at Niagara, Canada, Hugh 
J. Chisholm,, son of Alexander and Mary Mar- 
garet (Phelan) Chisholm, passed his childhood 
in his native place, and up to the time of his 
thirteenth year attended the local public schools. 
At that time, however, his father died, and the 
circumstances of the family were such that the 
lad was obliged to abandon his studies and assist 
in the support of his mother. Feeling that there 
v/as nothing to be done in the little town of 
his birth that offered much opportunity for the 
future, the enterprising lad left home and made 
his way to the nearby city of Toronto, where he 
found employment as a newsboy on the trains 
of the Grand Trunk Railroad, the main route 
between Toronto and the city of Detroit, Mich- 
igan. This position soon led to a business that 
engrossed the major part of Mr. Chisholm's time 
and attention until his coming to the United 
States many years later. His mind even as a 
lad was of the original type that naturally de- 
velops new ideas and plans, and it soon became 
obvious to the lad that he could make much more 
for himself by selling his own papers and maga- 
zines than as the agent of a company which took 
most of the profit. Accordingly, he saved up 
such of his slender earnings as were not neces- 
sary for his immediate needs and soon found 
himself in a position to purchase his own stock 
for sale upon the trains. From actually carry- 
ing on the work himself, he was in a position to 
gauge very accurately the tastes and wants of 
the traveling public, and in his purchases 



showed great good judgment and foresight in 
this matter, so that there was but little waste 
in his stock and his profits grew. Although he 
was working hard at the task of building up his 
business, Mr. Chisholm was so ambitious that, 
with the first fifty dollars he could save, he paid 
for his tuition at the Commercial College of 
Bryant and Stratton, Toronto, and there took a 
business course after hours. While making his 
trips between Toronto and Detroit, Mr. Chisholm 
made the acquaintance of another newsboy who 
travelled between the latter point and Port 
Huron, whose name, Thomas A. Edison, has 
since then become known to the whole world. 
When only sixteen Mr. Chisholm purchased the 
news business of his former employer, and be- 
gan to build up a large trade that gradually ex- 
tended from the run from Toronto to Detroit 
to other parts of the road, and eventually to 
other lines until it embraced most of the railroads 
of Canada and a number in the New England 
States. Indeed, it grew so large that it became one 
of the most important of its kind in the country, 
and known from one end of it to the other. 
Mr. Chisholm continued to display the same abil- 
ity to gauge the desires of his patrons as 
he had when actually selling the papers himself 
and the business grew apace. In 1861 he took 
his brother into partnership and the firm of 
Chisholm Brothers was formed which continued 
active for many years. By the year 1866 this 
concern employed two hundred newsboys, sel- 
ing papers, magazines, books and other similar 
articles on the Grand Trunk between Detroit 
and Portland, Maine, also between Chicago and 
points as far east as Halifax, and on the prin- 
cipal lines in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont 
and New York State, embracing above five thou- 
sand miles of road. Besides this they also oper- 
ated on many of the principal steamboat lines 
in the same region. The headquarters of the 
firm was at Montreal, but there were also branch 
offices in various other cities. In order better 
to meet the tastes of the travelling public, which 
he was so keen in gauging, Mr. Chisholm 
opened a publishing business in connection with 
his trade as news dealer. He was the first to 
publish railroad and tourists' guides and also 
books and albums with descriptions and pictures 
of the various routes of travel, and these added 
greatly to the volumes of his sales. 

Mr. Chisholm, from the time of his boyhood, 
always felt a profound interest in the United 
States, and as his business gradually extended 
down into this country, and he grew familiar 




'^^l ), 

v ^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



21 



with it and its institutions, the idea formed itself 
in his mind of becoming a citizen. He was keen- 
ly sympathetic with its ideals and standards and 
during the Civil War, although surrounded by 
many sympathizers of the Southern S'tates, was 
consistently loyal to the cause of the Union. It 
was in 1872 that he finally came to the United 
States and located at Portland, Maine, and short- 
ly after he became a citizen of this country. He 
sold out to his brother his Canadian interests 
and took over the New England part of the 
business which he continued upon a larger scale 
than ever. He also established a publishing 
business in Portland and made a specialty of fine 
lithographs, producing no less than three hun- 
dred separate sets of albums of views in various 
parts of the country, ranging in size from small 
pamphlets to handsome quarto volumes. Not 
only Maine and the New England States were 
included in this collection, but the scenery along 
most of the great transcontinental railroads, 
especially such picturesque roads as the Denver 
and Rio Grande and the Colorado Midland. 
Among his publications should be mentioned a 
series of illustrated descriptions of the important 
cities of the United States. Most of his engrav- 
ing was done by the experts of Europe and was 
of the highest quality of workmanship. He con- 
tracted with a number of the largest news deal- 
ers in the country to handle his works exclu- 
sively and hundreds of thousands of them were 
sold in all parts of the United States. 

As the news business had led naturally to that 
of publishing, so the latter, in its turn, led 
to that of the manufacture of paper, and it was 
not long after his coming to Portland that Mr. 
Chisholm's attention was turned to the question 
of wood pulp. The great and various possibil- 
ities of this new material recommended it to his 
interest and he soon became an active promoter 
of the manufacture of this material. Besides 
paper he engaged in the manufacture of fibre 
ware, and was one of the first patentees of th's 
material. He met with many obstacles in the 
way of making the thing practical, but eventual- 
ly surmounted them all and established a fac- 
tory at Portland which turned out fibre pails, 
tubs and similar utensils in large numbers. 
Shortly after the plant was disposed of and a 
new one at Waterville opened, which became the 
first permanent manufactory of this kind of ware. 
Still another plant was opened by Mr. Chis- 
holm and a number of associates at Wind- 
ham, near Portland, which was soon running 
on a paying basis. He was also one of the 



organizers of the Somerset Fibre Company at 
Fairfield, Kennebec county, Maine, which began 
operation with a capital stock of two hundred 
thousand dollars, and of which he remained a 
director for several years. It was in the year 
1881 that Mr. Chisholm established the Umbagog 
Pulp Company of Livermore Falls, Maine, for 
the manufacture of pulp paper, and continued the 
president and manager of that concern up to the 
time of his death. As soon as this enterprise 
was fairly started, Mr. Chisholm sold out his 
interests in the fibre concerns, and from that 
time on gave his entire attention to the manu- 
facture of paper, where, with his unerring fore- 
sight, he perceived the greatest future. He 
founded the Otis Falls Pulp Company of Liver- 
more Falls in 1887, which was capitalized at 
three-quarters of a million dollars, and with Mr. 
Chisholm as treasurer, general manager and the 
principal owner of the plant. This concern, one 
of the largest of its kind in the country, even- 
tually became a constituent of the great Inter- 
national Paper Company, organized in the year 
1898 by Mr. Chisholm and his associates and 
which included many of the most important 
paper plants then in existence in a gigantic 
merger. Of this Mr. Chisholm was the presi- 
dent until 1908. 

It was as early as 1882 that Mr. Chisholm be- 
gan to be interested in what is probably his 
greatest single achievement, although at that 
time it is doubtful if he had any idea of what his 
projects would develop into. This was the great 
Rumford Falls development, of which he became 
the virtual parent, the creator of a whole town 
and a whole group of great industries which 
are so related to it that their existence depends 
on it while its life depends on them. He first 
began his work at this place, then entirely un- 
developed, in association with Mr. Charles D. 
Brown, buying in the first place the old railroad 
line running from Portland to the Rumford Falls 
brick field, both road and brick works having 
fallen into disrepair. He at once set about re- 
organizing the property under a new corpora- 
tion, gave it the name of the Portland & Rum- 
ford Falls Railroad and himself became its 
president and general manager, and the owner 
of four-fifths of the stock. What must have ap- 
peared to less clear sighted men as a somewhat 
doubtful investment was entered into by Mr. 
Chisholm with the most complete confidence, for 
he saw clearly the great opportunities offered by 
the situation, with an unlimited supply of water 
power and easy access to good markets. The 



22 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



possibilities of the former were especially appar- 
ent to him and he set to work to develop them 
as the chief factor in the growth of the future 
community which he had already begun to plan. 
He constructed dams and open way canals at 
different levels until he had arranged for some 
fifty thousand horse power, and he then inter- 
ested capital to organize the Oxford Paper Com- 
pany and construct plants which were among 
the largest of their kind in the United States. 
The company, of which he was the largest owner 
and the manager, continued to operate success- 
fully and on an ever larger scale up to the time 
of his death. This great plant had an auxil- 
liary sulphide pulp plant which supplied i't with 
all the wood pulp needed in the manufacture of 
paper. About the same time Mr. Chisholm was 
associated with others in establishing the Rum- 
ford Falls Sulphide Company, of which he be- 
came the treasurer and a director. With com- 
mendable good judgment he perceived that no 
community should depend too completely upon 
the success of any single industry or type of in- 
dustry, even when it was of so substantial a 
character as that he had here established. And 
accordingly he set about organizing a group of 
enterprises of several different kinds at Rumford 
Falls. Among these were the Woolen Company, 
and as the town became larger the Rumford 
Falls Light and Power Company, and several 
other concerns, in all of which he was a large 
stockholder. Another venture which Mr. 
Chisholm undertook at about this time, and 
which, like all that he was connected with, was 
eminently successful, had nothing to do directly 
with Rumford Falls. This was the construction 
of the railroad from Mechanics Falls to Auburn, 
Maine, which he did in the best fashion, putting 
in fine iron bridges and heavy steel rails for 
the entire distance, and fitting it with first-class 
rolling stock so that it was one of the best 
roads in the entire State. 

But, although Mr. Chisholm was interested in 
many enterprises throughout this region of the 
State, undoubtedly his particular interest was 
centered in the Rumford Falls development. As 
the town grew he set himself the task of provid- 
ing all the water power necessary to its best in- 
terests and really subordinated all his other ven- 
tures to the Rumford Falls Light and Power 
Company which was to furnish this essential 
commodity. His aims and purposes were highly 
altruistic and he showed a keener pleasure in the 
growth of the town itself that in the value of his 
own investments. He spent a great deal of time 



in working out the plans for the prospective city 
and laid out the property in accordance witli his 
idea of an ideal community. He firmly believed 
that one of the chief factors in the future of a 
community was the real comfort and content- 
ment of the inhabitants, and with this end in 
view he constructed a large number of model 
houses for workers with small means. Strath- 
glass Park is the result of this plan, a section 
of the city laid out in the form of an oval with 
broad streets on either hand and charming parks 
between. Well constructed brick houses facing 
on the parks were then erected by Mr. Chisholm 
which he put upon the market at a figure within 
reach of the most modest incomes. This kind 
of thing has been attempted frequently elsewhere 
but rarely with the success which attended Mr. 
Chisholm's efforts, for to his idealism in the 
matter he brought the most searching practicality 
which always weighed his schemes and tested 
them critically before he put them into effect. 
From the wilderness that marked this site before 
Mr. Chisholm arrived on the scene, there arose a 
thriving city with a speed and promptness that 
suggested the conjuror's wand. One of the most 
typical of Mr. Chisholm's achievements at Rum- 
ford Falls was the establishment of the club 
there and the erection of the club house. It was 
his intention that this should be of such a na- 
ture that every element of the working popula- 
tion should be attracted to it and he set about it 
with his accustomed foresight and skill. It 
would doubtless have been easy for him to have 
put his hand in his pocket and paid for it him- 
self, but this did not form a part of his plan. 
He felt that this would smack of charity, and 
that he strongly disapproved of as a system, 
however generous he might be in individual 
cases. In order to overcome this difficulty he 
organized the Mechanics' Institute, which has 
been paid for and maintained by the men who 
have actually enjoyed its advantages, its member- 
ship representing an extraordinarily large portion 
of the community. The Mechanics' Institute, 
of which Mr. Chisholm was perhaps proude: 
than of any single achievement, has played a 
great part in the upbuilding of the city and in 
raising the lives of its people above the sordid 
material things that often tend to become the 
standard in purely industrial communities. In 
view of his great services to the entire region, 
there could have been no more appropriate ac- 
tion than that taken by Bowdoin College shortly 
before his death in conferring upon him the de- 
gree of Master of Arts, an occasion which was 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



23 



taken by President Hyde, of that institution, to 
refer to Mr. (.'hisholm as a "Far sighted and 
forceful business man, who had sought to share 
his prosperity with his employees and to help 
tl'ci.i to wholesome and happy lives." Mr. 
Chisholm's death occurred July I, 1912, at his 
home on Fifth avenue, New York City. 

Hugh J. Chisholm was united in marriage, Sep- 
tember i, 1872, at Portland, Maine, with Hen- 
rietta Mason, a native of this city and a daugh- 
ter of Dr. Edward Mason, at one time a well 
known physician here. Mrs. Chisholm survives 
her husband. One child was born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Chishohn, Hugh J., Jr., whose sketch' fol- 
lows: 



HUGH J. CHISHOLM. JR. It seems to be a 
fact, and one worthy of note, in viewing the 
State of Maine from a historic standpoint, that 
the brains of comparatively young men control 
the most important affairs of State and Nation, 
and that the successful results are mainly due to 
them. A most worthy member of this class is 
the man whose name heads this biographical rec- 
ord. 

Hugh J. Chisholm, Jr., was born April 17, 1886, 
at Portland. Maine, a son of Hugh J. Chisholm, 
deceased, whose biographical record precedes 
this. As a child he attended the public schools 
of Portland, but in 1898 his parents went to 
New York and made their home on Fifth avenue 
during the winter. The lad was then sent to a 
we!l-!:nown private school there and prepared 
for college. He matriculated at Yale Univer- 
sity in 1904, and after taking the usual academic 
course was graduated with the class of 1908. 
He then entered the Harvard Law School and 
graduated from "that institution in 1911. Mr. 
Chisholm did not practice his profession, how- 
ever, but quickly identified himself with the great 
business enterprise which his father was then 
conducting. Only a year later, however, the 
death of the elder man suddenly transferred the 
whole of the great responsibility upon the 
shoulders of the son, a tremendous burden for 
so young a mr.n to bear, and that the more espe- 
cially as his intense devotion to his father made 
the latter's death a severe shock. He has amply 
measured up to the task thus suddenly thrust 
upon him, and is now carrying on the great en- 
terprises of his father with the same success 
and in the same spirit of broad-minded altruism 
which characterized that remarkable man. Mr. 
Chisholm is undoubtedly one of the most impor- 
tant figures in the business world of Maine to- 
dav. 



In conclusion we may say of Mr. Chisholm 
that success has crowned his efforts, untiring in- 
dustry, indefatigable perseverance, careful atten- 
tion to details, painstaking thoughtfulness, have 
produced the results, but down deep below all 
this has been his honesty and undeviating de- 
votion to principles of integrity and justice. He 
is always willing to listen to and respect the 
opinions of others. When the time comes for 
action he acts according to his own judgment. 
His accurate estimates of men enables him to fill 
the many branches of his business enterprises 
with employees who seldom fail to meet his 
expectations. Happily gifted in manner, dis- 
position and taste, enterprising and original in 
business ideas, personally liked by those who 
know him best and as frank in declaring his 
principles as he is sincere in maintaining them, 
his merited success is marked by the apprecia- 
tion of men whose good opinion is best worth 
having. 



HENRY CLAY MERRIAM was born at 
Houlton, Aroostook county, Maine, November 13, 
1837, son of Lewis and Mary (Foss) Merriam, 
and a descendant in the eighth generation of 
Joseph Merriam, Kent, England, who came to 
Massachusetts in 1635, and settled at Concord, 
Massachusetts. 

Henry C. Merriam was graduated at Colby 
University in 1864, notwithstanding he had ac- 
cepted a commission as captain in the Twentieth 
Maine Regiment in 1862. The battle of Antietam 
brought him the brevet of lieutenant-colonel. In 
1863 he joined General Ulman's expedition to 
Louisiana to organize colored troops, and was 
placed in command of the First Louisiana Native 
Guard, already organized, the oldest black regi- 
ment in the Federal army. This regiment was 
distinguished at Port Hudson, May 27, 1863, and 
led the final assault on Fort Blakely, Mobile, 
April 9, 1865, the result being the capture of 
the fort and six thousand prisoners Colonel 
Merriam voluntarily leading the charge in advance 
of orders. This was the last assault of the Civil 
War, and for it he received the Congressional 
medal of honor, and was breveted colonel in the 
volunteer and regular army. He was. mustered 
out, October 24, 1865, and resumed the study of 
law. On July 28, 1866, he was appointed major 
of the Thirty-eighth Infantry, regular army, and 
during April-June, 1867, he commanded the in- 
fantry reserve battalion of Custer's Indian cam- 
paign in Kansas. He commanded Fort Mcln- 
tosh, 1876, during the last Mexican Revolution; 
bombarded the Mexican Federal force of.-Col- 



v 



24 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



onel Pablo Quintana, April 10, redressing out- 
rages against the Americans; crossed the Rio 
Grande, August 22, and rescued United States 
Commercial Agent Haines, who had been cap- 
tured by a band of Revolutionists. He was 
promoted lieutenant-colonel, Second Infantry, 
June 10, 1876, and was assigned to the Depart- 
ment of the Columbia during the Nez Perce War 
of 1877. For his services in Idaho and Wash- 
ington, and for his successful management of the 
various Indian tribes of that region, resulting in 
gathering the Indians upon reservations and 
opening vast tracts to settlement, Colonel Mer- 
riam received the highest official commendation 
of his department commanders, Generals How- 
ard and Miles, and of the State authorities. 
Promoted colonel of the Seventh Infantry, July 
10, 1885, he commanded Fort Laramie, Wyoming, 
until October 15, 1889, when his command was 
ordered to Fort Logan, Colorado. During the 
Sioux campaign of 1890-91 General Merriam com- 
manded all troops along the Cheyenne river, 
South Dakota, and disarmed nearly three hun- 
dred of Sitting Bull's followers during their 
stampede after the death of their chief. 

Appointed brigadier-general, June 30, 1897, he 
was assigned to the Department of the Colum- 
bia, which included Alaska, and was charged 
with the work of organizing a relief expedition 
to pierce that frozen region in midwinter to res- 
cue starving miners. When war with Spain 
was declared, he was made a major-general of 
volunteers and his command increased to include 
the entire Pacific Coast and Hawaii. He was 
also called upon to organize, equip, instruct and 
forward across the Pacific the troops operating 
in the Philippines under Generals Merritt and 
Otis. In January, 1899, he was relieved by 
Major-General Shafter, and assigned to command 
the Departments of the Colorado and the Mis- 
souri, and in 1901 he was retired by age limit 
7/ith the rank of brigadier-general, and advanced 
to the rank of major-general by special act of 
Congress, approved February 5, 1903. General 
Merriam is the inventor of the infantry "pack" 
bearing his name, for which he was awarded a 
gold medal by the French Academy of Inventors. 

General Merriam married at Fort Brown, 
Texas, 1874, Una, daughter of Judge John Mac- 
pherson, of Jamaica, West Indies. Their family 
consisted of three sons and two daughters. Gen- 
eral Merriam died November 12, 1912. 



JAMES WARE BRADBURY The name 
Bradbury belongs to that great group which have 



had their origin in earlier place names and is 
undoubtedly of Saxon origin. Its most probable 
derivation is from the early form of the word 
"broad" and that very common suffix "bury," 
which has been defined variously as meaning a 
hill, a domain, a house and a town. Like al- 
most all the early names we find it under a great 
variety of spellings and the forms Bradberrie, 
Bradberrye, Bradberry, and Bradbury are com- 
mon. As nearly as we can speak of any form 
being correct in those days of loose orthography, 
the latter is probably the best usage, and it is 
certainly the one adopted by the founder of the 
family in this country and pretty closely followed 
by his descendants. We do not find the name 
mentioned prior to the year 1433, A. D., but in 
that year there were living among the gentry at 
Ollersett in the parish of Glossop, Derbyshire, 
England, Roger de Bradbury and Rodolphus de 
Bradbury, and this place seems to have been the 
ancient home of the family from which all its 
branches subsequently came. The Bradburys of 
the United States are descended from a line 
which probably originated with one Edward 
Bradbury, of Ollersett, Derbyshire, who married 
Eleanor Shakerly, a daughter of Thomas Shaker- 
ly, of Longson. This Edward Bradbury had two 
sons, one by the name of Ottiwell and the sec- 
ond Robert. The line may be traced unbroken- 
ly to one Robert Bradbury who was, in all prob- 
ability, the second son of the Edward Bradbury 
mentioned above, but of this fact there is no 
direct evidence. 

(I) Robert Bradbury, of Ollersett, Derbyshire, 
married a daughter of Robert Davenport, of 
Bramhall, in the County of Chester, and they 
were the parents of the following children: Wil- 
liam, mentioned below, and Thomas, who was 
inducted rector of Meesden, in Essexshire, Feb- 
ruary 6, 1486, and died in 1513. 

(II) William Bradbury, son of Robert Brad- 
bury, of Braughing, Hertfordshire, was patron 
of the church of Westmill in that county, in 
1462, and married Margaret Rockhill, daughter 
of Geoffry Rockhill, of Wormingford. They 
were the parents of the following children: Rob- 
ert, mentioned below; Thomas, who became Sir 
Thomas Bradbury, sheriff of London in 1498, 
Lord Mayor of London in 1509, and Lord of sev- 
eral manors in Hertfordshire, Essex and Kent; 
George, who was a prosperous merchant of Lon- 
don; Henry and Phillippa, who became the sec- 
ond wife of John Jocelyn, of High Roding, Es- 
sexshire. 

(III) Robert (2) Bradbury, son of William 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



25 



and Margaret (Rockhill) Bradbury, was named 
in the inquisition of his brother, Sir Thomas 
Bradbury, then dead (Supposed Justice of the 
Assize, Isle of Ely, February 4, 1486, witness to 
will of George Nicholl, of Littlebury, December 
2, 1484, died 1489, and buried in Church of Grey 
Friars, London). He is said to have married 
Anne Wyant, a daughter of Infans Wyant. They 
were the parents of one child, William, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) William (2) Bradbury, son of Robert (2) 
Bradbury, was born in the year 1480, and suc- 
ceeded his uncle, Sir Thomas Bradbury, as Lord 
of the Manor of Mancenden and other great es- 
tates. He acquired the Manor of Catmere Hall 
in Littlebury, Essexshire, in 1543, and was buried 
at Littlebury, June 15, 1546. It is not known 
whom he married, although he is incorrectly 
stated to have wed Joan Fitzwilliams, daughter 
of Sir John Fitzwilliams, Lord of Elmyn and 
Spottsbury, and widow of Thomas Bendish, of 
Bowre Hall, in Steeple Bumstead. Whoever his 
wife was, they were the parents of the follow- 
ing children: William, who married Helen or 
Eleanor Fuller; Fhillipa, who married (first) 
Michael Welbore or Pondes in Clavering, Es- 
sexshire, and (second) John Barlee, of Staple- 
ford, Abbots, Essexshire; and Matthew, men- 
tioned below. 

(V) Matthew Bradbury, son of William (2) 
Bradbury, was Lord of the Manor of Wicken 
Hall, in the Parish of Wicken Bonant, which 
he acquired by purchase in 1557. He also pu;- 
chased the Manor of Grange at Thaxted, Essex- 
shire, in 1551, but sold it the next year. His 
death occurred June 19, 1585, and his son Wil- 
liam was appointed administrator of his estate. 
He married Margaret Rowse, of the city of 
Cambridge, and they were parents of the follow- 
ing children: William, mentioned below; Thom- 
as, who married Dorothy Southwell; and Bar- 
bara, who married (first) Sir Henry Cults, (sec- 
ond) Sir Thomas Fludd, (third) Edward Gill, 
Esq., (fourth) Walter Covert, of Boxley in 
Kent. 

(VI) William (3) Bradbury, son of Matthew 
and Margaret (Rowse) Bradbury, inherited his 
father's Manor of Wicken Bonant, and is named 
in the wills of his cousin Robert and brother 
Thomas. He died November 30, 1622, and was 
buried at Wicken. He married Anne Eden, the 
daughter and heir of Richard Eden, Esq., LL.D., 
of Bury St. Edmunds, SufFolkshire, and they were 
the parents of the following children: Matthew, 
mentioned below; Wymond, mentioned below; 



Henry, who died in early youth; Thomas, who 
died in early youth; Thomas (2), who died in 
early youth; Bridget, who became the wife of 
Francis Bridgewater; Anne, who became the wife 
of Thomas Kinethorpe, of Louth, Lincolnshire; 
Alice, who was baptized at Newport Pond, Feb- 
ruary 23, 1572-73, and married (first) George 
Yardley, of Weston, Hertshire, and (second) 
Thomas Wadeson. 

(VII) Matthew (2) Bradbury, son of William 
(3) and Anne (Eden) Bradbury, inherited the 
Manor of Wicken Bonant, where he lived and 
died September 22, 1616. He married Jane Whit- 
gift, daughter of William Whitgift, of Claver- 
ing, Essexshire, and his marriage settlement is 
dated, June 6, 1594. They were the parents of 
the following children: Matthew, Edward, Phil- 
lippa, Barbara, Margaret, Elizabeth and Martha. 

(VII) Wymond Bradbury, son of William (3) 
and Anne (Eden) Bradbury, also resided at 
Wicken Bonant during his early youth, but after- 
wards removed to the Parish of White Chapel, 
in the County of Middlesex, where he died in 
1650. He was baptized at Newport Pond, May 

16, 1574, and was residing in London, October 

17, 1628. He married Elizabeth Whitgift, sis- 
ter of the wife of his brother Matthew, who died 
June 26, 1612, at the age of thirty-eight years 
and three months, and was buried at Croyden in 
the County of Surrey. They were the parents of 
the following children: William, baptized at 
Newport Pond, September 28, 1607, and probably 
born September 13 in that year; Thomas, men- 
tioned below; James, baptized at Wicken Bonant, 

June 21, 1616; Anne, who married (first) 

Troughton, and (second) Stubbles. 

(VIII) Thomas Bradbury, second son of Wy- 
mond and Elizabeth (Whitgift) Bradbury, was 
baptized at Wicken Bonant, Essexshire, England, 
on the last day of February, 1610-11. Early in 
1634 he appeared at Agamenticus, now York, 
Maine, as the agent or steward of Sir Ferdinando 
Gorges, the proprietor of the Province of Maine. 
Thomas Bradbury was one of 'ihe original pro- 
prietors of the ancient town of Salisbury, Maine, 
and one of the earliest settlers there, becoming 
in time a very prominent citizen. He was made 
a freeman in 1640, and held several important 
offices, including schoolmaster, town clerk, jus- 
tice of the peace, deputy to the General Court, 
associate judge and captain of the military com- 
pany. He must have been a man of much cul- 
ture and enlightenment, and described as having 
an easy, graceful and legible hand, and a clear 
and concise style of expression. There is still 



26 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



extant a copy of his will, which is phrased in the 
quaint old diction of those days. He married, 
in 1636, Mary Perkins, a daughter of John and 
Judith Perkins, of Ipswich. She was one of 
those who was tried and convicted of witch- 
craft, but was fortunate enough to escape punish- 
ment. Mr. Bradbury died March 16, 1695, and 
his wife, December 20, 1700. A very interesting 
and moving excerpt from the testimony of 
Thomas Bradbury during his wife's trial for 
witchcraft has come down to us, and reads as 
follows: 

Concerning my beloved wife, Mary Bradbury, this 
Is what I have to say: We have been married twenty- 
five years, and she has been a loving and faithful wife 
unto me unto this day. She hath been wonderful 
laborious, diligent and industrious in her place and 
employment about the bringing up of our family, 
which have been eleven children of our own and four 
grandchildren. She was both prudent and provident, 
of a cheerful spirit, liberal and charitable. She be- 
ing now very aged and meek, and grieved under af- 
flictions, may not be able to speak much for herself 
not being so free of speech as some others might be. 
I hope her life and conversation among her neigh- 
bors has been such as gives a better or more real 
testimony than can be expressed by words. 

Thomas and Mary Bradbury were the parents 
of the following children: Wymond, mentioned 
below; Judith, born October 2, 1638, married, Oc- 
tober 9, 1665, Caleb Moody; Thomas, born Jan- 
uary 28, 1641; M,ary, born March 17, 1643, mar- 
ried, December 17, 1663, John Stanyan, of Hamp- 
ton, New Hampshire; Jane, born May n, 1645, 
married, March 15, 1668, Henry True; Jacob, 
born June 17, 1647, died at Barbadoes; William, 
born September 15, 1649, married, March 12, 
1672, Rebecca Maverick. 

(IX) Wymond (2) Bradbury, son of Thomas 
and Mary (Perkins) Bradbury, was born April I, 
1637, and died April 7, 1669, on the Island of 
Nevis, in the West Indies. He married, Sarah 
Pike, a daughter of Robert and Sarah (Sanders) 
Pike, May 7, 1661, and they were the parents of 
the following children: Sarah, born February 
26, 1662, and became the wife of Abraham Mer- 
rill; Anne, born November 22, 1666, and became 
the wife of Jeremy Allen, and Wymond, men- 
tioned below. 

(X) Wymond (3) Bradbury, son of Wymond 
(2) and Sarah (Pike) Bradbury, was born May 
13, 1669, and died in York, Maine, April 17, 1734. 
He married Mariah, daughter of the Rev. John 
and Joanna (Rosetter) Cotton, who was born 
January 14, 1672. Her father was the son of 
the Rev. John and Sarah (Story) Cotton. They 
were the parents of the following children: Jabez, 
born January 26, 1693, died January 13, 1781, a 
resident of Boston; Wymond, born August 18, 



1695, married Phebe Young; John, mentioned be- 
low; Rowland, born December 15, 1699, married 
Mary Greenleaf; Ann, born March 9, 1702, be- 
came the wife of Jabez Fox, of Falmouth; 
Josiah, born July 25, 1704, married Anna Stevens; 
Theophilus, born July 8, 1706, married Ann 
Woodman; Maria, born 1708, became the wife of 
Samuel Service, of Boston; Jerusha, born July 5, 
1711, became the wife of John Pulling, of Salem. 

(XI) John Bradbury, son of Wymond (3) 
and Maria (Cotton) Bradbury, was born Sep- 
tember 9, 1697, and died December 3, 1778. He 
was the founder of the York family of Bradbury, 
and was a prominent man in the affairs of that 
community and of the Presbyterian church there, 
of which he was an elder. He was an ardent 
patriot during the Revolution, and it is said that 
on one occasion he rebuked his minister in open 
meeting for sentiments disloyal to the colonies, 
expressed in his sermon. He married Abigail 
Young, daughter of Lieutenant Joseph and Abi- 
gail Donnell Young, of York, who died Sep- 
tember 28, 1787. He served for several years 
as a member of the Provincial Legislature, as 
well as on the Executive Council, and he was 
also judge of probate. He and his wife were 
the parents of the following children: Cotton, 
mentioned below; Lucy, born January 18, 1725; 
Bethulah, born March 30, 1727, and became the 
wife of James Say ward; Mariah, born April 5, 

1729, and became the wife of Simpson; 

Abigail, born August 12, 1731; Elizabeth, born 
January 5, 1734; John, born September 18, 1736, 
married Elizabeth Ingraham; Joseph, born Oc- 
tober 23, 1740, married Dorothy Clark; and Anne, 
born June 2, 1743, married - - Moulton. 

(XII) Cotton Bradbury, son of John and Abi- 
gail (Young) Bradbury, was born October 8, 
1722, at York, Maine, and resided at that place. 
He married Ruth Weare, a daughter of Elias 
Weare, of York, and died June 14, 1806. He and 
his wife were the parents of the following chil 
dren: Lucy, born June 20, 1754, became the wife 
of Nathaniel Moulton; Edward, born May 20, 
1757, married Eunice Berry, and died May, 
1828; Daniel, born April 7, 1759, married Abigail 
Junkins; Betsey, born December 10, 1760, mar- 
ried Daniel Knight; Abigail, born December 16, 
1765, married Elihu Bragdon; Olive, born Jan- 
uary 3, 1768, married, January 15, 1795, Nathaniel 
Dorman, of Arundell; Joseph, born May i, 1770, 
married Jerusha Harmon; James, mentioned be- 
low; and Ruth, born October 19, 1774, became 
the wife of Joseph Haley. 

(XIII) James Bradbury, son of Cotton and 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



27 



Ruth (Weare) Bradbury, was born April 24, 
1772, at York, Maine. As a young man he 
studied for the medical profession, and after 
graduation practiced for a year at Ossipee, New 
Hampshire. In 1798 he settled at Parsonsfield, 
Maine. He soon had an extensive practice and 
continued actively engaged thus for nearly half 
a century. When an old man, he removed to 
Windharrt, so that he might be near his only 
daughter, who had married and resided there. 
His death occurred February 7, 1844. While 
practicing at Parsonsfield, Dr. Bradbury had a 
large number of medical students attached to 
his office, and among them several men who 
became distinguished in medical societies in 
Maine. He was himself a first-class physician 
and was greatly respected and honored through- 
out this entire region. He was always upright in 
all his dealings with his fellows, and possessed 
of an exceedingly courteous and attractive man- 
ner. He joined the Free Baptist church in 1816 
and continued a member until the time of his 
death. Dr. Bradbury married, in 1800, Ann Moul- 
ton, a daughter of Samuel Moulton. She was 
born September 2, 1777, and they were the par- 
ents of the following children: James Ware, 
mentioned below; Samuel Moulton, born August 
22, 1804, married (first) Susan Bracket! and (sec- 
ond) Elizabeth Brackctt, and died September 22, 
1888; Clarissa Ann, born June 19, 1807, became 
the wife of Dr. Charles G. Parsons, of Windham. 
(XIV) Hon. James Ware Bradbury, LL.D., son 
of James and Ann (Moulton) Bradbury, was 
born June 10, 1802, at Parsonsfield, Maine. As 
a lad he attended the public schools of his na- 
tive place, and afterwards studied for a few 
terms at the academies of Saco, Limerick and 
Effingham, New Hampshire, and completed his 
preparatory course at Gorham Academy. Upon 
completing his studies at the last named insti- 
tution, he entered the sophomore class at Bow- 
doin College in 1822 and graduated from that 
institution with one of the most famous classes 
ever graduated there, that of 1825. Among his 
classmates were Henry W. Longfellow, Josiah 
Stover Little, Jonathan Cilley, Nathaniel Haw- 
thorne, John S. C. Abbott, and George B. 
Cheevcr. Among all these brilliant men, Josiah 
S. Little took the highest honors for scholar- 
ship, and at the commencement three English 
orations were assigned, tlic valedictory to Little 
and the other two to Bradbury and Longfellow. 
Upon completing Ins course at Bowdoin, Mr. 
Bradbury was offered the post of principal of 
the academy at Hallowell, and accepted the offer, 



coming to that place to take up his new duties. 
At that time no town in Maine was more distin- 
guished for culture and literary attainments. To 
it had recently come Dr. Benjamin Vaughan, 
formerly a member of the English parliament 
who, with his family, gave a high tone to the 
society there, while the good doctor was ever 
doing some kind act to improve the condition 
in all classes. Dr. Bradbury, however, remained 
but one year there, having determined to make 
the profession of law his career in life. With 
this end in view, he entered the law office of the 
Hon. Rufus Mclntire, of Parsonsfield, where he 
studied for a time, and later the office of the 
Hon. Ether Shepley, of Portland, subsequently 
the chief justice of the Supreme Judicial Court 
of Maine. Here Dr. Bradbury continued his 
studies and was admitted to the bar. Between 
the date of his having completed his studies and 
his admission to the bar, however, the young 
man had opened a school for the instruction of 
teachers at Effingham, New Hampshire. This 
was an innovation at the time and he was able 
to draw a large class of fifty or more who de- 
sired to be drilled in the practice of this profes- 
sion. Dr. Bradbury conducted his class in a 
very original manner and indeed may be said 
to have formed a model for the various normal 
institutions which have since sprung up through- 
out this country. Mr. Bradbury removed to 
Augusta in the year 1830, where he opened an 
office for the practice of the law. At that time 
the Kennebec county bar was famous for the 
ability and brilliancy of many of its members, 
among which were numbered Peleg Sprague, 
George Evans, Reuel Williams, Frederick Allen, 
Henry W. Fuller, William Emmons, Timothy 
Boutelle, Samuel Wells and Hiram Belcher. In 
spite of the difficulty of gaining a conspicuous 
place amid such a galaxy this feat was accom- 
plished by young Mr. Bradbury, who soon began 
to attract the attention, not only of his profes- 
sional colleagues, but of the entire community. 
He was unusually well qualified for his profes- 
sion, and was devoted to it in a manner typical 
of the best traditions of the bar. The law it- 
self was his mistress and not used by him as 
by so many lesser men, as the mere stepping 
stone to political preferment. After four years 
hard work, he had developed a large practice 
which he continued to increase up to the time of 
his nomination and election to the United States 
Senate in 1846. During the sixteen years that 
he was thus activelj r engaged in practice, he 
handled a very large proportion of the impor- 



28 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



tant litigation of the region, and no law office 
in Kennebec county was busier than his. He 
was in great demand as a trial lawyer and was 
frequently retained by other prominent attor- 
neys as counsel in their important cases. His 
unusually profound knowledge of the principles 
of the law, together with an amazing quickness 
and alertness of intellect, made him unusually 
effective in court, and there were very few attor- 
neys who cared to meet and oppose him under 
these conditions. In 1833 he formed a partner- 
ship with Mr. Horatio Bridge which, however, 
only lasted a year, but in 1838 Richard D. Rice, 
later associate justice of the Supreme Court of 
Maine, became a student in Mr. Bradbury's of- 
fice, and upon his admission to the bar was 
taken into partnership by the elder man. This 
continued until 1848, when Mr. Rice was ap- 
pointed to the bench by Governor Dana. Mr. 
Bradbury then formed a partnership with the late 
Lott M. Merrill, and during this partnership Mr. 
Mjorrill was elected State Senator and three 
times Governor of Maine. After Mr. Brad- 
bury's return to his practice, upon his retirement 
as United States Senator, he formed a partner- 
ship in 1856 with Joseph H. Meserve, who re- 
mained a member of the firm until his death in 
1864. Mr. Bradbury then admitted his son, James 
Ware Bradbury, Jr., into partnership. He was 
himself practically ready to retire at this time, 
but continued to keep up the firm for the pur- 
pose of establishing his son in practice here and 
was indeed still active up to the time of his 
death in 1876. 

Upon first coming to Augusta, Mr. Bradbury 
edited for about one year a Democratic journal 
called the Maine Patriot. He was a staunch ad- 
herent to the principles and policies of the Demo- 
crat party, although absolutely independent of 
mind, and his judgments were formed wholly 
upon honest thought and conviction and without 
regard to partisan consideration. Although 
never anxious to hold public office, and never 
allowing political matters to interfere with his 
legal practice, such were the abilities of Mr. 
Bradbury that it was very difficult for him to 
remain altogether outside the arena of public 
life. In 1835 he was appointed county attor- 
ney by Governor Dunlap and accepted this post 
as being in line with his regular professional ac- 
tivities. Upon certain occasions, however, he 
was a conspicuous figure in the political cam- 
paigns of his day, this being the case, especially 
when what he considered important principles 
were at stake. He was a strong supporter of 



Andrew Jackson as against Mr. Van Buren, and 
when at the Baltimore convention of 1844 James 
K. Polk was offered as a compromise candidate, 
he departed from his usual custom and spoke 
in favor of that gentleman's candidacy through- 
out the campaign. It was at the 1846 session 
of the Maine Legislature that Mr. Bradbury was 
chosen United States Senator for the term of six 
years, and at the commencement of the session 
of 1847 he took his seat. His entrance into the 
Senate occurred at a very critical and interesting 
period in the history of the United States, and 
he found himself working among such men as 
Daniel Webster, Henry Clay, John C. Calhoun, 
Thomas H. Benton, Lewis Cass, Stephen A. 
Douglass, William H. Seward, Salmon P. Chase 
and other of the giants of that time. The coun- 
try was in the midst of its war with Mexico, and 
Mr. Bradbury at once became a staunch and 
patriotic supporter of the administration in its 
efforts to sustain and equip the little American 
army, then operating in the heart of Mexico and 
surrounded by hostile forces greatly superior to 
itself. At this time, too, the question of slavery 
was becoming more and more a vital issue be- 
fore the country, and Mr. Bradbury became a 
powerful champion of the right of the Congress 
to legislate upon the question of slavery in the 
territories. Throughout his long and important 
association with the body, Mr. Bradbury main- 
tained a standard of disinterestedness and en- 
lightenment surpassed by very few, and his at- 
titude on the great public question of the day 
might well have served as a model for many of 
his fellow whose power and influence was even 
greater than his. He served as chairman of 
the committee on printing, and was also a mem- 
ber of the judiciary committee and the commit- 
tee on claims. He continued to be devoted to 
the principles of democracy, and throughout his 
life regarded the administration of President 
Polk as the most important in our history. His 
name was continually identified with reform leg- 
islation, and he was regarded as one of the most 
effective speakers and readiest debaters of the 
Senate. After the termination of his office, he 
refused reelection to same and retired to pri- 
vate life and the resumption of his legal prac- 
tice. 

Mr. Bradbury always maintained a wide and 
enlightened public interest in all questions af- 
fecting the welfare of his home community. He 
was keenly interested in Bowdoin College and 
served for a number of years as a member of its 
board of overseers and for thirty years as a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



29 



member of its board of trustees. He was also 
interested in local history and was a member of 
the Maine Historical Society and its president 
from 1873 to 1889. In his religious belief he 
was a Congregationalist, attending the church of 
that denomination at Augusta and liberally sup- 
porting its work here. He was, however, ex- 
ceedingly tolerant of the beliefs of other men 
and felt a broad charity and fellowship for all 
denominations of Christians. At a dinner given 
by the Maine Historical Society on the occasion 
of Mr. Bradbury's eighty-fifth birthday, the fol- 
lowing remarks concerning him were made by 
Professor Chapman: 

We are here today in grateful recognition of tbe 
debt we owe to the fidelity and wisdom of one who 
has been so many years our sachem our esteemed 
and honored president. We all know, gentlemen, his 
mis.-liisli devotion to the welfare of the society; his 
:iiu! watchful care over Its varied interests; the 
kimlly courtesy of his official and personal relations 
with us. It is n great pleasure to us to give some 
outward expression to the honor which our hearts 
have all along yielded to him. And In order to em- 
phasize the feeling that prompted this gathering, we 
have been glad to Invite and welcome here the repre- 
sentatives of sister societies to unite with us in this 
tribute of esteem. We may thus confirm, by living 
contact and fellowship, the sympathies that run along 
the obscure lines of antiquarian research, and bind us 
together in the ties of common or similar pursuits. 

Nor do we forget that the day is one that permits 
as to add to this token and assurance of our associated 
regard the kindly congratulations and good wishes 
which belong to a personal anniversary an anni- 
versary, it may be said, that recurs with startling fre- 
quency in all our lives. Whatever that was cherished 
and valuable, the passing years may have taken away 
from our revered president, who today reaches another 
milestone on his journey, they have not taken away 
from him the continued power and privilege of serving 
his fellowmen in many noble ways. They cannot take 
away from him the record of that for which we honor 
him a life distinguished by important duties worthily 
performed, by high trusts faithfully discharged, by 
great privilege! blamelessly enjoyed. And, on the 
other hand, they have brought to him in their swift 
passage, 

That which should accompany old age, 

As honor, love, obedience, troops of friends. 
James Ware Bradbury was united in marriage, 
November 25, 1834, with Eliza Ann Smith, a 
daughter of Thomas Westbrook and Abigail 
(Page) Smith, of Augusta, who was born March 
18, 1815. Mr. Smith, the father of Mrs. Brad- 
bury, was a prominent merchant and business 
man of Augusta. Mrs. Bradbury was a woman 
of unusually beautiful character and noteworthy 
talents and abilities. She was very charitable 
and an active worker in many philanthropic 
movements in this region. Her death occurred 
suddenly on January 29, 1879, and the epitaph 
engraved upon her tombstone is admirably ap- 
propriate, both in its simplicity and the senti- 
ment it conveys: 

She loved to do good. 



Mr. and Mrs. Bradbury were the parents of 
the following children, all born in Augusta: I. 
Henry Westbrook, born February 10, 1836, mar- 
ried in 1878, Louisa Hoffman Gregorie, who died 
in 1912; they were the parents of two daughters: 
Alice, who died in infancy; and Lila, who mar- 
ried (first) in February, 1904, Dallett H. Wil- 
son, of Baltimore, (second) Edward S. Rand, of 
New York; by her first marriage she had two 
children, Louise Bradbury, born in November, 
1904, and James Ware Bradbury, born in 1006; 
by her second marriage she has two daughters, 
twins, Lila Bradbury and Josephine Lindsay, 
born in July, 1916. 2. James Ware, Jr., men- 
tioned below. 3. Thomas Westbrook Smith, born 
July 24, 1841, died May I, 1868; a young man of 
fine character and many abilities, whose early 
death was greatly lamented. 4. Charles, born 
March 31, 1846, married, November 8, 1870, Eva 
A. Lancaster, of Augusta, and makes his home 
at Boston. 

(XV) James Ware (2) Bradbury, son of the 
Hon. James Ware (i) and Eliza Ann (Smith) 
Bradbury, was born July 22, 1839, at Augusta, 
and died September 21, 1876. He was a grad- 
uate of Bowdoin College in the class of 1861, 
and upon completing his studies there he en- 
tered the office of Bradbury, Morrill & Meserve 
to take up the study of law. Upon his admis- 
sion to the bar he was taken into partnership 
by his father and for a number of years he car- 
ried on a very successful practice here. At the 
time of his premature death the future seemed 
to promise the brightest prospects and he was 
universally mourned as a valuable element in the 
community. He was city solicitor of Augusta 
in 1868, and was appointed United States com- 
missioner in 1869, holding that office until his 
decease and discharging his duties with great 
independence and capability. He was keenly 
interested in public affairs, and like his father 
a staunch advocate of Democratic principles. Of 
him Professor Packard remarked at the time of 
his death: "He left with us the impression that 
he possessed intellectual powers which promised 
much for his friends and for the public." 



OLIVER AND FRANK OLIVER MOSES 
Bath, Maine, has been, perhaps, of all the 
towns of the State, the most closely identified 
with that most romantic of industries, shipbuild- 
ing, during the great days when American ships 
were fashioned from the pine forests of the 
neighborhood in such numbers and won for this 
country a foremost place among the mercantile 
nations of the world. The sailing vessels of 



30 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



all kinds built here, and especially the clipper 
ships, rivaled, if they did not surpass, the finest 
vessels on earth and carried the starry flag to 
every port of importance on the seven seas. And 
if Bath was thus distinguished among its fel- 
low towns, the name of Moses holds a not less 
conspicuous place among those of the men who 
were the designers and builders of those wonder- 
ful ships which, though they trusted to the 
wind alone for their motive power, and were 
innocent of any steel or iron in their construc- 
tion, braved every peril of the deep and estab- 
lished some records for speed that compared 
not unfavorably with all but the modern "grey- 
hounds." 

The Moses family is one of the oldest in New 
England, having been founded here some time 
prior to 1632, when there was a colonist of the 
name of John Moses at Plymouth, but the earliest 
record of one of the immediate line with which 
we are concerned was in 1646, where there was 
another John Moses living at Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire. This Sergeant John Moses, as he 
was called, was a Scot and owned land in the 
suburbs of Portsmouth, which is still in the pos- 
session of his descendants after the lapse of 
more than two hundred and sixty years. It was 
George Moses, the great-grandson of the immi- 
grant ancestor, who founded the Scarborough, 
Maine, branch of the family, to which Oliver 
Moses and his sons belonged. This George 
Moses was born at Portsmiouth and there bap- 
tized, July 5, 1722. He removed from Ports- 
mouth and settled on a farm at Scottow's Hill, 
near Scarborough in 1754, and there resided until 
his death. 

Oliver Moses was born at Scarborough, Maine, 
May 12, 1803, a son of Nathaniel and Elizabeth 
(Milliken) Moses, old and highly respected resi- 
dents of that place. When still little more than 
a youth, he left the parental roof and went to 
Portland, where he was apprenticed to a tin- 
smith and learned that trade. In the month of 
February, 1826, he went to Bath, which there- 
after was his residence until the day of his death 
and here engaged in business at the craft he had 
learned. He was joined shortly after by his 
brother, William V. Moses, who had also taken 
up the trade, and the two young men entered 
into a partnership in their business. The first 
shop operated by them was situated on Vine 
street, Bath, but shortly after they removed to 
Water stret, where the Bath Iron Works was 
first located, and there the firm of W. V. and O. 
Moses prospered greatly. They were both en- 



terprising men who were always on the alert for 
new business openings and when, not long after, 
stoves began to be introduced to the local mar- 
ket they at once added them to their stock, to- 
gether with iron goods in general, and were 
among the first dealers in this commodity in the 
neighborhood. To the business of dealing in 
iron and tin goods, they then added that of the 
manufacture of iron castings, and gradually spe- 
cialized in that type used in the construction of 
railroads. A foundry was secured and operated 
which turned out these things with great rapidity, 
and as the railroads of the State were then in 
the process of their most rapid development, this 
line soon exceeded all other branches of the 
business, and the house began to gain a State- 
wide reputation. The building of ships was al- 
ready one of the greatest in Maine at this time, 
and Mr. Moses determined to become connected 
with it. Accordingly, he constructed a ship yard 
at the foot of Pearl street in Bath, and there 
began building his vessels. A great number were 
built by them, all of which were of the highest 
type ship then constructed, the performance 
of which under the actual test of service soon 
brought well deserved fame to their designer. 
Mr. Moses had by this time come to be regarded 
as one of the most successful and substantial 
men in the community, and his extraordinary or- 
ganizing and executive ability was recognized 
to such an extent that his services were desired 
by many enterprises, the affairs of which re- 
quired the control of a master mind. He thus 
became interested in many concerns, the suc- 
cess of which was important to the community, 
and among these the growing railroad system of 
the State. It was Oliver Moses that superin- 
tended the construction of the Androscoggin 
Railroad, and he was one of the directors of 
the company and a large shareholder, besides 
for a time holding the office of president. He 
was also president of the Knox and Lincoln 
Railroad, and managed the construction of that 
important line. Mr. Moses was the founder of 
the First National Bank at Bath, one of the 
first established in Maine and the sixty-first in 
the entire United States, and became its first 
president upon its organization, holding that of- 
fice until his death. The Bath Savings Institu- 
tion was one of the institutions which he was 
instrumental in founding, and of this he was a 
director during the remainder of his life. An- 
other achievement of Mr. Moses was that in 
connection with the building up and develop- 
ment of the community in which he played a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



31 



prominent part. He interested himself in the 
matter of the city real estate and owned much 
valuable property here, which he developed high- 
ly, much to his own and the community's ad- 
vantage. Columbian Hall Hotel was erected by 
him as were also Church block and Bank block, 
the building in which the First National Bank 
was first housed, while he was one of the chief 
contributors to the building of the Universalist 
church, Washington street. Mr. Mloses was a 
Universalist in his religious belief and attended 
the Washington Street Church, which he had 
been so largely instrumental in erecting. In 
1863 he started the Little River Manufacturing 
Company, which in 1865 was changed to the 
Worombo Manufacturing Company, the mill sit- 
uated at Lisbon Falls, Maine, a firm which has 
ever since continued to make the finest woolen 
goods in the country. He was its president until 
his death and made it his most important under- 
taking. 

Although his abilities were of a kind to emi- 
nently fit him for success in public life, Mr. 
scs was in no sense a politician and his am- 
bition for public office or honor of any kind did 
not exist. But, although he kept consistently out 
of politics, he was a staunch Democrat and an 
earnest and effective supporter of its principles. 
Mr. Moses was unquestionably one of the most 
enterprising and influential citizens of Bath, 
and few men of his generation did so much to- 
wards building up its industries and advancing 
its general welfare. He took a deep interest in 
tin 1 oily and its affairs, its people and institu- 
tions, and left no stone unturned to contribute 
to their advantage and happiness. 

Oliver Moses was united in marriage, July 9, 
1829, with Lydia Ham Clapp, a daughter of 
Charles Clapp. They were the parents of the 
following children: Francis, died in infancy; 
Frank Oliver, mentioned below; Galen Clapp, 
the subject of extended mention elsewhere in 
this work; Harriet Sylvester, who became the 
wife of George Knight, of Portland, now de- 
ceased; Anna Elizabeth, who became the wife of 
J'x'njamin F. Harris, of Portland; Julia, died in 
early youth; Wealthy Clapp, who became the 
wife of John W. Hinds, of Allston, Massachu- 
setts, now deceased. 

Frank Oliver Moses, second son of Oliver and 
Lydia Ham (Clapp) Moses, was born September 
19, 1833, at Bath, Maine, and as a lad attended 
the local schools. Upon completing his education 
he was taken as a partner into the shipbuilding 
establishment of Stephen Larrabee, who after- 



wards became his father-in-law, and there re- 
ceived his business training, and a better school 
it would have been difficult for him to have 
found. Later on, having become thoroughly fa- 
miliar with every branch and aspect of ship- 
building, he engaged in the same line on his own 
account, and in a few years became one of the 
largest and best known builders of vessels in the 
country. Some of the ships that were launched 
from his ways were among the most famous of 
their class that came from the State or that 
ever sailed the seas. Among them should be 
recorded the Oliver Moses, the Robert Cushman, 
the Frank Boult, the Joint Carver, the H. V. 
Baxter, the James Wright, the barks Andaman, 
Niphon and Ami, and the schooner Orvillc. Mr. 
Moses continued in active business until the year 
1876, when he retired to a well-earned leisure 
Mr. Moses was also one of the organizers of the 
Arctic Ice Company, in which enterprise he was 
associated with Edward Sewall, the business being 
the shipping of ice from Maine to the Southern 
and other States. Mr. Moses was a staunch 
Democrat in politics, and attended the Univer- 
salist church, taking an active part in the work 
of his church of which he was for many years a 
trustee. He was a Mason and Knight Templar. 

Mr. Moses was a man of unusually strong char- 
acter and attractive personality, an enterprising 
man, who like his father always kept the inter- 
est of the community in which he dwelt close 
to his heart and did a great deal to advance its 
growth and prosperity. He died March n, 1895, 
at the age of sixty-one years, venerated and be- 
loved, not only by his immediate relatives and 
friends, but by the community-at-large in a 
manner that rarely falls to the lot of men. He 
was laid to rest in the New Cemetery at Bath. 

Frank Oliver Moses was united in marriage, 
October 16, 1855, at Bath, with Ann Maria Lar- 
rabee, a native of this city and a daughter of 
Stephen and Nancy Blackston (Allen) Larrabee, 
the former a well known citizen of Bath. Mrs. 
Moses survived her husband but little more than 
a year, her death occurring August 19, 1896. A 
devoted wife and mother, she was a sterling 
Christian character, and the long years of her 
marriage with Mr. Moses were unusually happy 
and harmonious ones. They were the parents 
of the following children: i. Orville Bowman, 
deceased; he married Jane O. Gate, of Dresden, 
Maine, and they had two children: Frank Oliver, 
who married Edna Pettigrew, of Groton, Con- 
necticut, by whom he had one child, Ann Maria' 
and Sally Pearson, who makes her home at Bos- 



32 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



ton. 2. Emma Pedrick, who resides in the old 
Moses homestead at Bath. 3. Lydia Clapp, who 
resides with her sister in the old homestead. 4. 
Oliver, a well-known manufacturer of Bath, 
where he resides; he married Augusta Plummer, 
of Lisbon Falls, Maine, and they are the parents 
of the following children: Helen Larrabee, born 
June 5, 1894, became the wife of Walter Shaugh- 
nessy, to whom she has borne one child, Frances 
Anna; Frances Plummer, born November 2, 
1896; and Oliver, born April 28, 1899. 



CYRUS HERMANN KOTZSCHMAR CUR- 
TIS While the fame of Cyrus H. K. Curtis se- 
curely rests upon his own achievement, it is also 
an interesting truth that he descends from, an 
ancient English family and one of the oldest 
in the United States. The surname Curtis is 
derived from a Norman-French word, Curteis 
or Curtois, meaning courteous, civil. The name 
is supposed to have been brought to England 
in the eleventh century by the Normans in the 
train of William the Conqueror. The family has 
been traced definitely to Stephen Curtis, of Ap- 
pledore, in Kent, England, to about the middle 
of the fifteenth century. In America the family 
is traced to the year 1631, twelve years after the 
landing of the Pilgrims. The name in early 
New England records is found as both Curtis 
and Curtiss, both spellings being yet retained 
in different branches of the family. The coat-of- 
arms of the Curtis family of Kent and Sussex, 
England, from whom William Curtis descended 
is: 

Arms Argent a chevron sable between three bulls' 
heads cabossed, gules. 

Crest A unicorn passant or between four trees 
proper . 

(I) The family name was brought to America 
by William Curtis, who settled in Scituate, Mas- 
sachusetts, coming in the ship Lion, on her first 
voyage. His father, William Curtis, came a 
year later, but in the same ship, settling in 
Roxbury. He was accompanied by his three 
brothers Richard, who settled in Scituate, Mas- 
sachusetts; John, left no descendants; and Thom- 
as, who later settled in York, Maine. William 
Curtis was also accompanied by his wife, Sarah 
(a sister of Rev. John Eliot, the Indian apostle), 
and four children. He was born in England, 
1590. 

(II) William (2) Curtis, eldest son of William 
(i) Curtis, born in England, 1611, preceded his 
father to this country in 1631, settling at Scituate, 
where his later life was spent on his North river 
farm, where he died leaving issue. 



(III) Benjamin Curtis, second son of William 
(2) Curtis, was born in Scituate, January, 1667. 
He built, owned and operated the Curtis Mills 
on Third Herring pond. He married, in 1689, 
Mary Sylvester, and died leaving issue. 

(IV) Benjamin (2) Curtis, eldest son of Ben- 
jamin (i) Curtis, was born in Scituate, Decem- 
ber 14, 1692, died in Hanover, that State, Febru- 
ary 21, 1756. He married, December 13. 1716. 
Hannah Palmer, and had male issue. 

(V) Thomas Curtis, second son of Benjamin 
(2) Curtis, was baptized September 4, 1720, at 
Scituate, but spent his life in Hanover. His 
first wife, Sarah (Utter) Curtis, died December 
28, 1753, and he married (second) February 26, 
1756, Ruth, daughter of Thomas and Faith Rose. 
He had issue by both wives. 

(VI) Thomas (2) Curtis, son of Thomas (I) 
Curtis, and his first wife, Sarah (Utter) Curtis, 
was baptized June 10, 1749, at Hanover, and like 
his father was a shipmaster. He settled in 
Maine with his wife, Abigail (Studlcy) Curtis, 
of Hanover, to whom he was married June 6, 
1770. 

(VII) Rev. Reuben Curtis, son of Thomas (2) 
Curtis, was born in Maine, in 1788, and became 
an ordained minister of the Baptist church, la- 
boring many years as an evangelist in his native 
State. He married, December i, 1808, Abigail, 
daughter of Nathan and Elizabeth (Foster) Saf- 
ford. She was born May 22, 1791, survived him, 
and married a second husband. 

(VIII) Cyrus Libby Curtis, second son of 
Rev. Reuben Curtis, was born in Maine, January 
7, 1822, and was a resident of Portland in that 
State. He was a decorator, and well known 
locally as a musician. He married, July 3, 1844, 
Salome Ann, daughter of Benjamin and Salome 
(Coombs) Cummings. She was born 1819, died 
1897, leaving a son, Cyrus H. K., and a daugh- 
ter, Florence G., who was born in August, 1855, 
died 1888. 

(IX) Cyrus H. K. Curtis, only son of Cyrus 
Libby Curtis, and now the world-famous pub- 
lisher of the Curtis publications The Ladies' 
Home Journal, the Saturday Evening Post, the 
Country Gentleman, and the Philadelphia Public 
Ledger, was born in Portland, Maine, June 18,. 
1850. He attended the public schools of that 
city until he was sixteen years of age, and then 
left high school to engage in business, although 
he had been since 1862 a newsboy, and since 
1863 had published in his own amateur printing 
office a boys' paper called Young America. In 
1866 occurred the great Portland fire, causing 
enormous losses, but none more severe than that 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



33 



of the young publisher, who saw his entire plant 
destroyed. He settled in Boston in 1869, and 
was publishing papers, continuing there until 
1876, when he came to Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania, where his great work in journalism, has 
been accomplished. He founded the Tribune and 
Fanner, a weekly publication. Expansion seem.; 
a part of Mr. Curtis' nature, and everything in 
time becomes too small to fit his ambition. He 
had the Tribune and Fanner on a paying basis, 
and then sought a new outlet. This came in the 
form of The Ladies' Home Journal, first pub- 
lished in 1883 for the benefit of his woman 
readers. The child soon outstripped the parent, 
and from its first year's circulation of twenty- 
five thousand copies has grown to be ..he lead- 
ing woman's journal of the country, with a cir- 
culation of over two million copies monthly, and 
read wherever English-speaking women are 
found. The Tribune and Fanner, having served 
its purpose of introducing its offspring. The 
Ladies' Home Journal, was sold, the new jour- 
nal absorbing for a time the great energy of its 
owner. But with The Journal completely or- 
ganized, with a capable head in every department, 
Mr. Curtis sought new fields to conquer, and 
found it in The Pennsylvania Gazette, then a 
paper with a weekly circulation of three thou- 
sand five hundred copies. The Gazette was 
founded in 1728 under the name of The Universal 
Instructor in all Arts and Sciences and Pennsyl- 
vania Gacclti-, by Samuel Keimer, the first em- 
ployee of Benjamin Franklin in Philadelphia. 
The latter became the owner of the paper in the 
following October, and dropped the cumber- 
some title, retaining only PtmuyfooHta Gazette. 
In 1897, when Mr. Curtis purchased the paper, it 
had a circulation of two thousand. The circula- 
tion of the Satunliiy l : .rciinig Post,, successor to 
Tlie Pennsylvania Gazette, is now over two mil- 
lion two hundred thousand copies weekly. Noth- 
ing better shows the business acumen and vitaliz- 
ing energy of the principal owner of this great 
publication than the above figures. How it was 
done and how it is still being done forms mate- 
rial for a volume. There is nothing in the his- 
tory of journalism that can compare with the 
world-wide enthusiastic organization that forced 
the circulation of The Post to this enormous fig- 
ure in a few years. From an unknown publica- 
tion, a demand was created that forced hostile 
news companies and dealers to add it to their 
list or lose a host of customers. Now it can be 
purchased everywhere every Thursday morning. 
While Mr. Curtis would be the last man to say 

V.K. ~i3 



"I did it," there is the fact that as the head 
of the Curtis Publishing Company he did do it 
by surrounding himself with a corps of heads 
of departments ready and eager to work out the 
plans of their chief. The Home Journal is still 
the leader in the field of women and the home, 
but has many imitators. The Post, a man's jour- 
nal, is supreme and alone in its field. While its 
circulation department is the greatest in the 
world, The Post has gained its position through 
the excellence of its editorial department and 
policy. Whether in science, discovery, politics, 
or fiction, the articles and stories are from the 
most eminent in their several fields. The adver- 
tising is most artistic and carefully chosen, an- 
other innovation, and the fact that the adver- 
tisement appears in The Post is a guarantee to 
the reader that the firm advertising is a reputable 
one. 

With the two leading periodicals of the coun- 
try, a monthly and a weekly, beautifully housed 
in a specially-designed and imposing building on 
Independence and Washington Square, Philadel- 
phia, one would suppose Mr. Curtis would find 
full vent for his energy. But not so, there was 
still another field that offered him an irresistible 
inducement, that of the farm, field and country 
home. He purchased The Country Gentleman 
and to this is being applied the same principles 
that succeeded so well with the The Home Jour- 
nal and Post. This property was purchased in 
1912 and has responded to the application of 
Curtis methods with gratifying promptness, and 
with a weekly sale up in the hundreds of thou- 
sands. To these publications, all published in 
the new building, each covering its own special 
field, Mr. Curtis, in 1913, bought The Philadel- 
phia Public Ledger, and within a short time has 
caused it to more than regain the proud position 
in daily journalism it held for so many years 
under the late George W. Childs. In the field 
of journalism it stands pre-eminent among Phila- 
delphia papers. 

While for many years the business has been 
incorporated as the Curtis Publishing Company, 
Mr. Curtis, as president, has had entire super- 
vision, and while he has built up a wonderful 
organization, editorial and advertising, he has 
furnished the policy that must be followed and 
selected the men to act as his lieutenants. He is 
a thorough master of the detail of the publish- 
ing business, and has a secure position in the 
journalistic hall of fame. 

The building that Mr. Curtis has erected as a 
c ii. }.'.. T ;:u-: i ;iscs deserves mention Al- 



34 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



ways solicitous for the welfare of his people, 
it is nowhere shown so strikingly as in the mod- 
ern character of the arrangement of rooms to 
get the best light and the sanitary arrangement 
of the departments. Experience and modern 
science have taught many valuable lessons, dem- 
onstrating the value of light, sanitation, nourish- 
ing food, suitable clothing, proper exercise and 
physical recreation in raising the standard of 
employees and in arousing an ambition to excel, 
each in his field of effort. Here the Curtis 
methods should serve as an object lesson to 
every employer. The standard of its work is 
patent to all, but the excellence of the methods 
by which an army of employees is kept cheerful, 
happy, contented and loyal has been often over- 
looked, but is a direct result of a Curtis method 
of securing efficiency, as marked as its policy of 
themselves giving the highest grade of service to 
their employers, the reading public. 

The thorough business qualifications of Mr. 
Curtis have caused his services to be much in 
demand on boards of directors of various insti- 
tutions, and his public spirit has led him to ac- 
cept of many such trusts. He is a director of 
the First National Bank of Philadelphia and the 
Real Estate Trust Company, and a trustee of the 
Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York, 
and an investor in many Philadelphia enterprises 
and companies. He is a Republican in political 
preference, but takes no active part in politics 
and opens his columns to representative men 01 
all parties. During the campaign of 1912 articles 
appeared from each of the three leading can- 
didates for president. He is a well-known club- 
man, belonging in Philadelphia to the Union 
League, Manufacturers', City, Franklin Inn, Poor 
Richard, Automobile, Corinthian Yacht and Hunt- 
ingdon Valley Hunt clubs. His love of yachting 
is shown by membership in the Columbia Yacht 
Club of New York, the Eastern Yacht Club of 
Boston, the Portland Yacht Club of Portland, 
Maine, the Megomticook Country and Yacht 
Club of Camden, Maine. His New York clubs 
are: Aldine, New York, Yacht, Press and Adver- 
tising. 

During the many years of Mir. Curtis' business 
activity he steadily maintained the habits of close 
and systematic application which were formed in 
early youth and might be said to constitute the 
cornerstone of his extraordinary success. He 
is a. fine type of the broad-gauge business man, 
of clear vision, sound judgment and remarkable 
capacity for detail. Also, he is a man of kind 
feelings and generous impulses, making due al- 



lowance for the failings of his fellow-men while 
demanding of them the same strict devotion to 
duty which he has always exacted from himself. 
All this appears in the portrait which accom- 
panies this biography and without which the tes- 
timony furnished by the printed page would be 
extremely inadequate. He looks the man he is. 

In March,- 1875, Mr. Curtis married (first) in 
Boston, Massachusetts, Louise Knapp, born in 
that city, October 24, 1851, daughter of Hum- 
phrey C. and Mary (Barbour) Knapp; she died 
in February, 1910. Their only child: Mary 
Louise, married, in October, 1896, Edward W. 
Bok, the talented editor of The Ladies' Home 
Journal. Their children are : Curtis and Gary. 
Mr. Curtis married (second) Kate S. Pillsbury, 
of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The Curtis home, in 
the suburbs of Philadelphia, is one of the show 
places of the State. 

Throughout his career Cyrus H. K. Curtis has 
been animated by the spirit of progress, ever 
pressing forward and seeking to make the good 
better and the better best. He has furnished a 
true picture of the ideal business man, one who 
creates and adds to the wealth of nations while 
advancing his own interests. The great organ- 
ization which he has founded and developed is 
a monument to his far-sighted business ability, 
but no less is it a monument to his philanthropy. 
He has given to hundreds employment and op- 
portunities for self-culture and self-development, 
and the wealth which has come to him he has 
held in trust for the less fortunate of his fel- 
lows. While increasing the material prosperity 
of the community, he has labored for its moral 
and spiritual betterment. Publisher, business 
man, philanthropist he is one of those of whom 
future generations will say: "The world is bet- 
ter because he lived." 



JUDGE LUERE B. DEASY When on Sep- 
tember I, 1918, Governor Milliken appointed 
Lucre B. Deasy to succeed George E. Bird, of 
Portland, as Associate Justice of the Supreme Ju- 
dicial Court of the State of Maine, it was de- 
served recognition of the ability and learning 
of one of the leading lawyers of the State. Not 
that former recognition had been denied him, for 
he is rich in the honors of his profession, and 
in public life has both accepted and declined sev- 
eral important positions. While for more than 
thirty years Bar Harbor has claimed him as her 
own, his reputation as a lawyer is State-wide. 
He is learned in the law and his successful ca- 
reer at the bar is a guarantee that he will as 





^L^^O 



X^ * 







BIOGRAPHICAL 



worthily adorn the Supreme bench of his native 
State. He is a son of Daniel and Emma 
(Moore) Deasy, of Prospect Harbor, in the town 
of Gouldsboro, Hancock county, Maine, Prospect 
Harbor Village being located on an arm of the 
sea twenty-four miles from Ellsworth. 

Lucre B. Deasy was born in Gouldsboro, 
Maine, February 8, 1859, and there obtained his 
early public school education. He completed the 
courses of Eastern State Normal School at Cas- 
tine, with graduation, and began preparation for 
the profession of law in the office of former Chief 
Justice Lucillius A. Emery, completing his 
studies at Boston University Law School. He 
was admitted to the bar of Hancock county, 
Maine, in 1884, and in 1886 opened an office in 
Bar Harbor. He practised alone for one year, 
then formed a partnership with John T. Higgins 
(now deceased), practising as Deasy & Higgins 
from 1889 until 1896. He again was in practice 
alone, 1896-1905, when he entered into partner- 
ship with A. H. Lyman, of Bar Harbor, the firm, 
Deasy & Lyman, continuing until the elevation 
of the senior partner to the Supreme bench. 
Judge Deasy practised in all State and Federal 
courts of the district, and through his frequent 
appearances became well known in the court of 
which he is now an honored associate judge. 
He is a member and formerly president of the 
Hancock county and Maine State Bar Associa- 
tion, a member of the American Bar Association, 
and highly regarded by his professional brethren. 
His practice was not confined to Bar Harbor or 
Hancock county, but was State-wide. This fact, 
coupled with his prominence in public life, his 
unusual prominence as a campaign orator and 
public speaker, kept him continuously in the 
public eye. Thus when Governor Milliken nomi- 
nated him for associate justice of the Supreme 
Judicial Court there was practically no dissent 
from the Governors' choice, and the new justice 
was overwhelmed with congratulations which 
were brought in person, sent in by wire, or 
spoken through the medium of the telephone. 

In addition to the law business, Judge Deasy 
was one of Bar Harbor's able business men and 
most public spirited citizens, ever ready to give 
of his time and ability to any movement affect- 
ing the public good. He was president of the 
Bar Harbor Banking and Trust Company at 
the time of his appointment, was for many years 
president of Bar Harbor Village Improvement 
Association, and president of the Hancock 
County Bar Association. He was also identified 
with other business interests of Bar Harbor, and 



(luring the European war period served for some 
time as chairman of the Exemption Board of the 
first Maine district, and was chairman of the Bar 
Harbor branch of the American Red Cross. In 
politics a Republican, he represented his district 
in the Maine Legislature, and in 1909 was presi- 
dent of the Senate. He was appointed by Gov- 
ernor Haines chairman of the Maine Public Util- 
ities Commission, but that honor was declined. 
He has always ranked as an orator of unusual 
ability and as a public speaker is in constant de- 
mand. He is a member of Bar Harbor Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons; Mount Kebo Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons, and Blanguefort Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar. 

Judge Deasy married, December 25, 1885, 
Emma M. Clark, of Gouldsboro, Maine, and they 
are the parents of two daughters: Blanche, mar- 
ried Asa Hodgkins, of Bar Harbor; and Louise, 
a graduate of Wellesley College, and a teacher 
in Bar Harbor High School. 



PRENTISS MELLEN was born in Sterling, 
Massachusetts, October 11, 1764, son of the Rev. 
John (1722-1807) and Rebecca (Prentiss) Msllen; 
grandson of Thomas Mellen, a farmer in Hop- 
kinton, Massachusetts, and of the Rev. John 
Prentiss, of Lancaster, Massachusetts. 

He was prepared for college by his father, and 
was graduated at Harvard with his brother 
Henry in 1784, his brother John having grad- 
uated in 1770. He was tutor in the family of 
Joseph Otis at Barnstable, Massachusetts, 1784- 
85; studied law under Shearjashub Bourne in 
Barnstable, 1785-88; and practiced at Sterling, 
Massachusetts, 1788-89; at Bridgewater, 1789-91; 
at Dover, New Hampshire, 1791-92; at Bidde- 
ford, 1792-1806; and at Portland, 1806-40. He 
was married in May, 1795, to Sallie, daughter 
of Barzillai Hudson, of Hartford, Connecticut. 
He was a member of the Massachusetts Exec- 
utive Council, 1808-09 and 1817; presidential elec- 
tor on the Monroe and Tompkins ticket in 1817, 
and was elected to the United States Senate as 
successor to Eli P. Ashmun, who resigned in 
1818, and he served until 1820, when Maine be- 
came a separate State and he was made chief 
justice of the Supreme Court of the State. He 
retired in 1834 on reaching the age of seventy 
years. He was chairman of the committee to 
revise and codify the public statutes of Maine 
in 1838. He received the degree of LL.D. from 
Harvard and from Bowdoin in 1820, an3 was a 
trustee of Bowdoin, 1817-36. His decisions are 



36 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



in Maine reports (vols I-XI). He died in Port- 
land, Maine, December 31, 1840. 



JUSTICE WILLIAM PENN WHITE- 
HOUSE Few American families can point to 
so many men of great distinction as can that of 
Whitehouse. The stock has produced eminent 
churchmen, distinguished jurists and men of af- 
fairs and philanthropists that have had a na- 
tional reputation, but none among them have 
more worthily borne the name and upheld the 
tradition than has William Penn Whitehouse, 
formerly chief justice of the State of Mkine. A 
man of the widest and most generous culture, 
his legal acumen and his fairmindedness together 
with a sense of duty which has a certain Roman 
quality have eminently fitted him for his life- 
work of the law. He unites a wide outlook and 
a scholarly culture with a keen and ready mind 
that has never lost its cutting edge. His gra- 
cious and urbane manners appear the natural 
fruit, as indeed they are, of his character and 
attainments. In honoring him the State of 
Maine honored herself, for such men are the con- 
summate flowering of all that is best in Ameri- 
can life. 

The Whitehouses of Maine have been noted as 
jurists, and are descended from Thomas White- 
house who married a daughter of William' Pom- 
fret, of Dover, New Hampshire, in 1682, the line 
coming down through Thomas (2), Pomfret, 
Thomas (3), Daniel, Edmund, John Roberts to 
William Penn, the subject of this biographical 
sketch, and lastly to his son, Robert Treat 
Whitehouse. 

Among the eminent men of the name should 
be mentioned the Rt. Rev. Henry John White- 
house, born in 1803, and died in 1874, second 
bishop of Illinois, and the fifty-fifth in succession 
in the American episcopate. He was a graduate 
of Columbia College, and of the General Theo- 
logical Seminary; served as rector of St. Thom- 
as' Church, New York City, from 1844 to 1851, 
and was successor to Bishop Chase in Illinois. 
He was the first bishop in the American church 
to advocate the cathedral system in the United 
States. Sent to the Lambeth Conference held 
in England, he preached at the invitation of the 
Archbishop of Canterbury the first sermon 
preached before that body. He received the 
degree of S.T.D. from Oxford University in 
1867, having received that of LL.D. from his 
alma mater, Columbia, in 1865, and from the Uni- 
versity of Cambridge in 1867. James Horton 
Whitehouse is another name that adds lustre 



to the race from which he sprang. He was born 
in Staffordshire, England, in 1833, and designed 
for Tiffany & Company the Bryant Vase now in 
the Metropolitan Museum in New York. An- 
other is William Fitzhugh Whitehouse, born in 
1877, a noted explorer and hunter of big game 
in Somaliland, Abyssinia, British East Africa and 
Uganda. He was the first white man in the un- 
known region south of the chain lakes, and the 
result of his discoveries was given out in the 
book Through the Country of the King of Kings, 
published by Scribners in 1902. Still another 
of the name was Henry Remsen Whitehouse, a 
noted diplomat and author who was decorated 
by King Humbert of Italy with the Cross of the 
Commander of St. Maurice and St. Lazarus. He 
was a distinguished student of literature and in- 
vestigator of historical sources. 

But among the men who have added distinc- 
tion to the name of Whitehouse none has carried 
it to a higher place than the Hon. William Penn 
Whitehouse, formerly Chief Justice of the Su- 
preme Court of the State of Maine. He was 
born in Vassalboro, Maine, April 9, 1842, the son 
of John Roberts and Hannah (Percival) White- 
house, and was thus of the eighth generation 
from the first American founder of the family. 
He began preparation for college at the China 
Academy while still working on his father's 
farm. In February, 1858, while a lad of six- 
teen, he entered upon an intensive course for hi 
college entrance examinations, and made such 
good progress that he was able to enter Colby 
College without condition in September of that 
year. In 1863 he was graduated with class 
honors, delivering the English oration at com- 
mencement. Among his classmates at college 
were Governor Marcellus L. Stearns, Colonel F, 
S. Hazeltine of the Boston bar, Dr. John O. 
Marble of Worcester, Massachusetts, and Judge 
Bonney, late of the Supreme Court of Cumber- 
land county, Maine. Mr. Whitehouse received 
his bachelor's degree in arts in 1863, and his mas- 
ter's degree in 1866. He taught for a time after 
leaving college and during the year 1863-64 was 
principal of the Vassalboro Academy. Having, 
however, decided upon the profession of the law 
as a life work, he entered the office of the late 
Sewall Lancaster, of Augusta, and afterwards 
continued his studies with ex-Senator Hale of 
Ellsworth. He was admitted to the bar of Ken- 
nebec county in October, 1865, and his first year 
of practice was in the city of Gardiner in part- 
nership with Lorenzo Clay. In December of 
1866 he removed to Augusta and formed a part- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



37 



nership with George Gifford, which lasted until 
June, 1867, when the latter entered the field of 
journalism in Portland. 

For four years Judge Whitehouse was city so- 
licitor of Augusta, for seven years attorney for 
Kennebec county, and for twelve years judge of 
the Superior Court of Kennebec county. In 1890 
he was apointed associate justice of the Su- 
preme Judicial Court of Maine, holding that of- 
fice until July 26, 1914, when he became chief 
justice, in which capacity he served until 1916. 
when he resigned. A profound knowledge of 
the law, a ripe and scholarly culture and trench- 
ant mind were in him associated with a balance 
and sanity of temperament and a judicial habit 
of weighing evidence in its minutest detail. No 
man who has occupied the Supreme bench of 
the State of Maine, rich as has been its history, 
has by character or attainments more nobly car- 
ried out its highest traditions. 

Upon his retirement he resumed his profession 
as counsellor-at-law at Augusta, and commands 
an important and distinguished practice. He is 
a Republican in his political opinions. In 1888 
he became a trustee of the Kennebec Savings 
Bank, and in 1907 of the State Trust Company. 
He served as chairman of the committee on the 
new Hospital for the Insane, and wrote a mono- 
graph against the cottage system which was pub- 
lished by the State. His services to the State 
and to the legal profession received acknowl- 
edgment from his alma mater, Colby College, by 
the bestowal of the degree of LL.D. in 1896, 
and from Bowdoin College in 1912. 

Chief Justice Whitehouse married, June 24, 
1869, Evelyn M., daughter of Colonel Robert 
Treat, of Frankfort, Maine, who was a direct 
descendant in the seventh generation from Col- 
onel Robert Treat, who was colonial Governor 
of Connecticut for twenty-five years. Their son 
and only child is the Hon. Robert Treat White- 
house, of Portland, a sketch of whom follows. 



ROBERT TREAT WHITEHOUSE Ad- 
mitted to the Cumberland County bar in 1894, 
Mr. Whitehouse during the quarter century 
which has since elapsed has risen to high and 
honorable position as lawyer, public official and 
author of standard law books. 

Robert Treat Whitehouse, eldest son of Wil- 
liam Penn and Evelyn M. (Treat) Whitehouse, 
was born in Augusta, Maine, March 27, 1870. He 
completed public school courses in Augusta, and 
in 1887 was graduated from Congregational high 
school. He pursued classical courses at Harvard 



University, gaining his A.B. at graduation in 
1891. He then entered Harvard Law School, 
whence he was graduated LL.B. class of 1893. 
He was associated with the law office of Sym- 
onds, Cook and Snow, Portland, Maine, and in 
1894 was admitted to the Maine bar. He con- 
tinued in private practice in Augusta, Maine, until 
1900, when he was elected county attorney, an 
office he held for four years. On January 16, 
1905, he was appointed United States District At- 
torney for the State of Maine, an office which he 
has since filled with credit and honor. He is 
the author of "Equity, Jurisdiction, Pleading and 
Practice," published in 1900, and Whitehouse's 
"Equity Practice" in three volumes, published in 
1913, works of standard value to the profession. 
Mr. Whitehouse was a member of the school 
committee of the city of Portland, 1894-1898, is 
a Republican in politics and prominent in party 
councils. He is a member of Ancient Landmark 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; the Lincoln 
Club, president 1894-08; the Cumberland Coun- 
try and Fraternity Clubs of Portland; and president 
of the Economic Club. He is also at tEe pres- 
ent time president of the Maine State Board of 
Charities and Corrections. He married, June 18, 
1894, Florence Brooks, daughter of Samuel Spen- 
cer and Mary Caroline (Wadsworth) Brooks of 
Augusta. Mrs. Whitehouse was educated in 
Portland city public schools and St. Catherine's 
Hall, later under private instruction in Boston, 
perfecting herself in music, languages, drawing 
and painting. She was a member of the Rossini 
Musical Club, and the author of "The God of 
Things," Little, Brown & Thompson, Boston, 
1902; the same house publishing in 1904 her 
work, "The Effendi." She is also the author of 
several plays which have been produced, and in 
1891-92 toured the art centres of Europe, also 
exploring the antiquities of Syria and Egypt. 
Mr. and Mrs. Whitehouse are the parents of 
three sons: William Penn (2), born August 9, 
1895; Robert Treat (2), January 11, 1897; Brooks, 
April 21, 1904. The family home is at 108 
Vaughan street, Portland, Maine. 



GEORGE ROWLAND WALKER, although a 
native of Maine, has been identified with New 
York City for a number of years. He was born 
at Oxford, Maine, August 28, 1879, the son of 
George F. and Frances Melissa (Chadbourne) 
Walker. His early education was gained in the 
local schools, from which he went to the Port- 
land High School, and was graduated in 1898. 
He then entered Bowdoin College, where his 



38 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



record was one of great distinction, and the de- 
gree of Bachelor of Arts, which he received in 
1902, was suinma cum laude. He took as high a 
rank among his associates in the student body 
as with the faculty, and by the former he was 
elected Class Day Orator. He was also the 
manager of the Athletic Association, and a mem- 
ber of the Intercollegiate Debating Team, as well 
as a commencement speaker. After leaving 
Bowdoin College, he entered the Harvard Law 
School, and graduated in 1905 with the degree 
of Bachelor of Laws. 

Since his graduation, Mr. Walker has practised 
in New York, making a specialty of corporation 
and financial law. During the war, in 1918, he 
gave much of his time and attention to work for 
the Alien Property Custodian, making investiga- 
tions and assisting in acquiring enemy proper- 
ties; and serving as president and later as re- 
ceiver of Alsen's American Portland Cement 
Works. He is a director of the Connecticut 
Brass Corporation .and of other industrial cor- 
porations. He is also a director of the New 
York County National Bank. In politics Mr. 
Walker is a Republican. He is a member of the 
Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity, of the Phi Beta 
Kappa, of the New York State and the Ameri- 
can Bar associations, and of the Association of 
the Bar of the City of New York. He is a 
trustee of the Maine Society of New York, and 
is the secretary of the Bowdoin College Alumni 
Association of New York and its vicinity. He 
belongs to the Harvard Club of New York, to 
the Reform Club, to the Ardsley Club, to the 
Lawyers' Club, to the University Club of New 
York, and to the Delta Epsilon Club of New 
York. 



FRANCES MELISSA WALKER The career 
of Frances Melissa Walker has been one of ex- 
ceptional activity and usefulness, and, although 
now of an advanced age, she gave to the Govern- 
ment loyal, patriotic service during the recent 
Wrld War, doing personal work as chariman 
and captain in Liberty Loan and Red Cross 
drives, also continuing to use her influence in 
speaking and writing on the uses and abuses of 
the American flag, and for the promotion of all 
patriotic activities. 

Frances Melissa Walker was born in Oxford, 
Maine, February 9, 1844, daughter of Samuel Hil- 
born and Charlotte Tewksbury (Washburn) Chad- 
bourne, her mother a daughter of Ephraim and 
Sarah (Sally) (Perkins) Washburn, whose an- 
cestors both came to Maine from Bridgewater, 



Massachusetts, after the Revolutionary War or 
in about 1796. Ephraim Washburn, grandfather 
of Frances Melissa Walker, was a seaman on 
board the brig, Dash, served under Captain Por- 
ter in the War of 1812. The Dash was lost at 
sea about January 27, 1815, Mr. Washburn going 
down with the ship. 

Samuel Hilborn Chadbourne was born in Ox- 
ford, Maine, October 2, 1810, son of Zebelan and 
Mary (or Polly) (Staple) Chadbourne. He 
married, January 3, 1832, Charlotte Tewksbury 
Washburn, of Oxford, Maine, born February 6, 
1813, at Oxford, Maine, died January 20, 1897, 
and settled on a farm on Pigeon Hill, a part of 
Oxford, a merchant and nurseryman, was promi- 
nent in public affairs in town and State, serving 
as justice of the peace, constable, selectman; 
was a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and identified with the early temperance 
reform movement. At the time of the so-called 
"Aroostook War" (the bloodless war), he was 
elected and served as first lieutenant in Com- 
pany A, of Light Infantry, First Regiment, First 
Brigade, Sixth Division of Maine Militia. Later 
he was commisisoned captain of the same com- 
pany to rank from September 10, 1841. He held 
that rank until April 18, 1845, when he was hon- 
orably discharged, having previously sent in his 
resignation. His original commission as lieuten- 
ant was signed June 8, 1838, by the then Gover- 
nor of Maine, Edward Kent. During the first 
two years of the Civil War Mr. Chadbourne was 
a drill master and recruiting officer, but in the 
autumn of 1862 he enlisted as a private in Com- 
pany H, Fourteenth Regiment, Maine Volunteer 
Infantry. He became regimental commissary, 
and was holding that rank, November 30, 1863, 
the date of his death in a military hospital at 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Samuel H. and Char- 
lotte Tewksbury Washburn were the parents of 
seven children. 

Zebelan Chadbourne was born in Kittery, 
Maine, in 1774, married Mary (or Polly) Staples, 
born in 1779. They settled in Oxford, Maine, 
where their eight children were born. Zebelan 
Chadbourne was a farmer, a Democrat in poli- 
tics, and in religious faith a Methodist. During 
the War of 1812-14, he enlisted in Captain Sam- 
ual Robinson's company (raised in Hebron, 
Maine), Lieutenant-Colonel William Ryerson's 
regiment, and was in service at Portland, Maine, 
from September 14, to September 24, 1814. 

On the Washburn side Frances Melissa Walker 
traces to John Washburn, the founder of the 
family in New England, who settled in Dux- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



39 



bury, Massachusetts, in 1632. He traced his an- 
cestry through eleven generations to Sir Roger 
Washburn, of Little Washbourne, Worcester- 
shire, England, who is mentioned in the Inquisi- 
tion of 1259, and was living in 1299. John 
Washburn and his son, John, were among the 
fifty-four original progenitors of Bridgewater, 
Massachusetts, in 1645. He married Margery 
Moore. The line of descent is through their 
eldest son, John (2), who came to New Eng- 
land with his father. John (2) Washburn mar- 
ried Elizabeth Mitchell, daughter of Experience 
and Jane (Cook) Mitchell; Jane (Cook) Mitchell 
was the daughter of Francis Cook, who came 
over in the Mayflower; their son, John (3) ; their 
son, Ephraim (l); their son, Manasseh, born in 
1769, married Sylvia Caswcll, born in 1771, died 
in 1869; their son, Ephraim (2), who came from 
Bridgewater to Maine with his four brothers. 
Ephraim (2) and Stephen Washburn settled in 
Shepherdsfield, now Oxford, the other two 
brothers settling in Paris, Maine. Ephraim Wash- 
burn, born October i, 1789, died January 27, 1815, 
at sea, serving his country in the War of 1812. 
He married Sarah (or Sally) Perkins, born July 
24, 1785, died in 1869, at Oxford. They were 
the parents of two children. Sally Perkins was 
a daughter of Joseph Perkins, who settled in 
Hebron, Maine (Oxford), in 1797. He was a 
soldier of the Revolution, his pension allowed 
in 1819 being granted for service in the Massa- 
chusetts Continental Line. He died January 18, 
1836. 

Frances Melissa Walker, daughter of Samuel 
Hilborn and Charlotte Tewksbury (Washburn) 
Chadbourne, was educated in Oxford public 
schools, the Douglas Private School at Harri- 
son, Maine, and is a graduate of the Chautauqua 
Literary and Scientific Institute, completing a 
four years' course with the class of 1885. For a 
number of years prior to her marriage she 
taught in public and private schools in and 
around Oxford, Maine. She married, May I. 
1866, in Oxford, Maine, George F. Walker, born 
in Westbrook, Maine, in 1842, son of Isaac New- 
ton Walker, born in 1816, died in 1895, a farmer 
and musician, who came from Westbrook and 
settled in Portland, Maine. Isaac N. Walker 
was a son of Isaac Gibbs Walker, born in Hop- 
kinton, Massachusetts, in 1786, and died in l86j. 
Isaac G. Walker was a son of Timothy Walker, 
of Hopkinton, born in 1753, died in 1834, a pri- 
vate of the Revolution, serving under Captain 
Pope under date of July 21, 1780. Timothy 
Walker married, in 1777, Lois Gibbs, born in 



1756, and they were the parents of fifteen chil- 
dren. Isaac Newton Walker married, in 1837, 
Relief Brown, born in 1820, died in 1890, and they 
were the parents of ten children. 

George F. Walker, a merchant, built a house 
in the village of Oxford, nearly opposite the old 
brick school house which was the family home 
until 1888. Mr. Walker for several years served 
the First parish as treasurer, Mrs. Walker at 
the same time fulfilling the duties of clerk 
Both had a genius for village improvement and 
were prime factors in the social life of the town. 
They continued in Oxford until 1888, when they 
moved to Portland for the purpose of giving 
their children better educational advantages. 

Mrs. Walker has always been active in social, 
benevolent and patriotic work. In 1900 she was 
one of the seven women who organized the Stat; 
of Maine Society, United States Daughters of 
1812, and in 1906-08 and 1915-17 served that so- 
ciety as its president. She is also a member 
of the National Society United States Daughters 
of 1812, which was organized in 1892, and has 
held offices in that body. At the annual meet- 
ing held in Washington on April 23, 1919, Mrs. 
Walker was elected curator of this society. This 
office carries a two-year term, and is one of the 
important offices in the National organization. 
She has been a member of and has taken an ac- 
tive part in the work of numerous women's 
clubs in Portland, and after the opening of the 
Wadsworth-Longfellow house on Congress 
street, Portland, she with other women of the 
city gave a great deal of time to the work of 
keeping this now famous house open for pub- 
lic inspection. She was actively engaged in this 
work for a considerable part of nine years, until 
conditions arose which resulted in turning the 
house over to the Maine Historical Society. 
Mrs. Walker is one of the few women who are 
members of the Maine Historical Society, that 
membership resulting from her keen interest in 
all matters historical, particularly those relat- 
ing to the State of Maine and New England. 
Her particular theme is the War of 1812, of 
which she has made exhaustive study, her work 
In this line resulting in her being instrumental 
in having memorial tablets subscribed 1 for and 
placed in Portland in commerrtoration of im- 
portant historical spots. She is a member of 
High Street Congregational Church, Portland, 
and bears her full part in church work and ac- 
tivities. Recent war conditions called forth all 
her patriotism and she gave herself freely to 
every movement or drive in aid of Government 



40 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Loans, Red Cross, and similar objects, at the 
same time not relaxing her efforts to promote 
general respect for the American flag and to 
foster all patriotic activities. In addition to the 
societies named she is a member of the Port- 
land Society of Arts and Crafts, and the 
Woman's Literary Union. 

Mr. and Mrs. Walker are the parents of five 
children: Walter Washburn, died in infancy; 
Millicent Georgiana, a teacher; Charlotte Re- 
lief, a teacher; George Rowland, a lawyer; Es- 
tella Augusta, married George William Gordon. 



FRED ALLISTON GILBERT From Eng- 
land came Charles Dupris dit Gilbeit, he set- 
tling near St. Francis, Province of Quebec, Can- 
ada, and there his son, Jean Gilbert, was born, 
Jean, the father of Thomas, and grandfather of 
Fred Alliston Gilbert, of Bangor, Maine, man- 
ager of the spruce-wood and timber lands de- 
partment of the Great Northern Paper Company. 

Jean Gilbert, son of the pioneer settler, was 
born near St. Francis, Quebec, Canada, and is 
believed to have gone to England, as he held 
the rank of corporal in the English army, and 
was married in that country. He learned the 
blacksmith's trade, but was also a carpenter and 
stonemason, three widely separated trades, but 
in each he was proficient. After his marriage 
he returned to Canada, coming thence to the 
United States, later than 1843. His first set- 
tlement was in Norridgewock, Maine, his next 
in Waterville, but in 1850 he moved to Orono, 
Maine, where he resided until his death in 1856. 
While he was a man of fair education, reading 
and writing French, he was especially noted for 
his physical perfection, standing six feet two 
inches in height and finely proportioned. He 
was a member of the Roman Catholic church 
and reared his family in that faith. Jean Gil- 
bert married, in 1822, Cecile Mercier, who died 
in Orono, Maine, in 1864, daughter of Augustin 
Mercier. They were the parents of five sons 
and seven daughters, one of his sons serving in 
the Union Army during the Civil War. This 
review follows the fortunes of Thomas, one of 
the five sons of Jean and Cecile (Mercier) Gil- 
bert. 

Thomas Gilbert was born in St. Francis, Que- 
bec, Canada, November 15, 1841, and there spent 
the first nine years of his life, coming to Orono, 
Maine, with his parents, in 1850. His school 
years were few, but he improved the oppor- 
tunities offered him, and when the death of his 
father, in 1856, left him the main support of the 



large family, he was able to bear the burden. 
He was industrious and capable, becoming 
known as an expert lumberman, the best "gang- 
man" on the Penobscot river, and without a su- 
perior in sawing lumber at the mill. He was 
ambitious, and when offered a contract to fur- 
nish ties for the European & North American 
Railroad he accepted and found the business 
profitable. Soon afterward he began driving his 
own logs to the down river mills, and became 
one of the well known and substantial men of 
the lumber business. He has always retained 
his residence in Orono, and is highly regarded 
by all who know him. Regular in his life and 
temperate in all his habits, optimistic by nature, 
and very friendly, he has extracted all that is 
best in life, and can review his long life with 
satisfaction. It has been said of him: "A rail- 
road does not move its trains with more reg- 
ular precision than he orders his daily life." His 
success has been fairly won and is richly de- 
served. In religious faith he is a Roman Cath- 
olic. 

Thomas Gilbert married, July 7, 1864, Esther 
Cordelia Lyshorn, born at Hudson, Maine, Jan- 
uary 2, 1845, died in Orono, Maine, January 31, 
1894, daughter of Ephraim Hussey and Mary 
Ann (Townsend) Lyshorn. Ephraim was a son 
of Antoine Lyshorn (also written LaChance), 
who was born in Quebec, in 1750, and saw serv- 
ice with the French forces under Montcalm. In 
1775 he enlisted in the American Colonial forces 
under Colonel Livingston, of General Arnold's 
army, was taken prisoner in 1776, escaped, re- 
enlisted in 1778, going to the Chandiere as a 
scout, receiving honorable discharge upon his 
return. He again enlisted, serving for three 
months on the Monmouth, under Captain Ross, 
that vessel then being taken to Bangor and 
burned. In 1781 he enlisted in Captain Walker's 
company, and was stationed at Castine, under 
the command of Major Ullmer. After his mar- 
riage Antoine Lyshorn moved his home to 
Orono, where he cleared and cultivated for half 
a century the tract now occupied by the Univer- 
sity of Maine. He married, at Winslow, Maine, 
Sarah Buzze, and reared a large family. Some 
of these children adopted Antoine as their sur- 
name, others retained LaChance, and still others 
changed it to Lyshorn. Ephraim Hussey Ly- 
shorn, son of Antoine LaChance or Lyshorn, was 
born in Orono, Maine, March 10, 1815, died Jan- 
uary 27, 1000. He was a farmer and woodsman, 
a Republican in politics, and a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. He married Mary 




/I 




(D^xuaix/t /bv 




BIOGRAPHICAL 



41 



Ann Townscnd, born May 30, 1816, died April 
20, 1893. They were the parents of nine chil- 
dren: Sarah Emma, Albert T., Alfreda Jane, 
Hattie Viola, Fred Alliston, Susan Angeline, 
Esther Cordelia, who married Thomas Gilbert, 
Mary Abbie, and Clara Ella. 

Thomas and Esther Cordelia (Lyshorn) Gil- 
bert were the parents of ten children: Fred 
Alliston, of further mention; Edith Evelyn, born 
August 7, 1867, died August 7, 1868; Albion Au- 
gustus, born February 26, 1869; Charles Edward, 
born February 22, 1872; Grace Etta, born Jan- 
uary 17, 1874, died December 23, 1876; Thomas 
Herbert, born April 8, 1876; Frank Yuba, born 
March 28, 1878; Eugene Clarence, born March 
31, 1881; Daisy Alberta, born July 1 1, 1884; Alice 
May, born April 21, 1887. Realizing from his 
own experience the value of a good education, 
Thomas Gilbert gave his sons and daughters all 
possible educational advantages. The daugh- 
ters all attended La Salle College in Massachu- 
setts, one of them studying also at tlie Boston 
Conservatory of Music, while the sons are all 
graduates of high schools or colleges. Mrs. Gil- 
bert was an ideal mother and a true helpmeet 
to her husband. She died sincerely mourned by 
a large circle of friends and relatives. 

Fred Alliston Gilbert, eldest child of Thomas 
and Esther Cordelia (Lyshorn) Gilbert, was born 
at Orono, Maine, April 2, 1866, and was there 
educated in the public schools, finishing with 
high school. After school years were completed 
he became associated with his father, and at 
the age of twenty was admitted a member of the 
firm, Thomas Gilbert & Son. This association 
continued twelve years, the young man becoming 
thoroughly familiar with every detail of the 
lumber business, and particularly expert as a 
lumber salesman. In 1898 he became a member 
of the firm, Gilbert & McNulty, but in 1903 re- 
tired from that firm, having in 1900 accepted his 
present position, manager of the spruce-wood 
and timber land department of the Great North- 
ern Paper Company. Since 1903 he has devoted 
his time entirely to the interests of the Great 
Northern, his duties being the supplying of the 
many mills of that company with logs for pulp 
to be converted into paper. This requires many 
millions of feet of logs each year, and to keep 
up that supply timber tracts must be purchased 
by the thousands of acres that there may never 
in the future occur a scarctiy of the proper sort 
of logs. He ranks very high in the lumbet busi- 
ness, and was selected by the Governor of Maine 
as commissioner to investigate the methods of 



scaling logs and lumber. He is a trustee of the 
Eastern Trust & Banking Company of Bangor, 
Maine, and of The Merrill Trust Company, but 
he has surrendered the directorship he formerly 
held with The Penobscot Lumbering Associa- 
tion; West Branch Driving & Reservoir Dam 
Company; Northern Maine Power Packet Com- 
pany; and the Great Northern Supply Company. 
He is a member of the Masonic order, affiliated 
with Mechanics Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Orono; Mt. Moriah Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; Bangor Council, Royal and Select 
Masters; St. John's Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; Kora Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
and holds the thirty-second degree of Eastern 
Star Lodge of Perfection; Palestine Council, 
Princes of Jerusalem; Bangor Chapter of Rose 
Croix; and of Maine Consistory, Ancient Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite of Portland. His clubs 
are the Tarratine and Masonic of Bangor. 

Mr. Gilbert married, in New Castle, New 
Rrunswick, Canada, July 31, 1915, Janet Good- 
fellow Williston, born February 10, 1882, at New 
Castle, daughter of Robert A. and Elmira Eliza 
(McTabish) Williston, her father a lumber 
woods foreman. Mr. and Mrs. Fred A. Gilbert 
are the parents of a daughter, Janet Alliston Gil- 
bert, born August 29, 1917, and a son, Fred Allis- 
ton Gilbert, born November 24, 1918. The family 
home is in Hampden, Maine. 



JOSIAH HAYDEN DRUMMOND, LL.D. 
Lawyer, Representative, Speaker of the House, 
State Senator, and Attorney-General, and holding 
the highest honors of all grand Masonic bodies 
of both the York and Scottish rites in the State 
of Maine, Josiah Hayden Drummond was promi- 
nently in the public eye during practically the 
entire period of his mature life. Such honor* 
as above enumerated are not bestowed by favor 
or by chance, but have to be earned and deserved 
before a man is thus singled out for distinction. 
He was one of the founders of the Republican 
party in the State of Maine, and one of its stand- 
ard bearers in the first campaign the newly born 
party waged in the State, and sat as a Repub- 
lican in the Maine House of Representatives dur- 
ing the session of 1857. In Free Masonry he held 
the coveted thirty-third degree of the Ancient 
Scottish Maine Consistory, Northern Jurisdiction 
of the United States, and no honor of Masonry 
which his brethren could bestow was denied him. 
Besides the wonderful record he compiled as a 
Mason, his memory is ever kept green in the 
order through his authorship of that standard 



42 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



work, "Maine Masonic Textbook for the Use 
of Lodges." Seventy-five years was the length 
of his span of life, and from the age of ac- 
countability they were lived in usefulness and 
honor. Another Josiah Hayden, his son, has 
arisen in Waterville, Maine, also a lawyer, and 
prominent in Maine political affairs, serving as 
representative and State Senator. The son, 
Josiah H., is of the seventh generation of the 
family in New England, the American ancestor, 
Alexander Drummond, a Scotch-Irish Presby- 
terian by faith and inheritance, who came with 
his children and grandchildren in 1729, settling 
in Georgetown, Maine. It is not certain whether 
he was born in Scotland or in the north of Ire- 
land, but his parents were Scotch, and until 1729 
he lived in Coppa, Ireland, where he buried his 
wife, later starting on his long journey to a 
home in the new world, a world he did not long 
live to enjoy, dying in Georgetown, Sagadahoc 
county, Maine, in 1730, his years many. De- 
scent in this branch is traced through Patrick, 
son of Alexander. 

Patrick Drummond was born in Coppa, Ire- 
land, June n, -1694, and came with his aged 
father and family to Georgetown, Maine, in 1729. 
Patrick Drummond married (second) Susanna 
Rutherford, daughter of Rev. Robert Rutherford, 
a Scotch Presbyterian clergyman, a pioneer of 
that denomination, east of the Kennebec river, 
in Maine. She was of the same family as Sam- 
uel Rutherford, 1600-61, the Scotch theologian 
and controversialist, rector of St. Andrews Uni- 
versity, and commissioner to the Westminster 
Assembly, who, in 1636, was sentenced and ban- 
ished to Aberdeen for preaching against "The 
Article of Perth." Patrick and Susanna (Ruth- 
erford) Drummond reared a family including a 
son, John, head of the third generation in Maine. 
John Drummond, the first in this line of Ameri- 
can birth, was born in Georgetown, Maine, Sep- 
tember 27, 1744, and there died September 10, 
1771. He married Mary McFadden, daughter 
of Daniel and Margaret (Stinson) McFadden. 
He died at the age of twenty-seven years, and 
left two sons, Rutherford and John (2), descent 
in this branch being traced through the younger, 
John (2), a posthurrtous son. 

John (2) Drummond was born in Georgetown, 
Maine, April 13, 1772. He remained at the farm 
with his mother and brother, Rutherford, until 
June 10, 1793, when the brothers sold their prop- 
erty to a relative and located on a tract along 
Seven Mile Brook, in the town of Anson, there 
making a clearing, and planting a field of corn. 



On the night of August 31, 1794, an untimely 
frost ruined their finely growing crop, which so 
disheartened the young men that they abandoned 
their farm and returned down the river, where 
Rutherford, on July 24, 1795, bought a farm next 
to the Winslow line, his the most northerly farm 
in the town of Vassalboro, John Drummond 
went over the boundary into the town of Wins- 
low, but on the same river-road, about one mile 
distant from, his brother, and bought the Parker 
farm. Later he purchased a farm three-quarters 
of a mile further north, later known in the fam- 
ily as The Old Farm. There John (2) Drum- 
mond died December 24, 1857, aged eighty-five 
years. He married, December 3, 1795, Damaris 
Hayden, daughter of Colonel Josiah and Si- 
lence (Howland) Hayden, and fifth in descent 
from Richard Williams of Taunton, Massachu- 
setts. Damaris Hayden was born in Bridge- 
water, Massachusetts, February 18, 1775, died in 
Winslow, Maine, September 3, 1857, her husband 
surviving her but three months. Descent is 
traced in this line from Clark Drummond, the 
first born of John (2) and Damaris. 

Clark Drummond was born at The Old Farm 
on the river-road, on the east bank of the Ken- 
nebec, town of Winslow, Kennebec county, 
Maine, July 5, 1796, and there died in the house 
in which he was born on September 5, 1888, aged 
ninety-two years and two months. He attended 
the district school and worked on the farm with 
his father during his youth, later in addition to 
cultivating the farm being engaged as a lumber- 
man. While still a young man he bought The 
Old Farm, and there brought his bride, and in 
the same house as himself his ten children were 
born, also grandchildren. Clark Drummond was 
ensign of the Winslow Military Company, and 
during the War of 1812 in service for sixty 
days, and for ten years he drew a United States 
pension on account of this service. He was for 
many years a justice of the peace and selectman 
for the town of Winslow. In politics he was a 
Democrat; in religious faith a Methodist. Clark 
Drummond married, June 5, 1821, Cynthia Black- 
well, born in Winslow, Maine, January 9, 1799, 
died at The Old Farm in Winslow, Maine, Feb- 
ruary 8, 1868, her husband surviving her twenty 
years. She was the daughter of Captain Mor- 
decai and Sarah (Burgess) Blackvvell, of Sand- 
wich, Massachusetts. Clark and Cynthia (Black- 
well) Drummond were the parents of ten chil- 
dren, all born at The Old Farm in Winslow: 
Josiah Hayden, to whom this review is dedicated; 
John Clark, born July II, 1829; Cynthia Ann, 





^^^^^^i^^t^^i^^-^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



43 



born January 24, 1832; Everett Richard, Septem- 
ber 14, 1834; Sarah Blackwell, September 14, 
1836; David Hutchinson, October n, 1838; Caro- 
line Redington, August ->3, 1841; Charles Lath- 
rop, November 1 8, 1843. 

Josiah Haydcn Drimimond, of the sixth Ameri- 
can generation, second son of Clark and Cynthia 
(Blackwell) Druntmond, was born at The Old 
Farm in VVinslow, Maine, August 30, 1827, died 
in the city of Portland, Maine, October 25, 1902. 
After preparation at Vassalboro (Maine) Semi- 
nary he entered Waterville (now Colby) Col- 
lege, whence he was graduated A.B. class of 
1846, receiving from his alma mater in 1871 the 
honorary degree, LL.D. He studied nad pre- 
pared for the profession of law, was duly ad- 
mitted to the bar, and practised for many years 
in V, a'crville and Portland, Maine. 

With the formation of the Republican party 
with its platform of opposition to human 
slavery, he joined with that organization, and 
until his death, almost half a century later, he 
remained a devoted adherent of that party. Dur- 
ing the years, 1857-58, he represented Waterville 
in the Maine Legislature, and during the second 
term was Speaker of the House. The follow- 
ing year he was elected State Senator but re- 
signed this seat in the Senate to accept appoint- 
ment as attorney-general of the State of Maine, 
an office he held continuously from 1859 to 
1863, inclusive. In 1865 he moved his residence 
to Portland, Maine, and in 1868 was again a 
member of the Legislature from Portland and 
Speaker of the House. His record as a lawyer 
is one of painstaking ability and devotion to a 
client's interest, while as attorney-general he 
brought all his learning and experience to the 
service of the State, and gave to the duties of 
his office the very best of his legal acumen, his 
record teeming with valuable, professional serv- 
ice. He was a member of the usual bar asso- 
ciations and societies, and was highly regarded 
by his brethren of the profesion. 

At an early age Mr. Drummond sought and 
gained admission to the Masonic order. He was 
deeply impressed with the pure teachings and 
beautiful symbols of the order, and in succes- 
sion passed through the different bodies of the 
York and Scottish rites, finally attaining the 
highest degree possible to attain in the United 
States, the thirty-third, a degree which cannot 
be applied for, it only being conferred for "dis- 
tinguished service rendered the order." He held 
the chief office in each of the subordinate bodies, 
and in turn was advanced through the chairs of 



the Grand bodies until his collection of past of- 
ficers' and past grand officers' jewels was one 
of greatest value. He was past grand master 
of the Grand Lodge of Maine, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; past grand master of the Grand 
Chapter of Maine, Royal and Select Masters; 
past grand thrice illustrious master of the Grand 
Council of Maine, Royal and Select Masters; past 
grand eminent commander of the Grand Com- 
mandery of Maine, Knights Templar; past 
grand high priest of the General Grand Chapter 
of the United States of America Royal and Se- 
lect Masters; and past grand commander of the 
Supreme Council of the Ancient Accepted Scot- 
tish Rite, Thirty-third Northern Jurisdiction, 
United States of America. For twenty-seven 
years he was chairman of the committee on for- 
eign correspondence of the Grand Lodge, Maine 
Free and Accepted Masons. His -best known 
contribution to the literature of Masonry is the 
"Maine Masonic Textbook for the Use of 
Lodges." His college fraternity was Delta 
Kappa Epsilon; his club, the Portland. 

Mr. Drummond married in New York, Decem- 
ber 10, 1850, Elzada Rollins Bean, born in Mont- 
villc, Maine, March 2, 1829, died in Portland, 
Maine, June 25, 1907, daughter of Benjamin 
Wadleigh and Lucetta (Foster) Bean. Mr. and 
Mrs. Drummond were the parents of three 
daughters and a son: Myra Lucetta, born 
August 31, 1851; Josiah Hayden (2) of further 
mention; Tinnie Aubigne, born April 17, 1863, 
married Wilfred G. Chapman; Marhelia Bean, 
born June II, 1866, deceased. 



JOSIAH HAYDEN (a) DRUMMOND As 
the only son of his honored parents, Josiah H. 
Drummond had the benefit of his father's per- 
sonal companionship, the teaching and advice to 
an unusual degree, and it is remarkable how the 
life and example of the father is reflected in the 
life character of the son, as the following re- 
view of his career will show. 

Josiah Hayden (2) Drummond was born in 
Waterville, Maine, March 5, 1856, and there the 
first few years of his life were spent. His par- 
ents moved to Portland in 1860, and there he 
prepared for college in the public school, finish- 
ing with high school. He then entered Colby 
University, whence he was graduated A.B., and 
in 1879 he was admitted to the bar. He began 
practice in Portland, Mfaine, and there continue 1 ; 
until the present (1919), well established and 
prosperous. He is a member of the bar associa- 



44 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



tions, and ranks with the leading lawyers of his 
city. 

Mr. Drummond is a Republican in politics, and 
in 1891 represented his district in tHe Maine 
House of Representatives. In 1897-99, he was 
a member of the State Senate, serving with 
credit in both branches of the State Legislature. 
His college fraternity is Delta Kappa Epsilon, 
Colby University Chapter; his clubs the Cumber- 
land, Portland and Athletic of Portland, Maine, 
and the Republican of New York City. 

He married in Jersey City, New Jersey, Sep- 
tember 17, 1883, Sallie Tucker Blake, daughter 
of J. H. D. and Maria (Coffin) Blake. Mr. and 
Mrs. Drummond are the parents of five sons 
and a daughter: Joseph Blake, born July 12, 
1884; Wadleigh Bean, September 10, 1885; Dan- 
iel Tucker Coffin, July 18, 1887; Elzada Maria 
Wheeler, September 2, 1891; Robert Rutherford, 
June ii, 1894; and Ainslie Hayden, November 
30, 1897. 



THOMAS CROCKER The annals of Paris, 
or, as often written, Paris Hill, the capital of 
Oxford, Maine, contain the life story of many 
men, some of them remarkable for their influence 
upon the times during which they flourished. 
Thomas Crocker, who from youthful manhood 
until his death resided in Paris, came of ancient 
Colonial family, tracing in paternal line to Wil- 
liam Crocker, who came to Barnstable, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1630. From William Crocker, the 
founder, the line of descent is through his son, 
Eleazer, his son Abel, his son Daniel, his son 
Roland, his son Thomas, of Paris, Maine, to 
whose memory this review of an honorable up- 
right life is dedicated. Through maternal lines 
Thomas Crocker traced descent from John Tilly 
and John Howland of the Mayflower, Elder John 
Chipman, and Secretary Nathaniel Morton. 
More than thirty years of the life of Thomas 
Crocker were spent as a merchant in Paris, and 
in the early period of raliroad development it 
was largely through his influence, effort and 
financial support which gave the now Grand 
Trunk Railway to Oxford county. In the midst 
of his great usefulness he was stricken with a 
great affliction, and during the last years of his 
life he sat in darkness. But his work was well 
done, and he left this world the better for 
his life and work. 

The Crocker records teem with military serv- 
ice on the part of the men of the family, and 
Thomas Crocker himself was a son of a Revo- 
lutionary veteran, Roland Crocker, who served 



three years and six months in the Continental 
Army. He married Mehitable Merrill, daugh- 
ter of Lieutenant Thomas and Mehitable (Har- 
riman) Merrill. Lieutenant Thomas Merrill 
served eight months and eight days, beginning 
April 16, 1756, in Captain John Goff's company, 
Colonel Nathaniel M^escrves regiment, raised for 
the Crown Point Expedition. 

Thomas Crocker, second son of Roland and 
Mehitable (Merrill) Crocker, was born in North 
Conway, New Hampshire, April 14, 1788. Owing 
to the scarcity of schools his education was ac- 
quired under private instruction given by his 
maternal grandfather, Lieutenant Thomas Mer- 
rill, a soldier of the Revolution. He began his 
business career in Norway, Maine, as clerk in 
the store of Increase Robinson, there giving 
abundant promise of business ability, prompti- 
tude, energy and fidelity distinguishing him even 
at that early age. Later he came to Paris Hill 
while the count}' was new, and in the midst of 
the thriving, active pioneer population laid the 
foundation of his character and fortune, for be- 
tween 1830 and 1835 his store was a centre of 
trade and business, not alone for Paris but also 
for the adjoining towns. He prospered abund- 
antly in all his enterprises, his broad vision and 
sound judgment, coupled with executive and 
financial ability, insuring him success. In ad- 
dition to his mercantile business he dealt heavily 
in timber lands, was one of the original directors 
of the Grand Trunk Railroad, and through his 
personal efforts and investment he contributed 
largely to the building of that road. It was 
through him and the men he influenced that the 
present location of the road was secured and a 
great benefit derived for Oxford county. It was 
perhaps as a director of that road, then the At- 
lantic and St. Lawrence Railway Company, that 
he rendered his county the greatest public serv- 
ice. He also conducted a private banking busi- 
ness, and was one of the most influential men of 
his district. 

With his business ability and financial stand- 
ing it was inevitable that he should be called 
into public life and to positions of trust. He 
was a member of the Governor's Council in 1839, 
held various town offices, and was high in the 
councils of the Democratic party. He was often 
selected to administer estates and act as guardian 
of minor children. In 1814 he held the rank of 
ensign in Captain Stephen Blake's company. 
From 1854 until his death in 1872, Mr. Crocker 
was an invalid. Cataracts formed on both of 
his eyes and seriously interfered with his vision. 




{I 

Mrs. Henry W. Lyon, Photographer 
CROCKER HOMESTEAD, PARIS HILL, MAINE 




Mrs. Henry \V. L.yon. Photographer 

CROCKER HOMESTEAD, PARIS HILL, MAINE 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



45 



In May, 1854, one eye only was operated upon 
with such disastrous results that he refused to 
have the other eye touched. During the last 
seventeen years of his life he was totally blind. 

Thomas Crocker married (first) Clarissa 
Stowell, who died April 23, 1843, daughter of 
William. Stowell, of Paris. Children: I. Cath- 
erine N'., born October 9, 1817, died October 17, 
1833. 2. Thomas S., born August 27, 1819, died 
November 21, 1830. 3. Mary Elizabeth, born 
March 25, 1822, married Jesse Philip Daniel, of 
Lafayette, Alabama. 4. Annette Maria, died 
aged five years. 5. Charles Henry, born July 30, 
1827. 6. Thomas M., born June I, 1831, mar- 
ried Harriet Elizabeth, daughter of James T. 
Clark, and settled on Paris Hill; his daughter, 
Harriet Clarissa Crocker, was born May 2, 1866. 
7. Augustus G., died aged four years. Thomas 
Crocker married (second) Almira, daughter of 
Captain Bailey and Hannah (Swan) Davis, of 
Methuen, Massachusetts. Children: I. Mira M., 
born May 10, 1846, married T. T. Snow, of Port- 
land, whom she survives, a resident of Paris, 
Maine; they had one child, Julia C. Snow, who 
died January 13, 1917. 2. Augustus L., born 
May 4, 1850, a graduate of Bowdoin College, and 
a civil engineer; married, January 4, 1883, Clara 
Todd Peabody, of Princeton, Maine; children: 
Ruth, born February 24, 1884, died Mjay 7, 1900; 
Katherine M., born January 22, 1887, graduated 
from University of Minnesota, 1916, member of 
honorary society, Phi Beta Kappa; Thomas, born 
May 22, 1888, graduated from Macalester Acad- 
emy, 1008, third in his class; spent three and a 
half years at University of Minnesota; left col- 
lege, incompleted, to take business offer; felt call 
to ministry; returned for one semester to Maca- 
lester College for degree of Bachelor of Arts, 
graduating in 1916; graduated from McCormick 
Theological College, 1919. 

Mrs. Almira (Davis) Crocker, born in Methuen, 
Massachusetts, December 30, 1814, died in Min- 
neapolis, Minnesota, December 30, 1894. She 
was a granddaughter of Captain John Davis, who 
commanded the Methuen company at Lexington 
and Bunker Hill. Her ancestors fought in all 
the wars of the new country from King Philip's 
War down through the Revolution. They were 
at Louisburg. Her descent was from Massa- 
chusetts Bay Puritans. 



his parents moved to Gardiner, on the Kennebec, 
and three years later they left Gardiner and set- 
tled on a farm in the township of Bowdoin, 
Sagadahoc county, Maine. Here the subject of 
this sketch learned what he knows about farm- 
ing not an inconsiderable amount in view of the 
fact that his farm experience ended at the age of 
fourteen, when his parents removed to Lisbon 
Falls, in the township of Lisbon, on the Andros- 
coggin. 

It is Lisbon Falls that Mr. Munsey thinks of 
as his old Maine home. Here he developed into 
young manhood, and here, among the very fine 
people of that little village, friends and neigh- 
bors, his formative years were passed that lit- 
tle village he loved as he loved the people in it, 
those who, with his family, made it home in all 
that the word expresses. 

But Mr. Munsey regards, and has always re- 
garded, the ten boyhood years spent on the farm, 
a hard, rocky, crabbed farm, as among the best 
training years of his life foundational years. 
From early boyhood he was a dreamer, but, 
dreamer that he was, the dominant qualities of 
his mind were those of practical, sound sense. 
This power of vision has served him well in the 
outworking of his life. Mr. Munsey spent five 
years (1877 to 1882) in Augusta, as manager of 
the Western Union Telegraph Company. From 
there he went to New York to enter into the 
process of establishing a publishing house his 
own business. The record shows that he suc- 
ceeded. 

While Mr. Munsey has had many other 
activities, he considers his life work to be that 
of editor and publisher. Nothing else has ever 
equaled this in interest for him; nothing else 
has given him the same measure of happiness, 
the same measure of satisfaction, the same play 
for his energy, imagination, vision. 



FRANK A. MUNSEY was born on a farm in 
the township of Mercer, Somerset county, Maine, 
August 21, 1854. When he was six months old 



BENJAMIN THOMPSON For thirty-seven 
years Benjamin Thompson practiced law in Port- 
land, and while he conducted a large general 
business he specialized in admiralty law and be- 
came an authority in that branch of the law. 
His reputation along these lines extended far 
beyond State or sectional limits, and his opin- 
ion was sought in very important matters where 
a deep knowledge of admiralty law was required. 
During his very extensive practice he compiled 
a work on admiralty practice and procedure, in- 
cluding an invaluable set of forms. He had also 
preserved the unpublished admiralty opinions of 



46 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Judge Nathan Webb, of the United States Dis- 
trict Court of Maine, of whom Mr. Thompson was 
a great admirer and friend. These unpublished 
opinions were often referred to by Mr. Thomp- 
son in the trial of admiralty cases. Mr. Thomp- 
son won the honors of a profession ever gen- 
erous to her talented sons, and when, during the 
recent World War, the submarine presented new 
complications and the commandeering of ves- 
sels by our own and allied governments con- 
stantly brought fresh questions of law before 
the attorneys, he was turned to with confidence 
that his deep knowledge of marine law, national 
and international, would guide his clients aright. 
Mr. Thompson was very thorough in the prep- 
aration of his cases, and cleared up every clouded 
point before passing it. For nearly forty years 
he occupied the same offices, and from them 
cases were prepared involving losses at sea in 
about every part of the world, and he was con- 
cededly one of the best poised and informed law- 
yers in his special branch of the law on the At- 
lantic coast. 

Benjamin Thompson was a son of Charles 
Lewis Thompson, born in Topsham, Maine, No- 
vember 12, 1825, died in Portland, Maine, June 
23, 1897, and is buried in Evergreen Cemetery. The 
latter was educated in the public schools, learned 
the carpenter's trade, also the ship carpenter's, 
and as a ship and house carpenter he spent his 
active years. He was a resident of Topsham, 
1825-50; of Brunswick, Maine, 1850-70; then until 
his death in 1897 resided in Portland, Maine. In 
politics he was a Democrat. He married Octo- 
ber 13, 1853, Clarissa Dunning, born in Bruns- 
wick, Maine, November 24, 1829, died March 16, 
1888, daughter of James and Elizabeth T. (El- 
kins) Dunning, granddaughter of Andrew and 
Mrs. Margaret (Miller-Ramson) Dunning, great- 
granddaughter of Lieutenant James and Martha 
(Lithgow) Dunning, and a great-great-grand- 
daughter of Andrew and Susan (Bond) Dun- 
ning. Her ancestor, Andrew Dunning, was born 
in 1664, died at Maquoit, Brunswick, Maine, June 
18, 1736. His gravestone, yet standing in the 
old cemetery below Brunswick village, is the 
oldest stone there, and it is said to have been 
engraved by his son, Lieutenant James Dunning. 
Lieutenant James Dunning was "a famous In- 
dian fighter" and saved many lives and towns 
from savage foes. 

Benjamin Thompson was born in Brunswick, 
Cumberland county, Maine, October 13, 1857, 
and died in the city of Portland, Maine, De- 
cember 6, 1918. He completed the courses of 



Brunswick's public school system, and finished 
a course of special study at Lewiston Business 
College, Lewiston, Maine, then spent some time 
on sailing vessels, becoming very familiar with 
the construction, operation and qualities of ships 
as well as imbibing a knowledge of the customs 
and unwritten law of the seas. He was an able 
sailorman and won a number of small yacht 
races. Mr. Thompson was one of the two Maine 
members of the Maritime Law Association, and 
a member of a committee of the association 
which urged upon Congress the necessity of a 
statute giving the right of action for loss of 
life on the high seas, but no action of the kind 
asked for has yet been taken. He was also a 
member of the Admiralty Committee of the 
American Bar Association. He became widely 
known in the profession and was often called 
upon for opinions in matters of highest impor- 
tance from all along the Atlantic coast. This 
was especially true after the outbreak of the 
European War in regard to a breach of charter 
parties due to the German submarines sinking so 
many vessels and the commandeering of vessels 
by the allied governments. While still a very 
young man he began the study of law in the 
office of the late Nathan Webb, who later be- 
came a judge of the United States District Court 
of Maine, and the late Thomas H. Haskill, who 
became judge of the Supreme Judicial Court of 
Maine. Having passed satisfactorily the tests 
imposed by the examining board, he was duly 
admitted to the Maine bar, October 19, 1881, 
and at once began practice in Portland. 

Mr. Thompson applied himself closely to the 
upbuilding of a clientele along general lines of 
law business and was very successful even from 
his earlier years as a practitioner. His practice 
became very large, but for years he did not dis- 
criminate, then his natural preference for mari- 
time affairs began to dominate and he became a 
still closer and more careful student of admiralty 
law. Finally he confined his practice to such 
cases in the Federal courts with the result that 
during the last twenty years of his life cases 
growing out of collisions at sea and other acci- 
dents of a maritime nature employed his entire 
time. He delved deep into the law governing 
the cases he tried, and in course of time his fame 
as an exponent of admiralty law became widely 
extended. 

With a highly trained and organized mind, Mr. 
Thompson combined a perfectly organized sys- 
tem of office detail. The details relative to 
every case he tried were typewritten, indexed, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



47 



and filed in the boxes of a fireproof vault, thus 
preserving a reference record impossible to 
properly value. Besides the State and national 
honors he bore, Mr. Thompson was president of 
the, Cumberland County Bar Association at the 
time of his death. He was a Republican in 
politics, and in 1884 served as a member of Port- 
land Common Council, representing Ward I. In 
1889-90 he served upon the Board of Aldermen. 
He was a member of the Maine Historical So- 
ciety, but beyond his State and national bar as- 
sociation membership, he had no affiliation with 
fraternal orders, societies nor organizations. In 
religious faith he was a Congregationalist, and a 
deacon of the State Street Church. He was rv 
generous friend of all good causes and a power- 
ful advocate for any worthy object which he 
championed. He was one of the world's workers 
and never spared himself in a client's cause. He 
won professional fame because he deserved it, 
but his sole thought was to present his cause in 
such a way to court and jury that no matter how 
the verdict was rendered, he would have the 
consciousness that he had done his best. Men 
admired and respected him, but above all they 
trusted him. 

Mr. Thompson married, October 19, 1882, 
Emma Stuart Duffett, born in Montreal, Can- 
ada, February 9, 1859 (a graduate of Portland 
High School), class of 1877, daughter of Walter 
White and Mary Stuart Duffett. Her father, 
Walter White Duffett, was of English birth, and 
in Montreal, treasurer of the Grand Trunk Rail- 
road Company. Benjamin and Emma Stuart 
(Duffett) Thompson were the parents of five 
children: Marion Stuart, born December 30, 
1884; Eleanor, born March 13, 1891; Clara Dun- 
ning, April 7, 1894; Nathan Webb, September 30, 
1895; Helen York, June 3, 1899. 



WILLIAM WHEELER BOLSTER Bolster 
is a name which has long been associated promi- 
nently with the State of Maine, where its repre- 
sentatives have resided from an early period. 
It was founded in this State by Alvin Bolster, 
who came here from Vermont and settled in the 
town of Rumford. Here he kept a general store, 
and was very active in the community's affairs, 
and particularly in niilitary matters. During the 
Aroostook War he held the rank of general. 

William Wheeler Bolster is a son of William 
Wheeler, Sr., who was a native of Rumford, 
where he was born, July 6, 1823. He came to 
Dixfield, Maine, as a young man, and practiced 
law. During his youth he had received an excel- 



lent education, which was completed by a course 
in law at the Harvard Law School, from which 
he graduated in 1847 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Laws. For a time he practiced at Dixfield, 
but afterwards came to Auburn, as he regarded 
that city as offering larger opportunities in the 
profession he had chosen. He was a staunch 
Republican in politics, and took a very active 
part in local public affairs, and soon became one 
of the most prominent men in Auburn. In 1893 
he was elected mayor of that city, and in addi- 
tion to this held nearly all the important county 
and State offices, with the exception of gov- 
ernor. He represented Auburn in both houses of 
the State Legislature, and was speaker of the 
House and president of the Senate for a number 
of years. From 1861 to 1864 he was county 
attorney of Oxford, and held the office of State 
bank examiner of Maine for six years. It was 
Mr. Bolster, Sr., who compiled the book on tax 
collecting which is now used in all the States 
of this country. In addition to his legal and 
political activities, Mr. Bolster, Sr., was also 
prominent in business circles in Auburn, was 
president of the Little Androscoggin Water 
Power Company, and was affiliated with other 
concerns. For eight years he was trustee of the 
Reform School at Auburn, and in every capacity 
proved himself a most efficient executive. He 
married Florence J. Reed, a daughter of Lewis 
Reed, a prominent merchant of Rumford, Maine. 
Born November n, 1873, at Mexico, Maine, 
William Wheeler Bolster remained but a very 
short time in his native town. He was still an 
infant when removed to the home of his parents 
at Auburn, Maine, and it was with this city 
that his earliest associations were formed. Here, 
too, it was that he received his education, attend- 
ing for this purpose the local public schools, and 
graduating from the grammar department there, 
in 1886. He was then sent by his parents to 
the Nickols Latin School at Lewiston, where he 
remained for three years, and was prepared for 
college. Immediately after his graduation from 
this institution, in 1890, he matriculated at Bates 
College, from which he graduated with the class 
of 1895. He then went to Harvard University 
and studied at the school of physical training con- 
nected with this institution. After completing 
this course, Mr. Bolster returned to Bates Col- 
lege, where he accepted the position as instructor 
in physiology, and director of physical training, 
a post which he continued to hold for ten years. 
In the meantime, however, he had come to the 
conclusion to abandon teaching as a profession. 



48 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



and as his interest had been strongly drawn to 
medicine, decided to study this and make it his 
calling. Accordingly he entered the medical de- 
partment of Bowdoin College, from which he 
graduated in 1008 with his degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. The theoretical knowledge gained at 
this institution he supplemented by practical ex- 
perience as an interne at the Central Maine Gen- 
eral Hospital. He occupied this post for one 
year, between July, 1908, and July, 1009, and then 
engaged in active practice at Lewiston, Maine. 
Dr. Bolster is a surgeon and specialized in this 
branch of his work. He is at the present time 
adjunct surgeon of the Maine General Hospital. 
Dr. Bolster has never entirely given up his activi- 
ties as teacher, and at the present time holds the 
position of Assistant Professor of Physiology at 
the Bowdoin Medical School. Indeed, he con- 
tinues to take a very keen interest in educational 
matters generally, and for some years was a mem- 
ber of the Auburn School Board. He is now 
generally recognized as one of the leading prac- 
titioners in Lewiston and the surrounding region 
of the State. Since 1918 he has held the posi- 
tion of house physician at Poland Springs, South 
Portland, Maine. 

In spite of the demands made upon Dr. Bol- 
ster's time and attention by his professional 
duties he manages to find certain opportunities 
to indulge in what he calls his hobby. This 
hobby is hunting and fishing, and he manages to 
slip away once every year for an expedition 
which includes the shooting of big game. He 
is interested in Masonry, having been Potentate 
of Kora Temple in 1913. 

Lewiston, Maine, was the scene of Dr. Bolster's 
wedding, which occurred there October 3, 1914, 
when he was united with Maud L. Furbush, a 
native of that place, and a daughter of George 
and Josie A. (Leavitt) Furbush, old and highly- 
respected residents. Mr. Furbush was for many 
years actively engaged in business at Lewiston, 
and is now retired. He and his wife still reside 
here. To Dr. and Mrs. Bolster one child has 
been born, a daughter, Barbara, born November 
21, 1915- 

During the many years of his residence in 
Lewiston, Maine, Dr. Bolster has been looked 
up to as have few other men in the community, 
not only with respect for the unimpeachable 
integrity, the clear-sighted sagacity, the strong 
public spirit that marks him, but with affection 
also, for his tact in dealing with men, his spon- 
taneous generosity and the attitude of charity 
and tolerance he maintains towards his fellow- 
men, which makes him easy to approach and a 



sympathetic listener to all the humblest as well 
as the proudest. 



SAMUEL LANCASTER HUNTINGTON, 

who for many years has been closely associated 
with the industrial and commercial interests of 
Augusta, Maine, and who is a prominent and 
public-spirited citizen of this place, is a member 
of a family that has borne an honorable name 
in the annals of this country, and which has been 
represented with distinction in both the church 
and civil affairs. He is a descendant of Simon 
and Margaret (Baret) Huntington, who came 
to this country from England in 1633, and who 
were the ancestors of a family which has long 
made its home at Old Hallowell, on the Kennebec 
river, in this State. Among his other ancestors 
is the Rev. John Mayo, who came to this country 
from England about 1639, and who was the first 
pastor of the Old North Church, now known as 
the Second Church, of Boston. Through his 
maternal line Mr. Huntington traces his descent 
from Governor Thomas Prence, Elder William 
Brewster, of Mayflower fame, and from other 
worthies of the Plymouth Colony. 

Samuel Lancaster Huntington is a son of 
Samuel Whitmore and Sally Ann (Mayo) Hunt- 
ington, the former a prominent merchant and 
manufacturer of Hallowell. It was in that town 
that Samuel Lancaster Huntington was born, 
October 22, 1843, and there that he received his 
education, attending for this purpose both the 
local public schools and the Hallowell Academy. 
Upon completing his studies at the last named 
institution Mr. Huntington, who was then eight- 
een years of age, became associated with his 
father in the manufacture of clothing for the 
Union soldiers, who were then fighting in the 
Civil War. He had himself endeavored to enlist, 
but was unable to pass the rigid physical exam- 
ination. Two years after the close of this great 
struggle he entered the employ of the firm of 
Storer & Cutler, of Portland, Maine, where he 
desired to learn the wholesale dry goods business. 
In 1865 he was clothing salesman for his father 
and uncle, Samuel W. and Benjamin Huntington, 
at Augusta, Maine, and was later admitted to the 
firm of Huntington, Nason & Company, whole- 
sale and retail clothiers of this city. After the 
dissolution of the above firm Mr. Huntington 
continued in business on his own account, and 
in 1901 commenced selling clothing specialties 
in the wholesale market. While so engaged he 
designed several models of warm coats for men's 
wear, which met with so much favor he obtained 
from the manufacturer the right to the exclusive 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



49 



sale of them in the United States. These gar- 
ments, which Mr. Huntington continues to sell 
at the present time, have become very popular 
wherever they have been shown, and he now does 
a large business in this line. Mr. Huntington 
has been a conspicuous figure for many years in 
the general life of the community. He was ad- 
mitted to Augusta Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, in 1869, and shortly afterwards to Jeru- 
salem Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of Hallo- 
well. He is one of the oldest Knights Templar 
in Augusta, having been a member of Trinity 
Commandery since 1871. In the year 1892 he 
became a member of the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen. Although Mr. Huntington is not a 
member of the Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion he is eligible to become one through his 
mother's grandfather and great-grandfather, Ebe- 
nezer and Thomas Mayo, both of whom served 
in the war for American independence. Mr. 
Huntington has always been an independent in 
politics. He cast his first vote in the year 1864 
for Abraham Lincoln, but has not allied himself 
with any party since that time except the Pro- 
gressive, preferring to retain complete independ- 
ence of judgment on all issues and in the choice 
of candidates. In his religious belief he is a 
Congregationalist. 

Samuel Lancaster Huntington was united in 
marriage, November 7, 1877, at Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, with Nellie A. Yeaton, a daughter of 
John and Abbie (Rollins) Yeaton, of Chelsea, 
Maine. Mrs. Huntington died in 1917. Although 
Mr. Huntington is a resident of Augusta, he 
and his daughter, Mary Wentworth, spend the 
most of their time at his charming summer 
home known as "Fairview," in the beautiful vil- 
lage of Damariscotta, Maine. 



WILLIAM WIDGERY THOMAS The 
Thomas family was an early one in Portland, 
and is of undoubted Welsh origin. The "History 
of Cumberland County" states that before 1720 
Thomas Thomas had built his house on the 
Neck, in what is now the City of Portland. 
Elias Thomas was born January 14, 1772, in 
Portland, was a merchant in that city, and in 
1823 was elected State Treasurer, filling that 
office for seven years. He was a director of the 
Cumberland Bank, and died August 3, 1872, at 
the age of one hundred years and seven months. 
He married, in 1801, Elizabeth Widgery, born 
1778, died in July, 1861, daughter of Hon. 
William Widgery, a prominent citizen of Port- 
land. He was born in 1752, and died in Portland, 

ME. 14 



in 1822. In his day Maine was a part of Massa- 
chusetts, and he was a delegate to the conven- 
tion of the latter State, which adopted the United 
States Constitution after the Revolution. In 1787 
he represented the town of New Gloucester in 
the General Court of Massachusetts, and con- 
tinued eight years in that capacity. In 1794 he 
was elected to represent Cumberland county in 
the State Senate, and in 1810 was a member of 
Congress. In this body he acted with great moral 
heroism. Believing that the War of 1812 was 
necessary in order to establish the rights of 
American citizens, he voted against the wishes 
of his constituents, in spite of the fact that it was 
certain to inflict great loss upon himself for the 
prosecution of that war. His grandson, William 
Widgery Thomas, was born November 7, 1803, 
in Portland, and became a prominent citizen of 
the city and State. He began his business career 
as clerk in a dry goods store on Exchange street, 
and before he was nineteen years of age engaged 
in business for himself on the site now occupied 
by the First National Bank of Portland. He 
continued this business with great success until 
1835, after which he gave his attention to bank- 
ing and real estate operations. He represented 
Portland in the Maine House of Representatives 
in 1855, in the Senate in 1856, and was elected 
State Treasurer in 1860, but declined to serve. 
As a good citizen he served in both branches 
of the city government, and distinguished him- 
self as mayor of the city in 1861-62, the first two 
years of the Civil War. He was very active in 
caring for the families of soldiers who went to 
the front, and was everywhere esteemed as a 
patriotic and useful citizen. For twenty years 
he was one of the overseers of Bowdoin Col- 
lege, for thirty years a corporate member of the 
American Board of Commissioners of Foreign 
Missions, and thirty years one of the managers 
of the Portland Benevolent Society, of which he 
was twenty years president. He was a director 
of the Maine General Hospital, in 1836 was 
elected a director of the Canal Bank, in 1849 
was made its president. In 1876 he was one of 
the Presidential electors-at-large of the State 
of Maine, and was made president of the Elec- 
toral College. He was one of the organizers of 
the Portland Temperance Society in 1827, and 
in the same year became a member of the Second 
Parish Congregational Church. Throughout his 
long life he abstained from the use of tobacco 
or spirits. 

Mr. Thomas married, March 5, 1835, Elizabeth 
White Goddard, born May 25, 1812, in Ports- 



50 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



mouth, New Hampshire, daughter of Henry God- 
dard, long a merchant of Portland, and died there, 
April 27, 1884. Their eldest son, Gen. Henry 
Goddard Thomas, served with distinction in the 
Civil War, rising from a private to the brevet 
rank of major-general of volunteers. Among the 
ancestors of the Thomas family was George 
Cleve, who founded Portland in 1832, and was 
the first governor of Ligonia. 

William Widgery Thomas, the diplomat, son 
of William Widgery and Elizabeth W. (Goddard) 
Thomas, was born August 26, 1839, in Portland, 
and was reared in that city, entered Bowdoin 
College, from which he was graduated with the 
highest honors in 1860. He at once began the 
study of law, but in the spring of 1862 was sent 
abroad, and as United States bearer of despatches 
carried a treaty to Turkey. Here he became 
Vice-Consul-General at Constantinople; was sub- 
sequently acting Consul at Galatz, Moldavia, and 
before the close of the year was appointed by 
President Lincoln one of the thirty "war con- 
suls" of the United States and sent to Gothen- 
burg, Sweden. He received from Secretary 
William H. Seward the special thanks of the 
Department of State for services as Consul. 
While at Gothenburg he mastered the Swedish 
language, and translated Rydberg's "Last Ath- 
enian," for which he received the King's thanks. 
Fredrika Bremer wrote a special introduction to 
the American public for this translation, which 
was published in four editions at Philadelphia. 
In December, 1865, Mr. Thomas returned to his 
native land, completed his legal studies at Har- 
vard, was admitted to the Maine bar in 1866, 
and engaged in successful practice. In the effort 
to prevent the decrease of population in his native 
State, he earnestly advocated the settlement of 
Swedes in Maine, presenting in his report as 
commissioner on the settlement of public lands 
the first definite, practical plan for Swedish im- 
migration to Maine. The Legislature of 1870 
adopted his proposition, and, hastening to Swe- 
den, he recruited a colony of fifty-one Swedes 
picked men, women and children sailed with 
them over the ocean, led them up the St. John 
river in flat boats drawn by horses on the bank, 
and on July 23, 1870, just four months after the 
passage of the act authorizing the enterprise, 
founded the prosperous colony of New Sweden, 
in the primeval forest of Maine. Here he lived 
in a log cabin among his Swedish pioneers for 
the better part of four years, directing all the 
affairs of the colony, until its success was estab- 
lished. The new settlement grew and prospered 



until now it numbers over three thousand indi- 
viduals, the only successful agricultural colony 
planted in New England since the Declaration of 
Independence, with foreigners from across the 
sea. This beginning drew thousands of Scandi- 
navians to settle in Maine and other portions of 
New England, and has given to the State many 
of its most loyal, industrious and thrifty citizens. 
New Sweden enthusiastically celebrated the tenth, 
twenty-fifth, thirtieth and fortieth anniversaries, 
of its founding. At each of these festivities 
"Father Thomas," as his Swedish "children in 
the woods" affectionately call the founder of the 
colony, was orator of the day. 

Mr. Thomas was elected to represent Portland 
in the State Legislature, where he served from 
1873 to 1875, and during his last two terms was 
Speaker of the House, was State Senator in 
1879, but declined a re-election. He was presi- 
dent of the Maine Republican convention in 
1875, and a delegate to the memorable Republican 
National Convention of 1880 which nominated 
Garfield for the Presidency. In 1883 President 
Arthur appointed him minister resident to SWCT 
den and Norway and he was the first representa- 
tive of this country to address the Swedish King 
in the latter's native language, the first to hoist 
his country's flag at Stockholm, and the first to 
successfully assist in establishing a steamship 
line between the United States and Sweden. In 
1885 he was recalled by President Cleveland. 
This departure was the occasion for a public 
farewell banquet given him by the citizens of 
the Swedish capital. In 1887 he returned to 
Sweden on a mission of his own and married 
Miss Dagmar Tornebladh, a Swedish lady of 
noble birth. Mr. Thomas was very welcome at 
the Swedish court, and popular among the people 
of that country, as well as among the Swedish 
population in the United States. At the two 
hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the settle- 
ment of the first Swedish colony in America 
New Sweden on the Delaware, founded under 
the plans of Gustavus Adolphus which was cele- 
brated at Minneapolis, in September, 1888, Mr. 
Thomas was chosen as the orator of the occa- 
sion. In the Presidential campaign of that year 
he was active on the stump among the Swedish 
settlements from Maine to Minnesota, speaking 
chiefly in the Swedish language. In that cam- 
paign Benjamin Harrison was elected President, 
and immediately upon his accession, in March, 
1889, he appointed Mr. Thomas as envoy extraor- 
dinary and minister plenipotentiary to Stockholm, 
where he and his young Swedish wife received 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



51 



a welcome that amounted to an ovation. Dur- 
ing his second term Mr. Thomas helped secure 
the appointment of a Swedish jurist as Chief 
Justice of Samoa, under the treaty of Berlin, and 
a Norwegian statesman as a member of the tri- 
bunal of arbitration between the United States 
and England, on the question of the fur seal 
fisheries in Behring Sea. He initiated negotia- 
tions resulting in the full and satisfactory extradi- 
tion treaty of 1893 between the United States and 
Sweden and Norway. His efforts to secure a 
freer market for American products were also 
crowned with success, the Swedish Riksdag of 
1892 voting to reduce the duty on both grain and 
pork by one-half. He also was successful in 
persuading the Swedish people to make a large 
and diversified display at the Columbian Expo- 
sition at Chicago, in 1893. On the arrival of the 
United States warship Baltimore at Stockholm, 
in September, 1800, with the body of the great 
Swedish-American, John Ericsson, Mr. Thomas, 
in an eloquent address, delivered the honored 
ashes of the inventor of the Monitor to the King 
and peopte of Sweden. 

Mr. Thomas was recalled from his post by 
President Cleveland (for the second time) in 
1894. At a farewell audience Mr. Thomas was 
presented by King Oscar with his portrait, a 
life-size painting, personally inscribed by the 
King. On his return to America, in October, 
Mr. Thomas was welcomed back to his native 
land by a reception and banquet given in his 
honor by the leading Swedish-Americans of the 
State of New York at the house of the Swedish 
Engineers' Club in Brooklyn. During the fol- 
lowing winter he delivered addresses upon Swe- 
den and the Swedes in more than fifty cities 
and towns, in sixteen different States of the 
Union, and was everywhere greeted by large and 
enthusiastic audiences and honored by public re- 
ceptions and banquets. In fact his entire lecture 
tour from the Atlantic to the Rocky mountains 
was a continuous ovation. Mr. Thomas took the 
stump for McKinley and sound money in 1896, 
speaking in Maine from the opening of the cam- 
paign until the State election in September, and 
thereafter in the Western States. At the special 
request of the Republican National Committee he 
made an extensive and successful tour through 
the Scandinavian settlements of Minnesota and 
the Dakotas, addressing large audiences in the 
Swedish language. 

President McKinley appointed Mr. Thomas to 
his old post in December, 1897. When he pre- 
sented his credentials as American Minister, for 



the third time, at the Palace at Stockholm, King 
Oscar threw aside all ceremony and greeted him 
as an old friend, exclaiming: "I hoped it, I felt 
it, I knew it; and now you are here." On the 
unveiling of the bronze monument to John Erics- 
son at Stockholm, on September 14, 1901, the 
eleventh anniversary of the reception of his 
revered remains in Sweden, Mr. Thomas deliv- 
ered the oration, in the Swedish language, in the 
presence of the Swedish royalties, court, cabinet 
and 25,000 people, and was publicly thanked 
therefor by the Crown Prince, representing the 
King. On April 10, 1903, Mr. Thomas presided 
at the great international banquet at Stockholm, 
commemorative of the centennial of the purchase 
of the Louisiana Territory by the United States, 
and delivered an historical address in Swedish. 
Through his untiring efforts and wise diplomacy 
he secured the official participation of Sweden 
in the Louisiana Purchase Exposition, after the 
Swedish government had twice declined. During 
his diplomatic career he has three times secured 
the good offices of King Oscar in the settlement 
of controversies between the United States and 
Great Britain or Germany. 

Mr. Thomas is a lover of all outdoor, manly 
sports, and a keen follower of the chase. He has 
laid low the bear and moose in the back woods 
of America, and elk and deer in the forests of 
Sweden. On September 29, 1893, when hunt- 
ing in company with King Oscar on Hunneberg 
Mountain, in Sweden, he had the good luck to 
shoot four noble elk as large and grand as the 
moose of Maine. He is widely known as an 
entertaining writer. Beside the translation men- 
tioned above, and numerous articles for the peri- 
odical press of Sweden and America, he is the 
author of "Sweden and the Swedes," a hand- 
somely illustrated volume of 750 pages, which 
was published simultaneously in 1892, in America, 
England and Sweden, printed in both English 
and Swedish languages. The book has met with 
a flattering reception and large sale on both sides 
of the Atlantic, and is characterized by the 
Swedish press as "the most correct and at the 
same time the most genial description of Sweden 
and its people ever published in any language." 
Mr. Thomas resigned his post in 1005, after hav- 
ing held the position of American Minister to 
Sweden and Norway for fifteen years, under the 
appointment of three Presidents. On his retire- 
ment the American consular officers in Sweden 
presented him with a magnificent silver loving 
cup, inscribed: "As a token of remembrance and 
gratitude," and Secretary of State, John Hay, 



52 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



wrote: "You have had the longest, the most dis- 
tinguished and the most useful term of service 
(in Sweden and Norway) that any American has 
ever had, and I congratulate you heartily on it." 
The honorary degree of LL.D. was conferred 
upon him by Bethany College in 1901, and by 
Bowdoin in 1913. 

Mr. Thomas' first wife died at Stockholm, Jan- 
uary 31, 1912, universally beloved and respected. 
The Swedish royalties sent special representa- 
tives to her funeral. Three years afterwards, 
1915, he married Mrs. Aina (Tornebladh), sis- 
ter of his first wife. He had two children by 
his first marriage: William Widgery (3), died 
in infancy; Oscar Percival, born August 13, 1889, 
within the American Legation at Stockholm. 

Mr. Thomas is a corresponding member of 
the Royal Swedish Academy for Literature, His- 
tory and Antiquities, a member of the Swedish 
Society for Anthropology and Geography, the 
"Idun," a Swedish literary society, the "Nya 
Sallskapet," a Swedish social club, King Gustafs 
Shooting Club, the Royal Swedish Yacht Club, 
the Phi Beta Kappa Society, Maine Historical 
Society, Portland Fraternity Club, and the Port- 
land Yacht Club, of which he was a founder. 



ALBERT JOSEPH RAYNES The Raynes 
family is a splendid example of that sturdy class 
of men which came from England in the past 
and settled throughout the region known as New 
England, giving character to the type which has 
become representative of that section of the 
country, the imigrant ancestor having located in 
the town of York, Maine. The family has been 
identified with the Maine Central Railroad Com- 
pany practically from its inception, Joseph 
Raynes, the grandfather of the present auditor, 
Albert Joseph Raynes, having been the first 
agent at Yarmouth Junction, Maine, of the Ken- 
nebec & Portland Railroad, now a part of the 
Maine Central System, and of the Atlantic & St. 
Lawrence Railway, now a part of the Grand 
Trunk System. 

Joseph Raynes, son of Joseph and Mary 
(Eveleth) Raynes, the father of Albert Joseph 
Raynes, was born March 25, 1843, at New Glor- 
cester, Maine, where his maternal grandfather 
was town clerk for thirty years. He was edu- 
cated at Yarmouth, Maine, where he attended the 
public schools, and North Yarmouth Academy. 
After leaving school he secured a position in the 
employ of the Portland & Kennebec Railroad, 
working in the shops at Augusta, Maine. He 
was thus engaged at the outbreak of the Civil 



War and left to enlist in the United States Navy 
at Charlestown Navy Yard. He saw much ac- 
tive service, and was engineer's yeoman on the 
monitor Nahant during the engagement of Mor- 
ris Island and the bombardment of Fort Sumpter. 
He afterwards served for a short time on the 
battleship Vermont, which was stationed at 
Brooklyn, New York, and it was from here that 
he received his honorable discharge. He re- 
turned home at once, where he succeeded his 
father as agent for the Portland & Kennebec 
Railroad, upon the death of the elder man in 1865, 
holding this position for some fifteen years, when 
he resigned. He then entered the business of 
cigar manufacturer, in which he continued until 
the year 1886, when he was appointed postmas- 
ter at Yarmouthville, Maine. Besides his posi- 
tion as postmaster, which he held for twenty- 
seven years, Mr. Raynes has been extremely ac- 
tive in local affairs and for several years held the 
office of town treasurer. On January I, 1914, 
Mr. Raynes resigned his position as postmaster, 
and retired from active business life. 

Albert Joseph Raynes, son of Joseph and 
Esther (Johnson) Raynes, was born November 
18, 1873, at Yarmouth, Maine. He received his 
education at the local public schools, and grad- 
uated from the Yarmouth High School in June, 
1889. After completing his studies, he entered 
the employ of the Maine Central Railroad Com- 
pany as freight clerk and telegraph operator at 
Yarmouth Junction, Maine. He remained in this 
capacity until 1899, when he was transferred to 
the general offices of the company at Portland, 
Maine. On November I, 1911, he was appointed 
auditor of disbursements, and on November I, 
1913, he became auditor, in charge of disburse- 
ments and traffic accounts. On January I, 1918, 
the property of the Maine Central Railroad Com- 
pany was taken over by the United States Rail- 
road Administration, and on July I, 1918, Mr. 
Raynes was appointed Federal auditor in charge 
of the accounting department, which position he 
still holds. 

Mr. Raynes is a well-known Mason, having 
taken his thirty-second degree in Free Masonry, 
and is affiliated with Casco Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons; Cumberland Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; Portland Council, Royal and Se- 
lect Masters; Portland Commandery, Knights 
Templar; and Kora Temple, Ancient Arabic Or- 
der Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is a Con- 
grcgationalist in his religious belief and attends 
the church of that denomination at Portland. 

In October, 1918, Mr. Raynes married Lisette 
Budd Lincoln, of Portland, Maine. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



JAMES HENRY HALL, one of the best- 
known and highly-esteemed business men of 
Portland, Maine, where he now resides in re- 
tirement after more than half a century of active 
business life, is a native of this State, and is a 
descendant of good old stock of the "Pine Tree 
State." He is in the best sense of the term a 
self-made man, and throughout his long and 
honorable career has stood for the highest com- 
mercial standards of integrity and honor, and 
as a man and as a citzen he displayed a personal 
worth and an excellence of character that not 
only commanded the respect of those with whom 
he associated, but won him the warmest per- 
sonal admiration and the staunches! friendships. 
Aside from his business affairs, however, he found 
time for the championship of many progressive 
public measures, recognized the opportunities 
for reform, advancement and improvement, and 
labored effectively and earnestly for the general 
good. 

James Henry Hall is a son of Jeremiah Porter 
and Sarah Jane (Smith) Hall, old and highly-re- 
spected residents of the town of Gorham, Maine, 
where the former was well-known in business 
circles as a successful manufacturer of boots and 
shoes, and it was in that town that he made his 
home and eventually died. Jeremiah Porter Hall 
married Sarah Jane Smith, who possessed un- 
usual Christian characteristics, was a devoted 
wife and mother, whose death also occurred at 
the old Hall home at Gorham. They were the 
parents of four children as follows: James 
Henry, of further mention; Cyrus M., a young 
man of unusual promise, who enlisted in the Sev- 
enteenth Regiment, Maine Volunteer Infantry, 
for the Civil War, and lost his life at the battle 
of Gettysburg; Sarah, who became the wife of 
William H. Marston, of Gorham; Lydia Jane, 
who became the wife of a Mr. Hodgden, of West 
Boxton. 

James Henry Hall was born at Gorham, Maine, 
August 14, 1840. He passed his childhood and 
early youth in his native town, attending there 
the local public schools, and later the Limington 
Academy. Upon completing his studies he en- 
gaged in business on his own account, while still 
in his "teens" and with very little capital, manu- 
facturing boots and shoes for women. His nat- 
ural talent for business triumphed over the dif- 
ficulties that confronted him, and he remained 
thus engaged until the outbreak of the Civil War. 
During a portion of this time his brother, Cyrus 
M. Hall, was assocated with him in this enter- 
prise. In the year 1864 he took up his residence 



in the city of Portland, and has there since re- 
sided, identifying himself most closely with its 
interests and affairs. In 1874 he formed a part- 
nership with Cyrus Thompson, a successful busi- 
ness man of Portland, under the firm name of 
Thompson & Hall, and engaged in the wholesale- 
grocery business and fruit and produce, their 
.establishment located at Nos. 245-247 Commer- 
cial street, and there the firm continued its trans- 
actions with uninterrupted success for a period of 
twenty-seven years, Mr. Thompson then retiring 
from the business. In the year 1901 the business 
was incorporated under the name of the Thomp- 
son-Hall Company, which is at the present time 
(1918) conducting an extensive and flourishing 
trade in the same location. The company, aside 
from its general business, established a factory 
for the canning of sugar corn, squash, beans and 
apples, and here the well-known brands of "Sil- 
ver Lake" and "Harvest" were put up. Another 
enterprise of the concern was the establishment 
at Cornish of an apple evaporator. From 1901, 
the year of its incorporation, to 1912, Mr. Halt 
served in the capacity of president and general 
manager of the company, and personally directed 
its affairs. In the latter named year he retired 
from active business pursuits, and turned over 
the great business, which was so largely the 
fruit of his energy and constructive genius, to 
the younger men who had been associated with 
him and who are now conducting it successfully. 
From early youth, for more than fifty years, Mr. 
Hall's life has been a most active one, the uni- 
form success of his business ventures being due 
to his good judgment and busness acumen, and 
to the energy and enthusiasm with which he fol- 
lowed up his opportunities. He has always 
shown himself a most enterprising man, with 
progressive ideas who was ready to adopt the- 
improvements of the day, yet conservative 
enough never to forget the fundamentals of good 
business which must remain the same from year 
to year and from age to age. 

However interested Mr. Hall was in the suc- 
cess of his business efforts, he has never lost 
sight of the corresponding interests of the com- 
munity of which he is a valued member, and has 
always shown the most public-spirited concern 
for the institutions and affairs of his adopted 
city, Portland. He is a staunch Republican in 
politics, rendered valuable service as a member 
of the City Committe for seventeen years, and 
also in the City Council, which he served for 
three years, 1879-80-81, and during that period 
of time stood for much needed reforms and im- 



54 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



provernents in the city administration, his tenure 
of office being noted for efficiency, thorough- 
ness and promptness in the execution of every 
detail. Mr. Hall is prominent in the Masonic 
order, holding membership in St. Albans Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar. He is also a mem- 
ber of Harmony Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows; Longfellow Lodge, Knights of 
Pythias, and was one of the first twenty-five 
members of the Portland Club, a club of three 
hundred and fifty members at the present time, 
and he occupes the office of vice-president of 
that important organization of prominent men. 
He is also a member of the High Street Con- 
gregational Church of Portland. 

In 1911 Mr. Hall published a finely gotten-up 
book of poems entitled "Club Poems and Bal- 
lads of Country Life." This book of poems was 
written as a pastime while resting in the coun- 
try, and is dedicated to his many friends and 
readers, known and unknown. Though never 
pretending to be a poet, Mr. Hall has celebrated 
in verse many social events, his book showing 
the strength of his love for his country. His 
harking back to his childhood days and his 
strong and abiding faith in the goodness of God 
are often shown in his lines, as, for instance: "A 
heavenly home of love and beauty, a dream with- 
in a dream." He was right, too, when he said: 

The world likes the man that wins, 
The man that works with a will ; 

He Is busy all through the heat of the day, 
And never stops at the foot of the hill. 

Mr. Hall likes to look on the bright side of life. 
He has also written many articles for trade 
papers, and an article on "History of Portland." 

The following, by Colonel Fay, appeared in the 
Sunday Times, February 13, 1916: 

His mind works rapidly, he saw a business opening 
many times in advance of others: he made a constant 
study of the markets and was prepared when he saw 
an opportunity. He Is still a strong and vigorous 
man 'and held high in the councils of his party, and 
few men are better Informed. He is a delightful man 
to meet at his home, club or elsewhere: his Ideas are 
measured by the highest standard of right and justice, 
a model man, and has many friends. He was on the 
Portland City Committee for many years, and has had 
a good deal to do with bringing out others for office. 
In 1911 Mr. Hall published a book of poems entitled: 
"Club Poems and Ballads of Country Life:" also a book 
called "Tom's Biography," and while he does not pre- 
tend to be a poet he has celebrated many social gather- 
Ings by poems written expressly for the occasion in 
which he has shown his love for his country and his 
strong and abiding faith in the goodness of God. He 
has been a member of the Portland Board of Trade 
for forty years, was president of the Fruit and Produce 
Exchange for ten years, has been a director in both 
the Portland nnd < T asco IjOan and Building Associa- 
tions since their organizations. He has read many 
papers before clubs in Portland, and written for maga- 
zines and papers. 



James Henry Hall married (first) Julia L. 
Buxton, a native of Windham, Maine, a daughter 
of William L. Buxton, of that place. One child 
was born to them, Bertha L., who is now the 
wife of Arthur H. MacKcown, of Boston. Mrs. 
Hall died in 1884. Mr. Hall married (second) 
in 1886, Harriet M. Carter, of Portland, a daugh- 
ter of George VV. Carter. Mrs. Hall is a promi- 
nent figure in the social life of the city of Port- 
land, and a member of the High Street Congre- 
gational Church. 



LUCILIUS ALONZO EMERY, Retired Chief 
Justice. From an old American family Judge 
Emery has inherited those qualities which made 
him a distinguished son of Maine. The name is 
an ancient personal one, which in time became a 
surname. Some of the original spellings in Eng- 
land were Americ, Almeric, Almaric, and Elmeric; 
and it is the same to which, in the Italian form 
of Amerigo, we now owe the title of our own 
country. It is a name which has been honorably 
borne by many citizens of the United States, 
one which was very early in New England, and 
has been from that cradle of American citizen- 
ship distributed over a wide area. It was early 
identified with Maine, and has been borne by 
pioneers of numerous towns in this State. 

(I) The first of whom positive record is ob- 
tained was John Emery, who with his wife 
Agnes resided in Romsey, Hants, England, and 
probably died there. 

(II) Anthony Emery, second son of John and 
Agnes Emery, was born in Romsey, Hants, Eng- 
land, and sailed for America with his elder 
brother John, from Southampton, April 3, 1635, 
in the ship James, of London, William Cooper, 
master, their wives and one or two children each 
probably accompanying them. They landed in 
Boston, Massachusetts, June 3, 1635. Anthony 
Emery, it seems, was in Ipswich in August fol- 
lowing, and not long after settled in Newbury, 
where he lived until about 1640. In the latter 
year he removed to Dover, New Hampshire, and 
on October 22 of that year signed the "Dover 
Combination." For the nine years following he 
was identified with the interests of the town. 
His house was at Dover Neck, about a mile from 
the present railroad station at Dover Point, and 
three or four miles from Major Richard Wal- 
dern's (Waldron's) settlement on the Cocheco 
river. There he kept an ordinary or inn, which 
was destroyed by fire. In 1644 a "d 1648 he was 
one of the townsmen (selectmen) for the "pru- 
dential affairs" of Dover. He bought of John 
White, November 15, 1648, a house, a field, and 



HIOGRAPHICAL 



55 



a great barren marsh on Sturgeon creek, in Pis- 
chataqua, afterward Kittery, now Eliot, Maine, 
and two other marshes. He served on the grand 
jury in 1649, and in the same year removed to 
Kittery, where he resided until 1660. He was 
juryman several times, selectman in 1652 and 
1659, and constable; was one of the forty-one 
inhabitants of Kittery who acknowledged them- 
selves subject to the government of Massachu- 
setts Bay, November 16, 1652. He received at 
four different times grants of land from the town; 
also bought of Joseph Austin, of Pischataqua, 
July 15, 1650, "a little Marsh soe Commonly 
called above sturgeon Crocke, with a little house 
and upland yrunto belonging, as also one thou- 
sand five hundred foote of boards, for & in Con- 
sideration of Two stears Called by ye name of 
Draggon and Benbow, with a weeks worke of 
himselfe & other two oxen wch is to be done in 
Cutchecho." In 1656 he was fined five pounds 
for mutinous courage in questioning the authority 
of the court of Kittery, and in 1660 he was fined 
a second time for entertaining Quakers, and de- 
prived of the rights and privileges of a freeman 
in Kittery. On May 12, of that year, he sold to 
his son James all his property in Kittery, and 
sought a residence where he could enjoy more 
liberty. He removed to Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, and was there received as a free inhabi- 
tant, September 29, 1660. He served as a jury- 
man from Portsmouth on several occasions, was 
chosen constable, June 4, 1666, and deputy to the 
General Court, April 25, 1672. The last evidence 
of his residence at Portsmouth is that of a deed 
of land in Portsmouth to Rebecca Sadler, his 
daughter, dated March 9, 1680. An Anthony 
Emory was representative from Kittery at York, 
Maine, March 30, 1680, but it does not seem 
probable after what had happened to that time 
that Anthony Emery, the immigrant, is the per- 
son referred to. He was a man of good business 
qualifications, energetic, independent, resolute in 
purpose, bold in action, severe in speech, jealous 
of his own rights, and willing to suffer for Con- 
science sake. He was one of those men who did 
their own thinking and would rather be right 
than be president. The Christian name of his 
wife was Frances. 

(Ill) James Emery, eldest son of Anthony and 
Frances Emery, born about 1630, in England, 
bad several grants of land in Kittery, was many 
years its selectman, and representative to the 
General Court from 1693 to 1695. For a time 
he lived in Dedham, Massachusetts, and later in 
Berwick, then a part of Kittery. He was a very 
large man, weighing over three hundred and 



fifty pounds, and died about 1714. His wife, 
Elizabeth, was the mother of James, mentioned 
below. 

(IV) James (2) Emery, son of James (l) 
and Elizabeth Emery, was born about 1660, in 
Kittery, and lived in Berwick, where his will 
was made December 28, 1724, in which he men- 
tioned his wife Elizabeth, who was probably his 
second wife. He married, December I, 1685. 
Margaret, daughter of Richard and Lucretia 
Hickcock. 

(V) Thomas Emery, son of James (2) and 
Margaret (Hickcock)' Emery, was born Decem- 
ber 2, 1706, in Berwick, settled in Biddeford, 
Maine, where his will was made May 9, 1781. 
He married, March 22, 1731, Susanna, daughter 
of Deacon Ebenezer and Abiel Hill, of Bidde- 
ford. 

(VI) James (3) Emery, son of Thomas and 
Susanna (Hill) Emery, was born November 22, 
1738. He was living in Biddeford in 1772. He 
married, in that year, Mary Scammon, of Saco, 
born April 29, 1745, died March I, 1795. 

(VII) James (4) Emery, son of James (3) and 
M'ary (Scammon) Emery, was born March 31, 
1772, in Biddeford, and lived in Buxton, Maine, 
where he died March 6, 1840. He married, March 
12, 1705, Catherine Freethey, of York, born Octo- 
ber 17, 1771, died September 19, 1855. 

(VIII) James Scammon Emery, son of James 
(4) and Catherine (Freethey) Emery, was born 
June 14, 1813, in Buxton, died May 24, 1868, in 
Hampden, Maine, where he was a farmer and 
lumberman. He married Eliza Ann Wing, born 
June 22, 1811, in Wayne, Maine, daughter of 
Aaron and Sylvina (Perry) Wing, granddaughter 
of Simeon and Mary (Allen) Wing, pioneers of 
Wayne. 

(IX) Lucilius Alonzo Emery, eldest child of 
James Scammon and Eliza Ann (Wing) Emery, 
was born July 27, 1840, in Carmel, where he 
grew up on the paternal homestead, assisting as 
a boy in the labors of the farm. After prepara- 
tion at Hampden Academy, he entered Bowdoin 
College, from which he was graduated in 1861. 
Thirty-two years later he received from that in- 
stitution the honorary degree of LL.D. After 
studying law at Bangor, he settled in practice at 
Ellsworth, Maine, in 1863, and six years later 
formed a partnership with the late Eugene Hale 
(q.v.), and this association continued until Mr. 
Emery was appointed a justice of the Supreme 
Court in 1883. This firm conducted a very large 
and lucrative practice, and attained high standing 
b" ( r>ro tbc courts of the State. Mr. Emery 
served as attorney of Hancock county from 1867 



56 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



to 1871, was State Senator in 1874-75 and 1881-82. 
From 1876 to 1879 he was Attorney General of 
the State; from 1883 to 1906 served as Associate 
Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court, and was 
Chief Justice of that court from 1906 to 1911, 
when he voluntarily retired from the bench. 
Judge Emery has always been a supporter of 
education and every movement calculated to ad- 
vance the standards of civilization, and is one of 
the trustees of Bowdoin College. He is a mem- 
ber of the Psi Upsilon, Greek letter fraternity, 
of the Phi Beta Kappa, and of the great Masonic 
order. He is a member of the Maine State Bar 
Association, of the American Bar Association, 
and of the Tarratine Club of Bangor, Maine, and 
University Club of Providence, Rhode Island. 
His political associations have always been with 
the Republican party, and his church relations 
with the Congregational order. 

Judge Emery was married in Hampden, Maine, 
November 9, 1864, to Anne S. Crosby, born 
March 2, 1840, in Hampden, died in Ellsworth, 
December 12, 1912. She was a daughter of 
Major John Crosby, of Hampden, a paper manu- 
facturer and merchant, major of the Maine 
militia, and his wife, Anne (Stetson) Crosby. 
Mr. and Mrs. Emery were the parents of: I. 
Anne Crosby, born January I, 1871, graduated at 
Bryn Mawr College, 1892, and is now the wife 
of Francis Greenleaf Allimro, professor of clas- 
sical philology at Brown University. 2. Henry 
Crosby, born December 26, 1872, graduated from 
Bowdoin College, at the age of nineteen years, 
was for a time representative in Russia of the 
Guaranty Trust Company of New York, residing 
in Petrograd, and is still connected with that 
institution, but residing in New York. 



JOHN HUBBARD A unique character in the 
history of Maine, John Hubbard early in life 
demonstrated those sterling qualities which he 
had inherited from his distinguished progenitor. 
In a resume of the Hubbard family we find it 
among the early American names. It is an 
Anglo-Saxon word, a corruption of Hubert, 
meaning a bright form, fair hope. 

There were several early immigrants to Amer- 
ica by the name of Hubbard. One George 
Hubbard came as early as 1633; he landed at 
Concord, Massachusetts, but removed to Weth- 
ersfield, Connecticut, and founded the Connecti- 
cut branch of the family. William Hubbard, 
mentioned in early colonial records as a resident 
of Ipswich, Massachusetts, had a son Richard, 
who is mentioned as being at Exeter, New Hamp- 
shire, 1636, and afterwards at Dover. This Rich- 



ard Hubbard should not be confused with Cornet 
Richard Hubbard, as research had failed to 
establish any relationship between him and the 
progenitor of the line herein traced. 

Cornet Richard Hubbard, born between 1630 
and 1634, was a resident of Salisbury, Massa- 
chusetts, as early as 1665. He became a freeman 
in 1690, and three years later was admitted to 
the Salisbury church. He was deputy to the 
General Court of Massachusetts in 1694-95. In 
his later days he removed to Boston, Massachu- 
setts, but finally returned to Salisbury, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died June 26, 1719, nearly 
ninety years of age. He married, June 8, 1666, 
Martha, daughter of William and Ann (Goodale) 
Allen, of Salisbury, where she was born in 
1646, became a member of the church in 1687 
and died October 4, 1718. They had ten children. 

Lieutenant John Hubbard, the eldest son of 
Cornet Richard and Martha (Allen) Hubbard, 
was born in Salisbury, Massachusetts, April 2, 
1669. He was admitted to the church August I, 
1703, and a year later removed to Kingston, New 
Hampshire. He was lieutenant of militia, and 
was active in the affairs of the community. He 
married Jane Follensby and had a family of 
eleven children. His death occurred at Kings- 
ton. New Hampshire, in 1723. 

Captain Richard Hubbard, son of Lieutenant 
John and Jane (Follensby) Hubbard, was born 
in Salisbury, Massachusetts, December 26, 1696. 
He was about eight years of age when his father 
removed to Kingston, New Hampshire; he be- 
came a farmer on an extensive scale and a promi- 
nent citizen of the town. He married four times; 
(first) Abigail Davis, daughter of Elisha and 
Grace (Shaw) Davis; she died September 25, 
1733, and he married (second) Abigail Taylor, 
who died December 9, 1768. The surnames of 
his other wives (Dorcas and Mary) are unknown. 
He was the father of six children by his first 
wife and eight by his second wife. 

John Hubbard, only son and youngest child 
of Captain Richard and Abigail (Davis) Hub- 
bard, was born in Kingston, New Hampshire, 
April 12, 1733, and died some time prior to 1781, 
since in the will of his father, dated October I, 
1781, mention is made of his widow Joanna and 
her children. John Hubbard was educated and 
spent the early days of his Hfe in his native 
town, later he became one of the leading physi- 
cians of Kingston. He married, April 30, 1754, 
Joanna Davis, who as a widow removed with her 
family to Readfield, Maine. She was the daugh- 
ter of Francis and Joanna (Ordway) Davis; and 
was born July 16, 1731. Her gravestone in the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



57 



Readfield Cemetery bears the inscription: 
"Joanna Davis, widow of John Hubbard, died 
Sep. 15, 1807, in the 75th year of her age." 

John Hubbard, son of John and Joanna 
(Davis) Hubbard, was born in Kingston, New 
Hampshire, September 28, 1759. He was edu- 
cated in his native town, studied medicine under 
his father, and commenced practice in New 
Hampton, New Hampshire. After the death of 
his father he removed with his mother to Read- 
field, Maine, where he attained distinction in his 
profession. He married Olive Wilson, who was 
born in Brentwood, New Hampshire, January 23, 
1762; they had a family of twelve children. Dr. 
Hubbard died at Readfield, Maine, April 22, 1838. 
His widow died at Hallowell, Maine, October 
24, 1847. 

John Hubbard, eldest son and fifth child of 
John and Olive (Wilson) Hubbard, was born in 
Readfield, Maine, March 22, 1794. From his 
earliest childhood he was both mentally and 
physically strong and vigorous. In athletic 
games he was distinguished amongst his fel- 
lows, and as an expert swimmer it was his 
fortune at one time to save the life of a play- 
mate. In his boyhood he displayed those traits 
of frankness, independence and sincerity which 
distinguished him through life. While attending 
the district school he assisted his father with the 
farm work, but devoted every spare hour to 
study, paying particular attention to mathematics 
and the languages. This was supplemented by 
an attendance of ten months at one of the neigh- 
boring academies. 

Arriving at the age of nineteen, his father pre- 
sented him with a horse, and with only fifteen 
dollars in his pocket he left home. His first 
objective point was Hanover, New Hampshire, 
there to obtain information in regard to the 
requirements to enter Dartmouth College. He 
then journeyed to Albany, New York, where for 
a short time he was engaged in private instruc- 
tion. In 1814, at the age of twenty, he passed 
the examination for admission to the sophomore 
class at Dartmouth College, graduating with high 
rank, being especially proficient in mathematics, 
in the class of 1816. He employed himself a 
part of the time during his college career in 
teaching school. After his graduation he was 
principal of the academy at Hallowell, Maine, 
two years, and applied his earnings to the pay- 
ment of debts incurred during his college course. 
Having received a flattering proposition to teach 
an academy in Dinwiddie county, Virginia, he 
accepted the position and taught in the South 
two years. His early associations with his father 



had given him some knowledge of medicine, and 
in 1820 he entered the medical department of the 
University of Pennsylvania, where he pursued a 
two years' course of study. Having made many 
warm friends in Virginia, he decided to begin the 
practice of his profession in that State. Here 
he remained seven years, pursuing his labors with 
gratifying success. He married, at Dresden, 
Maine, July 12, 1825, Sarah Hodge Barrett, born 
in New Milford, Maine, March 4, 1796, eldest 
daughter of Oliver and Elizabeth (Carlton) Bar- 
rett, of Dresden, and granddaughter of Major 
Barrett, of Chelmsford, Massachusetts, a minute- 
man of the Revolution. The advancing age of 
his own parents as well as those of his wife caused 
him to remove back to his native State. His 
wife joined her parents at Dresden, Maine, while 
he tarried for a time in Philadelphia, attending 
medical lectures, spending time in hospitals and 
in taking post-graduate studies. In 1830 he 
made a permanent home in Hallowell, Maine, 
where he remained until his death, attaining high 
standing in his profession and as a man of high 
character. He was possessed of a robust con- 
stitution, a strong physique, and his large experi- 
ence and great energy of body and mind soon 
placed him in a commanding position among the 
citizens of the State. It was not an uncommon 
occurrence for him to drive seventy-five miles to 
visit a patient or attend consultations with other 
physicians. 

It was but natural that a man of his powers 
should be called upon to engage in public ser- 
vice outside of his great humanitarian work of 
healing the sick. The first break in his pro- 
fessional life occurred in 1843, when he became 
the Democratic candidate for State Senator. The 
district was controlled by the Whigs, but such 
was Dr. Hubbard's popularity that his election 
was easily accomplished. While in the Senate, 
as chairman of the committee to whom the mat- 
ter was referred, he opposed the passage of an 
act to obstruct operations under the fugitive 
slave law of 1793, and secured its defeat in that 
body after it had passed the House of Repre- 
sentatives. He was far from being an advocate 
of or an apologist for the institution of slavery, 
but he believed that the slave-holder had rights, 
and that all laws should be enforced. 

In 1849 the Democratic party sought him for 
its candidate for governor. He had two com- 
petitors in the field, Elijah L. Hamlin, candidate 
of the Whigs, and George F. Talbot, of the Free 
Soil party. Dr. Hubbard was elected by a sub- 
stantial majority, and again in 1850 was chosen 
over William C. Crosby and George F. Talbot, 



58 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



the Whig and Free Soil candidates. Owing to a 
change in the constitution extending the guber- 
natorial term to two years, he continued in office 
until January, 1853, when, though renominated, 
he fell short of receiving a majority vote, and 
William G. Crosby, the Whig candidate, was 
chosen by the Legislature. 

During his official service, Governor Hubbard 
advocated in his messages the establishment of 
a reform school, an agricultural college, a college 
for females, and endowments of colleges and 
academies, as well as a system for the instruc- 
tion of teachers. He was active in negotiating 
the acquisition by the State of the public lands 
within its borders, and the final purchase of 
these lands from the Commonwealth of Massa- 
chusetts was due to his urgent recommendations 
and efforts. He also favored the encouragement 
of settlers upon the large section of the State 
in the Aroostook territory, which was without 
any transportation service excepting the St. 
John river, the only outlet for its timber and 
produce. He urged the construction of a rail- 
road from Bangor into and through the Aroos- 
took country, and to him belongs the credit of 
initiating a movement to that end. 

Governor Hubbard signed, in 1852, the first 
act known as the Maine Liquor Law. There had 
been, in 1846, an act passed restricting the sale 
of intoxicating liquors, and in 1849 an effort was 
made to pass a radical measure which embodied 
offensive provisions for search of private prem- 
ises, which was vetoed by Governor Dana, his 
predecessor in office. When the new law was 
passed with restricted provisions, Governor Hub- 
bard decided it was constitutional and thereby 
beyond his authority to veto. This caused much 
dissatisfaction in his own party, and was prob- 
ably the cause of his defeat in the subsequent 
election. He was, however, ingenuous in the 
discharge of all duties, regardless of the com- 
ments of friends and foes. Every cause which 
seemed to him calculated to advance the social 
and moral welfare of the people received his ear- 
nest support. 

After leaving the gubernatorial chair, Governor 
Hubbard resumed the practice of his profession, 
which was again disturbed in 1857 by his ap- 
pointment by President Buchanan as a special 
agent of the Treasury Department for the exam- 
ination of custom houses in Maine; the follow- 
ing year his jurisdiction was extended to include 
the New England States. He was appointed in 
1859 a commissioner under the reciprocity treaty 
with England and aided in the settlement of 
some troublesome fishing questions; he remained 



in office until the Democratic party went out of 
power. 

Though he voted for Stephen A. Douglas in 
1860 for President, he was unfaltering in his 
support of the Union cause, and in 1864 voted 
for Abraham Lincoln, and thenceforth until his 
death affiliated with the Republican party. He 
was, however, to the last a believer in as strict 
construction of the constitution as was consistent 
with the permanent safety of the Union. It was, 
in fact, his patriotic love of the Union which 
made him an advocate of State Rights, for he 
believed that their observance would be the 
means of preserving it. The later years of his 
life were saddened by the loss of his son, Cap- 
tain John Hubbard, who was killed at the as- 
sault on Port Hudson, Louisiana, May 27, 1863. 
While he lived to see the suppression of the 
rebellion, the entire restoration of peace between 
the North and South, which he greatly desired, 
was not fully accomplished during his useful life. 
He died in Hallowell, Maine, February 6, 1869, 
and, as has been truly said of him, "his career 
illustrated the strength, solidity, and justice 
which constitutes high character in the individual 
and safety for the State." 

The children by his marriage with Sarah Hodge 
Barrett were: I. Hester Ann, born in Virginia; 
died in Hallowell, Maine, aged nine years. 2. 
A son born in Virginia, died there in infancy. 
3. Virginia Hamlin, widow of Thomas W. T. 
Curtis, died at New Haven, Connecticut, October 
10, 1918. 4. Emma Gardiner, died in New York, 
in 1887. 5. Captain John Barrett, killed at Port 
Hudson, Louisiana. 6. Thomas Hamlin (q. v.). 



THOMAS H. HUBBARD, youngest child of 
Governor John (q. v.) and Sarah H. (Barrett) 
Hubbard, was born at Hallowell, Maine, Decem- 
ber 20, 1838. His early education and prepara- 
tion for college was had in his home town. 
Entering Bowdoin College in 1853, he graduated 
with distinction in 1857. During the next years 
he read law in the office of Anson G. Stinchfield, 
of Hallowell, and taught in the Hallowell Acad- 
emy; the summers of 1859-60 were passed with 
his father, who as a commissioner under the 
Reciprocity Treaty with Great Britain was exam- 
ining fishing boundaries at the river mouths of 
the Eastern coast. In the fall of 1860 he was 
admitted to the bar, and soon entered the of- 
fice of Abbott Brothers in New York, working 
on their digest then in preparation. In the au- 
tumn of 1860 he entered the Albany Law School, 
and was admitted to practice in New York in 
1861. He then became managing clerk in the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



59 



office of Barney, Butler & Parsons in New, 
York, remaining until September, 1862, when he 
enlisted in the 25th Maine Volunteer Infantry, a 
nine months' regiment, being mustered in as first 
lieutenant and adjutant. This regiment was sta- 
tioned in Virginia, and after it was mustered out 
in the summer of 1863, he assisted Colonel Fran- 
cis Fessenden in recruiting the 3Oth Maine Vol- 
unteers and was commissioned its lieutenant- 
colonel, November 10, 1863. This regiment was 
assigned to the Department of the Gulf and be- 
came a part of the force engaged in the Red 
River campaign. He became colonel of the regi- 
ment June 2, 1864, Colonel Fessenden having been 
wounded and thereby disabled. The regiment 
was in the battles of Sabine Cross Roads, Pleas- 
ant Hill, Monett's Bluff and Cane River Crossing. 
For his part in the construction of the dam across 
the red river at Alexandria, Louisiana, which 
released a fleet of gunboats, Colonel Hubbard 
received especial commendation in the report of 
Admiral Porter. He was also instrumental in 
procuring the rapid passage of the army over the 
Atchafalaya river on May 18, 1864, after the 
destruction of the bridges by the enemy, by 
anchoring in the river a bridge of boats over 
which the army passed in safety. In the autumn 
of 1864 the regiment was ordered to Virginia 
and became a part of the Nineteenth Army Corps. 
In June, 1865, Colonel Hubbard's command was 
sent to Savannah, Georgia, and while there he 
presided over a board to examine officers desir- 
ing to enter the regular army. He was commis- 
sioned brigadier-general by brevet, for meritori- 
ous services during the war, to rank from July 
30, 1865, and soon after was mustered out of the 
service. 

In the fall of 1865 he resumed the practice of 
law in New York, and was for a year a partner 
of Charles A. Rapallo, afterward a judge of the 
New York Court of Appeals. In January, 1867, 
he became a member of the law firm of Barney, 
Butler & Parsons, which later became the firm 
of Butler, Stillman & Hubbard, and had a large 
and diversified practice. Mr. Hubbard's aptitude 
in corporation law and his ability and energy 
gave him high rank in his profession. 

In 1888 and the years following, Mr. Hubbard 
withdrew gradually from practice to give atten- 
tion to the railway and other business affairs of 
the Mark Hopkins estate. In the course of this 
work he became vice-president of the Southern 
Pacific Company, the president being Collis P. 
Huntington, and an officer of many of its related 
concerns. One matter in the affairs of the com- 
pany, successfully concluded in 1899 and largely 



so because of his work in it, was the arrange- 
ment of terms for repayment of the debt to the 
government growing out of its aid to the first 
transcontinental railroads, a matter of long nego- 
tiation and discussion in the press and in con- 
gress, and a subject of political controversy. 
From 1904 he was president of the International 
Banking Corporation, and at the time of his death 
a director of the American Light & Traction 
Company, Metropolitan Life Insurance Com- 
pany, National Bank of Commerce in New York, 
Toledo, St. Louis & Western and Wabash Rail- 
road companies, and the Western Union Tele- 
graph Company. He was for a number of years 
a trustee of Bowdoin College and of the Albany 
Law School; for two years he was president of 
the New England Society in New York, and at 
the time of his death Commander-in-Chief of the 
Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the 
United States; president of the Peary Arctic 
Club, and of the New York County Lawyers' 
Association. In his later years he took an active 
part in bringing about the adoption of a code of 
professional ethics by the bar associations of the 
country. 

He married, January 28, 1868, Sibyl A. Fahne- 
stock, of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Of five chil- 
dren of the marriage three survived him: John; 
Sibyl E., wife of Herbert S. Darlington; and 
Ann Weir Hubbard. His death occurred in New 
York City, May 19, 1915. 



JOHN FRANCIS SPRAGUE, lawyer, histo- 
rian, is a native of the State of Maine, and is 
one of its self-made men, having worked his way 
from humble beginnings to a position of trust 
and responsibility among the intelligent and pro- 
gressive people of the State. He comes of an 
ancient ancestry, and is of the third generation 
of the family in Maine. The Sprague family is 
of ancient English origin. In Prince's Chronol- 
ogy we reed: "Among those who arrived at 
Naumkeag are Ralph Sprague, with his brothers 
Richard and William, who with three or four 
more 1 were by Governor Endicott employed to 
explore and take possession of the country west- 
ward. They travelled through the woods to 
Charlestown, on a neck of land called Mishawum, 
between Mystic and Charles rivers, full of Indians 
named Aberginians, with whom they made 
peace." Hon. Edward Everett, in his address 
commemorative of the bicentennial of the arrival 
of Winthrop at Charlestown, said: "Ralph, Rich- 
ard and William Sprague are the founders of the 
settlement in this place, and were persons of 
substance and enterprise, excellent citizens, gen- 



60 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



erous public benefactors, and the head of a very 
large and respectable family of descendants." 
Ralph Sprague was about twenty-five years of 
age when he came to New England in the ship 
Ann in 1623. He had Richard, Samuel and Phin- 
eas, and a daughter Mary, who married, Sep- 
tember 28, 1630, Daniel Edmands. Ralph 
Spragoe was one of a jury impanelled, which 
seems to have been the first in Massachusetts. 
He was a lieutenant in the train band. In 163! 
Captain Richard Sprague commanded a company 
of the train band, and on Friday of each week 
exercised his command at a convenient place 
near the Indian wigwams. On February 10, 1634, 
the famous order creating a Board of Selectmen 
was passed, and Richard and William signed the 
order. Richard left no posterity. His sword, 
which is named in his brother William's will, was 
preserved in one of the old Sprague families in 
Hingham in 1828. 

Edward Sprague lived in early life in Fording- 
ton, Dorsetshire, England, and later in Upway, 
same county, where he was a fuller by occupa- 
tion. His will was proved June 6, 1614, in the 
prerogative court at Canterbury, and copies have 
been preserved among his descendants in this 
country. His wife's name was Christiana, and 
they were the parents of William Sprague, born 
in Upway, who came early to New England and 
settled in Charlestown, Massachusetts. In 1636 
he removed thence to Hingham, same colony, 
going in a boat, and landing on the side of the 
cove at a spot where the town afterwards granted 
him land. He was one of the first planters there, 
and his home lot is said to have been the most 
pleasant in the town. From 1636 to 1647 he re- 
ceived various grants of land, filled various of- 
fices in the town, and died October 6, 1675. He 
married, in 1635, Millicent Eames, born in 
Charlestown, daughter of Captain Anthony and 
Margery Eames, pioneers of that town, where 
the mother was admitted to the church, Septem- 
ber 13, 1635. She died February 8, 1696. Their 
eldest child was Anthony Sprague, born Septem- 
ber 2, 1635, who was a farmer and town officer 
in Hingham, where he died September 3, 1719. 
His home was on the paternal homestead at 
Hingham Centre, and his house was burned by 
the Indians in King Philip's War, April 19, 1676. 
By his father's will he received the sword of his 
uncle, Richard Sprague, and by deed made Feb- 
ruary 21, 1673, his father gave him land. He 
married, December 26, 1661, Elizabeth Bartlett, 
daughter of Robert and Mary (Warren) Bartlett. 
The last named was a daughter of Richard War- 
ren, of the Plymouth Colony, who came in the 



Mayflower. Robert Bartlett came to Plymouth 
in 1623, in the ship Ann. Elizabeth (Bartlett) 
Sprague died February 17, 1713. Her eldest son, 
Anthony Sprague, born August 18, 1663, was a 
pioneer settler of Attleboro, Massachusetts. 
Their seventh son, Jeremiah Sprague, was born 
July 24, 1682, in Hingham, where he was a 
farmer, and died March 5, 1759. He married 
Priscilla Knight, born 1685, died August 3, 1775, 
aged ninety years. Their second son was Knight 
Sprague, born October 12, 1711, in Hingham, and 
resided on the main street of the town, next 
northwest of the meetinghouse of the First Par- 
ish. In 1760 he sold his property in Hingham 
and removed to Leicester, Massachusetts. He 
married (intentions October 23, 1742) Mary Beal, 
born December 21, 1717, in Hingham, daughter 
of David and Rebecca (Stoddard) Beal. Her 
second son, James Sprague, was born March 4, 
1750, in Hingham, and was an early settler in 
the town of Greene, Androscoggin county, Maine, 
where he owned part of lot No. 172, and was 
tythingman in 1788. He was a soldier of the 
Revolution. 

Eldridge Gerry Sprague, son of James Sprague, 
was born in 1793, in Greene, and lived in San- 
gerville, Piscataquis county, Maine, where he died 
December 20, 1867. He was a farmer, a man of 
progressive ideas, an Adventist in religion, in 
politics a Republican from the time of the organ- 
ization of that party in 1856. He married Sarah 
Parsons, born in Jay, Maine, died in Abbot Vil- 
lage, Piscataquis county, Maine, May 9, 1878, 
daughter of John and Mary (Hanniford) Par- 
sons, granddaughter of Kendall Parsons, a Revo- 
lutionary soldier of New Hampshire. The musket 
which he carried in that struggle was preserved 
by his son John. He married Eliza Bryant, and 
their youngest son was John Parsons, born in 
June, 1781, died in Easton, Maine, March 26, 
1879. His early life was spent in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, whence he removed as a young 
man to Boxford, Maine. He married there Polly 
Hanniford, born January, 1781, died at Fort 
Fairfield, Maine, September 15, 1855. Their third 
daughter was Sarah Parsons, wife of Eldridge G. 
Sprague. They were the parents of the subject 
of this sketch. 

John Francis Sprague was born July 16, 1848, 
in Sangerville, Maine, where he grew to manhood 
on the paternal farm, and passed through the 
usual experiences of a farmer's son in his day. 
In the common schools he laid the foundation of 
an education, and by subsequent reading and 
study became one of the well-read men of the 
State. In 1872-73 he read law with Hon. Alvah 




HORATIO OLIVER LADD 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



61 



Black, at Paris Hill, Maine, and at the February 
term of the Supreme Judicial Court, in 1874, was 
admitted to the Piscataquis bar. He immediately 
began practice in Abbot Village, whence he re- 
moved, in 1879, to Monson, Maine, and there 
continued in practice until 1910, when he settled 
in Dover, the shire town of Piscataquis county. 
Here he has continued to reside until the present 
time, and since 1898 has been referee in bank- 
ruptcy. Mr. Sprague has always been deeply 
interested in historical studies, and is a member 
of the Maine Historical Society, president of the 
Piscataquis Historical Society, a member and 
past president of the Maine Society, Sons of the 
American Revolution, and of the Maine Sports- 
men's Association. He has contributed much to 
historical literature, and has been for some years 
editor and publisher of "Sprague's Journal of 
Maine History." He is among the active work- 
ers of the Progressive wing of the Republican 
party, represented Dover in the Maine House of 
Representatives from 1885 to 1893, and is every- 
where respected and esteemed as a sound law- 
yer, an upright legislator, and a faithful historian. 
He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, affi- 
liating with Doric Lodge, No. 149, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Monson, Maine, and Onaway 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, No. 
106, of Monson; Moosehead Encampment, of Guil- 
ford, Maine; Wenonah Rebekah Lodge of Dover, 
Maine; and Canton Rineo of that town. Mr. 
Sprague is a Unitarian in preference and belief; 
is a member of the Piscataquis Club of Fox- 
croft, Maine, of which he has been president, and 
the Madackowando Club of Bangor. He is 
unmarried. 



HORATIO OLIVER LADD A family tradi- 
tion which is apparently well founded, asserts 
that the name of Ladd is of French origin, and 
that it existed in England from the time of Wil- 
liam the Conquerer. From Le Lade, which is 
undoubtedly the original French spelling, its 
orthography has been subject to numerous evolu- 
tionary changes, viz.: Le Lade, Lad, Lade and 
Ladde, to its present form of Ladd. Some au- 
thorities, however, claim that the name is derived 
from the Welsh word lladd, to destroy. The 
family were located in Kent county, England, 
where they owned the estate of Borwyck Manor 
Hundred of Lorinsburgh, Eleham, before the time 
of Henry VI. Thomas Ladd was in possession 
of this estate in 1563, and Sylvester Ladd in 1603. 
There was only one family of Ladd previous to 
the seventeenth century. In 1730, a direct de- 



scendant of the family was created a baronet by 
George II. 

The first of this name in America was Daniel 
Ladd, of Wiltshire, England, who took the ac- 
quired oath of allegiance in order to sail in the 
ship Mary and John, (Robert Sayres, master), from 
London, March 24, 1633-34, for New England, 
and landed at Nantasket in Boston Harbor. He 
did not settle permanently in Dorchester, Massa- 
chusetts as did most of his fellow passengers, but 
went to Ipswich, Massachusetts, in 1637, where 
he was granted six acres of land upon which he 
erected a dwelling, and in 1644 sold his property 
there to one Henry Kingsbury. 

Prior to 1639 he had removed to Salisbury, 
Massachusetts, where he was granted one or 
mor.e acres for planting purposes, but he shortly 
afterwards went to Haverhill, Massachusetts, as 
one of the first settlers of that town, and he re- 
sided there until his death, which occurred July 
27, 1693- The Christian name of his wife, who 
accompanied him from England, was Ann, and 
she died February 9, 1694. Chase, in his "His- 
tory of Haverhill," says that Daniel Ladd owned 
and cultivated several farms and was very promi- 
nent among the original proprietors. In 1646 he 
was taxed forty pounds, and in 1659 was granted 
permission with Theophilus Shotwell to erect a 
saw mill on Spigott (Spicket) river. In 1668 he 
was one of the selectmen, and at the breaking 
out of King Philip's war (1675), he with others 
was appointed to designate what houses should 
be garrisoned. His children were: Daniel, 
Lydia, Mary, Samuel, Nathaniel, Ezekiel and 
Sarah. 

Nathaniel Ladd, the third son and fifth child 
of Daniel and Ann Ladd, was born in Haverhill, 
Massachusetts, March 10, 1651. When a young 
man he settled in Exeter, New Hampshire, where 
he married, July 12, 1678, Elizabeth Oilman, 
daughter of John Oilman, one of the founders of 
the well-known New Hampshire family of that 
name. 

The earliest discovered records of anything like 
the name Oilman are connected with Wales; Cil- 
min Troeddher (i. e., Kilmin with the black foot) 
of Glynllison in Uroch; Gwir Vai in Caeryn, 
Arvonshire, lived in the year 843, in the time of 
Roderick the Great, with whom he came out of 
the north of Britain. He bore the arms: Argent, 
a man's leg coupled sable. The Glyns of Glynlli- 
son are descended from Cilmin whose name is 
also spelled Kilmin. This Cilmin was head of 
one of the fifteen noble tribes of North Wales 



62 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



and there appears to be good reason to believe 
that he was one of the ancestors of the Gilmins 
of England, Ireland and America. In the six- 
teenth century and previously the name was va- 
riously spelled: Gilmyn, Gilmin, Gylmyn, Gyl- 
min, Gyllmyn and some times Guylmyn. 

From the parish register of Caston, England, 
it is found that Edward Gilman married, June 12, 
1550, Rose Rysse, who survived her husband and 
proved his will, dated February 5, 1573, on July 
7 in the same year. By his will he devised his 
houses and lands in Caston to his eldest son, 
John, and his other estates and lands at Saham 
Toney between his other three sons and his five 
daughters. The widow married John Snell and 
was buried at Caston, October 3, 1613. The chil- 
dren of Edward and Rose (Rysse) Gilman were 
John, Edward, Robert, Lawrence, Margaret, Kath- 
erine, Rose, Jane and Elizabeth. 

Religious persecution sent Edward Gilman, the 
second son of Edward and Rose (Rysse) Gilman, 
and his family to Massachusetts. They became 
members of a party of one hundred and thirty- 
three men, women and children, which under the 
leadership of the Rev. Robert Peck, of Hingham, 
England, embarked at Gravesend, England, on 
the ship Diligent, of Ipswich, (Captain, John Mar- 
tin), on April 26, and arrived at Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, December 13, 1638. In 1641, a tract 
of land eight miles square, then called 'Seekonk, 
now Rehoboth, was granted to Edward Gilman 
and others by the Plymouth Colony. His name 
does not appear on the records of that town after 
1646, but the following year he appears in the 
records of the town of Ipswich, Massachusetts. 
He married in Hingham, England, June 3, 1614, 
Mary Clark and their children were 'Mary, Ed- 
ward, Sarah, Lydia, John, Moses, and Edwin, 
who died at Ipswich, June 22, 1681. 

His three sons settled in New Hampshire and 
John Gilman was a member of the Provincial 
Council under Governor Cranfield, a delegate to 
the Assembly and speaker of the House. 

For alleged implication in Gove's rebellion 
against Gov. Cranfield, Nathaniel Ladd was exam- 
ined December 6, 1683, by Judge Barefoot, who 
accepted the surety of friends for his future good 
behavior, and he was never brought to trial. In 
the summer of 1690, he volunteered in the New 
Hampshire contingent of an expedition fitted out 
in Massachusetts to protect the settlers of Maine 
from the aggressions of the Indians, and being 
severely wounded at or near Cape Elizabeth, he 
returned to Exeter, where he eventually died from 
the effects of his injuries. He was the father of 



seven children: Nathaniel, Elizabeth, Mary, 
Lydia, Daniel, John and Ann. 

Nathaniel, the eldest son of Nathaniel and 
Elizabeth (Gilman) Ladd, was born in Exeter, 
New Hampshire, April 6, 1679. He was a mill- 
wright by trade, which he followed in connection 
with farming and dealing in real estate. He re- 
sided in Stratham, New Hampshire, for a num- 
ber of years, but returned to Exeter, selling his 
farm in the former place to his son, Paul, in 
1747; and his brick house in Exeter, a part of 
which he gave to another son in 1742, was stand- 
ing in 1888. 

His first wife was Catherine, daughter of Ed- 
ward Gilman of Exeter; his second wife was 
Rachel Rawlins, who died in Stratham, July 12, 
1717; and his third wife was Mrs. Mary Mercy 
(Hall) Hilton, daughter of Kingsley Hall of 
Exeter, and widow of Dudley Hilton. His chil- 
dren by his second marriage were: Nathaniel, 
Daniel, Edward and Elias; and those by his third 
marriage were: Josiah, Paul and Love, and the 
twins, Dudley and Mercy. Dudley Ladd, the son 
of Nathaniel and Mary Mercy (Hall-Hilton) 
Ladd, married December 15, 1748, Alice Hurley. 
He died in March, 181 1 : Of his children, the sixth 
was Dudley Ladd, born July 9, 1758. He was a 
volunteer in the northern army of the American 
Revolution in 1777. He married Bethia Hutchins. 
She was the daughter of Lieutenant-Colonel Gor- 
don Hntchins, a son of William Hutchins. Col- 
onel Hutchins was a captain in the First New 
Hampshire Regiment at the battle of Bunker Hill 
and lieutenant-colonel of the Second New 
Hampshire Regiment at the battle of White 
Plains, New York. He married Dorothy Stone, a 
daughter of Ephraim and Bertha (Carleton) 
Stone. The former was descended from Rev. 
Samuel Stone, assistant to the Rev. Thomas 
Hooker, who arrived at Boston, Massachusetts, 
in 1634, and with the Rev. Thomas Hooker two 
years later went to Connecticut. Mrs. Bertha 
(Carleton) Stone was a lineal descendant of Ed- 
ward and Eleanor Carleton, who were in the 
company of twenty families brought by the Rev. 
Ezekiel Rogers, from England in December, 
1638-39, and settled in Rowley, Massachusetts. 

The Carletons are of ancient Saxon origin, and 
the name is a combination of the Saxon words 
"ceorl" meaning husbandman and "ton" a town. 
At the time of the Norman conquest it was de 
Carleton, and the earliest known ancestor in Eng- 
land was Baldwin de Carleton, of Carleton, near 
Penith in the county of Cumberland. From this 
feudal baron the American Carleton traced their 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



63 



lineage through seventeen generations to Edward 
the emigrant. 

Adam de Carleton, of the eight generations, 
in direct line of descent from Baldwin, married 
Sibclla, who is supposed to belong to the royal 
Plantagenct family. Sir William dc Carleton of 
tin- twelfth generation was the last to use the 
prefix "De." The latter's son, Thomas, was of 
Sutton, in Lincolnshire, and his son, John, of 
Sutton and \Valton-on-thc-Thamcs, died in 1458. 
John of the sixteenth generation, born in the year 
1500, married Joyce Welbeck, a cousin of Queen 
Catherine, wife of Henry VIII, but the records at 
hand fail to state whether the royal personage 
referred to was Catherine Howard or Catherine 
Parr. Edward, the fifth son of John and Joyce 
(Welbeck) Carleton, settled at East Clauden, 
Surrey, in 1571, and married Mary, daughter of 
George Biglcy. Erasmus, their son, was a citizen 
and a mercer of St. Bartholomew's, London. The 
Christian name of his wife was Elizabeth and 
they were the parents of Edward Carleton, the 
emigrant. 

Edward Carleton was born in 1605, and mar- 
ried Eleanor Denton, whose family name is said 
to be of old Roman origin. He was made a free- 
man at Rowley, Massachusetts, in 1642, and be- 
came the second largest landowner in the town. 
He was a member of the General Court 1644-47, 
served as a trial justice from 1649, until his re- 
turn to England in 1650-51, and died about the 
year 1661. He was the father of four chil- 
dren, Edward, his second son, born August 28, 
1639, having been the first birth to be recorded 
in 'Rowley, Massachusetts. 

General Samuel G. Ladd, the son of Dudley and 
Bethia (Hutchins) Ladd, was born at Concord, 
New Hampshire, April 14, 1784. He was en- 
re! in commercial business as a hardware mer- 
chant at Hallowcll, Maine, until 1840, when he 
removed to Farmington, Maine, where he car- 
ried on the same business until 1850. During his 
residence in M'aine he was during the War of 
1812, a captain of a militia company stationed at 
Y\ iscassct. Maine. He was the second incum- 
bent to hold the office of Adjutant-General of the 
State of Maine. He was a member of the Con- 
gregational church at Hallowell, Maine, and 
elder of the Presbyterian church at Kingston, 
Pennsylvania, where he died May 3, 1863. He 
married October 3, 1815, Caroline D'OHver Vinal. 
Their children were all born at Hallowell, Maine: 
i. Mary Caroline, born August 21, 1816, married 
Horatio W. Fairbanks, and died at San Fran- 
cisco, California, October 7, 1857. 2. Samuel 



Greenleaf, Jr., born April 13, 1818. 3. Francis 
Dudley, born May 20, 1820; married Caroline 
Rose, died at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, July 7, 
1862. 4. Ellen Susanna, born February 19, 1822; 
married Reverend Henry H. Welles, D.D.; died 
at Clifton Springs, New York, January 25, 1895. 
5. Julia Maria, born August 16, 1824; married 
Lewis Titcomb; died at Wilkes-Barre, Pennsyl- 
vania, January 21, 1882. 6. Theodore, born No- 
vember 20, 1826; married Sarah Folsom; died at 
Haddenfield, New Jersey, in 1913. 7. Anna 
Louisa, born November 15, 1829; married Lieu- 
tenant-Colonel J. S. Fillebrown; died at Silver 
Lake, Pennsylvania. 8 Martha Augusta, born 
September I, 1831; married Erastus F. Dana. 9. 
Charlotte Sewall, born January 8, 1834; married 
Major Robert H. Rose; died September, 1917, at 
Mankato, Minnesota. 10. Henry Walter, born 
March 24, 1836; died at Farmington, Maine, Jan- 
uary 22, 1848. ii. Horatio Oliver, of whom fur- 
ther. 

Caroline D'Oliver Vinal, the mother of our sub- 
ject, was descended from the Adams, Oliver 
(Olivier) and Vinal families of Braintree and 
Boston, Massachusetts. She was a lineal de- 
scendant from Henry Adams, the progenitor of 
the Adams family at Braintree, Massachusetts; 
and from one or two Huguenot families who 
came from France to Boston in 1686. Her 
French ancestor was Andrai Sigournais, Con- 
stable of France, whose daughter, Mary Sigour- 
nais, married Antoine Olivier. Their son, Dan- 
iel Oliver, born March 20, 1719, married Bertha 
Fisk and a daughter of this marriage, Mary 
Oliver, born November 24, 1745, became the 
wife of John Adams. A daughter of this mar- 
riage, Susannah Adams, born August I, 1773, 
married April 18, 1793, John Vinal, Jr., and be- 
came the mother of Caroline D'Oliver Vinal. 

The Vinal family is ancient and honorable in 
the history of England, the name being spelled 
variably. Originating in eastern Sussex county, 
where their estate, Vinal Hall Park, is one of 
the handsomest of the old English estates and 
is still preserved, and the mansion, farm house, 
hedges, etc., have been and are kept in fair con- 
dition. 

John Vinall, of Vinal Hall, was living there 
in 1538, and his son Thomas lived there in 1550, 
and during the reign of Queen Elizabeth, Wil- 
liam Vinall was the occupant of the Hall. In 
the time of James I, John Vinall resided at 
Vinal Hall. He had two sons, John and Ste- 
phen, the latter of whom dropped one "1" from 
the end of his name. He was an early settler 



64 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



of Scituate, Massachusetts, where he was a 
proprietor, and admitted as a freeman March 5, 
1638-39. He probably died soon after this date, 
as his widow Anna Vinal, took his place as pro- 
prietor and received various grants of land in 
Scituate. She died October 6, 1664, and three 
children survived her: Stephen, Jr., John and 
Martha, who married Isaac Chittenden. 

John, the youngest son of Stephen and Ann 
Vinal, was born in England, in 1632, and re- 
sided in Scituate, Massachusetts. He married 
in 1664, Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. Nicholas 
Baker, an ordained minister of Scituate. 

John, the son of John and Elizabeth (Baker) 
Vinal, was born in 1665, and married in 1690, 
Mary, daughter of Joseph and Hannah (Stock- 
bridge) Wordworth. Their son Elijah was born 
in 1694, and settled in Boston, where he mar- 
ried August 13, 1717, Elizabeth, daughter 'of 
Robert and Elizabeth (Pemberton) Ellis. Their 
children were: William, Anna, Mary, Elizabeth 
and John. 

John, the youngest child of Elijah and Eliza- 
beth (Ellis) Vinal, was born in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, May 30, 1736. He married, January 3, 
1756, Ruth, daughter of John and Anna (Deane) 
Osborne, and they were the parents of William, 
John, mentioned above, Ruth, and Charlotte. 

Horatio Oliver Ladd, the youngest child of 
General Samuel G. and Caroline D'Oliver 
(Vinal) Ladd was born at Hallowell, Maine, 
August 31, 1839. After attending the public 
schools, to complete his education he attended 
Farmington and Auburn academies, and entered 
Bowdoin College, where he graduated in 1859. 
The following year he became a student at the 
Bangor Theological Seminary, and in 1862-3 he 
attended the Yale Theological School. He also 
in 1901-3 took a post-graduate course at the New 
York University. 

He was principal of the Farmington Academy, 
1859-61, and associate principal of Abbott Col- 
legiate Institution, New York City, 1863-64. He 
was pastor, and professor of rhetoric at Olivet 
College, Michigan, 1866-68, and principal of the 
New Hampshire State Normal School, 1873-76. 
He was one of the founders and president of the 
University of New Mexico at Santa Fe, New 
Mexico, from 1881 to 1889, which included the 
Ramona School for Indian Girls. He has been 
pastor of Congregational churches at Salem and 
Hopkinton, Massachusetts; Cromwell, Connecti- 
cut; Olivet and Romeo, Michigan. 

He was ordained by Bishop Henry C. Potter, 
D.D., in 1892, deacon and priest in the Protestant 



Episcopal church and became assistant minister 
of Calvary Church, New York City, in that year. 
In the same year he became rector of Trinity 
Church, Fishkill, New York. He resigned from 
his pastorate in 1896 to become rector of Grace 
Church, Jamaica, New York, and in 1009 became 
rector emeritus of Grace Church. During an 
absence of nearly two years abroad in England 
and Italy, he officiated as English priest and 
chaplain in London and Bologna, Italy. 

Dr. Ladd was on the editorial staff of the 
Churchman in 1892. He was appointed and con- 
firmed by the United States Senate, Supervisor 
of Census, 1880, for New Mexico, but declined to 
serve. He served as a volunteer chaplain in the 
Civil War, being connected with the Christian 
Commission Service and stationed at Suffolk and 
Norfolk, Virginia. He was for several years a 
member of the Board of Managers of the Fed- 
eration of Churches of New York City. He re- 
ceived the degree of A.B. in 1859 and A.M. in 
1862 from Bowdoin College, and S.T.D. in 1905 
from Hobart College. He is a member of the 
college fraternities Alpha Delta Phi; Phi Beta 
Kappa; a member of the American Historical 
Association; the Royal Societies Club of London, 
England; the Brooklyn Clerical Club; the Bow- 
doin College, Hobart Alumni and City Clergy 
Clubs of New York City. 

Dr. Ladd is the author of "The Memorial of 
John S. C. Abbott," 1879; "The War With Mex- 
ico," 1887; "Ramona Days," 1887-88; "The Story 
of New Mexico," 1888; "The Founding of the 
Episcopal Church in Dutchess County, New 
York," 1895; "Chunda, a Story of the Navajos," 
1906; "Trend of Scientific Thought Away from 
Religious Beliefs," 1909; "Origin and History of 
Grace Church, Jamaica," 1913. 

He married at New Haven, Connecticut, Har- 
riett Vaughan Abbott, born at Roxbury, Massa- 
chusetts, February 18, 1839, and died at Rich- 
mond Hill, New York, May 12, 1913. She was 
the daughter of John S. C. Abbott, D.D., and 
Jane William Bourne. Her father was a distin- 
guished educator, historian, and clergyman, was 
pastor of churches at Roxbury and N'antucket, 
Massachusetts; Farmington and Freeport, Maine; 
New Haven and Fair Haven, Connecticut. The 
children by this marriage are: I. Lillie Vaughan 
Ladd, born May 2, 1865, educated at Chauncy 
Hall, Boston; University of New Mexico and the 
Women's Homoeopathic Medical College, New 
York City; teacher of Deaf and Dumb; she mar- 
ried Harry S. Church. Their children are: Oliver 
Alden Church, first lieutenant, 3051)1 Field Artil- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



65 



kry, O. R. C., 77th N. Y. Division. U. S. A., and 
Elizabeth Church. 2. Julia Eirene Ladd, edu- 
cated at University of New Mexico, at Dana 
Hall, Wellesley, and Wellcsley College. 3. 
Henry Ahhott Ladd, educated at Chauncy Hall, 
Koston; Exeter (New Hampshire) Academy; 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He mar- 
ried Florence E. Wright, of Andalusia, Pennsyl- 
vania. He is an auditor at El Paso, Texas, and 
in Mexico and long connected with the American 
Sincltcr Company in New York City and Mexico, 
; tul in auditing their numerous mining plants 
in the Southwest and in Mexico. 4. Maynard 
Ladd, educated at Chauncy Hall, Boston; 
Exeter (New Hampshire) Academy; graduated 
in 1894 from Harvard University, and in 1898 
from the Harvard Medical School with the 
degree of M.D. For many years he has been 
assistant and instructor in the department of 
Pediatrics in Harvard Medical School. He is 
consulting physician of the Harvard Children's 
Hospital, and chicf-of-staff of the Boston Dis- 
pensary. He was appointed medical director in 
iVrrmlier, 1917, with the rank of major, in the 
Ked Cross Commission and is a medical director 
of the Red Cross Children's Bureau and Ameri- 
can Civilian Relief, establishing hospitals, dis- 
pensaries and refugees for children in France in 
the Meurth-Moselle region at Tours and Nancy. 
He married Anna Coleman Watts, a sculptor and 
inithor, and has two children, Gabriella May and 
Vcrnon Abbott. 



GEORGE REYNOLDS GARDNER The pio- 
neer ancestor of the Gardner family in Maine 
was Ebenezer Gardner, who was baptized in 
Salem, Massachusetts, September 4, 1737. He 
was of the fifth generation from Thomas Gardner, 
the immigrant ancestor, who was born about 
1592, and sailed from Weymouth, England, in 
1624, for New England, having received an ap- 
pointment from the Dorchester Company. While 
some genealogists contend that he came from 
Scotland, the superabundance of facts demon- 
strate that lie was a resident of either Dorset- 
shire or the neighboring county of Somerset, 
England. He was an overseer of a plantation 
at Cape Ann, which was abandoned on account 
of its poor soil, and he removed to Salem, Mas- 
sachusetts. Here he was admitted a member 
of the First Church, in 1636, and a freeman, May 
'7. '637. His son Samuel, the second in the 
line of descent, resided at Salem, Massachusetts, 
and his son, Lieutenant Abel, was born in Salem, 
Massachusetts, September I, 1673. He lived on 

MR. 15 



the old homestead occupied by his father and 
grandfather, which stood on the present corner 
of Central and Elm streets, in what is now Pea- 
body, Massachusetts. He was a tanner by trade, 
as well as a farmer, and owned valuable real 
estate. 

Thomas Gardner, son of Lieutenant Abel 
Gardner, and father of the Maine pioneer, was 
baptized October 14, 1705, and resided on an 
ancestral farm in what is now West Peabody. 
Massachusetts. A farmer and wheelwright by 
trade, he served the town as constable, and was 
frequently a member of the jury. His son Ebe- 
nezer, on the death of his father, was placed 
under the guardianship of his uncle, Jonathan 
Gardner, of Roxbury, Massachusetts. Here Ebe- 
nezer resided for a number of years, but disposed 
of his real estate to his brother. He received a 
grant of land at Auk-paque, Cumberland county. 
Nova Scotia, from which the Acadians had been 
expelled. At the time of the Revolution he was 
a member of the Committee of Safety, and vis- 
ited Boston to help on the campaign. On ac- 
count of his embracing the cause of the colonies, 
he was obliged to flee from Nova Scotia, and 
settled at Machiasport, Maine, in 1776. He saw 
active service in Captain Stephen Smith's com- 
pany, which was a part of the regiment com- 
manded by Colonel Benjamin Foster. He was 
also at Penobscot, Maine, with the Sixth Lincoln 
County regiment, in 1779. He married, in 1769, 
Damaris Merrill, a daughter of Nathan and Su- 
sanna Merrill, of Haverhill, Massachusetts. They 
had a family of nine children. Ebenezer Gardner 
died November 21, 1832, aged ninety-seven years. 
Ebenezer Gardner, the fourth child and the 
eldest son of Ebenezer and Damaris (Merrill) 
Gardner, was born in Cumberland county, Nova 
Scotia, January 31, 1776. He was a farmer, and 
lived at Hadley's Lake, Maine. He married, 
June 21, 1803, Sally Albee, daughter of William 
and Ellen (Dillway) Albee. Her father was also a 
soldier of the Revolution, serving as lieutenant 
in Captain John Preble's Artillery company, at 
Machias, Maine. Ebenezer and Sally (Albee) 
Gardner were the parents of twelve children, 
eight sons and four daughters. The former died 
February 5, 1859, his widow survived him, her 
death occurring August 25, 1875. 

Aaron L. Raymond Gardner, son of Ebenezer 
and Sally (Albee) Gardner, was born at East 
Machias, Maine, January 19, 1822, and died at 
Dennysville, Maine, April 23, 1891. He received 
his education at the public schools, and worked 
on his father's farm until he was fifteen years of 
age, when he became an apprentice to his brother 



66 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



to learn the trade of blacksmith. He was a 
prominent and influential citizen of Dennysville. 
Maine, and in connection with his blacksmith 
shop, which he conducted until 1865, when he 
opened a general store, he was also engaged in 
agricultural pursuits. He married, September 5, 
1848, Abbie Wilder Reynolds, a daughter of Cap- 
tain Bela R. Reynolds, a sea captain, a descendant 
from the original ancester, Robert Reynolds, who 
was at Boston, Massachusetts, in 1632. The issue 
of the marriage of Aaron L. Raymond and Abbie 
Wilder (Reynolds) Gardner were: Julia Ray- 
mond, who died in childhood; George Reynolds, 
mentioned below; Edwin Raymond, who was con- 
nected with the public affairs of Dennysville, 
Maine; Charles Otis, for many years a prominent 
merchant of the city of Eastport, Maine; Eva 
May; and Frederick Lee, a merchant of Dennys- 
ville, Maine. 

George Reynolds Gardner was born at Dennys- 
ville, Washington county, Maine, January 14, 
1852. After attending the Dennysville High 
School he received private tuition, and later be- 
came a student in Heald-Woodbury College, San 
Francisco, California, where he studied law. 
Returning to his native State, he continued his 
legal studies and was admitted to the bar in 
1880, at Calais, Maine. He immediately formed 
a partnership with Enoch B. Harvey, and com- 
menced the practice of his profession. The firm 
took a foremost position at the bar of the county, 
and in a few years ranked among the most suc- 
cessful and best-known in that section of the 
State. In 1888 Mr. Gardner was elected judge 
of the courts of Probate and Insolvency for 
Washington county, and he served by re-election 
six terms of four years each, retiring from the 
bench in 1912. Always a Republican in politics, 
he is an active and useful member of that organ- 
ization. He is also interested in mercantile 
business, is one of the directors of the Dennys- 
ville Lumber Company and the A. L. R. Gardner 
Company. In financial circles he was formerly 
vice-president of the International Trust and 
Banking Company of Calais, Maine, and is now 
president and director of that institution; and 
for thirty years a trustee of the Calais Savings 
Bank. He was, for twelve years, a member of 
the Calais School Board, and is a trustee of the 
Washington and the Calais academies, also presi- 
dent of the Washington Academy Alumni Asso- 
ciation. 

Judge Gardner's fraternal connections are as 
follows: He is a thirty-second degree Mason; 
past master of St. Croix Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; a member of the St. Croix Coun- 



cil, Royal and Select Masters; St. Croix Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; the Hugh De Payen's Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar; Machias Valley 
Lodge of Perfection; Princes of Jerusalem; Val- 
ley of Portland, Rose Croix, Herodem Rite of; 
and Maine Sovereign Consistory, Sublime Princes 
of the Royal Secret. He is a past vice-chancellor 
of Calais Lodge, No. 45, Knights of Pythias; a 
member of Fellowship Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and served on its finance com- 
mittee; member of order of Odd Fellows, Etche- 
min Tribe, Improved Order of Red Men; mem- 
ber of Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine; also of the Maine Society, Sons 
of the American Revolution. His social club 
is the St. Croix. Formerly a member of the 
First Congregational Church of San Francisco, 
he and his family are now members of the First 
Congregational Church of Calais, Maine. 

Mr. Gardner married, at Hingham, Massachu- 
setts, January 25, 1888, Annie E. Robbins, daugh- 
ter of James and Mary (Parkman) Robbins. 
The mother of Mrs. Gardner was a cousin of the 
famous historian, Francis Parkman, the family 
being of distinguished English ancestry. Judge 
Gardner numbers among his immigrant ancestors, 
besides those mentioned, Thomas Lincoln and 
Matthew Gushing, early settlers of Hingham, 
Massachusetts, and Edward Wilder, the latter 
being a descendant from Nicholas Wilder, a mili- 
tary chieftain who fought at Bosworth Field, 
August 22, 1485, which concluded the War of 
the Roses, in the army of the Earl of Richmond, 
who became Henry the VII, and from whom he 
received, April 15, 1497, landed estate and a 
coat-of-arms; also John Waters, Jr., whose an- 
cestors were connected by marriage with George 
Manning, of Kent, England, an ancestor of Car- 
dinal Manning, and one of the Manning ances- 
tors married a sister of the poet, Geoffrey 
Chaucer. 



SAMUEL FULLER DIKE, D.D., who for 

more than a half a century was the respected and 
beloved pastor of the Church of the New Jeru- 
salem in Bath, Maine, and one of the best-known; 
divines in the State, was a man of an unusually 
commanding personality and character, and a de- 
scendant from one of the old New England fami- 
lies, the members of which have for many genera- 
tions distinguished themselves in the life of this 
region. The Dike family is one of nearly two 
hundred years' standing in Massachusetts, where 
it was founded by Samuel Dike, a native of Scot- 
land, in which country he was born June 14, 1722. 
His youth and early manhood were spent in his. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



67 



native land, where he became a weaver. Coin- 
ing to America, he settled at Ipswich, in the 
Plymouth Colony, about 1773, and shortly after- 
wards came to Bridgewater, Plymouth county, 
where he made his permanent home in what was 
then the North Parish and is now the city of 
Brockton. He married Mary Perkins, who died 
December 25, 1816, his own death occurring 
October 22, 1800, at the age of seventy-nine 
years. They were the parents of nine children, 
one of whom was Samuel Dike, of further men- 
tion. 

(II) Samuel (2) Dike, son of Samuel (i) and 
Mary (Perkins) Dike, was born October 21, 1748, 
at Ipswich, and removed with his parents to 
Bridgewater. He married, November 12, 1772, 
Lois Fuller, a native of Bridgewater, born in 
the year 1751, a daughter of Isaac and Sarah 
(Packard) Fuller, of Mayflower ancestry. Her 
death occurred June 5, 1792, and she was sur- 
vived by her husband until October 29, 1841, 
when he also died at the advanced age of ninety- 
five years. They were the parents of eight 
children. 

(III) Samuel (3) Dike, son of Samuel (2) and 
Lois (Fuller) Dike, was born April 10, 1790, at 
North Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and died at 
his home there February 27, 1864, at the age of 
seventy-one years. He married, May 18, 1812, 
Betsy Burrell, a daughter of John Burrell, of that 
place, and her death occurred February 10, 1843. 
They were the parents of five children, as fol- 
lows: Experience Phillips, born July 8, 1813, 
died August 6 of the same year; Samuel Fuller, 
with whose career we are here especially con- 
cerned; Mary Perkins, born August 21, 1819; John 
Burrell, born January 5, 1821, died October 20, 
1822, and Olive Shaw, born June 4, 1824, and died 
February 7, 1833. 

(IV) Dr. Samuel Fuller Dike was born at 
North Bridgewater (now Brockton), Massachu- 
setts, March 17, 1815, a son of Samuel and Betsy 
(Burrell) Dike. He was educated at Bridge- 
water and was prepared at the schools there for 
a college course. He then entered Brown Uni- 
versity at Providence, Rhode Island, where he 
took the usual classical course and graduated 
with the class of 1838. It was during this time 
that he came under the influence of Swedenborg 
and became an ardent disciple of that great man's 
religious teachings. He decided to enter the 
church, and soon after leaving college went to 
Boston, to study theology under the Rev. Dr. 
Thomas Worcester. He was ordained June 7, 
1840, as minister of the Church of the New 
Jerusalem and was invited shortly after by Wil- 



liam D. Sewell, of Bath, to become the resident 
pastor of the new church which had been erected 
by the Society of Swedenborgians of this place. 
This offer he accepted and on June 13, 1840, he- 
was installed as minister here. For a period of 
mor than fifty years Dr. Dike had ministered 
to the spiritual wants of his congregation with a 
zeal which endeared him to the people of Bath 
generally, and made him one of the most highly- 
respected figures in this community. On June 
2, 1800, he resigned from the pastorship, and in 
consideration of his long years of service, of his 
many sacrifices and his duty well done, he was 
tendered by the Hon. Arthur Sewell, one of the 
leading members of his parish, the opportunity 
of a trip around the world. This Dr. Dike ac- 
cepted, and for a year was absent on his travels, 
enjoying keenly the many places of interest 
which he visited during that time, in spite of 
his seventy-six years of age. It was not th 
first trip abroad made by Dr. Dike, however, who 
in 1880 traveled in Egypt and Asia Minor, going 
as far East as the city of Damascus, his object 
in doing so being to fit himself thoroughly for 
the Professorship of Biblical and Ecclesiastical 
History at the Theological School at Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, of the Church of the New Jeru- 
salem, which chair had been offered him at about 
that time. He acted as president for a short 
time, but for many years was Professor of 
Church History. Another great honor offered to- 
Dr. Dike on account of his great intellectual 
and spiritual attainments was that of being sent 
as a delegate in the Peace Congress, held at 
London, July, 1890, which, however, he felt him- 
self unable to accept. 

The city of Bath owes much to Dr. Dike for 
the great interest which he took in her schools 
and educational institutions. From the time of 
his first coming here until his death this interest 
remained unbroken, and as early as 1841, at the 
time when the grade schools were first intro- 
duced here, he accepted the offer of superin- 
tendent, a post which he continued to fill with 
the utmost efficiency for twenty-four years. His 
resignation from this office did not by any means 
end his activities in this connection and he con- 
tinued to give much of his time and thought, not 
only to the schools of Bath, but to those of the 
community generally, and his efforts were one 
of the chief factors in bringing them to their 
present high standard of efficiency. For twelve 
years he was also a trustee of the Maine State 
College, and his influence in that institution was 
an exceedingly valuable one. In fact he was one 
of the four who organized this institution. It 



68 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



was from Bowdoin College that Dr. Dike re- 
ceived his degree of D.D. in 1872, an honor 
which no one among the great divines of that 
time deserved more entirely than he, and for 
many years he served on its examining board. 
Dr. Dike was a member of the Maine Historical 
Society, and served as vice-president thereof for 
a number of years, his interest in the history and 
traditions of this region being always very keen. 
No man during his generation was better known 
nor more respected and loved by all classes of 
his fellow-townsmen than was Dr. Dike. He was 
a ripe scholar and all his life was a close student. 
His life was not lived in vain, but, like Paul of 
old, he fought the good fight and kept the faith, 
and at his death left a name unsullied and most 
worthy of emulation. His death occurred at his 
home at Bath, January 8, 1899, at the advanced 
age of eighty-four, and he was buried in Oak 
Grove Cemetery here. 

Dr. Dike was united in marriage, April 10, 
1842, at Boston, with Miriam Worcester, a daugh- 
ter of his old teacher, Rev. Dr. Thomas Worces- 
ter, a graduate of Cambridge, where he received 
the degree of D.D., who for more than fifty 
years was minister of the Church of the New 
Jerusalem at that city, and one of the best- 
known divines of New England in his day and 
generation. Mrs. Dike died February 20, 1895, 
and is also buried at Oak Grove Cemetery. She 
was a woman of unusually high culture and of 
the most refined taste, and was most devoted to 
her husband and family, making the Dike home 
one of the most delightful in the city and giving 
it an atmosphere in which their children found 
the greatest encouragement in the development 
of all good things. Dr. Dike and his wife were 
the parents of the following children: Eliza- 
beth, born March 22, 1843, and now the widow 
of the Hon. John Hazen Kimball, who is men- 
tioned below; Alice Loring, born May 19, 1844, 
died April 4, 1845; Samuel Ernest, born October 
10, 1846, died July 6, 1861; James, born June 27, 
1848, was a well-known educator of Boston, who 
died at Greensbury, November 26, 1889, married 
Helen J. Loring; Katherine, born March 31, 1850, 
and died August 18, 1850; Helen, born January 31, 
1852, and now the widow of Albert Edward 
Hooper, of Biddeford, Maine; Mary, born August 
19, 1853, and died September 8, 1853; Anna, born 
January 16, 1855, and now the widow of Edward 
H. Kimball, who is mentioned at length below; 
John, born December 27, 1856, a well-known 
physician of Melrose, Massachusetts; Miriam 
Worcester, born February 22, 1861, and now the 
wife of the Rev. George H. Dole, of Wilming- 



ton, Delaware; Thomas, born June 2, 1865, a 
physician, who died April 17, 1909. 



HON. JOHN HAZEN KIMBALL, one of the 
prominent lawyers and business men of Bath, 
Maine, was a native of New Hampshire, born at 
Concord, July 14, 1823, a son of Samuel Ayer and 
Eliza (Hazen) Kimball. He received his educa- 
tion at the schools of his native place and at the 
Fryeburg Academy at Fryeburg, Maine. He also 
attended the well-known Phillips Academy at 
Andover, Massachusetts, and after graduation 
from that institution went South, in 1843, and 
for two years taught in a school in Charles 
county, Maryland. He also spent part of his 
time in the South at Washington, D. C., but in 
1845 returned to the North and located in the 
city of Portland, where he entered the law office 
of Judge Samuel Wells and there read law. He 
pursued his studies to such good purpose that 
in 1846 he was admitted to the bar of Cumber- 
land county, after which he took up the practice 
of his chosen profession at Kezar Falls Mills, at 
Parsonsfield. He spent two years in that region 
and then removed to Topsham, in 1848, where 
he also practised for a year. It was in 1849 
that he came to Bath and resided in this city 
during the remainder of his life, making for him- 
self a very prominent position at the local bar 
and handling much of the important litigation 
hereabouts. Eventually, however, Mr. Kimball 
gave up the practice of the law to a certain 
extent and entered the insurance business, at 
the same time becoming interested in the build- 
ing and operating of ships. He was a man of 
unusual business capacity and his interests rapidly 
extended themselves. Another line with which 
he was associated was that of railroads and he 
was a director of the Androscoggin & Central 
Vermont Railroad. He also possessed large in- 
terests in the West, owning great tracts of land 
and valuable herds of cattle. He gave his prin- 
cipal attention, however, to the development of 
Bath and was associated with a large number of 
important institutions here, being a trustee of the 
Bath Savings Institution for twenty-five years. 
In politics Mr. Kimball was a staunch Republi- 
can and was very active in the affairs of his 
party in the State. He was elected on the Re- 
publican ticket to the State Legislature in 1878 
and served in that and the following year, and 
he was a member of the State Senate from 1883 
to 1887. In his religious belief Mr. Kimball was 
a Congregationalist and attended the church of 
that denomination in Bath. His death occurred 
September 25, 1901, at his home here, and he is 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



buried at the Oak Grove Cemetery. Mr. Kimball 
enjoyed a wide popularity and was well known 
throughout the region on account of his high 
principles in business and politics. 

John Hazen Kimball married (first), November 
5, 1851, with Annie Humphreys, born November 
19, 1828, and died December n, 1890, a daughter 
of John Campbell and Angeline (Whitmore) 
Humphreys. They were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: Edward Hazen, mentioned be- 
low; Samuel Ayer, Jr., born August 28, 1857, and 
now a physician in Boston; and Frederick 
Humphreys, born February 25, 1861, and died 
May 14, 1918; John McKinstry, born November 
14, 1863, at Colton, Maine, died in August, 1902; 
and Carrie Whitmore, born December 13, 1865. 
John Hazen Kimball married (second) Elizabeth 
Dike, eldest daughter of the Rev. Dr. Samuel 
Fuller Dike, who survives him, and makes her 
home at present at Bath, where she is well- 
known and much-respected as a woman of cul- 
ture and high Christian character. 



New York City; Miriam Worcester, born July 8, 
1890, who resides with her mother. The family 
are all members of the Church of the New Jeru- 
salem at Bath, over which Dr. Dike presided for 
so many years. 



EDWARD HAZEN KIMBALL, son of John 
Hazen Kimball, was born August 24, 1854, at 
Bath, and was educated at the local public school, 
the Phillips Andover Academy, and at Bowdoin 
College, Brunswick, Maine, from which he grad- 
uated in 1874, then went to Europe and studied 
for one year. He then attended the Harvard Law 
School for a year, graduating from the same in 
1875. He began the practice of his profession at 
Boston, where he remained for some time, and 
then returned to Maine. For a year he was en- 
gaged in the coal business at Lewiston, after 
which he came to Bath and established himself in 
the wholesale grain, flour and hay business. To 
this he added a grocery establishment and took 
into partnership with him his brother, Frederick 
H. This association continued until the death of 
Mr. Kimball, May 24, 1902. Edward Hazen Kim- 
ball was a Republican in politics and was well 
known and highly respected throughout the 
region. 

Edward Hazen Kimball married, June 13, 1883, 
Anna Dike, a daughter of the late Rev. Dr. 
Samuel Fuller Dike, who survives him. Mrs. 
Kimball is a lady of many gifts and high culture, 
and now resides with her sister, Mrs. John Hazen 
Kimball, on Lincoln street, Bath, in the home of 
their late father. Dr. Dike. Mr. Edward Hazen 
Kimball and his wife were the parents of the 
following children: Anne, born April 6, 1884, 
and resides with her mother; Philipps, born Feb- 
ruary 20, 1886, now a prominent business man of 



ABRAHAM L. T. CUMMINGS, agricultural 
editor of the University of Maine, to which office 
he was appointed by President Aley of that insti- 
tution in February, 1919, was born in Saco, Maine, 
February 13, 1865. He was the second son of 
John G. Cummings, a native of Parkman, Maine, 
and Theodore Tasker, who was born in Ossipee, 
New Hampshire. John G. Cummings served in 
the Civil War as a private in Company I, First 
Maine Cavalry, was twice wounded, twice taken 
prisoner, and had the never-to-be-forgotten ex- 
perience of confinement in Belle Isle and Libby 
Prison. The sons and daughters of Mr. and 
Mrs. Cummings included: Jennie L., who died at 
the age of twenty; John E., who was graduated 
from Colby College and the Newton Theological 
Institution; since 1887 has been in charge of a 
Baptist mission district in Burmah, and has been 
decorated by the King of England for distin- 
guished service; Abraham L. T., the subject of 
this sketch; Isabel M., who was graduated from 
Farmington (Maine) Normal School, became the 
wife of Samuel W. Buker, of Somerville, Massa- 
chusetts, and died in 1908; Lora G., an alumnus 
of Colby College, now the wife of Edgar P. 
Neal, principal of a trade school in Worcester, 
Massachusetts; Gertrude F., an alumnus of 
Thornton Academy, the wife of Mark Proctor, 
of Saco. 

Owing to the death of his father, Abraham L. 
T. Cummings was unable to attend college, which 
he had planned to do after leaving Thornton 
Academy. He engaged in newspaper work in 
Biddeford, first as a reporter, later as city editor 
and finally as editor of a daily paper. In 1894 
he served as a member of the Board of Aldermen 
in Biddeford. In the fall of that year he estab- 
lished headquarters in Portland and represented 
the "Boston Herald" as correspondent in the 
three western counties of Maine. He also cov- 
ered a syndicate of other newspapers in that field 
and became a contributor to magazines. In con- 
nection with his newspaper work in Portland he 
served five years as a deputy collector of inter- 
nal revenue for Maine, and five years as clerk of 
the Portland Common Council. He was city 
clerk of Portland three years, and in 1910 became 
connected with the E. T. Burrowes Company, 
manufacturers of window screens and novelties, 
occupying a position in the treasurer's and sales 



70 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



management force until 1916, when he was elected 
secretary of the Publicity and Retail Merchants' 
bureaus of the Portland Chamber of Commerce. 
The State Agricultural and Industrial League, 
organized in December, 1917, elected him the fol- 
lowing spring as its publicity director, from which 
position he went to the University of Maine, in 
1919. Mr. Cumrhings is connected with the Odd 
Fellows and Knights of Pythias, is a Knight 
Templar and a thirty-second degree Mason. 
While city clerk he served two years in the Na- 
tional Guard. He was for twenty years a mem- 
ber of the Portland Club and served that organ- 
ization four years as a member of its board of 
governors, the last year as chairman of the board. 
He took an active part in the Portland Rotary 
Club, serving one year as chairman of its enter- 
tainment committee. 

September 3, 1889, Mr. Cummings married 
Angle F. Morton, a native of Biddeford, daughter 
of Charles J. and Susan (York) Morton. She 
was graduated from the Biddeford High School. 
During their residence in Biddeford and Portland 
she was prominent in social affairs and active in 
literary and philanthropic lines. At the time of, 
her leaving Portland, when Mr. Cummings be- 
came connected with the faculty of the University 
of Maine, she was serving as auditor, and had 
previously been corresponding secretary, of the 
Woman's Literary Union. 



JAMES PHINNEY BAXTER Undoubtedly 
one of the most prominent figures in the life of 
Portland, Maine, is James Phinney Baxter, who 
is equally well known as an author, manufacturer 
and popular public official. Mr. Baxter springs 
from good old New England stock, and was born 
at Gorham, Maine, March 23, 1831, a son of Dr. 
Elihu and Sarah (Cone) Baxter. His father, Dr. 
Elihu Baxter, was a prominent physician in that 
part of the State and continued in the active 
practice of his profession until past eighty years 
of age. 

To acquire a thorough education, James P. 
Baxter attended, first, the local schools of Port- 
land, and later the famous Lynn Academy. Hav- 
ing completed his studies at the latter institution, 
the young man finished the studies he had so 
promisingly begun under private tutors. It was 
planned that he should take up the law as a 
profession, but preferring a literary career, he 
became a contributor to the "Home Journal," then 
under the editorship of N. P. Willis and George 
P. Morris leading literary lights of the day 
and several magazines and literary newspapers. 
After encouraging success in this field, finding the 



remuneration for literary work unsatisfactory, he 
relinquished a portion of it, and securing the 
agency of several manufacturing industries he 
soon built up a successful business; in fact, his 
capacity for organization and the management of 
the mercantile and industrial enterprises under- 
taken by him have proven uniformly successful. 
Mr. Baxter has become connected with many 
institutions of a financial character in Portland, 
serving as president of the Portland Savings 
Bank, the Merchants' Bank, vice-president of 
the Portland Trust Company, and many other 
institutions. There are very few -departments in 
the life of the city with which he is not more 
or less closely connected, and among these should 
be especially mentioned such movements as are 
undertaken for the general advantage of the com- 
munity and the assistance of those unable to care 
adequately for themselves. Indeed it was he who 
organized and was the first president of the As- 
sociated Charities of Portland. Mr. Baxter has 
been deeply interested in education, and it is 
owing to his generosity that the present hand- 
some building in which the Portland Public 
Library is located graces the city today. It was 
he who built and donated it to the community 
and it is due to him that the library of the 
Maine Historical Society, of which he is presi- 
dent, was moved from its restricted quarters in 
Brunswick and furnished with convenient quar- 
ters in Portland. A figure so energetic as that 
of Mr. Baxter, and one who has bent his ener- 
gies so consistently to the welfare of his city, 
is naturally popular there, and this popularity 
has been vividly illustrated by the honor which 
his fellow citizens have done him in electing him 
mayor of Portland for six terms, four of which 
were consecutive. Among the achievements of 
his administrations was the establishment of a 
public Manual Training School, for which he is 
doubly responsible, inasmuch as he not only 
suggested and pressed its establishment, but 
actually contributed his salary as mayor for this 
purpose. During his administration there was 
also built a new high school and a State armory, 
while the public parks of the city were immeas- 
urably improved and beautified. Among other 
things to which Mayor Baxter has devoted at- 
tention is agriculture and stock raising, for the 
perfection of which he has given a great deal 
of study to farming methods, particularly in 
Europe. A great deal of his time is at present 
spent on his farm at Mackworth Island, which 
he has connected with the main land by a bridge. 
The greatest interest of Mr. Baxter's life, how- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



71 



ever, has been literature and this he has been 
able to follow to a remarkable degree, consider- 
ing the many demands made upon his time and 
attention by his active business life and public 
career. He has written much upon historical 
and genealogical topics and has had thirteen pub- 
lications reported in the annual report of the 
American Historical Association for the year 1890. 
In the year 1898 he was chosen to lecture before 
the American Geographical Society in Washington, 
on New England. In 1882 the Maine Historical So- 
ciety celebrated the seventy-fifth anniversary of 
the birth of Longfellow and the choice fell upon 
Mr. Baxter to deliver the commemorative poem 
on this occasion. He was appointed one of the 
advisory council of the World's Congress Auxil- 
iary to the World's Columbia Exposition, and 
read a paper before the Historical Association 
gathered in Chicago at that time, entitled "Pre- 
Columbian Discovery." The following is an in- 
complete list of his important contributions to 
contemporary literature, which have entitled him 
to be considered as among the most important 
literary workers in the State: "Laus Laureati," 
a poem delivered before the Maine Historical 
Society on the Longfellow celebration, already 
mentioned (Portland, 1882); "A Greeting to the 
Mentor," a poem delivered on the eightieth birth- 
day of Professor Packard, Longfellow's tutor 
(Portland, 1883, reprinted in the Maine Historical 
Quarterly, 1800); "The Great Seal of New Eng- 
land" (Cambridge, 1884); "Idyls of the Year." 
"The Trelawyn Papers," "George Cleeve and 
his Times," "The British Invasion from the 
North," "Early Voyages to America," "Sir Ferdi- 
nando Gorges and His Province of Maine," 
"Reminiscences of a Great Enterprise" (1890); 
"The Campaign Against the Pequakets; Its 
Causes and Its Results" (1890); "The Beginnings 
of Maine" (1891); "A Lost Manuscript" (1891); 
"Isaac Jogues, A.D., 1636" (1891); "The Abnakis 
and Their Ethnic Relations" (1892); "The Pio- 
neers of New France and New England" (1893); 
"Christopher Levett, and His Voyage to Casco 
Bay, in 1623" (1894); "The Voyages of Jacques 
Cartier." His last considerable work is "The 
Greatest of Literary Problems," and the "Docu- 
mentary History of Maine," twenty volumes. 

Mr. Baxter organized the Portland Society of 
Art, started the first Art School in Portland, and 
encouraged it by becoming a pupil himself 
drawing from the model. He organized the 
Gorges Publication Society which has published 
several valuable historical works and also built 
and gave to Gorham its Public Library and Mu- 



seum, the latter occupying the house where he 
was born. In the year 1881 he received the 
honorary degree of A.M. from Bowdoin College, 
and in 1904 the degree of Litt. D. as a fitting 
recognition of his labors in the field of lit- 
erature and general culture. Perhaps Mr. Bax- 
ter's most important and most lasting work 
is the boulevard around Back Bay, connecting 
the public parks of Portland. This great work 
was begun in 1896 during his administration as 
mayor, and the substantial part of the work has 
already been completed. During its progress 
he has acted in an advisory capacity, and re- 
cently had the satisfaction of being the first one 
to pass over the entire boulevard at the invita- 
tion of the commissioners. 

Mr. Baxter has been twice married, his first 
wife having been Sarah K. Lewis, a daughter of 
Captain Ansel Lewis, of Portland, Maine, to 
whom he was united September 18, 1854. His 
second marriage was April 2, 1872, to Mehetable 
Cummings, a daughter of Abel Proctor, of Pea- 
body, Massachusetts. Mr. Baxter has had a 
family of eleven children, eight of whom are 
now living. 

It would be difficult to overestimate the value 
to a community of the presence in it of a man 
like Mr. Baxter. There is scarcely a department 
in its affairs, an aspect of its life, in which his 
influence has not been most potently felt, and 
felt invariably on the side of the public good. 
He is a practical man of affairs, a man of the 
world, yet never in seeking his own business 
advantage did he lose sight of that of the com- 
munity of which he is a member. Nay, rather 
has he given the preference to public interests 
over his own, and in the many official capacities 
in which he served these interests, no one ever 
accused him, even among his political opponents, 
of having anything but the purest and most altru- 
istic motives. The same high ideals that govern 
his public capacities are also his guide in the 
more personal relations of life, and he is the 
possessor of these great blessings, a loving 
family and a host of devoted friends. 



SEWALL GUSHING STROUT, Associate 
Justice of the Supreme Court of Maine, and one 
of the most eminent jurists which this State 
has produced, and a man of the highest mental 
and moral qualifications, whose death on August 
10, 1914, at Portland, was felt as a severe loss, 
not only by his associates of the bench and bar, 
but by the entire State, was a member of a 
family which has for many years made its 



72 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



residence here. He was a grandson of Enoch 
Strout, a native of Cape Elizabeth, Maine, who 
went from that place and settled at Wales, Maine, 
in 1796-97. Enoch Strout was an officer in the 
Continental army during the Revolution and ob- 
tained the rank of captain, having already served 
as captain of militia at Wales. He married Mercy 
C. Small, and they were the parents of ten chil- 
dren, six of whom were born in Cape Elizabeth 
and four in Wales. One of these children, Ebe- 
nezer, the youngest of the family, was born at 
the latter place in the year 1802, and continued 
to make his home there until about 1836, when 
he removed to Topsham, Maine. In 1841 he came 
to Portland and there resided until his death, in 
1880. He was engaged in mercantile business at 
Topsham, Maine, until 1842, and met with a high 
degree of success; he then moved to Portland. 
He married Hannah Gushing, of Durham, and 
they had but one child, Sewall Gushing Strout, 
with whose career we are here especially con- 
cerned. 

Sewall Gushing Strout, only son of Ebenezer 
and Hannah (Gushing) Strout, was born Feb- 
ruary 17, 1827, at Wales, Androscoggin county, 
Maine. In the year 1834, being at that time 
about seven years of age, he removed with his 
parents to Topsham, and it was there that he 
attended school. Later he was sent to the pri- 
vate school of Mr. Baker at Brunswick, but in 
1842 his parents came to Portland and the lad 
entered the high school in this city. His father 
had determined to give him a college education 
from the start and it was at the Master Libby's 
High School that he was prepared for these fur- 
ther studies. But fate often intervenes in the 
most cherished plans, and the youth was obliged 
to give up his studies on account of ill health. 
After leaving school he secured a position as a 
clerk in the dry goods establishment of David 
J. True, with whom he remained for about 
eighteen months. The young man was exceed- 
ingly ambitious, and in spite of the fact that his 
health was not robust he devoted every spare 
hour when he was not employed in the estab- 
lishment of Mr. True to the study of the law, 
he having determined to adopt that as his pro- 
fession in life. In 1846 he gave up his clerical 
position and became a student of the law in 
the offices of Howard & Shepley, well-known 
attorneys in this city at that time, Mr. Howard 
becoming later a justice of the Supreme Court 
of the State, and mayor of Portland in 1860. In 
October, 1848, Mr. Strout, having pursued his 
studies most diligently in the meantime, was ad- 



mitted to the bar of Cumberland county, and im- 
mediately after took up his abode at Bridgeton, 
where he engaged in the practice of his profes- 
sion. He did not remain at that place, however, 
more than six years, but on April i, 1854, returned 
to Portland, and once more established himself 
in practice. For a year he conducted his prac- 
tice by himself and then formed a partnership 
with Judge Joseph Howard, who had retired 
from the bench after one term. The firm of 
Howard and Strout continued until June, 1864, 
when it was dissolved. Two years further elapsed 
with Mr. Strout unassociated with a partner, and 
then the firm of Strout & Gage was formed, the 
junior partner being Hanno W. Gage, one of 
the most distinguished attorneys of the State. 
In 1880 Frederick Sewall Strout, Mr. Strout's 
eldest son, was also admitted to the firm, which 
thereupon became Strout, Gage & Strout. On 
March 14, 1888, however, the younger Mr. Strout 
died, but a still younger brother, Charles Au- 
gustus Strout, who is the subject of extended 
mention elsewhere in this work, took his place, 
and the name of the firm continued unchanged. 
With the accession of Mr. Strout to the Supreme 
Bench of the State, the name was once more 
changed and became Gage & Strout, under which 
style it was continued until the death of Mr. 
Gage, on January 4, 1907. The record that Judge 
Strout has made for himself in this State is an 
enviable one, and what might have been a 
handicap to most men was entirely made up by 
him, namely, the lack of a college education. 
This was made up in his case by his native taste 
for scholarship and all those various elements 
of culture which most men find it hard to acquire 
outside of a university's walls. To him they 
came naturally and it is no exaggeration to say 
that he was quite as well educated as practically 
any of his associates at the bar and far more so 
than the great majority. He won for himself 
a reputation for honesty and integrity, in addi- 
tion to that which he possessed for ability, that 
was second to none in the State, and which drew 
to him a very large proportion of the most inv 
portant litigation in this region, and he has in 
addition taken part in many important cases 
beyond the limits of Maine. Judge Strout did 
not, however, make a specialty of any particu- 
lar department of the law, but was considered 
one of the most brilliant, accomplished, and ver- 
satile lawyers in the State. So great, indeed, 
was his knowledge, and so profound his re- 
searches, that he might have been supposed a 
specialist in almost any branch of the law with 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



73 



which he happened to be dealing. His ability 
as a trial lawyer was especially high and his 
arguments before jury were calculated to make 
the most complex and difficult propositions of 
the law plain to the lay mind. He possessed 
extraordinary self-control and never allowed him- 
self to lose his temper in the court room, how- 
ever aggrevating his opponent might be, and this 
quality is always particularly forceful and per- 
suasive with the jury. 

Judge Strout cannot be said to have had a 
definite political career. He was a staunch Demo- 
crat from his earliest youth until the end of his 
life, but the only purely political office that he 
ever held was that of alderman of Portland, 
which he filled for about one year. But abilities 
such as those possessed by Judge Strout were 
of a kind which the community could not afford 
to leave wholly in private life and it was natural 
that they should be called to the public service. 
At the time of Judge Lowell's resignation from 
the United States Circuit Court, Mr. Strout's 
professional colleagues throughout the State 
almost unanimously suggested him for the va- 
cancy, and although the appointment went to 
another State, Judge Strout was instinctively felt 
to be the most appropriate candidate. The State 
of Maine has for many years had a rule requiring 
one member of the Supreme Court of the State 
to be one of the minority party, and after the 
death of Artcmas Libby, in March, 1894, the first 
Democrat who held this position under the law, 
Mr. Strout was called to succeed to the vacancy. 
He was appointed to this high position April 12, 
1894, and twelve days later began the performance 
of his duties in an office which he continued to 
fill for fourteen years. Not less than his fame 
as a lawyer was that which he established as a 
judge during this long period, and he amply 
maintained the high standard of judicial pro- 
cedure for which this court has always stood. 
He retired from the Supreme Court of Maine in 
April, 1908, highly honored by the whole pro- 
fession in the State as well as by the general 
community. After his retirement Judge Strout 
once more took up the active practice of his 
profession in partnership with his son, Charles 
A. Strout, under the firm name of Strout & 
Strout, and continued thus engaged until within 
a very short time of his death. He was presi- 
dent of the Cumberland Bar Association. 

Sewall Gushing Strout was united in marriage, 
November 22, 1849, at Portland, Maine, with 
Octavia J. P. Shaw, of Portland, a daughter of 
Elias and Eliza (Philips) Shaw, of this city, the 



latter a daughter of Deacon John Philips, who 
was the first president of the Mechanics' Asso- 
ciation. They were the parents of five children, 
as follows: Anna Octavia, Louise Blanche, Fred- 
erick Sewall, Joseph Howard, and Charles Au- 
gustus, whose career forms the subject matter of 
the following sketch. 

The success of Judge Strout in his chosen 
profession was due, perhaps, more than to any 
other factor, to the possession by him of those 
fundamental virtues of sincerity and courage 
which lay at the base of his character, as they 
must at that of any character that amounts to 
anything. His sincerity was of a kind which 
rendered him incapable of taking advantage of 
others, and his courage kept him cheerful and 
determined in the face of all obstacles. To these 
he added a practical grasp of affairs, and an ideal- 
ism which kept his outlook fresh, and his aims 
pure and high-minded. These qualities, it is 
hardly necessary to point out, are most valuable 
in the profession of the law, and indeed his work 
both as attorney and judge fully showed this 
happy union. In all the relations of his life, in 
all his associations with his fellows, these same 
qualities stood out in marked manner and gained 
for him the admiration and affection with all who 
came in contact with him, even in the most 
casual way. In his family life his conduct was 
of the highest order, a devoted husband and 
father, who found his chief happiness in the 
intimate intercourse of his own household and 
by his own hearthstone. 



CHARLES AUGUSTUS STROUT, one of the 
most active and popular among the public men 
of Portland, Maine, and a man whose career has 
shown an unusually high and altruistic regard for 
the welfare of the city which he served, is 
Charles Augustus Strout, youngest son of Judge 
Sewall Gushing Strout, who is the subject of 
extended mention in sketch preceding, and 
of Octavia J. P. (Shaw) Strout, his wife. Mr. 
Strout is a member of a very old and distin- 
guished family in this State and himself dis- 
plays the fine qualities of character that have 
marked his ancestors for many generations. Like 
his father before him, he is a lawyer by pro- 
fession, but he is also intimately affiliated with 
the political life of the community. 

Born at the old Strout home in Portland, July 
12, 1863, Mr. Strout as a child attended the 
public schools of his native city. A little later 
he entered the private school of Cyrus B. Varney, 
for the purpose of preparing himself for college. 



74 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



and this being accomplished, became a pupil at 
Bowdoin College. This was in the year 1881, 
and he was just beginning what promised to be 
a brilliant career when he met with an unfor- 
tunate accident from a party of hazers, which 
so badly injured his eye that he was unable to 
continue his course. Later, having somewhat 
recovered, he entered the law office of Strout, 
Gage & Strout, of which his father was the senior 
partner, and there studied for the legal profes- 
sion to such good purpose that he was admitted 
to the bar, April 25, 1885. For a time after his 
admission to the bar he practised law by him- 
self in Portland, but on the death of his brother, 
Frederick S. Strout, he succeeded him as a 
member of his father's firm. Upon the elevation 
of Justice Strout to the Supreme Court of the 
State, this firm became Gage & Strout, under 
which form it continued to practice until January 
4, 1907, when it was dissolved by the retirement 
of Mr. Gage. For a time Mr. Strout practised 
alone once more, but in 1908 was joined by his 
father, who had resigned from the Supreme 
Court in that year. During the time of this 
association, the firm was known as Strout & 
Strout, but after the death of the elder member, 
in 1914, Mr. Strout once more began practice 
by himself and has continued actively engaged in 
this manner up to the present time. The tradi- 
tions of this old firm, which was founded more 
than fifty years ago, and which for so long has 
held a very prominent place in the legal profes- 
sion here, have been fully maintained by the 
present Mr. Strout, through whose office a large 
amount of very important litigation passes, and 
who has bhown himself to be a brilliant and 
capable attorney in more than one of the great 
legal battles of the State. Mr. Strout has been 
for many years an active member of the Re- 
publican party, and has always taken an interest 
in the affairs of his native city. He is, indeed, 
one of the most conspicuous figures in the polit- 
ical and public life of this place and may be 
said to find much recreation in his activity. 
He has held a number of important municipal 
positions, was a member of the Common Council 
in 1890-91, and during the latter year was presi- 
dent of that body. In 1893 he was elected alder- 
man from the Sixth Ward and served in that 
capacity during one term. He was elected city 
solicitor in 1900, an office which he held for three 
terms, and during his tenure, proved himself a 
most capable and public-spirited official. Mr. 
Strout is also prominent in the social and fra- 
ternal world hereabouts and is a member of a 



number of orders and other organizations of 
similar character, including the Masonic order 
in which he holds the thirty-second degree; 
Ivanhoe Lodge, No. 25, Knights of Pythias, and 
Lodge No. 188, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks ; and Samoset Lodge, Independent Order 
of Red Men. He is also a member of the Cum- 
berland, the Portland Athletic, the Portland, the 
Lincoln, and the Portland Country clubs, and is 
president of the Portland group of the Alliance 
Francaise. 

Charles Augustus Strout was united in mar- 
riage, June 7, 1893, at Portland, Maine, with 
Jennie May Higgins, of this city, a daughter of 
Micah and Mary Ann (Whitney) "Higgins, old 
and highly respected residents here. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Strout one child has been born, Sewall 
Gushing (2), born March 21, 1894, a graduate of 
Phillips Academy, at Exeter, New Hampshire, 
and for one year a student in the Boston Uni- 
versity Law School. He enlisted in the United 
States Army in June, 1917, and the following Jan- 
uary entered the third Officers' Training Camp 
at Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia. He joined the 
American Expeditionary Force in France in 
April, 1918, attended the artillery schools at 
Saumur and Angers, France, and in November 
was commissioned first lieutenant in coasl artil- 
lery, becoming adjutant of the First Battalion, 
Fifty-second Regiment, Coast Artillery Corps. 
He saw active service with his regiment, and was 
honorably discharged from the United States 
Army upon his return to the United States in 
January, 1919. 



LLEWELLYN POWERS, Lawyer, Governor, 
Congressman that Llewellyn Powers was elected 
by a majority larger than ever given a candidate 
for governor of Maine, that he was elected and 
then sent to Congress four successive terms, is 
the best proof that he enjoyed the perfect confi- 
dence of the people of the State in which his 
life was spent. It was said of him that he was 
more widely and intimately known to the people 
of Maine than any man who had appeared in 
the public life of the State during the forty years 
preceding his death. His administration as gov- 
ernor was one of the best that has ever been 
given the State of Maine. He gave to the office 
the same careful oversight that marked his pri- 
vate business and stood as a rock against needless 
expenditures. He refused to call an extra ses- 
sion of the Legislature to appropriate money to 
equip and provide a Maine regiment during the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



75 



early Spanish-American War, but when funds 
were necessary he personally advanced the large 
sum of money required, trusting to the next Leg- 
islature to reimburse him, which they did. His 
career in the National House of Representatives 
was marked by conservatism and sound business 
judgment in all matters in which he took part, 
and on account of his long experience in financial 
and legal matters he was always listened to with 
much attention and interest on pending questions 
relating to banking and currency, and his fair- 
ness and courtesy in debate won him many 
friends on both sides of the House. He never 
posed as an orator, yet he was classed as a very 
effective speaker, and with but one or two ex- 
ceptions no political speaker in Maine ever ad- 
the campaign. For more than thirty years he 
took part in every political campaign in his own 
State, and sometimes aided his brethren of neigh- 
boring States in their campaigns. He was a man 
of sound business judgment, a good judge of in- 
vestments, possessing large means of his own 
acquiring. In private life he was always regarded 
as the friend of the poor man, and many a pros- 
perous citizen of the State received his start 
from the kindly advice and financial assistance 
they received from him. He was a generous 
giver to charitable and benevolent objects, and 
it is said his donations to church organizations 
extended to almost every church which had been 
dedicated in Eastern Maine during the last twenty 
years of his life. 

Governor Powers was of the seventh genera- 
tion of the family founded in New England by 
Walter Power, who landed at Salem, Massachu- 
setts, in 1654, married Trial Sheppard, daughter 
of Ralph Sheppard, a London goldsmith, who 
settled in Concord village, Middlesex county 
(later Littleton), where he died February 22, 
1708. The line of descent from Walter and Trial 
(Sheppard) Power to Governor Powers is traced 
through the founder's fourth son, Daniel Powers 
(he adding the "s"), and his wife, Elizabeth 
(Whitcomb) Powers; their fourth son, Captain 
Peter Powers, a militia captain serving against 
the Indians and French, and his wife, Anna 
(Keyes) Powers, they moving to New Hamp- 
shire; their son, Levi Powers, who moved to 
Kennebec county, Maine, and his wife; their 
son, Philip Powers, of Sidney, Maine, and his 
wife, Lucy (Hood) Powers; their son, Arba 
Powers, of Pittsfield, Somerset county, Maine, 
and his wife, Naomi (Matthews) Powers; their 
ton, Llewellyn Powers, to whose memory this 
review of his distinguished life is dedicated. 



Arba and Naomi (Matthews) Powers were the 
parents of eight sons, all of whom grew to man- 
hood and attained high position, six of them be- 
coming lawyers: Llewellyn, of further mention; 
Cyrus M., a lawyer of Aroostook county, Maine; 
Gorham, a lawyer of Granite Falls, Minnesota, 
also State Senator and District Judge; Amos, a 
teacher, moved to the State of California; Sceva, 
a Nevada gold miner; Cassius Clay, a graduate 
of Bowdoin College, and a lawyer of Boston, 
Massachusetts; Don Arba Horace, a lawyer of 
Houlton, Maine, associated in practice with his 
brothers, Llewellyn and Frederick A.; Frederick 
Alton, a lawyer and judge of the Supreme Judi- 
cial Court of Maine until his resignation, March 
31, 1907. They were also the parents of two 
daughters, Hortense B., a teacher in Oakland, 
California, where she died March 31, 1879; Loan- 
tha A., who died at the age of sixteen. 

Llewellyn Powers, eldest child of Arba and 
Naomi (Matthews) Powers, was born in Pitts- 
field, Somerset county, Maine, December 14, 1836, 
and died at Houlton, Aroostook county, Maine, 
July 28, 1908. He was educated in Hartland 
Academy, Colby College, and Albany Law School, 
receiving his degree LL.B. from the last-named 
institution, class of 1860. He was admitted to 
practice in New York, and in Maine the same 
year, and began the practice of law in Houlton, 
Maine, in December, 1860, continuing in active, 
successful legal practice until January, 1887, win- 
ning high reputation as a convincing advocate, 
an able lawyer, and the leader of the Aroostook 
bar. He was elected prosecuting attorney for 
Aroostook county in 1865, serving continuously 
for six years; was collector of United States 
Customs for the Aroostook district for four 
years, 1868-72; was admitted to practice in the 
United States District and Circuit Courts in 
1868, and in 1888 was admitted to the bar of 
Suffolk county, Massachusetts. His brothers, 
Don Arba Horace and Frederick Alton Powers, 
were his law partners in Houlton, the last named 
being a judge of the Maine Supreme Court, 
1901-07. 

There was a strong political undercurrent 
flowing through the life of Governor Powers 
while the law was apparently his one great ih- 
terest. He was a Republican in his political 
faith, and both the prosecutors and collectors of 
customs offices were political. In 1873 he was 
elected to the Maine House of Representatives, 
serving in 1874-75-76. He was elected member of 
the National House of Representatives, taking 
his seat in the Forty-fifth Congress, 1877-79. 



76 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Eugene Hale and William R. Frye also being 
members of that Congress. He then returned 
to private and business life, serving his district 
again in the State Legislature, in 1881, 1893-94-95, 
serving as Speaker of the House during the last 
term. In 1896 he was elected Governor of Maine 
by a majority of 48,000, and in 1896 was re- 
elected. During his legislative service in the 
Maine House he reported from an evenly-divided 
judiciary committee of which he was chairman 
a bill abolishing capital punishment, and was 
successful in having the bill become a law. His 
record during the two terms he served as Gov- 
ernor of Maine was a notable one. He brought 
to the many and exacting duties of the office 
the same calm judgment, firm purpose, and clear 
grasp of affairs that had won him eminence in 
other walks of life. 

Soon after his retirement from the Governor's 
chair he was chosen to fill out the unexpired term 
of the Fifty-seventh Congress occasioned by the 
resignation of Congressman Charles A. Boutelle. 
He was re-elected to serve in the Fifty-eighth, 
Fifty-ninth, and Sixtieth Congresses, declining a 
renomination. He did not wish to return to the 
Sixtieth Congress, but said: "If my people want 
me to serve them I shall obey their will." He 
died "in the harness" prior to the end of his 
congressional term. A special memorial service 
was held in the House of Representatives, Jan- 
uary 31, 1009, and in the Senate of the United 
States, February 27, 1909. Memorial addresses 
were delivered in the House by Congressmen 
Guernsey, Swasey and Burleigh of Maine, Gaines 
of Tennessee, Cole of Ohio, Hamilton of Michi- 
gan, Hayes of California, Stanley of Kentucky, 
Fowler of New Jersey, Lloyd of Missouri, and 
Waldo of New York. In the Senate addresses 
were delivered by Senators Frye and Hale of 
Maine, Sutherland of Utah, Smith of Michigan, 
and Dixon of Montana. All these speakers spoke 
eloquently of the virtues of their fallen associate, 
and paid him the most generous tributes of their 
admiration and esteem. 

Said Senator Hale: 

I shall miss him, Mr. President, very greatly, 
because, coming from the same part of the State, 
we were thrown together closely, and I think 
I may say that in the years I have known him, 
with increasing regard for more than forty years, 
we had no differences. He and I in political 
matters, in matters touching State interests, and 
what was of most account to our people traveled 
together. 

Said Senator Dixon: 

Governor Powers was a striking figure in that 



body (House of Representatives), comprising a 
membership of 400 men, the directly chosen rep- 
resentatives of 90,000,000 people. Large and well 
proportioned physically, swarthy of complexion, 
a massive head crowned with a shock of raven 
black hair, he attracted notice among his fellow 
members. He was most genial in manner, con- 
servative in speech, and fair in his judgment of 
both men and measures. Measured by any stan- 
dard, his life was a successful one. In business 
affairs, in the legal profession, and in the public 
service, he had achieved distinction in all. 

Said Senator Smith: 

He was most modest and unpretentious, yet 
he was firm and substantial. He made few ten- 
ders of his sympathy or kindliness of nature, but 
no one could come in contact with him and fail 
to appreciate that he was one of nature's truest 
men. I simply desire to pay my tribute to his 
lofty character, his usefulness, and his fidelity. 

Said Senator Sutherland: 

Mentally he was, I thought, more sound than 
alert. He did not come to a decision quickly. 
His conclusions were not intuitive, but the result 
of patient, deliberate, painstaking, intellectual 
work. Almost as a necessary consequence, hav- 
ing arrived at a determination respecting the 
merits of a proposition, he was immovable, albeit 
he was not dogmatic or stubborn. He listened 
to the views of others with an open mind; he 
did not differ for the mere sake of difference. 
His manner to all was gentleness and courtesy 
personified. He was by nature social, a lover of 
his fellows. He was a good conversationalist and 
a good listener, which is sometimes a more ami- 
able if rarer accomplishment. 

Said Senator Frye: 

Governor Powers was a first rate, all around 
lawyer, the product I think more frequently of 
the country than of the city practice. As an 
advocate he was forceful, exhaustive and suc- 
cessful, if not eloquent. As a legislator his clear 
vision and business sagacity together with his 
accurate legal knowledge and commanding pres- 
ence compelled attention and rendered him ef- 
fective. He was an ardent Republican, a firm 
believer in the protective policy, loyal to all the 
fundamental principles of his party, and yet 
always tolerant of those differing with him. 
He made hosts of friends and few enemies. 
Socially he was very attractive, was a fine con- 
versationalist, abounding in apt anecdote and 
quick of wit. He was a devoted husband and a 
loving father. He fought well life's battles and 
won more victories than fall to the lot of most 
men In his death his country, his State and 
his family have suffered a most serious loss. 

Said Congressman Lloyd: 

He was a man of good habits and lived an 
upright life. I remember of two conversations 
in which the questions of Bible lessons were in- 
volved, and he expressed himself firmly in favor 
cf the truth. 

Said Congressman Fowler: 
He was simple, he was true, he was intellectu- 
ally honest; he was self-respecting, he was self- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



77 



icliant. He was deeply and profoundly a patriotic 
iran as I understood it. As I came to know him 
thoroughly and comprehend him I discovered 
he was as proud of our country as any man 
I ever knew. He was proud of Maine; he was 
proud of the many great men Maine had pro- 
duced; he was proud of the fact that he was one 
of a family that had made its name respected; 
he was proud of the country in which he lived 
and his little town. He was not only proud of 
the family of which he was one of the sons, but 
he was proud of his own children. 

Said Congressman Stanley: 

At this time we can look back over the career 
of this remarkable man with peculiar pleasure 
and peculiar reverence. He possessed that rare 
quality that Gibbon has aptly portrayed in Anto- 
ninus Pius-Equanimity. It is necessary in a 
lawmaker, it is essential to a successful executive. 
This man did not seek the limelight. He was in 
no sense spectacular. Appreciating and deserv- 
ing the confidence of the people, he sought their 
sober approval rather than their hilarious ap- 
plause. He was not intoxicated by fulsome praise. 
These qualities made him a great Governor. 

Said Congressman Gaines: 

He often "paired" but he never broke faith, 
through pressure to change the pair in a trying 
struggle and vote. "They pressed me mightily, 
my boy, but I kept my word with you." How 
heroic, how honorable, that. 

Said Congressman Burleigh: 

Born on a pioneer farm, the eldest of a large 
family, he was forced from boyhood to be the 
architect of his own fortunes, and yet he did not 
enter into the competitions of life devoid of cap- 
ital. He was peculiarly rich in the qualities that 
command success, in the full vigor of a splendid, 
physical and intellectual strength in abounding 
health, in self-confidence to meet and conquer 
the difficulties that confronted him, and in a 
personal magnetism that speedily drew about him 
a wide circle of devoted and admiring friends. 
There was in the makeup of Mr. Powers no trace 
of snobbery or affectation. He was all his life 
in close and sympathetic touch with the plain 
people. Warm-hearted, cordial and genuine in 
his dealing with those about him, he constantly 
extended the circle of his friendships. It was a 
real pleasure for him to meet old acquaintances 
and make new ones. His instincts were social. 
He loved the companionship of his fellowmen, 
and few there were who could resist the rare 
chain of his personality. As he came and went 
he had a cordial word of greeting for every- 
one he met. He looked out upon life with the 
spirit of an optimist, and from the depths of his 
own frank and generous nature radiated an at- 
mosphere of hope and cheer upon those about 
him. 

From these brief extracts from the speeches 
of his contemporaries at the memorial services 
held in the Capitol at Washington, it is easily 
seen how strong was the hold Governor Powers 
had upon their affectionate regard. Similar 



meetings were held at the Capitol in Augusta, 
Maine, and from every quarter there came to the 
bereaved wife letters and testimonials of the re- 
gard in which he was held. 

In 1868, Governor Powers first became in- 
terested in Maine timber lands, and a few years 
before his death he was said to be one of the 
largest wild land owners in the State. He was 
president of the Farmers' National Bank of 
Houlton, and for several years a director of the 
Fourth National Bank of Boston. He was a 
member of the Masonic lodge and chapter and 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; 
Colby University conferred upon him the hon- 
orary degree, A.M., in 1870, and later LL.D. 
His clubs were the Algonquin of Boston, Boston 
Whist, Boston Athletic, and Tarantine of Ban- 
gor, Maine. He was a Unitarian in his own 
faith, as was his first wife, but his second wife 
and children are Episcopalians. 

Governor Powers married (first), in June, 1863, 
at Corinna, Maine, Jennie C. Hewes, daughter 
of Benjamin and Adelaide (Linnell) Hewes, of 
Levant, Maine. He married (second), in Lin- 
coln, Maine, December 25, 1886, Martha G. 
Averill, daughter of Luther H. Averill, of Old- 
town, Maine, and his wife, Eliza (Garvin) Averill, 
of Exeter, Maine. Children, all by second mar- 
riage: Walter Averill, born April 16, 1888; Mar- 
tha Pauline, April 19, 1890; Doris Virginia, May 
15, 1892; Ralph Averill, September 24, 1893; and 
Margaret Llewellyn, December 27, 1896. 



HARRY RUST VIRGIN, the eminent Port- 
land lawyer and a leader of the bar of Maine, 
comes of a family which has for many years been 
associated with the legal history of that State, 
whose father held a distinguished position on the 
Maine bench and did much to establish the tra- 
ditions and standards of legal practice there. 
His grandfather, Peter Chandler Virgin, was a 
native of Concord, New Hampshire, and a grand- 
son of one of the founders of that town. During 
his young manhood he removed to Rumford, 
Maine, where for many years he was the only 
lawyer. He had been educated at Phillips Acad- 
emy at Exeter and Harvard College, and that 
which brought him to the interior of Maine at 
that time, hardly more than a frontier region, 
was a grant of land which had been given to bis 
family and upon which he desired to settle. He 
was one of the pioneers of what was then the 
new county of Oxford, and for a long time its 
leading attorney, representing it in the State 
convention, at first of Massachusetts and then 
after the formation of the State of Maine, in the 



78 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



newly-formed Legislature. His death occurred 
in 1871, at a very advanced age, after a life of 
great usefulness and of unusual achievement. 

There is a delightfully quaint autobiography of 
Peter Chandler Virgin, which has come down in 
the family and is now in the possession of his 
descendants, which throws a very clear light on 
the crude surroundings which our pioneer ances- 
tors knew in that age. According to this old 
document, he was born July 25, 1783, in a house 
of two stories, which was "built with all white 
birch for frame." It was evidently a matter for 
some boasting in that place and time that it was 
finished from attic to cellar. The picture that 
he draws of the family life is extremely interest- 
ing today. He describes his father's farm as 
containing two hundred acres and pays an elo- 
quent tribute to his mother, who taught him the 
catechism and how to read before he was six 
years old. He describes his attendance at school 
and at Andover Academy, where he "fitted for 
college," and the pages in which he describes his 
life at Harvard are most interesting. He did not, 
according to himself, complete his studies there, 
but left at the commencement of his junior year 
and began to teach school at Concord, New 
Hampshire, his native town. His legal studies 
were conducted in the office of Charles Walker, 
at Concord, and then in the office of John Ab- 
bott, at Medford, whom he characterized as a 
"perfect miser." He felt very differently, how- 
ever, toward a later preceptor, Mr. John Varnum, 
of Haverhill, Massachusetts, of whom he speaks 
of "as noble a man as ever lived." He describes 
in the same pages his coming to Rumford, the 
difficulties that he had in being admitted to the 
bar there and his rapid rise to a prominent place 
in the community. 

William Wirt Virgin, father of Harry Rust 
Virgin, was born September 18, 1823, on his 
father's property in the town of Rumford, Maine, 
and there spent his boyhood. He studied at 
both the Bridgton and Bethel academies, where 
he prepared for college, and then at Bowdoin 
College, from which he' was graduated with the 
class of 1844. Several of his classmates after- 
wards became distinguished members of the 
Maine bar. After completing his academic 
studies, the young man entered his father's office 
with the purpose of making the law his profes- 
sion and here pursued his studies to such good 
purpose that he was admitted to the bar in 1847. 
He began his active practice in the village of 
Norway, Maine, and here continued successfully 
until he removed to Portland, in the year 1872. 
In the meantime, however, he had already held 



public office, having been elected prosecuting at- 
torney for his county, and had also taken an 
active part in the Civil War. Before the time of 
the outbreak of this terrible struggle, he had 
enlisted in the Volunteer militia from Maine, 
and was appointed a major-general. One of his 
services to the cause of the Union was the re- 
cruiting of the Twenty-third Regiment of Maine 
Volunteer Infantry, of which he was elected 
colonel, and with which he served during the 
period of his enlistment. He was ordered with 
his command to Washington, to help guard the 
National Capital against the threat made at that 
time by the Confederate troops, and in this posi- 
tion he proved himself to be an excellent soldier, 
with an unusual ability as a commander and 
great tact in handling his subordinates. He re- 
turned to Maine at the end of the war, and was 
elected to the State Senate in 1865 and in 1866 
was chosen president of that body. Among other 
capacities in which he served was that of re- 
porter of decisions for the State Senate, a post 
which he held for two successive terms. It has 
already been remarked that in 1872 William Wirt 
Virgin came to Portland with the intention of 
continuing his legal practice in that city. In the 
same year he was appointed associate justice of 
the Supreme Judicial Court of Maine, an office 
which he continued to hold by successive appoint- 
ments until his death. In 1889 he received the 
honorary degree of LL.B. from Bowdoin Col- 
lege. The death of Judge Virgin occurred at his 
home in Portland, January 23, 1893, in his seven- 
tieth year, and was the occasion of a very remark- 
able series of tributes paid to him by his asso- 
ciates and friends and the passing of a number of 
impressive resolutions by the public institutions 
of which he was and had been a member. The 
bar of Cumberland county held a meeting in 
Portland on the day of his death, at which various 
of his colleagues spoke in his praise. At the July 
term, 1893, of the Law Court, the Hon. S. C. 
Strout, president of the Cumberland Bar Asso- 
ciation, in the course of his address to the Court, 
spoke as follows: 

I am charged with the painful duty of announc- 
ing to the Court the death of the Honorable 
William Wirt Virgin, late a member of this bench. 
The said event occurred on the twenty-third day 
of January last. As a soldier Judge Virgin 
achieved honor; as a lawyer he was for many 
years in the front rank of his profession; as a 
judge he was able, cautious and conscientious, 
and was endowed with a power of analysis and 
strong common sense, which, accompanied by 
large acquirements in legal lore, enabled him, 
almost unerringly, to arrive at correct results. 
As a man he deserved and enjoyed the confi- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



79 



clence and esteem of the entire community. We, 
of the Bar, who knew him most intimately, 
loved him as a friend, and to us his loss is a 
great and irreparable, personal grief. His mem- 
ory will long be cherished and kept green by 
the Bar of this State. 

My personal relations with Judge Virgin com- 
menced very shortly after my admission to the 
Bar. I first met him at Court in Oxford County. 
He was then a young man, but a few years at 
the Bar. At once I conceived a strong liking 
for the man. In the subsequent years, while he 
remained at the Bar, I frequently came in con- 
tact with him as opposing counsel, where the 
contest was sharp and the struggle ardent. While 
his blade was keen and incisive, it was used legi- 
timately for the protection of his clients, and 
never wielded in malice. He was always the 
honorable man and warm friend, and nothing 
ever marred the kindly relations existing between 
us from our first meeting to the last. 

The Hon. J. W. Symonds, in the course of an 
address to the Court, made the following re- 
marks: 

It was upon his appointment to the bench that 
my intimate acquaintance with Judge Virgin 
began: it was as a judge that I knew him. 1 It- 
had had an earlier public career with which as a 
younger man I had not been personally familiar. 
He had been President of the State Senate, and 
held the rank of Major-General in the Militia, 
and had been Colonel of the Twenty-third Maine 
Regiment during the war. I believe no man ever 
entered upon a judicial career with a more sin- 
cere determination than he to fit himself thor- 
oughly and perfectly for the discharge of his 
duties. He meant to be a good judge. He de- 
voted himself to his work with a full sense of 
its importance and subjected himself to a most 
patient discipline for it. At Nisi Prius he sought 
to hold the scale with an even hand and to watch 
only "the trepidations of the balance." If there 
was sometimes a tendency for the grand, strong 
lines of his mind to darken a little towards 
prejudice, if there was on any subject or in any 
instance, I will not say a tendency, but even a 
possible danger of this, he was himself the first 
to be conscious of it and was always on his guard 
against it. If a mood of feeling obscured his 
sight he was receptive of the influences that re- 
moved the cloud. As one of the law judges of 
the State, he labored most diligently for excel- 
lence of substance and of style in all his legal 
work. He was fond of the fine things in litera- 
ture and read and re-read his favorite masters of 
the English language. He loved to study the law 
historically, to trace the course of authority, to 
follow down its top-most growths to the com- 
mon branch which sustained them all and so to 
direct the tendency of the future development of 
the law in a way to give sympathy to the whole. 
No judge ever had a heartier contempt than he 
for a brief in which the authorities were thrown 
together pellmell, with little regard to their per- 
tinency or value. To him it was like handling 
carelessly the jewels of the law: the rays from 
which, when rightly set, are truth and justice. 
And Emerson says: "Truth is the summit of 



being; justice is the application of it to affairs." 
Such a brief was the polar opposite of an opinion 
drawn by him. He stated the clear result of the 
law, and very likely with a minute and elaborate 
citation of authorities of the utmost value to any- 
body investigating the subject. He wrote and re- 
wrote his opinions with the most studied care 
and his grate blazed with the manuscript pages, 
martyrs for a single fault. He shrank from no 
labor to have his judicial opinions right in sub- 
stance and in form, and he believed the result 
was worth all it cost. With judicial standards 
like these unflinchingly followed for twenty 
years, it is not strange that his place is assured 
in the high estimation of the bench and the bar 
and the community which he served. He loved 
his work, the place to which he had worthily 
risen, the field for intellectual activity it afforded, 
the laborious days which enabled him to act so 
well his part therein. He sought no place in what 
might distract his attention from it, or unfit him 
for it, or effect his action in it. 

On this occasion the Bar Association of Cum- 
berland County passed the following resolution: 

Resolved: That by the close of the life of the 
Honorable William Wirt Virgin, an Associate 
Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court, a period 
has been set to a judicial career of eminent 
ability, usefulness and devotion to official duty; 
that the court has thereby sustained the loss of 
one of its oldest and most distinguished mem- 
bers, whose impartial learning and judgment have 
illustrated its opinions in many most important 
cases; that while we regret the loss to the court 
and the profession by his death, we, at the same 
time, feel most deeply the sundering of the 
pleasant relations between the Bench and the 
Bar, hitherto unbroken during all the period of 
his incumbency of the judicial office; and that the 
Bench, the Bar and the community alike may 
well grieve that the kind, strong man, the genial 
companion, neighbor, friend, the good citizen, 
the soldier and patriot, the faithful public servant, 
the upright judge, is now no more. 

In the remarks of the honorable gentlemen 
already quoted, we have interesting estimates of 
the significance of importance of Judge Virgin's 
career on the bench and before the bar of his 
State. For a more personal tribute it will be 
appropriate to turn to the words of his friends, 
the Hon. A. A. Strout and A. H. Walker. In the 
course of an oration delivered on the same occa- 
sion, Mr. Strout spoke as follows: 

Of his social qualities I speak as one who has 
suffered a personal loss. From the time he came 
to Portland, in eighteen seventy-one, we were 
rear neighbors and saw much of each other. He 
shrank from the more formal requirements of 
social parties and receptions, but in his own 
house and to those who were favored with his 
friendship he was always hospitable and delight- 
ful. He was a reader of books, and with his 
wife and son pursued many paths of intellec- 
tual inquiry. When the labor of the day was 
over he delighted to discuss the latest phases of 



80 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



social progress and development. Then it was 
when he threw aside the habit of office and un- 
folded his stores of learning and humor, that he 
was both instructive and delightful. 

He was a constant attendant at church and I 
think his creed may be found in the melodious 
measures and that sweetest of poems entitled, 
"The Eternal Goddess," which he was so fond of 
repeating, and with its inspired author he might 
well declare: 

I know not where His islands lift 

Their fronded palms in air; 
I only know I cannot drift 

Beyond His love and care. 

It is said that there is one occasion at least 
when the estimation in which men are held is 
fully tested, and that is the time of their death. 
But no one could stand in the presence of the 
solemn concourse of eminent men from all por- 
tions of the State and of his sorrowing neighbors 
and friends who came to express their grief at 
his decease and do honor to his memory, with- 
out feeling that a great man had fallen, whose 
loss was deplored by all who knew him. In the 
beneficent ordering of Providence he has passed 
that mysterious gate through which we may not 
j'.aze in mortal life. We cannot call him back. 
Put we may cherish the recollection of his many 
virtues, and be comforted in remembering 

That Life is ever Lord of Death, 
And Love can never lose its own. 

Mr. Walker expressed himself in the following 
impressive manner: 

I am unable to turn aside from this branch of 
the subject without a general remark upon the 
man. As he lay almost in extremis there burst 
in soliloquy from his pale lips, unprovoked by 
suggestion, the expression that in all administra- 
tions of the law he had endeavored that justice 
should prevail. Who doubts the endeavor? Who 
doubts the propriety of the endeavor by him who 
holds judicial authority in his control? But this 
is not the occasion for a protracted review of 
Judge Virgin's life, for anything above a brief 
summary of the salient features of his positions 
in the various departments of our government, 
and an averment of the strong affection with 
which so many grappled him to their hearts 
with "hoops of steel." 

Shall we join him, and that, too, in an eternal 
home of love, and individual development and 
growth? So he believed. Then may we not 
fitly wish to congratulate him upon the termina- 
tion of life's vicissitudes, though opportunity for 
further achievement here below by transition to 
a life of achievement above be lost forever, 
since the summons of that pallid messenger, who 
goes not forth except with the inverted torch, 
can have no terrors for him, though he be de- 
scribed, 

Black as night, 

Fierce as ten furies, terrible as hell, 
He shook a dreadful dart, 

the edge of which loses its power of hurt in the 
sublime faith that, 



There is no death: what seems so is transition; 

The life of mortal breath 
Is but a suburb of life elysian, 

Whose portal we call death, 

whether, as it has been expressed, it be a jour- 
ney thither of but a single step across an im- 
perceptible frontier, or as again described, it be 
an interminable ocean, black, unfluctuating and 
voiceless, stretching between these earthly coasts 
and those invisible shores? The skeleton foot 
of death enters with frequent and familiar step 
the lives of those who from age constitute 
Justice Virgin's most familiar associates. To his 
survivors the hour furnishes its admonition. 
There is aptness in those words of another: "We 
are walking with unerring steps to the grave, 
and each setting sun finds us nearer the realms 
of rest. The fleetness of time, our brief and 
feeble grasps upon the affairs of earth, the cer- 
tainty of death and the magnitude of eternity 
all crowd upon the mind at such a moment as 
this. They call upon us to think and speak and 
live in charity with each other; for the last hours 
that must come to all will be sweetened by recol- 
lection of such forbearance and grade in our own 
lives as we invoke for ourselves from that merci- 
ful Father into whose presence we hasten." 

Harry Rust Virgin, son of William Wirt Vir- 
gin, was born August 25, 1854, at Norway, Maine. 
His early life was spent among the most favor- 
able surroundings, and while still a mere child 
he began to imbibe the splendid tradition of the 
law. This was natural, not only because his 
father was in a large degree wrapped up in his 
subject, but because his house was a center for 
the meeting of many eminent attorneys and 
jurists. It is perhaps difficult for those who have 
not been thus early the subject of such influence 
to realize how very definite and potent it may be. 
Certainly it played a very important part in the 
life of young Mr. Virgin and turned his thoughts 
to a profession which might almost be described 
as hereditary in his family with an irresistible 
force. His early education was received in the 
local schools of Norway, and he followed up his 
studies there with a course at the Westbrook 
Seminary, where he prepared himself for college, 
and from which he graduated in 1875. In the 
autumn of the same year he matriculated at 
Tufts College, from which he was graduated with 
the class of 1879, and at once began the study of 
law in his father's office. This he pursued to 
such good purpose that in the year 1882 he was 
admitted to practice at the bar of Cumberland 
county, and at once began active legal work in 
the city of Portland. Since that time Mr. Virgin 
has continued in practice in this city and is now 
regarded as one of the leaders of the bar there. 
He inherits the great talents of his ancestors and 
handles much of the important litigation of that 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



81 



region in a most capable manner. Mr. Virgin 
has also taken an active part in public life in 
Portland and was elected to the Common Council 
of the city in 1897 and was president of that 
body during his term there. Two years later, in 
1899, he was sent to the Maine Legislature and 
served two years in the Lower House. In 1901 
he was elected State Senator and in 1903 was 
president of that august body. Mr. Virgin is 
also a prominent figure in the social life of the 
city and a member of several fraternal bodies, 
among which should be mentioned the Masonic 
order and the Royal Arcanum. He finds relaxa- 
tion and recreation in the wholesome outdoor 
pastimes of hunting, fishing and golf, and is never 
quite so happy as when spending his time in the 
open air. He is a Universalist in religion and an 
active member of the church of that denomination 
in Portland. 

On February 22, 1900, Mr. Virgin was united in 
marriage with Emma F. Harward, a native of 
Bordenham, Maine, a daughter of John F. and 
Mary (Tyler) Harward, both deceased. 



HON. ALBERT R. SAVAGE, the eleventh 
Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Maine, and 
a distinguished figure in that illustrious group, 
was born December 8, 1847, at Ryegate, Vermont, 
and died suddenly in his dearly-loved home in 
Auburn, Maine, June 14, 1917. His parents were 
Charles Wesley and Eliza M. Savage, not rich 
in the things which vanish, but amply endowed 
with the qualities which make for character in 
their descendants. In 1856 the family moved to 
Lancaster, New Hampshire, and in those two 
rural towns the boyhood and youth of Judge 
Savage were passed. One who knew him inti- 
mately in recent years has said of him: "Chief 
Justice Savage was truly a product of northern 
New England. Born in Vermont, educated in 
New Hampshire, his life work developed and 
completed in Maine, he was the very embodi- 
ment of the characteristics of our northern coun- 
try. Steadfast like its mountains, placid and 
equable like its lakes, with a depth of reserve 
power like its noble rivers, his nature could and 
did drink in life's joys and pleasures, and submit 
in silent strength and resignation to its sorrows 
and disappointments." To the silent, contem- 
plative lad, going about his somewhat uncon- 
genial tasks on the New Hampshire farm, in 
whom the student instinct was rising to a pas- 
sion, the home environment of industry, thrift, 
patience, simple ambitions, and religion must 
sometimes have seemed hard and narrow. In 
the parents' hearts was the desire real if not 

MB. 16 



very hopeful to educate the boy. A term or 
two at Newbury Seminary, Vermont, began the 
fitting for college. Lancaster Academy com- 
pleted his preparatory course, and he entered 
Dartmouth College in 1867. His narrow horizon 
had broadened. It never narrowed again. All 
depended now on himself, and that self all who 
knew him learned to trust. Lancaster Academy 
reached far into the life of Mr. Savage. Liberty 
H. Hutchinson and Nellie H. Hale of Lunenburg, 
Vermont, became his friends there, the former 
graduating with him, in 1867. The preparatory 
and college years were years of hard work in 
vacations, summers on the farm, and winters 
teaching school. The hard New England train- 
ing, which has made many specimens of the best 
type of American citizenship, gave to him that 
commanding vigor of physical manhood and that 
tireless mental energy that characterized the 
man. 

Mr. Savage was graduated Bachelor of Arts, 
at Dartmouth College, in 1871, receiving the 
degree of Master of Arts three years later. Im- 
mediately after graduation, in June, he accepted 
the position of principal of Northwood Academy, 
New Hampshire, and on August 17, 1871, married 
(first) Nellie H. Hale, of Lunenburg, Vermont. 
They made their first home in Northwood, New 
Hampshire, where their son was born, October 
II, 1872. Later Mr. Savage was principal of 
Northfield High School, Vermont. In all leisure 
time and vacations he was studying law, and in 
1874 was admitted to the bar in Washington 
county, Vermont. Meantime his friend, Mr. 
Hutchinson, had graduated from Bates College, 
having studied law during his senior year, and 
been admitted to the Androscoggin bar, and 
formed a law partnership in Lewiston, in July, 
1871. In March, 1875, his partnership ended, Mr 
Savage came to Auburn, and became Mr. Hutch- 
inson's partner in the Lewiston office. Mr. 
Hutchinson had already secured a high place in 
the esteem of the profession and before he died, 
in 1882, Mr. Savage had ranged alongside in the 
quality of his personality and of his work. He 
was soon admittedly, through his commanding 
presence, his intuition and skill in the conduct of 
cases, and through his broad and thorough legal 
education, one of the leaders of the Maine bar. 

After Mr. Hutchinson's death Mr. Savage car- 
ried on the business alone, till 1884, when Henry 
W. Oakes, then a young lawyer of Auburn, now 
Judge of the Superior Court of the county, joined 
him, under the firm name of Savage & Oakes. 
This proved a most congenial arrangement, and 
the partnership lasted thirteen years, bringing 



82 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



about an enduring friendship between the two 
men, and ending only when Mr. Savage was ap- 
pointed Associate Justice of the Supreme Court 
of the State. This period of Mr. Savage's life was 
filled with his greatest and most diversified activi- 
ties. He was making his way as an attorney 
whose reputation was reaching beyond the bounds 
of the State in the trial of causes of constantly 
increasing importance in all the courts of Maine; 
he was active in politics; a frequent and success- 
ful speaker in political campaigns, especially in 
the discussion of the fundamental principles of 
the protective tariff, and was considered in the 
days when protection was a vital issue one of 
its forceful advocates. He was county attorney 
for Androscoggin county four years, 1881-85, dis- 
charging the duties of the position with skill and 
fearlessness; judge of probate four years, 1885-89, 
and in the latter year was chosen Republican 
mayor of Auburn. He held the office three years, 
1889-91, and no mayor ever worked with an eye 
more single to the welfare of his city than did 
he. In 1891 he was elected to the Legislature, 
re-elected in 1893 and chosen speaker of the 
House of Representatives. He was said to have 
presided "to the entire acceptance of all the mem- 
bers, showing an intimate knowledge of parlia- 
mentary law and admirable qualities as a pre- 
siding officer." He was a member of the Maine 
Senate in 1895 and 1897. In this period was 
prepared his Index Digest of the Maine Re- 
ports, which he published January I, 1897. He 
held many positions of responsibility and trust 
in business affairs in Lewiston and Auburn; was 
one of the organizers, and first president, of the 
Lewiston & Auburn Electric Light Company; 
president of the Auburn Loan and Building As- 
sociation; a trustee in the Auburn Trust Com- 
pany, and a director in the Maine Investment 
Company. He was also prominent in fraternal 
organizations; a thirty-second degree Mason; 
supreme dictator of the Supreme Lodge of the 
Knights of Honor for two years when the order 
numbered 150,000 members; a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and many 
other local orders. 

In 1896 came the first of those bitter sorrows 
which led Judge Cornish to say in after years: 
"He met with personal bereavements in the loss 
of family far beyond the lot of any man within 
my acquaintance, but no one ever heard him 
utter a word of complaint. With him tribula- 
tion indeed worked patience." Charles Hale Sav- 
age, the eldest child and only son of the family, 
after twenty-four years of promising boyhood 
and exemplary manhood, died after a brief ill- 



ness, in Virginia. He was a graduate of Bow- 
doin College, and distinguished as scholar and 
athlete. At the time of his death he was prin- 
cipal of a college preparatory school, though in- 
tending law as his life work. The family of 
Mr. and Mrs. Savage consisted of three children: 
Charles Hale, above mentioned; Anna May, who 
died in infancy, in 1875, and Mary Anna, born in 
1876, who died, after many years of illness most 
sweetly and patiently borne, in 1911. 

In 1897 Mr. Savage reached the goal of his 
ambition when Governor Powers appointed him 
as Associate Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court 
of Maine. It was most congenial, satisfying work 
to him, and the "justices" were like a band of 
brothers. In 1911 Dartmouth honored herself 
in honoring her distinguished son by conferring 
upon him the degree of Doctor of Laws. Bates 
had given him that degree in 1898, and in 1909 
Bowdoin added her Doctor of Laws. In the in- 
tervals between exacting judicial activities 
Judge Savage now had time to gratify his love 
of reading to a degree that his strenuous early 
life and stirring, crowded middle life had not 
afforded. He became an essentially well-read 
man. His love of history and biography led him 
to greatly enlarge his private library, and no his- 
tory of a country satisfied him unless it con- 
tained the story of the rise and progress of its 
literature. He made an exhaustive study of the 
Shakespearean data. After the death of their 
daughter, in 1911, Mrs. Savage's health, which 
had been almost imperceptibly weakening for 
some years, failed more rapidly, and after much 
suffering, endured with great fortitude, her life 
ended, in August, 1912. In "silent strength" he 
bore his last and bitterest sorrow. Shakespeare 
has words for nearly all needs, and in the lonely 
hours of the two following years, in his silent 
library and quiet office at the Androscoggin 
county building, Mr. Savage committed to mem- 
ory the entire text of five of Shakespeare's trage- 
dies. In April, 1913, Justice Savage following 
the resignation of Chief Justice William Penn 
Whitehouse was appointed Chief Justice. He 
was not arbitrary nor dictatorial, but he was a 
natural leader of men and must have much en- 
joyed this honorable position. He knew he had 
earned and received the respect and affection of 
the associate justices, who called him "The 
Chief." 

In September, 1914, Chief Justice Savage and 
Frances A. Cooke were married at the home of 
her sister, Mrs. A. H. Hews, in Weston, Mas- 
sachusetts. Her birthplace was Dover, New 
Hampshire, her education received from the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



83 



country schools and Franklin Academy within 
the city limits. She early became a teacher, 
chiefly in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, where she was many years 
head of the history department in the William 
Penn Charter School, a boys' preparatory school. 
Before going there she was principal of the 
Spring Street Grammar School in Auburn, 1880- 
83, and began the friendship with the Savage 
family which proved to be life-long. They came 
to the house in Auburn where Mr. Savage had 
lived so long and suffered so keenly, and to- 
gether for two and a half years made it a home. 
In that home Mr. Savage (to use the words of 
Chief Justice Cornish) "stepped so suddenly 
from the chamber we call life into the chamber 
we call death," on the morning of June 14, 1917. 
In many notable ways Chief Justice Savage 
during his incumbency of the bench contributed 
to the high reputation always held by the Su- 
preme Court of Maine. The record made by him 
was one that maintained in every sense the 
highest and most ideal traditions of the bench 
and bar in America. The news of his death was 
received with the most profound sorrow through- 
out the State, and numerous expressions of the 
loss sustained by the whole community appeared 
in the public prints. One tribute by an eminent 
jurist, Hon. F. A. Morey, will serve to convey 
a picture of the man as he was known to his 
colleagues of the bar: 

I have known Justice Savage as a lawyer and 
judge for more than twenty-five years. He was 
a man of unusual mental attainments, of deep 
legal learning, and possessed of a power of con- 
centration that few men have. As a lawyer, he 
had great persuasive powers over a jury, and 
conducted many an important case. As a judge 
he was always master of his courtroom, and held 
the business before him well in hand. He could 
dispatch business with unusual celerity, and did 
not know the meaning of fatigue. Always of 
dignified mien, he will long be remembered in 
Maine for his great legal attainments and high 
ranking ability as a judge. 

Another instance of the regard in which he was 
held by the men of his own mental rank is shown 
in the tribute of Governor Milliken: 

Beyond my own sense of personal grief and 
shock, I am deeply sensible of the loss which the 
State has suffered in the death of Chief Justice 
Savage. He exemplified to a superior degree the 
finest traditions of his great profession. A virile 
thinker, a constant student, a jurist whose ripe 
scholarship and sterling integrity adorned the 
court over which he presided, Judge Savage 
always gave himself unstintingly to the task in 
hand. His life work will forever be gratefully 
remembered in the annals of the State he served 
so well. 



The Androscoggin County Bar Association in 
a meeting which immediately followed his death 
selected a committee to prepare and present a 
tribute to the memory of Judge Savage. In the 
opening of the memorial program, Judge George 
C. Wing, of Auburn, chairman of the committee 
on resolutions, spoke with feeling of the relations 
that had always subsisted between himself and 
his colleagues, and the noted jurist whose loss 
they were met to commemorate. He then of- 
fered the following resolutions: 

Resolved, That the members of the Androscog- 
gin County Bar Association wish to express their 
great appreciation of the character and service 
of Albert Russell Savage, for many years a mem- 
ber of its association and of this court, and to 
offer this loving tribute to his memory to the 
end that the same may be placed on its records 
and made permanent. 

Resolved, That during his entire career as a 
member of the bar, in every place to which he 
was called for public service, he showed himself 
trustworthy, and deserving of the great honors 
which he enjoyed. He was kind. He was patient. 
He was learned, and, best of all, he was loyal 
to his friends. He believed in fair dealing and 
that every suitor should have a fair hearing and 
1 is contention be properly considered. He was 
painstaking and impartial, and approached every 
question with an open mind. He earned and de- 
served his reputation for courage, justice, learn- 
ing and fairness, and wherever and whenever he 
rendered a service a sense of security prevailed. 
He died in his full intellectual strength. We sit 
in the shadow and mourn his loss, for we loved 
him and he is no longer with us. 

On the same occasion former Chief Justice 
William P. Whitehouse made an eloquent testi- 
mony to the life and character of Judge Savage. 
To quote him in part: 

As a legislator he achieved distinction both in 
the House and in the Senate. He had been a 
diligent reader of general history and a thought- 
ful student of the history and philosophy of the 
law and political science. He was thus well- 
prepared for legislative service, and made notable 
contribution to the work of improvement and 
reform in several branches of substantive law 
and methods of procedure. He had thus become 
identified with the public life of the county and 
State, and he came to the bench of the Supreme 
Court in 1897 with a broad and enlightened con- 
ception of the onerous and responsible duties 
of that office, and in all respects admirably 
equipped and qualified to perform them. He 
brought with him not only high ideals of the 
honor of the legal profession and the dignity 
of the law, and a full appreciation of the judicial 
character and functions, but also an exceptional 
capacity and disposition for prolonged and ardu- 
ous labor in the solution of complex and dif- 
ficult legal problems, and the analytical study of 
great masses of testimony. 
The impress which he made on our jurispru- 



84 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



dence, and the public and professional life of the 
State during the sixteen years of his service as 
Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, consti- 
tute a tribute of confidence and respect more 
potent than the most eloquent voice of eulogy. 
And with his superior administrative ability, 
superadded to his great intellectual gifts and 
accurate knowledge of the law, it is but the lan- 
guage of truth and soberness to assert that he 
brought to the position of Chief Justice of the 
Supreme Court of Maine qualifications for the 
office unsurpassed by any of his predecessors 
since the organization of our State. 

It was justly said of him in one of the many 
tributes that appeared at the time of his death 
the following, which summarizes his life and 
service: 

No eulogy upon the life of Chief Justice Sav- 
age is required. He passed away in the fulness 
of labor and fame, having erected by his benefi- 
cent life a monument more lasting than bronze. 
Such a life and such service cannot fail to transmit 
to generations beyond our own the unimpeach- 
able fame of an exemplary citizen and Christian 
gentleman, and a distinguished magistrate who 
will ever hold a conspicuous place in the front 
rank of the great judges and jurists in the judi- 
cial history of Maine. 



CHARLES FREEMAN LIBBY. We all feel 
a strong, instinctive admiration for the natural 
leader of men, the man who, because of the 
possession of some quality or other, reaches a 
place in which he directs the doings of his fellows 
and is accepted by them naturally in that capac- 
ity. We all admire him independently of what 
that quality may be, even if our best judgment 
tells us that it is by no means praiseworthy in 
itself, and even if we should resent the exercise 
of it upon ourselves. When, however, that qual- 
ity is a lovable one and a man leads in virtue 
of the sway he holds over the affections and 
veneration of others, our admiration receives an 
added power from our approval, and this feeling 
receives its final confirmation when the leader- 
ship so won is directed solely to good ends. In 
noting the rise to power and influence of such 
men it often appears that their achievement is 
not the result of any faculties of which we, as 
average men, are possessed, but rather that of 
some charm the secret of which we have not 
learned, so easily obstacles seem to be overcome 
and so completely does every factor appear to 
bend itself to the fore-ordained event. In the 
great majority of cases, however, such appear- 
ance is entirely deceptive and the brilliant out- 
come is the result of causes as logical and orderly 
as any in our most humble experience, of effort 
as unremitting and arduous as any with which 
we are familiar. Such in a large measure is true 



in the case of Hon. Charles Freeman Libby, late 
of Portland, Maine, whose name heads this brief 
appreciation and whose reputation in his home 
State for success gained without the compromise 
of his ideals is second to none. His rise to a 
place of prominence in so many departments of 
the community's life was doubtless rapid, but it 
was not won without the expenditure of labor 
and effort of the most consistent kind. If this 
were not so, how would it be possible to explain 
the large tolerance, the broad human sympathy 
and understanding which he displayed through 
all his varied intercourse with his fellow-men, 
for it is beyond dispute that what we have not 
ourselves experienced we cannot sympathize with 
in others. How large this sympathy was and 
how well judged his tolerance is borne witness 
to by the general mourning that was occasioned 
throughout the community by his death, which 
occurred at his summer residence at Grasmere, 
Cape Elizabeth, June 3, 1915. 

Charles Freeman Libby was a descendant of 
John Libby, who came to New England in the 
early part of the seventeenth century and set- 
tled at Scarboro, Maine, and took a prominent 
part in the early development of that colony. 
His parents, James B. and Hannah C. (Morrill) 
Libby, were residents of Limerick, Maine, and it 
was in that town that he himself was born, 
January 31, 1844. His early life was spent in 
his native place and it was there that he gained 
the preliminary portion of his education. His 
parents, however, removed to Portland while he 
was still a mere lad and he accompanied them 
there and continued his studies at the Portland 
High School, where he was prepared for college. 
He matriculated at Bowdoin College in the same 
year with his brother, Augustus Frost Libby, in 
1860, and after leaving behind him a splendid 
record for scholarship, he was graduated with 
honors in the class of 1864, and was its saluta- 
torian. During his college career he became a 
member of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity and 
had the distinction of being a Phi Beta Kappa 
man. He had already turned his thoughts to the 
subject of the law, with the intention of making 
it his career in life, and accordingly, after his 
graduation from college, he entered the office 
of Fessenden & Butler, prominent attorneys in 
Portland, where he read law for about a year. 
In 1865 he entered the Columbia Law School 
in New York City and studied there during that 
year and the next, when he graduated and was 
admitted to the bar. The two years following his 
admission he spent in Europe, traveling and 
studying, and adding greatly to his familiarity 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



with art and literature and to his general culture. 
He pursued his studies at Paris and Heidelberg, 
and throughout his after life found great value 
from his experience in those places. After the 
two years thus spent in Europe, he returned to 
America and once more took up his residence in 
Portland, where he became junior member of the 
law firm of Symonds & Libby. The senior part- 
ner was the Hon. Joseph W. Symonds. Judge 
Symonds was appointed to the bench in the year 
1872, thus dissolving the firm, whereupon Mr. 
Libby formed an association with Moses M. But- 
ler, under the style of Butler & Libby. From the 
outset of his active career Mr. Libby was emi- 
nently successful in his practice and it was not 
long before he began to make a very decided im- 
pression upon the bar of the city. While still a 
young man, he was regarded as one of its leaders 
and the reputation which he established for 
capability was of such a nature that very im- 
portant litigation came to be entrusted to his 
care, while he was even yet a young man. His 
partnership with Mr. Butler was brought to a 
close in the year 1879 by the death of the elder 
gentleman, and in 1884 he again became asso- 
ciated with the Hon. Joseph W. Symonds. These 
two eminent attorneys continued in partnership 
until 1891, when the firm of Libby, Robinson & 
Turner was formed, Mr. Libby's junior partners 
being Frank W. Robinson and Levi Turner. Mr. 
Turner was elected a judge in 1906, and Howard 
R. Ives was admitted to the firm, which then 
became Libby, Robinson & Ives. The offices of 
this well-known concern were located for many 
years in the First National Bank Building, at 
No. 57 Exchange street, Portland, and Mr. Libby 
continued its senior partner until the close of his 
life. 

While one of the best-known lawyers in the 
city, Mr. Libby was perhaps even more closely 
associated in the popular mind with the various 
public offices that he held, a fact which is not 
surprising in view of the distinguished service 
which he rendered his fellow-citizens in these 
various responsible posts. In the year 1871 he 
was elected to the office of city solicitor and at 
once turned all his energies and great legal skill 
and knowledge to the service of the city. He 
represented the corporation in many most im- 
portant cases, and was unusually faithful in his 
attendance at the meetings of the city govern- 
ment. In 1872, while still holding this position, 
he was elected county attorney, an office which 
he held for three terms, or until the year 1878, 
when he voluntarily resigned, having in the mean- 
time greatly increased his reputation as an advo- 



cate and established his reputation as one of the 
most forceful speakers and learned jurists of the 
State. In the year 1882 the city of Portland paid 
him the highest honor of which it was capable 
and elected him its mayor, in which responsible 
capacity he did much to advance the interests of 
the community and gave the city a most prac- 
tical and business-like administration. Mr. Libby 
had always been a staunch Republican, and in 
1888 that party nominated him for State Senator, 
to which body he was elected successfully. In 
1890 he was reelected to the Senate and made 
president of that body by his fellow-members. 
During his career as legislator he had much to 
do with the passing of many valuable laws and 
consistently subserved the interests not only of 
his constituency, but of the public-at-large. After 
the resignation of his friend and associate, 
Thomas B. Reed, Mr. Libby's name was pro- 
posed as his successor in the United States Con- 
gress, but against this were urged the claims of 
York county to the succession, which of course 
had been held in abeyance during the many year* 
which Mr. Reed had served. Mr. Libby was him- 
self the first to realize and acknowledge this 
claim, and although perhaps personally he was 
the best fitted and equipped to take the place of 
his great contemporary, he withdrew without the 
slightest feeling in favor of Mr. Allen of the 
sister county. While thus with a self abnegation 
unusual in the extreme, he withdrew himself 
from the direct line of political preferment, he 
was of such character that it was in a way im- 
possible for him to retire entirely into private 
life, and for a number of years thereafter he 
occupied a quasi-public position of the greatest 
importance in the community. This position was 
twofold in character and had to do with his 
continued activities in connection with the Re- 
publican party, of which he was an acknowledged 
leader for many years, and the other in connec- 
tion with his profession, where his leadership 
was even more pronounced. He was a most 
effective public speaker and for many years there 
was no campaign in that region of the State 
complete without his appearance on the platform 
to urge the causes and interests which he had 
so much at heart. For many years Mr. Libby 
had been a prominent member of the bar asso- 
ciations of county and State and was president 
of the latter organization from 1891 until 1896 
and of the former in 1907. His connection with 
the American Bar Association was not less dis- 
tinguished, and he was a member of its executive 
committee from 1900 to 1903 and again from 1906 
to 1909. In the latter year he was elected its 



86 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



president, an office which he held in 1909 and 
1910, being thus the executive head of one of the 
greatest legal bodies in the world. 

Another of the many and varied interests of 
Mr. Libby was that which had to do with the 
development of railroad and financial interests 
in his home city. He was very active in advanc- 
ing the cause of the Portland Railroad Com- 
pany and in 1904 was elected its president, in 
which capacity he had much to do with the plac- 
ing of the transportation system of Portland upon 
its present high level. He was attorney for the 
First National Bank of Portland, for the Port- 
land Trust Company, and for the International 
and the Portland & Maine Steamship companies, 
as well as many other large corporations in the 
city. He was always keenly interested in edu- 
cational matters, and from 1869 to 1882 was a 
member of the City School Committee. In 1888 
he was elected to the Board of Overseers of 
Bowdoin College and four years later became 
president of that body, an office which he held 
until 1912, when he resigned. He had sought to 
resign the previous year, but his fellow-members 
refused to accept his resignation and were only 
brought to consider it by his plea of failing 
health. 

No account of Mr. Libby's life, however brief, 
would be complete without a reference to the 
great interest that he felt in art and to the in- 
fluence which he exerted in the development of 
the general culture of the community of which 
he was a member. Reference has already been 
made to the fact that at so early an age as dur- 
ing his travels in Europe, he had turned his at- 
tention with unusual enthusiasm toward the art 
of that Continent. This enthusiasm remained 
with him through life and throughout its entire 
period he continued to enlarge and enrich his 
remarkable collection of paintings, engravings 
and books. He has been regarded as the most 
capable art critic in Portland and certainly his 
knowledge of this, his chosen subject, was at once 
penetrating and profound. A very valuable col- 
lection of rare etchings and engravings was be- 
queathed by Mr. Libby to the Art Museum of 
Portland. In 1902 he was the recipient of an 
honor which he greatly prized when Bowdoin 
College conferred upon him the honorary de- 
gree of LL.D. It will perhaps be appropriate 
here to introduce a brief comment on his love 
of and taste in art, which appeared in an obituary 
article printed in one of the local papers on the 
occasion of his death: 

He traveled widely with Mrs. Libby, and visited 
Egypt as well as Europe. He was deeply learned 



in the law, but to a scarcely less degree in general 
literature, and he took great pride in his pictures 
and in his books. He loved art for art's sake 
and was perhaps the best judge of pictures in 
Portland, and even after his health failed and 
he knew that his days of activity and of leader- 
ship were over he was the same delightful com- 
panion, as those who met him at the office of 
Thomas B. Mosher will long remember. 

Doubtless one of the honors most satisfactory 
to Mr. Libby was that which was conferred upon 
him in 1907 by the French Government, which 
in that year created him "officer de 1'Academie 
Francaise." Speaking of Mr. Libby, the Port- 
land Evening Express said in part, at the time of 
his death: 

He was one of our most prominent citizens, 
having distinguished himself as a lawyer, a busi- 
ness man and in official position. The death of 
Mr. Libby terminates a long, active, brilliant and 
successful career. To his native abilities he added 
the acquirements of a liberal education, extensive 
travel, wide knowledge and general interest in 
affairs. Forceful, self-reliant and courageous in 
his opinions and convictions, he was a natural 
leader and easily found his way to the front in 
any matter to which he gave his attention. 

From one of the written tributes to Mr. Libby 
we quote the following: 

Of the standing of Mr. Libby at the bar, of 
his great eloquence, and masterful ability in the 
management of a cause committed to him, a 
layman cannot be expected to speak, but surviv- 
ing members of the profession of the law will 
accord to him his due place in their ranks, and 
in the ranks of the lawyers of the past who were 
his opponents on so many occasions. 

Once more we quote from the same article 
the following: 

And now he too has joined the mighty majority 
of the dead. His long and brilliant career has 
closed, and he is like his former associates, 
Thomas B. Reed, Sewell C. Strout, Henry B. 
Cleaves, and so many more, only a memory of 
the past. They helped to make great a notable 
period of the bar of the United States, and they 
maintained to the fullest degree its highest and 
noblest traditions. And he was of the chiefest 
of their number. Great and splendid in his elo- 
quence when he was aroused and had a cause 
worthy of his best efforts. True in ln's friend- 
ships, and generous in his treatment of legal or 
political opponents. Great, too, in his acquire- 
ments, and in his ideals, and may it not be added, 
that his private life was beautiful, and that his 
richest thoughts and the fruits of his ripest 
scholarship he reserved for his family circle. 

On December 9, 1869, Charles Freeman Libby 
was united in marriage with Alice Bradbury, 
daughter of Hon. Bion Bradbury and Alice 
(Williams) Bradbury, his wife. Mr. and Mrs. 
Libby were the parents of two children, Bion 
B., of Boston, and Hilda L., who became the wife 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



87 



of Howard R. Ivcs, her father's law partner for 
many years. Mr. Libby is survived by his wife 
and children. 

The death of the Hon. Charles Freeman Libby 
ovcd one of the most striking figures from 
a society where strong characters and brilliant 
personalities were the rule rather than the ex- 
ception. He possessed in a high degree all those 
personal qualities which mark the best type of 
his race; a strong moral sense, unimpeachable 
honesty and integrity of purpose, courage and 
unlimited capacity for hard work. If, as Carlyle 
remarks, "genius is an infinite capacity for tak- 
ing pains," then surely Mr. Libby might make a 
strong plea to be regarded as a genius of high 
degree. To these sterner virtues he added a 
genial temperament, the humor that seems an 
inseparable accompaniment to a due sense of 
proportion, and a gentleness toward weakness 
that made men who felt their cause to be just 
instinctively turn to him, as a friend, for support 
and encouragement. His was a character that, 
aside from his great material achievements, 
could not fail to affect powerfully any environ- 
ment in which it might have been placed and 
which, in his death, left a gap which even years 
will fail to fill entirely. The influence exerted 
by the Hon. Mr. Libby's life it is not possible 
to gauge by a mere enumeration of the offices 
held by him or the deeds he was known to 
accomplish. These beyond doubt were of great 
value to the community, yet his distinctive in- 
fluence lay rather in his personality than in 
any of these things. From his youth upward he 
had always breathed the atmosphere of culture 
and enlightenment which did not fail to affect 
his development in a most marked manner, giv- 
ing to him that broad cosmopolitan outlook on 
life, that sure tolerance of other men, their be- 
liefs and customs, that true democracy of thought, 
word and bearing, which is worth a thousand 
fortunes to its possessor and more than a rich 
bequest to those about one. He valued the per- 
manent tilings, the things of true worth, and 
pursued them with an unwavering constancy that 
was remarkable throughout his entire life. The 
basis of his character was honor and sincerity, 
hut in addition to these he added all the graces 
which arc the accompaniments of that true love 
of the beautiful and worthy, that is perhaps the 
sorest need of his countrymen. He also pos- 
sessed in large measure those domestic virtues 
that set so well upon men of affairs, and truly 
found his chief happiness in the intimate inter- 
course of his household about his own hearth. 
He was the possessor of many friends inspired 



by his devotion to a like devotion for him. It 
was these, of course, next to his immediate fam- 
ily, who felt most keenly the loss occasioned by 
his death, vet they were by no means all, since 
the whole community were affected by that sad 
event. 



ANDREW MITCHELL PEABLES, one of 
the best beloved and most successful physicians 
of Auburn, Maine, where his death occurred on 
May 24, 1916, was a member of an old Scotch 
family, his ancestors having come from that 
country to America and located at Cape Eliza- 
beth, Maine. He was a son of James and Mar- 
garet (Larrabec) Peables, the former a native 
of Cape Elizabeth, and a farmer by occupation 
for many years. Mrs. Peables, Sr., was also a 
native of this State, and both she and her hus- 
band resided during their latter years at Auburn, 
where their deaths occurred. He was a soldier 
in his youth and served in the War of 1812. 

Rorn September 7, 1836, at what was then Dan- 
ville, now Auburn, Maine, Dr. Andrew Mitchell 
Peables attended as a child the local town school. 
He was later sent to the Lewiston Falls Acad- 
emy, from which institution he was graduated. 
After completing his studies at this institution, 
Mr. Peables first took up the profession of teach- 
ing, but ere he had been engaged in this line 
for many years he determined to become a physi- 
cian. With this end in view he entered the 
medical department of Dartmouth College and 
graduated from that institution with the class of 
1862, taking his degree in medicine. The Civil 
War was nt that time waging and Dr. Peables 
at once enlisted in the Thirteenth Regiment, 
L T nited States Volunteer Infantry, an organiza- 
tion made up of colored troops, in which he 
occupied the position of surgeon. He continued 
to serve in this capacity throughout the whole 
of the great war, at the end of which he re- 
ceived an honorable discharge. Returning to 
the North, Dr. Peables settled for a time at 
North Waterford and Norway, Maine, where he 
was engaged in the practice of his profession for 
some five or six years. He then came to Au- 
burn and had continued uninterruptedly in prac- 
tice there until the time of his death. At Au- 
burn he made a wide reputation for himself and 
gained the confidence and affection of the entire 
community as a capable physician and a warm- 
hearted friend. He was active in many depart- 
ments of the life of this place and was con- 
nected with the Auburn Savings Bank, and the 
pirct \ T i*'o:'?.l Rank here, as vice-president of 
the former and a director of the latter. He was 



88 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



a staunch Democrat in political belief, but never 
cared for office, although he performed the duties 
of citizenship in a most conscientious and ade- 
quate manner. He was a member of the County 
Medical Society, the Maine Medical Society, and 
the American Medical Association, and vice- 
president of the first named. He was president 
of the Maine Academy of Medicine, and in all 
of these capacities very active in promoting the 
welfare of his profession and colleagues. 
Although, as before stated, Dr. Peables was un- 
ambitious in the matter of public affairs, the 
pressure exerted upon him by his fellow-towns- 
men often rendered it impossible for him to 
refuse to serve them and he held several offices 
at different times. He served as a member of the 
school board and as school superintendent for 
a number of years, and did much to improve edu- 
cational conditions here. He was also a member 
of the Auburn City Council for a number of 
terms, and represented this district in the State 
Legislature in 1869 and 1870, making an excel- 
lent reputation for himself as a Legislator be- 
cause of his ability and disinterestedness. Prom- 
inent in social and fraternal circles, Dr. Peables 
was a member of a number of orders and similar 
organizations in this neighborhood, including the 
local lodges of the Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
the Knights of Pythias and the Auburn Post of 
the Grand Army of the Republic. In his religious 
life Dr. Peables was a Congregationalist and at- 
tended the High Street Church of that denom- 
ination in Auburn. 

Dr. Peables was united in marriage September 
19, 1864, with Elizabeth H. Haskell, daughter of 
Isaac and Anne (Conant) Haskell, and a member 
of the distinguished Haskell family that has been 
identified with affairs in this State for so many 
generations. The Haskells came originally from 
England and were founded here in the early 
Colonial period. Isaac Haskell, the father of 
Mrs. Peables, was a painter at Auburn, where 
he resided for many years, and where his own 
death and that of his wife occurred. To Dr. 
and Mrs. Peables the following children were 
born: I. Virginia, who became the wife of W. O. 
Foss, of East Orange, New Jersey, to whom she 
has borne two children: Emma, who became the 
wife of Arthur E. Kusterer, of Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, and Andrew P., who resides at New- 
tonville, Massachusetts. 2. Elizabeth M., who 
resides with her mother. 3. Margaret Anne, who 
became the wife of the Rev. William J. Taylor, 
of Oak Park, Illinois, where they now reside. 
They are the parents of three children: William 
Jackson, Richard Peables, and Elizabeth. 



The death of Dr. Peables called out a. notable 
volume of written and spoken appreciation and 
regret, in which the public press of this and 
adjacent towns joined. The Lewiston Evening 
Journal, in its issue of May 25, 1916, had this to 
say of him : 

To tell in a word the story of the life of Dr. 
Peables for the past forty years or more in 
Lewiston and Auburn is to tell the story .of one 
who has done his duty in all respects, attended 
to the work of his profession with scrupulous 
fidelity and who, besides all this, has been a 
positive influence for good cheer, sunshine and 
interest in his fellow-men. No man ever passed 
through life with more smiles and "goodmorn- 
ings" than Dr. Peables. Every one liked to see 
him because he always had a word of comfort 
and encouragement, backed by a sense of humor 
that was delicious and by a dignity and power of 
personal character to make good. 

The universal feeling on Dr. Peables' death is 
that of grief. The mutations of time bring these 
losses, unconsolable to friends, deep and lasting 
to those who depend on the ministrations of 
these who are gone. In the case of Dr. Peables 
it is not as though a man of advanced age had 
gone. No one ever thought of him as eighty 
years of age. He was youthful and active. His 
interest in affairs was that of a young man. He 
was keenly alive to business matters. He at- 
tended the sick with the same assiduous care. 
In short, it has been given to few men to fill 
out so complete and well-rounded a life as his, 
covering over half a century of active service. 
It is as though one had done all his work, done 
it faithfully, finished out the course and gone to 
his reward. 

Another beautiful tribute to Dr. Peables was 
that paid him on the same sad occasion by one 
who had known him from their school days and 
who had kept up the friendship to the end. 
It will be appropriate to close with his words: 

One term while I was a student at Lewiston 
Falls Academy, 'way back in the fifties, a young 
man, several years older than myself, joined the 
English department and showed such comrade- 
ship and ambition in social as well as in educa- 
tional lines that he attracted the attention and 
sympathy of the boys, most of whom were poor 
and fighting their way to college or to the learned 
professions, since at that time business offered 
far less opportunity for educated men than it 
does today. . . . 

A. M. Peables came to us from Old Danville. 
There was a notion at that time that no prophet 
could come out of that Nazareth. But live men 
dislodge many half-truths. Peables was at once 
enfranchised among the popular students of the 
institution. . . . 

Young Peables was admitted to the fraternity 
of the popular ones at a period in our academic 
life in which it was no disgrace to be poor. He 
worked hard, worked successfully, and amongf 
a large number of boys and girls who have been 
heard from in various walks of life since the 
fifties, young Peables is by no means least promi- 
nent. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



No matter what hour of day or night, the 
doctor responded to the summons of the sick, 
and to the very last it deeply pained him not 
to be able to climb into his overcoat and go out 
lo respond to the call of the distressed. Whether 
in church or professional life, in society or busi- 
ness, Dr. Peables was a minuteman never a 
man mi-nute. His heart was large, his friendship 
genuine and broad. His art of making many 
friends was instinctive never clouded by false 
standards nor by questionable practices. His 
judgment of men was accurate; his charity was 
clarified by justice. 

I have met on the streets today more men and 
women whose eyes were moist because of Dr. 
Peables' death than I remember in a long time 
to have noted in the death of our home leaders. 
The doctor's greeting was one of the city's best 
assets. The doctor's service to the various finan- 
cial and other institutions with which he was 
affiliated was intelligent, conscientious and appre- 
ciative. His value to the cities was understood 
and considered before he died. Those who have 
been associated with him in business, banking 
and other lines deeply feel his death. Instant, 
in season and out, they have been solicitous for 
his recovery from this, almost the only serious 
illness of his durable life; but, accustomed as the 
doctor was to diagnosing others' physical ail- 
ments, he felt for some days that this was his 
final summons. And he met the call of the 
Reaper as do the harvest fields. 

In his profession he never stood still, he kept 
rp-to-date. He was progressively conservative, 
rever hesitating to join the forward march, 
whether the issue was scientific in his profes- 
sion, or practical in the service of church or 
society. One of his patients said to the writer 
today that when he called for Dr. Peables' pro- 
fessional services late in life he found him as 
well informed touching new remedies and treat- 
ments as he was in business and other lines. 

Dr. Peables prayed not that he might live 
eternally here, or externally hereafter, but that 
whatever happened he might not rust out. His 
prayer was answered. He kept in the harness 
until the setting sun. He held a high standard of 
usefulness against all weariness and all solicita- 
tions of personal comfort. His example is better 
than dogma touching industry and opportunity. 

Most of all will Dr. Peables be missed in a 
delightful domestic life. Hundreds of individuals 
and their fireside circles in this community, ac- 
customed *p being blessed by his medical minis- 
trations, will miss him not only as their physi- 
cian, but as their faithful and lifelong friend. 

The men who have passed out of our local 
horizon in the ripeness of age, convey a useful 
lesion. We are now emerging from all work 
anil no plav to too much play and too little 
work. The lesson of Dr. Peables' life is salutary 
for this age. He had more joy in work than lots 
of folks get out of ostensible fun. 



FRANK LEVI GRAY, one of the most popu- 
lar and successful educators of Maine and pro- 
prietor of the well-known institution, Gray's 
Portland Business College and School of Short- 



hand and Typewriting, was born at the town of 
Hillsborough, Indiana, August 21, 1862, but was 
brought to Portland, Maine, in infancy. He is 
a son of Levi Albert Gray, who was born in 
New York State, and spent the major portion 
of his life teaching. For a time he had charge of 
an academy in Indiana and also taught in Chi- 
cago, Illinois, and Providence, Rhode Island. 
Eventually, however, he came to Portland, 
Maine, and it was he that founded there the 
school of which his son is now the head. His 
death occurred in Portland, July 26, 1896, at the 
age of sixty-nine years. He married Lucia (Ter- 
rell) Gray, a native of Oneida, New York, whose 
death occurred in Portland, Maine, in April, 1915. 
They were the parents of two children, as fol- 
lows: Ella G., who is now the wife of Frank H. 
Little, of Cape Elizabeth, Maine, and Frank Levi, 
of whom further. 

Although born in the West, Frank Levi Gray 
did not reside there long enough to form any 
associations with his native region, but came to 
the East with his parents while still an infant. 
They settled in Portland and it was here that 
he gained his education, attending for that pur- 
pose the local public schools. Having completed 
his studies in these institutions and attaining his 
majority, he entered his father's establishment 
as an assistant and from that time to the present 
(1917) has been associated therewith. This in- 
stitution had been purchased by his father in the 
year 1864 from its original owners and its name 
changed from the Bryant & Stratton to its pres- 
ent form. For some years he taught in this 
school, and in 1894 was admitted into partner- 
ship by his father. Two years later his father 
died and he at once assumed entire control of 
the school, and at the present time devotes prac- 
tically his entire attention thereto. 

Gray's Portland Business College is the oldest 
and largest of its kind in the State of Maine and 
possesses many conspicuous advantages. Its 
location in the city is particularly fortunate, it 
being placed directly opposite the handsome new 
City Hall, which has recently been erected there, 
and occupies the second, third and fourth floors 
of the Davis building, on Congress street, ex- 
tending from Exchange to Market street. In 
equipment and general facilities it is second to 
no institution of its kind, and it contains a large 
number of important departments calculated to fit 
the young aspirant for well nigh any branch of 
business which he desires to enter. We quote 
briefly from its catalogue: 

A fair knowledge of the common English 
branches is sufficient preparation for entering 



90 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



upon the regular business course. No examina- 
tion required upon entering. Time of Entering 
Students can enter at any time during the year 
with equal advantages, as there are no term divi- 
sions and as the instruction is principally indi- 
vidual. 

General Plan of Instruction The student en- 
tering the Business Department is first assigned 
a seat in the department for beginners, and com- 
mences at once to handle invoices of merchan- 
dise, receive and pay money, make deposits, write 
letters, issue and receive notes, drafts and checks, 
and keep an accurate record of each transaction 
in regular books of entry; in fact, does in the 
college from the start what will be found to do 
when entering upon actual office work. After 
passing a satisfactory examination on the work 
gone over, the student is allowed to enter our 
Advanced Department, where the work is carried 
on under actual dates, and by so doing the stu- 
dent is not simply taught to do when instructed, 
but learns to look after things and do his own 
planning, such as collecting the amount due on 
notes he holds and paying his outstanding notes 
on the actual days of maturity, and feels a cer- 
tain amount of care and .responsibility, the same 
as though he were holding a position of trust. 
In brief, our students are taught to do by doing 
and have office practice from the start. In con- 
nection with the regular bookkeeping work, the 
student is expected to make himself familiar with 
Arithmetic and such portions of Commercial Law 
as govern the transactions, by studying the text- 
books on these subjects, assisted by the teacher 
in charge. 

Individual Instruction Each student receives 
individual instruction suited to his own particu- 
lar needs at all times, thereby enabling him to 
proceed in his course as rapidly as his own 
ability and application will permit. By this plan 
all are encouraged to pursue their course as rap- 
idly as possible, consistent with thoroughness, 
none being held in restraint by those less ad- 
vanced or less inclined to improve their oppor- 
tunities. 

Discipline The management of the College 
is upon as liberal a basis as possible, consistent 
with the proper order and decorum necessary 
for concentration of thought and the proper per- 
formance of all business transactions. To secure 
this, we rely principally on the manhood and 
good judgment of the students. The value of 
good discipline in the management of a school 
cannot be overestimated. This is a question of 
the greatest importance in deciding what school 
to patronize. Good discipline results in the 
forming of correct business habits, which are of 
equal importance with a good course of instruc- 
tion, and no . mercantile education is of any 
special value without them. Those only will suc- 
ceed who acquire habits of industry, persever- 
ance and integrity before entering upon a busi- 
ness career. The college has two general 
courses, known as the business and shorthand 
courses, in the former of which occur bookkeep- 
ing, arithmetic, business penmanship, correspond- 
ence, commercial law, banking and office prac- 
tice. In the shorthand course stenography and 



typewriting, punctuation, spelling and letter 
writing receive special attention. One of the 
most interesting departments of the school is 
that for beginners, there being no examination 
required here for entrance. Business corre- 
spondence is given particular attention and under 
the heading of arithmetic are taught such sub- 
jects as percentage, banking and general ac- 
counts. The important subject, commercial law, 
is thus referred to in the prospectus of the school. 
Commercial law is a very important study in 
most business schools and receives special at- 
tention. Although not contemplating a profes- 
sional course of instruction in law, we have, nev- 
ertheless, found it necessary to embrace in our 
list of requirements a sufficient knowledge of 
law to render the student familiar with the gen- 
eral principles which govern business transac- 
tions, and which will enable him, as a merchant, 
to steer clear of the thousand little informalities 
and indiscretions which so often lead to ex- 
pensive litigations, perplexities and losses. Our 
course in this branch of study embraces the fol- 
lowing general subjects: Contracts in general, 
Agency, Commercial Paper, Bailment, Partner- 
ship, the points on real estate that every business 
man should know. For a few years after the 
College was established these subjects were pre- 
sented in lectures by a member of the bar, but 
in due time this method was abandoned as not 
proving satisfactory, from the fact that the stu- 
dents remembered but very little of the excellent 
matter presented in the lectures. Now the stu- 
dents may study the subjects carefully from the 
textbook furnished by the College, and then re- 
view them with the teacher, who is thoroughly 
conversant with the subjects treated. This 
method is found by experience to produce a 
much more permanent benefit to the student. 

There have been special arrangements made 
whereby the students of this college can easily 
take advantage of the privileges offered by the 
gymnasium of the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation of Portland, a fact of which many are 
only too glad to take advantage and which tends 
to maintain a high standard of health among 
them. 

Mr. Gray is a well-known figure in the social 
life of Portland, a member of the Woodford Club, 
and spends as much of his spare time as pos- 
sible automobiling, of which he is very fond. 

On June 15, 1887, in the city of Portland, Mr. 
Gray was united in marriage with Carrie E. 
Pennell, a native of Portland, whose death oc- 
curred October 26, 1915. To them were born 
two children: Lucien Edwin Charles, December 
i, 1890, who now assists his father in the con- 
duct of the school, and Eleaonora, born July 17, 
1896. 

The service rendered to the cause of teach- 
ing by Mr. Gray during the many years of devo- 
tion to this chosen profession would be difficult 



90 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



upon the regular business course. No examina- 
tion required upon entering. Time of Entering 
Students can enter at any time during the year 
with equal advantages, as there are no term divi- 
sions and as the instruction is principally indi- 
vidual. 

General Plan of Instruction The student en- 
tering the Business Department is first assigned 
a seat in the department for beginners, and com- 
mences at once to handle invoices of merchan- 
dise, receive and pay money, make deposits, write 
letters, issue and receive notes, drafts and checks, 
and keep an accurate record of each transaction 
in regular books of entry; in fact, does in the 
college from the start what will be found to do 
when entering upon actual office work. After 
passing a satisfactory examination on the work 
gone over, the student is allowed to enter our 
Advanced Department, where the work is carried 
on under actual dates, and by so doing the stu- 
dent is not simply taught to do when instructed, 
but learns to look after things and do his own 
planning, such as collecting the amount due on 
notes he holds and paying his outstanding notes 
on the actual days of maturity, and feels a cer- 
tain amount of care and .responsibility, the same 
as though he were holding a position of trust. 
In brief, our students are taught to do by doing 
and have office practice from the start. In con- 
nection with the regular bookkeeping work, the 
student is expected to make himself familiar with 
Arithmetic and such portions of Commercial Law 
as govern the transactions, by studying the text- 
books on these subjects, assisted by the teacher 
in charge. 

Individual Instruction Each student receives 
individual instruction suited to his own particu- 
lar needs at all times, thereby enabling him to 
proceed in his course as rapidly as his own 
ability and application will permit. By this plan 
all are encouraged to pursue their course as rap- 
idly as possible, consistent with thoroughness, 
none being held in restraint by those less ad- 
vanced or less inclined to improve their oppor- 
tunities. 

Discipline The management of the College 
is upon as liberal a basis as possible, consistent 
with the proper order and decorum necessary 
for concentration of thought and the proper per- 
formance of all business transactions. To secure 
this, we rely principally on the manhood and 
good judgment of the students. The value of 
pood discipline in the management of a school 
cannot be overestimated. This is a question of 
the greatest importance in deciding what school 
to patronize. Good discipline results in the 
forming of correct business habits, which are of 
equal importance with a good course of instruc- 
tion, and no. mercantile education is of any 
special value without them. Those only will suc- 
ceed who acquire habits of industry, persever- 
ance and integrity before entering upon a busi- 
ness career. The college has two general 
courses, known as the business and shorthand 
courses, in the former of which occur bookkeep- 
ing, arithmetic, business penmanship, correspond- 
ence, commercial law, banking and office prac- 
tice. In the shorthand course stenography and 



typewriting, punctuation, spelling and letter 
writing receive special attention. One of the 
most interesting departments of the school is 
that for beginners, there being no examination 
required here for entrance. Business corre- 
spondence is given particular attention and under 
the heading of arithmetic are taught such sub- 
jects as percentage, banking and general ac- 
counts. The important subject, commercial law, 
is thus referred to in the prospectus of the school. 
Commercial law is a very important study in 
most business schools and receives special at- 
tention. Although not contemplating a profes- 
sional course of instruction in law, we have, nev- 
ertheless, found it necessary to embrace in our 
list of requirements a sufficient knowledge of 
law to render the student familiar with the gen- 
eral principles which govern business transac- 
tions, and which will enable him, as a merchant, 
to steer clear of the thousand little informalities 
and indiscretions which so often lead to ex- 
pensive litigations, perplexities and losses. Our 
course in this branch of study embraces the fol- 
lowing general subjects: Contracts in general, 
Agency, Commercial Paper, Bailment, Partner- 
ship, the points on real estate that every business 
man should know. For a few years after the 
College was established these subjects were pre- 
sented in lectures by a member of the bar, but 
in due time this method was abandoned as not 
proving satisfactory, from the fact that the stu- 
dents remembered but very little of the excellent 
matter presented in the lectures. Now the stu- 
dents may study the subjects carefully from the 
textbook furnished by the College, and then re- 
view them with the teacher, who is thoroughly 
conversant with the subjects treated. This 
method is found by experience to produce a 
much more permanent benefit to the student. 

There have been special arrangements made 
whereby the students of this college can easily 
take advantage of the privileges offered by the 
gymnasium of the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation of Portland, a fact of which many are 
only too glad to take advantage and which tends 
to maintain a high standard of health among 
them. 

Mr. Gray is a well-known figure in the social 
life of Portland, a member of the Woodford Club, 
and spends as much of his spare time as pos- 
sible automobiling, of which he is very fond. 

On June IS, 1887, in the city of Portland, Mr. 
Gray was united in marriage with Carrie E. 
Pennell, a native of Portland, whose death oc- 
curred October 26, 1915. To them were born 
two children: Lucien Edwin Charles, December 
i, 1890, who now assists his father in the con- 
duct of the school, and Eleaonora, born July 17, 
1806. 

The service rendered to the cause of teach- 
ing by Mr. Gray during the many years of devo- 
tion to this chosen profession would be difficult 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



91 



to gauge. Throughout this long period he ap- 
pears the typical scholar, whose delight is in 
knowledge and the enlightened cosmopolitan 
mind which knowledge brings. In teaching, as in 
all vocations, the quality of the work accom- 
plished undoubtedly depends primarily upon the 
profession of certain fundamental virtues by the 
teacher. Of these virtues perhaps simplicity and 
zeal are the chief, and both these are the pos- 
session of Mr. Gray in good measure. He has 
no other purpose than the very best develop- 
ment of his pupils, and his ardor in this cause 
is exhaustless. But despite this ardor, despite 
his unwearied efforts on their behalf, he is never 
impatient or lacking in sympathy even for the 
least gifted. So long as effort is shown he is 
appreciative of it, however little the result. The 
only person with whom he is a stern taskmaster 
is himself, for whom he holds unabated the 
standards of his New England conscience. It is 
not that he is incapable of showing his disap- 
proval for what is unworthy, nor backward about 
doing so. Let him but discover a sham of any 
kind or insincerity, and no one is more ready to 
utter a rebuke. Over the strong framework of 
those virtues which in his ancestors had often 
seemed harsh, he draws a mantle of culture and 
the tolerance which culture lends. The men 
who truly know the world grow charitable toward 
it, and there are but few departments of knowl- 
edge in which Mr. Gray is not at home, albeit 
his classes are mostly in the subjects in connec- 
tion with a modern training for business. His 
tastes are what might be expected of a whole- 
some nature such as his, and consist so far as 
recreation goes in outdoor sports of every sort. 



JOSEPH RALPH LIBBY The story of the 
life of the late Joseph Ralph Libby, who up to 
the time of his death, November 5, 1917, was one 
of the best-known merchants of Portland, Maine, 
proprietor of the great department store of J. R. 
Libby Company, and one of the most influential 
and public-spirited citizens of the community, 
was one of steady and persistent effort towards 
worthy ambitions, and of the wise and just use 
of power and prestige when once he had achieved 
them. Occupying an enviable position among 
the most prominent citizens of Portland, he 
might claim with satisfaction that he gained his 
place through no favor or mere accident, but 
by his own native ability and sound judgment, 
and the wise foresight with which he carefully 
fitted himself for the work into which his inclina- 
tions urged him. High ideals were coupled in 
him to that force of character and that tenacity 



of purpose which must inevitably bear the fruit 
of a well-merited success. Mr. Libby was a 
member of a family that for many generations 
has been identified with this region and with 
New England in general. The Libbys, indeed, 
can claim an antiquity greater than their Ameri- 
can residence, the line being traceable for a num- 
ber of generations prior to their coming here, 
in the native home in England. The American 
branch with which we are here concerned was 
founded in Maine in the year 1634, when Mr. 
Libby's ancestors settled at Scarboro, and from 
that time to this its members have been promi- 
nent in the several communities where they have 
made their homes. Mr. Libby's parents were 
Ivory and Eliza Ann (Davis) Libby, life-long 
residents of Buxton, Maine, where the former 
operated a flourishing farm and was active in the 
life of the community. They were of the strong 
and able type that has come to be regarded as 
characteristic of New England in general and 
of the "Pine Tree State" in particular. 

Born March 20, 1845, at Buxton, Maine, Joseph 
R. Libby gained the elementary portion of his 
education at the public schools of his native 
region. He later attended the Limington Acad- 
emy and there completed his schooling. Even 
as a lad he took a keen interest in business and 
began to develop early the qualities of good 
judgment and foresight, together with prompt- 
ness of decision, that were the materials of which 
his subsequent success was fashioned. Upon 
completing his studies he secured, while still little 
more than a lad, a clerical position in a store 
at Bonny Eagle, a small country establishment, 
where, nevertheless, he was able with his quick 
apprehension and intelligence, to master the ele- 
ments of business, and the principles upon which 
such commercial enterprises are founded. With 
a mind as brilliant as his it only required the 
opportunity to expend these underlying princi- 
ples to whatever power the size of the business 
required, and proceed to the application of them. 
It was in the autumn of 1861 that Mr. Libby be- 
came connected with this concern, and for a 
time the novelty of the life and the fact that 
he was learning something that his mind per- 
ceived was of value kept him sufficiently occu- 
pied, but as time went on and he became entirely 
familiar with the small business, it was natural 
that his enterprising nature should cause him to 
turn to other and larger fields in search of 
greater opportunities, and it was not long before 
he was on his way to Boston, where he felt that 
they were to be found. In that city he secured 
employment in one of the large mercantile con- 



92 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



cerns of the place, and it was there that the real 
training for his future career was carried on. 
He quickly became familiar with every branch of 
the business and became so valuable that he 
was made a salesman and traveled through the 
country representing the firm in various places. 
Continuing his brilliant work, it was within but 
a few years of entering the concern that he 
became its chief salesman and was given the 
State of New York for his territory. But in spite 
of this rapid promotion, Mr. Libby was by no 
means satisfied. He had always a strong ambi- 
tion to engage in business for himself and how- 
ever great might be his success as the employee 
of another, he never lost sight of it. He was 
therefore very well pleased when a little later 
he found himself in a position to form a partner- 
ship with a Mr. Vickery, of Portland, Maine, and 
there open a mercantile establishment of their 
own. This venture met with a very gratifying 
success. The original store in Portland, which 
he now gave up, was situated on Free street, 
only a short distance from the subsequent great 
establishment. It was at about this time that 
his attention began to be turned to the West, 
where the young but rapidly growing communi- 
ties seemed to afford opportunities more tempt- 
ing than anything to be found in the slower 
East, and, after a few years with the Boston 
concern, he determined to try his fortunes there. 
In 1871 he settled at St. Louis, Missouri, and 
opened a large mercantile house. In spite of a 
marked initial success, however, Mr. Libby's 
western venture was not continued by him for 
a long period. This was due to the fact that 
within a year a very liberal offer was made to 
him for the purchase of his already flourishing 
business, with which he quickly closed, although 
he felt a sincere regret to giving up his enter- 
prise in that progressive place. There was one 
consideration, however, which weighed strongly 
with him, and that was his intense love for 
New England and New England ways of doing, 
and his desire to be once more in that environ- 
ment, a feeling that never left him, but rather 
grew and developed with age. Thus it was that 
the year 1872 saw him once more in the State 
of Maine, and this time settled in the town of 
Biddeford, where he promptly began operations. 
He purchased a dry goods store and a carpet 
store and combined the two, thus founding what 
was the first department store of the place. He 
continued to conduct this enterprise successfully 
until 1890, when he finally came to Portland and 
there opened the store that has since grown to 
such enormous proportions. In order to give it 



the scope that he desired, Mr. Libby proceeded 
as he had already done at Biddeford, only upon 
a larger scale. He purchased the dry goods busi- 
ness, already of large proportions, conducted by 
the firm of Turner Brothers & Newcomb, in 
the building now occupied by the Eastman 
Brothers & Bancroft Company. He also pur- 
chased the business of Horatio Staples, at the 
corner of Middle and Cross streets, and these 
two he combined to form the store of the J. R. 
Libby Company, which met with the most grati- 
fying success from the outset. Mr. Libby's 
business judgment never seems to have gone 
astray, and one particularly good example of his 
foresight was given in 1897, when he took a step 
against the advice of the great majority of his 
associates. He had been keenly observing the 
trend of the city's growth towards the west, and 
this, and the fact that his original quarters on 
Monument Square were growing too cramped for 
his increasing trade, induced him to lease a large 
store space in the Baxter Block, at the intersec- 
tion of Congress, Oak and Free streets. For 
more than twenty years the business thus estab- 
lished by Mr. Libby has grown uninterruptedly 
until, at the time of his death, it was one of the 
largest enterprises of its kind in the State. All 
this great development was guided and directed 
by Mr. Libby personally, who continually super- 
vised the entire operation of the establishment 
even to its details. A number of years ago he 
admitted into partnership with himself his two 
sons, Ralph G. and Harold T. Libby, and his 
son-in-law, William R. Cutter, and, after more 
than half a century of uninterrupted activity, 
partially withdrew, leaving to a certain extent 
the conduct of affairs to these young men, all 
of whom he had carefully trained in the business 
under his own supervision. Even more familiar 
with the business than they, however, was Mrs. 
Libby, who had always been made a confidante 
by her husband, and had come to know every de- 
tail scarcely less well than he. Her advice, in- 
deed, was continually sought by him in every 
matter concerning the conduct of the concern, 
and was the greatest single factor in determining 
his policies. Since his death the responsibility 
for the company has fallen to a large extent 
upon the shoulders of the young men, his suc- 
cessors, but they have been guided and sup- 
ported by the kindly advice and assistance of 
Mrs. Libby, who, being so thoroughly familiar 
with her husband's plans, is peculiarly well 
equipped to supervise their carrying out. The 
combination of executive ability and wise counsel 
has proved a strong one and the great business 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



93 



has continued to develop since the death of the 
founder until it has attained even greater pro- 
portions than before. 

Mr. Libby was a member of the Masonic or- 
der, and was president of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association. He was a staunch Republican 
in his political views and took an active part in 
the affairs of the party. He was a friend of 
James G. Elaine and of Thomas B. Reed. He 
was sent by the party as delegate to the Re- 
publican National Convention at Chicago which 
nominated Garfield for President of the United 
States. He was a Congregationalist and served 
as moderator in the State conventions of that 
body several times and was frequently a speaker. 
He was a member of the Williston Church at 
Portland for many years. He was also a mem- 
ber of the Portland Club. Both he and his wife 
were extremely fond of travel and together they 
took many trips both in this country and abroad. 
He was extremely kind to the poor and generous 
in gifts to charitable and religious organizations 
with which he was affiliated. At one time he 
personally supported three missionaries in foreign 
lands. To one in Pekin he sent a printing press, 
said to have been the first in China, that the man 
might print extracts from the Bible, and hymns 
for use in his work. This missionary was killed 
in the Boxer uprising, and with the indemnity 
received for the destruction of the printing 
press, Mr. Libby sent out more foreign mis- 
sionaries. 

One of the greatest interests in the life of 
Mr. Libby was the prohibition movement, to 
which he gave his entire allegiance, and which 
he furthered in every way, speaking upon the 
subject and working indefatigably for the cause. 
In the year 18 , he made two tours of the State 
and delivered a series of lectures upon the sub- 
ject in the various cities and towns, in which he 
urged the adoption of laws. He was intensely 
religious and never wearied in his work for the 
church and for the abolition of the evils of the 
liquor traffic. He was one of the strongest in- 
fluences for good in the community and his great 
prestige as a business man and man of affairs 
added to the respect with which he was listened 
to by his fellows. 

On November 24, 1870, Mr. Libby was mar- 
ried, at Limington, Maine, to Helen Louise Lar- 
rabee, a native of that town, and a daughter of 
Eben Irish and Mary (Thaxter) Larrabee, old 
and highly respected residents of the place. Mrs. 
Libby has already been mentioned as her hus- 
band's companion and confidante in the matter 
of his business, and his comrade on his travels, 



and this relation extended into every department 
of their affairs, so that their long married life 
was an unusually happy and harmonious one. 
She is a member on both sides of the house of 
distinguished New England families, and is her- 
self a worthy scion of her brilliant ancestors. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Libby seven children were born, 
as follows: I. Edith Emma, wife of William 
Russell Cutter, a member of the firm. They 
have two children: i. Alice Louise, and ii. Philip 
Russell. 2. Royal Sumner, died May 12, 1874, at 
the age of six months. 3. Mary Louise, wife of 
Arthur H. Chamberlain, secretary-treasurer of 
the American Iron, Steel & Heavy Hardware 
Association, with headquarters in, . New York. 
They reside in Mt. Vernon, New York, and have 
three children: i. William Hale. ii. Mary. iii. 
Austin Hunter. 4. Annie Belle, died May 3, 1877, 
aged four and a half months. 5. Alice Helena, 
wife of Merle Sedgwick Brown, a broker in Port- 
land. They have one child, Merle S., Jr. 6. 
Ralph Garfield, married Hattie Payson Brazier, 
and is a member of the firm. They reside in 
Portland, and have three children: i. Ralph 
Garfield, Jr. ii. Ellen Brazier, iii. Daniel Bra- 
zier. 7. Harold Thaxter, a member of the firm; 
resides in Portland. 

Joseph R. Libby was one of those men whose 
lives and characters form the underlying struc- 
ture upon which are built the prosperity and 
homes of this country. The careers of such 
men as he show the opportunities open in a 
commonwealth like Maine to those who possess 
great business abilities and the high integrity 
that forms the basis alike of the good citizen 
and the good business man. His ambition along 
the worthiest line, his perseverance, his stead- 
fastness of purpose, his tireless industry, all fur- 
nish lessons to the young men of coming genera- 
tions, and the well-earned success and esteem he 
gained prove the inevitable result of the practice 
of these virtues. His whole life was devoted to 
the highest and the best, and all his endeavors 
were for the furtherance of those noble ideals he 
made the rule of his daily conduct. The success 
won by him as a business man never elated him 
unduly or caused him to alter the usual tenor of 
his way. A nature of singular sweetness, open- 
ness and sincerity, he never made lasting ene- 
mies, but any estimate of his character would 
be unjust which did not pay tribute to the in- 
herent force and power that caused him to sur- 
mount all difficulties which met him on the road 
to success, or point to the natural ability and 
keen mental gifts which he improved by daily 
use and exercise. He had a profound knowledge 



94 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



of human nature and his judgments upon men 
were sound and unerring. He had a strong and 
dominating personality, and his power over other 
men was not the result of aggressiveness but of 
the momentum of character and strength. His 
loyalty to his State, his desire to promote every 
measure that would tend to the advancement of 
the public good, gave him a title second to none 
to be represented in the historical annals of a 
great State such as Maine. 



EDGAR CROSBY SMITH, Lawyer, Historian. 
It has been truly said that to trace the ances- 
try of the various Smiths would be like trying 
to write a genealogy of the North American 
Indians. When Dr. Holmes wrote of the author 
of "America," and said: "Fate tried to conceal 
him by naming him Smith," he might have ap- 
plied the statement to several hundred other 
distinguished Smiths besides Dr. Samuel F. 
Smith of the famous class of 1829. One should 
feel proud to belong to so numerous and re- 
spectable a family, but one cannot help wish- 
ing that they had taken a little more pains to 
preserve their ancestral records. The following 
branch cannot be traced further than Berwick, 
Maine. Whether they originally came from Mas- 
sachusetts, or whether they may be connected 
with the New Hampshire Smiths, of whom no 
less than nineteen different lines have been 
traced, must remain a matter of conjecture. 
Daniel Smith, born 1796, removed about 1820 
from Berwick, Maine, to Brownville, same State, 
where he died April 23, 1856. He was undoubt- 
edly an offshoot of the Berwick family of Smiths, 
which had numerous representatives in that town, 
possibly a son of Daniel Smith, who was born 
there June 12, 1757, and was a minute-man in 
I77S- October 3, 1822, Daniel Smith married 
Mary Stickney, born January 31, 1799, in Weare, 
New Hampshire, died March 25, 1883, in Brown- 
ville, Maine, a descendant of William Stickney, 
who came from Hull, in Yorkshire, England, in 
1637, and was admitted to the First Church in 
Boston with his wife, Elizabeth, November 24, 
1639. His son, John Stickney, was the father 
of Samuel Stickney, whose son, William (2) 
Stickney, had Samuel (2) Stickney, born May 
13, 1762, in Rowley, Massachusetts. He married 
(second), April 29, 1792, in Bradford, Patty 
(Polly or Martha), daughter of Benjamin and 
Martha (Hardey) Atwood, of Bradford, Massa- 
chusetts, born September 21, 1772, who survived 
him, and died in Brownville, October 2, 1845. 
Five years before her death she was awarded 
a pension from the government on account of 



her husband's Revolutionary services. At the age 
of fifteen years he entered the Revolutionary 
Army, and saw much service. He enlisted July 
6, 1778, as a fifer, in Captain Simeon Brown's 
company, Colonel Wade's regiment, later became 
a sergeant in Captain Benjamin Peabody's com- 
pany, and was a member of the Thirty-first Divi- 
sion which marched in 1780 from Springfield, at 
this time described as being eighteen years of 
age, ruddy complexion, stature five feet, nine 
inches, enlisted from Bradford. He enlisted from 
Rowley, August 4, 1781, serving to November 27 
of that year as a fifer in Captain John Robinson's 
company, Colonel William Turner's regiment of 
five months' men, service in Rhode Island. His 
fourth daughter, Mary, became the wife of Daniel 
Smith, of Brownville, as previously noted. Their 
eldest child was Samuel Atwood Smith, born 
October 13, 1830, in Brownville; married, Jan- 
uary 8, 1860, Martha L. J'enks, born July 4, 1836, 
in Brownville, daughter of Eleazer Alley and 
Eliza (Brown) Jenks. Their youngest child was 
Edgar Crosby Smith, subject of this biography. 
Through his mother, Edgar C. Smith is de- 
scended from Joseph Jenks, one of the most 
prominent and active of the early Massachusetts 
immigrants, born in the neighborhood of Lon- 
don, and active in establishing the first iron 
works in America. His son John was the father 
of Captain John Jenks, of Lynn, Massachusetts, 
father of William R. Jenks, born May 29, 1749, 
at Lynn, the first to settle in Maine, locating at 
Portland, where he died. He was the father 
of Eleazer Alley Jenks, born in Portland, 
who married Clarina Parsons Greenleaf, of 
New Gloucester, Maine, born November 12, 
1779, in Newburyport, Massachusetts, died at 
Brownville, Maine, December 12, 1841. Their 
second son, Eleazer Alley (2) Jenks, married 
Eliza Brown, and was the father of Martha L. 
Jenks, wife of Samuel Atwood Smith, above 
noted. The Greenleaf family is one of the oldest 
in this country, descended from Edmund Green- 
leaf, born 1573, baptized January 2, 1574, died 
March 24, 1671. He came from England to Mas- 
sachusetts about 1635, was one of the original 
settlers of Newbury, the father of Stephen Green- 
leaf, baptized August 10, 1628, at St. Mary's 
in England, died December I, 1690, at Newbury. 
His third son, John Greenleaf, was the father of 
Daniel Greenleaf, grandfather of Hon. Jonathan 
Greenleaf, born in July, 1723, at Newbury, died 
there May 24, 1807. His son, Captain Moses 
Greenleaf, born May 19, 1755, at Newbury, died 
in New Gloucester, Maine, December 18, 1812. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



95 



He married Lydia Parsons, born April 3, 1755, 
died March 21, 1854, daughter of Rev. Jonathan 
and Phebe (Griswold) Parsons, of Newburyport. 
Phebe Griswold, daughter of Judge John Gris- 
wold, inherited the blood of the Griswolds and 
Walcotts, two of the most distinguished Con- 
necticut families which have supplied the country 
with twelve State Governors and thirty-six judges 
of the higher courts. The only daughter of 
Captain Moses Greenleaf was Clarina Parsons, 
born November 12, 1775, in Newburyport, who 
became the wife of Eleazer Alley Jenks, of pre- 
vious mention. 

Edgar Crosby Smith was born February 12, 
1870, at Brownville, and attended the common 
schools and East Maine Seminary at Bucksport. 
His first business experience was as clerk in a 
bank, and later he was employed in the office of 
the clerk of courts at Ellsworth, Maine. During 
this time he devoted his leisure to the study of 
law, and from July, 1891, to the spring of 1892 
he read law in the office of Miles W. Mclntosh, 
of Brownville. For two years he conducted a 
shoe store in that town, which he sold out in 
1894, and again engaged in the study of law 
with Mr. Mclntosh. On the removal of the 
latter to California, Mr. Smith purchased his law 
library and began practice. This was in 1895, 
the year of his admission to the bar. For two 
years he continued in independent practice, and 
removed to Dover, Maine, where he formed a 
partnership with Colonel J. B. Peaks. Four 
years later Mr. Smith was appointed judge of the 
Municipal Court, and continued to hold that posi- 
tion until it/ii. In the meantime he has engaged 
in gener.il practice. Mr. Smith's home is in Fox- 
croft. He has long been active as a political 
worker in the interest, first of good government, 
and second of the Republican party. For sev- 
eral years he served on the County Committee of 
his party, during two years of which time he 
was its chairman. He has filled various town 
offices, including that of tax collector for five 
years. While at Brownville he was superin- 
tendent of schools, and has served on the school 
board of Foxcroft. Mr. Smith has given much 
attention to historical research, is a member of 
the Maine Historical Society and Piscataquis 
Historical Society. He is the author of various 
monographs relating to State and local affairs, 
including "Life of Moses Greenleaf, the Map- 
maker," who plotted and executed and published 
the first map made by an inhabitant of Maine. 
He has also written a bibliography of the maps 
of Maine, and a history of the Revolutionary 
soldiers who settled in Piscataquis county. In 



1917 Judge Smith contributed to this work a 
chapter regarding the boundary contentions with 
the mother country as to the limits of Maine 
territory (see Chapter VII). Mr. Smith is 
active in various departments of the life of his 
home town, is a past master of Pleasant River 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, a member of 
Piscataquis Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, and 
of the order of the Royal Arcanum. Religiously 
he agrees with the tenets of the Congregational 
church. 

Mr. Smith married, January 18, 1893, Harriet 
M. Ladd, daughter of Daniel and Eliza (Chase) 
Ladd, of Garland, Maine, who died October 14, 
1917. He has one child, Martha Eliza, born 
May s, loor. 



GEORGE CROSWELL CRESSEY The 
Cressey family while not large is of old Colonial 
stock, and is scattered over most of the States 
of the Union, and has furnished many men of 
energy, activity and courage. The pioneer set- 
tler of the family in America was Mighill Cres- 
sey, who with his brother, William, landed in 
Salem, Massachusetts, probably in the year 1649. 
In 1658, when he was thirty years of age, he 
lived for a time in the family of Lieutenant 
Thomas Lathrop, afterwards Captain Lathrop, 
who with sixty of his soldiers during King 
Phillip's War fell at Bloody Brook, in Deerfield, 
Massachusetts. He afterwards lived in the family 
of Joshua Ray at "Royal Side," Salem, near 
Beverly, Massachusetts. Here he married, in 
1658, Mary, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
Bachelder, of "Royal Side." She was baptized 
at Salem, April 19, 1640, and died at the birth 
of her first born. Mighill removed to Ipswich, 
Massachusetts, in 1660, where he married (sec- 
ond), April 16, 1660, Mary Quilter, who was born 
in Ipswich, May 2, 1641, a daughter of Mark 
Quilter; and by his second wife Mighill Cressey 
had three children, Mighill, William and Mary. 
His death probably occurred at Ipswich about 
1671, as his widow with her three children moved 
to Rowley, Massachusetts, in April, 1671, and 
died in that town May 7, 1707. The Christian 
name is sometimes spelled "Michael" on the old 
records, but Mighill Cressey the immigrant 
spelled his name "Mighil Cresse." The surname 
of the family is of local derivation, from a town 
in France by that name, and there is, therefore, 
no doubt of its Anglo-Norman extraction. On 
various records the name is spelled in twenty- 
three different ways. 

From these two sons of Mighill and Mary 
(Quilter) Cressey, the Rowley's Massachusetts 



96 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



families are descended. John Cressey, one of 
these descendants, was born in Rowley, Mas- 
sachusetts, in the latter part of the eighteenth 
century. He was engaged in farming, was a 
Whig in politics and was a member of the 
Congregational church. He had a family of five 
sons and three daughters. His sons were 
Thomas, John, Nathaniel, Bradstreet, and George 
Washington. The last was born in Rowley, 
Massachusetts, December 10, 1810. He was a 
Trinitarian Congregational clergyman and was 
a member of the Republican party. He married 
Sarah Palmer, daughter of Dr. Samuel P. Cros- 
well, a resident of Boston, born in Falmouth, 
Massachusetts, in 1819, and died at Buxton, 
Maine, in 1856. The children by this marriage 
were George Bradstreet, who died in infancy; 
Mary Croswell Cressey, born September, 1853, 
and George Croswell Cressey, see below. Two 
years after the death of his wife, in 1856, he 
married Nancy Wentworth, of Buxton, Maine, 
who survived him. Rev. George Washington 
Cressey died in Buxton, Maine, February 12, 
1867. 

George Croswell Cressey, the youngest son 
and child of the Rev. George Washington and 
Sarah Palmer (Croswell) Cressey, was born at 
Buxton, Maine, April I, 1856. He obtained his 
preliminary education through private instruc- 
tion, entering the Bath High School at the age 
of eleven years, and graduated from Bowdoin 
College in 1875, receiving the degree of A.B. 
A year was then spent at the Yale University 
Graduate School. Mr. Cressey then went abroad 
and became a student at the University of Leip- 
zig, from which he was graduated in 1880. Re- 
turning to America he was from 1880 to 1882 
professor of modern languages at Washburn 
College, Topeka, Kansas. He was in the Yale 
Divinity School 1882-83, and in Andover Theo- 
logical Seminary in 1883-84, graduating from 
the latter in 1884. He entered the Unitarian 
ministry in that year and became pastor of the 
Unitarian Church, Bangor, Maine, where he re- 
mained in charge six years. He then received a 
call to the First Unitarian Church of Salem, 
Massachusetts, where six years were spent in the 
pastoral charge of that congregation. In 1896 
he became minister of the Unitarian Church of 
Northampton, Massachusetts, and after serving 
this congregation five years he was placed in 
pastoral charge of the Unitarian Church of Port- 
land, Oregon, where he remained over four 
years. The summers of 1892 and 1897 were spent 
in European travel. 



Dr. Cressey, in 1907, during a few weeks' rest 
in Europe, received a call to preach at the Effra 
Road Unitarian Church at London, England, and 
of this he had the charge for six years. During 
this period he was a delegate of both the Ameri- 
can Unitarian Association, and the British For- 
eign Unitarian Association at the National Lib- 
eral convention in Nymwegen, Holland. Re- 
turning to his native country, he became pastor 
of the Church of the Redeemer of New Brighton, 
Borough of Richmond, New York City, a posi- 
tion (1918) which he now fills. He was lecturer 
at the Unitarian College in Manchester, Eng- 
land, in 1912, and at the Meadville Theological 
School at Meadville, Pennsylvania, in 1914. He 
is the author of "Philosophy of Religion," 1892; 
"Mental Evolution," 1894; "The Essential Man," 
1895; "The Doctrine of Immortality in Liberal 
Thought," 1897; "Soul Power," 1899; "Outline of 
Unitarian Belief," 1905; "A Talk with Young 
People on Liberal Religious Thought," 1912; and 
numerous reviews, published sermons and ad- 
dresses. 

The honorary degree of A.M. was conferred 
upon him by Bowdoin College in 1873, and that 
of D.D. in 1899. The University of Leipzig in 
1880 gave him the degree of Ph.D. and in 1894 
this degree was conferred by the Wooster Uni- 
versity. He is a member of the college fraterni- 
ties, Delta Kappa Epsilon and Phi Beta Kappa, 
and for several years he has been a member of 
the Twentieth Century Club of Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. In his politics he is an Independent 
Democrat. 

Dr. Cressey married at Bangor, Maine, April 
19, 1888, Lilian A. Maling, a daughter of William 
H. and Joanna A. (White) Maling. Her father 
was a land and lumber merchant and she was 
born in Brewer, Maine, May 8, 1865. 



JAMES HERBERT DRUMMOND. The 

name of Drummond suggests men of science, 
theology, engineering skill and poetic genius in 
Sctoland. In the current encyclopedias we find 
Henry Drummond, F.R.S., F.G.S., LL.D. (1851- 
1897), theologian and scientist; Thomas Drum- 
mond (1797-1840), inventor of the Drummond 
light. William Drummond, of the Hawthorndale 
(1585-1641), poet, friend of Ben. Jonson and 
author of "Notes in Ben Jonson's Conversa- 
tion." 

The Drummonds are of Scotch origin, and 
date back to the clan Drummond, the Gaelic 
word for children, which had an organized exist- 
ence as early as 1070. There are perhaps twenty 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



97 



coats-of-arms in the clan, but the coat-of-arms 
which every Drummond is entitled to consists 
of a shield supported on each side by nude men 
with a huge club over the shoulder, the shield 
surmounted by a crown as a crest, with the 
motto "Gang Warily," which is the Scotch equiv- 
alent of "Be Cautious" or "Go Carefully." The 
colors are red, yellow, and green. Every High- 
land clan had its badge, taken from the forest 
or the flowers. The badge of the Drummonds 
is the wild thyme or the holly, both being used 
indifferently. The clan pipe music is a march 
with an unpronounceable Gaelic name which, 
translated into English, means "The Duke of 
Perth March." The clan tartan or plaid is a 
dark colored plaid in reddish brown, black, green, 
purple and yellow, the dark colors predominating. 
The present head of the clan is William Huntley 
Drummond, fifteenth Earl of Perth. The earl- 
dom of Perth has always been held by a Drum- 
mond, who has been the hereditary head of the 
clan since the earldom was established. Prior 
to the establishment of the earldom, the head 
of the clan held other titles, among the modern 
creations are the Earls of Kinnoul, Earls of 
Melfort, Viscount Strathallen, and, in France, 
the Dukes of Melfort. 

The clan Drummond were strong adherents of 
the House of Stuart in their struggles with the 
House of Hanover, and for generation after 
generation they had to flee the country, emi- 
grating to France and America, where many of 
its members were hung, drawn and quartered. 
It was not until 1853 that Queen Victoria re- 
stored the Drummond to all his rights and titles, 
out of which the family had been kept for sev- 
eral generations. One of the earliest martyrs 
to American liberty was that Drummond who 
followed Nathaniel Bacon in the famous outbreak 
in 1676 in Virginia. A peculiar feature of the 
Drummond family is that, unlike so many other 
Scotch clans, it never has been domiciled to any 
extent in England, and only to a slight extent 
in Ireland, and every research of any family 
goes back to the Scotch clan. 

Alexander Drummond, the progenitor of the 
Drummonds in America, was born in Scotland 
and emigrated to Ireland, locating in Cappa. He 
was a Scotch Presbyterian by faith and inherit- 
ance, and on his emigration to New England, in 
1729, with a family of children and grandchil- 
dren, he and his family were fully imbued with 
the religious views of that sort. He buried his 
wife in Ireland before he undertook the journey, 
and his family consisted of two sons, Patrick 
and James, a daughter, Frances, married to Alex- 



ander Campbell; a daughter Mary, a widow of 
one Kneely, or Nealy or McNeil, and her two 
daughters, Margaret and Jane. This pioneer's 
object in emigrating from the old country was 
to find a freedom that Scotland or Ireland did 
not afford. He located in Georgetown (which 
is now Bath), Maine, at a place known as Chopps, 
at the mouth of the Kcnnebec river, not far from 
Dodge Ferry. His life in this locality was of 
short duration, as he was killed at an advanced 
age by the falling of a tree in the winter of 
1730. 

Patrick Drurrrtnond, the son of Alexander 
Drummond, was born at Cappa, Ireland, June 
II, 1694. The inscription on his tombstone is 
"In Memory of Patrick Drummond, Esquire, 
who was born at Cappa, Ireland, June n, 1694, 
came with his brother and two sisters to Amer- 
ica in A. D., 1729, and died at Georgetown, De- 
cember 28, 1761, aged 67 years." Patrick was 
married when he came to America, but the only 
thing known of his wife is that her name was 
Margaret. His children by this wife were as 
follows: i. Ann, who married Rev. William Mc- 
Lanahan. 2. Margaret, born in Georgetown; 
married William Campbell. 3. Elijah, married 
Ann Butler. Patrick Drummond's second wife 
was Susanna, daughter of the Rev. Robert Ruth- 
erford, a Scotch Presbyterian clergyman, who 
was a pioneer preacher of that denomination 
who settled in Maine, east of the Kennebec 
river, and of the same family that gave to Scot- 
land Samuel Rutherford (1600-1661), the theo- 
logian controversialist, silenced for preaching 
against the article of Perth and banished to 
Aberdeen, 1636, Rector of St. Andrew's Uni- 
versity, and commissioner to the Westminster 
Assembly. The children by the marriage of Pat- 
rick and Susanna (Rutherford) Drummond were 
as follows: I. Jane, born July 27, 1741, and 
married Alexander Drummond. 2. John, of fur- 
ther mention. 3. Mary, born November 4, 1747, 
and died in childhood. 4. Catherine or Catrin, 
born November 8, 1749, and died August 25, 1750. 
5. Leteitia or Letters, born April 8, 1753; mar- 
ried James McFadden. 6. Nancy or Ann, born 
July 6, 1755; married John Campbell. 7. Eliza- 
beth, who died young. Mrs. Susanna (Ruther- 
ford) Drummond died July 12, 1771, in her forty- 
ninth year. 

John Drummond, son of Patrick and Susanna 
(Rutherford) Drummond, was born in George- 
town, Maine, September 27, 1744, and married 
Mary, daughter of Daniel and Margaret (Stim- 
son) McFadden. Their children were Ruther- 
ford and John. He died in Georgetown, Maine, 



ME. 17 



98 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



September 10, 1771. The headstone over his 
grave was taken from the old graveyard, which 
had become a pasture, in 1884, and removed to 
the Drummond cemetery in Winslow, Maine, 
where it was placed by that of his wife. 

Rutherford Drummond, eldest son of John and 
Mary (McFadden) Drummond, was born at 
Georgetown, Maine, October 20, 1770. By the 
death of his father when he was an infant it 
involved on his widowed mother to care for him 
and his brother John. They remained in their 
native town until they became of age, when they 
sold their real estate and sought a new home 
near Seven Mile Brook, in Anson, Maine. Here 
they cleared a farm, planted a large field of 
corn that gave promise of an abundant crop, 
but an early frost in August killed their crops 
and blighted their hopes. Discouraged, the 
young farmers abandoned their farm, and going 
down the river Rutherford, located, on July 24, 
1795, on the most northern farm in Vassalboro, 
Maine, next to the town line of Winslow, on 
the river road. His brother John, who was the 
great-grandfather of the late James H. Drum- 
mond, was a leading attorney in Portland, Maine, 
and a prominent member of the Masonic order. 
His farm was located on the banks of the river 
in the town of Winslow, just one mile north of 
his brother's farm. Rutherford Drummond sub- 
sequently removed to Sidney, Maine. He mar- 
ried Rebecca Davis. Of their ten children, all but 
John, who died in infancy, reached maturity. 
They were James, Albert, Alfred, Robert, Joshua, 
Nancy, Olive, Eliza and Jane. 

The first named, James Drummond, was born 
in Sidney, Maine, married Sophronia Thomas. 
Their children were James, Rutherford, George 
Lincoln, Harriet, Olive, Eliza and Frances; all 
these excepting the last named, who died at the 
age of nineteen years, married and reared fami- 
lies. James Drummond died, March 14, 1874, at 
the age of seventy-five years and four days. 

George Lincoln Drummond, son of James and 
Sophronia (Thomas) Drummond, was born at 
Winslow, Maine, August 17, 1832. He married, 
July 2, 1859, Mary Partridge Murphy, born at 
Bristol, Maine, July 24, 1840. He followed the 
pursuit of farming, was a member of the Metho- 
dist church, and a Republican in politics. The 
children of George Lincoln and Mary Partridge 
(Murphy) Drummond were: I. Fessenden C., 
born July I, 1860. 2. Lola Mary, born January 
13, 1862; married, September 25, 1908, - 
Stanley, of Iron River, Wisconsin. 3. James 
Herbert, see below. 4. Flora, born July 19, 1868, 



died September 19, 1871. 5. Cora L., born Janu- 
ary 20, 1872; married, June 12, 1899, Leonard J. 
Arey. 6. Alton H., born March 26, 1875, died 
February 17, 1890. 7. George Wilfred, born 
August 6, 1877, died October 6, 1892. 8. Grace E., 
born September 4, 1880; married, March 25, 1916, 
Theodore Thompson, of Riverside, Maine. 9. 
Ernest W., born March 15, 1884; married, Decem- 
ber i, 1914, Bertha Ladd, of Waterville, Maine. 
George Lincoln Drummond died at Winslow, 
Maine, October 16, 1886. His wife's death oc- 
curred at the same place, July 8, 1913. 

James Herbert Drummond, the third child of 
George Lincoln and Mary Partridge (Murphy) 
Drummond, was born at Winslow, Kennebec 
county, Maine, November 23, 1865. On the ma- 
ternal side he is descended from Peter McMur- 
phy, who was his great-grandfather. Peter Mc- 
Murphy was one of the early pioneers of the 
country and was engaged in the Indian and 
Revolutionary wars. He had a series of stirring 
adventures during his Indian campaigns, being 
more than once a prisoner, compelled to run the 
gauntlet, condemned to be burned at the stake; 
and survived all these to become the founder of 
a family. One of his sons, William Murphy, mar- 
ried Mary Jameson, whose mother was a Wads- 
worth, and a sister of Henry Wadsworth Long- 
fellow's mother, so that Mr. Drummond is re- 
lated in a degree to the great poet. Hiram Mur- 
phy, son of William Murphy, and grandfather of 
subject, married Margaret Mclntyre, daughter 
of Colonel William Mclntyre, of Revolutionary 
fame. The martial spirit of the sons by this 
marriage, who inherited the same spirit of ad- 
venture that characterized the earlier generations, 
were asserted in serving in the Civil War and in 
the later Indian troubles in the West. 

Mr. Drummond spent his early days on a farm, 
receiving a good common school education in the 
schools of his native town, and also attended the 
Oak Grove Seminary at Vassalboro, Maine. He 
left his native State in 1888, animated by the 
spirit of his pioneer ancestors to improve his 
fortune in the western country- Locating at 
Iron River, Wisconsin, he secured a claim of 
government land, which was heavily timbered, 
and in time became valuable. He served a hard 
apprenticeship in this northern part of Wiscon- 
sin, being a hunter, trapper and lumberman, and 
had several narrow escapes from the wolves, 
which were numerous in that country. While liv- 
ing in this section of the country he read law, 
learned how to estimate lumber, did a good deal 
of work for different lumber companies, handled 




4 /aJi" 



& 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



99 



lands on commission and finally secured financial 
backing which enabled him to lay the foundation 
of his fortune. At the breaking out of the Span- 
ish-American War, he enlisted in the Fourth 
Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry and was made a 
sergeant in Company K. The Fourth Wis- 
consin went into camp at Anniston, Alabama, 
and were mustered out of the State's service on 
the last day of February, 1899, without being 
ordered to the front. Mr. Drummond on re- 
ceiving his discharge commenced to explore 
lands and investigate lumber propositions in the 
South. He visited Georgia, Florida, Alabama, 
Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas and Arkansas. He 
then went North and was instrumental in organ- 
izing a company to buy timber lands in Florida, 
making his headquarters at Blountstown, in that 
State, but later removed to St. Andrew. The 
company he organized acquired large tracts of 
timber land in Florida, and his judgment as pur- 
chaser has been fully justified by the increase in 
value of their holdings. In a few years prices 
advanced so for timbered land in Florida that 
he turned his attention to British Columbia and 
became interested in the timber in that section, 
and through his efforts the Cascade Timber Com- 
pany, a Wisconsin corporation, was formed. This 
company made heavy investments in timber lands 
in British Columbia, and Mr. Drummond became 
treasurer of the company. Though he is a large 
stockholder in the Florida and Wisconsin cor- 
porations, he is also heavily interested in other 
tracts of timber lands. 

In his effort to build up and also develop his 
residential city, St. Andrew, Florida, he became 
interested in banking, commercial and mercantile 
business of that city. He is president of the 
Bank of St. Andrew; president of the St. An- 
drew's Ice & Power Company; president of the 
Bay Fisheries Company, and a member of the 
Ware Mercantile Company. He served for the 
first four years as mayor of the incorporated 
city of St. Andrew. He is vice-president-at- 
large of the Mississippi to Atlantic Inland Water- 
way from Boston to the Rio Grande, an im- 
portant part of which will be a canal through 
Georgia, known as the Woodrow Wilson Canal, 
a survey for which is being made (1917). 

Mr. Drummond is a member of the Masonic 
order, the Knights of Pythias, and a Grange, 
located at Winslow, Maine, of the Patrons of 
Husbandry. He married, October I, 1002, at St. 
Andrew, Florida, Grace Edith, daughter of Henry 
Fisher and Margaret Mellville (Smith) Day. 
Mrs. Drummond also comes from pioneer stock. 



She was born at Frcdonia, Minnesota, Decem- 
ber 15, 1877. Her father, a Civil War veteran, 
was born February 3, 1825, and married Mar- 
garet Mellville Smith, who was born February 
22, 1836. They were pioneers in Minnesota, and 
migrated from that State to Florida. The chil- 
dren of James Herbert and Grace Edith (Day) 
Drummond are: James Herbert, Jr., born March 
ii, 1905; Charles Day, born August 19, 1910. 
Mr. Drummond is yet in the prime of life; he 
has already accomplished great things, and is now 
in position to do even greater ones. He has 
never hesitated to incur any hardship in the 
carrying out of his plans, and on one occasion, 
with his younger brother and a few Indians, 
traveled on foot one hundred and seventy-five 
miles into the wilderness of British Columbia, 
carrying their packs on their backs. The record 
of the life and antecedents of Mr. Drummond is 
a worthy example in a marked degree why the 
American people have accomplished great results. 
Their pioneer forefathers had to contend with 
difficulties that made men of them and they 
transmitted to their descendants such virility 
that made them equal to meet any difficulty 
which might arise in the prosecution of their 
plans. The Drummonds have been lumbermen, 
farmers, lawyers and bankers, and have without 
exception lived up to the family motto of "Gang 
Warily." 



HENRY E. PALMER The story of the life 
of the late Henry E. Palmer, of Bath, Maine, 
who, during a career of almost sixty years, was 
a business man of wide reputation in this region, 
was one of steady and persistent effort towards 
worthy ambitions, and of the success which, step 
by step, was won by his industry and talent. 
Occupying a recognized and enviable position 
among the prominent citizens of Bath, he might 
point with prfde to the fact that he had gained 
this place owing to no favor or mere accident, 
but to his own native ability and sound judgment, 
and by the indefatigable endeavors with which 
he pressed ever onward to his objective. High 
ideals were coupled in him with that force of 
character and tenacity of purpose which must 
inevitably bring forth fruit in well-merited suc- 
cess. Mr. Palmer was a member of a family 
which settled in this country during the earliest 
Colonial period, and the members of which have 
ever since maintained a high place in the esteem 
of their fellow-citizens and distinguished them- 
selves in many different callings and departments 
of the community's affairs. It was founded in 



100 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



America by two brothers who came from Not- 
tinghamshire, England, in 1629, in one of the six 
ships under the direction of John Endicott, and 
landed at Salem. Abraham and Walter Palmer 
were among the Puritans who made a temporary 
home in the two towns of Charlestown and Reho- 
both, but later, in 1653, settled at Stonington, 
Connecticut. Walter Palmer, from whom Henry 
E. Palmer was descended, was the father of 
twelve children, and in many ways was a very 
striking personality. It is told of him that he 
was about six feet in height, weighed over three 
hundred pounds, and his voice seems to have 
carried much influence with his fellow-townsmen. 
It was at his house that the first religious services 
at Stonington were held. 

(II) Nehemiah Palmer, son of Walter Palmer, 
was born in the year 1637, and died in 1717. 
He was married in 1662 to Hannah Stanton and 
among their children was Nathan, mentioned 
below. 

(Ill) Dr. Nathan Palmer, son of Nehemiah 
and Hannah (Stanton) Palmer, was born in 1711 
and died in 1795. He married Phebe Billings and 
they were the parents of Captain Asa Palmer, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Captain Asa Palmer, son of Dr. Nathan 
and Phebe (Billings) Palmer, was born in the 
year 1742. His life was passed amid the stirring 
times preceding the Revolution and during that 
historic struggle, in which he played a prominent 
part. He was captain of a privateer and dis- 
tinguished himself in that most hazardous service, 
one of his achievements being the capture of a 
British brig laden with supplies for the army, 
which he diverted and managed to send to Wash- 
ington's troops at Valley Forge. In 1802 he 
came to Bath, Maine, and there settled, his death 
occurring eighteen years later at his new home. 
His grave is now marked by the Daughters of 
the American Revolution and his name thus fit- 
tingly honored. Captain Palmer married, in 1776, 
Lois Stanton, and among their children was Asa 
Palmer, Jr., the father of the Mr. Palmer of 
this sketch. 

(V) Asa Palmer, son of Captain Asa and Lois 
(Stanton) Palmer, was born at Stonington, Con- 
necticut, in the year 1791, and was eleven years 
of age when he accompanied his parents to Bath, 
Maine, where the remainder of his life was spent. 
Upon reaching manhood he opened a general 
mercantile establishment in the town. When 
his seven children were growing up he bought 
a farm in Gorham, Maine, thinking it would be 
better for his four boys. He lived on the farm 



until 1853, when he moved to Gorham village, 
and lived there until the death of his wife, in 
1864, when he returned to Bath. He was a man 
of high principles and ability and was much re- 
spected and esteemed here. His death occurred 
in 1873, at the advanced age of eighty-two 
years and three months. Asa Palmer married, 
May 21, 1826, Maria Hyde, a native of Lebanon, 
where she was born in 1796, and they were the 
parents of Henry E. Palmer, with whose career 
we are especially concerned. 

(VI) Born January 27, 1829, at Bath, Maine, 
Henry E. Palmer spent his childhood in the home 
of his birth. This was the old house on Center 
street, which is now used for business purposes, 
and is occupied by the Atlantic & Pacific Tea 
Company and Allen's Candy Store. He attended 
as a lad the private school of Miss Lee, for 
whom he gained the deepest affection and devo- 
tion, and who seems to have been a woman of 
charming personality and much talent in her pro- 
fession. He later attended the Gorham Academy 
for Boys, but at the age of sixteen left his 
studies to begin the task of earning his own 
livelihood. Mr. Palmer did not serve the long 
apprenticeship that most lads must do in the 
employ of others, but in spite of his youth, em- 
barked upon a business venture of his own, and 
opened a small grocery store on the northwest 
corner of Water and Center streets. He was 
successful from the outset, but did not continue 
in this line a great while, as he saw an oppor- 
tunity to engage in the dry goods business on a 
larger scale. In his new venture he was asso- 
ciated with William Ledyard directly across, the 
street from his first store, where larger quarters 
were to be had. Success again waited upon his 
enterprise and the business grew so rapidly that 
within a few years larger quarters were again 
necessary, and a new building was erected a short 
distance to the east of the original place and 
here the firm continued under the name of Led- 
yrxrd & Palmer for a number of years. Eventu- 
ally Mr. Ledyard withdrew from the association 
and Mr. Palmer's brother, Gershom Palmer, be- 
came his partner. In 1868 this partnership was 
dissolved and for a time Mr. Palmer was the 
sole owner of the business. Shortly afterwards 
he admitted into partnership Mr. William Pen- 
dexter, the firm becoming Henry E. Palmer & 
Company, and its successful career was continued 
under this name until 1890, when Mr. Palmer 
finally retired and sold his interest to his asso- 
ciate. This move on the part of Mr. Palmer did 
not, however, mean that he gave up all his busi- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



101 



ness activities for a life of leisure. On the con- 
trary, he was quite as busy as ever, only that he 
then devoted all his time and attention to his 
real estate and banking interests, of which he 
had many. He was affiliated with a number of 
financial institutions in this region and wielded 
a decided influence in the business world. For 
twenty-five years he was a director of the First 
National Bank of Bath, and for six years a 
trustee of the Bath Savings Institution, while 
shortly before his death the newly-organized 
Bath Trust Company appointed him to its board 
of trustees. His investments in real estate were 
also large and made with a degree of foresight 
and sound judgment that seemed never to be 
wrong and betokened a careful study of the situa- 
tion in the city, as well as a high degree of 
natural perspicacity. That he was successful is 
no unique distinction, but that he was as success- 
ful as he was, and that without overriding the 
rights and interest of others, or ever forgetting 
the welfare of the community at large, that was 
indeed an achievement of which to be proud. 
In a memorial address delivered by the Rev. 
David L. Yale at the time of Mr. Palmer's death, 
Mr. Yale referred to his business career in these 
words: 

I need not speak of Mr. Palmer as a business 
man. The messages I have read from his busi- 
ness associates are sufficient. Recall the words 
they have used of him. 

"Rare good judgment, free from, hypocrisy, 
correct principles, courage, intelligence, industry, 
thrift, just, faithful, fine straightforward honesty, 
exemplary, kindly, sterling. The best type of 
New England civilization." 

A man who lived for fifty-eight years in the 
business life of Bath, winning unusual financial 
success, and at the close have both associates and 
competitors speak thus of him, was not an ordi- 
nary man. 

In addition to his business activities, Mr. 
Palmer was a participant in local public affairs 
and no man in the community was listened to 
with more respect than he on questions of mu- 
nicipal policy. He was a member of the Repub- 
lican party and a staunch supporter of its prin- 
ciples, and when the local organization desired 
him to be its candidate for membership in the 
city government, he accepted. As a- matter of 
fact he was quite without political ambition, and 
derived no personal satisfaction from his excur- 
sion into politics, being moved to do so purely 
from a sense of duty. He lived in the community, 
and was benefited by the circumstances of its 
life, and he felt that if his fellow-citizens wanted 
some of his time and energies in return he had 
no right to refuse. Men of this sort make the 
best type of public servants, because the element 



of self-interest is entirely removed from their 
official acts, leaving them free to consider only 
the advantage of the community, and Mr. Palmer 
was a fine example of this truth. During the 
several years in which he served as a member of 
the city government he exerted his influence con- 
sistently on the side of reform and improvement, 
and was responsible for much of the progress 
that was made during that period. 

No notice of the life of Mr. Palmer would be 
in any way complete that did not take into con- 
sideration his religious experience, which played 
a more considerable part in it than is the case 
with most men. He was a Congregationalist and 
attended for many years the Central Church of 
that denomination at Bath. For more than half 
a century his membership lasted, and during 
practically all that long period he was active in 
the work of the church and officially connected 
with it in somie capacity. For twenty years he 
was a teacher in the Sunday school, and for 
eighteen years following he was superintendent 
thereof, while he occupied the honorable office 
of deacon for a quarter of a century, always giv- 
ing of his time and fortune to whatever need 
arose in the congregation. It is possible, how- 
ever, to be all these things and yet lack true 
religion, and Mr. Palmer's claim to be truly 
religious does not rest on these facts alone. In 
the sermon of the Rev. Mr. Yale, already quoted 
from, there occurs the following passage, which, 
coming from the lips of his pastor, carries addi- 
tional weight: 

It is unnecessary to say that Deacon Palmer 
was a religious man. One needed but to hear 
the prayers he offered to know that he "walked 
with God." 

His religious life and professions were notably 
free from all shams and cant. His words in 
prayer and religious conservation were straight- 
forward. Long ago he had "left the God of 
things as they seem, for the God of things as 
they are." 

Only once has he opened the chambers of his 
religious life to me. It was few weeks ago. 
We were returning from a home where we had 
administered the sacrament of baptism to a 
dying girl. As we talked slowly along through 
the night he began to talk of the life to come 
and of the close and vital relation between this 
life and the next. 

He spoke as a man of many years who was 
looking forward to his own transition. 

His words contained that sweet reasonableness 
and calm assurance which come only from reli- 
gious knowledge, translated by years of life into 
a large and living faith. 

I knew, that night, that the best prize this 
world and these years can bestow on any man 
had been given to him. 

He was one of that great multitude who dwell 
in the secret place of the Most High and who 



102 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



abide under the shadow of the Almighty. 

In the matter of his charity and personal self- 
sacrifice in the interest of others, the sincerity of 
his religious feelings shone forth. Of this side 
of his character Mr. Yale had the following to 
say: 

Deacon Palmer was an unselfish man. 

For many years he gave one-tenth of his in- 
come to religious and benevolent work. 

More than that, he gave himself. 

Think what he has given to our Sunday school. 
For more than twenty years he was a teacher, 
an office demanding much time and strength for 
study and preparation as well as for teaching. 

Recall the eighteen years given to the manage- 
ment of the Sunday school as its superintendent, 
filling an office that makes large demands on a 
man's time and physical and mental strength. 

Few have known of his unselfishness as deacon 
of the church. Not a few evenings during those 
last four years has he left the comforts of home 
and gone out sometimes into the wet or cold that 
he might attend the routine of church busi- 
ness. . . . 

That is a partial record of his unselfishness. A 
half century of regular and generous giving of 
himself, for others, always without pay, often 
without thanks. His gifts in money were gener- 
ous, but his gift of himself was more. 

Henry Edwin Palmer was united in marriage, 
July 15, 1856, with Miss Fannie Cushman, a na- 
tive of Brunswick, Maine, where she was born 
January 12, 1837, and a daughter of Dr. Solomon 
Paddleford and Harriet (Whitney) Cushman. 
highly respected residents of Brunswick. Mrs. 
Palmer's mother, Harriet Whitney, was a native 
of Maine, but was sent to Cambridge, Massachu- 
setts, to finish her education, and lived while 
there in the Craigy house, which afterward be- 
came the home of Longfellow. Three children 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Palmer, as follows: 
Annie Ledyard, who resides in the old Palmer 
home; Hattie Cushman and Asa Hyde, both of 
whom died in infancy. Mrs. Palmer's death oc- 
curred April 20, 1910. 

This brief sketch cannot end more appropri- 
ately than in the words of two of Mr. Palmer's 
old friends and associates, who spoke of him at 
the time of his death. The first of these is 
James C. Ledyard, of Bath, who wrote: 

Our late brother, Henry E. Palmer, of whose 
fellowship we have so recently been deprived, 
and whose absence from his accustomed place 
in our midst we note with sorrow and regret. 

As a son and youth he was obedient and sub- 
missive to authority, a lover of the woods, fields 
and the sea, fond of those sports, hunting, boat- 
ing and fishing, that brought him more closely 
into contact with nature, of which he was an 
appreciative admirer. 

As a young man he was upright, considerate, 



industrious, and, as the years passed on, these 
characteristics became the fixed habits of thought 
and action to the end. 

As a church member he was consistent in his 
living, steadfast in his belief, seeking to promote 
the well-being of his fellow-men, contributing 
by his presence and his means to the support and 
spreading of the Gospel of the Lord Jesus, dis- 
charging all duties without ostentation, and in 
the love of righteousness, his was a notably 
worthy life. 

The other tribute is from the Rev. Mr. Yale, 
already quoted from: 

I have mentioned certain facts of Deacon 
Palmer's life and character which show him to 
have been a remarkable man. 

Beginning more than half a century ago, he has 
used his time well. He has used it intelligently 
and for essentials. 

He has lived to an unusual degree an unselfish 
life, giving his money and himself freely for 
others. 

He has sought convictions on great matters 
of life and duty, and gaining them, has wrought 
them into his character and deeds. 

The secret of it all is to be found in this. 
More than half a century ago, under the ministry 
of Dr. Ray Palmer, he became a Christian. He 
accepted Christ as his Teacher of whom he should 
learn, as his Master whom he should obey, and 
as his Savior whom he should trust and love. 

During all the years that followed Christ has 
been a personal force in his life, and has made 
it of the fashion that it was. 

It is not the build and equipment of a ship 
that guarantees its safe arrival at the harbor, far 
away across the ocean, but rather the captain 
that is in command. 

They are not its human qualities, however ex- 
cellent, that guarantee the safe arrival of a soul, 
in the Harbor of Heavenly Rest, but rather the 
Christ who is in command. 

The secret of his successful life is this. Fifty- 
five years ago Henry E. Palmer asked Christ to 
take command. 



OLNEY DEWEY BLISS Beyond doubt, 
talents and abilities run through generation after 
generation of a family and are inherited directly 
from father to son. The case of Olney Dewey 
Bliss, president of the well-known Bliss College 
of Lewiston, Maine, who comes of a family of 
educators, well exemplifies this. He is not a 
native of Lewiston, having come from Ohio to 
this place in the year 1897, and it was in Ohio 
he was born and resided for a number of years. 

Olney Dewey Bliss is a son of Frank Lee 
Bliss, a native of Conneaut, Ohio. Mr. Bliss, Sr., 
was possessed of those particular talents which 
qualify a man for teaching, and was in addition 
a remarkable organizer, so that the several 
schools which he founded met with a high degree 
of success. While comparatively a young man, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



103 



lie went to Michigan and in the town of Sagi- 
naw founded the Bliss system of schools, at the 
head of which he remained for a number of years. 
He later returned to his native town of Con- 
neaut, where he remained a number of years, and 
in 1897 came to Lewiston, Maine, where with his 
son, Olney Dewey Bliss, he founded the Bliss 
Business College. His death occurred very 
shortly after in the same year, about three 
months after the school was opened. Mr. Bliss 
married Rose Elizabeth Thompson, like himself 
a native of Conneaut, Ohio. Mrs. Bliss died De- 
cember 14, 1915, in California. 

Born November 30, 1879, at Conneaut, Ohio, 
Olney Dcwey Bliss passed his childhood and 
early youth in his native town. For the pre- 
liminary portion of his education he attended the 
local public schools, from which he was gradu- 
ated with the class of 1894. He then became a 
student in Bliss College at Columbus, Ohio, where 
he studied for about a year and was graduated 
in 1895. Two years later he accompanied his 
father to Lewiston, Maine, and aided the elder 
man in the foundation of the now celebrated 
Bliss College there. After his father's death, Mr. 
Bliss became sole owner and manager of this 
institution and to the present day occupies the 
position of president thereof. He has made the 
school his life's work and endeavored to realize 
in it the very best educational ideals and striven 
to make it serve that most important of pur- 
poses, the training of young men and women in 
those departments of knowledge which have an 
immediate and practical application in the daily 
affairs of life. In this effort Mr. Bliss has met 
with a phenomenal success, and the school has 
become well known through a larpe part of New 
England as affording an excellent education for 
those desiring a complete knowledge of business, 
commercial and financial matters. In the pros- 
pectus of this college, Mr. Bliss- has published 
what he considers to be the five things requisite 
to a successful business college. They are as 
follows: 

First: The equipment should be thorough and 
should include every modern office appliance and 
machine, and the courses of study should be so 
complete as to permit of the most efficient in- 
struction in every detail of business training. 

Second: The teachers you will have to instruct 
you. If they are not thorough and capable, no 
student can reach his highest efficiency. 

Third: The surroundings and environments 
play a big part in the success of a student's 
work. The lighting and ventilation are impor- 
tant. 

Fourth: The standing of the college in the 



business community its ability to take care of 
you, and place you in a position of responsibility 
and trust after you have completed the course. 

Fifth: The financial responsibility to meet its 
obligations a college that is assured of perma- 
nency. 

The Bliss College qualifies highly, as tested by 
every one of these criterions, and the work that 
it has done already and is now doing is an ex- 
ceedingly valuable one for the community, to 
say nothing of the individual student who profits 
by its training. Mr. Bliss has this same advice, 
commingled with much valuable information, for 
those who would receive this type of education: 

A real business training can be acquired in a 
High Grade Business College. That the Bliss 
College is such a school needs no affirmation. 
Its reputation as an institution in which to train 
students for banking positions, as expert account- 
ants, for private secretaryships, for the civil ser- 
vice, for railroad office positions, as expert 
stenographers, as court reporters, as commercial 
and shorthand teachers, has become a national 
one. 

Business men send their sons and daughters 
to Bliss College because they know we have the 
teaching force and the facilities to develop the 
business instinct. Our young men become busi- 
ness men, for bookkeeping is but a part of a 
broad business course which not only includes 
business law and business customs, but lessons 
in salesmanship and business efficiency as well. 
Lectures and discussions by prominent, success- 
ful salesmen and business men put enthusiasm 
into our young people. We place these students 
in first-class positions. They go into the busi- 
ness world with confidence and so the success 
of Bliss graduates becomes our greatest adver- 
tisement. 

Attend the Bliss College and you will be taught 
by the Actual Business System, not only in the 
Business Department, but in the Shorthand De- 
partment also, secure a real business training. 
It will mean success. 

We are convinced, after years of experience 
jn educating young people for business, that there 
is only one practical result-getting system of 
teaching, and this is the office system. Theory 
will not suffice. You must learn by doing the 
work. In this respect, The Bliss System of Ac- 
tual Business almost approaches perfection. 

The Actual Business System will not work in 
a small school. There must be a large number 
of students present to properly illustrate business 
transactions and represent business on a small 
scale. This is why small schools fail. The work 
of small schools, from the very nature of things, 
must be theoretical and superficial, and, further- 
more, the school located in a small city cannot 
find positions for graduates. Asked by business 
men where you attended school, you will refer, 
with satisfaction and pride, to the fact that you 
were graduated from a school of national repu- 
tation. This will impress any employer and 
insure you consideration when you apply for a 



104 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



position. You will be given opportunity to dem- 
onstrate your ability. Your application will be 
accepted. 

It is to your interest to have the very best 
training, for the kind of training you receive will 
determine your success. 

Make up your mind that no matter how far 
you must go, or what you must sacrifice, you 
should attend the school that will develop your 
best Possibilities. 

The curriculum of the school is varied and 
complete and takes the student not only through 
those branches which are necessary to all busi- 
nesses, but into many special departments, and 
carries on his practical education to almost any 
point that he may desire penmanship, spelling, 
commercial arithmetic, rapid calculation, audit- 
ing, corporation accounting and commercial law 
are all included, and yet it is possible for the 
really ambitious student to gain an excellent 
knowledge of whatever subject he chooses to 
take up in so short a time as from six to ten 
months, a knowledge which will well fit him to 
begin that most serious of all of life's activities, 
the making of a livelihood. In connection with 
the time that it requires to complete a course in 
this school, the following from the prospectus 
is of interest and value: 

The time to complete the Business Course 
varies according: First, to the age of the stu- 
dent; second, to his previous education and 
knowledge of business affairs; third, to the men- 
tal ability and application of the student; fourth, 
to the rapidity and quality of his handwriting; 
fifth, to his knowledge of and accuracy in cal- 
culations; sixth, to the degree of correctness, 
order and system with which he performs the 
various duties of the student bookkeeper; 
seventh, to the amount of systematic and 
thoughtful home study done. These elements 
considered, the time varies from six to ten 
months. 

By those who have taken courses in the Bliss 
courses and have since gone out into the world, 
there is expressed a universal approbation of the 
school and what it stands for. Among these 
many well-known and successful business men 
and men of affairs have expressed themselves 
definitely upon this point and the quality of their 
praise may be seen from the letter of Mr. George 
VV. Goss, cashier of the First National Bank of 
Lewiston, which follows: 

Bliss Business College, Lewiston, Maine: 

Our Bank is at the present time employing 
five of your graduates, and I find them to be 
just as recommended, exceptionally well-trained, 
and equipped with a business education suiting 
them to meet the demands of modern business. 
Quite often your graduates, direct from the 
school, impress one that they have had business 



experience, which is due to the fact that your 
school gives practical office training as part of 
its courses, and that your teachers are specialists 
in their departments. You certainly have my 
heartiest endorsement, as I know the great good 
you are doing the young men and women of 
Maine, and the benefit you are to the business 
public. (Signed.) 

Another who adds his contribution to this 
chorus of praise is Mr. E. E. Parker, cashier of 
the Manufacturers' National Bank of Lewiston, 
who says: 

My dear Mr. Bliss: 

It affords me a great pleasure to testify to the 
work of Bliss College in this day and community. 
The beneficiaries of your college are wielding a 
great influence in the business world today on 
account of the knowledge given in your most 
excellent school of modern business training. We 
have a number of your graduates in our bank 
and they are worthy examples of careful business 
training. I congratulate you on your success in 
equipping young men and women for business 
life, and I know that a great many more would 
avail themselves of the opportunity of attending 
your school could they but be made to realize 
the importance of a practical, not theoretical, 
business education, and the opportunity afforded 
a well-trained young man or woman. (Signed.) 

One of the most valued tributes is that of 
Mr. Bert M. Fernald, United States Senator from 
Maine, who has this to say: 
My dear Mr. Bliss: 

I understand that you are about to issue several 
circulars in the near future, regarding your insti- 
tution. 

I desire to take advantage of this in saying 
that I have known many of your students who 
have attended your school, and several of them 
have been in my employ, and I cannot express 
to you the satisfaction it gives me in recommend- 
ing your school as among the best in the State. 
My son attended some years since, and he as 
well as myself was much pleased with the prog- 
ress he made. 

What is thought of the Bliss College by other 
institutions of learning may be gathered from the 
following quotations from various authorities as- 
sociated with important schools and institutions 
throughout the country: 

Mr. H. W. Behnke, president Behnke-Walker 
Business College, Portland, Oregon. "We believe 
the Bliss System of Actual Business is without 
a peer in preparing young men and women for 
first-class positions." 

Mr. W. F. M,athews, principal, commercial de- 
partment, Beloit, Wisconsin, Business College. 
"I will say that I find the Bliss System the most 
actual, thorough and up-to-date system pub- 
lished." 

Mr. A. K. Burke, Kirksville, Missouri, Business 
College. "The best system of bookkeeping on 
the market today is the 'Bliss,' and bookkeepers 




BIOGRAPHICAL 



105 



who arc trained under it do not have to learn 
all over again when they go into an office." 

Mr. W. O. Davis, president Davis Business 
and Shorthand School, of Erie, Pennsylvania. 
"The longer we use your system the better 
pleased we are with it. Our students are doing 
some remarkable work and we feel that we have 
every reason to recommend the Bliss system." 

Mr. A. J. Parks, Woonsocket, Rhode Island, 
Business University. "Our school has increased 
over double the attendance of that last year at 
this time, and the Bliss System seems very in- 
teresting to our students. Mr. Bellows and my- 
self both enjoy the work." 

Mr. Charles McMullen, principal commercial 
department, Butte, Montana. "The enthusiasm 
in the bookkeeping classes is simply wonderful. 
It is not necessary for me to say I am delighted." 

Graduates of other colleges: "Who desire to 
do more advanced work in the courses they com- 
pleted than was possible in the schools they at- 
tended will find our Office Training course for 
stenographers, and our Higher Accounting 
course of particular advantage in finishing up 
their preparation for business. Many graduates 
of other schools have come to this college for a 
finishing course which has proved exceedingly 
profitable." 

Besides the energy and attention given by Mr. 
Bliss to the conduct of his great institution, there 
are many other departments of the life of the 
community which interest and enlist his activity. 
Particularly is this the case in connection with 
social life and he is a member of a number of 
important and prominent organizations, both of 
the fraternal character and club. He is particu- 
larly prominent in Masonic circles, in which he 
has taken the thirty-second degree, and is a 
member of Rabboni Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons; King Hiram Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; Dunlap Council, Royal and Select 
Masters; Lewiston Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; Maine Consistory, Sublime Princes of the 
Royal Secret; Kora Temple, Ancient Arabic Or- 
der Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is also a 
member of the Lewiston Lodge, Benevolent and 
Protective Qrder of Elks, of the Rotary and 
Calumet clubs, and several other important so- 
cieties. He is a Republican in politics and a 
staunch supporter of the principles and policies 
of that party, but the demands upon his time and 
energy made by the conduct of his school ren- 
der it impossible for him to devote himself in 
any way to political life, nor indeed has he any 
ambition to hold public office. In his religious 
belief Mr. Bliss is a Congregationalist and at- 
tends the Pine Street Church of this denomina- 
tion at Lewiston. 



Mr. Bliss was united in marriage, June II, 
1001, at Durham, Maine, with Katherine Mount- 
fort, a native of Leominster, Massachusetts, and 
a daughter of William C. and Mary Elizabeth 
(Wentworth) Mountfort. One child has been 
born of this union, a son, Addison Mountfort, 
born February 25, 1003. 



JAMES SMALL LIBBY, late of Portland. 
Maine, where his death occurred on March 16, 
1885, was one of the conspicuous men of affairs 
connected with the great development of the 
railroad system of this State during the past 
generation. Mr. Libby was a member of an ex- 
ceedingly old and distinguished New England 
family, which was founded in this country at a 
very early period in its Colonial history, and the 
members of which have for many years occu- 
pied prominent positions in various callings 
throughout the country. 

(I) The Libby family came from England, 
probably Cornwall or Devonshire, the name be- 
ing found under various spellings in the early 
records of that region, and the founder of the 
family in this country was one John Libby, whose 
birth occurred in England about the year 1602, 
and who came to the New England colonies, 
where he was employed in the fisheries by Robert 
Trelawney, who had a grant of land embracing 
Richmond's Island, and other tracts about Cape 
Elizabeth, in Maine. The records of the fishing 
industry show that John Libby was in the em- 
ploy of Robert Trelawney some four years, or 
from 1635 to 1639. He was himself the recipient 
of a grant of land at Scarboro, Maine, on the 
bank of a stream, which has since been called 
Libby river, and where he built a house. It is 
believed that he divided his time between fishing 
and agriculture and in 1663 he is described in 
an old document as a "planter." He was con- 
stable of Scarboro in 1664, and his name stands 
first of the four selectmen in a town grant bear- 
ing the date of 1669. He was one of the suf- 
ferers from the Indian wars of that period, and 
in King Philip's War (1675) l st a " h' s posses- 
sions, with the exception of his plantation. We 
find the following entry in the diary of Captain 
Joshua Scottow: "Eight or nine deserted houses 
belonging to Libby and his children were burned 
by the Indians September seventh 1675." John 
Libby and his wife, and their younger children, 
were in Boston July 10, 1677, and on his peti- 
tion at that time, his two sons, Henry and An- 
thony, were discharged from Black Point garri- 
son. He probably returned to his old home at 



106 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Black Point, Maine, shortly afterwards, and it 
was here that he acquired a comfortable property 
and that his death occurred at the age of eighty 
years. John Libby was twice married, but little 
is known of the first wife, save that she was the 
mother of all of his sons, excepting Matthew 
and Daniel, and probably of all his daughters. 
Of the second wife it is only known that her first 
name was Mary. The children of John Libby, 
probably all born in this country except the eld- 
est, were as follows: John, James, Samuel, Jo- 
anna, Henry, Anthony, Rebecca, Sarah, Hannah, 
David, Matthew, who is mentioned below; and 
Daniel. 

(II) Matthew Libby, son of John and Mary 
Libby, was born in 1663, at Scarboro, and died 
at Kittery, Maine, in March, 1741. In the time 
of the Indian troubles of 1690, he went to Ports- 
mouth ana from there to Kittery, in the winter 
of 1699-1700. His house was constructed of 
hewn timber and was provided with a projecting 
upper story, so built that in case of an attack by 
Indians those within could shoot or pour hot 
water on them from above. This interesting 
place was situated at Kittery and there he lived 
until his death. Not long before the second 
organization of the town of Scarboro, Matthew 
Libby, Roger Deeming, John Libby and Roger 
Hunnewell went to Black Point, and there estab- 
lished a saw-mill on the Nonesuch river. 
Matthew Libby, however, afterwards bestowed 
his interest in this mill on his three sons, Wil- 
liam, John and Andrew. He married Elizabeth 
Brown, daughter of Andrew Brown, a prominent 
citizen of Black Point, and she survived her hus- 
band two or three years. They were the parents 
of fourteen children, as follows: William, 
Matthew, Mary, Rebecca, Hannah, John, Andrew, 
who is mentioned below; Sarah, Nathaniel, Dor- 
cas, Samuel, Mehitable, Lydia, and Elizabeth, all 
of whom grew to maturity and married. 

(III) Lieutenant Andrew Libby, seventh child 
and fourth son of Matthew and Elizabeth 
(Brown) Libby, was born December I, 1700, at 
Kittery (now Eliot), Maine, and died January 5, 
1773, in the seventy-third year of his age. He 
returned to the early home of his father at Scar- 
boro, where he became one of the most promi- 
nent and successful farmers of the region, and 
left behind him a valuable property. He did 
not take a great part in public affairs, devoting 
himself principally to his own business, and the 
only record of his participation in the general life 
of the town is contained in an entry of 1743, 
where he is mentioned as one of a committee of 



three selected "to get a schoolmaster." It is not 
known from the records where he was in actual 
service during the French War, but this is ex- 
ceedingly probable, since he was universally 
known as Lieutenant Andrew Libby. He and his 
first wife were members of the Congregational 
church. Lieutenant Andrew Libby married 
(first) Esther Furbcr, daughter of Jethro Furber, 
of Newington, New Hampshire. She died, Octo- 
ber i, 1756, and he married (second) in 1757, 
Eleanor (Libby) Trickey, who survived him, and 
died September 27, 1781. The children of Lieu- 
tenant Libby were all by his first wife, as fol- 
lows: Andrew, Joshua, who is mentioned below; 
Elizabeth, Henry, Abigail, Joseph, Daniel, Ed- 
ward, Sarah, Esther and Simon. 

(IV) Deacon Joshua Libby, second son of 
Lieutenant Andrew and Esther (Furber) Libby, 
was born March 17, 1734, at Scarboro, Maine, 
and died January 13, 1814, at the age of seventy- 
nine years. As a lad he learned the shoemaker's 
trade, but never followed that occupation. He 
married Hannah Larrabee, November 2, 1755, 
and settled on the Nonesuch river, about three 
miles north of Oak Hill, where he became a 
successful farmer. In addition to his extensive 
farming, he engaged in shipbuilding and the 
West India trade, and became one of the richest 
and most influential men in the town. He was 
chairman of selectmen in 1792-93-94, and town 
treasurer from 1800 until his death, on January 
13, 1813. He and his wife became members of 
the Congregational church in July, 1792, and he 
was afterwards chosen deacon and filled that 
position at the time of his death. He and his 
wife, whose death occurred December 13, 1818, 
were the parents of eight children, as follows: 
Esther, who died in infancy; Sarah, Matthias, 
Lydia, Joshua, who is mentioned below; Theo- 
dore, Hannah, and Salome. 

(V) Captain Joshua (2) Libby, son of Deacon 
Joshua (i) and Hannah (Larrabee) Libby, was 
born August 31, 1768, at Scarboro, Maine. Ho 
succeeded to his father's homestead, where he 
resided during his entire life, and died October 
23, 1824, at the age of sixty-six years. He was a 
prosperous farmer and a man highly respected 
in the community, being of a conservative dis- 
position and of excellent judgment, so that his 
fellow-citizens reposed great confidence in him. 
He was a selectman of Scarboro in 1822-26 and 
1827, and was town treasurer from 1817 to 1827. 
He married, February 16, 1791, Ruth Libby, born 
October 16, 1773, a daughter of Simon and Eliza- 
beth (Thompson) Libby, of Scarboro, and her 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



107 



death occurred November 24, 1831. They were 
the parents of thirteen children, as follows: Sher- 
born, Joshua, who is mentioned at length below; 
Simon, Johnson, Addison, who died in early 
youth; Addison and Hannah (twins), Woodbury, 
Francis, Matthias, Ruth, George, and Esther. 

(VI) Joshua (3) Libby, second son of Captain 
Joshua (2) and Ruth (Libby) Libby, was born 
at Scarboro, July 10, 1793, and died March 5, 
1848, at the age of fifty-six years. Mr. Libby 
was a man of high moral character and strong 
religious convictions. He lived on his father's 
farm and administered his acres after the thrifty 
manner of most main land holders in the "twen- 
ties," "thirties" and "forties." He left enough 
property to make two large farms, both of them 
richly wooded. One of these became the estate 
of James Small Libby, and is now in the pos- 
session of his daughters. The other part his 
brother, Johnson Libby, inherited, and it is now 
owned and occupied by Eugene H. Libby, his 
son. The Joshua Libbys were all buried in a 
cemetery on the old farm, but their graves were 
removed to the Black Point Cemetery in 1886. 
Joshua (3) Libby married, in 1816, Mary Small, 
born April 30, 1792, a daughter of Captain 
James and Mary (Fogg) Small, of this place. 
Mrs. Libby, the mother of James Small Libby, 
was an ideal mother and won hosts of friends 
by her remarkably sunny and genial disposition. 
Her father, Captain James Small, was a son of 
Samuel Small, Esq., and his wife, Dorothy (Hub- 
bard) Small. Captain James Small was born at 
Scarboro, in 1757, and served five years in the 
Revolutionary War. He was present at the sur- 
render of Burgoyne, and after the close of hos- 
tilities returned to Scarboro and married a 
daughter of the colonel of his regiment, Colonel 
Reuben Fogg. Captain James Small was named 
for his grandfather, Ensign James Heard, of Kit- 
tery, Maine. He was a Revolutionary pensioner 
and attended the dedication of Bunker Hill mon- 
ument. His death occurred in 1845, while on a 
visit at the home of Joshua Libby, at the age 
of eighty-eight years. Samuel Small, Esq., father 
of Captain James Small, was a native of Kittery, 
Maine, where he was born in the year 1717, and 
his father, Samuel Small, Sr., came to Scarboro 
about 1729. He, in association with Joshua Han- 
scom and Zebulon Trickey, bought land when 
they first came from Kittery. These two Samuels 
were men of large prominence in Scarboro and 
Samuel, Jr., usually known as Samuel, Esq., was 
deacon of Black Point Church for many years. 
He was also town clerk for more than four dec- 



ades, land surveyor and justice of the peace 
(his commission is still held by a descendant 
of his, and is signed by John Hancock). He was 
appointed member of nearly every committee of 
importance in Scarboro, both ecclesiastical and 
civil, for a period of almost fifty years. When 
the regiment sent from old Scarboro to serve 
in. the Revolutionary War left for Cambridge to 
join General Washington, they assembled in the 
Samuel Small dooryard and marched the entire 
distance. Samuel Small, Esq., died in 1791, at 
the age of seventy-four years. His great-grand- 
father, Francis Small, was the founder of this 
family, together with his father, Edward Francis, 
in this country, and the two men came from 
Devonshire, England, about 1632. Edward Fran- 
cis was styled "the great landowner," and one 
historian claims that he unquestionably owned 
more land than any other person in Maine. He 
bought this great estate from the Indians, and 
all of the towns in Northern York county were 
owned by him, as well as large tracts near 
Portland. He was for a time at Cape Small 
Point, and the place took his name. He died 
at Truro, Cape Cod, about 1714, at the age of 
ninety-four years. Joshua (3) and Mary (Small) 
Libby were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: Elizabeth M., Johnson, who died in early 
youth; James Small, with whose career we are 
here especially concerned; Benjamin, Johnson, 
Sarah, Maria, Emily, Francis, Washington, 
Joshua, Mary Frances, and Reuben Crosby. 

(VII) James Small Libby was a native of Scar- 
boro, Maine, where he was born July 19, 1820, 
and died in Portland, March 16, 1885. He was 
born on the ancestral homestead, to the posses- 
sion of which he succeeded after the death of his 
father, and although he removed to Portland in 
1870, the old place was always retained by him 
and always thought of as his home. Indeed, he 
added a number of parcels of land to it from 
time to time and always kept it in a high state 
of cultivation and repair. For many years Mr. 
Libby carried on an extensive contracting busi- 
ness at Portland and was intimately identified 
with the construction of many railroads in this 
part of the State, and of various public works. 
He was one of the principal contractors in the 
construction of the Ogdensburg railroad, and the 
Kennebunkport railroad, and in these and other 
operations gave employment to a large number 
of men and contributed materially to the develop- 
ment and upbuilding of the city. He was a man 
of shrewd business ability and in the manage- 
ment of his affairs was notably prompt and deci- 



108 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



sive, gaining the respect and esteem of all his 
associates in the business world, as well as of 
his great host of personal friends. Mr. Libby's 
life was one of unusual activity and success, and 
his sterling integrity and the high sense of honor 
which were always maintained by him in every 
relation of life gained him a reputation second 
to that of no one in the community. He was 
very active in the public affairs of Portland and 
Scarboro, and represented the latter place in the 
State Legislature in the years 1858 and 1859, 
being a contemporary in that body of General 
Neal Dow, the Hon. William McCrillis, of Ban- 
gor, and the Hon. James G. Elaine, of Augusta. 
He was a political opponent, however, of the 
last named of his great colleagues and ardently 
supported Democratic principles throughout his 
career. If his ability made him a formidable 
competitor in business, his comprehensive knowl- 
edge of men and things afforded him a high sense 
of duty towards others less fortunate than him- 
self, and he was notably apt and ready to give 
aid whenever it was needed, both to individuals 
and to any movement undertaken for the general 
welfare of the community. Many of his friends 
and acquaintances still speak feelingly of favors 
and assistance rendered by him and his great 
liberality in every worthy cause. Mr. Libby was 
a Congregationalist at heart and although he 
made no great outward display of his religious 
convictions, his life itself in many respects might 
well be called a noble Christian epic. 

James Small Libby was united in marriage with 
Jane R. Wescott, a daughter of Joseph and Bet- 
sey (Jordan) Wescott, and a direct descendant 
of the Rev. Robert Jordan, of Cape Elizabeth, 
Maine. Mrs. Libby's death occurred in the year 
1897. They were the parents of three daughters, 
who survive them, as follows: Ella Wescott, 
Mary Abby, and Josephine Wescott, who spend 
their summers at the old Scarboro homestead. 
James Small Libby was one of that group of 
successful men whose careers have been closely 
identified with the greatest and most recent 
period in the development of the city of Port- 
land, Maine; one of those broad-minded, public- 
spirited citizens, whose efforts have seemed to 
be directed quite as much to the advancement 
of the city's interest as to their own. There is 
a type of business man, only too common today, 
of which this cannot truly be said, whose ener- 
gies are never expended in the interests of others, 
whose aims and purposes are purely personal, not 
broad enough to comprehend a larger entity. 
But of these men of a generation past, whose 



enterprises have spelled growth and increased 
prosperity for the community of which they were 
members, and especially of the distinguished 
gentleman whose name heads this brief article, 
the praise is entirely appropriate. Of this class, 
and of him, so prominent a member thereof, it 
is entirely true that the ventures and enterprises 
they engaged in were of so wide a calibre that 
the welfare of their city was as directly sub- 
served as their own, that they were unable to 
entertain an aim in which the rights and interests 
of others were set aside or even negatively dis- 
regarded. 



WILLIAM ALFRED BARTLETT, D.D., the 

popular pastor of the Pine Street Congregational 
Church of Lewiston, Maine, and one of the most 
potent religious influences in that city and State 
today, comes of an old and distinguished New 
England family, of which more than one member 
has made a place for himself as a clergyman and 
scholar. He is a son of Dr. Samuel Colcord 
Bartlett, who was born at Salisbury, New Hamp- 
shire, November 25, 1817. Dr. Bartlett, Sr., was 
a very eminent man, and between the years 1877 
and 1892 was president of Dartmouth College. 
For a number of years prior to this he resided 
in Chicago, and was a founder and professor of 
the Chicago Theological Seminary. He was also 
the first pastor of the New England Congrega- 
tional Church of Chicago, and exerted a very 
considerable influence upon the religious life of 
that city. 

Born February 17, 1858, in the city of Chicago, 
Dr. William Alfred Bartlett remained in that city 
during a portion of his childhood. He was a 
student for a time in the preparatory department 
of the North Western University, Evanston, and 
later in Phillips Academy, Andover, Massachu- 
setts. Upon his father's removing to the East, 
when he was called to the presidency of Dart- 
mouth College, the boy accompanied him and in 
course of time himself attended that institution, 
graduating therefrom with the class of 1882. 
While in college he took the first prize in the 
junior class literary contest, was class historian 
senior year, and was elected class poet at gradua- 
tion, in 1882. He had in the meantime decided 
to follow in his father's footsteps and devote 
himself to religious work, and with this end in 
view entered the Hartford Theological Seminary, 
from which he was graduated with the class of 
1885. During his three years in Hartford, Mr. 
Bartlett largely supported himself as organist 
and choir master in the First Baptist Church 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



109 



of that city. He returned to the West, there- 
after, and was pastor of three Chicago churches. 
He was called first to what is now the Welling- 
ton Avenue Congregational Church of Chicago, 
of which indeed he was both an organizer and 
the first pastor, and which under his most capable 
direction has become one of the strongest on 
the north side of the city. He was also the first 
pastor of the Second Congregational Church, 
situated at Oak Park, Chicago, and during his 
pastorate added two hundred to its membership. 
He was also for nine years the pastor of the old 
First Church of Chicago, which he reorganized 
to meet the necessities of a down-town church so 
successfully that it has become noted throughout 
the country for its institutional and musical work, 
and at times employed as many as seven trained 
assistants. One of the distinctions of this church 
is that its doors are never closed, day or night, 
and it includes in its work the training of five 
great chorus choirs. Dr. Bartlett was at one 
time in charge of the Farmington Avenue Con- 
gregational Church at Hartford, which attained 
its largest membership during the time of his 
ministry. His work with young people in a 
"Pleasant Sunday Afternoon," reaching a mem- 
bership of one hundred and fifty, was described 
at length in a special article appearing in the 
Outlook. Another work accomplished by Dr. 
Bartlett in Chicago was in connection with the 
Sunday Closing League, of which he was elected 
president at a gathering composed of the repre- 
sentatives of seventeen denominations in the city. 
He was most active in accomplishing the aims of 
this association and brought suit in his own name 
as representing the people of Illinois against a 
number of city officials and liquor men, who were 
accused of non-conformity with the law on Sun- 
day closings. These cases were tried before 
Supreme, Superior and Appellate courts, all of 
which were in entire agreement with the league 
and Dr. Bartlett in the position which they took, 
but claimed non-jurisdiction in the matter. The 
pressure, however, brought by the league and the 
general opinion of the people behind it eventually 
forced the State's attorney to take up the work, 
after which material progress was made. For his 
work in the matter Dr. Bartlett was made an 
honorary member of the Chicago Congregational 
Club for "distinguished service in civic reform." 
When Sunday closing of saloons went into ef- 
fect in Chicago, in 1916, leading lawyers and 
reformers wrote to Dr. Bartlett congratulating 
him as pioneer, and the decision was based on 
tlie court actions of that time. 



The great energy of Dr. Bartlett and his in- 
defatigable zeal is well illustrated in the work 
which he has done as an independent lecturer on 
religious subjects. He has gained an extraor- 
dinary popularity throughout New England in 
this line and is now called upon by many churches 
both for special occasions and to do supply work. 
Indeed, so great have been the demands made 
upon his time that he has recently, on the advice 
of many of his friends, devoted himself particu- 
larly to this kind of work and has reserved his 
time exclusively for such engagements. In one 
year Dr. Bartlett made as many as fifty-two ad- 
dresses in Connecticut and Massachusetts, in con- 
nection with the "Men and Religion" movement, 
as well as on the subjects of temperance, men's 
work in the churches, and a number of special 
addresses in eleven of the Hartford churches and 
in many of its public schools and institutions. 
He organized the Inter-Church Luncheon, held 
weekly in a Hartford hotel, and at which the 
Business Men's Luncheon of that city was first 
suggested. During his pastorate of the Kirk 
Street Church in Lowell, Dr. Bartlett took a most 
active part in the general religious life of that 
community, and the attendance at that church 
was the greatest in its history. The auditorium 
was entirely rebuilt and a new organ added, and 
so great was the attendance that people were 
frequently turned away from the evening service. 
On two occasions over fifty came into the church 
on confession of faith through revivals conducted 
in the evening services. He also organized the 
first Men's Club in Lowell, and one of the first 
in New England, and suggested the formation of 
the Lowell Congregational Club, which was after- 
ward founded and of which he drew up the con- 
stitution. 

Dr. Bartlett received the degree of Master of 
Arts from Dartmouth College, at the time of his 
graduation from the Hartford Theological Semi- 
nary, and that of Doctor of Divinity in 1000. 
In the year 1900, Dr. Bartlett was appointed 
delegate to the International Council in Edin- 
burgh, Scotland, and read a paper on "Temper- 
ance Legislation in America." In the year 1901 
he was offered the same degree by the University 
of Illinois, but declined it. He was elected a 
trustee of the Hartford Seminary in 191 1, and 
was also elected by the Dartmouth Alumni Asso- 
ciation of Chicago as chairman of its executive 
committee and for a time was also its president. 
At the time of leaving Chicago, he was first vice- 
president of the Congregational Club and later 
held the presidency of the Dartmouth Alumni 



110 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Association of Connecticut. Following a speech 
delivered by him before the Lowell Board of 
Trade, he was elected a member of that body, 
and he was appointed a corporate member-at- 
large of the American Board ,of the Congrega- 
tional church. Dr. Bartlett came very conspicu- 
ously before the public in connection with the 
"Quickening Services" in the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Lowell, which were undertaken 
by him in January, 1915, at the invitation of the 
men of that church. These services met with a 
great success and were attended by men of all 
denominations, including the Roman Catholic, as 
well as by city officials and the public-at-large, 
both church members and those who were allied 
with no church. The sermons preached by Dr. 
Bartlett on these occasions were printed in full 
by the Lowell Courier-Citizen and long extracts 
from them appeared in the evening paper, the 
Lowell Sun, together with much favorable com- 
ment. The Courier-Citizen said at the beginning 
of the series: 

Dr. Bartlett has had big parishes since his 
pastorate in Lowell several years ago. He has 
filled churches in Chicago, Illinois, and Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, and has gained the reputation 
of an efficiency engineer in church work. His ex- 
perience with the big problems of the unchurched 
has made him brush aside much that is eccle- 
siastical, and strike with shoulder blows, at the 
theme he has under discussion. . . . He 
preached for a full hour, but held his audience, 
and at the close of the service hundreds remained 
to greet him. 

In another place the Courier-Citizen said, with 
reference to his sermon on "The Sin Which 
Christ Hates Most": "Every person in the great 
audience was held spellbound by the eloquence 
of the speaker as he drove home his message." 
Again, later, "By a rising vote more than one 
thousand attendants of the Sunday evening ser- 
vice at the First Congregational Church endorsed 
a resolution against the liquor traffic last night. 
The resolution was introduced at the close of the 
service, and unanimous action was taken by the 
audience rising to its feet amid great enthusiasm." 
Other comments upon Dr. Bartlett's sermons 
were to be found in the Lowell Sun (Catholic 
and Democratic), which in one of its articles had 
the following: "Dr. Bartlett delivered one of the 
most powerful Temperance and No-License ser- 
mons ever heard in Lowell," and a little later 
the same paper attributed the improvement in 
police regulations which it noted in Lowell to 
the influence of these sermons. The last of them 
was delivered Easter night, and in commenting 
upon it the Courier-Citizen said: "While these 



have not been intended for Evangelistic meet- 
ings, but have been known as quickening ser- 
vices, they have developed more and more on 
the former lines each week, and came very close 
to a revival in their culmination." The Congre- 
gationalist, in the course of an article on the 
subject, said in part as follows: 

The series of special Sunday evening services 
at the First, with Dr. Bartlett as preacher and 
the co-operation of the choirs and pastors of that 
church and his own former parish, Kirk Street, 
lengthened out to the number of ten with an 
average attendance of over a thousand. Gener- 
ous advertising, striking subjects, bold speech and 
dramatic delivery, and the abounding enthusiasm 
and personal grip of the preacher, drew larger 
numbers than had been anticipated and attracted 
the attention and attendance of many not habitual 
churchgoers as well as regular members of other 
congregations. ... A proposal to have a 
monster church and Sunday school temperance 
parade, to conserve and display the sentiment 
aroused by these meetings, is now being dis- 
cussed. Among the subjects upon which Dr. 
Bartlett has recently addressed audiences in vari- 
ous parts of New England, may be mentioned the 
following: "Clara Barton, heroine," "Come & 
See," "Christ and Modern Achievement," "Facts 
not generally known of the Religious Life of 
Abraham Lincoln," "Testimonies of Great Men 
Concerning the Bible," "The Efficient Man," 
"Billy Sunday and the Churches, a psychological 
study," "Music, religious and otherwise," "Christ 
and Throne; definite beliefs to make Strong 
Churches." 

After resting from his strenuous labors from 
1913 to 1915, following his pastorate in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, Dr. Bartlett accepted a call 
from the Pine Street Congregational Church of 
Lewiston, Maine. Although it was in his mind 
to take things easy, he was soon in the thick of 
church and community activities. The attend- 
ance of the church has increased two hundred 
per cent. A Men's Bible Class was organized 
which reached a membership of one hundred in 
less than a year. Under the organized efforts of 
this class, great "Search Light" evening services 
were held in the winter and spring of 1916 which 
taxed the capacity of the auditorium beyond any- 
thing in the history of the church. The sermons 
were an hour long, and were both intensely per- 
sonal and dealt also with conditions of the city. 
Later that same spring, the mayor of the city 
challenged Dr. Bartlett to a public debate in his 
own pulpit, as a consequence of the pastor's 
utterances. The challenge was immediately ac- 
cepted. For days the papers were filled, and the 
Lewiston Evening Journal said nothing like this 
had ever been known in a Maine pulpit. On the 
night of the debate the church was filled in less 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



111 



than ten minutes after the doors were opened 
with fifteen hundred people. Curiously enough, 
the chairman of the police commission was a 
leader in the Bible Class, and under his orders 
eleven policemen and six plain clothes men were 
on hand to preserve order, and closed the doors 
when the church was filled, although hundreds 
were unable to obtain admission, including a 
former mayor. On this occasion Dr. Bartlett 
made a complete exposure of the city conditions 
and challenged the mayor to disprove his asser- 
tions. But that challenge has never been ac- 
cepted, but it is said the eyes of the citizens 
were opened as they never were before. 

At the present time Dr. Bartlett is engaged in 
the Young Men's Christian Association cam- 
paign, and has been appointed special writer to 
furnish articles for the papers each day in prepa- 
ration for the final drive. Fourteen young men 
of the church have gone to the front, whose 
names are on the Roll of Honor in The Pine 
Cone, the church paper, and the Bible Class, at 
Dr. Bartlett's suggestion, has just sent them a 
beautiful copy of the New Testament. During 
the summer of 1917, Dr. Bartlett supplied the 
pulpits of the two largest churches in Chicago, 
and visited the forts and training stations near 
Chicago, bringing him in close touch with some 
of his former church "boys," several of whom 
went to France. Between them, Dr. and Mrs. 
Bartlett have seven nephews and one niece in 
service, all but two being in France, and two of 
them having miraculously escaped from death. 

Besides his great accomplishment as a preacher 
and organizer, Dr. Bartlett is also an accom- 
plished musician and composer. He has recently 
composed two Christmas carols, one of which 
was published by the Chicago Kindergarten As- 
sociation and is used by them, and the other was 
purchased by the Century Company for one of 
its hymn books. He also wrote a hymn, words 
and music, sung by the four choirs of the First 
Church in Chicago on Forefather's Night, at the 
Congregational Club in Chicago. Another com- 
position is known as "Love Divine," which has 
been sung in many churches. Dr. Bartlett is 
prominently identified with the Masonic order. 

William Alfred Bartlett was united in marriage, 
February 23, 1892, at Chicago, with Ester Ade- 
laide Pitkin, a daughter of John J. and Susan 
Jeannette (Thompson) Pitkin, old and highly re- 
spected residents of that city. Mrs. Bartlett, 
before her marriage, sang in church quartette 
choirs both in Chicago and Evanston. Three 
children have been born to Dr. and Mrs. Bartlett, 



as follows: William P., who died December I, 
1910; Doris Jeannette, born April 24, 1894, and 
is now the wife of Sergeant Richard H. Wheeler, 
of Newton, Massachusetts, Coast Artillery, at 
Fort Revere; and Richard Learned, born Decem- 
ber 20, 1896, in Lowell, Massachusetts, now a 
church singer, and in business in Hartford, Con- 
necticut. Mrs. Wheeler is possessed of a voice 
of unusual power and sweetness, and inherits her 
father's and mother's musical gifts. She has 
often sung at his services. Mrs. Wheeler, in 
addition to her other duties, is now a teacher of 
singing in Boston and Newton. 

It is often a matter of great difficulty to ex- 
press in material terms the true value of a life, 
of a career, or to give an adequate idea of the 
real position that a man has won for himself in 
the regard of his fellows. In the case, for in- 
stance, of Dr. Bartlett, whose name heads this 
brief appreciation, who has succeeded highly in 
his profession, the true significance of a man 
is not so much to be found in this fact as in the 
influence which, as a personality, he has exerted 
upon those with whom he comes in contact. 
The acquirement of wealth and position does 
indicate that a certain power exists, that certain 
abilities must be present, so that to enumerate 
these things does serve as an illustration of the 
talents that are in him, but it is only one illus- 
tration, the most tangible, of these things, and 
the others may be far more important in spite 
of the fact that they are vastly more difficult 
to state. Thus, although an illustration, it is of 
little value as a real. gauge or measure of these 
powers, for while the proposition is true that the 
presence of those perquisites which the world 
showers upon genius of a certain order proves 
the genius of which it is the reward, the converse 
is not true at all, since at the very lowest esti- 
mate half the genius goes quite unrewarded. It 
is thus with Dr. Bartlett; while the success 
achieved by him in the ministry marks him as a 
man of unusual capability, yet only those who are 
acquainted with him personally can be aware how 
greatly his services to the community exceed 
anything that can be expressed in terms of his 
professional success. 



NAHUM MORRILL JOHN ADAMS MOR- 
RILL In the legal profession of Androscoggin 
county, Maine, the name of Merrill has occupied 
a prominent place for more than sixty years. The 
family is descended from Abraham Morrill, who 
came from England in 1632, and settled in Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. The "History of the 



112 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company of 
Massachusetts," published in 1896, Vol. I, page 
51, has, under the head of new members, admitted. 
in 1638-39, the names of Abraham Morrill and 
Isaac Morrill; on page 51 the editor says: 

Abraham Morrill, of Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
came, perhaps, in the Lion, with his brother 
Isaac. In 1635 he resided on the westerly side 
of Brighton street, near the spot occupied by the 
old Porter Tavern. He moved in 1641 to Salis- 
bury, where in 1650 only four were taxed more 
than he. In 1642 sixty acres of land were granted 
to him and Henry Say wood to build a cornmill; 
no other mill was to be built so long as this 
ground all the corn the people needed. . . . 
The family of the ancient trainer through every 
generation has been noted for enterprise, whether 
in iron, fish, cloth, coasting vessels, farming or 
trade. In the business history of Salisbury and 
Amesbury they have made a most notable record. 

In Harvard College, class of 1737, were Isaac 
and Moses Morrill. They were cousins, great- 
grandsons of Abraham Morrill, of Salisbury. 
Both became ministers of the Orthodox New 
England faith. Rev. Moses Morrill was ordained 
to the ministry at Biddeford, in 1742, becoming 
pastor of the First Church of Christ in Bidde- 
ford; he remained with that church until his 
death, February 9, 1778, a service of more than 
thirty-five years. 

His second son, John Morrill, settled in Lim- 
erick, Maine, and in that town Nahum Morrill 
was born, October 3, 1819. He was educated in 
Limerick Academy, Kimball Union Academy, and 
was one year at Dartmouth College. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Piscataquis county, Maine, 
March 4, 1842, and soon after began the practice 
of law in the town of Wells, where he remained 
about two years. He then removed to Durham, 
in Androscoggin county, which at that time was 
a more important place than either Lewiston or 
Auburn. August 26, 1846, he moved to the little 
village of Lewiston Falls, on the west side of 
the Androscoggin river, now known as Auburn. 
From that time until his death, March 3, 1917, 
he resided continuously in Auburn, or in Dan- 
ville, which ultimately became a part of Auburn. 
Two sons survive him, John Adams Morrill and 
Donald Littlefield Morrill, the latter a prominent 
lawyer in Chicago. 

At memorial services held in his memory at 
the April term, 1917, of the Supreme Judicial 
Court for Androscoggin county, Mr. Justice 
King presiding, George C. Wing, president of 
the Androscoggin Bar Association, in announc- 
ing his death to the court, paid the following 
tribute: 



Judge Morrill very early took a prominent 
place in business, in society and in the legal pro- 
fession. In 1854 he was appointed by Governor 
William G. Crosby as the first judge of probate 
for Androscoggin county, and the early records 
of the Probate Court bear testimony to his care- 
ful attention to details and his purposes to have 
the office conducted along the best lines then 
used in probate courts. When judges of pro- 
bate were made elective, Judge Morrill declined 
to be a candidate and turned his whole attention 
tc the practice of his profession. In 1864 he was 
appointed provost marshal of the Second District 
of Maine, and held that office until the close of 
the Civil War, receiving an honorable discharge, 
October 31, 1865. Provost Marshal General Frye 
wrote him a personal letter, which I hope is still 
in existence, expressing his gratification at the 
manner in which the office had been conducted 
and the absolute accuracy of all accounts con- 
nected therewith. He was a member of the bar 
of the United States District and Circuit courts, 
and during his long practice heard many cases 
that were submitted to him by agreement of par- 
ties as auditor or referee, both in suits at law 
and in equity. He was for many years president 
of the board of trustees of the Edward Little 
Institute, and was the unanimous choice of the 
Androscoggin bar as its president and continued 
to hold that position for many years, his suc- 
cessor only being named after he had positively 
declined the further use of his name. 

Judge Morrill was married, April 30, 1850, to 
Anna Isabella Littlefield, of Wells, a woman of 
great refinement, education and culture. The 
history of Judge Morrill is the history of Auburn. 
When he came here what is now the shire town 
of a county, incorporated long after he settled 
here, with its county and public buildings, its 
homes, busy manufactories and industries, all 
have grown out of the very little hamlet then 
existing, and during all the long years of his 
eventful life he was identified with the best in- 
terests of Auburn, not only in a business way 
but in every moral, educational and religious en- 
deavor. He was generous of his time, his knowl- 
edge and experience. Judge Nahum Morrill was 
a Christian gentleman, a constant attendant and 
generous contributor to the High Street Congre- 
gational Church, prominent in Odd Fellowship 
and, in a word, was identified with every interest 
in Auburn. 

He was a painstaking lawyer. He practised 
his profession in an honorable manner, on an 
elevated plane, gaining and retaining the confi- 
dence of the bar and of the court. He was unas- 
suming in his ways. He did not live for show 
or to denote importance by his way of life. He 
was always a broad-minded and hopeful man 
who understood the trials, appreciated the temp- 
tations, sympathized with the sorrowing and re- 
joiced with the pleasures of those with whom he 
came in contact. He guarded with great care 
the interests of his clients and was always indus- 
trious, persistent and persevering. 

The bar of this county owes to Judge Morrill 
more than to any one man the high quality and 
standing of its practitioners. His deportment in 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



113 



court was ideal. His papers were always care- 
fully and neatly drawn, and the precedents which 
were handed down through him, and through 
men who were engaged with him in the practice 
of his profession, have created a standard of ex- 
ct Hence that is not excelled in any county in 
Maine. 

John Adams Morrill, son of Nahum and Anna 
Isabella (Littlefield) Morrill, was born in Auburn, 
June 3, 1855. On his mother's side he is de- 
scended from the Littlefield, Wheelwright and 
Storer families, names of prominence in the early 
Colonial history of Wells, York county, Maine. 
He prepared for college at Edward Little High 
School, and graduated from Bowdoin College 
with the class of 1876, receiving the degree of 
Bachelor of Art, and in 1879 the degree of 
Master of Arts. After one year spent in teach- 
ing, he studied law and was admitted to practice 
in the courts of Maine, February 12, 1880, and in 
the United States Circuit and Districts courts, 
April 23, 1886. From the time of his admission 
to the bar, Mr. Morrill has devoted himself con- 
tinuously to the practice of his profession. In 
1900 he was appointed a member of the State 
Board of Examiners of Applicants for Admission 
to the Bar, then just established, and held that 
position for eight years, declining a second re- 
appointment. By resolve of March 21, 1901, he 
was appointed by the Legislature of Maine sole 
commissioner to revise and consolidate the public 
laws of the State, and prepared the fifth revision 
of the public laws of Maine, known as the "Re- 
vised Statutes of 1903." By resolve of April 4, 
1913, he was again appointed by the Legislature 
to the same duty and prepared the sixth revision 
of the public laws of Maine, known as the "Re- 
vised Statutes of 1916." At the State election 
of 1912, Mr. Morrill was elected judge of pro- 
bate for Androscoggin county, for the term of 
four years, beginning January I, 1913, and was 
re-elected in 1916. On March 5, 1918, he was 
commissioned a justice of the Supreme Judicial 
Court of Maine. For many years he has been 
a member of the Maine State Bar Association 
and was elected president of that organization in 
1917. He is a member of the American Bar Asso- 
ciation, and of the Maine Historical Society. 
Since 1888 he has been a trustee, and since Janu- 
ary, 1908, president of the Auburn Savings Bank. 
Upon the establishment of the Auburn Public 
Library, he was chosen a trustee, and for some 
years served as its treasurer. Since 1888 Mr. 
Morrill has been a member of the board of over- 
seers of Bowdoin College, and in 1912 the degree 
of Doctor of Laws was conferred upon him by 
that institution. 



November I, 1888, Mr. Morrill married Isabella 
Olive Littlefield, daughter of Walter and Olive 
(Gooch) Littlefield, of Melrose, Massachusetts. 
They have two daughters: Dorothy Isabella, and 
Olive Anna. 



HENRY ALLEN KELLEY, D.M.D., is one 
of the best known and most popular dentists, 
not only in the city of Portland, Maine, where 
he has elected to live and carry on the practice 
of his profession, but also throughout that State, 
and indeed the country generally. Dr. Kelley is 
a member of a very old New England family, 
his early ancestors having been among the pio- 
neer settlers on Cape Cod and Nantucket Island. 
He is descended on both sides of the house from 
families that were Quakers or Friends in their 
religious beliefs. The "rigor" of this faith was 
never relaxed, and it was this that drove his 
father and mother out of the faith of the Friends 
and made of them Unitarians. 

Born May 1 1, 1866, Henry Allen Kelley is a 
son of James Stanford and Susan Allen (Chace) 
Kelley. His grandfather Kelley was a watch 
and clock maker and silversmith, of Sandwich, 
Massachusetts. Thus they trace this fine manual 
labor far back in the family. His father was 
successfully engaged in business as a jeweler and 
watchmaker at New Bedford, Massachusetts, and 
it was in this place that Dr. Kelley's birth oc- 
curred. The elementary portion of his education 
was secured at the local public schools and the 
Swain Free Academy. He was graduated from 
the New Bedford High School in the year 1884, 
and then took special courses to prepare him for 
college, at the Academy above mentioned. His 
first dental training was received in the office 
of Dr. E. V. McLeod, of New Bedford, Massa- 
chusetts, and it was from this worthy preceptor 
that Dr. Kelley first had brought home to him 
the fact that, his ancestors having included many 
expert chronometer and watchmakers, gold and 
silversmiths and engravers, it was easy to under- 
stand that it was from these that he had inherited 
his remarkable manual skill and ability to handle 
so effectively the instruments used in the delicate 
operations of dental surgery. Dr. McLeod, who 
was the first secretary of the Massachusetts State 
Board of Registration in Dentistry, became a great 
friend of his young pupil, who returned in full 
measure his affection and has always acknowl- 
edged a large debt to the elder man and accounted 
him a potent influence in his life. After this 
experience Dr. Kelley studied for a few months 
in the office of Dr. A. B. Fuller, of New Haven, 
Connecticut, and still later in the office of Dr. 



MM. -18 



114 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Charles E. Easterbrook, of Boston, a recent grad- 
uate of Harvard Dental School. It was through 
the influence of the office of Dr. McLeod that 
Dr. Kelley's attention was directed to the Har- 
vard Dental School, and accordingly he matricu- 
lated there, and after taking the usual course 
was graduated with the class of 1888, when he 
was twenty-two years of age. His work was of 
so excellent a quality that he attracted to him- 
self the favorable attention of his professors and 
instructors, and in particular Dr. Thomas Fille- 
brown, professor of operative dentistry and oral 
surgery at the Harvard Dental School. This 
gentleman, who was an authority on his subjects, 
took so great a fancy to the young man and felt 
so confident of his ability that the latter received 
an offer at the time of his graduation to become 
Dr. Fillebrown's assistant in his office at Port- 
land, Maine. This was an offer which, as may 
be imagined, he was not slow to accept, and he 
'at once removed to the Maine city, where he has 
continued consistently ever since. After one 
year spent in Dr. Fillebrown's employ, that emi- 
nent dentist received him into partnership with 
him, an association which continued uninterrupt- 
edly for ten years, or until the retirement of the 
senior partner. This retirement was occasioned 
by Dr. Fillebrown's leaving Portland to practise 
in the city of Boston, so that his excellent prac- 
tice in Portland passed entirely into the hands 
of Dr. Kelley. Dr. Kelley, however, had already 
won a very enviable reputation in the city, so 
that he readily took the place that Dr. Fillebrown 
left vacant, and has ever since that time occupied 
a distinctly unique position in the city. Dr. Kel- 
ley, with characteristic modesty, speaking of this 
period, has said: 

So my problem was how to keep a practice, 
not how to make one. There is one thing I am 
sure I did keep, and that is the office, for I 
stayed in the one office for twenty years, only 
moving to get farther up out of the increasing 
business life of the city. I have never specialized 
except that for some years now I have refused to 
extract teeth or to make artificial dentures. I 
think I was the first man in Maine to adopt the 
prophylactic treatment and to manage my 
patients so they had regular monthly treatments. 
I am, to quite an extent, looked upon as a special- 
ist in this work and in the treatment of pyorrhea. 
I came to Portland about as much of a stranger 
as one could come, Dr. Fillebrown and one other 
being my only acquaintances. How I became 
acquainted I can hardly say; certainly not by the 
usual endeavors, i. e., churches, clubs, lodges, etc. 
I lived my life without that, except that I realized 
that I had a clean slate and that if I made and 
cultivated any undesirable friends, it was my own 
fault. This was the advantage of being a 



stranger. Also, of course, I immediately took 
my place as a professional man. 

Whatever else may be said about the success 
of Dr. Kelley and what it has been due to, cer- 
tainly it will have to be admitted that hard 
work has played a very important part therein. 
He has worked earnestly and perseveringly at 
everything he has set his hand to, not only in 
those matters which were connected solely with 
his professional interests, but in many in which 
the altruistic element has been prominent. For 
indeed Dr. Kelley has always taken a keen in- 
terest in the welfare of his professional colleagues 
and of the community at large. He has been 
particularly active in connection with the various 
dental societies with which he has been affiliated. 
He has been a member of the Maine Dental So- 
ciety since 1889 and has held the following offices 
therein: Chairman of executive committee, 1890 
to 1891; vice-president, 1892 to 1893; librarian, 
1890 to 1891; president, 1894; a "d sccreiru-y, from 
1898 to 1910. Indeed it may be said will; a cer- 
tain degree of truth that the building up of a 
really first-class dental society in Maine has been 
a hobby with Dr. Kelley for many years, and 
that he has given an amazing amount of time 
and energy to carrying it out, when we consider 
how busy he has been with his private practice. 
There are not many men who are willing to sac- 
rifice personal interests to an object such as this, 
but Dr. Kelley must be classed among them. 
Other capacities in which he has done invaluable 
service for the cause of his profession have been 
as chairman of the Northeastern Dental Asso- 
ciation executive committee, in 1907 and 1908; 
second vice-president of that organization 1908 
to 1909; first vice-president 1909 to 1910, and 
president 1910 to 1911. He is at the present 
time chairman of a standing committee of this 
association on Army and Navy Legislation. It 
was Dr. Kelley who, in honor of his old partner. 
Dr. Fillebrown, organized the Fillebrown Dental 
Club. He was the first president of this club and 
up to the present time its only president. Many 
years ago Dr. Kelley became affiliated with the 
Delta Sigma Delta fraternity, a very prominent 
dental fraternity. Dr. Kelley is also an associate 
member of the First District Dental Society of 
New York. Among the organizations outside of 
professional associations with which Dr. Kelley 
is affiliated should be mentioned the Portland 
Athletic Club, of which he is a charter member 
and which he served as a member of its govern- 
ing board and on various committees for many 
vears; the Stroudwater Canoe Club, of which also 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



115 



he is a charter member and was its president for 
a considerable period; the Portland Country Club; 
the Harvard Club of Maine; the Portland So- 
ciety of Arts; the Portland Choral Art Society; 
the Economic Club of Portland, and the Port- 
land Yacht Club. He was a member of many 
dental congresses and conventions, among which 
should be mentioned the Chicago Columbian 
Dental Congress, where he was a member of his 
State committee on organization; the Fourth In- 
ternational Dental Congress at St. Louis, in 1904; 
the Jamestown Dental Convention, where he was 
chairman of his State committee; and the Port- 
land, Oregon, Dental Congress, in which he occu- 
pied a like position. He is a member of the 
National Dental Association and took an active 
part in the reorganization of the same. He was 
elected a vice-president of the National Dental 
Association in 1917. One of the works accom- 
plished by Dr. Kelley which is best known to 
his fellow-citizens is the establishment of a dental 
infirmary in Portland, in 1895. Three members 
were appointed in oral surgery and dentistry, in 
the out-patient department of the Eye and Ear 
Infirmary, the dentists who filled these positions 
all being prominent practitioners in the city, who 
were obliged to give up much of the time before 
devoted by them to their private practice in 
order to attend these clinics. It will be appro- 
priate at this point to include some remarks of 
Dr. Kelley, drawn from the same article we have 
already quoted, which throw a clear light upon 
his ideas not only of those qualifications which 
go to make up the successful dentist, but of 
those which are essential to the best type of 
manhood. Significantly enough, much that he 
says is taken from personal experience from his 
own life: 

For a young dentist to build and maintain an 
ethical practice and win the esteem of his com- 
munity, he must do what he must do. First, he 
must fit himself thoroughly to practise his pro- 
fession, that is, he must know what to do and 
how to do it. He must have had good educa- 
tional advantages and have taken advantage of 
them. It would seem to me that even before 
or after his college course he should have some 
training in a dental office before starting out for 
himself. I cannot say how except at a much 
greater cost, the experience in the management 
of an office and of patients, which he must have, 
can otherwise be obtained. Of course, it is under- 
stood he must have a good preliminary education 
before he begins his professional training. This 
is not only necessary for his professional train- 
ing, but also to fit him to take the position in the 
community he is trying to obtain. 

Then he must love the higher things of life 
good society, good books, pictures, music, God's 



out-of-doors, etc. Having a love for these he 
will seek to attract others of like nature. This 
will give him an acquaintance with the best people 
of his city and a chance to make good with them. 
Then we are told "To have a friend, be one." 
And so our young dentist must do nice little 
things for others that will let them know he is 
their friend. He must get out of selfishness. Oh. 
it hardly seems necessary to preach all this over 
and over again. It seems that every sensible 
young man must know all this. I would only 
say he must have courage to know that these 
things do bring success; and when he is tempted 
by the seeming success of one who departs from 
these precepts, he must remain steadfast to these 
known principles, knowing that they will bring 
success. He must cultivate the acquaintance of 
the best men of his profession, as opportunity 
presents; he must read professionally long and 
deeply; join the dental societies and work in 
them; get to be a part of the life of his com- 
munity, both professionally and otherwise, and, 
above all, he must be a good citizen. I think 
in these days there is great need of that teach- 
ing. To be a good citizen, what finer thing is 
there in all the world? 

My idea of dental ethics is summed up in the 
following story. There was a Roman that wanted 
to learn the law, so he went to a Jewish Rabbi, 
a young man, and told him he wanted him to 
teach him the law, and to do it in one lesson. 
Now, this Rabbi being a young man, was much 
interested in, and confused by, the complications, 
ramifications, etc., of the law, and to think that 
anybody should think he could be taught all the 
law in one lesson, was preposterous. So he drove 
the young Roman from his door in anger. But 
the Roman went to another Jewish Rabbi, an 
eld man, and made him the same request, and 
the old Rabbi told him to come in. Now this old 
Rabbi had lived most of his life and things were 
settling down from their complexities to sim- 
plicities. So that which seemed so impossible to 
the young Rabbi, was very possible to the old 
Rabbi, and he taught the young Roman the law, 
not only in one lesson, but in a very few words, 
thus: My son, the law is this, do unto others as 
you would that others should do unto you. This 
is the law, and all others are but tributary to this 
one great law. 

I am not an old man, but things are reducing 
to the simpler forms with me and if I were asked 
to preach a sermon on dental ethics, it would 
be something like this: Be a gentleman. But 
the old Rabbi was satisfied with his description 
of the law, and I am satisfied with my descrip- 
tion of dentaj ethics; because to us words have 
a deep meaning, and there is a whole lifetime 
bound up in our description, and we mean by 
our few words all that the young Rabbi would 
have taken days, and perhaps weeks, to have 
imparted to the young Roman. Alas! perhaps it 
took the young Roman about as short a time to 
forget his teaching as to acquire it, and per- 
haps, had he studied and toiled with the young 
Rabbi, the lessons would have meant more to 
him. I think it is not necessary that long ser- 
mons should be preached upon the subject of 
dental ethics, but for those that understand the 



116 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



English language and for those for whom words 
have deep meaning, my definition, Be at gentle- 
man is all that is necessary. 

The only thing I have not carried is hobbies 
or fads outside of dentistry. I am not a faddist 
and have no non-dental hobby. As you will see 
by my clubs, I like out-of-door life. For many 
years entirely, and lately to a great extent, my 
vacations have been passed in the "Big Woods" 
of Maine, in search of big game deer and moose. 
This is great sport. To go through the rapids 
in your little canoe, with a good guide in the 
stern, will make your heart leap for joy, or 
flight, and you will be glad you are alive, when 
you get through and find you are alive. And 
then to put your rifle over your shoulder and 
tramp, and tramp, and tramp, always with the 
hope that the next minute is to disclose the 
moose with the head you have been so long 
looking for. Why, when the hunt is all over it 
doesn't matter a bit whether you have any game 
or not; you have the good feeling which, while 
they will not move mountains, make you feel as 
though you can jump over them and hence don't 
have to move them. I am also fond of yacht- 
ing, city canoeing, as distinguished from the wild 
woods variety, and all the sports one gets at 
an athjetic club and a country club; yes, even to 
scrapping, when two other fellows are in the 
squared circle, and I am looking on. I am also 
fond of music and art. But the best fun I am 
getting now is bringing up a boy and a girl. 
These two kids are fun enough and pay enough 
for any man. I quarrel a great deal with my 
practice that it exacts so much of my time, that 
I dp not have more leisure to play with my 
family. 

As may well be seen from the preceding quo- 
tation, Dr. Kelley can wield an effective pen, and 
indeed he is the author of a considerable number 
of very instructive articles, most of which, how- 
ever, are of a technical nature and apply to vari- 
ous problems of his profession. Among them 
should be mentioned the following: "A Method 
of Filling Porcelain Teeth with Gold," published 
in International Dental Journal, August, 1889; 
"Nitrite of Amyl," read before the Harvard 
Odontological Society, December 23, 1891, and 
published in International Dental Journal, June, 
1892; "Some Dentistry Physicians Should Know," 
read before the Maine Homoeopathic Medical So- 
ciety, June 20, 1893, and published in their trans- 
actions for 1893; "A Study of the Diseases of the 
Perridental Membrane Having Their Origin at 
or Near the Gingival Margin," read before the 
Maine Dental Society, 1891, and published in the 
International Dental Journal, February, 1893; 
"Earnestness, Diligence and Truthfulness," the 
president's address before the Maine Dental So- 
ciety, 1894; "A Popular Talk on the Care of the 
Teeth," read before the Maine Academy of Medi- 
cine and Science, and published in the Maine 



Journal o-f Medicine and Science, February, 1896; 
"What Dentistry Owes the People," read before 
the Maine Dental Society, July 22, 1896, and pub- 
lished in the Portland Advertiser, July 23, 1896; 
"A Year's Work Among the Poor," read before 
the Maine Dental Society, July 20, 1897, and pub- 
lished in the Maine Journal of Medicine and 
Science; "The Present Status of Cataphoresis," 
read before Harvard Alumni Association, June, 
1898; "Dental Work Among the Poor: How Can 
It Best Be Accomplished," read before the 
Northeastern Dental Association, October, 1899, 
and published in International Dental Journal, 
September, 1900; "The Control of Our Patients," 
read before Harvard Dental Alumni Association, 
June 24, 1901, and published in International Den- 
tal Journal, January, 1902; "The Dentist's Appre- 
ciation of Himself," read before the Maine Dental 
Society, July 18, 1905; "An Appreciation of the 
Life of Dr. Thomas Fillebrown," read before 
Maine Dental Society, July i, 1908, and also read 
before the American Academy of Dental Science, 
Boston, Massachusetts, February 3, 1909, and 
published in the Journal of the Allied Societies, 
June, 1909; "Prophylaxis in Dentistry," read be- 
fore Maine Dental Society, June 25, 1909, and 
published in Dental Cosmos, November, 1909; 
"Military and Naval Corps," read before the 
Union Meeting of the Maryland and District of 
Columbia Dental Societies, at Washington, D. C., 
October 29, 1909; "Prophylaxis and Oral Hy- 
giene," read before the Dental Association of the 
Province of Quebec and the Montreal Dental 
Club, at Montreal, Canada, October 24, 1910; 
"President's Address Harvard Dental Alumni 
Association," read at Boston, June 27, 1910; "The 
Movement for Clean Mouths and Sound Teeth," 
read at the Tri-State Meeting of the Maine, New 
Hampshire and Vermont State Dental Societies, 
at Fabyans, New Hampshire, June 27, 1911, and 
published in the Dental Brief, January, 1912; 
"President's Address Northeastern Dental Asso- 
ciation," read at Portland, Maine, October 26, 
1911, and published in the Transactions of the 
Association; "Preventative Dentistry," read at the 
Forty-ninth Annual Meeting of the Massachusetts 
Dental Society, at Boston, May 8, 1913, and pub- 
lished in the Journal of the Allied Dental Socie- 
ties, June, 1913; "Prophylaxis of the Oral Cav- 
ity," a lecture delivered before the Post-Graduate 
Class of the Metropolitan District Dental Society, 
Boston, March 5, 1915; "Hygiene of the Mouth," 
a talk given before the New Hampshire Dental 
Society at Weirs, New Hampshire, June 19, 1913. 
When it became evident the United States 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



117 



would sooner or later become compelled to enter 
the European War the dentists of this country 
formed the Preparedness League of American 
Dentists. This league aimed to prepare the den- 
tal profession for duties it was felt would soon 
be placed upon them. When the country finally 
entered the war this league was recognized by 
the office of the Surgeon General of the United 
States Army and made the instrument whereby 
the drafted men were rendered dentally fit before 
they were inducted into the Army and Navy. Dr. 
Kelley was appointed "Director of the State of 
Maine of the Preparedness League of American 
Dentists," and it was under his direction that the 
State was organized for this work and thousands 
of free dental operations performed for men 
about to enter the service of their country. Dur- 
ing the last months of the war, Dr. Kelley was 
appointed preliminary examiner of candidates 
from Maine for the Dental Corps of the United 
States Army, and under that appointment con- 
ducted examinations of that nature. On March 
12, 1915, Dr. Kelley received the following letter: 

Dr. Henry A. Kelley, 

Portland, Maine. 

Dear Doctor: The Committee of Organization 
of the Panama-Pacific Dental Congress has the 
honor to inform you that you have been elected 
an Honorary President of the Congress, and ex- 
presses the sincere wish that you may be present 
and participate in its various activities and enter- 
tainments in San Francisco, California, August 
30th to September gth, 1915. 

Most respectfully yours, 
PANAMA-PACIFIC DENTAL CONGRESS COMMITTEE 

OF ORGANIZATION. 

Frank L. Platt, Chairman. 
Arthur M. Flood, Secretary. 

Henry Allen Kelley was united in marriage, 
November 19, 1902, with Fanny Roath Robbins. 
Two children have been born of this union, 
James Stanford and Esther. 

The place held by Dr. Kelley in the community 
is one that any man might desire, but it is one 
that he deserves in every particular, one that he 
has gained by no chance fortune, but by hard and 
industrious work, and a most liberal treatment of 
his fellow-men. He is a man who enjoys a great 
reputation and one whose clientele is so large 
that it is easy for him to discriminate in the class 
of his patients, but it is his principle to ask no 
questions as to the standing of those who seek 
his professional aid and he responds as readily 
to the call of the indigent as to that of the most 
prosperous. It thus happens that he does a 
great deal of philanthropic work in the city and 



is greatly beloved by the poorer classes there. 
It is the function of the professional man to bring; 
good cheer, almost as much if not equally with 
the more material assistance given by him. Dr. 
Kelley is a man of strong character and unusual 
ability and energy, and this is combined with a 
sweetness of disposition and gentleness of nature 
which make his companionship a charm and 
pleasure. He is a man who believes in principles 
and lives up to them. 



NATHAN GOLDSMITH HOWARD PULSI- 
FER One of the leaders in the medical pro- 
fession in the State of Maine during the genera- 
tion just past was, without doubt, Dr. Nathan 
Goldsmith Howard Pulsifer, whose death at his 
home at Waterville was a great loss to the com- 
munity, where for so many years he had been in 
active practice and occupied so large a place in 
the admiration and affection of his fellow-towns- 
men. Dr. Pulsifer was a member of an old and 
distinquished family which was founded in Amer- 
ica early in the Colonial period, and the member* 
of which have taken active part in the affairs of 
the various communities where they have dwelt 
ever since. There has been some discussion of 
the origin of the name of Pulsifer, some claim- 
ing that it is English, as well as its rarer variant 
Pulsford, but the authorities seem to be fairly 
unanimous in calling it French. It has been sug- 
gested that the first settler may have been from 
Guernsey or some other of the islands in the 
English Channel which have been under British 
sovereignty for many centuries. However this 
may be, that particular branch of the American 
family with which we are here concerned is of 
perfectly definite French origin, the founder hav- 
ing been John Pulsifer, a French Huguenot, and 
a native of France, who sought religious liberty 
in self-banishment. The name is spelled vari- 
ously in the old records, where it appears as Pul- 
sever, Pulcifer and several other forms, as well 
as in the present accepted spelling, but in this 
it but shared the fate of practically all the names 
of non-English origin in the colonies at that 
time. 

(I) John Pulsifer was born in France, prob- 
ably in the decade of 1650-1660, and from child- 
hood found himself subject to the persecutions 
which his unfortunate co-religionists suffered 
after the revocation of the Edict of Nantes. 
Like so many of the people, he fled his native 
land and went to England, where he found refuge 
for a time. Later, however, he came to America 
and settled at Gloucester, Massachusetts, in 1680. 



118 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



According to the local tradition, his first home 
was situated on the very spot still occupied by 
a descendant, along the old road leading to Cof- 
fin't Beach. The only other settler of the name 
of whom any record has been found was Bene- 
dict Pulsifer, of Ipswich, who was probably a 
near relative of John Pulsifer, and by some be- 
lieved to have been his father. There has been 
nothing definitely established as to the relation- 
ship, however, so that the latter must be ac- 
cepted as the immigrant ancestor in lack of proof 
to the contrary. John Pulsifer married, Decem- 
ber 31, 1684, at Gloucester, Joanna Kent, and they 
were the parents of the following children: John, 
born November 17, 1685, and died August 27, 
1707; Joanna, born October 7, 1688; Mary, born 
April 8, 1691; Thomas, born February 10, 1693; 
Ebenezer, born July 20, 1695; Mary, born April 
27, 1697; David, who is mentioned at length 
below; Jonathan, born July 30, 1704, and mar- 
ried, December ll, 1729, Susanna Hadley, by 
whom he had three children. 

(II) David Pulsifer, son of John and Joanna 
(Kent) Pulsifer, was born January 9, 1701, at 
Gloucester, Massachusetts, and there passed his 
entire life, and followed the sea as an occupa- 
tion. He married Mary , and they were 

the parents of the following children: David, 
who is mentioned below; and three daughters. 

(III) David (2) Pulsifer, son of David (i) 

and Mary ( ) Pulsifer, was born September 

29, I73i, at Gloucester, and made that place his 
home until the time of his marriage. He served 
in the Continental Army during the Revolution, 
first as a private in Captain Charles Smith's com- 
pany and later as matross in Captain William 
Ellery's company of the First Artillery. He 
later went to Poland, Maine, and there settled, 
becoming the founder of the Maine family of the 
name. He married a cousin, Hannah Pulsifer, 
of Brentwood, New Hampshire, and they were 
the parents of a number of children, including 
Jonathan, who is mentioned below. 

(IV) Jonathan Pulsifer, son of David (2) and 
Hannah (Pulsifer) Pulsifer, was born about 1770 
at Gloucester, but removed to Poland, Maine, 
with his parents, and there made his home. His 
<leath occurred in the old Pulsifer home at that 
place. He married, August 30, 1789, Polly Rust, 
"born September i, 1769, and died in 1862, and 
they were the parents of two children, who at- 
tained maturity, as follows: Moses, who is men- 
tioned below, and Benjamin. 

(V) Moses Rust Pulsifer, M.D., son of Jona- 
than and Polly (Rust) Pulsifer, was born Sep- 



tember 10, 1799, at Poland, Maine, and died 
January 27, 1877. As a lad he attended the local 
district schools, and after completing his gen- 
eral studies took up the subject of medicine. He 
followed his profession in the towns of Eden, 
Sullivan and Ellsworth, in Hancock county. He 
was married, in 1819, to Mary Strout Dunn, born 
May 30, 1801, and died March n, 1850, daughter 
of Hon. Josiah and Sally (Barnes) Dunn. Josiah 
Dunn was born September 8, 1779, and died Feb- 
ruary 3, 1843, and Sally (Barnes) Dunn was born 
January n, 1783, and died December 29, 1858. 
The latter was a daughter of a celebrated clergy- 
man of the day, the Rev. Thomas Barnes, who 
represented his district in the General Court of 
Massachusetts, and to whom a monument was 
erected by the Universalists at Norway, Maine, 
after his death. Dr. Moses Rust Pulsifer and 
his wife were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: i. Josiah Dunn, born in 1822, and was the 
first stenographer employed in the courts of the 
State for reporting, an office that he held a num- 
ber of years; was a student, and learned in the 
law, and compiled a "Digest of Maine" during 
the time of his employment in the courts. 2. 
Nathan Goldsmith Howard, with whom we are 
here especially concerned. 3. Reuben, born in 
1826, and followed the occupation of farming. 
4. Caroline, who became the wife of B. F. 
Crocker, of Hyannis, Massachusetts. 5. Augustus 
Moses, born June 15, 1834. He was a prominent 
attorney and public man at Auburn, Maine, and 
married Harriet Chase, daughter of Hon. George 
W. Chase, of that city, by whom he had seven 
children. 6. Horatio, who became a physician. 7. 
Thomas Benton, who became a physician and 
practised at Yarmouth, Massachusetts. 8. Ella 
Dunn, who became the wife of Joseph Bassett, 
of Yarmouth, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Dr. Nathan Goldsmith Howard Pulsifer, 
second child of Dr. Moses Rust and Mary 
Strout (Dunn) Pulsifer, was born January 24, 
1824, at Eden, Mount Desert, Hancock county, 
Maine, and died at Waterville, Maine, December 
3, 1893. His elementary education was obtained 
at the public schools of Eden and Minot, Maine, 
and was there prepared for college. From early 
youth he had determined to follow in his father's 
footsteps in the choice of a profession, and with 
this end in view entered the Dartmouth Medical 
School. Here he distinguished himself as a bril- 
liant and indefatigable student, and pursued his 
studies to such good purpose that he was gradu- 
ated with the class of 1847. The young man 
had already gained familiarity with medical sub- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



119 



jects in the offices of his father and Dr. N. C.. 
Harris, and considerable practical experience in 
assisting them with their patients, so that he 
was especially well equipped to begin practice 
on his own account. This he began to do imme- 
diately upon receiving his degree as Doctor of 
Medicine, settling at Fox Island, Maine. He 
shared the fever for gold hunting which swept 
the country upon the discovery of the precious 
metal in California in 1849, and secured a posi- 
tion as physician on board the barkentine Bel- 
grade, which made the journey around the Horn 
to California in six months. He remained in the 
Far West for about two years and then returned 
to the East, in 1851. He practised for a short 
time at Ellsworth and then determined to take 
a post-graduate course, with which purpose in 
view he attended several courses of lectures at 
the medical schools of New York City and Phila- 
delphia, and worked in various hospitals in the 
two cities. He continued thus employed for 
about one year and then, in 1852, returned to 
Maine and began practice at Waterville. Here 
he remained actively at work until the close of 
his life, and gained for himself in the meantime 
the esteem and veneration of the whole com- 
munity, including his professional colleagues. His 
reputation as a capable and conscientious physi- 
cian spread far beyond the confines of his home 
town, and he was familiarly known throughout 
that section of country. In addition to his pro- 
fessional activities, Dr. Pulsifer was associated 
with many other departments of the community's 
affairs, and in all was recognized as a leader. He 
was the vice-president and a director of the 
People's National Bank of Waterville for many 
years, and its president for the ten years pre- 
ceding his death. He was a Republican in poli- 
tics and, although his professional duties did not 
admit of his taking so large a part in local poli- 
tics as his talents and qualities of leadership fitted 
him for, he, nevertheless, exercised a beneficial 
influence upon affairs as a private citizen, to 
whom all looked with respect. He was keenly 
interested in the development of real estate 
values in and about Waterville, and during the 
last twenty years of his life invested largely and 
with judgment in these properties. In his relig- 
ious belief Dr. Pulsifer was a Unitarian. 

Dr. Pulsifer was united in marriage, October 
24, 1855, with Ann Cornelia Moor, a native of 
Waterville, where she was born, February 16, 
1835, a daughter of William and Cornelia Ann 
(Dunbar) Moor, old and highly-respected resi- 
dents of this place. Dr. and Mrs. Pulsifer were 



the parents of the following children: I. Nora, 
born June 24, 1856, and became the wife of Frank 
Lorenzo Thayer, son of Lorenzo Eugene and 
Sarah (Chase) Thayer, to whom she has borne 
three children: Nathan Pulsifer, born December 
20, 1878; Lorenzo Eugene, born March 8, 1883; 
Frank L., Jr., born December 5, 1895. 2. Cor- 
nelia Ann, born August 8, 1860, and became the 
wife of Herbert L. Kelley, son of Henry and 
Mary (Crie) Kelley, to whom she has borne one 
child, Cornelia Pulsifer, born February 17, 1897. 
3. William Moor, born August 18, 1863, a graduate 
of the Colby University and the Harvard Medical 
School; he also took a post-graduate course at 
the Hahnemann Medical College at Philadelphia, 
studied in Germany for a year, and was engaged 
in the active practice of medicine at Skowhegan, 
Maine, at the time of his death, November 13, 
1915; married, October 2, 1896, Helen G. Libby, 
daughter of Isaac C. and Helen Libby, who has 
borne him one child, Libby Pulsifer, born March 
27, 1899. 4. Ralph H., born August 19, 1865, at 
Waterville, Maine; graduated from the Coburn 
Classical Institute and Colby University; he 
studied for his profession at the Boston Univer- 
sity Medical School and the Hahnemann Medical 
College, at Philadelphia, graduating from both 
institutions; he is now in active practice at 
Waterville; married, February 23, 1893, Grace 
Goodrich Yeaton, of Belgrade, and they are the 
parents of one child, Page Moor Pulsifer, born 
August 20, 1896. 

The late Dr. Pulsifer was of the type of men 
that make the best citizens. With a high sense 
of civic duties and obligations, he identified him- 
self with many important movements undertaken 
for the welfare of the community, and did much 
to assist in its development. As a man he was 
in all respects admirable, and won the confidence 
of his associates in all walks and relations of life. 
In all capacities he measured up to the highest 
standards, and his name may well be held in 
respect by his fellows. The life of a physician 
is no cynosure and the very choice of it is a 
proof of the sincerity and earnestness of the 
chooser, either as a student with an overwhelm- 
ing love of his subject, or as an altruist whose 
first thought is the good of others. Probably 
something of both elements entered into the 
attitude of Dr. Pulsifer, and this is borne out by 
the double fact of his unusual learning in his 
science, both theory and practice, and of his 
having won in so marked a degree the respect 
and affection of his patients and the community- 
at-large. 



120 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



DANIEL JOHN McGILLICUDDY Himself 

a native of the "Pine Tree State" and an Ameri- 
can in character, manner and ideal, Daniel John 
McGillicuddy, one of the leading attorneys of 
Lewiston, Maine, and a citizen of the greatest 
public spirit, is by blood an Irishman and exhibits 
in his own personality and character many of the 
most typical virtues and abilities of a long line 
of Irish ancestors. The McGillicuddy family had 
its origin in County Kerry, Ireland, which is one 
of the most picturesque and charming districts in 
all that picturesque country, being situated upon 
the wild and romantic southwest coast, where 
some of the boldest and most magnificent scenery 
of Ireland occurs, while inland this grandeur is 
softened and subdued until it finds its most typi- 
cal expression in the famous and lovely lake of 
Killarney. 

In this beautiful country John McGillicuddy, 
father of Daniel John McGillicuddy, was born in 
the year 1824. Like so many of his fellow Irish- 
men at that time, he came to the United States, 
together with his brother and sisters, and settled 
at Lewiston, Maine, where he resided during the 
remainder of his life and where his death oc- 
curred, August 19, 1910. He married Ellen 
Byrnes, who died in Lewiston in 1884. Mr. Mc- 
Gillicuddy was a farmer and followed that occu- 
pation during most of his life, both before and 
after coming to the United States. He and his 
wife were the parents of four children, of whom 
one died in infancy and three survive today. They 
are as follows: Daniel John; Mary, who became 
the wife of George A. Wiseman, of Lewiston, 
Maine; John, a retired merchant of Lewiston. 

Daniel John McGillicuddy was born August 27, 
1859, at Lewiston, Maine, and has made his native 
city his home up to the present time. It was 
there that he received his early education, attend- 
ing for this purpose the grammar schools, from 
which he was graduated in 1874, and later the 
high school, where he was graduated in 1877, and 
was prepared for college. He then matriculated 
at Bowdoin College, where he took the usual 
academic or practical course, and where after 
establishing an excellent record for scholarship 
he was graduated with the class of 1881. He 
then became a student at law at Lewiston, and 
in 1883 was admitted to practice at the bar of 
Androscoggin county. He at once opened an 
office at Lewiston, Maine, and continued the 
practice of his profession by himself until 1891, 
when he formed a partnership with Frank A. 
Morey, under the name of McGillicuddy & 
Morey, which now occupies a prominent place 



among the legal firms of the city. McGillicuddy 
& Morey is one of the best known firms not only 
in Lewiston but in the neighboring city of Au- 
burn and in the whole surrounding region, and 
much of the most important litigation thereof 
has been through its offices. This office has also 
proved the training grounds of many brilliant 
lawyers, not a few of the successful attorneys of 
Auburn and Lewiston having had their initial 
training there. In addition to his legal activities 
Mr. McGillicuddy has taken a very active part 
in several important aspects of the city's life, 
and has held a number of important public offices, 
in which he has acquitted himself not only to 
his own great credit but to the advantage of 
the community-at-large. In 1881 he became a 
member of the School Board of Lewiston, and 
rapidly attained a popularity which insured his 
promotion to much more important offices. In 
1884 he was elected a member of the State Legis- 
lature, in which body he served most effectively 
for three years, and in 1887 received the most 
honorable post in the gift of the city, when he 
was elected to the office of Mayor. His adminis- 
tration of the city's affairs was most capable and 
the energy with which he pursued every under- 
taking which looked toward the general welfare 
was most noteworthy. So much did he possess 
the general confidence and admiration of the 
people that he was twice returned to this im- 
portant office, being re-elected in 1890 and again 
in 1902. In the year 1910 he became the candi- 
date for United States Congress and was elected 
both in that year and in 1916. He is now serving 
his community in this high office, where he has 
won for himself a reputation for disinterested- 
ness and capability most enviable. 

Mr. McGillicuddy is a man of all around tastes 
and broad sympathies, who finds his interests in 
every aspect and department of life. Of such a 
man it is not correct to say that he possesses 
any hobby, a phrase which denotes to a certain 
extent so great a concentration upon some one 
subject as to detract from a normal interest in 
others. It is the last accusation that could be 
brought against Mr. McGillicuddy, who finds 
pleasure in well nigh every normal pastime and 
is capable of appreciating the tastes of all types 
and characters of men. During the day of the 
horse, he was the owner of a large number of 
these animals, all of which were of the best 
example of their respective types, and indeed was 
devoted to them individually. Mr. McGillicuddy 
is also interested in the financial and business 
development of the community of which he is a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



121 



member, and among others is connected with the 
First National Bank in the capacity of stock- 
holder. He is a member of the local lodges of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and 
the Knights of Columbus. In his religious be- 
lief Mr. McGillicuddy is a staunch Catholic, as 
the members of his family have been for many 
generations, and he attends St. Joseph's Church 
in Lewiston. 

Daniel John McGillicuddy was united in mar- 
riage, July 5, 1898, at Lewiston, with Minnie M. 
Sprague, a native of that city and a daughter of 
Anselm W. and Harriett (Ridley) Sprague, old 
and highly respected residents here. 

An additional word should here be said re- 
garding the migration of the McGillicuddy family 
from Ireland to the United States. The first of 
the name to reach this country was Patrick Mc- 
Gillicuddy, an uncle of Congressman McGilli- 
cuddy, who settled first in Rhode Island, where 
he was afterwards joined by his brother, John 
McGillicuddy, the father of Congressman Mc- 
Gillicuddy. The two young men, after remain- 
ing for a while in Rhode Island and a still shorter 
period in Massachusetts, came in the year 1845 
to Maine and settled in Lewiston. 

The gaining of great material success for him- 
self and a position of power and control in the 
political and professional world of Lewiston, 
Maine, has been in no wise incompatible in the 
case of D. J. McGillicuddy, with the great and 
invaluable service which he renders to the com- 
munity of which he is so distinguished a mem- 
ber. Pre-eminently a man of affairs, he has made 
his talents subserve the double end of his own 
ambition and the welfare of his fellows. Lewis- 
ton, Maine, is the scene of his life-long work in 
connection with the enterprises so closely asso- 
ciated with his name, and he is highly respected 
by all those who come into even the most casual 
contact with him and by the community-at-large. 
Strong common sense and an invincible will, the 
latter tempered by unusual tact and good judg- 
ment, are the basis of his character and inci- 
dentally of his success. 



JAMES EVERETT PHILOON, a member of 
one of the old New England families, descended 
on the paternal side of the house from ancesters 
who came over on the Mayflower, is a man who 
is most closely identified with the life of the 
community wherein he dwells. The name was 
originally spelled Filoon and is still spelled that 
way in Massachusetts, but in Maine Philoon is 
the spelling adopted. 



James Filoon, the original settler, came from 
Cady, County Armagh, Ireland, and was of 
Scotch-Irish descent, and a member of the Pres- 
byterian church. He was a farmer by occupa- 
tion, and located in Abington, Massachusetts, 
where he married, but about 1817 removed to 
Livermore, Maine, and there resided during the 
remainder of his life. He married Christina Bur- 
roll, of Abington. 

Everett L. Philoon was born October 30, 1848, 
at Livermore, Maine, and has been for many years 
very prominent in local affairs, and in 1884 came 
to Auburn, where he first engaged in the grocery 
business, meeting with a gratifying success in 
this line, but afterwards invested in and became 
associated with Ashe, Noyes, Small & Company. 
Mr. Philoon was active in this large firm, which 
was engaged in the business of manufacturing 
shoes, until the time that he retired from active 
life on account of ill-health. Mr. Philoon has 
been prominently known as a member of this 
firm and came to occupy a prominent place in 
the manufacturing and mercantile centers of the 
community. But it was rather in connection with 
his public life that Mr. Philoon has been promi- 
nent and he has held many offices of responsi- 
bility and trust in the community. Among others 
should be mentioned that of City Treasurer, a 
position to which he was elected in 1899, and 
then, after the lapse of many years, again in 
1914. Mr. Philoon is a staunch supporter of the 
Democratic party and the principles and policies 
which it stands for, and it was as the nominee 
of this party that he was elected to the various 
offices which he has held. In 1905 Mr. Philoon 
was elected to represent the county as a member 
of the State Senate and served on this body dur- 
ing two terms. He is also prominent in the 
Universalist church, was a president of the Maine 
Universalist Convention, and a trustee of the 
Westbrook Seminary at Portland. Mr. Philoon 
was married to Mary Arabella Lara, a native of 
Turner, Maine, and to them four children were 
born, one of whom died in infancy. The three 
remaining are as follows: Daniel Lara, who is 
now engaged in the drug business at Newton 
Center, Maine, and is a graduate of the Uni- 
versity of Maine, with the class of 1901; Wallace, 
and James Everett. 

Among the successful business men of the 
prosperous city of Auburn, Maine, a high place 
is due Everett L. Philoon, whose career from 
the outset was successful in the best sense of 
the term, in that it had contributed to the wel- 
fare of the community as well as to his own, and 



122 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



which has placed him in the regard of his fellow 
citizens. Mr. Philoon is a type of citizen, com- 
bining in his character and personality in very 
happy proportion the qualities of the practical 
business man with those of the public-spirited, 
whose thoughts are with the welfare of the com- 
munity. It has been by his own efforts that he 
has risen to the position which he held and 
throughout his career he never had conducted 
his affairs so that they were anything but a bene- 
fit to all his associates and the city-at-large. He 
is frank and outspoken, a man whose integrity 
has never been called in question, who could be 
and is trusted to keep the spirit as well as the 
letter of every contract. 

Born May I, 1887, James Everett Philoon, son 
of Everett L. and Mary Arabella (Lara) Philoon, 
has made Auburn his home. It was there that 
he received the elementary portion of his educa- 
tion at the public schools, graduating from the 
grammar grades in the year 1904. He then at- 
tended the Hebron Academy, where he took an 
active part in debating, from which he graduated 
in 1909, and where he was prepared for a college 
course. In the same year he matriculated at 
Bowdoin College and graduated from that insti- 
tution with the class of 1913. In the meantime, 
however, Mr. Philoon decided to take up the law 
as a profession, and with this end in view entered 
the Boston University Law School, from which 
he graduated with the class of 1916. Mr. Philoon 
then at once opened an office at Auburn, situated 
at No. 81 Main street, which has been his head- 
quarters ever since. Besides the theoretical train- 
ing gained by him at the Boston University Law 
School, Mr. Philoon also studied for a while with 
the firm of Newell & Woodwise, eminent attor- 
neys of Lewiston, and there gained the practical 
side of the profession. He is now engaged by 
himself. In politics Mr. Philoon is a supporter 
of the Democratic party, but this support is in 
no sense partisan, as he reserves for himself the 
right to decide in every question of public issue 
on the merits of the case as he sees it, and 
never allows the mere interest of his party or 
his party colleagues to interfere with what he 
regards to be to the best advantage of the com- 
munity-at-large. He takes a particular pleasure 
in reading and especially enjoys historical works 
of all kinds. History may perhaps be called his 
hobby, if any one subject can be so designated. 
Mr. Philoon is a member of a number of fra- 
ternal circles of Auburn, and prominent in the 
Masonic order. He is affiliated with Tranquil 
Lodge, No. 29, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 



sons. During his college life Mr. Philoon be- 
came a member of the Phi Delta Phi, legal fra- 
ternity, and the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity of 
Bowdoin College, and held the position of consul 
of the former organization during his senior year 
at the Boston University Law School. He is 
also a member of the Waseca Club, of Auburn, in 
which he held the office of treasurer, and takes 
part actively in social life here. In his religious 
belief Mr. Philoon is a Universalist, is very active 
in the work of his church, and at the present time 
is superintendent of its Sunday school and also 
holds the office of trustee of the parish. 

Wallace Copeland Philoon, the brother of 
James Everett Philoon, is a graduate of Bow- 
doin College, with the class of 1905. He after- 
wards attended West Point Military Academy, 
from which he graduated in 1909. He was after- 
wards detailed to the infantry service in the West, 
later was stationed at Honolulu, and has recently 
received his commission as captain. 



WESTON LEWIS A more fitting prelude to 
a review of the life of Weston Lewis, now gone 
to "that bourne from which no traveler returns," 
cannot be conceived than the following tribute 
from the pen of his lifetime friend and business 
associate, Josiah S. Maxcy: 

My acquaintance with Weston Lewis began in 
the old time Lyceum building, when I entered 
school in the fall of 1866. I was a small, under- 
sized boy, scarcely twelve years old, and as then 
was the custom I was being hazed. Weston, who 
was one of the largest boys, said, "He is small, 
don't hurt him," picked me up and tossed me out 
of the ring. This has been characteristic of him 
through life, to help the weak. 

The old Lyceum building burned in the fall of 
1869, and the high school was demoralized until 
the spring of 1872, when he was engaged as a 
teacher. He had just passed his twenty-first 
birthday and was a young giant in strength and 
stature. As in after life, he soon asserted him- 
self, and it took only a short time to throw the 
unruly boys over the seats and restore order. 

Our real acquaintance started when he entered 
the Savings Bank in 1875, and we soon had busi- 
ness interests in common. For over a third of a 
century, when both were in Gardiner, we were 
with each other daily, and we traveled together 
thousands of miles on business trips. We en- 
gaged in the building and operation of water 
plants, in the ice business, in banking, railroad- 
ing, timber interests and mining. In our exten- 
sive business we kept no regular co-partnership 
books, and had no written agreements, yet no 
question as to settlements ever arose. We had 
perfect mutual confidence and never failed to 
agree upon any conversation that had occurred 
years before. 

Large, strong, vigorous, optimistic, bold in 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



123 



business ventures, yet so sensitive to censure 
that I have known of his refusal to run for office 
on account of the notoriety and criticism of a 
campaign. Unknown to the world, he has helped 
many a young man to an education and has made 
considerable sacrifice from a generous impulse to 
assist others. 

Weston Lewis was a man of broad ideas, loyal 
to his friends, and generous with his counsel 
and gifts. For many years he has been a power 
in our city, and even more than we now realize, 
we shall feel his loss. 

Just across the Kennebec river from Gardiner, 
in Pittston township, Kennebec county, Maine, 
lies the village of Pittston, the birthplace of 
Weston Lewis and the home of his parents, 
Warren R. Lewis (son of Stephen W. Lewis), 
born in Jefferson, Maine, a farmer, who retired 
after a successful career, honored and esteemed 
by all. He married Laura Jane Carleton, born 
at Kings Mills, Maine, who gave her life for that 
of her son, Weston, at his birth, December 26, 
1850. There his youth was spent, but later, 
when choosing a residence and base of activity, 
he selected Gardiner, just across the river from 
his birthplace. There the adult period of his 
years, sixty-seven, were passed, and when the 
end came, shortly before midnight, September 
21, 1918, at his home, "The Cove," the com- 
munity mourned the loss of its best and truest 
friend. 

Weston Lewis attended the public schools of 
his native town and of Gardiner, completing 
preparation for college with the graduating Gar- 
diner high school class of 1868. He then spent 
four years at Bowdoin College, whence he was 
graduated A.B., class of 1872, receiving the de- 
gree of A.M. from his alma mater later. The 
next three years, 1872-75, were spent as principal 
of Gardiner High School, then retired as an edu- 
cator to enter business life. In 1875 he was 
chosen assistant treasurer of the Gardiner Sav- 
ings Institution, and a year later was elected 
treasurer of the same institution, serving until 
1888, when he was chosen by the board of direct- 
ors as the executive head of the institution. In 
1885 Mr. Lewis began his close association with 
Josiah S. Maxcy, an association which only death 
dissolved. Their first large associated business 
was in the erection of the Gardiner water works, 
a venture which at that time was one of some 
uncertainty as a profitable one. But both men 
possessed broad vision and public spirit which 
nerved them to the task which eventually brought 
them abundant return. During the years which 
followed, Messrs. Lewis and Maxcy constructed 
water works systems at Waterville, Fairfield, 



Dover, Foxcroft, Calais, St. Stephens, Madison, 
Maine, and at Milltown, New Brunswick, buying 
controlling interest in the systems at Bath and 
Brunswick, Maine. All these interests were con- 
solidated under the corporate name, The Maine 
Water Company. The Maine Trust and Banking 
Company, of Gardiner, Maine, was organized in 
1889, Weston Lewis being chosen its first presi- 
dent, and until his death, twenty-nine years later, 
no other man held that office. He was president 
of the Kennebec Central railroad from its incep- 
tion, and president of the Sandy River railroad 
for twenty years, until its purchase by the Maine 
Central, in 1911. For eight years he was director 
of the Maine Central railroad, director of the 
Mutual Union Life Insurance Company of Port- 
land, Maine, director of the Bath Iron Works, 
Limited, and had many other important business 
connections, part of these being with corpora- 
tions and business enterprises beyond local or 
State limits. 

He retained a lively interest in his alma mater 
and served her for eight years as a trustee, and 
was Bowdoin's loyal friend always. He was presi- 
dent of the local Board of Trade, and was gener- 
ous with the financial aid so necessary in all 
enterprises to make well-intentioned sympathy 
really helpful. He was a Democrat in politics 
and served his city in both branches of Council, 
representing Ward No. 3 in 1885, and in 1886-88 
acting as alderman. He was a member of Gov- 
ernor Plaisted's State Council in 1911-12, and one 
of the strong men of that administration. When 
war with Germany brought forward new prob- 
lems he at once willingly shouldered his part of 
the burden, and on Kennebec County Exemption 
Board, No. 2, served loyally until ill health com- 
pelled him to desist. This was true in all war 
activities and drives, as he was a hard worker in 
placing Liberty Loans and in raising Gardiner's 
quota for the various funds. He was very friendly 
and approachable, sympathetic to a high degree 
and generous in his response to every cause. 
Gifts of thousands were not unusual to him; no 
worthy charity but received his aid, and no pro- 
gressive public enterprise he did not forward. 
He was a member of the Masonic order, Cumber- 
land Club of Portland, Bramhall League of Port- 
land, and of two Boston clubs. In religious 
preference he was an Episcopalian. 

Weston Lewis married, at Gardiner, October 
18, 1876, Eleanor W. Partridge, who survives her 
husband, and is a resident of Portland, Maine. 
She is a daughter of the late Charles H. Part- 
ridge, who was born in Hallowell, Maine, a mer- 



124 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



chant of Gardiner. He married Bridget Western, 
born in Madison, Maine, both long since passed 
to their reward. Mr. and Mrs. Lewis were the 
parents of two sons, Carleton, who died October 
13, 1918, and Henry, now of Portland, Maine; and 
one daughter, Eleanor, residing with her mother 
in Portland. 

Such in brief was the lifework of Weston 
Lewis, whose life was lived in the public view 
and pronounced good. A leader in the business 
world, his was a potent voice in the councils of 
the Democratic party of Maine, a vital force for 
progress and good in his community. Too much 
stress cannot be placed upon the value of his 
life to his fellow-men. When he was borne to 
his last resting place he was followed by men of 
high distinction as his honorary bearers: Ex- 
Governor William T. Cobb; Morris McDonald, 
president of the Maine Central railroad; Kenneth 
Sills, president of Bowdoin College; Hon. E. B. 
Winslow, of Portland; Robert H. Gardiner; 
Henry Richards; Josiah S. Maxcy; N. C. Bar- 
stow, of Gardiner; C. H. Gilman, of Portland, and 
Howard Corning, of Bangor. 

Carleton Lewis, eldest child of Weston and 
Eleanor W. (Partridge) Lewis, was born in Gar- 
diner, Maine, October 6, 1878, died at Warren, 
Oregon, October 13, 1918. He prepared for col- 
lege in private schools, but did not enter, choos- 
ing instead a business career. At the age of 
eighteen, under the able training of his father, 
he had developed such keen business instinct and 
was so good a judge of standing timber that he 
was sent out by Weston Lewis as a buyer of 
timber tracts in the Rangeley Lakes section. As 
he reached years of legal responsibility he was 
admitted to several of his father's railroad enter- 
prises and became very familiar with banking 
operations. He remained with his father until 
1905, then went to Oregon, where in the thirteen 
years of life yet remaining to him he became very 
prominent as a banking and business man. He 
established a bank at Rainier, a town of Columbia 
county, Oregon, on the Columbia river, fifty miles 
north of Portland; another at White Salmon, 
Klickitat county, Washington; and was in charge 
of the Columbia river agency of the Dupont Pow- 
der Company. He owned a large farm at War- 
ren, Columbia county, Oregon, and there in 1916 
he erected a handsome country residence, remov- 
ing thence from Portland, which had been his 
home ever since locating in Oregon. His home 
in Portland was in that part of the city known 
as Portland Heights, opposite Mt. Hood. He 
was a business man of high ability, energetic, 



clear-visioned and fearless in following where his 
judgment led. 

Mr. Lewis was a Democrat in politics, and loyal 
in his party allegiance, but public life held no at- 
traction for him, and he persistently refused nom- 
ination for political office. He was a member of 
the Oregon Home Guard, ranking as major, and 
prominent in the Masonic order, holding the 
thirty-second degree of the Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite, and was affiliated with lodge, chap- 
ter and commandery of the York Rite; also was 
a noble of the Mystic Shrine. His club was the 
Portland, of Portland, and his religious faith that 
of the Protestant Episcopal church. 

Carleton Lewis married, December 31, 1902, 
Elizabeth S. Clark, daughter of Charles W. Clark, 
of Markesan, Green Lake county, Wisconsin. 



FREDERICK VIVIAN MATTHEWS is a 
member of an old and distinguished family of 
Maine, which for four generations made its home 
in Boothbay, where it was founded by John 
Matthews about the middle of the eighteenth cen- 
tury. Tradition is that he was a son of Samuel 
R. Matthews, the immigrant ancestor, who cam* 
to this country from England, some time prior 
to 1631. This ancestor was Francis Matthews, 
who was of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, in that 
year, of Oyster River in 1633, of Exeter in 1639- 
46, and who moved t* Dover, New Hampshire, 
in 1647, where for four generations the family 
remained residents. 

John Matthews, of Boothbay, was born about 
1730, or possibly as late as 1735, and is recorded 
to have been the owner of a farm of two hun- 
dred acres on the shore of Back river, opposite 
Barter's island, in what was then known as 
Townsend, but is now Boothbay, Maine, having 
undoubtedly come to Boothbay with the colony 
known as the "Dover District," settled about 
1757. We have also a record of his marriage 
at Georgetown, August 29, 1764, when he was 
united in marriage with Janette Barter, a daugh- 
ter of Samuel Barter, of Dover, New Hampshire, 
and later of Townsend or Boothbay, Maine, and a 
descendant of Henry Barter, who came from 
England with William Pepperell, in 1675, an d set- 
tled at Crockett's Neck, in Kittery, Maine. From 
John and Janette (Barter) Matthews the line de- 
scends through Captain John Matthews, who 
married, April 15, 1804, Rebecca Southard, of 
Boothbay, born March 17, 1786; Alfred Matthews, 
grandfather, and Captain Elbridge Matthews, 
father of the Mr. Matthews of this sketch. 

Alfred Matthews, grandfather of Frederick V. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



125 



Matthews, was born in Boothbay, Maine, August 
3, 1806, and died January 26, 1879. He was a 
prominent man in Boothbay, was a carpenter by 
trade, was the owner of a large farm in Booth- 
bay, and occasionally made sea voyages, becom- 
ing very well acquainted with the coast of New 
England. He was twice married, his first wife, 
Charlotte (Dunton) Matthews, born September 
22, 1805, daughter of Timothy Dunton, Jr., and 
Margaret (Pinkham) Dunton, of Boothbay, being 
the mother of all his children, as follows: Ed- 
ward, born November 16, 1830, lost at sea in 
1851; Rebecca, born December 26, 1832, became 
the wife of Sewall Wylie; Georgianna, born Sep- 
tember I, 1837, and married Llewellyn Baker; 
Elbridgc, of further mention; and Byron C., born 
March 31, 1845, now (1917) residing in Booth- 
bay. 

Captain Elbridge Matthews, father of Frederick 
V. Matthews, was born at Boothbay, Maine, Oc- 
tober 24, 1840, died January 29, 1917. The child- 
hood associations with his grandfather, Captain 
John Matthews, inspired in him a strong love 
of the sea, and filled his mind with all manner of 
tales and legends concerning not only his own 
adventures, but the entire great body of tradition 
which has sprung up about the life of a sailor. 
While still little more than a child, he shipped as 
cabin boy on board a brig, to gain for himself a 
first-hand knowledge of this romantic way of 
life. He displayed aptness, and worked his way 
up so rapidly that when only twenty-two years 
of age he was placed in command of a vessel. 
He sailed as master of several vessels for a period 
of twenty-four years, and met with many adven- 
tures and thrilling escapes, including fire and a 
collision with a steamship, but he never lost a 
vessel. In 1886 he retired from the sea and 
established himself in the grain and feed busi- 
ness at South Portland, Maine. Eight years later 
his place was destroyed by fire, but he rebuilt it 
and continued his successful career. He extended 
his business, opening branch establishments, the 
first in Portland, in 1892, and another at Wood- 
fords, the same year, in 1899 retiring entirely 
from business life. He built a large residence 
on Pleasant avenue, Portland, in 1898. Being 
active in public affairs, he served two years as 
alderman, icpresenting his ward in Deering. Cap- 
tain Matthews was affiliated with Fraternity 
Lodge and Machigonne Encampment, Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows; Lincoln Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Wiscasset, Maine; and 
the Improved Order of Red Men. Captain Mat- 
thews married (first) Lovesta Hodgdon, born 



November 19, 1839, twelfth child of Timothy 
and Frances (Tibbets) Hodgdon, of Boothbay, 
and they were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: Frederick Vivian, of further mention; 
Chester, born November 8, 1866, died in 1915; 
Genevieve, born August 4, 1870; Leslie Mitchell, 
died in infancy; Florence Lovesta, born Febru- 
ary 27, 1883. The mother of these children died 
March 9, 1883. Captain Matthews married (sec- 
ond) October 20, 1884, Florence D. Hodgdon, 
niece of his first wife, and a daughter of Zina 
H. and Rhinda (Reed) Hodgdon, of Boothbay. 
They are the parents of one child, Marion Laura, 
born July n, 1886; married Lester M. Hart, ot 
Portland, Maine. 

Frederick Vivian Matthews was born at Booth- 
bay, Maine, September 2, 1865, and there passed 
his early childhood. In 1873 his parents came 
to Deering, now a part of Portland, and the lad 
gained his education in the public schools of that 
city and at Hebron Academy, graduating from 
the high school in 1883, and from the academy 
the following year. He then went to South 
America, but at the expiration of a year returned. 
He then matriculated at Colby University, where 
he remained two years, and then entered the law 
office of Drummond & Drummond, distinguished 
members of the Maine bar. He was admitted to 
the Maine bar in October, 1889, and at once 
opened an office for the practice of his profession 
at No. 306 Congress street, Portland, his present 
address, and in the meantime has built up a lucra- 
tive practice. For several years he held the office 
of secretary of the Republican City Committee, 
which has frequently sent him as a delegate to 
the party conventions in various parts of the 
country. From 1888 to 1891 he held the office 
of collector of Deering, and after the incorpora- 
tion of that town as a city, in 1892, he served as 
a member of the Board of Registration. Other 
offices which he held were those of City Solicitor 
and a number of minor posts in the city govern- 
ment. He was one of the most active advocates 
of the project to annex Deering to the city of 
Portland, and served as chairman of the annexa- 
tion committee of Deering, in which capacity he 
successfully conducted the campaign which event- 
ually resulted in that action being taken. It was 
he who presented the matter to the Legislative 
Committee during the session of that body in 
1809, when the measure was finally passed. Mr. 
Matthews is a member of the American Bar Asso- 
ciation, serving as a member for Maine of the 
General Council for a term. He is also a mem- 
ber of Deering Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 



126 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Masons; Fraternity Lodge and Una Encamp- 
ment, of Portland, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows; the Portland Club; the Maine His- 
torical Society; and Maine Genealogical Society. 
For many years he has been associated with the 
State Street Congregational Church, of Portland, 
and is a member of the State Street Parish Club, 
and the Congregational Club of Portland, also 
serving as the secretary of the latter for seven 
years. In 1914 Colby University conferred upon 
him the honorary degree of Master of Arts for 
distingished attainment in his profession. 

Mr. Matthews married, June 25, 1890, Annie B. 
Harmon, daughter of Treuman and Harriett 
(Files) Harmon, and a member of an old and dis- 
tinguished Maine family. Mr. and Mrs. Harmon 
are deceased. Mrs. Matthews, through her 
mother's family, is descended from Colonel Rog- 
ers and his son, who came to this country in the 
Mayflower, 1620. Mr. and Mrs. Matthews are the 
parents of a daughter, Vivien Harmon, born Au- 
gust 14, 1895; she was a pupil of the Waynflete 
School at Portland, for some seven years, then 
attended the Ossining School, at Ossining-on- 
the-Hudson, New York, two years, from which 
she was graduated with the class of 1914, later 
attending Wheaton College, at Norton, Massa- 
chusetts, and now (1917) makes her home with 
her parents at Portland. 



JOSEPH BLAKE DRUMMOND, M.D. The 
name Drummond is of ancient Scottish origin 
and the family which bears it has played a very 
distinguished part in the intellectual development 
of Scotland, many of its members having been 
prominent in the various departments of science, 
art, literature and philosophy. The same charac- 
teristics which have marked so conspicuously the 
Drummonds in their native land have followed 
that branch of the family which migrated to 
America, and are still in their possession in the 
New World. Among the famous Drummonds of 
the past should be mentioned William Drum- 
mond, of Hawthornden (1585-1641), a contempo- 
rary and friend of Ben Jonson, and himself a 
poet of charm and power. Another Drummond 
who has won a world-wide reputation is Henry 
Drummond, theologian and scientist and the au- 
thor of many important philosophical works. 

The progenitor of the family in America was 
one Alexander Drummond, who came to this 
country from the north of Ireland, to which 
either he or his parents had migrated from Scot- 
land, and who was a staunch Scotch Presbyterian 
in religious belief. At the time of his coming to 



America, in 1729, he was a man well advanced in 
years and brought with him a family of grown- 
up children, to say nothing of a number of grand- 
children. The purpose of his migration to this 
country was his desire for a greater religious 
freedom than could be found in the Old World 
at that time, and here it is to be supposed that 
he discovered what he sought. From him the 
line runs through Patrick, John, John (2), Clark, 
Josiah Hayden, to Josiah Hayden, Jr., the father 
of the Dr. Drummond of this sketch. 

The first Josiah Hayden Drummond was a very 
capable attorney and a leader of the bar in the 
State of Maine. He was a graduate of Water- 
ville College, and played so prominent a part in 
the life of his community that he received the 
honorary degree of LL.D. both from his alma 
mater and Colby University. He was a member 
of the Maine Legislature for three terms and 
served as president of that body for two of them, 
and he was also State Senator and Attorney Gen- 
eral of the State. He was a very prominent Free 
Mason, was grand master of the local lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, grand high priest of the 
Royal Arch Masons, grand master of the Royal 
and Select Masters, grand commander of the 
Knights Templar of the State of Maine, and also 
held the offices of general grand high priest of 
General Grand Chapter, United States of America, 
general grand master of the Grand Council, 
United States of America, and grand commander 
of Supreme Council, Thirty-third North Masonic 
Jurisdiction, United States of America, for twelve 
years, and was chairman of committee on foreign 
correspondence of Grand Lodge of Maine for 
twenty-seven years. He was a brother of Everett 
Richard Drummond, also a distinguished attorney 
and prominent Free Mason, and one of the most 
influential Methodists of the State. Josiah Hay- 
den Drummond married, December 10, 1850, El- 
zada Rollins Bean, a daughter of Benjamin and 
Lucetta (Foster) Bean, of New York. 

Josiah Hadyen Drummond, Jr., son of Josiah 
Hayden and Elzada Rollins (Bean) Drummond, 
was born at Winslow, Maine. He was educated 
in the public schools of his native region, and 
following in his father's footsteps took up the 
profession of law. He made his home in Port- 
land, Maine, and there followed the practice of 
his profession with a high degree of success dur- 
ing the major part of his life, and was recognized 
as one of the leaders of the bar in Cumberland 
county. He married Sallie T. Blake. 

Dr. Joseph Blake Drummond was born July 12, 
1884, at Portland, Maine, son of Josiah Hayden, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



127 



Jr., and Sallie T. (Blake) Drummond. The pre- 
liminary portion of his education was received in 
the local public schools, and he graduated from 
the high school there in 1903 and was there pre- 
pared for college. In the autumn of the same 
year he matriculated at Bowdoin College, where 
he established a very high record for character 
and scholarship and was graduated with the class 
of 1907. Not only did he attract the favorable 
regard of his masters and professors, but he was 
also a popular figure with his fellow undergradu- 
ates and was a member of the college fraternity 
of Kappa Epsilon. Coming from a family in 
which professional life was the tradition, Mr. 
Drummond himself decided on such a career, but 
instead of following that of the law, with which 
several generations of his ancestors had been 
associates, he took up medicine, determining to 
make this his career in life. With this end in 
view, he entered the Bowdoin Medical School, 
immediately upon graduating from the classical 
course in the same institution, and here studied 
until 1910, when he was graduated with the de- 
gree of Doctor of Medicine. Since that time he 
has been in active practice in the city of Port- 
land, where he has met with a most marked and 
well-merited success, and now enjoys the patron- 
age of a large and high-class clientage. Dr. 
Drummond is regarded as among the leaders of 
the medical profession in the city and by the 
community-at-large. He is highly interested in 
general medical affairs, and is a member of the 
Cumberland County Medical Society, the Maine 
Medical Association, the American Medical Asso- 
ciation and the Portland Medical Club. Dr. 
Drummond is also active in many other non- 
professional organizations and is a member of the 
Portland Club, the Rotary Club and the Cumber- 
land Club, all of Portland. In his religious belief 
he is a Congregationalist and is a member of the 
State Street Church of that denomination. 

On December 14, 1911, Dr. Drummond married, 
at Augusta, Maine, Katherine Murray Randall, a 
daughter of Ira Sturgis and Evangeline (Mur- 
ray) Randall, members of old and honorable 
Maine families. 

Medicine is an exacting mistress to those who 
follow her, but though exacting she brings her 
rewards. Of her votaries she demands from first 
to last that they make themselves students, nor 
will she excuse them from this necessity, how- 
soever far they may progress in knowledge. Of 
them, too, she will have the strictest adherence 
to her standards, the closest observation of the 
etiquette she has approved, so that one should 



not inconsiderately pledge himself to her cause. 
If, however, after learning all these things, he 
still feels a devotion to her strong enough for 
him to brave them, then let him undertake her 
adventure, satisfied that, pursued boldly and dili- 
gently, it will lead him eventually to some fair 
port, to some well-favored place in the world's 
esteem. It is perhaps this, as much as any other 
matter, that makes it the choice of so many of 
our young men as a career in life, a throng 
so great that all complain of its overcrowding, 
and yet a throng that continues to increase. It 
is this, this not unwarrantable imagination that it 
eventually leads somewhere, more than the pure 
love of the subject itself, that makes this road so 
well traveled. Yet there are some who possess a 
pure love of medicine for its own sake, even in 
this day and generation, some who would regard 
it as well worth their best efforts even though 
it were an end and not a means, a road that 
existed for its own sake and led nowhither. Such 
is undoubtedly true in the case of Dr. Joseph 
Blake Drummond, a profound student of medi- 
cine and an ardent lover of its traditions and its 
methods. 



HON. EDWARD BOWDOIN NEALLEY 
One of the best-known figures in the life of Ban- 
gor, Maine, where he was identified with almost 
every department of the city's affairs and where 
his death occurred September 20, 1905, was the 
Hon. Edward Bowdoin Nealley, who was highly 
respected and esteemed by the entire community 
which he served so long and in so many differ- 
ent capacities. Mr. Nealley was born July 22, 
1837, at Thomaston, Maine, a son of the Hon. E. 
S. J. and Lucy (Prince) Nealley, the former for 
twenty years collector of customs for the Port 
of Bath, and a prominent man in State politics. 

As a lad he attended the public schools of Bath 
and was graduated from the high school there 
with the class of 1854. He also attended Yar- 
mouth Academy, where he was prepared for col- 
lege, and then entered Bowdoin College, where 
he took the usual classical course and was gradu- 
ated in 1858 with the degree of A.B. In 1861, 
upon the outbreak of the Civil War, Mr. Nealley 
offered his services to the United States Govern- 
ment, having spent the interim in the study of 
the law with his uncle, Senator Grimes, in Iowa. 
He was appointed to a clerkship in the Navy 
Department, at Washington, and after a time was 
promoted to the chief clerkship of one of the 
bureaus connected therewith. After the close of 
hostilities, Mr. Nealley returned to private life 



128 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



and became first United States District Attorney 
for the territory of Montana, being appointed to 
that office by President Lincoln. While in Mon- 
tana Mr. Nealley wrote a number of very interest- 
ing and illuminating articles descriptive of that 
new and sparsely-settled territory which appeared 
in the Atlantic Monthly, Lippincott's, and other 
magazines of the same description. In the year 

1866 he was sent East by Governor Meagher on 
territorial business and decided to remain in this 
part of the country. He first came to Bangor in 

1867 and here established himself in the ship chan- 
dlery business, dealing also in cordage, and con- 
tinued in this line up to the time of his death. 
In this enterprise he was associated with several 
other gentlemen and the firm name was first 
Smith, Nealley & Company. This was afterwards 
changed to Hincks & Nealley and later became 
Nealley & Company. Still more recently the busi- 
ness was conducted under the style of the Snow 
& Nealley Company, in which Mr. Nealley occu- 
pied the office of treasurer. This concern has had 
a long and successful career and the position 
which it occupies today in the public estimation 
has been due largely to the devoted attention 
which Mr. Nealley gave to its affairs. Besides 
this private enterprise Mr. Nealley was exceed- 
ingly active in many large business ventures 
hereabouts, and was president of the Mer- 
chants' Insurance Company, treasurer of the 
Hincks Coal Company and a director of the 
European & North American Railway, in all of 
which capacities he did much to promote not 
only the interests of the concerns with which 
he was immediately identified, but the material 
welfare of the community-at-large. He was also 
president of the Bangor Historical Society and 
a prominent member of the Bangor Board of 
Trade, and performed a valuable service to the 
community in this capacity. 

Mr. Nealley did not, however, confine his at- 
tention to business activities, but was always 
prominently associated with charitable and phil- 
anthropic institutions here. He was a member 
of the board of trustees of the Bangor Public 
Library and of the board of overseers of Bow- 
doin College, and was a well-known figure in 
educational circles. He was also president of 
the Tarratine Club of Bangor for several years. 
Mr. Nealley was, however, perhaps even better 
known in connection with his active political and 
public career than as a business man and was 
regarded as one of the leading members of the 
Republican party in this region and held a num- 
ber of offices both in the city and State govern- 



ment. In 7876 he was chosen a Representative 
of the Legislature from Bangor and enjoyed the 
distinction of being the only Republican elected 
on the ticket that year. While serving on this 
body he made an enviable reputation for him- 
self as a capable legislator and on his re-elec- 
tion was chosen Speaker of the House, against 
such formidable opponents as ex-Governor 
Henry B. Cleves and the Hon. J. Manchester 
Haynes, of Augusta. In 1878 he was elected to 
the State Senate and was renominated for the 
few following terms, but was one of those who 
suffered defeat at the time of the great Green- 
back movement in Maine. In the year 1885 he 
was elected the thirty-first mayor of Bangor 
against Thomas White, the Democratic candi- 
date, and was reflected the following year. Dur- 
ing the last illness of Charles A. Boutelle, Con- 
gressman, Mr. Nealley was offered the nomina- 
tion as successor to Mr. Boutelle, in case of the 
latter's death, which position he refused. Among 
his other activities Mr. Nealley was president 
of the Bangor & Piscataquis railroad in 1887, 
and in that capacity was instrumental in secur- 
ing the lease of the Katahdin Iron Works Rail- 
way, and later in promoting the transfer of the 
whole system to the Bangor & Aroostook rail- 
road. In association with Mr. George E. 
Hughes, of Bath, Mr. Nealley was a founder of 
McClelland Island, one of the most beautiful 
summer resorts on the Maine coast. Mr. Neal- 
ley was a gifted orator and frequently in demand 
on occasions when patriotic addresses were ap- 
propriate. It was he that delivered the address 
at the celebration of the organization of the 
town of Thomaston in 1877, and he also deliv- 
ered the oration at the Centennial celebration 
in Bangor in 1881. 

At the time of his death the following tribute 
appeared which sums up the characteristics of 
the man: 

A man of large mental capacity, a deep student 
with marked literary tastes and broad human 
sympathy, he was universally beloved by all who 
knew him. In his home, in society, in politics, 
and in business his life was marked by kindliness 
and courtesy, traits which won and kept for him 
life-long friends. His entire honesty, business in- 
tegrity and high ability were some of his chief 
characteristics. He had that sort of personal 
magnetism which held his audiences, and his in- 
born courtesy and manliness won him admiration 
and supporters everywhere. 

The Hon. Edward Bowdoin Nealley was united 
in marriage, June n, 1867, with Mary A. Drum- 
mond, daughter of the Hon. Jacob Drummond, 
a former mayor of Bangor. Mrs. Nealley died 






(L 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



129 



in 1877. He is survived by an only daughter, 
Mary Drummond Nealley, two brothers, William 
P. Nealley, of Bangor, and Henry Alison Neal- 
ley, of Boston, and one sister, Mrs. John Greg- 
son, of Bath. 



MINOT JUDSON SAVAGE, D.D. This cele- 
brated member of the literate of the country 
was descended from English ancestry. The 
emigrant ancestor of the Savage family was 
Thomas Savage, born in 1603, a son of William 
Savage, a blacksmith of Taunton, Somersetshire, 
England. The family lived in that county as 
early as the reign of Queen Elizabeth. History 
states that the original emigrant sailed from the 
parish of St. Albans in the Planter, April 2, 1635, 
and landed at Boston, Massachusetts. He was 
by trade a tailor, being 'apprenticed to the 
Merchant Tailors, London, England, January 9, 
1621. He was admitted to the church, January 
3, 1636, and became a freeman, May 25, 1636. 
He married (first) Faith Hutchinson, baptized 
August 14, 1617, daughter of William and the 
famous Ann Hutchinson, of Boston. Savage 
shared in the religious views of Mrs. Hutchin- 
son and John Wheelwright and as a punishment 
was disowned by the authorities. He was one 
of the original purchasers with Governor Cod- 
dington and others of Rhode Island, where he 
settled in 1638. He was one of the signers of 
the constitution of that colony, but preferring 
Boston with its persecutions to the wilds of 
Rhode Island, he sold his real estate holdings 
in August, 1639, and again became a resident of 
the Massachusetts Colony. He became a promi- 
nent and wealthy merchant, and was captain of 
a Boston military company in 1651. He was a 
deputy to the General Court in 1654 from Bos- 
ton, and later from Hingham and Andover; was 
Speaker of the House in 1659-60-71, and assistant 
in 1680. His first wife's death occurred Feb- 
ruary 20, 1652, and he married (second), Sep- 
tember 15, 1652, Mary, daughter of Rev. Zacha- 
riah Symmes, of Charlestown, Massachusetts. 
Captain Savage became interested in lands at 
Saco, Maine, and purchased a large tract from 
the Indians. He also bought, January 28, 1659, 
of Roger Spencer, an interest in a saw mill 
located near the great falls of Saco river. Ten 
years later he increased his holdings in the saw 
mill and made purchases of land three miles in 
extent along both sides of the river. From that 
time to the present day the Savage family have 
been prominently identified with the history of 
Maine. 

ME. 19 



Minot Judson Savage was a descendant of 
James Savage, who came from London to Bos- 
ton about 1715. He was a son of Joseph and 
Ann S. (Stinson) Savage, and was born at Nor- 
ridgewock, Maine, June 10, 1841. His father 
was a farmer in moderate circumstances, and a 
soldier in the War of 1812. At the age of thir- 
teen years he united with the Congregational 
church and since said: "There was no time in 
my boyhood when I did not intend to become a 
minister." At this period it was not deemed 
essential for a clergyman to have a collegiate 
education. Being ambitious in that direction, he 
fitted for Bowdoin College, but ill-health inter- 
fered materially with his studies, and for this 
reason he was obliged to forego a college educa- 
tion. Later he took a theological course at the 
Bangor Theological Seminary. He accepted, in 
1864, a commission from the American Home 
Missionary Society, and for three years did hard 
missionary work at San Mateo and Grass Valley, 
California. Returning East in 1867, he settled 
at Framingham, Massachusetts. In 1864 he mar- 
ried Ella Augusta Dodge, daughter of Rev. John 
Dodge, a Congregational minister, and grand- 
daughter of Hon. Godfrey Dodge, a Judge of the 
State Supreme Court. She was a native of Wald- 
boro, Maine. After a residence of two years at 
Framingham, Massachusetts, Mr. Savage again 
went West and labored for the next three years 
at Hannibal, Missouri. He was constantly read- 
ing and studying science, and found his views 
broadening and himself drifting away from the 
established Congregational creed. He made ef- 
forts to adjust his religious thought to the 
newly-discovered theories of evolution, but be- 
came known at Hannibal as a heretic, while he 
himself fully recognized that his views were no 
longer orthodox. 

About this time he received calls from the 
Congregational churches in Indianapolis, Indiana, 
and Springfield, Illinois, also from the Third 
Unitarian Church of Chicago. Feeling that with 
his convictions it was wrong to stay in the Con- 
gregational body, he determined to break away 
from it, in spite of the fact that he was bound 
to it by every natural tie and by memory. He 
accordingly accepted the call to the Chicago 
church, in the hope that he would find in Uni- 
tarianism at least a free pulpit. In May, 1874, 
he went to Boston to speak at the May meet- 
ing, and his sermons attracted so much atten- 
tion that he was soon afterwards called to the 
Church of the Unity in that city. He assumed 
the pastorate in September, 1874, which he held 



130 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



with uninterrupted increase of usefulness and 
popularity until 1896, when he received a call 
from the Church of the Messiah of New York 
City. He had pastoral charge of this church for 
the next ten years, when he retired from the 
ministry. He received the degree of D.D. from 
Harvard College in 1896. Dr. Savage was well 
known in the lecture field of the country, hav- 
ing delivered a number of addresses at the Bos- 
ton Lyceum and more or less for several years 
in the different cities in the West. 

His sermons were published every week for 
over thirty years. On this account the publica- 
tion had regular subscribers in every civilized 
country. The sermons were read in India, 
Hawaiian Islands, even in the colony of Tas- 
mania; in fact, in the most isolated parts of the 1 
world. 

It is by his valuable contributions to literature 
that Dr. Savage is best known. His first book, 
"Christianity, the Science of Manhood," appeared 
in 1873; this was followed three years later by 
"The Religion of Evolution," and in the same 
year "Light on the Cloud" was published. These 
early books were followed by "Bluffton," a 
story of today, 1878; "Life Questions," 1879; 
"The Morals of Evolution," 1880; "Beliefs About 
Man," 1882; "Beliefs About the Bible," 1883; 
"Man, Woman and Child," 1884; "The Religious 
Life," 1885; "Social Problems," 1886; "These De- 
generate Days," 1887; "My Creed," 1887; "Relig- 
ious Reconstructions," 1888; "Signs of the 
Times," 1889; "Helps for Daily Living," 1891; 
"The Irrepressible Conflict Between Two World 
Theories," 1891; "The Evolution of Christianity," 
1892; "Is This a Good World?" 1893; "Jesus and 
Modern Life," 1893; "A Man," 1895; "Religion 
for Today," 1897; "Our Unitarian Gospel," 1898; 
"Hymns," 1898;. "The Minister's Hand Book," 
"Phychics, Facts and Theories," "Life Beyond 
Death," 1901; "The Passing and the Permanent 
in Religion," 1901; "Living by the Day," 1900; 
"Men and Women," 1902; "Can Telepathy Ex- 
plain?" 1902; "Out of Nazareth," 1903; "Pillars 
of the Temple," 1904; "America to England and 
Other Poems," 1905; "Life's Dark Problems," 
1005. He also edited a Unitarian Catechism, and 
with Howard M. Dow, "Sacred Songs for Public 
Worship." 

Dr. Savage was, so far as known, the first 
minister either in England or America to sys- 
tematically employ the theories of evolution in 
the pulpit. Two of his books embodying some 
of the results of his labors in this line, the 
"Morals of Evolution" and the "Religion of Evo- 



lution," have been reissued in England, and the 
latter was translated into German by Dr. 
Schramm of the Cathedral at Bremen. In the 
pulpit Dr. Savage had a peculiarly attractive 
style that at once claimed the attention of his 
audience, and though in many matters he found 
himself quite at variance with ministers, not 
only of orthodox faith, but also of his own de- 
nomination, his opinions were respected by per- 
sons of every class. 

At the funeral of his friend, Felix Morris, the 
distinguished actor, he expressed himself as fol- 
lows: "If all actors were like him the supposed 
gulf between the stage and the church would be 
so narrow that the feeblest foot could step 
across. There has never been a time since I 
knew him that I would not have welcomed him 
to speak in my place. He was not only an 
actor but also a noble, true gentleman." 

Dr. Savage was a member of the Masonic 
fraternity and was elected to the thirty-third 
degree of that order. For several years he 
made Cleveland his residential city, but his home 
in 1917 was at the Lotus Club, New York City. 

By the marriage of Rev. Minot Judson and 
Ella Augusta (Dodge) Savage there were two 
daughters and two sons: Gertrude, born at 
Grass Valley, California, August 15, 1866, mar- 
ried Robert S. Collyer; Phillip H., born at North 
Brookfield, Massachusetts, February n, 1868, 
died at the age of thirty-one, June 4, 1899, at 
Boston, Massachusetts, an author of great promi- 
nence; Helen, born at Hannibal, Missouri, mar- 
ried Rev. Minot Simmons, Unitarian minister in 
Cleveland; Maxwell, born in Boston, June 13, 
1876, married Marguerite Downing; he is a Uni- 
tarian minister at Lynn, Massachusetts. Mrs. 
Savage died September 9, 1916. Dr. Savage died 
at Boston, Massachusetts, May 22, 1918. 



RALPH EUGENE ROWE, who has for a 

number of years been most closely associated 
with the educational life of the city of Portland, 
Maine, comes of good old Maine stock, and is a 
son of William A. and Catherine (McCabe) 
Rowe, the former a native of the "Pine Tree 
State," the latter of New Orleans, Louisiana. 
Mr. Rowe, Sr., was born at Holden, Maine, and 
was for many years successfully engaged in the 
business of manufacturing spools. He now lives 
in retirement at East Eddington, Maine. He 
served during the Civil War in the Seventeenth 
Regiment of Maine Volunteer Infantry, and is 
now a prominent member of the local post of 
the Grand Army of the Republic. To Mr. and 




WOODBURY K. DANA 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



131 



Mrs. Rowe five children were born, as follows: 
Ella M., who died at the age of thirty-two 
years; Margaret M., who resides with her 
parents at East Eddington; two children who 
died in infancy, and Ralph Eugene, of whom 
further. 

Born September 4, 1872, at Holden, Maine, 
Ralph Eugene Rowe, youngest son of William 
A. and Catherine (McCabe) Rowe, passed the 
years of his childhood and early youth in his 
native town. When ten years of age, after 
having gained the elementary portion of his edu- 
cation at the local public schools, his parents 
removed to East Eddington, where he continued 
his studies. He then attended for a time the 
Westbrook Seminary. Mr. Rowe had felt for a 
long time a desire to follow teaching as a pro- 
fession and his abilities were such as to qualify 
him admirably for this career. Accordingly, upon 
completing his studies at the last named institu- 
tion, he secured a position with the Hebron 
Academy as instructor in penmanship. He had 
already had some experience in this line, having 
taught while still a student at the Westbrook 
Seminary. Later he taught at the high school 
at Freeport and still later at the high school at 
Mechanics Falls, in all of which institutions he 
continued to teach his subject of penmanship. 
In addition to this, however, he also took up 
drawing and had several very successful classes 
in this department. Indeed, it may be said that 
Mr. Rowe's strongest taste is for art and it is 
in this line that his highest talents express 
themselves. From Mechanics Falls he went to 
Gray's Business College, and in 1892 was called 
to take charge of the classes in drawing and pen- 
manship in the Portland Public Schools. Here 
he has remained for the past quarter of a century 
until he is one of the best-known figures con- 
nected with these institutions. Mr. Rowe has 
been very active in many of the educational 
movements of the region, and has been presi- 
dent of the Schoolmasters' Club of the State 
of Maine, of the New England Penmanship Asso- 
ciation and the Portland Teachers' Association, 
the latter for a period of four years. In addi- 
tion to his activities as teacher, Mr. Rowe has 
been connected with some very large business 
enterprises, and has conducted the Peaks Island 
House, a very popular summer resort, situated 
on Peaks Island, Maine, for about fourteen years. 
This hotel enjoys an enviable reputation and is 
very largely patronized by the best class of 
those seeking rest and recreation at our water- 
ing places. Mr. Rowe is affiliated with the Ma- 



sonic order, and is a member of Ancient Land- 
mark Lodge, No. 17, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, and for two years was secretary of that 
body. In his religious belief Mr. Rowe is a 
Universalist, and attends the church of that de- 
nomination at Portland. 

It is a well-recognized fact among educators 
that the mere possession of knowledge in any 
particular line is not a sufficient qualification 
for a teacher in that line, no matter how pro- 
found that knowledge may be. The talent of 
imparting knowledge is one which is as nearly 
independent of the possession of it as, in the 
nature of the case, it can be, and it is even true 
that often those who possess a less complete 
technical training can impart a better general 
knowledge of the subject to the novice. In the 
case of Mr. Rowe, however, the two qualifica- 
tions are most happily blended, and in addition 
to a very remarkable ability of his own, in the 
lines which he professes, he possesses a quite 
remarkable faculty of imparting his' skill to 
others. It is, of course, impossible to deal with 
the value of such service in quite the definite 
manner with which we may the services of those 
who work in a more concrete medium than the 
artistic matter with which Mr. Rowe works. It 
is more easy to estimate the value of those gifts 
for which a community is indebted to the busi- 
ness man or even the philanthropist and which 
take such familiar tangible forms as a factory, 
a library or a church. But the most subtle 
standards of measurement prove inadequate when 
dealing with aesthetic forces or with such things 
as the service rendered by a teacher to his pupils. 
We can only say with confidence that the service 
is a great one, how great even those of us who 
most strongly feel the artistic impulse today are 
not qualified to say. 



WOODBURY KIDDER DANA There is a 

certain truth in that dictum of the great apostle 
of aristocracy, Thomas Carlyle, to the effect that 
majorities are always in the wrong. It is cer- 
tainly true that in every age there are a few 
men in advance of their time, who perceive more 
truly than their fellows the issues and problems 
of the day and their solutions. This is, per- 
haps, more particularly the case in the realm 
of industrial affairs today than in any other de- 
partment ot activity, and we have seen repeatedly 
in this and the generation just past how men 
of clearer vision than the average have insisted 
in carrying out purposes and plans, appearing 
foolish to their fellows, only to be entirely justi- 



132 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



fied in the event by some enormous material 
success redounding to their own and the com- 
munity's benefit. Inventions, enterprises in the 
industrial world, which we all recognize now as 
among the most important factors in the develop- 
ment of civilization in the modern world, have 
with scarcely an exception met with violent op- 
position or ridicule when first proposed and our 
chief benefits have been forced, as it were, upon 
us almost against our will by others more wise 
than we. Nowhere can we find a greater num- 
ber of such leaders or examples of more indi- 
vidual distinction than among the group of men 
whose names are identified with the industrial 
development of New England during the past 
century. Such a man is Woodbury Kidder Dana, 
inventor, industrial leader, soldier, a man whose 
record in every department of activity in which 
he has taken part is a credit, not to himself 
only, but to the entire community of which he 
is a member. 

Mr. Dana comes of a most distinguished fam- 
ily in New England, the members of which have 
resided in this country since early Colonial days 
and have now spread to practically every part 
of the United States, and have had careers of 
distinction in wellnigh every calling of import- 
ance, public and private. There is some little 
discussion concerning the origin of the family, 
although it is perfectly well established that 
the immigrant ancestor came here directly from 
England. It is the tradition, however, that one 
generation before it had first appeared in that 
country from France, from which country it had 
fled on account of religious persecution. It seems 
to be the balance of opinion among historians 
and genealogists who have dwelt with the sub- 
ject that the French origin has been pretty well 
established, although there is an alternate theory 
with some evidence to back it that the Danas 
first had their home in Italy. To quote Mr. 
Frank H. Swan, the talented biographer of Mr. 
Dana, and his son-in-law, "The origin of the 
family, whether Italian or French, is still open 
to investigation." However this may be, it is 
definitely known that in the year 1640 one Rich- 
ard Dana came from England and settled at 
Cambridge in the old Massachusetts Bay Colony. 
So far as can be ascertained, no other person 
of the name has come to the country since, so 
that all the Danas of the United States appear 
to be his descendants. He was probably a native 
of France, as the date given for his father's 
migration to England is 1629, but eleven years 
before the removal to this country. 



(I) Richard Dana made his home at Cam- 
bridge for about fifty years and prospered there, 
becoming the owner of considerable property 
at what is now Brighton, and holding a number 
of public offices. He was elected constable in 
1661, and in 1665 surveyor of highways and tith- 
ingman, and he also served as grand juror at 
different times. In 1648 he married Ann Bullard, 
of the same parish, and they were the parents 
of eleven children, all born at Cambridge. His 
death occurred April 2, 1690. 

(II) Jacob Dana, fourth son of Richard and 
Ann (Bullard) Dana, was born December 2, 1654, 
at Cambridge, and there made his home during 
life. He inherited a considerable portion of his 
father's estate, including the dwelling house and 
half the barn, and appears to have been pros- 
perous and well-to-do. He married and was the 
father of eight children, of whom Samuel is 
mentioned below. 

(III) Samuel Dana, son of Jacob Dana, was 
born September 7, 1694, at Cambridge. At the 
age of twenty-one he inherited his father's es- 
tate, on the condition of paying certain sums of 
money to the other children, which included, be- 
sides twenty-seven acres of land at Cambridge, 
properties at Pomfret, Connecticut. He elected 
to make his home at the former place, however, 
and there his children were born. Samuel Dana 
was three times married and outlived all his 
wives. The first of these was Abigail Gay, to 
whom he was married April 10, 1716, and who 
died June I, 1718. By her he had one child, 
Nathaniel, who is mentioned at length below. 
His second wife was Susanna Star, whom he 
married January 6, 1719, who bore him six chil- 
dren. She died April 10, 1731, and on December 
30, of the same year, he married (third) Mary 
Sumner, by whom he had six children. Her 
death occurred April 28, 1770. 

(IV) Nathaniel Dana, son of Samuel and Abi- 
gail (Gay) Dana, was born February I, 1717, at 
Cambridge, where he continued to dwell. He 
married Abigail Dean, by whom he had thirteen 
children, including Ephraim, who is mentioned at 
length below. Nathaniel Dana died when forty- 
eight years of age, a victim of smallpox. 

(V) Ephraim Dana, fourth child of Nathaniel 
and Abigail (Dean) Dana, was born September 
26, 1744, at Cambridge. He continued to live 
there until about twenty-one years of age and 
then went to Natick, Massachusetts, He was 
still a young man at the time of the Revolu- 
tion, and was one of the farmers who took part 
in the historic fight at Lexington, and was pos- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



133 



sibly present at Bunker Hill. He served in the 
war which followed and reached the rank of 
lieutenant. Ephralm Dana was a blacksmith by 
trade, and held a position of some influence in 
the town of Natick. He was elected to several 
public offices, including that of selectman, March 
6, 1782, and re-elected, March 3, 1783, and March 
i, 1784. He married, September 24, 1772, Re- 
becca Leland, of Sherborn, and they were the 
parents of three children: Dexter, born Novem- 
ber 30, 1773; David, born October 8, 1775; and 
Ephraim, Jr., born July 9, 1777, and who died 
four months later. His wife died also in 1777, 
and on April 20, 1780, he married Tabitha Jones, 
daughter of Colonel John Jones, of Dedham. 
There were five children by this union, as fol- 
lows: Rebecca, born February 10, 1781; Ephraim 
and Tabitha, twins, born February 5, 1783; Na- 
thaniel, born May 2, 1787, and Luther, who is 
mentioned at length below. Lieutenant Ephraim 
Dana died at his home at Natick, November 19, 
1792. 

(VI) Luther Dana, youngest son of Lieutenant 
Ephraim and Tabitha (Jones) Dana, was born 
April 20, 1792, at Natick, Massachusetts. In 
1801, when he was but nine years of age, his 
mother married Jacob Homer, a retired merchant 
of Boston, and not long after, probably through 
the influence of Mr. Homer, the lad secured a 
position in a Boston store and worked there for 
a number of years. His elder brothers, Dexter, 
David and Nathaniel Dana, had removed some 
time before to Portland, Maine, and here Na- 
thaniel Dana had opened a grocery and supply 
store on Middle street. He was joined about 
1808 by Luther Dana, some sixteen years of 
age at the time, who joined him in the enter- 
prise, and assisted in the development of what 
was afterwards a prosperous concern. When 
Commercial street was first laid out, Luther 
Dana built a store there, which had to be moved 
back to admit of the widening of the street to 
admit the Grand Trunk Railway tracks being 
laid there. The business continued to grow, and 
not long after removing to Commercial street 
a ship chandlery business was added to the orig- 
inal trade in response to the growing demand of 
the ships which in ever-increasing numbers 
sought this prosperous port. The firm of L. & 
W. S. Dana, as it was called, dealt in the fol- 
lowing manner. A fishing vessel would be sup- 
plied by them with the necessary supplies to fit 
it for an expedition for the "Banks," and the 
families of every member of the crew would be 
allowed credit for the home supplies to last until 



the return. When this event occurred the firm 
would purchase the whole catch of fish on the 
basis of clearing up the indebtedness and then 
dispose of it in the general market. The trade 
proved to be a profitable one and it was not 
long before the two Danas were regarded as 
among the successful and prosperous merchants 
of the city. Luther Dana was one of those who 
joined the newly-organized Portland Rifle Corps 
in 1811, and was with that body when it was 
ordered to guard Portland harbor in the war 
with Great Britain the following year. He did 
not see active service, but was later commis- 
sioned an "Ensign of a Company of Riflemen 
in the Third Regiment in the Second Brigade 
and Fifth Division of Militia," by William King, 
first Governor of the State of Maine. He after- 
wards attained the rank of captain. The busi- 
ness career of Mr. Dana was not without its 
crises, although eminently successful as a rule. 
One of these was the result of the forging of 
the firm's name by an employee who sought to 
enter into land speculation for a quick rise in 
value during the speculative craze of 1836. Mr. 
Dana refused to dishonor these notes or expose 
the man who had so sorely abused his confi- 
dence, and every asset of the company, as well 
as his own private fortune, went to satisfy the 
creditors. Nothing daunted, he began once more 
at the beginning and again built up a prosperous 
business. Disaster came a second time with the 
financial panic of 1857, in which many of the 
most substantial houses in the country went 
down, but Mr. Dana, then a man of sixty-five, 
and to a great extent retired from active busi- 
ness, once more took up the burden of retriev- 
ing his own and his associate's fortunes, and 
continued thus successfully employed to the end 
of his life. His reputation for integrity was 
second to none and his generosity, as evidenced 
by these episodes and a hundred others, was 
not a jot behind his honesty. His activities were 
not confined to his business, however, nor to 
private interests of any kind, and he took a 
leading part in local public affairs, assisting vig- 
orously in every movement that he felt was for 
the common weal. He was a Republican in his 
politics, but, although he did a conspicuous ser- 
vice for his party, he refused all public office 
or political preferment of any kind. He was a 
Congregationalist and a strong churchman, be- 
ing one of the founders of the old High Street 
Church and one of its most liberal supporters. 
His home was one of culture and his children 
grew up in an environment calculated to develop 



134 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



their spiritual and mental faculties to the utmost. 

Luther Dana was married, October 14, 1828, to 
Louisa Kidder, a daughter of Major John Kid- 
der, of Hallowell, Maine, and who had lived in 
the household of Nathaniel Dana since the age 
of seven. She was born January 5, 1807, and 
although sixteen years her husband's junior, their 
married life was one of unusual harmony and 
devotion. They were the parents of nine chil- 
dren, as follows: Nathaniel Homer, born Octo- 
ber 3, 1829, died April 27, 1861; Louisa Octavia, 
born November n, 1831, died October 7, 1858; 
John A. Smith, born October 10, 1833, died May 
I 5 1 9' ! 3> Mary Lucretia, born November 16, 1835; 
died May 25, 1915; Luther William, born January 
28, 1838; Woodbury, with whose career we are 
especially concerned; Frank Jones, born Feb- 
ruary ii, 1844; Samuel Howard, born February 
ii, 1847; and Henry Osgood, born August 17, 
1849, and died August 10, 1859. 

(VII) Woodbury Kidder Dana, sixth child of 
Luther and Louisa (Kidder) Dana, was born 
June 7, 1840, at his father's home on the corner 
of State and Spring streets, Portland, Maine. As 
a child he was not strong and was troubled with 
defective sight and hearing. The latter was par- 
ticularly marked and caused him, during his first 
years as a student, to be regarded as mentally 
backward by his teachers. The correct state of 
the case was disclosed by Wheelock Craig, mas- 
ter of the Portland Academy, and one of the 
most capable educators of his day, to whom 
Woodbury's mother had taken him for examina- 
tion. He went on to say that Mrs. Dana might 
be proud of her son if he ever learned to read 
with his handicap. The lad was old enough to 
comprehend and determined then and there to 
give his mother this cause for pride. Accord- 
ingly, he set to work with typical courage to 
develop himself. In many respects this was no 
difficult task, for instead of being backward men- 
tally, his faculties were unusually quick, and it is 
stated that even in childhood he excelled in all 
games of skill and combination, such as checkers 
and chess. He attended as a boy several schools 
at Portland, and the Lewiston Falls Academy at 
Auburn, Maine. He was nineteen years of age 
when he graduated from the last-named institu- 
tion and began to consider the question of his 
career. It would have been natural for him to 
enter his father's large establishment at this 
time, but another plan was suggested to him by 
his elder brother, John A. S. Dana, which first 
turned his attention to the idea of becoming a 
manufacturer. John A. S. Dana, who was his 



father's partner, was in a position to realize what 
a great demand there was for the various cotton 
products in use in mercantile pursuits, and sug- 
gested that the younger man should engage in 
the manufacture of them, especially cod lines and 
bunch yarn. The idea appealed to Mr. Dana and 
he shortly after leased a small mill at Gray, 
Maine, and engaged in the new trade. Here, 
however, he met with failure, being, as he later 
acknowledged, too inexperienced and with too 
little resources to handle so large a venture by 
himself. He was at first bitterly disappointed, 
but with customary buoyancy and perseverance, 
and with an unusual degree of wisdom on the 
part of one so young, he decided to learn his 
chosen business as an employee of another, and 
at once and very cheerfully secured a position in 
a humble capacity in an old brick mill in the 
neighborhood where duck and denim were made. 
He did not remain there a great while, however, 
but went to Lewiston and found employment 
in the Lincoln Mill, where he worked for twelve 
hours a day at the wage of one dollar and a 
quarter for the period. But he never regretted 
his labors, for his mind was fixed with unalter- 
able determination on his ambition to become 
the owner of a mill of his own, and with this 
end in view he toiled on, making his way up 
step by step towards the goal he had set him- 
self. He took a deep interest in the welfare of 
his fellow-workers and, as there were many who 
had but scanty educational advantages, he set 
about teaching them during the evening after 
work. This he did gratuitously and actually 
hired a room and fitted it up at his own expense 
in which to hold his classes. Thus he spent 
two and one-half years of his youth, a period 
that was suddenly terminated by his joining the 
army for service in the Civil War. It was on 
August 12, 1863, that he enlisted in Company K, 
Twenty-ninth Regiment, Maine Volunteer In- 
fantry, under Colonel Beal. He was detailed to 
the quartermaster's department, but it was seven 
months before the regiment marched from Camp 
Keyes in Maine to entrain for the front. His 
first battle was that at Sabin Cross Roads, where 
his regiment just saved the day from becoming 
a complete rout of the Union troops. He con- 
tinued to serve until the close of the war, and 
was one of those who took part in the grand 
review of the troops in Washington by Presi- 
dent Johnson. 

Upon his return from the war Mr. Dana re- 
turned to the Lewiston Mills and there con- 
tinued the work that had been interrupted for a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



135 



time by his enlistment. Not long afterwards, 
however, he formed the acquaintance of Thomas 
McEwen, and in 1866 formed a partnership with 
him under the style of Dana & McEwen for the 
manufacture of cotton wraps at Saccarappa Falls 
at Wcstbrook. It is interesting to know that 
the partnership articles were drawn up by 
Thomas Brackett Reed, then a young practicing 
attorney of Portland. Mr. McEwen sold out 
his interest to Mr. Dana a few years later, and 
from that time on the latter conducted it alone. 
It prospered greatly and in 1873 had outgrown 
its original quarters so that Mr. Dana was 
obliged to move it to a larger mill located just 
above the Foster & Brown Machine Shop, on 
Main street. Six years later another move was 
necessitated by the same cause and the island at 
Saccarappa Falls was chosen as a site for the 
new mill. But the period of rapid development 
had begun and addition after addition was added 
to the number of twelve before this mill was 
also abandoned. During this time Mr. Frank 
J. Dana had become associated with his brother, 
under the style of W. K. Dana & Company, but 
this partnership was dissolved after a short time, 
and in 1892 Mr. Dana organized a corporation 
under the name of the Dana Warp Mills, with a 
capital stock of $130,000. The next year the 
plant was destroyed by fire, but the following 
day Mr. Dana had builders present and began 
the erection of a larger and more perfectly- 
equipped plant to carry on the work. In 1000 
the brick Gingham Mill was purchased and into 
this handsome building was put, during the fol- 
lowing three years, the most modern equipment 
obtainable, while in 1908 the size of the plant 
was doubled and the equipment still further in- 
creased to 52,000 spinning spindles and 10,000 
twister spindles, with a product of 80,000 pounds 
a week. The product of the mill was sold for a 
number of years through the well-known firm of 
Deering, Milliken & Company, of Portland, but 
since 1912 it has been sold by the Dana Com- 
pany direct, without resort to a commission mer- 
chant. There has been in the whole of Mr. 
Dana's management of his great concern a spirit 
of progressiveness which has kept it, not abreast, 
but ahead of the times. He is himself an in- 
ventive genius and has done much personally to 
improve the purely technical side of the work 
and equipment and the total result has been to 
win for the Dana warps a nation-wide reputa- 
tion as the standard of their class and a market 
scarcely equalled in the country. The fiftieth 
anniversary of the founding of the great business 



was celebrated with a most striking tribute to 
Mr. Dana on June 7, 1916. In it the employees 
of the mill, and the citizens of Westbrook joined 
and vied with one another who could pay the 
greatest honor and express the deepest affection 
for the man who had done so much for all. There 
were parades, speeches and picnics in and about 
the grounds of the great mill, and the entire 
celebration was concluded by the presentation to 
Mr. Dana of a handsome loving cup with the 
following inscription: 

Presented to 
Woodbury K. Dana 

by his 
Friends and the Citizens of Westbrook 

on the 
Fiftieth Anniversary 

of the 
Founding of his Business in this City 

and his 

Sixty-sixth Birthday 
June 7, 1916 

Mr. Dana's inventive genius has already been 
mentioned in its application to the development 
of his plant, but he has turned it in another 
direction that may have even more momentous 
and widespread effects upon the community as 
a whole. He has for many years been interested 
in the problem of the mechanical harvesting of 
cotton and has bent his great powers to devis- 
ing a harvester which will meet the requirements 
of the modern industrial situation as have some 
of the other great agricultural devices put upon 
the market of recent years. He has already met 
with substantial success in this self-imposed task 
and has produced a mechanism which will do the 
work of several men, but he is still dissatisfied 
and is even yet experimenting further. The im- 
portance of such a machine is scarcely to be 
overestimated, and its effect upon every branch 
of industry that rests in any way upon the cot- 
ton trade will be extreme. 

A man 30 busy with great interests as is Mr* 
Dana might well be expected to confine his at- 
tention to the single task of managing them with 
efficiency, but such an expectation in his case 
would be incorrect. His mind is of that open 
character which naturally concerns itself with 
every aspect of life, and which would feel 
cramped if prevented from participating in what- 
ever activity presented itself. Thus it was that 
he has always been active in politics, especially 
as they concerned local public affairs. Like his 
father, he is a staunch Republican, and like him, 
he is quite lacking in ambition in this line. He 
served for a number of years as a member of 



136 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



the local Republican committee and has done 
much to advance the party's interests here. In 
his religious belief he is a Congregationalist, and 
for many j'ears has been a member of the West- 
brook church of that denomination. He is a 
member of the Grand Army of the Republic and 
was elected department commander of the De- 
partment of Maine, Grand Army of the Republic. 
Woodbury Kidder Dana was united in mar- 
riage, August 2, 1869, with Mary Little Hale 
Pickard, daughter of Samuel and Hannah (Lit- 
tle) Pickard, and a descendant on both sides of 
the house from old and distinguished New Eng- 
land families. They are the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: I. Louisa Woodbury, born April 
27, 1870. 2. Hannah Little, born August I, 1872; 
married, October 30, 1901, Frank Herbert Swan, 
of Providence, Rhode Island, the talented author 
of a delightful biography of Woodbury Kidder 
Dana, including accounts of the Dana family and 
allied houses on both the paternal and maternal 
sides. 3. Philip, born August 3, 1874; married, 
November 21, 1908, Florence Hinkley, daughter 
of Rufus Henry and Frances Elizabeth (Prin- 
dle) Hinkley, and now resides at Westbrook. 4. 
Ethel May, born July 25, 1876. 5. Helen Pickard, 
born October 19, 1878; married, June 16, 1909, 
Horace Chamberlain Porter, of Pittsburgh, Penn- 
sylvania. 6. Luther, born November 21, 1880; 
married, October 10, 1005, Mary Wood Decrow, 
daughter of William E. and Lottie A. (Emery) 
Decrow, and now resides at Westbrook. 7. Mary 
Hale, born January 13, 1882; married, June 7, 
1906, Edward Farrington Abbott, of Auburn, 
Maine. 



WALLACE HUMPHREY WHITE There 
are few names better known in legal circles in 
that part of Maine which centers about the city 
of Lewiston than that of Wallace Humphrey 
White, who for more than forty years has been 
engaged in the practice of law in Lewiston, and 
has been identified with many important business 
interests there. He is the son of John and Mary 
A. (Humphrey) White, who for many years re- 
sided in the town of Livermore, in Androscoggin 
county. John White was born at Auburn, Maine, 
September 28, 1816, and died at Livermore, in 
1890. He was a farmer and was also engaged 
in lumbering operations. His wife, Mary A. 
Humphrey, was born in the town of Jay, Frank- 
lin county, Maine, October 4, 1816, and died at 
Lewiston, in 1897. 

Wallace Humphrey White, their only child, 
was born September 4, 1848, at Livermore. He 



was educated in the common schools of Liver- 
more, and attended Kents Hill Seminary and 
Lewiston Falls Academy. Before leaving home 
he taught district schools in Livermore and 
Canton, and was but sixteen years of age when 
he taught his first school. Later he went to 
New Jersey and engaged in teaching there for 
several years. In 1869 he came to Lewiston and 
entered the law office of Frye & Cotton as a 
law student, and was admitted to the bar in 
Androscoggin county in 1871, and remained as a 
law clerk in the office of Frye & Cotton until 
1874, when he was admitted to the firm, which 
then became Frye, Cotton & White. About this 
time Seth M. Carter came to the office of Frye, 
Cotton & White as a law student. Mr. Frye's 
name remained connected with the firm, but he 
ceased to be active in practice, and the business 
of the firm was carried on by Cotton, White & 
Carter. In 1889 Mr. Cotton went to Washing- 
ton as Assistant Attorney General and the old 
firm of Frye, Cotton & White was dissolved and 
Mr. White and Mr. Carter continued the busi- 
ness under the firm name of White & Carter. 
This firm has always occupied a leading posi- 
tion among the attorneys of Maine, and has been 
engaged in a large amount of important litiga- 
tion. 

In addition to his legal practice, which has 
been wide and varied, Mr. White has interested 
himself in banking and other business enter- 
prises, and at the present time is vice-president 
of the First National Bank of Lewiston, and has 
been for many years president of the Lewiston 
Gas Light Company. He is also a director and 
the treasurer of the Union Electric Power Com- 
pany, and of the Union Water Power Company, 
and is treasurer of the Androscoggin Reservoir 
Company. The last two companies own and 
control the great storage reservoirs at the head- 
waters of the Androscoggin river. In the organ- 
ization of these companies, the acquisition of the 
land and flowage rights and the construction of 
the great dams controlling these storage reser- 
voirs, Mr. White had a prominent part. It is due 
to Mr. White and his associates that these enter- 
prises have made the Androscoggin river one of 
the best controlled and regulated rivers for 
power purposes of any river of its size in the 
United States. Mr. White served for two terms 
as county attorney of Androscoggin county, and 
has also held various city offices. He was elected 
to the State Legislature in 1882, and though a 
new member he served on the judiciary commit- 
tee at that session. He declined to be a candi- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



137 



date for re-election, but in 1898 was elected to 
the State Senate and served for two terms, and 
during the second term he was chairman of the 
judiciary committee. He was twice offered an 
appointment as a Judge of the Supreme Judicial 
Court of Maine, but in each instance declined 
the appointment. He was given the degree of 
Master of Arts at Bowdoin College in 1904. In 
his religious belief he is a Congregationalist. 

Mr. White was married, in 1874, at Lewiston, 
Maine, to Helen Elizabeth Frye, the daughter of 
Hon. William P. and Caroline (Spear) Frye. To 
Mr. and Mrs. White seven children have been 
born, as follows: William Frye, a practicing at- 
torney in Boston. 2. Wallace Humphrey, Jr., 
who became a member of the firm of White & 
Carter, and is now a member of Congress from 
the Second Maine Congressional District. 3. 
John Humphrey, who resides in Auburn and is 
in the employ of the Union Water Power Com- 
pany. 4. Emme Frye, who married Dr. Horace 
P. Stevens, of Cambridge, Massachusetts. 5. 
Thomas Carter, of Lewiston, of the firm of Ben- 
son & White, engaged in the fire insurance busi- 
ness. 6. Donald Cameron, treasurer of the J. B. 
Ham Company, engaged in the wholesale grain 
business at Lewiston. 7. Harold Sewall, living 
on a farm in Auburn. This farm is the one 
taken up by his great-grandfather, Darius 
White, about 1800, and has been owned by some 
member of the White family ever since. Mr. 
White is a descendant of William White, who 
came to New England from England, and who 
died in Boston, in 1673. 



FRANK ANDREW MOREY, one of the 

most prominent and highly respected figures in 
the city of Lewiston, Maine, and the surrounding 
region, a man who has held many of the most 
important offices in the gift of the people in that 
locality and who has filled them all in such a 
manner as to win for him a most enviable repu- 
tation for honor, sincerity and disinterestedness, 
is a member of an old Colonial New England 
family, his ancestors having settled first in Rhode 
Island, from which they eventually went to New 
York State, where for many generations they 
have resided. Mr. Morey himself is a native 
of that State, having been born March II, 1863, 
at Keeseville, Essex county. He is a son of 
Andrew Jackson Morey, who for many years 
lived at Westford, Vermont, and was born there 
March 25, 1833, and there also he died at the 
age of seventy-five years. 

The early education of Mr. Morey was received 



at the schools of his native town and he gradu- 
ated from the Keeseville Academy with the class 
of 1881, where he was prepared for college. In 
the fall of that year he matriculated at Bates 
College, Lewiston, where he took the academic 
course, graduating therefrom in 1885 with the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. He established an 
unusually fine record for character and scholar- 
ship during his college course, and took the 
highest honors in modern languages. His stand- 
ing was the more remarkable in view of the fact 
that he worked his way through in a large part, 
from the beginning of his course in the Keese- 
ville Academy to the end of his senior class at 
Bates College. His day at Bates College was 
his first introduction to Lewiston, Maine, where 
the major part of his life has been spent to the 
present, and with which his career, both profes- 
sional and business, has been identified. But Mr. 
Morey's ambition did not at first turn either to 
the law nor to politics, he rather desired to fit 
himself for a pedagogical career, and shortly 
after his graduation from the college he received 
an excellent offer in a school. In spite of the 
fact that a good salary accompanied this offer, 
Mr. Morey decided, particularly through the in- 
fluence of several of his friends, to turn his atten- 
tion to the law. With this idea in view, he 
entered the law office of Mr. Hewitt, of Keese- 
ville, a leading member of the Essex bar, and 
there pursued his studies to such good effect 
that he was admitted to the bar of his State in 
the year 1887. He returned to Keeseville and 
there formed a partnership with his former pre- 
ceptor, Mr. Hewitt, under the firm name of 
Hewitt & Morey, and in this association began 
the practice of his profession in his native town. 
For three years he continued there, in the mean- 
time gaining a very considerable reputation as a 
capable and learned attorney. After this period, 
he came to Lewiston, in the year 1891, and there 
began practice by himself. At the expiration of 
six months, he became the partner of the Hon. 
D. J. McGillicuddy, under the firm name of Mc- 
Gillicuddy & Morey, a relationship which still 
continues. The firm of McGillicuddy & Morey 
rapidly rose in prominence until it became recog- 
nized as one of the leading concerns in the legal 
profession, not only in Lewiston, but in the en- 
tire State. 

The personal record of Mr. Morey was from 
the outset an unusual one, so that even as a 
young man he made for himself a position of 
prominence among his colleagues, a position 
which he has always maintained, though his legal 



138 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



practice has often been interrupted by his hold- 
ing of various official posts. He is perhaps even 
better known to the general public in this con- 
nection than as an attorney, and has probably 
done an even greater service to the community- 
at-large in this department of his activity. He 
served for two years as City Solicitor of Lewis- 
ton, and was then elected a member of the Lower 
House of the State Legislature. During his 
membership in this body, he served as a member 
of the committee on legal affairs, ways and 
means, the judiciary, appropriations and financial 
affairs, and was the author and promoter of sev- 
eral important State laws, among which should 
be mentioned the only law in the statute book 
which relates to usury and usurious transactions 
in Maine. Another of these laws is that which 
was passed materially reducing the cost of col- 
lecting taxes, while still others were those 
known as the Morey amendments to the Austra- 
lian ballot laws, one of which provided that all 
questions which are submitted to the people to 
be acted upon must be by separate ballot, and 
not upon the ballot on which the name of the 
candidate appears; another was the providing of 
booths with swinging doors for the voters. An- 
other achievement of his at this time was the 
securing for Lewiston of the charter for the city 
water works, which Mr. Morey practically res- 
cued from defeat, it having twice met with ad- 
verse votes in the House. It was his efforts 
that finally revived it for a third time and se- 
cured for it its passage. He served for three 
terms in the Legislature and was then elected 
County Attorney for Androscoggin county, to 
which he was returned for a second term in 
1908. In the year 1907 he was elected mayo- 
of Lewiston, and held that office for six consecu- 
tive terms, a period which has not been equalled 
by that of any other mayor of Lewiston. He 
was later returned once more to the House of 
Representatives and served as Speaker of that 
body in 1911, while in 1913 he was sent to the 
State Senate to represent Androscoggin county. 
Mr. Morey has always been a staunch supporter 
of the principles and policies represented by the 
Democratic party and has been and still is one 
of the most potent influences in both county and 
State politics on the Democratic side. Mr. 
Morey is not affiliated with any fraternities or 
clubs, though he thoroughly enjoys normal so- 
cial intercourse, and is particularly loved and ad- 
mired as a companion by a large circle of asso- 
ciates. He attends the Free Will Baptist Church 
of Lewiston, and is active in advancing its in- 
terests in the community. 



Frank A. Morey was united in marriage, June 
24, 1889, at Lewiston, with Maude M. Douglass, 
a native of Lewiston, and a daughter of Oscar G. 
and Phoeb: W. (Cook) Douglass, old and highly 
respected residents of this city, who are both 
now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Morey one 
child has been born, a daughter, Ruth Mildred, 
who became the wife of Herbert Rice Coffin, of 
Lewiston, who is associated with the Woolworth 
store there, in the capacity of manager. 

Frank A. Morey is a man whose culture and 
broad democratic outlook has been based on an 
intimate experience and familiarity with life, and 
he has always had a strong taste for seeing and 
knowing the world, a taste which has found ex- 
pression in one direction, by his fondness for 
travel. He has been fortunate enough to be 
able to gratify this fondness and has traveled to 
a considerable degree both in his own country 
and abroad. Among his experiences, those which 
have been of keenest interest to him were con- 
nected with his visits to the legislative bodies of 
some of the F,uropean countries, notably the 
British House of Parliament and the French 
Chamber of Deputies. A man who readily and 
spontaneously imbibed knowledge from this kind 
of experience, he is also one who radiates again 
knowledge so gained, so that he makes a most 
delightful companion. As a sort of compliment 
to this taste, he is also extremely fond of his 
home life and enjoys nothing more completely 
than the informal intercourse of his own house- 
hold and the intimate personal friends who may 
gather in his house. In regard to the great suc- 
cess which he has enjoyed in his professional 
and official life, it may be remarked that there 
is of course no royal road to success. There is 
no road, even, of which it may be said that it is 
superior to all others, yet we can scarcely doubt 
that there are, as it were, certain shortcuts, cer- 
tain stretches of well-traveled way that lead 
rather more directly and by easier stages to some 
specific goals than do others, and that it well 
pays those who would travel thither to take note 
of their existence. Let us take for example that 
so widely desired success in public life for which 
so many strive and so few attain effectively; here, 
putting aside a certain undue influence said to 
be too frequently exerted today in this country, 
there are few ways of such direct approach as 
through the time-honored profession of law. 
There is certainly nothing astonishing in this 
fact and it surely is a fact because the train- 
ing, the associations, matters with which their 
daily work brings them in contact, are of a kind 
that peculiarly well fit the lawyers for the tasks 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



139 



of public office, many of which are merely a con- 
tinuation or slight modification of their more 
private labors. To step from the bar to public 
office is to step from private to public life, yet 
it involves no such startling break in what a 
man must do, still less in what he must think, 
and although there are but few offices in which 
the transition is as direct as this, yet there are 
but few to which the step is not comparatively 
easy. Of course it is not, as has already been 
remarked, a royal road, for the law is an exact- 
ing mistress and requires of her votaries not 
merely hard and concentrated study in prepara- 
tion for her practice, but a sort of double task 
as student and business man as the condition of 
successful practice throughout the period in 
which they follow her. Nevertheless, what has 
been stated is unquestionably true, as anyone 
who chooses to examine the lives of our public 
men in the past can easily discover in the pre- 
ponderance of lawyers over men of other call- 
ings who are chosen for this kind of advance- 
ment. 



NORMAN LESLIE BASSETT was born in 
Winslow, Kennebec county, Maine, June 23, 1869, 
the oldest of three sons and two daughters of 
Josiah Williams and Ella S. (Cornish) Bassett. 

William Bassett, the immigrant, came over to 
Plymouth in 1621, in the ship Fortune, and ulti- 
mately settled in West Bridgewater, Massachu- 
setts, being one of the original proprietors of 
the town of Bridgewater. The seventh in de- 
scent from him was Williams Bassett, who 
moved from Bridgewater to Winslow about 1830. 
He was the father of Josiah Williams Bassett, 
and was named for the family of his mother, 
Abiah Williams, whose grandmother was Han- 
nah Standish. Hannah's grandmother was Jane 
Aldcn, daughter of John and Priscilla (Mullins) 
Alden, and her grandfather was Alexander Stand- 
ish, son of Captain Miles Standish. The mother 
of Williams Bassett was Sybil Howard, who was 
seventh in descent from Mary Chilton Winslow. 
Ella S. (Cornish) Bassett was the daughter of 
Colby Coombs and Pauline B. (Simpson) Cor- 
nish. Mr. Cornish was born in Bowdoin, and 
came to Winslow in 1839. 

Norman L. Bassett attended school in District 
No. 2, in Winslow, until twelve years old, and 
then went to Waterville Classical Institute (now 
Coburn Classical Institute). He first entered 
the department of Mrs. James H. Hanson, and 
later the college preparatory course of three 



years under Dr. Hanson. He graduated July 1, 
1887, entered Colby University (now Colby Col- 
lege) in the fall, and graduated July I, 1891. His 
scholastic record was excellent. In 1879 he 
received the prize for highest rank during the 
year in the district school; in 1886 the first de- 
clamation prize at the exhibition of the middle 
class at the institute; the second entrance prize 
to Colby in 1887; a second and especially 
awarded prize for scholarship during his fresh- 
man year; first prize at the sophomore declama- 
tion; junior Latin part; junior class day orator; 
first prize, junior exhibition of original articles; 
first prize, senior composition; prize for highest 
rank during senior year; Alden prize for highest 
rank during the four years. On his graduation 
he was elected instructor in Greek and Latin 
at Colby and entered upon the work in the fall. 
He- resigned at the end of three years to take 
up the study of law. For one year he studied 
in the office of his uncle, Leslie C. Cornish, at 
Augusta. Maine, and in the fall of 1895 entered 
Harvard Law School, from which he was grad- 
uated cum laude, June 29, 1898. His class elected 
him the class marshal for the graduating exer- 
cises, a much prized honor. 

He returned to the office of Mr. Cornish, in 
Augusta, the following October, and was ad- 
mitted to the Kennebec bar, October 18, 1898, 
He became a resident of Augusta in 1900, having 
up to that time maintained his residence in 
Winslow. He was associated with Mr. Cornish 
until October, 1901, when the partnership of 
Cornish & Bassett was formed, and continued 
until March 31, 1907, when Mr. Cornish was 
appointed a justice of the Supreme Judicial 
Court. Since then Mr. Bassett has practiced 
alone in the offices in the Vickery building, for- 
merly occupied by the firm. 

Mr. Bassett has a varied and extensive practice. 
He is counsel for numerous corporations, and 
trustee of several large estates. In June, 1908, 
he became a trustee of the Augusta Savings 
Bank, and in January, 1914, a trustee and mem- 
ber of the Executive Committee of the State 
Trust Company of Augusta. In October, 1916, 
he was elected a director of the Boston and 
Maine Railroad. April 5, 1905, he was appointed 
by Governor Cobb the legal member of the 
Maine Enforcement Commission, and served 
until April 8, 1907, when he resigned. He is and 
has always been a Republican; was a member of 
the Augusta Common Council in 1911, and of the 
Board of Aldermen in 1912-13-14. In April, 1907, 
Mr. Bassett was elected secretarv and treasurer 



140 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



of the Maine State Bar Association, suceeding 
Judge Cornish, and has served since. In the 
same year he became a member of the American 
Bar Association, and since 1910 has been one of 
its local council for Maine. He has taken a deep 
interest in civic institutions of all kinds. He 
has been, since its incorporation in 1901, a trus- 
tee of Coburn Classical Institute; January, 1902, 
he was elected secretary and director of the 
Augusta General Hospital, serving for fifteen 
years as secretary, until January, 1917, when he 
resigned as secretary and was elected a director; 
in June, 1916, he became a trustee of Colby Col- 
lege. He was for a number of years chairman 
of the Executive Committee of the Howard Be- 
nevolent Union, of Augusta, which he organized 
into a corporation in 1918 and became its presi- 
dent. In January, 1906, he was elected clerk 
of All Souls' Church (Unitarian), of Augusta, 
and has served since. He took an active part in 
establishing the Augusta Y. M. C. A. and is now 
a trustee and treasurer of its endowment funds. 
In November, 1917, he was appointed by Gover- 
nor Millikcn a member of the State Central Legal 
Advisory Committee in the administration of the 
Selective Service Law. 

June 24, 1903, Mr. Bassett married Lula J. Hoi- 
den, of Bcnnington, Vermont, daughter of John 
S. and Jennie E. Holden. He resides on Green 
street, in Augusta. 



JOHN MERRICK, an influential citizen of 
Hallowell, Maine, where the later years of his 
life were spent, was a member of an old and 
distinguished family that had its origin in Wales, 
but had resided in England for a number of 
generations. The name, which is of Welsh deri- 
vation, was in ancient days spelled Meuric, and 
Meric, and in common with most surnames of 
that early period, we find it under a number of 
forms in different times and regions. The family 
was living in Surrey at the time of the birth of 
John Merrick, which occurred, however, in the 
city of London, August 27, 1766. As a lad, Mr. 
Merrick attended for eight years the grammar 
school connected with the Established Church 
at Kidderminster and then, about 1788, began 
the study of divinity at Daventry, where there 
was a dissenting academy for theological train- 
ing. At the time of Mr. Merrick's entrance 
there, the celebrated Thomas Belsham was at 
the head of the school, and he exercised a very 
potent influence upon his youthful student who 
became his ardent disciple. It was a time of 



great changes in theological thought, and Bel- 
sham finally left the Calvinist faith for Unitarian- 
ism. At the time he made this change he took 
with him a number of the students at Daventry, 
and among these was Mr. Merrick. Mr. Belsham 
resigned at once his place in the academy, and 
took charge of Hackney College, a Unitarian 
Seminary, where he taught for a number of years. 
Mr. Merrick, though not a student at the latter 
institution, continued for some time longer un- 
der Mr. Belsham's personal influence. After 
completing his divinity studies, he preached as 
a licentiate for two years at Stamford, but was 
never ordained. From 1794 to 1797 he held a 
position as tutor in the family of Benjamin 
Vaughan, LL.D., at first in England, but after 
1795. in America (in Hallowell, Maine), whither 
he accompanied them. In 1797 Mr. Merrick re- 
turned to England for a time, but in the month 
of May, in the year following, shortly after his 
marriage, he came once more with his wife to 
America. They settled at once in Hallowell, 
Maine, where John Merrick died, October 22, 
1861, at the venerable age of ninety-five years. 

John Merrick married in London in the month 
of April, 1798, Rebecca Vaughan, daughter of 
Samuel Vaughan, Esq., and a sister of the Dr. 
Benjamin Vaughan, with whom he had come to 
America, and whose children he taught. Among 
the children of Mr. and Mrs. Merrick was Thom- 
as Belsham Merrick, whose sketch follows. 



THOMAS BELSHAM MERRICK Among 
the successful business men of New York, in 
which city for many years he was an importer 
of drugs, was Thomas Belsham Merrick, a na- 
tive of Hallowell, Maine, and a member of a 
family of English origin which had come to this 
country and settled in Maine during the life of 
his father, John Merrick, the subject of extended 
mention in the preceding sketch. Mr. Merrick 
was a son of John and Rebecca Vaughan Mer- 
rick, both natives of England, and was himself 
born in Hallowell, April 24, 1813. As a lad he 
attended the Hallowell Academy, where he re- 
ceived the preliminary portion of his education 
and was prepared for college. Upon graduating 
from that institution he entered Bowdoin Col- 
lege, where he remained only one year. But 
Mr. Merrick was one of those men whose educa- 
tion is completed only with the close of life He 
was a natural scholar and made of himself, in 
the subjects that he took up, a man of wide cul- 
ture and scholarship. His strong interest in 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



141 



study began, however, after leaving college, with 
his wish to understand the various branches of 
the business in which he then entered. 

Mr. Merrick became keenly interested in sci- 
entific subjects, and gradually collected a library 
of valuable text books on astronomy, chemistry, 
and physics. Later he made a particular 
study of astronomy, in which he was intensely 
interested and was the possessor of a fine and, 
for those days, very large telescope with which 
he did a considerable amount of original research 
work. He also made weather observations for 
the government weather bureau, which were of 
value on account of the accuracy and complete- 
ness with which they were taken. But it was 
not merely scientific subjects in which Mr. Mer- 
rick was interested. He was a great lover of 
art and especially of music, for which he pos- 
sessed a marked taste. He was an accomplished 
organist and for two years played that instru- 
ment in Grace Episcopal Church in Philadelphia. 
At the age of forty he took up the violoncello 
and learned to play that difficult instrument 
very acceptably. He engaged the later famous 
orchestral conductor, Theodore Thomas, soon 
after his arrival in this country, to teach his 
two sons, and he did much to further the de- 
velopment of musical taste in the communities 
where he made his home. While living in Ger- 
mantown he organized a series of annual Cham- 
ber concerts, which were given in his own home. 

Mr. Merrick's business career began with a 
clerkship in the drug store of Simon Page, in 
Hallowell, where he learned the details of that 
business and where he remained several years. 
Eventually he engaged in the business of import- 
ing drugs for the American trade from Europe 
and elsewhere and worked up a large business 
correspondence which extended to various parts 
of the world. For a time he conducted this 
business in Philadelphia to which city he had 
removed from Hallowell, Maine, and then, about 
1848, he went to New York City, where he re- 
mained in the same line and met with a notable 
success. He continued actively engaged in this 
business until 1879, when he retired and removed 
with his family to Germantown, Pennsylvania, 
where the remainder of his life was passed, and 
where his death occurred, June 2, 1902. 

While always keenly interested in public ques- 
tions, and a supporter of the principles "for 
which the Republican Party has stood, Mr. Mer- 
rick never took part in political life, and felt 
no ambition for office or public power. He 
was a man of exceptional integrity and honor 



who was absolutely trusted by his associates in 
business as in every other relation of life. His 
strong sense of moral and ethical values was 
always attributed by him to his father's ex- 
ample and instruction. Yet, although he thus 
valued his early instruction, he did not remain 
a member of the Unitarian church with which 
his father had for so long been identified, but 
joined the Episcopal church, and for many years 
attended service at Grace Church, Philadelphia, 
where, as has already been mentioned, he played 
the organ for two years. 

Thomas Bclsham Merrick was united in mar- 
riage on November 29, 1839, in Hallowell, Maine, 
with Elizabeth Marie White, a native of Belfast, 
Maine, and daughter of William White, a well- 
known lawyer of Maine, and Lydia Amelia 
(Gordon) White, old and highly respected resi- 
dents of that place. Mr. White's father was a 
native of Londonderry, New Hampshire, his 
family having been among the original settlers, 
from Londonderry, Ireland. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Merrick were born seven children as follows: 
John; W. Gordon, who married Annie D. Brown; 
Isabella, who became the wife of George Samp- 
son, of Hallowell, Maine; Lillie, who became the 
wife of Charles E. Morgan, deceased, of Ger- 
mantown, Pennsylvania; Hallowell Vaughan; 
Bertha Vaughan, who makes her home in Hal- 
lowell, Maine; Llewella M., who became the wife 
of Walter Leighton Clark, of New York and of 
Stockbridge, Massachusetts. 



GEORGE DANA BISBEE, who for many 
years was most prominently associated with the 
public and business life of Rumford, Maine, 
where his death, which occurred on May 26, 1918, 
removed from this city one of the most im- 
portant factors in the general life of the com- 
munity, was a member of an old and distin- 
guished New England family, which was founded 
in this country in the early Colonial period. 
The name Bisbee is found under different forms 
in this country, and in England, where it orig- 
inated, and is spelled Bisbredge, Bisbridge, 
Bisbe, Besbey, Bisby, Bisbee, and many other 
forms. The spelling Bisbee, however, is that 
which has been accepted for the family in this 
country and is now in general use. 

(I) The family was founded in America by 
one Thomas Bisbee, or, as the name was spelled 
on the list of the ship Hercules, which sailed in 
March, 1634-35, "Bisbedge," who was probably a 
member of the parish of St. Peters, Sandwich, 
England. There is no evidence to show that 



142 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Thomas Bisbee was married at the time that he 
came to this country, but he brought with him 
on the Hercules three servants, a fact which bears 
witness to his having been a man of standing 
and wealth in the community which he left. He 
landed from the Hercules in Scituate Harbor, in 
the spring of 1634, and was one of those who 
founded the town of Scituate, in 1636. He be- 
came a deacon of the church and was made a 
freeman by the General Court of Plymouth Col- 
ony in the year 1637. Shortly afterwards, how- 
ever, he removed to Duxbury, and in 1638 was 
one of a committee of eight former or present 
residents of Scituate, who received a grant of 
land at Seipican (now Rochester). This grant 
was not, however, accepted by the inhabitants of 
Scituate, most of whom removed to Barnstable, 
but Mr. Bisbee remained in Duxbury, and in 
1643 was elected to represent that place in the 
General Court of the colony. He afterwards 
removed to Marshfield, and also represented that 
place in the General Court, and from that finally 
went to Sudbury, where his death occurred 
March 9, 1674. 

(II) Elisha Bisbee, the only known son of 
Thomas Bisbee, was born, probably, in Eng- 
land, and came with his father to America in 
1634. In 1644 he operated the ferry at Scituate, 
and was also engaged in business as a cooper. 
He was married to a lady of whom we only 
know that her first name was Joanna, and his 
children, all of whom were born at Scituate, 
were as follows: Hopestill, born in 1645; John, 
who is mentioned below; Mary, born in 1649, and 
became the wife of Jacob Best, of Hingham; 
Elisha, born in 1654, married (first) Sarah King, 
of Scituate, and (second) Mary (Jacobs) Bacon, 
widow of Samuel Bacon, and daughter of John 
and Margery (Fames) Jacob. Elisha Bisbee 
made his home at South Hingham, Massachu- 
setts, where his death occurred March 4, 1715-16. 

(III) John Bisbee, second son of Elisha and 
Joanna Bisbee, was born in 1647, at Scituate. 
He removed to Marshfield, where he married, 
September 13, 1687, Joanna Brooks. They after- 
wards removed to Pembroke, where his death 
occurred, September 24, 1726, a little more than 
a month after the death of his wife. They were 
the parents of the following children: Martha, 
born October 13, 1688; John, born September 
15, 1690, and married Mary Oldham; Elijah, born 
January 29, 1692; Mary, born March 28, 1693; 
Moses, who is mentioned below; Elisha, Jr., 
born May 3 1698, and married Patience Soanes; 
Aaron, who married Abigail ; Hopestill, 



born April 16, 1702, and married Hannah 
Churchill. 

(IV) Moses Bisbee, third son of John and 
Joanna (Brooks) Bisbee, was born October 20, 
1695. He afterwards removed to East Bridge- 
water, where the remainder of his life was spent. 

He married Mary , and they were the 

parents of the following children: Abigail, who 
died in early youth; Miriam, born in 1724; 
Charles, who is mentioned below; Joanna, born 
in 1729, and became the wife of John Churchill; 
Mary, born in 1733, and died in early youth; 
and Tabitha, born in 1735. 

(V) Charles Bisbee, son of Moses and Mary 
Bisbee, was born in 1726, at East Bridgewater, 
Massachusetts. Shortly after the Revolutionary 
War he removed to Maine, and became the 
founder of the Bisbee family here. He settled 
at Sumner, in this State, and married Beulah 
Howland, daughter of Rowse Howland, of Pem- 
broke, and probably a descendant of Arthur 
Howland, of Marshfield, who later removed to 
that place. Charles Bisbee was a soldier in the 
Revolutionary War, as were also his two elder 
sons, Elisha and Charles, and it was after having 
completed his service in that momentous strug- 
gle that he became one of the band of pioneers 
who left Massachusetts to find a home for them- 
selves in the Maine forests. He purchased lands 
in the township of Sharon, which afterwards be- 
came Butterfield, and in 1783 visited his land 
there and erected a small and rude house for his 
family in the wilderness. With the assistance 
of his seven sons he soon cleared his property 
and built up a farm there, which afterwards he 
cultivated with success. His death occurred 
June 5, 1807. He and his wife were the parents 
of the following children, all of whom were born 
in Pembroke, Massachusetts: Elisha, who is 
mentioned below; Charles, Jr., who was born in 
1758, and married Desire Dingley, of Marshfield; 
Mary, born in 1760, and became the wife of 
Charles Ford; Moses, born February 21, 1765, 
and married Ellen Buck; John, who married 
Sarah Philbrick; Solomon, born September 3, 
1769, and married Ruth Barrett; Calvin, born 
October 14, 1771, married Bethiah Glover; 
Rowse, born October 17, 1775, and married Han- 
nah Caswell; Celia, who became the wife of 
Joshua Ford. 

(VI) Elisha (2) Bisbee, eldest child of 
Charles and Beulah (Howland) Bisbee, was born 
in the year 1757, at Duxbury, Massachusetts, and 
as a young man fought in the Revolution. He 
afterwards removed with his parents to Maine, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



143 



where the remainder of his life was spent. He 
married, at Duxbury, in 1779, Mary Pettingill, 
and his wife and two children accompanied him 
to Maine, where they settled at Sumner. They 
were the parents of the following children: 
Susan, born March 26, 1780, at Duxbury, and 
became the wife of Nathaniel Bartlett, of Hart- 
ford, Maine; Sally, born at Duxbury, prior to 
1784, and became the wife of Gad Hayford, of 
Hartford, Maine; Anna, born in Maine, subse- 
quent to the year 1784, and became the wife of 
Stephen Brew, of Turner, Maine; Elisha, Jr., who 
is mentioned at length below; Daniel, who mar- 
ried Sylvia Stevens, of Sumner; Hopestill, born 
April 27, 1791, and married Martha Sturtevant; 
Mollie, born January 4, 1794, and became the 
wife of Nehemiah Bryant, and (second) of 
Lemuel Dunham; Huldah, who became the wife 
of Sampson Reed, of Hartford; Horatio, born 
August 13, 1800, and married Eunice White, 
March 27, 1823. 

(VII) Elisha (3) Bisbee, son of Elisha (2) and 
Mary (Pettingill) Bisbee, was born May 8, 1786, 
at Sumner, Maine. He married, April 10, 1810, 
Joanna Sturtevant, and they were the parents of 
the following children: I. Elbridge G., born Feb- 
ruary 8, 1811, died October 2, 1812. 2. Thomas 
J., married Sylvia Stetson, of Sumner. 3. George 
W., twin of Thomas J., mentioned below. 4. 
Mary P., born June 6, 1815, and became the wife 
of Freeman Reed. 5. Elisha, born in April, 1822, 
and died September 24, 1853. 6. Sarah W., born 
February 21, 1826, and became the wife of Or- 
ville Robinson. 7. Sophia G., born April 7, 1827. 
8. Levi B., born July 10, 1828, and married Eliza 
A. C. Heald. 9. Elisha S., born April 15, 1830, 
and married J. Parsons. 10. Asia H., born Jan- 
uary 6, 1832, and died at Portland, Oregon, June 
i, 1870. ii. Daniel H., born October 9, 1833. 
12. Jane Y., born July I, 1835, and married James 
McDonald, October I, 1855. 13. Hopestill R., 
born June 21, 1837. 14. Hiram R., born De- 
cember ii, 1839, who was a sergeant of the 
Ninth Maine Volunteers, in Company F, and was 
shot in battle and died at Bermuda, May 20, 1864. 

(VIII) George W. Bisbee, son of Elisha (3) 
and Joanna (Sturtevant) Bisbee, was born July 
6, 1812, at Sumner, Maine. He married, January 
i, 1836, Mary B. Howe, of Rumford, Maine, and 
died in Peru, Maine, January 27, 1872. They 
were the parents of one child, George Dana, with 
whose career we are here especially concerned. 

(IX) George Dana Bisbee, only child of 
George W. and Mary B. (Howe) Bisbee, was 
born July 9, 1841, at Hartford, Maine. He at- 



tended the public schools of West Peru and the 
Oxford Normal Institute, of Paris, Maine. He 
was twenty years of age when, in 1861, the Civil 
War broke out, and, in company with many other 
of the young men of his State, he answered 
President Lincoln's call for men, and enlisted 
in the Sixteenth Maine regiment at the time of 
its organiation. The regiment was at once or- 
dered South, and the young man saw a great 
deal of active service and participated in some 
of the most desperately contested actions and 
campaigns of the war, serving under Generals 
McCIellan, Burnside, Hooker, Meade and Grant. 
These campaigns included those attempted in 
Virginia, with the idea of regaining what had 
been lost by Fredericksburg and Chancellors- 
ville, and that at Antietam, by which Washing- 
ton was saved. He was also one of those who 
took part in the Battle of Gettysburg and was, 
with his entire regiment, captured by the Con- 
federates on the first day of that terrific engage- 
ment. He was one of the prisoners of war who 
suffered the hardships of Libby Prison, and was 
also confined in several other Confederate prison 
camps, until his parole in December, 1864. He 
was, however, later exchanged, and although 
wounded and greatly worn by his confinement, 
re-entered the army and took part in the battle 
which finally resulted in the surrender of General 
Lee, at Appomattox Court House. So keen a 
soldier was Mr. Bisbee that, in spite of the suf- 
ferings which he had witnessed and personally 
endured, he counted his participation in this 
last campaign as full compensation for all his 
trials and hardships. Upon the close of the war 
he was honorably discharged with his regiment, 
and returning to the North, entered the law 
office of Randall & Winter, at Dixfield, Maine. 
Mr. Randall studied in the same class with 
Nathaniel Hawthorne and other noted men. Mr. 
Bisbee was admitted to the bar of Oxford in 
December, 1865, and the following year engaged 
in the practice of his profession at Buckfield, 
Maine, remaining there until 1892, when he 
finally removed to Rumford Falls. Here he 
again took up the practice of the law, and be- 
came the senior partner of the firm of Bisbee & 
Parker, his associate being Mr. Ralph Parker. 
Later he also admitted his grandson, Captain 
Spaulding Bisbee, who is now serving in the One 
Hundred and Third Regiment, United States 
Expeditionary Force, in France, into the partner- 
ship. Besides his private practice, Mr. Bisbee 
held many important public offices, legal and 
otherwise, in the community, and in all of them 



144 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



discharged his duties with the utmost efficiency 
and capability. He was county attorney of Ox- 
ford county for a number of years, and also 
served in both branches of the State Legislature. 
He was United States Marshal for the district 
of Maine for four years, with his office at Port- 
land, Maine, and was appointed State bank exam- 
iner, a post which he held for four years. He 
was also a member of Governor Cobb's Council 
in 1005 and 1007. Mr. Bisbee was also a promi- 
nent figure in the business and financial life of 
the State and was connected with a number of 
important institutions here. He was president 
of the Rumford Falls Trust Company and was 
one of the promoters of that concern, was a 
director and attorney of the Portland & Rum- 
ford Falls Railway, and several other local enter- 
prises. He was appointed chairman of the board 
of trustees of Hebron Academy in 1907, and 
afterwards became president of that institution. 
As a lawyer, Mr. Bisbee was one of the leaders 
of the bar of Maine, and much of the most im- 
portant litigation of the State passed through 
his office. He was admitted to practice before 
all the Superior Courts of the State, and at the 
bar of the Supreme Court of the United States. 
At this time he was president of the Bench 
and Bar Association of Maine. It was Mr. Bis- 
bee and his associate, Hugh J. Chisholm, who 
were the promoters of the flourishing community 
of Rumford Falls, Maine. 

George Dana Bisbee was united in marriage, 
July 8, 1866, with Anna Louise Stanley, daughter 
of the Hon. Isaac N'ewton and Susan (Trask) 
Stanley, old and highly respected residents of 
Dixfield. Mr. Stanley, who was a native of Win- 
throp, Maine, was a successful merchant at Dix- 
field. He was a Republican in politics, and held 
a number of town offices and also represented 
Dixfield in the State Legislature. Both he and 
his wife died at that place. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Bisbee the following children were born: Stan- 
ley, born in Buckfield, April 25, 1867, and now 3 
prominent man of Rumford, Maine; Mary Louise, 
who became the wife of Everett R. Josselyn, of 
the firm of Brown & Josselyn, of Portland, 
wholesale flour dealers, and two who died in 
infancy. Mrs. Bisbee is a member of Stanley 
Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 
which was named for her great-grandmother. 

We all feel a strong, instinctive admiration 
for the natural leader of men, for the man who, 
because of the possession of some quality or 
other, reaches a place in which he directs the 
doings of his fellows and is accepted of them 



naturally in that capacity. We all admire him 
independently of what that quality may be, even 
if our best judgment tells us that it is by no 
means praiseworthy in itself. When, however, 
that quality is a lovable one, and a man leads in 
virtue of the sway he holds over the affections 
and veneration of others, our admiration receives 
an added power from our approval, and this feel- 
ing receives its final confirmation when such 
leadership is directed solely to good ends. This 
is in great measure true of the case of George 
Dana Bisbee, whose reputation in his home State 
for success, gained without the compromise of 
his ideals, is second to none. His rise to a place 
of prominence in so many departments of the 
community's life was doubtless rapid, but it was 
not won without the expenditure of labor and 
effort of the most consistent kind, labor and 
effort which doubtless felt discouragement, such 
as every man experiences in the course of his 
life. The qualities which formed the basis of 
Mr. Bisbee's character were unquestionably those 
fundamental virtues of courage and sincerity 
which alone are responsible for the highest and 
most enduring success. A story told of him 
during his campaign in the Civil War well illus- 
trates the quality of this courage and of his 
sincere belief in the overwhelming importance 
of the cause for which he was fighting. Mr. 
Bisbee was severely wounded at the Battle of 
Fredericksburg, but absolutely refused to allow 
the physician to amputate his arm. While still 
in the hospital, recovering slowly from his hurts, 
he received notice of his promotion as an officer, 
and he at once expressed a wish to go to the 
front and accept his commission. He was re- 
fused permission, however, by the hospital au- 
thorities, one of whom is quoted as saying to 
him, "sick and wounded men at the front are of 
no use." He was accordingly discharged, on 
account of wounds and physical disability, but 
still full of his determination, he secured through 
Vice-President Hamlin a permit to visit his regi- 
ment and at once offered himself for service 
there. Struck by his determination, his superiors 
allowed him to be mustered into the service once 
more, with his old commission as lieutenant, 
and he took part in the Battle of Chancellors- 
ville, with his wounded arm in a sling. Such 
perseverance as was exhibited by him on this 
occasion continued to mark his behavior through- 
out life and it was always true of him that an 
object which he deemed worthy of seeking, he 
would pursue without regard to its cost and 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



145 



hardship. Such men are rare, and the success 
which they invariably win is only the legitimate 
and appropriate recompense of their endeavors. 



CAPTAIN WHITMAN SAWYER Of the 
eighth generation of the family in New England, 
Captain Whitman Sawyer, a citizen and soldier, 
bore honorably a name which figured conspicu- 
ously in every department of American life, and 
has continued its proportion to the progress and 
development of the nation. Within a few years 
of the landing of the Pilgrims, at Plymouth 
Rock, the name appeared in Massachusetts 
records, and as pioneers Sawyers showed those 
qualities which planted civilization on the New 
England coast, wrested fields from the forest 
and tamed the savage things that linked therein 
to do them harm. They were ready to fight 
for their liberties as for their lives, and when 
an appeal to arms was taken to establish those 
liberties, it is of record that in the town of Lan- 
caster, alone, eighteen members of the Sawyer 
family were enrolled as soldiers, and that one 
company from that town was officered entirely 
by Sawyers. And what was true in Massachu- 
setts, was true wherever they were found. This 
martial spirit was as strong in the eighth as in 
earlier generations, and the war record of Cap- 
tain Whitman Sawyer was one of conspicuous 
bravery. 

Captain Whitman Sawyer was a descendant of 
John Sawyer, of Lincolnshire, England, he the 
father of three sons, William, Edward, and 
Thomas, all of whom came to Massachusetts 
about 1636. This branch comes through Ed- 
ward Sawyer, who married, in England, Mary 
Peasley, who accompanied her husband to New 
England, they also burying three children, Mary, 
Henry, and James. This family settled first in 
Ipswich, Massachusetts, later in Rowley. James 
Sawyer, their youngest child, was a weaver by 
trade, lived in Gloucester, and there died, May 
31, 1703. He married Sarah Bray, of Gloucester, 
who died April 24, 1727. 

John Sawyer, son of James Sawyer, moved 
with his family from Gloucester, Massachusetts, 
to Cape Elizabeth, Maine, there kept a store, 
and was buried in the graveyard on Meeting 
House hill. He married, February 20, 1701, Re- 
becca Stanford. Among their children was a 
son, Joseph, who married Joanna Cobb, and they 
were the parents of the third John Sawyer, 
through whom descent is traced. John (3) Saw- 
yer married Isabella Martin, of Blue Hill, Maine. 

ME. lio 



They were the parents of John (4) Sawyer, born 
in Buxton, Maine, died in Standish, Maine, May 
6, 1849. John (4) married Grace Jenkins, and 
they were the parents of John (5) Sawyer, born 
on the homestead farm at Standish, Maine, July 
II, 1800, died in Casco, Maine, October 10, 1870. 
He married, June 19, 1825, Rebecca Longley, 
daughter of Eli Longley, one of the first set- 
tlers of Waterford, Maine, who built the first 
log hotel and store in that town, and was the 
first postmaster. They were the parents of eight 
children, including a son, Whitman, whose life 
and public service is the ruling theme of this 
review. 

Captain Whitman Sawyer, fourth son of John 
(5) and Rebecca (Longley) Sawyer, was born in 
Raymond, June 10, 1838, and died in Portland, 
June 20, 1904. He lived in Raymond until his 
early manhood, and at the outbreak of the Civil 
War he offered his services for the preservation 
of the Union. Following is his war record, com- 
piled from official and authentic sources by the 
Soldiers' and Sailors' Historical and Benevolent 
Society, of which he was a member, duly signed 
and sealed: 

Whitman Sawyer enlisted from Cumberland 
county, Maine, on the loth day of September, 
1862, to serve nine months, and was mustered 
into the United States service at Portland, 
Maine, on the 29th day of September, 1862, as 
first lieutenant of Captain Charles H. Doughty's 
Company "C," 2$th Regiment, Maine Volunteer 
Infantry, Colonel Francis Fessenden command- 
ing. The Twenty-fifth was the second regiment 
from the Pine Tree State to enter the service 
of the United States for nine months' duty, and 
was the first for that term to leave the State. 
It was mustered into the United States service, 
at Portland, on the 29th day of September, 1862, 
with the following field officers: Francis Fes- 
senden. colonel; Charles E. Shaw, lieutenant- 
colonel; Alexander M. Tolman, major. The regi- 
ment left the State on the i6th of October for 
Washington, D. C., where it arrived on the l8th 
and went into camp on East Capitol Hill, where 
it was assigned to the 3rd Brigade, Casey's Divi- 
sion, 22d Corps, Defenders of Washington, and 
was immediately engaged in drills and evolu- 
tions of the line under General Casey. On Sun- 
day, October 26th, the regiment moved through 
a furious storm to a camping ground on Arling- 
ton Heights, Virginia, immediately in front of 
the line of earthworks for the defense of Wash- 
ington, remaining here, until March 24, 1863, 
constantly engaged in guarding Long Bridge, 
on both sides of the Potomac, and in construct- 
ing batteries and fortifications. In December, 
1862, the Third Brigade of Casey's Division was 
broken up, and, with the 27th Maine, the regi- 
ments were organized into the First Brigade 
of Casey's Division, with which it remained until 



146 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



its final muster out. Although in no pitched bat- 
tles, the command had a number of encounters 
with guerillas and marauding bands, in all of 
which it acquitted itself admirably. The said 
Whitman Sawyer was honorably discharged at 
Portland. Maine, on the 3rd day of July, 1863, 
by reason of expiration of his term of enlist- 
ment. He re-enlisted at Augusta, Maine, on the 
igth day of December, 1863, to serve three years 
or during the war, and was mustered into the 
United States service and commissioned as Cap- 
tain of Company "C," 3Oth Regiment, Maine 
Volunteer Infantry, Colonel Francis Fessenden, 
commanding. The 3Oth Maine was formed of 
exceptionally good, soldierly material to a large 
extent, and also had a number of old men and 
discharged soldiers whose disability was only 
apparently removed, a large proportion of its 
officers and men, however, were experienced sol- 
diers. The regiment was organized at Augusta, 
on the gth day of January, 1864, with the fol- 
lowing field officers: Francis Fessenden, colonel; 
Thomas H. Hubbard, lieutenant-colonel: and 
Royal E. Whitman, major. On the 7th of Feb- 
ruary, being fully armed and equipped, the com- 
mand proceeded to Portland, and from there 
embarked on the steamer Merrimac for New 
Orleans, where they arrived on the night of the 
l6th, thence moved up to Bayou Teche to Frank- 
lin, Louisiana, where they were assigned to the 
3rd Brigade, First Division, Nineteenth Corps, 
Army of the Department of the Gulf, and later 
took in the Red River Expedition, and engage- 
ments at Sabine Cross Roads, Mansfield, Pleas- 
ant Hill, Cane River Crossing, Cloutierville, 
Alexandria, Mansura, Marksville, Yellow Bayou, 
Atchafalya Bayou and Morganza, Louisiana. In 
July, the regiment sailed from Morganza, for Vir- 
ginia, reaching Fortress Monroe on the l8th, and 
was sent immediately to Deep Bottom, where 
it held a picket-line in the face of the enemy 
for twenty-four hours, and later took part in an 
engagement at Bermuda Hundred Heights, Vir- 
ginia, and a number of skirmishes. The regi- 
ment lost two hundred and ninety by death, 
while in service. The said Whitman Sawyer was 
brevettcd major for brave and meritorious ser- 
vice, and while in line of duty contracted mala- 
ria, from which he suffered a number of times 
for short periods. He was, however, at all times, 
to be found at his post of duty, performing faith- 
ful and efficient service, and achieving an envi- 
able record for bravery and soldierly bearing. 
He received a final honorable discharge at Sa- 
vannah, Georgia, on the 2Oth day of August, 
1865, by reason of the close of war. 

Returning from the war, Captain Sawyer set- 
tled in Falmouth, where for a few years, till 
March, 1870, he was engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness. He then removed to Portland and formed 
a partnership in the livery stable business with 
the late N. S. Fernald. This firm did an exten- 
sive business, and after a time was formed into 
a stock company and named after Mr. Sawyer, 
the Whitman Sawyer Stable Company, he being 



the treasuier and business manager. Captain 
Sawyer was one of the strongest Republicans, 
and had often been honored with political posi- 
tions. While living in Falmouth he represented 
that town in the Legislature, 1869. and pre- 
sented a petition which was instrumental in 
building the Martin's Point bridge, which con- 
nects Portland with Falmouth, and in 1892 was 
elected one of the legislative representatives 
from Portland. He was also in the city govern- 
ment from Ward Five, beginning as one of the 
councilmen, and being advanced to alderman in 
1885, and re-elected in the following year, when 
he was elected chairman of the board. For 
several years he was chairman of the Board of 
Prison Inspectors, having been appointed for 
the third time in December, 1003, by Governor 
Hill. He was a member of Windham Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and of 
Unity Lodge, No. 3, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of Portland, and a prominent '-vrnber 
of Bosworth Post, No. -?, Department of Maine, 
Grand Army of tiic Republic, in which he filled 
all chairs. Captain Sawyer died at his residence. 
No. 660 Congress street, and was buried in Ever- 
green Cemetery. In the annual report of the 
prison inspectors, they thus expressed their re- 
gret at the loss of their chairman: 

In commencing this report we are sensibly re- 
minded of our loss, and the loss of the whole 
State, in the death of Hon. Whitman Sawyer, 
late of Portland, who, with marked ability and 
efficiency served the State for nine years as 
chairman of the board of prison and jail inspect- 
ors. As we here record this expression of our 
esteem of his manly qualities, his unfailing char- 
ity, his loyalty to principles and faithful dis- 
charge of the duties of his office. 

Other bodies of which he was a member passed 
resolutions of sorrow over his death and com- 
mendation of his high character and sterling 
worth. A paragraph in one of the leading Port- 
land papers stated: 

Not only all old soldiers, but all good citizen* 
regretted the death of Captain Whitman Sawyer. 
He was a good representative of our sturdy 
Maine stock. His word was as good as his bond, 
and he was faithful in all his relations of life. 
Such a man is a distinct loss to any community. 
Captain Sawyer will be long remembered because 
of his manly qualities of heart and hand. 

Captain Sawyer married, December 24, 1865, 
Maria Lucy (Fulton) Dingley, widow of Sum- 
ner Stone Dingley, and daughter of Elijah and 
Lucy (Abbott) Fulton, and granddaughter of 
Nathaniel and Luck (Crockett) Abbott, ami 
paternal granddaughter of Robert and Grace- 







/^W /4'**rtf i xi S/astfffxct*/ Spf 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



147 



nath (Weeks) Fulton. Mrs. Sawyer has been 
for many years a member of the Woman's State 
Relief Corps, and of the Bosworth Relief Corps, 
of both of which she is an ex-president. Bos- 
worth Relief Corps, organized in 1869, was the 
first organization of its kind in the United States. 
The Woman's State Relief Corps, an auxiliary 
to the Grand Army of the Republic, tendered 
their bereaved past-president the following reso- 
lutions of sympathy upon the death of her hus- 
band: 

Whereas, We learn with sorrow of the death 
of Captain Whitman Sawyer after a lingering 
illness, and 

Whereas, The members of the Woman's State 
Relief Corps have ever respected Comrade Saw- 
yer as a man of sterling character, and one who 
has ever been a true friend of our organization, 
and 

H'hcreas, That we, the members of the 
Woman's State Relief Corps, extend our heart- 
felt sympathy to our Sister, Maria L. Sawyer, 
in this, her hour of sadness, and share with her 
the hope of a happy reunion where parting is 
unknown. 

Mrs. Sawyer continues her residence in Port- 
land, at No. 267 Vaughn street, where she is 
passing a serene old age. Captain Sawyer left 
an adopted daughter, Nellie Maria, who married 
C. H. Gifford. 



EDWIN WAGNER GEHRING, M.D. The 
life of a physician is no sinecure and the very 
choice of it is a proof of the sincerity and ear- 
nestness of the chooser, either as a student with 
an overwhelming love of his subject or as an 
altruist whose first thought is the good of his 
fellows. Probably something of both qualities 
enters into the attitude of Dr. Edwin Wagner 
Gehring, of Portland, Maine, one of the leaders 
of his profession in that city, and this is borne 
out by the double fact that he is at once unusu- 
ally well versed in the theory and technical prac- 
tice of med'cine and that he has won the respect 
and affection of his patients and the community 
generally. 

Or. Gehring is a descendant of an old Ger- 
man family, and although both he and his parents 
are natives of this country, he displays many of 
the admirable qualities of that ancient race, 
which have made them so valuable a component 
in the citizenship of the New World and enabled 
them to play so prominent a part in the develop- 
ment of its institutions, its industrial and pro- 
fessional life. Dr. Gehring's paternal grand- 
father. Carl August Gehring, was born in Wurt- 
temberg, Germany, and emigrated from that 



country to the United States with a brother and 
two sisters while still a young man. The little 
family group settled in Ohio, where Mr. Gehring 
was married to Wilhelmina Vetter, a native of 
the same part of Germany as himself, who had 
also come to this country in early youth. They 
were the parents of four children, of whom 
August Herbert Gehring, the father of the Dr. 
Gehring of this sketch, was the older son, and 
the others were as follows: Dr. J. J. Gehring, of 
Bethel, Maine; Mrs. Wentworth G. Marshall and 
Mrs. Michael Houck, of Cleveland, Ohio. Au- 
gust Herbert Gehring was born in Cleveland, in 
1852, and made that city his home during the 
entire period of his short life. He was engaged 
in a wholesale and retail grocery business in 
which he was very successful, but died when 
he was thirty-eight years of age. He married 
Catherine Wagner, like himself a native of 
Cleveland, who since his death makes her home 
in Lansing, Michigan, with one of her sons. Mr. 
and Mrs. Gehring were the parents of five chil- 
dren, as follows: Edwin Wagner, of whom fur- 
ther; Norman J., who is a physician in Chicago, 
Illinois; Alma Louise, who makes her home in 
Cleveland; Herbert August, of Lansing, Michi- 
gan, where he carries on the profession of civil 
engineer, and where he married and had one 
child, Victor Marshall, of Painsville, Ohio. Mrs. 
Gehring, Sr., is a daughter of John Wagner, a 
native of Germany, who came to Cleveland in 
his early youth and there lived and died. 

Born March 3, 1876, at Cleveland, Ohio, Dr. 
Edwin Wagner Gehring attended the schools of 
that city, where he received the preliminary por- 
tion of his education and prepared himself for 
college. He graduated from the University 
School of Cleveland and then came East, making 
his home for a time in Boston and studying there 
in the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 
From this famous institution he went to Cornell 
University, from which he graduated with the 
class of 1900, taking the degree of B.S. His 
studies at the Institute of Technology and Cor- 
nell were such as to fit him for the profession 
of civil engineering, but this he never followed, 
as he determined about this time to make the 
profession of medicine his career in life. With 
this end in view, accordingly, he matriculated 
at the Harvard Medical School, where he studied 
for a time and then entered the Bowdoin Medical 
School in connection with the university of t!>at 
name. From this institution he graduated with 
the class of 1004 and the degree of M.D., and 
followed up his thoretical studies there by a 



>* 

*" J 

1'* 



148 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



period of a year spent in the Maine General 
Hospital as interne. Here he remained from 
1904 to 1905, and in the latter year went abroad 
and took a post-graduate course at the Uni- 
versity of Vienna. Dr. Gehring then returned 
to the United States and began active practice 
in the city of Portland, as a specialist in internal 
medicine, which he has continued with a very 
marked degree of success up to the present time. 
He is a member of many prominent associa- 
tions and fraternities, such as the Sigma Epsilon 
fraternity, the Fraternity Club, the American 
College of Physicians, the American Medical 
Association, the Maine Medical Association, the 
Portland Medical Club, the Practitioners' Med- 
ical Club, the Portland Club, and is an honorary 
member of the Economic Club of Portland. In 
addition to his large private practice, Dr. Gehr- 
ing has been adjunct visiting physician to the 
Maine General Hospital since 1907, pathologist 
and physician to out-patients at the Children's 
Hospital in Portland since 1908, was instructor 
in physiology at Bowdoin for a period of some 
five years, and in internal medicine one year. 

On September 10, 1904, Dr. Gehring was mar- 
ried at Bethel, Maine, to Alice Chamberlain, a 
native of Portland, a daughter of Edward C. and 
Ella (Twitchell) Chamberlain, who now resides 
in Bethel. To Dr. and Mrs. Gehring three chil- 
dren have been born, as follows: Marcia, born 
November 9, 1905; John Chamberlain, Decem- 
ber 26, 1908, died October 17, 1911; and Jane, 
June 25, 1915. 

There is something intrinsically admirable in 
the profession of medicine, so that those who 
enter it sincerely and live up to its high stan- 
dards are most justly entitled to our respect 
and admiration. The fact that its prime object 
is concerned in the alleviation of human suffer- 
ing, taken along with the fact that a consider- 
able amount of self-sacrifice is entailed upon 
those who practice it, precludes the possibility 
that it is lightly entered upon. Certainly Dr. 
Gehring has amply shown during the compara- 
tively short career which he has enjoyed, that 
with him at least these high standards are a 
very real and vital existence and that he intends 
to be guided by them in his professional rela- 
tions. This is amply borne out by the position 
that he has already gained, the reputation he has 
won, both among his fellow-practitioners and 
among the members of a large and high-class 
clientage, a position and a reputation which give 
every evidence of increasing and developing with 
the passing years. He is a man who exerts a 



large and growing influence upon the life of the 
community where he resides. 



ROSCOE CONKLIN HAYNES Lewiston. 
Maine, may claim among its residents many 
notable and distinguished educators, whose 
names have become associated with various 
branches and departments of education not only 
throughout the State, but in the entire region 
of New England and beyond. In that depart- 
ment having to do with commercial and business 
education, there is none more worthy of remark 
than Roscoe Conklin Haynes, whose association 
with the well-known Bliss Business College has 
been long and close, and has redounded equally 
to his own and to the institution's credit. Mr. 
Haynes, like the founder of the institution, Mr. 
Bliss, who is mentioned elsewhere in this work, 
is a Western man, and was born in the State 
of Ohio, of parents who had always lived in 
that part of the country. He is a son of Henry 
Allen and Rebecca J. (Karshner) Haynes, the 
former a native of Chillicothe, Ohio, and the 
latter of Hallsville, Ross county, Ohio. Mr. 
Haynes, Sr., at various times in his life lived 
in Ross, Clinton and Madison counties, follow- 
ing farming as an occupation in these several 
places and finally dying at Galloway, in his native 
State. His death occurred in 1904, at the vener- 
able age of seventy-four years. He is survived 
by his wife, who lives at Galloway, aged eighty. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Haynes, Sr., nine children were 
born, as follows: Josephine, who became the 
wife of H. C. Curtiss, who makes his home at 
Sabina, Ohio; Isabelle, who died while still a 
little girl; Daniel, who resides at Muncie, In- 
diana; Jennie, who resides at Galloway, Ohio; 
George, who makes his home at London, Ohio; 
Frank, who died at the age of twenty-one years; 
Dolly, who became the wife of F. M. Roseberry, 
and died in the year 1900; Birdie, who became 
the wife of J. C. Ball, of Pittsburgh, Pennsyl- 
vania; and Roscoe Conklin, with whose career 
this sketch is particularly concerned. 

Born November 22, 1882, at Sabina, Ohio, Ros- 
coe Conklin Haynes, youngest child of Henry 
Allen and Rebecca J. (Karshner) Haynes, spent 
only the first few years of his childhood in his 
native town. While he was still a little boy his 
parents removed to Madison county, Ohio, and 
it was there that he grew up to young manhood 
amid the healthful surroundings of his father's 
farm. He attended the local public schools for 
the preliminary portion of his education, and 
afterwards took a special course at Lebanon Uni- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



149 



versity. After completing his studies at this 
institution, he took up for a time the task of 
teaching in the public school, his work being for 
about three years in these institutions in Frank- 
lin county, Ohio. It was at the end of this 
period that he first became acquainted with the 
Bliss College at Columbus, Ohio, which he en- 
tered as a student and where he took the regu- 
lar course in normal training. He graduated 
from this with the class of 1907, and in Sep- 
tember of the same year came to Lewiston, 
Maine, where he had been offered charge of the 
commercial department in the Bliss College, 
which had been founded here just ten years 
before. After two years in charge of the com- 
mercial department, Mr. Haynes was given the 
position of manager, and now is in active charge 
of the school at all times. He is a man of un- 
usual accomplishments and is especially well 
qualified for the work which he has taken up, 
possessing those traits of character which enable 
him to deal with young men and women most 
successfully, to draw them out and encourage 
them to do their best work 

To make a man do the best of which he IB capable, 
To make him give out the best that Is within him, 
This Is the office of a friend. 

If this be true, then Mr. Haynes may be most 
accurately described as the friend of the many 
pupils whom he has in charge. For it is cer- 
tainly his talent which draws from them all the 
excellent work that they do and contributes in 
so large a degree to the high standing of the 
institution. 

The school with which Mr. Haynes is asso- 
ciated occupies a very important place in the 
life of the community and is undoubtedly doing 
a great work in the training of young people 
of both sexes in the practical affairs of life. It 
makes a very direct appeal to the foreseeing 
parents of the community, for as is said in the 
prospectus of the school, 

All worthy parents are vitally interested in the 
welfare of their sons and daughters. Every son 
should be educated for self-support, no matter 
what his financial condition may be at the pres- 
ent time. No young man can respect himself in 
the future, nor will others respect him, unless 
he develops self-supporting qualities the ability 
to earn money, or to properly handle and invest 
money that may have come into his possession 
by inheritance. Every daughter should be edu- 
cated for ^ self-support, although she may never 
"have to" support herself. Intelligent women 
everywhere are now realizing the importance of 
a practical business education for both sexes. 

This is good, practical, general advice, and is 



followed up with the following information con- 
cerning the Bliss System of accomplishing the 
desired results. 

The Bliss System of actual business is highly 
systematized, and is unquestionably the most 
practical in business and office training ever 
devised. The instruction in this course is largely 
individual and the subject of book-keeping i 
taught in a practical manner throughout the 
entire course. The fact that you have taken a 
course in book-keeping does not mean that you 
must become a book-keeper, it does mean that 
book-keeping is essential in business education 
for the promotion of every young man and 
young woman seeking employment in a business 
office. The Bliss System of Actual Business re- 
quires six Wholesale Houses, a National Bank, 
Brokerage and Commission, as part of the school 
room equipment before it can be taught in a 
scientific manner as designed. The wholesale 
houses are in charge of bill clerks and book- 
keepers chosen from the advanced class, and the 
bankers are chosen in like manner. The bankers 
and wholesale employees are under the direct 
supervision of our college auditor, whose duty 
it is to see that all business is cared for in a 
business-like way. The student body, operating 
from the floor, are the customers of the whole- 
sale houses and patrons of the bank. A regular 
national banking business is carried on and grad- 
uates from this department are to be found in 
many of the banks throughout New England, 
some have risen to the position of cashier, as- 
sistant cashier, paying and receiving tellers. It 
would be necessary for you to visit this depart- 
ment, witness the business-like atmosphere of 
the department before you could realize to what 
extent the business world has been brought 
within the confines of a schoolroom. 

With such a system, under the direction of 
so capable an executive as Mr. Haynes, it is no 
wonder that excellent results are achieved. 

Mr. Haynes is far too healthful and broad- 
minded to have become so entirely absorbed in 
his work as teacher as to have lost contact with 
the other aspects of life. He has none of the 
qualities which are sometimes associated in the 
popular mind with the pedagogical calling, but 
is alive to and sympathetic with the world-at- 
large. He finds his chief recreation in the sport 
of fishing, which might even be called his hobby, 
and he spends his vacations indulging this taste 
in all its many forms. He is associated with the 
M. W. A., and is a figure of considerable promi- 
nence in the social world of Lewiston. In his 
religious belief he is a Methodist and attends 
the church of that denomination in Lewiston. 

Roscoe Conklin Haynes was united in mar- 
riage, August 28, 1907, at Columbus, Ohio, with 
Anna B. Poling, who was born not far from 
that city and is a daughter of Mathias and Eliza- 



150 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



beth (Reed) Poling. Mr. and Mrs. Poling, while 
long residing near Columbus, Ohio, came orig- 
inally from Kentucky. They are now both de- 
ceased. 

A word should be here said concerning the 
Haynes family, which is an old one in America 
and has numbered among its members many men 
who have achieved distinction in the various 
walks of life. It is of Irish origin, but was 
founded in this country at an early date, the 
immigrant ancestor having settled in Virginia, 
in which State for many years the family con- 
tinued to make its home. 



GEORGE CURTIS WING The Wing family, 
of which George Curtis Wing is the present 
representative in the city of Auburn, Maine, can 
claim a great and honorable antiquity in New 
England, where it was founded as early as the 
year 1640 by immigrants who came from York- 
shire, England, and settled upon Cape Cod. Here 
the family resided for a number of generations, 
and it was not until the time of Reuben Wing, 
the grandfather of the Mr. Wing of this sketch, 
that the name was brought to Maine. Reuben 
Wing, however, when a child came from Cape 
Cod to Maine with his father, Samuel Wing, 
who settled in the town of Readfield. Reuben 
Wing, at the age of twenty, went to Livermore 
and in the unbroken forest took up a farm 
upon which he lived until his death, at the 
age of ninety years and six months. He mar- 
ried Lucy Carpenter Weld, of Cornish, New 
Hampshire, and they were the parents of seven 
children, all of whom are now deceased. Among 
these children was Walter Weld Wing, the 
father of the Mr. Wing of this sketch, who was 
borrt September 8, 1811, at Livermore, Maine, 
and died in the city of Auburn, at the age of 
eighty-six years. Like his father, he was a 
farmer, and he married Lucy Amanda Wyman, 
a native of Bridgton, Maine, and a daughter of 
Rev. William Wyman, then a Baptist minister 
in that town. To Walter Weld Wing and his 
wife two children were born, as follows: Charles 
Edwin, who studied the law and practiced that 
profession in the city of Auburn until his death, 
which occurred at the age of fifty-three years, 
and George Curtis, with whose career we arc 
especially concerned. 

Born April 16, 1847, at Livermore, Maine, 
George Curtis Wing spent his childhood and 
early youth in his native town. For the pre- 
liminary portion of his education he attended 



the public school and graduated from the Liver- 
more High School in 1865. He had already de- 
termined upon the law as his profession in life, 
and accordingly, after his high school career, 
turned his attention to the study of this sub- 
ject to such good purpose that he was admitted 
to the bar in April, 1868. He at once began 
the active practice of his profession at Lisbon 
Falls, Maine, where he remained for two years. 
He then came to the city of Auburn, where he 
settled, and where he has been practicing act- 
ively ever since. It did not take him long, 
possessed as he was of unusual qualifications 
and talents, to make for himself a leading place 
among 'his legal colleagues in this region, and 
to develop a practice which in time attained 
large proportions. Mr. Wing, however, is also 
actively identified with the financial interests of 
the community, and was one of the organizers 
of the National Shoe & Leather Bank of Au- 
burn, and since that time a director. Beyond 
doubt, the department of life in which Mr. Wing 
is best known to the community, however, is 
that of politics and public life, in which for many 
years he has held a conspicuous and responsible 
position. He was a member of the Maine Sen- 
ate in 1903, and prior to that had held a large 
number of local offices, including that of county 
attorney, as far back as the year 1874, and after 
that for nine years Judge of the Probate Court 
in Androscoggin county. He has always been 
exceedingly active in every movement looking 
towards the welfare and improved conditions of 
his professional colleagues, and has been promi- 
nently identified with the various legal societies 
in that part of the country. For more than 
twenty years he has held the office of president 
of the Androscoggin County Bar Association, 
and in 1915 held that same office in the Maine 
State Bar Association. In politics he is a staunch 
Republican and has been very actively asso- 
ciated with the local organization of his party. 
He held the responsible post of chairman of the 
State Republican Committee in 1884, and in the 
same year was chairman of the State delegation 
to the National Republican Convention at Chi- 
cago, which nominated his own fellow-states- 
man, James G. Blainc, for the Presidency. He 
also held the position of Judge Advocate on the 
staffs of Governors Bodwell and Marble, of 
Maine. Judge Wing has been for many years a 
very prominent Mason, having taken his thirty- 
serond degree in Free Masonry, and is affiliated 
with the following Masonic bodies: Tranquil 




* 




BIOGRAPHICAL 



151 



Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
which he is a past master; Bradford Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; Dunlap Council, Royal and 
Select Masters; Lewiston Coinniandcry, Knights 
Templar; Kora Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; and Maine Con- 
sistory, Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite. An 
honor much prized by Judge Wing is the hono- 
rary degree of Doctor of Laws, conferred upon 
him by Colby College in the year 1909. In 
his religious belief Judge Wing is a Baptist, and, 
with the members of his family, attends the 
Court Street Church of that denomination at 
Auburn. 

Judge Wing was united in marriage, May 2, 
1870, at Livermore, Maine, with Emily Billings 
Thompson, like himself a native of that town, 
and a daughter of Job D. and Ruth (Winslow) 
Thompson, old and highly respected residents 
of that place, where they died and are buried. 
To Judge and Mrs. Wing the following children 
have been born: Nahum Morrill, May 6, 1871, 
a graduate of Colby College, married Fannie M. 
Parker, of Bangor, by whom he has a daughter, 
Marion, now (1917) fourteen years of age; was 
for a. number of years associated with the bank- 
ing firm of Van Voorhis, Wilson & Company, 
of Boston, and is now the representative of 
Cochrane, Harper & Company, investment bank- 
ers, of No. 60 State street, Boston; George C., 
Jr., of whom further. 

The career of Judge Wing is one that well 
repays study. He is one of those characters 
which impresses itself strongly upon those about 
them until it has left a certain stamp of its 
own quality upon the community, which is thus 
enriched by its presence. He holds, it is true, 
posts of responsibility and trust, but not in any 
way commensurate with the actual place he oc- 
cupies in the respect and affection of the people. 
That he has a very large legal practice and has 
been a member of the State Senate conveys no 
adequate idea whatever of the place he occupies 
in both county and State affairs; the same may 
be said of many others who pass through life's 
arena and leave the scantiest of impressions to 
tell of that passage. Of that strong and essen- 
tial honesty that is the very foundation of social 
life, he adds to this a toleration of others that 
draws all men towards him as to one they in- 
stinctively recognize as a faithful friend. Nor 
does he ever disappoint such as trust him with 
their confidence, giving comfort and advice, sym- 
pathy or wholesome rebuke as the occasion war- 
rants, and ever with a keen appreciation of the 



circumstances and a profound and charitable 
understanding of the motives of the human heart. 
George Curtis Wing, Jr., was born at Auburn, 
Maine, October 6, 1878. He attended the public 
schools of Auburn, graduated at the Edward Lit- 
tle High School, at Brown University in 1900, 
and at the Harvard Law School in 1003. On 
February 6, 1904, he was admitted to the bar 
of Maine. He is now (1917) a partner in the 
law business of his father. He has served two 
terms as City Solicitor of Auburn, and an equal 
number of terms on the Auburn Board of Educa- 
tion. He was a member of the Maine Legisla- 
ture in 1909, and is now a trustee of the Auburn 
Public Library. For a number of years he was 
associated with the Coast Artillery Corps, Na- 
tional Guard, State of Maine, and rose to the 
rank of captain in that body, from which he 
received honorable discharge, January 9, 1912. 
He is also active in fraternal orders and par- 
ticularly so in the case of the Masonic order, 
having taken the thirty-second degree of Free 
Masonry. He is affiliated with Tranquil Lodge, 
No. 29, Free and Accepted Masons, and is past 
master of the same; Bradford Chapter, No. 38, 
Royal Arch Masons; Lewiston Commandery, 
No. 6, Knights Templar; Lewiston Lodge of Per- 
fection; Auburn Council, Princes of Jerusalem; 
H. H. Dickey, Chapter of Rose Croix; Maine 
Consistory, Sovereign Princes of the Royal Se- 
cret, and Kora Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Lewiston. He 
is also a member of Lewiston Lodge, No. 371, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. In 
his religious belief he is, like the other members 
of his family, a Baptist, and attends divine ser- 
vice at the Court Street Church of that denom- 
ination in Auburn. Mr. Wing is unmarried. 



CHARLES CUMMINGS BENSON Benson 
is a name that has been long and favorably 
known in Maine, where it was first found shortly 
after the close of the Revolutionary War, since 
which time many of its members have distin- 
guished themselves in the service of the several 
communities in which they have dwelt and all 
have maintained a high standard of citizenship. 
The name, however, can claim an antiquity con- 
siderably greater than this, although not in 
Maine, its origin having been English, dating 
back in all probability to the time when sur- 
names were first coming into use in that coun- 
try. From the records it appears that the Ben- 
sons were originally tenants of Fountain Abbey, 
one of the most powerful monastic foundations 



152 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



in the middle ages, the beautiful building still 
standing today as one of the best preserved 
relics of that ancient day. It stood in the West 
Riding of Yorkshire, three miles southwest of 
the town of Ripon, and was founded as early 
as 1132, A.D., although not completed until the 
sixteenth century. It thus presents examples of 
every style of architecture which flourished in 
England during those centuries from the Nor- 
man to the Perpendicular. The monks of Foun- 
tain Abbey were regarded as among the richest 
and most powerful of that period and region, 
and we have references to them as early as in 
the legends which have grown up about the ro- 
mantic figure of Robin Hood. The Bensons 
were foresters during their tenancy on the lands 
of the Abbey and were people of some conse- 
quence, the record of the descent being kept from 
an early period. They were of that splendid, 
sturdy and intelligent stock which made up the 
yeomanry of Merry England in those days, and 
some of them rose to positions of eminence in 
England. Perhaps the most distinguished repre- 
sentative of the family was Edward White Ben- 
son, who became Archbishop of Canterbury, the 
supreme office of the English Church. The Ben- 
sons were probably a large family, residing at 
Masham from about the beginning of the four- 
teenth century, since which time the name has 
spread over well-nigh every portion of the Eng- 
lish-speaking world. 

It was founded in this country by John Ben- 
son, probably a native of Coversham, Oxford- 
shire, who sailed from England in the good ship 
Confidence and landed in Boston in 1638. Ac- 
cording to himself, his age at this time was 
thirty years, so that his birth must have oc- 
curred in 1608. He settled at Hingham, Massa- 
chusetts, and there founded the family from 
which the Maine Bensons are descended. It was 
five generations after John Benson had settled 
in Massachusetts that the family was brought to 
the "Pine Tree State" by Ichabod Benson, who 
was a soldier in the Revolution and served in 
Captain William Shaw's company for a time. He 
is also credited with service from Mendon, Mas- 
sachusetts, in Captain Reuben Davis" company, 
Colonel Luke Drury's regiment. After the close 
of the war he removed to Livermore, Maine, 
where his death occurred in 1783. Charles Cum- 
mings Benson, with whose career we are par- 
ticularly concerned in this sketch, is a son of 
George B. Benson, and a great-grandson of the 
Ichabod Benson, just mentioned. 



Born March I, 1852, at Waterville, the second 
child of George B. and Elvira M. (Conforth) 
Benson, Charles Cummings Benson passed his 
childhood at his native place. There also he re- 
ceived his education, attending for this purpose 
the local public schools, where he remained until 
he had reached the age of fifteen years. He then 
came to Lewiston, where he secured a position 
as messenger boy with the Western Union Tele- 
graph Company and worked in this position for 
a period of about six months. He was a bright 
lad, however, and in the meantime learned how 
to operate the instrument, so that at the end of 
this period he was made a telegraph operator at 
the Lewiston office. He only held this position 
for a single year, however, being then promoted 
to the position of manager. Three years later 
he took the position of operator at Portland and 
Bangor, and was also agent at Lewiston for the 
Maine Central railroad from 1876 to 1898. It 
was in 1899 that Mr. Benson first began his suc- 
cessful banking career, taking the position of 
treasurer with S. E. May & Company, bankers, 
which had been established since 1860. Not long 
afterward Mr. Benson bought the business of 
this concern and changed the name to that of 
Charles C. Benson & Company. By degrees, 
however, he has purchased the interests of his 
partners and is at the present time the sole 
owner and director of the large business which 
he has developed. The offices of this concern 
are located at No. 165 Main street, and the estab- 
lishment is regarded as one of the most sub- 
stantial of its kind in the State. 

Mr. Benson has not confined his activities to 
the business world by any means, and has taken 
an active part in well-nigh every aspect of the 
community's life. He has been particularly act- 
ive in local public affairs, and has been an in- 
fluential factor in the local organization of the 
Republican party. He served for several years 
as a member of the Republican City Committee 
of Lewiston, of which he was the chairman in 
1800, 1891 and 1892, and he was a member of 
the Republican State Committee, representing 
Androscoggin county, for four years. The offices 
held by Mr. Benson have well shown the trust 
in which he is held by his fellow citizens, and 
he has ever discharged their functions with the 
highest degree of efficiency and disinterested- 
ness. He was a member of the Lewiston City 
Council in 1889, Alderman in 1890 and 1891, and 
Water Commissioner in 1893 and 1899. In 1898 
he was elected City Treasurer, receiving the un- 




k 




BIOGRAPHICAL 



153 



usual honor of a unanimous vote in the City 
Council. Mr. Benson is active in the social and 
club life at Lewiston, and is a member of the 
local lodge of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, a charter member of the Calumet 
Club, besides belonging to many other societies. 
In his religious belief he is a Congregationalist 
and attends the Pine Street Church of that de- 
nomination. 

Mr. Benson was united in marriage, October 
9, 1915, at Berlin, New Hampshire, with Mrs. 
Anna L. Cornish, a native of Livermore, Maine. 

Mr. Benson's father, George B. Benson, was 
born at Buckfield, Maine, and died in the year 
looo, at the age of seventy-six years, at Oakland, 
Maine. He was a machinist and blacksmith by 
trade, and during the latter part of his life his 
work consisted of tempering axles, a trade which 
had been practiced in the family for a number of 
generations. He married Elvira M. Conforth, a 
native of Waterville, whose death ocurred in Jan- 
uary, 1915, at Lewiston, at the advanced age of 
eighty-eight years. They were the parents of 
five children, of whom Charles Cummings was 
the second in point of age. 

Mr. Benson is in the fullest sense of the phrase 
a "self-made man" in the sense, that is, not 
merely of having made his own wealth, but of 
having improved and developed his various facul- 
ties to the utmost, of having educated and culti- 
vated himself and taken advantage of every op- 
portunity for self-improvement, of having, in the 
expressive Biblical figure, invested the talents 
entrusted him in this earthly life. He is not of 
those, however, who seek their own advantage 
at the expense of others, as might readily have 
been seen in the respect and affection in which 
his associates hold him. The most notable 
case of this, however, and the one which con- 
tains the deepest note of praise is the fondness 
which his employees feel for him and show in 
their devotion. This is always one of the surest 
tests of the essential democracy and justice of a 
man, and this test Mr. Benson has passed suc- 
cessfully. 



GEORGE TAYLOR FILES, educator, lec- 
turer, traveler, and one of the pioneer good-roads 
advocates of the United States, was born in Port- 
land, Maine, September 23, 1866, the son of An- 
drew H. and Louise (Yeaton) Files, the former 
a native of Gorham, Maine, and the latter of 
Newcastle, New Hampshire. His parents were 
married in Portland, where his father, for many 



years principal of the old North School, stood 
exceptionally high in educational circles. 

George Taylor Files attended the public 
schools of that city, graduating from the Port- 
land High School in 1885. Entering Bowdoin 
College, he graduated from that institution in 
1889, at the head of his class, receiving special 
honors and the degree of Master of Arts. Dur- 
ing his second year he did extra work as an 
accredited tutor. Going to Johns Hopkins Uni- 
versity, at Baltimore, he took a post-graduate 
course, and from there went to Leipzig, Ger- 
many, where he remained two years, receiving 
the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. Returning 
to the United States, he received the appointment 
to the chair of the German language at Bowdoin 
College, soon taking high rank as an educator, 
and assisting materially in keeping Bowdoin's 
name among the leaders of the higher educa- 
tional institutions of the country, as well as en- 
dearing himself to the thousands of boys who 
have attended this famous old college since he 
has been a member of its faculty. He remained 
with Bowdoin as the head of the Department of 
German, spending the majority of his vacation 
periods in travel and study. He has made sev- 
eral trips abroad, covering the European coun- 
tries with great thoroughness, and has put in 
many months in post-graduate courses at the 
leading Continental universities. He was one 
of the early Americans to tour Europe by auto- 
mobile. 

In Brunswick, the seat of Bowdoin College, 
and his home, he is one of the town's most act- 
ive and influential citizens and has taken a lead- 
ing part in its educational affairs and in all other 
matters pertaining to its welfare. He is a mem- 
ber of its leading college and local clubs, as well 
as being prominent socially. In Portland, Prof. 
Files is as well known as in Brunswick, and in 
that city he is affiliated with many of the most 
important local organizations. He was selected 
by the Portland Rotary Club as its representa- 
tive in southwestern Maine from the ranks of 
higher education. He is a member of the Cum- 
berland Club, as well as the Portland Chamber 
of Commerce, and other similar bodies. Polit- 
ically he is a Republican, but has never cared to 
hold office of any kind. 

As an advocate of better highways, Prof. Files 
has attained a wide reputation and he is con- 
sidered an authority on roads and road construc- 
tion among highway experts in Eastern United 
States. He was one of the first advocates of 



154 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



trunk line highways and laid out a system for 
Maine, the major part of which is the State's 
trunk line system of today. He is the originator 
of many of the most important highway laws 
now on the statute books of Maine, and has been 
actively associated in the drawing up and passage 
of all of them. He was one of the founders, and 
is the present head, of the Maine Automobile 
Association, one of the largest organizations of 
its kind in the country, and the association 
through which the progressive good roads and 
automobile legislation of the State has been car- 
ried to a successful termination. 

When the United States entered the great 
World War in 1917, Prof. Files took a strong 
stand in support of the government and the 
causes for which it was entering the conflict, 
and although much past the military age he was 
insistent upon doing some special service in the 
field for his country. Early in 1918 he joined the 
ranks of the Y. M. C. A., and in February sailed 
for France, where for ten months, through the 
most trying period of the war, he worked among 
the French poilus, performing wonderful feats in 
maintaining their morale by assuring them that 
America was really coming to help her sister re- 
public win its great fight for justice and human- 
ity. He was in France and at the front through- 
out the great German offensives of the first half 
of 1918, and then saw the mighty Hun military 
machine crushed, and the armistice signed, and 
participated in the famous peace celebration in 
Paris, a celebration such as the world had never 
before witnessed. So successful was Prof. Files 
in his work in France that he was placed in 
charge of the educational work in the Foyers du 
Soldal for the entire Eighth French Army, and 
was urged to accept even greater responsibili- 
ties, but felt that his health did not warrant his 
assuming them. He returned to the United 
States the last of November for an extended rest 
before going back to again take up the work 
during the period of demobilization of the French 
Army. 

Mr. Files married, in Portland, May 9, 1894, 
Edith Davis, daughter of William Goodwin and 
Rhoda (Neal) Davis, the former a prominent 
business man and financier of Portland, both he 
and his wife being now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. 
Files have one child, a daughter, Helen Louise. 
Their home is at Brunswick, Maine. 



HON. WILLIAM GOODWIN DAVIS One 

of the representative men of Portland and of 



the State of Maine, Hon. William Goodwin 
Davis, filled a place of commanding influence 
in his community. He came of old Welsh stock, 
he himself belonging to the seventh generation 
of the name in this country. The name is de- 
rived from the Welsh, Davy, a form of David. 
In the formation of the patronymic, Davison fre- 
quently became Davis. 

(I) John Davis, of Amesbury, Massachusetts, 
is first mentioned in a grant of land made to him 
by his mother-in-law, Mrs. Martha Clough, whose 
daughter by a former marriage, Elizabeth Cilley, 
was the wife of John Davis. The grant was 
made in November, 1684. Of the parentage of 
John Davis nothing is known, but it is probable 
that he was connected with the large and numer- 
ous Davis families of Newbury and Amesbury. 
His second wife was Bethiah, daughter of John 
and Mary (Bartlett) Ash, whom he married Oc- 
tober 19, 1702. In 1704 his wife and two chil- 
dren were probably the ones who were captured 
by Indians as related in Pike's Journal. Mrs. 
Davis at least was returned alive, as we find that 
she was living in Amesbury in 1707. On June 
28, 1708, John Davis married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Robert Biddle, of Newbury, preceding the 
ceremony by an agreement by which he deeded 
to her his house and land in Amesbury. The 
date of his death is not known. 

(II) Captain John (2) Davis, eldest son of 
John (l) Davis, was born in Amesbury, May 4, 
1689. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Jacob 
Basford, of Hampton, August 2, 1711. He moved 
to Biddeford, Maine, and was selectman of that 
town in the years 1723-36 and 1743-49. I n '74^ 
he was ordered to recruit a force for defence 
against the French and Indians. He died May 
12, 1752, and his gravestone is still standing in 
Lower Biddeford cemetery. In his will he men- 
tions his saw and grist mill on the east side of 
the Saco river. He had four sons and five 
daughters. 

(III) Ezra Davis, second son of Captain John 
(2) Davis, was born in Biddeford, Maine, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1719-20. His wife's name was Sarah, 
and there is strong circumstantial evidence that 
she was the daughter of Robert Edgecomb, of 
Saco. He died July 26, 1800, and was buried in 
Limington, where his sons had settled. 

(IV) Major Nicholas Davis, son of Ezra 
Davis, was born in Biddeford, Maine, and bap- 
tized there in June, 1753. He served in the Rev- 
olution under Captain Jeremiah Hill, in Colonel 
James Scammon's (Thirtieth) regiment, enlist- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



155 



ing as a private, May 4, 1773, and serving twelve 
weeks and five days. He was again with Captain 
Hill in Colonel Edmund Phinney's regiment at 
Fort George, December 8, 1776, having enlisted 
January I, 1776. He removed to Little Ossipec, 
or Limington, between 1777 and 1778, where he 
became the major of the "Old Militia." On Feb- 
ruary 15, 1777, he married Charity, daughter of 
William and Rachel (Edgecomb) Haley. He 
died February 14, 1832. She died January 5, 
1800. They had five sons and three daughters: 
John, Nicholas, Noah, Elisha, Charity, Sarah, 
William and Perlina. 

(V) William Davis, fifth son of Major Nich- 
olas Davis, was born in Limington, March 5, 
1796. He married Mary, daughter of Joseph and 
Lydia (Harmon) Waterhouse, of Standish, Sep- 
tember 26, 1817. She was descended from the 
Hoyt, Libby, Fernald, Hasty and Moses families. 
They lived in Limington. He has been de- 
scribed as "a man of great resolution and force 
of character; a judicious farmer, and a respected 
citizen." He died September 17, 1864. She died 
May 29, 1871. They had six children. 

(VI) Hon. William Goodwin Davis, son of 
William Davis, was born in Limington, June 16, 
1825. He left home at the age of fourteen and 
came to Portland, where he was engaged in the 
baking business for several years. His health 
becoming impaired by indoor work, he began 
driving through the Maine towns, selling cutlery 
and other small wares obtained in New York. 
He continued thus until 1858, when he entered 
the wholesale trade in general merchandise, in 
partnership with James P. Baxter, the firm tak- 
ing the name of Davis & Baxter. Together they 
became the pioneers of the canning business in 
Maine, importing many of their goods from 
England, establishing the Portland Packing Com- 
pany, and exporting their products to all parts 
of the globe. In 1881 Mr. Davis ceased his active 
connection with the packing company, but he 
by no means ceased to be a busy man, as the 
offices he held in various institutions gave him 
plenty of employment. He engaged in building 
quite extensively, and erected the Davis block, 
opposite the City Hall, and the West End hotel, 
and in conjunction with James P. Baxter built 
a large store on Commercial street for Milli- 
ken & Tomlinson. He was president of the Na- 
tional Traders' Bank; Poland Paper Company; 
Portland Trust Company; and Maine Savings 
Bank; a director of the First National Bank, the 
Portland Street railway and of the Maine Cen- 



tral railway, and a trustee of the Portland Lloyds 
until the business of that association was wound 
up, in 1895. For several years he was vice-presi- 
dent of the Portland Board of Trade. He was 
a representative from Portland to the Maine 
Legislature in 1875-76, and served as Senator 
from the Portland district in 1877. He was ap- 
pointed by President Harrison one of the State 
commissioners at the Columbia Exposition at 
Chicago, 1893. In political matters his was many 
times the dominating influence, although there, 
as in business, he never sought the place of 
leader. Up to 1896, and the nomination of Wil- 
liam Jennings Bryan, he was a very enthusiastic 
Democrat, and gave very liberally of his time 
and means to the party, but not approving of 
the Chicago platform, like other Democrats of 
the old school, ceased to take an active interest 
in politics. He never, however, ceased to be a 
Democrat, but he was a Democrat of the old 
Jacksonian school. His religious connection was 
with the New Jerusalem Church, of which he was 
for a long time a leading member. 

William G. Davis married, March 4, 1849, 
Rhoda M. Neal, of Gardiner. Children: i. Helen, 
born in 1849, married Joseph G. Cole, of Paris, 
Maine, deceased. 2. Walter E., born in 1853, died 
in infancy. 3. Walter Goodwin, born January 5, 
1857. 4. William Neal, born February 22, 1860. 
deceased. 5. Charles A., born in 1862, died in 
infancy. 6. Edith, born in 1865, married George 
Taylor Files (of whom elsewhere in this work). 
7 and 8. Florence and Alice (twins), born in 
1869, died in infancy. William G. Davis died 
April 19, 1903, and his wife survived him only 
four days, dying April 23, 1903. 

(The Neal Line) 

(I) John Neal, ancestor of Rhoda M. (Neal) 
Davis, said to have been a Scotch-Irish immi- 
grant, was in Scituate, Massachusetts, in 1730. 
He was a potter by trade. The name of his wife 
is unknown. He had two sons and two daugh- 
ters baptized in Scituate. 

(II) John (2) Neal, son of John (i) Neal, was 
born May 5, 1728. He settled in Litchfield, 
Maine, a town largely settled from Plymouth 
county, Massachusetts, but apparently lived for 
a time in Topsham, for the Brunswick records 
show that on January 16, 1762, "Mr. Kohn Neele, 
and Mrs. Abigail Hall, both of Topsham, were 
married. It has been impossible to identify 
herewith any of the Hall families then in Maine. 
He died August 18, 1709, and she November 22, 
1818. 



156 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



(III) Joseph Neal, son of John (2) Neal, was 
born March 24, 1769. He married Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Captain Adam and Polly (Hutchinson) 
Johnson. They lived in Litchfield. 

(IV) Joseph (2) Neal, son of Joseph (i) Neal, 
was born March 2, 1783. He married, January 
30, 1817, Hannah, daughter of Annis and Sarah 
(Hildreth) Spear, and granddaughter of Paul 
Hildreth, the adventurous first settler of Lewis- 
ton. They lived in Gardiner. He died March 
n, 1836, while she survived until December 20, 
1881. 

(V) Rhoda M. Neal, daughter of Joseph (2) 
Neal, was born September 25, 1828, in Gardiner. 
She married, March 4, 1849, William Goodwin 
Davis. 



MILLARD CARROLL WEBBER, M.D. 
One of Maine's rising young medical specialists 
now located in Portland, and son of an eminent 
physician of the State, Dr. Webber in birth and 
ancestry is a true son of Maine. His lineage 
traces in Maine to a gallant son of the Revolu- 
tion, whose father was one of the first of the 
name to settle in the State. The name Webber 
is obviously derived from the German Weber, 
meaning weaver, which occupation is also re- 
sponsible for the cognate patronymics, Webb, 
Webster and Weeber. It is interesting to know 
that in the early days Webber was the masculine 
and Webster the feminine form of the name. 
There were Webbers of English descent in 
Maine and Massachusetts. A Captain Thomas 
Webber, a mariner of Boston, joined the church 
in 1644, was master of a vessel Mayflower, sold 
a quarter interest in 1652 and moved to Maine. 
That seems to have been a seafaring family, 
but this branch descends from a Dutch ancestor, 
Wolfert Webber, who came from Holland in the 
early part of the seventeenth century to New 
Amsterdam, about 1633, with the Dutch Gov- 
ernor Van Twiller. Wolfert Webber had a grant 
of land in New Amsterdam of about sixty-two 
acres lying between Broadway and the Hudson 
river, and Duane and Chambers streets. Some- 
thing over a generation ago, attempt was made 
by some of the heirs of Wolfert Webber to claim 
this property, on the ground that the lease under 
which it was held had expired, and also to en- 
force a claim against the Webber estate in Hol- 
land, but the attempt failed. 

A descendant of Wolfert Webber settled in 
the State of Maine at Litchfield. There his son, 
Lieutenant George Webber, an officer of the 
Revolution, serving under the French General 



Lafayette, lived and died, leaving a son, George 
Franklin Webber, who was born, lived and died 
in Litchfield. This George Franklin Webber 
was the father of Dr. George Franklin Webber, 
father of Dr. Millard C. Webber, of Portland. 
Dr. George Franklin Webber was born in Litch- 
field, Maine, June 12, 1854, died at Fairfield, 
Maine, May 14, 1899. He was a graduate of 
Bowdoin Medical College, and practiced his pro- 
fession at Richmond and Fairfield, Maine, until 
his death, a physician beloved and a citizen 
highly esteemed. He married Allie Marie Ham, 
born in Wales, Maine, now residing in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. They were the parents of 
two sons, Millard Carroll, of further mention; 
Merlow Ardeen, born November i, 1884, at 
Clinton, near Fairfield, Maine, a graduate of 
Bowdoin Medical College, class of 1910, and 
since 1916 a regularly enlisted surgeon in the 
United States army, now stationed at Camp Otis, 
Panama. 

Dr. Millard Carroll Webber, eldest son of Dr. 
George Franklin and Allie Marie (Ham) Web- 
ber, was born in Richmond, Me., June 7, 1882. Soon 
afterward his parents located in Fairfield, where 
he attended public schools, and later completed 
his preparatory education at Coburn Classical 
Institute with graduation, class of 1001. Subse- 
quently he entered Bowdoin College, completing 
a classical course and receiving the Bachelor's 
degree in 1907. He then entered Bowdoin Med- 
ical School, whence he was graduated M.D., class 
of 1910. The following eighteen months were 
spent in special preparation at the Maine Eye 
and Ear Infirmary, after which Dr. Webber lo- 
cated in private practice as an eye and ear spe- 
cialist, now (1917) located at No. 735 Stevens 
avenue. For five years Dr. Webber was surgeon 
to the Maine Naval Militia, is a member of the 
various medical associations, and highly regarded 
by his professional brethren. He is a Republican 
in politics, a member of the Masonic order, 
Lambla Chapter, the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, and Bowdoin Yeta Psi. 

Dr. Webber married, in Portland, August 4, 
1915, Martha Babcock O'Brien, daughter of 
Horace and Justina (Babcock) O'Brien, her 
parents residing in Portland, her native city. 



WILLIAM DWIGHT PENNELL Leaders, 

men who can initiate movements of any sort, 
whether in the world of politics, finance or in- 
dustry, who show their fellows the way to the 
accomplishment of desired results, are of course 
comparatively rare, yet it seems probable that 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



157 



the conditions of life in America have been and 
are today such as to encourage and promote this 
kind of initiative, for there can be little doubt 
that here, as perhaps nowhere else in the world, 
men naturally tend to outgrow the conventional 
forms and methods and establish their own stan- 
dards of life and action. Nowhere is this more 
obviously tlic case than in that great realm of 
business enterprise in which America has cer- 
tainly proved her pre-eminence over all the other 
nations of the earth, a pre-eminence unquestion- 
ably due to this ability and readiness to devise 
and attempt the new thing. It is particularly 
conspicuous in some of our industrial centers, 
where manufacturing enterprises of great size 
and importance spring into rapid development, 
and perhaps no better example of such a com- 
munity could be found than in the city of Lewis- 
ton, Maine. Lewiston has certainly been fortu- 
nate in the men who have taken the lead in its 
industrial enterprise, and in a list made up of 
the names of such men, that of William Dwight 
Pennell, industrial leader and man-of-affairs, 
would figure prominently. 

The Pennell family, of which William Dwight 
Pennell is so prominent a representative today, 
has been for many generations identified with the 
life and traditions of the "Pine Tree State," 
where its members have distinguished them- 
selves in many departments of activity, from 
very early times to the present. It was founded 
in America some time during the early portion 
of the eighteenth century by two brothers, Clem- 
ent and Thomas Pennell, from the former of 
whom is descended that branch of the family 
with which we are here concerned. These two 
brothers came from the Isle of Jersey and were 
members of a very old family who had resided 
in that charming island for a number of genera- 
tions. Their home was situated in Trinity Par- 
ish, and we have an unusually complete record 
of their residence there, where for about three 
centuries they held the highest offices and inter- 
married with the noblest families of the Isle of 
Jersey. We have it on the authority of old docu- 
ments that they came to Jersey from England 
during the Wars of the Roses, and settled in 
Trinity Parish in the fourteenth century. At 
that time the name was spelled Pennell, its 
modern foun, but it underwent a number of 
variations during their stay in the Isle of Jer- 
sey, and we find it spelled Peniel, Pineel, and 
occasionally Pinel. During the first part of the 
eighteenth century there was quite an exodus of 
families from Trinity Parish in the Isle of Jersey 



to America, and of these immigrant families the 
Pennell family was one. A few of their number 
were left in the ancient home, however, and indeed 
have continued down to very recent times to re- 
side there. The name has gradually died out, how- 
ever, and the last to bear it was buried about 1879. 
The only representative of the family now living 
there is a Mrs. Elizabeth L. McGurier, a grand- 
daughter of the last of the Pennell name, and 
a very wealthy lady. The two brothers already 
mentioned, who came to this country, were sons 
of one Philip Pennell and his first wife, who was 
Ann L. Mortes before marriage. Upon reaching 
this country, Thomas settled at Gloucester, 
Massachusetts, where he continued to reside un- 
til his death, March 31, 1723. Clement Pennell, 
the founder of the Maine family, on the contrary, 
did not remain in Massachusetts, but came to 
Falmouth, Maine, where he is recorded as resid- 
ing as early as 1741. In 1780 he bought an acre 
of land at Capisic of his brother Thomas, who 
also came to that part of the country tempo- 
rarily, and he served in Captain Samuel Skillings' 
company at Falmouth, from August n, 1757, at 
the outbreak of the French and Indian War. 
Clement Pennell appears on the payroll of Cap- 
tain Tobias Lord's company, enlisted May 31, 
1776, at Falmouth, Maine (Vol. 36, pp. 97-113). 
He also appears in a list of the men enlisted 
into the Continental army out of the First Cum- 
berland County regiment, April 29, 1778, Fal- 
mouth, Maine (Vol. 27, p. 29). He also appears 
with the rank of private on the Continental 
Army payroll of Captain Holding's company, 
January, 1780, residence, Falmouth, Maine (Vol. 
7, Part 2, p. 66). He was a prominent member 
of his community and held a number of re- 
sponsible positions there. From this worthy 
progenitor the line runs through Clement (2), 
Clement (3), and Richard Cobb Pennell, down to 
William Dwight Pennell, of this sketch. 

Born May 21, 1847, at Portland, Maine, Wil- 
liam Dwight Pennell was the only son of Richard 
Cobb and Cornelia (Barnes) Pennell, his moth- 
er's father, Cornelius Barnes having been for 
many years the principal land surveyor of Port- 
land, Maine. William Dwight Pennell spent 
the first sixteen years of his life in his native 
city. His sixteenth birthday fell upon the day 
following his arrival at Lewiston, Maine, whither 
his parents had removed and where he himself 
has continued to reside ever since He received 
such schooling as he enjoyed while still resid- 
ing in Portland, and shortly after coming to 
Lewiston he secured a position as a bobbin 



158 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



boy in the Porter Mill, where he worked in the 
department presided over by Rhodes A. Bud- 
long. The Porter Mill afterwards became the 
Continental, and developed a very large business 
in that region. Mr. Budlong quickly took a very 
great interest in his new assistant, who was 
especially industrious and showed an aptness 
and readiness to learn far above the average. 
The older man, appreciating these qualities, as- 
sisted the lad and caused him to be advanced 
step by step through a number of positions, in 
all of which, however, the latter remained long 
enough to become very thoroughly master of all 
the details connected with the work. Even the 
presence of this good friend and the apprecia- 
tion which his efforts met could not influence 
Mr. Pennell to remain where he was longer than 
he believed it to be to his advantage, and he 
finally left the Porter Mill to take a position 
as draftsman in the office of the Franklin Com- 
pany, under the Hon. A. D. Lockwood. His 
next position, which he accepted after three 
years with the Franklin Company, was as pay- 
master of the Lincoln Mill, which he first en- 
tered upon in 1869. In November, 1872, he was 
advanced to the position of superintendent of 
the Lincoln Mill, where he gave such entire 
satisfaction that he was elected, in November, 
1879, by the members of the firm an agent of 
the company. He remained thus engaged until 
September, 1886, when he accepted the office 
of manager for the Franklin Company. Some 
time afterwards he also became manager of the 
Union Water Power Company, and both these 
positions he resigned in 1890 to become agent 
for the Hill Manufacturing Company, upon the 
resignation of Josiah G. Coburn, who retired 
after thirty-six years in that place. In this 
position he grew rapidly to occupy a place of 
prominence in the manufacturing world of Lewis- 
ton, where his powers and high technical knowl- 
edge were recognized and appreciated. 

Although Mr. Pennell is very prominent in 
this connection, among the people generally 
he is better known with reference to his career 
as a public official and man-of-affairs. He has 
always been a staunch supporter of the prin- 
ciples for which the Republican party has stood 
and has been a frequent delegate to the party's 
conventions. He has also occupied the office 
of chairman of the city, county and district 
committees, and has taken a prominent part in 
the councils of the organization. In the year 
1870 he was elected to the office of city auditor 



on the Republican ticket and held that place 
during that and the following year. In 1874 
he was a member of the Common Council. In 
1875-76-77 he was a member and the president 
of the Board of Aldermen of Lewiston, and in 
1880, was elected Water Commissioner for six 
years. In 1886 he was re-elected for a similar 
period, and thrice during these periods has served 
as chairman of the Board of Water Commis- 
sioners, and is its president today (1918). On 
January 15, 1878, he introduced the measure pro- 
viding for the construction of the Lewiston 
Water Works, which has since proved so valu- 
able an asset to the city. In 1881 he was elected 
to fill the vacancy in the State Legislature caused 
by the death of I. N. Parker, and in 1883-84-85, 
was a member of the State Senate. The Sen- 
ate of the last named year was one of unusual 
ability and contained many members experienced 
in legislation, and it was a high compliment to 
Mr. Pennell when he was elected its president, 
especially in view of the fact that he was its 
youngest member. To this office he was elected 
unanimously, not a single dissenting vote being 
cast. He was the author and promoter of much 
valuable legislation, and among others was the 
bill which he presented to the Senate of 1883, 
and which was passed thereby, which prohibited 
the sale of the toy pistol, which had caused the 
death of so many children. Mr. Pennell was 
also a member of the executive committee of 
the Legislative Reunion held at Augusta, Maine, 
his issociates having been Hon. William G. 
Davis, Hon. J. Machester Haynes, of Augusta, 
Hon. William H. Strickland, of Bangor, and 
Hon. Frederick Atwood, of Westport. 

In addition to both his political and business 
activities, Mr. Pennell is a leader in a number 
of other aspects of the community's life. He 
is particularly interested in various philanthropic 
projects, especially those which had at the basis 
of their existence the idea of helping others 
to help themselves. Among the various asso- 
ciations which he had been associated with 
should be mentioned the Manufacturers' and 
Mechanics' Library Association, of which he was 
trustee; the Androscoggin County Agricultural 
Society, in which he held a similar office, and 
the State Agricultural Society, of which he was 
at one time auditor. There can be but little 
doubt that the great success of the Centennial 
Celebration of Lewiston and Auburn, in 1876, 
was largely due to his management thereof. 
At the present time Mr. Pennell holds various 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



159 



offices in some of the most important organi- 
zations of the city. He is president of the Cen- 
tral Maine Hospital, at Lewiston; president of 
the Lewiston Public Library; director of the 
Maine Automobile Association; a member of 
the Erecutive Committee of the State-Wide 
Good Roads Organization, and a director in the 
Manufacturers' National Bank. In his religious 
beliefs Mr. Pennell is a Congregationalist, and 
for many years has attended the Pine Street 
Church of that denomination. He is at the pres- 
ent time the chairman of its prudential commit- 
tee, and gives liberally of both his time and 
fortune to support the work of the church in the 
community. He has also been keenly interested 
in the Lewiston branch of the Young Men's 
Christian Association and did much to advance 
its cause in the community. Mr. Pennell is also 
a prominent figure in Masonic circles, having 
ta!cen his thirty-second degree in Free Masonry, 
and is affiliated with Rabboni Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons; Dickey Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; Lewiston Council, Royal 
and Select Masters; Lewiston Commandery, 
Knights Templar; and Kora Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, all of 
Lowiston. 

William Dwight Pennell was united in mar- 
ri:if;c June 22, 1869, with Jennie A. Linscott, 
daughter of Wingate and Eliza W. (Foss) Lin- 
scolt. Mr. Linscott was a native of Chesterville, 
but afterwards removed to Boston, where his 
daughter, Mrs. Pennell, was born. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Pennell three children have been born 
,-ts lollows: i. Dwight R. 2. Fannie C., who 
married Laurence H. Parkhurst, vice-president 
of the Electric Bond and Share Company, of 
New York, and is the mother of three daughters: 
Marjorie, Dorothy and Cornelia, and of one son, 
Laurence H., Jr. 3. Maude Robie, who married 
Millard F. Chase, manager of the Owen Mag- 
netic Motor Car Company, and is the mother of 
five children: William Pennell, Madaline, Mil- 
lard F., Jr., Alfred E., and Richard Pennell. 

Lives that truly count in the shaping of events 
and the influencing of other lives are rare, and 
it is not by any means those which are the 
most conspicuous that are the most influential. 
Close adherence to a high ideal, even if it be not 
published abroad, patient, persistent effort in 
some worthy cause, though the fruit of it is 
never apparent even to many who actually bene- 
fit by it, is always effective, and though its re- 
ward, as the world measures rewards, is apt to 



be less than its deserts, yet through many chan- 
nels, direct and indirect, the influence goes forth 
and operates in the affairs of men, in a way 
often incredible to the materialist. Such is the 
life of William Dwight Pennell, the distinguished 
gentleman with whose career this article is con- 
cerned, and who is one of the most public- 
spirited citizens of Lewiston, Maine, and a rare 
example of worthy manhood. 



CHARLES SUMNER FROST The Frost 
family is of the old English ancestry, some of 
its eminence and importance is given in Rymer's 
Foedera of the acts of the Kings of England, 
also possessions of the family in various parts 
of Great Britain are given in the Rotuli Hun- 
dredorum (rolls of the hundreds) of England, 
published by the command of King George III 
in 1812, which states they held manors and pub- 
lic offices in many of the counties of the king- 
dom. They were intimately connected with King 
Edward III in the fourteenth century. Among 
the names appearing are Waltero Frost, 1340; 
\Yilltcmus Frost, in 1359; and Thomas Frost, in 
1363, in letters of the King to the government 
of the city of Calais, is mentioned as an alder- 
man. 

The following coat-of-arms is from Crozier's 
General Armory: Frost, Massachusetts, Edmund 
Frost, Cambridge, 1635 (Ipswich, Essex, Suf- 
folk Co.). 

Argent A chevron sable between three pellets 
each charged with a trefoil or. 

Crest A trefoil between two wings all azure. 
Motto Eterra ad coetum. 

The steady exodus of Englishmen from their 
home country to New England was at its height 
in 1634. Rev. Thomas Shepard, an English di- 
vine, about the beginning of the winter of that 
year, embarked with a number of families at 
Harwich, England, for America. They were 
driven back by the stress of weather and the 
voyage was abandoned. About August 10, 1635, 
they again embarked, and after many sad storms 
and wearisome days, on October 3, 1635, landed 
at Boston, Massachusetts. With the Rev. 
Thomas Shepard was Elder Edmund Frost. At 
this time the followers of the Rev. Thomas 
Hooker were leaving Newton (Cambridge), 
Massachusetts, for the broader grazing lands of 
Connecticut, and their houses being for sale, 
they were purchased by members of the com- 
pany that had come with the Rev. Thomas Shep- 
ard. Elder Frost was one of the original pro- 



160 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



prietors of the new town established September 
8, 1636. The name of the new town was changed 
to Cambridge, May 2, 1638. The following year 
he became an owner of land which was situated 
on what is now the westerly side of Dunston 
street, between Harvard square and Mount Au- 
burn street, Cambridge. This estate he sold and 
in 1642 purchased a house situated on what is 
now the westerly side of Gordon street, near 
Mason. This property he sold in 1646; his sub- 
sequent residence is not known with certainty; 
but circumstances indicate that he occupied the 
estate on the northerly side of Kirkland street, 
extending from Divinity Hall avenue to beyond 
Francis street. This property remained in the 
Frost family until a very recent period. 

Elder Edmund Frost was reputed to be rich 
in faith, and manifestly enjoyed the confidence 
of Rev. Thomas Shepard and his people, yet he 
had the trial of earthly poverty; he possessed 
little besides his homestead, and his pressing 
wants were relieved by the church. He was 
born about 1610, and was the son of John Frost, 
of Ipswich, Suffolk county, England. His wife, 
Thomasine, with their eldest son, John, born in 
England, in 1634, accompanied Elder Frost on 
his emigration to America. They had nine chil- 
dren born at Cambridge: Thomas, died young; 
Samuel, Joseph, James, Stephen, Mary, Eph- 
raim, Thomas and Sarah. His first wife died, 
and he married (second) in 1669, Reana Daniel, 
a widow. He died at his homestead, in Cam- 
bridge, July 12, 1672. He gave of his property, 
which was very limited, a small gift to Harvard 
College. 

James Frost, the fourth son of Elder Edmund 
and Thomasine Frost, was born in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, April 9, 1640. He married, De- 
cember 7, 1664, Rebecca, daughter of William 
Hamlet. She died July 20, 1666, leaving one 
child, James. He married for his second wife, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Foster, by whom 
he had eleven children, all born in Billerica, 
Massachusetts. In the division of land in 1652 
of Shawshin (now Billerica), Elder Frost re- 
ceived a grant of land containing two hundred 
acres, which he afterwards divided amongst his 
sons. On January 4, 1663, Samuel and James 
Frost were accepted as inhabitants of the town 
of Billerica; James settled there at once. He 
lived north-east of Bare Hill. His brother, Dr. 
Samuel Frost, did not settle in Billerica until 
about ten years later. Deacon James evidently 
followed in the footsteps of his father, living 



a quiet, religious but uneventful life, taking little 
active part in the numerous Indian troubles, and 
no prominent part in the political life of the 
town. He died August 12, 1711, his widow sur- 
viving him until 1726. 

Joseph Frost, the fifth son and ninth child 
of James and Elizabeth (Foster) Frost, was born 
in Billerica, Massachusetts, March 21, 1682-83. 
He married, April 5, 1710, Sarah, a daughter of 
John French, of Charlestown, Massachusetts. 
Thev lived in Tewksbury, Massachusetts, and 
had four children. 

Their eldest son, Joseph Frost, was born in 
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, January 2, 1711-12. 
He married, October 25, 1731, Abigail, daughter 
of Daniel Kittridge. They lived in Tewksbury, 
where eleven children were born to them, and 
after the death of her husband, January 29, 1751, 
the widow married, March 21, 1755, Ebenezer 
Fisk. 

Ephraim Frost, the eldest child of Joseph and 
Abigail (Kittridge) Frost, was born in Tewks- 
bury, Massachusetts, May 13, 1733. He married, 
December 5, 1754, Mary, daughter of Kendall 
and Sarah (Kittridge) Patten. She was born 
February II, 1732, and died October 7, 1791. 
Her husband died at Tewksbury, Massachusetts, 
December 10, 1800. They were the parents of 
ten children. 

Ephraim Frost, the third son and seventh child 
of Ephraim and Mary (Patten) Frost, was born 
at Tewksbury, Massachusetts, September 28, 
1768. He married Ruth, daughter of Joseph and 
Ruth (French) Phelps. By this marriage there 
were five children. Ephraim Frost died in 
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, August 15, 1826. 

Ephraim Frost, eldest child of Ephraim and 
Ruth (Phelps) Frost, was born in Tewksbury, 
Massachusetts, July n, 1805. He married Re- 
becca Symms, born in Woburn, Massachusetts, 
died in Tewksbury, November 10, 1859, aged 
fifty-four years. Their six children were all 
born in Tewksbury, Middlesex county, Massa- 
chusetts. The father, Ephraim Frost, died in 
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, July II, 1842. . 

Albert Ephraim Frost, second son and fourth 
child of Ephraim and Rebecca (Symms) Frost, 
was born in Tewksbury, Massachusetts, April 
22, 1833. He married, in Lewiston, Maine, 
Eunice M., daughter of Orrin and Thirza 
(Adams) Jones, of Newport, Vermont. She was 
born February 7, 1831, and died at Lewiston, 
Maine, July 17, 1902. Their five children, all 
born in Lewiston, Maine, are as follows: I. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



161 



Charles Sumner, of further mention. 2. Frank 
Lester, born July 31, 1858; married (first) Sep- 
tember 26, 1888, Helen M. Young, and had one 
child, Marion, born in 1800; married (second) 
April 4, 1000, Carrie Z. Lang, whose home is in 
Lewiston, Maine. 3. Walter Albert, born De- 
cember to, 1861; married, December 31, 1890, 
Julia, daughter of Chauncy Seaton, of Chicago, 
Illinois, in which city they made their home. 4. 
Woodbury Oilman, born January 28, 1868, mar- 
ried, October 2, 1905, Edith Lillian de Graff, of 
Athens, Pennsylvania, where they reside. 5. 
Wilfred Percy, born February 12, 1875, a resi- 
dent of Chicago, Illinois. Albert Ephraim Frost 
was engaged in the lumber trade at Lewiston, 
Maine. His religious affiliations were with the 
Free Will Baptists; in politics he was a Republi- 
can. He died at Lewiston, Maine, March 7, 1897. 

Charles Sumner Frost, the eldest child of Al- 
bert Ephraim and Eunice M. (Jones) Frost was 
born in Lewiston. Maine, May 31, 1856. He 
attended the public schools of his native city, 
graduating from the Lewiston High School, and 
was a student in an architect's office in that 
city for three years. He then took a special 
course in architecture at Massachusetts Institute 
of Technology, followed by three years practical 
application of the profession in the office of a 
Boston architect as a draftsman. He removed 
to Chicago, Illinois, in 1881, and January I, 1882, 
commenced the practice of architecture in con- 
nection with a Mr. Cobb, under the firm name, 
of Cobb & Frost. This partnership was dis- 
solved in 1889, when Mr. Frost continued prac- 
tice alone until 1898. A new partnership was 
then formed with Alfred H. Granger, under the 
firm name of Frost & Granger. This firm was 
also dissolved, in 1910, since which time Mr. 
Frost has practiced alone. His skill as an archi- 
tect is seen in the Chicago Home for the Friend- 
less; George Smith Memorial for St. Luke's 
Hospital; Union Club House; Calumet Club 
House; Northern Trust Company; Chicago & 
Northwestern Railway Company's general office 
building; Terminal Station building for Lake 
Shore & Michigan Southern Railway Company, 
and Terminal Station building for the Chicago 
& Northwestern Railway Company. 

Mr. Frost was elected a fellow of the Ameri- 
can Institute of Architects; he is a member of 
the Province of Quebec Association of Archi- 
tects, also of the Province of Manitoba Associa- 
tion of Architects. He is a member of the 
Union League Club and Cliff Dwellers' Club 

ME. 111 



(Artist's Club), of Chicago, Illinois, the Onwent- 
sia and Winter clubs of Lake Forest, Illinois, 
and of the Minnesota Club of St. Paul, Minne- 
sota. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
church, and has served as an elder in that de- 
nomination. In politics he is a Republican, but 
has never been an aspirant for political honors. 
Mr. Frost married, January 7, 1885, Mary, 
daughter of Marvin and Belle (Hough) Hughitt. 
Her father, Marvin Hughitt is chairman of the 
board of directors of the Chicago & Northwest- 
ern Railway system. She was born at Centra- 
lia, Illinois, December 5, 1863. The children of 
Charles Sumner and Mary (Hughitt) Frost are 
as follows: I. Margaret, born in Chicago, Illi- 
nois, November 22, 1890, was educated in private 
schools and graduated from Miss Wheeler's 
School, Providence, Rhode Island. 2. Marvin 
Hughitt, born in Chicago, Illinois, January 12, 
1893, attended but did not graduate from the 
Ashville School for Boys. 3. Virginia, born in 
Lake Forest, Illinois, May 14, 1901, at present 
engaged in finishing her education. Mr. Frost 
lived in Chicago up to May 31, 1897, when he 
established a suburban home at Lake Forest, 
Illinois. 



HARRIE L. WEBBER is a member of a 
family which has made its home in the "Pine 
Tree State" for a number of generations, it hav- 
ing been founded here by Judge Webber's great- 
grandfather, one John Webber, an officer of the 
Revolutionary War, who, in recognition of his 
services at that critical time, was granted a tract 
of land in Maine by the Government. One of 
the grandsons of this worthy ancestor was Arista 
Webber, who was born in the month of March, 
1842, at Richmond, Maine, where members of 
the family had made their home for a number 
of years, and who died June 12, 1905, in the 
City of Auburn, he having come there to carry 
on the large real estate business which he de- 
veloped and in connection with which he was 
well known throughout that region. He married 
Luella Pa'.ten Wedgwood, a native of Litch- 
field, Maine, where she was born in the year 
1841. Mrs. Webber, Sr. survived her husband 
nine years, her death occurring in the month 
of March, 1914. Mr. and Mrs. Webber were 
the parents of three sons as follows: Dr. Wal- 
lace Edgar Webber, George C, and Harrie L., 
of this sketch. 

Judge Harrie L. Webber was born June 20, 
1880, in the town of Lisbon, Maine, but spent 



162 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



only the first year of his life in his native place. 
When an infant of about one year of age, his 
parents removed to Auburn, and this city has 
remained his home ever since. It was here that 
he gained the elementary portion of his educa- 
tion, attending the public school, afterwards a 
student in the Edward Little High School, from 
which he was graduated in 1899, and where he 
was prepared for college. Immediately after 
completing his studies at the last named institu- 
tion, he matriculated at Bowdoin College, where 
he took the usual academic course and was 
graduated with the class of 1903. In the mean- 
time Judge Webber had decided definitely to 
make the law his career in life, and with this 
end in view entered the law office of George C. 
Webber, his brother, where he pursued his 
studies to such good purpose that he was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1908. From the outset 
Judge Webber met with a most gratifying suc- 
cess, and has built up a practice which places 
him in the front rank of the attorneys of Au- 
burn. His office is situated at No. 34 Court 
street, and he is equally well and favorably 
known both to his professional colleagues and 
to the community-at-large, which entrusts him 
with much of its important litigation. In 1911 
he was appointed by Governor Plaisted, of 
Maine, Judge of the Municipal Court of Auburn 
for a period of four years. 

But it has not been only in connection with 
his legal practice nor with the services which 
he has rendered his fellow-citizens on the Mu- 
nicipal Bench that the name of Judge Webber 
is connected. He is possessed of a gift for 
organization and is at the present time the treas- 
urer of the Parker Manufacturing Company, 
which manufactures wooden toys on a large 
scale. He is also prominent in the fraternal 
life of the city, is a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and has taken his 
thirty-second degree in Free Masonry, being 
affiliated with the Lodge, Chapter, Council, 
Shrine and Consistory. In his religious belief 
Judge Webber is a Congregationalist and attends 
the church of that denomination at Auburn. 

Judge Webber was united in marriage June 25, 
1907, at Auburn, with Grace A. Nevins, a native 
of the neighboring city of Lewiston, and a 
daughter of John Nevins and Altie (Briggs) Nev- 
ins. Judge and Mrs. Webber are the parents 
of two children, Altie L. and Martha W. 

A word concerning the Webber family in the 
past should be inserted here. More than one 



of the men bearing this name played a promi- 
nent part in the early days, and one and all 
occupied a position of respect in the several 
communities where they resided. The great- 
grandfather, who has already been mentioned, 
was coxswain for General Washington, and was 
with that great man at the time of his historic 
crossing of the Delaware river. Another line 
of ancestry from which Judge Webber can trace 
his descent is that of the distinguished family 
of Annkejns. 

The type of man of -which Judge Webber is 
an example makes ideal citizens, uniting in itself 
most happily so many public and private virtues. 
His activities are of that wholesome kind that 
in developing themselves is also a benefit to the 
community-at-large, even when it is so uncon- 
sciously, and in the case of Judge Webber this 
is far from being so. Public-spirited in a high 
degree, he never losses sight of the common 
interest, and is ever ready to do what he can to 
advance it. 



WILLIAM LEWIS COUSINS, one of the 

leading physicians of Portland, Maine, is a mem- 
ber of a family which can claim an undoubted 
antiquity of many centuries. The name appears 
in many different forms, and immigrants 'to 
this country during the Colonial period were 
unquestionably of both English and French de- 
scent. The name in all probability had its origin 
in France prior to the Norman conquest of Eng- 
land, when it was carried to the latter country, 
and this great age accounts for the variety of 
forms we find. The French family, Cousin, was 
represented in this country at an early date, as 
were also several English lines, among which we 
find spellings so diverse as Curzon, Cozzen, Cou- 
sin, Cosen, Cousens, and Cousins, the present 
form. The tradition of the family has it that 
the common ancestor of all these lines was one 
Geraldine de Curson, or Curzen, a man of Breton 
extraction, who came in the train of William 
the Conqueror to England in 1066 and took 
part in the Battle of Hastings. The new mon- 
arch, after his fashion, rewarded this follower 
with lands taken from their Saxon owners, and 
in this case, in the most princely fashion with 
estates in Berkshire and other places. From 
this same progenitor is descended the present 
George Nathaniel Curzon, first baron of Keddles- 
ton, late Viceroy and Governor-General of India, 
who married Miss Leiter, of Chicago. The first 
American ancestor of Dr. Cousins was one John. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



163 



Cousins, who was born in England in 1506, and 
after coming to this country settled in Maine, 
being among the earliest pioneers of that region. 
He was a man of prominence in the early com- 
munity which grew up in the Saco valley, and 
held a number of public offices. From him the 
line descends through Thomas, Ichabod, Icha- 
bod II, Ichabod III, Joseph, and Stephen Hob- 
son, the father of the Dr. Cousins of this sketch. 

Stephen Hobson Cousins was born in Steep 
Falls, Maine, December 13, 1845, and was edu- 
cated at the Standish Academy and the school 
at Randolph, Massachusetts. Later he came to 
Portland, Maine, where he entered the employ 
of a cousin, John D. Lord, and remained with 
him for upwards of ten years. In 1870 he re- 
turned to Steep Falls and there established him- 
self in a general mercantile business. The year 
following he formed a partnership with one 
Samuel Banks, of Island Pond, Vermont, and 
the business was continued under the firm name 
of Cousins & Banks. Grain and lumber were 
added to their business, the association continu- 
ing until the death of Mr. Banks, in 1886, when 
Mr. Cousins took into partnership, Gideon N. 
Tucker, who was already a well-known lumber 
man in that region. In 1892 the firm built a 
grist mill which they ran with a gasoline en- 
gine, and in 1904 they were incorporated, with 
Stephen H. Cousins as manager of the new con- 
cern, a position which he still fills. Stephen H. 
Cousins is a public-spirited man, a strong Re- 
publican, and interested in local affairs, but he 
has consistently avoided public office and con- 
tinues to devote his attention to his private 
business interests. In religion he is a Baptist 
and has been very prominent for many years 
in the work of the Free Baptist Denomination 
in Maine, and is deacon of the church at Steep 
Falls. He is a member of the Masonic order, 
and of the Knights of Pythias. On December 
12, 1869, Mr. Cousins married Martha Alma Hob- 
son, by whom he has had two children: Will- 
iam L., the subject of this sketch; and Harriette 
Knapp, born at Steep Falls, May 8, 1875, and 
educated at the local schools and at Limington 
Academy; in 1909 she became the wife of Daniel 
J. Lothrop, and now resides in Seattle, Washing- 
ton. 

Born October 2, 1870, at Steep Falls, Maine, 
William Lewis Cousins, the only son of Stephen 
Hobson and Martha Alma (Hobson) Cousins re- 
ceived the preliminary portion of his education 
at the public schools of his native town. He 



later attended Fryeburg Academy, New Hamp- 
ton College, and Limington Academy, during 
which time he made up his mind definitely to 
follow the profession of medicine as his career 
in life. Accordingly, he entered the Maine Medi- 
cal School, but remained there only one year 
and then matriculated at the University of Penn- 
sylvania, graduating from the medical school in 
connection with that institution with the class 
of 1894 and taking the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. He was then appointed assistant resident 
surgeon at Johns Hopkins Hospital at Baltimore, 
where he remained during the rest of 1894 ar| d 
the whole of the year 1895. After gaining much 
valuable practical experience in this famous in- 
stitution, Dr. Cousins returned North and settled 
in Portland, Maine, where he became associated 
with Dr. Seth Chase Gordon, a sketch of whom 
appears elsewhere in this work. In the year 
1904 he founded the private hospital of St. Barna- 
bas, at the corner of Woodfords and Norwood 
Streets, in the Deering District of Portland, 
which is now a well-known institution in the 
city. Dr. Cousins has now made the diseases 
of women his specialty and has established an 
enviable reputation in this line of work to the 
extent of being a recognized authority therein. 
His practice has grown to very large propor- 
tions and besides his private work he is a mem- 
ber of the staff of the Maine General Hospital. 
He was appointed as an assistant on this body 
ten years ago, and six years ago was appointed 
surgeon, a position which he still holds. Dr. 
Cousins is a surgeon of unusual skill and ability 
and for a long time has held a position as con- 
sulting surgeon in the Maine Eye & Ear In- 
firmary. He is also instructor in clinical surgery 
in the Maine Medical School and has lectured 
there since 1906. He is a member of the Cum- 
berland County Medical Association and has 
served as president thereof; member of the 
Maine Medical Association and chairman of the 
National Legislative Committee of that associa- 
tion; member of the Cumberland Club, the Ath- 
letic Club, the Portland Yacht Club and other 
clubs of Portland, and is a conspicuous figure 
in the social and club life there. In 1913 he was 
elected a Fellow of the Southern Surgical and 
Gynecological Society, being the first to receive 
this honor from the State of Maine. He is also 
a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. 
Immediately after war was declared Dr. Cou- 
sins offered his services to the Government and 
a few days later received his commission as 



164 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



major in the medical corps of the army. He 
was appointed chairman of the Maine State 
Committee of the Medical Section of the Coun- 
cil of National Defense, and did excellent work 
in organizing the physicians of the State and 
recruiting Maine's quota for the army and navy. 
He was also chief of the State Examining Board 
for this work. Later, Dr. Cousins received an 
additional honor is being selected for the re- 
sponsible position of chief of surgical staff at 
the base liospital at Ayer, Massachusetts, and 
after a few months' service there was detailed 
to organize and bring up to standard the per- 
sonnel of the base hospitals at the various can- 
tonments. The fact that he received this ap- 
pointment is a distinct recognition of his ability, 
skill and experience, and that he responded so 
cheerfully and willingly to the call of duty is a 
testimonial of his patriotism and loyalty to his 
country in her hour of deep distress and peril, 
when so many of her faithful sons have been 
called upon to give up home ties, professional 
and business life and other interests to devote 
their energies in an entirely different channel in 
order that the honor and integrity of the nation 
should be upheld. During his term of service 
in this capacity Dr. Cousins left his hospital 
and work in Portland in the care of his staff. 
In his new work he had under him a large corps 
of workers. Dr. Cousins is a Republican in 
politics, and in 1907 was a member of the city 
committee of that party. In religious belief he 
is a Unitarian. 

Dr. Cousins married, January 6, 1897, Maude 
McKenney, of Limington, Maine, daughter of 
Charles and Hannah (Gordon) McKenney, 
granddaughter of Deacon Humphrey McKen- 
ney, of Limington, Maine, and a niece of Dr. 
Seth Chase Gordon, with whom Dr. Cousins 
has been professionally associated for so many 
years. Dr. and Mrs. Cousins are the parents 
of a son, Seth Chase, born in Portland, No- 
vember 2, 1897, who in 1916 entered the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania to pursue a seven years' 
course, preparatory to becoming a physician, but 
v.-ho at the present time (1918) is in the Stu- 
dents' Training Camp at Bowdoin College. Dr. 
Cousins is devoted to out-door life of all kinds 
and is the owner of a charming camp on High- 
land Lake, nine miles from the city of Port- 
land, and connected with that place by telephone, 
and here he spends as much time as the oner- 
ous demands of his profession will allow. 



GEORGE WILLARD WOOD, journalist, is 
a son of James and Elizabeth (Blackwell) Wood, 
both natives of Maine, who lived for many years 
at Lewiston, where they were well and favorably 
known. They are now both deceased. They 
were the parents of six children, of whom four 
are now living, as follows: Louisa, Emma, Anne 
and George Willard, with whom we are es- 
pecially concerned. 

Born August 31, 1854, at Lewiston, Maine, 
George Willard Wood has made that city his 
home during his entire life up to the present 
time (1917). He received the elementary por- 
tion of his education at the local public schools 
and was prepared for college in the High School 
at Lewiston. He then matriculated at Bates 
College, from which he was graduated with the 
class of 1875. In 1877 he took the degree of 
Ph.D. at Yale. It was in the year 1898 that he 
became associated with the Lewiston Daily Sun, 
a journal which was established February 20, 
1893, as a morning paper for Lewiston and Au- 
burn, with full Associated Press franchise, and 
which has never missed an issue from the day 
it was started to the present. For some time, 
like the majority of papers, the Sun was obliged 
to struggle for its existence and made com- 
paratively small headway at first. During the 
first five years of its career it had an average 
of one new owner each year, but managed to 
get along somehow and gradually improved its 
issue. Mr. Wood was not slow in perceiving the 
possibilities inherent in this publication, and in 
1898 purchased it from its former owners. He 
then associated with himself in its management 
Mr. Louis B. Costello, Mr. Wood being the 
editor and Mr. Costello the business manager of 
the enterprise. Sometime afterward the concern 
was incorporated with Mr. Wood as president 
and Mr. Costello as treasurer. One of the chief 
events in the development of the paper was the 
introduction of a rural free delivery mail service 
in this part of Maine, which at once opened 
up a large new field for the paper. Indeed it 
may also be said that it was this which gave 
the Sun its first real start towards prosperity. 
Before this time its only means of distribution 
outside the cities of Lewiston and Auburn was 
the steam railroad, the service on which was 
about the worst possible, from the standpoint of 
a morning newspaper, as the trains left so late 
that Boston morning papers were carried on the 
same train as the Sun. At that time the weekly 










// 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



165 



newspapers were widely read by the farmers, 
who were content to get their news thus in- 
frequently. But with the coming of the rural 
free delivery, all this was gradually changed as 
the mail carrier reached all corners of the region 
with mail every day and weekly newspapers were 
surplanted by the local morning dailies. The 
Sun, as one of the most progressive and forth- 
putting of these papers, began rapidly to reach 
out and gather circulation, with the result that 
the merchant, finding he could reach through 
this medium people whom he had been obliged 
to circularize previously in a costly and ineffi- 
cient manner and by the use of teams, now be- 
gan to use the columns of the Sun freely. Other 
transportation facilities coming in not long after- 
ward still further increased the radius of the 
Sun's circulation and new trolley lines and even 
the automobile played an important part in this 
office. Mr. Wood is affiliated with Rabboni 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. 

George Willard Wood was united in marriage, 
September 30, 1901, with Laura N. Brackett, of 
Phillips, Maine, a daughter of Joshua and Mary 
(Cook) Brackett. Mrs. Wood died in the autumn 
of 1916. 

It may be maintained that among all the things 
that we see about us which bear the stamp of 
this age upon them, none is so completely typi- 
cal of its character as the daily newspaper. There 
are any number of objects, of course, from the 
railroad train to the baby's playthings, that we 
feel could belong to this time alone of all the 
ages of hirtory. Yet despite this admission it 
is still to be urged that of all these the news- 
paper is that which most breathes the spirit of 
our era, which best typifies all that the present 
social idea stands for. It has been said of it 
that it is one of the strongest bulwarks of democ- 
racy, and not the least important of the many 
wars for freedom is that which has been waged 
to give it a free tongue. For the newspaper 
is a sort of mirror wherein we may see ourselves 
reflected, as a good mirror is as important for 
the body politic as for the professional beauty. 
It is really a great privilege to be connected with 
an institution of such far-reaching influence, and 
the man of ideas so situated has an instrument 
for the persuasion of his fellows only less mov- 
ing than the pulpit and stage and even more 
far-reaching than they. Although Mr. Wood has 
not been idle in many departments of activity, 
it is in his capacity as editor of the Lewiston' 
Daily Sun that he is best known in his home 



community and in which the bulk of his maturer 
labor is being done. 






LOUIS B. COSTELLO, business manager of 
the Lewiston Daily Sun. was born at Wells, 
Maine, September 14, 1876. He is the son of 
Nicholas H. and Annie (Hill) Costello. He pre- 
pared for college at Berwick Academy and grad- 
uated from Bates College in 1898. On gradua- 
tion from Bates, Mr. Costello became associated 
with George W. Wood in the management of 
the Lewiston Daily Sun and on its incorporation 
a few years after he was made treasurer of the 
company as well as business manager. In these 
twenty years the circulation of the Sun has in- 
creased from about two thousand copies a day 
to about eight thousand and it has been changed 
from a losing to a moderately successful busi- 
ness proposition. Mr. Costello is a member of 
the United Baptist Church of Lewiston; of the 
Chamber of Commerce; Rabboni Lodge, No. 150, 
Free and Accepted Masons; King Hiram Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons; Dunlap Council, Royal 
and Select Masters; and Lewiston Commandery, 
Knights Templar. He is one of the trustees 
of Bates College and secretary of the board. 
He is also a trustee of the Androscoggin Sav- 
ings Bank. 

Mr. Costello was united in marriage, Febru- 
ary 14, 1900, at Lewiston, Maine, with Sadie M. 
Brackett, H graduate of Bates College, 1898, a 
daughter of James S. and Ella (Russell) Brac- 
kett, of Phillips, Maine. To Mr. and Mrs. Cos- 
tello two children have been born, Louise, May 
26, 1902, and Russell Hill, October 25, 1904. 



PEREZ BURR BURNHAM, a member of the 
firm of Burnham & Merrill, of Portland, Maine, 
and a representative of an old and distinguished 
New England family, is a representative of the 
best type of New England business men, the 
high rank taken in trade circles by the Burnham 
& Morrill Company being the logical outcome 
of the clear-cut, staunch and sterling character 
of the men who were associated together in the 
conduct of its business. Mr. Burnham is a man 
who has stood as typical of the finest traits of 
the Furitan stock and has brought into modern' 
business all the best traditions of a family whose 
standards were not to be rivaled in any part 
of the State of Maine. It is in the production 
of such men that the city of Portland may be 
justly proud, and it may be added that their in- 
fluence docs not cease with their death. 



166 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



The Burnham family has been prominent in 
the affairs of both Old and New England, for 
many generations, and the ancestry is traceable 
back to the year 1010 A. D., when the patrony- 
mic was De Burnham, and continued thus until 
1080, when the prefix was dropped. The family 
is descended from Walter le Ventre, who accom- 
panied William the Conqueror upon his expedi- 
tion to England in 1066. Walter le Ventre was 
Cousin-Germain of Earl Warren who received 
from the Conqueror large estates, taken from 
the conquered Saxons, among which was the 
Manor of Burnham. As usual in those days, 
the name of the place was adopted by the family 
and the manor was later enfeoffed by Earl War- 
ren to his kinsman, Walter le Ventre, who thus 
became Walter de Burnham. The Burnham 
family in New England was founded in the year 
'635, when three brothers, John, Thomas and 
Robert Burnham, came from England and settled 
in that part of the mother town of Ipswich, 
then known as Chebacco Parish, and which has 
since become the town of Essex, in the county 
of the same name. These brothers were the 
sons of Robert and Mary (Andrews) Burnham, 
of Norwich, Suffolk, England, and the line with 
which we are here concerned is descended from 
John Burnham. 

(I)John Burnham is first mentioned at Ips- 
wich, in the year 1639, although he is known to 
have resided there at least, and possibly four 
years earlier. It appears from this record that 
he was a carpenter and was among those allowed 
to have votes in the town's affairs. During his 
residence at Ipswich the planters of that region 
stood in constant fear of the Indians, and the 
officers of the trained-band were ordered by the 
General Court "to maintain watch and ward 
every day, to cause all men to bring arms to the 
meeting house, and to see that no person trav- 
eled above a mile from h'is dwelling, except 
where houses were near together, without some 
arms " John Burnham was one of the seventeen 
young men of Ipswich who went to Salem in 
1637, to join the forces raised by the colony to 
wage war against the Pequot Indians. In 1643 
the town settled with the soldiers who had 
served against the Indians, paying "twelve dol- 
lars a day (allowing for the Lord's Day, in re- 
spect of the extremity of the weather), and the 
officers double." John Burnham's share of this 
remuneration amounted to three shillings. John 
Burnham became prominent in the affairs of 
the community, and was a landowner here, there 



being a record of his having purchased from one 
Humphrey Griffin, a two-acre lot adjoining that 
of John Fawns. He afterwards sold this prop- 
erty to Anthony Potter, January 4, 1648, and 
there are other records of sales of properties 
by him. According to the genealogy of this 
family, he was born in 1618, and died November 
5, 1694. He married Mary , and they were 
the parents of four children as follows: John 
(2), Josiah, Anna and Elizabeth. 

(II) John (2) Burnham, son of John (i) and 
Mary Burnham, was a voter at Ipswich in 1692, 
and one of the signers of the Proctor petition. 
The accounts of him, however, are very meager, 
but he is mentioned by one writer as Deacon 
John Burnham. He appears to have married a 
lady whose baptismal name was Sarah, and they 
were the parents of the following children: John 
(3). who is mentioned below; Jonathan, Thomas, 
Robert, Sarah, Mary, Elizabeth and Hannah. 

(III) John (3), son of John (2) and Sarah 
Burnham, was born at Chebacco Parish, Ips- 
wich, Massachusetts, in 1738. In 1760 he went 
to Falmouth, Maine, as a young man, and is 
said to have built the first wharf in the town 
on the site of the present Burnham's wharf. 
The original structure was burned by Mowatt 
in 1775, but was rebuilt by John Burnham. He 
is also recorded to have built the first house in 
the town after the destruction of the settlement 
by the British in that year. His loss by this 
destruction is recorded to have amounted to 553, 
which represented a total of his property de- 
stroyed by fire. In 1780 he was a member of 
the First Constitutional Convention of the Com- 
monwealth of Massachusetts and, in January, 
1786, signed the petition for the incorporation 
of Portland, and was one of the founders of St. 
Stephen's Church. Altogether he was one of 
the most prominent men of the community, and 
was engaged in business as a cooper, and a 
curer and packer of fish. His death occurred in 
Portland, July '29, 1798, of yellow fever. John 
Burnham married Abigail Stickney, and they 
were the parents of a large family, consisting, 
of eight sons and five daughters,' nearly all of 
the former being sea-faring men. 

(IV) Josiah Burnham, son of John (3) and 
Abigail (Stickney) Burnham, was born January 
23, I/7O, at Portland, and died in that city in 
1843. For a number of years he was engaged 
in business at Freeport, but afterwards became 
a farmer at Durham, Maine, where he prospered 
highly. He also carried on a coopering business 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



167 



at Durham, se'ling his wares at Portland. He 
was very prominent in the affairs of the town 
and held a number of public offices in Durham, 
being a surveyor of land and justice of the peace, 
and also represented the town in the General 
Court of Massachusetts. In 1834 he returned to 
Portland, where he lived until the time of his 
death. Josiah Burnham was four times mar: 
ried, his first wife being Lucy Berry, by whom 
he had three sons: John, Josiah, and George, 
mentioned below; and two daughters, Harriett 
and Lucy. Harriett became the wife of Alfred 
Soule, of Freeport, and Lucy married Perez 
Burr, also of that town. 

(V) George Burnham, son of Josiah and Lucy 
(Berry) Burnham, was born August 20, 1801, in 
Durham, Maine, and died in Portland, October 
10, 1884. He came to the latter city in 1825, 
and three years later engaged in business here 
as a cooper, in the same shop built by his grand- 
father, John Burnham, in 1776. In addition to 
this business he owned a fleet of vessels, engag- 
ing in the West India trade, and also in the 
fisheries, and prospering highly in his affairs. 
He was appointed in 1828 by the Governor and 
Council to the office of inspector of fish at Port- 
land, and served in that capacity for forty-four 
years. Although so energetic and successful in 
his business life, George Burnham had little or 
no inclination for public office, yet he exerted a 
strong and healthful influence in the public affairs 
of Portland for many years. He married, in 
1828, Margaret Burr, of Freeport, born May 16, 
1807, died March 25, 1885, a daughter of Perez 
and Mehitable (Wever) Burr, of Freeport. They 
were the parents of five children as follows: 
Margaret, who became the wife of Louis Denni- 
son; George, Perez Burr, with whose career we 
are especially concerned; Josiah, and John E. 

(VI) Perez Burr Burnham, second son of 
George and Margaret (Burr) Burnham, was born 
May 5, 1835, at Portland, Maine. As a lad he 
studied in the public schools of Portland, and 
after completing his course at these institutions, 
became a clerk for a wholesale grain and flour 
firm, where he worked for several years. He 
then was given a position in the management 
of the cooperage, fishing and coast trading enter- 
prises carried on by his father and elder brother, 
George. Upon the outbreak of the Civil War 
in 1861, he enlisted as a private in Company A, 
First Regiment Maine Volunteer Infantry, and 
went with that regiment to Washington, where 
it was employed in guard duty until the expira- 



tion of the three months' term of enlistment. 
Mr. Burnham then returned to Maine, where he 
was admitted as a partner to his father's business 
which had, about that time, been increased by 
them, and the relation thus formed continued 
until 1872. He then retired from this old house 
and formed a partnership with a Mr. Morrill, 
the firm being known as Burnham & Morrill. 
The business of Burnham & Morrill has since 
that time become one of the largest and most 
successful enterprises of its kind in New Eng- 
land, and it has since been incorporated under 
the name of the Burnham & Morrill Company. 
They are engaged as packers and distributors 
of their products, which consist of meats, fish, 
and vegetables, and have established a reputa- 
tion for the quality of their goods and business 
integrity second to none in the community. Mr. 
Burnham continued actively with this company 
until the year 1003, when he retired from active 
business life, although he has remained inter- 
ested in -other large enterprises in this section. 
In politics Mr. Burnham is a Republican and a 
firm supporter of the principles and policies of 
his party, but he has taken very little active 
interest in public affairs, though for one year 
he served as a member of the Board of Alder- 
men from the Sixth Ward of Portland. He is a 
member of the Cumberland and Country Clubs 
and of the Bramhall League. 

Mr Burnham was united in marriage, Septem- 
ber 4, 1866, with Margaret Elizabeth Tritton, 
daughter of Captain William and Margaret Re- 
becca (Baker-Best) Tritton. They are the 
parents of five children as follows: Harold C., 
who married Mabel Earl, by whom he has had 
one child; Perez B., who is mentioned at length 
below; Margaret, who died at the age of seven- 
teen years; George, who married Alice Ells- 
worth, by whom he has had one child; and Amy 
Jameson, who became the wife of Lowell M. 
Palmer, Jr., to whom she has borne two chil- 
dren. 

(VII) Perez Burr Burnham, Jr., son of Perez 
Burr and Margaret Elizabeth (Tritton) Burh- 
ham, was born April 9, 1870, at Portland, Maine. 
His education was received at the public schools 
of his native city, and at Bowdoin College. He 
did not graduate from the latter institution, 
however, but left to engage in mercantile pur- 
suits. After completing his studies he went to 
New York City, where he was employed by the 
well-known firm of F. H. Leggett & Company, 
who conduct a large grocery business in that 



168 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



city, and where he remained one year. He then 
went to Boston, where he was employed by the 
Boston & Albany Railroad for two years. Re- 
turning to Portland, he entered the Burnham & 
Morrill Company, where also lie remained for 
two years. At the end of that period he formed 
a partnership with his brother Harold and was 
engaged in business with him at Raque Bluffs, 
Maine. He retired from active business life in 
1914. Mr. Burnham is a Republican in politics, 
but has never actively entered the political field. 
While in college he entered the Theta Delta Xi 
college fraternity. In religion Mr. Burnham is 
a Roman Catholic and attends St. Mary's Church 
of this denomination, at Machias, Maine. 

Perez Burr Burnham, Jr., was united in mar- 
riage June 26, 1000, with Anna Elizabeth Smart, 
a daughter of Charles C. and Jane (Dickerell) 
Smart, and they became the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: Charles Alexander, born Octo- 
ber 24, 1902; Mary Elizabeth, born August 5, 
1904; Anna Maria, born March 28, 1906, and 
Richard Tilton, born December 14, 1907. 



EDWARD EDES SHEAD, president of the 
Frontier National Bank of Eastport, Maine, and 
one of the most prominent figures in the life 
of that place, whose death there, on August 8, 
1908, was felt as a personal loss by practically 
the whole community and among a very large 
circle of friends and associates elsewhere, was 
a member of a family which for several genera- 
tions has been associated with Eastport, his an- 
cestors having been among the earliest settlers 
of the town. He was a grandson of Colonel 
Oliver Shead, who in the year 1807 was elected 
as Eastport's first representative to the General 
Court of Massachusetts, Maine at that time be- 
ing a part of the older colony, and who was also 
the first postmaster of the town. Mr. Shead's 
father was also Oliver Shead, and he followed 
in the steps of his father and was postmaster of 
Eastport for many years. The first Oliver Shead 
built the first two-story house and owned the 
first horse on the island. He was engaged in 
general business under the firm name of Hayden 
& Shead. Oliver Shead, Jr., married Sophia 
Jones Johnson, and through his mother, the late 
Mr. Shead was a descendant in the eighth gen- 
eration from John and Priscilla Alden of May- 
flower fame. 

Born February 9, 1835, at Eastport, Maine, 
Edward E. Shead attended, as a boy, the local 
public schools, and at the age of twenty-one be- 



gan his business career by the establishment of 
an apothecary shop in this town. This was in 
the month of September, 1856, and from that 
date until within two years of his death, Mr. 
Shead continued actively engaged in this busi- 
ness, which developed under his skill and sound 
judgment to very large proportions. Some 
years ago Mr. Shead admitted his younger 
brother, Jesse G. Shead, as a partner to the busi- 
ness, and this association was continued up to 
the time of his retirement. To the drug busi- 
ness Mr. Shead added a large stationery .line 
and in both transacted a very large trade in 
this region. So successful was he, indeed, that 
for a number of years before his actual retire- 
ment he was enabled to leave the care of the 
business largely in the hands of his brother, 
which thus gave him the time and opportunity 
for the pursuit of several studies in which he 
was particularly interested. Mr. Shead r;ny in- 
deed be said to have had what amounted niiuost 
to a hobby in his interest in local history and 
tradition, and much of his time during the years 
preceding his death wore spent in looking up old 
traditions and records connected with the early 
affairs of Eastport and this vicinity.' In the year 
1888 Edward E. Shead & Company published a 
history entitled "Eastport and Passamaquoddy," 
of which the late William Henry Kilby says: 
"The appearance of Mr. Shead's name on the 
title page as publisher, affords no adequate idea 
of his share in the labor of carrying the book 
to completion; and but for his efficient aid in 
the collection of material, as well as for his suc- 
cessful arrangements in insuring the disposal of 
the finished volume, the compiler would have 
hesitated about undertaking the enterprise." 

It was in 1885 that Mr. Shead was elected 
president of the Frontier National Bank of East- 
port, and in that office he continued to success- 
fully direct the affairs of this important financial 
institution to within a short time of his death. 
Mr. Shead's activities were by no means con- 
fined to the business world hereabouts, however, 
but he took a vital interest in the public affairs 
of the community and held a number of im- 
portant positions here. He was selectman of 
Eastport in 1886 and 1887, and for a number of 
years served as a member of the Superintending 
School Committee. He was also prominent in 
fraternal circles, and was a member of Easton 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. Although 
holding the positions above referred to in the 
city government, Mr. Shead was quite unambi- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



Hi'.) 



tious in the political world, preferring whenever 
possible to give his services to the community in 
the capacity of private citizens, and it was only 
in response to the urgent representation of his 
colleagues, and to his own sense of duty, that 
he consented to hold office at all. He was a 
Republican in political belief, but was not closely 
associated with the local organization of his 
party, although his advice was frequently sought 
for and always highly valued. In his religious 
belief Mr. Shead was a Unitarian and for more 
than three score years was a regular attendant 
at the church of this denomination in Eastport. 
He was also very active in the work of that 
congregation and served for some time as chair- 
man of the board of trustees. 

Edward E. Shead was united in marriage. Sep- 
tember 16, 1868, with Lucia Wadsworth, of East- 
port, a daughter of the late S. B. Wadsworth, 
and granddaughter of General Peleg Wads- 
worth, of Hiram, Maine, an officer of the Revo- 
lution and a friend of General Washington. Mrs. 
Shead survives her husband. They we,re the 
parents of two children: Oliver W. and Ed- 
ward W. 

It is not through a mere recitation of his 
achievements that the influence of Mr. Shead's 
personality upon the community in which he 
lived can be adequately gauged. For more than 
fifty years he was active in the business life of 
Eastport, and during that whole period main- 
tained a standard of integrity and high business 
ethics which may well serve as an example 
worthy of emulation to his fellow-townsmen for 
nianv generations to come. His personality was 
n kindly and genial one, yet gave the impres- 
sion of great reserve strength, so that men gen- 
erally found him easy of approach, yet instinc- 
tively roaiized that he was not to be imposed 
upon. In what high esteem he was held by his 
associates, may be judged from the following 
set of resolutions passed by the directors of the 
Frontier National Bank at a meeting held by 
them August 12, 1908. four days after the death 
of their president The resolutions follow: 

Resolved, That in the death of our much es- 
teemed President, Edward E. Shead, we lose one 
of oui best citizens, who, while he has won high 
respect as a valued citizen, and while his death 
is therefore an affliction in which we must all 
have part, it devolves upon us. who have been 
associated with him in discharge of common 
duty, for a special expression of our share in the 
general sorrow. 

Resolved, That we have lost valued friend and 
advisor from this Board, whose counsel and 



advice have always been for the best interests 
of all. 

Resolved, That we deeply sympathize with his 
family in their sad bereavement. 

Voted, That the family of the deceased be fur- 
nished with a copy of these resolutions, and that 
the same be printed in the Eastport Sentinel and 
spread upon the records of this bank. 

Mr. George H. Hayes, cashier of the Frontier 
National Bank under Mr. Shead, received the 
following letter from the cashier of the First 
National Bank of Boston, relative to Mr. Shead's 
death: 

It is with much sorrow that we learn of the 
death of your honored president, Mr. Shead, and 
we all extend to you and your directors, our 
deepest sympathy for the great loss which you 
have sustained. Mr. Shead, by his genial per- 
sonality, endeared himself to us, and we shall 
feel that we have lost a friend. 

The following letter was received from E. H. 
Bucknam, of Sioux City, Iowa, and published in 
the Eastport Sentinel: 

Editor Sentinel. Dear Sir: To the Sons and 
Daughters of Old Eastport, widely scattered all 
through the country, wherever the Sentinel may 
go, and outside of that circle too, the news of 
the death at Boston so recently, of Edward E. 
Shead, comes as a personal shock, with the feel- 
ing akin to that of the loss of an older and 
very dear brother. Is it too much to say that 
Eastport's foremost citizen has gone, beyond 
that Harbor Bar, where surely in that mystic 
sea beyond our ken. such as he, can meet their 
Pilot face to face? Though three score and 
ten years had passed over his head, and sorrows 
heavy and wearing had shadowed his later days, 
so brave, so .cordial, so helpful where help was 
needful; so wise; it still seemed that his naturally 
strong constitution and inbred optimism might 
hold him to us for years to come. 

As head of his business firm for half a cen- 
tury; to all people of the many islands which 
surround our own, from Grand Manan to Sham- 
cook Hills, to those whose homes were along 
our rivers and around our lakes and farther 
back, even among the lodging camps and forests; 
to all these and more, Dr. or "Ned" Shead was 
known for his strict integrity and skill. The 
Shead Drug Store always seemed a natural meet- 
ing and greeting place of those older boys who 
from time to time came back to their old Island 
Home. As President of the Frontier Bank, as 
Chairman of the Board of Trustees, and sterling 
member of the Unitarian Church, and in all civic 
matters his advice was sought and his judgment 
held in high esteem. 

To his faithful, true and devoted wife, the 
sincere and deep sympathy of all who knew her 
husband goes out in unbounded measure, as 
also to his loyal brother and all of kin. His 
life among us is his best monument. Green 
may his memory be in the old town of his birth. 



170 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Concerning Mr. Shead and his death, the East- 
port SeMinel of August 12, 1908, had the follow- 
ing remarks to make in the course of a long 
obituary article: 

During the seventy-three years of Mr. Shead's 
life, he had always been a resident of Eastport. 
For fifty years he had been in active and suc- 
cessful business in his native town, retiring about 
two years ago. In all this time no man was 
better known or more highly respected or es- 
teemed, among not only his own townsmen, but 
also in neighboring towns on both sides of the 
"Line" than E. E. Shead. He was an ideal citi- 
zen, fair and considerate in all his dealings with 
his fellow-men, of a warm and social disposi- 
tion, that attracted and held many strong and 
sincere friendships. His sound judgment and 
scrupulous honesty of purpose, made him a 
trusted advisor in many cases of widely varying 
interest. 

In the death of Edward E. Shead we see the 
passing away of one of the best citizens a town 
was ever blessed with. For more than half a 
century he had occupied a prominent and honor- 
able life in the business, social and religious life 
of the community. His genial ways, modest and 
unassuming manner and pleasant address, made 
friends of old and young. His private charities 
were numerous and continued. He was a char- 
acter to inspire respect, admiration and love, and 
surviving relatives have the sincere sympathy of 
many friends in the loss in this life, of the com- 
panionship and comfort of a noble soul. 



OLIVER WADSWORTH SHEAD The un- 
timely death of Oliver Wadsworth Shead, in 
1909, in his fortieth year, as the result of an 
accident happening three years before, brought 
to an end what promised to be a most brilliant 
career, and terminated a life of wide usefulness 
to the community. Mr. Shead was a son of 
Edward E. and Lucia (Wadsworth) Shead, old 
and highly respected residents of Eastport, 
Maine, the former being the subject of extended 
mention elsewhere in this work. He was born 
November 6, 1869, at his father's home in East- 
port, and received the elementary portion of his 
education at a private grammar school there. 
He was then a pupil of the Boynton High School, 
at Eastport, and later attended the Allen School, 
at West Newton, Massachusetts, and the cele- 
brated Phillips Exeter Academy, where he was 
prepared for college. He then entered Harvard 
University, where he took the usual classical 
course and graduated with the class of 1893. 
He had determined by this time to follow the 
profession of law as his career in life and ac- 
cordingly entered the Columbia Law School, in 
New York City, where he graduated with the 



class of 1896. During his college career, Mr. 
Shead was well known as an athlete, and it was 
while at Harvard that he began those athletic 
sports which eventually resulted in his death. 
He continued to engage in athletics after his 
college life, and it was in February, 1905, that 
the fatal accident occurred. He was exercising 
at that time in the gymnasium of the Boston 
Athletic Club, and a companion, who was swing- 
ing on the flying rings, accidentally struck him, 
breaking two of his ribs and bringing on a case 
of what is known as "railroad spine." He re- 
covered from the initial shock, but a series of 
unfortunate mental strains occurred which gradu- 
ally induced a nervous trouble, from which four 
years later he died. It had not, however, inter- 
fered entirely with Mr. Shead's career, which 
had already begun with fine promise at the time 
of his accident. Upon completing his legal 
studies, he had practiced law in New York City 
for a year, and then formed a partnership with 
Fred W. Moore, of Boston, where he continued 
until his last illness. His success during these 
years was brilliant and he had already gained, 
in spite of his youth, a position of prominence 
at the bar. Mr. Shead was a Republican in 
politics, but did not take an active part in public 
affairs, contenting himself with doing his duty 
and performing his functions as a private citi- 
zen. He was a member of the Corinthian Yacht 
Club, the Boston Athletic Association, the North 
Haven Team, and several other organizations of 
athletic or social character. In his religious be- 
lief he was a Unitarian and attended the church 
of this denomination at Boston. 

Of Mr. Shead, who was former all-around in- 
door athletic champion of New England, the 
following article appeared at the time of his 
death: "While in college he was a noted athlete 
and received many medals in college events. His 
genial nature made him popular with all who 
came in contact with him, and his friends were 
legion. He is survived by his mother, to whom 
the deepest sympathy is extended." Another 
article had this to say of him: "Amateur sport 
followers of the early nineties were greatly 
shocked yesterday to hear of the death of Oliver 
Shead. If ever there was a game athlete, it was 
he, and besides being game, he had a cool head, 
no matter how close the contest, which pulled 
off many a victory for the broad shouldered 
athlete. That he was very successful in the 
practice of law, was no surprise to those who 
knew him at Harvard, for he stood remarkably 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



171 



well in his studies while there and was always 
pointed out as an athlete who was always a 
scholar." 



EDWARD WADSWORTH SHEAD, the bril- 
liant young physician of Seattle, Washington, 
whose death occurred at that place, August 19, 
1905, in the very threshold of his career, was a 
native of Maine, and a son of Edward E. and 
Lucia (Wadsworth) Shead, old and highly re- 
spected residents of Eastport, in this State. 

Edward Wadsworth Shead was born February 
9, 1874, at Eastport, Maine, and his early life 
was spent at that place. As a child he attended 
the local public schools, and later was a student 
at the Dummer Academy, South Byfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. Still later he attended the Dean 
Academy, at Franklin, Massachusetts, where he 
was prepared for college. He then matriculated 
at Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island, 
and r.fter taking the usual classical course, was 
graduated with the class of 1893. The young 
man had already determined upon a medical 
career, and accordingly entered Harvard Med- 
ical School, from which he was graduated in 
1901 with honors, and received his medical de- 
gree. Dr. Shead then took six months' work in 
the contagious department of the Boston City 
Hospital, and served as house officer for one 
year at the Cambridge, Massachusetts, hospital. 
He then served for a time at the New York 
Lying-in Hospital. In July, 1904, he went to 
Seattle, Washington, where he began the prac- 
tice of his profession, opening an office in the 
Walker building, in that city. There he was 
very successful, and later became associated with 
Dr. H. G. Laselle. Although still a young man, 
Dr. Shead had already made for himself an en- 
viable reputation in the western city, and en- 
joyed the confidence not alone of his own clien- 
tele, but of his professional colleagues in the 
city and the community-at-large. At the time 
of his death there was being constructed a his- 
pital at the foot of Mt. Baker, of which he was 
to have taken charge, having been selected for 
this responsible post from a large number of 
applicants. It was his intention to make a 
trip to the East for certain supplies with which 
to equip this hospital, but unfortunately his death 
intervened in a tragic manner, being the result 
of a fall, and his brilliant career was thus closed 
prematurely. Dr. Shead was a Republican in 
politics, but his professional activities prevented 
him from taking that part in public affairs for 



which his great talents would have eminently 
fitted him. In his religious belief he was a Uni- 
tarian. He was a member of the Theta Delta 
Chi college fraternity and of the Harvard and 
Athletic clubs of Seattle. The early death of Dr. 
Shead was tragic, both on account of its man- 
ner and because of the brilliant future which 
promised him. He exhibited throughout his- 
short career that devotion which characterizes 
the 'cally great physician and to this he added 
an energy and strength that seemed indefatig- 
able. Of any man -who takes up medicine as a 
profession, with the true realization of what is 
involved in the way of sacrifice, and a sincere 
intention to live up to its ideal, it may be said 
that he has given himself for humanity's cause. 
This was unquestionably true in the case of Dr. 
Shead, who hesitated at no hardship or difficulty 
where his professional tasks and duties were 
concerned, and he never failed to keep himself 
abreast of the most recent developments of his 
science. It will be appropriate here to quote 
from his associate, Dr. H. G. Laselle, who wrote 
on the occasion of his death as follows: 

Dr. Shead was associated with me from the 
time of his arrival in Seattle, and I was very 
much attached to him and feel his loss keenly. 
His preparation for his profession was most ex- 
cellent, and there was every prospect of a suc- 
cessful life. 

The Dean Megaphone, in commenting on his 
death, had this to say of him: 

Dr. Shead was a man of genial disposition, 
naturally modest and retiring, and generous to 
an extreme. He had the rare charm of manner 
which attracts everyone, and, though in Seattle 
but a short time, had many friends, and was 
greatly beloved by all who knew him. His loy- 
alty to his friends, with constant devotion to 
their interest, and his strong sense of honor, 
were among the many sterling traits which, if 
he had lived, would have insured for him popu- 
larity in his success in his professional career. 



FREDERICK CHARLES THAYER, M.D., 
one of the most successful and best-beloved phy- 
sicians of Waterville, Maine, and the surrounding 
region, and an eminent figure in the medical pro- 
fession of the State, is a member of an old and 
distinguished New England family, which was 
founded here in the early Colonial period. 
Thomas Thayer, the progenitor of this branch 
of the family, was one of two men to bear that 
name who must have come into the Massachu- 
setts Bay Colony about 1630. They had been 
residents of Braintree, Essexshire, England, and 



172 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



they and their fellow-colonists named the little 
settlement in the New World after their old 
English home. 

(I) Thomas Thayer is first recorded in 1636, 
when he became a freeman of Braintree, Mas- 
sachusetts, and received a grant of land. He was 
a shoemaker by trade and prospered in the col- 
ony. He married Margery , and the only 

children mentioned in the records who were 
born to this union were: Thomas; Ferdinando, 
who is mentioned below; and Shadrach, all of 
whom were probably born in England, and came 
with their parents to New England. 

(II) Ferdinando Thayer, second child of 
Thomas and Margery Thayer, resided with his 
parents at Braintree until after his father's death, 
when he removed to a new plantation called 
"Nipmug," which afterwards became Mendon, in 
Worcester county. He was one of the largest 
proprietors and a very prominent man in that 
community, holding many offices of honor, both 
in the town and commonwealth. His descend- 
ants to this day occupied some of the farms 
which were owned by him and which have never 
changed their names or title for more than two 
centuries. The settlement at Mendon was broken 
up at the outbreak of King Philip's War, and 
the settlers fled to Braintree and Weymouth,. 
where they stayed until 1679 or 1680 before re- 
turning to their destroyed home. Ferdinando 
Thayer married, January 14, 1652, Huldah Hay- 
ward, of Braintree, who died at Mendon, Sep- 
tember i, 1690. He survived her for twenty- 
three years, and died at the same place, March 
28, 1713. They were the parents of twelve chil- 
dren, as follows: Sarah, Huldah, Jonathan, 
David, who died in early youth, Naomi, Thomas, 
who is mentioned below, Samuel, Isaac, Josiah, 
Ebenezer, Benjamin and David. 

(III) Captain Thomas (2) Thayer, son of Fer- 
dinando and Huldah (Hayward) Thayer, lived 
at Mendon, Massachusetts, and died May I, 1738. 
He married, in 1688, Mary Adams, and they were 
the parents of the following children: Mary, 
Thomas, Samuel, mentioned below, Temperance, 
David, Elizabeth, John, William, Margaret and 
Jemima. 

(IV) Samuel Thayer, second son of Captain 
Thomas (2) and Mary (Adams) Thayer, was 
born March 28, 1696. He married, in 1719, Mary 
Thayer, a distant cousin, and they resided at 
Mendon. They were the parents of the follow- 
ing children: Abigail, Samuel, who is mentioned 
below, Zilpha, Mary, Thankful, Comfort, Mar- 
garet, Susannah and Stephen. 



(V) Samuel (2) Thayer, eldest son of Samuel 
(l) and Mary (Thayer) Thayer, was born June 
10, 1721. He married (first), May 3, 1754, Sarah 
Farmer, of Uxbridge, where he settled. They 
were the parents of the following children; 
Amos, Jabez, Asa, Lois, Patty or Polly, Unice, 
Louisa and Nahum. Mrs. Thayer died in 1778 
or 1779, of smallpox, contracted while nursing 
her son Jabez, who was in the army, and Samuel 
Thayer married (second), in 1782, Sarah Walker, 
by whom he had the following children: Stephen, 
who is mentioned below, Samuel, and Mary. 

(VI) Dr. Stephen Thayer, son of Samuel (2) 
and Sarah (Walker) Thayer, was born Feb- 
ruary 10, 1783, at Uxbridge, and died May 24, 
1852. He studied medicine under Dr. Muzzie, 
of Ipswich, and received his degree from the 
Massachusetts Medical Society. As a young man 
he went to Vassalborough and practiced at that 
place for a time. He also practiced at China 
and Fairfield, but eventually settled at Water- 
ville, in 1835, where he built up a large practice, 
which extended over the counties of Kennebec 
and Somerset. He served as surgeon in the 
War of 1812 for a short time, and was very 
prominent in his community. He was a delegate 
to the Constitutional Convention held in Port- 
land, October n, 1819, and was a charter mem- 
ber of the Waterville Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, and its first treasurer. Dr. 
Stephen Thayer married (first). May 13, 1808, 
Sophia Carleton, and they were the parents of 
the following children: Dr. Albert C., born 
March 3, 1809, and died December 28, 1834; 
Charles H., who is mentioned below; Sophia 
Ann, born March n, 1812, and became the wife 
of Dr. Reuben Atwood; Mary Y., born May 20, 
1813, and died November 3, 1833; Stephen S., 
born May 5, 1814, and died December 4, 1861; 
Harriet N., born March 8, 1816, and died at 
Waterville, in May, 1908; George, born May 28, 
1817, and died in infancy; Emeline F., born Jan- 
uary 22, 1819, and died June 25, 1906; Almira, 
born March 6, 1821, and died September 23, 1891; 
George H., born December 28, 1822, and died 
June 16, 1906; Martha C., born May (j, 1825, died 
October 2, 1891; Lorenzo Eugene, born February 
3, 1828, and died October 3, 1894. Dr. Thayer 
married (second), February 10, 1832, Mary Carle- 
ton. 

(VII) Charles H. Thayer, second son of Dr. 
Stephen and Sophia (Carleton) Thayer, was born 
October 14, 1810, and died January n, 1864. He 
received his education at the schools of his native 
city, and settled for a time at Fairfield. In 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



173 



1839 he removed to Waterville, Maine, where 
he engaged in a mercantile business on the south- 
west corner of Main and Temple streets, re- 
maining there for a number of years, and event- 
ually selling his business to the old firm of 
Thaycr & Marston. He was a prominent man 
in the affairs of Waterville, serving as a select- 
man for thirteen years, and as a director of the 
old Waterville Bank. During his youth he was 
a Whig in politics, but later joined the Republi- 
can party. Charles H. Thayer married, October 
3, 1837, Susan E. Tobey, who died October 15, 
1893. They were the parents of one child, Fred- 
erick Charles, with whom we are here especially 
concerned. 

(VIII) Frederick Charles Thayer, only child 
of Charles H. and Susan E. (Tobey) Thayer, 
was born September 30, 1844, at Waterville, 
Maine. As a lad he attended the public schools 
of this place and the Waterville Academy. Later 
he entered the Franklin Family School for Boys, 
at Topsham, Maine, where he was prepared for 
college. He then entered Waterville College, in 
1861, but in 1863 was transferred to Union Col- 
lege. As a young man he determined upon the 
profession of medicine as a career in life, and 
pursued the study of his chosen subject under 
Dr. James E. Pomfret, of Albany, New York, 
and also attended the medical lectures of the 
Albany Medical College. He afterwards re- 
turned to his native State and studied at the 
Maine Medical School, from which he was grad- 
uated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 
1867. He immediately returned to Waterville, 
where he engaged in practice, and has been lo- 
cated at this place ever since. Dr. Thayer de- 
veloped a very large and successful practice in 
this region, and has also spent a great deal of 
his time in research work in connection with 
various medical schools in this country. He has 
also been abroad three times in connection with 
his scientific work. Dr. Thayer was president 
of the Kennebec County Medical Association in 
1878; president of the Alumni Association of the 
Medical Department of Bowdoin College, which 
he was instrumental in founding in 1885 and 
1886; and was associated with many other or- 
ganizations. In 1884 the degree of Master of 
Arts was conferred upon him and in 1917 the 
honorary degree of Doctor of Science by Colby 
University, at one time Waterville College, 
which he attended for three years. He has also 
been engaged in many important works under- 
taken for the welfare of Waterville, and is at 



the present time chairman of the Committee of 
Public Safety. He was also one of the organ- 
izers of the Waterville Trust Company, and has 
played an important part in the financial de- 
velopment of this place. In politics Dr. 
Thayer is an Independent Republican, but in 
spite of the fact that he is independent so 
far as political party is concerned, he has held 
offices of trust and honor. He was an alderman 
of Waterville in 1889, and in 1885 and 1886 a 
member of the State Legislature, delivering in 
the latter year the annual oration before the 
Maine Medical Association, of which he was a 
member. He was elected president of this asso- 
ciation in the following year and held that of- 
fice in that and in the year 1888. He has served 
in the State militia with distinction, and has held 
every office from that of assistant surgeon of 
the second regiment, Maine National Guard, 
to that of surgeon-general on the staff of Gov- 
ernor Henry B. Cleaves. He is a director of the 
Wiscasset, Waterville & Farmington Railroad 
Company, and was one of the founders, and has 
been president of the Waterville Clinical So- 
ciety, and president of the Board of United States 
Pension Examining Surgeons of Augusta. He is 
also consulting surgeon to the Maine Central 
General Hospital at Lcwiston, and to the City 
Hospital at Augusta. Dr. Thayer has been a 
member of the Masonic order for fifty-one years, 
and has held many important positions therein. 
He is past master of Waterville Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, past commander of St. Omer 
Commandery, Knights Templar, past grand com- 
mander of the Grand Commandery, of Maine, 
past grand warden of the Grand Encampment, 
Knights Templar, of the United States of Amer- 
ica, and is now an active member of the Supreme 
Council, of the Scottish Rites bodies. He has 
received the thirty-third degree of Free Ma- 
sonry and is one of the most prominent free 
masons in this country. Dr. Thayer is also a 
member of the Masonic Club and the Country 
Club of Waterville. In his religious belief Dr. 
Thayer is a Congregationalist and attends the 
church of that denomination here. 

Dr. Frederick Charles Thayer was united in 
marriage, on December 2, 1871, at Waterville, 
Maine, with Leonora L. Snell, a native of Mon- 
mouth, in this State, and a daughter of Judge 
William B. and Martha A. (Pray) Snell, old and 
highly respected residents of this region and of 
Washington, D. C, where Judge Snell served 
in the judicial capacity for a number of years. 



174 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



THOMAS DYER SALE The name Sale is 
a very ancient English one and is derived, with- 
out doubt, from the old English corruption of 
the French Salle, or Hall, and which was used 
in the form of Sale in this sense. As a family 
name it seems to have been pretty well distrib- 
uted through England and instances of it are 
found in every important roll of the thirteenth 
century. The name appears very early in the 
history of the New England colonies, in the 
person of one Edward Sale, who came probably 
from London to this country in the good ship 
Elizabeth Ann in the year 1635. He settled at 
Salem, Massachusetts, and two years later, No- 
vember 21, 1637, was made a freeman of that 
colony. He must have belonged to another 
church than the one in Salem, however, as his 
name does not appear in its records, and later 
he removed from that community entirely and 
was residing in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, in 1644. 
He was married to a lady of whom we only 
know that her first name was Elizabeth. From 
that time until after the birth of Thomas Dyer 
Sale, of this sketch, the family continued to re- 
side in Massachusetts, and during most of the 
long period in the town of Chelsea, where Mr. 
Sale was himself born. From Edward Sale, the 
immigrant ancestor, the line runs through Eph- 
raim, John, Deacon John (2), Colonel John (3) 
and John (4) Sale to Thomas Dyer Sale, of this 
review. 

His father, John (4) Sale, was the eighth child 
and third son of Colonel John (3) and Hannah 
(Butterfield) Sale, and was born November 27, 
1820, at Chelsea. He lived in the Massachusetts 
town all his life and there his death occurred 
April 29, 1886. Mr. Sale was a publisher and 
for many years was engaged in the compilation 
of the Chelsea, Revere & Winthrop Directory. 
He enlisted in the Union army during the Civil 
War and served as a clerk for General Banks 
in the Department of the Gulf, situated at New 
Orleans. He was twice married, the first time, 
March 24, 1846, to Julia Parson Dyer, a native 
of Raymond, Maine, born June n, 1826. She 
died at Chelsea, September 30, 1852, at the age 
of twenty-six years. Mrs. Sale was the daughter 
of Thomas and Hannah (Parsons) Dyer, of Ray- 
mond. They were the parents of the following 
children: John Addington, George Frederick, 
Thomas Dyer, and George Francisco. John Sale 
married (second), November 26, 1856, Mary Jane 
Leavitt, by whom he had five children: Charles 
Leavitt, Alice Bell and Annie May (twins), 
George Frederick and Albert Plumb. 



Born January 25, 1851, at Chelsea, Massachu- 
setts, Thomas Dyer Sale, third son of John (4) 
and Julia Parson (Dyer) Sale, never formed any 
associations with his native place. His mother's 
death ocurred when he was but twenty months 
of age, and he was taken by his grandfather, 
Thomas Dyer, of Hartford, Maine, to that place, 
to be brought up in his family. So it was that 
all his childish associations were centered around 
Hartford, Maine, and it was in that town that 
he received his education, or rather the elemen- 
tary portion thereof, attending for this purpose 
the local public schools. He then entered West- 
brook Seminary, where he was prepared for 
college, graduating in the class of 1880. Before 
entering college, however, Mr. Sale found it 
necessary in order to obtain the means to carry 
on his studies, to himself take up the profession 
of teaching, and accordingly he continued in this 
line for five yearc. He then matriculated at 
Bates College, Lewistown, Maine, and finally 
graduated with the class of 1886, taking the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. Upon completing 
his studies in this manner, Mr. Sale decided to 
travel extensively through his own country and 
made a tour of the United States, in which he 
went as far as the Pacific Coast. His travels 
occupied in all the better part of six months, but 
before the close of 1886 he returned to the East 
and there secured a position as advertising man- 
ager with the Portland Evening Express. He 
did not remain more than a few months with 
this paper, however, and in April, 1887, formed 
a partnership with William H. Smith, editor and 
publisher of the Odd Fellows Register, under 
the firm name of Smith & Sale. This associa- 
tion remained unbroken until the year 1890, when 
Mr. Smith died, since which time Mr. Sale has 
carried on the business alone, but under the 
original name. 

But Mr. Sale has not confined himself to the 
publishing business in his active participation in 
the affairs of Portland. He is, on the contrary, 
a conspicuous figure in well-nigh every depart- 
ment of the community's life and is particularly 
prominent in social and fraternal circles. In 
politics he is a staunch Republican, but although 
recognized as an influential figure in the polit- 
ical life of the region has consistently refused 
to profit personally thereby, and has shunned 
public office of every kind. He is affiliated with 
a number of important fraternal orders and espe- 
cially with the Masonic Order, being a member 
of Tyrian Lodge, No. 73, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Greenleaf Chapter, No. 13, Royal 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



175 



Arch Masons, and Portland Council, No. 4, Royal 
and Select Masters. He is also a member of 
Monami Lodge, No. 40, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the Eastern Star Encampment, 
No. 2, Canton Ridgeley No. i; Grand Lodge and 
Grand Encampment of Maine; Munjoy Lodge, 
No. 6, Knights of Pythias, and is also a mem- 
ber of the Grand Lodge of this grand domain. 
Besides these lodges, Mr. Sale is affiliated with 
Windsor Castle, No. I, Knights of the Golden 
Eagle, and the Grand Castle of Maine; of the 
Cogowesco Tribe, No. 5, Improved Order of 
Red Men, and of the Grand Council of Maine; 
of Beacon Commandery, No. 98, Knights of 
Malta, and is grand recorder of this jurisdiction, 
which includes the States of Maine and New 
Hampshire; of the New England Order of Pro- 
tection; the Ancient Order of the United Work- 
men and a large number of other fraternities. 
He is also a member of many clubs, including 
the Camera Club of Portland. In his religious 
belief Mr. Sale is a Congregationalist, and at- 
tends the Second Parish Church of that denom- 
ination in Portland. 

Thomas Dyer Sale was united in marriage, De- 
cember 19, 1887, with Lizzie Jane Strout, a native 
of Durham, Maine, and a daughter of George W. 
and Harriett (Roake) Strout, old and highly re- 
spected residents of that town. Mrs. Sale died 
November 16, 1914. 

Thomas Dyer Sale has been one of the most 
energetic of men. As suggested at the begin- 
ning of this sketch, his youth contained many 
of those hardships and difficulties which per- 
haps the majority of our successful men have 
encountered in that period of their life and which 
seem to have spurred rather than impeded them 
in their upward struggle to fortune. Although 
in many cases they were due to his own per- 
sonal efforts, there were, nevertheless, certain 
advantages that he enjoyed, such as an excel- 
lent education and association with the kind of 
men whose friendship did much to assist him 
upon his career. But these advantages are not 
of the kind to operate disadvantageously, espe- 
cially in the case of a man of such energy and 
ambition as Mr. Sale, who threw himself heart 
and soul into his work and of his own efforts 
became an influential figure not only in the pub- 
lishing business, but in the general life of the 
community as well, a position which he con- 
tinues to hold without abatement today. Nor 
are his private virtues less than these more 
public abilities. He is a man of the strictest 



integrity in all the relations of life, and few 
people realize more clearly the obligations of 
charity to the individual and of morality to the 
community. His family life is an ideal one and 
he devotes himself to every member of the 
household, striving unweariedly for their wel- 
fare and happiness. A man of large education 
and wide reading, he is a delightful companion, 
and his courtesy and genial spirit fuses into 
friendship the lighter bonds of acquaintanceship, 
so that there are few men in the history of the 
city who occupy the place in the hearts of his 
fellows as he does. 



W. SCOTT LIBBEY was one of the ablest 
and most energetic business men of Lewiston 
and Auburn. He was a man who had grown 
up in these cities, who earned his first money 
here, and who, by careful investments in prop- 
erty and business in these places, through his 
own keen business sagacity and remarkable fore- 
sight and judgment, increased those early earn- 
ings into a fortune of magnitude. In accom- 
plishing this he made a reputation for himself 
as a business man, which was known through- 
out the length and breadth of New England. 
The story of his life is an interesting one. It 
shows what persistency will accomplish. He 
started a poor boy, and died a man of wealth, 
influence and importance, not only in his own 
city, but in his State and an entire section of 
the country. 

Upon completing his education, which ended 
before his course at the Coburn Classical In- 
stitute, Waterville, was finished, Mr. Libbey be- 
came a telegraph operator, and in 1876 came to 
the Western Union office in Lewiston as its 
manager, which position he retained until 1887, 
resigning of his own accord to devote his entire 
time to other business interests. From the start 
of his career he was determined to get ahead 
and reach a point where it could be said he had 
achieved a success. It was seldom that he talked 
of those early days to his friends, but when he 
did, it was a very interesting tale, for the fru- 
gality which he practiced in order to get a start 
in life was astonishing. One of his earliest in- 
vestments was in Lewiston real estate. He pur- 
chased a tenement on Lincoln street. At that 
time his capital was so limited that, even though 
he had bought the building, he could not afford 
to provide the janitor service which it required. 
He was equal to this emergency, however. He 
rose early each morning and went to the build- 



176 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



ing and did the work himself, following this by 
visiting it again at night, after hours in the tele- 
graph office, and doing such work as was needed. 
Convinced that there was money to be made in 
the woolen business, he kept a watchful eye upon 
that industry. All the time he was looking for 
an opportunity to secure a woolen mill at a 
reasonable figure, and in time he secured a lease 
of one of the small mills at Vassalboro. Realiz- 
ing that he was not in a position to give up 
his certainty of a salary as manager of the 
Western Union in Lewiston, he retained that 
position and continued the work. From Monday 
morning until Saturday night he devoted to the 
telegraph office. The remainder of the week 
he gave to his woolen mill interests in Vassal- 
boro. As soon as the business of the week in 
Lewiston closed Saturday night, he took the 
train for Vassalboro, from which point he walked 
three miles to his woolen mill. At the mill he 
worked all day Sunday, arranging plans for the 
coming week, walking back to the station and 
coming home early Monday morning. It was a 
strenuous life. Many men could not have stood 
the strain. He had remarkable physique, a 
strong constitution, was regular in habits, used 
neither alcoholic drinks nor tobacco, and was 
careful of his diet. He stood the test splen- 
didly, made the mill pay and saw his capital and 
business increase. Later Mr. Libbey secured a 
small woolen mill in the town of Dover. It was 
not a paying proposition, but Mr. Libbey felt 
sure it could be put upon a profit-producing 
basis. Realizing that it was necessary to have 
personal supervision of the plant if it were to 
be made a paying investment, Mr. Libbey en- 
gaged another operator, paying the salary from 
his own pocket, to work in the telegraph office 
in Lewiston, and so, retaining the management, 
as an anchor windward, went to Dover and took 
charge of the mill. The story of how the East 
Dover Woolen Mill was made a good investment 
is one of keen management, hardships and dis- 
appointments sufficient to make a volume. The 
hours which he put in and the obstacles which 
he overcame seem impossible, but in the end his 
judgment was proven and the mill paid. It 
was not until 1888 that Mr. Libbey ventured into 
the mill business in Lewiston. That year he 
purchased the Cumberland Mill. Five years 
later, in 1893, he secured the Lincoln Mill, which 
was operated by him in connection with the 
Cumberland property after that time. Mr. Lib- 
bey always felt very proud of the purchase of 



the Lincoln Mill because it was the first mill 
he was ever in. In speaking of this to intimate 
friends he frequently remarked that his thought 
on the occasion of that first visit was: "Will 
I ever have money enough to own a mill like 
that?" Not only did he become one of the 
owners of that plant, but had an interest in 
others and of many other varieties of industry. 

Mr. Libbey became interested in the electrical 
possibilities of the Androscoggin river, and in 
1901 he purchased control of the Lewiston & 
Auburn Electric Light Company and the Ameri- 
can Light & Power Company and consolidated 
them under the name of the former company. 
This light and power interest was added to in 
1906 by the purchase of the Mechanic Falls Elec- 
Light Company. For many years Mr. Libbey 
conceived the idea of a huge power plant at Deer 
Rips. Work was begun early in 1902 and in 
1904 this plant was put in operation, after thirty- 
one months of labor and an expenditure of a 
considerable amount of money. This plant is 
today estimated as worth considerable over a 
million dollars. In the year 1908 Mr. Libbey be- 
came interested in the project of building an 
electric railroad from Lewiston to Portland. At 
first he took a. block of stock in the road, but 
eventually purchased all stock, underwrote the 
bonds, and built the line which was practically 
completed at the time of his death. This is one 
of the finest interurban lines in the country and 
had been the hobby of Mr. Libbey since he first 
became interested in it. He took personal charge 
of its construction and equipment. It was built 
to compete with steam roads, both in comfort 
and speed. Mr. Libbey was a director of the 
Manufacturers' National Bank, and was a trustee 
of Coburn Classical Institute. He always took 
a deep interest in Bates College, and only a few 
years ago donated to that college a large so- 
ciety building known as Libbey Forum. 

Mr. Libbey never took a great part in politics. 
In 1906 he was a candidate for member of the 
executive council of the State and was elected, 
serving with great credit during the administra- 
tion of Governor Cobb. He was a member of 
the sub-committee of that council which selected 
the site of the school for the feeble-minded, 
which was then established. It has always been 
claimed by those who understood the facts of 
that purchase that his business acumen, devoted 
to the interests of Maine, saved the State many 
thousands of dollars in the purchase. During 
that term he gave the State the same good 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



177 



judgment and raroful attention to details as he 
always pave his own business. His associates 
on the board regarded him as one of the ablest 
men among them and one of the best councilors 
which the State ever had. 

W. Scott Libbey was born in Avon, August 
27, 1851, the son of Asa M. and Joanna B. (Pow- 
ers) Libbey He was educated in the common 
schools of Oakland and in Coburn Classical In- 
stitute at Waterville. He came to Lewiston 
about 1876, and in 1877 was married to Annie 
E. Shaw, of Lisbon. He died May 17, 1914. 
Five children were born to them: Truman C, 
who died in infancy; Mrs. Gertrude Anthony and 
Harold S. Libbey, of Leiviston; Alia A., of New- 
ton; and W. Scott, Jr., who enlisted in the navy 
for the duration of the war. There are five 
grandchildren: Richard, Warren and Charles 
Anthony, and Eleanor and Channell Libbey, of 
Lewis too. 

No man had a greater degree of business 
acumen or a more prophetic sense in business 
opportunities than he. His courage was un- 
bounded. Nothing ever frightened him, never 
even halted him, when once he had begun. He 
had absolute confidence in his capacity to carry 
through to a finish any undertaking which he 
had once canvassed and decided to be practic- 
able. His knowledge of mechanics, engineer- 
ing, manufacturing and of financial matters, 
which in a large degree was intuitive, was so 
remarkable as to be practically business genius. 
The man who from a telegraph operator in 1876 
becomes a millionaire and industrial leader in 
thirty years by his unaided effort and who prac- 
tically hews the fortune out of the very town 
in which he began is no ordinary man. 

Mr. Libbey personally had two distinct sides 
to his character. One of them was the resistless, 
forceful, driving machine wtih which he spurred 
on men and machinery to do its utmost, and the 
other was the sensitive, gentle, kindly and ap- 
preciative personality which was most lovable 
and which is sweetly remembered by those 
within the circle of his intimate friends. If he 
was often brusque and impetuous, he was also 
considerate, courteous and kind. He had his 
own positive views upon all matters, which it 
were, perhaps, as well that you respected and 
permitted him to enjoy unrestricted, but at the 
same time his mind was open to every new 
thought, receptive of information and eager to 
look beyond the immediate surroundings into 
the future, especially so far as business was con- 

ME. 1 12 



cerncd. Il< was very fond of good literature; 
very sensitive to praise or criticism; exceedingly 
generous, especially to his trusted employees; 
very charitable, especially where his charities 
could not be a matter of publicity, and withal a 
man of singular and positive character; a man of 
genius in business, of thorough-going honesty in 
all affairs, and of singular fidelity to his friends. 
In thirty years he made a greater impression 
upon Lewiston and Auburn than perhaps any 
other man who has ever lived there. The mere 
recapitulation of his enterprises bears this state- 
ment out. The boy who, on the side of old 
Mount Blue, in the town of Avon, said to him- 
self, as we have been told, that some day he 
would make his name in the world, kept his 
word. 



HAROLD SHAW LIBBEY The records of 
the lives of W. Scott Libbey and Harold S. Lib- 
bey, his son, form a splendid chapter in annals 
of the business fraternity of Lewiston. Harold 
S. Libbey succeeded to heavy and pressing re- 
sponsibilities, which he bore capably and well 
until called from his labors at the early age of 
thirty-eight years, his passing mourned in the 
many channels which his influence penetrated. 
Governor William T. Cobb, the intimate friend 
of both the elder and younger Libbey, spoke of 
Harold S. Libbey as follows: "Of fine physique 
and clean life, it seemed to look at him and to 
know his love and capacity for the work of busi- 
ness, that fortune had much more in store for 
him than to be claimed by death at thirty-eight 
years. . . . He was sure to become a promi- 
nent factor in the business life of his city and 
of the State, and personally, in character and 
wise ambitions, was the type of young man from 
whom his own generation had every right and 
reason to expect fine accomplishments and help- 
ful influence." 

Harold Shaw Libbey, son of W. Scott and An- 
nie E. (Shaw) Libbey, was born in Lewiston, 
September 10, 1881, where his death occurred 
suddenly, April 19, 1919, resulting from influ- 
enza-pneumonia. He was graduated from the 
Lewiston High School in the class of 1901, and 
received the degree of A.B. from Bates College 
in 1905, then pursuing post-graduate work at the 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, special- 
izing in chemistry and the textile industry. Upon 
the completion of his education he entered the 
Cumberland Woolen Mills at Lewiston, where he 
received his practical training in textile manu- 



178 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



facture, rising to the position of superintendent. 
He fulfilled the duties of this position until the 
death of W. Scott Libbey in 1914, when he be- 
came treasurer and agent of the W. S. Libbey 
Company, and the Cumberland Mills. He di- 
rected these affairs with profitable results until 
his sudden death, serving at the same time as 
a director of the Androscoggin Electric Company 
and of the Manufacturers' National Bank of 
Lewiston, being especially interested in the lat- 
ter institution and rarely failing to attend the 
meetings of the board of directors. 

The close comradeship that existed between 
Mr. Libbey and his father continued through 
business into their hours of recreation. During 
the construction of the Portland-Lewiston Inter- 
urban railroad, which W. Scott Libbey built and 
controlled, he was in charge of portions of the 
work on the road. They were closely associated 
in the operation of the mills, while their camp- 
ing trips together were the greatest pleasure of 
both. 

Mr. Libbey was a member of the United Bap- 
tist Church of Lewiston. He belonged to the 
Gardiner Gun Club, hunting and gunning being 
his favorite recreation, and he also belonged to 
the Boston Athletic Association. He devoted his 
time and means to the support of movements of 
progress and improvement in his city, and was a 
citizen who gladly acknowledged the duties as 
well as the privileges of citizenship As a busi- 
ness man he held the regard of the business fra- 
ternity, and from the earliest days of his relation 
with the employees of the concerns with which 
he was connected, he was an employer wise and 
just, who valued and strove for the good will of 
his men and who held it by fair and straightfor- 
ward dealings. In the brief time that was al- 
lotted to him he won recognition as a man of 
able parts and lived in the approval of all men. 

Harold S. Libbey married, in 1907, Helen V., 
daughter of Frank A. Channel, of Lewiston. 
Mrs. Libbey was a schoolmate of her husband 
both in high school and college. They were the 
parents of two children: Eleanor V. and Chan- 
nel T. 



ELIAS THOMAS, SR. In business, as in 
every form of activity, there are both construc- 
tive and destructive forces. The competence 
built purely upon speculation, or upon the sup- 
pression of remunerative industry in others, adds 
nothing to the permanent wealth of mankind, 
and plays only a negative part in the history 



of a city, State or nation. The fortune whose 
basis is laid in the development of natural re- 
sources, whose capital is increased by enlarging 
the opportunities for general wealth, is on the 
positive side of civilization, and counts among 
the lasting beneficient influences. It was this 
creative quality that was the distinctive feature 
in the career of Elias Thomas. He represented 
the most progressive element of a sturdy race. 

There can be no doubt that the popular im- 
pression which ascribes unusual idealism, min- 
gled with an uncommon grasp of practical af- 
fairs to the New England character, is quite 
accurate, and that it has been this almost para- 
doxical union that has accounted for the extraor- 
dinary success attained by the people of this 
region of the amazing development of the region 
itself. We can find thousands of names of men 
in whose careers this fact is typified. The 
business and commercial records of Maine are 
a particularly fertile source of such names, and 
among them there is a well-deserved place for 
that of Elias Thomas (deceased), who during his 
entire life was a citizen of Portland. He was 
born on Park street, May 6, 1842, and was the 
third son of Hon. William Widgery and Eliza- 
beth (Goddard) Thomas, and grandson of Elias 
Thomas and Hon. William Widgery, both of 
whom were prominent in the public life and busi- 
ness activities of Maine in their day. 

Mr. Thomas' early education was obtained 
in a private school conducted by Miss Tompson, 
and later attended Miss Owen's School, both of 
which were located on State street. He later 
attended the Park Street Grammar School, con- 
ducted by Master Pickering, after which he en- 
tered the high school, which was under the 
principalship of Mr. Syford and later Mr. Han- 
son. After leaving high school he was em- 
ployed by the firm of Emery & Fox, of Port- 
land, for three years, then entered the Franklin 
School for Boys, at Topsham. He served as 
clerk in the Mayor's office in Portland when his 
father was Mayor of the city. Preferring a busi- 
ness life, he engaged in business on Commercial 
street, Portland, under the name of Matthews & 
Thomas, which partnership was formed in 1863 
and continued for six years, when, in 1869, he 
bought out his partner and conducted the busi- 
ness under the name of Elias Thomas & Com- 
pany, and which he continued with much suc- 
cess until 1897. Mr. Thomas devoted the re- 
mainder of his life to his extensive and valued 
private interests. He was president of the Canal 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



179 



National Bank, succeeding his father to that 
office, and which position of trust and responsi- 
bility he held at the time of his death. He also 
served for many years as director of the Port- 
land Gas Light Company and was a member of 
the Cumberland Club, and was also a member 
of the State Legislature in the 8o's. He died 
suddenly, in Portland, October 13, 1913. 

Mr. Thomas inherited to a marked degree the 
sagacity, intellectual poise and sound business 
judgment of his father, with a high regard for 
the public welfare. Right was always the deter- 
mining factor in his decisions of important ques- 
tions of local or general character, rather than 
mere expediency or monetary advantage. The 
first point to be decided, he always held, was, 
what is the right thing to do, and what is the 
course, most conducive to the true interests of 
the community, the State and the nation. With 
a broad democracy that comes from a sense of 
justice, he knew no distinction of wealth or so- 
called social rank among men and women, but 
was as courteous and considerate to the poorest 
as to the richest. He was noted for his straight- 
forwardness and sterling honesty. The truest 
and noblest of gentlemen in the best and highest 
sense of the word, loyal, loving and princely in 
traits that mark real royalty of manhood. The 
city, State and nation lost in him a type of cit- 
izenship more important to real civic greatness 
and moral permanence than any other they could 
possess. 

He was a member of the First Parish Uni- 
tarian Society, and was much interested in char- 
itable works, being a member of the board of 
directors of the Maine General Hospital, which 
office he fulfilled to the time of his death. He 
was also a member of the managing board of the 
Portland Benevolent Society and the Home for 
Aged Men, in both of which he took a deep 
interest. 

Mr. Thomas married, November 4, 1869, Helen 
Maria Brown, a native of Blur Hill, Maine. 
She was born September 10, 1846, the daughter 
of Samuel Peters Brown, of Washington, D. C. 
Mrs. Thomas died July 14, 1903. Three children 
were born to them: Elias, Jr., William Widgery, 
and Helen Brown, who married Richard C. Pay- 
son, of Portland. 



ELIAS THOMAS, JR. Every community has 
its leading citizens in whom are focused the re- 
spectability, the dignity, and the uplift of the 
place. Among those who are thoroughly repre- 



sentative of Portland's, and consequently of 
Maine's twentieth-century life, none are more 
worthy of mention in a work of this character 
than the subject of this review, Elias Thomas, 
Jr., who was born in the city of Portland, Maine, 
March 15, 1871, the eldest son of Elias, Sr., and 
Helen Maria (Brown) Thomas. Mr. Thomas 
has continued to make his home in his native 
city consistently, up to the present time. It was 
here that he received the preliminary portion of 
his education, attending for this purpose the local 
public and private schools, and preparing him- 
self for college in the Portland Latin School. 
In 1890 he matriculated at Bowdoin College, from 
which he graduated with the class of 1894, and 
while there was a member of Delta Kappa Epsi- 
lon society, and was on some of the athletic 
teams. Upon completing his education, he en- 
tered the wholesale grocery business in associa- 
tion with his father, and became a member of 
the firm of Elias Thomas & Company. This con- 
cern was afterwards incorporated as the Elias 
Thomas Company, and sold out in 1907. Mr. 
Thomas has also interested himself most actively 
in public affairs, and has served two years on 
the Common Council of the city and one on the 
Board of Aldermen. He is a member of the 
Portland Athletic Club, and the Portland Cham- 
ber of Commerce. In his religious belief, Mr. 
Thomas is Unitarian and attends the First Parish 
Church of that denomination in Portland. 

Mr. Thomas married (first), July 16, 1902, Elea- 
nor Libby Holt, of Portland, who died Septem- 
ber 22, 1902. He married (second), November 
27, 1905, in Salem, Massachusetts, Dorothea 
Brayton Perkins, a native of that city, and a 
daughter of Horace S. and Elizabeth P. (Kinny) 
Perkins, who still make their residence there. 
Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Thomas, as follows: Beatrice, born December 
23, 1906; Elias, Jr., born December 30, 1908; 
Rosamond, born July 12, 1910, and Ann, born 
October 19, 1916. 

Mr. Thomas is a business man who takes a 
vivid interest in the trend of American life, both 
in its public and private aspects, and especially 
in all that tends towards the upbuilding of his 
native city and State. To this end his efforts 
and influence have been freely extended. As a 
born American he has no patience with those 
who try to make things appear other than they 
naturally are. He is as frank in declaring his 
principals as he is sincere in maintaining them. 
His career has been rounded with success and 



180 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



marked by the appreciation of men whose good 
opinion is best worth having. The influence of 
a human life can never be estimated, but such 
men as Mr. Thomas maintain the honor of the 
State of Maine. 



HENRY BOARDMAN EATON When 
Henry Franklin Eaton came to man's estate and 
was looking for a business and a location, he 
left Groton, Massachusetts, the home of his 
parents, and finally settled in Milltown, where 
his sons were born. He chose the natural busi- 
ness of New Brunswick at that time, lumbering, 
and in course of time settled in Calais, Maine, 
where the firm, Henry F. Eaton & Sons, long 
flourished. When the father and founder passed 
to his reward, the sons continued the business 
and the house ranks among the largest dealers 
in Eastern lumber in the State. Calais is still 
the home of the business, and of the sons of 
Henry Franklin Eaton, the founder of this branch 
of the Eaton family in New Brunswick, Canada, 
and Calais, Maine. Henry Boardman Eaton, his 
fourth child, is still a resident of Calais and 
deeply inteiested in the lumber business founded 
by his father, which the son entered as a young 
man in 1872. He is of the eighth generation of the 
family founded in New England by Jonas Eaton, 
who settled in Watertown, bought land and was 
still living in 1643. Jonas Eaton traced his an- 
cestry through twenty generations in male line 
to Banquo Thane, of Lochabar, who flourished 
in Wales in the year 1000 A.D. The surname 
Eaton is of Welch and Saxon origin, a place 
name, meaning "hill or town near the water." 
While Eaton is now the generally accepted spell- 
ing, in earlier years it was found as Eton, Etton 
and Eyton. The family in England bore arms 
thus described: 

Arms Azure fret on a field. 

Crest An eagle's head erased sable in the 
mouth of a sprig vert. 

Motto Vincit Omnia Veritas (Truth conquers 
all things). 

England continued the home of the family 
until Peter Eaton's (twentieth generation) sons, 
William and Jonas, came to New England, sail- 
ing from Sandwich, England, before June 9, 1637. 
This review deals with a branch of the family 
founded by Jonas Eaton. 

Jonas Eaton and his brother William, after 
living for a time in Watertown, Massachusetts, 
removed to the town of Reading, where they 
were among the first settlers. Jonas Eaton was 



admitted a freeman there in 1653, and for sev- 
eral years served as a selectman. His farm and 
his residence were on Cowdrey's hill, in the 
northwestern part of the town, in that part now 
included within the limits of the town of Wake- 
field. He died February 24, 1674, leaving a 
widow, Grace, and sons, John, James, Joseph, 
Joshua, Jonathan, and a daughter, Mary. His 
widow, Grace, married (second), November 18, 
1680, Henry Silsbee, of Lynn. The line of de- 
scent is through John Eaton, eldest son of Jonas 
and Grace Eaton, the pioneers and founders. 

John Eaton was born September 10, 1645, and 
always was known as "John of the Plains." He 
died in Reading, May 25, 1691. He married, No- 
vember 26, 1674, Dorcas Green, settled and 
always lived in Reading, where their twelve chil- 
dren were born. This branch continues through 
the eldest child, Jonas (2). 

Jonas (2) Eaton was born in Reading, May 
18, 1680, died August 13, 1727. He learned dual 
trades, carpenter and bricklayer, settled in Fram- 
ingham, and was a selectman there in 1717. On 
March 10, 1705, he bought the east half of what 
was known as the "Half Mile Square," and was 
living on that property at the time of his death. 
He married, in 1705, Mehitable Gould, and they 
were the parents of ten children. This line of 
descent is traced through Jonas (3), twin with 
Phoebe, they born in Framingham, October 22, 
1714. 

Jonas (3) Eaton married, August 3, 1738, Mary 
Emerson, and resided in Framingham until 1773, 
when he moved to Charlestown, where he was 
living at the time that town was burned by the 
British. In 1775 he made a claim for property 
destroyed belonging to himself and his three 
sons, Jonas, Daniel and Ebenezer. Jonas (3) 
Eaton and his wife, Mary (Emerson) Eaton, 
were the parents of eight sons and a daughter, 
Mary. This branch descends through Jonas (4), 
the second son, the first, also Jonas, dying in 
infancy. 

Jonas (4) Eaton was baptized February 8, 1740, 
died in 1787. He married, December I, 1767, 
Mary Wyer, of Charlestown, where he settled. 
He was a currier by trade, and owned a lot on 
Main street. He was taxed in Charlestown, 1762- 
1766. He served in the Revolutionary War in 
Captain Jesse Eames' company, Colonel Samuel 
Bullard's regiment, Fifth Middlesex, in 1776; also 
in Captain David Brewer's company, Colonel 
Abner Perry's regiment, Tenth Middlesex regi- 
ment, in the Rhode Island campaign. When 







^-. 





^ -^ 




BIOGRAPHICAL 



181 



Charlcstown was burning, in 1775, his wife and 
three children escaped in a rowboat to Fram- 
inBham, where Jonas joined them later, enlisting 
in the army from Framingham. Jonas (4) and 
Mary (Wyer) Eaton were the parents of six chil- 
dren, four sons and two daughters, the first two 
children being a son and a daughter, twins, the 
third and fourth also a son and a daughter, 
twins. 

Jonas (5 1 Eaton, eldest child of Jonas (4) and 
Mary (Wyer) Eaton, was baptized in Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, February 1 1, 1770, and was 
with his mother in the boat from which they 
escaped from burning Charlestown. He mar- 
ried, in 1792, Mary Corey, daughter of a Rev- 
olutionary soldier. They settled in Groton, 
Massachusetts, and their eleven children were 
born there. They were the parents of Henry 
Franklin Eaton, and grandparents of Henry 
Boardman Eaton, of Calais, Maine. 

Henry Franklin Eaton was born in Groton, 
Massachusetts, and there passed his youth. Later 
he settled in New Brunswick, Canada, and there 
successfully conducted a very prosperous lum- 
ber business, the headquarters of which was lo- 
cated at his home at Milltown, New Brunswick, 
later in Calais, Maine. In Calais he formed the 
firm, Henry F. Eaton & Sons; and there con- 
ducted a very large business in all kinds of East- 
ern lumber. He enjoyed a high reputation in 
the business world, and trained his sons to 
worthily bear their ancient and honorable family 
name. He married, October 17, 1842, Anna 
Louisa Boardman, born at Portland, Maine, De- 
cember 12, 1822, daughter of William and Esther 
(Wigglesworth) Boardman. They were the 
parents of seven children: Henry F., deceased; 
George Howard, whose sketch follows; Hen- 
rietta M., married Rev. J. J. Blair; Henry Board- 
man, of further mention; Franklin M.; Annie K., 
married Horace B. Murchie; and Wilfred L., 
married Alice Prescott. 

Henry Boardman Eaton, fourth child of Henry 
Franklin and Anna Louisa (Boardman) Eaton, 
was born in Milltown, New Brunswick, Canada, 
April 16, 1852. He was educated in Milltown 
public schools, Phillips Academy, Andover, 
Massachusetts, and Farmington, Maine, his busi- 
ness life beginning under the guidance of his 
father, a successful lumberman and lumber 
dealer. In 1872 he was admitted to a partner- 
ship with his father, and brother, George H., 
in the lumber firm, Henry F. Eaton & Sons, of 
Calais, Maine, and when Henry F. Eaton died, 



March 21, 1895, the sons continued the business, 
as at present. Mr. Eaton is officially connected 
with the International Trust & Banking Com- 
pany of Calais, and with the Calais Savings 
Bank. He has taken a deep interest in city 
affairs, but beyond exercising the rights of citi- 
zenship has taken no active part in politics. He 
is a suppoiter of Republican principles, is a mem- 
ber of the Congregational church, the St. Croix 
Club, and the Improved Order of Red Men. 

Mr. Eaton married, in Milltown, New Bruns- 
wick, February 8, 1883, Emma J. Murchie, daugh- 
ter of James and Mary A. (Grimmes) Murchie. 
Mr. and Mrs. Eaton have no children. The fam- 
ily home is at Calais, Maine. 



GEORGE HOWARD EATON, of Calais, 

Maine, was not only a prominent and influential 
business man but a citizen of the highest worth, 
whose philanthropic public spirit was manifested 
in countless ways. He was a man of upright 
life, kind-hearted and generous, and was well 
known and honored throughout Eastern Maine. 

George H. Eaton, the eldest son of Henry 
Franklin and Anna Louisa (Boardman) Eaton, 
was born at Milltown, New Brunswick, March 
14, 1848. His education was begun in the public 
schools of that village, continued at Phillips Acad- 
emy, Andover, Massachusetts, and finished at 
Amherst College, where he received his A. B. 
degree in 1870. After completing his school 
years he and his brother, Henry B. Eaton, en- 
tered business with their father, one of the pio- 
neer lumbermen of the St. Croix district, under 
the firm name of Henry F. Eaton & Sons. The 
firm is still active but of the original members 
only H. B. Eaton survives. To the business of 
the lumber firm Mr. Eaton devoted the greater 
part of his time, yet he had other large business 
and financial interests and carried heavy respon- 
sibilites. For several years he was president of 
the Calais National Bank, and at the time of his 
death he was president of the International 
Trust and Banking Company. His ability as a 
financier was fully tested and proven in his ex- 
ecutive control of these two institutions. He was 
one of the incorporators and president of the 
St. Croix Shoe Company, a trustee of the Calais 
Academy and of the Calais Public Library, and 
was also interested in various local industries. 

In politics a Republican, Mr. Eaton never 
sought political office, neither did he decline it 
when presented to him as a duty he owed hii 
State. He represented his legislative district for 



182 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



two terms in the State Legislature and sat in the 
Senate for two terms. He was sound in his 
views and during the years he representated 
Calais at Augusta was able to accomplish good 
for his constituency, maintaining at all times his 
standing as a loyal party man. While a business 
man in every fibre of his nature, Mr. Eaton did 
not live selfishly but gave of himself freely to all 
that concerned the religious, educational and 
moral life of his community. He was a member 
of the Congregational church and gave liberally 
to its support. A trustee of Bangor Seminary, 
a corporate member of the American Board of 
Foreign Missions, vice-president of the American 
Sunday School Union, and for many years he 
served as a director and member of the finance 
committee of the Maine Missionary Association. 
He took a deep interest in all these institutions 
and organizations and gave most liberally of his 
valuable time to their upbuilding and manage- 
ment. 

In 1871 George H. Eaton married Elizabeth 
Woodbury Boyden, of Chicago, daughter of 
James Woodbury and Eliza (Dickinson) Boyden. 
The early years of their married life were passed 
in Milltown. In 1886 they moved to Calais, 
Maine. Eight children were born of this mar- 
riage, four sons and four daughters, all of whom 
were living at the time of their father's death 
in 1913. 



HON. ENOCH FOSTER In the long line of 
illustrious names of which the American bar may 
justly be proud there is none more worthy of 
honor in his native State than that of judge 
Enoch Foster. He was typical of that long line 
of men who from Colonial times have upheld 
the dignity and worth of that tradition of ser- 
vice and splendid achievement which has been 
the boast of our free institutions. In no State 
has this record been higher than in Maine, and 
here among the foremost is to be found the 
name of Judge Enoch Foster. 

The Hon. Enoch Foster came of a line of men 
who from early Colonial days have followed the 
light that was set as a beacon on these shores 
and has grown with each succeeding genera- 
tion. They have lived and died for the creed, 
once new, of individual freedom and religious 
liberty, and it is through their lives and deaths 
that those beliefs have spread over a continent 
and become a standard to which all the oppressed 
of the earth may rally. It was because of the 
stalwart character of these men and the solidity 
of their lives that the foundations of the repub- 



lic are sure, and have long passed beyond the 
hazard of continuance. Among these men the 
Foster family has always done its share in found- 
ing and making permanent the institutions of the 
country. 

The first of the Foster line in this country 
was Reginald Foster, who came from England 
and settled in Ipswich, Massachusetts, in 1638. 
He was a conspicuous figure in the new colony, 
and his descendant, Asa Foster, the grandfather 
of Judge Foster, was that member of the fam- 
ily who first brought the name to Maine. He 
settled in Newry, Maine, very soon after it had 
first been founded, and here his son Enoch, the 
father of Judge Foster, was born in 1799. The 
first Enoch Foster followed the occupation of 
farmer and was a successful and influential man 
in the community. He was a man of scholarly 
tastes and with a marked ambition in intellectual 
lines, and it is probably due to this that the 
education of his son, Enoch (2), was carefully 
supervised from the outset. 

In an old house in Newry, Maine, which is 
still standing, Enoch (2) Foster was born May 
10, 1839, his mother having been Persis (Swann) 
Foster. Here he gained the elementary educa- 
tion of the country boy, but from his earliest 
days he concurred with his father's wish that 
he should gain the best education obtainable. 
For a time he went therefore to Gould's Acad- 
emy, following this by work preparing him for 
college at the Maine State Seminary at Lewis- 
ton. In college at Bowdoin his work was done 
with the same zeal and facility that had marked 
him from the beginning as a student of unusual 
promise. He entered Bowdoin College in 1860, 
and had been, however, only a short time at 
work when the growing cloud on the political 
horizon burst into storm and with all the other 
noblest spirits of the time he offered his services 
to his country and enlisted. He was made sec- 
ond lieutenant in Company H, Thirteenth Regi- 
ment of Maine Volunteer Infantry. This was 
the regiment mustered by Colonel Neal Dow, 
afterwards to become General Dow, and the one 
which he led through much active service. 
Enoch Foster won rapid promotion, becoming 
soon first lieutenant, and later being appointed 
by General Banks provost marshal. In this ca- 
pacity he served for two years, resigning later 
to take part in the Red River Expedition where 
he served with conspicuous gallantry. After 
throe years of active service he was honorably 
discharged and returned to take up his aban- 
doned studies. By a vote taken in the academic 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



183 



council he was permitted to graduate in the class 
of 1864, his work in the service of his country 
being taken in lieu of the scholastic work for 
that period of time. This being accomplished 
he set to work to read law in the office of his 
cousin, the Hon. Reuben Foster, of Waterville, 
Maine. From there he went to the Albany Law 
School and obtained from this his degree of 
Bachelor of Laws in 1865. The same year he 
was admitted to the New York bar, and not long 
afterwards decided to establish himself in his 
native State, choosing Bethel as his residence. 

Enoch Foster was no sooner established in 
practice than he began to show those powers of 
clear thinking and splendid eloquence which in- 
dicated the promise and the ability of the man. 
He was speedily recognized as a marked man, 
and he had not been practicing for more than 
two years before he was elected county attor- 
ney. Six years later he was elected Senator and 
served the term 1873-74, giving proofs from the 
outset of his brilliancy and power. He aroused 
not only the admiration of his colleagues but 
the confidence of the people by the champion- 
ship of their side. Such a man was in line for 
the work of the Bench and in 1884 he was ap- 
pointed by Governor Robie, an associate justice 
of the Supreme Court of Maine for a seven 
years' term Upon its expiration in 1891 this 
was renewed by Governor Burleigh for a similar 
period. During these years he gave the most 
undoubted proof of his ability as a jurist, of his 
fairness of temper and of his distinterestedness 
of attitude. 

After the close of his second term of office 
Judge Foster formed a partnership with Hon. 
Oscar S. Hersey, and the firm opened an office 
in Portland, Maine, under the style of Foster & 
Hersey, later to become one of the best known 
in the entire State. Some of the greatest cases 
of the State were entrusted to their care and 
were handled with conscientious fidelity. Judge 
Foster never made the mistake of brilliant men 
of trusting to the inspiration of the moment, 
but gave the utmost care to the preparation of 
the case, and neglected no detail that could help 
the cause. It was because he added this scrupu- 
lous faithfulness to everything he did that he 
was a man who reached beyond the class of able 
into the class of truly great. 

After coming to Portland he gave up in a large 
measure his share in politics, although his name 
was frequently mentioned as a possible candi- 
date as mayor or congressman. Towards the 



latter part of his life he did once more take 
part in the contests which had once engaged 
his strength. This was when after a lifelong 
devotion to the principles of the Republican 
party, he championed the newly-risen cause of 
Progressive party. This change on his part 
shows the vigor and independence of a mind 
which never knew what it was to grow old. It 
was believed that the ardor with which he cham- 
pioned the principles of the new party did much 
to shorten his own days. He was present at 
the great Republican Convention when the break 
was made, and the attention of Roosevelt being 
called to the vigorous old gentleman who so 
ably championed the cause of the Progressive 
party. A meeting between them was arranged 
and the two became friends as well as supporters 
of a common political platform. 

Judge Foster took an active share in the social 
and fraternal life of the community in which he 
had made his home, and held membership in a 
large number of organizations. Besides belong- 
ing to the Bar Association of Cumberland coun- 
ty and the Bowdoin Alumni Association he be- 
longed to Brown Post, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, of Bethel. He belonged also to the 
Masonic Order and was a Knights Templar, a 
Noble of the Mystic Shrine, and a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Judge Foster married (first), June 6, 1864, 
Adeline O. Lowe, a daughter of Ivory Lowe, 
of Waterviile, Maine. She died in 1872, and 
Judge Foster married (second), in 1873, Sarah 
W. Chapman, a daughter of Robert A. Chap- 
man, of Bethel, Maine. A son was born of this 
marriage, Robert C., of further mention. 

A summary of the life and attainments of 
Judge Foster is well expressed in a tribute which 
appeared in the Express at the time of his death, 
from which we may quote in part: 

The death of Judge Foster removes one of the 
most illustrious members of the Cumberland 
County Bar and one of the leading lawyers of 
the State of Maine, from earthly scenes of ac- 
tivity. He was a master of the science of juris- 
prudence, and as an expounder of the law 
attained first rank in this State during the four- 
teen years he served as a member of the 
Supreme Bench. . . . He was an after dinner 
speaker of rare attainments, with magnetic quali- 
ties irrespective of the subject or the occasion 
he might be called upon to grace and enliven 
with a formal or informal address. . . . He 
has had no counterpart in the Cumberland 
County Bar, or in the Maine State Bar, or in 
the Maine Supreme Bench. 



184 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



CAPTAIN ROBERT CHAPMAN FOSTER 
In the death of young Captain Robert C. 
Foster his native town of Portland sustained a 
great loss, for this representative of one of the 
finest New England stocks gave promise of car- 
rying on the high tradition of his race and of 
adding new laurels to the name his father had 
so worthily adorned. By his faithfulness, by his 
patriotism and by his gallant obedience to every 
duty he showed what might be expected of him 
in future years, when time had ripened into 
fruit the splendid promise of his youthful man- 
hood. 

The temptation of the son of a man who has 
a high standing and an assured position in the 
community are not the temptations or trials of 
the youth who must struggle for recognition 
and for daily bread. But though he has not the 
same tests to try his manhood there are tests 
nevertheless, and because they are less often re- 
sisted one hears more of the young man who 
has made his way to the front through the 
obstacles ot poverty and narrow circumstances. 
The most insidious and dangerous pitfalls are 
those which surround a young man brought up 
in comfortable circumstances with little to call 
forth the harder and finer qualities in his nature. 
That young Robert C. Foster passed through 
these temptations and made of himself a manly 
man with a future as bright as was possible to 
the most stalwart fighter showed the stuff that 
was in him. Born March 19, 1880, in Bethel, 
Maine, he was sent at first to the common 
schools of the town, and from thence went to 
the schools at which his father had been a 
student in his day. These were Gould's Acad- 
emy, and after that Bowdoin College. From 
this latter he graduated in 1901, and deciding to 
take up the same profession as his father, went 
to the Harvard Law School, completing the 
course in that institution in 1905, and receiving 
the degree of LL. B. Returning to Portland 
he was taken into the partnership with his father 
and continued under his wise guidance and tute- 
lage until the latter's death. 

For some time the call of the profession of 
medicine had appealed very strongly to him and 
now he undertook its study. He entered the 
Harvard Medical School and he was still a stu- 
dent in its halls when death called and his life's 
work was left unfinished though fine as far as 
it went, and leaving a revered and happy mem- 
ory for those who had known him. He died 
March 7, 1916, having almost rounded out his 
thirty-sixth year. 



In 1905 he had joined the Maine National 
Guard as a member of Company Five, as the 
company was organized. By thorough and care- 
ful work he made his way up through the dif- 
ferent grades until he had attained that of cap- 
tain. This office he had filled with ability and 
satisfaction to his superior officers, when he 
resigned in 1910, but with the hum of prepared- 
ness being heard all over the land he was ap- 
pointed in July, 1914, quartermaster of the Artil- 
lery Corps, and in this he gave the most scrupu- 
lous attention to his duties, and won high com- 
mendation from his commanding officers. He 
was one of the last men that held that office. 

He was a Republican in his political views, 
but never cared for political preferment. He 
attended the Congregational church. He was a 
member of the Masonic Order and had attained 
the thirty-second degree, and was also a mem- 
ber of the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. He was also a member of the Portland 
Gun Club, and had been one of the Harvard 
Gun Club, and his mother has at her home twen- 
ty-four cups which he won by his expert marks- 
manship. 



SARAH WALKER (CHAPMAN) FOSTER, 

widow of the late Judge Enoch Foster, of Port- 
land, Maine, is a member of a distinguished 
family, the members of which have occupied a 
prominent place in the affairs of the community 
for a number of generations. She is a daughter 
of the Hon. Robert Andrews and Frances (Car- 
ter) Chapman, and was born at Bethel, Maine, 
February 4, 1844. 

Mrs. Foster attended the public schools of 
that place as a young girl, and later completed 
her education at the Gorham Seminary, of Gor- 
ham, Maine, at that time a young lady's 
school of wide influence. Upon returning 
from her course at this institution, Mrs. Fos- 
ter was possessed of a strong desire to 
follow the profession of teaching, and this 
ambition she carried out, securing a position 
as teacher in the district schools of the town of 
Bethel. She remained for two years in these 
institutions and then spent another in the vill- 
age school. She was, however, obliged to give 
up teaching on account of ill health and later 
became the wife of the Hon. Enoch Foster. 
During her married life, Mrs. Foster devoted 
her entire time and attention to the tasks and 
duties of her home and left nothing undone to 
contribute to the comfort and happiness of her 
husband and son, both of whom she has since 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



185 



lost by death. Her devotion to their memory is 
most beautiful, and not a day passes that she 
does not pay tribute to her recollection of them. 
Her life has been one of love and devotion and 
it is only her strong Christian character and her 
absolute faith in the future that gives her 
strength to bear up under the heavy weight of 
sorrow in which she has lived during the past 
five years. She is a member of the Congrega- 
tional church, and while a resident of Bethel 
was quite active in church work there. She now 
attends the High Street Congregational Church 
at Portland and sets an example by her devo- 
tion to her church and by her translation of 
Christian precepts into the every day conduct 
of her life. She is a lady of great culture and 
artistic tastes, to which her home and its sur- 
roundings bear ample witness. She is a mem- 
ber of the Woman's Literary Club and the 
George Eliot Club of Portland. 

The Chapman family of which Mrs. Enoch 
Foster is a descendant, is one of the best-known 
houses in New England. It was founded in this 
State by the Rev. Eliphaz Chapman, a native 
of Newmarket, New Hampshire, born March 
7, 1750, a son of Samuel Chapman. The Rev. 
Mr. Chapman was a direct descendant of Ed- 
ward Chapman, the immigrant ancestor of the 
Chapmans of New England. The Rev. Mr. 
Chapman came to Sudbury in 1791, making the 
journey with two teams. After he had settled 
at that place, he became a preacher at Madbury 
and later at Methuen, and followed that calling 
for fifteen years. He was a well-known man 
in this region and highly respected in the com- 
munity. His death occurred January 20, 1814, at 
Bethel, where the latter portion of his life was 
spent. He married Hannah Jackman, a daughter 
of Timothy Jackman, who survived him, her 
death occurring December 15, 1839, at the vener- 
able age of ninety-two years. They were the 
parents of seven children of which Eliphaz Chap- 
man, Jr., grandfather of Mrs. Foster, was one. 

Eliphaz Chapman, Jr., eldest son of the Rev. 
Eliphaz and Hannah (Jackman) Chapman, was 
born June 16, 1775. He followed the occupa- 
tion of farming, and owned a large tract of land 
in Gilead township, Maine, filling there many 
public offices of importance. He also repre- 
sented his community in the State Legislature. 
He died July 9, 1844. He married (first) Salome 
Burnham, June 30, 1804, whose death occurred 
July 2, 1829. He married (second) Betsey 
Adams, and by his two marriages was the father 
of six children. 



The Hon. Robert Andrews Chapman, eldest 
son of Eliphaz, Jr., and Salome (Burnham) Chap- 
man, was born September 22, 1807, at Gilead, 
Maine. As a child he attended the schools of 
that place and afterwards became a clerk in 
the store of O'Niel W. Robinson, of Bethel Hill. 
He remained in the employ of that gentleman 
for a number of years and then himself became 
the owner of the establishment. He later formed 
a partnership with his brother Elbridge, and 
they conducted a general store at Bethel for 
many years. Finally Elbridge Chapman with- 
drew from the business and moved to Portland, 
after which Robert A. Chapman admitted as 
partner Enoch W. Woodbury, and continued with 
him to conduct his business successfully for 
several years. Through his industry and admir- 
able business tact, Mr. Chapman built up a large 
and successful establishment and became one 
of the wealthiest citizens of that section of the 
State. He was a staunch Democrat in politics 
for many years, but when the temperance cause 
was preached in Maine he became one of the 
first adherents of prohibition and thereafter was 
a powerful factor in urging temperance through- 
out the State. He joined the movement in the 
interest of Prohibition and was very active in 
this cause for many years. During the latter 
part of his life, he was associated politically with 
the Republican party and in 1850 was elected 
on its ticket to the State Senate. He was a 
Congregationalist in his religious belief and was 
an active member of that church at Bethel. He 
was a man of broad public-spirit and a good 
citizen and deeply devoted to his home, his 
wife and his family. His death occurred April 
7, 1880. at Bethel. 

The Hon. Robert Andrews Chapman married, 
March 28, 1833, Frances Carter, a native of 
Bethel, born September I, 1809, and a daughter 
of Dr. Timothy and Fanny (Freeland) Carter. 
Mrs. Chapman survived her husband and lived 
to the advanced age of ninety-two years. They 
were the parents of the following children: 
Cullen Carter, born December 27, 1833, and dur- 
ing his life a well-known business man of Port- 
land; Frances Salome, born December 30, 1837, 
and now the widow of Thomas E. Twitchell, and 
a resident of Portland; Charles Robert, born 
July 6, 1842, and died in early youth; Sarah 
Walker, born February 4, 1844, and the subject 
of this sketch; Charles Jarvis, born January 29, 
1848; and Robert, born January 6, 1850, and was 
a well-known business man of Portland. 



186 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



DAVID NELSON BEACH, D.D. Represent- 
ing American idealism in its finest manifesta- 
tions, the life of the Rev. David Nelson Beach, 
D.D., has been one of strenuous and successful 
labor for the uplift of his fellows. As a minister 
of the gospel he has been an inspiring force in 
every community where he has ministered; as a 
writer he has shown no less ability and power 
for good; as an educator and as a commanding 
personality he has wielded a wide and signifi- 
cant influence, while as a worker along the lines 
of civic reform he has. achieved valuable and 
far-reaching results whose end is not yet. Such 
men as he with his unselfish optimism and vig- 
orous love of the best in life are the torch- 
bearers carrying on the flame of that passion 
for the things of the spirit which is at the base 
of the American character. 

David Nelson Beach was born November 30, 
1848, in South Orange, New Jersey, the son of 
Joseph Wickliff and Mary Angeline (Walkley) 
Beach. A younger brother of his is the Rev. 
Harlan Page Beach, the well-known writer and 
authority on missions. The preliminary educa- 
tion of David N. Beach was acquired at South 
Orange and after graduating at Golden Hill In- 
stitute, Bridgeport, Connecticut, in 1868, he went 
to Yale University, from which he was graduated 
in arts in the year 1872. After a year of service 
on the New York Tribune he entered the Divin- 
ity School at Yale and was graduated from this 
in 1876, with the degree (in 1881) of Bachelor 
of Divinity. In 1896, Western Reserve Univer- 
sity recognized his eminent services in the work 
of church unity and temperance reform by con- 
ferring upon him the degree of Doctor of Divin- 
ity. 

Dr. Beach was ordained to the Congregational 
ministry in 1876, and following upon this he 
became the pastor of the Congregational church 
at Westerly, Rhode Island, a charge which he 
held for three years until 1879. From 1879 until 
1884 he held a similar charge in Wakefield, 
Massachusetts, and then for more than eleven 
years did valuable and important work as the 
pastor of Prospect Street Congregational Church 
in Cambridge, Massachusetts, where his remark- 
able power with young men found adequate scope 
with the youth of Harvard University. The two 
years, 1896-1898, he was the pastor of Plymouth 
Congregational Church in Minneapolis, Minne- 
sota, from which he went in 1899 to the First 
Congregational Church, Denver, Colorado, re- 
maining there until 1902. He thereafter accepted 



a call to fill the office of president of Bangor 
Theological Seminary, at the same time occupy- 
ing the chair of homiletics and pastoral theology. 
Dr. Beach has held this position since that time 
doing work whose profound and far-reaching 
significance can only be estimated after this gen- 
eration has passed away. He is one of the sow- 
ers of a seed whose harvest is the spiritual ad- 
vance of the new time of the future. 

Dr. Beach has always been an indefatigable 
worker in the cause of temperance reform and 
it was due in no small degree to him when a 
pastor in Cambridge, Massachusetts, that the 
town was permanently rid of the saloon. He 
has been a worker for other forms of good 
civics, and in his Cambridge days was prominent 
in the agitation for grafting a modification of the 
Norwegian liquor system upon the Massachu- 
setts local option laws. A theologian of the 
progressive conservative type he has been a 
staunch upholder of a revitalization of the pre- 
sentment of theological dogma to suit modern 
conceptions and modern modes of thought, and 
he has done important and unquestionably val- 
uable work in this line and for the cause of 
church unity. He has found time to write a 
number of books of undoubted significance. 
These are: "Plain Words on Our Lord's Work," 
published in 1886; "The Newer Religious Think- 
ing", 1893; "How We Rose" (a Resurrection 
Parable), 1895; "The Intent of Jesus," 1896; 
"Statement of Belief," 1897; "The Annie Laurie 
Mine," 1903; "Meanings of the Battle of Ben- 
nington," 1903; and "A Handbook of Homile- 
tics," 1916. In his political affiliations, Dr. Beach 
is a Republican with qualifications, and is a mem- 
ber of Psi Upsilon fraternity. He holds mem- 
bership also in the Twentieth Century Club, 
Bangor, Maine, and is a corporate member of 
the American Board of Commissioners of For- 
eign Missions. 

Dr. Beach married (first) at Gloucester, Massa- 
chusetts, December 30, 1878, Lilian Tappan, who 
died June 30, 1902; he married (second) at Wake- 
field, Massachusetts, December 18, 1903, Dora 
Freeman, who died March 14, 1915; he married 
(third) at Southington, Connecticut, October 20, 
1916, Ellen Olive Walkley, a daughter of Ste- 
phen and Ellen Augusta (Hobart) Walkley. His 
children, ail of whom were born of the first 
marriage, are: Dorothea Beach, born July 16, 
1882; John Tappan Beach, October 28, 1886; 
Joseph Wickliff Beach, July 31, 1889; and David 
Nelson Beach, Jr., June 17, 1894. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



187 



REV. WILLIAM HENRY FENN, D.D., was 
born in Charleston, South Carolina, on March I, 
1834. He was the second son of Joel and Mary 
Berwick ( Legare) Fenn. His childhod was 
passed in his native city, and on the plantation 
of his grandfather Legare on John's Island. 

When he was about twelve years old, his 
parents brought their family north to be edu- 
cated, and he was placed in Phillips Academy, 
Andover, Massachusetts, where he was gradu- 
ated in the year 1850. In the fall of the same 
year he entered Yale University, where he had 
a brilliant career. Here he was a constant prize 
winner, in particular being awarded the De 
Forest medal, a distinction which he always 
highly cherished. After his graduation from Yale 
in 1854, he returned to Andover and became a 
student in the Andover Theological Seminary. 
During most of his theological course, he was 
also an instructor in his old school, the Phillips 
Academy. 

Immediately upon his graduation he received 
a call from the Franklin Street Congregational 
Church, Manchester, New Hampshire, where he 
remained until 1866. In that year he was called 
to the High Street Congregational Church, Port- 
land, Maine, where he was settled for the re- 
mainder of his active life. The young man had 
not been long in the community before his abili- 
ties won recognition, and he early became a lead- 
ing figure in the life of the city, and in his 
denomination throughout the State. In the year 
1874, he received from Yale University the de- 
gree of Doctor of Divinity. In 1883, he was 
made a corporate member of the American 
Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions 
and he was also for many years, a trustee of 
Bangor Theological Seminary, in the work of 
which institution he took a keen interest. 

Dr. Fenn was an enthusiastic traveller, and 
made a number of visits abroad, as well as travel- 
ling extensively in this country. In 1904, after 
a pastorate of thirty-eight years, he resigned 
from his church. During the latter years of 
his life he spent his winters at Daytona, Florida, 
where he died March II, 1916. 

In 1862, he married Hannah Thornton Mc- 
Gaw, of New York City, who was his constant 
and efficient co-worker during his long ministry. 

Mrs. Fenn was a woman of great mental keen- 
ness, strong character, and great grace and dig- 
nity. She was a social force and a most able 
assistant to her husband. Her death occurred 
in Florida, on December 18, 1915, but a few 
months before that of Dr. Fenn. 



In an article upon the resignation of Dr. Fenn 
from his pulpit at High Street Church published 
in the Congregationalist of July 30, 1904, the writer 
speaks as follows: 

Dr. Fenn enjoyed the friendship and confi- 
dence of the strongest men of Portland in every 
department of business and professional life and 
retired with the esteem of the community. A 
fine humor, a genial disposition, and a kind heart 
won fellowship and affection among all classes, 
despite a certain innate reserve never quite laid 
aside. ... A man of large reading, broad 
mental grasp, wide knowledge of the men and 
movements of the day, he sustained the best 
traditions of New England Congregationalism 
for an able and learned ministry. No one loved 
preaching more than Dr. Fenn, and he made his 
varied knowledge, and power of clear thought, 
vivid imagination and incisive statement con- 
tribute to his presentation of truth. A graceful 
address and richly modulated voice added dig- 
nity of expression to nobility of thought. 

MAJOR FRED HOUDLETT ALBEE, sur- 
geon, United States Army. The surname Albee 
is variously spelled in the early records Allbee, 
Albye, Alber, Aby, Abie, and Abee. The family 
is of English origin. Benjamin Allbee, the immi- 
grant, was as early as 1639 living in Boston, 
Massachusetts. He removed in 1649 to Bedford, 
Massachusetts, where he was one of the first 
selectmen. He afterwards was connected with 
the towns of Mendon, and what is now New Mil- 
ford, Massachusetts: in the latter place he built 
a dam, and started the first mill in that vicinity. 
His last years were spent at Medfield, Massa- 
chusetts. His descendants located in Vermont, 
New Hampshire, and Maine, and of the fifth 
generation was Benjamin Albee, who married a 
Sewall, of Edgecomb, Maine, and had a large 
family of children. 

Ebenezer Albee, son of Benjamin Albee, was 
born in Westport, Maine, in 1775, and died in 
Wiscasset, Maine, in 1848. He married Elizabeth 
Parsons, born in Edgecomb, Maine, in 1778, 
and died in Wiscasset, in 1862. Children: Eben, 
Stephen, Abigail, Jonathan, Clifford, Sewall, Par- 
sons, Samuel, Isaac. All of the sons became sea- 
faring men with the exception of Clifford. 

Sewall Albee, son of Ebenezer Albee, was 
born at Wiscasset, Maine, February 15, 1804. 
He was a sea captain, and sailed ships to foreign 
ports for over forty years. He was also engaged 
in farming, and in politics was an Independent. 
He married, in 1828, Margaret Foye, born in 
Alna, Maine, June 4, 1809. Her grandfather, 
John Foye, married a Sutton, and their seven 
sons, Sutton, James, John, Samuel, William, 



188 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



Robert, and Phillip, all engaged in agricultural 
pursuits, and were Democrats in politics. Sut- 
ton Foye, mentioned above, was born in Wiscas- 
set, Maine, in 1780, and died in that town in 
1840. He married Margaret Achorn, of Waldo- 
boro, Maine, where she was born in 1782; she 
died in Wiscasset, Maine, in 1869. Her two 
brothers, Michael and Jacob Achorn, were sol- 
diers in the Revolutionary War, and Jonathan 
Albee, a brother of Benjamin Albee, served in 
the Colonial and Revolutionary Wars, and en- 
listed for the War of 1812, but was rejected on 
account of age. He lived to be one hundred 
and ten years old. The children of Sewall and 
Margaret (Foye) Albee were: Sutton, Stephen, 
Alfrida, Eben, Sewall, Samuel, Robert, Margaret, 
Lucy A., Caroline T., and F. Huysen. Sewall 
Albee died August 5, 1885; his wife survived him, 
her death occurring April 8, 1800. 

F. Huysen Albee, mentioned above, was born 
in Wiscasset, Maine, October 6, 1848. He is en- 
gaged in farming, and is a Democrat in politics. 
He has served his native town as selectmanj 
and also held the position of deputy sheriff and 
jailer. He is a member of the Methodist church, 
He married, August 8, 1875, Mary C. Houdlett, 
born in Bath, Maine, May 15, 1855, daughter of 
Charles J. and Louise H. (Flint) Houdlett, the 
former a native of Dresden, Maine, the latter, 
of Thomaston, Maine. The children by this mar- 
riage, all born in Alna, Maine, are: Fred Houd- 
lett, mentioned below; Stephen, born April 16, 
1878; Carrie B., born March 24, 1881; Blanche 
M., born June 4, 1883; Geraldine B., born May 
23, 1885; Cleveland Q., born March 23, 1892, 
now (1918) serving as an enlisted man in the 
United States Expeditionary Forces in France; 
and Marion C., born September 16, 1900. 

Fred Houdlett Albee, eldest child of F. Huy- 
sen and Mary C. (Houdlett) Albee, was born 
in Alna, Maine, April 13, 1876. He is of Eng- 
lish and Scotch descent on the paternal side, 
and on the maternal side, French and Irish. 
His preparatory education was obtained at the 
Lincoln Academy at Newcastle, Maine, and he 
entered Bowdoin College in 1895, graduating 
four years later with the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts. He then attended the Harvard Univer- 
sity Medical School, graduating in 1903 with 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine. The Univer- 
sity of Vermont in 1916, conferred upon him 
the honorary degree of Doctor of Science, and 
he received the same honor from Bowdoin Col- 
lege in 1917. 



Dr. Albee has been actively identified with 
community interests, both public and com- 
mercial. He has served as fire commissioner; 
president for the corporation of Colonia, New 
Jersey; president of the McAbee Realty Com- 
pany; director and president of C. R. Macaulay 
Photo Plays, Inc.; and director of the Grape-Ola 
Corporation. In his profession his activities have 
extended into the military field. He is a sur- 
geon in the Medical Corps of the United States 
army, with the rank of major; and chief sur- 
geon of United States General Hospital No. 3, 
at Colonia, New Jersey; member of the Ad- 
visory Orthopedic Council to the Surgeon Gen- 
eral, United States Army, and in the summer of 
1916 was surgeon at the L'Hospital Militaire, 
V. R. 7.6, at Ris Orangis, France. He is author 
of "Bone Graft Surgery," 1915; "Orthopedic and 
Reconstruction Surgery," 1918, and of numerous 
essays and monographs in medical journals. He 
is a member of the college fraternity. Kappa 
Sigma, and of the Phi Chi medical fraternity; 
of the American Medical Association, the Ameri- 
can Roentgen Ray Society, the New York Acad- 
emy of Medicine, the Harlem Medical Society, 
the Academy of Medicine of Northern New Jer- 
sey, and chairman of the orthopedic section, 
Harvard Medical Alumni Association. His social 
clubs are the Harvard Club of New York City, 
the Colonia Country, and Barnegat Hunting and 
Fishing clubs of New Jersey. He and his fam- 
ily attend the Episcopal church. 

Dr. Albee married, February 2, 1907, at Grace 
Church, New York City, Louella May Berry. 
She was born at Williamsport, Pennsylvania, 
January I, 1876, daughter of William Everett 
and Eliza Jane (Marsh) Berry. Her father was 
born April 4, 1843, and died October 3, 1910. 
He was a member of the planing mill firm of 
W. E. Berry & Company, of Williamsport, Penn- 
sylvania. He was a great-grandson of Captain 
Nathaniel Berry, of General Washington's Life 
Guard, who was at Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, 
during the darkest period of the Revolutionary 
War. His wife, Lydia Berry, born at Gardiner 
(or Pittston), Maine, August 22, 1765, was the 
first white female born in that locality. 



ALBERT HENRY BICKMORE, investment 
banker, business man, financier, is identified 
more particularly with New York City than with 
any other part of the country, but he has never 
lost touch with or interest in his native State 
of Maine, so that it is especially appropriate 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



189 



for a notice of him to appear in a volume de- 
voted to the sons of the "Pine Tree State." Mr. 
Bickmore is sprung from that strong old sea- 
faring stock that has made the region of his 
birth famous, the firm characteristics of which 
he has himself inherited. 

He is a son of William Henry Bickmore, a 
shipbuilder and ship captain at Martinsville, 
Maine, and of Margaret (Martin) Bickmore, his 
wife. Mr. Bickmore was himself born at Mar- 
tinsville, October 8, 1869, and his childhood was 
passed in the midst of the wholesome environ- 
ment which a country life in Maine implies. His 
studies were begun at the local public schools, 
and he afterwards attended the High School at 
Camdcn, Maine, where he was prepared for col- 
lege and from which he graduated in 1889. 
He then entered Colby College, where he took 
tlir usual classical course and graduated there 
with the class of 1893 with the degree of Bache- 
lor of Arts. After the completion of his stu- 
dies he went to New York City and there en- 
gaged in the investment banking business, in 
which he met with a high degree of success 
from the outset. He is now the senior member 
of the firm of A. H. Bickmore & Company, 
bankers, with offices at No. in Broadway, New 
York City 

But Mr. Bickmore's interests are far wider 
than is suggested by the above statement. Be- 
sides his private business he is associated with a 
great number of important concerns in various 
parts of the country. He is the president and 
a director of the Union Securities Company, 
president of the Securities Trading Corporation, 
and vice-president and a director of the Na- 
tional Light, Heat and Power Company, the 
Taylorville Gas and Electric Company, the Pana 
Gas and Electric Company, the Marshall Gas 
and Electric Company, the Lexington Gas and 
Electric Company, the City Gas and Electric 
Company of Paris, the Jerseyville Illuminating 
Company, the Hoosick Falls Illuminating Com- 
pany, the Bennington Electric Company, the 
Springfield Coal Mining Company, and other 
concerns. In politics Mr. Bickmore is a Re- 
publican, but although he is keenly interested 
in political issues he has never identified him- 
self closely with any party organization, especi- 
ally as the demands upon his time and energies 
made by his extensive business interests are 
very heavy. He is a prominent club man, how- 
ever, and is a member of many societies and 
organizations including the Delta Upsilion, col- 
lege fraternity, which he joined as a student at 



Colby College, where he was also a Phi Beta 
Kappa man; the Maine Society of New York, 
of which he is president; the Graduates' Club, 
of which he is the president; the Union League 
Club; the Saint Nicholas Club; the Atlantic Yacht 
Club; Ardsley Country Club; the Dunwoodie 
Country Club; the Lawyers' Club; the Cumber- 
land Club of Portland, Maine; and the Megunti- 
cook Golf Club of Camden, Maine. As will be 
seen from this list, Mr. Bickmore is devoted to 
many forms of outdoor sport and exercise. 

Albert Henry Bickmore was united in mar- 
riage, October 2, 1901, at the town of Camden. 
Maine, with Myrtle Lillian French, a daughter 
of Thomas D. and Dora R. (Bragg) French, 
highly-respected residents of that place. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Bickmore have been born two chil- 
dren: Albert Henry, Jr., October 20, 1904; and 
Jesse Ogier, April 4, 1906. 



FRED HENRY LANCASTER, the well- 
known attorney of Auburn, Maine, and the pres- 
ent recorder of the Municipal Court of that city, 
comes of old Maine stock, his family having 
resided for a number of generations in the State. 
Here his paternal grandfather, Henry Lancaster, 
was born, in the town of Albion, and here he 
lived during his entire life, being engaged most 
of this time in farming. He married Sarah Cros- 
by, of an equally old Maine family, and they 
became the parents of four children, all of whom 
are living today as follows: Henry K., who is 
mentioned below; Zelotus A., Fred A., and Judge 
William A., oi whom Zelotus A. and Fred A., 
still make their home in their native State. 

Henry K. Lancaster, father of Fred Henry Lan- 
caster, was born at Albion, Maine, in 1852. Like 
his father before him, he has followed farming 
throughout his life, and at the time of his death, 
June 18, 1917, was living in Pittsfield, Maine, 
owning a farm thereabouts. He married Mary 
E. Higgins, a native of Portland, and they be- 
came the parents of two children, as follows: 
Ina M., who became the wife of Otis O. Allen, 
of Kennebunk, Maine, and the mother of two 
children: Miles A. and Philip F.; and Fred 
Henry. 

Fred Henry Lancaster was born June 22, 1885, 
at Pittsfield, Maine, and there passed his child- 
hood and youth, attending the public schools for 
his education. At the age of sixteen he became 
a pupil at the Maine Central Institute of Pitts- 
field, and graduated in 1905, having been pre- 
pared here for college. Immediately he matric- 
ulated at Bates College, Lewiston, taking the 



190 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



usual academic course and graduated with the 
class of 1909, receiving the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts. For a number of years Mr. Lancaster 
had possessed a strong ambition to follow the 
law as his career in life and accordingly, after 
completing his general education, he entered the 
Georgetown University Law School, where after 
establishing a record of unusually good scholar- 
ship he graduated in 1912. During the two years 
which intervened between that time and Febru- 
ary, 1914, Mr. Lancaster spent in the office of 
McGilhcuddy & Morey, attorneys of Lewiston, 
and there he became familiar with the practical 
side of his profession. In 1914 he was admitted 
to the bar of Androscoggin county, opened an 
office in Auburn, and has continued in active 
practice here ever since. Mr. Lancaster has 
made for himself an enviable reputation in the 
legal circles of the community, and is regarded 
as one of the leaders of the county bar. He has 
not confined his activities to the practice of his 
profession, however, but has employed his un- 
usual organizing ability in other directions as 
well, and is associated with a number of im- 
portant enterprises. He is at the present time 
president of the Lancaster & Lane Hotel Com- 
pany, which operates one of the best known 
hotels on one of the best known lakes in New 
Hampshire. The Weirs House, situated on the 
shore of Lake Winnipesaukee, is well known 
throughout the entire East and is one of the 
most popular and high-class summer resorts. 

Mr. Lancaster has always taken a keen interest 
in local affairs, and while in no sense of the 
word a politician is nevertheless looked upon 
as an important factor in the political world 
there. He is a Democrat in politics, and at the 
present time (1917) is recorder of the Munici- 
pal Court in Auburn. He was elected to the 
office in 1916, took office, December 19, in that 
year, for a term which will last four years. Mr. 
Lancaster is also prominent in fraternal circles, 
and is a member of the lodges of the Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and the Improved Order 
of Red Men. In his religious belief he is a 
Baptist. 

Fred Henry Lancaster was united in marriage 
on Christmas Day, 1912, at Auburn, with Amy E. 
Bartlett, a native of Chichester, New Hampshire, 
l daughter of George E. Bartlett, engaged in the 
dry goods business in that place, and Eleanor 
(Edmunds) Bartlett, his wife. There has been 
one child by this marriage, Eleanor Mary, born 
August 28, 1917. 



DAVID AUGUSTUS BOODY One of those 
sons of Maine who have conferred distinction 
on their native State, is David Augustus Boody, 
for many years a prominent citizen of Brook- 
lyn, where he resides, and of New York, where 
he is one of the influential men in financial cir- 
cles. David A. Boody comes of an old family, 
he himself being of the sixth American genera- 
tion. The line is traced from Zechariah Boodey 
as the name was then spelled, who was born in 
France, and died in Madbury, New Hampshire, 
about 1755, at an advanced age. The tradition 
is that the youth deserted from a French ship 
in Boston harbor and after encountering many 
adventures, settled in Madbury, and became the 
owner of seventy-five acres of land which he re- 
claimed. From this Zechariah the lines come 
down through his son Azariah Boodey, and his 
son the Rev. Robert Boodey, who in 1772 re- 
moved to Limington, Maine, where he was 
chosen one of the first officers of the town. 
John Hill Boodey was the third son of Rev. 
Robert Boodey, and his son, David Boody (spell- 
ing his name thus), was the father of David 
Augustus I^oody of the present sketch. David 
Boody married Lucretia B. Mudgett, daughter 
of John and Mary (Odam) Mudgett, of Prospect, 
Maine, and their children were: Fitzburgh, re- 
sides in Lawrence, Massachusetts; David A., of 
the present mention; Laura A., married Dr. Sam- 
uel W. Johnson, and resides in Belfast, Maine; 
'John H., of Jackson, Maine; Napoleon B., re- 
sides in Medfield, Massachusetts; Josephine, re- 
sides in Brooks, Maine, widow of Andrew B. 
Fogg. 

David A. Boody was born August 13, 1837, in 
Jackson, Maine. He attended the public schools 
of his native town, and was afterwards a 
student at Phillips-Andover Academy. He took 
up the study of law in the office of Charles M. 
Brown, of Bangor, Maine, and completed his 
course under Jeremiah Abbott, a distinguished 
lawyer of Belfast, Maine, where Mr. Boody was 
admitted to the bar. He engaged in practice in 
Camden and at Thomaston, Maine, and subse- 
quently entered the banking office of Henry H. 
Boody & Company, in New York City as a clerk. 
Here his progress was rapid, and within a year 
he had entered into partnership, his uncle being 
head of the firm, and had purchased a seat in 
the New York Stock Exchange. For nearly 
twenty years he continued an active member of 
that body, being for a long period one of its 
board of governors. For some time he was 
president of the City Savings Bank of Brook- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



191 



lyn (in which city he maintains his home), and 
of the Thomas Jefferson Association; was vice- 
president of the Long Island Free Library. He 
is president and a trustee of the Brooklyn Free 
Library, of Berkeley Institute, and of the Insti- 
tute for the Blind; he is vice-president and di- 
rector of the Brooklyn Life Insurance Company, 
and of the Sprague National Bank; and a di- 
rector of the People's Trust Company. Mr. 
Boody was one of the founders of the Montauk 
Club, of which he is still in active membership, 
and is also identified with the Brooklyn and 
president of the New England Society. 

Mr. Boody has always taken an active interest 
in political affairs, affiliating with the Democratic 
party, and has filled two offices of conspicuous 
importance and honor. In 1890 he was elected 
as representative from the Second Congressional 
District in the Fifty-second Congress, and re- 
signed to this office to accept that of mayor of 
the city of Brooklyn, to which he was elected 
in the fall of 1891, and served for the years 
1892-93. He was the twenty-third individual to 
occupy that office. He was active in securing 
many improvements in the city government, and 
served his constituency faithfully and with credit. 
Mr. Boody displays great physical and mental 
vigor, and is a very busy man, although now 
past the age when most men retire from busi- 
ness activities. Having served his fellow citi- 
zens for a reasonable time, he gladly laid down 
the responsibilities of office in order to give 
time to his personal affairs. His home in Ber- 
keley Place, Brooklyn, is one of the recognized 
social centers of the district. 



CHARLES WASHINGTON BRAY, M.D., 

was born in Naples, Maine, August 5, 1850. His 
early education was obtained at the town school. 
From 1867 to 1869 he attended Westbrook Semi- 
nary. In January, 1870, he commenced the study 
of medicine with Dr. Eugene W. Brooks, of 
Naples, Maine. On December 3, 1871, he regis- 
tered with Dr. S. H. Tewksbury, of Portland, 
as his student. In 1872 he attended the spring 
term of the Bowdoin Medical School, and in Sep- 
tember, 1872, he entered the medical depart- 
ment of Columbia University, New York, and 
graduated March 4, 1874. In June, 1874, he en- 
tered into partnership with Dr. Tewksbury and 
remained with him until his death, July, 1880. 
He was one of the founders of the Portland Med- 
ical Club. For many years he was Consulting 
Surgeon of the Maine Eye and Ear Infirmary. 
From 1876 to 1878 he was Demonstrator of Anat- 



omy of the Bowdoin Medical School and instruc- 
tor in anatomy of the Portland Medical School. 
On July 16, 1877, he was commissioned as A- 
sistant Surgeon, with rank of First Lieutenant of 
the First Regiment Infantry, Maine Volunteer 
Militia. On September 7, 1880, he was commis- 
sioned as surgeon with the rank of major, and 
on December 10, 1883, he resigned and was hon- 
orably discharged. 

Dr. Bray is a member of the American Medi- 
cal Association, Maine State and County Medi- 
cal Association, and the Portland Medical Club, 
serving as president of the same for one year. 
He is a member of the Cumberland Club, Port- 
land Athletic Club, Portland Yacht Club, Natural 
History Society, and Maine Mechanics' Charit- 
able Association. He joined the Portland Yacht 
Club, May 5, 1873, and was commodore from 
1887 to 1899, and fleet surgeon from 1907 to 1917. 
He has been in the continuous practice of medi- 
cine from 1874 to the present time; was the first 
physician to use diphtheria antitoxin in Portland, 
in 1894, on Harry Adams, No. 7 Greenleaf street, 
with very satisfactory results. In politics he is a 
Democrat. In 1915 the family moved to South 
Portland. Office in Portland. 



CLARENCE PAUL QUIMBY The 

Quimby family, of which Clarence Paul Quimby 
is at the present time (1917) the representative 
in the city of Portland, Maine, has long been 
identified >vith New England generally, but prin- 
cipally with that northern part of it which is 
included in the states of Maine, New Hampshire 
and Vermont. One branch of the family settled 
in Maine at a very early date, and from there 
various offshoots spread over that State and 
through New Hampshire and it was from one 
of the latter that the Mr. Quimby of this sketch 
is descended. The name is not found very com- 
monly among the early immigrants in America, 
but there is a definite record of one Robert 
Quimby, who resided at Amesbury, Massachu- 
setts, in the very early Colonial period, where 
he followed ship carpentering as an occupation. 
Here he was married about 1657 to Elizabeth 
Osgood, of Salisbury, a daughter of William and 
Elizabeth Osgood, of that place. The probabil- 
ity is that he lost his life in the Indian massacre 
at Amesbury, July 7, 1677, as it is known that he 
died in that year. One of his descendants was 
J. Frank Quimby, the father of the Mr. Quimby 
of this sketch, who was born at Dover, New 
Hampshire, and now makes his home at North 
Turner, Maine. He has been a farmer during 



192 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



practically his entire life, but has also engaged 
in various other lines of business. He has been 
closely identified with the general life of the 
communities where he has dwelt, and at one 
time represented Turner in the State Legis- 
lature. Mr. Quimby married, May 18, 1884, 
Althea Gorld Coffin who like her husband, has 
taken a most active part in the life of the com- 
munity and has become prominent in connec- 
tion with the work of women in the State. She 
is at the present time president of the Maine 
State Women's Christian Union. Mr. and Mrs. 
Quimby are the parents of three children, 
as follows: Eugene, deceased; Clarence Paul, 
with whose career we are particularly concerned; 
and Frank Brooks, now a student at Bates Col- 
lege. 

Born March 20, 1889, Clarence Paul Quimby 
is a native of North Turner, Maine, and passed 
his childhood in that town. He attended for a 
time Leavitt Institute, where he was prepared 
for college and from which he graduated in 1906. 
The following autumn he matriculated at Bates 
College and was graduated with the class of 
1910, establishing for himself a remarkably high 
record in forensics and scholarship. Indeed he 
may be said to be one of the most notable 
scholars for his age in the State and has already 
gained the recognition of men of learning every- 
where. To a man of Mr. Quimby's character 
and attainments, the subject of education is nat- 
urally of well-nigh paramount importance, and 
we find that his attention has been given to 
this subject from early in his youth. For six 
years he has taught in various schools in the 
states of Massachusetts, Maine and New Hamp- 
shire, took a year of graduate work as a uni- 
versity scholar in Harvard University, and in 
1914 was offered the position of principal of the 
well-known Westbrook Seminary in Portland, 
an extraordinary honor to be extended to a man 
of but twenty-five years of age. This offer Mr. 
Quimby accepted, and since assuming the respon- 
sible duties of his new post has done much to 
organize and render effective the resources of 
that school. The Westbrook Seminary is one 
of the best known schools for boys and girls in 
the New England States. It was chartered in 
1831, and its first schoolhouse was opened for 
instruction in 1834. Since that time it has stead- 
ily grown in importance until it now occupies 
quite a unique position among institutions of its 
kind in Maine. Mr. Quimby has taken full ad- 
vantage of the opportunities offered to him in 



his capacity of principal of this institution, and 
has already distinguished himself so that he de- 
serves a place among the most capable and suc- 
cessful educators of the State. Mr. Quimby does 
not confine his activities, however, to the pro- 
fession of teaching, but takes a vital part in the 
general life of Portland and is a well-known 
figure in the city's affairs. He is affiliated with 
the Masonic Order and the Grange, and is presi- 
dent of Bates Chapter, Delta Sigma Rho frater- 
ternity. In his religious belief Mr. Quimby is a 
Methodist, but so enthusiastic is he in church 
work that he has given his services as teacher 
in the Sunday school of All Souls' Church of 
Portland, which he attends. He has not resided 
for a great time in Portland, and yet he has 
already made for himself an important place in 
the life of the community and is a leader in not 
a few movements undertaken there for the wel- 
fare of the city. His public spirit is recognized 
by his fellow citizens; and his advice is both 
sought and heeded, particularly in educational 
matters, but in other subjects as well. Mr. 
Quimby is a man who enjoys out-door life 
intensely and indeed almost any pastime in the 
open air appeals to him, but he finds his chief 
recreation in the game of tennis, to which he 
gives most of the time that he can spare from 
graver subjects. He is a staunch advocate of 
open air exercise for everyone and encourages 
the use of it to a very great extent among the 
pupils of his school, believing that not only the 
body but the mind also is greatly strengthened 
by such exercise. 

Clarence Paul Quimby was united in marriage 
with Lillian R. Rowe, a native of Sidney, Aus- 
tralia, a daughter of Anthony and Sarah C. 
(Trethaway) Rowe. Their marriage was cele- 
brated August 12, 1914, and they are the parents 
of one child, a daughter, Elizabeth Coffin, born 
November 25, 1915. 

The record of Mr. Quimby's achievement is 
truly an extraordinary one, in view of his com- 
parative youth. The line which he has chosen 
to work in is not one in which success is often 
won until men have reached, at the very least, 
the prime of life and are beginning to travel the 
declining road. Or if success is reached before 
this, at least recognition is almost universally 
withheld, so that it is a decidedly rare spectacle 
that of a young man who is acknowledged an 
educator of distinction. This honor is gener- 
ally reserved for gray hairs. A career begun 
so brilliantly cannot but promise still more for 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



193 



the future and it requires but little gift for 
prophecy to predict a long series of personal 
achievements and public services. Mr. Quimby's 
work in the cause of education affords an ex- 
cellent example of what may be accomplished 
in a comparatively few years by a man who, 
gifted with natural talents, bends to his work 
his full attention and excludes all other purposes. 
In all his relations with his fellows, Mr. Quimby 
takes a generous and altruistic position and 
never has forgotten the rights and interests of 
others in the excitement of winning his own 
way and affecting his own purpose. 



MAJOR JOHN WING PRENTISS is one of 
that large class of college-bred business men 
who offered their services to their country as 
soon as she entered the World War for democ- 
racy. Having reached his meridian he could not 
give his country service in the field. But in- 
volved as irost men of his type are in business 
affairs of large issues, he cheerfully and enthus- 
iastically offered his experience and training and 
gave up his personal aims and ambitions to be- 
come a cog in the great system of supply which 
is at the back of the machine of modern war. 
An executive of high class, and of recognized 
standing, he gave himself to be used by the gov- 
ernment where it would most need him. It af- 
fords a new matter of pride to the lover of 
American institutions that men like this by thou- 
sands, the flower of the mature manhood of the 
country, are content to serve in the exacting and 
monotonous but necessary labor behind the 
lines. 

Major John Wing Prentiss was born August 
IS, 1875, in Bangor, Maine, the son of Samuel 
Rawson and Maria (Wing) Prentiss, both of 
them also natives of Bangor. On both sides 
he has been identified with Bangor for many 
years, his paternal grandfather, Henry E. Pren- 
tiss, and his maternal grandfather, Aaron Wing, 
having both lived in that city. Part of his boy- 
hood surroundings were in California, his parents 
having removed to San Francisco when he was 
still a very young child and for ten years made 
their home in that city. In California he was 
sent to the Belmont School. In 1892 young Mr. 
Prentiss entered the famous Phillips Andover 
Academy. There, while being an excellent stu- 
dent, he entered into all the varied social activi- 
ties of the school. He was a member of the 
"A. U. V." Society, and was the tennis cham- 
pion of the academy. He was graduated from 

MH. 1 13 



Andover in 1894. In the fall of 1804 Mr. Pren- 
tiss matriculated in arts at Harvard University. 
While in Cambridge he was a member of the 
Polo Club, Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity, of 
the Institute of 1770, and of the Hasty Pudding 
Club. He was graduated in 1898, receiving the 
degree oif Bachelor of Arts. Always keenly in- 
terested in sports, Mr. Prentiss was for several 
years after graduation assistant graduate man- 
ager of the Harvard football office. In the fall 
of 1898 he entered the employ of a banking firm 
in Boston and worked as messenger boy, stock 
clerk, etc. January I, 1905, he went to New York 
and entered the service of Hornblower & Weeks, 
remaining with them, and after being taken into 
the partnership became the senior member in 
New York City, of this well-known banking firm. 
In 1910 Mr. Prentiss organized the National 
Squash Tennis Association, and he was made its 
first president. For the four years from 1913 
to 1917 he was the treasurer of the Harvard Club 
of New York City. He has always been a very 
loyal son of his alma mater and been active in 
all the movements set afoot for her help and 
improvement. At present he is treasurer of the 
Harvard Endowment Fund Committee, is a di- 
rector of the Harvard Alumni Association and 
is chairman on nominations of Harvard Over- 
seers. Major Prentiss was elected in 1916 presi- 
dent of the Partners' Association of New York 
Stock Exchange firms. Enthusiastic always for 
patriotic service he offered at once to help on 
the Liberty Loan work and was appointed in 
19:7 chairman of the First Liberty Loan Com- 
mittee of the New York Stock Exchange. In 
the next month he was made chairman of the 
first Red Cross War Fund Committee of the 
New York Stock Exchange. 

But still more exacting work was awaiting 
him, and in June, 1917, Major Prentiss moved 
to Washington to become the financial assistant 
to the War Council of the American Red Cross, 
and he held that post until June I, 1918. In 1918 
he was appointed by the President as a mem- 
ber of the National War Finance Committee of 
the American Red Cross. His services with the 
Red Cross lasted for one year, and during that 
period his whole time was taken up with this 
work of helping to raise the money for the first 
and second Red Cross War Funds. June I, 1918, 
he entered the active service of the Government, 
having been appointed a major in the Ordnance 
Reserve Corps, and is now (1918) stationed in 
the purchase and supply branch of the purchase, 



194 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



storage and traffic division, and is assigned to 
the office of the Chief of Staff. While in busi- 
ness life he was director in the following cor- 
porations: the United Alloy Steel Company, the 
Tran.sue & Williams Steel Forging Company, the 
Chevrolet Motor Car Company, the Chandler 
Motor Car Company, the Lee Rubber & Tire 
Company, and in the firm of Gaston, Williams 
& Wigmore. Upon entering the service of the 
United States, Major Prentiss resigned from 
these boards. 

Major Prentiss belongs, in New York City, 
to the Union, the Brook, the Racquet and Ten- 
nis, the Union League, the University, the Met- 
ropolitan, and the Harvard clubs, and to the 
Down Town Association; in Boston, he belongs 
to the Tennis and Racquet, and the Harvard 
clubs; and in Washington to the Metropolitan, 
the Chevy Chase and the United Service clubs. 
He also holds membership in Holland Lodge, 
No. 8, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
New York. He and his family are members of 
the Unitarian church. 

Major Prentiss married, April 20, 1904, in 
Brookline, Massachusetts, Marie Gordon Kay, 
daughter of James Murray and Marie (Mc- 
Arthur) Kay. 



RICHARD WEBB, a member of one of the 
old Maine families and at present one of the 
leading members of the Portland bar, was born 
in that city, November 19, 1863. He was a son 
of Mason Greenwood and Elizabeth N. (Bates) 
Webft, both his parents having been natives of 
Maine. Mr. Webb, Sr., was born in Portland, 
June 24, 1832, and died at Fort Scott, Kansas, 
March 28, 1871. He was engaged during the 
major part of his life in the wholesale flour 
business. He lived in Portland during his entire 
life, and his death occurred while on a trip out 
West, the object of which was the regaining of 
his lost health. He married Elizabeth N. Bates, 
who was born at Norridgewolk, Maine, January 
II, 1839, and died in Portland, January 15, 1916. 
To them three children were born, all of whom 
are now living, as follows: Richard, of whom 
further; Mary, now the wife of Benjamin H. 
Farnsworth, of Portland; and Edward Cloutman, 
of Boston, where he is associated with the Stan- 
dard Silverware Company as its manager. 

Richard Webb continued to live in the city of 
his birth during childhood and attended in the 
meantime the public schools there. He gradu- 
ated from the Portland High School in 1881, and 



immediately entered Dartmouth College for 
which he had prepared in the former institution. 
He left an excellent record for scholarship and 
industry behind him, and graduated with the 
class of 1885, taking his degree of A. B. Three 
years later, in 1888, his alma mater conferred 
upon him the honorary degree of A. M. In the 
meantime the interest of young Mr. Webb had 
been centered on the subject of the law, which 
he had decided to make his profession in life. 
Accordingly, upon his graduation from Dart- 
mouth, he began reading law in the office of 
George F. Holmes, a prominent attorney of Port- 
land, and pursued his studies to such good pur- 
pose that he was admitted to the bar of Maine 
in 1887. From that time to this he has been 
engaged in a large and growing practice in Port- 
land. He has his office at No. 95 Exchange 
street, Portland, and is looked up to alike by 
his colleagues at the bar and the community in 
general. ' 

Mr. Webb has been by no means hampered 
in the interest which he has taken in the public 
affairs of his community by the great demands 
made upon his time by his profession. He is 
personally very popular with his fellow citizens 
and was elected by them on the Republican ticket 
to represent the community in the State Legis- 
lature in 1899 and 1901. In 1904 he attended 
the Republican National Convention as an alter- 
nate delegate-at-large, and in 1908 he was chosen 
delegate to represent the First Congressional 
District. He has also served on the school board 
and in a number of other capacities, in all of 
which he has rendered invaluable service to his 
community Mr. Webb is a Unitarian in his 
religious belief, and for twelve years has been 
the president of the First Parish Society. 

On February 15, 1893, Richard Webb was 
united in marriage with Eva Brinckerhoff, a na? 
tive of Brooklyn, New York, a daughter of Louis 
Drake and Isabelle (Bridghman) Brinckerhoff. 



WILLIAM SENTER The jewelry business 
is an inherited occupation in the Senter family 
and three generations have been prominent in 
Portland, Maine, as skilled workmen and jewelry 
merchants. The first William Senter married 
Dorothy Gerrish, daughter of Timothy Gerrish, 
a gold and silversmith who taught his trade to 
his sons, and one of them, Oliver Gerrish, took 
his sister's son, William (2) Senter, as an appren- 
tice. William (2) Senter in turn taught the 
trade to his nephew, another William Senter, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



195 



son of Timothy Gerrish Senter, who was a 
brother of William (2) Senter and son of Will- 
iam (i) and Dorothy (Gerrish) Senter. This 
William (3) Senter succeeded his uncle in busi- 
ness and is the present head of William Senter 
& Company, jewelers, No. 51 Exchange street, 
Portland, Maine. 

The Senter and Gerrish families were of Ports- 
mouth, New Hampshire, William (l) Senter 
there marrying Dorothy Gerrish, September I, 
1808. She was born at Portsmouth, January I, 
1791, died September 27, 1867, daughter of Tim- 
othy Gerrish, son of Andrew Gerrish, son of 
Colonel Timothy Gerrish, son of Captain John 
Gerrish, son of Captain William Gerrish, the 
American ancestor. Captain William Gerrish, 
born in Bristol, England, August 30, 1617, was 
the first captain of the military company at New- 
bury, Massachusetts, and a man of prominence 
in Boston and Essex county. His eldest son, 
Captain John Gerrish, settled in Dover, New 
Hampshire, in 1666, was quartermaster in 1670, 
captain in 1672, high constable in 1683, member 
of the special General Assembly, 1684, Represen- 
tative from Dover, 1689-90, Royal Councillor of 
New Hampshire, 1692, Assistant Justice of the 
Supreme Court of Pleas of New Hampshire, 
April 27, 1697, until his death in 1714. 

Colonel Timothy Gerrish, fifth son of Captain 
John Gerrish, was a wealthy farmer and mer- 
chant of Kittery, Maine, as his father had been 
of Dover, New Hampshire, and filled many pub- 
lic offices. He married Sarah Eliot, daughter 
of Robert and Margery (Batson) Eliot, who re- 
ceived as her wedding dowry the eastern end 
of Champernowe Island containing nearly one 
thousand acres and which for nearly two hun- 
dred years has been known as Gerrish's Island 
and the residence of Gerrish descendants. Col- 
onel Timothy Gerrish's sixth son, Andrew Ger- 
ish, lived in various places, including Dover, New 
Hampshire, and there his son, Timothy Gerrish, 
was born April 7, 1756. He was a gold and 
silversmith, but for the sixteen years preceding 
his death at Portsmouth, New Hampshire, De- 
cember 30, 1815, was deputy sheriff and jail war- 
den. He married, February 6, 1780, Dorothy 
Patterson, of Portsmouth. Their sixth child, 
Dorothy Gerrish, born January I, 1791, died Sep- 
tember 27, 1867, married (first) September I, 
1808, William (l) Senter. Among their seven 
children were sons: William (2), Timothy Ger- 
rish and Andrew. William, the eldest, and An- 
drew, the youngest, were both expert jewelers 
and were associated in the business in Portland, 



Maine, the firm Lowell & Senter, becoming large 
and prosperous. 

The second son, Timothy Gerrish Senter, was 
born at Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Febru- 
ary I, 1817, died August 7, 1872. He was a man 
of learning, and embracing pedagogy became 
one of the well known and highly successful 
educators of his day. From 1836 to 1858 he 
taught in the public schools of Portsmouth, go- 
ing thence to Lynn, Massachusetts, as principal 
of Ward 4 Grammar School, a position he filled 
until 1866. In that year he became the first 
principal of Dean Academy at Franklin, Massa- 
chusetts. He held that responsible post until 
1871, when he resigned to take a much needed 
rest. He moved to Portland, there residing 
until his death the following year. Professor 
Senter was greatly beloved, a man of high char- 
acter, brilliant mind and charming personality. 
He held high rank in his profession, in the Ma- 
sonic Order and in the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, numbering his friends wherever 
known. He married, March 18, 1841, Emeline 
Dodge, born in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, 
in 1818, died in Portland, in 1900. Professor and 
Mrs. Senter were the parents of two sons and a 
daughter: I. Joseph Herbert, born September 
24, 1842; a graduate of Harvard College, class 
of 1861; studied theology in Harvard Divinity 
School and entered the ministry of the Uni- 
tarian church; after several years in the ministry 
he retired and has since been engaged in library 
work, holding important positions at Harvard 
University, in Cincinnati, Ohio, the Century 
Club, and Astor Library, New York City. a. 
Emma Dodge, a resident of Portland, identified 
with many philanthropies. 3. William, of further 
mention. 

William Senter, youngest son of Professor 
Timothy Gerrish and Emeline (Dodge) Senter, 
was born in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, No- 
vember 5, 1850, and there resided until 1858, 
when his parents moved to Lynn, Massachusetts. 
He attended public schools until fifteen years 
of age, then went to Portland, where he learned 
the jeweler's trade with his uncle, William Sen- 
ter, who there had established the firm of Will- 
iam Senter & Company in association with 
Abner Lowell. While learning his trade he at- 
tended night schools, therein completing his 
education. In 1874 he became a partner in the 
business. He was associated with his uncle 
until the latter's death, December 22, 1888, and 
he then succeeded him as head of the business, 
which he continues under the olden time style 



196 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



and title, William Senter & Company. This 
firm was established in 1836, and in addition to 
a general jewelry business carried a line of 
goods used by navigators and at that time was 
the only jewelry store in the country which car- 
ried a full line of nautical instruments. The 
founder was an enthusiastic yachtsman and 
widely known through his yacht Sparkle, a 
novel and wonderful craft in her day. His suc- 
cessor is equally enthusiastic as a yachtsman 
and for twenty-one years cruised New England 
waters in the yacht Grade. The line of nautical 
instruments, has always been retained as a 
specialty, and the entire business is conducted 
along the ideas of the founder, but modernized. 
The reputation of the company extends far be- 
yond local limits, and has a justly earned state 
wide reputation for reliability. 

Mr. Senter is a member and for many years 
was commodore of the Portland Yacht Club; 
member of the Portland Athletic Club, Cumber- 
land Club, and prominent in the Masonic Order, 
being a member of the Shrine; he is a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the 
Society of Colonial Wars, Sons of the Revolu- 
tion, Maine Historical Society, the Society of 
Arts Club, and the Portland Country Club. In 
political faith he is a Republican, and in religious 
faith a member of the State Street Congrega- 
tional Church. 

Mr. Senter married, in Portland, October 31, 
1894, Grace Jordan, daughter of Winthrop S. 
and Elizabeth (Merrill) Jordan, of Portland. 



ALBERT L. HAINES From the age of 
three years, in 1845, until his death, in 1909, 
Albert L. Haines resided in Fort Fairfield, 
Maine. He was a farmer and a merchant, a 
Civil War veteran, and a man genuinely respected 
for his manly character and upright life. He 
was of the seventh generation of the family 
founded in New England by Samuel Haines, an 
Englishman. Samuel Haines was born in Eng- 
land, about 1611, died in Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, about 1686. He served nine years 
as an apprentice to John Cogswell, a cloth manu- 
facturer of Westbury, Wiltshire, England, then 
in 1635 came to New England, with John Cogs- 
well, on the ship, Angel Gabriel, arriving at 
Pomaquid, now Bristol, Maine, August 14, 1635. 
He returned to England in 1638, and married 
in the church at Delton, Wiltshire, Ellenor 
Neate, who was living at the time he made his 
will in 1682. In 1640 he came again to New 
England, settling at Northam, New Hampshire. 



He was a signer of the "Dover Combination," 
October 16, 1640, and in 1648 he was taxed in 
Dover. In 1650 he rented a farm of Captain 
Francis Champerdown, at Strawberry Bank, and 
two years later bought a tract of ninety-one 
acres adjoining this farm and built a house. He 
signed the petition to have the name Strawberry 
Bank changed to Portsmouth, in 1653, and the 
same year he was a selectman of Portsmouth, an 
office he held for ten years. He was one of the 
founders of the North Church at Portsmouth, 
and in 1671 was a deacon of that church. The 
line of descent is through his youngest son, 
Matthias. 

Matthias Haines was born in Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, in 1650, and died in the winter of 
1688-89. He lived near the old homestead, and 
it is said that he dropped dead while on the 
way to a neighbor's house. John Smith thus 
testified, January 18, 1747: "Matthias Haines 
lived near where Daniel Hunt then lived, and 
his brother died in the winter time, a few days 
of one another, the event very much taken no- 
tice of and considered a remarkable Providence, 
for they were noted men and carried on their 
work and business in partnership." Matthias 
Haines married, December 28, 1671, Jane Brack- 
ett, daughter of Anthony and Thomas Brackett, 
who was killed by the Indians. Their three sons 
were born in Greenland, near Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire. 

Samuel Haines, eldest son of Matthias Haines 
was born December 25, 1674, died before July 
i, 1729, a farmer. He married, and had issue, 
including a son, John. 

John Haines was born in Greenland, New 
Hampshire, died in Exeter, New Hampshire, 
prior to May 13, 1777. He was a blacksmith by 
trade, having his shop at Exeter. He married 
(first) before 1729, Anna Thyng, daughter of 
Captain Thyng, who died October 31, 1694, the 
verdict of the jury which sat on his case being: 
"Shot by his own gun." He married (second) 
Hannah Wiggin. 

John (2) Haines, son of John (i) Haines, and 
his first wile, Anna Thyng, was born in Exeter, 
in 1738, died in 1810. About 1773 he moved 
to Gilmantown, New Hampshire, and on August 
26, 1776, there signed the "Test Act." Later 
he moved to Hallowell, Maine, where he died. 
His farm at Hallowell included the famous gran- 
ite quarry long known as "Haines Ledge," owned 
by Governor Bodwell. He married Mary Dud- 
ley, born in 1720, died August 30, 1797. One 
of their daughters, Johanna, married Daniel 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



197 



Evans, and was the mother of George Evans, a 
United States Senator from Maine, said by Dan- 
iel Webster to be "the ablest lawyer in New 
England." 

Daniel Haines, son of John (2) and Mary 
(Dudley) Haines, was born in Gilmanton, New 
Hampshire, November 6, 1779, died July 2, 1838, 
having live 1 the greater part of his life in Maine. 
He married, October 10, 1804, Betsey Wingate, 
of Hallowell, born September, 1784, died Febru- 
ary 21, 1826. 

Joseph Wingate Haines, son of Daniel and 
Betsey (Wingate) Haines, was born in Man- 
chester, Maine, July 21, 1805, died at Andover, 
New Brunswick, Canada, January 30, 1876. He 
settled after his marriage in Hodgdon, Maine, 
then moved to Fort Fairfield, Maine, where he 
engaged all his life in farming. He was a mem- 
ber of the Society of Friends, in politics a Whig, 
and later a Republican. He married, March 28, 
1828, Mary B. Briggs, born in Winthrop, Maine, 
June 30, 1805, died at Fort Fairfield, in May, 
1874. They were the parents of seventeen chil- 
dren, born between April 19, 1829, and Janu- 
ary 27, 1848, the twelfth child being a son, Albert 
L., to whom this review is dedicated. 

Albert L. Haines was born in Hallowell, 
Maine, December 10, 1842, died at Fort Fair- 
field, Aroostook county, Maine, fifty miles north 
of Houlton, July I, 1009. He was three years 
of age when his parents moved to Fort Fair- 
field, and there he was educated and inducted 
into the business of a farmer. At the age of 
twenty, in 1862, he enlisted in the First Regi- 
ment, Maine Cavalry, and with that regiment 
saw hard service during the three years they 
fought with the Army of the Potomac, being 
once wounded in battle and once stricken with 
typhoid fever. He was honorably discharged 
and mustered out of the service at the close of 
the war in 1868, then returned to Fort Fairfield 
and resumed farming. He later became a dealer 
in agricultural implements, conducting that busi- 
ness very successfully in connection with farm- 
ing. He was one of the substantial men of his 
town, and influential in his community. He was 
a Democrat in politics and a member of the 
Unitarian church. He was an official of the 
Presque Isle Fair Association; was a member 
of Fort Fairfield Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons; and Fort Fairfield Grange, Patrons of 
Husbandry. For a number of years he served 
his town as selectman, and for a time was a 
road commissioner. He was appointed dele- 



gate by Governor Burleigh to the Farmers' Na- 
tional Congress, which met at Chicago. 

Mr. Haines married, September 19, 1866, Mary 
L. Currier, born August 21, 1847, at Fort Fair- 
field, and there spent her life. She was educated 
in the public schools, was a member of the Con- 
gregational church, and of the Philomathean 
Library Society. Mrs. Haines' father, Henry C. 
Currier, was born in Readfield, Maine, in 1811, 
died at Fort Fairfield, October 8, 1886. He wa 
a farmer, settling in Fort Fairfield before his 
marriage. In politics he was a Democrat, in 
religion a Free Will Baptist, and a member of 
the Fort Fairfield Grange, Patrons of Husban- 
dry. He married Mary R. Stevens, born in 1812, 
died at Fort Fairfield in 1892. They were the 
parents of eight children, Mary L., being the 
fifth child. Albert L. and Mary L. (Currier) 
Haines were the parents of four children: I. 
Cora Augusta, of further mention. 2. Mary G., 
born May 29, 1869, married Adelbert Stevens, an 
electrician of Fort Fairfield, and has children: 
Arthur A., married Mildred Armstrong; Bernice 
L., Merle D., and Florence C. 3. Frank Leslie, 
born October 29, 1871, died April 16, 1874. 4. 
A child who died in infancy. 

Cora Augusta Haines, eldest daughter of Al- 
bert L. and Mary L. (Currier) Haines, was born 
February 6, 1868, at Fort Fairfield, Maine, and 
there yet resides at the old homestead. She wat 
educated in the public schools, and resided with 
her parents until her marriage, February 27, 
1885, to Emmons William Houghton, born in 
Anson, Maine, May 9, 1863. He resides in Cali- 
fornia, where he owns a farm. Children, all 
born at Fort Fairfield: I. Ervin, born October 
26, 1886, died in Fort Fairfield, April 27, 1907; 
was a student at the University of Maine, a 
member of the Masonic order, and of the Pat- 
rons of Husbandry; in business a farmer. 2. 
Verna May, born June I, 1888, died September 
2 3. J895- 3- Thomas Edward, born November 
ii, 1889; educated in the Fort Fairfield schools 
and the University of Maine; is now operating 
a part of the Haines homestead for his mother, 
they both living there; new buildings have been 
erected, the area of the farm increased, and its 
fertility and attractiveness added to; is a mem- 
ber of Fort Fairfield Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and Fort Fairfield Grange, Patrons of 
Husbandry; married Asenath Watt, of Fort Fair- 
field, Maine, and they are the parents of two 
children, Thomas and Mary Priscilla. 

Mrs. Cora A. (Haines) Houghton resides on 



198 



HISTORY OF MAINE 



the part of the old homestead which she owns, 
and which has so long been her home. She is 
a member of the Congregational church, the 
Patrons of Husbandry, Philomathean Literary 
Society, and the Ladies' Auxiliary of the Con- 
gregational church. The Houghton family in 
this branch trace descent to Thomas Houghton, 
of Martha's Vineyard, who married Phebe Gerry. 
The line follows through their son, Thomas (2) 
Houghton, and his wife, Susannah Crosby; their 
son, Luke Houghton, and his wife, Dorcas 
Fletcher, of Anson, Maine; their son, William 
Houghton, who died in Soquel, California, Jan- 
uary 18, 1003, a farmer of Fort Fairfield, and 
Soquel, and his wife, Dorcas Cutts; their son, 
Emmons William, of Maine and California, and 
his wife, Cora Augusta Haines; their son, 
Thomas Edward Houghton, of the sixth recorded 
Houghton and ninth Haines generation, and his 
wife, Asenath Watt, of Fort Fairfield. 



HAROLD LLEWELLYN SMITH, D.D.S., 
one of the prominent dentists of Portland, 
Maine, is a native of that city, and a son of 
George Llewellyn Smith, born there in the year 
l8ss, and died in 1900 at the age of forty-five 
years. Mr. Smith, Sr., was engaged in the shoe 
business, and spent most of his life in Portland. 
He was married to Lillian E. Picket, who died 
in 1905 when but thirty years of age. Mr. and 
Mrs. Smith, Sr., were the parents of two chil- 
dren, Harold Llewellyn, and Philip G., who 
makes his home at present in Auburn, Maine, 
where he is engaged in the shoe business. 

Dr. Harold L. Smith was born September 2, 
1886, at Portland, Maine, and has made that 
city his home ever since. He was educated in 
the local public schools and the University of 
Pennsylvania, graduating from the High School 
in Portland, in 1005 and entering the latter in- 
stitution in that same year. Here he took the 
course in dental surgery and graduated with the 
class of 1908 and the degree of D.D.S. He at 
once returned to his native Portland and began 
the practice of his profession there, August I, 
1908, opening an office at No. 536 Congress 
street in partnership with Dr. Robert G. Picket. 
This association continued until 1914, when Dr. 
Smith formed a partnership with Dr. Fred S. 
Woods and is now practicing oral surgery at 
No. 704 Congress street. Dr. Smith is the first 
and only man in the State of Maine holding 
the degree of D. D. S., who has specialized in 
the matter of oral surgery, and a large propor- 



tion of h'.s practice consists of patients who 
are sent to him by other doctors and physicians 
in all parts of Maine and is largely of a consult- 
ing nature. He has already made for himself a 
prominent place in the life of the community, 
and the future promises an even more brilliant 
success than the past has shown. He is a mem- 
ber of the Maine Dental Society, of the North 
Eastern Dental Association and the National 
Dental Association, and gives much thought and 
energy to the question of the general welfare 
of his profession in city, State and country. He 
is connected prominently with the Masonic 
Order and is a member of the Ancient Land- 
mark Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, Mount 
Vernon Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; and Port- 
land Council, Royal and Select Masters. He is 
also a member of the Rotary Club and the Fille- 
brown Dental Club of Portland. Dr. Smith has 
for a number of years been well known as an 
athlete. He played ball on the class teams 
throughout the four years of his course at the 
University of Pennsylvania, and is now a mem- 
ber of the Portland Athletic Club and a patron 
of out-door sports and pastimes in that region. 
He is a Congregationalist in religious belief and 
attends the State Street Church of that denomi- 
nation in Portland. 

On October 12, 1912, Dr. Smith was united 
in marriage with Margelia D. Thomes, a native 
of Portland, a daughter of Robert S. and Viola 
B. (Drummond) Thomes, old and honored resi- 
dents of that city. Mr. Thomes is a member of 
the Parker Thomes Company, engaged in a large 
wholesale dry goods business in Portland and is 
a native himself of that city. His wife, who 
was Viola B. Drummond before her marriage, 
is a native of the town of Waterville, Maine. 

Dr. Smith is representative of the sterling 
qualities and virtues of the best Maine stock. 
His grandfather on the maternal side, George 
R. Picket, served throughout the Civil War with 
the Seventeenth Regiment of Maine Volunteer 
Infantry. He was wounded at Chancellorsville 
and behaved himself with great gallantry in a 
number of bitterly contested engagements. His 
wife was Ellen (Griffin) Picket, of this region. 
George R. Picket was born in Cumberland 
county, Maine, and died there in the year 1912, 
at the age of sixty-nine years. During the major 
portion of his adult life he held the position of 
conductor on the Grand Trunk Railroad. 

Dr. Smith is a man of strong character and 
personality, of broad sympathies and interests. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



199 



and of indefatigable industry in pursuing what- 
ever end he sets himself. It is such men who 
of necessity exert an influence on all those who 
come in contact with them and are by nature 
constituted leaders of their fellows. And sure 
enough, Dr. Smith is just such a leader. Not 
indeed the type of leader who imposes his will 
upon others through the sheer force of his ag- 
gressive energy, but that far more effective kind 
who through clear reason and an infectious en- 
thusiasm win their following. Possessed of the 
truly democratic outlook which sees in all men 
brothers without regard for their exteriors or tlig 
distinctions of class, his manner and bearing 
frank and open, he is extremely easy of approach 
and instantly wins the confidence of those with 
whom he comes in contact. He is devoted to 
everything from which he can derive knowledge 
and culture, and especially enjoys out-door 
sports. He is very fond of his home and spends 
much of his time there in the intimate inter- 
course of family life, and there are few men 
more devoted to the happiness of those in the 
midst of whom he dwells. 



BENJAMIN FRANKLIN SMITH, one of the 
enterprising citizens of Portland, Maine, where 
he is well known as a successful manufacturer, 
and although more than four score years of age, 
is still hale and hearty and active in the life of 
the community, is a member of an old family 
in this State, which was founded here many 
years ago by one Reuben Smith. His ancestors 
were Scotch and English and Mr. Smith ex- 
hibits in his own person the strong and sterling 
qualities of these two races. His ancestor Reu- 
ben Smith crossed the Atlantic in a sailing ves- 
sel, upon which a young lady was also a pas- 
senger, whom he later married. They settled at 
Hollis, in York county, Maine, where Mr. Smith 
became the owner of a large tract of land and 
followed t'.ie pursuit of farming. Four children 
were born of this union, as follows: Reuben, 
who is mentioned below; Abel, Timothy, and a 
daughter, Frances. 

Reuben Smith, Jr., was born at Hollis, York 
county, Maine, where he remained during his 
childhood and early youth. As a young man, 
he went to Buxton, where he engaged in farming, 
but later removed to Denmark, Oxford county, 
Maine, where he died. He also became interested 
in the lumber business and operated a larger lumber 
mill in that region. His death eventually oc- 
curred in the sixty-seventh year of his age, hav- 
ing made liimsclf well known for his honorable 



dealings with his associates and for his broad- 
minded public-spirited citizenship. He married 
Fanny Whitney, who was a native of Buxton, 
and a daughter of James Whitney, a soldier of 
the Revolution, who fought at Bunker Hill. Mrs. 
Smith died at her home in Denmark, Oxford 
county, Maine, at the age of seventy-seven years. 
They were the parents of six children as fol- 
lows: James Nelson, who died at Denmark, 
Maine; Edward, who also died at that place; 
Frances, who became the wife of Henry Love- 
joy; Charles, who resided at Denmark, Maine; 
Benjamin Franklin, v/ith whose career we are 
here especially concerned; and Martha H., who 
became the wife of Henry Smith of Cornish, 
Maine