Skip to main content

Full text of "Memorial cyclopedia of New Jersey;"

See other formats


CS&*~^<7 (^^c^^^ 



MEMORIAL CYCLOPEDIA 

OF 

^ NEW JERSEY 



UNDER THE EDITORIAL SUPERVISION OF 



MARY DEPUE OGDEN 



ADVISORY BOARD 



MRS. GARRET A. HOBART, 
PATERSON. 



MRS. JOHN MOSES. 
TRENTON. 



MISS ELIZABETH STRONG, 
NEW BRUNSWICK. 

MISS MARGARET O. HAINES, 

BURLINGTON. 

MISS SARAH NATHALIE DOUGHTY, 

ATLANTIC CITY. 

MRS. WILLIAM NELSON, 
PATERSON. 



MARY ROBESON SMITH, 
BELVIDERE. 



VOLUME III 



MEMORIAL HISTORY COMPANY 

NEWARK, NEW JERSEY 

1917 



V 



bZ, 



CYCLOPEDIA OF NEW JERSEY 




arslj 



CYCLOPEDIA OF NEW JERSEY 



MARSH, Craig A., 

Distinguished Lawyer, Honored Citizen. 

A list of the well known men of New 
Jersey would be incomplete if it did not 
contain a record of the late Craig Adams 
Marsh, who for more than twenty-eight 
years served as Corporation Counsel of 
the city of Plainfield. As a man and as a 
citizen he displayed a personal worth and 
an excellence of character that not only 
commanded the respect of those with 
whom he associated, but won him the 
warmest personal admiration and the 
staunchest friendships. The name Marsh 
was prominent in Great Britain for many 
centuries before the discovery of Amer- 
ica, many of the name occupying posi- 
tions of importance and honor. The arms 
of the family is as follows : Gules, a 
horse's head couped argent, between three 
crosses crosslet fitchee of the same. Crest : 
A griffin's head couped, ducally gorged 
or, holding in the beak a rose, gules, 
leaved vert. Motto : Semper paratus. 

As early as 1174 a Sir Stephen Marsh, 
Lord of Newton, etc., in Norfolkshire, is 
mentioned, and from that period onward 
the name among both "patricians and 
plebeians" fills up a goodly share of space 
in the English and Scotch, and also Irish 
records. At least six of the name, neither 
closely related to the other, came to New 
England more than two centuries and a 
half ago to seek new homes amid new 
surroundings and to broaden their field 
of activity, there being greater possibil- 
ities in the New than the Old World, and 
at the present time their descendants are 
to be found from Maine to California, 
many of them having gained renown in 



the arts and sciences, in literature and 
law, in medicine and statecraft, and in 
the Christian ministry. 

( I ) Samuel Marsh, the progenitor of 
the line here under consideration, was 
born about 1620, died in September, 1683. 
He was a resident of Essexshire, Eng- 
land. The first mention of his name in 
this country was in the year 1641 when 
his name appears on the Boston records, 
and about four years later he removed to 
New Haven, Connecticut, where he re- 
sided for about twenty years, and then 
removed to Elizabethtown. New Jersey, 
where he spent the remainder of his days. 
On April 7, 1646, he was serving in the 
militia of New Haven, for it is stated that 
because of sickness "his absence from 
traynings was accepted of the court as a 
sufficient excuse." On May 2. 1648, he 
took the oath of "fidellitie" to the govern- 
ment. When the English gained posses- 
sion of New Jersey from the Dutch, he 
took the oath of allegiance to the King 
(Charles II.) on February 16, 1665, and 
his name appears, curiously, for pulling 
up the fence of one Richard Mitchell, to 
whom the Governor had given a lot. but 
whose title to the same the town did not 
acknowledge. Eight persons were in- 
cluded in the bill of indictment, the 
charge being riot, and of course with 
the Governor, who was Carteret, on the 
side of the prosecution, they were found 
guilty and each fined five pounds (the 
chief culprit seven pounds) "to the use of 
His Majesty." They used no more force 
than was necessary to remove what they 
considered an obstruction. 

After the removal of Mr. Marsh to 
Elizabethtown. he became one of the first 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"Associates" of the town, and a man of 
property and responsibility, as we fre- 
quently find him going on bonds for 
others. On November 30, 1676, he took 
out a patent for two hundred and five 
acres of land in six parcels, including a 
"house lot" of seven acres, and other 
parcels of respectively, eighteen, one hun- 
dred, sixty, fourteen, and six acres, on 
the left bank of the Rahway river, near 
Trembly Point. At the same time his 
sun, Samuel, Jr., took out a patent at 
Elizabeth Town for one hundred acres in 
three parcels, two of which were also on 
the "Rahawak" (Rahway) river. In his 
will, dated June 10, 1683, probated Feb- 
ruary 24, 1685, his widow Comfort, ex- 
ecutrix, his residence is described as "at 
Wawanday," which must have been a 
corruption of "Rahway." 

Mr. Marsh married, probably shortly 
after his arrival in New Haven, Com- 
fort (surname unknown), undoubtedly of 
Puritan ancestry. Children: Mary, born 
1648, probably died unmarried ; Samuel, 
February 12, 1650, died 1684 or 1685, 
married Mary Trimmins ; Comfort, Au- 
gust 22, 1652, married Joseph Meeker; 
Hannah, July 22, 1655, probably died un- 
married ; Elizabeth, December 27, 1657; 
John. May 2, 1661, married Elizabeth 
Clark or Clerk ; Joseph, of whom further. 
These children were identified with the 
original church established at Elizabeth- 
town at the time the first settlers pur- 
chased their land there, which was Con- 
gregational or Independent. Subsequently 
many of them became Presbyterians. 

(II s ) Joseph, third son and youngest 
child of Samuel and Comfort Marsh, was 
born at New Haven, Connecticut, April 
1, 1663, died in December, 1723. He 
acquired a practical education in the 
schools of his day, and his active career 
was devoted to the occupation of mill- 
ing, and probably farming, conducting 
the former occupation in such a way as 



to reap abundant reward. He was public- 
spirited to the highest degree, ever for- 
ward in encouraging enterprises which 
would advance the interests of his com- 
munity, and in the year 1710 was chosen 
to represent the county of Essex in the 
Assembly, performing his duties in a 
meritorious manner. He married, about 
the year 1697, Sarah (perhaps Clark), 
who bore him eight children, among 
whom was Samuel, of whom further. The 
will of Mr. Marsh, which was proved De- 
cember 21, 1723, mentioned his widow 
and six children, and it also described 
him as "of Elizabeth Town," though re- 
siding near the present Rahway. 

(Ill) Samuel (2), eldest son and sec- 
ond child of Joseph and Sarah Marsh, 
was born near Rahway, New Jersey, 
about the year 1700, died about the year 
1772. He was reared and educated in 
the community in which he was born, 
residing there throughout his entire life- 
time, and his last residence, enclosed with 
shingles fastened on with wrought nails, 
is said to be still standing at the corner 
of Main street and Elm avenue, in what 
was once known as "Bridgetown," or 
"Lower Rahway." He took an active 
and prominent part in public affairs, and 
in 1740 was one of the charter aldermen 
of Elizabeth Town, when that town took 
in a large district of adjoining terri- 
tory. He was a prominent member of 
the Woodbridge, Rahway and Plainfield 
Monthly Meeting, presumably becoming 
a Quaker through the influence of his 
wives, who were of that religious faith, 
his forbears having been of the Congre- 
gational or Presbyterian denomination. 
He married (first) Mary Shotwell, who 
died about 1741 ; married (second) Mary 
Shotwell, in 1743, and by these two mar- 
riages to women of the same name be- 
came the father of fourteen children, nine 
sons and five daughters, among whom 
was William, of whom further. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(IV) William, third son and third 
child of Samuel (2) and Alary (Shotwell) 
Marsh (the first wife), was born near 
Rahway, New Jersey, December 12, 1732, 
died about October, 1792. He also was a 
Quaker in his church relations, although 
little else is known of him, except that in 
1753 he married Sarah, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Susanna (Cowperthwait) Web- 
ster, of Plainfield, New Jersey, who was 
a Quaker, as was also her ancestors for 
many generations. According to the rec- 
ords of the Woodbridge, Rahway and 
Plainfield Monthly Meetings, there were 
fourteen children born to them, among 
whom was William, of whom further. 

(V) William (2), son of William (1) 
and Sarah (Webster) Marsh, was born 
near Rahway, New Jersey, August 12, 
1754. He spent his entire lifetime in the 
section of the State wherein he was born, 
and his occupation was probably that of 
a farmer. He may have been the "Wil- 
liam Marsh of Essex county" who served 
in the Revolutionary War. His life was 
one of usefulness and activity, during 
which he strove most earnestly to fulfill 
every duty and responsibility, and hav- 
ing been honorable in all his dealings 
with mankind, won the esteem of all with 
whom he was brought in contact. He 
married, March 25, 1775, Sarah Frazee, 
who bore him twelve children, among 
whom was Frazee, of whom further. She 
was of Presbyterian ancestry, and the 
probability is that her husband also be- 
came a Presbyterian. 

(VI) Frazee, youngest child of Wil- 
liam (2) and Sarah (Frazee) Marsh, 
usually known as "Captain Marsh," was 
born near Rahway, New Jersey, April 19, 
1798, died in Plainfield, New Jersey, Feb- 
ruary 28, 1874. He acquired a practical 
education which thoroughly qualified him 
for an active and successful career, and 
a keynote to his success was his execu- 
tive force and masterv of detail in what- 



ever engaged his attention. He was an 
important factor in the development of 
Plainfield, having been one of its promi- 
nent merchants, and probably the great- 
est compliment that can be paid him is 
that he made himself an honor to the 
commercial world, as well as a credit to 
the mercantile community in which he 
resided. He was equally active and 
prominent in public life, frequently mak- 
ing addresses upon political topics, and 
he held a State commission as captain of 
the militia. He was a firm believer in 
education, and desired for others all the 
knowledge they could secure. From one 
of his numerous preserved addresses on 
that subject we quote these paragraphs 
to show his exalted style of language and 
excellent reasoning powers : 

There was a time when knowledge was made 
the monopoly of a few; when it was purposely 
concealed under the garb of monkish priestcraft, 
nursed in cloisters, and dispensed to the people 
with a very sparing hand. But, thanks to high 
heaven, thanks to the stern patriotism of our 
forefathers who gave us liberty, those dark days 
of superstition have passed away, and it is now 
known that knowledge, like gold, becomes the 
brighter the more it is handled. Knowledge has 
also furnished us with the means of dispersing 
those thick clouds of ignorance which so long 
enslaved the human mind. When the voice of 
the tempest is up, and hill speaks to hill in 
vibrating thunder, instead of imagining we are 
visited by the judgments of a vindictive Being, 
the student of nature, the man of a cultivated 
mind, beholds only a beautiful Benefactor; views 
Him destroying the noxious vapors of disease, 
purifying the air for the use of His creatures, 
flinging over earth a freshened verdure, and 
scattering new odors from every flower. 

Thus to the man of a cultivated mind, every 
flower, every leaf, every pebble, may become 
tutors in the great school of Nature to instruct 
the mind and improve the heart. The day has 
now arrived when he whom wishes to learn 
hardly needs a master, for with only this assist- 
ance some of the greatest scholars and philoso- 
phers have formed themselves. 

But, to obtain this preeminence, we must ex- 
pect to use exertion. Without it as well might 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the hapless herdsman, whose hut is in the path- 
way of the thundering avalanche, hope that the 
ponderous mass might be stayed in its midway 
career. . . . Knowledge is not inherited from 
parents, nor is it the gift of high birth or great 
wealth, but the result of our great endeavors. 

Mr. Marsh's views on slavery, after- 
ward also held by his son Warren, were 
well expressed in the closing paragraphs 
of an address on that theme delivered in 
1855: 

We are often told that should we let the slave 
go free it would render the master poor. I 
would say then, better be poor than unjust; bet- 
ter beg than steal; better die than tramp on a 
fellow-being and reduce him to a brute for sel- 
fish purposes. For we have been assured by 
Him who cannot lie that it will profit a man but 
little to gain the whole world and lose his own 
soul. 

The following was spoken of Mr. Marsh 
by his grandson, Craig A. Marsh : 

He wielded a trenchant pen in the discussion 
of public questions in the press, and at a time 
when it required courage and independence in a 
high degree to do it, because it threatened loss of 
business, and social hostilities; he contributed 
weighty arguments against the then recognized 
national institution of slavery. He was self- 
made, but nevertheless a scholar. When he 
asked one of his grandchildren who was home 
from college on a vacation, how high a flag 
pole was that cast a shadow of fifteen feet at 
high noon in the latitude of Plainfield, and the 
young sophomore said that he could figure it out 
by trigonometry and the table of logarithms, but 
that he had not brought the book home with 
him, the old gentleman took a scrap of paper, 
figured out the height of the flag pole by the 
rule of three, and quietly remarked: "I never 
had a college education, but I don't think I 
missed much if you can't use it without carrying 
the books around with you." 

Mr. Marsh married, November 6, 1818, 
Phebe, born 1791, died December 2, 1859, 
daughter of Aaron and Lydia Tucker. 
She bore him seven children, among 
whom was Warren, of whom further. 



Mr. Marsh married (second) September 
8, 1 86 1, Mary, daughter of David and 
Harriet Van Kirk. No children. 

(VII) Warren, third child of Frazee 
and Phebe (Tucker) Marsh, was born at 
Short Hills, south of Plainfield, New 
Jersey, February 28, 1824, died in Plain- 
field, January 12, 1898. He was educated 
in the public schools of Plainfield, and 
later added considerably to the knowl- 
edge thus gained by reading and observa- 
tion. In his early career he met with 
obstacles which to others less hopeful 
and less courageous would seem unsur- 
mountable, but by perseverance and in- 
dustry he overcame them and gained for 
himself a position among the prominent 
and influential business men of Plainfield. 
He was one of the leading contractors 
and builders in that city, retiring from 
active business some fifteen years prior 
to his death. During his active career 
many of the principal buildings of Plain- 
field were put up under his direction. 
About the year 1855 he built at 45 (now 
301-303) East Third street, then a fine 
residential street, the first brick dwelling 
erected in Plainfield, which was com- 
modious and attractive, and which was 
occupied by him until about the year 
1889, when he purchased a house at 340 
Franklin Place, where he resided until 
his death. The property is still owned 
by his heirs. 

To a natural dignity of manner, Mr. 
Marsh added a geniality that won him 
hosts of friends and made him welcome 
everywhere. Fie was a man of strongly 
marked characteristics, was thoroughly 
optimistic in his views, of absolute loyalty 
to friends and kindred, hospitable and 
generous, with a ready sympathy for 
those in affliction or need. He was a man 
of few words, but was positive in his con- 
victions, which were generally right. A 
clear evidence of this is the fact that dur- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing the excitement of the early abolition 
days preceding the Civil War, he con- 
sistently voted for men for high office 
who favored the abolition of slavery. He 
was a member of Jerusalem Lodge, No. 
26, Free and Accepted Masons, in which 
he served as master. 

Mr. Marsh married (first) Ann Eliza, 
born May 2, 1823, died March 25, 1852, 
daughter of Jeptha Holton, of Plainfield. 
He married (second) December 22, 1855, 
Kate Harned, born in New York City, 
May 1, 1838, died July 30, 1905, daughter 
of Thomas R. Adams, of New York City. 
Children: Craig Adams, of whom fur- 
ther; Warren Henry, who resides in 
Plainfield ; Ada Grace, who resides in 
Plainfield, unmarried. Mrs. Marsh was 
a woman of independent spirit, lofty cour- 
age and unusual intelligence, as shown 
by her brilliant conversation and her vari- 
ous contributions to the press. Amid the 
usual cares of her early married life she 
always found time to read good books, 
and from the first she was interested in 
those things which she knew would give 
her children superior advantages in life. 

(VIII) Craig Adams, eldest son of 
Warren and Kate Harned (Adams) 
Marsh, was born in Plainfield, New Jer- 
sey, December 8, 1856, died there Novem- 
ber 12, 1910. He attended the public 
school of Plainfield, graduating from the 
high school in 1872, in his sixteenth year. 
His mind turned to Princeton as an edu- 
cational institution which he should like 
to make his alma mater, but his chief pre- 
ceptor suggested he should enter Union 
College at Schenectady, New York, this 
preceptor being himself a graduate of 
that institution. Having sent his name 
to Union College, and being informed 
that he was too young to enter, he con- 
cluded to spend one year more in a post- 
graduate course in the high school, which 
proved to his advantage, as it enabled 
him to enter Union as a sophomore. Some 



of his classmates who have made repu- 
tations for themselves in the world were : 
James R. Truax, Ph. D., who became in- 
structor in Languages and Literature in 
Union College ; Rev. John W. Doremus, 
of Bryan, Texas; Mr. Homer Greene, of 
Honesdale, Pennsylvania; Mr. Frank 
Tweedy, of Washington, D. C. ; Rev. 
Dr. A. V. V. Raymond, later president 
of Union College ; the late Rev. Dr. 
John G. Lansing, professor in Rutgers 
College, and Mr. Justice William G. 
Rudd, of Albany, New York. While a 
student in the high school he was fond 
of athletics, in which he excelled, and 
this fondness followed him at Union, 
where he was captain of the college base- 
ball nine, and not only became an expert 
player, but won the "President's prize" 
for best ball playing. At college he be- 
came a member of the Alpha Delta Phi 
fraternity. He was elected respondent 
by the "House of Representatives" for 
the anniversary exercises in June, 1875, 
and was chosen orator for class day at 
the graduation, when his standing in his 
class was ninety-five, an unusual mark 
of scholarship. 

When Mr. Marsh graduated from 
Union College in 1876, he was not de- 
cided as to whether he would enter the 
ministry or study law, but after careful 
deliberation he chose the law. He entered 
the office of Dodd & Ackerman, of New- 
ark, the senior partner, Hon. Amzi Dodd. 
having served as Vice-Chancellor of New 
Jersey from 1871 to 1875, and again from 
1881 to 1882. After spending one year 
in this office he entered Columbia Law 
School in New York City, in 1877, and 
was graduated therefrom with the degree 
of Bachelor of Arts on May 14, 1879, 
after a two years' course. During his 
course at the law school his eyes became 
weak from overuse, and then he found 
his wife (having married in the mean- 
time) his best helpmeet in a situation 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which he had not expected. She read to 
him law book after law book, case after 
case, while he listened and absorbed the 
common law, statutes, opinions and court 
dicta. It proved a source of enjoyment 
to both, and enabled him to complete 
his course in the required time. 

After his graduation from Columbia 
Law School, he entered the offices of 
Suydam & Jackson, in Plainfield, where 
he remained for a few months. He was 
admitted to the New Jersey bar at the 
November term of the Supreme Court, 
1879, as an attorney-at-law. Shortly 
afterward he opened an office for the 
practice of his profession in the Dunlap 
building, where he remained for many 
years. He soon was in receipt of a good 
practice, which steadily increased in 
volume and importance, due to the fact 
that he achieved success in the justices' 
courts and in the Union circuit. Mr. 
Marsh early acquired a reputation for 
successfully defending alleged criminals. 
He did this often in the city police court, 
but also in the higher State courts, and 
at various times in the Federal courts at 
Trenton and in New York City. He had 
a great horror of unjust convictions in 
the criminal courts, and a most hearty 
contempt for sensational petitions. Among 
the press clippings which he preserved 
at the beginning of his practice and car- 
ried about in his pocket were two which 
greatly impressed him. The first may in 
part account for the earnestness and vigor 
with which he always so endeavored to 
defend a client as to make sure the jury 
would give heed to a "reasonable doubt," 
and not convict an innocent man of a 
crime. The second was upon the great 
ease with which petitions could be pro- 
cured, and it aided to prove to him that 
they were of no real significance, espe- 
cially in criminal cases. During his early 
years of practice he had several students 



who admired him both as teacher and 
friend. 

The rapidity with which Mr. Marsh 
rose in his profession, so far as admission 
to the various courts and the highest ap- 
pointments within the gift of his native 
city would indicate, may be best gathered 
from the following dates: He was sworn 
in as an attorney on November 6, 1879. 
Three years later, at the corresponding 
term of court, which was at the earliest 
possible moment under the rules of the 
court, he was admitted as counsellor. 
Nine months previous to this, however, 
on February 6, 1882, he was appointed a 
Master in Chancery by Chancellor Run- 
yon. On May 1, 1882, after but two and 
one-half years practice, he was appointed 
Corporation Counsel of the city of Plain- 
field, a position he retained through all 
administrations, Republican, Democratic, 
Independent and Prohibitionist, until his 
decease. On February 20, 1883, he was 
appointed Supreme Court Commissioner, 
which authorized him to take testimony 
upon reference. On December 15, 1886, 
he was admitted to practice before the 
Circuit Court of the United States for 
the District of New York. On March 
15, 1887, he was admitted to practice be- 
fore the Circuit Court of the United 
States for the Third Circuit, including 
New Jersey, and also the United States 
District Court, District of New Jersey. 
He was also a Special Master in Chan- 
cery. He also received the degree of 
Master of Arts from his alma mater, June 
14, 1885. 

Mr. Marsh was only twenty-five years 
of age when he was appointed Corpora- 
tion Counsel of the city of Plainfield by 
Hon. L. V. F. Randolph, who was then 
mayor. Undoubtedly he was the young- 
est man ever appointed to the responsible 
position of Corporation Counsel in any 
city in the State of New Jersey, and few 




dZ^S^t* ^^^C^ot^U^^ 




Cmul* $_. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



have received such an appointment when 
they were simply attorneys and not coun- 
sellors. But the result justified the ap- 
pointment to a remarkable degree. From 
the outset his written legal opinions to 
the municipal body were brief or lengthy, 
as the occasion demanded ; were lucid, 
were exact, and were always accepted as 
correct law. The questions submitted to 
him for his determination in writing by 
the Common Council were numerous and 
varying, and they concerned the accept- 
ance and regulation of dedicated prop- 
erty, assessment and revocation of taxes, 
terms and duties of the city officials, extra 
compensations of officials, authority of 
the city over shade trees in the streets, 
the powers of council over the liquor 
question, duties of election officers, power 
to sprinkle streets at public expense, the 
legality of votes when the voters had 
temporarily removed their residence, and 
hundreds of similar questions, many of 
which required tedious and exhaustive 
consideration. It is doubtful if any other 
counsel in the State ever had more puz- 
zling questions to settle, or gave as close 
attention to the duties of the office. Be- 
sides his numerous written opinions, he 
was constantly called upon by the vari- 
ous city officials, chairmen of committees 
and heads of departments, including the 
Chief of Police, for instructions upon 
almost every conceivable municipal topic. 
Their rule of conduct in cases of doubt 
was invariably that which was laid down 
to them explicitly by the Corporation 
Counsel. He also was interviewed on all 
manner of interesting public questions 
by the reporters of the press. During 
the first five years of his counselship 
he attended all meetings of the "City 
Fathers," but afterward, finding it was 
too much of a drain upon his time, and 
not based upon any necessity, he only 
attended meetings under a previous ar- 
rangement, or when sent for. Summing 



up his conduct in the office of counsel of 
his native city, it clearly appears that in 
the advice he tendered, and in the digni- 
fied, straightforward course he pursued, 
he always did that which he believed to 
be for the best interests of the munici- 
pality and its citizens, while doing injus- 
tice to no one, and that he could not 
tolerate even the suspicion of performing 
a dishonorable official act. It is said of 
him that he had accomplished as much 
as many accomplish at eighty years of 
age. 

Mr. Marsh, needless to say, exerted a 
great influence on the affairs of his 
native city ; his work was widely ex- 
tended, and although he has passed on 
from the scene of his earthly labor his 
influence is felt and recognized. He 
was public-spirited and progressive, ever 
ready to forward a movement that tended 
toward morality, always anxious that 
right principles in politics and citizenship 
should be in the ascendant, always mind- 
ful of those little attentions to the older 
members of the bar to whom he looked as 
ensamples of cultured intelligence, always 
eager to increase the standards of pro- 
fessional character among young attor- 
neys. Upon the announcement at the 
legislative session of 1892 that a bill was 
introduced to legalize race-track gam- 
bling and that it would probably pass, 
Mr. Marsh, with the late Rev. E. M. Rod- 
man and one or two others, called a pub- 
lic meeting at Music Hall, Plainfield. 
which was presided over by Mayor Gil- 
bert, and at it Mr. Marsh spoke with a 
fearlessness, vigor and burning eloquence 
that he seldom, if ever, surpassed. But 
the act passed, and there was nothing to 
do save wait another year, and then if 
possible elect such men to the legislature 
as would secure its repeal. Accordingly 
the Plainfield Branch of the State Citi- 
zens' League was organized, and Mr. 
Marsh prepared its constitution and was 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



one of the active members of its execu- 
tive committee. In 1904 Mr. Marsh was 
elected president of the Union County 
Bar Association, was reelected in 1905, 
and in 1906 declined to allow his name 
to be used. Notwithstanding this, he 
was unanimously elected and served for 
the year 1906. He was a charter member 
of the State Bar Association ; during the 
years from 1901 to 1906 he served as a 
member, and later as chairman of the 
committee on admissions, on the commit- 
tee for the improvement of the judicial 
system, and on the committee on legal 
education. In 1906-07 he was a member 
of the board of directors, and from 1908 
to 1909 he was second vice-president. 
From then until his death he was on the 
special committee upon the judiciary 
amendments, and the committee on ethics 
and grievances. He was a member of 
the Union County Lincoln Association, 
and a member of its executive committee. 
A large number of clubs and associations 
were incorporated through Mr. Marsh, 
who prepared the necessary papers. In 
1881, when the Plainfield Public Library 
was formed, Mr. Marsh was one of its 
first board of directors. He was inter- 
ested in the public park of the city, and 
the Town Improvement Association, of 
whose advisory committee he was a mem- 
ber, also had his earnest support, and his 
contribution of time, thought and money. 
So did the Children's Home, Muhlenberg 
Hospital, and other similar institutions. 
He was a member of Anchor Lodge, No. 
149, Free and Accepted Masons, in which 
he was installed May 25, 1886, passed 
October 26, 1886, raised November 23, 
1886; made senior deacon, 1888; senior 
warden, 1889; worshipful master, Janu- 
ary 14, 1890; retired and became past 
worshipful master, December 28, 1890. 
On February 23, 1892, he was presented 
by the lodge with an elaborate and costly 



jewel accompanied by an apron. He was 
made a thirty-second degree Mason, Jan- 
uary 7, 1888. He was also a member of 
the Plainfield High School Alumni Asso- 
ciation, Union College and Columbia Law 
School Alumni associations, City Bar 
Association of Plainfield, International 
Law Association, New York Law Insti- 
tute, Alpha Delta Phi fraternity, Plain- 
field, Watchung Hunt, Riding and Driv- 
ing, Park and Sangerbund clubs, Mat- 
tano Club of Elizabeth, Citizens' League, 
State Charities Aid Association, Plain- 
field Society for the Prevention of Cruelty 
to Animals, the Plainfield Young Men's 
Christian Association and the McAll Mis- 
sion. In politics he was always a Repub- 
lican. 

Mr. Marsh was a personal friend and 
admirer of Rev. Dr. A. V. V. Raymond, 
when the latter was pastor of Trinity Re- 
formed Church, Plainfield, the friendship 
dating from their college days at Sche- 
nectady. Previous to Dr. Raymond's 
call to Plainfield in 1881, Mr. Marsh had 
gone to the Crescent Avenue Presbyterian 
Church, of which his mother was a mem- 
ber and in which he was baptized as a 
child, but he then felt it incumbent to 
change to Trinity, and he continued 
to attend there until Dr. Raymond went 
to Albany, in 1887. Then he immediately 
returned to the Crescent Avenue Church, 
and continued to worship there until his 
death, and was a most faithful attendant 
upon its services. His reading, aside from 
the law, was always of an elevating char- 
acter, and of all the poets, Shakespeare 
easily stood first in his affections. He 
was a careful reader of good newspapers, 
and from his college days cut out the best 
articles and preserved them. He was a 
lover of good music, had a natural ear for 
music, and possessed a fine bass voice, 
and was a fine performer on the flute. 
The recreation from which he received 




3p 





ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



most pleasure in later years was that of 
horseback riding, which he felt was the 
means of greatly benefitting his health. 

Mr. Marsh married, January 10, 1877, 
Mary Catherine, daughter of Ransom 
Baldwin and Elizabeth Ann (Winne) 
Moore, formerly of Troy, New York, 
where she was born, although then re- 
siding at Olivet, Michigan. Mr. Moore 
was a publisher in Troy, the firm in 1851 
being Merriam & Moore. Later Mr. Mer- 
riam left the firm, and Mr. Moore con- 
tinued the business under the name of 
Moore & Nimes, until 1869. This was 
the first firm to manufacture terrestrial 
and celestial globes. In 1870 Mr. Moore 
removed to Michigan, and there estab- 
lished a private banking house. Mr. and 
Mrs. Marsh were the parents of one child, 
Craig Adams Jr., born March 3, 1878, died 
July 9, 1879. 

Upon the death of Mr. Marsh, which 
occurred November 12, 1910, in com- 
memoration of his life and professional 
character, and as a recognition of his 
faithful service, a proclamation was 
issued by the mayor that the public build- 
ings be draped for thirty days, and official 
action was also taken by the common 
council and many other public bodies. 
The press of the city and State published 
editorial tributes, and many expressions 
of regret and appreciation of his personal 
worth and fidelity to his trust were re- 
ceived from members of the bar and 
others. Letters were received from ex- 
Chancellor William J. Magie, ex-Justice 
Bennet Van Syckel, ex-Justice Gilbert 
Collins, Judge Benjamin A. Vail, Judge 
Edward S. Atwater, Vice-Chancellor 
Frederic W. Stevens, Hon. John Ulrich, 
Mr. Joseph C. Allen, Mr. Richard V. 
Lindabury, Mr. Frank Bergen, Mr. Hal- 
sey M. Barrett, Mr. Jackson E. Reynolds. 
ex-Mayor John H. Van Winkle, Mr. 
George S. Clay, Justice William P. Rudd, 
ex-Mayor L. V. F. Randolph, ex-Mayor 



Alexander Gilbert, ex-Mayor William L. 
Saunders and Rev. Charles A. Eaton, 
D. D. Personal letters were also received 
from Mayor Charles J. Fisk, Dr. George 
W. Endicott, Mr. E. E. Phillips, Hon. S. 
S. Swackhamer, President Charles A. 
Richmond, Hon. Bartow S. Weeks, Jus- 
tice Samuel Kalisch, Hon. Henry C. Pit- 
ney, ex-Justice Van Syckel, ex-Justice 
Gilbert Collins, Hon. P. R. von Mindon, 
Mr. F. J. Hubbard, Mr. James L. Griggs 
and Mrs. Dempsey. The following is the 
tribute of respect from ex-Chancellor Wil- 
liam J. Magie: 

When Mr. Marsh came to the bar, he had the 
good sense to perceive that he did not know all 
the law. He therefore entered upon a course of 
systematic reading and study, which, he has told 
me, he continued to do even in the midst of his 
active practice. He thus acquired an extensive 
knowledge of legal principles. He possessed the 
tact and acquired the facility of applying those 
principles in the actual conduct of affairs, and 
particularly to the facts of the cases in which 
he was employed. When his clients discovered 
his sound knowledge and his ability in managing 
their affairs, success came to him almost at once. 
It came so rapidly that it might have over- 
whelmed a less methodical and industrious man. 
That was not the case with him. 

No pressure of business ever permitted him to 
appear before any Court with a case unprepared. 
He disclosed in every case that he not only 
familiarized himself with the points on which he 
could rely, but he was prepared to meet the 
points which his opponent might present. He, 
therefore, early obtained what is sometimes 
called "the ear of the Court," by which I mean 
no favoritism or partiality of the Judges but 
their feeling that, when he presented a case, 
what he said was entitled to consideration. 

He had not only convictions, but the courage 
of his convictions. He was not shaken by the 
arguments of his opponents or even by the sug- 
gestions of the Court. He maintained his posi- 
tions with courteous persistence, but if the Court 
ruled against him he submitted with dignity. 
With his natural ability, his acquired knowledge 
and his diligence, he attained a position among 
the foremost of the Bar of the whole State. 

I have not infrequently called the attention of 
students at law and the vounger members of the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Bar to the career of Mr. Marsh as an example 
which they might well follow. When he had 
attained success and established an excellent 
practice, he did not leave the place of his birth 
and residence for any great city. He remained 
among his own people, and, under those circum- 
stances, built up a practice of which he had 
reason to be proud, and which, no doubt, was as 
remunerative as the average practice of the lead- 
ing lawyers in the great cities, when the increase 
of expense is taken into consideration. His con- 
tinued residence in Plainfield further enabled 
him to exercise a valuable influence in the man- 
agement of the affairs of the community, which 
is rarely if ever obtained by a lawyer in the 
hurry of practice in a large city. 

Mr. Marsh was essentially a high-minded man. 
He did not think or act in a narrow way. He 
brought every question to the test of probity 
and honor, and no one ever met him without 
feeling that he was a man to be implicitly 
trusted. 

The following is a tribute from ex-Jus- 
tice Gilbert Collins : 

I came to know Craig A. Marsh soon after his 
admission to the Bar, and watched his career 
with interest. Meeting him frequently when we 
were both in attendance at the Courts of Tren- 
ton waiting for causes to come on for argument, 
our acquaintance soon developed into a friend- 
ship which strengthened with the passing years. 
I met him both as opposing and as associate 
counsel in litigation, and acquired a great re- 
spect for his ability as a lawyer, which was 
tested when we were associates. One is prone 
to overestimate an adversary; but association 
brings out the strength or weakness of a col- 
league. Later, I had the opportunity to observe 
Mr. Marsh from a judicial point of view, and 
still later, upon my return to the practice of the 
law, I was thrown with him considerably in the 
maturity of his powers. 

The keynote of his work as a lawyer was its 
thoroughness. He considered a legal question 
in every aspect, and overlooked nothing that 
could bear upon it. After he had decided to 
accept a client's retainer, he spared no effort for 
effective service. His preparation, either for 
attack or defense, was remarkable. I never knew 
him to be taken unawares in the trial of a cause ; 
every movement of his opponent was antic- 
ipated, and he was ready with his response. If 
anything, he was too particular in preparation 
for a trial or hearing, and in conducting it, thus 



entailing undue strain upon the nervous force. I 
remember hearing an associate on the Bench 
say of him: "Mr. Marsh tries his cases with a 
microscope." This was not intended for dis- 
paragement, for the same Judge had a very high 
estimate of the ability of Mr. Marsh, and once, 
when an appointment of Vice Chancellor was in 
contemplation, I heard him say that if he had the 
selection Mr. Marsh would be his choice. 

In his non-professional life also, Mr. Marsh 
was admirable. A good citizen, a tender hus- 
band, benevoici'.t and public-spirited, he worthily 
filled a place in a community where much is ex- 
acted from those who would win honor and 
affection. He was a man of varied culture and 
experience, not confined to the somewhat nar- 
row lines of his profession. Despite his busy life, 
he found time for his annual vacation abroad, 
and enjoyed it to the utmost. 

Altogether he was a man who filled out the 
measure of life in its fullness, and his early 
taking-off is much to be deplored. 

The following is a tribute from Mr. 
Richard V. Lindabury : 

I admired Mr. Marsh very much, not only on 
account of his high character, but for his legal 
ability, which I considered of the first order. 
Indeed, he was second to none as an advocate in 
this State. If Mr. Marsh had gone out into the 
larger fields of legal practice, he would have 
taken rank in the public estimation with the best 
lawyers in the country. 

The following is an extract from the 
personal letter of Hon. Henry C. Pitney: 

I esteemed him as one of my most cherished 
friends. Of late years I have not been in the 
way of seeing him often, but I have a delightful 
recollection of a short visit with him just before 
he took his annual trip abroad in 1909, as well 
as our several social meetings in London. He 
has left the memory of a well-spent, honorable 
life. 



The foreffoinpr sketch was compiled from the 
book entitled "Life ,t Cralp; A. Marsh." written 
by A. V. D. Honeym^n, editor of the New Jersey 
Law Journal. 



JOHNSON, Judge John Lawrence, 

Lawyer, Jurist. Progressive Citizen. 

It cannot be denied that members of 
the bar have been more prominent factors 
in public affairs than any other class in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the community, and this is but the natural 
result of causes which are manifest and 
which require no explanation. The abil- 
ity and training which qualify one to 
practice law, also qualify him in many 
respects for duties which lie outside the 
strict path of his profession, and which 
touch the general interests of society. 
The keen discernment and the habits of 
logical reasoning and of arriving at accu- 
rate deductions so necessary to the suc- 
cessful lawyer enable him to view cor- 
rectly important public questions and to 
manage intricate business affairs success- 
fully. Holding marked prestige among 
the members of the bar of the State of 
New Jersey, the late Judge John Law- 
rence Johnson, of Verona, Essex county, 
was for many years numbered among its 
leading practitioners, and his connection 
with its litigated interests was of a most 
important and extensive character. Not 
only did he attain to an eminent position 
in connection with his chosen calling, but 
his marked intellectuality and fitness for 
leadership was beneficially felt in other 
directions, especially in the field of edu- 
cation. He was a man remarkable in the 
breadth of his wisdom, in his indomitable 
perseverance and his strong individuality, 
and he possessed a weight of character, a 
native sagacity, a farseeing judgment and 
a fidelity of purpose that commanded the 
respect of all. 

Judge John Lawrence Johnson, of 
Scotch-Irish descent, and son of William 
Pitt and Abigail Adaline (Bell) Johnson, 
was born at Heuvelton, St. Lawrence 
county, New York, May 16, 1847, and died 
March 25, 1915, at his home in Verona, 
Essex county, New Jersey. From his earli- 
est years he was of an earnest and studi- 
ous disposition, and made the best use of 
the limited educational advantages offered 
by the schools of his native town, and the 
study of mathematics always had an espe- 
cial attraction for him. Having reached 



a stage where the schools of Heuvelton 
no longer benefited him, he became a 
student of the New York Gouverneur 
Seminary, and then entered the State 
Normal Academy at Albany, from which 
he was graduated January 31, 1871. In 
the same year he went to Verona, New 
Jersey, with which town his subsequent 
life was identified. For a time he was 
engaged in teaching school, then was ap- 
pointed tutor of mathematics in the 
famous Stevens School of Technology in 
Hoboken, New Jersey, and in 1873 was 
offered and accepted the tutorship of 
mathematics in the high school at New- 
ark, and during his incumbency of this 
office he introduced many improvements 
in the system of instruction which have 
been approved by competent judges and 
have been adopted by other institutions 
of a similar kind. Many of his pupils are 
at the present day filling positions of re- 
sponsibility and honor, and it is one of 
their pleasurable memories that they were 
at one time under the tuition of Judge 
Johnson. 

An ardent spirit of laudable ambition 
would not, however, permit Mr. Johnson 
to rest content in this limited field for 
his activities. For a long time he had felt 
that in the legal profession he would be 
able to accomplish more for the general 
good than in any other line of activity, 
and he had read law with avidity for some 
time. With the idea that in the west, a 
rapidly growing country, an ambitious 
young man could advance with propor- 
tionate rapidity, he went to Iowa in 1876, 
and in the same year was admitted to the 
bar. He did not, however, find condi- 
tions for advancement there as he had 
been led to expect, and accordingly re- 
turned to Newark at the end of six 
months and resumed his duties as Pro- 
fessor of Mathematics in the High School, 
retaining this position until 1883, when 
he resigned it in order to assume the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



duties and responsibilities of public office. 
In that year he had been appointed by 
Governor George C. Ludlow as one of 
the lay judges of the Essex County Court 
of Common Pleas for a term of five years, 
and, while faithfully discharging the 
duties of his public office, entered his 
name as a law student in the office of the 
late Aram G. Sayre, and was admitted 
to the bar of the New Jersey Supreme 
Court, February 7, 1886. His term of 
office as lay judge expired in 1888, and 
he at once opened an office for private 
practice in Newark, where his prestige 
as a judge resulted in his obtaining a large 
and lucrative practice in a comparatively 
short period of time, and this increased 
consistently in the course of years. Some 
years later, when the increased demands 
of his growing clientele made it impossi- 
ble for Judge Johnson to personally take 
charge of all the cases entrusted to him, 
he admitted Scott Germain to a partner- 
ship, and the firm practiced under the 
style of Johnson & Germain. 

When Judge Johnson took up his resi- 
dence in Verona, it was but a small ham- 
let, and he took a prominent part in the 
development which resulted in its first 
growing into a village, and then becom- 
ing incorporated with borough privileges. 
He was a member of St. John's Lodge. 
No. 1, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Newark, having served this lodge as past 
master; and was a member of Damascus 
Commandery, Knights Templar. Every 
movement, whether moral, educational or 
religious, had his earnest and undivided 
support. 

Judge Johnson married (first) in 1872, 
Sarah Alice, who died in 1879, a daugh- 
ter of Stephen Personette, of French 
Huguenot descent, and by this marriage 
there were two children. He married 
(second) in November, 1880, Alice L. 
Thornton, and this union was blessed 
with one child, Maria J. 



Nowhere are the evidences of Judge 
Johnson's public-spiritedness and his 
ability to accomplish public benefits more 
easily recognized than in the town which . 
he chose for his home. The very trolley I 
by which one reaches Verona is a monu- | 
ment to his energy and ability. The Erie ! 
train, as it winds its way along the un- 1 
dulating western hill, also pays tribute to ! 
the man who worked hard and long for 
its coming. No one put a higher value 
upon town improvements than did this 
man, who also loved the birds, and yearly 
provided for their food in his plantings. 
No one so utterly disregarded his own I 
fatigue in the battle to win. Neither time 
nor money nor strength counted — to se- 
cure was all. Judge Johnson planned and 
accomplished the first brick school house. 
He was the inspiration and founder of 
the First Presbyterian Church in Verona, 
and its principal financial support during 
the struggle of its first few years. He 
secured the money for the first Public 
Library in Verona, which was placed in 
the new brick school house. Later he 
gave generously in ability and support to 
the Library, which has since become the 
Free Public Library of Verona, housed 
in the public school, which has twice 
been enlarged since Judge Johnson 
planted the trees in front of the first brick 
school house. For years he was the presi- 
dent of the Board of Education and 
always maintained an interest in school 
affairs. The school children were his 
friends, and he was theirs — a loyal cham- 
pion always. The Verona Building and 
Loan Association was started and organ- 
ized by him, and he was its counsel for 
many years. 



RICHARDS, Uriah French, Ph. G., 

Exemplary Citizen and Business Man. 

Tracing his ancestry to England and 
Wales, and to the early colonial settlement 
of West Jersey and in Pennsylvania to the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



coming of William Penn, Mr. Richards 
inherited the best blood of that early 
period, and to the sturdy virtues of his 
Quaker ancestors added those traits of 
character that ennobled his life and made 
him a man beyond reproach. He had 
mingled in his veins the blood of the 
strong French, Richards, Jones and Heu- 
lings families of Burlington and Glouces- 
ter counties, families that in church, state 
and business have been eminent for two 
and one-half centuries of American resi- 
dence. 

His father, Jeremiah J. Richards, son of 
John and Priscilla (Jones) Richards, was 
born near Swedesboro, New Jersey, n 
mo. 7, 1809, died at his home, "Eagle- 
point Farm," near Red Bank, Gloucester 
county, New Jersey, and was buried in 
the Friends' burying ground, Woodbury, 
New Jersey. He married, November 10, 
1836, Sarah Heulings French, born 4 mo. 
19, 1807, died at her residence on North 
Third street, Camden, 12 mo. 31, 1882, 
daughter of Uriah and Mary (Ivins) 
French, and a descendant of Thomas 
French, of England, a persecuted member 
of the Society of Friends. Children : 
Isaac French ; Mary F., married John S. 
W. Johnson, of Camden, New Jersey ; 
George Washington ; Albert ; John ; 
Uriah French, of further mention. Of 
these children, Mrs. Mary French John- 
son is the only survivor. The French 
ancestry of Uriah French Richards fol- 
lows. 

Thomas French, the founder, was born 
in October, 1639, and was baptized No- 
vember 3, following, at the Church of 
Saints Peter and Paul, Nether Heyford, 
.Northamptonshire, England. He early 
became a member of the then new re- 
ligious sect, the Society of Friends, being 
actively identified therewith, and at differ- 
ent times paid in suffering the penalty of 
his faith, serving several terms in prison 



for refusal to pay tithes. He came to 
America in the ship "Kent," sailing from 
London about August 1, 1680, and settled 
upon a tract of six hundred acres of good 
land lying along the banks of Rancocas 
creek, about four miles from, Burlington, 
New Jersey. He prospered, increased his 
holdings to two thousand acres, and for 
twenty years was a leading citizen of the 
county, was twice married and reared a 
large family of children, including four 
sons, all of whom were trained in ways 
of sobriety, industry, and religion, they in 
turn founding families in whom the same 
strong traits of character were manifest. 
His first wife, Jane Atkins, he married in 
England ; his second wife, Elizabeth 
Stanton, was a member of Philadelphia 
Meeting (Monthly), Society of Friends. 

Charles French, third son of the 
founder and his first wife, was born in 
England, March 20, 1671. He adminis- 
tered his father's estate, and in this con- 
nection visited England in 1699 and sev- 
eral times thereafter. He was a pros- 
perous farmer, a man of prominence, and 
had interests in both Burlington and 
Gloucester counties. He was twice mar- 
ried, and left male issue. 

Charles (2) French, son of Charles and 
his first wife, Elinor, was born August 12, 
1714, died January 15, 1785. He settled 
in Moorestown, New Jersey, about 1740, 
where he became a landowner and over- 
seer of Chester Meeting, Moorestown, 
and active in the affairs of the Society 
of Friends. In 1771 he purchased one 
thousand acres of "land and swamp," 
with saw-mill, farm houses, etc., located 
about three miles from Mullica Hill, New 
Jersey. His will shows that at the time 
of his death he was a man of large pos- 
sessions, and the records cite his intelli- 
gent attention to public affairs. He mar- 
ried Ann, daughter of Jacob and Ann 
(Harrison) Clement, a descendant of 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Gregory Clement, of London, England, 
member of the Cromwell Parliament, and 
one of the judges who tried and convicted 
Charles I. in 1648. Maternally she was a 
granddaughter of Samuel Harrison, mar- 
iner, of Gloucester county, New Jersey, 
who tradition says was a son or grandson 
of General Thomas Harrison, one of the 
signers of the death warrant of Charles I. 
and who was executed after the Restora- 
tion. 

Samuel French, second son of Charles 
(2) and Ann (Clement) French, was born 
in Waterford township, Gloucester 
county, New Jersey, September 17, 1748, 
died July 8, 1814. He became a large 
landowner, prosperous farmer, and public 
man, serving in the New Jersey Legis- 
lature from Gloucester county in 1795-96- 
97, 1800-01-02. He was devoted in his 
allegiance to the Society of Friends, and 
throughout a manhood of half a century 
manifested the qualities of his conscien- 
tious, vigorous, industrious, and honor- 
able ancestry. He married Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Jacob (2) and Agnes (Buckman) 
Heulings, of Evesham township, Burling- 
ton county, New Jersey. She was a great- 
granddaughter of William Buckman, who 
came to Pennsylvania in 1682 with Wil- 
liam Penn in the "Welcome," also a great- 
granddaughter of William Heulings, a 
justice of the peace for Burlington county 
in 1703. 

Uriah French, eldest son of Samuel and 
Sarah (Heulings) French, was born July 
13, 1770, died September 27, 1825, "fifty 
minutes past three o'clock in the after- 
noon." He was his father's assistant for 
several years on the farm and saw-mill 
property located near Mullica Hill, New 
Jersey, and although inheriting this prop- 
erty in 1814, he sold it within the same 
year. About 1817 he moved to Swedes- 
boro, New Jersey, where he engaged in 
mercantile business and resided until 
shortly before his death in 1825. His home 



and store was a large brick building with 
commodious basement built about 1784, 
a wharf a few feet from the basement 
door extending into Raccoon creek afford- 
ing facilities for receiving and shipping 
goods. He married Mary, daughter of 
Isaac (3) and Hannah (Tilton) Ivins, of 
Salem county, New Jersey. Her great- 
grandfather, Isaac Ivins, for half a cen- 
tury kept a general store and trading post 
at Georgetown, which was the resort of 
Indian and white trappers. Mary Ivins 
French survived her husband, and spent 
her widowed years at Mullica Hill. Sarah 
Heulings, daughter of Uriah and Mary 
(Ivins) French, married Jeremiah J. Rich- 
ards, of previous mention. 

Uriah French Richards, youngest child 
of Jeremiah J. and Sarah Heulings 
(French) Richards, was born at Mickle- 
ton, New Jersey, March 27, 1847, died in 
Montreal, Canada, March 4, 1915. He 
was educated in the public schools of 
Philadelphia, and naturally had a predilec- 
tion for the drug business, with which the 
name French is so intimately and promi- 
nently connected. He entered the Phil- 
adelphia College of Pharmacy and was 
graduated from that institution with 
honors, Ph. G., class of 1871. Immedi- 
ately after graduation he was given a 
position in the wholesale drug business of 
which his maternal uncle, Clayton 
French, was the head, and to his college 
training added the knowledge of the prac- 
tical side of the drug business. He was 
very industrious and observant, and after 
gaining the necessary experience formed 
a partnership with Dr. Armstrong and 
opened a drug store in Camden, New Jer- 
sey, there conducting a very successful 
business for several years under the firm 
name of Richards & Armstrong. This 
firm finally dissolved, Mr. Richards then 
opening a store at No. 309 Market street, 
where for many years he conducted a 
prosperous business. He was one of the 




fe-y c 



. / //. ///-«,/ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



best known men in the drug trade in 
Camden, his store one of the finest in the 
city. He built up an enviable reputation 
for the purity and reliability of his prepa- 
rations, and gained the public confidence 
as an honorable, upright business man 
and citizen. Not long prior to his death 
he retired from the retail drug trade, 
closed out his interests in Camden, and 
accepted a position as traveling salesman 
for a wholesale drug firm of Baltimore. 
While in Montreal in the interests of his 
firm he was suddenly stricken by death. 
During his Camden residence he took a 
deep interest in all that affected the city, 
and bore his full share of responsibility. 
He served in the National Guard as a 
member of the Sixth Regiment, and was 
keenly alive to his duties as a citizen, but 
neither sought nor accepted public office. 
He was an active member of the Presby- 
terian church, and deeply interested in 
the Sunday school, where he was the in- 
strument of much good. 

His body was brought to Camden by 
his only living sister, Mary French John- 
son, and lovingly laid at rest in Evergreen 
Cemetery. 



MURRAY, George Crawford, 

Ideal Citizen, Legislator. 

The late George Crawford Murray, of 
Middletown, Monmouth county, New 
Jersey, was one of those men whose lives 
and characters are of inestimable value as 
exemplars of what worthy lives should be. 
His ambition was ever along the worth- 
iest lines and his whole life was devoted 
to the highest and best ideals. His nature 
was of singular sweetness, openness and 
sincerity. He had a profound knowledge 
of human nature, and was ever thoughtful 
for the welfare of his fellow beings. His 
family, which was of Scotch descent, was 
resident in New Jersey from about the 
middle of the eighteenth century. 

Vol III— N j— 2 



Joseph Murray, great-grandfather of 
George Crawford Murray, came to New 
Jersey from Londonderry, Ireland, with 
his mother, Elizabeth. His house, which 
is still standing, was built with a very 
solid foundation, also the barn, construct- 
ed about the same time. He was enrolled 
as a private in the First Regiment Mon- 
mouth Militia, recorded in Trenton as 
follows: "State of New Jersey, Office of 
Adjutant-General, Trenton, March 26th, 
1895. It is certified that the records of 
this office show that Joseph Murray 
served as a Private in the First Regiment, 
Monmouth County, New Jersey, Militia 
in the Revolutionary War, and that he 
was killed by Tories at Middletown, Mon- 
mouth County, New Jersey, June 8, 1780. 
(Seal). William S. Stryker, Adjutant- 
General." He was a plain, strong, fear- 
less, straight-forward patriot, and was re- 
spected and trusted by his officers and 
comrades. He was buried in a little plot 
on his own farm, but his remains were 
moved October 16, 1855, by his grandson, 
William W. Murray, and on his head- 
stone is the inscription: "Died in the 
service of his country." Mr. Murray mar- 
ried, about 1767, Rebecca Morris. Chil- 
dren : William, of further mention ; 
James, at one time in the business of 
masons' supplies in New York City, later 
of Rossville, Staten Island, where his de- 
scendants still live, married Alice ; 

Joseph, owner of much land in New Jer- 
sey, resided and was in business in New 
York City in 1833 ; two daughters, the 

younger of whom married Havens, 

and moved to Southern New Jersey. 

William Murray, eldest son of Joseph 
and Rebecca (Morris) Murray, was born 
August 16, 1771, and died January 25, 
1834. He was but nine years old when 
his father died, and at once was obliged 
to assist in the support of his mother and 
the younger children. He was appren- 
ticed to learn the mason's trade, but did 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



not follow this calling in later life. He 
had a team in 1792, and while working 
with this at plowing, he devoted every 
moment of his spare time to the study of 
bookkeeping, mathematics and surveying. 
He purchased his farm in Middletown 
village, April 11, 1815, paying $9,000, and 
later in the same year opened the store, 
which was conducted under the firm name 
of William Murray & Son. He was suc- 
cessful in both enterprises, and carried 
on both operations along the most pro- 
gressive lines. The State Bank at Middle- 
town Point was organized in 1830, and on 
January 2, 1832, Mr. Murray was elected 
as a director of this institution, and at 
the time of his death was one of the larg- 
est shareholders. He was postmaster of 
Middletown, and for many years trustee 
of the Middletown Baptist Church. Au- 
gust 20, 1832, Mr. Murray sold to the 
Baptist church, land back of it, to be used 
for a cemetery, and reserved a plot for 
himself. Mr. Murray married, December 
2, 1792, Anna Schenck, born October 9, 
1770, died August 17, 1822. Children: 
William W., of further mention ; Eliza, 
married James Layton, of Chapel Hill 
and Hedden's Corners, a descendant of 
William Laiton or Layton, one of the 
Middletown patentees; James W., mar- 
ried Maria Lufburrow, and received the 
old Murray place on Poricy Brook ; 
Sisera Ann, married Joseph Frost ; Jo- 
seph Washington, died in his third year. 
William W. Murray, son of William 
and Anna (Schenck) Murray, was born 
November 30, 1794, and died June 1, 1865. 
His education was the ordinary one of a 
country school, but he early displayed 
especial ability as a penman, bookkeeper 
and accountant. He became associated 
in business with his father in 1815, the 
firm name being William Murray & Son, 
and upon the death of the latter, contin- 
ued the farming and mercantile interests 
alone. When the towns of Keyport and 



Red Bank were developed, all business 
was taken from Middletown, and the farm 
was rented to successive tenants, who 
allowed it to fall into bad condition. For 
many years Mr. Murray was postmaster 
of Middletown, and a trustee of the Bap- 
tist church, holding this office until his 
death. He and his wife greatly appre- 
ciated the value of a good education, and 
gave their children the best advantages 
that lay in their power. Mr. Murray mar- 
ried, November 20, 1817, Mary Crawford, 
born January 12, 1800, a daughter of 
George and Eleanor Crawford ; great- 
great-granddaughter of the first John 
Crawford, of Middletown ; and a descend- 
ant of Roelif Martinse Schenck, of Long 
Island; also of the Rev. Obadiah Holmes, 
of Rhode Island ; and of Sheriff Daniel 
Hendrickson. Children: Lavinia, mar- 
ried James M. Hoagland, of the Dutch 
family of that name in Somerset county, 
New Jersey ; Eleanor Crawford, married 
Henry G. Scudder, of Huntington, Long 
Island, a descendant of Thomas Scudder, 
the first emigrant of that name in Salem 
in 1635 ; George Crawford, whose name 
heads this sketch. 

George Crawford Murray, only son and 
youngest child of William W. and Mary 
(Crawford) Murray, was born in Middle- 
town, Monmouth county, New Jersey, 
January 3, 1827, and died there, November 
24, 1884. He was but three years of age 
when his education was commenced in 
the school conducted by Mr. Austin, in a 
small building located in Dr. Edward 
Taylor's garden, opposite the east side of 
the Episcopal church, in Middletown. He 
also studied under Mr. Austin, in the old 
Franklin Academy. At the age of thir- 
teen years he became a student at the 
Washington Institute, in New York City, 
and was there prepared for entrance to 
Yale College, now Yale University, under 
the preceptorship of Timothy Dwight 
Porter. He felt that his especial weak- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ness was mathematics, and with the en- 
ergy and ambition so characteristic of 
him from his earliest years, determined to 
pursue this study by himself. So success- 
ful was he in his efforts in this direction 
that, one year later (1841), he passed his 
entrance examination to Yale in this 
branch successfully. September 30, 1843, 
he received "Professor Playf air's Works" 
"from the President and Fellows of Yale 
to George C. Murray, for excelling in the 
Solution of Mathematical Problems." In 
1845 he was graduated as the youngest 
member of his class. By means of living 
plainly and economically upon the com- 
petent allowance he received from his 
father during his college years, he was 
enabled to put aside a handsome sum of 
money which he devoted to the purchase 
of standard works for a well chosen 
library. Following is an example of the 
esteem in which he was held by his class- 
mates. One of them wrote: "My Dear 
Murray — An intimate acquaintance with 
you during the past year has served only 
to increase the feelings of high esteem 
which I have always entertained for you, 
and I regret exceedingly that I am so soon 
to part with one whose honesty of pur- 
pose, integrity of principle, united with 
real solid worth has won my admiration." 
His classmates expressed their estimate 
of his character in a series of farewell 
autographs, in which the words most fre- 
quently occurring were "integrity of 
character." 

Science and engineering would have 
been the branches chosen by Mr. Murray 
had he followed his own inclinations, and 
he was eminently fitted to achieve success 
in these fields. But the wishes of his pa- 
rents were ever a paramount consider- 
ation with him, and it was their desire 
that he fit himself for either a legal or 
medical profession. Having decided 
upon law, he studied for almost a year 



with Peter D. Vroom, of Trenton, New 
Jersey, and then with the Hon. George 
Wood, of New York City, and was ad- 
mitted to practice in the latter State, 
January 8, 1849. He then returned to 
Yale College, and there took a post-gradu- 
ate course in analytical chemistry, in the 
new scientific department of the college. 
Returning to his home in August, 1850, 
he again yielded to the solicitations of his 
parents, who desired him to abandon pro- 
fessional work of any kind, and devote 
himself to agricultural pursuits. Repug- 
nant as the idea was to his finely trained 
and developed mind, his filial devotion 
gained the day and he became a farmer. 
The energy and earnestness which had 
characterized his years of study did not 
fail him in this new field of industry, and 
he pursued all the distasteful details of 
farm life with thoroughness and a careful 
attention to detail, and applied to them 
original ideas, developed in his scientifi- 
cally trained mind. Many of these ideas 
were adopted by others, and some of them 
changed slightly to meet altered condi- 
tions, are in use at the present time. 
While superintending some work in a 
marl pit, at Groom's Hill, on his farm, 
Mr. Murray, in February, 1858, had one 
of his feet crushed by the caving in of a 
mass of frozen earth, and, as Dr. Willard 
Parker, the eminent surgeon of New 
York who was called in consultation, 
said: "Young man, your clean, temper- 
ate life will save you and prevent the loss 
of that foot." The accident, however, 
caused a permanent lameness which ne- 
cessitated the use of crutches for some 
time, and he was never able to walk with- 
out the aid of a strong cane. The larger 
part of his work on the farm was ac- 
complished, thereafter, on horseback. 
Throughout his life he was an intense suf- 
ferer as a result of this accident, but bore 
his sufferings with admirable patience, 



19 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and was always cheerful and uncomplain- 
ing. 

Mr. Murray was a keen observer of cur- 
rent events, and for some years prior to 
the outbreak of the Civil War he compiled 
several volumes of notes of speeches made 
by himself and others, having a bearing 
on the subject, and these are of great 
local interest to Monmouth county. He 
was frequently the orator of the day on 
public occasions, one of these, on which 
he delivered a particularly stirring and 
patriotic address, being May 26, 1S61, 
when the people of Middletown erected a 
huge flagpole and raised a handsome 
flag. At the celebration. July 4, 1861, 
Mr. Murray made an eloquent and im- 
passioned speech in favor of an un- 
divided Union. On numerous other occa- 
sions he was equally convincing and pa- 
triotic. While a strong supporter of 
Democratic principles, Mr. Murray never 
allowed himself to be bound by party ties, 
but had the courage of his convictions, 
and did not hesitate to voice them, even 
at the expense of personal disadvantage. 
He was elected to the Legislature of New 
Jersey in the fall of 1861 and took an ac- 
tive part in the sessions. He served as 
a member of the committee on education, 
and the committee on the State Library. 
During this session the railroad com- 
panies were active in their efforts to 
obtain legislation which should be to their 
advantage, and in pursuance of this idea 
many fine dinners were given, to which 
Mr. Murray was also invited. After re- 
peated and constant refusals on his part 
he was notified that if he did not come 
of his own accord, he would be compelled 
to attend by means of force. His reply 
was "that he would not accept the invita- 
tion ; that he would be in his room at the 
appointed hour, but he wished to inform 
them that the first man who attempted to 
lay his hands upon him would do so at 
his own peril." He remained unmolested 



until the close of the term of office. While 
he was debarred from active service in the 
army or navy by reason of his lameness, 
Mr. Murray was nevertheless an active 
worker in the cause of the Union. By 
means of public addresses, by public de- 
bate, in which he never lost his self con- 
trol, his influence was wide spread and a 
beneficial one. When the severity of the 
Draft Act of 1863 fell upon the poor men 
of his community, mostly upon the poor 
fishermen and the naturalized Irishmen, 
they appealed to him, their friend, for aid, 
knowing well that if there was help for 
them it would be found. In February, 
1864, he obtained the endorsement of sev- 
eral prominent men of the town, and was 
thus enabled to draw a large sum of 
money from the Middletown Bank to be 
used for the purchase of substitutes for 
the poor men of the town who had been 
drafted, and whose families would be 
threatened with starvation were the only 
provider for the family taken from them. 
Mr. Murray strapped this "bounty 
money" securely about his body and set 
out for Washington, February 27, 1864. 
During this trip of nearly two weeks he 
was almost afraid to snatch a few mo- 
ments for much needed rest, owing to 
the desperate character of men who fol- 
lowed him constantly, in the hope of se- 
curing this money. In spite of all his 
efforts, Mr. Murray was not able to secure 
the exemption of all the men for whom he 
pleaded, and upon his return to his home 
he made immense sacrifices in his en- 
deavor to support the families who were 
left destitute. A large share of his crops 
was bestowed in charity of this nature, 
and upon him was bestowed the well 
earned and well deserved title of the 
"Poor man's friend." As a judge of elec- 
tion after the war, Mr. Murray accepted 
those voters who were eligible according 
to the laws then in force. This was 
against the ideas of some of the politicians 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and he was advised to leave his home, as 
his enemies would have him indicted for 
accepting illegal votes. He answered : "I 
will be right here on my place. If there 
is a grand jury in Monmouth county that 
will indict me for doing my duty, I am 
willing to stand my trial." And he re- 
mained at home until notified that the 
grand jury had refused to listen to the 
complaint against him. 

During his absence in Washington he 
had been elected assessor for the town- 
ship of Middletown, an office he filled with 
ability for a number of years. When land 
became valuable along the Shrewsbury 
river for summer residences, Mr. Murray 
with his usual interest in behalf of the 
poorer classes, found that the small 
owners were bearing the larger share of 
the taxation, and he determined to rec- 
tify this matter. This resulted, as might 
have been foreseen, in the making of 
many enemies among the richer owners, 
but this did not deter Mr. Murray from 
carrying out his intention, which he did 
successfully. 

Upon the death of his father in 1865, 
Mr. Murray succeeded him as trustee of 
the Middletown Baptist Church, being the 
third generation in a direct line to hold 
this office, and in 1872, he was elected 
clerk of the board of trustees. In order 
to carry out the provisions of the will of 
his father, Mr. Murray was obliged to 
mortgage the farm, and his fortune was 
further decreased by the development of 
farming interests in the south and west. 
He abandoned conservative farming as 
being unproductive of pecuniary results, 
and commenced raising products easy of 
culture and requiring the least amount 
of labor. In many instances he sup- 
planted the labor of human hands by ma- 
chinery of his own invention, and during 
the period of ten years following the Civil 
War he made many experiments along 



the lines of increasing the commercial 
value of the products of his farm. A 
number of the experiments which he then 
made have since that time been taken into 
practical use, and have been productive 
of excellent results. He was neither ex- 
travagant nor a speculator, but in the 
scope of his work he was too far in 
advance of the times. He foresaw the 
fact that New Jersey would become a 
residential and commercial State rather 
than an agricultural one, but the time was 
not ripe for the successful carrying out of 
his ideas. When Monmouth county suf- 
fered heavy losses by the embezzlement 
of some tax collectors, Mr. Murray was 
active in the prosecution of George W. 
Patterson and Alvan B. Hallenbeck, tax 
collectors of Freehold and Middletown 
townships. In this matter he was acting 
deliberately against his private interests, 
as he was one of the bondsmen of Mr. 
Hallenbeck, but it was one of his fixed 
principles to place the public welfare 
above his private affairs, no matter at 
what cost to himself. Few believed that 
he was honest in his conduct of this mat- 
ter, but he was upheld by the courage of 
his convictions. Having sustained other 
losses about the same time, Mr. Murray 
was unable to pay off the mortgage on his 
farm, and this was foreclosed in 1880. 
Bereft of all but his household goods, he 
again bravely took up the struggle for an 
existence, handicapped as he was oy 
lameness and approaching old age. This 
struggle, brave as it was, lasted but a few 
years, as he died on Thanksgiving Day, 
1884. 

Mr. Murray married. February 27, 
1855, Mary Catherine Cooper, born 
March 20, 1833, a daughter of James and 
Rebecca (Patterson) Cooper; grand- 
daughter of George and Abigail (Oakley) 
Cooper, of Westchester county, New 
York ; great-granddaughter of James and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Elizabeth (Douglas) Cooper, the latter a 
sister of Alexander Douglas, who earned 
fame at the battle of Trenton ; and a de- 
scendant of "Benjamin Cooper, yeoman, 
late of ye Fresh Kills, Staten Island, now 
(1712) of Middletown, Monmouth coun- 
ty. New Jersey." Rebecca (Patterson) 
Cooper was the daughter of Judge Jehu 
and Hannah (Gordon) Patterson, the lat- 
ter a great-granddaughter of Charles Gor- 
don, one of the founders of old Tennent 
Church. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Mur- 
ray : 1. Mary Crawford, became the wife 
of Dr. Ovid Allen Hyde, of Brooklyn, 
New York; children: Chester Ovid, and 
George Crawford, deceased. 2. Ella 
Cooper, became the wife of William T. 
Van Brunt, of Middletown, New Jersey ; 
children : George Crawford, deceased ; 
and Catherine M. 3. George Crawford, a 
practical electrician; married (first) Ger- 
trude Whitman, of Brooklyn, New York ; 
child, Gertrude Dorothy; married (sec- 
ond) Mary Daud, of Brooklyn, New 
York ; children : Maria Daud and Anita. 



PERRY, Capt. Samuel Edmund, 

Lawyer, Legislator, National Guard Officer. 

Although widely known by his military 
title, it was as a lawyer and public official 
that Captain Perry best served his native 
State. One of the old school of lawyers, 
he won the confidence of the judges of the 
higher and inferior courts, and many im- 
portant causes were committed to his cap- 
able professional care. He was a member 
of the Connecticut, New York, and New 
Jersey bars, and practiced in all three 
States ; but his greatest fame as a lawyer 
was won as a member of the Atlantic 
county bar in his native State, practicing 
in Atlantic City while living in a beautiful 
home at Somers Point. But he was claim- 
ed by and belonged to the entire county, 
where his labors as professional man and 
citizen resulted in great benefit to all. 



As a lawyer he won fame in the conduct 
of a number of cases famous in New Jer- 
sey Law Reports. Among the more cele- 
brated cases in which he was counsel the 
following attracted unusual public atten- 
tion : Burke vs. Tighe, a murder case ; 
the Black Hussars case, growing out 
of the unwarranted cowardly attack upon 
Sheriff Gaunt, of Gloucester county; the 
case of Robert Elder, indicted for the 
murder of his father, near Hammonton, 
Captain Perry being senior counsel in as- 
sociation with former Judge Endicott ; the 
defense of Eva Hamilton, in August, 18S9, 
the last named case winning Captain 
Perry great fame, and placing him in the 
front rank of criminal lawyers. As a pub- 
lic official he made an enviable record, 
performing . the duties of the offices of 
trust that were bestowed upon him with 
scrupulous fidelity. He was of most 
genial nature, with kindly word and pleas- 
ant smile for all. He gained worldly com- 
petence, and might have given himself 
long years of ease had he so desired, but 
he was so deeply interested in community 
affairs and so loath to deny his friends the 
legal aid they desired, that he continued 
"in the harness" until life's sands were 
nearly run. When, however, his last 
brief was filed, and he appeared before 
the Great Judge, it was with the con- 
fidence that his case was well prepared, 
that there was no flaw in the record, and 
that the verdict, "Well done, good and 
faithful servant," would be rendered. 

Captain Perry inherited his strong 
character and unusual talents from an 
honored father and mother. His father, 
Edmund Perry, represented Hunterdon 
county in the New Jersey State Senate, 
and in 1861 was president of that body, 
and at one time served as acting governor 
entertaining President Lincoln. He was 
classed with the foremost men of his day, 
and ranked favorably with such promi- 
nent Jerseymen as Chancellor William- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son, United States Senator William 
Wright, Secretary Frederick Frelinghuy- 
sen, John P. Stockton, and Frederick C. 
Potts. Captain Perry's mother, Elizabeth 
D. (White) Perry, was an accomplished 
linguist and a noted amateur musician, 
also widely known through her contribu- 
tions to magazines and periodicals. Her 
article against flogging in the United 
States navy created a sensation, and 
Commodore Stockton is credited with the 
statement that "that article did more to 
cause the abolishment of such punishment 
than any other agency." She wrote under 
her maiden name, Elizabeth D. White, 
and in the old "Columbia Magazine" and 
in other old time periodicals her articles 
may be found. 

Samuel Edmund Perry, son of Edmund 
and Elizabeth D. (White) Perry, was 
born at New Hampton, Hunterdon county, 
New Jersey, May 7, 1849, died at Somers 
Point. Atlantic county, New Jersey, De- 
cember 20, 1914. He was a student at 
Riverview Military Academy at Pough- 
keepsie, New York, then at Eagleswood, 
New Jersey, later pursuing a course at the 
Pennsylvania Military College, Chester, 
Pennsylvania. He chose the profession 
of law, studied under Judge Randolph, of 
the New Jersey Supreme Court, and com- 
pleted a course at Columbia Law School, 
New York City. After graduation he was 
admitted to the Connecticut bar, and be- 
gan practice in the city of Hartford. He 
was subsequently engaged in practice in 
New York City in association with Judge 
Stephen D. Stevens, and later had offices 
with General Roger A. Pryor in New 
York. In 1877 he was admitted to the 
New Jersey bar as an attorney, and in 
1881 as a counsellor. He first practiced 
in New Jersey at Flemington, his native 
town, then spent a short time in practice 
at Lambertville, afterward moving to At- 
lantic City, where he won fame in his pro- 
fession and continued in practice until 



life's course was nearly completed. He 
attained a prominence in Atlantic county 
unsurpassed by any and equalled by few. 
In Hunterdon county he had been solici- 
tor for the Board of Freeholders, and at 
Lambertville was city solicitor. In At- 
lantic county he was Prosecutor of the 
Pleas for five years, appointed by Gov- 
ernor Werts in 1893. He was a special 
Master in Chancery, and sat as Advisory 
Master in the divorce case, Irwin vs. 
Irwin, of Chelsea, rendering a decision in 
favor of Airs. Irwin. His private practice 
was very large, conducted from offices in 
the Currie building, Atlantic and South 
Carolina avenues, Atlantic City. He was 
counsel for the Atlantic City Hotel Men's 
Association, and was in close touch with 
the public at many points. 

Captain Perry was an enthusiastic 
apostle of "Deeper Waterways," was 
chosen as delegate to many "Waterways" 
conventions, was delegate from New Jer- 
sey to the National Conference on Water- 
ways held in Washington, and at the 
Deeper Waterways Association Conven- 
tion held in Providence, Rhode Island, 
was elected vice-president of the associ- 
ation, the only officer elected from New 
Jersey. 

Captain Perry, educated in military 
schools, ever cherished a fondness for the 
military branch of national defense. He 
was an active member of the long extinct 
Sea Coast Artillery Company, succeeded 
by Company F, of which he was captain 
until that, too, passed away. 

In politics Captain Perry was an ardent 
Democrat, and as such was chosen jour- 
nal clerk of the New Jersey House of 
Assembly in 1878, and in 1889 was elected 
a member of the Atlantic City Board of 
Education. He was appointed Prosecutor 
by Democratic Governor Werts in 1893, 
and in 1896 was a delegate to the Na- 
tional Democratic Convention that nomi- 
nated William Jennings Bryan for presi- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dent, although the New Jersey delegation 
as a unit voted in opposition to that nomi- 
nation under their instructions to support 
a "sound money" candidate. 

He belonged to many fraternal associa- 
tions and other organizations, including 
the legal associations, local, State, and 
national. He was the first exalted ruler 
of Atlantic City Lodge No. 276, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks ; was 
active in the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, the Improved Order of Red Men, 
and the Improved Order of Heptasophs. 
At the laying of the cornerstone of Odd 
Fellows' Hall in Atlantic City. June 13. 
1892, he was the orator of the day. He 
was greatly beloved in all the orders with 
which he was affiliated. He was long con- 
nected with the Volunteer Firemen's As- 
sociation and was major and judge advo- 
cate of the Third Regiment New Jersey 
National Guard. 

Captain Perry married (first) Adela 
Chambers, of New York City. He mar- 
ried (second) in 1879, Isabella Loomis, of 
Columbia county, New York, daughter of 
Eli and Mary Cozzens (Webster) Loomis, 
the latter a relative of Daniel Webster, 
and schoolmate of Charlotte Cushman. 
Mrs. Perry is a great-granddaughter of 
Major Cozzens, a Revolutionary officer, 
and is a member of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution, eligible to this soci- 
ety on both sides of her family. She con- 
tinues her residence at the beautiful home 
at Somers Point. 



SHEPARD, Frederick M., 

Financier, Humanitarian, Philanthropist. 

The surname derived from the oldest 
occupation of men has been worthily 
borne by eminent men in many lands in 
every generation, but by none more 
worthily than by Frederick M. Shepard, 
a "Captain of Industry," banker, philan- 



thropist and humanitarian, late of East 
Orange, New Jersey. Though not a 
native born son of New Jersey, he entered 
heartily into the business life of his 
adopted home, aided in the establishment 
of new interests, financial and industrial, 
also in philanthropy and religion left en- 
during monuments to his great public 
spirit. To his business sagacity the pure 
abundant water supply of East Orange is 
largely due, also the banking institution 
of the city. To his philanthropy Orange 
Memorial Hospital owes a debt of grati- 
tude for the tuberculosis department, 
erected in memory of a dear son. To his 
religious fervor Munn Avenue (First) 
Presbyterian Church can ascribe much of 
its prosperity, while Elmwood Chapel 
Sunday School is a monument to his de- 
votion and interest, his connection with 
that school forming one of the pleasant 
and interesting chapters of his life in East 
Orange. 

Mr. Shepard was of the eighth Amer- 
ican generation of the family founded in 
Massachusetts by Edward Shepard, a sea 
captain, about the year 1639. He was a 
descendant of an English family that bore 
arms : "Vert two shepherds' crooks in sal- 
tire or, between three lambs passant, two 
and one argent." Crest : "A mount vert 
thereon in front of two shepherds' crooks 
in saltire or, a lamb passant argent." 

Frederick M. Shepard was born in Nor- 
folk, Litchfield county, Connecticut, Sep- 
tember 24, 1827, and died in East Orange, 
a son of John Andrus and Margaret J. 
(Mills) Shepard, of Norfolk, the former a 
member of the Connecticut legislature 
and postmaster. He attended public and 
private schools, completing his studies in 
the school conducted by the Rev. John F. 
Norton in Norfolk. He began business 
life as clerk in a Norfolk store, then spent 
some years in a similar capacity in a dry 
goods store in Hartford, Connecticut. In 



24 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1848, on arriving at legal age, he went to 
New York and there for five years was in 
the employ of Augustine Averill & Com- 
pany, commission merchants. In 1S53 he 
began his wonderfully successful career 
as a rubber manufacturer and merchant, a 
career that terminated only when the 
highest honor had been won, and his place 
at the head of the world's greatest rub- 
ber interests firmly established, and his 
worth recognized. He was elected secre- 
tary of the Union Rubber Company in 
1853, later becoming its president. In 
1864 he organized, in association with 
Joseph A. Minott, the Rubber Clothing 
Company, and in 1872, also in association 
with Mr. Minott, organized the Goodyear 
Rubber Company, and under Mr. Shep- 
ard's control. He was also president of 
the Lambertville Rubber Company ; direc- 
tor of the National India Rubber Com- 
pany of Rhode Island, of the United 
States Rubber Company, and of the Mu- 
tual Benefit Life Insurance Company. 

Mr. Shepard resided in New York until 
1868, and then purchased a residence on 
Munn avenue, East Orange, which he oc- 
cupied in summer only until 1873, then 
sold his New York residence and there- 
after made East Orange his permanent 
home. The original house was greatly 
enlarged and beautified within and with- 
out, and with its surroundings formed 
one of the most attractive homes in that 
city of beautiful residences. 

For the first few years after locating in 
East Orange, Mr. Shepard took little in- 
terest in the life of that city except in its 
religious and philanthropic institutions. 
The Orange Water Company, chartered 
in 1867, had lain dormant, but in 1880 was 
revived, Mr. Shepard being one of the 
first and largest stockholders, and the 
first president, continuing in that office 
until his death. Under him a perfect sys- 
tem of supply and distribution was estab- 
lished, furnishing a pure and abundant 



supply, he, with his associate, Mr. Ran- 
dall, bearing the early financial burden. 
While a pure and plentiful supply of water 
was the paramount idea, the returns in a 
financial sense have also proved satis- 
factory to the stockholders. He contrib- 
uted largely to the erection of the Com- 
monwealth building, and organized the 
East Orange Safe Deposit and Trust Com- 
pany, whose vaults are in that building. 
He was the first president of the com- 
pany, serving many years, then resigned, 
but accepted the office of vice-president. 
He aided in organizing the East Orange 
National Bank, was its president tor two 
years, and then retired, having seen that 
institution safe and surely on the road to 
success. He aided by influence and large 
contributions the Orange Memorial Hos- 
pital, and in memory of his son, Joseph 
Minott Shepard. erected the tuberculosis 
department of that valuable philanthropy. 
In memory of his childhood days, Mr. 
Shepard also established a water system 
in his native town of Norfolk in 1894, the 
Norfolk Water Company furnishing that 
town with an abundant supply of pure 
water drawn from Mountain Lake. 

A Presbyterian in religion, Mr. Shepard 
on coming to East Orange became a mem- 
ber of the Munn Avenue Presbyterian 
Church, also known as the First Presby- 
terian Church of East Orange. He served 
on the board of trustees for several years, 
and during his term the debt was extin- 
guished that had been on the congrega- 
tion since the erection of the church edi- 
fice in 1863. When Elmwood Chapel, a 
branch of the Munn Avenue Church, was 
proposed, Mr. Shepard by personal effort 
and generous contribution made its estab- 
lishment possible. After the erection of 
the chapel he took deep personal interest 
in its welfare, especially in the Sunday 
school, serving as its superintendent from 
1880. He devoted much time to its up- 
building, and saw its steady growth in 



EX CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



number and usefulness with the keenest 
pleasure. He was beloved by teachers 
and scholars, his connection with Elm- 
wood Chapel and its Sunday school form- 
ing a most delightful feature of his life in 
East Orange, and one he reviewed with 
deep satisfaction. So lived a good man 
"diligent in business, fervent in spirit, 
serving the Lord." His life was one of 
construction and upbuilding. His fortune 
was fairly earned and rightly used. He 
did not let "his right hand know what his 
left hand was doing," and many of his 
benevolences and deeds of kindness were 
unknown save to those benefitted. But 
his deeds of public-spirited generosity, 
publicly performed as mentioned, were 
many, and stand as monuments to the 
memory of a "good man," and of one who 
stood every test demanded of American 
citizenship and of a manly character. 

Air. Shepard married, in September, 
1854, Annie Clarissa, daughter of Theron 
Rockwell, of Colebrook, Connecticut, a 
descendant of Deacon William Rockwell, 
who came to Nantucket, Massachusetts, 
May 30, 1630, and founded one of the im- 
portant Pilgrim families. Joseph Rock- 
well, of the fifth American generation, 
was one of the proprietors of Colebrook, 
Connecticut, and captain of the first 
militia company in the town. His son, 
Elijah Rockwell, was a lieutenant of the 
Revolution, justice of the peace, and town 
clerk of Colebrook for thirty-eight years. 
Theron Rockwell, his son, was a leather 
manufacturer of Colebrook and New 
York, a man of wealth and influence ; he 
married Clarissa Treat, a descendant of 
Matthew Treat, of Connecticut, Annie 
Clarissa being the youngest child of that 
marriage. 

Children of Frederick M. and Annie 
Clarissa (Rockwell) Shepard: Annie 
Rockwell; Frederick M., married Isabella 
Condit ; Clara Margaret, married Alfred 
Boote ; Joseph Minott, died in 1875 ; John 
Andrus ; Edith Mills. 



26 



MACWITHEY, Amasa A., M. D., 

Physician, Hghly Estimable Citizen. 

The eminence of Dr. Amasa A. Mac- 
withey, late of Pompton, Morris county, 
New Jersey, was conceded by all. His 
place in public confidence, esteem and 
honor, was secure. It was won by a life 
of unsullied integrity, of identification 
with educational and philanthropic inter- 
ests, and of devotion to the public welfare. 
It is interesting to trace the factors in the 
making of such a career. Although "blood 
will tell," aristocracy of rank is unknown 
among us, and it is the aristocracy of cul- 
ture, character and ability that will always 
have our respect. 

Dr. Macwithey was born in Saratoga 
county, New York, December 15, 1819, 
and died at his home in Pompton, Morris 
county, New Jersey, in January, 1908, at 
the age of eighty-eight years. He was a 
son of John and Mary (Jeremiah) Mac- 
withey, also natives of Saratoga county, 
the former a contractor and builder by 
occupation, who was employed in the con- 
struction of the Union College, in Sche- 
nectady, New York. Dr. Macwithey was 
reared in the latter place and acquired his 
literary education in its public schools, 
after which he followed the printer's trade 
in New York City for some years. He 
studied medicine under Dr. Isaac S. Smith, 
of New York City, and attended lectures 
at the New York University, from which 
institution he was graduated in the class 
of 1843, ms diploma being signed by Theo- 
dore Frelinghuysen, then chancellor of 
the university. Dr. Macwithey entered 
upon his professional career in New York 
City, where he remained until the year 
1850, when he removed to Pompton, New 
Jersey, where he made his home and de- 
voted his energies to the restoration of the 
sick. He was always a close student of 
his profession and, by careful and con- 
centrated reading, kept abreast of the im- 
provements which characterize the science 




O^VX^^LOt . _^ 



^K^ceA^y-t^i^^ -^fyf 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of medicine. He was very successful in 
his work, and was the respected and hon- 
ored family physician in many of the best 
homes in his section of the county. He 
belonged to the Morris County Medical 
Society, and was examining surgeon for 
the New York Mutual and the Manhattan 
Life Insurance companies many years. 

Dr. Macwithey was a valued member 
of the Masonic fraternity, belonging to 
Orange Lodge of Paterson, New Jersey. 
He was also a member of the United 
Friends, and in his political associations 
was a Republican, warmly espousing the 
principles of the Grand Old Party. He 
was connected in religious belief with the 
Reformed church, and served as elder of 
that congregation in Pompton. 

Dr. Macwithey married (first) in 1844, 
Mary Helen Quinn, who died in 1880, a 
daughter of Robert Quinn, of New York 
City. He married (second) June 21, 1882, 
Isabel Nostrand, daughter of Andrew and 
Mary (Pierce) Nostrand, of New York 
City. Children by the first marriage: 
Edward L. C, who also became a physi- 
cian in New York City, and is now de- 
ceased, as are his three sisters; he mar- 
ried Anna Belle Reamer, and they had one 
child : Edward Louis, who married Alice 
Linen, of Pompton. The only child of the 
second marriage was Herbert Alonzo. 
In his private life Dr. Macwithey was a 
man of high ideals and rare attainments. 
Intellectually he was a man of unusual 
force and influence, and all who came in 
contact with him felt the impress of his 
personality. He was a deep and constant 
student along many lines of research, and 
possessed a wide and accurate fund of in- 
formation, which made him at all times 
a most interesting and instructive con- 
versationalist. He loved his friends and 
delighted in their company, for there was 
in him none of the misanthrope. He had 
no personal enemies and provoked no one 
to enmity, for the simplicity and cordiality 



of his nature and manners invited friend- 
ship and disarmed enmity. His domestic 
life was exemplary, his home a genial and 
happy one, and he and his wife were held 
in the highest esteem by all. Such a life 
is a valuable asset to any community. To 
young men of ambition, industry and 
ability, it is an incentive to seek a career 
that will not serve selfish interests alone, 
but, by integrity of conduct and promo- 
tion of public good, to lead their age a 
little higher on humanity's upward path, 
which at last shall be crowned with the 
light of a perfect civilization. 



IMLAY, Lewis Tilton, 

Insurance Actuary. 

In the passing of a man who has been 
of proven value to his community, there 
is always cause for sincere public regret, 
and many were the expressions of sorrow 
that followed the death of Lewis T. Im- 
lay, who died at Atlantic City, July 10, 
191 3. He possessed those excellent quali- 
ties of manhood that attract, and during 
his business life he established a reputa- 
tion for unfailing integrity and commer- 
cial honor that won him the highest com- 
mendation. He was progressive and en- 
ergetic in his business, alert and quick to 
discern an opportunity, but never in his 
desire to forge ahead willing to sacrifice 
his good name or to stoop to question- 
able practice. He was loyal to his friends, 
cheerful in prosperity or adversity, sym- 
pathetic and generous to those in distress, 
and full of charity for those weak enough 
to transgress human or Divine law. His 
spoken promise he held sacred, prompt- 
ness in business engagements and sturdy 
honesty ever characterized him, and no 
man in his city was more genuinely liked. 
Although the memory of his splendid 
business career will remain a worthy 
monument to his ability and energy, he 
will be longest remembered for his many 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



deeds of charity and kindness, for the 
purity of his private character, and for the 
strength of his manhood. 

Lewis T. Imlay was born in Northfield, 
New Jersey, March 13, 1862, and died in 
Atlantic City, July 10, 1913, only child of 
Gideon T. and Sarah J. (Tilton) Imlay. 
After completing his education, he enter- 
ed business life and became one of the 
best known insurance men of Atlantic 
City. When C. J. Adams purchased the 
extensive insurance business of his cousin, 
I. G. Adams, he admitted Mr. Imlay, J. 
B. Rogers and Lucius I. Wright as part- 
ners, and until his death Mr. Imlay con- 
tinued this association, succeeding J. B. 
Rogers as secretary of the company sev- 
eral years ago. 

He was a Republican in politics, but 
never sought public office, although for 
one term he represented Ventnor City 
on the Board of Freeholders, serving as 
chairman of the finance committee. He 
declined reelection and thereafter served 
his community in a strictly private capa- 
city. He was a well known and popular 
member of the Masonic order, belonging 
to Trinity Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, to the Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, 
and Atlantic Commandery, Knights 
Templar. He was a noble of Crescent 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, and a member of the 
Tall Cedars of Lebanon. He was a mem- 
ber of St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and faithful to his obligations. 

Mr. Imlay married Irene C. Tilton, who 
survives him. a resident of Atlantic City. 
Children: Caroline, married Charles R. 
Wilson, Horace G., and John, both resi- 
dents of Atlantic City. 



WOODWARD, Edward Stockton, 

Man of Sterling Character. 

A native and resident of New Jersey, 
Edward Stockton Woodward was one of 
the many who make Philadelphia the 



field of their business activity, but whose 
home and social interests lie across the 
Delaware in Camden, New Jersey. Mr. 
Woodward entered business life in Phil- 
adelphia while yet below legal age, com- 
ing from the farm to the city, and there 
obtaining temporary employment while 
seeking his niche in the vast business in- 
terests of the Pennsylvania metropolis. 
In 1872, the year in which he attained 
his majority, he decided, with calm and 
deliberate judgment, to establish as a 
commission dealer in produce, taking his 
place among the commission merchants 
along Philadelphia's waterfront. From 
the first he applied himself to the upbuild- 
ing of a substantial, prosperous business, 
and, with untiring industry, asking no 
favors, learning more from reverses than 
successes, he placed the house he found- 
ed among the leaders in its line, the proud 
occupant of a position fairly won. In the 
crises of affairs he was strong and cour- 
ageous, in his associations fair and up- 
right, and his business owed its long and 
successful continuance to the strict probity 
and honor that characterized the trans- 
actions of his house. His resourcefulness 
and exceptional business acumen were 
well shown during one of the infrequent 
potato famines that have distressed agri- 
culturists of the Atlantic States, when, to 
meet the demands of a clamoring market, 
he directed large importations of this 
essential commodity from Ireland. For 
more than four decades he was a con- 
spicuous figure in commission dealings in 
Philadelphia, and during this period he 
gained, besides material independence, 
the confidence and respect, the friendship 
and regard, of his many associates. In 
the provision business Mr. Woodward 
was widely known and respected among 
the farmers in all the districts adjacent to 
the home market, as well as in the south, 
especially in Virginia, where he bought 
largely of produce. There he was always 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



assured of a warm welcome and cheerful 
greeting when traveling through the 
State on a buying trip. He was a man of 
kindly and charitable instincts, always 
ready to contribute to a worthy cause, 
and to give a helping hand here and there 
to those who sought assistance. A num- 
ber of the prosperous commission men in 
Philadelphia and elsewhere owe their 
start in business life to his assistance and 
kindly advice. 

Edward Stockton Woodward was born 
at Green Tree (now Evesboro), Burling- 
ton county, New Jersey, June i, 1851, 
died in Camden, New Jersey, November 
6, 1914. His education was gained in the 
public schools of the locality, and his 
youthful years were passed on his grand- 
father's farm, which he left when deter- 
mined to seek employment in Philadel- 
phia. A carpet house offered him his 
first situation, and in this place he remain- 
ed until 1872, when, arriving at man's 
estate, he inaugurated a venture which, in 
its successful issue, brought him promi- 
nence and prosperity. This venture, for, 
because of his youth and inexperience it 
could be called little more, was establish- 
ment in commission dealings in produce, 
which he did on a small scale on Dock 
street, the principal headquarters for com- 
mission houses in Philadelphia. Adher- 
ence to the fairest of business laws, con- 
siderate intercourse with the agricultur- 
ists of the neighboring country, and per- 
sistent and well directed endeavor 
brought the volume of business transacted 
in the Woodward name up to a standard 
equal to that of the leading houses of the 
city, a position it ably maintained during 
Mr. Woodward's active years. He special- 
ized in the handling of potatoes, and for 
years was one of the most extensive 
dealers in that staple in the region, and 
on one occasion when the eastern crop 
railed, resorted to the method previously 
described to fulfill the demand. He was 



the personal head of his business, plan- 
ning and executing, retaining a firm grip 
upon all of its activities until called from 
all labor. Mr. Woodward was known and 
appreciated for admirable qualities of 
character and personality, and even in the 
rush and press of business impressed his 
associates and acquaintances with his 
sterling worth and true manhood. 

He was always greatly interested in 
sport. In the palmy days of the trotting 
horse, before the automobile came into 
general use as a vehicle, Mr. Woodward 
had his pleasure and recreation in own- 
ing and driving blooded stock. In his 
stable were to be found many of the fam- 
ous horses of the time, one of which was 
the celebrated "Major Ross," with a track 
record of 2:161-2, trial speed of 2:11, and 
matinee record to road wagon of 2:17 1-4. 
Mr. Woodward was a member of the old 
Belmont, Point Breeze and other trotting 
clubs. A number of solid silver cups now 
in the possession of his widow and son 
testify to his success with his horses at 
the various races in which they took part. 
It was only when the automobile sup- 
planted the horse as a roadster and the 
latter had to give way to its speedier rival 
that Mr. Woodward recognized the ad- 
vantages of the motor car and sold his 
stable. 

Philadelphia claimed but his business 
interests, for in all things else he was 
closely identified with New Jersey and 
Camden. He served the First Presby- 
terian Church of Camden as a loyal and 
devoted member, participating in many 
branches of its work, and belonged to the 
Republican Club, of Camden. In this 
city, where his relations were other than 
those of business, he is remembered for 
a sincere and cordial manner, a warm and 
hearty friendliness, and earnest cooper- 
ation with all forces working for good, 
whether in church, in civil or in political 
life. 



-'9 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Edward Stockton Woodward married 
Elvira Moore, daughter of Isaac Van 
Home and Mary Ann (Fitch) Moore, and 
had children: Edward Stockton Jr., and 
Ada Moore, deceased, married Artnur M. 
Wood. 



GUERIN, William Halsey, 

Insurance Actuary. 

Newark as a business center takes high 
rank among the cities of the United 
States, and William Halsey Guerin, of 
this review, was an important factor in 
sustaining her reputation in this direc- 
tion. He stood at the head of one of her 
leading enterprises, and was a wide- 
awake, progressive business man, whose 
well directed efforts resulted not only in 
his individual prosperity but also pro- 
moted the welfare of the community. The 
world is not slow to pass judgment upon 
the individual, and when a man has won 
the high respect of those with whom busi- 
ness and social relations have brought 
him in contact, it is by reason of a well 
spent and honorable life. Condemnation 
comes quickly from the public, and es- 
teem therefore indicates the possession of 
worthy qualities and characteristics. He 
was a son of George Barclay and Maria 
(Powles) Guerin, the former a mason 
and builder, who erected almost all the 
older public buildings in the city of New- 
ark. 

William Halsey Guerin was born in 
Newark, New Jersey, September 4, 1842. 
He was the recipient of an excellent 
education acquired in the following named 
institutions: Dr. Rose's school, in New- 
ark ; Dr. Pingrey's establishment, in 
Elizabeth ; and Professor Saunder's 
School for Young Gentlemen, in Philadel- 
phia. For a time he was then associated 
with his father in the building and con- 
tracting business, and later became iden- 



tified with a number of other enterprises 
of importance. He was the senior member 
of the firm of Guerin & Williams, insur- 
ance contractors, and was the secretary 
and treasurer of the Merchants' Insurance 
Company of Newark. During the Civil 
War he served as secretary in the New- 
ark Hospital for Wounded Soldiers. 
Always an ardent Republican, he gave his 
earnest support to the interests of that 
party, but his numerous important busi- 
ness responsibilities prevented him from 
accepting public office. He was a mem- 
ber of St. John's Lodge, Free and Accept- 
ed Masons, being one of the oldest mem r 
bers of the Masonic fraternity at the time 
of his death, and was also a member of 
the Royal Arcanum. He was a devout 
member of the Clinton Avenue Dutch 
Reformed Church, and a generous con- 
tributor to its support. 

Mr. Guerin married (first) October 21, 
1867, Isabella, daughter of Robert and 
Hetty (King) Duncan; (second) Febru- 
ary 11, 1874, Sarah L., daughter of Wil- 
liam Henry and Sarah Elizabeth (Desh- 
ler) Nelson. Child of first marriage : 
Hetty Isabel, born January 24, 1869. 
Children by second marriage : Gertrude 
Van Winkle, born September 25, 1876; 
Deshler, August 23, 1878; George Bar- 
clay, August 26, 1881 ; Henry Haworth, 
March 30, 1891. 

In social as in business life, Mr. Guerin 
possessed a host of friends. Of a genial 
and social disposition, he had won friends 
all along the way of life, who gave him 
their high regard by reason of his splen- 
did character, his manly conduct, his 
honorable dealing and his fidelity to every 
duty. He was most hospitable by nature, 
delighted in the society of his friends, but 
was happiest in the role of host. His 
home was a center of social enjoyment 
and there his genial friendly qualities 
were seen at their best. 



3 n 




< ^r^i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BUTTERWORTH, Theron Hervey, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

The era of large enterprises is upon 
us and the day of small undertakings 
has passed away. Men of master minds 
have control of large concerns, and they 
display sound judgment and keen dis- 
crimination. They have gone into newer 
and broader fields than did their prede- 
cessors, and their leadership has taken 
special lines. The men who have been 
at the head of important commercial en- 
terprises are the men who command the 
respect not alone of the business world, 
but of the entire community. Among 
these captains of industry the late Theron 
Hervey Butterworth, of Morristown, 
New Jersey, commanded a leading posi- 
tion. He was of English descent, his 
father, Henry Butterworth, having been 
a native of that country, coming to the 
United States in childhood, and in early 
manhood settling in Newburg, New York, 
where he owned large farms, and, from 
being connected with the freighting busi- 
ness on the Hudson river, came to be 
known as Captain Butterworth. He mar- 
ried Charlotte Fowler, a sister of Dr. 
Samuel Fowler, of Sussex county, New 
Jersey. 

Theron Hervey Butterworth, the 
youngest of a large family, was born in 
Newburg, New York, August 17, 1820, 
and died in New York City, April 2, 1891. 
His earlier educational advantages were 
obtained in the Montgomery and New- 
burg academies, of which the Rev. 
Samuel Irenaeus Prime was principal 
and he then took up the study of law 
with Judge Brown, in Newburg, but never 
followed the legal profession, as commer- 
cial pursuits had a superior attraction for 
him. He soon made his mark in the 
business world, and became associated 
with the New York Floating Derrick 
Company, of which he was elected presi- 



dent, and finally became the sole owner. 
He was closely identified with this cor- 
poration until the year 1867, when he re- 
tired from all business occupations, and 
retired to his country estate, three miles 
out from Morristown. This beautiful 
estate is called "Ventosa," and is located 
in one of the most delightful portions of 
Morris county, on the Mount Freedom 
road ; it consists of one hundred and three 
acres, a part of it near the house being 
laid out in beautiful lawns and flower 
gardens, while other portions form excel- 
lent pasturage, and still others are left 
with all their native beauty of forest 
growth. While Mr. Butterworth was still 
engaged in business life, he owned a large 
quantity of valuable real estate in the 
heart of New York City. He was a gentle- 
man of the old school, his fine, courteous 
manner and dignified demeanor, never 
varying whether addressing "prince or 
pauper." In political opinion he gave his 
support to the Democratic party, but 
neither desired, nor could he be induced to 
accept public office. He was, however, 
public spirited to a degree, and all projects 
which had for their object the welfare 
or improvement of the community, were 
assured of his hearty and generous sup- 
port. In especial he was a liberal donor 
to the church and hospitals and institu- 
tions of a kindred nature. 

Early in life Mr. Butterworth married 
a daughter of Dr. A. T. Hunter, a promi- 
nent physician of New York, and from 
this marriage there were four children, 
three sons and one daughter. In 1867 
he married Selina Shirley, a daughter of 
the Rev. Samuel T. Gibbs, granddaughter 
of the Rev. John Gibbs, of the Congre- 
gational church. From this marriage there 
were four children — three daughters and 
a son. Mr. Butterworth died in New 
York City, April 2, 1891, and was buried 
in Woodlawn Cemetery. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CHAMPION, Joseph Steelman, 

Useful Citizen. 

Descendant of one of the old and promi- 
nent families of the colonial period in 
New Jersey, Joseph S. Champion won for 
himself an honored name in the county 
of his birth, where for nearly half a cen- 
tury he was engaged in business as cab- 
inet maker and funeral director. In 1881 
he moved from Mays Landing to Atlantic 
City, there founding the business now 
conducted by his sons. At that time he 
was the only funeral director in Atlantic 
City, and there had been but little done 
to improve that section lying inland from 
Baltic avenue. He became prominent in 
business, prospered abundantly, and won 
the esteem of all. He early saw the pos- 
sibility of making Atlantic City a great 
resort and invested heavily in real estate. 
He was among the pioneers in apartment 
house building, and the present Champion 
Building is one of the many buildings he 
erected. He conducted real estate opera- 
tions in various sections of the city and 
aided materially in the development of 
Atlantic City, particularly that section 
lying north of Baltic avenue. 

Joseph Steelman Champion was born 
on the family homestead near Mays Land- 
ing, Atlantic county, New Jersey, Au- 
gust 3, 1847, and died in Atlantic City, 
June 2, 1915. When he was but a boy 
his parents left the farm, locating in Mays 
Landing, where he obtained a good educa- 
tion in the public schools. He was bless- 
ed with mechanical genius, was fond as a 
boy of working with tools, and on arriv- 
ing at suitable age began serving an ap- 
prenticeship with his father, a carpenter 
and cabinet maker. He became an expert 
workman, and, choosing the finer branch 
of his trade, confined himself to cabinet 
making and other woodwork requiring 



delicate skill. About 1870 he opened his 
own shop in Mays Landing and to fine, 
fancy, and artistic woodwork, furniture 
and cabinets, he added an undertaking 
department. With the introduction of 
factory made furniture his trade languish- 
ed, and undertaking became his principal 
business. In 1881 he moved to Atlantic 
City, locating at No. 1026 Atlantic ave- 
nue. For ten years thereafter there were 
but two funeral directors in Atlantic 
City, and of these Mr. Champion was the 
leader, a position he always maintained 
even when numerous followers of his 
calling made Atlantic City their places 
of business. He moved his establishment 
to the present location in the Pennsyl- 
vania avenue building, continuing until 
his death, his two sons coming with him 
and in his later years assuming the heav- 
ier burdens. He operated successfully in 
real estate and profited greatly through 
the growth of Atlantic City, a growth in 
which he was an active agent. He was 
popular in many fraternities, was highly 
esteemed by his brethren and by the 
public at large. Mr. Champion was a pio- 
neer in his business and his services were 
in demand in both city and surrounding 
country. His life was a useful one, and 
when old age overtook him he laid aside 
his work without regret, for he had borne 
well his part and was ready to render an 
account of his stewardship. He was ill for 
but six weeks at his home, No. 27 North 
Pennsylvania avenue, and then peacefully 
passed to his long rest. He is remembered 
as one of Atlantic City's foremost citizens, 
as a man of enterprise and integrity, 
worthy of any trust. 

Mr. Champion married, in 1876, Rachel 
A. Bartlett, daughter of David G. and 
Sarah (Chamberlain) Bartlett, who sur- 
vives him with two sons. Otto M. and 
Aaron S., and a daughter, Marjorie B. 



32 




Stgt, ?//c ■ sjf~ : JXetz&& 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BEARDSLEY, George Austin, 

Civil War Veteran, Master Merchant. 

It is ever a great pleasure to record the 
lives and achievements of those who have 
been ready to sacrifice, not alone their 
worldly wealth, but their very lives for 
their country. Such a man was George 
Austin Beardsley, late a resident of New- 
ark, New Jersey, whose intrepid conduct 
exerted a beneficial influence in a wide- 
spread circle during the troublous times 
of the Civil War. But it was not only as 
a soldier that Mr. Beardsley earned merit. 
In business circles his keen mind, great 
foresight and sound judgment were of in- 
estimable value. He was a son of Jus- 
tice W. and Samantha (Riggs) Beards- 
ley, of Sussex county, New Jersey, the 
former having been president of the J. W. 
Beardsley Sons' Company, wholesale gro- 
cers. 

Captain George Austin Beardsley was 
born in Hamburg, Sussex county, New 
Jersey, June 27, 1836. His education was 
acquired in the schools of Paterson, New 
Jersey, and he then learned the jewelry 
trade with the firm of Allen Brothers, 
of Newark. He abandoned this occupa- 
tion, however, in order to go to Utah 
as assistant to Hiram Morrell, who had 
been appointed postmaster of Utah City. 
About this time there was a supposed up- 
rising of Indians who were afterward 
proved to be Mormons attacking some of 
their own people who, tired of the life, 
were attempting to go back East. Albert 
Sydney Johnson (who as a Confederate 
army general fell in the battle of Shiloh, 
in the Civil War), was sent to quell this 
insurrection. Mr. Beardsley enlisted and 
served three months, during which time 
the troops cleared their way into Utah. 
He assumed the duties of assistant post- 
master, and in this capacity had charge 
of the first stagecoach which took the 
mail to San Francisco, California. This 
n j_voi m— s 33 



was in 1857, and they were in constant 
danger of Indian attacks while en route. 
One method of escaping these was to 
make apparent preparations for camping 
at night, light a large camp fire, and 
under cover of this ruse leave it burning 
while they made their way to another 
section farther on, while the Indians in 
all probability attacked their abandoned 
camp when they supposed the white men 
were sleeping soundly. When they ar- 
rived at San Francisco they received an 
ovation as bringing the first mails to that 
city. Mr. Beardsley remained there some 
months, and then took charge of a train 
of wagons loaded with dry goods for Salt 
Lake City. They encountered a number 
of dangers on the way, but so eagerl}- 
were their wares looked for that they 
readily sold all from the rear ends of the 
wagons. He then returned to his original 
home, his companion on this trip being 
a reporter of the New York "Tribune" 
staff. On his arrival in Newark he be- 
came associated with his father in the 
wholesale grocery business, which was 
carried on under the firm name of J. W. 
Beardsley Sons of New York, of which 
he later became president, an office of 
which he was the incumbent at the time 
of his death. 

The connection of Mr. Beardsley with 
the Civil War dated from, 1862. The sec- 
ond commission issued in the Thirteenth 
Regiment, New Jersey Infantry, was that 
to Second Lieutenant George A. Beards- 
ley, who at once proceeded to organize 
a company — Company D — July 17, 1862. 
This was filled by August 15, 1862, and 
on August 22 of that year he was- ap- 
pointed captain. He was an active par- 
ticipant in many engagements, the most 
important being those of Antietam, Chan- 
cellorsville and Gettysburg. During the 
evening of May 2, 1863, at Chancellors- 
ville, being in the confusion separated 
from his regiment, he led a line of skirm- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OK KIOGRAPHY 



ishers composed of men from General 
Knipe's brigade, into breastworks con- 
structed the day before but then occupied 
by the enemy, and barely escaped cap- 
ture. The following day he had com- 
mand of the regiment, all of his superior 
officers having become incapacitated for 
active duty, and with words of encour- 
agement made the men under him Tight 
with redoubled ardor and bravery. While 
the regiment was encamped at Duck 
River bridge, Tennessee, Captain Beards- 
ley was detailed to take command of six 
companies of the Thirteenth Regiment, 
New Jersey Volunteer Infantry, and One 
Hundred and Fiftieth Regiment, New 
York Volunteer Infantry, to collect an 
assessment of $30,000 in Lincoln county, 
Tennessee, which had been levied by 
General George H. Thomas for the fam- 
ilies of the soldiers who had been killed 
in that county by bushwhackers. Upon 
his return to his regiment he was ad- 
vanced to the rank of major January 8, 
1864, but his impaired health would not 
permit active service in this capacity for 
any great length of time, and he resigned 
his commission in April, 1864, and re- 
turned to his home. He was a member 
of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion 
of New Jersey, and of the Newark Board 
of Trade. His religious affiliation was 
with the Clinton Avenue Baptist Church, 
in which he was president of the board of 
trustees. 

Mr. Beardsley married, in 1859, Henri- 
etta C. Burnett, and they had children : 
George A., now president of the firm of 
f. W. Beardsley Sons; Susan B., married 
Joseph A. Whittaker; Henrietta B., mar- 
ried Augustus de Peyster Harlow. 

OGDEN, Syndey Norris, 

Accomplished Actnary. 

Sydney Norris Ogden was born Au- 
gust 7, 1853, in East Twenty-third street, 



New York, then almost the outskirts of 
the city. 

His father, Morgan Lewis Ogden, had 
been engaged in the cotton shipping busi- 
ness in Mobile, Alabama, with his brother, 
Charles Ogden; later he removed to New 
York with his wife and four children, to 
study law. In 1855 the family settled in 
Washington, D. C, where Mr. Ogden Sr. 
practiced law until 1S63, when business 
in New York recalled him. While in 
Washington, Sydney Norris Ogden was 
a member of the famous Lincoln Zouaves, 
and a friend and playmate of "Willie" 
and "Tad" Lincoln. In 1865 the Ogden 
family came to Newark, and occupied the 
old Kearny house, then surrounded by 
twenty-five acres, where Mr. Ogden lived 
until 1900. 

Mr. Ogden was a lineal descendant of 
old John Ogden, who settled in Stamford, 
Connecticut, in 1641, and later founded 
the city of Elizabethtown, New Jersey. 
His son David moved to Newark, and 
married Elizabeth Swaine, widow of 
Josiah Ward, who had the distinction of 
being the first to land on the banks of the 
Passaic when the first settlers arrived. 
The Rev. Uzal Ogden, great-grand- 
Eather of Sydney Norris Ogden, was the 
, lor of Trinity Church, Newark, 
and was elected first Bishop of New Jer- 
sey. Samuel Gouveneur Ogden, Mr. 
Ogden's grandfather, was one of the 
famous old merchants of New York City, 
for many years a prominent figure in 
financial circles. He financed the his- 
torical "Miranda" expedition, for which 
he was never reimbursed, but received a 
vote of thanks from the first Congress 
which assembled after Colombia had 
thrown off Spanish rule. Samuel Gouve- 
neur Ogden married Eliza Lewis, grand- 
daughter of Francis Lewis, signer of the 
Declaration of Independence. Eliza 
Glendie McLaughlin, the mother of 

34 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Sydney Norris Ogden, was born Sep- 
tember 28, 1817, in Baltimore, Maryland, 
and died December 23, 1862, in Wash- 
ington, D. C. She was the daughter of 
General Matthew McLaughlin, who 
served with distinction all through the 
War of 181 2, and Sydney Ravely Norris, 
of Baltimore, Maryland, a descendant of 
Benjamin Norris, who was prominent in 
the early history of Maryland. 

Sydney Norris Ogden was educated 
first in the public school, and afterwards 
at the Newark Academy, where he gradu- 
ated in 1869. He entered the United 
States Coast Survey, where he served 
until 1876, when he resigned to accept a 
position as assistant in the mathematical 
department of the Mutual Benefit Life 
Insurance Company of Newark, and 
later became its actuary, death only ter- 
minating his connection with the com- 
pany. Mr. Ogden served two terms in 
the common council of Newark, where 
he was leader of the Republican members 
on the floor and chairman of the finance 
committee. He was one of the incor- 
porators of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church of St. James, a member of the 
vestry from its inception, and for eight 
years its treasurer. He was a member 
of Northern Lodge, No. 25, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and of the Junior 
Order of United American Mechanics. 
In 1867 he was the organizer of the 
Triton Boat Club, and was for over 
twenty years an active member. He was 
president of the Newark Tennis Club, a 
member of the Actuarial Society of 
America, the Wednesday Club, and the 
North End Club, of which he was vice- 
president and served on the board of 
governors. 

Mr. Ogden married, October 26, 1887, 
Mary Stuart Depue, daughter of Chief- 
Justice David Ayres Depue and Delia 
Ann Slocum. Their children were Mrs. 
Howard B. Norton, of East Orange ; Mrs. 



Robert Needham Ball, Mrs. Joseph T. 
Shaw, both of Montclair ; David Ayres 
Depue Ogden ; and Sydney Norris Ogden 
Jr. 

No better idea of Mr. Ogden's per- 
sonality can be given than the following 
tribute published by the Mutual Benefit 
Life Insurance Company at the time of 
his death : 

The death of Mr. Sydney N. Ogden, actuary 
of the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company, 
has occasioned profound sorrow amongst his 
office friends and associates, and we who knew 
him so well desire to pay loving tribute to his 
memory. 

Mr. Ogden's connection with the company 
covered more than thirty years, and during that 
long period he won for himself an exceptionally 
high place in the confidence and esteem of those 
with whom his relations were so close and inti- 
mate. Men who for many years are related to 
one another in business life have unusual oppor- 
tunities to weigh and measure character — they 
learn to know one another, and to arrive at 
accurate personal values. It counts, therefore, 
for much more than fulsome eulogy when those 
who knew Mr. Ogden longest and most intimately 
can speak so highly of his worth. 

He was a man with a high sense of honor; he 
was true and manly — generous and considerate, 
and withal gifted with a personality so genial 
and winning that men counted it as a privilege to 
be numbered amongst his friends. No one can 
measure the influence of such a man ; the record 
of his life amongst us is a rich legacy, and will 
long abide in our memories. 



KIMBALL, Myron J., 

Financier, Enterprising Citizen. 

In all of the relations that made up the 
many phases of the busy and useful life 
of Myron J. Kimball, he was connected 
with New Jersey, since 1866 a resident 
and business man of Vineland, but 
through birth and the ties of ancestry he 
was a son of New England. His, grand- 
father, William Kimball, changed his 
residence from Massachusetts to Ver- 
mont, and there Charles A. Kimball, 
father of Myron J. Kimball, was born. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Charles A. Kimball was a contractor 
and builder of Wallingford, Vermont, 
during the greater part of his life, and 
was there accidentally killed while razing 
a building, April 13, 1865. His wife, Caro- 
line C, who died in 1857, was a daughter 
of William Kent, an early settler of Wall- 
ingford, Vermont, member of the ancient 
Kent family of Leicester, Worcester 
county, Massachusetts. The many ties 
that Myron J. Kimball sundered when he 
chose a New Jersey home were likewise 
those of his wife, Clara A. (Prince) Kim- 
ball, whose family was of Maine resi- 
dence. The position Mr. Kimball gained 
in the Vineland community, where nearly 
all of his interests centered, was one of 
prominence and influence, and the fol- 
lowing record of his life activity, told in 
part in the words of his associates, is one 
that, omitting nothing, speaks only of 
merit and honor. 

Myron J. Kimball was born in Walling- 
ford, Vermont, December 17, 1846, and 
died in Vineland, New Jersey, July 24, 
1915. His education was obtained in the 
public schools of his birthplace, which he 
attended until his fifteenth year, and the 
high school at Winchendon, Massachu- 
setts, the latter place being the home of 
his sister. He was nineteen years of age 
when in January, 1866, he came to Vine- 
land, New Jersey, and there began the 
connection with the lumber business that 
endured until his death. His first em- 
ployment was in the planing mill of Earle 
& Butterick, where he rose through 
various grades of service to a managerial 
capacity, with active charge of the busi- 
ness. When the firm of Earle & Butter- 
ick disposed of their property and interests 
to D. A. Newton & Company, Mr. Kim- 
ball was offered and accepted the position 
of manager, which he had held under the 
former control. This place he held until 
1871, when he and W. V. and John Prince 
purchased the business with which he had 



so long and so honorably been identified. 
As Kimball, Prince & Company, this com- 
bination continued until 1876, when John 
Prince retired from the firm, selling his 
interest to his partners. Under the lead- 
ership of Mr. Kimball its operations were 
widely extended, branches were estab- 
lished at Millville and Avalon, and a high 
level of prosperity in the affairs of the 
company was reached. Throughout the 
lumber trade Mr. Kimball was known as 
a progressive, able, and upright business 
man, conducting his operations along 
lines of fairness and absolute integrity. 
He had few other business interests, but 
as president of the Vineland National 
Bank was in close touch with all business 
and commercial enterprises of the locality. 
He was one of the organizers of this 
institution, which opened business under 
its Federal charter in May, 1883, with a 
capitalization of $50,000, and at the first 
meeting of the stockholders was chosen 
a director and vice-president. In the fall 
of the same year the president, who had 
been chosen at the election that placed 
Mr. Kimball in the vice-president's chair, 
resigned, and from that time until his 
death Mr. Kimball was at the head of the 
affairs of the bank as president, an office 
he graced with commanding ability. He 
was a member of the auditing committee 
of the Pennsylvania Lumbermen's Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company, being one of 
the original auditors, and was also presi- 
dent of the Siloam Cemetery Association, 
of which he was for a number of years 
director. He fraternized with the Ma- 
sonic order, belonging to Vineland Lodge, 
No. 69, Free and Accepted Masons. His 
interest in the welfare and advancement 
of his community did not take the form 
of political activity, but in every project 
aiming at the benefit of Vineland he was 
an important factor, one of his latest acts 
of public spirited generosity being a 
liberal subscription to a fund for the pur- 



36 





M 



yyi, c?I?Cri r^L 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chase of modern fire apparatus for the 
local company, a donation he made in the 
name of his firm. 

His long and valuable association with 
the First Baptist Church of Vineland 
forms one of the most interesting' chapters 
in his life story, while his service to the 
denomination was such that his death 
creates a vacancy most difficult to fill. 
Becoming' a member of the First Baptist 
Church in 1867, he was for eight years 
superintendent of the Sunday school, and 
at the time of his death was senior mem- 
ber of the board of deacons, to which he 
belonged for twenty years. He was liber- 
ally broadminded in his views, labored 
with strong devotion in all departments 
of his church, and followed the standard 
of his Master in sincerity and love. His 
long and untiring service in the local 
organization was equalled by his work in 
those associations whose scope is broader 
and whose problems correspondingly 
more perplexing, and for twenty-five 
years he was a member of the board of 
managers of the New Jersey Baptist 
Convention, and for twenty years a trus- 
tee of the West Jersey Baptist Associ- 
ation. There came from the lips of his 
pastor, Rev. A. Stokes Watson, at the 
time of Mr. Kimball's death a beautiful 
appreciation of his life and church ser- 
vice, which is in part quoted below : 

The place which has known him in the House 
of God these many years will know him no more 
forever, but the sweet and sacred memory of 
his presence and his words, as well as the ex- 
ample of his faithfulness, will abide until this 
generation has been gathered to its fathers. 
Yea, and long after, for the children and the 
children's children will be told of him who, 
through summer heat and winter cold, while 
duties crowded upon him and the years multi- 
plied, was always found in his place in the 
House of God. As a citizen of this community 
he was known as one of Vineland's "grand old 
men." Every one loved him because he was 
interested in every one. Every one honored 



him because of his sturdy convictions. He be- 
longed to every one, rich and poor, Jew and 
Gentile, Catholic and Protestant. The children 
were instinctively drawn to him and in him 
found a true friend. 

For fifty years he lived here this beautiful 
brotherly life — a benediction of God. Many of 
us know how profound was his faith in prayer. 
Prayer was to him the way into a more intimate 
fellowship with his Heavenly Father — the instru- 
ment by which our wills are to be brought into 
harmony with the will of God. 

Deacon Kimball had profound faith in "the 
eternal goodness." In his heart he sang with 
Tennyson in his "In Memoriam." Always fear- 
ful of himself he laid upon the goodness of God 
as his sole hope. His life was one long psalm 
of thanksgiving. His waking prayer was one of 
joyful praise for another day of privilege. 

But there was another realm to which he be- 
longed — the home. What a home was that, 
dedicated to piety, chastity, and hospitality! 
What a heritage, his love, his precepts, the hal- 
lowed associations of all these years! 

Great as a Baptist, greater as a man, greatest 
as a Christian, the world has had his life, the 
denomination has had his services, the church 
has had his counsel and fellowship, and the 
community his example as a successful Chris- 
tian merchant, and we may say of his relation 
to all these what was said of Phillips Brooks in 
his relation to Harvard University, "To them he 
gave his constant love, large service, and high 
example." 

Myron J. Kimball married, June 3, 
1869, Clara A., daughter of John Prince, 
who came to New Jersey from Maine. 
He is survived by her, one son, Eugene 
M., and a brother, Charles A. Kimball, of 
New York City. 



HOWE, John, 

Enterprising Manufacturer and Financier. 

John Howe, who was prominently 
identified with the manufacture of paper 
in Nutley, was a native of England, his 
birth having occurred in Kingsbroncton, 
Somersetshire, England, on January 13, 
1846. His parents were Matthew and 
Elizabeth Jane Howe. For forty-five 



37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years his father was superintendent of 
public works in his native city of Cardiff, 
Wales, a position to which the subject 
of this review could have succeeded had 
he cared to remain in that country. His 
desires were otherwise, however, and led 
him to seek a home in America. He 
obtained his education in the public 
schools and served an apprenticeship at 
the papermaking trade in Cardiff, Wales, 
where he remained at that pursuit for 
seven years. On the expiration of that 
period he removed to Rumford, Essex 
county, England, where he was employed 
at the manufacture of paper for a short 
time, after which he went to Belgium 
and then returned to Cardiff. In that 
city, in 1865, Mr. Howe was united in 
marriage to Miss Elizabeth Gibbons, 
whose parents had removed to Wales 
from Cheltenham, England. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Howe were born four children, all 
natives of Cardiff. They were James J., 
who was born September 8, 1866; The- 
ressa Jane, who was born in 1870; Ed- 
ward John, who died at the age of six 
months; and John Matthew, who died 
at the age of three years. The mother of 
this family died in 1871. 

In 1872, when Mr. Howe was twenty- 
six years old, he came to the United 
States, and from that time until his death, 
May 13, 1914, he resided in the vicinity 
of Nutley, New Jersey. He was married 
the second time in 1872, when Hester 
H. Marshall became his wife. She is a 
daughter of John L. and Mary Houseman 
Marshall, who had formerly resided on 
Staten Island. Two children grace the 
union of our subject and his wife : Edith 
S., born September 28, 1873; ar) d Albert 
E., born December 10, 1880. Mr. and 
Mrs. Howe were members of Grace Epis- 
copal Church, Nutley, New Jersey. Mr. 
Howe was a faithful communicant of the 
church, as well as a very generous sup- 
porter. 



The year of his arrival in this country 
he began a long association with the paper 
manufacturing industry, securing a posi- 
tion in the J. & R. Kingsland Mills, lo- 
cated between Nutley and Delawanna. 
Through succeeding grades of service he 
rose to a responsible station in the oper- 
ation of the mill, and when it discontin- 
ued business he possessed a fund of 
knowledge, experience, and capital that 
enabled him to establish himself as a 
manufacturer in partnership with Wil- 
liam R. Sergeant and Thomas J. O'Neil. 
The new organization was known as the 
Kingsland Paper Mills Company, and 
from the inauguration of the enterprise 
the manufacture of safety paper was its 
specialty, this paper particularly valuable 
to organizations in which records and 
transaction papers must be absolutely 
immutable. This firm enjoyed a success- 
ful and prosperous existence until 1909, 
when it united with the LaMonte inter- 
ests, whose mills were then the only other 
source of like line of safety paper. In 
the reorganization of the La Monte Com- 
pany, Mr. Howe was elected to the office 
of secretary, and continued in the admin- 
istration of the affairs of the office until 
his death, always a potent factor in direct- 
ing its affairs and in determining its busi- 
ness policy. 

His business interests outside of the 
manufacturing of paper, to which he gave 
much of his best effort, were many and 
important. Financially interested in the 
Bank of Nutley, on April 28, 1914, he was 
the choice of the board of directors to 
succeed General Bird W. Spencer as chief 
executive of the bank, but had held office 
as president for but two weeks when his 
death occurred. He was a director of the 
Washington Trust Company and of the 
Eagle Fire Insurance Company, both of 
Newark, and was president of the Nutley 
Masonic Hall Association, also holding 



3* 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the largest single amount of stock in the 
last named organization. 

A deep interest in the welfare of his 
town led him to accept election to the 
Board of Freeholders of Essex county, 
in which he served two terms, and for the 
same length of time he was a member of 
the Nutley council after the change from 
township to town government. He was 
a member of the Masonic order and the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
A life of useful activity, made valuable to 
his community by generously bestowed 
principles of strictest honor in business 
as he faithfully discharged his obligations 
as a citizen, so, he recognized and assum- 
ed his responsibility toward his fellows, 
and his helping, sympathetic hand cheered 
and encouraged many whose spirit had 
been humbled by misfortune. An editorial 
in the Nutley "Sun," bearing testimony to 
his worth and printed soon after his 
death, said in part: "Friends of forty 
years standing say that John Howe was 
never changed by success. He was the 
same friend always, and stories are told 
now, by those he helped that never were 
known in his lifetime."' 

Such was the character of the life and 
service of John Howe, that at his death 
men in many walks of life realized a 
personal sorrow, a distinct sense of loss, 
for in the four decades of his association 
with the Nutley district he had won for 
himself secure position in the hearts of 
his fellows, even as he had gained a 
prominent place in the world of business. 
Attaining a place of leadership in the 
paper manufacturing industry, with 
which he was identified from the time of 
coming to the United States from his 
English birthplace, he widened his inter- 
ests to include financial and real estate 
operations. He responded to the calls of 
civic duty and held several offices, first 
under the township and afterward under 



the town government of Nutley, was 
affiliated with the leading fraternal organ- 
izations, and allied himself devotedly 
with the best influences of the town for 
its most effective service. Honored and 
highly regarded during an active and 
useful career, at his death every observ- 
ance of respect and honor was paid him, 
and in general regret of those who knew 
him, the closing of the mills he founded, 
and the official action of the institutions 
with which he was connected, all Nutley 
mourned the passing of one whose value 
to the community stood beyond a price. 



HUGHES, Robert Driver, 

Bnsiness Man, Active in Educational 

Affairs. 

When the life story of Robert Driver 
Hughes has been told and the factors of 
its usefulness and success are reduced to 
keynote characteristics, these are found 
to be in his rugged honesty and conscien- 
tious observance of every duty. By all 
who knew him these virtues were 
observed in every relation, and whether 
in the field of business in Philadelphia, 
where he was for many years prominent 
in the fruit trade, or in the life of Wood- 
bury, New Jersey, his long time home, 
he held the respectful regard of his fel- 
lows, whose confidence was his in un- 
bounded measure. His devotion to busi- 
ness brought him material independence 
and a recognized position in the fruit 
trade of Philadelphia, while in Woodbury 
he was known as a constant friend of 
every institution of which his town was 
proud, its schools and Kemble Methodist 
Episcopal Church his greatest care. His 
death, coming in his seventy-fifth year, 
removed from the Woodbury community 
and the business fraternity of Philadel- 
phia a member who in both places had 
walked all his life in uprightness and 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



integrity, and whose death was marked 
and mourned. 

A resident of New Jersey at his death, 
the State was also his birthplace, the 
Hughes homestead between Clarksboro 
and Paulsboro, Gloucester county, New 
Jersey, having been the place of birth of 
several generations of his ancestors 
Robert Driver Hughes, son of Presmul 
and Sarah (Driver) Hughes, was born 
October n, 1838, and while attending the 
schools in the vicinity of his home was 
his father's assistant in the agricultural 
operations the elder Hughes conducted 
on the home acres. He was one of a 
family of fifteen children, eleven of whom 
attained mature years, and youthful 
ambition led him at an early age to seek 
his own support, so that the burden of 
his parents might in a measure be light- 
ened. His first employment was in a 
general store in Glassboro, New Jersey, 
and he afterward moved to Woodstown, 
there entering the employ of Risley & 
Riley in a clerical capacity, his term of 
service in this establishment numbering 
several years. From Woodstown he went 
to independent operations in Philadel- 
phia, opening a place of business on Dock 
street and beginning dealing in fruits. 
He later moved his residence to Wood- 
bury, New Jersey, and from that place 
remained in charge of his Philadelphia 
business. During the years of his business 
activity in Philadelphia he never asso- 
ciated himself with any individual or 
concern, but from a modest beginning 
built up a large and prosperous trade in 
foreign and domestic fruits through his 
own tireless and unaided efforts. His 
success was rejoiced in by all of his busi- 
ness associates, for his unswervingly 
honorable methods of conducting his 
business had won that meed of appreci- 
ation and respect only accorded one who 



adheres to high ideals even in the strife 
of trade. 

Although Mr. Hughes found enjoy- 
ment in business pursuits, those of his 
relations which probably gave him the 
most joy outside of his beautiful home 
life were his connections with the civic 
and religious life of his town. These and 
his Philadelphia interests, for his only 
other business association was the oper- 
ation of a canning factory for a number 
of years, completed the orbit of his 
activity, and within its limits he accom- 
plished much of useful service. For 
twelve years he was a member of the 
Woodbury Board of Education, always 
retaining an interest in matters educa- 
tional, and he was one of the enthusiastic 
workers for Woodbury's first high school, 
turning the first spadeful of earth when 
ground was broken for the building. 
When fire destroyed the structure that 
his efforts had helped to rear, he led in 
the movement to raise funds for a build- 
ing to replace it. Part of his twelve 
years on this board was spent as its vice- 
president, and his planning and striving 
throughout this period bore good fruit in 
improved school facilities for his town. 
Kemble Methodist Episcopal Church had 
in him a loyal and sincere friend, and for 
a number of years he was president of 
its Board of Trustees, guarding the ma- 
terial welfare of the church with fidelity 
and zeal. His home for many years was 
at No. 165 Delaware avenue, and his con- 
nection with Woodbury was one that at 
?.!! times was a source of benefit to the 
community. 

Robert D. Hughes married Mary G. 
Holmes, daughter of David and Caroline 
(Gibbon) Holmes, and was the father of 
Robert D. Jr., Malcolm, Carroll, and Wil- 
liam, the last two deceased. Mrs. Hughes 
survives her husband, a resident of 
Woodburv. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



SNEDEN, William S., 

Civil Engineer, Railroad Manager. 

In 1657 there came from Amsterdam, 
Holland, to New Amsterdam (New 
York) Jan Sneden, arriving with his 
brother Claes on the ship "St. Jean Bap- 
tiste." Of the seventh American gener- 
ation, descendants of Jan Sneden, was 
William S. Sneden, of Red Bank, New 
Jersey, son of Samuel Sneden, a boat 
builder of Piermont, New York, and 
grandson of John Sneden, a soldier of the 
Revolution, whom tradition says, guided 
the captors of Major Andre with their 
prisoner, across the Hudson to Sneden's 
Landing, thence to the American lines, 
at Tappan, New York. The family home 
was at Sneden's Landing, Rockland 
county, New York, and one of the treas- 
ures of George V. Sneden, of the eighth 
American generation, is a desk upon 
which it is said General Washington 
wrote the order for Major Andre's execu- 
tion. 

Samuel Sneden, of the sixth American 
generation, son of John Sneden, was a 
boat builder, and is said to have invented 
the centre board for sailing craft, and 
early in the nineteenth century he built 
at least one steam-boat. He married 
Maria Verbryck, daughter of Samuel 
Gerritsen Verbryck, an officer in Captain 
Ward's company of New Jersey State 
militia stationed at Hackensack, New 
Jersey, and after the war served for twen- 
ty-one years as a member of the New 
York State Legislature, granddaughter of 
the Rev. Samuel Verbryck, pastor of the 
Reformed Church at Tappan, New York, 
during the War of the Revolution, who 
later secured from the Governor of New 
Jersey the charter for Queen's (now Rut- 
gers) College at New Brunswick, New 
Jersey, and a descendant of an early 
Dutch settler in New York. 

William S. Sneden, son of Samuel and 



Maria (Verbryck) Sneden, was born in 
Piermont, Rockland county. New York, 
January 2, 1829, and died in Red Bank, 
New Jersey, April 14, 1905. He obtained 
the necessary educational training, be- 
came a civil engineer, and spent his entire 
professional life in railroad constructive 
and managerial work. His first work was 
done for the New York & Lake Erie 
railroad, becoming in 1849 assistant engi- 
neer of the Dauphin & Susquehanna rail- 
road. After four years' service with that 
company he accepted an offer to go west 
with an engineering party bound for St. 
Louis, Missouri, and with that party he 
made the first survey for the proposed 
Ohio & Mississippi railroad. Later he 
spent three years in Virginia as chief 
engineer of the Fredericksburg & Gor- 
donsville railroad, and then returned 
north. He was chief engineer of the 
Northern railroad of New Jersey, 1857- 
60, then spent six years as first assistant 
engineer, superintendent and lessee of the 
Raritan & Delaware Bay railroad, later 
known as the New Jersey Southern, a 
road which in 1874 he was for a short 
time in charge of as receiver, and general 
manager for the bondholders' trustees, 
who operated the road, until 1880. Mr. 
Sneden was associated with other roads, 
notably the Northern Central, the Jack- 
sonville, St. Augustine & Halifax River, 
the New York, Boston & Montreal, the 
Jacksonville, Tampa & Key West, the 
Central Railroad of New Jersey, and the 
road that proved the great factor in New 
Jersey coast development, the New York 
& Long Branch Railroad, built by the 
Central Railroad of New Jersey. This 
road, connecting New York with Long 
Branch, Asbury Park and the coast towns 
south as far as Point Pleasant, was lo- 
cated by William S. Sneden, and is the 
work by which he is best known to the 
residents of New Jersey. But his life 
was a long succession of equally import- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ant work and potent in developing many 
sections of the country. He did not con- 
fine his work to steam roads, but planned, 
surveyed and superintended the construc- 
tion of several electric lines. 

After settling permanently in Red 
Bank, New Jersey, Mr. Sneden served on 
the board of water commissioners, and 
planned and was in charge of the erection 
of the reservoir and water works system 
that supplies Red Bank. His life was a 
busy, useful one, and all over this great 
land, east, west, north and south, stand 
monuments to his professional skill, con- 
structive ability and managerial wisdom. 
While never out of the harness entirely, 
his later years were spent in Red Bank 
in quietude and comfort. He was honored 
in his profession, belonging to several 
engineering societies, and was held in 
esteem by a very large circle of acquaint- 
ances in many states of the Union. He 
was a Democrat in politics, a member of 
the Dutch Reformed church in Piermont, 
but he was an attendant of the Presby- 
terian church in Red Bank. 

Mr. Sneden married, in Harrisburg, 
Pennsylvania, October 21, 1850, Mary 
Elizabeth, born in Dauphin county, Penn- 
sylvania, March 21, 1831, daughter of 
Hiram Henry and Mary (Hochlander) 
Hetzel, descendants of old German Penn- 
sylvania families. Margaret Hetzel and 
her daughter, Susan Riviere Hetzel, of 
this family, were among the founders of 
the National Society of the Daughters of 
the American Revolution. Major Abner 
Riviere Hetzel, husband of Margaret, 
was a graduate of West Point, an officer 
in the Mexican War, and the engineer 
who designed and constructed the Dela- 
ware Breakwater. Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Sneden: 1. William Louis, born 
January 6, 1854, died December 25, 1897. 
unmarried. 2. George Virginius, born 
January 26, 1856. at Fredericksburg, Vir- 
ginia ; a resident of Red Bank, New Jer- 



sey ; engineer, Maintenance of Way, New 
York & Long Branch railroad ; married, 
October 26, 1881, Ella A. Curtis, of 
Holmdel, New Jersey. 3. Annie May, 
born May 18, 1862, died August 22, 1904; 
married Edward Delafield Smith. 4. 
Riviere Hetzel, born September 5, 1866, 
died July 3, 1896; married Anna Grant 
Hubbard, who with daughter Doris 
Riviere survive. 5. Mary Hetzel, born 
January 2, 1871, died April 6, 1909. Mrs. 
Sneden, the mother of these children, died 
in Red Bank, New Jersey, June 29, 1904, 
her husband surviving her death but ten 
months. 



KEELER, Morris H., 

Useful and Honored Citizen. 

When there were performed over the 
body of Morris H. Keeler the last sad 
rites which had been held under his direc- 
tion over the remains of so many hun- 
dreds of Burlington county's people, 
Mount Holly and the county sustained a 
loss that was borne with sincere sorrow 
and regret. Although Mr. Keeler was far 
beyond man's average age, he occupied 
so sincere a place in the hearts of Burling- 
ton county's people and was the recipient 
of such earnest affection that the realiza- 
tion of permanent separation came as a 
universal grief. In church, in social life, 
and in his fraternities he held a place of 
honor and respect, and his long life was 
passed in ways of usefulness and service. 
For more than three score years he was 
engaged in undertaking in Mount Holly, 
first under his father's direction, then as 
a member of the firm of Thomas F. 
Keeler & Sons, and finally independently, 
and at his death in 1914 it was written 
that he had directed the funerals of as 
many persons as were at that time 
resident in Mount Holly, more than three 
thousand. Seven months prior to his 
death he retired from the active manage- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ment of his business, placing the respon- 
sibility upon the shoulders of his grand- 
son, Morris Keeler Perinchief, who for 
several years had been his trusted and 
capable assistant. 

Morris H. Keeler was born in 1836, two 
years after the business of which he be- 
came proprietor had been founded in 
Mount Holly by his father, Thomas F. 
Keeler. He was educated in the Mount 
Holly schools, and when a youth of six- 
teen years of age began as his father's 
assistant in the undertaking business. 
The elder Keeler was likewise engaged 
in lumber and retail furniture dealings, 
and when Morris H. Keeler had gained 
sufficient experience to enable him to 
assume full charge of the undertaking 
department, a condition at which, because 
of his natural aptitude, he soon arrived, 
the firm of Thomas F. Keeler & Sons was 
formed. The sons were Morris H. Keeler 
and Samuel B., and under that caption 
the business was conducted until 1885, 
when Morris H. became the sole owner 
of the undertaking and furniture depart- 
ments, the latter of which he abandoned 
a few years afterward. His career as an 
undertaker, covering a period of nearly 
sixty-three years, was noteworthy not 
only because of the great number of Burl- 
ington county's residents he laid in their 
final resting places but also because of 
the long strides that have been made in 
that profession. Improved methods and 
modern inventions in the art and science 
of embalming have created a wide gulf 
between the undertaker of the past and 
the funeral director of the present, and in 
all things Mr. Keeler kept fully abreast 
of the times. Reliability and proficiency 
marked the work of his house, and his 
establishment maintained worthy place 
as a leader in its line. 

Successful as a man of business, Mr. 
Keeler was in intimate touch with the 
life of Mount Holly through many con- 



nections, chief of which was his close 
identification with the Baptist church, 
which he served for forty-five years as a 
member of the board of deacons. He was 
also at one time treasurer of this church 
organization, and had performed much 
service and had filled many positions in 
the work of the congregation. He was 
a devout and generous churchman, and 
was also a member of the Mount Holly 
lodges of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks and of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. As rugged in 
character as he was in physical strength, 
he won and held the respect and regard 
of his fellows, and further endeared him- 
self to them by a personality and manner 
with which it was a joy to come into 
contact. The comfort and solace that he 
was able to bring to the many families, 
stricken by grief and saddened by woe, 
into whose circle he came at the most 
dreaded of hours, cause many to remem- 
ber him as one who, with kindliness, tact, 
and consideration, lifted, as far as mortal 
could, the cloud of gloom that had fallen 
upon their homes. His instincts were 
many generous impulses, and as through 
the years he translated these impulses 
into actions he gained for himself the 
love and reverence of all who knew him. 

In January, 1914, but a short time be- 
fore his death, which occurred in Mount 
Holly, his birthplace, July 27, 1914, Mr. 
Keeler transferred the business, founded 
by his father and continued by him, to 
his grandson, Morris Keeler Perinchief. 
Mr. Perinchief was his grandfather's 
assistant during the last few years of Mr. 
Keeler's life, and since becoming the 
active head of the business has remodeled 
and refurnished the parlors on Main 
street, making them an ornament to that 
section of the city. Mr. Keeler was one 
of the managers of the Mount Holly 
cemetery, and there he is buried. 

Morris H. Keeler married Anna Barton 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and is survived by one daughter, Laura, 
who married Rev. Percy Perinchief, de- 
ceased, a former superintendent of the 
Trenton district of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. 



LANE, Isaac, 

Active 

The history of a State as well as that 
of a nation is chiefly the chronicles of the 
lives and deeds of those who have con- 
ferred honor and dignity upon society, 
whether in the broad sphere of public 
labors or in the more circumscribed, yet 
not less worthy and valuable, of indi- 
vidual activity, through which the general 
good is ever promoted. Isaac Lane was 
one of the successful business men of the 
past generation, of Franklin, Essex 
county, New Jersey, and his time and 
means were ever freely given to the public 
weal. His native ability was very great, 
and he was possessed of a keen business 
sense, and a shrewd perception of char- 
acter which undoubtedly contributed 
largely to his business success. Thor- 
oughness, devotion to work, and an un- 
shakable integrity, furnished the key- 
notes to his business character, the other 
side of which showed the broadminded 
Christian gentleman. It is the example 
of such men as this which raises the 
standard of the community in every 
direction. 

Isaac Lane was born in Franklin, New 
Jersey, March 5, 1830, and died in the 
same town, March 9, 1906. He was a son 
of William Lane, a carpenter, who mar- 
ried Jane Pier, and had other children: 
George, a resident of Newark, New Jer- 
sey ; Maria, who survived her husband, 
W. R. Congar; Esther; Sarah; Caroline. 
I lis parents, not being richly blessed with 
worldly wealth, were unable to give their 
children a liberal education, and Isaac 
Lane owes his rise to prosperity to his 



own unaided efforts. He attended school 
but a very limited period of time, and 
supplemented the small stock of knowl- 
edge he gained there by assiduous study 
in his spare moments at home. At an age 
when the majority of boys still have their 
thoughts centered on play, Mr. Lane had 
already commenced the active battle of 
life, and this fact probably assisted in de- 
veloping those admirable characteristics 
of energy and progressiveness which ever 
distinguished him. He obtained employ- 
ment with the firm of Bush & Campbell, 
tobacconists, starting with the position of 
stripper, at which he earned twenty-five 
cents per hundred pounds. Here his 
faithful performance of the work assigned 
him, the zeal he displayed, and the per- 
sonal interest he displayed in whatever 
was connected with the welfare of the 
enterprise with which he was connected, 
earned him advancement from one grade 
to another, until he had thoroughly 
mastered all the details of this business. 
In 1866 he was admitted to a partnership 
in the firm, which, from that time became 
known as Lane & Lockward, and has 
been in continuous operation for more 
than a century. The executive ability of 
Mr. Lane assisted greatly in increasing 
the scope of the business, and it has 
always held a foremost place in the list of 
its competitors. The business respon- 
sibilities of Mr. Lane left him little time 
for social affiliation, and his only connec- 
tion of this kind was with the Masonic 
fraternity, in which he held the rank of 
past master. The political support of Mr. 
Lane was given to the Democratic party, 
and he gave careful consideration to all 
matters of public moment. He was en- 
dowed with those qualities of intellect, 
courage and good nature, which made of 
him a companionable man, and he had 
friends throughout the community. 

Mr. Lane married, January 28, 1851, 
Emma, a daughter of Cornelius Gould ; 




d^cuxjQ. o^o^cjl^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



she died in 1869. Mr. Lane married 
(second) in 1871, Susan, a daughter of 
Moses Kinsey. There were no.children 
by either marriage. 



CALLEAR, Moses, 

Prominent Manufacturer. 

There is always an element of interest 
attaching to the history of a man who has 
shown his ability to cope with others in 
the exciting race toward the goal of suc- 
cess. Of the men who enjoyed in a great 
degree the esteem and admiration of their 
fellow citizens for the excellent work they 
accomplished in their especial field of 
endeavor, the name of Moses Callear, late 
of Trenton, New Jersey, takes a promi- 
nent place. The phenomenal growth of 
many American cities is due, in large 
measure, to the enterprise and intense 
energy of a comparatively small number 
of men. To them is due the inception of 
work that employs thousands, and in 
their imagination those movements first 
take place which are the steps of progress. 
The parents of Moses Callear were John 
and Ann Statia (Lawton) Callear, whose 
three sons died within six weeks of each 
other. 

Moses Callear, the youngest of these 
brothers, was born in Birmingham, Staf- 
fordshire, England, January 16, 1849, an d 
died at his home in Trenton, New Jersey, 
April 6, 1914. Having obtained an excel- 
lent and practical education in his native 
land, he remained there until he was 
about twenty-three years of age. At that 
time he decided that there were better 
opportunities to be met with in America, 
and accordingly emigrated to this coun- 
try in 1872. He soon became interested 
in the art of pottery making, and his 
interest enabled him to acquire the rudi- 
ments of this manufacture in a compara- 
tively short period of time, after which 
he entered the employ of the Glasgow 



Pottery Company, in Trenton, this being 
at that time known as the John Moses 
Pottery. The vitrification of sanitary 
goods was considered impossible in the 
United States, until Moses Callear ex- 
perimented and produced a "vitreous 
china" closet at the Maryland Pottery 
Company in Baltimore, Maryland, in 
April, 1891. It was conceded by many 
leading potters to be the finest produc- 
tion that had ever been made in sanitary 
ware. The Maryland Pottery Company 
turned their whole plant into a vitreous 
sanitary pottery, which proved so suc- 
cessful that every manufacturer of note 
was compelled to make a vitreous body, 
but none came up to the productions of 
the Maryland Pottery Company — which 
was perfectly vitrified and translucent. 
Great credit was given to Mr. Callear, 
who alone was responsible for the vitri- 
fication of sanitary goods in America, as 
his work and experiments proved that it 
could be done. Mr. Callear resigned from 
the Maryland Pottery Company to go in 
business for himself with the Maddock 
Pottery Company of Trenton, New Jer- 
sey, where he introduced the well known 
Lamberton china. This also was his own 
production, and is very successful. True 
worth and efficiency will sooner or later 
win recognition, and it was not long be- 
fore Mr. Callear was advanced to the 
position of foreman in the clay shops, and 
after proving his ability in this office, 
became general manager of the entire 
plant. Some years later he took up his 
residence in East Liverpool, Ohio, be- 
came the head of the Wallace & Chetwin 
Pottery, and continued in this position 
for some years, resigning it in favor of 
that of general manager of the Knowles, 
Taylor & Knowles Pottery, of East Liver- 
pool, and remained with them a long 
time. Being naturally of an enquiring 
turn of mind, it was self-evident that Mr. 
Callear should turn his attention to mak- 



45 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing experiments in his chosen field of 
industry. Among these was a series of 
experiments for the purpose of vitrifying 
sanitary goods, and in order to promote 
his idea in this direction, he removed to 
Baltimore, Maryland, and there carried 
out his work at the Brown Pottery. Pot- 
ters considered this method an impossi- 
bility until that time, and Mr. Callear was 
looked upon as a pioneer in this line. 
This Mr. Callear considered the greatest 
achievement of his life's work. Mr. Mad- 
dock, of the Maddock Pottery Company, 
in Trenton, recognized the worth of this 
innovation and the ability which had 
originated so valuable bit of progress, and 
offered very favorable inducements to 
Mr. Callear to move to that city and be- 
come a partner in the Lamberton Works 
and later vice-president. After due con- 
sideration, Mr. Callear accepted this offer, 
and returned to Trenton, with which city 
he was from that time identified until his 
death. While there he continued his ex- 
periments, which resulted in the manu- 
facture of china of a very high standard, 
and the annual output of the plant was 
greatly increased under his able manage- 
ment. He was universally recognized as 
an authority of undisputed reliability in 
the pottery trade. The religious affili- 
ation of Mr. Callear was with the Epis- 
copalian denomination, and his political 
support was given to the Republican 
party, although he never desired to hold 
public office. Fraternally he was a Mason. 
Mr. Callear married (first) Mary Man- 
ser, of Trenton, and (second) in 1885, 
Kate, a daughter of Jason and Catherine 
Brookes, of East Liverpool, Ohio. They 
had one daughter, Elizabeth. A man 
of serious aims, broad views on all ques- 
tions, generous ideals and shrewd busi- 
ness opinions, Mr. Callear was well liked 
in the business and social world. He was 
genial and courteous on all occasions, and 



his accurate estimate of men enabled him 
to fill the many responsible branches of 
his plant with assistants who thoroughly 
understood the work they were called 
upon to perform. As a citizen he was 
esteemed by all, and in every relation of 
life proved himself a man of high prin- 
ciple. 



JONES, Henry, 

Honored Citizen. 

Living close to nature all his life and 
drawing from so pure a source his inspira- 
tion, Henry Jones could not but be sound 
to the core, as just and as fair as the 
measure he gave and his life as whole- 
some as the products he caused to spring 
forth from Mother Earth. He was a type 
of the hardworking, persevering farmer, 
those who form the backbone of the State, 
and while the public hears little from 
them it is their conscientious labor, up- 
right lives, and thoughtful political action 
that constitute a nation's bulwarks. He 
caused "two blades of grass to grow 
where but one grew before," lived a life 
of constant endeavor, and, dying, left a 
precious memory to his family and 
friends. 

He was a grandson of Merbeth Jones 
and a son of William V. Jones, both agri- 
culturists of Gloucester county, New 
Jersey. William V. was a farmer and 
land owner of Logan township, Glouces- 
ter county. He married Mary Sack, who, 
like himself, was a native of Gloucester 
county. She bore him six children : Ruth, 
married Richard Batten ; Abram, a farmer 
of Cumberland county ; Levi, a worker 
in the lumber trade at Camden, now de- 
ceased ; Henry, of further mention ; 
Charles, a farmer of Berkley, New Jersey, 
and William, who died in childhood. 

Henry, son of William V. and Mary 
(Sack) Jones, was born at the home- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



stead in Logan township, Gloucester 
county, New Jersey, June 24, 1852, and 
died at Swedesboro, New Jersey, Janu- 
ary 10, 1913. He attended public schools, 
and grew to manhood his father's farm 
assistant. In 1878 he became the owner 
of the homestead, bought by his father in 
1830. There he was the prosperous 
farmer until January 31, 1908, when he 
moved to Swedesboro, and henceforth 
lived retired from all business cares. He 
built a home on East avenue, and there 
resided until death, selling his farm prior 
to his death to his son Clark. A feature 
of Mr. Jones' farming was the excellence 
of his methods and the great pride he 
took in his being one of the "neatest and 
best kept" farms in Logan township. He 
made his fields to produce abundantly 
and ever prospered. He was progressive 
and utilized all aids to good farming that 
were brought to his attention, and on his 
own initiative inaugurated advanced 
methods of seed selection and cultivation. 
He was an authority among his neigh- 
bors. Liberally giving of his means to 
the needy, he was held in respect by those 
who knew him, and lived a life free from 
reproach. He died in the faith of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, was a mem- 
ber of the Ancient Order of United Work- 
men and the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, joining the latter order in 1873, 
and was a Democrat in politics, but inde- 
pendent in political action. His progres- 
siveness, combined with great industry 
and perseverance, brought him a com- 
petence, and this he enjoyed to the full 
after his retirement to Swedesboro. He 
believed in the gospel of work, but asked 
of no man he employed greater effort 
than he himself put forth. His entire life 
until the removal to Swedesboro was 
spent in Logan township, and farming 
was his life work. 

Mr. Jones married Julia A., daughter 



of William P. Zane, of Woolwich town- 
ship, Gloucester county, who survives 
him, a resident of Swedesboro. Children : 
Levi S., born December 23, 1874, married 
Anna A. Lamson and has Ethel, Lillian 
M., Herbert, Julia A., Raymond, and Flor- 
ence E. ; Mila Zane, born July 19, 1876, 
married William H. Brown and has Ruth 
H. and Amanda M.; Mary, born July 22, 
1878, married Charles Lamson and has 
Ellen H., Elsie B., William H., Howard 
C, Mary Emma, Bertha B., and Oscar 
L. ; Elizabeth P., born July 23, 1880, mar- 
ried Franklin Bennett, and has Howard 
H., Myrtle V., Clarence F., and Dorothy 
E. ; Walter, born March 30, 1883, married 
Elsie Schwible ; Clark, born May 12, 1885, 
married Eva Leap, and has a son, Henry ; 
Emma S., born August 14, 1887, married 
Reuben Eves, and has a daughter, Alice 
M. ; Clinton V., born February 14, 1895, 
now a student at Drexel Institute, Phil- 
adelphia. 

William P. Zane, father of Mrs. Henry 
Jones, was born at Repaupa, New Jersey, 
August 5, 1824, died at Pitman, New Jer- 
sey, January 29, 1909, after a life spent 
entirely in agricultural pursuits. His 
early life was passed in Paulsboro and 
after a few years spent in farming for 
others he purchased a small place and 
married. Later he sold and bought sixty 
acres near Bridgeport. This he profitably 
cultivated for years, then sold and bought 
a smaller place of ten acres, residing 
there until his retirement to Pitman, 
where he lived until his death. 



HOPPER, Abraham, Henry A. and John 
Ward, 

Skillful and Eminent Physicians. 

Very seldom is the biographer permit- 
ted to sketch the salient features in the 
life histories of three men linked as these 
were in ties of relationship, of professional 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



service, and of public approbation, and 
the fragrance of whose lives survives like 
that of perfume when the earthen vases 
that held the treasures have been broken 
by the hand of the Angel of Death. 

Of Dutch ancestors, located in Bergen 
county, New Jersey, and New Amster- 
dam, New York, as early as 1653, the 
Hopper family in each generation boasts 
of men of eminence in public life, at the 
bar, on the bench, in the medical profes- 
sion, in business, and in social life. The 
medical profession has perhaps attracted 
them, more than any other, this record 
dealing with three generations who have 
added to the sum of human happiness 
through their skill and learning, Dr. Abra- 
ham Hopper, born in 1797; his son, Dr. 
Henry A. Hopper, born in 1824; and his 
grandson. Dr. John Ward Hopper, born 
in 1856, all graduates of the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, New York City, 
all eminent in their common profession, 
and all located in Hackensack, New Jer- 
sey, where for many years Dr. Abraham 
and Dr. Henry A. Hopper were contem- 
poraries. Their practice was general and 
in the early days extended over a wide 
territory. All were skilled in surgery as 
well as in medicine, the youngest, Dr. 
John- W. Hopper, being especially de- 
voted to that branch of his profession ; he 
gave to it careful preparation, it being his 
expressed intention, after spending a few 
years in general practice, to devote him- 
self entirely to surgical work. But this 
was not to be, for after three years of 
practice death ended his most promising 
earthly career. 

Dr. Abraham Hopper was born at Ho- 
hokus, Bergen county, New Jersey, April 
26, 1797. died at Hackensack, in the county 
of his birth, December 14, 1872, aged 
nearly seventy-six years. His early life 
was spent at the paternal farm and his 
early education was secured in local 
schools. He completed his academic 



study in New York City, then returned 
home and in due course of time began the 
study of medicine under the guidance of 
Dr. John Rosencrantz, of Hohokus. He 
studied under that competent authority 
for one year, then entered the office of Dr. 
Valentine Mott, of New York City, study- 
ing under him and attending lectures at 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons 
until graduated Doctor of Medicine in 
1818 at the age of twenty-one years. The 
following year he located in the then 
small village of Hackensack and there 
practiced his profession with but little 
interruption until his death, a period of 
fifty-three years, giving to his native 
county his best, and indeed the whole, 
energy of an active and laborious pro- 
fessional life. The country surrounding 
Hackensack was sparsely settled and the 
town itself was small. Under such cir- 
cumstances his large practice involved 
much driving and his life was one of 
"spending and being spent" in the relief 
of human suffering. He kept himself 
familiar with current medical literature 
and scientific events, and was ever fully 
abreast of his times. Always an advocate 
of progressive science and an earnest sup- 
porter of every effort for its maintenance, 
it is no surprise to find his name among 
the six physicians who in 1854 applied for 
and obtained a charter for organizing the 
District Medical Society of Bergen Coun- 
ty. Under his leadership, with the other 
five physicians, including his son, Dr. 
Henry A. Hopper, the society was organ- 
ized in February, 1854, and Dr. Abraham 
Hopper was elected its first president. At 
the annual meeting following he was re- 
elected to preside over the deliberations 
of the society and again the following 
year the honors of the presidential office 
were conferred upon him. During the 
active years of his connection with the 
society, he cheerfully contributed to its 
interest and usefulness by both written 




/^/' . 





</- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



articles and oral discussion. Among his 
contributions to the literature of the soci- 
ety are two which were particularly well 
received, one of them a paper entitled 
"The Duties of Medical Men in Their 
Intercourse with Patients," the other 
"Hydrops Uteri." Dr. Hopper continued 
his active membership in the society until 
October, 1871, when, in consideration of 
the increasing infirmities of his age, he 
was, by a unanimous vote of the organiza- 
tion, relieved from the discharge of his 
ordinary duties and his name placed upon 
the roll of honorary membership. While 
Dr. Hopper was skilled in all forms of 
medical practice he was particularly fond 
of surgery, and was rated as an operator 
in that branch of his profession. He was 
a man of strict private and professional 
integrity and won his way into the very 
hearts of his people by his direct honesty 
of purpose, his sympathy, and his willing- 
ness to serve them in their hours of need. 
He was of the best type of the old-time 
country doctor, who, in sickness or health, 
birth or death, joy or sorrow, was the 
friend of all ; the depository for all their 
sorrows, joys and hopes; whose kindly 
advice guided the young, warned the mid- 
dle aged, and comforted the old. He mar- 
ried Euphemia De Wolf and they had ten 
children, several of whom died young. He 
was an active member of the old Dutch 
"Seceder" Church. 

Dr. Henry A. Hopper, son of and for 
several years contemporary with Dr. 
Abraham Hopper, was born in Hacken- 
sack, New Jersey, August 8, 1824, and in 
1882, after a useful life of fifty-eight years, 
passed to a higher and nobler sphere. He 
was a lifelong resident of Hackensack, 
and from the date of his graduation from 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons 
was identified with everything pertaining 
to the prosperity of the town in which his 
life's interests were centered. He was 
but twenty-three years of age when he 
NJ-VoIHI— 4 49 



began the practice of medicine, but he 
very soon rose to a position of promi- 
nence and won a secure place in the affec- 
tions of his townsmen. After he com- 
pleted his classical studies he began a 
course of medical training under his hon- 
ored father, then entered the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, New York City, 
whence he was graduated Doctor of Medi- 
cine in the spring of 1847. During the 
earlier years of his practice he rode and 
drove a great deal, answering calls from 
far and near, but with the rapid growth 
of Hackensack the town made larger and 
larger demands upon his time, and in his 
later years his practice was almost exclu- 
sively confined to its limits and suburbs. 
He possessed rare skill as a surgeon was 
particularly sure in diagnosis, and very 
successful in practice. Upon the same 
strong foundation of character and hon- 
esty that his father built he erected his own 
professional edifice, and with his greater 
opportunities advanced the family name 
and fame, handing down to his son the 
same high inheritance he received from his 
father. Professional honors were accord- 
ed him by his brethren of the district and 
State, and he was the recognized organ- 
izer of the Hackensack Board of Health, 
of which he was the honored and efficient 
president. He was one of the six physi- 
cians who joined in a call for a medical 
society in Bergen county, and was chosen 
secretary of the first meeting. He was 
president of the District Medical Society 
in 1878 and 1881, its secretary in 1879, 
and was ever active in its affairs. He was 
president of the New Jersey State Sani- 
tary Association, vice-president of the 
New Jersey State Medical Society, men> 
ber of the American Medical Association, 
and president of the Bergen County Med- 
ical Society. He contributed many papers 
to all these societies. He built a stately 
residence on North Main street and was 
hearty in his support of every enterprise 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tending to the advancement of Hacken- 
sack's prosperity or to add to the public 
good. He was a man of high character, 
genial and sympathetic, loved by his many 
friends in all parts of the State and in 
New York City, where he was frequently 
called in consultation in important cases. 
As a member and officer of the Second 
Reformed Church he was most highly 
esteemed, and when, at the age of fifty- 
eight years, in the full prime of his man- 
hood and professional achievement, he 
was summoned by the Great Physician, 
he was mourned as an honored citizen, a 
devoted Christian, a faithful husband, a 
kind father, and a true friend. He was 
survived by his wife, Maria Colfax 
(Ward) Hopper, a son, Dr. John W. Hop- 
per, and two daughters, to whom fell the 
privilege of cherishing his memory and 
honoring his name. 

Dr. John Ward Hopper, only son of 
Dr. Henry A. and Maria Colfax (Ward) 
Hopper, and the third and last in this 
noted family of physicians, was born in 
Hackensack, November 7, 1856, and died 
there June 13, 1890. He was graduated 
from the College of the City of New 
York in 1876, then entered the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, receiving the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine, class of 
1879. While a medical student he took a 
special course in microscopy and acquired 
such skill that for some time he made 
many of the microscopic tests in Dr. 
Alonzo Clark's office. He was a diligent, 
earnest student, giving thorough atten- 
tion to every branch of the profession he 
intended to follow, but was especially de- 
voted to surgery. After his graduation at 
the head of his class he was for eighteen 
months on the surgical staff of Roosevelt 
Hospital. He then received a high honor 
from Dr. Henry Sands, who asked him to 
take charge of his "Quiz" class, that being 
the first time he had given it to another. 
He kept the class during the winter and 



the following year he spent in Vienna at 
the hospitals of Vienna and Prague, work- 
ing under eminent specialists, Doctors 
Virchow, Schroeder and others. Con- 
cluding his studies abroad, in 1882 he re- 
turned home, beginning practice in Hack- 
ensack, his birthplace, hallowed by memo- 
ries of his honored sires. Three years 
there permitted him, to exercise his talents 
and skill for the relief of suffering, then 
his promising career was cut short by 
death. All who knew him held him in 
the highest esteem and to the entire com- 
munity, as well as to the profession in 
which he had already attained distinction, 
his early death came as a severe loss. He 
was president of the Bergen County Med- 
ical Society and a member of other learned 
societies ; a communicant of the Second 
Reformed Church ; and a member of 
Alpha Delta Phi fraternity. His ideals 
were lofty, and in his brief life he upheld 
the best traditions of a family that for 
two and a half centuries has been con- 
spicuous in the history of Bergen county 
and of the State of New Jersey. 



PARRY, Samuel, Rev., 

Clergyman, Antiquarian. 

The Rev. Samuel Parry was born at 
Lambertville, New Jersey, March 29, 1845, 
and died at his home on East Main street, 
Somerville, New Jersey, September 9, 
1915, son of Samuel and Selinda (Van 
Syckel) Parry. His paternal ancestors 
were members of the Society of Friends 
and to this fact may be traced some of the 
more prominent traits of his personality, 
and some of his more distinct preferences 
in things religious. His ancestors came 
from Wales to this country near the close 
of the seventeenth century and settled in 
the Penn Colony near Philadelphia, where 
many of his relatives yet reside. His ma- 
ternal ancestors, Van Syckel, came from 
Holland in 1658, settled on Long Island, 



SO 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



New York, a branch later settling in New 
Jersey. Samuel Parry, father of the Rev. 
Samuel Parry, was a miller, son of Samuel 
Parry, a farmer near Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania. Selinda Van Syckel was a 
daughter of Daniel Van Syckel, a mer- 
chant of Milford, New Jersey. 

Not long after the birth of the Rev. 
Samuel Parry, his parents moved to Clin- 
ton, New Jersey, where at the age of 
sixteen years he joined the Presbyterian 
church. He attended the public schools 
until about seventeen, then entered Blairs- 
town Academy, where he thoroughly pre- 
pared for college. He chose Yale as his 
alma mater, there pursued a full course, 
a conscientious, painstaking student, 
ranked in scholarship in the upper third 
of a class of strong men, and was gradu- 
ated A. B., class of 1868. Of strong build 
and great physical as well as intellectual 
power, the young man took the keenest 
delight in athletics, and at Yale was 
prominent in aquatic sports. He made 
his freshman crew, rowed in the Varuna 
shell in his sophomore year, rowed in the 
varsity crew against Harvard in his junior 
and senior years, being stroke of the var- 
sity shell in the memorable race with Har- 
vard in 1868, which was rowed on Lake 
Ouinsigamond at Worcester, Massachu- 
setts. He was also Commodore of the 
Yale navy, and is remembered at Yale as 
one of the men of the long ago whose 
courage and determination carried the 
"blue" to victory and built up that tangi- 
ble something known as the 'Yale spirit." 
The next four years following his tri- 
umphs and graduation at Yale, with Phi 
Beta Kappa mark in scholarship, were 
spent: One year at Blairstown Academy 
as instructor, two years at Princeton in 
theological study at the seminary, one 
year at Union Theological Seminary, New 
York City, whence he was graduated, 
class of 1872. Thus prepared for the holy 
profession he had chosen, he became a 



member of the Elizabeth (New Jersey) 
Presbytery, and on April 30, 1873, was 
ordained and installed pastor of the Pres- 
byterian church at Pluckemin, Somerset 
county, New Jersey. There he took root 
in the hearts of his people and for exactly 
thirty-three years they knew no other 
pastor and he no other pastorate ; in fact 
Pluckemin was his first, last and only 
pastorate, although after his resignation, 
April 30, 1906, until his death, he found 
congenial fellowship and a sphere of in- 
creasing usefulness as teacher of a Men's 
Bible Class in Somerville First Reformed 
Church, and as an interested helper in the 
chapel at East Somerville. The Pres- 
bytery of Elizabeth chose Rev. Samuel 
Parry as its permanent clerk in 1885, and 
in 1888 he was chosen to be its stated 
clerk, an office he held continuously until 
the day of his death. He represented the 
Presbytery at three sessions of the Gen- 
eral Assembly of the Presbyterian church, 
was for a long time permanent secretary 
of the Raritan Ministerial Association, 
and from its organization until 1912 was 
secretary of the Inter-Church Federation 
of Somerset County. 

Mr. Parry was a life-long student of 
history, and after his retirement devoted 
a large part of his time to historical re- 
search and reading. He was an authority 
on local history and biography, his inves- 
tigations covering the entire history of 
the Raritan Valley. On Tuesday, March 
12, 1901, he delivered an historical dis- 
course on the occasion of the fiftieth an- 
niversary of the organization of the Pluck- 
emin Presbyterian Church, in which he 
sketched the history of the churches of 
the village and vicinity from the year 1720 
and gave the biographies of the pastors 
and most of the ruling elders of the Pres- 
byterian churches since 1851. 

A notable attendance of his fellow min- 
isters on the occasion of his simple funeral 
gave evidence of the high esteem in which 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he was held. From the discourse de- 
livered by the Rev. Dr. John T. Kerr, we 
quote : 

Samuel Parry needs no one to speak for him. 
His life has been an open book. It speaks for 
itself to all who look or listen. He was a man 
physically. God had endowed him richly with 
strength which he loved to use in work or sport, 
and coupled with his great strength was great 
skill. He could throw himself into a hard ath- 
letic struggle, then turn from it and, taking into 
his strong hands so small an instrument as a 
pen, he could produce handwriting which seemed 
rather the work of an engraver than that of an 
athlete. He was a Christian man in every sense, 
and a manly Christian. Men took refuge under 
the shadow of his manliness. He merited their 
confidence by the integrity of his own character, 
and rewarded it. 

Wherever he was known, that same feel- 
ing of confidence was felt. His brotherly 
manner, his modest bearing, the evident 
sincerity of his Christian life and the 
genial play of his humor greatly endeared 
him to all. After his death the Synod of 
New Jersey, in a manner unusual to that 
body, thus expressed their appreciation of 
his life and service: 

The committee appointed to examine the rec- 
ords of the Presbytery of Elizabeth make note 
of the fact that the hand which for twenty-seven 
years has been submitting the records of this 
Presbytery to the Synod is now stilled in death. 
The work of Rev. Samuel Parry as stated clerk 
of the Presbytery of Elizabeth has been notable 
for the period of its continuance and the remark- 
able fidelity with which it has been performed. 
The volumes of minutes as written by him are 
models of neatness and accuracy and it is recom- 
mended that the Synod bear testimony to this 
fact by entering this statement upon the minutes 
of the Presbytery of Elizabeth. 

Rev. Samuel Parry married at Somer- 
ville, New Jersey, December i, 1875, Har- 
riet E. Cornell, who survives him. Dur- 
ing their forty years of married life, Mr. 
and Mrs. Parry made many extended 
tours of travel both at home and abroad, 



their foreign journeyings including tours 
of the Holy Land and Europe. After his 
retirement they removed to Somerville, 
New Jersey, where Mrs. Parry yet resides. 
Their only child, a son, born March 24, 
1881, died the following day. 

Mrs. Parry is a daughter of Rev. Fred- 
erick Frelinghuysen Cornell, a former 
pastor of Pluckemin Presbyterian Church, 
son of Rev. John Cornell and his wife, 
Maria Frelinghuysen, daughter of Gen- 
eral Frederick Frelinghuysen of the cele- 
brated New Jersey family. Rev. John 
Cornell was born at Northampton, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1774. He pursued courses of 
classical study at the Log College, Ne- 
shaminy, Pennsylvania, entered Queen's 
College at New Brunswick where he com- 
pleted his course in 1795. He then pur- 
sued the study of theology under Dr. 
Livingston, at Flatbush, Long Island, and 
was licensed to preach about the year 
1798. He was engaged in the holy calling 
of a minister of the Presbyterian church 
from 1798 until 1821 at Allentown, New 
Jersey. He was highly regarded as an 
amiable and faithful teacher of the Gospel. 
In 1821 he retired from the active min- 
istry, and from that year until 1828 con- 
ducted a classical academy at Somerville, 
New Jersey, and from 1828 until 1835 a 
similar institution at Millstone, New Jer- 
sey, where he died. In his academies he 
devoted himself seduously to the instruc- 
tion of youth, and there passed from under 
his teachings many young men who later 
became eminent in the ministry and other 
learned professions. Professor Lindsey, 
of Princeton, voiced his appreciation of 
his work by a public statement that of all 
the students who came to him none were 
better prepared than those who came from 
under the instruction of the Rev. John 
Cornell. He married Maria, daughter of 
General Frederick Frelinghuysen, a lady 
of great amiability and eminent piety. 



5-' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Rev. Frederick Frelinghuysen Cornell, 
son of Rev. John Cornell and his wife, 
Maria Frelinghuysen, was born at Allen- 
town, New Jersey, November 16, 1804. 
He was graduated from Princeton (Col- 
lege of New Jersey), class of 1825, and 
New Brunswick Theological Seminary, 
1828. He became a member of the New- 
town Presbytery in 1829; professor of 
languages, College of Mississippi, at Nat- 
chez, 1828-29; missionary at Stuyvesant 
for three months in 1829; at Columbia- 
ville, 1829-31; at Marshallville, 1831-32; 
Montville, 1833-36; pastor of Manhattan 
Reformed Dutch Church, New York City, 
1836-56, and pastor of Pluckemin Presby- 
terian Church, 1856-64. In 1866 he re- 
ceived the degree of Doctor of Divinity 
from Union College. He died August 7, 
I 875, aged seventy-one years, half a cen- 
tury of which had been spent in the Chris- 
tian ministry as student, instructor, mis- 
sionary and pastor. He was a man of 
strong intellectuality, consecrated pur- 
pose and charming personality. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Clock Bell, daughter of 
Jacob and Phebe (Clock) Bell, who was 
born February 28, 1822, died February 21, 
1882. Their eldest daughter, Harriet E. 
Cornell, married the Rev. Samuel Parry 
whom she survives. To the memory of 
three earnest, faithful, consecrated min- 
isters of the Gospel and their devoted 
wives, this tribute of love and respect is 
dedicated. 



EMERY, John Runkle, LL. D., 

Lawyer, Jurist. 

When on December 31, 1915, Judge 
Emery retired by resignation caused by 
ill health, he had held the high position 
of vice-chancellor of the State of New 
Jersey for twenty years under appoint- 
ments from Chancellors McGill (1895), 
Magie (1902), Pitney (1909). He was a 
native son of New Jersey, a graduate of 



her great university, a soldier of the State, 
serving in the Civil War, a member of the 
State bar, an advisory master in chan- 
cery, and vice-chancellor. He was in his 
seventy-fourth year and there was no 
period during those years when New 
Jersey was not his residence and the 
scene of his labors. The Commonwealth 
of New Jersey has never lacked noble 
sons.men of learning and high character, 
who as lawyers and jurists have been her 
pride, men who by their devotion made 
"Jersey Justice" proverbial, and a terror 
to evil doers. Among all the bright gal- 
axy of sons who have adorned her bench 
no name outranks that of John Runkle 
Emery for faithfulness, broad and deep 
knowledge of the law, fairness, sound 
judgment and common sense. His de- 
cisions as vice-chancellor fill thirty-two 
volumes of the Equity Reports of the 
State of New Jersey, a fact remarked by 
Supreme Court Justice Francis J. Swayze : 
"The best tribute that could be paid to 
Mr. Emery's memory." 

Vice-Chancellor Emery was a son of 
William Patry Emery, born near Flem- 
ington, New Jersey, July 17, 1811, died 
there in 1888, one of the successful busi- 
ness men of his day and an honored citi- 
zen. He began business life as a clerk at 
the age of fourteen years, opened later a 
general store in Flemington under his 
own name, became a leading merchant of 
that town, continuing until 1864, when he 
sold his mercantile interests to engage in 
timber land and lumber dealing in North- 
ern New Jersey and Pennsylvania. He 
was mainly instrumental in the construc- 
tion of the Flemington Railroad to con- 
nect with the Central Railroad of New 
Jersey at Flemington Junction ; was one 
of the organizers of the Hunterdon County 
Bank, serving on the directorates of both 
railroad and bank. He was a devout 
Presbyterian, served as elder for many 
years, was deeply interested in the work 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the American Bible Society and County 
Bible Society, and aided in all good works. 
He married Ann Runkle, who was highly 
esteemed in the community for her broad 
charities and many adornments of char- 
acter, being ever distinguished for her 
service to others. She was a remark- 
able woman in many ways, possessing a 
wonderfully retentive memory, a pleasing 
personality, was a great reader of good 
literature, an active factor in church work 
and charitable organizations, and was a 
noted character for the aid rendered the 
soldiers by her during the period of the 
Civil War. 

John Runkle Emery, son of William 
Patry and Ann (Runkle) Emery, was 
born at Flemington, New Jersey, July 6, 
1842, died at his home in Morristown, 
New Jersey, January 30, 1916. He ob- 
tained his early education in Flemington 
private schools, continuing his studies at 
Dr. Augustus Studdiford's School at Lam- 
bertville, and Edge Hill School at Prince- 
ton, New Jersey. In 1858 he entered 
Princeton University, collegiate depart- 
ment, whence he was graduated A. B., 
class of 1861, president of his class. He 
was then nineteen years of age, but had 
decided upon the profession he would fol- 
low, and immediately after graduation 
from Princeton began carrying his plans 
into effect. He began the study of law 
under the direction of Bennett Van Syc- 
kel, later a Justice of the Supreme Court, 
and Abraham V. Van Fleet, whom Mr. 
Emery succeeded as vice-chancellor, both 
then eminent members of the Hunterdon 
county bar. His legal study continued 
until August, 1862, when he decided it 
was his duty to march to the defense of 
his country's flag. He enlisted as a pri- 
vate in the Fifteenth Regiment, New 
Jersey Volunteer Infantry, known as the 
"Mountain Regiment," having been re- 
cruited from the hill sections of Warren, 
Sussex and Hunterdon counties. The first 



engagement of this regiment was at Fred- 
ericksburg, after which it took part in the 
famous "mud march." It was next engaged 
in the Chancellorsville campaign, and in all 
of these Mr. Emery was an active partici- 
pant. He received the commission of 
second lieutenant, but after an attack of 
dysentery he was sent from Bakersville 
to Baltimore and not recovering health 
was honorably discharged, February 23, 
1863, on surgeon's certificate of disability ; 
he was not in battle but in active service. 

Returning home he resumed his law 
studies under his former preceptors, con- 
tinuing until entering Harvard Law 
School, where he was a student during 
the years 1863-64. In the latter year he 
received the degree of A. M. from Prince- 
ton, and in 1865 passed all the required 
tests and was admitted to the New Jersey 
bar as an attorney and in 1868 as a coun- 
sellor. He began the active practice of 
his profession in Flemington, in 1865, be- 
ing admitted a partner with his former 
preceptor, Abraham V. Van Fleet. This 
relation existed one year, then was ter- 
minated by Mr. Emery's removal to Tren- 
ton, where he became a partner with 
former Senator Augustus G. Richey. 
They practiced very successfully until 
1874, when Mr. Emery's health failed and 
he was advised to take a trip abroad, 
where he remained one year, then re- 
turned with health restored. 

On his return from abroad Mr. Emery 
located in Newark, New Jersey, where he 
engaged in practice and won high recog- 
nition as an able lawyer. In 1885 he was 
appointed advisory master in chancery by 
Chancellor Runyon. He grew rapidly in 
legal power and in public esteem. He 
was ever a hard worker and was noted for 
the great painstaking and conscientious 
labor he performed in the preparation of 
his cases. Clear and concise in his argu- 
ment and authority, eloquent in his 
speech, he was a powerful advocate of the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cause he represented. In 1901 Princeton 
University recognized the learning and 
ability of her son and conferred upon him 
the honorary degree of LL, D. On Janu- 
ary 29, 1895, he was appointed vice-chan- 
cellor by Chancellor McGill, succeeding 
his former preceptor and partner, Abra- 
ham V. Van Fleet. At the expiration of 
his term in 1902 he was reappointed by 
Chancellor William J. Magie, and was 
appointed for a third term in 1909 by 
Chancellor Mahlon Pitney, now a justice 
of the Supreme Court of the United 
States. During his terms as vice-chancel- 
lor he held his chambers in Newark, re- 
siding, however, in Morristown, New Jer- 
sey. In 1912 his health again failed and he 
took a short rest later resuming his judicial 
duties, but was not ever again in good 
health. In September, 1915, he had a 
severe attack from which he did not fully 
recover, and he then tendered his resigna- 
tion to take effect, January 1, 1916. It 
was accepted and he was placed upon the 
retired list under the veterans retirement 
act of 1912. He took an active interest in 
the Uniform Divorce Law Congress. 

Shortly after his retirement Mr. Emery 
was presented with a silver loving cup in 
honor of his twenty years and eleven 
months' service, coming as a gift from 
Chancellor Edward Robert Walker and 
Vice-Chancellors Frederic W. Stevens, 
Eugene Stevenson, Edmund B. Learning, 
James E. Howell, Vivian M. Lewis, John 
H. Backes, and John Griffin. Mr. Emery 
was ill at his home and could not receive 
the donors, therefore, the honor of making 
the presentation was delegated to the 
Vice-Chancellor's old friend, Wickliffe B. 
Sayre, sergeant-at-arms of the local Chan- 
cery Chamber, who performed the duty 
on Thursday. January 27, 1916, three days 
preceding his death. 

Vice-Chancellor Emery was a Republi- 
can in politics. He was a member of the 
standing committee of the diocese of 



Newark, first chancellor of the diocese 
appointed by Bishop Edwin S. Lines, 
and for many years was a vestryman of 
the Church of the Redeemer at Morris- 
town. He was a member of the New Jer- 
sey State Bar Association ; New York 
Chapter, Military Order of the Loyal 
Legion of the United States; A. T. A. 
Torbert Post, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, Morristown ; Washington Associ- 
ation of New Jersey ; Fifteenth Regiment 
Association of New Jersey Volunteers ; 
Essex Club of Newark ; Morristown, 
Morristown Field and Morris County Golf 
clubs of Morristown, and a life member of 
the American Bible Society. His college 
fraternities were: Phi Kappa Sigma and 
Clio Hall, Princeton University. 

Vice-Chancellor Emery married at 
Mount Savage, Maryland, October 6, 
1885, Alia, daughter of James S. and 
Annie (Robb) MacKie, and in 1891 
located their home in Morristown where 
Mrs. Emery continues her residence. 
Children: Allita, born January 10, 1887, 
wife of Paul Ray Applegate, of Pitts- 
burgh ; John MacKie, born August 15, 
1888; Steuart MacKie, born January 12, 
1891 ; Theodore, born November, 1893. 

While there were many tributes paid to 
the memory of Vice-Chancellor Emery by 
his brethren of the bench and bar and by 
organizations of which he was a member, 
one of the most touching was that paid by 
the members of the Lawyers' Club of 
Essex County where the older members 
of the club spoke feelingly of their dead 
friend while the younger members paid 
tribute as listeners. 

The meeting was called to order by 
President Frank Bergen and on motion of 
Supreme Court Justice Francis J. Swayze, 
Vice-Chancellor Frederic W. Stevens was 
chosen as presiding officer. Vice-Chan- 
cellor Stevens remarked that "No sadder 
task could be imposed upon one than that 
of paying the last tribute to a departed 



55 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



friend." He then read a lengthy eulogy 
of Mr. Emery. 

Richard V. Lindabury, Robert H. Mc- 
Carter and Edward M. Colie were named 
a committee to draw up suitable resolu- 
tions on behalf of the club and later in the 
meeting submitted the following minute, 
which was read by Mr. Colie. 

The members of the Lawyers' Club of Essex 
County, as an expression of their high apprecia- 
tion of the Honorable John Runkle Emery, late 
vice-chancellor, unanimously adopt the following 
minute: 

More than twenty years prior to his appoint- 
ment to the equity bench, Mr. Emery adopted 
this as his home bar. He quicky and easily won 
for himself the respect and admiration of the 
profession, and a place as a leader not only here 
but throughout the State. This position was 
justly his in recognition of his character, his high 
ideals, his uniform professional courtesy and his 
learning. In 1895, upon the death of Vice-Chan- 
cellor Van Fleet, the selection of Mr. Emery as 
his successor, not only met with approbation, 
but was welcomed as an appointment of one 
especially equipped for the place. For more 
than twenty years it has been our privilege to 
practice before him as a vice-chancellor. Not 
only did he possess character, good judgment 
and learning — essentials in a judge — but his 
equity knowledge was so complete and he pos- 
sessed such skill in applying it that he became 
conspicuous throughout the country as an ex- 
ceptionally able equity judge. He was called 
upon to decide many of the complicated and 
novel questions involved in the important litiga- 
tion of recent days and he has made one of the 
largest and most important contributions to the 
equity jurisprudence of this State. His mind 
was mature. He heard a cause patiently, con- 
sidered it conscientiously and brought to its 
solution his extraordinary knowledge, and liti- 
gants in most cases were willing to rest upon his 
decisions as just and final. He was a man of re- 
markable industry and his fidelity to his work 
beyond all question shortened his life. In his 
death this bar has lost a revered member, the 
equity bench an efficient and distinguished vice- 
chancellor and the State a citizen who has well 
and conspicuously served it and brought to its 
courts high honor. We direct that this minute 
be entered at length upon the records and re- 



quest a copy recorded in the minutes of the Cir- 
cuit Court of this county and a copy sent to the 
family of Vice-Chancellor Emery. 

After the reading of the resolution Sec- 
retary Clarence S. Blake read a letter 
from Chancellor Edwin R. Walker who, 
after deploring his inability to be present, 
owing to illness, paid a high tribute to 
Mr. Emery's worth as a lawyer and a 
vice-chancellor. 

Justice Swayze said that the work of 
Mr. Emery would live forever in the juris- 
prudence of New Jersey, and cited the 
fact that his decisions filled thirty-two 
volumes of the equity reports of the State 
of New Jersey, the total reports for the 
States filling eighty-two volumes. This, 
declared Justice Swayze was the best 
tribute that could be paid to Mr. Emery's 
memory. 

Richard V. Lindabury said : 

The estimate of the character of Vice-Chan- 
cellor Emery, as given by Vice-Chancellor Ste- 
\ens and Justice Swayze were so accurate in 
describing his attainments and his work that it 
is not necessary to say anything more except 
that they speak for the bar. To the members of 
the bar he was what he was to his associates on 
the bench. He was an able and fair judge. He 
had an instinct for the truth and an instinct for 
the right in a case. Even if he had not been the 
Ijreat lawyer he was he would have been a great 
/udge. 

Judge Frederic Adams, of the Circuit 
Court, who was a classmate of the late 
vice-chancellor at the Harvard Law 
School, in 1863, said : 

Many were more intimately acquainted with 
him at the bar, but few here knew Mr. Emery 
earlier than I did. It is more than fifty years ago 
in the winter of 1863 that I first met him. Then 
we were fellow students at Harvard Law School, 
together with Nehemiah Perry, Henry Young, 
J6b H. Lippincott and Abram Q. Garretson. 
Those four are all gone, and the veteran jurist's 
voice trailed off to a whisper, as he slowly said, 
"now Emery is gone." 



56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Judge Adams said he had always re- 
gretted that the path of Mr. Emery and 
himself in legal work kept them apart, 
except on rare occasions, and paid a high 
tribute to him as a judge and a lawyer. 

Others who spoke were former At- 
torney Robert H. McCarter, Edward Q. 
Keasby, Clarence Sackett and Edwin J. 
Raynor, the latter having been a student 
in Mr. Emery's office in the early 8o's. 
He related many instances of kindliness 
and carefulness with which Mr. Emery 
aided those in his office. 



COOK, Joseph Swift, 

Old-School Physician. 

About 1640, Ellis Cook settled at South- 
ampton, Long Island, New York, and 
there three succeeding generations of 
his descendants resided, through whom 
Joseph Swift Cook traced his lineage. 
The line of descent is through Abiel Cook, 
son of the founder, Abiel (2) Cook, his 
grandson, and Ellis Cook, his great-grand- 
son, who first settled in Morris county, 
New Jersey, in Hanover township. This 
Ellis Cook was the father of Colonel 
James Cook, who moved from Hanover 
to Succasunna, Morris county, and there 
lived for many years. Colonel James 
Cook married Ruth Pierson, who died in 
I 795- They were the parents of Dr. Silas 
C. Cook, father of Joseph Swift Cook. 

Dr. Silas C. Cook was born December 
25, 1791, died in 1873. He was four years 
of age when his mother died and after 
his father's second marriage, he was 
adopted by Mrs. Judge Condit, of Morris- 
town, New Jersey, by whom he was care- 
fully reared. He was educated in the 
public schools and in the town academy, 
obtaining a good English education. He 
chose the profession of medicine and pre- 
pared therefore under the guidance of Dr. 
Lewis Condit, one of the leading physi- 
cians of Morris county. In addition to 



his study under Dr. Condit, he attended 
the courses of medical lectures at the 
University of Pennsylvania during the 
winters of 1812 and 1813. On September 
13, 1813, he was licensed to practice by 
the New Jersey State Board of Examiners, 
and at once began practice at Hughesville, 
Warren county. He there formed a part- 
nership with old Dr. Hughes, one of the 
early practitioners of Warren county, and 
continued with him one year. He then 
located at Stewartsville, New Jersey, re- 
maining there until 1828, when he moved 
to Hackettstown, New Jersey, there con- 
ducting a successful practice until 1842. 
From 1842 until 1857, he was located at 
Easton, Pennsylvania, there being rated 
as one of Easton's most skillful and suc- 
cessful physicians. In 1857 he returned 
to Hackettstown, New Jersey, and con- 
tinued in practice until his death in 1873. 
He was the perfect type of the old school 
country doctor, bluff, frank and out- 
spoken, devoted to his profession, every- 
body's friend and everybody's confidant. 
It is hard to realize in this day just what 
the country doctor meant to the commu- 
nity in those days. He covered a wide 
extent of territory which he rode on horse- 
back. There were no drug stores, which 
meant he must carry his medicines, there 
were no specialists, which demanded that 
he be physician, surgeon, oculist and den- 
tist, prepared to set or amputate a limb, 
pull a tooth and treat every form of dis- 
ease. There were few ministers in the 
early days and often it was the lot of the 
doctor to read the last prayer and utter 
the last words over a departed one. The 
young came to him for advice and the old 
looked to him for the work of comfort and 
hope to cheer them in their closing days. 
Long and wearisome rides were his por- 
tion, tempestuous weather must not delay 
him and often on a return from a night's 
work he must at once respond to an 
urgent call as far in another direction. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The matter of keeping his books was one 
of haphazard and payment for services 
quite as much so. He was rich only in 
the love of his people and his estate was 
usually a great many thousand dollars 
worth of bills receivable. These were all 
experiences of Dr. Cook's earlier years of 
practice, but in the later years he confined 
himself to town work. He was an elder 
of the Presbyterian church, and took a 
deep interest in the moral welfare of the 
communities in which he labored. He 
was one of the few early Whigs in Hac- 
kettstown and in later years affiliated 
with the Republican party. 

Dr. Cook married, in 1816, Mary, daugh- 
ter of James Hyndshaw, of Stewartsville, 
New Jersey, her father at one time sheriff 
of Sussex county, New Jersey. He was 
of Scotch descent, served in the Revolu- 
tionary War, was taken prisoner and 
nearly died of starvation. After the war 
he came to Greenwich township, pur- 
chased four hundred acres of land, which 
upon his death was divided among his 
four children, each of whom received a 
farm. Mrs. Cook died in 1872, the de- 
voted mother of many children, several of 
whom were taken from her in childhood. 
Those who grew to mature years were: 
James H., a merchant of Easton, Penn- 
sylvania, who died in 1880; Dr. Lewis S., 
who practiced his profession in Hacketts- 
town until his death in 1874; Silas C, a 
lawyer of Easton, Pennsylvania, who died 
in 1864; Dr. John S., a physician of Hac- 
kettstown until his death, and Joseph 
Swift, to whose memory this sketch is 
dedicated. 

Dr. Joseph Swift Cook was born at 
Hackettstown, New Jersey, March 26, 
1830, died July 4, 1903. His early educa- 
tion was obtained at the Model School 
connected with Lafayette College, Easton, 
after which he entered the college proper, 
remaining during the years 1847-48. He 
chose the profession of law and for 



eighteen months pursued legal study in 
Easton. In January, 1852, he entered 
Union College, Schenectady, New York, 
whence he was graduated in 1853, with 
honors, becoming a member of the Phi 
Beta Kappa fraternity. He did not con- 
tinue legal study, but after his graduation 
from Union College he began the study of 
medicine under the preceptorship of his 
honored father, Dr. Silas C. Cook, then 
practicing in Easton. Later he entered 
the medical department of the University 
of Pennsylvania, whence he was gradu- 
ated M. D. in March, 1856. During the 
following year he was engaged in hos- 
pital work in Philadelphia, as resident 
surgeon at St. Joseph's Hospital, and in 
practice at Easton as his father's assistant. 
In the spring of 1857 he entered into a 
partnership with his brother, Dr. John S. 
Cook, then practicing at Hackettstown, 
and continued that association for two 
years. In 1859 he located at Washington, 
Warren county, New Jersey, where he 
continued a successful practice until his 
death at the age of seventy-three years. 
Dr. Cook's private practice from gradu- 
ation until death was only interrupted by 
his service as surgeon in the Union army 
during the Civil War. In September, 
1862, he was appointed and commissioned 
first assistant surgeon of the Thirty-first 
Regiment New Jersey Volunteer Infantry 
by Governor Charles S. Olden. After a 
few months service he was taken with 
typhoid fever, and after his recovery pri- 
vate business was so pressing that he re- 
signed his commission. In 1865 Lafa- 
yette College conferred upon him the 
honorary degree Master of Arts, and on 
September II, 1877, he was elected a fel- 
low of The American Academy of Medi- 
cine. He was also a member of the 
county and state medical associations. 

As a physician and surgeon, Dr. Cook 
ranked very high and was much sought 
for in consultation. Among the people 



58 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with whom he lived and moved for over 
forty years he was held in the highest 
esteem, not more for his skill in minister- 
ing to their physical needs than for his 
admirable social qualities. Warm hearted, 
sympathetic and public spirited, he re- 
sponded to every private or public de- 
mand made upon him, while his profes- 
sional skill was freely given to those from 
whom no payment could be expected. 
Few men occupied so busily as he who 
had so many warm friends nor was there 
ever a man more loyal to his friends. 

Dr. Cook married, November 4, 1857, 
Carrie H. Hunt, daughter of Rev. H. W. 
Hunt, of Schooley's Mountain. Children : 
Dr. Frank M. Cook, now a practicing phy- 
sician of Hackettstown, New Jersey; 
Fannie H., married William S. Ritten- 
house; Laura W., a graduate physician, 
married Augustus P. Hann, who died 
December II, 1887. Laura W. (Cook) 
Hann obtained her professional education 
at The Woman's Medical College, Balti- 
more, Maryland, whence she was gradu- 
ated M. D., class of 1892. She received 
her literary education at Centenary In- 
stitute, Hackettstown, New Jersey, gradu- 
ating in class of 1882 with degree of M. 
E. L. She engaged in active practice for 
a few years but is now retired. 

Carrie H. (Hunt) Cook descended from 
Thomas Hunt, who married Ciceley Pas- 
ley and came to America in 1652. They 
were members of the Church of England 
of the strictest and highest sect. Their son, 
Thomas (2) Hunt, married Elizabeth Jes- 
sup and lived at West Farms, New York. 
Their son, Thomas (3) Hunt, born 1663, 
also resided at West Farms. He married 
Elizabeth Gardiner, of the Lord Gardiner 
family of England. Their son, Augustine 
Hunt, born 1716, married Lydia Hol- 
loway, born in Massachusetts of Welsh 
descent. Their son, Holloway Whitfield 
Hunt, born April 9, 1769, was a graduate 
of Nassau Hall, Princeton, class of 1794. 



He became a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, later transferred his 
allegiance to the Presbyterian church and 
served the congregation at Sparta, New 
Jersey, as pastor for seven years, and the 
churches at Bethlehem and Alexandria 
for forty years and also was settled over 
the church at Kingwood. He married a 
Miss Willis, a cousin of the poet, N. P. 
Willis. Their son, Holloway Whitfield 
(2) Hunt, born at Sparta, New Jersey, in 
1799, was an active minister of the Pres- 
byterian church from early manhood until 
near the close of his life, which ended at 
the age of sixty-nine. His first and only 
charge was the church at Pleasant Grove, 
New Jersey. He was a graduate of Prince- 
ton, and during his clerical life tutored 
many young men who wished to enter 
college. He married Amanda, daughter 
of Lawrence and Mary Hann. Their 
daughter, Carrie H. Hunt, married Dr. 
Joseph Swift Cook. Their daughter, Dr. 
Laura W. Cook, married Augustus P. 
Hann. Their son, Philip H. Hann, is a 
resident of Washington, New Jersey. 

The Hunt family crest is: "A lion's 
head erased per pale, argent and sable 
collared gules, lined and ringed or." They 
were large owners of land on Long Island 
and in 1686 possessd all of that section 
now known as Hunters Point. 



HANN, Augustus P., 

Well-Known Public Official. 

The Hanns of Morris county, New Jer- 
sey, trace descent to William Hann, who 
with his wife, Elsie, came from Germany 
to this country in 1732, and after a brief 
residence on Long Island settled at 
Schooley's Mountain, New Jersey, in the 
year 1754. He purchased one hundred 
and fifty acres of land there, and devoted 
himself to its cultivation until his death in 
1794, aged ninety years. His wife died in 
1791, at about the same advanced age. 



59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Some time prior to his death, he sold the 
farm to his son, Jacob, who died suddenly, 
leaving a son, Philip, who purchased the 
homestead from the other heirs and there 
resided until his death in 1821, leaving 
children : Mary, Jacob, of further men- 
tion, Elizabeth, John, and Philip. 

Jacob Hann, son of Philip Hann, was 
born in 1782, and resided on the home- 
stead farm on Schooley's Mountain until 
1809, then moved to Mansfield township, 
Warren county, New Jersey, where he 
bought a farm. He continued his resi- 
dence in Mansfield until about 1824, then 
returned to the old homestead on Schoo- 
ley's Mountain ; later he occupied his 
farm in Mansfield township and there he 
died in 1867. He was a strong and promi- 
nent Democrat, holding the office of jus- 
tice of the peace in both Morris and War- 
ren counties, being first appointed in 1816. 
During his second residence in Morris 
county, he was elected and for five years 
served as judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas. He was a man of sound judgment 
and clear brain, well informed and much 
sought for as a conveyancer and legal 
advisor. He was a member of the Pres- 
byterian church, while first residing in 
Morris county, but in Warren county 
united with the Methodist Episcopal 
church at Anderson. Judge Hann mar- 
ried, in 1802, Susan Gary. Children : Ann 
Eliza, Clarissa, Ellen, Jane, Philip H., of 
further mention, Tamzen, Jacob, and Ra- 
chel. 

Philip H. Hann was born in Mansfield 
township, Warren county, New Jersey, 
August 6, 1819, and died May 7. 1900. 
His youth and early manhood were spent 
on the paternal farm, his education ob- 
tained in the public school, Schooley's 
Mountain Academy, and under the pri- 
vate instruction of Rev. Holloway W. 
Hunt, a graduate of Princeton and pastor 
of the Schooley's Mountain Presbyterian 
Church. In 1848 he rented the home farm 



of his father and there resided until 1854. 
In that year he was elected surrogate of 
Warren county, an office which he held 
for five years, during which period he 
resided in Belvidere, the county seat. In 
the spring of i860 he moved to Washing- 
ton, New Jersey, where for two years he 
engaged in business as a merchant. He 
was appointed judge of the Court of 
Common Pleas for Warren county in 
1864, an office he held through successive 
re-appointments for ten years. In 1864 
he aided in the organization of the First 
National Bank of Washington, was elected 
its first cashier and held that position all 
through his service as judge of the Court 
of Common Pleas and for many years 
thereafter. He was advanced to vice- 
president and later to president, which 
position he was filling at the time of his 
death. He was also a director of the Phil- 
lipsburg Bank for several years and other 
important business interests. He was an 
able financier and in his capacity of 
cashier exercised an influence which prac- 
tically amounted to a controlling interest. 
In 1878 he was elected county collector, 
an office he held through succeeding re- 
elections for several terms. He was highly 
regarded by his fellow citizens without 
regard to party, his continuance in public 
office being regarded as good public 
policy. Both he and his father served as 
judge of the Court of Common Pleas, the 
father in Morris and the son in Warren 
county, and both retired from the office 
with the entire respect of the legal frater- 
nity. 

Judge Philip H. Hann married Caroline 
C, youngest daughter of Rev. Johnson 
Dunham, an early minister of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, and his wife, Mary, 
eldest daughter of Daniel Hunt. Both 
Judge Hann and his wife were active 
members of the Washington Methodist 
Church. Children : Mary, married Rev. 
S. W. Gehrett, a Methodist minister of 



60 




'77/?//?' J<=J7<r//7cUj 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Philadelphia Conference; Augustus 
P., of further mention ; and Louis J. 

Augustus P. Hann was born in Belvi- 
dere, Warren county, New Jersey, Febru- 
ary 15, 1856, died in Washington, New 
Jersey, December 11, 1887. His education 
began in private schools and was con- 
tinued at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, 
Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated, 
class of 1875. He then was a student at 
Wesleyan College for one year but did 
not complete his collegiate course, decid- 
ing against a professional career, which 
had been his ambition. He next spent 
some time in study for business life at 
Eastman's Business College, from which 
he graduated, then entered the employ of 
the First National Bank of Washington, 
of which his father had been cashier since 
its organization in 1864. He began as 
assistant cashier and proved so efficient 
an assistant that in the course of time he 
was promoted to cashier, a position he 
was holding at the time of his death, hav- 
ing also been elected vice-president. He 
was a man of pleasing personality, very 
popular, not only in Washington but 
throughout the entire county. He drew 
men to him by his genial, friendly manner 
and held them to him through his many 
manly qualities. He took a deep interest 
in public affairs even before becoming a 
voter, and had barely attained his major- 
ity when elected a member of Washing- 
ton's Common Council, an office to which 
he was elected over and over again until 
he refused longer to serve. In 1884 he 
was elected county collector, an office in 
which his honored father had served and 
to which the son was reelected in 1885 
and 1886. He was one of the best loved 
young men in Warren county and all de- 
plored his early death. On the day of his 
funeral every business house in Washing- 
ton was closed as a mark of respect to 
the memory of the young man whose 
hand was always extended to aid those in 



distress and whose genial, cheerful dis- 
position had so endeared him to so large 
a circle of true friends. 

Mr. Hann married Laura W., daughter 
of Dr. Joseph Swift and Carrie H. (Hunt) 
Cook, of Washington, New Jersey. After 
the death of her husband, Mrs. Hann took 
a course at the Woman's College, Balti- 
more, whence she was graduated, M. D., 
class of 1892. For several years she prac- 
ticed the profession to which so many 
Doctor Cooks have devoted their lives 
and which profession they have honored. 
Dr. Hann is now retired from practice, re- 
sides in Washington, her only son, Philip 
H. Hann, also a resident of that borough. 



SANDYS, Arthur, 

Student. Scholar, Historian. 

This name originally Sands was by act 
of Legislature legally changed to Sandys 
at the request of Arthur Sandys, to whose 
memory this sketch is dedicated. De- 
prived of both of his parents when two 
years of age, Arthur Sandys grew to 
youthful manhood at the home of his ma- 
ternal grandparents in New York City, by 
whom he was given every advantage and 
educational opportunity. When a young 
man he went abroad and in the cities of 
the Old World spent several years. He 
was a man of cultured tastes and culti- 
vated mind, a heritage from his French 
maternal ancestors, the de Normandies, 
who, for their Protestant faith, sought 
refuge in Geneva and resided there for 
several generations until the whirligig of 
fate again drove them forth for serving an 
earthly monarch, Frederick I., of Prussia, 
as the first de Normandie had fled from 
Noyon, France, for allegiance to his 
spiritual king. 

Mr. Sandys was an insatiable reader of 
biographies of great men, a student of 
history and the historian of the family. 
He spent much time while in Europe in 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



searching French and Genevese records, 
with the result that he gave to the world 
a valuable contribution to its literature in 
"Annals de Normandie," an exhaustive 
historical and genealogical account of the 
de Normandies, their times and the part 
they played in French and Genevese his- 
tory (see de Normandie line). This was 
but one of his contributions to American 
literature, his writings being numerous. 
He was not bound continuously to busi- 
ness life, but devoted long periods to 
travel and study as inclination seized 
him, indulging in all the pursuits and 
pleasures of a gentleman. 

There is reason to believe that the name 
was originally Sandys, and that the Amer- 
ican family is descended from Henry 
Sandes, Sands, or Sandys, who came from 
Yorkshire to America probably earlier 
than 1638, and was one of the founders of 
Rowley,' Massachusetts. He died in Bos- 
ton in 1654. His wife, Sybil, whom he 
married in England, was the mother of 
James Sands, one of the founders of the 
town of New Shoreham, Rhode Island. 
This town embodies Block Island, and 
was represented in the Rhode Island As- 
sembly in 1665 by James Sands. He was 
born in Yorkshire, England, 1622, and 
died at Block Island, March 13, 1695, and 
was buried there. He had grants of land 
in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, October 5, 
1643, and August 29, 1644; was made free- 
man there 1655; was commissioner to the 
General Court, May 19, 1657 ; was con- 
stable in 1654, and deputy to the General 
Court in 1655. In April, 1661, he sailed 
with a party which went from Taunton, 
Rhode Island, to settle Block Island ; was 
tax rater in 1670 and 1671, and deeded the 
land on which he settled to his son, John, 
November 15, 1690. He married, 1645-46, 
Sarah, daughter of John and Catherine 
(Hutchinson) Walker. John Walker was 
a freeman in Boston, May 14, 1634; was 
among those condemned for adherence to 



the religious teachings of Ann Hutchin- 
son, and removed to Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, about 1637-38. John Sands, eldest 
child of James Sands, born 1649, suc " 
ceeded his father on the paternal home- 
stead in Block Island, had a gant of land 
at Portsmouth, May 27, 1674, was deputy 
from Block Island in 1678 and 1680-81. 
In 1 691 he removed to Cow Neck, on 
Long Island, where he purchased, for 
two hundred pounds, a farm, deed dated 
December 25, 1691. He married in New 
Shoreham, Sybil Ray, born March 19, 
1665, daughter of Simon (2) and Mary 
(Thomas) Ray, granddaughter of Simon 
(1) Ray, of Braintree, Essex, England, 
and died at Braintree, Massachusetts, 
September 30, 1641. Mary Thomas was 
a daughter of Nathaniel Thomas, born 
about 1606, in Wales, died February 13, 
1674, in Marshfield, Massachusetts. John 
Sands died March 15, 1712, at Cow Neck, 
and his wife, December 23, 1733. Both 
were buried in the Sands graveyard there. 
Their eldest child was John Sands, born 
January 22, 1684, on Block Island, and 
died at Cow Neck, August 30, 1763. He 
removed from Block Island, about 1716, 
and built a house at Cow Neck, which 
was subsequently occupied by his son. 
About 1733 he purchased from his brother, 
Daniel, the paternal homestead there, on 
which he thereafter resided. He married 
at Newport, Rhode Island, September 9, 
1706, Catherine Gutherie, born June 24, 
1690, on Block Island, died at Sands 
Point, February 10, 1769, daughter of 
Robert and Anna (Alcock) Gutherie, 
granddaughter of Dr. John and Sarah 
(Palgrave) Alcock, both natives of Eng- 
land. Dr. John Alcock graduated at Har- 
vard University, and was the purchaser 
of Block Island from the Indians. He 
was a son of George Alcock, who came 
over with Governor Winthrop, was also 
a physician, and died December 30, 1640, 
at Roxbury, Massachusetts. His wife was 



62 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a Hooker. John Sands, eldest child of 
John and Catherine (Gutherie) Sands, 
was born January i, 1708, on Block 
Island, and died at Sands Point, Novem- 
ber 22, 1760. He lived on his grand- 
father's homestead, there he was a farmer, 
and married, May 12, 1736, Elizabeth CorJ 
nell, born September 27, 171 1, died May 
10, 1793, daughter of Caleb and Elizabeth 
(Hagner) Cornell, granddaughter of John 
and Mary (Russell) Cornell, who came 
from England in 1677, and settled at 
Sands Point, where they were buried. 
Caleb Cornell was born there in 1683, and 
died there. He married, October 10, 1705, 
Elizabeth Hagner, of Flushing, who died 
in 1734. Comfort Sands, fourth son of 
John and Elizabeth (Cornell) Sands, was 
born February 26, 1748, was baptized at 
St. Paul's Chapel, New York, in 1767, and 
died at Hoboken, September 22, 1834. He 
resided in New York City previous to 
1809, when he removed to Newark, and 
remained three years. Returning to 
New York, he lived there until 1826, 
when he removed to Hoboken, was buried 
at St. Peter's Church, Westchester, New 
York. In 1775 he was a member of the 
committee of one hundred to manage 
colonial affairs in opposition to the home 
government ; was a member of the pro- 
vincial congress in that year ; was auditor- 
general of New York in 1776, and con- 
tinuously from that year until 1783 on the 
committee of public safety. He also filled 
other important posts during the Revolu- 
tionary War, and was president of the 
New York Chamber of Commerce after 
peace had come. He married, June 3, 
1769, Sarah Dodge, born 1749, at Hunts 
Point, died in New York, January 24, 
1795, and was buried in the Middle Dutch 
Church on Nassau street in that city. She 
was descended from Tristram Dodge, one 
of the original settlers of Block Island, in 
1662, died in 1733. He was the first free- 
man of Block Island, admitted in 1664. 



His son, William Dodge, lived and died 
on Block Island, and was the father of 
Samuel Dodge, born there September 19, 
1691, died about 1766, and was buried at 
Sands Point, Long Island. His wife, 
Elizabeth, was the mother of Wilkie 
Dodge, born at Sands Point, where he 
died in 1752, married Mary Hunt, born 
1725, at Hunts Point, Westchester county, 
New York, died in New York City, July 
22, 1796, and was buried in the Middle 
Dutch Church there. Comfort Sands 
married (second) in New York, Decem- 
ber 5, 1797, Cornelia, daughter of Abra- 
ham Lott, born November 5, 1761, died 
April 6, 1856, in New York. Joseph 
Sands, second son of Comfort and Sarah 
(Dodge) Sands, was born January 7, 1772, 
in New York, and died there December 
5, 1825, buried in St. Mark's Church. He 
married in Paris, France, March 26, 1801, 
Maria Therese Kampfel, born 1782, in 
Vienna, Austria, died in New York, Au- 
gust, 1846, buried in Greenwood Ceme- 
tery, Long Island. She was the daughter 
of Matthias Kampfel, a major in the Aus- 
trian army, and his wife, Anna (Zach) 
Kampfel, of a Flanders family, long situ- 
ated in Lisle. 

Ferdinand Sands, son of Joseph and 
Maria Therese (Kampfel) Sands, was 
born May 26, 1806, in New York, and 
died there December 7, 1839, was buried 
in St. Mark's Church. He graduated A. 
B. at Columbia College in May, 1824. He 
married, March 15, 1830, Susan Bard, 
born February 7, 1812, at Hyde Park, 
New York, died in New York City, Janu- 
ary 28, 1838, buried in St. Mark's Church. 
She was a descendant of an old New York 
family. Her first known ancestor was 
Benoit Bard, who fled from France in 
1682 to escape religious persecution, and 
died in London after 1734. His son, Colo- 
nel Peter Bard, born 1679, in France, 
came to America in 1706, settled in New 
Jersey, died July 13, 1734, in Burlington, 



63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



that State, and was buried at St. Mary's 
Church there. He was a member of the 
Colonial Council in New Jersey in 1720, 
commander of a regiment of foot, May 4, 
1722, and was judge of the Superior Court 
of the State at the time of his death. He 
married in New Castle, Delaware, 1709, 
Dinah Marmion, born 1693 in Leicester- 
shire, England, died after 1760, in Burl- 
ington, New Jersey, buried at St. Mary's 
Church, daughter of Dr. Samuel Mar- 
mion, born in Leicestershire, received the 
degree of A. B. from Cambridge Univer- 
sity, and came to America before 1700. 
He died in Burlington, New Jersey, 
March 20, 1734, buried at St. Mary's 
Church. He married, July 28, 1692, at 
Astley Abbots, Salop, Elizabeth Parker, 
born 1670, in England, died in Burlington, 
September 24, 1729, buried at St. Mary's 
Church. Dr. John Bard, son of Colonel 
Peter and Dinah (Marmion) Bard, was 
born February 1, 1716, at Burlington, died 
at Hyde Park, New York, April 1, 1799, 
buried at St. James' Church there. He 
married at Christ Church, Philadelphia, 
1737, Susanne Valleau, born July 19, 1721, 
in New York, died and was buried at St. 
James' Church, Hyde Park, daughter of 
Pierre Valleau, grandaughter of Faulkner 
Valleau, great-granddaughter of Esaie 
Valleau, born in France, 1638, came to 
New York in 1685, died at New Rochelle, 
New York, 1713. The son, Faulkner, 
born 1662, died before 1712, had wife, 
Jeanne, and they were the parents of 
Pierre Valleau, died in New York before 
1745. He married Magdalena Faucon- 
nier, born 1685, in London, died in New 
York after 1750. Dr. Samuel Bard, son 
of Dr. John and Susanne (Valleau) Bard, 
was born April 1, 1742, in Burlington, re- 
ceived the degree of A. B. at the Univer- 
sity of Edinburgh, LL. D. at Princeton 
College, founded the New York Medical 
School and the New York City Hospital, 
died at Hyde Park, New York, May 24, 



1821, buried there in St. James' Church. 
He married at Christ Church, Philadel- 
phia, May 14, 1770, his cousin, Mary Bard, 
born June 18, 1746, died at Hyde Park, 
May 23, 1821, buried there at St. James' 
Church, daughter of Peter Bard, who was 
a son of Colonel Peter and Dinah (Mar- 
mion) Bard. Peter (2) Bard was born 
July 29, 1712, at Burlington, was com- 
missary-general of the Pennsylvania 
forces, died at Mount Holly, January 30, 
1761, buried at St. Andrew's Church 
there. He married at Christ Church, 
Philadelphia, September 28, 1738, Marie 
de Normandie, born May 15, 1780, at 
Bristol, Philadelphia, died at Mount 
Holly, New Jersey. William Bard, son 
of Dr. Samuel and Mary (Bard) Bard, 
born April 4, 1778, in Philadelphia, gradu- 
ated A. B. Columbia College, 1798, mem- 
ber of the Society of the Cincinnati, died 
October 17, 1853, on Staten Island, buried 
in St. Mark's Church, New York. He 
married in Trinity Church, New York, 
October 7, 1802, Catherine Cruger, born 
May 7, 1781, at St. Croix, West Indies, 
died on Staten Island, October 14, 1868, 
buried at St. Mark's Church, New York. 
She was a descendant of John Cruger, 
who came to America before 1700, was 
mayor of New York, 1739, died there Au- 
gust 13, 1744, buried in the Old Dutch 
Church. He married, March 5, 1702, 
Maria Cuyler, died September 14, 1724, 
in New York, buried in the Dutch Church 
there, daughter of Hendrick and Anna 
Cuyler. Her father was captain of the 
troop at Albany in 1689. Henry Cruger, 
son of John and Maria (Cuyler) Cruger, 
born November 25, 1707, in New York, 
was member of the Colonial Assembly, 
1745-59; of the Council, 1762-73; died at 
Bristol, England, 1778, and buried at the 
Cathedral there. He married, December 21, 
1736, Elizabeth Harris, born June 7, 1716, 
at Jamaica, West Indies. They were the 
parents of Nicholas Cruger, born March 



64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



5, 1743, in New York, a distinguished 
patriot during the Revolution, died at St. 
Croix, West Indies, in 1800, buried on 
Peter's Rest Plantation. His wife, Anna 
de Nully, born at St. Croix, West Indies, 
died there November, 1784, buried at St. 
Peter's Rest. She was descended from 
Bertrand de Nully, Count de Nully, of de 
Nully sur Marme, planter of Martinique, 
father of Bertrand Pierre de Nully, a 
planter of St. Croix, West Indies, where 
he died in 1778. His wife, Catherine 
(Heylager) de Nully, born at St. Croix, 
died there October 12, 1799, was a daugh- 
ter of General Pierre Heylager, born in 
Denmark, chamberlain to Christian V., 
appointed governor-general of Danish 
West Indies in 1733, died in St. Croix. 
Catherine Cruger, daughter of Nicholas 
and Anna (de Nully) Cruger, became the 
wife of William Bard, as previously noted. 
They were the parents of Susan Bard, 
wife of Ferdinand Sands, as previously 
noted. 

Arthur Sandys was born in New York 
City at the family home, corner of Broad- 
way and Bleecker street, September 27, 
1837, died at his home, 35 North Lincoln 
avenue, Washington, Warren county, 
New Jersey, July 21, 1914. He was the 
son of Ferdinand Sands, who died when 
his son was two years of age (see ante). 

Arthur Sandys, so early orphaned, was 
reared by his grandparents, William and 
Catherine Bard, at their home, No. 2 
College place, New York City. There 
they resided until Arthur was fifteen 
years of age, when they moved to a 
beautiful home on Staten Island, New 
York. He was largely educated under 
private tutors, his principal instructor be- 
ing Professor Joseph Karge, afterward 
professor of languages at Princeton Col- 
lege and often called the "ornament" of 
Princeton. From private tutors he was 
sent abroad to complete his education, 
and he spent several years in study at 

N J-Vol HI-5 



Florence, Italy, and Berne, Switzerland. 
In Florence he took special courses in 
architecture and carving, arts in which he 
excelled, particularly as a draughtsman. 
After his return to the United States he 
was in the employ of the United States 
government, then contructing forts at the 
entrance to the Mississippi river, and 
when his work there was finished, con- 
tinued in the government service at Phil- 
adelphia, where he resided for some time. 
He was also engaged as draughtsman and 
superintendent by private parties, but 
never devoted himself exclusively to busi- 
ness. He traveled extensively at home 
and abroad and gave a great deal of time 
to reading, study and literary pursuits. 
He resided in Philadelphia, Allentown 
and Bethlehem, Pennsylvania; Trenton 
New Jersey, and elsewhere, as places at- 
tracted him, finally, in 1908, settling in 
Washington, New Jersey, where he died. 
He was a thorough gentleman, courteous, 
genial and gentle in manner, very ap- 
prochable, with all the graces of mind and 
character of a student and scholar. He 
was a member of the Episcopal church, 
serving as vestryman and warden. While 
books of biography and history were his 
favorites in literature, he was widely read 
and informed on all subjects coming with- 
in the bounds of a liberal education, in- 
cluding the languages. His favorite sport 
was boating, of which he was inordi- 
nately fond. Kindness and consideration 
marked his intercourse with his fellow- 
men, and he possessed many warm per- 
sonal friends. When a young man he 
tried to enlist as a private in the Union 
army, but owing to a defect in hearing 
was rejected. He then secured appoint- 
ment as assistant paymaster, serving until 
the war closed. In Washington, New 
Jersey, he took a deep interest in public 
affairs, aided materially in the founding 
of the public library and made his pres- 
ence felt for good in many ways. 



65 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Sandys married (first) in 1868, 
Miriam Moase, of Staten Island, New 
York. He married (second) September 
5, 191 1, Etta Medlyn, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Eliza (Winn) Medlyn, of Mas- 
sachusetts birth, but English parentage. 
Mrs. Sandys survives her husband, a 
resident of Washington, New Jersey. 

(The de Normandie Line). 

Through his mother, Susan (Bard) 
Sands, wife of Ferdinand Sands, Arthur 
Sandys traced descent from Andre de 
Normandie of ancient and noble lineage, 
son of a distinguished father, brother of 
one whose proved abilities were valued 
by princes ; and himself a diplomat chosen 
and long employed by reason of his own 
merit, a man of exalted character and 
worth. This Andre de Normandie founded 
the branch of the family in the United 
States from which sprang Susan (Bard) 
Sands, a descendant of Marie de Nor- 
mandie, second child of Andre de Nor- 
mandie, who married Peter Bard, son of 
Colonel Peter Bard, of Burlington, New 
Jersey. 

The de Normandie family history is ex- 
haustively treated in "Annals of de Nor- 
mandie," a work collated, translated and 
explained by Arthur Sandys and printed 
at Cambridge by the Riverside Press in 
1891. In that work descent is traced to 
Laurent de Normandie, eldest son and 
heir of Jean de Normandie and grandson 
of Guillaume de Normandie. 

Jean de Normandie lived and died either 
near Noyon, France, on one of his fiefs or 
in the city where it is known he held high 
office. He belonged to the Catholic party 
and John Calvin has made his personality 
very distinct to us by the statement in 
his dedication of the work "De Scandalis," 
that "Jean de Normandie is reported to 
have died of grief on account of his son's 
defection from the Catholic faith and 
flight to Geneva." Jean de Normandie 



married Jacqueline Moreau, an heiress, 
or at least, a lady of a large landed prop- 
erty, who bore him two sons and two 
daughters. She died prior to 1540 leaving 
three fiefs to her eldest son, Laurent. 
Jean de Normandie died in the early part 
of 1549 and records state that he was 
buried with his ancestors in the chapel of 
Notre Dame, founded by his grandfather. 

Laurent de Normandie, eldest son and 
heir of Jean and Jacqueline (Moreau) dc 
Normandie, was born at or near Noyon in 
Picardie about 1520, died in the prime of 
life, August 14, 1569, one of the most in- 
teresting of all those distinguished men 
who found a refuge in Geneva during the 
earlier years of the Reformation. A de- 
scendant of the great feudal families of 
Champagne and Picardie, a grandson of a 
Seneschal of the latter province, he filled 
the high office of royal lieutenant of his 
native city, Noyon, and then surrendered 
his honors and estates to meet obloquy 
and condemnation to death for the sake of 
religion. 

In addition to the three fiefs that came 
to him from his mother, he inherited the 
title and Seigneurie of la Motte from his 
father, but as his father died a few months 
after the conversion of his son to the 
Protestant faith and flight to Geneva, the 
Seigneure of la Motte was probably con- 
fiscated by the crown and as the attainer 
issued against Laurent de Normandie was 
never by pardon of the king swept from 
the records of the parliament of Paris, the 
title and estate of la Motte was not among 
those restored to him by Henry IV. 
through the good graces of the dowager 
Queen Navarre. He never used the title 
at Geneva although he was always recog 
nized as "noble' and so called, as also 
were his descendants. Laurent de Nor- 
mandie made advanced studies in the law 
and was received a doctor. He became 
king's lieutenant and mayor of Noyon and 
served Henry II., King of France, as also 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Jeanne de'Albret, later Queen of Navarre 
and mother of Henry IV., of France. He 
married, September 3, 1540, Anne de la 
Vaquerie, of a noble family merged into 
the dukedom of St. Simon. 

It is not known at what time his re- 
ligious convictions became fixed, but at 
least in 1548 his mind was settled, so 
abandoning all chances of advancement 
in his public employments he left his 
home and country, and followed by his 
wife who was suffering from an illness 
that later ended her life, and also by his 
children, he sought refuge in Geneva, 
arriving in October, 1548. There he was 
reunited with the family of Jean Calvm, 
whom he had long known, and in May he 
was admitted an inhabitant of Geneva. 
The circumstances of the death of his 
father, the death of his wife and the loss 
of a beloved child all during the first 
month of his arrival in Geneva called 
forth a letter of condolence and sympathy 
from Jean Calvin in the form of a dedica- 
tion to Laurent de Normandie in his cele- 
brated work "De Scandalis." 

He purchased a house with court and 
garden and lived very near some of the 
pastors including John Calvin. He mar- 
ried a second wife in 1550, Anna, daugh- 
ter of Leon Colladon. Doctor of Civil 
Law, belonging to a family from Berry 
in France, but a short time in Geneva, and 
which had always held honorable rank. 
The marriage took place in the cathedral 
of St. Pierre at the morning service, Sep- 
tember 14, 1550, John Calvin officiating as 
the minister. He was offered citizenship 
but not until April 25, 1555, did he accept 
and become a citizen of Geneva, the fee 
having been reduced by the council "in 
consideration of his handsome services." 
He was admitted a Doctor of Laws, Octo- 
ber 1, 1556, but there is no record of his 
having practiced his profession. He be- 
came a member of the Council of Two 
Hundred, edited and published books 



which he sent to be sold in France and 
other parts. In 1557 he asked the privi- 
lege of six years publication of the "Com- 
mentaries of Calvin on the Evangelists" 
also for a volume of the Epistles of St. 
Paul and Canonicals. Answer was given 
by the council that the privilege of three 
years would be accorded "if agreeable to 
Mr. Calvin." 

By a decree of the parliament of Paris 
dated September 7, 1552, Laurent de Nor- 
mandie was condemned to be burnt alive 
"as guilty of having fled the Kingdom," 
but as he was safely lodged in Geneva, 
the sentence was carried out in effigy. 
Later the protection of those in high 
power reinstated him in royal favor and 
in the possession of his confiscated 
estates. In settling his affairs in France 
after the restitution of his estates he 
made several journeys back and forth. 
His friend, John Calvin, the reformer, 
made him executor of his will. Laurent 
de Normandie died August 14, 1569, the 
Geneva records stating "The body of 
Monsieur de Normandie was brought in 
dead of the plague." 

Jean de Normandie, eldest son of Lau- 
rent de Normandie and Demoiselle Anne de 
la Vaquerie, was born in the city of Noyon, 
France, in 1544 or 1545. He arrived with 
his parents in Geneva near the end of 
1548, and was there educated, becoming 
like his father a doctor of civil law and 
coming into the full rights of citizenship, 
took an active interest in all public affairs 
and rose rapidly to the highest offices the 
republic could bestow. In 1575 he entered 
the Council of Two Hundred, later the 
Council of Sixty, and in 1589 was consti- 
tuted the deputy from the government of 
Geneva to congratulate Henry IV. in his 
assumption of the crown of France. In 
1602 the Duke of Savoy made that long 
contemplated attack on Geneva known in 
history as the Escalade. The attack was 
made in the night, but the Genevese, ever 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



alert and well prepared, rendered the at- 
tempt abortive, and in 1603 Jean De Nor- 
mandie, on the part of Geneva, signed the 
treaty of Saint Julien by which Charles 
Emmanuel of the house of Carnigan, 
Duke of Savoy, surrendered all his claims 
and ancient rights thus relieving Geneva 
not only of continuous and vast expense, 
but also from the tension which had kept 
it always militant. 

In 1575 Jean de Normandie married the 
demoiselle, Marie de Trie, daughter of 
Guillaume de Trie, Seigneur de Varennes, 
and from his own birth his services to the 
state, the reputation of his father and his 
illustrious alliance, his position was dis- 
tinguished in the highest degree. He died 
at Geneva full of honors, April 13, 1617, 
aged seventy-three years, leaving a son, 
Joseph, who, as the eldest among other 
children, became the head of the family. 

Joseph de Normandie, the eldest son of 
Jean and Marie (de Trie) Normandie, 
was born in Geneva in 1576. He was 
named after his godfather, the Duke de la 
Tremouille, who as soon as Joseph was 
old enough made him his military secre- 
tary and took him abroad. He served in 
that capacity until his twenty-seventh 
year when his patron obtained for him 
from Henry IV., of France, the important 
post of Conseiller du Roi at Bourt en 
Bresse, which office he held until 1610 
when he returned to Geneva. He was a 
member of the Council of Two Hundred 
at Geneva, the next year was a member of 
the Council of Twenty-five, was Secre- 
tary of State from 1609 to 1617 and again 
until 1620. 

Politically and socially Joseph de Nor- 
mandie was well placed in the aristocratic 
republic of Geneva not only in the enjoy- 
ment of the highest offices and honors of 
the State, as was his father before him, 
but also became of his alliances. He 
married, in 1614, the demoiselle, Dorothe 
de Villains, daughter of Francois de Vil- 



lains, baron d'Aubonne of a cadet branch 
of the ancient house of the Villains de 
Gand in Flanders. The mother of Doro- 
the was Antonia Lullin, of a family the 
most ancient in Geneva, whose Seign- 
euries and city properties occupied in 
1300 are in part yet owned by its mem- 
bers. Joseph de Normandie died Novem- 
ber 14, 1625, his only surviving son, 
Michel, succeeding him as head of the 
family. 

Michel de Normandie was born in Ge- 
neva in 1619. He was highly educated 
and on arriving at legal age followed the 
example set by his ancestors and devoted 
himself to public affairs, becoming one of 
the most distinguished men among those 
whose names are found in the long list of 
Seigneurs de Geneve. He was in public 
official life for fifty-five years ; entering 
in early manhood on responsible and ex- 
acting employments, he gave all his time, 
attention and efforts to promoting the 
interests of the State, and ended that life 
full of knowledge, experience and honors. 
He entered the Council of Two Hundred 
in 1642, was auditor in 1649 ar >d 1650, 
syndic every fourth year, 1667 to 1695, 
inclusive ; member of the Council of 
Twenty-five continuously from 1658 until 
his death in 1697. ^ n addition he em- 
ployed himself in the examination of the 
public registers and in improving the 
methods of carrying on the business of 
the several departments of the govern- 
ment. 

Michel de Normandie married (first) 
April 19, 1646, the demoiselle. Anne Gre- 
nus, daughter of the noble Francois Gre- 
nus, Count of the Holy Roman Empire 
by creation of the Emperor Ferdinand 
III. His eldest son, Jacob de Normandie, 
was one of the leading historical figures 
of his day. His second son, Andre, for 
reasons of state became an exile to 
America and is the American ancestor 
of Arthur Sandys through his grand- 



68 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter, Marie de Normandie, wife of 
Peter Bard, whose descendant, Susan 
Bard, married Ferdinand Sands in 1830. 

Andre de Normandie, second son of 
Michel and Anne (Grenus) de Norman- 
die, was born in Geneva in 1651, died in 
1724, sixteen years after his arrival in 
America, and was buried in the church- 
yard of St. James' Church at Bristol, 
Pennsylvania, where his tombstone is yet 
to be seen. He passed his childhood and 
youth under the eye of his cultivated and 
honored father, and in his twenty-second 
year followed his elder brother, Jacob, 
into the Council of Two Hundred, enter- 
ing upon that career to which he, like 
nearly all the male members of his family, 
seemed to have almost a prescriptive 
right. 

On the death of William III., of Eng- 
land, he left by will to his relative, Fred- 
erick I., King of Prussia, among other 
principalities and domains, the duchy of 
Neufchatel. The Prince of Conti, backed 
by the powerful influence of the King of 
France laid claim to the duchy on the 
death of William III. as did Carnigan, 
Sovereign Duke of Savoy, and several 
other powerful families of France and 
Germany. Frederick of Prussia deter- 
mined to defend his claim, and wishing 
to gain over the population of the duchy, 
consisting largely of Huguenots, to this 
end sent Andre de Normandie to Neuf- 
chatel as his confidential agent to Wil- 
liam III. Andre de Normandie continued 
in the diplomatic service of King Fred- 
erick, of Prussia, until at least August, 

1706. His brother, Jacob, also was in the 
diplomatic service of Frederick, a fact 
which angered the Genevese, and after a 
series of exciting events Jacob de Nor- 
mandie was banished from Geneva in 

1707. While there is no mention of An- 
dre de Normandie in the story of 1707 he 
must be associated with his brother in 
the events of that year just as his emigra- 



69 



tion to America must be attributed to his 
inclusion with Jacob in the resentments 
of the Genevese government. His long 
service as confidential agent to the King 
of Prussia in Neufchatel demanded that 
he possess influence, address, tact and 
ability and that he possessed these three 
qualities and stood high in the opinion of 
the King is well proven by an autograph 
letter signed "Frederick" at Berlin, May 
8, 1705. 

After the banishment of his elder 
brother, Jacob, September 13, 1707, An- 
dre de Normandie went to Holland, 
where his younger brother Jacques was 
living. After some stay in Amsterdam, 
he went to England, family tradition, 
with some evidence to support it, stating 
that in London he met William Penn, or 
his son, who persuaded him to go to 
Pennsylvania in America. He arrived in 
Philadelphia in 1708, a widower mourn- 
ing for a wife, Louise Clerc, lately de- 
ceased in Neufchatel, but having with 
him three children : Marguerite, aged 
twenty-two years ; Jean Abram, a young 
man of nearly twenty ; and Jean Antoine, 
a lad of fourteen. 

He evidently was possessed of ample 
means, as he obtained from the Penn pro- 
prietors a tract of land near Bristol on 
the Delaware river in Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, bought land within the 
borough, established his sons, settled his 
daughter in marriage, subscribed to estab- 
lishing the church and parish of St. 
James, and lived in the best society then 
surrounding him. Like most other edu- 
cated Calvinists of French birth who 
came to America before the Revolution 
he became a communicant of the Church 
of England, and so brought his family 
within its fold. He lived for sixteen 
years after his arrival in America and 
died in 1724, aged seventy-three. 

Andre de Normandie married Louise 
Clerc, daughter of M. Paul and Elizabeth 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Feuillet) Clerc, of Geneva, who bore 
him five children, two dying in infancy. 

Abram de Normandie, eldest son of 
Andre and Louise (Clerc) de Normandie, 
was born in Geneva, in 1688, and was 
baptized Jean Abram but discarded the 
"Jean" in America and was known as 
Abram de Normandie. He was educated 
in Neufchatel during the years his father 
was Resident Counsellor to the King of 
Prussia, and arrived in Philadelphia with 
his father and family early in 1708. He 
had served as one of the younger secre- 
taries of his father in Neufchatel and was 
no doubt educated for a career in public 
life at Geneva in keeping with the tra- 
ditions of his father. He was engaged as 
notary at Bristol, drew up official papers 
and became interested in public affairs. 
In 1719 he was elected sheriff of Bucks 
county, was justice of the peace for many 
years, in 1728 he became chief burgess of 
Bristol, an office he held until 1744, in 
1756 was elected a member of the Provin- 
cial Assembly from Bucks county and 
was yet a member at the time of his death 
in 1757, at the age of sixty-nine. 

Abram de Normandie married in "ye 
Philadelphian church," July 29, 1715, Hen- 
riette Elizabeth Gaudonette, the daughter 
of Dr. Francois Gaudonette, a practicing 
physician established in Bristol, Pennsyl- 
vania. Dr. Gaudonette was of a family 
which, on the Revocation of the Edict of 
Nantes, fled into England, where Fran- 
cois continued already well advanced 
medical studies and obtained his degree 
of M. I). He married, in 1688, a French 
lady, Marie Proue, and removed to South- 
ampton, England, and in the summer of 
1705 came to America, settling in Bristol, 
Pennsylvania. Both Abram de Norman- 
die and his wife are buried in the church- 
yard of St. James at Bristol, where their 
tombstones are to be seen. They were 
the parents of ten children : Francois, 
born in 1716, died in infancy it is believed, 



as there is no further record of him to be 
found; Marie, born in Bristol in 1718, 
married, September 28, 1738, in Christ 
Church, Philadelphia, Peter Bard, son of 
the Hon. Colonel Peter Bard of Her 
Majesty's Regiment of Foot, member of 
Council, later associate judge on the Su- 
preme Court bench, living at Burlington, 
New Jersey, constituted in 1703 the seat 
of government for the western division of 
New Jersey. From this marriage of 
Marie de Normandie and Peter Bard 
came Mary Bard, who married her cous- 
in, Dr. Samuel Bard, LL. D., whose 
granddaughter, Susan Bard, in 1830 mar- 
ried Ferdinand Sands, and was the mother 
of Arthur Sandys, the author of the "An- 
nals of the de Normandie Family" from 
which the foregoing genealogical history 
has been compiled. 

After their marriage Peter and Marie 
Bard settled at Mount Holly, New Jersey, 
where Peter and his father-in-law, Abram 
de Normandie, bought an iron mine. He 
expended a large amount of money on the 
property when an order came from the Privy 
Council of England, directing the govern- 
or of New Jersey to close the mine. This 
ruined Peter Bard and left him heavily in 
debt. After a struggle to retrieve his for- 
tunes, which lasted a number of years, the 
government who well knew the cause of 
his ruin gave him a commission as commis- 
sary-general of the forces about to attack 
the French in Canada. He took the oath 
in 1756 and was ordered to Fort Augusta 
where a strong force was posted to defend 
the colonies against Indian attack. After 
his military service he returned to Mount 
Holly, where he died leaving two daugh- 
ters. His widow, Marie, returned to Burl- 
ington where later she married John Hun- 
loke, a gentleman of a good and influential 
Burlington family. This marriage was 
neither fruitful nor of long duration, and 
at her death her two daughters by her first 
husband, Peter Bard, went to live with 



70 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



their uncle, Dr. John Bard, at Hyde Park 
on the Hudson, Mary, the elder, becom- 
ing the wife of Dr. Samuel Bard, LL. D. 

William de Normandie, the third child, 
born 1720, became an early merchant of 
Charleston, South Carolina. He married 
in Christ Church, Philadelphia, July 25, 
1745, Hannah Anderson. John Abram de 
Normandie, born 1721, became a physi- 
cian and practiced in Bristol. He mar- 
ried, July 3, 1745, Rebecca Bard, daughter 
of Colonel Peter Bard and sister of Peter 
Bard who married Marie de Normandie, 
sister of John Abram. Dr. de Normandie 
in 1779 went to Geneva and instituted 
proceedings at law and in arbitration 
against the de Normandie estate. He re- 
turned in 1790 and died in 1803. Louise 
de Normandie, born 1723, married Mr. 
Van Court, of New York City. An- 
drew de Normandie, born 1725, died 
1726. Anthony de Normandie, the only 
descendant of Andre de Normandie, the 
emigrant, who has transmitted the name 
of his family in the United States, was 
born in Bristol in 1726. Harriet Eliza- 
beth de Normandie, born in 1729, married 
Mr. Walton, of New York City. Daniel 
de Normandie. born 1731, served as en- 
sign with the English army against the 
French, and in 1756 was in the Pennsyl- 
vania Hospital at Philadelphia, suffering 
from a wound. He died in July, 1760. 
Sarah de Normandie, tenth and youngest 
child of Abram de Normandie, was born 
in 1733, married a young chaplain of the 
Revolution, Rev. Barton, and in 1791 was 
left a childless widow, dying in 1826 at 
the age of ninety-three years at the home 
of her nephew, Dr. Samuel Bard, at Hyde 
Park. New York. 

There is much of historic interest in the 
de Normandie family record necessarily 
omitted, but enough is given to prove the 
worth of their services to state and church 
and the high attainments of each genera- 
tion. With the children of Abram de Nor- 
mandie the record closes. 



RISK, William Henry, 

Physician, Leader in Community Affairs. 

From 1874 until 191 3 the borough of 
Summit, New Jersey, was the seat of prac- 
tice of a Dr. Risk, brothers and contem- 
poraries from 1892 when Dr. James Boyd 
Risk joined his brother, Dr. William H. 
Risk, in Summit, until 1905, when the 
latter was called to his reward. To the 
memory of Dr. William H. Risk this 
tribute of respect is dedicated. For thirty- 
one years he was the good family physi- 
cian to countless households and between 
him and these households there existed 
that bond of affection which exists only 
between the family doctor and his pa- 
tients. He was with them in birth and in 
death, in joy and in sorrow, in weakness 
and in strength, he was the guest of honor 
at the wedding and a sincere mourner at 
the bier. His professional service, his 
business sagacity, his strong personality, 
high sense of honor and true manliness, 
left a deep impress upon Summit and its 
people, perhaps greater than any other of 
those who had gone before him. 

One of his most marked characteristics 
was a detestation of hypocrisy, falsehood, 
chicanery or meanness. He was out- 
spoken in his opinions and was often op- 
posed, but whether criticised or praised, 
he was always respected and was always 
worthy of respect. Underneath an ex- 
terior sometimes reserved and a brusque- 
ness of manner, sometimes assumed to 
conceal the depth of his emotions, he 
carried the kindest of hearts, the tenderest 
of sympathies. Adding to this his manli- 
ness, sincerity and those attributes form- 
ing character, he drew the hearts of men 
to him and the better they knew him the 
deeper their affection for him. 

He had an abiding faith in Summit and 
his interest was manifested constantly. 
In his early life there he was always plan- 
ning some improvement, finding time 
from a constantly increasing practice to 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



devote much time to public affairs, and 
no single individual since Summit was in- 
corporated ever accomplished so much to- 
ward making it so desirable a suburban 
community. He was one of the few men 
who realized the importance of a pure 
and ample water supply and possessed 
the courage to advocate such a system for 
Summit. He advanced a part of the 
money to insure the beginning of the 
work, withdrawing when a supply was 
assured and his support not essential. In 
like manner he courageously advocated a 
sewerage system at a time when prac- 
tically the entire community was opposed 
to it. The results of both the water and 
sewerage systems were alike tributes to 
his good judgment and fearless public 
spirit in supporting those movements he 
believed beneficial. He possessed strong 
qualities of leadership, believed in himself 
and inspired others with his own courage 
and enthusiasm, and thus became a won- 
derful power for good in his community. 
Dr. William Henry Risk, son of James 
and Catherine (Stauffer) Risk, was born 
at Muncy, Lycoming county, Pennsylva- 
nia, February 15, 1842, died at his home 
in Summit, Union county, New Jersey, 
February 7, 1905. William H. Risk ob- 
tained his early and preparatory educa- 
tion in boarding schools, later entering 
Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, 
there completing his classical studies. 
Deciding upon the profession of a healer, 
he matriculated at the Medical School of 
the University of Pennsylvania, whence 
he was graduated M. D., class of 1866. 
He had served a brief term of enlistment 
during the Civil War, and after receiving 
his degree was for several months recruit- 
ing surgeon for the United States navy at 
Philadelphia. The sameyears until i874were 
spent in practice in Philadelphia, valuable 
experience being gained in hospital work 
as well as in his private practice. In 1874 
he located at Summit, New Jersey, and 



thenceforth his life history is that of Sum- 
mit, until after thirty-one years of valu- 
able association Dr. Risk beheld the 
"King in His Beauty." 

It was inevitable that a man of his char- 
acteristics should become a power for 
good in the community. Summit was 
then little more than a village, but with 
possibilities which inspired the public 
spirit of Dr. Risk. He at once sprang into 
prominence and as the village grew he 
saw that there must be a strong hand to 
guide if Summit was to take and retain its 
position as a popular suburban town. He 
did not aspire to prominence outside of 
his profession, but certain things had to 
be done, and a leader being necessary he 
naturally fell into the position and once 
he had demonstrated an ability to lead 
the public unanimously accorded him the 
privilege and there was no improvement 
inaugurated during his active years in 
Summit in which his influence was not 
felt and his leadership seen. 

Although so deeply interested in Sum- 
mit's development, Dr. Risk was essen- 
tially the physician and in no direction 
was his influence stronger than in those 
matters which concerned the public 
health. That influence was seen in pro- 
curing a pure and abundant water supply, 
in the installation of a system of sewerage 
and in the operation of the Board of 
Health. Membership on that board was 
the only public office he would ever ac- 
cept, but as president of the board he 
used the full power of the office to safe- 
guard the public health. Although he 
was ardent in his Republicanism, he was 
strictly independent in local affairs, and 
the public official, whether of like or op- 
posite public faith, who was faithfully 
endeavoring to discharge his duties could 
always count upon the staunch friendship 
and support of Dr. Risk, just as the official 
recreant to his trust could be certain of 
his vigorous and energetic opposition. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was one of the first to aid in the 
establishment of the Fresh Air and Con- 
valescent Home in Summit and served as 
attending physician to that excellent in- 
stitution from the time of its inaugura- 
tion. He was a prominent member of the 
New Jersey Medical Society, the Morris 
County Medical Society, and took a very 
deep interest in the Orange Inter-Medical 
Society. His philanthropy extended to 
all, and to the poor he was a constant and 
generous friend. He was one of the or- 
ganizers of the Kent Place School for 
Girls and to that institution gave un- 
wearied effort, also displaying a deep in- 
terest in the public schools and their 
supervision. 

He did more for the upbuilding of Sum- 
mit than is shown in the preceding ac- 
tivities, as the sections lying along Hobart 
and Summit avenues testify. Both locali- 
ties were simply large tracts of woodland 
when their beauty and desirability as 
home sites attracted his attention. He 
purchased the tracts and with his genius 
for improvement he developed them with 
an energy and good judgment which in a 
few years converted both into the choicest 
of residential sections. He was a lover 
of horses, always owned good ones and 
was particularly fond of horseback riding. 
He was a director of the Summit Trust 
Company, was one of the organizers of 
the Monday Night Club, and of the High- 
land Club, was an attendant of Central 
Presbyterian Church, and a member of 
the Masonic order, in fact there was little 
of a social or charitable nature in the 
borough in which he was not interested 
or that failed to enlist his cooperation. 

Dr. Risk married, December 20, 1871, 
Sophia, daughter of George Drake Wood- 
ruff, of East Orange, New Jersey. She 
died April 29, 1901, aged fifty-five years, 
leaving an only child, Margaret Hender- 
son Risk, married Benjamin Vroom 
White, an architect of note, and has three 



children: Benjamin Vroom (2), Margaret 
Risk and James Boyd Risk White. 

The following resolutions were adopted 
by the Summit Board of Health in honor 
of the memory of Dr. William H. Risk: 

This board recognizes that in his death, it has 
lost a kindly and courteous fellow member, and 
a vigorous and efficient head. The city of Sum- 
mit has met with an irreparable loss, deprived as 
it is of an official who was always at his post, 
who had a solicitous regard for the best interests 
of the city, and who was equipped by nature and 
education with such knowledge, skill and experi- 
ence, disposition and temperament, as made him 
an ideal head of the city's health department. 
Ever on the alert, quick to diagnose the trouble, 
and prompt and sure with the remedy, our late 
president guarded well the public health of the 
city entrusted to his case. Therefore be it re- 
solved, the members of the Board of Health in 
common with the people of Summit mourn the 
loss of a beloved, upright fellow citizen, whose 
interest in the City's welfare was always preemi- 
nent; that they especially mourn the loss of one 
who as President of this Board, endeared him- 
self to every member thereof, and that individu- 
ally they mourn the loss of one who was tc each 
a dear, personal friend. Dr. Risk's long resi- 
dent in Summit, his rugged, unflinching courage, 
and his high professional gifts, especially adapted 
him to the office of our President, which office 
without reward he filled for many years. The 
Board desires to put on record its appreciation 
of him as a man, a citizen and a friend. With 
grief we bow to the inevitable will of God and 
tender deepest sympathy to the bereaved family. 



RISK, James Boyd, 

Physician, Public Official. 

For twenty years Dr. J. Boyd Risk was 
a resident of Summit, New Jersey, one of 
the leading practicing physicians of that 
borough, a prominent man of affairs and 
a borough official honored by all who 
knew him. To estimate the value of Dr. 
Risk's life is impossible, as it is of the life 
of any doctor devoted to his profession as 
he was. It is a peculiar relation the phy- 
sician of long standing maintains to his 
community, the healing of their diseases 



73 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



being but one of the services required of 
him. So Dr. Risk was not alone the 
healer to his people, but to him came the 
young for advice on the questions they 
deemed of so much importance. To such 
he freely gave of friendly as well as pro- 
fessional advice, and those boys and girls 
who confided in him became his warm 
friends and enthusiastic supporters. To 
the old whose sands of life were running 
low, he was the source of hope and en- 
couragement ; to the young man he was 
the business adviser or the helper in de- 
termining a career, business or profes- 
sional ; to the voters he was the man of 
experience who would aid them in decid- 
ing upon the momentous questions of 
borough administration, while to every- 
body he was the genial friend in whose 
fidelity they might with safety confide. 
Such a life lived conscientiously and de- 
votedly cannot be valued, only the great 
Hereafter shall reveal its harvest. Dr. 
Risk was a son of James and Catherine 
(Stauffer) Risk, his father born in Lon- 
donderry, Ireland, but living in Pennsyl- 
vania from childhood, his mother of Ger- 
man descent, her family a prominent one 
in Pennsylvania. 

Dr. James Boyd Risk was born in 
Muncy, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, 
October 26. 1858, died at his home in 
Summit, Union county, New Jersey, May 
30, 1913. His early life was passed in 
Pennsylvania, where he acquired his pre- 
paratory education in the public schools. 
After the completion of such courses he 
matriculated at Lafayette College, Eas- 
ton, Pennsylvania, whence he was gradu- 
ated in the classical course with the de- 
gree of Master of Arts, class of 1877. He 
then spent two years at the Medical 
School, University of Pennsylvania, re- 
ceiving his degree of M. D. with the class 
of 1879. He supplemented his medical 
preparation by an extended course of 
lectures at a famous university in Vienna, 



Austria, and by foreign hospital experi- 
ence, then returned to the United States 
thoroughly equipped to engage in profes- 
sional work. He first located at Balti- 
more, Maryland, where he opened a drug 
store and there continued in the drug 
business for some time. 

This was not in accordance with his 
plans for life work and he, as soon as 
possible, effected an advantageous sale of 
his business and located in Morristown, 
New Jersey, where for several years he 
was in successful medical practice. He 
continued in Morristown for several years, 
and although his practice was a large and 
still increasing one he transferred his 
offices to Summit in 1892, chiefly to be in 
closer touch with his brother, who was 
a practicing physician of that thriving 
borough. Here Dr. Risk entered upon 
the final period of his career and one most 
important in its results to that commu- 
nity. He soon acquired a loyal clientele 
and until his death ranked with the fore- 
most physicians of Summit. His practice 
was general in its character and no man 
of his day was more devoted or more 
thoroughly able to meet its demands. He 
was exceedingly broadminded and liberal 
in his intercourse with other physicians, 
and no matter to him what their school 
he met and welcomed them as professional 
brethren. In fact that was his entire atti- 
tude toward life, consideration for the 
rights of others and a willingness to con- 
cede the utmost freedom of thought in all 
matters relating to the individual, allow- 
ing to others the right he demanded for 
himself. 

He was a member of the medical so- 
cieties of Morris and Essex counties, had 
a wide acquaintance among medical men 
and ever held their highest esteem. His 
personality was charming and so thor- 
oughly did he identify himself with his 
community, its ambitions, hopes and 
aims, that he was generally beloved. In 





yylZfiviy 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fact none knew him but to love him. He 
was one of the organizers of Kent Place 
School for Girls and served on the board 
of directors; he gave much of his time 
to the advancement of this project which 
became a decided success. He was also 
interested in the opening up of new sec- 
tions of the borough and helped to build 
up some of the choice parts of Summit. 

Dr. Risk was not a recluse nor did he 
consider that his profession shut him out 
of participation in the business and civic 
activities of his community. He was vice- 
president of the Summit Trust Company 
and a director of the First National Bank, 
nor was he a figurehead in either. He 
served the borough as councilman and for 
two years was mayor of Summit, accept- 
ing that office as a responsibility he dare 
not decline when convinced his accept- 
ance would result in benefit to the com- 
munity. He filled the office most credit- 
ably to himself and to the satisfaction of 
the people who would gladly have re- 
tained him in the office. He belonged to 
many of the social organizations of the 
borough, the Country Club, the Baltrus- 
rol Golf Club, the Highland Club ; was a 
member of the Masonic order and an 
attendant of the Presbyterian church. 
He could devote but little time to the 
enjoyment of these organizations, his life 
being so full of absolute duty, but he 
enjoyed such of their privileges as were 
possible and was always an honored and 
welcomed visitor, whenever he could 
command a brief period, "off duty." He 
was most charitable and no appeal was 
ever made to him in vain, particularly 
calls upon his professional skill. Thus 
was his life passed, "Spending and being 
Spent." His death came to the people of 
Summit as a distinct personal loss and 
few of the town were absent when the 
time came to pay the last token of respect 
to his memory. 

Dr. Risk's home was at the corner of 



Springfield and Morris avenues, Summit, 
and there his widow continues her resi- 
dence with her two daughters, Mary Hen- 
derson and Catherine (Boyd) Risk. Dr. 
and Mrs. Risk were married April 16, 
1902, she formerly Miss Mary Browning 
Butler. She is the daughter of Noble C. 
and Annie (Browning) Butler, natives of 
Indiana and Kentucky, her father a 
lawyer of Indianapolis, now clerk of the 
United States Courts of that city. 



JOHNSTON, Henry, 

Former Mayor of Washington. 

With the passing of Henry Johnston 
there closed the life history of a remark- 
able man. The keynote of his life was in- 
tegrity and to that he added an intensity 
of purpose, energy, enthusiasm, and deep 
conviction. Temperamentally of nervous 
disposition, he took decided position on 
all public questions which arose, and after 
espousing a cause he threw himself into 
its advocacy with all the remarkable 
energy he possessed. He never occupied 
middle ground, if a cause was just and 
right it should be supported, if it was 
wrong it should be condemned and wiped 
out. That was the principle upon which 
he conducted his administration of the 
mayor's office, and wrongdoers found 
their path a thorny one as long as he 
remained in office. So in his advocacy of 
the cause of prohibition. He belived the 
legalizing of the liquor traffic through 
license, high or low, was wrong, and he 
fought for constitutional prohibition with 
all his powers. He personally promoted 
practically all the local campaigns and his 
wonderful energy was put to its hardest 
test in his support of local, county, state 
and national prohibition, for he stopped 
at nothing less than the complete out- 
lawry of the liquor traffic. 

Probably Mr. Johnston was more wide- 
ly known throughout Warren and adjoin- 



75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing counties for his unceasing labor as an 
agent of the Society for the Prevention of 
Cruelty to Animals. He gave himself to 
the work of the Society at a personal 
sacrifice in money and time, but from the 
wonderful aggressiveness he displayed in 
seeking out and punishing violators of the 
law in Warren and adjoining counties it 
might have been supposed that it was a 
matter of personal gain instead of per- 
sonal sacrifice and loss. There was hardly 
a week but that he had a case pending 
somewhere and it was a matter of public 
knowledge that he punished violators of 
the law wherever he found them, friends 
and foes faring alike at his hands. 

He was a descendant of Judge Samuel 
Johnston, who came to New Jersey from 
Scotland, one of the strong men of his 
day. The line of descent from Judge 
Samuel Johnston was through his son, 
Samuel (2) Johnston, his son, Samuel (3) 
Johnston, his son, Joseph Johnston, his 
son, Philip Johnston, his son, Joseph 
Johnston, the well-known hardware 
dealer of Washington, New Jersey, his son, 
Henry Johnston, to whose memory this 
sketch is dedicated. 

Henry Johnston, son of Joseph and 
Lydia (Hope) Johnston, was born at As- 
bury, Warren county, New Jersey, March 
27, 1856, died at his home on East Wash- 
ington avenue, Washington, New Jersey. 
August 30, 1915. Almost his entire life 
had been passed in Washington where his 
father was a leading merchant and 
founder of the hardware business later 
conducted as Joseph Johnston's Sons. 
After completing his school years Henry 
Johnston entered the Johnston hardware 
store, later became a member of the firm 
of Joseph Johnston's Sons and for about 
fifteen years was engaged in the hard- 
ware business in Washington. He then 
severed his connection with the firm and 
became district agent for Northwestern 
Mutual Life Insurance Company, and for 



a time had an office in the St. Paul Build- 
ing in New York City. He became one of 
the company's most successful district 
agents, his territory covering parts of 
New Jersey, Pennsylvania and New 
York, and for a time necessitated the 
maintainence of an office in Easton, 
Pennsylvania. He continued the active, 
energetic, successful head of his district 
until a fall on an icy pavement in the 
winter of 1914 which resulted in so severe 
an injury that it forever ended his busi- 
ness activity. 

Mr. Johnston from youth was a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church, joining at 
the age of sixteen years and ever order- 
ing his life from that time forward accord- 
ing to the teachings of the Master he 
served. His activity in public affairs be- 
gan at almost as early an age, and con- 
tinued all his active years. In 1882 he 
was elected a member of Washington's 
Common Council, and in 1890 was chosen 
mayor, running on a no-license ticket. In 
1891 he was reelected and during both 
terms he strove with all his might for the 
moral betterment of the borough. Poli- 
tically he was an ardent Prohibitionist 
and the leader of his party in Warren 
county, also was potent in state and na- 
tional councils of the party. He was 
chairman of the Warren County Pro- 
hibition Committee, and in 1892 was the 
nominee of the party for Congress. 

He was vice-president of the Society 
for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, 
was a director of the society and its local 
agent. His work for dumb animals was 
one which will be long remembered and 
in his death they lost one of their best 
friends. So a useful life was passed, 
spending and being spent. The record of 
that life is a noble one, and as shown was 
filled with earnest effort to help his fel- 
low-man. In private life he was honor- 
able and upright, very generous and open- 
handed, ever ready to contribute to any 



76 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPH1 



good cause. He was a tower of strength 
to any cause he advocated, and while 
his intense nature carried him to extreme 
lengths in that advocacy, arousing strong 
opposition, even his opponents honored 
him for his open manner of fighting evil 
and respected his motives. Such a char- 
acter as his naturally made enemies, 
but also attracted the friendship of all 
lovers of the right and he numbered a 
host of warm friends and loyal sup- 
porters. He was a member of the Junior 
Order of American Mechanics, the Pa- 
triotic Order Sons of America, and of 
that order which admits both sexes, The 
Daughters of Liberty. 

Mr. Johnston married, December II, 
1878, Emma E. Dilts, who survives him, 
her home the residence on East Washing- 
ton avenue erected by Mr. Johnston in 
191 1. Mrs. Johnston is a daughter of 
Elijah N. and Margaret (Hoffman) Dilts, 
of old Morris and Warren county family. 
She had no children, but has an adopted 
son, Joseph D. Johnston, a practicing den- 
tist of Newark, New Jersey. 

(The Dilts Line). 

Emma E. Johnston, wife of Henry 
Johnston, is a descendant of Daniel Dilts, 
who came from Germany during the early 
part of the eighteenth century and settled 
in Hunterdon county, New Jersey, where 
he resided until his death. He married 
and left male issue including a son, Daniel 
(2) Dilts, born in Hunterdon county in 
1741, and there resided a great many 
years. This Daniel Dilts was very active 
in efforts to raise Hunterdon's quota of 
troops for the Revolutionary army, serv- 
ing as recruiting officer and in all possible 
ways aiding the cause of independence. 
He was also a civil officer of the town, 
serving as constable. In 1802 he moved 
to Washington township, Morris county. 
New Jersey, and there bought a farm of 
one hundred and seventeen acres upon 



which he lived until his death in 1827. 
He married Rebecca Marlatt, born in 
1750, who survived him, living to the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-three years. Daniel 
and Rebecca Dilts were among the earli- 
est members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church in their locality. At that early 
day regular places of worship were few 
and far between, the few settlers gather- 
ing for worship at the home of someone 
centrally located, and there listened to 
the words of the missionary preacher who 
found his way on horseback from place to 
place on his long circuit. The Dilts home 
was one of the houses where the itinerant 
preacher was always made welcome and 
hospitably entertained, that home also 
thrown open to all who would come to 
the preaching services which were held 
there. Daniel and Rebecca Dilts were 
the parents of: Peter, John, George, 
Joseph, Daniel, Sarah, Rachel, and Re- 
becca Dilts. 

Daniel (3) Dilts was born in Hunter- 
don county, New Jersey, January 22, 
1789, died July 17, 1867. He purchased 
the homestead in Morris county of his 
father in 1812, retaining ownership as 
long as he lived. He was a man of high 
character, prudent in the management of 
his affiairs, very benevolent and public- 
spirited, aiding in all the movements tend- 
ing to benefit his community. He led a 
very quiet, modest life, never seeking 
office or political preferment, but upright 
and honorable, and pursued the even ten- 
or of his way. He accumulated a compe- 
tence by industry and judicious manage- 
ment, leaving to his children not only the 
record of a well-spent life, but a fair por- 
tion of this world's goods. Like his hon- 
ored parents, he was a devout Christian 
and a strong pillar of the Methodist church. 
He married Elizabeth Neighbor, born in 
1795, died June 29, 1831, daughter of John 
Neighbor, of Morris county, New Jersey. 
Children : Nathan, who resided in Wash- 



77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ington, New Jersey; Anna, died unmar- 
ried ; Elijah N., of further mention ; Re- 
becca, married Peter S. Bergen, of Somer- 
set county, New Jersey ; Isaiah, who was a 
prominent lawyer of the Somerset county 
bar, residing at Somerville, New Jersey ; 
Abner, who lived on the old homestead at 
German Valley, Morris county, where his 
father also lived and died; George S., a 
practicing physician at Raritan, New Jer- 
sey, for several years, served four years 
in the Union army (1861-65) as surgeon 
with the rank of major, later located in 
Baltimore, Maryland, where he died. 

Elijah N. Dilts, son of Daniel (3) and 
Elizabeth (Neighbor) Dilts, was born at 
the homestead, German Valley, Morris 
county, New Jersey, February 10, 1818, 
died June 14, 1901. He was educated in 
the district school, and until he was 
twenty-eight years of age remained at the 
homestead. After his marriage he moved 
to Washington township, Warren county, 
New Jersey, and settled on a farm owned 
by his father. He began his residence 
there April 3, 1846, and in 1848 purchased 
the farm of his father, and there resided 
until his death. This farm of one hun- 
dred and forty acres lay so near the town 
of Washington that it later became a part 
of the borough of Washington when it 
was so incorporated. Mr. Dilts also be- 
came the owner of the homestead farm 
in Morris county settled by his grand- 
father, which he purchased from the heirs 
of his father's estate. He was a man of 
strong convictions with force of character 
and resolution to carry to completion 
whatever he undertook and believed to be 
right. He devoted his life almost exclu- 
sively to agriculture, never accepting poli- 
tical office although often importuned. 
Like his honored father he was a Whig 
in politics, but after the formation of the 
Republican party he ever acted with that 
organization. Both he and his wife were 
devoted Methodists joining that church in 



185 1, and contributing liberally of their 
substance and time. 

Mr. Dilts married, December 11, 1845, 
Margaret Hoffman, born April 13, 1819, 
and died November 20, 1877, daughter of 
Henry I. Hoffman, of Morris county, New 
Jersey. Children : Henry C. ; Annie, died 
at the age of twelve years; Eli, died in 
infancy ; George W., residing in Wash- 
ington, New Jersey ; Emma E., widow of 
Henry Johnston, of Washington, New 
Jersey ; Ella ; William G. ; Ulysses G. 



CONGAR, Bruen Hayes, 

Representative Citizen. 

Many years ago Mr. Congar trod the 
streets of Newark, a quiet man whose life 
was spent in the management of his own 
private estate and within the sacred pre- 
cincts of his home. He came of the oldest 
and most prominent Newark families, 
each of his names, Bruen, Hayes, and 
Congar, being family names well-known 
and highly honored. Few will now recall 
him except those of his own family who 
remain, or perhaps an old member of the 
First Presbyterian Church, who will re- 
member his regular attendance and deep 
interest in that church and its work. His 
father, Samuel Congar, was a lieutenant 
in the Revolutionary War, serving in a 
Newark company of New Jersey troops. 
His mother, Hannah (Hayes) Congar, 
was of a leading Newark family, daugh- 
ter of Major Samuel Hayes, who was ac- 
tive and vigilant during the trying times 
of the Revolutionary War. 

Bruen Hayes Congar was born at the 
Broad street residence of his parents in 
Newark, New Jersey. December 10. 1796, 
died in his native city, March 2, 1868, in 
the seventy-second year of his age. He 
attended school in the old White school 
house which stood for many years at the 
junction of Broad (now Clinton avenue) 
and Washington streets in the lower part 




Wrrss&n . 7frza*& ^/v/ 



6 /////f 



/• 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the town. He was all his life a student 
and a reader, gaining from literature and 
observation a wide store of useful knowl- 
edge. In youth he learned the silver 
plater's trade which he followed for some 
years, engaging later in other pursuits, 
but was obliged by ill health to retire 
from active business for several years. 
He was a man of quiet, retiring tastes 
and disposition, sought not political pre- 
ferment, although he held several local 
offices. He was an ardent Whig and a 
warm admirer of Henry Clay, who was 
his favorite public character. After the 
formation of the Republican party he 
gave that organziation his support, was 
a strong union man and aided the cause 
all he could during the Civil War. In 
his younger years he was deeply inter- 
ested in the militia organiations of New- 
ark and the State, enlisted as a private, 
was promoted to the rank of lieutenant 
and later was elected captain. He be- 
came a member of the First Presbyterian 
Church early in life, and was very careful 
in his observance of his church duties. 
He was an earnest Christian and lived his 
religion every day. He was a good man 
and left behind him an untarnished name. 
Mr. Congar married, March 24, 1822, 
Eliza Tichenor, born February 6, 1799, 
died November 18, 1882, daughter of 
James and Abigail (Hedden) Tichenor, 
both of old and highly respected Newark 
families. She bore him two daughters : 
Phoebe Ann Pierson, died in 1836, aged 
seven years, and Anna Elizabeth, who is 
the last survivor of her family, and to the 
memory of her honored father and gentle 
mother brings this tribute of love and re- 
spect from across the years that have 
separated them. 



MUIR, Edward Alexander, 

Merchant, Moral TTplifter. 

In the death of Edward Alexander 
Muir, which occurred November 1, 1912, 



Newton and New Jersey lost a most ex- 
emplary citizen, one of the greatest pro- 
moters of moral ethics and of strong busi- 
ness policies in the State. Mr. Muir was 
born May 3, 1849, m Parsonstown, Kings 
county, Ireland, a son of Alexander and 
Mary Faith (Stothard) Muir, the former 
of Scotch and the latter of English line- 
age. Alexander Muir was a merchant in 
Parsonstown, an exemplary citizen, and 
reared his son to move in the way he 
should go. 

Edward A. Muir was educated in a pri- 
vate school in his native land, and was a 
studious youth, active in both sport and 
study, and ambitious to advance himself 
in life. Before the completion of his 
twentieth year he started for America, 
passing his birthday anniversary on the 
ocean enroute. He at once entered busi- 
ness life in New York City and became 
one of the responsible heads in the estab- 
lishment of Alexander Lyle, a dry goods 
dealer of New York City, where he con- 
tinued several years. He was later with 
Arnold, Constable & Company, continu- 
ing some ten years in this association. 
He had had some experience in mercan- 
tile life in his uncle's establishment, in 
youth, then in Dublin in a like capacity, 
and made most excellent use of his oppor- 
tunities in this country, so that his pro- 
motion was rapid and steady. In 1888 
he went to Morristown, New Jersey, 
where he opened and took charge of a 
store for his brother-in-law, Charles Dur- 
gan, and conducted it successfully for 
two years. Following this he established 
himself in business at Newton, New Jer- 
sey, where he opened a department store, 
which was a success from the beginning, 
and is still in operation, under the control 
of his widow. It is the largest establish- 
ment of the kind in the section, and is 
modern in equipment and method, being 
easily the leading mercantile establish- 
ment of the county. While Mr. Muir was 
an active and busy merchant, he always 



79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



had time for the promotion of any under- 
taking calculated to enhance the pros- 
perity and moral condition of the commu- 
nity in which he lived. He was a remark- 
ably fine mathematician, a good calcula- 
tor, and his success in business was due 
to his own intelligence and industrious 
effort. He arrived in America without 
capital, but diligence and close applica- 
tion and a keen sense of adaptability 
made him a master in his chosen field. 
Mr. Muir was a man of modest and retir- 
ing nature, deeply religious, and devoted 
to his church and its auxiliary forces. 
While in no sense a politician, he was a 
firm advocate and supporter of his princi- 
ples in either religion or public life, 
unselfish, generous and philanthropic. 
Strictly honest himself, no deviation from 
upright standards was permitted in the 
conduct of his business. For many years 
he was a member of the Baptist church of 
Newton, a most devoted Christian, and 
filled the office of deacon at the time of 
his death. He was long superintendent of 
the Sunday school, and active in every- 
thing undertaken to promote the cause of 
Christianity. The only other associations 
with which he affiliated were the Royal 
Arcanum and the Newton Board of 
Trade. His example will long live as an 
inspiration to others. 

Mr. Muir was married, August 18, 1885, 
in East Orange, New Jersey, to A. Louise 
Condit, daughter of Cyrus Parkhurst and 
Sarah Jane (Champlin) Condit. They 
were the parents of three sons: Alex- 
ander Wyckliff, Harold Edward, and 
Cyrus Henry. These sons have been well 
reared and will ever honor the memory of 
their noble father. 



HINCHLIFFE, William Fitzgerald, 

Public-Spirited Citizen. 

In the death of William Fitzgerald 
Hinchliffe, which occurred in Paterson, 



New Jersey, March 21, 1913, the city of 
Paterson lost a representative citizen, a 
man of strong mentality who won suc- 
cess in his business undertaking by his 
ability, fidelity and perseverance, who in 
social life was courteous and kindly, ever 
mindful of his duties as a citizen. 

Mr. Hinchliffe was born in Paterson, 
New Jersey, January 4, 1854, son of John 
and Julia Hinchliffe, of Paterson, the for- 
mer named a native of Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, and the latter named a native of 
Ireland. He obtained an excellent edu- 
cation by attendance at the schools of his 
native city, after which he became a stu- 
dent in the Quimby Institute in Paterson, 
New Jersey, and was later schooled by 
practical experience at the John F. Betz 
Brewery in Philadelphia, where he mas- 
tered all the branches of the business and 
became a thoroughly practical and expert 
brewer. He then became associated with 
his father in the brewery conducted by 
him in Paterson, holding the position of 
brewer for thirty-five years, taking special 
part in the brewing of ales and porter, 
and thus materially assisting in bringing 
the product of the brewery up to the very 
highest standard. When the business 
was incorporated, William Fitzgerald and 
his brothers, John and James, were made 
officers in the firm, the father being presi- 
dent and William Fitzgerald vice-presi- 
dent, the latter continuing active in the 
management of the business up to the 
time of his decease. The elements which 
go to make up an upright manhood were 
his. Energetic and trustworthy in busi- 
ness, genial and kindly in his intercourse 
with his fellowmen, a champion of all that 
tended to promote the material, social and 
moral welfare of the community, his life 
record is well worthy of emulation and it 
won for him the good will and regard of 
all with whom he was brought in con- 
tact, whether in business or social inter- 
course. He was a man of sterling worth, 



80 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



quiet and unassuming, staunch and true 
in his friendship, and devoted to his 
family, whose needs and comforts were 
his first consideration. He was regular in 
his attendance at the services of St. 
George's Roman Catholic Church, held 
membership in the Young Men's Literary 
Club and in an association devoted to 
athletics, he being particularly interested 
in bowling and like sports. He was a 
member of the Knights of Columbus, and 
the Congress Club of Paterson. 

Mr. Hinchliffe married (first) Joseph- 
ine Van Noort, a sister of Frank J. Van 
Noort, sheriff of Passaic county, New 
Jersey, and they were the parents of 
six children : Josephine, who became the 
wife of Dr. Charles O'Conners, of Brook- 
lyn, New York; Mary, who became the 
wife of Paul Belden, of Canton, Ohio ; 
Catherine, who became the wife of Joseph 
Gschwend, of Columbus, Ohio ; Joseph ; 
Leo; Claudine. Mr. Hinchliffe married 
(second) Loretta Gorman, of Bingham- 
ton, New York, and they were the parents 
of seven children : Edward, William Fitz- 
gerald, Jr., Richard, John, Arthur, Gerald, 
Elizabeth, a posthumous child. 

Mr. Hinchliffe was public-spirited in an 
eminent degree, at all times giving his 
support to whatever was calculated to 
promote the general welfare, and in all 
the relations of life, whether as a business 
man or private citizen, he was always 
found faithful and true, and in his life 
work no shadow or suspicion of evil doing 
darkened his honored pathway. 



CRAWFORD, William Henry, 

Exemplary Citizen. 

Sixty-five years was the span of life 
allotted to William H. Crawford, years 
passed in honor amid most pleasant sur- 
roundings, his home the famous Bowne 
manor house at Crawford's Corner, in 

N J-3-6 8 



Holmdel township, Monmouth county, 
New Jersey, the eastern part of which 
was built by Captain John Bowne, some 
time prior to 1684, the western part by 
his son, Obadiah Bowne, in 1701. His 
life was passed in the management of his 
large estate and in promoting the general 
welfare of his community. He was a man 
of quiet tastes and high character, held 
in highest esteem. 

He was a descendant of John Crawford, 
of Ayrshire, Scotland, who came to Amer- 
ica in 1672; William Bowne, of Salem, 
Massachusetts, in 1637; and of William 
Scott, who, with his wife, Abigail Tilton 
Warner, moved from Long Island to 
Monmouth county in 1682 or 1683. 

The surname Crawford was originally 
derived from the barony of Crawford, in 
Lanarkshire, Scotland, long held by feu- 
dal lords who eventually took their title 
from it. The first person of record to 
bear the name was Johannes de Craw- 
ford, who is of frequent mention in the 
registry of Kelso about 1140, from whom 
has been traced a long line of descendants 
in England, Ireland and Scotland. In 
1296, during the reign of Alexander II., 
Sir Reginald de Craufurd was appointed 
heritable sheriff of Ayrshire, and the 
name was closely associated with Scot- 
tish history down to Alexander, son of 
Sir Malcolm and Margaret (Cunning- 
ham.) Crawford, who was a sea captain 
and owner of the ship he commanded. 
About the year 1612 he settled in Ireland, 
where descendants became numerous. 

Crawford Arms — Argent, a fess ermine. 
In chief two spears saltire, sable. Crest 
— A stag's head surmounted by a triple 
cross. Motto — Tutem te robore reddem. 

(I) John Crawford, the first of the fam- 
ily in this country, came from Ayrshire, 
Scotland, about 1672, first making settle- 
ment in Massachusetts, then lived on 
Long Island, finally settling in Middle- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



town, Monmouth county, New Jersey, as 
early as 1678. He is first of record in 
New Jersey in a deed from Richard Gib- 
bons and wife, dated December 11, 1678, 
conveying to him a house and lot in Mid- 
dletown, assigned to the grantor in the 
first division of the land in 1667, under 
the Nichols Patent. The original deed 
was in the possession of descendants of 
John Crawford for 227 years, then (in 
1895) was presented to the Monmouth 
County Historical Society (Monmouth 
County Deeds A, see fac-simile in "His- 
torical and Biographical Atlas of New Jer- 
sey Coast," page 69). Between 1691 and 
1694 a number of men from Monmouth 
county and Long Island founded a town 
called Portsmouth, on Delaware Bay, in 
the lower township of Cape May county, 
about three miles north of Cape May 
Point, and the earliest deed for land at 
Portsmouth was made April 1, 1699, to 
John Crawford, for 300 acres. 1678, De- 
cember 11 : He bought a house and lot in 
Middletown, New Jersey, from Richard 
Gibbons and wife. 1678: He was licensed 
to keep an ordinary or public victualling 
house at Middletown. 1679, March 15: 
John Crawford made a mortgage to Rob- 
ert Hamilton. 1680, November 25 : He 
had 306 acres of a proprietary grant sur- 
veyed for him at Middletown. 1682, April 
10: Richard Hartshorne, attorney for 
Thomas Snowsell, sold forty acres in 
Middletown to John Crawford. 1682, July 
11: John Crawford bought land on the 
south side of the highway in Middletown, 
as it runs east and west from Samuel 
Moor, of Woodbridge, attorney for Mr. 
Anthony Checkely, of Boston, who re- 
ceived the same by process of law by a 
marshal's bill of sale of lands of Thomas 
Snowsell, July 10, 1682. 1684-5 : John C. 
sold to Richard Hartshorne one hundred 
acres of land on the south side of said 
town (Middletown) adjoining the home 



lots of Richard Stout, Richard Gibbons 
and John Smith. 1685, September 19: He 
sold 130 acres in Middletown to Jeremiah 
Bennet. March 25, 1687, he had a tract of 
280 acres at Waykake, conveyed to him 
by patent from the proprietors of East 
Jersey. 1687, December 3: John Craw- 
ford, Gentleman, of Middletown, received 
a grant of land from the proprietors, 
bounded by Richard Gibbons and John 
Wilson, containing 200 acres, lying in 
Nutswamp, occupied by his descendants 
till recently. 1691, August 3 : John Craw- 
ford, of Middletown, conveyed 280 acres 
to his son, John Crawford, Jr., of the same 
place, lying at Waykake, Monmouth 
county. New Jersey. 1692, April 30: John 
Crawford, of Middletown, and his wife 
Elizabeth, sold a sixteen acre house lot in 
Middletown to Major Anthony Brock- 
hole, of New York City. 1693, August 
18: John Crawford, of Middletown, sold 
to Richard Hartshorne the sixteen acre 
homelot bought of Richard Gibbons in 
1678. 1694: John Crawford died, and 
was buried upon his farm in Nutswamp, 
Middletown. His wife Elizabeth died 
about the same time. They had at least 
two sons, George and John. 

(II) John (2) Crawford, son of John (1) 
and Elizabeth Crawford, remained in 
Monmouth county, where his father con- 
veyed land to him by deed dated August 
3, 1691, but not signed and delivered until 
March 9, 1693 (Trenton Deeds F, 739; 
Monmouth Deeds A, 36). His father also 
gave him the Nutswamp tract which has 
been the Crawford homestead for many 
generations. He was a grand juror of 
Monmouth county in 1693. Not later than 
1698 he married Abigail, surname un- 
known, who bore him at least one son, 
George Crawford. 1698: John Crawford, 
Jr., and wife Abigail, of Middletown, sold 
to Elisha Lawrence, of the same place, 
280 acres, which he received from his 



82 




Qsnn/sfl, GT-c 




V ' / 7 ' 7 ' ' / 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



father, August 3, 1691. 1704, November 
25: Administration was granted on the 
estate of John Crawford, Jr., of Middle- 
town. 

(Ill) George Crawford, who so far as 
known was the only son of John (2) and 
Abigail Crawford, lived on the old Craw- 
ford homestead at Nutswamp, in Middle- 
town township, first conveyed to his grand- 
father, John Crawford, in 1687, where he 
died in 1745. His will, dated March 15, 
1745, was proved at Perth Amboy, May 
10, 1745, and is recorded at Trenton (D. 
279). February 28, 1723, George Craw- 
ford, of Middletown, conveyed to Nicho- 
las Stillwell, of same place, weaver, land 
in Middletown, which he had received 
through his grandfather, John Crawford, 
who took title to it in 1687. George 
Crawford married, about 1726, Esther 
Scott, of Shrewsbury, born May 13, 1701, 
daughter of John Scott, whose will was 
made and proved 1736, recorded at Tren- 
ton, volume C. 

The Scott family of Shrewsbury, New 
Jersey, is descended from William Scott, 
the first of the family to settle in Shrews- 
bury, and his wife, Abigail Tilton War- 
ner. He was a member of the Society of 
Friends. John, son of William and Abi- 
gail T. (Warner) Scott, born January 9, 
1680, at Gravesend, Long Island, married 
Mary Bills, about the year 1700, and re- 
sided on the homestead inherited from 
his father, near Newman's Springs, in 
Shrewsbury township, Monmouth county. 
Mary was a daughter of Thomas Bills, 
and his second wife, Johanna Twining, 
who was a sister of his first wife, Anna 
Twining. Thomas Bills lived at Eastham 
and Yarmouth, Massachusetts, Burling- 
ton, New Jersey ; Woodbridge, in the 
same State, finally settling at Shrews- 
bury. John and Mary (Bills) Scott were 
the parents of eleven children, the eldest, 
Esther, born May 13, 1701, becoming the 
wife of George Crawford, and the mother 



of his seven children: George; Richard; 
William, mentioned below ; Job ; Joshua ; 
Lydia ; and Elizabeth, born in 1745, after 
her father's death. 

(IV) William Crawford, third son of 
George and Esther (Scott) Crawford, 
married (license dated December 27, 
1756) Catherine Bowne, daughter of Cap- 
tain John (3) and Anny (Lippitt) Bowne, 
and granddaughter of Obadiah Bowne, 
son of Captain John (1) Bowne, eldest 
son of William Bowne, the founder of the 
family in America. Children : Esther, 
born February 3, 1761, married Robert 
White ; William, mentioned below ; John 
Bowne, November 27, 1767, married Caro- 
line Field; Mary, married George Smith. 

(V) William (2) Crawford, son of Wil- 
liam (1) and Catherine (Bowne) Crawford, 
was born October 9, 1763, and died De- 
cember 14, 1837. He was one of the 
wealthy men of his time, inheriting a 
goodly share of his father's estate, which 
had been greatly increased through the 
lands his wife, Catherine Bowne, brought 
to him. He married Rebecca Patterson, 
born October 9, 1768, daughter of John 
Patterson, of Middletown township. 
Children : John Bowne, married Cath- 
erine Crawford; William, died young; 
William Henry, mentioned below; James 
Patterson, married Margaretta Bowne ; 
Anne Bowne, married Hendrick Con- 
over. 

(VI) William Henry Crawford, third son 
of William (2) and Rebecca (Patterson) 
Crawford, was born August 18, 1809, near 
what is now the town of Holmdel, Mon- 
mouth county, New Jersey, and died De- 
cember 21, 1874, at his home on that part 
of the Bowne homestead at Crawford's 
Corner, in Holmdel township, on which 
stood the large dwelling house erected by 
Captain John Bowne (1), and his son, 
Obadiah Bowne. His brother, John 
Bowne Crawford, inherited the Crawford 
homestead at Nutswamp and there re- 



83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sided, and to William H. came the Bovvne 
acres largely. These constituted a goodly 
estate, and in their cultivation and care 
he found his life work. He received a 
good education at Middletown Academy, 
and all his life was a friend of progress 
and supporter of every forward move- 
ment in his community. He was a mem- 
ber and generous supporter of the Baptist 
church, a Democrat in politics, and one of 
HolmdePs most highly esteemed citizens. 
His years, sixty-five, were well spent, and 
he left to posterity a precious memory. 

He married, January 8, 1834, Leah, 
daughter of Cornelius R. and Mary 
(Stoutenborough) Conover (see Conover 
VII), who bore him children: Holmes 
Conover (deceased), married Evelyn Pe- 
terson; William Henry (deceased), mar- 
ried Phebe A. Duryea ; John Bowne (de- 
ceased), married Henrietta Schenck; Al- 
bro Benton (deceased) ; Charles Voor- 
hees, mentioned below ; Mary Jane Leslie, 
died September 6, 1904; Jamesanna Law- 
rence, now residing in Holmdel ; Sarah 
Elizabeth (deceased), married Daniel T. 
Polhemus; Katherine Bibb (deceased), 
married Horace A. Field. 

(VII) Charles Voorhees Crawford, fifth 
son of William Henry and Leah (Con- 
over) Crawford, was born November 17, 
1844, at the old homestead at Crawford's 
Corner, Holmdel township, Monmouth 
county, New Jersey, and died at Keyport, 
New Jersey, April 16, 1908, aged sixty- 
four years, the last male survivor of his 
family. After graduation from Glenwood 
Institute, Matawan, New Jersey, he en- 
tered the hardware business in New York 
City, so continuing for a number of years, 
very successfully. After he had amassed 
a competency he retired from business, 
returned to the old homestead and then 
for several years was a director and secre- 
tary of the Keyport Banking Company. 

He never married, was very fond of the 
old homestead and its surroundings, and 



was one of the most upright of men, held 
in high esteem by all who knew him. 
Several months prior to his death he suf- 
fered a paralytic stroke which was the 
primary cause of his death. He was 
buried in Holmdel Cemetery, April 18, 
1908. 

(The Bowne Line). 

The Bowne arms are thus described : 
Arms — Ermine, a lion rampant or, on a 
canton of the second a mullet sable. Crest 
— A demi-lion rampant sable, holding in 
its dexter paw a sprig of laurel leaves 
proper. Motto — Fama nominis bona. 

The Bowne estate that was united with 
the Crawford estate by the marriage of 
William Crawford and Catherine Bowne, 
was first owned by William Bowne, 
founder of one of the oldest New Jersey 
families, and one of the grantees of the 
Monmouth Patent in 1665. He was in 
Salem, Massachusetts, in 1631, there re- 
ceiving a grant of land, May 17, 1637, and 
soon after moved to Gravesend, Long 
Island, where he was granted a "planting 
lot," November 12, 1646. He was assist- 
ant justice in 165 1, and attended a council 
at New Amsterdam, held October 12, 
1655. From 1655 to 1662, inclusive, he 
was a magistrate. He was granted a 
farm November 13, 1656, and in 1665 was 
one of the grantees of the Monmouth 
patent in New Jersey. In 1667 he was 
located at Portland Point (Atlantic High- 
lands), had a house lot at Middletown in 
1675, and died at Portland Point, Mon- 
mouth county, New Jersey, in 1677. He 
was a member of Assembly of New Jer- 
sey in 1669, and member of the General 
Court of deputies and patentees, the same 
year. His first wife, whose Christian 
name was Ann, bore him five children : 
John, mentioned below; James; Andrew; 
Philip ; Deborah, married Gershom Mott. 
(II) Captain John Bowne, eldest son of 
William and Ann Bowne, was born about 
1630, in England, and was with his father 




3l^£Q^u^Ll 




ovn^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at Gravesend, where he received a "plant- 
ing lot" in 1647, ar >d was one of the sign- 
ers of a petition for a minister in 1660. 
He appears frequently in the records as 
both a buyer and a seller of land, and was 
one of the party who on December 6, 1663, 
visited lands lying along the Raritan 
river, in New Jersey. He was a delegate 
to the Hempstead Convention, February 
28, 1665, and in the same year, April 8, 
1665, was one of the twelve patentees of 
the Monmouth Patent (his father also ap- 
pearing as one of the grantees). He set- 
tled on this property in 1667, and was 
head of one of the first five families in the 
county. He was a member of the paten- 
tees' court in 1670; was deputy in 1675- 
1683, during the last four years was 
speaker of the house, and sat in the first 
legislature under the twenty-four pro- 
prietors; was a judge of Monmouth 
county courts, and in August, 1673, was 
deputized with the admirals and com- 
manders belonging to the States-General 
and Prince of Orange. He was elected to 
the first Provincial Assembly of New Jer- 
sey in 1680 (page 87 of Col. of Eng. Man.), 
also in 1681-82 and 1683 ; and in 1682 was 
speaker of the house (page 167). He was 
the first justice of the peace for Mon- 
mouth county in 1683, and in December 
of that year was commissioned major of 
the First Militia Battalion of Monmouth 
county. He was one of the founders of 
the first Baptist church ever organized in 
New Jersey, and donated the ground at 
Middletown for the first church and for 
a cemetery. Although never ordained, he 
acted as the first minister of that church, 
until a regular minister was settled over 
the church, whose house was built in 
1688-89. He was one of the largest land- 
owners in the county, his acres being 
numbered in the thousands, partly located 
at what is now known as Crawford's Cor- 
ner, near the town of Holmdel, then Mid- 



dletown, and from there extending to 
Raritan Bay. His father's Westfield 
estate came to him in 1678, and 167 acres 
of it, with the homestead site, is still 
owned in the family, this ownership now 
covering a period of 237 years. He died 
January 4, 1684. From the late James G. 
Crawford's Bowne papers is taken the 
following: 

Words of advice spoken by Capt. John Bowne 
to his children as he lay on his death bed. Janu- 
ary 3, 1684: "There is no way in the world for 
a man to obtain felicity in this world, or in the 
world to come, but to take heed to the ways of 
the Lord, and to put his trust in Him, who deals 
faithfully and truly with all men, for He knocks 
at the doors of your heart and calls you to come 
and buy, without money and without price. My 
desire is that in all actions of Meum et tuum you 
deal not deceitfully, but plain hearted with all 
men, and remember that your dying father left 
it with you for your instruction that when trust 
is with your honor, to preserve it. And in all 
contracts and bargains that you make, violate 
not your promise, and you will have praise. Let 
your mother be your counsellor in all matters of 
difference, and go not to lawyers, but ask her 
counsel first. If at any time you have an advan- 
tage of a poor man at law, O! pursue it not, but 
rather forgive him if he hath done you wrong, 
and if you do so you will help the law of God and 
of His people. Give not away to youthful jolli- 
ties and sports, but improve your leisure time in 
the service of God. Let no good man be dealt 
churlishly by you, but entertain when they come 
to your house. But if a vicious, wicked man 
come, give him meat and drink to refresh him, 
and let him pass by your door. It has been 
many times in my thoughts that for a man to 
marry a wife and have children and never take 
care to instruct them, but leave them worse than 
the beasts of the field, so that as a man ask con- 
cerning the things of God, they know not what 
it means. O! this is a very sad thing, but if we 
can season our hearts so as to desire the Lord 
to assist us, He will help us, and not fly from 
us." 

It was Captain John Bowne who built 
the eastern part of the old Manor house, 
a mansion built in the most substantial 
manner. His grave is in the old burying 



S3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ground at Middletown, and is marked by 
the oldest stone in the yard. From the 
Bowne papers owned by the late James G. 
Crawford is taken the following: 

After Capt. John Bowne's death, to divide 
his estate as follows,— First— Lydia (Holmes) 
Bowne is to have all the buildings of the de- 
ceased John Bowne, with all improved lands, 
with one-third of the whole plantation, called 
Westfield, during her natural life, and then the 
said third with all buildings and improvements 
whatsoever, shall return to Obadiah Bowne, his 
heirs and assigns forever, and also the said 
Lydia Bowne is to have one-third part of the 
movables, amounting unto the sum of 114 pounds, 
to be at her sole disposal. * * * Fourthly — 
Obadiah Bowne is to have all the remainder of 
the plantation called Westfield, be it more or 
less, to have and to hold to him, the said Oba- 
diah Bowne, his heirs and assigns forever, and 
the said Obadiah Bowne is to have 41 pounds 
for his share of the movables, etc. etc. Capt. 
John Bowne and his wife, Lydia Bowne, died in 
the old part of the home on the Westfield prop- 
erty and Obadiah Bowne resided and died there. 
On April 15, 1697, John Bowne (2), son of Capt. 
John Bowne (1), conveyed to his brother, Oba- 
diah Bowne, of Monmouth County, New Jersey, 
all his rights, titles, etc. in 769 acres of land at 
Westfield, in Middletown Township, formerly 
belonging to their father, Capt. John Bowne (1), 
in 1678.* 

Captain John Bowne married (first) 
Lydia, daughter of Rev. Obadiah and 
Catherine (Hyde) Holmes. Rev. Oba- 
diah Holmes was a faithful leader of the 
Baptists of Rhode Island, who, rather 
than submit to an unjust fine, was pub- 
licly whipped by the authorities in 1653. 
He died in Newport, Rhode Island, Octo- 
ber 15, 1682. As Captain John Bowne's 
widow, Lydia Bowne is of frequent men- 
tion in the old road records from 1684 
until 1693, and is the party to whom the 
Indians deeded certain lands Mav 10, 



•On settling Capt. John Bowne's estate occurs 
the following: '•Between ye widow, Lydia 
Bowne, and ye children of the deceased John 
Bowne. and Gershom Mott, son of ye deceased 
John Bowne's sister, according to ye agreement 
of ye abovesaid parties, as witness our hands 
this 29th of April. 1686." 



1690, also receiving 500 acres in Mon- 
mouth county in 1688. Lydia Bowne's 
antique snuff-box and many other things 
are in possession of the remaining mem- 
ber of the family. Captain John Bowne 
married (second) July 12, 1669, Mary 
Haverlads Felt. Issue (by first wife) : 
Captain John (2), born April 1, 1664, mar- 
ried Frances Bowman ; Obadiah, men- 
tioned below; Deborah, January 26, 1668, 
at Gravesend, Long Island, married Rich- 
ard Stillwell. (By second wife) : Sarah, 
November 27, 1670, at Gravesend, mar- 
ried Richard Saltar ; Catherine, born at 
Middletown, New Jersey, married Wil- 
liam, son of Richard Hartshorne. 

Andrew Bowne, a brother of Captain 
John (1) Bowne, was a member of the 
council of East New Jersey in 1692 ; presi- 
dent of the court of sessions in 1696; sat 
in a council held by the General Assem- 
bly at Perth Amboy in 1699, as deputy 
governor, an office he held from, 1682 until 
1703 ; was commissioned in 1704, by Gov- 
ernor Basse, to be third judge and assist- 
ant to the Chief Justice of the Supreme 
Court of Judicature for the province of 
East Jersey, and continued in that office 
until 1706, by Lord Cornbury ; was com- 
missioned Governor and Commander-in- 
Chief with power to appoint a deputy 
governor, by the committee of proprietors 
of East Jersey in America, residing in or 
about London, and by the rest of the pro- 
prietors of the said provinces, March 27, 
1 701 (Liber of Com., pages 65-66). Gov- 
ernor Hamilton refused to recognize this 
commission and he retained the offices 
against all opposition. Governor Andrew 
Bowne died in 1707, his will, dated May 6, 
1707, giving his estate to his wife Eliza- 
beth, and after her death to his grand- 
children, John, Anne and Lydia, children 
of Obadiah Bowne and Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Andrew Bowne. 

(Ill) Obadiah Bowne. second son of 



86 



: 

: 

■ - 

■ 
He i 

■ 

on each 

which were al 

I 

and upon th 

• 
Bowne 
a mos manner, the 

• !'ed in 
: floor beams were of hewn 
ime of them sixteen inches square, 
re cf the toi 

• re scal- 
i'he nails used were mad 



■ 

] 
■ 

I 

John Bowne I 

i 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Captain John and Lydia (Holmes) Bowne, 
was born July 18, 1666, at Gravesend, 
Long Island, and died at the homestead 
at Crawford's Corner (called Westfield), 
Monmouth county, New Jersey, April 19, 
1726. He was a man of education, of 
great ability and independent spirit, and 
highly respected. He served in 1696-97 
as assessor, and later on a committee to 
lay out roads. In 1703-04 he was a mem- 
ber of the first and second provincial 
assemblies, and in 1707 represented the 
eastern district in the assembly. His 
name appears in many land transactions, 
and he was one of the important men of 
his day. 

He inherited that part of his father's 
estate upon which stood the old home- 
stead, built by his father, Captain John 
Bowne, and in 1701 he built the entire 
western part, with a fine English hall and 
stairway, with a massive arch, supported 
on each side by triple carved columns, 
which were all kept intact. The immense 
parlor, with beautiful arches and an enor- 
mous double chimney, which ran from the 
cellar and took in almost the entire west- 
ern end of the house, had a large open 
fireplace, surrounded by Biblical tiles, 
which was walled up. The wide carved 
wood frieze was removed, also the large 
parlor door, upon which was painted 
Biblical scenes and upon the upper panel 
the Bowne crest. This western part of 
the Manor house, built by Obadiah 
Bowne, was like the eastern part, built in 
a most substantial manner, the walls, 
which were very thick, being filled in 
with clay. The floor beams were of hewn 
logs, some of them sixteen inches square, 
while the laths were of the toughest 
swamp oak, worked to proper dimensions 
with the axe, and the shingles were scal- 
loped. The nails used were made by a 
blacksmith from wrought iron, some of 
them are in possession of the family. 
This Manor house was 75 feet by 45 feet. 



Obadiah Bowne married (first) his 
cousin, Elizabeth, daughter of Governor 
Andrew Bowne, who bore him three chil- 
dren : John, mentioned below ; Ann, born 
March 22, 1701, married William Chan- 
ning, a New York merchant ; Lydia, Feb- 
ruary 11, 1703, married John Pintard. 
Their grandfather, Governor Andrew 
Bowne, of Middletown, in his last will, 
gave all his plantation, called Matawan, 
unto these children of his daughter, Eliz- 
abeth. Obadiah Bowne married (second) 
Elizabeth Longfield, daughter of Cor- 
nelius and Mary Longfield, and had four 
children: Mary, born May 23, 1712, died 
February 22, 1743, married Dr. Richard 
Stillwell, son of Richard Stillwell and 
Deborah Bowne ; Cornelius, born October 
15, 1713, had wife Sarah; Obadiah (2), 
born April 16, 1717. lived in Philadelphia 
in 1743, was a mariner, and married, in 
1749, Anna, daughter of Colonel John 
Reid and Mary Sands; Thomas, born 
June 9, 1 721, lived in New York, was a 
mariner, and married, in 1748, Helen, 
daughter of Colonel John and Mary 
(Sands) Reid. August 20, 1747, Obadiah 
(2), Cornelius and Thomas Bowne (mari- 
ners) conveyed to John Bowne (3), their 
elder brother, their share in the land, con- 
taining 632 acres, and the Manor house, 
formerly the dwelling place of their 
father, Obadiah Bowne, "which now is 
and has been for years the dwelling place 
of the said John Bowne (3d)," in ex- 
change for 513 acres at Matawan, which 
was left John Bowne (3d) and his two 
sisters by their father, Obadiah Bowne. 
John Bowne (3d) also received land at 
Chingaroras (Keyport) from his three 
brothers — Cornelius, Obadiah (2) and 
Thomas, which had been conveyed to 
them by their father, Obadiah Bowne. In 
1730 James Paul of Scotland and Middle- 
town, made his will and left all he had to 
the children of Obadiah Bowne and his 
second wife, Elizabeth Longfield, "in con- 



8/ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sideration of manifold favors and kind- 
ness received from Obadiah Bovvne in his 
life time, as my diet and entertainment 
for several years with other provisions 
for me made by him,, both in my sickness 
and health." (From Bowne-Crawford 
papers). 

(IV) Captain John (3) Bowne, eldest 
child of Obadiah and Elizabeth (Bowne) 
Bowne, was born May 29, 1700. and died 
in the latter part of the year 1774. He in- 
herited the homestead and other lands, 
was judge of Monmouth county in 1741- 
42, an educated, honored gentleman, 
spending his life in the management of 
his valuable estate. He married Anny 
Lippitt, born November 29, 1702, daugh- 
ter of Moses and Sarah (Throckmorton) 
Lippitt, of Middletown. Children: Lydia, 
born October 25, 1732; Andrew, May 26, 
1734; Catherine, mentioned below. Much 
of the Sheffield silver of John Bowne (3d) 
is still in possession of the remaining 
member of the family. 

(V) Catherine Crawford, daughter of 
Captain John (3) and Anny (Lippitt) 
Bowne, was born March 12, 1736, and on 
December 27, 1756, married William 
Crawford, bringing to her husband the 
Bowne estate and Manor house, so long 
in her family, both residing there until 
their death. The famous house which has 
been known as both "Manor house" and 
"Crawford Hall" was the family residence 
until destroyed by fire, June 17, 1895. The 
destruction of all wooden parts of the 
famous structure was complete, the large 
double chimney, the four old-fashioned 
fireplaces, the arches and the cellar vaults 
alone remaining to mark the site of this 
long-time home of two of Monmouth's 
noted families, the Bownes and Craw- 
fords. 

(The Conover Line). 

This is a variation of the old Dutch 
name which appears in earliest New York 
records as Cowenhoven, Couwenhoven, 



Kouwenhoven and Van Couwenhoven. 
The form Kouwenhoven is retained by 
that branch of the family which remained 
on Long Island, while most of the de- 
scendants who settled in New Jersey have 
taken the form Conover. 

Couwenhoven Arms — Argent, a cross 
azure, on a canton three leopards' heads 
erased, gules. Crest — A leopard's head of 
the shield, between two wings addorsed, 
the dexter argent, the sinister azure. 
Motto — Sequitur zictoria fortes (Victory 
follows the brave). 

(I) Wolfert Gerretson Van Kowen- 
hoven, the progenitor of the Conover fam- 
ily in this country, came from Amers- 
foort, province of Utrecht, Holland, in 
the ship "Eendracht," and landed March 
21, 1630, accompanied by his family. His 
birthplace, Amersfoort, was an ancient 
city, formerly surrounded with a wall, 
with twenty towers, broken down in 1829. 
He was employed in 1630 as superintend- 
ent of farms by the Patroon Van Rensse- 
laer, at Rensselaerwyck, now Albany ; 
subsequent to this he cultivated a farm 
on Manhattan Island, and later located 
on Long Island. In June, 1637, in asso- 
ciation with Andrus Hudde, they pur- 
chased the westermost part of three flats 
in Flatlands and Flatbush, and a patent 
was issued to them by Director Van Twil- 
ler, June 16 of that year. In 1639 he pur- 
chased the interest of Hudde in these 
lands, the deed for a house, barn, barrack 
and garden, dated August 2. He took a 
deed dated September 16, 1641, from 
Hudde, of lands in the same neighbor- 
hood, including sixty-eight morgens of 
plainland and fifty-five and one-half acres 
of woodland. Their settlement was first 
named New Amersfoort, in honor of the 
city of Wolfert's nativity, and afterwards 
Flatlands. He probably removed to New 
Amsterdam some years before his death, 
as he appears as a great burgher there in 
1657. and died in June, 1660. He was 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



commissioner to Holland, 1653. His 
wife's name was Neeltje (Nellie), and 
they are known to have had sons : Gerret, 
mentioned below; Jacob, who was one of 
the agents in 1649, on the part of the 
community to Holland ; Peter, who was a 
brewer on the corner of the present 
Whitehall and Pearl streets in New Ams- 
terdam, where, among other offices, he 
held that of magistrate for many years. 

(II) Gerret Wolfertson Van Kowen- 
hoven, son of Wolfert Gerretson and 
Neeltje Van Kowenhoven, was born 1610, 
in Holland, died 1645. He came with his 
father to America and resided in Flat- 
lands, where he purchased of Andrus 
Hudde fifty morgens of land at "Achler- 
velt," the deed bearing date July 26, 1638. 
He was one of the eight men represent- 
ing the people, who memorialized the 
States-General, November 3, 1643, setting 
forth the unprotected condition of the set- 
tlers, and praying for better provision 
against Indian depredations. A patent 
for nineteen morgens of land was issued 
in his name, March 11, 1747, after his 
death. He married Altie, daughter of 
Cornelius and Altie (Cooley) Lambert- 
son, of Gowanus. Children : William 
Gerretse, mentioned below ; Jan Gerretse, 
born 1639, married Gerdientje, daughter 
of Nicasius De Sille, fiscal of New Nether- 
lands ; Neeltje Gerretse, born 1641, died 
1672,. married, 1660, Roelof Martinse 
Schenck. of Flatlands; Marritje Gerretse, 
born 1643, died 1709, married Coert Ste- 
phense Van Voorhees. 

(III) William Gerretse Van Kouwen- 
hoven, elder son of Gerret and Altie 
(Lambertson) Van Kowenhoven, was 
born 1636, in Flatlands, and resided early 
in life in Brooklyn, where he was a mag- 
istrate in 1661, 1662 and 1664, and deacon 
of the Reformed Dutch Church in 1663. 
He removed thence to Flatlands, his name 
being on the patent for that town in 1667, 
and on the assessment rolls in 1675, 1683 



and 1693. He was an elder of the Re- 
formed Dutch Church there in 1677, and 
subscribed to the oath of allegiance in 
1687. He sold his lands there to his son 
William, in 1709, and probably removed 
in his old age to Monmouth county, New 
Jersey, where he died in 1727. 

He married (first) in 1660, Altie, daugh- 
ter of Joris Dircksen and Susanna (Dib- 
bles) Brinckerhoff, who was widow Mat- 
thews, and lived but a short time after her 
marriage to Kouwenhoven. He married 
(second) February 12, 1665, Jannetje, 
daughter of Peter and Sarah (DePlanck- 
en) Montfoort. Children : Gerret, born 
January 4, 1662, resided at Flatlands and 
Wallabout ; Altje, born December 14, 
1665, married, March 16, 1687, Cornelius 
Seymonse Van Arsdalen, of Flatlands, 
died before 1691 ; Neeltje, born February 
7, 1669, married John Peterse Wyckoff, of 
Freehold, New Jersey; Peter, born Feb- 
ruary 12, 1671, lived in New Jersey; Cor- 
nelius, mentioned below; Sarah, born De- 
cember 20, 1674, died January 31, 1731, 
married, 1692, John R. Schenck, of New 
Jersey; Albert, born December 7, 1676, 
lived in New Jersey ; Jacob, born January 
29, 1679, nve d in New Jersey; John, born 
April 9, 1681, lived in New Jersey; An- 
natie, born April 13, 1683, married (first) 
Albert Williamsen, (second) Johannes 
Antonides, both of Monmouth county, 
New Jersey; William, born March 7, 
1686; Joris ; Jacomina, born December 28, 
1689, married, June 5, 1709, Elbert Wil- 
liamson, of Monmouth county, New Jer- 
sey. The three sons, Cornelius, Albert 
and Jacob, married three daughters of 
Rulof Martense Schenck, whose wife was 
Neeltje, daughter of Gerret Wolfertse 
Van Kouwenhoven. 

(IV) Cornelius Williamson Van Cou- 
wenhoven, son of William Gerretse and 
his second wife, Jannetje (Montfoort) 
Van Kouwenhoven, was born November 
29, 1672, and died May 16, 1736, settled in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and 1287. He sold his estate in Geyen, 
April i, 1287. His wife died in 1-71. and 
in her memory he gave a revenue to the 
Convent of Graevendael, near Goch, in 
whose cloister she was buried. Of their 
seven children, four were living in 1301. 

(1 ) Ileinrich Schenck van Nydeck, the 
first from whom a continuous line can be 
traced, is mentioned in 1346 as a grand- 
son of Wilhelmus Schenck, but the name 
of his father is unknown. In [359 he was 
assessed four men and horses, fully 
equipped and armed, in fulfilment of a 
treaty made by the Netherlands authori- 
ties. 1 le was Lord of Afferden, a village 
in ( Jeldern, and also Feoffer of Wachten- 
donk. He sold the Court of Munster, 
July 12, 1389, later called Munster 
Mannshof, in the county of Geldern. 

He married Aleid Van Rayde, who in- 
herited the castle of Walbcck, which thus 
came into possession of the Schenck fam- 
ily. In consideration of one-half the 
revenues of this estate, in 1581, Wilhelm 
van Julich, Duke of Geldern, assumed the 
protection of the village and parish. Hein- 
rich Schenck had sons : YVynand and 
Heinrich ; and a daughter. Lizbeth, who 
became a nun at Graevendael. His estate 
was divided, December 31, 1403. 

(II) Ileinrich (2) Schenck van Ny- 
deck, junior son of Heinrich (1) and 
Aleid Schenck van Nydeck, received the 
Court of Ten Broke, in Kampen. and an 
estate at Ottersum, beside some revenues, 
and became co-heir, with his brother, to 
some other properties. The brother gave 
him his share of Walbeck, and having no 
heirs, the entire estate and title fell ulti- 
mately to the junior son, Heinrich, who 
was bailiff of Geldern, and died Decem- 
ber 8, 1452. 

He married Alheid van Goen van Kal- 
denbrock, daughter of Allerd van Kalden- 
brock and Anna Montfoort. his wife. They 
had three children : Diedrick, Johann and 
Alheit. 



(III) Diedrick Schenck van Nydeck, 
elder sun of 1 teinri< I rick van 
Nydeck, inherited the paternal estates, to 
which he added largely. Like his prede- 
cessors he was a benefactor of the Convent 
of Graevendael, to which he gave an 
estate, June 1, 1443. He died 1487. Of 
his eleven children, two were monks and 
three were nuns. 

(IV) Derick Schenck van Nydeck. 
fourth son of Diedrick Schenck van Ny- 
deck, received some property by inher- 
itance, and in 1515 assumed the title and 
ownership of the estate through the death 
cf his elder brothers, and was Lord of 
Afferden and Blydenbeck. 

He married Alheit Custers. of Arssen 
He had previously contracted two mor- 
gan ic marriages, and for seventy years 
his estate was in litigation. The civil 
courts decided in favor of his children. 
but the Pope decided against them, and 
the matter was finally carried before the 
Emperor. Charles V.. who ordered the 
decree of the Pope sustained, October 21, 
1540 As continental Europe was at 
this time in a state of almost constant 
war, the estate suffered heavily. Derick 
Schenck had children : Otto, Derick. 
Peter. Heinrich. Johann. Winand, Adel- 
heid. Maria and Margaretha. 

(V) Derick (2) Schenck van Nydeck, 
second son of Derick (1) and Alheit 
(Custers) Schenck van Nydeck. was born 
about 1485, resided at Goch, and was Lord 
of Afferden and Blydenbeck. 

He married Maria van Galen, and but 
one child is recorded. 

(VI) Diedrick (2) Schenck van Ny- 
deck. son of Derick (2) and Maria (van 
Galen) Schenck van Nydeck, born about 
1507, was Lord of Afferden and Blyden- 
deck, and resided at Goch. 

He married Anna Van Berlaer. Chil- 
dren : Martin. Peter, Johann, Maria Mar- 
garetha and Maria Magdalina. 

(VII) Peter Schenck van Nydeck, sec- 



01 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ond son of Diedrick (2) and Anna (Van 
Rerlaer) Schenck van Nydeck, was born 
in 1547, at Goch, and distinguished him- 
self in the wars which raged almost con- 
tinuously in the Netherlands, becoming 
a general of the troops which defended 
his native country. 

He married, at Doesburg, May 17, 1580, 
Johanna Van Scherpenzeel. They had 
children: Wilhelmina and Martin. 

(VIII) Martin Schenck, only son of 
Peter and Johanna Schenck van Nydeck, 
was born August 7, 1584, at Doesburg, 
and started for America with three of 
his children, dying on the voyage. The 
constant wars in the Netherlands had 
made the position of the family uncomfort- 
able, and its members came to the New 
World to improve their prospects. They 
are supposed to have arrived in the ship 
"de Valckener," in June, 1650. The elder 
son, Roelof, settled in Flatlands, Long 
Island, as did also the junior son, Jan. 
The daughter, Anetje, married Adrian 
Reyersz, of Flatlands. 

(IX) Roelof Schenck, elder son of 
Martin Schenck, was born in 1619, at 
Amersfoort. Holland, and came to Amer- 
ica in 1650 with his brother and sister, 
settling in Flatlands, Long Island. He 
resided for a time in Brooklyn, and re- 
moved about 1660 to Amersfoort (Flat- 
lands), where he died in 1704. He re- 
ceived a grant of twenty-three morgens 
of land there, January 29, 1661. He sub- 
sequently purchased two hundred acres 
and also bought of his brother one-half 
of the mill subsequently known as 
"Crookes Mill." He was one of the 
grantees in the confirmatory patent 
issued by Governor Nicolls, October 4, 
1667. He was a magistrate in 1664, and 
was deputy to the council held in the city 
hall at New Amsterdam, March 26, 1674. 
He was appointed schepen, August 16, 
1676, and elected lieutenant of the local 



militia, October 25 of the same year. In 
1687 he subscribed to the oath of allegi- 
ance to the British government, was com- 
missioned December 12, 1689, a justice 
for King's county, and held this office in 
1693. He was commissioned captain of 
a company of horse for King's county, 
January 13, 1690. On a valuation of 
property made in September, 1676, he 
was credited with personal estate valued 
at £152 14s, including five horses, six- 
teen head of cattle and three swine, and 
also with fifty-two morgens of land 
valued at £104, making a total of £256 
14s — a large valuation in that day. Only 
one estate in the town was assessed at 
greater value, and in 1681 his was the 
highest in value in the town. In 1691 he 
possessed four slaves. 

He married (first) in 1660, Neeltje 
(Nelly), daughter of Gerret Wolfertson 
Van Kowenhoven. She was baptized 
September io, 1641, in Flatlands, and died 
about 1673. He married (second) in 
1675, Annatje, daughter of Peter Clausen 
Wyckoff, and (third) November 19, 1688, 
Catherine Crigers, widow of Stoffel Hooj- 
land. His first wife was a granddaughter 
of Wolfert Gerretsen Van Kowenhoven, 
who came from Amersfoort, Holland, in 
1630, and died in 1661. His wife bore 
the name of Neeltje, and their son, Ger- 
ret, born 1610, died 1645. His wile > Alt J e 
Cornelisse, was a daughter of Cornells 
Lambertsen Pool, of Gowanus, Long 
Island, and they were the parents of 
Neeltje, wife of Martin Roelof Schenck. 
Children : Martin, born June 22, 1661 ; 
Annatje, about 1663; Jannetje, about 
1665 ; Marike, February 14, 1667 ; Jan, 
March 1, 1670: Gerret, October 27, 1671, 
died young. Children of second wife : 
Margaret, mentioned below; Neeltje; 
Maryken and Gerret. 

(X) Margaret Roelofse Schenck, daugh- 
ter of Roelof Schenck and child of his 



92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF B1UGRAP1IY 



second wife, Annatje Wyckoff, became 
the wife of Cornelius Willemse Conover, 
of Middletown, New Jersey (see Con- 
over IV). 



HEDDEN, Viner Jones, 

Contracting Builder, Public Official. 

The name of Hedden, Hodden and 
Hoddon is of ancient origin and has 
many corruptions such as : Headen, 
Hedde, Hedin, Headden, and Heady. The 
name is distinctly English although we 
find it in Scotland, Ireland and Wales. 
That they fought in the crusades is evidenced 
by the crescent on the armorial bearings. 
The coat-of-arms is described as follows: 
Quarterly first and fourth, argent a saltire 
engraved sable. Second, argent a saltire 
engraved between four roses, gules. 
Third, or, a bend chequy argent and 
sable. In the center over the quarter- 
ings is a crescent argent. Crest : An 
eagle erased or. Motto: "Suffer." An 
engraving in colors of these arms is now 
in possession of Mrs. Julia (Hedden) 
W'urthington, of New York City. 

(I) Jared (or Gerard) Hadden was born 
in England about 1608, and probably 
came in the fleet with Winthrop, as he 
is mentioned among the first hundred men 
of the Boston church admitted prior to 
any second arrival of freemen, May 14, 
1634. His first settlement was at Cam- 
bridge in 1632, where he was made a 
freeman ; he owned a house and three 
acres ; was a tailor and planter ; was a 
proprietor of Salisbury, Massachusetts, 
in 1640, receiving land in the first di- 
vision, and was among those who moved 
to the west side of the Powow in 1644; 
was a commoner and taxed in 1650; one 
of the first settlers in Amesbury, 1654-55, 
receiving land there, 1654-64; received a- 
seat in the meeting house, 1667, a mem- 
ber of the Salisbury church, 1677-87; re- 
ceived "children's land" in Amesbury for 



a daughter, 1659, and a "township" for 
a daughter, 1600; was a selectman in 
1680; died at Amesbury, 16^9, leaving 
several children. 

(II) Edward Hedden, possibly a son 
of Jared or Gerard Hadden, was born in 
1660. He married Jane Jones, a \\ elsh 
girl, and they settled at the "Mountain," 
South Orange, New Jersey, where they 
received grants of land. Jane Hedden, 
born 1668, was a member of the First 
Presbyterian Church, at Newark, prior 
to the formation of the "Mountain So- 
ciety," and is interred in the burial ground 
of the church on Broad street, having 
died February 23, 1773. Children: John, 
Joseph, of further mention; Eleazer ; 
Oliver; Diana; Rebecca. The Heddens 
owned much land, the sons being the 
possessors of tracts later known as the 
Hedden tracts at South Orange, at the 
"Mountain," near Luddington brook and 
Rahway river, where Edward and Jane 
Hedden lived and died. 

(III) Joseph Hedden, son of Edward 
and Jane (Jones) Hedden, was born at 
Newark. New Jersey, 1702, and died in 
that part of the town, now Orange, No- 
vember 3, 1798. In association with his 
brother John he owned lands at the 
"Mountain," where he settled. At vari- 
ous times he sold portions of this land. 
On the death of Joseph Hedden the "Cen- 
tennial of Freedom," of Newark, said: 
"This venerable citizen has from his 
youth sustained the character of an 
honest and upright man and was much 
lamented by those who were acquainted 
with him. He had thirteen children, one 
hundred and seventy-six grandchildren, 
and three great-grandchildren." He was 
wont to speak with pride of the fact that 
he had eight sons who served their coun- 
try during the Revolution. ("Shaw's 
History," page 38.) He is buried beside 
his wife, Rebecca, both having been mem- 
bers in full communion of the "Moun- 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tain Society," prior to 1756. He married 
(first) Rebecca Dod, born 1703, died May 
14, 1745, daughter of Daniel and Eliza- 
beth (Riggs) Dod, and granddaughter of 
Stephen Dod, of Guilford, Connecticut. 
He married (second) Rebecca, daughter 
of Matthew and Ruth (Wheeler) Wil- 
liams. Children : Ebenezer, David, Eli- 
jah, Job, Simon, Martha, Phebe, Rebecca, 
Elizabeth, Joseph, Jr., Jonathan, of fur- 
ther mention ; Sarah, Joanna. 

(IV) Jonathan Hedden, son of Joseph 
and Rebecca (Dod) Hedden, was born in 
that part of Newark, now South Orange, 
New Jersey, 1733, died near the present 
Burnet street, East Orange, December 25, 
1795. He was a young lad when he 
learned the tailor's trade, which he fol- 
lowed many years. He prospered in his 
calling, amassed a competence, and pur- 
chased the property through which Bur- 
net street now runs. He and his brothers 
all served through the Revolutionary 
War. After the Revolution he was one 
of the incorporators of the Second Pres- 
byterian Church of Newark (Brick 
Church of Orange) ; he became one of 
the seven trustees and was duly qualified 
before Judge Peck at the parsonage 
house, September 22, 1776, each trustee 
taking the Oath of Allegiance to his coun- 
try. He was elected president of this 
body in the fall of the year, and filled this 
office many years. He married Phebe, 
daughter of Joseph and Phebe (Free- 
man) Canfield, and had: Caleb, Daniel, 
Abial, of further mention ; Jotham, Mary, 
Rebecca, Deborah. 

(V) Abial Hedden, son of Jonathan 
and Phebe (Canfield) Hedden, was born 
in what is now East Orange, New Jersey, 
July 11, 1767, and died at Orange, New 
Jersey, later East Orange, September 24, 
1841. In early life he learned the trade 
of stone cutting, which he followed in 
connection with farming, all his life. 
Some of his work was done in the con- 



struction of the forts of Castle Garden 
and Lafayette, at New York harbor. He 
was also the village undertaker. He was 
one of the prosperous farmers of the sec- 
tion, owning about twenty-five acres in 
East Orange, from Main street almost to 
Central avenue ; when Burnet street was 
cut through this property, his homestead 
was moved back so that it faces Burnet 
street now, near the railroad. He was a 
member of the First Presbyterian Church, 
and was a Whig. He married, September 
23, 1790, a first cousin, Mrs. Betsey (Hed- 
den) Sayre, whose first husband, Samuel 
Sayre, a soldier of the Revolution, had 
left her a widow at the age of twenty 
years with three children : John Low and 
Catherine, twins ; and Margaret. Chil- 
dren : Phebe. Margaret, Uzal W., Caleb, 
Sarah Low, Elijah, Samuel Sayre, of fur- 
ther mention ; Betsy Joanna, died in in- 
fancy ; Abial, Jr. ; Betsey Joanna. 

(VI) Samuel Sayre Hedden, son of 
Abial and Betsey (Hedden-Sayre) Hed- 
den, was born on the Hedden homestead 
in East Orange, New Jersey, August 24, 
1803, died September 20, 1876, on Hedden 
place. He was reared on the homestead 
farm, attending the district school during 
the winter months. In early manhood he 
was apprenticed to Cyrus Jones to learn 
the hatter's trade. Not long after his 
marriage he purchased a farm of ten 
acres, which he cultivated with the as- 
sistance of his sons. His homestead was 
the first beyond the "Meadow Brook," a 
good stream then with fine fish. He also 
followed the trade of hatter, working for 
Cyrus Jones, whose shop was near Munn 
avenue. He also worked for the Stetson 
Hat Company and other factories at 
Orange and East Orange. After 1858 he 
abandoned the hat trade and devoted him- 
self to the cultivation of his farm. This 
was cultivated along the most advanced 
and scientific ideas, and netted a satisfac- 
tory income. He was fond of his gun and 



94 



K.\t U'l.oPFDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his clog, and an excellent shot ; he hunted 
for the New York market, and during the 
season supplied the most famous New 
York hotels with game. His farm, which 
he deeded to his children in equal por- 
tions before his death, has now been 
largely cut up and sold. He was retiring 
in his habits, an avid reader of the daily 
papers, and devoted to his home and chil- 
dren. For a time he attended the Baptist 
church of East Orange, then the Rose- 
ville Presbyterian Church. He was a 
staunch Democrat, and served in the 
Orange militia, lie married Mary Ann 
Cochran, born at East Orange, December 
6, 1806, died February 26, 1877, daughter 
of James and Sarah ( Wright) Cochran, 
and granddaughter of John and Elizabeth 
(Peck) Cochran, who came from Scot- 
land, the former being a weaver by trade. 
Children : Viner Jones, died young; Sarah 
Elizabeth ; Viner Jones, subject of this 
sketch; Harriet Marvin; Mary Olivia; 
George Washington ; Albert Emmet, 
whose sketch follows ; Alonzo S. ; Sam- 
uel Clinton. 

(VII) Viner Jones Hedden, son of 
Samuel Sayre and Mary Ann (Cochran) 
1 ledden, was born at East Orange, New 
Jersey, on the homestead of his father 
and grandfather, July 29, 1827, and died 
September 11, 1914. He acquired his ele- 
mentary education at the district school 
on the Orange road, now Main street, be- 
tween Munn and Maple avenues, and then 
studied at the private school conducted 
by Dr. Wicks at Newark, attending there 
four terms. At the age of eighteen years 
he was apprenticed to William Whitte- 
more, to remain with him until he had at- 
tained his majority, in order to learn the 
trade of carpenter, and later worked as a 
journeyman for Baldwin & Hedden, Mr. 
Hedden of that firm being a cousin, Min- 
ard Hedden, a son of Uzal W r . Hedden. 
About 1850 Mr. Hedden, with Joseph J. 
Meeker, formed a partnership under the 



firm name of Meeker & Hedden, with 
quarters where V. J. Hedden & Sons 
Company was later located, at the time 
it was dissolved. The firm was later 
changed to V. J. Hedden & Sons. Mr. 
Hedden being in business at the above 
location for more than sixty years. 
Among the many notable buildings they 
erected were the Trader's Bank, Toronto, 
Canada ; the New Jersey State Asylum, 
at Morris Plains; the New York Produce 
Exchange; the Metropolitan Building, 
New York City; Taft Hotel, New Haven, 
Connecticut; all the Prudential buildings 
in Newark, New Jersey; the new Court 
House, Newark; American Insurance 
Building, Newark; Young Women's 
Christian Association Building, Newark; 
and numerous important buildings in 
many other cities. In earlier years they 
erected many fine private residences on 
Fifth avenue, New York City, but in later 
years the business was more occupied 
with large contracts for office buildings. 
When Mr. Meeker died in 1884, Mr. Hed- 
den admitted his three sons — Charles R., 
Samuel S. and Louis O. — as equal part- 
ners, continuing as V. J. Hedden & Sons. 
They manufactured every variety^ of in- 
terior finish and later became general 
contractors. June 1, 1896. the business 
was incorporated under New Jersey laws, 
as Y. J. Hedden & Sons Company, the 
officers being: Viner J. Hedden, president 
and treasurer; Charles R. Hedden, first 
vice-president; Louis O. Hedden, second 
vice-president; Samuel S. Hedden, secre- 
tary. Charles R. Hedden withdrew in 
1907, and Louis O. Hedden became first 
vice-president. They became general 
contractors and builders in 1890, and in 
addition to the buildings above mentioned 
they erected the Mutual Benefit Life In- 
surance Company's building, Newark ; 
Howard Savings Bank; American Insur- 
ance Company's building; many of the 
station buildings on the Morris & Essex 



95 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Division of the Delaware, Lackawanna 
& Western Railroad; and did much of 
the work in this line for the Central Rail- 
road of New Jersey. The firm had one 
of the most finely equipped plants in the 
country and made a specialty of interior 
finish from the most costly woods. 

In his political views Mr. Hedden was 
an Independent on general principles, and 
served his city as a member of the Com- 
mon Council although he had never 
sought political preferment. He was a 
member of the East Orange Baptist 
Church, and one of its most liberal sup- 
porters. He was a member of the Newark 
Board of Trade. His fraternal affiliations 
were as follows: One of the four oldest 
members of Northern Lodge, No. 25, 
Free and Accepted Masons; Harmony 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Cain 
Council, Royal and Select Masters; Da- 
mascus Commandery, Knights Templar, 
Newark. 

Mr. Hedden married at Newark, May 21, 
185 1, Elvira Vader Meeker, born June 8, 
1832, died April 26, 1907, daughter of Caleb 
Halsey and Hannah Meeker. Children: 1. 
Charles Rohrbach, born March 25, 1852; 
married, June 17, 1874, Martha Havell, 
born July 9, 1S53, daughter of Henry and 
Mary Etta (Devoe) Havell; children: 
Etta and Lillian. 2. Samuel Sayre, born 
September 1, 1854; married, September 
13, 1876, Emma Jane Coles, born April 
4, 1856, daughter of Jacob Lorenzo and 
Sarah (Morningstern) Coles; children: i. 
Viner Jacob, born June 2, 1878; married, 
October 3, 1906, Florence McMullen, 
daughter of Henry A. and Ella Matilda 
(Mertz) McMullen, and has children: 
Jane Matilda, Viner Jacob, Eugenia, ii. 
Edith Carrie, born August 29, 1882. iii. 
Daisy Madeline, born August 30, 1888. 3. 
Abbie Ward, born July 4,-1857; married, 
May 21, 1879, Edwin James Meeker, born 
June u, 1853, son of Edwin L. and Pa- 



melia (James) Meeker ; children : i. Her- 
bert James, born February 21, 1879; mar- 
ried, December 2, 1905, Pearl Brewster; 
child: Doris, born February 13, 1908. 
ii. Evelyn Eugenia, born August 1, 1881, 
died September 24, 1884. iii. Harold 
Ernest, born March 31, 1883. iv. Edwin 
William, born November 20, 1885. v. 
Norman Hedden, born May 10, 1888. vi. 
Dorothy, born September 22, 1895. 4. 
Louis Oscar, born July 19, 1859 ; married, 
July 2, 1884, Mabel Campbell Stevenson, 
born July 6, 1852, daughter of George 
Washington and Susan Emeline (Tomp- 
kins) Stevenson; children: i. Myra Mc- 
Kay, born May 3, 1886; married Lewis 
Ferry, ii. Donald Stevenson, born June 
4» I §95- 5- Eugene Bleything, born May 
11, 1862; married Harriet S. Harrison; 
three children. 6. Emma Louise, born 
April 8, 1865 ; married, June 18, 1890, 
Louis Edwin McCoy, born January 22, 
1861, son of Nathaniel Drake and Jane 
(White) McCoy; children: i. Louis Eu- 
gene, born April 30, 1893, died May 9, 
1893. ii. Ralph Hedden, born August 26, 
1895, died August 26, 1895. iii. Robert 
Graves, born April 26, 1899. iv. Donald 
Edwin, born August 20, 1902. 7. Minnie 
E., born October 15, 1867, died January 
22, 1870. 8. Alonzo Brown, born Sep- 
tember 13, 1869; married, February 24, 
1897, Sadie Elizabeth Van Houten, 
daughter of Edgar W. and Emma (Bales) 
Van Houghton ; child, Doris, born April 
2, 1905, died April 10, 1905. 9. Minnie 
Elmira, born September 15. 1871 ; mar- 
ried, April 12, 1893, Claude E. Lanter- 
man, born May 11, 1869, son of William 
G. and Jane Hall (Adams) Lanterman ; 
children: i. Helen Blanche, born Septem- 
ber 21, 1895. ii. and iii. William Gerald 
and Geraldine Hedden, twins, born May 
31, 1905. 10. Alice, born April 11, 1879, 
died April 3, 1908. 
96 




a/UM*. 



asn 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



HEDDEN, Albert Emmet, 

Artistic Wood Worker. 

Albert Emmet Hedden, son of Samuel 
Sayre and Mary Ann (Cochran) Hedden, 
was born on his father's homestead, Hed- 
den plac;. then known as the old road to 
Orange, May 4, 1841, and died in March, 
1915. He attended the district school up 
to the age of sixteen years, afterward 
Bryant & Stratton's College at Indian- 
apolis, Indiana, from which he was gradu- 
ated. He then served a four years' ap- 
prenticeship at the carpenter's trade with 
Meeker & Hedden, at Newark, with whom 
he was associated as a journeyman three 
years, then foreman, and later as super- 
intendent of the entire plant, his entire 
association with the Hedden Company, 
which has been described at length in the 
preceding paragraphs, extending over a 
period of more than fifty-five years. 

From early childhood he had been a 
close student and lover of nature, study- 
ing the woods and fields, and became an 
expert in the judgment of timber. He 
made a study of the various kinds of 
woods for their comparative values for 
building purposes, and had an especial 
admiration for the higher grades of woods 
for interior decoration, his knowledge be- 
ing valued as an expert in the matter of 
veneers and all kinds of precious woods. 
His taste was refined, and he designed, 
and had made up many exquisite hand- 
carved pieces of furniture, which showed 
the true artist's appreciation both in the 
design and in the selection of the woods 
of which they were fashioned. Favorites 
with him were mahogany and native 
apple. He was constantly consulted by 
leading architects, as an authority to be 
relied on as to the proper woods and tim- 
ber to be utilized in order to obtain the 
best results, not alone as to safety and 
durability, but so as to obtain the best 

N J-3-7 c 



possible artistic effects. He was also 
rated as an authority on birds and plants, 
and in his later years made a study of 
ferns, gathering and cultivating numerous 
varieties. All of his time not demanded 
by his business duties was devoted to 
nature study in many directions. He col- 
lected butterflies and beetles ; spent a 
great deal of time in the woods and fields, 
gathering and "sliding" plants and 
flowers; was a constant reader on these 
subjects, and in close touch with the best 
authorities on them. 

In political matters Mr. Hedden pre- 
ferred to form his opinions independently, 
and when they were formed, he had the 
courage of his convictions. His religious 
affiliation was with the Roseville Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church, in which he served 
as a steward for a number of years. His 
home was on Hedden place, East Orange, 
where he had erected a fine residence in 
1875. He was a member of the Masonic 
fraternity, having first joined St. Albans 
Lodge, No. 68, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, later became a charter member of 
Hope Lodge, of East Orange, from which 
he was demitted and joined Northern 
Lodge, No. 25, of Newark. He was a 
member of Harmony Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, at Newark, in whose interests he 
was active. 

Mr. Hedden married (first) Harriet 
Garland, daughter of Robert and Jean- 
nette (Thompson) Young, the former a 
hat finisher. He married (second) March 
18, 1875, Mary E. Rittenhouse, born May 
5, 1840, died August 9, 1905, a daughter 
of Abner and Frances (Snyder) Ritten- 
house, the former a cooper and farmer. 
Only child by the first marriage: Robert 
Emmet; children by second marriage: 
Anna Mary, born April 19, 1876; Mabel, 
born August 20, 1877; married Harry 
Peck Havell, and has children: Harriet 
Mabel, born July 30, 1912, and Robert 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Emmet, born May 2, 1914; Albert Her- 
mann, born July 23, 1881, is an engineer 
and a designer of iron work for buildings ; 
married, June 17, 1908, Daisy D. Hunt, 
and has: Elizabeth Ann, born May 10, 
1912, and Albert Emmet, born May 22, 
I9I5- 



KENYON, David Randolph, 

Manufacturer, Inventor. 

Ready when the Master called, Mr. 
Kenyon slowly sank under the attacks of 
heart disease and closed his earthly ca- 
reer, May 16, 1901. A prominent manu- 
facturer of Raritan, New Jersey, he was 
moreover an exemplary man in all his 
relations with life. He possessed sterling 
qualities of character, was an influential 
citizen, always taking an interest in every 
enterprise that tended towards the pros- 
perity of Raritan. He was ever ready to 
extend help to the needy and sympathy 
to those in distress. He was a son of 
Palmer Kenyon, one of the first settlers 
of Raritan, New Jersey, there being but 
seven houses there when Mr. Kenyon 
came from Belvidere to Raritan. 

He was a grandnephew of the founder 
of Kenyon College. Ohio, and paternally 
was a descendant of the New York branch 
of the Kenyon family, a second cousin of 
Congressman Kenyon of that State. Ma- 
ternally he descended from Stephen Crane 
who. with a company of one hundred and 
thirteen, bought and repaired the ship 
"Caledonia" at their own expense and 
came to America from England to escape 
persecution. The "Caledonia" was wrecked 
off Amboy, New Jersey, but all reached 
shore in safety. They were among the 
first settlers of Elizabeth, New Jersey, 
and there and in Newark many of the 
descendants still reside. 

David Randolph Kenyon was born at 
Belvidere, New Jersey, October 30. 1836. 



died at Raritan, New Jersey, May 10, 1901. 
After gaining an education he learned the 
machinist's trade in the machine shops 
founded by his father and then operated 
by the Kenyon estate. After learning his 
trade he worked in Brooklyn, New York, 
becoming an expert worker in steel and 
becoming thoroughly familiar with the 
designing and building of machinery. 
Shortly after the Civil War he formed a 
partnership with his brother, J. C. Ken- 
yon, and engaged in the manufacture of 
machinery. About 1876 they began the 
manufacture of textile and finishing ma- 
chinery, also made the New York meat 
chopper, a patented device invented by 
David R. Kenyon, a machine which had 
a world wide sale and is yet on the mar- 
ket.. The plant of the company was 
located at Raritan, New Jersey, and in 
addition to the manufacture of machinery 
used in woolen manufacture, Mr. Kenyon 
made many valuable improvements in 
that class of machinery which have been 
introduced into the factories of Massa- 
chusetts, New Hampshire. New York, 
Xew Jersey and Ohio, while his patented 
machines are in use in almost every coun- 
try of the world. A most valuable im- 
provement was a machine for the manu- 
facture of chinchilla cloth, the new ma- 
chine making all the various grades of 
that cloth. He also patented a cloth dry- 
ing machine which is very valuable to 
the manufacturers. 

In 1895 the firm of D. R. Kenyon & 
Son was formed, Mr. Kenyon continuing 
the active head until his death in 1901. 
The business is still continued by the son, 
C. C. Kenyon, the products of the mill be- 
ing shipped all over the world, largely, 
however, in the United States and Canada. 
Mr. Kenyon was president of the Raritan 
Savings Bank, president of the Bridge- 
water school board, member of the board 
of county commissioners, member of the 
98 



P* «^. * 




/Q/gAj^A**, 



. X CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Manufacturers' Club of Philadelphia. 
member of Somerville Lodge, i\o. 46, 
Free and Accepted .Masons, and of the 
Second Reformed Church of Somerville, 
New Jersey. For several years he served 
as committeeman, but refused all other 
oilers of political preferment although 
often importuned. 

Mr. Kenyon married, December 2, (863, 
Mar) Elizabeth Carhart, of Clinton, New- 
Jersey. Their children are: 1. Minnie 
M.. unlovv of Henry P. Vanderveer, now 
a resident of Somerville, New Jersey. 2. 
Angeline D., an artist in oils; she studied 
her art at the School of Industrial Arts 
Philadelphia, and in the Metropolitan Mu- 
seum of Art in New York City and has 
gained success as an artist. 3. Charles 
C, of the firm of D. R. Kenyon & Son ; 
is a graduate of Stevens Institute of 
Technology, Hoboken, New Jersey, class 
of 1894, partner with his father from 1895 
to 1901 ; at the time of death of his father 
he became sole owner of the business ; 
ex-mayor of Somerville, New Jersey; 
member of Manufacturers' Club of Phil- 
adelphia ; and member of the Masonic- 
order. 



SPEAKMAN, William Elwood, 

Man of Affairs. 

A scion of distinguished Colonial and 
Revolutionary family, Mr. Speakman was 
widely and prominently connected with 
many leading patriotic and historical so- 
cieties of Philadelphia, New Jersey and 
elsewhere, and after an active, successful 
business life retired to his home in Wood- 
bury, New Jersey, and there resided until 
his death. He was widely known as a 
chemist and able business man through- 
out New Jersey and the Eastern States, 
his long connection with the wholesale 
drug trade through his prominent Phila- 
delphia house bringing him prominently 



before the trade. He had other important 
business interests, and was a well-known 
club member as well as being deeply in- 
terested in fraternity and philanthropy. 
A man of culture and refinement, he 
sought only that which was noble and 
elevating in life and numbered his friends 
among those of similar tastes. 

William Elwood Speakman was born 
in Camden, New Jersey, December 13, 
1858, died at his home in Woodbury, New 
Jersey, May 13, 1915. After extended 
courses of preparatory and classical study, 
he entered Philadelphia College of Pharma- 
cy, whence he was graduated and awarded 
the pharmacist's degree. His busines? 
life was spent in Philadelphia in associ- 
ation with a leading wholesale drug 
house, and after a successful business ca- 
reer he withdrew from active participa- 
tion in its affairs, retiring to the compan- 
ionship of his books, his friends, indulg- 
ing in extensive travels abroad and in 
pursuits congenial to a man of his tastes 
and means. He was a director of the 
Delaware Insurance Company, member of 
the board of managers of Red Bank Sani- 
tarium, and of the Transatlantic Society 
of America, and held membership in the 
Atlantic Union of London, the Colonial So- 
ciety of New England, the New Jersey So- 
ciety Sons of the Revolution, Pennsylvania 
Society Sons of the Revolution, the Wash- 
ington Association of Morristown, New 
Jersey, the Historical Society of Penn- 
sylvania, the Historical Society of New 
Jersey. His clubs were the Union League 
of Philadelphia, Philobiblon Society of 
Philadelphia, and the Navy League. He 
was a member of Florence Lodge, No. 87, 
Free and Accepted Masons, also holding 
the degrees of Royal Arch and Templar 
Masonry. He was a devout churchman, 
serving Christ Episcopal Church. Wood- 
bury, as vestryman and senior warden 
for many years. 



99 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Speakman married, October 15, was educated in the public schools and 

1885, Martha C. Winchester, of Wilkes- the "Free Academy," now the College of 

Barre, Pennsylvania, who survives him the City of New York. After completing 

with one daughter, Eleanor B. Speakman, his studies he entered into business life, 

and two brothers, Rev. Henry D. Speak- soon becoming a member of Spies, Kis- 



man and Dr. Howard Draper Speakman, 
of Pau, France. 



GALES, Joseph, 

Exemplary Citizen. 

Although a native son of North Caro- 
lina, Mr. Gales in his boyhood came to 
New York City, where he was afterwards 
prominent in the business world. He was 
of English ancestry, his grandfather, 
Joseph (1) Gales, having been born in 
Sheffield, England, where he was for 
many years editor of the Sheffield "Reg- 
ister." Later in life he came to the 
United States, living for a short time in 
Philadelphia from whence he went to 
Washington and afterwards to Raleigh, 
North Carolina, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his life. He married Winifred 
Marshall, of Carleton-on-Trent, England. 
One of his sons, Joseph (2) Gales, was 
with his brother-in-law, William W. 
Seaton, editor of the Washington "Na- 
tional Intelligencer." 

Another son, Weston Raleigh Gales, 
father of Joseph (3) Gales, was born in 
Raleigh, North Carolina, where he was 
for many years editor of the Raleigh 
"Register." He died in Petersburg, Vir- 
ginia, July 23, 1848. His wife, Mary 
(Spies) Gales, was born in New York 
City, October 29, 1815, died August 9, 
1907. 

Joseph (3) Gales, son of Weston 
Raleigh and Mary (Spies) Gales, was 
born in Raleigh, North Carolina, April 
29, 1847, died at his home in Elizabeth, 
New Jersey, May 1, 1916. After his 
father's death in 1848, he was brought by 
his mother to New York City, where he 



sam & Company, dealers in sporting 
goods. Later he became a member of the 
firm of Schoverling, Daly & Gales, also 
dealers in sporting goods, and at its in- 
corporation he was chosen president, 
which position he retained with capability 
and efficiency until his death in his 
seventieth year. Mr. Gales stood high in 
the business world as a man of ability 
and strong character, his name carrying 
weight in all matters of business impor- 
tance. He stood for righteousness in 
business as well as in private life, and on 
that principle guided the destinies of the 
corporation of which he was the execu- 
tive head. When the Hardware Club of 
New York City was formed. Mr. Gales 
was one of the charter members and for 
two years had been its president. 

In the late sixties he went to New Jer- 
sey to reside, where he became affiliated 
with St. John's Episcopal Church, serving 
for over a quarter of a century as Sunday 
school superintendent, vestryman and 
warden. His church interest extended to 
all parish affairs and for many years he 
sat as a delegate in the diocesan conven- 
tion. He was a member of the Southern 
Society and of the New York Hardware 
Club. 

In 1875, Mr. Gales married Julia L. 
Spencer, of Elizabeth, New Jersey, daugh- 
ter of Robert Dayton and Elizabeth Og- 
den Spencer. Mrs. Gales on her father's 
side is descended from Colonel Oliver 
Spencer, General Elias Dayton, one of 
the presidents of the Society of the Cin- 
cinnati, and Jonathan Dayton, one of the 
framers of the Constitution of the United 
States. Lieutenant-Colonel Francis Bar- 
ber, aide to General Washington, was her 
100 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



great-grandfather in the maternal line. 
Besides his wife, Mr. Gales is survived 
by two sons : Weston Spies Gales, of 
Detroit, Michigan, and Robert Spencer 
Gales, of Westfield, New Jersey. Mr. 
Gales was respected by all for his sterling 
business qualities, his charming person- 
ality, his ready sympathy and generous 
soul. 



BERG, Frederick, 

Business Man, Civil War Veteran. 

Frederick Berg, son of George and 
Frederica (Hill) Berg, was born March 
I, 1834, in Uberau, in the province of 
Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany. This prov- 
ince is composed of two main parts, sepa- 
rated from each other by a narrow strip 
of Prussian territory. The northern part 
is the province of Uberhessen ; the south- 
ern part is nearby the provinces of Stock- 
enburg and Rheinhessen. This section of 
the country is very hilly, yet of no great 
elevation. And it was here that Fred- 
erick Berg spent the early part of his life. 

When one looks back into the early life 
of Mr. Berg, we readily see that he was 
offered every possible opportunity a boy 
could have in order to build for himself a 
strong, healthy body. His father being 
a farmer naturally meant that Mr. Berg 
spent many hours in the field. The 
youth's training w; s gained in the school 
of experience, where he learned that fru- 
gality and ambition are the key to suc- 
cess. There are very few men to-day who 
are able to say that they have remained 
firm to the teachings of their boyhood. 
This was not the case with Mr. Berg. 
Along with his practical training, this 
perfect example of sturdy youth received 
his schooling in the neighboring "Volke- 
schule," where in former years his Grand- 
father Hill had presided. The time which 
ordinarily would be allotted to most boys 



for play, Mr. Berg spent in hard labor, 
and it is interesting to notice that he 
trained his sons in the same manner. 

It might be worthy to mention that, 
when only two years of age, his parents 
emigrated to Poland, a country — just as 
our west was — abundant in opportunities 
for the farmer. But his parents met with 
failure in this broad, uncultivated region 
and were forced to return to Uberau 
penniless. Here Mr. Berg's father and 
able-bodied brothers toiled night and day 
to regain that which they lost. 

Frederick Berg was the youngest of a 
family of nine children. Lizzie, the 
oldest, married when quite young and 
died at the age of ninety-one. Two 
children survived her; namely, George 
and Margaretta. Rebecca, the second 
child, married and came to America 
in 1841. Nothing has been heard of 
her since. Margaretta, the third child, 
married and spent the remainder of her 
life in Germany. She also lived to the old 
age of eighty-one. George, the oldest 
son, married and resided in his native 
land. He lived to be sixty-three years of 
age. Catherine, the fifth child, married 
and remained in Hesse-Darmstadt the re- 
mainder of her life. Marie, the youngest 
daughter, came to America, where she 
died at middle age. Henry, the second 
oldest son, studied piano manufacture in 
Vienna, where he for a time was inter- 
ested in the same. He likewise got the 
fever for the new world to which he came 
in 1852. Nothing has been heard of him 
since his arrival in this country. Philip, 
the eighth child, spent most of his life 
in Vienna. He is said to have been an 
enthusiastic socialistic worker. 

Upon completion of his studies, Mr. 
Berg, then only sixteen years of age, 
gave up the rural life of his forefathers 
and journeyed to Vienna to learn a trade. 
He apprenticed himself there to a hatter, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



from whom he learned that trade. Dur- 
ing his stay in Vienna, his brothers, Philip 
and Henry, were of considerable assist- 
ance to him offering him from time to 
time that ever welcomed "big brother" 
aid. In those days, hat manufacture was 
not conducted as it is to-day — in one 
locality. The people did not have run- 
ning water — water, which is the essential 
thing in the making of the hat — nor did 
they have modern mechanical devices, for 
it was about this time that the steam 
engine was invented ; in fact, the first rail- 
road of the continent was built from 
Nurhberg to Furth when Mr. Berg was 
an infant. Consequently, one branch of 
hatting was probably conducted at a con- 
siderable distance from another. Mr. 
Berg used to speak of the many trying 
hours he spent at the side of a nearby 
stream shrinking felt. 

After becoming what one might call 
an expert at the trade, having mas- 
tered the business in all its branches, he 
in 1854 journeyed upon his "Wander- 
schaft" for two years, but first of all made 
a short visit at his home in Uberau. This 
journey was experienced by most boys of 
the time. As its name implies, it was 
merely wandering from town to town, 
stopping a short time in each town to 
practice a newly learned trade. This 
journey as one can see helped to give Mr. 
Berg a broad view of the hatting trade 
and not a narrow one as he probably 
would have had, providing he had re- 
mained in Vienna. This "Wanderschaft" 
meant hard labor and very often despair 
to a young apprentice, but Mr. Berg had 
in his nature that inexhaustible endurance 
and "stickatitiveness," which meant so 
much to him in later life. He wandered 
in this manner for two years and finally 
completed his journey in the city of Dant- 
zig where he remained for almost a year. 

Upon the arrival of his twenty-second 



birthday he was compelled to go home to 
see if he must serve in the army. Every 
youth was not obligated to serve his coun- 
try, and the way in which this was ascer- 
tained was by drawing numbers. The 
place for this drawal was Dickburg — not 
very far from his home village — and Mr. 
Berg with many other youths assembled 
to "try their luck." As the case turned 
out, he drew a high number, which meant 
that he was not compelled to serve. An 
amusing tale in reference to this big day 
is told of Mr. Berg. The drawal took 
place in the loft of a two-story building, 
which had a balcony. As soon as he dis- 
covered his luck — I say "luck" because 
had he drawn a low number, his oppor- 
tunities of migrating to America, which 
affected his life so immensely, would have 
been destroyed — he with several other 
young men leaped from this balcony to 
the ground. They all apparently had the 
same idea in mind, which was to hire a 
band and celebrate their freedom, for 
serving in the army in those days was by 
no means an easy mode of life. 

It is a question just as to what induced 
Mr. Berg to come to America. The con- 
ditions in the Fatherland then were in a 
most unsatisfactory state to a young man 
of a freedom-loving and ambitious dispo- 
sition. Germany at that time was com- 
posed of a new democracy and the old 
aristocracy. A conflict naturally ensued 
which turned out in an actual victory for 
the former, and it was either because of 
hopelessness for the future, or the popu- 
lar longing for the new world, which in- 
duced Mr. Berg to make the then tedious 
journey of sixty-three days to America. 

His arrival in this country in the year 
1856 marks the turning point of his life. 
His journey to this country so far as we 
know passed uneventful, except for the 
one acquaintance which he made in the 
person of a Mr. Carl Croll. This gentle- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGK.\ril\ 



man remained a lifelong friend of Mr. 
Berg, and it was death only which sev- 
ered their mutual friendship. It seems 
strange that both of these gentlemen 
should interest themselves in the hatting 
trade, although Mr. CrolPs business dif- 
fered slightly in that he manufactured 
caps. This gentleman located himself in 
Brooklyn, New York. 

Mr. Berg, upon leaving Mr. Croll, 
headed directly for Orange, New Jersey, 
in which place he had been directed. 
Upon his arrival in < (range he called upon 
a Mr. Henry W. Egner, who at that time 
ciuiied a jewelry store on Main street of 
the aforesaid city. Mr. Egner was Mr. 
Berg's first acquaintance in this country 
and remained in close contact with him 
during the remainder of his life. 

In 1857 Mr. Berg married Anna Nickel. 
daughter of Kajeden Nickel, of Orange. 
This family came from Bavaria only a 
few years previous. Mrs. Berg might be 
considered an ideal wife. She encour- 
aged and helped her husband in every 
way possible, even going so far as to work 
in her husband's factory after he had 
established himself in business. 

In 1862 Mr. Berg voluntarily enlisted 
in the army. Previous to his enlisting he 
was an employee in a hat factory owned 
by a Mr. Stocker. It is said that for fear 
his wife might object to his enlisting, he 
did so without consulting her. He en- 
listed in Company H. Twenty-sixth Regi- 
ment. New Jersey Infantry, and served in 
several momentous battles, the principal 
one being the capture of Fredericksburg 
Heights. 

After nine months of faithful and un- 
erring service in the army, he returned 
home, and in 1804 he was in command of 
sufficient capital to begin business for 
himself and finally established the firm of 
F. Berg & Company. His first attempt 
in business for himself proved to be of 



great success. He, during the early part 
of his career as a hat manufacturer, 
changed partners several times. By de- 
grees he widened the scope of his activi- 
ties until a large modernly equipped plant 
was in constant operation, supplying the 
demands of his many customers. Too 
much emphasis cannot be laid upon the 
fact that he possessed extremely sound 
judgment and remarkable foresight. In- 
tegrity might be called the keynote upon 
which his character as a manufacturer 
and as a citizen rested. As his sons be- 
came of age they were taken in as mem- 
bers of the firm and served their father as 
true sons should, and at present they com- 
pose the firm. After they obtained a firm 
hand of the business, Mr. Berg withdrew 
and in 1S89 established himself in the 
coal and wood business. He continued 
to be active in this business until a few 
years before his death, which was on Feb- 
ruary 20. 1908. 

Mr. Berg bad children: Mary, died in 
infancy; George, died in infancy; Fred, 
born in i860, unmarried, now senior mem- 
ber of F. Berg & Company ; Charles, born 
1861. married Lucy May Miller and their 
son is Charles Frederic, their daughter, 
Anna Janet, died at the age of fourteen; 
Emma, born 1863, married YYilliard J. 
Nixon, their son is Frederick \Y. ; Henry. 
born 1865, married Anna E. Leimer, their 
sons are William H. and Henry: Amelia, 
born 1870, married Paul G. Woodruff, 
who died in 1912, their son is Frederick 
P.; and George Christian, born 1873, mar- 
ried Alice Archer. 

Mr. Berg made three trips to his Father- 
land. The first was in 1883. He merely 
visited his relatives, and met his old 
teacher. Professor Russler. The meeting 
was a very touching one, for Professor 
Russler was so highly pleased with seeing 
Mr. Berg that the former wept. Mr. 
Berg's second visit took place some years 



[03 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



after his former one. He did not go alone 
on this trip as he did on his first; but 
rather his wife and daughter Emma ac- 
companied him. A third visit was made 
some years after his second one. This 
last visit was a very short one. 

Mr. Berg had other interests of impor- 
tance and was closely identified with the 
Second National Bank of Orange. He 
was an austere Republican, but had little 
inclination for public office, answering, 
however, every demand made upon him, 
if in the line of his duty as a citizen. For 
five years he served as assessment com- 
missioner and aided in civic betterment 
to the utmost of his power. He was loyal 
to the Lutheran church and never failed 
in his duty to mankind. 



MILLER, J. Wickliff, 

Business Man. 

There is no positive rule for achieving 
success, and yet in the life of the success- 
ful man there are always lessons which 
might well be followed. The man who 
gains prosperity is he who can see and 
utilize the opportunities that come into 
his path. The essential conditions of 
human life are ever the same, the sur- 
roundings of individuals differing but 
slightly, and when one man passes others 
on the highway of life and reaches the 
goal of prosperity before those who 
perhaps started out before him, it is be- 
cause he has the power to use advantages 
which properly encompassed his fellows 
as well as himself, but were either not 
seen, or neglected, by them. The quali- 
ties of keen discrimination, sound judg- 
ment, and executive ability, entered very 
largely into the make-up of the late J. 
Wickliff Miller, of Orange, New Jersey, 
and were contributing elements to the 
material success which came to him. He 
was a descendant of one of the old fam- 



ilies of the State, Millerstown being 
named in their honor, this being the pres- 
ent town of Union, Essex county, New 
Jersey. 

(I) John Miller, first known ancestor 
of the line herein followed, settled first at 
Lynn, Massachusetts, and later, in 1649, 
at East Hampton, Long Island, where he 
spent the remainder of his days. He mar- 
ried a Miss Pierson, of Suffolk county, 
New York, a daughter of the Rev. Abra- 
ham Pierson, whose son Abram was first 
president of Yale College, serving as such 
from 1 701 to 1707. Abraham Pierson was 
born in Massachusetts, 1641, died 1707, 
scholar and educator. The sons of John 
Miller emigrated to New Jersey and set- 
tled in Elizabeth. 

(II) William Miller, son of John and 

(Pierson) Miller, was a resident of 

Elizabeth, New Jersey, and died in Sep- 
tember, 171 1. He married Hannah , 

who died in 171 1. 

(III) Samuel Miller, son of William 
and Hannah Miller, was born in 1674, 
died March 14, 1759. He married Eliza- 
beth Thompson, born in 1675, died No- 
vember 13, 1747, daughter of Thomas and 
Mary Thompson. 

(IV) Enoch Miller, son of Samuel and 
Elizabeth (Thompson) Miller, was born 
in 1708, died December 1, 1756. He mar- 
ried Hannah Baker, born in 1712, daugh- 
ter of Jacobus Baker (or Backer, as the 
name was then spelled) and Margaret 
(Stuyvesant) Baker, a half-sister of Gov- 
ernor Peter Stuyvesant, of New York. 

(V) Enoch (2) Miller, son of Enoch 

(1) and Hannah (Baker) Miller, was born 
in 1733, died January 10, 1813. He mar- 
ried Eliza Ross, daughter of John Ross. 

(VI) Enoch (3) Miller, son of Enoch 

(2) and Eliza (Ross) Miller, was born 
May 17, 1761, died April 21, 1841. He 
served gallantly as a soldier from the 
spring of 1777 to the autumn of 1781 in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the War of the Revolution. Pension was 
given his widow. He married Keziah 
Stites Ross, May 25, 1783. She was born 
August 17, 1767, died December 1, 1851, 
daughter of David Ross, who was one of 
the jury that tried and convicted Morgan, 
who shot Caldwell. 

(VII) Josiah Miller, son of Enoch (3) 
and Keziah Stites (Ross) Miller, was a 
farmer by occupation. By diligence and 
thrift he was enabled to provide a com- 
fortable home for his family. He married 
Lucy Ann Jeffries. 

(VIII) J. Wickliff Miller, son of Josiah 
and Lucy Ann (Jeffries) Miller, was born 
in the town of Union, Essex county, New 
Jersey, 1840, and died in 191 5, at Goshen, 
New York, where he had gone in order 
to restore his shattered health. He was a 
very young child when his parents re- 
moved to the State of Iowa, and in that 
section of the country he acquired his 
education and grew to manhood. After 
some years he returned to the State in 
which he was born and there settled in 
Orange, which remained his place of resi- 
dence until his death, the last fifteen years 
of his life being spent at the home of his 
only daughter, Mrs. Charles Berg. He 
established himself in business as a hat- 
ter, with which line of work he had been 
practically identified for some time, and 
followed this successfully until he retired 
from active business responsibilities. He 
was a man of quiet, gentle manner, earn- 
est and steadfast in all he undertook, and 
won the confidence of numerous friends 
as well as that of his business associates. 
In political opinion he was a Democrat, 
and his religious membership was with 
the Orange Baptist Church. His frater- 
nal affiliation was with Corinthian Lodge, 
No. 57, Free and Accepted Masons. 

Mr. Miller married, in Orange, New 
Jersey, Jane Burnett, born in Springfield, 
Essex county, New Jersey, a daughter of 



Aaron Halsey and Martha C. (Bradbury) 
Burnett; she died seven years after her 
marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Miller had chil- 
dren : 1. Charles H., now a resident of 
California; married Bertha Dolbier and 
has a son, Herbert W. 2. Wilbur N., who 
died September 12, 1916. 3. Lucy May, 
who became the wife of Charles Berg and 
they were the parents of a daughter, Anna 
Janet, who died at the age of fourteen 
years; and a son, Charles Frederic; Mr. 
and Mrs. Berg reside at No. 215 High- 
land avenue, Orange, New Jersey. 

The Millers are connected by marriage 
or otherwise with many of the old lead- 
ing families of Elizabeth and Westfield, 
New Jersey, and through the services in 
the Revolutionary War of Enoch Miller 
and Joseph Acken are eligible to member- 
ship in the Revolutionary Societies. 



FLANIGEN, William Alexander, 

Merchant, Active in Community Affain. 

This is a success-worshiping age. The 
men we delight to honor are those who 
have accomplished something real and 
tangible, the significance of which we can 
grasp with our five senses, the men who 
have built up industries or raised them- 
selves from positions of obscurity and 
poverty to places of distinction and 
wealth. We demand success and, as 
though in response, we have progress in 
all the departments of material accom- 
plishment such as the Old World has 
never before witnessed. Perhaps the 
most characteristic of all the achieve- 
ments of the day is that which has taken 
place in the business world, in the line of 
industrial and commercial development, 
and it is the leaders of activity in this 
direction that are our choicest heroes. 
The late William Alexander Flanigen, a 
distinguished merchant of Woodbury, 
New Jersey, was one of those who rose 



105 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



by his own efforts to a place of promi- 
nence in the community of which he was 
a member, and whose career is as con- 
spicuous for the high principles he main- 
tained during its course as for the success 
that attended it. It may be said of him 
without exaggeration that he was a pro- 
gressive, virile American citizen of the 
self-made type, thoroughly in harmony 
with the spirit of this modern age and 
who, in compassing his own success, per- 
formed a corresponding service for the 
community. 

William Alexander Flanigen was a na- 
tive of this country, born at Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, July 3, 1842. He was, how- 
ever, of Irish descent and inherited the 
many virtues and marked talents of the 
race. He was the son of William Con- 
way and Jane (Adams) Flanigen, old and 
highly respected residents of the city of 
Philadelphia, where Mr. Flanigen, St., 
conducted a successful dry goods house 
for many years. The first half of Mr. 
Flanigen's life was spent in the city of 
his birth, and it was there that his entire 
business career was carried on, though 
he made his home during the latter years 
of his life in Woodbury, New Jersey. He 
received his education at the public 
schools of Philadelphia, and would have 
graduated from the high school had it not 
been that ill health compelled him to 
withdraw from the course just before the 
close of the year. Ill health, indeed, 
dogged him not a little in his youth and 
his schooling was not the only thing that 
was curtailed by it. At the opening of 
the Civil War, he at once offered his serv- 
ices to the United States government and 
enlisted in a Pennsylvania regiment, but 
his health was adjudged not sufficiently 
robust and he was discharged. His father, 
with a parent's usual thought, desired 
that the lad should follow in his steps and 
engage in the dry goods business, and 



with that end in view apprenticed him to 
a dry goods merchant in Philadelphia for 
the munificent wage of fifty dollars a 
year. The lad did not, however, take to 
the idea at all kindly, it being his desire 
to take up the grocery business instead, 
and being of an exceptionally determined 
and persistent nature, he finally over- 
came his father's objections. These were 
extremely strong, however, and although 
he finally allowed his son to have his own 
way in the matter, it was with many 
prognostications of failure that the old 
gentleman gave his consent. However, 
the young man did not lose heart, but 
set out with enthusiasm to seek a posi- 
tion. This was no such difficult matter 
for the bright, intelligent boy, and he was 
soon installed in a retail grocery store in 
the city, where he made himself most 
valuable to his employers. He developed 
a remarkable talent for accounts and 
while still little more than a youth became 
well known as an expert. With thip 
ability, he found it no great matter to 
gain advancement in the store where he 
happened to be employed or to find new 
and better positions elsewhere. He 
worked in a number of establishments, 
among others with the large wholesale 
firm of Janney & Andrews with the title 
of "head bookkeeper and financier." and 
it was while in this employ that his ac- 
counting became so well known that he 
was called upon by outside concerns to 
straighten their accounts and do the gen- 
eral work that is now done by expert ac- 
countants. His progress was very rapid 
from this time on, and in 1874 he left 
Janney & Andrews to go with Thomas 
Roberts & Company, also wholesale 
grocers. He began his association with 
this concern in the same capacity as that 
in which he had worked for Janney & 
Andrews, but before long he was taken 
into the firm as a partner. This was in 



to6 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the year 1875 and for five years thereafter 
he had a share in the profits of this large 
and lucrative business. In 1880, however, 
he severed his connection with this com- 
pany, and in partnership with Robert 
Comly founded the firm of Comly & 
Flanigen, and engaged in a wholesale 
grocery commission business, and later 
the firm of Comly, Flanigen & Company 
was formed. Both these companies flour- 
ished greatly and Mr. Flanigen continued 
a partner in both until the time of his 
death. He was always greatly interested 
in the welfare of the grocery business in 
a general sense and did much work to 
advance its interests in connection with 
his membership in the Grocers and Im- 
porters Exchange. He was also a mem- 
ber of the Philadelphia Bourse, and a 
prominent figure in the business world 
of the city generally. 

But it was not only in the business 
world that Mr. Flanigen was a conspicu- 
ous figure. He was a man of far too wide 
an outlook on life, of too broad sym- 
pathies to permit him to rest content with 
a career devoted wholly to business. He 
was, on the contrary, deeply interested in 
many aspects of life, and concerned him- 
self for the general good of the commu- 
nity. He was active in the matter of pre- 
serving the forests of the country and the 
American Forestry Association. Art and 
science both offered him delightful sub- 
jects for study and recreation and he be- 
longed to a number of associations which 
existed for their cultivation Among these 
should be named the Fairmount Park Art 
Association, the Franklin Institute of the 
State of Pennsylvania, the Philadelphia 
Zoological Society and the American 
Civic Association. 

The Flanigen family, of which Mr. 
Flanigen was so distinguished a member, 
had its origin in the North of Ireland, 
and was of that extremely enterprising 



Irish Protestant class that have made so 
great an industrial region of the upper 
portion of the island. On his mother's 
side he was of Scotch descent, his mater- 
nal grandmother, Mary Robertson, hav- 
ing been adopted and brought as a child 
to America by her aunt, the widow of 
Colonel Bryce, one of General Washing- 
ton's aides in the Revolution. Mary 
Robertson married Robert Adams, a car- 
penter and builder of Philadelphia. Mr. 
Flanigen was a Presbyterian in his re- 
ligious convictions, and during his resi- 
dence in Philadelphia attended the Cal- 
vary Church. After corning to Woodbury 
to live he joined the Presbyterian church 
there and until his death was active in its 
interests. For eighteen years, from 1879 
to [897, he was the choirmaster there and 
greatly enjoyed the work which brought 
him into constant contact with an art 
greatly beloved by him. He was a stanch 
Republican in his political views all his 
life. 

Mr. Flanigen was married, on May 14. 
1884, to Julia Pierce Herbert, a daughter 
of Henry and Cornelia (McMaster) Her- 
bert. Mr. Herbert was a Xew Englander 
of French Huguenot stock who in the 
latter years of his life moved to Pennsyl- 
vania and resided upon a farm in the 
vicinity of Frankford. Pennsylvania. He 
was a man of considerable means and 
greatly interested in municipal and edu- 
cational matters. He died in 1856, and in 
1873 ms family moved to Woodbury, New 
Jersey, where Mr. Flanigen met his future 
wife, and it was after their marriage that 
the former came to Woodbury to reside. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Flanigen were born four 
children: Jessy, William Herbert, Ruth 
and Donald. 

The death of Mr. Flanigen occurred on 

April 9. 1915, and was felt as a very real 

loss by the entire community. It is al- 

wavs difficult, if not impossible, to esti- 

07 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mate the effect upon their environment 
of such characters as that of Mr. Flani- 
gen, characters the influence of which de- 
pends not so much on actual deeds they 
do, as upon the subtle force which com- 
municates itself unseen to all about from 
a strong and gracious personality. But 
although any actual gauge is difficult we 
are surely justified in valuing such influ- 
ence very highly. In Mr. Flanigen's case 
his tastes and instincts were blended in so 
fortunate an admixture as to seem pre- 
destined for the gain and redistribution of 
knowledge. It would, perhaps, be diffi- 
cult to say whether art with its more 
direct emotional appeal, or science, whose 
voice is for the intellect, ranked higher in 
his tastes, but certain it is that he loved 
both and was able to gratify his craving 
for both extensively. Yet love them as 
he did, he never allowed them to interfere 
with the practical duties of life nor with 
the normal degree of intercourse with his 
fellows so essential to healthy, whole- 
some human life. Indeed he never en- 
joyed himself more thoroughly than when 
the dispenser and recipient of those 
amenities that a man knows only in his 
own home and in the bosom of his own 
family. It thus came about that the 
knowledge and the enlightenment that he 
gained in his excursions into the realms 
of experience and of books was again 
given out to those fortunate enough to 
meet him in an intimate relationship, and 
thus directly and indirectly influenced 
the community in the direction of refine- 
ment of taste and general culture. His 
taste in reading led him naturally to 
many subjects, literary and historic, and 
in all of these he was well versed. How 
pure and well-judged, how discriminating 
were these tastes is well exemplified in 
his home, which reflects these qualities in 
every detail. His spirit was essentially 
youthful and, to the end of his life, he 



found in the young most congenial com- 
panions. If it is difficult to estimate ac- 
curately the influence for good of such a 
man, it is at least easy to set it very high. 



HALL, Isaac A., 

Man of Affairs. Philanthropist. 

The name of Hall ranks very high in 
the commercial history of Northern New 
Jersey, particularly in the silk industry of 
America. In 1857, Albert Hall, the father 
of Isaac A. Hall, established in the city of 
Paterson, New Jersey, what was practi- 
cally a new industry in the United States, 
i. e., the manufacture of reeds and harness 
for silk weaving. He built up and suc- 
cessfully managed a very large business, 
continuing actively in it until his death, 
when his son, Isaac A. Hall, took over 
the active management of the business. 
From that time it took rank among the 
leading industries of New Jersey. Isaac 
A. Hall expanded that business, skillfully 
managed it, and constantly enlarged it, 
until the business became a leader in its 
line. 

His activities covered the planning and 
erection of large mills for industrial pur- 
poses and uses, directorships in large and 
influential corporations, service to his 
city and State in public capacities of 
great importance, and service as director 
of numerous charitable institutions and 
enterprises. He was likewise active in 
a social and fraternal way. Repeated 
efforts were made to have Mr. Hall enter 
political life, but he absolutely refused to 
entertain any idea of political perferment, 
except when induced to serve in some 
public capacity upon some State commis- 
sions. Continued and persistent efforts 
were made to induce him to leave Pater- 
son and settle at Allentown, Pennsylva- 
nia, where, after the State of Pennsyl- 
vania had begun to attract silk manufac- 



108 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



turers, he had established large indus- 
tries. He continued his residence in the 
city of Paterson, feeling that ties of 
friendship held him there which far out- 
weighed any other consideration. He 
was a social leader in the city, and a 
prominent member of all of the clubs in 
and around the vicinity of the city of 
Paterson and Northern New Jersey. His 
frank open manner, well-known integrity 
and honor in all his business dealings, 
proved him the unusual man and made 
his life an inspiration to others. 

Isaac A. Hall was born in Paterson, 
New Jersey, October 9, i860, and died at 
Roosevelt Hospital, New York, Novem- 
ber 3, 1915, where he had been taken to 
undergo treatment. The family came 
from Staleybridge, England, in the month 
of September, 1857, and located in the 
city of Paterson, New Jersey. Albert 
Hall was very familiar with English mill 
supplies, and after residing in the city of 
Paterson for a period of three years, de- 
cided to undertake the manufacture of 
reeds and harness for silk weaving. At 
that time these were not manufactured in 
America, but extensively imported. He 
began in a modest way, and through in- 
dustry became successful, continuing his 
business until his death, August 4, 1870. 
His son, Isaac A. Hall, was then but ten 
years of age. 

Isaac A. Hall continued his course in 
the public schools of Paterson until 
graduation. For a time after graduation, 
he took up a business and commercial 
course at Latimer's Business College. He 
loved the sea, and yielding to his impulse 
he took a course upon a training ship. 
His mother sent him to the training ship 
"Minnehaha," then after a time he was 
transferred to the frigate "Constitution," 
upon which ship he completed his term of 
service. In the meantime the business 
founded by his father had been continued, 



and upon completion of his career at sea 
the young man became actively connected 
with it, and when he attained his majority 
he was taken into the firm. He immedi- 
ately showed such business acumen and 
unusual executive ability that in a few 
years the others had retired and Isaac A. 
Hall assumed and took over the entire 
business. In the month of January, 1883, 
he re-organized the business, assuming 
the trade name of I. A. Halt & Company, 
and immediately undertook operations on 
a very extensive scale. At about that 
time the company's factory at No. 18 
Division street (now Hamilton avenue), 
Paterson, New Jersey, was, with its en- 
tire contents, totally destroyed by fire. 
Very little insurance had been carried 
upon the business, consequently the loss 
was a severe one. Rising promptly to the 
emergency, Mr. Hall and his mother 
shortly resumed active operations at the 
branch, No. no Straight street. The 
partnership with his mother continued 
until May 6, 1886, when Mr. Hall took 
over by purchase the interests of his 
mother, and the business became his sole 
property. At once larger quarters were 
obtained in West street, where the busi- 
ness was continued until 1888, at which 
time he had completed a large plant on 
Hamilton avenue, in which plant until 
his death he conducted the business of 
I. A. Hall & Company. The specialties 
which his father had first manufactured 
in America, together with general 
weavers' supplies, vast quantities of 
which were used in weaving in Paterson 
mills, continued to be manufactured by 
Mr. Hall in his new plant, and the steady 
and insistent demand for them furnished 
a very large shipping business. This 
demand was not entirely a domestic de- 
mand. The character and quality of the 
merchandise and supplies manufactured 
led to an extensive European business. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Valuable patents were acquired, and 
many of the supplies made at his factory 
could not be obtained elsewhere. He 
employed several hundred hands. In ad- 
dition to the manufacture and sale of his 
own products, he was sales agent for 
large French and English mills. The 
business was of such magnitude that it 
required most of the time and energy of 
Mr. Hall. He was a man of splendid fore- 
sight and anticipating the needs of Pater- 
son to accommodate small manufacturers 
in the silk and other textile industries, 
who were unable to build their plants, he 
erected large mills to meet this demand, 
purchased large tracts of land on Fulton 
and other streets in the territory known 
as Dean's Hill, in the city of Paterson, 
and in 1898 he erected for industrial pur- 
poses the first Hall mill. The instant 
success of this venture caused him to 
duplicate that mill, by the erection on the 
adjoining property of another of the same 
size and type. These mills instantly be- 
came popular and have been constantly 
filled with high class tenants. His suc- 
cess in this line in Paterson led him to 
duplicate it in the city of Allentown, 
Pennsylvania, where his mills were much 
sought after by the best tenants and his 
success there was immediate. Time vin- 
dicated the keenness of his business judg- 
ment and the clearness of his foresight. 
The expansion of his business both in the 
city of Paterson and the city of Allen- 
town continued, and much of his time 
had to be spent in the city of Allentown, 
where he was as well and favorably 
known as he was in Northern New Jer- 
sey. Aside from these business activities 
he served as president of an extensive 
corporation, manufacturing broad silks in 
the city of Philadelphia, was president of 
the Union Transit Company, operating a 
line of automobiles between Paterson, 
New Jersey, and Ridgewood, New Jer- 



sey ; was vice-president of the Eagle Fire 
Insurance Company of Newark, New Jer- 
sey ; was an organizer, vice-president 
and one of the largest stockholders of 
the German American Trust Company, 
one of Paterson's leading banking insti- 
tutions ; was vice-president of the Title 
Guarantee Land Company ; a director in 
the Passaic Building Association, and 
numerous other land companies; a direc- 
tor of the Clifton Trust Company, the 
Nassau and Suffolk Lighting Company of 
Long Island; The Fourth Ward Market 
Association, and many other interests too 
numerous to be enumerated herein. 

Despite his disinclination for political 
honors, Mr. Hall served as commissioner 
of public instruction, as president of the 
park commission of the city of Paterson, 
and as chairman of the most important 
committees in those commissions. During 
the administration of John Franklin Fort, 
as Governor of New Jersey, he served as 
one of the New Jersey commissioners to 
the Alaska-Yukon Exposition, giving 
most valuable advice and service to the 
commission. He was a director in the 
Young Men's Christian Association, and 
a member of the advisory board of the 
Paterson General Hospital of Paterson, 
New Jersey, and the Nathan and Miriam 
Barnert Memorial Hospital of Paterson, 
New Jersey, was one of the most philan- 
thropic citizens that Paterson ever had. 
His charities, however, were quiet and 
unostentatious, so that few knew of their 
magnitude. He was keenly interested in 
boys and young men and particularly in 
the newsboys of his native city, for whose 
welfare and advancement he did much. 
For years he was the host at a Christmas 
dinner at which all the newsboys and 
their friends were his guests, and this 
deserving charity he maintained each 
Christmas up to the time of his death. 
One of the handsomest floral pieces at 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the funeral obsequies was contributed by 
the newsboys, each of whom gave his 
contribution from his scanty income. 

Mr. Hall held all degrees in Masonry, 
both Scottish and York Kite up to and 
including the thirty-second. For a time 
he was an active officer in Ivanhoe Lodge, 
No. 88, Free and Accepted Masons; he 
was also one of the most prominent mem- 
bers of Mecca Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of New York City. Like- 
wise, he was a member of the Junior 
Order of American Mechanics, and the 
most prominent member of Paterson 
Lodge, Xo. '>o. Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. In his daily life, he ex- 
emplified fully the best principles and 
tenets of these orders. His activity and 
interest in the order of Elks was most 
pronounced. Through his most generous 
liberality, the Paterson Lodge was able 
to erect one of the finest club houses to 
be found in the East. His assistance to 
this home on a substantial basis was very 
practical and his support of it was very 
liberal, and his bequests at the time of his 
death most generous, running into thou- 
sands of dollars. He was prominent in 
all associations of silk manufacturers, 
most particularly in the Silk Association 
of Paterson, and the Silk Association of 
America. He was passionately devoted 
to sports, both outdoor and indoor. He 
took an active interest in the North Jer- 
sey Driving and Agricultural Association, 
the Paterson Cricket Club, the Hibernia 
Cowling Club, the North Jersey Automo- 
bile Association, The North Jersey Coun- 
try Club and the Areola Country Club. 
Other club connections were the Lake 
Hopatcong Club, the Livingston Club at 
Allentown, Pennsylvania, and while in 
the City of New York he took active in- 
terest and was a member of the Lotus 
and the Knickerbocker clubs. For a num- 
ber of years he was a staff officer upon 



the staff of Brigadier-General Edwin W. 
Mine, commanding the Second Brigade, 
New Jersey National Guard, ranking as 
major. He loved horseback riding and 
al\vay> kept for immediate use one or two 
very fine mounts. 

Mr. Hall's first wife, who was Minnie 
(Shaw) Hall, died in 1905. He is sur- 
vived by his second wife, Vaugn (Smith) 
Hall, formerly of Weatherford, Texas, 
now residing at the family home, No. 167 
Hamilton avenue, Paterson, New Jersey. 
Ik- was a member and liberal supporter 
of St. Paul's Episcopal Church at Pater- 
son, Xew Jersey. 

In the death of Mr. Hall, Paterson lost 
one of its most prominent and beloved 
sons. For several years prior to his death 
he had not been in the best of health. The 
strain of constant business activity and 
the pressure and solution of numerous 
and perplexing business problems finally 
proved too much. His health gave way 
under the strain, and he was compelled to 
resort to the best efforts of specialists to 
prolong his life. His place in the affec- 
tions of the multitude comprising the cos- 
mopolitan population of the city of Pater- 
son was one that few could attain. He 
was always foremost in civic service. The 
question uppermost in his mind always 
was what was for the best interests of his 
native city. His popularity through his 
social and congenial disposition was un- 
bounded. His ability as an honorable and 
shrewd business man, ever willing to give 
service and advice to others, caused his 
name to become a household word in his 
native city. The funeral obsequies were 
conducted from St. Paul's Episcopal 
Church. Paterson, New Jersey, by the 
rector. Rev. David Stuart Hamilton, D. 
D., and interment was made in a magnifi- 
cent mausoleum erected upon the com- 
manding site of the Hall plot in the Cedar 
Lawn Cemetery. 

IT 



ENCYCLOrEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



His estate showed a valuation of more 
than million and a half dollars, consisting 
of valuable mills, manufacturing plants, 
and valuable stocks and bonds. The prin- 
cipal beneficiary under his will was his 
widow, Vaugn (Smith) Hall. Other 
beneficiaries, aside from his many public 
bequests, were his two sisters, Mrs. Alice 
Van Gieson, Mrs. Sarah Morehead, and 
a brother, Thomas W. Hall, all of whom 
reside in the city of Paterson. 

The obituaries published in all the 
papers in New Jersey, Pennsylvania and 
New York City at the time of Mr. Hall's 
death paid deserving and beautiful tribute 
to his memory. One of the best illustra- 
tions of this is to be found in the follow- 
ing extract taken from the "Paterson 
Press" of November 4, 191 5: 

A STRONG PILLAR FALLEN. 

In the death of Isaac A. Hall, Paterson has 
lost one of the strongest pillars of its citizen- 
ship. It may be truthfully said that few men who 
have been active in the developmental process of 
this community for the past quarter of a century 
have borne a more conspicuous, influential and 
honorable part than the one whose activities 
have been suddenly stilled by the cold hand of 
death, while he was still in the zenith of his re- 
markable powers. 

It may with equal truth be said that no man 
ever lived in our city who was better loved by 
all classes and conditions of its people than 
Major Hall. Had he been ambitious for public 
office there is none within their gift he could 
not have had. But, while he was constantly 
ready to act as a servant of the people when he 
was called upon, and had often filled responsible 
public stations always with exemplary fidelity and 
ability, and while he was one of the most zealous 
and devoted champions of the political party of 
which he was a life-long adherent — he stead- 
fastly declined the numerous appeals which were 
from time to time made to him to accept nomi- 
nations for high offices when such acceptance 
would have meant sure election. 

But Major Hall with all his energy and initi- 
ative was the incarnation of modesty and pre- 
ferred to confine his activities to a business 
career and his interest outside of that to the 



noble cause of charity and philanthropy. No 
larger-minded or more generous soul ever 
graced this city than that which dwelt in the 
bosom of Isaac A. Hall. And none who have 
departed this life bearing with them the bene- 
dictions of an entire city will live longer in the 
memories of the people of Paterson than the 
one whom we are now compelled to see carried 
to his final rest. 



KILBURN, Charles Fleming, 

Estimable Citizen. 

In 1632, at Wood Ditton, Cambridge- 
shire, England, Thomas Kilburn, the 
founder of the American Kilborne family 
(also Kilbourn, Kilborne, Kilbon), was 
warden of St. Mary's parish church. In 
1635, at the age of fifty-five, with his wife 
Frances and five children, he sailed for 
America in the ship "Increase," and, 
reaching this country, made settlement 
at Wethersfield, Connecticut. Ebenezer 
Kilbourn, of the fourth generation, set- 
tled in Morris county, New Jersey, where 
his son, Gershom Kilborn, was born in 
1732. Gershom settled in Orange, Essex 
county, New Jersey, where his son, Jabez 
Davis Kilburn, was born in 1773 he was 
the grandfather of Charles Fleming Kil- 
burn. 

Says an English historian : "The dis- 
covery of the remains of Roman walls 
and pavements in the vicinity of Kilburn 
establishes the fact that the region was 
inhabited long before the Norman con- 
quest. As the word Kilburn is evidently 
of Anglo-Saxon origin, it was probably 
first given as a name to the locality by 
the Saxon invaders of the Sixth century." 
The name of Kilbourn, "Cold Stream," is 
of Anglo-Saxon origin, compounded of 
"Kil" (a corruption of "cald" or "caeld," 
cold), and the old English word "bourn," 
a stream, being applied first to a stream, 
then to a village situated on the stream, 
and then to a family derived from the 
village. The spelling of the name seems 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to have been at the will of the holder, but 
the Newark branch use the form Kilburn. 

The English family bore arms: Argent, 
a chevron azure, between three bald coots 
close sable, beaked and legged gules. 
Crest: A bald coot sable beaked and 
legged gules. Motto: Vincit Veritas. 

Thomas Kilborne, the common ances- 
tor, was born in the parish of Wood Dit- 
ton, Cambridgeshire, England, in 1578, 
baptized May 8, 1578, died in Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, prior to 1639. He was 
a member of the Church of England, and 
served the parish as church warden in 

1632. He married Frances , who 

bore him eight children, five of whom 
accompanied their parents to America: 
Margaret, aged twenty-three ; Lydia, 
twenty-two ; Marie, sixteen ; Frances, 
twelve ; John, ten. At the time of the 
sailing, April 15, 1635, Thomas Kilborne 
was fifty-five years of age, his wife Fran- 
ces fifty. They came in the ship "In- 
crease," Robert Lea, master, and settled 
in Wethersfield, Connecticut, where the 
father died not long afterward. His wife 
Frances survived him until 1650, and at 
her death left a will disposing of an estate 
inventoried at £350, including "the house 
and home lot and twelve acres in the 
Great Meadow," also "four acres in the 
West field, two in beaver meadow, and 
four in mile meadow," and "her land be- 
yond the river." 

Children of Thomas and Frances Kil- 
borne : 1. Margaret Kilborne, born in 
Wood Ditton, England, 1607; came with 
her parents to America in 1635 ; married 
Richard Law, a prominent citizen of 
Wethersfield and Stamford. 2. Thomas 
Kilborne, baptized November 30, 1609; 
he came to America in 1634, in the ship 
"Elizabeth," with his wife Elizabeth, set- 
tling at Ipswich, but as there is no record 
of his descendants it is supposed that he 
returned to England. 3. George Kilborne, 



baptized February 12, 1612; was a resi- 
dent of Roxbury, Massachusetts, in 1638, 
and in 1640 was admitted a freeman of 
Rowley ; he married Elizabeth. 4. Eliza- 
beth Kilborne, baptized May 12, 1614; 
did not come to America. 5. Lydia Kil- 
borne, baptized July 14, 1616; came to 
America with her parents ; married Rob- 
ert Howard, of Windsor, Connecticut. 6. 
Mary, born 1619; came with her parents 
in 1635 ; married John Root, an early set- 
tler of Farmington, Connecticut, where 
both were members of the church in 1679. 
7. Frances Kilborne, baptized September 
4, 1621 ; came with the family in 1635; 
married Thomas Ufford (or Uffoot) of 
Stratford, Connecticut. 8. Sergeant John 
Kilborne, of further mention. 

Sergeant John Kilborne was baptized 
at Wood Ditton, England, September 29, 
1624, and died in Wethersfield, Connecti- 
cut, April 9, 1703. He came with his par- 
ents in the "Increase" in 1635, and settled 
with them in Wethersfield, on the west 
side of the Connecticut river, six miles 
below the present city of Hartford. For 
nearly forty years he was a conspicuous 
figure in the town, holding the office of 
collector, lister, constable, selectman and 
deputy to the General Court, and at the 
May session of that body in 1662 he was 
appointed a member of the Colonial 
Grand Jury. In May, 1657, he was con- 
firmed by the General Court "to be Ser- 
geant at Wethersfield," a post he held for 
eighteen years, resigning in October, 1676. 
He was often a grand juror of Hartford 
county, and in May, 1677, was on the 
"Jury of Life and Death." Sergeant Kil- 
bourn (as he wrote his name in his will) 

married, in 1650, Naomi , who died 

October 1, 1659, leaving children: John 
Thomas and Naomi. He married (sec- 
ond) Sarah, daughter of John Bronson, 
who bore him children : Ebenezer, of fur- 
ther mention ; Sarah, George, Mary, Jo- 

13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



seph and Abraham. The line of descent 
is through Ebenezer, eldest son of Ser- 
geant John by his second wife. 

Ebenezer Kilbourn was born in Glaston- 
bury, Connecticut, March 10, 1679 died in 
Morris county, New Jersey, about 1732. 
He married, June 1, 1698, Sarah Fox, who 
died October 18, 1714, the mother of ten 
children : Susannah, Ebenezer, Richard, 
Sarah, Josiah, Elizabeth, Gideon, Amos, 
Naomi and David Kilbourn. He married 
(second) May 14, 1715, Elizabeth Davis, 
of Hartford, by whom he had three sons, 
all born in Morris county, New Jersey : 
James, Thomas, and Gershom, of further 
mention. 

Gershom Kilborn was born in Morris 
county, New Jersey, February 7, 1732, 
died in Orange, New Jersey, April 26, 
1813. He married (first) Phebe Lindsley, 
and had children : Moses Kilborn, a sol- 
dier of the Revolution ; Samuel, died aged 
seventeen years ; Abner, died aged four- 
teen years. He married (second) Mrs. 
Eunice Harrison Conger, and had four 
children: Elizabeth, died young; Jabez 
Davis, of further mention ; Daniel, died 
young; Captain Daniel, a captain in the 
War of 1812. 

Jabez Davis Kilburn was born in Or- 
ange, New Jersey, October 31, 1773, and 
died there September 23, 1849. He be- 
came a prominent citizen of Orange, and 
a large landowner. He held the offices of 
moderator, judge of election, and com- 
missioner of appeals. He was a vice- 
president of the county convention which 
met in Newark, Tuesday, April 3, 1844, 
and proposed Theodore Frelinghuysen as 
a candidate for Vice-President of the 
United States, and was president of a 
mass meeting of citizens in Newark the 
following September to further his nomi- 
nation. He married Esther Baldwin, and 
had children: Elizabeth, died in infancy; 
Thomas Daniels, of further mention ; 



Isaac Baldwin, died unmarried ; Charles 
Lalliet, died in Newark, June 23, 1837; 
Mary, died in childhood; Mary (2), died 
in Orange, October 22, 1838. 

Thomas Daniels Kilburn was born in 
Orange, New Jersey, October 9, 1796, and 
died February 15, 1882. He was a promi- 
nent citizen, farmer and landowner, the 
old Kilburn farm lying along South Or- 
ange avenue, now being known as the 
Tuxedo Park tract. He served the town 
as overseer of highways and commis- 
sioner of appeals ; took a deep interest in 
the welfare of his community, and to his 
memory stands Kilburn Memorial Pres- 
byterian Church at South Orange ave- 
nue and Norwood street, founded by his 
two daughters, Margaretta D. and Clara 
C. Kilburn. He married, October 7, 1823, 
Abby Condit, born March 29, 1804, died 
April 26, 1880. Children : Esther B., mar- 
ried Ira Taylor, of South Orange ; Isaac 
B., married Mary E. Dodd, and died July 
30, 1879; Hannah L., married Amzi S. 
Dodd; Margaretta D. ; Mary E. ; Ira 
C, married Kate P. Alexander; Charles 
Fleming, of further mention, and Clara C. 

Charles Fleming Kilburn, of the eighth 
generation, youngest son of Thomas Dan- 
iels and Abby (Condit) Kilburn, was born 
at the Kilburn homestead, South Orange, 
New Jersey, August 28, 1844, and died in 
Newark, New Jersey, at St. Barnabas 
Hospital, June 27, 1915, and is buried in 
Mt. Pleasant Cemetery, Newark. He 
attended the public schools of South Or- 
ange until fifteen years of age, and then 
was sent to boarding school at Ferguson- 
ville, Delaware county, New York, where 
he completed his studies. He was asso- 
ciated with his brother, Isaac B. Kilburn, 
in the manufacture of bent wood until the 
latter's death in 1879, then conducted the 
business alone until 1885. From that time 
forward he devoted himself to the man- 
agement of the estates of his father and 
14 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



brother and to his own private interests. 
He was well known in real estate and 
business circles, and until within a year 
or two of his death maintained an office 
at 88 Mechanic street, Newark. 

He was identified with the management 
of the old Waverly State Fair, was a 
member of the New Jersey Road Horse 
Association, and did a great deal to in- 
crease the usefulness of that organization. 
He was one of the original members of 
the board of governors of the Essex Club, 
was one of the first members of the Essex 
County Country Club and of the Bal- 
tusrol Club, an honorary member of the 
Essex Troop, and belonged to the Repub- 
lican Club of New York City. He was a 
devoted member of the South Park Pres- 
byterian Church, which he served as trus- 
tee, and in political faith was a Repub- 
lican. He was a man highly esteemed 
for his sterling qualities of mind and 
heart, possessed a wealth of friends, and 
left behind him an honored name. 

Mr. Kilburn married, in South Orange, 
January 15, 1902, Grace Currier, who sur- 
vives him, daughter of Cyrus Chase and 
Harriet (Anderson) Currier. Children: 
Abby Condit Kilburn, born December 8, 
1902; Gertrude Currier Kilburn, June 10, 
1904: Charles Fleming (2nd) Kilburn, 
born February 22, 1906; Thomas Daniels 
Kilburn, born July 23, 1907. 

(The Condit Line). 

Abby (Condit) Kilburn. mother of 
Charles Fleming Kilburn, was a descend- 
ant of John Cunditt, who is first of men- 
tion in this country in 1678. He pur- 
chased lands "in the bounds of the town 
of Newark," Essex county, New Jersey, 
in 1689, from Richard Hore, and again in 
1691 from Lawrence. In both transfers 
his name is spelled Condit, but in his will 
it is written "Cunditt." He is supposed 
to have been of English descent, but may 
have been a Welshman. He married in 



Great Britain, but was a widower when 
he came to America in 167S, accompanied 
by his son Peter, He settled in Newark. 
New Jersey, and there married a second 
wife, Deborah, who bore him a son John, 
who died a minor. John Cunditt died in 
I7I3and left a will now on file in the office 
uf the Secretary of State at Trenton, New 
Jersey. In it he devises "land and 
meadows" to "My Dearly Beloved Wife 
Deborah Cunditt," in Newark and else- 
where, in trust for their son John, but to 
Peter, his eldest son, very little, he prob- 
ably having had his share. 

Peter Condit, son of John Cunditt by 
his first wife, came with his father to 
Newark, New Jersey, and there died in 
1714, surviving his father but one year. 
His will on file in Trenton, dated Febru- 
ary 7, 1713, devises land and meadows in 
"Newark and elsewhere" to his sons, and 
to his daughter Mary, "twelve pounds 
money;" to his wife Mary, whom he made 
sole executrix, all his personal estate not 
otherwise disposed of. and a third inter- 
est in his real estate "during her widow- 
hood." To his son Samuel he gave a 
"Weavers Loom commonly called Sam- 
uels Loom with all ye Tackling belong- 
ing to it." This would indicate that both 
father and son were weavers by trade. 
Peter Condit married, in 1695, Mary, 
daughter of John Harrison, a woman of 
strong character who reared her children 
most religiously. She was a descendant 
of Richard Harrison, who came from 
Cheshire, England, and died at Branford, 
Connecticut, October 25, 1653. The . v had 
six sons: Samuel, Peter, John, Nathaniel. 
Philip and Isaac; and a daughter. Mary. 
Three of these sons— John, Nathaniel and 
Isaac— settled at the foot of the Orange 
mountains; Samuel, the eldest, settled 
between the First and Second mountains; 
Peter and Philip settled in Morristown, 
New Jersey. 

Samuel Condit, son of Peter and Mary 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Harrison) Condit, was born at Newark, 
New Jersey, December 6, 1696, and died 
July 18, 1777, his gravestone in the Or- 
ange burying ground bearing the name 
"Samuel Conduit," with the date of his 
death. In 1720 he bought land between 
the Orange mountains, presumably from 
the Indians, as there is no former record 
of ownership. He gave during his life- 
time to each of his five sons, fifty acres of 
the home farm, and on each lot erected a 
house, reserving for himself the home- 
stead with about seventy acres. To each 
of his sons he gave a family Bible, and 
left them a record of a pious life. He 
married (first) in 1722, Mary Dodd, born 
November 8, 1698, died May 25, 1755. He 
married (second) in 1756, Mary Xutman, 
widow of Amos Williams, who died Feb- 
ruary 18, 1777. Both wives are buried 
near him in Orange burying ground, with 
many others of the Condit name. By his 
first marriage, Samuel Condit had issue : 
Daniel, of further mention ; Jotham, Sam- 
uel, Martha, David and Jonathan. 

Daniel Condit, eldest son of Samuel 
Condit and his first wife, Mary Dodd, was 
born December 27, 1723, and died Novenv 
ber 14, 1785. He was a farmer, occupy- 
ing the land given him by his father be- 
tween the First and Second Orange moun- 
tains. He was a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion, serving as a private in the First Bat- 
talion, second establishment of New Jer- 
sey militia. Like his forefathers, he was 
a man of pious life, and a deacon of the 
Presbyterian church. He married Ruth 
Williams, born December 29, 1723, died 
November 23, 1807, daughter of Gershom 
and Hannah (Lampson) Williams, son of 
Matthew and grandson of Matthew Wil- 
liams, a native of Wales, Great Britain, 
who came to America about 1630 and set- 
tled in Wethersfield, Connecticut. Daniel 
and Ruth Condit had children : Adonijah ; 
Eunice, married Nathaniel Ogden ; Mar- 
tha, married Major Aaron Harrison; 



Mary, married Philip Condit, of Morris- 
town, New Jersey; Joel, a soldier of the 
Revolution ; Samuel, of further mention ; 
Ira, a minister of the Dutch Reformed 
church, vice-president and professor of 
Rutgers College ; Jemima, died in infancy. 
Samuel Condit, seventh child of Daniel 
and Ruth (Williams) Condit, was born 
at the homestead in the Orange Moun- 
tains. August 6, 1 761, and died April, 
1819. After his marriage he removed to 
the east side of the Orange Mountains, at 
what was long known as "Tory Corner." 
He followed farming as an occupation, 
and was a devout Christian, highly es- 
teemed. He served as private in the Rev- 
olutionary army, although little more than 
a boy in years. He married, in 1785, Han- 
nah Harrison, born 1764, died 1855, daugh- 
ter of Ichabod and Sarah (Williams) 
Harrison, granddaughter of Nathaniel 
Harrison, son of Joseph Harrison, son of 
Sergeant Richard Harrison, who came to 
Newark. New Jersey, with the Connecti- 
cut colony in 1667 or 1668, son of Rich- 
ard Harrison, of Branford, Connecticut. 
Samuel and Hannah Condit had chil- 
dren : Sarah, married Ichabod Losey ; 
Jemima (2nd), married Samuel Morris 
Dodd; Eunice, married John Munn ; Har- 
riet, married (first) Yiner Van Zant 
Jones, (second) Deacon Henry Pierson ; 
Samuel, married Phebe Peck ; Mary, mar- 
ried Stephen Dodd ; Abby, of further 
mention; Clara, married Thomas W. 
Munn ; Ira H., married Phebe Mulford ; 
Ichabod, died in infancy. 

Abby Condit, eighth child of Samuel 
and Hannah (Harrison) Condit, was born 
at the home farm at "Tory Corner," Essex 
county. New Jersey, March 29, 1804, and 
died at the Kilburn farm on South Orange 
avenue, South Orange, New Jersey, April 
26, 1880. She married, October 7, 1823, 
Thomas Daniels Kilburn (see Kilburn). 
They were the parents of Charles Flem- 
ing Kilburn. 
16 




(S, ^*^A 



&&Zt t/s*- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BALBACH, Edward, 

Founder of Important Industry. 

There are very few names more promi- 
nently associated with the industrial de- 
velopment of Newark. New Jersey, than 
that of Balbach, two generations of which 

family, father and son. have been respon- 
sible for the introduction and growth 
there of the great business connected with 
the smelting and refining of precious 
metals for which that city is famous. The 
immense mills founded by F.dward Bal- 
bach, Sr., and brought to their present 
proportions by both father and son, are 
one of the two largest in the world, and 
the methods of earning on the work, de- 
vised and first put into practice there 
through the genius of the two men. are 
those now universally employed. 

The Balbach arms are: Arms — Parti 
per fesse or and vert, the upper part 
charged with three palm branches, placed 
one above the other, vert. The lower part 
parti per bend wavy, argent. Crest — A 
young man issuant, habited parti per fesse 
or and vert, collared of the last, cap vert, 
holding in each hand a palm branch vert. 

Edward Balbach was horn March 19, 
1804, in the city of Carlsruhe, Baden, Ger- 
many, and passed the years of childhood 
and early youth in the place of his birth, 
lie was typical of the best class of his 
race, showing in his own character the 
strong virtues and abilities that have 
given his countrymen the place they 
occupy in the world to-day, the virtues 
and abilities that, transplanted into this 
country, have formed one of the most 
valuable elements in the development of 
our citizenship. I lis childhood and youth, 
too, were typical, and he went through 
the same hard but wholesome training 
customary in that day and country. His 
education was received at the local Volke- 
schule. and he showed marked intelli- 



gence and perseverance as a student, and 
a special aptness and fondness for the 
subject of chemistry. His father was 
quite willing for him to gratify so prac- 
tical a taste, and every opportunity was 
given him, lad though he was, to perfect 
himself in the subject. Of these he 
availed himself, and as he grew older, so 
also did his taste grow, so that when he 
eventually came to an age to chose a 
career in life, he determined that it should 
be something of a kind in which he could 
exercise his knowledge. He finally de- 
cided upon the refining of precious metals. 
an occupation for which he was especially 
fitted by his studies. The knowdedge of 
chemistry in those days was decidedly 
rudimentary, of course, compared with 
that of to-day, and especially was this 
true in what might be called the depart- 
ment of applied chemistry, the wonderful 
wave of inventive activity which char- 
acterized the nineteenth century having 
only just begun, so that much of what 
was known was of a purely theoretic 
value, and its practical significance as yet 
unrealized. What practical knowledge 
existed in his line at the time, Mr. Bal- 
bach possessed, however, and also that 
quality of originality which makes the 
best use of opportunities at our disposal 
and devises new ones — the originality, in 
short, that was responsible for the very 
wave of invention already remarked. 

He began his operations on a small 
scale in his native city of Carlsruhe, 
where he gradually worked up a success- 
ful trade, remaining there until the year 
1848 and he had reached the age of forty- 
four years. The conditions imposed upon 
labor of all kinds in his native land, as 
well as conditions in a more general sense, 
wire not at all satisfactory and had led 
up to the serious disturbances known as 
the Revolution of 1848-49. The entire 
state of affairs was becoming more and 

>7 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



more intolerable to men of stong ambi- 
tions, especially if they were also strong 
republicans in their beliefs and sym- 
pathies. Both of these Mr. Balbach was, 
and he determined to seek some region 
where he could find a greater opportunity 
for self-expression, and reap without un- 
warrantable interruption the fair fruits 
of his enterprise and labor. It is only 
natural under the circumstances that his 
thoughts should have turned to the great 
republic of the west, as did those of so 
many of his countrymen at that time. Mr. 
Balbach was not obliged, however, to 
hazard all on a stroke of fortune as did so 
many others, and his natural prudence 
impelled him to first see for himself what 
conditions in America were. He believed 
that, if they should turn out as reported, 
his training and experience would insure 
him future success, but he preferred to 
take nothing for granted, to trust little to 
the stories told, and to witness with his 
own eyes the environment which he pro- 
posed to make his own before taking an 
irretrievable step. Accordingly, in 1848, 
he sailed for the United States and made 
here an extended visit, going carefully 
into conditions with a thoroughness typi- 
cal of his race, and doubly so of himself. 
Two facts stood out most prominently in 
his mind after this investigation ; he had 
found many reports untrue or exagger- 
ated, he had found his preconceived pic- 
ture not wholly accurate, but these two 
essentials he had seen for himself, and 
they outweighed all other considerations 
in his mind. The first was that he would 
be free of those trammeling regulations 
that had so cramped his efforts in his 
native land, and he found that, in spite of 
the fact that there seemed to be a large 
and growing demand for such work as he 
contemplated, he would have little if any 
competition in that line. In his endeavor 
to find the best possible location for the 



plant he intended establishing, he visited 
most of the large and important cities of 
the United States, and, in spite of the in- 
ducements held out by western points, 
and their nearness to the great mines of 
the country, he finally decided on the city 
of Newark, New Jersey. Where Newark 
lacked in proximity to the mines, it more 
than made up by its nearness to the great 
markets ; and then, too, the manufacture 
of jewelry was carried on there on a large 
scale which afforded a double advantage, 
both as purchasers of Mr. Balbach's 
product and because the dust and sweep- 
ings of such places offer a splendid ma- 
terial for the refining process. This ma- 
terial at that time was commonly sent to 
some European city for refining, and it 
was obvious to Mr. Balbach that a great 
saving on all sides could be effected by 
doing it at home. The business sagacity 
of Mr. Balbach had been obvious in the 
investigations carried on by him in this 
country ; what next occurred illustrates a 
very different side of his character. While 
he was in the midst of them and when he 
had about determined to open his busi- 
ness in Newark he received the sad tid- 
ings that his brother and the latter's wife 
had both been seized with a trouble at 
that time epidemic in Baden and their 
deaths resulted. This, as he knew well, 
would leave eight little children orphans 
and, leaving everything else behind him, 
he sailed at once for Germany to take 
charge of the helpless ones. So great was 
his charity for them that he adopted all 
eight for his own, and thereafter gave 
them a father's care and affection. 

In 1850 he was able to return once more 
to Newark, and it was not long before he 
erected the first of the great series of 
buildings that have since become so inti- 
mately associated with his name. Upon 
its completion he began operations, the 
first venture being the refining of the 
18 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



jewelers' sweeping. So satisfactory was 
his work that it was not long before his 
reputation spread far beyond the confines 
of the city, and he began to receive ship- 
ments of the sweepings from far distant 
points as well as from those near at 
hand. His business grew with phenome- 
nal rapidity, and his greatest expectations 
as to his success in the "New World" 
were far surpassed. He was obliged to 
add greatly to his equipment of machin- 
ery, to erect several new buildings, and 
increase greatly his force of men. This, 
however, was but the beginning, and a 
small beginning to what followed. In 
1851 Mr. Balbach extended his operations 
into new fields and began the smelting of 
silver bearing lead ores for the extracting 
from the waste of both these metals. He 
drew his materials from the mines of New 
York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania in 
the first instance, but soon went farther 
afield for his main supply. All this, of 
course, necessitated the further extension 
of plant and equipment, and this was 
accomplished accordingly, although in- 
creases could hardly keep pace with the 
growing demands put upon its capacity. 
By 1861 Mr. Balbach was receiving ores 
from Mexico, and a business with that 
distant country was thus begun which 
exists to this day. The main source of 
these ores, however, was the great mines 
of Nevada, from which enormous quanti- 
ties of gold and silverbearing materials 
were shipped him, so large, indeed, that 
it finally became necessary to construct 
wharves and warehouses to take care of 
the enormous consignments, to say noth- 
ing of the increase in the plant itself. The 
majority of the great western mining 
States followed the lead of Nevada, and 
these ores were sent him from Mon- 
tana, Utah, Colorado, Idaho, Arizona and 
Lower California. Notwithstanding the 
huge size of the smelting business thus 



built up, the original industry was not 
lost sight of, and the jewelers' sweepings 
are to this day cared for in the great 
establishment. One of the very impor- 
tant products of the plant is that form of 
lead required for the manufacture of 
white lead, which prior to this time had 
only been produced in Europe and had 
to be imported by our manufacturers 
here. 

The year 1864 saw the admission into 
the concern of Mr. Balbach's son, Ed- 
ward Balbach, Jr., who had inherited his 
father's genius for chemistry and busi- 
ness talent. The same year the younger 
man made himself famous in the indus- 
trial world by inventing a simple pro- 
cess for the separation of the precious 
metals from the lead ore. which before 
had only been accomplished at great 
trouble and expense. This notable inven- 
tion reduced both the time and expense 
elements enormously and gave a new im- 
pulse to the whole industry. An account 
of it, however, belongs and will be found 
with the sketch of Edward Balbach, Jr.. 
which follows in this work. There, too, 
will be found some word of the latest 
chapter in the development of the great 
concern, its venture into the copper refin- 
ing industry, where it has been so suc- 
cessful, and its recent growth since the 
death of its remarkable founder in 1890, 
at the venerable age of eighty-six years. 

Mr. Balbach was married to Miss Mar- 
garetta Raab, of Ettlingen, Baden, where 
she was born in 1806. To them were born 
four children, as follows: Amalia. Ma- 
thilda, Emilia, Edward. 



BALBACH, Edward, Jr., 

Metallurgist, Inventor. 

Edward Balbach, late of Newark, New 
Jersey, died at the Hotel Savoy, New 
York City, where he had resided for some 



CIO 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



time, on December 30, 1910, in the sev- 
enty-second year of his age. His death 
was felt as a loss, not merely by the com- 
munity of which he was a distinguished 
member, but by the smelting and refining 
trades the country over, which his efforts 
had been instrumental in developing and 
bringing up to their present state of per- 
fection. 

Edward Balbach, Sr., was the pioneer 
of the smelting business in the United 
States. Carlsruhe, Baden, Germany, was 
the city where Mr. Balbach was born 
June 4, 1839, and where his family had 
dwelt for many years previously. His 
father, Edward Balbach, Sr., was a man 
of very enterprising nature who came to 
this country during the Revolutionary 
troubles in 1848 in Germany, bringing 
with him his son, at that time a lad 
eight years of age. Mr. Balbach, Sr., was 
a chemist of large technical learning and 
considerable practical experience, and had 
been engaged in the smelting and refining 
of metals in his native city of Carlsruhe 
during his young manhood. It was his 
intention upon coming to the United 
States to establish himself in the same 
business, a project which he carried out 
with great success. The city of Newark, 
New Jersey, was the scene of his opera- 
tions, and in the year 1851 he built a plant 
there (this was the first smelter built in 
the United States) and began the busi- 
ness which has since, under the able man- 
agement of himself and son, grown to 
such enormous proportions. It was at 
first confined to refining work, such ma- 
terials as jewelers' sweepings and other 
waste products forming the basis of the 
operations, but it was not a great while 
before other kinds of work were done and 
smelting became an important element in 
the business. 

During this time the son, the Edward 
Balbach of this sketch, was growing up 



to manhood and gaining an excellent edu- 
cation, especially in the subject of chem- 
istry, for which he had an unusual natural 
talent. His practical knowledge was 
gained in working in his father's plant, 
where he came in contact with all the 
details of the manufacturing process, and 
was soon an experienced worker in the 
craft. In the year 1864, when he was 
twenty-five years of age, Mr. Balbach, 
who had already given a great deal of 
theoretical study to the subject, devised a 
new means of separating the precious 
metals, silver and gold, from what are 
known as silver-lead ores, such large 
quantities of which are found in Nevada. 
The treatment of these ores up to that 
time had been an extremely costly one, 
and not at all adequate in the removal of 
the metals, so that Mr. Balbach's new 
process was a great boom to the smelter 
and refiner, and has practically revolu- 
tionized the trade both in the United 
States and in Europe, where it has uni- 
versally been adopted. It is thus de- 
scribed in "The Engineering Mining Jour- 
nal," a scientific journal devoted to min- 
ing interests which, although somewhat 
technical, is not too much so to prevent 
the average reader from gaining a clear 
idea of it. Says "The Journal :" 

The practice was to soften the lead first in a 
reverberatory furnace, followed by a liquating 
furnace, then desilverized by the addition of zinc 
in a kettle; separate the gold-silver-zinc-lead 
alloy by liquation in a special furnace; refine the 
desilverized lead by heating in a reverberatory 
furnace, drawing it off into a market kettle and 
moulding in one hundred pound pigs; distilling 
the gold-silver-zinc-lead alloy in a tilting retort, 
invented by A. Faber du Faur, condensing about 
fifty per cent, of the zinc for further use, and 
obtaining from the retort a rich gold-silver-lead 
bullion, which was cupelled. The important 
modification was the distilling of the zinc crust. 

This has become generally known as 
the Balbach resilvering delivering process 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and, as has been said, has modified the 
trade throughout the world. In the same 
year, 1864, the elder Mr. Balbach took his 
son into partnership with him. the firm 
becoming known from that time forward 
as Edward Balbach & Son. The great 
shipments of silver-lead products from 
Nevada were at that time almost exclu- 
sively divided between the Balbach works 
in Newark and the Selby plant in San 
Francisco, and for many years these two 
concerns did practically the whole work 



nation of the Passaic river from the mul- 
titude of mills upon its banks, extending 
all the way from Newark itself up to Pat- 
erson, and even beyond. In the year [884 

this old home was the scene of a note- 
worthy reception given to Grover Cleve- 
land, who had just at that time received 
the Democratic nomination for President. 
Mr. Balbach, who was always a strong 
supporter of Mr. Cleveland, was also his 
personal friend, and this friendship grew 
and ripened after this event, and was 



of this kind in the country, so that large only brought to an end by Mr. Cleve- 



amounts of the refined metals were im- 
ported from Europe. This condition, of 
course, was favorable to the growth of 
the domestic business, and under the 
capable direction of the two Messrs. I'.al- 
bach, the concern grew rapidly in size 
until at the present time it employs be- 
tween seven and eight hundred men in 
its plants. The main plant at Doremus 
avenue and Newark Bay, Newark, known 
as the Newark Bay plant, covers about 
four acres of ground, and it is here that 
the great gold and silver refining opera- 
tions are carried on. The Balbach re- 
silvering process is not by any means 
the extent of Mr. Balbach's contribution 
to the art of refining metals. He was the 
inventor of many devices now generally 
used in smelting, such as retorting and 
tilting furnaces, and the employment of 
water jackets, and many others equally 



land's death in 1908. Mr. Balbach, Sr., 
died in 1889, and sometime afterwards the 
younger man turned the old home into 
offices for the company, and purchased 
a beautiful property near Bernardsville. 
New Jersey, which has since been de- 
veloped into a splendid estate. It was 
here that he lived during the summer 
months for many years, spending the win- 
ters partly in New York City and partly 
in Florida. 

Apropos of Mr. Balbach's relations to 
the general smelting and refining indus- 
tries in the United States, the paper al- 
ready quoted from remarks that: "He 
may be considered as a born chemist and 
metallurgist, and was never slow to profit 
by new inventions, adapting and apply- 
ing them with success to the needs of the 
works in connection with the improve- 
ments already noted as the results of his 



important. In 1881 Mr. Balbach erected own studies and genius. At the same time 



the first commercial plant in the United 
States for the refining of copper by elec- 
trolysis, and thus laid the foundation of 
one of the gigantic industries of the coun- 
try, one in which it outranks any other in 
the world. This plant is situated at Pas- 
saic and Ferguson streets. 

The old home of the Balbach family 
was at No. in Passaic avenue, then a de- 
lightful neighborhood, which has, how- 
ever, been spoiled since that time for resi- 
dential purposes by the gradual contami- 



he always remained the practical smelting 
man. who had studied and learned the 
business from the bottom up. with a tire- 
less energy and zeal, setting a constant 
and good example to the younger genera- 
tion by presence at his post both early 
and late." 

Mr. Balbach was active in the commu- 
nity outside of his purely private business 
interests, and always took a keen interest 
in its public affairs. His political affilia- 
tions have already been commented upon, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



but there is much more to be said con- 
cerning his relations with the Democratic 
party — that his allegiance was in no other 
way a prejudiced one, and that he was per- 
fectly capable of exercising an absolutely 
independent judgment in every question 
that arose. The truth of this is admirably 
illustrated by his action in 1896, when the 
Democratic party was split over the ques- 
tion of free silver. Mr. Balbach refused to 
support Mr. Bryan, and it is claimed that 
he voted for McKinley upon that occa- 
sion. He afterwards returned to the Dem- 
ocratic ranks, however, when the money 
issue had been dropped. He rather shrank 
from public office than courted it, and was 
only once persuaded to accept any impor- 
tant nomination, and that was in 1894, 
when George C. Ludlow ran for the Gov- 
ernorship of New Jersey. Mr. Balbach 
was the candidate for Congressman from 
his Congressional district, but was de- 
feated with the rest of the ticket in a 
strongly Republican year. He was ap- 
pointed to a constitutional commission in 
New Jersey, and aided in making some 
much needed changes and reforms in 
the existing state of the law. He served 
twice as a Presidential elector. He was a 
member of the Newark Board of Trade 
and of the Newark Automobile Club. In 
his religious belief he was an Episcopa- 
lian, .and for many years attended Trinity 
Church in Newark. 

The position occupied in the life of 
Newark by Mr. Balbach is not to be con- 
veyed by a mere categorical description 
of his achievements. His personality, his 
charities, his general attitude in life, all 
contributed to it, and the great number of 
devoted friends that he possessed bears 
witness to its character. His philanthro- 
pic- were large but very quietly carried 
on, and few indeed were they who knew 
of them other than the two parties to 
them — he who gave, and he who received. 
In no other way was this more creditably 



known than in his dealings with the great 
number of employees who worked in his 
mills, a relation which resulted in a very 
rare feeling of friendship and confidence 
between them. He kept a personal super- 
vision over the men, and if one was in- 
jured or became ill, he saw that he was 
well cared for until able to be about once 
more. On this point the "Journal," which 
we have already quoted remarks : "What 
endeared him to his business associates 
and friends was his kind and cheerful dis- 
position, combined with a straightforward 
character marked by a modest and un- 
assuming manner, notwithstanding that 
he possessed force and the faculty to 
carry through his ideas to a successful end. 
He recognized in those around him every 
worthy effort in the direction of self-im- 
provement, and strove to assist every hon- 
est endeavor." 

Mr. Balbach was united in marriage 
with Miss Julia Anna Nenninger, of New- 
ark, a daughter of Peter Franz Nenninger, 
a native of Germany, who came to New- 
ark about 1848. For many years Mrs. 
Balbach was a conspicuous figure in the 
Newark social world, and was well known 
as one of the most charming of hostesses. 
She was, however, a victim of ill health, 
and for some time lived in seclusion. It 
was in some measure due to this fact that 
the family eventually made their home at 
Bernardsville, where Mrs. Balbach antici- 
pated living much in the open air. Indeed 
it was she who laid out and superintended 
the arrangement of the grounds of the 
estate, without the assistance of a land- 
scape gardener, with what succes is well 
known in the community. A daughter 
was born to Mr. and Mrs. Balbach, who 
is now the wife of Edward Randolph, of 
New York, the president and treasurer 
of the great smelting company. Mrs. Bal- 
bach and her daughter both survive Mr. 
Balbach. 







■■;...■ . ■:'.'"''""5Sr, 








-TilBiafflE 






fife > 


1 




(*1 




II 










i-~ 




■i 




1 





£/j?#^7?oS// £, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



NENNINGER. Peter Franz, 

Biiiinru Man. Enterprising Citizen. 

Inventive genius and great constructive 

imagination have been freely given to the 
American people, and have been respon- 
sible for the phenomenal progress which 
lias made the United States the leader of 
the world in the fields of industry. But 
conspicuously absent in this breathless 
rush onward is the stability and reliabil- 
ity of the mature civilization of the Old 
World. It would seem, that the power to 
deliberate has been withheld from the 
American in payment for his other great 
gifts, much as one finds a man who is a 
genius in one line to be a dullard in an- 
other. The willingness in America to 
adopt anything new for the reason that it 
is new has been a factor of prime impor- 
tance in the industrial world. But the 
value of this has been grossly exagger- 
ated ; it has also been responsible for much 
time wasted over things that are useless. 
The ideal condition will be the outcome 
of this progressive American spirit tem- 
pered by its contact with the conserva- 
tism and deliberate thoughtfulness of the 
Old World peoples. Right within her 
own borders, and coming to her in con- 
stant streams, America has this element. 
And among the hundreds of different peo- 
ples that come to our shore, the Germans 
will beyond a doubt have the greatest in- 
fluence toward this end. They have fur- 
nished us with a most valuable type of 
citizenship, loyal, successful, progressive, 
thoughtful men. An example of this type 
of citizen, to which America owes much. 
was the late Peter Franz Nenninger. 

The Nenninger arms are: Arms — Per 
pale argent and or. Dexter side, a lion 
rampant gules. Sinister side, a demi- 
vol conjoined to an eagle's claw azure. 
Crest — A vase argent circled by two bar- 
rulets gules, with leaves vert sprouting 
therefrom. 



Peter Franz Nenninger was born at 
Neckers Ulm, Wuertemberg, Germany, 
on June 28, 1818, the son of Franz and 
Maeia (Masthof) Nenninger, prosperous 
landowners of that place. During the 
political troubles into which Germany 
was plunged in the middle of the nine- 
teenth century, he emigrated to America, 
with his wife and infant son. His wife 
was Anna Babbette Miltz, daughter of 
Florent and Anna (Roederer) Miltz, of 
Strassbnrg, Elsass. They resided in New 
York for two years after their arrival 
there in 1848, and in 1850 removed to 
Newark, New Jersey. According to the 
standards of the times they were compara- 
tively wealthy, and Peter F. Nenninger 
established himself in the oil-cloth busi- 
ness on Market street, on the lower Pas- 
saic. This was a new industry in Amer- 
ica, oil-cloth and like products having 
been theretofore imported from Europe. 
Mr. Nenninger was very successful in this 
enterprise, and for many years his business 
had a reputation throughout the country. 
The business was first established with 
Peter F. Nenninger and Charles Hoh, his 
brother-in-law, as partners. This partner- 
ship was soon dissolved, however, and 
Ferdinand Sautermaster became a part- 
ner in the firm, and remained such until 
his death in 1804. After this time Mr. 
Nenninger managed the business himself. 
He was extremely successful and became 
substantially wealthy. 

Mr. Nenninger was a Republican, and 
a great admirer of American institutions 
and standards. At the time of the Civil 
War there was in existence a battalion 
named the Steuben Battalion, of which 
Mr. Nenninger was a member. At the 
outbreak of the war, however, he was 
compelled to send a substitute in his place, 
on account of the constant demands of his 
business. 

The children of Peter Franz and Anna 
Babbette (Miltz ) Nenninger were : 1 . Rob- 
23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ert Franz, married Matilda Dieffenback. 
2. Alfred Albert, died in infancy. 3. Julia 
Anna, married Edward Balbach, Jr. 4. 
Florentine Eugenia, married Henry M. 
Dieffenbach, Jr. 5. Oscar Alfred. 6. Gus- 
tave Alfred, died in infancy. 

Mr. Nenninger was generous to a fault, 
and open-handed to all who needed assist- 
ance. He was intensely fond of fine horses. 
This love of animals, unfortunately, was 
his undoing, for, while being run away 
with by one of his beautiful crea- 
tures called "Swanneck," he was thrown 
from the carriage, sustaining severe in- 
juries about the head, from which he suf- 
fered greatly long after the fall. From 
that time he suffered business reverses, 
being no longer as keen in judgment as 
he had been prior to his fall. The splen- 
did business which he had built up gradu- 
ally dwindled and slipped from him, and 
he died a complete wreck on January 25, 
1872. 

A grand, generous character, a loving 
father, a true friend, a sincere patriot, he 
is still remembered at this date by those 
who knew him best. His bravery was at 
one time shown in a return voyage from 
Europe. He was crossing the Atlantic on 
the steamship "Hammonia," with Captain 
Zucker ; the powder magazine of the ship 
exploded, and he alone had the pres- 
ence of mind, courage and great physical 
strength to put out the fire which ensued. 
A cup and a saucer with the picture of 
the "Hammonia" painted upon it was pre- 
sented to him in memory of this incident, 
and it is still extant in the family and 
greatly prized. As a sharpshooter he was 
unexcelled, and had won many trophies. 



CHADWICK, Francis, 

Man of Enterprise. 

Second to none in his public-spirited 
loyalty to Red Bank, Francis Chadwick, 
for years one of the leading business men 



and citizens of that town, deserves par- 
ticular mention among the founders and 
builders of that prosperous municipality. 

The Chadwicks came to New England 
in 1630, and it is to the founder of the 
family there that Governor Winthrop 
alluded when he wrote of "My friend, 
John Chadwick, son of him who was Gov- 
ernor of Bermuda, a godly gentleman." 
By the marriage of Francis Chadwick, of 
the third American generation, to Hul- 
dah Taber, descent is traced from Fran- 
cis Cooke, of the "Mayflower," and 
through the marriage of Taber Chadwick, 
of the fifth American generation, to Deb- 
orah Longstreet, descent is traced from 
the ancient Dutch family of Van Lang- 
straaten (Longstreet), founded by "Dirck 
Stoffels." the immigrant to America in 
1657. Through the marriage of Francis 
Chadwick, of Red Bank, to Margaret Ann 
Parker, his children trace to George 
Parker, who came to New England in 
1635. These families — Chadwick, Taber 
and Parker — were all of distinguished 
and ancient lineage, all bore arms, and 
were early in New England, later in Mon- 
mouth county, New Jersey, where they 
have numerous descendants. The Chad- 
wicks fought in the Revolution with the 
New Jersey troops of the Continental 
Line, and held rank grading from captain 
to lieutenant-colonel. Some of them were 
killed in battle, but all fought valiantly, 
and, when peace came, aided in establish- 
ing the strong civil government that fol- 
lowed independence. The various lines 
of ancestry of Francis Chadwick will be 
outlined in this review, with the Parker 
line of his children. 

Chadwick Arms : Gules, charged with a 
small shield argent, between eight mart- 
lets of the same. Crest : A lily, stalked 
and leaved vert. Motto: In Candore 
Dec us. 

The name Chadwick points to Saxon 
origin, and is both ancient and honorable. 



124 




jlr-fr^^c^ &£a^&crL~e / Vfc 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



numerous in certain parts of England, 
Rochdale Parish, Lancastershire, the early 
seat. The most remote ancestor of Fran- 
cis Chadwick of whom authentic records 
are found and from whom descent can be 
traced, is Nicholas de Chadwick, wdio died 
in 1445. From him sprang John Chad- 
wick, one time Governor of Bermuda, 
whose son, John Chadwick, was the 
founder of the American family. 

John Chadwick, born in England, in 
1670, came to New England in 1692. He 
married Joanna Reynolds, of Bermuda, 
settled in Monmouth county, New Jersey, 
and there died June 20, 1739. His wife 
died September 20, 1739, only surviving 
him three months. 

John, son of John and Joanna (Rey- 
nolds) Chadwick, was born March 12, 
1713, and died April 18, 1785, killed in 
battle by the enemies of his country. Al- 
though an old man, he fought in Cap- 
tain John Holmes' company, First New- 
Jersey Regiment of the Continental Line, 
his sons all taking a soldier's part in the 
struggle for independence. John Chad- 
wick was killed by a band of refugees 
under the notorious Captain James 
Moody, whom a company of Americans 
met at Tinton Falls, and after a brief 
skirmish retired x before the superior num- 
bers of the refugees, leaving some of their 
number prisoners, including John Chad- 
wick. I lis captors marched him to Black 
Point (Sea Bright), but before the band 
crossed the river the Americans, having 
been reinforced by ten men, attempted 
rescue. Moody so disposed his prisoners 
that the Americans could not fire upon 
him without killing their brethren, and 
succeeded in holding them off. Finally 
John Chadwick and Lieutenant Aukey 
Hendrickson broke away, succeeding in 
joining their friends, and charged with 
them in another attack. But he had 



hardly fired his first shot when he fell 
pierced by a bullet, and almost instantly 
expired. A truce was allowed between 
the parties, and the American dead were 
removed from the field. John Chadwick 
lived on his own land, near Red Bank. 
Both he and his wife were members of 
Christ Protestant Episcopal Church at 
Shrewsbury, and both are buried in tin- 
graveyard of that church. 

He married Martha Ann Jackson, born 
December 29, 1713, died October 22, 1799. 
Children: Elizabeth, born in 1736, died 
in 1738; William, born in 1738, died in 
1815, served throughout the entire period 
of the Revolution with New Jersey troops ; 
John, born in 1739, died in 1803, also a 
Revolutionary soldier; Francis, of fur- 
ther mention; Samuel, born in 1743, lost 
at sea in 1768; Elizabeth, born in 1741, 
died in 1751 ; Sarah, born in 1748, died in 
1828; Thomas, born in 1750, died in 
1781, commissioned captain of Monmouth 
county militia in 1777, and in 1778 was 
made a captain of New Jersey State 
troops; Mary; Jeremiah, born in 1755, 
first lieutenant of Captain Thomas Chad- 
wick's (his brother) company, was killed 
in battle in 1779; Elihu, enlisted as a pri- 
vate in the Third Regiment, New Jersey- 
State Troops, served until June 10, 1782, 
rising for bravery through all ranks to 
that of lieutenant-colonel. He, his father, 
and three of his brothers, fought at the 
battles of Trenton, Princeton, German- 
town, Monmouth and Tinton Falls, the 
last named fought June II, 1779, and all 
survived until the close of the war. The 
skirmish in which John Chadwick lost his 
life was fought seven days after the war 
was over. 

Francis, son of John and Martha Ann 
(Jackson) Chadwick, was born July 18, 
1741. died June 13, 1809. He married. 
November 5, 1764, Huldah Taber, a de- 



125 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



scendant of Philip and Lydia (Masters) 
Taber (see Taber line). Francis Chad- 
wick served with his father and brothers 
in the Revolutionary War, and was one of 
the prominent men of his day. Among 
his children was a son, Taber. 

Taber Chadwick, son of Francis and 
Huldah (Taber) Chadwick, was born 
March 7, 1773, died in Red Bank, October 
7, 1843. He was a 'earned member of the 
Monmouth county bar, conducted a large 
practice, and was a devout pious man, a 
pillar of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
He maintained offices in Red Bank, and 
from there conducted his legal business. 
He was a local preacher, taught in the 
Sunday school, was a class leader and 
official member of the Red Bank Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church, founded several 
churches, and was known all over the 
country as well for his deeply religious 
life as for his legal attainments. 

He married, November 13, 1804, Deb- 
orah Longstreet, born July 25, 1787, died 
September 14, 1833, descendant of one of 
the early Dutch families of Flatlands, 
Long Island. Children: Francis, died 
young; Richard; Jeremiah, died young; 
Lydia, married William Parker; Francis, 
of further mention ; Sarah Ann, married 
Henry B. Parker, long time captain of 
the steamboat "Sea Bird ;" Catherine, 
married William. Taylor ; Jeremiah; Deb- 
orah, married E. Pintard ; Lucinda ; and 
Angeline, married Roger Lewis. 

The gravestones of Taber and Deborah 
Chadwick which mark their burial place 
in Tower Hill Cemetery. Red Bank, are 
thus inscribed : 

In 

Memory of 

Taber Chadwick 

who died Oct. 7 

■843 

aged 70 years 7 

months. 



Blessed in the sight of 

the Lord is the death of 

his Saints. 

In 

Memory of 

Deborah 

Second wife of 

Taber Chadwick 

who died Sept. 14 

1833 

aged 46 years I month 

and 20 days 

Blessed are the dead 

who die in the Lord. 

Francis Chadwick, son of Taber and 
Deborah (Longstreet) Chadwick, was 
born in Red Bank, March 18, 1813, and 
there died May 31, 1882. He obtained a 
good education in the common schools, 
by self-study and reading, but had no 
inclination for his father's profession, the 
law. He followed the river and bay for 
a short time, becoming captain of a 
schooner conveying freight of various 
kinds between Red Bank and New York. 
After his marriage in 1835 he abandoned 
the river, and from that date until the 
destruction of his business property by 
fire, many years later, he was engaged in 
mercantile life. He was a member of the 
firm of Parker & Chadwick, conducting 
a general store, Mr. Chadwick later con- 
ducting extensive coal and lumber opera- 
tions. He also owned a great deal of ves- 
sel property, one of his investments being 
a line running regularly between Red 
Bank and New York. He prospered 
abundantly, his various enterprises all 
proving profitable and ranking among the 
most important in Red Bank. Later in 
life he sold his commercial interests and 
ended his days retired from business 
cares. He was one of the most progres- 
sive and public-spirited men of his day, 
and aided in every enterprise that prom- 
ised to advance the interests of his city. 
His business ability was acknowledged. 



126 




^J^h?i^i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his uprightness in all things known to all, 
and the value of his citizenship was ever 
apparent in the respect and honor in 
which he was held by those among whom 
his entire life was spent. 

lie was a Republican in politics, and a 
strong partisan, aiding to the utmost to 
advance party interests, but never seeking 
nor accepting public office for himself. 
Francis Chadwick and his wife were at first 
members of the Presbyterian church of 
Shrewsbury. Later Mr. Chad wick and 
other members of that church obtained au- 
thority to organize the first Presbyterian 
church in Red Bank, of which he was the 
leading spirit, both he and his wife being 
charter members. The little congregation 
worshipped first in a small hall, but a 
church edifice was soon begun. As the 
work progressed and money was needed 
faster than subscriptions to the building 
fund were being paid in, Mr. Chadwick 
advanced the funds to continue the work, 
never allowing lack of funds to delay the 
completion of the building, so deep was 
his interest. As subscriptions were paid, 
he was reimbursed, but he was a large 
donor, and to him the founding and up- 
building of the First Presbyterian Church 
of Red Bank was largely due. He was a 
member of the board of trustees, and for 
many years its treasurer, and in addition 
to his church work was for several years 
active in the Sunday school. 

Francis Chadwick married, September 
9, 1835, Margaret Ann. daughter of Cap- 
tain Joseph Parker, of Red Bank, also a 
descendant of an old English family set- 
tled in New Jersey by George Parker, 
who came to New England in the ship 
"Elizabeth and Ann," in 1635, later mov- 
ing to Rumson, Monmouth county, New 
Jersey, founding there one of the coun- 
try's most honored families. Children : 
Richard L., deceased ; Captain Joseph P., 
died in 1914, for many years captain of 



the "Sea Bird," so well known on the 
Shrewsbury and in New York waters; 
Mary II., married Henry Wood (q. v.); 
Dr. Francis T., a physician and phar- 
macist of Red Bank and Asbury Park, 
New Jersej ; Alvin, deceased; Margaret, 
deceased; S. Matilda, now residing with 
her widowed sifter. Mary II. Chadwick 
Wood. 



WOOD, Henry, 

Artistic Silversmith. 

Mary H. Chadwick, daughter of Fran- 
cis and Margaret Ann (Parker) Chad- 
wick and a descendant of Dirck Van 
Langstraaten (Longstreet), of Holland, 
John Chadwick, George Parker and Philip 
Taber, of England, married Henry Wood, 
whose father was a member of the New 
York House of Representatives from 
Rockland county. 

At the time of his death in January. 
1900, Henry Wood was one of the oldest 
silversmiths and jewelers in New York 
City. He learned the silversmith's trade 
in that city, advanced to junior, then to 
senior member of the firm with which he 
learned his trade, and until his death, con- 
tinued head of Wood & Hughes, manu- 
facturing silversmiths and jewelers, his 
entire business life having been passed 
with that firm. He was a man entirely 
devoted to his business and his family, 
taking but little part in public affairs. 
This was true of his entire career, and 
while no man was better known in the 
jewelry trade, nor more highly regarded 
as friend, neighbor or citizen, he was not 
well known to the general public. He 
possessed all the private virtues, was 
honorable to the last degree, generous in 
his deeds of love, friendship or duty, one 
of the men who form the real bulwarks 
of the State, unselfish in their devotion 
and loyal to every trust. 
27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Henry Wood was born in New City, 
Rockland county, New York, November 
I, 1830, died January 13, 1900. His early 
life was spent in the country, where he 
acquired a good education and laid the 
foundation upon which his later success 
was built. When quite a young man he 
went to New York City, entering the em- 
ploy of the manufacturing jewelry firm 
of Wood & Hughes as an apprentice. 
This firm was founded in 1833 by Wil- 
liam Gale, Jacob Wood, and John H. 
Hughes. Jacob Wood and Jasper W. 
Hughes succeeded to the business in 1845, 
and at that time the firm began trading 
as Wood & Hughes, a name it yet re- 
tains after a lapse of seventy years. At 
the time of Henry Wood's entering the 
employ of the firm, his brother, Charles 
Wood, was the senior partner. After 
completing his apprenticeship and becom- 
ing thoroughly familiar with the business 
in factory and in office, Henry Wood was 
given an interest. This was in 1863, the 
principal partners then being his brother, 
Charles Wood, Stephen Fraprie and 
Charles H. Hughes. Dixon G. Hughes 
was also given an interest in the business 
and later he, with Henry Wood, was ad- 
mitted to full partnership. In 1890 these 
two men succeeded to full ownership and 
management, following the death of 
Charles Wood and Stephen Fraprie's 
ownership and management continuing 
until Henry Wood's death in 1900. Mr. 
Wood at different times during his con- 
nection with the business was in charge of 
the offices, and at others in charge of the 
factory, but his specialty was the manu- 
facture of silver hollow ware, a line in 
which he had no superior. He was ex- 
ceedingly fertile in beautiful appropriate 
designs, the artistic talent with which he 
was richly endowed suggesting a variety 
of treatment which, when wrought out 



by the skill of silversmith and jeweler, 
gave to each article a distinction all its 
own. The leading jewelry firms of New 
York came to Wood & Hughes for artistic 
designs and superior workmanship, while 
all parts of the United States and even 
Europe drew largely upon their recog- 
nized skill and workmanship as silver- 
smiths and jewelers. Mr. Wood had the 
happy faculty of inspiring his assistants 
in both factory and office with his own 
high ideals, and, from an artistic and a 
financial standpoint, the continued suc- 
cess of Wood & Hughes may be justly 
attributed to this spirit of cooperation, 
born of the enthusiasm of Henry Wood. 
Mr. Wood married, June 9, 1S80, Mary 
H. Chadwick. Their home was in New 
York City for nineteen years, but in 1899 
they became residents of Red Bank, where 
Mrs. Wood yet resides near the scenes of 
her birth and earlier life. 

(The Taber Line). 

Taber Arms: On a fess vert, three 
griffins' heads erased or. Crest: A grif- 
fin's head erased, proper. 

Francis Chadwick, of the third Ameri- 
can generation, married Huldah Taber, a 
descendant of Philip Taber, born in 1605, 
died in 1672, who came from England 
to New England at an early date. His 
first wife was Lydia, daughter of John 
and Jane Masters. He was of Water- 
town, Massachusetts, Yarmouth, Ports- 
mouth and Providence, Rhode Island. 
He was made freeman in Massachusetts. 
May 14, 1634, and January 4, 1639, 
a freeman of Portsmouth. He served 
as deputy in 1639-40, was made freeman 
of Portsmouth in 1656, and in 1660-61 and 
1663 was commissioner. On November 8, 
1640, he had his son John baptized in 
Barnstable, and six years later, in Feb- 
ruary. 1646, his children. Joseph, Philir 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Thomas, were baptized. In March, 
165 1, he was in New London, coming 
there from Martha's Vineyard, where he 
had been for some years. He owned 
property, and there are several references 
to him in the records. By one account he 
finally settled at Tiverton, where he died. 
He had children : 

John, who died young; Lydia, who was 
married, April id. 1664, to Pardon Till- 
inghast ; Joseph ; Philip, died in 1693, 
married and left issue ; Thomas, of fur- 
ther mention; John, died June 9, 1747, 
married and left issue; Peter, died in 
1736, married and left issue ; James, died 
October 7, 1690. married and left a son, 
Robert. 

Thomas Taber, son of Philip Taber, the 
emigrant, and Lydia Masters, his wife, 
was born in 1646, died November 11, 1730, 
a resident of Dartmouth, Massachusetts, 
where the Tabers were one of the promi- 
nent families. 

In 1673 Thomas Taber served the town 
as surveyor of highways ; 1675 as fence 
viewer ; 1679 as town clerk and constable : 
1685, 1692, 1694, 1696, 1699, 1700, 1701 
and 1702 as selectman. In 1686 he was 
rate maker; in 1689 was captain of the 
train band ; and in 1693 was deputy to the 
General Court. His will, March 30, 1733, 
appointed his four sons — Joseph, John, 
Jacob and Philip — as executors, and de- 
vised to his widow Mary half the home- 
stead, with all houses, orchards and so 
forth, as long as she remained his widow, 
and to her all his personal estate. 

He married (first) Esther Cooke, died 
in 1671, daughter of Rev. John and Sarah 
(Warren) Cooke. Rev. John Cooke was 
the last male survivor of the "Mayflower" 
passengers. 

He married (second) Mary Thomson, 
who dietl May 3, 1734, daughter of Cap- 
tain John Thomson, born in 1616, and 
Mary Cooke, his wife. Mary Cooke, born 



in 1624, was a daughter of Francis Cooke, 
of the "Mayflower," and his wife. Ilester 
M ahim. Children of Thomas Taber and 
his first wife, Esther Cooke : Thomas and 
Esther. Children of his second wife, 
Mary Thomson: Lydia, born August 8, 
1673; Sarah, born in January, 1674; Mary, 
burn March 18, 1677 ; Joseph, born March 
7, 1679, married Elizabeth Spooner; John, 
born February 22, 1681, married Phoebe 
Spooner, sister of Elizabeth ; Jacob, born 
July 26, 1683; Jonathan, born September 
22, (685 ; Bethiah.born September 3, 1687; 
Philip, born February 7. [689; Abigail. 
born May 2, 1693. 

Philip (2) Taber, son of Thomas Taber 
and Mary Thomson, his wife, was born 
February 7. 1689. He married Susannah, 
daughter of Leonard Tucker, and had 
issue. 

It is not susceptible of proof who is the 
head of the generation following Philip 
[2), but the probabilities are that it was 
Zephaniah. The will of Philip Taber does 
not clear the problem at all. That Hul- 
dah was a granddaughter of Philip is 
clearly proved, but through which son no 
public record shows. 

Huldah Taber, granddaughter of Philip 
and Susannah (Tucker) Taber, married 
Francis Chadwick, of Red Bank, of previ- 
ous mention (see Chadwick). 

(The Longstreet Line). 

Deborah Longstreet, wife of Taber 
Chadwick, mother of Francis Chadwick 
and grandmother of Mary II. Chadwick 
(Mrs. Henry Wood), was a descendant 
of Stoffel (Theophilus) Langstraat, of 
Flatlands, Long Island, 1657. From early 
records and writings it is found that the 
name, originally Van Langstraaten.aplace 
name, became Langstreet and Longstreet. 
"The names of Dutch arrivals here have 
undergone change, and that of Van Lang- 
straaten is now Longstreet." "The Lang- 
29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



street or Longstreet family was of early 
Dutch extraction." From other records 
of recognized value the following extracts 
are taken : 

The following took oath of allegiance to the 
British Crown in 1687 with the date of arrival 
in this country of the foreign born: Dirck Stoff- 

lese, 1657, Stoffle Dirckse (Langstraet) 

and others. 

The following appear in the census of 
1698: "Derrick Langstraet, 5 whites in 
family. Adrian Langstraet, 1 white in 
family. Derrick Langstraet married 24 
yrs has 16 children all sound and well. 
Stoffel Langstreet of Monmouth Co., N. 
J., b. 1713, d. 1784 mar 16 Dec 1743 Abi- 
gail Woolley. Their grandson James was 
the father of General James Longstreet, 
the famous general of the Confederate 
Army." 

From the "American Weekly Mercury," 
February 14-21, 1726-27, the following 
note is gleaned: 

From Shrewsbury in New Jersey on Saturday 
the last day of Dec. 1726, Theophilus Longstreet 
of Shrewsbury in the County of Monmouth aged 
near sixty years, he met with some swans flying 
over a meadow, who shot down six of them at one 
shot, such a shot was never known among us. 

The line in detail begins with Theophi- 
lus or Stoffel Van Langstraaten, of Hol- 
land. 

His son, Dirck Stoffelse, born in Hol- 
land, immigrated to America in 1657. He 
married (first) Catharine Van Liewen. 
He married (second) prior to February 
13, 1690, Johanna Havens, widow of Jo- 
hannis Holsaert. Derrick, or Dirck Stof- 
felse Langstraet, was a member of the 
Flatlands Dutch church in 1677 ; took the 
oath of allegiance there in 1687; an as- 
sessment roll of Flatlands, 1693, and the 
census of 1698 contain his name. An 
ante-nuptial agreement with his second 
wife, on Gravesend records of February 



13, 1690, makes reference to his son, Stof- 
fel Dircksen, which reference furnishes 
positive proof that that son was a child 
of the first wife. At an early period (as 
per Rev. G. C. Schrenck) he bought land 
at Shrewsbury, New Jersey, which he de- 
vised to his son Richard. Issue: Stoffel 
Dircksen, of further mention, born about 
1665; Classje Dircksen, born about 1672, 
married Abraham Lott. of Jamaica ; Ad- 
nau, baptized September 16, 1677; Rich- 
ard, of Shrewsbury, born about 1680; Jo- 
hannis ; and Samuel, married Barbara An- 
tonides. He signed his name "Dirck Stof- 
fels." 

Stoffel Dircksen, son of Dirck Stoffelse 
Langstraet and his first wife, Catharine 
Van Liewen, was of Flatlands, Long 
Island, and Monmouth county. New Jer- 
sey. He was a deacon of the Flatlands 
church, moved to the "Neversinks" in 
Monmouth county, New Jersey, in 1698, 
and in that county his descendants 
abound. 

He married Mayke Laaneu, daughter 
of Gysbrecht Thysz Laaneu Van Pelt, of 
New Utrecht. In his will, dated Decem- 
ber 1, 1739, proved March 1, 1741, he calls 
himself Theophilus, although he signed 
his name "Stoffel Langstratt." 

The will of Mayke, his wife, is dated 
April 8, 1752, and was proved March 
r 3- T 753- These wills mention children: 
Jonica, Catharine, Mary Sarah, Maria 
Ann, and Gisbert. Their issue was: 
Dirck, baptized April 25, 1696. in Brook- 
lyn ; Jonica or Jane ; Catharine, married 
Jan Sutphen, of New Jersey; Mary or 
Maria, baptized May 6, 1702, married 
(first) William Hendricksen, of New Jer- 
sey, (second) Dirck Sutphen Schrenck, 
died in 1758; Stoffel, baptized December 
25, 1713, married, in 1743, Abigail Wool- 
ley and resided at Upper Freehold ; Aurze, 
baptized in 1710, married Lydia Hall in 
Middlesex county, New Jersey; Moica, 



130 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



baptized March 6, 1 7 1 6. married (sup- 
posed) Johannes Lerk; Anna, born about 
1718; and Gisbert. 

Dirck, son of Stoffel Langstratt and his 
wife, Mayke, was baptized in Brooklyn, 
New York, April 25, 1696. He is found 
on the records as Dirck and Derrick, but 
signs his will Richard Longstreet. He 
lived at Manasquan, but in his will dated 
May 2j, 1761, calls himself "of the town 
of Shrewsbury, county of Monmouth, 
State of New Jersey." He mentions in 
his will "wife Allice," to whom he leaves 
"the plantation my father bought of John 
West." Also mentions son Samuel, liv- 
ing on Shark River, sons Avrey and 
Richard, daughters Catharine, Moica, 
Mary and Anne, granddaughters Cath- 
arine and Allice, daughters of his eldest 
son, Stoffel (deceased). 

Richard, son of Dirck (Richard) Long- 
street and "Allice,"' his wife, made his 
will, and in it calls himself "of Howell, 
county of Monmouth, State of New Jer- 
sey." 

He names in the will his sons, Wil- 
liam, Richard, Samuel. John, son of David 
(deceased), daughters Elizabeth and 
Alice, the children of his daughter, Mary 
Morton (deceased), the children of David, 
and Richard's daughter, Deborah, by his 
first wife. Lydia Morton. lie further 
states that he had already given Richard 
a farm of one hundred and fifty acres 
"which he may dispose of as he pleases," 
but the property he devises to him is to 
go to his said daughter, Deborah. He 
enumerates the boundaries of the various 
pieces of land he disposes of to his chil- 
dren by will, and mentions Rankin's line 
and Goodman's as being at the south and 
east, Painter's road, the head of the bay, 
Allen's tavern, the Quaker meeting house, 
Clayton's tavern, Square bridge. Zebulon 
Clayton's, and various meadows and 
woodlands. He makes his "son Richard" 
and his "friend Taber Chadwick" execu- 



tors, and signed his name Richard Long- 
street. Witnesses, Thomas Clayton, 
Thomas I. (or J.) Hankinson, and Joel 
Willton. The will is in the handwriting 
of Taber Chadwick and bears the date of 
1827, as does a codicil. 

Richard, of the sixth generation, son of 
Richard Longstreet, "of Howell." was 
born February 18, 1767, died April 1, 1858. 
He is the Richard Longstreet who was 
"married 24 yrs and had 16 children all 
sound and well" by his first wife, Lydia 
Morton, who was born July 1, 1766, died 
January 4, 1810. Their gravestones are 
the only ones now standing ( 1914) in the 
old Longstreet burying ground at l'.rielle. 
New Jersey. The inscription on his grave- 
stone reads : 

Richard Longstreet 
died 
Apr. 1 1858 
aged 91 years 
1 month & 11 days. 
"Aged sire thy work is finished' 
"Here on earth thy toils are o'er" 
"Brighter happier scenes surround thee' 
"Where thou'lt dwell forevermore". 

Children: Prudence, born in 1786; De- 
borah, born July 2, 1787; Aaron, born in 
1788; Hannah, born in 1790; Mahalah. 
born in 1791 ; Elizabeth, born in ij<)?,; 

, born in 1794; William Morton. 

born in 1795; Mary, born in 1796; Lydia, 
born in 1797; Catharine, born in 1799; 
Abigail, twin of Catharine ; Anna, born 
in [802; Richard, born in 1803; John M.. 
born in 1804; James M., born in 1808. 
Beside his stone in the graveyard at 
Brielle stands that of his wife Lydia, and 
mother of the above children. It bears 
this inscription: 

In Memory of 

Lydia 

Wife of 

Richard Longstreet 

who departed this life 

January 1st A. D. 1810 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



aged 

43 years 

and 6 months. 

Broken in half, with a sapling growing 
between the two parts lies the gravestone 
of his second wife : 

Zilpah 

wife of 

Richard Longstreet 

who died 

Dec. 31 1863. 

By this second wife Richard Longstreet 
had issue: Zilpah, born in 1813; Inabe, 
1814; Esther, 1820; David, 1822; Pru- 
dence, 1824; Mahlon, 1825; Thomas, 1826. 
Deborah Longstreet, of the seventh 
generation, daughter of Richard Long- 
street by his first wife, Lydia Morton, 
was born July 25, 1787 (according to the 
Bible of Taber Chadwick, July 25), died 
September 14, 1833. She married (his sec- 
ond wife) November 13, 1804, Taber 
Chadwick, of previous mention, a de- 
scendant of John Chadwick, who died in 
New Jersey, June 20, 1739. Issue of Taber 
and Deborah (Longstreet) Chadwick: 
Francis, born in 1805, died young; Rich- 
ard, born in 1807, died young; Jeremiah, 
born in 1808, died young; Lydia, born in 
1810; Catherine, born in 1812, died young; 
Francis, born March 18, 1813 (q. v.),; 
Richard L., born in 1816; Sarah Ann, 
born in 1818; Catherine, born in 1819; 
Jeremiah, born in 1822 ; Deborah, born in 
1824; Lucinda, born in 1826; Angeline, 
born in 1829. Both Taber Chadwick and 
Deborah, his wife, are buried in the old 
Chadwick plot in East Red Bank, "Tower 
Hill." 

Francis, of previous mention, son of 
Taber and Deborah (Longstreet) Chad- 
wick, married September 9, 1835. Mar- 
garet Ann, daughter of Captain Joseph 
Parker, of Red Bank (see Parker line). 
She was born February 12, 1818, died Jan- 
uary 22, 1904. Both Francis and Margaret 



A. Chadwick are buried in Fairview Ceme- 
tery, near Red Bank, in Middletown town- 
ship. 

(The Parker Line). 

Parker Arms : Gules, a chevron argent, 
charged with three fleurs-de-lis gules, be- 
tween three keys argent. Crest: An 
elephant's head couped argent, collared 
gules, charged with three fleurs-de-lis or. 
Motto: Scatndis dubiisque rectus. 

Margaret Ann Parker, wife of Francis 
Chadwick and mother of Mary H. (Chad- 
wick) Wood, was a lineal descendant of 
George Parker, of England, son of 
George and Mary Parker, and a descend- 
ant of noted forbears, including Matthew, 
an Archbishop of Canterbury. George 
Parker came to New England in the 
spring of 1635 on the ship "Elizabeth and 
Ann," Robert Cooper, master. He brought 
a certificate from the minister and justices 
of the peace of "Conformitee to ye orders 
and discipline of ye church of England," 
asserting "and ye he is no subsidy man." 
He was at the time of his coming aged 
twenty years, and was a skilled worker in 
wood. 

Soon after his coming to New Eng- 
land he married, and with his wife 
Frances, settled at Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, in 1638. In 1638 he was admitted 
an "inhabitant," and March 16, 1641, was 
made a "freeman." In 1641 he was ser- 
geant of the court, an office he held until 
his death in October, 1656, the first gen- 
eral officer of the colony to die in office. 
His widow, Frances, married (second) 
Nicholas Brown, of Portsmouth, the same 
Nicholas who later donated the ground at 
Shrewsbury, New Jersey, upon which 
Christ Episcopal Church was built. The 
children of George and Frances Parker 
were: Joseph, John, Miribah, and Peter. 
Joseph, eldest son of George and Fran- 
ces Parker, was born not later than 1636, 
and was taken to Rhode Island with his 
parents. 
32 




U - OJ?&4L*U vn^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



:Ie was made a freeman of Ports- ter of Thomas Pills, who was a son of 



mouth in 1668, but in 1669 was in Mon- 
mouth county. New Jersey, where he 
exchanged lands in Portsmouth for land 
in .Monmouth county, New Jersey, then 
settled in Shrewsbury township, where 
he became a very large landowner, his 
holdings, reaching from river to river, in- 
cluding the site of the present village of 
Little Silver. It is said that this name 
comes from the fact that in its original 
transfer from the Indians they received 
therefor "little silver." Joseph Parker's 
first house was near the bridge crossing 
Parker's creek. He was made a justice of 
the peace in 1675, and in [676 was ap- 
pointed a justice of the court, holding un- 
til 1682, and was also a member of the 
Assembly. In 1682 he was appointed a 
commissioner to lay out roads and to levy 
taxes. 

He died at Shrewsbury, August 18, 
1684, aged about forty-eight years, leav- 
ing most of his property to his son, 
Joseph. He married Margaret Slocum, 
and had sons, Joseph, Nathaniel and 
Peter. 

Peter, youngest son of Joseph and Mar- 
garet (Slocum) Parker, was born in 1681, 
died June 27, 1708. He was a landowner 
at Long Branch and Rumson Neck, and 
for many years a constable of Shrews- 
bury, his home town being near Parker- 
ville. 

He married Elizabeth C. , and 

had issue: Silas, Hannah, Josiah, John, 
Peter, Margaret and Elizabeth. 

Josiah, son of Peter and Elizabeth C. 
Parker, was born in Shrewsbury town- 
ship, married, and there lived and died. 

William, son of Josiah Parker, was 
known as "Boatman Billy," to distinguish 
him from a relative, "Rich Billy" Parker. 
He married Anna Brookman, daughter of 
Henry and Lydia (Bills) Brookman. 
Lydia Bills was a daughter of William 
and Mary (Borden) Bills, a granddaugh- 



\\ illiam and a grandson of Robert Bills. 
Mary (Borden) Hills was a daughter of 
Francis and Mary | Lippincott) Borden, 
and a granddaughter of Francis and Jane 
(Yillars) Borden. William and Ann 
Parker had issue: Josiah Hyde, Michael, 
William, and Joseph ("Captain"). 

Captain Joseph Parker, son of "I'.oat- 
man" William Parker and Anna Brook- 
man, his wife, was born in 1784, died in 
1858, a lifelong resident of Red Bank and 
vicinity. 

lie married Hannah Casler, born Sep- 
tember 15, 1794, died in 1876, daugh- 
ter of John P. Casler, born October 8, 
1774, died March 2, 1862, and his wife, 
Margaret Clayton, born October 31, 1774, 
died July 1, 1824. She was a granddaugh- 
ter of John and Margaret Casler, of 
French-Huguenot ancestry. Children of 
Captain Joseph Parker: John, died young; 
"Captain" Henry Brookman; Margaret 
Ann; William Bills ; Ashur ; Mary; Jo- 
seph ; Jacob ; and Robert, who married 
Julia Hance. 

Margaret Ann. daughter of Captain 
Joseph and Hannah (Casler) Parker, was 
born in 1818, died in 1904. She was a 
woman of fine quality, noted for her pro- 
ficiency in fine needle work and embroid- 
ery and for her many womanly virtues. 
A specimen of her skill with the em- 
broidery needle when a child of eleven 
years is preserved in the home of her 
daughter, Mary H. (Chadwick) Wood, 
and is a wonderful piece of picture em- 
broidery. She married, in 1835, Francis 
Chadwick. of Red Bank (see Chadwick 
sketch). 



Editor's Note— On following pages appear a 
number of important historical narratives from 
the pen of the Rev. Joseph F. Folsom, secretary 
of the New Jersey Historical Society, litterateur 
and antiquarian, and an author of ability. For 
many years he has contributed to the press valu- 
able papers bearing upon early New Jersey his- 
tory. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BRAY, Daniel, 

Patriot of the Revolution. 

Many patriots who in the long struggle 
did less for their country's freedom than 
Daniel Bray are to-day more honored and 
sung, although he, through many perils, 
gathered by night the fleet of boats by 
which Washington crossed the icy Dela- 
ware. Even had the battle of Trenton 
proved a disaster for the Americans, in- 
stead of the glorious victory it actually 
became, the dangerous descent of the 
swiftly flowing river, from the mouth of 
the Lehigh to Malta Island, a journey of 
fifty miles through long wintry nights, 
accomplished by Captain Bray and his 
compatriots, should at least give his name 
a place beside those of Paul Revere, Ser- 
geant Jasper and Molly Pitcher. 

It has remained for history to set in 
proper light his service, and history has 
given him but a paragraph. If this brief 
sketch shall do no more than lead to an 
examination of the facts and traditions 
concerning this New Jersey Revolution- 
ary soldier, it will have accomplished its 
immediate purpose. Afterward a just 
verdict will follow. 

Meanwhile, in the old-fashioned but 
well-cared-for cemetery at Rosemont are 
resting the remains of General Bray, 
marked by a well-preserved marble head- 
stone, bearing only this too modest in- 
scription, "Sacred to the memory of Dan- 
iel Bray, born October the 12th, A. D. 
1 75 1, and departed this life December the 
5th, A. D. 1819, in the 69th year of his 
age." No military title is prefixed to the 
name of one who was a captain in the 
Revolution and a general of State militia 
afterward. No appropriate inscription to 
the memory of a patriot who performed 
heroic deeds in one war, and in the sec- 
ond war with Great Britain in 1812 stood 
in readiness with trained men to go when 
called. 



Next to him lies his wife, who died in 
1840. The headstones are such as well-to- 
do people of the early part of the nine- 
teenth century had placed above their 
graves, and were it not for the prominent 
part this soldier played in his country's 
history, no just complaint could be made 
about his last resting-place, but in view 
of what he did, it would seem that his 
services should be better memorialized. 

Before presenting some facts regard- 
ing his life, let us first see what has al- 
ready been written about Daniel Bray. 
In the late Dr. George S. Mott's "First 
Century of Hunterdon County" the fol- 
lowing passage is found : 

General Stirling was stationed with his troops 
opposite Lambertville, at Beaumonts, about three 
miles below New Hope. Redoubts were cast up, 
one on the top of the hill back of the schoolhouse 
at New Hope. General Washington rode up to 
inspect these, probably returning the same day. 
He ordered a stockade intrenchment to be made, 
and batteries to be posted. As it was important 
that he should have command of all the boats on 
the river, General Green was charged with the 
duty. He ordered General Ewing to send sixteen 
Durham boats and four flats down to McKon- 
keys' (Washington's crossing). These Durham 
boats were large and flat, pointed at each end, 
being used for conveying iron from Durham to 
Philadelphia. General Maxwell was directed to 
collect the boats high up the river, as there was 
danger of the enemy seizing them, and to place 
them under strong guard. This service was as- 
signed to Captain Daniel Bray, afterward General 
Bray, of the New Jersey Militia, Captain Jacob 
Gearheart and Captain Thomas Jones, who col- 
lected all the boats on the upper waters of the 
Delaware and Lehigh, and brought them down to 
Coryell's ferry. The boats were hid behind Malta 
Island, just below what is known as "The Mills" 
on the Pennsylvania side. The island was dense- 
ly wooded, so that the boats could not be seen by 
a reconnoitering party of the enemy, as it looked 
down the New Jersey heights. These boats were 
thus secured for the famous crossing of Christ- 
mas night. 

Captain Bray was a native of Kingwood, and 
was familiar with every boat and crossing along 
the river. Captain Gearheart was from Fleming- 
ton. To procure these boats, to conceal their 
34 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



plans from the Tories who were lurking about, 
and who would betray them at the first opportu- 
nity, to cut out these flat boats in the darkness of 
those cold winter nights, to float them down amid 
the rocks and through the rapids, to keep them 
from being crushed or swamped, was a task most 
difficult and hazardous. But it was successfully 
accomplished. Cornwallis was informed of this 
enterprise, and sent a detachment to seize these 
boats, but they could not find them, or were 
afraid to venture across the river in the face of 
those frowning batteries. 

Dr. Mott also supplies a footnote for 
his assertion that the boats for the famous 
crossing were thus secured, which refers 
to "Dr. Studdiford's Manuscripts," and 
"History of Berks County," by W. W. 
Davis. 

General W. S. Stryker, in his "Battles 
of Trenton and Princeton," has this to say 
regarding the collecting of boats: 

The Durham boat was the ordinary means of 
transporting merchandise on the Delaware river, 
and of even sending iron ore from Oxford Fur- 
nace, in old Sussex county. New Jersey, to the 
market at Philadelphia during the forty years 
before and after the beginning of this century. 
A number of these boats had been carefully col- 
lected by men employed by Colonel Humpton, of 
the Pennsylvania Continental Line. For the last 
ten days Captain Jacob Gearheart, Captain Daniel 
Bray and Captain Thomas Jones, all officers of 
the Second Regiment, Hunterdon county, New 
Jersey, militia, had been busily employed in gather- 
ing all the boats of every kind on the upper waters 
of the Delaware and Lehigh rivers, and hiding 
them, with those previously collected, behind the 
thick woods of Malta Island, close to the west 
bank, and at the mouth of Knowles creek, where 
they were entirely hidden from the Jersey shore. 
These boats had been kept under careful guard 
and were now brought down some two miles to 
McKonkey's ferry, the selected place for the 
crossing. 



town, Hunterdon County, N. J., about 
three miles from the Delaware River, to 
make their plans for that object." 

Snell's "History of Hunterdon and 
Somerset Counties" also refers to Cap- 
tain Bray's services in this enterprise, and 
quotes Dr. Mott's language. 

These passages embrace about all that 
history has said about this patriot, but 
enough has been presented to prove that 
he was the leading spirit in the special 
work of securing the boats, though others 
accompanied him, and bore the same rank. 

Tradition has considerable to say about 
that memorable trip up-country, detailing 
many incidents which can never be either 
proved or gainsaid, but the plain facts of 
the case are forever established by the 
affidavit of John Clifford, made in 1838, 
for the benefit of Mary Bray, who was at 
that time petitioning for a pension on the 
basis of her deceased husband's Revolu- 
tionary services. It is as follows: 

John Clifford, born January 10, 1740, (old 
style), states, November, 1838, that during the 
war he was a lieutenant of militia, and lived in 
the same neighborhood with Daniel Bray. The 
first tour of duty they performed together was 
when three companies were sent from Baptist- 
town, in Hunterdon county, to Easton, Pennsylva- 
nia, to collect all boats and water craft along the 
Delaware from Easton to Sherrods ferry, near 
F'renchtown, in order to facilitate the passage of 
the American army across the Delaware. The 
witness also said he and Bray performed another 
tour of duty together, meeting on the occasion at 
Ringoes. Lieutenant Clifford, in the company of 
Captain Gearheart and Daniel Bray, in command 
of a company then going to Elizabethtown, were 
completing their service. He also saw Bray in 
command of a company on his way to Mon- 
mouth. 



This author appends a footnote, which 
reads as follows: "An affidavit of John 
Clifford on file in the War Department, 
Washington, D. C, states that he assisted 
Captain Bray in gathering twenty-five 
boats, and that the party met at Baptist- 



Before relating the tradition of the ex- 
pedition for the boats, as handed down 
among General Bray's descendants, a 
brief biography of his life would be timely. 

Daniel Bray, according to the record in 
his family Bible, was born October 12, 



135 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1 75 1, married, May 14, 1772, and died De- 
cember 5, 1819. His family was of Scotch 
origin. His father was James Bray, who 
lived near Baptisttown, and who in a will 
recorded at Trenton in 1758, mentions a 
son Daniel (a minor) to whom he be- 
queathed land. His grandfather was Rev. 
John Bray, who is mentioned as serving 
on a jury in Middletown, Monmouth 
county, in the year 1684. This clergy- 
man and his wife, Susanna, conveyed land 
to the Baptists at Holmdel, where a 
church was built, and where he preached 
in 1711. 

James Bray aided in establishing an 
"Old School Baptist Church" at Baptist- 
town, and there in all probability young 
Daniel Bray attended as a boy, as he 
afterward did as a man. It is said that 
he spent several years on the river as a 
"waterman," handling boats. This ex- 
perience was valuable to him in after life. 
He was popular and energetic and early 
known as a leader in the cause of free- 
dom. He married, on May 14, 1772, Mary 
Wolverton, daughter of Dennis Wolver- 
ton, whose house still stands, far down 
the lane back of the Kingwood Methodist 
Church. They drove to Ringoes for the 
ceremony. The bride was twenty-two 
years of age, having been born November 
2, 1750, and the groom twenty-one. Soon 
after the wedding they settled on a tract 
of timber land west of the King's High- 
way, in Kingwood, where they both lived 
till death. 

The children of this union were : Eliza- 
beth, born January 24, 1775, married Ed- 
ward Rittenhouse, December 18, 1791 ; 
Delilah, born February 1, 1777, married 
Jonathan Rittenhouse, July 10, 1796; 
John, born May 25, 1779, died January 29, 
1818; Jonathan, born June 25, 1781, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Kuhl, February 14, 1805; 
Hannah, born April 28, 1783, married 
Jonathan Blackwell, October 25, 1801 ; 



James, born August 2, 1785, died March 
16, 1786; Susannah, born December 6, 
1786, married Israel Batemen, May 20, 
1820; Andrew, born December 12, 1789, 
married Sarah, daughter of Elisha Rit- 
tenhouse (date unknown) ; Sydney, born 
December 15, 1791, died June 2, 1803; 
Wilson, born December 21, 1793, married 
Mary West, daughter of Thomas, Decem- 
ber 4. 1816; Daniel, born July 20, 1795, 
married Elizabeth Kirk, of Philadelphia, 
February 1, 1827; Garner, born Decem- 
ber 15, 1797, died January 15, 1798; and 
Mary, born October 10, 1801, died April 
25. 181 2. 

Their first home was built of logs, and 
from his log house as lieutenant and cap- 
tain the young husband went forth on his 
monthly tours in the cause of freedom, 
being sometimes under the command of 
superior officers of the Second Regiment 
of Hunterdon County, and at others under 
the command of officers of the Conti- 
nental regulars. In the petition for a pen- 
sion before mentioned his widow stated 
that, with it, she was filing three commis- 
sions granted to her husband during the 
war, one as second lieutenant, another as 
first lieutenant, and a third as captain, the 
last signed by Governor William Living- 
ston. She said that "he served all his 
regular monthly tours, from the com- 
mencement of the war to its termination, 
hired no substitute, nor missed a tour 
when his turn came." She stated that 
through age and infirmities she was un- 
able to specify the particular services, but 
she thought that he was in a tour at 
Princeton in the beginning of winter, just 
before the birth of her child, which was 
in February, 1777, and that he was about 
three months at the camp at Paramus, 
without returning home, and as captain 
during the time. 

As the daughter of Dennis Wolverton, 
of Kingwood, she was married. May 14, 



136 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1772, to Daniel Bray, by Rev. Mr. Fraser, 
of the Church of England, who at that 
time resided in Ringoes, township of Am- 
well, Hunterdon county. 

These tours were apparently the regu- 
larly recurring expeditions of the New 
Jersey militia, to reconnoitre, to attack 
outlying posts of the enemy, to join in 
battle with the Continentals, or to do spe- 
cial military work as occasions demanded. 
It appears that various officers and com- 
panies took turns in going out, and in the 
interims of their service, they attended to 
their farms or other vocations. Perhaps 
the cause was never in as much peril as it 
appeared to be at dark periods, for behind 
the visible regular army were always the 
reserves of State militia, ready at critical 
junctures to fill up the gaps, while mean- 
while sustaining at home the resources 
of the country. 

When Daniel Bray left home for his 
monthly tours, his slave, Joseph, attended 
to the farm and stock, and protected the 
family. Joseph and his wife, Phillis, lived 
to a great age. In a corner of the old 
"Rittenhouse" Cemetery, now Rosemont, 
is a stone inscribed, "in memory of Jo- 
seph, a faithful colored servant of Daniel 
Bray, Sr." It is said that General Bray- 
never allowed the colored people in his 
service to be called slaves — they were 
always servants. He gave them an op- 
portunity for religious and educational 
improvement. He built this particular 
couple a cabin a hundred yards south of 
his own house, and it was still standing 
up to recent times, though now a pear 
tree and a well are all that remain to indi- 
cate the spot. 

The ire of the general was once aroused 
by a rough practical joke played on the 
old negro, long after the war. Some dull 
wags wrote a cruel message on his wall 
with phosphorus, telling him he would 
be lost, and the shock laid him down in 
bed. 



There are sworn affidavits on file at 
Washington showing that Captain Bray 
was in service at Paramus, Passaic, 
Woodbridge, Passaic Falls, Springfield, 
Monmouth (where he fought in the bat- 
tle 1. Byers .Mill (where he helped capture 
about ninety wagons with plunder), Eliz- 
abethtown Point (as lieutenant, before 
the Declaration was signed), New Bruns- 
wick. Quibbletown and tiermantown. 
Two of the affidavits refer to his being a 
captain in the battle of Monmouth. It is 
evident that he was very active as a sol- 
dier, and frequently away from home. 

After the war he settled down to hard 
work, clearing and improving his large 
farm. Old people have related to a grand- 
son of the general's, who is still living, 
how passing by the farm they used to see 
the stalwart veteran in the fields, and 
hear from him always a cheery greeting. 
He built the house which still stands at 
Kingwood about the year 1800, and also 
the substantial stone barn, which is as 
solid as a fort. The old blacksmith shop 
where he had his horses shod still re- 
mains, though long since abandoned. At 
Prallsville, a well preserved old stone 
store, where he obtained his supplies, is 
still standing. 

General Bray was of striking appear- 
ance, and dignified in his bearing, so much 
so that when he with his wife, before the 
marriage of his son, Wilson Hray, came 
down the lane dressed in blue coat and 
trousers and buff vest, his prospective 
daughter-in-law, Mary Wot. from an 
upper window, according to her own con- 
fession, fell to trembling, and became very 
nervous. 

Mr-. Susan Sargent, a granddaughter, 
once thus described his appearance as 
being "A very large man, not very tall, 
but powerfully built, with a rather promi- 
nent nose and generous ears." She re- 
membered seeing him "only in his mili- 
tary suit, with his epaulets and brass but- 



i.v 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tons on his coat, kneebuckles, with sash 
and sword at his side, and with his high- 
topped boots and spurs, and his large 
military coat thrown back over his shoul- 
der, with his cocked hat set on his beauti- 
ful white hair, he was a magnificent look- 
ing man." He wore a seal on his watch 
fob. 

The epaulets here spoken of were for 
years owned by Miss Elizabeth K. Bray, 
a granddaughter, together with his cap- 
tain's epaulets, his flint and his Masonic 
emblems. He was an officer of Unity 
Lodge in 1788, and the first lodge of Hun- 
terdon county is said to have met in his 
house. 

No painting of General Bray has yet 
been brought to light, though there is one 
of his wife in the possession of a descend- 
ant. 

An eye witness related to Stacy B. Bray 
this incident in his grandfather's life. 
When the militia was training at Ringoes, 
about 1812, with special zeal in view of the 
war, then threatening with Great Britain, 
General Bray, as commander, was driving 
about on his fine military horse directing 
operations. He noticed that Captain John 
Lambert was about to touch off the can- 
non, and said: "Don't shoot yet, my horse 
is a little treacherous." He then spurred 
his steed, but almost immediately the 
salute was fired, and with a rear the 
startled animal threw the rider past his 
head, to which, fortunately, the general 
clung, and landed on his feet in front. 
He drew his sword and said, with great 
heat : "What do you mean by disobey- 
ing orders in that way?" But Captain 
Lambert dryly replied: "If we are going 
to have war, your horse had better get 
used to the smell of gun-powder." 

The tradition, or, better, the traditional 
details, of the gathering of the boats were 
related by the late Stacy B. Bray, never 
before having appeared in print to his 



knowledge. The story, according to the 
narrator, has been related before many a 
fireplace in the old days, and among the 
families of the Murfits, the Boyds, the 
Merricks, the Parrys, the Hoaglands, the 
Brays and others on both sides of the 
river. "Tradition," says Mr. Bray in this 
connection, "may or may not be true. 
When, however, tradition, is based on 
historical data and sworn testimony, it is 
accepted." The story in brief is as fol- 
lows c 

After a council of war held in Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, which is identified with the one 
held at the Merrick House, west of New Hope, 
about December 20, a trooper was sent across the 
ferry operated by Abram and John Coryell, 
located where Lambertville is now situated, with 
a letter to Daniel Bray. Kingwood. It had been 
finally decided to make an attack on Trenton, and 
when one of the council had expressed a doubt 
as to the probability of securing enough boats 
Washington had said : "Leave that to me." 

Then he said he knew a young fellow up in 
Kingwood named Daniel Bray, one of his trusted 
officers, who had never failed in any duty given 
him to do, and that he lived near the river and 
knew every ford and ferryboat from Coryells to 
Easton. He would bring all the craft needed in 
good time. 

It must be remembered that the boats used in 
the crossing from Trenton to Pennsylvania on 
December 8 were all down stream below Trenton 
Falls and were to be used for simultaneous cross- 
ings at Bordentown and Trenton, while Washing- 
ton would cross at McKonkey's ferry, eight miles 
above Trenton. It would have been impossible 
to get the boats up stream under the circum- 
stances, hence others must be brought down from 
above. 

The trooper proceeded six miles north from 
Coryells to Kingwood, where at midnight he 
aroused Captain Bray, who, after ordering his 
horse saddled, returned with the orderly to Cor- 
yell's ferry, where, it is alleged, Washington met 
him. It is said that John Coryell ferried Wash- 
ington over, and that he introduced his brother 
Abram to the general at the "Ferry Hotel," and 
that Washington was provided with an upper 
room, where he gave the young captain his in- 
structions with regard to the boats. He told him 
to secure every boat on the Delaware from the 




■?J- 



CUtAs 



^r€AJ^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Lehigh river down, and expressed his confidence 
in him. Bray said he would try. and then started 
eff in the night to find his helpers. He first rode 
to the home of Captain David Jones, four miles 
inland, and from there to Flemington, where he 
roused up Captain Gearheart. 

They were informed of the project and re- 
quested to pick out men for it. They met at Rin- 
goes, and then finally at Baptisttown. They went 
northward in three section of companies, break- 
ing up into small groups as though on a hunting 
expedition, carrying flint-locks, dressed in linsey 
suits, and wearing rabbit and 'coon skin caps. 
They kept inland, not approaching the river till 
near the Lehigh. From thence downward they 
cut out by night the boats of every ferry, the 
Durham boats, and all other craft suitable for 
transporting the army. 

It was a perilous undertaking, as every one 
who has come down the Delaware rifts at night 
knows. Rocks and shoals must be avoided, the 
treacherous rapids must be descended carefully, 
with the river running from six to eight miles an 
hour. When there is added the cold wintry night, 
with exposure to biting winds, on a dark and icy 
river, the danger is intensified. But it was suc- 
cessfully accomplished. 

According to the affidavit, Captain Bray's com- 
pany brought twenty-five boats. These were 
hidden behind Malta Island (once near the 
present Lambertville, but since washed away by 
the river), which with its dense timber shielded 
them from observation. When they were wanted 
that Christmas eve they were floated down eight 
miles (not two, as General Stryker says,) to Mc- 
Konkey's, where they did memorable and effec- 
tive service in transporting to victory the troops 
of Washington. 

The boats played a very prominent part in the 
attack on Trenton. For all time Washington 
crossing the Delaware will be one of the most 
dramatic incidents of the great struggle Art 
has fixed it upon canvas, history has dwelt upon 
it. But few eyes beheld that little band of men 
risking life and health through the long nights, 
bringing the boats to Washington. 

The office of the Adjutant-General of 
New Jersey contains the following record 
of Daniel Bray, who has been celebrated 
in song and story for securing the boats 
on the Delaware river in 1776 for the use 
of Washington : 



Daniel Bray was commissioned second lieu- 
tenant. Company of Foot, Second Regiment, 
Hunterdon county, New Jersey Militia, Colonel 
Joseph Beavers, August 31, 1775; lieutenant, 
Captain Gearheart's company. Second Regiment. 
Hunterdon County. New Jersey Militia, Colonel 
Joseph Beavers ; first lieutenant. Captain Gro- 
wendyke's company (Second Company, King- 
wood) of Foot, Second Regiment, Hunterdon 
county. Xew Jersey Militia. Colonel Joseph 
Beavers, June 30, 1776. 

In command of his company detailed to collect 
boats and other river craft on upper Delaware 
river, for General George Washington's army on 
their retreat through New Jersey from New 
York, fall of 1776. He was at battles of Mill- 
stone, New Jersey, February, 1777; Germantown, 
Pennsylvania, October 4, 1777, and Monmouth, 
New Jersey, June 28, 1778; captain of Fourth 
Regiment, Hunterdon county, New Jersey Militia. 
Colonel John Taylor, October, 1778; captain Sec- 
ond Regiment, Hunterdon County (New Jersey) 
Militia, Colonel Joseph Beavers, June 30, 1779; 
captain Sixth Company (Kingwood), Second 
Regiment, Hunterdon County (New Jersey* 
Militia. April 12, 1780; captain company of New 
Jersey State Troops: served to the close of the 
Revolution. 

In 1903 Joseph F. Folsom wrote "The 
Ballad of Daniel Bray." which has been 
frequently reprinted. It may be seen in 
"Patriotic Poems of New Jersey," com- 
piled by W. C. Armstrong, and in "His- 
toric Trenton" by Louise Hewitt. 

1. F. F. 



RANDOLPH, Lewis V. F., 

Man of Broad Activities. 

Lewis Y. F. Randolph, accountant, di- 
rector, treasurer and president of rail- 
ways, hanker, manager of estates, mayor, 
exchange president, traveler, poet, ranch- 
man, horticulturist, publisher and lec- 
turer, lias had a widely varied and unique 
career. 

lie was horn .May 16, 1838, at Somer- 
ville. New Jersey. His parents were 
Enoch Manning Fitz Randolph and Mary 
A. Wan Syckle. The families of Fitz Ran- 



139 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dolph and Van Syckle have had their 
homes in New Jersey for nearly two hun- 
dred and fifty years, participating in Colo- 
nial and Revolutionary struggles. The 
former family is a very ancient one, and 
is traced through more than thirty con- 
secutive generations for a thousand years, 
from Rolf, the Scandinavian warrior, who 
married Gisela, the daughter of the King 
of France. It was Massachusetts Pilgrim 
stock early in the seventeenth century, 
and has made Central New Jersey its 
headquarters for about a quarter of a mil- 
lennium. 

Lewis V. F. Randolph came to Plain- 
field at the age of six, with his parents, 
and has been a resident of Plainfield dur- 
ing the greater part of his life. Learning 
to read at the age of four, he continued of 
studious habit ever afterward. His edu- 
cation was chiefly at Mauriac Academy 
in Plainfield. At the age of thirteen he was 
well prepared to enter college, was a well- 
grounded grammarian, a good scholar in 
French and had acquired somewhat of 
Spanish. In Latin he had read Caesar, 
Virgil and Horace. In Greek he had stud- 
ied grammar and composition and had 
read Zenophon. In ancient and modern 
history he stood well, and had excelled in 
geography, arithmetic, algebra, geometry 
and physics — or, as it was then called, 
natural philosophy. He knew by heart 
many of the world's more famous poems 
and orations, and took a leading part in 
public exhibitions of school elocution. 

His father died, after a brief illness, at 
the age of forty-one, when Lewis was but 
ten. The father was a poet and teacher, 
and also a manufacturer. He inherited 
his name from his mother's father, Enoch 
Manning, a Revolutionary soldier, and 
brother of the first president of Rhode 
Island College, afterwards Brown Uni- 
versity. Enoch's father's father, Captain 
Joseph Fitz Randolph, was also a Revo- 



lutionary hero. Enoch lived a devoted 
Christian life, but he left little to his fam- 
ily except his good name. His fortune 
had been swept away in the tariff troubles 
of about 1840. 

Lewis went from the academy to earn 
a living for his mother and sisters. He 
was the oldest child and the only son. In 
his earliest days he was in frail and deli- 
cate health. He had no difficulty in his 
youth, or afterwards, in finding work. 
During a life of about four score of years, 
every position he has occupied has come 
to him without his going after it. Each 
position he has filled with entire efficiency 
and success. For three years he was a 
mercantile clerk. Though as yet a mere 
boy, he both studied and taught at odd 
times. He taught a grammar class for 
some years in the evening — all the pupils 
being mechanics and clerks older than 
himself. He helped to organize a literary 
society whose continued usefulness ex- 
tended over a period of eighteen years. 
Before he was sixteen he taught a Bible 
class in a Sunday school, and continued 
in charge of it for nineteen years, retiring 
only when changing his place of resi- 
dence — the class having then a member- 
ship of sixty. He had joined the Baptist 
church before leaving the Mauriac Acad- 
emy. In his youth he was active in liter- 
ary matters. He wrote much for news- 
papers and magazines, and published a 
cantata which was acceptably performed. 
He moved with his mother and sisters 
from Plainfield to Newark meanwhile, 
and remained there until after marriage. 

From mercantile service he went to 
bank service. In 1854 he took a place in 
the American Exchange Bank in New 
York, finding the increased compensation 
a welcome means of family comfort. Each 
year found him advancing in responsi- 
bility and income. Early in 1863, with 
his mother's blessing, he enlisted as a 



140 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



private soldier in the Union army. It was 
at the darkest hour of the country's peril, 
when the Confederate army was invading 
Pennsylvania, and a little while before 
the kittle of Gettysburg. He was twice 
promoted, and, after the emergency cam- 
paign of 1863, he was honorably mustered 
out as a sergeant, being at the time ill of 
a tedious fever contracted at the end of 
his government service. In later life he 
was commander of a Grand Army post. 
The year 1864 saw him improved in 
health and back in the employment of the 
American Exchange Bank, and passing 
from it, with the cordial recommendation 
of the president, to the service of the Illi- 
nois Central Railroad Company. He had 
become an expert accountant, and as such 
he took up a difficult problem for the rail- 
road. Having solved it. he was invited 
to take a responsible place in the money 
department of the company in Chicago. 
It was a period when a great volume of 
State hank currency was in circulation, 
and Mr. Randolph was an expert in cur- 
rency and counterfeits. On returning to 
the East for a brief vacation, he was un- 
expectedly impressed into the service of 
the New York office of his company, in 
connection with another emergency, and 
was made private secretary to the presi- 
dent, then W. II. ('-horn. Later his re- 
sponsibilities were increased and he was 
appointed assistant treasurer. The treas- 
urer was in failing health, and Mr. Ran- 
dolph discharged the duties of the treas- 
urership for many years. In 1875 he was 
elected treasurer by the board. He was 
the youngest treasurer the company ever 
had. In the meantime he had been elected 
to the directorship, in 1873, and for a long 
period he took an active part in directing 
the policy of the railroad. Those were 
the conservative and prosperous years of 
the Illinois Central railroad, when the 
concern earned from eight to ten per cent, 
for its shareholders, charged construction 



expenses to operation, and paid off in- 
debtedness. They were years of onerous 
duty and responsibility for Mr. Randolph, 
who held the sole signing power on bank 
draft-, and who had the personal care of 
several millions of dollars of other prop- 
erty. To the service of the Illinois Cen- 
tral railroad he gave twenty-one years of 
hi- life: that is, from 1864 to 1885. 

Whilst devoted to these fiduciary duties 
Mr. Randolph was also active and useful 
as a citizen. He was induced to take the 
nomination for the mayoralty of Plain- 
field, where he had again come to reside, 
and was in 1880 elected to that office. His 
expert accounting again came into use in 
unravelling unsatisfactory accounts of offi- 
cials ; and by untiring energy he achieved 
beneficial reforms and municipal progress 
in various directions. About this time he 
was urged to accept a Congressional nom- 
ination, but refused. Despite his refusal 
he received many votes at the Congres- 
sional convention. He was too independ- 
ent for politics, and he was otherwise too 
much occupied. He, however, served for 
a period as chairman of the Union County 
Republican Committee. 

He had little recreation in these busy 
years, though at long intervals he sought 
the refreshment of the Adirondack woods, 
or crossed the continent on a mingled 
mission of business and recuperation. 
Early in 18S5 his overtaxed physical con- 
stitution broke down. He was six feet 
tall, and, at that time, only weighed one 
hundred and thirty-seven pounds, and 
was threatened with chronic pulmonary 
weakness. He resigned his duties in the 
Illinois Central Railroad Company, ex- 
cept as to certain trusteeships. These he 
has continued to hold. He went to the 
Rocky mountains for a period of entire 
rest, and also visited Texas and New 
Mexico. He became interested in ranch- 
ing and purchased land and cattle in the 
West. His ranching operations after- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wards developed into a practical owner- 
ship by him of about four thousand grade 
Hereford and short-horned cattle in New 
Mexico. In the meantime, by an open-air 
life, his health improved, and he regained 
more than twenty pounds in weight. 

In the autumn of 1886 he was invited 
by the executors of Hon. Samuel J. Til- 
den's will to become their secretary and 
to assist in the management of the estate, 
which was then in litigation. It was a 
very large estate, with many diverse in- 
terests, and his time was fully occupied 
in its affairs for several years. Here 
again his familiarity with the science of 
accounting, as well as his wide knowledge 
of investments and business affairs, be- 
came conspicuously useful. He was ap- 
pointed secretary of the Tilden Trust, the 
New York Library Corporation provided 
for in Mr. Tilden's will. The estate was 
managed with economy and entire suc- 
cess throughout the litigation, and the 
distribution, according to law, of most of 
the assets was made in 1892. Under the 
will, about a million dollars remained in 
special trusts, and the residue of other 
money devoted to particular purposes re- 
mained also in the care of the executors 
and trustees. Accountings were in the 
meanwhile given with entire satisfaction 
of the court and of the heirs. Whilst 
these trusts were still in course of admin- 
istration, in 1903, one of the trustees, Hon. 
Andrew H. Green, was suddenly taken 
away, and Mr. Randolph was appointed 
to the vacancy as executor and trustee. 
Closely associated with Mr. Randolph in 
the care of the Tilden estate for many 
years was Hon. John Bigelow, statesman 
and scholar, and between them came to 
exist enduring confidence and friend- 
ship, which continued until Mr. Bigelow's 
death in 191 1. Mr. Randolph was a pall- 
bearer at Mr. Bigelow's funeral. 

Meantime, following the settlement of 
the Tilden litigation, Mr. Randolph was 



elected president of the Atlantic Trust 
Company. This banking institution had 
important clients and depositors, but had 
suffered losses under a previous adminis- 
tration. Mr. Randolph obtained addi- 
tional capital, reformed methods and built 
up business ; in fact, under his adminis- 
tration, it became a strong and prosper- 
ous concern, whose stock was sought for 
by prudent investors at the price of three 
hundred per cent, and upwards. In this 
service he spent some eight or nine years 
— the best and most efficient years of his 
life — and at the end of this period, in 
1902, he joined in a merger of his bank- 
ing institution with the Metropolitan 
Trust Company, whose leading stock- 
holders had bought largely of the shares 
of the concern he had managed. When 
he retired from this trust, it was a matter 
of private and public comment that, in 
the course of about half a century of suc- 
cessful work, with widely varied fiduciary 
relations, in which he had handled hun- 
dreds of millions of dollars of other peo- 
ple's money, not a dollar had been lost or 
misappropriated. 

But he was not yet to be suffered to 
retire to private life. He visited the West 
Indies in 1903, and on his return he re- 
ceived an urgent and unanimous invita- 
tion to take the presidency of the Con- 
solidated Stock and Petroleum Exchange 
of New York. He accepted it and again 
showed his capacity for administration in 
the reforms he instituted and in the prog- 
ress he initiated. He was twice reelected 
to the presidency without opposition, and 
was urged to continue in this position ; 
but in 1906 he acted on a resolution long 
cherished, the suitable opportunity for 
which had now finally been reached, and 
he definitely retired from active business. 
At least he withdrew as much as possible 
and in a way enabling him to carry out 
plans for extensive travel. 

The above is the barest outline of sixty- 



142 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



eight years of Mr. Randolph's life, from 
1838 to 1906, but it had many episodes. 
He helped to organize the New York 
Zoological Society and was its first treas- 
urer, continuing in that capacity for about 
six years. He organized the Atlantic Safe 
Deposit Company and was its first presi- 
dent, managing its affairs successfully up 
to the time when it began to declare divi- 
dends. He took the presidency of the 
Kanona & Prattsburg railroad, which had 
never paid any return on its securities, 
and it soon became a paying concern. He 
lifted the Carolina & Cumberland Cap 
railway (as reorganized) out of bank- 
ruptcy ; and as president of it sold it as a 
going concern in course of paying its 
bonded interest. For a while he managed 
successfully as president a line of steam- 
boats operating about New York harbor 
and the Hudson river. For some years 
he was half-owner and publisher of a 
newspaper at Plainfield. 

Some particularly hard problems, re- 
sulting from maladministration or other 
misfortune, came to him for solution, and 
he solved them to the satisfaction of the 
parties interested. One of these con- 
cerned a congeries of coal-mining proper- 
ties in Illinois and Iowa, whose bonds 
were in default and the validity of whose 
mortgages was in question. He estab- 
lished the liens of the mortgages in court, 
foreclosed them, bought in the several 
properties on behalf of the bondholders 
at the foreclosure sales, sold some of 
them, and organized a new company to 
manage the others ; paid dividends on the 
company's shares out of earnings, con- 
ducted a successful litigation against the 
former management, and liquidated, with 
abundant satisfaction to the parties con- 
cerned, the entire original investment. 
As receiver of the New York Iron Mine, 
he wound up its affairs and apportioned 
the cash resulting therefrom. He man- 



aged for some years an iron mine in 
Dutchess county, New York, paid off its 
indebtedness and paid its first dividend; 
and, when a good pile of ore was on the 
dump and a comfortable cash balance was 
in bank, he negotiated a sale of the prop- 
erty at a good price. He took in hand 
several series of western mortgage bonds 
and liquidated them to the advantage of 
investors. 

Mr. Randolph took an active part in the 
management of other considerable estates 
beside the Tilden estate. He was for 
many years a trustee of the Jonathan 
Sturges estate, and, for about a dozen of 
years, he and Alexander Gilbert, presi- 
dent of the Market & Fulton Bank, were 
co-executors and trustees under the will 
of their friend, William R. Clarkson, 
liquidating and investing the property 
ami paying the income chiefly to the wife 
and sister of Mr. Clarkson. In 1910, on 
the death of the last income-beneficiary, 
the conveyance of the property was com- 
pleted to the Jennie Clarkson Home for 
Children, agreeably to Mr. Clarkson's 
will ; and this institution now cares for 
about fifty children with what was sub- 
stantially Mr. Clarkson's fortune of about 
$400,000. In its board Mr. Randolph has 
continued to serve as trustee. 

Upon his several retirements, or com- 
pletions of duties, from time to time, suit- 
able resolutions of recognition and praise 
of his achievements were adopted by 
boards of directors and trustees with 
whom he had served. This was notably 
the case with the Illinois Central Rail- 
road Company, the Atlantic Trust Com- 
pany, the New York Zoological Society, 
the Consolidated Stock and Petroleum 
Exchange of New York, the Illinois & 
Iowa Fuel Company, and the Jennie 
Clarkson Home for Children. Perhaps 
the mementoes most prized by him have 
been the testimonials of young men asso- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ciated with him or working under his 
direction. For example, in 1864, on his 
retirement from the bank, his companions, 
to the number of fifty, gave him a dinner, 
and a complete set of Irving's life and 
works — twenty-six volumes ; and in 1902 
the clerks of the Atlantic Trust Company, 
in parting with their president, presented 
him with an elegant copy of Shakespeare, 
in twelve volumes, suitably and affection- 
ately inscribed. 

Before the year 1906 Mr. Randolph had 
in the course of business or recreation 
traveled somewhat in foreign countries 
with his family ; but in that year, accom- 
panied by his wife, he began a series of 
foreign tours which covered many hun- 
dreds of thousands of miles and which 
continued well into his old age. They 
made, in four months of 1906, the tour of 
Great Britain and Ireland. In the fol- 
lowing year, with his youngest daugh- 
ter, he made a longer journey, visiting 
Italy, France, Austria, Germany, Holland. 
Egypt, Palestine, Turkey and Greece. His 
wife and one daughter accompanied him 
the next year to North Africa and again 
to Italy and France. In years since then, 
he has twice visited South America, the 
West Indies, Hawaii and Mexico, and has 
spent much time in Portugal and Spain. 
In 1914 he visited India, incidentally 
revisiting Egypt, Palestine, Greece and 
other countries. 

He studied as he travelled. He saw 
much and read much. On board ship he 
was known as "the man with a book." 
Each time on his return from a voyage he 
delivered lectures (in the West and South. 
as well as at home) on his observations 
abroad. On the voyages themselves, also, 
he was frequently invited to give lectures 
on his travels for the benefit and pleasure 
of his fellow-voyagers. He has seen much 
abroad and is familiar with conditions and 
scenery in every State and territory of 



his native country. Some of the themes 
of his lectures have been : "Indian Archi- 
tecture and Religion," "Egypt," "Joppa, 
Jerusalem and Jericho;"' "Ancient Car- 
thage and Modern Tunis ;" "Athens and 
the Eleusinian Mysteries;" "The Mak- 
ing of Italy;" "Brazil:'' "Argentina and 
Chili;" "The British West Indies," and 
"The Panama Canal." 

Mr. Randolph gathered works of art 
and curios from all parts of the world in 
the course of travel, and with these his 
home in Plainfield has been interestingly 
furnished. It has been a happy home. 
For more than half of his long life he has 
been domiciled in one house at the corner 
of Front street and Farragut road. To 
this home property he has by purchase 
added many adjoining tracts and has im- 
proved and adorned them. 

In 1S67 he had the good fortune to 
marry Emily Caroline Price, daughter of 
Matthias and Emily Catherine Price, of 
Newark, New Jersey. Their united life 
has been an unbroken harmony for half a 
century. Their five daughters have grown 
to womanhood under loving parental care. 
They have all had abundant opportunities 
for study and for foreign travel and resi- 
dence, and have excelled in musical and 
other accomplishments. The first, third, 
fourth and fifth have married happily, and 
are now Mrs. Lee Ashley Grace, of New 
York City; Mrs. Charles Daniel Parfitt, 
of Ontario, Canada ; Mrs. Robert Spurr 
Weston, of Brookline, Massachusetts, and 
Mrs. Harry Keith White, of Plainfield, 
New Jersey. The second daughter, Mari- 
on, a Wellesley graduate, has been the 
invaluable secretary and housekeeper at 
home. Mr. and Mrs. Randolph now have 
eleven grandchildren, and the Thanks- 
giving home-comings and other anniver- 
sary occasions are numerously and joy- 
ously attended. 

Mr. Randolph's literarv and religious 



144 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



interests and activities have continued 
from youth to old age. In 1900 he pub- 
lished a volume of poems, entitled "Sur- 
vivals," which received from the press 
much praise and no adverse criticism. 
Equally successful was his book entitled 
"Fitz Randolph Traditions," which was 
published in 1907, and which has been in 
such demand as to exhaust a large edi- 
tion. He has continued in membership 
of the First Baptist Church of Plainfield 
(of which his father's mother. Mar) Man- 
ning Fitz Randolph was, in the year 1818, 
a constituent member), and has long been 
the president of its board of trustees. 

As mayor of Plainfield, he appointed 
the first board of trustees of the Plain- 
field Public Library. He has been a mem- 
ber of this board for many years, and also 
its vice-president, and has had much to 
do with the library's enlargement and 
prosperity. He was one of the organizers 
and original trustees of the Muhlenburg 
Hospital, and has ever kept his heart and 
purse open to good causes. 

Whilst in the official service of the Illi- 
nois Central railroad, Mr. Randolph stud- 
ied law assiduously. He never applied 
for admission to the bar, but made his 
studies practical, especially in the prepa- 
ration of documents and briefs. In these 
studies and exercises he continued from 
time to time through much of his busi- 
ness life. For one brief, which he pre- 
pared on a somewhat novel (and ulti- 
mately successful) theory, in an impor- 
tant case (Peoria & Oquawka railroad 
case), and for attendance and effort at the 
hearing thereof, the Illinois Central board, 
as a party in interest, voted him a special 
compensation of $2,500. Another impor- 
tant and also successful brief was in 
connection with the railroad company's 
alleged obligation to pay a certain tax on 
income, as claimed by the government 
(the claim, in Mr. Randolph's opinion, 



being offset by the fact that a part of the 
income was derived from sales of lands); 
and still another important document was 
the foreclosure bill which he prepared as 
to the old mortgages on the railroad lines 
south of Cairo, and which the bond- 
holders' counsel, Judge W. S. Campbell, 
filed without emendation, and upon which 
was afterwards obtained a decree of fore- 
closure. 

At the period of his ranchman experi- 
ence, about 1886, a certain villainous com- 
bination in the southwest obtained from 
him an advance payment in money on 
cattle purchased and then attempted to 
cheat him, but failed. He arrested the 
ringleader, attacked the coalition, and, 
mainly acting as his own lawyer, forced 
them to disgorge. In the course of this 
experience, he came to own some thou- 
sands of acres of Texas farm lands, most 
of which he afterwards sold. Meantime, 
he carried forward his ranch enterprise 
vigorously and successfully, engaging in 
some interesting and profitable experi- 
ments in irrigation engineering, and, in 
the course of time, arrived at satisfactory 
results. 

At his home in Plainfield he has built 
up a notable park or garden, with hun- 
dreds of varieties of rare and beautiful 
growths, domestic and foreign. It is 
thought by many to be the most interest- 
ing garden in the State of New Jersey. 
His wife and daughters have shared his 
enthusiasm for this enterprise, and many 
visitors have participated in the enjoy- 
ment of the garden and in admiration 
for it. 

In the course of his wide experience, 
Mr. Randolph has come to know many 
distinguished persons of his own country 
and of other countries and has numbered 
among his friends not a few of those 
whom the world has counted worthy. 

In 1915 Mr. Randolph delivered courses 



145 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of lectures on India and on Italy before 
Carson-Newman College of Tennessee, 
which were much appreciated, and the 
college conferred upon him the degree of 
Litterarum Doctor. 

Mr. Randolph has been generally too 
busy in conscientiously caring for other 
people's affairs to grow rich himself. He 
scorned opportunities for making money, 
availed of by others, such as were afforded 
by his official and private knowledge of 
railway and other corporation matters. 
He religiously kept free of debt and 
gradually laid up out of his earnings a 
competence which in his old age he has 
enjoyed with his family. 

Emily Caroline Price, wife of Lewis V. 
F. Randolph, was born in Newark, on the 
corner of Broad and Walnut streets, in 
the house that is now Grace Church rec- 
tory. She is the daughter of Matthias 
Price and his wife, Emily Catherine Judd. 
Her parents were married July 3, 1838, 
and had the unusually long married life 
of sixty-three years and six months, being 
seldom separated in all that time. The 
sixtieth anniversary of their wedding was 
celebrated by friends and neighbors of 
"auld lang syne," under the trees at the 
Randolph home. 

The father of Mrs. Randolph, Matthias 
Price, was born at Waverly, New Jersey, 
on March 12, 1814, on a farm that had 
been in possession of his ancestors from 
1664, when it was purchased from the 
Indians at the time that Elizabeth was 
founded. The first ancestor of Matthias 
Price that came to New Jersey was Ben- 
jamin Price, who was one of the eighty 
associates who settled Elizabeth in 1664. 
He is thought to have come from England 
in 1638. His name, Ben Price, appears 
as a witness to the deed bestowing Gardi- 
ner's Island on Lion Gardiner, and it is 
believed that he came to America with 
Lion Gardiner. After living for years in 
East Hampton, Long Island, where he 

1 



acquired property and built a house, Ben 
Price removed, as one of the eighty asso- 
ciates, to New Jersey, and was one of the 
founders of Elizabeth. His oldest son — 
he had three sons and two daughters — 
was Ben Price, Jr., and he was old enough 
to be an associate with his father, and one 
of the eighty in 1664. There is still a 
landmark of a part of the Price property 
in Elizabeth, at the corner of Elizabeth 
avenue and Florida street, consisting of 
a large cut stone, marked on top "1694,'' 
and on one side "B. P.," and on another 
"R. T." It has been guarded by an iron 
railing, put there by the Sons of the Revo- 
lution, and a sign placed near, reading: 
"This stone marks the intersection of the 
Carteret land owned by Richard Town- 
ley, the land of Benjamin Price, and the 
King's Highway, now Elizabeth avenue — 
probably the oldest road in New Jersey, 
opened by the Dutch before the settle- 
ment of Elizabethtown ; the post and 
stage route to Philadelphia." — Elizabeth- 
town Chapter, No. 1, Sons of the Ameri- 
can Revolution, 1908. 

Benjamin Price, Sr., was born in 1621, 
and died in 1712, having shown in his 
long life of ninety-one years, marked 
strength and vigor, both physical and 
mental. He was respected and honored 
by his associates and was often chosen 
by them to represent them where judg- 
ment and skill were needed. 

One of the sons of Benjamin Price, Jr., 
was Joseph, who married Elizabeth Mil- 
ler, about 1738. 

One of their sons was Daniel Price 
(1st), who married Phebe Whitehead, in 
1766. This Daniel was choir leader in the 
old First Church at Elizabethtown. All 
the Prices were musical and possessed of 
fine voices, the heritage of their Welsh 
ancestry, for the name Price is a corrup- 
tion of ap-Rhys, a very ancient Welsh 
name. 

Daniel (1st) Price was a volunteer who 



46 




<£^UL g. ^-^ut^^C 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



aided in capturing the British transport 
"Blue Mountain Valley," loaded with 
arms and provisions for the British army, 
and mounting twelve carriage guns. This 
ship was captured without loss of a man 
on the American side, but after the en- 
durance of great hardship, for the weather 
was severe, it being late in January, or 
early in February, 1776. Daniel died in 
less than a year afterward in consequence. 

Daniel Price (2nd), son of Daniel (1st), 
was born March 5, 1767, died April 7, 
1824, at Waverly. He was married, in 
1790, to Phebe Thompson, born August 
9, 1772, died March 1, 1857. One of the 
sons of Daniel (2nd) (Daniel had eight 
sons and one daughter) was Matthias, 
youngest of all the nine children, and 
father of Mrs. Randolph. 

Mrs. Randolph's mother, Emily Cath- 
erine Judd, was born February 20, 1817, 
and died September 30, 1908. Her par- 
ents were George Baldwin Judd, born 
1796, at Farmington, Connecticut, and 
died June 1, 1872, in Minnesota. He mar- 
ried Abigail Soverel, May, 1816. Miss 
Soverel was born September 1, 1796, in 
Orange, died November 5, 1880. 

The father of George Baldwin Judd 
was Elizur Judd, of Farmington, a Revo- 
lutionary soldier, born January 10, 1767, 
died in 1845, m Illinois. He married Tem- 
perance Scott. Elizur Judd was son of 
Heman Judd, born in Farmington, Con- 
necticut, April 27, 1744, died 1787. He 
married Anna Goodrich, daughter of Zeb- 
ulon Goodrich, of Wethersfield, in 1764. 
The father of Heman Judd was Matthew 
Judd, of Farmington, born August 31, 
1706, died 1755, married, June 28, 1733, 
Abigail Phelps, who died about 1754. The 
father of Matthew was Daniel Judd, born 
1675, married, December 4, 1705, Mercy 
Mitchell, of Woodbury, died April 29, 
1748. He was one of the most wealthy 
men of those days. His brother's daugh- 



ter was the mother of Samuel Hopkins, 
D. D., "the Hopkinsian." 

Daniel's father was William Judd, born 
1635, married, March 30, 1658, to Mary 
Steele, of Farmington, died 1690, at Farm- 
ington, a very rich man. He was usually 
called Sergeant William Judd. His wife 
Mary was daughter of John Steele. Wil- 
liam was the eldest of six sons and three 
daughters. The father of this family was 
Thomas Judd, who came from England 
in 1633 and settled in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts. He was married about 1632. 
He moved to Hartford in 1636 and to 
Farmington in 1644. He was a substan- 
tial citizen and many times — at least six- 
teen times — a deputy to the General 
Court. His wife died in 1678, and the 
next year he married Clemence Mason 
and removed to Northampton, the home 
of Miss Mason, where he died on No- 
vember 12, 1688. His name is on the 
Hartford monument, being one of the 
original settlers of Hartford, and also of 
Farmington. 

Mrs. Randolph is of the pioneer stock 
of America. Her paternal ancestry have 
been in New Jersey more than two hun- 
dred and fifty years, and the Soverels, the 
family of the grandmother who married 
into the Judd family, came to New Jer- 
sey from England in 1739, thus having 
been Jerseyites for one hundred and sev- 
enty-seven years. This first Soverel in 
New Jersey was named Abram and he 
was born July 15, 1716. He settled in 
Orange and married Jane Williams, De- 
cember 10, 1741, and died in Pennsylvania 
(where he was called by business engage- 
ments) in 1745. 

Thus by birth and breeding Mrs. Ran- 
dolph is truly a daughter of New Jersey, 
and though she has traveled in many 
foreign lands, her thoughts and her love 
have ever turned fondly to her home in 
New Jersey. 



147 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



THOMAS, Gabriel, 

Early Annalist. 

In 1698 there was published at Lon- 
don a book, entitled "An Historical and 
Genealogical Account of Pensilvania and 
of West New Jersey." The author was 
Gabriel Thomas, a member of the Society 
of Friends, who had recently returned 
from Philadelphia. Thomas's object was 
to create through his book a widespread 
interest in the country along the Dela- 
ware river, and to induce people to go 
there and settle. The good man painted 
a veritable paradise. He wrote, as he 
says, "in meer Pity and pure Compassion 
to the Numbers of Poor Labouring Men, 
Women and Children in England, half- 
starv'd, visible in their meager looks, that 
are continually wandering up and down 
looking for Employment." 

Thomas, born in March, 1661, at Ponte- 
moil, Wales, was one of the first ship- 
load of immigrants to reach Pennsylvania 
after that colony had received its name. 
The ship was the "John and Sarah" of 
London, and her captain was Henry 
Smith. The vessel arrived at Philadel- 
phia, December 14, 1681. Thomas states 
that he then saw the cellar for Penn's 
house being dug. 

When Thomas returned to England to 
publish his book, he was aged thirty-six. 
During the sixteen years that had elapsed 
since he saw Penn's cellar digging, Penn- 
sylvania must have grown marvelously. 
Thomas in his book says that there were 
above two thousand brick houses in Phil- 
adelphia alone, and the particulars he 
gives of orchards, gardens and mill sites 
in the country on both sides of the Dela- 
ware furnish apparent proof of wonderful 
development for so brief a period. 

Thomas fell out with Penn because the 
great proprietor failed to reward him for 
writing his glowing book, with the office 



of collector of quit-rents for New Castle 
county, Pennsylvania. By 1706 Thomas 
was back in America, settling on a farm 
at Prime Hook Neck, in the present State 
of Delaware. He died in December, 1714. 
Original copies of the "Account" are 
valued at a high figure. The most recent 
reprint is that of the Scribners in "Narra- 
tives of Early Pennsylvania, West Jersey 
and Delaware," published in 1912, and 
edited by Albert Cook Myers. J. F. F. 



KENNEDY, Archibald, 

Revolutionary Soldier. 

Archibald Kennedy, who after the 
death of Peter Schuyler, his father-in- 
law, became possessed of Peterborough, 
on the Passaic, opposite Newark, had a 
New York house at 1 Broadway. Just 
before the Revolutionary War he appar- 
ently left his town house to remain in 
New Jersey. Petersborough became 
known as Kennedy's Farms. Kennedy 
was suspected of being in sympathy with 
the British and was, in 1778, ordered to 
remove to Sussex county. Later he was 
permitted to return to his estate. He had 
been a captain in the royal navy, but in 
1765 was relieved of his command for re- 
fusing to take stamped paper on his 
frigate. 

His New York home is said to have 
been "one of the finest houses in the city, 
being a spacious two-story-and-attic 
building, with the entrance in the middle 
and two windows on each side of it, the 
frontage on Broadway being fifty-six 
feet." This mansion escaped the fire of 
1776. It was occupied during the war by 
Mrs. Long, who kept a boarding house. 
After the Revolution, Isaac Sears, a mer- 
chant, popularly known as "King" Sears, 
occupied the house. About 1789 the man- 
sion was rented for a time to Don Diego 
de Gardoqui, the Spanish representative 



148 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the United States. In 1790 it became 
a fashionable boarding school for young 
women, the school being conducted by 
Mrs. Graham. Later it became the resi- 
dence of Nathaniel Prime, and still later 
was converted into the Washington Ho- 
tel. It finally was demolished and the 
present Washington building was erected 
on the site. 

Regarding the home of Colonel Peter 
Schuyler, Peterborough, across the Pas- 
saic from New York, the book, "Land 
Titles in Hudson County," by the late 
Charles H. Winfield, gives this important 
information : 

A part of the Sandford tract, which I take to 
be the farm and meadow named in Sarah Sand- 
ford's will, was purchased by Colonel Peter 
Schuyler, and thenceforth called Peterborough. 
By his will, dated March 21, 1761, proved May 
28, 1762, Schuyler gave it to his only child, Cath- 
erine, wife of Archibald Kennedy, Earl of Cas- 
selis. 

Kennedy and wife conveyed to James Duane 
June 13, 1765, the farm on New Barbadoes Neck 
(Petersborough), also two tracts near Secaucus, 
between the line of the Bergen lots and Pin- 
home's creek and Cromkill, also Colonel Schuy- 
ler's interest in the commons ( ?) in trust for 
themselves. Duane reconveyed to them and to 
the survivor, June 15, 1765. The earl outlived his 
wife, and by will dated January 19, 1794, left his 
property in America to his sons, John and Robert. 

I do not know how the interest of John passed 
to Robert, but in 1803 he sold the tract, where 
East Newark now is, to William Halsey. It was 
then a part of what was known as "Kennedy's 
Farm." In 1804 the name was changed to Lodi. 
Halsey laid out a part of his purchase into ninety 
building lots, of at least one acre each. 

The site of Petersborough, the home of 
Colonel Peter Schuyler, was doubtless 
about opposite a point between Gouver- 
neur street and Fourth avenue. It was 
very near, if not actually on the spot, 
where the Kearny Thread Mills stand. 
There is in the "New Jersey Archives" 
an advertisement of a plot for sale, copied 
from the "New York Mercury" of May 1, 



1769, that would seem to locate quite 
accurately the site of Colonel Peter's 
place. The plot of land advertised is said 
to be "lying on the banks of the Passaick 
about one mile from the church at New- 
ark," and that it "commands a most ex- 
tensive view of the river, and overlooks 
Captain Kennedy's farm, garden and deer 
park at Petersborough, to which it is 
opposite." 

That Captain Archibald Kennedy's 
farm once belonged to Peter Schuyler is 
obvious, when it is remembered that Ken- 
nedy married Schuyler's only daughter, 
and through her acquired Petersborough. 
Oddly enough, the same issue of "The 
Mercury" contains the announcement of 
the marriage of Kennedy to Nancy Watts, 
his second wife. Through the Watts 
family the Kearnys became possessed of 
this estate, and General Philip Kearny in 
time came to occupy the land of Colonel 
Peter Schuyler. Kearny Castle still 
stands, but Petersborough is gone for- 
ever. The ground on which at present 
stands the Kearny castle in Kearny was a 
part of the Petersborough land. 

It is all plain enough when the records 
are examined. Schuyler's daughter Cath- 
erine married Archibald Kennedy, and 
the place became known as Kennedy's 
Farms. After her death, Kennedy mar- 
ried Miss Nancy Watts, of New York. 
The estate passed to the families of Watts 
and Kearny, and was last occupied by J. 
Watts Kearny, son of General Philip 
Kearny. 

During the Revolutionary War, Cap- 
tain Kennedy, who was on half-pay in 
the British army, was placed by the 
Americans on parole. Attorney-General 
(afterward Governor) William Patterson 
seems to have been suspicious of the cap- 
tain. He wrote October 18, 1777. to Gov- 
ernor William Livingston a letter in 
which he said : "The well-affected in 



149 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Newark are very uneasy about a certain 
Captain Kennedy who was laid under 
parole by the late convention. The un- 
easiness increases owing to the enemy's 
having a few days ago driven seventy or 
eighty head of fat cattle from his farm,." 

The site of Peter Schuyler's house, 
Petersborough, has been wrongly located 
by many writers, and sometimes confused 
with that of Colonel John Schuyler, lying 
opposite the mouth of Second River. The 
house of John is still standing, a hand- 
some colonial mansion, but that of Peter 
has long since disappeared. 

The "New York Mercury" of Decem- 
ber 6, 1762, contained this advertisement: 
"To be sold at public vendue, on Monday 
the 13th inst, A lot of land, in Newark, 
lately belonging to James Still, lying for 
8 acres, be the same more or less, whereon 
is a stone dwelling-house, situate very 
pleasantly on Passaick River, nearly op- 
posite the dwelling-house of the late Col. 
Peter Schuyler, deceased, which is com- 
modious either for a private gentleman, 
for a merchant, or for ship-building." 

Schuyler died March 7, 1762. 

J. F. F. 



STEWART, Charles, 

Revolutionary Colonel. 

Colonel Charles Stewart was born at 
Gortlea, County Donegal, Ireland. His 
grandfather, Charles Stewart, was a 
Scotchman and an officer in the army of 
William of Orange. The grandson came 
to America in 1750 and settled in Hun- 
terdon county. He married a daughter 
of Judge Samuel Johnson. During and 
after the Revolution he resided at Union 
Farm, subsequently called Landsdown, 
near Flemington. At Stewart's home in 
Landsdown during 1796 died his friend, 
General William Maxwell, while on a 
visit there. Stewart died June 24, 1800, 



and is buried at Bethlehem, Hunterdon 
county. A tablet to his memory there 
bears an epitaph by his friend, Chief Jus- 
tice Smith. 

Stewart, who had been a member of 
the First Provincial Congress of New 
Jersey, was colonel of New Jersey's first 
regiment of minute-men. In 1776 he be- 
came a member of Washington's staff as 
quartermaster, or commissary-general, 
and held that office until the close of the 
war. He was a member of Congress in 
1784-1785. It is said that Colonel Stew- 
art was a spare man of medium height. 
His blue eyes were sharp, but they could 
be kindly. His firmness is remembered. 
His portrait by Peale is preserved by his 
descendants. 

Union Farm was located a few miles 
from what to-day is High Bridge. The 
name seems to have arisen from the fact 
that in 1742 William Allen and Joseph 
Turner, forming a union in a business 
enterprise, had bought the land for the 
purpose of establishing a great iron 
works. In 1771 the first partition was 
made of the ten thousand acres they had 
jointly owned. William Allen died in 
1780, and his widow leased Union farm 
to Colonel Charles Stewart, who remained 
there some fifteen years. 

Tradition persistently has claimed that 
during the Revolution a detachment of 
the American army lay encamped at Two 
Bridges, now Fairfield, but until recently 
there has been an absence of documentary 
evidence for the story. A recently dis- 
covered letter written at Two Bridges by 
Colonel Charles Stewart, quartermaster- 
general of the American army, confirms 
the tradition. This letter has been ac- 
quired by the New Jersey Historical So- 
ciety. 

The camp was located on the extreme 
southeastern point of Morris county, 
which wedges itself between the Passaic 

5° 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and the Pompton rivers. The tourist at 
this place may pass from Essex to Morris 
county by a bridge over the Passaic, and 
then pass at once to Passaic county by 
the bridge that spans the Pompton. 1 1 ere 
meet two rivers and three counties. On 
the point in Morris county stands the 
stately Post mansion, erected during the 
last decade of the eighteenth century by 
Thomas Dey, a son of Theunis Dey, who 
owned the house in Lower Preakness oc- 
cupied by Washington as his headquar- 
ters. Some Post married a Dey, and 
thenceforth the Posts occupied the man- 
sion at Two Bridges. Cornelius Post, 
who died at the age of eighty-five years, 
September 30, 1905, used to relate many 
traditions about the American troops en- 
camped at the point. He used to show 
where the camp was located near the fish- 
slank west of the house, and point out 
the spot where stood Derrick Dey's tav- 
ern in which Washington, Lafayette and 
other officers were at times entertained. 

The recently discovered document is a 
letter written by Colonel Stewart to Dep- 
uty Quartermaster Moore Furman, of 
Trenton. It is dated Two Bridges, Octo- 
ber 13, 1780. The army was encamped 
along the north side of the Passaic from 
Two Bridges to Totowa. Washington 
was at Lower Preakness. Later, Novem- 
ber 27, the army moved to Morristown 
for winter quarters. The letter throws 
light upon camp life and incidentally 
comments upon the baseness of Arnold, 
recently turned traitor. Thus it begins : 

Dear Sir: — Your favor of the 6th Instant came 
to hand last night, it had been carried as far as 
Robinson's house. Gen'l Arnold's former quarters 
near West Point, this brings that son of iniquity 
again in our way. indeed he is in the thoughts of 
everybody belonging to the army. No doubt be- 
fore this his address has come to your hands, 'tis 
said to be a performance of William Smith's and 
from the religious strokes in it perhaps it is. 
Andre's fate was supported by him with every 



mark of firmness & personal resolution. It is a 
pity he went that way, but he assured General 
Clinton had it in his power to save him by giving 
up Arnold, but he would not take the hint and 
concluded we dare not execute Andre. He mis- 
took. 

Flour has come on pretty briskly for a few 
days and we have now at least a week's supply 
on hand. My letters from Philadl. inform that 
much is expected before winter and I hope it will 
be got along to camp. Harassed and distressed 
as Jersey has really been beyond the sufferings of 
any other State, yet I expect if the food was col- 
lected and over on the East side of Delaware it 
would be forwarded somehow to the Army. 

Stewart's letter goes on with comments 
on camp affairs. "It gives me pleasure," 
he says, "that you continue your friendly 
advice and aid to Colonel Neilson. Timo- 
thy find it not a little troublesome to keep 
things agoing in Camp, perhaps he re- 
forms too fast, some say he does. The 
army are already soured, old Dr. Craig 
says 'it won't do for them folks to squeeze 
too hard, it wont do.' I think the Doctor 
generally hitts the mark pretty right. We 
hear Gen'l Gates is recalled G. Green will 
go in his place. He will find it trouble- 
some work but will make it do 

"I mean Morris Town as a post of as 
much consequence for the winter as the 
situation of our army will admit, and I 
hope winter quarters will permit a large 
Magazine to be collected. I agree with 
you that it is hard to ask the Southern 
Waggons to come here and will do every- 
thing in my power to prevent it, as soon 
as the roads get broke, and our supplys 
at Camp are so regular as to admit of any 
being dropt at Morris Town. 

"As I always had satisfaction in doing 
business with you and never was dis- 
appointed in your exertions for our sup- 
port, it cannot but give me pleasure to 
hear from you as often as you can drop 
me a line, and you may be assured in my 
troubling you with a note frequently. I 
am, with great regard, your obed' servant, 
Charles Stewart. 
5i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Some of the allusions in Stewart's let- 
ter to men and events will be clearer 
after a word or two of explanation. The 
American army broke camp at Tappan 
on October 7, 1780, and moved "to the 
country in the neighborhood of Passaic 
Falls." The forage about Tappan had 
been exhausted and the new site was ex- 
pected to yield a sufficient supply. The 
army encamped along the Passaic Val- 
ley from Two Bridges to Totowa, now 
Paterson. 

Washington made his headquarters at 
the Theunis Dey mansion, still standing 
in Lower Preakness. Some of the offi- 
cers were quartered at Derrick Dey's tav- 
ern in Morris county, at Two Bridges, 
and nearby was the camp of the soldiers. 
Colonel Stewart appears to have made 
his headquarters at this place. 

Colonel or "Doctor" Craig went to 
Morristown and chose the site for the 
winter camp, to which from the Passaic 
on November 27, the army moved. The 
Southern wagons bearing supplies found 
it a long journey to Two Bridges, and 
Stewart, as will be seen from his letter, 
hoped to arrange things so the wagon 
loads might be left at Morristown, which 
place was on the road the wagons took 
from the Delaware to the Passaic. 

Moore Furman, the deputy quartermas- 
ter-general, whom Stewart so cordially 
commends for his services to the repub- 
lic, was a well-known resident of Tren- 
ton. His epitaph may be read under the 
porch of the Old First Presbyterian 
Church of Trenton. A book containing 
letters written by him during the Revolu- 
tion was published in 1912 by the Colo- 
nial Dames. A sketch of his life appears 
in volume i, on page 306, of this Cyclo- 
pedia. He died March 16, 1808. 

J. F. F. 



DECKER, Caton L., 

Public-Spirited Citizen. 

The death of Caton L. Decker, which 
occurred at his late home at 117 William 
street, East Orange, New Jersey, April 
7, 1913, deprived that city of one of its 
leading business men, who was a mer- 
chant and banker for many years, a man 
of excellent characteristics and manly 
qualities which endeared him to a wide 
circle of friends who estimated him at his 
true worth. 

The name of Johannis Decker is men- 
tioned among those who settled in the 
town of Montgomery, Orange county, 
New York, between the years 1678 and 
1778, and it is practically authenticated 
that he was either a son or grandson of 
Abraham Decker, the American progeni- 
tor, who came from Holland and settled 
in Copake, New York, about 1757. Ja- 
cob Decker, grandfather of the late Caton 
L. Decker, was a native of Orange coun- 
ty. New York, from whence he removed 
to Chemung county, same State, where 
he married Eunice Kelsey, according to 
tradition the first white child born in the 
town of Ashland, Chemung county, New 
York, born March 16, 1789. daughter of 
Abner Kelsey. Among their eight chil- 
dren, six sons and two daughters, was 
Harrison Decker, father of the late Caton 
L. Decker, born at Wellsburg, New York, 
May 5, 1820, died October 10, 1874. He 
was a well-known operator in the oil fields 
of Pennsylvania for many years, and a 
leading man in his community. He mar- 
ried Harriet Tubbs, daughter of Charles 
Tubbs, who was a lineal descendant of 
William Tubbs, of Duxbury, Massachu- 
setts, who was made a freeman of Plym- 
outh Colony in 1637, and in June of the 
same year was one of those who volun- 
teered for service in the expedition against 
the hostile Pequot Indians who were then 



152 




<*o 



s\) L^e/ 'u^y 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



committing serious depredations and 
Otherwise proving a menace to the colo- 
nists. Mrs. Decker died in 1878. Six 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Decker, as follows: Charles M., born in 
1850, a leading merchant in East Orange; 
Caton L., of whom further ; Frank T., 
born in 1857; Annie, born in i860: Guy, 
born in 1862; J. Frost, born in 1868. 

Caton L. Decker was born at Wells- 
burg, Chemung county. New York. De- 
cember 16, 1854. He attended the schools 
of his native town, and being an attentive 
student acquired an excellent education. 
At an early age he began to earn his own 
livelihood, being employed in various oc- 
cupations. Eater, in young manhood, in 
partnership with his brother, Charles M. 
Decker, he engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness in New York City, and shortly after- 
ward they purchased a grocery business 
in East Orange, formerly owned by Ben- 
jamin F. Cairnes, and under the style of 
Charles M. Decker & Brother conducted 
an extensive and profitable business. Both 
brothers were men of experience and in- 
tegrity, and these characteristics, com- 
bined with great sagacity and rare judg- 
ment, were active factors in the success 
which crowned their well-directed efforts. 
In due course of time the business be- 
came the largest of its kind in the entire 
State, they conducting branch stores in 
various towns, including all the Oranges, 
Montclair. Bloomfield and Morristown, 
and enjoying the patronage of the wealthi- 
est and most select residents of that sec- 
tion of New Jersey. Caton L. Decker de- 
voted the greater part of his time to the 
purchasing of the stock, making a care- 
ful study of the numerous articles handled 
in a first-class grocery establishment, and 
the success attained was ample proof that 
his judgment could be relied upon. All 
of their stores occupied good locations, 
being in the center of the business area, 
and their window display attracted im- 
mediate attention. 



Caton L. Decker was also interested in 
other enterprises which had for their ob- 
ject the upbuilding of the Oranges. He 
was one of the founders of the People's 
National Bank of East Orange, and served 
as a director from its organization until 
his death. He took an active interest in 
the public institutions, schools and libra- 
ries, and contributed generously to the 
support of the North Orange Baptist 
Church, and of which his wife has been a 
member since the age of fourteen years. 
She has been active in the Sunday school 
and the various societies of the church, 
serving in the capacity of secretary of the 
Woman's Benevolent Society for twenty- 
five years, composed of the women, and 
her mother and grandmother were con- 
stituents of the church. Mrs. Decker has 
also been an active factor in the char- 
itable societies of her community. 

Mr. Decker was of a kind and genial 
disposition, had a wide circle of close per- 
sonal friends and his counsel and advice 
were often sought. He derived his great- 
est enjoyment in his home, surrounded by 
his family to whom he was devotedly 
attached. 

Mr. Decker married, in 1875, upon at- 
taining his majority, S. Alice Hoyt, born 
in Orange, New Jersey, daughter of 
George and Sarah Elizabeth (Taylor) 
Hoyt, a great-granddaughter of Daniel 
Hoyt, a soldier in the Revolutionarv War. 
and a descendant of old New England 
stock in many lines. Children: 1. Ed- 
mund Lockwood, married Margaret 
Gould; children: Jennette, Edmund, 
Margaret, Gould Caton. 2. Harriet, died 
at the age of three weeks. 3. Florence 
M.. wife of Robert Albert Palmer, of 
New York City : children : Robert Caton 
and Jean. 4. Harold Caton. 5. Ernest 
Guy, died at the aere of nineteen vears. 
6. Alice Mable. 7. Blanche. 8. Reginald 
Harrison, married Aubrey Von Hoffe. Q. 
Dorothv. 10. Nelson. 



'53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CHETWOOD, Dr. George R., 

Physician, Honored Citizen. 

There is no profession or line of busi- 
ness that calls for greater self-sacrifice 
than the profession of medicine, and the 
successful physician is he who through 
love of his fellow-men gives his time and 
attention to the relief of human suffering. 
The late Dr. George R. Chetwood, of 
Elizabeth, New Jersey, was one of the 
ablest representatives of his noble calling, 
although he had retired from it for some 
time prior to his death. His descent is 
from one of the old families of the State, 
and his grandfather, Judge John Chet- 
wood, was a justice of the Supreme Court 
of New Jersey. 

Dr. John Chetwood, son of Judge John 
Chetwood, was a well known physician 
in Elizabeth, and died in 1837 of the 
cholera. 

Dr. George R. Chetwood, son of Dr. 
John Chetwood, was born in Elizabeth, 
New Jersey, in May, 1802, and died there. 
After a suitable preparatory education, he 
matriculated at the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons in Philadelphia, and was 
graduated from this institution with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. For a con- 
siderable period of time he was an in- 
structor in the institution from, which he 
had been graduated, then took up the 
practice of his profession in Elizabeth. 
Subsequently he removed to New York 
City, practiced there ten years, then re- 
turned to Elizabeth. His practice was a 
large and lucrative one, and after his re- 
tirement from it he spent much time in 
travel. He visited Europe a number of 
times, and also traveled considerably in 
this country, during all these journeys 
writing very interestingly of his impres- 
sions by the way. For many years he 
served as a director of the First National 
Bank of Elizabeth, with which institu- 



tion various other members of his family 
had been connected, one of his brothers 
being at one time president. He was an 
ardent supporter of the Republican party, 
active in political affairs and served as 
State Senator. 

Dr. Chetwood married (first) Anna, a 
daughter of General Dayton, of Eliza- 
beth, but had no children by this mar- 
riage. He married (second) in 1878, 
Blanche Grapain De Sansteree, born in 
Paris, France, a daughter of Charles Gra- 
pain De Sansteree, and a relative of Maria 
Theresa, and who assisted Napoleon with 
a loan of fifteen million dollars in order 
that he might carry on his campaign. 
Children : George L., a resident of New- 
ark; Blanche Emilie Marie, deceased. 



HEDDEN, Clarence M., 

Manufacturer, Enterprising Cltiien. 

The history of the great business under- 
takings of modern times is still to be writ- 
ten, for as yet it is an unopened book. 
When the romance enveloping commer- 
cial enterprise shall be told in language 
intelligible to the people, then shall it be 
known that many a Waterloo has been 
fought, lost and won, within the four walls 
of an office, just over the wire, with no 
other means than the scratch of a pen, a 
mere word, but backed by a will, a brain. 
With modern methods, discoveries and 
inventions, business has place only for 
those who combine the capacities of both 
the general and the diplomat, and these 
qualities were united in full measure in 
the person of the late Clarence Myers 
Hedden, of Newark, New Jersey. In his 
business undertakings, Mr. Hedden dis- 
played those qualities which had made of 
his ancestors the devoted patriots who 
added prestige to the ancient name of the 
family, to which it is necessary to give 
brief mention. 



154 




%WvUwt^ %{^^ljJIX^O 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The name of Hedden, Hodden and Hod- 
don is of ancient origin, and has many cor- 
ruptions, such as Headen, Hedde, Hedin, 
Headden and Heady. It is a distinctly 
English name, although it is also met 
with in Scotland, Ireland and Wales. The 
armorial bearings betray the fact that 
members of the family were participants 
in the Crusades. Coat-of-arms — Quarterly 
first and fourth argent, a saltire engraved 
sable. Second, argent a saltire engraved 
between four roses gules. Third, or, a 
bend chequy argent and sable. In the 
center over the quarterings is a crescent 
argent. Crest — An eagle erased or. Motto 
—Suffer. 

Jared, or Gerard, Hadden, was born 
about 1608, and was the first of this fam- 
ily to come to America. He probably 
came in the fleet with Winthrop, as he is 
among the first hundred men admitted 
from the Boston church prior to the ar- 
rival of other freemen in May, 1634. In 
1632 he settled at Cambridge, where he 
was made a freeman. He was a tailor 
and planter ; was a proprietor of Salis- 
bury, Massachusetts, in 1640, receiving 
land in the first division, and was of those 
who removed to the west side of the 
Powow four years later. He was a com- 
moner, and taxed in 1650; was one of the 
first settlers in Amesbury, 1654-55, where 
he received land, 1654-64; received a seat 
in the meeting house, 1667, but was a 
member of the Salisbury church, 1677-87. 
He received "children's land" in Ames- 
bury for his daughter in 1659, and a 
"township" for one daughter in 1660. In 
1680 he was a selectman. His death oc- 
curred at Amesbury in 1689; his will, 
dated January 20, 1686-87, was proved 
March 20, 1689-90, and mentions his 
daughters, Mary and Sarah, and their 
children, and Elizabeth Huntington and 
Ensign John Weed, of Amesbury. He 
married Margaret , who died March 



20, 1672-73, and probably had other chil- 
dren in addition to those mentioned above. 

Edward Hedden, in all probability the 
son of Jared or Gerard and Margaret 
Hadden, was born in 1666, and, like many 
of the New England settlers, migrated to 
Connecticut, and finally settled in New 
Jersey. With his wife he settled at "The 
Mountain," now in the vicinity of South 
Orange, and there received grants, as their 
sons all owned tracts there. He married 
Jane Jones, a Welsh girl, born in 1668, 
who was a member of the First Church, 
Presbyterian, at Newark, prior to the for- 
mation of the "Mountain Society," and 
she was interred in the burial ground of 
the church on Broad street, February 23, 
1773, being the oldest person who had 
ever died in Newark up to that time. 
Children: John, Joseph, Eleazer. Oliver, 
Diana and Rebecca. 

Joseph, son of Edward and Jane (Jones) 
Hedden, was born at Newark, New Jer- 
sey, in 1702, and died in that part now 
known as Orange, November 3, 1798. He 
settled at "The Mountain,'* now South 
Orange, and there he and his brother 
John owned much land. In various deeds 
he is styled yeoman. He is buried beside 
his wife Rebecca in the old First Pres- 
byterian burying ground at Orange, both 
having been members in full communion 
of the "Mountain Society" prior to 1756. 
The "Centinal of Freedom," of Newark, 
had this to say of him, in November, 1798: 
"This venerable citizen has from his youth 
sustained the character of an honest and 
upright man and was much lamented 
by those who were acquainted with him. 
He had thirteen children, one hundred 
and seventy-six grandchildren, and three 
great-grandchildren. It is a no less curi- 
ous than amusing fact that this 'father 
of a host' immediately upon arising every 
morning, and before dressing, took a gen- 
erous draught of pure Jersey distilled 



155 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



liquor. He died at the age of ninety-six 
years, and was wont to speak with pride 
of the fact that he had eight sons who 
served their country during the Revolu- 
tion." He married (first) Rebecca, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Dod, granddaughter of 
Daniel and Elizabeth (Riggs) Dod, and 
great-granddaughter of Stephen Dod, of 
Guilford, Connecticut. He married (sec- 
ond) Rebecca, daughter of Matthew and 
Ruth (Wheeler) Williams, of Orange. 
Children: Ebenezer, David, Elijah, Job, 
Simon, Martha, Phebe, Rebecca. Eliza- 
beth, Joseph, Jonathan, Sarah and Joanna. 

Jonathan, son of Joseph and Rebecca 
Hedden, was born in that part of Newark 
now known as South Orange, New Jer- 
sey, in 1733, and died in East Orange, 
December 25, 1795. He was a tailor all 
his life, and also cultivated the large farm 
which, in the course of time, he had ac- 
quired by purchase. He was one of the 
incorporators of the Second Presbyterian 
Church of Newark (Brick Church of 
Orange), was one of the seven trustees, 
and was duly qualified before Judge Peck 
at the parsonage house, September 22, 
1776, each taking the oath of allegiance 
to his country. Jonathan Hedden was 
elected president of this board of trustees 
in the fall of 1776, and filled this office 
many years. He married Phebe, a daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Phebe (Freeman) Can- 
field. Children: Caleb, Daniel, Abial, 
Jotham, Mary, Rebecca and Deborah. 

Jotham, son of Jonathan and Phebe 
(Canfield) Hedden, was born in what is 
now East Orange, about 1769, and died 
October 12, 1803. He was a farmer, and 
also a shoemaker. He served his town 
as constable, and was a prominent mem- 
ber of the First Church. He married, 
1795, Mary Jones, born at Orange, June 
4, 1774. died October 28, 1827, a daugh- 
ter of Cornelius and Joanna (Harrison) 
Jones. Children: Israel, Nancy and Al- 
bert. 



Israel, son of Jotham and Mary (Jones) 
Hedden, was born on the Hedden home- 
stead in East Orange, New Jersey, May 
1, 1796, and died at Orange, October 10, 
1825. He learned the trade of hat making 
with his uncle, Cyrus Jones, and estab- 
lished himself in business as a hatter in 
Orange. He died at the early age of 
twenty-nine years from consumption due 
to exposure while serving in the War of 
1812. His residence in Orange was for a 
time in the old First Presbyterian par- 
sonage, next to the present Young Men's 
Christian Association building. Later he 
erected a homestead opposite the present 
Park Hotel. He married, March 17, 1821, 
Maria Stiles, born October 27, 1798, died 
October 8, 1830. Children: Mary Joseph- 
ine, Charles Israel, and Maria Augusta, 
the last mentioned a posthumous child. 

Charles Israel Hedden, son of Israel 
and Maria (Stiles) Hedden, was born at 
Orange, New Jersey, October 1, 1823, and 
died at Newark, New Jersey, January 7, 
1893. He was but two years of age at 
the time of the death of his father, and 
was then taken by his uncle, Job Wil- 
liams, of Orange, who raised him. His 
limited educational advantages were ac- 
quired in the district school, and even as 
a young lad he worked out. While liv- 
ing for a time with his maternal grand- 
father, his leg was so badly broken by a 
falling tree that he was lame throughout 
his life. As an apprentice to his uncle. 
Job Williams, with whom he remained 
until he had attained his majority, he 
learned the trade of hat making, then 
worked as a journeyman for various man- 
ufacturers, among them Marshall Smith, 
with whom he made his home. 

He established himself independently 
in the manufacture of hats in 1856, and 
was a pioneer in this industry in many 
respects. He was the first in Orange to 
introduce a steam boiler and a set of 
pouncing machines in the factory. He 



'56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was also one of the first men to take the 
refuse hat roundings and have them re- 
picked into hat fur stock, and from that 
time to the present every part of waste 
hat stock has been utilized. He organ- 
ized the firm of John H. Myers & Com- 
pany, which continued in business until 
its dissolution in 1868. Mr. Hedden pur- 
chased fifteen hundred acres of land in 
Warren county, North Carolina, and cul- 
tivated this successfully as a tobacco and 
grain plantation until he returned to New- 
ark in 1872. For a time he again lived in 
that city, then went to Texas with his 
eldest son, with the intention of starting 
a sheep ranch there. His stay there was 
a short one, and after his return to the 
north he was engaged for a time in the 
provision business at Washington Mar- 
ket, New York City. Abandoning this 
line of business, he again turned his at- 
tention to the manufacture of hats, and 
formed the firm of W. B. Huey & Com- 
pany, of Newark, the other members of 
the firm being Wilbur B. Huey and Clar- 
ence Myers Hedden. When this firm was 
dissolved the new one was formed, known 
as C. M. Hedden & Company, and this 
continued its work on the same premises 
as the old company until December, 1883, 
when a larger and more commodious 
factory was erected on Thirteenth ave- 
nue, of which they took possession, in 
April. 1884. It was the largest and lead- 
ing hat factory of its day, employing more 
than two hundred persons, and manufac- 
turing one hundred and fifty dozens of 
hats daily. Their trade extended all over 
the United States, to various parts of 
South America, and numerous islands in 
foreign parts. He retained his member- 
ship in the old First Presbyterian Church 
at Orange, although he was a constant 
attendant of the Wickliff Presbyterian 
Church at Newark. In earlier years he 
was a Whig, but affiliated with the Re- 



publican party upon its formation. He 
was a strong supporter of the Abolition 
party, and actively assisted the "under- 
ground railway." One of his closest per- 
sonal friends was Horace Greeley, and he 
held "The Tribune'' in high esteem. 

Mr. Hedden married (first) June 9, 
1852, Matilda Ward Myers, born June 11, 
1827, died June 17, 1870, a daughter of 
Zebulon and Eliza (Lindsley) Myers, 
granddaughter of Judge John and Phebe 
(Baldwin) Lindsley, and related to the 
Days, Condits, Wards, and other first set- 
tler families. He married (second) Au- 
gust 11, 1881, Rhoda Eliza Marsh, daugh- 
ter of Justus Morris and Susanna King 
(Wright) Marsh, natives of Rahway and 
Northfield, New Jersey, respectively. Chil- 
dren, all by the first marriage: Richard 
Stiles, Lelia Matilda, Clarence Myers, 
Israel Charles, Alice Eliza, Jesse Wil- 
liams, Edith May. 

Clarence Myers Hedden, son of Charles 
Israel and Matilda Ward (Myers) Hed- 
den, was born at Orange, New Jersey, 
June 25, 1856, and died May II, 19x14. He 
attended private schools at Orange until 
he was fourteen years of age, when, as 
the Civil War had entailed financial dis- 
aster upon his father, his education was 
brought to an abrupt conclusion. The 
family lived for a time on a plantation in 
North Carolina, and in 1872, two years 
after the death of the mother, returned 
to the north, where young Hedden at- 
tended school for a short time at Hay- 
denville, Massachusetts. He was soon 
obliged to abandon this, however, and 
turn his attention to self-support. Am- 
bitious, energetic and persevering, he had 
no difficulty in obtaining employment, 
and by dint of strict economy accumu- 
lated a fortune of some hundreds of dol- 
lars which he put to use to the best ad- 
vantage. He had attained the age of 
twenty-five years when he became asso- 

57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ciated with his father in the manufac- 
ture of hats, and when the firm was in- 
corporated in 1899 he became the presi- 
dent of this corporation, his wife the vice- 
president, and William H. Fitz the secre- 
tary and treasurer. He was a man of 
many-sided ability, however, and this in- 
dustry, large and important as it was, 
was not sufficient for his untiring energy 
and executive ability, and for a number 
of years he was also actively engaged in 
carrying on an extensive real estate busi- 
ness. For a period of twenty-eight years 
he was an active member of the Sixth 
Presbyterian Church, and a member of 
the board of trustees during sixteen years 
of this time. Following is a partial copy 
of a set of resolutions authorized by the 
board of trustees at the time of his death : 

Resolved, By the death of Brother Clarence M. 
Hedden the board of trustees of the Sixth Pres- 
byterian Church have lost a faithful and efficient 
member who served the church for a period of 
sixteen years, and whose business judgment and 
sagacity have always been of incalculable benefit 
to us in conducting the affairs of our work. 
While our church has lost a member who for 
twenty-eight years has ever rallied to its every 
call, liberally giving of his strength and substance 
that our Master's work might be supported and 
His kingdom advanced. 

Mr. Hedden was a member of Newark 
Lodge, No. 8, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and of the West End Club, in 
which he was a member of the board of 
governors for a number of years. 

Mr. Hedden married, at Haydenville, 
Massachusetts, Nellie Frances Hamilton, 
born November 2, 1857, daughter of John 
Royal and Sarah Clarissa (Mather) Ham- 
ilton, the former a carpenter and builder, 
and a descendant of an old pioneer family 
of Vermont. Children : Frances Matilda, 
born September 2, 1880 ; Lulu Josephine, 
born October 12, 1882; Clarence Hamil- 
ton, born July 1, 1885; Nellie Estelle, 



born December 14, 1887; Charles Leslie, 
born January 1, 1890; Ernest Myers, born 
September 28, 1892; Albert Henry, born 
June 23, 1895 ; Walter Page, born June 
25, 1898; Dorothy, born December 28, 
1902. 

Mr. Hedden was one of the most effi- 
cient business men of his day, and in pub- 
lic life his merits were no less. His quick- 
ness of perception and earnestness in 
every cause which he espoused, made him 
an invaluable ally and a most formidable 
opponent. As an organizer and worker, 
he was invaluable, his sagacity was un- 
usual and his energy untiring. What- 
ever he had to do, he did with all his 
might, and it was always well done. With 
pleasing manners and a strange power 
of personal magnetism, it is not to be 
wondered at that he compelled success. 
Toward those in his employ he was not 
alone employer, but a kind, fatherly friend, 
so that they knew to whom to go in time 
of trouble, and were always certain to 
find the needed assistance. He was chari- 
table to a degree, but his bounty was be- 
stowed in so unostentatious a manner, that 
it was only in rare cases that others in 
addition to the recipient knew anything 
about it. 



FORT, George F., 

Governor of New Jersey. 

George Franklin Fort was born in Pem- 
berton in May, 1809. He graduated M. 
D., University of Pennsylvania, in 1830. 
He was a member of the New Jersey 
Assembly, of the State Constitutional 
Convention of 1844, and later a State Sen- 
ator. He was Governor, 1851-54, and 
subsequently judge of the Court of Errors 
and Appeals. He received the degree of 
M. A. from the College of New Jersey, in 
1847. He died in New Egypt, New Jer- 
sey, April 22, 1872. 



158 




(^T-a^slLu <J. -UxyUh, 




lihuim 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



PUTNAM, Erastus G., 

Man of Lofty Character. 

To the long and honorable record of an 
ancestry traced in England to the year 
1 199, Erastus G. Putnam added the rec- 
ord of a long life, spent largely in the 
service of his fellow men, a life filled with 
kindly deeds and charitable acts. From 
1872 until his death, October 1, 1915, he 
was a resident of the city of Elizabeth, 
New Jersey. From 1877 he was largely 
engaged in public service, the schools of 
the city and the public health depart- 
ments receiving at his hands especially 
valuable labor, much of it performed 
without compensation, surely as a duty 
and a labor of love. When he did receive 
compensation, it was returned, in chari- 
table acts to those he met in distress, 
more than twice over. While he was 
stern in the discharge of his duties as 
health officer, he was deeply respected 
and admired by all with whom he came 
in contact, and was very popular. 

Mr. Putnam traced his English ances- 
try to Simon de Puttenham, A. D. 1199. 
The family bore arms : 

Arms — Sable, in pale, a stork argent, between 
sixteen crosses fitchee of the same. 

Crest — On a wreath, a wolf's head, couped 
gules. 

The American ancestor was Captain 
John Putnam, of Aston Abbotts, Eng- 
land, and Salem Village, Massachusetts, 
one of the brave spirits who aided ma- 
terially in founding the colony which has 
become a proud Commonwealth. The 
English and American families through 
twenty-five generations is thus traced :* 

The line of descent is as follows: (I) 
Simon de Puttenham (1199); (II) Ralph 
de Puttenham, of Puttenham (1217) ; 

(III) Richard de Puttenham (1273); 

(IV) John de Puttenham, of Puttenham 
(1291); (V) Thomas Puttenham (temp. 



Edward I.) ; (VI) Roger Puttenham, 
High Sheriff for Herts (1322) ; (VIII) 
Sir Roger Puttenham (about 1320-1380). 

(IX) William Puttenham, about 1360- 
1420, of Puttenham and Pennsylvania ; 
married Margaret, the third daughter of 
John de Warbleton, of Warbleton, Sus- 
sex, and Sherfield on London, Southamp- 
ton, by Katherine, daughter of Sir John 
de Foxle, Bramshell and Apuldrefield, and 
had: 

(X) Henry Puttenham, 1403-1473, of 
Puttenham, Pennsylvania, Sherfield. 
Warbleton, etc; married Elizabeth, 
widow of Geoffrey Goodluck, and had : 

(XI) William Puttenham, 1430-1492, 
of the Manor of Puttenham, Pennsylva- 
nia, Long Marston, Sherfield, Warbleton, 
Tannerigge and Williegh ; married Anne, 
daughter of John Hampden, the most an- 
cient of English families, claiming de- 
scent from Baldwin de Hampden, who 
was of note before the Norman invasion ; 
(John, the father of Anne Puttenham, 
was Knight of the Shire for Bucks in 
1420 and 1430, of Beds, in 1450, in which 
year he died. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Sir John Whalesborough, 
Knight of Whalesborough, County Corn- 
wall. From John descended John Hamp- 
den, the Patriot, noted for his resistance 
to the collection of ship-money, whose 
mother was Elizabeth Cromwell, aunt to 
Oliver Cromwell,) and had: 

(XII) Nicholas Puttenham or Ptitt- 
nam, third son, born about 1460, lived 
at Putnam Place in Pennsylvania, and 
had: 

(XIII) Henry Putnam, younger son, 
was living in 1526; he had: 

(XIV) Richard Putnam or Puttyn- 
ham, 1500-1556, of Eddlesborough and 
W oughton, married Joan, and had : 



•This, and the various ancestral narratives 
which follow, relating to the Putnam-Woodward 
families, are from the papers of Mrs. Mary N. 
(Erastus G.) Putnam. The personal narratives 
relating to Mr. and Mrs. Putnam are by a staff 
writer. 



159 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(XV) John Putnam, of Rowsham, 
Slapton and Wingrave, was buried 27 
January, 1568; his eldest son was: 

(XVI) Nicholas Putnam, of Wingrave 
and Stukeley, 1540-1598, married at Win- 
grave, 30 January, 1577, Margaret, daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth Goodspeed. 
She was baptized at Wingrave, 16 Au- 
gust, 1556, and had: 

(XVII) John Putnam, of Aston Ab- 
botts, County Bucks, England, was bap- 
tized 17 January, 1579. He married Pris- 
cilla Gould, probably early in 1612. With 
their four children they came to New 
England and settled in Salem Village, 
now Danvers, Massachusetts. He died 
suddenly on 30 December, 1662. Their 
third son was : 

(XVIII) Captain John Putnam, bap- 
tized at Aston Abbotts, England, died at 
Salem Village, 7 April, 1710, "buried by 
ye soldiers." He was made freeman in 
1635. In 1672 he is styled corporal; on 
the 7 October, 1678, he was commis- 
sioned lieutenant of the troops of horse 
at the village; after 1687 he is styled 
"Captain." He served in the Narragan- 
sett fight, and retained his military man- 
ners throughout his life. He was deputy 
to the General Court in 1679-80-86-91-92. 
He married, at Salem, 7 March, 1652, Re- 
becca Prince, stepdaughter of John Ged- 
ney, and had : 

(XIX) Eleazer Putnam, born in Salem 
Village, 1665; died there, 25 January, 
1732-33. In 1690, had been one of Cap- 
tain William Raymond's company en- 
listed for the Canada Expedition. In 
1700 he was chosen tythingman for the 
village, and again in 1705. He was con- 
stable during the year 1708, and surveyor 
of highways on Topsfield road in 171 1. 
lie married (second) 14 November, 171 1, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. Benjamin and 
Apphia (Hale) Rolfe, of Newbury, born 
there, 15 December, 1679, died 2 January, 
1752, and had: 



(XX) Captain Henry Putnam, born in 
Salem Village, 14 August, 1712; killed at 
Lexington, 19 April, 1775. He was an 
officer in the French War, and did good 
service for his country in the subjection 
of Canada to the English during our 
Colonial War. He was a man of experi- 
ence in military matters, and had earned 
the commission of lieutenant, which he 
held during the Louisburg expedition. 
Although exempt from military duty, he 
accompanied the troops, with his five sons, 
to Lexington, and fell in action. He mar- 
ried Hannah, and had : 

(XXI) Eleazer Putnam, born in Dan- 
vers, 5 June, 1738, died probably in 1805 ; 
administration on his estate granted 14 
March, 1806. He was in Captain Isaac 
Hull's company, and received credit for 
five days' service on the Lexington Alarm. 
He married Mary Crosby, of Billerica. 
published in Charlestown, 20 March, 
1761 ; and had: 

(XXII) Doctor Elijah Putnam, born 
in Medford, Massachusetts, November 
17, 1770, died in Madison, New York, 
January, 185 1. He moved from West 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, to Peterbor- 
ough, New York, in 1801, thence to Madi- 
son, March, 1802, where he located and 
practiced medicine for forty years. He 
was an organizer of the Madison County 
Medical Society, July 29, 1806; was an 
excellent physician, a worthy, respected 
man, and a Christian gentleman. He 
married Phoebe, daughter of Captain 
Abner Wood, born in Madison, died 
about 1854, and had: 

(XXIII) Hamilton Putnam, born in 
Madison, New York, 5 September, 1807, 
died at Cortland, New York, 15 Decem- 
ber, 1892, where he resided more than 
fifty years. He was justice of the peace 
and supervisor of the county many years ; 
a director of the National Bank of Cort- 
land ; and a member of the Presbyterian 
church. He married, 20 April, 1831, Jean- 




I 
< 

2 
\- 
D 
Q_ 

< 2 



2 £ 

2 • 

Q. Z 

Ld k. 

U o 

u W 

UJ 

Q 

Cfl 

u 
oe 

z 







11 
> 

oi O 
c O 





<n 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nette Cleaveland, born January 26, 1812, 
died 31 July, 1884, daughter of General 
Erastus Cleaveland, and had : 

(XXIV) Erastus Gaylord Putnam, sec- 
ond son of Hamilton and Jeannette 
(Cleaveland) Putnam, born December 
23, 1833, in Harford, New York, died in 
Elizabeth, New Jersey, October 1, 1915. 
He was educated at Cortland Academy, 
Cortland, New York, and after complet- 
ing his studies taught school until com- 
pleting his years of minority. At the age 
of twenty-one he left home and went as 
far west as Cleveland, Ohio, where he 
entered his uncle Erastus Gaylord's 
wholesale drug house, studying medicine 
five years under an English chemist. 

At the outbreak of the Civil War he 
was physically unfit for army service, but 
under appointment of Governor Tod 
served on the Sanitary Commission, 
where his medical knowledge was of sub- 
stantial value. He was offered appoint- 
ment as assistant surgeon, but his health 
forbade acceptance. In 1868 Mr. Putnam, 
having returned to New York, was 
offered and accepted the position of busi- 
ness manager of Cornell University, re- 
siding during his term of office (from 
1868 to 1871) at Ithaca, the seat of the 
university. 

In 1872 he became a resident of Eliza- 
beth, New Jersey, that city being his 
home for forty-three years, until death. 
He bought the Library Hall drug store 
on Rroad street, now the site of Proctor's 
Broad Street Theatre, and there con- 
ducted a very prosperous business. He 
continued in the drug business until No- 
vember, 1887, then sold out to William J. 
Whelan. For ten years, from 1877 to 
1887, he served on the city board of edu- 
cation, was president of the board, and 
most earnest in his efforts to furnish the 
youth of Elizabeth with the best educa- 
tional advantages. One result of his 
efforts was the establishing of the high 



school, that grade of school having been 
established largely as a result of his 
efforts. After ten years' service he de- 
clined renomination. 

After surrendering the cares of busi- 
ness, and at the earnest solicitation of 
many physicians of the city, Mr. Putnam 
consented to act as health officer, serving 
from May, 1888, until he resigned in 1898, 
being succeeded by Louis J. Richards. 
As health officer he had to combat a 
severe epidemic of smallpox, and during 
that period his execution, ability, firm- 
ness and devotion was of inestimable 
value. So his life was passed, "spending 
and being spent." His life was essentially 
one of usefulness to his fellow men, and 
his monument is in the hearts of those 
who during his long lifetime worked by 
his side, knew his devotion and self-sacri- 
ficing spirit, and in the hearts of those 
who benefited thereby. He sought not 
worldly honor, but only asked to be of 
service. His ancestry opened to him the 
door of every patriotic order, but he 
availed himself of but one, the Sons of 
the American Revolution, joining as a 
charter member, Elizabeth Chapter, No. 
1, on April 3, 1891. 

He married, at "Keewaydin," Orange 
county, New York, January 30, 1867, 
Mary Nicoll Woodward, born October 1, 
1834, in Ithaca, New York, daughter of 
William A. and Frances M. (Evertson) 
Woodward. Mrs. Putnam is a descend- 
ant of Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, the pa- 
troon of the Hudson River Valley, and 
of Matthias Nicolls, secretary of the 
Province of New York from 1664 to 1680, 
and other eminent families, her genealogy 
being fully traced on the following pages. 
She is a member of the societies basing 
their membership on colonial residence 
and warlike deeds, and of many women's 
organizations, active in good works, a 
lady of culture, grace and charm, most 
highly esteemed. 



16] 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Four children were born to Erastus G. 
and Mary N. (Woodward) Putnam, all 
of whom died young: I. Mary Evertson, 
born December 27, 1867, died August 25, 
1868. 2-3. Rosalie Gaylord and Harry 
Barrow (twins), born April 7, 1872, died 
two days later. 4. William Hamilton. 
born November 4, 1875, died three days 
later. 

Mrs. Putnam continues her residence 
in Elizabeth, her home on South Broad 
street. 

(The Cleaveland Family). 

Arms— Per chevron, sable and ermine, a chev- 
ron engrailed counterchanged. 

Crest— A demi-old man proper, habited proper, 
having on his head a cap gules, turned up, with 
a hair front, holding in his dexter hand a spear, 
headed argent, on top of which is fixed a line 
proper, passing behind him and coiled up in 
sinister hand. 

Motto — Pro Deo et Patria. 

The Cleaveland family traces its de- 
scent from Thorkill, a Saxon, who about 
the time of the Norman Conquest as- 
sumed the name of De Cliveland, main- 
taining a country seat in the County of 
York, England. From him descended 
Moses Cleaveland, also known as Moyses 
Cleveland, the ancestor of Jeannette 
Cleaveland, mother of Erastus Gaylord 
Putnam. From Moses Cleaveland de- 
scended Grover Cleveland, twice Presi- 
dent of the United States, and other men 
eminent in public life, four of the name 
having been Governors : Grover Cleve- 
land, Governor of New York; Chauncey 
Fitch Cleveland, Governor of Connecti- 
cut; Jesse F. Cleveland, Governor of 
North Carolina; Alvin P. Cleveland, Gov- 
ernor of Indiana. 

(I) Moses Cleaveland, a descendant of 
Thorkill De Cliveland, of York, England, 
and the ancestor of the American family, 
was born at Ipswich, Suffolk county, 
England, about 1624, died at Woburn, 
Massachusetts, January 9, 1701. He 



landed at Boston or Plymouth in 1635, 
and spent his life in Woburn and vicin- 
ity. He married, in Woburn, September 
26, 1648, Ann Winn, born in Wales about 
1646, died May, 1682, daughter of Ed- 
ward and Joanna Winn. They had twelve 
children, including: 

(II) Aaron Cleaveland, born in Wo- 
burn, Massachusetts, January 10, 1654, 
died there, December 14, 1716. He served 
in King Philip's War, as did his brothers, 
Moses and Samuel ; was made a freeman 
in 1680; became a man of distinction, 
prominent in public affairs, and gave his 
children the best educational advantages 
of that day. He married, in Woburn, 
September 26, 1675, Dorcas Wilson, born 
January 29, 1657, died in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, November 29, 1714, 
daughter of John and Hannah (James) 
Wilson. They had issue, including: 

(III) Captain Aaron Cleaveland, born 
July 9, 1680, in Woburn, Massachusetts, 
died in that part of Cambridge called 
Mystic (now Medford), Massachusetts, 
or at Norwich, Connecticut, about De- 
cember 1, 1755. He was a large land- 
owner in Charlestown lived there from 
1710 to 1713, and again in 1738, prior to 
his removal to East Haddam, Connecti- 
cut. He was admitted to the church at 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, October 7, 
171 1, by profession and baptism, later was 
a member of the church at Medford, 
Massachusetts, and on August 10, 1755, 
joined the church at East Haddam. He 
was a constable in Medford from March 
I, 1707, to 1708, was also a contractor and 
builder, rating high in business ability. 
He served as cornet, lieutenant and cap- 
tain of militia, and physically was of 
great stature and strength. On the rec- 
ords he is styled captain, and on the East 
Haddam tax list is named as Aaron 
Cleaveland, gentleman, his tax rating be- 
ing given as £3,000, which classes him as 
one of the very wealthy men of the town. 



if. 2 




<M.aMj JTujfUL ftx^a^rJ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Captain Aaron Cleaveland married, in 
Woburn, Massachusetts, January I, 1 701, 
Abigail Waters, born November 29, 1683, 
in Woburn, died (probably in Norwich, 
Connecticut), January 6, 1761, daughter 
of Samuel and Mary (Hudson) Waters. 
Among their eight children was a son: 

(IV) Moses Cleaveland, baptized July 
19, 1719, at Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
died prior to 1761. He married at 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, Mary Clarke, 
born there, June 9, 1724, died at Hope- 
well, Ontario county, New York, after 
1824, aged over one hundred years, 
daughter of Thomas and Dorothy (Hurl- 
hurt) Clarke. She married a second hus- 
band, a Mr. Bliss. General Erastus 
Cleaveland was wont to boast of coming 
from a long lived race, saying his grand- 
mother Bliss "could dance a hornpipe at 
age ninety-five," and furthermore could 
"touch every note." They had issue, in- 
cluding a son: 

(V) Moses Cleaveland, born May 23, 
1745, at Wethersfield or Norwich, Con- 
necticut, died at Morrisville, Madison 
county, New York, 1817. He lived at 
Norwich and New London, Connecticut, 
prior to moving to Morrisville, New 
York. He held a lieutenant's commis- 
sion in a company of cavalry, was sta- 
tioned at Roxbury, Massachusetts, dur- 
ing the siege of Boston, and was one of 
General Washington's trusted and hard 
worked scouts. He married at Norwich. 
Connecticut, February 20, 1766, Phoebe 
Fargo, born February 14, 1747, in Nor- 
wich, daughter of Aaron and Sarah Fargo. 
They had issue, including: 

(VI) General Erastus Cleaveland, born 
June 20, 1771, in Norwich, Connecticut, 
died in Madison, New York, January 27, 
1857, aged eighty-five years. He settled 
in Madison in 1793, was elected to the 
New York Legislature in 1806 and in 
1808; commissioned major in 1807, and 
was colonel in command of the regiment 



at Sacketts Harbor, New York, War of 
1812 ; commissioned lieutenant-colonel 
in 18,12, colonel in 1814, and later was 
brigadier-general of militia. He was suc- 
cessful in his business pursuits of the 
grist mill he built in 1795, the first in 
Madison. Later he built two mills else- 
where, started a distillery and a brewery, 
a carding machine and a satinet cloth fac- 
tory, also dealt heavily in cattle for the 
New York and Philadelphia markets. He 
was remarkable for energy, business abil- 
ity, skill and perseverance. He married, 
in Southwick, Hampden county, Massa- 
chusetts, January 8, 1795, Rebecca Berry, 
of the town adjoining Norwich, Connec- 
ticut. Her brother, Samuel Berry, bought 
the land on which Madison Village, New 
York, is located from Seth Gibson, who 
at a cost of twenty-five dollars obtained 
possession of the land. They had : 

(VII) Jeannette Cleaveland, born Jan- 
uary 26, 181 7, at Madison, died July 31, 
1884, at Middleboro, Massachusetts, on a 
visit to her daughter, Mrs. Grant. She 
married at Madison, April 20, 183 1, 
Hamilton Putnam, born in Madison, Sep- 
tember 5, 1807, died at Cortland, New 
York, December 15, 1892 (see Putnam 
XXIII). They had: 

(VIII) Erastus Gaylord Putnam (see 
Putnam XXIV). 

MARY NICOLL WOODWARD PUTNAM. 

Were personal comfort and ease the 
object of her life, Mrs. Putnam might well 
retire from the many charities, philan- 
thropies and societies with which she is 
connected, and with the means at her 
command gratify every selfish impulse. 
But she realizes her responsibilities to the 
full, and since the death of her husband 
has devoted her life to good works, not 
with a perfunctory interest, but with all 
the enthusiasm of her strong, ardent na- 
ture. Of distinguished English, Dutch 
and American ancestry, she inherits the 



163 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



admirable traits of character which dis- 
tinguished her forbears, and in her is per- 
petuated in gentle womanly form and 
grace their virtues. Years have brought 
out in strong relief the best traits of 
human character, and, as constant chisel- 
ing brings out the perfect statue, so the 
chastening influences of years and sorrow 
have revealed her as the woman of 
broadest, deepest sympathy, whose ear is 
quick to hear the cry of the needy, and 
whose hand is ever ready to extend suc- 
cor. While her private benefactions are 
many, she also works through the so- 
cieties that best represent her own prac- 
tical views of usefulness in charity, phi- 
lanthropy and patriotism. Her deepest 
interest and the causes in which her per- 
sonal efforts are directed, are church 
charities, missions, preservation of his- 
torical landmarks, the abolition of child 
labor, public playgrounds, and woman 
suffrage. 

Mary Nicoll Woodward was born Oc- 
tober I, 1834, at Ithaca, New York, 
daughter of William Amos and Frances 
Mary (Evertson) Woodward. She was 
educated at St. Ann's Hall, New York 
City, by the Rev. I. F. Schroeder, D. D., 
and was married at "Keewaydin," Orange 
county, New York, January 30, 1867, to 
Erastus Gaylord Putnam. She has con- 
tinued her residence at Elizabeth, New 
Jersey, since becoming a widow, her home 
the abode of hospitality and all the refine- 
ment of life. 

She is a member of the Recreation As- 
sociation of America; Woman's Branch 
of the New Jersey Historical Society; the 
Charity Organization Society ; the Visit- 
ing Nurses Association ; the Ladies' Aid 
Society of the General Hospital and Dis- 
pensary of Elizabeth ; the Protestant 
Episcopal Church ; the Daughters of the 
American Revolution, of which she 
founded the Boudinot Chapter, was re- 
gent ten years, was successively State 



vice-regent, State regent, vice-president- 
general, and at the present time is honor- 
ary vice-president-general ; Society of 
Colonial Dames; Order of the Crown; 
Huguenot Society of America ; Daugh- 
ters of Holland Dames ; Society of Amer- 
icans of Armorial Ancestry ; Society of 
New England Women ; life member of 
the New Jersey Historical Society, and 
the Monday Club of Elizabeth. 

Mrs. Putnam traces to Johannes Beeck- 
man, 1660; to Right Honorable Oloff 
Stevense Van Cortlandt, 1566; to Cap- 
tain Henry Holland, 1661 ; to Jean Bou- 
dinot, 1669; to Jan Hendrickse Van Baal, 
1636; to Admiral Johan Evertsen, 1600; 
to Wilhelmus Teller, 1620; Kiliaen Van 
Rensselaer, 1595. 

(The Line of Royal Descent). 

(I) Alfred the Great, King of England, 
871-901 ; had by his wife, Lady Elswitha, 
daughter of Ethelran the Great, Earl of 
Mercia : 

(II) Edward the Elder, King of Eng- 
land, 901-925, who had by his third wife, 
Oueen Egdiva, daughter of the Saxon 
Earl Sigelline : 

(III) Edmund I, King of England, 
940-046, who married Elgiva, grand- 
daughter of Alfred the Great, and had : 

(IV) Edgar the Peaceful, King of Eng- 
land, 958-975, who married Elfrida, daugh- 
ter of Ordgar, Earl of Devon, and had : 

(V) Ethelred the Unready, King of 
England, 979-1016, who had by his wife 
Elgiva, daughter of Earl Thorad : 

(VI) Edmund Ironsides, King of Eng- 
land, 1016, who had by his wife. Lady 
Algitha of Denmark: 

(VII) Prince Edward the Exile of 
England, who married Lady Agatha of 
Germany, and had : 

(VIII) Princess Margaret of England, 
who married Malcolm Canmore, King of 
Scotland, and had : 

(IX) Princess Matilda of Scotland, who 
64 




' SL It 



a 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married Henry I, King of England, uoo- 
1135, and had : 

(X) Empress Maud, widow of Henry 
V, Emperor of Germany, married, 11 27, 
Geoffrey Plantagenet, Count of Anjou, 
and had : 

(XI) Henry II, King of England, 1154- 
1 189, married Princess Eleanor, Countess 
of Poitou and Duchess of Aquitane, 
daughter and heir of William, Duke of 
Guienne and Earl of Poitou, and had : 

(XII) John, King of England, 1199- 
1216, who had by his second wife, Lady 
Isabel De Taillefer, daughter of Aymer, 
Count D'Angouleme : 

(XIII) Henry III, King of England, 
1216-1272, had by his wife, Lady Eleanor, 
daughter of Raymond De Berenger, 
Count of Provence : 

(XIV) Edmund Plantagenet, Earl of 
Leicester, Lancaster and Chester, Lord 
High Steward, who had by his second 
wife, Lady Blanche, granddaughter of 
Louis VIII, King of France: 

(XV) Henry Plantagenet, Earl of Lan- 
caster and Leicester, who married Lady 
Maud, daughter of Patrick De Chaworth, 
1253-1282, and had : 

(XVI) Lady Eleanor Plantagenet, who 
married (second), as his second wife, Sir 
Richard Fitz-Alan, K. G, Earl of Arundel 
and Surrey, and had: 

(XVII) Lady Alice Fitz-Alan, who 
married Sir Thomas De Holland, K. G., 
second Earl of Kent, marshal of England, 
and had : 

(XVIII) Lady Eleanor De Holland, 
who married (his first wife) Thomas De 
Montacute, last Earl of Salisbury, and 
had: 

(XIX) Lady Alice De Montacute, who 
married Sir Richard de Neville, K. G., 
created Earl of Salisbury, May 4, 1442; 
lord great chamberlain of England, who 
was beheaded for siding with the York- 
ists in 1461, and whose head was fixed 
upon a gate of the city of York, and had : 



(XX) Lady Alice de Neville (sister of 
Richard Neville, K. G., Earl of Salis- 
bury and Warwick, the renowned "King 
maker"), who married Henry, fifth Baron 
Fitzhugh of Ravensworth, steward of the 
honor of Richard and Lancaster, died 
1472 and had: 

(XXI) Lady Elizabeth Fitzhugh, who 
married Sir William Parr, K. G., constable 
of England, and had : 

(XXII) William, Lord Parr of Hor- 
ton, Northampton, died in 1546, who was 
uncle of Katherine Parr, last wife of 
Henry VIII. of England. He was cham- 
berlain to her Majesty and was advanced 
to the peerage, December 23, 1543. He 
married Lady Mary, daughter of Sir Wil- 
liam Salisbury, and had : 

(XXIII) Lady Elizabeth Parr (she who 
is also called Alice), who married (his 
second wife) Sir Nicholas Woodhull, 
Lord of Woodhull, county of Bedford, 
died 1532, (see the Northamptonshire 
Visitations, 1564 and 1618; the Yorkshire 
Visitations, 1584, and Dugdale Baronage). 

Woodhull Arms — Or, three crescents gules. 
Crest — Out of a ducal coronet or, two wings ad- 
dorsed gules. 

(XXIV) Fulke Woodhull of Thenford 
Manor, Northamptonshire, second son 
and heir, and eldest son by Sir Nicholas 
Woodhull's second wife ; married Alice, 
daughter of William Coles or Colles of 
Lye or Leigh, county of Worcester, and 
had: 

(XXV) Lawrence Woodhull, younger 
son (brother of Nicholas, eldest son and 
heir apparent in 1618, who had five sons 
then living, his apparent heir being son 
Gyles, born 1582, see Miscellanae Gene- 
alogy et Heraldica IV, 417), father of: 

(XXVI) Mary Woodhull, who married 
(his second wife) William Nicolls, of 
Islippe, Northamptonshire, and had: 

(XXVII) John Nicolls, who married 



165 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Joane, daughter and heir of George Graf- 
ton, and had: 

(XXVIII) Reverend Matthius Nicolls 
(Church of England), who married, in 
1630, Martha Oakes, of Leicestershire, 
and had : 

(XXIX) Captain Matthias Nicolls, born 
at Islippe, Northamptonshire, 1621, a 
graduate of Cambridge University, and a 
lawyer of the Inner Temple. He was 
appointed secretary of the commission 
"to visit the colonies and plantations 
known as New England," and commis- 
sioned captain of the military force by the 
Duke of York, before leaving England, 
1664, to take Nieuw Amsterdam from the 
Dutch, calling it New York; was secre- 
tary of the province of New York, 1664- 
1687; member of the King's Council, 
1667-1680; speaker of the Provincial As- 
sembly, 1683-84; judge of the Court of 
Admiralty, 1686; mayor of New York, 
1672, died December 22, 1687, and was 
buried at Cow Neck, Long Island. He 
married Abigail Johns, who administered 
on his estate July 22, 1693. The Nicolls 
arms are : 

Arms — Argent, between two bendlets engrailed 
gules, three eaglets displayed with wings inverted 
sable. In chief, three crosses crosslet fitchee, 
with a crescent for a difference. In base, three 
crosses crosslet fitchee, all of the second. 

Crest — An eagle rising sable, wings addorsed 
and inverted, holding in its dexter claw a cross 
crosslet fitchee gules. 

Motto — Fide sed cut vide. 

(XXX) Hon. William Nicoll, the emi- 
nent lawyer, commonly called "the Pat- 
entee," born 1657, at Islippe, Northamp- 
tonshire, England, son of Captain Mat- 
thias Nicolls. He was educated for the 
bar. He came with his father to America 
in 1664, and became a lawyer of great 
prominence in New York. Early in No- 
vember, 1695, he was appointed an agent 
of the Province of New Jersey to go be- 



fore the King in Council to settle the title 
of lands received from the Indians and by 
grant from Governor Nicolls of New 
York, which was done to the satisfaction 
of the settlers. From this he was admit- 
ted an associate of Elizabethtown, with 
a third lot right (Hetfield's History, page 
242). He was a member of the Gov- 
ernor's Council, New York, 1691-98; At- 
torney-General of the Province, 1687; 
member of the Provincial Assembly from 
1701 to 1723. He purchased from Winne- 
quaheagh, Sachem of Connectquut, a 
tract of land on Long Island, embracing 
originally one hundred square miles, but, 
in consequence of sales made, the quan- 
tity later owned by the family did not 
exceed forty thousand acres, including 
the Nicoll Manor at Islip, Long Island. 
He also owned one-half of Shelter Island. 
He was a vestryman of Trinity Church, 
New York, 1698-1702, and died at Nicoll 
Manor, in May, 1723. He married, in 
1693, Anne (Anneken), daughter of Jere- 
mias Van Rensselaer, and widow of her 
cousin, Kiliaen Van Rensselaer of Water- 
vliet, New York, patroon of the lordship 
and manor of Rensselaerwyck (called 
"the Great Patroon") and had : 

(XXXI) Benjamin Nicoll, Esquire, born 
at Islip, Long Island, 1694, who inherited 
from his father the Islip Estate, known as 
Nicoll Manor, and devoted himself to its 
management until his death in 1724. He 
married, in 1714, his first cousin, Charity, 
daughter of Colonel Richard Floyd, 1665- 
1728, of Suffolk county, New York, who 
married Margaret Nicoll, daughter of 
Hon. Matthias Nicoll. Charity (Floyd) 
Nicoll married (second) September 26, 
1725, Rev. Samuel Johnson, first presi- 
dent of King's (afterwards Columbia) 
College, and their son, Dr. William Sam- 
uel Johnson, was the first president of 
Columbia College. Benjamin and Charity 
Nicoll had : William Nicoll, heir of Islip ; 



166 



J*f 








I 



anfrrkj 

(ft jjT 







If 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Benjamin Nicoll, Jr., of whom further; 
and Gloriana Margaretta, married George 
Maverick. 

(XXXII) Benjamin Nicoll, Jr., second 
son of Benjamin and Charity Nicoll, 
born March 17, 171S, at Islip, Long 
Island, graduated from Yale College in 
■734- 

He was a lawyer, and successively 
incorporator, trustee and governor at 
King's College, New York, a founder and 
trustee of the Society Library, New York, 
1754, and a vestryman of Trinity Church, 
New York, 1751-60. He died April 15, 
1760. It was said of him that "never in 
the memory of man at New York was 
anyone so lamented. His death was the 
severest misfortune which had befallen 
the College. It filled its friends with con- 
sternation, for none was more able, wise 
and zealous than he." He married Mary 
Magdalen, daughter of Hon. Edward Hol- 
land, mayor of the City of New York (see 
Holland and Van Rensselaer) and had : 

(XXXIII) Dr. Samuel Nicoll, born 
August i<), 1754, died February 2, 1796. 
He was a graduate of the University of 
Edinburg, Scotland. 1776, pursued and 
completed medical studies in Paris, 
France ; was received at the Court of 
Louis XVI., returned to New York, and 
from 1792 until 1796 was professor of 
chemistry at Columbia College. He mar- 
ried (first) June 1, 1782, Anne, his second 
cousin, daughter of Captain Winter Far- 
gie, of the British army, and his wife, Eve 
Holland, daughter of Henry Holland, 
1704-1782, and had: Benjamin Charles, 
died young; Frances Mary, mentioned be- 
low; Eliza Ann, married Henry Oothout, 
of Schenectady, New York ; William 
Henry, unmarried, surgeon in the United 
States army, died 1830, buried at Jeffer- 
son Barracks, Missouri. 

(XXXIV) Frances Mary Nicoll, born 
December 17, 1785, at Stratford, Connec- 



ticut. She married, April 13, 1809, (his 
second wife) George Bloom Evertson, 
1773-1829, of Poughkeepsie. New York, 
and had : 

(XXXV) Frances Mary Evertson, who 
married William Amos Woodward, 1801- 
1883, born in New London, Connecticut, 
and had : 

(XXXVI) Mary Nicoll Woodward, who 
was married by the Rev. Caleb S. Henry, 
January 30, 1867, to Erastus Gaylord Put- 
nam (q. v.). 

(Descent from Klliaen Van Rensselaer). 

Arms — Gules, a cross moline, or. 
Crest — A high basket, from which issue flames, 
all proper. 

Motto — Nimand sonder. 

(I) Heer Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, 1580- 
1646, first Patroon of the Manor of Rens- 
selaersijck, 1630, son of Hendrik (and his 
wife, Maria Pasraet), son of Kiliaen Jans- 
zoon (and his wife, Nelle van Wenckom), 
son of Jan Hendrickszoon (and his wife, 
Derykebia Van Luxoel), son of Hendrick 
Wolters, 1450 (and his wife, Swene Van 
Indijck) ; married (first) Hillegonde van 
Bijlaer, by whom he had Jehan, who mar- 
ried Elizabeth van Twiller, who had 
Kiliaen, the "Great Patroon." He mar- 
ried (second) Anna, daughter of Jan van 
Weely, administrator of the county of 
Van Buren under the Prince of Orange. 
The Van Weely arms : 

Arms — Quarterly I and 4 gules, a lion rampant 
or; 2, Argent, three roses gules; 3, Argent three 
acorns vert, slipped of their leaves, the stems on 
top. 

Crest — A lion issuant or. 

Heer Kiliaen Van Rensselaer had by 
his wife, Anna van Weely : 

(II) Colonel Jeremias Van Rensselaer, 
1629-1674, the third Patroon. member of 
the Colonial Assembly, and speaker in 
1664. He married, July 12, 1662, Maria, 



167 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Colonel Oloff Stevense Van 
Cortlandt, 1600-1684 (Jeremias Van Rens- 
selaer's letters, 1657-1659, are published 
in the van Rensselaer Bowier MSS. at Al- 
bany, New York, 1908), and had: 

(III) Anne (Annetje) Van Rensselaer, 
sister of Kiliaen, the fourth Patroon, and 
first Lord of the Manor of Rensselaers- 
wyck, married her cousin, Kiliaen Van 
Rensselaer, the "Great Patroon," who 
died February 22, 1687, without issue. 
She married (second) the eminent law- 
yer, William Nicoll, 1657-1723, patentee 
of Islip, Long Island (see Royal descent 
of Mrs. Putnam, XXX), and had: 

(IV) Benjamin Nicoll, 1694-1724, mar- 
ried his cousin, Charity Floyd, daughter 
of Colonel Richard Floyd, and had : 

(V) Benjamin Nicoll, Jr., 1718-1760, 
married Magdalen Mary Holland, daugh- 
ter of Hon. Edward Holland, mayor of 
New York (see Holland and Boudinot), 
and had : 

(VI) Dr. Samuel Nicoll, 1754-1796. 

(VII) Frances Mary Nicoll, married 
Judge George Bloom Evertson. 

(VIII) Frances Mary Evertson, mar- 
ried William Amos Woodward. 

(IX) Mary Nicoll Woodward, married 
Erastus Gaylord Putnam. 

(Van Cortlandt Ancestry). 

Arms — Argent, the four wings of a windmill 
conjoined in saltire, sable, voided gules, between 
five estoiles in cross of the last. 

Crest — A star gules between two wings dis- 
played, the dexter argent, the sinister sable. 

Motto — Virtus sibi munus. 

(I) The Right Honorable Steven Van 
Cortlandt (born in 1576) was immedi- 
ately descended from one of the most 
noble families in Holland, his ancestors 
having emigrated thither when deprived 
of the sovereignty of Courland. The an- 
cient Duchy of Courland formerly con- 
stituted a portion of Livonia, but was 



conquered by the Teutonic Knights in 
1561. It subsequently became a fief of 
Poland. After the fall of that power it 
remained for a short time independent 
under its own dukes, but in 1795 it was 
united to Russia. In the early part of the 
seventeenth century the Dukes of Cour- 
land engaged in the military service of the 
United Netherlands. The Dukes of Cour- 
land appear to have been represented in 
1610 by the Right Honorable Steven Van 
Cortlandt in South Holland (Burke's 
Peerage). By his wife Catherine he had: 
(II) The Right Honorable Oloff Stev- 
enson Van Cortlandt, born 1600, died 
1683. Like his illustrious ancestors, he 
chose the military profession. As early 
as 1629 he was attached to the military 
service of the Dutch West India Com- 
pany and in 1637 came to this country. 
He became one of the prominent citizens 
of New Amsterdam and acquired a large 
property, including a plot on the west side 
of Broadway, New York City, two hun- 
dred and thirty-eight feet front extend- 
ing into the North river, and adjacent to 
the present Cortlandt street. Of him the 
historian of the New Netherlands says: 
"He had the character of being a worthy 
citizen and a man most liberal in his char- 
ities." Among the marriage notices pub- 
lished in the City of New York of those 
who occupied a prominent position in the 
history of those times, is the following: 
"February 26, 1642, Oloff Stevenson Van 
Cortlandt, of Wyck te Deurstude, in Hol- 
land, to Anneken Lookermans." The 
bride was sister of Govert Lookermans, 
one of the leading merchants and magis- 
trates of that city. Colonel Van Cort- 
landt was a member of the Governor's 
Council of "The Eight Men" in 1645, and 
of "The Nine Men" in 1649-1652, of which 
he was president in 1650. In 1659 he was 
colonel of the burgher corps ; alderman of 
the City of New York, 1666, 1667, 1671 ; 



[68 




J|an|ortfatt{ff 



w 




ilookpraiaiis 




Floyd 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



orphan master, 1657 to 1662, and the last 
burgomaster of New Amsterdam before 
the English conquest, 1655-1666 (New 
York Civil List, 1869, pp. 5, 6, 7). He 
was a prosperous merchant and one of 
the wealthiest men in New Amsterdam. 
The Lookermans arms: 

Arms — Per less, argent and or, in chief two 
bars embattled, counterbattled gules; in base, 
ses of the last. 

Oloff Stevenson Van Cortlandt had by 
his wife, Anneken Lookermans : 

(III) Maria Van Cortlandt, born July 
30, 1645, died January 29, 1689. She mar- 
ried, July 12, 1662, Jeremias Van Rens- 
selaer (see Van Rensselaer II), and had: 

(IV) Anne Van Rensselaer, married 
William Nicoll, and had: 

(V) Benjamin Nicoll, married Charity 
Floyd, and had : 

(VI) Benjamin (2) Nicoll, married 
Magdalen Mary Holland, and had: 

(VII) Dr. Samuel Nicoll, married Anne 
Fargie, and had : 

(VIII) Frances Mary Nicoll married 
George Bloom Evertson, and had : 

(IX) Frances Mary Evertson, married 
William Amos Woodward, and had: 

(X) Mary Nicoll Woodward, married 
Erastus Gaylord Putnam. 

(Floyd Ancestry). 

Arms — Argent, a cross sable. 
Crest — A griffin segreant azure, holding in dex- 
ter claw a garland of laurel leaves, vert 

(I) Colonel Richard Floyd, the com- 
mon ancestor of the Floyds of Long 
Island, was a native of Wales, coming to 
America about the middle of the seven- 
teenth century, locating at Setauket in 
1656. Nothing further is known of his 
wife other than her name was Susanna, 
and that she died in January, 1706. aged 
eighty years. Richard Floyd acquired a 



considerable estate, partly by purchase 
and partly by the division of lands among 
the first settlers, he being one of the fifty- 
five original proprietors of Brookhaven. 
He is believed to have died about 1700, 
his lands in part yet being owned by de- 
scendants of the sixth generation. He 
had a son : 

(II) Colonel Richard Floyd, born May 
12, 1665, died in Connecticut, February 
28, 1728. He inherited most of his father's 
estate, and was for many years a judge of 
Suffolk county. New York, and a colonel 
of militia. He was a man of high intelli- 
gence and sterling character, influential 
and highly respected. He married, Sep- 
tember 10, 1686, Margaret Nicoll, daugh- 
ter of Colonel Matthias Nicolls (see line of 
Royal Descent XXIX), and sister of Wil- 
liam Nicoll, patentee of the Islip estate. 
Margaret Nicoll was born May 30, 1662, 
died February 1, 1718. They had seven 
children: 1. Susanna, born May 25, 1688. 
2. Margaret, May 25, 1688. 3. Charity, 
mentioned below. 4. Eunice. 5. Ruth. 
6. Richard, born December 29, 1703, died 
April 1, 1771, inherited the paternal estate, 
was a highly useful, intelligent man, and, 
like his father, a judge and a colonel. 
He married Elizabeth Hutchinson, born 
March 28, 1709, died April 16, 1778, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin Hutchinson. They had: 
Richard, Elizabeth, John, Margaret, Ben- 
jamin, Gilbert, William, Samuel, Mary 
and Anne. 7. Nicoll, born August 27, 
1705, died 1752, father of General Wil- 
liam Floyd, a signer of the Declaration of 
Independence. 

(III) Charity Floyd, born April 6, 1692, 
died June 1, 1758. She married (first) in 
1714, Benjamin Nicoll. Children: Wil- 
liam Nicoll, who inherited the manor at 
Islip, Long Island; Benjamin Nicoll (see 
Royal Descent XXXII) ; Glorianna Mar- 
garetta Nicoll, married George Maverick. 
She was buried with her mother, under 



169 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the chancel of Old Trinity Church, New 
York. Their tombstone is now at the 
right of the vestibule in the pavement. 
Samuel Nicoll's vault is near the Law- 
rence monument. 

(IV) Benjamin Nicoll, Jr., married 
Magdalen Mary Holland, and had : 

(V) Dr. Samuel Nicoll, married Anne 
Fargie, and had : 

(VI) Frances Mary Nicoll, married 
George B. Evertson, and had : 

(VII) Frances Mary Evertson, mar- 
ried William Amos Woodward, and had : 

(VIII) Mary Nicoll Woodward, mar- 
ried Erastus Gaylord Putnam. 

(Holland Ancestry). 

Arms — Argent, a chevron between three fleurs- 
de-lis, gules. 
Crest — A lion rampant, or. 
Motto — Libertas et natale solum. 



(I) Captain Henry Holland, "born Au- 
gust 28, 1661, at Ormkirk in Lancashire, 
in Old England, died in Albany, New 
York, May 6, 1736, and was buried under 
the north side of the communion table in 
St. Peter's Church, in the city of Albany, 
on Saturday, 8th of May, 1736, at a half 
an hour after four o'clock in the after- 
noon" (Ed. Holland's Bible). He was 
lieutenant in 1699 of an independent com- 
pany of Fusileers stationed at Albany, 
in the province of New York, captain 
1704; commander of garrison at Albany, 
l 723-*73 2 ; high sheriff, 1706-1710, and 
from 1720-1722 commissioner of Indian 
affairs (Calendar of Historical Manu- 
scripts in the office of Secretary of State, 
Albany, E. B. O. Callahan, part II, pp. 
268, 294, 300, 480, 805 ; New York Gene- 
alogical and Biographical Record, vol. ix, 
No. 3, July, 1878, p. 129; New York Civil 
List, 1869, pp. 41, 57). In 1732 he became 
incapacitated "by the Province of Al- 
mighty God." 

He married Jennie (Jane) Sehly, born 

170 



at Brandon, in the county of Cork, in 
Ireland, August 5, 1676, died in New 
York City, September 12, 1756, and in- 
terred in Edward Holland's vault in Trin- 
ity Churchyard, New York, and had issue : 
Mary, baptized 9 February, 1701 ; Ed- 
ward, mentioned below ; Henry, men- 
tioned below; Sehley (Zelia), baptized 5 
January, 1707, married Peter Livingston 
(records of Albany Dutch Church). 
The Sehly arms: 

Arms — Gules, a chevron between three owls 
argent, beaked and legged or. 

Crest— A demi-lion rampant ermine, ducally 
crowned or, holding a cross crosslet fitchee gold. 

(II) Edward Holland, born in Albany, 
New York, baptized in the old Dutch 
Church, 6 September, 1702. His sponsors 
were "My Lord Cornbury" (His Excel- 
lency, Edward Hyde, Lord Viscount 
Cornbury, was Governor of New York, 
and afterwards succeeded his father as 
Earl of Clarendon), and "Maria Van 
Rensselaer." He was mayor of Albany, 
J 733-4i : commissioner of Indian affairs, 
1734-42; mayor of New York, 1747-57; 
member of Colonial Council, 1748-56; 
master, Court of Chancery, 1748-50; ves- 
tryman of Trinity Church, New York, 
1 745-57- In August, 1746, when Philip 
Van Cortlandt, one of the council, died, 
Governor Clinton appointed "Edward 
Holland, Esq., a gentleman of fortune and 
character," as he states, to succeed him. 
In 1747 he owned the brigantines "Wil- 
liam/' Captain John River, and "The Two 
Friends," Captain Thomas Seymour, 
which he petitioned might be used as 
flags of truce to carry French prisoners 
to Cape Francois. 

He was married (first) June 24, 1726, 
by Mr. Molinaer, minister of the French 
church, to Madeleine Mary, daughter of 
Thomas Bayeuxand Madeleine Boudinot. 
Children: 1. Magdalen Mary, mentioned 




fWitol 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



below. 2. Jane, born September 21, 1729; 
marriage license, 31 January, 1757, with 
Lambert Moore, Esq., Deputy Secretary 
of New York ; Comptroller of Customs, 
and clerk of Trinity Church. She died 
Sunday, 14 June, 1767, aged thirty-seven, 
and was interred the next evening in the 
family vault at Trinity. (Issue not men- 
tioned). 3. Ann, baptized 15 October, 
1732, died young. 4. Elizabeth, born 
April 17, 1731 ; married Joseph Hopkins; 
no children ; she died at Coeymans, New 
York, in 1815. Edward Holland married 
(second) December 10, 1739, by the Rev. 
Mr. Charlton, Frances, the youngest child 
of Hon. William Nicoll and Anne Van 
Rensselaer. Obituary: "She was a conv 
position of merit and good sense." One 
child: Henry Holland, born 15 Decem- 
ber, 1742, died 7 October, 1774, unmar- 
ried. Edward Holland died in the city 
of New York, on Wednesday, November 
10, 1756, and was interred the next day in 
his vault in Trinity Church. His will 
was signed two days before his de- 
cease. Brother Henry Holland, Esq., of 
New York, and brother-in-law, Benjamin 
Nicoll, as executors. Proved 12 Febru- 
ary- r 759 (Lib. XXI, 209). His daughter, 

(III) Magdalen Mary Holland. Family 
Bible of Edward Holland: "June 18, 1727. 
This morning, being Saturday, about 4 
o'clock, my wife was brought to bed of 
a daughter, who was baptized the same 
day by Mr. Peters van Driezen, and had 
for her godfather, Captain Henry Hol- 
land, and for her godmother, Magdalen 
Bayeux ; was named Mary Magdalen." 
She married Benjamin Nicoll, (no date), 
and had : 

(IV) Dr. Samuel Nicoll, who married 
his second cousin, Anne Fargie. and had : 

(V) Frances Mary Nicoll, who mar- 
ried George B. Evertson, and had : 

(VI) Frances Mary Evertson, who mar- 
ried William Amos Woodward, and had : 



(VII) Mary Nicoll Woodward, who 
married Erastus Gaylord Putnam. 

(lli Henry Holland, second son of 
Captain Henry Holland, was born in Al- 
bany, New York, baptized 1 March, 1704, 
will proved 22 May, 1782 (register's 
office, New York). His sponsors were 
"Captain Matthews, Captain Shenks and 
Madam Winks." He was alderman, 1727; 
sheriff of Albany, 1739-1746; removed to 
New York ; member of Provincial Assem- 
bly from Richmond county, 1 761-1769; 
incorporator of the Society Library of 
New York, November 25, 1772; in 1765 
one of the managers on part of the prov- 
ince of New York, in the controversy 
concerning the partition line between that 
province and New Jersey. In 1770 he 
was a master in chancery for appraising 
and settling real estate, by order of the 
court. He was interested in 1756 in the 
privateer brigantine "Hawk," thirty-four 
guns, Captain John Alexander, and the 
ship "Blakeney," fifty-four guns. Captain 
John White. 

He married, 14 December, 1728, Alida, 
baptized 29 November, 1702; sponsors 
Johannes Vanhaegel and Debora Hansse, 
died 13 September, 1748, daughter of Jo- 
hannes Martense Beeckman, buried Sep- 
tember 30, 1732, patentee of the Kayer- 
derosseras patent, Saratoga county, New 
York, November 2, 1708, and his wife, 
Eve Vinhaegen, married, October 26, 
1692, buried August 28, 1746, son of Mar- 
ten and Susannah Beeckman (O'Calla- 
ghan's Manuscripts, Part II, pp. 659-65- 
756, 173, 83, 94, 805. pp. 33, 47. 57; The 
Charter and By-Laws, New York Society 
Library, 1773, p. 2), and had: 

(III) Eve Holland, born in Albany, 
New York, baptized 27 June, 1736; mar- 
riage license 24 May, 1757, with Winter 
Fargie, captain in the British army (New 
York Marriage Licenses previous to 
1784), and had three daughters: Anne, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



who married Dr. Samuel Nicoll, June I, 
1782; Elizabeth, born November 12, 1766, 
died 1792, buried in Trinity Churchyard, 
in Henry Holland's vault, married, March 
4, 1784, Dr. John Onderdonk, died June 
11, 1786; Alida, who married, as his sec- 
ond wife, Cornelius Roosevelt, and had 
Eliza Roosevelt, who married Walter 
Evertson, and had Maria Elizabeth Evert- 
son, who married Dr. John Brigham. 
Captain Fargie on one of his visits to 
England bought three emerald rings set 
with diamonds for his three daughters. 
Mrs. Onderdonk left hers to her sister, 
Mrs. Roosevelt; one was lost and the 
other was stolen. Mrs. Nicoll's ring is 
now in possession of her great-grand- 
daughter, Mrs. Putnam. 
The Fargie arms : 

Arms — Azure, a chevron surmounted by a 
crescent between two mullets argent. In base 
a beech tree or, debruising the chevron. 

Crest — A mullet or. 

Motto — Vis et amor. (Strength and Love.) 

(IV) Anne Fargie, married, June 1, 
1782, Dr. Samuel Nicoll, and had: 

(V) Frances Mary Nicoll, who mar- 
ried George B. Evertson, and had: 

(VI) Frances Mary Evertson, who 
married William Amos Woodward, and 
had: 

(VII) Mary Nicoll Woodward, who 
married Erastus Gaylord Putnam. 

(Boudinot Ancestry). 

Arms— Azure, a chevron between two mullets 
in chief and a heart or, flames proper issuing 
therefrom, in point. 

Crest — A laurel wreath with berries, all proper. 

Motto — Solideo gloria et honor. 

The old Protestant registers of bap- 
tisms, marriages and interments at Mar- 
ans are preserved in the archives of the 
Consistory of La Rochelle, France. 

(I) Jean Boudinot married Marie Suire ; 



his name appears in registry October 17, 
1669; an entry September 15, 1680, speaks 
of him and wife as deceased. Their chil- 
dren were : Jean, married Marie Brechet ; 
Pierre, married Jeanne Guis ; Elie, mar- 
ried Jeanne Baraud; Judith, married 
Pierre Vigoureux; Esther; Marie. To 
the name of each brother and of the 
brother-in-law Vigoureux, Le Sieur, is 
prefixed. 

(II) Le Sieur Elie Boudinot, son of 
Jean and Marie (Suire) Boudinot, came 
from Aunis, a suburb of the seaport of 
La Rochelle, which had been the strong- 
hold of the Huguenot faith and fighting 
for nearly seventy years, and which, 
though dismantled and spoiled of its an- 
cient honors, was still the home of many 
of their wealthiest and most influential 
families. Le Sieur Helie Boudinot (as 
he is called in these records) was a mer- 
chant of ample means and eminent stand- 
ing, an elder of the Huguenot church. 
His name occurs more than once in the 
records of judicial prosecutions against 
him for adhering to his faith. He mar- 
ried Jeanne Baraud, by whom he had 
five children, four of whom, with their 
mother, died in France. Immediately 
upon the revocation of the Edict of 
Nantes, Boudinot, with his son, Elie, Jr., 
escaped to England, where, on the 20 
of March, 1686, he obtained letters of 
denization from King James II. Elie 
Boudinot made but a brief stay in Lon- 
don, but long enough to marry there, No- 
vember 2, 1686, Susanne Papin, widow 
of Benjamin d'Harriette, who, with her 
son, Benjamin d'Harriette, had fled from 
France. She was such an ardent Prot- 
estant that to escape she had to be rolled 
down to the ship in a barrel. There were 
four children by this marriage : John, 
Benjamin, Madeleine, and Susanne. Early 
in the year 1687 Elias Boudinot, with his 
family, was residing in New York, where 



172 




^/aCrti^Urur^; 




Rayeux 




SUSAN NA ROETER S 

WIFE OF 

JUDGE N ICHOLAS EVERTSON 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he united with Mr. Pretre in organizing 
the Huguenot church, of which he be- 
came the first elder. The old church 
stood on the ground now covered by the 
Produce Exchange Building. The new 
French church "du Saint Esprit," the fifth 
in descent from the Huguenot church, has 
a commemorative tablet to Elie Boudinot, 
His daughter Madeleine married Thomas 
Bayeux. 
The Papin arms : 

Arms — Gules, five fusils or, posed bendwise. 

(III) Madeleine Boudinot, married 
Thomas Bayeux, and had : 

(IV) Madeleine Mary Bayeux, who 
married Hon. Edward Holland, and had: 

(V) Magdalen Mary Holland, who 
married Benjamin Nicoll, and had: 

(VI) Dr. Samuel Nicoll, who married 
Anne Fargie, and had : 

(VII) Frances Mary Nicoll, who mar- 
ried George B. Evertson, and had : 

(VIII) Frances Mary Evertson, who 
married William Amos Woodward, and 
had: 

(IX) Mary Nicoll Woodward, who 
married Erastus Gaylord Putnam. 

(Bayeux Ancestry). 

Arms — Per bend azure and or, in base an oak 
tree proper, on a mount vert. 
Crest — A demi-lion rampant or. 

Thomas Bayeux, a Huguenot refugee, 
merchant, was made freeman of the City 
of New York, May 10, 1705; married by 
license, dated July 14, 1703, Madeleine 
Boudinot, daughter of Elie Boudinot and 
Susanne Papin (Mad. d'Harriette; see 
Boudinot Line). They had eight chil- 
dren baptized in the French church, born 
between 1708 and 1725. Thomas Bayeux 
died 1742, leaving his house in King 
street. New York, and all his "real and 
personal estate in the Kingdom of France" 



to his only son, Thomas, who married 
Mary Lispenard. His daughter Marie 
married the Rev. Richard Charlton, and 
Anne married John Groesbeck. 

Madeleine Mary Bayeux, eldest daugh- 
ter of Thomas, married, June 24. 1726, 
Hon. Edward Holland. She was born in 
New York, July 21, 1706, died in Albany, 
New York, March 24, 1737, and was 
buried in the English Church on Satur- 
day the 26th, and had: 

Magdalen Mary Holland, married Ben- 
jamin Nicoll, Jr., and had: 

Dr. Samuel Nicoll, married Anne Far- 
gie, and had: 

Frances Mary Nicoll, married George 
B. Evertson, and had : 

Frances Mary Evertson, married Wil- 
liam Amos Woodward, and had : 

Mary Nicoll Woodward, married Eras- 
tus Gaylord Putnam. 

(Evertson Ancestry). 

Arms — Argent, on two bars wavy vert, three 
single masted boats, two in chief and one in fesse, 
all proper. 

Crest — Full rigged ship with sails furled, all 
proper, two mastheads or. 

Supporters — Two wyverns erect vert, garnished 
or and langued gules. 

(I) Evert Hendricssen, Stamvader, der 
Evertson Scheepsbevelhebber (ship cap- 
tain), gestorben (died) 1601 ; getroud 
(married) first, Lentje Leynse, and had: 

(II) Johan Evertson, de Kapitein, died 
in battle at sea, 1617; married Maayken 
Jana, who died in 1647, and had: 

(III) Johan Evertson, Knight of the 
Order of St. Michael, Lieutenant-Admiral 
Van Zeeland, born 1600, died August 5, 
1666: slain in a sea fight against the Eng- 
lish; married, 1622, Maayken Cornelis- 
sen Gorcoms, daughter of Cornelius Jan- 
sen Gorcoms, sea captain. (His younger 
brother, Cornelius Evertson de Cude, was 
slain in the same battle). He had two 



173 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sons: Cornelius Evertson de Jongste, 
lieutenant-admiral Van Zeeland in 1684, 
and Gelyn Evertson, lieutenant-admiral 
in 1707. Admiral Johan Evertson had a 
son, Cornells de Jonge, who was Vice- 
Admiral Van Zeeland in 1666, making the 
traditionary five admirals in the family, 
also had: 

(IV) Evert Evertson, born 1630, lived 
in Weesp, Holland, a residential suburb 
of Amsterdam. He went to the West 
Indies probably in the expedition of his 
cousin, Cornells Evertson de Jongste, in 
1672. He left property in the Island of 
Tobago, inherited by his great-grandson, 
Jacob. He had: 

(V) Nicholas Evertson, born Decem- 
ber 27, 1659, at two o'clock in the morn- 
ing, in Weesp, Holland. His will was 
proved October 24, 1723. He married, 
December 25, 1679, Marie van Huyge, 
born 1664. Their daughter, Willemyntje, 
was born 1686, at Monichendam, Hol- 
land. He later came to this country, and 
was captain of New York troops in an 
expedition against a French privateer in 
1704. He married (second) June 9, 1698, 
Margaret Van Baal, daughter of Jan 
Hendrickse Van Baal, and had: 

(VI) Nicholas Evertson, born May 24, 
1699, in New York City, baptized in the 



rampant gules, in base or, three martins close 
sable. 

Crest — A demi-codfish argent decollated and 
surmounted by a ducal crown or. 

(VII) Jacob Roeters Evertson (he 
dropped the middle name), born at South 
Amboy, New Jersey, January 3, 1734, 
died May 1, 1807; son of Nicholas and 
Susanna (Roeters) Evertson. He mar- 
ried, October 29, 1761, Margaret, daugh- 
ter of George Bloom, born August 29, 
1744, died November 18, 1807. 

The Bloom arms: 

Arms — Azure, a dexter hand couped at the 
wrist argent. 

Crest — A cubit arm erect, habited azure, cuff 
argent, holding in the hand proper some slips of 
broom, stalked vert, blossomed or. 

Jacob Roeters Evertson moved to 
Amenia, New York, in 1762, where he 
came into possession by inheritance of 
about seventeen hundred acres of land 
"laying in the Nine Partners in Dutchess 
County, New York." His uncle, John 
Evertson, was one of the Nine Partners, 
recorded John Artsen. In 1763 Jacob 
built a large brick house in a superior 
manner, which is well preserved. His 
daughter Margaret was the wife of Gov- 
ernor John Cotton Smith, of Connecticut. 



Dutch Church, New York, died at South The portraits of Jacob Evertson and his 



Amboy, New Jersey, March 17, 1783. He 
acquired a fine property, consisting of 
valuable clay banks on Raritan Bay, 
where he is buried. He was judge of 
Common Pleas, and Quarter Sessions of 
the Peace, Middlesex county, New Jer- 
sey, 1746, and justice of the peace of Mon- 
mouth county, New Jersey, 1747. He mar- 
ried Susanna, daughter of Jacob Roeters. 
The Roeters arms : 

Arms — Per pale. Dexter side, azure, three 
codfish argent decollated, and each surmounted 
with a crown or, one in chief and two in base. 
Sinister side, per fess, in chief argent a lion 



wife, preserved in the mansion at Sharon, 
Connecticut, show them to have been of 
fine personal appearance. Jacob Evert- 
son moved about 1795 to Pleasant Valley, 
Dutchess county, New York, where he 
died, and was buried in the graveyard of 
the Presbyterian church. He was elected 
a deputy from Dutchess county to the 
second Provincial Congress of New York, 
1775-1776, and had: 

(VIII) George Bloom Evertson, born 
February 20, 1773, near Amenia, Dutch- 
ess county, New York, died at Ithaca, 
Tompkins county, New York, August 
174 




BkOOM 




Madame Evertson 

(MARGARET BLOOM) 




Mr. Jacob Evertson 




\/Co. &• (^rfrZ/^tr^v^ 




Frances Mary' NicoluEvertson 



ENCYCLOPEDIA < )I' IM< >GR \I'HY 



12, 1829, where he is buried. He mar- 
ried (first) Cornelia, daughter of Dr. 
Peter Tappen, born March II, 1774, died 
January 29, 1808. Children : 1. John, died 
young. 2. Elizabeth, died unmarried. 3. 
Peter Tappen, died young. 4. John Roe- 
ters, married, and left descendants ; one 
son, Evert, died in Honduras. 5. Cor- 
nelia, married Dr. Benjamin S. Halsey, 
and had : George Evertson, Clinton, 

Helen Tappen (married Granger) ; 

Tappen, and William Davies. George 
Bloom Evertson married (secondly) 
Frances Mary Nicoll, born December 17, 
1785, died March 24, 1861, daughter of Dr. 
Samuel Nicoll. Children: 1. Ann Nicoll, 
died young. 2. Frances Mary, married 
William A. Woodward (see Woodward). 
3. Margaret Maria Bloom, married. 1830, 
Hart G. Lee (second. Rev. Mr. Ken- 
nedy), and had: James Wright Lee, 
married Rhoda Carlton ; and Georgiana 
Frances, married James M. Douglass. 4. 
Adelaide Elizabeth, married Samuel 
Moore McKay, and had: Robert Riddell, 
married Eliza Hun; Adelaide Elizabeth, 
married William L. Hubbard ; Margaret 
Greenwood, married Hermanus Barkulo 
Hubbard; Mary Woodward, married 
Franklin Quinby. 5. Catherine Lewis, 
married John D. Dix, and had (now liv- 
ing) : George Woodward Dix and Lena 
Augusta. 6-7. Walter Davies and Eliza 
Ann, twins ; she died unmarried ; he mar- 
ried Ann Mary Fathernee, and had : 
Alice Nicoll, David Barrow, George 
James (married Susan Davis), Mary 
Eliza, Walter Lee, Annie Elizabeth, and 
Adelaide McKay. 

George Bloom Evertson had sixteen 
children ; the last four of second marriage 
died in infancy. 



Arms — Azure, a lion or, holding in paws a 
bezant. 
Crest— A lion salient, or. 



Wilhelmus Teller, the first settler, mer- 
chant, of Xew York, was born in 1620. 
In a deposition made July 6, 1698, he said 
that he arrived in this province in the 
year 1639; was sent to Fort Orange by 
Governor Kieft ; served there as corporal, 
and was then advanced to be wachtmaes- 
ter of the fort ; that he had continued his 
residence at Albany from 1639 till 1692, 
with some small intermissions, and one 
short voyage to Holland. He was a 
trader for about fifty years in Albany, 
from whence he removed to New York 
in 1692, and continued in business there 
till his death in 1701. In his will made 
March 19, 1698, proved 1701, he spoke of 
but six of his nine children then living, 
viz.: Andries, Helena, Elizabeth, Wil- 
lem, Johannes, and Jannetie ; and though 
a prosperous merchant, the inventory of 
his property amounted only to £910 10s 
2d. There is reason to believe, however, 
that he had distributed most of his estate 
among his children before his death. He 
was one of the early proprietors of Sche- 
nectady in 1662, though he never resided 
there permanently, and one of the five 
patentees mentioned in the first patent of 
the town in 1684. 

His first wife, Margaret Donckesen, 
died before 1664, in which year he made 
a marriage contract with Maria Verlett, 
widow of Paulus Schrick. His children 
were: 1. Andries, born 1642. 2. Helena, 
born 1645, mentioned below. 3. Maria, 
born 1648. 4. Elizabeth, born 1652. 5. 
Jacob, born 1655. 6. Willem, born 1657. 
7. Johannes, born 1659. The following 
were his children by his second wife : 
Caspar and Jannetie. Eight of his chil- 
dren are known to have married and had 
families. Helena Teller, born 1645, mar- 
ried (first) Cornelis, son of Rev. Ever- 
ardus and Anneke (Janse) Bogardus ; 
married (second) Jan Hendrickse Van 
Baal, free trader in Beverwyck (Albany), 



<75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1661-78; she became a communicant of 
the Dutch church in New York, August 
29, 1683, and was then the widow of Van 
Baal. She married there, September 26, 
1683, Francis Rombout, mayor of New 
York in 1679; their daughter, Kathryn, 
married Roger Brett. He died in 1691. His 
widow Helena made her will November 
20, 1706, proved March 4, 1707, in which 
she mentioned her eldest son, Cornelis 
Bogardus ; her youngest daughter Cath- 
erine, wife of Isaac De Peyster; Mar- 
garet, wife of Nicholas Evertson ; Helena, 
wife of Dominie Gualtherus DuBois ; 
their daughter Margaret married Cap- 
tain Alexander McLean ; Rachel, wife 
of Petrus Bayard; and Hannah, non com- 
pos mentis. Margaret VanBaal married 
Nicholas Evertson, and had Nicholas 
Evertson (2d), who married Susanna 
Roeters ; they had Jacob Evertson, who 
married Margaret Bloom ; they had 
George Bloom Evertson, who married 
Frances Mary Nicoll ; they had Frances 
Mary Evertson, who married William A. 
Woodward ; they had Mary Nicoll Wood- 
ward, who married Erastus G. Putnam. 



Arms — Azure, two swords hilted or, placed in 
saltire. 

Jan Hendrickse Van Baal was born in 
1636, in Holland, and died in Albany, 
New York, in 1682. He was a free trader 
in Beverwyck (Albany), 1661-1678. Be- 
sides houses and land in the village, he 
had a patent for a large tract of land on 
the Norman Kill, which was sold to Omy 
La Grange and Johannes Syronse Veeder 
for £250. He was magistrate of Fort 
Orange, and Indian commissioner in 
1664, 1666, 1670, 1672; and cornet in troop 
of Captain Jeremias Van Rensselaer. He 
signed the word "Commissaris" after his 
name, which means judge of the Court of 



Admiralty. His wife was Helena Teller, 
widow of the Rev. Cornelis Bogardus. 
They had an only son, Hendrick, who 
died before 1716. He devised to his sis- 
ters a large property, the Minisink Pat- 
ent, lying in Ulster and Sullivan counties, 
New York (a part of this tract descended 
to George Bloom Evertson). Their 
daughters were: Hannah, non compos 
mentis; Maria, married Isaac de Peyster, 
a merchant of New York, December 27, 
1687; Margaret, married Captain Nicho- 
las Evertson, a mariner of New York, 
marriage license dated December 13, 
1697; Rachel, married (first) Henry 
Wileman of New York, (second) Petrus 
Bayard; Helena, married, January 1, 
1700, Dominie Gualterius (Walter) Du 
Bois, pastor of the Dutch Church, New 
York, from 1699 to 1751, ancestor of John 
Wylie Barrow, who married Harriet 
Bowen Woodward, and had issue: Wil- 
liam Woodward, married Florence Daw- 
son ; Margaret Du Bois ; Anna Evertson ; 
Archibald Campbell, married Elizabeth 
Fraser; Mabel Rosalie, married Charles 
Noel Edge. 

Margaret Van Baal, married Captain 
Nicholas Evertson, and had : 

Hon. Nicholas Evertson, married Sus- 
anna Roeters, and had : 

Jacob Evertson, married Margaret 
Bloom, and had: 

George B. Evertson, married Frances 
Mary Nicoll, and had : 

Frances Mary Evertson, married Wil- 
liam Amos Woodward, and had: 

Mary Nicoll Woodward, married Eras- 
tus Gaylord Putnam. 

(Beeckman Ancestry). 

Arms — Azure, a running brook in bend, wavy 
argent, between two roses or. 
Crest — Two wings sable, addorsed. 
Motto — Mens conscia recti. 



I 7 6 




Jeeckmau 



Wf 




^Jinljaegni 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Marten Beeckman, born about 1660, 
was buried September 30, 1732. He was 
one of the patentees of the Kayaderos- 
seras, or Queensboro Patent, located in 
Saratoga county, New York, patent dated 
November 2, 1708. By his first wife, 
Machtel Schermerhorn, he had five chil- 
dren. He married (second) October 26, 
1692, Eve Vinhaegen. She was buried 
August 28, 1746. 

The Vinhaegen arms : 

Arms — Azure, a bend argent, in chief a leg 
armoured and spurred of the second, in base a 
fox passant or, on a mount (terrace) vert. 

Crest— The fox of the shield. 

Motto — Scrvat et arcet. 

Marten Beeckman had by his wife, Eve 
Vinhaegen, ten children, the sixth being: 

Alida Beeckman, baptized November 
29, 1702, died September 13, 1748. Her 
baptismal sponsors were Johannes Vin- 
haegel and Debora Hansse. She married, 
in 1728, Henry Holland (see Holland) 
and had : 

Eve Holland, married Captain Winter 
Fargie, and had : 

Anne Fargie, married Dr. Samuel 
Nicoll, and had : 

Frances Mary Nicoll, married George 
B. Evertson, and had: 

Frances Mary Evertson, married W. A. 
Woodward, and had : 

Mary Nicoll Woodward, married E. G. 
Putnam. 

(Woodward Ancestry). 

Arms — Argent, a saltire azure between four 
woodpeckers proper. 

Crest — A demi-lion rampant sable holding be- 
tween the paws a pheon or. 

Motto — Gardes bien. 

The surname Woodward has under- 
gone several changes since the Domesday 
Survey, when it was written "Wadard." 
The origin has been quite clearly estab- 



lished as from "Wood" and "Ward." An- 
ciently "le Wodeward" was the title of 
an officer in charge of wood and wards, 
his very name denoting his calling. Many 
and romantic are the tales of these "le 
Wodewards," who by law were com- 
manded to carry no bow or arrows, but 
only a hatchet, for "the Woodward" 
ought to appear at every justice seat, and 
when he is called he must present his 
hatchet to the Lord Chief Justice in Eyre. 
The visitation disclosed that both John 
and Thomas Woodward were descended 
from John le Wodeward, Ranger of Ar- 
den Forest early in the fifteenth century, 
whose grandson, John Wodeward, of 
Solihull, married Petronella de Clinton, 
daughter and co-heiress of Thomas de 
Clinton of Baddesley, and a scion of the 
younger line of the great and noble fam- 
ily of Clinton. 

(I) Nathaniel Woodward, a civil engi- 
neer, probably came from Boston, Eng- 
land, to Boston, Massachusetts. He was 
mentioned in a record in Boston, No- 
vember, 1635. His wife's name was Mar- 
garet, and they had children : John ; Rob- 
ert, died November 21, 1653; and Pru- 
dence ; Thomas. 

(II) Thomas Woodward, of Muddy 
River, Brookline, settled on land con- 
veyed to his father, Nathaniel, by the 
town of Boston. He had two sons, and 
six daughters — the sons: Thomas, born 
January 14, 1659, no issue; and Robert. 

(III) Robert Woodward, born Septem- 
ber 10, 1673. The only record of him is 
the item that in 1729 the town of Brook- 
line abated his taxes. 

(IV) Thomas Woodward, born about 
1700, died in 1778, his will probated at 
Stonington, Connecticut, July 22 of that 
year. He leaves property in his will to 
"his beloved son Park." He joined the 
church April 17, 1726, his wife Dorothy, 
February 27, 1732. He owned land and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lived in the southern part of Preston, also 
owned land in Stonington, where he is 
believed to have died. He was one of the 
six organizers of the Separatist Church 
in Preston, March 17, 1745, and the church 
was built not far from his home. He 
married at Preston, May 18, 1725, Doro- 
thy Park, daughter of Robert Park; had 
among others a son: 

(V) Park Woodward, born March 21, 
1726, baptized at the First Church, Pres- 
ton, July 31, 1726. The following narra- 
tive is from the pen of William A. Wood- 
ward: 

Park Woodward, my grandfather, resided in 
Stonington, now North Stonington, in 1759. In 
that year, April 9, he purchased land, 47J4 acres, 
from Ebenezer Freeman, near the Preston town 
line, for £400, and May 28th a tract adjoining 
from John Pendleton for £72. At one time he 
was at Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, about the 
time of the Revolution. While there he con- 
tracted to build a bridge. The contract was in 
the hands of Mrs. Matilda Smith, his grand- 
daughter, who said that he could not collect the 
pay for it. During the war (Revolution) he was 
purchasing supplies of cattle and horses for the 
army, and was paid in Continental money, much 
of which became worthless on his hands. After 
that he was in Stonington again, and in 1789 
took an active part in advocating the adoption 
of the constitution of the United States, making 
addresses to the people. At one time he joined 
an emigrating party to Nova Scotia, but did not 
remain long. In his later days he was a Univer- 
salis! preacher and exhorter, and wrote a book: 
"The Triumph of Faith," which he published in 
the early part of this century. This was printed 
by Ebenezer Cady (Cady & Eels), of New Lon- 
don. As far as I can learn, he was not successful 
in middle and later life; he was very active and 
intelligent, a brilliant speaker and conversation- 
alist, and fond of an argument on almost any 
subject. In his old age he was provided for by 
my father, upon a farm at Riverhead, in the town 
of Lyme, where he died on 18th November, 1808, 
in the eighty-third year of his age. He was 
buried in the second burying ground in New 
London. The funeral was from my father's 
house in John (opposite to Potter) street. This 
is a brick house, built by my uncle, John Wood- 



ward, about 1800, the house in which I was born 
in 1801. My uncle occupied this house until his 
death, in 1805, and my father until it was sold to 
Captain John Wood in 1810. Captain Wood was 
a shipmaster in the employ of John and Amos 
Woodward, who had their stores and store- 
houses on the other end of the same lot, front- 
ing on John and Beach streets. I remember to 
have seen his signature about sixty-five years 
ago. He was twice married; by the first mar- 
riage he had five sons and two daughters; by the 
second, one daughter. At his second marriage, 
his children all left his house and took my father, 
then an infant under two years, who went with 
his oldest sister to Vermont with her husband, 
John Potter. When the old gentleman came 
home with his new wife, there was no one to 
greet them. They were reconciled, however, and 
all the children became much attached to their 
stepmother, whom they loved and honored to the 
day of her death. 

His first wife and two sons died of smallpox, 
about the year 1771. One of the sons went to 
New York and took the disease. They were all 
buried by order of the board of health on Powder 
Island, near Fort Trumbull. The funeral pro- 
cession was in boats, which were kept at a dis- 
tance while one only, with the body, came to 
land. This was before vaccination was practiced. 
The other members of the family were sent to 
the hospital and inoculated with smallpox, and 
all recovered. Park Woodward's children were: 

Asa, who lived and died at Riverhead, on a 
farm owned by my father; he was nearly ninety 
years of age. He had many children, and some 
of his descendants may now be found in Michi- 
gan. His daughter. Phebe, married Ephraim R. 
Otis, merchant of New London, and afterwards 
a cotton manufacturer at Greenville, where they 
both died. 

My uncle John was born 19th July, 1751; he 
was married to Deborah Bailey, daughter of 
Nathan Bailey, of New London, in 1776. He 
died 7th January, 1805, aged fifty-three. She died 
November 20, 1822, aged seventy. They had no 
children. 

Seth and Enoch died of smallpox, as before 
stated, both young men, unmarried. 

Amos (my father), was born nth January, 
1769, and died 2d November, 1814, aged forty- 
six. He was married to Elizabeth Bailey, daugh- 
ter of Nathan Bailey and sister of Deborah 
Woodward, on 26th February, 1792. She was 
born 2d December, 1765, and died at Ithaca, 
New York, where she is buried, February II, 
1851, aged eighty-six. They had eight children. 

Park Woodward had two daughters by his 
first wife, Charity and Wealthy, and one, Lucy, 



178 




Cj^€t^^^f ^ik 'fo^tU^tl^S^? 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



by second wife. Charity, the eldest child, was 
married to John Potter, of New London, and 
they removed to Pawlet, Vermont, and settled 
on a farm. She took with her my father, then an 
infant. They have left numerous descendants. 
Wealthy married Mr. floldcn, by whom she had 
one son, Asa Holden. At the close of the Revo- 
lution she married Simeon Fuller, who had 
served under Baron Steuben, by whom he was 
induced to seek a settlement in Steuben, Oneida 
county, New York, where he took up and culti- 
vated a large farm which still belongs to the 
family. They had five children. Simeon, of 
Cuyahoga Falls. Ohio; John, of Alexandria Bay, 
New York; Russell, who remained and died on 
the homestead; Catherine, who married John 
Pierce; Mary, the daughter of Russell, married 
Henry Stanton, of Trenton Falls. 

Asa Holden was a respectable farmer in Rem- 
sen. Afterwards he became a Mormon fanatic 
and removed to Salt Lake City. 

Lucy, youngest daughter of Park Woodward, 
was married to Oliver Coats (Coates), who was 
a successful farmer; during the war with Eng- 
land he engaged in the grocery business as Otis 
& Coats, in New London. Had son, Giles K. 
Coats. 

Amos and Elizabeth Woodward had eight chil- 
dren: John, was born 8th February, 1793, and 
was drowned from on board the ship "Manlius," 
Captain Levi Joy, on his passage from London 
to New York, 1st October, 1809, in the seven- 
teenth year of his age. 

Henry, the second son, was born 14th Febru- 
ary, 1795; was married to Mary Wheeler, of 
Trenton, Oneida county, New York, about 1833, 
and died 4th September, 1846, in his fifty-second 
year. They had four children: John, Catherine, 
Frances Mary and Henry. The latter died 
young. One of the girls is married, and lives in 
Oneida county, New York. 

Eliza Terry was born 3rd March, 1797; mar- 
ried Joshua S. Lee, son of Doctor Samuel Lee 
of Windham, Connecticut, on 13th June, 1823, at 
New London. They removed to Ithaca, Xew 
York, where-J. S. Lee was settled in the drug 
business (firm of Lee & Raxter). Eliza T. Lee 
died at Ithaca of cholera on 3d July, 1854, having 
left her home in New York to visit her brother 
Richard, and was attacked on the route and died 
in the evening. Her daughter, Sarah Lee, mar- 
ried Henry King. Their son, Henry Churchill 
King, is President of Oberlin College, Ohio. 

Edward was born 24th January, 1799. He mar- 
ried Mary Hollister in Trenton, Oneida county, 



New York, on 6th May, 1827. His wife died at 
Wyocena, Wisconsin, in 187 — . They had four 

children: Elizabeth, married to Van 

Schaik; Amos, married and has children; Em- 

eline, married to Dowd, both deceased, 

leaving one boy, who was at his grandfather's 
house, near Wyocena, a few years since; and 
Edward, unmarried. 

William Amos Woodward (the writer of this) 
was born 21st March, 1801, and resided in New- 
London until 1822, when he went to New York, 
where he remained until October, 1824, then he 
left the city for South Carolina by order of 
Doctor Stearnes, his physician, who considered 
him in consumption. He remained there and in 
Southwestern States, returning to New York in 
[826 with restored health, then settled in Ithaca, 
New York. In 1841 he returned to New York, 
where he engaged in business for fifteen years, 
and in 1856 removed to Keewaydin, Orange 
county. New York. He was married in Ithaca, 
on 4th December, 1S28, to Frances Mary Evert- 
son (born 26 April, 181 1), daughter of George 
B. Evertson, formerly of Poughkeepsie, New 
York. 

This couple have lived together in love and 
harmony for nearly fifty years. 

-Mrs. Mary Nicoll Putnam supplements 
the foregoing as follows ; 

William A. Woodward died September 19, 
1883; his wife died March 15, 1899. Their chil- 
dren: 

I. George Everton Woodward, born Septem- 
ber 26, 1829, died January 26, 1905; married 
E. B. Deodata Mortimer, October 31, 1854. Chil- 
dren: (1) Elizabeth Bailey, died young. (2) 
George Mortimer, died young. (3) Ethel De- 
odata, married Professor Mortimer Lamson 
Earle, Columbia College, New York. (4) Adele 
Mortimer. (5) Benjamin Duryea, married (first) 
Gladys V. B. Piver, (secondly) Evelyn Shaw. 

(6) Olive Evertson, married Milan H. Hulbert. 

(7) Francois Reginald. II. Francis William 
Woodward, born December 19, 1830, died Janu- 
ary 13, ioo8; married, October I, 1863, Anne Jay 
Delaplaine, and had: Mary Delaplaine (married 
Dr. Charles G. Strong, both deceased); Harriet 
Barrow (married Caleb Forbes Davis). III. 
Mary Nicoll Woodward, married Erastus Gay- 
lord Putnam, and had: (1) Mary Evertson, died 
at eight months: (2-3) Rosalie Gaylord and 
Harry Barrow (twins), lived two days; (4) 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



William Hamilton, lived two days. IV. Harriet 
Bowen Woodward, born September 3, 1839, died 
November 28, 1913; married John Wylie Bar- 
row, April 27, 1858, and had: (1) William Wood- 
ward, married Florence Dawson. (2) Harriet 
Woodward, died young. (.3) Frances Mary, died 
young. (4) Margaret Du Bois. (5) Mary Gay- 
lord, died young. (6) Anna Evertson. (7) 
Archibald Campbell, married Elizabeth Fraser. 
(8) Mabel Rosali, married Charles Noel Edge; 
children: Peter, Margaret DuBois. 

Mr. William Amos Woodward's narra- 
tive continues: 

Emmeline, daughter of Amos and Elizabeth 
Woodward, was born 4th July, 1803; she was 
married to Isaac Carpenter, at Ithaca, on 22nd 
January, 1829. Mr. Carpenter died at Ithaca 
about 1850, and was buried there. They had sev- 
eral children, two of whom are still living. 

Richard Giles Bailey was born 21st Septem- 
ber, 1805; he was married at Trenton, Oneida 

county, New York, to Hannah , about 

1830. He died 3rd January, 1872, aged sixty-six. 
No children. 

John (No. 2), sixth son of Amos and Elizabeth 
Woodward, was born 6th October, 1809, being 
named after his eldest brother, who was lost 
at sea on the first of the same month and year. 
In 1837, then unmarried, he went as an adven- 
turer to Texas, then a dependency of Mexico, 
and very soon after no tidings were had from 
him. It has been stated that he was one of the 
famous Santa Fe expedition. Nothing has been 
since heard of his fate or welfare. 

My father, when quite a lad, was brought from 
his eldest sister's house in Vermont and cared 
for by his brother John, then a merchant in New 
London, taken into his family, sent to school, 
and before the close of the Revolutionary War 
was admitted a clerk in the store, and when 
nearly of age was a partner, under the name of 
John & Amos Woodward, who kept a general 
store and engaged in shipping to Europe and the 
West Indies. They also had a shipyard on the 
point of Winthrop's Neck, and there built many 
vessels under the supervision of Amos Sheffield, 
shipwright, and employed many people, ship- 
builders, riggers, sailmakers, shipjoiners, etc. I 
recollect the names of two of these vessels were 
the ship "Eliza" and sloop "Emmeline," after 
my two sisters, and another of them was called 
the "Abeona." Under the Berlin and Milan de- 
crees, some of their vessels were detained, but 



by whom, or under what circumstances, I cannot 
say. About the time of the Embargo, say 1808, 
one of the my father's vessels was boarded at 
sea by a "press gang crew" from a British man- 
of-war, under pretence of searching for British 
subjects, and a young fellow named Ebenezer 
Dupignac, seized and impressed as a French 
subject. He was born in New London, of 
French parents who had fled from Santo Do- 
mingo during the insurrection there and settled 
in New London. Representations of this out- 
rage were made to our government at Wash- 
ington, and it may be said that this was one 
cause of the war with England in 1812-15. 

My Uncle John was a successful merchant; he 
had no children except my father, his youngest 
brother and child by adoption. John was 
eighteen years the eldest. At his death he made 
ample provision for his widow, and left the re- 
mainder of his property to my father. When the 
widow died she left her property to myself and 
brothers and sisters. My uncle John and my 
father married sisters. The families always lived 
amicably together. 

In 1798 the yellow fever committed great 
ravages in New London, continuing through 
August, September and October; the heat of 
the weather was oppressive; all who could do so, 
fled from the city. A committee was appointed 
to see that the sick had proper care and atten- 
tion, that the indigent were relieved and the dead 
properly buried. In about eight weeks 350 were 
attacked and 81 died. "The health committee 
performed their duties in the most satisfactory 
and noble manner— -vigilant, cheerful, assiduous, 
unwearied and impartial;" says the historian, 
"they executed their difficult and hazardous office 
until their services were no longer needed." 
Their names will be found honorably recorded in 
the following town vote: "In town meeting Feb- 
ruary 4th, 1799. Noted that this town entertains 
a very high sense of the fidelity, benevolence and 
unwearied exertion of Messrs. John Woodward, 
James Baxter and Ebenezer Holt, forming the 
committee of health during the late epidemic in 
this town." 

In 1809 my father withdrew from business as a 
merchant, and accepted the appointment of 
deputy collector of New London, under General 
Jedediah Hutington, collector, who was an aide 
to and received his commission from General 
Washington, which office he held until his death 
in 1S14; during this period he performed the 
whole duties of the office, and at his decease 
General Huntington resigned his office, saying 
180 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



that he could never find another man to fill his 
place. 

It has been said that the Woodwards were 
distinguished from early times as good writers. 
It may be worth while for some of the family to 
verify this by collecting their autographs 

\Y A. Woodward. 

Keewaydin, August I, 1878. 

(VI) Amos Woodward, born 1769, 
died 1814, was Deputy Collector of the 
Port of New London, 1809-1811. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Bailey (see Bailey Line), 
daughter of Nathan and Elizabeth Bailey. 
They had a son : 

(VI I) William Amos Woodward, born 
in New London, 1801, died 1883, at Kee- 
waydin, Orange county, New York, and 
buried in Woodlawn Cemetery, New 
Windsor, New York ; married Frances 
Mary Evertson (see line of Royal Descent 
XXXIV and XXXV, and Evertson VII). 
and had a daughter: 

(VIII) Mary Nicoll Woodward, mar- 
ried Erastus Gaylord Putnam (see Put- 
nam XXXIV). 

(Bailey Line).* 

Arms— Argent, a bezant on a fess between 
three martlets gules. 

Crest— A demi-lady, habited gules, holding in 
her dexter hand a tower, and in her sinister a 
branch of laurel proper. 

Thomas Baylie. Bayley, now written 
Bailey, was one of the early settlers at 
New London in Connecticut ; he came 
there in 165 1. lie is named in the origi- 
nal grant or patent of New London as 
one of the proprietors of the town. In 
August, 1 65 1, Bayley 's lot of three acres 
south of Thomas Doxey's lot extended 
nearly to State street, on the west side of 
Main street, was granted for a house lot. 
July 5, 1652, "Granted to Thomas Bayley 
two parcels of marsh land in New Lon- 
don." November 28, 1652, "Granted to 

•By W. A. Woodward. 



Thomas Bayley sixty acres on the east 
side of the great river, by consent of Mr. 
Winthrop." February 6, 1653, "Granted 
a Wood Lot in Division No. 1 to Thomas 
Baylie." January 30, 1655, "Granted to 
Thomas Bayley the land of Goodman 
Bartlett of E. side of the great river as 
far as they have power to grant the 
same." 

January 10, 1655-56, Thomas Bayley 
was married In Lydia Redfield (Redfin), 
daughter of William Redfield of New Lon- 
don (see Redfyne line). They had seven 
children: Mary, born February 14, 1656- 
57, married Andrew Davis, and after his 
death was the second wife of Major Ed- 
ward Palmes, whose first wife was Lucy 
Winthrop, daughter of Governor Win- 
throp of Connecticut: Thomas, born 
March 5, 1658-59; John, born April, 1661 ; 
William, born April 17, 1664jjam.es, born 
September 26, 1666; Joseph and Lydia. 
Thomas was a soldier and killed at the 
battle of Bloody Brook with the Indians 
in 1675. Lydia, his widow, married, in 
1676, William Thorne, from Dorsetshire, 
England, who lived in Groton. They had 
sons, Alexander Thorne and William. 

John Bayley, the second son of Thomas 
and Lydia, was our ancestor. John's wife 
was named Elizabeth, but we have nc 
record of her marriage. As man and wife 
they executed many deeds of land in 1690, 
1709. 1722, 1723. 1724, 1726. In the latter 
year, John conveys absolutely to his two 
sons, John and Joseph, of the town of 
Groton, county of New London, colony of 
Connecticut, a certain parcel of land, 
"wherein I reserved to myself and my now 
wife during our natural lives three loads 
of hay a year, and yearly likewise the 
privilege of cutting what wood I should 
think convenient, as may appear by deed 
recorded 29th January, 1722-23, and now 
for a reasonable consideration have quit 
claim," etc. It is to be presumed that the 
181 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wife Elizabeth was dead, and that he then 
had another wife. In 1728 his sons John 
and Joseph divided by deed the land of 
their late father. 

This son John, it appears by records, 
had a wife Elizabeth. John was born in 
1702. In 1722 his father conveyed to his 
dutiful sons, John and Joseph, the land 
above mentioned. John 2nd executed in 
1750-51 a deed of gift to his son Nathan 
(my grandfather, who died December 7, 
1801, the year that I was born) a parcel 
of land in said town of Groton, in con- 
sideration of the "love and good will and 
affection which I have and bear to my 
dutiful son. the said Nathan Baley," etc. 

Nathan Bailey, son of John and Eliza- 
beth Bayley (2d John), was born May 
31, 1724. He was married to Elizabeth 
Terry (see Terry) of Lebanon. Connec- 
ticut, born September 27, 1729. He died 
December 7, 1801, his wife died October 
16, 1804, both at New London. They 
were married on 31st May, 1750. Their 
children were: 

Abigail, born March 17, 1751. died at Portland, 
Maine, aged about ninety-three. Abigail was 
married to Captain Ebenezer Douglass, who died, 
and is buried in the family plot in New London. 
She removed with her children (one of whom. 
Francis, was the editor of the "Eastern Argus"') 
to Portland, Maine, and is buried there. Nathan 
Douglass was a Presbyterian minister, settled at 
Alfred, State of Maine. His wife was Betsey 
Benham, of New London, descendant of Nathan. 
at New Haven, Connecticut. One son. John 
Woodward Douglass, lived many years in Xew 
York, and died there, leaving descendants by 
name of Albro, well known as grocers in the 
Bowery. One daughter, Betsey, married Mr. 
Howe; another. Julia, married Mr. Hyde; a 
third married Ebenezer Beebe. Lucy died single. 
Ann was an old girl, but I heard that she was 
married to some person in Portland. 

Deborah, second daughter of Nathan and Eliza- 
beth Bailey, was born February 2 1753, and died 
November 20. 1822. She married John Wood- 
ward (my uncle) in New London, in 1776. They 
had no children. 

Nathan Bailey, Jr., was born October 11, 1755, 



and died November 15, 1799. He was married 
and had two sons, John Woodward and Nathan, 
both of whom are dead for many years. 

Ephraim Terry Bailey was born December 18. 
'757, and died January, 1781, unmarried. 

Frederick was born March 1, 1760, died June. 
1 761 

Esther, born March 16, 1762; she is buried at 
Xew London with her husband, Captain Harris. 
I have no further dates. They both have grave- 
stones. She was the grandmother of Joseph C. 
Douglass of New London, son of Henry and 
Harriet Douglass. 

Elizabeth, born December 2, 1765, died at 
Ithaca, New York, February 11, 1851. She was 
my mother; was married to Amos Woodward, 
February 26, 1792; he died 2d November, 1814, 
was born January 11, 1769. Their eight children 
were: For particulars, refer to the Woodward 
list. 

Mary, fifth daughter of Nathan and Elizabeth 
Bailey, was born December 8, 1767, and died at 
my father's house, September 12, 1805, unmar- 
ried. 

John, twin brother to Mary, was born Decem- 
ber 8, 1767, and died January 5, 1768, aged about 
one month. 

Giles, the tenth child, was born February 16. 
1770, and died September 1, 1796, unmarried. 

After the death of Thomas Bayley, in 
1675, tne property was divided among the 
children. "June 25. 1699, Thomas Bay- 
ley. John, William, James, Joseph and 
Lydia, heirs of Thomas Bayley, deceased, 
by order of court, have lands divided 
among them, as follows, left by their 
father : 

Thomas twenty-five acres ; John twenty acres ; 
William twenty acres ; James. Joseph and Lydia 
fifty acres, being part of that sixty acres given 
to their father, Thomas, by the Towne of New 
London. Andrew Davis has a parcel with his 
wife Mary, daughter of Thomas Bayley, adjoin- 
ing William Thome and his brothers. April 3. 
1728, deed between John Baley and Joseph Baley. 
whereas the said John Baley and Joseph Baley. 
by the death of their honored father, Mr. John 
Baley. late of Groton, became rightfully seized of 
a certain farm and buildings thereon, which their 
said father aforesaid lived on at the time of his 
death, and they being a mind that Brother love 
still continue and to prevent controversies which 
?2 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



hereafter may arise, have concluded the lines as 
ran and are hereafter mentioned and expressed 
shall be the dividend lines between them of the 
farm aforesaid, and their heirs and assigns for- 
ever. Beginning, etc., etc. 

1709. John Baley and his wife Elizabeth deed 
to John Baley, carpenter, being wood lot in first 
division, New London. Messrs. Bill, Whipple & 
Lester, "a committee to let out the common 
have laid out February 19, 1724-5. to John Baley 
and Joseph Baley, Jr., three wood lots." 

Alexander Thorne conveys to his three loving 
cousins, John, Baley James Baley and Joseph 
Baley, Jr.. land "in consideration that they have 
obliged themselves, their heirs, etc., to well and 
comfortably maintain the said Alexander during 
my natural life." 

December 7, 1742, John Baley and Joseph Baley 
and Obadiah Phillips have lovingly agreed and 
make a settlement of their adjoining lands in 
said Groton, May 12, 1753, John Still Winthrop 
conveys to Nathan Baley of Groton, a small piece 
of land joining the river for £95, in good bills 
of credit of the old tenor. 

May 16, 1757, John Strong deeds to Nathan 
Baley lands in Groton for £120 10s. 

John Bailey, brother of Nathan Bailey, 
born in 1718, died June 9, 1817, in the 
99th year of his age. He was the oldest 
son of John (2nd), and continued in pos- 
session of the farm and homestead at 
Baileytown, as it was called. At his death 
his eldest son, Asher, inherited this home- 
stead, and during his lifetime the prop- 
erty was sold. Asher had two sons, Joel 
and Giles. Joel emigrated to the west 
(Illinois?), where he was successful and 
distinguished when I last heard of him, 
thirty or forty years since. He induced 
his father and family to go west. Giles 
remained at New London, and was town 
clerk twenty years ago. The name of 
Bailey was very numerous in Groton and 
New London, and many of their descend- 
ants still live there. They intermarried 
with almost every family in Groton. We 
find Latham Bailey. Bailey Latham, 
Bailey Lester. Lester Bailey, Bailey 
Avery, Avery Bailey, among the later 
generations. One of the family, Lieu- 



tenant Woodmancy, lost an eye and an 
arm, had his head cut open with a cutlass, 
and received several other gashes in his 
arms and hands and was left for dead at 
the massacre at Fort Griswold, on 6th 
September, 1781. He recovered and lived 
many years after. I have seen him in my 
boyhood. His brother Joseph, says the 
historian, stood at his post with such cool 
concentration of purpose that he kept 
count while he loaded and fired his mus- 
ket eighteen times while the fort was 
assailed by an overwhelming force. He 
was among the killed, as were several of 
the name of Bailey. 

The wife of Captain Elijah Bailey was 
the lady who took off and gave her red 
flannel petticoat for cartridges to Cap- 
tain John French, of the First Artillery 
Company of New London, while on their 
way hurriedly to reinforce and assist the 
people of Stonington when attacked by 
the "Ramilies' - 74, "Nimrod" and "Ter- 
ror" (bomb ship) on 9th August, 1814. I 
was a witness to this attack, and saw the 
bombs passing through the air at night, 
though many miles distant, being then 
thirteen years of age. 

During the War of the Revolution, my 
grandfather, Nathan Bailey, supplied 
arms to the government. When the chil- 
dren were detained at home on rainy Sat- 
urday afternoons, we were permitted to 
play in the garret, and there used "the 
dollar of our grandfather - ' as currency, 
that is, the Continental money received 
by them for supplies furnished, while 
"playing store" between the Woodward 
and Bailey relics of olden time. I cannot 
say that we were particular to restore the 
exact dollar to its original chest, for we 
could not tell the difference. 

Note that in four generations from John 
Bailey (1st) there were four of the 
mothers named Elizabeth, the last of 
whom was my mother. 

William A. WOODWARD. 
[83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Terry Ancestry).* 

Arms — Argent, a cross between four martlets 
gules. 
Crest — A demi-lion proper, holding in paws a 

fleur-de-lis gules. 

The Terrys that came to this country 
in the seventeenth century came from 
England, and the name was then a 
familiar one in London, and in the vil- 
lages nearby northward. 

Samuel Terry, immigrant, born in Bar- 
net, England, April, 1632, died 1730; mar- 
ried, January 3, 1660, Ann Lobdell, who 
died May 1, 1684; married (second) No- 
vember 19, 1690, Sarah, widow of John 
Scott, and daughter of Thomas Bliss. The 
marriage was unhappy, and in 1694 they 
had parted. In 1678 he was appointed sur- 
veyor of highways. In 1681 he is men- 
tioned as a former constable; in 1685 he 
was one of a town committee to estab- 
lish boundaries between Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and adjoining new towns ; 
and the records of the matter speak of 
him as Sergeant Samuel Terry. On Sep- 
tember 27, 1705, his wife Sarah died. In 
1730 administration of his estate was 
granted to his sons Samuel and Thomas. 
Children : Samuel, Thomas, Mary, Eph- 
raim, Rebecca and Ann. 

Ephraim Terry, son of Samuel and 
Ann (Lobdell) Terry, was born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, February 3, 1671-72, 
died in Lebanon, Connecticut, December 
7, 1760; married in Springfield, July 25, 
1695, Hannah, daughter of James and 
Esther Eggleston, of Windsor, Connec- 
ticut, who was born in Wethersfield, 
Connecticut, December 19, 1676, and was 
living January 28, 1761. He settled in 
Lebanon, probably about 1707, and was 
a farmer, and deacon in the church. 

Ephraim Terry, son of Ephraim and 
Hannah (Eggleston) Terry, of Lebanon, 



•.Votes of Terry Families by Stephen Terrv, A. 
M., Connecticut Historical Society, Hartford. 
Conn.. 1887. 



Connecticut, born in Enfield, Connecti- 
cut, January 11, 1703-04, died in Lebanon, 
August 24, 1797; married (first) in Leb- 
anon, January 18, 1727-28, Deborah 
Bailey, who was born January, 1708, died 
August 2, 1759. 

Elizabeth Terry, daughter of Ephraim 
and Deborah (Bailey) Terry, born in 
Lebanon, September 27, 1729, married, 
May 31, 1750, Nathan Bailey, and had: 

Elizabeth Bailey, married Amos Wood- 
ward, and had : 

William Amos Woodward, married 
Frances Mary Evertson, and had : 

Mary Nicoll Woodward, married Eras- 
tus Gaylord Putnam. 

(Park Ancestry). 

Arms — Azure, a fesse chequy argent and gules, 
between three cinquefoils of the second, and a 
buck's head cabossed or, in base. 

Crest — A sinister hand holding up an open 
book proper. 

Motto — Sapicnter et pie. 

(Burke's General Armory.) 

(I) Robert Park (or Sir Robert, as he 
has sometimes been called), was born in 
Preston, England, in 1580. He was a 
personal friend of Governor John Win- 
throp, to whom he wrote a letter relative 
to his proposed journey to New England 
in February, 1629-30, dated at Easter- 
keale, Lincolnshire. A copy of the letter 
is printed in the "Park Genealogy" (p. 
25). He sailed from Cowes, Isle of 
Wight, on the ship "Arabella," March 29, 
1630, and landed in Boston on June 17, 
1630, living afterward at Roxbury for a 
time. He returned to England, carrying 
an order from the colonial government 
to his son John, probably the first bill of 
exchange drawn in America. In 1639 he 
settled at Wethersfield, Connecticut. In 
1649 he moved to Pequot, now New Lon- 
don, Connecticut, where he lived six 
years, and then located on lands which he 
owned on Mystic river, Connecticut. He 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was given the title of "Mr.," then used 
only for ministers and men of distinction. 
The first services in New London were 
held in his barn. He was admitted a free- 
man in April, 1640; was deputy to the 
General Court in 1641 and 1642 and 1652; 
selectman 1651. In 1658 he was select- 
man of Stonington, then Southertown. 

He married (first) Martha Chaplin, 
daughter of Captain Robert and Eliza- 
beth (Ansty) Chaplin, of Bury, England. 
Her father gave her a dowry of three 
hundred pounds. He married (second) 
at Wethersfield, about 1644, Alice Thomp- 
son, of Preston, England, widow of John. 
He died at Mystic, February 4, 1664-65, 
aged eighty-four years. His will is dated 
May 14, 1660, and proved March 14, 1664- 
65, bequeathing to children, William, 
Samuel and Thomas. Children : Wil- 
liam, Thomas, mentioned below ; Samuel, 
mentioned below. 

(II) Thomas Park, son of Robert, was 
born in Preston, England, came with his 
father to Wethersfield ; married Dorothy 
Thompson, whose mother was the second 
wife of his father. About 1650 he settled 
in New London, Connecticut, and became 
deacon of the church there. Six years 
later he moved to Stonington. A letter 
that he wrote from Stonington is to be 
seen on pages 30-31 of the "Park Gene- 
alogy" (N. E. Reg. xxxi, p. 176-77, 1877). 
After residing at Stonington a number of 
years he moved with his son Thomas, in 
1680 or earlier, to the north part of New 
London, and in 1681 was collector of 
taxes of New London. In October, 1686, 
he was one of the petitioners for the in- 
corporation of that section as the town of 
Preston, a petition that three sons also 
signed — Thomas, Nathaniel and John. In 
1698 he and his sons, Robert and John, 
and nine others, formed the church at 
Preston, and he became the first deacon. 
He died July 30, 1709, aged about ninety 



years. His will, dated September 5, 1707, 
bequeathed to wife Dorothy, children 
John, Nathaniel, William, Martha, Doro- 
thy and Alice ; grandson Samuel (son of 
Thomas) and James (son of Robert). He 
was granted one hundred acres, March 
30, 1680. 

Children: Martha, born October 27, 
1646; Thomas, born April 18, 1648; Rob- 
ert, mentioned below ; Nathaniel ; Doro- 
thy, born March 6, 1652; William, bap- 
tized 1654 ; John ; Alice. 

(Ill) Robert Park, son of Thomas, 
was born in New London about 165 1. He 
lived in the north part of Groton, Con- 
necticut, where he owned large tracts of 
land. He also owned a farm at Pachaug. 
For a number of years he attended the 
church at Stonington, where two chil- 
dren were baptized. In 1698 he was one 
of the founders of the Preston church, 
and afterward attended it. 

He married (first) in Norwich, Novem- 
ber 24, 1681, Rachel Lemngwell, eldest 
daughter of Lieutenant Thomas and 
Mary Leffingwell. She was born in Say- 
brook, March 17, 1648; (second) Mary 
Rose, daughter of Thomas, of Norwich. 
He was a soldier in King Philip's war. 
Children by first wife : Rebecca, born Sep- 
tember 7, 1682 ; James ; Joanna, born 1692, 
married David Rude; by second wife: 
Hezekiah ; Jemima, baptized at Stoning- 
ton, July 15, 1694; Robert, baptized Oc- 
tober 10, 1697; Keziah, born at Preston 
about 1700; Margaret, baptized June 7, 
1702, married Benjamin Rockwell ; Doro- 
thy, baptized April 15, 1704, married, 
May [8, 1725, Thomas Woodward, lived 
at Preston; Rose, baptized March 30, 
1707; Mary, married Enoch Badger. 
Thomas and Dorothy (Park) Woodward 
had children: Park Woodward, born 
March 21, 1726; Joanna Woodward, born 
February 8, 1729; Hezekiah Woodward, 
baptized June 20, 1731 ; Dorothy, born 



185 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Caulkins' History of New London, pp. 
290-291). 

Children (by first husband) : 1. Mary 
Bayley, born February 14, 1656-57; mar- 
ried before 1684, Andrew Davis, of New 
London. 2. Thomas Bayley, born March 
5, 1658-59 ; left descendants. 3. John Bay- 
ley, born April, 1661 ; left descendants. 
4. William Bayley, born April 17, 1664; 
left descendants. 5. James Bayley, born 
September 26, 1666. 6. Joseph Bayley. 
7. Lydia Bayley, baptized August 3, 1673; 
married Andrew Lester. 

Marriage of Lydia Redfin and Thomas 
Bayley.* The entry of this marriage upon 
the records of New London reads thus: 
"1655. Thomas Bayley was marryed to 
Lyddia the daughter of James Redfin, the 
10th of January." That there is a clerical 
error here, and that for James we should 
read William, is evident from the follow- 
ing considerations : Thomas Bayley had a 
grant of land made him in 1657. In the 
description of its bounds it is said to lie 
"over against his father's land at Mo- 
hegan." This undoubtedly means father- 
in-law, for frequent instances occur in 
the same records where the word father is 
thus used. No other Bayley had any 
grant of lands at that time. Moreover, 
when this Bayley grant was afterwards 
sold, it is described as being nigh the Red- 
field land. But no James Redfield or Red- 
fin had any grant of lands recorded in 
New London, nor does his name appear 
as buyer or seller, grantor or grantee of 
any lands within its bounds. This cor- 
rection, which is suggested by Miss 
Caulkins, disposes of the supposed older 
James Redfield alluded to in her "History 
of New London," p. 279, and adds greatly 
to the probability that James, the son of 
William Redfin. is identical with the 
James Redfield, afterwards recorded in 
other places. Miss Caulkins' "History of 
New London," pp. 290-291. 

•Redfleld Genealogy, page 7. 



BENNETT, Volney G., 

Man of High Character. 

The months that have passed since the 
death of Volney G. Bennett have served 
to bring home to those who were wont to 
depend upon his support and counsel in 
business, in church, and in social life, 
the severity of the loss his community 
sustained when, on March 14, 1914, he 
was called from earthly walks. For more 
than fifty years he was identified with the 
lumber trade in Camden, New Jersey, 
nearly four decades of that time being 
spent as an independent dealer, first as 
owner of the Central Lumber Yard, then 
as president of the Bennett Lumber Com- 
pany, and during that period gained an 
extensive business acquaintance in Phil- 
adelphia, entering also into the social 
activities of Pennsylvania's metropolis. 
His position among the leading business 
men of his city gave him strong and 
widely spread influence in the world of 
trade, and this he used in fostering the 
commercial and industrial welfare of Cam- 
den, not the least successful of his efforts 
being in the work of the Board of Trade, 
of which he was a founder and president. 
Former business colleagues bear loving 
and enthusiastic witness of the value of 
his life in accomplishment and in exam- 
ple, and in all the paths in which he 
moved, the memory of his upright, manly 
character and sterling merit remains 
firmly fixed. 

Volney G. Bennett was a descendant of 
New England ancestry, Connecticut, the 
family home, his line being brought to 
Pennsylvania by his grandfather, Stephen 
Bennett, who came from Connecticut 
prior to the Revolution and settled near 
the present town of Palmyra, Pike coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania. His wife, Mary Gates, 
experienced the dangers of the Wyoming 
massacre, it being she who brought the 
warning of the Indian attack. They were 
the parents of eight children, among them 
188 




;£j^^a£/ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Jared, father of Volney G. Bennett. Jared 
Bennett was a farmer, also engaging in 
lumbering, and married Esther Killam, 
who bore him six children. 

Volney G. Bennett, son of Jared and 
Esther (Killam) Bennett, was born on 
the Tike county homestead, April 9, 1837, 
and died in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
March 14, 1914. He was educated in the 
schools in the vicinity of his home, and 
until attaining his majority was his father's 
assistant on the home estate, then leaving 
home to work out his own career. His 
first position was obtained in the line to 
which he devoted his after years, lumber 
dealing, and he entered the employ of 
McKeen & Bingham, of Camden, remain- 
in? with this firm until 1876. On June I, 
1876, he began his independent operations 
as a lumber dealer, his yard located at 
Second and Cherry streets, and from the 
first, success attended his transactions. 
The Bennett Lumber Company, of which 
Mr. Bennett was president, was the out- 
growth of the Central Lumber Yard, of 
which he was the owner, and until his 
death he carefully and devotedly cher- 
ished the reputation for fair and straight- 
forward dealing of the firm that bore his 
name. The large business of this con- 
cern was his personal care, and to it he 
gave the wise direction that experience 
alone makes possible, and the standard in 
all departments of the business, in the 
mills, in the office, and among the sales 
force, was as high as the tireless efforts 
of a man of honor and integrity could 
make it. His fellows were also the bene- 
ficiaries of his excellent business judg- 
ment and forceful energy, and the Cam- 
den Board of Trade, the city's most use- 
ful and efficient business organization was 
largely the result of his vision and crea- 
tive power. After its organization and 
the formation of a plan of procedure, he 
served a term as president, his leadership 
one of strength and purpose. He was 



also for several years treasurer of the 
Franklin Building and Loan Association. 

It is indicative of the kindliness of his 
manner and the friendly qualities of his 
personality that he was loved and rever- 
enced by those who served him and whose 
interests were very dear to him. He was 
generous in all things, gave freely of his 
means, his time, and his service to the 
support of every good cause, and was a 
loyal member of the First Baptist Church 
of Camden. He was a Democrat in political 
belief, but held no public office, discharg- 
in his duties as a citizen at the polls and 
in the support of worthy candidates and 
rightful measures. His long life of sev- 
enty-five years contained no chapter at 
which all may not gaze, and in the full 
view of his fellows and in their constant 
approbation the long and useful years 
were passed. 

He married. July 2j, 1864, Emeline, 
daughter of Captain Thomas and Ange- 
line Davis, of Port Elizabeth, New Jer- 
sey, who survives him with children : Vol- 
ney. his successor as head of the Bennett 
1. umber Company, formerly vice-presi- 
dent and treasurer; Alfred K., ex-mayor 
of Merchantville, New Jersey; Killam E., 
president of Munger & Bennett, Inc., 
Camden. New Jersey; Emily J., married 
E. M. Linnard, and resides at Pasadena, 
California; Olive E., married E. J. Wallis, 
and lives at San Francisco, California. 



FLINT, Walter Alvin, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

Walter A. Flint, one of the selfmade 
men of West Orange, New Jersey, in- 
herited from sturdy English ancestry 
those qualities of industry, thrift and 
shrewdness which carried him to success. 
Thomas Flint, the immigrant ancestor, is 
supposed to have come from Wales, and 
is mentioned in the town records of 
Salem, Massachusetts, for the first time, 



189 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in 1650. It is quite probable that he ar- 
rived prior to that year, and there are 
reasons for believing that his mother was 
in New England as early as 1642. He 
was one of the first to settle in that part 
of Salem Village, or Danvers, which is 
now the town of Peabody, where he pur- 
chased land January 1, 1662. This has 
continued in the possession of his de- 
scendants to the present time. He died 
April 15, 1663. The Christian name of his 
wife was Ann, and their third son, John 
Flint, born October 3, 1655, was a free- 
man in Salem Village in April, 1690, and 
died in April, 1730. His wife Elizabeth 
bore him nine children. The second of 
these and their second child was John 
Flint, born February 8, 1681. He settled 
in Windham, Connecticut, in that part 
which is now Hampton, and was a farmer. 
He married (first) May 5, 1709, Christian 
Reed, who died September 27, 1721. 
Their second child and eldest son was 
Samuel Flint, born April 9, 1712, and 
after 1772 removed to Randolph, Ver- 
mont, where he died in 1802. He married 
(first) April 13, 1736, Mary Lamphere, 
who died January 1, 1744, and he mar- 
ried (second) April 11, 1745, Mary Hall. 
His fourth son and the fourth child of 
Mary Hall was James Flint, born August 
to. 175 1, in Windham (now Hampton), 
and died in Randolph, Vermont. He re- 
sided in Hampton till 1782, when he sold 
out his farm and removed to Randolph, 
Vermont, settling near his brother, Dea- 
con Samuel Flint, who was also a pioneer 
of that town. He married, April 22, 1773, 
Jerusha, daughter of Elisha and Huldah 
(Tilden) Lillie, born May 20, 1757, in 
Scotland, Connecticut, formerly a part of 
Windham. Their fourth child, James 
Flint, was born March 10, 1779, in Hamp- 
ton, removed with his parents to Ran- 
dolph, and settled in the neighboring 
town of Williamstown, Vermont, where 



he died. He married (first) March 31, 
1803, Hannah Ford, born May 22, 1779. 
Children : Abel James, Warren Ford, Al- 
vin and Calvin (twins), Nabby Wood- 
ard, Julia, Hannah, Jerusha Little, Den- 
nison. Major Dennison. He married (sec- 
ond) June 9, 1822, Sally Kelsey, and they 
were the parents of two daughters, Nancy 
and Sarah. Alvin Flint, one of the twin 
sons of James and Hannah (Ford) Flint, 
married Orinda Peck, and they were the 
parents of Lewis Willard Flint, born 
1838, in Williamstown, died July 15, 1886. 
He married Emagene Aldrich Webster, 
and they were the parents of: Myron 
Eugene, Inez Alma and Walter Alvin, 
who is the subject of this sketch. 

Walter Alvin Flint was born May 27, 
1870, in Williamstown, and died October 
27, 1913, as the result of injuries received 
in an accident. He attended the country 
schools, and was subsequently a student 
at Montpelier Seminary. His father died 
when he was but seventeen years of age, 
and he was then obliged to leave school 
and engage in some active occupation in 
order to sustain himself. He found em- 
ployment in a general country store where 
he had an excellent schooling in salesman- 
ship, and after three years removed to 
Newark, New Jersey, where he engaged 
in the grocery business with a small capi- 
tal. His store was in the center of the 
business section of Newark, and here he 
conducted business about three years. He 
then sold his grocery business and ac- 
cepted a position as salesman for a whole- 
sale butter house. In the meantime he 
saw great possibilities in the trade in but- 
ter and eggs. He resigned his position 
and established his headquarters in New- 
ark, New Jersey. He maintained wagons, 
which delivered fresh supplies of butter 
and eggs to the householders of Newark, 
the Oranges, Bloomfield, Montclair, Cald- 
well, and additional sections around these 



190 



IX ( YCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



towns. In course of time his brother, M. 
E. Flint, was admitted as a partner, and 
the firm became known as M. E. & W. A. 
Flint. Soon after they moved their head- 
quarters to West Orange. After about 
two years they again changed their busi- 
ness location to Orange road. Montclair, 
New Jersey, where this most harmonious 
and successful relation continued up to 
the death of Walter A. Flint, upon which 
his brother, M. E. Flint, bought out his 
interest and came into possession of the 
entire business. 

Walter A. Flint was a man of many re- 
sources, and as his business grew he con- 
tinued to give it his personal attention. 
He was possessed of those genial qualities 
which gained and retained friendships, 
and his keen business ability and upright 
methods naturally proved beneficial to the 
business. Everything that he undertook 
was made a success because he gave to it 
industrious care, and his judgment and 
foresight prevented any disaster. Mr. 
Flint came to be known in connection 
with other lines of endeavor beside his 
private business. He was the founder of 
the West Orange National Bank, and 
continued to be its vice-president until 
his death. This stands now as one of his 
monuments, and as an evidence of his 
public spirit. He was one of the incor- 
porators and a most industrious worker 
for the success of the Llewellyn Building 
and Loan Association of Orange, and was 
for many years a notary public of West 
Orange. Mr. Flint was ever imbued with 
a desire to promote the happiness and 
prosperity of individuals as well as the 
community, and was one of the founders 
of the Methodist Episcopal church of 
West Orange, in which for fourteen years 
he was superintendent of the Sunday 
school, a member of the official board of 
the church, and very active in all church 
works. He was later a member of the 



Central Presbyterian Church of Orange. 
lie was a director of the New Jersey 
Fire Insurance Company of Newark, and 
his counsel was frequently sought by his 
neighbors and friends because of their 
faith in the soundness of his judgment. 
I [e became early active in political move- 
ments, and exercised a large influence in 
the community, being popular with both 
Democrats and Republicans. He acted 
with the latter, and in 1909 was elected 
mayor of West Orange, the only Repub- 
lican to ever receive that office. This he 
filled with credit to himself and satisfac- 
tion to his constituents. He was ever 
ready to aid in the development of West 
Orange, and was prominent in all move- 
ments tending to promote the public wel- 
fare. He was a member of Union Lodge, 
No. 11, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Orange, and of the General Chester Coun- 
cil, Junior Order of United American Me- 
chanics. In both orders he was very en- 
thusiastic and active, and was advanced 
in the Masonic fraternity to the Royal 
Arch degree. He passed all the chairs in 
the Mechanics' Council, and was an active 
member of the Fifth Ward Improvement 
Association. 

He married, in Newark, in the year 
1893, Lottie A. Ball, daughter of George 
and Sarah E. Ball, and they were the par- 
ents of two children: Russell Alvin and 
Mildred Evelyn, both residing with their 
mother in the family residence on High 
street, West Orange, built by the father 
in 1902. 

On the evening of October 28, 1913, 
while going in his automobile to attend a 
men's dinner at the Central Presbyterian 
Church, where several prominent speak- 
ers were to participate, Mr. Flint's auto- 
mobile was struck by a trolley car, and 
his death was the result. His funeral was 
very largely attended, and he was buried 
with Masonic honors, and also those of 



IQI 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Junior Order of the United American 
Mechanics. His body was laid to rest in 
Evergreen Cemetery. Appropriate reso- 
lutions expressing the loss sustained by 
the community were passed by the boards 
of directors of the Building and Loan As- 
sociation, the New Jersey Fire Insurance 
Company, and the First National Bank of 
West Orange. In the life of Mr. Flint is 
found ample inspiration for the youth of 
to-day, who may seek to better their own 
condition by their own industry, and to 
benefit the world by exemplary and use- 
ful lives. 



HOOPER, Robert Lettis, 

Active in Revolution, Ironmaster, 

The name of Robert Lettis Hooper is 
unfamiliar nowadays. Yet Hooper was a 
figure of importance in the Revolutionary 
War. He came of New Jersey forbears, 
and died a resident of the State. 

The first American Hooper was named 
Daniel, and he came from Barbados. He 
was in 1679 a member of Governor Philip 
Carteret's council. He was also a justice 
of the peace for the county court at Eliz- 
abeth Town and Newark. Later he re- 
turned to Barbados, but came again to 
New Jersey. He was granted a patent 
for six hundred and forty-eight acres in 
Somerset county in 1692. 

Robert Lettis Hooper, the great-grand- 
son of Daniel, was the third in succession 
to bear that name. His father, Robert 
Lettis (2nd), died April 20, 1785; he is 
buried at Trenton. There were two sons, 
Robert and Jacob. They were partners 
in the milling business. In 1761 the part- 
nership was dissolved. 

Robert Lettis (3rd) later had a store 
in Philadelphia, but becoming financially 
embarrassed he was obliged to close up. 
He then traveled west, making surveys, 
and was engaged in projects for colonies 



for some years. He visited Sir William 
Johnson, at Fort Johnson, in the Mohawk 
Valley, and twice later was on the fron- 
tier at Fort Pitt. 

Hooper wrote from Philadelphia, Au- 
gust 18, 1775, a letter brimming over with 
enthusiasm. There were rifle companies 
forming, and the "servile engines of min- 
isterial power,'' namely the British troops, 
were likely to get a surprise. 

Hooper settled later in Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, and was made a 
deputy quartermaster-general. His de- 
partment covered three counties in Penn- 
sylvania, and the county of Sussex in 
New Jersey. In his activities to procure 
food and other supplies for the army, he 
made enemies, of course, and was once 
the subject of investigation. Washing- 
ton, however, seems to have had confi- 
dence in him throughout the controversy. 
Hooper apparently objected for a time to 
taking the oath of allegiance to the pa- 
triots' cause, and was said to have dis- 
couraged such an act on the part of others. 
It appears that this attitude arose from a 
kind of pride or principle, and that later, 
after being under criticism, he subscribed 
without scruple to a new form prescribed 
by Congress for officers of the army. 

After the war, Hooper became an iron- 
master, and had much to do with mines. 
He became deeply interested in the Ring- 
wood Iron Works, in Bergen county. 

He took for his second wife Elizabeth 
Erskine, widow of Robert Erskine. Er- 
skine died at Ringwood, December 19, 
1780. The second Mrs. Hooper died in 
1796, and July 30 of the next year Robert 
Lettis Hooper died in his home a short 
distance from Trenton. 

In the course of time Peter Cooper and 
Abram S. Hewitt, Cooper's son-in-law, 
became owners of the Durham, Iron 
Works of Pennsylvania, and the Ring- 
wood Iron Works of New Jersey. On a 



J92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wall in the Hewitt mansion at Ringwood 
hangs framed a letter written by Robert 
L. Hooper, in which, to a friend, he an- 
nounces his engagement to the widow 
Erskine. 

Recently Charles Henry Hart, of Phil- 
adelphia, has been making investigations 
about Hooper. An article on Hooper, by 
Mr. Hart, previously published in the 
"Pennsylvania Magazine of History and 
Biography," now appears in a pamphlet 
limited to fifty copies. J. F. F. 



SCOTT, Rev. Orange, 

Minister, Hymiiiat. 

When camp meetings came into vogue 
they brought about in time their own lit- 
erature. The institution endured long 
enough to produce books, tracts, tradi- 
tions and hymns. Viewed in the retro- 
spect the movement was accompanied by 
much of the dramatic and the romantic. 
The traveling preacher was a picturesque 
figure and the protracted meetings in the 
woods were crammed with incident. 

There is a little book of hymns, pub- 
lished in 183 1, which has especial interest. 
It is entitled "A New and Improved Camp 
Meeting Hymn Book." It was compiled 
by Orange Scott, and printed by the Mer- 
riams at Brookfield, Massachusetts. One 
of the most curious hymns in this collec- 
tion is an Indian dialect hymn. Imagine 
a congregation of the present day, soberly 
singing the following really tender and 
pathetic verses : 

In de dark wood, no Indian nigh, 
Den me look heaven, and send up cry 

Upon my knee so low. 
Den God on high in shining place, 
See me in night wid teary face, 
De priest he tell me so. 

He sends he angel take me care, 

He come heself to hear me prayer, 

If Indian heart do pray. 



He see me now, he know me here, 
He say, poor Indian neber fear, 
Mi- wid you night and day. 

So me lub God wid inside heart, 
He fight for me, he take urn pari, 

He save um life before; 

God lub poor Indian in de wood, 

Den me lub God, and dat be good ; 

Me pray him two times more. 

Orange Scott, the compiler of this camp 
meeting hymnal, once lived in Newark, 
New Jersey, and there he died, July 31, 
1847. He purchased a home at 50 Dark 
Lane in that city in the summer of 1846, 
and took possession in September. About 
a year after his going there he died of 
consumption, aged forty-eight years. He 
was buried at Springfield, Massachusetts, 
where an oration over him was pro- 
nounced by Rev. Lucius Matlack. 

Orange Scott was born February 13, 
1801, at Brookfield, Vermont. The fam- 
ily was so poor that the boy's schooling 
totaled but thirteen months, and his re- 
ligious opportunities were the scantier be- 
cause of lack of proper clothing to wear 
to church. While living at Barre, Ver- 
mont, in 1820 he was converted at a camp 
meeting. He was licensed as a local 
preacher in 1822. In 1834 he was the 
presiding elder of the Providence (Rhode 
Island) district. 

Scott was strong in his attitude against 
slavery. In 1837 he engaged "in a some- 
what extensive Anti-slavery Agency." His 
health failed in 1840, and he removed to 
Newbury, Vermont, to engage in manual 
labor and to write occasionally for the 
press. With two others he founded in 
1842 the "Wesleyan Methodist Church," 
the object of which was the elimination 
of the episcopal features of the Methodist 
body. He edited "The True Wesleyan" 
for some years. 

Orange Scott is said to have been one 
of the most popular preachers of New 



193 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



England. He was noted for his contro- 
versial abilities and had a voice of great 
compass and power. 

Many a Newarker, it is safe to say, 
would find it difficult to give, offhand, 
the location of Dark Lane, the street in 
which Rev. Orange Scott made his home. 
Perhaps some citizens will be surprised 
to learn that, in this day of light, a Dark 
Lane exists in Newark. Dark Lane for- 
merly ran from South Orange avenue, at 
the intersection of Jones street, in a south- 
westerly direction, as far as Spruce, then 
called Harbour street. When Springfield 
avenue came into existence Dark Lane 
ended at that avenue. We are not able 
to state how Dark Lane got its name. We 
imagine it was so far out of town that at 
night it was a gloomy road, and gained 
thus its title. This old-time street still 
survives in part. It can be seen at the 
junction of Jones street and South Orange 
avenue, cutting its crooked path through 
the apex formed by those two thorough- 
fares. After crossing Hayes street it 
twists in toward Fourteenth avenue, and 
there gets lost behind some buildings. 

Though all the sketches of Scott state 
that he died July 31, 1847, there is found 
in the local papers of Newark of that time 
no reference to the death of this noted 
man, who once set the New England cir- 
cuits afire with his eloquence. J. F. F. 



BASSETT, Allan Lee, 

Soldier, Editor, Underwriter. 

Allan Lee Bassett was born on the 
family farm in New Haven county, near 
Derby, Connecticut, on February 28, 
1827. His ancestors were of old Puritan 
stock. John Bassett, the first of his pa- 
ternal line in this country, came to New 
Haven from England in 1642, and many 
of his descendants were prominent in the 
colonial life of New England, being land- 



owners, farmers, educators, legislators 
and soldiers. His maternal ancestors 
were no less distinguished. His mother, 
Nancy Lee, was a descendant in the sixth 
generation of John Eliot, the Apostle, 
who emigrated in 1631 from England to 
Massachusetts, where he made himself 
famous not only for his learning but for 
his labors and sufferings as a missionary 
among the Indians. 

The parents of Allan desired to edu- 
cate him for a professional career, as in 
the case of his brothers, Eliot and Benja- 
min, who were graduates of Yale Col- 
lege ; one becoming a clergyman and the 
other a physician. Accordingly young 
Allan was sent to Hopkins Grammar 
School in New Haven, where he received 
sound preparation for college. His en- 
terprising spirit and eager desire to take 
part in the busy scenes of life could not, 
however, brook the delay incident to a 
college course, and at the age of eighteen 
he went to New York City to enter the 
commercial house of his uncle, Benjamin 
Franklin Lee, as a clerk. During the 
succeeding twenty years he was actively 
engaged in commercial affairs, organized 
and successfully conducted the firm of 
Bassett & Mace, manufacturers and 
wholesale dealers in twine and hardware. 

When the Civil War broke out he or- 
ganized a military company known as the 
Brooklyn Greys, of which he was made 
captain. It was attached under the name 
of Company D to the Twenty-third Regi- 
ment, National Guard of the State of New 
York, and took part in quelling the New 
York riots and in the battle of Gettys- 
burg. He remained at the head of the 
company until the close of the war, when 
he returned to his home in Brooklyn, dis- 
posed of his business, resigned his com- 
mission in the regiment, and with his 
family removed to Irvington, New Jer- 
sey. In May, 1866, he established the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"Northern Monthly and New Jersey 
Magazine," of which he was editor and 
sole proprietor. Its editorial department 
furnishes evidence of Captain Bassett's 
good judgment and literary taste as a 
writer. Two years of close application 
in this editorial work induced him to sell 
"The Magazine" to the Putnams of New 
York, and it was thereafter published 
as "Putnam's Magazine and Northern 
Monthly." 

Soon after abandoning the editorial 
chair in 1870, he engaged in the real 
estate business. The financial panic 
which took place during the following 
two years drove all land speculators from 
the market and with them went his occu- 
pation as well as a large share of his 
earnings. On the return of better times 
in 1875, he organized the Prudential In- 
surance Company, now one of the most 
important institutions of its kind in the 
country. He became its first president, 
and largely through his efforts the com- 
pany was placed upon the basis which 
made possible the wonderful success 
which has followed. But differences of 
opinion arising in the conduct of its 
affairs, he withdrew in 1879 and associ- 
ated himself with the Metropolitan Life 
Insurance Company of New York, and 
continued throughout the remainder of 
his life to occupy a position as superin- 
tendent in New Jersey, making Newark 
his residence. 

Captain Bassett was a staunch Repub- 
lican, and for several years chairman of 
the Essex County Republican Committee. 
He was always among the foremost in 
enterprises whose aim was the welfare of 
the community in which he lived. He 
was a prominent and influential member 
of the Board of Trade of the city of New- 
ark, and was elected as its president for 
four terms, an honor without precedent 
in that organization. He was also a mem- 



ber of the Washington Association, which 
was established for the purpose of pur- 
chasing and preserving Washington's 
Headquarters at Morristown, New Jer- 
sey. In the New Jersey Historical Soci- 
ety he also manifested much interest, and 
labored zealously to secure a fireproof 
building for its valuable collections. 
From early life he was an earnest, con- 
sistent Christian, active in every good 
work. His genial nature endeared him 
to every one who knew him. and his won- 
derful energy and executive abilities gave 
him prominence in every movement, pub- 
lic or private, in which he took part. 

In December, 1853, Captain Bassett 
married Caroline, daughter of John Phil- 
lips, M. D., of Bristol, Pennsylvania. Six 
children were born to them, four of whom 
and their mother died during his resi- 
dence in Brooklyn. 

Captain Bassett died at his home in 
Newark, New Jersey, on December 14, 
1892. He is survived by a daughter. Al- 
lena, wife of Rev. John Balcom Shaw, D. 
D., LL. D., president of Elmira College, 
New York ; and a son, Carroll P. Bassett, 
of Summit. New Jersey. 



GIFFORD, Archer and Charles L. C, 

Attorney s-at-Law. 

The name of Gifford is of French or 
Huguenot extraction. According to fam- 
ily tradition, Baron Walter, son of Os- 
borne Bolle, was given the sobriquet of 
Gifford, Giffard or Gyffard, signifying 
liberality or generosity, which was ac- 
corded him. According to the best infor- 
mation concerning the early ancestors of 
the family. Archer Gifford, Giffard or 
Gyffard, of Normandy, married Katherine 
de Blois or Le Blon, a descendant of a 
noted family of Normandy, who were of 
the nobility of that country. Archer came 
from Wales to America in 1756, settling 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Canada. He joined the English army 
and fought against the French. He died 
in Canada. 

The Giffords of Essex county, New 
Jersey, are a Welsh family. John Gifford, 
born in Wales, appears for the first time 
upon New Jersey records as a private in 
Captain Craig's company of State troops 
during the Revolutionary War. The next 
record of him is a marriage license in the 
office of the Secretary of State at Tren- 
ton, stating that April 7, 1770, he obtained 
permission to marry Hannah Crane, their 
marriage occurring a little later in the 
same month. After his marriage he made 
permanent residence in Newark, where he 
built for himself a house on what is now 
the southwest corner of Broad and Acade- 
my streets, having on his right William 
Rodger's house and saddlery, on his left 
the old Newark Academy, while facing 
him on the opposite side of Broad street 
was the mansion of Dr. Uzal Johnson. 
This house later passed into the posses- 
sion of William Tuttle, but not until after 
Captain John Gifford (so called from his 
Revolutionary service) had passed away. 
Between Dr. Johnson's and Captain Gif- 
ford's on the roadside was one of the town 
pumps, which as late as 1812 was used for 
one of the official public bulletin boards, 
as at the Newark town meeting of April 
12th, in that year, passed a resolution 
that all hogs running at large were to be 
subjected to a poundage of fifty cents 
which if not paid in four days was to be 
collected by selling the hogs and that 
notices of such sales were to be posted 
"at three different places viz. at Moses 
Roff's, at the pump opposite Captain Gil- 
ford's in Broad Way and at Jacob Plum's 
store in the north part of the town." 
Captain Gifford died intestate in 1821, 
leaving his widow and seven children: 
Katherine, married Dr. Enion Skelton, of 
Virginia ; Mary, died unmarried ; Pa- 



tience, married Robert Johnson ; Sarah, 
married (first) Benjamin Whittaker, 
(second) Robert Johnson, whose first 
wife was her deceased sister Patience ; 
Anna, married William Miller, of Morris- 
town, New Jersey; Susan, married Thom- 
as Chapman, an attorney of Camden, New 
Jersey; Archer, of further mention. Han- 
nah (Crane) Gifford, wife of Captain John 
Gifford, was the second daughter of Jo- 
seph Crane, great-grandson of Jasper 
Crane, one of the original settlers of 
Newark, who came from Branford, Con- 
necticut. Joseph Crane was town con- 
stable in 1778, the year before his daugh- 
ter's marriage to Captain John Gifford. 

Archer Gifford, only son of Captain 
John and Hannah (Crane) Gifford, was 
born in Newark, in 1790, and died there, 
May 12, 1859. After preparation at New- 
ark Academy, he entered the College 
of New Jersey (Princeton University) 
whence he was graduated, class of 1814, 
later receiving from that institution the 
degree of Master of Arts. After gradu- 
ation he began the study of law in the 
office of Elias Van Arsdale, continuing 
until his admission to the bar in 1818. He 
at once began practice in Newark, con- 
tinuing for about twelve years, winning 
high reputation as one of the rising young 
constitutional lawyers. During that 
period he collected much of the material 
for his valuable contribution to the legal 
literature of the State, published later 
under the title, "Digest of the Statutory 
and Constitutional Constructions, etc., 
With an Index to the Statutes at Large." 
In 1832, when the town became so popu- 
lous that the lecture room of the Third 
Presbyterian Church, the largest hall in 
Newark and in use as a town hall since 
1830, would no longer accommodate the 
meeting, he was appointed with Isaac 
Andruss, Joseph C. Hornblower, Stephen 
Dod and William H. Earle, a committee 
96 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF liloGRAl'JIY 



"to digest a plan for the division of the 
township into two or more wards, with 
a system for the transaction of the town- 
ship business upon equitable principles." 
When the report of the committee had 
been discussed and a revised plan finally 
adopted, James Vanderpool and Archer 
Gifford were appointed to represent the 
north ward of the town on the committee 
that prepared the bill for presentation to 
the Legislature. That bill became a law 
and the ward system so organized was 
carried into effect in April, 1833, and oper- 
ated successfully for three years when 
the town received its charter as a city, in 
April, 1836. In the same year Archer Gil- 
ford was appointed by President Andrew 
Jackson, collector of customs for the port 
of Newark, an office he held for twelve 
years, and for several years was also a 
member of Newark common council, an 
office to which he was elected in 1843. 
He was also for many years an active and 
enthusiastic member of the New Jersey 
Historical Society and many valuable 
contributions to its collections were the 
results of his efforts. 

As a devoted churchman and a com- 
municant of Trinity Episcopal Church. 
Mr. Gifford labored long and earnestly. 
For twenty-four years he was senior 
warden of the parish and took an active 
part in the rising Tractarian discussion 
of his day. writing and publishing a 
strong controversial pamphlet on the 
"Unison of the Liturgy." During the 
greater part of his life he was a man of 
robust health and it is said that he en- 
joyed nothing better than a walk from 
Trenton to Newark, a distance of fifty 
miles, which he often accomplished in 
going to and from the sessions of the Su- 
preme Court. He married Louisa C. 
Cammann. of New York, who bore him 
six children: I. Charles Louis Cammann, 
of further mention. 2. Ellen M. 3. John 



Archer, now president of the Security 
Savings Hank of Newark, married Mary 
Jane Ailing. 4. Louisa Cammann. 5. 
George Ernest Cammann, once manager 
of the Mutual Life Insurance Company 
of New York; married Jane Elizabeth 
Smith. 6. Philip Augustus, once manager 
of the "Newark Evening Journal." 

Charles Louis Cammann Gifford, eldest 
son of Archer and Louisa C. (Cammann 1 
Gifford, was born in Newark, Xew Jersey, 
in November, 1825, and died there, March 
29, 1877. He was a graduate in 1845, a 
member of the third class of Yale Law 
School. Yale University, continued study 
in the office of his father, and in January, 
1847, was admitted to the bar as an at- 
torney. For the next four years, while 
still engaged in legal work and study, he 
was deputy collector of the port of Xew- 
srk, serving under his father's successor 
James Hewson, in the office of collector. 
In January, 1850, Mr. Gifford was ad- 
mitted to the New Jersey bar as a coun- 
sellor and practiced in Newark, lie was 
elected a member of the House of As- 
sembly in 1857, serving in 1858-59-60 as 
State Senator, and during the last year as 
president of the Senate. He was all his 
life a Democrat, and with the single ex- 
ception of the year 1861 was prominently 
identified with that party. In that year 
he was the anti-Democratic candidate for 
mayor of Newark against Moses Bigelow, 
but was defeated. On June 29, 1872, he 
was sworn in as presiding judge of the 
Court of Common Pleas for Essex county 
to fill the unexpired term of Judge Fred- 
erick H. Teese who had resigned on his 
removal to another county. He was suc- 
ceeded as judge two years later by Judge 
Caleb S. Titsworth, owing to his own 
failing health. 

In 1875 Judge Gifford and his wife 
went to Europe in the hope that the sea 
voyage and rest would restore his former 
197 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



health and vigor. He returned apparently 
much improved, but he gradually failed 
and after many months of suffering died 
at his home. No. 55 Fulton street, New- 
ark, at two o'clock in the morning of 
March 29, 1877. He was a lifetime 
member of Trinity Protestant Episcopal 
Church, and there his funeral services 
were held, Rev. John H. Eccleston, D. D.. 
officiating. 

He married Helen Matoaka Murray, 
of Virginia, who bore him six children : 
1 William Murray, born in 1852. 2. 
Charles, died in infancy. 3. Oswald 
Cammann, born in 1856, died in 1892; 
married Frances Kingsland and left three 
children: Edmund, Virginia and Helen 
Murray. 4. Susan V. 5. Frank W. 6. 
Archer, born July 8, 1859 ; married. April 
24, 1889, Evelyn A., daughter of Henry 
W. and Mary G. (Abeel) Duryee, and 
has two children: Gertrude M. and 
Helen J. 



CAMPBELL, Wallace Sherwood, 

Manufacturer. 

The late Wallace Sherwood Campbell 
was one of Newark's enterprising and 
honored citizens, occupying a leading 
position in the industrial world where 
his activities resulted in bringing to him 
splendid success, and at the same time 
were of value to the community by fur- 
nishing employment to a large force of 
workmen. Mr. Campbell was born in 
Newark, New Jersey. March 20, 1868, son 
of Charles Whittaker and Emma Frances 
(Simonson) Campbell, old residents of 
Newark. 

Wallace S. Campbell acquired a good 
education by attendance at the public 
schools of Newark, completing his studies 
at the age of sixteen years, when he ac- 
cepted a minor position in the firm of 
Day & Clark, with which he was con- 



nected throughout the active years of his 
life. His enterprise and ability soon 
gained for him promotion, and in due 
course of time he became the commercial 
representative of the firm, later being ad- 
mitted to partnership therein, becoming 
a junior member. The firm of Day & 
Clark was later incorporated and resumed 
its business under the name of Day-Clark 
Company, manufacturers of jewelry, for 
which the city of Newark is noted, and 
Mr. Campbell was chosen to fill the offices 
of secretary and director, in which ca- 
pacities he was serving at the time of his 
death. The splendid success of the enter- 
prise was due in large measure to the good 
judgment and straightforward methods 
of Mr. Campbell, who throughout his 
connection with the business manifested 
untiring energy and unflagging applica- 
tion to the duties which fell to his share. 
Mr. Campbell was a staunch adherent of 
Republican principles, but aside from 
casting his vote for the man whom he 
considered the best for the office, he took 
no part in public life, preferring to devote 
his leisure time to his family, to whom 
he was devotedly attached, and to inter- 
course with his friends, of which he had 
many. He was a member of St. Barna- 
bas Church of Newark (Episcopal), the 
Jewelers Club of Philadelphia, and the 
Roseville Athletic Club. 

Mr. Campbell married at Grace Epis- 
copal Church, Newark, April 22, 1891, 
Mary Florence Sullivan, daughter of Fla- 
vel Woodruff and Emilie (Thomas) Sul- 
livan, well known residents of the south 
side of Newark. Mr. Sullivan was active 
in public life, serving as street commis- 
sioner, member of the road board, and 
secretary of the fire commission. Chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Campbell : Gertrude, 
born July 31, 1892, became the wife of 
George E. Brixner, of Newark, and they 
are the parents of one child, George E., 



.OX 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Jr.; Wallace S., born March 29, 1895; 
Douglas, born May 7, 1902; Emilie T., 
born September 24, 1904. The death of 
Mr. Campbell occurred in New Haven. 
Connecticut, June 1, 1915. 



MUNN, Joseph Lewis, 

Attorney-at-Law, Public Official. 

In referring to the life history of the 
late Joseph Lewis Munn, of East Orange, 
New Jersey, we find many elements of 
peculiar interest as touching the annals 
of the State of New Jersey. He stood as 
a representative of one of the oldest pio- 
neer families of the country, the same 
having been established in the early Colo- 
nial days. The origin of the name of 
Munn is not definitely known, but that it 
is of great antiquity is shown in its armo- 
rial bearings which are as follows: Coat- 
of-arms : Per chevron sable and or, in 
chief three bezants and in base a castle 
triple-towered of the first. Crest : A dex- 
ter arm in armor, holding a lion's paw 
erased proper. Motto: Omnia vincit Veri- 
tas ("Truth conquers all things"). 

Benjamin Mun. as the name was then 
spelled, made his home in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, served in the Pequot War in 
1637, and died in 1675. He married Abi- 
gail Burt and had five children, among 
whom was John Munn, who took an ac- 
tive part in the great fight at Turner's 
Falls. His son, John (2) Munn, was born 
March 16, 1682, and located in what is 
now Orange, New Jersey, about 1709, 
coming from Deerfield. Massachusetts. 

His son, Benjamin Munn, died in 1818 
at the age of eighty-seven years. He was 
a farmer on his own land on what is now 
Munn avenue. East Orange, where he 
was born in 1730. He was one of the 
members in communion with the Moun- 
tain Society in 1756. He married Jemima 
Pierson. born August 28, 1734. a daughter 



of Joseph Pierson, granddaughter of 
Daniel Pierson and great-granddaughter 
of Thomas Pierson. Their son, David 
Munn, was born on the family homestead 
at the corner of Main street and Munn 
avenue, East Orange, New Jersey, De- 
cember 16, 1761, and served in the New 
Jersey militia during the War of the Rev- 
olution. He married Abigail Baldwin, a 
daughter of Moses Baldwin. Their son, 
Lewis Munn. was born March 25, 1784. He 
married Phebe Jones, a daughter of Jo- 
seph Jones, a member of an old and 
prominent family of New Jersey. Their 
son, Asa Berton Munn. was born in East 
Orange. New Jersey. June 28. 1809. and 
was a prosperous and successful farmer. 
He married Mary Parcel, daughter of Jo- 
seph S. Hand, and a lineal descendant of 
Colonel Aaron Hand, of Springfield. New 
Jersey, who participated in the Revolu- 
tionary War. 

Joseph Lewis Munn. son <>f Asa Berton 
and Mary Parcel (Hand) Munn, was born 
in the street named in honor of his family 
in East Orange, New Jersey. December 
5. 1840, and died near this location, No- 
vember 29, 1914. having spent his entire 
life in East Orange. The local public- 
schools and Newark Academy furnished 
his preparatory education, and he then 
matriculated at Princeton College, now 
Princeton University, from which insti- 
tution he was graduated in the class of 
1862. Taking up the study of law, he 
pursued it under the preceptorship of the 
well known Amzi Dodd. and was ad- 
mitted to the bar as an attorney in 1865, 
and as a counselor in 1868. From the 
time of attaining his majority he was a 
factor to be reckoned with as a supporter 
of the Republican party. In 1867 he 
served as township clerk and later be- 
came township counsel. He was a mem- 
ber of the State Assembly in 1881, and 
during this term of office served as a 
199 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



member of a number of important com- 
mittees, and became noted for his careful 
drafting of laws. He served as surrogate, 
1884-89; as county counsel, 1894-1906, 
1908-11; and was counsel to the park 
commission, 1895-1907. The cause of 
education had in him an earnest and de- 
voted friend. He was the first county 
superintendent of the schools of Essex 
county, and served continuously as a 
member of the East Orange board of 
education. The excellent system of edu- 
cation now in force there is due to his 
persevering efforts in this cause. He was 
counsel to the Court House commission, 
1901-07, under whose auspices the new 
Court House was built, and it is entirely 
due to his suggestion that the County 
Law Library in that building was estab- 
lished. Mr. Munn was conspicuously 
identified with the furtherance of many 
other enterprises which were for the bene- 
fit of the county. He was one of the or- 
ganizers of the Orange Water Company, 
and served as counsel of this corporation. 
He was connected as counsel with numer- 
ous other concerns, in all of which his 
services were prized at their due value, 
"in matters of religion he was also a con- 
scientious worker, and was a charter 
member of the Munn Avenue Presby- 
terian Church. 

Mr. Munn married, in East Orange, 
September 11, 1866, Elizabeth P. Randall, 
a daughter of John Merchant and Abbie 
(Taylor) Randall, and they had children: 
Mary Randall, Huldah, Edward, John 
Randall and Margaret. From his boy- 
hood years Mr. Munn had been a great 
lover of out-door sports of every kind, 
and of the study of nature. His fondness 
for the last mentioned was evinced in his 
later years in his garden, whose beauty 
attracted attention from far and near. 
He was noted for his wonderful memory 
which enabled him to keep the studies 



of his earlier years fresh in his mind, and 
he was able to refer to them with the 
greatest ease. Mr. Munn won notable 
triumphs at the bar, and high honors in 
public life, and in private life he gained 
that warm personal regard which arises 
from true nobility of character, deference 
for the opinions of others, kindliness and 
geniality. His conversation was enlivened 
by wit and repartee that made him a fas- 
cinating companion. He inspired friend- 
ships of unusual strength, and all who 
knew him had the highest admiration for 
his good qualities of mind and heart. 



HENRY, Evan James, 

Attorney-at-Law. 

For forty-three years, from his fiftieth 
to his ninety-third year, Mr. Henry re- 
sided in Princeton, New Jersey, and even 
after he joined the ranks of nonogenari- 
ans, his upright figure was a daily sight 
upon the streets as he walked about, en- 
joying the beautiful views and conversing 
with the friends and acquaintances he 
met. Physical infirmity caused by an 
attack of that dread disease, cholera, 
induced him to leave his chosen profes- 
sion, the law, but in foreign travel and 
in the quiet, healthful surroundings of 
Princeton to which he came with his fam- 
ily in 1866 his health was restored. Edu- 
cated and scholarly in his tastes, friendly 
and companionable in his intercourse 
with his fellow men, he passed the years 
of retirement quietly and happily with 
his family and his friends. He retained 
a keen interest in life until the very last, 
giving little indication of the years he 
was carrying. He followed the daily 
course of events in the Nation and State 
with deep interest, and held decided opin- 
ions upon all questions affecting the pub- 
lic welfare. His friends were many and 
all held him in highest esteem, the years 




Vrv 



^•^ViHY 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



but adding to the affection felt for the 
kindly gentleman, who for so many years 
had lived in their midst, quietly, unobtru- 
sively and honorably. 

Mr. Henry was a representative of the 
third generation of his family in the 
United States, his grandfather, William 
Henry, coming from Ulster. Ireland, in 
[783, and settling in western Pennsylva- 
nia, where he engaged in farming. His 
third son, Thomas Henry, was a soldier 
in the War of 1K12, commanding a com- 
pany of Pennsylvania militia on the Ni- 
agara frontier, aiding in the defense of 
Ptiffalo, in 1814. He had settled at 
Reaver, in Reaver county. Pennsylvania ; 
was editor and publisher of a widely cir- 
culated paper, the "Beaver Argus :" sheriff 
of Beaver county; associate judge of the 
county court, and represented his district 
in Congress for three terms. He married 
Sarah James, daughter of Evan James, of 
Welsh descent and a resident also of 
Reaver county. 

Evan James Henry was born in Reaver 
county, Pennsylvania, May 26. 1816. died 
at his home on Stockton street, Prince- 
ton, New Jersey, July 24, 1909, son of 
Thomas and Sarah (James) Henry. He 
was educated in Reaver Academy and 
Washington (now Washington and Jef- 
ferson) College, beginning later the study 
of law. His legal studies were pursued 
under the preceptorship of Daniel Agnew, 
later a chief justice of Pennsylvania, and 
in 1839 he was duly admitted to practice 
in the Reaver county courts. For a few 
years he practiced at the bar of his native 
county, then removed to Cincinnati, Ohio, 
where he was engaged in practice until 
1855. An attack of cholera had previously 
left him in a weakened condition of body 
and a few years later he decided to cease 
the practice of his profession. He traveled 
in Europe for a time and in 1866 selected 
Princeton, New Jersey, for a permanent 



residence, living there a retired life until 
his death in 1909. 

Mr. Henry married, in September. 1855, 
Lucy Maxwell Rigg, born in Kirkcud- 
bright county, Scotland, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Maxwell) Rigg. 
Children: Thomas M., now engaged in 
the practice of law in Washington, D. C. ; 
Francis M.. of Minneapolis; William, of 
Minneapolis; Sarah, wife of Dr. Caspar 
Wistar Hodge; Caroline; Lucy M.; 
Henry, of Princeton, New Jersey. 



THOMPSON, Charles Henry, M. D., 

Physician, Surgeon, Public Official. 

With the death of the late Dr. Charles 
Henry Thompson, of Relmar, New Jer- 
sey, that town and section of the country 
lost one of its ablest and best beloved 
physicians and surgeons. Rich and poor 
alike sincerely mourned his passing away, 
for, while he was to the former an allevi- 
ator of their physical sufferings, he was 
to the latter a physician, fatherly friend 
and a helper in all periods of distress and 
trouble. His family was an ancient one. 

England and Scotland gave him his 
paternal ancestors. The name was origi- 
nally' Tomson. the first emigrant to this 
country bearing the name, being John 
Tomson, who came prior to 1650 and 
made his home either in Massachusetts 
or Rhode Island. From there he mi- 
grated to New Jersey, where he was one 
of the pioneer settlers. In 1667 he was 
one of the eighty-six original purchasers 
of that part of Monmouth county known 
then as Nawasink, Narumsunk and Poo- 
tapeck. One of his lineal descendants was 

William I. Thompson, born near the 
present town of Freehold, New Jersey, 
March 19, 1779, the grandfather of Dr. 
Charles Henry Thompson, of this sketch. 
All his life was spent in the section of his 
birth, where he was occupied as a farmer. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



His religious faith was that of the Pres- 
byterian denomination. He married, Oc- 
tober 23, 1799, Margaret Denise, and had 
children : Catherine ; Denise, of further 
mention; Joseph C. Cornelia, Sydney, 
William W. 

Denise Thompson, son of William I. 
and Margaret (Denise) Thompson, was 
born in Tennent Parsonage, near Free- 
hold, New Jersey, September 23, 1802. 
He was also a farmer ; at first a staunch 
supporter of Whig principles, he became 
a Republican upon the formation of that 
party ; he was a member of the Dutch 
Reformed church, and a long time its 
treasurer at Freehold. He married, Feb- 
ruary 22, 1826, Cornelia Bergen, a mem- 
ber of an old family, and had children: 
Jacob B., William I., John B., Joseph O, 
Cornelia D., Stephen E., Tunis D., and 
Charles Henry, of further mention. The 
Bergen family came from Holland, where 
Jacob I. Bergen, father of Mrs. Thomp- 
son, was born November 9, 1782, a de- 
scendant of Hans Hansen Bergen, who 
came to America in 1633 and settled on 
Manhattan Island. He married Sara Ra- 
palie, the first white child born to Euro- 
pean parents in the Colony of New 
Netherlands. Jacob I. Bergen married, 
February 4, 1806, Syche Bergen, and they 
had children: Cornelia, mentioned above; 
John W., Abram, Matthew E., Simon H., 
Sarah M. 

Dr. Charles Henry Thompson, son of 
Denise and Cornelia (Bergen) Thomp- 
son, was born near Marlboro, Monmouth 
county, New Jersey, August 23, 1843, ar >d 
died in Belmar, in the same county, De- 
cember 3, 191 2. His preparatory educa- 
tion was acquired in the old Freehold 
Academy, conducted at Freehold. New 
Jersey, by Professor William W. Wood- 
hull, and he then became a student at 
Rutgers College in i860, and was gradu- 
ated from this institution in the class of 



1864. Having decided to make the medi- 
cal profession his lifework, he commenced 
reading medicine under the preceptorship 
of Dr. John Vought, of Freehold, and 
pursued his studies at the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons in the city of 
New York, a part of what is now Colum- 
bia University, and was graduated with 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine, Febru- 
ary 28, 1868. He commenced the active 
practice of his profession at Rosemont. 
Hunterdon county, New Jersey, remain- 
ing there for a period of four years, when 
he practiced in New York two years, then 
four years in South Amboy, New Jersey, 
and finally made a permanent location at 
Belmar, Monmouth county, New Jersey, 
with which town he was identified until 
his death. He kept well abreast of the 
times in medical progress, holding the 
wise opinion that a physician should 
never cease to be a student, and was 
faithful to this principle all through his 
life. He was frequently called in consul- 
tation by others in the medical profession, 
and established for himself an enviable 
reputation as a physician and surgeon, 
and as a citizen of the highest standard. 
While he ever gave his staunch and con- 
sistent support to the Republican party, 
he never sought office. He was, however, 
obliged to yield to the repeated solicita- 
tions of his party, and became its nominee 
for Assembly in 1890, but as the Demo- 
cratic party was overwhemingly large, he 
was defeated. Later he served two terms 
as president of the borough commission 
of Ocean Beach, and two terms of two 
years each, as mayor of Belmar, greatly 
to the benefit of those communities. In 
matters connected with religion he was a 
leading spirit. He was one of the organ- 
izers, and the first senior warden of the 
Holy Apostles' Protestant Episcopal 
Church at Belmar, and when the church 
was dedicated, as incumbent of the office 







//y 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he held, it fell to his lot to present the 
church to the bishop of the diocese. lie 
was connected with a number of fraternal 
organizations, holding especially high 
rank in the Masonic fraternity. Among 
those with which he was affiliated were : 
Ocean Lodge, No. 89, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Goodwin Chapter, No. 36, Royal 
Arch Masons; Corson Commandery, No. 
15, Knights Templar; Mecca Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of New York City ; Im- 
proved Order of Red Men, of Belmar. 

Dr. Thompson married. May 23, 1865, 
Rhoda Ann Holmes, a daughter of Sam- 
uel and Marietta (Wiley) Holmes, of 
Pleasant Valley, New York. One child 
blessed this union: Fred V., born Sep- 
tember 12, 1866, a well known physician 
of New Jersey, who commenced his prac- 
tice at Asbury Park, and is continuing it 
at Belmar, New Tersev. 



LYONS, Lewis James, 

Manufacturer, Inventor, Financier. 

The title of "an upright business man" 
is one of the most honorable that can be 
borne. It is a distinction won in a war- 
fare, and against temptations, that can 
only exist in a business career. Not many 
come through a protracted course un- 
scathed and untainted, and it is an occa- 
sion for congratulation that the business 
history of Newark, New Jersey, shows 
a long list of men who have honored 
their occupations by pure lives and honest 
business principles, up to which they have 
lived to the best of their ability. It is 
men like the late Lewis James Lyons who 
are intelligent factors in every undertak- 
ing and who help to develop the success 
of all large cities and the country in gen- 
eral. He belongs to that distinctively 
;epresentative class of men who promote 
public progress in advancing individual 
prosperity, and whose private interests 



never preclude participation in move- 
ments and measures which further the 
general good. The ancestors of Mr. 
Lyons, both paternal and maternal, were 
patriotic and intelligent people, one of 
them being an officer in the Army of 
Cromwell in England, and another, the 
well known hero of Bohemia, Frederick 
Matthias, was a defender of the Protes- 
tant faith in the Thirty Years' War. 

Lewis James Lyons was born in Hali- 
fax, Nova Scotia, November 7, 1815, and 
died in his home in Newark, October 31, 
1897. He was an infant at the time of 
the death of his parents and, while rela- 
tives in London expressed a strong desire 
to have the child sent to that country, he 
was taken by maternal relatives to Bos- 
ton, and there given an excellent educa- 
tion. This would have included further 
instruction in higher institutions of learn- 
ing, but the mind of Mr. Lyons was bent 
in another direction, and it has been well 
for the world in general that he was per- 
mitted to follow his natural inclinations. 
He was still a young lad when he left 
Boston for New York City, then, at the 
expiration of two years, went to Strouds- 
burg, Pennsylvania, where he lived for a 
time. The next scenes of his industry 
were in succession, Providence, Rhode 
Island: Paterson, New Jersey; Brook- 
lyn, New York ; gathering general knowl- 
edge of men and industries of various 
kinds in all of these places. He finally, 
in 1845, established a residence in New- 
ark, in which the remainder of his life 
was spent. He was one of the first to 
open boiler works in Newark, and, as he 
was an inventor, as well as a manufac- 
turer, the output from his plant was in 
great demand. It was as an inventor 
that Mr. Lyons became acquainted with 
Seth Boyden, and in response to his 
appeals established his factories in New- 
ark. It was Mr. Lyons who made the 
first application of steam as a motive 



203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



power for a fire engine, and world rec- 
ords show the value of this idea. He was 
a man of brilliant ideas in many direc- 
tions, but the introduction of these fre- 
quently met with the greatest opposition 
at the first. A case in point is the pay- 
ing of the workmen in cash instead of 
with orders upon the stores, as had been 
the custom for many years. Other em- 
ployers did their utmost to prevent this 
idea from being carried into effect, but 
results proved the wisdom of it, and the 
very men who were the strongest oppo- 
nents later adopted it. As an inventor, 
the counsel of Mr. Lyons was often 
sought by other inventors and industrial 
workers. His boiler works were among 
the most successful industries of the city, 
and his humane and conscientious treat- 1 
ment of those in his employ kept him 
very generally free from the troubles 
which are apt to beset those in. control 
of large plants. He was connected offi- 
cially, and otherwise, with many enter- 
prises of importance, among them being: 
The Merchants' Insurance Company, in 
which he was a director for more than a 
quarter of a century ; one of the founders, 
and a director, in the North Ward Bank ; 
vice-president in the Citizens' Insurance 
Company and the People's Savings Bank, 
of Newark. In political matters Mr. 
Lyons was a staunch Democrat, and had 
no sympathy for the cause of the Civil 
War. However, he was essentially a just 
and fair-minded man, and would allow no 
destruction of property of adherents of 
either side, if it lay in his power to pre- 
vent it. On one occasion, he prevented a 
mob from destroying the property of a 
friend who was a Republican and a 
Unionist, and on another, his popularity 
prevented the destruction of his own 
property. He saved one of the local 
banks from a panic which had arisen, by 
supplying it with finances from his pri- 
vate bank, and thus prevented the closing 



of its doors. It was one ofhis fixed prin- 
ciples never to purchase or contract for 
anything for which he could not pay, and 
this principle he instilled thoroughly into 
the minds of his children. At various 
times he was offered public office, but he 
invariably refused, holding that he was 
best serving the interests of the commu- 
nity by devoting his time and attention to 
furthering industrial prosperity. His fra- 
ternal affiliation was with St. John's 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. He 
had been born and reared in the faith of 
the Church of England, but upon attain- 
ing maturity, joined the Methodist 
church, of which he was a member until 
ten years prior to his death when he be- 
came a Presbyterian. For many years he 
was one of the leaders in the Union Street 
Methodist Episcopal Church, gave freely 
of his time, means and personal efforts, 
and it is largely owing to his instrumen- 
tality that the present house of worship 
was erected. He was also one of the or- 
ganizers and founders of St. Paul's 
Methodist Episcopal Church of Newark. 
The cause of education had in him an 
ardent supporter, and he was equally 
generous in maintaining institutions of 
art and literature. His simple and un- 
affected nature delighted in the works of 
nature, to which his beautiful home at 
Belmar, New Jersey, testifies, as does his 
winter home in North Carolina. 

Mr. Lyons married, in 1836, Mary A., 
a daughter of J. Farrel Ward, of New 
York City, a descendant of a number of 
old and honorable families of England, 
among whom were the Dudleys, Cun- 
ninghams and Peytons. They had a num- 
ber of children, the four youngest being: 
Hannah M., Bertha E. C, Isabella G. and 
Frederick M. 

A vigilant and attentive observer of 
men and measures, the opinions of Mr. 
Lyons were recognized as sound and his 
views as broad, therefore carrying weight 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with those with whom he discussed pub- 
lic problems. He possessed a genial na- 
ture which recognized and appreciated 
the good in others and drew around him 
a large circle of friends. The success 
which he gained was of a character not 
to be measured by financial prosperity 
alone, but also by the kindly amenities 
and congenial associations which go to 
satisfy man's nature. No good work 
done in the name of charity or religion 
sought his cooperation in vain, and in his 
work of this character he brought to bear 
the same discrimination and thorough- 
no- which were so strikingly manifest 
in his business life. 



MARTIN, Isaac, 

Quaker Preacher. 

Among those earnest itinerant preach- 
ers called Quakers who in the eighteenth 
and nineteenth centuries traveled the 
highways and byways of New Jersey was 
Isaac Martin. The journal of his "Life, 
Travels, Labors and Religious Exercises" 
was published at Philadelphia in 1834. 

The published journals of the old-time 
Quaker preachers are as a rule note- 
worthy for good English. Written with 
no desire to draw the praise of men or 
to conform to the canons of "polite litera- 
ture," they reveal at least a taste for the 
elegance of simplicity. John Woolman's 
journal was formerly used to instruct in 
good English the students of Princeton. 
Doubtless Woolman, had he lived to 
know this fact, would have sat long for 
light before he could decide whether or 
not such use of his testimony was accord- 
ing to the leadings of truth. It may be 
said also of the journals of the Friends 
that though they were not compiled for 
human or historical interest, yet the 
thoughtful reader finds much of human 
interest in them, and the delver after orig- 
inal sources discovers much of historical 



value. Occasionally some historical in- 
cident is thrown into the narratives stand- 
ing out the clearer for being set in the 
language employed. 

Isaac Martin dwelt at Rahway, which 
even as late as 1834 (as may be seen on the 
title page of the book) was designated as 
being in East Jersey. From Rahway he 
went forth from time to time on his 
preaching tours, visiting many localities 
in New Jersey and sometimes going to 
New England and to the Southern States. 

Isaac Martin was born in New York 
City, January 16, 1758. His father, Isaac, 
was a Friend. Martin became appren- 
ticed to a hatter, and learned that trade. 
Like John Woolman, he believed that 
only "plain hats" should be worn. Dur- 
ing the Revolutionary War he left the 
city and dwelt for a time with a relative. 
On April 12, 1780, he married Elizabeth 
Delaplaine, of New York. He moved to 
Rahway in September, 1784. He signed 
his name to a little treatise on "Silent 
Worship'' on September 27, 1819, with 
the address Bridgetown, Rahway, East 
New Jersey. He died August 9, 1828. 

Princeton Theological Seminary last 
year celebrated its centennial annivers- 
ary. There were exercises, addresses and 
congratulations. Tribute was paid the 
institution for its work for the cause of 
religion. The Friend preacher, Isaac 
Martin, had visited Princeton during No- 
vember, 1817. His thoughtful eye caught 
sight of the then new seminary building, 
and he was led to comment in his journal 
upon its use and purpose. "At this place," 
he said, "they have lately erected a large 
building called Theological Hall, intended 
to prepare young men for preaching." It 
seemed to the earnest Quaker like a relic 
of medieval darkness which he thought 
"in the Lord's time will be scattered by 
the arising of pure, evangelical light, 
which only can qualify sons and daugh- 
ters to preach the plain doctrines of 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Christianity." "There is no need," con- 
tinued Martin, "of learning Latin, Greek 
and Hebrew in order to enable preachers 
to address the people in a manner adapted 
to their understandings." 

That solid old Princeton Seminary 
should once have seemed an innovation 
and dangerous to evangelical piety may- 
seem odd to modern readers, but if his- 
tory teaches anything it teaches that all 
new movements are subject to honest 
doubt. J. F. F. 



WALSH, Charles E., 

Business Man, Esteemed Citizen. 

It is not necessary that the man who 
achieves wealth be made of sterner stuff 
than his fellow men, but there are certain 
indispensable characteristics that contrib- 
ute to the prosperity of the individual, 
and these are energy, determination and 
the ability to recognize and improve op- 
portunities. These qualities were cardi- 
nal elements in the character of Charles 
E. Walsh, of Hackensack, New Jersey, 
whose recent death was a severe blow to 
the entire city. He was the son of Benja- 
min and Elizabeth (Miller) Walsh, the 
former a large brick manufacturer in the 
town of New Windsor, New York. 

Charles E. Walsh was born in Monroe, 
Orange county, New York, January 30, 
1848, and received a sound and practical 
education in the public schools of that 
section of the country. Immediately after 
completing his education, he entered the 
business of his father and was associated 
with him until the year 1881 at the time 
of his father's death. He then founded a 
brick making plant of his own in Little 
Ferry, New Jersey, associating himself in 
partnership with Louis K. Brower, the 
firm being known as Walsh & Brower, 
and this was successfully operated for a 
number of years when Mr. Walsh took 
over the entire business himself and con- 



tinued in it until 1910, in which year Mr. 
Walsh retired from the responsibilities of 
a business life. As a business man he 
took high rank for the progressive 
methods he favored, and he introduced 
many new ideas. 

Mr. Walsh married, December 12, 1883, 
Ella M., a daughter of Charles A. and 
Sarah (Bacon) Smith, old residents of 
Newburgh, New York, and they have had 
children: Edna E., born March 25, 1886, 
who died in infancy ; Charles E., born 
November 28, 1888, who married Mabel 
Sigler, of Paterson, New Jersey, issue — 
Virginia M. ; Mabel C, born November 
6, 1889; Jerome E., born October 28, 
1890, who died at the age of six and one- 
half years ; and David St. John, born 
March 11, 1897. All the children except 
the first mentioned were born in Hacken- 
sack, New Jersey. 

The death of Mr. Walsh, which oc- 
curred June 4, 1912, was deeply deplored 
in many circles. He was not alone a lov- 
ing husband, a devoted father, but the 
poor and helpless had in him a constant 
and generous friend. He donated liberal- 
ly to charities of every description, and 
gave personal effort as well as financial 
aid. 

In politics he was a member of the Re- 
publican party. He was always keenly 
interested as a voter in the selection of 
representative men to represent the people 
in town, county, State and government 
positions, but never sought office himself. 
He and his family attended the Methodist 
church. His fraternal affiliations con- 
sisted of membership in the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Hacken- 
sack Wheelmen, the American Mechanics, 
the Exempt Firemen of Hackensack. 

In business matters he was courageous 
and energetic, and his fidelity to principle 
and his earnestness of endeavor were fre- 
quently the subject of comment in his 
wide acquaintance. 



206 




6A*r/^ 6 WZ&A 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ROEBLING, Ferdinand W., 

Man of Large Affairs. 

The career of the late Ferdinand \V. 
Koebling, who served in the capacity of 
treasurer and general manager of the 
John A. Roebling Sons Company, builders 
of the Brooklyn Bridge and other great 
structures, and widely known in the wire 
rope industry, illustrates in a forceful 
manner what can be accomplished by 
men of the stamp of Mr. Roebling. He 
was a capable, conscientious and genuine 
captain of industry, conservative, yet 
keenly alive to every improvement for 
advancing along progressive lines the in- 
dustries that fell to his management, and 
to what extent the history of the imperial 
commercial growth of the United States 
is indebted to men of the character and 
energy possessed by Mr. Roebling would 
be difficult indeed to estimate. 

Ferdinand W. Roebling was one of the 
four sons of John A. Roebling, the foun- 
der of the house that bears his name, a 
full account of whom appears in Volume 
II of this work. He was born at Saxon- 
burg, Butler county, Pennsylvania, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1842, and when he was seven 
years of age his parents removed to Tren- 
ton, New Jersey, in which city he spent 
the remainder of his days. He received 
his education in the Polytechnic College, 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and during 
his course specialized in chemistry. 
About the close of the Civil War, he as- 
sumed the general management of the 
John A. Roebling Sons Company, at 
Trenton, the business being established 
at Saxonburg in 1840 by his father, who 
transferred the plant to Trenton in 1848, 
erecting a house for his family at the 
side of the manufacturing plant, which 
they occupied until 1857, when they re- 
moved to another section of the city and 
their home became the office of the com- 
pany. The John A. Roebling Sons Com- 



pany is the most extensive of its kind in 
the world, its product consisting of iron, 
steel, copper and brass wire, wire rope, 
electric cables and modern wire goods. 
It has for many years been closely con- 
nected, either through building entirely 
or furnishing material, with the great 
suspension bridges of the United States, 
completing the cables for the East River 
suspension bridges, and the magnificent 
New York and Brooklyn Bridge, considered 
the most impressively beautiful bridge 
in the world, is a monument to its de- 
signer, John A. Roebling, who suggested 
and developed this daring engineering 
feat. The submarine cables connecting 
America and Europe carry copper con- 
ductors turned out at the Trenton works, 
and enough wire is manufactured in the 
works every day, of all kinds, to reach 
twice around the world. They also turn 
out a vast amount of telegraph wire, suf- 
ficient for a man to make five railroad 
trips from the Atlantic to the Pacific, each 
by a different route, and never lose sight 
of the product of this plant which is 
strung on the myriad poles alongside of 
the parallels of steel over which rolls the 
commerce of this wonderful country. The 
disposition of such a vast output calls for 
extensive commercial arrangements in all 
parts of the United States and abroad, all 
of which, in addition to the manufactur- 
ing side, were under the direct manage- 
ment of Mr. Roebling from his business 
office in the city of Trenton. When Mr. 
Roebling assumed charge of the Trenton 
works, the total annual output did not ex- 
ceed two hundred and fifty thousand dol- 
lars, and at the present time (1917) it 
averages each year many million dollars. 
He was one of the first to appreciate the 
importance of electrical development, and 
outside of the branch of his Trenton 
manufacture which enters into the elec- 
trical field, that of electrical conductors 
being the largest part of the product, he 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



became an active director in a number of 
electrical and allied manufacturing com- 
panies, becoming responsibly identified 
with concerns engaged purely in manu- 
facturing, which furnish employment 
for thousands of people, and which have 
an output of millions of dollars annually. 
In addition to this he served in an official 
capacity in the Wirecloth Company, as 
president of the Union Mills Paper Manu- 
facturing Company, as vice-president of 
the Syracuse, Rochester & Eastern Rail- 
way Company, and as a director in the 
Mechanics' National Bank of Trenton. 
Mechanics' and Metals National Bank of 
New York, the Otis Elevator Company, 
Mercer Automobile Company, Trenton 
Street Railway Company, the Interstate 
Railway Company, Trenton Brass and 
Machine Company, and the Standard Fire 
Insurance Company. 

Mr. Roebling always took particular 
pride in the fact that so many of his staff 
and so many workmen remained with 
him for long periods, this fact amply tes- 
tifying to the interest he ever manifested 
in their welfare, and in return they were 
loyal and faithful to his interests, and dur- 
ing his almost half a century of steward- 
ship at Trenton but one disagreement oc- 
curred, and that a small strike in a minor 
department, and for a short period only. 
There grew up around him family after 
family of industrious, skilled artisans, in 
several instances three generations being 
in the employ of his company. One of 
the characteristics of Mr. Roebling, which 
was also possessed by his father and by 
his brothers, was that of investigating be- 
fore believing, taking nothing for granted. 
He was a quiet, thoughtful man, thorough 
master of every essential detail of his ex- 
tensive manufacturing interests, yet al- 
ways finding time to keep in touch with 
the commerce of the world through his 
various established offices in all the for- 
eign capitals. One singular fact about 



Mr. Roebling was that he never crossed 
the ocean, it being particularly noticeable 
from the fact that he was a man of such 
vast interests, stretching to all parts of 
the world. He was the possessor of a 
fine library of technical books, covering 
a wide range of subjects, which he often 
consulted, and he also had a particularly 
fine collection of books on ceramics and 
decorative ware, a study naturally sug- 
gested by the position of Trenton as the 
center of the pottery industry of the 
United States. Mr. Roebling served as 
president of the board of trustees of the 
Public Library of Trenton. He was a 
devotee of open-air exercise, and he spent 
a portion of each year in out-door sports, 
having been particularly fond of duck 
shooting. The following paragraph is 
taken from the November, 1902, issue of 
the "Cosmopolitan Magazine,": "Mr. 
Roebling, in his earnest, yet progressive, 
everyday life, developing the interests of 
his companies, and giving increasing em- 
ployment and advantages to thousands 
and tens of thousands, has erected a 
monument to himself and his character 
as noble and imperishable as any of the 
great engineering achievements with 
which the name of his family has been 
identified." He was a member of the 
Union League and Engineers' Club. 

Mr. Roebling married Margaret Gatz- 
mer Allison, who bore him four children : 
Karl G., married Blanche D. Estabrook; 
Ferdinand W., Jr., married Ruth Met- 
calf; Margaret, became the wife of Dr. 
F. V. C. Perrine ; Augusta Henrietta, 
who became the wife of William T. 
White. Mr. Roebling died at his home in 
Trenton, March 17, 1917. In addition to 
his four children, he is survived by three 
brothers: Charles G. Roebling, president 
of the John A. Roebling Sons Company ; 
Colonel Washington A. Roebling, of 
Trenton, and Edward Roebling, of New 
York. 



A A 




Plymouth Rock, the granite 30u lder The Stepping Stone'ofthe 
Pilgrims. dec 21 1620. still occupies the same posi tiOn atthe 
footofabluff of la no. about 20 feet high. known in history 
as "Coles Hill", it being a part of seven acresof land granted 

bythecourt, ad is37 to james thefirstofthecoles family from 
england to landin ply mouth. a d 1630 





■&06j. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



COLES, Jonathan Ackerman, 

Physician, Surgeon, Philanthropist. 

Jonathan Ackerman Coles, A. B., A. M., 
M. D., LL. D., the only son of Abraham 
and Caroline E. (Ackerman) Coles, was 
born in Newark, New Jersey, May 6, 1843, 
in "The Coles Homestead Building," 222 
Market street, purchased by his father in 
1842. Here also was born their daugh- 
ter, Emilie S. Coles, February 8, 1845. 
The Coles Homestead, kept in perfect re- 
pair, is still occupied by Dr. Coles and his 
sister when in Newark — the parlor floor, 
consisting of seven rooms, being reserved 
for said purpose, and the remainder of 
the building being now rented for offices. 

Dr. Coles was prepared for college at the 
Collegiate School of Forest and Quacken- 
bos in New York City, where he was 
awarded the prizes for proficiency in Ger- 
man and rhetoric. In i860 he entered the 
freshman class of Columbia College, New 
York. In his senior year, by the unanimous 
decision of Professor Charles Davies, Pro- 
fessor Murray Nairne and Professor Wil- 
liam G. Peck, he received the Philolexian 
prize for the best essay. He was gradu- 
ated in 1864, and in 1867 received the de- 
gree of Master of Arts, and in 1903 the 
honorary degree of Doctor of Laws from 
Hope College, Holland, Michigan. After 
graduation he began the study of medi- 
cine and surgery in the office of his father 
in Newark, New Jersey, and, after ma- 
triculating at the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons in New York City, he be- 
came also a student of Professor T. Gail- 
lard Thomas. At the annual commence- 
ment of the College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons, in 1867, he received from Professor 
Alonzo Clark the Harsen prize (a parch- 
ment diploma, a bronze medal, and three 
hundred dollars cash) for the best written 
clinical report of the year of the medical 
and surgical cases in the New York Hos- 
pital. He graduated with honor in 1868. 

N J-i-U 2t 



and after serving in the New York, Belle- 
vue and Charity hospitals, opened an office 
in the City of New York, becoming a mem- 
ber of the New York Academy of Medicine 
and the New Yurk County Medical Soci- 
ety. The years of 1877 and 1878 he spent 
for the must part in Europe, attending 
lectures and clinics at the universities and 
hospitals in London, Edinburgh, Paris, 
1 leidelberg, Berlin, and Vienna. While 
at Edinburgh he was a guest of Professor 
Simpson. At Paris he was the guest of 
his father's friend and classmate in col- 
lege, Dr. J. Marion Sims. At Munich, 
Bavaria, in company with Dr. Sims, he 
attended the meetings of the International 
Medical Congress, and by invitation par- 
ticipated in the honors bestowed upon this 
distinguished American surgeon, whose 
excellent full length bronze statue now 
adorns Bryant Park in the City of New 
York. After visiting Syria, Palestine and 
Egypt he returned home and became asso- 
ciated with his father in the practice of 
his profession. 

In 1891 Dr. Coles was elected president 
of the Union County (New Jersey) Medi- 
cal Society. He is a member of the Amer- 
ican Medical Association; the New Jer- 
sey County and State Medical Societies ; 
the New York County and State Medical 
Societies ; is a fellow of the Metropolitan 
Museum of Art, New York City; is a 
member of the New York Historical Soci- 
ety ; is a patron and trustee of the New 
Jersey Historical Society ; is a member 
of the Washington Association of Morris- 
town, New Jersey ; is one of the founders 
of the Valley Forge Library ; is a member 
of the National Geographic Society ; is an 
honorary regent of Lincoln Memorial 
University ; is an honorary member of the 
Newark Museum of Art; a member of 
the International Anglo-Saxon Society of 
London, Copenhagen and New York; is 
an honorary vice-president of the Amer- 
ican Tract Society ; is a life director of the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



American Bible Society ; and is one of the 
board of advisors of the Canton Christian 
College, Canton, China; and holds other 
positions of trust. He has contributed to 
the press, has published articles on medi- 
cal and educational subjects, and has 
edited some new editions of his father's 
works. 

Dr. Coles has given many classical 
works in bronze and marble to the educa- 
tional and public buildings in Newark, 
New York, and elsewhere. The New 
Jersey Historical Society, the Free Public 
Library, the High School, the Academy, 
the City Hall and the Post Office in New- 
ark, have been especially benefited there- 
by. He contributed for permanent im- 
provements one thousand dollars toward 
the celebration of the two hundred and 
fiftieth anniversary of the founding of 
Newark (A. D. 1666-1916). 

Referring to some bronzes given by Dr. 
Coles to Columbia University, the Hon. 
Seth Low, its president, wrote December 
16, 1896: 

My Dear Dr. Coles: 

I have just seen the bronzes in the Library. 
They are beautiful, and I am very sure that they 
will be accepted with gratitude. I had the pleasure 
of telling the Alumni last evening of your gener- 
osity, and in due time you will receive the formal 
thanks of the trustees. The Alumni received the 
announcement with applause. 

Yours faithfully, Seth Low, President. 

Mr. John B. Pine, clerk, wrote : 

EXTRACT FROM THE MINUTES. 
Resolved: That the thanks of the trustees be 
tendered to Dr. J. Ackerman Coles for the most 
welcome and valuable gifts to the University of 
several bronze busts, handsomely and appropri- 
ately mounted: 

1. A copy of the Olympian Zeus by Phidias. 

2. A copy of the bust said to be that of Plato, 
found in the house of the Papyri, Herculanium. 

3. A copy of the Hermes of Praxiteles, found 
in the temple of Hera, in Olympia. 



A true copy. 
[Seal.] 



John B. Pine, Clerk. 



To the College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons, New York, Dr. Coles has given 
two valuable bronzes cast at the Barbe- 
dienne foundry in France. One is a copy 
of the "Dying Gaul," or "The Gladiator," 
found in the garden of Sallust, which, 
with its right arm restored by Michael 
Angelo, is now in the Museum of the 
Capitol in Rome. The other is a copy 
of the bust of ^sculapius in the Museum 
of the Louvre in Paris. Both, appropri- 
ately and elegantly mounted by Tiffany 
& Company, have places in the trustees' 
parlor in the college. By reason of its 
grace and realistic anatomical accuracy, 
"The Dying Gaul" has always been re- 
garded as the masterpiece of the Perga- 
menian school in sculpture, forming as it 
did with its companion piece, "The Fight- 
ing Gaul," the chief adornments of the 
triumphal monument erected in the sec- 
ond century, B. C, to the memory of 
Attalus II., in Pergamos, Asia Minor, 
then at the zenith of its glory as a centre 
of art, wealth and influence. 

The Princeton University is the owner 
of the original life-size Carrara marble 
statue of "Nydia," by Randolph Rogers. 
It was executed by Rogers at Rome, 
Italy, in 1856. Subsequently other copies 
were made ; one was at the "Centennial 
Exposition," and another in the A. T. 
Stewart collection. To this idealization 
of the blind girl of Pompeii is attributed 
Rogers's fame as an artist and sculptor, 
securing for him the commission to de- 
sign (1858) the bronze doors for the 
Capitol in Washington, D. C, and to 
finish the Washington monument at Rich- 
mond, Virginia (1861). "The American 
Register," Paris, France, in referring to 
this gift of Dr. Coles, said : "The original 
statue of 'Nydia' was given to Princeton 
University in appreciation of the mutual 
regard which for more than fifty years 
existed between the trustees, faculty, and 














6j&4 


— — rrsfrrrn wmrp\ 


\ 


y 


■ 




m 





m 



«*""***. 







The Coles Homestead 

IO. 222 MARKET STREET. N E WA R K. N E Vv J E R 

1842 — 19 15 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



instructors of the College, and the donor's 
father, the late Abraham Coles, M. D., 
Ph. D., LL. D." 

The Rev. Francis S. Patton, D. D., 
LL. D., acknowledged the gift as follows: 

Princeton, N. J., Aug. 3rd, 1896. 
To Dr. J. Ackerman Coles, 

Deerhurst, Scotch Plains, N. J.: 

At the meeting of the board of trustees of the 
College of New Jersey, held during Commence- 
ment Week, in June last, I had the pleasure of 
reporting to them that I had received in behalf 
of the College, from you, the beautiful marble 
statue of "Nydia," which you so kindly presented 
to the College in memory of your father, the late 
Dr. Abraham Coles. 

The gift was very gratefully received by the 
trustees, and 1 was requested in their behalf to 
write to you expressing the very cordial thanks 
of the trustees for the beautiful statue which now 
adorns the Museum of Historic Art. I have 
great pleasure in discharging the duty assigned 
to me by the trustees. "Nydia" will always be 
associated in our minds with the memory of your 
gifted father, and I venture to hope that the com- 
mon interest which you and we have in this 
masterpiece of the sculptor's art will constitute 
a strong bond between you and Princeton Uni- 
versity. 

The "New York Tribune," in speaking 
of a gift to Harvard University, said : 

Dr. J. Ackerman Coles, of Newark, whose gifts 
of valuable art objects to educational and public 
bodies have been generous, and who lately gave 
to Chicago University an heroic bust of Homer, 
has just presented to Harvard University a life- 
size bronze bust of Socrates, in memory of his 
father, Dr. Abraham Coles, of Newark, a well- 
known classical scholar and author. The donor, 
in giving the bronze to Harvard, said he desired 
it to be a reminder of the friendly relations that 
existed between his father and the officers, pro- 
fessors and graduates of Harvard, especially 
President Thomas Hill, Henry Wadsworth Long- 
fellow, James Russell Lowell, and Oliver Wendell 
Holmes. 

President Charles W. Eliot, LL. D., 

wrote : 



Dr. J. Ackerman Coles: 
Dear Sir: 

Your letter is just received. I hasten to say 
that the gift of the bronze bust of Socrates, with 
its marble pedestal will be very welcome to Har- 
vard University. 1 am obliged to you for saying 
that this valuable gift is intended as a reminder 
of the friendly relations which existed for many 
years between your father and the distinguished 
men whose names you record. Your letter will 
be deposited in the archives of the University. 
Believe me with high regard. 

Sincerely yours, Charles \V. Eliot. 

The life-size Carrara marble group rep- 
resenting "Hagar and Ishmael in the Wil- 
derness of Beersheba," the masterpiece 
executed by Alessandro F. Cavazza in 
Modena, Italy, in 1872, is a gift of Dr. 
Coles to the Dutch Reformed Theological 
Seminary at New Brunswick, New Jersey. 
The "New York Christian Intelligencer," 
in referring thereto, says, "Ishmael in his 
utter weakness has loosened his hold on 
Hagar's neck, and has fallen back, appar- 
ently lifeless across her left knee. The 
relaxed muscles of the lad, his death-like 
countenance, the agonized look of his 
mother, and the minute details of finished 
expression, show the artist to have pos- 
sessed the skill and knowledge (anatomi- 
cal and ecclesiastical) requisite for its 
accurate portrayal." President Wood- 
bridge was authorized to accept the gift, 
and to assure the donor, on behalf of the 
board of superintendents and the faculty 
that the gift would be highly appreciated. 
Later he received the following: 

GENERAL SYNOD, REFORMED CHURCH 

IN AMERICA. 

Raritan, New Jersey, June n, 1897. 

I have been directed by the General Synod to 

forward to you a copy of the following action, 

taken at its recent session held at Asbury Park, 

New Jersey : 

"Resolved, That the General Synod of the Re- 
formed Church in America, hereby assures Dr. 
J. Ackerman Coles * * * that the gift of 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



statuary representing Hagar and Ishmael is fully 
appreciated, and that the thanks of the Synod is 
hereby tendered to the generous donor." 
Respectfully, 

William De Hart, 
Stated Clerk. 

The Rev. John H. Vincent, D. D., LL. 
J)., bishop of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and chancellor of Chautauqua 
University, of which he was the founder, 
wrote to Dr. Coles from Chautauqua on 
July 14, 1897, that a telegram had just 
been sent by him to the "New York Tri- 
bune," stating that a beautiful bronze 
life-size bust of Beethoven, with its mar- 
ble pedestal, had been received as a gift 
from Dr. J. Ackerman Coles, of New 
York, and was greatly appreciated by the 
university. Subsequently Chancellor Dr. 
Vincent wrote to Dr. Coles: 

In connection with a great amphitheatre con- 
cert at Chautauqua under the direction of Dr. 
Palmer, the bronze bust of Beethoven was un- 
veiled. Just before the unveiling, President G. 
Stanley Hall, of Clark University, delivered an 
address on music. As the veil was lifted, the 
amphitheatre gave the splendid Chautauqua 
salute in honor of Beethoven, and in recognition 
of Dr. Coles. Immediately following this, Mr. 
William H. Sherwood gave a piano solo, the "So- 
nata Apassionata," by Beethoven. The per- 
formance was brilliant, and the Chautauqua 
salute was also given to Professor Sherwood. 

In August, 1897, George Williamson 
Smith, D. D., LL. D., president of Trin- 
ity College, Hartford, Connecticut, wrote 
to Dr. Coles as follows: "A letter just 
received from Bishop Williams informs 
me of your kind offer to present to Trin- 
ity College a life-size bronze bust of Mo- 
zart. We shall be very glad to have such 
a valuable addition to our collection of 
objects of art, and place it in Alumni 
Hall, where the portraits of benefactors 
and presidents are hung." Later Dr. 
Smith wrote: "The boxes containing the 
bronze bust of Mozart and its marble 



pedestal have been opened, and the work 
is placed in Alumni Hall, where it attracts 
attention and awakens just admiration." 

President Merrill E. Gates, Ph. D., L. 
H. D., LL. D., on receipt of a gift from 
Dr. Coles of a life-size bronze bust of 
Virgil for Amherst College, wrote : "It 
has great and exceptional value in itself, 
and coming from you as a gift in memory 
of your father, his regard for Amherst 
College and his relations with us in the 
past, it will have a double value." 

A life-size bronze bust of George Wash- 
ington, by Jean Antoine Houdon, a gift 
of Dr. Coles, is at Mount Vernon, in the 
home of Washington, where the artist 
spent three weeks taking measurements 
and casts for the full length marble statue, 
ordered by the Legislature for the State 
of Virginia, and now in the State House 
at Richmond. 

Says the "Morris County Chronicle:" 
"At Washington's Headquarters, Morris- 
town, New Jersey, Washington's birth- 
day was celebrated February 22, 1898. 
Austin Scott, LL. D., President of Rut- 
gers College, New Brunswick, New Jer- 
sey, delivered an able address on Wash- 
ington, after which Jonathan W. Roberts, 
President of the Association, announced 
the receipt of a valuable bronze from Dr. 
J. Ackerman Coles and called upon the 
donor for some remarks concerning the 
same. Dr. Coles replied: 

As executor of the estate of my father, the late 
Dr. Abraham Coles, I would have been derelict 
in the discharge of my duty if, in the distribution 
of works of art to the various institutions of 
learning he loved, I had omitted to remember 
Washington's Headquarters at Morristown, New 
Jersey, a building which is said to have sheltered 
more statesmen, military and naval heroes con- 
nected with our war for independence than any 
other home in America; the home where for 
many months Martha Washington, as hostess, 
hospitably entertained her husband's guests ; 
where Alexander Hamilton, during the winter of 




s 



O a 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1/70, met, laid siege to, and won the heart of the 
daughter of General Schuyler; where from time 
to time gathered members of the Continental Con- 
gress; in front of which mansion, Washington's 
bodyguard of one hundred Virginians kept watch 
day and night. In every room and on every wall 
are objects of historic interest. Therefore, Mr. 
President, I esteem it a privilege and a pleasure 
to be permitted to add something thereto, and as 
a member of the Washington Association, in 
memory of my father, the late Dr. Abraham 
Coles, I now proffer for your acceptance the 
bronze medallion bearing the stamp of Tiffany 
and Company, representing in bas-relief, life- 
size portraits of George Washington, Abraham 
Lincoln, and Ulysses S. Grant, entitled "Tri- 
umviri Americani," and designated also, respec- 
tively, Pater, 1 780- 1793 — Sal vator, 1861-1865 — 
Custos, 1860-1873. (Father. Savior and Pre- 
server ) 

Upon vote the gift was unanimously 
accepted with thanks. 

The following stanzas are from a poem 
written on a visit to Mount Vernon by 
Dr. Abraham Coles : 

I sing to him, the good, the brave, 
Whose mighty dust in glory sleeps. 
Where broad Potomac swells and sweeps 

\nd mourns and murmurs past his grave. 

spot most hallowed! Shrine most blest! 
Where every pebble, wild flower, blade 
Of common grass, is sacred made: 

The Mecca of the Christian West 

Here un forgetful pilgrim feet, 

From all the earth, shall come and crowd; 

And half mankind with forehead bowed, 
Moist tributes pay and homage meet 

What though no mausoleum towers 
In marble grandeur, grace of art, 
His monument's the human heart, 

Immortal as this soul of ours. 

Memorial of sculptured stone 
Is needed not; no slab so rough 
As not to serve: it is enough 

Bears it the name of Washington. 

A valuable tract of Florida land which 
the University has sold for five thousand 
dollars ; a life-size bronze bust by Houdon 
of George Washington, given in memory 
of his intimate friend. General Howard ; 
and one also of Abraham Lincoln, are 
among the gifts contributed by Dr. Coles 



to the Lincoln Memorial University at 
Harrowgate, near Cumberland Gap, Ten- 
nessee. It was founded twenty years ago 
by General Oliver Otis Howard, and its 
twentieth anniversary was celebrated in 
connection with the birthday of Abraham 
Lincoln, three days successively — Febiu- 
ary 12, 1 3 and 14, [917. There were pres- 
ent a large assemblage of members of 
Congress, representatives of colleges and 
other distinguished guests. Dr. and Miss 
Coles being unable to accept the invita- 
tion of the trustees to be present, supple- 
mented their previous gifts by additional 
ones; Miss Coles sending from Tiffany 
& Co., New York, an imported large 
female bronze figure by M. M. Edouard of 
the Ecole des Reaux Arts, emblemizing 
Science, who holding an open book is 
apparently explaining the meaning of 
Virgil's "Labor improbus omnia vincit" 
inscribed on its open page. 

Dr. Coles sent as his gift a set of the 
Founder's Copy of the "History of North 
America," Guy Carleton Lee, Ph. D., and 
Francis Newton Thorpe, Ph. D., editors, 
issued in the interest of the beautiful 
Washington Memorial at Valley Forge, 
Pennsylvania, of which there were only 
one hundred sets numbered and registered 
for subscribers to the building fund. Pub- 
lishers. George Barrie & Sons. Philadel- 
phia. 

Two volumes are devoted to the Civil 
War, one written from the Southern, the 
other from the Northern standpoint. Very 
much space is occupied by the history of 
Abraham Lincoln's administration. 

A letter sent with the gifts was ac- 
companied by the following sonnet, writ- 
ten by Abraham Coles. M. D., Ph. D., 
LL. D., during the Civil War, a tribute 
to Lincoln. They were both read by 
request of President George H. Hub- 
bell, and Chancellor Hill, by the Rev. 
John S. Allen, D. D., of New York, who 
represented the donors in presenting the 



213 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gifts, which were gratefully accepted for 
the University in a courteous and cordial 
address by President George H. Hub- 
bell: 

Lincoln twice summoned to the helm of state 

Be thine to bring a calm upon the deep 

In which the eyes of war may ever sleep! 

Quell bloody enmity and civil hate! 

From all unchristian broils and homicides. 

By the religious sword of Justice, free 

The land baptized anew to Liberty! 

Search out where unrepentant Treason hides. 

Thy soul's eye sharpened with that sacred Light 

Of which the sun itself is but a beam, 

And be thou firm and faithful to the Right 

Though topt with titles, high in men's esteem, 

To Virtue's pilotage must thou resort 

Else shipwreck shall betide in safest port. 

We heard one day the following re- 
mark of a well-known clergyman : "Dr. 
Coles in the spirit of his life — for you 
know he was a great admirer of Abraham 
Lincoln — came as near as any one I ever 
knew to fulfilling the maxim : "With 
malice toward none, with charity toward 
all'." 

To the late Hon. Joseph P. Bradley, 
LL. D., one of the Justices of the Supreme 
Court of the United States of America, a 
warm friend, Dr. Coles wrote: "It is a 
pity that all do not estimate law as you 
do, as a sacred thing, a kind of religion ; 
so regarded, it is a spiritual force related 
to celestial dynamics. I remember when 
Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation was 
first proposed, some said that it would be 
a brutum fulmen. I did not think so. I 
believed it would be a live thunderbolt, 
heaven forged, swift, subtle, far-reach- 
ing, far-flaming, irresistible, striking to 
the centre, and so it proved. "Where the 
word of a king is, there is power." 

"Deerhurst," since their father's death, 
has continued to be the country residence 
of Dr. Coles and of his sister, Miss Coles. 
The "Boston Transcript" says: 

Back from the house a short distance is the 
deer park ; farther on is the labyrinth, a fac- 
simile of the Maze at Hampton Court, England. 
The mansion itself is substantial, elegant and 



beautiful, and is replete with articles rich and 
rare, gathered in journeyings through foreign 
lands. The library is an ideal room. It is open 
to the roof, the rafters coming down in grace- 
ful sweeps, with here and there odd little windows, 
and deeper ones reaching to the floor and opening 
to balconies. On every side are books, in massive 
cases, filling deep recesses, on shelves substantially 
built around corners and supported by ornamental 
columns, and on daintier shelves arranged above 
one's head, a vast and varied collection, in all 
languages, carefully and worthily bound. One 
very rare volume is remarkable as being the first 
book printed containing Arabic Types, and is 
entitled "Psalterium, Hebraeum, Graecum, Arabi- 
um, et Chaldaeum, cum tribus Latinis interpreta- 
tionibus. Genuae, Petrus Paulus Porrus, 1516." 
Folio, half-green morocco. This, the first Poly- 
glot psalter, edited by Agostino Gustiniani, is im- 
portant, also as containing the first printed biog- 
raphy of Columbus. It is printed as a long mar- 
ginal note of Psalm XIX. 

"The fine collection of paintings, curios 
and bric-a-brac belonging to Dr. Coles," 
says the "New York Tribune," "which 
has been on exhibition in the Art Gallery 
of "The Coles Homestead," No. 222 Mar- 
ket street, Newark, New Jersey, for the 
benefit of the Newsboys Building Fund, 
is without exception one of the choicest 
collections in Newark, if not in the State." 

The Art critic of "The Queen," London, 
says of one of the oil paintings (ten feet 
by five feet), entitled "The Fall of Man," 
by Bouverie Goddard, and exhibited by 
him at the Royal Academy, London, Eng- 
land, in 1877: * * * "Second to no 
picture painted since Sir Edwin Landseer's 
palmy days, in which animal forms and 
character have been represented and ex- 
pressed on canvas, is Mr. Goddard's truly 
noble 'Fall of Man.' In the distance ap- 
pears the vision of the celestial warrior 
guardians of the gate of that blissful gar- 
den, no longer the home of the fallen ones, 
from which, for the first time conscious of 
the fierce instincts of their nature, vari- 
ous animals are rushing away in amaze- 
ment and alarm." 



214 







W = 

< * 

I o 
Q. E 

O u. 
o 

Ss 

u. < 

K 
ill m 

z S 
o £ 



< y 5 

- o o 

or o z 

o * « 



LlI 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"The picture portrays," says "The Acad- 
emy," "the savagery of the brute nature, 
ensuing upon the disobedience of Adam 
and Eve. * * * The difficulty of Mr. 
Goddard's attempt becomes all the great- 
er, in that he does not represent any 
actual attack of one animal upon another, 
but only the moment when the attacking 
and ravenous impulse arises and mani- 
fests itself in feature and demeanor." 

"We have not for a long time met with 
a picture of animals by an Englishman," 
says the "Athennsum," "showing so much 
care, energy, and learning as Mr. God- 
dard's 'The Fall of Man,' in which the 
beasts, terrified by the portents attending 
'The Fall,' rush from the neighborhood 
of Eden, new ferocity being manifested 
by their actions and expressions." 

The "London Times" says: "One is 
first puzzled to account for the tremen- 
dous commotion among Mr. Rouverie 
Goddard's wild beasts, carried to its 
height in a powerfully designed and well 
painted foreground group of a lion, lion- 
ess, and cubs, till we learn from the ex- 
tract of Milton, appended to it, that such 
was the effect produced among the beasts 
of the forest by 'The Fall of Man.' They 
are supposed to sympathize with the signs 
in the Heaven, the eclipsed sun, the 
lowering sky, the muttering thunder 
and sad drops 'wept at the completing 
of the mortal sin'." This remarkable 
painting is shown on the left-hand wall 
in the steel engraving of the Library of 
Deerhurst, as are also two other paint- 
ings by Goddard. on the opposite wall, 
viz., "The Combat" (seven feet by four 
feet), painted and exhibited in the Royal 
Academy in 1870. Of this painting 
the "London Times" of May 30 said : 
"After Sir Edwin's animal pictures, per- 
haps there is nothing so remarkable as 
the way the painter has brought his land- 
scape and animals into harmonious imagi- 



native conditions as Mr. B. Goddard's 
'Combat.' * * Full of action, orig- 

inal in grouping, and forcible in light and 
shade, this really is a powerful picture, 
an excellent illustration of the wealth of 
subject that lies yet undrawn upon in 
the wide range of animal life." The 
third painting by Goddard (nine feet by 
five feet) representing "A Sale of New 
Forest Ponies at Lyndhurst, England," 
is regarded as equal in merit to the 
"Horse Fair," by Rosa Bonheur. "The 
Fall of Man" Dr. Coles has given to the 
New Jersey Historical Society, and the 
painting of "The Combat" to the Free 
Public Library for the Newark (New Jer- 
sey) Museum of Art. The painting of 
the Ponies now hangs in the assembly 
room t'f the Memorial Home for Orphans 
at Mountainside, Union county, New Jer- 
sey. 

Another remarkable painting in the 
Newark exhibit was the one entitled "The 
Arch of Titus, Rome, Italy," painted by 
I i. P. A. Healy in Rome, in 1871 (canvas 
forty-eight by seventy-three inches). The 
poet Longfellow and his daughter are 
represented standing underneath the 
Arch, while the artist. F. E. Church, is 
seated sketching with G. P. A. Healy ami 
J. McEntree looking over his shoulder. 
All are excellent portraits. Through the 
great arch an excellent view is had of the 
Colosseum beyond. Among other paint- 
ings of the Coles collection we name the 
following: Five by J. F. Cropsey, one of 
Corfe Castle, England (seven by five 
feet), given by Dr. Coles to the High 
School at Newark : one of Lake Nemi on 
the Appian Way, Italy (six by four feet), 
ami three others: five by Albert Bier- 
Stedt, one of Mount Hood in Oregon (six 
by four feet), one of Niagara Falls, one. 
of Goat Island, one of Mount Blanc in a 
storm, one of Mount Blanc from near 
Geneva. Switzerland, Dieppe, France : 



''5 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



three by Daniel Huntington, including a 
portrait of Dr. Abraham Coles ; two by 
A. T. Bricher ; three by J. F. Kensett ; 
three by F. E. Church ; two by Thomas 
Moran ; two by Edward Moran ; two by 
H. P. Smith; one by Benjamin West; 
one by James M. Hart; William Hart; 
Julian Scott ; Edward Gay ; George In- 
ness; W. S. Hazeltine; John Constable, 
R. A., England (1776-1837), "Dedham 
Vale," a quiet, unpretentious landscape 
from the collection of Clifford Constable, 
the painter's grandson ; R. A. Brunery ; 
L. Verboeckhoven ; A. Reinert ; Paul Jean 
Clays; Jan. Chilnisky ; J. Carabain ; H. 
De Buel ; Rosa Bonheur (pen and ink 
sketch) ; J. H. L. De Haas; Edward Por- 
tielge; B. C. Kock Kock ; J. G. Brown; 
N. A. Diaz de la Pena ; J. B. C. Corot ; 
Constant Troyon ; Hans Makart ; Theo- 
dore Rousseau ; Eugene Fichel ; Julian 
Dupre ; Jules Dupre ; Charles Jacque ; C. 
F. Daubigny ; H. Delacroix ; F. De Vere ; 
Lazerges ; V. G. Stiepevich ; Jean Fran- 
cis Millet; Anton Mauve; "The Trum- 
peter of Sackingen" (six feet, seven 
inches, by four feet, six inches) by 
R. Eisermann ; A. Steinheil, Adolf 
Schreyer. A large Paris Salon painting 
by F. A. Bridgman, of Pharaoh in pur- 
suit of the Israelites on the bed of the 
Red Sea, Dr. Coles gave to Columbia 
University in the City of New York. 

Other paintings believed to be genuine 
are attributed to Rembrandt ; Peter Pour- 
bus (15 10-1583) ; David Teniers, the 
Younger (1610-1690) ; Du Bois ; Til Borg 
(1625-1678) ; Luca Giordano (1632-1701); 
"Europa" (six by five feet), from Prince 
Borghese sale, Rome ; Jean Steen ; Ger- 
ard Douw; Hans Memling (1440-1495). 
the eminent decorator of missals and 
church books; Jacob Backer (1609-1651), 
pupil of Rembrandt, "The Antiquarian" 
(six by four feet) ; Ostade : Minderhout ; 
Hobbinier: Holbein (1498-1543), portrait 
of his patron Henry VIII ; Salvator Rosa ; 



Rivera (1588-1650); Gerard (1770-1837) ; 
Dana Cox (1783-1859) ; and an historical 
painting by Peter Paul Rubens of "C. 
Mucius Scaevola (Left Handed)," a Ro- 
man hero, who according to legend, when 
Lars Porsena was-besieging Rome, in 509 
B. C, concealed a dagger about his 
person and went out to the King's camp 
with the intention of putting him to 
death, but killed instead a royal secretary, 
whom he mistook for Porsena. He was 
threatened with death by fire, unless he 
revealed the details of a conspiracy which 
was said to have been formed at Rome 
for the purpose of assassinating Porsena ; 
whereupon he thrust his right hand into 
a sacrificial fire on an altar hard by. This 
firmness excited the admiration of Por- 
sena, who ordered him to be released. 

Thomas Babington Macaulay, in his 
"Lays of Ancient Rome," thus refers to 
the incident: 

Now, by your children's cradles, now oy your 

fathers' graves, 
Be men to-day, Quirites, or be forever slaves! 
For this did Servius give us laws? For this did 

Lucrece bleed? 
For this was the great vengeance wrought on 

Tarquin's evil seed? 
For this did those false sons make red the axes 

of their sire? 
For this did Scaevola's right hand hiss in Tuscan 

fire? 
Shall the vile fox-earth awe the race that 

stormed the lion's den? 
Shall we, who could not brook one lord, crouch 

to the wicked Ten? 

Among other valuable paintings is a 
most excellent one by Joseph Mallord 
William Turner (1775-1851), admitted by 
critics to be, in all respects, one of his 
best. 

In the Library of Dr. Coles one volume 
of special value is a fine copy of the work 
of John James Audubon, F. R. S. L. and 
E., the great American naturalist, entitled 
"Ornithological Biography," or an ac- 
count of the habits of the birds of the 
United States of America, accompanied 
by descriptions of the objects represented 



216 






KM YCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the work entitled "The Birds of Amer- 
ica," and intersper-cl with delineations 
of American scenery and manners; five 
volumes, half leather, Edinburgh, 1831- 
1839. This set is especially interesting 
by reason of its being an autograph pres- 
entation copy of the author to his friend, 
an eminent jurist in New York City, who 
has written on the fly-leaf of the first 
volume as follows: 

Mr. Audubon told me that he did not sell more 
than forty copies of his great work in England, 
Ireland, Scotland, and France, of which Louis 
Philippe took ten. The following received their 
copies hut never paid for them: George IV, 
Duchess of Clarence. Marquis of Londonderry, 
Princess of Hamburg. An Irish Lord, whose 
name he would not give, took two copies and 
paid for neither. Rothschild paid for his copy, 
hut with great reluctance Mr \uduhon said 
further that he sold seventy-five copies in Amer- 
ica, twenty-six in New York, and twenty-four in 
Boston ; that the work cost him 27,000 pounds 
sterling, and that he lost 25,000 dollars by it. 

He said that Louis Philippe offered to sub- 
scribe for one hundred copies if he would pub- 
lish the work in Paris ; this he found could not 
be done, as it would have required forty years 
to finish it as things were in Paris. Of this con- 
versation I made a memorandum at the time, 
which I read over to Mr Audubon and he pro- 
nounced it correct. 

In addition to the above mentioned five 
volumes, Dr. Coles has elephant folio 
plates of the birds and the animals of 
North America. The birds are the size 
and colors of life. In his volume I. Audu- 
bon says : 

Not only is every object, as a whole, of the 
natural size, but, also, every portion of each 
object. * * * The great size of the paper on 
which the representations are offered could not 
be avoided without giving up the desire of pre- 
senting to the world these my favorite objects in 
nature of the size which Nature has given to 
them. 

Every individual possessed of a sound heart, 
listens with delight to the love notes of the wood- 
land warblers. He never casts a glance upon 
their lovely forms without proposing to himself 



questions respecting them ; nor does he look on 
the trees which they frequent, or the flowers over 
which they glide, without admiring their gran- 
deur, or delighting in their sweet odours, or their 
brilliant tints. Should you, good-natured reader, 
be a botanist, I hope you will find pleasure, while 
lc oking at the flowers, the herbs, the shrubs, and 
the trees, which I have represented. 

The friends Audubon made in Europe 
included Sir Thomas Lawrence, Herschel, 
Sir Walter Scott, "Christopher North" 
Cuvier. Humboldt and St. llillaire. In 
1827 he issued the prospectus of his 
famous work, "The Birds of America," 
which originally came out in numbers. 
He had not money enough to pay the 
printer for the first number until, through 
the influence of Sir Thomas Lawrence, 
the painter, he was enabled to sell some 
of his pictures. The first bill that he had 
to meet was for five hundred pounds. 
There were one hundred and seventy sub- 
scribers at one thousand dollars each. 

In his descriptions Audubon has woven 
passages of the most exciting personal 
adventures. On May I, 1839, he wrote 
from Edinburgh : "I have pleasure in say- 
ing that my enemies have been few and 
my friends numerous. May the God who 
granted me life, industry and persever- 
ance to accomplish my task forgive the 
former, and forever bless the latter!" 

Dr. Coles is continually sending valu- 
able books to Public Libraries, Universi- 
ties, Colleges and High Schools in the 
United States and in foreign lands. 

Says the Newark "Sunday Call:" 

An addition to the treasures of the Free Public 

Library is the gift from Dr. J. Ackerman Coles 
of a rare and magnificent copy of "The Birds of 
America," by John James Audubon. The large 
volume is a reprint published in i860 of the 
famous Elephant folio published by Audubon be- 
tween 1830 and 1839. The large size of the plates 
are much in excess of the regular size and gave 
the edition the name it bears. It contains 97 
pages and 138 drawings. The volume was pub- 
lished by Roe Lockwood & Son, New York, the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chromo-Iithography being the work of J. Bien. 
It is said that these now rare volumes are valued 
at about $1,200. 

At Dr. Coles' suggestion four of the plates have 
been removed from the book and framed. The 
richly colored pictures have been placed in the 
central court facing the main stairway. The 
plates thus exhibited show the American flamingo, 
the wild turkey, fish hawk and Iceland, or jer 
falcon. 

The Public Library has recently received also 
from Dr. Coles for the Newark Museum of 
Art illustrated books, sixty-seven in number, sev- 
eral of them measuring two feet in length and 
a foot and a half across. The height of the 
towering pile is over nine feet. Its interest and 
value are not confined to dimensions. Among 
these books are works that are world famous ; 
many of them contain very rare steel and copper 
engravings, their worth being estimated at several 
hundred dollars. They are the generous gift of 
Dr. J. Ackerman Coles to the Newark Museum. 

The collection is one to delight trained bibli- 
ophile and amateur alike. The bindings and 
bookplates and inscriptions alone offer a fascinat- 
ing study, while the chief value, it is said, lies in 
the illustrations. Besides the copper and steel 
engravings already mentioned there are hundreds 
of photogravures, color etchings, etchings in 
black, lithographs, water color fac similes and 
illuminated engravings. A few of the books are 
absolutely without text and the subject matter of 
the others deals with various branches of art. 
There are several fine bindings of polished calf 
and one regally bound subscription set of ten 
volumes in half-levant with calf sides. This 
edition of the "Exposition Universelle" is printed 
on Whatman drawing paper and limited to one 
hundred registered and numbered sets. The pub- 
lishers are said to ask $200 per volume. So 
much for luxurious bookdress. 

There are two volumes of the plans, elevations, 
etc., of the Alhambra from drawings by M. Jules 
Gourney and Owen Jones, the famous architect, 
that have brought as high as $170 at book auc- 
tions. Gourney died while preparing his draw- 
ings and Owen Jones finished the books and dedi- 
cated them to the memory of his friend. There 
is a dual text in French and English to supple- 
ment the fifty-one rarely fine steel engravings 
and lithographs of this wonderful old Moorish 
palace in Granada, "once a kingdom in Spain." 

Four cases of medallions, book-encased, are 
of unusual interest. These medallions are re- 
productions of those to be found in the museums 



of Italy and include copies of those in the mu- 
seums at Florence and Venice and the Vatican. 

The history student will find his way to the 
two volumes of ancient arms and "Armour," 
attracted by the splendid coloring of the illu- 
minated engravings, and to Holmes's "Naval and 
Military Trophies." The water color drawings 
in the latter, executed by William Gibb, repro- 
duce with detail and exactness historic treasures 
from the Royal and Wellington collections and 
English museums. The swords of Oliver Crom- 
well and John Hampden are included and the 
cloak of Napoleon. Two tattered American flags 
captured in the War of 1812-14 are given as in 
the collection belonging to the Royal Hospital, 
Chelsea. 

An interesting "presentation copy" of the Wo- 
burn Abbey Marbles, ticketed in a fine hand, 
"Presented by the Duke of Bedford," is a book 
large in area with India proof plates of the draw- 
ings of H. Corbould. The duke himself wrote 
the descriptions of his marbles, and this special 
volume contains a "laid-in" picture of him. The 
book was privately printed and is exceedingly 
rare. The duke is said to have bought up any of 
the 180 copies appearing for sale. 

From marbles to Greek vases is a natural step. 
Sir William Hamilton, Envoy Extraordinary and 
Plenipotentiary at the Court of Naples, bad the 
dignified hobby of collecting Greek vases, and his 
collection is set forth in three volumes, with 
many numbered plates and detailed descriptions. 
The plate illustrating the twelve exquisitely 
shaped and molded vases will appeal to the eye 
of even him to whom all art is Greek. 

Other books likely to be of general interest are 
the nine volumes of Bernard Picart's "Religious 
Ceremonies and Costumes;" the 120 engravings 
from the works of J. M. W. Turner; paintings 
of collections from the private galleries of wealthy 
New Yorkers ; the copy of Poe's "Raven" illus- 
trated by Gustave Dore, and the collection of 
wood engravings by members of the Society of 
American Wood Engravers. The latter contains 
such well-known names as those of Victor Ber- 
strom, W. B. Clossin, Henry Wolf, John Tinkey 
and Elbridge Kinsley. 

Dr. J. Ackerman Coles, widely known in New- 
ark, is the son of Abraham Coles, physician and 
hymn writer, whose monument stands in Wash- 
ington Park. The present Dr. Coles lives in 
Scotch Plains and has collected books and objets 
d'art for years. Among his many gifts to the 
Newark Library are several fine bronzes, includ- 
ing replicas of the marble bust of Homer, the 



218 













OBBHE[EhTh^ 




RESIDENCE OF J.ACKERMAN COLES.M.D.. 

ANDOF MISS EMILIE S.COLES 

I7WEST39 T "ST NEW YORK CITY 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Venus di Milo head, Augustus Caesar, the Apollo 
Belvidcre, Benjamin Franklin as a boy with his 
whistle, and George Washington. The latter was 
given in memory of the donor's father. 

Following is a complete list of the 
books presented to the Newark Museum 

by Dr. Coles : 

Albrecht Durer's Drawings. 

Paoletti Impronte. Four cases of medallions 
reproduced from originals in museums of Italy. 

AJhambra. Plates giving plans and views of 
the Alhambra. 

Masterpieces by Fra Angelico. 

Turner Gallery. 

Superstitions Anciennes et Modernes. 2 vols. 
1733- 

Scheuchzer's Geestclvke Natuurkunde. 6 vols. 
1735-38. 

Montfaucon's Antiquitates Graecae et Ro- 
mande. 1757. 

Dissertazione sulle Statue di Niobe. 1779. 

Collection de Gravures. Engravings after the 
Italian school. 1806. 

Schola Italica. 1806. 

Architettura della Basilica Vaticano. 1812. 

Visconti's Iconographie Romaine. 1817. 

Woburn Abbey Marbles. 1822. 

Mong< 's Iconographie Romaine. 1X24. 

Li'_'!us and Shadows of New York Picture 
Galleries. 1864. 

Dell's Nature Pictures engraved by Paterson. 
1871. 

Coleridge. Rime of the Ancient Mariner. 
Illustrated by Gustave Dore. 1878. 

Seguin's Picturesque Tour in Picturesque 
lands. 1881. 

F.ngravings on Wood by Members of the So- 
.ut\ ol American Wo. id Engravers, 1887. 

Hitchcock. Art of the World Illustrated in 
the Paintings, Statuary and Architecture of the 
World's Columbia Exposition. 2 vols. 1894. 

Hoi,,, R. R. Naval and Military Trophies. 
Water Colour Drawings by William Gibb. 1896. 

Exposition Universelle, 1900. The Chefs- 
d'Oeuvres. 10 vols. 

Tissot's Life of Jesus Christ. 3 vols. 

Picart's Ceremonies et Coutumes Religieuses. 
9 vols. 1723-43- 

Hamilton's Engravings from Ancient Vases. 
3 vols. 1791-95. 

Forster's British Gallery of Engravings. 1807. 

Meyrick's Antient Armour. 3 vols. 1842. 

Alhambra, Plans, Elevations, etc., from draw- 
ings 1 j M Jules Gourney and Owen Jones. 2 
vols. [842-45. 

Meyrick's Engraved Illustrations of Antient 
Arms and Armour. _> vols. [834. 

Poe. The Raven. Illustrated bv Gustave Dore. 
1884. 

I .irter's Ancient Sculpture and Paintings in 
England. 1887. 

The New York Vanderbilt Collection of Paint- 
ing and Art Treasures, in four large folio vol- 
umes, bound in full levant leather. 

The library of Dr. and Miss Coles 



has many beautifully bound illuminated 
books, the products of the middle ages. 
Some of the rarest and most elegant 
works bound in full levant leather, with 
inlaid doublures, are from the Robert 
Hoe (of printing press fame) collection. 
Among works of special value and in- 
terest are mentioned the following: 

lour sets only of the "Diary and Correspond- 
ence of Samuel Pepys" were printed on vellum, 
signed by L. De Vinna & Co., the one owned 
by Robert Hoe and now the property of Dr. 
Coles, is No. 2 registered. This set is said to 
have been bound for Mr. Hoe in Paris for five 
hundred dollars per volume, and there are ten 
volumes. Each volume has in it Mr. Hoe's book 
plate and has a leather case with clasps. 

"Military and Religious Life in the Middle 
Ages and of the Period of the Renaissance," is by 
Paul Lacroix (Bibliophile Jacob), curator of the 
Imperial Library of the Arsenal, Paris. It is 
illuminated; full levant leather binding; hand 
tooled; three volumes, London, Chapman & 
Hall, 1874. 

The works of Moliere illustrated by M 
Louis Leloir, Maurice Leloir, Jacques Leman 
and Edmund Hedouin. Full levant, doublures of 
leather and silk, have much inlaid work, hand 
tooled, eleven volumes. Paris — Chez Barrie 
Freres, Editeurs. 

The works of Shakespeare, edited by W. E. 
Henley. This artist's Bibliophile edition was 
limited to fifteen copies, of which the one owned 
by Dr. Coles is signed "Publisher's Copy." It is 
bound in full levant leather, with doublures, with 
inlaid beautiful paintings; there are twenty vol- 
umes luxuriously illustrated and have leather slip 
'Mined at Edinburgh by T. & A. Con- 
stable. Subscription price is said to have been 
more than $300 for each volume. 

Two large folio portfolios of the works of 
Meissonier, also — "Meissonier — His Life and His 
Art," by Vallery C. O. Greard, De L'Academie. 
Victor Recteur de L'Academie de Paris. With 
extracts from his note books, and his opinions 
and impressions on art and artists collected by 
ins widow. Translated from the French by Lady 
Mary I.oyd and Mrs. Florence Simmonds with 
38 plates and 236 text illustrations, New York. A. 
C. Armstrong & Son, 1897, in two volumes; this 
edition on Japanese vellum was limited to too 
copies, including 25 for America, of which Dr. 
Coles's is No. 83, signed by A. C. Armstrong & 
Son, December 21, 1896. The binding is full 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



levant leather, doublure silk, Robert Hoe's book 
plate is in each. Richard Clay & Son, London. 
The Waverly Novels — Collectors, autograph 
edition. Limited for sale in America to ten 
numbered and registered sets of which Dr. 
Coles' set is No. 6 and is signed by George D. 
Sproul, publisher, 1900. Full leather, inlaid work 
elegantly illustrated. Doublures with Walter 
Scott's coat-of-arms. 

The library has also beautiful folio and 
quarto leather bound editions of works 
illustrating the art collections of Europe 
in the public and private galleries and 
Paris Salon. "The Lives of the Queens 
of England," by Agnes Strickland, in 
eight volumes, are bound in full levant 
leather, with doublures inlaid with twenty 
miniature portraits of the Queens, painted 
on ivory by Miss Currie, all enclosed in 
a spring leather case of ingenious work- 
manship. Published by Colburn & Com- 
pany, London, 1851. Bound by Sungor- 
ski & Sutcliff, London. Extra illustrated, 
1852. 

A sumptuous volume owned by Dr. 
Coles is that of the "Portraits of the Sov- 
ereigns of England," engraved from the 
best authorities by W. H. Worthenton, 
London; published by William Pickering, 
1824. There are thirty-six fine portraits 
on India paper. Folio superbly bound in 
full crimson polished levant morocco, 
both sides covered with beautifully hand- 
tooled designs, consisting of roses, .the 
intervening spaces being filled with min- 
ute pointille tooling, with twenty-four 
highly finished portrait miniatures paint- 
ed on ivory by Miss Currie; morocco 
joints, broad inside borders, blue watered 
silk doublures and ends, gilt edges ; en- 
closed in a polished levant morocco pull- 
off case by Riviere, 1824. 

The miniatures are arranged as fol- 
lows: Front cover — Mary II.; Mary I.; 
Mary, Queen of Scots ; Charles I. ; Charles 
IL: Klizabeth ; George I.; George II.; 
George III.; Oliver Cromwell; George 



IV.; Anne. Back cover — James L; Ste- 
phen; Edward I.; Edward III.; Richard 
III.; Edward I.; Henry III.; Henry 
VIII.; Henry IV.; William I.; Henry I.; 
William II. 

A very fine effect is introduced in the 
decoration of this charming example. The 
minute pointille tooling shows up the 
dull gold, against which the larger floral 
pattern of roses shows up bright like 
burnished gold. 

Dr. Coles' collection of Bibles is par- 
ticularly interesting. It includes the 
Breeches Bible, Gen. iii, said to have 
been the personal property of King James 
of England. It has on its morocco bound 
cover the royal coat-of-arms. It was 
printed at Geneva by John Crespin, 1568. 
Bound with it is a "Calender Historical, 
wherein is contained an easie declaration 
of the Golden Number;" "The Epacti — 
"The Indiction Romaine ;" "The Cycle of 
Sunne, 1569;" "The whole Book of 
Psalms, collected into English metr, by 
T. Sternhold, Hopkins and others, con- 
ferred with the Ebrue, with apt notes to 
synge them with all, faithfully perused 
and allowed according to the order ap- 
pointed in the Quenes Majestie Injunc- 
tions;" also "Prayers for all occasions;" 
"The Articles of the Faiths ;" "The Com- 
mandments ;" "Instruction of Children 
in the Faith ;" also the "New Testament 
of Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, 
conferred diligently with the Greek and 
best approved translations in divers lan- 
guages." The whole dedicated to "The 
Moste Virtuous and Noble Ouene Eliza- 
beth, Quene of England, France and Ire- 
land, whose humble subjects of the Eng- 
lish Church at Geneva, wish peace and 
grace from God the Father through 
Christ Jesus our Lord — Geneva, 1569." 

An illustrated copy in black letter, full 
morocco binding, of "The Bishop's Bible, 
conteynyng the Olde Testament and the 




U^^Je. Qf. "ip^ft^f 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Newe, set forth by authorities and im- 
printed at London by the assignment of 
Christopher Barker, her Majestie's Prynt- 
ter, 1578." It is known and stamped as 
Archbishop Cranmer's Bible, from its 
containing a "Prologue, or preface, made 
by Thomas Cranmer, late Archbishop of 
Canterburie." It is also known as the 
"Triacle Bible," from the reading of verse 
22, chapter viii, of the book of Jeremiah, 
which reads: "Is there not triacle at 
Gilead, is there no physician there." In 
King James' version we read: "Is there 
no balm in ( "lilead." His Luther's Bible : 
Largest Type Bible in seven volumes: 
"Biblia Vulgata," 1714, with others, add 
to the interest felt in the inspired writings. 
From the Centennial Year number of 
the "Bible Society Record" we take the 
following article by Miss Emilie S. Coles, 
written at the request of the editors. \vh<> 
say : 

Miss Coles has been a life member of the 
American Bible Society since April 24, 1868, a 
period approaching fifty years. She and her 
brother, Dr. Coles, have been deeply interested 
in all forms of mission work among many de- 
nominations throughout the world, and it is a 
pleasure to publish this account from Miss Coles' 
pen of the beautiful Centenary Tower in Ran- 
goon, Burma. 

The American Centenary Clock and Bell 
Tower in the City of Rangoon, Burma, British 
India, reaches completion while the American 
Bible Society celebrates its Centenary. It is a 
thank-offering to God the Father, "who sent his 
Son to be the Saviour of the world"— the Son. 
"who loved us and gave himself for us" — the 
Holy Spirit, ever with us to "guide into all 
truth." 

We are assured that the Tower will last, with 
care, for centuries. It is fireproof, the material 
of which it is built being English white glazed 
terra cotta. The first floor is of marble, and the 
stairs leading to the Observation Room above 
are of iron. The vane is bronze. With the four- 
dail striking clock and the Westminster peal of 
bells (after Handel), its cost will be over twelve 
thousand dollars— paid by J. Ackerman Coles, M. 
D., LL. D., of New York City. As an American, he 



at the access, through divine power, of 
American missionaries, aided by American mis- 
sionary. Bible, and tract societies and other 

On the first and largest bell are these words: 
\ gi i 111 grateful recognition of what God has 
wrought through American missionaries during 
tin past one hundred years." It also has the 
following inscription: "The Angel of the Lord 
said, behold, I bring you good tidings of great 
joy which shall be to all people: for unto you 
is born * * * A Saviour, which is Christ the 
Lord. * * * Glory to God in the highest, 
and on earth peace, good will toward men." The 
inscription on the second bell reads: "Mis Name 
shall be called Wonderful, Counselor;" the third: 
"The Mighty God, the Everlasting Father." The 
fourth and smallest reads: "The Prince of 
Peace." 

Tin' Tower is a copy of the tower of the old 
Colonial Church in Salem, Massachusetts, said to 
have been patterned after the tower of an Eng- 
lish church designed by Sir Christopher Wren. 
Having passed through the tower of the old 
Salem church on February 6, 1812, after their 
ordination as the first American foreign mission- 
aries to Asia, Adoniram Judson, Samuel Newell, 
Samuel Xott. with their wives, Gordon Hall, and 
Luther Rice sailed for India, and, reaching Cal- 
cutta the same year, were hospitably received by 
the English missionary, William Carey. In 1813, 
Adoniram Judson and his wife landed in Ran- 
goon. We learn from Professor J. F. Smith that 
Dr. Judson early undertook the task of trans- 
lating the Bible into Burmese: that he completed 
the New Testament in 1828. which was printed 
in 1832; that he finished the translation of the 
( )ld Testament in 1S34 and that it was issued the 
ikxi year. The American Bible Society gave 
$23,200 for the printing of Dr. Judson's version 
of the Scriptures in Burmese. Dr. Coles has in 
his library a copy of the Burmese Bible (second 
edition), printed in Maulmain in 1840. On the 
rly leaf is written: 

To Mr. Robert Robinson, Newcastle-upon- 
Tyne, with the affectionate regards of the trans- 
lator. A. Judson. 

Maulmain, November 30, 1840. 

Professor Smith adds that "the companions 
and successors of Dr. Judson took up similar 
tasks for other races. In the one hundred years 
since the arrival of Dr. Judson in Rangoon the 
Gospels, at least, have been translated into no 
less than six of the indigenous languages of 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Burma. The Christian message is now acces- 
sible in their own tongues to nearly 1 1,000,000 of 
the people of the land." Dr. Judson labored in 
Burma nearly forty years, compiling also a Bur- 
mese Dictionary, which is Burmese-English and 
English Burmese. 

In 1813 Luther Rice sailed for America to 
solicit funds; and the Notts and Hall for Bom- 
bay. In 1814 Newell joined them — bereft of his 
wife and child. Through him the Ceylon Mis- 
sion was begun in 1816. Gordon Hall was the 
founder of the American Marathi Mission, India. 
His tract on the needs of the heathen and the 
duty of the churches in America led the beloved 
physician, John Scudder, M. D., to leave his suc- 
cessful practice in New York City, and with his 
devout wife and child, sail for Jaffna, Ceylon, in 
1819. 

As he was bidding his friends farewell, his 
words of glad assurance that the Lord was lead- 
ing him caused James Brainard Taylor to sur- 
render himself, also, to a like service, as mission- 
ary to the American Indians. "From its first 
year," says Dr. Henry O. Dwight, "the Ameri- 
can Bible Society undertook to supply Scriptures 
to missionaries among the American Indians." 
For thirty-six years the Rev. John Scudder, M. 
D., D. D., labored in Ceylon and on the conti- 
nent of India, where he was aided and succeeded 
by his seven sons, whose families still continue 
their work. 

The One Hundredth Annual Report of the 
American Baptist Foreign Mission Society 
states: "One permanent result of the Judson 
Centennial at Rangoon will be a Tower with a 
clock and Westminster chimes. It will be in a 
position where it can benefit the city at large, 
an I will be a beautiful and fitting appreciation of 
the missionary pioneers of a century ago and of 
their successors down to the present day." 

The Tower is seventy-five feet high by four- 
teen feet square, and its site is well adapted to 
evangelistic work. 

A brick and stone chapel for the Karens 
was erected by Dr. Coles near the Tower 
site, a memorial to his mother and his 
father. 

A bronze tablet on the Tabernacle 
Church at Salem, Massachusetts, reads as 
follows : 

On February 6, 1812, in the Tabernacle Church 
on this site, Adoniram Judson, Gordon Hall, 



Samuel Newell, Samuel Nott and Luther Rice 
were ordained the first American Foreign Mis- 
sionaries to the Heathen in Asia. This Cen- 
tennial Tablet given by Jonathan Ackerman 
Coles, M. D., LL. D., was cast 1902 to perpetu- 
ate the memory of their zealous and successful 
labors and those of their devoted wives in the 
of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. 



A correspondent of the "New York 
Sun," under date of February 23, 1916, 
wrote from Salem, Massachusetts: "The 
bronze Tablet on the Flagstaff in Tri- 
angle Park, South Salem., was unveiled 
to-day and presented to the City. The 
Tablet, Flag and Flagstaff were gifts of 
J. Ackerman Coles, of New York, and 
commemorate the enterprise and resolute 
spirit with which Salem met the fire of 
June 25, 1914." 

The seventy-ninth annual report of the 
American Telugo Missions, published at 
Madras, India, says: 

In this record (1915) we must not fail to re- 
count one of its delightful surprises. Through 
the generosity of Dr. J. Ackerman Coles, of New 
York City, we have received the gift of a beautiful 
sixteen-foot Mullins steel motor launch, to carry 
the Gospel up and down the Kurnool-Cuddapah 
Canal. Ever since coming to Kurnool, twenty 
years ago, says the Rev. Dr. W. A. Stanton, this 
has been one of our dreams, but we never sup- 
posed it would be realized. It would be in vain 
for me to attempt to describe the beauties of this 
little ship. Long may she plow these waters, a 
messenger of peace and good will to the people 
along these shores, who know not the love which 
prompted the gift. 

The Rev. Henry Huizinga, Ph. D., 
principal of the Coles Memorial High 
School at Kurnool, British India, says: 

The roll of students for 1914 consists of 113 
Brahmans, 133 Non-Brahman Caste Hindus, 85 
Christians, 62 Mohammedans and 5 Pandamas. 
The teaching staff consists of twenty-two, of 
which seven arc college graduates. Our class 
average was higher than the presidency average, 
in English, by nine per cent., in Sanscrit by two 
per cent., and in Practical Physics by six per 



$2 



s? 



o en 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cent. Our principal aim is the development of 
character, patriotism, love of honor, reverence 
for God, and a spirit of service for humanity; 
these are the chief features of the character we 
desire to build up in the lives of the young men 
who are under our influence. 

The Rev. Lloyd C. Smith, M. A., prin- 
cipal and manager of the Dr. Abraham 
Coles and Mr. Warren Ackerman Memorial 
High School for Boys in Nellore, British 
South India, reports that the enrollment 
has reached four hundred and fifty — that 
in regard to examinations, their results 
are considerably above the presidency 
average, and in English are the best the 
school has ever secured under the School 
Final Scheme. Our Technical Depart- 
ment continues to be both popular and 
efficient. The organization of a students' 
Young Men's Christian Association was 
one of the features of interest of the year 
1914. It seems to be a real force in the 
life of the school, and gives the Christian 
students a solidarity and standing they 
have not enjoyed before. In connection 
with the work of the Literary Societies, 
Mr. Smith says, "we arrange for public 
lectures in the school hall as opportunity 
affords. " 

Rev. Dr. David Downie writes: 

Hostels are a real necessity, because suitable 
quarters for students cannot be obtained in In- 
dian towns. We have been engaged throughout 
the year in the construction of the Hostel given 
by Dr. J. Ackerman Coles, in memory of his 
uncle, the late Mr. George Ackerman. As the 
building rises, we see it assuming most splendid 
proportions. It will be a substantial and beauti- 
ful building, and a magnificent addition to our 
plant. In hostels the boys are removed from 
constant contact with heathen customs and people, 
and are surrounded with Christian influences. 
The Hostel at Kurnool is a gift of Dr. Coles in 
memory of his uncle Mr. Theodore J. Ackerman, 
a worthy citizen of New Haven, Connecticut, U. 
S. A., and the Teacher's residence at Kurnool, a 
gift in remembrance of the Doctor"s uncle, the 
late Judge James Hervey Ackerman, A. B., LL. B., 
who for some time was associated with the Hon. 



Amzi Dodd in the practice of law in Newark, 
New Jersey, U. S. A., and subsequently practiced 
in New York City. 

The Kev. Dr. W. A. Stanton and Dr. Coles 
have purchased a large tract of land near Kur- 
nool, South India, and laid it out as a village 
with streets, lined with shade trees, and have 
built homes thereon ; each family being assigned 
a small farm of five or more acres attached there- 
to, have planted groves of mangoes and margosa 
trees; have built a reservoir and pumping sta- 
tion for irrigating the grounds; furnished plows, 
oxen and a flock of sheep. 

In a letter to Dr. Coles, Dr. Stanton 



I have just returned from the village. I found 
ihe people well and happy and working hard at 
their farms. They have brought the lands which 
I assigned them last hot season under cultivation, 
and the crops look fine. If we continue to have 
good rains they should have a bumper harvest. 
The shepherd and his flock are doing well. The 
flock has now increased in size. Our carpenter 
is kept busy. He is an excellent workman and is 
not only a carpenter but a blacksmith as well. I 
took out fifty mango trees and planted them in a 
garden. The trees we planted last year are doing 
well, some of them being more than twice their 
original size. As the garden is growing so rapidly 
1 found it necessary to engage a gardener to look 
after it. I found a very good man who has had 
experience in such work and was able to secure 
his services. In addition to looking after the trees 
he is to have a vegetable garden and raise all 
kinds of produce for sale. I shall make this a 
kind of demonstration farm, in which I shall 
show our people what crops can be best raised 
on this land, and the best methods of cultivating 
and harvesting. I think it will be a great benefit 
to them. The rains have stopped at last, and so 
I have begun work on an engine house for the 
pump. That is nearly completed and then we 
have to construct a reservoir for the pump and 
fit up the plant. After we get that done we shall 
start on the Rest House. VVe had the walls well 
up when the rains came on and it has not been 
possible to do anything since. But we shall push 
on with the work now. On Sunday we had very 
interesting services in the village. In the morn- 
ing we had Sunday school and preaching service. 
The people can all repeat the Ten Command- 
ments and First and Twenty-third Psalms, They 
sing very well also. In the afternoon we baptized 



223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



twenty new converts and received them into the 
village church, and observed the Lord's Supper 
We have now seventy-five resident church mem- 
bers in the village, and our congregation on Sun- 
days includes people who come from the sur- 
rounding villages. 

On August 7, 1915, the Rev. Dr. Stan- 
ton wrote to Dr. Coles from Kurnool, 
South India, as follows : 

My Dear Dr. Coles: 

We need a fine large church plant adequate in 
size to meet the needs of our growing congrega- 
tion and with class rooms for our Sunday school 
and Bible work. I am sending under separate 
registered cover the plans of the proposed church 
building, so that you may see just what we want. 
Mr. Pogson, one of the best authorities in Mad- 
ras, has drawn the plans at my suggestion. I 
told him what I wanted, and he has worked out 
the ideas. The nave is sixty-four by thirty-six 
feet, with steep gable roof, covered with Man- 
golore red tiles. The gable peak is forty-eight 
feet above the ground level In the interior there 
are three huge arches, one at the chance! and one 
at each of the transepts, which will give a very 
imposing effect. The tower is one of the finest 
features of the building — it is eighty-eight feet 
to the summit, and is drawn on very beautiful 
and imposing lines. The building will be con- 
structed of the same beautiful stone as that used 
in the High School and Hostel buildings and will 
present a most artistic appearance. 

The estimated cost for the ground and build- 
ing, including its furnishing is $10,000. Of course 
we could put up a much cheaper building than 
this, but since, by your generosity, we have such 
beautiful and artistic buildings as the Coles Me- 
morial High School and the Coles Memorial Stu- 
dents' Homes and the Coles Memorial Boarding 
Home, it seems only appropriate that we should 
have a beautiful church building. Would you like 
to erect another memorial at Kurnool, dear Dr. 
Coles? The reference committee have already 
passed on the question and recommended to our 
board that we have a new church building, on 
condition that we can get the money for it : in 
view of the present financial situation, there is 
no hope of our board giving the money. Our 
hope then is that our good friend. Dr. Coles, 
who had done so much for us in the past, who so 
often has stooped to meet our needs, shower- 
ing us with his bounty and far exceeding 
our demands, will see in this need also, another 



opportunity of love and service. You have given 
us a magnificent stone school building, which is 
the pride of the town and the model for the 
presidency. You have given us two fine stone 
and brick hostels for our boys, iar surpassing 
anything to be found in all these parts. You 
have founded a Christian village, and estab- 
lished new enterprises, making a Christian com- 
munity self-supporting and independent. There 
is just one thing more that we need here in Kur- 
nool, dear Dr. Coles, and that is a beautiful 
church, where our people may gather to worship 
God, and about which may centre all the activities 
of Christian effort in the field. 

Of course you understand, if you make this 
gift, it will be carried out under the supervision 
of our property committee, after receiving the 
sanction of the board, and I will superintend it 
myself. We have a fine site for the building, on 
one of the main thoroughfares of the town, 
where it will be accessible to all classes and most 
convenient for all phases of our work. 

Upon his receipt of the above Dr. Coles 
wrote to Dr. Stanton and to the Board of 
Foreign Missions at Boston that he would 
pay for the ground, the building and its 
furnishings, and would like the work com- 
menced and finished without any unnec- 
essary delay — which the board gratefully 
agreed to have done under the directing 
care of the Rev. Dr. W. A. Stanton. 

The church is given as a memorial to 
Dr. and Mrs. Abraham Coles, father and 
mother of the donor, and those of early 
and later days who, like them, have con- 
tributed to the success of the great mis- 
sionary enterprises at home and in foreign 
lands. 

The beautiful parable of "The Good 
Shepherd seeking his lost sheep," and 
the song of the Shepherd King; "The 
Lord Is My Shepherd. I Shall Not 
Want," suggested the following inter- 
esting story of a lost deer, written at 
Deerhurst some years ago by Miss Coles 
for children, which was published in 
the children's column of one of our reli- 
gious journals. It was copied into "The 
New Jersey Scrap Book of Women 







Si 

- o 

J z 

O 9 

it 

f 
U 

E 

D 
I 

u 

J 

< 



O 10 O 
O II 2 
£ j- CO 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Writers," compiled by Mrs. Margaret Y. 
Yardley, chairman of the committee on 
literature, and editor of the scrap book, 
for the World's Columbian Exhibition. 
From a volume of this work, presented to 
the New Jersey Historical Society Li- 
brary, the story is taken, entitled "The 
Deer and the Dog:" 

Last Sunday morning the deer keeper went to 
the deer park with food for a buck and a doe 
with their beautiful fawn. As he reached the 
gate an ugly looking dog lying near sprang up 
and leaped over the fence into the park. The 
poor frightened buck ran from the dog in great 
distress; but instead of running to his kind 
keeper for protection he thought he would save 
himself, so giving a desperate leap through the 
wire fence he escaped all torn and bruised and 
bleeding to the woods. Our gentle doe and her 
fawn were unharmed, for her keeper was close 
by to deliver "her and her darling from the 
power of the dog" and she trusted in him that 
he would deliver her. Mr. Alexander Ritchie, 
that dear old gentleman who so beautifully paints 
pictures and engraves them, gave my father the 
other day an original lovely picture representing 
"Mercy" — as allegorically represented in "The 
Pilgrims' Progress," by John Bunyan. She 
stands knocking at a high gate over which are 
the words: "Knock and it shall be opened unto 
you." Mercy is represented as knocking very 
loudly while the tears are running down her 
cheeks. No wonder! Outside the gate, while 
she is standing there, she hears a great ugly dog 
barking fiercely, and as he is very close by she 
fears he will tear her to pieces. She knows she 
will be safe inside the gate; so she keeps on 
knocking, knocking, knocking! When the gate 
is opened and the kind gate keeper hears why 
she was so frightened, he lovingly says to her: 
"I will deliver my darling from the power of the 
dog." That is what our Lord Jesus Christ will 
say to you if you ask Him to save you from "the 
dog." Satan is so called because he is like a furi- 
ous and cruel dog. He is also compared in the 
Bible to "a roaring lion going about seeking 
whom he may devour." Only our Lord Jesus 
Christ can save you from his power; but you are 
safe if you can say "The Lord is my keeper," — 
trusting yourself entirely to His care. 

I have read that the Romans used to chain 
dogs to their house doors over which they 
wrote: "Beware of dogs." The Apostle Paul 
N J-J-15 225 



in his epistle or letter to the Phillipians wrote 
the same words. The dogs he meant, I believe, 
were such cruel wicked men as caused the death 
of our dear Saviour: "Dogs have compassed me; 
the assembly of the wicked have enclosed me; 
they pierced my hands and my feet;" and such 
men also as King Solomon warns us to shun: 
"Enter not into the path of the wicked, go not 
in the way of evil men, avoid it, pass not by it, 
turn from it and pass away." The prophet Isai- 
ah also tells us of other wicked men; and per- 
haps the Apostle Paul was meaning these also: 
"They are all dumb dogs. They cannot bark, 
sleeping, lying down, loving to slumber. Yea! 
They arc greedy dogs which can never have 
enough. These watchmen should have been like 
faithful shepherds who protect the sheep and give 
alarm when danger is near, but instead they were 
like worthless curs, caring only for their own 
comfort instead of being vigilant, trustworthy 
watch dogs." I am so glad that none of these 
dogs can ever enter in through the gates into 
the City where reigns our Great King— The King 
of Kings, The Lord of Lords— the Heavenly 
Jerusalem, "for without are dogs," and here in 
this world they are all about us; and they will 
trouble us greatly and destroy us if we are not 
under the constant protection of our Keeper — 
our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. 

The deer keeper has gone in search of the 
lost deer. To-day is Wednesday, and until this 
morning he had not found out where the deer 
had strayed. I am told that the poor creature 
was hunted by dogs the whole of last night 
and that he will surely be killed to-night if 
not rescued, for he is now looking so worn out and 
so bruised, and is so lame, that it would grieve 
us to see the beautiful creature. While I write — 
lo! I hear the voice of the keeper. He is re- 
turning home; he is calling to me to come and 
rejoice with him for he has found his deer which 
was lost. Oh! how bright and happy is this deer 
keeper : how tenderly, how lovingly he looks upon 
this wounded deer, rejoicing more over him than 
over all the other deer in the deer park who 
went not astray. So does the Good Shepherd 
go in search of His lost sheep in the wilderness 
of this world. He will not suffer it to perish; 
and when he finds it "all weary and worn and ready 
to die," He will tenderly bring it back to the 
green pastures and beside the still waters, saying 
"Rejoice with me for I have found my sheep 
which was lost." 

In the "New Jersey Scrap Book" the following 
hymn written by Miss Coles is taken from the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Presbyterian Hymnal, "Hymns of the Ages," 
in use among the Presbyterian churches of the 
South and therein set to the tune of Eventide 
and Troyte's Chant No. I : 

Now lift we hymns of heartfelt praise to Thee 
Our King, Redeemer, Saviour, Brother, Friend; 

And when Thy face, we in Thy likeness see, 
Our Adoration Song shall never cease. 

Then shall we sing when with our God we reign, 
Seeing Thee always in most holy ways, 

Worthy the Lamb who once for us was slain, 
That Song, forever new, of ceaseless praise. 

While here we tarry in this world of need, 

Seeking Thy lost ones who in darkness roam. 

Thy little flock, Good Shepherd, gently lead 
And bear Thy lambs in safety to Thy Home. 

We copy from the Newark (New Jer- 
sey) "Sunday Call," Thanksgiving num- 
ber, February, 1916, the following inter- 
esting statement: 

The bronze historical group at the northern 
end of Lincoln Park, Newark, was dedicated on 
Thanksgiving Day twenty-one years ago. A 
complete list of the names of all the children in 
the city's public schools was placed in one of the 
metal boxes in the marble pedestal. There were 
thirty thousand names. If a list were attempted 
to-day it would include over sixty thousand 
names. The bronze was presented to the city 
by Dr. Jonathan Ackerman Coles as a tribute to 
the memory of his father, Dr. Abraham Coles. 

It depicts a white mother winning back the 
love of her daughter who was made a captive by 
the Indians when a child. The child, grown to 
womanhood, had wed a chief, and when recog- 
nized by her mother, was indifferent to her until 
the latter sang a song the younger woman had 
not heard since childhood. The old song in- 
stantly brought back the long distant past and 
thus the young woman united to her love for 
her Indian husband that of love for her mother. 
The bronze has a special appeal to school chil- 
dren and the story behind the group has often 
been told them during the twenty-one years it 
has been in Lincoln Park. 

Twelve beautiful stained glass windows 
illustrating the life and teachings of our 
Lord, designated as "The Ackerman Me- 
morial Windows" in The First Reformed 
Dutch Church, New Brunswick, New Jer- 
sey, and many valuable memorial gifts 



elsewhere, bear witness to the affectionate 
regard entertained for and manifested by 
Dr. and Miss Coles for their maternal 
grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Jonathan 
Combs Ackerman and their family — with 
whom the early days of happy childhood 
were passed in the Ackerman Homestead, 
still standing on the corner of George and 
Bayard streets, New Brunswick, New 
Jersey. 

One of these windows marks the site 
of the large square Ackerman pew ; and 
was given by Dr. Coles in memory of his 
grandparents, Jonathan Combs Acker- 
man and his wife, Maria (Smith) Acker- 
man. The .first of the series was given 
by Miss Coles in remembrance of the 
founder of the Ackerman family in 
America, Davit Ackerman and his wife, 
Lisbet (de Villiers) Ackerman, both of 
North Brabrant, Holland, from which 
place they sailed with their six children 
in 1662. They landed in New Amster- 
dam, where they settled, and where they 
united, in the following year, with the 
Reformed Dutch Church in America. 

In memory of his grandfather, after 
whom he was named, Dr. Coles has given 
to the West China Union University at 
Chengtu, China, a most attractive build- 
ing. The materials used are brick and 
tiles. It is of Chinese architecture and 
was erected by an experienced architect, 
under the plans designed by the Presi- 
dent of the University, the Rev. Joseph 
Beech, D. D. The interior is complete 
in its requirements as a Christian home 
and has a chapel for religious services. 
The building accommodates seventy-five 
students. 

Yuan Shih-Kai, the President of China, 
when the story of the West China Union 
University was told to him, said, "I wish 
to help." The next day he sent to the 
President of the University, Joseph Beech, 
D. D., a letter in which he wrote, "I 



I 

m z 
a > 



t > C 

to z ■ 
woo 

>? = 






(&- 



/ s(/-~7l^'V<L. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



do, which be gracious enough to re- John Evans, subject of this sketch, sou 

enclose my endorsement and check for of John and Ann (Crombie) Evans, was 
ceive. 1 he whole world is now being born in Edinburgh, Scotland, January 3, 
unified. In learning and thought we are 1866, and died at his home in Paferson, 
daily hastening toward perfect agree- 
ment. The establishment now of the 
University is only the creating of a 
first channel of communication. (Signed) 
Yuan Shih-Kai." 
The official endorsement of the Univer- 



Xew Jersey, December 6, 191 1. He ac- 
quired his education in the public schools 
of 1'aterson, which he attended until he 
was sixteen years of age, at which time 
he entered upon his apprenticeship with 
the Cooke Locomotive Company to learn 
-it\ by I lu-Ching I, the Governor-General the machinist's trade. Upon the expira- 



of Szechuan, of which province Chengtu 
is the capital city, was also received by 
I )r. Beech. The Governor-General en- 
closed his check for $3,000, stating that 
"Education is of fundamental importance 
to the Xation." 



EVANS, John, 

Manufacturer, Inventor. 

The men of deeds are the men who ex- 
cite the admiration of the world, and when 
a man rises to a position of prominence, 
whether it be in the business world or in 
private life, he merits and receives the 
esteem and respect of all by reason of 
the sterling qualities he must undoubt- 
edly possess. It is of such a man that 
this review treats in the person of the 
late John Evans, of Paterson, Xew Jer- 
sey. While he was just at the commence- 
ment of the prime of life, he had attained 
a position of eminence in his industry, 
and his reputation as a locomotive builder 
was constantly growing. Favored by 
nature with innate ability for this line of 
work, his talent in this direction was 
fostered and expanded by constant asso- 
ciation with kindred minds, and his in- 
ventive genius increased. "His father, 
John Evans, was a Scotchman, who came 
to this country in 1868, and followed his 
calling as a boot maker in Paterson, New 
Jersey. He married Ann Crombie, also 
a native of Scotland, where they were 
married. 



tion of his apprenticeship he remained 
with this company, and rapidly rose from 
one position of responsibility to another, 
by reason of his intelligent, careful and 
faithful discharge of the duties entrusted 
to him. At the unusually early age of 
twenty-five years he had risen to the im- 
portant position of superintendent of the 
entire plant. He was in every sense of 
the words the right man in the right 
place. He made himself master of every 
detail of his industry, and being of an 
inventive turn of mind, he made many 
valuable improvements upon various parts 
of the locomotives which he assisted in 
building, and many of these are still in 
use at the present day. So expert was 
he considered in all branches of the busi- 
ness with which he was associated, that 
he was sent by the company to superin- 
tend the erection of locomotives in vari- 
ous parts of the world, and in this con- 
nection visited Japan, England and sev- 
eral other countries. He had a natural 
aptitude for the successful handling of 
large bodies of men. and being imbued 
with a strict sense of justice, a quality he 
displayed greatly to the benefit of the men 
under him, they were devoted to him, and 
he was thus enabled to accomplish a vast 
amount of work without unnecessary fric- 
tion. Indeed, it is not too much to say 
that as a practical builder of locomotives 
he was one of the skillful men in the 
world. At the time of his death he had 
been in the employ of the Cooke Locomo- 



227 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tive Company tor the long period of twen- 
ty-seven years, and had gained the good 
will and esteem of all with whom he had 
been associated. 

In political matters he gave his con- 
sistent support to the Republican party, 
but was never an aspirant to public office. 
He was a member of the Market Street 
Methodist Episcopal Church, a member 
of the board of trustees of that institu- 
tion, and was secretary of the Sunday 
school at a time when there was an at- 
tendance of five hundred pupils. He was 
of a quiet and retiring disposition, kindly 
and thoughful, and devoted to his home 
and church. His last pastor says of him: 

Mr. Evans was one of the most loyal and 
faithful church members I have ever known. 
Though a very busy man, carrying heavy respon- 
sibilities, he was never too busy nor too tired to 
undertake work for the church. He did not 
neglect his business, but cheerfully drew upon 
his own time and strength for God's work. 
After an arduous day he would often meet in 
church boards or committees till the middle of 
the night, but I never once heard him complain 
of fatigue. The call of the church seemed to 
nerve him with new strength and put him at his 
best. Yet he never was an ambitious man. He 
sought no position, and aspired to no place but 
loyally and modestly responded to every demand 
which the church made upon him. Such sweet 
and glorious spirits are all too rare, and always 
have been. He was a man of a thousand — nay, 
of ten thousand. 

Mr. Evans married Mary Elizabeth 
Beaumont, a daughter of John and Mary 
(Parker) Beaumont, of Paterson, New 
Jersey, who were of Huguenot extraction, 
and came to this country from England ; 
both are now deceased. The children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Evans: Russell Beau- 
mont, John Clifford and Marian Eliza- 
beth. Mrs. Evans is still living at No. 
478 Park avenue, Paterson, and she and 
her family attend the Wesley Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 



JACKSON, James, 

Financier, Man of Affairs. 

The family of James Jackson, the sub- 
ject of this narrative, came originally 
from Ireland, in the early part of the 
nineteenth century, but has become thor- 
oughly incorporated in the civic life of 
this country, giving substantial aid to the 
State and city in which they settled. 
James Jackson, the American progenitor 
of the family, was born in Sligo, Ireland, 
came to America, and married Mary Caro- 
line Burnett, of Springfield, New Jersey. 
He was a prominent and influential citi- 
zen of Paterson, New Jersey, for many 
years, being thoroughly interested in the 
industrial and financial prosperity of that 
city, and assisting much in its growth in 
the position of president of the New Jer- 
sey Locomotive and Machine Company, 
and as the controlling power and presi- 
dent of the Passaic Count)' Bank, now 
styled Second National Bank of Paterson. 

James Jackson, son of James and Mary 
Caroline (Burnett) Jackson, was born in 
1841, at Paterson, New Jersey, and died 
March 14, 1903, in the same city. After 
attending the public schools of his native 
city he spent two years in the State 
Law School, at Poughkeepsie, New York. 
Finding, however, that his natural bent 
was toward business rather than the law, 
he returned to Paterson and assisted his 
father in his business affairs until the 
company, of which his father was presi- 
dent, changed hands. After the sale of 
that industry he was employed for sev- 
eral years in various manufacturing es- 
tablishments, among them the Passaic 
Rolling Mill Company and the Idaho Iron 
Company of Paterson, in the last named 
holding the position of treasurer. Leav- 
ing that company, he found employment 
in the Passaic County Bank, an institu- 
tion which was practically owned by his 



228 




Ckucti J/(C/U>0^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



father, and in that place filled the posi- 
tions of bookkeeper, teller and cashier. 
The bank was first organized under State 
laws in 1852; in 1865 it passed into the 
hands of Mr. Jackson's father, who be- 
came its president and owned most of its 
stock until his death. After his death the 
capital of the bank was increased, and by 
special act of Congress in 1874 the name 
of the institution was changed to the Sec- 
ond National Bank of Paterson, with Ben- 
jamin Buckley as president, and James 
Jackson as first cashier. Mr. Buckley re- 
signed in i88i,and Mr. Jackson succeeded 
him and held the office until his death. 
Beside his financial interests, Mr. Jack- 
son was president of the Gould-Mersercau 
Company of New York, one of the lead- 
ing upholstery and hardware houses of 
the country, and was prominently identi- 
fied with manufacturing and other enter- 
prises in Paterson. Through his wide 
and varied experiences in financial and 
commercial affairs, he was eminently 
fitted for the responsible position he held 
so long and ably, and it was a fact to be 
fong remembered and commented on that 
while Mr. Jackson was at the helm, the 
business public felt itself in perfect safety 
because of his untarnished integrity and 
fine, discerning judgment in all financial 
matters. 

In politics Mr. Jackson was a lifelong 
Republican. On several occasions he was 
selected by the courts to take charge of 
estates, and his careful and discriminat- 
ing judgment proved in every instance 
that he was a successful administrator. 
He was a member of the Hamilton Club 
of Paterson, the Lawyers' Club of New- 
York, and in his younger days belonged 
to the H. M. A. Association, an athletic 
and boat club composed of the young men 
of Paterson. 'While it was well known 
that Mr. Jackson was of a retiring and 
domestic temperament, few knew 



pleasure he had in the home studies which 
he pursued. He was particularly fond of 
the sciences, devoting much attention to 
mathematics and astronomy. He was 
well versed in literature, being thoroughly 
acquainted with the works of the best 
authors, but his greatest delight was the 
Bible, and to its study he gave much time, 
and was generally recognized as a Bibli- 
cal student excelled by few theologians. 
Mr. Jackson was averse to any display of 
his attainments, but the friends who were 
able to draw from him his knowledge, 
were astonished and well repaid by the 
intellectual feast he could spread to those 
who could appreciate his learning. 

On April 25. 1S83. in New York City, 
Mr. Jackson married Amelia, daughter of 
Edwin Haigbt and Maria Louise (Hart) 
Mabbett, of Dutchess county, New York. 
The only child of Mr. and Mrs. James 
Jackson is Gerald Breck. 



WISTAR, Caspar, 

Pioneer Glass Manufacturer. 

The first glass works to be established 
in New Jersey were the plant erected 
about 1739 near Allowaystown, Salem 
county, by Caspar Wistar. A deed of 
agreement dated December 7, 1738. said 
to be still in existence, shows that Wis- 
tar brought these four glassmakers from 
Rotterdam : Simon Kreismeir, Caspar 
Halter, John Martin Halter and Johan 
William Wenrzell. 

The following letter, printed in the 
New Jersey Archives, volume vi., was 
sent. July 31, 1740, by Charles Carkesse, 
secretary at London of the Commission- 
ers of the Customs, to Thomas Hill, Esq., 
of London, secretary to the Lords Com- 
missioners for Trade and Plantations : 

Sir, Mr. William Frazor, Collector of the Cus- 
toms at Salem in West Jersey having informed 
hat the Commissioners, that there has been lately 



229 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



effected a Glass work within Eight miles of that 
Port by one Casper Wester a Palatine, and is 
brought to perfection so as to make Glass : I am 
directed to give you an account thereof for the 
information of the Lords of Trade. 

Caspar Wistar died at his home in 
Philadelphia in 1752, but his son Richard 
continued to make glass at Alloways- 
town until the Revolutionary War. Rich- 
ard died in 1781. 

A letter from Governor Jonathan Bel- 
cher, written at Elizabeth Town, August 
24. 1752, to Colonel Alford, of Boston, 
contains some interesting information 
about Wistar and the manufacture of 
glass in New Jersey. He wrote : 

I have begun to make Inquiry about the Glass 
Works in this Province which are 130 miles from 
this Town & as I know no proper person near 
them capable of getting the Information you 
desire I have hardly a lean hope of rendering 
you any Service is that matter in which the Un- 
dertakers are very close & Secret. 

I was Acquainted with one Caspar a German 
who lived at Phila and was the first and principal 
Undertaker of the Glass Works in this Province, 
and with whom I discours'd particularly about 
them (5 years ago) and he complain'd also that 
they cou'd not make their glass so Clear and 
strong for want of Help, their Works being near 
two hundred miles from any Quantity of it. 

This Caspar is lately dead and from a very- 
poor man rais'd and left a Fortune of 20. or 
30.ooo£ Str. I have had from others Engag'd 
in the Works the same Complaint of want of 
proper Materials for the Mettle and for the Fur- 
nace. 

In 1768 Governor William Franklin re- 
fers to Wistar's works as having been 
established some twenty years and as 
making "Bottles and a very coarse Green 
Glass for Windows, used only in some of 
the Houses of the poorer sort of People." 

The second glass works to be estab- 
lished in New Jersey were located at the 
present Glassboro. dishing and Shep- 
pard in their "History of Gloucester 
County" make the following reference to 
that plant: 



The pioneer glass works at what is now Glass- 
boro were erected in 1775 by Jacob. Solomon, 
John,, Christian, Adam, Francis and Philip Stan- 
ger, seven brothers, who had been working at 
Wistar's glass works on Alloways Creek, in 
Salem county. They brought with them an enly 
sister, Sophia. 

A piece of land was purchased by the Stangers 
from Archibald Moffet, the timber was taken off, 
the necessary buildings were erected, and in the 
fall of the same year they made their first melt. 
A bottle now in the possession of a descendant of 
Philip is said to be the first bottle blown. Wis- 
tar's works were abandoned about this time, and 
a number of the employes found w-ork at the new- 
factory in Gloucester county. 

The Stangers continued the business for about 
five years, when they were compelled to make an 
assignment on account of the depreciation in the 
value of continental money. The unfortunate 
originators of the glass works were sent to a 
debtor's prison at Gloucester, the then seat of 
justice of Gloucester county. — J. F. F. 



BEASLEY, Chief Justice Mercer, 

Eminent Jurist. 

In presenting to the public sketches of 
the lives of our prominent citizens, we 
have endeavored to choose those men 
who, by their superior attainments and 
achievements in some particular walk of 
life, have risen to heights above their fel- 
lows, and whose characteristics and in- 
dividuality have raised them above the 
ordinary run of mortals. In every walk 
of life it is the few and not the many 
who rise to eminence, and it is these 
few who give tone and character to 
our society, and shape the destiny of 
the communities in which they reside. 
More men rise to eminence at the bar 
than in any other profession; the ma- 
jority of our great orators and statesmen 
come from the forum, as it is the most 
general school for the training of genius 
or talent, and humanity is indebted to 
the genial study of the law and the prac- 
tice of our courts for the development of 
some of the greatest minds the world has 
ever produced. Certainly no State has 



230 




cM. //V^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



more reason to feel proud of her bench 
and bar than New Jersey. The record 
of her lawyers and judges since the earli- 
est period of her history is replete with 
the works of men who were giants in in- 
tellect. A foremost place in the ranks of 
these illustrious men must be accorded 
to the late Chief Justice Mercer Beasley. 
He was a son of the Rev. Frederick Beas- 
ley, rector of St. Michael's Protestant 
Episcopal Church of Trenton, provost of 
the University of Pennsylvania, and of 
his wife, Maria (Williamson) Beasley. 

Chief Justice Mercer Beasley was born 
in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. March 27, 
181 5, and died at Trenton, New Jersey, 
February 19. 1897. For a time he was a 
student at Flizabethtown Academy, then 
was prepared for entrance to college by 
his gifted father, and matriculated at 
Princeton College. After one year's study 
at that institution, he left and continued 
his studies at Trenton until 1834, after 
which he took up the study of law in the 
office of Samuel L. Southard, at that time 
United States Senator, and also engaged 
in legal practice in New Jersey. In Sep- 
tember, 1838, Mr. Beasley was admitted 
to the bar. and in February. 1842, he was 
admitted as a counsellor. 

For a period of ten years following his 
admission to the bar, Mr. Beasley con- 
fined his study and practice of the law to 
the trial of cases in the justices' courts, 
ignoring office practice as a rule, and con- 
ferring with his clients as he happened to 
meet them on the streets, where they had 
acquired the habit of lying in wait for 
him. Any spare time during the day was 
spent in the library, and his evenings 
were passed at his office. He gradually 
acquired a fine law library during these 
year?, and also frequently consulted the 
State Library, to which he had free ac- 
'cess. At this time his office was at No. 
143 East State street, and later he erected 



the house on East State street which ad- 
joined his office, and this was his resi- 
dence during the remainder of his life. 
A strong supporter of Whig principles, 
he was at this time a candidate for the 
mayoralty and for the Assembly, but was 
defeated. He was fond of both outdoor 
and indoor sports and excelled in both, 
being an especially good marksman on the 
wing. 

His first appearance as a lawyer in the 
Supreme Court was in October, 1849, an< ^ 
he won his case. From that time he was 
engaged in many important cases of liti- 
gation, which are matters of historical 
record. When the Whig party had passed 
away. Mr. Beasley gave his support to 
the 1 democratic party, being an active 
supporter of its principles. In 1834 he 
was appointed city solicitor of Trenton, 
New Jersey : was elected a member of 
the common council of that city in 1S50; 
and in 1851 was the Whig nominee for 
the office of mayor, but was defeated, as 
above mentioned. On March 8, 1864, he 
was appointed chief justice of the Su- 
preme Court, by Judge Parker, to succeed 
Edward W. Whelpley, was reappointed 
again and again, holding the office until 
bis death. In his administration of the 
business of this important office, Judge 
Beasley promoted promptness and effi- 
ciency on the bench and at the bar, in- 
sisting upon the observance of the rules 
of practice, having always in mind the 
doing of justice in the particular case. 
He was courteous to counsel, and patient 
even with the dullest and most exasperat- 
ing, maintaining the dignity of the pro- 
ceedings and deference to the court. In 
hearing arguments he was quick to grasp 
the essentials of the case, and by pene- 
trating questions brought counsel to the 
point to which the argument should be 
directed. In presiding over trials at the 
Circuit and in the Oyer and Terminer 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Chief Justice was strong and patient, 
dignified and courteous. His charges to 
the jury were simple and clear and di- 
rectly to the point, and these were free 
from the unusual words and the subtlety 
of reasoning which are found in some of 
his written opinions. He retained his 
powers and kept on with his work to the 
end of his long life, and his last opinion 
in the Supreme Court was announced by 
his associates on the day before his death. 
He was elected a member of the Society 
of the Cincinnati, February 22, 1895, and 
a fine portrait of him, by J. W. Alexander, 
hangs in the Supreme Court room at 
Trenton, New Jersey. 

Judge Beasley married (first) Frances 
Higbee, daughter of Charles Higbee, and 
(second) October 16, 1854, Catherine Ann 
Haven, daughter of Charles Chauncey 
and Catharine Matilda (Jeffries) Haven, 
both marriages taking place at Trenton. 
By the first marriage he had children: 
Charlotte Higbee, who married the late 
Edward T. Green, judge of the United 
States District Court; Mercer, Jr., de- 
ceased, a member of the bar, and pros- 
ecutor of the pleas of Mercer county, New 
Jersey ; Frances, who married William S. 
Gummere, present Chief Justice of New 
Jersey. By the second marriage there 
was one child : Chauncy Haven, of whom 
forward. 

For spontaneous appreciations of the 
character and judicial qualities of Chief 
Justice Beasley by those who knew him 
best, we refer to the words spoken by his 
associates on the bench and leading mem- 
bers of the bar at the opening of the Su- 
preme Court on the day of his death. A 
few extracts from these remarks are here 
given : 

Justice Depue said: 

To intellectual and legal attainments of the 
highest order, he added those other qualities 
without which no judge can be great; character 



in its broadest sense, industry, independence, 
courage, and a high sense of the responsibilities 
of his office. In all these qualities, Chief Justice 
Beasley was distinguished to an eminent degree. 

Justice Van Syckel said : 

His familiarity with the common law, his accu- 
rate perception of the true boundary of equity 
jurisdiction, and his discrimination in the appli- 
cation of legal principles, were his rarest attain- 
ments, with perhaps, the single exception of his 
unequalled knowledge of the science of special 
pleading and his skill in that much neglected art. 
* * * He was a steadfast and devoted friend, 
strongly attracted by the high qualities of others, 
which constituted the beauty and strength of his 
own character. He treated his associates with 
marked deference, winning their regard by his 
manner and their admiration and respect by his 
great learning and the maturity of his views upon 
every subject under discussion. 

Mr. Cortlandt Parker said: 

He was always in fact, I think. Chief Justice. 
He recognized the duties of that position and 
filled them. He guarded sedulously pleading 
and practice. He was not disposed to techni- 
cality, but he was nevertheless mindful of its im- 
portance to exact justice, and justice in the par- 
ticular case was his great end and aim. He had 
a natural and implacable sense of right, but 
there has never been a judge on our bench, per- 
haps, who was so cold and steel-like in his logic 
and who followed so unswervingly where it led. 
In my own judgment, this was the point of dan- 
ger with him. His decisions are models of per- 
spicuity and terseness and they are always to 
the point. 



BEASLEY, Chauncy Haven, 

Lawyer, Jurist. 

Chauncy Haven Beasley, only son of 
Chief Justice Mercer Beasley and his sec- 
ond wife, Catherine Ann (Haven) Beasley, 
was born in Trenton, New Jersey, July 4, 
1857, and died in South Orange, New 
Jersey, September 4, 1913. 

He acquired an excellent preparatory 
education as a student of Trenton Acade- 
my and the State Model Academy, then 



232 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



matriculated in Princeton University, 
graduating therefrom in the class of 1880. 
During his course there he was leader of 
the College Glee Club, one of the founders 
of the Ivy Club and a member of Zeta 
Psi fraternity. He studied law under the 
excellent preceptorship of his father, also 
in the office of J. G. Shipman, of Bel- 
videre, New Jersey, and was admitted to 
the bar in 1883. He served as attorney 
for the board of freeholders of Warren 
county, in 1883, and as counsellor in 1886. 
He was engaged in the active practice of 
his profession in Belvidere until 1888, 
when he was appointed judge of the Dis- 
trict Court in Trenton, serving in that ca- 
pacity until 1892, after which he returned 
to his former vocation, establishing an 
office in the city of Trenton, continuing 
until 1900, in which year he formed a 
partnership with the present Chancellor 
Walker in Trenton. In 1904 he was em- 
ployed as counsel for the New Jersey 
Street Railway Company, afterwards 
merged into the Public Service Corpora- 
tion of New Jersey, from which he re- 
signed in 191 1, and from that time until 
his death, in 1913, he gave his attention 
to his chosen profession, with offices in 
Newark. His excellent character, scholar- 
ly attainments and marked ability in his 
profession commanded the respect and 
admiration of the bench and bar. He 
gave his political allegiance to the Demo- 
cratic party. He was nominated for 
Congress in the year 1884, after a close 
campaign, but was defeated by a small 
margin. He was appointed aide on Gov- 
ernor Abbott's staff, with the rank of 
major, thus affiliating himself with the 
Seventh Regiment, New Jersey National 
Guard. During his residence in Trenton. 
Judge Beasley was a member of Trinity 
Episcopal and Christ churches, and dur- 
ing his residence in South Orange was 
connected with the Church of the Holv 



Communion. He was a member of Ashlar 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, in 
Trenton, Sons of the Revolution, and the 
Trenton Golf Club. 

Judge Beasley married in Trenton, New 
Jersey, January 10, 1880, Jessie Fleming, 
born in Rye, New York, April 14, 1863, 
daughter of Frederick Nichols and Ellen 
Douglas (Haven) Fleming, of New York. 
Children : Catherine Ann, born Novem- 
ber 23, 1880; Charles Fenton Mercer, July 
8, 1882; John Jeffries, August 18, 1884; 
Emilie Haven, April 18, 1887; Mary 
Stockton, November 19, 1889 ; and 
Chauncy Haven, Jr., May 27, 1893. 



MOCKRIDGE, Oscar Bromley, 

Business Man, Financier. 

Oscar Bromley Mockridge, who was for 
many years prominent in the hardware 
trade of Newark, New Jersey, and was 
closely identified with the banking inter- 
ests of that city, was born in Newark, 
June 10, 1844, a son of Abraham and 
Sarah Emmons (Ward) Mockridge, and 
came of an old and honored New Jersey 
family. His father, who was born in 
March, 1802, and died in 1873, was a 
member of the firm of Mockridge & 
Francis, hardware dealers of Newark, an 
enterprise established in 1835. 

Oscar Bromley Mockridge received his 
education in the public schools of his na- 
tive city, Nathan Hedges' private school, 
and the Wesleyan Institute, forerunner 
of the Newark Academy. In 1861 he left 
school and entered the hardware business 
of Mockridge & Francis, applied himself 
to the duties assigned him and acquired 
a thoroughly practical knowledge of the 
hardware business, a calling for which 
he was peculiarly adapted, and in which 
he was destined to win high distinction 
as one of its ablest and most successful 
representatives. He was admitted to the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



firm in 1868, the style of the firm being 
changed at that time to Mockridge & Son, 
under which name it was subsequently 
carried on, Mr. Mockridge remaining 
identified with the enterprise until 1899, 
the business at that time being the oldest 
continuously conducted undertaking of 
its kind in the city of Newark. As a man 
of affairs Mr. Mockridge was thoroughly 
equipped. His judgment was sound even 
as a young man, and his foresight keen 
and unerring. His methods were those 
of the old school, honest and fair, and he 
conducted his business in a progressive 
and energetic manner that gained for the 
house a wide prestige and an enviable 
repute. 

From the founding of the Security 
Savings Bank of Newark, in 1884, Mr. 
Mockridge served as treasurer until 1914, 
when he became vice-president of the 
same, in which capacity he was serving 
at the time of his death. This institution 
is notable as one of the largest savings 
banks of the city. As treasurer and vice- 
president of the institution in question, 
Mr. Mockridge performed his functions 
with an ability that was most pronounced, 
and his practical knowledge of banking 
stood him in good stead in this connec- 
tion. He strengthened the enterprise in 
every direction, and contributed in no 
small degree to the building up of its 
constantly increasing business. Until 
three weeks prior to his death, he was 
regularly at his desk in the Security bank- 
ing rooms. He was associated with the 
banking interests of Newark for more 
than thirty years, and served as a director 
of the Manufacturers' National Bank of 
Newark, and of the Firemen's Insurance 
Company. 

Mr. Mockridge never took an active 
part in politics, neither seeking: nor hold- 
ing public office, and he preferred to con- 
centrate all his efforts upon his personal 



affairs. At the same time, he was public- 
spirited to a notable degree, and was will- 
ing at all times to unite in any movement 
calculated to advance the common good 
or promote the material welfare of the 
community at large. He was a member 
of the board of directors of the Newark 
Young Men's Christian Association, on 
which he served from 1905 until his death, 
and was president of the Children's Aid 
Society, associations in which he took an 
active interest. He was one of the origi- 
nal members of the North End Club, of 
Newark, a member of the Up-Town Club, 
and a popular man in these associations. 
Socially Mr. Mockridge was as successful 
as in the business world. Both in busi- 
ness and in private life, his wise and prac- 
tical counsel was sought by many and 
applied with success. 

Mr. Mockridge married, August 19, 
1873, Carolina Virginia Tichenor, of 
Newark, and they had one son, Dr. Oscar 
A. Mockridge, who has for a number of 
years been a successful physician and 
surgeon. Mrs. Mockridge died July 16, 
1916. and at the time of Mr. Mockridge's 
death, March 11, 1917, he was residing 
with his son. His funeral services were 
conducted by the Rev. Alden S. Bennett, 
minister in charge of Trinity Episcopal 
Church, of which Mr. Mockridge was a 
vestryman. The interment was in Mt. 
Pleasant Cemetery. Resolutions of re- 
gret were passed by the board of man- 
agers of the Security Savings Bank and 
by the board of directors of the Young 
Men's Christian Association. 



DESHLER, Charles D., 

Journalist, Antiquarian, Author. 

The late Charles Dunham Deshler, of 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, was of the 
sixth generation of the Deshler family 
and of the eisrhth generation of the Dun- 



234 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ham family in America, his ancestral lines 
being as follows : 

(I) Johann Deshler, born in Germany, 
came to America in 1730. (II) Adam 
Deshler, lived near Allentown, Pennsyl- 
vania, purchased, in 1742, from Frederick 
Newhard, two hundred and three and 
one-half acres, on which he built in 1760 
the stone dwelling called Fort Deshler 
(still standing) ; furnished the provincial 
troops with supplies in the French and 

Indian war ; married Apollonia . 

(Ill) David Deshler, born at Egypt, 
Pennsylvania, 1733. died at Bienj's Bridge, 
Pennsylvania, December, 1796: built in 
Germantown. i//2-~^, the famous dwell- 
ing (afterward the residence of the Mor- 
ris family) known as the Morris-Deshler 
house, which at one time was the head- 
quarters of the British General Howe, and 
in [793, during the yellow fever scourge, 
was occupied by President Washington 
as the executive mansion ; married Sus- 
anna . (IV) John Adam Deshler, 

born 1766, died 1820; married Deborah 
Wagener. (V) George Wagener Deshler, 
born in Allentown, Pennsylvania, Sep- 
tember 17, 1793. died 1836; lived in Easton, 
Pennsylvania : prothonotary of Northamp- 
ton county, Pennsylvania ; editor for some 
time of the Belvidere (New Jersey) 
"Apollo;" married. May 4, 1818, Cath- 
arine Lawson Dunham. (VI) Charles 
Dunham Deshler, see forward. 

(I) Deacon John Dunham, born in 
England in 1589, came to New England 
in the ship "James" in 1630, and died in 
Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 1669; mar- 
ried Abigail . (II) Benajah Dun- 
ham, born 1640, in Plymouth, Massachu- 
setts, died December 24, 16S0, in Piscata- 
way. New Jersey; married, October 25, 
1660, Elizabeth Tilson. (Ill) Rev. Ed- 
mund Dunham, born in Piscataway town- 
ship, Middlesex county, New Jersey, July 
25, 1661, died March 7, 1734; married, 



July 15, 1681, Mary Bonham (born Octo- 
ber 4, 1661, died 1742). (IV) Rev. Jona- 
than Dunham, of Piscataway, born Au- 
gust 16, 1694, died March 10, 1777; mar- 
ried August 15, 1714, Jane Pyatt. (V) 
Colonel Azariah Dunham, born in Pis- 
cataway, New Jersey, 1719, died January 
22, 17110; noted land surveyor; active in 
the Revolutionary War, being a member 
of the committee of correspondence ; mar- 
ried Mary Ford, of Morristown, who was 
born September 22, 1734, in the old Ford 
house at that place, afterward Washing- 
ton's headquarters. (VI) Dr. Jacob Dun- 
ham, of New Brunswick, born September 
30, 1767, died August 23. 1832; married 
Elizabeth Lawson. (VII) Catharine Law- 
son Dunham, born July 14, 1791, died 
March 26, 1875; married, May 4, 1818, 
George Wagener Deshler. (VIII) Charles 
Dunham Deshler. 

(VI) Charles Dunham Deshler, eldest 
child and only son of George Wagener 
and Catharine Lawson (Dunham) Desh- 
ler, was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, 
March 1, 1819. When about four years 
old he was sent to New Brunswick, New 
Jersey, to make his home with his grand- 
father, Dr. Jacob Dunham, who then re- 
sided on Peace street at the foot of Church, 
in a house which is still standing, though 
remodeled. He was educated in private 
schools and at the Rutgers Preparatory 
School, where he was graduated in 1832 
at the age of thirteen. After his grand- 
father's death in the latter year, he was 
apprenticed as clerk to Richard S. Mc- 
Donald in the drug business in New 
Brunswick. Succeeding Mr. McDonald, 
he conducted the business under the firm 
styles of Deshler & Carter, Deshler & 
Boggs, and finally C. D. Deshler. Dur- 
ing this period he took an active and 
prominent part in organizing the New 
Brunswick gas works, savings institution, 
and circulating library, as also the New 



235 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Brunswick public school system, of which 
he has always been regarded as the 
founder. 

Moving to Jersey City, Mr. Deshler be- 
came editor of the "American Standard," 
resigning that position to accept the edi- 
torship of the Newark "Daily Adver- 
tiser," and conducted these papers with 
marked ability during a portion of the 
Civil War. Appointed by Governor Joel 
Parker commissioner for the sick and 
wounded Jersey troops, he spent consider- 
able time in the South caring for the 
wants and interests of the New Jersey 
and other troops in the various hospitals. 
In 1865 he went to the oil regions of Penn- 
sylvania, occupying the position of treas- 
urer of the Farmers' railroad, which ran 
from Petroleum Center to Oil City. He 
resigned that place to become secretary 
of the International Life Insurance Com- 
pany of Jersey City, and later was en- 
gaged in business interests and literary 
work in New York City, where he was at 
various times editor of the "Christian In- 
telligencer," secretary of the United 
States Dairy Company, secretary of the 
Harney Peak Tin Mining, Milling and 
Manufacturing Company and book re- 
viewer for the publishing house of Harper 
Brothers. 

Reestablishing his residence in New 
Brunswick, Mr. Deshler was until his 
death a prominent and highly esteemed 
citizen of that community. He was lay 
judge of the Middlesex county court of 
common pleas, postmaster of New Bruns- 
wick (appointed by President Cleveland), 
and agent for the Mutual Life Insurance 
Company. For many years he was ves- 
tryman of Christ (Episcopal) Church. 
Throughout his very long life he was 
strongly interested in public affairs, and 
he was associated on intimate terms with 
many of the most distinguished political 
leaders. Originally an ardent Whig (his 



first vote being cast for Harrison and 
Tyler in 1840), he later became a mem- 
ber of the so-called Know Nothing party, 
and finally of the Democratic organiza- 
tion. By appointment from Governor 
McClellan he served as one of the com- 
missioners for the Blind and Feeble-mind- 
ed, having charge of the erection of build- 
ings, etc. At the centennial of the New 
Jersey State Legislature he delivered, by 
the invitation of that body, one of the 
addresses. A man of accomplished liter- 
ary ability, for a portion of his life (as we 
have seen) a professional writer and edi- 
tor, and at all times occupied more or less 
with literary studies and composition, no 
account of his career would be adequate 
without a somewhat particular allusion 
to this phase of it. His reading was most 
extensive, his tastes inclining especially 
to the study of English literature, of 
which he had a scholarly knowledge, and 
upon which he wrote and published valu- 
able critical essays and other contribu- 
tions. He was the author of "Selections 
from the Poetical Works of Geoffry Chau- 
cer" (Putnam, 1848) and "Afternoons 
with the Poets" (Harper, 1879). He also 
devoted much attention to historical re- 
searches, and in this connection published 
many sketches and addresses. The George 
W. Deshler Memorial Library of the New 
Brunswick high school was given by him 
in memory of a son. Mr. Deshler died at 
his residence in New Brunswick, May 10, 
1909, in his ninety-first year. 

He married, May 30, 1841, Mary Moore 
Holcombe, born October 10. 1824, in New 
Brunswick, died September 7, 1893, 
daughter of Theophilus Moore and Cath- 
erine Neilson (Farmer) Holcombe. The 
Holcombes in this line were an older 
Quaker family, originally of Lambert- 
ville, New Jersey. Children: 1. Edward 
Boggs. 2. George Wagener, graduate of 
West Point Military Academy, and after- 



236 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ward first lieutenant of Company A, First 
Artillery, United States Army; died of 
yellow fever at Fort Barrancas, Florida, 
July 28, 1875. 3. Monroe Holcombe (de- 
ceased). 4. James. 5. Kate. 6. Theophi- 
lus Holcombe (deceased). 7. Mary Hol- 
combe. 8. Elizabeth Dunham (deceased). 
9. Charles. 10. Frederick. II. Edith. 



STRYCKER, Gen. William S., 

Soldier, Historian. 

The Strycker family is of most remote 
antiquity. Proof has been brought from 
Holland of the family having remained on 
the same estates near The Hague and near 
Rotterdam for full eight hundred years 
prior to the coming of the first member 
to this country in 1652. The following 
facts, viz. : the ducal coronet on the crest 
and the family being traced far back to 
the latter part of the eighth century, 
prove that the progenitors were among 
the great military chieftains of the Neth- 
erlands who were created dukes, counts 
and barons by Charles the Bald, in order 
to bring some form of government out of 
the chaos of those times long before the 
advent of the Dutch Republic. Many 
legends are told of this powerful family 
in those warlike days — one particularly 
accounting for the three boars' heads 
upon the shield. 

In 1643 the States General of the Neth- 
erlands offered a grant of land in New 
Amsterdam to Jan and Jacobus Strycker 
provided that they brought out, at their 
own expense, twelve other families from 
Holland. This grant, it does not appear, 
they accepted until eight years afterward, 
when they established the American 
branch of the family in and near New 
Amsterdam,. The old Strycker mansion 
at Fifty-second street and the Hudson 
river is the last of the old manor houses 
of New York City. There were few 



offices which these able men did not fill 
at different times. Jacobus was a great 
burgher of New Amsterdam in 1653-55- 
57-58-60, also one of Peter Stuyvesant's 
council. 

Jan Strycker, born in Holland, 1614, 
reached New Amsterdam from Rouen 
with his wife, two sons and four daugh- 
ters, 1652, leaving behind him all the 
privileges and rights which might be his 
by descent in the old world. He was a 
man of ability and education, for his sub- 
sequent history proves him to be promi- 
nent in the civil and religious community 
in which he cast his lot. His first wife 
was Lambertje Seubering. After her 
death he married Swantje Jans, widow of 
Cornelis Potter, of Brooklyn. The second 
wife died in 1686. In March, 1687, he 
married a third time, Teuntje Teunis, of 
Flatbush. 

Jan Strycker remained in New Amster- 
dam a little over a year, and in the year 
1654 he took the lead in founding a Dutch 
colony on Long Island at what was called 
Midwout; it was also called Middle- 
woods. The modern name is Flatbush. 
On the nth of December, 1653, while 
still in New Amsterdam, Jan Strycker 
joined with others in a petition of the 
Commonality of the New Netherlands 
and a remonstrance against the conduct 
of Director Stuyvesant. The petition re- 
cited that "they apprehended the estab- 
lishment of an arbitrary government over 
them ; that it was contrary to the genuine 
principles of well regulated governments 
that one or more men should arrogate to 
themselves the exclusive power to dis- 
pose at will of the life and property of 
any individual ; that it was odious to 
every freeborn man, principally to those 
whom God has placed in a free State of 
newly settled lands. We humbly sub- 
mit that 'tis one of our privileges that 
our consent, or that of our representa- 



2.<7 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tives, is necessarily required in the enact- 
ment of laws and orders." It is remark- 
able that at this early day this indictment 
was drawn up, this "bill of rights" was 
published. But these men came from the 
blood of the hardy Northmen and im- 
bibed with the free air of America the de- 
termination to be truly free themselves 
In the year 1654 Jan Strycker was se- 
lected as the chief magistrate of Midwout, 
and this office he held most of the time for 
twenty years. The last time we find the 
notice of his election was at the council 
of war holden in Fort William Hendrick, 
August 18, Anno 1673, where the dele- 
gates from the respective towns of Mid- 
wout, Bruckelen, Amers-fort, Utrecht, 
Boswyck and Gravesend selected him as 
"Schepen." He was also one of the em- 
bassy from New Amsterdam and the prin- 
cipal Dutch towns to be sent to the Lord 
Mayors in Holland on account of their 
annoyance from the English and the In- 
dians; they complain that they "will be 
driven off their lands unless reenforced 
from Fatherland." On April 10, 1664, he 
took his seat as a representative from 
Midwout in that great Landtdag, a gen- 
eral assembly called by the burgomasters, 
which was held at the City Hall in New 
Amsterdam, to take into consideration 
the precarious condition of the country. 
He was one of the representatives in the 
Hempstead convention in 1665, and he ap- 
pears as a patentee on the celebrated 
Nichols patent, October 11, 1667, and 
again on the Dongan patent, November 
12, 1685. He was elected captain of the 
military company at Midwout, October 
2 5> ^^73' an d his brother Jacobus was 
given the authority to "administer the 
oaths and to install him into office." Cap- 
tain Jan Strycker was named March 26, 
1674, as a deputy to represent the town 
in a conference to be held at New Orange 
to confer with Governor Colve on the 
present state of the country. 



During the first year of his residence at 
Midwout he was one of the two commis- 
sioners to build the Dutch church there, 
the first erected on Long Island, and he 
was for many years an active supporter 
of the Dominie Johannes Theodorus Pol- 
hemus, of the Reformed Church of Hol- 
land, in that edifice. After raising a fam- 
ily of eight children, every one of whom 
lived to adult life and married, seeing his 
sons settled on valuable plantations and 
occupying positions of influence in the 
community, and his daughters marrying 
into the families of the Brinckerhoffs, the 
Berriens and the Bergens, living to be 
over eighty years of age, he died about 
the year 1697, full of the honors which 
these new towns could bestow, and with 
his duties as a civil officer and a free citi- 
zen of his adopted country well per- 
formed. 

Jacobus Gerritsen Strycker, or Jacob 
Strycker, as he seems to have generally 
written his name, was a younger brother 
of Jan and came from the village of 
Ruinen in the United Provinces, to New 
Amsterdam, in the year 1651. On Febru- 
ary 11, 1653, he bought a lot of land "on 
west side of the Great Highway, on the 
cross street running from the said high- 
way to the shore of the North River, 
Manhattan Island." A part of this "lot" 
is still in possession of the family. He 
was a great burgher of New Amsterdam 
in 1653-55-57-58-60. In the month of 
March, 1653, he appears as subscribing 
two hundred guilders to the fund for 
erecting a wall of earth mound and 
wooden palisades to surround the city of 
New Amsterdam to keep off the Puritan 
colonists of New England and unfriendly 
Indians. On May 27 of the same year the 
worshipful schepen, Jacob Strycker, is 
the purchaser of a lot of land ten rods 
square on what is now Exchange Place, 
east of Broad street. 

About the close of the year 1660 he re- 



238 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



moved to New Amersfort, Long Island, 
now called Flatlands. He must have re- 
turned for a time to New Amsterdam, for 
in 1663 he appears again as an alderman 
of the young colony there. In the year 
1660 he and his wife Ytie (Ida) (Huy- 
brechts) Strycker, whom he married in 
Holland, and who bore him two children, 
a son and a daughter, appear on the rec- 
ords as members of the old Dutch Church 
of New York, and it is noted that he had 
removed to New Amersfort. The rec- 
ords of the church in the latter place 
shows both of them as members there in 
the year 1667. On August 18, 1673, he 
became schout or high sheriff of all the 
Dutch towns on Long Island, a position 
of influence and responsibility at that 
time. He was also a delegate to the con- 
vention, March 26, 1674, to confer with 
Governor Colve on the state of the colony. 

He seems to have been a gentleman of 
considerable means, of much official influ- 
ence and of decided culture. He died, as 
we find from the church records kept by 
Dominie Casparus Van Zuuren, in Octo- 
ber, 1687. From this date until the pres- 
ent time (1906) the family genealogy has 
accurately been traced down by General 
William S. Strycker, whose biography we 
here append, drafted and adopted by the 
Military Order of the Loyal Legion of 
the United States Commandery of the 
State of Pennsylvania shortly after his 
death. 

William Scudder Strycker, son of 
Thomas Johnson and Hannah (Scudder) 
Strycker, of Trenton, New Jersey, was 
born in that city, June 6, 1838, died at his 
home in that city, October 29, 1900. He 
prepared for college at the Trenton Acad- 
emy and was graduated from Princeton 
College in the class of 1858. He read law 
and was admitted to the bar (Ohio), but 
never engaged in active practice. He re- 
sponded to President Lincoln's first call 



for troops and enlisted as a private April 
16, 1861. He was appointed major and 
disbursing officer and quartermaster at 
Camp Vredenburg, Freehold, New Jer- 
sey, July 22, 1862, by the Governor of 
New Jersey, and assisted much in organ- 
izing the Fourteenth New Jersey there. 
He was appointed paymaster of L'nited 
State- Volunteers, February 19, 1S63, and 
ordered to Hilton Head, South Carolina, 
where, July 8, 1863, he volunteered as 
acting aide-de-camp to General Gillmore 
and participated in the capture of Morris 
Island, in the night attack on Fort Wag- 
ner, and in the siege of Charleston gen- 
erally. Subsequently he was transferred 
to the north on account of illness and as- 
signed to duty as senior paymaster at 
Columbus, Ohio, at Parole Camp, and 
continued in charge of that paying dis- 
trict (including Detroit) until 1S66, when 
he resigned and returned to Trenton. 

On January 10, 1867, he was placed on 
the staff of the Governor of New Jersey 
as aide-de-camp and lieutenant-colonel, 
and April 12, 1867, was appointed adju- 
tant-general of New Jersey, with the rank 
of brigadier-general, which office he held 
continuously to his decease (over thirty- 
three years) and the duties of which he 
discharged with signal ability. He was 
nominated brevet major-general by Gov- 
ernor Parker for long and meritorious 
service, February 9, 1874, and confirmed 
by the Senate unanimously. 

General Strycker was a wide reader and 
close Student, especially of American his- 
tory, and collected a large and valuable 
library, especially rich in Americana. He 
was noted as an author and wrote some of 
the best and most accurate historical 
monographs yet issued in America, re- 
lating particularly to New Jersey and the 
battles of Trenton, Princeton and Mon- 
mouth. He became so interested in the 
conduct of the Hessians at Trenton that 



239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he made a trip to Hesse-Cassel, Germany, 
and exhumed from the archives there new 
facts of rare value concerning them. His 
"Trenton One Hundred Years Ago," "The 
Old Barracks at Trenton, N. J.," "The 
New Jersey Volunteer-Loyalists," "The 
Battles of Trenton and Princeton," 
"The New Jersey Continental Line in the 
Virginia Campaign 1781," "Washington's 
Reception by the People of New Jersey 
in 1789," and other like monographs are 
authorities on these subjects, and will 
continue so. He also compiled, or had 
compiled in his office as adjutant-general, 
a "Register of the Officers and Men of 
New Jersey in the Revolutionary War" 
and a "Record of the Officers and Men of 
New Jersey in the Civil War 1861-1865," 
that abound with painstaking accuracy 
and care and that will forever remain as 
monuments both to himself and the State. 
In recognition of his scholarly work and 
worth, his alma mater justly conferred the 
degree of Doctor of Laws upon him in 
1899. 

He was president of the Trenton Battle 
Monument Association and the life and 
soul of it for years and to his wise and 
patriotic conduct is due in large part its 
erection at last. He was president of the 
Trenton Savings Fund Society and great- 
ly interested in its new banking house, an 
ornament to his native city. He was a 
director of the Trenton Banking Com- 
pany and of the Widows' Home Associa- 
tion ; also trustee of the First Presby- 
terian Church, Trenton, and of the Theo- 
logical Seminary at Princeton. He was 
president of the New Jersey Society of 
the Cincinnati and of the New Jersey 
Historical Society, and a member of the 
New Jersey Society of the Sons of the 
American Revolution, of the Grand Army 
of the Republic, and of the Military Order 
of the Loyal Legion ; also a fellow of the 
American Geographical and Historical 



societies and of the Royal Historical Soci- 
ety of London. 

General Strycker traveled extensively, 
both at home and abroad, and dispensed 
a gracious hospitality to Count de Paris 
and others, and was everywhere recog- 
nized as an American scholar and gentle- 
man. He was modest and unassuming 
beyond most men, but was an accom- 
plished officer and Christian gentleman. 
In both his military and civil relations he 
was alike honorable and honored. "None 
knew him. but to love him, none named 
him but to praise." His abilities were of 
a high order, and he had a charm of man- 
ner and grace of bearing peculiarly his 
own. His high qualities, both of head 
and heart, his intellectual attainments 
and social elegance, marked him as one 
of nature's noblemen, and when he passed 
away one of the highest types of Ameri- 
can soldier, citizen and gentleman was 
lost. He was the very soul of probity 
and honor. His work is done and it was 
well done, and his example remains an 
inspiration and a hope. 

General Strycker married, September 
14, 1870, Helen Boudinot Atterbury, of 
New York, and their children were : 
Helen Boudinot, wife of John A. Mont- 
gomery, Esq. ; Kathlyn Berrien and Wil- 
liam Bradford. His wife and three chil- 
dren survived him. 



HOPPER, John, 

Lawyer, Jurist, Legislator. 

In the records of the First Reformed 
Dutch Church in Hackensack, New Jer- 
sey, it is written that William Hoppe was 
a member of the church there as early as 
1686, that Mattys Hoppe and his wife 
Antjie Forkse were members of the same 
church in 1687, and that their daughter, 
Christyna Hoppe, was baptized there on 
her confession of faith in the year 1686. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



There is little question that the surname 
Hoppe herein mentioned is identical with 
the ancient Holland Dutch name of 
Hopper, which has been so well and 
prominently known in the region of New 
Amsterdam and the New Netherlands for 
more than two and a half centuries, but 
the exact kinship of either William or 
Mattys Hoppe and Garret Hopper is not 
clearly settled, although the fair pre- 
sumption is that both of the former were 
of a single generation anterior to that of 
Garret Hopper, and that if one of them 
was not his father they both probably 
were his uncles, and not of a more remote 
degree of consanguinity. During the half 
century of undisputed Dutch dominion in 
America the family names of Hoppe and 
Hopper occur frequently in church and 
borough records and they both are known 
to stand for and represent a substantial 
element of the sturdy people that fol- 
lowed Hudson, the navigator and ex- 
plorer who in 1609 opened the way for 
Dutch colonization and settlement on 
Manhattan Island, originally the city of 
New Amsterdam but now New York, and 
in the regions adjacent thereto, which 
during the dominion of Holland on this 
side of the Atlantic ocean were within the 
jurisdiction of that sovereign power under 
the name of New Netherlands; and after 
the overthrow of the Dutch power in 
America by superior British might both 
nanus were still retained for generations 
although that of Hopper became finally- 
dominant and is generally accepted as the 
common family patronymic. 

(I) Garret Hopper was of Holland ori- 
gin and ancestry, if not of Holland birth, 
and it is to him that genealogists and his- 
torians have accurately ascribed progeni- 
torship of the particular family considered 
in these annals. He became possessed by 
purchase of a considerable tract of land 
extending from Hackensack river to 



Slaughter dam, and from which was taken 
an ample portion of about five hundred 
acres for the family mansion and estate. 
There he caused his mansion house to be 
built and there he dwelt in comfort to the 
end of his days, cultivating his broad 
acres and in the enjoyment of the fruits 
of industry and a life well spent. The 
name of his wife does not appear, nor the 
names and dates of birth of all of their 
children, although the tradition is that 
theirs was a goodly family in numbers as 
well as in estate. 

(II) Jacob, son of Garret Hopper, was 
born previous to 1730, and died about the 
year 1815. He had his residence on his 
father's estate, and his own house stood 
on the Pollifly road leading out from 
Paterson turnpike to Carlstadt. He too 
was an husbandman of industry and 
thrift, giving chiefest attention to the 
cultivation of his lands and providing 
abundantly for those who were to come 
after him in inheritance and possession. 
The baptismal name of his wife was Cor- 
nelia, and according to records which are 
regarded as reasonably accurate they had 
four children, all of whom are believed to 
have been born on the old homestead : 
1. Katrina, married John Earle, who died 
about the beginning of the War of the 
Revolution. 2. Henry Garret, who with 
his brother John occupied the paternal 
estate and divided it between themselves. 
3. John I., born 1775. 4. Elizabeth, mar- 
ried Cornelius Terhune, grandson of John 
Terhune, the latter the progenitor of a 
notable family in early New Jersey his- 
tory. 

(III) John I., son of Jacob and Cor- 
nelia Hopper, was born in 1775 ; died in 
1833, on the family homestead in Hacken- 
sack, where his life was chiefly spent; 
and not spent in vain endeavor, for he is 
remembered as having been one of the 
most thrifty and successful farmers in 



241 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Bergen county in his time, bringing his 
lands to the highest degree of cultivation 
and productiveness and tilling them ac- 
cording to methods which in many re- 
spects were far in advance of his day. 
The products of his farm were always of 
the best quality and he marketed them in 
New York at good cash prices ; his butter 
often brought a premium award because 
of its superior quality, and he profited 
not a little on account of his thrift and 
enterprise. He was one of the very first 
farmers to carry his produce to market 
in a wagon with springs and top, and he 
also was one of the first farmers of the 
region who sold produce in New York 
City. He is said also to have been a man 
of excellent education, and it is known 
that he attended the private school in 
Hackensack of which Dr. Wilson was 
then the head master; and a famous 
pedagogue he was, as well as being a 
man of high educational attainments. 

During the second war with the mother 
country Mr. Hopper was drafted for serv- 
ice in the American army, but he fur- 
nished a substitute to take his place in 
the ranks. This was not because he was 
scrupulous of bearing arms, for none of 
the Hoppers ever were wanting in either 
moral or physical courage, nor is it be- 
lieved that they ever were opposed to 
war on principle; but at that time he 
evidently felt that he could best serve his 
country's cause by furnishing a substitute 
in his stead and he might be free to care 
for his family and home and farming in- 
terests which otherwise must suffer loss. 
In 1S18 he built a fine substantial man- 
sion house of brownstone, on a command- 
ing elevation affording a good view of 
the surrounding country. It stood on 
what in comparatively recent years be- 
came known as Terrace avenue. He was 
zealous in religious matters and for many 
years was officially connected with the 



First Reformed Church as one of its 
elders and deacons. For a long time he 
vigorously opposed the movements of the 
so-called seceders, but finally yielded to 
their persuasions and joined them. His 
wife was Maria, daughter of Albert Ter- 
hune. She was born about 1781 ; died 
January 1, 1856, having borne her hus- 
band nine children: 1. Cornelia, married 
John Terhune, a farmer and miller of 
New Barbadoes, who died in 1879, a & e d 
seventy-nine years. 2. Altia, married Al- 
bert A. Brinkerhoff, of Hackensack. 3. 
Catherine, married Jonathan Hopper, a 
merchant of Paterson. 4. Albert, died 
1833, aged twenty-four years. 5. Jacob 
I. 6. John. 7. Eliza. 8. Maria, mar- 
ried Henry Demarest, of New York. 9. 
Jane, married Dr. George Wilson, of New 
York. 

(IV) Jacob I., son of John I. and Maria 
(Terhune) Hopper, was born on the fam- 
ily homestead in Hackensack, December 
21, 1810, and spent his whole life there, 
engaged in agricultural pursuits and to a 
large extent in market gardening and 
laising small fruits. So early as 1840 he 
began growing strawberries on an exten- 
sive scale for the New York market, and 
in this business he was very successful 
and continued it for many years. So 
great indeed was the yield of his fields 
that his daily shipments are said to have 
averaged more than three thousand 
baskets. This of course would not be 
regarded as an extraordinary yield for 
the present time, but it must be remem- 
bered that Mr. Hopper grew market 
berries nearly three-quarters of a century 
ago, when even a single trip to the market 
required a half day's time in going and 
returning, and when the plough, the har- 
row and the hoe were the only imple- 
ments used in preparing the land and cul- 
tivating the crops. But notwithstanding 
all this he was a very successful man in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his business life and a man very highly 
respected for his sturdy integrity and up- 
right life. In 1835 Mr. Hopper married 
Ann, daughter of Garret Mercelis, whose 
wife was Lenah de Gray, of Preakness, 
Passaic county, New Jersey. She was 
born December 13. 1812, died in June, 
1868. They had two children: 1. John, 
see forward. _'. llllen M. 

(IV ) Judge John, son of John I. and 
Maria (Terhune) Hopper, was born on 
the homestead farm in what now is the 
township of Lodi, Bergen county, New 
Jersey, March 2, 1814; died in Paterson, 
October 15, 1897. He acquired his earlier 
literary education at Washington and 
Lafayette academies in Hackensack, and 
prepared for college under the tutorship 
of the Rev. John Croes, at whose classical 
school in Paterson he was a student for 
some time, and also under the special in- 
struction of Mr. Thomas McGahagan, 
the once famous master of the old acade- 
my in Ilergen Town, now Hudson City, 
New Jersey. In 1830 he matriculated at 
Rutgers College, entering the sophomore 
class, completed the academic course of 
that institution and was graduated A. B. 
in 1833, cum landc, dividing second honors 
with Robert II. Pruyn, afterward min- 
ister plenipotentiary from the United 
States to Japan. After leaving college 
Air. Hopper took up the study of law 
under the preceptorship of Governor 
Peter D. Vroom, of Somerville, New Jer- 
sey, remaining with him about two years, 
and afterward continued his studies for 
another year in the office of Elias B. D. 
Ogden, of Paterson. At a term of the 
Supreme Court held at Trenton, Septem- 
ber 8, 1836, he was licensed to practice as 
an attorney-at-law and solicitor in chan- 
cery in all of the courts of this State, and 
on February 27, 1840, he became a coun- 
selor-at-law. 

Having come to the bar Judge Hopper 



began his professional career in partner- 
ship with his former preceptor, Judge 
Ogden, under the firm style of Ogden & 
Hopper, which relation was maintained 
until 1848, when the senior partner was 
elevated to the bench of the Supreme 
Court of the State. From that time he 
practiced alone until 1869, when he took 
as partner his own son, Robert Imlay 
Hopper, then recently admitted to the 
bar; and thereafter this partnership rela- 
tion was continued so long as Judge 
Hopper was engaged in active practice, 
until he assumed judicial office which 
necessitated the laying aside of private 
professional employments. During the 
long period of his professional career as 
an attorney and counselor at law, Judge 
Hopper was recognized as one of the 
ablest lawyers of the Paterson bar; a 
man of the highest character, a lawyer of 
distinguished ability, a ripe scholar, and 
an advocate with whom principles always 
prevailed over expedients. His practice 
was largely on the civil side of the courts, 
and his clientage was such and the char- 
acter and mind of the man were such, 
that he was able to accept or decline cases 
without danger of pecuniary loss to him- 
self; but he would not refuse a case in 
which he was not sure of ultimate suc- 
cess to his client, although at the same 
time he would not allow himself to be 
drawn into an action in behalf of a client 
whose personal integrity he had reason- 
able ground to question. His methods 
always were careful, but they were not 
laborious, and it was his policy to dis- 
courage rather than to promote litigation ; 
a safe and prudent counselor in the office, 
he nevertheless was a power in the trial 
courts, and with him it was a cardinal 
principle never to go half prepared into 
the trial of an important case ; petty ac- 
tions he preferred to be turned over to 
the younger members of the profession. 



243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In the trial of a case he always was 
properly deferential to the court, but 
never more than that, and never obsequi- 
ous in his manner before any tribunal. 
In presenting a case to the jury it was 
noticeable that he approached the subject 
in hand with dignity and in the light of 
principle and common sense, addressing 
himself to the understanding of his 
hearers and never appealing to their 
passions. And what may have been true 
of him as a lawyer, whether in private 
practice or in the capacity of prosecutor 
for the people, also was true of him as 
a magistrate on the bench of the court, 
for there too he was ever dignified and 
courteous, always considerate of the 
rights of attorneys representing litigant 
parties, and especially considerate and 
forbearing in his treatment of the younger 
members of the profession, frequently en- 
couraging them with fatherly assistance 
and advice. 

Throughout the period of his profes- 
sional life Judge Hopper was much of the 
time an incumbent of office in connection 
with the operation of the courts and the 
administration of the law ; town counsel 
of Paterson from 1843 to 1847; surrogate 
of Passaic county for two terms, 1845 to 
1855 ; counsel to the board of chosen free- 
holders of Paterson from 1855 to 1864; 
prosecutor of the pleas from 1863 to 1868 
and from 1871 to 1874. From 1868 to 
1871 and again from 1874 to 1877 he was 
Senator from Passaic county in the Legis- 
lature of the State. In March, 1877, he 
was appointed by Governor Bedle judge 
of the District Court of Paterson, serv- 
ing in that capacity until January 8, 1887, 
when he resigned to accept Governor 
Abbett's appointment as president judge 
of the Court of Common Pleas, Orphans' 
Court and Quarter Sessions of the Peace 
for the unexpired term of Judge Absalom 
B. Woodruff, deceased. He was reap- 



pointed by Governor Green, March 15, 
1887, and again on April 1, 1887, for a 
term of five years; and on April 1, 1892, 
he was reappointed by Governor Abbett. 
In 1879 he was appointed by Chancellor 
Runyon one of the advisory masters in 
chancery. In political adherence Judge 
Hopper was a firm Democrat, and while 
he was looked upon as one of the leading 
men of the State in the councils of his 
party his democracy was of the type 
which was calculated to draw strength 
to the party and not to engender bitter 
antagonisms in the opposition party. 
From 1851 until the time of his death he 
was a member of the board of trustees 
of his alma mater, Rutgers College, and 
also was a member of the New Jersey 
Historical Society, a director of the Pater- 
son & Ramapo Railroad Company, its 
first secretary in 1844 and was elected its 
treasurer in 185 1. 

On June 16, 1840, Judge Hopper mar- 
ried Mary A., daughter of Robert Imlay, 
at one time a prominent merchant of 
Philadelphia; and June 16, 1890, Judge 
Hopper and his wife celebrated the fiftieth 
anniversary of their marriage. They had 
six children who grew to maturity: 1. 
John H., silk manufacturer, member of 
the firm of Hopper & Scott, Paterson. 2. 
Robert Imlay, lawyer, Paterson. 3. Mary 
A., wife of Frank W. Potter, late United 
States consul to Marseilles. 4. James, re- 
moved to Texas. 5. Caroline. 6. Mar- 
garet Imlay, wife of John T. Boyd, of 
Brookline. Massachusetts. 



FERGUSON, Rev. John, 

Clergyman. 

This ancient surname is of Scottish 
origin, derived from Fergus, a favorite 
name and one proudly worn by many 
Scotch chiefs in ancient times. 

(I) Rev. John Ferguson, immigrant, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was born December 9, 1788, in Dunse, a 
market town in Berwickshire, in the 
southern part of Scotland. His grand- 
father came from the north of Scotland 
and was one of the soldiers of the Duke 
of Marlborough, serving in the Scots 
Greys, a regiment of heavy cavalry dur- 
ing the period of Queen Anne's wars. His 
father and uncle came to America and 
settled in Newport, Rhode Island. About 
the time of the Revolutionary War his 
father returned to Scotland, for he was 
not willing to take up arms against the 
mother country ; but at the age of about 
seventy years he returned with his wife 
and family to Newport. His wife was 
Anne Briggs, of Little Compton. Rhode 
Island. 

At the time of the return of his father 
to this country John Ferguson was a 
young man of seventeen years. He was 
converted at an early age and at once 
began fitting himself for the ministry. 
For two years he studied theology with 
Dr. Tenney, pastor of the First Con- 
gregational Church of Newport, Rhode 
Island, intending to enter Yale College 
two years in advance of the regular 
course. While living in Providence, 
Rhode Island, he at one time was a stu- 
dent of theology under the instruction of 
Rev. Galvin Park, D. D., professor of 
ancient languages and later of moral 
philosophy at Brown University. How- 
ever, he was compelled to abandon his 
plans for entering Yale and had to again 
enter business pursuits and assume the 
care of his father and the maintenance of 
his family. For ten years he continued 
this course, and during all of that time he 
never relinquished the hope of entering 
the ministry. He seemed to have a pre- 
sentiment that the chief desire of his life 
would be fulfilled, and the ten years 
proved a period of preparation for that 
kind of life, although of quite different 



nature from that which he would have 
chosen. 

His first sermon as a candidate was 
preached at Attleboro, Massachusetts, 
and his text was "The Lord is a Man of 
War." The text and sermon were not 
only characteristic of the man and of his 
theology, but of his ministry, which to 
use his own expression was "warlike." 
lie never shrank from the defense of 
truth, never hesitated to sacrifice com- 
fort, reputation or means of support in 
the maintenance of principle. He was 
ordained in Attleboro, February 27, 1822, 
and dismissed March 25, 1835. Li speak- 
ing of his ministry there one writer says: 
"It was of great value in the administra- 
tion of wise and judicious measures and 
marked the beginning of the system of 
support to the various benevolent enter- 
prises of the day, and of aid to the labors 
of parent and pastor by a judicious and 
careful education of children in Sabbath 
schools, and maternal associations." After 
leaving Attleboro Mr. Ferguson was set- 
tled in Whately, Massachusetts, from 
March 16, 1836, until June 7, 1840. He 
was called Father Ferguson and was a 
man to whom churches looked for coun- 
sel and pastors for advice, often when 
pastors and churches were involved in 
difficulties. "He was very often solicited 
to appear as advocate before ecclesiastical 
courts, and many a time as he has done 
this have the coolness and shrewdness, 
the wit and wisdom with which he advo- 
cated the course extorted the exclamation 
'what a lawyer he would have made'. - ' He 
almost always defended the weaker party, 
his sympathies frequently inclining to the 
unpopular side. "He was always ready 
to grasp the shield and poise his lance 
for the injured and defenceless. In all 
such cases he sniffed the battle like the 
war horse and fought with all the chiv- 
alry and the courtesy of a Christian 



245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



knight." He became extensively known 
as the "champion of the oppressed," al- 
though at the same time he was equally 
well known as "a lover and maker of 
peace." 

He preached for about two years at 
Lanesborough and Whately, the place of 
his former settlement, and in 1842 became 
general agent for the American Tract 
Association for the States of Vermont 
and New Hampshire, in which office and 
its duties he was very successful ; and 
he really became the Congregational 
bishop for those two States. He died at 
Whately, November n, 1858. He was a 
man of vigorous mind and of vigorous 
body, a large-hearted man, of keen wit, 
"but his keenest shafts were winged with 
kindness." He was social and genial in 
manner. Realizing the defects of his own 
education — never having graduated from 
any college — he labored hard and made 
many sacrifices to give each of his sons 
e. college education. Amherst College 
bestowed on him the honorary degree of 
Master of Arts, a proof that although he 
had been denied the advantages of a col- 
lege course he had by his own exertions 
thoroughly educated himself and the com- 
pliment was a source of great gratifica- 
tion to him. Mr. Ferguson published a 
sermon on the death of Ebenezer Dag- 
gett, Jr., which was delivered December 
16, 1831, and several other discourses. 
He also published for the use of Sunday 
schools a "Memoir of Dr. Samuel Hop- 
kins," the celebrated theologian. 

Mr. Ferguson married (first) June 7, 
1813, Mary V. Hammett, of Newport, 
Rhode Island, by whom he had two chil- 
dren. She died June 30, 1818, and he 
man-ied (second) April 28, 1819, Mar- 
garet S. Eddy, of Providence, who died 
May 6, 1871, by whom he had nine chil- 
dren. Children: 1. John, born January 
(, 1815; married Sarah Moore. 2. Mar- 



garet, November 11, 1816, died December 
19, 1819. 3. Mary H., February 25, 1820; 
married Charles D. Stockbridge. 4. Peter, 
December 13, 1821, died October 14, 1822. 
5. Peter, July 20, 1823. 6. William E., 
April 1, 1825, died June 6, 1854; married 
Elizabeth Saw^telle. 7. Rev. George R., 
March 19, 1829; married Susan Pratt, of 
Andover. 8. Margaret E., December 9, 
1830; married H. B. Allen, of New Haven, 
Connecticut. 9. James A., November 17, 
1832; married Claudia Churchill, of New 
Orleans. 10. Anna B., May 3, 1835, died 
August 6, 1840. 11. Abby Park, April 4, 
i8 3 7- 



STEVENSON, James, 

Educator, Litterateur. 

On August 7, 1764, a tract of twenty- 
five thousand acres of land situated at 
what is now Salem, Washington county, 
New York, was granted Alexander Turn- 
er and twenty-four others residing in Pel- 
ham, Massachusetts Bay Colony, and 
these proprietors conveyed an undivided 
half to Oliver Delancy and Peter Dubois, 
of New York City. The whole tract of 
twenty-five thousand acres was marked 
off into three hundred and four small 
farms of eighty-eight acres each, suitable 
to the requirements of a Scotch-Irish 
farming colony. 

The "New Light heresies" which in the 
middle of the eighteenth century sowed 
dissensions in the Presbyterian churches 
in Scotland and Ireland caused an Irish 
Presbyterian community in and about 
Monaghan and Ballibay to petition the 
Associate Burgher Presbytery of Glas- 
gow, Scotland, to furnish them with ortho- 
dox preaching. Rev. Thomas Clark, M. 
D., an ordained minister of this Glasgow 
Presbytery, was thereupon sent "as a mis- 
sionary to Ireland," and shortly after was 
regularly ordained and installed by a com- 



246 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mittee of the Glasgow Presbytery over 
the church at Ballibay, where he became 
greatly honored and beloved for his piety 
and zeal. Bitter persecution, however, 
instigated by prominent members of the 
rival Presbyterian church in Ballibay in- 
duced Dr. Clark and a large portion of his 
flock to seek a new home in the wilds of 
America. Dr. Clark and his parishioners 
sailed for New York from Neury, Ire- 
land, May 10, 1764, arriving there July 28, 
1764. The unique feature of this interest- 
ing emigration is the fact that the entire 
church organization was transferred from 
Ireland to -America. An Irish Presby- 
terian church with a Scotch pastor affili- 
ated ecclesiastically with a Scotch Pres- 
byterian Assembly was thus transferred 
to America in a body. As stated in the 
"Salem Book," there were none of the 
formalities of organizing a church. No 
admission of members or election of trus- 
tees. The company was already a per- 
fectly organized religious society with 
its pastor, its elders, its members, all reg- 
ularly constituted. Dr. Clark had never 
resigned nor had the Presbytery released 
him from his pastoral charge over these 
people. We doubt if any other religious 
society has been transferred from the Old 
to the New World in a manner so regular 
and orderly and with so little to vitiate its 
title to a continuous identity." Dr. Clark 
searched for a suitable place on which he 
and his people could establish their 
church and their homes, and after much 
investigation and travel he secured on 
September 13, 1765, from Delancy and 
Dubois their undivided share of the twen- 
ty-five thousand acre tract, which already 
had been sub-divided into farms as above 
stated. The result of acquiring rights 
to the allotment of farms distributed 
throughout a large tract, instead of ac- 
quiring the whole of a tract which the 
colonists could divide among themselves, 



was that the Scotch-Irish and Scotch 
colony under Dr. Clark were intermingled 
over a wide territory with a New Eng- 
land colony who divided among them- 
selves the farms which represented the 
half of the tract which Dr. Clark did not 
purchase. Dr. Clark and his people were 
under obligation after five years to pay a 
rent of one shilling per acre, and hence 
they no doubt urgently invited their co- 
religionists from Scotland as well as from 
Ireland to join them, and within ten years 
from the original settlement a very sub- 
stantial addition to the colony was made 
by emigrants from the part of Scotland 
from which Dr. Clark had come. Dr. 
Clark named the settlement New Perth, 
while the New England settlers called it 
White Creek. On March 2, 1774, the 
Legislature of New York combined both 
tracts into the township of New Perth 
thus establishing a legal name, which re- 
mained until March 7, 1788, when in 
dividing the whole State into counties and 
towns, the name New Perth was changed 
to Salem, located in Washington county, 
New York. This was the objective point 
to which the passengers of the brig, 
"Commerce," were bent on April 20, 1774, 
when James Stevenson and his family left 
Scotland for the New World. 

(II) James (2), son of James (1) Steven- 
son, a shawl weaver of Scotland, was the 
founder of this family in America. He 
was born in the home of his parents on 
the bank of the Bonnie Doon in Ayrshire, 
Scotland, about the year 1747. When a 
young man he removed to Paisley, where 
he learned the trade of silk and linen 
weaver. He joined the Scotch Presby- 
terian church in Paisley, at that time hav- 
ing as its pastor the distinguished divine, 
John Witherspoon. While a citizen of 
Paisley he married Margaret, daughter 
of David Brown, of Stewartson, Scotland, 
and while residents of Paisley three chil- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dren — James, Jane and John — were born. 
The family embarked at Greenock, Scot- 
land, April 20, 1774, in the brig, "Com- 
merce," with several other families, their 
destination being the Scotch settlement 
at New Perth in the State of New York. 
He had allotted to him a farm located two 
miles east of the present village of Salem, 
Washington county, whereon he settled 
and lived during the remainder of his life. 
In 1896 this farm was owned by two of 
his grandsons, Thomas S. and Robert M., 
sons of Thomas and Agnes (McMurray) 
Stevenson. The first election held in the 
town of New Perth, now Salem, was on 
September 8, 1774, and James Stevenson 
voted at that election. Soon after the 
American Revolution had assumed a defi- 
nite purpose, he volunteered for military 
service in the New Perth Company, com- 
manded by Captain Alexander McNitt. 
Upon his arrival James Stevenson became 
a member of the church of Dr. Thomas 
Clark and was afterward one of its rul- 
ing elders. When Dr. Clark severed his 
relations with the congregation in 1782, 
Mr. Stevenson went on horseback through 
the almost unbroken wilderness from Sa- 
lem, New York, to Pequea, near Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, to endeavor to per- 
suade the Rev. James Proudfit to become 
pastor of the church at Salem as suc- 
cessor to Dr. Clark, who had resigned to 
join another Scotch settlement in South 
Carolina as their pastor. In this mission 
he was entirely successful and Dr. Proud- 
fit became the second pastor of the Scotch 
church in Salem. Mr. Stevenson brought 
with him from Paisley, Scotland, a large 
library of excellent books, and a quantity 
of fine linen, the product of the industry 
of his family, and these heirlooms are 
highly prized by his descendants. 

Children of James and Margaret 
(Brown) Stevenson: 1. James, see for- 
ward. 2. Jane, born in Scotland ; married 



George Telford and settled in Argyle, 
New York. 3. John, born in Scotland; 
married Katherine McLeod and settled in 
Howard, Steuben county, New York, 
where he died in 1863. 4. David, born in 
Salem, New York, died there unmarried. 
5. Thomas, born in Salem ; married (first) 
Agnes, daughter of John McMurray : 
married (second) Mary, daughter of 
Joshua Steele ; his children were : Thomas 
S., Robert M. and James B. ; Thomas 
Stevenson lived on the hom,estead ; was 
an elder in the church at Salem for nearly 
half a century ; died in Salem, 1854, aged 
seventy-five years. James Stevenson, 
father of these children, died in Salem, 
New York, April 19, 1799, and his widow 
died the following year. 

(Ill) James (3), eldest child of James 
(2) and Margaret (Brown) Stevenson, 
was born in Paisley, Scotland, January 8, 
1762. He came with his parents, sister 
Jane and brother John to America in 1774. 
He was prepared for college by his father, 
and then entered the Hackensack Classi- 
cal Academy, conducted by Dr. Peter 
Wilson, afterwards of Columbia College, 
and was graduated at Queen's now Rut- 
gers College, Bachelor of Arts, 1789. He 
was principal of the academy at Morris- 
town, New Jersey, the Rutgers grammar 
school, and in 181 1 was appointed princi- 
pal of the Washington Academy, Salem, 
New York, in which institution he proved 
himself one of the ablest classical teach- 
ers in the country. Among his pupils, 
several of whom have written eulogis- 
tically of his character, his attainments 
and his extraordinary skill and capacity 
as an instructor, were Dr. Philip Lindsay, 
vice-president of Princeton and president 
of Nashville, Tennessee, University, Pro- 
fessor Henry Mills, of Auburn Theologi- 
cal Seminary, Samuel L. Southard, Theo- 
dore Frelinghuysen, Rev. Jacob Kirkpat- 
rick and Rev. Dr. George W. Bethune. 



248 



I \< YCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



That eminent scholar, Dr. Taylor Lewis, 
professor in Union College, who was a 
pupil for two years in the Salem Acad- 
emy, in some reminiscences which he 
writes of his beloved instructor, says: 
"He stands in my remembrance as the 
best model that I ever knew of the most 
honorable and dignified profession, the 
schoolmaster's. Some of the thoughts re- 
specting him come to my mind when I 
read Dr. Arnold, the best example of a 
teacher that England ever produced." 
James Stevenson was a trustee of Wash- 
ington Academy, incorporated February 
18, 1791. the fourth academy incorporated 
in the State of New York and the first free 
academy established in the State outside 
of New York City. He contributed to the 
newspapers and magazines of the time de- 
voted to educational and religious sub- 
jects. 

James Stevenson married Hannah, 
daughter of Richard Johnson, of Morris 
county, New Jersey. Children: James, 
Sarah, Martha, Richard, Paul Eugene, 
Anna Louisa. James Stevenson, father 
of these children, died October 9, 1843, in 
the eighty-second year of his age. 



TRENCHARD, James H„ 

Authority on Land Titles. 

The Trenchard family belongs to a 
good old English stock which had made 
its name in the old country many years 
before it was transplanted to the new 
world. The family traces its origin back 
to Pogames Trenchard, who held land in 
County Dorset during the reign of Henry 
I., in 1090. In the sixteenth and the pre- 
ceding century they had intermarried 
with the Damosels and the Moleynes. 

(I) Thomas Trenchard, Knight, of 
Wolverton, was born 1582, died 1657; he 
was knighted by King James I., Decem- 
ber 14, 1613, and held the office of high 



sheriff of Dorset ; he was the founder of 
the branch of the family at present under 
consideration. His son Thomas is re- 
ferred to below. 

ill) Sir Thomas (2) Trenchard, son of 
Sir Thomas ( 1 ) Trenchard, was born in 
Wolverton, County Dorset, in 1615, died 
in [671. Like his father he was a baronet. 
In [638 lie married Hannah, born 1620, 
died 1691, daughter of Robert I lenley, of 
Bramhill, Hampshire. Their son John 
is referred to below. Two of his cousins, 
Grace Trenchard, who married Colonel 
William Sydenham, and Jane, who mar- 
ried John Sadler, of Wardwell, were 
strong supporters of Oliver Cromwell. 

(Ill) John, son of Sir Thomas (2) and 
Hannah (Henley) Trenchard, was born 
in Wolverton. County Dorset. England. 
March 30, 1640, died in 1695. He matric- 
ulated from New College, Oxford, in 1665. 
He was elected a member of Parliament 
for Taunton, February 20, 1678, and was 
a number of the club of Revolutionaries 
which met at the King's Head Tavern in 
Fleet street. November 2, 1680, he spoke 
against the recognition by parliament of 
the Duke of York as the heir apparent, 
and in July, 1683, he was arrested as a 
conspirator, but released for lack of evi- 
dence. In 1687 William Penn, who was 
a warm personal friend of Trenchard, 
obtained from King James II. a free par- 
don for Sir John and he was again elected 
to parliament. He was one of those who 
united in the invitation to William of 
Orange to come over and seize the Eng- 
lish throne. October 29. 1689, he was 
knighted at Whitehall and was appoint- 
ed to the office of chief justice of Chester, 
which he held until his death. In No- 
vember, 1682, John Trenchard married 
Philippa, daughter of George Speake, and 
the sister of Charles and Hugh Speake, 
by whom he had four sons, one of whom 
is George, referred to below. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(IV) George, son of John and Philippa 
(Speake) Trenchard, was born in county 
Somerset, New York, in 1686, died at 
Alloway township, Salem county, New 
Jersey, in 1712. He was probably mar- 
ried and had several children. In his will 
he names as his children : George, Ed- 
ward, John, Joan. 

(V) George (2), son of George (1) 
Trenchard, died in Salem county, in the 
latter part of 1728. Coming to America 
with his father he settled in Salem county 
and from 1723 to 1725 was sheriff. He 
was also one of the deputy sheriffs for 
West Jersey and also one of the asses- 
sors. By his marriage with Mary Ben- 
der, of Salem county, he had five sons 
and several daughters. The daughters 
married into several of the leading fam- 
ilies of Salem and have left numerous de- 
scendants. The sons were: 1. Curtis, 
born 1740, died 1780; from 1778 to 1779 
clerk of Salem county, later surrogate. 
He married the daughter of Attorney 
Burcham, of Salem. His son Edward 
was in the United States Navy, com- 
manded the "Constitution" at the siege 
of Tripoli and the "Madison" in the War 
of 1812 and other famous men-of-war. 2. 
John, referred to below. 3. James. 4. 
George, born 1748, died 1780; was attor- 
ney-general of West Jersey from 1769 
to 1776, prominent in the Salem commit- 
tee of safety and the Camden Second 
Battalion, Salem County Light Horse, 
and one of those to whom Colonel Maw- 
hood's letter was addressed. He married 
Mary, daughter of Judge Andrew Sin- 
nickson, of Salem. 5. Thomas. 

(VI) John (2), son of George (2) and 
Mary (Bender) Trenchard. was born in 
174-'. He lived for a time at Cohansey 
Bridge, and about 1768 with his brother 
bought a property at the northwest cor- 
ner of Laurel and Jefferson streets, which 
was afterwards owned by James Boyd, at 



the commencement of the Revolution, 
where for several years afterwards Mr. 
Boyd's widow resided and kept a store 
there. In 1769 they sold this property 
and afterwards removed to Fairfield, 
where he died in 1823. He was twice 
married. His first wife was Theodosia 
Ogden, by whom he had ten children, 
three sons and seven daughters. The 
sons were: 1. John, referred to below. 2. 
Curtis. 3. Richard. 

(VII) John (3), son of John (2) and 
Theodosia (Ogden) Trenchard, died in 
1863. In early life he worked as a black- 
smith with Curtis Edwards, whose shop 
was situated on the old road from Bridge- 
ton and Fairfield to Rocap's Run. He 
continued in that employment four or five 
years, and then went into business at 
Fairton, keeping store with Daniel P. 
Stratton. When Mr. Stratton removed 
to Bridgeton in 1814 John Trenchard con- 
tinued business, sometimes alone and 
sometimes with a partner for twenty 
years, being engaged in building vessels 
and in getting lumber and shipping same 
to Philadelphia, this being at that time 
a highly profitable business. He also 
sent produce to Bermuda. In 1843 he 
purchased from David Clark the mill 
property at Fairton and in 1845 moved 
the mill to its present site, where by close 
attention to business he amassed a very 
considerable estate. During all his life 
he was most highly esteemed by his asso- 
ciates. In early life he was a Democrat 
and a supporter of John Quincy Adams 
rather than Jackson and became a Whig. 
In 1827-28 he was elected a member of 
the New Jersey Legislature. 

John Trenchard married (first), in 
1803, Eleanor Davis, who bore him seven 
children. Married (second) Hannah L. 
Pearson, in 1816. She bore him thirteen 
children. Ten of these children died in 
infancy. Children of John and Eleanor 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Davis) Trenchard to reach maturity manner. At this time Mr. Trenchard was 



were: i. James Howell, referred to be- 
low. 2. Ethan, twice married, his second 
wife being a Miss Diament. 3. Eleanor. 
Children of John and Hannah L. (Pear- 
son) Trenchard who reached maturity 
were: 4. John, M. D., of Philadelphia, 
married (first) Mary Olnsted and (sec- 
ond) a Miss Booth. 5. Theophilus, of 
Bridgeton, New Jersey. 6. Emily, mar- 
ried the Hon. George S. Whiticar, of Fair- 
ton. 7. Rufus, married Sarah Jane Ben- 
nett. 8. Nancy, married the Rev. David 
Meeker, a Presbyterian minister. 9. John, 
died unmarried. 10. Henry Clay. 

(VIII) James Howell, son of the Hon. 
John (3) and Eleanor (Davis) Trenchard, 
was born May 20, 181 1, in Fairton, New 
Jersey, died February 27, 1877, after a 
severe illness of about ten days duration. 
He went into the mercantile business 
soon after his marriage, having purchased 
the interest of his father-in-law, Judge 
Barrett, which he continued for a time 
until he removed to Centreville (now 
Centreton) in the fall of 1839, where he 
entered largely into the general store and 
milling business and the lumber trade. 
In early life he was for a while under the 
Rev. Dr. George Junkin, of Easton, Penn- 
sylvania. He had a liking for mathe- 
matics and soon began surveying in this 
branch, abounding in intricate cases in 
great land try-outs. In the fall of 1848 
Mr. Trenchard was elected to the New 
Jersey Assembly on the Whig ticket. He 
was very popular in his own neighbor- 
hood and received the votes of many in 
the township whose policies were op- 
posed to his purely from personal con- 
siderations. He refused to run a second 
time, the corruption of the lobby and the 
questionable character of a large part of 
the public and private legislature as then 
and since directed having no charms for 
one of his honest, frank and independent 



very frequently called upon to find old 
searches, to settle disputes as to title and 
to act as commissioner, also to engage in 
surveying whenever wanted. He did not 
give his whole attention to these matters 
until he removed to Bridgeton in the 
spring of 1863. Here his son was with 
the firm of J. H. and W. B. Trenchard, 
surveyors, which was then one of the 
most prominent ones in that section of 
the State. No person in New Jersey had 
done more practical surveying or tramped 
more miles in all weathers and under all 
conditions than had this James H. Tren- 
chard. At various times he had had many 
of the most valuable papers in his pos- 
session relating to the lands in the lower 
counties of the State. Consequently he 
became thoroughly conversant with the 
titles, butts, bounds, courses and descrip- 
tions and all other matters relating to 
lower Jersey's real estate. lie always 
carefully preserved copies of maps of all 
surveys made by him, and these are of 
very great use to persons asking informa- 
tion in regard to landed property. He 
possessed great natural kindness of heart 
and was generous in his impulses, which 
rallied around him earnest friends. Not 
the least of his merits was his unflinching 
patriotism. At the time of his death he 
was city surveyor, a position which he 
had long held. As such he established 
me present grade of the Bridgeton streets, 
and also at the time of his death was 
serving his second term as councilman 
from the second ward. He was president 
of the Bridgeton Water Works of Bridge- 
ton, New Jersey, and a forerunner in the 
movement which secured the city's pres- 
ent water works. 

The Hon. James Howell Trenchard 
married Mary, daughter of Judge Wil- 
liam D. Barrett, of Fairton, New Jersey, 
who was born in 1815 and who bore four 



-\S> 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sons and three daughters. Three sons 
and two of the daughters married. The 
other one died unmarried. Children: I. 
Richard, who was killed, as was also his 
wife, July 30, 1896, in the Meadow disas- 
ter, Atlantic City, leaving five children. 
2. William B. 3. James W. 4. Thomas 
W., died aged fourteen. 5. Eleanor, mar- 
ried J. T. Williams, of Philadelphia; she 
is deceased. 6. Jeanette, married Charles 
R. Elmer, now deceased; she lives in 
Riverton, New Jersey. 7. Araminta, died 
in infancy. 



IRICK, Gen. John S., 

Soldier, Public Official. 

The progenitor of the Irick family in 
America was Johan Eyrich, of Palatina, 
Holland, who landed at Philadelphia with 
his brother William about A. D. 1750-60. 

(I) John Irick (Johan Eyrich) came to 
Pemberton, New Jersey, and lived with 
Dr. William Budd, a large owner of pro- 
prietory lands, and at his death John Irick 
remained with the widow for some years, 
becoming interested in purchasing large 
tracts of lands, by which he laid the foun- 
dation of the future wealth of the family. 
We have not been able to establish the 
fact that he must have been possessed of 
a competency upon his arrival in this 
country, but it is believed that he was so 
possessed, for he could not in such short 
time have amassed the large estate of 
which he died possessed. He with others 
was naturalized by the provincial legis- 
lature in 1770, his name being anglicized 
to John Irick. The record of his marriage 
shows that General Elias Boudinot be- 
came the bondsman in five hundred 
pounds at that time, which fact indicates 
that he was not yet twenty-one years old. 
Besides being a man of large means, he 
was a strong churchman, and for many 
years was prominently identified with St. 



Mary's Church (Episcopal) of Burling- 
ton. Among his possessions was a large 
estate between Burlington and Mt. Holly, 
and there he spent the greater part of his 
life, engaged in agricultural pursuits. He 
married, 2 mo. 28, 1761, Mary Sailer, and 
(second) 2 mo. 26, 1781, Mary Shinn. He 
died in 1826, aged about eighty-six years. 
His children, William and John, were by 
the first wife, Mary Sailer. 

(II) General William Irick, elder son 
of John and Mary (Sailer) Irick, was 
born near Burlington, New Jersey, in 
1767, died January 26, 1832. Immediately 
after his marriage he removed from his 
father's homestead on the road from Mt. 
Holly to Burlington, to Vincentown, New 
Jersey, and settled on the farm now 
owned and occupied by his grandson, 
Henry J. Irick. He received his educa- 
tion in the academic schools of Burling- 
ton, and after leaving school took up sur- 
veying and conveyancing in connection 
with his extensive farming operations. 
His public documents, deeds, articles of 
agreement, etc., are well and accurately 
written, and still serve very well as 
models from which to copy. He early be- 
came interested in public affairs, and filled 
many positions of trust and honor; was a 
member of the House of Assembly in 1804, 
and again from 181 1 to 1814, inclusive, 
and member of the Governor's Council 
from 1815 to 1817. During the second 
war with the mother country he was in 
command of the State militia at Billings- 
port, and thus acquired the military title 
by which he was ever afterward known 
and addressed. In politics General Irick 
was a staunch Whig. His death was 
much lamented by a wide circle of de- 
voted friends, chief among whom was 
Chief Justice Ewing, with whom he 
always maintained an intimate friend- 
ship. He married Margaret, daughter of 
Job and Anne (Munro) Stockton ; chil- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dren: i. Anne, married Colonel Thomas 
Fox Budd, of Vincentown. 2. Mary, mar- 
ried Marzilla Coat, also of Burlington 
county. 3, William, see post. 4. Job, see 
post. 5. John Stockton, see post. 

(Ill) General William (2) Irick, son 
of General William (1) and Margaret 
(Stockton) Irick, was born on the Irick 
homestead, near Vincentown, Burlington 
county, New Jersey, December 20, 1799, 
died August 17, 1864. He followed in the 
footsteps of his father as a surveyor and 
business man, and always lived in Vin- 
centown. He also was honored by his 
fellow townsmen with many public offices 
and was the last member of the old coun- 
cil of New Jersey from Burlington county 
under the continental constitution. His 
acts of charity and benevolence were un- 
bounded, and he always was ready to lend 
a helping hand to his neighbor. He was 
a man of fine stature, standing full six 
feet tall, weighing two hundred and 
twenty-five pounds, energetic and pains- 
taking in all of his business transactions. 
He took great interest in military affairs, 
and he and his staff were a soldierly look- 
ing body of men. In his magisterial ca- 
pacity of justice of the peace he married 
many of the very first people of hi-; and 
the adjoining counties. At the outbreak 
of the Civil War, notwithstanding his 
physical infirmities, General Irick ten- 
dered his services to Governor Olden, but 
under a reorganization of the State militia 
about that time he was legislated out of 
his military office. He did the next best 
thing, however, in aiding the government 
by pledging his ample fortune through 
Jay Cooke & Company in support of the 
Union cause. General Irick married 1 first ) 
Sarah, daughter of Amos and Lydia Heu- 
lings, of Evesham township. Burlington 
county. She died in 1852, and he married 
(second) Mrs. Sarah Eayre. He had five 
children — all daughters — by the first wife, 



and one child by his second wife: I. 
Lydia H., married Franklin Hilliard, of 
Burlington county. 2. Margaret, mar- 
ried David B. Peacock, of Philadelphia. 
3-4. Eliza Ann and Mary Ann, twins ; 
Eliza Ann died in early womanhood ; 
Mary married Benjamin F. Champion, of 
Camden county. 5. Cornelia, married 
John W. Brown, Esq., of Burlington 
county. 6. William John, now president 
of the First National Bank of Vincen- 
town, and whose home is near the pater- 
nal home in Southampton township. 

(Ill) Job, second son of General Wil- 
liam (1) and Margaret (Stockton) Irick, 
was a land surveyor and successful farm- 
er, but he died early in August, 1830, at 
the age of thirty-seven years. He mar- 
ried Matilda Burr, and lived and died in 
Southampton township. He had one son, 
William H. Irick (father of Mary Irick 
Drexel), and two daughters, both of 
whom married and lived in Philadelphia. 

(HI) General John Stockton, third son 
of General William (1) and Margaret 
(Stockton) Irick, was born on the old 
homestead in Southampton township, Au- 
gust 4, 181 1, died August 4, 1894. In 
May, 1832, he married and being so nearly 
of age at that time, his brothers, William 
and Job, executors of his father's will, 
permitted him to occupy his inheritance 
at once, and took him into partnership in 
working off and marketing the timber 
growing on the broad acres devised to 
them jointly. Both he and his wife hav- 
ing a handsome landed estate, their way 
in the world was successful from the be- 
ginning, until along in the fifties, when he 
joined with nine other men in the iron 
foundry business at Lumberton, as part- 
ners, without being incorporated, each 
member being personally responsible for 
all its obligations, and trusting to the 
management of two of the partners, at 
the end of a very few years the concern 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



became heavily involved, and he realized 
the fact that he was held responsible for 
$250,000, all that he was worth at that 
time. But with the same energy that 
always characterized his actions, he took 
hold of the concern, came to the aid of the 
bankrupt cities, built their gas and water 
works and financed them, and soon paid 
off the indebtedness and saved a hand- 
some profit while the others stood off 
without offering any material aid. The 
war of the rebellion broke out at about 
this time, and under the reorganization 
of the State militia he, with three others, 
was appointed by Governor Olden to or- 
ganize and command it, with the rank of 
major-general. Upon the election of 
Governor Parker, he was continued and 
gave his time and services throughout 
the war. He, like his brother William, 
tendered through Jay Cooke his fortune 
in defence of the Union. He was a mem- 
ber of the New Jersey House of Assem- 
bly, 1847-48-49, and never lost his inter- 
est in public affairs, always taking an 
active part in politics as an ardent Whig 
and Republican. His only other public 
office was that of freeholder, serving as 
director of the board during his three 
years' term. It was largely through his 
efforts that the first railroads in Burling- 
ton county were built and he was a direc- 
tor in all of them. He also was instru- 
mental in organizing the First National 
Bank of Vincentown, being its president 
until his death, when William John Irick 
succeeded him. He died August 4, 1894, 
upon his eighty-third birthday, leaving a 
large circle of acquaintances and friends. 
General Irick married, May 17, 1832, Erne- 
line S. Bishop, a Quakeress, daughter of 
Japheth and Rachel Bishop. She was 
born in Vincentown in 1814, died April 
2,1895; children: 1. Henry J. 2. Rachel 
B., September 9, 1835 ; married Charles 
Sailer. 3. Samuel S., August 30, 1838; 



married Susan Butterworth. 4. Margaret 
A., January 1, 1841 ; married Henry B. 
Burr. 5. Job, August 8, 1844; died young. 
6. John B. 7. Emeline, 1848; died young. 
8. Robert H., June 30, 1851 ; died young. 



NEWMAN, John, 

Man of Affairs. 

John Newman, former mayor of the 
city of Bayonne, New Jersey, and late 
president of the Mechanics' Trust Com- 
pany, the leading financial institution of 
that city, was born in England, February 
12, 1831, died at his residence on Avenue 
C, Bayonne, November 2, 1901. He was 
the son of George and Elizabeth New- 
man, and grandson of George Newman. 

John Newman was reared under Chris- 
tian influence, and his education some- 
what limited, was acquired in the parish 
schools of his native town. At the age 
of seventeen years, impelled by a strong 
desire to seek his fortune, he, with the 
consent of his father, emigrated to the 
United States and after a long sailing 
voyage arrived in New York in the early 
part of 1848, with no other friends than 
those gained during the voyage. On his 
arrival in New York he sought out an old- 
time friend of his father's family, Henry 
Robinson, who at that time was a pros- 
perous merchant at No. 70 William street, 
and a member of the wholesale dry goods 
firm of Robinson & Parsons. Here the 
young man began life in the commercial 
world, like many others at the beginning 
with a determination to succeed. He soon 
found favor with his employers, and by 
his strict attention to the business in all 
its details and his probity rose to posi- 
tions of greater responsibility and re- 
muneration, his employers realizing that 
in their young employee was the making 
of a thorough, reliable factor in their busi- 
ness. He remained with the firm until 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the civil war when, like many other firms, 
they became embarrassed owing to the 
closing of the southern markets. With 
the careful savings acquired by much self- 
denial, Mr. Newman began to look about 
in other fields of enterprise and shortly 
afterward engaged in the lighterage and 
packet trade with John S. Conklin, a fel- 
low clerk in the house of Robinson & 
Parsons, with headquarters at No. 87 
Broad street ; the firm operated three 
transportation freight boats from the 
New York docks to various destinations 
in and about New York. After a partner- 
ship of seven years, Mr. Newman sold his 
interests and entered into the fire and 
marine insurance business with A. G. 
Brown under the firm name of Newman 
& Brown, at No. 105 Broad street, which 
in later years was transferred to No. 35 
South William street. During the period 
of the firm's success Mr. Brown was re- 
moved by death, Mr. Newman continuing 
the business up to his death in his own 
name. Henry Byron Newman, a nephew, 
was admitted to partnership, the business 
being continued under his very able man- 
agement. 

During Mr. Newman's career in the in- 
surance world he became associated with 
his brother David in the wholesale and 
retail dry goods business at Beaver Dam, 
Wisconsin, where the brother took up a 
residence. The undertaking was emi- 
nently successful from the start, David 
taking the management of the business in 
the far west while John assumed the buy- 
ing in New York, with regular yearly 
trips to the western house. With an 
already large demand for their products 
and the reputation of the Newman house, 
the enterprise speedily developed into one 
of the large firms in that line in Wiscon- 
sin, where the brothers continued for a 
period of over fifteen years, subsequently 
removing to Lincoln, Nebraska, where 



they erected a handsome business block 
in the heart of the business district of 
that city. Since the death of the brothers, 
which occurred within two months of 
each other in 1901, the business has been 
leased, the heirs of each holding their re- 
spective shares of the profits. The suc- 
cess that marked Mr. Newman's manage- 
ment of the two vast concerns naturally 
attracted the attention of men connected 
with private and municipal affairs and he 
was eagerly sought for influential places 
in the administration. Upon the organi- 
zation of the Mechanics' Trust Company 
of Bayonne, he was elected the first presi- 
dent, March 1, 1886, in which office he 
presided until his death. Under his care- 
ful and discreet management the business 
foundation of this institution was estab- 
lished, upon which the present magnifi- 
cent superstructure has been built, a 
monument to his name and executive 
ability. 

The broader field of his activity did not 
preclude his interest in and sympathy 
with the municipal and business affairs 
of his city. His opinions were models in 
their way and his name was looked upon 
as the most favorable and prominent in 
party affairs. He served for over four- 
teen years as a member of the city coun- 
cil and was president of the board; he 
was elected mayor of Bayonne in 1887 
and presided in this honorable position 
five successive terms, up to 1891, gain- 
ing great credit for his party, his Repub- 
lican principles being fully administered 
during that period. He served as presi- 
dent of the Bayonne Building and Loan 
Association. He was popular in social 
life and a leading member of the New 
Jersey Athletic Club, the outgrowth of 
the old Argonata Rowing Association, 
which had a remarkable history of win- 
ning events. He became its president 
and a director. He was a member of the 



255 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OP BIOGRAPHY 



Masonic fraternity and was made a mem- 
ber of Bayonne Lodge, No. 99, Free and 
Accepted Masons, July 1, 1869. He 
served that body as its worshipful master 
during 1874-75-78, and was treasurer from 
1880 until his death in 1901, filling these 
offices of trust with great credit to his 
lodge and himself. He was formerly a 
member of Company No. 1, Bayonne Fire 
Department, and was formerly regimental 
paymaster of the old New York Second 
Regiment Volunteer Militia previous to 
the Civil War. 

As in public life so in private life Mr. 
Newman was a model man. In his home, 
which he loved so devotedly, he was all 
that a loving husband could be. In the 
church, which was his supreme delight, 
he was a pillar. Reared in the Episcopal 
faith, he soon after coming to his adopted 
land became a communicant of the Jane 
Street Methodist Church, New York City, 
where he was united in marriage to Mary 
Frances La Force, daughter of David and 
Abbie (Burnet) La Force, July 28, 1852, 
the ceremony being performed by the 
Rev. Mr. Longsberry. She later, by pro- 
fession of faith, became a member of the 
Metropolitan Methodist Church, where 
he was leader of the choir and basso for 
a number of years. He also was secre- 
tary and librarian of the Sunday school. 
In September, 1865, he removed to Bay- 
onne, New Jersey, and purchased his at- 
tractive residence on Avenue C. Mr. and 
Mrs. Newman became members at this 
time of the Dutch Reformed church, 
where they worshipped about twelve years. 
Later both became interested in the or- 
ganization and building of the First Pres- 
byterian Church, the faith under which 
Mrs. Newman was reared. Mr. Newman 
took a keen interest in the affairs of this 
church and became its choir leader and 
trustee, also serving on other executive 
boards. The religious element in his char- 



acter was positive and of a high type. He 
was a close student of religious subjects, 
free from cant and narrowness, and pre- 
served throughout his public, as in his 
private career, the preeminent Christian 
character. He was a man of the people, 
plain and simple, possessed of a strong 
personality that greatly endeared him to 
all who knew him and came in contact 
with him. He was a man whose strong 
and honest convictions could not be 
swerved under the most trying circum- 
stances. The following resolutions were 
passed at the time of Mr. Newman's 
death : 

At the meeting of the Board of Directors of 
Mechanics' Trust Company of the City of Bay- 
onne, New Jersey, held November 6, 1901, the 
following Preamble and Resolutions were unani- 
mously adopted : God in his wisdom has again 
removed from our councils one of our most active 
and valued members. John Newman has been 
the executive head of this company since its or- 
ganization for business in 1886, and has served in 
that capacity with great fidelity. Our exceptional 
success has been due in a large measure to his 
ceaseless activity and constant interest in promot- 
ing the growth of this Institution. His intimate 
knowledge of the municipal affairs of this city 
gained by having held for a number of years vari- 
ous positions as member of the Board of Educa- 
tion, member of the Common Council and Mayor 
of this city, gave him that broad experience with 
men and affairs which increased wonderfully his 
usefulness as the head of this company. Through 
its infancy and during the formative period of 
this company his ripe experience, sound judg- 
ment and conservative methods have inspired that 
confidence in this institution and its management 
that has led to its attaining the strong financial 
standing in the community which it now has. He 
was a positive quantity and a born leader of men. 
Mr. Newman is the fourth member of our first 
board whose death we have had to mourn since 
the organization of the company. He will be 
greatly missed by us as well as by his large circle 
of associates in other lines of activity. In order 
that we may give appropriate expression to these 
our sentiments be it resolved that these words of 
respect and appreciation be recorded on our 
minutes. De Witt Van Buskirk, V. P., 

Chas. D. Noe, Sec. 



256 



IXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The following resolutions on Mr. New- 
man's death from the Bayonne Building 
Association, No. 2: 

At an adjourned regular meeting of the 
Bayonne Building Association, No. 2, held No- 
vember 26. 1901, the following resolutions were 
unanimously adopted : Whereas through the death 
of our late President, John Newman, we have 
suffered the loss of one whose interest in the 
welfare of this association has been evinced by 
earnestness, perseverance and zeal in his efforts 
to sustain its character and better its condition. 
Therefore be it resolved that we place upon rec- 
ord fitting evidence of our sorrow, at being de- 
prived of all wise council and cheerful coopera- 
tion, that we cherish the recollection of his labors 
and profoundly acknowledge his many noble and 
generous qualities. Resolved that with this tribute 
of our esteem and respect we extend our heart- 
felt sympathy to his family in their affliction and 
be it further resolved that these resolutions be 
spread in full upon the minutes and that a copy 
of the same be sent to the family of our deceased 
associate. R. H. Ten Brooch, V. P., 

Schuyler L. Mackie, Sec. 



CARPENTER, John, 

Journalist, Public Official. 

The noble family of Carpenter from 
which the Irish Earls of Tyrconnel have 
descended, is of great antiquity in County 
Hereford and other parts of England. 
John Carpenter, the earliest known mem- 
ber of the family, appears there as early 
as 1303. In 1323 he was a member of par- 
liament for the borough of Leskard, in 
Cornwall, as two years afterwards was 
Stephen Carpenter for Crediton, County 
Devon. John Carpenter's son Richard, 
born about 1335, had a son John who be- 
came town clerk of London, and in turn 
had a son John, born about 1410, whose 
son William is the founder of the branch 
of the family at present under considera- 
tion. 

This William Carpenter, son of John, 
Jr., commonly known as William Car- 
penter, of Homme, lived in the parish of 
n j-a-17 2 



I >il\\ vne, County Hereford, England, was 
born about 1440, and died in 1520. Among 
his children was a son James, who died in 
1537, leaving a son John, who died three 
years later, in 1540, whose son William, 
named for his great-grandfather, was the 
most prominent ancestor of the Tyrcon- 
nel Carpenters, and the founder of the 
Rehoboth branch of the Carpenter family 
at present under consideration. 

(I) William Carpenter, founder of the 
American branch of the Tyrconnel Car- 
penters, was born about 1540, and had 
several children: 1. James, who inherited 
the estate of his father. 2. Alexander, 
born about 1560, a dissenter, who re- 
moved to Leyden, Holland, and whose 
youngest son, William Carpenter, of Cod- 
ham, was one to whom was granted the 
"Greyhound" arms. 3. William, referred 
to below. 4. Richard, removed to Ames- 
burg; his son William came to America 
in 1636, settled in Providence with Roger 
Williams, and became the progenitor of 
the Providence branch of the Carpenter 
family. 

(II) William (2), son of William (1) 
Carpenter, born in 1576, was a carpenter 
by trade, and lived in the city of London. 
He rented a tenement in Houndsditch in 
1625 on a lease for forty-one years. In 
1638, however, with his son William and 
his daughter-in-law he came to America 
in the ship "Bevis." He was registered 
in Southampton, Long Island, but re- 
turned home in the same vessel in which 
he came over, leaving a son William in 
this country to become the founder of this 
branch of the family. 

(III) William (3), son of William (2) 
Carpenter, was born in England, 1605, 
and died February 7, 1659, in Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts. He was admitted free- 
man of Weymouth, May 13, 1640, and 
was representative of that town in 1641 
and 1643. In 1641 he was constable, and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was admitted an inhabitant of Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts, March 18, 1645, and was 
representative for Rehoboth in the same 
year. Governor Bradford, who married 
his cousin Alice, manifested for him great 
friendship, favoring him in all his meas- 
ures in the criminal court, in fact, from 
all their dealings and transactions, public 
and private, which have been recorded 
and come down to us, it is evident that 
these two men were the closest of friends. 
The legal business of the town or colony 
seems to have been principally in the 
hands of William Carpenter. He was one 
of the committee who laid out the first lot 
from Rehoboth, Dedham, and with others 
was chosen to look after the interest of 
the town, to hear and decide on the griev- 
ances with regard to the division of land 
by lots, and to represent the town in the 
Criminal Court of Cambridge. In 1647 
and again in 1655 he was one of the select- 
men of the town. His will was dated 
April 21, 1659, and proved February 7, 
1669. By his wife Abigail, who died Feb- 
ruary 22, 1687, he had seven children: 1. 
John, is referred to below. 2. William, 
born about 1631, died January 26, 1703; 
married (first) Priscilla Bennett, (second) 
Miriam Searles. 3. Joseph, born prob- 
ably about 1633; married Margaret Sut- 
ton, died May, 1675. 4. Hannah, born 
April 3, 1640; married her cousin, Joseph 
Carpenter, of Providence, Rhode Island. 
5. Abiah, born April 9, 1643. 6. Abigail, 
twin with Abiah, married John Titus, Jr. 
7. Samuel, born probably 1644; died 1682; 
married Sarah Readaway. 

(IV) John, son of William (3) and 
Abigail Carpenter, was born about 1628, 
and died May 23, 1695. He came from 
England with his father, and when young 
went to Connecticut, and was there previ- 
ous to 1746, when he must have been 
about seventeen years old. For several 
years he traveled about in Connecticut 



working at the carpenter trade. In 1660 
he bought land at Hempstead, Long 
Island. He is mentioned in his father's 
will as is also his son. In May, 1664, he 
was made freeman of Connecticut, and in 
1663 was chosen townsman of Hempstead. 
He was generally known as Captain John 
Carpenter, in virtue of his office as com- 
mander of the Jamaica fusileers, which in 
1673 was ordered to defend Fort James, 
New York, against the fleet of the Prince 
of Orange. John Carpenter was one of 
the patentees of the town of Jamaica, 
Long Island, under the Dongan patent of 
1680, with Nehemiah Smith. He was one 
of the committee to settle the Rev. John 
Pruden over the church of Jamaica in 
1676. His will, November 10, 1694, be- 
gins: "I, John Carpenter now ancient 
crazy in body and sound of mind." He 
leaves his carpenter's tools to his sons. 
He was a man of superior judgment, who 
did much to assist in the building up of 
the community. By his wife who was 
probably Hannah Hope, he had seven 
children: 1. John, who is referred to be- 
low. 2. Hope, whose will was proved 
March 23, 1712, whose wife's name was 
Mary, and who was commissioned ensign 
January 10, 1690, and with his brother 
Samuel was captain of militia in 1700. 3. 
William, born about 1662, died Febru- 
ary 2 or 21, 1748 or 1749; married (first) 
probably Sarah ; (second) Eliza- 
beth . 4. Samuel, born about 1666. 

5. Solomon, born about 1670. 6. Ruth, 
married a Ludlam. 7. A daughter, name 
unknown, who married a Rhodes. 

(V) John (2), son of John (1) and 
Hannah (Hope) Carpenter, was born in 
Connecticut, about 1658. His will was 
proved July 30, 1732. His residence was 
Jamaica, Long Island. After November 
22, 1703, he took the oath as captain of 
troops at Jamaica. He was assessed in 
1683 at £~S. His wife's name was Mary. 



258 



! NCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Children: I. Nehemiah, born about 1685, 
died April 25, 1821 ; married Elizabeth 

. 2. John, is referred to below. 3. 

Solomon, born about 1686, died 1772. 4. 
Joseph, born about 1687; married prob- 
ably Phebe, daughter of Wait Smith. 5. 
Increase, born about 1688, died about 
1776; married a Bergin. 6. Mary. 7. 
Hannah. 8. Susanna. 9. Phebe. 

(VI) John (3), son of John (2) and 
Mary Carpenter, was born about 1685. 
He was called "John the Sheriff," to dis- 
tinguish him from other Carpenters bear- 
ing his own name. The title was given 
him because he served as sheriff of Orange 
county, New York. At one time he de- 
clined. Shortly after his marriage he re- 
moved from Long Island to Goshen, Xew 
York, where he died. His wife married 
for her second husband, Mr. Thurston. 
By his wife Ruth Coe he had nine children : 

1. Ruth, born about 1720; married (first) 
Ephraim Marston ; (second) Peter Stagg. 

2. Daniel, born about 1720, died March 
10, 1790; married Susan Thompson. 3. 
Increase. 4. Isaac, married (first) Susan- 
na (Horton) Little; (second) Susanna 
( McKinney) Thompson. 5. Temperance, 
married Jeremiah Curtis. 6. John, re- 
ferred to below. 7. Benjamin, born about 
1750, died 181 1 ; married Eunice, sister to 
J. Stewart. 8. Moses. 9. Susanna, died 
March 17, 1790; married a Howell. 

(VII) John (4), son of John (3) and 
Ruth (Coe) Carpenter, born June 3, 1730 
(or February, 1745, according to another 
account), died February, 1800. He is said 
to have represented Orange county in the 
Colonial Assembly in 1778, also at one 
time to have been a judge of the same 
county. He is sometimes called "John the 
Distiller." He moved to Washington 
town, north of Albany, New York, and 
went into the distillery business, which in 
those days was considered highly honor- 
able, and accumulated much property. He 



was a man of knowledge, held many im- 
portant offices, and was at one time a 
member of the Assembly of New York. 
He was a successful and prominent busi- 
ness man. January 31, 1779, he married 
Abigail, born August 29, 1758, died April 
21, 1 841, daughter of Benjamin and Louise 
(Cory) Moore, who survived her husband 
and after his death married Hezekiah N. 
Woodruff. This was his second marriage. 
His first wife, name supposed to have 
been Frances, bore him three children. 
The remaining nine were the issue of the 
second marriage. These children were: 
1. Margaret, born April 30, 1773. 2. Eli- 
nor, born October 27, 1775. 3. James, 
baptized September 21, 1777. 4. Cynthia. 
born May 23, 1782; married Philip C. 
Schuyler. 5. John Coe, referred to below. 
6. Abigail, born August 21, 1787; mar- 
ried John Sherwood. 7. Susan, born 1795, 
married Truman Hart. 8. Benjamin, born 
April 4, 1783, married Charlotte B. Alden. 
9. Mary, bora July 28, 1789, married John 
C. Wynans. 10. Temperance, born June 
25, 1791 : died August 2, 1831 ; married 
Sands Higinbothan. 11. Isaac born Sep- 
tember 19, 1793: married (first) Cynthia 
Samantha Goodwin ; (second) Emeline 
Woodward. 12. Elizabeth, born July 19, 
1798; married a Leonard. 

(VIII) John Coe, son of John and Abi- 
gail (Moore) Carpenter, was born May 
4. 1784. He lived at first at Windham, 
Greene county, New York, and later in 
Fayettesville or Manlius, Onondaga coun- 
ty, New York. By his first wife 

Mead, he had three children. In 1807 he 
married (second) Hannah Babcock, of 
Coventry. Connecticut, who bore him one 
more child. Children: I. John, referred 
to below. 2. Eliza, born January 1, 1801, 
married Asahel Peck. 3. Cynthia, born 
September 21, 1803, married a Ken- 
ney. 4. Sands Coe, born about 1815, mar- 
ried Marv Clark. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(IX) John, eldest child of John Coe 
Carpenter by his first wife, was born at 
Windham, Greene county, New York, De- 
cember 13, 1805, died in Woodbury, New 
Jersey, July 21, 1891. He took to the 
printing trade while yet a boy, securing 
an apprenticeship in the office of the 
"Herkimer Herald." He became its act- 
ing editor during his apprenticeship, and 
at the age of nineteen, differing with the 
opinion of the editor as to the presidential 
candidates, he bought the balance of his 
apprenticeship and the paper with it, and 
transferred his support from Adams to 
Jackson. The people of Herkimer coun- 
ty in the election of 1824 sustained the 
cause of the new editor. In 1826 Mr. 
Carpenter was induced to remove to Os- 
wego, New York, where he helped to 
establish the Oswego "Palladium," which 
is yet prosperous and influential and one 
of the oldest Democratic papers in New 
York State. The greater part of John 
Carpenter's younger life was spent in 
Oswego, which he saw grow from a little 
village and become a city of considerable 
commercial importance to the country. 
It is interesting to note that Mr. Carpen- 
ter took the first iron printing press used 
in Oswego from Albany, New York, on 
a sleigh. After about twenty years labor 
on the "Palladium" (during which time 
it did good service for his party being the 
paper which in the 1840 campaign got 
from General Harrison and published a 
famous letter in which he confessed that 
he had a political committee of three to 
keep his political conscience and tell what 
his opinions were on public issue), Mr. 
Carpenter sold the printing office in order 
to accept the clerkship of the county, to 
which he had been elected, but he after- 
wards for many years contributed to the 
political columns of the paper. 

Throughout his life he was a strict ad- 
herent to the old party of Jefferson. His 



first vote for President was for Andrew 
Jackson, and his last for Grover Cleve- 
land, and in his old age he expressed him- 
self glad to know that for more than half 
a century he had never failed to discharge 
his duty as a citizen in voting at every 
election. He removed to New Jersey a few 
years before his death, as he was warned 
by a second attack of pneumonia that he 
could no longer stand the Lake Ontario 
winters, but he so timed his removal as- 
to cast his vote in New York State and 
become a resident of New Jersey the 
same day. In 1876, when he had voted 
for the one-hundredth time, he was elect- 
ed by acclamation to represent the Os- 
wego district in the Democratic State 
convention of New York, with a very 
complimentary resolution by the county 
convention. He was as unselfish as he 
was devoted to the party of his prefer- 
ence. When he did not like its candidates 
he supported them for their cause. When 
his own views failed to prevail he prompt- 
ly accepted those of the majority as dis- 
tinct from the regular council of the 
party. In no other way he believed 
could a party and its principles be 
sustained and its policy carried to tri- 
umph for the good and glory of the coun- 
try. From 1852 to 1856 he was a mem- 
ber of the New York Democratic com- 
mittee. He was a staunch friend and ad- 
herent of President Van Buren. When 
in 1848 Mr. Van Buren started his own 
personal party, Mr. Carpenter stood al- 
most alone in his section in support of 
the regular ticket of the New York con- 
vention. In fact, Mr. Nathan Robbins, 
then collector of the port of Oswego, was 
the only other person at the time in the 
Democratic county who with Mr. Car- 
penter supported the regular electoral 
ticket. Oswego after this used to be a 
Democratic county, and Mr. Carpenter 
was several times elected a member of its 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



board of supervisors and took a promi- 
nent and noble part in the county man- 
agement. 

He was as devoted to domestic duties 
and to his private affairs as he was to his 
duties as a citizen. He won warm and 
universal esteem as a neighbor. He was 
unselfishly and untiringly active as long 
as his eye and hand had strength to labor. 
Only a few weeks before his death he had 
helped effectively in the office of the 
"Gloucester County Democrat." the paper 
of his son James. The last eight years 
of his life were spent in comfort at his 
son's home in Woodbury, New Jersey. 

John Carpenter married (first) August 
JO, 1X28, Sarah L., daughter of Andrew 
Ferrill, M. !>.. of Herkimer, New York. 
who died September 14, 1844. having 
borne him eight children. January 3, 
1848, he married (second) Mary, daugh- 
ter of Judge Edmund Hawkes, of Oswego, 
New York, born December 16. 1821. who 
bore him seven children. 



BEEKMAN, George C, 

Lawyer, Antiquarian, Historian. 

George Crawford Beekman was a de- 
scendant of Maarten Beeckman, who died 
at Albany, in 1676. His father, Jacob T. 
B. Beekman, graduated at Union College, 
Schenectady ; entered Theological Semi- 
nary at New Brunswick, New Jersey, and 
was licensed as a minister of Reformed 
Dutch church in 1826. He was called the 
same year as pastor of the Dutch church 
then located in what was the old town- 
ship of Middletown, Monmouth county, 
but afterwards taken off to form what is 
now Holmdel township. Here he served 
ten years, content, as he once remarked 
to his friend, Rev. Garret C. Schenck, with 
"stipends sufficient to pay the board of 
myself and my horse." He also did con- 
siderable missionary service through 



Monmouth county, which then included 
the county of Ocean. He rode about on 
horseback, preaching in school houses 
and sometimes in barns. In 1836 he sev- 
ered his connections with the Holmdel 
Dutch church and took up his permanent 
residence in the village of Middletown, 
where he resided the rest of his life. The 
first Baptist church in what is now the 
State of New Jersey had been organized 
in this place. The population of English 
descent were strong believers in baptism 
by immersion. Even in the coldest win- 
ters they would cut holes through the ice 
of the nearest mill pond to baptize their 
converts. The Dutch church at Holm- 
del, then called the Middletown Dutch 
Church, was five miles distant by the pub- 
lic road from Middletown village. With 
the good will of four or five farmers of 
Dutch descent, named Hendrickson, Luy- 
ster and Couwenhoven, residing on farms 
ovt r a mile west from Middletown vil- 
lage, it was resolved to purchase a lot 
and erect a church in this village. Many 
people ridiculed the idea of building a 
church when there was no congregation 
to fill it or support a minister ; others said, 
"the people here are all Baptists and they 
will not attend a church where people are 
sprinkled with a few drops of water." 
Undisturbed by the clamors, Mr. Beek- 
man went on. A lot was bought and a 
church was built. He gave freely of his 
time, labor and means. He even bor- 
rowed $500 on his individual note, to pay 
some of the final indebtedness. When 
the edifice was completed, Mr. Beekman 
gave public notice that he would preach 
every Sunday, and invited the people to 
attend, assuring all of a welcome. At- 
tracted more by curiosity than piety, a 
large number of people attended, for 
there was nothing to pay. Not only on 
that Sunday but for nearly three years 
following, he preached without any salary 



261 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



or other perquisites. In that time he had 
gathered a congregation able and willing 
to support an unmarried man as pastor. 
Mr. Beekman secured a young and single 
man named Crawford to serve as their 
first regularly installed pastor at a stated 
salary. During the three years Mr. Beek- 
man preached, he had the care of conduct- 
ing a farm and other business. In the 
year 1837 he lost an infant daughter. 
Three years before, his first born, a son, 
named Edwin, died. The graves of those 
two children, with headstones giving 
their names and dates of death, may be 
seen to-day in the yard behind this 
church. They were among the first in- 
terments in this burying-ground. Mr. 
Beekman's funeral was held in this 
church, and was the only thing he ever 
received for his sacrifices and services. 
It was, however, now too small to seat 
the crowd of people who turned out to 
pay their last respects to the memory of 
"Dominie Beekman," as he was generally 
called. Mr. Beekman, later in life, 
preached many years at Port Washing- 
ton, as Oceanic was then called. He also 
preached at one time for a church in New 
York City and elsewhere. He never re- 
fused to preach the funerals of the col- 
ored people when requested. 

He married, February 12, 1833, Ann 
(born February 22, 1801, died May 18, 
1876), daughter of George Crawford and 
Eleanor Schanck, his second wife. 

George Crawford Beekman was born 
July 2, 1839, m tne same dwelling where 
his mother was born and had always re- 
sided, at west end of Middletown village ; 
this house was accidentally burned down 
in 1892. At age of fifteen he entered the 
freshman class of Princeton College, and 
graduated in 1859, receiving the degrees 
of Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts 
in course. He entered as a student of law 
in the office of Joel Parker, of Freehold. 



His first vote was cast the same year for 
the Douglas electors on the presidential 
ticket, erasing four electors who repre- 
sented the ultra-southern pro-slavery 
Democracy and the "Know Nothing" 
party. He did this without knowing that 
a majority of the New Jersey Democrats 
would vote the same way, and was there- 
fore surprised that these three electors 
were the only ones chosen. When South 
Carolina passed her act of secession, he 
wrote an article for the Republican paper 
at Freehold, now known as the "Mon- 
mouth Inquirer," signed "A Jackson 
Democrat," and expressing his views as 
to the result if they were permitted to dis- 
solve the Union peaceably. This article 
attracted considerable attention, and 
evoked a savage criticism from James S. 
Yard in the "Monmouth Democrat." 

Mr. Beekman was licensed by the Su- 
preme Court of New Jersey in 1863 as an 
attorney at law, and three years later as a 
counsellor. Joel Parker, elected Governor 
of New Jersey in 1863, permitted Mr. 
Beekman to use his law office and library 
at Freehold during his term. In the win- 
ter of 1869 the Legislature passed an act 
authorizing the appointment of a "law 
judge" for Monmouth county, with an 
annual salary of $1,800 ; the act prohibited 
the incumbent from, practice of law dur- 
ing his term. Mr. Beekman was the first 
judge to occupy this position in Mon- 
mouth county. The first two years he 
was fully occupied in the trials of the 
accumulated cases and such new busi- 
ness as came in. the third year he had 
only the new business, and this did not 
occupy the courts over two months of 
continuous time during the year. As he 
was debarred from practice of law and 
had no other business, he spent consider- 
able time searching the records of Mon- 
mouth county and gained considerable 
information, showing where the first set- 



262 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tiers in Monmouth came from, how the 
early courts were constituted and who 
were the judges, etc. ; also the disputes 
between the Scotch and English settlers, 
and other facts of interest. Some of these 
researches he gave to James S. Yard, who 
published them from week to week in his 
newspaper. This was purely a labor of 
love as Mr. Beekman received no com- 
pensation and expected none. At a later 
date Mr. Yard had these articles, with 
others written by Hon. Edwin Salter, and 
some compiled by himself, bound to- 
gether in books, entitled "Old Times in 
Old Monmouth," and put on the market 
at five dollars per copy. 

During the three years Mr. Beekman 
served as judge he tried many civil and 
criminal cases ; few were carried to the 
higher courts for review ; none was re- 
versed or modified, but were all affirmed. 
Becoming weary of the idleness of this 
office, Mr. Beekman resigned in the win- 
ter of 1873. He at once resumed the 
practice of law at Freehold. During his 
forty years of practice at Freehold, he 
tried many civil and criminal cases, 
some of which attracted great public in- 
terest and involved important interests. 
The New Jersey Law and Equity Re- 
ports show some of these cases, but the 
great majority were never carried out of 
the county courts of Monmouth. In 1876 
Mr. Beekman was a delegate to the presi- 
dential convention of the National Demo- 
cratic party held at St. Louis. He con- 
sidered the convention as characterized 
by want of deliberation, stifling of dis- 
cussion, and unfair management, which 
changed Mr. Beekman's opinions on the 
subject of "Democracy." Then and there 
he resolved never to take part in another 
Democratic convention in the county or 
State under party call. All his former 
ideas of Democracy were revolutionized 
and upset. In 1878 he took part in a 



county convention in Freehold, and by 
which he was nominated for State Sena- 
tor, and he was also nominated by the 
Republican convention, which was in ses- 
sion at the same time. After organiza- 
tion, on motion of Edward Hartshorne, a 
committee of seven were appointed to 
draft resolutions expressing the views of 
the conventions. Mr. Beekman was 
named as chairman of this committee, and 
drew the resolutions, which were re- 
ported and unanimously adopted. Mr. 
Beekman was elected by a majority of 
over five hundred. For the first time 
since 1850, the regular nominee of the 
Democratic party in Monmouth county 
was defeated. The senate journal of New 
Jersey and other legislative documents 
for years 1879-80-81 show that he faith- 
fully carried out to the best of his ability 
the platform of the convention. He was 
invited by representatives of both parties 
to take part in their caucus, but he re- 
fused to enter either. Mr. Garret Hobart, 
who served as Senator from Passaic coun- 
ty and was afterwards elected Vice-Presi- 
dent of the United States, wrote to some 
of his Republican friends in Monmouth 
county some years after Senator Beek- 
man's term had expired, that no one dur- 
ing his term could have determined by 
his votes what party he belonged to. 

In 1879 bills were introduced in the 
Legislature to give the justices of the 
Supreme Court and Secretary of State a 
fixed yearly salary instead of fees. This 
was the beginning of that legislation 
which finally did away with the fee sys- 
tem in New Jersey. It was opposed bit- 
terly, and nearly twenty years passed be- 
fore it could be extended to all the State 
and county offices. The fight was hard 
and bitter. Mr. Beekman was obliged to 
draw himself all the reform bills he intro- 
duced. The first year he got through an 
amendment to the bribery act. allowing 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



one of the parties to the crime to testify 
against the other, and if he told the truth 
granting him immunity. He also intro- 
duced a bill to repeal the act requiring the 
session laws to be published in the news- 
papers of the State, at an annual expense 
of some $70,000 to the taxpayers. An- 
other bill Senator Beekman introduced, 
to repeal act requiring sheriffs sales of 
land to be published in two newspapers, 
and expense of the printing paid out of 
the property of the debtor, who is sold 
out. Mr. Beekman also introduced sev- 
eral bills, concerning his own county, 
which became laws, such as the act creat- 
ing the "Township of Neptune ;" and the 
act to appropriate $10,000 toward erect- 
ing a monument on the battlefield of Mon- 
mouth, which also passed. It was the 
first monument erected in New Jersey to 
honor the memory of our Revolutionary 
fathers. He also voted for the law, giv- 
ing justices jurisdiction of civil suits to 



Committee on State Library for year 
1880," among the legislative documents). 
Mr. Beekman's term as Senator ended 
in 1882. Mr. Murphy served in the lower 
house one term. In 1882 the partnership 
of Beekman & Murphy was amicably dis- 
solved, after an existence of eight years. 
From this time until he removed from 
Freehold to Red Bank, in 1903, Mr. Beek- 
man conducted the law business alone. 
For forty years he practiced law at the 
county seat of Monmouth and during this 
time, as the court records will show, he 
never sued any one on his own account. 
If his clients failed to pay, he let the claim 
go. During those years he contributed 
to the "Monmouth Democrat" and "Mon- 
mouth Inquirer," then the only news- 
papers published in Freehold, many ar- 
ticles on political questions, some tales 
founded on local tradition, and also facts 
relating to the early history of Monmouth 
county. These last he gathered from the 
old records in the countv clerk's office 



amount of $200 ; also the law forbidding and from old documents and papers which 



suits on bonds in law suits, when mort- 
gage given to secure the same, was being 
foreclosed in the Court of Chancery. He 
also drew and introduced a bill cutting 
down costs of the foreclosure of mort- 
gages one-half, when the amount due did 
not exceed five hundred dollars. 

In 1880 Mr. Hobart, president of the 
Senate, appointed Air. Beekman chairman 
of the joint committee of the two houses 
on State library. He carefully examined 
the books and found it was almost wholly 
a law library and used principally by the 
Trenton lawyers and judges. He drew a 
report recommending the purchase of 
standard works useful to other profes- 
sions and occupations, also the collection 
of all local histories, pamphlets, etc., re- 
lating to any part of New Jersey. This 
report was agreed to and signed by the 
other members. (See "Report of Joint 



had been treasured up in some of the old 
families of the county. James S. Yard, 
owner and editor of the "Monmouth Dem- 
ocrat," included part of these contribu- 
tions in the book compiled and published 
by him entitled "Old Times in Old Mon- 
mouth." This work was purely a "labour 
of love," Mr. Beekman never asked or ex- 
pected any compensation. At a later date 
the "Freehold Transcript," a third news- 
paper, was established at Freehold. A 
series of articles on some of the "Early 
Hollanders" who settled in Monmouth 
county was published in the weekly issues 
of this paper, and extending through 
some two years. The owner and editor 
of the "Transcript" also issued one hun- 
dred and twenty-five copies in book form, 
for which he charged five dollars per 
copy ; he generously turned over one-half 
of these receipts to the compiler. This 



264 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was the only pecuniary reward Mr. Beek- 
man ever received for his literary efforts. 

Mr. Beekman married, at Freehold, No- 
vember 6. 1877, Laura B. Alston, a de- 
scendant of the Alstons who resided at or 
near Woodbridge, Middlesex county, New 
Jersey, prior to the Revolutionary War 
During the war or after one of this fam- 
ily resided on Staten Island. His son, 
David Alston, with his wife and tw 1 
removed from Staten Island. 1>\ way of 
Tottenvilfe, over to New Jersey, in 1S15. 
He took up his residence at Spotswood. 
Here he remained several years, having 
two more sons and three daughters born 
at this last place. From here he removed 
to Juliustown, Burlington county. New 
Jersey, where he lived the remainder of 
his life. One of his sons. Abraham D. 
Alston, married, in 1839, Caroline Bare- 
ford, and had ten children — five sons and 
five daughters. His fourth daughter, 
Laura B., was born March 2. 1852, and 
married Mr. Beekman, as above stated. 
Three sons — Alston, Jacob Ten Broeck 
and Edwin Laurens, — and one daughter, 
named Anne Crawford, were born. The 
last died December 16. 1902, at Free- 
hold, was buried in Beekman plot, at 
Fairview cemetery. The eldest son mar- 
ried Matilda, daughter of John Craig, and 
engaged in practice of law at Red Bank. 
The second son, Jacob Ten Broeck, re- 
sided with his parents. The third and 
youngest son, Edwin Laurens, resided on 
Beekman's farm, at Middletown. This 
farm has been in the family over a cen- 
tury, and is generally considered one of 
the most productive in that vicinity. The 
railroads from New York to Red Bank 
pass over the north end of it. 

Mr. Beekman was a member of Olive 
Branch Lodge, No. 16, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, at Freehold, New Jer- 
sey. He served four years as worshipful 
master, and at his death was the oldest 



pasl master of this lodge. Mr. Beekman 
removed from Freehold to Red Bank in 
1903, taking up his permanent residence 
at No. 54 Shrewsbury avenue, on the 
banks of the Shrewsbury river. 



HOPE, Washington L., 

Man of Enterprise. 

Reuben Hope emigrated with his two 
brothers, Cornelius and Thomas, from 
England to America, early in 1800. The 
family was formerly French, where the 
name was L'Esperance, and they were 
banished from France with other Hugue- 
nots. Reuben Hope was born in 1774, 
and after his arrival in New York he be- 
came one of the prominent old time mer- 
chants of that city, his business being 
shipper and importer. He died in 1854. 

When the Marquis de Lafayette came 
on his official visit to this country in Au- 
gust, 1824, at the invitation of the United 
States government, Mr. Hope was one of 
the officials appointed to welcome him to 
New York City, and his youngest child 
being born at this time, he commemorated 
the event by naming him Washington 
Lafayette. Reuben married Catherine, 
daughter of Abner Taylor, a member of 
the New York family of the name, and 
closely allied to many of the old and 
prominent colonial Dutch and other fam- 
ilies. Her father himself was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier, and had been especially 
commanded for his efficient services to 
his country in the blockading of the Hud- 
son river near West Point, and also in 
the counties of Rockland, Orange and 
Ulster, New York. Children of Reuben 
and Catherine (Taylor) Hope: 1. Wil- 
liam, a farmer and large real estate oper- 
ator. 2. George Taylor, for many years 
president of the Continental Fire Insur- 
ance Company of New York City. 3. 
Samuel Waller, of Trenton, New Jersey : 



265 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a United States customs inspector, inven- 
tor and farmer. 4. Mary, married John 
Carpenter, merchant. 5. Catherine, mar- 
ried Charles Edward Steane, M. D. 6. 
Frances Matilda, married Benjamin Pike, 
Jr., the noted manufacturer of philosophi- 
cal and scientific instruments, and pub- 
lisher of books on those subjects. 7. Cor- 
nelius, a merchant in New York City. 8. 
Rev. James Malcolm, a Baptist minister 
of Brooklyn, Long Island. 9. Washing- 
ton Lafayette, referred to below. 10-11. 
Two children died in infancy. 

Washington Lafayette, son of Reuben 
and Catherine (Taylor) Hope, was born 
in New York City, August 4, 1824, and 
died at his residence on Sycamore ave- 
nue, Shrewsbury, Monmouth county, New 
Jersey, February 13, 1899, in his seventy- 
fifth year. After receiving his education 
in the schools of New York City he en- 
tered on a business career, but being a 
studious and thoughtful man he became 
an exceedingly well read scholar. At 
first he engaged in mercantile business in 
New York City and in Orange county, 
and became a contractor for materials 
used in building and equipping railroads. 
In November, 1844, he was appointed and 
commissioned major and quartermaster 
in the Twenty-eighth Regiment of New 
York State, and served several years 
when the militia of the country was pre- 
paring to take part in the war with Mex- 
ico. Later he engaged in farming in 
Rockland county, New York, and was 
one of the organizers of the Rockland 
County Agricultural Society, of which 
until his removal to Shrewsbury, New 
Jersey, he was one of the officers. In 
1865 he removed to Allendale, in Shrews- 
bury township, Monmouth county, New 
Jersey, to property which had descended 
to his wife through her parents. Mr. 
Hope was for a long time lecturer for the 
New Jersey State Grange, and as State 



lecturer for the Order of Good Templars, 
he delivered many addresses, not only 
throughout New Jersey, but also in other 
States, and in a number of other cases his 
services as an orator were in great de- 
mand, as he was a highly instructive and 
eloquent public speaker. He was also 
Grand Worthy Chief Templar of the State 
of New Jersey, and an officer of the Right 
Worthy Grand Lodge of Good Templars 
of America. In politics he was a mem- 
ber of the Republican party from its first 
organization, and he was in a great meas- 
ure independent both in principle and 
practice, adhering more to what he be- 
lieved to be the spirit than the letter of 
his party platform, and when needful re- 
forms could not otherwise be brought 
about, he had no hesitation in acting with 
a third party. He was zealous for the 
abolition of the liquor traffic, and made 
diligent and partially successful efforts 
for legislation favoring local option, and 
was always very active during the cam- 
paigns when local option was an issue. 
He was a candidate for Congress on the 
Prohibition ticket when the late General 
Clinton B. Fisk was a candidate for Gov- 
ernor of New Jersey, and at that time and 
also in 1878, when he was a candidate for 
Congress in the Third New Jersey dis- 
trict on the national independent ticket, 
he received a very large vote, which was 
regarded as a high personal compliment 
to him. In the different reform move- 
ments outside the Republican party in 
which Mr. Hope's high sense of public 
and civic duty led him to engage, he was 
intimately associated with General Fisk, 
the late John G. Drew, Benjamin Urner, 
the venerable Peter Cooper, General Ben- 
jamin F. Butler, and many other promi- 
nent men who believed certain reforms in 
State and national government were nec- 
essary for the welfare of this country. 
Mr. Hope was an Abolitionist, and ren- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dered efficient services in the campaigns 
of i860 and 1864 for the election of Abra- 
ham Lincoln, and in 1868 and 1872 for 
the election of General Grant to the presi- 
dency. During the Civil War he was 
most patriotic in behalf of the Union and 
outspoken against disloyal persons in 
Rockland county, New York, and when 
the uprising which culminated in the 
draft riots in New York City occurred, he 
armed his family and employees to pro- 
tect himself against attacks which had 
been threatened because of his active 
loyalty, and his refusal to surrender two 
old negroes who had been in his employ 
for many years as family servants. Al- 
though his offer to serve in the Union 
army was not accepted because of a slight 
physical disability, he labored zealously 
and successfully in aiding to stop the 
spirit of secession, and induced many 
who were at first against the cause and 
policies of the government, to become 
earnest supporters of the Union cause. 
As he expressed it in a pamphlet he pub- 
lished at the time, he persuaded many 
men so to act that "not a single star shall 
be taken from the flag of our Union." He 
was a devoted husband and father, highly 
respected for his sterling character and 
exemplary life, and he and his estimable 
wife were zealously engaged in many 
good works, being particularly active in 
religious and temperance work, and en- 
tertaining at their home many prominent 
persons who were intimately associated 
with them in their labors. From 1855 
both Mr. and Mrs. Hope were members 
of the Baptist church, and for many years 
each served faithfully in various impor- 
tant offices in the churches and Sunday 
schools, Mr. Hope being trustee, deacon 
and Sunday school superintendent for 
more than thirty years. He married, Sep- 
tember 6, 1848. Helen Cobb, daughter of 
George L. and Ann Cocks Allen, the cere- 



mony being performed by Rev. Henry 
Finch, rector of Christ Church, Shrews- 
bury, at the bride's home, which Mrs. 
Hope and her ancestors owned for over 
two hundred and thirty years, and where 
Mr. and Mrs. Hope themselves lived since 
1865. Here they celebrated their golden 
wedding in September, 1898, and here Mr. 
Hope 1 lied after a two weeks' illness from 
pneumonia, and Mrs. Hope died there 
December 6, 1902. 



HOPPER, Benjamin W., 

Veteran of Civil War. 

lienjamin W. Hopper, son of John A. 
and Keziah (Westervelt) Hopper, was 
born in Bergen county, New Jersey, near 
Ilackensack, May 15, 1839. He was 
brought up in Newfoundland, Morris 
county, 1840-55, where he received his 
school training. He was apprenticed to 
the trade of carpenter in Newark in 1856, 
and in spring of 1861 arranged to go to 
Macon, Georgia, as a master mechanic in 
carpentering and building, he having ac- 
cepted a flattering offer for a master 
builder in that southern city. The out- 
break of the Civil War, however, changed 
the plan and the whole current of his 
future life. He went south as a soldier 
instead of as a master carpenter, and on 
September 1, 1861, was in the ranks of 
the Union army as a private in the Ninth 
New Jersey Volunteer Regiment Lieu- 
tenant Colonel Charles A. Hickman. He 
was assigned to Company E, and in De- 
cember, 1861, was promoted to sergeant, 
lie went with the regiment to North Car- 
olina in the Burnside expedition, and at 
Roanoke Island his regiment was second 
in line of battle in the Second Brigade 
under command of General Jesse L. 
Reno, the army being under command of 
Major-General Ambrose E. Burnside. Ser- 
geant Hopper distinguished himself at 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Roanoke Island when the troops were 
landed under cover of the gunboats, and 
as General Foster in command of the 
First Brigade had awaited the arrival of 
< ieneral Reno with the Second Brigade 
no fighting occurred between the two as- 
sembled armies until Reno's arrival to 
take his place on the left with the Twen- 
ty-first Massachusetts, which had the 
right of the line, followed by the Ninth 
New Jersey and the Twenty-first New 
York, and the three regiments began an 
effective attack, turning the Confederate 
right by marching through a thicket of 
briers, shrubs and swamp land, almost 
impenetrable. This was February 8, 
1862, and after the capture of the fort, 
Foster and Reno pursued the enemy to 
the northern extremity of the island, 
where an unconditional surrender of the 
entire Confederate force was effected. 
After a well-earned rest the army pro- 
ceeded to the attack on New Berne, which 
place was reached by transports under 
guard of the gunboats. Here again Reno 
had the extreme left and made his favor- 
ite swing to the rear of the Confederate 
right, and the enemy found themselves 
between two effective fires and broke and 
fled to the town, burning the bridges as 
they retreated, and in that way escaped 
capture. The town of New Berne, North 
Carolina, was occupied by Burnside and 
his army in the afternoon of March 14, 
1862. Burnside sums up the victory as 
follows : "The Burnside Expedition has 
passed into history ; its records we can 
be proud of. No body of troops ever had 
more difficulties to overcome in the same 
space of time. Its perils were both by 
land and water. Defeat never befell it. 
Its experience was a succession of honor- 
able victories." The gallantry of Sergeant 
Hopper attracted the attention of Colonel 
Hickman, who promptly promoted him 
to a lieutenancy and subsequently made 



him captain of the company. He followed 
the fortunes of his regiment through the 
entire war. His sword hand was disabled 
while leading an advance on the abattis 
protecting Fort Darling, May 14, 1864; 
at the terrific combat at Drury's Bluff, 
May 16, 1864, he was wounded in the 
breast and arm and was ordered to the 
rear by Regimental Surgeon Gillette. He 
persisted in remaining with his command, 
his bleeding arm supported by a sling 
which the surgeon extemporized, and he 
sought the aid and comfort of the hospi- 
tal only after he had secured for his deci- 
mated command a position of compara- 
tive safety. Such a commander could not 
fail to secure the universal respect and 
love of every member of the company and 
the esteem of every member of the regi- 
ment. In the final campaign of the Caro- 
linas after the fall of Wilmington, North 
Carolina, and near the close of the war, 
his regiment was, with a division of the 
Twenty-third Army Corps under com- 
mand of Major-General Cox, placed in 
command of the Beaufort district The 
Ninth New Jersey was in the Second 
Brigade under Colonel J